(navigation image)
Home American Libraries | Canadian Libraries | Universal Library | Community Texts | Project Gutenberg | Children's Library | Biodiversity Heritage Library | Additional Collections
Search: Advanced Search
Anonymous User (login or join us)
Upload
See other formats

Full text of "Publication"

Digitized by the Internet Archive 

in 2010 with funding from 

Lyrasis IVIembers and Sloan Foundation 



http://www.archive.org/details/publication17ruth 



$3.50 



T 

976 
♦ 357 
F93lp 
v,]7 



RUTHERFORD COUNTY 
HISTORICAL SOCIETY 



Publication No. 1 7 




ROBERT \A/EAKLEY 




Summer 1981 
Murfreesboro, Tennessee 37130 



The Cover 

Pobllcatlon nuniber 17 contains an article on the town of 
Jefferson iriille it was the counter court seat, I803 - I8II. Robert 
Weakley was one of the foimders of Jefferson and a portrait of him 
is a part of our cover. Some of Robert Weakley's descendants still 
live In the Jefferson area. Very little remains of this early 
town of Rutherford County. When Percy Priest Lake was built in 
1966, the site was cleared of houses and allowed to return to a 
forested state. The town Robert Weakley and Thomas Bedford 
founded and expected to develop into a major town Is now part of 
history. Kevin Markuson's work in researching and writing the 
early development of Jefferson is greatly appreciated. Our 
thanks also to Susan Daniel and Mary Wilgus for their research 
and writing articles for this publication. 



Library 

Middle Tennessee State University' 

Murfreesboro, Tennessee 



"', 1 6 . 5 o 7 

■J,\l 

RUTKERFORD COUNTY HISTORICAL SOCIETY 
PUBLICATION NO. 17 
Published by the 
RUTHERFORD COUNTY HISTORICAL SOCIETY 

OFFICERS 

President ....•*.... Mr. Gene Sloan 

Vice-President • .....Miss Aurelia Holden 

Recording Secretary.. Miss Louise Cawthon 

Corresponding Secretary •• Mrs. Susan Daniel 

Publication Secretary..... .....Mr. Walter K. Hoover 

Treasurer Mrs. Kelly Ray 



Directors .Mrs. Dotty Patty 

Dr. Ernest Hooper 
Mr. James Matheny 



Publication No. 17 (Limited Edition-350 copies) is distributed 
to members of the Society. I^e annual membership dues is $7.00 
(Family $9.00) which includes the regular publications and the monthly 
NEWSLETTER to all members. Additional copies of Publication No. 17 
may be obtained at $3.50 per copy. 

All correspondence concerning additional copies, contributions 
to future issues, and membership should be addressed to: 

Rutherford Coiinty Historical Society 

Box 906 

Murfreesboro, Tennessee 37130 



82-03958 



FOR SALB 



THE FOLLOWINO PUBLICATIONS ARE FOR SAI£ BI: 



The Rutherford County Historical Society 

Box 906 

Murfreesboro, Tennessee 37130 



PubUcations # 1, 2, 3, h, 5, 6, 8 and 9 OUT of PRINT 

Publication # 7: Hopewell Church, Petition by Cornelius Sanders 

for Rev. War Pension $ 3.50 + $ 1.00 postage 

Publication # 10; 186U Diaiy, Peter Jennings, Henderson Yoakum, 
Early Methodist Church, and Overall 
family — — — — — — — $ 3.50 + $ 1.00 postage 

Publication # 11: State Capitol, Ben McCuUoch, Petition of 
Ittchael Lorance, A Country Store, and 
Soule College — $ 3-50 + $ 1.00 postage 

Publication # 12: History of Sewart AFB, Goochland and 

Will Index $ 3.50 + $ 1.00 postage 

Publication # 13: Tennessee College, Coleman Scouts, New 
Monument in old City Cemetery and Rev. 
War Pension of James Boles — - $ 3.50 + $ 1.00 postage 

Publication # lU: Murfreesboro Presbyterian Chtrch, Kirks and 

Montgomerys, Russel Home, John lytle, and John 

M. Leak Revolutionary Pension-- $ 3.50 + $ 1.00 postage 

Publication # 15: Whigs in Rutherford County, 1835 - l^kS 

$ 3.50 + $ 1.00 postage 

Publication # I6: Harts' Spring, Childress family. Gov. 
John Miles, Fosterville, Cherry Shade, 
Revolutionary Record of Vftn. Cocke 

$ 3.50 + $ 1.00 postage 

Publication # 17: Jefferson I803 - l8l3. Will Abstracts, 
Murfreesboro '8 Old City Cemetery 

$ 3.50 + $ 1.00 postage 



FOR SALE 2 

HISTORY of RUTHERFCRD COUNTY by C . C . Sims 

A reprint of the 19U7 edition of our cotnty 
history contains 230 pages with index and 

hard covers $ 12.00 + $ 2.00 postage 

and handling 

INDEX of Publications 1 throu^ $ $ 5.00 + $ 1.00 postage 

I8UO Rutherford County Census with Index — — .—- - $ 5.OO + $ 1.00 postage 

Deed Abstract of Rutherford County I803-I8IO — $ 10.00 + $ 1.00 postage 

GRIFFITH : Illustrated bi-centennial publication— $ 2.00 + $ 1.00 postage 

CCMMEMORaTXVE PLttTES: 

Plate # 2: Tennessee College in Murfreesboro— $ 5.00 + $ 1.00 postage 
Plate # 3: Rutherford County Courthouse, 1900- $ 5.00 + $ 1.00 postage 

AVAILABLE HICM: William WaUtt^ 

202 Ridley Street 
Smyrna, Tn 3716? 

Rutherford Counlgr Map 1878, shows land owners— 

$ 3.50 ••■ $ 1.00 postage 

CEMETERY RECORDS of Rutherford County: 

Vol. 1 : Northwestern third of county and part of Wilson and 
Davidson counties, 256 cemeteries with index and 
maps. — — — $ 10.00 + $ 1.00 postage 

Vol. 2: Eastern third of Rutherford and the western part 
of Cannon County, 2la cemeteries with index 
and maps———————— $ 10 .00 + $ 1.00 postage 

Vol. 3: Southwestern third of Rutherford Counlgr, 193 

cemeteries with index and maps— $ 10.00 ♦ $ 1.00 postage 

ALSO AVAILABLE FRCM; Mrs . Fred Brlgance 

1202 Scottland Drive 
Murfreesboro, Tn 37130 

Marriage Records of Rutherford County 

1851 - 1872 $ 10.00 + $ 1.00 posUge 



TABLE of CONTENTS 



History of Jefferson I803 - 1813 

I7; Kevin Markttson « Page 1 

Rutherford Co\ai'ty Will Abstracts 

by: Susan G. Daniel U7 

Murfreesboro's Old City Cemetery 

by: Mary H. Wllgus 53 

Rutherford Counlgr Ifi.storlcal Society Members 77 

Index 87 



A HISTORY 
OF 
THE TOWN OP JEFFERSON 
1803 - 1813 



Kevin Markuson 



PREFACE 

With our modern world changing so fast before our eyes, 
it is important to preserve and keep alive the traditions and heritage 
of our ancestors. It is in this spirit of preservation of our heritage 
that the researching and writing of this short history has been done. 
It is also in this spirit that I offer this work to the people of 
Rutherford County; that they may more fully understand the life and 
times of the people that settled this land and thereby perpetuate a 
continuity with their past. 

This history of Jefferson does not purport to be a complete, 
detailed history of the town. As more research is done, I am sure 
more facts concerning the town and events surrounding it will come 
to light. I have tried to cover, as thoroughly as possible, the ten 
years in which the town was formed and grew, up until the courts moved 
to Murfreesboro in 1813. 

I would like to extend my most deep and heart felt gratitude 
to those persons who were so kind to open their homes, materials and 
memories to me, while I was researching this history. Ernest K. Johns, 
Everett Waller, Mr. and Mrs. Lee Victory, Mrs. Becky Spring, Mrs. Peyton 
Smith, Walter K. Hoover, Hatton Ward and Kathryn Barrett. I would like 
to extend a special note of gratitude to Dr. Ernest Hooper for all his 
instruction, guidance aFfd inspiration that he gave me during the 
researching and writing of this history and to ray wife Cathy for her 
never failing moral support and interest. 



THE FORMATION AND EARLY GROWTH 
OF THE TOWN OF JEFFERSON 

The town of Jefferson was located within the forks of 

the Stones River. This land was part of an assignee land grant to 

-1 

Robert Weakley and Thomas Bedford from the state of North Carolina. 

The original grant reads, "by an act of our General Assembly entitled 
an act for the relief of the officers and soldiers in the Continental 
line and for and in consideration of the signal bravery and persevering 
zeal of James Pearl, a captain in the Continental line of said state .... 
Robert Weakley and Thomas Bedford were the assignees of James Pearl. 
This land grant is dated December 12, 1801 and was for 3,840 acres, that 
being the amount of land granted to a captain. 

The town of Jefferson was laid out by Weakley and Bedford 
prior to June 1803, when these lands were still a part of Davidson 
County. A plat of the town was registered with th£ Davidson County 

Clerk according to early deeds for town lots. The town was laid out 

2 
with a public square and 102 town lots. 

Weakley and Bedford held the first sale of town lots on 

June 10 and 13, 1803 as many of the early deeds for town lots, registered 

with the Rutherford County Register, bear these dates. It is interesting 

to note that Weakley and Bedford gave town lots to certain individuals 

at this time. William Nash (a Justice of the Peace) and Joseph Herndon 

(County Trustee for Davidson County and soon to be County Clerk for 

Rutherford County) were given lots #20 and #81 respectively " for and 

in consideration of the respect and friendship they (Weakley and Bedford) 

■5 
bear ... . " -^ A total of 40 lots were sold on June 10 and 13, 1803. 




I no. 18 shows 
boundaries 
of land grant 
to Weakley 
and Bedford 
for 3,840 
acres 



A/? 



/ 
2 
3 

-/• 
s 

G 

7 
8 
9 

lo 

II 
ri 
'3 

1^ 
/S 

fC I 
/-? I 



Qr^ n i eff 



Ds 



Euse-kius fbfsh n <=// \M>r. Car. 
^''^ihAnieJ Hc^rf- h e/'n 
Ed i*^ 3rci Co/. 
5h3iir6ick uoni?s 

Josttfh MSrfif) ' 

S^e/o hen C,in fr i II 
Pa.ru «f Chcotibers 

£^An Shelby i" 

\f'/0 fS ftLtn *i /'*'< 



Kfor. Ln,- 



/Vcr.rir 



HZ 

IT 
1739 
37? 



D^f-e 



J;3n.'2i,/800 
Apr. 17 I7P& 
Apr t-^. 11^)1, 
Apr. ■irj.n-]'i 

i\-r. ff,!7S7 



QJi/. Co. 



A- ^i8 
It-ifi 

L - 2oy 
A '^/o 
D ■ iq 
C • lV-t>A 
C". Joo 
C- Z5-/ 
C- 3/1? 
>]- t 'I 

t.'-;-5c' 
A- ?■-" 



Acyei 



6 ¥0 

Z7V- 

IS? 

6M9 



note: the 
grant number 
for no. 18 
should be 
5390 



<i.' Wet. 9 '7S7 A ■'-"•^ '^'>'^ 



From "The Southern Virginia Weakley ]?arailies and their Descendents" 
by S.A. Weakley Courtesy Mrs. Becky Spring 



Some of the first buyers were John Hill, James Sharpe, Alexander 
McCulloch and William Nash, soon to be prominent personages in the 
growing community of Jefferson. 

During the summer of 1805, a growing movement for the 
formation of a separate county in the environs of Stones River was 
about to reach a climax. Petitions were sent by a number of citizens 
in Davidson and Williamson Counties requesting that a new county be 
laid off due to the vast extent of the counties and the hardships 
to the citizens in attending courts, general musters and elections in 
the towns of Nashville and Franklin. A petition of August 26, 1803 
further requests that the navigation of Stones River be kept open 
from Cummins Mill to the mouth of the river to carry produce to the 
market. The petition also requests that Captain Joseph Walton, James 
Sharpe, Robert Smyth, Captain William Doran, John Andrews, O.M. Benge 
and James Campbell be appointed commissioners to establish the place 
of the seat of justice. Petitioners included John Cummins, Travis 
Nash, Cader and Abner Dement and Samuel Wilson. 

It is interesting to note that as early as 1802, settlers 
living south of the Cumberland settlements were desiring a separate 
county. This is evidenced by a petition, in the Tennessee State Library 
and Archives, to the General Assembly from citizens living on or 
near the Big Harpeth River, dated December 8, 1802. The land included 
within the bounds proposed by this petition would have included the 
present eastern portion of Williamson County and the present western 
portion of Kutherford County. 

There were some opposing the creation of a new county in 1803. 



This is evidenced by a petition to the General Assembly from 
citizens of Davidson County requesting that a new county not be 

laid off for reasons of inconvenience if the request for a new 

7 

county should be granted. 

Rutherford County was formed by an act of the General 
Assembly , October 25, 1803, entitled, " An act to erect the 
counties of Davidson and Williamson into three separate and 
distinct counties.'^ Contained within this act, the courts were 
to meet on the first Nonday in March, June, September and December. 
The first court was to be held at the home of Thomas Rucker and 
subsequent courts were to be held at different places until a 
courthouse was built. It was further declared that Rutherford 
be a part of Mero District for all military and civil purposes 
and that the sheriffs of Davidson and Williamson Counties be free 
to collect taxes that were due the date of the act. On November 7, 
1803, the General Assembly passed " A supplementary act to the 
act creating Rutherford County. ° William Nash, on the part of 
Rutherford County, and Samuel Weakley, on the part of Davidson 
County, were appointed commissioners to run the line between 
Rutherford and Davidson Counties. They were to make out a plat, 
with the distances to the major water . courses, and file this with 
the clerk of the county. The lines of the county were to be run 
by the " first of January next. " The several justices that fell 
into Rutherford County after the lines were run were appointed 
justices in Rutherford with the same powers as before. 



Nashville, August 18,1802 

"During the last two weeks, the Indians have 
stolen horses three different times from the 
inhabitants on the waters of Stones River- in 
the two first instances the horses have been 
recovered but not in the last. Such depredations 
as these it is not probable, will be submitted 
to with impunity- they are supposed to be Creeks 
or Cherokees." 



_**-x- **■}«■. 



Tennessee Gazette, August 18, 1802 



After the sale of lots in June of 1803, there v/ere only 
a few sales of lots in Jefferson by Weakley and Bedford in August and 
September. On New Year's Eve 1803, Weakley and Bedford sold to Joseph 
Herndon 501^ acres, lying on both sides of the West Fork of Stones 
River, situated not far from the town of Jef f erson.^'^This was to 
become the home of Joseph Herndon as evidenced by later court entries 
describing roads in the county. That same day, Weakley and Bedford 

also sold to Joseph Bowman 141-^ acres lying on the West Fork of 

1 1 

Stones River. On this land, Joseph Bowman was authorized by the 

1 ? 
courts to build a mill in January 1808. "^ 

The court, according to the above mentioned act of the 

General Assembly, met for the first time at the home of Thomas Rucker, 

near where the Veteran's Administration stands today. The first mention 

of holding court in Jefferson was in the adjournment of the first 

session, when it was recorded that the "court in course be held at 

the forks of Stones River at the junction of the main West and East forks."'' 



In July, 1804, the county court met at the "courthouse" in Jefferson 
agreeable to the adjournment of the previous session J ^ Court was 
also held in Jefferson in October 1804.'''' It must be remembered that 
Jefferson at this time had not been chosen for the seat of justice 
for Rutherford County yet. However, Weakley and Bedford, without doubt, 
must have envisioned Jefferson to be the seat of justice. At this 
time, Jefferson was the only organized town in the county and its 
situation between the forks of the river made it a potential center 
for trade and commerce for the area. 

These early references to a courthouse in Jefferson support 
the tradition that the early courts were held in the Lenoir house.'" 
This house stood on the north side of what was the old square. During 
demolition for the Percy Priest project, a two story log structure 
was uncovered that was incorporated into the house. Most likely, Weakley 
and Bedford donated this log building to the county for use as a 
courthouse in an attempt to have Jefferson selected as the county seat. 
Later, in 1806, the Commissioners of Jefferson would order the sale 
of this building when the new courthouse was finished. 

On August 3, 1804, the General Assembly passed an act 
appointing commissioners to fix a place for the seat of justice for 
Rutherford County. John Hill, Fredrick Barfield, Mark Mitchell, 
Alexander McKnight and Peter Legrand were appointed commissioners 
to select a site "having special regard to good water." '' It was 
further enacted that the commissioners acquire 40 acres of land for 
the erection of the public buildings, lay off a town to be named by 
them and sell lots at a public sale. A tax was also authorized to 



defray the expenses of a new courthouse that was to be built. With 
an organized town, containing several good springs and access by- 
road or watercourse, established and growing within the forks of 
Stones River, Jefferson was a logical choice for the seat of justice. 
Unfortunately, no records are available today of the proceedings 
of the commissioners that would reveal to us any alternative sites 
they may have considered. 

There was very little real estate activity in Jefferson during 
the year 1804, with just a few lots being transferred by the original 
buyers. Weakley and Bedford did not sell any lots in Jefferson, in 
1804, according to present deed book records. 

Although the county court had temporary facilities, in the 
log "courthouse", apparently there were no facilities to hold prisoners. 
During the July session, of 1804, the sheriff, Samuel McBride, entered 

a protest to the court that there was no jail within the county to 

1 8 

hold prisoners. 

In the October session of court, Peter Legrand, John Hill, 
Mark Mitchell, Alexander McKnight and Fredrick Barfield came into 
Jefferson and gave bond and security for the office of commissioners 
to fix a place for the seat of justice.''^ For some unknown reason, 
James Sharpe, the other commissioner named in the act of the General 

on 

Assembly did not give bond until January 10, 1805.^ On this same 
day, Alexander McKnight and Fredrick Barfield filed their resignations 
as commissioners with the County Clerk! s office. ' As the records of 
the proceedings of the commissioners are not known to be in existence 
today, the question of why they resigned is open to conjecture. It may 
have resulted from some disseneion within the commission, or an 



8 



inconvenience of the duties of the appointment to the above commissioners. 

The court moved from Jefferson after the October session 
of 1804 and convened at Simon Miller's house on the first Monday in 
January, 1805. The court met for the ensuing sessions, through January 

1806, at the home of Nimrod Menifee, except for the July session which 

22 
did go back to the log courthouse in Jefferson. Within the act creating 

Rutherford County, it was stipulated that the courts were to move from 

place to place until the seat of justice was chosen. 







j^i >- 



N 




courtesy Sam Davis Home 
"The Weakley Map of Jefferson" 




photo courtesy Everett Waller 

Ephram Waller's house was located on the South side of the square, 
The main section of the house is said to have been constructed 
of logs, beneath the weatherboarding. This could have been one 
of the buildings built during the early years of the town. 




photo from Nashville Banner Feb. 14,1967 



The Bone house was built across the main street from the Lenoir house. 
This house is also said to have been built with logs and appears to be 
a double pen type. 9 



10 



ROBERT WEAKLEY 
SURVEXUR, LAND SPECULATOR AND POLITICIAN 

R6bez*t Weakley was bom JtQy 2, 176U in Halifax County 

23 
Virginia. In 1781, at the age of 16, he was in the Continental 

Amy and foxight in the battles of Alamance and Oxdlford Courthouse. 

