Not to be taken from room
THE HEW TORK PUBLIC LIBRARY
ST. GEORGE LIBRARY CENTER
5 CENTRAL AVSHUE
STATEN ISLAND, N.Y. 10J01
Y PUBLIC BRARV T HE
3 3333 13842 6594
Not to be taken from room
THE NEW YORK PUBLIC LIBRART
ST. GEORGE LIBRARY CENTER
5 CENTRAL AV5NUE
STATEN ISLAND, N.Y. 10301
ALL RIGHTS RESERVED.
A. V. HUBBELL, Publisher.
Acker, Augustus SlO-Kreiseher,
Androvette, John M 13 1 Kreischer,
Audrovctte, Peter 9'.)
Bacot, William S *1
Barger, James H-
Bethel Cliurch 133
Bloom, Rev. Frederick 132
Bodine, Beiijamm J 35
Boweii, William 47
Brown, Benjamin S3
Crown, Robert P 43
Buel, Horace E S7
Byrnes, Rev. James Patrick lot)
Casey, William C 56
Cole, Abram -5
Coleraan, David M., M. D 1~
Collins, Michael J <>4
Couklin, Capt. Michael 93
Corbett, VV iiliaiu W ll
Dailey, John Liudenijau 79
Detrick, Calvin 89
Doyle, Hon. Ed want P 75
Egbert, George T 59
Elsvvorth, John H 17
Feeuy, John L. , M. D :29
Fethcrstou, John J (3:2
Fiuley, William :i9
Fisher, George W 51
Fitzgerald, Thomas W 15
Gannon, Frank S <>'
Gauss, Rev. J. J i:-J9
Golder, Robert Henry 119
Griffin. Oliver H 45
Hadkins, Frank L 1:29
Hervey, Edwin Addisun, M. D. . 1:23
Hoag, Urry Huested 1:25
Hubbell, Charles Livingston 109
Hughes, Martin 86
Hull, Rev. C. F 137
Johnstoue, Louis Morris 57
JvtnLty, John J Ill
Kenny, Thomas, Jr 40
Kerr, James (il
Kreischer, B . . . 07
Charles C. . .
Laugton, David M
Macormac, Samuel A
Marsh, Isaac M.
Miunahan, John E
Morrison, Henry P
Muller, Fd ward M
Mulligan, James E
U'Grady, Joseph F
Randolph, Rev. D. B. F
Roehre, Dr. R
Schaef er, George T
Seguiue, Crowell M
Stake, Geo. W i
Stephens, Hon. Stephen D
^c. Patrick's Church
St. Peter's Church
Suydam, William A
Totteu, Ephraim J
rilman, Percival Gleuroy
VunName, Calvin D
Van Nani, J. Ho ward
\ uughan, Jt.hu J. , Jr
Vitt, Frankliu C
Warde, John S
Warford, Benjamin H
Whitman, Stephen E., M. D i
Wood, Dr. J. Walter, A. M., M. D.
Wyeth, Nathaniel Jarvis
Yetman, Hon. Hubbard R
Young, J. L
INDEX TO SUPPLEMENT.
Abrams, Andrew 100
Atlantic Inn 174
Ay res, M. 177
Ay res, M. C. (Deceased) 178
Brown, Pl.ilip J 190
Browne, Wm. J 157
Butler, D. C I'-"''
Butler, David J 1*1
Butle", Israel, Jr 1*0
Cleveland, H. E 1SS
Cleveland, Wilson A lf>4
Egbert, U ... L 198
Ellis, George W 155
Ellis, Hampton C 183
Ellis, JacobS. ... 182
Floersch, Peter Ill-'
Foster, James 209
Fur man, John T 19o
Herrel. Jacob 187
H<>yr, Charle.- E 154
Kadletx, K '-'OS
Keeley. James D 179
Kennedy, Dr. S. J 200
Kessler, Hugo 158
Killmeyer, Nicholas 194
La Forge, James 202
Manee. Charles C 109
Manep, E. Stew art 191)
Marsh-nil. Walter 206
McCabe, James 210
McGuire, Michael 158
Moore, T. \V . Jr 162
Mord's Dry;: < "ds Emporiun- . . 167
Newhall, John B 152
PollocK H. \V 14! i
Schael'er, Ei'.muMd (T 165
Seaton, Jam^s I5d
Sep-nino, C. M. ( !vsiilnrt ) 207
yharrett, Horatio J 16M
8hea, Cornelius A 160
Himonson, S. D., & (_'< 205
Slaight, Elmer E. 161
Slover, Stephen II 17]
Snedeker, Livings) on, Jr ]7;2
Stephen's House 170
Streeter, Benj. E i.v.i
Totten, W. H rJ04
'I'ysen, William 201
Vaughn, John G 150
Vere, Howard M., D. l>. S.. isr,
Wilbur, Charles F 168
Wilkius, Fred 176
Wood, Jobn B.. . 184
HON. STEPHEN D. STEPHENS.
STEPHEN DOVER STEPHENS, the county judge and surro-
gate of Richmond county, was born beneath the shad-
ow of the court-house at Richmond on the i9th day
of April, 1845. His father and paternal ancestors for
three generations back were born in New York city,
his mother and maternal ancestors being natives of
Staten Island. Judge Stephens pursued his prepara-
tory studies at Trinity School, New York city, subse -
quently passed with honor through the several de-
partments of Columbia College, and in 1866 he was
graduated from that institution with the degree of
Bachelor of Arts. Subsequentlv he entered Colum-
bia College L,aw School, and in 1868 was graduated there-
from with the degree of Bachelor of Laws. In the fol-
lowing year he received the degree of Master of Arts.
He immediately entered upon the practice of the law
and continued in active practice until he was elevated
to his present position.
In politics, Judge Stephens is a Democrat. In 1873,
he was elected to represent Richmond county in the
Assembly of 1874, and served on the important com-
mittee on railroads and also that of villages. In
1874, he was again elected to represent the county
in the Assembly of 1875, and that year served as
chairman of the committee on villages and also as
a member of the committee on railroads and pub-
lic lands. In the " L,ife Sketches" of 1875, we
find this said of him: "Mr. Stephens is an active and
energetic young man and represents the county of
Richmond for the second time. He is a finely educated
gentleman, a good public speaker, and, owing to his in-
dustrious habits and executive ability, is exceedingly
valuable in the details of legislation and committee
In 1 88 1, Mr. Stephens was elected to his present
position over Tompkins Westervelt, the Republican
candidate, by a handsome majority; and in 1887, he
was re-elected, practically without opposition, the Re-
publicans making no nomination against him. During
HON. STEPHEN D. STEPHENS,
County Judge and Surrogate.
PROMINENT MEN OF STATEN ISLAND, 1893. n
his twelve years of service as county judge and surro-
gate, some of the most important cases which have
ever arisen in Richmond county have been before him.
Rarely has an appeal from his decisions been taken,
and never has he been reversed by the court of last
resort, the court of appeals.
He is a member of the Episcopal denomination and
is a regular attendant at old St. Andrew's, at Rich-
mond, in which church he was brought up, and where
his ancestors worshipped before him.
In 1884, Judge Stephens married Agnes L,. L,asar, of
Brooklyn, a descendant of the old Pitkin family of Con-
necticut. The union has proved a most happy one and
two sons have been born to them, viz: Stephen D.,
Junior, and Richmond, the latter having been named
after the county and the place of Judge Stephens'
birth, for which he has always maintained the greatest
Happy in his domestic life, with an unsullied fami-
ly history and with an unimpeachable record of his
own, both in private and public life. Judge Stephens
may well be classed as one of the most prominent men
in Richmond county.
EDWARD M. MULLER,
Sheriff of Richmond County.
PROMINENT MEN OF STATEN ISLAND, 1893. 13
EDWARD M. MULLER was born in the city of New York,
Jan. 28th, 1864. His first school days were spent in old
Grammar school No. 29, from which he was graduated
with honors, and then entered the College of the City
of New York, where he took a commercial course.
After leaving college, he at once received a respon-
sible position in the service of the Delaware, L,acka-
wanna and Western Railroad Company, and is now in
business with his father as transportation agents.
Mr. Muller gained considerable prominence in
school circles, during his boyhood days, on account of
his ability to master his sttidies, and his talents
which were then carefully cultivated and guarded,
have indeed developed into rare business qualifica-
tions. He is a fine accountant, and ranks as an able
mathematician. He has travelled considerably, and it
is said in financial circles that he has handled as
much money in his business career as any man of age
in the great metropolis. Mr. Muller's knowledge of
the railroads of this country is very large.
He was elected sheriff of Richmond county, as a
Democrat, in 1891, and is the youngest sheriff that
has ever been elected in the county of Richmond, and
in fact in the state of New York. He has instituted
many reforms in the sheriff's office, and has been re-
peatedly complimented by the judiciary and the
grand jury on the efficient manner in which he has
conducted his office.
Personally, Mr. Muller is a man whose friendship is
valued by all who bear his acquaintance; cool and col-
lected, but with a heart filled with warm impulses;
with a mind clear and determined as to his line of
duty; with a character above reproach and an integrity
that no one will question; with pure intentions, and
with the laudable ambition of doing right under all
THOMAS W. FITZGERALD,
PROMINENT MEN OF STATEN ISLAND, 1893, 15
THOS. W. FITZGERALD was born in New York, September
ist, 1854. He was educated in the New York common
schools and the College of the City of New York.
He entered the law office of the late Francis N.
Bangs, November ist, 1871, with whom he remained
until Jantiary i6th, 1884.
In 1872, he moved to Staten Island, and has resided
here ever since. He was admitted to the bar in 1875
and practised in the office where he studied until 1884,
when he left to accept the position of clerk of the
court of the city of New York, but still continued
the practice of his profession. He was appointed by
President Cleveland, a member of the board of pension
appeals, in 1887.
In March 1889, he was appointed secretary of the
board of police commissioners of Richmond county,
a position which he held until January 1890, when he
resigned to assume the duties of district-attorney, an
office to which he had been elected the previous
November, and to which he was re-elected in Novem-
ber 1892, by the largest majority ever given any per-
son for that office. He will be a member of the Con-
stitutional Convention to meet in Albany in May
1894. Among the important cases which he has tried
and brought to a successful issue during his term
of office are the following: People vs. Emmons,
murder; People vs. Kinsella, manslaughter; People vs.
Mahoney, arson and several others.
Mr. Fitzgerald has always been a Democrat, has been
for many years a member of the Democratic county
committee, and has often been elected delegate to the
state conventions, and for the past three years has
been vice-chairman of the Democratic General Com-
mittee. He has made quite a reputation in all parts of
the state as a campaign speaker, and is well known
in the county as an earnest and forcible advocate of
the principles of his party.
MATTHEW S. TULLY,
PROMINENT MEN OF STATEN ISLAND, 1893. 17
No young man in Richmond county has been called
upon to perform more responsible duties or has per-
formed them with more credit to himself than County
Treasurer Matthew S. Tully.
Mr. Tully, eldest son of the late County Treasurer
James Tully, was born in New Brighton, Nov. 29th,
1865, and received a thorough education in. the schools
of the Island. At the early age of twenty-two he
was appointed tax-receiver, and a few months later,
on the death of his father, in February 1888, Mr. Tully
being the eldest son, not only assumed charge of the
large business left by his father, but was appointed
county treasurer to serve out his father's unexpired
Before Mr. Tully's first term of office he had so fully
demonstrated his ability and fitness for the office that
he was made the regular Democratic nominee for re-
election to the same office; and was the only candidate
on the ticket who was elected. His campaign was a
model one, being entirely free from "mud slinging."
Mr. Tully instituted a new system of handling the
public moneys, whereby he can at any time, within a
few moments, ascertain the exact financial condition
of the county. He also arranged a list of back taxes
which greatly facilitated their collector and brought
over $40,000 into the treasury. His business methods
so pleased the board of supervisors, that, after aud-
iting his accounts in 1890, they adopted a resolution
complimenting him on his system of keeping the ac-
counts of the office, and the correctness of his books.
In 1891, he was again given the Democratic nomina-
tion without opposition and easily won the victory over
Very few persons are aware of the amount of money
passing through this office. During the past seven
years it has amounted to about $2,500,000, the receipts
of taxes and road money, are nearly $400,000 annually,
and so carefully have the books been kept that they
show where every penny of this large amount has gone
and for what it has been expended.
Mr. Tully has been as successful in his private busi-
ness relations as in his official career.
JOHN J. KENNEY,
PROMINENT MEN OF STATEN ISLAND, 1893. 19
JOHN J KENNEV, the eldest son of Patrick and Mary
Kenney, was born in New York city, March 2nd, 1858.
He removed with his family to Staten Island, when
six weeks old, and has even since resided here. He
was educated in the best public schools of the county,
taking a high rank from the first, as a quick and in-
telligent student. After graduating, he began life as
a teacher in the Madison avenue public school, in
New Brighton, and taught for nearly three years.
He then entered the law office of the late Tompkins
Westervelt, county judge of Richmond county; was ad-
mitted to the bar at Brooklyn, Feb. i2th, 1880, after
which he established an office in New Brighton, Staten
Island, and has since enjoyed a lucrative practice.
In July 1882, he was elected clerk of the village of
New Brighton, which position he filled with entire
satisfaction to the board of trustees for nine years.
He resignedjuly 25th, 1891, in order to give more atten-
tion to the practice of the law.
He was elected school commissioner of Richmond
County in Nov. 1887, and administered the office with
such entire satisfaction to the public that he was re-
elected in 1890, receiving the largest majority of any
candidate on the ticket.
He has been especially devoted and energetic in the
performance of his duties as school commissioner.
Under his supervision there has been a constant im-
provement in the government and management of
schools. He inaugurated in this county, the system
of uniform examination for teachers' licenses, which
has resulted in producing a better class of teachers,
and abolished the system by which licenses were is-
sued as a favor and frequently with the merest pre-
tense of examination. School buildings have received
his attention to the extent of securing new buildings
of modern design and great value. His vigorous work
secured new buildings at Port Richmond, West Brigh-
ton, Graniteville, Garretsons, Giffords, New Springville
In spite of Mr. Kenney's popularity with all classes,
he still remains unmarried.
HCJBBARD R. YETMAN,
Member of Assembly,
PROMINENT MEN OF STATEN ISLAND, 1893. 21
THE HON. HUBBARD R. YETMAN was born in Monmouth
county, New Jersey, in 1847, an( i was educated in the
high school at Freehold. When scarcely fifteen years
of age he enlisted in the i4th Regt. N. Y. Vols., and
went to the front as drummer boy. He remained un-
til his regiment was mustered out at the close of the
war, and was in a number of severe engagements. He,
however, escaped without any serious injury. On his
return from the army he settled at Tottenville, and
tavight in the public schools for fifteen years. During
this time he was elected to the office of justice of the
peace for several terms and also represented several
instirance companies for which he secured a large
In 1888, he received the Democratic nomination of
member of assembly and was elected by a heavy
majority. He was again elected to the assembly in
1891 and 1892, in both instances receiving large
majorities. During each of Mr. Yetman's terms in the
assembly he was honored by important committee
Among the important laws passed during Mr. Yet-
man's three terms as a member of the legislature,
affecting Richmond county, were the following:
To settle the boundary line in the Kill von Kull,
between the states of New York and New Jersey.
To establish a board of cotinty assessors.
To establish a board of county excise commission-
To change the senatorial and congressional districts.
To tax the property known as Sailors' Snug Harbor.
To amend the laws relating to water supply for
To extend the terms of supervisors to two years and
fix the salary at $1,000 per year.
To extend the term of police commissioners to five
To increase the police force of the covtnty.
To cede to the United States property adjoining
To create a fund for pensioning retired police officers.
Mr. Yetman was married, in 1870, to Miss Sarah Jo-
line, of Tottenville, and has four children: Laura,
Arthur, Grace and Willie.
for Southfield and Chairman of the Board.
PROMINENT MEN OF STATEN ISLAND, 1893. 23
NATHANIEL MARSH, the eldest son of the late Nathaniel
Marsh, a former president of the Erie railroad, was
born and reared in the Marsh homestead, at Clifton,
one of the most stately houses on the hills over-
looking New York bay. He is a graduate of Princeton
College and of Columbia Law School, head of the law
firm of Marsh & Bull, 19 Broadway, New York city, and
has been for several years counsel to the board of health.
His first official position was that of trustee from the
vSouthfield ward of the village of Edgewater, and largely
through his efforts the village debt, amounting to
$100,000, was paid off and the credit of the village raised
to the highest point.
During his term as supervisor for his town, he has
seen the interest on. the bonded indebtedness descend
from seven per cent., with bonds at a discount, to three
or three and a half per cent, and selling at the pre-
mium a change that has been wrought largely through
kis excellent financial ability.
Mr. Marsh is now serving his fourteenth consecutive
year as supervisor of the town of Southfield, and for
thirteen years of this time he has been unanimously
chosen by his associates in the board as their chair-
man, a record which is probably uneqvialed by any man
in the state of New York. During his long connec-
tion with the board of stipervisors, Mr. Marsh has rarely
missed a meeting except when absent from the
county. More than any other man connected with the
board, Mr. Marsh has given his time and talent to
carry on the business incident to his position and to
carry out the many improvements and reforms con-
nected with the affairs of our county. The success of
the new county road law, and the construction of
nearly thirty miles of the finest roads have been
largely due to the untiring efforts of Mr. Marsh.
Mr. Marsh has also, since June 1889, been the police
magistrate of the village of Edgewater, a position which
he has filled to the great satisfaction of all law abid-
ing citizens, and the gratifying decrease of crime in
the community is largely due to the manner in which
Mr. Marsh has conducted this important office.
In addition to these public offices, Mr. Marsh is one
of the oldest directors of the Staten Island Railway, a
director and member of the executive committee of
the Richmond County Gas Light Company, of which
corporation he is likewise counsel, is one of the origi-
nal members of the Staten Island Cricket and Base Ball
Club, and is now the president of the Clifton Boat Club,
vice-president of the Clifton Tennis Club, and a member
of the S. I. Athletic Club.
Supervisor for Westfield.
PROMINENT MEN OF STATEN ISLAND, 1893. 25
ABRAM COLE comes of a long- line of Staten Island an-
cestors, his great-great-grandfather, Isaac Cole, having
been one of the early settlers on the Island and the
owner of a large tract of land at Prince's Bay. Mr. Cole
was born in 1856 and is the fourth generation of his
family bearing the name of Abram, and is the manager
of the large lumber and coal business, established by
his father in 1857, near Tottenville, at what is
known as Weir's Mills.
At the death of Mr. Cole's father which occurred in
September 1876, the business descended to his sons
and is now carried on under the firm, name of Cole
Bros., the members of which, beside Mr. Cole, are his-
brothers, Jacob W. and James T.
Mr. Cole was educated in the public school of
Tottenville, after which he took a course of study
at the Polytechnic Instittite in Brooklyn. He
has always been an active Republican, and, although
never courting office, has been, by the urgency
of his party, kept almost continuously in office for the
past nine years, having been three times elected to the
office of town clerk and for six successive years elected
to the office of sxipervisor, which office he still holds,
of a town almost uniformly polling a Democratic vote
at state elections.
When Mr. Cole began his first term as supervisor
he was the youngest supervisor who ever represent-
ed his town, and he has held the office for more con-
secutive years than any other man during the present
generation. He is now, next to Supervisor Marsh, the
senior member of the board, in length of service.
From the fact that ever since Mr. Cole has been in the
board of supervisors he has been the only Republican
in the board he has acquired the title of the "lone
Mr. Cole's strength lies not so much in his politics
as in the fact that he always brings to bear oil questions
of public policy the same sound principles that he
applies to his own business.
Mr. Cole has often been earnestly urged by his party
to accept the nomination for the . more important
county offices and for member of assembly, believing
that his popularity and well-known ability and integrity
would enable the party to overcome the large Demo-
cratic majority, btit he has uniformly refused the most
Mr. Cole was married in 1880 to Blanche, only daugh-
ter of Capt. Abel Martin, of Tottenville, by whom he
has two sons. Ralph M., aged 10 years, and Chester A.,
aged 12 years.
JAMES E. MULLIGAN,
Supervisor for Castleton.
PROMINENT MEN OF STATEN ISLAND, 1893. 27
JAMES E. MULLIGAN, eldest son of the late Edward
Mulligan, was born in Columbia county in 1845. Soon
after his birth, the family moved to Troy, N. Y., his
father having been appointed assistant to the super-
intendent of the New York Central and Hudson River
In 1853, the family moved to Staten Island, where
James, then a lad of eight, was sent to the New Brigh-
ton public school, the same school of which he was
afterward trustee for seventeen years.
In 1874, he formed a co-partnership with his present
partner, Patil F. Brazo, in the painting, decorating and
paper-hanging business. In 1881, the firm established
a store at Long Branch, N. J., where it is doing
perhaps the largest business of the kind in the state,
giving employment to from sixty to seventy men.
It has also a third store at Sea Bright, N. J.
The firm has always been known for its energy and
"push," for artistic taste in selecting goods, for
promptness in executing orders, and excellent and
thorough manner of doing its work.
Mr. Mulligan was a member of the second excise
board ever elected in the town of Castleton. He was a
strenuous high license man, but, owing to the fact
that the other members of the board were less pro-
gressive in their ideas, he was unable to affect any re-
form, and refused re-election.
In 1890, he was appointed a member of the board of
health, of the village of Castleton, and made one of
the most efficient presidents the board ever had.
On the resignation in 1892, of Robert Moore, who had
held the office of supervisor of the town of Castleton
for many years, Mr. Mulligan was appointed to fill the
vacancy, and, at the expiration of the term, he was re-
flected for the term of two years.
On his appointment to fill the unexpired term of Mr.
Moore, the Richmond County Herald said:
"Mr. Mulligan's broadmindedness, upon matters af-
fecting the welfare of all classes, together with his
sterling business capacity and exquisite tact, render
Mm an extremely proper and fitting person to safe-
guard and promote the general interests of the town
in which he has lived so long, and which has conferred
upon him the distinguished honor of supervisorship.
With him that honor will remain intact and un-
The above prediction has been amply fulfilled.
JOHN L. FEENY,
Supervisor for Middletown.
PROMINENT MEN OF STATEN ISLAND, 1893. 29
JOHN L,. FEENY, M. D., is the second oldest son of the
late Dr. Joseph Feeny, of Stapleton, who opened in 1849,
the first drug store established on Staten Island, and
who was one of the leading physicians on the Island in
the early sixties. He afterward moved to Jersey City,
where his reputation as a successful physician had
evidently preceded him, as he was made health officer
of the city the next year after taking up his residence
there. Dr. Joseph Feeny was one of the most scholar-
ly men of the county, and before he began the
practice of his profession was the principal of one of the
most thorough classical institutes ever established
on the Island. He died at his residence in Jersey City
in 1 866.
Dr. John L,. Feeny was from his earliest boyhood se-
lected by his father as his successor in the medical
profession. At the early age of fifteen years he had ac-
quired an excellent classical education and began the
study of medicine under the late Dr. Thos. C. Moffatt,
at the same time getting a large practical experience at
the Seamen's Retreat Hospital, where he remained
until he entered the University of New York Medical
Department, from which he was graduated in 1866
among the highest in the class. During his college
course he studied under such famous physicians as
Valentine Mott, Alfred C. Post, William H. VanBuren,
Alfred L,oomis and John T. Metcalfe; also under Profes-
sors Budd, Paine and the Drapers. After leaving the
university he took a special and private course under
Professor Ayelette. It will be seen, therefore, that
his father, being a prominent physician himself, was
able to secure as instructors for his son, the most
famous physicians and teachers of that day.
Upon completing his course of study, he was ap-
pointed house physician to the "Seamen's Retreat,"
a position which he filled with honor until 1869, when
he resigned to enter on private practice in Stapleton.
In 1870, he was appointed physician to the metropol-
itan police, and is now surgeon to the Richmond
county police, has been health officer for the town of
Middletown and the village of Edgewater for many
years, and is a member of the Richmond County Med-
The thorough instruction which Dr. Feeny received
under the distinguished physicians at the University
enabled him to take a high rank in his profession, and to
be especially sought for consultation in intricate cases.
He has had, from the first, a practice second to none
in the county, and his success with difficult cases has
3 o PROMINENT MEN OF STATEN ISLAND, 1893.
given him. the confidence of the entire community.
