(navigation image)
Home American Libraries | Canadian Libraries | Universal Library | Community Texts | Project Gutenberg | Children's Library | Biodiversity Heritage Library | Additional Collections
Search: Advanced Search
Anonymous User (login or join us)
Upload
See other formats

Full text of "Publication"

Jj^^C^^yy^^iAnjyiY 



Digitized by the Internet Archive 

in 2010 with funding from 

Lyrasis IVIembers and Sloan Foundation 



http://www.archive.org/details/publication02ruth 



RUTHERFORD COUNTY HISTORICAL SOCIETY 

PUBLICATION NO. 2 

Winter, 1973 

THE COVER: The request for bids for building Rutherford 
County a courthouse that appeared in the Nashville Whig , Novem- 
ber 25, 1812, was most intriguing. So much so that the idea was 
suggested that an architectural rendering of the proposed building 
be attempted. In cooperation with the Historical Society, Mr. 
Charles Pigg, Plant Planner for Middle Tennessee State University, 
contacted Yearwood and Johnson, Nashville architects. The firm 
was amenable to the project and assigned Mr. John E. Suter, a 
longtime draftsman of the firm, to the job. The sketch on the 
cover is the result of Mr. Suter 's efforts. A re-reading of the 
specifications printed in "Publication No. 1" will bear out the 
faithful and imaginative adherence to the Whig ' s descriptive 
notice of 1812. 

Was the building ever constructed? If Goodspeed is accepted 
as the authority, it was not. Yet Goodspeed has perpetuated many 
errors and contradictions in light of later research. If it were 
not built — possibly because of the cost — Rutherford County made 
its initial salute to conservatism and frontier economy. If it 
were built, the loafers and hallway philosophers were in first 
class quarters. 



Published by 
Rutherford County Historical Society 
Murfreesboro, Tennessee 
1973 



RUTHERFORD COUNTY HISTORICAL SOCIETY 



PUBLICATION NO. 2 



FOREWORD 

There seems to be a semblance of permanency in a bound 
document that has an identifying cover. With this in mind 
the Society hopes to preserve some of the rich historical 
heritage that abounds in the county. This, therefore, is the 
principal purpose of this publication and the one that preceded 
it. Hopefully, there will be others. 

The resources of the Society do not permit technical 
preparation of successive volumes by a professional printer. 
However, mimeographed material locked in by a printed cover 
will serve the purpose — at least for the time being. 

All members of the Society will receive a copy of the 
publication, and those that follow, as a part of the membership 
dues. Revenue derived from the sale of extra copies will pro- 
vide some assurance of the continuity of the publications. 

We express our thanks to those who have purchased one or 
more copies of this issue. Your assistance will enable us to 
continue our project. 



CONTRIBUTORS 

The Rutherford County Historical Society gratefully 
acknowledges the contributions made to Publication No. 2 by 
the following: 

Henry G. Wray, Rutherford County Archivist 

Mary Hall, Retired-Unretired Middle Tennessee State 
University Professor 

Mayor W. H. Westbrooks, City of Murfreesboro 

Ben Hall McFarlin, Rutherford County Court Clerk 

Ernie Johns, Past President of the Historical Society 

Homer Pittard, Rutherford County Historian 



RUTHERFORD COUNTY HISTORICAL SOCIETY 
PUBLICATION NO. 2 
1973 



Contents 

Page 
Rutherford County Marriage Records (1854-1856) 

Prepared by Henry G. Wray 1 

Bride Index (Alphabetically by Page Number) 

Prepared by Henry G. Wray 10 

Dr. Murfree Meets Champ Ferguson 

Homer Pittard 15 

Rutherford County Militia Commissions (1812-1820) 

Extracted by Henry G. Wray and Ernest K. Johns. . . 20 

Occupation Mayor: The Honorable J. M. Tompkins 

Homer Pittard 30 

Memoirs of James M. Tompkins 

Written by Himself 32 

Mayors of Murfreesboro 

Prepared by Mayor W. H. Westbrooks 37 

The Ku Klux Klan 

Ben Hall McFarlin 39 

The History of Kittrell 

Mary Hall 4 5 

Booknote 8 5 

Members of Rutherford County Historical Society 

(As of November, 1973) 86 



RECORD OF MARRIAGES IN RUTHERFORD COUNTY 
Prepared by Henry G. Wray, Rutherford County Archivist 



Arnold, 
Barnes, 
Barnes , 



1854 

Adkerson, John J. & Sarah Sneed Jan. 20 

Allen, Valentine S. & Nancy A. Ridley Aug. 31 

Arnett, Samuel & Sarah Stone Jan. 21 

Arnold, Alexander & Eliz. Knox Aug. 10 

Granville & Eliz. J. Revis Jan. 24 

Elizah & Mary Mitchell Sept. 22 

Geo. A. & Lucretia Bottom March 8 

Baugh, Joseph L. & Anna Butterworth Oct. 11 

Bell, Robert F. & Susan E. Neal Sept. 30 

Brantly, E. L. & Mary E. McKnight Oct. 9 

Brewer, Thomas & Eliz. Stephens May 1 

Bright, Robert S. & Lavina Kerby Nov. 4 

Brinkley, James & Sarah Auberry Oct. 5 

Brittain, Pleasant H. & Sarah A. Neal March 11 

Brittain, Vftn. W. & Sarah H. N. Blair Oct. 23 

Brown, Archibald S. & Mary Sparks Dec. 27 

Brown, Henry & Isora H. Walden June 19 

Brown, Smauel M. & Amanda E. Taylor Aug. 21 

Brookshire, Nathaniel & Nancy E. Brown Jan. 4 

Brothers, Benj . & Susan Elliott Jan. 19 

Buchanan, Alexander B. & Louisa A. Buchanan July 17 

Burkett, Wm. H. & Nancy D. Walden June 21 

Burnett, John W. & Martha A. McKee Aug. 29 

Bynum, Geo. & Lucy Ann Eaks Aug. 25 

Carothers, Robert B. & Martha Fletcher May 3 

Caruthers, John F. & Mary J. Puckett April 1 

Clark, A. W. B. & Eliz. J. Smith Dec. 7 

Clark, Joseph & Louisa Ellis Sept. 6 

Cobb, Reuben W. & Sarah G. Arnold Sept. 11 

Sarah J. Pope June 14 

T. & Judith A. Miller May 25 

Collins, James & Eveline Nickins Sept. 13 

Covington, Larkin A. & Emely E. Covington Nov. 21 

Crick, Merriman & Virginia C. Winsett Nov. 14 

Cur lee, Thomas G. & Mary S. McKnight Nov. 7 

Curtis, Wm. D. & Mary Barnes April 22 

Daniel, Henry T. & Martha M. Brown Dec. 11 

Daniel, Icabud & Judith B. Daniel May 4 

Davis, Wnu K. & Mary E. Allen Jan. 17 

Edwards, Wm. & Mary J. Fleming May 18 

Elder, James G. & Susan C. Harris Sept. 5 

Farmer, E. J. & Mary E. Hicks Oct. 2 

Farmer, George J. & Harriett R. Woodfin May 4 

Felts, Richard & Mary Sherron Oct. 14 

Fletcher, James M. & Susannah Jeans Dec. 23 



Coleman, John & 
Coleman, Wm. F. 



1854 (cont'd) 



Floyd, Joshua A. & Mary J. Jones 
Fowler, John G. & Amanda Tucker 
Fox, Isaac W. & Eliz. Major 
Frizzell, John & Matilda Winford 
Garrett, Thomas & Lucinda C. Arnold 
Gaskey, Garrett D. & Frances A. A. Hooper 
Hallyburton, James 0. & Nancy demons 
Harrell, Franklin & Sarah Burks 
Harrison, Lewis & Rebecca B. Loyd 
Harrison, Wm. C. & Martha J. Davis 
Hayes, John & Eliz. W. Smith 
Helton, Anderson P, & Mary M. Arnett 
Hicks, Henry H. & Mary W. Ward 
Hill, Charles J. & Mary M Todd 
Holden, James P. & Mary J. Read 
Holt, John H. & Rebecca S. Smotherman 
Hyde, Hartwell B. & Malissa A. Morton 
Jarratt, "Alexander W. & Eliz. M. Fleming 
Jarratt, Levi D. & Susan Brown 
Jenkins, Nimrod & Jane W. Moore 
Jetton, John B. & Margaret J. Warren 
Johnson, C. M. & Mary C. Davis 
Johnson, Edward & Nancy J. Brown 
Jones, John & Eliza L. Booker 
Jones, Richard H. & Martha J. Patterson 
Landrum, John & Peney Winsett 
Lannon, Wm. A. & Rachel W. Thorn 
Layne, Robert & Flora McRae 
Lee, Robert A. & Mary T. Nance 
Lewis, Ben j . & Martha A. E. Watson 
Logan, Samuel F. & C. Virginia Welch 
Lowe, Walter & Martha S. Kelton 
Mangrum, Jesse & Louisa Vaughn 
Maddox, Thomas F. & Amanda L. Nance 
Mangriam, Jesse & Mary Jackson 
Mason, Martin S. & Nannetta S. Hamilton 
Mathis, Wm. T. & Susanah Wade 
Merritt, George R. & Nancy M. Allen 
Mitchell, Wm. & Maryann Higgenbotham 
Moore, Leroy & Mary Armstrong 
Moore, Leroy & Rebecca Trolander 
Morris, Joseph & Mary J. Vaughan 
Morton, John W. & Lillian E. C. Glass 
Mullins, Andrew J. & Mary A. Shannon 
Myrick, Alvis & Nancy Jones 
McCoy, James P. & Sarah J. Yews 
McFarlin, John A. & Nancy E. Nichols 
McGinnis, Joseph & Catharine Read 
MacGowen, Geo. W. & Catura J. White 
McGowan, Isaac W. & Nancy Harris 
McGrigor, Clinton & Mary V. Reece 
McGuire, Thomas J. & Martha J. Ferris 



Aug. 28 
Dec. 11 
Aug . 1 5 
July 22 
Feb. 1 
Jan. 12 
Sept. 11 
March 21 
June 1 
Sept. 4 
April 19 
Aug. 17 
Nov. 3 
July 26 
Aug. 26 



Jan. 
Dec. 
Dec. 
Jan. 
Jan. 



5 

5 

30 

16 

18. 



Dec. 21 
Oct. 19 
Oct. 9 
May 12 
Nov. 27 
Nov. 2 
Jan. 3 
Nov. 1 
Aug. 29 
Jan. 6 
Dec. 5 
Sept. 13 
Sept. 13 
Sept. 16 
Oct. 28 
Jan. 17 
Oct. 5 
July 3 
Aug. 27 
Dec. 11 
Oct. 3 
Nov. 2 
Nov. 17 
Dec. 5 
Sept. 11 
Nov. 15 
Nov. 6 
Feb. 1 
Jan. 18 
April 29 
Dec. 30 
Dec. 25 



1854 (cont'd) 



Ring, Joseph F, 
Rion, Thomas D, 
Sage, Wm. F. & 



McKee, James & Sarah Vaughan Oct. 31 

McRea, Thomas R. & Martha J. Fleming Dec. 23 

Nations, Christopher & Jane Adams Jan. 10 

Norman, Granville L. & Catharine E. Gowen Nov. 23 

Orr, Wm. C. & Temperance Miller Jan. 5 

Overall, Perilous N. & Louisa M. Kerby Oct. 19 

Palmer, Joseph B. & Ophelia M. Burris Feb. 14 

Parker, Isaac P. & Margaret J. Mullins July 19 

Parsley, James J. & Martha E. V. T. Mathews Dec. 18 

Partee, Rodolphus G. & Polemna T. Miles Feb. 13 

Patton, Samuel M. & Nancy J. McCloud Oct. 18 

Perryman, Wm. F. & Susan C. Sewell Aug. 16 

Posey, Wm. S. & Mary J. Anderson Nov. 9 

Prater, Philip J. & Isabella Kelton Sept. 4 

Quigley, James P. & Mary E. Hall March 23 

Randolph, Wm. W. & Mary A. Morton July 25 

Rankin, Franklin W. & Martha P. McKnight Nov. 15 

Ransom, Robert N. & Isabella S. Huggins Dec. 13 

Reed, Marvin & Julia E. Brown Feb. 28 

. & Levetha Burks Nov. 6 

. & Nancy A. Jones Jan. 4 

Corinda A. Felts March 1 

Sanders, John C. & Sophia W. Wasson May 24 

Sanders, Samuel R. & Henrietta S. Thompson Jan. 3 

Shuttlesworth, Wlizah M. & Martha E. Jamison Dec. 20 

Smith, James A. & Rebecca J. Taylor June 29 

Smith, John B. & Missouri 0. T. A. Pogue March 2 

Smith, Josiah L. & Ann M. Smith May 2 

Smotherman, Joseph & Mary A. Smotherman Sept. 11 

Sneed, John W. & Miss A. L. C. Farmer _ March 9 

Snell, James C. & Malissa J. Kirk ' Nov. 2 

Spann, Richard H. & Eliz. Murphey March 6 

Spann, Wm. R. & Rebecca Hays Oct. 25 

Sugg, Wm. & Delitha Smothers April 12 

Summers, John W. & Laura A. Kerby Jan. 5 

Swan, Lunsford Y. & Harriett C. Elliott Feb. 8 

Talbert, Wm. T. & Martha E. Read July 30 

, & Mary E. Anderson June 26 

Rebecca E. Swan June 2 

& Sarah V. Dove Aug. 10 

Dovy Auberry Sept. 20 

Thweatt, Joseph 0. & Eliz. Welch Jan. 17 

Thomas, Stephen & Eliz. Naron Sept. 16 

Thompson, Albert C. & Eliz. C. Northcott Feb. 11 

Thompson, George W. & Eliz. R. Sanford March 7 

Walton, Willis R. & Mary P. Ellis Feb. 28 

Ward, Benj . F. & Evelina Hicks Sept. 13 

Ward, James R. & Jane A. Baird Dec. 19 

Ward, John P. & Ailev F. Walpole Feb. 14 

Ward, Milton Y. & Caroline Ward June 20 

Ward, Raford C. & Melissa M. Bone Nov. 28 

Warren, Robert & Eliz. K. Snell Nov. 27 

Williams, Wm. M. & Lucinda Covington Jan. 16 

Wilson, James T. & Martha Lane Sept. 27 



Tappan, James C. 
Tatum, Vftn. M. & 
Taylor, John H. 
Thewer, Reese & 



1854 (cont'd) 



Winn, E. P. & Lucy Bellenfant 
Wood, Andrew J. & Lodica Tucker 
Wood, Joseph & Susan C. Wood 
Wood, Obediah & Caroline M. Lane 
Yearwood, Jacob S. & Martha J. Yearwood 



Aug. 11 
Dec. 21 
Jan. 9 
April 8 
Jan. 13 



1855 



Abernathy, Jesse J. & Susan E. Williams 
Alexander, Henry V. & Sarah J. Holden 
Anderson, Charles & Martha J. Burge 
Batey, David & Mary P. Hallyburton 
Bell, Noah C. & Martha A. Oliphint 
Benson, John W. & Eliz. A. Mitchell 
Blakemore, Wtn. H. & Mary E. Ridley 
Blake, John R. & Josephine Murphey 
Booker, Geo. W. & Catharine L. Dill 
Boring, Sterling B. & Eliz. Edwards 
Bowen, John A. & Juliann L. Bowman 
Boyce, Joseph A. & Louisa F. Dunn 
Boyd, Wm. B. & Narcissa Dill 
Bradford, Wm. & Pamelia Spain 
Brothers, Jesse & Susan Ann Powell 
Brown, Wm. D. & Mundora Rucker 
Bruce, Wm. M. & Nancy C. Smith 
Bryant, Wm. F. & Margaret Johnson (col.) 
Burton, Thomas & Martha Batey 
Caffy, James N. & Mary H. Youree 
Christopher, Martin A. & Rhoda A. Threat 
Chumbly, David A. & Frances Staton 
Craig, F. D. & Roxannah S. Fletcher 
Crockett, Wm. M. & Sallie C. Hollowell 
Daniel, James M. & Martha D. Clement 
Daniel, Lucious & America W. Hughes 
Davis, Able & Eliz. Johnson 
Dement, Wilson Y. & Mary B. Harrison 
& Nancy J. Johnson 
Sarah Williford 
& Martha A. Walker 
& Sarah A. E. Pully 
Ellen P. Crawford 
Embry, Edmund & Martha Rouse (col.) 
Evans, William & Mary Pearcy 
Ewing, Josiah W. & Ada Byron Hord 
Farmer, James A. & Nancy J. Runnells 
Fletcher, James F. & Mary Moore 
Fox, VM. H. & Jane E. Prewitt 
Frost, John W. & Susan M. Rather 
Gilmore, Vftn. M. & Eliz. C. Naylor 
Glymp, George W. & Lucinda Ryon 
Gordon, Wm. & Mary Jane Thompson 
Gotcher, Henry P. & Julia G. Anderson 



Dillion, James A. 
Douglas, Thomas & 
Drake, Francis M. 
Edwards, Isaac S. 
Elam, Daniel F. & 



Jan. 16 
Sept. 30 
Sept. 22 
Feb. 12 
June 18 
Feb. 21 
May 8 
Feb. 19 
Oct. 11 
Nov. 21 
May 10 
Jan. 18 
Sept. 18 
March 27 
Sept. 1 
May 9 
Feb. 3 
March 21 
Nov. 22 
Dec. 20 
Feb. 12 
June 2 
May 13 
Oct. 17 
March 12 
June 19 
Aug. 30 
Dec. 6 
Nov. 24 
Feb. 12 
Nov. 25 
Dec. 4 
June 24 
Sept. 14 
June 5 
Nov. 21 
Feb. 1 
Oct. 9 
March 29 
Oct. 23 
Dec. 19 
Jan. 15 
July 19 
Jan. 8 



1855 (cont'd) 



& Martha A. Hill 
& Eliz. C. Vaughan 
Susan Gambill 
T. & Susanah T. McCrary 

& Jane J. M. Witherspoon 
& Tennessee A. Crutcher 



Grant, James T 

Hale, Joseph P 

Hall, Wm. J. & 

Harney, Andrew 

Harney, George W 

Harris, James R. 

Henley, Richard L. & Lucretia Henry 

Herrod, Rubin & Mary A. Brinkley 

Herrall, Calvin C. & Nancy Brown 

Herrell, John T. & Martha J. Sherrell 

Hibbett, James R. & Isabella W. Burnett 

Higgenbotham, John & Martha Renshaw 

Hightower, W. W. & Armilda D. Blanton 

Hoover, Byron & Euphemia E. Hodge 

Hoover, Daniel D. & Mary E, Burks 

Hoover, Joab & Eliz. Prewitt 

Huggins, Camillus B. & Sallie E. Ridley 

Hutcherson, Jos. & Martha Ann Horton 

Isham, Absalom & Martha Winfrey 

Jackson, John C. & Mary J. Covington 

Jacobs, Stokely & Susan Anglin 

Jacobs, Thomas H. & Margaret S. Parker 

James, John W. & Mary J. Vaught 

Jetton, John H. & Isabella Mason 

Jones, Geo. L. & Emily Owen 

Jones, Wm. E. & Eliz. Wade 

Jordan, James F. & Eliza G. Spain 

Kerby, Christopher A. & Mary B. Vaughan 

Kirk, Alexander M. & Sarah A. Brothers 

Lawrence, John B. & Roberta S. Mason 

Lawrence, Munroe & Parthenia E. Jones 

Lovin, Hugh F. & Angline Evans 

Lowe, Milton M. & Mary A. Patton 

Lyon, Elijah & Mary J. McCrary 

Mankin, James A. & Susan C. Pinkard 

Miller, Mathew C. & Zilphia C. Johnson 

Miller, M. C. & Harriett C. Tucker 

Miller, Henry & Mary J. Cobb 

Mitchell, Calvin G. & Mary 0. Gannaway 

Moore, Thomas Y. & Lavinia Anglin 

Morton, Robert H. & Frances McCoy 

Mosely, Henry & Holly Robertson 

Murphey, James P. & Mary E. T. Wood 

McBroom, Abel & Elmena Hoskins 

McCann, John J. & Juliet S. Chamberlain 

McCrary, Alex E. & Dorothy Youree 

McKnight, John P. & Mary Neeley 

McKnight, James N. & Martha A. Alexander 

McLaughlin, George W. & Tennessee L. Morton 

Neeley, Joshua R. & Sarah Ann Smith 

Nelson, Isaac R. & Harriet V. Haynes 



Nov. 24 
Dec. 14 
Oct. 20 
Dec. 26 
Dec. 22 
April 10 
Aug. 30 
July 19 
Jan. 5 
July 
Jan. 1 
Jan. 30 
Oct. 23 
Sept. 19 
Sept. 19 
Jan. 10 
Jan. 3 
Dec. 19 
March 5 
Dec. 19 
Dec. 5 
Oct. 7 
June 13 
Feb. 20 
Jan. 18 
Sept. 5 
Jan. 10 
Jan. 23 
Nov. 27 
Oct. 10 
May 10 
Sept. 24 
Jan. 9 
March 27 
Jan. 16 
Sept. 3 
Nov . 1 3 
Oct. 10 
Oct. 2 
March 8 
Feb. 9 
Dec. 19 
Aug. 6 
April 17 
Dec. 10 
Jan. 24 
Dec. 24 
Nov . 2 
Sept. 15 
May 7 
Dec. 7 



1855 (cont'd) 