On ^ril 18, 1782, it is said that young Robert Weakley 
left his home in Halifax County with a horse, bridle and saddle and 
$1.75 and vent to Rowan County, North Carolina to study surveyijig 
with General Griffith Rutherford for ^om Rutherford County was 
named. During the winter of I783-U4 he came to the Cumberland 
settlements b7 way of the Cumberland Gap and the old wilderness road 
throTi^ Kentucky. He then set vp residence on Whites Creek in 
Davidson County until moving to his estate in Nashville, "Lockland", 
in 1800. 

Robert Weakley married the dati^ter of General Mathew Locke, 
Jane Locke, of Saulsbury, North Carolina, in 1791. They had four 
children, Mary, Narcissa, Robert Locke and Jane Baird. His brother, 
Samuel Weakley, also lived in the Nashville area and worked with 
him as a chain carrier during early surveying work. 

Robert Weakley's fortune was made in land speculations 
and land surveying. He surveyed many of the early military land 
warrants throughout Middle Tennessee. Ha did much of the early 
survey work around the Dtick and Elk rivers and in later years 



11 



surveyed in the West Tennessee area. Robert Weakley accumulated 
massive land holdings through his surveying work and land grants. 
Only assignee or purchase grants were ever issued to Robert Weakley, 
An assignee grant was issued if one purchased the right to the land 
from one who is entitled to it, but may not want the land( as in 
the case of the land grant #3390 to Weakley and Bedford - they 
bought the right for the land grant from James Pearl). Purchase 
grants were issued for so much per acre or 100 acres. 

Robert Weakley owned 8,000 acres on the waters of Half 
Pone Creek and Sycamore Creek. He also owned land on the Cumberland, 
Red, Harpeth, Stones, Elk and Duck rivers and on Whites, McAdoo and 
Richland creeks. Some of his surveying work in West Tennessee was 
in Obion, Tipton, Haywood and Shelby counties. 

Prom his earliest times in the Cumberland settlements, 
Robert Weakley stood out as a leader among his fellow settlers. In 
the Draper Papers ( Draper MSS 32-5-353 ), there is an account of 
Robert Weakley's role in averting an abandonment of the Cumberland 
settltments in 1786. According to the Draper Papers, the settlers on 
the south side of the Cumberland had become very discouraged due 
to the continued depredations committed by the Indians during the 
winter of 1785-6. Hearing of the discouragement and the talk of 
abandoning the settlement, young Robert Weakley drew up a paper, 
for himself and other friends to sign, pledging themselves to "remain 
and protect the country". 

During the eariy spring of 1786, the settlers held a meeting 
at Robertson's Station to decide their fate. According to the Draper 
Papers, several settlers spoke, "representing that from the depredations 



12 



of the winter, and the loss of friends, that they had nothing to 
hope from raising a crop this coming season, and it was proposed 
that such as had horses to pack them and go to Illinois and such 
as had none to prepare large piroques and go by water." Weakley 
asked Robertson permission to speak. "Weakley represented that 
although he was a young man, he felt a deep interest in the permanent 
occupation of the country; that if the people on the south side of 
the Cumberland broke up and abandoned the country, those on the north 
would certainly follow their example; that he and they had toiled 
and risked their lives for succesive years in acquiring lands and 
now to abandon them, it would be extremely uncertain when they be 
resettled and hence after all their toils and sufferings they could 
little hope ever to realize anything for them. He then read the paper 
containing the proposition of himself and other young men and he 
pledged himself that they should remain as promised. Robertson arose 
with a cheerful and inspiring countenance and simply said, "Lid you 
hear this? - Let's all agree to stay." "Agreed" was the unanimous 
response and it was everyone to his tent, ho Israel! Robertson's 
station, which had become dilapidated was now repaired, the same of 
other stations, and the young men guarding, a good crop was raised 
in the country. " 

Robert Weakley continued to be a leader in the area and 
became very involved in politics throughout his life. In July of 
1788, he represented Lavidson County on the commission to decide on 
the seat of government for North Carolina and that November, he was 
elected an Esquire for the county. Robert Weakley was a member of 
the Tennessee House of Representatives in 1796 and of the Senate in 



13 



1799,1803,1807 and 1819. He was also a member of the U.S. House of 
Representatives at Washington May 1809 - March 1811. 

Robert Weakley also had an active role in the militia of 
the Cumberland settlements during his younger years. In 1791, he was 
the Brigade Inspector of the militia of Mero District, with the rank 
of Lieutenant Colonel. In 1798, he was a Colonel of the 2nd Regiment 
of the Davidson County Militia. 




Robert Weakley's survey mark 
which he would carve on corner trees 



14 



THOMAS BEDFORD 
A DREAM NEVER REALIZED 

Thomas Bedford was "born sometime between 1754 and 1758, 

24 
in Cumberland County, Virginia. At an early age, he moved with 

his family to Drakes Branch in Charlotte County, Virginia to live 

on lands inherited by his father, Thomas Bedford Sr. The Bedfords 

of Charlotte County, were one of the most wealthy and prominent families 

of that county with extensive land holdings in that part of the country. 

Thomas Bedford took an active role in the Revolutionary 
War. He enlisted on February 5, 1776 as a private in John Brent's 
Company, 4th Virginia Regiment. Records of Henry County, Virginia 
indicate that near the end of the war he was made a Lieutenant by the 
justices of that county. These records also indicate that he served 
in the last military campaign against Lord Cornwallis at Yorktown. 
According to a family tradition, he personally outfitted a volunteer 
company and led them during a part of the conflict. Another tradition, 
concerning Thomas' military career, holds that he refused a promotion 
in the army because he had promised the mothers of the young men, 
serving with him, that he would stay with them during the fighting and 
see them safely home when the war was over. 

After the Revolution, Thomas Bedford represented Charlotte 
County in the Virginia Assembly. After a brief political career, he 
moved to the new settlements at Nashville, where he had accumulated 
extensive real estate holdings in the area (presumably for his 
military services in the Revolutionary War). He also owned more than 
5,000 acres in Christian and Harrison Counties, Kentucky, receivino" 



15 



them as land grants for his military service. 

Thomas Bedford was associated with a man named Maury, in 
Nashville, concerning some land holdings. Bedford left Nashville to 
return to Virginia to close his affairs there and left his lands for 
Maury to sell. When he returned to the Cumberland, he discovered that 
Maury had sold all of his real estate holdings in that area. Maury 
tried to persuade Thomas Bedford to join him in a new settlement to the soul 
of Nashville, but he refused. Instead, he joined in a partnership with 
Robert Weakley and undertook the joint founding of the town of Jefferson. 
He left the Nashville area and took up residence on the West Fork of 
Stones River. The partnership of Weakley and Bedford was formed sometime 
before 1801, as this is the date of the land grant that was issued to 
Weakley and Bedford. This land grant was the only holding of the 
partnership. 

The earliest mention of Thomas Bedford in the Davidson 
County records is an entry in the County Court Minute Book 1783 - 1809, 
page 325, dated July 13, 1802. In this entry, a road is ordered to be 
laid off from Thomas Bedford's home to Nashville one way, and Cripple 
Creek the other way. 

Thomas Bedford was not able to see his dream of a town within 
the forks of Stones River come to a full fruition, for he died suddenly 
sometime in the summer or early fall of 1804, before Jefferson had 
officially been selected as the county seat of justice. On October 2, 
1804, Ann Bedford, his widow, came into the Rutherford County court 
and relinquished her right of administration and nominated her eldest 

OR 

son, John R. Bedford, to administer the estate. In addition to being 
appointed administrator of the estate, John R. Bedford was also 
appointed, , by the court, guardian for his minor brothers and sister; 



16 



Thomas, William, George, Nancy, Benjamin and Littleberry. 

Thomas Bedford left no will and his estate and financial 
matters were in such shape that nearly all his holdings were lost 
through outstanding debts and law suits against his estate. The 
remaining portion of unsold land that was held by Weakley and Bedford 
was divided equally between Robert Weakley and the heirs of Thomas 
Bedford by a commission appointed by the County Court of Rutherford, 

In 1807, when a new county was organized out of Rutherford, 
on the south. side in the. area of the Duck River, General Joseph 
Dixon proposed that the new county be named in honor of Thomas Bedford. 
Accordingly, the legislature followed this proposition. 



27 



■^A'^' 






;a^ 



; , ^■^■~^,~ ^j^,^:r^^,/iC /..^ ■^, 









Inventory of Thomas Bedford's estate 



17 



JEFFERSON 
THE COUNTY SEAT OF JUSTICE 

The commission must have selected Jefferson as the site 
for the county seat by April of 1805, for it was on April 4th that 
they levied a tax for the purpose of erecting the public buildings 
in the county as provided for in the act of the General Assembly. 
Although it appears that the town of Jefferson was chosen as the 

seat of justice in 1805, Robert Weakley did not deed the land to the 

29 
commissioners of Jefferson until Feburary 16, 1806. He deeded 40 

acres of land on the south and east sides of the town, "for and in 

consideration of the regard he bears toward the said county of 

Rutherford." This particular tract of land was one of the divisions 

of the unsold portion of the 3,840 acres that was owned by Weakley 

and Bedford, and was alloted to Robert Weakley after the death of 

30 
Thomas Bedford. Referring to the Weakley map of Jefferson, Weakley 

donated the land contained in lots #103 through #162 which the 

commissioners had surveyed and laid off to be sold to help defray 

the cost of the new courthouse. 

During the year 1805, the town of Jefferson must have been 

bustling with activity. Presumably, the new courthouse was being 

constructed on the square and wharves and warehouses were being 

erected by the river to handle the trade that was increasing with the 

growing population of the county. Most likely, other structures were 

also being built in Jefferson to accomodate the business needs of 

the community and surrounding area. 



18 



Robert Weakley deeds 40 acres to the commissioners of Jefferson 




"Beginning at the Northeast corner of the said tovm of 
Jefferson aiittle above the head of a spring on the East Fork of 
Stones River on the North side of the main street of 



the public square running thence North thirty three degrees East one 
chain sixty five links to a stone in the bank of said East Fork of 
Stones River, thence up the East Fork with it's meanders to a 



and large ash in the original East boundary of a tract of three 
thousand eight hundred and forty acres belonging to Robert Weakley 
and Thomas Bedford dec'd. Thence with said boundary line South 
fifteen chains and eighty links to a red oak, thence West thirty seven 
chains to the West Fork of Stones River, thence down the said West 
Fork with it's meanders to a stone due South of the now South West 
corner of said old town of Jefferson. Thence North to said corner 
six chains, thence East with the South boundary of said old town 
to the main South street of the same, thence up the West boundary of 
said street to the public square, thence around said square so as to 
include the whole to the Eastern boundary of the aforesaid street, 
thence down the same South to the aforesaid South boundary of said 
town, thence North with the East boundary of said town to the 
beginning. . . ." 

From the Seed, Robert Weakley to the Commissioners 
of Jefferson 
Rutherford County Register, Deed Book E, p. 400 



19 



Norton Gum was appointed the overseer of the streets and 
public square in Jefferson, on July 2, 1805, with all the hands 
within the bounds of the town to work under him. He had also been 



licensed to keep an ordinary at his dwelling house, in the town of 

32 

Jefferson. The Norton Gum ordinary was the first to be licensed 

in the town of Jefferson. Tradition holds that Mark Mitchell had the 
first ordinary within the town, but no evidence could be uncovered 
to support this. 

During 1805, Wm. P. Anderson petitioned the court to build 

a mill, on the East Pork of Stones River, about 600 yards from the 

33 
town of Jefferson. -^^ This site now is the picnic area of the East 

Fork access area. There was indeed a mill built here which in later 

years was known as the Ridley or Davis mill. A small portion of the 

mill dam can still be seen today. 

It appears that the commissioners had a sale of town lots 

in Jefferson on December 26, 1805, as a number of deeds registered 

in Rutherford County for town lots bear this date. A total of 11 

lots were sold that day. Robert Weakley, Samuel Bell and John Bell 

35 
were among the purchasers of lots. 

The first election held in Rutherford County, with Jefferson 

as its political center, was held in 1805. On July 2, 1805, the court 

appointed James Sharpe, Samuel Wilson, Hugh Robinson, Constant Hardeman, 

Alexander McCulloch and Joseph Herndon as inspectors and judges of 

36 

the next election. Jefferson was undoubtedly the polling place for 

the county. 

By order of the commissioners to fix a place for the seat 
of justice, Wm. Quisenbury, a surveyor, determined the center of the 



20 



county sometime in 1805. The county seat was usually centered so 

as not to put any part of the citizens at a disadvantage in attending 

courts, elections and general musters. On January 7, 1806 while court 

was being held at the Menifee house, Wm. Quisenbury was allowed eight 

37 

dollars for his services. 



Clarissa of Jefferson 
A Black Woman's Fight for Freedom 

Clarissa's legal fight for her freedom started in April 
of 1805 and was to last for at least two years. 

On April 2, 1805, the court ordered William Edwards to 
to give bond to permit Clarissa to appear at the next court when 
she was to pursue her appeal for her freedom. The court further 
ordered that Clarissa "be treated with humanity" by William 

•zo 

Edwards in the mean time. 

William Edwards must not have taken any action by this 
court order, for on July 4, 1805, the court again ordered William 
to give bond, in the amount of one thousand dollars, to permit 
Clarissa, "who has sued him in this court for her freedom", to 

appear before the court during the proceedings of her suit against 

39 

him. Again, the court ordered William to treat her with humanity. 

The next court entry. concerning this suit was on October 7, 
1806, fifteen months after William was last ordered to give bond 
for the assurance of her appearence in court. ^ The court entry 
for this date reads, "Clarissa vs. Wm. Edwards - False Imprisonment," 



21 



In this particular case, the jury granted a mistrial to the 
defendant, Wm. Edwards. 

During the following session of court, on January 7, 
1807, William Edwards and Clarissa, along with their attorneys 
came into court where Clarissa was again suing him for false 
imprisonment. ^ The jury found the defendant "not guilty as 
charged in the plantiff's declaration above, and that the said 
plantiff is the slave of him, the said defendant." An appeal was 
"prayed and granted;" On the same day, January 7, in a separate 
entry, it was recorded that Alexander Moore, a witness for the 
plantiff was called but did not appear and therefore "forfeited 
agreeably to an act of the General Assembly. "^Was this the appeal 
that was granted by the court? Unfortunately there are no further 
entries in the county court records concerning the case of Clarissa 
and William Edwards, but the story of Clarissa is not over yet. 

On July 1, 1810, O.M. Benge sold to a Clarissa Boushane 

lot #122 in the town of Jefferson for two dollars. '^'^ In the 1810 

census for Rutherford County a Clarissa Beshano was recorded as 

residing, as a head of household, in the town of Jefferson. ^^ 
She was at least 45 years old and had one slave, according to 

the census. The County Court Minute Books for Rutherford County 

reveal that Clarissa bought two more lots in Jefferson on October 8, 

1812; one from 0. M. Benge and lot #124 from William Locke. ^^ . 

In a report, dated 1813, on improved lots in the town 

of Jefferson, Clarissa appears again as "Clarese Bushoug, a woman 

of color from one of the French Islands." Is this the same 

Clarissa who six years ago brought William Edwards into court 

to sue him for her freedom? If so, how did she finally gain her 



freedom? Could a settlement between Clarissa and Wm. Edwards have 
taken place out of court, with Clarissa gaining her freedom and 
taking up residence in the town of Jefferson where she could have 
found work in an ordinary: or some other business? Without further 
documentation, the answers to these and other questions will remain 
unanswered. 



In April of 1806, the court moved back to Jefferson, 

47 
presumably to the newly constructed courthouse on the square. 

In Goodspeed History of Rutherford County , the courthouse is said 

to have been constructed of brick -and measured roughly 40 feet 

by 40 feet. The cost is said to have been between two and three 

thousand dollars. A copy of the Weakley map of Jefferson, at the 

Sam Davis Home in Smyrna, describes the courthouse as built with 

brick and stone. 

The town as well as the county was growing rapidly in 

these first years. On April 9, 1806, Thomas Mitchell , obtained a 

48 
license to keep an ordinary at his dwelling house. The Mitchell 

ordinary was the second ordinary to be licensed for the town of 

49 
Jefferson, the Norton Gum ordinary being the first. • According 

to an article in the Nashville Tennessean,' dated March 26, 1950, 

John Nash Read came into Jefferson and established another tavern 

on the square sometime in 1806, The Read tavern was said to have 

had stables across the east main street, which in later years was 

50 
turned into a blacksmith's shop after the tavern closed down. 




23 



photo from the Walter K. 
Hoover collection 
Thurman Francis Jr. High 
Smyrna 



The Ridley or Davis mill, as it was known 
in later years. Wm. P. Anderson obtained 
permission to erect a mill on this site 
in 1805. 




The logs used in thi- l.::i- -ici.juse were said 
to once have been used for the old jail in 
Jefferson. 




photo courtesy Everett Wall« 

The Read tavern was built around 1806 and 
stood on the Northeast corner of the square. 



24 



The rates for ordinaries were set by the court in 1804 and were 

31 
as follows: 

dinner 25 cents 

breakfast and supper 20 cents 

lodging 8 ''/3 cents 

corn or oats per gallon 8 1/3 cents 

stabling a horse for 24 hours 

with corn, fodder or oats 33 1/3 cents 

"good wiskey" 1/2 pint 12 1/2 cents 

peach brandy 12 1/2 cents 

French brandy, rum or wine 50 cents 

As the town was growing and prospering, there was also 
an increase in violence and disturbances of the peace. There were 
three taverns in Jefferson at this time, and after a journey up 
the river from Nashville, they surely must have been a welcome sight 
to a thirsty riverman. No doubt, on different occasions, overindulgence 
of the spirits may have caused some brawls and other disturbances 
in the town of Jefferson. Throughout the county court minutes for 
1806, there are numerous cases of assault and battery and trespassing. 
John Spence and William Gilliam were appointee the first patrollers 
for the town of Jefferson on April 17, 1806.^2 Patrollers were also 

appointed for McCoy's militia co., Capt. Wm. Searcy's militia co . 

53 

and Capt. Nimrod Jenkin's militia co. out in the surrounding county. 

In July of 1806, the county clerk, Joseph Herndon, and 
the sheriff of the county were provided space in the new courthouse. 
The court ordered that Joseph Herndon "have leave to appropriate the 
corner of the courthouse upon the upper floor at the head of the 



25 



of the staircase for the purpose of an office so as not to interfere 
with a sufficient passage at the head of the staircase." The court 
also ordered that " the sheriff of this county have leave to make 
for his own use a closet under the staircase in the courthouse, in 
such a manner as he may think proper, not injuring said staircase." 

As the new courthouse must have been completed by now, 
with the county offices taking residence within, the court ordered 
the commissioners of the public buildings to put up for public sale 
the old courthouse in the town of Jefferson. ^5 Unfortunatly, several 
deed books for the county are lost and it is impossible to trace this 
further. If a deed were to be located between John P. Lenoir and the 
commissioners, this would confirm the tradition that the first courts 
were held in the Lenoir house. 