In the spring of 1893, Dr. Feeny was elected to the
board of supervisors and immediately began one of the
most searching and thorough examinations into the
finances of the county which has been made for many
years, and while the investigation is not yet completed,
enough has been established to prove that the county
will greatly profit by the doctor's services.
In private life the doctor is one of the most con-
genial and companionable of men and has a host of de-
voted friends. In his professional and official duties
whatever he has to do is done thoroughly and well,
not the smallest details being overlooked or omitted.
Of Dr. Feeny. Prestons History of Staten Island, pub-
lished in 1886, says:
"Dr. Feeny has now been in active practice more
than sixteen years, during which time many remark-
able cases have come under his notice and been treat-
ed by him. He adds to his large experience an in-
tense love not only of his profession but of all scien-
tific and artistic study. He is up in the classics, has
traveled considerably, and has taken a deep interest
in historical research. His cordial manners and
general intelligence have long been noticed by those
who enjoy his acquaintance, and have resulted in en-
dearing him to them."
"The deep interest which he has taken in the
health of the community in which he lives, and the
county at large and especially the freedom with which
he responded to a call made on him for lectures on
hygienic subjects during the recent cholera agitation
will long be remembered with pleasure by the people
of Staten Island."
And we may add that no physician on the Island took
a more active part in suppressing the smallpox,
which came near becoming epidemic on the Island a
few years ago.
Dr. Feeny was married June 9, 1870, to Miss Emma
Bateman, daughter of the famous engineer, John F.
Bateman, of Maine. They have four children living,
Mildred, Marguerite, Elsa and John 1^. Jr.
PROMINENT MEN OF STATEN ISLAND, 1893.
SUPERVISOR VAN NAME.
JOSEPH HOWARD VANNAME, present supervisor of the
town of Northfield, comes of a long line of Staten
Island ancestors, who have been prominent in busi-
ness for nearly two centuries.
Mr. Van Name is the eldest son of the late Charles
Van Name, and was born March 2yth, 1835. His father
was a merchant for nearly half a century. When he
retired from active life the btisiness was continued
by his two sons, Joseph H. and George W.
Mr. Van Name is a Democrat, but is better known as
a business man than a politician, although he has
several times been called by his neighbors to fill pub-
lic offices. He has served several terms as town clerk
of the town of Northfield, and in 1891 was elected to
the office of supervisor which office he has since filled
to the entire satisfaction of his constituents.
In 1856, Mr. Van Name married Caroline, the young-
est dattghter of the late Thomas Gibson. They have
one son, George.
HENRY P. MORRISON,
County Enqineer of Roads.
PROMINENT MEN OF STATEN ISLAND, 1X93. 33
HENRY PRENTICE MORRISON was born in Troy, N. Y., on
January I4th, 1858.
His early education consisted of a course in the pub-
lic schools of New York city, from which he was gradu-
ated in 1873. From here he went to Clark's Academy,
graduating- in 1876, when he entered the University of
the City of New York as a freshman, graduating in 1880
and having two degrees conferred on him, namely,
Bachelor of Science and Civil Engineer. While an
iinder-graduate of the University he was twice presi-
dent of the Philomatheon Society, a member of the
Psi-Upsilon Fraternity and was selected by the faculty
to represent the University in oratory at the inter-col-
legiate contest of 1880, receiving second award at the
contest, there being ten colleges represented.
After his graduation from the University Mr. Morrison
received a position with John S. Bogert, then secretary
of the American Society of Civil Engineers, as secretary
to that gentleman. His health being poor he sought
active field work and secured an engagement on the
Eastern Shore railroad of Maryland and there re-
mained until he was appointed to the department of
public works in New York city, being assigned to the
bureau of sewers. He followed sewerage engineering
for eighteen months and was then promoted and
ransferred to the paving department, becoming first
assistant to Horace L,oomis, then engineer in charge
of paving in New York city. For the past eleven years
he has made a specialty of paving and road building,
refusing all offers of transfer to other departments,
in many cases valuable, in order that he might stay at
his specialty, and has planned, estimated for, and per-
formed the engineering work on over six million dol-
lars' worth of pavement of all classes, an experience
in that line such as few engineers in the United States
have had. He has also built up a large private client-
age, among whom are some of the heaviest quarry and
iron contractors in the country.
In the spring of 1893, Mr. Morrison was appointed
county road engineer of Richmond county. Although
he has held this office bxit a few months the evidence
of his skill in road building is seen in every part of
It is safe to say that Richmond county has no more
industrious or competent official than Road Engineer
Mr. Morrison, when not engaged in his professional
duties, devotes his time to his family, a wife and two
daughters, Edna Belle, two and one-half years old, and
Ruth Von Eiff, four months old, "papa's boys " as they
are affectionately termed.
BENJAMIN J. BODINE,
Superintendent of the Coumy Poor.
PROMINENT MEN OF STATEN ISLAND, 1893. 35
BENJAMIN J. BODINE was born Jan. jth, 1849, a ^ Cas-
tleton Corners. His father, Abram Bodine, was one
of the 1849 pioneers to the California gold regions.
Mr. Bodine was educated in the schools of Staten
Island. When only fourteen years of age he ran away
from home and enlisted in the Union Army joining
Battery C., 3rd U. S. Artillery, Regulars, then stationed
in the Shenandoah Valley, Captain D. R. Ransom com-
manding. He served in the Army of the Potomac un-
der Gen. Hancock, taking part in many of the impor-
tant battles fought along the Potomac and around
Richmond. After the close of the war he was sent to
the Platte Valley, Neb., where he served in the Indian
war until after the surrender of Spotted Tail. He
was mustered out in 1866, when he returned to Staten
In 1868, he entered into co-partnership with Mr.
John Smith, of Long Island, and carried on a fruit
commission business at Norwalk, Conn. In 1872, he
dissolved partnership with Mr. Smith and took the po-
sition of head salesman for Davis & Mayo, Hoboken,
N. J., ship chandlers.
In 1876, he entered into partnership with Geo. W.
Thackery, and again engaged in the fruit and
vegetable business, running a sloop between New
York, Elizabethport and Port Johnson. He remained in
this business, doing a thriving trade, for nine years,
until the death of Mr. Isaac Van Name, in 1885, made an
opening for him to enter upon a prosperous grocery
trade in the thriving village of Mariners' Harbor, as
the manager of his son and successor, Oscar Van Name,
where he remained until his appointment, in 1890,
to the office of superintendent of the poor, which posi-
tion he still holds.
A visit to this well-kept institution will show that
Mr. Bodine's military training in the United States
Regular Army has made him a model superintendent
for a large institution, such as our county almshouse,
and our board of supervisors have set the seal of their
approval on his management not only with their "well
done good and faithful servant," but have supplement-
ed their words of praise by a liberal increase of salary.
There was probably no man better fitted for the
position of superintendent of the almshoxise than Mr.
Bodine. His long experience in business had made him
thoroughly acquainted with the value of provisions
and the cost of supplies; and since he has been super-
intendent there has been no complaint of favoritism
in the purchase of goods either in price or quality, but
all the affairs of the almshouse have been managed
after careful business methods by an experienced
PROMINENT MEN OF STATEN ISLAND, 1893.
MARTIN HUGHES, second son of Robert Hughes, was
born in New York in 1857, and was educated at the
Brothers' school and at St. Francis Xavier's College,
after which he spent considerable time in the study
of medicine. In 1871, he came, with his father's fami-
ly, to Staten Island, where he has ^.esided ever since.
In 1885, he opened an undertaking office in Clifton,
and he has built up a large and successful btisiness.
In 1886, he was elected coroner on the Democratic
ticket, and at the expiration of his term, was re-elected,
and again in 1892, making three consecutive terms-
Among the important cases which he has investigated
as coroner, were the death of Miss Mary Tobin, the
mystery of which no skill has been able to solve; the
Emmons murder case, which resulted in the con-
viction of the murderer; the Crooke's crossing rail-
road accident, in which three persons were killed,
and many other important cases which attracted much
public attention, at the time.
Coroner Hughes' knowledge of medicine, gained in
early life, has proved a useful training, and enabled
him to conduct difficult cases to a successful issue.
PROMINENT MEN OF STATEN ISLAND, 1893.
GEORGE T. SCHAEFER, the eldest of fourteen children of
Carl F. Schaefer, was born in New York city in 1853.
He came to Staten Island with his father's family in
1859, and was educated in the public schools, with a
year's course in the German school.
When thirteen years of age, he entered his father's
shop to learn the trade of carpenter, cabinet-maker and
upholsterer. Having thoroughly learned all branches of
the trade, he started in business for himself at the age
of twenty-two years, establishing the business of un-
dertaker and embalmer, which he still conducts at 1 74
Bay st., Stapleton. In 1889, Mr. Schaefer was elected
coroner for Richmond county, an office which he still
holds, having been re-elected in 1892. During his
term, he has conducted many important inquests and
has made for himself an excellent record as a
thorough and careftil official.
PROMINENT MEN OF STATEN ISLAND, 1893.
UNDER-SHERIFF JOHN J. VAUGHAN, JR.
JOHN J. VAUGHAN, JR., was born in Wales in il
When he was eight years of age his parents moved to
Rossville, Staten Island. At the age of fifteen years
he enlisted in the Union Army, itiRegt. 155 N. Y. Vols. of
Corcoran's Irish L,egion, which was then stationed at
Camp Scott, and was assigned to duty as drummer.
He participated in the battles of Deserted Farms,
Suffolk, Black Water, Eatonton Road, Spottsylvania
Court House, Mattapony, North Anna, South Anna, Cold
Harbor; assaults on Petersburg, June i6th, ijth, i8th
and 22nd, 1864; Ream's Station, Hatcher's Rim, Deep
Bottom; the breaking of the Confederate lines in front
of Petersburg, April 2nd, 1865; Burksville, and at High
Bridge, where he was captured, three days before the
surrender of General L,ee at Appomattox. He was
with L/ee's army at the time of the surrender.
Since the close of the war Mr. Vaughan has held
the office of under-sheriff two terms beside the
present one, and the office of superintendent of the
poor and of sheriff of Richmond county. He is also
vice-senior past commander of L,erihart Post No. 163,
G. A. R., and past chancellor of Richmond Lodge No. 80,
K. of P.
PROMINENT MEN OF STATEN ISLAND, 1893.
SURROGATE'S CLERK FINLEY.
WILLIAM FIXLEY, clerk to the surrogate's court of
Richmond county, was born Oct. igth, 1854, at Staple-
He is the eldest son of the late Michael Finley, who
for over twenty years was manager of Mr. John Scott's
livery stable at Clifton.
The subject of the above sketch receive 1 his edtt-
cation at the Broad street school, Stapleton, and in
early life was employed as clerk by the firm of Arm-
strong & Frost.
His first ptiblic office was that of town auditor of the
town of Southfield to which he was elected for two
terms, and in 1878, 1879 and 1880 was elected tax
collector of the same town.
On Jan. ist, 1882, he was appointed by the Hon.
Stephen D. Stephens, clerk to the surrogate's court,
and was re-appointed Jan. ist, 1888.
Mr. Finley was married Nov. 29th, 1883, to Eleanor S.,
daughter of Justice John L,. Young, of Richmond, where
he now resides with his wife and three children, Susie
M. , Margaret and Eleanor.
PROMINENT MEN OF STATEN ISLAND, 1893.
THOMAS KENNY, JR.
THOMAS KENNY, JR., eldest son of ex-revenue collector
Thomas Kenny, of West New Brighton, was born at
West New Brighton in 1866. He was educated in the
Christian Brothers' School, of New York city, and the
De La Salle Institute. After graduating from the In-
stittite he completed a course in Walworth's Steno-
graphic College, New York, where he had one of the
most thorough masters and teachers in the pro-
fession. Immediately after receiving his diploma he
was appointed by the Hon. Stephen D. Stephens as the
official stenographer of the surrogate's court and
county court and court of sessions, which position
he still holds. He has the honor of being the young-
est court stenographer in the state, and young as he
is, he is rated as one of the leading, most careful and
correct men in his profession.
Mr. Kenny is also president of the Young Men's
Catholic Union, of West New Brighton, a position he
has held with entire satisfaction to the members of
the Union for the past seven years.
He is still unmarried and lives with his parents at
West New Brighton, the place of his birth.
PROMINENT MEN OF STATEN ISLAND, 1893.
FRANKLIN C. VITT.
FRANKLIN C. VITT was born in New York city, May
1853. In 1865, his parents moved to Stapleton, where
he completed his education at the public school.
In 1869,116 secured a position with a law firm in New
York, and his energy and natural ability soon raised
him to the position of managing clerk, a position, he
held until the dissolution of Ihe firm in 1876.
He was one of the promoters and founders of the
famous Middletown "Boys in White/' a Democratic
club which has been a conspicuous feature in every
Democratic campaign since its organization.
Mr. Vitt entered politics when quite a young man,
and has always wielded a considerable influence in the
councils of his, (the Democratic) party, and has often
been elected to county and congressional conventions.
In 1883, he was elected justice to fill a vacancy, and
in 1885 and again in 1889 and 1893, was re-elected for
In Deceiiiber 1890, Mr. Vitt was appointed clerk of
the board of sttpervisors, a position which he still
holds, and the duties of which office he has performed
with such promptness, accuracy and fidelity, as to
earn for him the reputation of being the best clerk
the board of supervisors ever had.
PROMINENT MEN OF STATEN ISLAND, 1893.
ROBERT P. BROWN, postmaster of West New Brighton,
N.Y., was born in Railway, N. J., on Dec. 3ist, 1844,
and, when sixteen years of age, became a resident of
In 1862, he enlisted in Company C, 3oth Regiment N.
J. Volunteers, and, after serving continuously through
his term of enlistment, was honorably discharged,
and he returned to Staten Island, where he was en-
gaged in business pursuits until May 1882, when he
received his appointment to his present position of
postmaster from President Chester A. Arthur.
Mr. Brown performed his official duties with such
conscientious zeal, efficiency and courtesy, that he not
only won the respect and warm regard of all, but with
an increase of more than one-third in the population
the business of his office has been quadrupled under
his vigorous administration and the office promoted
from the thiid to the second class, and, on July ist,
1890, it was made a free delivery office.
The efficiency and zeal of Mr. Brown were made
known by his best patrons of both parties to President
Cleveland, who retained him in office through hio
first administration, and to President Harrison, by
whom he was re-appointed April gth, 1889. He has
therefore served as postmaster continuously for nearly
twelve years to the perfect satisfaction of his towns-
men and the post-office department.
Mr. Brown is a member of the M. E. church, of the
G. A. R. and of the American Legion of Honor; he is
also a member of the Masonic Fraternity and for two
years was master of Richmond L-odge No. 66, F. & A.
PROMINENT MEN OF STATEN ISLAND, 1893. 4-
OLIVER H. GRIFFIN, whose portrait is herewith pre-
sented, fittingly exemplifies the American, idea of pro-
gression and enterprise, pressing forward with in-
domitable energy to the accomplishment of greater
things, each elevation being the stepping-stone to
something more advanced.
He was born in New York city, and came to Staten
Island when about six years of age. At fourteen
years of age he secured a position as clerk in M. S.
Tynan's saw-mill, but soon, having an opportunity
for a more lucrative position, he left the saw-mill
and took charge of Hall's coal business, which posi-
tion he held for ten years.
Mr. Griffin then was appointed ticket agent for the
S. I. R. T. R. R. Co., at Whitehall street, New York,
where his business aptitude quickly won him a high
On June loth, 1890, he received his commission,
under the Harrison administration, as postmaster at
Stapleton, which office he still fills to the entire satis-
faction of the people. It was through his instrumen-
tality that the handsome new post-office building
Mr. Griffin is active in Masonic matters and the A.
O. U. W. , is a member of the Staten Island Quartette
Club, and for many years has been prominently identi-
fied with the Edgewater Fire Department.
SUPT. OF THE POOH BO WEN.
PROMINENT MEN OF STATEN ISLAND, 1893. 47
WILLIAM BOWEN was born in Boston in 1840 and was edu-
cated in the grammar schools of that city. The family
moved to New York when William was fifteen years of
age. When he became of age he embarked in the
liquor business and, previous to his removal to Staten
Island in 1868, was owner of a wholesale liquor store at
31 Broadway. He was proprietor of the New York
hotel at Vanderbilt L/andingfrom 1868 to 1889, when he
retired from business and removed to his present
residence, the L/eaycraft homestead, on Simonsoii
In 1873, ^'I r - Bowen was appointed superintendent of
the poor of the town of Southfield, for one year, to fill
the vacancy caused by the death of Capt. Coppers. At
the expiration of his term he was re-elected on the
Democratic ticket and has held the office continuously
since except one term when the Democratic ticket
known as the "3-B v ticket, (Brown for sheriff, Brick
for member of assembly and Bowen for superintend-
ent of the poor), was defeated.
Mr. Bowen's term of office is noted in the annals of
Richmond county politics for the vigorous fight which
he and Mr. Clark made against the "poor-house com-
bine, " which resulted in securing an act of the legisla-
ture abolishing the office of superintendent of the
poor and reviving the office of poor-master, and making
the poor-master and the keeper of the alms-house
responsible to the board of supervisors.
One of the results of Mr. Bowen's fight against the
"poor-house combine" was the capture of the Demo-
cratic convention in 1889 by the ring politicians and
the defeat of Mr. Bowen for the nomination. He, how-
ever, received the unanimous nomination on the Re-
publican ticket and the individual endorsement of the
better class of Democrats. At the election he ran
over i, 600 ahead of his ticket and was elected by a
A desperate effort was made to count him out by
forged election returns, but the work was so bung-
ling] y done that the fraud was discovered and defeat-
PROMINENT MEN OF STATEN ISLAND, 1893.
COLLECTOR PAUL LATOQRETTE.
PAUL LATOURETTE, for many years the tax collector of
the town of Nortlifield, was born at Summerville, S. I.,
August nth, 1830, and belongs to the old Latourette
family which settled on Staten Island nearly two centu-
In his early life, Mr. Latourette followed the water
and was an oyster planter on a large scale.
He was collector for the town of Nortlifield in 1883
and has held the office continuously since that time,
except that he refuses the nomination every third
On July 2oth, 1851, he was married to Miss Jane Lyons.
They have four children:
Paul, Jr., born April yth, 1852, married June 7th, 1874,
to Miss Marietta Wheeler, and lives at Mariners,- Har-
bor. They have six children, May, George, Paul, Sadie,
Maude and Florence.
Alonzo, born Dec. 25th, 1853, married Jan. loth, 1875,
to Miss Carrie Smith, and lives at Summerville. They
have three children, Gertrude, Louis and Jane-
Christopher C., unmarried, living at Summerville.
Jane, born Jan. ist, 1860, married May 2oth, 1878, to
John Wheeler of Staten Island. They live in Brooklyn,
and have three children, Charles, Christopher and Paul.
PROMINENT MEN OF STATEN ISLAND, 1893.
HIGHWAY COMMISSIONER SIMONSON.
CORNELIUS SIMONSON, JR., highway commissioner for
the town of Northtield, belongs to the old Simonson
family which came from Holland in 1662 and purchased
large tracts of land 011 Staten Island, where they have
since lived, xiseful and respected members of the
Cornelius Simonson, Jr., was born in 1840 at the
homestead of his branch of the family, in Chelsea, and
was educated in the Staten Island schools and has al-
ways lived on the farm. Mr. Simonson is a Democrat,
and in 1890 he was elected a member of the board of
assessors, and in 1893 was Qlected highway commis-
He has always been looked upon as one of the solid
sterling men of Northfield, one who honors the office
he holds more than the office honors him.
Mr. Simonson married, in 1870, Miss Maria Stellen-
werf of Long Island.
PROMINENT MEN OF STATEN ISLAND, 1893.
AUGUSTUS ACKER was born in. the city of New York, No-
vember soth, 1860, of German parentage, was educated
in the public schools of that city, and when graduated
at the age of seventeen years, he entered the law office
of his brother, Edward A. Acker, and began studying for
In 1877, he came to vStaten Island, and made New
Brighton his home, where in February 1889, he was
elected justice of the peace, and on the following
November, justice of the court of sessions, and in
1893, was re-elected justice of the peace and justice of
the court of sessions, receiving the largest majority
ever given, both of which offices he now holds.
fudge Acker probably hears more important cases
than any other justice in the entire covinty, and his
thorough knowledge of the law, and the tiniform fair-
ness with which all his judgments are rendered, have
given him the title of "the model jtistice."
While tearless and impartial in the performance of
his duty, his strict administration of justice is tem-
pered with that mercy which wells from his sympathetic
heart and perennial good natttre.
-Mr. Acker married Miss Caroline Almstaedt, of New
Brighton, on March 26th, 1883, and he has an interesting
family of three children, two daughters and one son.
PROMINENT MEN OF STATEN ISLAND, 1893.
GEO. W. FISHER, eldest son of George Fisher, was born
in New York in 1865. In 1866, the family moved to
Staten Island and settled in the town of Middletown.
In 1 884, they purchased the farm near New Springville,
where the family have since resided.
In 1892, Mr. Fisher was elected justice of the peace
for the town of Northfield, and is probably the young-
est justice in Richmond county, but his decisions
have been marked by an impartiality and legal knowl-
edge which have won for him the confidence and re-
spect, even of his opponents.
In 1890, Mr. Fisher married Miss Mary Miller of New
Springville. They have two children, Walter Irving,
aged two years, and Ethel, aged one year.
PROMINENT MEN OF STATEN ISLAND, 1893,
DAVID M. LANGTON was born at West New Brighton
June 6th, 1854, and has always lived in the same village,
He is the youngest son of the late Michael Langton,
who was for twenty-four years justice of the peace
of the town of Castleton.
Mr. Langtoii is a mason by trade and in politics is a
strong- Democrat. He was elected justice of the peace
in the spring of 1890 and took office January ist, 1891.
As justice Mr. L,angton's rulings have always been
upright and fair, and it is his endeavor to make
his decisions just and reasonable. His business ex-
perience and gocd judgment have made him a valu-
able member of the town board.
Mr. Langtoii married on the I7th of October 1893,
Miss Annie Cassidy.
PROMINENT MEN OF STATEN ISLAND, 1893.
SAMUEL A. MACORJIAC was born in Stapleton, in 1857,
and removed with his family to the town of Westfield.
in 1869. He was educated at the Hackettstown Institute
at Hackettstown, N. J. After his graduation he took
a position as clerk in the store of Seguine & Decker at
Rossville, where he remained three years. He was
afterward freight clerk on the steamer New Brunswick
for five years and on the steamer Saratoga, of the
Troy line, for six months. In 1886, he married
Carrie M., daughter of the late John A. Ridner, of
Greenridge. He purchased the store and business
of his late father-in-law, and was appointed postmaster
in 1887, which office he holds at the present time. In
1892, he was elected justice of the peace, taking office
January ist, 1893, and associate justice of sessions to
take office January ist, 1894.
Mr. Macormac has always been known as a good,
careful business man and is a clear-headed magistrate
and a valuable member of the town board.
Mr. and Mrs. Macormac have one son, Frank V.,aged
PROMINENT MEN OF STATEN ISLAND, 1893.
JUSTICE MINIM AH AN.
JOHN E. MINNAHAN, justice of the peace of the town of
Castleton, recently appointed to the vacancy catisedby
the death of Mr. John K. Hall, is at the present
time the youngest ustice in the Empire state, being
in his 25th year. Born in West New Brighton, he has
continued to live there up to the present time. After
graduating from the local schools he took a course of
instruction in the Christian Brothers, school of New
York city, graduating with high honors. He is unmar-
ried and resides with his parents. Mr. Minnahan is a
member of several societies and holds the honored
position of president of the Catholic Union Dramatic
Club, being one of its originators, and devotes con-
siderable of his time to amateur theatricals. As a
humorist he is often heard in our various amusement
halls, especially when the cause is a charitable one,
as his services are always gratuitous.
The judge is one of the most companionable young
men that you can possibly meet, and he counts his
friends by the hundred.
PROMINENT MEN OF STATEN ISLAND, 1893.
PETER TIERNAN, justice of the peace of the town of
Middletown, was born in Ireland, but came to
America in 1851 and settled in Tompkitisville.
Mr. Tiernan has always taken an active and promi-
nent part in county and local affairs, and as early as
1853 was elected school trustee, which office he held
for two terms and the office of school collector for
three terms; and in 1876 and 1880 he was tax collect-
or for the town of Middletown. He is now serving
his eighth term of justice of the peace, and is the old-
est justice in Richmond county. At the expiration
of this present term of office he will have served the
county thirty-two years in that capacity.
