(navigation image)
Home American Libraries | Canadian Libraries | Universal Library | Community Texts | Project Gutenberg | Biodiversity Heritage Library | Children's Library | Additional Collections
Search: Advanced Search
Anonymous User (login or join us)
Upload
See other formats

Full text of "Portland past and present, issued under the endorsement of the Portland board of trade and city government;"

st- 
ir 






/ 



HP* 



H* 



r J H " 



\ 1 « 






SOUVENIR 

EDITION 

PORTLAND 

EVENING 

EXPRESS 




>....-■■'■ 




K 






ft 
ft" 



.„-■-' 
^r^ 



8qpTO^fq c ¥ ?F f^ pf^spf 5 ^ ^ 





Photos by J. Harry Lamson. 

So. Portland Ferry 



Harpswell Line. 



New Falmouth House. 
Casco Bay Steamers. 



/ 
Souvenir Edition 



OF THE 



Portland Evening Express 



DESCRIBING AND ILLUSTRATING 

PORTLAND, MAINE, FROM EARLIEST SETTLEMENT 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 

ISSUED UNDER THE 

ENDORSEMENT OF THE PORTLAND BOARD OF TRADE 
AND CITY GOVERNMENT 



Compiled by C. Bancroft Gillespie 



CONTENTS 



Concise History; Old Landmarks; Picturesque Scenes; Institutions; Churches: 
Schools; Statements Regarding Health, Wealth and Prosperity; Advantage of Local- 
ity as a Place of Business, Residence and Summer Resort ; Resources and 
Opportunities; Board of Trade; City Government; Visit of the Royal Scots ; 
Portraits and Biographical Sketches of Present and Former Residents ; 
a 1 so Those Active in Business, Professional and Public Life; 
Manufacturing, Trade and Commerce. 



published by 

Evening Express Publishing Company, 

greater portland, maine 

1899 



In Paper, 25 Cents ; In Cloth, 75 Cents 
First Edition, 5,000 Copies 



• t^Gfif 




THE MAYORS OF PORTLAND. 



HISTORIC OUTLINE AND SCENIC 
DESCRIPTION OF PORTLAND, 

MAINE, ^e^^e^e^e^s^eoe 



HOR convenience in classify- 
ing events in a sketch that 
must of necessity be brief, 
— ' the history of Portland may 
be divided into five periods. First, 
from the settlement of the town to 
its destruction by the French and 
Indians in 1690; second, from 1690 
to its destruction by Mowatt in 1775 ; 
third, the period of slow recuperation 
and growth that preceded the dawn 
of the railroad era in 1846 ; fourth, 
the score of years previous to the great 
fire; fifth, from 1866 down to the 
present time. There is good authori- 
ty for the statement that Captain 
Christopher Leavitt visited Casco Bay 
in 1623, and built a house at the 
westerly end of the peninsula, called 
by the Indians Machigonue, later 
occupied by the city of Portland : but 
the generally accepted date of the first 
settlement is 1632, in which year 
George Cleeves and Richard Tucker 
cleared land, planted corn and built a 
house near what is now the site of the 
Grand Trunk railroad depot. From 
what is known of the previous history 
of these pioneers it is safe to assume 
that they were independent adven- 
turers from England. They settled 
at the mouth of the Spurwink River in 
1630, but were driven away by John 
Winter, who was agent for Robert 
Trelawney and Moses Goodyear, Lon- 
don merchants, who held from the 
Plymouth Colony, under date of 
December, 1631, a grant of land in- 



cluding Richmonds Island and Cape 
Elizabeth. Cleeves and Tucker were 
at first squatters, that is, they had no 
legal title to the land they occupied, 
but in the year 1637, Cleeves went to 
England and obtained from Sir Ferdi- 
nando Gorges, who held from the 
crown a large amount of land in this 
region, a grant which included not 
only the peninsula but considerable ad- 
jacent land and an island in the bay. 
The limits of this Gorges grant, as de- 
fined in the original deed, was as fol- 
lows : ' ' Beginning at the furthermost 
point of a neck of land, called by the 
Indians Machegonne, and now and 
forever henceforth to be called and 
known by the name Stogummor.and so 
along the same westerly as it tendeth 
to the first falls of a little river issuing 
out of a very small pond, and from 
thence overland to falls of Presumca, 
being the first falls in that river upon a 
straight line, containing by estimation 
from fall to fall, as aforesaid, near 
about an English mile, which togeth- 
er with the said neck of land that the 
said George Cleeves and Richard 
Tucker have planted for divers years, 
already expired, is estimated to be in 
the whole 1,500 acres or thereabouts, 
as also one island adjacent to the said 
premises, and now in the tenure and 
occupation of said George Cleeves and 
Richard Tucker, commonly called 
and known by the name of Hogg's 
Island." The land thus described 
was conveyed for a period of 2,000 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT. 



years, and the consideration was ^"ioo 
sterling and an animal quit rent. As 
the demand came this land was par- 
celed out to settlers and the settlement 
came to be known as Casco, a corrup- 
tion of the Indian word ' ' Aucocisco, ' ' 
translated by some as meaning ' ' a 
resting-place, ' ' by others as ' ' heron ' ' 
or "crane." The peninsula, which 
is about three miles long, with an 
average width of three-fourths of a 
mile, was known as Casco Neck until 



ment of the colony. He married 
Cleeves' only child, Elizabeth, and 
took up his residence on an island, 
now known as Peaks Island, leased to 
him by his father-in-law, December 
28, 1637. Cleeves and Tucker had 
taken legal possession of their new 
grant on June 8, of the same year. 
In 1640, Thomas Gorges, son of Sir 
Ferdinando Gorges, came to Saco and 
assumed general charge of the region 
known as Ligonia, but without inter- 




GREATER PORTLAND CITY HALL. 



the year 1658, when Massachusetts 
changed the name to Falmouth, a 
name which was applied to a large 
extent of surrounding territory, but 
locally the peninsula continued to be 
known by its old name until its incor- 
poration as the town of Portland in 
1786. Cleeves, having accomplished 
the obieot of his mission to England, 
returned to America accompanied by 
a man named Michael Mitton, who 
took a prominent part in the develop- 



fering in any manner with Cleeves. 
The outbreak of the civil war in Eng- 
land, in 1642, made it necessary for 
Cleeves to visit the mother country, 
for Gorges had elected to share the 
fortunes of King Charles, and if vic- 
tory should permanently perch upon 
the banner of Cromwell, Cleeves' pos- 
sessions in the new world would be 
in imminent danger of confiscation. 
Cleeves obtained a new land commis- 
sion from Col. Rigby, who had 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 



purchased the title of the prov- 
ince of Iyigonia for a nominal sum, 
and returned to America as Rigby's 
agent. He at once claimed the right 
to exercise governing powers and 
established his court at Casco. His 
authority was at once disputed by 
Vines, who, as deputy for Gorges, 
held court at Saco. The colonists 
naturally took sides, those on the 
neck with Cleeves, those to the south- 
ward with Vines. Governor Win- 
throp of Massachusetts was asked by 
both parties to decide the dispute, but 
as the final answer must depend upon 



what he considered his rights. This 
was a period of disaster for the strug- 
gling colon}', for there was no settled 
government and, consequently, no 
proper enforcement of the laws. The 
long quarrel terminated only when 
Massachusetts put in her claim to the 
territory in dispute, offering as evi- 
dence of her title the charter and 
agreement of the Plymouth Colony 
with King James in 1620. The 
inhabitants of Ligonia, forgetting 
their own more local quarrel, with one 
accord disputed the right of Massa- 
chusetts to govern them, but their 








^ % &. 

+ 'IJB 




CUSTOM HOUSE. 



which side won in the civil struggle 
in England, his decision was delayed. 
As it happened that Cromwell and 
parliament won, Charles I. lost his 
crown and his head, and so Rigby's 
title was sustained. In 1647, as 
Rigby's agent, Cleeves assumed con- 
trol over Ligonia, a province which 
included Saco, Spunvink, Richmond 
Island, Scarboro and Casco, and all 
the territory from Cape Elizabeth to 
Cape Porpoise, inclusive. Col. Rigby 
died in 1650, and once more Cleeves 
went to England, where he remained 
two years, engaged in a battle for 



objections availed nothing, except to 
postpone the inevitable. In 1658, 
Massachusetts took formal possession 
of the province, the inhabitants of 
which were obliged to sign a document 
acknowledging their submission. The 
terms of this document were as fol- 
lows : " We, the inhabitants of Black 
Point, Blue Point, Spunvink and 
Casco Bay, with all the islands there- 
with belonging, do deem and acknow- 
ledge ourselves to be subject to the 
government of Massachusetts Bay, in 
the northeast, as appears by our 
particular subscriptions in reference 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 



to those articles formerly granted to 
Dover, Kitten- and York, which are 
now granted and confirmed unto us, 
together with some conditions as upon 
record doth appear." The inhabi- 
tants of the province of Ligonia were 
nearly all members of the Church of 
England, and as a consequence were 
opposed to the ideas and practices of 
Puritanism, but the civil privileges 
granted them were in all respects sim- 
ilar to those enjoyed by the residents 
of the province of Massachusetts Bay, 
and were not to be forfeited by differ- 
ences in religion. In spite of the 
popular opposition to this assumption 
of government, subsequent events 



meeting-house was built on land now 
occupied by the Portland Company's 
works. It was not a stately edifice, 
being simply a one-story structure, 
built of logs, with three windows on 
each side. In the year 1676 there 
were forty families in town, but of 
these only four or five families lived 
on the Neck, and this handful was 
driven away by the Indians during 
that year, in what is known as King 
Philip's war. In 1678 the old settlers 
returned and as a protective measure 
Fort Loyal was built on Munjoy Hill. 
A party of French Protestants settled 
here about this time, and the settle- 
ment took on an air of prosperity. 




PORTLAND POST OFFICE AND U. S. GOVERNMENT BUILDING. 



proved that it was the best thing that 
could have happened to the colony, 
divided as it was by internal dissen- 
sions. The energies of the first set- 
tlers were directed toward the develop- 
ment of commercial resources, in catch- 
ing and curing the fish with which the 
waters of the bay abounded, and in 
trade with the Indians. In the latter 
occupation it is but fair to say that the 
advantage was not always on the side 
of the Indians. With the incorpora- 
tion of the town came the first minis- 
ter of the gospel, Rev. George Bur- 
roughs, a graduate of Harvard, who 
began his ministry in 1674. The first 



Roads were laid out and the people 
began to turn their attention to varied 
industries. The first mill, built in 
1657, was destroyed in 1676, and in 
1 68 1 the first tavern opened its doors 
to public patronage. In 1688 the 
population of Falmouth had increased 
to about seven hundred persons, com- 
prising eighty families, and of this 
number twenty-five families had 
homes on the Neck. A very small 
part of the land on the peninsula 
was cultivated, and westward of 
what is now Center street was _ the 
primeval forest, the home of all kinds 
of wild animals, from the timid deer 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 



to the fierce " Indian devil," or pan- 
ther. The agricultural resources of 
the country had not been developed to 
any great extent, owing to the atten- 
tion given to commerce, and a large 
part of the food supply of the town 
came by water from places more or less 
remote. As might be expected, there 
were times of plenty and times of scarc- 
ity, and on many an occasion the ar- 
rival of a cargo of corn was the signal 
for general rejoicing. Trouble be- 
tween the French and Indians on the 
one side and the English on the other 
had long been brewing, and matters 
reached a climax in 1689, when Fal- 



Fort Iyoyal, to which the enemy laid 
siege, capturing it after five days. 
The men who survived, including the 
commander of the garrison, Capt. 
Davis, were taken to Canada as pris- 
oners. From this time until the close 
of Queen Anne's war, in 17 13, Fal- 
mouth as a settlement was practically 
deserted. Those who attempted to 
make homes there were killed or 
driven away by the Indians. But the 
would-be settlers were persistent and 
at last various circumstances combined 
to eliminate the danger from hostile 
Indians and restore confidence. In 
17 18 we find that twenty families 




MAINE GENERAL HOSPITAL. 



mouth, as the most northerly of the 
English settlements, was attacked by 
the combined force of the French and 
Indians. The timely arrival of Major 
Church, at the head of a force of 
friendly Indians and volunteers, saved 
for a time the little settlement, for the 
invaders were repulsed and driven 
away. -The next year, 1690, the place 
was again attacked by a force of 500 
French and Indians. The settlers 
made a stubborn resistance and after 
a fierce engagement on Munjoy Hill, 
in which Lieut. Clark and thirteen 
men were killed, they took refuge in 



claimed Casco Neck as their place of 
residence, the settlement being near 
the foot of what is now India street. 
After the year 1725 Falmouth suffered 
little by reason of Indian invasion ; 
the town had ceased to be a frontier 
post and the natural resources of the 
locality began to be developed. In 
1725 its commerce had reached such 
proportions that it is noted that thirty 
vessels were seen lying at anchor in 
the harbor at one time, and an exten- 
sive export trade in furs, fish and 
lumber was being built up. In 1727 
Rev. Thomas Smith, the Samuel 



s 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 



Pepys of Portland's middle period, 
began his ministerial labors of more 
than three-fourths of a century. In 
1753 the population of the Neck was 
720, and this had increased to 2,000 in 
1774. During the half-century from 
1725 to 1775, while the settlement 
was at peace with the Indians, its 
prosperity was retarded by frequent 
conflicts with the French. However, 
the town was surely, if slowly, in- 
creasing in population and wealth 
and a profitable trade with the West 
Indies had been established. When 
the Revolution broke out the men of 
the colony responded nobly to the 
call and denounced in strongest terms 



squad of militia from Brunswick and 
detained for a time at Falmouth. 
Mowatt neither forgot nor forgave 
this, and on October 18, of the same 
year, he entered the harbor with a fleet 
of war vessels and demanded that the 
citizens give up their arms. This the 
patriotic inhabitants refused to do and 
as many as could get away fled to the 
surrounding country, taking with 
them what household goods they were 
able to move. Mowatt, angered by 
this resistance, and remembering the 
indignity he had been caused to suffer 
a few months before, bombarded the 
town and set it on fire. Of the five 
hundred and fourteen buildings in 




PORTLAND ARMORY. 



the unpopular measures of the home 
government, and the news that the 
port of Boston had been closed by the 
English authorities was followed by 
the order to toll the bell on the Fal- 
mouth meeting-house from sunrise to 
sunset. On receipt of the news of the 
battle of Lexington the settlement 
equipped a company and sent it to 
Cambridge to fight for liberty. At 
the very opening of hostilities the 
town was destined to feel the blight- 
ing effects of war as few towns have 
ever felt it, in an act which had in it 
a touch of the element of personal 
spite. In the spring of 1775 Captain 
Henry Mowatt w r as captured by a 



the town, but one hundred were left 
standing. The direct financial loss 
was estimated at something over one- 
fourth of a million dollars, and the 
act has been given a place in history 
as one of the most .shameful and cow- 
ardly events of the Revolution. So 
great was the shock that from this 
time until the signing of the treaty at 
the end of the war the history of Fal- 
mouth is a blank, for during that time 
no determined effort was made to re- 
pair damages or to resurrect dead 
industries. The return of peace 
heralded the dawn of an era of pros- 
perity, and within the year next fol- 
lowing the signing of the treaty, 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 



forty-one dwellings, ten stores and 
seven shops were erected. During 
the year 1785 the construction of the 
first brick house was begun and the 
first newspaper, ' ' The Falmouth Ga- 
zette and Weekly Advertiser," was 
started. The year 1786 was an im- 
portant one, for it was during that 
year that Casco Neck severed its 
connection with Falmouth and was 
incorporated as a separate town, 
called Portland, in honor of a town 
in Cornwall, England. The new 
town had a population of about 2,000, 
and its location and the public spirit 
of its citizens were the elements that 



fiscation. One consequence of this 
practical monopoly of a profitable 
industry was the rapid accumulation 
of what were in those days considered 
large fortunes, and much of this 
wealth was used in erecting beautiful 
residences and substantial business 
blocks. But Portland's prosperity 
was to suffer a severe check through 
the non-interference policy adopted 
by the general government in 1806, 
and the embargo which followed in 
1807, in which year the failure of 
eleven business firms occurred. Ship- 
ping fell off 9,000 tons in two years 
and many persons to whom this in- 




PORTLAND ATHLETIC CLUB HOUSE. 



combined to place it in the lead of 
most New England towns in percent- 
age of growth in population and in 
material prosperity. Portland's ship- 
ping had increased from 5,000 tons 
in 1789 to 30,000 in 1807. This 
rapid increase in shipping was large- 
ly caused by business men taking 
advantage of the fact that during the 
time Napoleon was master of nearly 
all Europe, American ships were al- 
most the only ones declared neutral, 
and the natural result was that 
American ship owners nearly monop- 
olized the ocean carrying trade, as 
they ran little risk of seizure and con- 



dustry had given employment were 
forced into idleness, and thousands, 
directly and indirectly were materi- 
ally affected. A true picture of that 
period of disaster is a sad one. Ves- 
sels were allowed to fill and sink at 
the wharves, or were beached and 
broken up for fuel, and a death-like 
lethargy fell upon what had but a 
few months before been one of the 
most bustling towns on the New 
England coast. Political difficulties 
at last culminated in the war of 181 2, 
in which the citizens of Portland took 
a part worthy of emulation. It was 
off Portland harbor that one of the 



IO 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 



most notable naval engagements of 
the struggle was fought, September 
5, 1813. This was the fight between 
the United States brig Enterprise and 
H. M. brig Boxer, in which the actual 
fighting lasted only about half an 
hour, but during that time the com- 
manders of both vessels were mor- 
tally wounded. It is not known 
what the actual English loss was, as 
several bodies were thrown overboard 
before the surrender, but thirteen of 
the Boxer's crew and twelve of the 
officers and crew of the Enterprise 
were wounded. The dead command- 
ers were given a public funeral and 
were buried in the Eastern cemetery 



the growth was healthy and perma- 
nent, and as values became readjusted 
confidence was restored, and if the 
chances for the rapid accumulation 
of wealth were not as plenty as they 
once had been there was at least that 
feeling of security that leads to the 
opening of new industries and enter- 
prises. In 1832, two centuries after 
its settlement, Portland accepted a 
city charter, its population at that 
time being about 13,000. The begin- 
ning of the era of steam navigation 
opened many new business possibili- 
ties. The steamboat Patent was the 
first vessel of this class brought to 
Maine. This boat was of about one 




FORT PREBLE. 



on Munjoy Hill. The treaty of peace 
was signed in 181 5, and a period of 
slow recovery followed until 1846, 
when the railroad brought with it new 
conditions to be taken into account 
in the race for commercial supremacy. 
In March, 1820, the district of Maine 
was separated from Massachusetts 
and admitted into the Union as a 
state. Portland became its capital, 
an honor which it retained until 1832, 
in which year the seat of govern- 
ment was removed to Augusta. The 
growth in population since 18 10 had 
been slow, and in 1820 the inhabi- 
tants numbered but 8,581 . However, 



hundred tons burden ; it was bought 
in New York by Capt. Seward Porter 
in 1823, and was put on the route 
between Portland and Boston to run 
as a passenger boat. In 1833 the 
steamer Chancellor Livingston, built 
under the direction of the inventor, 
Robert Fulton, was running on the 
Portland- Boston route and during the 
the same year the Cumberland Steam 
Navigation Company was formed and 
the Commodore McDonough was put 
on as an opposition boat. The Port- 
land Steam Packet Company, run- 
ning a line of boats between the same 
ports, was organized in 1844. The 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 



ii 



Cumberland and Oxford Canal, con- 
necting Sebago Lake and Portland 
harbor, was begun in 1828 and com- 
pleted two years later at a cost of 
$206,000. All this helped business 
to a certain extent, but owing to its 
railroad connections Boston absorbed 
a large amount of trade that formerly 
came to Portland from the region be- 
yond the White Mountains. It was 
seen at once that if Portland was to 
hold its own this business must be 
recovered, or the loss balanced by 
new business from another quarter. 
Business men saw disaster in the situ- 
ation if allowed to continue, and, led 



profitably invested. The road was 
leased by the Grand Trunk Railway 
of Canada and became part of a sys- 
tem that is now a potent factor in 
the well-being of millions of people. 
With the advent of the new road 
came the need of a suitable business 
thoroughfare along Portland's water 
front, and Commercial street was the 
result. Another adjunct of this road 
was a winter line of steamers to 
Europe. Then came the building of 
various railroad lines throughout the 
state, opening to business enterprise 
a vast region of enormous resources, 
and now controlled by the Maine Cen- 




TUKEY'S BRIDGE. 



by that pioneer in the railroad history 
of Maine, John A. Poor, they con- 
ceived the idea of a railroad to Can- 
ada, thus furnishing an outlet for the 
agricultural products of the great 
prairie regions of the West. So it 
came about that in 1853 the Atlantic 
& St. Lawrence Railroad was com- 
pleted to a junction with the road 
from Montreal, a distance of one hun- 
dred and forty-nine miles from Port- 
land. The city loaned its credit in 
bonds to the amount of $2,000,000, 
and it is entirely safe to say that the 
same sum of money was never more 



tral. The business brought to Port- 
land by these lines, by steamers and 
coasting vessels, in addition to a large 
trade with the West Indies, made the 
vicinity of the wharves a busy place. 
Brown's sugar house, the Portland 
Company's works, and many other 
industries, had their beginning dur- 
ing this season of prosperity. Owing 
to excellent foresight on the part of 
her business men, Portland's material 
growth was not seriously checked by 
the financial panic of 1857-58 and 
what trade was lost was soon recov- 
ered. Portland's part in the War of 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 



the Rebellion was an eminently hon- 
orable one. The city promptly met 
the demand made upon it and fur- 
nished six companies of the First 
Maine Regiment. Later regiments 
organized in Portland were the Fifth, 
Ninth, Tenth, Twelfth, Thirteenth, 
Seventeenth and Twenty-fifth, and 
the men of the Forest City gave good 
account of themselves when brought 
face to face with the enemy. To the 
army and navy during the Rebellion 
the city gave 5,000 men, about one- 
sixth of its total population, and of 
this number four hundred and twen- 



had taken possession of the cutter 
and that they were becalmed near 
Green Island. When the pursuing 
steamers approached, the captors of 
the Cushing set their prize on fire 
and took to their boats. The Cush- 
ing blew up and the rebels were soon 
captured and taken to Fort Preble as 
prisoners of war. During the Rebel- 
lion much shipping was transferred 
to British registry, but otherwise the 
business of the city did not suffer to 
any great extent. On July 4, 1866, 
a carelessly thrown firecracker set 
fire to a boat builder's shop on Com- 




PORTLAND HEAD LIGHT. 



ty-one lost their lives in battle or by 
disease. To her soldiers and sailors 
Portland paid bounties amounting to 
$428,970, and in addition large sums 
were privately contributed to the 
cause of freedom. The most exciting 
local incident of the war was the cap- 
ture of the United States revenue 
cutter Caleb Cushing by the rebels 
in Portland harbor. One morning in 
June, 1863, the cutter was missed 
from her moorings and the steamers 
Forest City and Chesapeake were 
armed, manned and sent in pursuit. 
It was soon discovered that the rebels 



mercial street, near the foot of High 
street, and a conflagration was started 
that for comparative destructiveness 
may be classed with the Chicago fire 
of 187 1 and the Boston fire of 1872. 
The local fire department was inade- 
quate to successfully cope with a fire 
of such magnitude as this soon be- 
came, and help was summoned from 
Saco, Biddeford, Bath, Augusta, 
Gardiner, Lewiston and Boston. The 
work of this combined force was al- 
most without avail in stopping the 
progress of the flames, and when the 
fire at last burned itself out 10,000 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 



13 



people were homeless. An area of 
about two hundred acres had been 
burned over and fifteen hundred 
buildings were in ashes. A city of 
tents and rough board huts sprang 
into existence on Munjoy Hill and 
contributions from outside the city 
and state provided clothing for the 
destitute and food for the hungry. 
Offers of assistance were received 
from every part of the Union, and 



made wider and the new buildings 
were more substantial and handsomer 
architecturally. Meantime the busi- 
ness facilities of the city continued to 
grow. In 1873 the Boston & Maine 
Railroad was extended from South 
Berwick to Portland, and in 1875 the 
Portland & Rochester Railroad com- 
pleted its connections w r ith Nashua, 
N. H., and Worcester, Mass. Dur- 
ing the latter year the Portland & 




FORT ALLEN PARK, PORTLAND, SHOWING U. S. GOVERNMENT WARSHIPS IN HARBOR. 



the cash contributions from outside 
sources amounted to more than $600,- 
000. The shock was a severe one, 
but the reaction quickly followed, and 
what was almost despair gave place to 
a philosophical determination to pluck 
good out of evil by taking advantage 
of the occasion to rebuild the city on 
lines more in accordance with the 
demands of the age. Many of the 
old streets were straightened and 



Ogdensburg Railroad, through the 
White Mountains, was completed, 
thus forming another link between 
Portland and the West. In 1870 the 
Sebago Lake water service was com- 
pleted, thereby giving the city a sup- 
ply unsurpassed in quality and quan- 
tity. The events of later years are 
matters of common knowledge. In 
the recent war with Spain the loyalty 
of the residents of Portland was once 



H 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 



more apparent, and although those 
who volunteered in the cause of lib- 
erty saw little fighting, they braved 
the dangers of inaction in unhealthy 
camps, and as a consequence many 
homes cherish the memory of brave 
boys who succumbed in the unequal 
fight with the King of Terrors. The 
city has continued to grow steadily 
in wealth and population, and since 
1880 has made rapid advance along 
all the lines that converge in a 
prosperous commercial and manufac- 
turing city. The valuation has in- 
creased largely ; water front facilities 



great fire destroyed many of the fine 
shade trees for which the city was 
once noted, but many were left and 
others have been planted, and it is 
still entitled to be called the Forest 
City. During the year 1S98-99 Port- 
land took a forward step in the mat- 
ter of territorial expansion by the 
annexation of the city of Deering, 
thus increasing its population about 
7,000 and adding many square miles 
to its area. Greater Portland has at 
the present time a population of 
about 50,000. No historical sketch 
of Portland would be complete with- 




STATE STREET AND LONGFELLOW MONUMENT. 



have been improved ; a modern ele- 
vator of large capacity has been built; 
distributing facilities have been per- 
fected and extended. Portland mer- 
chants and manufacturers have estab- 
lished enviable reputations abroad 
and in every emergency have given 
demonstrations of their ability and 
sound business foresight. It is now 
a modern city of broad, well-paved 
streets, with substantial business 
blocks and commodious dwellings. 
It has an excellent sewerage system 
and an electric street car service 
equal to any in New England. The 



out mention of the names of those 
who have had no small share in mak- 
ing its history. In addition to those 
previously referred to are the follow- 
ing : Gen. Jedediah Preble, who 
served in the French wars and at the 
outbreak of the Revolution ; The- 
ophilus Bradbury and David Wyer, 
earliest members of the Cumberland 
bar; Samuel Freeman, delegate to 
the provincial congress, judge of 
probate forty-five years, postmaster 
twenty-eight years, president of 
Bowdoin College ; Theophilus Par- 
sons, chief justice of Massachusetts ; 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 



15 



Simon Greenleaf, learned jurist ; 
Stephen Longfellow, father of the 
the poet ; Prentiss Mellen, chief jus- 
tice of Maine ; Ezekiel Whitman, 
congressman for four terms and chief 
justice of Maine ; Samuel Fessenden, 
lawyer and philanthropist ; Albion 
K. Parris, governor of Maine ; Arthur 
Ware, judge of the United States 
district court for forty-four years ; 
Ether Shepley and his son George F. 
Shepley, Sargent S. Prentiss, Wil- 
liam Pitt Fessenden, George Evans, 
Horatio King, Gen. Neal Dow, Com- 
modore Edward Preble, Rear Ad- 



than Dow (to fill unexpired term of 
Andrew L. Emerson); 1833, John 
Anderson; 1834-40, Devi Cutter; 
1841, James C. Churchill ; 1842, John 
Anderson; 1843-48, EHphalet Greely; 
1849-50, J. B. Cahoon; 1851, Neal 
Dow; 1852, Albion K. Parris; 1853- 
54, J. B. Cahoon; 1855, Neal Dow; 
1856, J. T. McCobb; 1857, William 
Willis; 1858-59, Jedediah Jewett ; 
i860, Joseph Howard; 1861-62, W. 
W. Thomas ; 1863-65, Jacob McLel- 
lan ; 1866-67, A. E. Stevens ; 1868, 
Jacob McLellan ; 1869, William L. 
Putnam ; 1870-72, B. Kingsbury, Jr.; 




DEERING STREET. 



miral Alden, Commodore George H. 
Preble, and a host of others. Among 
those who have acquired world-wide 
fame in art, literature and science 
were: Henry W. Longfellow, N. P. 
Willis, John Neal, Isaac McLellan, 
Grenville Mellen, Mrs. E. Oakes 
Smith, Mrs. Elizabeth Akers Allen, 
Seba Smith, Sarah Payson Willis, 
Mrs. Ann S. Stephens, Prof. Edward 
S. Morse, and many others. The 
mayors of Portland since its organiza- 
tion as a city have been : 1832, 
Andrew L- Emerson ; 1832, Jona- 



1873-74, George P. Westcott ; 1875, 
R. M. Richardson ; 1876, Francis 
Fessenden ; 1877-78, Moses M. But- 
ler ; 1879, George Walker; 1880- 
81, William Senter ; 1882, Charles 
F. Libby; 1883, John W. Deering; 
1884, Marquis F. King; 1885, John 
W. Deering; 1886-88, Charles J. 
Chapman; 1889-90, Holman S. Mel- 
cher ; 1891, George W. True ; 1892, 
Darius H. Ingraham ; 1893-96, 
James P. Baxter; 1897-98, Charles 
H.Randall; 1899, Frank W. Rob- 
inson. The advantages of Portland 



i6 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 



as a place of business, residence and 
recreation are manifold, and in a way 
superior to those possessed by any 
other city in New England. So pa- 
tent is this fact to those who know 
the city thoroughly that it is taken 
as a matter of course, and as a conse- 
quence it has often happened that 
Portland business men have been 
spoken of as ultra-conservative in the 
matter of advertising to the world at 
large the wealth of actualities and 
possibilities that center in "the beau- 
tiful town that is seated by the sea." 
The idea that the citizens of Portland 



and marked out across the wild At- 
lantic the paths by which the full- 
freighted argosies of commerce could 
bring their tribute from all the world. 
Out of the fathers' wealth of experi- 
ence the sons have inherited prudent 
foresight, and generation after gen- 
eration has learned the lesson that to 
make haste slowly is the most certain 
way to secure permanently beneficial 
results. This characteristic has been 
the open secret of the steady, resist- 
less advance ; a triumphal progress 
unheralded by blare of trumpets or 
the waving of gaudy banners. Port- 




STATE STREET. 



are ever indifferent to the material 
interests of their city has in it a 
measure of truth only when Portland 
is compared with some of the mush- 
room cities of the West, places that 
spring up in the night, depending 
upon some fortuitous combination 
of circumstances for their feverish 
and altogether precarious existence. 
Portland has never been a "boom" 
town in any sense of that expressive 
word. Its foundations were laid deep 
by the sturdy pioneers who blazed 
the first trails through the forests, 



land's location has been, and is, one 
great factor in its contest for commer- 
cial superiority. Situated on one of '* 
the best deep-water harbors of the I 
United States, its bid for a share of 
the world's trade carries with it in- 1 
ducements that cannot be overlooked 
in the final award. The sea, even in j 
its most tempestuous moods, expends 
the fury of its anger against the rock- 
bound shores of the outer islands of 
Casco Bay, while inside the fringe of 
islands an artificial breakwater fur- 
ther protects the inner harbor. Here 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 



17 



in perfect safety a fleet of the largest 
vessels may discharge and take cargo, 
or at anchor await the time of pro- 
pitious winds. The harbor is never 
closed to navigation by ice, and the 
largest ocean-going steamships find 
the requisite depth of water at any 
stage of the tide. Over a century 
ago commissioners appointed by the 
general government to examine the 
harbor, said in their report: "The 
city of Portland stands precisely upon 
the spot which a careful examination 
would pronounce to be the best." 
Conspicuously pointing to the early 



noted for its whaling industry. Port- 
land's importance as a trade center 
was known and appreciated not only 
by those living in the immediate 
vicinity, but by the inhabitants of a 
vast region beyond the White Moun- 
tains, and long before the breath of 
the iron horse mingled with the 
breath of spruce and pine at the head 
waters of the Saco, farmers and mer- 
chants from New Hampshire and 
Vermont sent the products of farm 
and forest by team through the Notch 
to Portland as the best market at 
command. Thus grain and vegeta- 




LONGFELLOW MONUMENT. 



commercial importance of the loca- 
tion is the fact that the first light- 
house on the Atlantic coast of the 
United States was erected on Port- 
land Head, and the light, kindled for 
the first time on January 10, 1791, 
has since been a beacon of welcome 
or farewell to sailors from every quar- 
ter of the globe. Portland's mari- 
time facilities were in the early days 
of its history the town's chief claim 
to mercantile distinction, and for a 
long period it was noted for its com- 
merce with the West Indies in the 
same degree that New Bedford was 



bles, butter and cheese, meat and 
poultry, furs, shooks, and all the sur- 
plus of a strictly agricultural commu- 
nity were exchanged for sugar and 
molasses, salt fish, tobacco, and other 
necessaries or luxuries not readily 
obtainable elsewhere. When Boston, 
by extending its railroad system, di- 
verted this trade Portland business 
men soon balanced matters by open- 
ing direct communication with Cana- 
da and the West, and later with 
Boston, and since that day the city's 
high commercial position has been 
unquestioned. It is not intended in 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 



this short review to go into the 
details regarding the volume of Port- 
land's trade, or the percentage of 
yearly increase since the beginning 
of the railroad era in 1846, but rather 
in a general way to make plain the 
many advantages possessed by the 
Forest City, and the fact that there 
are many lines as yet undeveloped or 
untouched. The assessed valuation 
of Portland is somewhere in the neigh- 
borhood of $50,000,000, and in super- 
ficial area the city covers 11,000 



associations : Casco, Cumberland, 
Deering, Falmouth, Forest City, Me- 
chanics, Portland, and the Casco Col- 
lateral Loan Company. There are 
also several private bankers and bro- 
kers, life insurance companies, and 
safety deposit and trust companies. 
These institutions are all on an envi- 
able financial basis, and represent in 
the aggregate a capital of over $35,- 
000,000. The city possesses the larg- 
est retail stores east of Boston, and 
there is no better wholesale market. 




LINCOLN PARK. 



acres, with a population of 50,000. It 
is the metropolis of Maine, with no 
prospective rival. Its financial insti- 
tutions are widely noted for conser- 
vative business enterprise. They 
include the following national banks: 
Canal, Casco, Chapman, Cumberland, 
First, Merchants, Traders, and Port- 
land. In addition to these there are 
the Maine Savings Bank, Portland 
Savings Bank, Mercantile Trust 
Company, Portland Trust Company, 
and the following loan and building 



Its manufacturing industries are 
varied, and include cloth, paper, 
clothing, boots and shoes, hats, milli- 
nery, canned goods, extracts, proprie- 
tary and patent medicines, crackers 
and bread, druggists' supplies, match- 
es, confectionery, machinery, electri- 
cal supplies, agricultural implements, 
refrigerators, drain pipe, horse fur- 
nishings, carriages and sleighs, 
builders' hardware, stoves and 
ranges, stationary and marine en- 
gines, ornamental glass work, screens, 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 



19 



bicycles, cigars, and an infinite va- 
riety of things demanded by the uses 
of modern civilization. The city is 
not a manufacturing town in the sense 
that it has within its borders a large 
undesirable foreign element. The 
natives of other countries who have 
made Portland their home are good 
citizens, working with those to the 
manner born, in the interest of mu- 
nicipal prosperity. In all that goes 
to make a de- 
sirable mod- 
ern city Port- 
land seems to 
be blessed. 
The newspa- 
pers, of which 
there are five 
dailies, three 
Sunday jour- 
nals, and sev- 
eral weeklies, 
are of more 
than the av- 
erage jour- 
nalistic ex- 
cellence. In 
the number 
and variety 
of clubs and 
societies that 
give a zest to 
social and 
business life 
there is noth- 
ing to be de- 
sired. Among 
Portland 's 
public build- 
ings, of which 
a city much 
larger might 

be proud, may be mentioned the fol- 
lowing : The City Building, contain- 
ing a hall having a seating capacity 
of 3,000, in addition to offices for the 
county and city officials ; the Post-of- 
fice, built at a cost of $500,000, con- 
taining also the United States court 
room and offices; the Custom House, 
one of the finest buildings of its size 
in the United States; the Armory, for 
the accommodation of the National 




PORTLAND OBSERVATORY. 



Guard, and having an auditorium of 
generous proportions ; the Public Li- 
brary building, erected and presented 
to the city by Hon. James P. Baxter; 
the Maine General Hospital and the 
Eye and Ear Infirmary, structures 
that rank with the best of their class ; 
the Y. M. C. A. building, containing 
not only the spacious rooms of the 
association, but airy, well-lighted 
stores and offices ; the building of the 

Society of 
Natural His- 
tory, design- 
ed especially 
for the pur- 
pose to which 
it is devoted ; 
The Jeffer- 
son, a theater 
that for beau- 
ty and cou- 
venience 
combined has 
few, if any, 
equals, and 
many others 
of no less im- 
portance 
within more 
restricted 
s p h e r e s . 
Among the 
so-called 
charitable in- 
stitutions 
many occupy 
buildings de- 
voted to their 
needs exclu- 
sively, and 
the records of 
these institu- 
tions show that Portland is well to the 
front in work of this nature. In the 
matter of churches Portland occupies 
an enviable position among the cities 
of New England. Almost every de- 
nomination is represented by one or 
more church edifices, many of them 
artistically beautiful and all conven- 
ient, spacious and well appointed. 
All the prominent secret orders have 
a strong foothold here, occupying 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 



buildings of their own or quartered 
in well-furnished halls devoted to 
their exclusive use. In the matter of 
well-located, commodious business 
blocks, Portland has nothing to fear 
in comparison with other cities of its 
size. The streets in the business 
sections are lined with substantial 
buildings. Taking Monument Square 
as a center, Portland's business streets 
radiate in every direction. Through 
the square, easterly and westerly, 
runs Congress street, well paved and 
clean, the street of the retail stores, 
which become gradually fewer in 
number as one approaches either end 



the water front, is devoted almost ex- 
clusively to the wholesale trade. On 
one side are the wharves and docks, 
flanked by storehouses and wholsale 
stores, coal pockets and fish houses ; 
on the other side is a row of stately 
brick or stone buildings, devoted al- 
most exclusively to the requirements 
of wholesale trade. Here are the 
wholesale produce and flour dealers, 
the large handlers of groceries, fruit, 
tobacco, molasses, etc., whose repre- 
sentatives cover the state in the in- 
terests of trade. Along this street 
runs a line of railroad, with spur 
tracks to various wharves, simplify- 




OLD CITY HALL. 



of the street until they finally give 
place to residences. From the south- 
east corner of the square runs Middle 
street, on which can be found repre- 
sentatives of almost every business, 
wholesale and retail, banks, brokers' 
offices, manufactories of clothing, and 
many other industries. From Con- 
gress and Middle streets other thor- 
oughfares deflect the current of trade. 
Exchange street, connecting Con- 
gress and Fore streets, is the street 
of lawyers, bankers, brokers, insur- 
ance agents, printers, and a host of 
other trades and professions. Com- 
mercial street, along the length of 



ing to a large extent the handling of 
heavy merchandise. At one end of 
Commercial street are the Boston & 
Maine and Maine Central freight of- 
fices, at the other the Grand Trunk 
passenger station, elevators, wharves 
and docks. This locality, around the 
Grand Trunk, particularly during 
the winter, is one of the busiest parts 
of the city. The yard of this great 
trunk line stretches for a mile along 
under the precipitous brow of Mun- 
joy Hill, and there is a constant 
movement of trains. At the wharves 
the English steamers load and un- 
load. Here is the new elevator, the 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 



21 



largest on the Atlantic coast, with a 
capacity of 1,250,000 bushels, and 
the old one of smaller capacity. Be- 
yond the bridge over Back Bay are 
the new East Deering stock yards, 
where live stock is cared for while 
awaiting shipment. As an indication 
of the amount of business done in 
this part of the city, it may be said 
that as many as 2,000 loaded cars 
have been standing on the Grand 
Trunk tracks at one time, waiting 
for an opportunity to deliver freight 
to the ocean liners, and this at a 
time when both elevators were full to 



takes everything along its own 
lines in addition to what is contrib- 
uted by numerous feeders ; from the 
west come the Mountain Division of 
the Maine Central and the Eastern 
and Western Divisions of the Boston 
& Maine, all having close connec- 
tions with New England and the 
West. Passengers for and from the 
Portland & Rochester and Grand 
Trunk are transferred on a track that 
encircles the city completely. One 
of the elements entering into the 
question of value of nearly every in- 
dustry, is the ease with which sur- 




SURF AT PORTLAND HEAD LIGHT. 



overflowing. Such congestion is an 
object lesson suggestive of the enor- 
mous traffic between Portland and 
its contributory territory and the busi- 
ness centers of the Old World. At 
the other end of the city, in Railroad 
Square, is the Union passenger sta- 
tion, used by the Maine Central and 
Boston & Maine railroads. This 
station is one of the city's busy 
places for it is the distributing point 
of more than seventy-five per cent, 
of the passengers entering the city, 
either for business or pleasure. 
From the east the Maine Central 



plus products can be put upon the 
market. The farmer who has a 
near-by market for the fruits of his 
labor realizes this; the value of tim- 
ber depends largely upon its location 
with regard to waterways by which 
it can be floated to the mills, and the 
desirability of a business location, 
upon the accessibility of the sur- 
rounding country and upon the ease 
with which the products of capital 
and labor can be placed upon the 
larger markets of the world. In this 
regard Portland has advantages, ob- 
vious to the most casual observer. It 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 



is the natural center of a large and 
productive tributary territory and has 
a rapidly increasing local market. In 
addition to this its facilities for reach- 
ing foreign and domestic markets are 
unsurpassed. By the railroads cen- 
tering here, with their numerous 
connections, quick transportation is 
assured to any part of the North 
American continent, and by the vari- 
ous lines of domestic and foreign 
steam and sailing vessels, Portland is 



struggle for position and wealth, the 
home must still be thought of, and 
Portland's advantages as a place of 
residence are pre-eminent. The resi- 
dential portions of the older part of 
the city cover the tops and slopes of 
the two hills, Munjoy and Bramhall, 
elevated far enough above the level 
of the business streets to escape the 
smoke and odors, the noise and dust 
of traffic, and yet near enough to the 
center of the city to feel the heart- 




SURF AT CUSHING'S ISLAND. 



in a position to bid for a share in the 
commercial transactions of nearly 
every civilized country. The possi- 
bilities for the future are unlimited. 
With every natural advantage, with 
plenty of capital in the hands of thor- 
oughly practical business men, with 
a Board of Trade alive to the needs of 
the times, the prospect is certainly a 
pleasing one. But while this is an 
age of steam and electricity, and men 
grow old before their time in the mad 



throbs of its business life. The views 
from these locations are a source of 
never-ending satisfaction and enjoy- 
ment. From Munjoy one looks to- 
ward sunrise, out over the broad 
expanse of Casco Bay, dotted with 
its island gems ; on Bramhall fall the 
last rays of the sun as it sets behind 
the distant New Hampshire hills. 
Every foot of the territory is historic 
ground, and the fancy can easily con- 
jure back the spirits of the dusky men 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 



23 



and maidens who acted on this stage 
their parts in the drama of life, lived 
and loved and died, and were forgot- 
ten, as their white successors have 
done and will do, and will in turn be 
forgotten, down to the end of recorded 
time. To consider its purely utilita- 
rian aspect, the situation is an almost 
ideal one. All that goes to make 
home life in a city pleasurable is here 
in full measure. The drainage is 
excellent and the water supply is 
perfect, so that those diseases attrib- 
utable to defective drainage and im- 
pure water are almost unheard of, or 



built residences in the suburbs. The 
enlarged territory now makes it pos- 
sible to live far away from the nerve- 
trying bustle of business, and at the 
same time where one can enjoy all 
the advantages of urban life. The va- 
rious lines of the Portland Street Rail- 
road furnish quick communication 
between all parts of the enlarged city. 
In a social way the resident of Port- 
land, man or woman, has a plethora 
of good things at command. There 
are secret societies, literary societies, 
and clubs in abundance, and that 
person would be unique indeed, who 




■ t —- . " ::-■-. ■■■ • 



PARK STREET, FROM DANFORTH STREET. 



so rare as to be regarded with curios- 
ity. Contagious diseases are not com- 
mon and a dangerous epidemic is 
something unknown. In the matter 
of police and fire protection the city 
is highly favored, and church and 
school privileges are fully up to the 
standard of the times. There are 
several libraries containing thousands 
of well-selected books, available for 
study, reference or amusement. Be- 
fore the annexation of Deering, desir- 
able building lots in Portland were 
not plenty and many business men 



could not at once find and take his 
place in congenial society. In regard 
to amusements Portland is in a posi- 
tion to command the best, from grand 
opera and the world-famous piano 
virtuoso to the last comic opera and 
the latest thing in vaudeville. When 
it comes to taking into account the 
cost of living as compared with other 
New England cities, having what 
might be considered similar advan- 
tages, the balance is largely in Port- 
land's favor, as is natural when one 
takes into consideration the fact that 



24 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 



our markets are the distributing 
source for most of the necessaries of 
life. If a man insists that the luxu- 
ries are essential to complete happi- 
ness, the luxuries are his to command 
at prices well within the bounds of 
reason. Not least among the attrac- 
tions of Portland as a place of resi- 
dence, are its public parks, its 
"lungs," breathing places for the 
children, the convalescent, the sight- 
seer, or the luxuriously idle. These 
parks, all within the limits of the city, 
are six in number : The Western 
Promenade on Bramhall Hill, the 
Eastern Promenade on Munjoy Hill, 



and converted it into a public park. 
The wisdom of this action was demon- 
strated long ago. Thickly set with 
shade trees, it is one of the many 
beauty spots of the city, and is a pop- 
ular resort for the children and for the 
old and infirm, to whom a visit to any 
of the other parks would be, on 
account of the distance, almost a phy- 
sical impossibility. Here the care- 
less, happy children and the men and 
women upon whose heads have beaten 
the pitiless storms of a long, weary 
life, meet on equal terms on common 
ground, and only the sparrows and 
the sparrows' Maker see and know all 




DRIVE IN DEERINGS OAKS. 



Fort Allen and Fort Sumner Parks on 
Munjoy Hill, Deerings Oaks and Lin- 
coln Park. Fort Allen and Fort 
Sumner Parks cover ground once oc- 
cupied by forts of the same names, 
and offer extensive views over a wide 
expanse of earth and sea. The prom- 
enades are favorite resorts of devotees 
of the bicycle, and each has its own 
peculiarly delightful features. Lin- 
coln Park is in the center of the city 
and though small is a gem in its way. 
Before the great fire in 1 866 the site 
was covered with residences. After 
the fire the city purchased the ground 



the good these^represeutatives from 
the two extremes of life get out of this 
bit of God's green earth. In Deer- 
ings Oaks there are quiet nooks and 
walks where lovers tryst, beautiful 
drives and paths, the nucleus of an 
open air zoo, a duck pond upon which 
the children may glide into fairyland, 
and over all ' ' the breezy dome of 
groves." Few cities are so fortunate 
as to possess an equal number of parks 
open to the public at all times, where 
rich and poor alike may get a taste of 
rus in urbc without money and with- 
out price. All these advantages 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 



naturally add to the attractiveness of 
Portland as a city of homes. A result 
of the annexation of Deering has been 
the placing upon the market, within 
the city limits, of a large amount of 
land upon which men of small or 
moderate means may build houses, 
thus gradually relieving the more 
congested portions of the city. For 
reasons that are not far to seek, the 
people of the United States have ac- 
quired the reputation abroad of being 
a nation of money getters, pure and 
simple, blind and deaf worshipers of 



and discuss deep metaphysical ques- 
tions by the hour, as though therein 
centered his whole duty to his country 
and humanity, and the Frenchman 
will leave the excitement of the bourse 
and lose himself in contemplation of a 
new method of preparing veal to imi- 
tate chicken. But the nervous Amer- 
ican, they say, eats pie at a quick 
lunch counter, talks money from 
morning to night, and finds his recre- 
ation in drawing checks and cutting 
coupons. This is, of course, wild 
exaggeration, but it has a basis in 




ARTIFICIAL POND AT THE OAKS, PORTLAND. 



the almighty dollar. While our for- 
eign neighbors have been obliged by 
recent events to agree in the opinion 
that Uncle Sam may be a respectable 
fellow enough when he gets his 
growth, they are not yet ready to ad- 
mit that we know anything about art 
or literature, and they think of us 
always as running to catch a train. 
Our English cousin takes an hour at 
his meals, and his rest is not disturbed 
by business out of business hours ; 
the German, over innumerable steins 
of beer, will forget the flight of time 



truth. The average American is just 
beginning to recognize the fact that 
he can do more and better work by 
playing part of the tinie, and as this 
same average American does nothing 
by halves this matter of a time for 
work and a time for play is fast com- 
ing to be a recognized factor in the 
life of the citizens of the United 
States. When it has been settled at 
last that recreation is necessary, then 
comes the question of where the 
recreation shall be taken, and in the 
decision the state of Maine gets a full 



26 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 




PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 



27 



share of the benefits. Nor has it ever 
been asserted that this share is not 
fully deserved. The Pine Tree state 
is fast becoming known as the play- 
ground of the nation. Here come 
men and women from all over this 
broad land, to shake off for a time the 
multifold cares of a life that has come 
to be normally intense in its earnest- 
ness. All along Maine's rugged 
coast are resorts for the seekers of 
rest or recreation ; all through the 
wildernesses of the interior the camps 



and Portland & Rochester Railroads, 
and the Boston and New York steam- 
ers, all bring their quotas to swell the 
army that is larger and larger each 
year. Beginning early in the spring 
and continuing well into the summer, 
disciples of Izaak Walton turn to 
Maine as the paradise of fishermen, 
knowing that in its countless lakes 
and streams royal sport awaits them. 
From the first of June until the time 
when the forests put on their livery of 
scarlet and gold, summer vacationists 




RECEPTION ROOM, CASINO, RIVERTON PARK. 

(Woodwork done by Williams Manufacturing Company.) 



of sportsmen open wide hospitable 
doors to those who love nature in her 
more unconventional moods, and in 
even* hamlet and almost even' farm- 
house a welcome awaits those who 
would escape the brain-wearying 
grind of the routine of life. For the 
thousands who come to Maine every 
year in search of sport, health, rest or 
recreation, Portland is the natural 
distributing point. The Boston & 
Maine, Maine Central, Grand Trunk 



flock to Maine, and in some fashion- 
able hotel by the seaside, or in some 
quiet farmhouse, escape the heat and 
confusion of the large cities. Then 
during the autumn months the woods 
are full of hunters, who know from 
experience or at second hand that 
Maine stands at the head when big 
game is under consideration. Nearly 
every individual in this countless 
multitude pays direct or indirect trib- 
ute to Portland. Going or coming, 



28 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 




PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 



29 



they linger a moment, and in that 
moment the spell is woven and the 
captive led away. This is why Port- 
land is made headquarters by so 
many who pass their vacations in 
Maine. With hotels of the first rank 
of excellence, with pure air and pure 
water, with unrivaled transportation 
facilities, tourists realize the fact that 
this city is unique in its position. 
Let it be supposed that a party of 
tourists want an itinerary mapped 
out, and that they have arrived and 
taken rooms at the hotel of their 
choice. Several days are needed to 
explore and "discover" the city, to 
become acquainted with its business 
and residential streets, to visit its 
churches and public buildings, its 



the evidences of rest and comfort on 
the other form a combination that 
never becomes monotonous. These 
popular resorts are reached by the 
electric cars of the Portland Railroad 
Company, the manager of which has 
proved be)'ond question his ability to 
cater to the wishes of the amusement 
loving public. Other days can be 
profitably passed in trips to Stroud- 
water, Westbrook and Rigby Park, 
and in the enjoyment of the beauties 
along the line of the Portland & 
Yarmouth Electric Road, including 
Waite's Landing and Falmouth Fore- 
side. For those who have never vis- 
ited Portland, or who know the city 
only casually, Casco Bay in itself is a 
revelation. From the outermost point 




• 



MACKWORTH ISLAND. 



parks and its water front. Then may 
come a series of short excursions, not 
so long as to be tiresome, covered 
easily in the glow and sunshine of a 
summer day. First of all, perhaps, 
will come Riverton Park, that bit of 
nature developed and perfected by the 
Portland Railroad Company on the 
shore of the beautiful Presumpscot 
River. Here are attractions, includ- 
ing the open-air theater, sufficient to 
fill a day and evening, and the pecul- 
iarity of the place is that one visit only 
whets the appetite for another. In 
another direction, on the Cape shore, 
are the Cape Casino and Theatre, with 
the limitless sea as a background. 
Against the titanic wall of everlasting 
stone the surges break, and the un- 
tamed wildness on the one hand and 



of Cape Elizabeth along the coast to 
Harpswell, each change of view-point 
brings with it a new surprise and a 
new sensation of enjoyment. The 
islands that plentifully dot the waters 
of the bay are gems fit for the setting 
of Neptune's kingly crown. There 
are Cushings, with its big hotel and 
its picturesque cottages ; Peaks, the 
Coney Island of the bay, with its 
summer theater, hotels, cottages, pub- 
lic garden, cosmopolitan crowds, an- 
nual boating carnival, and scores of 
daily and hourly attractions ; Long 
Island, with hotel, boarding-houses 
and cottages ; Great and Little Dia- 
mond, covered with costly summer 
residences, and many others. The 
commodious and well appointed 
steamers of the various lines make 



30 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 



quick trips between these islands and 
the cit) T . The summer life of the 
islands is to a certain extent a study 
by itself. Some of the islands, like 
Cushings, are exclusive, catering to 
wealth and social distinction ; others, 
like Peaks, invite the crowds, the 
more the merrier, slap you on the 
back, call you by your given name, 
and ask you to call again and bring 
all your friends. Somewhere, at 
some time during the season, all the 
social grades of society are repre- 
sented, and all go home with the vow 
registered to come again next season. 
From Union Station trips may be 
taken by rail to many delightful 
lesorts. By the Boston & Maine one 
reaches Scarboro, Grand Beach (the 
summer home of Hon. Thomas B. 
Reed), Prouts Neck, Pine Point, Old 
Orchard, Ferry Beach, and other at- 
tractive points along the Maine coast 
west of Portland. By way of the 
Mountain Division of the Maine Cen- 
tral Railroad the traveler becomes 
acquainted with Sebago Lake, across 
which a steamer runs, through the 
winding Songo River to Naples, 
Bridgton and Harrison. At Bridg- 
ton and Harrison connection can be 
made by way of the Bridgton & Saco 
River Railroad with the Maine Cen- 
tral at Hiram Junction. This trip, 
combining the beauties of land and 
water, is a popular one and can be 
taken in the interval between an 
early breakfast and a late supper. 
Beyond Lake Sebago the Maine Cen- 
tral enters the gateway of the White 
Mountains, and the glories of the 
everlasting hills are then on every 
side. This is also one of the trips 
that can be made easily in a day, with 
Portland as a starting-point. By the 
Grand Trunk you are carried up 
through the Androscoggin valley, 
with its wealth of scenery, and 
brought back to your inn at a season- 
able hour. The Maine Central, east- 
ward, the Portland & Rochester and 
the Portland & Rumford Falls roads, 
all offer excellent facilities for de- 
lightful side trips into new and 



always attractive country. Beautiful 
carriage drives in and around Port- 
land are numerous and for bicyclists 
the possibilities are unlimited. With- 
in a radius of fifteen miles there are 
long stretches of well paved streets, 
quiet country roads between well kept 
farms, and narrow lanes from which 
the overhanging trees shut out the 
midday sun. There are picturesque 
drives along the shore, never far 
away from the sound of the restless 
surf, where the smell of the sea is 
always in the air ; inland the quiet is 
unbroken save by country sounds, 
the songs of birds, the lowing of cat- 
tle, the hum of bees, the shouts of 
farmers a-field, and the air is laden 
with that spicy fragrance that makes 
tired men and women forget that they 
are growing old and for a time sug- 
gests the possibility that the last cool 
spring from which they drank may 
indeed have been the fabled fountain 
of eternal youth. Ask the faithful 
Mohammedan why he turns his face 
toward Mecca when at his devotions, 
and he may give you a look full of 
pity for your ignorance ; stand out- 
side the magic circle and ask any in- 
dividual member of the ever increas- 
ing multitude, which each recurring 
season finds with faces set toward 
the East, what the reason for this an- 
nual hegira may be and you will be 
informed, in effect, that Portland is 
the Mecca of the great army of tour- 
ists who come to Maine as the place 
where nature, the good physician, 
most freely pours her balm into the 
wounds received in the battles of life, 
brings back the blessings of healthy 
appetite and restful sleep, and once 
more makes life really w T orth the 
living. 



Henry W. Longfellow* 

Longfellow spent many summers 
before his death with his brother, 
Alexander Longfellow, who until a 
few years ago occupied the place on 
the highlands of Deering known 
as Highfield. This sightly spot 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 



31 




THE DECEASED POET LONGFELLOW. 

Born in Portland. 

commands fine views of Portland, 
Casco Bay and the islands. The 
grounds contain many stately trees, 
among them being an elm which has 
now assumed goodly proportions. 
This elm, shown in the foreground 
of the accompanying engraving, was 
sent as a slip from the historic Wash- 
ington Elm in Cambridge, by the 
poet to his brother, and 
planted here by him in 
1852. Highfield is now 
occupied by George 
Thornton Edwards, 
president of the Wil- 
liams Manufacturing 
Company of Portland, 
but the house has been 
remodeled, leaving 
some of its original pic- 
turesque aspect. 



Portland is, composed of the 
largest membership in the state 
and occupies its own handsome 
building which stands in Con- 
gress Square. The Association 
was organized in this city in 
1853. Its present admirable 
quarters are the result of many 
years' patient labor on the part 
of its members and officers. The 
building and lot are situated in 
the heart of Portland and on the 
principal thorougfare, cost about 
$125,000, and the structure, 
shown on the following page, is 
one of the largest and finest in 
New England, if not in the 
United States. The corner 
stone was laid June 29,1897, and 
the building was dedicated and 
occupied September 29, 1898. 
Beside being substantially built 
and of modern architecture, it is 
fitted with all modern improve- 
ments including its own elec- 
tric lighting plant and an arte- 
sian well, the latter supplying 
twenty-six gallons of the purest and 
coolest of w r ater per minute. The 
building has an imposing entrance, 
and there is a large passenger ele- 
vator, adding to the comfort and 
convenience of frequenters of the 
building. Some part of every floor 
is used by the association. Several 
handsome stores on the ground floor 



The Young- Men's Chris- 
tian Association. 



The Young Men's 
Christian Association of 




LONGFELLOW MANSION. 