A jail for the county had been constructed of logs and was 
probably located on the north west corner of the square. I'lr. Lee 
Victory, former owner of the Lenoir house prior to the Percy Priest 
Project, claims that the logs of his smokehouse were the logs used 
in the first jail for the county. He moved the structure from Jefferson 
to his present home, in Smyrna, during the dismantling of the town 
for the Percy Priest Project.^" 

In April of 1807, James Lewis deeded to the commissioners 
of Jefferson one half of lot #101 "for the benefit of the citizens 
and the public buildings use.''^' He was paid 54 dollars for the half 
lot. It remains a mystery what the commissioners did with their half 
of lot #101. In referring to the Weakley map of Jefferson, Lot #101 
was one lot away from the square on the northwest side. This v/ould 
have been a logical choice for a public building, being in close 
proximity to the courthouse, but no records can be found today to 



26 




ST /<^I)lSlBJ^^^' 



From Tennessee State Library and Archives 

A portion of a surveyors map of the first district, 1807-8 , showing 

the town of Jefferson and the major roads leading to Nasnville, Franklin, 

Lebanon and the settlements at Readyville. 



27 



pursue this further. 

By the latter part of 1807, the commissioners' tasks were 
completed and they were made allowances for their services and 
expenditures in fixing a place for the public buildings for the county. 
The court ordered James Sharpe 16 dollars, Constant Hardeman 8 dollars, 
John Hill 50 dollars, Mark Mitchell 50 dollars and Peter Legrand 
75 dollars on October 5, 1807.^^ Fredrick Barfield, one of the 
commissioners who resigned, was allowed 10 dollars for his services. 59 
Alexander McKnight, the other commissioner who resigned, was not 
appropriated any compensation for his services until the January 
session of 1808, when he was allowed 20 dollars. 

In addition to the courthouse, jail and stocks, wharves, 
warehouses, taverns and houses in Jefferson, there was also a 
blacksmith's shop in October 1807. On October 6, 1807, the court 
ordered certain individuals to lay out a road, "beginning at the mouth 
of the main street near the blacksmith's shop" leading from Jefferson 
to Lebanon.^'' According to the map of Jefferson, this would have put 
the blacksmith's shop down the hill from the courthouse near the 

riverfront. 

There also may have been a government land office in 
Jefferson for a short time in 1806-7. In a move to settle the continued 
land disputes between Tennessee and North Carolina, the General 
Assembly of Tennessee, in 1806, passed an act entitled, "An act directing 
the division of the state into convenient districts, for the appointment 
of the principal surveyors thereof, and for ascertaining the bona 
fide claims against the same." In section eight of this act, the 
locations for the district offices are as follows: the first district 
office at Nashville, the second district office at Jefferson, the 



2B 



third district office at Alexander's, the fourth district office 
at Kingston, the fifth district office at Knoxville, the sixth district 
office ay Joneshorough and the office for the territory south of the 
French Broad and Holston rivers at Sevierville. Rutherford County 
was within the bounds of the first district according to the boundary 
descriptions in the above act and an early surveyors map in the 
Tennessee State Library and Archives. The office for the second district 
may have been located at Jefferson because it was the closest organized 
town to the district ( the southern bound. ary between the first and 
second districts was roughly the. boundary between Kuxneriord and Bedford 
counties ). When Bedford County was organized, in 1807, the land office 
may have been moved there, to Shelbyville, where it would have been 
in the same district that it was authorized for. 

On November 7, 1807, the General Assembly passed an act 
entitled, "An act for the regulation of the town of Jefferson in 
Rutherford County." According to this act, the sheriff was to hold 
an election at the courthouse in Jefferson in April of 1808 to elect 
five persons to act as commissioners of the town. Only those who 
were either inhabitants of the town or owned property in the town 
were allowed to participate as candidates or voters. The commissioners 
were empowered to regulate the town including calling on inhabitants 
who were; -iiaoi-e to work -^he roads, appointing an overseer of the 
streets, "prevent encroachments on the streets or burials on the 
public square" and appointing a surveyor to re survey the town, 
agreeable to the original plan, and designating the lots by stone 
cornerstones at each lot. They were also authorized to lay an annual 
tax on the town as follows: 



29 



Not exceeding $100 worth tovm property. .. 1 2 1/2 cents 

White poll 12 1/2 cents 

Each black poll 25 cents 

Each stud horse 75 cents 

The appraisement and collection of this tax was subject to all the 
rules and regulations of the state tax. Section VIII of this act 
stipulated that the monies collected through this tax were to be 
appropriated only for the benefit or improvement of the town and that 
the commissioners were not to receive any compensation for their 
services. 

The town must have grown considerably by this time to 
require a town commission and a town tax for its proper upkeep. 
As the population of the county increased, the business and traffic 
in and through Jefferson must have increased proportionately. There 
was the river traffic, bringing goods up river from Nashville for 
sale or trade in and around Jefferson and when the court was in 
session, the town must have been busy with the Justices, witnesses, 
petitioners and jury members that came in for the court. In many of 
the early court cases, witnesses were allowed so much money for so 
many days attendance. This must have been to help defray the expense 
of coming to Jefferson, possibly staying a night or two at one of 
the ordinarys. For many , it was a long trip into Jefferson on horse- 
back or in a wagon. 

The population of the county had grown, by the end of 
1807, to the extent that the General Assembly authorized another 
place, in addition to Jefferson, for the next election to be held.^5 
This act specified that all persons living in the 2nd Battalion 



30 



of the militia and those living east of the road from Cummins mill 
(located on the East Fork of Stones River) to William Kelton's 
were to vote at the house of William Kelton. William Kelton lived at 
the Black Fox settlement. The sheriff was to carry the polls to the 
courthouse in Jefferson, to be added and included in the total poll 
of the county. It was also stipulated that "any person who votes at 
both places of the holding of the election, shall pay ^10 to any 
person who may sue for the same." 

The pattern of migration, into Rutherford County by these 
early settlers, was from the north by way of Jefferson and that 
vicinity. As settlers pushed further south and east in the county, 
they were at an increasing distance from Jefferson and consequently 
under more of a hardship to attend courts and elections there. As 
we shall see, in just a few short years, this will be a key factor 
in the seat of justice being removed from Jefferson. 

In January of 1808, an order by the county court extended 
the area for which the overseer of the streets was responsible for 
in Jefferson, to the east bank of the West Fork at the low water 
mark. Norton Gum was still the overseer of the streets in Jefferson 
at this time. Apparently, the area mentioned must have come into 
disrepair, possibly from the traffic connected with the river trade. 
The log jail must have also fallen into a state of disreDair, about 
this time, for John Griffin was allowed 6 dollars and 16 3/4 cents 
for repairing the jail. ^ 

Again in 1809, a separate election was held at the Black 
Fox settlement in addition to the polling place at Jefferson. The 
inspectors and judges of this election for Governor and members of 



31 



the legislature were Charles Ready, William Lofton, Robert 
Smith, Sr. and Ezeckial McCoy. They were to oversee the election 
at the Black Fox settlement as they were all inhabitants of the 
southern and eastern portions of the county. With polling places 
elsewhere in the county, Jefferson was rapidly losing its importance 
as the legal and judicial center for the county. 

On April 7, 1809, Joel Dyer, a resident of Jefferson, 
was appointed overseer of the western boundary of the town to the 
low water mark on the West Fork with all the liable hands within the 

en 

town to work under him. ' Later, in 1811, Joel Dyer was licensed 
to keep an ordinary at his house in Jefferson. According to Goodspeed 
History of Rutherford County , Joel Dyer moved his business to 
Murfreesboro in 1812. 

The census for 1810 shows the total number of inhabitants 
in Jefferson to be 107, including heads of households, spouses, 
children and slaves. Joel Dyer had the largest household within 
the town with 11 males, 7 females and 9 slaves. As he was operating 
an ordinary at this time, it is possible that some of the males and 
females counted were boarders. He and George Simpson were the 
largest slaveholders in Jefferson, each having 9 slaves. The heads 
of households in the town of Jefferson were as follows: Joel Dyer, 
James L. Armstrong, George Shall, Thomas Mitchell, Clement Read, 
George Simpson, George R. Nash, Thomas Johnson, James Sharpe, Neil 
B. Rose, WilliajTi D. Hill and Clarissa Boushane. 

Again the jail had fallen into disrepair as John Griffin 

69 
was allowed ^3.45 for fixing the jail. On the previous day he, 

as sheriff of the county, protested about the "insufficiency of 



32 



THE LENOIR HOUSE 




photo courtesy Hatton Ward 
The Lenoir house in the 19th century 







The Lenoir house during demolition, 
showing the log structure that was 
used as the first courthouse in 
Jefferson. 



photo from Nashville Banner Feb. 14, 1967 



In later years, the log building was 
added on to and the whole was covered 
with weatherboards. The front was 
changed from the East, facing the main 
street to the river, to the South, 
facing the old Jefferson Pike. 




photo from Rutherford Courier 
Aug. 7, 1967 



33 



70 
the jail" in Jefferson. During the same session of court, on 

January 2, 1810, Joseph Herndon resigned his position as the County 

Clerk, having served 6 years in that position. ''' 

In January of 1811 new rates for taverns in Jefferson 

and those out in the county were established by the court. They 

were as follows: 

Breakfast and Supper 16 3/4 cents 

Dinner 25 cents 

-5 Pint whiskey, peach brandy or gin 12^ cents 

Each 24 hrs. horse kept in stables 57i cents 

Each person a bed 6t cents 

■J 3?int rum, wine or French brandy 25 cents '^ 



The Tragic Story 
of 

Herbert Hardy 
An interesting story comes to light, in Jefferson, in 
an examination of the County Court minutes for April of 1811. It 
appears there was a Dr. William Ward in Jefferson at this time 
and on April 2, 1811, the court ordered that "if Dr. William Ward 
will receive Herbert Hardy and will give him such medical aid, and 
also furnish him with such nourishment as his situation may require, 
that this court will make him a suitable allowance. " '^ Who this 
Herbert Hardy was, where he had come from, and what injuries or 
ailments he had is a mystery. All that is evident from an examination 
of the records is that he came into Jefferson, injured or ill to 



3k 



the extent that the court was moved by his situation and appropriated 
county funds for his care. 

The next day, April 3, the court ordered that Thomas 
Mitchell, who operated a tavern in town, be allowed $25 for furnishing 
Herbert Hardy with a bedj'* The efforts to revive Herbert Hardy failed 
for he died sometime between April 3 and July 2, 1811. It was on 
this last date that the court reimbursed Dr. William Ward ^8 for 
a coffin he provided for the "late Herbert Hardy dec'd."'''^ This same 
day, the court ordered the sheriff of the county to take possession 
of the bed and other effects of Herbert Hardy and sell them at six 
months credit, making a return of the sale at the next court session. 
It appears that Herbert Hardy must have been in a destitute state, for 
when the sheriff made a return of the sale of his personal belongings 
on October 10, 1811, it only amounted to fourteen dollars and thirteen 
cents. '^^ On October 7, James Havins was allowed by the court ^25 

no 

for caring for Herbert Hardy while he was ill in Jefferson. 

Dr. Ward must have had James Havins care for Herbert Hardy, while he 

gave the necessary medical treatment. The next day, James Gray was 

79 

granted ;tti12 by the court for his amount against Herbert Hardy. 



During April of 1811, the court ordered that the courthouse 
in Jefferson be repaired and that a courthouse tax be laid on all 
taxable property in the county, being equal to one half of the state 
tax.^^ It appears the courthouse had fallen into an extreme state of 
disrepair. Within the court order, it was specified, " to paint the 
window frames, doors and cornice with some cheap paint, to repair 



35 

the doors, ceiling, justices seat and bar, to erect a clerk's table, 
plaster the inside of the house, fill the windows with sound glass 
and mend any sash that is broken." So here we have a picture of the 
courthouse in 1811 with broken doors, peeling paint on the trim, an 
unplastered interior with exposed brick and broken windows around the 
house. 

THE REMOVAL OF THE SEAT OF JUSTICE 

On October 17, 1811, the General Assembly passed an act 
entitled, "An act to establish the permanent seat of justice in the 
county of Rutherford."® The passing of this act represents the 
culmination of a growing dissatisfaction with Jefferson as the county 
seat by a portion of the citizens over the last few years. Within the 
above act, the reasons for moving the seat of justice away from 
Jefferson were as follows: that the town of Jefferson was not near 
the center of the county; that the town was laid out and lots sold 
before the county was established; that the greatest part of the 
citizens were put at a great disadvantage and inconvenience in 
attending courts and elections in Jefferson ( we have already seen 
separate polling places designated in the county for elections over 
the past several years) . 

The courts meeting in Jefferson had a tremendous impact 
on the growth and prosperity of the town. 'i/^/hen the courts were in 
session, the town must have bustled with activity. Business, because 
of this, would be attracted to the county seat. As it was the 
judicial and legal center for the county, it was also the business 
and trade center for the county. 



36 



Another setback hit the town of Jefferson, for tradition 
holds that the waters of the Stones River "began to diminish periodically 
and the boats coming up the river, bringing trade and commerce to 
Jefferson, could no longer navigate the river year round. 

With the passage of this act, the fate of Jefferson was 
sealed. The town that once looked to be the thriving, prosperous 
commercial and judicial center for the county now faced an uncertain 
future with the courts moving away and the river traffic it depended 
on diminishing. 

There was quite a bit of controversy and commotion in the 
county at this time concerning moving the seat of justice from 
Jefferson to another place. The people with lots and business 
interests in Jefferson and others living in the vicinity stood to 
lose much through the court's moving, while other citizens of the 
county stood to benefit by the convenience and economic benefits with 
the relocation of the seat of justice. There was widespread reaction 
throughout the county over this matter. 

The citizens of the town of Jefferson sent a petition, 

sometime in 1812, to the General Assembly asking for indemnity if 

82 
the county seat was moved. In the petition, it is stated that 

"many men made large expenditures for improvements in Jefferson which 

have been reduced to almost nothing." The land values in Jefferson 

would surely have dropped rapidly with the courts moving away. There 

was to be a tremendous impact on the town with the courts gone, 

causing taverns and other businesses to close their doors. This 

petition was signed by 17 individuals including Joel Dyer, John 

Griffin ( the former sheriff ), Thomas Mitchell, John Spence and 

Thomas Sappington, 



37 



Another petition was sent to the General Assembly, in 
1812, from the citizens of the county asking that the county seat 
be chosen by referendum.®'^ The petitioners state that a few men in 
the county ( presumably the commissioners named by the General 
Assembly to find a permanent seat of justice ) have kept the county 
in perpetual confusion concerning the seat of justice. They further 
state that there are some who want Lytle's and Murphey's (sic) spring, 
while others represent the negative aspects of this site and yet others 
who are disinterested in any particular place. The 59 citizens that 
signed this petition called for a general vote on the matter, this 
being the only way to do justice to the citizens of Rutherford County. 

Even though a new courthouse, jail and stocks were slated 
to be built at the new site of the seat of justice, on April 8, 1812, 
the court ordered that the sheriff of the county to put the jail, in 
Jefferson, in repair. The cost of this was not to exceed S-l^. The 
court order specified that all of the repairs were to be done on the 
"lower room and the same to be used as a debtors room." This last 
phrase leads us to believe that the log jail must have been a two 
story structure ( the log section of the Lenoir house was two storys - 
could this have been used as a jail after the new courthouse was 
built? ). The jail must surely have been in an extreme state of disrepair 
for the county to appropriate funds for fixing the jail, when by an 
act of the General Assembly, a new jail was to be built in the near 
future. On this same day, a Matthew McClanahan was allowed $1.50 by 
the court for repairs already done on the jail. 

As there was continued commotion and controversy over the 
seat of justice in Rutherford County, two of the commissioners who 
selected Jefferson as the county seat, Mark Mitchell and Peter Legrand, 
sent a letter to the General Assembly explaining why they had chosen 



3S 



Jefferson. They sent this letter because of the "frequent mis- 
representations (that) have been made relative to the conduct of 
the five commissioners." In their letter, Mitchell and Legrand 
state that the principal part of the population was in the north 
and northwestern parts of the county when the commissioners chose 
Jefferson and that the part of the county that was beyond the old 
Indian line was not part of the county at that time and could not 
have been taken into account in centering the county. Mitchell and 
Legrand went on to state that the forks of the Stones River ( at the 
time Jefferson was selected as the county seat of justice ) was 
seven miles from the center of the county and when the benefits to 
the town by the navigation of the river were considered with the good 
springs and "elegance of situation" that more of a general satisfaction 
would have been felt by the citizens of the county toward this site. 
The commissioners also felt that many "merchant and saw mills" would 
be built on the many streams in close proximity to Jefferson "sufficient 
to supply the largest town not only with flour and meal, but with 
building materials at any season of the year." Mitchell and Legrand 
refer to the fact, in supporting this, that W. Crosthwait was then 
erecting "extensive merchant mills" within one half mile of Jefferson. 
They referred to Stones River as still being navigable, with large 
boats descending the river once a year and smaller craft being able 
to make the trip three fourths of the year. The letter was closed 
with, "these were our principle reasons and we fondly hope that they 
will satisfy an impartial publick (sic)", signed Mark Mitchell and 
Peter Legrand. 

It appears that on October 8, 1812, there was a sharp 



39 



confrontation, in court, between those in favor of moving the court 
and those wishing it to remain in Jefferson. At the adjournment on 
October 8, with 14 justices present, it was ordered that the court 
meet the following day at 10 o'clock in Murfreesborough. °' William 
Searcy, Theophilus Cannon, John Hill, Glover Banton, James L. Armstrong 
and William Edwards, who all were justices, then appeared before the 
bench and commanded the sheriff to adjourn the court to meet at 
Jefferson the next day at 9 o'clock. This was done, for the court 
entry for the next day has the court meeting in Jefferson. 

Following this incident, a petition was sent to the General 
Assembly, dated October 10, 1812, calling for the removal from office 
those ju,;tices who conducted the "illegal" adjournment to Murfreesborough." 
The petition was signed by sixty five citizens of Rutherford County. 
It appears in this petition, that on the day following the confrontation 
in court, those justices who called for the adjournment to Murfreesborough, 
went to the house of William Lytle, in Murfreesborough, and held court 
there while court wae being held in Jeff er son- by the sheriff's order 
of the previous day. The petitioners state that there were only 
fourteen of the fifty one justices of the county present on October 8 
when they called for the adjournment to Murfreesborough and therefore 
they did not constitute a majority. The petition goes on to state, 
"the said fourteen gentlemen were repeatedly admonished and advised 
by the gentlemen, learned in the law, who were then present as 
practicing attornies of said court - and who were ernestly and repeatedly 
remonstrated against such an unwarrantable act ... they were well 
advised of the illegality of such a proceeding." According to the 
petition, a great many of the citizens were inconvenienced as the court 



kO 



docket was full and many had traveled considerable distances to 
attend court, only to have it disrupted and the proceedings delayed. 
For these reasons, the petitioners requested that those justices 
who composed the court at the illegal adjournment be removed from 
office "by impeachment or otherwise." Petitioners included John 
Nash Read, William Dyer, Constant Hardeman, John Coffee, James Espey 
and Thomas Bedford (the son of Tho. Bedford dec'd). 

On June 5, 1813 with twenty seven justices present at court, 
which was being held for the last time in Jefferson, a majority of 
acting justices was determined and the court was adjourned, to meet 
the following day at Murfreesborough, "agreeable to the act of the 
General Assembly. " ^ 

With the courts moving, went the dreams and aspirations for 
the town of Jefferson to be a prosperous, active center for the county. 
As fewer people were coming into town since the court was moved, 
many of the taverns and other businesses closed their doors. Over 
the years, Jefferson became another quiet country community with farms 
dotting the land that once held the first county seat of justice for 
Rutherford County. 