He has also served for fifteen years as a member
of Neptune Fire Engine Co. No. 6, and eight years in
the 69th Reg't. N. Y. S. M.
Mr. Tiernan has always been a Democrat and taken
a prominent part in councils of his party in which he
wielded no inconsiderable influence. His court has
always maintained a high reputation for the jtistice
and impartiality of his decisions.
PROMINENT MEN OF STATEN ISLAND, 1893.
WILLIAM C. CASEY, of New Brighton, was born in Ire-
land in 1848. He came to America while quite young,
and alter spending some time in San Francisco and
Chicago came to Staten Island and settled in New
Brighton,iii 1867. He lias been a justice of the peace of
the town of Castleton for the past fifteen years, and
served two terms as justice of the sessions; and has
been a member of the Democratic County General Com-
mittee for nineteen consecutive years. He has also
been a member of the school board of school District
No. 4 of Castleton for the past nine years and chair-
man, of the board for six years.
Mr. Casey is one of the best known justices on the
Island and has heard and decided many important
cases with judicial fairness.
PROMINENT MEN OF STATEN ISLAND, 1893. 57
L,ouis MORRIS JOHXSTOXE comes of an old New York
family. He was born in New York city in 1839, and
passed the early years of his life there. His father,
Francis U. Jolmstoiie, M. D., was a prominent physician
of that city, who died in 1858. Mr. Johnstone was in
South America at the beginning of the Rebellion, but
returned to the United States in October 1863. and
served as ist L,ievi.t. of Battery I, Independent Pemi.,
Light Artillery, (commonly known in the Army of the
Potomac as Kevin's Battery), from January I2th, 1864,
to the close of the war.
In 1879, Mr. Jolmstoiie left New York and came
to Stateii Island to be near his brother, the late Dr. F.
U. Jolmstoiie, of New Brighton. In May 1886, he moved
into the third ward, the "Hill district" of the village
of Edgewater, and in June of the same year, was elect-
ed trustee from that ward, was re-elected in June 1888,
'90 and '91, and has held the position of president of
the village without opposition since Jtine 1887.
He has been assiduous in the discharge of his
official duties, and his retention in office seems to prove
that he has won the confidence of his fellow-citizens.
PROMINENT MEN OF STATEN ISLAND, 1893. 5 9
GEORGE T. EGBERT was born. July 3oth, 1851, at Eras-
tina, near the place where he now resides. At twelve
years of age he entered, the Mt. Washington Collegiate
Institute, of New York city.
After passing through the course of study and grad-
uating with high honors, he began business with the
firm of Gasherie, Emery & Co., 48 Walker street, New
York, one of the largest dry goods jobbers and import-
ers in the city. By strict attention to business he
soon rose to the position of book-keeper for that house.
After remaining with the above firm for seven or
eight years, Mr Egbert resigned his position, and in
1876 accepted the position of cashier with the Consoli-
dated Fireworks Company of America, 9 and 1 1 Park
place, with a capital of $2, 500,000, the largest manu-
facturers and importers of fire-works and celebration
goods in the world; having branches in Chicago, Cin-
cinnati, Rochester, Boston, Baltimore and St. Louis,
and doing a business of $i, 500,000 annually, their trade
covering not only the United States, but extend-
ing to Canada, Mexico, South America, Europe and
the Sandwich Islands. The principal factories are at
Graniteville, and cover sixty acres, but the company has
smaller factories at nearly all its branches. It has been
awarded the contracts for all the large pyrotechnic
displays given in this country in recent years.
At the last annual meeting of the stockholders, Mr.
Egbert, who is a large stockholder, was tinanimous-
ly elected secretary, a position which he now holds.
He is one of the charter members of the North-
field Building Loan Association, one of the most pros-
perovts organizations of the kind in the state, its
monthly receipts being $6,500. He has been a
member of the board of education for the past five
years and was unanimously re-elected at the last
Mr. Egbert has been a member of Summerfield Metho-
dist Episcopal Church for nearly twenty years and has
filled, at different times, every position of hon^r and
trust in the church, being now president of the board
of trustees, and the church has been greatly bene-
fited by his services and liberality.
In politics, Mr. Egbert is a straight out Cleveland
Democrat, having voted for him three times for
president. He is also active in local politics, in favor
of honest government and local improvements.
He was president of the board of sewer commission-
ers, until he resigned to accept the office of trustee
of the village of Port Richmond,to which he was elected
at the last charter election. At the first meeting of
the new board of trustees, he was elected president.
PROMINENT MEN OF STATEN ISLAND, 1893. 61
JAMES KERR, the subject of our sketch, was born in
Chatham, near Detroit, Mich., March 2oth, 1858, and was
educated in Toronto, Canada. He entered the drug
business in 1873, and was graduated from the Ontario
College of Pharmacy as a pharmaceutical chemist in
1878. When less than twenty years of age he opened a
drug store in Toronto, but immature business quali-
fications precipitated by a general depression in
business concluded this venture. A little disfigured
by this encounter, but not divested of his monumental
pluck and nerve, he turned his footsteps toward the
iCmpire state and the only New York city. After
clerking for a time in Brooklyn he finally was induced
by Mr. L. Johnson (the originator and proprietor of the
now famous Johnson's Happy Pills), to accept a posi-
tion in his pharmacy at West New Brighton. After
satisfying Mr. Johnson of his business tact and energy
he was admitted as a partner, and this relation was
maintained to the satisfaction of both parties for five
years, only ending with Mr. Johnson's retirement from
the business, on a comfortable competence. Since Mr.
Kerr's residence on Stateii Island he has been the re-
cipient of many favors from his fellow townsmen, who
know how to appreciate an active, energetic business-
man, and all who have been associated with him
He has served seven years as an active member of
Medora Hook & Ladder Co., "No 3, filling all the offices
and serving as foreman for three years.
Mr. Kerr is an Odd Fellow, a director in the Staten
Island Building L,oaii and Savings Association, trustee
of Richmond Lodge, No. 66, F. & A. M., high priest of
Tyrian Chapter, 219, Royal Arch Masons, and last but
not least, was chosen at the last charter election to
represent the fourth ward of the village 01 West Brigh-
ton, as its alderman.
In conclusion, it would not be out of place to state
that we confidently believe that the extraordinary ef-
forts put forward by Mr. Kerr to increase his already
large business will be crowned with success.
PROMINENT MEN OF STATEN ISLAND, 1893.
JOHN J. FETHERSTON.
JOHN |. FETHERSTON has been a life-long resident of
Richmond county. Though engaged in private busi-
ness he has always been prominently identified with
Mr. Fetherston bears a striking resemblance to
Senator David 11 Hill. He has been a steadfast Demo-
crat all his life and has served with signal success in
the Democratic General Committee for the past twenty
years. He was chief of the North Shore Fire De-
partment for one term, was trustee of the first ward
of the village of New Brighton lor ten years and pres-
ident of the village for five terms, which office he re-
signed to accept the unanimous appointment as village
treasurer, which office he now holds. Though quiet
and unassuming, his straightforward course while
in office of trust has made him a host of friends
among people of all classes.
PROMINENT MEN OF STATEN ISLAND, 1893.
VILLAGE CL1LRK O'GRADY.
JOSEPH F. O' GRADY, town clerk of the town of Castle-
toii, and village clerk of th ; village of New Brighton,
was born in the city of New York and has been a resi-
dent of Richmond county since he was one year old.
He attended St. Peter's ACE demy at New Brighton, after
which he went to Gramm - School No. 29, in Greenwich
street, New York, from which he was graduated. He
then took a two years' course in L,atin and Greek in
the College of vSt. Francis Xavier, from there going to
Manhattan. Academy, where he was graduated in 1880.
He immediately accepted a position as teacher in public
school No. 4, Tompkinsville, where he remained until
1890. He resigned the vice-principalship of the school
to accept the office of village clerk. He has been
unanimously re-appointed four times.
Mr. O'Grady has an extensive acquaintanceship arid
hopes some d.ay to become prominently identified with
the Democracy of Richmond county.
PROMINENT MEN OF STATEN ISLAND, 1893,
VILLAGE CLERK COLLINS.
MICHAEL J. COLLINS was born in Brooklyn, in 1856.
When lie was six years of age, his family moved to
Staten Island, where Michael, after a course of study
in the public schools, studied the classics under a
After completing his education, he returned to
Brooklyn, where he remained in business for four
years, after which he returned to Staten Island. In
1884, he was appointed secretary to the board of health,
and in 1886 was made clerk of the village of Edge-
vruter, and the fact that he has held this position for
seven consecutive years, under different boards of
trustees, is the best proof of how well he has per-
formed the duties of his office.
Mr. Collins has also served as a member of the board
of directors of the Edgewater Co-operative Building
and Loan Association, is a member of the Southfield
Lodge, Ancient Order of United Workmen 401, has been
treasurer of the Forester's Court, Staten. Island, for
the past six years, and is one of the charter members
of the Edgewater C. B. L.
Mr. Collins is a Democrat, always active in politics,
and has served as secretary of several conventions.
PROMINENT MEN OF STATEN ISLAND, 1893. 65
BUSI/SESS A/VD PR0FFES-
FRANK S. GANNON.
FRANK S. GANNON, general superintendent of the
Staten Island Rapid Transit railroad, and the
New York division of the Baltimore and Ohio rail-
road, was born September i6th, 1851, at Spring
Valley, Rockland cotmty, New York. He entered
railway service in 1868, as telegraph operator
on the Delaware division of the Erie railroad. In
April 1870, he was appointed clerk in the office of the
president of the Jersey Midland railroad, now known
as the New York, Susquehanna and Western railroad,
and served consecutively as president's clerk and
train despatcher. In. April 1875, he was made train
despatcher of the Long Island railway, was promoted
to be depot master in 1876 and master of transporta-
tion in 1877, which position he held xintil January 1881,
when he was made sxipervisor of trains on the
Pittsburg division of the Baltimore and Ohio railroad.
He had held this position but three months when
lie was appointed general superintendent of the
Mew York and Northern railroad. In August 1886,
he resigned his position to take the office of general
superintendent of the Staten Island Rapid Transit
railroad, which position he now holds, together with
that of general superintendent of the New York divis-
ion of the Baltimore and Ohio railroad, to which he was
appointed in March 1890.
Mr. Gannon is also a director of the Staten Island
Rapid Transit Railroad Company, a director of the John
Good Cordage and Machine Company, president of
the Richmond Land Company, president of the Rapid
Transit branch of the Co-operative Building Bank of
New York, treasttrer of the employes' Mutual Benefit
Association, member of the Manhattan Club of New
York, and chairman of the executive committee of
the New York and New Jersey Car Service Association.
Mr. Gannon is a thorough railroad man, a strict disci-
plinarian, and progressive.
FRANK S. GANNON,
Superintendent S. I. R. T. R. R. Go
PROMINENT MEN OF STATEN ISLAND, 1893. 67
Many improvements have been made in the rules'
and methods of operating- the road since he has been
at the helm. Trains have been multiplied, the time
shortened, new cars and engines provided, new and
handsome stations built, large and commodious ferry-
boats built, a new ferry-house in. New York, and the
foundations laid for a handsome new fen y-house at St.
George. The track has been doubled to New Dorp,
and arrangements are being made to complete the
double track to Tottenville and build several more
Mr. Gannon has also abolished the old system of
giving passes to favored patrons and compelling all
others to pay transient fares and has adopted a system
of commutation, half fare and family tickets which
has proved a great advantage to permanent residents
of the Island.
Personally, Mr. Gannon, is one of the most genial of
men and has the confidence and esteem alike of the
public and the large force of employes under his
B. KREISCHER & SONS.
THE business of B. Kreischer & Sons was established
at Kreischerville in 1852, by Balthasar Kreischer. Mr.
Kreischer was born, in Germany in 1813, where he
learned the business of stone-cutter and sculptor. He
came to America soon after the fire of 1835, which de-
stroyed a great portion of New York city. For awhile
he carried on the trade of master builder, and erected
many buildings in the burned district. Soon afterward,
having discovered large deposits of fire clay in New
Jersey, he began the manufacture of fire-brick at 58
Goerck street, New York; his business increased rapid-
ly, and in about the year 1852 he discovered the exten-
sive clay deposits in the vicinity of the present village
With a keen foresight, he botight up large quantities
of land including nearly all of the best clay banks in
the vicinity, atid set to work to build one of the largest
fire-brick factories to be found in this country, where
the industry was then in its infancy.
Mr. Kreischer then gathered around him men skilled
in the manufacture of fire-brick, and was able from
the first to turn out an article superior to the best
imported bricks. The works have been twice com-
pletely destroyed by fire, once in 1867 and again in
1892, and each time they have been rebuilt, more com-
plete than before.
PROMINENT MEN OF STATEN ISLAND, 1893,
THE LATE B. KREISCHER.
PROMINENT MEN OF STATEN ISLAND, 1893. 69.
In all its machinery and methods, the factory has
kept pace with the latest improvements of the times,
and its brand of goods has always commanded the
highest prices; and while other factories have closed
up or curtailed their production, this factory has al-
ways pressed forward with a steady growth of capacity
The large and thriving village which has grown up
and around this single industry shows how important
a part it has paid in the prosperity of this end of
Stateii Island. One important branch of this industry,
aside from fire-brick, is the manufacture of gas re-
torts, an invention especially due Mr. Kreischer.
These retorts are in use in nearly every city in the
Mr. Kreischer was also one of the originators of the
Staten Island Railroad Company, and was for a time
president, and during his term, he instituted many
improvements, which were of lasting benefit to the
When the Staten Island factory was built the manu-
facture of fire-brick in New York was abandoned, but
the New York office was retained, at which nearly all
of the business was transacted. In 1871, George F.
Kreischer, the eldest son, was taken into partnership
by his father, and he assumed charge of the New York
In 1878, Charles C. and Edward B. , the two younger
sons, were taken into the co-partnership, and the firm
assumed the style and title of B. Kreischer & Sons, as
it exists to-day.
Mr. Kreischer was a type of man too rarely seen in
this country, where there is little sympathy or mutual
interest between employer and employe.
He always took a lively interest in all that pertained
to the personal welfare of his employes, and consid-
ered it both a duty and a pleasure to advise and help
them, and two of the latest acts of his life were to build
a handsome church and school-house and to establish
a mutual benefit society for the relief of the sick and
injured. Both Mr. Kreischer and his sons contributed
liberally to the funds of this society and took a per-
sonal interest in its success, and thus enabled
their men to be self-supporting in time of sickness,
instead of being obliged to depend on charity. In a
thousand ways Mr. Kreischer showed an interest in
the welfare of his employes that went beyond the
question of mere work and wages, and seldom has an
employer been more sincerely mourned by all classes
than Mr. Kreischer, whose death occtirred in 1886 at
his home in Kreischerville.
PROMINENT MEN OF STATEN ISLAND, 1893.
CHARLES C. KREISCHER.
PROMINENT MEN OF STATEN ISLAND, 1893. 71
CHARLES C., the second son of the late Balthasar
Kreischer, was born, in New York city, Sept. i5th, 1850.
He received his first schooling in. the German schools
of the city, after which he took a course of study in
St. Francis Zavier's College, which was supplemented
by a thorough commercial education at Bryant &
Stratton's Business College.
After completing his education, his father placed
him in his large fire-brick factory at Kreischerville,
where he learned, practically, every branch of the
work in order to fit him thoroughly for the responsi-
ble position which he was afterward to take, as gener-
al overseer of the manufacturing branch of his fa-
After spending two years in the factory, Mr. Kreisch-
er went to Germany and entered the Polytechnic Uni-
versity at Zurich, Switzerland, where he remained
four years. On his return he again went into the
factory at Kreischerville, and in 1872 was made super-
intendent of the factory. In 1878, he was made a mem-
ber of the firm of B. Kreischer & Sons, and at the
opening of the New York Anderson Pressed Brick
factory, he was made superintendent of that busi-
ness, which he managed successfully until the spring
of 1891, when he resigned and went to Europe.
Mr. Kreischer has held several town offices and has
been trustee of the Kreischerville school district for
the last twenty years and an elder in St. Peter's Church
since it was organized. He is the first regent of Ar-
thur Kill Ccuncil 1408, Royal Arcanum, and a mem-
ber of Huguenot Lodge 381, F. & A. M., and Staten Isl-
and Chapter 145, R. A. M.
On June igth, 1879, ^ r - Kreischer married AntoniaG.,
second daughter of Mr. George Wanier, of New York.
Mr. and Mrs. Kreischer have one son, Arthur G., aged
eleven years, now a student at St. Austin's school,
Mr. Kreischer has always been a staunch Democrat
and has wielded a potent influence in the councils of
the party, and has often been tendered the nomina-
tion for important offices, but has preferred to devote
his time to his large business interests.
EDWARD. B. KREISCHER.
PROMINENT MEN OF STATEN ISLAND, 1893.
EDWARD B., the youngest of the children of the late
JBalthasar Kreischer, was born in New York city Feb-
ruary iSth, 1853. He was educated in the public schools
in the city and was graduated with honor from Pack-
ard's Business College. His first experience in busi-
ness was as book-keeper in his father's office in New
York. He remained there but a short time, when he
was appointed purchasing agent and paying teller for
Steinway & Sons' great piano house.
When his father was appointed president of the
Staten Island railway, Mr. Kreischer was put in charge
of the ticket department and had the management of
all the stations along the line of the road.
In 1877, Mr. Kreischer entered the factory at Kreisch-
erville, and in 1878, was made a member of the firm
of B. Kreischer & Sons, and from that time to the pres-
ent has been, either in connection with his brother
Charles C., or alone, the manager of the manufactur-
ing department of the business.
In 1884, Mr. Kreischer built the handsome residence
on the hill above the factory, where he now resides.
He has held the office for school collector at Kreisch-
erville for the past fourteen years, he has been an el-
der in vSt. Peter's German Evangelical Lutheran Church
since it was established, is treasurer of the church, of
the Mutxial Aid Society of the employes of B. Kreisch-
er & Sons and is vice-regent of Arthur Kill Council 1408,
Royal Arcanum. On June iQth, 1877, Mr. Kreischer
married Freda, eldest daughter of Mr. George Wanier,
then of New York city, but now living at Kreischer-
ville. They have one son, Harry A., aged fourteen
years, a student of St. Austin's school at New Brigh-
Mr. Kreischer is a thorough business man arid
manages with marked ability and success the large
business established by his father and still conducted
under the name o B. Kreischer & Sons.
HON. E. P. DOYLE.
PROMINENT MEN OF STATEN ISLAND, 1893.
HON. EDWARD P. DOYLE was born, at Mariners' Harbor,
June 8th, 1860. He was graduated from the public
schools at the age of twelve years, and took his first
position in a New York ship broker's office, after
which he spent eleven years with a wholesale shoe
He was secretary of the Democratic congressional
convention for this district in 1882, and was chairman
of the county convention in 1883, He was elected
member of assembly in 1885, and gained the reputa-
tion of being one of the hardest, workers in that body.
It was largely owing to his indefatigable labor that
the present oyster law and many laws for the protec-
tion of fish and oysters were placed on the statute
books of this state.
Mi~. Doyle was supervisor for the town of Northfield
from 1886 to 1891, and was one of the hardest working
and most efficient members of the board. From 1886 to
1892, he was secretary of the joint commission for fix-
ing the boundary between the states of New York and
New Jersey. He is and has. been since 1887, secretary
and engineer of the New York Fish Commission, was
secretary of the old New York. Free Trade Club, was
the first secretary of the Reform Club, and American
correspondent of the Cobden Club, is a member of the
Reform and Commonwealth Clubs and of the Staten
Island Cricket Club, is president and treasurer of the
Staten Island Produce Company, secretary and treas-
urer of the Aquahonga and the Manor Park L,and Com-
panies, secretary of the Northfield and Prohibition
Park Building and Loan Associations, secretary of the
finance committee of Co-operative Building Bank, a
trustee of the Richmond County Savings Bank, and
a member of the firm of Reedy & Co.
It will be seen that Mi. Doyle is a very busy man,
working both with his head and hands, and tliat he
has played no small part in the material advancement
of Staten Island.
JOHN H. ELSWORTH.
PROMINENT MEN OF GTATEN ISLAND, 1893. 77
JOHN H. ELSWORTH. son of Capt. \Ym. Elsworth, was
born at Bayonne, N. J., in. 1843. He was educated in the
schools at B-iyoima, and remained th^re in business
with his brothers, who were extensive oyster planters,
until 1877, when he came to Stateti Island and entered
into co-partnership with his present partner, Capt.
Peter Polworth, in the oyster planting business, in
which line the firm has always done a sticcessful
business and attained a high financial rating.
Mr. Elsworth has always been a staunch, hard-
working and active Republican. In 1888, he received
the unanimous nomination of the Richmond County
Republican Convention, for the office of sheriff, and was
elected by nearly two hundred majority, although it
was a presidential year and Cleveland carried the county
by nearly nineteen hundred. A desperate effort was
made to defeat his election on forged returns, but the
fraud was discovered in time to prevent his defeat, and
he was triumphantly vishered into office, Jan. ist, 1889.
During his term of office Sheriff Elsworth was often
publicly complimented by the supreme court jtidges,
and by the county judge, on the efficient and faithful
manner in which he performed the duties of the office,
and at the close of his official term Justice Culleii, of
the supreme court, and the members of the cotinty bar,
irrespective of party, paid a high tribute to the man-
ner in which Mr. Elsworth had performed his duties
during his entire term.
Mr. Elsworth comes of a sea- faring family, noted for
their skill in seamanship, his father having been a
captain of a coasting vessel, at the early age of four-
teen years. His brother Philip was a successful de-
signer of yachts. Among the famous craft designed
by him were the Montague, the Grayling and the
Atlantic. His brother Joseph was one of the most
skillful skippers that ever sailed in New York harbor.
He commanded the Puritan in its race against the
English yacht Genesta, and the May Flower against
the Galatea, in both of which races he was successful,
and won the cup.
Mr. Elsworth was married on the thirty-fourth
anniversary of his birthday, June 2ist, 1877, to Miss
Elizabeth W. Jones, daughter of James S. Jones, of
Snow Hill, Md. They hr.ve no children,
JOHN L. DAILEY.
PROMINENT MEN OF STATEN ISLAND, 1893. 79
JOHN LINDERMAN DAILEY.
JOHN LINDERMAN DAILEY, the only son of the Rev. J. P.
Dailey, was born in 1853, at Flemingtoii, N. J., where
his father was stationed as the pastor of the Metho-
dist Episcopal church. His mother was a direct de-
scendant of Gert. Daniel Erodhead, one of Washington's
most able and trusted officers during the Revolution.
In 1874, Mr. Dailey's father was appointed pastor of
St. Paul's Church, Tottenville, and the family came to
Staten Island to live, and since that time Mr. Dailey
has been a resident of Tottenville.
He was always a staunch Republican and early took
to politics, his first campaign being for the office of
justice of the peace in 1877 for which he received the
nomination of both parties. In 1883, and again in 1886,
he was elected highway commissioner, being the only
man on the ticket elected in 1886. In 1885, he ran
for member of assembly against the late Edward A.
Moore, and again in 1889 against Daniel T. Cornell, when
he had the highest vote of any man on the ticket and
was beaten by only about 300 majority, while the aver-
age Democratic majority was over i, 100.
In January 1889, on the accession of John H. Els-
worth to the office of sheriff, Mr. Dailey was appointed
under-slier iff and remained in office till the close of
Mr. Els worth's term.
During his term of office as under- sheriff, Judge Cul-
len publicly complimented Mr. Dailey from the bench
upon the prompt and efficient manner in which he
performed the duties of his office, and at the last term of
the county court, before Sheriff Elsworth's term of office
expired Judge Stephens spoke in the highest terms of
the manner in which the sheriff and uiider-sheriff had
conducted the office through their entire term, and
the members of the bar of Richmond county unan-
imously passed resolutions to the same effect.
In 1891, Mr. Dailey received the unanimous nomina-
tion of the Republican convention to the office of sheriff
and came within 1 1 5 votes of election, although Roswell
P. Flower, for governor, carried the county by nearly
i, 600 majority.
There is 110 Republican in. Richmond county who
can point to a record of political campaigns which have
so reduced the large majorities iisually polled by the
Democratic party as Mr. John L. Dailey, and he has often
been called the "most popular man in Richmond
WILLIAM S. BACOT.