Nolan, Martin & Maranda B. Cochran 

Norvell, Charles W. & Sarah A. Tennison 

Pearcy, John J. & Eliza Jane Herbert 

Perkins, John B. & Eliz. Tatum 

Pierson, Richmond & Sarah N. Summers 

Pinion, Augustus & Nancy S. Harris 

Pinkston, James D. & Eliz. J. Mankin 

Porter, James M. & Jennie T. Hannah 

Portis, Joseph H. & Sarah E. McCullough 

Pride, John S. M. & Sallie E. Morgan 

Puckett, Benj. & Eliz. H. Ridout 

Ralston, Alexander H. & Harriet R. Thompson 

Rice, W. F. & Mary A. Sanders 

Richardson, Wm. T. & Sallie J. Majors 

Ridley, James B. & Mary J. Ridley 

Ridley, Wm. A. & Nancy L. Haynes 

Rucker, Samuel J. & Ada Mitchell 

Runnells, James B. & Polly H. Todd 

Rutledge, Benj. & Sarah Webb 

Ryan, James M. & Elvey Winsett 

Sanders, Andrew T. & Martha J. Semmons 

Searcy, Anderson S. Amanda E. Batey 

Shelton, Thomas & Sarah E. Naron 

Shilcutt, Thomas A. & Henrietta M. Buchanan 

Shipp, Joseph E. & Martha Ann Lewis 

Shlaffer, Mathias & Martha Ehrenseller 

Smith, Nepoleon B. & Mary D. Fletcher 

Smith, W. W. & Julia Ann McLean 

Smotherman, Bartholemew & Judith C. Wood 

Smotherman, James A. & Mary A. Douglass 

Smotherman, Wm. & Mary J. Love 

Snell, Jonathan L. & Martha E. Harris 

Span, Hartwell & Eliz. Ryan 

Statler, Samuel & Mary Ann Lillard 

Stephens, Geo. M. & Sarah Ann Koonce 

Sullivan, Robert J. & Sarah E. Barr 

Tarpley, John A. & Indiana Jackson 

Tassey, John W. & Esther A. Daniel 

Thomas, Robert & Sarah E. Johnson 

Thompson, Dela F. & Zusilla E. Watson (Halsen) 

Todd, John & Rhoda Trolinger 

Todd, Jacob M. & Mary A. Nichols 

Martha Brinkley 
& Louisa A. Jones 

& Nancy H. Barber 

& Susan H. Taylor 

& Virginia A. Blackman 



Toliver, Wm. & 
Tompkins, B. C 
Underwood, Wm. 
Vaughan, Isaac 
Vawter , Jesse R 



Walden, John & Eliz. Bishop 
Westbrooks, Vftn. C. & Julia A. Smotherman 
Wiggs, Thomas W. & Martha E. Smith 
Wilson, Wm. & Martha Ann Benson 
Windrow, Travis & Catherine E. Pate 



Nov. 7 
Oct. 24 
Nov. 13 
March 13 
June 27 
July 3 
Oct. 8 
April 25 
Aug. 25 
Jan. 11 
Oct. 11 
June 5 
Jan. 15 
Sept. 6 
Nov. 8 
Dec. 4 
Feb. 15 
Nov. 30 
Jan. 15 
Dec. 4 
Oct. 17 
April 25 
Feb. 21 
Feb. 13 
Dec. 19 
Oct. 31 
Nov. 26 
Nov. 26 
May 12 
Jan. 23 
Feb. 15 
Dec. 19 
July 21 
June 2 6 
Aug. 16 
Oct. 18 
Oct. 9 
Feb. 1 
Oct. 2 
May 14 
Oct. 15 
Jan. 6 
Oct. 1 
Nov. 14 
Oct. 23 
Dec. 27 
Jan. 9 
April 7 
Sept 4 
Dec. 6 
Oct. 25 
Jan. 1 



1855 (cont'd) 



Woolen, Geo. W. & Josephine Zachry Smith 
Wrather, Enoch B. & Ellen V. Robinson 
Wright, Thompson J. & Eliz. A. Barker 



Nov. 27 
Feb. 9 
Nov. 26 



1856 



Alexander, W. T. & Euphemia L. Travis Sept. 30 

Alford, Thomas W. & Athelia H. Bone Feb. 11 

Allen, James A. & Eliz. D. Christopher Dec. 14 

Anderson, Henry R. & Nancy E. Baxter March 31 

Armstrong, J. H. & Mary A. Roberts May 17 

Arnett, Henry & Martha A. Burnett July 29 

Arnold, Wm. J. & Sarah A. Rice Feb. 25 

Alsup, E. B. & Susan F. Pearcy Oct. 1 

Askew, Aaron 0. & Susan C. Read Dec. 9 

Baird, Thomas A. & Lucy A. Perry Sept. 17 

Baker, James F. & Amanda Evans Feb. 19 

Barnes, John H. & Martha Ivey Jan. 27 

Barnett, G. F. & Eliz. Sanders Aug. 20 

Baskette, James B. & Martha E. Neal Jan. 24 

Baskette, W. T. & Hellin M. Crichlow Oct. 8 

Batey, James M. & Harriette G. Morton July 25 

Batson, Madison F. & Mary E. Ransom Dec. 17 

Beatey, James M. & Mahaly C. Briant Oct. 21 

Bell, John & Sarah M. McKee Jan. 30 

Bell, Robert F. & Eliz. Major Nov. 10 

Belt, William & Celia Howland Jan. 17 

Bibb, A. S. & Sarah Ann Hord Sept. 20 

Bigham, Robert H. & Lucy Ann Duncan Jan. 26 

Bingham, John D. & Nancy C. Pearson Oct. 31 

Birdwell, Samuel & Amanda L. Nay lor Jan. 9 

Blackman, Raiford C. & Ann B. Ridout Oct. 4 

Bone, B. P. & Sarah L. Rankin June 7 

Boyd, John & Martha S. North March 22 

Boyd, Nathan A. & Mary E. Marable July 14 

Bradford, W. H. & S. E. Perry Nov. 4 

Brooks, H. J. & Isabella Miles April 30 

Brown, Geo. A. & Susan A. Sublett March 12 

Brown, Repps 0. & Mary E. McAdoo Jan. 28 

Bryant, Wm. 0. & Mossouria A. Hedgepath Nov. 8 

Buckner, Marian L. & Sarah J. Brinkley Sept. 25 

Burlinson, Isaac & Julia Holloway July 16 

Bumpass, Wm. M. & Hannah E. Nash Jan. 14 

Cabler, James F. & Martha J. Dickie Dec. 17 

Caldwell, Robert R. & Tennessee L. Buchanan March 29 

Carlton, John A. & Louisa A. Haynes Aug. 25 

Carney Wm. J. & Mariah L. Butler May 14 

Cole, James H. & Mary F. Taylor Jan. 14 

Coursey, Joseph & Amanda M. Lamb Oct. 1 

Cross, John C. & Catharine Newgent Oct. 16 



1856 (cont'd) 



Dickie, James H. & City M. Rowlett 
Dillon, Wm. H. & Martha A. Hill 
Dunaway, Drury & Parlee Smith (Garrison) 
Dunaway , Thomas & Nancy Moore 
Dunn, Bolin H. & Catharine Summerhill 
Dunn, Nuton C. & Cathrine Blagg 
Eagleton, John A. & Mary A. J. Bethel 
Elder, Elias A. & Eliz. C. Wilson 
Elrod, Adam & Eliz. W. Good 
Fields, Joseph H. & Mary J. Blair 
Fletcher, Wm. C. & Sarah A. Edwards 
Furgason, Beriman & Susan Hubbard 
George, Wm. P. & Chancy Etter 
Glenn, Stephen M. & Lucie W. Searcy 
Glenn, Wm. T. & Louisa Glimp 
Gooch, James H. & Mary Jane Harris 
Gorden, John B. & Mary Eliz. Ealy 
Graves, Joseph L. & Amanda Robertson 
Greer, Elijah V. & Sarah Primm 
Hail, Baxter W. & Rebecca M. Smith 
Haley, James A. & Eliz. E. Robertson 
Heraldston, Joseph S. & Sarah A. Sanders 
Harrison, David A. & Sarah H. Muggins 
Harrison, Duke W. & Addie Sublett 
Haynes, Harvy J. & Julia Ann L. Posey 
Hays, Thomas H. & Ann Newman 
Hays, Wm. J. & Martha J. Weatherly 
Higginbotham, M. L. & Margaret Jane Louis (Lev/is) 
Hill, Wm. & Priscilla J. Baker 
Hockins, Elisha & Mary L. Powell 
Hodge, Wm. L. & Sarah O. Tombs 
Holden, Geo. W. & Martha Jarratt 
Hoover, Wm. F. & Martha A. Halton 
Hoover, James M. & Martha J. Barker 
Holmes, Charles R. & Sally S. Wade 
House, James & Nancy G. Wilson 
Howland, Lewis H. & Izabel Daughtery 
Huitt, Wm. N. & America Roling 
Irwin, George T. & Mary J. Gates 
Jacobs, Alfred & Mary M. Creasy 
Jackson, Mead H. & Sarah A. Nance 
& Susan Batey 
& Sarah Ann Colman 



James, J. F. B. 
Jamison, John W. 



Jarratt, Robert & Cyntha Hewitt 
Johnston, Wm. A. & Jane E. Smith 
Karney, Charles & Josephine Clark 
Keller, James M. & Margaret L. Parker 
Kirby, Smith & Violet Harris 
Kirk, Wm. C. & Eliz. Smothers 
Lackey, W. K. & Lucy A. Felts 
Lamb, Thomas & Martha J. Westbrooks 
Lyon, G. W. & M. B. Fagan 



July 


11 


Feb. 


11 


Sept. 


. 29 


June 


9 


April 30 


Dec. 


18 


Dec. 


17 


Dec. 


29 


Sept, 


. 18 


March 6 


Jan. 


9 


May ;! 


L2 


June 


28 


July 


2 


Dec. 


16 


June 


21 


June 


28 


May i 


5 


Nov. 


24 


March 6 


Apri! 


L 10 


Nov. 


17 


Oct. 


1 


Oct. 


6 


Nov. 


8 


Feb. 


20 


Feb. 


8 


Aug. 


21 


Aug. 


27 


Sept, 


. 24 


March 8 


March 17 


Dec. 


4 


Oct. 


9 


Dec. 


4 


Jan. 


24 


Oct. 


2 


Nov. 


26 


Jan. 


23 


Jan. 


10 


Jan. 


1 


Oct. 


9 


Nov. 


12 


July 


18 


Nov. 


22 


Sept 


. 27 


Feb. 


14 


Sept 


. 25 


May ; 


L2 


May ; 


29 


Jan. 


7 


Aug. 


12 



1856 (cont'd) 



Maberry, W. Y. & Sarah McCalister 
Mankin, Welcome & Sarah Lyon 
Marable, Isaac L. & Eliz. Ward 
Marshall, Wm. A. & Sarah J. Tully 
Meadows, John A. & Amanda F. Barlow 
Medlin, John M. & Eliz. C. Hood 
Miers, Samuel & Eliz. Harris 
Minter, John M. & Symantha A. Hendrix 
Mooney, Wellborn & Susan F. Dromgool 
More, Wm. M. & Margaret Neasbitt 
Mullins, Thomas J. & Paralee F. McMinn 
McCullough, R. C. & Catharine Ledbetter 
McElroy, A. M. & Mary Weaver 
McKnight, D. M. & Eliza J. Herncon 
McKnight, Iverson W. & Amanda E. Lyon 
McKnight, Robert J. & Lucy A. Black 
McKnight, Wm. T. & Palema Jones 
O'Briant, Wm. & Mossouria A. Hedgepeth 
Osborn, Reps T. & Darthula A. McAdoo 
Ozment, Thomas J. & Eliz. J. Osment 
Parish, Samuel A. & Louisa A. Arthis 
Pfaff, Edward & Catharine Lyon 
Phillips, Benj . F. & Eliz. H. Eillon 
Pilkerton, Henry L. & Mary Benson 
Pilkerton, Benj. F. & Malinda Gum 
Prater, Austin & Harriett Brinkley 
Prater, John & Sarah F. More 
Pryor, Wm. & Mary A. Byers 
Puckett, David L. & Mariah M. Beesley 
Raborn, R. D. & Mary J. McGill 
Randolph, Peyton & Sarah J. Sanford 
Reed, John W. & Miss A. E. Alexander 
Rhodes, James H. & Martha J. Dill 
Ring, M. L. & Letty M. Benson 
Roberts, C. A. & Mary E. Putnam 
Shelton, Lewellen W. & Ann C. Bennett 
Simmons, Wm. H. & America E. Graves 
Sinclair, John M. & Sarah B. Flowers 
Singleton, S. H. & Sarah M. Tompkins 
Smith, J. B. & M. E. Davis 
Smith, John G. & Eliz. Johns 
Smotherman, Henry & Martha J. Smotherman 
Smotherman, John & Francis Loving 
Smotherman, Wm, & Amanda Smotherman 
Sneed, Alexander & Mary M. Fulton 
Spann, Benj. & Mary J. Hester 
Stafford, John A. & Barbary Teal 
Summers, Wm. & Margarett Painter 
Thompson, David & Emma H. Crutcher 
Thorn, Thomas B. & Cornelia A. Underwood 
Threet, Joseph M. & Caroline Evins 
Todd, Harrison & Sarah E. Armstrong 
Travis, Benj. & Francis K. Howse 
Trigg, John S. & Lucy A. T. Walden 
Turner, W. G. & Rosannah Nesbitt 



Dec. 


24 


Feb. 


23 


Jan. 


22 


April 14 


Jan. 


27 


Sept. 


, 9 


April 21 


April 21 


April 15 


April 15 


Jan. 


24 


Jan. 


7 


June 


28 


Sept. 


. 2 


Sept. 


. 2 


Sept. 


. 18 


Sept. 


. 18 


Dec. 


10 


Aug. 


26 


Dec. 


9 


May 29 


Feb. 


14 


Dec. 


27 


Dec. 


17 


March 24 


Aug. 


26 


Jan. 


5 


June 


18 


March 22 


Nov. 


12 


March 19 


Feb. 


26 


March 13 


Dec. 


3 


Dec. 


1 


Jan. 


17 


March 3 


March 28 


Dec. 


11 


Dec. 


17 


Nov. 


18 


May 21 


Dec. 


16 


June 


17 


Oct. 


14 


July 


14 


Dec. 


23 


March 7 


March 7 


March 3 


April 7 


Nov. 


6 


Oct. 


16 


Jan. 


16 


Nov. 


4 



BRIDE INDEX (by page number) 



10 



Adams, Jane 3 

Alexander, Miss A. E. 9 
Alexander, Martha A. 5 
Allen, Mary E. 1 

Allen, Nancy M. 2 

Anderson, Julia G. 4 
Anderson, Mary E. 3 
Anderson, Mary J. 3' 
Anglin, Lavinia 5 
Anglin, Susan 5 

Armstrong, Mary 2 
Armstrong, Sarah E. 9 
Arnett, Mary M. 2 

Arnold, Lucinda C. 2 
Arnold, Sarah G. 1 
Arthis, Louisa A. 9 
Auberry, Dovy 3 

Auberry, Sarah 1 

Baird, Jane A. 3 

Baker, Priscilla J. 8 

Barber, Nancy H. 6 

Barker, Eliz. A. 7 

Barker, Martha J. 8 

Barlow, Amanda F. 9 

Barnes, Mary 1 

Barr, Sarah E. 6 

Batey, Amanda E. 6 

Batey, Martha 4 

Batey, Susan 8 

Baxter, Nancy E. 7 

Beesley, Mariah M. 9 

Bellenfant, Lucy 4 

Bennett, Ann C. 9 

Benson, Martha Ann 6 

Benson, Mary 9 

Benson, Letty M. 9 

Bethel, Mary A. J. 8 

Bishop, Eliz. 6 

Black, Lucy A. 9 

Blackman, Virginia A, 6 

Blagg, Cathrine 8 

Blair, Mary J, 8 

Blair, Sarah H. N. 1 

Blanton, Armilda D. 5 

Bone, Athelia H. 7 

Bone, Melisa M. 3 

Booker, Eliza L. 2 

Bottom, Lucretia 1 

Bowman, Juliann L. 4 



Briant, Mahaly C. 
Brinkley, Harriett 
Brinkley, Martha 
Brinkley, Mary A. 
Brinkley, Sarah J. 
Brothers, Sarah A. 
Brown, Julia E. 
Brown, Martha M. 
Brown, Nancy 
Brown, Nancy E. 
Brown, Nancy J. 
Brown, Susan 
Buchanan, Henrietta M. 
Buchanan, Louisa A. 
Buchanan, Tennessee L. 
Burge, Martha J. 
Burks, Levetha 
Burks, Mary E. 
Burks, Sarah 
Burnett, Isabella W. 
Burnett, Martha A. 
Burris, Ophelia M. 
Butler, Mariah L. 
Butterworth, Anna 
Byers, Mary A. 

Gates, Mary J. 
Chamberlain, Juliet S. 
Christopher, Eliz. D. 
Clark, Josephine 
Clement, Martha D. 
demons, Nancy 
Cobb, Mary J. 
Cochran, Maranda B. 
Colman, Sarah Ann 
Covington, Emely E. 
Covington, Lucinda 
Covington, Mary J. 
Crawford, Ellen P. 
Creasy, Mary M. 
Crichlow, Hellin M. 
Crutcher, Emma H. 
Crutcher, Tennessee A. 

Daniel, Esther A. 
Daniel, Judith B. 
Daughtery, Izabel 
Davis, Martha J. 
Davis, Mary C. 
Davis, M. E. 



7 

9 

6 

5 

7 

5 

3 

1 

5 

1 

2 

2 

6 

1 

7 

4 

3 

5 

2 

5 

7 

3 

7 

1 

9 



4 
2 

5 
6 
8 
1 
3 
5 
4 
8 
7 
9 
5 

6 

1 
8 
2 
2 
9 



11 



Dickie, Martha J. 
Dill, Catharine L. 
Dill, Martha J. 
Dill, Narcissa 
Douglass, Mary A. 
Dove, Sarah V. 
Dromgool, Susan F. 
Duncan, Lucy Ann 
Dunn, Louisa F. 

Eaks, Lucy Ann 
Ealy, Mary Eliz. 
Edwards, Eliz. 
Edwards, Sarah A. 
Ehrenseller, Martha 
Eillon, Eliz. H. 
Elliott, Harriett C. 
Elliott, Susan 
Ellis, Louisa 
Ellis, Mary P. 
Etter , Chancy 
Evans, Amanda 
Evans, Angline 
Evins, Caroline 

Fagan, M. B. 
Farmer, Miss A. L. C 
Felts, Corinda A. 
Felts, Lucy A. 
Ferris, Martha J. 
Fleming, Eliz. M. 
Fleming, Martha J. 
Fleming, Mary J. 
Fletcher, Martha 
Fletcher, Mary D. 
Fletcher, Roxannah i 
Flowers, Sarah B. 
Fulton, Mary M. 



Gambill, Susan 4 

Gannaway, Mary O. 5 
(Garrison) Parlee Smith 8 

Glass, Lillian E. C. 2 

Glimp, Louisa 8 

Good, Eliz. W. 8 

Gowen, Catharine E. 3 

Graves, America E. 9 

Gum, Malinda 9 

Hall, Mary E. 3 

Hallyburton, Mary P. 4 



(Halsen) , Zusilla E. Watson 6 

Halton, Martha A. 8 

Hamilton, Nannetta S. 

Hannah, Jennie T. 

Harris, Eliz. 

Harris, Martha E. 

Harris, Mary Jane 

Harris, Nancy 

Harris, Nancy S. 

Harris, Susan C. 

Harris, Violet 

Harrison, Mary B. 

Haynes, Harriet V. 

Haynes, Louisa A. 

Haynes, Nancy L. 

Hays , Rebecca 

Hedgepath, Mossouria A. 

Hedgepeth, Mossouria A. 

Hendrix, Symantha A. 

Henry, Lucretia 

Herbert, Eliza Jane 

Herncon, Eliza J. 

Hester, Mary J. 

Hewitt, Cyntha 

Hicks, Eveline 

Hicks, Mary E. 

Higgenbotham, Maryann 

Hili, Martha A. 

Hill, Martha A. 

Hodge, Euphemia E. 

Holden, Sarah J. 

Holloway, Julia 

Hollowell, Sallie C. 

Hood, Eliz. C. 

Hooper, Frances A. A. 

Hord, Ada Byron 

Hord , Ann 

Horton, Martha Ann 

Hoskins, Elmena 

Rowland, Celia 

Howse, Francis K. 

Hubbard, Susan 

Huggins, Isabella S. 

Huggins, Sarah H. 

Hughes, America W. 

Ivey, Martha 

Jackson, Indiana 
Jackson, Mary 
Jamison, Martha E. 



12 



Jarratt, Martha 8 

Jeans, Susannah 1 

Johns, Eliz. 9 

Johnson, Eliz. 4 
Johnson, Margaret (col.) 4 

Johnson, Nancy J. 4 

Johnson, Sarah E. 6 

Johnson, Zilphia E. 5 

Jones, Louisa A. 6 

Jones, Mary J. 2 

Jones, Nancy 2 

Jones, Nancy A. 3 

Jones, Palema 9 

Jones, Parthenia E. 5 

Kelton, Isabella 3 

Kelton, Martha S. 2 

Kerby, Laura A. 3 

Kerby, Lavina 1 

Kerby, Louisa M. 3 

Kirk, Malissa J. 3 

Knox, Eliz. 1 

Koonce, Sarah Ann 6 

Lamb, Amanda M. 7 

Lane, Caroline M. 4 

Lane, Martha 3 

Ledbetter, Catharine 9 
(Lewis) , Margaret Jane Lewis 

Lewis, Martha Ann 6 

Lillard, Mary Ann 6 

Love, Mary J. 6 

Loving, Francis 9 

Loyd , Rebecca B. 2 

Lyon, Amanda E. 9 

Lyon, Catharine 9 

Lyon, Sarah 9 

Major, Eliz. 2 

Major, Eliz. 7 

Majors, Sallie J. 6 

Mankin, Eliz. J. 6 

Marable, Mary E. 7 

Mason, Isabella 5 

Mason, Roberta S. 5 
Mathews, Martha E. V. T. 3 

McAdoo, Darthula A. 9 

McAdoo, Mary E. 7 

McCalister, Sarah 9 

McCloud, Nancy J. 3 

McCoy, Frances 5 



McCrary, Mary J. 
McCrary, Susanah J. 
McCullouqh, Sarah E. 
McGill, Mary J. 
McKee, Martha A. 
McKee, Sarah M. 
McKnight, Martha P. 
McKnight, Mary E. 
McKnight, Mary S. 
McLean, Julia Ann 
McMinn, Paralee F. 
McRae, Flora 
Miles, Isabella 
Miles, Polemna T. 
Miller, Judith A. 
Miller, Temperance 
Mitchell, Ada 
Mitchell, Eliz. A. 
Mitchell, Mary 
Moore, Jane W. 
Moore, Mary 
Moore, Nancy 
More, Sarah F. 
Morgan, Sallie E. 
Morton, Harriette C, 
Morton, Malissa A. 
Morton, Mary A. 
Morton, Tennessee L. 
Mullins, Margaret J, 
Murphey, Eliz. 
Murphey, Josephine 

Nance, Amanda L. 
Nance, Mary T. 
Nance, Sarah A. 
Naron, Eliz. 
Naron, Sarah E. 
Nash, Hannah E. 
Naylor, Amanda L. 
Naylor, Eliz. C. 
Neal, Martha E. 
Neal, Sarah A. 
Neal, Susan E. 
Neasbitt, Margaret 
Neeley, Mary 
Nesbitt, Rosannah 
Newgent, Catharine 
Newman, Ann 
Nichols, Mary A. 
Nichols, Nancy E. 
Nickins, Eveline 



13 



North, Martha S. 