32 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 




PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 



33 



and rooms on the upper floors are 
rented for business and office purposes 
and form an important source of rev- 
enue towards the maintenance of the 
building, and the commendable 
work there accomplished. There 
is a reading-room, on the tables 
of which is an ample supply of 
all high class instructive periodi- 
cals and magazines ; a room contain- 
ing tables for chess, checkers and 
other games is much appreciated by 



indeed doubtful if any one of the 
Y. M. C. A.'s in the United States 
offers more advantages to its mem- 
bers than that of the association here 
in Portland. Edmund T. Garland, 
who has several assistants, presides. 
The officers are as follows : Edgar 
R. Payson, president; Ozman Adams, 
vice-president; John H. True, vice- 
president; Albert B. Hall, recording 
secretary; M. M. Bailey, treasurer. 
There is also a board of directors, 




PUBLIC LIBRARY BUILDING. 



the 1,200 members; there is a large 
lecture hall, auditorium and a gym- 
nasium, comprising one of the finest 
equipped in New England, and in 
which members are entitled to in- 
struction from a competent physical 
director. There are also educational 
class rooms and, several evenings 
during the week, members enjoy the 
privilege of instruction in different 
branches of study. There is a bicy- 
cle room, camera club room, swim- 
ming pool, bowling alleys, and it is 



seventeen in number, who legislate 
the business of the organization here. 

Portland Public Library Building. 

Since 1897, an d through the mu- 
nificence of Hon. James P. Baxter, 
who built and presented it to the 
city, Portland has possessed its own 
free public library building, support- 
ed by public bequests and yearly 
appropriations from the city and 
state. The building is one of the 



34 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 



handsomest and most striking in the 
city and comprises one of the finest 
structures devoted to its purpose, 
possessed by any city of like popula- 
tion in the United States. It is con- 
structed of brown freestone and Ohio 
sandstone and is of the Romanesque 
style of architecture. Three statues 
adorn the exterior, all eight feet in 
height, representing History, Litera- 
ture and Art. The corner stone was 
laid September 9, 1887, and the build- 
ing was 
dedicated 
February 
21, 1889. 
As well as 
being the 
most 
unique 
public 
building 
in Port- 
land, the 
interior is 
admirably 
adapted to 
its pur- 
pose. The 
stack 
room, in 
which the 
books are 
stored, has 
been en- 
1 a r g e d 
since the 
building 
was erect- 
ed and has 
now a ca- 
pacity for 

240,000 volumes. This building or 
annex in the rear of the main build- 
ing is thoroughly fire-proof and con- 
tains the Green system of shelving, 
the same as in the Congressional Li- 
brary at Washington. This impor- 
tant addition to the library was made 
through the bequest of $25,000, given 
by the trustees of the Walker estate. 
In 1897 the new children's room was 
opened. There is a large reading- 
room in which is to be found all high 




class current literature and also a 
reference room, both of which are 
open to all. All residents of Greater 
Portland are entitled to take books 
freely from the library by complying 
with the rules. There are now 45,- 
000 volumes and the institution is 
admirably conducted. It is in charge 
of a competent librarian and a large 
number of assistants are employed in 
selecting books for the vast multitude 
of people who avail themselves of the 

privile g e s 
of this 
most ex- 
cellent free 
public li- 
b r a r v . 
The offic- 
ers of the 
corpora- 
tion are 
James P. 
Baxter, 
president ; 
Edward A. 
N o y e s , 
treasurer ; 
and Virgil 
C. Wilson, 
secret a r v. 



Portland's 
Schools. 



PORTLAND HIGH SCHOOL. 



''Our 
school s 
andschool- 
houses 
have long 
been a sub- 
ject of jus- 
tifiable pride with us, and we may 
appeal with entire confidence to our 
past and present history for evidence 
of our foresight and liberal provisions 
for those who are to take our places 
hereafter, for what our children are 
now, that will our country be after 
we have gone to our rest." So said 
John Neal something over a quarter 
of a century ago, and the words may 
fitly introduce what may now be said 
on this subject. Portland, since the 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 



35 




ing the first 
Monday in 
July, and is 
forty-two 
weeks in 
length, inclu- 
sive of the 
following 
holidays and 
vacations: 
Thanksgiv- 
ing and the 
day follow- 
ing, the week 
including 
Christ m as, 
the week in- 
eluding 
Washing- 
ton's Birth- 
day, Fast Day 
and the day 
following, the 
week includ- 
ing May i, 
and Memorial Day. The school ses- 
sions are : High school, each week- 
day, except Saturdays, from 8.30 A. 
M. to 1 P. M. Grammar schools, 



PHYSICAL LABORATORY, PORTLAND HIGH SCHOOL. 

above was written, has lost none of 
its prestige as a city in which may be 
found some of the best schools and 
teachers in New England. Eschew- 
ing a tenden- 
cy to experi- 
men t with 
doubtful 
methods, 
holding fast 
to that which 
is good and 
adopting 
what is meri- 
torious when 
the merit is 
plain, our 
schools have 
steadily kept 
in the very 
front rank. 
The school 
year begins 
on the second 
Monday in 
Sep tember 
and ends on 
the Friday 
next preeed- greek room, Portland high school. 




36 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 





I III 1 



r 



Lirrr i 



DEERING HIGH SCHOOL. 



from 9 A. M. to 12 M., and 2 to 4.15 
P. M., each week-day, except Satur- 
days. On and after the second Mon- 
day in November, for the remainder 
of the term, sessions close at 4 P. M. 
Primary schools, from 9 A. M. to 12 
M. and 2 to 4 P. M., each week-day, 
except Saturdays. The signal for 
"no school" is sounded on the fire 
bells when the weather is very in- 
clement. There are about 7,500 
pupils registered in the public schools 
of Greater Portland, and the annual 
appropriations for the benefit of this 
small army 
of future 
citizens 
have a 1 - 
ways been 
made in a 
spirit of 
commend - 
able liber- 
ality. The 
more not- 
able events 
in the re- 
cent school 
life of Port- 
land have 
been the 
building of 
the 11 e w 
Km e r s o n 



schoolhouse 
on M u n j o y 
Hill, the re- 
modeling of 
the High 
School, the 
building o f 
the Jackson 
schoolhouse, 
the establish- 
ing of two 
new kinder- 
gartens, the 
introduct i o n 
of improved 
methods in 
teaching pen- 
manship, cer- 
tain changes 
in regard to 
the admission of pupils to the High 
School, the formal presentation of 
works of art to the various schools, 
and the transferring of the school for 
the deaf from city to state control. 
Following are the locations of the 
schools in Portland proper, with the 
names of the principals : High 
School, 284-294 Cumberland street ; 
principal, Albro E. Chase ; assistants, 
LeRoy L. Hight, Charles O. Cas- 
well, Antoine Dorticos, Walter E. 
Severance, Harold W. Eoker, Caro- 
line E. Gould, Flora B. Coolidge, 




EMERSON SCHOOL. 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 



37 




FIRST CLASS, EMERSON SCHOOL. 



Annie P. True, Gertrude B. Morse, 
Alice M. Lord, Florence I. Pollister, 
Cornie M. Spear, Eliza A. Taylor, 
Susie J. Mantle, Linda Graves, Car- 
rie E. Robinson and Edith H. Farn- 
ham. Deering High School, Stevens 
Plains avenue, six teachers; William 
M. Marvin, 
principal, five 
assi s t a n t s ; 
E m e r s o n 
School, Em- 
erson street, 
Marada F. 
Adams, prin- 
cipal, seven 
assistants; 
Butler Gram- 
mar School, 
West and 
Pine streets, 
W. W. An- 
drews, princi- 
pal, fourteen 
assistants; 
West School, 
37-39 Lowell 
street, Adri- 
ana M. Carle- 
ton, princi- 
pal, eight 



as sistants ; 
N o r[t h 
School, 248- 
254 Con- 
gress street, 
E. E. Par- 
m enter, 
pri nc i pal, 
twenty-six 
assistants ; 
Jackson 
G r a 111 111 a r 
School, 34- 
40 Green 
street, Dan- 
iel H. Dole, 
prin ci pal, 
ten assis- 
tants ; Cen- 
ter Street 
School, 70- 
74 Center 
street, J. A. 
Milliken, principal, ten assistants ; 
Shailer School, primary, 58-60 North 
street, Myra M. Eastman, principal, 
seven assistants ; Monument Street 
School, primary, 25-29 Monument 
street, Emma J. Wilson, principal, 
five assistants ; Training School, 20-22 




MAIN HALL, EMERSON SCHOOL. 



38 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 




BUTLER SCHOOL. 

Chestnut street, Sarah M. Taylor, 
principal, twenty assistants; Caseo 
Street School, primary, 29-31 Casco 
street, Isabella Garvin, principal, six 
assistants; Park Street School, pri- 
mary, Rosa E. Turner, principal, 
four assis- 
t a n t s ; 
Bra ckett 
S t r e e t 
School, pri- 
mary, 153- 
155 Brack- 
ett street, 
Mary E. 
Stackpole, 
prin c ipal, 
six a s s i s- 
tants ; Mc- 
Lell an 
School, pri- 
mary, 14-20 
Carro 11 
street, Ellen 
D. Stevens, 
p r i n c i p al , 
seven assis- 
t a n t s : 



Vaughan Street 
School, primary, 233 
Vaughan street, Amy 
N. Furlong, princi- 
pal, two assistants ; 
Oakdale School, 
Grace E. Curtis, 
principal, six assis- 
t a n t s ; Saund ers 
Street Primary, Flor- 
ence M. Knight, 
principal, two assis- 
tants ; Stroudwater 
School, Emily M. 
Maxfield ; Winslow's 
Primary, Grace M. 
Trask; Nason's 
School, Abbie G. 
Dennett; Ocean 
Street School, Wood- 
fords, Fred H. M. 
Witham, principal, 
four assistants ; Mor- 
rill's School, Nellie 
C. Mooer's, five as- 
sistants; Lunt's 
School, Mary E. Elwell, two assist- 
ants ; Center Primary, Caddie O. 
Fall, two assistants; East Deering 
School, primary, Maud A. Russell ; 
Riverton School, Minnie R. Bailey ; 
Riverside School, Mrs. Mary S. 




FIRST CLASS, BUTLER SCHOOL. 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 



39 




NORTH SCHOOL. 

Burnham ; Allen's School, Harriet S. 
Stone ; Auguste H. Schumacher, mu- 
sic ; Peak's Island School, L. Agnes 
Morrell, prin- 
cipal, two 
a s s i s t a nts ; 
Long Island 
School, Alice 
M. Cannell ; 
Long Island 
School, East 
End, Mary 
A. Babb; 
Cliff Island 
School, Grace 
P. Do w ; 
teacher of 
writing and 
drawing, H. 
W. Shaylor; 
assistant 
teacher of 
drawing, 
Mary B. Bul- 
lard ; teacher 
of music, Ann 
E. Merrill ; 
teachers o f 



training, 
George H. 
Babb and 
W . H . 
M or to n. 
The gen- 
eral wel- 
f a r e of 
these 
schools 
is carefully 
looked af- 
t e r by 
Superin- 
tendent O. 
M. Lord, 
whose long 
term of 
service 
has made 
him thor- 
oughly 
conversant 
with the 
require- 
ments and needs of every department. 
Back of the superintendent is the 
school committee, now comprising 




ma n u a 



1 



MANUAL TRAINING, NORTH SCHOOL. 



4 o 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 




JACKSON GRAMMAR SCHOOL 

men who conscientiously and freely 
give of their time to see that the stand- 
ard of the schools is not lowered. 
The High School furnishes to those 
pupils who have completed the studies 
prescribed for the grammar grade, 
and are possessed of requisite quali- 
fications, with opportunities to pursue 
a thorough course of advanced study. 
Each pupil is required to pursue four 
branches. There 
are two courses 
of study, a gen- 
eral and a classi- 
cal. At the 
beginning of the 
course parents or 
guardians m a y 
decide which 
course shall be 
pursued by the 
pupil. No devi- 
ation from these 
courses is made 
without good 
cause, satisfac- 
tory to the com- 
mittee of the 
school, and no 
pupil is advanced 
to any class who 



has not attained an 
average rank in 
scholarship of seven 
and five-tenths, in a 
scale of ten, during 
the preceding year, 
except by a vote of 
the committee. The 
number of pupils 
who enter the High 
School is increasing 
each year. This 
may be due to im- 
proved social condi- 
tions or to a greater 
public regard for 
higher education. 
A rank of 65 per 
cent, in arithmetic 
and 75 per cent, in 
all other studies, 
is necessary for ad- 
mission to the High 
vSchool from the first class of the 
Grammar School. The school com- 
mittee recently adopted a rule, pro- 
viding for special examinations for 
those who fail to reach the required 
standard. The general course of 
study in the High School comprises 
mathematics, language, science, his- 
tory and English literature. In the 
classical course the studies are 




WEST SCHOOL. 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 



41 




CENTER STREET SCHOOL. 

mathematics, Latin, Greek, French, 
history, English. There are five 
sessions each week, and the time of 
study in the school is but ninety min- 
utes each session for those who pursue 
the required courses, so that it is 
necessary that one or more lessons be 
thoroughly pre- 
pared at home. 
To this end par- 
ents are request- 
ed to see that 
the necessary 
time is devoted 
to study at home 
by pupils of this 
grade. In the 
gram m ar and 
primary grades 
a course of study 
and a program 
are outlined by 
the committee 
for the general 
guidance of 
teachers. This 
skeleton plan 
the teachers en- 
deavor to de- 
velop and 



elaborate by daily study, 
selecting such methods as 
seem best adapted to their 
work. The utmost at- 
tention is given to the 
importance of extending 
and perfecting the oral 
and written language of 
pupils, and consequently 
accuracy of statement 
and propriety of speech 
are aimed at. The mere 
memorizing and repeti- 
tion of lessons are not 
tolerated, and teachers 
are expected to prepare 
themselves so- as to be 
independent of text- 
books. The attention 
given to selected and 
collateral reading, suita- 
ble to the attainment of 
the pupils, in addition to 
routine work, is highly 
commendable. In the primary 
schools the slate is a valuable adjunct, 
script writing being commenced in 
the lowest grade and continued in all 
subsequent grades. The system of 
teaching mental arithmetic in the 
grammar schools is an excellent 




SHA1LER SCHOOL. 



42 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 




MONUMENT STREET SCHOOL. 

training and discipline for the young 
mind, giving the pupils a confidence 
in themselves that could not be ob- 
tained in any other manner. The 
whole system is intended to develop 
the abil- 
i t y to 
think 
quickly 
and ac- 
curately 
and to be 
resource - 
fill in 
cases of 
emergen- 
cy. From 
the time 
the pupil 
enters the 
p r i m ary 
grade, up 
through 
all suc- 
ceed ing 
grades, 
the idea 



is to develop originality, per- 
sonality, to get at the best 
there is in the make-up of 
the future man or woman. 
It is the endeavor in the pri- 
mary grade especially to teach 
the little ones in such a way 
that their interest may be 
arrested and held. From the 
earliest moment they are 
taught to think and work for 
themselves, and to make of 
work a pleasurable recrea- 
tion. Calisthenics and music 
play an important part in 
every department and it is 
particularly interesting to 
note how soon the smallest 
pupils in the lowest grades 
become imbued with the im- 
portance of their various re- 
sponsibilities. Drawing and 
music are taught as regular 
exercises, under the direction 
of special committees. The 
practice and training school 
is located in the schoolhouse 
on Chestnut street. The object of 
this school is to furnish preparatory 
training for inexperienced candidates 
for positions as teachers in the city 
schools. This school is recruited as 




KINDERGARTEN DEPARTMENT, MONUMENT STREET SCHOOL. 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 



43 




CHESTNUT STREET TRAINING SCHOOL 



follows : From candidates who hold 
certificates from the school commit- 
tee and from graduates of the High 
School, whose average rank for four 
years has been 85 per cent, or 
more, ten pupil teachers are annually 
elected by ballot. The committee in 
all cases is supposed to be governed 
in the selection by scholarship and 
general fitness. The teachers so 
selected are subject to all the rules 
and regulations 
of the committee 
relating to 
teachers and 
schools so far 
as applicable, 
and they receive 
no compen- 
sation except 
when engaged 
as substitutes. 
The employ- 
ment of such 
teachers is not 
considered per- 
manent and may 
be terminated at 
any time. 
Teachers who 
have satisfac- 
torily taught for 
a period of one 



year in the practice 
school, and who are 
found upon examination 
to possess the requisite 
qualifications, are en- 
titled to receive a diplo- 
ma from the committee, 
certifying to training 
and competency. The 
vertical system of pen- 
manship is used 
throughout the schools, 
legibility and compact- 
ness being two of the 
essentials in view. In 
drawing the plan of 
work proposed in the 
upper primary and 
grammar grades is in- 
tended to furnish the 
groundwork for any fu- 
ture study in this direction the pupil 
may desire to undertake. The les- 
sons are arranged under three divi- 
sions : Constructive or geometric, 
representative or pictorial, and dec- 
orative. The quality of the work 
done by the pupils shows that the 
time devoted to this branch is well 
spent. The work of the manual 
training department begins during 
the pupil's seventh year. The first 




CASCO STREET SCHOOL. 



44 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 




PROPOSED NEW PARK STREET SCHOOL. 



models made are those of the sim- 
plest form, made with ordinary tools, 
and the course develops until in the 
ninth year, when the boys become 
familiar with the more complex 
forms. During the last year the 
pupils make few drawings, their work 
being done to a 
large extent from 
drawings furnished 
them. T h roughout 
the entire course short 
talks are given upon 
subjects kindred to 
the matter taught, 
and compositions de- 
scriptive of the work 
are required. The 
schoolhouses are 
well supplied with 
school libraries, and 
pupils are encour- 
aged to use the books 
freely. Excellent re- 
sults are everywhere 
reported. The even- 
ing school is an 
important feature 
in Portland's educa- 
tional scheme. Each 



season witnesses 
a largely in- 
creased a 1 1 e n- 
dance over the 
previous year, 
the pupils com- 
prising young 
men and women 
who were obliged 
to leave school at 
an early age, 
adults of various 
ages and nation- 
alities who were 
deprived of edu- 
cational advan- 
tages in their 
youth, and others 
who desire to 
study some spec- 
ial branch 
taught. The 
average cost to 
the city of each 
pupil taught has been about four cents 
a night, and results obtained justify a 
generous annual appropriation for 
this object. For several years Port- 
land has been gaining experience in 
the practical value of kindergarten 
instruction, and although arguments 




MCLELLAN SCHOOL. 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 



45 



are now and then advanced against 
" invading the nursery," results thus 
far obtained would seem to warrant 
expansion rather than any curtail- 
ment in this direction. That the 
schoolroom should be made bright 
and attractive has long been admitted 
by everybody as an abstract truth, 
but it took concrete form in Portland 
only when the members of the 
Woman's Literary Union interested 
themselves in the matter. By per- 
sonal and solicited contributions they 
s u c - 
c e e d ed 
in rais- 
i n g a 
sum of 
m o n e y 
suffici- 
ent to 
p u r - 
chase a 
numbe r 
of clas- 
sic casts 
and 
h u n - 
dreds of 
cho i ce 
a n d 
b e a uti- 
ful pic- 
tures. 
These 
were 
p 1 a c ed 
on ex- 
hibition 
in Re- 
c eption 

hall, and on Saturday afternoon, 
May 15, 1897, were formally presen- 
ted to the school committee by Mrs. 
Josiah Burnham, the president of the 
Union. On this occasion Superin- 
tendent Uord presided, and Judge 
Symonds delivered a scholarly ad- 
dress on the subject, " Painters and 
Sculptors." On behalf of the city, 
Mayor Randall, in a graceful speech, 
accepted these works of art and they 
were distributed among the various 
schools. Refined taste and excellent 




judgment were shown in the selection 
of subjects, and the result must nec- 
essarily be the elevation of the moral 
and artistic tone of Portland's schools. 
This first collection has been largely 
augmented each year, by purchase 
and by gift. The teachers in the 
public schools of Portland are noted 
for their efficiency. They are, in 
addition to their educational fitness, 
required to make themselves familiar 
with all the rules, regulations and 
directions of the school board, espec- 

i a 1 1 y 
with 
those 
that re- 
late to 
t hei r 
own du- 
ties and 
to the 
instruc- 
tion and 
disci- 
pline of 
their 
schools. 
They 
are re- 
quired 
to keep 
the su- 
p e r i 11- 
tendent 
a 11 d 
t heir 
immedi- 
ate su- 



VAUGHAN STREET SCHOOL 



pervisor 
f u 1 1 y 
informed of all matters coming under 
their observation, affecting the char- 
acter and welfare of the schools, and 
shall at all times afford every facility 
for the purpose of examination. 
They are required to be in the school- 
room at least fifteen minutes before 
the commencement of the session, and 
during school hours they shall devote 
themselves faithfully to the public 
service, striving always to impress 
upon the minds of their pupils, by 
precept and example, the importance 



46 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 



of continued effort for improvement, 
in morals and manners as well as in 
useful knowledge. The character of 
the discipline in Portland's schools 
is that of the parent over the child. 
Politeness and good behavior are 
carefully inculcated and corporal 
punishment is resorted to only when 
all other means fail. As might be 
expected among such a large number 
of pupils, all other means fail at 
times, but the reports from the vari- 
ous schools show that more gentle 
methods usually prevail. The gen- 
eral health of the pupils of the public 
schools indicates that the city realizes 
full}' its responsibility in the matter 
of proper sanitary precautions. The 
newer schoolhouses are models of 
convenience and sanitary perfection 
and the older buildings have received 
such repairs and improvements as 
occasion demanded, to bring them up 
to the requirements of the times. 
Teachers are instructed as a part of 
their duty to see that all schoolrooms 
are properly lighted and ventilated, 
and on this score no improvement is 
possible. The schoolhouses are pro- 
vided with ample grounds and rooms 
where the pupils may take exercise, 
in addition to the system of drills cal- 
culated to develop the physical in 
contradistinction to the purely men- 
tal. In the primary schools teachers 
are particularly enjoined to allow 
pupils frequent change of position, 
and such alternation from study to 
rest, and from one recitation to an- 
other, as will best promote physical 
health and comfort. Excellent as 
Portland's schools have been in the 
past, and none have been better, the 
schools of to-day are far in advance. 
In the old days the main idea was to 
crowd into the pupil's head as much 
as possible within a given time. It 
is true that the times produced some 
good heads, and they were filled ac- 
cording to the approved methods of 
the day ; but they were notable not 
by reason of the school system, but in 
spite of it. Modern methods are best 
for modern times and the day of the 



antique has passed. All children do 
not receive knowledge with equal 
facility, or through the same channel ; 
the province of the modern teacher is 
to study the child, repress exuber- 
ance, build up the weak places, and 
otherwise assist in the growth of what, 
if properly cared for, may develop 
into a well rounded intellect. Along 
all lines the superficial and showy are 
gradually giving place to the practi- 
cal and substantial. Each succeed- 
ing generation is stronger than its 
immediate predecessor, and the atten- 
tion now given to the thousand and 
one details of plumbing and ventila- 
tion in the buildings where the 
children live during a large portion 
of their waking hours can but result 
in a generation of men and women 
better fitted physically and mentally 
to give a good account of themselves 
in the battle of life. Portland has set 
its standard high. As the metropolis 
of the state it is looked upon to 
give laws upon social and educa- 
tional questions, and it is improbable 
that there will be any retrograde 
movement. 



Maine School for the Deaf. 



A most important educational in- 
stitution of Portland is the Maine 
School for the Deaf, now a state 
institution, but until 1897 known as 
the Portland School for the Deaf. 
The school was first opened in 1876, 
and therefore for over twenty years 
has done much towards educating 
deaf mutes. In 1895, the state pur- 
chased the large mansion house 
adjoining the building comprising 
the original school on Spring street. 
This building, now called Brownson 
Hall, was enlarged to double its size 
and fitted up as a dormitory for the 
use of the children of this state, who 
were or should be, pupils of the Port- 
land School for the Deaf. When the 
city conveyed, free to the state, its 
title to the schoolhouse and lot, the 
institution became known under its 
present name and the state assumed 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 



47 



it as a charge. The board of trus- 
tees of this institution is as follows : 
William H. Brownson, president, 
Portland ; Edward B. Winslow, Port- 
land ; Hiram Knowlton, Portland ; 
Henry P. Cox, Portland and Byron 
Kimball, North Bridgton. After as- 
suming charge in June, 1897, the 
board of trustees, encouraged by the 
granting of a special appropriation 
from the legislature, immediately set 
about having the grounds graded, the 
fence between the school and dormi- 
tory removed, also an old stable ; and 
a fence was built around the rear of 
the newly combined lots. A new 



is so seriously impaired as to be in- 
capable of receiving instruction in 
common schools. The school is open 
to all deaf children in the state and 
to children from other states to a 
limited extent after compliance with 
the rules of the institution. Appli- 
cants between the ages of five and 
twenty-one years are admitted pro- 
vided they are free from any malady 
rendering them incapable of receiving 
instruction. The Combined System 
of Instruction, which includes all 
known methods of teaching the deaf, 
is in use ; and especial attention is 
given to speech and lip reading, which 




(Brownson Hall, Dormitory) 



MAINE SCHOOL FOR THE DEAF. 



(School) 



brick wall was built from the street 
to the school, all the buildings were 
repainted, new plumbing was put 
into the schoolhouse, the heating ap- 
paratus thoroughly repaired, new 
wrought iron fire escapes were put on 
the dormitory, a new iron fence built 
on the street front and several other 
important improvements were made, 
putting the school in perfect condition 
for its highly commendable work. 
The school is conducted under rules 
of economy and its corps of competent 
teachers accomplish a most marvelous 
work. The school is designed for the 
instruction of children whose hearing 



is taught here with a marked degree 
of success as children born deaf and 
dumb can be taught to read the lips 
of any one addressing them and 
converse intelligently and correctly. 
The course of instruction includes 
all the English branches and all 
pupils are given industrial training 
while in attendance, and the girls are 
taught to sew and cook. The school 
session is from September 10 to June 
15. At the last term the school con- 
tained about seventy-five pupils of 
whom forty-two were boys. The 
principal of the school is Elizabeth 
R. Taylor who is ably assisted by 



4 8 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 



eight teachers. The school, it is esti- 
mated, will soon outgrow its quarters 
and will have to be enlarged. 



Board of Trade. 



In this trade organization Portland 
possesses an influential power which, 
since its foundation in 1853, has con- 
tinuously asserted itself in the best 
interests of this the largest city in the 
State of Maine. Since its origin, the 
Portland Board of Trade has been 
composed of the majority of the citi- 
zens of Portland having the largest 
business interests here and as a rule 
the cream of the ranks of the army of 
Portland's financiers, capitalists, busi- 
ness and professional men. In look- 
ing over the history and noting the 
innumerable objects accomplished, it 
may be safely stated that the organ- 
ization has been the most important 
factor in the growth and development 
of this city. The first meetings of 
this organization were held at the 
Mercantile Library Association 
rooms, where Wm. W. Woodbury 
was elected the first president, but 
declining to serve Hon. J. B. Brown 
was chosen ; Henry Fox the first sec- 
retary, and Jonas H. Perley its first 
treasurer, with seventy-nine in all 
comprising its full membership, about 
fourteen of whom are still living. By 
act of the legislature approved March 
22, 1854, the organization became in- 
corporated under the laws of Maine. 
The constitution and by-laws, adop- 
ted shortly after the society became a 
corporation, are still in use. In 
honor of the arrival in this port of the 
English steamer, Sarah Sands, after 
the opening of regular steam commu- 
nication between Europe and Port- 
land, a notable banquet was held, 
Dec. 20, 1853, in which the new 
board of trade took a prominent part. 
On this memorable occasion, the ban- 
quet was presided over by the late 
Hon. J. B. Brown, then president of 
the board. In 1856, when the Great 
Eastern, then building in England, 



was expected to drop anchor in Port- 
land's excellent deep water harbor, 
the board made ample arrangements 
to have the great influx of visitors 
that the occasion promised to draw to 
Portland accommodated, co-operating 
with the city in the construction of 
two large piers, erected at the cost of 
$60,000. Although this ship never 
came, it was from no want of ade- 
quate preparations by the board of 
trade. The matter of coast commu- 
nication, between Portland and the 
Maritime Provinces, was one of the 
next matters taken in hand. The 
discussion of this important matter 
led to the inception of the Interna- 
tional Steamship Co., which has fur- 
nished such excellent regular service 
between Portland and the lower Brit- 
ish Provinces. Soon after this a reg- 
ular line of sailing packets was estab- 
lished by the board of trade, making 
regular trips to all ports along the 
coast as far as Jonesport and Machias ; 
which afterwards resulted in the es- 
tablishment of a line of steamers be- 
tween Portland and Camden, and a 
line between Portland and Waldo- 
boro, and of the Portland and Ma- 
chias Steamship Co., all of which 
have increased Portland's commerce 
a thousandfold. Not only were the 
efforts of the board of trade devoted 
towards drawing business from the 
east in its early existence ; in 1863, 
in response to the invitations extend- 
ed by the board of trade, delegates 
from the trade organizations of De- 
troit, Chicago, Milwaukee, Montreal 
and Quebec visited this city where 
they were welcomed hospitably and a 
grand levee and banquet was held at 
city hall. This resulted in bringing 
about the better acquaintance between 
citizens of Portland and the people of 
the western cities. To protect the 
reputation of the flour trade in Port- 
land, an efficient committee of the 
board of trade established a standard 
for the various brands adopted, and 
samples of which were left at the 
board of trade rooms for reference, 
and an inspector was appointed, being 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 



49 



held responsible for the efficient and 
faithful discharge of his duties to the 
board, and which system continued 
until the great fire of 1866, when the 
samples were destroyed and less at- 
tention was afterwards given to a 
flour inspection. In 1863, the board 
of trade removed to rooms opposite 
its present location on Exchange 
street, which quarters were destroyed 
by the great fire, but afterwards re- 
built. In 1863, a committee was 
appointed to obtain subscriptions for 
the stock of a corporation afterwards 
formed to build the present large dry 
dock at Cape Elizabeth, costing 
$150,000, the want of which had been 
apparent for several years. After 
the destruction of Wood's marble 
hotel, which was erected through the 
efforts of the board of trade, Mr. 
Brown, its president, in fulfilment of 
his promise to the board of trade, 
built the Falmouth Hotel, to be a 
credit to the city, and as conducted 
at the present day, so has it been 
almost since it was first bnilt. In 
1863 also, Sebago Lake was vigor- 
ously urged as the permanent source 
of supply for city water which object 
was accomplished after persistent 
effort later. Buoys and steam whis- 
tles for Cape Elizabeth, Matinicus 
Rock and Ouoddy Head were secured 
from the government and the same 
year a compulsory pilotage tax 
imposed on the commerce of this port 
was killed. In 1864, a special com- 
mittee was sent to Washington which 
succeeded in having excessive duties 
on molasses greatly reduced. The 
same year the board raised nearly 
$8,000 for the relief of the suffering 
Union people of East Tennessee, and 
$1,500 for the distressed immigrants 
landed here from the wrecked steamer 
Bohemian. During the Rebellion, 
nearly $30,000 was raised for similar 
purposes through the board. During 
the war period many of the large 
manufacturing concerns were ren- 
dered support and encouragement, 
among which were the Portland Co., 
the rolling mills, glass works, shovel 



works, sugar refineries, all of which 
originated in the board of trade. 
In 1865, a committee was chosen for 
the purpose of bringing about the 
organization of a joint stock company 
for the manufacture of shoes, with a 
capital of not less than $50,000. This 
resulted in several firms and individ- 
uals engaging in shoe manufacturing 
in this city. In 1867, the Portland 
& Ogdensburg Railroad was origi- 
nated, the first meeting in its behalf 
being called by Secretary M.N. Rich. 
The same year, at the great commer- 
cial convention held in Detroit, mainly 
through the efforts of the Portland 
delegation, the National Board of 
Trade was formed. The detention 
of merchandise at Island Pond for 
entry and payment of duties there, 011 
goods coming over the Grand Trunk 
System, was righted by the board of 
trade in 1868, and negotiations for 
reciprocal trade with Canada had 
been urged at that time for several 
years, as had the relief of commerce 
and navigation by remission of tax 
on ship building material been fre- 
quently advocated in congress. In 
1 87 1 a board of manufactures was 
established to encourage and promote 
the investment of foreign capital here, 
one result of which was the holding 
of an industrial fair four years later. 
The deepening of the harbor to admit 
the largest steamships to the wharves 
at any time, was a result of the 
appropriation granted by congress, 
asked for by the board in 1872; 
breaking the ice in the upper harbor 
and around the wharves in extreme 
cold seasons had been done and paid 
for by the board of trade. After the 
grain elevator was destroyed by fire 
in 1874, it was rebuilt with the earn- 
est co-operation of the board and the 
protection of the water front now 
afforded the city by an adequately 
equipped fire boat was urged by this 
organization before that time. By 
condemning the adulteration of food 
and drugs, protesting against dis- 
crimination in freight rates, regula- 
tion of interstate commerce, securing: 



5Q 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 



lower rates on mileage books for com- 
mercial travelers, an equitable dis- 
tribution of the Geneva award, 
perfection of the United States signal 
service at this port, greater efficiency 
at life-saving stations, change of sys- 
tem and removal of some of the light- 
houses on this coast, were all brought 
about. In 1884, the board of trade 
voted to co-operate with members of 
congress in conceiving measures to 
check the decline of American ship- 
ping, through the so-called Dingley 
Bill, and also to assist in enhancing 
the usefulness of the Revenue Marine 
Bill. In co-operation with the state 



ness houses in this country and 
Europe. The same year the board 
appointed a commission to co-operate 
with the Grand Trunk System, to 
build another grain elevator in order 
to handle the increasing business in 
grain shipments at this port. The 
present colossal elevator towering 
above the masts of the largest ocean 
steamers by a hundred feet or more, 
and much larger than its sister grain 
elevator in this city to-day, shows the 
result of the energy and far sighted- 
ness of the members of the board of 
trade. In 1887, congress was peti- 
tioned regarding the proper defence 




M. N. RICH, 

Secretary. 



COL. F. E. BOOTHBY, 

President. 



C. S. FOBES, 

Treasurer. 



OFFICERS OF THE PORTLAND BOARD OF TRADE. 



commissioner, the board did valuable 
work towards making a creditable 
show of Maine products and works 
of art at the New Orleans exposition. 
In 1885, legislation was secured by 
the board to suppress the operations 
of itinerant traders and pedlers. 
The following year action was taken 
securing further improvement and 
deepening of the water in Portland 
harbor, which was made suitable for 
the easy passage of the largest ocean 
steamers at low tide. The New 
York Produce Exchange was also 
aided, by the board, in the prepara- 
tion of a revised bill of lading, to be 
adopted internationally by all busi- 



of Maine seaports, and measures were 
adopted to prevent the diversion of 
railroads, coming into Portland, from 
their intended usefulness to this city. 
In 1889, members of the board of 
trade appeared before a committee 
composed of members of congress to 
prevent the rescinding of measures, 
threatening to interrupt the present 
commercial relations with Canada, by 
abolishing the privilege of carrying 
United States goods in bond by rail 
through Canada without unnecessary 
hindrance. It was the year previous 
to this, 1888, that the Board of Trade 
Journal was started by Secretary 
M. N. Rich. This journal has 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 



51 



ever since been issued with clock - 
like regularity, and its objects, to 
keep the investment of capital from 
being drawn from the state, by illus- 
trating continuously the many oppor- 
tunities for safer investment and more 
profitable return within the borders 
of the state of Maine, have been real- 
ized to a gratifying degree. It was 
in 1889 that the board of trade, by 
members subscribing liberally to the 
stock, induced the printing and 
engraving concern, now known as the 
Lakeside Press, to remove its plant 
to this city, where it has since been 
operated. In 1890, the board of 
directors was increased in number 
from seven to thirteen, since which 
time the affairs of the organization 
have been more fully within the 
jurisdiction of this board. In 1892, 
while preparations were being made 
for a state representation, with a state 
building at the World's Columbian 
Exposition, the Portland board of 
Trade took a leading part in raising 
funds and urging the advisability of 
providing a state building which 
would do honor to Maine, subscribing 
$2,000 of the $35,000 of its approxi- 
mate cost. During the World's Fair, 
many notable exhibits were made at 
Chicago by the different concerns, 
indirectly connected with the board 
of trade, and the board itself placed 
in the state building large quantities 
of illustrated books, descriptive of 
the State of Maine and Portland. 
Ever alert on matters of national im- 
portance, in 1893, the board urged 
and used its influence towards having 
the purchasing clause of the Sher- 
man Act repealed. Through the 
treasurer, Mr. Fobes, the attention of 
the board to the need of a lightship 
off the entrance of Portland harbor, 
was brought. This subject is one 
which has received much attention, 
and has since been productive of an 
appropriation, granted by congress 
at a recent date. During the past 
few years, the board has been active 
in a thousand and one ways, in which 
a board of trade is called upon, either 



by the public or by its own members, 
to act. The matter of enlarging and 
deepening Portland harbor, so that 
the largest ocean liners, that dis- 
charge and load at the docks, could 
have one thousand feet of water suffi- 
ciently deep to enable them to swing 
their giant hulls, is now being accom- 
plished through the recent appropri- 
ation made by congress, of $850,000. 
During the encumbency of President 
Edward B. Winslow, who took a 
strong personal interest in deepening 
the harbor, this work was commenced. 
Under his administration, the subject 
of establishing a United States naval 
station at Portland, and government 
dry dock, was suggested. In the 
latter he has been ably seconded by 
President F. E. Boothby, the present 
encumbent. The efforts of the board 
have been directed towards many 
new projects, suggested by the rapid 
growth of the city and increase in 
population by the recent annexation 
of Deering. Under Colonel Booth- 
by's re'gime, the board of trade has 
been in close communication with 
the secretary of the navy, whose let- 
ters give great promise for the near 
establishment of a government dry 
dock at this port; and for which the 
board has labored almost incessantly. 
During the last two years also, illus- 
trated, descriptive books of Portland 
and vicinity, have been published 
and sent to various parts of the coun- 
try, showing the possibilities of the 
city for trade, commerce and the 
attractions of Portland and vicinity 
as a popular summer resort. Through 
subscription lists, circulated by 
members of the board of trade, the 
families of the unfortunates lost on 
the steamer Portland, were rendered 
timely and valuable assistance. 
While Portland offers many induce- 
ments for manufacturers to locate in 
this city, and the board of trade in- 
vites correspondence from those de- 
sirous of information of any sort, 
schemes needing propping on all 
sides are promptly declined. The 
city contains many capitalists, some 



52 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 



advantageous locations for different 
kinds of manufacturing, an abund- 
ance of skilled labor, and it is one of 
the aims and objects of the board of 
trade to bring manufacturing to this 
city. The rooms of the board of 
trade on Exchange street, are also 
those of the Merchants' Exchange. 
This latter organization, which at 
the present day possesses 115 mem- 
bers, composed of individuals and 
firms, was started during the Rebel- 
lion, and before telegraphic reports 
were as commonly circulated as at 
the present day. These rooms were 
much frequented by merchants de- 
sirous of the latest war despatches. 
The Merchants' Exchange has ever 
since been one of the influential 
organizations, and for years has 
stood hand in hand with the board of 
trade. The rooms, jointly occupied, 
comprise a large assembly room, 
reading-room and office. As the 
Board of Trade and Merchants' Ex- 
change is a perfect bureau of infor- 
mation, open at all times to members, 
in which strangers to the city are 
courteously treated, the place is one 
of much interest. Eighty regular 
newspapers and journals, published 
in all parts of the world, including 
published records of all exports and 
imports and also government reports 
from every department, as well as 
the consular reports of all nations, 
are kept on file for reference ; and the 
scope of information accessible here 
is practically unlimited. This is 
also the headquarters of the state 
board of trade, of which Marshall N. 
Rich, the founder of the merchants' 
exchange, is also secretary. Mr. 
Rich has been secretary of the Port- 
land Board of Trade continuously since 
January, 1864, and holds the distinc- 
tion of being the oldest secretary of 
any board of trade in the United 
States. The Portland Board of Trade 
now comprises over 450 members. 
Regular meetings are held monthly, 
and special meetings are called fre- 
quently. The present officers of the 
board are as follows: Frederic E. 



Boothby, president ; vice-presidents, 
Joseph H. Short, Ammi Whitney, 
Albert B. Hall; directors, C. W. T. 
Goding, George Trefethen, Alonzo 
W. Smith, Chas. F. Libby, William 
W. Merrill, Edward H. York, Au- 
gustus R. Wright. Henry P. Cox, 
Elisha W. Conley, Adam P. Leigh- 
ton, Wm. Chamberlain, John B. 
Coleman, William H. Gray; Charles 
S. Fobes, treasurer ; M. N. Rich, 
secretary. 



Hon. F. W. Robinson. 



The first mayor of Greater Port- 
land, Hon. Frank Woodbury Robin- 
son, was born in this city, Nov. 27, 
1853. He is a son of Franklin and 
Martha A. (Stevens) Robinson, and 
is descended from colonial ancestry 
on both sides. He attended the 
public schools of Portland and Den- 
ver, Col., graduating from the Port- 
land High School in 1873. Among 
his graduating classmates were, 
Lieut. Peary, the celebrated Arctic 
explorer, Dr. Chas. D. Smith, a 
member of the state board of health, 
Dr. William Stephenson, now bri- 
gade surgeon at Santiago, Josiah H. 
Drummond, Jr., and Hon. William 
H. Looney. Choosing the legal pro- 
fession, he was graduated from Har- 
vard law school in 1875, with the 
degree of LL. B., He was admitted 
to the bar October 1 2 the same year, 
began the practice of his profession, 
and for several years has been a 
member of the well known law firm 
of Libby, Robinson & Turner. In 
1877, to succeed the late Moses M. 
Butler, upon his election to the office 
of mayor, Mr. Robinson was appoint- 
ed assistant county attorney. He 
was, in 1888, elected county attorney, 
and held the office the customary 
two terms. He was appointed judge 
of the municipal court in 1895. This 
office he held until chosen mayor. 
His election as the first mayor of 
Greater Portland, showed his marked 
popularity in the city of his birth. 
In no sense a politician, and having 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 



53 



served in the city government only 
as a member of the board of police 
commissioners, his natural fitness for 
the office was unanimously voiced by 
the voters of the Republican party at 
the caucuses, their choice being rat- 
ified by an almost overwhelming 
majority at the polls. He was one 
of the original members of the High 
School Cadets, which celebrated mil- 
itary organization afterwards merged 
into the 
Port land 
Cadets; and 
as captain, 
s u c c e eded 
Capt. John 
Anderson. 
He is en- 
rolled in the 
Odd Fel- 
lows and all 
the bodies 
of the York 
rite in Ma- 
sonry, and 
is a member 
of the Cum- 
ber 1 a n d 
Club, also a 
trustee of 
the Green- 
leaf Law 
Librarj- . 
He was 
married in 
1877 to Miss 
Ida F. 
Wheeler, 
d a u g h ter, 
of Elisha 
Wheeler) 
and has one 
d a u g h t er, 
Beatrice W. 
brothers, Eben S, 
1893, and George 




HON. F. W. ROBINSON, FIRST MAYOR OF GREATER PORTLAND. 



Robinson. Of his two 
Robinson died in 
R. Robinson is a 
resident of this city. Judge Robin- 
son's father was the son of Capt. 
Woodbury Robinson (mariner). 
His father was Samuel Robinson, 
the latter of whom served as private 
and drum-major in the Revolutionary 
war, and whose grandfather served 



as a sergeant in the same company. 
Capt. Woodbury Robinson's wife was 
Louisa A. Tolford, who, with her 
brothers, is well remembered in the 
retail dry goods business in this city. 
Mayor Robinson's mother was the 
daughter of the late Eben C. Stevens, 
who for many years was a merchant 
tailor on Middle street. His ances- 
tor, William Stevens, immigrated to 
this country in 1632, settling in 

Glouces ter, 
Cape Ann, 
and becom- 
ing promi- 
nent in 
church and 
town affairs; 
was a mem- 
ber of the 
general 
court in 
1665. He 
was reduced 
to poverty 
on account 
of his noble 
resistance 
to the pro- 
ceedings of 
the commis- 
sioners sent 
by George 
III. Mayor 
Robinson's 
maternal 
grandmoth - 
er, Eunice 
Stevens, 
was born 
October 30, 
1798, at 
Wood fords 
Corner in 
the house now known as the Wood- 
ford House. This historic house 
was built by Benjamin Stevens, the 
progenitor of the Stevens family of 
Woodfords and Stevens Plains. 



Hon. C H. Randall. 



The mayor of Portland in 1897-98 
was one well fitted by experience in 



54 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 



public affairs, for the office he held. 
Hon. Charles H. Randall was born 
in this city fifty-two years ago, and 
is the son of the late J. F. Randall, 
one of the old-time substantial men 
of Portland. He obtained his educa- 
tion in the local public schools, in- 
cluding attendance at the Portland 
High School. He afterwards became 
associated with his father, who was 
engaged in 
the whole- 
sale grocery 
bus iness, 
and con- 
ducted large 
s h i p y a rds 
on the cape. 
Under his 
father he 
soon showed 
evidences of 
p os'sessing 
marked bus- 
iness ability 
and, a few 
years later, 
became one 
of the firm 
o f J. F. 
Randall & 
C o. This 
was when 
the s h i p- 
building in- 
dustry was 
thriving in 
Portland. 
Many fine 
sailing ves- 
sels were 
launched 
from their 

yards. Among ships built by them 
was the Alice D. Cooper, which ves- 
sel won fame for her builders by 
making, at that time, the fastest trip 
across the Atlantic of any vessel of 
her class. Since 1885, a year after 
which the senior Randall retired from 
business, on account of ill health, 
Mr. Randall has been partner in the 
large wholesale grocery concern of 
Simonton & Randall, whose estab- 




HON. C. H. RANDALL. 



lishment is one of the best known 
and patronized east of Boston, and 
situated on Commercial street. Their 
trade extends throughout Maine, 
New Hampshire and Vermont. Mr. 
Randall entered the local political 
arena in 1890 as a candidate for the 
common council from Ward 6. His 
election was assured from the start, 
as it was in the two years following. 

H e served 
three years 
in the com- 
mon coun- 
cil, the last 
year of 
which h e 
was pres- 
i d e n t of 
the lower 
branc h of 
the city gov- 
e r nm en t. 
His efficien- 
cy in public 
office w a s 
demonstrat- 
ed every 
year, and 
with it in- 
creased his 
popularity. 
In 1894, he 
was nomi- 
nated for the 
board of al- 
dermen, and 
upon his 
election, 
was chosen 
chairman of 
that body. 
The year 
record won 
board, when 
by being 
, his name 



following, his previous 
him a re-election to the 
he was again honored 
chosen chairman. In 185 
was strongly urged for the mayoralty, 
but before the caucuses he retired 
from the field. In 1897, that year 
opposing Mayor Baxter, who had 
served four terms, he was placed in 
nomination and elected by a hand- 
some vote, his opponent at the polls 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 



55 



being Edward B. Winslow. His en- 
cumbency as mayor was marked by 
unusual efficiency, and added credit 
to his public career. His careful, 
economical and business-like admin- 
istration won him friends and sup- 
porters from the ranks of his former 
political foes. A large floating debt, 
inherited by his administration, was 
paid, but two notes of $20,000 each, 
while the different departments of 
the city accomplished their usual 
work, and the large and expensive 
contract of constructing Tukey's 
bridge was finished under his regime. 
That 
M r . 
Randall 
estab- 
lished 
m a n y 
not abl e 
prece - 
dents, 
whic h 
will be 
of bene- 
fit to the 
citizens 
and tax- 
pay e rs 
in years 
to come, 
is a mat- 
te r of 
public 
re c o rd . 
B e s i de 
lookin g 
careful - 

ly after the interests of the city in a 
business way, Mr. Randall gracefully 
represented Portland socially, his 
presence being rarely refused at pub- 
lic functions. Never was his adapta- 
bility in this direction more signifi- 
cantly shown, than upon occasions 
when the city of Portland was called 
upon to officiate in matters where 
state pride was concerned, this being 
most noticeable during the visit of 
the Royal Scots. While Mr. Randall 
is esteemed the most by those who 
know him best, his strong personality 



and eloquence at public gatherings 
made him popular with the majority 
of those with whom he came in con- 
tact, in his public capacity. He is a 
member of the Portland Club, and 
the Portland Athletic Club, but en- 
rolled in the membership of no secret 
order. He resides on State street. 



Visit of the Royal Scots. 




The visit of the Royal Scots of 
Canada, to Portland, in July, 1898, 
was an event of more than local im- 
portance and significance, emphasiz- 
ing as it 
did i n 
no un- 
c e r tain 
manner, 
an era 
of good- 
will be- 
twe e n 
Great 
Britain 
and the 
U 11 i ted 
States. 
The 
fourth 
day of 
July, of 
that 
y e a r , 
was the 
fiftieth 
a n n i - 



CITY HALL, PORTLAND, DECORATED IN HONOR OF ROYAL SCOTS 



vers a ry 
of the 

opening of the Grand Trunk Railroad, 
for on July 4, 184S, this road, or the 
Atlantic & St. Lawrence Railroad, as 
it was then known, was opened to 
passenger traffic between Portland 
and Yarmouth, and the celebration 
of the event was combined with the 
city's celebration of the anniversary 
of our national independence. The 
news of the destruction of Cervera's 
fleet at Santiago, which received 
confirmation at an early hour on that 
day, was another factor in an occa- 
sion for general rejoicing. Through 



56 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 




PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 



57 



the earnest intervention of British 
Vice Consul J. B. Keating, the nec- 
essary permission had been obtained 
for one or more companies of British 
soldiers, stationed in Canada, to visit 
the United States in uniform and under 
arms, to assist in the joint celebration, 
and at 8.30 o'clock, Sunday morn- 
ing, July 3, a train of nine Pullmans 
and two baggage cars, bearing the 
Royal Scots, arrived in Portland over 
the Grand Trunk road. As the train 
drew into the station, the crowd 
which had gathered, in anticipation 
of the event, cheered enthusiastically. 



field and staff officers were as follows: 
Majors Cameron, Carson, Gault and 
W. M. Blaiklock; Capt. Meighan, 
adjutant ; Major Rollo Campbell, 
surgeon ; Brown, assistant surgeon. 
The company officers were : Com- 
pany No. 1, Captain Campbell, Lieu- 
tenant Cleghorne ; company No. 2, 
Captain Ross, Lieutenant Dodds ; 
company No. 3, Captain Oliver, Lieu- 
tenant Gault ; company No. 4, Cap- 
tain Cantlie, Lientenant Armstrong ; 
company No. 5, Captain Evans, 
Lieutenant Allen ; company No. 6, 
Captain Ibbotson, Lieutenant Forbes. 




LIEUT. A. F. GAULY. 



LIEUT. COL. E. B. IBBOTSON. 



CAPT. J. S. IBBOTSON. 



As soon as the train came to a stop, 
the order to alight was given. On 
the station platform were British Vice 
Consul Keating, and the members of 
the city government's Fourth of July 
committee, who exchanged greetings 
with the officers of the queen's crack 
Canadian battalion, and tendered 
them the hospitalities of the city. 
This battalion is composed of six 
companies, with a total strength, in- 
cluding the musicians, of over four 
hundred men, the whole commanded 
by Colonel E. B. Ibbotson. The 



In addition, there were Colonel Cav- 
erhill and Major McCorkill, retired 
officers of the Royal Scots ; Lieuten- 
ant Crathern, of the field battery, 
who is attached to the command, 
and Bandmaster Cooke, Drummers' 
Sergeant Rosser, Pipe Major Manson 
and Drum Major Boyd. The entire 
party, numbering about four hun- 
dred and fifty men, with horses for 
the officers, through the courtesy of 
the Grand Trunk management, was 
given free transportation from Mon- 
7 treal to Portland and return. These 



58 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 




PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 



59 




CHIEF MARSHAL AND AIDS OF THE PARADE. 



were the first British soldiers in uni- 
form and under arms, that had been 
seen on the streets of Portland for 
many years ; and it is easy to under- 
stand the interest and curiosity their 
appearance aroused. The Royal 
Scots were organized as an infantry 
regiment about 1878, and it was the 
first regiment in Canada to adopt the 
full Highland costume. Their motto, 
11 Ne obliviscar- 
zV," which may 
be freely trans- 
lated, " Dinna 
forget God, our- 
selves or coun- 
try." Many of 
the members are 
veterans who 
have seen ser- 
vice in other 
British colonies. 
The armory had 
been designated 
as headquarters 
of the battalion 
during its visit, 
and here the 
soldiers came di- 
rect from the 
station. The 
basement w a s 



fitted up as a 
dining hall, 
where excellent 
meals w ere 
served by a ca- 
terer, engaged 
and paid by the 
city. In the 
main hall, sleep- 
ing quarters 
were arranged 
and every pre- 
caution had 
been taken for 
the comfort of 
the city's guests. 
After breakfast, 
which was 
served at once, 
the early hours 
of the forenoon 
were devoted to 
removing the dust of travel, and in 
making acquaintances. At about 
eleven o'clock, Sunday forenoon, the 
church call was sounded, and the 
troops, forming line in divine service 
order, marched to St. Luke's cathe- 
dral, where the Right Reverend 
Bishop Neely delivered an eloquent 
welcoming address, in the course of 
which he expressed the wish that 




ROYAL SCOTS ON PARADE. 



6o 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 



through many generations the cords 
that bind England and America may 
grow stronger and stronger until, be- 
fore the world and in all that con- 
cerns the interests of humanity, they 
shall be one. From the cathedral 
the battalion marched back to the 
armory, where fatigue uniforms were 
donned and seats taken at the tables 
in the dining hall. The commis- 
sioned officers, who had been assigned 
quarters at the Preble House, stood 
in the rear of the hall, with Mayor 
Randall, Vice Consul Keating, and 
about half the members of Portland's 
city coun- 
cil. When 
the men 
were seat- 
ed Mayor 
Randall, 
in an 
address, 
brief but 
to the 
point, ex- 
tended to 
them, in 
behalf of 
the city 
govern- 
ment, a 
cordial 
wel c o me 
and the 
free dom 
of the 
city dur- 
ing their 

stay. He then proposed toasts to 
"Her Majesty, the Queen," and " To 
the honor of the Royal Scots of Can- 
ada, our honored guests," and in 
Maine fruit punch the healths were 
enthusiastically pledged. Lieuten- 
ant Colonel Ibbotson responded brief- 
ly, expressing the thanks of officers 
and men for the treatment they had 
received. At 2.30 P. M., a large 
number of the soldiers marched to 
Custom House wharf and boarded 
the steamer Pilgrim for a sail in the 
inner harbor. Later the Pilgrim re- 
turned to the wharf, and took on 




ROYAL SCOTS ON PARADE. 



board the officers of the Royal Scots, 
Mayor Randall, and other notables, 
and made another trip, passing close 
to the monitor Montauk, exchanging 
courtesies with Uncle Sam's Naval 
Reserves, and making a trip among 
the islands. Cushings Island was 
reached about 4 o'clock, and here re- 
freshments were served. The return 
to the city r was made at 5.30 P. M. 
At 7.45, special cars were taken for a 
trip to Riverton, where thousands of 
people had gathered in anticipation 
of the visit. Here the Royal Scots 
band gave an hour's concert, the 

selec- 
tions be- 
ing prin- 
cipally 
Ameri- 
can airs. 
It was es- 
timated 
that fully 
1 0,000 
people 
were 
present 
during 
the con- 
cert. 
About 1 1 
o'clock 
the vis- 
itors re- 
turned to 
the city. 
Monday, 

July 4, 
the day of the great celebration, gave 
promise at an early hour of being one 
of the most trying days of summer, 
and later the promise was amply ver- 
ified. In spite of the heat, however, 
an enormous crowd gathered to wit- 
ness and take part in the festivities 
of the occasion. The presence of the 
Royal Scots, the Connecticut Volun- 
teers, and the crews from the monitor 
Montauk and training-ship Enter- 
prise, drew visitors from all parts of 
the state. Elaborate decorations 
were general throughout the city, the 
common design being; a union of the 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 



61 



flags of Great Britain and the United 
States. Onr Canadian visitors real- 
ized the amount of work before them, 
and passed the morning hours quiet- 
ly. The events of the early morning 
were witnessed by the usual crowds, 
but the procession was the one part 
of the day's program in which every- 
body was interested, and throughout 
the line of march the sidewalks were 



the somewhat complicated formation, 
there was little delay, and the pro- 
cession moved in the following order: 
First division, American Cadet band, 
25 pieces ; First Connecticut Volun- 
teers, two companies, 150 men ; de- 
tachment of sailors from the monitor 
Montauk, 36 men ; battalion of the 
Royal Scots of Canada, six compan- 
ies, 368 men and regimental band of 




CONGRESS STREET, LOOKING EAST. 



packed with a surging mass of hu- 
manity, and windows and doorways 
were filled with interested spectators. 
A little before 10 o'clock Chief Mar- 
shal Sanborn, with his pennant 
bearer and bugler, took position on 
Chestnut street, near Congress, sur- 
rounded by Chief-of-Staff Milliken, 
and aids. At 10.15 the bugle sound- 
ed, and the order, "Forward," was 
given. Considering the crowd and 



37 pieces, with drum major and bag- 
pipers : battalion High School Ca- 
dets ; detachment from training-ship 
Enterprise, 64 men ; 14 carriages, in 
which were Governor Powers, Mayor 
Randall, Adjutant General Richards, 
Vice-Consul Keating, guests of the 
city and members of the city govern- 
ment. Second division, Chandler's 
band, 26 pieces ; third battalion of 
First Regiment Uniform Rank, 



62 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 



Knights of Pythias of Maine, and the 
Portland Veteran Firemen. Third 
division, Westbrook City band, 25 
pieces ; pupils of the schools of Port- 
land in barges and floats. Fourth 
division, Presumpscot band, display 
of Portland trades and business 
houses. Fifth division, Portland fire 
department, under the command of 
Chief Eldridge. The route of the 
parade was as follows : From city 
building down Congress street to 
Washington, to Cumberland, to High, 
to Deering, to State, to Congress, to 
Vaughan, to Bramhall, to Western 
pro me- 
nade, to 
Pine, to 
Brack- 
et t, to 
D a n - 
forth, to 
State, to 
C o n - 
gressj 
to eitv 
build- 
ing. The 
route 
was a 
long 
one, and 
the heat 
was op- 
p r e s - 
sive,but 
the va- 
rious 
c o m - 




ROYAL SCOTS BAGPIPERS. 



panies 

marched with as good alignment at 
the end as at the beginning. This 
absence of carelessness or seeming 
fatigue was particularly noticeable in 
the case of the Royal Scots. It is im- 
possible to recall any organization 
that ever paraded the streets of Port- 
land and attracted so much attention 
and called forth so much favorable 
comment. The uniform of the bat- 
talion is a strikingly beautiful and 
picturesque one, and the members 
are stalwart fellows whose every 
movement speaks eloquently of 



discipline and training, up to the 
point of almost absolute perfection. 
The music of the bagpipers was 
blood-stirring, and all the evolutions 
of the command en route were exe- 
cuted with a precision that called 
forth round after round of hearty, 
honest applause. In Congress square, 
the parade was reviewed by Govern- 
or Powers, and on reaching the end 
of the route the Royal Scots marched 
direct to the armory, where refresh- 
ments were served and acquaintances 
renewed. The exercises in celebra- 
tion of the fiftieth anniversary of the 

Grand 
Trunk 
took 
place 
on the 
Eastern 
prome- 
nade at 
three 
o'clock, 
and the 
program 
was car- 
ried out 
in all 
partic- 
u 1 a rs . 
Sur- 
round- 
ed by 
an im- 
mense 
crowd, 
Mayor 
R a n - 
dall, Governor Powers, and other 
guests of the city, took seats upon 
the platform, and the exercises 
opened with singing. Rev. A. H. 
Wright, pastor of St. Lawrence Con- 
gregational church, offered a fervent 
prayer, eminently suited to the day 
and the occasion. Then, after sing- 
ing by the large chorus, Mayor Ran- 
dall introduced the orator of the day. 
The mayor said : " Ladies and gen- 
tlemen : We are assembled here 
to-day to commemorate with appropri- 
ate exercises the fiftieth anniversary 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 



63 




CONNECTICUT VOLUNTEERS. 



of the opening of the Atlantic and St. 
Iyawrence railroad, now a part of 
that great system known through- 
out the land as the Grand Trunk 
Railway of Canada, which connects 
Portland with 
the great city of 
Montreal and 
the far West. 
This occasion 
must be interest- 
ing to Canadi- 
ans and Ameri- 
cans alike, and 
we are especial- 
ly pleased to 
welcome here 
to-day to assist 
us in celebrating 
this event, this 
splendid battal- 
ion of the volun- 
teer soldiers of 
that great coun- 
try to the north, 
which forms a 
part of that vast 
empire on which 
the sun never 



sets and which 
we are proud to 
call our friend. 
One year ago, I 
had the honor of 
welcoming to 
our city, on the 
occasion of the 
Queen's Jubi- 
lee, the officers 
and crew of Her 
Majesty's ship 
Pallas, and to- 
day it affords me 
equal honor and 
as great pleas- 
ure, in behalf of 
the city of Port- 
land, to welcome 
the officers and 
men of the Fifth 
Royal Scots 
of Montreal. 
Gentlemen, we 
are glad to meet you here, not only to 
assist us in this celebration, but 
also to cement more firmly the ties 
of friendship and regard that are 
to-day binding together the English 




ROYAL SCOTS ON PARADE. 