Ex-County Road Engineer.
PROMINENT MEN OF STATEN ISLAND, 1X93. Sl
WILLIAM SINCLAIR BACOT, member of the American
Society of Civil Engineers, was born at East Orange,
N. J., April 1 9th, in the year 1860.
His family is descended from the French Huguenots,
of Touraiixe, France, who settled in the colony of
South Carolina, at Charleston, in the year 1694.
His father, Robert C. Bacot, came north in 1838
and married Mary Gilchrist, likewise of French de-
scent, the granddaughter of John Vacher, a surgeon
who served with the Continental army in the Revolu-
tion. He took up his residence in New York and
subsequently in New Jersey, where he and his family
have lived ever since. Robert C. Bacot, following his
profession, now holds the position of chief en-
gineer of the Riparian Commission of the state of
New Jersey, to which he was appointed in 1865.
William Sinclair Bacot was schooled in Hudson
county, New Jersey, and entered Princeton College in
the year 1877.
After pursuing a course of engineering in that in-
stitution he was graduated in the year 1881. Several
years later he received from that college the degree of
For the first five years after his college career Mr.
Bacot devoted his time to the stvuly of engineer-
ing, practicing meanwhile in the capacity of assistant
on several important public works. He first filled
the place of second assistant on the constrtiction of
the Hackensack water-works under Charles B. Brush,
C. E., now vice-president of the American Society
of Civil Engineers, and afterward as first assistant
on the water-works of Greenwich, Conn., Mount Ver-
11011, and Fishkill, N. V. In the course of events he
became chief engineer of the last three mentioned
works, which position he still holds 011 those at Green-
wich. While so acting many other engineering pro-
jects have fallen to his task, prominent among which
may be noticed the preliminary planning of the new
water supply for the city of Albany, and the construc-
tion of a system of Telford roads in the village of Lenox,
Shortly after the passage of the county roads act
in June 1890, he was appointed to the position of
county engineer, by the board of supervisors, of Rich-
mond county. The results of his efforts are too well-
known to need further description.
Mr. Bacot is a Mason, a member of Tompkins L,odge
No. 471, F. & A. M., and is also enrolled in the member-
ship of many other organizations on the Island and
PROMINENT MEN OF STATEN ISLAND, 1893. 33
BENJAMIN BROWN came to Staten Island in 1853 from
New York, where he was reared and educated. His
first entrance into politics was in 1861, when he was
elected to the office of constable on the Democratic
ticket. In 1869, after one of the hardest fights known
in local politics, he was elected trustee of the village
of Edgewater, which office he held for several years.
serving also one term as president of the board.
In 1876, he was elected to the office of sheriff, and
at the expiration of his term was elected treasurer
and collector for the village of Edgewater which offices
he held for three years when, in 1882, he was again
elected sheriff. At the expiration of his second term,
he was made under-sheriff under John J. Vaughan, Jr.,
thus serving nine years as sheriff and under-sheriff.
During the days of the old Volunteer Fire Depart-
ment, Mr. Brown was the prime mover in organizing
the E jgewater Fire Department and was for a time its
president and treasurer, and for six years its chief
engineer. Soon after the breaking out of the Civil
war, he helped to organize the fifth Ira Harris Cavalry,
and was its first forage master.
He is a strong advocate of L,o;m Associati ons and al-
ways endeavors to impress upon the working man the
benefits to be derived by joining the in and owning his
In 1887, he organized Pioneer Lodge of the Ancient
Order of United Workmen which lodge soon readied
a membership of two hundred; this organization is a
benevolent order or life insurance and has paid for
its sick and deceased brethren over seventy thou-
sand dollars in this short space o' time. He was made
district deputy the same year and has organized ten
lodges in this county. The tenth lodge Vigilant, No. 429,
was instituted 011 November nth with the largest list
of charter members of any that has yet been organized
in the county.
Mr. Brown is now engaged in the coal and wood busi-
ness at Stapletoii; having purchased the long estab-
lished coal yard of S. C. Hall, where he is doing a
thriving and prosperous business.
JOHN S. WARDE,
Superintendent S. I. Water Supply Co.
PROMINENT MEN OF STATEN ISLAND, 1893. 85
JOKN S. WARIJE, only son ol Mary J. and the late Will-
iam D. Warde, was born, near Tarrytown, Westchester
county, in 1840. He was educated at Tarrytown, and
when only thirteen years of age, he was appointed by
Isaac V. Fowler, then postmaster of New York city, to
a position in the New York post-office, where he re-
mained until tne war broke out in 1861, when he re-
signed his position and became a member of Company
I, of the 9th Regiment N. Y. S. Militia, afterward
known as the 83rd N. Y. State Volunteers.
Mr. Warde took quite an active part in raising- and
equiping the above company, and they left New York
June 1 7th, 1861, to join the regiment which was then
at the front, in General Patterson's division, Army of
the Potomac. In 1864, he was transferred to the io4th,
N. Y. S. Volunteers, and after the surrenc" er of L,ee,
was mustered out of the service under general order.
Upon his return to New York, Mr. Warde was ap-
pointed to a position in the Erie R. R. under O. H. P.
Archer. Some time after this, the Mercantile Safe De-
posit Co. was organized, one of the first companies of
the kind in New York, and having been tendered a
position with them, he severed his connection with
In 1873, ^ r - Warde moved to Brooklyn, and a short
time afterward, obtained a position in the water de-
partment of the City Works Department. He was
assigned to the purveyors' department under Peter
Millne. In 1881, he resigned and came to Stateii Isl-
and as superintendent of the S. I. Water Supply
When Mr. Warde assumed charge the company
possessed one engine, one boiler and fifteen miles
of pipe, with a capacity of 1,000,000 gallons per day.
There are now three engines, three boilers, about fifty
miles of pipe, and the daily capacity is over 5,000,000.
In 1885, he became a member of Medora H. & L,. Co.,
No. 3, and has represented that company in the board
of representatives of the North Shore Fire Department
since that time. He was vice-president of the board
for two years, and he is now serving his sixth term as
president. He was on the committee chosen to draw
up the articles of incorporation, and was a leading
member of the committee instrumental in having the
department incorporated. He is also a member of
Scotia Lodge F. & A. M., of New York city, and of Ty-
rian Chapter R. A. M., of Staten Island, of Richmond
Post G. A. R. , also Staten Island Council, Royal Ar_
8 6 PROMINENT MEN OF STATEN ISLAND, 1893.
canum, and Staten. Island L,odge, Knights of Pythias,
01 which he is past chancellor commander.
In politics, Mr. Warde has always been an active
Republican, and has been on the General Committee
from Castleton nearly all the years of his residence
on Stateii Island. In 1892, he was the Republican can-
didate for supervisor from the town of Castleton, and
although defeated by Robert Moore, Democrat, he re-
duced his Democratic opponent's usually large ma-
jority of from 500 to 800, to 268.
In 1 86 1, two months previous to his enlistment, Mr,
Warde married Miss Lizzie Jean Clark, daughter of
Mary E. and the late George W Clark, a well-known
New York artist. Mr. and Mrs. Warde have two sons,.
Charles S. and John S. Jr., the former of whom was
married in 1892 to Miss I/uqueer Meylert. of Port Rich-
mond, and has one child, Charles S. , Jr
PROMINENT MEN OF ST^TEN ISLAND, 1893.
HORACE E. BUEL.
HORACE E. BUEL, chairman of the Republican General
Committee, is the eldest son of Orlando W. Buel. He
was born on Staten Island, October 1852. His father
settled on the Island in 1836 and established the mar-
ble cutting business at Port Richmond, where the
business is still carried on by .Mr. Buel and his father.
In 1871, he joined Fire "Engine Company No. 3, of the
Port Richmond Fire Department, in which he has held
every office up to that of chief. He is also a member
of the board of health of the village of Port Richmond.
Mr. Buel has always been connected with, and is a
prominent working member of the Republican party, but
has never been an aspirant for political favors or Ittcra-
tive offices. He has been a member of the General Com-
mittee about ten years, and at the organization of the
last General Committee, he was elected chairman
Mr. Buel is a man of quiet and unassuming man-
ners, but with a clear head and a good stock of hard
common sense, and is just the man to keep a political
organization harmonious and tinited and to keep it in
good fighting order.
PROMINENT MEN OF STATEN ISLAND, 1893. 89
CALVIN DETRICK, second son of Samuel and Catharine
Detrick, was born at Stroudsburg, Pa. His father
was a farmer, and farm air, food and associations
strengthened in young Detrick the qualities of mind
and of body that afterwai d proved invaluable to him.
The scholastic year at the nearest school never ex-
ceeded three months. This was not to the liking of
either the father or son, so the latter, when he was
about sixteen, was sent to the Strotidsburg Academy,
at which he applied himself closely to his books for
Shortly before he attained his twentieth year he
went into business with a friend, the firm bearing the
name of Pinchot & Detrick. They had a country store
at Milford, Pa. , and did a thriving business. Mr. Det-
rick longed, however, for the greater opportunities
afforded by a city. He, therefore, sought and obtained
employment in a wholesale drygoods and notions house
in New York. He posted himself thoroughly in this
business which was not quite to his fancy, so with a
ready adaptability we next find him a contractor in
Philadelphia, where he engaged in the laying of sewers,
erection of water-works, the building of stone founda-
tions and similar work.
He came to Staten Island in the spring of 1884 and
introduced the present system of supplying water in-
to the village of Edgewater.
In the Spring of 1858 he created and organized the
Richmond Light, Heat and Power Co. which now fur-
nishes New Brighton with electric lighting. He was
its treasurer for some time. Two years later he formed
the Staten Island Light, Heat and Power Company,
which now furnishes Port Richmond and a part of West
Brighton with electric lighting.
Mr. Detrick is in no sense an exploiter. When he
forms a company it is formed to stay and he stays
with it, putting in his own money freely and then giv-
ing his close attention to the details of the enterprise.
Mr. Detrick resides in New Brighton, where he in-
tends to remain. He has invested no small part of his
fortune in Staten Island property.
He descended in a direct line from the sturdy Hol-
In 1882, Mr. Detrick married Miss Jennie Murray, of
Philadelphia. They have three children.
WILLIAM W. CORBETT.
PROMINENT MEN OF STATEN ISLAND, 1893. 9 i
WILLIAM W. CORBETT was born in Birmingham, En-
gland, in 1822, and came to America in 1840. In 1843,
he went to Canada, where he remained five years. He
was married, during his residence in Canada, to Miss
Mary Davis. On his return, he worked in New York,
until 1851, when he moved to Stapleton to take charge
of the sash and blind factory of the late Elwood Tay-
lor, He remained there three years, when he went to
Port Richmond, and established a sash and blind fac-
tory of his own and carried on a successful busine* s
until 1866, when he removed his factory and residence
to New Brighton, and continued the business until
In 1861, under President Lincoln's administration,
he was appointed night inspector of customs, of the
old Quarantine district at Tompkinsville, and held the
position for five years, at the end of which term he
was promoted to day inspector with two assistants,
and his district included all Staten Island and Bayonne.
He remained in this position until the second year of
In 1868, he was elected justice of the peace, which
office he held for six consecutive terms. He was jus-
tice of the sessions for ten years, and sat on the bench
with Judges Metcalfe, Westervelt and Stephens.
In politics, he has always been an active Republican,
and was one of the five who organized the Republican
party oil the North Shore, during the Fremont cam-
paign, and helped to hang the first Republican banner
in the county. He was secretary of the first Republic-
an General Committee of the county, of which Geo.
William Curtis was president; and has himself served
two terms as president of the General Committee.
Mr. Corbett still carries on the real estate business
in New Brighton, has been for ten years general mana-
ger for the Henderson estate, is agent for the Society
for the Prevention of Cruelty to Children, and has
been since its organization, and is the head of the
Local Detective Agency, recently established on Stateti
Island, with the approval and co-operation of the
county courts and police department.
CAPT. MICHAEL CONKLIN.
PROMINENT MEN OF STATEN ISLAND, 1893. (J3
CAPT. MICHAEL CONKLIN was born, in New York, Sept.
29th, 1828, and was brought tip and educated in the
city. At the early age of nine years he ran away from
home and went to sea. He- made several voyages, after
which he learned the trade of ship-carpenter, in the
shipyard of his father, who was a partner of the late
Alter thoroughly learning his trade he established a
shipyard at New Rochelle, where he overhauled and
repaired nearly all the racing yachts of that time.
In 1854, he came to Stateii Island intending to estab-
lish a shipyard near Quarantine, but subsequently
changed his plans, and formed a partnership with John
E. Armstrong in the business of owning and running
boats, instead of building them.
The first vessel they built was the propeller Res-
cue, the first propellor ever built for towing service
outside the harbor. She was employed by the quaran-
tine commissioners during the quarantine season
and at the breaking out of the war of the rebellion
was chartered by the metropolitan police harbor for
patrol. The Rescue and the Washington Hunt were
chartered by the government and remained Sotith all
through the war.
In 1 86 1, thev built the Harriet A. Weed, named after
the daughter of the late Thurlow Weed, who was a
close personal friend of Capt. Coiiklin. Slit; was after-
ward sold to the government and was blown up by the
rebels at Newburn. The Harriet A. Weed was also
used as a gun boat, anl Moses Lyons now living at Tot-
tenville was captain. In 1862, they built the John A. Dix
and sold her to the government. This boat is still in
the service as light-house tender in southern waters.
In 1863, they bought the Sylvan Shore and put heron
the New Brunswick route in. opposition to the George
L,aw, but afterward chartered her to the government,
and this is the vessel which carried the troops that
captured Wilkes Booth after the assassination of Presi-
dent Lincoln. On this trip she ran afoul of a wreck
which had been sunk b/ the rebels and stove a hole in
her side. She was kept afloat by putting mattresses
in the hole and keeping the steam pumps at work
tintil the boat arrived at Baltimore where she was
put on the dry dock.
In 1866, the firm bought the Chicopee and put her
on the route from New York to Amboy in opposition
to the S. I. Railway and ran her successfully till
1869, when she was purchased by Sharp, Freze & Co.
of Bridgetown, N. J., and was run between that place
<j4 PROMINENT MEN OF STATEN ISLAND, 1893.
Among the other boats owned and sold by Conklin &
Armstrong were the Washington Hunt, the Maryland
and the Katalidin.
In 1870, Mr. Conklin joined Win. Mulford in the lum-
ber and building material business, in Stapleton, and
afterward the firm bought the Jessup Mill at Green-
In 1880, Mr. Conklin sold out his interest in the busi-
ness, and in 1882, when the office of inspector of foreign
vessels was created, Mr. Conklin was appointed the
first incumbent and held the position until Sept. i 5th,
1885, when he was removed by the Democratic admin-
istration. In 1889, he was appointed, without solicita-
tion, assistant inspector of mills, and performed the
duties of inspector of foreign vessels until 1893, when
he was again removed, during Mr. Cleveland's second
Mr. Conklin was one of the founders of the Republican
party on the south side of the Island, and has always
been an active and influential worker in the party.
He was for many years intimately associated, politic-
ally, with Win. H. Seward, Thurlow Weed, E. D.
Morgan, Moses Taylor and Gen. John A. Dix, and now
has in his house at Annadale the desk on which Gen.
Dix wrote the famous order, "If any man hauls down
the American flag, shoot him on the spot."
PROMINENT MEN OF STATEN ISLAND, 1893.
DR. REINER ROEHRE.
DR. R. ROEHRE, superintendent of the International
Ultramarine Works, near Rossville, \vas born in Bonn,
Germany, in 1851, was educated in Bonn, L,eipsic and
Freibourg, and from the University of Freibourg he took
the degree of Doctor of Philosophy in 1879. In 1884, he
came to America and took charge of the construction
and operation of the International Ultramarine Works
which are the largest of the kind in America. Before
coming to America Dr. Roehre made himself acquaint-
ed with the manufacture of ultramarine and the ma-
chinery required for a large plant and was able to con-
struct ' the works with all the latest improvements for
the manufacture and handling of its large outptit.
The extensive buildings are a net-work of railroads
on which all the material is handled by cars at the
lowest possible cost of production. Much of the suc-
cess of the business is due the skill and experience of
the doctor, and the output of this factory exceeds that
of all other ultramarinefactories in the United States
The doctor was married in 1882 to Miss Annie Ditt-
rich of Saxony. They have five children, one boy Ru-
dolph, and four girls, Katharine, Gertrude, Emma and
PROMINENT MEN OF STATEN ISLAND, 1893. 97
FRANK RINSCHLER was born in Badan, Germany, in
1843, Oct. 7th, and learned his trade of mason and build-
er, in the city of his birth. In 1866, he came to Stateii
Island and established himself in Tompkiiisville and
worked in the Light House Department until 1870.
In 1878, he established business for himself, locating
in Stapleton, where he has since carried on a business,
being reckoned one of the foremost builders in the
county, taking contracts not only on the Island but in
New York, Brooklyn and New Jersey and a large amount
of village and county work beside private buildings.
Among the large contracts which Mr. Rinschler has
taken, was that for the International Ultramarine
Works at Rossville, the largest of the kind in America;
the Baltimore flats at Tompkinsville, one of the largest
private buildings on the Island; the main building of
tue new Emigration Bvireau on Ellis Island; the Clifton
public school built in coiijtmction with John G. Vaughn,
and at the present writing he is erecting the new
building for the Drew Theological Seminary at Madi-
son, N. J., costing $125,000.
Mr. Rinschler is one of the crack shots of the Staten
Island Schutzen Co., and was captain for the company
for two years; has been a member of the Klopstock
Lodge F. & A. M. from the first year of its organization,
and is a popular and prominent member of a large
number of local lodges and societies
PROMINENT MEN OF STATEN ISLAND, 1893. g9
CAPT. PETER ANDROVETTE, the second son of the late
Peter Aiidrovette, was born at what is now Kreischer-
ville, in 1834. In 1859, he was married to Anna M.,
daughter of the late Thomas Marshall, of Woodbridge,
N. J. He has two sons, Murray and Alfred, and three
daughters, Svisie, wife of Alfred Killmeyer, of Kreisch-
erville, Clara, wife of Wm. Tolaiid, of Tottenville, and
Lizzie, wife of Henry Scott, of Kreischerville.
Mr. Androvette has always followed the water, hav-
ing in early life joined the firm of Kreischer & Maurer
in the transportation business, and on the dissolu-
tion of the firm, lie took the general management of
the large freighting business of B. Kreischer & Sons.
Amoii<r the vessels of which he was master and part
owner were the Caroline Kreischer, 90 tons; Magic, 85
tons; Wm. P. Boggs, 70 tons; Mary Robb, 50 tons; John
I. Maurer, 75 tons; Mary Heitman, 90 tons.
In 1872, Mr. Androvette saw that steam was coming
to the front as the power for rapid transportation and
he set to work to build a fleet of steam tugs and light-
ers. In 1873, he built the steam lighter Clara, lootoiis;
in 1878, the steam lighter Flora, 150 tons; in 1882, the
steam lighter Harry, 100 tons; and in 1887, he pur-
chased the steam lighter Lizzie M. Coiiklin, 1 50 tons,
beside the steam tugs Allie and Evie, the Sadie Ellis,
Little Nellie and Mabel, and a large number of
barges of from 200 to 250 tons capacity.
In 1891, he formed the company known as the
Androvette Towing and Transportation Company, incor-
porated under the laws of the state of New Jersey, of
which he has been the president from the time of its
organization, capital stock $20,000. The fleet of tugs
consists of Allie and Evie, the Mabel and the Geo. B.
Among the other large enterprises in which Mr.
Androvette has been interested was the organization
of the Perth Amboy Dry Dock Company, of which he was
for a time president.
By shrewd management, untiring industry and
strict attention to business, Mr. Androvette has ac-
cumulated a comfortable fortune.
He has been a prominent member of Bethel Church
for over thirty years, and has been almost constantly in
the official board, and since the death of the late Hon.
Ephraim J. Totten, has been president of the board
PROMINENT MEN OF STATEN ISLAND, 1893. IOI
JOHN TURNER was born in County Donegal, Ireland, in
1813, of Scotch Presbyterian parentage. He was
brought up and educated in his native place, but, in-
stead of joining the church of his fathers, he became,
at an early age, an active member of the Baptist de-
In 1 83 2, he came to America and settled in Yorkville,
where he engaged in the house-painting business, a
trade which he had learned in his native country.
During his thirty years' residence in Yorkville, he
carried on a large and successful business and was
active in church and charitable enterprises. He was
largely instrumental in the building of the Park Bap-
tist Church, the first Baptist church in America which
had a spire. Vie also started and furnished the York-
ville reading-room and library, which was afterward
burned, but most of the books was saved.
During the draft riots of 1863, Mr. Turner's store,
corner of 86th street and 3rd avenue, was burned by the
rioters on account of Mr. Turner's well-known union
sentiments. Having then accumulated a comfortable
fortune, Mr. Turner retired from business and pur-
chased the Lenhart property on Amboy road, near
Bethel Church, Tottenville.
In 1873, Mr. Turner exchanged the Lenhart property
for his present residence in Brooklyn, and the follow-
ing year purchased a summer residence on Washing-
ton street. He took an active interest in the matter
of incorporating the village in 1869, but, becoming dis-
satisfied with the management of the village affairs, he
was as active in getting the charter repealed two
years later, in Albany.
Mr. Turner has been, financially, the chief support
of the South Baptist Church of Tottenville. He gave
the church the site on which it stands and moved it
from Johnson avenue to its present location, and
built the lecture-room. He has recently given the
church the two stores adjoining it, together with a
cottage 011 Arents avenue, and has recently contributed
five hundred dollars for further repairs.
Mr. Turner was twice married. By his first wife,
who was a native of Edinburgh, Scotland, he had two
sons, beside other children. The eldest, John, enlisted
in the i oth New York Volunteers, and was killed in
the battle of the Wilderness. The other son, Thomas,
lives in Brooklyn and holds a position in the Brooklyn
post-office. His second wife, who is still living, is of
English descent. Before her marriage she had been
for over twenty years employed in the book depart-
02 PROMINENT MEN OF STATEN ISLAND, 189?,
ment of the Methodist Book Concern in New York,
and since her marriage has been esteemed by all who
know her for her many domestic virtues.
Mr. Turner has passed his time for the last few
years, during- the summer, at Tottenville, at his favorite
pastime of fishing-, at which he is quite an adept, but
for the past year failing- health has prevented his in-
dulging in this recreation.
PROMINENT MEN OF STATEN ISLAND, 1893.
CHARLES WYETH was born on the anniversary of the
discovery of America, Oct. i2th, 1858, at his present
residence, Richmond Hill. He is the son of the ac-
complished lawyer, Nathaniel J. Wyeth, and was edu-
cated in the midst of the masterpieces of knowledge.
He was attracted by the "Circle of the Sciences" and
chose civil engineering as a profession, and has pur-
sued the development of the applied physical sciences.
Mr. Wyeth was prominent in. the location and con-
struction of the Staten Island and North and South
Shore railroads, the Crystal Water-works, the Erie and
Wyoming Valley railroad from Hawley to Pittston,
the Sxisquehanna and Alleghaiiy railroad, and he was
assistant engineer on the Arthur Kill bridge and the
S. I. R. T. railroad.
Appreciating the immense resources of the waters
of the land and the seas, Mr. Wyeth accepted the
appointment of assistant engineer of the commissioners
of fisheries of the state of New York, in their exten-
sive hydrograpbic work. He believes what is worth
doing is worth doing well. He is a member of the
Engineers' club of Philadelphia.
CALVIN D. VAN NAME 1 ,,
PROMINENT MEN OF STATEN ISLAND, 1893. IO5
THE subject of this sketch is Calvin Decker Van-
Name of Erastina. He was born in the same town,
Northneld, on this Island, January 3rd, 1857. His father
was WilliamHenry Van Name, a successful oyster plant-
er, who died in Northneld some years ago. The son
received the degree of L. L. B. from the University of
the City of New York before arriving of age, and was
admitted to practice law immediately on reaching
twenty-one. Mr. Van Name, although a young man,
has long been prominent on Staten Island.
As an attorney he was successful from the begin-
ning. He was entrusted with important matters and
acquired a large practice almost as soon as he was
admitted to the bar.
