Skip to main content

Full text of "Rambles round Horton: historical, topographical, and descriptive"

See other formats


mmm 



mm:?' 
Mm-: 



m 

SIS- ^ > J'.* 



ambles Round H of 







• '••Itili-l'll /('■■,;■ t' ' 



m.' 










THE LIBRARY 

OF 

THE UNIVERSITY 

OF CALIFORNIA 

LOS ANGELES 






-v«--«-^ 



47 



y 



^1 



RAMBLES ROUND HORTON. 



List of Illustrations. 



PAGE 

Horton Olcl Hall 

Old Gateway, Chapel Lane 

Octagon Chapel, Horton Road 

The Old Skinhouse 

Horton House 

Horton Hall 

"Old House at Home" 

Old Corn Mill, Beckside i75 

Brooksbank House ... ... ... ... ■■■ •• '79 





J 


Frontispiece 




... 


... 


54 




... 


... 


63 




... 




11 


to 


face 


page 


88 


to 


face 


page 


TOO 

'45 



%\oii. 



Rambles Round Horton: 



Historical, Topographical, and 
Descriptive. 



By WM. CUDWORTH, 



Author of " Round About Bradford:;'' " Historical Xotcs on the 
Bradford Corporation^' S^c. 



Published ijv Subscription. 



1 886. 
liRAUFORD : THUS. BREAK & CO., Ll.MITEU. 



\l'.iilered at StatiutuTs Hall. — ./// Kights Reserved^ 



H6C9 



THIS VOLUME IS 

DEDICATKD BV THE AUTHOR 

TO 

FRANCIS SHARP POWELL, Esq., M.P., 

OF HORTON^OLD HALL, 

IN REMEMBRANCE OF HIS KINDNESS 

ON MANY OCCASIONS DURING 

ITS PREPARATION. 



borCcSo*^ 



PREFACE. 



The Author would fain liopc that no apology is needed for the 
publication of " Rambles Round Horton," albeit the interest of the 
volume is of a comparatively limited character. Works of this nature 
form the basis of local history, treating; as they do of " things great 
and small.'' It may be that many of the items included appear 
insignificant, but from the historian's standpoint they add completeness 
to the whole, and are therefore deserving of notice. 

Under any circumstances the Author had no alternative but to 
issue the present work, such was the amount of interest evoked by 
the publication of the " Rambles '" in the columns of the Bradford 
Obscri'cr. In bringing them before the public in the present form, he 
trusts that his patrons will not be dissatisfied with the result. No 
effort has been spared to secure accuracy, although it is obvious that 
accuracy cannot always be obtained even with the best intentions. 

The Author has to acknowledge his indebtedness to many friends 
for the facilities they have afforded him for obtaining information ; 
to his former coadjutor, Mr. W. G. Hird, for his kind assistance 
in the tedious task of indicing ; and to his numerous subscribers, 
without whose support the work could not liave been undertaken. 

The .\uthor purposes to continue his rambles round the town- 
ships forming the Borough of 15radford, and to publish the account 
thereof uniform with the present volume, should this literary venture 
meet with favour. 

January, 1886. 



RAMBLES ROUND MORTON. 



CHAPTER I. 

Introductory — Boundaries — Streams — Roads — Conformation — Strata — Acreage — 
Origin of Names — Lords of tlie Manor — Manorial Customs— Ancient Tenants 
— Ancient Freeholders. 

In olden times, when lords of manors enjoyed some 
degree of feudal importance, the ceremony of perambulating 
the boundaries of townships excited no small amount of 
interest in local circles. The ceremony would appear to have 
been of value, in so far as the feudal lord and his retainers took 
note of whatever changes might have taken place within the 
charmed circle they patrolled. In pursuing these " rambles," 
therefore, our immediate purpose will be to take note of the 
old landmarks still remaining, and refer as far as possible to 
some of their former inhabitants. In this wav a foundation 
may be laid upon which a superstructure of township history 
may be raised, of which, so far as the townships of the borough 
of Bradford are concerned, no record exists. It will be 
acknowledged that ample material exists for such a record. 
Notwithstanding the common interest shared by all the 
townships of Bradford, an individuality pervades each locality 
which is sufficiently marked to justify individual reference 
without attempting the larger task of collating the whole into 
a history of the borough. Relieved from the necessity of 
recording the more important events which would be necessary 
in such a compilation, we can do greater justice to matters 
often only slightly touched upon or altogether left unnoticed. 

Following in the track of ancient custom, therefore, 
we proceed to describe the boundaries of the township of 
the Hortons, Great and Little, as they are defined by natural 
lines of demarcation. The township is bounded on the west 
by the stream that divides it from Clayton, called Tanner 
Beck, which flows to Lower Lidget, and then through 



2 Rambles Roimd H or ton. 

Bulgrcavc Wood, when it becomes known as Bulgreavc Beck. 
Flowing past Scholemoor Cemetery this beck joins the stream 
called Middle-broke, upon which Sams Mill is situate. From 
thence to the town of Bradford it is called the Bradford 
Beck, and forms the northern boundary of the township of 
Horton. On the cast the township is bounded by Bowling 
Beck, and on the south by a portion of the township of North 
Bierley. Another portion of North Bierley obtrudes upon 
the south-east corner of Horton township, but if any modern 
lord of the manor essayed a perambulation of the boundaries 
he must needs wade through two Corporation reservoirs at 
Horton Bank-top. In addition to the above there are 
tributary streams rising in the township, although they are 
none of them of great volume. A stream, having several 
sources of supply near Cliffe Mill once fed the old corn mill 
at Beckside, and meandering down to Shearbridge was called 
Horton Beck. At Shearbridge the beck is joined by another, 
formerly called Broad Beck, having its rise in fields adjoining 
Horton Park. 

The township boundaries formerly extended into Tyrrel 
Street by a triangular piece of ground called Broadcroft, which 
was appropriated by Henry de Lacy, Earl of Lincoln, and his 
mother of unsavoury memory. Horton being a mesne manor 
the lord thereof was not able to resist the encroachment, 
although he succeeded in establishing his claim to a rent of 
3s. per annum. The triangular plot was described by a 
commission which sat in 1420 to determine as to the 
continuance of the rental, as " a plot of land in the township 
of Little Horton, lying within Bradford Brook, BolHng 
Brook, Horton Kyrkgate {qy. Chapel Lane), and the Field of 
Horton." 

The principal roads in Horton township branch from 
what was formerly called the town-end of ]3radford, and are 
now known as Horton Lane, Horton Road, Manchester Road 
(anciently Bowling Lane), and Legrams Lane. Manchester 
Road only passes through a portion of the easterly side of 
the township, and debouches into Bowling, whereas Horton 
Lane and Horton Road thread the township until they leave 
it, the former at Brownroyd Hill, Wibsey, and the latter 



Rambles Round Horton. 3 

at Clayton Heights on the old road to Halifax. Legrams 
is an old packhorse road, having been an outlet from 
Silsbridge Lane, joining the old road to Halifax by way of 
Green Lane, Toby Lane, Scarr Lane, Upper Green, Dog 
Lane, and what is still called the " old road " at Bank Top. 

The hamlet of Lidget is also approached by Cemetery 
Road (formerly Thiefscore Lane). The oldest highway 
between Great and Little Horton is Southfield Lane, or 
SoLithgate. There are also other connecting links, such as 
Park Lane, Park Avenue, Laistridge Lane, Clayton Lane, 
Holme Lane, Thornton Lane, Aycliffe Lane, Jer Lane, 
Pickles Hill, Old Road, Hollingwood Lane, Cliffe Lane, and 
"bridle-stiles," too numerous for mention. Examples of the 
general character of these thoroughfares, useful during the 
period when the principal means of transit was by packhorses, 
existed in the road leading from Upper Green down Green- 
field to Bracken Hill ; in the one from Leventhorpe through 
Scholemoor by way of Foggs Lane to Horton ; and in that 
leading from Thiefscore Bridge to Birks. The old road at 
Horton Bank, formerly the main coach road between Bradford 
and Halifax, is worth a visit if only to realise the contrast 
between the description of highway which served our fore- 
fathers and such thoroughfares as Park Avenue, for instance, 
a specimen of modern construction. 

The conformation of the Horton township is agreeably 
diversified, the upper portion containing numerous eminences, 
from which extensive views are obtainable. The highest 
elevation is attained on the eminence known as Beacon Hill, 
975 feet above the mean sea level. From this spot a 
commanding prospect may be had, embracing the companion 
beacons at Beamsley, Rawdon Billing, and Halifax, besides a 
fine sweep of country south and cast. From Beldon Hill, 
Haycliffe Hill, Crag Hill, Pickles Hill, and Brow Hill good 
and varied views may also be obtained. 

There is no moorland in Horton township, the only place 
bearing even the name being Scholemoor. From ancient 
documents, to which reference will subsequently be made, we 
learn that this hamlet was formerly waste land. Within a 
recent period, however, the only waste land was situate at 



4 Rambles Round Horton. 

Horton Green and in Southfield Lane — the site of the Old 
Bell Chapel, for instance, and what are now called Upper and 
Lower Green, These " greens " are numerous, including 
Horton Green, Chapel Green, Low Green, Upper Green, 
Lidget Green, and Paradise Green. They, however, furnish 
no open spaces. Upon old maps what is called New England 
land is marked, being chiefly in the vicinity of Southfield Lane. 

Although the surface land of the township is pleasantly 
undulated, it owes very little to the embellishment which a 
well-wooded locality receives from nature. In the sheltered 
valleys there are numerous trees, but not many of large growth, 
the most thriving plantations being those around Horton 
Grange, Bracken Hall, Springfield, and other residences, all of 
which have been planted within a comparatively recent period. 
As early as the year 1350 evidence exists that coal was found 
and used in the township. This fact we learn from an extract 
from the court rolls of the manor of Bradford, transcribed by 
Mr. T. T. Empsall and contributed to the journal of the 
Bradford Historical Society. In these rolls "Thomas del 
Halghes complains that one John the Milner,of Mickle Horton, 
had made divers wells in his land is search of carbones viarinos, 
and that after taking away the coal he had left open the wells, 
whereby the cattle of Thomas del Halghes had fallen in and 
were drowned." Coal has also been extensively got on Beldon 
Hill and upon the slopes of Haycliffe and Crag Hills. 
Practically, however, the coal measures of Horton have now 
become exhausted ; neither is stone obtained in large quantity. 

The four principal landowners are Mr. J. A. Jowett, 
of Bolton ; Mr. I^ S. Powell, of Horton Old Hall ; Mr. 
Wm. Ramsden, of Bracken Hall; and Mr. Geo. Turner, 
of Horton Grange. The manorial rights are held by Mr. 
James Cousen and Miss Rawson, the latter claiming the 
minerals and the former exercising a right over the 
remainder of the manorial property, which is very small. 
There are many small freeholders, which is accounted for 
by the fact that the holdings in the manor from very early 
times were granted in fee, subject only to military service and 
nominal rents. The township comprises 2170 acres of land, 
and is still nominally divided into the constabularies of Great 



Rambles Round Norton. 5 

and Little Horton, which until recently were defined by a 
boundary line, drawn from Fieldhead Dyeworks to Shearbridge, 
then following the course of the beck which runs through 
Horton Park it proceeds forward to the top of Haycliffe Hill, 
indicating the Horton wards of the borough. Since the 
recent extension of the borough, however, the old boundaries 
have been materially interfered with. 

As to the origin of names found in the township we have 
no striking derivations to offer. Horton probably gave its 
name to the family which for generations held possessions 
there, although resident elsewhere. Originally we may assume 
that the " ton " or enclosure was situated upon the lower level, 
but the exact site is left to conjecture. Shearbridge probably 
obtained its name from the fact that there the streams, 
" sheared " or separated before, came together, the brooks from 
Beckside and Horton uniting in their onward course to 
Westbrook. As to Laistridge Lane, it may be that the 
immediate district forms the " least ridge " of the hills in the 
vicinity. Hollingwood Lane evidently derives its name from 
the holly bushes which once lined the neighbouring banks, 
and the name is perpetuated in the title given to Holly Bank, 
the residence of Mr. John Ramsden. Jer Lane is from 
Jeremiah Holdsworth, a yeoman in that neighbourhood. A 
former historian has jumped to the too ready conclusion 
that Beldon Hill owes it name to very remote times. It 
is not so. Beldon Hill is not the hill of Bael or Bel, but 
of one William Beldon, who owned land there so recently 
as 1800; while Pickles Hill has a similar origin. "Ewe 
Clews" is of less satisfactory explanation, as the place is 
variously styled Ewe, Yew, How, Hew, and High. It may 
have have been an inclosure for sheep, or a plantation of 
yew trees, or have taken its name from the clew or clough 
of the water-mill situate hard by. The name " Thiefscore " 
arouses unpleasant doubts as to the morality of the 
neighbourhood, but there is a Paradise in the township, 
which may be taken as a set-off Many other possible 
derivations may be suggested as we patrol the township, 
but before doing this we must glance at the ancient history 
of the place. 



6 Rambles Round Norton. 

From Domesday Book, that source of historic information 
to which the historian first turns, we learn that from the 
eadiest times Horton formed a hamlet dependent on the 
manor of Bradford. The first man of consequence named in 
connection with the place was Robert de Stapleton, who is 
mentioned as living in the reign of Henry II. (1154-89). His 
son Hugh, who took the name of Horton, received from 
Robert de Lacy, the lord of the manor of Bradford, a grant 
of land extending to the very verge of the town, showing 
that he must have been in considerable fa^^our with his 
superior lord. The land remained in the Horton family 
until the reign of Edward I., Vv'hen Hugh dying without male 
issue it descended to his daughter, who had married Wm. 
Leventhorp. He was the head of the ancient family deriving 
their name from Leventhorp or Lenthrop, in Thornton 
township. In the reign of Henry VII. the manor of Horton 
passed into the hands of the Lacies of Cromwellbotham (a 
secondary branch of the greater Lacies), by the marriage of 
John Lacy with Alice Leventhorpe. The Hortons had by 
this time settled at Barkisland, in Halifax parish, and in 
1639 William Horton, of Firth House, purchased the 
Howroyde estate, whose family have been in possession of to 
the .present time, the present owner of Howroyde and the 
representative of the Horton family being Capt. Joshua 
Thomas Horton, J. P. In 1640, Joshua Horton, of Sowerby, 
a member of a junior branch of the Horton family, 
repurchased the manor of Horton formerly belonging to his 
ancestors, along with that of Thornton. His son Elkanah, 
a barrister, who died in 1728, lived at Thornton Hall. 
Thomas Horton, the grandson of Joshua of Sowerby, resided 
at Chadderton, near Manchester, which had been purchased 
by his father, and was Deputy-Governor of the Isle of Man. 
His eldest son, William, was made a baronet, and the present 
owner of Howroyde is the twice great grandson of Sir W. 
Horton's younger brother, Joshua Thomas. It is said that 
the Hortons, while lords of the manor, had in ancient days a 
manor house a little to the east of Great Horton, the site of 
which has been since known as Hall Yard, but there is no 
evidence in support of the tradition beyond the name. 



Rambles Round Morton. 7 

The recent ownership of the manor of Horton may be 
recorded in few words. From Joshua Horton the manorial 
estate came to his descendant, Sir Watts Horton, of 
Chadderton, through his father. Sir William Horton. Sir 
Watts married Lady Henrietta Stanley, whose daughter, 
Henrietta Susanna, married Charles Rees, of Liverpool, who 
altered his name to Rhyss, and of the marriage came two sons 
and four daughters. Dame Henrietta died in 1827, leaving as 
her heir, Charles Horton Rhyss, who then came into possession 
of the manorial and other property of the Horton family. 
This gentleman led a somewhat erratic life, being a captain 
in the army, and for many years a comedian, acting under 
the nam dc plume of "Morton Price." Upon several occasions 
he occupied Bradford theatres under that name, but was 
generally in the United States and Canada. 

In October, 1858, he caused the manorial property to 
be sold by auction, when Mr. Wm. Cousen purchased 
the lordship of Horton, with hereditaments, &c., thereto 
belonging, comprising a messuage known as the Manor 
House, a cottage, the pinfold, &c., and also the fee farm rents, 
generally called "Lord's rents," which realised £,\2 ys. 8d. 
per annum. His son, Mr. James Cousen, is the present lord 
of the manor. Dracup's trustees purchased the old corn mill 
and water rights connected therewith, occupied by John 
Beanland, and comprising the dam field, West Croft, &c. 

Much might be stated as to the manor of Horton which 
cannot be admitted here. But this may be observed, that 
whilst Bowling, for instance, was a mesne manor like Horton, 
yet none of the tenants of the former acknowledged as chief 
only the lord of Boiling, who himself, for all, did suit to the 
Lacies. The manor of Horton was practically independent 
while the tenants named held directly of the manor of 
Bradford. It is an anomaly which needs further explanation. 

Before completing the story of the manorial succession, 
however, we may again make reference to the old Manor 
Court records as transcribed by Mr, Empsall, with the view 
of forming an estimate of the population of Horton during 
those early times. For this purpose the surveys made at the 
instance of the Lacy family afford some data, although to a 



8 Rambles Round Horton. 

large extent the township had been alienated from the Lacy- 
fee, and was enjoyed by the Horton family. In the survey of 
1342 only ten tenants of the Lacies are named, and they all 
belonged to the class of tenantry called " freemen," persons 
who had emancipated themselves from serfdom and had 
become possessed of land as customary tenants, i.e., copyhold 
tenure. For their holdings they rendered certain services 
in the manor courts. Several of the tenants occupied 
an exceptional position, and of these was Roger de 
Manningham, who held a messuage and two bovates of 
land (about 16 acre.s) by the service of "going with his lord 
to Blackburnshire (of which they were lords) with a lance 
and a dog for forty days to hunt wild boars, receiving i^^d. a 
day wages, also to be ready and willing to appear yearly at 
Bradford at the feast of St. Martin if required, to do suit of 
court at Bradford every three weeks, and give to the lord 3d. 
at the time of the Invention of the Holy Cross, in lieu of the 
work of one plough, and at seed time is. 4d. annually for his 
freedom." Thomas de Northrop, one of the Manningham 
tenants, had to render to the chief identical service with that 
of de Manningham in accompanying the lord in his journeys 
into Lancashire. But Northrop had six bovates of land, or 
about fifty acres, and three messuages, which were burdened 
on succession with heriots in the shape of the best beast in 
the herd to the lord. He had also to pay 8d. annually, in 
lieu of farm labour at seed time. 

The Abbot of Kirkstall also held about forty acres of 
land in this township, by the gift of a pair of white spurs. 
The land in question was, after the dissolution of the 
monasteries, acquired by Richard Lyster, who, in addition to 
the spurs, rendered military service. But by an inquisition 
post moi'teni., 2nd Ed. VI., he held more than the abbots did, 
and it may be the extra land which imposed the latter 
burden. This land was held by the same tenure for several 
centuries, and was doubtless situate in Thornton Lane, 
extending to Burnet Field, in Bowling. William le Maisson 
held two bovates and a messuage, for which he tendered a 
ploughshare yearly to the lord on his coming to Bradford at 
the feast of St. Martin, and performed service of court every 



Rambles Round H or ton. 9 

three weeks. Brian dc Thornhill held a piece of land, for 
which he paid 2s. annually. 

The remaining seven tenants of Horton held their 
allotments by foreign military service at the command of 
their lord. They also paid a rent varying from i^d. to 4d. 
per acre, and i|d each per bovate instead of ploughing in 
spring. Hugh de Rochdale, one of them, for instance, held a 
messuage and two bovates of land, which was called the i6th 
part of a knight's fee, paying 2s. yearly for the land, and 3d. 
instead of labour, while William le Roy paid 6s. 6d. for a 
messuage and \\ bovates, and 2\di. instead of ploughing, and 
all other service similar to that rendered by Hugh, 

Another source from which we may gather information 
as to the inhabitants of Horton during the fourteenth century 
is the lay subsidy or poll-tax of 2nd of Richard H. (1379). 
The list is as follows : — 



Thos. filius Rogeri, mercator. & uxor 

Ricardus de Skircote & uxor 

Rogerus filius Rogeri & uxor 

Thos. del Bryg & uxor 

Willelmus Leman & uxor 

Johannes de Wodehale & uxor ... 

Thos. filius Gilberti & uxor 

Johannes filius Ade «& uxor 

Thos. Machon & uxor 

Wilhelmus filius Robert! & uxor ... 
Wilhelmus Hawmerode & uxor ... 

Thos. Gabriel & uxor 

Thomas Hunsselet & uxor 

Johannes de Holyns & uxor 

Johannes de Newall & uxor 

Wilhelmus de Hawmonrode &: uxor 

Thos. filius Wilhelmi & u.xor 

Alicia filia Rogeri 

Annabella Leman 

Alicia filia Johannis 

Agnes filia Johannis 

Eva Machon 

Johannis Sementhorn 

Johannis de Bryg 



xijd. 
iiijd. 
iiijd. 
iiijd. 
iiijd. 
iiijd. 
iiijd. 
iiijd. 
iiijd. 
iiijd. 
iiijd. 
iiijd. 
iiijd. 
iiijd. 
iiijd. 
iiijd. 
iiijd. 
iiijd. 
iiijd. 
iiijd. 
iiijd. 
iiijd. 
iiijd. 
iiijd. 



Summa, viijs. viijd 



10 Rambles Round Horton. 

The list is copied verbatim, retaining the ancient form of spel- 
Hng, and the amounts at which the inhabitants were assessed. 
Here, again, is a singular anomaly, not one of the military 
tenants of Horton named in the survey of 1342 occurring in 
the poll-tax list. Could it be that this class of tenants were 
exempt from this tax on account of their military service .'' 
It was the levying of this poll-tax which exasperated the 
populace to rise in rebellion under Wat Tyler. The total 
amount of the taxation raised, it will be seen, was 8s. 8d. 
Only one inhabitant at that period ranked as a merchant, and 
the amount extracted from him and his wife was I2d. The 
remainder were all of the humblest class of householders, 
and paid 4d. (a groat) each couple, a similar amount being 
apparently exacted from the single persons. Young persons 
under sixteen and persons in a state of mendicancy were 
exempted. While from these causes we are not able to 
number the population of Horton at that time, we can at 
least compare its standing with other places. Halifax, for 
instance, only raised 12s. 8d., and Bradford 23s., the tradesmen 
in the latter place being a fuller, a mason, two tailors, two 
shoemakers, and three innkeepers. 

In only a few cases in the above list does there appear 
any semblance to existing Horton nomenclature. It would 
appear to have been generally deemed sufficient to distinguish 
a Hortonian by describing him as the son of his father, a like 
rule applying to the females. A similar custom still prevails 
in alluding to a person as Bob o' Doads o' Sams. In other 
instances it is evident that the Christian name was associated 
with that of the place whence the person came, as Richard of 
Skircoat, John of Newhall, and John of Woodhall. The 
Brygs and Hawmonrodes and Holyns are easy of identification 
with names still existing in the township, although in some- 
what disguised forms, as in the case of the descendants of 
the Hawmonrodes, who are now known as Hammonds and 
Ormanroyds. The Christian names of William, Thomas, and 
John were evidently as common five hundred years ago as at 
the present day. 

The following list of Horton freeholders, taken from the 
subsidy roll of 1608, which is preserved at Howroyd, confirms 



Rambles Rottnd Horton. 



11 



families of 


the period 


Assessed. 


raid. 


... xxxs. 


iiijs. 


xxs. 


ijs. viijd. 


xxs. 


ijs. viijd. 


xxs. 


ijs. viijd. 


xxs. 


ijs. viijd. 


xxs. 


ijs. viijd. 


xxs. 


ijs. viijd. 


xxs. 


ijs. viijd. 


xxs. 


ijs. viijd. 


xxs. 


ijs. viijd. 


xxs. 


ijs. viijd. 



our impressions as to the principal families of the period. It 

is as follows : — 

Robertus Boothe, in lands 
Thos. Sharp, jun. 
Thos. Sharp, sen. 

John Lyster 

Georgius Holdsworth... 
Will'ms Mortimer 

John Feild 

Johannes Nicholls 
Gilbertus Brooksbank 
Chrste'rus Swayne 
John Sharp 

Summa vill, xxxs. viijd. 
Advancin"" a couple of centuries we are able from other 
sources to estimate with tolerable accuracy the material 
importance of the township of Horton, if not the number of 
its inhabitants. In Sir John Maynard's valuation of the 
tythes of Bradford parish, taken in 1638, the two Hortons 
are put down as valued at ^^603 os. 6d. In this township the 
tythes were reckoned by oxgangs (or as much land as an ox 
could plough in a season^, an oxgang containing, one with 
another, about ten acres, and the tythe of an oxgang was 
valued at £'/. In Great Horton the principal contributor 
was Gilbert Brooksbank, who paid ;^35 on five oxgangs of 
land ; John Mortimer, of Scholcmoor, ;^2i on three oxgangs ; 
Widow Holyns and Jonas Hammond, on two oxgangs ; \Vm. 
Mortimer, three oxgangs ; John Booth, five and a-third. In 
Little Horton the principal contributors were John Sharp, 
jun., four oxgangs ; Jolin Sharp, sen., two and three-quarter 
oxgangs ; John Lister, " who pretends his land is tythe free 
because of the Cistercian Order, yet pays tythe in kind to Sir 
Richard Tempest" (of whom or through whom he probably 
obtained it. Tempest and others having secured large 
quantities of abbey lands at the dissolution), three and 
a-half oxgangs ; William Walker, two and a-third oxgangs ; 
Thomas Swaine, two oxgangs ; William Booth, two oxgangs ; 
Samuel Swaine, one and three-quarter oxgangs ; Thomas 
Balme, the eighteenth part of an oxgang, which was valued 
as one. 



12 Rambles Round Horton. 

What was called hearth-money or the hearth-tax was a 
levy upon all householders according to the number of their 
fires. It was originally established by William the Conqueror, 
and was continued under Parliamentary sanction by Charles II., 
but the impost was abolished under William and Mary. In 
the collection of this tax for the year 1666 we find the names 
of the following residents of Great and Little Horton, who 
were the most substantial people of the period, viz.: — Isaac 
Sharpe, five hearths ; John Sharpe, seven ; Thomas Swaine, 
three; Abm. Swaine, two; Robert Swaine, two; Joseph 
Lister, four ; Andrew Hodgson, four ; Thos. Pighles, four ; 
Wm. Mortimer, four; Richard Thornton, three; Mary Mortimer, 
four ; Gilbert Brooksbank, two ; Will Hammond, three. The 
total number of hearths paid for in the township was 208, 
James Swaine being constable during the collection. The 
complete list of householders would have been interesting had 
space permitted of it being given. As compared with the 
township of Bradford, however, Horton appears to have stood 
well ; Bradford East having had 206, and Bradford West 301 
hearths taxed. 

The land and property tax of 1704 contains a more 
complete list of owners of land and buildings at that period 
than can be obtained from any other source, and from it we 
cull the following particulars of the principal persons assessed 
in Horton. The tax was at the rate of 4s. in the pound, and 
was levied by order of Parliament in aid of the State. The 
list is as follows : — 





I 


s. 


d. 




L 


s. 


d. 


Gilbert Brooksbank — 








Wm. Mortimer 


3 


15 





For self and Booth's 








Isaac Rollings 


I 


6 





land 


4 


17 


1\ 


Thos. Hodgson 


I 


19 


4^ 


Scholemoor land ... 


I 


2 


6 


Jas. Hall 


I 








Nichols' land 





7 


6 


Thos. Pighills 


I 


10 





Westcroft and 








Wm. Blackburn 


I 





1\ 


Healds 





6 


3 


John Ashton 


I 


II 


io| 


Sugden's land 





5 


n 


Robert Fo.x, for ye 








Hammond's land... 





I 


io\ 


milne 





18 


i| 


Cockroyd's 





I 


3 


Rich. Thornton 


1 


II 


3 


Jas. Swaine's land.. 





6 


io| 


Abm. Swaine, How 








Jewitt's land 





I 


io| 


Clews 





II 




Sarah Brooksbank 





5 





Henry Lancaster ... 


I 


2 


6 



Rambles Round Norton. 



13 







£ 


s. 


d. 




£ 


s. 


d. 


Robt. Swaine, Hunt 








Chris. Swaine 


I 


15 


6 


Yard 


• . • 


I 


6 


3 


Jer. Roods 


I 


10 





Jonas Hopkinson 




I 


7 


6 


Lionel Knowlcs 


o 


18 


6 


Win. Mortimer 




I 


lO 


7\ 


Abram Balme 


o 


15 





Thos. Swaine ... 


• ■ • 


I 


lO 


7h 


Mr. Wm Swaine ... 


I 


17 


6 


Mr. Wm. Rawson, 


for 








Thos. Ferrand 


I 


2 


6 


cole mine 




I 


o 


o 


John Bower 


I 


10 


6 


Mrs. Sharp 


. . • 


4 


17 


6 


Mr. Rawson, for 








John Lister 




4 


o 


o 


tythe 


I 


5 





Joshua Stansfield 




I 


5 


o 


Mr. Horton, for his 








Isaac Sharp 


• . • 


3 


II 


J 


Lord's Rent ... ... 


I 








Abm. Jewitt 


• . • 


I 


2 


6 


- 














Mary Thornton 


■ . ■ 


I 


4 


o 


Total for the 








Wm. Blaymires 


... 


o 


6 


o 


township... £ 


too 


10 


5 






Chrisr. Swaine, ) , 

THOS. Swaine, [ Assessors. 












Bartholc 
James Ha 


)mew Lancaster, ) ^ „ 

^ ^ T i Collectors 

LL, Jun., S 





14 Rambles Round Horton. 



CHAPTER II. 

Surveys of 1802 and i839^Parochial Matters — Horton Constables — Overseers — Old 
Workhouse — Highway Surveyors — Highway Board— Horton Councillors. 

We have before us the plan of Great and Little Horton, 
the result of a survey made " by order of the inhabitants " in 
1802, by William Basset, land surveyor. It contains references 
to the owners of every plot of land and field in the township 
at tJiat period, and for the purposes we have in view is a 
most valuable record. We append a list of the principal 
landowners at the period in question, as follows : — Messrs. 
F. S. Bridges, Richard Hodgson, Charles S. B. Sharp, Joseph 
Stocks, Mrs. Lister, Mary Brooksbank, Mrs. Hodsden, Mr. 
Gorton, Miss Bower, Wm. Blamires, J. Blamires' trustees, 
John Booth, Gregory Fox, Susannah Swaine, James Swaine, 
Mr. Holden, Pollard & Co., Jarratt & Co., Jacob Hudson's 
trustees, Mrs. llutton's trustees, John Balme, Jeremiah 
Thornton, John Tommis, William Beldon, and Jonas Jowett. 

A survey was also made by Mr. Samuel Wormald, of 
Beeston, in 1839, including a valuation of the township, from 
which it appears that the total area was 1935 acres, and the 
ratable value ^^32,7 11. The principal land and property 
owners at that period were Francis Sharp Bridges, Miss 
Jowett, Ellis Cunliffe Lister, Mrs. Ann Giles, Colonel 
Fitzgerald, Messrs. Hird, Dawson & Hardy, Thos. B. 
Charnock, John Bower, Charles, Henry, and Alfred Harris,- 
John and William Rand, Samuel and VVm. Blamires, Joseph 
Beanland's trustees, John Hustler, William Fox, Dracup's 
trustees, John Haley, Eli Suddards, Watson Cryer, Hudson's 
trustees, John Crook, I'rancis Ackroyd, Robert Stables 
Ackroyd, Nathan Bentley, John Blackburn, John and Squire 
Stowell, John Jennings, and Daniel Armitage, 

The absence of any town's books or connected records 
of township business seriously interferes with the work of 
the historian, and, in respect to the township of Horton, 
practically results in our being obliged to leave the period 



Rambles Round Morton. 15 

prior to tlie present century almost a blank so far as parochial 
matters are concerned. After all, the omission may be 
imaginatively supplied by a knowledge of the routine 
of township government and township affairs in similar 
places. Horton would in the " olden time," we presume, 
be governed upon the most economical principles, its 
inhabitants expending as much upon the repair of roads 
and the salaries of its parochial officers as was consistent 
with a small highway rate, and no more — the burden of an 
additional penny in the pound upon a ratal valuation being 
as intolerable to Hortonian ratepayers as to those in any 
other part of the country. 

The township officially managed its own affairs from a 
central point of inspiration, namely, the parish vestry, at 
which place all meetings affecting town's business were 
held, and where all appointments were officially made. 
Presumably, too, there would during each generation be 
a coterie of townsmen who, except they were more than 
ordinarily virtuous, worked for each other's benefit quite as 
much as for that of the township. Although these parochial 
patriots rendered service without recognised fee or reward 
so far as salary was concerned, tradition has it that the 
weekly dinners at Lidget Green were looked upon as some 
recompense, and were relinquished only after strong protests 
made by unprivileged ratepayers, whose notions of patriotic 
service failed to accord with such " guzzling " at the town's 
expense. 

As already stated, the township of Horton is still 
nominally divided into the constabularies of Great and Little 
Horton, but practically into wards for municipal purposes. 
Prior to the advent of the Corporation, the jurisdiction of 
the old Lighting and Watching Commissioners of Bradford 
extended to " part of the hamlet of Little Horton," which, 
however, only included a very small portion of the hamlet, 
namely, that lying near to the junction of Manchester Road^ 
Horton Lane, and Horton Road. The larger portion of the 
township, therefore, was managed as previously described, and 
left in darkness. It was left to the enterprise of the trustees 
of the Wesleyan Chapel to introduce gas into Great Horton, 



16 Rambles Round Horton. 

which they did for the purpose of lighting the chapel. It 
was soon afterwards made at Cousen's Mill, and at some 
other manufacturing establishments, until the Corporation 
ventured to assume that probably Great Horton might be 
a profitable customer, and carried gas mains to the place. 

For highway purposes Great and Little Horton were 
divided, but in the administration of the Poor Law the 
township was united as at present. Once a year town's 
meetings were held at the vestry of the Bell Chapel, at 
which highway surveyors, churchwardens, overseers, and 
constables were appointed and a rate was laid, an occasion 
sufficiently exciting to arouse whatever local enthusiasm was 
existent. Bell Chapel, however, was only erected in 1808, 
and prior to that period parochial officers were elected at the 
parish vestry at Bradford. Among the earliest churchwardens 
whose names we have met with were Thomas Hodgson and 
Ezra Thornton, wardens for Great and Little Hortons in 
1765 ; Samuel Swaine, Legrams, being overseer for the same 
year. Jos. Beanland, cornmiller, was the first churchwarden 
at the Bell Chapel, and held that office for many years, 
Messrs. Samuel and Richard Lumby also filling the office. 

Horton constables of the manor of Bradford were also 
appointed at the " Court Leet," held for the purpose at 
Bradford, and of these a tolerable record is preserved, but 
we must be content with mentioning those holding office for 
the following years, viz. : — Gregory Fox, constable for 1795, 
Joshua Stanfield deputy; Samuel Lumby, constable for 1820, 
Francis Ackroyd, deputy ; 1822, Joseph Barrans, Little 
Horton ; Thomas Ramsden, Great Horton ; 1827, Wm. 
Blamires, Great Horton ; Wm. Cass, Little Horton ; 1832, 
Dan Haley, Great Horton ; John Stowell, Little Horton. 
As a rule, there were one chief constable and two deputies, 
and among the more recent chiefs were Wm. Swaine, Cowling 
Ackroyd, John Smith, Joseph Bakes, &c., and of the deputies 
Thomas Carter, John Haley, and John Liversedge. John 
Clough was bellman at Great Horton for several years, but 
was forcibly deprived by having the bell taken from him by 
Cowling Ackroyd and John Smith in 1839, for announcing 
a Chartist meeting. The inhabitants, indignant at such 



Rambles Round Hortori. 17 

conduct, subscribed for another bell, and presented it to 
him to be used for all purposes. The town's bell was given 
to Samuel Fieldhouse, who held it for several years, and 
was succeeded by George Storey, who was for many years 
court-leet constable, bellman, and pinder for Great Horton. 
The office of court-leet constable is now inoperative, owing to 
the introduction of the borough police, but the appointment 
is still made at the Manor Court of the Honour of Pontcfract, 
held yearly at the Market Tavern, Bradford, Mr. Wm. 
Greaves, solicitor, bcHng steward and judge. 

The administration of relief to the poor of Horton, 
happily never an arduous task, was effected during the 
early years of the century by a small, if not practicall}' 
self-elected body, comprising amongst its number John 
Jennings, Wm. Blamires, Isaac Clough, Dan Booth, Richard 
and Sammy Lumb}', and John Sm.ith, with Abraham l?alme, 
of Horton Green, as assistant-overseer and rate collector. 
This body met once a week to dispense the poor relief, the 
workhouse then being in the grounds now constituting Horton 
Park. Tom Carter, who was also a cow doctor and dentist, 
was the first workhouse master of whom we have any record. 
It is said that his practice of dentistry was attended with 
unpleasant effects upon some of the unfortunate inmates 
under his charge ! Jeremy Haley succeeded Carter, and 
gathered the rates as well ; and he was followed by Dan 
Booth and Wm. Marshall. At that period there were only 
nine or ten inmates of the " house." 

The old workhouse was taken down about the year 1822, 
soon after the removal of the institution to a building now 
standing at Horton Green, which was erected for the purpose 
by the overseers of the township. The workhouse property at 
Great Horton having been purchased by Mr. Noble, a cloth 
merchant, of Leeds, for his son, Mr. Ed. Noble, the latter 
erected the residence now standing in Horton park, which he 
styled W'ellclose House. He also planted the ^q\\ old trees 
remaining in the park, and built a tower or bath-house over 
the cold spring of water, one of three springs known as the 
" tea well," the " bath well," and the " workhouse well," the 
latter having been used for bathing the paupers. Succeeding 



18 Rambles Round Hortoji. 

tenants of Wellclose House have been Mr. Richard Denton, 
who Hved in it a long time, and Mr. Edwin Bentley. 

The Bradford Union was constituted under the New 
Poor Law in Feb., 1837, and comprised among its twenty 
townships that of Horton, Mr. Abraham Balme being 
assistant-overseer. On Mr. Bahne's retirement in 1839 Mr. 
Thos. Myers obtained the appointment to his office, and soon 
afterwards Mr. Jonas Jennings was made reheving officer, 
a position which he held for many years. In August, 
1848, the Bradford Poor-law Union was divided, and the 
townships of the borough, viz., Bradford, Bowling, Horton, 
and Manningham, were formed into one union, and what is 
now known as the North Bierley Union into another. In the 
same year Mr, Myers, being wishful of being relieved from 
the duty of collecting the poor rates, gave up £^0 of his 
salary towards the stipend of an assistant, and Mr. Benjamin 
Crabtree was appointed to the office. Mr. Richard Poole is 
the present assistant-overseer. The Bradford workhouse, 
which js in Horton township, is situated in an enclosure 
comprising about fourteen acres of land, and was erected 
in 185 1-2, at a cost of i^i 1,000. It has since been enlarged 
at a further cost of ;^i6,ooo; thus, with the value of the site, 
the workhouse represents Union property worth ;i^32,ooo. It 
has accommodation for 1000 inmates. 