7 


Robinson, Ellen V. 


7 


Northcott, Eliz. C. 


3 


Roling, America 


8 






Rouse, Martha (col.) 


4 


Oliphint, Martha A. 


4 


Rowlett, City M. 


8 


Osment, Eliz. J. 


9 


Rucker, Mundora 


4 


Owen, Emily 


5 


Runnells, Nancy J. 


4 






Ryan, Eliz. 


6 


Painter, Margarett 


9 


Ryon, Lucinda 


4 


Parker, Margaret L. 


8 






Parker, Margaret S. 


5 


Sanders, Eliz. 


7 


Pate, Catherine E. 


6 


Sanders, Mary A. 


6 


Patterson, Martha J. 


2 


Sanders, Sarah A. 


8 


Patton, Mary A. 


5 


Sanford, Eliz. R. 


3 


Pearcy, Mary 


4 


Sanford, Sarah J. 


9 


Pearcy, Susan F. 


7 


Searcy, Lucie W. 


8 


Pearson, Nancy C. 


7 


Semmons, Martha J. 


6 


Perry, Lucy A. 


7 


Sewell, Susan C. 


3 


Perry, S. E. 


7 


Shannon, Mary A. 


2 


Pinkard, Susan C. 


5 


Sherrell, Martha J. 


5 


Pogue, Missouri 0. T. A 


.. 3 


Sherron, Mary 


1 


Pope, Sarah J. 


1 


Smith, Ann M. 


3 


Posey, Julia Ann L. 


8 


Smith, Eliz. J. 


1 


Powell, Mary L. 


8 


Smith, Eliz. W. 


2 


Powell, Susan Ann 


4 


Smith, Jane E. 


8 


Prewitt, Eliz. 


5 


Smith, Josephine Zachry 


7 


Prewitt, Jane E. 


4 


Smith, Martha E. 


6 


Primm, Sarah 


8 


Smith, Nancy C. 


4 


Puckett, Mary J. 


1 


Smith, Rebecca M. 


8 


Pully, Sarah A. E. 


4 


Smith, Sarah Ann 


5 


Putnam, Mary E. 


9 


Smotherman, Amanda 


9 






Smotherman, Julia A. 


6 


Rankin, Sarah L. 


7 


Smotherman, Martha J. 


9 


Ransom, Mary E. 


7 


Smotherman, Mary A. 


3 


Rather, Susan M. 


4 


Smotherman, Rebecca S. 


2 


Read, Catharine 


2 


Smothers, Delitha 


3 


Read, Martha E. 


3 


Smothers, Eliz. 


8 


Read, Mary J. 


2 


Sneed, Sarah 


1 


Read, Susan C. 


7 


Snell, Eliz. K. 


3 


Reece, Mary V. 


2 


Spain, Eliza G. 


5 


Renshaw, Martha 


5 


Spain, Pamelia 


4 


Revis, Eliz. J. 


1 


Sparks, Mary 


1 


Rice, Sarah A. 


7 


Staton, Frances 


4 


Ridley, Mary E. 


4 


Stephens, Eliz. 


1 


Ridley, Mary J. 


6 


Stone, Sarah 


1 


Ridley, Nancy A. 


1 


Sublett, Addie 


8 


Ridley, Sallie E. 


5 


Sublett, Susan A. 


7 


Ridout, Ann B. 


7 


Summerhill, Catharine 


8 


Ridout, Eliz. H. 


6 


Summers, Sarah N. 


6 


Roberts, Mary A. 


7 


Swan, Rebecca E. 


3 


Robertson, Amanda 


8 






Robertson, Eliz. C. 


8 






Robertson, Holly 


5 







14 



Tatum, Eliz. 
Taylor, Amanda E. 
Taylor, Mary F. 
Taylor, Rebecca J. 
Taylor, Susan H. 
Teal, Barbary 
Tennison, Sarah A. 
Thompson, Harriet R. 
Thompson, Henrietta 
Thompson, Mary Jane 
Thorn, Rachel W. 
Threat, Rhoda A. 
Todd, Mary M. 
Todd, Polly H. 
Tombs, Sarah 0. 
Tompkins, Sarah M. 
Travis, Euphemia L. 
Trolander, Rebecca 
Trolinger, Rhoda 
Tucker , Amanda 
Tucker, Harriett C. 
Tucker, Lodica 
Tully, Sarah J. 



6 


Westbrooks, Martha J. 


8 


I 


White, Catura J. 


2 


7 


Williams, Susan E. 


4 


3 


Williford, Sarah 


4 


6 


Wilson, Eliz. C. 


8 


9 


Wilson, Nancy G. 


8 


6 


Winford, Matilda 


2 


6 


Winfrey, Martha 


5 


3 


Winsett, Elvey 


6 


4 


Winsett, Peney 


2 


2 


Winsett, Virginia C. 


1 


4 


Witherspoon, Jane J. M. 


5' 


2 


Wood, Judith C. 


6 


6 


Wood, Mary E. T. 


5 


8 


Wood, Susan C. 


4 


9 
7 
2 


Woodfin, Harriett R. 


1 


Yardley, Sarah N. 


5 


6 


Yearwood, Martha J. 


4 


2 


Yews, Sarah J. 


2 


5 


Youree, Dorothy 


5 


4 
9 


Youree, Mary H. 


4 



Underwood, Cornelia A. 



Vaughan, Eliz. C. 


5 


Vaughan, Louisa 


2 


Vaughan, Mary B. 


5 


Vaughan, Mary J. 


2 


Vaughan, Sarah 


3 


Vaught, Mary J. 


5 


Wade, Eliz. 


5 


Wade, Sally S. 


8 


Wade, Susanah 


2 


Walden, Isora H. 


1 


Walden, Lucy A. T. 


9 


Walden, Nancy D. 


1 


Walker, Martha A. 


4 


Walpole, Alley F. 


3 


Ward, Caroline 


3 


Ward, Eliz. 


9 


Ward, Mary W. 


2 


Warren, Margaret J. 


2 


Wasson, Sophia W. 


3 


Watson, Martha A. E. 


2 


Weather ly, Martha J. 


8 


Weaver, Mary 


9 


Webb, Sarah 


6 


Welch, Eliz. 


3 


Welch, Virginia 


2 



15 



DR. MURFREE MEETS CHAMP FERGUSON 

Dr. James B. Murfree, a Murfreesboro native, experienced two 
significant brushes with history: the first was a pleasing experi- 
ence associated with family preeminence, and the second, startling, 
if not critically dangerous. In the first place, Dr. Murfree' s 
uncle. Colonel Hardy Murfree, became the town's namesake. Dr. 
Murfree, son of Matthias Murfree, was born in Rutherford County in 
1835, attended Union University, briefly engaged in the mercantile 
business, and later attended the medical department at the Univer- 
sity of Nashville, and still later received his medical degree from 
the Jefferson Medical College in Philadelphia in 1859. His home- 
town practice was cut short by the outbreak of the war two years 
later. He enlisted in Company F, First Tennessee Infantry, and 
served as private until June and then was appointed surgeon. In 
September he was elevated to assistant surgeon of the Confederate 
Army. It was during his assignment at the hospital in Emory, 
Virginia, in the fall of 1864, that he was confronted by the 
Tennessee Confederate bushwhacker. Champ Ferguson. Ferguson's 
reputation as a killer or executioner of Blue Coats had spread far 
from his White County home. By his own estimate he had murdered 
over one hundred mostly by a knife plunge through the heart followed 
by a coup de grace shot through the back of the head. His reasoning 
for the bloody rampage is not clear. Wrongs, real or imagined, 
committed by Union soldiers on his family may have been a motive 
force. His mountaineer instinct of total war, with no quarter 



16 

asked for or given , may have been another. Whatever it was, he 
played his role well, so well he was a high priority for Union 
search parties roaming the mountains and late battlefields. 

Champ Ferguson's unexpected visit to the Emory hospital, 
with some compatriots, was a planned mission and in line with his 
sworn oath to eliminate every Blue Coat that strength and resource- 
fulness would allow him. 

Years later, in Murfreesboro where he was a well-known and 
respected physician. Dr. Murfree sat down and wrote an account of 
the Emory incident as he remembered it. This was his story: 

During the year 1864 and the early part of 1865 
I was stationed at Emory, Virginia, as the Surgeon in 
charge of the Confederate Hospital located at that 
place. 

In the fall of 1864 a large force of Federal 
calvary from Kentucky under command of General Stoneman 
made a raid through Southwestern Virginia for the 
purpose of destroying the railroad between Bristol and 
Lynchburg. They were met by Morgan's command and a 
fierce and bloody battle was fought near Max Meadow in 
which the Federals were defeated and driven back into 
Kentucky, A large number of Federals were taken prisoners, 
many of them being wounded, some very badly. 

The wounded were sent to the General Hospital at 
Emory and Henry College, of these there were 150 or 200 
Federal prisoners. The Hospital was on the railroad, 
nine miles from Abingdon, beautifully located and in 
a fine section of country. The college buildings were 
large and commodious and were occupied by the Confed- 
erates as a hospital, containing 350 beds and was under 
my care as the surgeon in charge. The Federal wounded 
were placed on the third and fourth floors of the main 
building which could be only reached by two stairways, 
one at either end of the building. In order to prevent 
the escape of any of the Federal prisoners guards were 
placed at the foot of each of the stairways. 

On a cold and bleak Saturday in November, 1864, 
Champ Ferguson with twelve or fifteen of his men, quietly 
rode up to the hospital, dismounted, hitched their horses 
and entered the hospital almost unnoticed. They attempted 
to ascend one of the stairways to the ward on the third 
floor where Lieutenant Smith, a wounded Federal prisoner, 
was confined. 



17 



The guard halted them and told them that they 
could not go up those steps (this guard was an 
Irishman and as brave as Julius Caesar) . Champ 
Ferguson followed by his men advanced on the guard 
swearing that they would go up the steps in spite 
of him. But the guard undaunted by their threats, 
raised his gun and leveling it at Champ Ferguson 
coolly yet firmly told him that he would shoot him 
if he came any farther. 

Unable to scare this guard they left him and 
went to the other stairway where they overpowered 
the guard stationed there and ascended the stairs 
to the ward where Smith was in bed suffering with a 
severe wound. Champ Ferguson went directly to Smith, 
sat down on his bed, and patting his gun with his 
hand said, "Smith, do you see this? Well, I'm going 
to kill you," and without another word placed the 
gun at Smith's head, fired, sending a minnie ball 
through Smith's head instantly killing him. 

I was busily engaged in the office of the 
hospital when a nurse came rushing in saying a lot 
of soldiers had killed a man in the hospital. I 
immediately went to the hospital followed by Major 
Stringfield of the Army of Virginia (who was visiting 
in that neighborhood) . On reaching the hospital we 
rapidly ascended the steps to the second floor where 
we were halted by one of Ferguson's men with a drawn 
revolver. I promptly told him to go down the stairs, 
to which he replied that "Captain Ferguson had ordered 
me to let no one pass up the steps." I pushed by him 
going on up the steps while Major Stringfield remained 
behind contending with the guard. On the next flight 
of steps I met Champ Ferguson and his men, and I said 
to them, "Gentlemen, you must go down from here, this 
is a place for the sick and wounded, and you must not 
disturb them," to which Champ Ferguson said with an 
oath, "I will shoot you." Standing within a few feet 
of each other I said to him, "This is a Confederate 
hospital, I am in charge of it, I command here, you 
must go down from here." Champ Ferguson then advanced 
to within three feet of me, raised his cocked pistol 
and pointed directly at my breast saying, "I don't 
care who you are, damn you, I will kill you." Realizing 
the desperate character I had to deal with and being 
myself unarmed, yet impelled by a sense of duty, I 
again said to him, "You must go down from here and out 
of this hospital." While we v/ere standing in this 
threatening attitude, face to face with Ferguson's 
pistol at my breast and swearing he would kill me, 
Lieutenant Philpot of Ferguson's company stepped in 
between us at the same time motioning with his hand to 
Ferguson when they all went down the steps, I, going 



18 



down with them, Ferguson cursing and swearing as he 
went. They passed out of the hospital, mounted their 
horses and as they rode off shouted, "We have killed 
the man that killed Hamilton." 

Afterwards I was told that Lieutenant Smith, whom 
Champ Ferguson had just killed, had mistreated Ferguson's 
family; that he made Ferguson's wife undress and marched 
her before him along the public road in a nude state. 

The killing of Smith was promptly reported to General 
Breckenridge at Abingdon, he being in command of the 
Department of Southwestern Virginia. Champ Ferguson was 
arrested, a court-martial ordered and held, but it was 
so near the close of the war that nothing more than this 
was done with him. 



Editor's Note: Dr. Murfree did not complete his story. Champ 
Ferguson was captured on May 30, 1865. His trial opened in 
Nashville on July 15 and droned on until September 26 when 
Ferguson was found guilty and sentenced to be hanged. The order 
of the court was carried out in the morning of October 20. His 
last words were a request that his remains be returned to the 
little cemetery near his home in White County. To the last he 
was fearful that his body would be consigned to the medical school 
in Nashville. Champ's wishes prevailed. 



THE FINAL DAYS OF CHAMP FERGUSON 



There is little doubt that Champ Ferguson failed to receive 
a fair trial in Nashville beginning on July 11, 1865. The three 
Nashville newspapers. Daily Union , Nashville Dispatch , and the 
Daily Press and Times were Northern- held, and Ferguson was a 
Confederate guerilla. Daily, the citizens were fed an emotional 
diet of lurid stories, vicious attacks, and personal reporter 
assessments of the killer's war career. The reactions of the 
citizens and the "reporting" apparently made little impact on 
Ferguson. There is no shred of evidence that he ever felt any 
real compunction concerning his actions. The sketches below are 
from Harper's Weekly (September 23 and November 11, 1865). 




ASaviLLS, TKSNE8SKE, Ockbm ». iesft.-£SiiTCK«» bt J. H. AwfotJ.] 



20 



RUTHERFORD COUNTY MILITIA COMMISSIONS 

This is to continue the cominissions listed in Rutherford 
County Historical Society Publication No. 1. The years 1812 
through 1815 were compiled by Mrs. John Trotwood Moore and 
published in Tennessee Historical Quarterlies June, 1948, March, 
1949, September, 1950, and December, 1956. The years following 
were abstracted from Commissions Book in State Library and 
Archives by Henry G. Wray and Ernest K. Johns. 



1812 



William Alford 
William Arnold 
William Arnold 
William K. Barkly 
John Byford 
William Caldwell 
John Clark 
Wells Cooper 
John Davis 
John Doak 
William Elder 
William Espey 
Walker Gannaway 

James Gilleland 
Archibald Harris 
William G. Harris 
William Higgins 
Ephraim Hunter 
Murphrey Jett 
Eli Latty 
Charles McClain 
George McCrackin 
John McQuaig 

John Maberry 
Isaac Millekin 
James Miller 
James Moore 
Isaac Nance 
James Pace 
David Patton 

Robert Sanford 
Archibald Shanks 



Lieut. 


22nd 


Regiment 


Nov. 26, 


1812 


Ensign 


II 




" 


March 24, 


1812 


Lieut. 


" 




" 


July 24, 


1812 


Ensign 


4 5th 




II 


April 29, 


1812 


Ensign 


II 




" 


March 11, 


1812 


Lieut. 


II 




II 


March 11, 


1812 


Lieut. 


II 




" 


April 29, 


1812 


Ensign 


" 




II 


March 11, 


1812 


Ensign 


" 




II 


March 11, 


1812 


Lieut. 


" 




II 


April 29, 


1812 


Lieut. 


22nd 




II 


Sept. 11, 


1812 


Ensign 


II 




" 


Sept. 11, 


1812 


Lieut. 


9th 


Bri 


.gade 


July 24, 


1812 


Cavalry Regiment 






Ensign 


45th 


Rec 


[iment 


July 24, 


1812 


Capt. 


22nd 






Oct. 8, 


1812 


Capt. 


45th 






April 28, 


1812 


Ensign 


22nd 






March 24, 


1812 


Lieut. 


II 






June 9 , 


1812 


Ensign 


4 5th 






July 24, 


1812 


Ensign 


II 






July 24, 


1812 


Ensign 


II 






April 29, 


1812 


Capt. 


" 






April 29, 


1812 


Ensign 


22nd 






March 24, 


1812 


Light : 


Enfantry 


Co. 






Capt. ' 


15th Regiment 


July 24, 


1812 


Ensign 


II 




" 


April 29, 


1812 


Ensign 


II 




" 


July 24, 


1812 


Ensign 


II 




" 


April 29, 


1812 


Capt. : 


22nd 




" 


March 24, 


1812 


Lieut. 


45th 




" 


April 29, 


1812 


Capt. ; 


22nd 




II 


March 24, 


1812 


Light : 


Infantry 


Co. 






Ensign 


22nd 


Regiment 


March 24, 


1812 


Lieut. 


45th 




II 


July 24, 


1812 



21 



Alfred Sharpe 
Cyrus Sharpe 
Barnabas Stricklin 
William Todd 
Samuel Uselton 
Burrell Ward 
Henry Watkins 
Archibald Wills 
Daniel Woote 



James Barkley 
Benjamin J. Bass 
Thomas Bass 
John Bethel 

James Bole 
William Bowman 

Hezekiah G. Cooke 
David Fleming 
M. Hollice 
Thomas Kelough 
John Knight 
Abner Lonay 
Mathew McClannahan 

James McEwen 
John McKinney 
Bright McLendon 
Stokeley Pearce 
Hugh Porter 
John Rhay 
Mathew Robeson 
Archibald Shanks 
Luke Smith 
John Thompson 
Marady Tucker 
William Vaughn 
William White 
Thomas Whitsett 
Francis Yourey 
Josiah Zackerry 



Lieut. 


22nd 


Regiment 


March 24, 


1812 


Lieut. 


II 




July 24, 


1812 


Ensign 


45th 




July 24, 


1812 


Lieut. 


" 




July 24, 


1812 


Capt. 


" 




July 24, 


1812 


Ensign 


22nd 




Oct. 8, 


1812 


Lieut. 


II 




March 24, 


1812 


Ensign 


II 




June 9 , 


1812 


Ensign 


45th 
1813 




April 29, 


1812 



Capt. 4 5th Regiment 
Ensign 22nd " 
Lieut. " " 
Ensign " " 
Light Infantry Co. 
Lieut. 4 5th Regiment 
First Major 

22nd Regiment 
Lieut. " 
Lieut. 4 5th 
Lieut. " 
Capt. " 
Capt. 22nd 
Ensign 45th 
Lieut. Col. Commandant 

22nd Regiment 
Ensign 45th 
Lieut. 2 2nd 
Ensign " 
Ensign 45th 
Lieut. 



Lieut. 


II 


Lieut. 


II 


Capt. 


II 


Lieut. 


22n 


Ensigr 


I 45th 


Lieut. 


II 


Lieut. 


" 


Capt. 


2 2nd 


Ensign 


" 


Capt. 


45th 


Capt. 


2 2nd 



July 


24, 


1813 


Feb. 


11, 


1813 


Feb. 


11, 


1813 


Apri. 


L 27, 


1813 


July 


24, 


1813 


Sept 


. 3, 


1813 


Jan. 


28, 


1813 


June 


14, 


1813 


July 


24, 


1813 


Aug. 


17, 


1813 


Oct. 


1, 


1813 


June 


14, 


1813 


Sept 


3, 


1813 


July 


24, 


1813 


Oct. 


1, 


1813 


Jan. 


28, 


1813 


Aug. 


17, 


1813 


June 


14, 


1813 


Aug. 


17, 


1813 


June 


14, 


1813 


Jan. 


28, 


1813 


Oct. 


1, 


1813 


July 


24, 


1813 


Jan. 


28, 


1813 


June 


14, 


1813 


Oct. 


1, 


1813 


Oct. 


1, 


1813 


July 


24, 


1813 


Nove. 


8, 


1813 



22 



Abraham Baker 
John Bankhead 
William F. Beaty 
William F. Beaty 
James Berry 
George Buchannan 
Calvin Carlee 
William H. Davis 

Cader Dement 

Ezekiel Dickson 

James Dickson 

Samuel Dunnaway 
Pre-jley Edwards 
Littleton Fuller 



David Fortunberry 
Obediah Garner 
Thomas Gassaway 
Hugh Good 
Richard Griffin 
Matthew Haley 
John Hall 

John Hoover 



David Hubbard 
Robert Jetton 

Charles Kavanaugh 



John Kellough 

Hugh Kirk 

Burton L. McFerrin 
James McFerrin 

Ambrose McKee 
Ambrose McKee 
John McKee 
David McKnight 
John Matthews 
James B. Meredith 
Ezekiel Murphy 
John Nash 

Jesse Noaks 



1814 

Ensign 4 5th Regiment 

Lieut. 

Ensign " 

Lieut. " 

Lieut. 

Ensign 22nd 

Lieut. 45th 

Cornet 9th Brigade 

Cavalry Regiment 

Lieut. 22nd Regiment 

Light Infantry Co. 

Lieut. 9th Brigade 

Cavalry Regiment 

Ensign 22nd Regiment 

Light Infantry Co. 

Lieut. 22nd Regiment 

Capt. 

Ensign company of men 

not subject to militia 

duty. 

Ensign 4 5th Regiment 

Ensign 22nd 

Ensign 45th 

Ensign " 

Ensign 22nd 

Ensign " 

Ensign 45th 

Light Infantry Co. 