6 4 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 




ROYAL SCOTS ON PARADE. 



speaking people throughout the 
world. Thirty-eight years ago, an 
English fleet lay at anchor in our 
harbor, and from yonder point I saw 
the future king of England embark 
for home, followed by the cheers 
and best wishes of the citizens of 
Portland, and 
to-day it seems 
especially fit- 
ting that on this 
historic spot, 
representat i ve s 
of the two great 
nations should 
meet together, 
and while cel- 
ebrating the 
birthday of the 
iron road that 
binds them to- 
gether commer- 
cially, should 
also pledge to 
each other that 
friendship and 
support which 
eventually will 
dominate the 
world. And as 



today from every 
part of this great 
nation prayers 
are offered for 
the safety and 
the health of 
the president of 
the republic, 
and for the suc- 
cess of our army 
and navy, so 
also do we join 
with you in 
praying, ' Eong 
live Victoria. 
God save the 
Queen.' We 
have with us to- 
day a distin- 
guished citizen 
of Portland, who 
is probably bet- 
ter acquainted 
with the railroad 
history of our state than an) T other 
man within her borders, a gentleman 
whom we all delight to honor. I now 
have the pleasure of introducing to 
you, as orator of the day, Hon. 
Josiah H. Drummond." Mr. Drum- 
mond, in his address, gave a history 




ROYAL SCOTS ON PARADE. 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 



65 



of the movement to connect Montreal 
and Portland by rail ; the opening of 
the line, and the innumerable benefits 
that have followed. He closed by 
expressing the belief that all who 
speak the English tongue will hence- 
forth stand together for the peace of 
the world. Then there was more 
singing, brief remarks by ex-Alder- 
man John J. Gerrish and General 
Manager Reeve, of Montreal, and the 
exercises closed with the singing of 
America. The Royal Scots had in- 
tended to give an exhibition parade 
on the Western promenade during 
the af- 
ternoon 
but ow- 
ing to 
the heat 
o f the 
day and 
t li e 
leng th 
o f the 
m o r 11 - 
ing pa- 
rade, it 
was giv- 
en up. 
During 
their 
marc h 
to Un- 
ion sta- 
tion in 
the 
early 
even- 
ing, they 
the 
en 




ROYAL SCOTS ON PARADE. 



short 
of the 
in the 



gave a 
western part 
route stopped 
pay their respects to 
Powers, Mayor Randall 
tant General Richards, 



parade in 

city, and 

square to 

Governor 

and Adju- 

who occu- 



pied a carriage at that point. The 
battalion was drawn up to form 
three sides of a hollow square around 
the carriage. Then Colonel Ibbotson 
placed his officers inside the square, 
and the whole command stood at at- 
tention. Governor Powers arose and 
briefly addressed the troops, saying 
that he was °dad to see them in the 



State of Maine and, complimenting 
them highly on their superb march- 
ing and soldierly bearing, he said, 
in substance: " Such an organization 
of soldiers, and such discipline and 
proficiency in military training as you 
have this day shown, are a credit to 
yourselves and an honor to the Do- 
minion of Canada. You are worthy 
descendants of your Scotch ancestry, 
whose military prowess is every- 
where recognized. I know something 
of Canada, her people, her institu- 
tions, her laws and her form of gov- 
ernment, I have lived many years 

with in 
t w o 
miles 
of her 
bor d er. 
There 
is no 
count ry 
w here 
life and 
proper- 
ty are 
safer. 
Individ- 
ual lib- 
erty , 
per s on- 
a 1 se- 
curity 
and the 
right of 
every 
man to 
enjo y 

the fruits of his labor, under equal, 
just and generally wise laws are 
vouchsafed to all the people of the 
Dominion. You have a just right to 
be proud of being a part of that grand 
English empire on which the sun never 
sets. An empire whose flag is the 
symbol of justice, protection and order 
wherever it floats. An empire gov-, 
erned nominally by a limited mon- 
archy, yet in fact and in truth one of 
the strongest, freest and best democ- 
racies that ever blessed mankind. 
Great Britain and the United States, 
in short, the English speaking 



66 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 




HON. LLEWELLYN POWERS, GOVERNOR OF MAINE. 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 



67 



people of the world, seem to be the only 
nations that can fully comprehend 
and properly use parliamentary gov- 
ernment. These two governments 
to-day are moving harmoniously for- 
ward in substantantially the same 
paths in the interest of liberty, of 
commerce, of progress and of good 
government. Never again, I trust 
and believe, will there be any strife 
or serious contention between them. 
We have many things which bind us 
together. We have a common an- 
cestry, we speak the same language, 
we reverence the same God, we wor- 
ship a t 
the same 
shr in es, 
religious, 
poli t i cal 
and edu- 
catio n al. 
We seek 
substa n- 
tially the 
same 
ends. 
The Eng- 
lish com- 
mon law, 
that 
splen d i d 
m o n u - 
ment of 
wisdom, 
learn- 
ing, and 
justice, 

we of the United States, as does 
ever}- British subject, claim as our 
birthright. We recognize the ne- 
cessity of military and naval forces 
for the preservation of order and 
the maintenance of international 
rights, and we honor the brave and 
patriotic men, who, like yourselves, 
are ever read}- to respond when the 
country calls. Yet we believe, and 
it is one of the cardinal principles in 
our government, that except upon 
extraordinary occasions, the military 
is, and should be, subordinate to the 
civil power. We have, to-day, re- 
ceived glad tidings of a great naval 




ROYAL SCOTS ON PARADE. 



victory near Santiago. A victory in 
the interests of humanity, a victory 
that gladdens your heart, as well as 
our own; for we know and fully 
appreciate where the friendly influ- 
ence of England is', and has been, 
ever since we engaged in this war 
with Spain. I regretted very much 
that we should have this contest 
forced upon us in the sunset hours of 
the nineteenth century. I have been 
of those who believe if the president 
had been left alone that it might 
have been avoided. But the time for 
diplomacy has passed, and we have 

entered 
upon the 
contest. 
Whether 
necessa- 
rily and 
wisely or 
not, the 
future 
must de- 
cide. We 
can now 
take no 
steps 
back- 
ward. 
The du- 
ty of ev- 
ery loyal 
citizen 
is plain. 
The war 
must go 
on and be prosecuted with vigor till 
the last vestige of Spanish misrule, 
corruption and tyranny is forever 
driven from the American continent, 
and I wish you to take back to our 
friends in Canada the assurance that 
this will be done, and done speedily. 
As governor of Maine, it has been a 
pleasure to me to welcome you to our 
state. Every movement of this kind, 
every interchange of visits, must have 
a tendency to create better and more 
friendly relations between us. Your 
coming here is a step in the right 
direction, and I wish you a safe re- 
turn to your homes. And I also 



68 



FORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 




ROYAL SCOTS ON PARADE. 



trust that your welcome here has 
been such that you may feel to visit 
us again in the near future. ' ' Mayor 
Randall followed in a telling address. 
He assured the visitors that they had 
done credit to themselves and the 
city they represented, and closed by 
predicting closer commercial and po- 
litical relations 
between Canada 
and the United 
States. Colonel 
Ibbotson r e - 
sponded feeling- 
ly, expressing 
his appreciation 
of the open- 
hearted way in 
which he and 
his command 
had been re- 
ceived in Port- 
land. Then the 
colonel ordered 
all the officers 
to advance, and 
they did so, sa- 
luting with their 
swords as they 
surrounded the 
carriage. When 



the officers 
grasped the 
hands of the 
mayor and gov- 
ernor, they 
found difficulty 
in expressing 
their thanks for 
the hearty re- 
ception which 
had been given 
them. That the 
affair was en- 
tirely impromp- 
tu, made it one 
of the pleasant- 
est and most 
notable events 
of the day, and 
one that will be 
long remem- 
bered by those 
who were pres- 
ent. Shortly after this the battalion 
boarded the train at Union station, 
for the return to Montreal. During 
the visit of this organization, the 
members were the recipients of many 
social attentions, entirely aside from 
those of a public nature. The officers 
were lavishly entertained at the Cum- 




MARINES FROM MONITOR MONTAUK. 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 



69 



berland Club, at the home of Mayor 
Randall, and at many small gather- 
ings in private residences. Portland 
opened its heart to them and left 
nothing to be desired in the way of 
hearty and appreciative goodfellow- 
ship. There can be no doubt that 
lasting good will accrue to both coun- 
tries from this visit. Certain it is 
that Montreal and Portland now 
clasp hands 
across the 
ruins of the 
barrier of 
hatred and 
indifference, 
and who can 
tell what a 
large loaf a 
little leaven 
of this sort 
leaveneth. 



John B. 
Keating. 




The Brit- 
ish vice-con- 
sul, who 
looks after 
the interests 
of British 
com merce, 
etc., for the 
ports of en- 
try in the 
State of 
Maine, has 
made his 
headq uar- 
ters in Port- 
land since 
1895, and it is the general opinion 
that he enjoys the distinction of be- 
ing the only representative of any 
foreign government to take up his 
residence here, to attend to his offi- 
cial duties. Mr. Keating was born 
in Woolwich, England, his father, at 
the time of his birth being an officer 
in the royal artillery. As a child 
he resided, for five years, in Mauri- 
tius, afterwards going to the Cape of 



JOHN B. 
BRITISH VICE-CO 



Good Hope, St. Helena and Gosport. 
He finished his schooling in Guern- 
sey. His English home is at 
Brighton in Sussex. Mr. Keating's 
early training in the army led him 
to join the royal engineers, and while 
in that corps, he served in Canada, 
Gibraltar and Bermuda. In 1886, he 
left the army, on account of impaired 
health, and entering the consular 

service a s 
clerk at 
Boston, he 
served i n 
the various 
grades, and 
wasappoint- 
e d acting 
vice - consul 
for six 
months, and 
pro- con su 1 
for , a like 
period. Up- 
on the death 
of Mr. Starr, 
he was nom- 
inated t o 
succeed 
him; and, 
n o t w i t h - 
standing the 
fact that the 
a p p o i n t - 
ment was 
z e a 1 o u s ly 
sought after 
by many lo- 
cal appli- 
cants, and 
without de- 
t r a c t i n g 
from the 
merits of these applicants, it is proper 
to remark that Mr. Keating has suc- 
ceeded in making himself extremely 
popular; and, according to a promi- 
nent steamship agent, "he has proved 
himself to be the right man in the 
right place." His duties are varied, 
responsible and arduous. During 
the past year, exports from this port 
to Great Britain have increased 
nearly 500 per cent., and now 



KEATING, 

NSUL FOR MAINE. 



7o 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 



Portland boasts of an all-the-year- 
round steamship service. Mr. Keat- 
ing, by his active, efficient and ac- 
ceptable services has added important 
items to Portland's history. Through 
his influence and friendship with the 
various officials, he secured the visit 
to this port of H. M. S. Pallas, and 
thus enabled Portland to honor Queen 
Victoria, by commemorating and 
joining in the festivities on the occa- 
sion of the jubilee reign. On this 



ful celebration in the history of the 
state, the presence of the Royal Scots 
being the immediate means of more 
closely binding the ties of friend- 
ship between the British empire and 
Maine. Mr. Keating's untiring zeal 
and care for the minutest details, 
brought out the spontaneous verdict 
that he did nothing but what was 
done well. His cordial co-operation, 
advice and assistance to the various 
committees, ensured no detail being 




STEAM YACHT MAITLAND, OWNED BY DR. C. W. BRAY, COM. P. Y. C. ENGINED BY 

H. R. STICKNEY. 



point, Portland is distinguished in 
being the only city in the United 
States which so commemorated, as a 
city, the festivities. Again, in 1898, 
through his influence and suggestion, 
the 5th Royal Scots of Montreal, one 
of Canada's crack regiments, visited 
Portland, and they also came entirely 
as the guests of the city and their 
presence and magnificent appearance 
greatly conduced to the enjoyment 
of an occasion considered with pride 
as the most remarkable and delight- 



overlooked, and enabled the Royal 
Scots to remark that their enter- 
tainment in Portland outshone any- 
thing of a like nature ever before 
extended them. Mr. Keating has 
been further successful in furnishing 
and maintaining, largely unassisted, 
a home for seamen of all nationali- 
ties. That the sailors in port appre- 
ciate his efforts, is clearly proved by 
the large attendance at the cheerful 
recreation and reading-rooms in this 
eit\\ 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 



7i 



w 



I 






I. 






i-nm 



CHESTNUT STREET HETH'iDlST 



rh 



WM\ 



■v 



^.^ 




W 




A GROUP OF PORTLAND CHURCHES. 



72 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 




MAYOR AND ALDERMEN, 1899. 






PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 



73 




PORTLAND COMMON COUNCIL, 1899. 



74 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 



Geo. H. Libby. 



The city treasurer, George Henry 
Libby, holds the distinction of being 
the oldest of city officials. He was 
born in Brunswick, Me., Aug. 20, 
1 84 1, and is descended from John 
and Sarah Libby, who settled in 
Scarboro in 1630. When he was 
three years old, his parents removed 
to Portland and he obtained his edu- 
cation in the public schools. He 
entered business as a clerk in the 
wholesale grocery store of T. & \V. 
H. Shaw. When the Civil war broke 
out, he was one of the first to enlist, 



since which time, with the exception 
of one year, he has been the custo- 
dian of the public funds, and collector 
of taxes. Mr. Libby is one of the 
originators of the Diamond Island 
Association. He is a prominent 
member of the grand lodge in the 
Knights of Pythias, and is also a 
member of thei.O.O.F., and G.A.R. 



Leroy S. Sanborn. 



Leroy S. Sanborn, city auditor of 
Portland, was born in Gorham, Me., 
April 5, 1850, his father being Dr. 
John Sanborn, a practicing physician 





GEO. H. LIBBY, CITY TREASURER. 

and became a member of Co. A., 
Twelfth Maine Vols. During the 
siege of Port Hudson, he was severe- 
ly wounded and spent several months 
in Baton Rouge hospital. On com- 
ing out of the hospital, he was dis- 
charged on account of disability, hav- 
ing lost his arm. He then returned 
to Portland. He was soon after made 
clerk in the examining office of the 
provost marshal, and from Feb. 1, 
1865, to the close of the war, was re- 
cruiting officer. He has served in 
the city treasury department of Port- 
land since May 2. 1865, and succeed- 
ed City Treasurer Hersey in 1890, 



LEROY S. SANBORN, CITY AUDITOR. 

of that place. After completing his 
education at Gorham High School, 
Mr. Sanborn, in 1869, came to Port- 
land and accepted a situation as clerk 
in a grocery store. In 1S70, he be- 
gan service in the post-office as carrier, 
and in 1871 was appointed clerk, re- 
maining in that position until 1885. 
In 1S89, he reentered the service as 
postal clerk and was appointed assist- 
ant clerk in the railway mail service 
in February, 1890. In the following 
August he was appointed assistant 
postmaster, and served in that capa- 
city until 1896. On March n, 1896, 
he was elected city auditor, and is 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 



75 



now serving his fourth term in that 
office. In polities Mr. Sanborn has 
always been a Republican. He has 
several times served as chief marshal 
of campaign parades, and was chief 
marshal of the notable parade on July 
4, 1898, in which the Royal Scots 
participated. He is a Chapter Mason, 
and is affiliated with the Knights of 
Pythias, Odd Fellows, and various 
other orders. 



Carroll W. Morrill. 



The city solicitor of Greater Port- 
land, Carroll W. Morrill, was born in 




CARROLL W. MORRILL, CITY SOLICITOR. 

Falmouth, Me., July 13, 1853. After 
attendance at the common schools, 
he fitted for college at Westbrook 
Seminary. He then entered Bowdoin 
College, from which he graduated in 
1877. Subsequent to leaving college, 
he taught four years at the Bath High 
School, at the same time reading law 
in the office of Hon. M. P. Frank. 
He was admitted to the Cumberland 
County bar in 1882 and, opening an 
office in Portland, has continued in 
practice here ever since. Beside be- 
ing more than ordinarily successful 
as a young lawyer, he has seen much 
of public life. He was elected repre- 



sentative to the state legislature from 
Portland in 1893, and in March, 1897, 
was made city solicitor, to which 
office he was re-elected in 1898, and 
again in 1899. Mr. Morrill has for 
several years been active in politics 
and is a valued member of the Re- 
publican party. He is a talented 
public speaker and has done some 
efficient work on the stump. He was 
the first president, and one of the 
prime movers in the organization of 
the Lincoln Club, which owes its suc- 
cess to the substantial lines upon 
which it was founded. Mr. Morrill 
has been secretary of the county Re- 
publican committee for the past eight 
years. His office is in the Danforth 
buildinsr. 



Geo. N. Fernald. 



The commissioner of public works 
of Greater Portland, is a native of 
Camden, Me., and was born in 1861. 
He was educated in the public schools 
of Camden and Portland, and, after 
preparing for college, under private 
instruction, entered the office of E. 
C. Jordan, M. Am. Soc. C. E., and 
began the study of civil engineering, 
remaining there three years, two years 
of which he was engaged on river 
and harbor work. In the winter of 
1879-80, he was engaged in the city 
engineer's office, and was appointed 
an assistant in 188 1, by Wm. A. 
Goodwin, city engineer. He was 
appointed first assistant in 1892, and 
was elected city engineer in 1893, 
and being re-elected in 1894, re- 
ceived in addition the appointment of 
chairman of the commission of 
streets and sewers. In 1S95, his 
present office was created, and he 
was appointed commissioner of public 
works by Mayor J. P. Baxter, and in 
189S was reappointed by Mayor C. 
H. Randall. Since holding his pres- 
ent office, several notable improve- 
ments have been carried out under 
his plans and superintendence, among 
them the construction of Tukeys and 
Pride's bridges, the north side inter- 



7 6 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 




GEORGE N. FERNALD, 
COMMISSIONER OF PUBLIC WORKS. 



cepting sewer and the improvement 
of Back Bay. He is a member of the 
Boston Society of Civil Engineers, 
the American Society of Municipal 
Improvements and the Portland Club. 
He has been a valued resident of this 
city since 1873. 



Geo. W. Sylvester. 



The police department of Greater 
Portland, the largest and cleverest in 
the state, has been headed by City 
Marshal George W. Sylvester, since 
first appointed to the office by Mayor 
Randall in 1897. The creditable 
record made by the police of this city 
since that time has been, in large 
measure, due to his fitness for the diffi- 
cult position he holds. He was born 
in Portland, October 17, 1850. He 
attended the common schools, grad- 
uating at the Portland High School 
in 1869. After obtaining a practical 
education, he began business life as 
clerk in the wholesale store of Elias 
Thomas & Co. His father, George 
S. Sylvester, being a contractor and 
builder, made him familiar with the 



wants of the lumber trade, and he 
soon found an opportunity with Rob- 
ert Holyoke in that business, with 
whom he was associated for several 
years, the firm afterwards becoming 
Holyoke, Benson & Co. After learn- 
ing the business and working him- 
self up by native industry, he accepted 
a more lucrative position with the 
late Gilbert Soule, with whom he re- 
mained ten years. Upon Mr. Soule's 
death, Mr. Sylvester became manager 
of the corporation then formed, con- 
tinuing as such until April 1, 1897, 
when the concern withdrew from 
business. At this time, he was pre- 
vailed upon by his friends to accept 
an appointment to his present office. 
His efficient service under Mayor 
Randall, by whom he was appointed, 
won him the unsolicited reappoint- 
ment by Mayor Robinson, and he is 
now serving his third year. Mr. 
Sylvester has served also in the city 
government, and was a member of 
the common council from ward five, 
in 1887-88-89. He is a Republi- 
can in politics, and a member of 
the historic Willistou church, of this 
city. 




GEO. W. SYLVESTER, 
CITY MARSHAL. 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 



77 



Daniel D. Chenery. 



This efficient officer and deputy 
marshal of the police department, 
was born in what was formerly a part 
of Westbrook, in the house where 
he now resides. The house has been 
in possession of, and occupied by, 
the Chenery family for over a century. 
His father, Joseph Chenery, residing 
in the house before him, enjoyed the 
distinction of living in two states, 
three towns and several counties, 
without moving away from the prop- 
erty. He was educated in the schools 
of Westbrook and Deering, and West- 




DANIEL D. CHENERY, DEPUTY MARSHAL. 

brook Seminary, afterwards studying 
bookkeeping to fit himself for busi- 
ness life. He engaged in the grocerj^ 
and provision business in Portland, 
and commenced his extended public 
career as tax collector of Deering in 
1873. For eight years, continuously, 
he afterwards held the dual office of 
town treasurer and collector. He then 
served two years as selectman and 
assessor. In 1884, he was appointed 
deputy sheriff, serving four years un- 
der Sheriff Benjamin True. He was 
reappointed, and continued four years 
more under Sheriff Webb, and one 
year under Sheriff Cram. For seven 



years he was court deputy, but the 
last year was a civil officer. In the 
fall of 1892, he was elected county 
treasurer to fill the unexpired term 
of J. M. Webb, and at the next reg- 
ular election, chosen his own succes- 
sor, serving three terms of two years 
each. Retiring last January, he was, 
after the city election and the annex- 
ation of Deering, appointed to his 
present office by Mayor Robinson, 
and to which office he is well fitted, 
by both experience and courage. He 
has been for thirty years an Odd 
Fellow, and is a member of Maine 
Dodge and Eastern Maine Encamp- 
ment. He is also a member of Rocky 
Hill Lodge, Knights of Pythias. 



Willard F. Frith. 



In the possession of Willard F. 
Frith as deputy marshal, the police 
department of Portland is peculiarly 
fortunate. Like his colleague, Dan- 
iel D. Chenery, he brings to the office 
a well-earned reputation for courage 
and efficiency, his daring acts, while 
formerly a member of the Portland 
police force, earning him fame 
throughout the state. He was born 
in Roxbury, Mass., February 1, 1858, 
and since he was ten years of age, 
has resided in Portland. He was 
engaged in the tinware and hardware 
business up to 18S1, when he was 
appointed patrolman. He soon 
showed marked ability, and became 
recognized as a valuable officer, and 
remained on the force fourteen years. 
It was he who captured the notori- 
ous burglar, Fred Irving, which oc- 
curred several years ago, but is still 
fresh in memory. His capture was 
made at the risk of the officer's life, 
for the burglar, failing to dissuade 
Officer Frith from arresting him b}* 
pointing a revolver at him, finally 
shot him in the abdomen. Notwith- 
standing Officer Frith's critical con- 
dition, he succeeded in firing three 
shots and overpowering the burglar 
and placing him under arrest, the 
officer's life being saved by the thick- 



78 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 




WILLARD F. FRITH, DEPUTY MARSHAL. 

ness of his clothing. While a patrol- 
man of the force, Officer Frith was 
never known to show the meaning of 
the word fear, when under the dis- 
charge of his duty. In 1895, he was 
appointed deputy sheriff by Sheriff 
Plummer, and served in that capacity 
during his administration. When 
the appointments were made to the 
police department, after the election 
of Mayor Robinson, his name as dep- 
uty marshal brought with it the un- 
restrained approval of the people of 
Portland. 



Longfellow Gallery. 

Charming in appearance and artis- 
tic in ever}- detail of its arrangement 
is the Longfellow Gallery. Situated 
just above the Public Library build- 
ing, on Congress street, nearly oppo- 
site the famous Longfellow statue, 
it derives its name from its proximity 
to this work of art. This studio, in 
which every description of portraiture 
is executed in as artistic a manner 
as in the most prominent and re- 
nowned studios of the larger cities, 
was built and opened to the public in 
1889, by Shailer Cushing, who has 
conducted it continuously and suc- 



cessfully ever since. During the 
present 3 r ear, it has been entirely re- 
modeled, a new skylight put in, and 
the interior rearranged in such a way 
as to make it more attractive than 
ever. The work of this studio, repro- 
duced in this volume, needs no com- 
ment, as it speaks for itself. Mr. 
Cushing and his portrait operator, 
artists by temperament and training, 
ambitious to excel in their profession, 
keep fully up with the times in every 
branch of the photographic art, and 
their work possesses in full, those 
points of excellence that raises it far 
above the average. Their uniformly 
courteous treatment of all patrons, 
present and prospective, and a cheer- 
ful disposition to fill orders on short 
notice, when requested to do so, are 
elements in the policy of the manage- 
ment of this popular studio, that are 
considered and greatly appreciated 
by the public. Aside from the artis- 
tic and mechanical excellence of the 
work emanating from this studio, its 
location is such that it naturally at- 
tracts a desirable, high-class patron- 
age. The people of Portland, with 
their refined and cultivated artistic 
instincts, know what constitutes good 
photography, and the efforts of the 
Longfellow studio are rarely disap- 
pointing to the most exacting. Here 
may be found thousands of negatives 
of Portland citizens, and of scenes 
throughout the city and state. Along 
all lines where care and artistic 
treatment are essential to good re- 
sults, the name of this studio has 
come to be synonymous with the best 
that can be procured. The operating 
room, as might be expected, is fitted 
with the latest and best appliances 
for obtaining satisfactory results, the 
light of the best, appropriate lenses 
for every class of w r ork, and back- 
grounds and scenery accessories to 
meet all requirements. The recep- 
tion room is artistically arranged and 
the samples here shown are undoubt- 
ed evidence of the position occupied 
by the studio in the art life of 
Portland. 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 



79 



McCullum's Theater. 



The name of Bartley McCullum, 
manager of McCullum's Theater, at 
Cape Elizabeth, is considered a syn- 
onym for high class summer theat- 
ricals; and probably no actor or 
manager in this city, has achieved 
greater success than has this con- 
scientious actor. A local pride is 
felt in his accomplishments, for he is a 
home prod- 
uct. Born 
in Portland, 
M arch 2, 
1857, h i s 
edu cation 
was ob- 
tained in the 
local public 
schools. As 
a child, he 
was consid- 
ered a verit- 
able prodigy 
on declama- 
tion; and 
soon his tal- 
ents were in 
demand at 
socia bl es, 
concertsand 
amateur en- 
t e r t a i n- 
ments. His 
first appear- 
ance on the 
stage was 
made at the 
age of three 
years, in a 
child's part 
in a produc- 
tion of the 

Black Crook in old Deering Hall. 
After that when a child was wanted 
by stock companies visiting the city, 
Bartie McCullum was always en- 
gaged. Ashe grew older, he became 
identified with several amateur the- 
atrical societies, that then obtained 
in the city, and recognized as one of 
the best amateurs in the state. Dur- 
ing these years he was also noted as 




BARTLEY MCCULLUM. 



an athlete, and for several years was 
the champion amateur oarsman of 
Maine. He was a member of the 
Montgomery Guards, and now has 
several valuable medals won at com- 
petitive drills. At sixteen he started 
to learn the iron molder's trade, at 
the works of the Portland Company; 
but his desire for a theatrical career 
operated as a handicap, and he never 
grew enthusiastic enough in his work 

to make 
very rapid 
advance- 
ment at 
that trade. 
While em- 
ployed there 
his oppor- 
tunity came 
through the 
medium of 
an amateur 
perform- 
ance of 
Conn, The 
S h a u g h - 
raun, pre- 
sented b y 
the Grattan 
Association, 
with Bartley 
McCu 1 1 u m 
in the part 
of "Conn". 
The produc- 
tion was a 
complete 
success, and 
the young 
amateur re- 
ceived the 
h i g h e s t 
praise for 
his individual performance. In the 
audience that night was George W. 
Beals, at that time the manager of 
the Portland Company. When young 
McCullum presented himself at the 
works the morning after the perform- 
ance, Mr. Beals called him aside and 
advised him to take up the stage. 
Within a week, Bartley McCullum 
was in Chicago, and three days 



8o 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 




INTERIOR, McCULLUM'S THEATER, CAPE ELIZABETH. 



afterwards played his first part with 
a professional company in Dubuque, 
Iowa, assuming the leading comedy 
role in an Irish drama, called Kath- 
leen. After a rather eventful year or 
two in the West, he was engaged by 
the management of the Boston Thea- 
ter Company to play the part of Sol- 
omon Isaacs, in Lord Tatters. His 
first appearance as a professional in 
this city was made with this com- 
pany. In 1881, he went to England, 
where he achieved further success in 
a Yankee dialect character, and on 
his return was engaged by J. H. Wal- 
lick, for the comedy role in The 
Cattle King. Following this he 
was engaged with Mrs. Eangtry's 
company, and then came engage- 
ments with Robert Downing, Lotta, 
Agnes Herndon, The Fast Mail, 
Frederic Bryton, and Neil Burgess, 
with whom he went again to England 
in 1886. He has been engaged as 
stage director and manager, where 
he rehearsed and staged successfully 
twenty-one new plays, in many of the 



leading theaters in this country and 
Canada. In this city, Mr. McCul- 
lum has surmounted many obstacles 
and achieved flattering results. On 
July 25, 18S7, he commenced his 
career here as a manager, with no 
other capital than a genial and char- 
itable disposition, and indomitable 
will. He was the pioneer of summer 
stock companies in this country, 
starting at Peaks Island twelve years 
ago. From this small beginning have 
grown the numerous summer theaters 
in this city. He now possesses a 
beautiful theater, equipped with all 
modern improvements and luxurious 
appointments, where he is presenting 
a series of entertainments, excelling 
in scenic grandeur and artistic merit. 
Mr. McCullum has rehearsed and 
presented in this city more than 125 
different plays. Every person ever 
connected with him speaks in the 
most enthusiastic terms of his sterling 
qualities. Everything he undertakes 
receives his personal attention and 
most conscientious effort. 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 



Jefferson Theater. 



Due to Portland local pride is the 
existence of the new Jefferson Thea- 
ter. This magnificent play-house 
was built some two years ago, at the 
cost of over $200,000, and easily 
holds its own with the best theater 
buildings in the country. Previous 
to the raising of the funds for this 
structure, the subject had been agi- 



the house. The theatre is excep- 
tionally cool in warm weather; 
and is named for the veteran 
actor, Joseph Jefferson, who was 
present and made an address on 
the opening night The counter- 
weight system is used on the stage, 
and the scenic effects produced by the 
different switchboards, are admired 
and commented upon by the theatri- 
cal companies playing here. The 




INTERIOR JEFFERSON THEATER. 



tated for several years. The house 
has a ground floor entrance, and the 
entire building is devoted exclusive- 
ly to the theater. The building, 
unique in architecture and colossal 
in dimensions, is seen at best advan- 
tage inside when illuminated. The 
building is of brownstone and iron, 
and is constructed upon the most 
impenetrable fire-proof plans. Heat- 
ed by hot air in the cold weather, the 
indirect radiating system is in use in 



stage is sufficiently large to put on 
the greatest productions on the Amer- 
ican stage, and the house seats 1,650. 
There are twelve private dressing- 
rooms for the artists, in an annex r 
fitted with every convenience and 
modern improvement. The theater 
is owned by a corporation, the stock- 
holders of which are well known 
business men of .Portland. The in- 
terior of the house is a marvel of 
richness and simple elegance in 



82 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 



decoration. The drop curtain is a 
specimen of high art, which, when 
the house is empty, is covered by 
another curtain of asbestos. There 
are eight boxes furnished with that 
luxurious elegance which befits a 
magnificent theater of modern times. 
Since the theater was first built, it 
has been leased by Fay Brothers & 
Hosford. The new theater has at- 
tracted many of the leading stars, 
who were never before seen in Port- 
land, and the adequate size of the 
stage has made it possible for many 



comfort of both the visiting companies 
and the large audiences that have so 
far favored it with their patron- 
age. The manager is highly pop- 
ular with the patrons of the Jeffer- 
son, and looks well after the interests 
of the lessees and patrons alike. 
The present local manager of the 
Jefferson, James E. Moore, who has 
but recently taken charge of Fay 
Bros. & Hosford's interests here, 
came to his new duties thoroughly 
equipped with the ability and expe- 
rience which make a successful 




JEFFERSON THEATER. 



attractions to be staged on the Jeffer- 
son, which before could not play in 
this city. The booking of attractions 
is done at New York and Lowell. 
That Portland is fortunate in the 
possession of this handsome and well 
conducted theater, is acknowledged 
on all sides, while the members of 
the large number of companies play- 
ing here are also fortunate, as they 
are well received and cared for. 
Built upon honor, the house is of the 
up-to-date metropolitan pattern, as 
it is constructed with a regard for the 



theatrical manager. For four years 
Mr. Moore was associated with Frank 
Sanger at the Metropolitan Opera 
House and Madison Square Garden, 
New York, with whom he w r as busi- 
ness manager for the productions of 
"Mr. Barnes of New York," and 
"Mr. Potter of Texas," and " My 
Official Wife." He has also man- 
aged Frank Daniels a season, and 
was business manager of the Tremont 
Theater, Boston, a summer. He has 
managed the Columbia Theater, New 
York, and has been manager at Hoyt's 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 



33 



Theater, of the high class production, 
' ' A Florida Enchantment. ' ' He has 
also been manager of several other 
theaters and productions at the 
Broadwa}' Theater and Metropolitan 
Opera House, New York city, and 
other theaters. His selection as 
local manager of the Jefferson gives 
much promise for the successful fu- 
ture of this theater in Portland, the 
pride of the State of Maine. 



The Gem, Peaks Island's Summer 
Theater. 



The Gem, Peaks 
ful summer theater 
than mere passing 



Island's beauti- 

deserves more 

notice. Recon- 




structed from the old skating rink, 
under the 
supervision 
of Colonel 
Wood, the 
architect of 
the Jeffer- 
son, it is one 
of the cosi- I 
est and most 
attract ive 
summer the- 
aters in °: 
New Eng- 
land. An 
a r c ,a d e 
twenty feet 
wide admits to the entrance, on each 
side of which are refreshment rooms. 
This entrance is particularly notice- 
able, from its semicircular arrange- 
ment of pillars, and gives a tantaliz- 
ing hint of what is to follow. From 
the spacious lobby, stairs lead to the 
upper balcony. The foyer is of reg- 
ulation size, and the balcony is large 
and well supported by sixteen iron 
pillars. The auditorium will seat 
1,500 people, and there are five 
boxes on each side. The stage 
has an opening thirty-six feet wide, 
is fifty feet deep and eighty feet wide, 
and has every modern convenience 
in the way of ample dressing-rooms 
and facilities for handling scenery. 
The ventilation of the building is 



Jgq&@& 



STEAMER PILGRIM, CASCO BAY STEAMBOAT CO. 



as near perfect as could be con- 
ceived, and all arrangements for the 
comfort and convenience of patrons, 
are perfect in every detail. The 
peculiar construction of the building, 
instead of handicapping, seemed to 
act as an inspiration to the archi- 
tect, and the impression one gets 
upon entering the theater, is a par- 
ticularly pleasing one. The schemes 
of decoration and lighting could 
hardly be improved, and visitors are 
always earnest in their commenda- 
tion of the enterprise that made such 
an attractive place of amusement 
possible. The Gem was formally 
opened to the public on the evening 
of June 6, 1898, and at once took its 
place in the public regard as one 

of the dain- 
ty a 1 1 r ac- 
t i o n s of 
Portia nd 
and C asco 
Bay. The 
Gem is 
o w n ed bv 
C. W. T. 
G o d i n g, 
general 
manager of 
the Casco 
Bay Steam- 
boat Com- 
pany, and 
to this gentleman belongs the credit 
for the conception and carrying out 
of this important bit of managerial 
enterprise. 



Casco Bay Steamboat Company. 



The excellent service provided by 
this steamboat company, the pioneer 
line plying through the beautiful 
and attractive Casco Bay, has been 
a prominent factor in drawing sum- 
mer visitors to Portland, and devel- 
oping residence property on the 365 
islands. The exceedingly low rates 
of fare on these stanch and admira- 
ble steamers, make it possible for 
travelers and those in search of a 
day's respite from the summer heat, 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 







GEM THEATER, PEAKS ISLAND. 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 



85 




C. W. T. GODING. 

to take au outing, unexcelled, for 
the money, on the Atlantic coast. 
This steamboat line makes the isl- 
ands accessible to those who have 
cottages down the bay, the boats of 
the company running every half- 
hour, from early morning to late in 
the evening. The steamboats on 
this line are the Pilgrim, Forest 
City, Emita and Eldorado, and 
leave Custom House wharf daily, 
the year round, the bulk of business 
being done during the summer 
months, although there is much 
travel, and freight is carried between 



Portland and Peaks Island in winter, 
that island fast becoming an important 
permanent residence place. The 
steamers of this company are kept in 
the best of condition, and beside being 
overhauled and repainted every year, 
were built for the greatest comfort 
and convenience of passengers. The 
boats of the line carried last j^ear 
450,000 passengers. The company 
was organized in 1887, and was the 
outgrowth of the Forest City and Star 
Eine. The management is thoroughly 
progressive, and has ever shown a dis- 
position to give the public the best 
possible service for the least possible 
money. The popularity of the line 
and the unusual attractions along its 
route, increases the traffic yearly, and 
to a most noticeable extent. The treas- 
urer and general manager, is C. W. T. 
Godiug, whose connection with steam- 
boats has promoted the inducements 
offered to summer visitors to Portland 
and Casco Bay, in marked degree. 



Portland, Mt. Desert & Machias 
Steamboat Co, 



The visitor w r ho would see much 
of the coast of Maine, should take a 
trip on the steamer Frank Jones, of 
the Portland, Mt. Desert & Machias 
Steamboat Company. The first land- 
ing after leaving Portland, is Rock- 
land. From Rockland, the steamer 




STEAMER FRANK JONES, PORTLAND, MT. DESERT 4 MACHIAS STEAMBOAT CO. 



86 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 



goes to Islesboro and thence across 
the bay to Castine, one of the oldest 
towns in New England. From Cas- 
tine the course lies along the shore 
of Brooksville, around Cape Rozier 
to Deer Isle, thence across Eggemog- 
gin Reach, to Sedgwick. The first 
stop after Sedgwick is at Brooklin, 
and thence the course is laid for 
South West Harbor, on Mt. Desert. 
Leaving South West Harbor, the 
steamer next touches at North East 
Harbor and a little later, Bar Harbor 



and dignity, others, like Bar Harbor, 
appealing to the wealthy and fash- 
ionable. Everywhere on the coast, 
but more particularly from Cape Roz- 
ier to Jonesport, the duck shooting is 
the best to be found on the New Eng- 
land coast. The beauties of Mt. De- 
sert have been often dilated upon, but 
they must be seen to be appreciated. 
There is here a combination of moun- 
tain and shore that is the source of nev- 
er-ending wonder. It seems hardly 
necessary to mention the fact that the 




STEAMER ST. CROIX, INTERNATIONAL STEAMSHIP CO. 



is reached. After leaving Bar Har- 
bor, an easterly course is taken across 
Frenchman's Bay, past Petit Manan 
and up Narragaugus Bay to Mil- 
bridge, thence through Mooseabec 
Reach to Jonesport, on through the 
reach into Machias Bay, passing 
Roque Island on the left and Cross 
Island on the right, and so on up the 
bay to Machiasport, the end of the 
route. All along this route are re- 
sorts for those who are in search of 
rest or recreation, some, like Castine, 
inviting by their air of quiet repose 



service on board the Frank Jones is at 
all times of the best, or that the officers 
and crew are thoroughly competent 
and reliable. The officers of this pop- 
ular steamboat line are : George F. 
Evans, general manager, and Col. 
F. E. Boothby, G. P. & T. A. 



International Steamship Company. 

This long established steamship 
line, owned largely by Portland cap- 
ital, and having its general offices on 
Railroad wharf, at foot of State 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 



37 



street, runs fast and staunch steamers 
of modern pattern, between Boston 
and Portland, Eastport, Lubee, Me., 
and St. John, N. B., and is an im- 
portant factor in the commercial 
importance of Portland. The steam- 
ers of the line are the St. Croix, (pro- 
peller) 265 feet long, State of Maine, 
241 feet long, and the Cumberland, 
241 feet long. All are of modern 
construction and are fitted with large, 
airy and well furnished staterooms. 
The excellent table service on these 
boats has ever been a source of grat- 
ification to its many patrons. The 
line furnishes strictly first-class ac- 
commodations, and the trip over 
either part or the whole route, is re- 
plete with attractive scenery. Both 



about 4 o'clock in the afternoon. 
During the summer months, the steam- 
er St. Croix runs direct from Boston to 
St. John. The officers of the com- 
pany are J. S. Winslow, president; 
Charles F. Libby, vice-president and 
general manager; J. F. Liscomb, su- 
perintendent, and W. E. Holden, 
treasurer, Portland, and E. A. Wal- 
dron, general freight and passenger 
agent, Boston. 



Harpswell Steamboat Company. 

The trip over the Harpswell line, 
from the beauteous scenery continu- 
ing throughout the route, is one most 
frequented by summer visitors to 
Portland, and is well known as the 




m * . . ■ ■ - P ^l-EanHL 





AMONG THE ISLANDS, HARPSWELL LINE. 



passengers and freight are carried, 
steamers leave this city, during the 
summer season, Monday, Wednesday 
and Friday, at 5.30 P. M., for East- 
port, Lubec and Calais, Me., and St. 
John, N. B., and by this line tickets 
are issued through to Halifax and all 
partsof Nova Scotia, New Brunswick, 
Prince Edward Island and Cape 
Breton. This company also provides 
the only clay line between Portland 
and Boston. The steamers leave 
Commercial wharf, Boston, for Port- 
land, Mondays, Wednesdays and Fri- 
days, at 8.15 A. M., arriving at 
Portland at 4 in the afternoon. Re- 
turning, they leave Railroad wharf, 
Portland, at 7 A.M., Tuesday, Thurs- 
day and Saturday, arriving at Boston 



365 island route. The steamers of 
this company make regular trips be- 
tween this city and South Harpswell, 
touching at the following islands, and 
making twelve landings in all: Long 
Island, Little Chebeague, Great Che- 
beague, Hope islands, Harpswell, 
Bailey's and Orr's islands. One of 
the first steamers put on this route was 
the Gordon, a small craft of 40 tons 
gross, which boat has long since been 
dispensed with, and replaced by others 
of most modern pattern, and equip- 
ment. The old Gordon opened up a 
most popular route of travel, the bus- 
iness of which has been steadily and 
rapidly increasing yearly. A much 
larger steamer, the Merryconeag, was 
next constructed for the company, 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 



and put in service ten years ago. 
This soon led to the building of an- 
other steamer, the Chebeague, which 
boat soon proved too small for the 
growing business of the company, 
and was sold to the City of Portland 
and converted into a fire boat. It 
has since provided excellent protec- 
tion to the entire harbor front. Three 
years ago, the steamer Sebascodegan, 
185 tons gross, was built, and one 
year later, the Aucocisco, 187 tons 
gross, was built. These seaworthy 
and comfortable steamers, both queens 
of the harbor, comprise the boats 



agement of this line have built up the 
business of the company by showing 
a disposition to provide the best pos- 
sible steamboat service at the lowest 
rate of fare, over a most charming 
route. The officers of the company 
are George F. West, president, and 
Isaiah Daniels, general manager and 
treasurer, and both of whom are 
well known influential residents of 
Portland. 



Portland & Yarmouth Electric Ry. 



This electric line, connecting Port- 




ON LINE PORTLAND & YARMOUTH ELECTRIC RY. 



operated by this line. The route is 
22 miles in length, and although most 
frequent trips are made during the 
entire summer season, the company 
provide an all-the-year-round service 
through Casco Bay and the 365 isl- 
ands. Many consider the sail on 
these steamers the most delightful on 
the Atlantic seacoast. They leave 
Portland pier and are reached by 
electrics from all parts of the city. 
They have a licensed capacity for 
carrying 550 passengers, and over 
100,000 enjoyed the delightful sail 
over the route last year. The man- 



land with Yarmouth, is one of the 
more recent public developments 
by which Portland's citizens and 
visitors are much benefited and en- 
tertained. The road is a new enter- 
prise, and because of the scenery 
afforded along its line, the cars of the 
company are well patronized. It is 
entirely controlled by Portland stock- 
holders and officers, who have found 
it necessary in response to the public 
demand this season, to make many 
additions to its service and equip- 
ment. The road-bed is substantially 
constructed, and the track having a 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 



89 



total extent of more than thirteen 
miles and being laid entirely with 
sixty-foot rails, is practically joint- 
less. The cars are of the most mod- 
ern pattern, and the trip from 
Portland to Yarmouth is made in an 
hour and a quarter. Starting from 
Monument square, Portland, the cars 
pass through Elm, Oxford and Wash- 
ington streets to the new and spacious 
Tukey's bridge, and on a sultry 
summer's day one gets the first re- 
spite from the oppressive heat of the 
city, on reaching this point. Cross- 
ing this bridge, over Back Bay the 



trees. The whole place is natural 
and rustic, and exceedingly attrac- 
tive. Waite's, Madockawando and 
Town landings, names which sug- 
gest the proximity of the shore, are 
passed in order, and the car leaves 
the long white village of New Casco 
for the open country. The next ob- 
ject of interest is the far famed 
Underwood Spring. The cars leave 
the highway and enter a section of 
the park, which is controlled by the 
road, and on which is located this 
incomparable spring ; park and 
spring are nature's masterpieces; no 




ON LINE PORTLAND 4 YARMOUTH ELECTRIC RY. 



cars enter and pass through the main 
thoroughfares of East Deering, past 
the United States Marine hospital to 
Martin's Point bridge, which spans 
the Presumpscot River at its entrance 
to the bay. A quarter of a mile run 
over the river and bay, and the cars 
speed along the Falmouth shore to 
The Pines, a mile beyond. The 
road has here established a public 
pleasure ground, comprising a tract 
of forty acres. A beautiful pine 
grove covers nearly the whole area, 
and has carpeted it with the clean 
needles that have fallen from the 



place is more picturesque, no spring 
so bountiful and pure. A casino, 
shelters, seats and other artificial 
attractions, provide for the comfort of 
visitors. The town of Cumberland 
lies just beyond Underwood Spring, 
and it is completely traversed by this 
road. The most superb views of the 
sea and shore and mountains are 
constantly presented on the line, as it 
winds and climbs around the ledges 
and over the hills in Cumberland. 
Yarmouth is approached by way of 
Prince's Point road and the lower 
village, where Royal's River tumbles 



9 o 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 



over the dam into an arm of the bay. 
The road runs through the main 
street of Yarmouth, to its terminus 
at Yar mouth ville. The trip over 
this line is a most delightful one and 
the scenery comprises a restful com- 
bination of seashore, field and forest, 
the line of the road following the 
shore the entire distance, passing 
through many beautiful places and 
picturesque villages. The building 
and operation of this road is a source 
of much convenience and pleasure 
t o travelers 
between Port- 
land and Yar- 
mouth, and 
beside notice- 
ably increas- 
ing the value 
o f property 
all along its 
line, has ad- 
ded materi- 
ally to the 
impor tance 
of the pros- 
perous town 
of Yarmouth, 
noted for its 
ship building 
and native in- 
dustry. The 
summer visi- 
tor who would 
take anyof the 
popular trol- 
ley rides in 
and about 
Portland, 
should by no 

means fail to make this trip to Under- 
wood Spring and Yarmouth. In the 
summer season, cars for Yarmouth 
leave at a quarter of and a quarter 
past the hour, from 6.45 A. M. to 
10.45 P. M., leaving Yarmouth from 
5.30 A. M. half-hourly to 9.30 P. M. 
Cars are also run to Underwood 
Spring every fifteen minutes during 
the season. The company's office, 
waiting and parcel room is 440 Con- 
gress street, where announcement is 
made by conductors of the departure 



of cars, and of their destination. 
The officers of the company are: 
President, Seth L. Larrabee; treas- 
urer, Henry P. Cox; general man- 
ager, Louis B. Wheildon. The 
directors include these officers and 
Edward B. Winslow, William H. 
Milliken, Hutson B. Saunders and 
Frederick C. Boyd. 



Portland Water Company. 
From 



its fortunate location, 
land 




MARINE RAILWAY, 



Port- 
has 
many natural 
advantages, 
and a most 
important 
benefit is its 
present sup- 
ply of water 
furnished by 
the Portland 
Water Corn- 
pan}-. This 
company w r as 
incorporated 
February 23, 
1866, with 
authority to 
take water 
from I/Ong 
Creek; in the 
town of Cape 
Eliz abeth. 
The charter 
was amended 
the next year 
authorizing 
the company 
to take its 
supply from Lake Sebago. That this 
change in the source of supply was 
of great advantage to the City of 
Portland, adding materially to its 
health and prosperity by insuring 
an abundant supply of pure water, 
can be appreciated only by compari- 
son with the supply in other cities of 
New England. It was a great under- 
taking for a private corporation to 
bring its supply of water from such a 
distance, Sebago Lake being seven- 
teen miles awav. The water of the 



PORTLAND SHIPBUILDING COMPANY, 
SOUTH PORTLAND. 

Capacity, 1,300 tons. 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 



91 




92 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 



lake is now received into a gate- 
house, through a forty- inch iron pipe 
that extends into deep water, a dis- 
tance of four hundred and fifty feet 
from the shore. The end of the pipe 
is covered with sixteen feet of water 
when the lake is at its lowest stage. 
From this gate-house the water flows 
through a conduit, four and a half 
feet in diameter, and 5,740 feet in 
length, to a second gate-house. Of 
this conduit, 740 feet is tunneled 
through solid rock, and for the whole 
distance it is from ten to twenty- 
eight feet below the surface of the 
ground. From the lower gate-house, 
at the end of the conduit, the water 
flows through two independent main 
pipes to the City of Portland. The 
larger main, which is twenty-six 
and twenty-four inches in diameter, 
supplies the high levels with pressure 
direct from the lake, which is 267 
feet above mean tide in Portland. 
The smaller main, twenty inches in 
diameter, supplies the low service. 
In connection with the low service, 
the two reservoirs are used. These 
hold in combined volume 30,000,000 
gallons. The two mains furnish 
9,000,000 gallons of water a day, a 
sufficient amount to supply ail of 
150,000 people with sixty gallons 
each, per day. The officers of the 
company are: D. W. Clark, presi- 
dent; J. S. Ricker, vice-president; 
Geo. P. Wescott, treasurer and su- 
perintendent, and Edgar R. Payson, 
secretary. A summary of pipe and 
hydrants in Portland is as follows, 
viz: 

Main Pipe. 

48 inch inlet pipe 450 feet 

Conduit, (4 1-2 x 4 1-4 feet) 5.470" 

20 inch main pipe 84,120 " 

26 inch main pipe 18,330 " 

24 inch main pipe 60,220 " 

168,590 " 
or 32 5 6 ., 3 8 "„ miles 
Distribution Pipe. 
In Portland : 

20 inch 7S0 f ee t 

16 ;; 13.342 " 

12 ,, 37.929 " 

*° , 3.841 " 

1 17,481 " 

6 „ 77.384 " 

4 30,059 " 

3 3,608 " 

2 77.471 \\ 

261,865 " 

or 49sis5 miles 



In Deering: 

2 4 inch 50 feet 

20 |; 160 " 

'-' .',' 17.743 " 

s 18,191 " 

6 \' 81,467 " 

4 \\ 1,352 " 

51.387 " 

170,350 " 
or 3213"]; miles 
total main and distribution pipe in 

Portland 11 ^I^ miles 

Number of hydrants in Portland . -,70 

Number of hydrants in Deering 138 

Total hydrants 517 

Maine Central Railroad. 



The above railroad, comprising 
over 1,000 miles of steel, sweeps 
through Maine from the terminus at 
Portland on the seacoast, to the 
northern forests, invades the center 
of the White Mountains of New 
Hampshire, and extends to the head- 
waters of the Connecticut River in 
Vermont, its eastern and northern 
terminal crossing the Canadian bor- 
der. Via this road, is the only all 
rail route to Bar Harbor and the 
Maritime Provinces, and is the ini- 
tial road to the most direct line 
between the Maine seacoast and 
Montreal, Quebec, Niagara Falls and 
Chicago, through scenery unsur- 
passed in America. The Maine 
Central reaches the finest and most 
popular vacation regions of seacoast, 
mountains and lakes, and the wilds 
of the woods, where both fish and 
game are most abundant. Over the 
rails of the Maine Central, parties 
make the only through daily trip 
from Boston to the Rangeley Lakes, 
the Connecticut Lakes, Dead River 
region, Moosehead, Washington 
County woods and, beyond the 
Canadian border to the salmon waters 
of the St. John, Metapedia and Res- 
tigouche rivers. The travel over 
this road, especially in the summer 
season, is enormous, and the heavy 
but speedy trains run with commend- 
able frequency. Union station, Port- 
land, of which an illustration is 
shown, since 1888 has been placed 
at the disposal of the patrons of this 
road. The station, one of the hand- 
somest and most convenient to trav- 
elers in the world, has a tower 125 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 



93 





94 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 




PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 



95 



feet high, and is of comely archi- 
tecture. The building contains an 
enormous train shed, large general 
waiting-room, Si by 45 feet in di- 
mensions, a large dining-hall and 
lunch room, 66 by 45, a ladies' toilet 
room, men's smoking and toilet 
rooms, commodious baggage rooms, 
public telegraph, telephone and news 
and flower stands, etc., all of which 
give the visitor alighting at Port- 
land a good first impression of 
the city. That the Maine Central 
gives its patrons first class accommo- 
dations before and after boarding 
trains, is a matter of much pleasure 
to travelers. In the handling of 
freight, the Maine Central, of much 
importance commercially to New 
England, has been a most important 
adjunct in the growth of the pres- 
ent prosperous Portland. The 
general offices of the company are 
in this city, in a large and hand- 
some building, owned by the rail- 
road, adjoining the union station. 
The executive officers of the com- 
pany are, George F. Evans, vice- 
president and general manager, and 
Col. F. E. Boothby, general passen- 
ger and ticket agent. 

Portland & Rochester Railroad. 



An important New England rail- 
road line is the Portland & Roches- 
ter, which in late years has taken 
its place among the successfully con- 
ducted standard guage roads of the 
present day. This line adds mate- 
rially to Portlands importance as a 
railroad center, and connects this 
city with Rochester, N. H., and 
Worcester, Mass., and points beyond, 
by direct line. This now prosperous 
road was first known as the York & 
Cumberland, but afterwards became 
known as the Portland & Rochester 
Railroad Company, and again reor- 
ganized, being now called the Port- 
land & Rochester Railroad, showing 
that this road in its early days had 
its vicissitudes. In 18S1, the com- 
pany was reorganized under its pres- 
ent name, the Portland & Rochester 



Railroad. The company does a large 
passenger business and operates three 
trains daily between this city and 
Rochester, and intermediate stations, 
and six trains each way daily between 
this city and Gorham, there being a 
large suburban travel between the 
latter places. The stations of the 
road between Portland and Roches- 
ter are as follows: Woodfords, West- 
brook Junction, Cumberland Mills, 
Westbrook, Gorham, Buxton Cen- 
ter, Saco River, Hollis Center, 
Center Waterboro, Alfred, Spring- 
vale, East Lebanon, P^ast Rochester 
and Rochester. The road comprises 
seventy-one and ninety-five hun- 
dredths miles of track, including 
sidings, and the road-bed is in first 
class condition and the rolling stock 
at the present day is equal to that of 
the best of New England roads. The 
company carries a large amount of 
freight over its tracks. The company's 
property in this city is extensive, and 
is continuously added to. On the 
Back Cove, the company own a large 
area of land extending to the chan- 
nel, which is being rapidly filled, and 
tracks laid, furnishing an excellent 
freight yard. This company operates 
a transfer line, connecting the Maine 
Central and Boston & Maine with the 
Grand Trunk Railway. The present 
passenger station at Portland, over 
which are the general offices of the 
company, was completed and moved 
into June 21, 1891. The stations 
along the line of the road are many 
of them attractive, and all maintained 
with a regard for the comfort and 
convenience of passengers. Among 
the best stations is that at Gorham, 
which was built in 1887. The busi- 
ness of the road requires the services 
of 225 men, many of whom reside in 
this city and vicinity. The present 
officers of the company are as follows: 
George P. Wescott, president; W. 
H. Conant, treasurer; T. F. Tolman, 
general freight agent; H. W. Davis, 
superintendent and general ticket 
agent; E. H. C. Tompson, master 
mechanic, and J. Morrill, road mas- 
ter, Rochester. 



9 6 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 




PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 



97 



Portland & Rumford Falls Railway. 



The Portland and Rumford Falls 
Railway has become an important 
link in the railway system of the 
state, running almost due north to 
Rumford Falls and there connecting 
with the Rumford Falls & Rangeley 
Lakes Railroad, which lands the pas- 
senger at Bemis on the shores of Lake 
Mooselucmaguntic. The start is 
made from Union Station, Portland, 
the cars of the Portland & Rumford 
Falls running via the Maine Central 
Railroad as far as Rumford Junc- 
tion, where the Portland & Rumford 
Falls train from Lewiston is joined. 
The first station beyond, Elm wood 
Farm, is near the Methodist camp- 
ground in Poland. Poland Springs 
station, next, and then along through 
the town of Poland where special 
accommodations for the tourist are 
provided by many of the residents, 
pure spring water being everywhere 
abundant. Crossing the Little An- 
droscoggin, we enter the thriving vil- 
lage of Mechanic Falls, where con- 
nections are made with the Grand 
Trunk Railway system for the north 
and east. Two and a half miles 
from the next station, West Minot, 
back among the Oxford Hills, is He- 
bron Academy, which proudly points 
to the names of William Pitt Fessen- 
den, Eugene Hale, John D. Long 
and Hannibal Hamlin, appearing on 
its early records. Passing East He- 
bron, we come to Buekfield, the birth- 
place of Hon. John D. Long. Some 
miles farther the train skirts the 
shores of Lake Anasagunticook for 
more than a mile and then passing 
through the villages of Canton and 
Gilbertville, emerges on the banks of 
the Androscoggin, which it follows 
closely for the remaining ten miles. 
The village of Dixfield on the oppo- 
site side of the river attracts the at- 
tention, and connections are made 
here for Pine Point Camps on Lake 
Webb, in the town of Weld, where 



the fishing is unsurpassed. Rumford 
Falls, the terminus of the Portland 
and Rumford Falls Railway, is a 
bustling, prosperous manufacturing 
town, endowed by nature with unex- 
celled water power and numerous ad- 
vantages for the manufacturer and 
business man. The Androscoggin 
river at this point has a fall of 180 
feet in less than a mile, furnishing a 
a minimum of 42,000 horse power, and 
this guaranteed against drought by 
the storage system of dams and 123 
.square miles of lakes in the forest 
regions north. "New England's 
Niagara," as these falls have been 
fitly named, while forming the most 
substantial of manufacturing re- 
sources, also contributes much in the 
way of scenic beauty, and indeed the 
scenery around Rumford Falls is de- 
lightful, while a few miles away are 
the wildnesses of the forest with game 
in abundance. Pursuing his trip by 
rail beyond Rumford Falls, via the 
Rumford Falls and Rangeley Lakes 
Railroad the traveler is hurried on 
through rough but charming vistas, 
up the Swift River Valley, through 
the towns of Mexico, Roxbury and 
Byron to Bemis, where he alights in 
a picturesque log station, modeled 
after a lumberman's camp. Leaving 
Boston at nine o'clock in the morning 
one may arrive at Bemis at six o'clock 
P. M., this line affording the only 
standard gauge all-rail line from Bos- 
ton to the Rangeley lakes. The 
Rangeley region has its yearly in- 
creasing quota of pleasure seekers 
and sportsmen, and the Rumford 
Falls Line affords a new and popular 
route to these lakes. The Portland 
& Rumford Falls Railway comprises 
67 miles of road ; its roadbed, equip- 
ment, rolling stock and train service 
are fully up to the standard of the 
first-class roads of New England. 
The officers are Hugh J. Chisholm, 
president; Waldo Pettengill, vice- 
president; R. C. Bradford, treasurer 
and traffic manager; and E. L. 
Lovejoy, superintendent. 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 



Hon. Thomas B. Reed. 