He had a long training in the practice of law with
L,. Bradford Prince, since chief justice and later
governor of New Mexico, but then senator from this
district. This gave him a complete knowledge of the
departments at Albany. That he made a favorable
impression there is evidenced by the fact that he has
obtained more grants of land under water than any
lawyer in the state.
His successful conduct of the Foley South Beach
case and the eviction of the Burkes and Lancaster
Syms claimants from the Garretsons beach made all
holders of old farm titles his lasting friends, and
demonstrated the security of Staten Island titles,
His real estate practice is very large, and he lias in
his safes complete abstracts of the titles to the farms
as they once existed in continuous line in Northneld
from Bodine's Mill to Howlaiid's Hook.
The Van Name family is the largest on Staten Island,
and Mr. Van Name is related to all the branches.
All are descendants of the old Hollander Jochem
Engelbert VaiiNamen, who came here from Heus-
den in the ship Hope which sailed irom Amsterdam
April 8th, 1662. (Riker's History of Harlem, page 339).
Mr. Van Name is a member of the Holland Society of
New York city. His mother is a Decker, which family
is also one of he largest on the Island. She is Eliza-
beth, the only daughter of the late Benjamin Decker.
Mr. Van Name is a widower. His wife, Lizzie Emma,
died May i4th, 1892. They had one child, Hazel Jane,
now seven years old.
He is a large property owner in Northneld, and has
long been identified with all movements of public
benefit in that section. His knowledge of the Island
and his numerous friends make him a strong man.
He was formerly a prominent Republican, serving
for years on the county and state committees and in
the county and state conventions. He was from time
106 PROMINENT MEN OF STATEN ISLAND, 1893.
to time nominated tor the different county offices in-
cluding county judge, assembly and district-attorney,
but always declined. He will not leave his large prac-
tice for public office.
He always expressed strong feelings against monop-
olies, and sincerely believing that they were fos-
tered by the Republicans, in the lall of 1893 joined
the Democratic party.
PROMINENT MEN OF STATEN ISLAND, 1893. I0?
WILLIAM A. SUYDAM.
MR. SUYDAM is the editor and publisher of the Staten
Island Gazette, issued every Wednesday at Stapleton,
and the Sentinel, every Saturday at New Brighton.
He belongs to a Knickerbocker family, and the revolu-
tionary records of Long Island and Brooklyn contain
plentiful evidence of the patriotic activity of his an-
cestors. His father, James Suydam, established the
first Democratic daily newspaper known in New York
city, the American Advocate, which was published under
the direction of James K. Polk, candidate for president.
About ten years ago, Mr. Suydam bought out the in-
terest of Mr. ErastusWiman in the Staten Island Gazette
and Sentinel. He does a large business in stationery and
printing supplies, and claims to own the most com-
plete printing establishment on Staten Island. The
Sentinel Printing House at New Brighton was built
by Mr. Suydam, and a row of very pretty cottages at
Rosebank, and others at Snug Harbor, represent some
of his real estate investments.
CHARLES LIVINGSTON HUBBELL.
PROMINENT MEN OF STATEN ISLAND, 1893. Iog
CHARLES LIVINGSTON HUBBELL.
CHARLES LIVINGSTON HUBBELL, son of Charles Wolcott
Hubbell and Serena Hempsted, his wife, was born in
Brooklyn, New York, July i4th, 1861. His great-grand-
father, Philip Livingston, was one of the signers of the
Declaration of Independence, and was a descendant of
the Livingston family of Livingston Manor, New York,
prominent in the early history of New York state.
Mr. Hubbell is descended on his father's side from
Richard Hubbell, who came from Wales in 1645 and
settled in Connecticut, and whose descendants were
prominent officers in the revolutionary war, the war
of 1812 and in the civil war.
Mr. Hubbell came to Stateii Island when a boy of six
years of age, and, after finishing an academic educa-
tion, engaged in business for a few years, and then en-
tered the law office of Hon. Frank Warner Angel, asst.
United States district attorney, and commenced the
study of law. He then attended the law school of New
York University and was graduated in the class of '86,
admitted to the bar May i2th, 1887, and entered into
the practice of his profession with offices in New York
city and on Staten Island.
Taking great interest in the development and
prosperity of Staten. Island. Mr. Hubbell formed
the Granite Park Land and improvement Company,
of which he is president and counsel. He is also
vice-regent of Staten Island Council, 1145, Royal
Arcanum, charter member of Starin Hose Com-
pany, No. 5, of West New Brighton, charter member
of the Republican Spellbinder Club of New York city,
one of the founders of New York University Law De-
partment Alumni Association, and member of the
Irving Literary Society, which defeated all the famous
and well-known debating societies in New York city
In addition, the popular and busy lawyer stumped
the state for Harrison and Morton during that mem-
orable campaign, and is active in politics and all that
appertains to the welfare and prosperity of Richmond
He was married January 4th, 1893, to Eleanor Mathews
Beach, and resides at West New Brighton, at which
place he is engaged in the general practice of law, and
has a growing and lucrative practice.
PERCIVAL G. ULLMAN.
PROMINENT MEN OF STATEN ISLAND, 1893. IZI
PERCIVAL GLENROY ULLMAN was born at Tompkinsville
May 29th, 1849, studied law with the Hon. Robert S.
Hale (one of the regents of the University of New York)
in Essex county, N. Y., and was admitted to the bar at
Albany, in 1870. He is one of the best real estate law-
yers in our county and is a close student to his large
practice. He has been widely and prominently known
for many years, and was the originator of the bill to
remove the yellow fever burial grounds from Prince's
Bay, the bill for relief of oyster planters now in
congress, and is one of the directors of the first Na-
tional Bank of St. George. He has also been promi-
nent in numerous other beneficial, public and politic-
al movements in our county, and now resides at
Mr. Uliman was married January 1 8th, i875,tolsabelle
S. , daughter of the late William Butcher. In 1878, he pur-
chased his present residence at Huguenot, Stateii Isl-
and, which he has since greatly enlarged and im-
proved. Mr. and Mrs. Uliman have three children, two
sons, Percy and Roscoe, and one daughter, Isabelle.
Mr. Uliman is of Knickerbocker stock and comes from
one of the early, wealthy and influential Staten Isl-
and families. His mother's maiden name was Mary
J_ouisa Corson who was born in the old family home-
stead on the Corson plantation, of which the Seamen's
Retreat at Stapleton is part. She was also a grand-
daughter of Samuel Lockmaii, and a paternal grand-
daughter of Cornelius Corson,
Mr. Uliman is also a second cousin to the present
admiral, E. A. K. Benliam, of the United States Navy.
Clutes' History of Staten Island, page 401, speaks of
the L,ockmaii family as follows: This is one of the
oldest Dtitch families in the province. The first
mentioned is Covert Lockman (sometimes called
L,ockerman)who arrived in America in 1633 in the Carvel
St., Martyn. The New York civil list 1870 (see page 7)
shows that Covert lyockman or L,ockerman was one of
the nine persons who represented the commonalty of
New York and Brooklyn (since named) under the old
Dutch government in. 1647.
Abraham L,^ckmaii, a son of Covert Eockman, was
the patentee of a large tract of land 011 Staten Island
by Edmund Andros, governor-general of New York, in
the reign of Charles 2nd, dated Sept. i2th, 1699. (See
Liber "B"' of deeds, page 341, county clerk's office.)
The Corson branch of the family dates back nearly
as far as the Lockman. Clutes' History speaks of
them as one of the wealthiest and most influential
I I2 PROMINENT MEN OF STATEN ISLAND, 1893=
families of the Island, and Cornelius Corson is referred
to in the records at Albany as a military captain, in
1687. (vSee page 358.)
This family also received a grant of a tract of 540
acres of land on Staten Island in the reign of Charles
the 2nd, on Feb. ist, 1687. (See Liber "B"of deeds, page
95, county clerk's office.
In 1712, in the reign of Queen Ann, Cornwalace
Bowman conveyed to Christian Corson, gentleman,
another large tract of land. (See Liber " C" of deeds,
Cornelius Corson's will was probated in the county
of Richmond in 1793, and among others he left a son
named Christian Corson who is spoken of as second
judge and lieutenant colonel, in 1742.
Richard Corson represented Richmond county in
the legislatures of 1816, 1817 and 1818. (See civi. 1 list
PROMINENT MEN OF STATEN ISLAND.
JAMES L. BARGF.R.
JAMES L. BARGER, eldest son of Henry Barger, was born
on Staten Island, December i2th, 1868. He entered
the law school of Columbia College in 1889, where he
enjoyed the advantage of a thorough legal training
under the tuition of the late Professor Theodore W.
Dwight, during the last years oi his connection with
the law department of that institution. He was ad-
mitted as attorney and counselor of the supreme
court, in May 1862, and was graduated one month
later with the degree of L. L. B. , cum laude.
He at once entered upon a general practice of the
law with an office at No. 2 Wall st. . New York. He has
been signally successful in the management of his
clients' interests, and is already enjoying a compara-
tively lucrative and go wing practice.
Mr. Barger is one of the young men of Staten Island
whose histor/ is all before them, but should he live
to fulfill the promise of his young and vigorous man-
hood, it will not be many years before he will have a
place among the foremost lawyers of Richmond
PROMINENT MEN OF STATEN ISLAND, 1893, c 112
STEPHEN E. WHITMAN, M. D.
DR. STEPHEN E. WHITMAN, younger son of Stephen
Whitman, of Port Richmond, was born in New York
city in 1855. The family moved to Port Richmond in
1862, into the house on the corner of Broadway and
Bennett street, where they still reside.
In 1876, Mr. Whitman began the study of medicine
with Dr. W. C. Walser. After being graduated, iiiiSSi,
Vom the College of Physicians and Surgeons, Dr.
Whitman spent two or three years in Bellevue, St.
Vincent and Chambers street hospitals, and then
practiced with his former tutor, remaining for a long
time as his assistant. He next moved to Brooklyn,
where he practiced for five years. At the end of that
period, he returned to the Island and opened an office
in Port Richmond, where he has built up a large
In the election of 1891, Dr. Whitman was elected
coroner on the Democratic ticket in opposition to Dr.
J. Walter Wood. He has had many important cases
during his official term, the last of which was the
killing of Adam Frelich by Officer Wells of the Rich-
mond county police, the officer being exonerated by
The Whitman family came from England prior to
1680 and settled in Weymouth, Mass., and from the
coat of arms of the family, it is evident that they be-
longed to the aristocracy and nobility.
Dr. Whitman's father, Capt. Stephen Whitman, com-
manded several famous Liverpool packets and the
vessels of the old New York Mail S. S. Co., and later of
the Cromwell line to New Orleans.
During the war of the rebellion Capt. Whitman was
chased by the famous privateer Alabama, but, fortu-
nately escaped. He has bean a member of the Produce
Exchange for the past fifteen years, and is a member
of the Marine Society. He was trustee of the village
of Port Richmond for seventeen years, and since 1873
has been inspector of storage under the name of Whit-
man & Fisher.
Dr. Whitman's mother was Miss Maria Robertson
Dean, of Deans ville, Conn., of one of the oldest and
most prominent families in. that part of the state.
The doctor, who is still unmarried, lives and has his
office in the family residence at Port Richmond, where
he is esteemed a skillful physician, a faithful and
competent county official and a popular member of
PROMINENT MEN OF STATEN ISLAND, 1893.
GEORGE W. STAKE.
GEORGE W. STAKE was born at Stapleton, Staten
Island in 1869, and was educated at the German and
the public schools, and at the College of the City of
New York, New York city. He was graduated from said
college with honors in 1887, receiving the degree of
A. B. In 1889, he was graduated from the Columbia
Law School with the degree of L,. -L. B. , cum laude, and
from the Department of Political Science with the
degree of A. M. In 1890, he passed examination in
the same college and received the degree ol Ph. D.
He was admitted to the bar in 1891, and is now
practicing the profession of law with offices at
Stapleton and at 59 Liberty street, New York. Mr.
Stake is counsel of the town board of Mtddletown and
Stateii Island counsel of ihe Anglo-American Loan
and Savings Association. He is a member of the Ger-
man Association, Erheiterung, of Stapleton, the Del-
ta Kappa Epsilon Club of 435 5th avenue, New York
city, and a member of secret orders. Mr. Stake is
unmarried and lives at Stnpletoii.
PROMINENT MEN OF STATEN ISLAND, 5.893.
CORNELIUS SHEA was horn at Richmond Valley, S. I.,
in May 1863, just one week after the battle of Chaii-
celorsville, and was named after h?s uncle who was
killed in that battle. In 1887. he removed to Totten-
ville and has, ever since, been a resident of that village.
Mr. vShea, is a story writer or author by profession,
and has been for five years a regular contributor to
Golden Hours, a young- people's weekly, published by
Norman L. Muiiro, of New York city, a paper of very
extensive circulation. His stories have been honored
by some of the finest and most prominent ilHistrations
of those of any contributor of G'oldtn Hours, and have
always taken a high rank; always being- of the most
entertaining and exciting character.
Mr. Shea, who is somewhat of a politician, as well as
an author, is always prominent in the local contests in
his town, and has twice been elected town clerk on the
Democratic ticket, when nearly every other candidate
was defeated. Mr. Shea is also an enthusiastic club
and secret society man, and is a member of Huguenot
Lodge, F. & A. M., Richmond Lodge, K. of P., Bentley
Lodge, I. O. of O. F., of Tottenville, of Eureka Engine Co.
No. 2, of Tottenville, and the Staten Island Press Club.
PROMINENT MEN OF STATEN ISLAND, 1893. II5
JOHN WIDDECOMBE, eldest son of John Widdecombe,
and his wife Helen, nee Doyle, was born in London,
England, Oct. 29111, 1856. When eight years of age, he
was entered in St. Charles' College, founded by the
late Cardinal Manning. At the age of lifteen years, he
passed the preliminary examination prescribed by the
rules of the Incorporated Law Society, and a year later
was articled to William H. Tattam, a London solicitor,
for a period of five years. In 1877, he was admitted as
a solicitor of the supreme court of judicature, in
In 1875, he was commissioned as second lieutenant
in Her Majesty's auxiliary forces (5 Essex Rifle Volun-
teers) retiring in 1881 with the rank of captain.
He practiced his profession in London, from 187710
1882, when he came to New York bringing letters of in-
troduction to the late Cardinal McCloskey and other
prominent persons in New York city. Soon after his
arrival he entered the ,aw office of Holt & Butler as
managing clerk, and in 1887, upon the motion of Win.
Allen Butler, president of the New York Bar Associa-
tion, seconded by the recommendation of such promi-
nent lawyers as Abram Cole, Wm. B. Hornblower and
others, he was admitted as attorney and counselor-
at-law, in the state of New York.
In 1888, he removed to Stapleton, Staten Island, and
the following year, after a brief co-partnership with
ex-Judge J. J. McKeon, he began the practice of the law
on his own account, occupying an office with Messrs.
Holt & Butler. From that time his practice has steadily
increased, so that at the present time he is regarded
as one of the most successful and prominent members
of the Richmond county bar, and he now occupies a
handsome suite of offices in the Savings Bank build-
ing in Stapleton.
In 1890, he assisted the Hon. Geo. Gallagher, then
district-attorney, in the prosecution of the celebrated
election fraud cases, and in 1891, he assisted District-
Attorney Fitzgerald in the Emmoiis murder case. In
both instances he received many warm commendations
for the thoroughness with which he prepared the case
and the ability and skill displayed in presenting the
facts to the court and jury.
On October ist, 1879, he married Margaret, second
daughter of G. T. W. Mugliston, M. D., of the Elms,
Mr. and Mrs. Widdecombe have three children:
Lawrence Wiiistaiiley, aged twelve, a student at St.
Austin's school, Arthur Bernard, aged eleven, a student
at the States Island Academy, and Emma Marguerite,
THE LATE EPHRAIM J. TOTTEN.
PROMINENT MEN OF STATEN ISLAND, 1893.
EPHRAIM J. TOTTEN was born March 3oth. 1806, at the
homestead near Bethel Church, Tottenville. During
his early life, from 1823 to 1845, l ie followed the sea,
being captain and owner or part owner of various ves-
sels engaged in. the coasting trade. 1111850, he took a
load of merchandise to the Pacific coast and engaged
for some time in mercantile pursuits. Although he
met with some reverses in sending his goods on a
long and perilous voyage, he did, oiithe whole, a pros-
perous business during his short stay in California.
On his return to Staten Island he carried on a mer-
cantile business in Tottenville until 1874, when he re-
tired from business and bt-gaii the cultivation of his
farm, the old homestead property.
Mr. Totten was always known as an energetic, enter-
prising, public-spirited citizen, and held a number of
public offices. He was supervisor in 1846-7 and was a
member of the legislature in 1848. He was one of ths
projectors of the Staten Island railroad and one of the
When he was 40 years of age he became a church
member and from that time his life was devoted to
church work, and all its interests were his. He filled
every office and was recording steward and president
of the board of trustees of Bethel M. E. Church for
nearly 40 years, holding these offices up to the time
of his death in April 1891.
He raised a family ot eight children, s*x of whom
are still living. He was born on the place where his
father, grandfather and great grandfather lived since
trie Revolutionary. The old homestead stood in front
of the present house. In 1855. he ptilled down the old
one and erected that which now stands just back of
the old site. The old farm occupied nearly the whole
village of Tottenville which took its name after him
and his brothers.
DR. R. HENRY GOLDER.
PROMINENT MEN OF STATEN ISLAND, 1893. 119
DR. R HENRY GOLDER.
ROBERT HEXRY GOLDER, M. D., has been a resident and
practising physician at Rossville since 1849. He was
born in Philadelphia, Pa., Sept. 23rd, 1820. His father,
John Golder, was born in Annapolis, Mel. , May 23rd,
1783. His paternal ancestry dates back for two or
more generations before that perio 1 and in that local-
ity, and were of German descent. His mother, whose
maiden name was Johnson, also descended from an
old Maryland family. Her brother, Hon. John Johnson,
was chancellor of Maryland in the early part of this
century, under whom John Golder studied law. Sena-
tor Reverdy Johnson, who was also U. S. minister to
England, and cousin of John Golder, studied law under
his father and also Chief justice Taney of U. S.
[ohn Golder was district-attorney for two counties
on the eastern shore of Maryland before the war of
1812. In July of that year, he was married to Margaret
McMaken of Philadelphia, to which city he removed
in 1814, and practiced his profession until 1840, when
he removed with his family to New York city, where he
died March 21 st, 1864. He had four children: Julia A.,
Sarah M., John ]. and Robert H., the subject of this
Margaret McMaken, the mother of Dr. Golder, was
born in Philadelphia and died in New York, March 9th.
1864. She was of Scotch-Irish descent. Her mother's
family, the Scotts, who were nearly allied to the fam-
ily of Sir Walter Scott, came to this country about the
middle of the last century and settled mostly in Bucks
county, Pa., where the " Scott Memorial Church " arid
"Scott's Manor" still stand. But two descendants of
this branch of the family are living.
in 1839, Dr. Golder began the study of pharmacy and
afterward was in business as a druggist. After a pre-
paratory course under Prof. Yalentine Mottaiid John S.
Whittaker, he entered the medical department of the
University of the City of New York, from which he was
graduated in 1846.
He was married to Catharine Y. Dunham, of New
Brunswick, N. J., in December 1847. Of their four
children, Yalentine Mott, Annette, Reverdy J., and
Margaret D., the latter is the only surviving one.
PROMINENT MEN OF STATEN ISLAND, 1893.
DR. DAVID M. COLEMAN.
DAVID M. COLEMAX, M. D. , was born in Spring-field, Mass.,
on July 4th, 1849, and the early part of his life was
spent on a farm, au<l attending public and private
In 1869, he moved to Dutchess county, N. Y. , and at-
tended Dr. Hoyt's private academy for t\vo years. In
1875, he began the study of medicine, and in 1881, he
entered the New York Homoeopathic Medical College,
from which he was graduated in the spring of 1884.
During the last year of his college course, the doc-
tor was appointed visiting physician to the Wilson
Mission School for Infants, corner 8th street and
Avemie A. He was also appointed visiting physician
to the New York Dispensary, 23rd street and 3rd
avenue, and was assistant to Prof. Thompson, in sur-
gery. Two days in the week he had a private clinic in
At the close of 1884, Dr. Colema.i moved to Totten-
ville, in which place he still resides and has a large
and growing practice. In 1893, he was elected health
Dr. Colemaii is one of the most respected and use-
ful members of the profession and has a host of friends
who rejoice in his success.
PROMINENT MEN OF STATEN ISLAND, 1893.
J. WALTER WOOD, A. M., M .D.
ONE of the most prominent and successful physi-
cians and surgeons of Staten Island is Dr. J. Walter
Wood, who was born at Mariners' Harbor, Apr. 23rd,
1856. He is a descendant of the Dongaii family. His
education was thorough in both the academic and med-
ical schools. His gentlemanly manners and great
skill soon brought him a large and lucrative practice.
Dr. Wood was health officer, for a number of years,
of the town of Nortafield and the village of Port Rich-
mond, and coroner for the county, and was esteemed
one of the most efficient officials of the county.
Dr. Wood is a 32 Mason and is a Past Master of Rich-
mond Lodge, Past High Priest of Tyrian Chapter, Sur-
geon to York Commandery, a Noble of Mecca Shrine,
and for several years was president of the S. I. Masonic
Mutual Benefit Association and is examining physician
for the North Western Masonic Insurance Company.
He is Past Chancellor of S. I. Lodge Knights of
Pythias, and examining physician for the Odd Fellows,
Workiiigmen, Foresters, Legion of Honor, Templars of
Liberty, and the New York Life Insurance Company.
Dr. Wood is visiting surgeon to the S. R. Smith In-
firmary, and president of the Port Richmond branch
of the Co-operative Building Bank of New York.
DR. E. A. HERVEY.
PROMINENT MEN OF STATEN ISLAND, 1893. I23
EDWIN A. HERVEY, M. D.
EDWIN ADDISON HERVEY was born at South Durham,
N. Y., January 1 6th, 1824. He is the third son of the
late D. B. Hervey, ex-assemblyman from Greene
county. His early education was received in the pub-
lic schools and from private tutors. At the age of
seventeen he was aske.l to teach the district school in
liis native town, in which capacity he continued there
and elsewhere in the county for a period of five years,
He then went to Ellenville, Ulster county, where he
acted as clerk and book-keeper in a store and tannery
for two years.
In 1848, he came to Staten Island and engaged as
teacher in Westfield, remaining eight years. During
the last six of these he resided with Dr. E. W. Hub-
bard, from whom he received his preparatory course
of medical instruction. He then entered the Uni-
versity Medical College of New York city, from which
he was graduated in 1859, receiving the valuable El-
liot prize for skill in anatomy.
Dr. Hervey located in Rossville, where he still con-
tinues to practice. He has been especially success-
ful as an obstetrician. He has been physician to St.
Michael's Home, Greenridge, since its establishment,
Though never active in politics, he has been a coroner
of Richmond county for eighteen years, the last five
terms having been successive.
D]-. Hervey has been twice married. His first wife
was Eliza J. , daughter of John Williams, of Rossville;
his second, Grace E., daughter of T. W. C. Moore, for
many years Queen's Messenger between New York
and Washington. To the latter were born two chil-
dren: Charles Edwin, who died in infancy, and Will-
SUFI. O. H. HOAG.
PROMINENT MEN OF STATEN ISLAND, 1893. I25
ORRY HUESTED HOAG, superintendent of the Union
Free school at Port Richmond, was born at Pleasant
Plains, this county, Feb.iyth, 1857. The education of his
boyhood was received in the public schools of the
town of Westfield. At an early age, he left school and
clerked for several years in different stores of the
village. In the winter of '75 and '76, he took the
theoretical course in Eastman's Business College, at
Poughkeepsie, N. Y.
A vacancy in the primary department of the public
school of his native village was tilled by his appoint-
ment, Oct. 1 8th, 1876, in which position he continued
till June 1880, when he resigned to more properly pur-
sue his studies and prepare himself for his chosen
calling, by taking the classical course at the state
Normal school, at Geneseo, N. Y. Graduating in
1884, he was elected to the principalship of Castleton
Corners public school, Stateii Island. In the spring
of 1890, he resigned to take the principalship of his
present school, becoming sxiperinteiiclent in the fol-
In his profession, Mr. Hoag is painstaking, effective
in discipline, and devoted, not using it as a step-
ping stone to something else.
PROMINENT MEN OF STATEN ISLAND, 1893.