The records of the transactions of the highway surveyors 
are scarcely more ample than those relating to other parochial 
matters until we reach the period when the Board of Highway 
Surveyors was constituted. In the year 1840, at a meeting 
held at the old Bell Chapel, Messrs. Samuel Lumby, 
Scholemoor ; John Jennings, Low Close House ; Thomas 
Ramsden, High Street ; Joseph Waterhouse, Bank Top ; 
Samuel Dracup, Pickles Lane ; Wm. Bakes, jun., Horton 
Road ; and Robert Shepherd, Southgate, were appointed 
a board for the repair of the highways of Great Horton. 
At the same time Jeremiah Briggs was appointed acting 
surveyor. The first meeting was held at the Fleece Inn, 
kept by Wm. Bakes, the site of which is now occupied by 
the Congregational Schools, and the next meeting was held 
at the George and Uragon, the custom being to patronise 



Rambles Roinni H or ton. 19 

the several " pubs " in the district in strict rotation. Ahnost 
the first item recorded in the proceedings for the year 1S40 
has reference to a matter which is still remembered as 
furnishing material for much angry disputation at the time 
it took place, namely, the question of the repair of Beldon 
Hill Road. In the minutes of the meeting of the Highway 
Board on June ist we read : — 

" That an appeal against the items expended on the Beldon Hill 
Road, and entered in the late Surveyor's accounts, be entered and 
prosecuted at the ensuing sessions to be held at Bradford, we the said 
Board not acknowledging the aforesaid road as belonging to the 
township, it liaving never been repaired at the expense of the township 
previously." Moved by Thomas Ramsden, and seconded by Samuel 
Lumby, and carried unanimously, " That Mr. Cowling Ackroyd and 
Mr. Nathan Bentley be appointed by this Board to enter and prosecute 
the aforesaid appeal at the ensuing sessions." 

It appears that the road at Beldon Hill was, prior to 
1840, in a very disreputable condition— almost impassable, 
or, as the old inhabitants describe it, " up tut knav i' muck " 
It so fell out, however, that Abraham Bairstow, of Hill 
End, was appointed surveyor, and, having some grounds for 
deeming the township liable to its repair, or else considering 
the existing state of things a reproach to the neighbourhood, 
he determined to exercise his authority as surveyor in the 
interest of the dwellers and frequenters of the uplands of 
Beldon Hill. Accordingly he put the road into a tolerable 
state of repair, rendering due account to the local authority. 
This course of the surveyor was stoutly resisted by the 
Board, representing for the most part those ratepayers who 
scarcely ever ascended to Beldon Hill, and led to the appeal 
referred to in the minute. Bairstow, however, resisted the 
appeal, and won the case ; but even this did not appease 
the "Lords of Horton," who carried the case to the Court 
of Queen's Bench, compelling the patriotic surveyor to follow 
and maintain his cause. This he did principal)}- at his own 
cost, and again came off triumphantly, but it is said that the 
drain upon his resources was such as to reduce him in worldly 
position — a circumstance not altogether to the credit of his 
neighbours, for whom he had waged and won a substantial 
point. At any rate, Beldon Hill Road, and Jer Lane as well. 



20 Rambles Round H or ton. 

have been repaired at the public expense ever since Bairstow's 
victory, and are now in tolerable condition. 

At a meeting of the Highway Board held in March, 
1 84 1, Thomas Myers was appointed clerk and treasurer of 
the Board without salary, Samuel Harrison being elected 
collector at a salary of ;^io per annum, and Samuel Lumby 
overseer of the road-men. The highway rate for that period 
was 7d. in the pound. This arrangement continued until 
March, 1846, when Alfred Hind Denton was elected clerk 
at a salary of £2 per annum, and Wm. Keighley acting 
surveyor and treasurer, Samuel Harrison continuing his office 
of collector. The members of the Board had also undergone 
revision during the interval, Messrs. Richard Denton, Jos. 
Hirst, Wm. Keighley, David Mortimer, Chas. Bennett, John 
Parker, and Henry Sagar being the members for 1846, and 
Mr. Richard Denton chairman. We also meet with the 
several names of Nathan Bentley, Luke Blamires, William 
Keighley, William Fox, sen., David Mortimer, and William 
Moorhouse as having held the office. In April, 1847, "for 
certain considerations" understood between Mr. Horsfall, of the 
Mansion House, and the Board, that gentleman was allowed 
to enclose the plot of ground near his residence, then used as 
a dross-hill, and which was originally taken from the waste. 

At the annual meeting held for the re-election of the 
Highway Board in March, 1849, something approaching to a 
" row " appears to have taken place, one section present 
being evidently determined to oust the members previously 
holding office and to substitute others. No less than four 
names were submitted for the office of chairman, but 
ultimately Mr. Wm. Buckle was elected ; and a motion was 
proposed that the old members, viz., Messrs. John Wade, 
John Burrows, William Burrows, Jonathan Emsley, Samuel 
Wood, William Murgatroyd, Daniel Dracup, Dan Haley, John 
Bastow, Jeremiah Rudd, and William Moorhouse constitute 
the Board for the ensuing year. Wheireupon a counter-list of 
names was submitted, containing those of Thomas Cockroft, 
Edwin Bentley, Luke Blamires, Job Robertshaw, Samuel 
Denton, William l^uckle, John Jennings, and William Cousen. 
The old members, however, were carried by a large majority, 



Ra)]iblcs Round Hortoii. 21 

and at the subsequent meeting of the Board the following 
officers were appointed : — Chairman, John Wade ; treasurer, 
William Moorhouse ; collector, George I.aycock. 

The books from which we derive this information give 
little more than the ordinary formal resolutions confirming 
what the surveyor might have done during the preceding 
month, such as the laying of a causeway or the removal of a 
rubbish heap. Neither do the account books offer much of 
interest, the following being the usual form of presenting the 
accounts. The period covered is for the year 1 849 : — • 

I s d. 
Faid for day labour 83 13 9 

„ Contract work 85 i i 

„ Materials 78 411 

,, Teamwork 49 18 9 

„ Bills 68 12 5 

„ Incidentals 487 



Total expenditure for the year 



i^368 19 7 



This amount was raised in great part by the proceeds 
of a highway rate of lod. in the pound, which realised 
^^304 13s. dgd., and by other small sums. At this period 
the Bradford Corporation had existed over two years, and 
Horton returned its councillors, but still the townships of the 
borough exercised control over their own highways, and, as it 
appears, levied rates for their maintenance. The anomaly, 
however, was removed by the passing of the Bradford 
Improvement Act of 1850, and by the enforcement of that 
Act the Board of Surveyors of Horton, as well as those of 
the other townships, was disestablished. The last meeting 
of the Board was held at the Four Ashes Inn, kept by Mr. 
Jeremiah Rudd, on the 3rd of March, 185 1, there being 
present John Wade, chairman, Jeremiah Rudd, Saml. Wood, 
Wm. Moorhouse, Dan Haley, John Bairstow, W^m. Burrows, 
and William Murgatroyd. It may be stated parenthetically 
that a similar authority existed for Little Horton, of which 
Wm. Cass was surveyor, and Wm. Holdsworth collector. At 
a more recent date Isaac Rowntrce officiated as highway 
surveyor of Little Horton, and was taken into the service 
of the Corporation. 



•22 Rambles Round Norton. 

The Bradford Corporation was established in 1847, when 
the Horton townships was divided into two wards, three 
councillors being allotted to Great Horton and six to the 
Little Horton Ward, which had become very populous. The 
first burgess list of the borough comprised 5457 names, of 
which number Great Horton Ward had 536 and Little 
Horton 1206. The result of the first election of councillors 
invested the following Hortonians with municipal dignity, 
viz. : — Great Horton — Messrs. John Bartle, Wm. Buckle, and 
John Clough. Little Horton — Samuel Bottomley, James 
Bilton, John Clayton, John Hill, scale-beam maker, John 
Hill, maltster, and Samuel Smith. Hot contests ensued upon 
many subsequent occasions, especially in the Great Horton 
section of the township, but for years this ward has been 
practically given over to the Liberal party, so ardent in the 
Liberal cause being the majority of the inhabitants that 
active canvassers are in the habit of saying that Liberal 
voters may be counted by the house-row. Li the Little 
Horton Ward the honours have been more equally divided. 



Rambles Round Norton. 23 



CIIAPTKR III. 

The "Good Old I'imes "— The Early Clothiers— A ''Pot u' I'our" — Primitive 
Habits--The Cliarti.sl Movement — The " Phig Riots"— The Cctlon Manufacture — 
The Worsted Industry. 

The antecedents of any community are not unfreciucntly 
reflected in the sayings and doings of the generations which 
follow, and so it has been in Horton. By this general term, 
however, we must be understood to mean suburban Horton, 
as distinguished from that portion of the town.'^hip which is 
being rapidly absorbed in the great borough, and by the 
overgrowth of which its once pleasant fields are being covered 
with dwellings inhabited by people gathered from all quarters 
of the kingdom. The overwhelming process is not yet 
complete, however, and there still remains an element 
strongly Hortonian, in which may be found the characteristics 
distinguishing those who peopled the villages which were 
dotted here and there in the Bradford-dale of a past age. 

In one important feature the villagers of Florton have 
maintained an honourable position, morally and socially. It 
is rare to see a drunken man in the Horton of which we 
speak. The people are thrifty and of a "saving" turn, 
without denying themselves the comforts of life ; police 
regulations are almost superfluous ; and in regard to material 
wealth, there are probably a larger number of small free- 
holders in Horton than in the majorit}- of townships in the 
West Riding. In the various political struggles of the present 
century Hortonians have generally been to the fore, and 
many a veteran has suffered imprisonment for his zeal in 
political warfare. 

We have, however, to deal with a period long anterior to 
this present age of school boards, commercial activity, and 
cheap bread — to a time when the two hamlets of Horton had 
undergone little change in their appearance for generations, 
with the exception of the erection now and again of an 
additional barn to receive the produce from a gradually 
extended cultivation of the surrounding uplands, or the 



24 Rivnbles Round Norton. 

rearing of a few one-storeyed dwellings for the young 
married men or labourers employed. At that time the 
processes of farming and of manufacturing, whether of cloth 
or other fabrics, went hand in hand — in one case the 
employers being styled "clothiers" and in the other "stuff 
makers." These manufacturers, as they may be termed, 
generally farmed their own small estates, and occupied them- 
selves and their families alternately with the mixed labour 
of tilling their limited acres and in combing, spinning, 
carding, and weaving. In a large measure these old-time 
" manufacturers " spent a life of happiness and ended their 
da}'s in honcrurable ease. Their indoor labours were at their 
own firesides ; they had no factory bell to obey ; if so 
disposed (which was not often the case) they could lie in bed 
an extra hour in the morning or take a stroll during the 
daytime, and while the father and his sons were engaged in 
sorting, combing, or weaving, the matronly dame and her 
daughters under her care and eye were busily engaged in 
spinning and reeling. 

A pleasant picture this, but as time went on and the 
process of manufacture extended to a class who were not 
"master men" but were employed by others, the conditions of 
life were not of a character quite so pleasant as those 
described. Old Hortonians tell of a time when wool was 
brought about once a month from Leeds and other places 
to Horton, Clayton, Allerton, and other villages in Bradford- 
dale to be carded, combed, and spun, the day of the arrival 
being held in festive celebrations, as on those occasions a 
" drop o' short" generally found its way into the villages. In 
summer-time the women took out their spinning wheels to 
the village green and upon the hillsides, v.hich then were 
waste lands abounding with yellow furze and purple heather, 
interspersed with huge boulders. When the women had got 
a pound of wool from a neighbouring farmer it was spun into 
" cops," then reeled into hanks and carried back to " t'maister," 
who gave it out in the hank to the hand-loom weaver, who in 
turn had to spin it on to bobbins before weaving. A girl of 
fourteen or fifteen years would spin about ten hanks a-day, 
which would amount to less than sixpence. Nearly every 



Rambles Round H or ton. 25 

farmer had a comb-pot and employed a comber or two ; if he 
was the possessor of a " pot o' four " and a pair of looms he 
was in a large way of business. The class of goods made 
were called "calimancoes," and were from i6in. to ipin. broad, 
the weaver throwing the shuttle with one hand, catching it 
with the other, and throwing it back again. The warp and 
weft at that time were rougher than the roughest spun yarn 
of the present day. As a consequence, many long hairs 
protruded from the piece when completed, and these were 
removed by the process of singeing, performed by a man who 
went about with a piece of wood about the breadth of the 
warp, in which candles were placed at intervals. 

As the processes of manufacture were of the most 
primitive kind, so were the habits of the people living in 
those times. Generally speaking their dwellings were of a 
mean description, consisting of one storey and one room, for 
which a rental of from 30s. to 40s. a year was paid. There 
were no weekly tenants in those days. The furniture of these 
cottages generally consisted of a pair of looms, a bobbin- 
wheel, a half-headed turn-up bedstead, the bed itself being 
made of chaff; a round table standing on three legs, a few 
turned, unpainted chairs, an old chest, and a cradle. Very 
few indeed were possessed of a clock of any kind, or even 
of a chest of drawers, and as the capacity of the cottage 
precluded the possibility of a second bedstead, it not 
unfrequently happened that the master of the house had two 
of his olive branches at his head and two at his feet while 
endeavouring to seek repose after the labours of the day ! 
Where, it might be asked, were the comforts of the " good 
old times," as compared with those enjoyed at present ? 
In process of time the cotton industry was introduced into 
Horton, and mills were erected specially for its manufacture, 
but the conditions of life of the operatives were little if at all 
the better for the introduction. It was nothing unusual for 
the cotton mills to commence at five o'clock in the morning 
and go on till eight at night, or any length of time that the 
masters chose to work them, as there was no limitation of 
hours. There was no setting off to Morecambe or the seaside 
then on Saturday afternoons, for the piece was to hook and 



2() Rambles Rouna Horton. 

" pike " before it could be paid for ; then probably the wife 
had a jorum of clothes to wash or the baking to do for 
family use. 

Nor were the '' good old times " much to boast of in 
respect to food and living. The former was of the meanest 
description, consisting of oatmeal porridge and milk for 
breakfast ; for dinner, potatoes and a bit of bacon fried 
together, with a piece of oat or " haver " cake dipped in the 
fat for a relish. An ounce of tea, which cost sixpence, served 
for a week, and if that failed, mint and herbs were called 
into requisition. Butter was only present on the table on 
Sundays. Flour and wheat bread were luxuries seen on 
particular occasions only in a working man's cottage. The 
former was seven shillings a stone, and if a large family 
could afford to exchange a gold piece for a stone of flour 
they did well. Almost every household had its " milk-stick," 
upon which notches were cut after each delivery — a most 
ingenious preventive of fraud, as there was no fear of the 
customer adding a notch, and he could not take one off ! 
Tradition has it that at one time there was only one oven in 
Great Horton, and only one spoon for a neighbourhood, but 
tradition in this case is probably in excess of truth. It is 
certain, however, that porridge spoons did duty for both 
knives and forks, and so highly prized were they that within 
recent times a youth has been known to carry his spoon all 
day long stuck in one of the button-holes of his jacket ! As 
to dress, a dyed cotton gown or lincey wolsey bedgown, and 
white calico " brats " for Sundays, sufficed for the women ; 
while the men were proud indeed if they secured a piece of 
cloth for a coat twice in a score years. 

The phraseology and mode of address of Hortonians of 
the past receive some illustration in the response once made 
to an exclamation of one of the " Horton Amateurs " (a noted 
body of Thespians years ago^, who in the course of a stage 
speech was called upon to inquire, " Who am I } " " Whah," 
exclaimed one of the audience, " thar't one o' Robin o' Jack's 
lot for sewer ! " The refinements of modern speech, however, 
are fast exerting an influence in Horton, making sad havoc 
with the mother tongue, but occasionally an unguarded native 



Raiiibles Round H or ton. 27 

may be heard referrini^ to a neighbour as " one o' Bill o' 
Sam's," or some equivalent form of expression. 

Even in regard to Great Horton the ever-spreading 
borough is producing some change. The Horton of fifty 
years ago was a different place from the Horton of to-day. 
Half a century ago it formed a distinct place, divided from 
the town by a long stretch of green fields, the route by the 
highway having many long and lonely stretches, which on a 
dark winter's night were a source of dread to the timid 
pedestrian. The roads then were not so brilliantly lighted as 
now, and during the long, dark evenings the dim candles 
flickering here and there in the little shops were the only aid 
to the villager doubtful as to his whereabouts. Highway 
robberies and burglaries were then not unfrequent occurrences j 
so frequent in fact were they one winter, when flour was dear 
and work scarce, that the inhabitants of Horton were called 
up in batches to patrol the thoroughfares during the night. 

This reminiscence takes us back to the time of the 
Chartist movement, as the patrol sometimes disturbed parties 
armed with pikes, &c., who were preparing for the great rising 
which was to take place if the Charter were still refused. 
During the palmy days of Feargus O'Connor's propaganda, 
Horton was a very hotbed of Chartism, and bristled with 
physical force men. The hand-loom weavers flourished the 
Radical colour almost to a man, and as for the woolcombers 
— and woolcombing was at that day an extensive industry 
in tlie village— they received O'Connor's gospel with special 
enthusiasm. Unlike the more taciturn hand-loom weavers, 
they worked in batches, and the discussion of the affairs of 
the nation, so far from hindering their work, deprived it of its 
monotony. And so through the long days and often far into 
the nicht— for these m.en had to work fourteen and even 
sixteen hours a day to earn a sorry pittance — the combing 
shops rang with wild denunciations of wrongdoers, or of 
fervid admiration of the champion of democracy. 

These combing shops were centres for the dissemination 
of political information. The Northern Star was always 
subscribed for, and if a school lad could be got for a reader 
he was sure of a good audience, as all the neighbours who 



28 Rambles Round Hart on. 

could find room congregated to hear him. The enthusiasm 
of some of these men was something remarkable, and though 
they may have been inferior to the working men of this 
day in some departments of knowledge, upon all questions 
appertaining to politics they were infinitely superior. The 
difficulty was not then to find speakers at the many public 
meetings which were held, but rather to find places for all 
who were anxious to unburden their souls. Old Chartists will 
remember the tremendous enthusiasm evoked in the village 
by the visit of Feargus O'Connor. No royal personage could 
have been received with greater honour than was the then 
leader of democracy in England on that day. All the village 
was astir almost before the morn broke, and when O'Connor 
appeared the horses were taken from his carriage and he was 
drawn through the streets amidst the wildest enthusiasm. 

The movement known as the Plug Riots — a sort of 
mixture of Chartism and trades unionism — was somehow 
regarded with very little sympathy in Horton, and very few 
compromised themselves by joining it. The sight of that 
huge crowd of people as they marched from Halifax to 
Bradford was not such indeed as to induce many to throw in 
their lot with them. It was a spectacle which once seen it is 
impossible to forget. The crowd came pouring through 
Horton, taking the whole breadth of the wide road — a 
gaunt, famished-looking, desperate multitude, armed with 
huge bludgeons, flails, pitchforks, and pikes, many without 
coats and hats, and hundreds with their clothes in rags and 
tatters. Many of the older men looked footsore and weary, 
but the great bulk were men in the prime of life, full of wild 
excitement. As they marched, they thundered out to a 
grand old tune the Union hyrnn : — 

Oh, worthy is the glorious cause, 

Ye patriots of the Union ; 
Our fathers' rights, our fathers' laws, 

Demand a faithful union. 
y\ crouching dastard sure is he 

Who would not strive for liberty, 
And die to make old England free 

From all her load of tyranny ; 
Up, brave men of the Union I 



Rambles Round H or ton. 29 

As the wild mob swept onward, terrified women brought out 
all their eatables, and in the hope apparently of purchasing 
their forbearance handed them to the rough-looking men who 
crowded to the doors and windows. That some of them had 
need of food was evident from the fact that one poor famished 
wretch, after struggling feebly for a share of the provisions, 
fell down on the roadside, and died just about where the 
Liberal Club now stands. 

Before referring to the growth of the worsted industry, 
to which the township of Horton with other portions of 
the worsted district owes its material prosperity, we may 
supplement what has been already stated with regard to 
the cotton manufacture, which at one time bade fair to find 
employment for a goodly number of the inhabitants of 
Horton and adjoining places. This industry had obtained 
a footing during the closing years of last century, providing 
employment principally for weavers of cotton pieces at their 
own homes. The central market was of course Manchester, 
to which place all the finished goods were conveyed by 
waggons, and from whence warps were brought to the 
Horton manufacturers. 

Old people speak of Johnny Ward, of Bank Bottom, and 
Robert King, of Town End, as among the earliest carriers 
engaged in this business ; they being succeeded by Isaac 
Knight (or " Neet," as he was generally called), father of John 
and Benjamin Knight, who afterwards played a conspicuous 
part in this manufacture. Isaac Knight was succeeded in the 
carrying business by John and then by Tommy Knight, who 
was the last of the family who were carriers. Their large 
covered waggons with big wheels went to Manchester and 
other places. John Nichol (properly Nicholson) succeeded 
the Knights, having been brought up by them. Some of the 
larger makers employed their own waggons, keeping them 
constantly upon the road between Horton and Manchester, the 
time occupied in going and returning being three days. Consi- 
dering the bad condition of the roads at that period, which 
were at some portions of the year almost impassable, it may well 
be imagined that the difficulties of transit operated materially 
against the prosperity of this particular branch of industry. 



30 Rambles Round Horton. 

From an old directory we learn that the following calico 
manufacturers from Horton attended Manchester market at 
the beginning of the present century, namely, Richard Bolton, 
Abraham Haley, John Knight & Co., George Norton, James 
Tetley, Edward Peel, and Thomas Wardman. All these 
persons apparently resided in the upper portion of the town- 
ship : Richard Bolton in Low Green, where he kept scores of 
persons weaving for him ; Abm. Haley in Paternoster Fold ; 
Jas. Tetley (another large manufacturer) in Southfield Lane ; 
Edward Peel, also of Southfield Lane, where he owned a large 
number of cottages tenanted by calico weavers ; and Thos. 
Wardman, in Cross Lane. The firm of Knight & Co. we shall 
have to refer to subsequently. The Trafalgar coach passed 
through Great Horton daily on its way to Manchester and 
Liverpool, but it was either not considered trustworthy enough 
for some of the Horton manufacturers, or for some other 
reason not explained, they commenced a conveyance of their 
own, which ran to Manchester, and was known as the " Calico 
coach." 

The above-named, however, were not the only persons 
engaged in the cotton manufacture in Horton, there being in 
addition others resident at Little Horton, some of whom were 
in an extensive way of business, such as Benjamin Kaye, of 
Horton Green, who, after his removal to Allerton Hall, was 
succeeded by his nephew, Abraham Balme ; and in the same 
locality were James Swaine, John Riley, and others. 

The Knights, to whom reference has been made, were of 
especial prominence in the commercial world of Horton. 
John Knight was for years regarded as one of the " kings of 
Horton," his will being generally considered law. About the 
year 1806 John Knight, in company with his brother 
Benjamin, erected a cotton factory, the site of which is 
occupied by the present worsted spinning mill of Messrs. J. J. 
Broadbent & Co. It was only a small erection, however, as 
compared with that which at present exists upon the site, but 
it served to find employment for a considerable number of 
"hands," who toiled during the long hours previously stated 
at very low wages. John Knight erected a good house 
adjoining the mill, his brother Benjamin purchasing in the 



Rajublcs Round Hortoit. 31 

year 1S21 the old mansion now standing opposite Broadbent's 
mill, from Gorton's trustees, for the sum of ^^2500, the 
purchase including West Croft adjoining. Of this amount, 
however, he would appear to liavc mortaged the property for 
iJ"2000. 

Up to this period the firm of John Knight & Co. were in 
a prosperous condition in public estimation, and so continued 
until the year 1826, when, consequent upon the failure of 
Messrs. Wentworth, Chaloner & Co., the Wakefield banking 
firm, and the commercial disasters which shook' the credit of 
scores of firms in this neighbourhood, Messrs. John and 
Benjamin Knight succumbed, and with their downfall the 
calico trade of Horton sustained a serious blow. Their 
estate was taken possession of by the Commissioners in 
Bankruptcy, and in great measure passed into the hands of 
Messrs. Harris & Co., bankers, of Bradford, the principal 
creditors, who rebuilt the mill and adapted it for a worsted 
factory. 

The cotton trade, however, was destined to sustain an 
even greater shock than this, by the failure of the firm of 
Messrs. Butterworth & Brooke, of Manchester, about the 
year 1845. The consternation which followed upon this 
event, when the news reached Horton by coach, was very great, 
as many cotton piece makers in the township were pecuniarily 
involved in the affairs of the firm, the extent of whose collapse 
may be judged from the fact that a dividend of only 8^d. in 
the pound was subsequently realised. Even at this low rate 
a combined dividend amounting to ;^6ooo was paid over 
to Horton manufacturers as their share of the wreck. The 
effect, however, was disastrous, scores of little masters who 
were doing business with the bankrupt firm being more or less 
crippled in their resources, some of whom were only able to 
tide over their difliculties by the help received from Mr. 
Bridges, of Horton Old Hall. The cotton trade, however, 
finally collapsed in Horton in the presence of its more 
vigorous rival, the worsted industry, to which reference may 
now be made. 

With regard to this feature of the subject our remarks 
may be prefaced by the following list of worsted manufacturers 



32 



Rambles Round Hortoii. 



of Great and Little Horton who attended the Bradford Piece 
Hall in the year 1821, viz. : — 



Bakes, William 
Bakes, William 
Barstow, Abraham 
Bentley, Joseph 
Bentley, Joseph 
Bentley, Nathan 
Binns, John 
Birtwistle, William 



Hardaker, John 
H indie, Joseph 
Holder, John, sen. 
Holder, John, jun. 



Parker, Andrew 
Peel, Thomas 
Robertshaw, Jeremiah 
Shackleton, Robert 



Holdsworth, Jeremiah Sharp, Daniel 



Holdsworth, John 
Holdsworth, John 
Holdsworth, Jonas 



Blakeborough, Richard Hudson, John 



Blaymires, Joseph 
Booth, Joseph 
Clough, Isaac 
Denton, Samuel 
Emsley, John 
Emsley, Thomas 
Fox, Samuel 



Smith, W. and E. 
Swain, Joseph 
Tordoff, Squire 
Whitaker, John 
Whitaker, Timothy 
Wilkinson, David 
Wood, Joseph 
Wooller, Samuel 
Wright, Jonas 
Wright, George 
Wright, William 



Jennings, John 
Keighley, Abraham 
Keighley, James 
Mitchell, Thomas 
Murgatroyd, William 
Parker, Abraham 
Parker, John 
Greenhough, Benjamin Parker, Samuel 

Several of the above persons had been previously engaged in 
the cotton trade, but had turned their energies in the direction 
of worsted. The list is not complete, however, as it omits 
mention of other and larger manufacturers whose places of 
business were in Horton, such as the firm of Messrs. John 
Rand & Sons. Rand's mill was one of the earliest worsted 
manufacturing works in the township, but the interest 
attaching to it and the families connected with it call for a 
more extended notice than can be given in the present article. 
In order of seniority the mill at Bank Top, now the 
property of Mr. T. Priestley ; and Mitchell's Mill, Manchester 
Road, come next, both having been erected in the year 18 17. 
l^ank Top, or Mirypond Mill, as it was formerly named, was 
erected by Mr. Ellis Cunliffe Lister, whose family owned con- 
siderable property in Horton at that period. The first occupant 
was Mr. Thomas Ackroyd, son of old Francis Ackroyd, who 
brought up a numerous and influential family of sons, most 
of whom were manufacturers, namely : — Joseph, Thomas, 
William, Francis, Cowling, and Robert Stables. Thomas 
Ackroyd left Bank Top Mill nearly half a century ago, and 
removed to Birkenshaw, where he established the business 
afterwards carried on by his sons, as spinners and manu- 



Rambles Round Horton. 3J5 

facturcrs, colliery proprietors, and timber merchants. William 
went to Otley, where he founded the extensive business firm 
of Messrs. Wm. Ackroyd & Co. ; Cowling succeeded John 
Knight & Co., at Great Horton ; and Robert -Stables Ackroyd 
built Fieldhead Mills, afterwards occupied by Messrs. A. 
Tremel & Co., a^d since owned and occupied by Messrs, John 
Smith & Sons, the firm now represented by the Mayor of 
Bradford, Alderman Isaac Smith. 

The original portion of the extensive pile now owned 
and occupied by Messrs. Mitchell Bros, was erected by Mr. 
Richard Smith, and was formerly well known as " Dick 
Smith Mill." It was occupied by the owner as a worsted- 
spinning mill until it was taken for the same business by 
Messrs. Turner & Mitchell. The parties to this firm were 
George Turner and Thomas Mitchell, father of Messrs. 
Abraham and Joseph Mitchell, who have subsequently so 
largely extended the premises. Messrs. George, John, and 
Robert Turner afterwards went into business at Holme Top 
Mill and Beckside Mill, John and George subsequently 
settling at the latter place. John Turner died in i860, leaving 
George in business, and he was joined by Mr. S. Ackroyd, in 
the firm of George Turner & Co. 

What is still known as " Marshall's Mill," in Manchester 
Road, was erected in the year 1818, having been built by Mr. 
James Marshall for his two sons, Joseph and John. Mr. 
Marshall was an ironmonger opposite the Old Manor Hall in 
Kirkgate, and was a man of some enterprise, he having, in 
company with Mr. Henry Leah, some time previously 
purchased the Bierlcy Ironworks. Marshall's Mill was 
unfortunately burnt down in 1822, and the worsted business 
carried on in it collapsed some time after its re-erection 
from the effects of the commercial disaster which told upon 
the owners and occupiers. Messrs. Joshua Wood & Co. were 
subsequently tenants of the premises, and Messrs. B. Berry and 
Co. Some years ago the property was sold to Messrs. Geo. 
Brown and John Sowden. 

In the year 18 19 Mr. E. C. Lister erected for Messrs. 
Francis & John Mitchell Old Bowling Lane Mill, in Horton 
township. 
C 



34 Rambles Round Horfon. 

Two worsted mills were built in Horton township during 
the year 1820, namely, Cliffe Mill, Great Horton, and a mill 
in Nelson Street. The latter was erected by Mr. James 
Duckitt, and was first occupied by Messrs, Aked & Co. and 
Messrs. Chapman & Co. It has latterly been owned and 
used for woolcombing by Messrs. M. Todd & Sons. The 
premises have, however, been recently acquired by the 
Corporation for the purposes of street improvement. Cliffe 
Mill, on the other hand, has been wonderfully extended, and 
is at present one of the chief sources of employment for the 
factory workers of Great Horton. Cliffe Mill was built by 
Joseph Beanland, corn miller and colliery proprietor, of 
Shuttleworth Hall, and was run by his sons-in-law, Samuel 
Helliwell, Joseph Wilkinson, and Edward Knight. It was 
afterwards occupied conjointly by Mr. Cowling Ackroyd and 
his brother, Robert S. Ackroyd, also by John Bartle and 
Samuel Field ; and Messrs. Henry and George Mason 
commenced business there, being succeeded by Messrs. John 
Priestman & Sons. The premises are now owned and 
occupied by Messrs. Wm. Ramsden & Co., of whose extensive 
works the old Cliffe Mill forms a very inconsiderable portion. 
Joseph Beanland also built the original portion of Beckside 
Mill for the purposes of corn-milling, the premises, however, 
being subsequently purchased by Samuel Dracup, and adapted 
for a worsted factory. The premises were occupied until 
recently by the firm of Messrs. George Turner & Co., and 
now by Messrs. Benn & Sons, spinners and manufacturers. 
Samuel Dracup's trustees are still the owners of the property. 
Mr. Dracup also built a mill in Cliffe Lane, the first tenant of 
which was Mr. John Bartle. Messrs. W. Bunting & Co. were 
subsequently tenants, and on the retirement of Mr. Bunting 
his partner, the late Mr. Henry Snowdcn, took the business. 

Cross Lane Mill comes before the two last-named in order 
of erection, the original structure having been commenced 
in 1 821 by Mr. EH Suddards. Mr. Suddards came from 
Todmordcn as a corn dealer, and carried on that business in 
an old house at Low Green. He, however, did not complete 
the erection of the mill in Cross Lane, which was completed 
by Mr. James Couscn, who commenced running it as a 



Rambles Roitiid Horfon. 35 

spinning mill under the name of James Cousen & Son. Mr. 
VVm. Cousen, the son, afterwards succeeded to the business. 
The adjoining shed was erected by Mr, Moses Topham and 
run by him in 1867. The entire premises are now owned 
by Messrs. John Rand & Sons, and occupied by the firm. 

In 1826 Cannan Mill was built by Mr. Samuel Cannan, 
who farmed Tommy Barraclough's land at Primrose Hill, and 
sent out " travelling Scotchmen." The old mill, known as 
Sammy Cannan Mill, was occupied by several tenants, among 
others by Mr. George Oxley, afterwards Willett & Oxley, 
merchants ; Mr. Wm. Foster, of Oueensbury ; Mr. John 
Buckle ; Mr. John Smith, afterwards of Fieldhead Mills ; 
Mr. Thos. Myers, and others. An alarming accident happened 
in connection with Cannan Mill on the 6th of January, 1839, 
when the chimney suddenly fell, cutting the mill into halves. 
The new mill was built by Mr. Charles Tetley, and called 
by the owner Cann(?n Mill. It had been completed some 
time when Mr. John Ashley, spinner, &c., became the 
first tenant in the year 1854. He had been bookkeeper 
and cashier with the firm of Messrs. John Smith & Sons. 
Some time after Messrs. Whitaker & Booker, spinners and 
manufacturers, became tenants also. In the year 1874 
Mr. Ashley from various causes was obliged to suspend 
payment, an arrangement being made to pa}' the creditors 
17s. 6d. in the pound, with guarantee. Twelve months after, 
each creditor received a sum equal to 20s. in the £ with 
interest, thus furnishing another instance of commercial 
integrity which it is a pleasure to record. In admiration of 
his upright conduct a handsome service of plate was shortly 
afterwards presented to Mr. Ashley by Mr. Richard Fawcett, 
on behalf of a few friends, and on the same occasion a gold 
snuff box was presented to Mr. Samuel Ackroyd, of Great 
Horton, in recognition of his judicious management of Mr. 
Ashley's affairs during his temporary embarrassment. Mr. 
Ashley now lives in retirement in Summerseat Place. 

Mr. Chas. Tetley, the builder of the new portion of 
Cannon Mill, was of the firm of Rennie, Tetley & Co., and 
was sometimes called by his friends Pump Tetley, from the 
fact that he was the inventor of the centrifugal pump. Mr. 



36 Rambles Round Horfon, 

Tetley was a ver}' clever man, but short of some of the 
qualities which go to make a successful man of business. He 
was for many years manager of the Laxey Mine in the Isle of 
Man, where he died a few years ago. The premises are now 
owned by Mr. George Rennie Tetley, of Bingley, son of the 
late Mr. G. G. Tetley. 

In the year 1827 the mill at Great Horton erected by 
John Knight for a cotton mill was converted into a worsted 
mill by Messrs. Harris & Co. for Mr. Cowling Ackroyd, who 
commenced life in partnership with his brother Robert 
Stables Ackroyd at " Cowling Mill," as it was termed. 
When Mr. R. S. Ackroyd went to Fieldhead, his brother 
Cowling remained at Horton, and for a long period was 
intimately identified with its interests. He retired from 
business, however, and the mill stood empty for a time. 
Messrs. Harris pulled down the old mill and built the 
present one, \\hen Messrs. J. J. Broadbent & Co., who had 
been at Atlas Mills, Bradford, came to it in 1861, and 
purchased the property, since which period the works have 
been much extended. 

Brief reference can only be made to subsequent erections, 
among which may be named Northsidc Mill, Legrams, built 
by Mr. Nathan Bentley, and occupied by him and his sons, 
Edwin, William, Bakes, Nathan, and Henr}', afterwards 
purchased by Mr. Simeon Townend, and now owned by Mr. 
Alfred Illingworth, M.P. Bentley's Mill suffered from a 
disastrous fire on November 25, 1852, when it was almost 
burned to the ground. 

Stowell's Mill at Holme Top was erected in the year 
1835 by Messrs. John and Squire Stowell. It was occupied at 
one time by Messrs. George, John and Robert Turner, and 
afterwards purchased and extended by Messrs. Michael and 
Samuel Smith, who occupied a portion of the premises. 

Britannia Mills, Manchester Road, erected by Messrs. 
Christopher and Edward Waud in 1836, were at the time of 
their erection the largest spinning mills in the Bradford district, 
and so persuaded were some persons that the worsted trade 
did not justify so large an outlay that the erection of these 
mills was looked upon as an extravagant piece of folly! 



Rambles Round lloi'ton. 37 

Albion Mill, Manchester Road, was erected by the late 
Mr. Thomas Dewhirst, previously with Messrs. Pearson and 
Whitehead, of Laisterdyke, upon the ground first purchased 
after the opening up of the Skinhousc estate in 1850. 

Shearbridge Mills, erected by Mr. Thomas Firth in 
1850, are now the property of the late Mr. Wm. Dewhirst'.s 
executors. This property also suffered seriously from fire, 
the premises having been burned to the ground on July 10, 
1866. They were, however, rebuilt quickly, five feet wider 
than originally planned. 

Among those who deserve especial mention in connection 
with the manufacturing interests of Horton and the neighbour- 
hood are the Dracup family. Sammy Dracup, whose family 
was originally from Idle, was a most ingenious and persevering 
man. His family acquired a considerable reputation as 
shuttlemakers and makers of harness, also in rendering the 
jacquard engine applicable to the worsted business, Mr. 
Uracup commenced making these engines in 1838. When 
first introduced into Horton they could only be worked by 
hand. It is stated that Mr. Thomas Ackroyd, of Horton 
Bank Top, set the first jacquard engine to work by power 
in the neighbourhood of Bradford. In connection with this 
subject it is worthy of note that Mr. S. Dracup also made 
the first card-cutting machine in the year 1833, and in the 
succeeding year he produced his repeater, a kind of stereotype 
for designs. The family acquired considerable property in 
Horton, which they still hold. 



38 Rambles Round H or ton. 



CHAPTER IV. 

Pioneers of the Worsted Industry — Tiie Rands^The Ramsbothams — The Swaiiies. 

Referring in a previous article to the commercial 
interests of Horton we reserved v/hat it might be desirable 
to place on record with regard to several important families 
which were largely identified with the township of Horton 
and the interests of the worsted trade generally. Among the 
number the Rands, the Ramsbothams, and the Swaines call 
for especial notice, as being pioneers in that important 
industry. Although many beside them had long been 
engaged in the making of worsted stuffs, it was reserved to 
members of the above families to concentrate the industry 
within the walls of a worsted factory. 

The first erection of this character is attributed to Mr. 
Henry Ramsbotham, with whom were associated Mn Swaine 
and Mr. Nathaniel Murgatroyd. The mill was situate in the 
Holme, and v/as adjacent to the beck-course dividing the 
townships of Horton and Bradford. This was in the year 
1798. A second mill was erected in 1801 by Mr. Benj. Peile 
for his nephews, Benjamin and Matthew Thompson, and in 
1803 one was built in Horton Lane by Mr. John Rand. It 
would appear, hov/ever, that the force of circumstances 
impelled some of the persons named to a course of action 
which they had resolutely opposed in others. In James's 
History of Bradford there is given a curious document, 
showing that an enterprising gentleman named Buckley, 
residing in Bradford, formed in 1793 the design of erecting 
a factory to be worked by a steam engine, a site for which 
had been purchased in a field near the bottom of Manchester 
Road, known as the Brick Kiln Field. So opposed were the 
residents of the locality to the erection of a smoking factory 
chimney, however, that a number of inhabitants signed a 
document threatening Mr. Buckley with an action at law 
if he persevered in his design, and that gentleman, seeing 
the array of influential names agaftist him, quietly gave up 



RaiJibles Round Hart on. 39 

the project, and withdrew to the Todmordcn valley. The 
signatures attached to this threatening missive were as 
follows : — Toms. Atkinson, Nathl. Aked, John Smith, Isaac 
Willson, Thos. Holdgate, Jonas Bower, John Rand, Wm. 
Whitaker, Jno. Hardy, Henry W. Oates, Mary Laidman, 
Betty Swaine, Frs. Town, J. Lupton, and John Aked. 