The speaker of the national house 
of representatives, Thomas Braekett 
Reed, was born and has always re- 
sided in Portland. He first saw light 
of day Oct. 18, 1839, and is the son 
of Thomas Braekett and Matilda 
(Mitchell) Reed. He was educated 
in the Portland public schools and 
graduated from Bowdoin College in 
i860, following which he devoted 
one year and three months to teach- 
ing, a part of 
which time he 
was one of the 
assistants at the 
Portland High 
School. At the 
same time he 
studied law. In 
April, 1864, be- 
fore he was ad- 
mitted to the 
bar, he was ap- 
pointed an aet- 
i n g assistant- 
paymaster in the 
navy. After the 
close of the war, 
upon returning 
to Portland, he 
was admitted to 
the Cumberland 
bar and com- 
m enced the 
practice of his 
profession. He 
first commenced 
his noted public 
career by being 
elected to the state legislature in 
1867, from Portland. During his 
first term he became an active mem- 
ber of the house and served upon the 
judiciary committee. He was re- 
turned to the legislature in 1869 and, 
in 1870, represented Cumberland 
county in the state senate. While a 
member of the senate, he was the 
same year nominated and elected 
attorney-general of Maine, and being 
at that time only thirty-two years 
of age was the youngest attorney- 




HON. THOMAS B. REED. 



general in the history of Maine. In 
this capacity he served three terms, 
winning distinction by the successful 
trials of the various important cases 
in which he served the state. For 
four years, 1874-78, he was city solici- 
tor of Portland. His first nomination 
for congress was in 1876 and he has 
ever since represented the first con- 
gressional district of Maine at Wash- 
ington. By successive re-elections 
he is now serving his twelfth term as 
a member of congress and his fourth 
term as speaker. 
His marvelous 
executive abili- 
ty, strength of 
mind and know- 
ledge of parlia- 
mentary rules, 
have made him 
a national favor- 
i t e and one 
whose services 
in congress are 
considered a 1 - 
most indispen- 
sable. He re- 
sides on Deering 
street in this 
city and his 
home is one of 
the man spots 
selected by 
sightseers and 
summer v i s i - 
tors. He was 
married in 1870 
to Miss Susan P. 
Merrill. He has 
one daughter. 



Hon. Henry B. Cleaves. 

Henry Bradstreet Cleaves, govern- 
or of Maine from 1893 to 1897, has 
been a resident of Portland since 
September, 1868. Born in Bridgton, 
Me., February 6, 1840, he was des- 
tined to prominence in life. He is a 
son of Thomas and Sophia (Brad- 
street) Cleaves, his father being a 
farmer in Bridgton. On the mater- 
nal side he is descended from Daniel 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 



99 



Bradstreet, one of the early settlers of 
that town. After obtaining his early 
education which included attendance 
at the Lewiston Falls and Bridgton 
academies, in 1862 he enlisted as a 
private in Company B, Twenty -third 
Me. Vols. At the expiration of the 
regiment's term of enlistment he had 
attained the rank of orderly ser- 
geant, and fagain enlisted for three 
years under 
Gen. Fran- 
cis Fessen- 
den. In 
this regi- 
ment he was 
c o m mis- 
sioned lieu- 
tenant of 
Company F, 
Thirtieth 
Me. Veter- 
ans. He 
saw active 
service and 
participated 
in the vari- 
ous engage- 
ments under 
Gen. Banks 
in the Red 
River Expe- 
dition and 
under Gen. 
Fess e n d e n 
at Mans- 
field, Pleas- 
ant Hill and 
Cane River 
Crossing, in 
the Depart- 
ment of the 
Gulf. After 
the close of the campaign in Louisi- 
ana he served, during the remainder 
of the war, in the Army of the Poto- 
mac and in the Shenandoah Valley 
under Sheridan. At the close of the 
war, declining a commission in the 
regular army, offered by Secretary 
Stanton, he returned to his home in 
Bridgton and assumed duties on the 
home farm. He also worked in the 
lumber business and studied law. 




HON. HENRY B. CLEAVES. 



He was admitted to the bar in Sep- 
tember, 186S, at which time he 
commenced practice and formed a 
partnership with his brother, the late 
Judge Nathan Cleaves. The firm 
gradually became well known 
throughout New England, and since 
the decease of his brother has been 
comprised of the subject of this 
sketch and Stephen C. Perry. Gov. 

Cleaves was 
a member of 
the state 
legislatu re 
in 1876 and 
1877 ; city 
solicitor of 
Portland in 
1877-78; 
thrice made 
attorney- 
general o f 
the state ; 
and in 1892 
was nomi- 
nated and 
elected gov- 
ernor. His 
successf u 1 
administra - 
tion wo 11 
h i m a r e- 
election in 
1S94 by an 
increased 
popular 
vote. Hav- 
ing distin- 
g u i s h e d 
himself as a 
soldier, law- 
yer, attor- 
ney - gener- 
al, and endeared himself to the people 
of the state of Maine as governor, 
Portland properly numbers him 
among the noted residents of whom 
the city is proud. He is a prominent 
member of the G. A. R. and Maine 
Veterans' Association, and is inter- 
ested in many financial and other 
institutions, including those accom- 
plishing valuable benevolent work. 
Appended are the resolutions adopted 



IOO 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 



by the state legislature at the close of 
his last year in the gubernatorial 
chair. 

In Senate. January 7, 1897. 

Resolved: That in recognition of the services of 
Henry B. Cleaves during the past four years, as 
Executive of our State, the Senate of Maine tenders 
him, in behalf of the citizens of Maine, the sincere 
appreciation, respect and esteem of our people. 
Able and conscientious in the performance of his 
duties, devoted to the interests of our State, regard- 
ful for the welfare and prosperity of our people, 
solicitous for the interest of her institutions, ever 
laboring for the development of the diversified in- 
dustries of the State and for her advancement, he 
retires from his official position with the confidence 
and regard of all our citizens, and with their wishes 
for a prosperous and happy future. 

House of Representatives, January 7, 1897. 

Voicing the sentiment of the people and press of 
Maine, the House of 
Representatives de- 
sires to place on rec- 
ord its recognition of 
the distinguished ser- 
vices rendered by the 
retiring Governor; 
therefore. 

Resolved : That we 
extend to Hon. Henry 
B. Cleaves, who has 
guided the Ship of 
State for four years, 
our recognition of his 
honorable service 
Faithful to every trust, 
diligent in the per- 
formance of all public 
duties, devoted to the 
interests of the whole 
State, he has met ev- 
ery emergency and 
given to the people of 
Maine an upright, 
honest and dignified 
administration. 

He has been the 
Governor of all; the 
doors of the Executive 
Chamber have always 
been open to every 
citizen of the State, 
and the humblest lias 
never been turned 
away without a pa- 
tient and respectful 
hearing. 

He retires from the 
high office he has so 
ably and faithfully 
filled with the confi- 
dence, respect and af- 
fection of the whole 
people. 




HON. JOSIAH H. DRUMMOND. 



Hon. Josiah H. Drummond. 

This well-known resident of Port- 
land is one of the senior members of 
the Cumberland county bar, whose 
career has been notable. He was 
born in Winslow, Kennebec County, 
Me., Aug. 30, 1S27, and is descended 
from Alexander Drummond, one of a 
colony of Scotch-Irish Presbyterians, 
who settled in Maine in 1729. He ob- 
tained his early education in the dis- 



trict school and Vassalboro Academy 
and graduated from Colby University 
in 1846. He then taught school for 
three years as principal of the Vas- 
salboro and China academies and 
studied law in the office of Boutelle 
& Noyes in Waterville. In 1850 he 
was admitted to the bar at Augusta. 
Visiting the Pacific coast during the 
gold fever, he was also admitted to 
practice in California. The following 
year he returned to Waterville and 
succeeded to the practice of his late 
preceptors, continuing there until 
i860, when he 
opened his of- 
fice in Portland 
and has since 
built up an ex- 
tended reputa- 
tion. He has 
served as city 
solicitor of Port- 
land and attor- 
ney-general of 
Maine. In 1851 
he became con- 
nected with the 
Androscoggin & 
Kennebec R.R., 
and in 1864 a 
director in the 
Maine Central 
R. R., of which 
he has been 
clerk since 1866. 
He has also 
been chief coun- 
sel for that cor- 
poration. Made 
a director in the 
Union Mutual 
Life Insurance Company in 1875, he 
has since served as principal counsel 
for that companv, shaping the legis- 
lation that was instrumental in the 
company's removal to this state Of 
this company he is a director. Since 
its organization he has also been a 
director of the Union Safe Deposit & 
Trust Company. Mr. Drummond 
has a wide political career and since 
1855 he has been a Republican, and 
as far back as 1856, a year after he 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 



IOI 



left the ranks of the Democratic party 
on account of his opposition to slav- 
ery, he was active on the stump, 
speaking as often as three times a 
day. In 1857, while away from home 
and unknown to him, he was nomina- 
ted to the state legislature. The fol- 
lowing year he was re-elected and 
chosen speaker of the house. In 1859 
he was elected to the senate and in 
i860 he was made attorney-general, 
to accept 
which he re- 
signed his 
seat in the 
senate, to 
take effect 
at the end 
of the ses- 
sion, being 
sworn into 
office the 
day the leg- 
islature ad- 
j o u r n e d , 
serving four 
years. Af- 
ter taking 
up his resi- 
dence in 
Portland, in 
1868 he was 
elected t o 
the legisla- 
ture again, 
and once 
more made 
speaker o f 
the house. 
In 1864, he 
was a mem- 
ber of the 
Republican 
national 

convention that renominated Lin- 
coln, and was also active in the con- 
ventions that nominated Hayes and 
Blaine. Mr. Drummond has been 
mention several times for governor 
and the supreme bench, but declined 
both honors in the interest of his pro- 
fession. He is a distinguished mem- 
ber of the Masonic fraternity and it 
is stated that, excepting Thomas 




HON. SETH L. LARRABEE. 



Smith Webb, who gave form to Ma- 
sonry in this country, none have done 
more for that ancient order than he, 
in both writings and the filling of 
eminent stations. Since joining 
Waterville Lodge in 1849, he has 
held nearly all the exalted offices 
within the gift of that order, and since 
1862 has been a thirty-third degree 
Mason. He is a member of the 
Maine Historical Society, Maine 

Genealogi- 
cal Societ)', 
the Old Col- 
ony Society 
o f Massa- 
ch u se tt s, 
and the 
New E n g- 
land Histor- 
ical Genea- 
logical So- 
ciety of Bos- 
ton. H e 
was one of 
the found- 
ers and is 
the present 
registrar of 
the Maine 
Society o f 
the Sons of 
the Ameri- 
can Revolu- 
t i o 11 . In 
i87i,he was 
con f e r r e d 
the degree 
of LL.D.by 
Colby Uni- 
versity. 
For m any 
years has 
been vice- 
president of that university corpora- 
tion and chairman ex officio of the 
board of trustees, on which board he 
has served since 1857. 



Hon. Seth L. Larrabee. 



One of the best known and ablest 
men in the state is Seth L. Larrabee, 
a successful attorney of Portland and 



102 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 



last year speaker of the Maine House 
of Representatives. He was born in 
Scarboro, Maine, Jan. 22, 1855, his 
ancestry figuring prominently in en- 
counters with the Indians from a 
period as early as 1660. He spent 
his boyhood on the home farm. Ob- 
taining his early education in the 
district school, he fitted for college at 
Westbrook Seminary, from which he 
graduated in 1870. After taking 
a year's vacation he entered Bowdoin 
College and graduated with the class 
of 1875. While attending college, 
he taught several terms in common 
schools and after his graduation, he 
taught the languages for one year 
in Goddard Seminary, at Barre, Vt. 
He studied law in the office of Strout 
& Gage, and after being admitted to 
the Cumberland bar in 1878, began 
practice in this city, where his natur- 
al ability has won him an eminent 
position among the lawyers of this 
state. In 1880, he was elected regis- 
ter of probate for Cumberland County 
which office he held for nine years. 
He was chosen city solicitor of Port- 
land in 1891 and 1893, and in 1895 
was first elected to the state legisla- 
ture. He was unanimously nomi- 
nated and unanimously elected 
speaker of the house of representa- 
tives in 1898, and his natural fitness 
for the chair was shown by the grace 
with which he filled it. For many 
years Mr. Larrabee has been a valued 
member of the Portland Board of 
Trade and his activity in the interest 
of local enterprises has been influen- 
tial. He was one of the originators 
of the Casco and Portland Loan and 
Building Associations, in both of 
which he is director, treasurer and 
attorney. He was an original incor- 
porator and is president of the Port- 
land & Yarmouth Electric Railway 
Co. He was one of the founders of 
the Chapman National Bank of which 
he is vice-president and director. 
He was instrumental in chartering 
and establishing the Mercantile Trust 
Company of which he is trustee and 
attorney. He holds many positions 



of trust and has the management of 
large estates. Mr. Larrabee is a 
hard student of his profession and 
one of the most successful practition- 
ers in the state. He is an able 
pleader and his commanding figure 
is a familiar one in important cases 
before the higher courts. He is also 
popular in social circles and has a 
rare capacity for remembering faces 
and winning friends. He served two 
years as captain of the First Maine 
Battery of the state militia. He is a 
Mason, Knight of Pythias, and a 
member of the leading social and po- 
litical clubs of the city. He was 
married Oct. 21, 1880, to Miss Lulu 
B. Sturdevant, daughter of Dr. Jo- 
seph Sturdevant of Scarboro. They 
have two children, Sydney B., aged 
seventeen, and Leon S. Larrabee, 
aged fifteen, both students in the 
Portland High School. 



Judge S. C. Strout. 

This justiciar}' is associate justice 
of the Supreme Judicial Court of 
Maine and has been a resident of 
Portland since boyhood. He was 
born in Wales, Androscoggin County, 
Me., Feb. 17, 1827, and his ancestors 
were among the early residents of 
Cape Elizabeth and came here from 
England. His father, Ebenezer 
Strout, was a trader of prominence 
and removed to this city from Tops- 
ham, Me., in 1841. Here young 
Strout continued his education and 
attended the Portland High School. 
Failing health compelled him to 
abandon study temporarily at eigh- 
teen years of age. After engaging 
as a clerk in the dry goods store of 
David J. True for about one year, he 
began to fit himself for the practice 
of law, a profession he had previous- 
ly chosen. He first commenced to 
read law in the office of Howard & 
Shepley, both of whom were after- 
wards distinguished judges. He was 
admitted to the Cumberland County 
bar in 1848 and almost immediately 
opened an office and commenced 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 



103 



practice in Bridgton, Me., removing 
to Portland in 1854. One year later 
he formed a partnership with Judge 
Howard, his former preceptor, who 
had retired from the bench after one 
term. After ten years the firm dis- 
solved and Mr. Strout continued 
alone until 1866 when the celebrated 
law firm of Strout & Gage was 
formed, becoming known as Strout, 
Gage & Strout in 1880, at which 
time his son 
Fred er i c k 
was admit- 
ted to the 
firm. Upon 
the latter's 
decease in 
1888, Judge 
Strout'ssec- 
ond son, 
Charles A., 
took his late 
brother's 
place in the 
firm. Since 
the subject 
of this 
sketch took 
his seat on 
the supreme 
bench the 
firm has 
been com- 
posed of 
Hanno W. 
Gage and 
Charles A. 
Strout, and 
conti nued 
under the 
style of 
Gage & 
Strout. Up- 
on the decease of Judge Artemas 
Libby, Mr. Strout was appointed his 
successor by a Republican governor, 
although he has ever been affiliated 
with the Democratic party. His ap- 
pointment in 1894 was at the time 
considered and has since proven most 
appropriate. Nearly a half-century 
of practice coupled with his marked 
ability has won him distinction as a 




JUDGE S. C. STROUT. 



member of the bar, and since taking 
his seat on the supreme bench his de- 
cisions have been rendered with that 
characteristic justness which admits 
of no object in appeal. Upon the 
resignation of Judge Lowell from the 
U. S. circuit court, Judge Strout 
was almost unanimously named for 
the vacancy by the bar of Maine, al- 
though the appointment went to 
another state. Judge Strout served 

ten years as 
president of 
the Cumber- 
land Bar As- 
socia t i o n . 
He has also 
been a mem- 
ber of the 
board of al- 
dermen. He 
i s enrolled 
in the mem- 
bership o f 
the Cumber- 
land Club. 
His life has 
been closely 
devoted to 
his profes- 
sion and he 
is consid- 
ered one of 
the most 
scholarly 
and able of 
those whose 
duties it is 
to pass judg- 
ment in the 
higher tri- 
bunals in 
this state. 
His popu- 
larity extends from the hearth of 
his own fireside throughout busi- 
ness and social circles wherever he 
is known. He was married, Novem- 
ber, 1849, to Octavia J. P. Shaw of 
Portland, and to them five children 
dren have been born : Annie O., 
Louise B., Frederick S. (deceased), 
Joseph H. (deceased), and Charles 
A. Strout. 



io4 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 



H., where he resided 



Hon. Henry C. Peabody. 

The probate court of this county is 
presided over by Judge Henry Clay 
Peabody, who has held the office con- 
tinuously since January i, 1880. He 
was born in Gilead, Oxford County, 
Me., April 14, 1838, a son of John 
Tarbell and Mercy Ingalls (Burbank) 
Peabody. In 1839, he removed to 
Gorham, N. 
until ! after 
his gradua- 
tion from 
college.', He 
attended 
public 
schools and 
Gould's 
Acade m y, 
Bethel, Me., 
and fitted 
for college 
at Fryeburg 
Aca dem y. 
He after- 
wards en- 
tered and 
graduated 
from Dart- 
mouth Col- 
lege in the 
class of '59. 
Choosing 
the legal 
profession, 
he read law 
in Portland 
in the office 
of General 
Samuel Fes- 
senden. In 
1862, he was 
admitted to 
the bar in this county and began the 
successful practice of his profession 
in Portland. From the time of his 
admission to the bar until 1867, he 
was a partner of the late Judge Aaron 
B. Holden. For several years he was 
a member of the school 'board. At 
the state election in the fall of 1879, 
he was elected judge of probate, tak- 
ing his seat the following January. 




HON. HENRY C. PEABODY. 



His sound judgment in probate' and 
insolvency matters demonstrated his 
fitness for the important office and he 
has been regularly re-elected at the 
expiration of each term. He has 
much ability as a public speaker, but 
he has not thought it proper while 
holding a judicial office to engage 
actively in political campaigns. He 
has been heard, however, at Memo- 
rial Day exercises and on other occa- 
sions of a 
public na- 
ture. He 
served as 
chairman of 
the commis- 
sion a p- 
p o i nted 
by Gov. 
Cleaves in 
1895 to pre- 
pare uni- 
form blanks 
and rules of 
practice and 
proc e d u r e 
for use in 
the probate 
and insol- 
vency courts 
of Maine, a 
commissio n 
authori zed 
b y a c t of 
legislat u r e 
for this im- 
portant pur- 
pose. The 
rules a n d 
blanks now 
in use are 
those pre- 
pared by 
that commission. Judge Peabody 
has been called upon to fill many of- 
fices of honor and trust. He is a 
prominent member of the Knights of 
Pythias. In that fraternal organiza- 
tion he is a past grand chancellor 
and has twice been the supreme rep- 
resentative of the state to the supreme 
lodge. He is also a member of the 
Odd Fellows and the Royal Arcanum. 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 



105 



He is one of the trustees of Fryeburg 
Academy and a trustee of the Port- 
land Public Library and of the 
Greenleaf Law Library, and is a di- 
rector of the Portland Loan and 
Building Association. For a number 
of years he was president of the 
Maine State Relief Association. He 
is a fellow of the Maine Academy of 
Medicine, a member of the Fraternity 
Club, a prominent literary associa- 
tion, and of 
the Portland 
and Lincoln 
Clubs, the 
two princi- 
pal Republi- 
can organiz- 
ation s of 
this city. 
He married 
in 1867 Miss 
Ellen Ad- 
ams, daugh- 
ter of Dea. 
Augu stus 
Adams, of 
Portland. 
They have 
had three 
ch i 1 d r e n , 
Clarence 
Webster 
P e a b o cl y , 
a graduate 
of Bowdoin 
College and 
Harvard 
LawSchool, 
now practic- 
ing law in 
the same of- 
fice with his 
father in the 

Union Mutual insurance building, 
and who is at present a member of 
the Portland school board ; Arthur 
Glendower Peabody, born in 1872 
and died in 1880; and Henry Adams 
Peabody, born in 1881, who in- 
tends to enter Bowdoin College as 
a member of the class of 1903. 



George F. Evans. 




GEORGE F. EVANS 



One of the best known railroad 
officials of New England is George 
F. Evans, vice-president and general 
manager of the Maine Central Rail- 
road, the main offices of which are 
at Portland. He is a native of Con- 
cord, N. H. He obtained his early 
education in the public schools of 
that city, taking a college course and 

graduati n g 
from the 
Concord 
HighSchool 
in 1862. He 
first began 
business life 
as time- 
keeper a t 
the machine 
shops of the 
Nor t h e r n 
New Hamp- 
shire Rail- 
road, but in 
1863 he en- 
tered the 
office of 
Colonel J. 
N. Macomb, 
then of the 
Corps of 
Engineer s, 
United 
States A r- 
my. He re- 
mained a t 
Portsmout h 
in the ser- 
vice of this 
army engi- 
neer until 
1867, when 
he removed to Cincinnati and be- 
came his assistant in the making 
of surveys and the improvement of 
rivers and harbors at Cincinnati, 
Rock Island and Philadelphia. In 
the spring of 1881 he resigned this 
position to accept the office of secre- 
tary and treasurer of the Louisville, 
Evansville and St. Louis R. R. 
Three years later he was appointed 



io6 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 



assistant to the president of that rail- 
road and placed in charge of the 
operating and traffic departments 
with office at Louisville, Ky. In 
1885 he was appointed receiver and 
general manager of that railroad by 
the late Judge W. Q. Gresham. Un- 
der his management the road was 
rescued from the hands of the receiv- 
er and in one year's time was re-or- 
ganized, the subject of this sketch 
continuing as general manager and 
also taking 
charge 
again of 
the oper- 
ating and 
traffic d e - 
partmen t s. 
In 1892 he 
severed his 
connect i o n 
with this 
load to be- 
come super- 
intendent of 
the South- 
ern Division 
of the Bos- 
ton & Maine 
Rai 1 r o a d, 
bee o m ing 
assistant 
general 
manager of 
that corpor- 
a t i o n in 
1895. He 
became an 
official o f 
t h e Maine 
Central 
Rai 1 r o a d, 
Novem b e r 
30, 1896, 

when he was made general manager. 
November, 1897, ne succeeded Payson 
Tucker as vice-president, since which 
time he has served as both general 
manager and vice-president. Being 
elected a director of the company in 
October, 1898, he is now one of the 
highest officials. He is a man of 
progressive ideas and thoroughly 





m.1 R 




1 "M 




mm 



GEORGE A. THOMAS. 



versed in railroad matters. His en- 
cumbency in his present capacity has 
been productive of marked improve- 
ment in the service, the advantage of 
which has been appreciated by the 
traveling public and the innumer- 
able manufacturers and merchants 
who ship merchandise over this line. 

George A. Thomas. 

The portrait of this life-long resi- 
dent will be 
recogni zed 
as one of the 
best known 
in Portland. 
Alt hough 
his clear in- 
tellect and 
rugged phy- 
sique would 
make him 
appear sev- 
eral years 
his junior, 
he was born 
in this city, 
Septem b e r 
16, 1 8 1 9. 
He is one of 
the original 
Thomas 
family that 
has taken 
promi n e n t 
part in the 
affairs of 
Portland for 
many gen- 
erations, 
and a son of 
EliasThom- 
a s , who 
lived to the 
remarkable age of one hundred and 
one-half years. He attended the dis- 
trict school and old Portland Acade- 
my where the poet Longfellow was 
once a pupil. He then entered Bow- 
doin College and studied law. His 
profession he has never practiced. 
His inclination to see something of 
life in the gold fields prompted him 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 



107 



to go to California, in 1850, where he 
remained for a period of four years, 
bringing back some gold. His excel- 
lent basso voice, the quality of which 
was probably once unexcelled in New 
England, and his natural talent for 
music and rare entertaining powers 
made him popular in musical and so- 
cial circles early in life. For twenty 
years he was a member of the choir, 
and had charge of the music at the 
church presided over by Rev. Asa 
Dalton. For generations back his 
pleasing 
voice has 
been heard, 
often in comic 
songs at en- 
tertainmen t s 
given to 
children, for 
whom he has 
always a 
k i n d 1 y 
thought. Al- 
though sev- 
enty-nine 
years of age, 
he still pos- 
sesses a re- 
m a r k a b 1 y 
good voice 
and retains 
his faculty 
for rendering 
a creditable 
solo, even 
playing his 
own accom- 
p ani me n t. 
Having a 
naturally 

happy disposition, his humorous say- 
ings and writings are well known. 
He has written some verse and his 
impromptu rhymes, he is capable of 
applying to any subject, are highly 
amusing. He has always been a 
prominent factor in the social circles 
of Portland and his home on Danforth 
street where, since the Portland fire, 
he has resided with his sister, is 
known as Sociable Corner. Mr. 
Thomas has never been an aspirant 



to public office, and excepting the 
Merchants' Exchange and a long 
list of musical societies has never 
been a member of any organization. 
He, however, claims and is justly en- 
titled to membership in the G. O. H., 
" General Order of Humanity." 



E. B. Winslow. 




E. B. WINSLOW. 



One of the most useful residents of 
this locality is Edward Brackett Win- 
slow, born in a portion of Westbrook, 
now Deering, 
Sept. 20, 1846, 
a son of John 
T. and Mary 
K. (Noyes) 
W i n s 1 o w . 
After attend- 
ing the local 
public 
schools and 
gradu atin g 
from West- 
brook Semi- 
nary, he en- 
tered the em- 
ploy of the 
Portland 
Sto neware 
Co., with 
which con- 
cern his fa- 
ther was asso- 
ciated. The 
company was 
then manu- 
facturing 
drain pipe 
and coarse 
stoneware in 
a primitive way. The services of the 
young man, which soon became valu- 
able, resulted in the adoption of new 
processes and an increase in the trade 
of the concern. He was taken into 
the company and made outside man- 
ager and for the past fifteen years he 
has been the executive head of the 
extensive works. Besides managing 
the business of this large concern, 
which has been developed into its 
present magnitude by his hand, 



io8 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 



Mr. Winslow is president of the Cen- 
tral Wharf Tovvboat Co., president of 
the Caseo Bay Steamboat Co., a direct- 
or of the Portland & Ogdensburg R. 
R.Co.,in the First National Bank, the 
Union Safe Deposit and Trust Co., 
of the Caseo and the Portland Loan 
and Building Associations. From 
1892 to 1896, he was president of the 
Portland Board of Trade. He has 
taken a most active part in public 
affairs ; was a member of the Port- 
land Board of Aldermen in 1881-83, 



Democrats, he therefore declined. In 
1897 he became the Democratic nomi- 
nee for mayor of Portland, and al- 
though supported by many leading 
men of the Republican party he was 
defeated. He was one of the com- 
mission preparing the draft for the 
new city charter in 1897. He was 
married in 1871 to Alice J. Deavitt, 
daughter of James A. Leavitt of Port- 
land. In his summer residence at 
Deering, and his home in Portland 
proper, he entertains largely. 




SUMMER RESIDENCE OF E. B.IWINSLOW, EAST DEERING. 



the last year of which he was chair- 
man ; he has also served as a member 
of the board of water commissioners 
and was two terms a member of the 
police commission. In politics he 
has been identified with the Demo- 
cratic party. He was a delegate in 
1895 to the Democratic national con- 
vention, which supported the gold 
standard. In June, 1896, without 
solicitation, he was unanimously 
nominated for governor. His scru- 
ples, however, would not allow him 
to form alliances with the silver 



Hugh J. Chisholm. 

The president ot the Portland & 
Rumford Falls Railway was born at 
Niagara on the Lake, Canada, May 
2, 1847. He attended school until 
thirteen, and in i860 became a news- 
boy on the Grand Trunk, his route 
lying between Toronto and Detroit, 
one of his contemporaries being 
Thomas A. Edison, whose route was 
between Detroit and Port Huron. 
At that early age he developed habits 
of thrift and showed marked ability. 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 



109 



By saving his first meager earnings, 
he acquired a surplus of fifty dollars 
which enabled him to pursue a 
course of study evenings in Bryant & 
Stratton's Commercial College at 
Toronto. In 1861, he formed a part- 
nership with his brothers, like him- 
self all in their teens, under the firm 
name of Chisholm Bros. They began 
to employ other boys and finally con- 
trolled the news business of the whole 
Grand 
Trunk Sys- 
tem, and, six 
years after 
Hugh had 
made his 
modest 
start, they 
had con- 
tracted t o 
sell papers 
on trains 
from Chica- 
go to Port- 
1 a n d and 
Halifax, 
and on the 
steamboa t s 
comprisi n g 
all the prin- 
cipal lines 
of travel 
in northern 
New Eng- 
land, north- 
em New 
York a n d 
Canada, 
routes e x - 
tending over 
5000 miles 
and employ- 
ing over 200 

boys, inaugurating the uniform, now 
worn, of train men's cap and gold 
buttons. Chisholm Bros, were the 
pioneers in the transportation pub- 
lishing business, producing railway 
and tourists' guides and albums de- 
scriptive of routes of travel. The 
charms of Portland as a place of resi- 
dence prompted Mr. Chisholm to es- 
tablish a branch office here, and since 




HUGH J. CHISHOLM. 



1872, until recently, he has been an 
adopted resident of Portland. Four 
years later, he purchased the interests 
of his brothers in the New England 
states and established a publishing 
business in this city. He has pro- 
duced over 300 sets of picture albums 
descriptive of Maine and scenery 
along the principal railroads of the 
United States, also many beautiful 
works descriptive of cities, including 

the " White 
City," is- 
sued for the 
World's 
Fair. He 
became in- 
terested in 
the woo d 
pulp indus- 
try in 1880, 
and after 
overcomin g 
many dis- 
coura g i n g 
obs t a c 1 e s 
and starting 
several ex- 
perimenting 
factories 
with others, 
he orga- 
nized the 
Some rse t 
Fibre Co., 
at Fairfield, 
Maine, in- 
corporat e d 
with a cap- 
ital of $200,- 
ooo,ofwhich 
success f ul 
concern he 
is now a di- 
rector. Since 1881, he has been 
president and manager of the Umba- 
gog Pulp Co., which he established, 
and which now has a capital of 
$200,000. He was also the organ- 
izer, and since the start has been 
treasurer, general manager and chief 
owner, of the Otis Falls Pulp Co., 
which represents $700,000 invested 
capital. In 1882 Mr. Chisholm 



no 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 



became interested in the develop- 
ment of the magnificent water power 
at Rumford Falls, which is now a 
thriving manufacturing locality, but 
at that time a wilderness. Due to 
his enterprise and far sightedness, 
therefore, is the evolution of the 
town. It was Mr. Chisholm also, 
who purchased the unfinished Rum- 
ford Falls and Buekfield R. R., or- 
ganizing a new company for its con- 
trol and, as 
its president 
and manag- 
er, the line 
was extend- 
e d from 
Canto n to 
Rurafor d 
Falls and 
from M e - 
chanic Falls 
to Auburn. 
He was also 
instrumen- 
tal in estab- 
lishing the 
Rumford 
Falls Paper 
Co. and the 
Rumford 
Falls Sul- 
phite Co., 
of which he 
is treasurer 
and direct- 
or. He was 
also one of 
the promot- 
ers and in- 
corporators 
of the Rum- 
ford Falls 
WoolenCo., 

the Rumford Falls Light & Water 
Co., the Rumford Falls Trust Co., in 
all of which he is a director, and, in 
the last, the principal stockholder. 
His increased business interests at 
the head of the paper trust recently 
formed, caused him to take up his 
residence in New York, where he 
has become a familiar figure in social 
circles. 



Hon. J. W. Symonds. 




HON. J. W. SYMONDS. 



A leading member of the bar of the 
state is Hon. Joseph White Symonds, 
a resident of Portland. He was born 
in Raymond, Me., September 2, 1840. 
His father, Joseph Symonds, removed 
to Portland in 1845, the subject of 
this sketch fitting for college at the 
Portland High School. He attended 
Bovvdoin College from which he 

graduate d 
in i860. 
Among his 
classmates 
were Thom- 
as B. Reed, 
William W. 
Thomas, 
Jr., and oth- 
er men who 
have won 
both name 
and fame in 
v a r i o u s 
walks of 
life. He 
studied for 
his profes- 
sion and 
first co lu- 
men c e d to 
read law in 
the office of 
General 
Samuel Fes- 
s e n d e n . 
His law 
stud i e s 
there were 
followed by 
continui n g 
in the office 
of Edward 
Fox, who afterwards was on the 
bench of the United States District 
Court in this state. He was admit- 
ted to practice to the Cumberland 
bar in 1864. He soon established a 
reputation and large clientage, and 
in a few years was chosen city solic- 
itor; and his sagacity in looking after 
the legal interests of Portland added 
to his reputation. After he had 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 



in 



acquired a large general practice, in 
Sept., 1872, he was appointed judge 
of the Superior Court of Cumberland 
County, on which bench he served for 
about six years, when he was ap- 
pointed one of the justices of the 
Supreme Judicial Court of Maine. 
After remaining on the supreme 
bench for six years more, he resigned 
and returned to his practice to which 
he has ever since devoted his entire 
energy. Be- 
ing an attor- 
ney of wide 
experien c e 
and marked 
ability, his 
services are 
retained on 
imp ortant 
cases before 
the higher 
courts. He 
is well- 
known as a 
corporati o n 
lawyer and 
has settled 
many large 
estates. 
Having 
been prac- 
tically a life- 
long resi- 
dent of 
Portland, he 
is well- 
known both 
in business 
and social 
circles. He 
is a Repub- 
lican in pol- 
itics and is 

esteemed by all who know him. He 
resides on Pine street and has one 
son, Stuart Oakley Symonds. 




Both 

par 

were 

ers. 

son 



Jhoim. a. f. moulton. 



Hon. A. F. Moulton. 



This well-known lawyer was born 
in Jay, Franklin county, Me., 
May 1, 184S. He comes of old 
New England stock, his ancestry on 



the paternal side dating back to 1638 
when William Moulton came from 
England and settled in Hampton, 
New Hampshire. Among his later 
antecedents was Capt. Daniel Moul- 
ton who removed to Scarboro about 
the middle of the eighteenth century, 
and who took an active part during 
the war of the Revolution. Augustus 
Freedom Moulton was the son of 
Freedom and Shuah Coffin (Carter) 

Moulton. 
H i s father 
was a prom- 
nent citizen 
of Scarboro 
and at the 
time of his 
death in 
1857, was 
town clerk, 
of his 
e n t s 
teach- 
Their 
attend- 
ed the pub- 
lic schools 
and further 
pursued his 
education at 
G o r h a m 
Semi nary. 
He after- 
wards a t- 
tended the 
Saco High 
School and 
continued at 
Westbrook 
Semin ary, 
from which 
he graduat- 
ed in 1869. 
The same year he entered Bowdoin 
College from which he graduated in 
1873. While in college he was a 
member of the Delta Kappa Epsilon 
and Phi Beta Kappa societies. He 
took the St. Croix prize for excellence 
in extemporaneous speaking and 
graduated at the head of his class. 
After serving one year as tutor at 
Bowdoin College, the year following 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 



his graduation, he entered the law 
office of Hon. William L. Putnam, in 
Portland. Two years later in 1876 
he was admitted to the Cumberland 
Bar and commenced the practice of 
his profession in Portland. His abil- 
ity as a lawyer has built up a lucra- 
tive business in mercantile and cor- 
poration practice. He is a familiar 
figure in important cases before the 
higher 
courts a n d 
the legal 
representa- 
tive in Port- 
landofBrad- 
street'sMer- 
c a n tile 
Agency. 
After resid- 
ing in Scar- 
bo ro for 
many years, 
there serv- 
i n g fifteen 
years on the 
school com- 
mittee and 
represe nt- 
ingthe town 
in the state 
legisla ture 
two terms, 
1878-79, he 
removed t o 
Deering 
where he 
was chosen 
mayor in 
1898. The 
ami e x ation 
of Deering 
to Portland 

in 1899 makes him distinguished in 
history as the last mayor of the pros- 
perous city of Deering which locality 
has since become wards 8 and 9 of 
Greater Portland. Of the former ward 
he was nominated for the new board 
of aldermen, February last, by the Re- 
publican party. He is one of the trus- 
tees of Westbrook Seminary, a member 
of the Fraternity and Cumberland 
clubs, Portland Board of Trade, Maine 



Historical and Maine Genealogical 
societies. He is a past chancellor and 
one of the Trustees of Bramhall Dodge , 
Knights of Pythias, and a prominent 
member and past commander of Port- 
land Commandery, Knights Templar. 

Hon. J. P. Baxter. 



James Phinney Baxter, the donor 
ofPortland's 
magnificent 
public libra- 
ry building 
was born in 
G o r h a 111 , 
Me. 




* 6 . 

His 
the 



HON. J. P. BAXTER. 



March 

1831 . 

father, 
late 
Elihu Bax- 
ter, M. D., 
removed to 
P o r 1 1 a 11 d 
and engaged 
in the prac- 
tice of medi- 
cine, the 
subject of 
this sketch 
entering the 
p u b 1 i c 
schools here 
ini84oatthe 
age of nine 
years. He 
subsequent - 
1 y took a 
course of in- 
struction at 
the Dynn 
(Mass.) 
Academy , 
and continuing 
Portland Acad- 
his education 



afterwards returning 
his studies at the old 
emy supplementing 
with a thorough course in ancient and 
modern languages. Following the 
completion of his educational pur- 
suits, for several years he was engaged 
in study and literary pursuits, for 
which he developed inclinations early 
in his boyhood. In 1859 he engaged in 
mercantile pursuits, establishing with 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 



113 




CITY RESIDENCE OF HON. J. P. BAXTER. 



a friend an agency for American and 
foreign manufactures. This, his first 
enterprise, was most successful. 
After the breaking out of the Civil 
War, Mr. Baxter, with his partner, 
Hon. Wm. G. Davis, established the 
Portland Packing Company, his busi- 
ness foresight anticipating the demand 
for hermetically sealed provisions for 
the army and navy, being responsible 
for the forming of this now large cor- 
poration, the name of which is famous 



throughout the world. His capacity 
for handling extensive business inter- 
ests has been demonstrated by the 
successful outcome of the succeeding 
enterprises with which he has become 
connected. Gifted with marked 
judgment and skill in finance, his 
services have been availed of and 
appreciated by some of the leading 
financial institutions of this city. He 
is president of the Merchants' Na- 
tional Bank, one of the trustees of the 




SUMMER RESIDENCE OF HON. J. P. BAXTER, MACKWORTH ISLAND. 



ii4 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 



Portland Savings Bank, and vice- 
president of the Portland Trust Com- 
pany, of which he was one of the 
original directors. He became mayor 
of Portland in 1893, serving four 
years. During his administration, 
marked public improvements were 
inaugurated : notably the extension 
of the park system, adding so mate- 
rially to the beauty of the city, and 
theeom- 
m e n ce- 
ment of 
the con- 
stru c- 
tion o f 
Tukey's 
bridge. 
While 
m a y or, 
his in- 
terest in 
educa- 
tional 
m a tters 
was sig- 
n i f i - 
c a n 1 1 y 
shown, 
and dur- 
ing his 
first 
term, he 
donat- 
ed his 
o ffi c i al 
salary, 
$2, 000, 
to the 
s c h o ol 
board to 
e s t a b- 
lish the 
pr e s eut 
manual 

training school for boys, and later sup- 
portedone of the kindergarten schools. 
His interest in the city of Portland has 
been manifested more emphatically 
in other ways, where his public spirit 
and generosity have been shown. 
His gift to the city of the handsome 
and costly Public Library building, 
will ever stand as a svmbol of his 




BAXTER MEMORIAL BUILDING. 



princely benevolence. Always active 
and a leader in charitable work, he 
has served as president of the Port- 
land Provident Association, and is 
now a director in the Maine Industrial 
School, and president of the Port- 
land Benevolent Society. Through 
his efforts, the Portland Associated 
Charities was founded, an outgrowth 
of his interest in the Home for Little 

Wand- 
erers . 
Lit era- 
ture is 
his fav- 

r i t e 
study 
and rec- 
reation , 
and for 
m a n y 
years he 
hasbeen 
a con- 
s t a n t 
contri b- 
utor to 
leadi ng 
maga- 
zine s . 
The 
pub 1 i- 
ca tions 
from his 
pen date 
back to 
1882. In 
1885 -6, 
d u r i ng 
w h i c h 
time he 
made 
a pro- 

1 o n ged 
visit to 

Europe, in researches in public and 
private archives, resulting in the col- 
lection of a large number of rare 
manuscripts, many of which have 
been published, and all of which have 
been imparted to his fellow men, 
either before historical societies, or 
in printed form. He has written a 
number of poems of great merit and 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 



115 



is a valued member of several histor- 
ical, genealogical and literary socie- 
ties : lie is president of the Portland 
Public Library, the Maine Historical 
Society, a vice-president of the New 
England Historic Genealogical So- 
ciety of Boston, one of the officers of 
the American Antiquarian Society of 
Worcester, Mass., a member of the 
Old Colon}- Historical Society, of 
Taunton, the Rhode Island Histori- 
cal Society, The American Historical 
Society, of Washington, The Port- 
land Society of Natural History, and 
many others. His life has been emi- 
nently successful, useful and honor- 
able and while his political career 
has been extensive, though he has 
never sought office, his liberal views 
and breadth of mind and depth of 
character have ever been apparent. 
He has been twice married, namely : 
to Sarah K. Lewis, 1854, and to 
Mehetable C. Proctor, 1S73. His 
children, in the order of their birth, 
are as follows: Florence L., Hartley 
C, Clinton L., Eugene R., Mabel, 
James P., Junior, Alba, Rupert H., 
Emily P., Percival P., and Made- 
leine C. Baxter. Mr. Baxter's city 
residence, shown in the accompany- 
ing engraving, is one of Portland's 
most comfortable and hospitable 
homes, and is located on Deering 
street, in a fashionable residence 
quarter. On Mackworth Island, one 
of the most charming spots in Casco 
Bay, which he owns entire, he also 
possesses a magnificent summer resi- 
dence. In 1896, he showed his eye 
for improving business property by 
the erection of the Baxter Memorial 
building, the largest and finest block 
for store and office purposes in the 
city, an illustration of which is also 
presented, in addition to that of his 
familiar face. 



Hon. William Widgery Thomas, Jr. 

Among Portland's noted men, W. 
W. Thomas, Jr., is one of the fore- 
most. On December 17, 1897, he was 
appointed by President McKinley 



envoy - extraordinary and minister- 
plenipotentiary to Sweden and Nor- 
way, his third appointment to that 
important foreign post, being con- 
firmed by the United States Senate 
the following day. Inasmuch as no 
minister of any of the powers had 
ever before represented his country 
thrice at Stockholm, on the occasion 
of his presentation of his third letter 
of credence, at the palace of King 
Oscar, he was tendered a most cordial 
and honorable reception. This well- 
known diplomat is a native of Port- 
land and a direct descendant of 
George Cleeve, the first white settler 
and governor of the Province of 
Ligonia. Born August 26, 1839, son 
of William Widgery and Elizabeth 
White (Goddard) Thomas, he re- 
ceived his early education in the 
public schools of this city, and in 
1856 entered Bowdoin College, from 
which he graduated with highest 
honors in i860. While at college, 
and at eighteen years of age, he 
taught a winter district school in a 
little red schoolhouse on Cape Eliza- 
beth. After graduating from Bow- 
doin, he commenced the study of law, 
but in the spring of 1862 was ap- 
pointed a government bearer of dis- 
patches, and carried a treaty to 
Turkey. He soon after became vice- 
consul general at Constantinople, and 
later acting consul at Galatz, Molda- 
via. On February 18, 1863, he was 
appointed by President Lincoln, one 
of the thirty " war consuls " of the 
United States and sent to Gothen- 
burg, Sweden, which post he filled 
until November 30, 1865, when he 
resigned and returned to Portland. 
For his sendees as consul he received 
from Secretary William H. Seward, 
"the special thanks of the depart- 
ment of state." Mr. Thomas was 
admitted to the Cumberland bar in 
1866, and his natural ability as an 
advocate soon gained him distinction. 
His first three year's residence in 
Sweden had already won him the 
regard of its people ; and, having be- 
come familiar with their manners 



n6 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 



and customs and acquiring the Swe- 
dish language, he earnestly and effec- 
tively advocated Swedish immigration 
to his native state. In 1870, the 
Maine legislature authorized his plan 
for this purpose to be executed, and 
he was appointed commissioner of 
immigration. Immediately visiting 
Sweden, he recruited a colony of 
fifty-one Swedes, returned with them 
over the 
o c e a 11 , 
sailed with 
them up the 
St. John 
river in flat- 
boats, and, 
on July 23, 
1870, found- 
ed the pros- 
perous set- 
tlement of 
' ' New Swe- 
den " in our 
p r i m £e v a 1 
forests. For 
nearly four 
years he re- 
mained with 
his protege' 
pioneers un- 
til the suc- 
cess of the 
new colony 
was as- 
sured. In 
1873, he was 
elected to 
the s t ate 
1 e g i slature 
from Port- 
land and re- 
elected the 
two follow- 
ing years, both of the latter terms being 
speaker of the house. In 1875, he 
was president of the Maine State Re- 
publican convention. In 1879, he 
was elected to the Senate, and in 
1880, was a delegate to the memora- 
ble Republican National Convention 
at Chicago, that nominated Garfield. 
He was first appointed minister resi- 
dent to Sweden and Norway in June, 



1883, by President Arthur, and re- 
sided at Stockholm as such until 
after the close of Arthur's adminis- 
tration. Mr. Thomas has passed 
into history as the first minister to 
Sweden to address the king in Swe- 
dish language, the first to hoist the 
American flag at Stockholm, and the 
first to effectively assist in the estab- 
lishment of a direct steamship line 

between 
this country 
and Swe- 
den. In 
1887, Mr. 
T h o m a s 
again visi- 
ted Sweden 
and married 
Miss Dag- 
mar Torne- 
b 1 ad h, a 
Swedish 
lady of no- 
ble birth. 
In March, 
1 889, he was 
again ap- 
p o i 11 t.e d 
minister to 
Sweden and 
Norway, 
this time by 
President 
Harrison, 
and w e 1- 
comed back 
to the 
Northland 
with distin- 
guished 
honors. 
During his 
second term 
he assisted in the appointment of a 
Swedish jurist as chief justice of 
Samoa, under the treaty of Berlin ; 
and was also instrumental in the ap- 
pointment of a Norwegian statesman 
as a member of the Paris Tribunal of 
Arbitration, on the fur seal-fishery 
question of Behring Sea, between the 
United States and Great Britain. 
His successful efforts in behalf of the 




HON. W. W. THOMAS, JR. 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 



117 



reduction of duties on American 
products, notably grain and pork, the 
abatement of duty on which was fifty 
percent., have been of great impor- 
tance to American commerce. In 
consequence of Mr. Thomas' sugges- 
tion to the department of state, he 
commenced in 1890 the negotiations 
which resulted in the full and satis- 
factory extradition treaties of 1893, 
between the United States and Swe- 
den and Norway. On Sunday after- 
noon, September 14, 1890, it fell to 
Minister Thomas to take part in an 
historical international event. On 
the deck of the United States ship-of- 
war " Baltimore," lying in the har- 
bor of Stockholm, the honored remains 
of John Ericsson, the inventor of the 
Monitor, were delivered by Mr. 
Thomas, representing America, in an 
eloquent address, to the king and 
people of Sweden. The crew of the 
Baltimore stood with uncovered 
heads, the flag of the king was low- 
ered to half mast on the palace, both 
sides of the harbor were crowded with 
a multitude of people greater than 
Stockholm had ever seen before, and 
minute guns were fired from both 
ship and shore. Upon being recalled 
in 1894 by President Cleveland, King 
Oscar, at his farewell audience, pre- 
sented Minister Thomas with a mag- 
nificent life-size oil portrait personally 
inscribed to him. Mr. Thomas also 
possesses a portrait of the Emperor 
of Germany, presented in 1893 by the 
emperor, to use his own words, 
"as a token of personal sympathy 
and a souvenir of the personal meet- 
ing with you on the Hunneberg 
hunt." The painting is inscribed by 
the emperor's hand, " Wilhelm, Im- 
perator, Rex." Upon Mr. Thomas' 
return again to his native land, he 
delivered lectures on Sweden and 
the Swedes in more than fifty cities 
and towns, and throughout sixteen 
different states. His eloquence as a 
public speaker, both on the stump 
and lecture platform, and his talent 
as a writer are widely known. His 
great historical work, " Sweden and 



the Swedes," has been printed in 
both America and Sweden, and in 
both the English and Swedish lan- 
guages. The book has met with a 
flattering reception and large sale 
on both sides the Atlantic, and is 
characterized by the Swedish Official 
Gazette as the " most correct and at 
at the same time the most genial de- 
scription of Sweden and its people 
ever published in any language." It 
has been truthfully said that no other 
American has ever acquired a more 
intimate knowlege of Sweden and its 
people, or accomplished more in their 
interest, with tongue and pen, than 
he. His active canvass and effective 
work, throughout the West and North- 
west, in the campaign of 1896, during 
which time he spoke in both Swedish 
and English, was of great service to 
the Republican party, with which he 
has ever been affiliated. Minis- 
ter Thomas and his Swedish wife now 
occupy one of the most elegant resi- 
dences at Stockholm, fronting the 
North Stream, and directly opposite 
the Royal Palace. A tall flag-staff, 
from which floats the American flag, 
rises above the roof of this residence, 
while within its walls is displayed a 
genuine American hospitality. Here 
Washington's birthday of this year 
(1899) was celebrated by a grand 
ball, one of the most brilliant events 
of the season, opened by the Crown 
Prince and Mrs. Thomas. As a law- 
yer, legislator, founder of a colony, 
orator and author, Mr. Thomas' 
name will be long remembered in this 
country and Sweden. He is a mem- 
ber of the Maine Historical Societv, 
Swedish Geographical Society, His 
Majesty King Oscar's Shooting Club, 
Royal Swedish Yacht Club, the Idun, 
a Swedish literary club, the Fratern- 
ity Club, of Portland, and one of the 
founders of the Portland Yacht Club. 



The Late Neal Dow. 



Neal Dow, son of Josiah and 
Dorcas (Allen) Dow, was born in 
Portland, March 20, 1804, and died 



n8 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 



in the city of his birth, October 2, 
1897. The story of his life has often 
been told, and needs no repetition 
here. It is an important part of the 
history of the nineteenth century. 
Naturally careful and methodical, 
quick to forecast the signs of the 
times, his devotion to commercial or 
professional pursuits would have 
assured for him success in a race for 
wealth or 
position ; 
but he had 
a higher 
mission. 
Early in life 
he saw and 
compre- 
hended the 
evils of in- 
temperance, 
and thence- 
forth his 
time and his 
talents were 
devoted to 
untiring 
work in the 
cause of hu- 
manity . 
With voice 
and pen, by 
precept and 
example, he 
fought the 
good fight 
down to the 
last hour of 
a long and 
busy life. 
His pride in 
the town of 
his nativity 

was with him almost a passion, and 
no man did more to make Portland a 
city known in every corner of the 
civilized world. He was a constant 
and discriminating reader. He was 
an orator of convincing eloquence, 
and a writer of attractive force. His 
statesmanship rested far below the 
surface, upon the solid foundation of 
eternal truth. His philanthropy 
knew no bounds, and will be fruitful 




THE LATE GEN. NEAL DOW. 



of good through all ages to come. 
As a patriot, he offered himself upon 
the altar of his country and suffered 
with others in the cause of liberty. 
His was an example of a sound mind 
in a sound body. He was consistent 
in his daily walk and conversation, 
conforming his life to the precepts of 
purity and temperance, which he 
taught. He was no idle dreamer or 

visionary 
seeker 
among the 
stars for the 
impossible, 
and al- 
though cast 
in an an- 
tique mold, 
he was a 
worthy rep- 
resentative 
of virile 
American- 
ism. He 
was a natur- 
al leader of 
men, but so 
clearly did 
he see his 
way, so un- 
selfish was 
his fealty to 
duty, and so 
courage o us 
was he in 
confronting 
opposition 
that he 
could not 
tolerate 
cowardice 
or hesitation 
in others. His rallying cry was al- 
ways, "Come," and the man who 
kept even step with him, found him- 
self where the fighting was most 
stubborn. With him right was right; 
there was no compromise. He 
struck, as he received, hard blows, 
but always without personal ill-will, 
and that antagonist must needs be 
wrapped in proof who did not in the 
end feel the prick of Neal Dow's 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 



119 



truth-tempered lanee through the 
vulnerable joints of his armor. That 
Neal Dow was honored abroad and 
in distant states, is not a matter for 
wonder ; that he was doubly honored 
at home, proves conclusively the 
manner of man he was. 



Col. F. N. Dow. 

One who has long been prominent 
in the affairs 
of Portland, 
is Colonel 
Frederick 
Neal Dow, 
son of Gen- 
eral Neal 
Dow. He 
is a man of 
marked ex- 
e c u t i v e 
ability and 
an untiring 
worker, and 
in all mat- 
t e r s in 
which he 
has taken 
an interest, 
has been 
promi nent 
and influen- 
tial. He 
has long 
been inter- 
est e d in 
political af- 
fairs. Al- 
mo s t as 
soon as he 
arrived at 




mans es- 
tate, he was 

made a member of the city govern- 
ment and of the school committee, 
and has ever since been a prominent 
factor in city and state politics. He 
was for years a member of the Re- 
publican State Committee, succeed- 
ing to the chairmanship upon the 
retirement of James G. Blaine, in 
which position he was acknowledged 
by both friends and opponents to 



COL. F. N. DOW. 



be one of the ablest political organ- 
izers the state has ever produced. 
He has been a member and the chair- 
man of the executive council of the 
state, serving in that capacity under 
Governors Perham and Dingley. As 
a member of the legislature, he served 
one term upon the judiciary commit- 
tee and one term as speaker for which 
position he was unanimously nomi- 
nated. He has also served twice as 

collector of 
the port of 
Portland, 
having been 
appointed to 
that posi- 
tion first by 
President 
Arthur, and 
second by 
President 
Harri son, 
his appoint- 
ment this 
time being 
i n s t a n t ly 
co n fi r m e d 
by the sen- 
ate, contra- 
ry to usual 
custom, 
without ref- 
erence to a 
com mi ttee. 
He has been 
repeatedly 
and influ- 
entially 
urged to be- 
come a can- 
didate for 
mayor of 
Portland 
and for governor of Maine, but has 
never been willing to permit the use 
of his name, when it would interfere 
with the aspirations any friend of his 
might cherish for either place. Col- 
onel Dow is a man of extensive pri- 
vate business interests, and beside, is 
connected with the management of 
many corporations. He is president 
of the Evening Express Publishing 



120 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 



Co., and of the Portland Building and 
Loan Asso. He is a director of the 
Portland Gas Light Co., of the Union 
Safety Deposit & Trust Co., of the 
Caseo National Bank, of the Mercan- 
tile Trust Co., of the Commercial Un- 
ion Telegraph Co., of the Casco Bay 
Steamboat Company, and was a 
director of the Portland & Ogdens- 
burg railroad. He is also president 
of the board of trustees of the Maine 
Eye and 
Ear In- 
firmary. 




^ Hon. 
F r e d e rick 
Robie. 

Frederick 
Robie was 
born in 
Gorham, 
Maine, 
August 12, 
1822. He 
attended 
the public 
schools of 
his native 
town, and 
took the 
college 
prepara- 
tory course 
at Gorham 
Ac a demy. 
E n tering 
B o wd o in 
college in 
1837, he 
wasgradu- 
a t e d in 
1 84 1. Dur- 
ing the year of his graduation, he 
held the principalship of academies 
in Georgia and Florida. His success 
as a teacher was all that could be 
desired, but he decided to study 
medicine, and entered Jefferson Med- 
ical College in Philadelphia, receiv- 
ing the degree of M. D. from that 
institution in 1844. In April, 1S44, 
he opened an office in Biddeford, 



HON. FREDERICK ROBIE. 



Maine, remaining there until May, 
1855, when he removed to Waldo- 
boro, where for three years he had a 
lucrative practice. He then decided 
to settle in his native town. In 1861, 
he w r as a member of Governor Wash- 
burn's executive council, and at the 
breaking out of the Rebellion was 
appointed by President Lincoln ad- 
ditional paymaster of United States 
volunteers. He at once resigned his 

position on 
the gov- 
e r n o r ' s 
co uncil, 
and e n- 
tered upon 
the dis- 
charge of 
h is n e \\ r 
duties. In 
1863, he 
was sta- 
tioned at 
Boston as 
chief pay- 
master of 
the De- 
pa r t m ent 
of New 
England' 
and early 
in 1864 
was trans- 
f erre d to 
the D e - 
partm ent 
oftheGulf. 
At the 
close of the 
war, Pay- 
in a s t e r 
Robie was 
ordered to 
Maine to superintend the final pay- 
ment of soldiers from this state. His 
sen-ices earned for him the brevet 
rank of lieutenant colonel. In 1866 
and 1867, he was a member of the 
Maine senate ; in 1866, he was 
appointed special agent of the treas- 
ury department, and from 1868 to 
1873, was a member of the Republi- 
can State Committee. Ten times he 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 



represented his town in the lower 
branch of the state legislature, being 
speaker of that body in 1872 and 
1876. He has been a member of the 
executive councils of three governors, 
Washburn, Davis and Plaisted. In 
1878, he was one of the commission- 
ers to the Paris Exposition, and dur- 
ing that year traveled extensively in 
Europe. In 1882, he was elected 
worthy master of the state grange 
and was re- 
elected for 
eight s u c- 
c e s s i v e 
vears. I n 
'1882, he 
was elected 
governor of 
Maine, and 
again elect- 
ed by an 
increased 
majority in 
1884. In 
1899, the 
Depart ment 
of Maine, 
Grand Ar- 
my of the 
Re public, 
chose Gov- 
ernor Robie 
as their de- 
partment 
commander. 
He is presi- 
dent of the 
First N a- 
tional bank 
of Portland, 
and is a di- 
rector and 
member of 

the finance committee of the Union 
Mutual L,ife Insurance Company, 
and director in many substantial 
business corporations. He was mar- 
ried Nov. 27, 1847, to Olivia M. Priest, 
of Biddeford, who died in 1898. 