BENJAMIN H. WARFORD.
CAPT. BENJAMIN H. WARFORD, youngest 'son. ^f Charles
War ford, was born in the city of Troy, N. Y., Oct. iith,
1831. When nineteen years of age, he was captain of a
vessel, and at twenty-one, trie owner, and from that
time his business has steadily increased, until now the
firm of Warford & Andrews, of which Mr. Warford is
manager and the largest owner, have one of the most
numerous fleets of barges doing business in New Yorlc
harbor, with offices in New York and West Troy.
At the beginning of the war, Capt. Warford raised a
company of volunteers and went to the front as see-
on 1 lieutenant. He was engaged in fourteen battles,
and on June 3oth, 1862, was promoted to the rank of
captain, for gallant conduct.
Capt. Warford is a Republican of the "stalwart"
kind, and has always been active in politics and a
liberal contributor to the cause of his party. He has
served one year as vice-chairman of the county Gener-
al Committee and has been its chairman for four
years, but declined re-election, last spring.
He headed the Blame electoral ticket in 1884, and
was one of the delegates to the national convention at
Chicago, in 1892, and he helped to make the famous
light for James G. Blame in that convention.
PROMINENT MEN OF STATEN ISLAND, 1893. 127
CROWELL M. SEGUINF.
CROWELL M. SEGUINE, founder of Giffords-by-the-Sea,
was born at the old homestead near Giffords, March
^th, 1851. He is descended in a direct line from the
early Huguenot family of that name that settled on
the Island nearly two hundred years ago.
Mr. Seguine has always been a successful and en-
terprising business man, and more than any other
has contributed to the growth of his native place. He
is a large land owner and conducts a successful real
estate and coal business.
He married in. 1886, Josephine, daughter of Charles
A. Canavello, of Giffords, by whom he has two chil-
dren, twin daughters, L/ouisa and Rosa, aged three
Mr. Seguine has always been an active, earnest
Republican but never has entered politics as an
office seeker, preferring to build up his private busi-
ness and promote the growth of the village founded
by him, and his business interests. He has been al-
ways known as an honest upright business man,
and he and his family are held in high esteem among
a large circle of friends.
FRANK L. HADKINS
PROMINENT MEN OF STATEN ISLAND, 1893.
FRANK L,. HADKINS, one of the well-known business-
men of Tottenville, was born in Perth Amboy, N. J.,
in 1863, and is the youngest child of the late John H.
The same year, Mr. Hadkins established with Chas.
L/ow, the bottling- business in Perth Amboy, but.
owing to a lack of suitable supply of water, Mr. Had-
kins purchased the interest of Mr. L,ow in 1867 and
removed the plant to Tottenville where he continued
the business until his death in 1872, when he was
succeeded by his son Robert H., then seventeen years
of age. The son carried on the business and largely
increased it with the assistance of his brother, Frank
the subject of this sketch. The latter became a part-
ner in the business in 1887, and the brothers built
the large factory under the name of R. H. Hadkins &
Upon the death of Robert in 1889, Frank took charge
of the business and has since conducted it tinder the
name and style of the Hadkins Bottling Co.. the
firm consisting of Mrs. Mary H. and Frank L. Hadicins.
The business has steadily increased until the establish-
ment is n^w the largest for carbonated beverages on
the Island, and Mr. Hadkins does the largest business
of the kind on the Island or in the suburbs of New
In 1888, Mr. Hadkins was elected to the office of ex-
cise commissioner to fill a vacancy, and was re-elected
in 1890 and held the office until it was abolished in
1892 and a board of county commissioners appointed.
In 1887, he married Annie L,. , only daughter of S.
Webb Hopping. Mr. and Mrs. Hadkins have one child,
Marion L,., aged 4 years.
PROMINENT MEN OF STATEN ISLAND, 1893.
REUBEN SIMSNSOX, son of George and Mary Simon-
son, was born at Kreischerville, Jan nth, 1850. Hi.s
mother, whose maiden name was Johnson, was a
descendant of an old vStaten Island family of that name.
Mr. Simonson is engaged with Capt. Peter Andro-
vette in the towing business, and is part owner of
three tugs, George B. Roe, Allie and Evie.
In 1873, he married Fannie E., daughter of Charles
and Susan Androvette, of Kreischerville, and has two
children living, Cyremiius, aged eighteen years, and
Evaline, aged fourteen.
Mr. Simonson has always been looked upon as one of
the solid enterprising btisiness men of Kreischerville,
and has been held in high esteem by all who know him
socially or who have had business dealings with him.
PROMINENT MEN OF STATEN 1S1,AND, 1893. 131
CAPT. JOHN M. ANDROVETTE.
CAPT. JOHN M. ANDROVETTE, the eldest son of the
late Peter Aiidrovette, was born in Kreischerville in
1831. His grandfather, Charles, was one of the origi-
nal settlers in Kreischerville, and owned a large farm,
which comprised nearly all the land 011 which the
present village is built.
On December 5th, 1852, Capt. Aiidrovette married
Elizabeth Worth, who died in 1876, leaving two daugh-
ters, Mrs. Alfred Mersereau, living in Totteiiville,
and Miss Clara S., still living with her father, and one
son, Reuben \V.
In 1878, he married Elizabeth, daughter of Wm. Jo-
liiie, of Totteiiville, by whom he has one daughter,
Bessie, now at school.
Capt. Aiidrovette has always followed the water,
beginning as early as 1857, as part owner and captain
of the "Fire-brick,"' engaged in transporting fire-brick
for B. Kreischer & Nephew.
Mr. Aiidrovette has been a prominent member of
Bethel Church for the last thirty years, and during
twenty-eight years of that time he has been a member
of the official board and a licensed exhorter, and is now
district steward, treasurer of the Sunday-school, and
custodian of all collections for benevolent purposes.
PROMINENT MEN OF STATEN ISLAND, 1893.
REV. FREDERICK BLOOM.
THE subject of this sketch, Rev. Frederick Bloom,
was born Sept. i2th, 1852, near Fverittstown, Htinter-
doii county, N. J.
His early life was spent on a farm, but at the age of
eighteen he went to Quakertowii, N. J. A series of
revival services was held in the village, and among
the large number of converts was Frederick Bloom.
He then felt called upon to preach, and, by the help of
friends, he succeeded in entering Peiinington Semi-
nary, and remained there for nearly a year. He then
took up school teaching- and soon after married Miss
Still he was dissatisfied. His great ambition was to
preach. At that time he was teaching school in Cen-
tre ville, N. J., and he was appointed to fill the charge
at that place. This he continued to do for two years,
and in 1874, he was admitted to conference. While
stationed at Denville in 1884, Mr. Bloom took the full
course at Drew Theological Seminary, and finished
\vith the post graduate course.
In 1891, Mr. Bloom was appointed pastor of Bethel
M. E. Church, Tottenville, where his labors have met
with much success.
PROMINENT MEN OF STATEN ISLAND, 1893.
BETHEL CHURCH, TOTTEN VH-LE.
Bethel Church was first erected on the present site
in 1841. It was a frame building 40x50 feet and was
dedicated in the spring of 1841 by Charles Pitman;
then presiding elder of the district. In 1885, about
$3,000 was spent in improving and decorating the
church. The congregation, however, did not long en-
joy the benefit of their labors and sacrifices; for on
January roth, 1886, the church took fire and was burned
to the ground.
Not disheartened by their loss the congregation im-
mediately went to work and erectec the present hand-
some new brick structure, which was dedicated May
8th, 1887, L-y Bishop Harris. The church as it now
stands cost about $20,000,
PROMINENT MEN OF STATEN ISLAND, 1893. 135
ST. PATRICK'S CHURCH.
ST. PATRICK'S PARISH was cared for by the priests of Clif-
ton and Rossville, and the services were held in private*
houses and halls until 1862, when the Rev, John Barry,
of Rossville, built the substantial brick church on
Garretson st. L,awrence Searers and John Gonond
were elected the first trustees.
The mission, remained in care of Rossville until
1884, when Rev. John Coffee was appointed pastor, who
resided at St. Stephen's Home, New Dorp.
In 1886, he was succeeded by the present rector who
instantly set to work to procure a parsonage, and pur-
chased the large brick house adjoining the church
built and at one time occupied by Judge John G.
Vaughn.. This rectory is now wholly free from debt,
in thorough repair and well furnished at a total cost of
The church likewise was improved and beautified
at an expense of $2,000, whilst its original debt of
$3,000 has been lowered to $2,000, and through the or-
ganized effort of a church debt society will soon be
wholly cleared. For this result of seven years' labor,
the rectoi* has to thank his innumerable friends of
all denominations throughout Richmond county and
New York city.
It is computed that within the parish limits from
Eltingville to Garretsons thereare 500 Roman Catholics.
PROMINENT MEN OF STATEN ISLAND, 1893.
REV. JAMES PATRICK BYRNES.
REV. JAMES PATRICK BYRNES was born Jan. 6th, 1854, in
County Limerick, Ireland. He came to New York city in
April 1870, and in Septembe r 1871, entered St. Charles'
College, Maryland; was ordained at St, Joseph's Semi
nary, Troy, N. Y., and was immediately assigned to
duty in the Church of the Immaculate Conception
in 1 4th street, New York, where he remained until 1883,
when he was transferred to Sing Sing, and in 1886, he
was made pastor of St. Patrick's Church, Richmond,
PROMINENT MEN OF STATEN ISLAND, 1893, X 37
REV. C. F. HULL.
REV. CHARLES F. HULL, pastor of St. Paul's M. E.
Church, Tottenville, was born in New York city, April
28th, 1842, and was graduated from the i3th street
public school in 1855. He was converted in 1860, and
was baptized in the Antioch Baptist Church by the Rev.
J. Q. Adams. In 1861, he enlisted in the sth N. Y. Vols.
(Duryeas' Zouaves), and served with that regiment in
the Army of the Potomac. In 1864, he received a com-
mission in the navy, and remained in the service un-
til after the fall of Richmond. "He then entered Madi-
son (now Colgate) University, and spent four years in
study. In 1869,116 married Miss Mattie Boyd, of Hamil-
ton, N. Y., and was ordained pastor of the Baptist
church in Beekman, N. Y. In 1872, he returned to the
University, entered the Theological Seminary, and was
graduated with the class of 1873.
The same year he was called to the pastorate of the
Baptist church in Northville, N. Y. In 1875, the Mari-
ners' Harbor, S. I., Baptist church invited him to be-
come their pastor, and he remained with them until
1877, when, 011 account of change in denominational
views, he applied for admission, and was received, in-
to the Newark Conference of the Methodist Episcopal
church. Since that date his appointments have been
as follows: 1877, Mt. Hope, N. J.; 1878-80, Woodrow, S. I.;
1881, Otisville, N. Y. ; 1882-84, Rocklaiid Lake, N. Y. ;
1885-87, Bayoniie, N. J. ; 1888-90, Rahway, N. J. In 1891
he was appointed to St. Paul's, Tottenville, of which
church he still remains the pastor.
PROMINENT MEN OF STATEN ISLAND, 1893. I39
HEV. JACOB J. GANSS.
i<EV. JACOB J. GANSS was born in the city of Frank-
fort-on-the-Main, Aug. 3rd, 1859. Before entering the
ministry he studied medicine three and a half years,
after which he studied theology in Germany and
Switzerland. He came to this country in 1881, and
took a position in Hoboken, N. J. , as a teacher of math-
ematics and languages, in the Martha Institute, for
On the first Sunday in Advent, in 1882, Mr. Ganss
preached his first sermon in Kreischerville, and his
zeal for the welfare of the congregation attracted the
attention at once of the officers of St. Peter's Church,
and pointed him out as a fit successor to the Rev. Dr.
Mohn, the first pastor of the Kreischerville church.
After having passed a most satisfactory examination,
he was, by recommendation of the Honorable Classis,
of New York, ordained as minister of the Gospel, June
1 3th, 1 883, and duly installed as minister of the German
Evangelical Church St. Peter's of Kreischerville.
The church has steadily grown in members, influence
and good works under Mr. Ganss' ministration, until
now it is one of the most prosperous in \Vestfield.
REV. D. B. F. RANDOLPH.
PROMINENT MEN OF STATEN ISLAND, 1893. 141
KEY. D. B. F. RANDOLPH.
REV. D. B. F. RANDOLPH is the pastor of Trinity Meth-
odist Episcopal Church, Richmond Terrace, West
New Brighton, which has a capacity of about seven
hundred sittings, an exceptionally large and beautiful
parsonage, and a membership of about three hundred
persons, who are warmly attached to all its interests
and contribute generously to its support and to all
the benevolent objects of the church at large. Their
present pastor is now serving them for the fifth year
under the new time limit of the denomination.
Mr. Randolph was born in Newark, N. J., in 1848,
attended the grammar and high schools of that city,
and was graduated from Pennington Seminary in 1868
and from Drew Theological Seminary, with the degree of
Bachelor of Divinity, in 1871. In the latter institution
he enjoyed the privilege of sitting under the in-
struction of Di s. McClintock, Foster, Strong, Bxittz
In the spring of 1871, he was received into the New-
ark annual conference, and, in the order of the church,
after four years of conference studies, was ordained
elder in 18^5.
In the economy of Methodism, Mr. Randolph has
been the pastor of several churches, more recent-
ly at Hoboken, Perth Amboy, Newark and Hacketts-
142 PROMINENT MEN OF STATEN ISLAND, 1893.
ISAAC M. MARSH was born in Essex county, N. J. , in
1821. When twenty-two years of age he came to
Staten Island and established a carriage-making- busi-
ness in Richmond, where for many years he carried
on the largest business of the kind in the county. He
was serving as deputy-sheriff at the time the present
jail was built and was deputy under Sheriffs Simonson,
Dissosway (two terms) Guyon, Ellis and LocKman, and
one term as sheriff. About the time of the beginning
of the war he was elected president of the Union Con-
densed Milk Co., of Orange county.
At this time Peter V. Nolan, who had been in his em-
ploy for many years, was made a partner in the busi-
ness, and Mr. Marsh moved to Orange county where he
remained for three years. After his return to Rich-
mond he was appointed police commissioner and held
the office for twelve years. He was also one of the
Southfield drainage commissioners and one of the ap-
praisers for the B. & O. extension.
During the war Mr. Marsh furnished about seven
thousand horses and other supplies for the army.
Mr. Marsh is now living quietly at Richmond and
still retains his interest in the carriage business as
senior partner of the firm of Marsh & Nolan.
PROMINENT MEN OF STATEN ISLAND, 1893. 143
NATHANIEL JARVIS WYETH
NATHANIEL JARVIS WYETH, son of ^narles and Elizabeth
Norris Wyeth, was born in Baltimore, Md., under the
star of the Democratic thirties of the nineteenth cent-
ury. He was schooled at Mount Hope in that city,
and at the classical high school of L,aureiiceville, N. J.,
and was graduated from the college and law school of
Harvard University, a student from 1846 to 1852, both
The Wyeth family was divided in colonial times, one
branch settling in Massachusetts and the other in
Virginia. George Wyeth represented the latter, hav-
ing participated in the Declaration of Independence,
beside being chief architect of the constitution of the
Nathaniel Wyeth was named after his distinguished
and valiant uncle, Nathaniel Jarvis Wyeth, of Cam-
bridge, Mass., who crossed the American continent in
the early thirties and settled in Oregon. After his
return to his home, he became the largest ice harvest-
ter, horticulturist, brick maker and inventor and
aboriginal linguist in the country, as Schoolcroft's
Mr. Wyeth began to practice law in the city of New
York in January 1853. His first memorable suit in-
volved the title to the Wilson survey of sixty thousand
acres in Virginia, with the eminent Josiah Randall as
his opponent, and was successful. This gave him
great eclat in wild land law, which he has sustained.
Then followed the Jacob Wyeth will matter of Cam-
bridge, Mass., assisted by the Hon. B. R. Curtis. In
1856, Albert Journeay, Edward Banker, Frederick R.
Grote, Stephen Seguine and other enterprising resi-
dents of Staten Island, employed Mr. Wyeth as counsel
for the construction of the lethargic Staten Island
railroad, which became an operated road and earned
attractive dividends soon after.
In 1856, Mr. Wyeth organized with Col. Henry S.
Lansing and Prof. Morse, the People's Oil and Mining
Company of West Virginia, with $2,000,000 capital. As
assemblyman, of the New York legislature of 1867 he
\vasoncommitteeofcolleges, academies and common
chools and the sub-committee of the whole. He there
advocated and passed the original elevated railroad
act for the real projectors of rapid transit in New
York, Messrs. Harvey and Jennings; also the East river
bridge bill for his client, John A. Roebling. He ad-
dressed the house on the constitutional amendment,
enlargement of the canal locks, removal of the
quarantine and the Metropolitan harbor district, the
T 44 PROMINENT MEN OF STATEN ISLAND, 1893.
forerunner of greater New York. All these speeches
were published by the hundreds and were dissem-
inated for their worth.
In 1868, Mr. Wyeth drew the papers for the first
petroleum railroad in the oil regions of Pennsylvania,
to the great profit of the projectors, George H. Bissell,
.Miller and others. He likewise prepared the patent
papers for Col. Roberts' oil torpedo and aided in sus-
taining them in the interference proceedings which
culminated in revolutionizing oil production, and
making the gallant colonel very wealthy.
In 1870, at the solicitation of Harlon M. Wilcox, of
Buffalo, Mr. Wyeth gave much attention to the pas-
sage of the Arcade railroad bill of New York. The
same year he originated, prepared and passed the
Staten Island bridge and harbor improvement bill,
which received the cordial approbation of the fore-
most engineers and scientists, James Hall, Harlon M.
Wilcox, Wm. J. McAlpin, Albert C. Stimers, C. Dela-
field, Washington. Roebling and others, Mr. Roebling
writing " a great desideratum and the only practical
scheme to accomplish this result." He also, that
year, projected and obtained an act for a general com-
mercial institution to be operated in Bureaux for the
different kinds of business.
The following year, 1871, as chairman of the com-
mittee on transportation and inter-communication of
the Richmond County Improvement Company, Law-
yer Wyeth was the author of their famous January
report. The same year, he labored about a month at
Trenton, while the New Jersey legislature was in ses-
sion, to procure the passage of his New Jersey Tube
Traiisporation Company bill, by which the corporators
obtained a franchise to construct railroads in New
Jersey, thus breaking the monopoly of the Pennsyl-
vania railroad, and helped to secure the passage of the
general railroad act of that state.
Three years later, Mr. Wyeth introduced through
Richmond county's then able assemblyman, Hon.
Stephen D. Stephens, Jr., his Belt Railroad Improve-
ment Company bill, with the object of reclaiming all
the outlying marshes and meadows of the county and
presenting to his fellow-citizens the finest beaches,
purest airs and most attractive homes and most
pleasant public resorts in the country. The previous
two years were somewhat engaged in assisting Chief
Engineer Abbott in securing terminal facilities for
the Continental Railway Company to New York
city through the New Jersey Tube Transportation
PROMINENT MEN OF STATEN ISLAND, 1893. 14-,
In 1880, Mr. Wyeth argued successfully at length
against the construction of the act of that year to
facilitate the collection of taxes for state purposes,
that would exempt corporations from taxes for local
purposes (which was nine-tenths of the gross tax) be-
fore that eminent jurist, Jasper T. Gilbert, in Brooklyn
at a special term, and won. About this time Counselor
Wyeth became general counsel for the universal in-
ventor, James Montgomery, of Philadelphia, and con-
tinued such till the death of Mr. Montgomery.
Beside originating, projecting and counseling such
generally useful measures, the subject of this sketch
pursues a systematic course of jurisprudence, science
and literature in his select and capacious library at
his "Florence home" and office on Richmond Hill, en-
gaging in many cases at the bar of this county and
elsewhere. His regular office was near Wall street,
Progress and humanity are the emblems of his
PROMINENT MEN OF STATEN ISLAND, 1893.
JOHN L. YOUNG.
Ex-JusTiCE JOHN L. YOUNG was born in London, En-
gland, in 1818, served his time in London as carriage
painter, and came to America in 1852. He arrived in
New York on Monday, and the following day obtained a
situation at Rahway, N. J., which was then a centre of
the carriage business.
He remained in one factory seventeen years, and in
1869, he moved to Richmond and has been in the em-
ploy of Isaac March and Marsh & Nolan since that
time. He is now living in comfortable circumstances.
In 1881, Mr. Young was elected justice and held the
office for eight years. He was also district clerk and
trustee of Richmond school for eighteen years. He
married, in 1838, Miss Emma Harris, daughter of
the famous aeronaut, Thos. Harris. She died in
Rahway in 1856 and was buried on. the anniversary
of her marriage.
In 1858, he married Miss Susan Harrington, of New
York, who is still living. Mr. and Mrs. Voting have
three daughters, Mrs. Wm. Finley, Mrs. George Hat-
field, of Rahway, and Mrs. George Lewis, of Jersey City,
sixteen grandchildren and five great grandchildren.
R. W. POLLOCK.
R. W. POLLOCK, General Traffic Agent of the Staten
Island Rapid Transit Railroad Company, was born in
Pittsburgh, Pa. He entered railway service Nov. nth,
1 872, since which time he has been consecutively to
June ist, 1873, receiving clerk of the local freight
station Allegheny Valley Railroad at Pittsburgh, Pa. ;
June ist, 1873, to spring of 1876, chief clerk local
freight department of the same road; spring of 1876
to April 1879, clerk in general freight agent's office
of the same road, and April 1879 to August isth, 1883,
chief clerk of the same office, same road; August i5th,
1883, to Dec. ist, 1885, General Agent Rochester and
Pittsburgh Railroad at Pittsburgh; Dec. ist, 1885,
to Oct. ist, 1886, General Agent Buffalo, New York and
Pittsburgh Railroad, same city; October ist, 1886, to
date, General Traffic Agent Staten Island Rapid Transit
Railroad, New York.
PROMINENT MEN OF STATEN ISLAND
SUPPLEMENT 1894. 151
JOHN G. VAUGHN, justice of the peace of the town of
Southfield, was born in Ireland. He came to America
in 1847, lived in New York a while, then moved to New
Jersey, then to Williamsburg, at which place he
learned the trade of mason and builder.
In 1849, ^ r - Vaughn moved to Staten Island and
worked at his trade 011 R. Hamilton's first building
erecl ed in Hamilton Park. His next move was to Rich-
mond, where he became a partner with Builder Bur-
baiiK: of Rossville. After the dissolution of the firm,
Mr. Vaughn carried on the business in his own name,
and among other buildings erected by him are the
public school-house at Tompkinsville, the Tully
buildings, school-houses Nos. 2 and 3 of Southfield, the
Roman Catholic church and parsonage at Richmond
and the county clerk's office at Richmond.
Through his aid a bill was passed in the legislature
to purchase the ground for the village of Edgewater
Park, which he had built for the trustees of the park.
While he was living at Richmond the boundary line
of the town of Southfield included the greater part of
what is now known as the town of Middletown. Prior
to this there were but fovir towns in Richmond county,
and on one occasion, a tie was fotind in the board,
caused by Col. Ray Tompkins and the Hon. Richard
Christopher of Castleton, each claiming the seat of
supervisor representing Castleton. Hon. Robert
Christy, Hon. H. Weed and John G. Vaughn went to
Albany and had the town of Middletown created out
of the towns of Southfield and Castleton.
In 1858, John G. Vaughn was elected justice of the
peace, a position he holds up to this date.
In 1862, he raised a company of Staten Islanders
and went to the front with Gen. Banks' army in the
\Vest. Mr. Vavighn and his company rendered good
service and were engaged in all the battles vip to the
taking of Port Hudson, at which time he resigned and
returned home to his family then residing at Vander-
bilt's L,andiiig. The next spring he was re-elected
justice and the following autumn was nominated and
elected for the office of one of the three county super-
intendents of the poor.
In politics he is a sterling Democrat and has se-
cured great influence in his party. He has been dele-
gate to the county conventions for over thirty years,
has been to senatorial, congressional and state con-
ventions during all that period and nominated, at
Jamaica, the Hon. Erastus Brooks as member of the
last constitutional convention. He was elected three
times in succession, to the office of chairman of the
county committee and held this position in 1884,
when, it is well known, he most ably aided in the
election of President Cleveland. The facts in the
case are these: The night of the election Mr. Vaughn,
152 PROMINENT MEN OF STATEN ISLAND
as previously arranged, after carefully canvassing the
vote of Richmond county, telegraphed to the Demo-
cratic headquarters to the Hon. M. C. Murphy and
Hon. James Smith who had charge at the Hoffman
House, New York, that Richmond county had given
for Cleveland 1892 majority.