It is somewhat significant that several of the signatories 
took a leading part in later years in promoting the erection 
of objectionable mill chimneys, among them being Mr. John 
Rand. Betty Swaine was Mr. Rand's mother-in-law, and 
Mary Laidman was Mrs. Swaine's sister. The Rev. Dr. 
Laidman, husband of Mary Laidman, was vicar of Calverley, 
and it is worth notice in passing that that position was in 
later times held successively by the Rev. Saml. Redhead, who 
married Mary, eldest daughter of John Rand (grandniece of 
Mrs. Laidman), and the Rev. Alfred Brov/n, who married 
Jane, third daughter of Samuel and Mary Redhead. Thomas 
Atkinson was a woolstapler in Tyrrel Street, and was the 
employer of John Rand. John and Nathaniel Aked were 
members of a family which resided in a low old-fashioned 
house where the New Inn now stands — a family long identified 
with the wool trade. John Hardy, the grandfather of the 
present Lord Cranbrook, lived in the good house opposite 
Mr. Rand's ; Wm. Whitaker was the principal partner in the 
Old Brewery near at hand ; and Henry W. Oates was also a 
member of the firm. Isaac Willson, the clerk of the Court of 
Requests, resided at the house at the corner of " Bowling 
Lane," afterwards occupied by Mrs. Bacon. Jonas Bower 
belonged to the respectable family of that name in Chapel 
Lane ; and Thos. Holdgate was the minister at Horton Lane 
Chapel. 

It will be seen therefore that the " protest " was 
extensively signed by the gentry of the Town IukI, as 
that portion of Bradford was called, and remembering the 
salubrious character of the locality at that time, it is scarcely 
to be wondered at that they should have taken alarm at 
the threatened pollution by smoke of the neighbourhood. 
However, as history proves, some of the protestors soon 
changed their views, and not only entered heartily into the 



40 Rambles Round Horton. 

initiatory stages of development through which the worsted 
industry necessarily passed, but left representatives who in 
an eminent degree deserve the gratitude of the present 
generation for the enterprising spirit in which they promoted 
that industry in subsequent but not less critical stages. 

In this category rank the Rand family. The Rands 
sprang from Norwich, the father of John Rand, the elder, 
being named Hewett Rand, who was a merchant of that city. 
Through his mother's line John Rand was descended from 
the Columbines, a Huguenot family, who, after the revocation 
of the Edict of Nantes, settled in Norwich. That city was 
towards the close of last century and during the earlier 
portion of the present one, celebrated for the manufacture of 
a class of worsted goods akin to those produced in Bradford, 
and probably arising out of this circumstance Hewett Rand 
apprenticed his son John with Mr. Thomas Atkinson, of 
Tyrrel Street (one of the signatories of the famous Buckley 
" protest "), and with whom John learned his business so far 
as a knowledge of the wool trade was concerned. 

In March, 1785, John Rand married Mary, the only child 
of Samuel and Betty Swaine, Mr. Swaine afterwards entering 
into partnership with Mr. John Rand in the worsted trade. 
Samuel Swaine formerly lived in a homestead in Legrams, 
nearly opposite to Horton Grange, but afterwards built and 
resided in the house in Horton Lane adjacent to which 
Rand's Mill was built, and he owned the land required for 
that erection. On Mr. Rand's marriage with their daughter, 
Mr. and Mrs. Swaine gave up this house to Mr. Rand, who 
resided there until his death in 1835, at the age of seventy-six 
years. 

The picture of this veteran stuffmaker, with his powdered 
queue, knee breeches, black silk stockings, and buckled shoes, 
is yet in the remembrance of " old inhabitants," and it may 
be recorded that he was the last man in Bradford who held to 
the above costume. His wife died in 1837, aged seventy- 
seven years. Their family comprised three sons, viz., Samuel, 
who died in 1808, aged twenty-two years ; John, and William; 
also four daughters : — Mary, who married the Rev. Samuel 
Redhead, vicar of Calverley ; Sarah, who married the Rev. 



Rambles Round Horton. 41 

Henry Ives liailey, incumbent of Drighlington ; Elizabeth, 
who died young, unmarried ; and Annie, who married George 
Dodsworth, Esq., of Wheldrake, near York. 

To the memory of John and WilHam Rand, the 
surviving sons of John Rand the elder, ample justice can 
scarcely be done in sketches of the character we propose. 
Of both of the first-named gentlemen it may be said that 
they assisted in the development of the worsted industry 
from its most primitive stage until it reached a position of 
assured stability — they were, in fact, connecting links between 
the generation which inhabited Bradford w^hen it was a mere 
village and that which has made it one of the most influential 
towns in the kingdom. There are but few in Bradford who 
remember the " Bishop Blaize " celebrations of sixty years 
ago, but those who do can tell with what a lusty voice John 
Rand pronounced the famous " speech " beginning " Hail to 
the day," &c., which, doggerel though it be, was deemed by 
our ancestors the laureate-poem of Yorkshire. But Mr. John 
Rand was more than a tradesman, and his name will long be 
associated with the various religious, social, and philanthropic 
movements of his time. Mr. Rand married a sister of the 
late Dr. Macturk, but left no issue. His death occurred in 
June, 1873, in the eightieth year of his age. A tablet has 
been erected in Bradford Parish Church by his widow, who 
died during the year 1884. 

William Rand was born in 1796, and, in conjunction 
with his brother, devoted much time to the development of 
the worsted business. In public matters his name stands 
connected with the Waterworks Company, of which he was 
chairman until it was bought up by the Corporation. Over 
the latter body he was elected to preside as Mayor in the 
year 1 850-1, having been an alderman of the borough since 
its incorporation in 1847. ^^^ many years Mr. Rand lived at 
the family house in Horton Lane, but subsequently removed 
to Baildon, w^iere he died in December, 1868, aged seventy- 
two years. He was never married. 

It may be stated that the original mill erected by John 
Rand was adapted for the spinning of cotton as well as of 
worsted, and is still standing parallel with Horton Lane. 



42 Rambles Round Horton. 

That portion of the premises adjoining the burial ground of 
Horton Lane Chapel was erected many years afterwards 
upon the site of the mill-dam, and subsequently the premises 
have been much extended in the direction of Great Horton 
Road. 

The history of Swaine and Ramsbotham's Mill in the 
Holme is interesting on account of its being the first erection 
of the kind in Bradford. Although it is just outside the 
Horton boundary, it may be noticed in these papers by reason 
of its associations, and its initiation by men who were intimately 
connected with Horton. From the fields in which it was 
situate being from " time immemorial " called the Holmes, it 
may be inferred that they formed a dry spot in a swampy 
place, or possibly at one period an island may have been 
formed by the divergence of the streams from Horton and 
Thornton. It was in these meadows that the famous Bishop 
Blaize demonstrations were marshalled before proceeding 
round the town. The road to the Holme, and subsequently 
to Holme Mill, was by way of Brewery Lane, and across the 
beck at the bottom. There was also a nice plantation of 
wood at that time upon the slopes of the hill upon which 
Westbrook House (now the Alexandra Hotel) stands. 

After the erection of Holme Mill by Mr. Henry Rams- 
botham, he was joined in partnership by one of the Swaines. 
Mr. Nathaniel Murgatroyd, a cotton manufacturer and father 
of the late Mr. Wm. Murgatroyd, having some interest in it. 
The leading spirit, however, was Mr. Ramsbotham, who, it 
is said, had prior to 1798 turned a quantity of spinning 
machinery in his premises near the site of the Bradford 
Banking Company's bank by means of a horse-gin, a course 
adopted by several other manufacturers. It would appear, 
too, that Mr. Ramsbotham was an authority in trade matters 
generally, as we are told that he and the late Edward Pease, 
of Darlington, met every three months at the Golden Lion in 
Leeds, or at the Star and Garter at Kirkstall, to arrange 
the list of prices to be charged for worsted yarns during 
the ensuing quarter ! How delighted would any two or 
three spinners of the present day be to possess such a 
privilege 1 



Rambles Round Hoy ton. 43 

After the Holme Mill had been erected about four years 
a serious fire occurred, and almost destroyed the edifice. On 
that occasion the corps of the Bradford Volunteers, captained 
by My. Samuel Hailstone, had an opportunity of distinguishing 
themselves by putting out the flames. With this view we are 
told they "saged" or severed the leaden pipe which supplied 
the town's reservoir in Westgate, and thus obtained the 
necessary fluid. That was in March, 1804. It is not at all 
unlikely that the fire was the work of some malicious person 
or combination of persons, inasmuch as it is upon record that 
Mr. Ramsbotham had to encounter considerable opposition 
during the erection of the mill. While the stones were being 
conveyed for its erection a large number of inhabitants of the 
town assembled to prevent their being deposited on the site, 
and Mr. Ramsbotham had to strip and show fight before 
the horse and cart was allowed to proceed ! The engine 
supplying the propelling force was of 15-horse power. After 
the disastrous fire the premises were rebuilt and enlarged by 
the original partners, but were shortly afterwards purchased 
by Mr. Richard Fawcett, who at the time was also erecting 
a mill in Union Street, and in both places he carried on a 
successful business for some years. Holme Mill again 
suffered from conflagration in 1868, and since that period 
the premises have been occupied as machine works by 
Messrs. Sowden & Stephenson. 

The Ramsbothams originally came from I.ancashire. A 
member of this family settled in Halifax some time about 
the year 1730, as an oil merchant, and his son Robert 
Ramsbotham very early in life came to Bradford, and married 
EHza, a daughter of William Swaine, of Legrams, brother 
to Samuel Swaine, the father of Mrs. John Rand, who 
also lived in Legrams. Robert Ramsbotham died in 1796, 
leaving three children, viz., Henry (of whom mention has 
been made in connection with Holme Mill) ; William, who 
died without i.ssue ; and Elizabeth, who married Dr. Mossman, 
of Bradford, and had children : George Robert, solicitor, 
father of Mr. G. R. Mossman, of Crow Trees, and clerk to 
the West Riding and borough justices ; and Margaret, who 
married Wm. Taylor, Esq., of Hunsworth. it will be seen. 



44 Rambles Round H or ton. 

therefore, that the connection between the Rands and the 
Ramsbothams came through the Swaines. 

Henry Ramsbotham married Ann Elizabeth, daughter 
of Thomas Shepley, Esq., of Tadcaster. He died in 1810, 
and his widow afterwards married Dr. Mossman. Henry 
Ramsbotham had two sons, Henry Robert and John Hodgson. 
Robert, after being in partnership with the Rands for many 
years, founded the firm of Messrs. H. R. Ramsbotham & Co., 
and lived at Allerton Hall, afterwards removing to Finchley, 
where he died, unmarried, in 1880. John, the second son, 
was apprenticed with Mr. Blakey, surgeon, of Bradford, and 
practiced as a medical man for a time in London and 
afterwards in his native town. Being compelled by ill-health 
to retire from the active pursuit of his profession, he accepted 
in 1838 the stewardship of the Thornhill estates at Fixby and 
Calverley. In 1845, having had his attention drawn to the 
method of treatment put forth by Hahnemann, then a novelty 
in this country, he gradually resumed practice, and by his 
enthusiasm as one of the pioneers of homoeopathy in the 
north of England, made many converts to the new doctrine 
among his professional friends. He was well known as a 
successful practitioner, first in Huddersfield and then in 
Leeds, where he died in 1868. He married Mary, eldest 
daughter of the Rev. Samuel Redhead. Of his sons, two 
have become connected with the Bradford trade, viz., Robert 
Redhead, who was in partnership with Mr. Wm. Firth as a 
worsted spinner, and died in i'&'j'^, and John Rand, who is 
associated with his cousin Frederick Mossman in carrying 
on the business of H. R. Ramsbotham & Co. His eldest son, 
Samuel Henry, succeeded him in practice at Leeds, and 
his youngest son, Francis Shepley, is an assistant master 
at Charterhouse School, Godalming. His daughter, Mary 
lilizabeth, married the Rev. Edward Kemble, formerly vicar 
of Yeadon, now vicar of Coniston Cold, in Craven. 

The Swaines are a very ancient family. By the will of 
Miles Swayne, of Horton, dated 1515, he gave his body to be 
buried in the church of St. Peter and St. Paul at Bradford, 
and left 3s. 4d. for church work. He also mentioned Alice, 
his wife, and made James and Christopher Swaine, his 



Rambles Round Hortou. 45 

sons, his executors. In 1596 a Robert Swayne married 
Elizabeth Sharp, of Horton, and numerous entries might 
be given from documents before us showing a continuous 
succession of Horton and Bradford Swaines to the close of 
last century. That members of the family were considerable 
landowners may be gathered from a perusal of the land tax 
for Horton in 1704, of which Chris. Swaine and Thos. Swaine 
were assessors, and in which occur the following names : — 
Abm. Swaine, of Hew Clews ; Robert Swaine, Hunt Yard ; 
Thos. Swaine, Chris. Swaine, and " Mr." Wm. Swaine. 

The Swaine family had numerous branches, the various 
lines of which it would be undesirable to trace except for 
strictly antiquarian reasons. Following the more important 
branches so far as their connection with Horton is concerned, 
we append notes culled from family documents and the silent 
testimony of the burial ground of Chapel Lane Chapel, where 
many members of the family lie interred. 

As we have seen, the Swaines were located in Horton 
early in the sixteenth century, and probably before. The 
family, however, have a clear descent from 1596, when Robert 
Swayne married Elizabeth Sharp, one of the members of the 
Horton family of that name. Their son, Thomas, married in 
1633 Grace Pearson, and the eldest son of this marriage, 
Samuel, married Susannah Feild, also of Horton. In 1701 
Robert Swaine, a son of the above, married Sarah l^alme, of 
Bowling. From this marriage sprang the several branches of 
the family, who in various ways were largely identified with 
the interests of the neighbourhood. Robert Swaine lived at 
Newall Hall, and had three sons and two daughters, several 
of whom were baptised in the Presbyterian Chapel, W'ibsey 
Bankfoot, called Hill Top Chapel, where their grandf^Uher, 
Samuel, was interred. This reference gives rise to the 
interesting question where this place of religious worship, the 
predecessor of the old Presbyterian Chapel in Chapel Lane, 
was situate. This moot point, however, will receive attention 
in a subsequent paper. 

Robert Swaine subsequently resided in the house at the 
entrance to Legrams Lane, afterwards occupied by Mr. Henry 
Gates, and Mr. Robt S. Ackroyd. He was in partnership 



46 Rambles Round Horton. 

with his sons, Samuel and WiHiam, as worsted stuff makers 
in Legrams. Robert Swaine died in September, 1775, at the 
age of eighty-four years, and he and his wife Sarah, who 
also reached her eighty-fourth year, are interred in the 
Presbyterian burial ground, Chapel Lane. Besides Samuel 
and William he had an elder son, Joseph Swaine, born at 
Newall Hall in 1703, and married to Bathshua Hesketh, 
daughter of the Rev. Robert Hesketh, of Tinglcy, who traced 
her descent from the Lords Eure, of Witton Castle, Durham, 
and Stokesley Manor, Cleveland. Joseph Swaine for some 
time resided at Lower Burnet Field, one of the residences 
purchased by him, and he had also lands at Esholt and 
Hawks worth. 

Joseph Swaine appears to have been a man of some 
business energy, and to have acquired considerable property. 
In a cancelled will, dated 1770, he is described as of Horton, 
woolcombcr, and after devising to Bathshua, his wife, and 
Edward Hesketh, his brother-in-law, certain property, he 
bequeathed his Hawksworth estate to his second son John, 
of Burnet Field, stuff maker. In 1780 Joseph Swaine was 
resident in the mansion at Great Horton now occupied by 
Mr. John Denton, and was a merchant. He afterwards 
farmed lands in Manningham, but again removed to a house 
in Little Horton Lane, where he lived with his unmarried 
daughter and son, John, then a widower. He died in 1787, 
in the eighty-fifth year of his age, and with his wife, lies 
in the burial ground in Chapel Lane. 

Joseph Swaine's eldest son Robert married the daughter 
of Mr. Nathaniel Priestley of Northowram, and lived for 
some time at Cross Hill, Halifax, afterwards joining in 
business with his brother John, and his nephews, Joseph 
and Edward, at Gomersal Mills. He died in 18 12, without 
issue. John, the second son of Joseph Swaine, was twice 
married, first to Mary, daughter of Mr. Robert Fieldsend, 
of Waddington, and secondly, to Ann, daughter of Mr. 
John Greenwood, of Bridge House, Haworth. By his first 
marriage he had a son, Joseph Swaine, born in the house in 
Horton Lane, in 1781. He afterwards resided at Copley 
Gate near Halifax, and then removed to Brier Hall, 



Rambles Rotiiid Horton. 47 

Gomersal, where he, in partnership with his half-brother 
Edward Swaine, who died at York, in January, 1885, in the 
ninety-fifth year of his age, took a sixty years' lease of what 
was then called the Gomersal Cloth Hall, from Sir Henry 
Ibbetson. Joseph Swaine died at Brier Hall, in the year 
1870, at the advanced age of eighty-nine years. His daughter. 
Miss Caroline Frances Swaine, born in 1806, now lives at 
Field Head, Gomersal. Her brother William Edward, of 
Leeds, born in 1809, died while staying at Ilklcy in 1880^ 
leaving as the head of the Swaine family in England Mr. 
Henry Paget Swaine, of Brabccuf Manor, Guildford, Surrey. 
The family bear arms — A maiden figure couped, proper, 
crined or, between wings of gold. 

Edward Swaine, the third son of Joseph Swaine, sen., 
was the progenitor of the German branch of the family. He 
lived in London for a time, but for many years resided in 
Leipsic and Weimar, Germany, where he died in 1837, o^'^*" 
eighty years of age. Of this stock several branches exist — 
viz., that represented by Col. Leopold Victor Swaine, military 
attache at Berlin and Lord Wolseley's military secretary in 
the Egyptian campaign ; and Capt. Ernest Edward Swaine, 
son of Dr. W. E. Swaine, formerly physician extraordinary to 
H.R.H. the Duchess of Kent. Another branch is represented 
by Freiherr Richard von Swaine, who married the Princess 
Lowenstein Wertheim. 

We have still to notice the brothers of Joseph Swaine, 
sen., who died in 1787. They were, as stated, William and 
Samuel Swaine, the former having a daughter Elizabeth 
married to Mr. Robert Ramsbotham ; the latter, Samuel, 
being the father of Mary Swaine, married to Mr. John 
Rand, sen. Samuel died in 1787, aged seventy-four years; 
and his wife Betty (who signed the " Buckley protest ") in 
1793. William died in 1789, aged eighty-two years. He 
had also a son, Samuel, who married his cousin, a daughter 
of Jo.seph Swaine, sen., who died in 1841, having reached the 
ninety-i^rst year of her age. All the above were engaged in 
the Bradford worsted trade, and one of them was associated 
with Mr. Ramsbotham in the erection of the Holme Mill. 
Samuel, the father-in-law of John Rand, erected the good 



48 Rambles Round Horton. 

house near Rand's Mill, which his daughter and Mr. Rand 
occupied until their deaths. 

The record of the Swaine family is remarkable for the 
long ages attained by many of its members. Of the nine 
persons above referred to, eight lived to over four-score years, 
three of the number being over ninety years of age. The 
Svvaines were undoubtedly the oldest Presbyterian family in 
Bradford, several of its members having been upon the trust 
since the foundation of the chapel in 1717, when Abraham 
Swaine's name appears. Joseph Swaine, of Brier Hall, his 
half-brother, Mr. Edward Swaine, of York, Mr. W. E. Swaine, 
of Leeds, and his brother John, were all trustees, but now Mr. 
Henry Paget Swaine, of Guildford, is the only representative. 
When the foundation-stone of the new chapel was laid in 
1868, the ceremony was performed by Mr. Edward Swaine. 

Other members of this family were resident in Great 
Horton, to whom subsequent reference may be made, and 
there was also an influential branch more immediately 
connected with Bradford. Dr. Swaine, who was connected 
with this branch, and resided in Hall Ings, was an eminent 
apothecary in Bradford in the first half of last century, 
and was a great friend of Abraham Sharp, the Horton 
mathematician. He was one of the {q.\v persons who were 
admitted to the workshop of the recluse by the process of 
rubbing a stone upon a certain place in the wall, but even he 
had often to return disappointed, Sharp being either too 
much absorbed to notice the signal or indisposed to see 
company. Mr. Charles Swaine Booth Sharp, of Horton 
Hall, succeeded to the property of this gentleman. In what 
way the Horton Swaincs were connected with Dr. Swaine we 
have not ascertained, but it is said that next to Mr. C. S. B. 
.Sharp, Joseph .Swaine, of Brier Hall, was heir-at-law to the 
property of the Bradford Swaines. 



Rambles Round II art on. 49 



CHAPTICR V. 

Chapel Lane— The Bower Family — I'resbyterianism in Horton — Horton Meeting- 
house — Chapel Lane Unitarian Chapel — Former Ministers — Spring House, 
Mrs. Bacon — Ebenezer Chapel — John Hardy — Samuel Hailstone — Edward 
Hailstone, F'.S.A. 

Having alluded to various features connected with the 
township of Horton without reference to locality, we may 
now take a ramble round the township, commencing with 
that portion of it adjacent to Bradford " town-end." 

A perusal of the map of Bradford will show nearly 
the whole of Chapel Lane to be just within the township 
boundary of Horton. Although now essentially in the heart 
of Bradford, the residences which formerly lined Chapel Lane 
were pleasantly situated, away from the centre of the town 
and the bustle of the market place, which was situate in 
Westgate. In the reference book to the township map of 
1 80 1 we find mention of " Chapel Lane Gardens," and within 
more recent times we have pleasing recollections of a grass- 
covered lawn opposite the old Unitarian Chapel. 

At the commencement of the present century the 
principal residents of Chapel Lane were Miss Swaine, 
Joshua Jennings, Geo. Dodgson, Wm. Goodchild, James 
Pullan, Benjamin Key, and Miss Bower. The last-named 
lady was also a large landowner in the neighbourhood. 

The Bower family had been resident in Chapel Lane for 
a long period, and ranked among the leading gentry of the 
town. Jeremy Bower and Thomas Bower were important 
tradesmen of Bradford in Queen Elizabeth's time, being put 
down as " mercers." Thomas Bower also kept " Ye Swanne," 
and carried on an extensive tanning business, besides that of 
"hair-beard," or barber. It was probably this Bower who was 
appointed to make out the return for Bradford in Barnard's 
Survey of 1577. Simeon Bower was a " lawyear," a profession 
followed by more recent members of the family. Jeremiah 
Bower was postmaster of Bradford in the latter half of the 
1) 



50 Rambles Round H or ton. 

seventeenth century, and a Jeremy Bower kept the Talbot Inn 
in Kirkgate in tlie year 1691. The Paper Hall in Barkerend, 
and considerable property in Horton, once belonged to the 
Bower family. For many years, however, the leading 
representatives of the family have been removed from the 
town. Mr. John Bower, who resided here in the early part of 
the century, died at Middlethorpe, York, in 1843, at the age 
of seventy years. His son, also named John, a barrister, and 
the last of the family who lived in Bradford, died a few years 
ago. Mr. Abraham Bower, another son, lived at an estate 
purchased by him many years ago at Ripon, and died there, 
at the age of eighty-one, during the year 1884. 

In the early part of the century the gardens and orchard 
attached to Townend House extended up Manchester Road 
(or Bowling Lane) for some distance. There was also a toll- 
bar at the bottom of the lane which effectually commanded 
all the traffic entering the town from that direction. The 
toll-house was on the Chapel Lane side, and was kept by 
John Lee. It was afterwards occupied as a flour shop by 
one Craven. The toll-bar, however, which had long been a 
nuisance, was removed in 1826. 

The principal object of historic interest in Chapel Lane 
is undoubtedly the Unitarian Chapel. The date of its erection 
was about the year 1718-19, it being at the time the only 
dissenting place of worship in Bradford. The founders were 
the old Nonconformists or Presbyterians. The history of 
this section of Christians would take our thoughts back to 
troublous times in the annals of the Christian Church, and if 
space permitted, lead us to notice the two diverging tendencies 
of the Puritan party in the seventeenth century, which at last 
settled down into what were known a century later as Old 
Dissent and New Dissent, Rational Dissenters and Orthodox 
Dissenters, synonymous with the English Presbyterians or 
Unitarians, and Independents or Congregationalists, of the 
present day. Immediately after the Revolution of 1688 
Presbyterianism first took root in Bradforddale, and a chapel 
was built at Little Horton for the use of the Dissenters 
of the neighbourhood, who were not only numerous but 
comprised several influential adherents ; among these may 



Rambles Round H or ton. 51 

be included some members of the Sharp family, also of the 
Swaines, the Hodgsons, the Rollings, and others. In the list 
of meeting-houses registered at Wakefield Sessions after the 
passing of the Toleration Act in 1688 we find the following 
entries : — 

Under date January, i68g. — "That Thomas Sharp, of Little 
Horton, nigh Bradford, clerk, doth make choice of his own house to 
assemble in for rehgious worship." 

January, 1691.— "The dweUing-house of John Smithies, of Little 
Horton, recorded a place of religious meeting. Signed — ^^Samuel Swayne, 
John Smithies, John Butterfield, Robert Parkinson." 

January, 1695. — "The house of Thomas Ferrand, of Bradford, for 
religious worship." 

January, 1696. — "The house of Thomas Hodgson, of Bradford, 
recorded." 

The erection of a chapel for the use of those who from 
conscientious motives dissented from the forms adopted in 
the Church as by law established would doubtless be the 
means of gathering together the various sections of devout 
persons attending these meeting-houses, but it is not clear 
where that chapel was situate. The site of it was either 
given by or purchased from Thomas Sharp, of Horton Hall, 
a man eminent for his theological attainments, and who, as 
we have seen, had licensed his own house for religious 
worship, whither, it is recorded, " numbers flocked to hear 
him." In his will, dated 1693, Thomas Sharp bequeathed to 
his daughter Elizabeth a close of land at Little Horton, called 
Higher End, which is described as being " near the new 
meeting-house." In Fawcett's " Life of Oliver Heywood," it 
is said that " the people had previously (to the erection of 
the Presbyterian Chapel at Bradford) worshipped at Little 
Horton, and at a place not far from Wibsey." 

The house usually pointed out as the site of the " new 
meeting-house" is situate in Thornton Lane, and is still 
known as Chapel House, while Chapel Fold and Chapel 
Green are well-recognised names in the immediate vicinity. 

Over the door are the initials \'^ \j\ \ the letters I and T 

standing for Jeremiah Thornton, and M for the name of his 
wife. The date, 1739, does not correspond with the period 



5-2 



Rambles Round H or ton. 



when the " new meeting-house " was erected, but might refer 
to a time of rebuilding, as there are indications of portions of 
the house being older than the period referred to. 

The late John James discredited the claim of the 
Thornton Lane residence, and stated that he had seen 
references to Chapel Fold at Bradford long before, assuming 
the site of the earlier edifice to be in Chapel Lane. To 
still further complicate the subject, we have evidence that 
members of the Swaine family, who were amongst the 
earliest Presbyterians, were both baptised and buried at the 
" Presbyterian Chapel, Wibsey Bankfoot, and called Hill Top 
Chapel." Wherever this place of worship was situate, it was 
undoubtedly the birthplace of Nonconformity in Bradford. 

The Rev. Samuel Hulme was a resident of Little Horton 
about the year 1700, and was minister of the Presbyterian 
congregation. His son, Joseph Hulme, M.D., was born in 
the village, and was educated for the ministry under Dr. 
Philip Doddridge, but, changing his profession, he became a 
skilful physician. He died in the ninety-second year of his 
age. The Rev. Samuel Crowther, who died in 1706, and the 
Rev. Eli Dawson succeeded Samuel Hulme at Little Horton. 
In 1 7 16 the congregation was called Presbyterian, having 500 
hearers, forty of them having county votes. 

In the year 1719, however, the congregation removed to 
the new chapel in Chapel Lane. The site of it is described in 
the trust deed as " the north corner of Murgatroyd's Croft, in 
Horton," and was given by Robert Stansfield, a drysalter, who 
married a daughter of Thos. Sharp, and whose son Robert 
afterwards purchased Esholt Hall. The dimensions of the 
site were about thirty yards in length and thirty yards in 
breadth, and it was bounded on the north by Back Lane, 
then probably called Toad Lane, and now rejoicing in the 
better-sounding name of Chapel Lane. On the west it was 
bounded by land belonging to the daughters of Mr. John 
Hollings, while to the east and south lay the rest of the croft. 

The trustees were Abraham Sharp, of Little Horton ; 
Samuel Stansfield, of Bradford, Salter ; Thomas Ferrand, 
Bradford, grocer and mercer ; Abraham Rhodes, Bradford, 
yeoman ; Jeremy Dixon, Heaton Royds, yeoman ; Abm. 



Ranibles Roiuid Norton. 53 

Svvaine, Bradford, yeoman ; John Lister, Bolton, yeoman ; 
Isaac Wilkinson, Little Horton, yeoman ; John Atkinson, 
Bradford, butcher (?) ; Wm. Hod^^son, l^owling, yeoman ; 
and James Aked, Bradford, yeoman, who are described as 
being " Protestant Dissenters from the Church of England ; " 
and the date of the conveyance is December 2nd, 17 19. 

From a document printed in the Bradford A ntiqiuDj we 
learn that many of the materials came from Howley Hall, 
near Batley, built in 1590 by Sir John Savile, and dismantled 
through the caprice of its subsequent owner, the Earl of 
Cardigan, during the early part of the eighteenth century. 
Among these items are the following : — 

May 24, 1 7 19. / s. d. 

Pd. for Hooley windows 3 o o 

Pd. for 14 loads of ye same leading to Bradford, 

at 5s. per load 3 10 o 

Charges at Hooley when best ceiling was taken 

down o 010 

Paid for 6 pilasters at Hooley 090 

Paid John Crocker for Hooley gates leading ...250 

The woodwork and fittings were therefore old at the time 
they were brought to Bradford. The total cost of the erection 
was ;^340 3s. 5d. The old gateway, since its removal from 
Chapel Lane, has been re-erected in the grounds of Mr. 
Arthur Briggs, Cragg Royd, Rawdon. 

The Rev. Eli Dawson continued his pastorate at the new- 
chapel in Chapel Lane until 1728. He was followed in 173 1 
by the Rev, Joshua Hardcastle, who continued until his death 
in 1753, and was succeeded by the Rev. John Smith, of 
Mixenden, a graduate of the Glasgow University, and a 
relative of the Sharps. For a long time Mr. Smith con- 
cluded his sermons with the Trinitarian Doxology, and to the 
last attended the week-day services of the Church. He died 
in 1768, and lies in Mixenden Chapel }'ard. 

He was succeeded by the Rev. John Dean, who was 
his son-in-law, and who ministered there from 1768 to 18 13. 
Mr. Dean was treasurer to the Bradford Library when it was 
formed in 1774, and w^as father-in-law to the late Mr. C. H. 
Dawson, of Royds Hall. During Mr. Dean's ministry the 
congregation became Lhiitarian. 



5-i 



Rambles Round H or ton. 



From 1813 to 18 17 the chapel had for its minister the 
Rev. Henry Turner, whose name is yet fresh and honoured. 
He left to occupy the important pulpit of the High Pavement, 
Nottingham, where he succeeded Dr. Hutton, but died there 
in 1822, in the thirtieth year of his age. 

To him succeeded the Rev. Nicholas Heinekin, the son 
of a Bremen merchant, and a Lutheran, who had come to 
London and joined the ranks of the Old Dissent. He was 




Old Gateway, Chapel Lane. 



born in London, March 8th, 1763, and is still remembered 
with respect and affection. He died suddenly in 1840. 

The Rev. George Vance Smith, B.A., was the minister 
from 1 841 to 1843, when he removed to Macclesfield, and after- 
wards to Birmingham. The Rev. G. V. Smith subsequently 
acquired the degree of doctor of divinity, and had the honour 
of forming one of the body entrusted with the Revised 
Version of the Scriptures. 



Rambles Round Norton. 55 

From 1844 to 1864, the Rev. John Howard Ryland 
ministered. Mr. Ryland was a gentleman of very active 
habits, and took a prominent part in the work of the 
Mechanics' Institute, of which he was president in 1858. 
He was very generally respected in Bradford. 

In 1845 the Dissenters' Chapels Bill encouraged the 
congregation to make improvements in the old chapel. A 
new vestry was built and new schools projected, which were 
opened the following year. In 1846 also a fresh batch of 
trustees was appointed, comprising C. H. Dawson, of Royds 
Hall, his sons, C. H. Dawson, jun., Joseph Dawson, and John 
Dawson ; Joseph Swaine, of Gomersal, cloth maker ; Edward 
Swaine, Gomersal, cloth maker ; John Swaine, Gomersal, 
cloth maker ; Wm. Ed. Swaine, Leeds, merchant ; Thomas 
Ilollings, Manningham, gentleman ; Stephen Humble, Idle, 
gentleman ; Alfred Bankart, Bradford, worsted spinner ; and 
Charles Bankart, Bradford, woolstapler. Of this number 
only Mr. John Dawson, living at Exmouth, remains upon 
the trust. 

Mr. Ryland retired in 1864, and was succeeded in that 
year by the Rev. T. W. Freckelton. On the removal of Mr. 
Freckelton in 1866 to Plymouth, the Rev. Richard Pilcher, 
B.A., London, was chosen minister. Subsequent ministers 
have been the Rev. W. J. Knapton, who afterwards joined the 
Church of England ; the Rev. Robert Laird Collier, D.D., 
and the Rev. J. Cuckson. 

The chapel was endowed by Jeremy Dixon, one of the 
old trustees, who, by his will, dated 22nd February, 1724, gave 
a farm at Denholme, called Birchin Lee, to the trustees of the- 
chapel. The income from this source now realises about 
^100 per annum. New schools were erected in 1867, and 
in February, 1868, the corner-stone of the present hand- 
some chapel was laid by Mr. Edward Swaine, of York, 
whose family had been connected with the chapel from 
its foundation. The style of the erection is Gothic, the 
accommodation is for 500 worshippers, and the cost was 
about ^5400. 

At the corner of IManchester Road there was formerly a 
garden gate admitting to the grounds of Spring House, at 



56 Rambles Roimd Horton. 

one time the property of Isaac Willson, clerk of the Court of 
Requests, This house was in danger of being sacked by an 
exasperated mob in 1793, in consequence of the unpopularity 
of Mr. Willson or of his office. More recently it was the 
residence of Mr. W'm. Bacon, and subsequently of his widow, 
a lady well known for her piety and benevolence. Her father 
was Mr. John Balme, a worsted manufacturer. He built the 
house subsequently occupied as a Baptist College at Horton. 
Mr. Balme was a zealous Independent, and was one of the 
parties to the original trust of Horton Lane Chapel, erected 
in 1782. 

Mr. Bacon, of Spring House, died in 1818 ; and Mary, 
his widow, in 1853, aged eighty-three. By her will Mrs. 
Bacon left ^1000 each to the following institutions : — the 
Bible Society, the London Missionary Society, and the Home 
Missionary Society, and a sum of i," 12,000, the proceeds of 
which were to be devoted to the relief of aged and infirm 
ministers, their widows and daughters. Her sister, Miss 
Sarah Balme, was equally benevolent in disposition, and in 
accordance with her request, valuable property at Undercliffe 
and Fagley was conveyed to the trustees of Airedale College 
(then at Idle), and upon a portion of which a college was 
afterwards built. 

Another daughter of John Balme was married to Samuel 
Broadley, who lived in the house in Kirkgate upon the site 
of which the Bradford Banking Company's premises were 
erected. She died in 1825, bequeathing large sums for charit- 
able purposes, including ^^^5000 to Horton Baptist College. 

Directly opposite to Mrs. Bacon's house was situate the 
Bowling Alley, to which in times past the well-to-do people of 
the "town-end" resorted for a bout at bowls. A portion of this 
ground was acquired about the year 1836 for the erection of 
the Ebenezer Chapel, which stood upon the boundary line 
dividing Horton from Bradford. The movement for the 
erection of this place of worship originated with Mr. Wm. 
Grandage, of Brownroyd, who, having been connected with the 
New Connexion denomination in his native town of Halifax, 
gathered together a few persons in sympathy with himself 
upon coming to Bowling Dyeworks. Being but "feeble folk," 



Rambles Round H or ton. 57 

however, they were unable to afford the high price of ;!62 per 
yard asked for a corner plot at the end of Thornton Road, but 
accepted the offer of the Rev. Godfrey Wright of the site at 
the bottom of Horton Road, at the price of £\ per yard for 
700 yards. The parties to the deed of purchase were Wm. 
Grandage ; John Carter, banker's clerk ; John Fearnside, Green 
Row ; Wm. Ackroyd, grocer, Manchester Road ; and two 
others. Mr. Grandage was also the first class-leader. The 
new building cost about £1700, exclusive of the ;^700 paid for 
the ground. 

The first minister was the Rev. Wm. Trotter, who 
officiated with such acceptance that soon the membership was 
raised to over 150 persons. After a few years, however, 
serious discord was created among the congregation by the 
conduct of the Rev. Joseph Barker, a minister of the 
denomination settled at Leeds, who, being on terms of great 
intimacy with Mr. Trotter, induced him to join in the 
editorship of a magazine giving publicity to doctrines which 
by the orthodox New Connexionists were considered unsound. 
Both individuals were ultimately expelled the Connexion, 
although, so far as Mr. Trotter was concerned, that course was 
regarded with great regret by the congregation worshipping 
at Ebenezer. In consequence of this unpleasantness, a portion 
of the congregation seceded and erected a small chapel in 
Croft Street, Mr. Trotter taking charge of it. After a 
lingering existence the separationists collapsed. 

The Ebenezer Chapel being pronounced unsafe, from 
some defect in its construction, it was rebuilt in 1861 upon an 
improved model, but that edifice has also disappeared, owing 
to the property having been scheduled in the Bradford 
Improvement Act of 1873, the Corporation at that time 
contemplating the construction of a thoroughfare in con- 
tinuation of Manchester Road to Thornton Road. That 
project, however, has never been carried out, but the 
scheduling of the property led the congregation to secure 
another site, resulting in the erection of the present handsome 
edifice at Mannville, Horton Road. That chapel was opened 
on March 26th, 1879, and with the adjoining school buildings 
cost nearl}- ^20,000. 



58 Rambles Round Horton. 

There were formerly two good houses adjoining the site 
of Ebenezer Chapel, and now forming part of the Old Brewery- 
premises, about which were many interesting associations. In 
one of them, nearest to Brewery Lane, lived John Hardy, the 
grandfather of Lord Cranbrook, and here was born his son 
John, returned in 1832 as one of the first members of 
Parliament for Bradford. Mr. Hardy previously resided at 
Horsforth. He used to attend Bradford in his professional 
duties, and eventually removed here, having succeeded to the 
business of Mr. John Eagle, a solicitor who piloted the first 
Leeds and Liverpool Canal Act, and eventually Mr. Hardy 
was its solicitor and law clerk. He was also one of the first 
partners of the Low Moor Iron Works. There was a base- 
ment room to the back of the house at the bottom of Great 
Horton Road, which was his office. In this office Mr. Samuel 
Hailstone served his articles with Mr. Hardy, afterwards 
joining him in partnership. The office, however, was after- 
wards removed to the corner house at Brewery Lane, and 
there the business was carried on for some years, and when 
Mr. Hardy ceased practice it became Mr. Hailstone's property. 
Previous to that occurring Mr. Hardy had removed to the 
Manor Hall in Kirkgate. 