Lieut, company of men 

not subject to militia 

duty. 

Ensign 2 2nd Regiment 

Second Major 45th 

Regiment 

Capt. company of men 

not subject to militia 

duty. 

Lieut. 45th Regiment 

Light Infantry Co. 

Capt. 45th Regiment 

Light Infantry Co. 

Capt. 4 5th Regiment 

First Major 

4 5th Regiment 
Ensign " " 
Capt. 
Capt. 

Lieut. " " 
Capt. 22nd Regiment 
Ensign 45th " 
Ensign " " 
Capt. 9th Brigade 
Cavalry Regiment 
Ensign 45th Regiment 



July 20, 


1814 


Oct. 3, 


1814 


April 2, 


1814 


July 20, 


1814 


April 2, 


1814 


May 7, 


1814 


April 2, 


1814 


Nov . 9 , 


1814 


March 2 , 


1814 


Dec. 4, 


1814 


March 2, 


1814 


Feb. 7, 


1814 


July 7, 


1814 


Feb. 7, 


1814 


April 2, 


1814 


July 7, 


1814 


Nov . 6 , 


1814 


Oct. 3, 


1814 


May 7, 


1814 


July 7 , 


1814 


Sept. 5, 


1814 


Feb. 7, 


1814 


July 7, 


1814 


March 2, 


1814 



Feb. 7, 



1814 



April 2, 


1814 


April 2, 


1814 


April 2, 


1814 


March 2, 


1814 


June 25, 


1814 


Nov. 6, 


1814 


March 2, 


1814 


May 7, 


1814 


May 7 , 


1814 


May 7, 


1814 


July 20, 


1814 


Nov . 9 , 


1814 


April 2, 


1814 



23 



David Patton 

Oswall Potts 
Thomas Potts 
Cyrus Sharpe 

Joseph D. Smith 
Jidean Thomas 
George Thompson 
William Warnick 
James Warren 
Benjamin Webb 
Benjamin Webb 
Stephen F. White 

James Wi lie ford 
Thomas Yardley 



Joseph Bellew 
Willie Burton 
Parker Byferd 
Ota Cantrell 

Thomas Carnahan 
John Caulfield 

John Colfield 

Hezekiah G. Cooke 
William Cooke 
David Covington 
John Crow 
Richard D. Doyle 
Richard D. Doyle 
Soloman Elam 
Burwell Ganaway 

Walker Ganaway 
William Gosset 
Joseph Graves 
Elijah Haley 
Allsea Harris 
Micajah Hollis 
Henry Hutton 

Robert Jetton 

Lewis Johnson 
Larkin Johnson 



Capt. 


22nd Regiment 


Light 


Infantry Co. 


Ensign 


45th Regiment 


Lieut. 


II II 


Lieut. 


9th Brigade 


Cavalry Regiment 


Lieut. 


4 5th Regiment 


Lieut. 


" 


1 


Lieut. 


22nd 


1 


Capt. 


4 5th 


' 


Ensign 


22nd 


1 


Lieut. 


45th 


1 


Capt. 


II II 


Cornet 


9th Brigade 


Cavalry Regiment 


Ensign 


4 5th Regiment 


Capt. 


9th Brigade 


Cavalry Regiment 




1815 


Capt. 


45th Regiment 


Ensign 


22nd 


Lieut. 


45 th 


Second 


Major 




2 2nd 


Ensign 


4 5th 


Capt. 


22nd 


Light 


Infantry Co. 


Lieut. 


22nd Regimen 


Light 


Infantry Co. 


Capt. 


22nd Regiment 


Lieut. 


II II 


Ensign 


II II 


Capt. 


II II 


Ensign 


45 th 


Capt. 


II II 


Capt. 


II II 


First 


Major 




4 5th Regiment 


Capt. 


22nd 


Ensign 


45 th 


Lieut. 


II II 


Capt. 


22nd 


Lieut. 


45th 


Capt. 


II II 


Lieut. 


22nd 


II 



Jan. 8, 

May 7, 
April 2, 
Nov. 9, 

Nov. 17, 
April 2, 
July 7 , 
May 7 , 
May 7, 
March 2 , 
June 25, 
Dec. 4, 

April 2, 
Dec. 4, 



1814 

1814 
1814 
1814 

1814 
1814 
1814 
1814 
1814 
1814 
1814 
1814 

1814 
1814 



Light Infantry Co. 
Lieut. Col. Commandant 

4 5th Regiment 
Lieut. 
Lieut. 



Aug. 


30, 


1815 


Apri. 


L 28, 


1815 


Aug. 


30, 


1815 


Dec. 


16, 


1815 


Aug. 


30, 


1815 


Dec. 


13, 


1815 


Apri 


1 28, 


1815 


Aug. 


14, 


1815 


Aug. 


14, 


1815 


June 


28, 


1815 


Dec. 


13, 


1815 


Feb. 


20, 


1815 


June 


11, 


1815 


Aug. 


30, 


1815 


May 


8, 


1815 


Dec. 


13, 


1815 


June 


11, 


1815 


June 


11, 


1815 


May 


19, 


1815 


June 


11, 


1815 


Jan. 


9, 


1815 


Dec. 


13, 


1815 


May 


8, 


1815 


Aug. 


30, 


1815 


June 


11, 


1815 



24 



John Kelough 

Joseph A. C. Kindrick 
Hugh Kirk 

William Leathers 
Levi McGlothlin 
Isaac Miller 
Allen Nance 
James Patten 
Alexander Petty 
Joseph Pollard 
Thomas Potts 
G. W. Powell 
William Powell 
David J. Robertson 
Elijah Saunders 
Stallard Scott 

John Sharpe 
James Stanly 
Abraham Thompson 

Abrahcim Thompson 

James Todd 
William Tucker 
Thomas G. Watkins 
Malachi Wimberly 



Capt. 4 5th Regiment 
Light Infantry Co. 

Lieut. 22nd Regiment 
Second Major 

45th Regiment 
Ensign " " 
Lieut. 22nd " 
Capt. 45th 
Lieut. 22nd 
Lieut. 45th " 
Capt. 
Ensign " 
Capt. 

Ensign " " 
Lieut. " 
Capt. 22nd 
Ensign " 
Ensign 45th " 
Light Infantry Co. 
Capt. 22nd Regiment 
Ensign 45th " 
Ensign " " 
Light Infantry Co. 
Lieut. 4 5th Regiment 
Light Infantry Co. 
Ensign 45th Regiment 
Ensign " " 
Capt. 
Lieut. 22nd 



June 


11, 


1815 


June 


28, 


1815 


May 8 , 


1815 


June 


11, 


1815 


Dec. 


13, 


1815 


June 


11, 


1815 


Dec. 


13, 


1815 


Aug. 


30, 


1815 


Aug. 


30, 


1815 


Aug. 


30, 


1815 


June 


11, 


1815 


Aug. 


30, 


1815 


Aug. 


30, 


1815 


Dec. 


13, 


1815 


Dec. 


13, 


1815 


June 


11, 


1815 


May 


19, 


1815 


Aug. 


30, 


1815 


Feb. 


20, 


1815 


June 


11, 


1815 


Jan. 


9, 


1815 


June 


11, 


1815 


Aug. 


30, 


1815 


Dec. 


13, 


1815 



1816 



Elenas Alexander 
Joseph Balew 

Howard Barlow 
Benjamin Battel 
Thomas Brotin 
Isaac Burlison 
Moses Burlison 
Alexander Caldwell 
Robert Carson 
George Creech 
James Curry 
Manen Davis 
Ezekiel Dickson 

Robert Dickson 

Joseph Doake 
Nathan Evans 
John Fan 
Thomas Flanagan 
Harrison Fussle 



Lieut. 4 5th Regiment 


May 


3, 


1816 


Second Major 




July 


29, 


1816 


2nd Regiment 










Capt. 4 5th Regiment 


June 


11, 


1816 


Ensign " 




May 


3, 


1816 


Ensign 22nd 




Jan. 


17, 


1816 


Lieut. " 




Dec. 


3, 


1816 


Ensign " 




June 


11, 


1816 


Lieut. 45th 




Nov. 


2, 


1816 


Capt. 3rd 




Oct. 


9, 


1816 


Ensign 45th 




Nov. 


2, 


1816 


Ensign " 




May 


8, 


1816 


Lieut. " 




Nov. 


2, 


1816 


Lieut. 3rd 




Oct. 


9, 


1816 


Light Infantry ( 


Zo. 








Ensign 45th Reg 


iment 


Nov. 


2, 


1816 


Light Infantry ( 


2o. 








Capt. 3rd Regim 


-nt 


Oct. 


9, 


1816 


Ensign 45th 


' 


June 


11, 


1816 


Lieut. 3rd 


' 


Oct. 


9, 


1816 


Ensign 22nd 


1 


Dec. 


3, 


1816 


Lieut. " 


I 


Dec. 


3, 


1816 



25 



William Gable 

Ezekiel Garrison 
Moses Glasscock 
Green B. Green 
John Hall 
Alse Harris 
Thomas A. Harris 
Gilliat Hubbel 
Walter Jenkins 
William Jones 

William Jones 

David Kees 
William Leathers 
James Mankin 
Alexander McKnight 
David McKnight 
William McKnight 
William McKnight 
James McFerrin 

William McFerrin 
Alford More 
Ezekiel More 
John More 
John Nugent 
Daniel Parkrush 
Mathew Patton 
Robert Purdy 

Benjamin Ransom 
John Smith 

John Smith 

Robert Smith 

John Steward 
George A. Sublet 
Bazel Summers 
William Thomas 
Elijah Tucker 
Henry M. Walker 

Thomas Ward 
Henry M, Watkin 

Hugh Webb 
Charles Wells 



Ensign 3rd Regiment 

Light Infantry Co. 

Ensign 3rd Regiment 

Ensign " 

Ensign 45th 

Ensign 3rd 

Capt. 45th 

Capt. 22nd 

Capt. 45th 

Ensign 22nd 

Ensign " 

Rifle Co. 

Ensign 22nd 

Rifle Co. 

Capt. 45th 

Lieut. 

Lieut. 3rd 

Lieut. 

Capt. 45th 

Capt. 3rd 

Lieut. 45th 

Lt. Col. Commandant 

2nd Regiment 

Ensign 45th Regiment 

Capt. 

Lieut. 

Ensign 3rd 

Ensign 45th 

Lieut. " 

Capt. 3rd 

Brig. General 

9th Brigade 

Capt. 45th Regiment 

Lieut. 22nd 

Rifle Co. 

Lieut. 22nd 

Rifle Co. 

Lieut. Calv. 

9th Brigade 

Ensign 45th 

Capt. " 

Ensign 3rd 

Lieut. " 

Lieut. 45th 

Capt. 22nd 

Rifle Co. 

Ensign 45th 

Capt. 22nd 

Rifle Co. 

Capt. 45th 

Lieut. " 



Oct. 


9, 


1816 


Oct. 


9, 


1816 


Oct. 


9, 


1816 


Nov. 


2, 


1816 


Oct. 


9, 


1816 


June 


11, 


1816 


Dec. 


3, 


1816 


Nov. 


2, 


1816 


Jan. 


17, 


1816 


June 


11, 


1816 



Sept. 6, 1816 



May 8, 


1816 


Nov . 2 , 


1816 


Oct. 9, 


1816 


Oct. 9, 


1816 


May 8, 


1816 


Oct. 9, 


1816 


May 8, 


1816 


July 29, 


1816 


May 8, 


1816 


May 8 , 


1816 


May 8 , 


1816 


Oct. 9, 


1816 


Nov . 2 , 


1816 


June 11, 


1816 


Oct. 9, 


1816 


Aug. 13, 


1816 


June 11, 


1816 


June 11, 


1816 


Sept. 6, 


1816 


Sept. 19, 


1816 


May 8, 


1816 


Nov. 2, 


1816 


Oct. 9, 


1816 


Oct. 9, 


1816 


Nov. 2, 


1816 


June 11, 


1816 



Nov. 2, 1816 

Sept. 6, 1816 

June 11, 1816 

May 8, 1816 



26 



Asa West 
Stephen F, 



White 



Peter Williams 
James Younger (?) 

Joseph Yourd 



Ensign 4 5th Regiment 
Capt. 3rd 
Light Infantry Co. 
Ensign 45th Regiment 
Cornet Calv. " 
9th Brigade 
First Major 
2nd Brigade 



Nov . 2 , 
Oct. 9, 



1816 
1816 



May 8, 1816 
Sept. 19, 1816 

July 29, 1816 



1817 



William Alford 
Gideon R. Allen 
Joseph Allison 
George Brandon 

John Cherry 

Russel Donel 
Edward Fotherstone 
Hugh Good 

Isaac S. Jetton 
Ephraim Lawrence 
John Martin 
Jesse Mason 
George Morris 
John G. Murphy 
George W. Oliver 
John Patterson 
James Rayburn 
Stephen Roach 
Edmund Todd 
William Thomas 
John Watkins 
Thomas Williams 
Samuel S. Wood 
Joseph Wright 



Nelson Blanton 
Nelson Blanton 
Robert Dickson 

Joseph Donelson 
James Elliot 
James Gammel 
Green Berry Green 
David P. Hannis 



Capt. 22nd Regiment 


May 22, 


1817 


Ensign 3rd 


" 


July 3, 


1817 


Ensign 45th 


" 


April 22, 


1817 


Lieut. 3rd 


" 


March 6 , 


1817 


Rifle Company 








Ensign 3rd 


" 


March 6, 


1817 


Rifle Company 








Lieut. 45th 


II 


July 23, 


1817 


Capt. 45th 


" 


March 5, 


1817 


Capt. 3rd 


" 


March 6 , 


1817 


Rifle Company 








Lieut. 45th 


" 


March 5, 


1817 


Ensign 3rd 


" 


July 3, 


1817 


Ensign 22nd 


" 


Sept. 6, 


1817 


Ensign 22nd 


" 


May 22, 


1817 


Capt. 4 5th 


" 


April 22, 


1817 


Lieut. 3rd 


II 


July 3, 


1817 


Ensign 45th 


" 


Sept. 23, 


1817 


Ensign " 


" 


April 22, 


1817 


Ensign " 


" 


March 5, 


1817 


Capt. 3rd 


" 


March 6, 


1817 


Capt. 22nd 


" 


Sept. 6, 


1817 


Capt. 3rd 


II 


July 3, 


1817 


Lieut. 45th 


" 


Sept. 18, 


1817 


Lieut. 3rd 


" 


July 3, 


1817 


Lieut. 22nd 


" 


May 22, 


1817 


Ensign 22nd 


II 


Sept. 6, 


1817 


1818 








Lieut. 22nd Regiment 


July 18, 


1818 


Capt. 


" 


Nov . 7 , 


1818 


Lieut. 45th 


" 


Oct. 6, 


1818 


Light Infantry 


Co. 






Ensign 22nd Regiment 


Sept. 19, 


1818 


Capt. 


" 


July 18, 


1818 


Ensign " 


" 


Sept. 19, 


1818 


Lieut. 45th 


" 


June 18, 


1818 


Capt. 


II 


Oct. 6, 


1818 


Light Infantry 


Co. 







William Long 

William McMurray 

George Miller 
Thomas Palmer 
William Purtle 

John H. Raines 
William D. Rowlon 
Lewis Ship 

Theophilus W. Short 

John Smith 

Vincent Taylor 
James M. Tilford 

William Walker 
John Warren 
James Woods 



Lieut. 2 2nd Regiment 
Rifle Company 
Lieut. 53rd Regiment 
Rifle Company 
Ensign 45th Regiment 
Ensign " " 
Ensign 22nd " 
Rifle Company 
Capt. 45th Regiment 
Capt. 22nd 
Ensign 53rd 
Vol. Light Infantry 
Lieut. 45th Regiment 
Light Infantry Co. 
Capt. 22nd Regiment 
Rifle Company 
Lieut. 45th Regiment 
Capt. " " 
Light Infantry Co. 
Ensign 4 5th Regiment 
Lieut. 2 2nd Regiment 
Ensign " " 



July 18, 

Sept. 12, 

June 18, 
Dec. 26, 
July 18, 

June 18, 
Sept. 19, 
Sept. 12, 

Oct. 6, 

July 18, 

Dec. 26, 
Oct. 6, 

June 18, 
Sept. 19, 
Sept. 19, 



27 

181J 

181? 

181? 
ISU 
18U 

181J 
181{ 
181! 

181! 

181! 

181! 
181! 

181! 
181! 
181! 



David M. Andrew 
David Barton 

Absalom Carny 
Robert Clarke 
Benjamin Davis 
Robert Fagan 
Joseph A. Farmer 
Thomas M. Fasling 
Moses H. Glascock 
Hiram Hunt 
James Mayberry 
John McMennamy 
Ezekiel Moore 
John Moore 
William F. Moore 
General Lee Nolen 



John Nolin 
Robert Patton 
Willis Pearce 
John Pearson 
Luke Puckett 
Isaac Sanders 
Henry D. Sims 
Joseph Smith 



1819 

Ensign 45th Regiment 

Cornet 9th Brigade 

Cavalry Regiment 

Lieut. 22nd Regiment 

Capt. 4 5th 

Ensign 53rd " 

Capt. " " 

Capt. 4 5th 

Ensign 53rd " 

Lieut. " " 

Ensign " " 

Ensign 22nd " 

Capt. 

Lieut. 45th 

Lieut. 22nd " 

Lieut. 53rd " 

Lt. Col. 9th Brigade 

Commandant Regiment 

of Cavalry 

Capt. 53rd Regiment 

Capt. 45th 

Lieut. 53rd 

Lieut. " 

Ensign 22nd 

Ensign " 

Ensign 53rd 

Lieut. 45th 



June 17, 


1819 


Aug. 16, 


1819 


April 27, 


1819 


June 17, 


1819 


May 18, 


1819 


May 18, 


1819 


June 17, 


1819 


March 16, 


1819 


March 16, 


1819 


May 18, 


1819 


April 27, 


1819 


April 27, 


1819 


June 17, 


1819 


Sept. 30, 


1819 


March 16, 


1819 


May 31, 


1819 


May 18, 


1819 


July 26, 


1819 


May 18, 


1819 


May 18, 


1819 


Sept. 30, 


1819 


April 27, 


1819 


March 16, 


1819 


July 26, 


1819 



Robert Smith 
Daniel M. Stewart 
Gideon Thompson 
Wyatt Tweedy (?) 
Samuel Uselton 



Capt. 9th Brigade 
Cavalry Regiment 
Cornet 9th Brigade 
Cavalry Regiment 
Capt. 9th Brigade 
Cavalry Regiment 
Lieut. 9th Brigade 
Cavalry Regiment 
Capt. 5 3rd Regiment 



28 

Sept. 16, 1819 
Sept. 16, 1819 
Aug. 16, 1819 
Sept. 16, 1819 
March 16, 1819 



1820 



William Allen 
Charles Anderson 
Charles Anderson 
William Aqummit (?) 
William Arnold 

Meredith Blanton 
John Brittenham 
Leroy Burkes 
Gilbert Copeland 
John Davis, Jr. 
Hugh H. Elliston 
William C. Emraish (?) 
William C. Emmetr 

Anson L. Estes 
Ansel L. Estes 
Mumford Fletcher 
Andrew Griffin 
Pharoah Hall 
Edward Hamilton 
William Hicks 
Henry Holmes 
Hugh D. Jamison 
Isaac L. Jetton 
Lawton Jones 
John Jones 
John Jones 
John Jones 
James M. King 
William Ledbetter 

William Locke 

James Maney 
Willard Manchester 
Robert Mankin 

James T. Maxwell 
Arthur McCrary 



Ensign 53rd Regiment 


March 20, 


1820 


Lieut. 45th 


July 


1, 


1820 


Capt. 


Dec. 


4, 


1820 


Ensign " " 


Sept 


22, 


1820 


Capt. 9th Brigade 


June 


3, 


1820 


Cavalry Regiment 








Ensign 22nd Regiment 


Feb. 


28, 


1820 


Lieut. 45th 


Oct. 


V, 


1820 


Capt. 53rd 


March 20, 


1820 


Ensign " " 


March 20, 


1820 


Ensign " " 


Oct. 


5, 


1820 


Lieut. 45th 


Feb. 


15, 


1820 


Capt. 


Feb. 


15, 


1820 


Second Major 


Dec. 


26, 


1820 


45th Regiment 








Capt. " 


Oct. 


7, 


1820 


Lieut. 


July 


12, 


1820 


Lieut. " " 


Sept 


22, 


1820 


Lieut. " " 


July 


1, 


1820 


Ensign " " 


July 


1, 


1820 


Ensign " " 


July 


1, 


1820 


Ensign " " 


Feb. 


15, 


1820 


Surgeon 53rd " 


July 


1, 


1820 


Lieut. 45th 


Sept 


22, 


1820 


Capt. 


Dec. 


23, 


1820 


Lieut. 22nd 


Feb. 


28, 


1820 


Ensign 4 5th 


Feb. 


15, 


1820 


Lieut. " " 


Oct. 


5, 


1820 


Capt. 


Oct. 


7, 


1820 


Capt. 


Dec. 


23, 


1820 


Capt. 9th Brigade 


June 


3, 


1820 


Cavalry Regiment 








First Major 


Dec. 


26, 


1820 


4 5th Regiment 








Surgeon " " 


Oct. 


7, 


1820 


Ensign " " 


Dec. 


8, 


1820 


Fife Major 


July 


1, 


1820 


53rd Regiment 








Lieut. 45th 


Dec. 


8, 


1820 


Lieut. 53rd " 


Oct. 


5, 


1820 



29 



David McKnight 

John McKnight 

John Molloy 
John Moore 
Benjamin Nelson 
Joseph Newman 



James Norman 
Thomas Norman 
George W. Oliver 

Simon (Simeon) Poake 
Abner Potts 

William Powell 
George Ralston 
Athelstone Ransom 
Hugh Roberson 
Henry Rogers 
Pleasant Rutledge 
Raymond B. Sagely 
Robert Smith 

Nathan Stockird 

John Tucker 

William Warnick 

Isaac Williams 
Vim. H. Youree 



Ad juntant 

5 3rd Regiment 
Sgt. Major 

53rd Regiment 
Ensign 45th Regiment 
Ensign 53rd " 
Ensign 45th " 
Second Master 

53rd Regiment 
Lieut. 45th 
Capt. 