EPILOG: 
THE DEATH OF JEFFERSON 

Authorized by the Flood Control Act of 1938, construction 
of the Percy Priest Dam, on Stones River, was begun in 1963. The 
impounded waters were expected to cover most of the site of the town, 
perhaps only leaving a small island. During 1966-7, the town was 



a 



destroyed with all of the buildings either dismantled or moved to 
different locations. The waters of Percy Priest lake never fully 
covered the site of Jefferson and it is still possible today to 
walk over the small knoll that once held the first seat of justice 
for the county. 



42 

NOTES 



%orth Carolina land grant #5390 to Robert Weakley and Thomas 

Bedford. Land Grants, North Carolina, Roll 22, Book 11, p. 190. 

Tennessee State Library and Archives, Nashville, Tenn. (hereafter cited 
as TSLA) 

^Tradition holds that the town was laid out with 150 lots, but 
evidence cited later suggests that the town was laid out with 102 
lots and the remaining lots were surveyed and laid off by the 
commissioners of Jefferson after the town was chosen as the county 
seat. 

Rutherford County, Tenn., Register's Office (hereafter cited as 
RC Reg.), Deed Book A, p. 17 and Deed Book E, p. 396 

'^"Petitions to the General Assembly from the citizens of Davidson 
and Williamson Counties to form a new county", Legislative Petitions, 
65-1803, TSLA. 

^Ibid. 

^"Petition to create a new county from the citizens on or near the 
Big Harpeth River", December 8, 1802, Legislative Petitions, 32-1-1803, 
TSLA. 

'''"Petition to the General Assembly from the citizens of Davidson 
County not to have a new county laid off", 1803, Legislative Papers, 

46-1-1803, TSLA. 

^ Acts of Tennessee 1803 , (Knoxville, Tenn.), p. 119 

^Ibid., p. 130 

^^R.C. Reg., Deed Book A, p. 25 

^""ibid., p. 10 

''^Rutherford County, Tenn., County Clerk's Office (hereafter cited 
as R.C. Ct. Clk.), County Court Minute Book (hereafter cited as 
C.C.M.B.) - B, p.131 . 

"•^R.C. Ct. Clk., C.C.M.B. -A, p. 8. 
^"^Ibid., p. 18. 

^^Ibid., p. 29. 

1 fi 

Interview with Mr. Lee Victory, Smyrna, Tenn., 10/15/80. 



43 



'''^ Acts of Tennessee 1804 , (Knoxville, Tenn.), p. 87. 
''%.C. Ct. Clk., C.C.M.B.-A, p. 26. 
"■^Ibid., p. 36. 
2°Ibid., p. 53. 
^''ibid., p. 54. 

^^Ibid., p. 44, 57, 75, 123. 

23 

All biographical material on Robert Weakley is from "The Southern 

Virginia Weakley Families and their Descendents" by Samuel Anderson 
Weakley unless otherwise noted. 

All biographical material on Thomas Bedford is from a paper by 
Redmond S. Cole and a paper by Hugh Bedford, geneological vertical 
files, TSLA , unless otherwise noted. 

^^R.C, Ct. Clk., C.C.M.B.-A, p. 33. 

2^Ibid., p. 39. 

^'^Ibid., p. 51. 

^^Ibid., p. 73. 

^^R.C, Reg., Deed Book E, p. 400 

^°R.C., Ct. Clk., County Court Records Indexed, 1804-1814, p. 23. 

^''r.C, Ct. Clk., C.C.M.B.-A, p. 80. 

32 

Ibid., p. 59. The Norton Gum ordinary was probably in the town 

of Jefferson since Gum was appointed to oversee its roads. An overseer 

for the roads was appointed to those that they lived on or were in 

close proximity to. 

^^Ibid.,p.89. 

-^^Mill file, Walter R. Hoover Collection, Thurman Francis Junior 
High School, Smyrna, Tenn. 

^^R.C, Reg., Deed Book B, p. 189 and p. 191, Deed Book E, p. 400. 



kk 



^^R.C, Ct. Clk., C.C.M.B.-A, p. 80. 

5'^Ibid., p. 126. 

5^Ibid., p. 62. 

5^Ibid., p. 93. 

^°Ibid., p. 202. 

^hbid., p. 227. 

"^^Ibid., p. 229. 
43 



'R.C., Reg., Deed Book H, p. 241. 

^"^Population Schedules of the Third Census of the U.S., 1810, 
Rutherford County, National Archives Microfilm Publication, Microcopy 
252, roll 63. 

^^R.C, Reg., Deed Book F, p. 189. 

'^^"Report of improvements on lots in Jefferson - Report of lots 
sold by commissioners in Jefferson", Legislative Papers, Rutherford 
County, 27-1-1813, TSLA. 

'^\.C.,Ct. Clk., C.C.M.B.-A, p. 142. 

4^Ibid., p. 166 

^^The Thomas Mitchell house was in Jefferson at this time, as a 
court entry in C.C.M.B.-B, p. 128, makes reference to the "house of 
Thomas Mitchell in Jefferson. " 

^^Interview with Mr. Everett Waller, Smyrna, Tenn. , 10/21/80. 

^^R.C, Ct. Clk., C.C.M.B.-A, p. 14. 

^^Ibid., p. 144. 

^^Ibid., p. 145, 155 

^^Ibid., p. 195. 



45 



^^Ibid., p. 184. 

^Interview with Mr. Lee Victory, Smyrna, Term., 10/15/80. 

^'^R.C, Reg., Deed Book E, p. 391. 

^^R.C, Ct. Clk., C.C.M.B.-B, p. 78. 

^^Ibid., p. 103. 

^°Ibid., p. 114. 

^hbid., p. 81. 

^^ Acts of Tennessee 1807 , (Knoxville, Tenn.), p. 130. 

■^Ibid., p. 154, "An act to establish a separate election in the 

County of Rutherford. " 



64 



R.C.,Ct. Clk., C.C.M.B.-B, p. 126. 



^^Ibid., p. 179. 



66 
^Ibid., p. 130 



'R.C., Ct. Clk., C.C.M.B.-C, p. 162. 
67- 



Population Schedules for the Third Census of the U.S, , 1810, 
Rutherford County, National Archives Microfilm Publication, 
Washington D.G., Microcopy 252, roll 63. 

^%.C., Ct. Clk., C.C.M.B.-C, p. 221. 

"^^Ibid., p. 220. 

'^'' Ibid., p. 205. 

'^^R.C, Ct. Clk., C.C.M.B.-E, p. 51. 

'^^Ibid., p. 67. 

■ '^^Ibid., p. 89. 

'^^Ibid., p. 152. 



46 



'^^Ibid., p. 153. 

'^'^Ibid., p. 217 

^^Ibid., p. 172. 

'^^Ibid., p. 184. 

^°Ibid., p. 54. 

ft 1 

Acts of Tennessee 1811 , (Knoxville, Tenn.), p. 38. 

ft? 

"An appeal for indemnity to the General Assembly from the citizens 
of the town of Jefferson", Legislative Papers, 40-1-1812, TSLA. 

-^^,'Petition to the General Assembly that the county seat be chosen 
by referendum". Legislative Papers, 47-1-1812, TSLA. 

^"^R.C, Ct. Clk., C.C.M.B.-F, p. 15. 

"Peter Legrand and Mark Mitchell to the General Assembly", 
Manuscripts, THS I-D-1, box 1, ac. 305, TSLA. 

^'^R.C, Ct. Clk., C.C.M.B.-F, p. 192. 

"Petition to remove certain justices from office". Legislative 
Papers, Rutherford County, 50-1-1812, TSLA. 

^%.C., Ct. Clk., C.C.M.B.-F, p. 205. 



47 



RUTHERFORD COUNTY. TENNESSEE WILL ABSTRACTS 

by 

SUSAN G. DANIEL 



1. Record Book 1, Page 72 - Will of John Ford of Burke County - 
Date of Will: 2? October 1804 Recorded: 12 January 1809 
Wife: Judith Ford "Leave to": Children "Leave also to": 
John Payne, Charles Duncan Executors: Jacob Ford, James 
Ford (friends) Witnesses: Sally Payne, Lucinda Payne, John 
Godfrey. 

2. Record Book 2, Page 6 - Will of Jeremiah Thacker of Davidson 
County, TN - Date of Will: 7 October 1803 Recorded: 12 April 
1804 Wife: Mary Ann Thacker daughter: Gashandy son: Siar 
Thacker son: Larkin Thacker "my ^■ children": Charles, 
Ursellus, Larkin, Cashandy Thacker Executors: wife and son, 
Larkin Thacker Witnesses: John L. Jetton, Jonathan Rucker, 
Henry Rucker William Payne owed money to estate and the land 
of Cummins was mentioned. 

3. Record Book 2, Page 7 - Will of Isaac Barr of Rutherford County, 
TN - Date of Will: 10 March 1804 (No filing or recording date) 
Executor and wife: Elizabeth "my 4 children": Enoch, Robert 
Steel, Isaac Ross, and Mariah slaves: Simon, Pat ( to be sold) 
Witnesses: Robert Smith, William Smith. 

4. Record Book 2, Page 12 - Will of Samuel Williams of Rutherford 
County, TN - Date of Will: 2 December I8O5 Filed: 15 April 
I8O6 Wife: Elizabeth "lawful children, until they shall 
become of age" "a child I had by Betsy Tinker" "a child I 
had by Nelly Buckridge" Executors: wife and Robert Williams 
Witnesses: William Mitchell, Nancy Mitchell (when proved: 
Executrix sworn, Executor dead) . 

5. Record Book 2, Page I6 - Contested will of John Price of 
Rutherford County, TN - Date of Will: 17 January I8O6 
Recorded: 29 September I8O6 Wife: Nancy Price daughter: 
Polley Carr (not yet 18) Executors: wife and friend, Joseph 
Dickson Witnesses: John Dickson, Henry Davis. 

6. Record Book 2, Page 18 - Will of John Cason of Prince Edward 
County, VA - Date of Will: 20 June I806 Recorded: 5 November 
I8O6 brother: Seth Cason sister: "money in hands of Elisha 
Bennett upon Thomas Huddleston to" Susanna Adcock and her chil- 
dren sister: "paid out money in hands of Thomas Armstrong to" 
Mary Arnold sister: Lucy Bennett, her children slave: Charles 
to Lucy Bennett sister: Milly Armstrong and children slaves: 
Rose and child, Wiatt to Milly Armstrong slave: Hannah to Seth 
Cason "my sisters and sisters' children in Virginia" Named: 
Edmond Harris Executor: friend, Edmond Harris Witnesses: 
Ishajn Harris, William Hunter, Wilson Hunter. 



43 



7. Record Book 2, Page 21 - Will of Bradley Gambill of Rutherford 
County, TN - Date of Will: 19 June 1806 Filed: 1806 

son: Benjamin Gaunbill son: Metton (?) son: James son: Jordan 
(unmarried) Wife: not named 2 youngest sons: Bradley and 
Hourain or Hovram (?) daughgers: not named Executors: son, 
Benjamin Gambill, Joseph Morton Witnesses: Bird Nance, William 
Nance. 

8. Record Book 2, Page 30 - Will of William Baker of Bedford County, 
TN - Date of Will: 6 November 1806 Recorded: 20 August 180? 
Wife: Martha Baker slave: Eve to wife daughter: Gemperance 
"children": James, Mary, John and child my wife is carrying 
Executors: wife, John Nail, John Baker Witnesses: Richard 
Baily, Robert Baker, Jonathan Bailey. 

9. Record Book 2, Page 32 - Will of John Tilly - Date of Will: 20 
May 180? Recorded: ^ November 180? Wife: Jane slave: Rhodey 
(female) to be free at wife's death Named: John Billingsly to 
have J of land at wife's death Referred to in will: Robert 
Bean, Thomas Blair, Doctor Jonathan Edwards Witnesses: Robert 
Bell, Thomas Dougan Copy given to: William Wright. 

10. Record Book 2, Page 35 - Will of Francis Wright of Rutherford 
County, TN - Date of Will: 3 December 180? Recorded: 7 February 
1808 Wife: Nancy "dear children": not named Executors: 
wife and Jacob Wright Ramsey Witnesses: James D. Partrick, 
Francis Youree. 

11. Record Book 2, Page 36 - Will of William Robertson of Davidson 
County, TN - Date of Will: 19 October 1802 Recorded: 7 Febrioary 
1808 Wife: Nancy Robertson son: Matthew Robertson son: 
Benjamin Robertson son: Samuel Robertson son-in-law: Thomas 
Thornton daughter: Elizabeth (wife of Thomas Thornton) son- 
in-law: John Kinkade daughter: Isbel Kinkade son: Joseph 
Robertson son-in-law: William Plumber daughter: Margaret 
Pliimber son-in-law: Moses Robertson daughter: Mary Robertson 
son-in-law: George Buchanan daughter: Dinah Buchanan 
Executor: son, .-Matthew Robertson Witnesses: John Buchanan, 
William Philips. 

12. Record Book 2, Page ^■^ - Will of John Howell, Sr. of Rutherford 
Goimty, TN - Date of Will: 16 December 1807 Filed: 20 April 
1808 Wife: Sarah slave: girl, Shaw to wife On wife's death 
equal shares to: William Howell, Gwin Howell, Nancy Nelson, 
Peggy Whitsett son: Gwin Howell slave: man. Purse to Gwin 
Howell slave: boy, Jerry to Gwin Howell son: William Howell 
Named: James Whitsett, Thomas Nelson granddaughter: Patsy 
McBride (not yet 16) slave: woman. Seel to Patsy McBride 
Executors: James Whitsett, Thomas Nelson, William Howell 
Witnesses: John Stockird, Sr. , Hugh Shearwood, Alexander Martin 
Codecil : 4 January 1808/Filed: 20 April 1808 Wife: Sarah 
son: Gwinn named: Nancy Nelson, Peggy Whitsett Witnesses: 
John Stockird, Sr. , Hugh Shearwood, Alexander Martin. 



49 



13. Record Book 2, Page 60 - Will of Harrison Gilliam of Rutherford 
Coimty, TN - Date of Will: 10 Jiane 1808 Recorded: 1? July 1808 
slave: man, Anthony made free brother: Thomas Gilliam's children 
Executors: William Gilliam, William Thweatt Witnesses: Rhoda 
Benge, Polly Thweatt, Elizabeth Thweatt, Mary Tarpley. 

14. Record Book 2, Page 62 - Will of Matthew Patton of Rutherford 
County, TN - Date of Will: 16 September 1808 Filed: 14 October 
1808 wife: Katen or Katea Patton daughter: Margarett 
daughter: Rhodah "my children" (other than Margarett and Rhodah) 
brother: James Patton Executors; wife and James Patton 
Witnesses: John Ferguson, William Hajina, James Cochran. 

15. Record Book 2, Page 64 - Will of James Morton of Rutherford 
County, TN - Date of will: 28 January 180? Recorded: 21 November 

1808 wife: not named son: Joseph slave: boy, Dennis to 
Joseph named: "Joseph' s mother" son: James slave: boy. 
Jack to James daughter: Judith slave: girl, Edy to Judith 
daughter: Sally slave: Fanny, Gury Clary to Sally daughter: 
Lucinda slaves: girls, Lucy, Sabry to Lucinda daughter: 
Tabitha slaves: Isaac, Corbis, Winna to Tabitha slaves: 
Daniele, Abraham, Ag, Rose to wife Executors: sons, Joseph 
Morton and James Morton Witnesses: Thomas Shute, William Still 
landowner mentioned: Allen Nance. 

17. Record Book 2, Page 66 - Will of John Norman of Rutherford 
County, TN - Date of Will: 12 November I8O8 Recorded: 12 
January 1809 wife: Marget "the children when come to age 

of maturity": not named Executors: wife and Theophiles Cannon 
Witnesses: John Stockird, Jr., John Irwin. 

18. Record Book 2, Page 82 - Will of Thomas Welch - Date of Will: 
14 May I809 Filed: 11 July 1809 verbal will to James Norman 
and witnessed on 18 May I809 Witnesses: James Caldwell, 
Aaron Oliphant, Joseph Norman wife: Rachel 4 daughters: 
Rachel Welch, Lydia Welch, Rebekah Welch, Catharine Norman 
names: John Norman, husband of Catharine. 

19. Record Book 2, Page 83 - Will of Francis McBride, Senior of 
Rutherford County, TN - Date of Will 19 December 180? Filed: 
20 October I809 oldest son: Isaiah McBride daughter: Martha 
Simmons grandson: Francis McBride granddaughter: Martha L. 
McBride (not yet I5) son: Samuel McBride Executors: James 
Sharpe, Theophilus Cannon, Samuel McBride Witnesses: John 
Stockard, David Magness 

20. Record Book 2, Page 85 - Will of Elizabeth Davis of Rutherford 
County, TN - Date of Will: 11 September 1809 Recorded: 30 October 

1809 daughter: Elizageth Davis slave: girl, Silla to Elizabeth 
son: Henry Bishop slave: boy, Sampson to Henry Bishop son- 

in law: Robert Elliot son: William H. Davis slave: woman, 
Dolle to William son-in-law: John Irwin Executors: John 
Irwin, Robert Eliott Witnesses: Jajnes Sharp, Marcus Sharp, 
Isabella Martin. 



50 



21. Record Book 2, Page 113 - Will of Major William Buckner, Jiuiior 
of Sumner County, TN - Date of Will: 9 September 180? Filed: 

3 June 1811 wife: Polly Buckner slaves: Winney, Nelly, 
Austin, and Grace to be sold "my children": not named 
Executors: friends, Edward Sanders, James Scinders Witnesses: 
Wiley Lassiter, Austin McWade 

22. Record Book 2, Page 11^ - Will of James Sharpe of Rutherford 
County, TN - Date of Will: 30 September 1809 Filed: 3 June 1811 
wife: Rachel Sharpe slaves: man, Moody; woman, Phillis to wife 
"our children": not named son: Theophilus A. Sharpe (not yet 
21) slaves: Candis, Amos, , George, Milton, Dorcas, Daniel, Marg, 
Levi to Theophilus Sharpe eldest son: Marquis Sharpe slaves: 
boy, Milton to Marquis Sharpe son: Alfred Sharpe slave: boy, 
George to Alfred Sharpe son: John Sharpe slave: boy, Daniel 
to John Sharpe slave: boy, Amos to Theophilus son: James 
Morriss Sharpe slave: boy, Levi to James Sharpe daughter: Emma 
Sharpe slave: girl, Candis to Emma Sharpe daughter: Peggy 
Carlile (?) Sharpe slave: girl, Dorcas to Peggy Sharpe 
davighter: Jemima Alexander Sharpe slave: girl, Nancy to Jemima 
Sharpe slaves: Cordance, Amos, George, Milton, Dorcas, Daniel, 
Nancy, Levi, first to wife then to children mentions "when 

the boys are 20 years of age and the girls are 18 years of age" 
Executors: friends, John Sharpe, Theophilus A. Gannon, Marquis 
Sharpe Witnesses: Henry Bishop, William H. Davis, Theophilus 
A . Cannon 

Codecil : 1 December 1810/Filed: 3 June 1811 "prospect of 
another legatee to be added to the family by my wife Rachel Sharpe" 
Witnesses: Jeunes Martin, Nancy Wilson, John Sharpe, Theophilus 
A. Gajinon landowners named: James Aspey, James Roseberry. 