When the canvass of the state was by them com-
pleted, awaiting the official returns, they discovered
that the state of New York had been won by the Re-
publicans. The committee sent for Mr. Vaughn, to
whom they stated that the result of the national
ticket devolved on Staten Island; that, as was the fact,
it required the vote of New York to elect and it re-
quired the vote of Staten Island to overcome Elaine's
majority, Elaine having a majority of all the votes cast
in this state down to the battery, of 923. On the final
canvass of the Staten. Island vote, Cleveland had
received a plurality of 1970 overcoming Elaine's vote
by 1047 majority of tnirty, giving to the nation a
JOHN B. NEWHALL, M. E.
JOHN E. NEWHALL, eldest son of Morris B. Newhall, was
born in the year 1855 at Randolph, Mass.
When, very young his family moved to South Boston,
at which place his early school training began. As a
boy he manifested a great taste for mechanics, and as
soon as his age would permit, he entered the technical
school, taking a thorough course in hydraulic and me-
About this time, he suffered an affliction in. the loss
of his parents, and being thrown on his own resources,
he secured a position with the Boston Machine Co.
After a few years of experience and untiring energy,
he was advanced and put in charge of the water pipe,
valve and hydrant department.
In this manner, be became interested in water-works
engineering, and in 1888 was made general superin-
tendent of the Maine Water Co., which owned and
operated seven separate water-works plants in dif-
ferent cities and towns in Maine.
During this time, he located in Waterville, Me. In.
July 1892, he resigned and identified himself with the
Crystal Water Co., of Edgewater. as superintendent
and general manager. Assuming this position with a
thorough knowledge of the details of the business, he
has been enabled to introduce many valuable reforms,
thereby increasing the efficiency of the fire service as
well as the domestic supply, and has curtailed the per
capiti constimption by the introduction of the meters.
Mr. Newhall resides on St. Paul's avenue, Stapleton,
with his wife, formerly Miss Annie F. Hubbard, of Oak-
land, Me., and their twin sons, Guy and Morris, aged
MICHAEL McGuiRE was born in Stapleton in 1861 and
was educated at the Broad street ptiblic school.
Mr. McGuire is a born politician and an out and out
Democrat. He went into politics at an early age and
has had a remarkably successful career.
His first office was that of justice of the peace of the
town of Middletown, to which he was elected in 1887
when only twenty-six years of age, being- at that time
one of the youngest jtistices in the county.
In 1888, he was appointed school collector and was
again elected in 1889. In 1890, he was electedtown col-
lector and re-elected in 1891.
In the spring of 1892 he was re-elected jtistice of the
peace, and in June of the same year was elected
trustee of the village of Edgewater. In 1893, he was
elected member of assembly tor Richmond county,
and in 1894 was re-elected village trustee and now
holds the office of village trustee and justice of the
154 PROMINENT MEN OF STATEN ISLAND
CHAKLES E. HOYEK.
CHARLES E. HOYER was born March 25th, 1864, only
son of the late Captain Chas. W. Hoyer, well known in
marine circles, who for many years commanded the
famous old Collins Mail Steamship "Atlantic.'' When
a boy, he accompanied his parents at sea and visited
nearly every prominent port in the world.
Mr. Hoyer is a graduate of the Broad Street Mili-
tary Academy at Philadelphia. In 1883, he entered
New York journalism and since that time has been
the Staten Island correspondent for the leading New
York dailies ana the Union Press Exchange, repre-
senting the New York Associated Press.
In 1892, when a county board of excise was created
Mr. Hoyer was appointed clerk to the new board, which
position he now holds for the third consecutive term.
He was one of the organizers of the Staten Island
Yacht CKtb, of which organization he for two years was
elected commodore. He was also a charter member
of Pioneer Lodge No. 335, A. O. U. W., and Stapleton
Council No. 1435, Royal Arcanum; was secretary of the
former lodge for thr.se years, and is now secretary of
the latter lodge. He is also a member of Tompkins
Lodge, No. 471 F. & A. M., of Stapleton, the New York
Press Club, Staten Island Press Club and an honor-
ably discharged member of the Edgewater Fire De-
GEORGE W. ELLIS.
GEO. W. EiLis, chief clerk of the Richmond county
police department, was born in \Yoodbridge, N. J. ,
July 28th, 1836. He volunteered in defense of the
Union and was appointed quarterm aster of the 73rd
Regiment of the state of New York and served with
that regiment three months. In the year 1869, he was
elected supervisor of the town of Westfield. He was
elected stipervisor in 1870 and was chosen chairman
of the board. In 1871, he was appointed unanimously
a commissioner of police.
Mr. Ellis has always been a staunch Democrat and
an active member of his party. He is a Knight Tem-
plar and much interested in Masonic matters.
PROMINENT MEN OF STATEN ISLAND
JAMES SEATON, the subject of this sketch, was born
February nth, 1868. He is the oldest son of John
Seaton, of New Brighton, who has been a justice of
the town of Castleton for eight years, and is also
grandson of the late James Seaton who has been
treasurer of the village of New Brighton for a number
He was educated in district school, No. 3, of Castle-
ton, then took a commercial cotirse in Packard's Busi-
ness College together with a course in phonography
under Prof. James N. Kimball, of that institution,
graduating from that institution in 1887.
In Decemoer 1890, he was appointed by the board of
supervisors as stenographer to District-Attorney
Thomas W. Fitzgerald and also stenographer to the
grand juries of this county, which positions he now
holds, and which enable the grand juries of this
county to do more work in a day than ever was ac-
complished before by the service of a stenographer.
Mr. Seaton is unmarried and lives with his parents
.at New Brighton.
WM. J. BROWNE.
WM. J. BROWNE was born in New York May 28th, 1858.
He came to Staten Island with his parents in 1865 and
has since resided here. In 1880, in conjunction with
his brother, the late J. H. Browne, he issued the first
number of the Richmond County Democrat.
On the death of his brother two years ago he be-
came sole proprietor of the paper and has since con-
ducted the same.
158 PROMINENT MEN OF ST A/TEN ISLAND
HUGO KESSLER was born in 1849 i n Reiclienbach, a
manufacturing place in Saxony, Germany, at which
place his father \vas a manufacturer of woolen goods.
He came to this country in 1867 with his father. He
entered the printing business and in a very short
time secured a responsible position as foreman of
a New York daily.
Later, he was employed for many years on the
Staats-Zeitung , and in 1883 he established himself in
New York under the firm of Meyer & Kessler, which
firm to-day is prospering at 91 Cliff street.
Mr. Kessler was married on Stateii Island in 1871 to
a niece of Capt. Meyer, and since that time, with the
exception of a few years, he has been a resident of
At the urgent requests of many prominent Staten
Island Germans, Mr. Kessler established a German
newspaper on the Island the German Staten Island
Post in 1888, which paper has rapidly grown and is
still increasing ii "latioii, beside being an excel-
lent advertising mecu^ m.
Mr. Kessler is a member of Klopstock Lodge, No.
760, F. & A. M., vS. I. Quartette Club, Erheiterung,
Turnverein, and also an active member of the Arion
Society of New York. He is very popular in German
and American social circles.
BENJAMIN E. STREETER,
Proprietor WEST EXD HOTEL, Totteiiville.
This hotel, standing between the Perth Amboy ferry
and the Staten Island railroad station, is the most,
central and conveniently located, as well as the
largest, and most commodious hotel in the village.
During the present season Mr. Streeter has built a
large new dining-room with kitchen attached. The
bar-room, reading-room and restaurant have been re-
furnished and redecorated, the sleeping-rooms have
been furnished in oak, and every part of the hotel has
been put in first-class order.
Mr. Streeter's dinners and clam-bakes are known
all over the Island, and the hotel is a favorite resort
for wheelmen, excursionists and sailing parties.
Benjamin E. Streeter was born in Springfield, Mass.,
in 1847 an( l came to Staten Island in 1866 and was for
several years conductor on the Stat^-n Island railroad.
In 1 88 1, Mr. George Bechtel pur- 1 the West End
Hotel from Mr. Nicholas Killr-.^yer and leased it to
Mr. Streeter who had previottsly had experience in
several large city hotels such as the Massasoit House,
Springfield, Bagg's Hotel, Utica, and Stanwix Hall,
Albany, and has been able to make the West End a
success from the beginning.
PROMINENT MEN OF STATEN ISLAND
ANDREWS ABRAMS, architect, carpenter, builder and
contractor, Tottenville, was born in Sweden in 1842,
and learned his trade in his native town.
At the age of 18 years, he entered the Ancient Ma-
rine service and two years later joined the United
States Navy, and served on the Virginia, of the Gulf
squadron, and assisted in the capture of fifteen block-
ade runners. At the close of the war he was honorably
discharged from the service and settled in Tottenville.
He immediately went to work at his trade and soon
established himself as a master builder, contractor
and architect. Mr. Abrams estimates the number of
houses he has built at nearly two hundred, and has
built nearly all the houses on Johnson and Wood
avenues and Centre street.
His enterprise has kept pace with his industry and
he is the owner of eleven houses in Tottenville, most
of which are double.
Mr. Abrams is a member of Lenhart Post G. A. R.,
and one of the trustees of the village of Tottenville.
ELMER E. SLAIGHT.
SLAIGHT & DECKER, grocers, Rossville. Elmer E.
Slaight and Alvin S. Decker, both of Rossville, formed
a co-partnership in 1891 and began business in the
old store occupied for many years by the late Isaac
Mr. Slaight had been for nine years a clerk in the
store of Seguine & Decker at Rossville, where he
made a wide acquaintance, which with his personal
popularity, had brought a large trade to the firm of
Slaight & Decker.
Tn 1892, they built the large store which they now oc-
cupy, corner of Richmond road and Winant avenue.
In Febrtiary 1894, Mr. Slaight was appointed post-
master, the first change in the office in twenty-three
Mr. Slaight and Mr. Decker are both members of old
Staten Island families, and from the first enjoyed the
confidence of the community in which they estab-
lished their business, and have received a liberal
PROMINENT MEN OF STATEN ISLAND
T. W. MOORE, JR.
THOMAS WILLIAM MOORE, JR., ycmiigest son of Capt. T.
W. Moore, Sr., was born at Annadale in 1870. At the
early age of seventeen years he succeeded his father
in the grocery business, and a few years later pur-
chased the store and adjoining property.
Mr. Moore is one of the energetic, pushing young
men of Staten Island and has succeeded in very large-
ly increasing the business, and now has a trade in
groceries, provisions, flour, feed, hay, straw, etc.,
with customers all the way from New Dorp to Totteii-
1111892, he married Miss Gertrude K. Howell, of
Huguenot, and has one child, Kitty.
The business w r as established in 1872 by Capt. T.
W. Moore, Sr., who was also a native of Staten Island,
and held the office of postmaster for nineteen years,
from 1875, until it was removed to the Annadale
station in the spring of 1894.
The family have always been staunch Republicans,
and have considerable influence in that part of the
HORATIO J. SHARRETT.
HORATIO JUDAH SHARRETT was born in Brooklyn in 1870.
In 1873, his father moved to West New Brighton, and
later, to Port Richmond.
Mr. Sharrett was educated in the Port Richmond
High School and was graduated in 1887, at the head of
his class and was honored at being chosen its valedic-
His first business experience was obtained as clerk
in the office of the well-known and popular real es-
tate agent, the late Clarence M. Johnson. On the de-
parture of Mr. Johnson in 1890, for the West, Mr.
Sharrett succeeded to the large business of his former
employer, and by dint of careful management, energy
and liberal advertising, he has succeeded in making
for himself a reputation and business as one of the
leading real estate agents on the Island.
In 1894, during a hotly contested campaign, Mr.
Sharrett was elected town clerk of Northfield on the
He is a member of different orders and societies,
among them the American Legion of Honor, Ancient
Order of Foresters, Order of American Firemen,
Port Richmond Engine Co., No. 3, and of Trinity M. E.
PROMINENT MEN OF STATEN ISLAND
WILSON A. CLEVELAND.
THERE is no person to whom the village of Garret-
sons owes more of its rapid growth and prosperity
than to Wilson A. Cleveland, architect and builder.
He is a large property owner in the place and has
built many of the dwellings there. He also built and
owns the block in which the post-office is located, was
instrtimental in having the post-office established
there and was himself appointed postmaster in 1890,
an office which he still holds.
Mr. Cleveland was born at Harwich, Mass., May iSth,
1847. On Feb. 28th, 1865, he married Miss Laura J.
Watson, daughter of the late Capt. C. H. Watson of the
U. S. navy. They have four children, two sons and
Mr. Cleveland came to Staten Island in 1872 and his
enterprise and thorough knowledge of his trade soon
enabled him to take first rank among the builders of
Staten Island, and during the twenty-two years that he
has lived here, he has worked on many of the finest
residences in the county, such as Sir Roderick Cam-
eron's at Arrochar, and David J. Tyson's at Todt Hill.
He also superintended the building of Moses Beach's
mansion at Peekskill-on-the-Hudson.
EDMUND G. SCHAEFER.
EDMUND G. SCHAEFER, Stapleton, dealer in furniture,
and upholstering goods, carpets, oilcloths, etc.
Mr. Schaefer was born in Stapleton in 1869, and was
educated in the German. Lutheran private school. In
1887, he was made partner with his father in the fur-
niture business, a business which his father had es-
tablished in 1860. In 1891, he purchased the entire
business, and since that time has been sole proprietor.
He has been very successful in enlarging the business,
and in increasing the patronage of the store, which
justly ranks as one of the first and largest of its kind
011 the Island. Mr. Schaefer has an exceptional busi-
ness capacity, and is thoroughly conversant with every
branch of the trade.
PROMINENT MEN OF STATEN ISLAND
CORNELIUS A. SHEA.
CORNELIUS A. SHEA, cigar manufacturer, Pleasant
Plains, was born near Kreischerville in 1845. His
father was also a native of Staten Island. His grand-
father, William, was one of the most prominent citi-
zens of Rossville and was justice of the peace, notary
ptiblic, commissioner of deeds and general adviser of
the entire community. Shea's lane, now New York
avenue, was named in his honor.
In 1870, Mr. Shea was married to Miss Mary E.. Cole,
daughter of John H. Cole, of Richmond Valley. The
same year he opened a cigar factory in the building
which he still occupies. He has been clerk of the
school district for thirteen years, trustee for nine
years, and is now a member of the board of education.
He has been trustee of St. Mark's Church for thirteen
years and superintendent of the Siinday-school for
seventeen years. Mr. Shea has always been an ear-
nest and active Republican but would never accept the
nomination for any public office.
MOHD'S DRYGOODS EMPORIUM.
A. MORD, Bay street and Vanderbilt avenue, Clifton,
dealer in drygoods, clothing, men's furnishing goods,
Mr. Mord established himself in the drygoods and
clothing business on. Staten Island in 1876, driving his
wagon all through the interior of the Island from
Clifton to Kreischerville. In iSSi, he opened a store
at 43 New York avenue, where he conducted business
until 1889. He then purchased, at a cost of $12,000,
the large store which he now occupies, enlarging and
improving it, putting in a glass front, and now has a
store 30x60 ft. filled with one of the most complete
stocks of drygoods, clothing, etc., to be found on
Staten Island. His customers come from every part
of the county, and his wagons are out every day de-
livering goods from St. George to Kreischerville.
Mr. Mord and his sons deserve great credit for the
industry and perseverance with which they have
pushed their business; and they have had the satisfac-
tion of seeing it grow from a very small beginning
to a large and prosperous trade.
PROMINENT MEN OF STATEN ISLAND
CHARLES F. WILBUR.
WILBUR & MANEE, grocers and coal dealers, Pleasant
Plains, Prince's Bay P. O.
CHARLES F. WILBUR, senior partner of Wilbur & Manee,
was born at Saratoga, New York, in 1854. He came to
Staten Island with his father's family in 1857, when
his father, John W. Wilbur, came here as contractor for
the building of the Staten Island railroad. On the
completion of the road, his father was made superin-
tendent, a position which he held, with the exception
of a few years, tintil the opening of the Rapid Transit
road in 1886. In 1878, the subject of this sketch was
appointed conductor on the railroad, which position
he held until his resignation in 1887.
CHARLES C. MANEE.
CHARLES C. MANEE, the junior member of the firm of
Wilbur & Manee, is a descendant of one of the old
Huguenot families, which settled on Staten Island
probably about the close of the seventeenth century.
He was born at Pleasant Plains in 1858 and has always
resided on the Island. In 1876, he was graduated from
the Eastman Business College in Poughkeepsie. In
1888, the firm of Wilbur & Manee was formed and the
business of Sebastian L,aForge at Pleasant Plains was
purchased. Both members of the firm had a wide ac-
quaintance and many personal friends in Westfield,
and rapidly built up a large and lucrative business.
In 1889, they opened a coal yard, and this branch of
the business has also proved successful. The firm
has always been known for its fair dealing, and court-
eous treatment of customers.
PROMINENT MEN OF STATEN ISLAND
STEPHENS HOUSE, Pleasant Plains, Capt. Stephen H.
Slover, proprietor, is one of the best known and
best kept road houses in Westfield. It was built by
Mr. Slover in 1886 and was the first hotel ever opened
in the village.
Capt. Slover is a descendant of the Slover family
which settled in the old colonial days. He was born
at Old Bridge, Middlesex county, N. J. , in 1854, a son
of Capt. Joshua Slover. He was graduated from
Rutgers College in 1872 when only 18 years of age. He
spent the first five years of his business life as clerk
in a store and then went into the steamboat business,
STEPHEN H. SLOVER.
and was for ten years captain on the Lehigh Valley
Railroad boats plying between Perth Amboy and New
In 1883, Mr. Slover married Armenia, daughter of
William DeWaters, and granddaughter of the late
Abram Latourette. His first hotel venture was as
proprietor of the Union hotel, Tottenville. This hotel
he kept for two years and during that time he pur-
chased the land and built the hotel which he now oc-
cupies. This last venture proved successful beyond
his highest hopes, and Mr. Slover is now one of the
most prosperous hotel men on the Island.
PROMINENT MEN OF STATEN ISLAND
LEVENGSTON SNEDEKER, JR.
LEVENGSTON SNEDEKER, JR. , of Port Richmond, although
a yoting man, is recognized as one of the foremost
business men of the north shore. He is engaged in
the real estate, general insurance and steamship
agency business at the long-established agency of A. Z.
Ross, deceased, 133 Richmond terrace, near the Port
Richmond post-office, where, although but a short time
in business, he has not only kept the bulk of the trade
of the old concern, but has largely increased it in vol-
ume: this is due to his untiring zeal and activity and
to his strictly fair and honest dealings with his pa-
Among the different re-liable and old-established
companies for which he is agent, are: Royal, Com-
mercial Union, and Westchester Fire Insurance Com-
panies, New York Life Insurance Company, Travelers'
Life and Accident Insurance Company, United States
Mutual Accident Association, Lloyd's Plate Glass In-
surance Company and the American and White Star
The possession of the above valuable agencies is
SUPPLEMENT 1894. 173
a guaranty that any fire or other risks entrusted to
him will be placed in first-class companies.
In addition, he is well known and noted as a fine
rmisician and an athlete, being- the solo cornetist of
the famous Apollo Band of which he is a charter
member and was at one time conductor; and is also a
member of the athletic corps of the Seventh Regi-
ment, National Guard, New York state. As arrmsician,
he is self-taught; as an athlete, he ranks among the
best of amateurs as a runner, having won several prizes
in running races, and now holds the championship of
the Seventh Regiment.
Mr. Snedeker does not, however, allow any of the
above pastimes to interfere with his legitimate busi-
As a further mark of the esteem and confidence in
which Mr. Snedeker is held, the Co-operative Building
Bank of New York has selected him as its repre-
sentative in Port Richmond, where he has established
a branch of the parent company.
All persons having any business in his line, may feel
assured that, if entrusted to him, it will receive
prompt and careful attention.
Mr. Snedeker was born in Elizabeth, N. J., twenty-
three years ago, but when about five months old,
with his parents, he came to Stateii Island, where
he has since resided and become identified with its in-
terests. By marriage he is connected with the old Van-
Duzer family whose ancestors for generations were
born 011 Staten Island, and on his mother's side he is re-
lated to the Vanderbilt family, thereby more closely
allying himself to Richmond county.
' ( fV* Cfr ' '
( . "* i>*i K ',. ^ - *J _ i ^^1 i
!-?-.,.. =.., _J . a s
3f; ; H f
SUPPLEMENT 1894. 175
THE ATLANTIC INN.;
THE ATLANTIC INN, Grant City, E. C. Werthmuller,
proprietor, is one of the largest and finest new road-
houses on Staten Island, and is a favorite stopping-place
for the members of the L,. A. W., for family parties,
driving parties, etc. It has wide shady verandas, elegant
rooms handsomely ftirnished, and its bar and table are
always supplied with the best the season affords. The
proprietor spares 110 pains to make his guests com-
fortable and to supply them with everything they may
The hotel is also provided with ample sheds and
stables for the horses and carriages of both permanent
and transient guests.
The hotel stands in a healthful location and com-
mands a magnificent view of the bay from Sandy Hook
to Coney Island, and is the nearest point to the Van-
derbilt mausoleum, said to be the handsomest and
most costly tomb in the world.
1 76 PROMINENT MEN OF STATEN ISLAND
FRED WILKINS, proprietor of the Oriental Hotel and
Oriental Park Hotel, may well be called the founder of
Eltingville. When he located there twenty-eight
years ago, there were but two houses in the village.
He purchased a plot of two and a half acres of
swamp land adjoining Eltingville station, drained it
and filled it in, and with his own hands planted the
trees which now form what is probably the finest
grove and picnic grounds on Staten Island, and in 1874
he built the Oriental Hotel.
When he planted the grove, looking forward to the
time when it would become a favorite resort for picnic
parties and clubs from New York, his friends re-
marked that he would never be able to compete with
the parks and play-grounds of New York for popular
favor, but he replied lhat by the time his trees were
grown picnic parties in the New York parks would be
a thing of the past. Time has proved Mr. Wilkins'
prophecy to be correct and fully justified his enter-
prise and farsightedness in expending the large sums
of money required to redeem the swamp and make it
a delightful summer resort.
In 1876, Mr. Wilkins built in the centre of the grove
what at that time was the largest and finest dancing
pavilion on Staten Island, with bowling alley, shoot-
ing gallery, etc., attached.
In the spring of 1894, he rebuilt the old grocery on
the corner of Amboy avenue and EltingvilJe avenue,
and transformed it into the Oriental Park Hotel, one
of the finest road-houses in the county.
Mr. Wilkins kas always had great faith in the future
of Staten Island and has spent his money liberally to
improve and beautify his property.
MARSENA COUNSELLOR AYRES.
MARSENA COUNSELLOR AYRES, harness-maker, Richmond
Valley (Tottenville P. O.), keeps a full line
of robes, blankets and all kinds of horse fur-
nishings. The business was originally established
in 1 86 1 by his father, the late Michael C. Ayres, pre-
viously of Rahway, N. J. The business has been con-
tinued in this same location for thirty-two years; from
1 86 1 to 1871 by the late Michael C. Ayres, from 1869 to
1886 by Mr. Ayres and his son, the present proprietor,
and since that time by the latter. Mr. M. C. Ayres,
the founder of the business, was, during his lifetime,
one of the best known and best respected men of Tot-
tenville. He was for over twenty years clerk of the
South Baptist Church, and for several years was a
member of the board of town auditors and took an
active part in all matters pertaining to the welfare of
the general community. His death occurred in 1886
and was a great loss not only to the South Baptist
Church, but to the entire community.
THE LATE MICHAEL C. AYRES.
JAMES D. KEELEY.
JAMES D. KEELEY, town clerk of the town of Southfield,
was born Aug. 2oth, 1868, is a native of Clifton and
son of Daniel Keeley, ex-supervisor of the town of
Southfield. He was educated in the public schools
of Staten Island, and is a solid Democrat. Mr. Keeley
is a builder by trade, and is one of the prominent
builders of Southfield, where he has built a number
of handsome buildings.
He also holds the office of school collector of his
district, and was elected town clerk at the last election.
He has the distinction of being the youngest man ever
elected to the office which he now holds.