Cornet 9th Brigade 
Cavalry Regiment 
Ensign 53rd Regiment 
Lieut. Col. Commandant 

4 5th Regiment 
Capt. 22nd 
Capt. 

Ensign 45th 
Ensign 22nd 
Lieut. " 
Ensign 45th 
Lieut. 

First Major 9th Brigade 
Cavalry Regiment 
Lieut. 9th Brigade 
Cavalry Regiment 
Drum Major 

53rd Regiment 
Coronet 9th Brigade 
Cavalry Regiment 
Ensign 53rd Regiment 
Capt. 



July 1, 
July 1, 



1820 



1820 



Oct. 7, 


1820 


Oct. 5, 


1820 


Dec. 4, 


1820 


July 1, 


1820 



Dec. 4, 1820 

Dec. 23, 1820 

June 3, 1820 

Oct. 5, 1820 

Dec. 26, 1820 



Feb. 


28, 


1820 


June 


5, 


1820 


July 


12, 


1820 


July 


25, 


1820 


July 


25, 


1820 


Dec. 


8, 


1820 


Dec. 


4, 


1820 


June 


15, 


1820 


June 


3, 


1820 


July 


1, 


1820 


Sept 


12, 


1820 



Oct. 5, 1820 
Oct. 5, 1820 



OCCUPATION MAYOR: 
THE HONORABLE J. M. TOMPKINS 




In the Union Volunteer , May 20, 1862, a newspaper published 
by occupation authorities, this notice v/as carried: "Some weeks 
since notice was (part of sentence illegible) of the city of 

Murfreesboro, elected during the session 

of the 'reign of terror,' that they must 

^B- * '^ '^^J take the oath of allegiance as required 

by the State Constitution or be removed 
from office. The Mayor J. E. Dromgole 
(sic) , the Recorder, D. D. Wendel, and 
Aldermen Robertson and Saunders declined 
to comply with the request. They were 
accordingly removed and others chosen by 
the remaining Aldermen to fill the vacancies. The following 
gentlemen now comprise the city government: Mayor J. M. Tompkins; 
Recorder R. D. Reed; Aldermen Alfred Miller, John Todd, E. S. 
Jordan, C. B. Huggins , and William McKnight; Magistrates John Jones 
and V. C. Carter; and Constable Gannaway." (from microfilm in 
Smyrna, Tennessee Library.) 

The length of Tompkins' tenure as the Murfreesboro mayor is 
not clear. At the time the town was garrisoned by a Union brigade 
composed of the Ninth Michigan, the Third Minnesota, and some 
scattered detachments from other regiments. Forrest's raid on 
July 13 covered a period of some twelve hours, and the prisoners 
that were carried away with Forrest's withdrawal were replaced by 



31 
units under General William Nelson. Sometime later, the garrison 
was abandoned, and early in October, the Army of Tennessee, under 
General Braxton Bragg, moved into the town and its environs. 
Following the battle of Stones River, the Confederate army retired 
to Tullahoma and Shelbyville. Rosecrans' Army of the Cumberland 
became the reoccupation troops. For the remainder of the war, 
Murfreesboro was in Union hands. 

Tompkins states in his "Memoirs" (that are carried in full 
on the pages that follow) that he acted as mayor "until all civil 
and municipal law ceased by the action of the war." 

There is no record that even a token form of municipal 
government was allowed from January 3, 1863 until the close of 
the war. Tompkins' days as a mayor may have covered a few months, 
possibly a year. Whatever time his office may have existed must 
have been identifiable by controversy. This inference can be 
drawn from reading his "Memoirs." It can be noted that biographies 
of two of his sons, Robert and Albert, that appear in Goodspeed's 
History of Tennessee (1886), make no reference to their father's 
mayorship. One may conjecture that their mayor father did not 
achieve widespread popularity. Both sons were Confederates. 
Robert served with the Forty-fifty Tennessee and Albert with the 
Eighteenth Tennessee. 

Shortly after the war. Mayor Tompkins may have been rewarded 
for his loyalty. He was appointed clerk and master of the chancery 
court. He died in 1870. 



32 



MEMOIRS OF 
JAI4ES M. TOMPKINS 

* Written by Himself 

JAMES M. TOMPKINS, son of Wm. and Sarah Tompkins, was born 
in the County of Fluvanna, Virginia, on Adren's Creek, on the 
18th day of October, 1807. He remained with his Father, (who 
lived in Fluvanna County, Va. , except the years of 1818 and 1819, 
in which years he resided in Albemarle County, Va., two miles 
North of Charlottsville, ) until the year 1827. His recollection 
cannot go back when he did not have a firm belief in the truth 
of the Christian Religion. In October, 1826, he made a public 
profession of Religion, and was baptized by the Rev. Moses Brock, 
and became a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church, at the 
Union Mills Church, in the county of Fluvanna. On the 25th day 
of October, 1827, he was married by the Rev. John Goss , to Kitty G. 
Rucker, daughter of Elza and Mary P. Rucker, of Orange County, Va. 
In December, 1827, he left the County of Fluvanna, and settled in 
Orange County, Va . , near Caves-Ville, and joined the Orange Church 
in that neighborhood. He resided in Orange County until December, 
1830, at which time he moved and settled in Albemarle County, Va., 
six miles South of Charlottsville, and became a member of the 
Church at Temple Hill Church, He remained in Albemarle County, 
Va., until September, 1831, at which time he left the State of 



* An original copy of this document is the property of William 
Tompkins Walkup of Smyrna, Tennessee. Mr. Walkup claims Mayor 
Tompkins as an ancestor of his. 



33 

Virginia and moved to the State of Tennessee, and settled on 
Overall's Creek in the County of Rutherford, and became a member 
of the Church at Asberry Church. In March, 1836, he was elected 
a Justice of the Peace for the Sixth District of Rutherford 
County. In July, 1837, he was elected Surveyor for the County 
of Rutherford by the County Court of said County. In June, 1812, 
he petitioned and was accepted and became a member of Mount Moriah 
Lodge, No. 18, of Ancient Free and Accepted York Masons. He 
received all the degrees in the Blue Lodge, Chapter and Council. 
He was elected several times Master of said Lodge, which he 
esteemed the highest honor ever conferred upon him. In March, 
1816, he was elected by the people of said County Sheriff for 
Rutherford County. In March 1818 and in March 1850, he was 
re-elected to the same office. In March, 1852, he retired from 
said office, having served as long as the Constitution of the 
State would allow, and having discharged the duties of said office 
with satisfaction as far as he knows and believes to all, except 
evil doors. In August, 1855, he was elected by the people of 
the County of Rutherford a member of the State Legislature of 
Tennessee, for the Session of 1855 and 1856. This was an office 
he did not seek nor desire it, never having any desire to engage 
in political life. In December ,' 1859 , he sold out his farm in 
the country known as Cherry Flat, four miles North-west of 
Murfreesboro, moved to Murfreesboro and settled in Town, and 
became a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church, (South) in 
Murfreesboro, and was appointed one of the Stewarts of said Church. 
He having raised and educated the children, being seven in number. 



34 

one daughter and six sons, to-wit: — Sarah Margaret, Benjamin C, 

William R. , Robert T. , James E. , George T. and Albert G. Tompkins, 
and becoming old and infirm in health, and being desirous of 
leading a quiet and peaceable life the balance of his days, and 
not any more engage in the busy scenes of life- and at peace with 
all men. But, alast wicked and designing men. North and South, 
not having the fear of God before their eyes, and being instigated 
by evil and selfish designs, determined to brake up and ruin our 
once happy and beloved country and government, if they could not 
govern it to suit their own views. They brought on and instigated 
an uncalled for rebellion and civil war. He was opposed to all 
this procedure, and done all in his power to prevent it, believing 
that it was our duty to seek redress for all our wrongs by law, 
in the Congress of the United States, and not to go out of the 
Union and resort to arms for redress, until all other ways and 
means should fail; he believing and so argued, that if we separated 
from the Union and went to war, that nothing awaited us but defeat, 
distress and woe. The State of Tennessee voted to go out of the 
Union in May, 1861, by a large majority of votes. He being a 
Southern man, born and raised in the South, all his sympathies 
being with the Southern people, and all he had among them, and 
although it was like rending soul and body asunder to see the 
beloved Union of the United States, that had been established and 
cemented by the blood of his ancestors, torn asunder, and a civil 
war instituted, he quietly submitted to the fate of his State and 
Country, and only acting in doing all the good he could to relieve 
the wants and distresses of the people among whom he lived; daily 



35 

asking God to guide, preserve and protect us. His course and 
views gave displeasure to some, and caused ill-feelings to be 
engendered in a few towards him; but his course of conduct and 
acts was directed by his judgment, and what he conscientiously 
believed to be right, and therefore, he acted regardless of 
consequences. He believed that the South had been imposed upon 
and our rights invaded and denied us, but he never believed in 
the doctrine of secession or the right of States to secede from 
the Union at will. In December, 1861, he was elected one of the 
Aldermen of the town of Murfreesboro. In 1862 he was elected by 
the Aldermen, Mayor of Murfreesboro, and acted as Mayor until 
all civil and municipal law ceased by the action of the war. In 
October, 1861, he took an active part in restoring Civil Law in 
our country, and re-establishing and opening the Courts, at which 
time he was appointed by Chancelor John P. Steele, Clerk and 
Master of the Chancery Court of Rutherford County, Tennessee; and 
he appointed his son, Robert T. Tompkins, Deputy Clerk and Master 
of said Court, which office they still fill at this date, (1888). 
In 1882, owing to some ill-feelings engendered in the minds of some 
of the members of his Church, (which he had been a member of for 
upwards of forty years; which Church he loved and reverenced as 
a Mother,) he withdrew from said Church, and obtained a letter 
of withdrawal, which letter he kept, hoping, wishing and praying 
that the cause of his withdrawing might be satisfactorily adjusted, 
but seeing advances made in that way by the offending parties, 
and after giving the subject a long, careful and prayerful 



36 

consideration, and feeling it to be the duty of every Professing 
Christian to belong to and be a member of a Christian Church, in 
August 1888, he presented his letter to the Cumberland Presbyterian 
Church in Murfreesboro, and became a member of that Church, having 
full faith in its being a genuing Christian Church in Orthodoxy, 
and believing he could serve God acceptably in the same. 

I have written this condensed Memoir as a present to my 
Children, a Memento to my memory— hoping and praying that they 
may all make good and useful citizens, and do more good than I 
have done; that they may fill their stations in life with honor, 
and never disgrace the humble character and name of their Father- 
hoping we all may meet in Heaven. 

December 16th, 1888. JAMES M. TOMPKINS 



37 



MAYORS OF MURFREESBORO 
1818-1973 



1818 - 

1819 - 

1820 - 

1821 - 
1822^- 
1823/- 

1824 - 

1825 - 
1826. - 

1827 - 

1828 - 

1829 - 

1830 - 

1831 - 

1832 - 

1833 - 

1834 - 

1835 - 

1836 - 

1837 - 

1838 - 

1839 - 

1840 - 

1841 - 

1842 - 

1843 - 

1844 - 

1845 - 

1846 - 

1847 - 

1848 - 

1849 - 

1850 - 

1851 - 

1852 - 

1853 - 

1854 - 

1855 - 

1856 - 

1857 - 

1858 - 

1859 - 
1860 
1861 
1862 
1863 



Joshua Haskell 
David Wendel 
Robert Purdy 
Henry Holmes 
W. R. Rucker 
W. R. Rucker 
John Jones 
Wm. Ledbetter 
S. R. Rucker 
Wm. Ledbetter 
John Smith 
Edward Fisher 
John Smith 
James C. Moore 
Charles Ready 
Charles Niles 
Marman Spence 
M. Spence 
Edward Fisher 
L. H. Carney 

E. A. Keeble 
Edward Fisher 
G. A. Sublett 
B. W. Farmer 
B. W. Farmer 
H- Yoakum 
Wilson Thomas 
B. W. Farmer 
B. W. Farmer 
John Leiper 
John Leiper 
Charles Ready 
Charles Ready 
Charles Ready 
Charles Ready 
Charles Ready 

F. Henry 

E. A. Keeble 

B. Palmer 



Jos. 
Jos. 
Jos. 
Jos. 



B. Palmer 

B. Palmer 

B. Palmer 

- John W. Burton 

- John W. Burton 

- John E. Dromgoole 

- James Monro Tompkins' 



1864 


- 


James 


Monro Tompkins 


* 


1865 


- 


R. 


D. 


Reed 




1866 


- 


R. 


D. 


Reed 




1867 


- 


Chi 


arles Ready 




1868 


- 


E. 


L. 


Jordan 




1869 


- 


E. 


L. 


Jordan 




1870 


- 


Thomas B. Darragh 




1871 


- 


JO! 


seph A. January 




1872 


- 


I. 


B. 


Collier 




1873 


- 


I. 


B. 


Collier 




1874 


- 


Dr 


. J, 


. B. Murfree 




1875 


- 


Dr 


. J, 


. B. Murfree 




1876 


- 


H. 


H. 


Kerr 




1877 


- 


H. 


H. 


Clayton 




1878 


- 


N. 


C. 


Collier 




1879 


- 


N. 


C. 


Collier 




1880 


- 


Jai 


s. Clayton 




1881 


- 


Jai 


s. Clayton 




1882 


- 


E. 


F. 


Burton 




1883 


- 


E. 


F. 


Burton 




1884 


- 


J. 


M. 


Overall 




1885 


- 


J. 


M. 


Overall 




1886 


- 


H. 


E. 


Palmer 




1887 


- 


H. 


E. 


Palmer 




1888 


- 


Tom H 


. Woods 




1889 


- 


Tom H 


. Woods 




1890 


- 


Tom H 


. Woods 




1891 


- 


Tom H 


. Woods 




1892 


- 


Tom H 


. Woods 




1893 


- 


Tom H 


. Woods 




1894 


- 


Tom H 


. Woods 




1895 


- 


Tom H 


. Woods 




1896 


- 


J. 


T. 


Wrather 




1897 


- 


J. 


T. 


Wrather 




1898 


- 


J. 


0. 


Oslin 




1899 


- 


J. 


0. 


Oslin 




1900 


- 


J. 


H. 


Crichlow 




1901 


- 


J. 


H. 


Crichlow 




1902 


- 


J. 


H. 


Crichlow 




1903 


- 


J. 


H, 


Crichlow 




1904 


- 


J. 


H. 


Crichlow 




1905 


- 


J. 


H. 


Crichlow 




1906 


- 


J. 


H. 


Crichlow 




1907 


- 


J. 


H. 


Crichlow 




1908 


- 


J. 


H. 


Crichlow 




1909 


- 


J. 


H. 


Crichlow 





38 



1910 - 


Dr. 


G. 


B. 


Giltner 


1911 - 


Dr. 


G. 


B. 


Giltner 


1912 - 


Dr. 


G. 


B. 


Giltner 


1913 - 


Dr. 


G. 


B. 


Giltner 


1914 - 


Dr. 


G. 


B. 


Giltner 


1915 - 


Dr. 


G. 


B. 


Giltner 


1916 - 


Dr. 


G. 


B. 


Giltner 


1917 - 


Dr. 


G. 


B. 


Giltner 


1918 - 


Dr. 


G. 


B. 


Giltner 



(Defeated 4-16-18) 
N. C. Maney (Elected 
by Commission 5-8-18) 

1919 - N. C. Maney 

1920 - N. C. Maney 

1921 - N. C. Maney 

1922 - N. C. Maney 

1923 - Al D. McKnight 

1924 - Al D. McKnight 

1925 - Al D. McKnight 

1926 - Al D. McKnight 

1927 - Al D. McKnight 

1928 - Al D. McKnight 

1929 - Al D. McKnight 

1930 - Al D. McKnight 

1931 - Al D. McKnight 

1932 - N. C. Maney 

1933 - N. C. Maney 

1934 - N. C. Maney 

W. T. Gerhardt 

1935 - W. T. Gerhardt 

1936 - W. T. Gerhardt 

1937 - W. A. Miles 

1938 - W. A. Miles 

1939 - W. A. Miles 

1940 - W. A. Miles 

1941 - W. T. Gerhardt 

1942 - W. T. Gerhardt 

1943 - W. A. Miles 

1944 - W. A. Miles 

1945 - W. A. Miles 

1946 - W. A. Miles 

1947 - John T. Holloway 

1948 - John T. Holloway 

1949 - John T. Holloway 

1950 - John T. Holloway 

1951 - Jennings A. Jones 

1952 - Jennings A. Jones 

1953 - Jennings A. Jones 

1954 - Jennings A. Jones 

1955 - A. L. Todd, Jr. 

1956 - A. L. Todd, Jr. 

1957 - A. L. Todd, Jr. 

1958 - A. L. Todd, Jr. 



1959 


- A. 


L. 


Todd , Jr . 


1960 


- A. 


L. 


Todd , Jr . 


1961 


- A. 


L. 


Todd , Jr . 


1962 


- A. 


L. 


Todd , Jr . 


1963 


- A. 


L. 


Todd , Jr . 


1964 


- A. 


L. 


Todd , Jr . 


1965 


- W. 


H. 


Westbrooks 


1966 


- W. 


H. 


Westbrooks 


1967 


- W. 


H. 


Westbrooks 


1968 


- W. 


H. 


Westbrooks 


1969 


- W. 


H. 


Westbrooks 


1970 


- W. 


H. 


Westbrooks 


1971 


- W. 


H. 


Westbrooks 


1972 


- W. 


H. 


Westbrooks 


1973 


- W. 


H. 


Westbrooks 



*Tompkins is not usually 
included in the listing of 
mayors for reasons implicit 
in the news item carried in 
the Union Volunteer , May 20, 
1862. 



39 



THE KU KLUX KLAN 
By Ben Hall McFarlin 

The story of the Ku Klux Klan is one of the most colorful, 
as well as the most tragic, pages of American history. Its 
origin as a social club, its name, and its mysterious actions 
are interesting events to read and investigate, but the violent 
whippings and murders by the transformed Klan are tragedies. 
Many Middle Tennesseans were deprived of voting privileges; 
therefore, they resented the Negro's right to vote. After the 
Klan began its ghostly activities that frightened the Negroes, 
its members realized that the Klan could be made into an organi- 
zation which might aid in keeping the Negroes from the polls; 
and thereby, defeat the Radicals in the state government.-^ 

On an evening in December 1865, six young men were sitting 
around the fireplace in the law office of Judge T. J. Jones in 
Pulaski, Tennessee, just off the Square on West Madison Street. 
These men. Captain John C. Lester, Captain John B. Kennedy, 
Captain James R. Crowe, Frank O. McCord , Richard R. Reed, and 
J. Calvin Jones were citizens of the highest standing in the 
community and most of them were college graduates and none of them 
at any time were ever accused of any offense against the law. 
They had all served with the Confederate Army, and after they had 
returned to their homes, and while they were adjusting themselves 
to the new conditions of life, time hung heavy on their hands. 



40 

So that on this December evening when one of them suggested that 

they form a club or society of some sort, the idea met with 

p 
general approval. 

The name chosen for the club was KuKlox or KuKlos, a Greek 
word meaning "circle" or "cycle". The organizers of this club 
were out for fun, but it was fun of an innocent and harmless 
variety they had in mind at the beginning. ^ As the Klan grew 
in membership there was a change in their "fun". Most members 
regarded themselves as the protectors of white supremacy. Although 
the Klan frightened many Negroes, the white men regarded it with 
amusement and were eager to join.l 

The members and their initiation was secret, and their 
meetings mysterious. They rode their horses through town and 
the countryside covered with sheets, in the beginning. It pleased 
the members that through their superstitions, they were able to 
frighten the Negroes. As time evolved their uniform changed. 
The uniforms were made in complete secrecy. Much care was taken 

while the robes were being made to keep the facts from being 

2 
learned by the public. 

The Klan began its activities in the political sphere when 

the Negroes were granted suffrage and when the loyal militia was 

called into effect. The legislature passed the bill granting 

Negro suffrage on February 25, 1867; it permitted the Negroes to 

vote but still excluded the ex-Confederates. These actions 

interf erred with the rights of the southerners, and the Ku Klux 

Klan was the one organization which struggled to uphold these 

rights and privileges of which the southerners believed they were 

being unjustly deprived. 



41 

Early in 1867 the Klan changed from a social club with an 
absurd ritual and ridiculous regalia into a "great federation 
of regulators". It relinquished its frivolous fun-making for 
the serious purpose of controlling the Negro and the carpet- 
baggers. The men of Middle Tennessee transformed the Klan into 
a regulatory organization. It sought to regain freedom for the 
white southerners by combating the aims of the Negroes and a 
counter organization called the Union League. Its members 
consisted mostly of former slaves and carpetbaggers . -*- 

The Klan became involved in politics and state government. 
Knowing the attitude and policies of Governor Brownlow-'- (Governor 
Brownlow, before the war, was an anti-sessionist. He worked 
during the war in the North promoting the cause of the Union. 
After the war he returned to Knoxville and re-established his 
newspaper and took up his fight against ex-Confederates and 
carried his fight on to the governorship) , the Klansmen believed 
that his re-election would be disastrous to the Klan. By the 
beginning of the election year, the political situation was 
already distressing to the Conservatives and the ex-Confederates. 
Registration certificates had been granted to a low white class 
and to many ex-Confederates who had become Unionists, not because 
of conviction, but in order to vote. The granting of voting 
privileges to these people, instead of property-owners and tax- 
payers was an outrage to most respectable whites both Conservative 
and Unionists. Many sincere Unionists were not permitted to vote 
because they did not agree with Brownlow' s policies. The Klan 



42 

did not trust Brownlow. His sympathy lay with the Union and 
the southerners thought that his continued rule would push the 
South into further ruin. 