Mr. Samuel Hailstone came to Bradford from York in 
the year 1783, and lived in a house in the Old Market, in 
Westgate, just above the Central Coffee Tavern. After 
succeeding to Mr. Hardy's practice, Mr. Hailstone took into 
partnership Mr. Mason, who became a partner in the Bowling 
Ironworks, and gave up his profession, marrying a Miss 
Barber, the daughter of a Bradford attorney. Mr. Paley 
married another daughter, and the fortunes they received 
were put into the Bowling Ironworks, along with that 
invested by the Sturges family. At one time Mr. Hailstone 
had the late Greenwood Bentley for a partner, and afterwards 
he took in Mr. John Thompson (the elder brother of the 
present Mr. Jo. Thompson). Mr. Thompson married a Miss 
Skelton, the sister of Colonel Skelton, and lived in the house 
where Mr. Hardy did. He and his wife were passengers 
in the ill-fated Rothsay Castle, wrecked in Menai Straits in 
1 83 1, and both perished. 



Rdfiib/es Roiiud H or ton. 59 

Mr. Hailstone removed to a small house in Great Horton 
Road, where he erected the first greenhouse perhaps seen 
in Bradford, and after he left it the house was enlarged 
and occupied as a school by the Rev. S. Redhead, who 
married Miss Rand, and was the first clergyman of the old 
Bell Chapel. About the commencement of the present 
century, Mr. Hailstone bought Croft House from the Faber 
family and largely increased it, and resided there with his 
family till 1834 or 1835, when he removed to Horton Hall, 
previously occupied by Mr, John Wood. In 1837 Mr. 
Hailstone offered for sale the whole of the land lying 
between Croft House and Bridge Street, which had formed 
the orchard and grounds to Croft House, and it was bought 
up for building ground. The demolition of Croft House 
followed some time after the formation of Croft Street. 

Mr. Hailstone died in December, 185 1, in the eighty- 
third year of his age. His connection as law clerk with 
the Leeds and Liverpool Canal was of long standing, and 
to the close of his professional career he sustained a 
prominent part in its affairs. When he joined as a share- 
holder, the shares were at a discount of £^0, but his sagacity 
led him to look for a very different state of things, and, as is 
well known, the navigation became a most lucrative concern. 
His legal practice also was large, and of a high-class 
character. Mr. Hailstone was a gentleman of high scientific 
culture, a good botanist and geologist, and possessed a 
considerable love for the pursuits of natural philosophy. 
For his attainments he was elected a fellow of the Linnean 
Society. 

Mr. Hailstone had several sons. One son, Samuel, died 
at Horton Hall. Another .son, the Rev. John Hailstone, was 
vicar of Bottisham, Cambridgeshire, afterwards of Anglesea 
Abbey, in the same county, and died in 1872. 

His youngest son, the present Mr. Edward Hailstone, 
F.S.A., was born at Croft House. In one way or other 
this gentleman has been connected with the legal profession 
for half a century, and for the last thirty-three years has been 
the law clerk of the Leeds and Liverpool Canal Company. 
Since the year 1870 Mr. Hailstone has resided at Walton 



60 Rambles Round Horttni. 

Hall, near Wakefield, formerly the abode of the eccentric 
naturalist. Squire Waterton, and has long enjoyed the 
reputation of possessing one of the largest and most valuable 
pri\'ate collections of books, manuscripts, and antiquarian 
treasures in the north of England. In local literature and 
MS. the Walton collection is specially rich, and its resources 
have been largely drawn upon in the compilation of works 
relating to the history of Bradford. Indeed, to Mr. Hailstone 
we are much indebted for material required in the preparation 
of these papers on Horton — a place in which, from long 
association, he maintains more than ordinary interest. 

The Rev. Lamplugh Wickham, who took the name of 
Hird, and was the father of Mr. H. W. Wickham, M.P., 
resided in the old house nearest to Ebenezer Chapel, and 
Mr. George Anderton and Mr. Titus Salt were subsequent 
occupants. 



Rajnb/cs RoiDid Hortoii. ci 



CHAPTER VI. 

The Old Brewery— Richard Fawcett — Early Methodism— Old Octagon Chapel — 
Randal Well — The Mann F'amily — Early Independency — Horton Lane Chapel — 
Former Ministers. 

Excepting the Old Brewery, we have already noticed all 
the objects of interest at the "town end" of Bradford calling 
for special reference. Unlike some of the landmarks in the 
immediate vicinity which have given place to new creations, 
that institution still survives, having long ago entered upon 
the second century of its existence. It is therefore ju.stly 
entitled to its appellation as the Old Brewery. The date of 
its origin is the year 1757, when Joseph Storey and Thomas 
Aked, of Bradford, were in partnership as common brewers 
with John Whitaker, of Halifax. In 1763 Aked and Storey 
conveyed their shares to Whitaker, who was succeeded by 
his son William. Benjamin Thompson, uncle of Mr, M. W. 
Thompson, married a daughter of Wm. Whitaker, and upon 
Mr, M. W, Thompson marrying his uncle's surviving daughter, 
he became the sole owner of the Old Brewery. Considerable 
interest attaches to the Thompson family through several 
of its members, but as they have had more immediate 
connection with the township of Manningham than with 
that of Horton, we may defer further reference until we 
touch upon Manningham. Mr. Henry Oates, of Fieldhead, 
Mr. James Marshall, ironmonger, Kirkgate, Mr. Tho.s, Pullan, 
and Mr. Henry Leah were formerly partners in the brewery 
along with Mr. Whitaker. 

Having disposed of the " town end," we arc prepared to 
ascend to the upper portions of Horton township, and, in 
making a start, occupy a similar position to that in which Mr. 
Gladstone was once placed, in having " three courses " open 
to us. We may ascend either by way of Mancliester Road, 
Horton Lane, or Horton Road. A more convenient arrange- 
ment, however, remains, namely, to notice what objects of 
interest attract our attention in that portion of Little Horton 



62 Rambles Ronud H or ton. 

lying nearest to our present standpoint, leaving the higher 
portions for future reference. 

An examination of the township survey of 1801 is 
suggestive of several names of residents in the lower part 
of Horton Road, in addition to those already mentioned, 
and among them are those of Thomas Hodgson, Richard 
Fawcett, and John Wood, sen. These were all substantial 
men of the period. The gentleman last named, who resided 
in the good house at the bottom of Mann Lane, called 
Southbrook Lodge, commenced the erection of what after- 
wards became Messrs. Wood & Walker's worsted factory. 
The purpose for which that building was erected, however, 
was not that of worsted spinning, but the manufacture of 
horn, ivory, and tortoise-shell combs, lanterns, leather ink- 
bottles, &c., for which the town of Bradford had a reputation 
before it became famous for worsteds. It was Mr. John 
Wood, jun., who, with townsmen like Richard Fawcett and 
others, established the worsted industry. 

Mr. Fawcett was an eminent Hortonian, having been 
born at Hunt Yard, Great Horton, where his father, a nephew 
of Dr. Fawcett, the celebrated divine, resided. As we 
have seen, Mr. Fawcett erected a factory in Union Street, 
besides owning the mill in the Holme, in the earliest 
stage of development through which the worsted industry 
was passing. So identified was he with the district in 
which we are immediately concerned, that to this day "old 
inhabitants " speak of Fawcett Holme and Fawcett Hill. 
Upon the little knoll bearing the latter name Mr. Fawcett 
erected Westbrook House, the position being regarded as one 
of the most favoured in Bradford. From the windows of his 
residence there was not only a good view across the Holme 
valley, down which meandered a clear running stream, but 
there was an uninterrupted view of green fields on the other 
side in the direction of the Bowling valley. 

While comparatively young Mr. Fawcett entered with 
energy into business, and in conjunction with his father, also 
named Richard, he purchased the interest of Messrs. Swaine 
and Ramsbotham in the Holme Mill. He was also a 
gentleman of great public enterprise, and took part in all 



Rambles Round Norton. 



63 



movements in which the welfare of his native town or fellow- 
townsmen was concerned. He was one of the old Highway 
Commissioners created by the Act of 1803, and fulfilled the 
duties for forty-two years. Mr. Fawcett was in fact the 
leading man of his time, and to such an extent was he so 
regarded by his fellow-townsmen that he was often familiarly 
styled " King Richard." Unfortunately, his various schemes 
of enterprise suffered from commercial depression and other 
causes, and he died in 1845, if not a wealthy at lea.st an 
honoured citizen. Mr. Fawcett was one of the old type of 
Wesleyans, with a strong attachment to the Church of 
England, and one of his sons, the late Canon Fawcett, M.A., 




Octagon Chapel. 

who married a sister of Mr. H. W. Wickham, M.P., was for 
over thirty years incumbent of Holy Trinity Church, Low 
Moor. Another son was the late Mr. Richard Fawcett, 
woolstapler. 

In immediate contiguity to Wcstbrook House there 
stood, until the year 18 10, the old Octagon Chapel, the 
first place of worship erected by the Wesleyans of Bradford. 
In addition to the undoubted interest attaching to it from 
this circumstance, the building, from the peculiarity of its 
construction — having eight sides to it — elicited the remark of 
John Wesley that it was "the largest octagon we have in 



64 Rambles Roujut H or ton. 

England, and the first of the kind where the roof is built with 
common sense, rising only a third of its breadth." The 
dimensions of the chapel were fifty-four feet square. It was 
opened during the summer of 1766. 

Ten years before, however, the disciples of Wesley in 
Bradford had been gathered into a congregation, according 
to the Rev. W. VV. Stamp, the historian of Methodism in 
Bradford, when the second floor of a large building near the 
Cock-pit in Aldermanbury, having been vacated by the 
Baptists, was rented by the society. To this, doubtless, Mr. 
Wesley refers when in 1757 he observes in his journal : — 

Thursday, May 12th. — The latter end of the week I spent in 
Bradford. Sunday, 15th. — At five the house contained the congregation, 
but at eight they covered the plain adjoining it 

From the east end of the building, where Mr. Wesley 
stood when addressing the multitude, " the plain " to the Sun 
Inn, was then an open space, interrupted only by the beck 
and the old prison which stood on the site of what are now 
denominated the Sun Bridge Buildings, whilst to the right, 
with the exception of three houses forming the west side of 
Tyrrel Street and one or two small cottages intervening, was 
a yet further extension of " the plain." Such, with fields 
extending where Thornton Road now runs, together with the 
deserted cockpit and dog kennel in juxtaposition, was the 
neighbourhood in which this early preaching-house was 
situate. 

During the interval of Mr. Wesley's visits in 1759 and 
1 76 1 the room near the cockpit, being deemed no longer safe, 
was given up ; and Mr. James Garnett, piecemaker, then 
residing at the Paper Hall, kindly offered the use of his barn 
in Barkerend until better accommodation could be secured. 
The offer was at once and thankfully accepted, and there for 
a season the services of Methodism were regularly held. Mr. 
Stamp also states that Mr. Garnett, to whom Methodism was 
thus indebted for its second sanctuary in Bradford, was for 
several years a member of the society. Eventually, however, 
in conjunction with Messrs. Smith, Balme, Hodgson, and 
others he assisted in founding an Independent church, 
meeting for awhile in an upper room in the Brewery yard, 



Rambles Round Horfon. 65 

and then removing to a newly-erected chapel in Little 
Horton Lane. 

In the autumn of the year 1765 land was purchased for 
the erection of a Wesleyan chapel in Horton Road. The 
deed, which bears date December 21st, 1765, describes the 
purchase as an assignment on lease of 999 years, subject to 
an annual rent of £1 12s., of "all that close or parcel of 
arable, meadow, or pasture ground called or commonly known 
by the name of the Hilly Close, formerly in the possession or 
occupancy of Edward Jobson, and late of Thomas Aked, 
deceased, and containing two days' work, be the same more 
or less, situate in Horton, in the parish of Bradford." 

The property was conveyed to the following persons as 
trustees : — Richard Stocks, grocer and draper, Bradford ; 
John Hodgson, stuff maker, Horton ; Henry Atkinson, stuff 
maker, Manningham ; Nathaniel Dracup, shuttle maker, 
Horton ; Ebenezer Pyrah, stuff maker, Wibsey ; John Butler, 
stuff maker, Bradford (afterwards of Kirkstall Forge) ; and 
John Murgatroyd, stuff maker, Horton. What subscriptions 
were obtained towards the erection of the Octagon in 
Bradford, or what the collections at its opening, does not 
appear, but it is upon record that when John Murgatroyd and 
Richard Fawcett (father of the Richard Fawcett who in after 
years played so prominent a part in Bradford) sallied forth 
on a collecting expedition, the first contribution received was 
the magnificent sum of twopence towards the outlay of 
;^997 8s. 9d. ! 

In order that the services might not interfere with those 
of the Parish Church, the times of worship at the Octagon 
were nine in the morning, two in the afternoon, and five in 
the evening ; nor was it till the removal to Kirkgatc, fort}- 
years afterwards, that the Sacrament was administered in 
the Methodist chapels of Bradford. In the }ear 1767, a 
preacher's house was erected adjoining the chapel, the whole 
expense of both house and furniture being under ^^200. In 
1 8 10 the property, including the chapel and adjoining houses, 
was sold to Mr. Richard Fawcett, jun., for ^"1575, and that 
gentleman subsequently purchased the adjacent plot and 
built upon it Westbrook House, where he resided, the chapel 
E 



66 Rambles Round Hortoii. 

site being disposed of to Thomas Horsfall. Kirkgate Chapel 
was opened in May, i8ii. It has received enlargement 
several times since. While not recording further the history 
of the Kirkgate sanctuary, we may note as a curiosity that 
the bottom step of the flight in front of the chapel is said to 
be the longest stone ever delved in these parts. It is 22 ft. 
long, and came from Copy Delf. 

Randal Well Close, adjoining the old Octagon Chapel, 
originally formed part of Sagar's Charity land, left by James 
Sagar in 1665, out of the proceeds of which 20s. yearly was 
to be paid to the minister of Thornton Chapel, and the 
residue to the most needful poor of Thornton. The close 
obtained its name from the existence of a spring of water 
arising in a small plantation near the side of the beck. 
Formerly there was a draw-well there, but when Mr. Fawcett 
purchased the Holme Mill he put in a pipe from v.'hich the 
residents of the neighbourhood, after crossing the beck by 
means of a plank, obtained a never-failing supply. The 
Randal Well was a common gossiping place up to the year 
1820. The well is now enclosed in Messrs. Thwaites Bros.' 
engineering works. 

Within a short distance of the Randal Well Close was 
reared a mansion of some pretensions called Mannville, 
associated with the family of Mann. This family is of 
some interest, from the fact that they were the first stuff 
merchants in Bradford. The family sprang from. Spen Hall, 
Cleckheaton. Thomas Mann seems to have been the first 
to come to Bradford, where he commenced business in 
the woollen drapery trade in a shop at the corner turning 
into the yard still known as Mann's Court, in Kirkgate. He 
also embarked in the artificial cork-leg trade, by which he 
obtained much popularity and mone}'. These cork-legs were 
covered v.ith leather by John Brunton, a leather breeches 
maker, and great Southcottian, whom Rushton celebrates in 
one of his effusions against Southcottianism as " the cripple 
mender." It is said they v/ere really tlie invention of one 
David Haigh, whom Mann employed. This cork-leg business 
was afterwards sold to Mr. Swithenbank, who carried it on 
until a late period in premises in Toad Lane. Thomas Mann, 



Rambles Round H or ton. 67 

however, seems to have had both this business and the shop in 
Kirkgate on his hands when he, with his brother John, started 
the business of stuff merchants, which yielded the family- 
considerable wealth. This business was carried on in a 
warehouse behind the shop. John Mann, the brother, built 
Springfield House, now occupied by Sir Jacob Rehrens, in 
Manningham Lane. 

Thomas Mann erected Mannville, in Great Horton Road, 
which is said to be built both inside and out with dressed 
stone. He had three sons, Joshua, John, of Boldshay Hall, 
and Thomas, who were united, as they came of age, with 
their father and uncle in the stuff trade. Joshua succeeded 
his father at Mannville, where he died, and Mr. John Rawson, 
the solicitor, lived there afterwards for some years. 

John Mann, of Manningham Lane, the uncle, was married 
but had no children. He brought up a daughter of his brother 
Robert, of Spen Hall, and left her most of his property. 
She married Mr. W. M. Harris. Joshua, of Mannville, died 
a bachelor, and left his property to Miss Wells, his niece, the 
daughter of Mr, Wells, who married his sister. Thomas died 
a bachelor. John resided at Boldshay Hall, and had a family. 

Another place of worship, the congregation of which 
during the year 1882 celebrated its centenary — was erected 
not far from the Octagon, namel}-. Horton Lane Chapel. 
The history of the congregation of Independents worshipping 
at Horton Lane is in great measure bound up with that of 
Chapel Lane already noticed. Among the congregation 
worshipping at the latter place were many who were unable 
to accept the Unitarian creed which, under the influence of 
Mr. Dean's teaching, was substituted for the old Presb}-terian 
doctrine of the Trinity, and being joined by a few Episco- 
palians, and others whose doctrines were in harmony 
with those of Whitfield, but whose church principles were 
Congregational, united in forming an Independent Church. 
This was in the year 1780. For twelve or eighteen months 
they met in the malt chamber of the Old Brewery, meanwhile 
making arrangements to build a more suitable place in which 
to assemble for worship. Hence the erection of Horton Lane 
Chapel. 



68 Rambles Roitnd H or ton. 

From the original conveyance of the site of this chapel, 
dated 20th December, 1781, we learn that the ground was 
purchased from Charles Swain Booth Sharp, Esq., of Horton 
Hall, by James Garnett, worsted stuff maker, of Bradford ; 
John Smith, of Bradford, stationer ; Thomas Naylor, Brad- 
ford, tobacconist ; William Wilkinson, Bradford, worsted stuff 
maker; Thomas Hodgson, of Scholemoor, worsted stuff 
maker; John Balme, Bradford, worsted stuff maker; Joseph 
Wright, Bradford, worsted stuff maker ; Robert Benson, 
Frizinghall, maltster ; Joseph Robinson, Idle, butcher ; Jonas 
Smith, Bolton, carpenter ; William Smith, Wibsey, worsted 
stuff maker ; and John Hutton, Eccleshill, cloth maker. 

The land is described as " all that piece or parcel of land 
situate, lying, and being in Horton aforesaid, containing 
thirty-seven yards in length, as the same is railed off from the 
bottom or north-east end of a close of land called the Croft, 
the property and in the possession of the said Charles Swain 
Booth Sharp ; up the said close, the breadth of the same 
close ; which said piece of land abuts on the lane called 
Little Horton Lane, on the south-east end thereof ; on a 
piece of ground the property of Samuel Swaine on the north- 
east side thereof ; on a close of land the property of Mr. 
Bower on the north-west end thereof ; and on the remainder 
of the said close of land from which the piece of land is 
taken on the south-west side thereof." The amount of the 
purchase money was ;^I22 los. 

The trust deed contains a full enumeration of the articles 
of faith of the pm'chasers, and also declares that if any of 
the original trustees shall cease to be of the sect of Dissenters 
above mentioned, or change their religious views, or that any 
of them shall not attend at the intended place of worship for 
the space of thirteen weeks, except prevented by sickness or 
other evident call in Divine providence, that it shall be lawful 
for the remaining trustees and the majority of the church 
members to nominate and elect other persons in their place. 
The deed is witnessed by John Brogden and Richard Milnes. 
At a meeting, held in the vestry of the chapel, December 28, 
1808, the following persons were chosen to act as trustees 
in place of several who had died, viz. : — John Balme, 



Rambles Round Horfo/i. 69 

Richard Hargreaves, William Pearson, Benjamin Kaye, James 
Wilkinson, Thomas Waddington, James Cousen, and Joseph 
Smith. 

In June, 1815, consequent on the "great increase 
of population and of Dissenters in Bradford and the 
neighbourhood," it was decided to extend the chapel by seven 
yards, upon ground in the rear purchased from Mr. John 
Bower, being portion of a close of land called Wilson Well 
Croft. The amount of the purchase money was ^39 los. 
The parties to the deed of purchase were Wm. Wilkinson, 
Joseph Wright, Jonas Smith, Wm. Smith, and James Hutton 
(original trustees), and James Cousen, woollen draper ; Thos. 
Waddington, calico maker ; Jas. Wilkinson, cabinetmaker ; 
Wm. Pearson, worsted spinner ; Benj. Kaye, Allerton, 
merchant ; James Garnett, woolstapler ; Lister Naylor, tobacco 
manufacturer ; Wm. Hargreaves, Idle, scribbler ; Abm. Balme, 
worsted manufacturer ; William Smith, worsted manufacturer ; 
Robert Milligan, linen draper ; John Bottomley, accountant ; 
John Hutton, jun., Eccleshill, clothmaker ; PVancis Ackroyd, 
worsted manufacturer ; John Bonnell, saddler ; and James 
Hargreaves, Eccleshill, clothmaker. 

An enlargement of the burial ground also took place in 
1837 by the additional purchase from the Rev. Godfrey 
Wright (who had succeeded to Mr. C. S. B. Sharp's estate) of 
a piece of ground adjoining the minister's house, comprising 
about three roods, for the sum of ^998, being at the rate of 
5s. 6d. per yard. In addition to the surviving trustees the 
parties to the deed of purchase were — Richard Garnett, 
Joseph Smith, William Hardcastle, John Russell, James 
Garnett, Robert Monies, Edward Riple}-, Henry William 
Ripley, John McCroben, William Milnes, James Rennie, 
Alexander Robertson, and Jonathan Holdsworth. 

By successive enlargements Horton Lane Chapel and 
Schools grew to the dimensions familiar to many of our 
readers prior to their being supplanted by the present 
handsome chapel and school premises. The first step 
towards the erection of this imposing pile was the building of 
the schools, which were opened on the 7th September, 1861, 
and on the 9th September the foundation stone of the new 



70 Rambles Round Hortoii. 

chapel was laid by the late Sir H. W. Ripley, who was a 
large contributor to the building fund. The completed 
edifice was opened on September 30th, 1863, having cost 
about i,"i 2,000. Of this large sum all but about £6^0 had 
been received up to the close of the inaugural services, and 
this small amount was subscribed the next morning. 

During the hundred years' existence of Horton Lane 
Chapel five pastors in succession have filled the pulpit. Of 
this number the first only preached one Sunday, and died 
during the following week. The second held the pastoral 
office twenty-five years ; the third twenty-seven years ; the 
fourth nineteen years ; and the fifth twenty-eight years. 
Practically, therefore, the century's pastorate was discharged 
by four ministers, giving an average of twenty-five years to 
each. 

The first pastor, the Rev. Jas. Crossley, was a native of 
Saltonstall, in Warley ; he was a disciple of the Rev. W. 
Grimshaw, incumbent of Haworth, and the first minister of 
Booth Chapel. After twenty years' service at Booth, he was 
induced to leave a people to whom he was much attached 
and come to Bradford, but his ministry here was prematurely 
cut short, for after preaching one Sunday he died. 

The next minister was the Rev. Thos. Hoklgate, who 
laboured from the year 1783 until 1807, the year of his death. 
The only unpleasant episode of Mr. Holdgate's ministry so 
far as any record exists, was brought about by the attempt 
to introduce a bass viol into the singing-pew, and so bitter 
were many of the congregation against it that it was but 
rarely used. 

The next pastor of the church was the Rev. Thomas 
Taylor, who came from Ossett to Bradford in 1808, and 
under whose ministrations Horton Lane Church and con- 
gregation attained a position of considerable influence in 
Bradford, comprising within its roll of membership the names 
of Garnett, Milligan, Forbes, Salt, Ripley, and many others, 
who were literally the makers of Bradford. Mr. Taylor was 
a man of remarkable .shrewdness and strength of character, 
and left the imprint of his mind and labours not only upon 
his congregation, but upon the town of his adoption. He 



Rambles Round Horton. 71 

was greatly beloved and respected, and was familiarly known 
and spoken of in the town as " good old Mr. Taylor." It was 
during Mr. Taylor's ministry that Sunday schools were 
established in Bradford, and two new congregations were sent 
out from the parent chapel. After retiring from the pastorate 
he lived to a serene old age, enjoying the profound respect of 
all, and died in October, 1853. 

Mr. Taylor having retired, the Rev. Jonathan Glyde 
became his successor in the autumn of 1835. Mr. Glyde, 
who was a native of Exeter, differed in many respects from 
his predecessor. A man of original talent, of the purest type 
of piety, high culture, and one of the gentlest of mankind, he 
was greatly beloved by his congregation and fellow-townsmen. 
After nineteen years of devoted pastoral work he died in the 
forty-eighth year of his age, in December, 1854. The Rev. 
James Robertson Campbell, D.D., entered upon the pastorate 
at Horton Lane in 1855, having previously ministered at 
Edinburgh. Dr. Campbell was a worthy successor of the 
good men who had preceded him. Possessing many Christian 
virtues, a gentleman of scholarly attainments,, and imbued 
with a lofty regard for the responsible office of a Christian 
minister, he ably filled the pulpit of Horton Lane Chapel 
during a period of twenty-eight years, retiring only in the 
autumn of 1883. Dr. Campbell's sudden death, in December, 
1884, a little more than a year after he had resigned 
his pastorate, is still a sorrow in the hearts of his former 
charge. 

After an interval of two years from Dr. Campbell's 
retirement, the pastorate was accepted by the Rev. Dr. 
Anderson, of Troy, U.S.A., a gentleman of great ability as a 
preacher and a devoted pastor. 

As the parent Independent Church in Bradford Horton 
Lane has a numerous progeny. Of these may be named 
the congregations at Wibsey, Little Horton, Lidget Green, 
Eccleshill, Salem, Lister Hills, Saltaire, Bowling, Ryan Street, 
and Laisterdyke, all directly springing from it. In addition 
to this list may be named Borough West School, which, as an 
elementary school, has long enjoyed a reputation of a high 
order. 



72 Rambles Round Horton. 



CHAPTER VII. 

St. John's Church — St. James's Church — Parson Bull — Bowling Lane — The Old 
Skinhouse— Jacob Hudson — His Curious Will — The Blackburns — The Cordingleys 
— Clayton Lane— Baptist College— Dr. Steadman. 

St. John's Church, Manchester Road, was erected during 
the years 1838-9, at the expense of Mr. J. Berthon, a 
gentleman residing in the Isle of Wight, and under licence of 
the Bishop of Ripon service was for some time performed in 
it, but without any assigned reason it was then closed. For 
several years afterwards the building remained unconsecrated, 
the unfortunate loss of a sum of money set aside for the 
endowment being stated to be the reason. In the year 1844 
the church was offered for sale, but was afterwards consecrated 
for public worship. It has subsequently been pulled down, 
and upon the site a music-hall and theatre have been erected. 
The new church of St. John the Evangelist in Horton Lane 
was opened in its stead in 1871. 

St. James's Church, Manchester Road, was erected at the 
sole expense of Mr. John Wood, junior, of the firm of Messrs. 
Wood & Walker, upon land purchased from the Fitzgeralds. 
It is a handsome structure in the lancet style of Gothic 
architecture, with accommodation for about 1200 worshippers. 
The first stone was laid by the generous founder on October 
31st, 1836, and he also endowed it, and erected the .school and 
parsonage house adjoining. The cost of the whole was stated 
to be about iJ"io,5oo. Mr. Walker Rawsthorne, an architect of 
some repute in Bradford at that period, prepared the design. 

The first incumbent of St. James's was the Rev. G. S. 
Bull, or " Parson Bull," as he was frequently termed, who was 
intimately associated with Mr. John Wood, the philanthropic 
manufacturer, Richard Oastler, the Earl of Shaftesbury, and 
others, in furthering the progress of the Factory Act or Ten 
Hours Bill. It was during the agitation of that measure that 
Mr. Wood proposed to erect and endow a church and schools 
for the use of his workpeople, and he gave the appointment to 
Mr. Bull, who was then officiating at Bierley Chapel. He was 



Rambles Round Hart on. 73 

fortunate in securing in Mr. Ikill a gentleman who was equally 
at home in superintending building operations, in expounding 
a sermon, or in delivering philippics from a platform. The 
schools adjoining the church he built first, and there prepared, 
as he used to say, the living stones by the time the material 
church was ready to receive them. Mr. Hull personally 
superintended the whole of the building works, both as regards 
the parsonage, church, and schools. The rev. gentleman had 
been in the navy, and on the erection of the church spire 
" swarmed " up the scaffolding, and placed the capstone on the 
top with his own hands. 

It must not, however, be supposed that Parson Bull was 
wholly absorbed in bricks and mortar. During the period 
referred to he was faithfully preaching the Gospel, and making 
speeches everywhere on behalf of the Church Missionary and 
Pastoral Aid Societies, besides advocating the abridgment of 
factory labour for children with fearless courage, vigorous 
eloquence, and untiring perseverance. No wonder that the 
name of Parson Bull became a household word throughout a 
great part of the West Riding of Yorkshire It was never 
known why Mr. Bull left Bradford, but in all probability the 
unflinching position he took up on the factory question often 
brought him into unpleasant collision with many whom he 
otherwise might have counted among his friends. He, how- 
ever, removed to Birmingham, and began afresh at the Church 
of St. Matthew's before it was consecrated. The names of 
two of his successors, the Rev. William Sherwood and Canon 
Burfield, will also long be had in remembrance in connection 
with St. James's Church. 

As we have drifted into Manchester Road, or Bowling 
Lane as it used to be called when St. James's Church 
was erected, we may as well note the appearance of that 
thoroughfare in the early part of the century. Long after 
the abolition of the toll-bar at the " town end," there was one 
placed at the top of the street leading down to St. James's 
Church. Excepting a few houses clustered near the toll-bar, 
almost the entire length of Bowling Lane towards Bradford 
was destitute of buildings of any description. A little above 
Mrs. Bacon's grounds there stood and still stands the maltkiln 



74 Ranibies Round Horton. 

owned by John Tordoff, and afterwards occupied by Thomas 
Hill. At John Tordoff's house there lodged the first German 
merchant who came to settle in business in Bradford. All 
the land at the rear, extending to Horton Lane, was open, 
and belonged to Mr. C. S. B. Sharp ; and the same remark- 
applies to Miss Bower's land, extending up Manchester Road 
from the maltkiln to Isaac Rountree's flour shop, near the 
toll-bar. 

Providence Primitive Methodist Chapel was erected in 
1824, and about the same period Hope Street, King Street, 
and Xlarence Street were laid out and filled with working- 
class dwellings upon the " back-to-back " .system, principally 
by Messrs. J. & R. Turner and Mr. John Wood. Owing 
to the effects of a calamitous fire the chapel was totally 
destroyed in 1861, and rebuilt shortly afterwards. 

A similar fate befell the Borough Corn Mill opposite on 
the 1st of January, 1874, after it had been much enlarged by 
Messrs. James Ellis & Co., who purchased the property in 
1870 from Messrs. W. & J. Pilling. Messrs. Pilling, who 
had previously occupied Sams Mill, near Thiefscore Bridge, 
completed the erection of their new mill in Manchester Road 
in 1843. Messrs. Thomas Burnley & Co. were the builders, 
and the engines and boilers were supplied by the Low Moor 
Iron Company. 

Upon the opposite side of the road there resided about 
this period Mr. Wm. Murgatroyd, afterwards of Bankfield, 
Bingley, his partner, Mr. Miles lUingworth, and Mr. John 
Russell, the head of the firm of Russell, Douglas & Co. 
Closely adjoining was the lawyer's office occupied and owned 
by Mr. Samuel Hailstone — to whom reference has already 
been made ; then came an open plot of ground belonging to 
Miss Hartley, afterwards occupied by Mr. Robert Crosland's 
engineering works; and next to this plot came Croft House, 
purchased by Mr. Hailstone from Mr. Faber, of the firm of 
Faber & Duffield, merchants, and bought by that gentleman 
from a Mr. Edward Taylor. 

The erection of Marshall's Mill in 18 18 led to the building 
of a few houses in the neighbourhood of Portland Street, a 
step followed shortly afterwards by Mr. VVm. Rand, who added 



RiDiibles Round Horton. 75 

many working-class dwellings to this street. Subsequently 
Adelaide Street, Queen Street, Caledonia Street, and Mary- 
gate sprang into existence, through the building enterprise of 
Messrs. Jere. Parker, John Crook, Kd. Ripley, John Wood, 
and others, the opposite side of the road occupied by Grafton 
Street, Fitzgerald Street, &c., still remaining vacant. It will 
thus be seen how comparatively new are the densely.packed 
dwellings and shop property in Manchester Road. The new 
road to Halifax was opened in 1826, and from that period 
the name Bowling Lane gave place to that of Manchester 
Road. 

Beyond the toll-bar there is no object calling for special 
reference except the old Skinhouse, situate near to Albion 
Mill, one of the few homesteads of the .seventeenth century 
remaining in this part of Horton. Above the entrance are 

the initials | ^^h and the date 1660. The old Skinhouse 

is typical of the period when the early stuffmakers of 
Bradford farmed their own small estates, occupying them- 
selves and their families alternately with the mixed labour of 
weaving and combing, and tilling the land. Of this class 
in the middle of last century was Jacob Hudson, woolcomber. 
He was a man of industry and frugal habits, and in those 
virtues his sober-minded wife Grace joined. She "jigged" 
and he " straightened " until in the course of a few years, by 
investing his savings in small parcels of wool, and working 
them into tops, he was enabled to accomplish the grand 
object of his heart — the purchase of an estate of land, and 
accordingly bought and afterwards resided at the Skinhouse 
estate, consisting of a farmhouse and twenty-two acres of land. 
Jacob Hudson was a singular character in many respects. 
He was a regular attendant at the old Presbyterian Chapel, 
Chapel Lane, and a very worthy man, but he apparently 
lacked a forgiving disposition, for we are told that on one 
occasion a member of the congregation gave him some cause 
of offence, and he declared that henceforth he would not sit in 
the same building with him. Jacob went regularly to chapel, 
but he never sat down in it. His remains, with those of his 
wife, lie in the chapel yard. 



76 Rambles Round Hovton. 

Old Jacob, in making his will in 1772, did not forget that 
his wife had greatly contributed to the getting of the estate , 
and determined (as they had no children) that her relations 
should join with his in the benefit of it. He accordingly 
determined that what had been gathered so hardly and come 
into the family so slowly should never depart from it. Calling 
in an old lawyer named Brogden (father of the last Mr. 
Brogden, of Bradford), they concocted what they conceived 
would bind it in the family to all eternity. Jacob gave 
to each of nineteen persons (his relatives) and their heirs 
sums varying from £\ to £6 a year out of the rents and 
profits of the estate for ever, an arrangement which was 
never to be altered. 

But the law abhors what old Jacob loved — namely, 
perpetuities, or keeping an estate in the same family for ever — 
and the will was therefore soon pronounced to be in that 
particular defective. As, however, he had so bound it that it 
could not be sold, the estate still remained in the same 
families, although the parties entitled to the rents had, through 
very numerous descents, increased to a great number. Some 
of them only received out of the estate a few shillings a year. 
The estate was well adapted for building sites. It was 
therefore resolved by the parties entitled to it, as the only 
course for loosing old Jacob's bonds, that application should be 
made to Parliament for an Act to enable them to sell it. The 
application was made in 1848, and an Act obtained at great 
expense enabling them to sell the property and divide the 
proceeds — this being probably the first private estate bill ever 
solicited from Bradford. 

The Act above referred to enumerates the various 
relatives who were made devisees under Jacob Hudson's will, 
among them being Jacob Lister the elder, John Lister, Joseph 
Lister, Mary and Grace Lister, John Lister of Tingley, Mark 
Brook, John Booth, Grace Harrison, Mary Atkinson, Joseph 
Gaunt, Jonathan Gaunt, Ann Birk, and Martin Gaunt, 
being the names of persons mostly residing in Bradford 
and its immediate neighbourhood. The estate out of which 
the small annuities were to be paid was vested in John 
Bower, Isaac Ilollings, James Garnett, and John Balme, as 



Raiiiblcs Round Horfoji, 



77 




'a 



^ 



■■o 



78 Rambles Round Horfon. 

trustees. The trustees acting at the period of the passing of 
the Act were Messrs. Richard Garnett, James Garnett, Wm. 
Hardcastle, and Joseph Smith, and upon the three trustees 
first named devolved the disposal of the estate. In addition 
to the homestead, there were several closes of land, called the 
Five Day Work, the Croft, the Low Field, the Great Ing, the 
Round Hill, and the Andrew, occupied by Benj. Blaymires, 
and other closes in the occupation of John Cordingley and 
Samuel Cordingley, besides two closes of land in Horton 
called the Upper and Lower Westcroft. 

The Cordingleys had, long prior to 1848, the date of the 
Hudson Estate Act, occupied a portion of Jacob Hudson's 
estate, and being fellmongers gave the appellation of the 
Skinhouse to the building. \\\ 1801 James Cordingley and 
Abraham Blackburn occupied the estate betwixt them. The 
latter was the father of Mr. Bailey Blackburn, of Bradford, 
and was a maltster and corn merchant. In 1812 he removed 
to Cropper Lane, and had a lease of the Soke Mills, 
at Bradford. The Blackburn family originally came from 
Knaresbro' Forest. 

A singular and fatal incident befell James Cordingley 
during his occupancy in October, 1827. Either from pleasure 
or in order to guard his premises he kept several ferocious 
dogs, which at night were allowed to roam at large. This 
circumstance proved fatal to their master, for, returning home 
one night somewhat inebriated, the dogs did not recognise his 
voice, and worried him upon his own doorstones to such an 
extent that he died. A mysterious fatality also attached to 
that portion of the homestead inhabited by the Blamires 
family, who succeeded Abraham Blackburn in a portion of the 
Skinhouse ; John Blamires was found dead in the garden in 
front of the house, with his head overhanging a well which still 
exists. 

The Skinhouse was purchased along with an adjoining 
close of land by Mr. Thomas Dewhirst, of Laisterdyke, in 
1850, this being the first purchase under the Act obtained by 
Hudson's trustees, and upon the vacant land adjoining Mr. 
Dewhirst erected Albion Mill. The remaining building 
ground still perpetuates the name of its former eccentric 



Rambles Round Horton. 79 

proprietor, one of the. streets being named Jacob Street and 
another Skinhouse Street. 

Following the lead of Manchester Road from the 
Skinhouse we should soon cross the boundary dividing 
Horton from Bowling, so must retrace our steps, noticing by 
the way that the Lister's Arms Inn, in the immediate locality, 
dates from the opening of the new road to Halifax in 1826, 
having been erected by Mr. Ellis Cunliffe Lister, who owned 
considerable property in the neighbourhood. Prior to its 
erection there had been a "public" at P^our Lane Ends, just 
behind the Skinhouse, kept by William Blackburn, brother of 
Abraham Blackburn, who removed to the Lister's Arms in 
the new road when the licence was transferred there. In 
November, 1828, he was succeeded b}' John Blackburn, who 
was landlord until 1841. For some time after its erection 
there was no public-house between the Lister's Arms and the 
New Inn in Tyrrel Street upon one side, and the Craven 
Heifer in Smiddles Lane on the other. The house was made 
use of by passing coaches, a large copper kettle being kept on 
the hob in winter time filled with good home-brewed, and 
spiced with sugar and ginger for the comfort of passengers. 
The back parlour of the house was generally patronised on a 
Sunday morning b}' a icw celebrities, who, after the beadle 
with his staff, and John Andrew his constable, had paid their 
morning visit, discussed the events of the week while 
enjoying their home-brewed — for there were little spirits 
consumed in those days. 