HON. FRED E. RICHARDS. 



other man in Maine holds more im- 
portant financial positions than Hon. 
Fred E. Richards, and his name invol- 
untarily brings up visions of enter- 
prises and transactions broad and 
complete in their scope. For years he 
has been an active participant in the 
expansive business life of Portland, but 
before his removal to this city, and the 
establishment of the banking firm of 
F. E. Richards & Co., he had a suc- 
cessful busi- 
ness and 
political 
career. He 
had been in 
the shipping 
b u s in e ss, 
member of 
the legisla- 
ture from 
the town of 
Camden, 
member of 
the councils 
of Governor 
Dingle} - and 
Governor 
Connor, 
state land 
agent, trus- 
tee of the 
Maine In- 
sane Asy- 
lum, and 
twice state 
bank exam- 
iner, by the 
appoint- 
m ents of 
both Gov- 
ernors Davis 
and Robie. 
Soon after 
he was chosen 
Maine Central 



Hon. Fred E. Richards. 



It is without doubt true that no 



coming to Portland, 
fiscal agent of the 
Railroad, in which position he made 
a noteworthy record. In 1890, he 
was appointed fiscal agent of the 
Portland & Rumford Falls Railway, 
conducting the financial affairs of 
that road up to the time of his retir- 
ing from the banking business three 
years later. Mr. Richards was 



122 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 




HON. GEORGE P. WESCOTT. 




RESIDENCE OF HON. GEORGE P. WESCOTT. 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 



123 



instrumental in establishing the Port- 
land National Bank in 1SS9, and was 
elected its president, which office he 
now holds. On Nov. 1, 1893, he was 
called to the management and presi- 
dency of the Union Mutual Life 
Insurance Company, of Portland, an 
institution in which the people of 
Portland and of Maine take partic- 
ular pride. In 1894, on the formation 
of the Un- 
ion Safe 
Deposit & 
Trust 
Company , 
he was en- 
trusted 
with the 
presidency 
of that in- 
stitution. 
In a d di- 
tion to the 
com mand- 
ing posi- 
tions held 
by Mr. 
Ric hards 
in the 
above in- 
stitution s , 
he is con- 
n e c t e d 
with the 
manage- 
ment of the 
Rockland , 
Th o m a s - 
ton & Cam- 
den Street 
Railway, 
and with 
the Knox 
Gas & 

Electric Company, of Rockland. He 
is a director of the Portland & Rum- 
ford Falls Railway, the Limerick 
National Bank, of Limerick, Rock- 
land Trust Company, of Rockland, 
Camden and Rockland Water Com- 
pany, Rockland Building Syndicate, 
York Heat & Light Company, of 
Biddeford, Rumford Falls Water & 
Light Company, Bar Harbor Electric 



Light Company, and the Athol 
Water Company, of Athol, Mass. 
Whatever may have been the finan- 
cial institution with which he has 
been connected, his keen business 
instinct and foresight have secured 
for him a high position in the coun- 
cils of the management, and his 
name is regarded as a synonym of 
strict business integrity and sound 

financial 
methods. 




HON. CHAS. SUMNER COOK. 



Hon. Chas. 

Sumner 

Cook. 

This well 
known cit- 
izen was 
born in 
Portland, 
Maine, 
Novem ber 
18, 1858. 
His father, 
the late 
Ob adiah 
G. Cook, 
was then 
clerk of 
courts for 
Cumber- 
land coun- 
ty, to 
which 
office he 
had been 
elected in 
the fall of 
1854, and 
re-elected 
in 1857. 
His moth- 
er was Christiana S. (Perry) Cook, 
the youngest sister of the late Hon. 
John J. Perry. Mr. Cook was fitted 
for college in the common schools of 
Harrison, to which town his father 
had removed in 1861, and in the 
Nichols Latin School, of Lewiston, 
and graduated from Bates College, 
with honors, in 1881. He became 
principal of the Waldoboro, Maine, 



124 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 



High School in the spring of 1882, 
and taught there one year. He after- 
wards commenced the study of law in 
his father's office in Harrison, and in 
the fall of 1884, entered the law office 
of Symonds & Libby at Portland, 
and there continued his legal studies, 
being admitted to the Cumberland 
Bar in October, 1886. Since that 
time he has been in the active prac- 
tice of his profession in Portland. In 
1 89 1, he formed a business associa- 
tion with Hon. Joseph W. Symonds, 
which contin- 
ued until the 
formation, with 
David W. 
Snow, Esq., in 
April, 1892, of 
the firm of 
Symonds, 
Snow & Cook. 
This firm has 
always enjoyed 
a large busi- 
ness, and has 
a wide reputa- 
tion as one of 
the leading 
law firms of 
the state. Mr. 
Cook has been 
more than or- 
dinarily suc- 
cessful as a 
lawyer, and 
from his asso- 
ciations and 
ability has had 
the handling 
of larger and 

more important cases than usually 
fall to the lot of young men of his 
profession. In politics Mr. Cook has 
always been a Republican and an 
active and influential member of the 
party. He was president of the 
Young Men's Republican Club in 
1 89 1, and was chairman of the Cum- 
berland County Republican Conven- 
tion in 1892. At the opening of the 
last session of the legislature, he was 
elected member of the governor's 
council from the second councillor 



district. Mr. Cook is a member of 
Ancient Landmark Lodge, F. &. A. 
M.; the Cumberland Club, and the 
Portland Athletic Club ; and is presi- 
dent of Prince's Express Company. 
He was married October 23, 1889, to 
Miss Annie Jefferds Reed, daughter 
of Hon. Isaac Reed, late of Waldo- 
boro, Maine. He has two children : 
Lydia Macdonald, born January 26, 
1892, and Robinson Cook, born 
January 30, 1895. 




Hon, Percival 
Bonney. 



HON. PERCIVAL BONNEY. 



Judge Per- 
cival Bonney 
was born in 
Minot, Maine, 
Sept. 24, 1842. 
After attend- 
ing the public 
schools in his 
native town, 
he fitted for 
college at He- 
bron Academy 
and the Maine 
S t a te Semi- 
nary in Lewis- 
ton, and en- 
tered Water- 
ville College 
(now Colby) 
in 1859, grad- 
uating in 1863. 
During his col- 
lege course he 
taught school 
in the town of 
Turner, and in Bucksport after grad- 
uation. While teaching school in 
the town of Bucksport, he received an 
appointment as clerk in the United 
States treasury department in Wash- 
ington, where he remained from 
November, 1863, to May, 1865, when 
he returned to Maine and became a 
student in the law office of Hon. Jo- 
siah H. Drummond, in Portland. In 
August, 1866, he was admitted to the 
bar and at once began practice in 
Bath. In November, 1866, he 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 



125 



removed to Portland, where he 
opened an office, and, in April, 1867, 
formed a partnership with Daniel G. 
Harriman, which continued until Sep- 
tember, 186S. In December, 1869, a 
partnership with Stanley T. Pullen 
was formed. This continued until 
March, 1872, after which time Mr. 
Bonney continued in practice alone, 
until Oct. 7, 1878, when Governor 
Connor appointed him to a position 
on the bench 
of the supe- 
rior court, 
to succeed 
Judge Jos- 
eph W. Sy- 
monds. In 
this posi- 
tion, which 
he still 
holds, his 
quick per- 
ceptive fac- 
ulties and 
his highly 
developed 
sense of 
right and 
justice have 
gained for 
him the re- 
spect, not 
only of 
members of 
th e legal 
profession, 
but of all 
with whom 
he has come 
in contact. 
He is a di- 
rector of the 
Union Mu- 
tual Life Insurance Company, the 
Westbrook Trust Company, and the 
Union Safe Deposit and Trust Com- 
pany. He has been a member of the 
board of trustees of Colby since 1876, 
was secretary of the board from 1878 
to 1893, and since 1881, has been 
treasurer of the institution. Since 
1877 he has been a trustee of Hebron 
academy, and president since 1880. 



In the management and development 
of that institution of learning, he has 
been, and is, a leading spirit. He 
was a president of the Maine Baptist 
Missionary Convention from 1892 to 
1894. In politics Judge Bonney has 
always been a Republican. In 1869, 
he was elected representative to the 
legislature from Portland, and was 
reelected in 1870. He is a member 
of the Fraternity Club, the Maine 

Historical 
Society, and 
of the Phi 
Beta Kappa 
of Colby. 
Judge Bon- 
ney was 
married 
August 5, 
1 8 64, to 
Eli zabeth 
H. Bray, of 
Turner, 
Maine. 




Hon. John 

Howard 

Hill. 



HON. JOHN HOWARD HILL. 



The judge 
of the muni- 
cipal court 
of Portland, 
John How- 
ard Hill, 
was born in 
Liming ton, 
York Coun- 
ty, Me., No- 
v e m b e r 
25, 1864. 
When he 
was six 
months old, his parents removed to 
this city, remaining in Portland until 
1876, when they returned to Litning- 
ton. On the home place in the vil- 
lage, the subject of this sketch, 
therefore, spent a large part of his 
boyhood, and amid healthy surround- 
ings developed a strong constitution 
and good morals. He obtained his 
early education in the public schools 



126 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 



of Portland, afterwards attending 
and fitting for college at Limington 
Academy. He entered Dartmouth 
College in 1883, graduating with 
honors, in the class of '87. He was 
given a class part by his class, deliv- 
ering the "Address to the President." 
His first year out of college he devot- 
ed to teaching, serving as principal 
of the Ivimerick High School. Decid- 
ing to enter the legal profession, he 
commenced to read law in the office 
of Hon. Henry 
B. Cleaves, and 
two years later, 
at the April 
term of court, 
1890, he was 
admitted to the 
bar. He imme- 
diate 1 y co ni- 
menced the 
practice of his 
profession, soon 
building up a 
reputation and a 
lucrative client- 
age, and has 
ever since been 
located in this 
city. In 1894, 
he was a Repub- 
lican candidate 
for the Maine 
House of Rep- 
re sent atives, 
and was elected. 
Upon taking his 
seat, he became 
an active mem- 
ber, looking 

well after the interests of this city, 
and serving on the important com- 
mittee of legal affairs, and was also 
chairman of the library committee. 
His creditable work at his first ses- 
sion was followed by his re-election in 
1896, when he was made chairman 
of the committee on legal affairs. 
Upon the announcement of the retire- 
ment of Judge Robinson, the fitness 
of Mr. Hill as his successor for judge 
of the municipal court, was so 
generally conceded, that he was 




appointed to the office by Governor 
Powers, March 2, 1899, confirmed by 
the governor's council at the expira- 
tion of seven days, as provided by 
law, and took his seat March 10. 
His equitable decisions as judge of 
the municipal court, have won 
him the confidence of the members of 
the bar, with whom he was always 
popular. That he fills this important 
office not only with dignity and 
grace, but with the commendable 
spirit of fairness 
which charac- 
terized his pre- 
decessor, are 
facts admitted 
by all. Judge 
Hill is a promi- 
nent member of 
the I. O. O. F. 
and Knights of 
Pythias, a mem- 
ber of the Port- 
land Club and 
the Portland 
Golf Club. He 
w a s married 
June 14, 1894, 
to Miss Grace 
Julia Nash, and 
has one child, 
John W. Hill, 
born November 
2, 1895. 



Colonel 
H. S. Osgood. 



COLONEL H. S. OSGOOD 



This well 
known resident 
of Portland, and manager of the 
American Express Company in this 
city, was born in North Yarmouth, 
Me., Nov. 17, 1834. His ancestors 
were among the early settlers of 
Massachusetts and came from Eng- 
land. He was educated in the acad- 
emies of North Yarmouth, Bethel 
and Bridgton, Me., graduating from 
the Bridgton Academy in 1856. After 
obtaining a liberal education, he 
taught in the public schools, until 
1857, when he first commenced his 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 



127 



successful career in the express busi- 
ness. After having conducted busi- 
ness for several years with a partner 
in Augusta, in 1863 he became 
interested in the Eastern Express 
Company, formed in 1859. Of 
this company he became a large 
owner, and when the business was 
sold to the American Express Com- 
pany, Mr. Osgood remained as resi- 
dent manager, which office he has 
ever since held. He is president 
and one of the 
founders of the 
Portland and 
Casco Eoan and 
Building Asso- 
ciation ; a direc- 
tor of the Chap- 
m a 11 National 
Bank; the 
Evening E x- 
press Publish- 
ing Co., and 
several other 
corporations. 
He was also for 
nine years treas- 
urer of the 
Maine State 
Agricultural So- 
ciety. While a 
resident of Au- 
gusta, he served 
in the city gov- 
ernment as a 
member of the 
common council 
and also the 
board of alder- 
men. Under 

President Grant, he served as a 
United States revenue officer. He 
was also a member of the staff of 
Gov. Coburn, with a rank of lieuten- 
ant-colonel. Besides being active in 
all public matters, he is prominent in 
state politics, and a staunch Repub- 
lican. He is a valued member of the 
Portland Board of Trade, and also of 
the Portland Club and the Portland 
Athletic Club. The growth of the 
American Express Company's busi- 
ness of this city, comprising in volume 



not less than ten times the amount of 
any other city in the state, reflects 
credit on the company's resident 
manager. His careful consideration 
of the interests of customers, has won 
him the confidence of the business 
community, and done no little to in- 
crease the business to its present im- 
mense proportions. Col. Osgood is 
popular in both business and social 
circles. He was married Dec. 15, 
1859, to Miss Eliza Frances Sawin, 
of Augusta. 
They have one 
son, Wallace 
Chase Osgood, 
of the Portland 
Evening Ex- 
press. 




Hon. Edward C. 
Reynolds. 



HON. EDWARD C. REYNOLDS 



South Port- 
land's mayor, 
Hon. Edward 
Clayton Rey- 
nolds, was born 
in Brain tree, 
Mass., Nov. 15, 
1856. When he 
was five years 
old, his parents 
removed to Cape 
Elizabeth. He 
received his ed- 
ucation in the 
common and 
high schools of 
Cape Elizabeth, 
and the Port- 
land Business College. In 1874, he 
taught in that business college, and 
again during the school year of 1877- 
78. After studying law two years, 
and being admitted to the bar in Jan- 
uary, 1880, he commenced practice 
in Portland, where he has since re- 
mained. In 1884-86, while holding a 
government position, he took a post- 
graduate course at Georgetown Uni- 
versity Law School, Washington, 
D . C . , from which school he received 
the degree of master of laws. He 



128 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 



was admitted to the United States 
circuit court in 1890. As well as 
winning a high reputation as an 
attorney, Mr. Reynolds has many 
times been honored by election to 
public office. He served on the 
school committee of Cape Elizabeth 
from 1879 to 1882, and again from 
18S8 to 1 89 1. He was elected regis- 
ter of probate for Cumberland County 
in 1888, and 
re-elected in 
1892, serv- 
ing two 
terms of 
four years 
each. In 
1896, he was 
elected to 
r e p r e s ent 
Cumber- 
land County 
in the state 
senate, and 
re-elected in 

1898. Dur- 
ing his last 
term in the 
senate, he 
was chair- 
man of the 
legal affairs 
and military 
affairs com- 
mittees. In 

1899, he was 
shown the 
e s t e em in 
which he is 
held in 
South Port- 
land, where 
he has re- 
sided from boyhood, by being chosen 
the first mayor of that newly incor- 
ported city, being the nominee of all 
parties. He is president of the Maine 
State Relief Association, Portland 
Club, Portland, Me., Past Chancellors 
Association, and Cape Elizabeth 
Soldiers and Sailors Monument Asso- 
ciation, a director in and attorney for 
the Cumberland Loan & Building 
Association, a director in the Union 



Safe Deposit and Trust Co., a member 
of the Maine Genealogical Society, 
the Cumberland and Maine Bar Asso- 
ciations, is a Knight Templar, Mason, 
and a member of the Knights of 
Pythias, in which order he has held 
the highest office in the state. Mr. 
Reynolds is a frequent speaker on 
public occasions, and as such espec- 
ially in demand in Pythian circles. 




James M. 
Thompson. 



JAMES M. THOMPSON 



The treas- 
urer of 
Cumber- 
land Coun- 
ty, James 
Mariner 
Thompson, 
was born in 
Auburn, 
Maine, in 
r842. He 
is descended 
from old 
New Eng- 
land stock, 
his ances- 
tors remov- 
ing to Maine 
from Cape 
Ann before 
the Revolu- 
tion. He 
obtained his 
edu cation 
in the 
com m o n 
and high 
schools. 
At the out- 
break of the civil war, he enlisted in 
Co. I, 1 st Maine Vols., for three 
months, but afterwards, in the fall of 
1 86 1, reenlisted in Co. H., nth 
Maine Vols., for three years, joining 
the Army of the Potomac under Gen- 
eral McLellan. He was with his 
regiment through all its engagements 
during the Peninsular campaign, its 
retreat to Harrison's Landing, and 
its subsequent campaign on Morris 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 



129 



Island, South Carolina, also under 
Butler at Bermuda Hundreds, and 
under Grant before Richmond. He 
served in the different grades from 
private to first lieutenant and was 
severely wounded in one of the en- 
gagements at Bermuda Hundreds. 
After returning to duty, he was de- 
tailed as aid-de-eamp on the staff of 
General H. M. Plaisted, and served 
as such un- 
til his regi- 
ment w a s 
m u s t e r ed 
out in the 
fall of 1864. 
In March, 
1865, he was 
commis- 
sioned cap- 
tain of Co. I, 
12th Maine 
Vols., for 
one year, 
and with his 
c o m m a nd 
joined the 
regiment in 
Savann ah, 
Ga., where 
he served on 
the staff of 
General J. 
M. Bran- 
nan, as act- 
ing assistant 
inspect or 
general of 
the depart- 
ment, and 
assistant 
p r o v o s t 
marshal. 
Upon the 

close of the war, he settled in New 
Gloucester, became active in town af- 
fairs, and for thirteen years held impor- 
tant municipal offices. He was elected 
register of deeds of Cumberland 
County, serving as such from 1891 to 
1895, and was elected and entered 
upon his duties as county treasurer, 
Jan. 1, 1899. He is a member of the G. 
A. R. and the Loyal Legion of Maine. 



Norman True. 




NORMAN TRUE. 



The register of deeds of Cumber- 
land County, Norman True, is a 
native of Pownal, Maine, and was 
born April 24, 1861. He is a son of 
Benjamin True, a well known and 
prominent citizen of this county, who 
was sheriff from 1883 to 1887, and 
therefore well known to the residents 

of Portland. 
Young True 
was reared 
on the fam- 
i 1 y farm, 
wher e he 
gained a 
rugged phy- 
sique. He 
obtained a 
good, prac- 
tical educa- 
tion in the 
c o m m o n 
schools and 
having been 
a great 
reader of in- 
structive 
books, has 
added ma- 
terially to 
his store of 
knowledge. 
Like many 
of the 
youths of 
his native 
t o w n he 
learned a 
trade after 
leaving 
school. His 
trade is that 
of a brush maker, in which he is 
a skilled workman. From 1883 to 
1887, while his father was sheriff of 
this count}', he was turnkey at the 
county jail, which position he filled 
with efficiency. He has been an ac- 
tive worker in politics for some years, 
but it was not until 1897 that he held 
or accepted any office. It was at 
that time he was made a member of 



13° 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 



the board of selectmen of Pownal. 
His ability in managing town affairs 
won him the confidence of his fellow 
townsmen during his two years' ser- 
vice, and in recognition of this, he 
was successfully put forward as the 
most desirable candidate for the pre- 
sent important county office he now 
holds. While a resident of Pownal, 
his official duties have made him on 
two occa- 
sions a resi- 
dent of Port- 
land for four 
years, — his 
election to 
the office of 
register of 
deeds entit- 
les him to 
hold office 
for four 
years, from 
January i, 
1899. He 
is a member 
of Freeport 
Lodge of 
Masons, 
Hadattah 
Lodge I. O. 
O. F. ; Sa- 
m o s e t 
Lod g e of 
Red Men; 
and a past 
master o f 
Longf el low 
Lodge 
Knights of 
Pythias. 
He was 
married in 
1883 to Miss 
Pownal. 




PAYSON TUCKER 



Nettie M. True, of 



Payson Tucker. 

The former vice-president and gen- 
eral manager of the Maine Central 
Railroad, although now a resident of 
Brookline, Mass., has probably done 
more than any other one citizen to- 
ward the development of the city of 



Portland and the State of Maine. 
Payson Tucker is a native of Lowell, 
Mass., and was born Feb. 14, 1840. 
He received his education in the 
public schools of Portland, and the 
New Hampshire Conference Semi- 
nary, Tilton, N. H. He began his 
notable railroad career as clerk in the 
office of the Portland, Saco & Ports- 
mouth Railroad, in 1853. At twenty 

years of age 
he was made 
ticket agent 
and pay- 
master, 
which posi- 
tions he held 
until 1870. 
In 1872, he 
was made 
the general 
agent of the 
Boston & 
Maine a t 
Portland, 
and in 1875, 
he was chos- 
en superin- 
tendent of 
the Maine 
Central, 
which office 
he held un- 
til 1882, 
when he was 
made vice- 
president 
and general 
manager, 
serving as 
such until 
1897. His 
sagacity in 
building up the business of the 
Maine Central to a point where it 
now justly takes rank among the 
leading railroads of the country, has 
made his name famous in railroad 
circles. In 1883-85, Mr. Tucker 
was also general manager of the 
Eastern Railroad, and, in 1889, be- 
came a director in the Maine Central. 
In 1891, when the Maine Central 
assumed its control, he became 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 



I3 1 



general manager of the Portland, Mt. 
Desert & Maehias Steamboat Co.; 
and in 1891-93, he was director in 
the Phillips & Rangeley Railroad. 
He was one of the principal promot- 
ers of the Union Station Co., which 
erected the present handsome union 
station, shown elsewhere in this vol- 
ume. He was also a leading projec- 
tor of the cantilever bridge at St. 
John, the connecting link between 
the railroad systems of the United 
States and Canada. When Mr. 
Tucker assumed charge of the Maine 
Central, it possessed but 350 miles of 
mileage, and its receipts were but 
a million and a half yearly. At 
the time he severed his connec- 
tion with this road, the company 
operated over 800 miles, beside 
over 200 miles of steamboat line. 
While general manager, he main- 
tained to the last moment of his 
holding office, a fearless and com- 
mendable policy in conducting the 
Maine Central Railroad in the inter- 
ests of the State of Maine, rather 
than in the interests of the Boston & 
Maine Railroad. His retirement was 
much regretted by many. His pecu- 
liar ability as a railroad manager was 
made manifest continuously from the 
time he assumed charge to the time 
he severed his connection with the 
Maine Central. The kindly feeling 
which Maine bears toward Payson 
Tucker is reciprocal with him. He 
now occupies with his family a hand- 
some residence in Brookline, Mass. 
He is now interested in railroad and 
other large business transactions, and 
within the past few years fortune has 
smiled benignly upon him. He is 
the treasurer of the Maine & New 
Hampshire Granite Co., employing 
nearly 2,000 men, a majority of whom 
reside in this state. This company 
has at the present writing, nearly 
$1,000,000 of work in hand. He is 
a director of the Casco National 
Bank, president of the Maine Eye 
& Ear Infirmary, and director of the 
Maine Mutual Benefit Association. 
Many of his acts of benevolence and 



demonstrations of public spirit in 
Portland have taken permanent form, 
notably in the shape of the Cleeves 
monument, base of the Longfellow 
monument, and stone in the St. Law- 
rence Congregational church. He 
was married in September, 1862, to 
Miss Hattie L. Brazier, of Portland. 



Hon. Enoch Foster. 



Among Portland's many brilliant 
professional men, Hon. Enoch Fos- 
ter, formerly of Bethel, Maine, takes 
high rank. He w r as born in Newry, 
Oxford County, Maine, in 1839, and 
prepared for college at Gould's Acad- 
emy, Bethel, and at the Maine State 
Seminary at Lewiston, entering Bow- 
doin College in i860. Among his 
classmates were Hon Charles F. 
Libby of Portland, and Rev. Webster 
Woodbury, of Foxboro, Mass. At 
the breaking out of the Rebellion, he 
offered his services, and was made 
second lieutenant of Company H, 
Thirteenth Maine Volunteers. His 
war record is an honorable one, cov- 
ering a period of three years. The 
command to which he belonged was 
assigned to service in the Department 
of the Gulf, under General B. F. 
Butler. He was soon commissioned 
first lieutenant, and afterwards ap- 
pointed provost marshal by General 
Banks. In this position he served 
one and one-half years, resigning to 
take part in the Red River expedi- 
tion. At the close of the war, he 
returned to Bowdoin, where he grad- 
uated. He at once entered the law 
office of his cousin, Hon. Reuben 
Foster, of Waterville, where he de- 
voted himself to the study of law, 
afterward attending and graduating 
from the Albany Law School. In 
1865, he was admitted to the bar in 
Albany, N. Y., and to the Kennebec 
County bar at Augusta, Maine. He 
opened an office in Bethel, and soon 
built up a large and lucrative prac- 
tice, not only in his own county, but 
throughout the state. He has been 
a practitioner before the United 



132 

Stat e s 
courts for 
mam' years. 
He was ap- 
pointed as- 
sociate jus- 
tice of the 
Supreme Ju- 
dicial Court 
of Maine by 
Governor 
R o b i e , on 
March 24, 
1884, and 
reappoi nted 
by Governor 
Burleigh, in 
1891. His 
caree r on 
the bench 
was a bril- 
liant a n d 
notable one, 
and he 
g a i ned an 
enviable 
reputation 
for his legal 
acumen, 
and the 
soun d n e s s 
of his opin- 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 




HON. ENOCH FOSTER. 



ions. In 
1867, he was 
e 1 e c ted 
county at- 
torney of 
Oxford 
Count}', and 
re-elected in 
1870. H e 
was honored 
w i t h an 
election to 
th e state 
senate in 
1874, and 
during his 
term of office 
took an ac- 
t i v e and 
honor able 
part in the 
proceedings 
of that body. 
After retir- 
ing from the 
bench, h e 
resumed the 
practice of 
law in Beth- 
el, continu- 
ing there 
until he 




RESIDENCE OF HON. ENOCH FOSTER. 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 



removed to Portland, where, Feb. 
15, 1899, he became the senior part- 
ner in the firm of Foster & Hersey, 
which has already taken its place 
among the leading law firms of the 
city. The largest private law li- 
brary in the state is owned by this 
firm, and it is made particularly val- 
uable from the fact that most of 
the volumes have copious marginal 
a n n o t a - 
tions made 
by J u d ge 
Foster. Few 
professional 
men have a 
wider circle 

f friends 
and a c- 
quai n tan- 
ces. Judge 
Foster is a 
past com- 
mander o f 
Brown Post, 
G. A. R., of 
Bethel, and 
is a mem- 
ber of the 
Knights 
Temp 1 ar, 
the Odd Fel- 
lows and the 
Loyal Le- 
gion. Short- 

1 y after 
removing to 
Portland, 
he pur- 
chased the 
T. H. Wes- 
ton proper- 
ty, 17 Deer- 

ing street, and is now reckoned 
among the solid citizens of Portland. 
Judge Foster married Miss Sarah 
W. Chapman, and they have one 
son, Robert Chapman Foster, now 
a sophomore in Bowdoin College. 




HON. OSCAR H. HERSEY. 



Oscar Henry Hersey. 

Oscar Henry Hersey, of the Port- 
land law firm of Foster & Hersey, 



was born in Freeport, Maine, April 
9, 1852, his ancestors along both 
lines being of the sturdy New Eng- 
land stock, descending on the father's 
side from William Hersey, who came 
to this country from England in 1630. 
The father of the subject of this 
sketch was the late Rev. Levi Her- 
sey, for fifty years a clergyman 
of the Freewill Baptist denomina- 
tion, who, 
during his 
long and 
useful life, 
had charge 
o f pastor- 
ates at Free- 
port, Harps- 
well, Phips- 
burg, Bath, 
Ri chmond, 
and other 
places. Mr. 
Hersey re- 
ceived his 
school edu- 
cation at 
Bath and 
Richmond 
and at 
Litchfield 
Academy, 
and re- 
moved t o 
Buck field 
in October, 
1 87 1, where 
he after- 
ward resid- 
e d. He 
began 
the study 
of law at 
Buckfield in 1875, with the noted 
railroad attorney, Hon. George 
D. Bisbee, and was admitted to the 
Oxfoid County bar in March, 1877, 
and was later admitted to practice 
before the United States district and 
circuit courts. Upon admission to 
the bar, he immediately began the 
practice of law at Buckfield, where 
he acquired an enviable reputation 
as a counselor in important cases, 



134 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 



and succeeded in building up, on the 
solid foundation of unusual legal 
ability and sound judgment in busi- 
ness matters, one of the largest prac- 
tices of any lawyer in Oxford County. 
He [not only had a large ordinary 
court practice, but his services were 
in constant demand in important 
cases before the higher courts. He 
was elected to the position of county 
attorney of 
Oxford 
County in 
1886, per- 
forming 
the duties 
of that 
office in a 
thoroug li- 
ly compe- 
tent man- 
ner. I n 
1890, he 
was nomi- 
nated by 
acclama- 
tion and 
elected to 
the lower 
branch of 
the state 
1 e g i s 1 a- 
ture, and 
in 1892 he 
represent- 
e d his 
county in 
the senate. 
In both 
bra n c h e s 
he served 
with dis- 
till ct i on 
and to the complete satisfaction of his 
constituents. In February, 1899, 
Mr. Hersey formed a co-partnership 
with Judge Enoch Foster, under the 
firm name of Foster & Hersey, and 
began the practice of law in Port- 
land, where the firm is located in 
convenient and pleasant offices on 
Exchange street. Mr. Hersey is a 
Mason and an Odd Fellow. As a 
lawyer, his ability is unquestioned, 



and as a legal adviser in matters in 
volving large interests, his extended 
experience, with an almost instinc- 
tive faculty for the comprehension of 
intricate details, makes his services 
valuable and in great demand. He 
is a safe, careful, conservative busi- 
ness man, an attorney who always 
looks well after the interests of his 
clients. 




fm. 
Allen, Jr. 



WM. ALLEN, JR. 



One of 
the best 
known cit- 
izens of 
Portland is 
William 
Allen, Jr. 
H e has 
for many 
years been 
engaged in 
the insur- 
ance busi- 
ness, and 
occupied 
his present 
office on 
Excha n ge 
street for 
about a 
quarter of 
a century. 
He was 
born in 
G 1 o u c es- 
ter, Mass., 
but when 
he was an 
infant his 
parents removed to this city. He 
is descended from colonial ancestry, 
dating back to the Revolution. His 
father, William Allen, fought in the 
war of 1 81 2. He was educated in 
the public schools of Portland, and 
attended the high school in the time 
of Master Libby. He first embarked 
in the wholesale fruit business, but 
engaged in the fire insurance business 
later, in which he has made a marked 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 



i35 



success. During the last eighteen 
years he has been special agent for 
some of the largest companies in the 
world. During this time, he has 
traveled over 50,000 miles. He has 
stated that in all these years he has 
never represented a company that he 
has not made money for, while all 
losses have been amicably settled 
with his customers. As chairman 
of the committee composed of the 
Portland 
Board of 
Fire Under- 
writers, the 
adoption of 
the keyless 
fire alarm 
box was 
brought 
a b o u t 
through his 
personal ef- 
fort in 1889, 
a g a i n s t 
strong op- 
position. 
Mr. Allen is 
noted for 
other acts 
which have 
made him 
popular and 
some wh a t 
d i s t i n - 
g u i she d. 
He was the 
first man in 
the State of 
Maine to 
ride a wheel, 
his first ex- 



years been a contributor to the Port- 
land dailies, a most interesting series 
of which was entitled, "When We 
Were Boys." He has always been 
a stanch Republican, and voting 
first for John C. Fremont, has voted 
for every succeeding candidate of 
that party for president. He has 
written somewhat in verse on political 
subjects, his work in that line being 
copied by the papers in the largest 

cities. 




E. E. Holt, 
M. D. 



perie nee 
taking place 

in one of the halls in the city, March 
1, 1869. He is still an enthusiastic 
wheelman. This experience, in 
which he came out victorious, much 
to the amusement and admiration of 
the spectators, he immortalized by 
writing a parody on Hiawatha, which 
was published in the local papers and 
won him a reputation as a writer of 
humorous verse. He has for several 



DR. E. E. HOLT. 



This emi- 
nent physi- 
cian was 
born in Ox- 
ford County 
June 1, 1849. 
He came to 
Portland in 
1874, after 
gradua t ing 
at Bowdoin 
Medical 
School, and 
therefore 
has spent 
half his life 
here in this 
city, where 
his indus- 
trious habits 
and attain- 
ments have 
mad e him 
widely 
k 11 o w n 
throughout 
the state 
and nation. 
He received his ad eundem degree in 
medicine at the College of Physicians 
and Surgeons, Columbia University, 
New York, in 1875. He received 
the honorary degree of A. M. from 
Colby University in 1897. He was 
the first regularly appointed house 
doctor at the Maine General Hospital, 
serving one year in that capacity. 
He served as attending physician to 



136 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 



the old Portland Dispensary two 
years. In 1881, he went to Europe, 
and while there became a member of 
the Seventh International Medical 
Congress held in London, at which 
he had the opportunity of meeting 
and making the acquaintance of a 
large number of the leading medical 
men of the world. In 1885, he took 
steps to found the Maine Eye and 
Ear Infirmary, which was opened for 
the treat- 
ment of pa- 
tients earlv 
in 1886. 
The origin 
and method 
of manage- 
ment of the 
i n s t itution 
early enlist- 
ed the sym- 
pathy, co- 
op e r a t ion 
and finan- 
cial support 
of the best 
people of 
the state, 
and, a 1- 
though cer- 
tain persons 
have from 
the begin- 
ning made 
asp e rsions 
against i t 
and Dr. 
Holt, y e t 
when the 
facts have 
become 
know n, 
these insin- 
uations have but served to increase 
rather than diminish the support of 
the infirmary and its founder. The 
work accomplished in making the 
institution one of the best in the 
world, has been a marvel to all who 
realize its extent and character, and 
has placed Dr. Holt among the fore- 
most benefactors and philanthropists 
of the state. In 1894, Dr. Holt 




ABIEL M. SMITH. 



originated the Maine Academy of 
Medicine and Science, and founded 
the Journal of Medicine and Science, 
for the purpose of making the Acad- 
edy more efficient. The academy 
was largely instrumental in securing 
the present medical registration law, 
the urgent need of which had been 
hopelessly apparent to the medical 
profession for a score of years pre- 
vious to its passage by the legisla- 
ture. Dr. 
Holt is a 
member of 
all the Ma- 
sonic bodies 
and is a 
thi rty -sec- 
ond degree 
Mason. He 
is also a 
member o f 
all the lead- 
ing medical 
societies of 
the country, 
and has 
been a con- 
tributor to 
them and 
the medical 
journals, 
gaining 
thereby a 
reputation 
for skill and 
erudi tion, 
w h i c h 
would place 
him among 
the foremost 
ph ysicians 
in the 
world. 



Abiel M. Smith. 



Although born in Boothbay, Abiel 
Manly Smith, one of the assessors of 
Portland, has been a resident of this 
city since boyhood. He is a son of 
Stevens Smith, who was well known, 
and is remembered as one of the val- 
ued citizens here. His son attended 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 



i37 



the Park Street School, and began his 
education under the tutorage of Mas- 
ter Pickering. He afterwards en- 
tered and graduated from the Port- 
land High School. At that time, 
former Master Lyford had among his 
pupils, Thomas B. Reed, ex-speaker 
of the national house of representa- 
tives, and several other now noted 
men took their diplomas. The sub- 
ject of this sketch entered business 
life as a 
member of 
the firm of 
Lewis & 
Smith, who 
carried on 
for several 
years a large 
and success- 
ful clothing 
busin ess. 
When the 
fishing busi- 
ness was a 
p r o fi t a ble 
one at this 
port, M r. 
Smith be- 
came a 
promi n e n t 
factor in this 
in dustry, 
and before 
he lost all, 
owned the 
finest clip- 
per fishing 
fleet on the 
Atlantic 
coast. He 
was attract- 
ed and in- 
vested h i s 

money in fishing vessels, by his nat- 
ural tastes for the sea, he being at 
one time a prominent yachtsman and 
commodore of the Portland Yacht 
Club. When he became a candidate 
for the board of assessors, his knowl- 
edge of values of vessels and other 
property in this community, and his 
equitable business record were strong 
factors in his subsequent election in 




OREN T. DESPEAUX. 



1897. As a member of this board, he 
has fulfilled the duties of the office 
with that spirit of fairness to all that 
has made him popular, and his ser- 
vices of more than ordinary value to 
the city. In political sympathies, he 
has been affiliated with the Republi- 
can party, casting his first vote for 
John C. Fremont. He is a Knight 
Templar Mason, and is well known 
and esteemed. His family consist of 

a t a lented 
h e 1 p 111 e et 
and one son 
and one 
daughter. 
His wife, 
f ormerly 
Miss Lizzie 
W. Dyer, a 
well known 
music ian, 
since his fi- 
nancial los- 
ses, has 
figured 
prominently 
in musical 
c i r c 1 e s. 
Their chil- 
dren are, 
Walter S., 
and Eliza- 
beth M. 
Smith, the 
former b e- 
ing a well 
known or- 
gan i s t of 
thiscity,and 
the latter an 
attendant of 
Vassar Col- 
lege. Mr. 
Smith is interested in Little Diamond 
Island, the property of which he has 
developed, and where in "Sonnen- 
stral," he possesses a charmingly sit- 
uated summer home. 



Sheriff O. T. Despeaux. 



The sheriff of Cumberland County, 
Oren T. Despeaux, was born in 



133 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 



Acton, Mass., fifty years ago, and 
has resided in Maine since 1879. On 
the paternal side, he is descended from 
the French Huguenots, his ancestors 
settling in Rhode Island. They were 
Baptists and shared their religious 
persecutions with Roger Williams. 
On the maternal side, Sheriff Des- 
peaux comes of the Reed family, who 
came to this country from England, 
and have resided in and about Acton 
for two hundred years. When nine 
years old, young Despeaux attended 
school in Worcester County, Mass., 
where he concluded his education. 
At fifteen he enlisted, November 3, 
1864, and entered service in the War 
of the Rebellion. During the latter 
part of his enlistment, he was as- 
signed to do provost duty. After 
the close of the war, he went to Bos- 
ton and secured employment in a 
large wholesale clothing store. After 
learning the business, his careful 
attention to the interests of his em- 
ployers won him promotion, and he 
was given a territory on the road. 
In the capacity of traveling sales- 
man in the clothing trade, he won a 
reputation of being one of the most 
successful drummers of his time. 
In 1879, he took up his residence 
in Brunswick, Me., and engaged in 
farming and speculating in cattle, 
in which he was also successful in 
marked degree. He was appointed 
deputy sheriff in 1882, and has ever 
since been in the service in Cum- 
berland County, being regularly 
re-appointed by those who have 
held the office of sheriff since that 
time. He was prominently men- 
tioned for sheriff four years ago, 
but retired in favor of his prede- 
cessor and recent opponent. It was, 
therefore, after sixteen years of ser- 
vice as deputy sheriff, that he se- 
cured the nomination for sheriff, 
the Republicans of Brunswick plac- 
ing him in nomination without a dis- 
senting voice. His election was the 
result of the liveliest contest ever 
known in the history of the state. 
His strength as a candidate was 



significantly shown in defeating the 
sheriff ring, which was considered 
practically impenetrable. As the 
sheriff of this county is also jailer, 
Sheriff Despeaux is one in whom 
the public have confidence, and is 
well fitted by experience and abil- 
ity for the important office he now 
holds. He is a member of the 
Masons, Knights of Pythias, Grand 
Army and Ancient Order of For- 
resters. He has served six years 
in the state militia, and was captain 
of the First Maine Battery, which 
company before disbanding won 
laurels for good discipline and high 
standing. 



Hon. Chas. F. Libby. 



Among the foremost citizens of 
Portland, is Hon. Charles F. Libby, 
of the law firm of Libby, Robinson 
and Turner. He was born in Lim- 
erick, Maine, January 31, 1834, but 
has lived in Portland since 1846. 
He attended the public schools of 
this city. After graduating from 
the Portland High School, he en- 
tered Bowdoin College, where he 
was graduated with honors in 1864. 
Soon after graduation, he com- 
menced the study of the law in the 
office of Fessenden & Butler, in this 
city, and completed his studies in 
the Columbia Law School, in New 
York city. After admission to the 
bar in May, 1866, he went abroad, 
continuing his studies in Paris and 
Heidelburg for two years. On re- 
turning from Europe in 1869, he 
commenced the practice of his pro- 
fession as a member of the firm of 
Symonds & Libby, which firm was 
dissolved by the appointment of 
Judge Symonds to the superior 
court bench. In 1873, he formed 
a partnership with Hon. Moses M. 
Butler, under the firm name of But- 
ler & Libby. This firm was dis- 
solved by the death of Mr. Butler 
in 1879. In 1884, he again formed 
a partnership with Judge Symonds, 
continuing with him until 1891. 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 



i39 



In 1897, he became the senior part- 
ner of his present firm with offices 
in the First National Bank Building. 
Beside having enjoyed a lucrative 
law practice for many years, Mr. 
Ivibby has become identified with 
many important business and finan- 
cial interests in Portland. He has 
also taken a prominent part in pub- 
lic affairs, and has for several years 
been one of 
the leaders 
of the Re- 
publican 
party in 
this state. 
He began 
his public 
career as 
city solic- 
itor, which 
office he 
held in 
1871 - 72. 
He was 
elect e d 
county a t - 
torney i n 
1872, serv- 
ing until 
1878. He 
was chosen 
mayor of 
Portland in 
1882, and 
was a mem- 
ber of the 
state senate 
in 1889. 
While ' a 
member of 
the senate, 
h e served 

as its president, with distinction. Mr. 
Ivibby is attorney for the First Nation- 
al Bank, Portland Trust Company, 
Portland Street Railway Co., Interna- 
tional, Portland and Maine Steamship 
companies, and other corporations. 




HON. C. F. LIBBY. 



A, W. Laugfhttn. 



Arthur Wood Eaughlin, the treas- 
urer and business manager of the 



Evening Express Publishing Com- 
pany, was born in Pembroke, Wash- 
ington County, Maine, March 1, 
1854, son of Thomas and Mary A. 
L-aughlin. His father came with his 
family to Pembroke from New Bruns- 
wick, about fifty years ago, his peo- 
ple having been among the early 
settlers of that province. A. W. 
Eaughlin attended the ordinary 

country 
school until 
he came to 
Portia nd, 
about 1870, 
at the age 
of sixteen. 
After a 
year's at- 
tendance at 
the North 
School, he 
entered 
the High 
School, but 
left at the 
end of three 
months t o 
learn the 
printer's 
t r a d e . 
While serv- 
ing his ap- 
prentice- 
s h i p, he 
worked for 
George A. 
Jones & 
Company, 
job printers, 
and on the 
S u n d a y 
Star. Dur- 
ing the year and a half of his connec- 
tion with the Star office, he had 
Mondays to himself, in exchange for 
working Saturday nights, and on 
these Mondays he attended Gray's 
Business College and learned book- 
keeping. Upon finishing his ap- 
prenticeship, he accepted a position 
as bookkeeper with T. Eaughlin & 
Son, manufacturers of marine hard- 
ware, the firm being composed of 



I4-Q 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 



his father and elder brother. He 
remained in this connection four 
years, acquiring a business educa- 
tion and training, and at the end of 
that time embraced an opportunity 
to buy an interest in a job-printing 
office, which he accomplished with- 
out outside aid, from earnings saved 
up to that time, and shortly after- 
wards he acquired the whole busi- 
ness. About 
this time, 
the suspen- 
sion of a 
w e e k 1 y 
paper that 
he had been 
p rinting 
for the 
publisher, 
left him 
with c o n- 
siderable 
newspaper 
printing 
material on 
h and, a 
con d i t i o n 
which first 
turned his 
attention to 
the news- 
paper field, 
and on Oc- 
tober 12, 
1879, he 
star ted a 
penny daily, 
called the 
City Item, 
the size of 
the sheet 
being four- 
teen by nineteen inches. After run- 
ning it about two years, he sold out 
to a stock company, assuming the 
position of business manager and 
treasurer ; the paper was enlarged 
and continued until September, 1882, 
when it suspended publication. 
Having secured from the mortgagee 
of the old company a part of its 
materials and equipments, including 
a Cottrell & Babcock drum-cylinder 




A. W. LAUGHLIN. 



press, Mr. Laughlin issued on Octo- 
ber 12, 1882, the first number of the 
Evening Express, of which he re- 
mained editor and sole proprietor 
four years. During this period, the 
paper was enlarged several times, 
and became recognized as one of the 
established newspapers of the state. 
In June, 1886, Mr. Laughlin sold a 
half interest to the late William H. 

Smith, the 
firm name 
be c o m i n g 
Laughlin & 
Smith, and 
in October 
of the same 
year, the 
E ve n i n g 
Express 
Publish ing 
Company 
was formed, 
and incor- 
porated un- 
der the laws 
of Maine, 
with Mr. 
Smith a s 
pre si de nt, 
a n d M r. 
Laughlin as 
treasurer 
a n d busi- 
ness man- 
ager. After 
about a year 
Mr. Smith 
sold his in- 
terest and 
retired from 
the c o m- 
pany. Mr. 
Laughlin is a member and past 
grand of Unity Lodge of Odd Fel- 
lows, a Past Chancellor of Trinity 
Lodge, Knights of Pythias, a member 
of the Legion of Honor, president of 
the Portland Cadets' military organ- 
ization, and member of the Veteran 
Corps, being one of the "Champion 
Twenty-four" of 1875, who contested 
with the Montgomery Guards for the 
possession of the champion flag. He 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 



141 



was married January 1, 1880, to Miss 
Gertrude E. Knowltou, of Portland; 
they have three children, Ethel G., 
James K., and Thomas Earle 
Eaughlin. 



The Virgil Clavier School. 

The Virgil Clavier School was es- 
tablished in Portland in 1896, by 
Frank L. 
Ran kin, 
who for the 
past ten 
years has 
been prom- 
inent as a 
teacher of 
music i n 
this city. 
The school 
occup ie s 
the entire 
top floor of 
the Baxter 
M e m orial 
building, 
and is ac- 
cessible by 
eleva tor. 
The main 
recital hall 
has a seat- 
ing capa- 
city of two 
h u n d red . 
Here pub- 
lic recitals, 
open to 
pupils 
and their 
friends, are 
given ev- 
ery Thurs- 
day evening. Connected with this 
hall are the private instruction rooms. 
This school is but one of a large num- 
ber in successful operation in the 
principal cities of the United States 
and Europe. The Clavier method 
has been recognized as a most effi- 
cient one for teaching piano and 
organ. By the use of the clavier, the 
progress of pupils is much more rapid 




FRANK L. RANKIN. 



than by the old methods. The 
method educates particularly the 
sense of touch, bringing hand and 
mind into responsive sympathy. The 
use of the clavier is desirable for pu- 
pils who have a quick and accurate 
ear for music, for, although the prac- 
tice may be steady and continuous, 
there is no possibility of pupils being 
afflicted with what is known as the 

" t i r e d 
e a r . " 
When the 
clavier 
method 
was first 
introduced 
it was re- 
garded in- 
credulous- 
1 y by 
many, but 
now all 
good 
teachers, 
in all the 
principal 
cities, have 
studied, 
and to a 
greater or 
less extent, 
teach the 
method . 
When i t 
was intro- 
duced i n 
Berlin, 
Germany, 
where the 
study o f 
music is 
conducted 
most scien- 
tifically, the favorable report of seven 
of Berlin's noted pianists, composing 
the committee chosen to investigate, 
was received in musical circles as 
standard authority. Among the 
noted pianists of the world who have 
also endorsed and practice the method 
are the following: Joseffy, Paderew- 
ski, Rive'-King, De Pachmann, Ma- 
son, Rosenthal and Von Biilow. In 



142 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 



appearance, the clavier resembles the 
old-fashioned spinet. It has several 
important attachments, one of them 
being an arrangement for increasing 
the strength of key action, whereby 
the force can be changed instantly 
from two ounces, suitable for the 
weak fingers of a child, to ten ounces, 
which is more than the strength of 
action of an ordinary piano. Even- 
n e s s of 
touch and 
te chnical 
accuracy, 
are taught 
on the 
clavier in 
much less 
time than 
upon the 
pi a no. 
This 
school has 
now about 
two hun- 
dred pu- 
pils, and it 
is a nota- 
ble fact 
that they 
acquire in 
a compar- 
a t i v e 1 y 
short time 
that mus- 
cular de- 
velop m ent 
and even- 
n e s s of 
touch that 
under the 
old meth- 
ods were 
not expect- 
ed of hard students before three years 
of persistent effort. 




HON. WESTON F. MILLIKEN. 



Hon. Weston F. Milliken. 



The collector of the port of Port- 
land, appointed last April by Presi- 
dent McKinley, was born in Minot, 
Androscoggin County, Maine, and 
has resided and done business in this 



municipality since 1856, during 
which time he has been closely iden- 
tified with its best interests. As the 
head of the largest wholesale grocery 
house in Maine, that of Milliken, 
Tomlinson Company, his business 
influence has extended throughout 
the entire state. After obtaining his 
education, Weston F. Milliken went 
to Boston, and engaged as a clerk. 

Two 3 r ears 
later he re- 
turned to 
his native 
town and 
engaged in 
business, 
coming to 
Po rtland 
forty- three 
years ago, 
a'nd be- 
coming as- 
sociated 
with the 
firm which 
i n 1879, 
deve 1 oped 
into the 
p re sent 
large cor- 
poration of 
which he 
has since 
been pres- 
ident. His 
name has 
for many 
years been 
c o u p 1 e d 
with about 
all the im- 
p o r t a n t 
public k en- 
terprises that have tended to benefit 
the city of his adoption, and he has 
gradually become connected with 
the management of a large number of 
corporations and institutions, includ- 
ing national and savings banks, 
building and loan associations, rail- 
way and steamboat companies, and 
electric light company. He has ever 
used his influence, which extends 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 



i43 



from his large business interests 
throughout the state, towards the 
welfare of Portland, and is a valued 
member and former officer of the 
Portland Board of Trade. He has 
also taken a prominent part in public 
affairs, and represented this city in 
the state legislature in 1872-74, dur- 
ing which time he was chairman of 
the committee on banking affairs, and 
the commit- 
tee on fi- 
nance. His 
residence in 
this city has 
been pro- 
ductive of 
much bene- 
fit to his 
fellow citi- 
zens, and he 
is widely 
esteemed by 
all who 
know him. 
As collector 
of the port, 
he brings to 
the duties 
of the office 
marked ex- 
ecutive abil- 
ity. 



Clarence 
Hale. 




This well 
known resi- 
dent of Port- 
land, and 

leading cor- clarence hale. 

p oration 

lawyer of the state, is a brother of 
United States Senator Hale, and was 
born in Turner, Me., April 15, 1848. 
He spent his boyhood on the old 
place occupied by his grandfather, 
who was one of the pioneers of 
Turner, and which farm is still in the 
possession of the family. He was 
educated in the common schools of 
his native town, fitting for college in 
Norway, (Me.) Academy. He was 



graduated from Bowdoin College, 
with honors in oratory, in 1869. He 
commenced the study of law in the 
office of Hale & Emery, at Ellsworth, 
which firm was composed of his 
brother, the present senator, and 
Hon. E. A. Emery. He was admit- 
ted to the bar in October, 1870, and 
the following year began the practice 
of his profession in Portland, where 

he has since 
continued, 
and where 
he has built 
up a large 
and lucra- 
tive prac- 
tice. M r. 
Hale has for 
s e v e r a 1 
years been 
an imp or- 
tant factor 
in local bus- 
iness and 
political af- 
fairs. H e 
was elected 
city solici- 
tor in 1879, 
which office 
he held for 
three years, 
conduct i ng 
many im- 
porta n t 
cases for the 
city. He 
represen ted 
Portland in 
the state 
legi s 1 a ture 
in 1S83-85, 
where he gained distinction from his 
activity on the floor of the house, 
and won the esteem of his colleagues 
by his sound judgment and ability 
there displayed. He is a strong Re- 
publican in politics, and has been an 
ardent worker for that party, partici- 
pating in every political campaign 
since 1872. He has become inter- 
ested in a large number of local enter- 
prises, and as director and trustee, is 



J 44 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 



identified with the management of 
several corporations. He is also clerk 
of a large number of companies 
formed in the state, and his labors in 
his profession have included vastly 
important legal work. Mr. Hale 
possesses one of the largest private 
libraries in Maine, and has strong 
love for literary work. He is a mem- 
ber of the Maine Historical Society. 
He was 
married 
March i i, 
1880, to 
M a r g a ret 
Rollins, 
daughter of 
Hon. Frank- 
lin J. Rol- 
lins, of Port- 
land, and 
has two 
children, 
Kathe r ine, 
born in 
1884, and 
Robert 
Hale, born 



Hon. F. H. 
Harford. 




The judge 
of the mu- 
n i c i p a 1 
court of 
South Port- 
land, Fred- 
e r i ck H. 
H a r f o r d , 
was born in 
Cape Eliza- 
beth, now 

the City of South Portland, in Decem- 
ber, 1850. He was educated in the 
public schools, afterwards taking an 
academic course, and fitted for col- 
lege with the late Prof. Hanson, of 
Waterville. He became active in 
public affairs early in life, and for 
four years served his county as one 
of its officers. He commenced to 
read law in the office of Clarence 



HON. F. H. HARFORD. 



Hale, and was admitted to the bar in 
1 88 1. He, with his brother, was 
one of the founders of the Cape Eliz- 
abeth Sentinel, and for several years 
assisted in the editing of that paper. 
He finally sold out his interest in the 
Sentinel to his brother, and returned 
to the office of Clarence Hale and A. 
A. Strout, where he continued in 
the practice of his profession, remov- 
ing to his 
present of- 
fice, 3iy 2 
Ex c h a n ge 
street, some 
ten years 
ago. Judge 
Harford has 
been a most 
i n t e r e s ted 
citizen of 
the Cape, 
and main- 
public im- 
proveme n ts 
are traced 
to his vigi- 
lance. He 
e n j o ys a 
large 1 a w 
practice and 
i s counsel 
for several 
laige con- 
cerns in and 
about the 
city. H e 
is a director 
in the Peo- 
ples Ferry 
Co., Island 
Ferry Co., 
and was 
one of the 
founders of the Casco Loan & Build- 
ing Association, and the South Port- 
land Loan and Building Association. 



Cullen C. Chapman. 



Cullen C. Chapman, the president 
of the Chapman National Bank, was 
born in Bethel, Oxford County, Me., 
December 27, 1833. He was the 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 



i45 



oldest son of the late Hon. Robert A. 
Chapman and Frances (Carter) Chap- 
man; his maternal grandfather, Dr. 
Timothy Carter, who emigrated to 
Bethel from Sutton, Mass., in 1799, 
was the first physician to settle in 
the town. Mr. Chapman was edu- 
cated at Gould's Academy, in Bethel, 
and Bridgton Academy, but was pre- 
vented by ill health from entering 
Yale College, for which he was pre- 
pared. After spending two years in 
his father 's 
country store, 
he came to Port- 
land, January 1 , 
1856, and en- 
tered a flour and 
grain store, 
where he showed 
such marked 
business ability 
that in less than 
a year he be- 
came his em- 
ployer's partner, 
the firm becom- 
ing Butler & 
Chapman. Just 
before the panic 
of 1857, Mr. 
Chapman sold 
his interest to 
his partner, but 
in 1858 he again 
engaged in bus- 
iness, and in 
1862, with the 
late E. A. Nor- 
ton, he estab- 
lished the firm 
of Norton, Chap- 
man & Co., which soon became one 
of the leading business houses in the 
state. Some years later, his younger 
brother, the late Charles J. Chapman, 
was admitted, and when Mr. Norton 
retired, Cullen C. Chapman became 
the head of the firm, which position 
he held until 1877, when he retired 
in order to attend to other interests. 
In the autumn of 1890, with his 
brothers, Charles J. and Robert Chap- 
man, he started the Chapman Bank- 



ing Co., the business of which firm 
developed so successfully, that it was 
deemed best to place it on a more 
permanent basis. Therefore, he, co- 
operating with his brothers, Hon. 



M. Stead- 

and many 

Chapman 

commenced 

Mr. Chap- 




CULLEN C. CHAPMAN. 



Seth L. Larrabee, E. 
man, B. M. Edwards, 
others, organized The 
National Bank, which 
business October 2, 1893, 
man being chosen president. Under 
its able and progressive management, 
the bank has 
made rapid 
progress, and 
attained a high 
standing among 
the finan cial 
institutions o f 
the state. Mr. 
Chapman is a 
public spirited 
man, and has 
always taken a 
deep interest in 
the welfare of 
the city. He 
devoted almost 
his entire time 
for more than a 
year as chair- 
man of the build- 
ing committee, 
and contributed 
liberally to the 
erection of Wil- 
liston church, 
which has now 
become historic. 
He also erected 
and owns the 
Oxford Build- 
ing, one of the best business build- 
ings in the city, which he named for 
his native county of Oxford. His 
own residence at the corner of Spring 
and Thomas streets, which he built 
in 186S, is among the finest in the 
city. Mr. Chapman's first wife, 
Philophrene, daughter of Dr. John 
Grover, of Bethel, died December 17, 
187 1, and in 1873 he married Mrs. 
Abbie Hart Mclntyre, a daughter of 
the late Hanson M. Hart, of this 



146 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 



city. They have had three children, 
Frances Louise, a graduate of Wel- 
lesley College, Florence Hart, who 
died in 1888, and Grace Carter, who 
is studying at Abbot Academy. 



Edwin F. Vose, M. D. 



Among the physicians of Portland, 
Edwin Faxon Vose occupies a prom- 
inent position. He was born, of 
Puritan ancestry, at Watertown, 

Mass., Oct. 17, 

1850, and re- 
ceived his early 
education in the 
public schools, 
and at the Mas- 
sachusetts Agri- 
cultural College 
in the class of 
1872. After a 
course of medi- 
cal study with 
his father, Dr. 
Henry C. Vose, 
he entered the 
medical depart- 
ment of Boston 
Universi t y, 
graduating from 
that institution 
in 1876. Before 
graduating, he 
served for a year 
as house sur- 
geon of the 
Massacku setts 
Homeopathic 
hospital. Upon 
receiving h i s 

diploma, he began the practice of his 
profession in partnership with Dr. 
Eliphalet Clark, in Portland, and in 
1877, on the retirement of Dr. Clark, 
he took entire charge of a practice in 
which he has been eminently success- 
ful. He was president of the Maine 
State Homeoepathic Medical Society 
in 1895, and is a member of the Maine 
Academy of Medicine. In 1895, 
when the legislature passed the bill 
requiring all physicians practicing in 
the state to be registered or pass ex- 




EDWIN F. VOSE, M. D. 



animations, Dr. Vose was appointed 
by Governor Cleaves, a member of 
the examining board. He is prom- 
inently identified with fraternal so- 
cieties, being. past master of Portland 
Masonic lodge, past high priest of 
Mount Vernon chapter, Royal Arch 
Masons, past master of Portland 
council, Royal and Select Masters, 
past commander of Portland com- 
mandery, Knights Templar, member 
of the Maine Order of High Priest- 
hood, Maine 
Consist or>^ of 
thirty-s eco n d 
degree Masons, 
Aleppo Temple, 
Nobles of the 
Mystic Shrine, 
the Order of the 
Red Cross of 
Constantine, 
and the Royal 
Order of Scot- 
land. He is 
also a past grand 
of Hadattah 
lodge, I. O. O. 
F., has been a 
member of Una 
encampment, 
Bramhall lodge, 
K. of P., and of 
Samoset Tribe, 
I. O. R. M. 
He is a di- 
rector of the 
Falmouth Loan 
& Building 
Association, 
and an active 
member in the Maine Charitable 
Mechanics Association, Portland 
Club, and the Sodality of the Sons 
of the Revolution. Dr. Vose was 
married July 5, 1876, to Lizzie 
M. Begg, of Brooklyn, New York. 
They have two children, Eleanor 
Rae and Clifton Henry Vose. In 
politics Dr. Vose is a Republi- 
can, and has served the city many 
years as a member of the school 
board, and takes a deep interest in 
educational matters. 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 



147 



Hon. George C. Hopkins. 