23. Record Book 2, Page I58 - Will of Edmund Johns of Rutherford 
County, TN - Date of Will: 20 March 1811 Proven in part: 
October session 1811 Recorded: 2^- February 1812 wife: Sarah 
Johns brother: John slaves: man, Will; man, Joe; girl, Jane 
(pregnant) to wife son: Jack Haden Johns son: Madison Johns 
slave: girl. Clary to Madison son: Frederick Johns (gets Jane's 
child when bom) daughter: Martha Johns slaves: girl, Abby; 
boy, Sam to Martha Executors: wife and my brother, Abner Johns 
Witnesses: Gross Scruggs, John Johns. 

24. Record Book 2, Page I60 - Will of William Roberts of Rutherford 
County, TN - Date of will: 21 October 1811 Recorded: 14 March 
1812 wife: Nancy Roberts slaves: man, Harry to wife 
daughter: Lucy daughter: Nancy son: Jessee slave: man, 
Harry to Jessee (this slave might be the same as one to wife - sgd) 
daughter: Betsy "other children not named in this will" 
Witnesses: Toliver Simpson, William Simpson Executor: not named. 

25. Record Book 2, Page I65 - Will of Hugh Prior Brawly of 
Rutherford County, TN - Date of Will: 12 November 1811 Filed: not 
shown wife: Ruth Brawly sons: Hugh, Levi, John, Prior 
Executors: wife and son, John Brawly Witnesses: Joshua Barton, 
John Bankhead, Dainiel Webb 

Codecil: 12 November 1811 daughter: Polly Crownover daughter: 
Ruth Brawly daughter: Gintha Brawly 



51 



26. Record Book 2, Page 184 - Will of William Loftin of Rutherford 
Coimty, TN - Date of Will: 1? June 1811 Recorded: October term 
1811 wife: Levina Loftin slaves: Matt and his wife, Sail; 
woman, Darkis to wife then to son, Thomas son: Thomas Loftin 
daughter: Polly Brothers slave: woman, Nelly to Polly Brothers 
daughter: Elizabeth Cole slaves: woman, Tener; girl, Annebar 
to Elizabeth Cole son: Eldridge son: William daughter: 
Nancy Feathers ton slave: girl, Kirlinda to Nancy; boy, Jack 
to Eldridge; girl, Mary to Levina; boy. Matt to Levina 
daughter: Levina Loftin daughter: Lucy Loftin slave: woman, 
Darkis to Lucy son: Henry slave: boy, Sam to wife 
landowners named: Jajnes Johnston, Samuel Hcuids, James Higgins 
Executors: wife and sons, William and Thomas Witnesses: Jessee 
Featherston, James Barfield, A. Pearce. 

2?. Record Book 2, Page 204 - Will of John Gasaway of Rutherford 
County, TN - Date of Will: 5 December 1812 Filed: ? 
wife: Peggy Gasaway my children: Elenor Gasaway, Thomas, 
Nicholas, William, John, Patsy, Hannah Gasaway, Nancy Gasaway 
Executor: George Furr Witnesses: William Bowman, Henry Ward, 
Mordecai Li Hard. 

28. Record Book 2, Page 205 - Will of Jacob Stroup of Rutherford 
County, TN - Date of Will: 15 August 1812 Filed: ? wife: 
Elizabeth Stroup son: John Stroup (not yet 18) "my children 
when they come of age" Executors: wife and friend, Abraham 
Scriber Witnesses: George Wallace, Fielder Bevins. 

29. Record Book 2, Page 214 - Will of John Smith of Rutherford 
County, TN - Date of Will: 2? July 1812 Filed: 20 April 1813 
Wife: Polly daughters: Betsy, Patsy, Anna, Polly (last three 
not of age) son: James slaves: Bob, Dave, Silvey, Milly to 
wife - Mary, Lydia to Betsy - Charles and Easter to Patsy - 
Delph and Reuben to Anna - Jinny and George to James - Bill and 
Silecy to Polly Executors: John Fulton, Joseph Morton, James 
Morton Witnesses: Sajnuel Watkins, John Fulton. 

30. Record Book 2, Page 226 - Will of Edward Eppes of Rutherford 
County, TN - Date of Will: 24 August 1813 - Recorded: 8 November 
1813 Wife: Rebecka Eppes "my children not of age": not named 
Executor: wife and Daniel Eppes Witness: John B. Prewit 

31. Record Book 2, Page 228 - Will of James Brookshire of Rutherford 
County, TN - Date of Will: 16 April 1813 Recorded: 8 November 
1813 Wife: Martha Brookshire "my children": not named 

2 youngest children: William and Joseph Executors: friends, 
Thomas Brown, George Uselton, Thomas Ashley Witnesses: Daniel 
Green, Stephen Chalton, Frederick Brady 

32. Record Book 2, Page 235 - Will of James Espie or Espey - Date 
of Will: 2? December 1811 Recorded: 10 October 1813 son: 
William and his wife, Cynthia, "only daughter-in-law" slave: 
girl, Nice about 10 years to William granddaughter: not named, 
(William's oldest daughter - no sons as of Will) son: George 



52 



32. (Cont'd) son: Robert daughter: Polly Overall daughter; 

Rachel Goodloe daughter :Caity Espy daughter: Marget Youry 
son-in-law: Francis Youry grandson: James Car Bradshaw 
wife: Catey Espy "My four youngest children": George, Robert, 
Gaity, Sally Executors: friends, Nathaniel Overall, Henry Belah, 
William Espey Witnesses: J. Posey, Isaac H. Overall slaves: 
wife is to have choice, rest divided among children. 

33. Record Book 2, Page 239 - Will of David Rogers of Rutherford 
County, TN - Date of Will: 6 January I8I3 Recorded: April term 
I8I3 Wife: Peggy oldest son: Robert "wife is to raise 
children until boys wants to do for themselves" second son: 
William 4th son: James Bamet daughter: Nancy (not married) 
3rd son: John Executors: wife and brother-in-law, William Ramsey 
Slave: woman, Lydia (not to be sold out of family) Witnesses: 
James Ramsey, Robert Raunsey. 

34. Record Book 2, Page 248 - Will of Humphrey Nelson of Rutherford 
County, TN - Date of Will: 24 July 1813 Filed: 19 March 1814 
son: Beverly Nelson slave: girl, Betty/Cetty (?) to Beverly 
Nelson daughter: Matilda Nelson son: Ambrose Nelson "rest 
of the children" "younger children" Wife: Sally Nelson 
Executors: Daniel Nelson, Beverly Nelson Witnesses: William 
Vaughan, William H. Wade, William Edwards. 

35. Record Book 2, Page 249 - Will of Elijah Fan of Rutherford County, 
TN - Date of Will: 6 December I8I3 Recorded: 19 March 1814 
Wife: Jane my 2 daughters: Jamima, Tabitha Executors: Henson 
Coulter, Anderson Coulter, James Sutfin Witnesses: Anderson 
Coulter, James Sutfin 

36. Record Book 2, Page 288 - Will of Mary Whitnell of Rutherford 
County, TN - Date of Will: 8 January 1814 Recorded: 2 April 1814 
"being old and sick" daughter: Mary Wadley son: Daniel 
Wadley son: John Wadley son: Thomas Wadley son: Samuel 
Wadley son: William Wadley daughter: Lenaresa Wadley daughter: 
Elander Wadley Executor: Thomas Nash Witnesses: Thomas A. 
Sikes, Jessee Sikes. 

37. Record Book 2, Page 298 - Will of John Winn of Rutherford County, 
TN - Date of Will: 8 December I8I3 Recorded: 2 November 1814 

2 daughters: Harriot and Margaret (apparently not of age - sgd) 
slaves: girl, Febe (Phoebe) to Harriot; girl, Jane to Margaret 
Wife: Pennelope Winn daughter: Ann McKinney son: Miner Winn 
son: John Winn son: Richard Francis Winn son: William Wright 
Winn daughter: Mary Kirkland son: Joseph T. Winn other 8 
sons: Peter Winn, Daniel Winn, David Winn, Jefferson Winn, Robert 
Winn, Obed Winn, Zacko Winn, Edward G. Winn Executors: 2 sons, 
Joseph and Peter and wife Witnesses: Charles Kavanaugh, James 
Dorothy ( ?Daugherty) , Peter Metheny. 



53 



MURFREESBOBO'S OLD CITY CEMETERY; 
A RECORD OF THE PAST 

BY 
MARY H. V7ILGUS 



54 



MURFREESBORO'S OLD CITY CEMETERY: 
A RECORD OF THE PAST 

The Old City Cemetery, located on Vine Street not far from 
Murfreesboro' s public square, provides a doon>7ay to the city's 
past. Like an old, restored home, personal diaries of long, 
deceased relatives, early newspapers, or carefully preserved 
deeds and wills, an old cemetery offers much information about 
the history of a family, town, or county. This is the enormous 
value of the Old City Cemetery. Much data on its stones are 
legible: ages of the people interred there, their places of 
origin, societies to which many belonged as well as family 
groupings. The burial ground on Vine Street is a valuable 
primary source for the historical study of Middle Tennessee 
because it is the final resting place of many of Rutherford 
County's founding families. 

The names inscribed on the tombstones, family plots, and 
pertinent dates are the ravj materials available to begin a 
journey into Murfreesboro and Rutherford County's past. VThen 
these names are used with other local sources--census reports, 
old newspapers, deeds and wills--many questions can be answered; 
what were their professions, political affiliations, social 
and economic positions in the community*^ VThat emei-ges is an 
historical expose of not only the families but the city as a 



55 



whole: white, middle-class, professional, and economically 
diversified. The cemetery attests to a slave population. The 
"peculiar institution" was the basis of Rutherford County's 
economy and society. 

Rutherford County was established officially on 25 October 
1803, with its county seat at Jefferson. On 17 October 1811, an 
act of the Tennessee General Assembly founded Murfreesboro. At 
first it was named Cannonsburgh, after the governor, but on 
19 November 1811, its name was changed to "Murfreesborough" to 
honor Col. Hardy Murfree. He provided the land for the neces- 
sary public buildings v.'hich became the square. Soon the new 

1 
town was Rutherford's county seat. 

According to the United States Census of 1810, there were 

many peoples settled in the area. The Jettons, Andersons, 

Killoughs, Subletts, Huggins, Burtons, Dicksons, Ruckers, 

Bairds, and Rankins were established families before 1810. The 

2 
Maneys appeared in the 1820 census. All of these families are 

interred in the Old City Cemetery. 

These people brought prosperity and culture to Rutherford 

County. They founded religious institutions, schools, and a 

viable economy. Murfreesboro' s first church, the First 

Presbyterian Church, vjas organized as early as 1811, and the 

brick structure was completed in 1820. The cemetery was located 

3 
next to the church. A private school for young men, Hopewell 

Academy, held classes in the early 1820s and was followed by 

Soule's Female Academy. Various banks and businesses appeared 

to provide services, merchandise, and emplojTnent for a growing 



56 

town. The record of these pioneers is found in the Old City 

Cemetery. 

The Jetton family plot contains eleven markers from its 

patriarch, John Jetton, through numerous grandchildren. As 

early as 3 November 1803, the Jetton family purchased property 

in Rutherford County. John L. Jetton bought 250 acres near Lytle 

6 
Creek off Stones River from Joel Childress for $250. John was 

born in North Carolina on 11 December 1778 and moved into 

Tennessee v.'ith his family to remain until his death on 25 June 

7 
1854. John's brother, Robert, came also. He and his wife, 

Nancy Wilson Jetton, settled in Rutherford in 1806. Robert 

8 
bought 125 acres from John for $500. After farming six years, 

Robert opened a tavern in a log structure on South Main Street. 

The tavern remained one of Robert's businesses from 1812 until it 
9 

burned in 1853. Between his farm and the ever popular tavern, 

Robert was financially able to take advantage of a foreclosure 

sale and turn a profit. On 4 February 1812 Sheriff M. McClanahan 

held a public auction, and Robert purchased Jeremiah Wright's 186 

acres on Stones River for $331. The next day Robert sold the 

10 
land to Archibald Shanks for $450--a profit of $119. 

\^^len the War of 1812 began, Robert formed Captain Jetton's 

Troop in December. It v:as part of the Tennessee Volunteer 

Cavalry under Col. John Coffee. From September 1813 through 

January 1814, Jetton's Troop served under Col. John Alcorn. 

Robert returned to Murfreesboro but saw action again in the first 

Seminole Expedition, 1817-1818. He was now Col. Robert Jetton, 

and his commanding officer was Gen. Andrew Jackson. During this 



57 



Florida expedition, Jackson created an international incident 

11 
when he executed two British citizens as spies. 

During his civilian interlude, 1814-1817, and after 1819, 

Robert diversified his business. He and John purchased a 

tanning business or tanyard in Murfreesboro, lot thirteen, from 

Joel Childress for $800. In 1819 Robert bought John's interest 

for $1000. Robert was a slave o\cner. In the 1820 census he 

registered one slave, but the number grew. In July 1822 he 

bought a twenty-five year old Negress, Peggy, and her infant son 

12 
from Samuel L. Black for $600. 

V7ith a farm, slaves, tavern, and tanyard, Robert was wealthy 

and politically oriented. He served in the Tennessee General 

Assembly for Rutherford County, 1817-1821. Later he was elected 

senator to the legislature, 1823-1825 and 1831-1833, a Jacksonian 

13 
Democrat. 

The Jetton families prospered and grev; with Murfreesboro 

and the county. Robert and Nancy had a son, Robert B. He chose 

to become a tailor and formed a oartnership with a Mr. Farmer. 

14 
They advertized their business in the local paper in 1835. 

Robert B. married Joanna L. Jetton, and their marriage produce 

15 
a son who died in infancy. \-7hen Robert B. Jetton's parents 

died, he became more wealthy, but he continued as a tr-^ilor V7ith 

16 
Josiah W. Floyd in 1843. As the times changed and the slavery 

issue grew into a national controversy, many Tennesseans had to 

make difficult decisions, and Robert B. wa'^ no e/ception. He 

offered his lands for sale and stated his r>urpose--a desire to 

17 
go south. 



56 



From 1803 the Jetton families added much to Murfreesboro and 
Rutherford County. As members of a church they helped to organ- 
ize, the First Presbyterian Church, they utilized the adjacent 

18 
cemetery. Robert Jetton, the farmer, slave owner, solder, 

businessman, and politician, died in December 1840. He and his 
brother, John, and their family members filled the Jetton plot 
in the City Cemetery: Anna, Sue, William and his wife, 
Elizabeth, Rob H. , Margaret, Elizabeth Brenard, and Mary E. 

Their death dates began with Rob H. in 1836 and ranged through 

19 
1895. The Jetton families of North Carolina were truly pio- 
neers in Rutherford County. 

The Anderson family occupies a sizeable plot in the Old 

City Cemetery. Unlike the Jettons, the Anderson partriarch was 

born in Virginia. Samuel, the third son of William Anderson of 

Rockbridge County, Virginia, came to Rutherford County in 1810. 

The Andersons were from an agricultural and Presbyterian back- 

20 
ground. He helped his father on the farm, but like his two 

brothers, William E. and Robert, Samuel studied law. He received 

his licence to practice in Tennessee in 1810. After moving to 

Murfreesboro in 1811, Samuel met and married Elizabeth, daughter 

of Col. Joseph and Sophia Rucker Burras. This marriage produced 

21 
several children. 

In 1818 Samuel purchased half of lot twenty-three in 

Murfreesboro from William E. Butler for $500. His law practice 

led to an elective office in the Tennessee General Assembly. 

Samuel's financial circumstances improved, and he increased his 

property holdings. In 1820 he bought 200 acres at public auction 



59 



for $157.50 plus $10.22 damages. In the 1820 census he regis- 
tered the ownership of five slaves, and the number grew as he 

Drospered. On 12 December 1822 Samuel bought a Negro girl, 

22 
Phyllis, from James Shinalt for $150. 

In 1834 a constitutional convention met to amend Tennessee's 

original document of 1794. Samuel Anderson represented Rutherford 

County at this convention. One of the issues to be decided was 

the election of judges. He publicly stated his opposition to this 

change on the grounds that it would obligate the judge and com- 

23 
promise bis objectivity in case decisions. Undoubtedly his 

position held because he was appointed judge to the Fifth 

Judicial Circuit in 1835; however, he ran again for this office 

when the selection method changed. He was a successful candi- 

24 
date and served until his retirement in 1851. 

In 1850 Elizabeth, his wife, died, and his eldest daughter, 

Sophia Ellis, soon followed in 1851. The family plot was fenced 

so thai: all could rest in peace as they had lived--as a family. 

Samuel died on 29 July 1859 and left an extensive estate to his 

heirs. To his granddaughter, Elizabeth El] is, he bequeathed 263 

acres, eleven Negroes, and all that had been deeded to his 

deceased daughter, Fophia. To '.'^illiam J. Anderson, his son, 

Samuel gave the land on which VJilliam lived if he paid the $4,000 

balance left owing, slaves, plus equal amounts of money in the 

estate after all debts were paid. Mary Elizabeth, his younger 

daughter, inherited his home, an equal portion of money, land not 

already bequeathed, and the slaves of her choice as long as she 

did not separate husband, v/ife, and children. As his V7ill attested 



60 



Judge Anderson died a wealthy man, yet one who had given much pub- 
lic service in return. He joined his family in the fenced 

25 
Anderson area of the City Cemetery on Vine Street. 

The family plot near the center of the graveyard belongs to 

the Killoughs. Samuel Killough left North Carolina after the 

Revolutionary War and crossed the mountains into Tennessee. 

Born on 10 September 1763, Samuel and his wife, Mary, came to 

26 
Rutherford County in 1804. In 1807 he bought 640 acres from 

an attorney, David Deadrik, for $700. His plantation was not far 

from what became Murfreesboro. Samuel's nroperty was prosperous, 

27 
and in the 1820 census he claimed eighteen slaves. Perhaps he 

needed the money or had no use for the land, but in 1823 he sold 

272 acres to James Stewart for $200. The City Cemetery became 

the final testimony and resting place for another nrominent 

28 
Rutherford County family. 

The graveyard testifies to the presence of Murfreesboro' s 

first newspaper o^^ners and editors, G. A. and A. C. Sublett. 

George Allen Sublett was born on 7 September 1792. He and his 

brother printed their first newspaper, the Courier , on 16 June 

29 
1814. Murfreesboro' s government hired the Subletts to print 

30 
the city ordinances for $98 in 1818. In 1819 they bought a 

lot in town for $500 from Mr. R. Ganav7ay to provide a permanent 

home for their printing business and newspaper. Both brothers 

o\<Tied farm land outside of tovm; they registered six slaves in 

the 1820 census and cleared a deed title with F. N. V/. Burton 

for 750 acres. In 1822 George bought thirteen slaves at public 

auction for $595.86 and purchased a Negress, Millie, and her 



$1 



four year old son, Randal, from Polly Morgan's estate for $626 

in 1824. George diversified further in 1827 when he bought and 

managed the Green House located on the west side of the square. 

As newspaper owner and editor George advertized his new enter- 

31 
tainment business in the paper. 

Sometime between 1824 and 1827 A. C. Sublett sold his interest 

in the Courier to George, and the paper's name became the 

Murfreesborough Courier . The yearly subscription fee for the 

weekly edition remained the same, $3.00. Another change took 

place in the newspaper in 1828; it took on a definite, publicly 

declared, political stand x-jhen George changed its name to 

National Vidette . On the front page George published: 

George Allen Sublett, 14 years an editor, 
subscriber to the principles of the 33 

republican doctrine of Jefferson and Madison. 