Clayton Lane took its name from John Clayton, who 
erected a substantial house, dated 1776, in that remote 
thoroufrhfare. In the same lane there once existed a 
Jerusalemite Church, where in former times assembled a 
goodly number of the disciples of Johanna Southcott. An 
interesting chapter might be written of the vagaries of this 
body of misguided fanatics, led by Prophet Wroe, but their 
peculiar doctrines were not confined to the township of 
Plorton. A little higher up Clayton Lane was erected in 
1839 a Wesleyan Chapel to commemorate the centenary of 
Methodism. It has since been superseded by the more 
graceful erection called Annesley Chapel. The top ol 



80 Rambles Round H art on. 

Clayton Lane once rejoiced in the name of Sodom, the 
immediate locahty being the abode of hand-combers and 
others engaged at " Dick Smith Mill." 

The Baptist College, situate near the top of what is now 
known as Park Road, was founded under the auspices of the 
Northern Baptist Education Society in the year 1805. The 
premises occupied for the academic studies and residence of the 
young men intended for the ministry, comprising a warehouse 
and dwellinghouse, were purchased from Mr. John Balme in 

1 8 17, and were rebuilt in 1825. Towards the foundation of 
this institution removed to its present site at Rawdon in 1859) 
Samuel Broadley, of Bradford, gave ;^5000, and other Baptists 
very liberal sums. 

The Rev. Wm. Steadman, D.D., was the sole tutor until 

1818, when he became minister at Westgate Chapel. He died 
in 1837, and was succeeded as president and theological 
tutor by the Rev. James Acworth, LL.D., the Rev. Francis 
Clowes being classical tutor. Dr. Steadman was a native of 
Herefordshire, and a man whose learning was of solid 
foundation, being blessed with a memory so retentive that what 
he once learnt he always retained. Of his character as a 
Christian teacher much has been already published. His 
sympathies were of the broadest, with a special leaning 
towards those less endowed in intellectual gifts than himself 
Personally he was somewhat ungainly in appearance. His 
corpulent personage, awkward manners, negligent dress, 
well-known cough, bad e}'esight, and singular physiognomy, 
although yet dimly remembered by few, are gilded over by the 
image of the old doctor as he sallied forth, staff in hand, upon 
some errand of mercy, with his pockets full of apples for 
children, and with more valuable gifts for those of larger 
growth. During the long period of forty-six years he 
preached about 1 1,000 times, baptized 700 professed disciples, 
educated for the ministry about lOO young men, attended 
more than 100 ordinations, and officiated at the opening of 
forty places of worship ! 

During the period when Dr. Steadman was in his prime, 
and even up to the time of his death in 1837, Little Horton 
Lane was a solitary part of the town. Between Horton Lane 



Rambles Roiiiid Hortou. 81 

Chapel and Rand's Mill there was a stretch of open fields 
extending to Melbourne Place, where the first break- in the 
monotony was made by Mr. Jonathan Cordingley in 1838, by 
the erection of a house fronting to Horton Lane. The late 
Mr. Wm. Andrews followed suit a little higher up on the other 
side of the lane, a retired Scotch gentleman named Corson 
erecting an adjoining residence, and shortly afterwards Mr. 
Joseph Smith, land agent, built the house long occupied by 
him. The opening out of the estates of Colonel Fitzgerald, 
of Boldshay Hall, brought into existence Fitzgerald Street 
and other outlets to Manchester Road. For some time after 
this, however, a toll-bar stood at the top of George Street, now 
Grafton Street. 



8'2 Rmnbles Round Horton. 



CHAPTER VIII. 

Horton House — Joseph Hinchliffe, Schoolmaster — The leister Family, of Horton 
and Shibden — ^Joseph Lister, Historian — The Fitzgeralds — Lawrence Sterne, 
Author of " Tristram Shandy." 

From the point at which we have arrived in these 
" rambles " a good view is obtainable of Horton House, which 
is only divided by a lawn from Horton Lane. In former days 
the greensward in front of the house generally presented a 
lively aspect, the adjoining residence being at that time an 
academy for young gentlemen, kept by Joseph Hinchliffe. 
A generation ago this scholastic establishment was held in 
high repute for the excellence of the teaching given there. 
Not a few gentlemen of Bradford and the neighbourhood 
who subsequently attained exalted positions owed their ; 

educational training to Joseph Hinchliffe, and for many years 
his former pupils formed a " Hinchliffe Club," and dined 
together once a year. One of his assistants was Mr. Joseph j 

Riley, a gentleman who afterwards gained a reputation as a V 

schoolmaster at Rawdon and Steeton, subsequently removing 
to Pannal, near Harrogate. His brother Edmund Riley, 
another Bradford schoolmaster, also received his training as 
assistant at Horton House Academy. We believe that Mr. 
Hinchliffe took up the teaching connection of Mr. Nesbitt, a 
celebrated schoolmaster in Westgate, whose works on "Mensu- 
ration" and " Arithmetic" had a far more than local reputation. 

Mr. Hinchliffe v/as a Moravian, and chiefly through his \ 

influence the Moravian Chapel at Holme Top was erected. ] 

He was also most zealous in teaching the young collier lads i 

at Wibsey, gathering them on Sundays for that purpose at 
the place of worship long maintained by the Moravians at 
Chapel Fold, Brownroyd Hill. Mr. Hinchliffe was the author 
of several works on the art of speaking ; and one of them, 
entitled the " Academic Speaker," illustrated with plates, 
attained some reputation, and he also published several books 
of poems. Mr. Hinchliffe was a man of a very active and 
energetic mind, and fully alive to the all-important duties of 



Rambles Round H or ton. 83 

his position. His bodily activity was so great that he might 
be Htcrally said to be ahvays occupied. The hitter years of 
his life were, however, unfortunately embittered by the loss 
of the greater portion of his hard-earned savings, which, 
although invested with care and apparent prudence, were lost 
by others over whom he had no control. As soon, however, 
as his difficulties became known, his former pupils formed a 
committee and immediately raised amongst themselves a very 
substantial pecuniary testimonial, amounting to upwards of 
;!^700 ; thus alleviating, as far as possible, the pain which loss 
of property almost invariably occasions to those who have no 
longer the physical power to retrieve their position. Mr. 
Hinchliffe was interred at the Moravian settlement at Fulneck 
in April, 1853, aged seventy-two years. 

Horton House at the period of which we write was the 
property but not the residence of Colonel Fitzgerald, who 
lived at Boldshay Hall, Barkerend. The property came to 
him, however, by his marriage with the daughter of Dr. 
Crowtlier, who had married a niece of Samuel Lister, of 
Horton. The Lister family, therefore, were the ancient 
possessors of Horton House, and bore the same arms (ermine 
on a fess sable, three mullets or, a canton gules), and were, 
like the Listers of Ovenden and Shibden, descended from 
the Listers of the township of Halifax. 

The Listers of Horton may be traced to a remote period 
in local history. From abundant documentary evidence 
before us it appears that the family held land in Northowram 
by copy of court roll in succession from father to son from 
the year 1422. The descent of the family might even be 
traced to the year 1272, when Bate le Lister, or, according 
to the Latin rendering, " tinctor," of Halifax, purchased half 
an acre of land in Northowram, in Hipperholme greaveship, 
of William of Halifax, the miller (molendinarius). From 
him descended John Bate-son, living in 1329, and Richard, 
son of Bate. In 1382 Robert Lister, probably the son of 
Richard, had a licence for dyeing granted to him tor life 
by the Monastery of Lewes, the priors whereof v/ere lords 
of the manor of Halifax, and he served as constable of 
Halifax in 1372. 



84 Rambles Round H or ton. 

From the above enumeration we derive some interesting 
information as to the origin of names. A dyer in remote 
times was known as a lister, lyster, lyttester, dyer, dyster, or 
dister, while in legal documents the Latinised form of tinctor 
was employed. Thus Bate the " tinctor," or dyer, became 
Bate the " lister," and ultimately the latter became the 
surname of the family. Another name seems to have sprung 
from the same root. Bate the "lister" had sons, one of whom 
in 1329 is called Bate-son, and thus we have the now common 
name of Bateson. In a similar manner have become localised 
such names as Walker, one who thickened cloth by treading 
it before the invention of fulling machinery ; Webster, a 
weaver ; Barker, a tanner, and others. 

Resuming our notes of the Lister family, we find that 
the Robert Lister who in 1382 held the exclusive privilege of 
dyeing in the manor of Halifax was succeeded by Richard, 
who in 141 2 was constable of Halifax and an imxportant man. 
He held a lease of the tolls of the town of Halifax, and in 
addition to the inheritance from the above-named Robert of a 
messuage and land in Halifax, he was the owner by purchase 
of several estates in Halifax and Northowram, and paid in 
1409 the highest rent of all their Halifax tenants to the lords 
of that manor — the Prior and Convent of Lewes. In 142 1 he 
purchased from John Naylor two acres lying under " Haylay 
Bank." In 1429 he also purchased a close of land in 
Northowram, called the " Yvepighill," of John Symson. In 
1435 Richard Lister took of the lords of the manor a certain 
parcel of waste land in Halifax adjoining the " North Brige," 
near which was a mill pond belonging to him, and doubtless 
used by him in his business, and in 1439 he released to 
Richard Moore his rights in a close of land called Horlaw- 
greene Close, in Northowram, which formerly belonged to 
Richard Illingworth, and whose daughter, Cecilia, Moore 
had married. 

The names given above will be readily identified by those 
acquainted with the locality. The Ovenden and Northowram 
estates continued in the Lister family until sold in 1756 by 
Samuel Lister, J. P., of Horton, to Mr. John Watkinson. The 
farm at Ovenden was called " Parklands " or " Parkroyd." 



Ra/iiblcs Round Morton. 85 

In 1452 the Northowram estates of Richard Lister were 
surrendered by him to the use of his son WilHam, who had 
evidently begun to assume a position in the locahty. In 
Glover's Visitation, 1612, the pedigree of the Listers of Hull 
is traced to this Richard, as is also that of the Shibden family, 
as recorded in tlie Heralds College. 

The Listers, although owning lands at Horton, appear to 
have lived at Ovenden until Jolin Lister, grandson of the 
above-named William Lister, about 1524. came to reside here; 
and paid to the subsidy levied in that year " for ^3 
lands, 3s.," in Horton tov/nship. In the muster roll for the 
"liberties of Bradford," temp. Henry VIII., under the head 
of Horton, we find that this John Lister was one of the five 
township-men who furnished a " horse and harness " apiece, 
and he is described as one of thirt\' who carried " bills." His 
son was Richard, who succeeded to the Horton and Ovenden 
lands in 1543, and died in 1546, seised in fee by military 
service (the sixteenth part of one knight's fee^ of " one 
messuage, 20 acres of land, 12 acres of meadow, and 
100 acres of pasture in Horton." Richard Lister's successor 
was his son Thomas, three years old at his father's 
death. He appears to have liv^ed chiefly at Parklands, 
Ovenden, and to have died there, as his children were all 
baptised at Halifax. An ancient deed, dated 1591, however, 
affords presumptive evidence that prior to his decease there 
were members of the Lister family resident at Horton, as 
Thomas Lister and John Lister are both parties to a 
conveyance by William Collinson to Robert Collinson of 
" two closes tn Horton, abutting on lands belonging to John 
Armitage, of Kirklees, on the south side, and on the north 
by the moor or common of Horton." The deed was drawn 
by Abm. Lister, attorney, of Bowling. 

Thomas Lister died in 1606, seised, according to a post 
mortem inquisition of the Court of Wards, in fee b}- military 
service, of "one messuage and 3^ bovates of land, meadow and 
pasture, containing 40 acres, to the same messuage belonging 
in Horton, and also of 14 acres of land in Horton. and one 
other messuage and 10 acres of land, meadow and pasture, 
in Ovenden." 



86 Rambles Round H or ton. 

Thomas Lister married Sibella Nortliend at Halifax, and 
left two sons, John, his heir and forty years old at his father's 
death, and Samuel. The latter married, in 1598, Susanna, 
daughter of William Drake, of Northovvram, and was the 
founder of the Shibden Hall branch of the Lister family. 
Shibden Hall is situate in the lower portion of Shibden Dale, 
and is a fine example of the timber-built residences of the 
earlier part of the fifteenth century. The earliest possessors 
were a family named Otes, who appear to have been w^ell 
settled there by the year 14 10. Owing to careful treatment 
at the hands of subsequent owners, the hall retains much of 
its original character, and it is not likely to suffer while under 
the guardianship of its present owner, Mr. John Lister, M.A., 
a lineal descendant of Samuel Lister, named above. 

John, the elder brother of Samuel Lister, succeeded to 
the Horton and Ovenden estates, and resided at Little 
Horton. \\\ 161 2 it was found by an inquisition that "John 
Lister, of Little Horton, payeth yearly one pair of ivJiite spurs 
to the King." The curious nature of this tenure had its origin 
in the feudal disposition of lands generally. \x\ the great 
survey taken in 131 1 of all the territorial possessions of the 
Lacies; the Abbot of Kirkstall, for four oxgangs (or 48 acres) 
of land in Horton, was only required to present yearly a pair 
of white spurs. Such tenures w^ere not unfrequent at the 
period referred to, especially in respect to lands held by 
religious houses. It has been assumed by Mr. John James 
that the land in question was the gift of the Lacies, and that 
it lay near to Burnet Field. A sister of John Lister, of Little 
Horton, was married in 1602 to Caleb Kempe,*B.D., vicar of 
I^radford. 

A succession of Johns, three in number, followed. By 
the terms of a revoked will made in 1678, John Lister, 
gentleman, described as late of Ovenden, but now of Horton, 
devised " all that messuage called Parkroyd, in Wheatley, 
with lands, &c., to his son Joseph, also his interest in the lease 
of Mixenden Mills, which he had of my lords Halifax." Two 
messuages, lands, and farms in Horton, in his own occupation 
and that of Thomas I'^ox, together with his Halifax and 
Lancashire estates, he left to his son John the younger, for 



Rambles Ran id Morton. 87 

the term of " fourscore years if he should hve so long," and 
after his death to his son Samuel Lister, his heirs, &c., and in 
default of such issue then to John Lister, a younger son of 
John his son. To Samuel Lister, as eldest son of his father 
John, the family property descended, and as heir to his 
younger brother, also named John, whose will was dated 
1705, he succeeded to "all those two messuages or tenements 
situate in Ovenden, late in the several occupations of John 

Allinson and Jonathan ; and also that tenement called 

Park House, now in the tenure of James Smith, and also 
those two messuages situate in Horton, in the occupations of 
the said testator, and also his other tenements wheresoever 
situate." 

Samuel Lister married Martha, a daughter of William 
Midgley, of Scholemoor, one of the influential families of the 
period. He died in 1752, leaving issue an only son Samuel 
and a daughter Elizabeth. Samuel Lister, the younger, born 
in 1 7 14, married Mary Midgley, another member of the 
Scholemoor family of that name, for his first wife. She died 
in 1764 without issue, and he married secondly Dorothy, 
daughter of Wm. Lister, of Shipley. There was no issue of 
the second marriage. 

Samuel Lister lived at Little Horton, and probably 
rebuilt the present substantial residence called Horton House. 
He was for some years a justice of the peace, and an 
influential member of the community. He disposed of the 
Ovenden estates inherited by him to John Watkinson, jun., in 
1756, but must have added considerably to the extent of his 
Horton property, as his name frequently occurs in deeds of 
conveyance as mortgagee or purchaser of land and messuages 
in the neiehbourhood. Under the deed of settlement made 
in 1766 on the marriage of Samuel Lister with his second 
wife Dorothy, the Horton estates are described as " all that 
capital messuage in Little Horton wherein he dwelt, together 
with closes known as Hargreave Land, Hollingreave, Hutchcn 
Yard, and Great Flatt, occupied by Benjamin Stables ; Narr 
Langside, purchased by Samuel Lister of Benjamin Kennet, 
clerk, and inherited by him from his grandfather, Mr. 
Stockdale ; also the messuage wherein Abraham Balme 



88 Rambles Round Horton. 

did dwell, and the Great Laistridge, Little Laistridge or 
Mary Hind Fields, occupied by Abraham Balme ; also 
Boggard Close, occupied by John Balme ; Three Nook, 
occupied by Henry Blagburn ; also Bowling Ing, Pudding 
Ing, Tumbling Hill, and other closes in Horton occupied 
by John Whitaker ; also the Norcroft Brow, purchased by 
Samuel Lister of Thomas Aked, and previously owned by 
Faith Sawrey, wadow ; also the Far Silbridge, occupied by 
Richard Hargreaves ; and three messuages in Kirkgate 
occupied by John Fearnley, John Tottie, and Samuel 
Wilkinson ; and another house in Kirkgate, occupied by 
Mr. Sedgwick, together with two closes of meadow land at 
Piper Grave and Manningham Stoop, in the occupation of 
Mr. Sedgwick ; also a road 14 ft. wide, called the Cockholme, 
leading to the School Holme, Mr. Bartlett's Holme, the 
Norcroft, and the Langsides above mentioned," &c. 

Samuel Lister died in 1769. In his will, made before 
the death of his first wife, Mary, and after provision made for 
her, he bequeathed his estate in trust to his friend Benjamin 
Bartlett, of Bradford, with a provision that a sum of iJ^200 
should be paid to him for his trouble in realising outstanding 
mortgages, and in seeing to the discharge of all his debts. 
The residue of his estate he devised to " Samuel Lister, of 
Horton, gentleman," during the term of his natural life, 
and in default of heirs male to his the testator's niece, 
Mary Hemingway, with the proviso that in case of her 
marriage she and her husband should take the surname of 
Lister, and reside at Horton House. In the event of these 
conditions not being complied with, the estates were to pass 
to Japhet Lister, of Northgate House, Halifax ''brother to 
Jeremy Lister, of Shibden Hall), and his heirs male. Japhet 
Lister, however, died leaving only one daughter. 

The " Samuel Lister, of Horton," to whom the Horton 
estates were thus bequeathed, subsequently resided at 
IManningham, and was an attorney-at-law and clerk to the 
trustees of the turnpike road between Bradford and Keighley, 
by way of Toller Lane and Cottingley ; also of the turnpike 
between Dudley Hill and Killinghall. He married Mary, the 
daughter of Dorothy Stapleton (who was a Sharpy, and died 



1 






.fflKS3 


BRHV^^IH^H 







Rambles Round Hortoii. 89 

without issue in 1792. He is described as a cousin of the 
Listers of Shibden. At any rate, he never came into the 
property, nor did Mary Hemingway. 

In explanation, it should be stated that Elizabeth, sister 
of Samuel Lister, married in 1740 Henry Hemingway, a 
noted attorney, then residing at Boldshay Hall. She died in 
1772. leaving an only daughter, Mary, the " niece " referred to 
in Samuel Lister's will, and who was married to Dr. Crowther, 
of Leeds, and subsequently of York. Samuel Lister, how- 
ever, married again, as stated above, I^orothy Lister, and she 
became tenant for life of her husband's estates. At his decease 
Dorothy married for her second husband Richard Hodsden, 
and it was only after her death in 1814 that Miss Elizabeth 
Crowther, the only surviving daughter of Dr. Crowther and 
Mary Hemingway, entered into possession of the Lister 
estates as heir-at-law of Samuel Lister, besides succeeding to 
the Boldshay propert}'. 

In 1819 Elizabeth Crowther married Colonel Thos. Geo. 
Eitzgerald, of Turlough Castle, Ireland. Of this marriage 
were Henry Thomas George Fitzgerald, born at Boldshay in 
1820, and two daughters. Colonel Fitzgerald married for his 
first wife Delia, daughter of Joshua Field, of Heaton Hall, 
and sister of Mr. John Wilmer Field, and had one son, 
who took the Irish estates. Colonel Fitzgerald resided at 
Boldshay Hall, and took a position among the gentry of the 
period. His son. Major Fitzgerald, who is still living in the 
south of England, married Elizabeth Harriet Yates, eldest 
daughter of the Rev. S. W. Yates, of Reading, and has three 
sons and two daughters. 

In collating the above from \'oluminous manuscripts we 
have confined our remarks pretty generally to the line of 
the Horton Listers. There were evidently, however, various 
branches in and around Bradford, and probably of the same 
parent stock — the Listers of Halifax. Confirmation of this 
is furnished by the lists of guests invited to funerals of 
members of the Lister family of Shibden Hall, in which 
the Listers of Wibsey, Horton, Manningham, and Bolton 
are mentioned, and in some cases are referred to as 



90 Rambles Round H or ton. 

The Listers were zealous friends of the ParHamentarians 
during the Civil Wars, and in "James's History of Bradford" 
we find the following reference to that period : — 

John Lister, the father, and Joseph Lister, the son, resided in a 
house on the site of Horton Low Hall, and were clothmakers, and 
suffered terribly from the pillage of the town by the Royalist troops after 
the seige of Bradford in 1643. 

The original document setting forth the claim for 
compensation put in by the family is in the possession of 
Mr. Hailstone, of Walton Hall, who has kindly furnished us 
with the followino- extract from it : — 



'fc> 



5 13 

72 4 


4 




... /228 4 


6 



Certificate of money paid by John Lister, the father, and Joseph 
Lister, the son, inhabitants in Horton, in the parish of Bradford Dale, 
being constant in their affections and actions for the Parliament and loss 
at the taking of the said town by the Earl of Newcastle's army upon the 
2d and 3d July, A.D. 1643, as followeth : — 

I tems — 

Lent upon the public faith ^10 o o 

Item one meare put into Colonell Bright's 

Troop with her garniture 

Item in free quarter 

Total of the Account 

Put in Dec. 17, 1649. 

Many other items are contained in the original document 
referring to articles taken away or destroyed by the Royalist 
troops, while other entries show that necessaries had been 
provided by the Listers for the Parliamentary forces. It will 
be noticed that the account was not sent in with a view to 
obtain payment until six years after the siege of Bradford. 

It was to another member of the Lister family that 
subsequent generations have been indebted in a great measure 
for an account of the memorable siege of Bradford, namely, 
Joseph Lister, who was an eye-witness, and whose description 
Mr. James spoke of as " artless and simple, and bearing 
internal evidence of its truthfulness." 

Joseph Lister, in his Autobiography, describes himself as 
having been "born at Bradford, of godly and religious parents, 
in June, 1627." He would, therefore, be sixteen years old at 



Rambles Round Horton. 91 

the period when he was witness of the events which he 
narrates. At fourteen years he was apprenticed to learn the 
trade of a clothier with John Sharp, Little Horton, the father 
of Abraham Sharp, the famous mathematician, residinij at 
Horton Hall. In 1657 he married Sarah Denton, and had 
two sons, one of whom, Accepted Lister, was born at Bailey 
Fold, Allerton, and was minister of Kipping Chapel, Thornton. 
Both father and son died in 1709, within a few days of each 
other. 

Some doubt exists as to the parentage of Joseph Lister, 
the historian of the siege. From the information given in 
Holroyd's valuable tracts on Bradford history, and notes 
supplied by Mr. Empsall, we gather that his father was named 
Edward Lister, who in 161 8 married Sarah Hill, sister of 
Edward Hill. M.A. The latter gentleman was some time 
vicar of Huddersfield, and afterwards of Crofton, from whence 
he was ejected by the Act of Uniformity in 1662. Under 
the Five-mile Act he afterwards removed to Shibden, near 
Halifax, preaching, like Oliver Heywood, where he could, and 
according to Wright, died in 1669, at Shibden Hall. He was 
the first subscriber to the Vindicice Veritatis in 1648. A 
" cousin," Edward Hill, is referred to in private memoranda 
of the Lister family of Overbrea and Shibden Hall, who 
resided in London, and was son of the Rev. Edward Hill. 
He was a partner with Samuel Lister, of Shibden, as cloth 
merchants. Joshua Hill, minister of the chapel at Bramley, 
was another brother of Sarah Hill. 

It is worthy of note, however, that there was a family of 
Listers residing at Bolton, who were in intimate relationship 
with the Listers of Shibden and Horton, and were often 
referred to in Oliver Heywood's diaries. Is it probable that 
Joseph Lister, the historian, was of this family } In \'ol. II. 

there is the following entry :— " Lister, of Bolton, near 

Bradford, buried there July 23, 1683, grandfather to ]\Ir. Jo. 
Lister, preacher, aged eighty." The dates correspond with 
the statement of Joseph Lister that he was born in 1627. 
He, however, states that he was born at Bradford, but Bolton 
is very near to Bradford, or his father might ha\-e removed 
there. 



92 Rainblcs Round Horton. 

Another name is also suggested by a perusal of the 
Lister pedigree of more than local reputation, namely, that 
of Sterne. At two periods in the family history relationship 
was established between the Listers and the Sternes ; from 
the latter, it may be stated, were descended Richard Sterne, 
Archbishop of York in 1683, and the Rev. Lawrence Sterne, 
author of " Tristram Shandy " and " The Sentimental 
Journey." It may not be generally known that the vivacious 
author was for some time a pupil at Hipperholme Grammar 
School, Halifax (see note). In his Autobiography he says: — ■ 
"In the autumn of that year, 1722 (or the spring afterwards, 
I forget which), my father got leave of his colonel to fix me 
at school, which he did near Halifax, with an able master." 

An elaborate record of this family would exhaust more 
space than can now be afforded. Suffice it at present to state 
that Simon Sterne, of Woodhouse, near Halifax, left a 
numerous family, the eldest son being Richard Sterne, who 
married in 1703 for his first wife Dorothy, relict of Samuel 
Lister, of Shibden Hall, where, until the death of the said 
Dorothy, he resided ; and, secondly, Hester, daughter of 
Timothy Booth, of Halifax ; also a son Roger, the father of 
the celebrated Lawrence Sterne. Of Richard Sterne's second 
marriage was, with other issue, Dorothy, married to William 
Lister, of Shipley, whose daughter, also named Dorothy 
(evidently a favourite name), married, first, Samuel Lister, 
of Horton, and secondly, Richard Hodsden, a London 
gentleman. Their only daughter, Frances, was married to 
George Carroll, son of George Carroll, gentleman, of county 
Wicklow. Mr. Carroll, who lived for some time at Horton 



NoTK ON Laurence Sterne. — The accuracy of this statement is questioned 
by an old pupil of Heath Grammar School, who contends that the latter well-known 
school, situate on the other side of Halifax, was that to which Sterne was sent. A 
similar contention is held by another local antiquary. On the other hand we have the 
testimony of a gentleman near Hipperholme, in whose family is preserved the tradition 
that Sterne habitually called at the family residence while walking to and from school, 
and who i)oints out that at the period referred to there certainly was not the "'able 
master" at Heath alluded to by .Sterne in his Autobiograjihy, while there was at 
Hipperholme in the person of Nathan Sharp. Tlien we have the evidence rendered in 
the history of Heath Grammar Scliool, cotni)ile(l by Mr. Cox, a late master, who is of 
opinion that it was at Hipperholme .School that Sterne received liis education, and not 
at Heath, although he might have first been .sent there. 



1 



Rambles Round H or ton. 93 

House, subsequently removed to Boston Spa, and died in 
1861. His sons were Coote Alexander, a West Riding 
magistrate, and high sheriff of county Wicklow in 1862 ; 
Richard Sterne, a West Riding magistrate, lately deceased ; 
George Frederick, now living at Boston Spa ; and Francis 
Rawdon, deceased. 

In concluding this notice of H^orton House it may be 
stated that the property remained in the hands of the 
Fitzgeralds until a short time ago, when it was disposed of 
by public auction. 



94 Rambles Round H or ton. 



CHAPTER IX. 

Horton Hall — The Sharp Family— John Sharp, the Parliamentarian— The Rev. Thos. 
Sharp, M. A.— John Sharp, M.D.— Abraham .Sharp, the Mathematician; his 
Workshop at Horton Hall — Charles Swain Booth Sharp— Madam Sharp— Mrs. 
Giles. 

No district in the township of Horton has retained its 
primitive character more than the neighbourhood of Horton 
Green ; and probably from this reason there is no more 
desirable place of residence in the borough of Bradford. 
Situated at a medium altitude, and lying well open to the 
western breezes, the line of dwellings fringing the " Green " 
enjoy an immunity from the evils attendant upon an over- 
crowded neighbourhood which is possessed by few residential 
districts, having open fields both to front and rear. It is not 
to Horton Green and its former residents, however, that this 
chapter is intended to be devoted, but to the leading family 
which for hundreds of years has been associated with the 
locality. In subsequent papers we shall not overlook those 
of humbler rank and station. 

In a lecture delivered by the late Canon Fawcett, of Low 
Moor, relating to old Bradford families, the following remark 
occurs : — " There is scarcely any name associated with the 
early history of Bradford parish of more real interest than 
that of the Sharps of Horton." The worthy Canon might 
have added that none of the several respectable families 
associated with the township could boast of so continuous a 
connection with it as the Sharps can. So early as the year 
1365, as appears from a deed executed at that period, Wm. 
de Leventhorpe, the then lord of the manor, conveyed to 
Thos. Sharp two bovates or oxgangs, being as much land as 
an ox could plough in a year, and a messuage in Little 
Horton, adjoining to lands belonging to the Abbot of 
Kirkstall. 

In previous papers reference has been made to the easy 
payment required of the monastic head of the Abbey of 
Kirkstall for his holding, namely, the annual presentation to 



Rambles Round Hoi' ton. 95 

the lord of the manor of a pair of wliite gilt spurs. Whether 
the "messuage" referred to occupied the site of Horton Hall, 
so long associated with the Sharp family, we have no 
information. From documents dated 1390 evidence exists 
that two members of the Sharp family had acquired a 
position entitling them to grants from the surrounding 
wastes ; for at that period William, the son of Jordan de 
Bradford, conveyed to John, the son of Thomas Sharp, of 
Little Horton (probably the Thomas named in the 1365 
deed), half an acre of land situate in Horton. The second 
document, dated "Friday, in third v/eek of Lent," 1390, is a 

Grant by feoffment from William de Leventhorp, of the parish of 
Bradford, to John, son of William, son of Robert de Horton, and 

Thomas, son of [qy. John] Scharpe, of Little Horton, of the Manor 

of Leventhorpe, in Bradforddale. Rent, 5 marks per annum. Witnesses 
— Geoffrey de Leventliorpe ; William, son of Robert de Horton ; Adam 
del Apilyerde ; John Mortimer, of Clayton, sen. ; and John Bailey, of 
AUerton. 

It would thus appear that Thomas Sharp divided the 
manorship of Leventhorpe with John de Florton, but his 
possession was not of long continuance, for in the year 1402, 
according to another deed, 

Thomas, son of John Scharpp, of Little Horton, released to 
Geoffrey, son of William de Leventhorp, all his right in the manor of 
Leventhorp, and of all lands in Thornton, in Bradforddale, which he 
lately had of the gift of the said William. 

In records of the time of Ed. IV. (1461-83) we find the 
names of John Scharp and Christopher Scharp (son and heir 
of John; parties to a deed with John HoUins, of Clayton. 
This Christopher Sharp was assessed in 1520 upon ^^20 in 
goods (a large amount in those days), and paid los. By his 
will, dated 1530, he ordered his body to be buried in the 
" Kirkgarth of SS. Peter and Paul, Bradford." To the " h)-e 
altar " there " for tythes forgotten," he bequeathed the sum 
of 3s. 4d. ; to " kyrkwork," 3s. 4d. ; the rest to Alice, his wife. 
The v/itnesses to tliis will were Sir Thos. Ecop, Sir Tristram 
Horton, and James Sharp. The titled gentlemen were priests 
of the "hye-altar of St. Peter" at Bradford, the order to 
which they belonged not unfrequently officiating as witnesses 
to the wills of wealthy members of the church. 



96 Rambles Round Hortoii, 

As to James Sharp, the last-named witness, considerable 
interest attaches to his identity from an antiquarian point of 
view, as upon his connection with the family under notice 
depends the relationship of Archbishop Sharp with the 
Horton family of the name. John James remarks upon 
this point that James Sharp was evidently a near relative, 
but the exact point of relationship had not been found. The 
family, however, do not claim descent through the Christopher 
Sharp named above, but from another Christopher, a man of 
large property in Horton, whose will was proved in 1543, and 
to which document the James Sharp just mentioned was also 
witness. He was probably the Christopher Sharp referred to 
in the muster roll of the West Riding, as contributing a 
" horse and harness," the other four being William Feild, 
Omfray Wood, John Lister, and John Ffourness. 

The establishing of the connection of Archbishop Sharp's 
family with the Sharps of Horton has engaged the attention 
of many genealogists, including Courthorpe, Rouge Croix 
Pursuivant of Arms, and we have, through the courtesy of 
Mr. F. S. Powell, had the benefit of his researches, the result 
of which will more appropriately appear in treating of the 
Archbishop's descent. 

The existence of several branches within one township 
and the repetition of John, Thomas, and Christopher as 
Christian names, renders research somewhat perplexing, and 
of this multiplicity sufficient evidence exists. In 1606, from 
the copy of a deed before us, it appears that " Christopher 
Sharp, of Horton, clothier, gives and grants to Samuel Sharp, 
his son, one close called Nether Moor Close, containing one 
acre, which he purchased of Thomas Hodgson, Thomas 
Sharp, Robert Booth, and William Feild (and which was 
evidently a portion of the waste land conveyed in 1589 from 
the Lacy family to the persons named in the deed) — Signed 
— Thomas Sharp, John Hillhouse, Thomas Butterfield, and 
by me Thomas Sharp, the writer " — the latter being evidently 
a lawyer. 

In the Subsidy Roll of May, 1608, Thomas Sharp, sen. 
and jun„ and John Sharp are each assessed for lands at 20s., 
and pay upon that assessment 2s. 8d, We have also an 



Rambles Round H or ton. 97 

indenture before us made between Alice Sharp, of Schole- 
moor, late wife of Thomas Sharp, and others. The 
Scholemoor Sharps were somewhat influential at that period. 
Coming to more recent times we may close our extracts from 
taxation rolls by quoting from the land and property tax for 
Horton of the year 1704, laid at 4s. in the pound, in which 
Mrs. Sharp appears as a contributor to the extent of 
£4. 17s. 6d., and Isaac Sharp for ^3 iis. 3d. These 
individuals represented the two main branches into which the 
family had become divided, and which now centre in Mr. 
Francis Sharp Powell, the present representative of the 
Sharps of Horton. 

As just intimated, the Sharp family were in two 
branches, the partition taking place upwards of 200 years 
ago, when Horton Old Hall (the residence of Mr. F. S. 
Powell) was built for the younger branch. Horton Hall, the 
adjoining residence, was the home of the elder branch, 
associated in recent times with the names of Madam Sharp 
and Mrs. Giles, and more recently with that of Mr. Hailstone. 
The two branches were of different religious and political 
tendencies — the elder branch being staunch Parliamentarians 
and Puritans ; while the younger were Royalists and 
Episcopalians. Following the dictates both of convenience 
and propriety, we may therefore first make reference to 
Horton Hall and its former owners and occupants. 

The Sharps, like most of the yeomen of these parts, 
combined the trade of clothier with that of cultivator of the 
soil. The result of this arrangement may be observed in the 
construction of residences of the period, which as a rule were 
roomy and substantially built, providing accommodation in 
the "house-body" or in an upper chamber for several pairs of 
rude wooden looms, the preparatory processes being managed 
by the women or young people of the family, while the male 
members alternately plied the loom and engaged in field 
work, as occasion demanded. 

To this class we assume Thomas Sharp, whose will was 

dated 1607, to have belonged. He was the son of John Sharp 

(from whom also sprang the Sharps of Tong), whose father 

was the Christopher previously referred to as having died 

G 



98 Rambles Round Horton. 

in 1 543, and who was a man of considerable means. Thomas 
Sharp profited by his inheritance, his father leaving him " one 
thing of the best of every kind of vessel accustomed to be 
' occupied ' at his house at Horton." By indenture dated 
1589, he, with Thomas Hodgson, of Boiling, Robert Booth 
and William Feild, of Horton, had conveyed to them from 
Richard Lacy 250 acres of the unenclosed wastes of Horton 
and fourteen acres lately enclosed. By another indenture he 
purchased from Thomas Hodgson, of Bowling, a close called 
Bowling Mill Close for ;^88. In conjunction with his son 
John he also added to the estate South Croft, Leysteads, and 
Hollingreave land. 

It was from this Thomas Sharp there sprang two sons, 
Thomas and John, who became the founders of the two main 
branches of the Sharp family. John, the younger brother, 
was a distinguished Royalist, having been in several battles 
on the side of Charles I., and who never suffered his beard to 
be shaved after his Royal master's execution at Whitehall. 
In 1629 he added to the Horton estate Kent Close, and 
purchased other land from Thomas Wood and Henry Walker, 
of Bradford. To his line, however, we must refer subse- 
quently. His elder brother Thomas, who died in 1636, was 
the father of John Sharp, the noted Parliamentarian, having 
been born in 1604. He married Mary, the daughter of 
Robert Clarkson, of Fairgap, Bradford, and among their nine 
children were the Rev. Thomas Sharp, once vicar of Adel, 
and afterwards an ardent Nonconformist, and Abraham 
Sharp, the mathematician. 

John Sharp, the Parliamentarian, was undoubtedly a 
prominent character during the Civil Wars. He was also a 
clothier, reference having b?cn previously made to him in 
that capacity as the master of Joseph Lister, the historian of 
the siege of Bradford ; but in all probability he was a 
merchant as well as manufacturer. His educational training, 
however, must have been above the average of the craft to 
which he belonged, as is evidenced by documents prepared by 
him still extant. His sympathies were strongly on the side 
of Parliament during the fierce struggle which prevailed during 
the Civil Wars, the results of which were apparent in the 



Rambles Round Hortou. 99 

partial sacking of Bradford town. After the battle of 
Adwalton Moor and the siege of Bradford he followed the 
fortunes of General Fairfax, and was present at the engage- 
ments at Nantvvich and Marston Moor. John Sharp, indeed, 
seems to have acted as private secretary to General Fairfax 
during the western campaign, evidence of which is furnished 
by a relic now in the possession of Mr. Hailstone, of Walton 
Hall. For his services he was presented by Parliament with 
a gold medal, having a figure of Fairfax on the obverse ; 
round the rim of the reverse " Post hac meliora " ; and in 
the centre the word " Meruisti." Besides his other duties 
John Sharp was the receiver of the rectorial tithes of Brad- 
ford parish for Sir John Maynard, and generally occupied 
a position of influence in the neighbourhood. He died 
respected by all his neighbours in 1672, the inventory of 
his possessions showing him to have acquired considerable 
wealth during his lifetime. 

John Sharp by his will left his house and lands to his 
eldest son, the Rev. Thomas Sharp, brother of Abraham the 
mathem.atician, who rebuilt Horton Hall from a plan now in 
Mr. Powell's possession, which shows how he used up the 
timbers of the house then existing for the larger and more 
pretentious residence. Towards the close of 1675 he prepared 
an agreement with Nathan Sharp, of Wike, mason, for the 
building of " one piece of housing adjoining the now dwelling- 
house of Thomas Sharp, about 18 yds. or 19 yds. in length, 
7j yds. in breadth, and about ^\ yds. in height, at the square, 
and to pay for the same £a^6'' (a very modest sum as building 
is now computed). 

An inspection of this interesting relic of old Bradford 
shows the original building to have been comoletelv encom- 
passed by the newer erection, the ancient timber-built walls, 
once outside, being plainly visible now within the buildin?. 
The old erection, judging by its appearance, seems to have 
been six " crooks " in length, a " crook " representing the 
span of the original roof timbers. The entrance-hall on the 
north side of the building is low and quaint in appearance, 
showing the ancient timber supports of very substantial 
character. 