PROMINENT MEN OF STATEN ISLAND
ISRAEL BUTLER, JR.
BUTLER BROS. , architects, contractors, carpenters and
builders, Tottenville. This firm consists of Israel
Butler, Jr., and David J. Butler, and was established in
The first building erected by the firm was the resi-
dence of ex-Sheriff Vaughart on Fisher avenue, Totten-
ville. From the first this firm has been one of the lead-
ing of Westfield and has put up some of the largest
and finest buildings in the town, among which we may
note the large residences of Richard Berg, at Annadale;
Arthur W. Browne and George L. Harrison, at Pleasant
Plains; R. C. Watson, H. S. Bedell and Geo. Cunning-
DAVID J. BUTLER.
ham at Tottenville; and Claus Wilkins at Kreischer-
This firm also built the large hotels of Christian
Nielson and Mrs. L,orretta Killmeyer at Kreischerville,
Amicitia Hall at Pleasant Plains, the Aquehonga club-
house at Tottenville, and Elmer T. Butler's coach
house and stables 011 the south shore.
Both members of the firm are young and enterpris-
ing men, sons of the late Israel Butler, Sr., who was a
prominent builder in the earlier days of Tottenville,
and bid fair to do their part to building up the west
side of the Island.
PROMINENT MEN OF STATEN ISLAND
JACOB S. ELLIS.
JACOB S. ELLIS & SON, ship and boat builders, Totten-
Jacob S. Ellis was born near Rossville, in 1820, was
brought tip and educated on Staten Island and
learned his trade in Webb's shipyard in New York. In
1850, he located at Belleville, N. J., where he carried
on the business of building- freight schooners until
1 86 1, when Mr. ElHs returned to Staten Island and
purchased the shipyard now owned by J. S. Ellis &Son,
and where for over thirty years he has carried on a
large and sxiccessful business.
Hampton C. Ellis, the junior member of the firm,
was born in Belleville, N. J., in 1860, while his father
was in business at that place. He was reared and
HAMPTON C. ELLIS.
educated on Staten Island, and at the age of twenty-
one years was taken into partnership with his father.
Among the vessels which they have built and
which are still in service are the following: Pilot boats,
Thos. D. Harrison, Jos. F. L,oubat, Wm. H. Starbuck;
tugs, Chas. Runyan, Rambler, E. E. Heipershausen,
Jos. Peene, Jr., D. S. Asnot; brigs, Nettie, Robert Dillon;
bark, John Zittolosen; schooners, L,uola Merchison,
E. S. Porrel, Sunny South, HarryKnowlton, Asa Lyons,
Oliver Schofield, Helen A. Hoyt.
The firm have always enjoyed an excellent reputa-
tion, not only for honesty and responsibility, but for
skill and designing vessels, and promptness and enter-
prise with which their contracts are executed.
SUPPLEMENT 1894. 185
JOHN B. WOOD, justice of the peace of the town of West-
field, was born in Perth Amboy, N. J., in 1840, son of the
late Joseph B. Wood. Although born in New Jersey
Mr. Wood conies of a long line of ancestors who have
been prominent in the official and business life of
After obtaining a thorotigh public school education,
Mr. Wood learned the trade of ship-carpenter with his
uncle, after which he learned the trade of steam-
heating and gas-fitting under John W. Sneath, engi-
neer of the well-known firm of Mason & Dodge, of New
York, pioneers in the steam-heating business.
Mr. W T ood was for a long time employed on steam-
heaters for the Jewett oil-cloth factory, at Elizabeth-
port, N. J., and helped to fit up P. T. Barnum's old
mtiseum, and was for years superintendent of the
steam-heating machinery department of Stewart
Greer & Co., sugar refiners, of New York. He was
also the first engineer employed at the Sayre & Fisher
fire-brick factory at Sayreville, N. J., and in 1890 de-
signed and stiperintended the building of O. H. Bar-
nard's silk mill at Richmond Valley, put in the en-
gine, boiler, gas plant and all the machinery.
In 1872, Mr. Wood moved to Tottenville, and two
years later was appointed justice of the peace to fill a
vacancy, and was twice elected on the Republican
ticket and held the office for eight years. He was
again appointed to fill a vacancy in 1894, caused by the
death of Justice C. H. Peiidexter, which office he still
Mr. Wood is a master mason in good standing and is
president of the Westfield branch of the New York
Mutual L,oan and Savings Association.
PROMINENT MEN OF STATEN ISLAND
HOWARD M. VERE, D. D. S.
HOWARD M. VERB, D. D. S. . was born in New York city,
but came to Stateii island with his father's family
when a young ]ad. He was educated in the best
schools of Staten Island, finishing- at D. L,. Moody's
academy, Mt. Hermoii. Mass. After the completion
of his academic course, he entered his father's dental
office at West New Brighton, where he studied four
In 1890, he entered the New York College of Den-
tistry, from which he was graduated with honor in
1892. He then returned to Staten Island, and entered
into partnership with his father, Dr. J. H. Vere, one
of the best known dentists of the Island.
This firm enjoy the patronage of the community
and a large and lucrative practice, patients coming
from all parts of the Island, beside a first-class client-
age from New York city, Their practice is constant-
ly growing and no dentists on the Island have a bet-
ter reputation for first-class work than this firm.
JACOB HERREL, dealer in boots and. shoes and rubber
goods, Tottenville, opened the first shoe store ever
kept in the village of Tottenville.
Mr. Herrel was born in Baden, Germany, in 1833 and
in 1850 he came to America and settled at Port Jervis,
N. Y., where he learned the shoemaker's trade. He
came to Staten Island in 1856 and opened a custom
shoe shop. In 18.02, he built a .store on Main street
which he has since occupied and which was, until a
few years ago, the only exclusive shoe store on this
end of the Island.
Mr. Herrel was trustee of the village for several
years tinder the revived charter, and has been trustee
of the public school for many years, an office which
he now holds.
He was married in 1859 to Miss Katherine Seeger of
Wurtemberg, Germany, who died in 1891. He has six
children: George, Kate, Emma, Louise, William J. and
Sophia (Mrs. Henry Ljndenmeyer, of New York.)
H. E. CLEVELAND.
H. E. CLEVELAND.
HENRY E. CLEVELAND came of a long line of ancestors
( English ) who settled in the wilds of central Massa-
chusetts on the border line of the Pequod country,
about the middle of the eighteenth century. They
were among the sturdy pioneers who helped to
clear up the country, to establish schools, acade-
mies and colleges and push forward the cause of civil-
ization, in the days when the pine knot furnished
the "electric" midnight light of the student for
poring over the pages of Virgil and solving the propo-
sitions of Euclid.
Under such circumstances, was developed the class
of men dubbed the "schoolmasters abroad."
As one of this class Mr. Cleveland came to Clifton,
where he taught three successive generations of
scholars, having for associates such faithful and
efficient co-workers as Messrs. Wright, Sprague,
Annan, Hervey, Bleii, etc., and for school commis-
sioner for a series of years the "noblest Roman
of them all," the Rev. Dr. Brovviilee.
Mr. Cleveland bears the proud distinction of having
taught in the same public school for more successive
years than any other teacher in the state, and he has
seen many of his scholars enter almost every walk of
industrial, professional and official life and has the
satisfaction of knowing that many men owe their suc-
cess to his instruction.
Mr. Cleveland has retired from teaching and is liv-
ing quietly at Garretsons looking after the property
which he has accumulated by a long life of industry.
PHILLIP J. BROWN.
PHILLIP J. BROWN.
PHILLIP J. BROWN was born in Railway, N. J., Feb. yth,
1839. At the age of seventeen years, he went to learn
the carriage trade, and four years later, having learned
what he could in his native town, he went to New
Haven with the firm of Lawrence, Bradley & Co., the
noted carriage builders, and a short time afterward
he came to New York with the firm of J. B. Brewster
& Co., of Twenty-fifth street, one of the most celebrated
firms of carriage builders in the world. He remained
here six years, thoroughly mastering the carriage
trade. He then returned to his native city, where he
started in the carriage business for himself, and con-
tinued (with many tips and downs), until the fall
of 1871, when a fire destroyed his shop and everything
in it except a few finished carriages.
In 1872, he came to Staten. Island, and two years
later he again established himself in btisiiiess, and
by building nothing but first-class carriages soon
established for himself an excellent reputation and
found ready sale for his work, not only among the
best people of Staten Island but in Bayoiine, New
York and Brooklyn, and his work stands to-day at the
head of the carriage trade on Staten Island.
Mr. Brown does his own drafting and all his work is
made under his own careful supervision.
In 1884, Mr. Brown started a livery stable on a small
scale, increasing his stock year by year, until he now
has the best-equipped stable on Staten Island, with
special facilities, and experienced men for mov-
ing pianos and furniture. He also has extensive
furniture warehouses, covered furniture vans, etc.
In 1890, Mr. Brown opened a repository with as fine
a display of carriages, wagons, harness and horse
clothing, as was ever opened on the Island.
I 9 2
PROMINENT MEN OF STATEN ISLAND
PETER FLOERSCH, proprietor of the Excelsior Hotel,
Main street, Tottenville, was born in Germany on the
Rhine in 1860, and when only four years of age, came
to this country with his father's family, who settled
in Newark, N. J. He came to Staten Island in 1874,
and in 1877 settled in Tottenville, and opened a bar-
ber shop in Nelson's Hotel, four years later. In 1886,
he leased the Sevenhaar block and opened the Ex-
celsior Hotel, with restaurant and billiard-room at-
tached, where he has since done a very successful
business. For two years he was lessee of the Bay
Cliff Park restaurant.
Mr. Floersch has always been a prominent and active
Republican and has assisted his party through a great
many hot campaigns. He was elected excise commis-
sioner on the Republican ticket and served three
JOHN T. FURMAN.
JOHN T. FURMAN, contractor and road builder, was
born at Newtown, L. I., in 1840. He was brought up
and educated in Newtown and when he came of age he
established himself in business as general contractor
and road-builder, etc. He came to Staten Island in
1 88 1 and is now serving his second term as highway
commissioner. The most important road improve-
ments have been carried out under his supervision.
He has also executed a large number of contracts for
opening up Staten Island property for settlement,
among which were the laying out and grading of the
Barclay property atAnnadale, and the Wiman property
at Fox Hill, Clifton.
Mr. Furman's work has always been noted for the
thoroughness and honesty with which he carries out
NICHOLAS KILLMEYER, Kreischerville grocer, and pro-
prietor of the Union Hotel, Kreischerville, was born in
Prussia in 1822. He came to America in 1849 an d
settled in Woodbridge, N. J. In 1850, he came to
Kreischerville and was in the employ of B. Kreischer
& Co. until 1863. In 1859, he built a hotel and grocery
011 the ground now occupied by the Union Hotel, and
in 1873 he built the store which he now occupies. In
1890, he enlarged and refurnished his hotel, and now
has probably the handsomest bar and billiard rooms
on the Island.
In 1879, ^ r - Killmeyer and his eldest son, William,
bought the West End Hotel, Tottenville, and it was
conducted by William until 1886, when they sold the
property to the late George Bechtel.
Mr. Killmeyer has conducted the largest business
of anyone in Kreischerville, and his grocery and hotel
have always been the principal store and house of
In 1863, the first post-office was established in
Kreischerville, and Mr. Killmeyer was appointed
postmaster. He held the office for thirteen years,
when political influence caused the office to be dis-
continued, but it was re-established in 1886 and Mr.
Killmeyer's son Albert was appointed to the office,
which he held until 1892.
Mr. Killmeyer has now practically retired from
business and has turned over the management of
his store to his son Albert, and his hotel to his son
Mr. Killmeyer was the father of seven children:
Fotir sons, William, Henry, (deceased), August,
(deceased), Albert and Theodore, and two daughters,
Lena, (Mrs. W. G. Underbill, of Perth Amboy), and
Katie (Mrs. J. E. Dailey), of Brooklyn.
DAVID C. BUTLER.
SUPPLEMENT 1894. 197
DAVID C. BUTLER, ship-builder, Ward's Point, Totten-
ville, was born in Tottenville in 1834. His father, the
late Henry Butler, was also a native of Staten Island,
and served in the militia in the war of 1812. At the
age of seventeen he went to work in the shipyard of
David Crowell at Perth Amboy, N. J., and learned his
trade, after which he worked in Keyport, N. J., until
1863. He then returned to Tottenville and purchased
from his brother James a one-half interest in the
Ward's Point shipyard. A few years later he bought
his brother's entire interest and from that time has
done a large and successful business of repairing,
overhauling and rebuilding vessels from all parts of
Mr. Butler has also found time during his busy
career to take an active interest in matters pertaining
to the public welfare, and it is largely due to his in-
fluence and energy that Tottenville is indebted for
the present handsome and commodious public school
building, which at the time of its erection, was one
of the largest on the Island.
St. Paul's Church is also indebted to Mr. Butler for
its present capacious Sunday-school room. In 1884.
when Mr. Butler found that the Sunday-school had
entirely outgrown its accommodations, and as the
trustees of the church \vere unwilling to resume the
responsibility of enlarging the Sunday-school room,
Mr. Butler offered, if they would give him permission,
to have the work done and he would assume the re-
spoiisibity for the entire cost of the improvement.
After much hesitation and delay, the trustees gave
their consent, ttpon Mr. Butler giving his personal
bond to meet all charges of the new building. The
work was completed in due time and Mr. Butler re-
deemed all his pledges.
Mr. Butler was for three years secretary of the
Richmond County Sunday-school Association (uon-
sectarian), and is a member of the board for the
establishment of the Richmond County Bible Society.
Mr. Butler is a Democrat and he has had offered him
on several occasions several of the best offices the
county affords. He postively refused all offers because
he felt it would effect him in his church work which
he so much loved and enjoyed, and as he stood before
the school as their superintendent for over twenty
years he diu not wish to take any political office for
fear it might effect his influence spiritually with his
PROMINENT MEN OF STATEN ISLAND
GEORGE L. EGBEKT.
ABOUT George L,. Egbert we need say little, as he is
such an extensive advertiser that he is well known to
Mr. Egbert was born at Port Richmond in 1862, and
after receiving a common school education, embarked
as a clerk, in the retail business, at the age of seventeen
At the expiration of ten years, he ended his clerk-
ship and in 1879 started in business under his own
name, at Tompkinsville. He began business on a small
scale, gradually increasing it, until now his store,
devotedto men's furnishing goods, is one of the largest
in the cotinty.
Mr. Egbert is interested in every movement for the
development of Staten Island. He is a member of
E. STEWART MANEE.
E. STEWART MANEE, president of the village of Totten-
ville, is the elder son of Elias P. Manee and the late
He was born in Tottenville in 1866, His paternal
ancestors were Huguenots who settled on Staten
Island 200 years ago. His mother was born in London.
He is a graduate of the local school and of Packard's
Business College and occtipies a responsible position
in the marine insurance office of United States
"L,loyds," by whom he has been, employed for more
than ten years. He is a member of St. Paul's M. E.
Church, and is a Republican in politics.
In November 1893, he married Amanda, elder
daughter of William iiritton, of New York city.
Mr. Manee has a keen appreciation, of the natural
beauties and possibilities of Staten Island and has
been largely instrumental in securing a village govern-
ment for Tottenville and hopes soon to see that pretty
PROMINENT MEN OF STATEN ISLAND
DR. S. J. KENNEDY.
DR. S. J. KENNEDY, dentist, New Dorp, was born
in Illinois in 1866. He came to New York with his
father's family when only two years of age, and was
brought up and educated in New York city. He was
graduated from the College of the City of New York in
1881. After his graduation, he entered the dental
office of his father, Dr. John C. Kennedy, and two years
later entered the New York College of Dentistry, fr'-m
which he was graduated at the age of twenty-one years,
the youngest graduate in his class. After graduating,
he returned to his father's office, where he still con-
tinues in practice. In 1891, the family moved to New
Dorp, where the doctor opened a branch of his New
York Dental rooms, and has built up a large and con-
stantly growing practice.
Dr. Kennedy is one of the few professional men
who always study their profession as well as practice
it; and he has kept abreast of all the recent improve-
ments in dental surgery, and is reckoned by his
patients as one of the most
dentists on Staten Island.
careful and skillful
SUPPLEMENT 1894. 201
WILLIAM TYSEX, architect, carpenter and builder, is one
of the prominent builders of the west end of Staten
Island. He is a Staten Islander by birth and a lineal
descendant of Barne Tysen who settled 011 the Island in
the old colonial days. Mr. Tysen was educated in the
Staten Island public schools, and at the age of twenty-
one he went to learn the trade of carpenter and
Before entering into business for himself he worked
as journeyman, and foreman for some of the best
builders on the Island and acquired thorough knowl-
edge of the business. In 1886, lie established himself
in business and located in Tottenville, where he has
won a reputation for fair dealing and good honest
Barne Tysen, the first of the Tysens on Staten
Island, came from Amsterdam in 1660 and obtained a
grant of land from Andros in 1677 and built the stone
house known for generations as the Barne Tysen
house. The family have been prominent in church
and official circles, having served faithfully in both
Congress and the state Legislature, and in the
JAMES LA FOHGE.
vSUPPLEMENT 1894. 203
JAMES LAFORGE, collector of taxes for the town of
Westfield, was born at Pleasant Plains in 1848, and was
brought up and educated in the same village. His
first business venture was as oyster planter, a busi-
ness which he carried on successfully for over twenty
years. In the spring of 1892, he was elected collector
on the Republican ticket for the town of Westfield,
defeating Sidney Post, the Democratic nominee, by a
majority of 200. He was re-elected in 1893 and again
in 1894, both years without any opposition. This
was an indorsement as remarkable as it was em-
phatic, for the office had previously been held by the
Democrats for sixteen successive years, with the ex-
ception of one year, and yet Mr. L,aForge was unani-
mously elected to the best-paying office of the town,
for two successive years.
In 1892, Air. L,aForge engaged in the flour and feed
business, which he has pushed with such success
that he now probably sells nearly as much flotir, feed
and hay, especially the latter two, as all the other
dealers in the town combined.
In addition, Mr. LaForge does a considerable real
estate business. In 1888, he purchased the property
known as the Excelsior base-ball grounds, consisting
of twelve acres on Bayview avenue, the best-located
property in the vicinity. He ]aid this property out
and improved it and has sold a number of lots on
which handsome residences have already been erected.
Altogether, Mr. L,aFor-e is one of the most popular
officials and enterprising men of the town of Westfield.
PROMINENT MEN OF STATEN ISLAND
WILLIAM H. TOTTEN.
WILLIAM H. TOTTEN, grocer, Main street, Tottenville,
is one of the oldest business men of this end of
the Island. He was born in 1825. His father,
Capt. John Totten, was one of the original settlers
and may be regarded as the founder of Tottenville.
He built the first dock in the village and opened the
first store. At his death, in 1866, he was succeeded
by his son, the subject of this sketch, who has all his
life, been engaged in bxisiness in Tottenville. and is.
now doing a sticcessful grocery business.
SUPPLEMENT 1894. 205
S. D. SIMONSON & CO.
THIS firm, was organized January ist, 1893, for the
purpose of transacting a general real estate and fire
insurance agency and brokerage business in the city
ot New York and in Richmond county, and succeeded
to the business of the old firm, of Miller & Simonson.
The senior member of the firm, Mr. Stephen D.
Simonson, was for many years connected with the New
York City Fire Insurance Company, and in January 1877
organized with Mr. Howard R. Miller the firm of Mil-
ler & Simonson, which transacted for sixteen years a
large and sticcessful real estate and fire insurance
business in New York and on Staten Island.
Mr. John Frederick Smith, the junior member, be-
gan his business career in New York with Messrs. A.
A. French & Co., manufacturers of fishermen's sttp-
plies, and in February 1877, entered the employ of
Messrs. Miller & Simonson and afterward became
manager of the Staten Island office.
The main offices of the firm are at 46 Cedar street,
New York, and 177 Richmond terrace, West New
Brighton, with branch offices at New Brighton, Tomp-
kinsville, Stapletori and Port Richmond.
They are intrusted with the full care and manage-
ment of a very large amount of valuable property, and
have been successful in selling a large amount of
Staten Island property. They are also the general
agents for Stateii Island of the Liverpool, London and
Globe, Aetna of Hartford, Continental, Hanover and
German-American of New York, Phenix of Brooklyn,
and Glens Falls Fire Insurance Companies, also New
York Plate Glass Insurance Company.
206 PROMINENT MEN OF STATEN ISLAND
WALTER MARSHALL, hardware dealer, Prince's Bay.
Builders' hardware, cutlery, carpenters' tools, house-
furnishing hardware, etc.
Mr. Marshall was born and educated oil Staten Isl-
and, and in 1889 established the first exclusively hard-
ware store ever kept in the town of Westfield. Con-
siderable doubt was felt at the time whether such a
business would pay, in view of the fact that a number
of grocers kept small stocks of hardware. In spite of
all doubts, however, the business has been fairly suc-
cessful from the beginning.
In March 1894, Mr. Marshall was appointed post-
master, which office he still holds.
2oS PROMINENT MEN OF STATEN ISLAND
J. KADLETZ, florist and horticulturist, Garretson,
was born at Prague, Austria, and is a graduate of the
University of Prague, founded in 1348, the oldest col-
lege in central Europe. Mr. Kadletz learned the busi-
ness of florist in his native city and learned it
ihoroughly, as men of the old world are wont to learn
anything they undertake.
He came to America and settled on Stateii Island in
1856 and established himself in the florist's business
at Garretsons. In. 1865, he purchased the property
now occupied by his extensive gardens and green-
houses at the corner of Richmond road and Sea View
avenue, where he cultivates a large variety of plants
and shrubs of all kinds.
Mr. Kadletz's favorite flower and the one to which
he gives his special attention is the rose, and of this he
has not only all the kinds usually grown in the flower
garden, but also many new and rare varieties.
Mr. Kadletz, in addition to his excellent business
abilities, is a man of tiiiusual cultttre, and is not only
a fine classical scholar but is also thoroughly familiar
with the best literature of the day, which he is able to
read not only in English and Austrian, but in German
SUPPLEMENT 1894. 209
JAMES FOSTER, nurseryman, Eltingville, (Sea Side P.
O.), was born in the city of Lincolnshire, England.
He came to America in 1848. In 1860, he established
himself in the nursery business, near Eltingville, which
he has carried on successfully up to the present time.
There is probably no man on Staten Island who has
a more thorough knowledge of the business, especially
in its relation to the soil and climate of Staten Island,
than Mr. Foster, atid in his nurseries at Eltingville
he has not only a great variety of flowering plants, both
annual and hardy, but all kinds of ornamental fruit
and shade trees adapted to our climate. His long ex-
perience in the business has given him a thorough
knowledge how to produce the best results in land-
Those who have seen the wonderful growth of the
plants and vines at the Vanderbilt mausoleum and the
beautiful effects produced show that Mr. Foster
thorouehlv understands his business.
Mr. Foster has planted many ornamental trees on
the Vanderbilt homestead and many of the finest trees
on the streets of New Dorp, Oakwood, etc., a large
number which were used to replace trees furnished
by other nurserymen, and which had either died or
failed to give satisfactory results.
Mr. Foster always has in his nursery a large stock
and is prepared to fill orders large or small on short
notice and to guarantee satisfactory results.
210 PROMINENT MEN OF STATEN ISLAND
JAMES McCABE, of the firm of McCabe Bros., pro-
prietors of the Greenridge brick-yards, was born at
Haverstraw, N. Y. , in 1861 and \vas educated in the
best schools of that village. In iSSi, he and his
brother John came to Staten Island and under the firm
name and style of McCabe Bros., leased the old Bennett
brick-yard at Fresh Kills and engaged in the manu-
facture of building brick. The venture proved suc-
cessful, so much so that in 1889, they purchased the
entire plant and property and the next year put in
steam power. Under their management the capacity
of their works has been increased from 5,000,000 to
10,000,000 bricks per year.
In addition to giving his personal attention to the
large business interests of McCabe Bros., Mr. McCabe
has kept up his studies in science and the classics and
was graduated from Manhattan college in 1882 with the
degree of A. B. In 1889, he was graduated from the
Columbia law school with the degree of L,. L,. B. and was
admitted to the bar in the same year.
Mr. McCabe has often been urged to take the nomi-
nation on the Democratic ticket for the highest offices
in the town, but, with the exception of one term,
which he served as highway commissioner, he has re-
fused to accept any office.