Undoubtedly the paper supported Andrew Jackson's presidential 

candidacy. On 15 January 1828, five days after the paper's 

release, Jackson came to Murfreesboro to be the guest of honor 

to celebrate the Thirteenth Anniversary of the Battle of New 

Orleans. As president of the committee for the celebration, 

George Sublett invited the fam.ed Tennessee general. The event 

was a great success with thirteen regular toast? offered and 

twenty- four additional ones enjoyed. Most of the town's 955 

34 
population shared "Old Hickory's" visit. 

The Sub]ett brothers brought a newspaper to Murfreesboro. 

It \7as a success although the name changed ^^everal times for 

various reasons. The to\\Ti grew intellectually, politically, and 

geographically as had the fortunes of the Tubletts. Although 



62 



the marker in the cemetery did not declare George Sublett's pro- 
fession and contributions, it recorded the fact that he was here. 

35 
George died on 26 March 1855. 

The Old City Cemetery attests to Murf reesboro' s growth and 

wealth. The town supported a newspaper and numerous merchants. 

One of the general store o\\Tiers came from the Huggins family who 

settled in T^utherford County in 1807. UilMam Huggins bought 

200 acres from Thomas Donell for $A50. The property lay :n 

Rutherford and Davidison counties along the west waters of Stones 

36 
River. Jonathan Huggins, a relative of William, bought lot 

three on Lytle Street for $600 from Samuel H. Laughlin. The 

store was located on the southwest corner near a house formerly 

37 
occupied by Gideon Jarratt. Jonathan advertized his "cash" 

grocery store in the local newsnaper, Tennessee Telegraph , in 

38 
May 18A0. The City Cemetery marked the nassing of VJilliam 

39 
Huggins' wife, Mary Elizabeth, and Elizabeth Huggins. 

The Spence family offered free enterprize competition in 

the dry goods business. J. Snence came to Murfreesboro from 

40 
Jefferson, Tennessee. He opened a store in 1813. Marmon and 

Brent Spence continued the family tradition in 1833 when they 

entered a partnership vjith Willis Snell. By 1834 the Spence 

brothers dissolved their business with Snell and advertized 

41 
their new store as "M. & B. Spence <^.- Co." in the local paper. 

Marmon remained a merchant until his death on 24 February 1847, 

at the age of fifty-nine. His wife, Sarah, who V7as born in 

Ireland, lived ten years after her husband. She v.'as buried 

42 
beside him in the City Cemetery in 1857. 



63 

The general merchandizing business expanded when the Leinau 

family came to tovm. Daniel Leinau managed a store one door 

north of the Washington Hotel. As late as 1840 the Leinaus adver- 

43 
tized their business as a "cash" store in the newspaper. Daniel 

married Eliza and they had a daughter, Lavinia. Lavinia married 

a Hilliard. Mrs, Milliard memorialized her deep affection for her 

mother when she erected a large, elaborate stone to mark Eliza 

44 
Leinau' s grave in the City Cemetery in 1855. 

The Burtons entered Rutherford County later than some of its 

more prominent families, but they came with more wealth. For the 

"sum of one dollar and considerations," Frank N. W. Burton received 

sizeable property holdings from Leonard Henderson of Granville 

County, North Carolina. In Tennessee, Burton was given: 1240 

acres in Williamson County; one tract of land in Rutherford 

consisting of 400 acres which had been a Revolutionary War land 

grant, number 196, originally deeded to Henry Windburn and 

located near Murfreesboro; 216 acre? on Stones River near the 

same town and part of a war land grant that had belonged to John 

Butler, number 162; 640 acres in Montgomery County on the north 

side of the Cumberland River, Baker Archer's v.'ar land grant, 

number 211; 256 acres on the south side of the Cumberland in 

Davidson County, part of a 640 acre land grant originally 

belonging to John Pearce; and 228 acres in Wilson County which 

had been granted to Mason Williams. In Tennessee, Burton's pro- 

45 
perty sprawled over five counties and contained 2390 acres. 

Frank N. W. Burton was born in North Carolina on 2 May 

1779. He married Lavinia B. Murfree, Col. Hardy Murfree's 



64 



daughter. She was born 3 April 1795. Their union produced six 

46 
children, four daughters and two sons, Frank Burton was a 

gentleman farmer in Rutherford County and took part in various 
cultural and social activities. He was a founder, board member, 
and trustee of Soule's Female Academj'-, begun in 1825 and staffed 
by Mary and Nancy Banks. The young ladies who attended were 
taught rhetoric, philosophy, belles-lettres , painting, needle- 
work, and iTiusic--all the subjects gentile southern ladies should 

47 
know . 

Frank and Lavinia's first son. Hardy Murfree Burton, became 

well known in political circles. He was born 7 June 1818 and 

married Mary D. Hoggatt. As a member of the VJhlg Party he sat 

in the Tennessee General Assembly for Rutherford County, 1841- 

1843. Hardy was a Mason and served as the Grand Master of the 

Grand Lodge of Tennessee in 1848. He was also a member of the 

Knights Templar. Hardy was one of the incorporators of the 

Murfreesborough Savings Institute, founded in 1850. Under 

President Millard Fillmore, young Burton served in the West 

Indies during 1852. Soon after his arrival, he died on 15 

December. His body was returned to Murfreesboro, and he was 

48 
interred in the Burton family plot in the City Cemetery. 

The Burtons were wealthy, respected, and added much to the 

economic, cultural, and social life of Murfreesboro. In the 

City Cemetery their family plot was located near Vine Street and 

received the infant Robert in 1821. Frank N. W. Burton died in 

1843; Sally M. Dotson, a daughter, in 1850; Hardy in 1852; Eli^a 

F. Crosswaithe, a daughter, in I860: and Finie in 1862. Lavinia 



65 



Burton saw her large family laid to rest and joined them in 1881. 

49 
She died in Kentucky at the age of eighty-six. 

Before the wealthy Burtons arrived in Middle Tennessee, Gen. 
Joseph Dickson settled in Rutherford County. He vias born in 
Chester County, Pennsylvania, in April 1745. With his parents 
he moved to Rowan County, North Carolina, attended college, and 
received a law degree. In 1764 Dickson married Margaret McEwen 
and they had nine children. Joseph owned a cotton and tobacco 
plantation. ^'Then the American Revolution began, he was an active 
member of the Committee of Safety in Rowan County. Dickson was 
commissioned a captain in the American army in 1775 and fought 
at the Battle of Kings Mountain. Capt. Dickson became a major 
and led the Lincoln County Men. They opposed Lord Cornwall is' 
invasion of North Carolina in 1781. Because of his bravery and 
commendable service to the new nation, Joseph Dickson was pro- 
moted to colonel. By the end of the war he was a brigadier 
general. Dickson served as general to the state militia and sat 
in the North Carolina convention which ratified the United States 
Constitution in 1789. He was a member of the state senate and a 
commissioner v:ho helped to establish the University of North 

Carolina, 1788-1795. He was a United States Congressman for 

50 
North Carolina and served from 4 March 1799 until 3 March 1801. 

'vTien Dickson arrived in Tennessee in 18' '3, he settled in 

what v.'as then Davidson County, but with the creation of a nev; 

county, his property lay in Rutherford near Murfreesboro, w'lere 

he oracticed law. From 1807-1809 he sat in the state legirlature 

51 
and became Speaker of the House, 18'19-1811. In 1812 Josenh 



66 



and Margaret worked to establish the First Presbyterian Church. 

He lived long enough to see the brick structure go up on Vine 

Street. The church was organized by Reverend Robert Henderson, 

a relative of Margaret Dickson. The building was completed in 

5 2 
1820, forty by sixty feet with a gallery and cupula. 

Margaret Dickson died 10 November 1814 and was interred in 

the family cemetery on their plantation. \Then Joseph passed 

away, he was buried next to his wife. The stone v/hich the family 

erected was very large and imposing, as Joseph had been in life. 

But as the cemetery filled, the Dickson marker overpowered all 

others, and the family was asked to move the monument. It 

seemed befitting that this huge tombstone be placed in the City 

Cemetery, facing Vine Street, with the other markers which bore 

53 
the names of Murfreesboro' s founding families. 

The growing town did not lack for medical services because 
several doctors settled in the area, Drs. Henry Holmes and 
William R. Rucker. They brought with them a religious conscious- 
ness, and interest in education and politics. Dr. Holmes and his 
vjife, Sarah, were one of the founding families of the Methodist 
Episcopal Church which met on College Street in 1821. Rrverend 
Robert Paine led the services. By 1823 the congregation bought 
a brick house for $1800 to be used as the church building. Its 
membership included another physician. Dr. Rucker, v.'ho was 
interested also in education for young women. He aided in the 
establishment of Soule's Female Academy. The lot on v.'hich the 
Methodist Church house stood became the site for the school. 
Rucker tock part in politics and supported the presidential 



67 



candidacy of Andrew Jackson in 1828. Drs. Rucker and Holmes, 

54 
along with their v;ives, were buried in the City Cemetery. 

Dr. Jonathan Bostick added his name to the available physi- 
cians when he came to Murfreesboro. Like the other doctors he 
had more than enough business to remain in the area. He and his 
wife, Margaret, had four children, but medical knowledge and 
skill did not avert the tragedy recorded on the stones in the 
cemetery: Margaret Bostick, born 10 November 1843, died 28 July 
1856. She was twelve years old. Marietta Bostick lived little 
more than a month and died 19 July 1852. Jonathan succumbed 
before his first birthday. Times were very hard on young child- 
ren and v;omen. Mrs. Bostick oassed away in 1858, at the age of 

55 
thirty-three. 

Another prominent doctor, plantation o\'mev , and businessman 

settled in Rutherford County. Dr. James Maney v.'as born in 

Hertford County, North Carolina, on 9 February 1790, and remained 

in that area until he married Sallie H. Murfree, daughter of Col. 

Hardy Murfree. Murfree gave his daughter ^74 acres in Rutherford 

Countj' for a wedding present. James and Sallie cam.e to Tennessee 

and moved into a four room, two-story structure which they 

56 
expanded and beautified rs their family and fortune grew. 

From the beginning James was a phj'sician and slave ovmer. 
His estate grev; because of his profession and the demand for cotton, 
In the 1820 census he registered fiftj^'-five slaves, quite a large 
number for the times. Not all of his business ventures were suc- 
cesses. Maney bought the failing Washington Cotton Factory in 
1841. He and his son, Thomas, advertized cotton yarn produced at 



6d 



the factory for a very "reasonable" price. But the business was 

doomed. It changed hands several times before it folded com- 

57 
pletely and v/as sold for $1500. 

Maney's family size kept pace with his businesses. He and 
Sallie had the children to fill the ever growing house which they 
called Oaklands. Their first child was a daughter, Frances, born 
in 1813; their second, James H, came in 1818; Thomas in 1821; 
David Dickinson in 1828; William B. in 1832; and John B. in 1835. 
However, most of the children were not as physically strong as 
their parents. Frances died in 1838, twenty-eight years old; 
James H. died at twenty in 1838; Thomas reached his twenty- 
eighth year, married and saw the birth and death of his son before 

he died in 1847; William was six years old when he passed av7ay in 

58 
November 1838; and John B. lived only four years and died in 1839. 

David Dickinson Ma.ney reached the age of seventy-one and 

outlived his father. David was educated in and around Rutherford 

County and married Mary E. Bell, daughter of John Bell. Like his 

father-in-law, David adhered to the political principles of the 

Ivhig Party before the Civil War; he edited the Rutherford 

Telegraph , the party paper, in 1853 and undoubtedly supported John 

Bell's presidential candidacy in 1860 for the Constitutional Union 

Party. After the war David became a Democrat and served as 

Rutherford and Bedford counties' senator in the state legislature, 

1877-1879. Along with his brothers and sister he was buried in 

the family plot on Vine Street. His mother died in 1857 and his 

father in 1872. The family v.'as complete again in 1899, not at 

the old home, Oaklands, but under the large tree in the Old City 

59 
Cemetery. 



69 



The burial ground on Vine Street testifies to the economic, 
political, and social maturity of Murfreesboro and its citizens. 
The people interred there were farmers, merchants, politicians, 
and bankers. However, the banks suffered or grew as the economy- 
fluctuated before the Civil War. The town's first bank, 
Murfreesborough Tennessee Bank, was chartered in 1817, but due to 
the money situation in general, it began to clo^^e down after five 
years. William and Joseph Spence, merchants, opened the Exchange 
Bank, based on the free banking system, in 1853. By 1857 it 

closed because of mismanagement. It opened again in 1858 to 

60 
close completely the same year. 

Besides banks, plantations, legal services, and medicine, the 
cemetery attests to other educational, religious, and economic 
establishments. Reverend Robert Henderson, organizer of the First 
Presbyterian Church, was the master of n private boy's school, 
Hopewell Academy. Several of his students published a letter of 
appreciation for his services during the spring of ^8?U. The 
letter dated 13 April 1824 v.'as signed by Robert J. Rucker, the 
physician's son, and Lemuel M. Baird, son of a local businessman. 
The Bairds had been in the area for some time. V/. D. Baird adver- 
tized his carriage making business in the local paper. VJil lion's 

vJife, Amada, v;as buried in the City Cemetery, and lemuel, her 

61 
son, was interred there in 1851. A member of the P.ankin family, 

James Porter Rankin, became a minister. Hip father, Da^n'd, c?me 

to Murfreesboro during its early years. Reverend '^ankin married 

Ermina, but she becam.e a widow in 18 31. James died at the age of 

tv7enty-six. Alexander Rankin was a merchant who advertized his 



70 

general store and its location on the south side of the souare in 

62 
1834. Others in the to\'m attempted to establish a public water- 
works system which used cedar tubes, but the Rose Water Works 
failed. Dr. John Holmes and his brother financed the first 

Nashville, Murfreesboro, and Shelbyville Turnnike vjhich began in 

63 
1832 and opened in 1842. 

Yet the Old City Cemetery holds many more stories. Violet L. 

Alerander, consort of J. D. Alexander, was buried there in 1853. 

Hov.'ever, Violet was not John's only wife. In September 1827, John 

advert! red the fact that hi'^ v/ife, Polly, had left him, and he 

vrarnod the public that h.e would not be responsible for any debts 

or bills that she might incur if someone "harboured' her. 

64 
Perhaps that v.'as V7hy she left him. 

Murfreesboro' s citirens v;ere a social people, and the tomb- 
stones marked this fact also. As early as 1817 the Masonic Order 
was in '".utherford County. Mount Moriah Lodge, Number IS, was 
formed; its peti'rion was signed by F. N. IJ. Burton, M. B. Murfree, 
B. F. McCulToch, John Lytle, A. C. Tub! ett , and Jo^n L. Jetton. 
The lodge v.'ps nuite .active until the Anti-Mason ^arty entG'''ed 
the presidential campaign of 1831. The Masons d'' ^continued 

nieetip.gs because of adverse feeling in the comTiuinty. The 1'->d!:^c 

65 
resumed its activities in 1841. 

However, the Temperance Society \':as not suspect, e- cept [)er- 
haps by the tavern keepers and those who distilled Tenncr^^oe sip- 
ping v:hiskey. The group crimed themselves the ^Jashingtcn 
Temperance Society v.'ho met at the First Presbyterian Ch'jrcli. They 
convened on 5 October 1827 and formally s\?nre: 



71 



Resolved, that they will abstain from the use of 
distilled liquors; that they will not permit them 
to be used by their families or servants except 
for medicine; that they will not provide them as 
articles of entertainment for their friends, and 
they will discountenance the use of them in their 
community."" 

Probably because of a weakening of the will and the ever-tempting 
memories of the good times at the tavern, interest in the society 
waned. It was reorganized in 1847 during the nationwide tem- 
perance movement. They called themselves Sons of Temperance. 
Lucas Oslin w-'s an active member during his life as his tombstone 

attested: Born October 25, 1799; died January 8, 1851; erected 

67 
by Rutherford Div. No. 5 Sons of Temperance. 

These many grave stones with their nar.es established the 

fact that the community and county's hi-^tory v;as shaped by the 

people whose graves they marked. Yet none spoke more simply nor 

clearly than two very rough stones, hand-hewn and chiselled by 

amateurs. These undoubtedly belonged to tV70 slaves: Phebe, 

4 August 18 37, 8 May 1863, and Joshua, of the Reeves family. 

These two markers represented the economic base of Murfreesboro 

and Rutherford County. However, the war which brought the death 

to slavery did not destroy the community. The Civil VJar only 

slowed its growth inspite of the fact that it was occupied 

several times by the Union Army. The First Presbyterian Church 

was torn do\\Ti to provide bricks and lumber for Fortress Rosecrans. 

Yet the graveyard vrhich stood beside the church remained, more 

68 
poignant and important than ever. 

All of these events were part of the lives of those people 

V7ho now lie in the Old City Cemetery. Because they made this 



72 



history--the Jettons, Andersons, Killoughs, Subletts, Huggins, 
Spences, Leinaus, Burtons, Dicksons, Holmes, Bosticks, Maneys , 
Ruckers, Bairds, Rankins, Alexanders, Oslins, Phebe, and Joshua — 
the Murfreesboro of early nineteenth century was a bustling, 
living community. Their achievements, failures, friends, and 
enemies are entombed and marked by the presence and preservation 
of the Old City Cemetery. The graveyard on Vine Street stands 
as a monument and enshrines a segment of Tennessee and American 
history. 

Perhaps better than an old, restored home, diaries, deeds, 
wills, and old newspapers, a cemetery provides the names of not 
one family but many who comprised a very young to\>m of a new 
state. The names on the stones are the raw material that is used 
with other local sources from which history is written. These 
peopled whose lives are represented by the markers in the Old 
City Cemetery made history, even if in a small v;ay, by reflecting 
the character, prejudices, and life-styles of the times. They 
made history by the mere fact that 'hey lived to build the foun- 
dation on which present-day society is based. 



73 



FOOTNOTES 



Goodsneed Histories, History of Tennessee (Nashville: The 
Good-peed Publishing Co., 1886}, p. 826; hereinafter cited as: 
Goodsneed, History . 
? 
U. ?. Bureau of the Census, State of Tennessee, Tvutherford 
County, 1810 (Microcopy. Middle Tennessee State University, 
Murfreesboro, Tennessee), pp. 2-28; hereinafter cited as: U. S. 
Census, 1810; U. S. Census Office, 4th Census, 1820, State of 
Tennessee: Giles, Maury, Rutherford, Shelby, Stev.'art, Sumner 
Counties (Microcopy, Middle Tennessee State University, Murfreesboro, 
Tennessee); hereinafter cited as U. S. Census, 1820. 
3 
Homer Pittard, Ph. D. , private interview. Middle Tennessee 
State University, Murfreesboro, Tennessee, October, 1974; herein- 
after cited as: Homer Pittard, interview; Goodspeed, History , 
op. 838-39. 
4 
The Courier , 15 April 1824, Murfreesboro, Tennessee; 
Goodspeed, History , p. 836. 