100 Rambles Round Horton. 

The original entrance was by an arched doorway, the 
arms of the Sharps being thereon. There was a courtyard, 
having on one side the blank wall of some outbuildings, 
and another courtyard, which were thrown together by Mr. 
Edward Hailstone to form one large court. The panelling on 
the north side of the hall has been brought forward. The 
space to the back, where a pillar was put up by Mr. Hailstone 
to support the ceiling, was originally two rooms, with a pas- 
sage between, and there were folding-doors, one towards the 
hall, and the other the library. One space was called the 
" Tinello," the Italian expression for " servants' hall." The 
reception-rooms contained good work in oak, the wall 
decoration and ceiling reliefs being evidently of later date 
than 1680, the period when the old mansion was completed 
by Thomas Sharp. 

A quaint and picturesque appearance is given to the 
frontage on the south side by the projecting porch, forming 
the base of a square tower. This formed part of the original 
structure, and was used by Abraham Sharp for his observatory, 
from whence his observations of the heavens were taken. 
The room known as Abraham Sharp's study had an internal 
railing, with a door and slide window, through which, it was 
said, meals were served to him while engaged in his studies. 
The railing was some years ago taken down to fit the room 
for use. The chamber over the washhouse outside was his 
workshop, and in the window are the original pieces of wood 
to which Sharp's lathe was attached. The sketch given of 
Horton Hall shows the observatory tower used by Abraham 
Sharp. A wing to the right has given place to a handsome 
modern residence. 

This house, so famous for many stirring and interesting 
associations, was early resorted to by the Nonconformists of 
the period as a place of worship. A large room on the 
ground floor, afterwards used by Mr. Hailstone for a portion 
of his library, was licensed in 1672 by the Rev. Thomas 
Sharp, Abraham's elder brother, for preaching therein, and on 
the inside of the capacious window are scratched by his hand 
the initials T. S. During the occupancy of his father, John 
Sharp, the Parliamentarian, Horton Hall was frequently 




Horton Hall. 



I!.v li s <& Sous, Zincos. 



Rambles Round Hovton. loi 

resorted to by Oliver Heywood, in whose diaries there are 
frequent references to the visits paid by him. Two only must 
suffice : — 

Decern. 3, 1666, went to Mr. John Sharpes at Little Horton, where 
j\Ir. Sharpe having appointed a meetino- where he was to preach they put 
me upon that work in his roome. 

Mar. 5, 1671, I was called to keep a private fast at Mr. Sharpe's in 
Little Horton. Much of the day was spent before I could get my hand 
to the work, worldly thoughts much prevailing, jjut afterwards while 
Joseph Lister was at prayer my heart was wonderfully melted and kept 
in a wonderful sweet frame. 

The Joseph Lister referred to was doubtless the man who had 
served his apprenticeship to John Sharp, and was now on 
terms of Christian friendship with the family. 

Thomas Sharp, who succeeded to the Horton estates 
upon the death of his father in 1672, received his education 
at the Bradford Grammar School, then a notable nursery of 
learning, and in 1649 entered Clare Hall, Cambridge, and 
became an excellent classical scholar and mathematician, 
acquiring the degree of Master of Arts. Entering holy 
orders in 1660, he afterwards became vicar of Adel, near 
Leeds. Calamy says — " He enjoyed the living only for a 
little while, for upon the Restoration, Dr. Hick, of Guiseley, 
challenged it as his." Mr. Sharp hereupon resigned, and 
could have had other preferment but for the Act of 
Uniformity, whereby he was silenced. He retired to his 
father's house at Horton, and married a daughter of Mr. 
Bagnall. 

Upon the death of his father in 1672 the Rev. Thomas 
Sharp procured the licence for worship at Horton Hall, and 
there exercised the ministry with great acceptance to a large 
number of persons of like religious views with himself His 
first wife dying he married Faith, a daughter of the Rev. 
James Sale, of Pudsev, b\- whom he had several children. 
He afterwards accepted the pastorate of the Independent 
Chapel at Morley, and subsequently that of Mill Hill Chapel, 
Leeds, where he removed, meanwhile continuing his house at 
Horton. He died at Leeds in 1693, leaving his widow, and a 
son and two daughters, viz., Dr. John Sharp ; Elizabeth, who 



102 



Rambles Round Horton. 



married Robert Stansfield, a drysalter,and whose son, Robert 
by a second marriage, became owner by purchase of the 
Esholt estates ; and a daughter who died young. 
"*■ Dr. John Sharp was a man of great promise, but died at 
a premature age. He was born in 1674, and at twenty-three 
years of age proceeded to study physic at Leyden, as appears 
from a memorandum book in the possession of Mr. Powell. 
From this interesting relic we glean particulars of his journey 
to Holland, the outfit required for a medical student of his 
time, and other particulars. Thus, under date of 1697, we 
find the items : — 





I 


s. 


d. 


Passing from Rotterdam to Leyden . 


6 


-^ 

J 





Porter 





I 





Weekly reckoning 


-1 

J 


I 





Sword belt 


I 





2 


Buckles 





2 


4 


Scissors Case 





2 


4 


Pencil 








4 


Scissors 





2 





Wafers 








6 


A quire of Paper 








6 


Snuff-box and Snuff 


... 


n 


>-} - 


Wax Candles 











Quills 


..0 





5 


Spent at the Anatomy Class 





4 





To the Rector, for Matriculation... 


I 


10 





Weekly reckoning 


J 


4 





Wash gloves 


... 


15 





Teapot 


... 


3 


-> 


Handkerchiefs 


I 


3 






The date of his matriculation was the year 1699, when 
he was twenty-five years of age, as appears from entries in 
the memorandum book as follows, he having prior to that 
event made a journey to England : — 

1699. — Tuesday, 7th of 6th, at 3 ok, set sayle from Hull towards 
Rotterdam. Staid at anchor 2 leagues from land. 

Wednesday, at 4 o'clock, weighed anchor with wind S.W. 

Under date 22nd October, 1699, '•'' the form of his 
matriculation. Dr. John Sharp died in 1704, aged thirty 
years, f 



Rambles Round H or ton. 103 

By his decease, Horton Hall became the property and 
residence of Abraham, the second son of John Sharp, the 
Parliamentarian. This distinguished man was born at Horton 
in 1 65 1, in the building still associated with his name. He 
received his education at the Bradford Grammar School, 
which had been the seminary of his distinguished relative, 
Archbishop Sharp, Dr. Richardson, of Bierley, and others. 
The story oi his life has been oft repeated, and but a brief 
reference need now be made. On leaving school he was 
bound apprentice to a mercer at York ; but his mind was 
averse to trading, and his indentures were " broken " in order 
that he might give himself to scientific pursuits. At first he 
resided near Liverpool, but appears to have gone to London 
when nineteen years of age, in the position of bookkeeper 
to a merchant, and it was while filling this situation that 
he contracted a friendship with Flamsteed, the astronomer, 
who secured him as his assistant at Greenwich Observatory, 
then recently erected. At twenty-four years of age Abraham 
had made such progress in astronomical science that it is 
said he had constructed or regulated all the instruments 
used in the famous Greenwich Observatory. Li 1694 be 
returned to Horton. During this period of nearly a quarter 
of a century he appears to have kept entries of every 
half-penny he expended, as is shown by memorandum books 
to which, through Mr. Powell's courtesy, we have had access, 
and this methodical habit he kept up after his return to 
Horton, and probably until his death at over ninety years of 
age. Unfortunately many of the celebrated mathematician's 
papers and astronomical memoranda and calculations have 
been destroyed, some being only thought fit for lighting fires, 
and hence it is doubtful whether the life-story of a very 
remarkable Hortonian is now available. 

The handwriting in such memorandum books as have 
been preserved is of the most minute character, requiring the 
aid of a magnifying glass to thoroughly decipher the contents. 
In them we find many curious entries ; mathematical calcula- 
tions, entries relating to purchase of material for making 
scientific instruments, books, articles of wearing apparel, cost 
of living, &c., all mixed up together in the order apparently 



104 



Rambles Round Horton. 



in which they were expended. Thus, under date of the year 
1685, we cull the following items : — 





JL 


s. 


d. 


Boat hire to Greenwich 


... 


■-> 





Phil. Transactions 


2 


9 





Pd. for tying cravats 


... 


I 


5 


Washing gd., spent 6d 


... 


I 


-1 




Pd. for 12 doz. hair buttons 


... 


6 





4 yds. Shalloon 


... 


15 





Pd. for Transactions 


... 


18 





A letter 


... 





8 


Pair of Stockings 


... 


4 


6 


Brass wyer 


... 


3 


9 


Conquest of China 


... 


I 


6 


Dressing hat 


... 





6 


A dictionary 


... 


I 


6 


Lens 


... 





2 


A pair of brass Compasses 


... 


3 





3 Ground Wheels 


... 


3 


6 


Boat hire to Greenwich 


... 


1 


-> 

J 


Gellibrand's Trigonometry 


... 


10 





Ink horn 


... 





4 


4 glasses for a six-foot 


... 


10 





Pratts' Architecture 


... 


6 


6 


Paid for a hone 


... 


I 


6 


Pd. for Arcad. Princ 


... 


6 





Clear Varnish — 6 bottles 


... 


--> 


7 


2 pieces Lignum Vitae 


I 


18 





2 rolls of brass wyre. 271b. 50Z., at i8d. 


2 





6 


Gloves and tying cravat 


... 


5 


6 


Gold Thread 


... 





8 


Loadstone • 


... 


6 






There are many other item.s relating to personal expenses, 
cost of living, &c. 

Abraham Sharp returned to Little Horton in 1694, 
shortly after the death of his elder brother Thomas, and 
never left it afterwards for any lengthened period. He never 
married, but devoted his life to the study of astronomical 
subjects. His workshop was fitted with every description of 
astronomical instruments, all made by his own hands, a list of 
which made at his death, and the valuation, together with 
some of his account books, are in Mr. Hailstone's possession, 
as also his walking-stick, fitted with glasses as a telescope. 



Rambles Round Hoy ton. 105 

There is also a fine orrery in the museum at York, made by 
Abraham Sharp. His communications with Flamsteed were 
kept up at Horton, as is evidenced by the mention made of 
postage of letters from the great astronomer. 

Mr. Sharp was very irregular at his meals, and remark- 
ably sparing in his habits. A little square hole, something 
like a window, afforded communication between the room 
where he was generally employed in calculations, and another 
chamber or room in the house where a servant could enter, 
and before the hole he contrived a slide. The servant always 
placed his victuals, without speaking or making the least noise, 
and when he had a little leisure time he visited his cupboard 
to see what it afforded to satisfy his hunger and thirst. But 
it often happened that the breakfast, dinner, and supper 
remained untouched by him, and when the servant went 
to remove what was left the philosopher was found to hav^e 
been so deeply engaged in his calculations that he had quite 
forgotten all about his meals. Mr. Sharp is said to have been 
" one of the most accurate computors ever known." It is to 
be regretted, however, that he devoted his talents to such futile 
efforts as " squaring the circle," constructing logarithms to 
sixty -one y^X'A.CQ'i^ of decimals, &c., instead of more practical work. 

It is said that he lived the life of a recluse, rarelv holdin<jf 
communication with any one. Two friends, however, had the 
privilege of his acquaintance, namely. Dr. Swaine, of Hall 
Ings, and a Mr. Dawson, who were admitted by the signal of 
rubbing a stone against a certain part of the outside of his 
rooms. Abraham Sharp attended the Presbyterian Chapel 
at Bradford, of which he was a member, and every Sunday 
he took care to be provided with plenty of halfpence, which 
he very charitably suffered to be taken out of his hand, 
held behind him during his walk to the chapel, b\- the poor 
people who followed. He never looked back or asked a 
single question. 

Whatever the nature of his scientific studies, astronomical 
and mathematical, Abraham Sharp evidently kept a close eye 
upon the management of his estate and his hou.sehold expenses, 
as is evidenced by the minute accounts he kept of every item 
of receipts and expenditure. Thus in the year 1710, under 



106 Rambles Round Horton. 

dates June, July, and September, we find such items as the 
following : — 

I s. d. 
Pd. TiioS; Myers for making my black coat ... o 3 6 
Ben Bartlett for dressing sister's leg, and 

salve o 2 o 

Robert Stansfield to be laid out for funeral exs. 3800 

Registering Sister's Will o 5 8 

At Chapel for cjuarter which sister left o 10 o 

David Rodcs for shearing, 7 days o 3 6 

For a load of wheat o 15 6 

And under date 17 12, the following details : — 

Paid Land tax for Brecon Hill o 19 3 

Land tax for Ferrand Close 013 4 

\-\\\ Land tax for Shibden Hall land and 

Howgate Farm i 8 4 

Earl Warren's rent for Shibden Hall (land)... 080 

Lord's rents for land in Sowerby o 6 9 

Uncle Abm. .Sharp's interest 20 o o 

Abm. Jewett i^ year for window tax i 10 o 

Wm. Raper, for monument in Church 11 15 o 

8 load of lyme and leading stones for balcony 080 

Joseph Carr, for plastering 8 yards o 8 o 

8 stroak hair to Mr. Swain o 2 8 

100 slates to John Booth, and leading o 6 6 

Wm. Ellis for his work 013 o 

On the other side of the account for the last-named year 
we obtain some insight into the sources of Abraham Sharp's 
income, as follows : — 

Rd. of John Horton for trees 

Jos. Stansfield for his father's Whit-rents 
Jos. Stansfield for Higher End rents ... 

Rd. Ingham for Pudsey Mart 

Henry Atkinson for a calf 

Robt. Myers last ^ yr.'s rent 

John Dobson, h yr.'s rent 

Thos. Craven, ^ yr.'s rent 

John Burrow, \ yr.'s 

Abr. Sharp board, one year ^8 o 

For Near and Far Langsides, whole year 

.■\bm. Firth, h yr.'s rent 

P'or a red cow and calf 

Of uncle Josiah for a red cow and calf... 
Of Abm. Jewett for blind horse " Hugh " 



I 


s. 


d. 





9 


8 


6 


8 





I 


2 





I 


II 


6 





•5 





I 


1 1 


6 


I 


•7 


2 


4 


12 





I 


18 





10 


13 





5 


4 


6 


5 


7 


6 


5 


16 





2 


2 






Rambles Round Hoyton. 107 

The total income for the year 17 12, as shown in tlie account, 
is i^205 13s. od. 

Notwithstanding his irregular habits, night watches, and 
laborious studies, Abraham Sharp lived to reach the 91st 
year of his age, and died in July, 1742. There is a monument 
to his memory in the chancel of Bradford Parish Church. 
In his will he bequeathed a house to the minister of the 
*' Dissenters' Meeting Chapel, Bradford." 

Abraham Sharp having died a bachelor, the Horton 
estates of his branch of the family were enjoyed by his 
grandniece Faith, the daughter of Robert Stansfield, the 
latter having married Abraham's niece Elizabeth. There 
were six sons and two daughters of this marriage, but only 
Faith survived. She married, in 1722, Richard Gilpin 
Sawrey, of Horton, a magistrate, and died in 1767 without 
issue, this branch of the Sharp family therefore ending with 
her death. By her will Mrs. Sawrey • bequeathed to 
Hannah Gilpin, the daughter of William Gilpin, formerly 
of Whitehaven, and then residing with her, the mansion at 
Horton wherein she dwelt, with all her other messuages situate 
in Bradford, Great and Little Horton, Burley, Wheatley, 
Guiseley, and Farsley, &c. Hannah Gilpin took the name 
of Sharp, and in 1769, two years after coming to the Horton 
estates, entered into matrimony with Mr. Charles Swaine 
Booth, the son of the Rev. Charles Booth, of Bradford. 

Reference has previously been made to the influential 
family of Swaine, of Horton. The family had also a 
Bradford branch, which occupied a good house standing at 
one time in Hall Tngs. Here Dr. Swaine resided, and here, 
according to an extract from the Halifax Jounia/ of April, 
1759, there died a Miss Swaine, "whose virtue and charity 
made her death greatly lamented." She left her property to 
her nephew, Charles Booth, barrister-at-Iaw, who hereupon 
added the name of Swaine to his own, which was that of a 
family of considerable standing in Horton so far back as 
1608. His father, the Rev. Charles Booth, married a daughter 
of Mr. William Swaine, of Bradford, whose monument is in 
Bradford Parish Church. Charles Swaine Booth therefore 
acquired the property of both the Bradford Swaines and the 



108 Rambles Rotmd Horton. 

Booths. Swaine Street was named after him. By his 
marriage with Hannah Gilpin Sharp he acquired further 
property and influence, and in compHment to his wife added 
the name of Sharp, and for many years resided at Horton 
Hall. During his Hfetime the new portion now fronting to 
Horton Lane was added, a wing of the old residence built by 
the Rev. Thomas Sharp being removed for the purpose. 

Charles Swaine Booth Sharp died without issue in 1805, 
leaving his widow, Hannah Gilpin, or better known as 
Madam Sharp. He left the property coming to him from 
the Swaines and the Booths, after bequeathing certain legacies 
and confirming the settlement made upon his marriage, to his 
sisters, Beatrix Rishton, widow, and Sarah Booth, widow, and 
after them to his nephew, the Rev. Godfrey Wright, of Hooton 
Pagnall, and his heirs. His widow, Mrs. Hannah Gilpin 
Sharp, died in May, 1823. 

By her will' Madam Sharp bequeathed the mansion at 
Horton, with all her estates in Bradford and elsewhere, to her 
nephew, Captain Thomas Gilpin, and his male heirs, and in 
default of issue to her niece, Ann Kitchen, widow of Major 
Kitchen, in the service of the East India Company, and her 
heirs ; and in default to the daughters of Captain Gilpin, 
conditionally upon their residing at Horton. Captain Gilpin, 
after enjoying the estates three years only, died at Madeira in 
the year 1826, without having been married, whereupon Ann 
Kitchen came to the property, and married in 1828 Mr. 
Edward Giles, a clerk in Somerset House, for her second 
husband, who died in 1832, leaving an infant son, Edmund, 
heir to the Horton estates. 

This son Edmund went to Australia, being enamoured of 
sea life, but never returned, as he only lived three days after 
landing in the far-off colony. He was twenty-five years of 
age. Mrs. Haines, of London, then came into possession, she 
being the daughter of Mrs. Giles by her first marriage. In 
1839 an Act was passed for disposing of the Giles estate at 
Horton, owing to the great increase of buildings and 
manufactories in the immediate vicinity. The property 
extended over many portions of Horton, including that 
fringing both sides of Horton Lane, where it was intersected 



Rtmibles Round Horfon. 109 

by the estate of Colonel Fitzgerald, formerly belonging to 
Samuel Lister. 

The next tenant of Horton Hall was Mr. John Wood, 
the philanthropic manufacturer, and after him Mr. Samuel 
Hailstone, attorney. Mrs. Giles, however, had a portion of 
Horton Hall reserved for her own residence after Mr. 
Hailstone took it, and resided there a short time every year. 
Joshua Smith, an old servant of Madam Sharp, was the 
caretaker. The occupancy of the hall was continued by Mr. 
Edward Hailstone, after the death of his father, until his 
removal to Walton Hall in 1870, and it is now the residence 
of Mr. Ezra Waugh Hammond. 

Horton Hall and grounds were bought by Mr. F. S. 
Powell in 187 1 from Giles's trustees, and again form part 
of the Sharp estate. 



110 Rai/fb/es Ron ml Morton. 



C HAPTE R X. 

Horton Old Hall— The Sharp Family — Their Ancient Possessions— John Sharp, the 
Royalist— Lieutenant Isaac Sliarp— The Stapletons — The Bridges — The Powells — 
Francis Sharp Powell. 

Continuing our notice of the Sharp family of Horton, 
we now refer to the younger branch, whose seat for probably 
250 }'ears has been that known as Horton Old Hall, the 
residence of Mr. Francis Sharp Powell. 

In tracing Mr. Powell's descent as a representative of 
the Sharp family, we are materially assisted by the Sharp 
pedigree, drawn for Mr. Powell by Mr. Courthorpe, of the 
College of Arms. That pedigree is rendered very complete 
from the time of Christopher Sharp, of Horton, who died a 
Rom.an Catholic, in 1543. He left a son John, lather of 
Thomas Sharp, who died in 1607, and was the immediate 
progenitor of the stock from whence sprang the two main 
branches of the Sharp family of Horton. 

In a previous article we quoted from documents showing 
a Thomas and a John Sharp to have been parties to transfers 
of land in Horton in the years 1365 and 1390. In the 
absence of registers of the period it may not be possible 
to connect the Sharps just referred to with Christopher 
Sharp, who died in 1543, but from the continuous occurrence 
of the name of Sharp as follows, viz. : — 1390, Thomas ; 
1402, Thomas; 1461, John; 14CS3. Christopher; and 1530, 
Christopher — it may reasonably be assumed that the 
Christopher above named was a member of the family 
whose history we are tracing, and that the family had a 
common origin. 

Thomas Sharp, who died in 1607, was evidently a man 
of considerable means. He is described as a yeoman and 
clothier. In October of 1589 he had conveyed to him, along 
with Thomas Hodgson, Robert Booth, and Wm. Feild, 250 
acres of the unenclosed wastes at Horton, and fourteen acres 
lately enclosed, by Richard Lacy and John, his son. These 
Lacies were of the Cromwellbotham family of that name, and 



Rambles Rom id H or ton. iii 

were lords of the manor of Horton, havin_<^ acquired the 
Leventhorpe interest in the manor by marriage. Thos. Sharp 
also added considerably to the estate left him by his father — 
which comprised " one thing of the best of any kind of 
vessel accustomed to be 'occupied ' in his house at Horton " 
— by purchasing various portions of the landed property in 
Horton held by the family of Wood. Mr. John James, in 
his account of the Horton families of an early period, stated 
that John Sharp, the father of Thomas, was assessed in 1545 
upon ;^20 value in goods, " which was the only assessment to 
that amount in Horton, except that on Humphrey Wood, 
who paid the same," and that in the assessment of 1552 he 
was assessed for ^16 in goods, "the largest assessment in 
Horton, except that of Thomas Wood, who was charged the 
same." 

Through the courtesy of Mr. Powell we have had access 
to many ancient deeds showing the large extent of land held 
by the Wood family in Horton at one time, which was 
without doubt acquired from the Lacies of Cromwellbotham, 
as Rosamund, the wife of Thomas Wood, was a daughter of 
John Lacy, living in 1558. We have before us a copy of 
feoffment, dated 1558, from "John Lacy and Richard his son 
to Thos. Woode and Rosamund his wife of one messuage and 
five oxgangs of land in Little Horton, at the yearly rent of 
£2 13s. 4d., payable at Pentecost and Martinmas." In 1591 
a friendly suit was instituted, wherein Th.omas Wood and 
Rosamund his wife were plaintiffs, and John Lacy defendant, 
in respect to " one messuage, six crofts, two gardens, sixty 
acres of land, forty acres of meadow, and forty acres of 
pasture in Horton." In 1572 John Lacy, of Leventhorpe, 
conveyed to Thos. Wood " three parcels of land lately taken 
from the waste, rendering knights service, suit of court at 
Horton, and an annual rent of one red rose." 

Other examples might be given furnishing testimony to 
the standing of the Wood family in Horton at the period 
referred to ; it ma)', however, be equally interesting to note 
how and to whom their estates became transferred, for it is 
certain that the family has been of no repute in the township 
for more than two centuries. 



112 Rambles Round H or ton. 

It was about the close of the sixteenth century, then, 
that for some cause the Woods disposed of their Horton 
lands, as about that period numerous conveyances are dated, 
a few examples of which may be given : — 

1592. — Indenture made 8th day of January, between Thos. Wood, 
of Askwith, yeoman, Rosamund, his wife, and John Wood, son and heir 
apparent, on the one part, and Jasper Brighthouse, or Brighouse, of 
Bradford, yeoman, of the other part, whereby, in consideration of the 
sum of threescore and ten pounds of lawful English money paid to them 
by the said Jasper Brighthouse, the said Thomas, Rosamund, and John 
Wood convey to him all those three closes of land called the Hollingreave 
lands, alias Spittle Roods, Cross Butts, and Souther Half-acres, situate 
and being in Horton in Bradford-dale, now in the tenure of the said 
Jasper Brighthouse, &c. 

Witnesses — William Hallsteade, John Lacie, Henry Packet, Samuel 
Tailer, William Currer, Thomas Taller, attorney, 

1601. — Conveyance from Thomas Wood and his wife Rosamund to 
Thomas Sharp, sen., and John, his son, of a messuage with outbuildings 
(in three tenements), lands, &c., all in Horton, in the tenure of Richard 
Booth, Robert Balme, and William Booth (except three closes called the 
Langside), and also of the two Southcrofts, Ackers, Leysteads, and 
Northcroft, and of several yearly rents as follows : — viz., 30s. and a boyne 
hen out of a cottage and lands at Haycliffe ; another of I2d. out of 
Hollingreave Lands ; another out of a close called Broad-dole ; and 
another out of a close called Huetson Yeard, alias Hutcheon Yeard, all 
in Horton. 

Other deeds might be cited showing transfers from 
Thomas Wood and his wife about the same period, thus : In 
1592, conveyance of the Intack Close and a close called Two 
Lands, to Thos. Hunter; 1601, conveyance of messuage in 
Horton and close of land called the Bent, to Chris. Sharp 
and Samuel his son ; 1601, conveyance of three closes of land 
called Far Langsides to Robert Heaton. 

In endeavouring to trace the various properties alluded 
to. documentary evidence is afforded that nearly the whole 
passed into the hands of the Thomas Sharp named above, 
confirming the statement that he was a man of considerable 
means. Thus in 1606, John Sharp, his son and heir, 
contemplated marriage with Susan, a daughter of Richard 
Waterhouse, of Shelf. In consideration of that marriage, 
Thomas Sharp re-leased to his son, by indenture dated 
June 15, 1606, "all the messuage, lands, &c., purchased by 



Rambles Round Horton. 113 

him of Thomas Wood, of Askwith, and of John Wood, his 
son and heir. Also all that close called the Intack, or Bowling 
Mill close, late in the tenure of William Law, and purchased 
by Thomas Sharp of Thomas Hodgson, late of Boiling, 
deceased ; also the Hollingreave lands, and the third part of 
a close called the Haycliffe, and in a place called Nethermore; 
and also the third part of a close of land lately enclosed from 
the common of Horton on the north and east side of a hill 
called Haycliffe, and in a place called Over Moor." On his 
part Richard Waterhouse, the father of the intended bride, 
agreed to assign to John Sharp, his intended son-in-law, "all 
that messuage in Shelf wherein he dwelt," also the sum of 
^^"150, &c., upon the consummation of the marriage. The 
attorney who drew up the necessary documents was Abraham 
Lister, of Boiling. Thomas Sharp had already made over to 
his son the two Southcrofts, the Northcroft, the Ackers, the 
Leysteads, and the Southern Half-acres, all in Horton. 

The frequent references to enclosures made from the 
"wastes" of Horton afford good ground for fixing the date 
when the main portion of the township was common land, 
and the recurrence of terms like the " Two Lands," " Broad- 
dole," " Cross Butts," " Southern Half-acres," &c., is equally 
suggestive of a period prior to the age of enclosures, when 
such lands were held in common, i.e., " Common Fields." 
These common fields were generally of three descriptions, for 
the unvarying round of growing winter corn, spring corn, 
and fallow. They were respectively divided into oxgangs, 
evenly scattered over every field, in order to give more 
facility for the system of ploughing then in vogue, and 
for other desirable purposes. There was likewise the 
common meadow, while other portions of the township were 
laid out in pasture, as an appendant to the common field 
land, each oxgang having a right to a limited number of 
" gates " for cows and working oxen. The " Common Fields " 
were distributed over the township. Hence we derive the 
terms Southfield (Southfield Lane), Northfield, Westfield, &c. 
Almost ever)- township " round about Bradford " furnishes 
evidence of this remote period, either in the present 
appearance of the land or the names which still remain, 
H 



114 Rambles Round H or ton. 

We have also mention of the ancient forms of rent and 
services rendered by the holders of lands. Thus, three 
parcels of land taken from the " waste " rendered " Knight's 
service, suit of Court at Horton, and an annual rent of one 
red rose." Thomas Sharp's purchase of the North Crofts, 
the Leysteads, &c., was charged with the yearly rent of " 30s. 
and one boyne hen," &c. The payment of a red rose, " in 
the time of roses," was a common form of acknowledg- 
ment where the title was not of the clearest. " Boynes " 
{alias " boons ") were services rendered, so many days' 
ploughing or reaping, and called " plough-boons " and " sickle 
boons." " Hens " were often reserved as a species of rent in 
kind to be paid, generally, at Shrove-tide. The custom was a 
survival of the Anglo-Saxon " gafol," a tribute. The subject 
of these old customs suggested by the above terms although 
digressive is interesting, and may be alluded to at a future 
opportunity, 

John Sharp, who thus became endowed with a con- 
siderable portion of his father's possessions, was only a 
younger son, there being two brothers older than himself, 
viz., Isaac, who died at a comparatively early age and was 
named in his father's will, and Thomas, the eldest brother, 
who died in 1636. The latter, who succeeded to the family 
mansion at Horton (that known as Horton Hall), became 
the father of John Sharp, the noted Parliamentarian and 
Puritan, whose career and that of his family, which included 
the Rev. Thos. Sharp, the Nonconformist preacher, and 
Abraham Sharp, the astronomer and mathematician, were 
traced in a previous article. 

John Sharp, whose line we must now take up, was as 
ardent a Royalist and as distinguished on the King's side as 
his nephew became on that espoused by Parliament. He 
was in several battles on the side of Charles I., during one 
of which he received a severe contusion on the head with a 
battle axe. Notwithstanding, he lived to over seventy years 
of age, although he was wont to say that but for the awkward 
blow on his cranium he might have lived to be an "old man." 
So distressed was John the Royalist at the fate of his Royal 
master, that it is said he never suffered his beard to be shaven 



Rambles Roimd Horto}i. 115 

or his hair to be cut after the execution of Charles I. at 
Whitehall. The headpiece worn by him in the Civil Wars 
is preserved among the family heirlooms at Horton Old 
Hall, along with armour, swords, &c. ; also the helmet and 
armour worn by Isaac Sharp, his son, a lieutenant in the 
Train Bands ; a cannon ball picked up after the siege of 
Bradford, and other relics of that momentous period. It is 
from this branch of the Sharp family that Mr. F. S. Powell is 
descended. 

John Sharp's interest in the affairs of his household, 
however, must have been actively maintained, notwith- 
standing his zealous partisanship. During his lifetime he 
added considerably to the family estates — as we find from the 
family deeds in the possession of Mr. Powell — in addition to 
the property inherited by him from his father. Among his 
purchases were two closes called Burnet Graves and 
Storbrokes, lying in Great Horton, from Elizabeth Bayrstow, 
of Barkerend ; and Kent Close, in Little Horton, from 
Henry Walker, of Bradford. John, the Royalist, died in 
1658, leaving two sons, Isaac and Thomas, the latter of 
South Kirkby. 

Isaac Sharp, the eldest son, born in 1613, lived at Horton 
into the next century. He married Elizabeth Rhodes, of 
Mirfield. He was also an active partisan on the King's side, 
and received a commission as lieutenant in the Train Bands 
of Agbrigg and Morley, his company comprising 120 men. 
This document, signed by Buckingham, is dated May 22, 
1653, '^'''d is in Mr. Powell's possession. 

It is assumed that this branch of the family were resident 
in a house not above a stone's throw from that occupied by 
the elder branch, and it was left to Lieutenant Sharp to 
establish his family in a residence entitled to be ranked as a 
mansion of the period, namely, that in which Mr. Powell 
resides, and which was built upon the site of the older 
structure. There are several dates about the premises, 
showing the various stages of progress. Over a door in 
the building now used as estate offices on the western side 
of the courtyard is the date 1665. Over the entrance door 
on the south side of the hall is the date 1674 ; and over the 



116 Rambles Round Horfon. 

fireplace in the south-west chamber the date 1675, v/ith 
the initials I.S.— S.S. There is also a Latin motto of 
doubtful construction, as follows — Mementem in est inortallis^ 
and probably intended to remind all future occupiers that 
they were but mortal. The initials are said to be those of 
Isaac Sharp and his wife; but do not accord with the Christian 
name of the wife, Elizabeth (who was living at the time), 
except upon the assumption that some familiar cognomen 
was adopted by the carv^er. Lieutenant Sharp lived to the 
ripe old age of ninety-two, having survived all the troubles of 
the Civil War and the reigns of the second Charles, of James 
the Second, of William, Prince of Orange, and Mary, his 
wife ; and he witnessed the accession of Queen Anne. 

At his death in 1705, Lieutenant Sharp was succeeded 
by his son, also called Isaac, who inherited all his father's 
lands, and married in 1705 Elizabeth Wood, of Bramley. 
One of his sisters married the Rev. Matthew Smith, of 
Mixenden, and another Wm. Young, of Bradford, cutler. 
He died in 1743, but probate of his will was not obtained 
until 1 76 1, a recital of which shows that he devised all his 
lands to Richard Gilpin Sawrey, of Horton, and John Smith, 
clerk, of Mixenden, in trust for the benefit of his daughter 
Dorothy, wife of Francis Stapleton ; then to her daughter 
Elizabeth (married to Francis Bridges;, and next to his 
granddaughter, Mary Stapleton. His estate was charged 
with an annual payment of 20s. to the preachers at 
Mixenden and Horton Chapels, "so long as Dissenting 
ministers shall be there." 

Isaac Sharp is said by John James to have rebuilt the 
east end of the mansion at Horton ; and, if so, he also 
contemplated the rebuilding of the house, judging by the 
following extract : — "All my goods I give (except the wood 
lying in the barn and the stones prepared for rebuilding the 
dwelling-house in which I live, to each devisee of my real 
estate as shall rebuild the same) to my daughter Dorothy, 
whom I constitute my executrix." The witnesses to the will 
were John Rhodes, clothier ; James Hall, yeoman ; and John 
Northrop, schoolmaster. Attested by Richard Wainman, 
attorney, and John Siddall, his clerk. 



Rambles Round H or ton. 117 

Isaac Sharp was the last of the male line of his branch 
of the family, and it is somewhat singular that the male line 
in the elder branch had ceased to exist within twelve months 
of his death, namely, in 1742, by the decease of Abraham 
Sharp, the mathematician 

In the recital of the terms of the will of the last Isaac 
Sharp there occurred two names brought newly upon the scene, 
the owners whereof were destined to play an important part 
in the family history which we are attempting to pourtray. 
The names in question were those of Stapleton and Bridges. 
Contemporary with these, however, was that of Powell, the 
respective representatives being Francis Stapleton, of Little 
Horton, born 1703 ; the Rev. Wm. Bridges, rector of Castleford 
in 1696 ; and Thos. Powell, of Bawdsley, co. Montgomery. 

The Stapletons were living at Felliskirk, Yorkshire, in 
1599, and one Francis gravitated towards Bradford as a 
drysalter, and married a daughter of Thomas Lister, of 
Manningham, a major under General Fairfax. Of this 
marriage was a son Francis, born in 1703, who married 
Dorothy, the surviving heiress of Isaac Sharp, above referred 
to. Meanwhile Thomas Bridges, of Leeds, son of the 
Rev. Wm. Bridges, married a daughter of the first Francis ' 
Stapleton, and their son, Francis Bridges, of Leeds and 
Horton, married the eldest daughter and co-heiress of the 
second Francis Stapleton and Dorothy Sharp. In this manner 
were the family interests of the Sharps, the Stapletons, and 
the Bridges bound together. 

The eldest child of Francis I?ridges and his wife (there 
being also several others, including Francis Sharp Bridges, 
afterwards of Horton Old Hall) was married to the Rev. Thos. 
Wade, of Bierley, and afterwards of Tottington, Lancashire ; 
and their sole surviving daughter and heiress, Anne, became 
the wife of the Rev. Benjamin Powell, of Bellingham Lodge, 
Wigan, a grandson of John Powell, of Bawdsley. The Rev. 
B. Powell died in 1861, aged sixty-nine, and his wife in 1873 
at the same age. They had a family of eleven children, of 
whom there survive Mr. Francis Sharp Powell, the Rev. Thos, 
Wade Powell, of St. John's College, Cambridge, and four 
daughters, two of whom are married and have families. 



118 Ra/iibks Round Morton. 

Mr. Francis Sharp Bridges, as the only surviving son of 
Francis Bridges, of Leeds and Horton, succeeded not only to 
his father's Leeds estates, but to those at Horton belonging 
to the Sharp family. On his father's side he came of an 
old and respectable Leeds family. Thomas Bridges, his 
grandfather, who died in 1735, and who married Elizabeth 
Stapleton, was a noted antiquary and the intimate friend 
of Thoresby, the author of the " Ducatus Leodensis." 
Dr. Whitaker's estimate of him may be gathered from the 
following extract from a second edition of the " Ducatus," 
edited by the doctor, who, in his comment upon the inscription 
found in St. John's Cemetery, Leeds, says : — " It contains a 
memorial of a true antiquary, to whose activity and exactness 
in recording the transactions of this town (Leeds) and parish 
for a series of years the editor of ' Thoresby ' has been greatly 
indebted." Thomas Bridges also gathered the most valuable 
collection of ancient medals which the town of Leeds had to 
boast since that of Thoresby. His son, Mr. Francis Bridges, 
was also of an antiquarian and literary turn, and was a great 
collector of coins, besides having got together a valuable 
library, containing examples of the earliest printed books, 
and many MS. volumes. 

This collection of coins and books, it may be added, is 
in the possession of Mr, Powell, at Horton Old Hall. The 
cabinet in which the medals and coins are contained is in 
itself a treasure, the lock being surmounted by a bronze 
shield, said to have formed the lid of a snuff-box possessed by 
Charles I. at his execution. There is also a crescent-shaped 
bronze surmounting the shield, containing an antique design. 

From certain entries in the rent roll of Francis Bridges, 
it would appear that in 1788 part of the Old Hall was let to 
John Wood, also the barn, outbuildings, the Laith Croft, 
Low Croft, New Croft, Far Burnet Graves, and P^ar Leysteads, 
at a rental of ^,34 per annum. John Wood died in 1795- 
Another part of the mansion, with cellar under Wood's part, 
was let to the Rev. John Dean, minister at the Unitarian 
Chapel. Mr. Francis Bridges, residing principally at Leeds, 
only retained a portion of the mansion in his own occupation. 
He died in 1795. 



Raiiibles Round Ho /ton. 119 

The son of Mr, Francis Bridges, namely, Mr. Francis 
Sharp Bridges, resided at Horton Old Hall during the course 
of a long life. He was a bachelor, and lived singularly 
retired, his principal outward excursion being when he 
went to dine weekly with his two sisters at Hallfield House, 
Manningham Lane. Although very wealthy, he employed 
no servants beyond an antiquated housekeeper, named 
Mallinson, and a kitchen girl, keeping neither horses nor' 
cattle on his homestead. His tall, erect, and portly figure ; 
his white cravat, deep-frilled shirt, set off by a square-headed 
amber brooch, are remembered by many, as he took his 
" constitutional " on Horton Green, measured by the frontage 
of his residence. Mr. Bridges died in 1844, aged seventy- 
eight years. 