Among the best known attorneys 
of the state, is Hon. George C. Hop- 
kins, who has an office .on Exchange 
street, Portland. He was born in 
Mount Vernon, Me., Feb. 22, 1843, 
and received his education in the 
common schools and at Colby uni- 
versity, graduating from Colby in 
1863. He began the stud}' of law at 
Augusta, with R. H. & G. C. Vose, 
and continued with J. O. A. Griffin, 
of Boston, where he was admitted to 
the bar. He began the practice of 



opening of the legislature in 1899, he 
took his seat as representative from 
Deering. The able manner in which 
he presided at various times in the 
absence of the speaker, has brought 
his name into prominence as a prob- 
able candidate for the speakership of 
the next house. 



George Libby. 



The attorney for Cumberland Coun- 
ty, George Libby, was born in Port- 
land, October 23, 1852, and is a son 





HON. GEO. C. HOPKINS. 



GEORGE LIBBY. 



law at Omaha, Neb., where he was 
admitted to practice in the district 
and circuit courts. After three 
years in Omaha, he came to Port- 
land, where he has since practiced. 
He has published two legal works, 
a digest of Maine reports, and the 
fourth edition of Oliver's Convey- 
ancing. Mr. Hopkins was city clerk 
of Portland in 1869. Some time af- 
terward he changed his residence to 
Woodfords, Deering, and during the 
first two years of Deering' s existence 
as a city, he was city solicitor. In 
1896-97-98, he served as judge of 
Deering municipal court. At the 



of the late George Libby. .He was 
brought up on his father's farm in 
Deering, and was educated in the 
public schools in Westbrook and 
Deering, and attended the Westbrook 
Seminary and Gray's Commercial 
College. Although he has become a 
somewhat noted lawyer, it was not 
until after he had become married 
and gained a family of three chil- 
dren that he commenced the study of 
law. While a member of the board 
of selectmen of Deering, his duties 
necessitated his looking up matters of 
law, and his talent was discovered by 
others, who strongly advised him to 



148 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 



stud}' and practice. Among those 
who offered him an opportunity to 
read law, was Hon. Thomas B. Reed, 
in whose office he fitted himself for 
practice and was admitted to the bar 
in April, 1884. He commenced prac- 
tice and has continued with success, 
being appointed assistant county at- 
torney in 1885. This office he filled 
for two years, under County Attorney 
Seiders. In 
1896, he was 
elected coun- 
ty attorney, 
and is now 
serving in 
that capacity. 
He is a direc- 
tor and attor- 
ney of the Fal- 
mouth Loan 
& Building 
Association, 
a Mason, Odd 
Fellow, mem- 
ber of the 
Knights o f 
Pythias and 
the Lincoln 
Club, the last 
of which he 
was president 
four years. 
He served 
three years in 
the board of 
selectmen of 
Deering from 
1881. He 
owns a large 
farm of sixty 
acres in Deer- 
ing, and re- 
sides in Portland. His success is high- 
ly creditable to him, for in order to ac- 
quire his knowledge of law, before 
being admitted to the bar, he studied 
sixteen hours a day. Beside attend- 
ing to his duties as county attorney, 
he has a lucrative general law practice. 




H. W. SHAYLOR. 



H. W. Shaylor. 



H. W. Shaylor, since 1870 teacher 



of drawing and penmanship in the 
public schools of Portland, and author 
of the text-books on the so-called 
Shaylor system of penmanship, was 
born in Astabula, Ohio, fifty-four 
j^ears ago. He was educated in the 
common schools of his native town 
and at Kingsville Academy. From 
early boyhood he showed a marked 
talent for drawing, and in a log cabin 

school called 
"Jericho," 
Geneva, O., 
he took his 
first course in 
penmanshi p. 
His teacher 
was P. R. 
Spencer, the 
author of the 
world-famous 

5 p e n c e rian 
system of 
penmanshi p, 
Mr. Shaylor' s 
aim was to 
fit himself for 
teaching, and 
when Bryant 

6 S t r a tton 
began to es- 
tablish busi- 
ness colleges, 
he was en- 
gaged to 
teach pen- 
manship in 
the Bryant, 
S t r a tton & 
Gray busi- 
ness college, 
fou nded in 
Portland in 

1864. In 1870, he was appointed 
teacher of drawing and penmanship 
in the public schools, retaining his 
connection with the college, however, 
teaching evening classes for about 
twenty-one years. In 1885, he pre- 
pared his first system of penmanship, 
called the "slant" system, which 
was published as the Harper Bros.' 
series of copy books. Within five 
years this series had attained a sale 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 



149 



of two million copies, and was more 
extensively used in New England 
than all other copy books. About 
three years ago, impressed with the 
advantages of vertical writing in the 
matter of legibility and speed, he 
prepared the now celebrated Shaylor 
system of vertical writing. The copy 
books are published by Ginu & Co., 
and have been extensively adopted 
by scho ols 
throughout 
the country. 
Mr. Shaylor's 
natural bent 
is toward the 
artistic, and 
in addition to 
the teaching 
of drawing in 
the public 
s c h o o Is, 
wherein the 
pupils have 
shown prog- 
ress excelled 
by very few 
large cities, 
he has done 
much sketch- 
ing, and has 
made innum- 
erable p i c- 
tures in oil 
and water 
colors. Mr. 
Shaylor is al- 
so author of 
the Normal 
series of draw- 
ing books, 
published by 
Silver, Bur- 

dette & Co. Mr. Shaylor was for- 
merly a member of the National Pen- 
manship Association, which was 
afterward merged into the Commer- 
cial College Association, and he 
therefore possesses a wide acquaint- 
ance among teachers of penmanship 
in the United States, in addition to 
the reputation he has achieved 
through the use of his text-books in 
schools. Among his most cherished 



treasures are the unsolicited testimo- 
nials from the teachers in Portland's 
public schools, as to his ability as a 
teacher of drawing and penmanship. 
And his pupils unite with the teachers 
in their expressions of confidence and 
esteem. Mr. Shaylor is a member of 
High St. Congregational church, and 
one of Portland's most valued citizens. 




Ira F. Clark 
& Co. 



C. E. REDLOIM. 



Condu ct- 
ing one of the 
largest and 
hands omest 
clothing and 
furnishing 
goods stores 
east of Bos- 
ton, under 
the above 
firm name, is 
Charles H. 
Redlon. He 
is known as 
one of the 
most energet- 
ic, industri- 
ous and suc- 
c e s s f u 1 of 
local m e r- 
chants, and 
h i s reputa- 
tion as a thor- 
oughly alive 
and progres- 
sive dealer 
has been just- 
ly attained. 
He first start- 
ed business 
just above the present location. 
When he contemplated fitting up his 
present store, he removed to a tem- 
porary location on Free street. The 
enlarging and remodeling of the pres- 
ent establishment, which comprises 
what was once two stores, with nota- 
ble enlargements, especially in the 
basement, which was enlarged to form 
the boys' and children's departments, 
showed marked enterprise on Mr. 



150 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 



Recllon's part, the entire work being 
done at his own expense. The store, 
possessing two separate tile entrances, 
is one of the largest, airiest and best 
lighted in the state. A large and de- 
sirable stock of men's, youths', boys' 
and children's clothing, hats, caps 
and furnishings is carried, and the 
motto of the store is, "One Price and 
Spot Cash." There are fifteen clerks 
and bookkeeper and cashier, and the 
store always has the appearance of a 
lively business. The store is lighted 
by gas and electricity, and comprises 
2,600 feet of floor surface, and the 
fixtures, shelving, sliding hat cases, 
cashier's and proprietor's private office 
are finished in oak. Mr. Redlon is a 
naturally good buyer and possesses 
the faculty of drawing trade and re- 
taining it at his store. He believes 
in a generous amount of printers' ink, 
and the public long since learned to 
place confidence in his advertising 
statements. Mr. Redlon was born in 
this city 34 years ago, and has resided 
here all his life. He is, therefore, 
well known. He has always shown 
an active interest in the welfare of 
Portland, and is an active member of 
the Portland Board of Trade. His 
notable business career and signal suc- 
cess have placed him in the front ranks 
of Maine retail merchants. He is a 
member of the Portland Athletic Club 
but has never become affiliated with 
outside business, or affairs which 
would prevent him from giving his 
entire and concentrated effort to his 
large and growing business; hence 
his success. 



L. A. Goudy. 



Closely identified with Portland's 
material prosperity, is Lewis A. 
Goudy. He is a native of Boothbay, 
Me., and was educated in the com- 
mon schools of that town, and the 
graded schools of Bath. In 1866, he 
entered the employ of the Maine Cen- 
tral Railroad at Bath, as clerk. After 
three years' service with the M. C. R. 
R., he became employed as general 



clerk and bookkeeper by Waldron & 
True, wholesale flour and grain deal- 
ers of Portland, with whom he re- 
mained from 1869 to 1 88 1. He then 
began the manufacture of biscuits 
and bakery products, in Portland, to 
which the manufacture of confection- 
ery was added in 1885, under the firm 
name of L. A. Goudy & Co. Subse- 
quently the business was consolidated 
with that of R. Kent & Son, and con- 
tinued under the name of Goudy & 
Kent, and which, in 1893, was made 
a corporation, with Mr. Goudy as 
president and general manager, the 
business increasing rapidly under his 




L A. GOUDY. 

management. After several years, 
Mr. Goudy severed his connection 
with the company, and became vice- 
president and foreign manager of the 
Anglo American Cuban Co., of Bos- 
ton, for which company he has spent 
several months in the West Indies, 
visiting all parts of Cuba, and secur- 
ing valuable options on properties for 
development in the future. Mr. 
Goudy's untiring energy and high 
executive ability make him a valuable 
citizen in a progressive community. 
He has ever identified himself with 
whatever would advance Portland's 
interests, having been vice-president 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 



151 



of the board of trade for several years. 
Among the companies organized 
through his assistance, may be men- 
tioned the Belknap Motor Co., Lake- 
side Press and Casco Paper Box Co. 
He gave largely of his time and 
money to the work of raising funds 
for the relief of the starving Cuban 
Reconcentradoes. He is now serving 
his second term as a member of the 
Portland city government, in which he 
is a firm and outspoken supporter of 
good municipal government. He is 
known as one who hates sham and 
hypocrisy, and in all his social and 
business relations he is the embodi- 
ment of the progressive spirit of the 
agre in which he lives. 



city government, a member of the 
common council in 1891-92-93, and 
of the board of aldermen in 1896-97. 
He was the youngest member of the 
board, and probably the youngest 
ever serving as alderman in the city. 
He won a good reputation for his bus- 
iness capacity and as an authority on 
parliamentary law. Dec. 30, 1895, 
he was appointed, by Gov. Cleaves, 
public administrator for the county 
of Cumberland, which office he still 
holds. He is treasurer and attorney 
for the Forest City Loan & Building 
Asso-, and is the present advocate of 
Portland Council, Knights of Colum- 



John B. Kehoe. 

One of the rising younger lawyers 
of Portland, is John Butterfield Ke- 
hoe. He is the son of Carroll Kehoe, 
a native of Perry, Me., and Johanna 
Kennedy, a native of Ireland, and 
was born in Portland, January 20, 
1867. He was educated in Portland 
public schools, graduating from the 
high school in 1886. He then en- 
tered business college, graduating in 
the usual course. He then be- 
came a stenographer in the office of 
Drummond & Drummond. His al- 
most wonderful memory enabled him 
to remember the substance of opinions 
which he was called upon to write 
out, and in the course of time became 
so much interested that he desired to 
become a lawyer. He, therefore, 
commenced study, at the same time 
continuing to perform his duties as 
stenographer. He was admitted to 
the Cumberland bar, in 1894, passing 
an exceedingly creditable examina- 
tion. He immediately opened an 
office in the Danforth block, where 
he has since built up a successful 
practice and won considerable repu- 
tation as a jury lawyer. He has tak- 
en much interest in political matters, 
and after becoming of age, he was 
elected warden of his ward. He has 
since served in both branches of the 




JOHN B. KEHOE. 

bus. He was married in 1897, to 
Miss Lottie May Sturdivant, of East 
Deering. His industry, pluck, per- 
severance, and self-reliance are the 
foundations of his success. 



Samuel L. Bates. 



Prominent among the younger 
members of Cumberland bar, is Sam- 
uel L. Bates, who moved to Portland 
from Brooksville, Hancock County. 
He was born in Michigan, thirty- 
three years ago, but is really a Maine 
boy, as his family for several gener- 
ations have been residents of Brooks- 
ville. He was educated in the common 



152 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 



schools and at the state normal school 
at Castine. Mr. Bates was a poor 
boy and, during his school years, met 
his expenses by following the sea. 
He made a number of voyages, and 
was in merchant vessels, in all, six 
years. After graduating at the state 
normal school, he devoted several 
years to teaching in the common and 
high schools of this state, in Han- 
cock, Washington, Piscataquis and 
Knox counties. He began reading 
law in this city in the offices of John 
C. & F. H. Cobb, in 1S92, and was 
admitted to the bar two years later. 
While a law student, he did much 



A. M. Wentworth. 




This leading optician, who has a 
well furnished and equipped office at 
546 1-2 Congress street, was born in 
Dover, N. H., and resided there un- 
til about twenty years of age. He 
received his education in the public 
schools of that city, and at Franklin 
Academy. He has resided in Port- 
land since 1873. Mr. Wentworth 
has made a deep and constant study 
of his profession, and is thoroughly 
versed in the science of optics, and 




S. L. BATES. 

newspaper work, and represented the 
Portland Argus, at Augusta, during a 
session of the legislature. He began 
the practice of law in this city in 
1895, where he becomes better known 
each year, and now has a growing 
general practice. Mr. Bates is an in- 
terested worker in politics, and has 
several times filled places on the 
Democratic ticket. He is a present 
member of the Democratic city com- 
mittee, and is the chairman of the 
county committee. During each po- 
litical campaign, his services are 
enlisted as a speaker and writer. 
His office is at 45 Exchange street. 



A. M. WENTWORTH. 

has established an enviable reputa- 
tion as a painstaking, reliable and 
scientific optician. Mr. Wentworth 
has connected with his office a man- 
ufacturing department, where he 
grinds all of his own lenses and does 
all of his own mechanical work. He 
is a member of Atlantic Dodge, Free 
and Accepted Masons, and one of the 
organizers of the New England Opti- 
cal Association, and also a charter 
member of the American Association 
of Opticians. 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 
Hon. M. P. Frank. Frederick S. Vaill. 



153 



This well known citizen of Port- 
land, and recent Democratic nominee 
for governor, was born in Gray, Me., 
December 29, 1S41. He obtained his 
education in the common schools and 
Maine State Seminary and L,ewiston 
Falls Academy, subsequently attend- 
ing and graduating at Tufts College. 
He commenced the study of law in 
the office of Shepley & Strout, and 
was admitted to practice in 1868, con- 
tinuing with success in this city, to 
the present time. He has for the past 



Among the most prominent and 
enterprising of our local real estate 
agents, is Frederick Sturtevant Vaill, 
whose trade-mark, the large red V, 
adorns a great many of Portland's 
vacant houses. He is a son of Cap- 
tain Edward E. Vaill, formerly of 
the United States navy, and Char- 
lotte F. Sturtevant, daughter of the 
late Captain Isaac F. Sturtevant, 
whose father, Isaac Sturtevant, of 
State street, is remembered by older 
citizens as being one of the most 





HON. M. P. FRANK. 



FRED'K S. VAILL. 



fourteen years been a member of the 
law firm of Frank & Darrabee. He 
has served two terms in the legisla- 
ture, one year as speaker, and in 
1890 was the Democratic candidate 
for congress from this district. 
When speaker of the house in 1870, 
he enjoyed the distinction of being 
the only Democratic speaker chosen 
in sixty years. He is the present 
bail commissioner of the county, and 
is one of the trustees of Westbrook 
Seminary and the Pennell Institute 
at Gray. 



prosperous merchants of his day. He 
is also a lineal descendant of Captain 
Myles Standish of Pilgrim fame, and 
John and Priscilla Alden, and a 
member of the Massachusetts Society 
of Mayflower Descendants, Society 
of the Colonial Wars, Sons of the 
American Revolution, and the cele- 
brated lodge of F. and A. M., Kane 
454 of New York city, which num- 
bers among its members the Right 
Rev. Henry C. Potter, D. D., bishop 
of New York, and Hon. Chauncey 
M. Depew. 



154 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 



Norton & Hall. 



Conducting a large and old estab- 
lished business under a comparative- 
ly new firm name, is the concern of 
Norton & Hall, whose quarters on 
the ground floor, 17 Exchange street, 
comprise one of the finest and busi- 
est offices in Portland. The firm was 
formed after the death of Augustus 
Champlin in 1897, to continue the 
fire insurance business formerly con- 
ducted by him, combining with the 
large marine insurance carried on by 
Mr. Hall. The individual members 
are Albert B. Hall, who for many 



state agents for the Fidelity & De- 
posit Co., of Maryland, one of the 
largest surety bond companies in the 
United States. Mr. Norton is spec- 
ial agent for Maine, New Hampseire 
and Vermont, of the North British 
& Mercantile Insurance Co., and Mr. 
Hall is attorney for the Portland Ma- 
rine Underwriters. Since forming 
the present firm, their prompt adjust- 
ment of all losses, with the high 
standing and wide circle of acquaint- 
ance of the members, have done much 
toward building up their business to 
its present proportions. While the 
firm have since added a few other 





R. S. NORTON. 



A. B. HALL. 



years had been identified with marine 
insurance, and the shipping interests 
of this port, and Ralph S. Norton, 
who, for several years was associated 
with Mr. Champlin. Norton & Hall 
started business with agencies of such 
companies as the North British & 
Mercantile Ins. Co., of London and 
Edinburgh, the Philadelphia Under- 
writers, and the Germania of New 
York, all of which are among the 
leading and most reliable companies 
of the world. Early in 1898, the firm 
added to their business that of Wil- 
liam F. Little, who has since been 
associated with them. The firm are 



companies to those above mentioned, 
they have shown a wise policy and 
thorough knowledge of their business 
by insuring property in a few desira- 
ble and safe ones, rather than in a 
large number, about whose strength 
there might be question. The mem- 
bers of the firm stand high in busi- 
ness circles. Mr. Hall is particularly 
well known in Portland, having al- 
ways resided here, and has for several 
years been a valued member of the 
school board, and one of the vice- 
presidents of the Portland Board of 
Trade. Both are substantial business 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 



i55 



E. S. Fossett. 



One of the many esteemed citizens 
of Portland is E. S. Fossett, a resi- 
dent of Munjoy Hill, and proprietor 
of the Freeman Pharmacal Co. He 
was born in 1850, in Union, Me., 
where his father, George Fossett, eon- 
ducted a general store continuously 
for 57 years. He received a common 
school education and came to Port- 
land in 1872, obtaining employment 
with Shepard & Co., for whom he 
traveled on the road until 1880, when 
he accepted a position with Deering, 
Milliken & Co. In 1886, he obtained 



Union, and occasionally from abroad. 
In politics, Mr. Fossett is a Demo- 
crat, and has been honored by his 
party with nominations for both 
branches of the city government, and 
in 1885 was appointed deputy collect- 
or of internal revenue by President 
Cleveland, which honor he declined, 
in order to devote his time to mercan- 
tile business. He is a member of 
Iyigonia Lodge, I. O. O. F.; and the 
Pilgrim Fathers. Of the latter order 
he was for four years supreme direc- 
tor for Maine. He is a director of 
the Small Point Land Association. 
Mr. Fossett has been twice married, 




E. S. FOSSETT. 

a more lucrative position with Weil, 
Dreyfus & Co., of Boston, and in 
1892 he severed his connection with 
that firm to become manager of the 
Freeman-Rice Medicine Co., of Port- 
land, the business of which he in- 
creased notably, purchased in 1894, 
and now conducts under the name 
of the Freeman Pharmacal Co. The 
principal goods manufactured are 
Dr. Freeman's balsam of fir wafers, 
toothache wax, and celery and caf- 
feine capsules. The demand for these 
ready selling and meritorious prepa- 
rations has increased until he is now 
filling orders from every state in the 




G. M. DONHAM. 



in 1870 to PhebeR. Hawes, deceased, 
and in 1893 to Mrs. Angela R. Pet- 
tengill. 



G. M. Donham. 



Probably one of the best known men 
in the state, is Grenville Mellen Don- 
ham, publisher of the Maine Regis- 
ter. He was born in Hebron, Me., 
Aug. 20, 1838, and was educated in 
the public schools, teaching school at 
the age of 15 years. In 1856, he re- 
moved to Turner, and fitted for col- 
lege at Turner High School and 
Hebron Academy . He was graduated 



156 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 



from Waterville, now Colby College, 
in 1865. After graduation, he be- 
came general agent for the Henry 
Bill Publishing Co., and in 1S70 acted 
as United States deputy marshal for 
taking the census of Turner. On 
coming to Portland in 1874, he be- 
came a member of the firm of Hoyt, 
Fogg & Donham, who published the 
Maine Register. In 1886, he became 
sole proprietor of this official year 
book, and has since devoted his ener- 
gies to its 
publ ica- 
tion. This 
book is a 
com p 1 e t e 
politic al 
m a n u a 1 
and busi- 
ness direc- 
tory of 
Maine. It 
stands at 
the head 
of its class, 
and was 
the only 
state regis- 
ter receiv- 
ing a med- 
al at the 
World's 
Fair in 
1893. Mr- 
Do n h a m 
has served 
as a mem- 
ber of the 
s c h o o 1 
boards of 




MECHANICS HALL BUILDING, STORE OF CARTER BROS' CO. 



Turner and Portland. He is a member 
of Congress St. M. E. church, and for 
ten years has been superintendent of 
its Sunday-school. He is also a 
member of the Maine Beta of Phi Beta 
Kappa, Colby College. Mr. Don- 
ham was married, Oct. 28, 1874, to 
Annie Gregory Winterbotham, of 
Fredericton, N. B. 



Carter Bros. Co. 



'Unquestioned reliability " is a 



term that can be applied as character- 
izing the concern of Carter Bros. Co., 
whose jewelry store is located in the 
historic Mechanics Hall block, at 
the corner of Congress and Casco 
streets. On Portland's main thor- 
oughfare, in the heart of the shop- 
ping district, this establishment is 
regarded as one of the landmarks of 
the Forest City. The business was 
started by A. Dunnyonin 1854. After 
the big fire in 1866, Mr. Dunnyon 

moved into 
the store in 
Mechanics 
Hall block, 
where he 
conducted 
a success- 
ful busi- 
ness until 
1 872, when 
he was 
succeeded 
by the firm 
o f Carter 
Bros., the 
corapa ny 
comp ris- 
ing Abiel 
and J. W. 
D. Carter. 
In 1898, 
the senior 
m erabe r, 
Abiel Car- 
ter, died, 
and since 
that time 
J. W. D. 
and Willis 
E. Carter have composed the corpora- 
tion. This store is to the city of Port- 
land what Tiffany's is to New York. 
It is the largest and best jewelry estab- 
lishment in New England, east of 
Boston; it carries a large stock of 
diamonds, watches, jewelry, silver- 
ware, cut glass, etc., and has won a 
reputation which could be built up 
to its present standard only by years 
of strictly honest dealings with the 
buying public. Customers through- 
out the state have come to understand 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 



i57 




INTERIOR, CARTER BROS. CO.S STORE. 



and rely upon the fact that whenever 
they make a purchase at this store, 
whether it be large or small, whether 
the purchase is made personally or 
otherwise, they get just what they 
pay for. This element of confidence 
shown by the public in a business 
firm, is not unique, but it is so un- 
common as to be worthy of note, in 
this case. Articles in gold, sterling 
silver, or cut glass, coming from the 
store of Carter Bros. Co., are regarded 
as correct for all occasions of import- 
ance in the highest social circles. A 
force of eight competent and court- 
eous clerks is employed in this store, 
and watch repairing and engraving 
receive the personal attention of ex- 
perts. The individual members of 
the firm occupy a prominent place in 
the jewelry trade of New England. 
They are expert judges of diamonds 
and other precious stones, and are 
personally popular with all their cus- 
tomers. In their business no detail, 
be it ever so small, is beneath their 
consideration, and no commission, 
however large and important, is be- 
yond the scope of their ability. The 



store of Carter Bros. Co., is one in 
which Portland people take pardon- 
able pride. 



Owen, Moore & Co. 



Owen, Moore & Co., established 
iu 1S74, importers, manufacturers, 
and wholesale and retail dealers in 
fancy goods, occupy the largest and 
best strictly fancy goods store in New 
England. Since the material en- 
largement of their quarters two years 
ago, the establishment covers 25,000 
square feet of surface on one floor. 
The store, which extends back from 
the street to a depth of 200 feet, is 
thoroughly metropolitan in appear- 
ance, and its interior beauty and 
attractiveness make it one of the 
show places for strangers visiting the 
city: The business calls for the em- 
ployment of about 100 clerks. The 
present highly organized establish- 
ment is in marked contrast to the 
original store of the firm, which was 
opened on Congress street, a few 
blocks east of the present location, a 
quarter of a century ago. When the 



158 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 



erection of the block now occupied 
was contemplated by Gen. Neal Dow, 
the firm showed its good business 
foresight in arranging for a location 
on the ground floor of the building, 
which, although now situated in the 
heart of the shopping district, was 
then by many considered to be too 
far away from the center of trade. 
This concern is now a close stock 
company, the owners of which are 
the same as of the original firm. 
The) T are: George M. Moore, presi- 
dent, 
has 
some 
b e 



fame. The store is a model of mod- 
ern convenience, and possesses, 
among man}- other improvements, its 
own electric light and power plant. 
The throngs of customers which fre- 
quent this busy store speak signifi- 
cantly of the desirability of the stock 
carried, and of the popularity of the 
methods adopted as the policy of the 
management. 



Elinor S. Moody. 



are: 

who 

for 

time 

e n 
abroad, 
taking no 
active part 
in them an- 
agem en t; 
George C. 
O w e n , 
treasurer, 
and Albert 
G. Rollins, 
g eneral 
m a n ager. 
This con- 
cern, deal- 
i n g in 
draperies, 
lace cur- 
tains, pat- 
terns, and 
apparel for 
men, wom- 
en and 
children, 

carrying elinor s. moody. 

nothing 

but standard grades of goods and 
catering to a desirable trade constitu- 
ency, makes a specialty of high-class 
novelties, and the store has the rep- 
utation, which it fully deserves, of 
of never putting anything cheap or 
undesirable in quality before the 
public. Excellent taste in buying, 
and the ability to please and satisfy 
all patrons with regard to goods man- 
ufactured here, have earned for this 
concern widespread and well-merited 



In verifying: 




the statement that 
Portia n d 
possesses 
successful 
and active 
b u s i n e ss 
a 
of 
El- 
S. 
is 
in 



women 
sketch 
Miss 
inor 
Moody 
offered 
evidence. 
She was 
born in 
Scarboro, 
Maine, and 
r e c eived 
the advant- 
ages of a 
liberal ed- 
ucation , 
finish ing 
the same 
at the 
Gorham 
Normal 
School. 
She after- 
ward took 
the commercial course at Gray's 
Business College, and later took up 
the study of phonography, and hav- 
ing mastered that art, secured an ap- 
pointment as special court stenog- 
rapher, and for the past nine years 
has done expert work in both Cuih- 
berland and York counties. Her 
work has been of such a character as 
to earn for her the reputation of be- 
ing the ablest woman in her profes- 
sion in this state. In the summer of 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 



i59 



1898, Miss Moody opened offices at 
80 Exchange street, where, with Miss 
Edna Caswell as an assistant, she has 
since conducted a large shorthand 
school. In this school, although es- 
tablished but a few months, Miss 
Moody conducts an institution of 
great value, as many of the young 
men and women attend this school, 
each one receiving individual instruc- 
tion. All branches of office work are 
taught, and each student before grad- 
uating has had something of experi- 
ence in real office business. Miss 
Moody is also the selling agent for 
the Bar- lock typewriter for this state, 
in the sale of which estimable ma- 
chine she has made a progress in 
placing it in business offices, that 
would do credit to a dozen good sales- 
men. Miss Moody opened her pres- 
ent offices contrary to the advice and 
judgment of many of her friends, and 
with some misgivings on her own 
part; but in closing up the year, the 
result shows that their prognostica- 
tions were unnecessary, for in a few 
months she has taken a prominent 
position in business circles, and has 
won the admiration of her friends, 
and the good- will of the community. 
From girlhood she has been a hard 
student, entering thoroughly into 
whatever she has undertaken. She 
understands her own business capa- 
city and displays rare discerning 
ability and native shrewdness. High- 
ly proficient in music, having taken a 
four years' course with one of New 
England's best masters, she, five 
years ago, passed examinations and 
was elected to the faculty of a young 
men college in Ohio, as teacher of 
music. Miss Moody has also taken 
the civil service examination, and has 
been offered three high salaried gov- 
ernment positions at Washington. 
She has recently received a flattering 
offer to become confidential clerk to 
a prominent law firm in New York 
city, but she prefers to keep her 
home and business in Maine. Miss 
Moody has done quite a little in real 
estate and owns several fine houses. 



Portland Trust Company. 



The Portland Trust Company, the 
oldest and largest trust company in 
the State of Maine, was organized in 
1885, and began business in January 
of that year. The authorized capital 
is $1,000,000, of which $200,000 has 
been paid in, in cash. By its charter, 
the company is required to keep a 
reserve of 15 per cent, of its demand 
deposits, the same as that of national 
banks. Like the latter, too, its stock- 
holders are subject to a double liabil- 
ity on their stock, and the company 
to examinations by the bank exam- 
iner. During the past fourteen years, 
this company has accumulated, after 
paying expenses, and dividends 
amounting to $99,000, and charging 
off all bad debts, a surplus of $135,000. 
The capital is wholly invested in 
United States four per cent, bonds, 
and the deposits are now $1,200,000. 
Beside its usual banking and trust 
company business, of receiving de- 
posits and loaning money, this bank 
makes a special feature of the pur- 
chase and sale of first-class invest- 
ment securities, suitable for trust 
funds, savings banks, and private in- 
vestors. All bonds sold by it have 
passed through the panics of recent 
years, including those of 1890 and 
1893, without any loss to its custom- 
ers, showing the care and conserva- 
tism exercised by the management. 
In January, 1898, the trust company 
leased, on long time and favorable 
terms, the vaults and business of the 
Portland Safe Deposit Company, and 
moved its banking rooms to 89 Ex- 
change street, Portland Savings Bank 
building, thus connecting with the 
premises of the Safe Deposit Company. 
The Trust Company thereby secured 
larger and better offices, and offers its 
patrons and the public, safes in the 
best equipped and most thoroughly 
constructed safe deposit vaults in 
Maine. The location is the most 
central and convenient in Portland, 
and every safeguard is used for the 
protection of safe renters. The com- 



i6o 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 



pany employs two watchmen at night, 
and three persons are in constant at- 
tendance by day, in the safe deposit 
department. The banking rooms 
were attractively and thoroughly 
fitted up in cherry, with oxydized 
brass grill work, the floor being mo- 
saic. The vSafe Deposit Company 
completely refitted its quarters when 
the new vault was built. The Port- 



street to each department, that the 
utmost privacy is given to all renters 
of safes in the safe deposit vaults, 
and, as the rooms are directly con- 
nected with each other, the custom- 
ers of either department can transact 
all of their business without leaving 
the building. The officers of the 
Portland Trust Company are : Wil- 
liam G. Davis, president ; James P. 




INTERIOR, BANKING DEPARTMENT, PORTLAND TRUST CO. 



land Safe Deposit Company is the 
oldest and largest in the city and 
state; and recently erected a thor- 
oughly modern and capacious vault 
to take the place of the old one, which 
had been in use for twenty-two years. 
Every facility is afforded the custom- 
ers of both institutions for transacting 
any business of a financial nature, 
under one roof. The arrangement is 
such, by separate entrances from the 



Baxter, vice-president; Harry Butler, 
treasurer; Joshua C. Libby, assistant 
treasurer; board of trustees, William 
G. Davis, James P. Baxter, Charles 
F. Dibby, William W. Brown, David 
W. Snow, Aug. R. Wright, Sidney 
W. Thaxter, Franklin R. Barrett, 
Frederick Robie, A. H. Walker, 
Charles O. Bancroft, Weston F. 
Milliken, Walter G. Davis, Harry 
Butler. 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 



161 



Merchants National Bank. 



This bank was founded as far back 
as 1825, when it was incorporated as 
a state bank, under the name of Mer- 
chants Bank. Its promoters com- 
prised well known business men of that 
period, and during itsextended history 
the institution has ever been conduct- 
ed under a careful and conservative 
manage- 
in e u t. 
The bank 
passed 
through 
the trying 
panic of 
1837, and 
from the 
first the 
institu- 
tion be- 
came a 
sue cess- 
ful under- 
taking. 
In 1865, 
the bank 
became 
national - 
ized un- 
der the 
national 
banking 
system, 
and then 
the name 
of the 
institu- 
tion was 
changed 
to the 
Mer- 
chants 

National Bank, under which it has 
since been conducted with increasing 
successeveryyear. The location of the 
bank has always been at 34 Exchange 
street, the second floor of the first 
building erected by the bank being 
rented to the old Natural History So- 
ciety. This noted building was de- 
stroyed by the great Portland fire in 
1866, and is remembered by older resi- 




MERCHANTS NATIONAL BANK, 34 EXCHANGE STREET. 



dents of Portland as the only building 
built of iron and brick in the city. Up 
to the time of the fire, this structure 
was considered absolutely fire-proof. 
After its destruction, the present sub- 
stantial Merchants Bank building on 
Exchange street was erected on the 
same ground by the bank, and since 
its completion, the ground floor has 
furnished excellent quarters for the 

transac- 
tion of 
the busi- 
n e s s of 
the insti- 
tution, 
the upper 
stories 
bei n g 
rented for 
offices. 
At the 
time of its 
conver- 
sion into 
a nation- 
al bank, 
there 
were un- 
divided 
profits of 
$27,000, 
which 
amount 
has slow- 
1 y in- 
creased 
to $266,- 
000, its 
p r e s e nt 
s urplus 
and un- 
divided 
profits. 
Its capital stock has always been 
$300,000, and its deposits are 
$900,000. The first president of the 
institution was Isaac Adams; he was 
followed by William Woodbury, who 
in turn was succeeded by Rensellaer 
Cram; Jacob McL,ellan was the next 
president, and was in order replaced 
by George S. Hunt. In 1896, the 
present incumbent, Hon. James P. 



l62 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 



Baxter, for several years previous 
one of the directors, was chosen pres- 
ident. While the presidents of the 
bank have all been able financiers, 
the cashiers of the institution have 
contributed largely to the successful 
record made. The cashiers in order, 
are as follows: John Oxuard, Wil- 
liam Woodbury, Reuben Mitchell, 
Charles Oxnard, Charles Pay son, 
Joseph E. Oilman, and Charles O. 
Bancroft, the last of whom has been 
cashier since 1893, and has been con- 
nected with the 
bank for the 
past thirty years. 
The invest- 
ments of the 
bank have been 
made in the pa- 
per of local bus- 
i 11 e s s houses. 
The present 
management of 
the bank is com- 
posed of the fol- 
lowing officers 
and directors : 
James P. Bax- 
ter, president; 
Charles S . 
Fobes, vice- 
president; CO. 
Bancroft, cash- 
ier; directors, 
James P. Bax- 
ter, William R. 
Wood, Wood- 
bury S. Dana, 
Charles S. 
Fobes, George Burnham, Jr., Arthur 
K. Hunt and J. W. Tabor. 




F. H. NUNNS. 



New Falmouth Hotel. 

In this large hotel, Portland pos- 
sesses one of the finest of modern 
equipped hostelries in New England. 
It was in June, 1S68, that this mag- 
nificent structure was built, by the 
Hon. J. B. Brown, in fulfilment of 
his promise to the members of the 
board of trade to build a hotel that 
should be an honor to this city. The 



Falmouth, possessing all the accom- 
modations of the larger hotels of 
Boston and New York, stands as a 
fitting monument to Mr. Brown, in 
this his last demonstration of public 
spirit. The hotel, as at present con- 
ducted, has been presided over by 
F. H. Nunns since Aug. 22, 1898. 
Mr. Nunns, it may be said, has rev- 
olutionized the hotel business in Port- 
land since that time. His extended 
experience at the Astor House and 
the Union Square Hotel, New York 
City, Flagler 
hotels, Florida, 
Young's Hotel, 
Adams House, 
Quincy House 
and Nottingham 
Hotel, Boston, 
The Wellington 
of Chicago, the 
last of which he 
was manager, in 
addition to hav- 
ing for seven- 
teen years been 
proprietor of a 
leading summer 
hotel on the 
M assachusetts 
north shore, en- 
abled him to 
conceive the 
only plan upon 
which the Fal- 
mouth could be 
satisfactorily 
and successfully 
conducted; that 
was by remodeling, replumbing, 
equipping the hotel entire, after 
which was done, to conduct the house 
on the up-to-date metropolitan plan. 
That this was done, was easily dis- 
covered at the opening of the hotel. 
The house was newly, handsomely, 
and in many rooms, palatially fur- 
nished throughout, the furniture 
being made to order for the 225 rooms. 
On the main floor, the office with 
marble tile floor, has the aspect of a 
modern first-class hotel. There is a 
telegraph office, news-stand, public 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 



163 




164 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 



stenographer, telephone station, bar- 
ber shop, billiard hall and sample 
rooms for traveling salesmen . Neatly 
uniformed bell-boys and porters run 
hither and thither, and the clerks are 
active in assigning rooms and looking 
after the comfort of guests. Entrance 
to the hotel is gained by passing 
through a lengthy corridor, fitted 
with luxurious easy chairs uphol- 
stered in leather. Numerous palms 
and ferns and many valuable pictures 
make the corridor attractive. It is 
in the evening that the hotel shows 
to best advantage, the house being 
lighted brilliantly from its own elec- 
tric lighting plant. On the first floor 
also, with windows facing Middle 
street, is a writing-room fitted with 
Davenport individual writing desks 
of solid mahogany, beside numerous 
chairs upholstered in leather. Tak- 
ing the new elevator to the second 
floor, the large and palatial parlors 
are reached. There are large double 
parlors, reception rooms, blue room, 
Maine room, whist room and ban- 
quet hall. On this floor is the state- 
ly dining-hall, near which are com- 
modious, yet dainty private dining- 
rooms. The dining-hall is of the 
colonial style of grandeur. Large 
pillars support the newly decorated 
and unusually high studded ceiling. 
A large balcony on the left accom- 
modates either orchestra or specta- 
tors, or both. The room is adorned 
with tropical plants, and is one of the 
most attractive ever entered by a 
hungry guest. The cuisine is under 
the charge of a competent steward, 
and well paid chefs prepare the food 
served by intelligent waiters. The 
kitchen has been enlarged and is now 
one of the finest in the country; a 
new brick and cement flooring and 
heavy iron arches, make the room 
thoroughly fire-proof, while no smell 
of cooking can pervade the house. 
The rooms occupied by guests, are, 
many of them, en suite, with private 
baths. These baths are equipped 
with the newest open plumbing and 
are luxurious in themselves. The 



The hotel, since conducted by Land- 
lord Nunns, has given Portland a 
high reputation for travelers' accom- 
modation, and the house has many 
permanent guests. The hotel is con- 
ducted on the American plan, and is 
situated facing on Middle street in 
the heart of the city, electric cars 
passing the entrance every few 
minutes. 



Union Station Dining - and Lunch 
Room. 



This depot restaurant is properly 
called the finest in the State of Maine, 
and does much toward holding the 
reputation of the state for unexcelled 
food sendee. This is but one of the 
railroad restaurants operated by the 
Elmer F. Woodbury Hotel & Res- 
taurant Co., others being conducted 
at Brunswick, Bartlett, Mount Desert 
Ferry and Vanceboro; also the Jeffer- 
son Restaurant, 247 Middle street, 
Portland; Cafe Morton, 489 Con- 
gress street, and Old Orchard Pier 
Restaurant, and Cape Cottage Casino 
Cafe. The restaurant, of which the 
attractive interior is here shown, is 
the largest of these, and is open day 
and night, and during the summer 
months over a thousand a day patron- 
ize it. The large main dining-room, 
off from w r hich is a dainty room for 
the use of private parties, is finished 
in quartered oak. The snow white 
linen and attractively spread tables, 
are temptingly suggestive to the tired 
traveler, of a carefully prepared meal 
served almost instantly, and with the 
large force of experienced chefs and 
waiters, a small army can be served 
in a very few minutes. A large and 
beautiful marble and tile soda foun- 
tain, lunch counters, extending the 
wmole length on both sides of the 
hall, candy, fruit and cigar counters, 
all come in for a share of the atten- 
tion of the visitor. The dining-room 
is decorated with palms, and over the 
cashier's desk is a perfect specimen 
of buck deer, standing among small 
small pine trees. The head of a 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 



165 



large moose presented to Mr. Wood- 
bury by his friends, also adorns the 
walls. The manager is a native of 
South Paris, his father and grand- 
father before him having been en- 
gaged in the hotel business. He has 
been engaged in nothing else since 
he concluded a practical education in 
the public schools. He began by 
taking the restaurant at the depot in 
Brunswick, and has gradually built up 
his present business, now the largest 
in his line in the state. He is largely 
interested in the West End Hotel sta- 
bles, located nearly opposite the union 
station, and is also the owner of 
the Morton Bon Bon Co., which ope- 
rates a store on Congress street, the 
finest establishment for the dispens- 
ing of toothsome delicacies in the 
city. The chocolates and bonbons 
made there, are fully as dainty and 
luscious as those made by Huyler, 
and the goods are as popular. In this 
new venture of Mr. Woodbury's, noth- 
ing is spared to make the place the 




ELMER F. WOODBURY. 

most elaborately fitted and attractive 
in modern times. The upper floor is 
completely remodeled into refreshment 
parlors, there being a Turkish room, 
green room, gold room and silver room, 
all of which are marvels of splendor. 




INTERIOR UNION STATION CAFE. 



1 66 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 




INCANDESCENT ROOM, CONSOLIDATED ELECTRIC LIGHT CO. 



Consolidated Electric Light Co. 

Maintaining a plant, the capacity of 
w h ich 
is 2500 
horse 
power, 
is the 
above 
com- 
pany 
who 
fur- 
nish 
elec- 
tric 
light 
to the 
City of 
Port- 
land. 
The 
c o m - 
pan y 
was 
organ - 
ized in 
1883, 
has a 



charter 
for fur- 
nishing 
light 
a n d 
power 
a n y - 
w here 
in Cum- 
berland 
County, 
and 
the i r 
plant in 
this city 
on Plum 
street, 
has cost 
over 
$600,- 
000. 
The 
c o m - 
p any 
n o w 
400 arc 






furnishes the public with 

lights, 150 incandescent arc lamps, 

14,000 incandescent lights, 750 lights 




ARC ROOM, CONSOLIDATED ELECTRIC LIGHT CO. 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 



167 




i68 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 



at the casino, theater and cafe at 
Cape Elizabeth, beside providing 
motive power for manufacturing and 
other purposes. The corporation has 
in use at the present time about 300 
miles of wire, in and about this city. 
The company employ forty hands; 
their pay-roll is $25,000 annually, 
which, with the $35,000 paid out in 
this city for supplies, shows an annual 
disbursement of $60,000. The plant 
comprises one of the largest and finest 
equipped in New England, and the 
capital stock of the company is 
$500,000. The officers are as follows: 
Weston F.Milliken, Pres.; William R. 
Wood, Treas.; George. E. Raymond, 
Mngr., and H. B. Chandler, Supt. 



Maine & New Hampshire Granite 
Company. 



Standing at the head of the most 
extensive and valuable granite quar- 
ries of the world, are those of the 
Maine & New Hampshire Granite Co. , 
who have office headquarters in the 
Baxter Building, Portland, and whose 
extensive building operations add 
fame to the Pine Tree State. At their 
quarries at North Jay, Maine, and 
Redstone, New Hampshire, the latter 
being situated at the base of the White 
Mountains, the company have a com- 
bined capacity for producing 6,000 
tons of rock daily. This consists of 
monumental, building work, paving 
and crushed rock, etc. When running 
to their full capacity, 2,000 men are 
employed. The company have oper- 
ated the same quarries continuously 
for many years, and the product com- 
prises respectively, red, green and 
white granite, of a superior quality, 
declared unsurpassed, from its pecu- 
liar freedom from iron-rust and the 
blemishes common to ordinary gran- 
ites. Their quarries and extensive 
workshops comprise one of the largest 
manufacturing plants in Maine, con- 
nected with which, the company pro- 
vide dwelling houses, halls, stores and 
everything necessary to the needs of 
the employees and their families. The 



best of harmony has always existed 
between the company and its work- 
men, who are treated with even- con- 
sideration for their comfort and rights. 
The reputation of the concern extends 
all over the country, and to a great 
extent to Europe; and it is doubtful 
if residents of Portland are fully aware 
of the magnitude of the building oper- 
ations of this company, who merely 
maintain large offices in this city. It 
may be said that although two-thirds 
of the force, about 1,200 men, are em- 
ployed in this state, that the work of 
the concern is better known in New 
York, Chicago, Philadelphia and the 
larger cities of the country than here. 
Among the extensive buildings con- 
structed by them from their granite, 
may be mentioned the following: The 
L. Z. Leiter Block, Chicago; Bowling 
Green Building, Lower Broadway, 
New York; The Smith Memorial, 
Fairmount Park, Philadelphia; Grant 
Monument, Riverside Park, New 
York; R. G. Dun Building, Lower 
Broadway, New York; Northern Un- 
ion Station, Boston & Maine R. R., 
Boston, and the handsome union sta- 
tion in this city. A conception of the 
massiveness of some of these struc- 
tures is gleaned, when it is stated that 
the Grant monument is 100 feet square, 
its height from base line to top of me- 
morial being 160 feet, or nearly 300 feet 
from the water level of the Hudson 
River. The great Smith Memorial 
Building, now being completed by the 
company, contains 1,530,000 pounds 
of granite. The company has at this 
writing over $1,000, 000 worth of work 
in hand. The accompanying views 
of the quarries and workshops, give 
but a limited idea of their magnitude. 
The massive buildings, built in the 
most substantial up-to-date manner, 
will, however, always show the best 
product of the granite of the states of 
Maine and New Hampshire, and the 
work of their most skilful artisans in 
the building line. The officers of the 
company are as follows: Ara Cushman, 
Pres.; Payson Tucker, Treas., and 
J. P. Murphy, Gen'l Supt. 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 



169 




N 



QUARRIES AND WORKSHOPS OF MAINE AND NEW HAMPSHIRE GRANITE CO. 



170 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 



A. S. Hinds. 



The proprietor of the toilet article, 
" Hinds Honey and Almond Cream," 
A. S. Hinds, was born in Livermore, 
Androscoggin County, Me., in 1844. 
Soon after his birth, his parents re- 
moved to Dixfield, where he spent his 
boyhood and obtained his education. 
He came to Portland at eighteen 
years of age, and first became a clerk 
in the drugstore of H. H. Hay & Co. 
He afterwards 
secured a more 
lucrative posi- 
tion with Thom- 
as I. Loring. 
After remaining 
with him for a 
period of five 
years, in 1870, 
he engaged in 
business for him- 
self , by purchas- 
ing a drug store 
under the Preble 
House. It was 
in response to 
the call of cus- 
tomers, even be- 
fore he became 
a proprietor of a 
store, for some- 
thing similar to 
h i s renowned 
preparation for 
the skin, that he 
set about to put 
up an article to 
meet that de- 
mand. At that 

time there was no preparation on the 
market but what was either sticky or 
greasy when applied to the skin; and 
when, therefore, after years of patient 
study and experimenting, he perfect- 
ed the formula for a smooth, cleanly 
and pleasantly applied article, his 
success in life, unknown to him, 
became assured. Now, in his private 
office, at his large laboratory in this 
city, he keeps as a trophy the egg- 
beater with which he mixed up his 
first quantities of Hinds Honey and 




a. s. HINDS. 



Almond Cream, as now on the 
market. From under the Preble 
House, Mr. Hinds removed his busi- 
ness to the corner of Pine and Brack- 
ett streets, which store he sold out in 
1889, removing to his present loca- 
tion at the corner of Pine and Clark 
streets, which property he purchased 
at that time. The building was en- 
tirely remodeled and, two years later, 
the area of the laboratory was enlarged 
by building a two and a half story ad- 
dition. Ten 
hands are now 
given employ- 
ment. It was 
in 1883 that his 
now celebrated 
preparation be- 
gan to attract 
attention o u t- 
side this city; 
and although he 
has no traveling 
men and spends 
no money scarce- 
ly in newspaper 
advertising, his 
preparation, be- 
ing the first of 
its kind on the 
market, and fil- 
ling a long felt 
want, has sold 
itself on its own 
merits. It is 
doubtful if there 
is any state in 
the union where 
the article is not 
in constant de- 
mand ; while its good qualities as a 
toilet article for all ordinary skin troub- 
les, has been as completely discovered 
in South Africa, as the diamond fields 
there. Mr. Hinds has agencies in 
South America, Hawaiian Islands, 
Australia, London and Montreal, and 
maintains a branch laboratory at the 
latter place. He also ships regularly 
in large quantities to South Africa 
and other parts of the globe. His 
success in putting this toilet article, 
his principal stock in trade, on the 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 






Finishing: Room. Packing Room. Laboratory. Office. 

Residence. Finishing Room. 

LABORATORY AND RESIDENCE, A. S. HINDS. 



172 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 



market of the world, with little or no 
advertising or solicitation of business, 
speaks wonders for his goods and 
business sagacity. Having resided 
in this city for nearly thirty years, he 
is a well known and esteemed citizen 
of the community. Some two years 
ago, he erected his present handsome 
brick residence on West street. He 
has four children, his oldest, Albert 
Henry Hinds, now compiling the 
genealogy of the Hinds family, being 
associated with him at the laboratory. 
Mr. Hinds is a thirty-second degree 
Mason and member of Aleppo Tem- 
ple, Mystic Shrine. He is also a 
member of the Portland Club, Port- 



was founded in 1858, and has grown 
to one of the largest in the Union, the 
firm conducting a large factory situ- 
ated on Munjoy, Beckett and Wilson 
streets, and a commodious office and 
salesroom extending from 106 to 112 
Commercial street, in this city. The 
original firm was composed of S. W. 
Wilson and Henry H. Burgess, who 
began grinding lead in a deserted 
of which stands the 
In 1 86 1, Mr. Wilson 
to the elder brother 
and the firm name 
was changed from Wilson & Burgess 
to Burgess Bros. & Co. Two years 
later, Charles S. Fobes, the present 



barn on the site 
present factory, 
sold his interest 
of Mr. Burgess, 




FACTORY, BURGESS, FOBES 4 CO. 



land Athletic Club, Venerable Cunner 
Association, Executive Committee 
Asso., Portland Board of Trade, Port- 
land Natural History Society, Pro- 
prietary Association of America, and 
other organizations. He was one of 
the founders and, since its organiza- 
tion, has been president of the Casco 
Paper Box Co., of Portland, and is 
one of the trustees of the Mercantile 
Trust Co., of this city. 



Burgess, Fobes & Co. 

This old established firm are large 
manufacturers and wholesale dealers 
in paints and japans. The business 



head of the firm, came into the con- 
cern with H. H. Burgess, when the 
firm became thereafter known as 
Burgess, Fobes & Co. In 1867, Me- 
ander W. Fobes, younger brother of 
Charles S. Fobes, was admitted to 
partnership. In 1872, after twenty- 
seven years' active service in the 
firm, Mr. Burgess died, his interest 
being purchased by the surviving 
partners. Having been possessed of 
able management from the start, so 
many years ago, the business has 
naturally grown steadily and rapidly. 
From a small drug store where 
paints and oils were carried, the 
business developed into a large, 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 



i73 





CHARLES S. FOBES. 



exclusive paint establishment ; the 
concern in its early existence being 
among the first to see the opportunity 
for an opening for a store in this 
vicinity, entirely devoted to the sale of 





si Kr n ■ in 



mi 



«_-_. ffftffigffitt-; 



SALESROOM, BURGESS, FOBES &. CO. 



LEANDER W. FOBES. 

paints. The paint ground at the fac- 
tory as first operated, was for the 
small store then conducted. The 
factory, now many times larger, turns 
out a million pounds a year, and uses 
in the manufacture 
of their goods, con- 
sidered the standard 
of high quality in 
trade, 3,600 barrels 
of oil, annually. 
The factory shown 
in accompanying en- 
graving, is a large 
two-story structure, 
with a frontage on 
Wilson street, of 75 
feet. Between thirty 
and fort}' stone and 
iron mills are re- 
quired at the works, 
for grinding domes- 
tic corroded lead, 
the material used in 
the manufacture of 
their celebrated 
goods. The most 
improved machinery 
is used and the fac- 
tory is equipped 
with all labor-saving 
appliances, many of 
the machines used 



174 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 



being designed by the members of the 
firm, both of whom are abreast of the 
times and equal to the sharp compe- 
tition of the present day. The plant 
is equipped with a sixty-five horse 
power engine, and an artesian well, 
which is sunk to the depth of 300 
feet, and from which is procured daily 
1 ,000 gallons of the coolest and purest 
water. The goods made a specialty 
of by the firm, in the sale and manu- 
facture of which they have won a 
well merited reputation, are as fol- 
lows: Burgess, Fobes & Co.'s pure 
lead, Portland liquid paints, Port- 
land fine colors in oil, and Portland 
coach colors in Japan. 



cinity. The first goods turned out 
by the concern were made in a small 
foundry at the corner of Fore and 
Cross streets, where the business was 
established in 1877. The popularity 
of the goods soon made it necessary 
for the company to seek larger quar- 
ters, in order to increase the capacity 
of the works, and the present location 
was chosen. Since the removal, fur- 
ther enlargements have been made, 
until the plant is now one of the most 
complete and best adapted for the 
business in New England. The 
company has every facility and ad- 
vantage for manufacturing all their 
different lines of goods, and the busi- 




WORKS, PORTLAND STOVE FOUNDRY CO. 



Portland Stove Foundry Co. 



The works of this company com- 
prise the two squares between Pearl 
and Chestnut streets, fronting on 
Kennebec street and extending in the 
rear to Somerset street, on which is 
located the tracks of the Portland & 
Rochester R. R. The company 
makes stoves, ranges, furnaces and 
heaters, under the distinctive name 
"Atlantic." The goods are well 
known to the large trade they supply, 
and are fully appreciated and very 
extensively used in Portland and vi- 



ness is increasing rapidly. The prod- 
uct is made from the raw material, 
with the utmost attention to perfec- 
tion in quality and finish. The pat- 
terns and models are all made by the 
company's designers. Their cooking 
ranges have won fame and reputation 
everywhere. All styles and sizes are 
fully warranted. The company's 
retail ware-rooms, adjoining the fac- 
tory, afford the opportunity to pur- 
chase thoroughly reliable stoves and 
heaters of the highest grade, and to 
supply the parts of any made by them 
within the past twenty-five years, 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 



i75 



without loss of time, or payment of 
express charges. In the matter of 
repairs alone, therefore, there is a 
great saving to the purchaser of these 
excellent home-made stoves. Heat- 
ing stoves of artistic merit, as well as 
of great heating capacity, are includ- 
ed in the large variety of goods made 
here and sold both at wholesale and 
retail, and are warranted to give the 
best of satisfaction. The company 
makes and supplies heaters for church- 
es, schools, stores, residences and 
public buildings, designed to burn 
either coal or wood. The furnaces 



kind in the state, affording employ- 
ment to nearly 100 men. The exec- 
utive officers are, F. M. L,awrence, 
president and manager, and Arthur 
P. Howard, secretary and treasurer. 
All are invited to visit the works be- 
tween the hours of 2.30 and 3.30, 
when the molten iron is daily drawn 
from the immense cupola furnace and 
poured into the molds. A trip to 
this model establishment will richly 
repay visitors, who upon application 
at the office, will be furnished an 
escort through the works. 




WORKS, PORTLAND STONEWARE CO. 



made by this company have improve- 
ments and conveniences not found on 
others, which make them especially 
desirable. Estimates are furnished 
on application, without charge. A 
combination hot water and hot air 
heater known as the "Atlantic Com- 
bination Ventilating Heater," has no 
equal at the present day. For the 
manufacture of high grade cooking 
and heating apparatus, this company 
has indeed earned and achieved a 
reputation which brings no small 
credit to Portland. It is the largest 
manufacturing: establishment of the 



Portland Stoneware Co. 

This local manufacturing concern 
has developed into one of the largest 
of its kind in the United States. The 
goods manufactured, comprise all 
kinds of drain-pipe, vitrified brick, 
locomotive brick and garden urns, 
the latter in endless variety. To the 
large plant, important additions have 
been made every year, and 40,000 
tons of clay are annually used, and 
200 hands are given employment. 
About ten acres of ground space are 
occupied. Spur tracks from the 



176 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 




PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 



177 



Portland & Rochester R. R. extend 
through the plant, and an average of 
six car-loads is the daily shipment of 
the company to all parts of the United 
States. It is estimated that over 100 
miles of drain-pipe are kept in stock, 
comprising all 'the different sizes, 
from a small two-inch pipe, two and 
one-half feet long, weighing ten 
pounds, to the thirty-inch pipe, 
weighing 660 pounds. The clay 
comes direct from New York and 
New Jersey, and a large amount of 
native blue clay is used. The w T orks 
are admirably fitted for turning out 
the largest orders, and the reputation 
of the concern has placed the com- 
pany well in the front ranks in its 
line in the country. In addition to 
large, new brick buildings, the plant 
possesses tw r enty-four kilns, which 
are located outside the main shops. 
Every kiln has a capacity for holding 
six car-loads of pipe, and in these 
mammoth ovens the clay is burned 
into the finished product. The com- 
pany is fully equipped for supplying 
the largest contracts, and many 
orders as large as 200,000 feet have 
been filled and shipped to New Eng- 
land points. Besides manufacturing 
brick for every conceivable kind of 
fire-box, from the linings of small 
cook stoves to the largest fire-boxes 
of modern locomotives, the concern, 
in recent years, has turned out in 
large quantities the new vitrified 
brick for paving, which has an ad- 
vantage over granite blocks, being 
smoother and easier to ride over; 
this new brick is now being exten- 
sively used and turned out. These 
bricks are made from a specially pre- 
pared clay, and fifty-four bricks a 
minute are pressed in the large ma- 
chines. In the manufacture of gar- 
den urns, made in artistic and varied 
patterns, for both public and private 
grounds, the company have a large 
output. This important industry 
adds much to the reputation of Port- 
land as a manufacturing center. The 
proprietors of the company are Wins- 
low & Co., of which E. B. Winslow, 



of Portland, is the head, and to 
whose executive ability the marked 
growth of the business, and the di- 
versity of its products as now yielded, 
are due. 



Delano Planing Mill Co. 