The Ku Klux Klan had a strong establishment in Murf reesboro. 
Membership was so large and bold that it drilled regularly in one 
of the open lots near town. The Klansmen practiced their marching 
and counter-marching in the fashion of a regular military company. 
The Klan also made public appearances in Murfreesboro through 
parades and similar group activities. A Nashville newspaper 
reported that one parade in Murfreesboro consisted of five to 
seven thousand. All marchers were dressed in the robes and tall 
pointed hats. "Some were so high that they took the slates off 
the roof of the new church building," the reported stated. On 
May 12, 1868, a report concerning a Murfreesboro parade declared, 
"They were all dressed in uniforms and their horses caparisoned 
in usual style." They commenced parading about nine o'clock and 
kept it up until after midnight. The Klan increased in number 
and extended throughout Rutherford County. On a Saturday night, 
February 22, 1868, about twenty Klansmen paraded through the 
streets of Murfreesboro. Dressed in white robes, masks, and tall 
hats with lights in the top of them, the Klansmen frightened the 
Negroes and ignorant whites. The Klansmen rode slowly through 
the streets, lingering in front of the houses occupied by teachers 
of freedmen. On the doorstep of the office of the Freedmen' s 
Watchman, a Radical owned newspaper, the following message was 
left: "Prepare thyself. Your doom is sealed. We swear by our 
slumbering dust you shall no longer oppress your downtrodden 
Brothers. "^ 



43 

The Klan's methods became violent. There were burnings, 
hangings, and whippings. These outrages did not take place in 
just one county, but were committed in all parts of Middle 
Tennessee and West Tennessee especially in Maury, Lincoln, Giles, 
Marshall, Obion, Hardeman, Fayette, Rutherford, and Gibson County. ■*- 

Many of the individuals who were outraged by the Klan and 
many witnesses to the violence perpetrated by the Klan testified 
to the government. Since the Ku Klux Klan was so intensive and 
well-organized, many people did not believe any moral influence 
could dissolve the Klan. George E. Judd , an agent of the 
Freedmen's Bureau, expressed the opinion that "Powder and Ball 
is the only thing that will put them down." Many people shared 
this view. The power of the government seemed to be the only 
solution for the protection of the Radicals, Unionists, and 
f reedmen . -'- 

There is no way of knowing just when and under what circum- 
stances the Ku Klux Klan was dissolved. The truth of the matter 
could be explained by saying that it just melted away and the 
process proceeded more rapidly in some sections than in others. 
One of the factors which led to the final disbandment of the 
original Ku Klux Klan and the end of its influence, was the 
appearance throughout the South of groups of counterfeit Ku Klux, 
who used the familiar and convenient disguise as a cloak for 
robbery, assault, and other crimes. 2 Since the purpose of the 
Klan to reinstate disenfranchised southerners by restoring their 
right to vote had been accomplished, the story generally accepted 



44 

by the historians is that Nathan Bedford Forrest, the Grand 
Wizard of the Klan, issued a formal disbandment order and that 

the Klan obeyed this order and destroyed its regalia, burned its 

2 

rituals and thus ceased to exist. 



■'■Brenda Mack McFarlin. The Ku Klux Klan in Middle Tennessee , 
(1866-1869), Pages - (Preface ii) , 33, 36, 41, 56, 63, 69, 70, 79. 

2 

Nelle Roller Cohen. Pulaski History , Pages 19, 21, 22. 



45 



THE HISTORY OF KITTRELL 
by Mary Hall 

Kittrell is located seven miles east of Murfreesboro on 
Highway 70 S, which was the original Stage Coach Road from 
Knoxville to Nashville. 

It was named for Major Marion B. Kittrell, who was born in 
Wilson County, July 17, 1820. He married Ellen Johnston on 
January 27, 1853. She was born in Wilson County, June 24, 1829, 
and died in the Kittrell Community, October 10, 1890. 

Their daughter, Lura, married Judge W. C. Houston of 
Woodbury. Their children were Frank Kittrell, W. C. Jr., and 
Simpson Fugitt who died in Murfreesboro, October 2, 1967. 
Major Kittrell served in the Civil War as a Major in 
General Joseph E. Johnston's Brigade. 

After the Civil War, Major Kittrell left Wilson County and 
moved to Woodbury in Cannon County. 

In 1874 he sold his property in Cannon County and purchased 
a tract of land on Cripple Creek in the 19th Civil District of 
Rutherford County. The deed was signed July 18, 1874. He lived 
on this farm until he died December 31, 1893. He was buried in 
the family graveyard near his home. 

The Federal Government established a Post Office in the -■ 
Community in 1884. They named it "Kittrell" in honor of one 
of its most respected citizens. Major Marion B. Kittrell. The 



46 



Post Office was discontinued when Rural Free Delivery was 
established. 



(Sources: Interview with Mrs. S. F. Houston; Records from 
the Houston Family Bible; Sims: History of Rutherford County ; 
Brown: History of Woodbury and Cannon County ; U. S. General 
Services Administration; Letter from Mr. Victor Keene. 



EARLY SETTLERS 

Major Kittrell did not come to this community until 1874, 
however there were many settlers before that time. 

One of the largest streams in Rutherford County is Cripple 
Creek. Legend tells us that a man, probably an Indian, was 
badly crippled from falling into the stream, and he called it 
"Cripple Creek." It meanders around the hills and through the 
valleys of this area. The rich land near its banks enticed men 
to settle wherever they found a spring. 

Records show John Beasley bought land in the area in 1803. 
Jonathan Hall paid taxes in Franklin County, Virginia in 
18 05, and in 1807 he bought land in Rutherford County. He had 
640 acres on Cripple Creek. 

Elihu Jones came from Virginia about the same time as 
Jonathan Hall, and was one of his nearest neighbors. 

Andrew Carnahan bought land in the community in 1810. 
Thomas Blair came from Virginia in 1812. He later sold his 
land to Henry Bowling and moved to Arkansas. 

Henry Bowling continued to enlarge his holdings by buying 
his neighbors land. A friend said, "Henry, how much land are 



47 

you going to buy?" Mr. Bowling answered, "I just want what 
j ines me . " 

Jesse Brashear, another large land owner re^corded a purcliasc 
in 1814. 

Alfred Conley carved the date, 1832, on the jam of his fire- 
place when his house was built. It is still there, and it is 
known today as the Uncle Dave Macon house. 

David Barton Hall came to this community in 1806, with his 
father, Jonathan Hall. In 1818 he purchased land at the foot of 
Pilot Knob, the highest hill in the area, and built a log house 
near a large spring. He sold his home in the 1840 's to his 
oldest son, Franklin, and with his four younger sons, Ferdinand, 
Fleming, Preston, and David, Jr. moved to West Tennessee. Their 
settlement was called "Halls", and is in Lauderdale County. 

Other people known to have been in the District at an early 
date are verified by the Census Reports of 1810-1850 and by an 
1878 map of Rutherford County. 

A partial list follows — 

Samuel Fulks came from Maryland and settled behind Pilot Knob. 

Joseph McCrackin came from North Carolina and settled on the 
west side of Pilot Knob. 

Robert E. Richardson, was a wagon maker and came from Virginia. 

C. O. Abernathy, David Batey, G. W. Benson, J. S. Bowling, 
Lee Freeman, Franklin D. Hall, John A. Herrod, Keele Herrod , John 
Hoover, Charles Hunt who owned the south side of Pilot Knob. 



48 



Andrew and Samuel Jimmerson, Thompson McCrackin, who 
helped survey the stage coach road, David and Issac Parker, 
William H. Smith, Joseph Thompson, William W. Wilson. 

David Columbus Witherspoon was a surveyor and went to 
Alaska when gold was discovered there. He joined the U.S. 
Geological Survey and helped survey the entire region. One 
of the highest peaks in a long mountain range was named 
"Mt. Witherspoon" in his honor. 



(Sources: Family records. Bibles, deed books in Registrars 
office. Census Reports 1810-1850.) 



CHURCHES 

Haynes Chapel Methodist Church 

In the summer of 1884, the noted Methodist Evangelist, 
Sam P. Jones of Cartersville , Georgia, conducted a revival in 
Murfreesboro. There was a large number of converts. Among 
them was a group of people living seven and eight miles east 
of Murfreesboro on the Woodbury Pike. 

A movement was started then to build a church in the 
community. J. C. Haynes bought an acre of land from W. M. 
Freeman and gave it for the church. In 1887 the Haynes Chapel 
Church was built. The trustees were: J. C. Haynes, John Coleman, 
R. N. Justice, W. M. Rogers, James Weeks, John A. Collier, J. B. 
Palmer, and W. T. Overall. 

The people in the community gave their time, labor, money 
and logs. The church was dedicated in August, 1887. Rev. W. M. 



49 

Rogers preached the dedication sermon. A large crowd was in 
attendance. There was "dinner on the ground," an afternoon and 
evening service, and many more were added to the church that day. 

The original church was built of donated logs and lumber. 
The roof was handmade of wooden shingles. The windows had 
wooden blinds. There was an aisle on each side of the house, 
one for the men, the other for the women, with no middle aisle. 
There was a mourners bench in front of the pulpit. 

A partial list of the early pastors were: W. H. Rogers, 
1887; Felix W. Johnson, 1888; John R. Thompson, 1889-1890; 
D. S. Osteen, 1891-1892; J. W. Taylor, 1893; C. R. Wade, 1894; 
W. T. Walkap, 1895. 

During this time fifty-five people were added to the church, 
and within the next few years twenty-six more were added. Mr. 
Dave Macon and Mr. George Cranor made up money for a church 
organ and Bible. 

Mr. J. K. Lee was pastor from 1907-1909, and during that 
time he organized the first children's program. 

From 1919 to 1922 Rev. H. E. Baker was pastor. While he 
was there the Epworth League with fifty members was organized. 
A new roof was put on and thirty-one new members were added. 

For many years the Seventh Day Adventist Church paid two 
dollars and a half per month rent for use of the church on 
Saturday. 

Due to the rotation plan of the Methodist Church conference, 
pastors usually serve two or three years. In 1953 Rev. O. H. 
Lane came back after several years absence for a second pastorate. 



50 

In 1960 the last charter member of the church, Mrs. L. D. 
Bowling, died at the age of eighty-nine. Some of the older 
members of the church living today are Mrs. Lizzie Early, 
Mr. and Mrs. Will Weeks, Miss Bertha Puryear, and Mrs. Lizzie 
Saums. 

During the last few years many improvements have been made 
to the building. Mr. Archie Macon wired it and put in electric 
lights, heat has been changed from coal to gas, the floor has 
been sanded, new seats and pulpit furniture purchased, concrete 
steps have been added, and rock siding has been put on the 
outside. 

In 1958 the members of the church built a parsonage on 
the lot adjoining the church and the entire area was landscaped. 

Rev. Leon Harris is the present pastor, and the membership 
is now approximately one hundred and twenty-five. 



(Sources: Mrs. Wendel Stegall, Mrs. Ruby Jennings, 
Mrs. Will Weeks, and Misses Mamie Sue and Lou Benson.) 



Seed Tick-Hickory Grove Baptist Church 

It is not known when a log house was built for a Negro 
church and school in the woods on the side of Tinch Hill. 

It was called "Seed Tick" Baptist Church, and was the only 
Negro church and school in the east end of Rutherford County. 

It is likely that it was built near the time of 'the Civil 
War. Alice Wright's daughter remembers her mother, who was born 
in 1867, telling her about walking as a child, three miles to 
Seed Tick school and sitting on logs for seats. 



51 

No record or remembrance has been found of the early 
ministers, but Mr. Frank Ferguson is remembered as being one 
of the early teachers. Other teachers were: Cordie Douglas, 
Mattie Crockett, and Frank Knight. 

The log house was later torn down, and a frame building - 
was erected at the same place. 

Children came from many miles to school there until bus 
routes were established. Children were then taken to Woodbury 
and Murfreesboro. 

From the beginning church services were held on the first 
Sunday in each month with revivals in the summer. Baptizings 
were conducted in Stones River below the bridge at Readyville. 

Early pastors remembered were: Bro. Will Henderson, 
Bro. Les Womack, and Bro. George Hughes. 

Elders were Zeke Brandon, Bud Brandon, and John Knight. 

Deacons were Cas Brandon and Oda Brandon. 

Church Mothers were Ruthy Davis who walked seven or eight ^ 
miles from Bradyville and seldom missed a service and Delia 
Knight. 

In 1938 a lot was bought near the highway at the foot of 
Peak's Hill and a new church was built. The name was changed 
to "Hickory Grove." 

As they were moving into the new church. Aunt Delia Knight, 
who was born in 1866, said, "I wonder who will have the first 
funeral?" It was hers in a few weeks. Rev. A. F. Murray was 
the pastor. She was buried in the Helton Cemetery at the foot 
of Pilot Knob where most of the members have been buried. 



52 

Other members were: Oscar Bowling, Frances Bowling, 
Uncle Zeke Brandon's family, the John Knight family, Foster Lyon, 
Fannie Lyon, Hattie Lyon, Cas Swafford and family. Josh Swafford 
and his family. Uncle Boss and Aunt Liz Walkup and their 
children. Aunt Chloe Goodman, Becky Dickens, Betty Sutton, Uncle 
Simon and Aunt Dink Wright, Alice Wright, Granville Dobbins, 
and Florence and Lollie Taylor. 

Within recent years the house has been improved by 
installing electric lights and gas heat and painting inside and 
outside. 

Some of the present members are: Pastor, Rev. John Wiser. 

Deacons: Gilbert Brandon, Jim Henry Newsom, Luther Russell. 
^ Teacher: Andrew Dunn. 

Church Mothers: Willie Swafford, Willie Bell Dunn. 

Among other members are: Lawyer Brandon, Amanda Brandon, 
Lorelle Brandon, Anne Dunn, Aline Newsom, Jerry Newsom, Audie 
Robinson, Alpha Knight Robinson, Lizzie Weatherly. 



(Sources: Church Record Book; interviews with Mrs. Willie 
Swafford, Mrs. Willie Belle Dunn, and Mrs. Alpha Robinson.) 



Science Hill 

Science Hill was the second Church of Christ organized in 
Rutherford County. 

Alexander Campbell and Barton W. Stone came to Rutherford 
County in the early thirties (1832-33) and organized groups 
which were known as the Christian Church. 

Alexander Campbell stayed in Murf reesboro, but Barton W. 
Stone went out into the country. He met with Andrew Carnahan 



53 

and David Barton Hall in a log house on David Hall's place. They 
accepted his explanation and theory of the "Back-to-the-Bible" 
Restoration Movement. They and their families were baptized and 
started the church there. 

They met every Sunday for worship in that log house, and 
Andrew Carnahan would spend the entire day reading and studying 
the Bible with all who wanted to hear. They soon had a consid- 
erable congregation. 

About the time of the Civil War that building burned and a 
larger one was built on a hill nearer the Stage Road on Franklin 
Hall's farm. It was also used for a school. This building 
burned in the 1880' s, and a still larger two-story building was 
erected to serve as a church, school, and lodge hall. 

As the school enrollment increased the curriculum expanded 
from reading, writing, and arithmetic to include science and 
several other academic areas. It was from the interest in 
science that it came to be called "Science Hill Academy". 

Although it became the largest and most outstanding school - 
in the eastern part of Rutherford County, it was equally well 
known as a Christian Church. 

As the Kittrell and Readyville schools developed. Science 
Hill stopped being a school, but it continued to grow as a church. 

The building deteriorated as the years passed, and in 1950 
Mr. Claiborn Harrell offered to give an acre of ground in front 
of the Kittrell High School if they would move the church down 
there. 



54 

The offer was accepted, and the old building was torn 
down. Much of its material was found to be in good condition. 
A new, modern brick building was erected, which has rafters, 
joists, and sub-floor made from the old building. This became 
the fourth building to serve the congregation in the one hundred 
and forty years of its existence, and although it is now nearly 
two miles from the hill where it was started in 18 33, the church 
will always be called "Science Hill." 

The Bateys, Beasleys, Bowlings, Breashears, Carnahans, 
Craigs, Dunns, Earlys, Halls, Hoovers, Kittrells, Richardsons, 
Smiths, Travises, Wilsons, Yourees, were among the early members. 
The fourth generation of some of these families still attend 
church there. 

Among the early ministers were: J. L. Bryant, Jesse Sewell, 
F. B. Shrygley, W. H. Sutton, T. B. Larimore, E. A. Elam, J. W. 
Shepherd who held a meeting every other summer for fifty years. 
C. M. Pullias alternated with Bro. Shepherd in his last years. 
Science Hill never had a full-time minister until after World 
War II. Joe Netherland began preaching monthly in 1941 and has 
been the full-time minister since his military service ended in 
1946. 

Among the early elders were: Frederick Craig, Franklin Hall, 
Andy Hoover, W. H. Smith. 

Elders today are: Mose Boyd, Roscoe Brown, Jim Laws, Ed 
Parnell, Mac Wilson, and Arthur Young. 



55 

Deacons are: Ray Donnell, Robert Adams, Fay Upton, William 
H. Walkup, and Gentry Whitworth. 

Secretary-Treasurer: Ray Arnold. 



(Source: Church records; Goodspeed's History of Tennessee .) 

Wilson Hill Baptist Church 

In 1850 a Baptist Church was established at the foot of a 
hill west of Pilot Knob owned by an early settler named Wilson. 

The charter named it "Wilson Hill Baptist Church of Christ." 

J. J. Jackson was the Pastor, and a record shows the charter 
members to be Ed Crosslin, John Cross, Jane Croslin, Mary (Polly) 
Cross, Rachel Burnett, Jane Mullins, and Emaline Gillum. 

The church was burned with all the other records. 

A new house was built in 1865 and most complete records 
have been kept from that date to the present time except from 
1900-1913. No records are in the books for that period. 

The church met in conference July, 1865, and elected Jesse 
Jonnigan (later spelled Jernigan) Pastor and Moderator. He held 
this position until 1886. 

Deacons elected at that time were Henry Arnett and Thomas J. 
Burnett. Henry Mullins was elected Clerk. He continued to be 
church clerk until his death in August, 1868. At that time Ichabod 
Daniel was appointed to take his place. 

On November 27, 1868, he wrote "I. B. Daniel this day returns 
this book to his beloved Brother George T. Brandon. So, farewell 
beloved brothers and sisters." 

A letter of dismissal was given him November 28, 1868. He 
must have moved from the community. 



56 

George T. Brandon continued as clerk from 1868 until 1898. 
He was ordained a deacon in 1884. 

In 1900 T. A. Jamison was the clerk, but there is no record 
of who followed him until 1913 when R. P. Wilson became a clerk. 
Others following were A. R. Hoover, Thomas Hoover, Gaither Hoover, 
and Mrs. Louise McElroy. 

Pastors and Moderators 

A Pastor was elected by the church conference to preach 
monthly and moderate at the business meetings. 

A visiting minister was invited to assist with an annual 
protracted meeting, or revival, in the summer. 

Among the Pastors were Jesse Jernigan (1866-1886) , James 
Jernigan, J. W. Jamison ordained in 1890, J. E. Tassey, R. A. 
Taylor (1913-1965), J. T. Casey and Lester F. Shelton. 

Some of the visiting ministers were Hardy Bruer, H. C. 
Haley, Jason Ray, J. P. Simes, H. T. Montgomery, J. W. Cooper, 
J. W. Anderton, W. H. Whitlock, and Marion Davenport. 
Members 

Complete records were kept of the members as they came into 
the church — by experience, baptism, or by letter. The following 
is a partial list of some of the early members: Henry Arnett, 
E. Barnes, Thomas J. Burns, Edward Croslin, John Cross, Jesse 
Daniel, Thurston Daniel, Henry Mullins, David Bivins, Jesse Bowlin, 
James Cox, A. P. Helton, Peter Helton, Thomas Herrod, Andrew 
Jimerson, Ed Jimerson, Marshall Pitts, and Wilson Todd. 

Female members were listed separately from the male. Among 
them was a Negro woman named Sely Wright. 



58 



Although the house was built over a hundred years ago, it 
is in excellent condition today having recently been remodeled 
and modernized by paneling, painting, storm doors, electric 
lighting, and gas heat. 

The present Pastors and Moderators are: W. C. Banks, 
Artie Roberts, and Clyde Roberts. 

Deacons are: Malcolm Pitts and Charlie Bryson. Clerk: 
Mrs. Louise McElroy. 

Delegates: Charles Bryson, Malcolm Pitts, Thurman Pitts. 



(Sources: Church record books; interviews with Thomas 
Hoover, Mrs. Louise McElroy, and Mrs. Gaither Hoover.) 



OUTSTANDING INDIVIDUALS 

Captain Robert Ray Boyd 

Bobby Boyd was the son of Mr. and Mrs. Mose C. Boyd. 

He attended Kittrell Elementary School, MTSU Campus 
School, and Central High School, where he graduated with honors 
in 1959. 

In May, 1964, he received a B. S. degree in chemistry 
from Middle Tennessee State University and Second Lieutenant 
rank from ROTC. He was a member of the Sigma Club, Track and 
Sabre Club, and the Chemical Association. 

He was one of six Distinguished Military Cadets at MTSU, 
and he was assigned to the 101st Airborne Artillery at Fort 
Campbell. He completed that course in October and went to Fort 
Sill, Oklahoma. He graduated from the Field Artillery Officers 
Basic Course and was sent to Viet Nam in July, 1965. 



59 



On October 24, 1965, he was awarded the "Certificate of 
Merit in Recognition of Outstanding Performance of Duty." 

On March 16, 1966, he was awarded the "Bronze Star Medal 
for Heroism." The citation states: "Lieutenant Boyd moved 
under heavy enemy fire to the platoon which was receiving the 
brunt of the new attack. He directed extremely accurate 
artillery fire upon the Viet Cong while exposing himself to the 
murderous fire so he could observe and direct the artillery. 
Disregarding the fact that the Viet Cong were directing their 
fire at him. Lieutenant Boyd continued to direct artillery fire 
for approximately five hours. His actions contributed greatly 
to the defeat of the Viet Cong forces. First Lieutenant Boyd's 
outstanding display of aggressiveness, devotion to duty, and 
personal bravery were in keeping with the highest traditions of 
the military service, and reflect great credit upon himself, 
his unit, and the United States." 

Following some of the demonstrations against the war, a 
woman in Pennsylvania wrote a letter to the soldiers in Viet 
Nam, expressing her appreciation for what they were doing. 
Bobby answered it. Her letter and his were published throughout 
the army bases and the United States. 