Under his will the Horton estates are inherited by his 
nephew, Mr. Francis Sharp Powell, M.A., in addition to large 
properties in Lancashire left him by his father. Mr. Powell 
was born in 1827, his father, the Rev. Benjamin Powell, being 
at the time of his birth incumbent of St. George's Church, 
Wigan. Mr. Powell received his early education at Wigan 
Grammar School, and partly at Sedbergh Grammar School, 
an institution in which he has ever since maintained a lively 
interest, and in its management has, more than any one else, 
been the means of effecting an improvement. To such an 
extent has this been recognised that for some time he has 
been at the head of the board of governors. From Sedbergh 
Mr. Powell entered St. John's College, Cambridge ; was 
elected a fellow in 1851 ; and graduated M.A. in 1853. In 
the same year he was called to the bar of the Liner Temple, 
and went the Northern Circuit two or three years, but his 
inclination was towards a political career. He has sat four 
times in Parliament in the Conservative interest, namely, for 
his native borough of Wigan, for Cambridge, and for the 
Northern Division of the West Riding. Li recognition of his 
faithful services to his party, Mr. Powell had an excellent 
portrait of himself presented to him in October, 1884, by 
gentlemen connected with the Northern Division of Yorkshire. 

Mr. Powell, however, is not exclusively a politician. His 
services are ever at the call of those whose aim is the pro- 



120 Rambles Round Hoyton. 

motion of philanthropy, educational advancement, religious 
propaganda, or social and sanitary reform. As a devoted 
Churchm.an he has given largely of his wealth to church 
extension and endowment in Bradford and the neighbour- 
hood. He has expended upwards of ^30,000 upon the 
erection of All Saints' Church, Horton Green, the schools, 
and the vicarage. As an example of ecclesiastical architecture 
of its period this church stands pre-eminently abov-e any other 
in the town or immediate neighbourhood. He has also 
assisted in the erection of nine of the churches of Bradford 
projected by the society for promoting the building of ten 
churches, besides helping materially towards the erection of 
schools. He is a frequent contributor towards the deliberations 
of the Church Congress and Social Science Association, and 
an ardent advocate of the promotion of education, elementary, 
religious, and technical, being upon the councils of several 
colleges and institutions having these ends in view. 

Air. Powell married, in 1858, Annie, daughter of Mr. M. 
Gregson, of Liverpool, but has no family The arms of the 
family are — Azure, a pheon argent, within a bordure or, 
charged with eight torteuxes. Crest, an eagle's head, erased 
azure ducally gorged or, holding in his mouth a pheon argent. 

Horton Old Hall, a view of which is given as the 
frontispiece to this volume, is the residence of Mr. Powell 
while in Yorkshire, and is a substantial and characteristic 
example of the period of its erection, namely, that of the reign 
of Charles H. It is evident, however, from the existence of 
several branches of the Sharp family of Horton, that there 
vv'ere other residences belonging to them, that knov/n as the 
" Old House at Home," at Holme Top, being probably one 
of them. 

Horton Old Hall, however, as a residence of the family, 
is the only one preserving its continuity of connection, and in 
the hands of its recent possessors it has been preserved in 
excellent condition. It has two frontages, one towards All 
Saints' Church, and another overlooking the open fields town- 
v/ards. As previously remarked, its position is admirable from 
a residential point of view, notwithstanding the encroachments 
of modern dwellings on various sides. The arrangements of 



Rambles Round Horton. 121 

tlic hall arc those usually found in similar examples of the 
domestic architecture of the period, and comprise central hall 
open to the roof, with oaken gallery admitting to the retiring 
rooms above, and eastern and western wings, containing 
comfortable apartments such as are not always found in 
modern residences. The hall or "house-body" is wainscotted 
in oak of beautiful colour, and contains the armour and 
other relics previously alluded to, also a small collection of 
family portraits, including those of Abraham Sharp, the 
mathematician ; Archdeacon Sharp, the son of the Arch- 
bishop ; and others. The oak furniture of the hall is also 
in harmony with its surroundings. 

In an adjoining apartment there is a fine portrait of 
Hogarth, painted by himself; an antique specimen of 
needlework and embroidery, probably three centuries old ; • 
and many articles of vertu, bespeaking the taste of the 
owner. The library is on the upper floor, upon the corridor 
of which there is a triptych taken from a Spanish monastery, 
and in its way one of the treasures of the house. It is 
divided into three folding leaves, containing compartments 
depicting various scenes in the life of our Lord, in illuminated 
colours of medieval workmanship. The library, from an 
antiquarian and bibliographic point of view, is really valuable, 
containing as it does collections of works representing the 
earlier printing age, ancient MSS. in Gothic characters, 
rescued from monastic archives on the Continent, besides 
several valuable early English manuscripts. 

An adjoining bedroom contains a massive and richly- 
carved oak bedstead, which, tradition has it, once rested the 
limbs of the Protector during his brief residence at Horton 
Hall (the home of the Parliamentarian branch of the family). 
So far as we are aware, however, there is no record of old 
Noll ever having honoured Bradford by his presence ; 
but it is an ungracious act to discredit old traditions, 
and we tell the story " as 'twas told to us." 

We may add that Mr. Powell possesses many of the 
antiquarian tastes of his immediate predecessors at the Old 
Hall, but his more active interest in current topics prevents 
liis prosecuting the study of archaeology. 



122 Rambles Round H or ton. 



C H iV P T E R X I . 

John Sharp, Archbishop of York — His Descent — His Early Years — His Promotion — 
His Family — Granville Sharp the Pliilanthropist — Wm. Sharp, Surgeon — Dr. 
Sharp, B'.R.S. 

This paper we propose to devote to that branch of the 
Sharp family with which John Sharp, D.D., Archbishop of 
York, is usually associated, and from whom sprang two arch- 
deacons of Northumberland, Granville Sharp, the celebrated 
philanthropist, and others v/ho have lived honourably amongst 
us. No apology should be needed for thus extending this 
record of a family which, although its members may not have 
been instrumental in introducing or extending the trade and 
commerce of Bradford, has nevertheless produced those who 
have served their country in the cause of religion and 
philanthropy, in the walks of medical science, and in literature. 

At the outset, however, we are confronted with a difficulty 
which has prevented others who have made the attempt from 
clearly establishing the connection between the Archbishop's 
branch and that of the two families whose history we have 
already traced. The difficulty appears to commence with the 
question of the relationship of James Sharp, witness to the 
will of Christopher Sharp, in 1530, and of Christopher Sharp, 
whose will is dated 1543. Although the point has not been 
clearly defined by the College of Arms, this James Sharp is 
supposed to have been a brother or near relative of Chris. 
Sharp, and father of James Sharp (grandfather of the Arch- 
bishop), as he died before 1557, leaving his son James, of 
Horton, clothier, who, according to Hopkinson's MS., lived in 
" a house late belonging to Kirkstall Abbey," and whose will 
is dated 1 590. The matter is not one to interest the general 
reader, but to the genealogist it is a question which will 
stimulate much research until the moot point is satisfactorily 
set at rest. 

From James Sharp, whose will is dated 1590, sprang 
John of Woodhousc and Parkhouse, Bierley ; James, of 
Woodhouse ; also Thomas, Grace, and Isaac. At present, 



Rambles Round Hart on. 123 

however, we follow the line of the second son, James, who 
had with other issue James, of Woodhouse, who died in 1690, 
the progenitor of the Sharps of Gildersome, afterwards of 
Bradford ; and Thomas, of Bradford, born in 1606, and whose 
will was dated 1671. 

This younger son, Thomas, followed the trade of a 
drysalter and oil dealer in Bradford. It is noticeable that 
the business of drysalter, or " Salter " by abbreviation, was 
common in Bradford in those early days, and must have been 
a source of profit, as several families, the Stansfields and 
others, derived from it considerable wealth. The house in 
which Thomas Sharp resided and in which his eldest son, 
John, afterwards Archbishop of York and Metropolitan of 
England, was born, was situated upon the site of the building 
adjoining the Unicorn Inn, in Ivegate, on the western or 
upper side. 

Within the recollection of old Bradfordians, the original 
building stood with its antique gables fronting to that busy 
thoroughfare, which, it is needless to add, is one of the 
most ancient streets in Bradford. The original appearance, 
however, is now unrecognisable, owing to the house having 
been fronted with shop premises. The buikiing behind 
contained many of its original features, until it was removed 
within the present year to give place to a new erection. 

Thomas Sharp, the drysalter, married Dorothy, daughter 
of John Weddall, rector of Widdington, Yorks, and her 
brother John settled in Bradford as a solicitor, if he did not 
learn his profession here. His office was in Church Bank 
or Stott Hill. The name of "John Weddall, attorney," is 
familiar to any rummagcr of old legal documents relating 
not only to Bradford, but to a wide district round about, 
indicating that his practice was an extensive one. He died 
in London suddenly and mysteriously, it was said, in the 
year 1672. 

In the Rev. Oliver Heywood's diary occurs the following 
mention of Mr. Weddall : — 

June, 1672. — .Mr. Weddall, of Bradford, who hath been as great an 
attorney as any in the country, and was raised to a great estate of late, 
had built a sumptuous new house near the church, and had many men's 



124 Rambles Round Horton. 

businesses upon his hands. We were at dinner lately at Mr. Milner's 
funeral. Speaking of death, he said complimentally, " It will surely 
come/' &c. I advised him not to go into his new house too soon. He 
answered " No, not till Michaelmas." He had been exceeding intent 
upon it, it must forward, was almost finished, he went up to the town, 
came into London on Monday, June 17, or Tuesday, but he dyed on 
Thursday, June 20, 1672. Some say he was seized upon by a palsy, 
others that he had been at a tavern and got hurt with drinking, but he is 
gone, and his wife takes on very heavily. They are left in a labyrinth of 
trouble, not knowing how things stand. He purposed that should be the 
last time of his going to London — so it proved. 

Besides the future Archbishop, Thomas Sharp and 
Dorothy his wife had several children, viz. : — Hannah, 
Thomas, James, and Joshua. Their only daughter married 
John Richardson, of Birks Hall, attorney-at-law. James 
resided at Bradford in competence ; and Joshua received 
knighthood in London. 

The Archbishop's father and mother were religious and 
hospitable people, but were of a different way of thinking 
upon the disputes of those days. Thomas Sharp was inclined 
to Puritanism, and much favoured the Parliamentarian party, 
being himself in great favour with Lord Fairfax, who made 
his head-quarters at the house in Ivegate when in these parts. 
Among other expressions of his favour, the general is said to 
have offered a commission to his host, which probably might 
have been accepted had not his wife, who was a strenuous 
Royalist, stoutly opposed the proposal. 

From his parents the future Archbishop early received 
those religious impressions which were never effaced. He 
was sent at an early age to the Bradford Grammar School, 
and while there his father had him taught a system of 
shorthand for the purpose of taking down every Sunday the 
sermons he heard at the Parish Church, and these he was 
called upon to repeat to the family each Sunday evening. 
This peculiar acquirement the Archbishop turned to good 
account in his maturer years. He was never at any other school 
than that of his native town, and he made such progress that 
at fifteen years of age his father determined to send him 
direct to the University and maintain him there for seven 
years. He was accordingly admitted to Christ College, 



Rmiiblcs Round Horfon. i-25 

Cambridge, in April, 1660, just before the restoration of the 
King, his tutor being Abraham Brooksbank, afterwards vicar 
of Bradford. 

While at Cambridge young Sharp was not idle, for in 
addition to classics and divinity he seemed to have made 
some progress in the study of chemistry and botany. In 
1667 he left Cambridge owing to an attack of illness, and 
returned to his fatlrer's house at Bradford, to take the chance 
of preferment in some form. During his stay in Yorkshire 
the future Archbishop was a candidate for the curacy of 
Wibsey, but a more successful competitor obtained it. After 
being raised to the archiepiscopacy he invited the incumbent 
of Wibsey to dinner, and paid him the most marked attention 
as the providential cause of his own elevation. He presently 
afterwards received the appointment of domestic chaplain 
to Sir Heneage Finch, then Solicitor-General, who ever 
afterwards became his patron and friend. 

Under his patron's roof, in Kensington House, young 
Sharp zealously continued his studies, and received valuable 
assistance from Sir Heneage Finch. In 1669 he took his M.A. 
degree, but again, owing to the closeness of his application to 
study, he was obliged to return to Bradford, and received 
benefit by the change. The opportunity occurred also of 
taking a last leave of his father, who was declining apace, 
and who died about a month after he left him, namely, in the 
year 1671. Returning to the home of Sir Heneage Finch, 
his patron, now Attorney-General, procured him the Arch- 
deaconry of Berkshire, Mr. Sharp being then only twenty-eight 
years of age. His youth, indeed, caused him to accept the 
office with some diffidence, but for his encouragement his 
patron not only paid the expenses of his 'first visitation, but 
lent him his own servants and horses. Upon Sir Heneage 
Finch attaining the woolsack in 1673, his good offices towards 
his favourite chaplain were again exercised, and in the year 
1675 he disposed of three preferments upon him, namely, 
by appointing him a prebend of Norwich, vicar of St. 
Bartholomew's, and rector of St. Giles's-in-thc-Fields, all of 
which preferments were accompanied with further deeds of 
kindness. 



126 Rambles Round Horfoii. 

It was as rector of St. Giles's that Dr. Sharp first won 
fame. During this period James II. had issued an order that 
the clergy should not preach on Popery, but the doctor 
notwithstanding preached his annual sermon, for which the 
King ordered the Bishop of London to suspend him. The 
Bishop refused, and this led to the seven bishops being sent 
to the Tower of London, and then to the abdication of James. 

Towards the end of the spring of 1676 Dr. Sharp 
married Elizabeth, daughter of William Palmer, Esq., of 
Winthrop, in Lincolnshire, the marriage being solemnised by 
Dr. Tillotson, his intimate friend — another distinguished 
Yorkshireman who filled an archiepiscopal throne as Arch- 
bishop of Canterbury. Dr. Sharp's own elevation to the 
Archbishopric of York took place in 1691. By the influence 
of Lord Nottingham he had been promoted to the deanery of 
Canterbury in 1689, vacant by the elevation of his friend 
Tillotson, and in the summer of 1690 he visited Bradford, 
where his mother still resided. In May, 1691, the aged 
Archbishop of York, Lamplugh, died, and, by the joint 
influence of Lord Nottingham and Archbishop Tillotson, Dr. 
Sharp obtained the see. He was only in his forty-seventh 
year when he mounted the archiepiscopal throne of York. 

Soon after his consecration he first drew up a short 
account of the most material things which had ever happened 
to him till that time, and which laid the foundation for the 
Archbishop's diary, from whence was drawn material for the 
" Life of Archbishop Sharp," written by his son Thomas, 
Archdeacon of Northumberland. Soon after the accession 
of Queen Anne, when the Archbishop began to have more 
business upon his hands, his memoranda grew more frequent 
and particular, and instead of the weekly account he kept 
a proper diary or journal, which from the year 1702 to 1713, 
the last eleven years of his life, makes up five volumes quarto, 
all written in his own shorthand. 

Archbishop Sharp held the archiepiscopal see of York 
longer than any of his predecessors since the Reformation 
viz., above two and twenty years. During that long period 
the con.scientious manner in which he discharged its duties 
has long ago become historical. Although we cannot here 



Rambles Round Hortoti. 127 

follow up his career, prominence may be given to two rules 
which at the outset he laid down for his own guidance — the 
first being that no one but a Yorkshire clergyman should 
hold a benefice in his gift ; his other rule was, never to 
meddle in the election of members of Parliament. In 
looking after his diocese and the clergy in it he has had no 
successor more industrious ; while as a preacher he was 
especially renowned. His published works are principally 
sermons, and at one time he was remarkably prolific. He 
was also an industrious collector of coins, and was a great 
friend of Ralph Thoresby, the antiquary. Archbishop Sharp 
died at Bath on February 2nd, 17 13, in the 70th year of his 
aee. He lies interred in the Cathedral at York, where a 
sumptuous monument is erected over his remains. 

Of his marriage with Elizabeth Palmer the Archbishop 
had fourteen children, seven sons and seven daughters, of 
whom, however, two only of each sex survived him. Thomas, 
his younger son, was made Archdeacon of Northumberland 
in 1722, and was no less distinguished than the Archbishop 
had been for integrity, piety, and a conscientious discharge 
of his duty. His writings are very numerous. Among the 
most valuable is a life of the Archbishop, which includes a 
collection of many of his letters and other papers. He 
married Judith, youngest daughter of Sir George Wheler, a 
prebend of Durham, and died in 1758, having been the father 
of a numerous offspring, of whom five sons and three 
daughters arrived at maturity. His eldest son, John, suc- 
ceeded to his father's principal dignities in the church, viz., 
as Prebendary of Durham and Archdeacon of Northumberland. 
He was also vicar of Hartburn, and perpetual curate of 
Bamburgh. He is distinguished in the records of British 
humanity at Bamburgh Castle in Northumberland — which as 
a charitable asylum has a history almost unparalleled in 
the kingdom. 

Bamburgh Castle played an important part in the Wars 
of the Roses ; the battles of Towton and Hexham, together 
with the siege of Bamburgh Castle, which surrendered to 
King Edward IV., tending to place the crown more firmly on 
that monarch's head. Although of very ancient foundation, 



128 Rambles Round Horton. 

the castle acquired its present interest from its bequest by- 
Lord Crewe, Bishop of Durham, along with considerable 
estates in Durham and Northumberland, for the purposes of 
benevolence, the augmentation of livings, the founding of 
schools, &c. The fund seems to have been faithfully disbursed 
by the trustees, but not upon any permanent system until 
Dr. John Sharp succeeded to his father's position as chief of 
the trustees, and took its affairs into his own management. 

Bamburgh Castle is situated on an almost perpendicular 
rock close to the sea, accessible only on the south-east side on 
a spot where (according to the monkish historians) once stood 
the palace of the kings of Northumberland, built by Ida about 
the year 560, and part of the present ruins are supposed to be 
the remains of his work, The rock on which it is placed is 
1 50 ft. above low-water mark, and after the structure had 
fallen to decay was famous only for the wreck of vessels and 
the helpless cry of forlorn mariners thrown on the coast. 
Some partial repairs had been undertaken for the purpose 
of holding the manor courts and of forming a temporary 
dwelling for a religious minister within the castle, when the 
view of its stately remains of ancient grandeur and of the 
distress and danger which surrounded them suggested to Dr. 
Sharp more enlarged designs and ideas of relief proportionate 
to the magnitude of the occasion. Plans were laid down and 
preparations made for roofing and clearing out the great 
tower or keep, and adapting its spacious contents to the 
service of several charitable establishments. The upper 
storey of the tower was formed into granaries, whence in 
times of scarcity corn was distributed to the indigent, 
without distinction, at a low price. The lower storey was 
divided into rooms for the manor court; schools for educating 
the children of the poor ; a hospital with accommodation for 
incurables ; a dispensary and a general surgery, with cold 
and warm baths for poor persons of all descriptions. 

Dr. Sharp resided at Bamburgh several months in the 
year, and during his life expended a large part of his own 
property on the place. He died in April, 1792, having 
bequeathed an estate, his library, and other property for 
the preservation of the castle. At Bamburgh Castle are 



Rambles Round Norton. 129 

preserved many memorials of the Sharp family. Th.crc is 
a very fine portrait of Archdeacon Sharp, also his ancient 
Sedan chair ; and in the church a fine monument of him by 
Chan trey. 

William Sharp, another brother, was most eminent in 
his profession as surgfjon in London, where he practised for 
thirty-seven years, and was also surgeon to St. Bartholomew's 
Hospital. 

Granville Sharp, the most distinguished of the sons of 
Archdeacon Sharp, was born at Durham in 1735, and was 
intended for the London mercer)' trade. Passing over the 
details of his younger days, a short outline of his life ought 
to interest every Englishman. His great works ma)' be 
classed under four principal heads, viz. :— The liberation 
of African slaves in England ; the colonisation of Sierra 
Leone ; the establishment of Episcopacy in America ; and 
the abolition of the slave trade. To these may be added his 
attempt to reconcile the British colonies with England at the 
commencement of the American troubles. While his efforts 
were at various periods directed towards one or other of the 
above objects, his monument as a philanthropist is based 
upon the self-denying efforts put forth by him in the interests 
of the slave. 

It has been customary to place the name of Clark.son 
and Wilberforce in the front rank in the movement leading to 
the abolition of slavery ; but, without detracting from the 
good work done by them, it is simply a matter of history 
that Granville Sharp first struck the blow which severed the 
chain of the negro slave. Clarkson joined him, and the 
two together prepared the way and made it possible for 
Wilberforce to bring the subject before Parliament, and, 
with the assistance of William Pitt, obtain the desired Acts 
of Emancipation. 

An instance of the length to which disrespect for human 
freedom had proceeded may be quoted from the newspapers 
of the period. Thus, in April, 1769, an advertisement 
appeared in the London Gazetteer, in which, among other 
"goods and chattels," mention was made of "a chesnut 
gelding, a Tim Whisky, and a zvell made, good-tempered black 

I 



130 Rambles Round Norton. 

boy.'' No wonder that such open dealing in human flesh 
should have aroused the better feelings of men of Granville 
Sharp's calibre. He had about ten trials during five years 
before Lord Mansfield, Lord Chief Justice of I^ngland, for 
setting free slaves in London, before he succeeded in getting 
a declaration from the judge that English laws knew nothing 
of slavery. When the action was brought against him for 
having "stolen goods" in his possession, Granville Sharp 
could not persuade a single barrister to take up his brief. All 
these learned gentlemen said he was in the wrong, and that the 
chief legal authority was against him. This was true enough, 
but it had only the effect of spurring the noble-minded man 
to further efibrt, one result being that he set to work to study 
the laws of England for himself in order to defend his own 
case. Granville Sharp succeeded 'in his first trial, and then 
persevered in bringing on a succession of trials by obtaining 
writs of habeas corpus against individual slave-holders ; but it 
was not till after five years of personal fighting in the Court of 
King's Bench that he obtained a final judgment in his favour. 
Upon this, about 400 negroes were turned out into the streets 
by their masters, and in their emergency the whole body 
went to their liberator, Granville Sharp, who took care of 
them until he had secured the colony of Sierra Leone for a 
settlement and had seen them colonised, although this was 
not accomplished without involving considerable labour and 
embarassment upon the philanthropic promoter. 

Granville Sharp's labours were equally conspicuous in 
other important points affecting the national character, 
which cannot at length be alluded to here. In addition to his 
national labours he was an active promoter of various religious, 
philanthropic, and literary institutions. He was also a 
voluminous writer of controversial literature, and was learned 
in languages. His death occurred in July, 181 3, at the age of 
seventy-eight, and his remains lie at Fulham. A monument was, 
however, raised to his memory by the African Institution, and 
executed by Chan trey, in Poets' Corner, Westminster Abbey, 
which contains an inscription setting forth his many virtues. 

Having so far as space permits referred to the more 
distinguished members of Archbishop Sharp's branch of his 



Rambles Round Morton. 131 

family, we turn with pleasure to the elder stock which, like 
the junior branch, traces its descent from James Sharp, of 
Horton, clothier, and Alice, his wife. As observed in noting 
the Archbishop's descent, James Sharp had a son James, of 
Woodhouse, in Bierley, the grandfather of Archbishop Sharp, 
whose son Thomas has been referred to as the Archbishop's 
father. An elder brother James also resided at Woodhouse, 
and died there in 1690. During his lifetime, therefore, he was 
a near neighbour of the celebrated Dr. Richardson, of Bierley 
Hall. Some discrepancy exists in the published pedigrees as 
to the issue of this James of Woodhouse, but there is little 
doubt as to his being the progenitor of the Sharps of Cutler 
Heights and Gildersome, from whom the Bradford Sharps 
were descended. Following the pedigree drawn for R. Hey 
Sharp, Esq., of York, we find that James Sharp's eldest son 
was living at Tong in 1684. Another son, named Abraham, 
was born in 1656, and resided at Cutler Heights. Abraham 
Sharp, of Cutler Heights, appears to have died without issue, 
his property being inherited by a fourth Abraham (for there 
was a succession of that name), who died unmarried in 1841. 
The property afterwards went to Samuel Sharp, architect, 
then of Leeds, his nephew. 

John Sharp, of Tong, the eldest son of his father James, 
however, had a numerous following, his line being still 
continued, and with every pro.spect of its continuance. His 
son was William Sharp, of Bradford, whose only son having 
issue was John Sharp, of Gildersome, who married Hannah 
Milner, and died in 1753. His eldest son, John, born in 
1737, married Sarah, daughter of Richard Hey, drysalter, of 
Pudsey, and sister of four brothers who all distinguished 
themselves, one being William Hey, F.R.S., of Leeds, surgeon ; 
another, John Hey, D.D., Norrissian Professor of Divinity ; 
a third, Samuel, M.A., President of Magdalen College, 
Cambridge ; and the fourth Richard Hey, LL.D., of Herting- 
fordbury, Hertford. 

•i We are now brought in contact with members of the 
Sharp family in whom Bradfordians have reason to feel an 
especial interest. William Sharp, the eminent Bradford 
surgeon, was the second son of John of Gildersome, having 



132 Rambles Round Hoi'fon. 

been pupil with his uncle, William Hey, of Leeds. He was 
born in 1769, and after having held the appointment of house 
surgeon of St. Bartholomew's Hospital, London, settled in 
Bradford in 1792, when in his twenty-fourth year. He 
soon became pre-eminently the surgeon of Bradford, then 
a pleasant little town of 5000 inhabitants, as well as of tlie 
district, a position which he held until his death, and he 
practised here for over forty years. 

As a medical man and citizen Mr. Sharp was universally 
respected for his professional talents and amiable character. 
In addition to his medical duties Mr. Sharp was captain 
of the Bradford Volunteers, enrolled in expectation of an 
invasion by Buonaparte. He lived mostly in Kirkgate, in a 
gabled house at the bottom of Dale Street, but some time 
before his death erected a house in Manor Rov/, then at 
the " outskirts " of Bradford. Mr. Sharp died suddenly in 
November, 1833, aged sixty-four years. A monument was 
erected to his memory by subscriptions raised by his friends 
in Bradford. It is a marble sculpture representing a female 
figure in an attitude of sorrow, and for years occupied a 
position in the Boiling Chapel of the Bradford Parish Church. 
The monument has since been removed to the corridor of the 
Bradford Infirmary, where there is also a bust of the eminent 
surgeon. 

William Sharp had several brothers — John, who married 
Mary Powell, of Whitkirk, and died s.p. in 1806; Richard, of 
Gildersome, Vv^ho married Mary, a daughter of John Turton, 
Esq., of Gildersome, and died in 1810 ; Abraham, the 
youngest, who died unmarried in 1841 ; and Samuel, vicar 
of Wakefield, who died in 1855, and had two sons, both 
living, namely, the Rev. John Sharp, M.A., vicar of Horbury, 
which living he has held for over fifty years ; and the Rev. 
William Sharp, M.A., of Mareham Rectory, Boston. 

Richard Sharp, of Gildersome, had three sons, who all 
attained to prominent positions in life, namely, Richard Hey 
Sharp, architect, of York, who died in 1853, aged sixty years ; 
William Sharp, M.D., F.R.S., F.G.S., formerly of Bradford, 
and now living at Horton House, Rugby; and Samuel Sharp, 
of Leeds, architect, who died in 1874, aged sixty-six years. 



Rambles Round Hoyton. 133 

The only survivor of Richard Sharp's children, and the 
representative of the elder branch of James Sharp, of Wood- 
house, is, therefore, Dr. William Sharp, of Rugby. 

The record of this gentleman's connection with a notable 
Bradford family will doubtless be regarded with equal interest 
to that of his distinguished uncle, William Sharp, the elder, 
whose pupil he was, and to whose practice he succeeded on 
the death of his uncle in 1833. At that period, too, his uncle's 
residence in Manor Row became his, and there he continued 
to reside. During the winter of 1838-9 Mr. Sharp delivered 
in the Exchange Rooms a course of lectures on natural 
philosophy, which excited considerable attention, and led to 
the formation of the Bradford Philosophical Society, an 
account of which is given in James's " History of Bradford," 
and of which Mr. Sharp was unanimously elected president. 
While Mr. Sharp had before him the laudable object of 
exciting attention to the pursuits of the higher branches of 
science, he had mainly in view the inauguration of " local 
museums," that formed in Bradford being the first of its kind 
in the kingdom. Afterwards a paper read by him at the 
meeting of the British Association, held at Birmingham in 
1839, was so well received that it may be said to have had no 
small share in the now general formation of local museums. 

Mr. Sharp enjoyed the reputation of a skilful practitioner, 
having successfully performed lithotomy five times. He is 
the author of a medical work entitled " Practical Observations 
on Injuries to the Head," besides other writings on medical 
subjects. For thirteen years he was surgeon to the Bradford 
Infirmary. In 1843 Mr. Sharp disposed of his practice to 
Mr. R. H. Meade, who also became tenant of his house in 
Manor Row, and went to reside at Rugby, in Warwickshire, 
where he became a physician by two degrees of M.D. His 
attachment to this neighbourhood, however, is sufficiently 
indicated by the name given to the house in which he resides. 
In 1840 Dr. Sharp was elected a Fellow of the Royal Society. 
He is not now in practice, but soon after settling at Rugby 
pursued an investigation into Hahnemann's system of 
medicine, which has gone on until the present time, with 
the result that while not owning himself a disciple of 



184 Rambles Round Horton. 

Hahnemann, Dr. Sharp has found by a practical and 
experimental inquiry into his method what may prove to 
be a truly scientific basis for therapeutics — the healing of 
diseases by medicine. 

Dr. Sharp married Anne, a daughter of Saml. Hailstone, 
Esq., attorney, who died in 1834, and for his second wife 
Emma, daughter of the Rev. John Scott, M.A., of St. Mary's, 
Hull. The remains of his first wife and her daughter lie in 
the family vault in the Bradford Parish Church, where there 
is a monument. Of his family three sons and one daughter 
survive. 

The reason for Dr. Sharp's selection of Rugby as a place 
of residence was the education of his sons at the famous 
school of Rugby, where the late Archbishop of Canterbury 
(Dr. Tait) was then head master. To him Dr. Sharp pro- 
posed in 1849 the introduction of the teaching of physical 
science into the school curriculum. That proposal was 
adopted, and Dr. Sharp had the pleasure of being the first 
to begin such teaching in any public school. His eldest son, 
John, after taking his degree at Oxford, was ordained in 1861 
by Dr. Tait (then Bishop of London), and went out as "Rugby 
Fox Master," to assist Mr. Robert Noble in his High School 
(for high-caste natives) at Masulipatam, South India. Mr. 
Noble dying in 1865, Mr. Sharp became principal until he 
was driven home by ill-health in 1878. He married Elizabeth, 
daughter of Dr. Maclean, of Oban, and has several children. 

Dr. Sharp's second son, William Hey Sharp, M.A., has 
recently been made a canon of the cathedral of Sydney, New 
South Wales, by Bishop Barry, Primate of Australia. He is 
head of the Church of England portion of the University of 
Sydney ; and married Mary Edith Pattison, daughter of 
Archdeacon Farr, of Adelaide. A third son, Granville 
Sharp, M.A., is assistant master of Marlborough College, 
Wiltshire. 



Rambles Round Hoyton. 135 



CHAPTER XII. 

Little Horton Green — All Saints' Church — The Old Workhouse^ — "Skinny Booth" 
— Frank Ackroyd — The Moulson Family — Abraham Balme — Edmund Riley — 
Benjamin Kaye. 

For a little while Ioniser we must linger at Horton 
Green, noticing in this topographical ramble what may appear 
of interest. Unquestionably the grandest pile that has been 
erected under the auspices of the Bradford Church Building 
Society is All Saints' Church, Horton Green. Both the site 
and the cost of the erection have been provided at the sole 
expense of the founder, F. S. Powell, Esq. 

This church, one of the choicest specimens of Decorated 
Gothic architecture to be found in the North of England, 
was built from designs by Messrs. Mallinson & Healey, of 
Bradford, Mr. Israel Thornton being the contractor for the 
whole of the works. The edifice is in the form of a Latin 
cross, with nave, side aisles, transepts, and chancel, the length 
of the church internally being about 137 feet. Pillars with 
clustered shafts and admirably-carved capitals of flowers and 
leaves divide the side aisles from the nave. The tower, with 
spire, is of semi-hexagon design, and rises to a great heig-ht. 
The windows are filled with stained glass of great beauty. 
Marble steps lead to the altar, and the stalls for the choir, the 
reading-desk, and pulpit are elaborately and beautifully carved. 
Taken altogether. All Saints' Church stands unrivalled in 
these parts for architectural beauty and internal arrangement. 
The corner-stone was laid on November 23, 1861, and the 
edifice was consecrated in March, 1864, having cost upwards 
of ;^ 1 5,000. 

Until the erection of All Saints' Church the ground 
upon which it stands formed part of the wastes of Horton, 
and in the township survey of 1802 is called Little Horton 
Green, without owner's name, the area being estimated at 
6a. 2r. 3p. The shaft of a coal-pit was after the above date 
sunk upon the site of the church, the coal being worked by 
David Armitage. The ground' was, however, claimed by Mr. 



136 Rambles Round Horton. 

Francis S. Bridges, of the Old Hall, as part of his share of 
the wastes, and was enclosed. 

The iirst building erected upon the Green was the 
township Workhouse, after the previous one, which stood in 
what is now Horton Park, had been vacated. For many- 
years the building (still standing) was used for housing the 
poor of Horton. The introduction of the New Poor Law, 
however, necessitated a change in the arrangements, an after- 
effect being the erection of the stupendous pile called the 
Bradford Workhouse, upon a large open space formerly the 
park of Horton Hall. After the building on the Green 
became no longer necessary, it was converted into dwellings. 
One of the first tenants, we believe, was Mr. Tom Mitchell, 
father of Mr. Abraham Mitchell, of Bowling Parks. Mr. 
William Pullan followed, and lived there for forty-five years, 
his son Robert succeeding him. Another portion was taken 
by Mrs. Milner, who, with Miss Hauptmann, an unmarried 
sister, resided there some time. 

The appearance of Horton Green, with the exceptions 
just named, has undergone less alteration than probably any 
other portion of the residential parts of Horton, and it still 
remains a pleasant quarter of the great borough. Formerly 
there stood upon the upper side of the Green a large plane 
tree, whose umbrageous shade. 

For talking age and whispering lovers made, 

answered well its purpose for several generations of 
Hortonians, while but a slender stretch of the imagination 
is required to picture the " village train from labour free " 
assembling round it for sport and recreation such as were 
usual in the " good old days." Gardens, orchards, old- 
fashioned dwellings of the better class, and homesteads, 
where the labours of the husbandman were combined 
with that of handloom weaving, constituted the primitive 
surroundings of this picturesque hamlet. 

There were formerly many freeholds on the Green, 
principally held by the Sharps, the Listers, the Swaines, the 
Balmes, and the Dentons. We incline to the belief that in 
more remote times the Booth family had possessions, if not 



Rauiblcs Round Morton. 137 

a residence, on the Green. This opinion is founded on an 
indenture bearing date April, 1603, wherein Thomas Booth, 
of Little Horton, clothier, assigns to Richard Booth, of 
Horton, clothier, his brother, a lease of " all that messuage in 
Horton," occupied by the latter, with several closes of land 
bought from Thomas Wood, temp. 33rd Elizabeth. By 
another indenture, dated 1654, John Booth, yeoman, of 
Horton, conveys to Henry Pollard, clothier, a house and 
closes of land adjoining the lands of Thomas Swaine. The 
whole of the property abutting on Horton Green, however, 
has now been acquired by Mr. Francis Sharp Powell, who has 
expended a considerable sum in improving the surroundings. 
In addition to the families named as owners there have 
been several tenants of long standing on the Green, whose 
names are intimately associated with the locality. Taking 
their residences in the order in which they stood on the north 
side of Horton Green we look in at the old house next to 
Horton Old Hall, associated in times past with the name of 
John Booth. In 1802 the property belonged to James Swaine, 
Booth being the tenant. " Skinny Booth " was the familiar 
title bestowed upon this representative of the Booth family, 
but he bore no relation to the Booths above referred to. The 
appellation it would seem was justified, as Booth was a man 
of most penurious propensities. It is said that his constant 
Sunday morning amusement was to bring out his golden 
guineas, pile them up on a table, and then knock them down 
again to see how far they would spread themselves out ! After 
his death the house in which he lived was found to be in a 
sad state of neglect. It is a large, rambling building of the 
early seventeenth century period, and although without family, 
Booth occupied the whole. Most of the rooms, however, were 
fastened up, some of them not having been entered for years. 
When broken into the walls and ceilings were found to be 
thickly festooned with cobwebs, and the formerly whitewashed 
walls contained charcoaled scrawls of sums of arithmetic, the 
names of persons owing him money, and " Skinny " Booth's 
remarks upon the sin of not paying twenty shillings in the 
pound ! John Booth was a farmer upon a small scale, but he 
must have amassed wealth by other means. 



138 Rambles Round Horton. 

Just behind Booth's house lived David Stephenson, 
for twenty years steward to Mr. Bridges, who afterwards built 
Stephenson Fold, Horton. It was his daughter, the present 
Mrs. \Vm. Draper, who, as servant to Mr. Bridges, so 
courageously withstood a gang of burglars that broke into 
the Old Hall on a Sunday night in October, 1843. That was 
a period when burglaries were very common in the neighbour- 
hood. The Stephensons were very old inhabitants of Horton 
Green. One of their houses, inhabited by John Stephenson, 
was owned by Mary Balme, a descendant of the family of that 
name to which reference has previously been made. Edward 
Balme and John Balme subsequently became owners of the 
property. 

The little brick house adjoining John Booth's was built 
by the Denton family, a member of which, named Samuel 
Denton, married a sister of Samuel Cordingley, the steward 
for the Bridges estate after David Stephenson. His son, Mr. 
John Denton, is at present steward for Mr. F. S. Powell. 

The substantially-built house situated nearer to Laistridge 
Lane, and long occupied by Alderman William Moulson, has 
doubtless an interesting history attaching to it, if stones and 
oak panelling were communicative subjects. There is no 
inscription either within or without the house, but the period 
of its erection might be placed at fully two centuries ago. 
In the Horton plan of 1802 the owner was Mrs. Hodsden, 
of Horton House, an almost certain indication that it had 
been the property and was perhaps a residence of the Lister 
family of Horton, whose property Mrs. Hodsden (previously 
the wife of Samuel Lister, Esq., the last of the name at 
Horton) inherited. 

Mrs. Hodsden's tenant in 1802 was Francis Ackroyd. 
He was the head of a family which has done much towards 
developing commercial industry in the neighbourhood. Old 
Frank (colloquially " Frcnk ") was a worsted-piece maker, and 
a member of the Independent congregation at Horton Lane. 
He followed his trade at Horton Green in the fashion common 
to the period, giving out work to neighbouring workpeople, 
until he removed to a house on the site of which the Neptune 
Inn, Bridge Street, was afterwards erected. Originally, 



Rambles Round H or ton. 139 

however, we believe the Ackroyd family came from the 
neighbourhood of Otley, in Wharfedale. 

Frank Ackroyd had a numerous family of sons, all of 
them men of some standing in commercial circles. Of these 
were Joseph, Thomas, William, Francis, Cowling, and Robert 
Stables Ackroyd. It is unnecessary to follow the fortunes of 
the several sons. Suffice it that the second son Thomas had, 
in the year 1817, erected for his occupation Mirypond Mill, at 
Horton Bank Top, by Mr, E. C. Lister, of Manningham, 
and there he continued the worsted manufacture until he 
established the business at Birkenshaw Mills since carried on 
by his sons. William, the third son of old Frank, went to 
Otley, where he also founded a large manufacturing establish- 
ment. Cowling Ackroyd was a prominent Hortonian for 
many years, as we have had occasion to remark, he having 
succeeded the Knights, of Great Horton, an equally notable 
family. Robert Stables Ackroyd built the original Fieldhead 
Mill, now the property of Alderman I. Smith. 