Tombstones, Old City Cemetery, Vine Street, Murfreesboro, 
Tennessee; hereinafter cited as Tombstone, Old City Cemetery. 
6 
Rutherford County Deed Book, ABCDEF, 1804-18-''9 (Rutherford 
County Court House, Murfreesboro, Tennessee), A, p. 36; herein- 
after cited as R. C D. B. , .ABCDEF . 
7 

Tombstone, Old City Cemetery. 
8 
Dan M. Robison, State Librarian and Archivist Emeritus, 
Biographical Directory: Tennessee General Assembly. 1706-1967 
(Preliminary No. b) Rutherford County (.Nashville; Tennessee 
State Library and Archives, 1968), p. 31; hereinafter cited as: 
Robison, BioRraohical Directory ; R. C D. B. , ABCDEF, B, p. 176. 
Q 
Goodspeed, History , n. 827. 
in 

R. C. D. B. , H, np. 2^^5-98. 
11 

Robison, Bj o:;raphical Directory , d. 31. 
12 

R. C. D. B., K, p. 463; L. , p. 479; 0, p. 492; U. S. 
Census, 1820. 
13 

Robison, Bior.ranhical Directory , p. 31. 
14 

Ibid.; The Monitor, 19 August 1835, Murfreesboro, Tennessee. 



74 



15 ^ t. T • 

Jeannette Tillotson Acklen, compiler, Tombstone Inscrip- 

Mon s and Manuscripts (Nashville: 1st pub., 1933; reprint ed., 

Baltimore tGeneolbgical Co., 1967), p. 357; hereinafter cited 
as: Acklen, Tombstone Inscriptions . 

The Jeffersonian . 10 June 1843, Murfreesboro, Tennessee. 

Murfreesboro News . 8 December 1858, Murfreesboro, 
Tennessee. 
18 

Goodspeed, History , pp. 838-3^-. 

1<^ 

Tombstones, Old City Cemetery; Acklen, Tombstone Inscrip- 
tions , p. 357. 

^Joshua W. Caldvjell, The Bench and Bar of Tennessee 
(Knoxville: Ogden Brothers & Co., Printers, 1H^)«;, pp. 248-51; 
hereinafter cited a=: : Caldwell, Bench and Bar . 

21 

Robison, Bio,<;raphical Directory , p. 1; 'tombstone. Old City 

Cemetery. 
22 

P.. C. D. B., L, p. 251; M, p. 37^; 0, p. '-"2. 

23 

Central Monitor , 18 January 1834, Murfreesboro, Tennessee. 

24 

Robison, Biopjraphical Directory , p. 1. 

Tom.bstones, Old City Cemetery; Pajtherford County VJill Bool", 
Number 2 . Samuel Anderson, \7ill (Rutherford County Record^, 
■^ October 185^, Murfreesboro, Tennessee!^, pn. l84-8'^'. 
26 

Ac^'len, Tombstone Inscrlnt Ions , n. "^"'f^i. 

R. C. D. B., ABCDEF, E, p. 436; U. ^. Census, 18?'', 

Rutherford. 

28 ^ . . 

R. C. D. B., 0, p. 538; Ac''--len, Tombstone In'^criptions , 

D. 356. 
2^ 

Tombstone, 0]^^ City Cemetery; Goodspeed, 'li^iiory , p. 8^1. 
3 

Goodsoeed, Hi story , o. 827. 
31 

U. S. Censu'5, 1820, Rutherford- R. C. D. B. , N, po. ll^-2f', 
27'': 0. p. 540; £, p. 12^: Murf rec^borou-h Courier , "'7 '^cpt ember 
1 82"^ ,~Murf ree<^bnro, Tenre'^'"ee. 
32 

The Courier, 15 April 1 "''''•, Murfreesboro. Tenne^-^ee* 
Mur^rec^borourh Comier . " 2^ f'ep'ember K'^"^- Murrrec^bo-rO; 
Tenne=:^ee. 
33 

National ''idette, 10 ^anuary 1828, Murfree'^boro, Tenne'^'^ee. 



75 



34 

Good^peed, Hi.gtory , p. 328. 
35 

Tombstone, Old City Cemetery. 
36 

U. S. Census, 1810; R. C. D. B., ABCDEF, E, p. 406. 
37 

R. C. D. B., ^, p. 250. 
38 

Tennessee Telegraph , 2 May 1840, Mnrfreesboro, Tennessee. 
39 

Acklen, Tombstone Inscriptions , p. 356. 
40 

Goodspced, History , p. 827. 
41 

Central Monitor . 25 January 1834, Murfreesboro, Tennessee. 
42 

Tombstones, Old City Cemetery. 
43 

National Vidette, 10 January 1828, Murfreesboro, Tennessee; 
Tennesrce Tel e;;raph . 2 May 1840, Murfreesboro, Tennessee. 
44 

Tombstone, Old City Cemetery. 
45 

R. C. D. B. , L, op. 61-63. 
46 

Tombstones, Old City Cemetery. 
47 

National Vidette , 10 January 1828, Murfreesboro, Tennessee; 
Goodspeed, History , p] 8 36 . 
48 

Robison, Biographical Directory , pp. 9-10. 
49 

Tombstones, Old City Cemetery, 
50 

Robison, Bio;r;raphicfn Directory , pp. 14-15. 
51 

Ibid. 
52 

Worth S. Ray, Tennessee Cousins (Baltimore: Geneological 
Publishing Co., I960), p. 616; Goodspeed, History , pp. 838-39. 
53 

Homer Pittard, interview. 
54 

Goodspeed, Histons pp. 827, 836, 839; National Vidette . 
10 January 1828; Tombstones, Old City Cemetery. 
55 

Tombstones, Old City Cemetery; Acklen, Tombstone 
Inscriptions, p. 357. 
3t ' 

Oaklands Society, "Oaklands, 1786-1865," brochure, 
Murfreesboro, Tennessee. 



76 



57 

U. S. Census, 1820, Rutherford; Goodspeed, History , 
p. 8?8; Tennessee Telegraph, 6 February 1841, Murfreesboro, 
Tennessee. 
58 

Tombstones, Old City Cemetery. 
59 

Robison, Biographical Directory , p. 39; Tombstones, Old 
Ci^y Cemetery. 
60 

Goodsneed, History , p. 830. 
61 

Courier , 15 April 1824, Murfreesboro, Tennessee; 
Tennessee Telegraph , 2 May 1840, Murfreesboro, Tennessee; 
Tombstones , Old City Cemetery. 
62 

Tombstones, Old City Cemetery; Central Monitor ; 11 October 
1834, Murfreesboro, Tennessee. 
63 

Goodspeed, History , op. 816-17, 828. 
64 

Tombstones, Old City Cemetery; Acklen, Tombstone 
Inscriptions , p. 355; Murfreesborough Courier , 27 September 1827, 
Murfreesboro, Tennessee. 
65 

Goodsneed, History , p. 832. 
66 

Ibid., p. 839. 
67 

Ibid., n. 832; Tombstone, Old City Cemetery. 
68 

Tombstones, Old City Cemetery; Homer Pittard, interviev;. 



77 



RUTHEIRFORD COUNTY HISTORICAL SOCIETY , INC . 
MaiBERSHIP LIST 



Mr. H. F. Adams 
1126 Rose Avenue 
MurfJ-eesboro, Th 37130 

Mr. and Mrs. W. D. Adkerson 
Route 3> Con^ton Road 
Murfreesboro, Tn 37130 

}irB. Donald Anderson 
U35 North Spring Street 
Murfreesboro, Tn 37130 

Mrs. H. F. Amette, Jr. 
IO2U East Main Street 
Murfreesboro, Tn 37130 

Mr. J. M. Avent 
Route 2, Box 1|2 
Sewanee, Tn 37375 

Mrs. W. R. Baker 

Box 2U5 

Ashland City, Tn 37015 

Mrs. Dudley Baird 

Route 1 

Lascassas, Tn 37085 

Mrs. Alice Bailey 

107 North Ardonne Street 

Tullahoma, Tn 37308 

Mr. Haynes Baltimore 
Rutherford County Courthouse 
Murfreesboro, Tn 37130 

Mr. Charles B. Black 
120 North Margaret 
Carlsbad, New Mexico 88220 

Mrs. Joseph D. Barnes 

5 Sandliaj- Court 

The Woodlands, Texas 77380 

Mr3.E.M. Barto, Jr. 
2910 Garth Road 
Huntsville, Alabama 35801 



Mrs. Leland B. Bass 
631 Ridgecrast Road 
Edmond, Oklahoma 7303U 

Miss Bessie Baskette 
3205 Wingate Avenue 
Nashville, Tennessee 37211 

Margaret J. Batey 
3UOI Granny VITiite 
Nashville, Tn 3720U 

Mr and Mrs. Harry Batey 
336 Brewer Drive 
Nashville, Tn 37211 

Mr. Tom Batey 
P. 0. Box 578 
Murfreesboro, Tn 37130 

Mr. and Mrs. Cliff Bolenjack 
Route 10, Carter Lane 
Murfreesboro, Tn 37130 

Mr. John Bragg 

1510 Huntington Drive 

Murfreesboro, Tn 37130 

Mrs. Adeline D. Behm 
823 Klrkwood Avenue 
Murfreesboro, Tn 37130 

Dr. and Mrs. C. M. Brandon 

Route 1 

Christiana, Tn 37037 

Dr. and Mrs. Fred Brigance 
1202 Scotland Drive 
Murfreesboro, Tn 37130 

NTS. Chavles L. Briley 
Route 11, Box 56 
Murfreesboro, Tn 37130 

Mrs. J. W. Brown 
126 Sequoia Drive 
Springfield, Tti 37132 



n 



MQIBEIISHIP LIST 



Miss Maz*y Bryan 

lOlU North Tennessee Blvd 

Murfreesboro, Tn 37130 

Mr. and Mrs. I^eston C. Burchard 
1230 South California Avenue 
Palo Alto, California 9U306 

Mrs. Lida N. Brugge 
71ii Chickasaw Road 
Murfreesboro, Tn 37130 

Mrs. F. E. Britton 
133 Kingwood Drive 
Chattanooga, Tn 37U12 

Mrs. Edna M. Buckley 
86U7 East Ihilciana 
Mesa, Arizona 85208 

Mr. and Vrs. J. T. Bumette 
P. 0. Box 2 
Smyrna, Tn 37167 

Mrs. C. Alan Carl 
120 Ensworth Avenue 
Nashville, Tn 37205 

Mr. and Mrs. Cecil Cates 
Route 5* Box 521 
Murfreesboro, Tn 37130 

Mr. Steve Cates 
Forrest Oakes # G-IO6 
1002 East Northfield Blvd 
Murfreesboro, Tn 37130 

Col Charles R. Cawthcn 
1311 Delaware Avenue, S. W. 
l^t S-2U5 
Washington, D. C. 20o2li 

Miss Louise Cawthon 
Forrest Oakes # E-107 
1002 East Northfield Blvd 
Murfreesboro, Tn 37130 

Mrs. George Chaney 
P. 0. Box llU 
LaVergne, Tn 37086 



Mr. Almond Chaney 
Sanford Drive 
LaVergne, Tn 37086 

Mr. George D. Clark 
36U7 Ifederwood 
Hunston, Texas 77025 

Mrs. James L. Clayton 
525 East College Street 
Murfreesboro, Tn 37130 

)b>. Sam B. Coleman 
101; Hoover Drive 
Smyrna, Tn 37167 

Mr. and Mrs. Woodrow Coleman 
1206 Belle Meade Blvd 
NashvUle, Tn 37205 

Mrs. H. E. Collier 
Route 2, Box 1*52 
Tullahoma, Tn 37388 

Dr. Robert Corlew 
Route 2, Manson Pike 
Murfreesboro, Tn 37130 

Mr. Robert E. Corlew III 
1611 Elrod Street 
Murfreesboro, Tn 37130 

Miss Edith Craddock 
1202 Klrkwood Drive 
Murfreesboro, Tn 37130 

Mrs. A. W. Cranker 
305 Tyne Avenue 
Murfreesboro, Tn 37130 

Mrs. Martha Crutchfield 
1507 Maymont Drive 
Murfreesboro, Tn 37130 

Dallas Public Library 
195U Ccranerce Street 
Dallas, Texas 75201 

Mrs. Susan G. Daniel 
2103 Foxdale Drive 
Murfreesboro, Tn 37130 



79 



MEMBERSHIP LIST 



Mary Lou Davidson 
210 Kingwood Drive 
Murfreesboro, Tennessee 37130 

Mrs. Florence Davis 

Route 2, Old Nashville Hwy 

Smyrna, Tn 37167 

Mrs. George Davis 
5752 Oak Cliff Drive 
El Paso, Texas 79912 

Frances E. Denny 
511 Hazelwood Drive 
Smyrna, Tn 37167 

Mr. Paul Dinklns, M. G. 
Route 2, Box 7k 
Murfreesboro, Tn 37130 

Mr. Bill Dunaway 
6800 Garth Road 
Huntsville, Alabama 35802 

Maziae Dunaway 

6828 Tulip Hill Terrace 

Bethesda, Maryland 20016 

Mrs. Paul H. Dunn 
269 U Svansont Way 
Salt Lake City, Utah 81017 

Dr . Parker D . Elrod 
110 Swan Street 
Centerville, Tn 37033 

Mrs. Maul ton Farrar, Jr. 
502 Park Center Drive 
Nashville, Tn 37205 

Mrs. B. Wayne Ferguson 
2321 Colonial Avenue 
Waco, Texas 76707 

Mjr. William E. Fitzpatrick 
75I4O U6th Avenue, South 
Omaha, Nebraska 68157 

Mrs. Robert Fletcher 
Ih President Way 
Belleville, niinoia 62223 



Miss Ifyrtle Ruth Foutch 
619 North Spring Street 
Murfl-eesboro, Th 37130 

Mrs. John W. Freeman 

1926 Rosewood Valley Drive 

Brentwood, Th 37027 

Mrs. E. C. Galloway 
1502 Frank! In Avenue 
Nashville, Tn 37206 

Edna G. Fry 
Route 1, Box U70 
Melfa, Virginia 23U10 

Miss Alline Gillespie 
UII5 Outer Drive 
Nashville, Tn 37201* 

Mr. Pollard Gillespie 

70U Rtidy Lane 

Louisville, Kentucky U02O7 

Mr. John J. Good 
Box 263, Route h 
Murfreesboro, Tn 37130 

Mrs. Cathy Good 
109 Belfield Court 
Smyrna, Tn 37167 

Mrs. Carl E. Goodwin 
Route 3f Sanf ord Drive 
Murfreesboro, Tn 37130 

Mrs. Nelia Gray 

U2U East Burton Street 

Murfreesboro, Tn 37130 

Mrs. Judy L. Green 
1211i Coffee Avenue 
Murfreesboro, Tn 37130 

Mrs. R. C. Griffitts 
P. 0. Box 15051* 
Nashville, Tn 37215 

Mrs. Robert Gwynne 
Brittain ails Farm 
Rock Springs Road 
Smyrna, Tn 37167 



so 



MEMBERSHIP LIST 



Mrs. Charles E. Hailey 
12123 Old Oaks Drive 
Hooston, Texas 77056 

Mr. Doaiald L. Hagerman 
807 Stmset Avenue 
Murfi-eesboro, Tn 37130 

Nelda J. Hicks 
U9UI Syracuse Drive 
Oxnard, California 93030 



Mr. and Mrs. Logan HLckerson 
Route 2, Rock Bottom Farm 
Readyvllle, Ta 3711*9 

Mrs. James M. Hobbs 
9722 Sanford Avenue 
Garden Grove, California 926J4I 

Kr. Charles E. Hodge II 
505 Hazelwood Drive 
Snyina, Tn 37167 



Miss Mary Hall 

821 East Burton Street 

Murfreesboro, Tn 37130 

Mrs. Sara Baskette Halliburton 
680 Mento Road 
Akron, Ohio ^4303 

Mrs. Margaret Haralson 
1507 Gartland Avenue 
Nashville, Tn 37206 

Mrs. C. J. Barrel! 

Route 1 

Readyville, Ita 3711*9 

Mrs. Ifenry Harrell 
P. 0. Box 233 
Erin, Th 37061 

Rev. Isham A. Harris 
lli08 Windermere Drive 
Columbia, Tn 381*0! 

Mr. and Mrs. Robert Haskins 
310 Tyne Avenue 
Murfreesboro, Tn 37130 

Ifrs. Jack R. Herriage 

Route 2 

Pilot Point, Texas 76258 

Mr. T. Wayne Hewgley 
205 Gordon Drive 
Lebanon, Tn 37087 

Mrs. E. K. abbett, Jr. 
2160 Old Hickory Blvd 
Nashville, Tn 37215 



Miss Aurelia Holden 
1*15 East Main Street 
Murfreesboro, Tn 37130 

Mrs. John W. Hollar 
3l*Jl North 17th Avenue 
Phoenix, Arizona 85015 

Dr. and Mrs. Ernest Itooper 
202 Second Avenue 
Murfreesboro, Tn 37130 

Miss Elizabeth Hoover 
1*00 East Coll^o Street 
Murfreesboro, Tn 37130 

Mr. John C. Hoover 

Route 5 

Jackson, Tn 38301 

Mr. Walter King Hoover 
101 Division Street 
Smyrna, Tn 37167 

Mr. W. R. Hoover 
1*700 Avenue R 
Birmingham, Alabama 35208 

Mr. Terry House 

50l4li Cherrywood Drive 

Nashville, Tn 37211 

Mr. Claude A. Huddleston 
1*205 Charlotte Avenue 
Nashville, Tn 37209 

Cheri Hanter 
2625 East Olive 
Decatur, Illinois 62526 



31 



KEIMBBRSHIP LIST 



Mr. and Mrs. C. B. Hugglns, Jr. 
915 East Main Street 
Murfreesboro, Tn 37130 

Dr. and Mrs. James K. Bihta 
5u7 East Northfield Blvd 
Murfreesboro, Tn 37130 

Mr. Jack I. Inman 
57 Richmeade Place 
UOl Bowling Avenue 
Nashville, Tn 37205 

Mr. and Kra. Dallas Ison 
1019 Houston Drive 
Murfreesboro, Tii 37130 

Mr. David L. Jacobs 
Beech Garove, Tn 37ul8 

Mr. Robert T. Jacobs 
Beech Qrove, Tn 37018 

Mr. and Mrs. Edmund James 
Route 1, Armstrong Valley Road 
Murfreesboro, Tn 37130 

Amy R. Jennings 

Ul7 Pbplar Drive 

Fans Church, Virginia 220U6 

Mr. Ernest K. Johns 
Route 1, Box 85 
Smyrna, Tn 37167 

}fr, Thomas N. Johns 
P. 0. Box 892 
Smyrna, Tn 37167 

Mrs. Boford Johnson 
Mayfield Drive 
Snyma, Tn 37167 

Mrs. Edwin M. Johnson 
E. Tn Historical Socie"ly 
Lawson McGhee Library 
Knoxville, Tn 37902 

Mrs. R. H. Johnson 
615 Webb Street 
LaFayette, Louisiana 70501 



Mr. Homer Jones 
1825 Ragland Avenue 
Murfreesboro, Tn 37130 

Dr. Robert B. Jones HI 
819 West Northfield Blvd 
Murfi-eesboro, Tn 37130 

Mr. Joe R. King 

7U2 East Main Street 

Murfreesboro, Tn 37130 

Miss Adeline King 
Route 1, Box 112 
Smyrna, Tn 37167 

Mr. and Mrs. W. H. King 
2107 Greenland Drive 
Murfreesboro, Tn 37130 

Mr. and Mrs. George Kinnard 
Vttndsor Towers, Apt HIO 
U215 Harding Road 
Nashville, Tn 37205 