This large concern, manufacturers 
and dealers in all kinds of lumber 
and house finish, was founded some 
forty years ago, and ever since has 
supplied contractors and builders with 
the material in their line. The mills, 
where thirty hands are given regular 
and remunerative employment, are 
located numbers 482-488 Fore street, 
and, having almost doubled in the 
amount of business done in the past 
six years, are among the larger con- 
cerns in their line in the State of 
Maine. The planing mills contain 
all the facilities for the speed}* con- 
version of raw lumber into the vari- 
ous kinds of material used for all 
wood building purposes. Kiln-dried 
hardwood flooring, stair and cabinet 
work, sawing, planing and turning 
are done to order, in the shortest 
possible time consistent with first- 
class work. The customers of these 
mills, views of both the exterior and 
interior of which are shown, com- 
prise mostly local contractors, and the 
reputation of the mills among their 
customers has ever been the highest. 
A good class of w r orkmen is em- 
ployed. The officers of the present 
concern, which is incorporated, are 
W. F. Wadsworth, president and 
manager; Frederick C. Dudley, 
treasurer. The present manager, 
W. F. Wadsworth, has success- 
fully piloted the affairs of the com- 
pany for the past six years. He has 
been associated with the concern for 
the past seven years and, being a 
skilled mechanic, intelligently pro- 
vides for the varied wants of the 
trade. He is well known in Port- 
land, having resided and been asso- 
ciated with his present line of 
business for the past fifteen years, 
and possessed a five years' experience 



i 7 8 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 

i -i 















VIEW SHOWING DELANO PLANING MILLS. 



in the same line previous to coming to product expedites the completion of 
this city. These busy and noisy mills the many houses and buildings con- 
add to the importance of Portland as tinuously being erected in this com- 
a manufacturing center, and their munity. 




MAIN FLOOR, DELANO PLANING MILLS. 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 



179 



R. K. Gatley. 



This well known citizen is a prom- 
inent member and a past department 
commander of the G. A. R. He was 
born in England, and has resided in 
the United States since 1849, at which 
time he went to Manchester, N. H. 
He afterwards removed to Concord, 
N. H., and while there became fore- 
man of "Concord Two," a company 
connected with the fire department. 
When the war broke out, he enlisted 
in the service, eighty members of the 
fire company going with him. After 
the great Portland fire, he came to 




especially prominent and popular in 
the Grand Army, Mr. Gatley is a 
Knight Templar Mason and life mem- 
ber of Portland Commandery. He is 
also a Red Man and Odd Fellow. He 
was one of the originators of the Port- 
land and Casco Building & Loan 
Association. 



C. H. Crocker Company. 



This heating concern conducts bus- 
iness in a three story brick building, 
at 40-42 Preble street. While stoves, 
kitchen furnishings, steamboat and 
hotel supplies are kept in great 




R. K. GATLEY. 

this city and became a member of the 
old plastering firm of Gatley, Sheri- 
dan & Griffiths, which concern also 
did much concrete walk making. In 
1869, the firm dissolved, and Mr. 
Gatley opened his present establish- 
ment, 59 and 61 Union street, where 
he has since remained and conducted 
a successful business for thirty years. 
He is a plasterer, stucco and mastic 
worker, beside doing whitening, 
whitewashing, coloring and cement- 
ing on a large scale, employing sev- 
eral men the year round. Although 
not a sculptor, he makes reproductions 
of busts and casts. Beside being 



C. H. CROCKER. 

variety, the corporation make a spec- 
ialty of heating houses and buildings 
by steam, hot water and hot air. It 
is here that the Crocker Waste Heat 
Radiator is made. This invention, 
on which C. H. Crocker has secured 
patents, has already introduced itself 
in several Portland homes. It is 
made in one size, and similar in ap- 
pearance to any modern style of radi- 
ator. It acts as a ventilator and air 
purifier as well. This radiator heats 
a hall or room by the means of heat 
that would otherwise go up chimney. 
The plan of the inventor in attaching 
a radiator to the pipe extending from 



i8o 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 



the heater to the chimney, immedi- 
ately commends itself to those who 
live in a poorly heated house. This 
radiator is made at the C. H. Crocker 
Company's workshop, on the second 
floor of the building. Mr. Crocker 
is a native of Gray, but has resided 
in Portland for twenty years past. 
He has been engaged in the plumb- 
ing and heating business for fifteen 
years, and is a member of the Mason- 
ic fraternity and the Knights of Pyth- 
ias, and is one of Portland's best known 
and popular 
business men. 



John P. Lovell 
Arms Co. 



Perhaps be- 
cause Portland 
is a natural start- 
ing point for 
hunting and fish- 
ing expeditions 
in the State 
of Maine, but 
more through the 
ch arac t eristic 
enterprise o f 
Colonel Benja- 
min S. Lovell, 
was the now 
thriving sport- 
ing goods store 
of the John P. 
Lovell Arms 
Company in this 
city, estab- 
lished. It was 

with seeming confidence that the store 
would be supported, that he fitted up 
one-half of the present establishment 
180 Middle street, now the largest in 
its line of any store in the state, open- 
ing the same May 16, 1894, and plac- 
ing in charge the present local man- 
ager, Warren H. Chase. The fact 
that the following year the adjoining 
store, 182 Middle street, was added, 
the partition between being removed 
to form the present commodious doub- 
le store, snowed that the colonel's 
confidence in Portland patronage was 




COL. BENJ. 

Pres. John P. L 



not overestimated. Since the store 
was first opened for business, the 
trade has been on the steady increase. 
The source of supply of this busy 
store is practically unlimited, for it is 
a well known fact that The John P. 
Lovell Arms Company is the oldest 
concern in New England; and it is 
safe to assume that, without counting 
their various branch stores, the main 
establishment, 163-165 Washington 
street, Boston, where the whole build- 
ing of six stories is occupied, com- 
prises thelargest 
and handsomest 
store in its line 
in the United 
States. The 

business was es- 
tablished in 
1840 bv the late 
John P. Lovell, 
and for years 
was conducted 
on Washington 
street, at the 
foot of Cornhill, 
Boston. Not- 
w i t h s t a n ding 
that the concern 
acquired every 
available foot of 
additional room, 
the business 
outgrew its 
cpuarters,andthe 
present build- 
ing, a few doors 
above. was 
leased and re- 
modeled entire, for the use to which 
it is now put. The establishment is 
a marvel of beauty, convenience and 
gigantic proportion, and contains an 
endless stock of goods of the desira- 
ble kind and variety, that only could 
be conceived of by Col. Lovell, the 
active head of the now large corpora- 
tion, the stock of which is held 
entirely by the Lovell family. It has 
often been said that it is impossible 
for one to call for anything in the 
line of sporting goods, but can be in- 
stantly supplied. A small army of 



S. LOVELL, 
ovell Arms Co 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 



isi 




PORTLAND STORE, JOHN P. LOVELL ARMS CO. 



clerks are employed and the different 
departments are conducted under 
modern systematic business princi- 
ples, and the store is the natural 
headquarters of New England, in its 
particular line. Beside maintaining 
this giant store in Boston, The John P. 
Lovell Arms Co., has branch stores 
in Boston, Providence, Pawtucket, 
Worcester and Bangor. The Port- 
land store has by no means been the 
least successful of the several stores 



of the company, and from its com- 
plete stock of goods and commenda- 
ble management, is much appreciated 
by both the local and foreign patron- 
age. The same goods are found 
here, in the same variety, as at the 
mammoth main store in Boston, and 
at the same reasonable prices. Sport- 
ing goods of every kind and descrip- 
tion, athletic, base ball, foot ball, 
tennis, golf, bicycle supplies and sun- 
dries, cameras, and their accessories, 



4T 



a ,^ H » i jf^ 










ti ff 



tf *» 



FACTORY, JOHN P. LOVELL ARMS CO., SOUTH PORTLAND. 



182 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 



uniforms, and beside ammunition, 
guns, revolvers, fishing tackle, and a 
thousand and one articles in cutlery, 
skates, etc., the store is the head- 
quarters for Maine for the popular 
Lovell Diamond bicycle, which stands 
first among all makes of wheels 
among the wheelmen of Portland 
and the State of Maine. In locating 
their large bicycle factory, which, 
since 1895, has been in continuous 
operation at South Portland, the 
Lovell Arms Company have added 
much to the importance of this local- 
ity as a manufacturing center. The 
Lovell Diamond, as made the past 
two years, stands pre-eminent among 
the innumerable wheels on the mar- 
ket. Within a radius of several 
miles of the factory, where its mode 
of manufacture is known as thor- 
oughly almost as a Christian knows 
his catechism, the Lovell Diamond 
is ridden ten to one of all other 
makes combined . This is particular- 
ly true regarding the city of Port- 
land and its suburbs. The popularity 
of the wheel is rapidly spreading, 
and to a great extent, has pervaded 
the entire state. There are now about 
100 agents of the "Diamond" in 
Maine, and all report that all riders 
are highly satisfied with the makup 
and wear of the wheel of the present 
day. The busy factor}- at South 
Portland, employing 350 men, mostly 
skilled and high-paid mechanics, 
in charge of Lyman H. Cobb, super- 
intendent, is taxed to its utmost 
this year, and its capacity is 10,000 
wheels. The Lovell Diamond has 
been found, upon investigation, the 
most honestly made wheel on the 
market, and although the company 
have met the competition of all high 
grade wheels on the general sweep- 
ing reduction in prices, yet the}* have 
improved rather than weakened the 
makeup of the wheel. Particular 
attention has been given recently to 
the wearing parts. A most positive 
proof of the success of the company 
in the wearing qualities of the Lovell 
Diamond, is the fact that no calls 



have been made for parts at the fac- 
tory on either the '97 or the '98 
wheels. At the Portland store, 
where 600 of the wheels were sold 
last year, reports are that nothing but 
praise can be said of the wheel of the 
present. The company, always lib- 
eral in their business dealings with 
the buying public, is scarcely better 
known than its president, Col. Benja- 
min S. Lovell, whose activity in bus- 
iness, social and public life have 
made him a well-known favorite in 
New England. 



Cumberland Illuminating Co. 

This company, now erecting poles 
in Portland, maintains a plant and 
controls valuable water privileges on 
the Presumpscot River at Great Falls. 
The company promises to transmit 
power to Portland, and furnish elec- 
tric light and motive power at from 
one-third to one-half lower price than 
can be profitably furnished by any 
steam plant, an advantage to manu- 
facturers and others highly beneficial 
to the city. When this is accom- 
plished, which seems inevitable in a 
few weeks, Portland will be one of 
the few cities on the Atlantic sea- 
board availing itself of water power 
for manufacturing purposes. The 
Presumpscot River, although empty- 
ing into the sea some distance from 
the limits of the city, is one of the 
valuable water powers of the state; 
and, diverting its course, so to speak, 
causing it to flow continuously 
through every street and avenue of 
Greater Portland in invisible form, is 
a feat to be everlastingly applauded. 
It is a benefit which will bring about 
a rapid and healthy growth of the 
community. The Cumberland Illu- 
minating Company, of which Geo. 
W. Brown, of this city, is president, 
and to whom credit is almost entirely 
due, having secured all necessary 
rights, in spite of the bitterest and 
and most influential opposition, is the 
agent through which this great pub- 
lic benefit and economv takes form. 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 



183 




1 84 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 



To the credit of this city be it said, 
that in this instance the will of the 
people prevails, and the company, 
with its resurrected charter and dis- 
position to furnish light and power at 
a low rate, has been granted permis- 
sion by the first city government of 
Greater Portland to erect poles, and 
thereby conduct business. The story 
of the struggles in which politics fig- 
ured to no small extent, dates back 
two years, when Jesse Peterson was 
defeated by the state legislature in 
his attempt to break down laws gov- 
erning light and power companies in 
this state. After the defeat of his 
measure, Mr. 
Peterson came to 
Geo. W. Brown, 
then manager of 
the Belknap Mot- 
or Co., to enlist 
his sympathy and 
interest in the 
transmission of 
power from the 
Presumpscot 
River to Portland . 
In Mr. Brown, 
he found a ready 
listener and 
strong ally. Af- 
ter several at- 
tempts, all of 
which ended in 
signal failure, 
Mr. Peterson be- 
c a m e discour- 
aged, and aban- 
doned the fight against such strong 
odds. Mr. Brown, still determined 
and not so easily discouraged, under- 
took to secure options. His efforts 
finally began to show signs of suc- 
cess, when, May 27, 1S97, with F. J. 
Collier, he met those interested in 
New York. The conference resulted 
in the securing of several valuable 
options, notably: the properties of 
the United Indurated Fibre Co., 
Indurated Fibre Co., and the Rock- 
ameecook Co., the last named cover- 
ing the Whitney Falls, giving 27 
feet head, and the former at Great 




GEO. W. BROWN. 



Falls, of 22 feet head, with dam all 
constructed. Afterwards a large 
amount of real estate in and about 
Great Falls was secured, and the 
mills of Goff & Plummer at Middle 
Jam, were purchased, giving 14 feet 
additional head, and in all a total of 
63 feet of fall. This gives a flow of 
water from 40,000 to 70,000 cubic 
feet per minute, or from 5,000 to 
8,000 horse power. The dam at 
the outlet of Sebago Lake, con- 
structed by the Presumpscot Power 
Company, is one of the greatest 
points of advantage of the Presump- 
scot River, as it impounds the water 
up to a maxi- 
mum level of 
nine feet above 
the average sur- 
face of the lake, 
and furnishes a 
storage area of 
about 97 square 
miles. This 
dam insures an 
ample flow at 
all seasons which 
would otherwise 
be probable only 
in the spring of 
the year. The 
Sebago P o w e r 
Co., purchased 
all these valu- 
able rights, which 
up to this time 
were useless as 
far as their be- 
ing utilized in Portland were con- 
cerned. It was after this that Geo. 
W. Brown unearthed and purchased 
the charter of the old Portland Elec- 
tric Fight Company, which made all 
things possible. The plant of the 
Deering Electric Light Company, 
and the controlling interest in the 
stock of the Cumberland Illuminat- 
ing Company was secured by Mr. 
Brown and others, giving them the 
right to do business in Westbrook, 
Deering and Cape Elizabeth, while 
poles were erected to the Portland 
line through Falmouth and Windham. 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 



185 



Last August Mr. Brown purchased 
Mr. Collier's interest and now owns 
two-thirds of the business. The 
building of the present plant at Great 
Falls enabled the company to dis- 
pense with steam and transmit the 
current to the patrons of the Deering 
Electric Light Company and Cum- 
berland Illuminating Company, as 
well as supplying this city up to the 
extent of 6,000 horse power, sufficient 
for many years to come, and in antic- 
ipation of the doubling of the city in 



capitalized at $100,000, has paid for 
all its privileges and plant, and under 
its management its future is a bright 
one. The officers of the Cumberland 
Illuminating Company are as follows: 
Geo. W. Brown, president; M. H. 
Kelley, treasurer; Geo. C. Shaw, 
Henry M. Jones, Geo. W. Brown, 
and H. L. Jones, form the board of 
directors. The office of the Cumber- 
land Illuminating Co., Portland Elec- 
tric Light Co., and Deering Electric 
Light Co., now comprise new and 




INTERIOR, STATION, CUMBERLAND ILLUMINATING CO., GREAT FALLS. 



population. Since the plant com- 
menced operation, the customers of 
the Cumberland Illuminating Com- 
pany have increased from thirty to 
two hundred in number. The plant 
has eight water-wheels of combined 
capacity of 750 horse power, and is 
one of the most modern in equipment. 
The Cumberland Illuminating Com- 
pany is in every way a home com- 
pany and its stock, which is sold at 
par, is liberally subscribed for by a 
large number of people, in small 
quantities. The company, which is 



handsome quarters at I: 
Square. 



Monument 



Williams Manufacturing; Company. 



This concern, which stands among 
the foremost of wood-working plants 
of New England, and is the second 
largest of its kind in the State of 
Maine, operates busy mills on Ken- 
nebec street, Portland, and gives reg- 
ular and remunerative employment 
to upwards of fifty hands. The mills 
with 60,000 feet of floor space and 



i86 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 



lumber sheds of one million feet ca- 
pacity, conveniently adjoin the tracks 
of the Portland & Rochester Rail- 
road, with spur tracks running di- 
rectly into their y ard . The company ' s 
operations extend far outside the 
city, and their reputation as lumber 
dealers and as artistic and thorough 
builders, in their line, is well known. 
The concern was incorporated in 1893, 
and it was the following year that 
Geo. T. Edwards, now president, 
and his father, who was treasurer of 
the Berlin Mills Company, bought 
out the stock of the Williams Manu- 
facturing Company. Upon his 
father's decease in 1896, Geo. T. 
Edwards succeeded him as president, 
and has since piloted the affairs of 
the company most successfully. Be- 
sides bein^ fitted with the most mod- 



fine residences outside the state show 
the artistic work of this company; 
such as the interior finish of the 
Hotel Wentworth, New Castle, N. 
H., cabinet work and panel work in 
the dwelling of Thomas A. Ward, 
Esq., Portsmouth, N. H.; all the 
windows, glass show-cases, etc., for 
the B. Peck block, Dewiston, Me., 
besides nearly 100,000 feet of rift 
floors for the same building; lumber 
and interior finish for the residence 
of Capt. E. Matthews, Deering, Me., 
and the interior wood-work of the 
reception room and smoking rooms at 
Riverton Park casino — a view of the 
former room being shown on a prev- 
ious page. In addition to the cred- 
itable work above mentioned, the 
company possesses standing samples 
of their work in Ogunquit, York 




OFFICERS, WILLIAMS MANUFACTURING CO. 

Geo. T. Edwards, James F. Macy, Arthur W. Pierce, Frank B. Moody. 

President. Treasurer. Director. Director. 



ern machinery, this concern has one 
of the largest and best appointed 
cabinet shops in the country; oper- 
ates its own dry kilns and possesses 
every facility for turning out interior 
finish to the best advantage; thus 
enabling them to compete success- 
fully with the largest concerns in 
their line. All kinds of wood manu- 
facturing are done by them; they 
make, however, a specialty, of finish- 
ing houses complete and are noted 
for their line of fine mantels, and ele- 
gant veneered and solid doors, in all 
kinds of wood from original designs, 
and selected stock. Skilful designers 
and carvers are employed, and the 
interior fitting of buildings, stores, 
offices, etc., as done by the Williams 
Manufacturing Company adds credit 
to the artisanship of Portland work- 
men. Many public buildings and 



Harbor, Bath, Augusta, Hallowell, 
Brunswick and Portland, Maine; 
Portsmouth, Exeter and Dover, N. 
H.; Magnolia, New Bedford, Boston 
and Manchester-by-the-Sea, Mass., 
and several cities in New York state. 
The president of the company, 

GEO. T. EDWARDS 

was born at Annapolis, Md.. and is 
one of Portland's promising young 
business men. He was educated in 
the public schools of this city, and 
entered business life as an employee 
of the First National Bank of Port- 
land. He later became a clerk and 
salesman under his father, at the 
office of the Berlin Mills Company. 
Since assuming the helm of the Wil- 
liams Manufacturing Company, he 
has shown marked energy and busi- 
ness ability. He resides in Deering, 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 



187 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 



in the historic estate known as "High- 
field," in which the poet Longfellow 
spent many of his summer vacations 
with his brother, its former occupant. 
The treasurer, James F. Macy, is also 
a young man, and an able financier 
and well known. Arthur W. Pierce 
and Frank B. Moody, two directors 
of the company, add strength in bus- 
iness experience, to the concern. 
The company 
have recently 
increased 
their capital 
stock and 
have fitted up 
a large three 
story factory 
with the most 
modern ma- 
chinery, 
which n o w 
has a capac- 
ity of sever- 
a 1 hundred 
doors per day. 
They also 
have connec- 
tions w i t h 
some of the 
largest mills, 
in the South, 
and receive 
theirproducts 
direct, both 
by car load 
and caroo. 



The Thomas 
Laughlin 
Company. 




T. S. LAUGHLIN, 
President and Manager The Thos. Laughlin Co 



The busi- 
ness of The Thomas Laughlin Com- 
pany, manufacturers and dealers in 
marine hardware, of this city, fur- 
nishes an encouraging page in man- 
ufacturing history. The business of 
the concern was established by the 
late Thomas Laughlin, in whose hon- 
or the present corporation is named. 
The start was made by him as far 
back as 1836, in the days of small 
things, and therefore, the business 



was first conducted in a small way, 
and in strong contrast to the present 
time. Careful consideration of the 
needs of the trade soon placed the 
business on a substantial foundation, 
from which, in the sixty-three years' 
continuation, it has never been shak- 
en. The present head of the con- 
cern, Thomas S. Laughlin, went into 
his father's shop to learn the trade of 

a shipsmith 
in 1857. In 
i860, he was 
made a part- 
ner, and the 
firm of Thom- 
as Laughlin 
& Son was 
continued 
until his 
father's death 
in 1890, when 
the present 
c o r p o ration 
was formed. 
The rapid 
growth of the 
business i n 
recent years 
has caused 
notable addi- 
tions to the 
plant, which 
in 1894, was 
removed to 
the present 
location on 
Fore street. 
To this new 
plant import- 
ant enlarge- 
ments are 
c on t emplat- 
ed. The works give employment to 
nearly 100 well paid workmen, and 
cover several acres of ground, with 
the recent acquisitions. There are 
six large and commodious buildings; 
the machine shop is equipped with the 
latest improved machinery and tools. 
The block shop is a three-story struc- 
ture, with modern wood working ma- 
chinery, arrd admirably designed for 
its purpose. In the rear is the forge 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 



shop, and near it the forging shop 
and galvanizing shop. The sales- 
room of the company on Commercial 
street comprises a large three-story 
building, in the rear of which are 
excellent tide water privileges; and 
on the street front, the tracks connect 
with the several lines of railroad ter- 
minating in Portland; while the near 
proximity to the English steamers 
give the best of transportation facili- 
ties. Under the general name of 
marine hardware, the goods made 
comprise an output almost endless in 
variety: tackle, blocks, galvanized 



devised under its roof. While the 
company maintains, as before stated, 
a large salesroom on Commercial 
street, the sales of which are enor- 
mous, in supplying the local trade, 
this utilizes but a small percentage 
of the output; the product is used in 
every quarter of the globe, and the 
concern enjoys a world-wide reputa- 
tion. A large order from foreign 
lands is frequent; and, only recently, 
an order of great magnitude was 
filled and shipped to Russia. The 
name of the concern is synony- 
mous with high grade and reliable 




WORKS, THE THOMAS LAUGHLIN CO. 



ship, yacht and boat trimmings, gen- 
eral iron work, inwrought, malleable 
and cast iron, bronze and brass cast- 
ings, galvanizing, tinning and nick- 
el plating, are all done in the several 
distinct departments, of the large and 
busy plant. The neatness of the 
shops, and good order always pre- 
vailing, show the best of manage- 
ment, and the character of the men 
employed, many of whom have been 
there from ten to twenty-five years, 
and made valuable inventions, of 
profit to the business. All the spec- 
ial tools used at the plant have been 



goods in the line of marine hardware; 
and goods manufactured, bearing 
their name, are accepted as standard 
in the markets of the world. In the 
possession of this industry, which 
has brought such richly deserved 
fame to Portland, this city is pecu- 
liarly fortunate, while the money 
disbursed through its employees, is 
of importance to this community. 
The officers of the concern are, T. 
S. Laughlin, president and manager; 
John E. Fisher, treasurer; T. S. 
Laughlin, H. N. Pinkham and Wil- 
liam McBride, directors. 



igo 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 




JOBBING HOUSE, A. H. BERRY SHOE CO. 



A. H. Berry Shoe Co. 



This large shoe manufacturing and 
jobbing house was established in 1890, 
and its reputation extends far over the 
country. The history of the business 
is brief but eventful, 
and from the start 
has been most cred- 
itable to Portland. 
Started first as a job- 
bing house, at the 
end of the first year 
the business absorbed 
that of Lord, Haskell 
& Co., and again in 
1894, the business 
of Charles J. Walker 
& Co., was added. 
Two years ago, the 
company commenced 
manufacturing, and 
in this they have 
been also successful. 
Their salesrooms 
comprise the whole 
building of three 
stories and basement, 
149-155 Middle street, 
and the factor)', a 



large brick build- 
ing of three stories 
and basement, on 
Plum street. The 
two buildings are 
fully occupied and 
the large business 
is increasing year- 
ly. The company 
does a large job- 
bing business in 
New England in 
boots, shoes and 
rubbers. The 
product of their 
factory comprises 
special lines of 
ladies' shoes, sold 
by the retail trade 
throughout the 
country, at prices 
ranging from $1.50 
to $2.50. These 
goods are highly 
appreciated by the trade, and consid- 
ered the best on the market for the 
money. The demand for these shoes 
is such that although the company 
have been manufacturing but two 
years, the factory is taxed to its utmost 




liii 




FACTORY, A. H. BERRY SHOE CO. 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 



191 



capacity; although recent enlarge- 
ments have increased the factory to 
nearly double its former size. In 
their jobbing business, the company 
employ fourteen traveling men, and 
have a large trade in the eastern ter- 
ritory, coming in direct competition 
with all the large jobbing houses of 
New England, meeting them always 
on equal terms. That they have 
easily held their own, a glance at 
their shipping-room at most any time 
of da>- shows; while their prices are as 
low as the lowest, and their immense 
stock fully adequate and up with the 
times. The founder of the business 
and present manager and treasurer 




FACTORY, GOUDY &. KENT. 



is A. H. Berry, a well known resi- 
dent of Portland. The factory is 
under the charge of L. P. Hawkins, 
one of the best known and most prac- 
tical shoe manufacturers of New 
England. 



Goudy & Kent (Corporation). 



This, the oldest bakery in this city 
or surrounding territory, has devel- 
oped into one of the important man- 
ufactories of Portland, shipping its 
good to all parts of the country. The 
business was first started in a small 
way by a Mr. Bradish, it is said, near- 



ly 100 years ago. After being con- 
ducted several generations in the 
Bradish family, the stand was taken 
by Pearson & Smith. They were 
succeeded by W. C. Cobb. Later 
the firm became W. C. Cobb & Co. 
In 1881, L. A. Goudy, a member of 
the former firm, conducted the busi- 
ness alone until 1886, when he be- 
came associated with Edward A. 
Kent, who was formerly of the firm of 
R. Kent & Son, and who brought to 
the firm the reputation since gained 
in the manufacture of Kent's pilot 
bread. Since 1S93, the business has 
been conducted by the present cor- 
poration, and the goods, always up 

to the stand- 
ard, have in- 
c r e a sed in 
sale annually. 
The factory 
at the corner 
of Pearl and 
Milk streets, 
compri s e s a 
large struc- 
ture, 120x120 
feet in dimen- 
sions. Be- 
side doing a 
large baking 
business and 
supplying the 
c o m m u n ity 
for s e v e r al 
miles around 
with bread, 
cake and pastry, Kent's celebrated 
pilot bread, a thousand and one kinds 
of fancy crackers are made for the 
wholesale and retail trade. Confec- 
tionery is also made in large quan- 
tities, with which the trade through- 
out the country is also supplied. 
The reputation of the concern is sec- 
ond to none, either in quality and 
excellence of its goods, or in point of 
reliability. The business of the con- 
cern requires the services of 150 
hands at the factory, and twelve trav- 
eling men, and fifteen teams operated 
in this immediate vicinity. The 
present officers of the compan)' are 



192 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 



J. G. Young, 
president, and 
Harry Thomas, 
treasurer and 
manager. The 
recent marked 
growth of the 
business and not- 
a b 1 e improve- 
ments to the plant 
and its output, 
are due to the 
present progres- 
sive manager. 



I 



v 




(0m 



Jerome Rumery 
& Co. 



The mills and 
lumber sheds of 
this well known 
concern, are lo- ' — 

cated opposite the jerome rumery. 

Portland & Roch- 
ester station, at 91-105 Kennebec 
street, and admirably situated for the 
manufacture of dimension lumber, 
clapboards, shingles, laths, and house 
finish. The plant has been notice- 
ably enlarged in the past few years, 
and excellent trausportational facil- 
ities are immediately at hand, the 
tracks of the Portland & Rochester 
Railroad adjoining both the front 
and rear. Since occupying the pres- 
ent location, nine years, the firm has 



been composed of 
Jerome Rumery, 
who needs no 
introduction i n 
these pages, and 
James O. Mc- 
Lean, who for the 
past sixteen years 
has been associ- 
ated with Mr. 
Rumery, both as 
employee and 
junior partner. 
Mr. Rumery has 
been engaged in 
business in his 
present line since 
1875. Previous 
to that, he was a 
clerk for T. & J. 
B. Cummings. 
In 1877, after 
conducting busi- 
ness alone for two 
years, he formed the concern of Rum- 
ery, Birnie & Co., who were for many 
years on Deake's wharf. The good 
name of the concern has, therefore, 
been built up after a epiarter of a 
century's successful effort on the part 
of Mr. Rumery. It may be said that 
no mills in this line hold the confi- 
fience of contractors and builders to a 
greater extent than those of Jerome 
Rumery & Co. The buildings are 
owned by them, all but one of which 




MILLS AND YARDS, JEROME RUMERY &. CO. 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 



193 



have been erected since their occu- 
pancy of the property. There is a 
large main mill, with offices on the 
second floor; the establishment is 
equipped with the most modern labor- 
saving machinery; there is also a 
large kiln dry house and two com- 
modious lumber sheds. Mr. Rumery 
is favorably known in Portland; he 
has served two years in the city gov- 
ernment; is a knight templar Mason, 
an Odd Fellow and a member of the 
Portland Board of Trade. 



ence over thirty-five years. It was 
founded by A. D. Smith, a leading 
contractor, and one of the present 
proprietors. The present business 
relationship between Mr. Smith and 
Frank A. Rumery, was formed Jan- 
uary 1, 1899. The business requires 
practically all of the large two-story 
building, seventy-five feet long and 
forty-five feet deep. This building 
is of historic interest, from the fact 
that it was once familiarly known as 
the old Printers Exchange. The 










INTERIOR, MILLS OF SMITH & RUMERY. 



Smith & Rumery. 



Of the many building contractors 
in Portland, a firm doing an enormous 
business, is that of Smith & Rumery, 
who operate the extensive mills at 
510 to 516 Fore street, with large 
lumber sheds in the rear. The}' 
are general contractors and manu- 
facturers of and dealers in all kind 
of lumber and house finish, doors, 
sash and blinds. The business, 
although now conducted under a 
new firm name, has been in exist- 



machiuery in operation comprises the 
latest and best for every description 
of mill work, and the capacity of the 
plant is adequate for the large and 
increasing business. About sixty 
hands, on an average, find employ- 
ment in the various departments. 
Mr. Smith built the Farrington, 
Storer, Davis, Wolf & Ricker, Rines 
and Brown blocks, and the firm has 
done considerable important work for 
the government. Innumerable houses 
scattered throughout the city and in 
the suburbs, testify to the volume of 



194 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 





n 


: - - S 


— / , — 

.-/-■ . 




/ ' ' 


J'- — 






1 


~ — 1%— i Ml 




■r« 



r 






l 




PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 



i95 



business done by this firm. People 
requiring the services of building 
contractors, by employing this firm 
get the benefit of long and active ex- 
perience, a plant thoroughly equipped 
for the work to be done, and the am- 
bition to excel, induced by the infu- 
sion of new blood into the business. 
Added to this are the benefits to be 
derived from that business pride pos- 
sessed by an established firm, which 
in this case, is sufficient assurance 
that the standard of excellence will 
not be lowered. 



Milliken, Cousens & Short. 



The firm of Milliken, Cousens & 
Short is one of the largest dry goods 
jobbing houses in the New England 
states, and it is without doubt the 
largest establishment of the kind in 
any city of like population in the 
United States. This business is lo- 
cated on Middle street, in the very 
heart of the wholesale district of 
Portland. It occupies the whole of 
one large building, one hundred and 
sixty-five feet deep and five stories 
high, in addition to one whole floor 
in an adjoining building. The illus- 
trations herewith presented give a 
hint of the magnitude of the estab- 
lishment. The business was found- 
ed in the year 1865, under the name 
of Deering & Milliken, and to this 
name the firm of W. H. Milliken & 
Co. was the successor. After the 
death of Mr. Milliken, in 1S90, the 
business was continued by Milliken, 
Cousens & Short. The members of 
this firm are individually well known 
in dry goods and clothing trade cir- 
cles, and are all influential and respect- 
ed citizens of Portland, being num- 
bered among the solid business men 
of the city. Milliken, Cousens & 
Short are jobbers in general dry goods, 
small wares, clothing and men's furn- 
ishings, and their influence on the 
market is regarded as an important 
factor, in their lines of trade. Their 
extensive business, in addition to 
covering and supplying the State of 



Maine, extends throughout the states 
of New Hampshire, Massachusetts, 
Vermont and New York. To prop- 
erly cover this territory, twenty trav- 
eling men are employed, and their 
work can hardly fail to add to Port- 
land's growing reputation and pres- 
tige as a wholesaling center. The 
firm manufactures clothing, overalls, 
jumpers, etc., the business furnish- 
ing employment, on an average, to 
about one hundred girls and fifty 
men. The concern is one that is 
thoroughly alive and up-to-date in 
even- respect, and the large volume 
of daily shipments proves conclusive- 
ly that they are able to meet success- 
fully the prices and standard of 
quality set by the jobbing houses 
of New England and the Middle 
states. In their business they hand- 
le the output of several mills, and 
their stock is always fresh and 
desirable. 



The Belknap Motor Company. 

The high honor of setting the 
standard of excellence in these bust- 
ling days of competition, is achieved 
by comparatively few, but the policy 
of the Belknap Motor Co., has car- 
ried it resistlessly upward to that 
eminence, until the name of the firm 
has become synonymous with the 
best in the line of goods manufac- 
tured and sold. Through 3'ears of 
constant growth, it has come to be 
one of the most widely and favorably 
known of Portland's well known bus- 
iness enterprises. This company 
was incorporated in 1S90, and the 
officers are: President, Hon. E. B. 
Winslow; treasurer, E. R. Payson; 
manager, E. E. Fernald; head elec- 
trician, W. H. Chapman. From the 
time of the organization of this 
company, its business has had a 
phenomenally steady growth, the 
productive capacity of the plant 
having more than doubled. This 
success was not brought about by 
luck, or by a fortunate combination 
of circumstances, but bv the fact that 



196 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 



the goods put upon the market were 
of the highest grade of mechanical 
excellence. Add to this the business 
reputation of the men who have been 
behind the enterprise, the push, un- 
tiring energy and business integrity, 
which have always characterized the 
management of the Belknap Motor 
Co., and you have the secret of its 
enviable success. The product of 
the plant is motors, bipolar and 
multi-polar dynamos, commutator 
brushes and electrical instruments of 
all kinds. One of the important 
specialties is the Chapman automatic 
voltage regulator, for either the alter- 




E. E. FERNALD. 

Manager Belknap Motor Co. 

nating or direct current system. This 
regulator is the invention of W. 
H. Chapman, the head electrician of 
the company, and its utility consists 
in the fact that it produces a steady 
current from an unsteady power. 
Its merits are such that it has at- 
tracted universal attention, and has 
been sold for use in all parts of the 
world. This company also manu- 
factures coffee mills, water motors 
and woven wire brushes; it has a 
large business in the installation of 
dwellings and business blocks for 
light and power, attends to elevator 



repairs and makes a specialty of 
electric railway repairing. The plant 
in Portland at present employs about 
forty-five hands, but it is simply a 
question of time when the increasing 
demands of business will call for still 
larger quarters, with a consequent 
increase in the size of the force em- 
ployed. The exhibit made by this 
company at the World's Fair in 1893, 
brought to the attention of the whole 
world the unrivaled merit of its prod- 
ucts, and the impetus given by this 
and other judicious plans of adver- 
tising, coupled with the important 
fact that machines and appliances 
were always found to be as represent- 
ed, have aided materially in building 
for the Belknap Motor Co., a reputa- 
tion that enables it to compete with 
rivals in all parts of the world. The 
company now has branch offices in 
Boston, New York, Philadelphia, 
Chicago, St. Louis, Milwaukee, 
Minneapolis, Toledo, Denver and 
San Francisco. A glance at the 
books of this company would surprise 
many who have watched the growth 
of the enterprise, from its inception, 
through the various stages of devel- 
opment, down to the present time. 
Here are recorded sales of motors, 
dynamos, regulators, and a general 
assortment of electrical appliances, 
in nearly every state in the Union, 
and in several foreign countries. 
After an analysis, giving due credit 
to the mechanical excellence of the 
goods manufactured, it can be truth- 
fully said that an important element 
in the success of the Belknap Motor 
Co. has been the untiring energy 
and clear business foresight of the 
present manager, E. E. Fernald. 
Mr. Fernald was born in Portsmouth, 
N. H., thirty-four years ago. He 
was educated in the high school and 
at Smith's Business Academy. Com- 
ing to Portland fourteen years ago, 
he at once went to work for the Port- 
land Company. When the Giant 
Motor Co. came into existence he 
accepted the position of foreman of 
the factory, performing his duties in 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 



197 




INTERIOR, MAIN SHOP OF BELKNAP MOTOR CO. 



a highly satisfactory manner. He 
remained with this company until the 
organization of the Belknap Motor 
Co., when he accepted the more 
lucrative position of superintendent 
of the newly organized enterprise. 
Early in the present year he was made 



manager of this company, a position 
he is eminently qualified to fill, not 
only because of that education which 
comes through years of experience, 
but by reason of a natural aptitude 
that can neither be obtained from 
books nor acquired by experience. 




PORTLAND HARBOR BY NIGHT. 



198 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 



Loring, Short & Harmon. 

Now the largest house in Maine, 
in its line, and doing a manufactur- 
ing, wholesale and retail stationery 
and book business, is the well known 
concern of Loring, Short & Harmon, 
located at 474 Congress street. As 
a firm, they commenced business un- 
der the Falmouth Hotel in 1868, and 
moved into their present spacious 
quarters in 1882. They started with 
a force of five assistants and now 



and 
cern 
are 



lines. They have an extended whole- 
sale and retail trade in wall papers 

interior decorations. The con- 
since 1896 a corporation, also 

large manufacturers of blank 
books of all kinds and sizes; and on 
the fourth floor of the building they 
conduct a large blank book bindery, 
in which twenty hands are employed. 
They have the agency for the Globe 
Company's filing cabinets, etc. The 
officers of the company are as follows: 
Leonard O. Short, president; Charles 




ESTABLISHMENT OF LORING, SHORT &. HARMON. 



have on their pay-roll over fifty names. 
They employ five traveling men, and 
their trade extends not only through- 
out the State of Maine, but through 
the neighboring states of New Hamp- 
shire and Vermont and the Canadas. 
Their store comprises one of the few 
real bookstores left in New England, 
and they carry one of the most exten- 
sive stocks of books east of New 
York. Their trade in stationery, 
fancy goods and druggists' supplies is 
large, the second story of the build- 
ing being devoted to samples in these 



C. Harmon, treasurer; Martial M. 
Duroy, Jr., secretary; who, with L. 
Lester Woodbury, Fred \V. Robin- 
son and William H. Stevens, com- 
prise the directors. 



A. R. Wright Co. 

This concern, made a corporation 
some four years ago, does an exten- 
sive business in supplying this and 
other communities with the various 
kinds of coal. Their wharves and 
pockets, recently improved and 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 



199 



enlarged, are located on Commercial 
street, where they possess the most 
modern facilities for unloading and 
handling coal. The recent building 
of a cable elevated railway, 2,000 feet 
in length, encircling the whole plant, 
and the erection of an automatic coal 
hoister and digger, with a capacity 
for unloading from 700 to 1,000 tons 
daily, has placed this concern in the 
front ranks of the large dealers of the 
state. The company utilize two 
wharves and their coal sheds have a 
combined capacity of 12,000 tons. 
Beside doing a large retail business 
in family trade, they have an exten- 
sive wholesale business, not only 
supplying various manufacturing 
plants, but are extensive shippers to 



filling orders. The officers of this 
progressive coal concern are Augus- 
tus R. Wright, president, and Geo. 
L. Gerrish, treasurer. 



The D. W. Clark Ice Co. 



This, the largest concern engaged 
in the ice business in this vicinity, 
was established in 1855 by D. W. 
Clark. He conducted the business 
alone until 1873, when he took Ash- 
bel Chaplin as a partner. They 
continued for the next nine years, 
under the name of D. W. Clark & 
Co.; but in 1882, the firm became 
incorporated under a capital of 
$^500,000, under the name of the 
Clark & Chaplin Ice Co. This com- 




COAL WHARVES OF A. Ft. WRIGHT CO. 



points on the various railroad lines, 
terminating in Portland. Three spur 
tracks, connecting with all the differ- 
ent railroads, extend into their 
wharves, where the cars are loaded 
and weighed by car scales in the 
most advantageous manner. In their 
wholesale business, they are materi- 
ally aided by the low rates for freight 
along the lines their shipping is done. 
They buy in large quantities direct 
from the producers, and barges and 
steamers unloading are seen at the 
pockets at nearly all times. The 
company have two offices, comprising 
that at the wharves and pockets, 350 
Commercial street, and one at 50 Ex- 
change street. Some twenty odd men 
are given constant employment in 



pany controlled large ice houses on 
the Kennebec River, and did a 
large wholesale business, shipping 
one year 150,000 tons. In 1893, 
Mr. Clark sold his interest in the 
wholesale business and formed the 
D. W. Clark Ice Co., the officers 
of which are as follows: D. W. Clark, 
president; C. B. Thurston, treasurer; 
M. W. Clark, vice-president, and H. 
S. Watson, superintendent. The ice 
furnished the patrons of this com- 
pany is from Sebago Lake, which 
also supplies the city with its abun- 
dance of pure water. Sebago Lake 
ice is known to be absolutely pure, and 
for that reason is considered the best 
in the world. The ice houses of this 
company are located on the shore of 



200 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 




D. W. CLARK. 

this lake, where the}' cut ice for the 
city trade, storing in winter the ice 
for summer, when it is brought by 
the Maine Central Railroad day by 
day, to their depot on Merchant's 
wharf, 302 Commercial street. Ice 
is, therefore, obtained fresh daily, 



from the houses at the lake, and 
in the wagons distributed to cus- 
tomers. A large force of men is 
employed when the company 
harvest their ice at Lake Seba- 
go. The amount elevated from 
the lake to the houses is 30,000 
tons. The company being the 
oldest, its teams have been fa- 
miliar sights in the streets of 
Portland and immediate vicin- 
ity, and are always to be de- 
pended upon to make their 
numerous calls with almost 
clock-like regularity. The pres- 
ident of the company, 

DENNIS WOODRUFF CLARK, 

was born in Farmiugton, Conn., 
May 27, 1S19. He is descended 
from distinguished ancestry of 
colonial times. In 1S31, his 
father removed to Illinois. He 
first engaged in business at 
Rockingham, Iowa, and in 1840 
removed to Platteville, Wis., 
where he went into the mining 
and mercantile business. In 
1852, with his brother, Dr. J. W. 
Clark, and brother-in-law 7 , Elias Gill, 
he engaged in trade in San Fran- 
cisco and Sacramento, Cal., under 
the firm name of Gill, Clark & Co. 
Coming to Portland in 1S54, he en- 
gaged in the ice business, the present 




ICE HARVESTING AT SEBAGO LAKE BY THE D. W. CLARK ICE CO. 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 



20I 



large company being the result of 
his start. Mr. Clark was treasurer 
of the Leeds & Farmington Rail- 
road before that road was sold to 
the Maine Central, and for seven 
years was a director of the Port- 
land & Ogdensburg Railroad. 
Since 1873, he has been president 
of the Portland Water Company, 
and since 1885, of the Biddeford & 
Saco Water Company. He has 
for many years been a prominent 
member of the State Street Con- 
gregational Church, and in poli- 
tics has been successively a Whig, 
Free-soilerand Republican, but has 
never accepted nor aspired to pub- 
lic office. Having been a resident 
of this city for the past forty-four 
years, he has won the esteem of 
the community, and his activity 
in business circles and benevolence, 
have endeared him in the hearts of 
his fellow men. 




A. H. Moulton. 



Located under the New Falmouth 
Hotel, at 75 Union street, is A. H. 
Moulton, one of the most practical 
men in this vicinity, engaged in the 
steam and hot water heating busi- 
ness. His shop is well equipped with 
the necessary appliances for the suc- 
cessful prosecution of the work, and 
the establishment recently became 
possessed of a large thread cutting 
machine, run by steam power, for 
cutting thread on pipe up to six 
inches in diameter. Mr. Moulton 
employs from fifteen to twenty men, 
and has been located in business in 
this city for the past five years. He 
was formerly, for eleven years, asso- 
ciated with the Walworth Manufac- 
turing Company, and was one of the 
ablest men in the employ of that 
large Boston concern. Since engag- 
ing in business here, he has been 
highly successful, fitting up many 
prominent buildings with steam and 
hot water apparatus. Among the 
leading contracts assumed by him, 
the following: may be mentioned: 



A. H. MOULTON. 

New Falmouth Hotel, Preble House, 
Emerson School, Maine School for 
the Deaf, residence of H. P. Cox and 
Walter Corey store. He is a native 
of New Hampshire, and a member of 
the Knights of Pythias and Masons. 
He is one of the largest in stature 
and most popular of local business 
men. 



W. W. Carman. 



One of the largest contractors in 
his line is W. W. Carman, who con- 
ducts a large establishment at 78 
Union street. He fills important 
contracts in fitting up heating and 
power plants with heavy piping. 
His place comprises two floors, con- 
taining a large stock of heaters, radi- 
ators, steam, gas and water pipe, 
valves, fittings, etc. In the base- 
ment is the workshop, containing all 
modern machinery for the convenient 
prosecution of the work, including 
the only thread cutting machine run 
by steam power, capable of cutting 
from two to eight inch pipe, in or 
about Portland. Mr. Carman has 
always done a large share of the 
heavy work in the state, and since 
coming to Portland has kept up his 
large operations. Beside fitting up 



202 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 



power plants, he does a large business 
in public and private building heating 
by steam or hot water. He is agent 
for the Ideal boiler, especially adapt- 
ed to private and public buildings, 
each section of which is connected 
with an indestructible push nipple 
joint, not impaired by expansion or 
contraction. Mr. Carman's reputa- 
tion for good and thorough work, is 
known throughout the state. He 
has recently fitted up the new steam 
plant of the International Paper Com- 
pany at Otis Falls; the new steam 
heating plant at the Augusta Insane 



partner of the Carman-Thompson 
Company, at L,ewiston, from which 
concern he withdrew to engage in 
business alone. He is a man of 
much mechanical ingenuity, and 
comes of a family of mechanics. 
His father before him and several of 
his brothers, were engaged in that 
calling. From early boyhood, when 
he first worked at a lathe, he has 
been an industrious worker and stu- 
dent of his business; and since com- 
ing to Portland has been an interested 
adopted citizen, standing well in 
business circles. 



Portland Creamery. 



This creamery, supply- 
ing a goodly part of the 




Asylum, the new steam heating 
plant at the works of the New- 
bury port Car Co., and is about 
to erect and equip the new heat- 
ing and power plant at the State 
Reform School. One of his 
most notable contracts was the 
erection of the piping at the power 
plant constructed for the Nantasket 
Branch of the N. Y., N. H. & H. 
R. R., the first plant in this country, 
erected to generate electricity for 
propelling cars over a branch of any 
road of standard gage tracks. He 
employs skilled mechanics on all his 
work, and is considered one of the 
most practical heating engineers in 
New England. He draws his own 
plans, and no contract is too large 
for him to estimate on. He came to 
Portland and opened his present es- 
tablishment two years ago. He was 
for some years previously managing 



ESTABLISHMENT OF W. W. CARMAN. 

community with pure milk, cream 
and butter, is conveniently located 
opposite the union station. The milk 
is obtained from the farmers within a 
radius of ninety miles. The present 
company operating this creamery was 
formed in 1897, by absorbing the 
business of the following: Forest 
City, New Gloucester and East Wil- 
ton creameries. The owners are 
M. R. Berry, Charles B. Berry, F. W. 
Powers and Sherman Hapgood. The 
first two attended the public schools of 
this city, and have been well known 
here for many years. M. R. Berry 
started first in business by founding 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 



203 



the New Gloucester Creamery. This 
was fifteen years ago. His long ex- 
perience, added to that of his three 
associates, has made the Portland 
one of the best equipped creameries 
in the state. The product averages 
1,500 pounds of butter a day, and 
200 cans of milk and from 100 to 
1,000 gallons of cream are sold. The 
six teams of the company deliver at 
houses and call at all stores daily, in 
the city and Westbrook. Large 
quantities of buttermilk are also sold 
to boarding-houses. It is this cream- 
ery that 
supplies 
the com- 
munity 
with the 
"top of 
the can 
brand ' ' 
of ster- 
i 1 i z e d 
milk, 
which 
for puri- 
ty and 
excel- 
lence is 
unsur- 
passed, 
and 
recom- 
mended 
by phy- 
sicians 
2: ener- 



H. W. McCausland. 




INTERIOR PORTLAND CREAMERY. 



ally. 

This milk, justly appreciated in Port- 
land, was recently tested by Dr. J. R. 
Andrews, says the American Journal 
of Health, and "was found to respond 
to the most searching of tests, and is, 
therefore, impartially recommended 
by him as absolutely pure and health- 
ful." As the analyzer is a noted au- 
thority, and the analyzation made 
unknown to the creamery, the re- 
sult carries much weight. This milk 
is almost as thick as cream, but is 
sold for a nominal price per quart, 
and many families in this city there 
are that avail themselves of it. 



The name of McCausland is at 
once associated with bicycles and 
sewing machines, in the sale of which 
the above has become thoroughly 
known. Eighteen years ago, he 
made his first business start, laying 
the foundation for the substantial 
reputation he now holds. In 1890, 
he engaged in the sewing machine 
business, and shortly after added bicy- 
cles to his stock. Being thoroughly 
familiar with the instalment business 

and an 
aut ho r- 
ity o n 
w h e e Is 
and sew- 
ing ma- 
chin es, 
his bus- 
i n e s s 
r ap i d- 
1 y in- 
creased. 
The 
store 
now 
com- 
prises 
the first 
floor 
a n d 
base- 
ment of 
n u m - 
b e r s 
416- 418 
Congress street. It was two years 
ago that he gave the former occupant 
of 418 Congress street a bonus to 
remove his goods elsewhere, to enable 
him to enlarge his establishment to 
its present dimensions. The place 
has, therefore, been a headquarters 
for wheelmen, a veritable hospital for 
disabled wheels, and a never failing 
source of supply for sundries of every 
kind and description. Beside being, 
in every sense, abreast of the times, 
and a dealer whom all consider thor- 
oughly reliable, his proverbial good 
nature, no doubt often imposed upon 



204 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 



iu accommodating bicyclists in a 
thousand and one ways, is always 
apparent. With an eye to every- 
thing new that is desirable, he carries 
nearly all the popular makes of 
wheels, and, to the customer, his ad- 
vice and judgment in purchasing are 
to be relied upon. At this writing, 
he has in stock over 300 wheels. 
Among the makes most put forward 
are the following: Columbia, Colum- 
bia chainless, Clipper, Clipper chain- 
less, Monarch, Featherstone, Envoy, 
Fleetwing, Reading, Standard, El- 
dridge, and a long list of others. 
East year, about 650 wheels were 
sold at his store; if the reduction in 
the price of all wheels is any crite- 
rion, there will be many more dis- 
posed of by him this year. Mr. 



The James Bailey Co. 



The James Bailey Company is the 
oldest, and by far the largest, firm 
dealing in saddlery hardware and 
and horse furnishings in the State of 
Maine. This company is located in 
the old Greenough block on Middle 
street, now one of the principal busi- 
ness buildings of Portland. The en- 
tire block, five and one-half floors, is 
filled throughout with merchandise 
appertaining to the subject of the 
saddlery and the bicycle business. 
An enumeration of the endless va- 
riety of goods carried would be im- 




■1 



IT V .!..-«» 




H. W. MCCAUSLAND'S 

McCauslaud buys all wheels direct 
from the manufacturers, and his 
prices are as low as in any store in 
the country, and his treatment of 
patrons as liberal. He is a member 
of Adetta Eodge and Union Encamp- 
ment I. O. O. F. He is also a mem- 
ber of Ivanhoe Eodge, K. of P., and 
the Portland Wheel Club. In the 
bicycle trade, hy fair treatment to all 
and thoroughly understanding his 
business, he has become the largest 
individual dealer in the state. He is 
an esteemed resident of Portland 
and, during the summer season re- 
sides at his cottage at Duck Pond. 



possible in the space here given. A 
partial list of the goods carried, as 
enumerated in the company's cata- 
logue, is as follows: horse blankets, 
wool, plush and fur robes, lap dust- 
ers, horse sheets, whips, riding 
saddles, road and trotting boots, har- 
ness leather, carriage trimmings, 
dog collars, hammocks, bicycles and 
bicycle sundries, and thousands of 
other articles, too numerous to men- 
tion, including a large and complete 
line of strap work and harness parts. 
The desirability and general excel- 
lence of the stock, and up-to-date 
manner of its display, gives the es- 
tablishment a thoroughly metropol- 
itan aspect. The business was 
founded in 1846, by the late James 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 



205 



Bailey, who conducted it personally 
up to the time of his death, in 1883. 
After the death of Mr. Bailey, the 
business was continued by his sous, 
and in 1892 it was incorporated un- 
der the name it now bears. The 
officers of the corporation are: Presi- 
dent, James W. Bailey; treasurer, 
William E. 
Bailey; secre- 
tary, George 
A. Fairbanks. 
These officers, 
with Chas. 
J. Bailey, com- 
prise the board 
of directors. 
They are job- 
bers and re- 
tailers of sad- 
dlery hardware 
and horse furn- 
ishings of ev- 
er}- d e s c r i p- 
tion, and are 
the largest 
jobbers of bi- 
cycles and 
bicycle sun- 
dries east of 
Boston. Em- 
ploying three 
traveling sales- 
men, they sup- 
ply the trade 
in Maine, New 
Ham p shir e 
and Vermont, 
coming into 
direct competi- 
tion with the 
largest con- 
cernsof Boston 
and New York. 
The business 
has shown a 

constant, healthy growth from the 
first, and the reputation of the firm 
has always been of the best. As 
showing the increase in business, it 
is noted that twenty years ago six 
men were employed where eighteen 
now find work. To meet the de- 
mands of this growing trade, the 




quarters occupied have been enlarged 
several times. The interior of the 
building has recently been remodel- 
ed, and made strictly up-to-date in 
all its appointments, possessing a 
spiral staircase, extending from base- 
ment to garret. The harness room 
is on the second floor, and is a model 
of modern con- 
venience. It 
is finished in 
hardwood, is 
lighted by elec- 
tricity, and is 
practically 
dust proof. 
Here can al- 
ways be found 
the largest 
stock of light 
and heavy har- 
nes s to be 
seen anywhere 
in New Eng- 
land, compris- 
ing all grades, 
from the low 
price article to 
the harness 
suitable for the 
most costly 
and stylish 
turnout. The 
long and hon- 
orable career of 
this company, 
entitles it to a 
foremost place 
among the 
substantial 
business firms 
of Portland. 



STORE, THE JAMES BAILEY CO. 



J. E. Goold & 
Co. 



A list of the prominent business 
houses of Portland would be incom- 
plete if it did not contain the name 
of J. E. Goold & Co., wholesale 
druggists, 201 Federal street, the 
worthy successors to the old and re- 
liable firm of E. L. Stanwood & Co., 
which was established in the year 



2o6 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 




J. E. GOOLD. 

1867. In 1880, J. E. Goold was ad- 
mitted to partnership in this com- 
pany, and in 1896 the business was 
incorporated under the name of J. E. 
Goold & Co., with Mr. Goold as pres- 
ident and general manager. Upon 
the death of Mr. Stan wood in 1892, 
he became the sole proprietor. Mr. 
Goold began the drug bnsiness in 
1862, as clerk for John \V. Perkins & 
Co., and four years later entered the 
employ of Mr. Stanwood, 
who conducted a jobbing 
business on Middle street, 
and then on Market street, 
subsequent to his removal to 
the present location of the 
firm. Mr. Goold's time, 
previous to Mr. Stanwood' s 
death, was spent principally 
on the road in the interests 
of trade, and he established 
for himself a reputation for 
integrity and sound judgment 
which has been a large factor 
in his successful business ca- 
reer. He is a man thor- 
oughly devoted to business, 
and has had neither time nor 
inclination for public office or 
outside issues. He is an 
Odd Fellow and a Mason, 
and in the latter order has 



risen to the rank of knight temp- 
lar. This firm carries a full line 
of drugs aud druggists' sundries, 
patent medicines, toilet articles, 
paints, oils, varnishes and paint- 
ers' supplies, cigars, tobacco, 
pipes, spices, etc. They are also 
agents for the sale of H. W. Johns' 
liquid paints and asbestos materi- 
als, recognized by the trade every- 
where as the standard of their 
class. This solid and substantial 
Portland firm has occupied its 
present quarters for a period of 
ten years, having the most com- 
plete confidence of the buying pub- 
lic, and noting each succeeding 
year a gratifying increase in busi- 
ness along all the lines to which 
attention has been given. Strictly 
up-to-date and alive to the de- 
mands of the times, it enjoys a large 
measure of public confidence and 
respect. 



The Globe Steam Laundry. 



The Globe Steam Laundry, al- 
though occupying a building possess- 
ing an unassuming exterior, is one 
of the largest laundries in New Eng- 
land, employing from 140 to 175 




STORE, J. E. GOOLD & CO. 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 



207 



hands. It not only provides the best 
of service in and about Portland, em- 
ploying six teams locally, but the 
scope of its work covers every New 
England state. The growth of the 
business has been enormous since it 
was established, about twelve years 
ago, by its present proprietor, T. J. 
Frothingham, with nine assistants. 
The laundry not only does a large 
business in the finer grades of work, 
but family washings are done care- 
fully and conscientiously, thus re- 
lieving the busy housewife of the 
hardest and most trying portion of 
her work. The establishment is 
equipped with every desirable mod- 
ern machine for washing, drying, 
starching and ironing. Every pos- 
sible comfort is provided for employ- 
ees, the interior being ventilated and 
cooled by six exhaust fans. The 
receiving department is located in the 
rear of the building, and goods are 
delivered from the front. The wash- 
ing department has cemented floors, 
and contains eleven large three-com- 
partment washers, five large exhaust- 
ers, and several extracting machines, 





GLOBE STEAM LAUNDRY. 



T. J. FROTHINGHAM. 

which take the place of old-fashioned 
wringers. On the first floor are the 
general office, the private office of 
the proprietor, and the starched goods 
department. Twenty hands are em- 
ployed in the starch room. From 
this room shirts, collars, cuffs, etc., 

go to the 
d r y i n g 
cabinets, 
and then 
to the iron- 
ing depart - 
m e 11 t , 
where each 
assist ant 
does a 
special 
part of the 
w o r k . 
Goods then 
go to the 
assorting 
room and 
from there 
to the ship- 
ping de- 
partment. 
On the sec- 
ond floor, 
are the 
shirt waist 



208 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 



and plain clothes departments. An 
air of wholesome cleanliness pervades 
ever\- nook and corner of the estab- 
lishment. Mr. Frothingham's suc- 
cess has been achieved by his 
progressive business methods and by 
a constant and untiring attention to 
all the details of his business. 