He said, "I consider it not only a duty, but a great 
privilege to be able to serve so that your boys may grow up in 
our wonderful country and enjoy all it has to offer. I am 
serving now, and your husband has served, in defense of our 
country so that we might enjoy the freedom of America. Now it 
is my turn to guarantee your children the same promise. May 
God bless you and your family." 



60 

Lieutenant Boyd was promoted to Captain in January, 1967. 
He was stationed at the Bein Hoa Air Paso near Saiqon and was 
the Communications Officer for the 173rd Airborne Division. 

He came home in February for the first furlough he had 
had. It was a wonderful month for his parents, relatives, and 
friends, and Bobby enjoyed every minute of it. 

He was a member of Science Hill Church of Christ. On 
Sunday night before he went back to Viet Nam he had charge of 
the service. He showed slides, described the life of the 
people there, and told with enthusiasm some of the experiences 
which he had. 

He signed up for another tour of duty before he came home, 
and on February 22 he said a happy "Goodbye" to his parents and 
family and returned to his base unit on February 23rd. 

On May 17 Captain Boyd was preparing for a convoy when a 
shell from a hostile mortar round hit him. He was killed 
instantly. 

After a military funeral, he was buried in the Coleman 
Cemetery on the Woodbury Road. 

On July 15, 1967, the United States Army presented posthumous 
awards to Captain Robert Ray Boyd. The Purple Heart , which was 
established by General George Washington in 1782, and is presented 
"to heroic men who have shown gallentry and devotion in the 
service of his country." The Bronze Star Medal and The Air 
Medal with First Oak Leaf Cluster were also awarded. 



61 



"Robert stands in the unbroken line of patriots who have 
given their lives that our Nation's goal of freedom and peace 
may be maintained." 

Judge A. L. Carnahan 

A. L. Carnahan was reared near Bradyville in Cannon County. 
He attended community schools and later graduated from Winchester 
Normal. 

In 1897 he bought the David Batey farm and moved into the 
Kittrell Community. He soon became one of the active leaders 
in church, school, and civic affairs. 

He was a member of the School Board for some time and was 
influential in getting a high school located at Kittrell. He 
was a member of Science Hill Church of Christ. 

He was elected magistrate for the 19th Civil District and 
held that office for several years. In 1918 he was elected 
County Judge, and presided over the Rutherford County Court for 
some time. 

Dr. Joseph David Hall 

Dr. J. D. Hall, son of Franklin D. Hall and Elizabeth 
McCrackin Hall, spent all of his life on the farm, "Piedmont," 
at the foot of Pilot Knob where his grandfather, David Hall, 
settled in 1818. His great-grandfather, Jonathan Hall, came to 
Rutherford County from Virginia in 1806 and settled a few miles 
away on Stones River and later on Cripple Creek. 



62 

Dr. Hall was born in 1854 and grew up during the difficult 
years of the Civil War. As a child he walked three miles each 
day to and from "Pap" Huddleston's school at Readyville. 

When Science Hill Academy started on his father's farm, 
he went to school there. The curriculum was extremely broad 
for those days. 

The principal was a highly educated man, a graduate of 
Princeton University. He also had some well-educated assistants. 
They offered Greek, Latin, science, trigonometry, calculus, in 
addition to the usual subjects of English, history, and geography. 
He took all these subjects. He worked on his father's farm and 
saved his money. 

When he finished school at the Academy, he apprenticed 
himself to Dr. A. P. McCullough at Milton for two years. In 
those days they called it, "Reading medicine under an old 
Doctor. " 

When he was not helping Dr. McCullough with his patients, 
he worked in a drug store and learned about medicine. 

In 188 he entered Vanderbilt Medical School and graduated 
in 1883. One of his classmates begged him to go into a partner- 
ship with him in Nashville, but he chose rather to come home and 
become a country doctor. 

In December, 1883, he married Miss Ella Lowe. They continued 
to live with his mother and father. 

In the early days of his practice, he road horseback with 
saddlebags across his saddle. He always kept good horses. 
"Old Joe," a sixteen hands, strawberry roan which he rode for 



63 

thirty years, was considered one of the best walking horses ever 
in Rutherford County. In the 1890' s he began using a buggy some, 
and about 1914 he got a car. 

His practice had a wide range from the Bradyville to the 
Hall's Hill Pikes, and from 1920 when the last doctor left 
Readyville, he was the only doctor between Murfreesboro and 
Woodbury. The nights were never too dark, nor the weather too 
bad for him to go when he was called. 

He was a member of the Church of Christ, a Mason, and was 
active in all civic and community affairs. 

He was an avid reader and was well posted on many subjects, 
especially on things pertaining to the medical profession. He 
belonged to the A. M. A., State and County Medical Associations, 
and served as President of Rutherford County Medical Society at 
one time. He was always interested in politics, and served on 
the County Democratic Committee. 

After practicing medicine for over fifty-five years he died 
of pneumonia at the age of eighty- four , and is buried in the 
garden of his home, "Piedmont." 

Uncle Dave Macon 

The most widely known citizen of the Kittrell community was 
"Uncle Dave Macon." 

David Harrison Macon was born near Smart Station in Warren 
County in 1870. In 1883 when he was a young boy, his parents 
moved to Nashville and ran the Broadway Hotel. After his father 
died, his mother sold the hotel in 1886 and bought the Charles 
Ready farm at Readyville. 



64 



In 1889 he married Miss Matilda Richardson and moved to a 
farm in the Kittrell community where he lived until his death in 
1952. In 1901, in addition to farming, he started a wagon freight 
line from Murfreesboro to Woodbury. He had two wagons. Hatton 
Sanfrod drove one, and he drove the other until Archie, the oldest 
of his seven sons, was big enough to help. 

They went to Woodbury one day and to Murfreesboro the next, 
handling and delivering materials all along the way. He knew 
every man, woman, and child along the twenty mile route and kept 
up with everything that happened. When a truck line started in 
1920, Mr. Macon decided it was time to stop his wagons. 

He always loved to sing and play the banjo. After the boys 
go big enough to help with the freight line, he had more time 
on his hands. 

On rainy days he would take his banjo to the neighborhood 
store and entertain all who came by. Soon he started going to 
schools on Friday afternoons. School children began calling him 
"Uncle Dave." 

It was not long until he was called on to help raise money 
with school programs, box suppers, pie suppers, cake walks, picnics, 
and all kinds of community affairs. If it were advertised that 
"Uncle Dave Macon" was going to be on a program, there was sure 
to be a crowd, for everyone loved his humor and ready wit as well 
as his music. 

In the early twenties he played some at Lowe's Theatre. In 
1924 he went to Knoxville and did his first recording. 



65 

When the "Solemn Ole Judge," Mr. George Hay, started the 
WSM "Grand Ole Opry" in 1925, Uncle Dave Macon became one of 
the first artists on the program. 

During the next twenty-seven years he seldom missed a 
Saturday night being there. He began calling himself "The 
Dixie Dew Drop." 

He was one of the first Grand Ole Opry artists to begin a 
traveling program during the week. He went all over the South — 
New Orleans, Atlanta, Birmingham, Mobile, and many small towns, 
also New York and other northern cities. He drew large crowds 
wherever he went. 

He was a member of Haynes Chapel Methodist Church. 

He died of pneumonia in 1952. He is buried in the Coleman 
Cemetery on the Woodbury Road. One hundred and twenty-five 
Grand Ole Opry stars contributed to the erection of a three 
thousand ton granite monument to his memory beside the highway 
on top of the hill overlooking Woodbury. 

Today his name stands among the great of the music world in 
Nashville where a plaque has been placed in his honor in the 
Grand Ole Opry Hall of Fame. 



(Sources: Interviews with Mr. Archie Macon and Mrs. Ruth 
Wood; Magazine Section, NASHVILLE TENNESSEAN. ) 



P. M. Puryear, Educator 

Portious Moore Puryear was born in Oxford, Granville County, 
North Carolina, November 26, 1839. He moved with his family to 
Walker County, Georgia, in the early part of 1860. He soon 



66 

enlisted in the 23rd Georgia regiment Confederate Army and served 
until it surrendered. He was under Stonewall Jackson and in the 
battle when that officer received the wound that caused his death. 
He later joined General Robert E. Lee's regiment and was with him 
at the surrender of Appomattox. 

He was a graduate of Princeton University. In 1867 he married 
Miss Margaret Gunn and came to the Kittrell community of Rutherford 
County, Tennessee. 

In 1870 he became principal of Science Hill Academy and taught 
there for seventeen years. It was the only school in that part of 
Rutherford County. Students came from other communities and 
boarded to go to school there. Professor Puryear, being a highly 
educated man, developed a very broad curriculum. He taught Greek, 
Latin, higher mathematics and science. He had two or three 
assistants who taught the basic skills of reading, writing, and 
arithmetic. 

He became a magistrate from the 19th Civil District in 1876. 
He took an active interest in the proceedings of the Quarterly 
Court and seldom missed a meeting. 

He belonged to Haynes Chapel Methodist Church which he helped 
build in 1884 and was a faithful worker there and "a public 
spirited and liberal, earnest supporter of all propositions for 
the good of the public" until his death on November 30, 1891. 



(Sources: Interviews with Miss Bertha Puryear; Family 
records; Copy of Resolutions passed by the Rutherford County 
Quarterly Court, January, 1892.) 



67 



SCHOOLS 

The first school in the Kittrell-Readyville area was taught 
in 1810 by James Barkley, a Revolutionary soldier, who moved to -^ 
Danville, Virginia, in 1833. It is not known where the building 
was. 

Soon after that Mr. W. B. Huddleston built a log house in 
the corner of his yard, where Mr. Leslie Justice now lives, and 
started a school known as "Pap Huddleston' s School." 

Children walked for many miles to this school, getting there 
by eight o'clock in the morning when "books took up" and staying 
until four in the afternoon. The curriculum was entirely the 
three "R's". 

Another school known to have been before the Civil War was 
in a log building at Wilson's Hill on the northwest side of Pilot 
Knob. It seems to have been discontinued when the war came on. 

The people in the community realized that their children's 
education had been neglected during the war years, and a need was 
felt for another school. 

Everybody joined together and erected a large building on 
Franklin Hall's farm. It became the outstanding school in the 
east end of Rutherford County. This was a big step forward in 
education as "academies" were being established throughout the 
state. The curriculum was expanded beyond the three "R's" to 
include science, Latin, Greek, higher mathematics, literature. 



68 

and history. Due to the innovation of science into the school 
program, the school came to be named "Science Hill Academy". It 
was used as a church on Sundays. 

In 1870 Mr. P. M. Puryear moved into the community. He was 
a graduate of Princeton University. For the next seventeen years 
he was principal of Science Hill Academy. 

He brought in as his assistants, several other well educated 
persons. Among them were Mr. Sam Billingsley, Mr. Smith Denton, 
Mr. Pollard Runnels, and Miss Nannie Stanley who taught music 
and art. 

The fame of this school spread, and students came from all 
neighboring communities and from far away. Several homes in the 
community were opened for boarding students. 

This building burned, and the school moved to a new building 
on the hill above the mill at Readyville. This school grew and 
prospered for several years, but it burned down in 1902. 

About 1895 the people in the Kittrell community decided 
another school should be started there. Mr. CO. Abernathy and 
Mrs. P. M. Puryear gave the land, and a two-room schoolhouse was 
built. 

For some time the school term in the county was only three 
months. Usually a subscription school would follow in the winter. 
After some years the community extended the term to five months 
and then to eight. 

Some of the early teachers were: Mr. Sam Nelson, Miss Ella 
Pitts, Mr. Tom Jamison, Mr. Henry Barton, Miss Willie Goodloe, 



69 

Mr. Charlie Elkins , Miss Betty Hayes, Mr. S. A. Youree, Miss 
White Jetton, Mr. Walter Kirby, Miss Jennie Speer, Mr. Genoa 
Bowling, Mr. Flint Speer. 

In 1909 the State Legislature passed a bill establishing 
four normal schools in Tennessee and a high school in every -^ 
county . 

Mr. Flint Speer was the principal at Kittrell. He visited 
leaders in the community and called a meeting of all the parents. 
They voted to petition the county court to build a two-year high 
school at Kittrell. The court granted the request provided a 
certain amount of money would be raised by the community. The 
people responded and raised the money within a few weeks. A 
sawmill was set up on the school grounds, and people donated logs 
for the framing. Ceiling, flooring, window and door frames had 
to be bought. It was discovered that reduced prices could be had 
in Nashville. Wagons and teams were donated and men drove down 
one day and returned the next with these building materials. 
People in the community donated their services. 

In the fall of 1911 Kittrell opened a new high school. The 
first graduates in 1913 were: Esther Couch, Mary Hall, Sam Jones, 
Ervin McCrary, Emmett Travis, Alline Youree, and Annie Youree. 

The following served as principals of the two-year high 
school: E. T. Stern, Flint Speer, C. F. Holt, Mr. Bryant, Clyde 
E. Richards, and Mr. Briar. 

In 1923 Mr. Flint Speer was principal for a second time and 
Kittrell became a four-year high school. 

In 1925 Frank Bass was principal. By this time the old frame 
building would no longer accommodate the increased number of pupils, 



70 



The parents launched a drive for a new building, and the present 
brick building was erected. 

Mr. Bass served as principal from 1925 to 1927 followed by 
Ross Shelton, Clyde Riggs, James Woodfin, Thomas Holden, Esten 
Macon, David Youree, R. V. Reynolds, and Thomas Tenpenny. 

It was through the efforts of Mr. Youree that Kittrell 
became an A grade school in 1953. 

The first gymnasium was built in 1927 principally from the 
lumber of the old building, but it was inadequate. Again, the 
community spirit was demonstrated by donating $3,000 for a larger 
and better gymnasium. 

Home economics was made a part of the curriculum in 1922. 
Mrs. J. J. Northcutt was the first home economics teacher. Miss 
Ruby McKnight held that position for twenty-eight years. 

The present agriculture room and shop were built by the 
county in 1948, and typing and shorthand were added to the curric- 
ulum in 1945. 

A new building for the primary grades was built in 1953. 
Since that time seven additional classrooms and a new home economics 
department have been added. A new agriculture building has also 
been constructed. 

The school now (1972) has an enrollment of 700, grades one 
through twelve, employing twenty- three teachers. 

The high school curriculum has been broadened until it con- 
sists of four years of English; three years of mathematics; two 
years of typing and shorthand; one year of business mathematics and 



71 

business law; home economics; agriculture; American history; 
general science; biology; chemistry; psychology; sociology; civics; 
health and physical education. 

As the school has improved, so has the mode of transportation 
advanced. In 1914 Mr. Ode Hoover drove the first school wagon to 
Kittrell. He purchased a new wagon and George Ralston constructed 
an overhead frame, covered it with canvas, and built benches along 
the sides. A black and red mule, "Tobe" and "Tige: pulled the 
wagon from behind Pilot Knob to Readyville and down the pike, now 
Highway 7 S, to Kittrell School. 

Other wagon drivers were: Jim Arnett, Elmer Carnahan, and 
Black McGill. Craig Youree and Roy Good drove wagons down Cripple 
Creek Road, and Will Weeks and Powell Hall came from the Loafers 
Rest area. 

The school was served by wagons until 1923. That year 
"Uncle Jack" Coleman got a stock truck for the school truck. He 
built seats along the sides and enclosed it with pine ceiling on 
hinges that could be let up and down for the comfort of the pupils 
in summer and winter. He drove the school truck as long as he 
was able. 

As wagons were replaced by trucks, trucks were replaced by 
buses. 

Since the program of consolidation came to the county, Kittrell 
as a four-year high school served the communities of Readyville, 
Halls Hill, Sharperville, Shiloh, Loafers Rest, Dilton, Murray, and 
Donnell's Chapel. 



72 



Five large buses, each having two routes, make two trips 
each day into these communities. 



(Sources: Kittrell School records: School Superintendent's 
Office; Report for Alumni by Miss Maggie Lowe.) 



FRATERNAL ORGANIZATIONS 

During Governor Robert L. Taylor's administration, farmers 
throughout the state began asserting their rights. 

In 1890 the Grange, or Farmers Alliance, was organized. 
They met in the upstairs room of the Science Hill Church. 

It was a strong organization for several years, and practi- 
cally all the farmers in the community belonged to the Grange. 
Among them were: David Batey, Frederick Craig, G. M. Dunn, Bud 
Brashear, J. D. Hall, Bud Helton, Andy Hoover, R. H. Kittrell, Jim 
Smith, and W. H. Smith. 

Several men in the community belonged to the Masonic Lodge. 
Records were destroyed in a fire, but J. D. Hall and W. H. Smith 
were among the members. 

SPORTS 

Fox Hunting 

One of the earliest sports in the community was fox hunting. 
Several men in the area had large packs of hounds. Mr. Ed McElroy 
had twelve. "John" and "Old Blue" were considered champions. Mr. 
Andy Hoover had nine hounds; among them were "Bugle" and "Trumpet".' 
Dr. J. D. Hall was another fan. At the time of the Spanish- American 



73 

War he had two dogs and named his hounds "Dewey" and "Schley" after 
heroes of the war. 

The area around Pilot Knob and Peak's Hill provided a very 
fine hunting range. 

The baying of the hounds "coming ' roung the mountain" filled 
the night air with music to the fans. 

In 1932 Harold Earthman (Doc), Broadus Maples, Wash Powers, 
and a few others organized the Rutherford County Fox Hunters 
Association. 

Mr. Earthman was the Representative for the Fourth Congres- 
sional District at the time. Being a democratic person, he disliked 
the possibility of this association's becoming a "Gentlemen's Social 
Organization," as they are in England. He wanted the love of fox 
hunting to be the ground for belonging, rich or poor, black or 
white, and not one's wealth or social position. 

In 193 3 he suggested that the name be changed to the "One 
Callus Fox Hunters Association." 

Mr. Earthman had several friends in Congress who were 
interested in fox hunting, and being very proud of Tennessee, he 
decided that he wanted to show those people what a real Tennessee 
fox hunt was like. 

In 1934 he came home from Washington and suggested to the 
other members of the One Callus Association that they put on the 
biggest fox hunt that had ever been in the United States. The 
other members joined readily in his plans. 

They chose the harvest moon time in October, and the area of 
Pilot Knob, Peaks Hill, and Craig Hollow for the hunt. 



74 

The camp was set up in Craig Hollow, and Mr. George Lassiter 
was put in charge of the food. He barbecued thirteen hogs and 
made coffee and other things in proportion. A news syndicate in 
Chicago announced the hunt all over the country, and people came 
from many areas. The Fox Hunting Magazine of England sent a 
reporter from London, one came from Chicago, a representative for 
Time, and the National Fox Hunters Association, and the state and 
local papers covered it. 

Some of Mr. Earthman's friends from Washington, Chicago, and 
New York came as well as fans from all over Tennessee, and a large 
representation from Rutherford County. There was an estimated one 
thousand people there and two hundred dogs. Most of them stayed 
all weekend. 

It was a huge success, and everyone said that there had 
never been such a fox hunt in the United States. The One Callus 
Fox Hunters Association has a clubhouse now near Eagleville. 
They still have annual hunts, but never another like that one. 



(Sources: Interviews with Mrs. Sam B. Dunn, Mr. Harold 
Earthman, and Mr. Broadus Maples.) 

Baseball 

Baseball was a part of the life of the community from the 
days of the first school, but it did not become very important 
until about 1911. 

Mr. Flint Speer was principal of Kittrell High School at 
the time. 

Walter Norris came home after being discharged from four 
years of service in the U. S. Army where he had been an outstanding 
pitcher on an army baseball team. 



75 

The school program at that time gave an hour for lunch. 
Walter came to school every day at lunch to play ball. 

There was a fine group of large boys in school, and acting 
as coach and pitcher, Walter soon developed a champion team. 
They practiced in the afternoon after school and on Saturdays 
until a schedule of games was filled. 

From that time they had no open dates during the season for 
the next two or three years. They played all teams in the county 
and surrounding areas. 

It was the first time a curved ball was ever pitched in this 
area. Community fans followed them wherever they went. There 
were always big crowds. Fans went many miles to see the games. 

The team went far and near to play schools, at picnics, 
county fairs, and on Sunday afternoons all summer. 

One man from Smithville said, "I would go anywhere to see 
a ball game if I knew Walter Norris was going to pitch." 

The members of the team were: Walter Norris, Will Early, 
Jesse Helton, Sam Jones, Frank Lowe, Ervin McCrary, Aubra McCrary, 
Walter McKnight, Orville Tilford, and Youree Perry. 

Basketball 

In 1923 when Kittrell became a four-year high school, 
basketball bounced into the school and into the hearts of 
Kittrell fans. 

Mr. Flint Speer was the principal, and Mr. Oscar (Uncle Bud) 
Baskin was the coach. 

On this team was one of the best players the school has 
ever produced, Powell Early. After playing four year at Kittrell 
he went to college (MTSU) and made the varsity team. Other players 



76 

during the first few years included Samuel Youree, Marcus Brandon, 
Maurice McKnight, Rush Palmer, Hall Woodward, Robert Abernathy, 
Robert Kerr, and Deward (Foots) Compton. 

In 1925 Frank Bass came to Kittrell as principal and coach. 
The boys succeeded in going to the finals in the District Tourna- 
ment for the next several years. 

An outstanding girls team was developed when Miss Sadie Mae 
McMahan became coach. She had an excellent team in 1920 with 
Katie Alexander, Sarah Rion, Odell Sneed, Bertha McFerrin, Jenny 
McElroy, and Ruby Gates. They won both the District and Regional 
Tournaments. 

The boys had a slump for some years, but in 1938 "Foots" 
Compton led the team as a great point maker with Adam DeBerry as 
defense man. They went to the state tournament in 193 9 and broke 
all scoring records. Compton went on to college and was named 
"All American. " 

Mr. Jack Jarrett was the boys coach for the next few years, 
and Ruby Sanford, a past star, was the girls coach. She developed 
such good players as Elaine Milligan, Juanita Hollandsworth, Ella 
Jo and Marie Herrod. 

Mr. Kenneth Colston became coach in 1958 and Kittrell really 
came into the limelight. Jimmy (Monk) Montgomery was one of the 
most exciting players the state has ever produced. He broke all 
records for the most points scored in the state. He had great 
help from his teammates Ben Gates, Bobby Jones, Jimmy and George 
Nipper. 