Dr. Howard Kirfcsey 
1015 East Bell Street 
Murfreesboro, Tn 37130 

Faith D. Kitchen 

1099 Anzio Street 

Crescent City, Califoitiia 95531 

Mr. Peter LaPalia 
IU03 Maymont 
Murfreesboro, Tn 37130 

Mrs. Louise G. Landy 
lli27 South Madison 
San Angelo, Texas 7690I 

Mr. John B. Lane 
P. 0. Box 31 
Sinyma, Tn 37167 

Mr. A. D. Lawrence 
225 McNickle Drive 
Smyrna, Tn 37167 

Mrs. Dayton Lester 

Route 1 

Milton, Tn 37118 



32 



MSIBEEISHIF UST 



Mrs. Lalia Lest«r 

1307 West Northfield Blvd 

Murlteesboro, Tn 37130 

Mr. and Iti's. Vance Little 
Beech Qrove Farm, Route 1 
Brentwood, Tn 37207 

Mrs. Carrie Jane McKni^t 
I2UOI Northeast l6th Avenue 
i^artment k07 
North Miami, Florida 33l8l 

Mrs. S. Floyd Lowe 
Route 2, Box U3 
Christiana, Tn 37037 

Mr. and Mrs. Bill I^ch 
UI8 Kipkwood 
Murfreesboro, Tn 37130 

Mrs. Gkjrdon I^nch 
Sanl^ym Hall, Apt 119 
530 Sanbym Drive 
Murfreesboro, Tn 37130 

Mrs. Louise G. I^ynch 
Route 10 
Franklin, Tn 3706U 

Mrs. Susan B. I^yon 
U^U 2nd Avenue South 
Murfreesboro, Tn 37130 

Mr. Robert Marsh 
P. 0. BoK 230 
Dallas, Oregon 97338 

Vrs. James McBroom, Jr. 
Route 2, Box 127 
Christiana, Tn 37037 

Mrs. Fannie McClanahan 

Ervln Route 

Hugo, Oklahoma 710143 

Mrs. Mason McCrary 
209 Kingwood Drive 
Murfreesboro, Tn 37130 



Mr. and Mrs. Ben Hall McFarlin 
Route 2, Manson Pike 
Murfreesboro, Tn 37130 

Capt. Walter L. McKnight 

N.A.T.O. Programming Cmter IQI/DNS 

A. P.O. New York 09667 

Mr. French R. McIQii^t 
1122 Porter Street 
Helena, Arkansas 723U2 

Mrs. EUse McIQiight 
2602 Loyd Street 
Murfreesboro, Tn 37130 

Mrs. J. B. McNeil 

Route 2, Box 1|13, FrankUJi Road 

Murfreesboro, Tn 37130 

Maury County Library 
211 West 8th Street 
Columbia, Tn 381*01 

Dr. Robert L. Mason 
Route 1, Hare Lane 
Milton, Tn 37118 

Mr. and Mrs. James C. Matheny 
719 Ewing Blvd 
Murfreesboro, Tn 37130 

Mrs. Almyra W. Medlin 
Route 7, Box 50 
Murfreesboro, Tn 37130 

Ifrs. Evelyn Merritt 
Route 1, Box 77 
Newman, Illinois 619U2 

Miss Julia Clarice Miller 
808 Wiles Court 
Murfreesboro, Tn 37130 

Margaret Miller 
1007 West Clark Blvd 
Murfreesboro, Tn 37130 

Mr. Jim W. Mitchell 
223 McNlckle Drive 
Sn^rma, Tn 37167 



d3 



MEMBSRSHIP LIST 



Mr. W. R. Mosly 
63i4 Knollwood Circle 
CoiqrerSj Georgia 30208 

Mr. WiUian David Mullins 
1207 Coars^ Drive 
Nashvine, Tn 37217 

Mr. Eugene R. Mollins 
lUiUO Belmont Park Terrace 
Nashville, Tn 37217 

Mrs. David Naron 
U59 Blair Road 
LaVergne, Tn 37086 

Mrs. C. L. Nein 

Bojc 103 

Pbarr, Texas 78^77 

Mr. and Mrs. James B. Nelson 
206 East Clark Blvd 
Murfreesboro, Tn 37130 

Mr. Lawson 6. Nelson 

13812 Whispering Lake Drive 

Son City, Arizona 85351 

Mr. Eakin Overall 
1209 Jetton Drive 
Murfreesboro, Tn 37130 

Mrs. J. H. Oliver 
The Comers 
ReadytrUle, Tn 371U9 

Mr. Harry Patillo 

Box 1 

EagleviULe, Tn 37067 

Dr. John A. Patten 
221U Riley Road 
Murfreesboro, Tn 37130 

Dr. and Mrs. E. K. Patty 
lli3U Diana Street 
Murfreesboro, Tn 37130 

Mr. Chester Peters 
2U00 Robert Burus Drive 
Fort Worth, Texas 76119 



Mr. Walt Pfeifer 

Box 1936 

Abilene, Texas 79601 

Dr. and Mrs. Homer Pittard 
309 Tyne 
Murfreesboro, Tn 37130 

Mr. Bobty Pope 

Old U. S. Highway la 

LaVergne, Tn 37086 

Mr. and Mrs. William 0. Pointer 

Route U 

Murfreesboro, Tn 37130 

Hr. Janes T. Pollard 

3UQI Leith Avenue 

Forth Worth, Texas 76133 

Mr. and Mrs. Kelley Ray 
225 North Academy Street 
Murfreesboro, Tn 37130 

Dr. Robert G. Ransom 
1211 Whitehall Road 
Murfreesboro, Tn 37130 

Mr. W. H. Read 
Route 1, Box 311 
Rockvale, Tn 37153 

Reviewers Club 
% Dorothy Epps 
101 Bone Drive 
Smyrna, Tn 37167 

Mrs. Frances R. Richards 
Mercury Manor # 5l 
Murfreesboro, Tn 37130 

Mrs. James A. Ridley, Jr. 
Route 3, Lebanon Road 
Murfreesboro, Tn 37130 

Miss Mary Bell Robinson 
kh3 East Burton 
MurfreesboTO, Tn 37130 

Mr. Billy J. Rogers 
506 Jean Drive, Route 2 
LaVergne, Tn 37086 



d4 



MEMBERSHIP LIST 



Mrs. ElTls Rushing 
6oU North Spring Street 
Murffeesboro, Tn 37130 

Mr. Thonas L. Russell 
5019 Colnont Drive 
Hantsville, Alabama 35801 

Mr. and Mrs. Bob Ragland 

Box 5Uli 

Murfreesboro, Tn 37130 

Miss Sara Lou Sanders 
Merc\iry Manor # Ul 
Murfreesboro, Tn 37130 

Mr. E. Richmond Sanders, Jr. 
205 Cumberland Circle 
Nashvine, Th 37211i 

Mrs. Robert M. Sanders 
Rutherford County Nursing Home 
Route 1 
Murfreesboro, Th 37130 

Dr. and Mrs. Robert S. Sanders 
P. 0. Box 1275 
Murfreesboro, Tn 37130 

Mr. Bud Sasnett 

no Jeb Stuart Drive 

Smyrna, Tn 37167 

Mr. John F. Scarbrou^, Jr. 
701 Fairview 
Murfreesboro, Tn 37130 

Mrs. Marietta S. Scates 
1107 East Main Street 
Murfreesboro, Tn 37130 

Dr. R. Neil Schultz 
220 East College Street 
Murfreesboro, Tn 37130 

Mr. and Mrs. John Shacklett 
307 South Tennessee Blvd 
Murfreesboro, Tn 37130 

Mrs. J. Mahlon Sharp 
Route 2, Almaville Road 
Smyrna, Tn 37167 



Mr. Charles E. Shelby 
P. 0. Box 22578 
Savannah, Georgia 3lU03 

Mr. William A. Shull, Jr. 

U211 Ferrara Drive 

Silver Springs, Maryland 20906 

Mr. J. A. Sibley, Jr. 

P. 0. Box 7965 

Shreveport, Louisiana 71107 

Mr. Don Simmons 
Melber, Kentucky U2069 

Mr. R. J. Simpson 
Route 2, Box 539A 
BarbourviUe, Kentucky 1*0906 

Mr. Gene H. Sloan 
728 Greenland Drive 
Murfreesboro, Tn 37130 

Miss Becky Smith 
1910 Memorial Blvd 
Murfreesboro, Tn 37130 

Mrs. J. C. Smith 
711 lith Avenue 
Fayetteville, Tn 3733U 

Dr. Bealer Smotherman 
1020 East I^ytle Street 
Murfreesboro, Tn 37130 

Col. Sam W. Smith 

General Delivery 

Folly Beach, South Carolina 29U39 

Mrs. Betty I. Smith 
3I468 MacArthur Road 
Decatur, Illinois 62526 

ttLss Dorothy Staiothennan 
1220 North Spring Street 
Murfreesboro, Tn 37130 

Mrs. James E. Smotherman 

Route 1 

College Grove, Tn 370U6 



a5 



MQIBERSHIP LIST 



Mrs. Leoma Smotheman 
P. 0. Box 3$ 
Rockvale, Tn 37153 

Mrs. Nell Smotherman 
207 Kingwood Drive 
Murfreesboro, Tn 37130 

Mr. Travis Smotheman 
$2hh Edmondscn Pk, Apt 115 
Nashville, Tn 37211 

Mr. C. Ray Stacy 
826 Willard Street 
Elkhart, Indiana ii65l6 

Mr. and Mrs. Jerry Steiribridge 
Route 7, Salara RLke 
Murfreesboro, Tn 37130 

Col. and Mrs. E. C. Stewart 
Cliff tops, P. 0. Box 95 
Montea^e, Tn 37356 

Mrs. Carl V. Stine 
Route 3, Box 292 
Azle, Texas 76020 

Mrs. Robert Mac Stone 
921 Westview Aveniie 
Nashville, Tn 37205 

DAR Library 

From Stones River Chapter DAR 
1776 D Street N.W. 
Washington, D. C. 20006 

Mr. Roy Tarwater 
815 West Clark Blvd 
Murfreesboro, Tn 37130 

Tennessee State Library & Archives 
Nashville, Tn 37200 

Mrs. William H. Thompson, Jr. 

Dry Fork Road 

White Creek, Tn 37189 

Thurinan Francis Jr. High School 
% Anne Odom 
P. 0. Box 8 
Smyrna, Tn 37l67 



Mrs. J. Wilbur Vaughan 
20U Poplar Street 
Martin, Tn 38237 

Mr. C. L. VanNatta 

6901 D. Rosvell 

Sandy Springs, Georgia 30328 

Mrs. Martha G. Walker 
909 East Northf ield Bivd 
Murfreesboro, Tn 37130 

Mr. Bill Walkup, Jr. 
202 Ridley Street 
Snyma, "to 37167 

Mr. and Mrs. William Walki?) 
202 Ridley Street 
Smyrna, Tn 37167 

Mrs. Qnmett Waldron 

Box U 

UVergne, Tn 37086 

Mrs. George F. Watsoci 
Executive House B-17 
613 HUlsboro Road 
Franklin, Tennessee 3706U 

Mr. and Mrs. W. H. Westbrooks 
306 Tyne 
Murfreesboro, Tn 37130 

Mr. Charles Wharton 
917 Crovmhill Drive 
Nashville, Tn 372X7 

Miss Kate Wharton 
Rdute 2, Box 156 
Apopka, Florida 32703 

Miss Virginia Wilkinson 
1118 East Clark Blvd 
Murfreesboro, Tn 37130 

Dr. Araon Williamson 
50U South Lowry Street 
Smyrna, Tn 37167 

Mrs. Virginia Wilson 
Briarwood Drive, Route 8 
Murfreesboro, Tn 37130 



a6 

MPBERSHIP LIST 



Mrs. John Woodfln 
1320 Richland Place 
Murfreesboro, Tn 37130 

Mr. and Mrs. \ttlliam H. Woods 
3I428 Hampton Avenue 
Nashville, Tta 37215 

Mrs. Selene D. Woodson 
907 West Clark HLvd 
Mxirfreesboro, Tti 37130 

Mrs. F. Craig Yoviree 

Route 2 

Readyville, Tn 37114? 

Mrs. Charles Womack 

307 East Monroe 

Greenwood, Mississippi 38930 

Mrs. Thomas L. Craddock 
Route 1, Box 89 
Lascassas, Tn 37085 



87 



INDEX for PDBLICATIOK NO. 17 



Adcock U7 

Alcorn ^ 

Alexander 2, 70 

Anderson 19, 23, 55, 58, 

59, 60, 72 

Andrews 2 

Archer 63 

Armstrong 31, 39, U7 

Am61.d U7 

Ashley 51 

Aspey 50 

Baily 1|8 

Baird $S, 69, 72 

Baker U8 

Bankhead 50 

Banks 6U 

Banton 39 

Barfield 6 , 7, 

27, 51 

Barr U7 

Bairton 50 

Bean U8 

Bedford 1, 2, 1h, 

15, 16, 17, 
UO, U3 

Belah 52 

BeU 19, li8, 6B 

Benge 3, 21 

Bennett U7 

Beshano 21 

Bevins 51 

BUllngBly U8 

Bishop 50 

Black 57 

Bone 9 

Bostick 67, 72 

Boushane 21, 31 

Bowman 5, 51 

Brady 51 

Bradshaw 52 

Brasrly 50 

Brent Hi 

Brookshlre 51 

Brothers 51 

Broun 51 

Buchanan U8 

Buckridge U7 

Buckner 50 

Burrus 58 



Boi-ton 55, 60, 63, 

6U, 65, 70, 72 

Bushnell 2 

BushoTig 21 

Butler 56, 63 

CaldweU U9 

Caiipbell 3 

Cannon 39, U9, 50 

Cantrell 2 

Carr U7 

Cason U7 

Chalton 51 

Chambers 2 

Childress 56, 57 

"Clarissa" 20, 21, 22 

Cochran U9 

Coffee UO, 56 

Cole U3 

ComwalLls 65 

Coulter 52 

Cox 2 

Crosthwait 38 

Crosswaithe 6k 

Crownover 50 

Cummins 3, 30 

Daniel hi 

Davis 19, 23, U7, 

U9, 50 

DeadrUc 60 

Dement 3 

Dickson U7, 55* 65, 

66, 72 

Dixon 16 

Donnel 62 

Doran 3 

Dorothy (Dougherty j .. . 53 

Dotson 6U 

Dougan k8 

Dmcan U7 

Dyer 31, 36, I4O 

Edwards 20, 21, 22, 

39, U8, 52 

Eppes 51, 52 

EUlot h9 

Espey I4O, 51 



88 



Fan 52 

Fanner 57 

Featherson 51 

Ferguson k9 

Fillmore 6U 

Floyd 57 

Ford Ii7 

Fulton 51 

Furr 51 

Gamhm U8 

Oanavay 60 

Gasaway 51 

Gilliam 2h, h9 

Godfrey U7 

Goodlow 52 

Gray ^ 

Green 5l 

Griffin 3^, 30., J6 

Gum 19, Zd, 

30, U3 

Hands 51 

Hanna Iff 

Hardiman 19, 27, UO 

Hardy 33, 3li 

Harris kl 

Hart 2 

Havins 3k 

Henderson 63, 66, 69 

Hezndon 1, 5, 19, 

2li, 33 

Hlggins 51 

Hill 3, 6, 7, 

27, 31, 39 

Hlllard 63 

Holmes 66, 67, 

70, 72 

Hoover 23, li3 

Howell U8 

Huggins 55, 62, 72 

Hunter k7 

Irwin U9 

Jackson 56, 57, 81 

Jarratt 62 

Jenkins 2k 

Jetton kl, 55, 56, 

57, 58, 70 

Johns 50 

Johnson 31, 51 

Jones 2 



KaTanau^ 52 

Kelton 30 

Klllough 55, 60, 72 

Kinkade liB 

KLrkland 52 

Lassiter 50 

LaughUn 62 

Legrand 6, 7, 27, 

37, 38, 1*6 

Lelnan 63, 72 

Lenoir 6, 9, 25, 

32, 37 

Lewis 25 

Lillard 51 

Locke 10, 21 

Lofton 31, 51 

Ijrtle 39 

Magness k9 

Malton 3 

Maney 67, 68, 72 

Martin 2, U8, h9, 50 

Matoy 15 

McBride 7, k9 

McClanahan 37, 56 

McCuIloch 3, 19, 70 

McCoy 31 

McBwen 65 

McKinney 52 

McKnight 6, 7, 27 

Mc Wade 50 

Menifee 8, 20 

Matheny 52 

Miller 8 

Mitchel 6, 7, 19, 

22, 27, 31, 3U 
36, 37, 38, 
kk, kS, kl 

Morgan 6I 

Moore 21 

Morton U8, 1*9, 51 

Murfree 63, 67, 70 

Nail U8 

Nance U8, k9 

Nash 1, 3, 31, 52 

Nelson 1*8, 52 

Norman 1*9 



89 



Onphant h9 

Oslln 71» 72 

Overall 52 

Paine 66 

Partrlok U8 

Fatten U9 

Fa^e U7 

Fearce 51» 63 

Fearl 1 

Fhillps U8 

Plumber U8 

Posey $2 

Prewit 51 

Price U7 

Qoisenberry 19« 20 

Ramsey « U8, 52 

Rankin SS, 69, 72 

Read 22, 23, 

31, UO 

Ready 31 

Reeve 71 

Ridly 19, 23 

Rogers 52 

Roberts 50 

Robertson U, 12, U6 

Robinson 19 

Rose 31 

Roseberry 50 

Rvicker 5, U7, 55, 

66, 67, 69, 
72 

Russell 2 

Rutherford 10 

Sanders 50 

Sai^ington 36 

Scriber 51 

Scrugg 50 

Searcy 2U, 39 

Shall 31 

Shanks 56 

Sharp 3, 7, 19, 

27, 31, I49, 
50 

Shearwood US 

Shelby 2 

Shinalt 59 

Shute Ii9 

Sikes 52 

Slrancas U9 

Sin^}son JQ., 50 



Smith 2, 33., 

1*7, 51 

&nytb •*•«••••.• 3 

Snell 62 

Spence 2U, 36, 62, 

69, 72 

Stewart 60 

Still Ii9 

Stockird US, U9 

StroiQ) 51 

Sublett 55, 60, 61 

62, 70, 72 
Sutfln 52 

Tarpley k9 

Thacker U7 

Thornton U8 

Thweatt k9 

Tilly 1*8 

Tinker U7 

Uselton 51 

Vaughan 52 

Victory 25, U2, 1*5 

Wade 52 

Wadley 52 

Wallace 51 

Waller 9, 23, Uh 

Ward 32, 33, 

3li, 51 

Watkins 51 

Weakley 1 thru 7 

10 thru 13 
15 thru 19 
U2, U3 

Webb 50 

Welch U9 

Whitnell 52 

Whitsett U8 

Wilgus 53 

Williams U7, 63 

Wilson 3, 19, 50 

Wlim 52 

WLnbum 63 

Wright U8, 56 

Youree U8, 52 





DATE DUE 




\i..i^ "** 








—^jvm 
















•*-" tfLfltt- 








wv*^ 








•11.0*99 








MAR 1 fl 7m 








-OCTUj 


002 






i',.n 






4. . - 


■■} ' 






I ■, 








'nil Q t.X^ 








^UL i^ ^ 


ii 






JbH : 
















■' ■ ■■ '-' -., . 














HIGHSMITH 45 


220 







M T S U LIBRARY 



3 3082 00527 7073 



3^^1^1/ 



JAN 83 

N. MANCHESTER,