C. A. Hanson. 



Not only one of the largest con- 
tractors and 
builders is 
C. A. Han- 
son, but one 
whose e x- 
.tensive op- 
era t i o n s 
have ever 
been con- 
ducted to 
the com- 
plete satis- 
faction o f 
his custom- 
ers — a re- 
markable 
record for a 
cont r a c t or 
in any com- 
m u n i t y . 
Mr. Hanson 
was born in 
Yarmo u th, 
Me., forty- 
nine years 
ago, and 
commenced 
to learn his 
trade when 
a boy of 
t h i r t e e n 
years of age. 
During the 

Civil war, he was employed a portion 
of the time at the Oriental Powder 
Mills, but at sixteen years of age 
came to Portland, where he has since 
resided, and continuously been asso- 
ciated with carpentering. He first 
worked for Cummings & Brock, and, 
as a journeyman, was employed bj r 
other old-time leading contractors, 



viz: Charles Frost, Jordan Bros., 
Geo. Worcester and Spencer Rogers. 
He worked on the post-office and cus- 
tom house buildings, and always 
enjoyed a high reputation for consci- 
tiousness, and was ranked as one of 
the first in his profession. After 
concluding his work as a journey- 
man by a year's job in the Portland 
& Rochester Railroad work shops, he 
started in business for himself, under 
the most favorable auspices, — that 

of the good 
name and 
good-will of 
his employ- 
ers and the 
coram u n ity 
generall}'. 
Adopting a 
system for 
keeping ac- 
count, not 
only of all 
items of or- 
ders, but all 
the indus- 




trious men 
who might 
apply to him 
for employ- 
ment; he has 
ever since 
conducte d 
his business 
by the same 
sure a n d 
succe ssful 
m e t h o d. 
Among the 
b u i 1 d i ngs 
erected by 
him, are the 
c.a.hanson. following: 

finishing of 
the Y. M. C. A. building, Portland; 
Jefferson Theater, McCullum's and 
Gem theaters; Clapp building, Mon- 
ument Square, Portland, the front of 
which is of his own design; and a 
Si5,ooo residence for J. F. Robinson, 
at South Windham, and many others 
of which he has been both builder and 
architect. His shop and residence 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 



209 



on his property, 185 to 191 Grant 
street, are in a portion of the city re- 
cently improved and built up through 
his example and effort. His resi- 
dence, built as lie claims from odds 
and ends, is a most comfortable and 
thoroughly constructed house, in 
which there seems nothing lacking in 
modern improvements, even to speak- 
ing tubes and electric appliances for 
lighting gas and saving steps. He 
is a Republi- 
can in politics, 
but not an 
office seeker, 
finding pleas- 
ure in the com- 
forts of his 
well ordered 
and hospitable 
home. He is 
a member of 
the Knights of 
Pythias and 
New England 
Order of Pro- 
tection. 



George C. 
Shaw. 




When George 
C. Shaw came 
to Portland 
from Putney, 
Vt., in 1S60, 
his cash capi- 
tal was small, 
but he had a 
stock of pluck 
and energy 
that has served 
him better than mere money could 
have done. On coming to Portland, 
he opened a small retail grocery store 
at 235 Middle street. This location 
he has occupied ever since, except 
that when driven out by the great 
fire of 1 866, he removed that part of 
his goods saved, to the old market 
building in Monument square, where 
he remained until his store was re- 
built. Later he purchased the stock 
of C. A. Weston, located in the 



GEO. C. SHAW. 



building on Congress street, on the 
site now occupied by the Milliken 
block. Three years later he moved 
across the street, where his trade in- 
creased to such an extent that he was 
obliged to enlarge his quarters from 
time to time, until he had the largest 
and most commodious store east of 
Boston. On opening the new store, 
Mr. Shaw took into co-partnership 
his nephew, W. W. Sabine, and the 
fi r m became 
Geo. C. Shaw 
& Co. A few 
years ago, the 
firm purchased 
the large gro- 
cery store of 
A. L. Millett, 
just above the 
Congress street 
store, thereby 
securing i n- 
creased facili- 
ties for sup- 
plying a rapid- 
ly growing 
trade. In 
April, 1899, 
fire in the Con- 
gress street 
store did a 
large amount 
of damage, and 
necessi tated 
the closing of 
the store for a 
time. With 
characteristic 
energy, the 
firm secured a 
store in Mon- 
ument square, and at once began the 
work of fitting it for use. This new 
store was opened to the public on 
Saturday, June 3. It is without 
doubt the handsomest store devoted 
to the grocery business in the state. 
The ceiling is of steel, the finishings 
are of oak throughout, and no mod- 
ern convenience has been omitted. 
This new store will be devoted ex- 
clusively to the retail trade. On 
August 1 it is proposed to re-open 



2IO 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 







PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 



211 



the Congress street store. This re- 
juvenated store will cater to both the 
wholesale and retail trade, and will be 
be far ahead of the old store in the mat- 
ter of appearance and in facilities for 
business. It will have a frontage of 
seventy feet, a depth of one hundred 
and twenty feet, and will give em- 
ployment to seventy people. With 
three large stores, each complete in 
itself, under the management of men 
who have made the business a life 
study, it naturally follows that the 
firm of Geo. C. Shaw & Co., is a 
potent factor in Portland's commer- 
cial life. 

John F. Proctor. 

One of the most popular and relia- 
ble representatives of realty interests 
in Portland, is John F. Proctor, who 
has his office at 93 Exchange street. 
Mr. Proctor is a native of Portland, 
and has been in the real estate busi- 
ness here constantly since 1863, mak- 
ing it by far the oldest real estate 
concern in the city. Mr. Proctor's 
reputation has always been of the 
best, and he has a liberal and sub- 
stantial patronage. His business 
includes buying, selling and exchang- 
ing houses, farms, building lots, 
negotiating loans and mortgages, 
and attending to the collection of 




JOHN F. PROCTOR. 

rents and the management of estates. 
He is thoroughly conversant with all 
legal forms and requirements inci- 
dent to the transfer of every descrip- 
tion of property, and he has complete 
facilities for the purchase, sale and 
lease of houses, flats and business 
property, etc., and customers who 
consult him are sure to find some- 
thing to suit in the large variety 
offered. He has at all times on his 
books values to suit every investor, 
from the man of small means who 
wants to put his savings into a home, 



255 • STANDARD CLOTHING CO. * 255 




STORE OF THE STANDARD CLOTHING CO., MIDDLE STREET. 



212 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 



to the capitalist who is in search of a 
productive channel for his surplus 
resources. Mr. Proctor is a member 
of the Portland Board of Trade. 



Walter Corey Co. 



One of Portland's old and thor- 
oughly reliable business houses is the 
Walter Corey Co., the only concern 
in the city dealing exclusively in 
furniture and draperies. The busi- 
ness was established in 1836, and has 



1896, the appearance of the building 
was greatly improved by the erection 
of an entire new front. At this time 
also, another enlargement of quarters 
occurred, so that now 57,000 square 
feet of floor space are occupied. 
While the firm carries an almost in- 
exhaustible stock of the very best 
grades of furniture and draperies, 
numbering among their regular cus- 
tomers the elite of the city and state, 
they also carry medium priced goods 
in large variety. Furniture is also 




INTERIOR STORE OF WALTER COREY CO. 



been successfully continued ever 
since, an unbroken record of sixty- 
three years' honorable and straight- 
forward service. The founder, Walter 
Corey, began business on Exchange 
street, and remained there until the 
store was destroyed by the fire of 
1866. In 1867, he removed to the 
present location on Free street. The 
store now occupied has been much 
enlarged, to keep pace with increased 
business demands, and to give better 
facilities for serving the public. In 



manufactured on the premises; this 
makes it possible for the firm to con- 
scientiously guarantee the quality in 
every instance. A trip through the 
store at any time will show that the 
Walter Corey Co. carries goods, in 
quality and artistic excellence, suit- 
able for furnishing the finest mansion 
or city residence. The energetic 
clerks employed possess a correct 
taste on all questions of interior deco- 
ration, and their advice is sought by 
the most fastidious class of trade. 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 



213 



At the factory, thirty-five men are 
regularly employed. The store is 
one of the most attractive business 
places in Portland. It is off the main 
thoroughfare, making it somewhat 
difficult for the stranger to find, but 
this location enables the firm to do an 
enormous business, in which custom- 
ers get the benefit of a comparatively 
small expense account. When the 
founder of the business retired, his 

son, Walter 

L. Corey, 
succeeded to 
the business. 
Some nine 
years ago, 
a close cor- 
poration was 
formed, of 
which Walter 
H. Brown is 
president, 
Walter Iy. 
Corey, treas- 
urer and gen- 
eral manager, 
and Joseph 
T. Adams, 
clerk. 



The Norton- 
Chapman Co. 




In every 
city there are 
business 
firms that by 
reason of long 
years of safe, 
conservat i ve 
industry, nev- 
er taking 
chances 

where the prize was worthless, or miss- 
ing a safe opening for the extension 
of trade, are looked upon as a part of 
the substantial commercial life of the 
community. Such firms set the stand- 
ard for would-be competitors, and, 
careful of their own reputation, are 
important factors in the make-up of 
the reputation of the city. Among 
the lar°re and successful business 



HERBERT O. PHILLIPS. 



houses of Portland, the Norton- 
Chapman Co. is entitled to high rank. 
It conducts the business of general 
commission merchants, in flour, grain, 
mill feed, concentrated feeds, farina- 
ceous products and salt, and receivers 
of dry and pickled fish and canned 
goods, with headquarters in the Ox- 
ford building, 185 Middle street, and 
a branch office in Boston, 408 Chamber 
of Commerce. The business was 
founded o 11 
Sept. 1, 1863, 
by E. A. 
Norton, who, 
remained 
with the firm 
until 1 87 1, 
and C. C. 
Chapman, 
who is now 
president of 
the Chapman 
National 
Bank. On 
Mr. Norton's 
retirement 
from the firm, 
the business 
was contin- 
ued by Mes- 
srs. Charles 
J. and C. C. 
C hapnian, 
and in 1894 
it was incor- 
porated un- 
der the name 
it now bears, 
with Charles 
J. Chapman 
as treasurer 
and manager 
and principal 
On the death of C. J. Chap- 
1898, the junior member of 



owner, 
man in 

the firm, II. O. Phillips, became gen- 
eral manager. The growth of the 
business of this concern has been 
steady and substantial. Originally, 
a flour and grain commission house, 
for many years it did a larger busi- 
ness in this line than any other firm 
in Maine. Then a department was 



214 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 



organized to advertise, sell on orders 
and distribute the fish and canned 
goods of the state through the West 
and vSouth. This branch of the bus- 
iness, of which W. H. Shurtleff 
has charge, has met with flattering 
success, more than meeting the ex- 
pectations of its originator. As the 
excellent business foresight of the 
members of the company interpreted 
the demands of the trade, the firm 
branched out until it now does a gen- 
eral commission business. They are 
state agents for Maine for " Pills- 
bury 's Best" flour, generally acknowl- 
edged as representing the standard 
of excellence, and for the other vari- 
ous cereal products of the Pillsbury 
Mills, which through their efforts 
have become articles of daily con- 
sumption in a large percentage of the 
households of the state; they are the 
New England agents for the feed 
products of the Glucose Sugar Re- 
fining Co., of Chicago, the largest 
producers of this particular line of 
goods in the world, their 

"Chicago Gluten Meal," 

being recognized as the 

highest quality dairy 

feed manufactured, and 

they represent a score 

of other milling com- 
panies for the handling 

of .specialties. Corn, 

oats, bran, middlings, 

and wheat are received 

direct from the West, 

and thoroughly distrib- 
uted in the territory 

supplied by this enter- 
prising firm. In turn, 

through their brokers 

in all the large cities of 

the West and South, 

they distribute the fish 

and canned products of 

Maine. The business 

conducted is a strictly 

wholesale one, and its 

volume is such that all 

orders are filled prompt- 
ly and at the very 

lowest market prices. 



Herbert O. Phillips, the present man- 
ager, has been connected with the 
firm for many years. He began work 
in the capacity of office boy, and by 
reason of unusual ability and strict 
attention to the demands of business, 
he has advanced steadity from the 
lowest to the highest position. To 
his excellent judgment and ability to 
read the signs of the times, the ma- 
terial success of this firm is in no 
small measure due. Mr. Phillips is 
at present a member of the Portland 
city council, and is everywhere re- 
garded as a valuable citizen, not only 
because of his sterling business repu- 
tation, but also by reason of his en- 
gaging social qualities. Hon. Charles 
J. Chapman, who, with his brother, 
Cullen C. Chapman, took so large a 
part in laying deep and broad the 
foundations upon which the business 
reputation of the Norton- Chapman 
Co. rests, was born in Bethel, Oxford 
County, Me., Jan. 29, 1846, and died 
at his home in Portland, June 1, 




FIRE INSURANCE OFFICE OF DOW 4 PINKHAM, EXCHANGE ST. 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 



215 



1898. He began his education in the 
public schools of his native town, 
fitted for college and graduated from 
Bowdoin with the degree of A. B., in 
the class of 1864. After graduation 
he went to Minnesota, where he was 
employed two years by the Northern 
Pacific Railroad. In the year 1870, 
he returned to Maine, and at once 
entered upon the business career 
which eventually proved such a bril- 
liant one. Mr. Chapman was a Re- 
publican in politics, and in 18S6 he 
was elected mayor of Portland. His 
clean, business-like administration 
was so thoroughly appreciated, that 
he was re-elected for the two succeed- 
ing terms by flattering majorities. It 
was during 18S6 that Portland cele- 
brated its centennial anniversary as 
a town, and the success of the event 
was due largely to Mayor Chapman's 
comprehensive grasp of the demands 
of the occasion. He was a man of 
sterling worth, and his character in 
public and private life was unim- 
peachable. 



M. D. Hanson. 



One of Portland's leading photog- 
raphers is M. D. Hanson, proprietor 
of the Hanson studio, in Monument 
square, many of whose views and 
portraits are reproduced in this work. 
This studio, although it had been in 
operation thirty years, had been 
closed six months, when Mr. Hanson 
purchased it seven years ago. By 
producing work of the finest grade, 
and by giving the same careful atten- 
tion to each customer, he has ac- 
quired an eviable reputation, and 
built up a large business. The fact 
that he gav r e 2,200 sittings last year, 
is evidence of the popularity of his 
work, which comprises everything 
from the copying of small pictures to 
the making of large portraits, by the 
modern platinum process. While his 
photographic work is unexcelled, he 
is a talented artist in posing, and in 
crayon, pastel and water color. He 



is the only photographer in the city 
doing all his own work in the last 
mentioned line. Mr. Hanson was 
born in Calais, Me., and was for sev- 
eral years associated with the Stan- 
leys of Iyewiston. His talent as a 
crayon artist won for him an engage- 
ment with the large establishment of 
Sprague & Hathaway, of Somerville, 
Mass., where he remained several 
years before commencing business for 
himself. His is one of the finest and 
best equipped studios in the state, 
and uses only the Dalleu^er lenses, 




M. D. HANSON. 

the best in the world. Mr. Hanson 
is president of the New England 
Photographic Club. He has distin- 
guished himself by ordering to oper- 
ate the first automobile used in 
in Portland, and probably the first in 
the state. 



The Thurston Print. 



The founder of the plant of The 
Thurston Print was Brown Thurston, 
who was born in Winthrop, Me., Oct. 
6, 18 14, and, coming to Portland in 



2l6 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 



November, 1841, opened an office at 
13 Exchange street. In 1843, he 
took into partnership Arthur H. 
Branseomb, George F. H. Ilsley and 
L,evi W- Fenley, under the firm name 
of Thurston, Ilsley & Co., and moved 
to the third story of 64 Exchange 
street. In 1844, they purchased the 
office of the Free Will Baptist Repos- 
itory in Saco, which was consolidated 
with the 
Portland 
plant after 
about ayear. 
About this 
time the firm 
fitted up a 
stereotype 
foundry and 
greatly en- 
larged their 
facilities for 
work. This 
firm was the 
first to use a 
power press 
in the State 
o f Maine. 
The part- 
nership of 
Thurston, 
Ilsley & Co. 
w as d i s- 
solved in 
1846, and 
Samuel 
Thurston 
was taken 
into the new 
firm of 
Thurston & 
Co. In 1 85 1 
S a m u el 
Thurston retired, and Newell A. Fos- 
ter and William H. Jerris came in 
under the firm name of Thurston, 
Foster & Co. This was dissolved at 
the expiration of a year. In 1854, 
Mr. Thurston moved into the Fox 
block, at the corner of Exchange and 
Middle streets. He continued with- 
out a partner until 1865, when his 
son, Charles B., was admitted to the 
firm. The great fire of July 4, 1866, 




FRED. L. TOWER, PRES. AND MNGR., THURSTON PRINT. 



destroyed the plant and dissolved the 
partnership, but Mr. Thurston, un- 
daunted by reverses, purchased a 
new outfit, which was located tem- 
porarily on Commercial street, and 
afterward moved into the building 
now occupied on Exchange street. 
In 1874, Stuart A. Strout and John 
H. Russell were taken into partner- 
ship. Mr. Russell severed his con- 
nection in 
1880, and 
Mr. Strout 
con tinued 
with the 
firm until 
his death in 
1885. In 
1886 George 
H. Watkins 
came into 
the firm, 
which was 
incorporat- 
ed on March 
3, 1890, as 
the Brown 
Thurston 
C ompany, 
with Brown 
Thurston as 
president, 
and George 
H. Watkins 
as treasurer. 
Three days 
later, M r. 
Watkins 
died and 
Charles B. 
Thurston 
was chosen 
treasu rer, 
and Fred. L. Tower was elected gen- 
eral manager. In 1895, M r - Thurs- 
ton retired from the firm, and the 
business was acquired by The Thurs- 
ton Print, a corporation formed for 
the purpose, with Mr. Tower as pres- 
ident and general manager, and I. 
N. Halliday as treasurer and super- 
intendent. On the retirement of Mr. 
Halliday, in 1898, Will F. Davis 
became treasurer, and the duties of 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 



2 17 



superintendent devolved upon Mr. 
Tower. The Thurston Print is now 
by far the largest exclusive job print- 
ing plant in Maine. Additions and 
improvements are constantly being 
made, and all modern facilities for 
neat printing are in use. Among the 
recent important additions, is one of 
the latest improved type-setting ma- 
chines. Besides publishing a large 
number of directories for cities and 
towns in Maine, the directories of all 
the principal cities in the United 



He was educated in the public schools 
of Stoughton, and in the Roxbury 
High School. Beginning business 
life as clerk in the office of the E. 
Howard Watch Co., where he re- 
mained two years, he was afterward 
employed as clerk by several promi- 
nent Boston grocery firms. Impaired 
health, caused by close confinement, 
led him to seek outside employment, 
and he accepted a situation with W. 
A. Greenough & Co., directory pub- 
lishers. In 1SS1, whenW. A. Green- 




THURSTON PRINT, SHOWING PRESS ON WHICH THIS BOOK WAS BEING PRINTED. 



States are here kept on file. As 
artistic printers of the finer grades of 
half-tone work, The Thurston Print 
has earned a wide reputation. This 
volume is a good specimen of their 
work in this line. Frederic Lincoln 
Tower, the president and general 
manager, is one of Portland's able 
business men. To his able manage- 
ment and painstaking care, the pres- 
ent enviable reputation of this firm is 
largely due. He was born in Stough- 
ton, Mass., Aug. 23, i860, and is 
descended from old colonial stock. 



ough & Co. purchased a half interest 
in the Portland directory, Mr. Tower 
came to Portland as compiler of it, 
and laid the foundation of his marked 
business success. B. Thurston & 
Co. were the publishers of this direc- 
tory, and at this time his connection 
with the firm began. Mr. Tower is a 
member of the Sons of the American 
Revolution, a past chancellor of Bram- 
hall Lodge, Knights of Pythias, rep- 
resentative to the grand lodge, and 
member of the judiciary committee of 
that body. 



218 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 



Curtis & Son Company. 



Through the above concern Port- 
land is noted for the manufacture of 
chewing gum, as the history of the 
entire business of the world dates 
back to the start made by John B. 
Curtis, in 1850. Spruce chewing 
gum was made by his father with the 
use of a kitchen stove, and rudely 
put up in comparison with the mar- 
vels of artistic creations of the present 
day. Mr. Curtis started out with his 




FACTORY, CURTIS &. SON COMPANY, FIRST BRICK CHEWING 
GUM FACTORY BUILT IN THE UNITED STATES. 



novel product, and, undaunted by the 
unpromising reception at first, finally 
succeeded in educating the dealer, 
and through him the public, until 
the demand outgrew his wildest hopes. 
Three different factories were built by 
him, for the making of chewing gum, 
the last in 1866, is shown in the ac- 
companying illustration. This is the 
first brick building ever built for the 
manufacture of chewing gum, to 
which notable enlargements have 
been made necessarv, from time to 



time, to keep pace with the growth 
of the business. After the use of 
spruce gum had become firmly fixed 
in the public favor, it was discovered 
that paraffine was a material which 
could be made use of in the manufac- 
ture of chewing gums, and to this 
day these white gums are popular 
with a large portion of the public. 
In about 1871, gum chicle, which 
had been brought to New York for 
purposes of experimenting, and as a 
hoped-for substitute for gutta percha. 
was found to be a very ac- 
ceptable substance, and 
perfectly adapted to the 
making of chewing gum; 
since that time the use of 
this material has increased 
enormously, and with a 
very large part of the pub- 
lic, has supplanted the use 
of spruce and paraffine. 
The output of this historic 
factory is over 1,000 boxes 
daily. Shipments are now 
made covering the entire 
territory from St. Johns, 
%0ge0* New Foundland, to Hono- 
lulu, and from Owen's 
Sound, Ontario, to the 
City of Mexico. The bus- 
iness in this city requires 
from 65 to 85 hands the 
year round, and the fac- 
tory is equipped with all 
the labor saving devices in 
the way of modern ma- 
chinery. There is used at 
the facton- 200,000 pounds 
of sugar, 75,000 pounds of 
gum chicle, 25 tons of spruce, and 20 
tons of paraffine annually. This con- 
cern, the pioneer in the chewing gum 
business in the United States, and in 
fact, the world, for many years en- 
joying and meriting a monopoly, was, 
until his decease, carried on under 
the firm name of Curtis & Son, by 
the late John B. Curtis, a well known 
citizen of Portland. On January 1, 
1898, the business was merged into 
the present close corporation, of 
which Adam P. L,eighton is president, 






PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 



219 



and S. B. Adams, treasurer, both 
of whom are well known in business 
and financial circles. 



J. Putnam Stevens. 

J. Putnam Stevens, general agent 
for Maine of the Massachusetts Mu- 
tual Life Insurance Co., with an 
office on Exchange street, Portland, 
is w i t h o u t 
doubt one of 
the best 
known m e n 
in the city 
and state, ow- 
ing to the fact 
that during 
his active 
business ca- 
reer, extend- 
ing over the 
past twenty- 
five years, he 
has traveled 
continuously 
over the state. 
Mr. Stevens 
was born in 
Wi n t hrop, 
Kennebec 
County, Me., 
on Nov. 24, 
1852. He 
was educated 
in the public 
schools, and 
at the Maine 
Wesleyan 
Seminary at 
Kents Hill. 
After his 
g r a d u a t ion 
from the latter institution, at the age 
of twenty, he devoted some time to 
teaching school, and then began a 
mercantile life by engaging in the 
fruit tree business, showing from the 
start a marked business aptitude. 
He soon afterward became connected 
with the North Wayne Paper Co., 
and for three years was financial 
manager of the mills of that com- 
pany. When the plant was destroyed 



J. PUTNAM STEVENS. 



by fire, Mr. Stevens came to Portland 
and accepted a position as traveling 
salesman with Harris & Co., the firm 
which later became Howes, Hilton & 
Harris, atone time the leading whole- 
sale grocers on Commercial street. 
His eminently successful career in 
the insurance business began about 
fifteen years ago, when he accepted 
an agency for the Maine Benefit 
Association, 
of Auburn, 
Me. His suc- 
cess with this 
company led 
to his ap- 
pointment as 
general agent 
of the com- 
pany he now 
so ably rep- 
resents. He 
has s u b- 
agents in all 
the principal 
cities and 
towns of 
Maine, and 
since he took 
charge of the 
business, he 
has increased 
the aggregate 
of premiums 
and collec- 
tions of the 
company i n 
Maine, more 
than six hun- 
dred per cent. 
Mr. Stevens 
has resided in 
Portland for 
sixteen years. He is a thirty-second 
degree Mason, a member of the Be- 
nevolent Order of Elks, and of the 
Knights of the Essenic Order. With 
the exception of two years, when he 
was a member of the board of select- 
men, and superintending school 
committee in the town of Wayne, he 
he has never sought nor held public 
office. He is known as one of Port- 
land's energetic citizens. 




220 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 



Portland Evening; Express. 

Welcomed in more homes in Greater 
Portland than any other daily paper 
published within its limits, a brief 
history of the paper's growth, in a 
field occupied, at the time it was first 
issued, by three old established pa- 
pers, will be interesting to its many 



ever been attained by any other daily 
published in Maine. At the start the 
paper was four pages, five columns to 
the page, the size of a page being 
12 1-2x19 inches. The price was 
one cent per copy. The office was 
located on the third floor of 55 Union 
street. Although small in size, the 
paper was vigorous and pushing, de- 




HOME OF THE PORTLAND EVENING EXPRESS. 



thousand readers. The Portland 
Evening Express w r as established on 
Oct. 12, 1882, by A. W. Laughlin, 
its present business manager and 
treasurer. From small beginnings, 
the paper has advanced to its present 
prominent position as one of the 
leading papers in the state, with a 
larger average circulation than has 



voting its energies to local interests, 
and giving the local news in a com- 
plete but condensed form, with the 
result that the paper soon had a good 
and steadily increasing circulation, 
and advertisers began to use its col- 
umns freely. The first years were 
years of struggle and anxiety, but the 
paper continued to grow in popularity, 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 



221 




William H, Dow, 
Vice Prest. and Cir. Man'g'r. 



Wallace C. Osgood, 
Local Adv. Solicitor, and Coll. 




J- A. Cunningham, 
canvasser. 




Harriette F. Moody 
Book-keeper, 



Arthur W. Laughlin, 
Treas. and Gen. Man'gr, 



Bertha M. Forbes, 
Stenographer. 




George N. Coyle, 
Mail and Delivery, Machinist. 




Charles B. Johnson, 
Mail and De livery, Pressroom. 



BUSINESS STAFF OF THE EXPRESS. 



222 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 



being improved and enlarged gradu- 
ally as the business warranted. For 
nearly four years, or until Jan. i, 
1886, the paper continued the prop- 
erty of its founder. In January, 1886, 
a half interest in the paper was sold to 
A. A. Melvin, who assumed the po- 
sition of editor, Mr. Eaughlin devot- 
ing his time wholly to the business 
management. In March, 1886, the 
paper was enlarged for the third time 
since its start, the increase in size 
being necessary to accommodate the 
growing demands on its columns, 
In May, 18S6, Mr. Eaughlin pur- 
chased the interest of Mr. Melvin, 
and in June, 1886, took into the bus- 
iness as partner, Wm. H. Smith, of 
Portland, a gentleman of wide ac- 
quaintance, and one who wielded a 
vigorous pen. The paper at this 
time had come to be looked upon as 
a most wide-a-wake, enterprising pa- 
per, and was showing a steady gain 
in circulation and business. Believ- 
ing that with more capital and better 
facilities, the Express could be 
pushed still further to the front, in 
October, 1886, the Evening Express 
Publishing Co. was formed, a num- 
ber of prominent men of means be- 
coming stockholders. Wm. H. 
Smith was elected president, and A. 
W. Iyaughlin, treasurer and general 
manager, a position he has held to 
the present time. The publication 
office was removed to S8 Exchange 
street, where convenient offices, oc- 
cupying the first floor and basement, 
had been fitted up. A Hoe three 
revolution press, capable of printing 
2,500 papers per hour, replaced the 
Babcock drum cylinder that had 
done service up to this time. On 
Nov. 1, 1886, the size of the paper 
was increased to a seven column folio, 
size 24x36 in., and again on Nov. 19, 
1886, owing to the demands upon its 
advertising columns, the paper was 
enlarged to an eight column folio. 
The circulation had increased so rap- 
idly that in February, 1887, a Hoe 
double cylinder press, capable of 
printing 4,500 papers per hour, was 



installed in place of the single cylin- 
der Hoe press. In June, 1887, Wm. 
H. Smith sold his stock in the com- 
pany and retired from the editorship, 
Wm. E. Stevens succeeding Mr. 
Smith in that position. Hon. Fred 
N. Dow was elected president of the 
company, which office he still holds. 
Mr. Stevens held the position of 
editor for about one year, when ill 
health led to his retirement. He was 
succeeded by F. E. C. Robbins, of 
Deering, Me., who held the position 
till 18S9, when he retired, being suc- 
ceeded by Dudley M. Holman, who 
who was city editor under Mr. Rob- 
bins. In April of this year the 
Weekly Express was first issued, be- 
ing the same size of the daily, and 
is circulated principally in the farm- 
ing districts. By this time the Ex- 
press, by its up-to-date and pro- 
gressive journalism, had passed all 
competitors in point of circulation, 
reaching a point where it could 
proudly claim "the largest circula- 
tion of any daily paper in the state," 
which position it has ever since main- 
tained. In February, 1889, it re- 
moved its offices to more commodious 
quarters, at 13 Monument square, 
where it now occupies three floors 
and a basement, giving it the most 
centrally located newspaper office in 
the city. Its large and growing cir- 
culation had reached a point, in 1890, 
where more press facilities were 
needed, and in July, a Stonemetz web 
perfecting press, with a capacity of 
10,000 four or eight page papers, 
folded ready for delivering, was in- 
stalled, the first stereotype web press 
used in Maine. At this time the 
paper was changed to an eight page 
paper, seven columns to the page. 
When the Express was first issued, 
it sold principally on the streets by 
newsboys, at one cent per copy. In 
1884, the street price was increased 
to two cents per copy, and a carrier 
system was then inaugurated, the 
paper being delivered to the homes 
for six cents per week. Since that 
time it has been the aim of the 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 



223 




£5 u 



224 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 




Harold S. Locke, Tel. Operator,^ 



EDITORIAL STAFF, EVENING EXPRESS. 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 



225 



management to make the circulation 
of the Express a strictly home cir- 
culation, and its efforts have been so 
successful that at the present time, 
ninety per cent, of its large circula- 
tion is delivered at the homes of sub- 
scribers by its regular office carriers, 
or sent by mail. In 1S92, its Stone- 
metz press was replaced by a Goss 
"clipper" stereotype web perfecting 
press, a faster and better press. In 
this year, Dudley M. Holman retired 
from the editorship, and was succeed- 
ed by George W. Norton, who was at 
the time a member of the editorial 
force. Mr. Norton is still editor of 
the paper. On Jan. 1, 1893, the price 
of the Express was increased to S5 
per year, and ten cents per week. 
Notwithstanding this large increase 
in price, the Express, through its 
excellent quality as a newspaper, was 
able to maintain its circulation at 
nearly the figures attained at the 
lower price. In July, 1895, there 
were installed into the Express com- 
posing room, three of the wonderful 
Mergenthaler linotype machines, one 
of the most wonderful inventions of 
the age, by which all the matter ap- 
pearing in the Express is set up 
by machinery. The Express is a 
member of the Associated Press, hav- 
ing a special telegraph wire running 
directly into its editorial rooms, giv- 
ing it unsurpassed facilities for giv- 
ing the news. To-day the Express 
has one of the best equipped offices 
in the city, containing all the modern 
appliances necessary to get out a first- 
class newspaper. It is the object of 
a newspaper to get the latest news up 
to the time of going to press, on the 
street and in the hands of readers at 
the earliest possible moment, and in 
order to do so, it is necessary to have 
a well organized system of deliver}-. 
There are the local subscribers who 
are served by carriers, the news- 
dealers, the newsboys, the suburban 
patrons and the mailing list, all 
anxious to get their papers quickly ; 
and upon the circulation department 
falls the duty of distributing the pa- 



pers. The Express requires a large 
force of carriers, each of whom has 
his own particular route or territory 
to cover, under control of the office. 
The city itself is divided into 29 dis- 
tricts, each with its carrier, while in 
the surrounding towns there are eight 
more districts, some handled by an 
agent employing several carriers. 
Most of the carriers on city routes 
call at the office for their papers, 
while those at a distance and in ad- 
joining territory have their papers 
sent to them on the various electric 
and steam railroads, or by special 
delivery wagon. The bundles of 
papers going the greatest distances 
are sent out first and the last papers 
to go out are those for the route near- 
est the office, the object being to 
place the papers in the hands of all 
the subscribers at nearly the same 
time. There are also newsdealers in 
the city and out of town to be sup- 
plied. The Express delivery wagon 
takes papers to most of those in the 
city, the others being reached by 
special carriers, while the electric 
cars, railroad trains and island steam- 
ers, take the papers to out-of-town 
dealers. The deliver}- wagon also 
supplies newsboys at distant points 
on its trips ; but the majority of the 
boys get their papers at the office. 
The mail circulation of the Express 
receives the same careful attention 
that is given to the carrier circula- 
tion ; and every effort is made to get 
the latest papers to subscribers. 
Minutes and even seconds are valua- 
ble, so in order to save the time that 
would be required at the post-office 
to sort the papers and put them in 
the proper mails, this work is all 
done in the mailing rooms of the 
Express. The mailing list of the 
Express is divided into sections cor- 
responding to the various mail routes 
going from the Portland post-office, 
and each set of wrappers is laid out 
separately on the mailing table, under 
which are hung the sacks marked 
with slips furnished by the post-office. 
One set after another is quickly pasted 



226 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 




PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 



227 




MECHANICAL FORCE, PORTLAND EVENING EXPRESS. 



228 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 



and the papers wrapped and put into 
the proper sacks, so that when the 
last paper has been addressed and 
wrapped, the whole mail has been 
sorted. 



C. Bancroft Gillespie. 



The author of this book, since 
October last of the editorial staff of 
the Evening Express, was born in 
Cambridge, 
Mass., Sept. 
8, 1865. He 
is of Scotch 
( P r e s byte- 
rian ) ances- 
try and de- 
s c e n d e d 
on the ma- 
ternal side 
from the 
merchant 
prince, Ab- 
bott Law- 
rence, and 
the histori- 
an Bancroft. 
His educa- 
tion in the 
public 
schools o f 
Cambridge, 
Somerville, 
and N e w 
Haven, Ct., 
w as f o 1- 
lowed b y 
practical 
experie nee 
in business 
life, in the 
who 1 e s a 1 e 
dry goods, 
and retail boot and 
Boston. He beean 




C. BANCROFT GILLESPIE. 



shoe trade in 
his newspaper 
career on the Charlestown Enterprise, 
where his fitness for the work was 
soon demonstrated. Some two years 
later, in 18S5, he was, for a time, 
manager of the East Boston Sun, 
which duties he discarded to become 
business manager of three Sunday 
papers, published in Holyoke, Mass. 



Soon after, with Charles F. Corbett, 
he started the Holyoke Morning 
News, the only morning paper which 
up to that time had lived in that hot- 
ly contested field. Desiring to gain 
a thorough knowledge and acquaint- 
ance with New England cities, he 
disposed of his interest there and has 
since devoted his energies to the com- 
pilation of historical, descriptive and 
illustrated publications, similar in 

character to 
this volume 
Among the 
books got- 
ten up by 
him for pop- 
ular news- 
papers and 
issued as 
souvenir 
editions, 
may be men- 
tioned the 
following: 
"Norwich, 
the Rose of 
New Eng- 
land," Nor- 
wich Even- 
ing Record; 
"The Day's 
Souvenir , ' ' 
New Eon- 
don (Conn. ) 
Day; "Wat 
erbury 1 1- 
lustrated , ' ' 
Water bury 
Democrat; 
' ' M eriden 
Illustrated" 
and "Wal- 
lingford II- 
Daily Journal; 
and 






lustrated," Meriden 
"Derby (Conn.) Illustrated. 
"Ansonia Illustrated," Derby Even- 
ing Transcript; "Noddle Island Il- 
lustrated"; "Illustrated History of 
Salem and Environs," Salem Even- 
ing News; "Chelsea (Mass.) Illus- 
trated," Chelsea Gazette, and thirty 
others. His work in the past twelve 
years, has won high commendation 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 



229 



from the large dailies of the country; 
and probably none are more gifted 
with greater versatility as a writer and 
illustrator, in this line, than he. His 
engagement by the Evening Express 
was consummated on the strongest rec- 
ommendations of newspaper publish- 
ers, among whom he has a wide 
acquaintance; and his work in mak- 
ing this souvenir edition a typograph- 
ical and financial success adds to his 
laurels. He is married and has one 
daughter; and since removing to Port- 
land has resided on North street. 



Seavey & Company. 



In saying a word about book-bind- 
ing, the above named firm calls for 
attention; for the binding of the en- 
tire edition of this book was neatly 
and substantially executed by them. 
The bindery of Seavey & Co. is 
one of the important institutions of 
Portland, and this establishment is 
located at 105 1-2 Exchange street, 
its windows opening on Exchange, 
Federal and Market streets. Its lo- 
cation, surrounded on all sides by 
printing offices, is especially conven- 
ient to the trade, and large jobs are 
executed there in the shortest possi- 
ble time. Unless this firm, which is 
composed of F. K. Clark and W. A. 
Bowie, the former being the active 
partner, were possessed of modern 
facilities, were reliable and quoted 
prices for book and pamphlet binding 
as low as the largest Boston bind- 
eries, they would not control a busi- 
ness such as they now command. 
They occupy three large rooms, em- 
ploy on the average, about twenty 
hands, and make a specialty of edi- 
tion work. Regarding their capa- 
city for handling work, it may be 
said that a whole edition of 3,000 of 
a pamphlet has been turned out there 
in a day. Beside other machinery, 
three wire stitchers and a large per- 
forating machine are contained in the 
modern equipment. From the loca- 
tion, the bindery is called upon to do 
more pamphlet than other binding; 



but books in cloth and leather, from 
the cheapest to the most expensive 
binding, are bound here. The active 
manager, Mr. Clark, although a 
young man, is possessed of a wide 
experience, and his watchful eye is 
ever directed toward work in progress 
in his bindery. Painstaking care, 
neatness of execution and promptness, 
are the qualities winning the confi- 
dence of publishers who place work 
with the firm. The business of Sea- 
vey & Co. was established in 1892, 
and has been conducted by the pres- 
ent progressive management since 
June, 1898. The original bindery 
consisted of but one room. 



Burnham Ice Company. 

This ice company has headquarters, 
office and storage house on Deakes 
Wharf, Commercial street. The bus- 
iness was started by the late Royal 
Burnham. He was one of the best 
known local characters of Portland, 
and was once foreman for D. W. 
Clark. He engaged in business for 
himself 33 years ago. At the start, 
he cut and housed his own ice alone, 
and with a wheelbarrow sold and de- 
livered it. The business afterwards 
grew to large proportions, and upon 
his decease, was taken in hand by the 
present owner, Frank C. Abbott, who 
has since increased it. The old-time 
methods of harvesting ice have been 
discarded for modern ways. Over 
one hundred men and a large number 
of horses are required on the pond, 
when the 10,000 tons of ice are har- 
vested. The pond is near Eake Se- 
bago, and the water which feeds it, 
is filtered through sand; therefore, 
the ice sold by the Burnham Ice Co. 
is of the purest quality. The present 
owner of the company is a Portland 
boy, who returned to this city in 1897, 
after having been engaged in business 
in the West for some twenty years. 
He is well known in this city, and his 
enterprise in- remodelling the plant in 
which he has become interested, has 
shown good business judgment. 



230 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 



Joseph Vonyik. 



C. E. Libby. 



One of the cleverest caterers in 
Portland is Joseph Vonyik, conduct- 
ing a high class restaurant and fancy 
bakery at 268 Middle street. Mr. 
Vonyik bought out the business and 
good-will of John Messing, and, since 
taking charge of the establishment, 
has added matry new and attractive 
features to the place. Beside having 
toothsome confections, bakings and 
delicacies on sale in the front, the res- 
taurant is much frequented by those 
in search of supplies for the inner man. 
In the summer season, ices and sher- 



With office at 97 Cross street, and 
stables in Boynton court, the above 
is one of the best known and most re- 
liable in his line. He conducts a 
large furniture, piano and safe mov- 
ing business, and does general truck- 
ing and operates a popular parcel 
delivery. His business, which he es- 
tablished a dozen years ago, requires 
the use of 15 horses, and he employs 
twelve men. In his parcel delivery, 
Mr. Libby has an institution of bene- 
fit to the community, as through it 
parcels are delivered to all parts of the 





JOSEPH VONYIK. 



bets are served here in large quanti- 
ties daily. On the second floor there 
are neatly furnished private dining- 
rooms. Everything served is baked 
or made on the premises, under the 
proprietor's supervision, whether it 
be for the patrons of the restaurant or 
the most fashionable wedding break- 
fast. Mr. Vonyik has been engaged 
in a catering business from boyhood, 
and in foreign countries gained the 
valuable experience he puts to such 
good use here. He has catered for 
the Emperor of Austria, at the Court 
of Vienna, and has also been chef in 
hisrh class restaurants in Paris. 



c. E LIBBY. 

city for ten cents each. As a furni- 
ture and piano mover, he has won the 
confidence of the citizens of this eit\- 
and adjacent territory, by employing 
careful assistants; while for moving 
safes, he has all the tackle and facil- 
ities for hoisting and moving these 
heavy articles most anywhere. He 
is a native of Portland and has re- 
sided here all his life. He was for- 
merly in the wholesale and retail fruit 
business, a member of the once pros- 
perous firm of Claflin & Libby, which 
concern did business for six years. 
He is a member of the I. O. O. F., 
and although unusual misfortune in 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 



231 



the shape of fire has recently befallen 
him, he is never entirely dis- 
heartened. 



Willey & Calhoun. 



This leading plumbing and heating 
concern, one of the best known in the 
state, was established by G. A. Wil- 
ley and D. A. Calhoun, in 1888, 
since which time the business has 
steadily grown to its present propor- 
tions, but since 1898 owned and car- 
ried on by D. A. Calhoun. The 
quarters comprise one of the finest 
stock salesrooms for plumbing mate- 



the Mills boiler, used for heavier work 
and for furnishing power, is well 
known. The Portland sectional and 
Gold boiler is put forward for heating 
by steam. This concern has put in 
over 500 heaters, and their reputa- 
tion for reliability is unquestioned. 
Among the buildings heated by them, 
the following are notable: Baxter 
Memorial building, new Portland 
High School, North School, West 
St. School, Park St. School, St. Dom- 
inies School; St. Mary's School, Bid- 
deford; Brown St. School, West- 
brook* Fryeburg Academy; Masonic 
Temple, Camden; The Kent's Hill 




'•117 - v 

--:.,. < : r, -Jj 



+£* 



INTERIOR STORE, WILLEY & CALHOUN. 



rial and the various kinds of heaters 
handled, and the workshop. The 
firm at first devoted their energies to 
house and building heating, in which 
the} 7 soon gained a foothold, and 
many large contracts have been filled 
by them. Upon moving into their 
present attractive establishment, they 
added plumbing to their operations. 
They employ on the average about 
twenty men. In the Falmouth heat- 
ers, for small buildings and residences, 
Mr. Calhoun, the present remaining 
partner, has one of the finest heaters 
for hot water service m existence, and 



Seminary; The Agricultural Build- 
ing, Amherst, Mass; The Walker 
Library, Westbrook; The Gorham 
Normal School dormitory; Jefferson 
Theater, Portland armory and audi- 
torium; Biddeford city building, and 
Mt. Pleasant House, Fabyans, N. H. 
Among the plumbing contracts the 
firm have reason to be proud of, are: 
the new Emerson School, Portland; 
Hotel Alberta, Old Orchard, and Gor- 
ham Normal School. Mr. Calhoun 
is one of Portland's well known busi- 
ness men, having been associated with 
the business for the last 27 years. 



23- 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 



The Shay lor Engraving Co. 



An important addition to the in- 
dustries of Maine is the Shaylor En- 
graving Co. This company, under 
the management of H. W. Shaylor, 
Jr., was established June i, 1899, at 
122 1-2 Exchange street, and is en- 
tirely independent of any printing 
house, a fact which assures for it the 
consideration of the printers and pub- 
lishers of the city and state. The 
plant is intended to produce in per- 



lic schools of this city, has had twelve 
years' experience in the business, 
in New York, Boston and Albany. 
In fitting his plant, no expense was 
spared to insure the best possible re- 
sults. Among the adjuncts of this 
establishment, is a swinging camera, 
fitted to copy anything from a photo- 
graph to a lantern slide, oil paintings, 
wash and line drawings, maps, etc. 
For half-tone work, he has screens 
from the finest, suitable for the high 
grade of fine coated paper, to the 




SPECIMEN ENGRAVING, SHAYLOR ENGRAVING CO. 



fection the highest character of work 
known to the trade, and is fitted with 
new machines of modern pattern. It 
contains all the latest acquisitions for 
producing the best grade, and the 
most satisfactory results in the half- 
tone, relief and wax processes, and 
also in three-color work. The es- 
tablishment has been fitted up espec- 
ially for the work contemplated. Mr. 
Shaylor, son of H. W. Shaylor, 
for many years teacher of draw- 
ing and penmanship in the pub- 



coarsest, for making plates suitable 
for beating into a matrix for use on 
the fastest newspaper press. Posses- 
ing valuable experience upon a foun- 
dation of undoubted talent, an unlim- 
ited ambition to excel, with a fully 
equipped modern plant, the results 
of Mr. Shaylor' s labors have already 
won recognition. He has one of the 
most talented artists in New Eng- 
land, whose business is to make 
designs and drawings of every de- 
scription. 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 



C. E. Hammond. 



C. E. Hammond, whose studio at 
27 Monument square was opened to 
the public in November, 1898, was 
born in Greene, Me., and since leav- 
ing school, at the age of 16 years, 
has been continuously engaged in the 
photographic business. He began to 
learn the business at Winthrop in 
1 88 1, and at 
the age of 19 
years, he be- 
came proprie- 
tor of the 
studio. Mr. 
Hammond 
has been in 
Portland for 
the past five 
years, and is 
well known 
to the public 
as a skilful 
and artistic 
photogra- 
pher. His 
studio, on the 
top floor of a 
four story 
building, ex- 
tends the en- 
tire depth of 
the building. 
The operat- 
ing room is 
one of the 
largest in the 
state, and ad- 
mits of posing 
a group of 
100 persons. - 
and this 

group can be here taken on an Sxio 
plate. Besides making sittings for 
portraiture, Mr. Hammond makes 
many pictures of manufacturers' 
samples, including furniture. The 
printing room is in the rear of the 
building, where the sun is available 
during the greater part of the day. 
In addition to making all kinds of 
photographs of animate and inani- 
mate objects, he responds to all calls 



for outside work; does developing, 
printing and mounting for amateurs, 
and makes copies, enlargements and 
crayons. He does all his own framing. 
He makes pictures from sittings at his 
studio, from the smallest photograph 
to one 25x30 inches in size, or larger, 
if desired. He possesses a telephone, 
of great convenience to patrons. He 
is energetic, ambitious and prompt. 

Mr. H a m- 
mond belongs 
to the Inde- 
pendent Or- 
der of Odd 
Fellows. 




Portland En- 
amel Works. 



C. E. HAMMOND. 



A place 
where bicy- 
cles are enam- 
eled, is that 
conducted by 
H. G. Besse, 
unde r the 
above name, 
at 91 Preble 
street. The 
establish - 
ment, now in 
a new loca- 
tion, is fully 
equipped for 
the prosecu- 
tion of the 
work, includ- 
ing a large 
oven for bak- 
ing the enam- 
el . Four 
coats, all 
given to every 
Repairing of 



baked separately, are 
wheel brought there, 
bicycles in every form is done there. 
Mr. Besse, formerly conducted busi- 
ness under the firm name of Dyer & 
Besse, at 41 Portland street, and is 
known as one of the youngest business 
men of Greater Portland. He under- 
stands the make-up of the various 
wheels on the market, and is a thor- 
oughly practical and reliable man. 



234 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 



Suffolk Engraving Co. 

In presenting, in the accompanying 
engraving, a faithful reproduction of 
the famous painting, Petite Mendi- 
ante, by F.Perrault, attention is drawn 
to the Suffolk Engraving Company, 
of Boston. This specimen of high 
grade work is but one of 300 or more 
made b y 
them for 
this publi- 
cation. 
The origi- 
nal paint- 
ing was ex- 
hibited at 
the Paris 
S a Ion, 
where it 
was r e- 
ceived by 
the art crit- 
i c s with 
great e n- 
thu s i a s m 
and admi- 
r a t i on. 
That t h e 
Stiff oik 
Engraving 
Company 
have repro- 
duced this 
attract i ve 
beggar, 
with all the 
d e 1 i c a cy 
of feeling 
brought 
out by the 
artist, is 
seen at a 
glance. It 
is not giv- 
ing too 

much credit, where it is due, for the 
writer to state that this reproduction 
is but a specimen of their every-day 
work. For the best possible results 
in work for high class publications, 
the Suffolk Engraving Company, with 
their unexcelled facilities for both 
night and day work, and large staff of 




PETITE MENDIANTE. (F. Perrault.) 



artistsjfor original designs and draw- 
ings, easily lead the van in New Eng- 
land, if not far outside of it. The fame 
and name of the company have steadi- 
ly and rapidly increased the business, 
so that the plant has been several 
times enlarged in the past few } r ears. 
The latest acquisition is that of an 
electrotype foundry. It is a fact well 

known to 
the print- 
ing trade 
that a poor- 
ly execut- 
ed engrav- 
ing is never 
palmed off 
by them for 
a p e rf ect 
reproduc- 
tion. The 
same care 
is exer- 
cised in the 
making of 
proofs and 
sh ipp ing 
cuts, as is 
taken i n 
the photo- 
graphing 
and etch- 
ing; and 
when cuts 
reach the 
printer or 
publishe r , 
for the in- 
spection of 
his cus- 
tomer, the 
best possi- 
bilities of 
the engrav- 
ings are 



s h o w n. 
Great care is exercised in blocking, 
so that cuts from this house are in- 
variably type high. The plant of the 
company is at 275 Washington street, 
Boston. Among those associated 
with the business, are Messrs. S. E. 
Blanchard, Walter G. Dennison and 
F. D. Wing. 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 



235 



INDEX TO CONTENTS. 



Allen, Win,, Jr., 

Anderson, John, 

Androscoggin, Scenes on 

Armory, 

As a Market, 

As a Breathing Place, 

Athletic Club, 

Bailev, James Co., 
Bates', S. L., 
Baxter, James P., 
Baxter Memorial Building, 
Becomes State Capital, 
Belknap Motor Co.. 
Berry, A. H. Shoe Co., 
Board of Trade, 

Officers, 
Bonnev, Percival 
Boothby, F. E., 
Brown, George W., 
Brown, Walter H., 
Burgess, Fobes & Co., 
Burke, Tobias A., 
Burnham Ice Co., 
Butler, Moses M., 



Cahoon, James B., . 

Carman, W. W., 

Carter Bros. Co., 

Casco Bay Steamboat Co., 

Chapman, Cullen C, 

Chase, Daniel, 

Chenerv, Daniel, 

Chishofm, Hugh J., 

Churches, A Group, 

Churchill, James C. . 

City Government, 

City Hall, 

City Hall, Old, 

Clark, D. W., 

Clark, The D. W., Ice Co , 

Cleaves, Henrv B., 

Cobb, Elbridge L., . 

Cook, Chas. Sumner 

Connecticut Volunteers, 

Connolly, Joseph E- F., 

Consolidated Electric Light Co., 

Corev, Walter Co., 

Crocker, C. H., 

Cumberland Illuminating Company 

Curtis & Son Company, . 

Cushings Island, Surf at 

Custom House, 

Cutter, Levi, 

Deering, John W., . 
Deering Oaks, Drive in 
Deering Oaks, Pond, 
Deering Street, . 
Delano Planing Mills, 
Despeaux, Oren T., 
Dow, Frederick N., 
Dow, Geo. A., 
Dow, Jonathan 
Dow, The Late Gen. Xeal, 
Dow, William H., . 
Donham, G. M., 
Dow & Pinkham, 
Drainage, 

Driscoll, Florence F., 
Drummond, Josiah H., 
Dyer, Herbert S., . 

Early History, 
Edwards, George Thornton, 
Emerson, Andrew L., . 
Evans, George F., 



PAGE 

134 
2, IS 

96 

8 
21 
24 

9 

205 
152 
112 
"4 



190 
48-52 



229 

2. 15 



LS6-7 
83-5 
145 



log 

71 

2. 15 

71-3 

4 

20 

200 

199 

99 

123 

63 

166 
212 

179 
182 
21S 



'7 s 
137 
119 



2. IS 

IIS 



155 

214 



4-10 
t86 

2, 15 
105 



Falmouth Hotel, The New 
Farnham, Charles S., 
Fernald, E. E., . 
Fernald, Geo. W., 
Fessenden, Francis 
Fickett, Walter, 
Financial Resources, . 
First Settlement, 
First Settlers, 
Fobes, Charles S., . 
Fobes. Leander W., 
Fort Allen Park, 
Fort Preble, 
Fossett, E. S., 
Foster, Enoch 
Frank, M. P., 
Frith. Willard F . 
Frothingham, T. J., 
Frye, J. J., 

Gait Block, . 
Gait Block Warehouse Co 
Gatley. Richard K., 
Gem Theater, 
Gerrish, Elmer G., 
Gillespie, C. Brancroft, 
Globe Steam Lauudrv. 
Goding. C. W. T., 
Goold.J. E., . 
Goold, J. E. & Co.. 
Goudy & Kent, 
Goudy, L. A., 
Greeley, Eliphalet, 
Griffin, Lindsay B., 

Hale, Clarence 
Hall, Albert B., . 
Hammond, C. E., 
Hanson, C. A.. 
Hanson, M. D., 
Harford, F. H., . 
Harpswell Line, 
Hersev, Oscar H., 
Highfield, 
Hill, John Howard, 
Hinds, A. S., 
Holt. E. E., 
Hopkins, Geo. C, 
Howard, Joseph, 
Huston, Lewis P., 

Ingraham, Darius H., 
International S. S. Co., 

Jefferson Theater, 
Jewett. Jedediah. 
Johnson, Fred H.. 
Johnson, William R., 
Josselyn, Everett R., 

Keating, J. B., 
Kehoe, J. B., 
King, Marquis F., - 
Kingsbury, Benj. Jr., 

Lamson, Rufus, 
Larrabee, Seth L., 
Laughlin, Arthur W., 
Laughlin, Thomas S., 
Laughlin, The Thomas 
Libbv. C. E., 
Libby, Charles F., . 
Libbv, George. . 
Libby, George F., 
Lincoln Park, 
Longfellow Gallery, 



iS, r 



PAGE 
162-3 

I96 
7S-6 
2.15 

,9, 160-1 



.so, 173 

173 

13 

10 

155 

131 

153 

77-8 

207 



176 
176 
179 
S3-4 
73 
22S 
207 

S5 
206 
206 
191 
150 
2, 15 



143 
154 



144 

S7 

133 

31 

125 

170-1 

135 

147 

2, 15 



2. 15 
86 

S1-2 

2. IS 
72 
73 
73 

69 

151 

2, 15 

2. 15 

72 
101-2 
140 
iSS 
188-9 
230 
139 
147 
74 
iS 
78 



236 



PORTLAND PAST AND PRESENT 



INDEX TO CONTENTS— CONTINUED 



Longfellow. The Late Poet, 
Longfellow Statue. 
Loring, Short .V Harmon, 
r.ovt-li, Benj. S.. 
Lovell, John P., Arms Co., 

Mackworth Island. 
Maine Central R. R.. 
Maine General Hospital. . 
Macy, James F„ ; • . 

Maine ^ New Hampshire Gran; 
Maine School for the Deaf. 
Maitland, Steam Yacht, 
Mannix, Cornelius A., . 
Manufactures, 
McCausland, H. W.„ 
McCobb, James T., . 
McCullum, Bartley, 
McCullum's Theater. 
McLaughlin. Joseph, . 
McLellan, Jacob, 
Melcher, Holnian S.. - 
Merchants National Bank. . 
Merrill, John F. A., 
Millliken, Cousins & Short. 
Milliken, Edwin C, 
Milliken. Weston F., 
Monument Square. 
Moody, Elinor S., 
Moodv, Frank 1!.. 
Morrill, Carroll \V.. 
Moulton Aus. F., 
Moulton, A. H., 
Murphy, Edward W.. . 

Naval Reserves, Moutauk, 

Norton & Hall, . 

Norton, Chapman & Co.. 

Norton. George W., 

Norton. Ralph S., 

Noted Residents of the Past, . 

Nunns, F. H., . 



Osgood. Henry S., 
Owen, Moore & Co., . 

Park Street, 
Parris, Albion K., . 
Peabody, Henry C, 
Phillips, Herbert O., 
Phinuey, W, 1'.. . 
Pierce, Arthur W., . 
Pierce, John H., . 
Population. 
Portland Company, 
" Creamery, 

Enamel Works, 

Evening Express, 

Fire. The Great 

Head Light, 

Head Light. Surf at 

Mayors of 

Mt. Desert & Machias S. Bt. 

Observatory, 
Portland & Rochester R. R., . 
Portland & Rumford Falls Railway 
'• Marine Railway, 

Stone Ware Co., 

Stove Foundry Co., 

Star Match Co. 

Streets, 

Trust Company. 
" Water Company, 

Portland & Yarmouth Electric Co 
Post Office, 
Powers, Llewellyn . 
Proctor, John F., 



PAGE 
31 

17 
I 9 S 

r8o 

181 

29 

92 

7 

[86, 8 

46 



. 1S-19 

204 

. 2, is 

-. 1 -., 
.80 

. 2, 15 

2, 15 

161 

• 194-5 
73 
142 
61 
. [58-9 
[86-188 
75 
in 
201 



68 

t54 

213-14-15 

224 

• i54 

15 

. 162 

126 
. r 57 -8 

23 

. 2. 15 

104 

73. 213 

73 

73 

14 

167 

203 



Public Buildings and Institutions. 
Library, . 
" Schools, 
Putnam, W. L., . 

Randall, C. H., 
Rankin, Frank L., 
Redlon, C. E., 
Reed. Thomas B., 
Revnolds, Edw. C, 
Rich. M. N.. 
Richards, Fred E.. . 
Richardson, Roswell M.. 
Riverton Park, 

Casino. 

Reception Room 
Robie. Frederick 
Robinson, I ; rank Woodbury 
Royal Scots, Visit of, 
Rumery, Jerome & Co., 



Sanborn, Leroy S., 
Seavey & Co., 
SebagoLake, 
Senter, William 
Shavlor Pmgraving Co., 
Shaylor, H. W., 
Shaw, George C, 
Shipping Industry. 
Sloniau, Charles A., 
Smith, Abiel . 
Smith & Rumery, 
Smith, Winfield L., . 
Sprague. Wilson 
Standard Clothing Co., 
State Street, 
Stevens. Augustus . 
Stevens. J. Putnam 
Strout. S. C. 

Suffolk Engraving Co., of 
Sylvester, Geo. W., 
Symonds. J. W., 

Thaxter. S. W., & Co., 
Thomas, Elias, Jr., 
Thomas, George A., 
Thomas, W. W., 
Thomas. W. W., Jr., 
Thompson, James M., 
Thurston Print, The. 
Tower. Fred. L., 
True, F'rnest 
True, Geo. W., . 
True, Norman 
Tucker, Payson 
Tukev's Bridge, 



PAGE 

iq 

34 46 
2, 15 



Union Passenger Station, 



Dining Room, 



21 


Vaill, Frederick S., 


2. 15 


Virgil Clavier School, 


85 


Vonyik, Joseph 


19 


Vose, Edwin C, 


94-5 




97 


Walker, George 


90 


Wentworth, A. M., 


175 


Wescott, George P., 


17 1 


Willey & Calhoun. 


210 


Williams .Manufacturing Co., 


20 


Willis. William . 




Wilson, Scott . 


90 


Winslow, Edward B., . 


88 


Woodburv, Elmer F., . 


6 


Wright, A.R., Co., . 


66 





ni Young Men's Christian Asso. 



i frje'19 



LIBRARY OF CONGRESS 



in mi mi mi 

009 781 714 5 •