77 

In 1962 no coach was hired for Kittrell, and "Foots" Compton, 
a former star, gave his time to come and coach the boys. He 
developed another winning team. 

Bob Burden became coach in 1963. He had a record of 190 
wins and 74 losses in the next nine years. Better things began to 
happen for the Kittrell girls when Ben Gates became their coach. 

In 1971 they went to the state tournament for the first time, 
having won the county tournament, second place in both district and 
regional tournaments and first place in the sub- tournament. The 
leading scorer in the state was Connie Vance. She had splendid 
help in Jo Love and Emma Newsom. 

The Kittrell girls finished the 1972 season with 28 wins 
and 3 losses. They were runners-up in the district tournament and 
winners of the regional and sub-state. They went to the state 
tournament for the second consecutive year and were rated one of 
the finest teams in the state. Members of the team were: Connie 
Vance, Sandy Vance, Stella Milligan, Gale Robinson, Jean Lynch, 
Brenda Eaglen, Debbie Duke, Emily Vance, Dannette Duke, Claudia 
Hollandsworth, Kahty and Cindy Tolbert. They did credit to the 
school. 

Coach Gates and all the Kittrell fans had great hopes that 
they would win the tournament. They had defeated every team they 
played except Gallatin. They easily won their first rounds in the 
tournament but were defeated by the strong Lewisburg team which 
won the tournament. 

Connie Vance was recognized as the best player in Rutherford 
County history. Her jersey. No. 33, has been retired along with 



78 

"Monk" Montgomery's, No. 43. She was the leading scorer in the 
state in 1972 and was chosen by the Nashville Banner as being the 
Most Valuable Player in the state. 

1972 ended forty-nine years of basketball for Kittrell. 

There have been many thrilling moments, close games, exciting 
wins, comparable losses, and tournament champions during these years. 

Good coaching has been demonstrated, sportsmanship has been 
shown, and great players have been developed to linger in the memory 
of the players and fans as Kittrell High School comes to a close. 



(Sources: Mr. Joe Gates, Kittrell School Records.) 

GENERAL STORES 

There were two stores in Kittrell. They were on opposite 
sides of the road. Mr. Burgan Jamison and Mr. Billy Smith had a 
store on the north side of the road for several years, but closed 
some time before the other one did. 

Across the road a few yards from the blacksmith shop was 
Mr. Lewis Bowling's store. 

In 1884 the U. S. Government established a Post Office at 
Kittrell. They put it in Mr. Bowling's store and appointed him 
Postmaster. 

Both stores were the typical general country store with pot- 
bellied stoves, J. P. Coats thread, cracker barrels, nail kegs, 
pins, domestic and calico, smoking and chewing tobacco, sugar, salt, 
coffee, and all commodities to meet country people's needs. 



79 

The Post Office was closed when Rural Free Delivery was 
established. Route #5 came out from Murfreesboro. The store 
continued in operation until Mr. Bowling became ill in 1923. He 
died in 1925. 

INDUSTRIES 

Blacksmith Shop 

One of the best blacksmith shops in this part of Rutherford 
County was at Kittrell. It was run by Mr. Jack and Mr. Will 
Coleman. In addition to shoeing horses, "Uncle Jack," as he was 
called, could fix anything. 

Mr. Will lived some distance from the shop, but Uncle Jack 
lived "just a stone's throw" from the shop in the tollgate house. 

From the early days of the stage coach road, which later was 
called a "turnpike", until the state took it over, a tollgate was - 
placed about every five or six miles. 

The first one out of Murfreesboro was where Mercury Boulevard 
now runs into Highway 70. The second one was at Kittrell, a third 
one just above Readyville, and a fourth one was just below the 
bridge at Woodbury. 

A house was built with a porch reaching the road. A long log 
would be put across the road about four feet from the ground with 
a rope on one end which could be fastened to a post on the porch. 
The other end rested on a frame and had weights on it which would 
make the pole go up when the rope was unfastened. 

A toll was charged of 5<: for horseback, 10<: for buggies, and 
15-25<: for wagons according to the load. 



80 

Mrs. Coleman ran the tollgate during the day when Uncle Jack 
was in the shop and he took care of it at night, and thus they 
were able to keep up with where everybody went. 

The first tourist who came up the road in a car ran into the 
tollgate and smashed his windshield. As long as Uncle Jack lived 
he enjoyed telling about the "cussin out" which that man gave him 
for having a pole across the road. 

Uncle Jack could fix anything from a clock to a steam engine. 
They made plows, wagons, hoes, rakes, and any other kind of tool 
used on the farm. 

When the state highway changed the road the tollgate and 
blacksmith shop were done away with. Mr. Will began farming and 
Uncle Jack drove the school wagon. 

Sorghum Hill 

As soon as "frost was on the pumpkin," and leaves began to 
turn, people started stripping their sorghum cane and bringing it 
in great wagon loads to Mr. Pitts' sorghum mill. 

Mr. M. E. Pitts owned a farm on the banks of Cripple Creek. 
He grew the usual corn, cotton, wheat, and a large patch of sorghum. 
He built a mill to grind his cane under a big oak tree between his 
house and the creek. 

The mill consisted of a grinder which was turned by a pole to 
which a mule was fastened. He went in a circle around the mill 
and furnace^. 

A large pan, several feet long, caught the juice as it was 
ground out in the mill. The pan extended over a furnance which 
was kept hot by a wood fire underneath. After the juice was 



81 



squeezed from the cane the remaining pulp, called "chawings," was 
put in a big pile near by. Farmers frequently took it home to 
feed cows, and children loved to play on it. 

It took several hours to cook the juice "down" to molasses; 
therefore, the cooking lasted until in the night. As it was done 
in the season of the harvest moon, the nights were usually pretty 
and bright. It was one of the interesting entertainments for the 
young people of the community to go to the sorghum mill in the 
evenings with their buttered biscuits for the first taste of the 
sweet syrup. 

Later in the year, molasses candy pullings, helped many 
evenings pass happily for the young people. 

People came for miles with their jars, jugs, and kegs to get 
Mr. Pitts molasses. The sorghum mill was discontinued when he 
died in 1913. 

Weaving 

Mrs. John Sanford, called "Miss Sine" by her family and 
friends, had a hand loom in her home. For many years she wove 
blankets, carpets, rugs, and linsey cloth for people in the 
community and neighboring areas. 

One afternoon in the spring of 1911 after a hard rain and 
thunder storm, her husband came home from the field and found her 
lying in the road in front of the house. She had been killed by 
lightening. 

Weaving is still being done in the community. Mrs. Lizzie 
Saums has a loom which she has used for many years. She helped 



82 

her mother and grandmother thread their loom when she was a child, 
and when they were not looking she shot the shuttle across. As 
soon as she was tall enough to reach the treadle, they taught her 
to weave and she has been doing it ever since. She does custom 
weaving of rugs and carpets at her home on Mt. Herman Road where 
she has lived all of her life. 

LANDMARKS 

The outstanding landmark in the Kittrell-Readyville communities 
is Pilot Knob. 

It is said by Dr. Edward Baldwin, geographer for many years 
at Middle Tennessee State University, to be the highest point in 
Tennessee east of the Mississippi River until the foothills of 
the Cumberland Mountains in Cannon and Warren counties. 

No one knows who named the hill "Pilot Knob." It was called 
that when the first settlers came to the area. They said that the 
Indians had used it as a guiding point, a lookout place, and a 
smoke signal station. It can be seen for an area of twenty or 
more miles in every direction. 

During the Civil War the North and South considered it of 
sufficient importance that they had several skirmishes in the 
area to get possession of the hill. One of the armies built a 
"lookout" up in a large tree which stayed there until after 1920. 
It was used as a signal station, and with a telescope one could 
see a distance beyond Murfreesboro. It was a very important point 
when the battle of Stones River was fought. 



83 

For many years it provided a recreation area for hunters and 
youth in the community. The south side of the Knob has always 
been covered with grass and used as pasture. People frequently 
entertained visitors by taking them up to view the landscape which 
was especially magnificent in the fall and spring. 

One day some bright youngsters took some wide planks and 
nailed a foot rest on one end. They took them up to the crest of 
the hill and rode down on the planks. From that day for a long 
time to come it became one of the chief recreations for the young 
people to go to the Knob on weekends and ride down the "shoot-to- 
shoot" on the south side. 

The east, west, and north sides had some tillable land and a 
lot of woods which provided hunting grounds for all kinds of 
animals. Boys made their money during the winter months hunting 
and trapping coons, opossirms, polecats, and foxes whose homes 
were in the woods. 

At one time Mr. Bob Lytle had a famous peach orchard on one 
side of the Knob, and people came for miles for the choice fruit. 

One of the best Girl Scout camps in Tennessee, Piedmont Camp, 
is at the foot of Pilot Knob and serves girls from Rutherford and 
surrounding counties. 

FOLK LORE 

Thomas Blair came from Virginia and settled on Cripple Creek. 
His daughter, Elizabeth, married Jonathan Hall's oldest son, David 
Barton Hall. She died in 1815 when their son, Franklin Donald was 
born. 



84 

Thomas Blair sold his land to Henry Bowling and moved to 
Arkansas. David Hall and his young son, Franklin, went with them. 
He soon decided to come back to Tennessee. 

On the way he stopped at a trading post and left the little 
boy with the horse. It took him some time to purchase the food 
and supplies he needed. When he came back to his horse, Franklin 
was no where to be seen. 

After searching all over the area, a traveler came along and 
said that he had seen a little white boy in an Indian camp some 
miles away. They had kidnapped the child and had taken him to 
their camp. David rode in agony as fast as he could, but it took 
some time for him to find the camp. 

All his fears were allayed when he got there and saw a very 
happy little boy having a grand time standing on a stump dressed 
as a little Indian chief with the braves dancing around him singing 
a song. 

After assuring the Indians that he was the child's father and 
that he had not been abandoned, then laden with gifts, Franklin 
and his father bade the Indians good bye and were soon again on 
their way home. 

The experience remained a pleasant memory of his childhood 
which Franklin loved to tell about as long as he lived. 



BOOKNOTE: 

Historic Cane Ridge and Its Families , a 1973 publication by 
Mrs. Lillian Brown Johnson, is due to come off the press late this 
year. It is listed in the Library of Congress under No. 73-85673. 
The price is $20 plus $1 for tax and 75C for mailing and handling. 

This is a combined history and geneological records of the 
early settlers of District 6, Davidson County. The work was begun 
by Mrs. Johnson when she started research to complete an appli- 
cation for her husband, Buford Boyd, to become a member of the 
Sons of the American Revolution. 

She contacted residents of the area and found so many of those 
presently living that knew their families had lived in the area of 
the Cane Ridge Presbyterian Church for several generations, and 
they were interested in knowing more of the history of the early 
settlers, so she continued her research until she has completed a 
4 50-page book containing over 1500 surnames and hundreds of given 
names. The book contains church as well as family records and is 
sure to be of interest to all who have been a part of this area of 
our state. There are descendants of seventeen Revolutionary Patriots, 
such as Austin, Baker, Boaz, Gray, Johnson, Peay, Gambill, Thompson, 
and others. 

The book is indexed and contains over one hundred pictures. 
It is being printed by Blue and Gray press, and it will be 
available from the writer, a resident of Smyrna. 



RUTHERFORD COUNTY HISTORICAL SOCIETY MEMBERSHIP LIST 
AS OF NOVEMBER 1973 



1. Mr. John P. Adams 
Route 4 
Murfreesboro, Tn 37130 

2 Mrs. John P. Adaras 
Route 4 
Murfreesboro, Tn 37130 

y-3. Mrs. W. D. Adkerson 
Compton Road 
Murfreesboro, Tn 37130 

Vf4, Mr. Robert Baskin 
801 E. Lytle 
Miorf reesboro , Tn 37130 

5. Mr. Robert T. Batey 
Route 1, Box 44 
Nolensville, Tn 37135 

^,'6, Mr. Fred W, Brigance 
1202 Scottland 
Murfreesboro, Tn 37130 

V'7. Mrs. Fred W. Brigance 
1202 Scottland 
Murfreesboro, Tn 37130 

8. Mrs. Lida N, Brugge 
714 Chickasaw Road 
Murfreesboro, Tn 37130 

9, Mr. J, D. Carmack 
1707 Herald Lane 
Murfreesboro, Tn 37130 

10. Mrs. J. D. Carmack 
1707 Herald Lane 
Murfreesboro, Tn 37130 

11. Miss Louise Cawthon 
534 E. College 
Murfreesboro, Tn 37130 

12. Mr. Almond Chaney 
Sanford Road 
LaVergne, Tn 37086 

'-13. Mrs. George Chaney 
P.O. Box 114 
LaVergne, Tn 37086 



14. Mr. James L. Chrisman 
2728 Sharondale Court 
Nashville, Tn 37215 

15. Mrs. James K. Clayton 
525 E. College 
Murfreesboro, Tn 37130 

16. Mr. Louis Bush Cole 
2815 Tyne Blvd. 
Nashville, Tn 37215 

17. Mrs. Louis Bush Cole 
2815 Tyne Blvd. 
Nashville, Tn 37215 

18. Dr. Robert Corlew 
Manson Pike 
Murfreesboro, Tn 37130 

19. Dr. Walter R, Courtenay 
Eagleville 
Tennessee 37060 

20. Mrs. A. W, Cranker 
305 Tyne 
Murfreesboro, Tn 37 1.30 

21. Mrs. Florence Davis 

Old Nashville Hwy, , Rt, 2 
Smyrna, Tn 37167 

22. Mrs. Moulton Farrar, Jr. 
502 Park Center Drive 
Nashville, Tn 37205 

23. Miss Myrtle Ruth Foutch 
103 G Street, S.W, 
Washington, D. C. 20024 

24. Mr. Robert T. Goodman 
202 N. Academy Street 
Murfreesboro, Tn 37130 

25. Mrs. Robin Gould 
2900 Connecticut Ave. 
Washington, D. C. 20008 

26. Mrs. Robert Gwynne 
Brittain Hills Farm 
Rock Springs Road 
Smyrna, Tn 37167 



*27. Miss Mary Hall 
821 E. Burton 
Murf reesboro , Tn 37130 

28. Mr. John L. Heath 
Box 146 
LaVergne, Tn 37086 

29. Miss Adelaide Hewgley 
Route 3 

Murf reesboro , Tn 37130 

30. Mrs, Eulalia J. Hewgley 
Route 3 

Murf reesboro, Tn 37130 

"31. Mr. Walter King Hoover 
101 Division 
Smyrna, Tn 37167 

*32. Mr. Robert S. Hoskins 
310 Tyne 
Murf reesboro , Tn 37130 

v«33. Mrs. Robert S. Hoskins 
310 Tyne 
Murf reesboro , Tn 37130 

Vc34. Mr. C. B. Huggins, Jr. 
915 E. Main 
Murf reesboro, Tn 37130 

35. Dr. James K. Huhta 

507 E. Northfield Blvd. 
Murf reesboro, Tn 37130 

36. Mr, Norman F. Hutchinson 
410 Apollo Drive 

Murf reesboro, Tn 37130 

•'f37. Mr. Ernest King Johns 
Jefferson Pike 
Smyrna, Tn 37167 

38. Mr. Thomas N. Johns 
501 Mary Street 
Smyrna, Tn 37167 

"39. Mrs. Buford Johnson 
109 Chestnut Street 
Smyrna, Tn 37167 

40. Mr. Homer Jones 

1825 Ragland Avenue 
Murf reesboro , Tn 37130 



*4l. Mr. Robt. B. Jones, III 
819 W. Northfield Blvd. 
Murf reesboro, Tn 37130 

*42. Dr. Belt Keathley 

1207 Whitehall Road 
Murf reesboro, Tn 37130 

Vf43. Mrs. Belt Keathley 
1207 Whitehall Road 
Murf reesboro , Tn 37130 

*44. Mr. W. H. King 

2107 Greenland Drive 
Murf reesboro, Tn 37130 

*45. Mrs. W. H. King 

2107 Greenland Drive 
Murf reesboro, Tn 37130 

*46, Mr. George Kinnard 
Route 1 
LaVergne, Tn 37086 

'V47. Mrs. Goerge Kinnard 
Route 1 
LaVergne, Tn 37086 

Vf48, Mr. VJilliam C, Ledbetter, Jr, 
115 N, University 
Murf reesboro, Tn 37130 

49. Mr. T. Vance Little 
Beech Grove Farm 
Brentwood, Tn 37027 

"50. Mrs. Dorothy Matheny 
1434 Diana Street 
Murf reesboro, Tn 37130 

51. Mrs. James H. McBroom, Jr. 
Route 2, Box 131 
Christiana, Tn 37037 

*52. Mr. Ben Hall McFarlin 
514 E. Lytle 
Murf reesboro, Tn 37130 

^^53. Mrs. Ben Hall McFarlin 
514 E. Lytle 
Murf reesboro, Tn 37130 

54. Mrs. Luby H. Miles 

Monroe House, Apt, 601 
522 - 21st St., N.W. 
Washington, D, C. 20006 



-2- 



55. 



56. 



57. 



58. 



60. 



61. 



63. 



64. 



66. 



67. 



68. 



Mr. Donald E. Moser 
I6l8 Riverview Drive 
Murfreesboro, Tn 37l3U 

Mr. Eugene R. Mullins 
2400 Sterling Road 
Nashville, Tn 37215 

Mrs. David Naron 

Rock Springs Rd., Route I 

LaVergne, Tn 37086 



Mr. John Nelson 
Route 4 
Murfreesboro , Tn 



37130 



Mr. Lawson B. Nelson 
13812 Whispering Lake Dr, 
Sun City, Arizona 85351 

Dr. Joe Edwin Nunley 
305 2nd Avenue 
Murfreesboro, Tn 37130 

Mr. Charles C. Pearcy 

LaVergne 

Tn 37086 

Dr. Homer Pittard 

309 Tyne 

Murfreesboro, Tn 37130 

Mr. Bobby Pope 
Old U.S. 41 
LaVergne, Tn 37086 

Mr. A. C. Puckett, Jr. 
Mason Circle 
LaVergne, Tn 37086 

Mr. Robert Ragland 

Box 544 

Murfreesboro, Tn 37130 

Mrs. Robert Ragland 

Box 544 

Murfreesboro, Tn 37130 

Mr. Sam Ridley 

Box 128 

Smyrna, Tn 37167 

Mr. Knox Ridley 

Box 128 

Smyrna, Tn 37167 



Shull 



69. Mr. Granville S. Ridley 
730 E. Main 
Murfreesboro, Tn 37130 

70. Mrs. James A. Ridley, Jr, 
Lebanon Pike 
Murfreesboro, Tn 37130 

71. Mr. Billy E. Rogers 

506 Jean Drive, Route 2 
LaVergne, Tn 37086 

5'f72. Mrs. Elvis Rushing 
604 N. Spring 
Murfreesboro, Tn 37130 

73. Mr. E. R. Sanders, Jr. 
205 Cttmberland Cr, 
Nashville, Tn 37214 

"74. Miss Racheal Sanders 
1114 N, Tenn. Blvd. 
Murfreesboro, Tn 37130 

'f75. Miss Sara Lou Sanders 
1114 N. Tenn, Blvd. 
Murfreesboro, Tn 37130 

76. Mr. John F. Scarbrough, Jr. 
701 Fairview 
Murfreesboro, Tn 37130 

77. Dr. R. Neil Schultz 
1811 Jones Blvd. 
Murfreesboro, Tn 37130 



''^78. Mr. Gene' H. Sloan • ■ 
728 Greenland Dr, 
Murfreesboro, Tn 37130 

79. Colonel Sam W. Smith 
318 Tyne 
Murfreesboro, Tn 37130 

"80. Miss Dorothy Smothemian 
1220 N. Spring Street 
Murfreesboro, Tn 37130 

^<8l. Mr. Travis Smotherman 
6565 Premier Drive 
Apt. A-12 
Nashville, Tn 37209 

82. Mrs. E. C. Stewart 
4200 Old Mill Road 
Alexandria, Virginia 22309 



-3- 



83. Mr. Roy E. Tarwater 
815 W. Clark Blvd. 
Murfreesboro, Tn 37130 

84. Tenn. State Library & Archives 
Nashville 

Tennessee 37219 

85. Mr. Mason Tucker 
Route 6 , Elam Road 
Murfreesboro, Tn 37130 

86. Mrs. Emmett Waldron 
Box 4 

LaVergne, Tn 37086 

87. Mr. Roy L. Waldron 
Route 2 
Murfreesboro, Tn 37130 



*96. Mr. W. H. Wilson 
1011 Sa\>ryer Drive 
Murfreesboro, Tn 37130 

97. Mr. Henry G, Wray 
104 McNickle Drive 
Smyrna, Tn 37167 

98. Mr. Wm. A. Shull, Jr. 
4 211 Ferrara Drive 
Silver Springs, Md 20906 



88. Mr. Vester Waldron 
LaVergne 
Tenn. 37086 



89. Mrs. Vester Waldron 
LaVergne 

Tenn. 37086 

90. Mr. William T. Walkup 
202 Ridley St. 
Smyrna, Tn 37167 

91. Mrs. George F. Watson 
Executive House, B-17 
Franklin, Tn 37064 

92. Mrs. P. H. Wade 

1700 Murfreesboro Rd. 
Nashville, Tn 37217 

■93. Mayor W. H. Westbrooks 
305 Tyne 
Murfreesboro, Tn 37130 

94. Mrs. W. H. Westbrooks 
305 Tyne 
Murfreesboro, Tn 37130 

95. Miss Virginia Wilkinson 
1118 E. Clark Blvd. 
Murfreesboro, Tn 37130 



* indicates charter members 



-A- 





DATE DUE 




















































































































































1 ^° =°= JOSTE^-S 









DATE DUE 







JY 09'^' 

m 

TTl 8 '97 



MAR b 



•Q 



^jII* ■ * ^ 



LfiLjI. 



5?r ^ V 2|303 



ftM»£5 20i« 





HIGHSMITH 45-220 



M T S U LIBRARY 



3 3082 00527 4567 

976.857 
R931p 



V.2 



76-01592 



AUTHOR Rutherford County Historical 
Society Publication no. 2, 
Winter. 19 7^ 



LIBRARY 

MIDDLE TENNESSEE STATE UNIVERSITY 

MURFREESBORO, TENNESSEE