Thomas Booth succeeded old Frank Ackroyd at his 
Horton Green residence in the early part of the century. 
Booth was also a piecemaker, and the large room of the old 
house was occupied with handlooms, the " clickatty-clack " of 
which was so familiar a sound in those days. A portion of 
the house, however, was occupied by Thomas Waddington, 
whose daughter Booth married. A brother of Isaac Pitman, 
whose system of shorthand has since become of such repute, 
was a schoolmaster at Little Horton, and lodged at Thomas 
Booth's, finally marrying his daughter. He also taught 
shorthand, then known as " stenographic sound hand." 

Since the year 1848, however, the substantial old residence 
in question has been wholly occupied by Alderman William 
Moulson. The Moulsons have been connected with the 
township of Horton since about the commencement of the 
century. Originally they came from Emley, near Hudders- 
field. From the first until now they have been connected 
with the stone trade, either as quarrymen or builders, and in 
that capacity have necessarily had a considerable share in the 
construction of Bradford town. The first generation consisted 
of three brothers — William, David, and George. They were 



140 RcDiibles Round H or ton. 

fair specimens of the typo of Yorkshiremen left by our Saxon 
progenitors. William and David lived in Planetree Fold, a 
cluster of dwellings which has been swept out of existence 
by railway operations ; the former subsequently building and 
becoming the landlord of the Black Bull Inn at Little Horton. 
George was unfortunately killed in a coalpit, and his son 
John lost his life in 1825 during the erection of the 
extension to Rand's Mill which overlooks the burial-ground 
of old Horton Lane Chapel. The family is still strongly 
represented in Horton. 

There is a tolerably good house standing at the end of 
the Green, with a barn attached, which has also its associa- 
tions. At present, and for many years back, it has been the 
residence of Mrs. Clark, a daughter of Abraham Balme, 
formerly assistant-overseer of Horton, and a well-known 
townsman. Judging by the inscribed stone over the doorway 
the date of the erection of this house was 1755, and the 
initials are F. S. There is also the chevron of the arms of 
Sharp upon the stone. The erection must, therefore, be 
ascribed to Faith Sawrey, the last lineal descendant of the 
elder branch of the Sharp family. 

The property, of course, passed to her successors, as is 
confirmed by an indenture of lease made in 1789 between 
Charles Swainc Booth Sharp, of Horton Hall, in favour of 
Benjamin Kaye, cotton manufacturer and farmer, of " all that 
messuage, kc, where Samuel Swaine did lately dwell ; also of 
certain closes called Gooselands " (now forming part of 
Horton Park). In 1807 Madam Sharp, widow of the above, 
renewed the lease to Benjamin Kaye, who was succeeded by 
Abraham Balme, his nephew. 

The cotton manufacture, it would appear, was a con- 
siderable industry in Horton about the beginning of the 
present century, and Mr. Kaye was one of the largest dealers 
in the trade. His workshops, since made into cottages, still 
adjoin his former residence on Horton Green. He afterwards 
removed his business to Allerton Hall, where it was conducted 
on a larger scale, his waggons being always upon the road 
between that place and Manchester, then as now the chief 
market for cotton. 



Rambles Round Horfo/i. i4i 

His nephew, Abraham Bahne, succeeded to the premises 
at Horton Green, and was also a cotton-piece maker on a 
somewhat extensive scale. He was a native of Wilsden Hill, 
but when quite a youth came to Horton to learn the business 
with his uncle. On the cotton trade declining, Mr. Balme 
took up the making of worsted, but developed abilities for 
parochial work which were for many years of service to the 
township of Horton. As assistant overseer and in similar 
capacities he enjoyed well merited respect, and on his retire- 
ment was succeeded in the former position by Mr. Thomas 
Myers. 

The three-storeyed house opposite Abraham Balme's 
was built by Samuel Swaine for his own residence, and in 
which he carried on the cotton trade ; and in one portion 
John Riley also made cotton pieces on a smaller scale. Two 
of his sons were Joseph Riley and Edmund Riley, previously 
referred to as assistants to Joseph Hinchliffe, of Horton 
House Academy, and afterwards schoolmasters upon their 
own account. Edmund Riley published in 1859 a small 
volume of poems, comprising " Picciola, or the Prison 
Flower," and a versified rendering of " The Lord's Prayer." 
The little volume also contains an Allegory in prose. 
Although faulty in composition, the poems afford indication 
of a lofty imagination and an aspiration beyond the power of 
poetic expression vouchsafed to the author. Mr, Riley also 
published some very nicely written "Juvenile Tales," one of 
which is founded on the story of " Fair Becca," the scene of 
which he gives as Brackenhall Green. 

Another old resident of Horton Green was John Blamires, 
who resided at the farm near the end of Laistridge Lane. He 
was also a farmer and piece maker, and was the first steward 
employed upon the Bridges' Estate. Thomas Duckitt suc- 
ceeded Blamires upon this farm, and occupied it for many 
years. Still another well-known figure on the Green was that 
of Robert Heaton, whose garden and orchard were pleasant 
resorts in past times. Man}' other incidents might doubtless 
be added in connection with some former inhabitants here 
resident, but we must pass on to notice other places. 



142 Rambles Roinid H art on. 



CHAPTER XIII. 

The Old Red Lion— Holme Top— The "Old House at Home" — Horton Park — 
Horton Mlla — The Cousen Family — Wm. Richardson— Todwell — Quaker Lane— 
The Old Black Horse— The Hammond Family — Chapel Green — The Thorntons. 

In immediate proximity to Horton Green stands the Old 
Red Lion Inn — but not the building now known by that name, 
as the original inn was of the humblest description, consisting 
of one or two low rooms, with plenty of space around and in 
front of it. In this condition it remained at the beginning of 
the present century. The owner at that early period was a 
Mr. Glenton, and the landlady, Mary White. The building 
shortly afterwards had a storey added to it, and so remained 
until the licence was transferred to the present building, 
which is situate a little higher up Horton Lane. Mr. Joseph 
Baxter then became the landlord, and his widow married 
Robert Dunn, who was "mine host" in 1837, Mrs. Dunn 
afterwards remov^ed to the Bermondsey Hotel, in Cannon 
Street, Bradford, and at the latter place her name is associated 
with the introduction of the music-hall element upon the 
London plan into Bradford. 

The good house at the lower corner of Holme Top Lane 
was built by Mr. Jos. Barrans, farmer, horse dealer, and piece 
maker. Barrans was a man of some substance, and belonged 
to all the land upon which Holme Top Mills and other 
property adjoining have been erected. The house at Holme 
Top was afterwards purchased by Mr. Richard Denton, who 
resided there, he being succeeded by Mr. Thomas Ackroyd, 
of Mirypond Mill, Bank Top. 

The house lower down Holme Top Lane was the 
residence of " Dick Smith," who despite his familiar 
appellation was in his time the largest worsted spinner in 
Bradford. Mr. John Wood (of Wood & Walker's), Mr. 
Thomas Clayton, Mr. Wm. Cousen, and Mr. Thomas Aked, 
men of some standing in the early Bradford trade, all learnt 
their business with Mr. Smith, who afterwards removed his 
residence to Lower Burnet Field by an exchange with John 



Rambles Round H or ton. 143 

Stowell. As previously intimated, " Dick Smith Mill " formed 
the nucleus of the present extensive manufactory owned by 
Messrs. Mitchell Bros., situate at the foot of Old Bowling Lane. 

In the very old house at the upper corner of Holme 
Top Lane lived John Clayton, and here by dint of patient 
plodding and industry he brought up a family of thirteen 
children. John was a small piece maker and kept combers, 
and might have been termed in a fair way of business, as he 
flourished at a period when a pair of looms and a " pot o' 
four " for as many woolcombers constituted a respectable 
stock-in-trade. He was one of the first to introduce mule 
spinning by hand into Bradford, and in this capacity 
employed a few hands. His sons were Joseph, William, 
James, Thomas, and John Clayton, the two latter being both 
well-known woolstaplers of Bradford. James Clayton was 
somewhat eccentric, but an intelligent man. He was a good 
mathematician and meteorologist, upon which latter subject he 
wrote and published several pamphlets which are now very 
scarce, besides many articles in the magazines of the day. 
An earlier member of the same family gave the name to 
Clayton Lane by the erection of a substantial house bearing 
the initials J. C, and the date 1776. 

Clayton's house at Holme Top is probably one of the 
most ancient dwellings left in Horton. In deeds dated 1757 
the building is called The Holme Top, and at that period was 
the property of Joshua Stansfield, stuff maker, who carried 
on his business there, besides owning three cottages adjoining, 
tenanted by William Laycock, John Moulson, and Henry 
Blackburn. Stansfield also owned closes of land known as 
Bowling Mill Close, the South Field, the Ing, &c. Joshua 
Stansfield was probably of the family of Robert Stansfield, 
who married a daughter of the Rev. Thomas Sharp, of 
Horton Hall, as evidence exists that the Bowling Close field 
formed part of the Sharp estate, and was disposed of by Mr. 
Powell to the late Sir Henry W. Ripley. The old house is now 
the property of Mr. Michael Smith, and is about to be 
cleared away. 

On the opposite side of Horton Lane, however, there still 
remains a building of antique construction, and of considerable 



I4:'j Raiubles Round Horfon. 

interest on that account, which is well known as the ''Old House 

at Home." It stands some little distance back from the Lane, 

having an extensive frontage, with garden and open space in 

front. There is also a pro- The windows are mul 

I. S. 



jecting porch, bearing the 
following inscription : — 



1669 



Honed, and the interior of 
the house bears evident 



indication of its having been the residence of a gentleman. 
There is a stupendous fireplace in the kitchen. 

Tradition has generally ascribed the erection of this 
remnant of past times to Isaac Sharp, the younger brother 
of Thomas Sharp, of Horton Hall, and that it was what was 
termed the "dower" house of the family. It is probably the 
building alluded to in Thomas Sharp's will, dated 1693, 
described as " his house and land at Holme Top," which were 
bequeathed to his son John when he came of age. If this 
hypothesis be correct, it becomes a question difficult of 
explanation why the property should have passed into the 
liands of the Listers of Manningham. In 1753 the land 
surrounding it belonged to Robert Stansfield, drysalter, who 
married Miss Sharp, and was farmed by Jacob Hudson, who 
lived at the house. Jacob afterwards purchased the old 
homestead knov/n as the " Skinhouse." 

In the hands of Mrs. Lister, however, the property was 
during the township survey of 1802, John Jowett being then 
the occupier; and it was purchased by Mr. Powell some 
years ago of Mr. John Cunliffe Kaye, brother of Mr. S. C. 
Lister. One of the former occupants of the " Old House at 
Home" was Tom Firth, a carrier. William Jowett and John 
Crabtree, of Shipley, also farmed the land afterwards, but for 
some years the building has been divided, one portion being 
occupied by Mr. Benjamin Sugdcn as an inn bearing the 
above " homely " sign. 

Directly opposite to this house is the Horton Moravian 
Chapel, a neat little structure, of comparatively recent erection. 
The chapel was opened on December 28, 1838, at a cost of 
about i^700, one of the most active promoters having been 
the late Joseph Hinchliffe, of Horton House Academy. 
Although involving what would be considered nowadays a 
very moderate responsibility where the erection of a place of 



Rambles Round Hoytou. 



145 







146 Rambles Round Horton. 

worship is concerned, it was by no means a small undertaking 
that the Horton Moravians entered upon ; but they were 
supported by gentlemen like Mr. Henry Leah and others, and 
came through the ordeal. The neighbourhood at that time 
had a growing population, but comparatively neglected in the 
provision of places of worship. Additional school-rooms 
have since been erected in the rear. The history of Horton 
Moravianism, however, dates from a much earlier period than 
the year 1838, the original place of meeting havmg been in 
Paternoster Lane, Great Horton, to wh.ich reference will 
subsequently be made. 

Holme Top Mill was built by John and Squire Stowell 
in 1835. The two brothers had previously been in partnership 
with Thomas, John, and Francis Mitchell at a little factory in 
Manchester Road ; when Mr. Tom Mitchell retired and went 
into partnership with Mr. Geo. Turner at " Dick Smith Mill," 
which after Mr. Smith's death had stood empty a while. 
Holme Top Mills were afterwards occupied and became the 
property of the late Alderman S. Smith, of Melbourne Place, 
and his brother Michael, and of late years have been let off 
to tenants. 

^ Holme Top has given birth to at least one family of 
more than ordinary note. Nathaniel Hulme, M.D. and F.R.S., 
and Joseph Hulme, M.D., were both born at Holme Top. 
They were the sons of Mr. Samuel Hulme, some time 
minister at Kipping, Thornton. Joseph Hulme was educated 
for the ministry, but afterwards studied medicine, and practised 
at Halifax, where he died in 1806, in his ninety-second year, 
a skilful physician and very rich man. His brother Nathaniel 
was born in 1732, and graduated at Edinburgh in 1765. He 
became physician to the Charterhouse, one of the most 
desirable preferments in the profession, and was admitted a 
Fellow of the Royal Society in 1794. His death occurred in 
1807, having been caused by a fall from the top of the 
staircase in his house to the basement. 

What is now called Horton Villa, the residence of Mr. 
John Harper Mitchell, was at one time the abode of a family 
which has produced members of more than ordinary ability 
in the artistic world. James Cousen, formerly a woollen 



Rambles Round Hoj'ton. 147 

draper in Ivegate, lived there in the early part of the century, 
succeeding James Mann, the former owner, who had married , 
his daughter. Cousen afterwards resided at Boldshay Hall 
and at Miryshay, where he joined the firm of Rawson, 
Clayton & Cousen, coal merchants, and died at Miryshay in 
1844, leaving a family of six sons and two daughters. Of 
his sons several were engaged in the Bradford trade, while 
others became eminent in art work. 

John Cousen, who was born in 1804, was articled when 
about fifteen years of age to the celebrated John Scott, the 
animal engraver. During his pupilage he evinced consider- 
able talent, and at its close was engaged by the Messrs. 
Finden to assist them in the various publications then 
illustrated by them ; but after three or four years spent in 
their service his beautiful work in landscape engraving 
attracted the attention of other publishers, from whom he 
accepted commissions on his own account. He engraved 
many charming plates after Turner, Stanfield, David Roberts, 
and others, his " Mercury and Herse," after Turner, the 
" Victory towed into Gibraltar," and " The Morning After the 
Wreck," after Stanfield, are among his most important works. 
He also engraved the frontispiece of the " History of Brad- 
ford," drawn by his brother Charles, and a few other local 
works. In all his work he displayed a refined taste and 
artistic feeling such as have not been exceeded by any other 
engraver of his time, his most exquisite taste being perhaps 
best displayed in his small book plates after Turner, which are 
full of artistic feeling and playful execution. Mr. Cousen was 
very retiring and unassuming in his habits and manners, and 
was much esteemed by those who had an opportunity of 
knowing him. In consequence of poor health he retired from 
the practice of his art about twenty years ago, and died at 
South Norwood, Surrey, on December 26, 1880, in his 
seventy-seventh year. 

Charles Cousen was born in 18 13, and was a pupil of his 
brother John. He also acquired a considerable portion of 
his brother's excellence besides exhibiting characteristics of 
his own, combining to some extent figure with landscape 
engraving. He is still engaged in the pursuit of his art, the 



148 Rambles Round Horfon. 

last surviving member of his family. The engraving of 
Bierley Hall in the " History of Bradford " is from his 
pencil, in addition to the drawing of the frontispiece already 
referred to. 

William, the oldest son of James Cousen, was a 
manufacturer, and in 1819, in conjunction with his father, 
he completed the erection of Cross Lane Mill, Great Horton, 
commenced by Eli Sudderds, which he occupied for some 
years. He married for his second wife Phcebe, only daughter 
of Samuel Blamires, jun., and built a house near the mill for 
his residence. By this marriage Mr. Cousen acquired the 
property of this branch of the Blamires family. His son by 
his first marriage is the present Mr. James Cousen, lord of 
the manor of Horton. All the Cousen family w^ere remarkable 
for their stature, and their father used to say that he had 
" six-and-thirty feet of lads." 

It may be added that Horton Villa, which is quite ar 
modern title, was for some time the residence of Mr. W. 
Chapman Haigh. The adjoining farmhouse was inhabited 
by Mr. William Richardson, professor of natural philosophy 
and an accredited lecturer of the Society of Arts. For many 
years Mr. Richardson was identified with this neighbourhood 
as a scientific lecturer, and in his especial walk it may be said 
that he has left no successor in this part of the country. He 
was a self-taught man, having had but the humblest chances 
in early life, and took an especial delight in instilling into 
others a love of scientific knowledge. He had consequently 
many disciples, who revered him as a father. In addition to 
his ability in the art of instruction, Mr. Richardson was a 
practical workman, having made all his own scientific 
apparatus, besides others sent to all parts of the kingdom. 
He was also a fluent exponent of dramatic literature, and 
a rich conversationalist on most subjects. Mr. Richardson 
was a native of Brookfoot, near Brighouse, and died at 
Southowram, in June, 1878, aged seventy-three }'ears. 

In immediate proximity to Horton Villa is the spacious 
ground of the Bradford Cricket and Athletic Club, situate in 
Park Av^enue, which in capacity and appointments is not 
surpassed by any similar ground in England. The land 



Rambles Round Hart on. i49 

belongs to Mr. F. S. Powell, from whom a lease of fourteen 
years was obtained in February, 1879. This lease, however, 
only referred to about eight and a-half acres, but in February, 
1884, an additional one and a-half acres were taken in, 
making the present area of the ground about ten acres. The 
ground is divided into cricket and football sections, with 
large pavilions, grand stands, and other appointments. The 
procuring of this ground points to a very critical period in 
the history of cricket in Bradford. When the Bradford Old 
Cricket Club were obliged in 1875 to give up possession of 
the field in Horton Road (their predecessors having in like 
manner been ousted from a former ground now the site of 
Claremont), they knew not where to look for another suitable 
spot. Fortunately, by the friendly co-operation of Mr. F. S. 
Powell, the present site at Park Avenue was obtained, and 
it is not too much to state that, by the successes of the cricket 
and football sections of the club combined, " Park Avenue " 
is a locale known favourably throughout England. It should 
be added that the promoters are much indebted to Mr. J. 
Harper Mitchell for generously giving up a portion of his 
grounds in order that the quantity of land required, both 
for the original and subsequent requirements of the club, 
might be obtained. 

Horton Park was opened in May, 1878. In extent this 
popular resort for recreation is about forty acres, and included 
in it is a spacious cricket ground, detached from the Park. 
Including the laying-out, &c., it has cost the ratepayers of 
Bradford about ^42,000. The site was obtained by throwing 
together a number of fields forming separate properties, and 
some negotiation was requisite in order to bring the whole 
together in park-like form. Several fields constituting an 
area of seventeen acres, and comprising Low Close Farm, 
were purchased from the Bower family for ^{^3000. The 
Well Close House Estate, comprising twelve acres, was 
purchased from Noble's trustees for ^10,212. A purchase, 
comprising over seven acres, was made from Mr. Thos. Firth 
for ;^7o68 ; and a further sum of ;^648o was paid to Mr. 
Gamble for about seven acres of land. In conducting these 
negotiations, and in carrying forward the movement generally. 



150 Rambles Round Hortoii. 

it will be by no means invidious to mention the name of 
Alderman John Hardaker as a principal. Although not 
opened until the year 1878, the initiatory proceedings in 
connection with Horton Park were taken at the Council 
meeting held in May, 1870, wlien it was decided to purchase 
Manningham Park, and on the same occasion a promise was 
extorted from the Council that similar parks should also 
be provided for Horton and Bowling. On the occasion 
referred to, a powerful appeal was made for public recreation 
grounds by the late Alderman Mark Dawson, who with great 
appropriateness quoted the Cowperian lines — 

A breath of unadulterate air, 
The glimpse of a green pasture, how they cheer 
The citizen, and brace his languid frame. 

Horton Park is 630 feet above sea level, and 300 feet above 
the level of Market Street. It is needless to state that as a 
place of public resort the park is largely frequented ; the 
display of greenhouse and other flowers being during the 
season a great attraction. Mr. Michael Lander has been the 
head gardener from the formation. 

The next object attracting attention is the building 
known as Mount Carmcl Chapel, opposite the entrance to 
Horton Villa, erected in 1836, by John Parkinson, for the 
Gospel Pilgrims. Mr. Parkinson was one of the old Bradford 
booksellers, a business in which he was engaged for nearly 
fifty years. After leaving Little Horton he removed to Hull, 
and thence to Colne, in Lancashire, where he still continued 
the business until his death in i860. On his removal to 
Hull Mr. Parkinson joined the Primitive Methodist Society, 
amongst whom he laboured as a local preacher until his 
decease. Mount Carmel Chapel, however, has had an 
unfortunate history, having been degraded into a workshop 
and for other purposes. It has now reverted to uses more 
in harmony with its former design, having become a mission- 
room of All Saints' Church. 

On the ojDposite side of the lane leading from Park Lane 
may be seen a portion of the buildings formerly used as a 
coai-stafth by the Low Moor Company. In the days when 
railways were unknown, and coal was generally carted from a 



Rambles Round Horton. i5i 

distance for domestic use as well as for the requirements of 
the rising worsted trade, the coal-staiths of the Bowling and 
Low Moor Companies were a convenience, as the stores were 
brought comparatively near the consumer by means of tram- 
ways or waggon-roads. Such a tramway brought Low Moor 
coal from the pits at Brownroyd Hill and Wibsey to Little 
Horton, and from thence it was carted to all parts of the 
town by the company's vehicles. The stables of the company 
were consequently extensive. The agent in charge was Paul 
Bairstow, who lived upon the spot, and was a great man in 
the neighbourhood, with which his family had been long 
associated. Briggella Mills, the property of Messrs. John 
Briggs & Sons, occupy a portion of the site of the old staith 
and tramroad. 

Tod (or Toad) Well Farm, opposite, is an old homestead, 
associated with the Knight family. In 1753, John Knight 
was the owner and occupier ; and in 1800, Isaac Knight, his 
son, a carrier and farmer, the progenitors of the Knights of 
Great Horton. William Cass, constable and overseer of 
Little Horton, for many years lived in the lane leading to 
Todwell. A very old house, belonging to the elder Sharp's 
estate, is situate just above Todwell, the land being farmed 
by Joseph Bennett. Immediately above comes the Dclph 
Hole or Barley Fold, the site of which was waste ground in 
the township survey of 1802. Abutting upon it was Clough 
House, the residence of James Clough, quarry owner, who 
built a number of the cottage houses in the neighbourhood. 
He died in 1871, at ninety years of age. The maltkiln in 
Barley Fold is associated with the name of Jonas Jowett, 
maltster, also of those of Stockhill and Green. The extra- 
ordinary feat of building a house in a day and sleeping in it 
at night, in order to acquire a title, was accomplished on this 
bit of waste ground. 

Skirting Todwell Farm is Quaker Lane, which by sundry 
bends emerges in Southfield Lane. Although little more 
than an occupation road it is probably one of the oldest 
bypaths in Horton, and from its retired position was chosen as 
an appropriate place of burial by the early Bradford members of 
the Society of Friends. From an examination of the society's 



152 Rambles Round Horton. 

burial registers, it would appear that the first interment at the 
Quaker Lane burial ground was made in the year 1656, and 
was that of one Thomas Judson. Between that period and 
1699 twenty-six interments took place in the above ground, 
the last being that of the body of John Appleyard, of Bowling. 

The following is a list of some of the names of Quakers 
buried at Horton, with the dates of interment, viz. : — 1656, 
Thos. Judson ; 1658, Richd. Thornton ; 1660, Grace, wife of 
Jas. Marshall, Bradford ; 1664, Esther, wife of Robt. Birkby ; 
Thos. Kitchen, Bradford ; Dorothy, wife of John Verity, 
Wibsey ; 1665, the wife of Zachary Yewdall ; 1667, Jeremy, 
son of Wm. Croasdale, Bradford ; 1668, Sarah, wife of Jonas 
Bond ; Hannah, daughter of William Cook ; Mabel, wife of 
Moses Sykes ; 1669, Susannah Judson ; Thos. Hird, Bradford ; 
1670, Elizabeth, daughter of John Winn ; 1671, Mary Hillas ; 
1673, Mary Verity, Thos. Parker, Thos. Kitchen, and Jacob 
Winn ; 1681, Martha, daughter of John Jowett ; 1683, John 
Verity, Wibsey ; 1684, Robt. Birkby, Wibsey ; 1692, John 
Jowett, Bowling ; 1696, Ann, wife of John Appleyard ; 1697, 
Sarah, wife of Isaiah Verity ; 1699, Paul, son of John 
Harwood, Bradford ; Edward Wood, Great Horton ; John 
Appleyard the elder. Bowling. Elizabeth Winn was the 
daughter of John Winn, the persecuted Quaker preacher. 

The first interment at the Quaker burial ground at 
Goodmansend was that of Matthew Wright, who gave the 
ground, and, strange to say, was the first to be laid in it. 
That was in the year 1672, so that Quaker burials at 
Horton were continued for some time after the Goodmansend 
ground had come into use. It is even said that within 
the recollection of old inhabitants of Horton living at the 
beginning of this century interments were occasionally made, 
and they were understood to be the bodies of suicides, buried 
at midnight. However, the ground belonged to the Quakers 
in 1830, and was purchased from them by John Hardy, a 
small quarryman, who erected his present house upon the 
site. In making the excavations he found abundant evidence 
of the sacred uses to which it had been devoted. 

Continuing our ramble to the top of Horton Lane we 
pass the Old Black Horse Inn, famous in the days of 



Rambles Round Hortoii. 153 

" Wibsey weddings " during the time when there were many 
colliers in the district. The landlady at that day was Pal 
Hammond, or " Hawmond," who when the orgies of her 
customers were at their height often asserted her authority in 
a manner to astonish even the rough collier lads. Pal was a 
match for her customers otherwise than physically. Being 
" plain of speech " and an adept in her native Doric, she was 
not backward in giving any one a " bit of her mind " when 
occasion required. Nevertheless, Pal was a good-hearted 
woman, and was admirably suited to her position. She had 
a fine old oak bedstead in the parlour, elaborately carved, the 
envy of many, and for the use of which an extra charge was 
made to newly-married couples who spent the commencement 
of the honeymoon at the Black Horse. In the days of 
Chartism this inn was used by the patrols of special con- 
stables during their midnight rambles in search of men 
drilling. The usual meeting hour was one a.m., when warm 
ale and oatcake were in readiness, and acceptably partaken 
of, it being rough work patrolling the high lands during 
winter time. 

The family of Hawmond is of very old standing in 
Horton. As early as 1379 two members of the family appear 
in the poll-tax of Richard H. That they were landholders, 
and as such acquired grants of land from the adjoining wastes, 
is evident from the following and other documents, viz. : — 

December 11, 15 10. — Oswald Leventhorp, son and heir of Robert 
Leventhorp, lord of Horton, grants to Gilbert Hawmond one piece of 
land 2i acres, lying on the moors of Little Horton, to wit, on the south 
side by land belonging to Chris. Rawson, and on the east side of the land 
of \Vm. Field, of Great Horton. To hold the same on his payment of 
lod. in silver at the Feasts of St. Martin and Pentecost, in equal portions. 
— Witnesses, Richd. Tempest, Esq., Thos. C^elles, John Field. 

1538. — Indenture between Richd. Wilkinson, of Bradford, clothier, 
and Miles Hawmond, of Little Horton, yeoman, whereby the latter 
conveyed to Wilkinson thirty-three roods of arable land in the X ether- 
field of Horton, and Kyrswellcliff in the township of Little Horton, in 
the tenure of the said .Miles Hawmond and Thos. Byrkby. 

In Sir John Maynard's valuation of the tythes of Horton in 
1656, Jonas Hammond is credited with two oxgangs of land. 
In 1708, by indenture, William Hawmond, of Little Horton, 



154 Rambles Round Horton. 

joiner, for the sum of ;^20 mortgaged to Abraliam Sharp, the 
mathematician, " all that field called the Flatt, containing 
2-^ days' work, then in the occupation of Jonathan Rhodes, 
and adjoining to lands late the inheritance of Mr. Thos. 
Sharp on the south and east, upon laixl belonging to Mr. 
Samuel Lister on the north, and on the lane leading from 
Bradford to Halifax on the west, paying yearly to Wm. 
Hawmond the rental of one red rose in the tyme of roses (if 
the same be demanded), and no more or other rent." From 
the description given above, the Flatt close adjoined the 
old Black Horse Inn, which was probably an hostelry at 
that time. The Hammonds of Bradford are of this family, 
among the present representatives being Mr. Benj. Hammond, 
whose generous gifts to his relatives recently found expression 
in a substantial form ; also his nephew, Mr. Ezra Waugh 
Hammond, of Horton Hall. 

In the rate-books of 1839 certain fields at Brownroyd 
are called by the following Wibsey-Iike names: — Back o't 
House, Top o't Hill, and Maiden Brigg Slack. Brownroyd 
Fold has been long the abode of the family of Greenwood, 
Paul Greenwood residing there in 1800, and he succeeded his 
father. The property, however, belonged to Mr. Joseph 
Stocks, who disposed of it to the Low Moor Company. The 
Greenwoods were farmers, scavengers, and horsekeepers, 
leading much coal for the above company, The family had 
also farms at Miryshay and Calverley^ Paul was a Moravian, 
and generally entertained the preachers who came from 
Fulneck to officiate at Chapel Fold, at Brownroyd Hill, and 
at Paternoster Lane, Great Horton. His well-known figure 
was regularly present at both places, and after becoming 
stricken with blindness he was frequently led to his favourite 
places of worship. Paul's son John succeeded him at 
Brov/nroyd Fold, and the family is still resident there. 

The neighbourhood of Chapel Green and Thornton Lane 
would doubtless furnish material for continuing this paper if 
well explored. We have, however, alrcad\- alluded to the 
interesting subject of the first Presbyterian meeting-house 
situate at Chapel Green. A very old homestead in Thornton 
Lane called Thorns has recently been pulled down. The 



Rambles Round Norton. 155 

property belouged to Hutton's trustees, and formed part of 
Lady Hewley's Charity land, the proceeds of which were 
distributed among several Dissenting congregations in the 
neighbourhood, among them being those at Kipping and 
Eccleshill. Mrs. Clark, a daughter of one of the Thorntons, 
resided at Thorns Farm for some time. 

Chapel House, still standing, bears an initial stone 
denoting it to have also been a residence of the Thorntons, 
a favourite Christian name of this family being Jeremiah. 
The will of Jeremiah Thornton, of Little Horton, was proved 
in April, 1749, his son being Wm. Thornton, who purchased 
in 1755 a close of land called Thornton Lig of Wm. Dixon, of 
Bowling. His son, Jeremiah Thornton, was- a man of 
substance in the latter part of the last century, and was a 
stuffmaker. He died in 1780, leaving three sons, Jeremiah, 
John, and Joseph, all stuffmakers. He left property in 
Horton, Bowling, and Bradford, comprising a messuage in 
Horton, occupied by William Stonehouse and Marmaduke 
Pighills, and four closes of land, called the Ing, the Horse 
Close, the Far Close, and the Moore Close ; also messuages 
in Bowling, with closes called the Castle Hill and Thornton 
Ing, and coal mines. John Bakes and William Shaw were 
old tenants of Chapel House, which is generally associated 
with the site of the old Presbyterian Meeting-house. Several 
old cottages, called Lincey Fields, situate in Thornton Lane, 
were pulled down some years ago. 



156 Rambles Round Horton. 



chaptl:r XIV. 

Southfield Lane — The Open Field System of Land Tenure— Haycliffe Hill — The Old 
Bradford Waterworks— Beldon Hill — Horton Bank Toj) — Hollingwood Lane — 
Horton Bank Bottom. 

The neighbourhood of Southfield Lane and Haychfife 
Hill is not without its interest. Although but sparsely 
populated, compared with some portions of the township, it 
has been the abode of Horton families of long standing, 
albeit they may have been little known outside their several 
circles. For the most part they belonged to the small 
yeoman class, farming bits of poor land and eking out a 
subsistence by the aid of the spinning wheel or shuttle. The 
remaining population comprised colliers employed in the pits 
of the neighbourhood, who resided in one-storeyed cottages 
of the humblest exterior appearance, but which gave an 
amount of shelter and warmth in that high-lying region that 
was sought for in vain in two-storeyed or " chaymer-height " 
houses. 

Southfield Lane, otherwise called Saughfield or South- 
gate, has evidently derived its name from the custom 
prevailing in ancient times, when land was held and tilled in 
common, namely, the " open-field system," illustrated in a 
recent paper read by Mr. Lister, of Shibden Hall, before the 
members of the Bradford Historical Society. Of the existence 
of this primitive mode of tenure Mr. Lister found conclusive 
evidence in the neighbouring township of Wibsey. Under 
this system the cultivated land was situate in various parts 
of a township, known as the North-field, the South-field, 
&c., and was divided into narrow strips or " lands," of an 
acre, half-acre, or rood in extent, parted from each other by 
green balks of unploughed turf When instead of being 
arable they were strips of meadow, they bore the name of 
" doles." A fieldway or " gate " admitted to the common 
field, and in those portions which were in pasture there was 
also the right to " gates " for feeding oxen. Corners of fields 
not shapely enough to be divided were called " butts." 



Rambles Round H or ton. 157 

In old deeds frequent mention is made of tlie South-field 
of Horton. Thus, by indenture bearing date March, 1619, 
Thomas Cook, of Bradford, yeoman, sells to Wm. Booth, sen., 
clothier, of Horton, and Wm. Booth, jun., his son and heir, 
" all those three closes called the South-field, in Horton, now 
in the tenure of Elizabeth Gledhill." In like manner we read 
of Two Lands, Nine Lands, the Southern Half-acres, Broad- 
dole, Cross-butts, &c., several of which have reference to land 
in Horton " on the north and east side of a hill called 
Haycliffe." Probably a knowledge of the names of closes of 
land in the neighbourhood of Haycliffe or Southfield Lane 
would suppl}' additional testimony of the existence of the 
open-field system in Horton as well as in Wibsey. 

At Close Top Farm, Southfield Lane, John Smith, 
grandfather of the present occupier, employed many hand 
woolcombers, and made tops for the trade around Great 
Horton. Cragg Farm belonged in 1800 to Mr. Gorton, having 
been previously a portion of the Brooksbank estate, and was 
occupied by Samuel White, who not only followed the 
occupation of farming, but was the shoemaker for the 
district. The land upon which New Harrogate is built 
formerly belonged to this farm. Benjamin Knight, the cotton 
spinner, bought the property of Mr. Gorton, and on his 
bankruptcy the late Mr. George Hadfield, once a candidate 
for the Parliamentary representation of Bradford, took pos- 
session of Cragg Farm, it was said, for the legal expenses 
incurred by Knight. A portion of the land has turned out 
valuable, the Bradford Brick and Tile Company having 
opened it out for brickworks. 

Ha}-cliffe Lane has been for generations the residence 
of a branch of the Swaine family previousl}- alluded to, who 
were owners of small portions of land adjoining their tene- 
ments. In the survey of 1839 occur the names of William 
Swaine, Joseph Swaine, and John Swaine ; also of Kalema 
Gledhill, Samuel Wilson, Samuel Haigh, F. S. l^ridges, 
and Hird, Dawson & Hardy. Messrs. Jos. Stocks, John 
Tommis, John Booth, and Joseph Nichols were previous 
owners of land at Haycliffe. Some of the houses on 
Iia)'cliffe Hill were rebuilt about the jear 1839. The little 



158 Rambles Round Horton. 

Wesleyan Reform Chapel in Haycliffe Lane only dates from 
the year 1875. 

It may not be generally known to the present generation 
of Bradfordians that the first waterworks company of Bradford 
obtained its supply from Haycliffe Hill. The old watercourse 
indeed is still running, and supplies several properties yet. 
The company's water was obtained from a " sough," or coal 
drain, in the hill, and was conveyed in a goit to the field 
behind the " Old House at Home," where there was a trough, 
and from thence the water was conveyed in lead pipes to 
a small reservoir situate near " Judy Barrett's " shop in 
Westgate. 

From a plan of the works drawn for the proprietors in 
1753 by John Smith, of Manningham, we gather that the 
fountain-head of the supply was situate in Squire Leedes's 
land at Haycliffe ; that the water passed through Joseph 
Stocks's land, occupied by John Nicholls ; was brought down 
through Robert Stansfield's land at the corner of South- 
field (or Saughfield) Lane End, through lands owned by 
Samuel Lister extending from Southfield Lane to Todwell 
Farm, where the company's water again entered Stansfield's 
land at Horton Green. Continuing past Richard Gilpin 
Sawrey's grounds at Horton Hall, the pipes were taken 
in a line with an old occupation road which skirted the 
side of what was formerly known as Hailstone's Park, crossed 
the bottom of Melbourne Place, and emerged in Horton Road 
near the site of the present Vicarage. From that point the 
water-pipes dipped towards the valley, crossed the beck and 
goit, and thence were carried forward to John Street, 
Westgate, where the reservoir was placed. 

The supply, however, was only scanty, and much con- 
tention arose, not only along the line of route, in consequence 
of the attempts made to divert or impound the water in a dry 
time, but also at the Westgate terminus. At this point there 
was a tap for supplying those in the neighbourhood, and 
frequent " rows " occurred in determining the question — 
" Whose turn next } " 

In 1790 the proprietors, consisting of Richard Sclater, 
James Smith, John Hardy, Sarah Ward, and John Crosley, 



Rambles Round Horton. 159 

became incorporated by Act of Parliament, but not without 
much opposition from an influential section of the community, 
whose interests were said to be jeopardised by what were 
called the " unreasonable and oppressive " clauses of the Act. 
The orig-inal undertakers of the works being in 1790 all dead, 
their shares were transferred to other parties. The two shares 
of Squire Leedes were, under his bankruptcy, sold by his 
assignees to Mr. John Hardy for ;^39 per share, and that 
gentleman was the principal promoter of the application to 
Parliament. There were only ten shares in the undertaking, 
three being held by Richard Sclater, and three by James 
Smith. Sarah Ward had one, John Crosley one, and John 
Hardy two. The application was opposed on the part of the 
inhabitants by Benjamin Ferrand, Samuel Lister, Isaac 
Hollings, George Barber, Dawson Humble, Francis Bridges, 
and Richard Hodsden ; but the Act was passed. The subse- 
quent history of the Bradford Waterworks has no immediate 
connection with the history of Horton. 

A large quantity of coal was obtained between the years 
1830 and 1 841 from the hillsides extending from Haycliffe 
along Beldon Hill to Cliffe Valley, much of it having been 
carted for the supply of the mills and dyehouses around 
Horton and in the neighbourhood of Thornton Road. The 
coal on Pickles Hill, Crag Hill, Crag Valley, and on the upper 
side of Cliffe Mill was better-bed coal, and was worked by 
Squire Tordoff and George Mortimer, who also got the coal 
in a very large field, called Moor Field, betwixt Pickles Lane 
and Crag Valley, and most of the coal on the Haycliffe side 
of Beldon Hill. The coal around Haycliffe Hill was worked 
by Joseph Knight, and was that known as " black bed," the 
ironstone having been got out by the Bowling Ironworks 
Company many years before. 

Joshua Slingsby, Robert Britcliffe, Abraham Brewer, 
Abraham Bolton, Charles North, and Messrs, Ramsden and 
Co. have also got coal under several fields in the same 
neighbourhood. " Better bed " coal sold in 1840 at 7s. per 
ton. After the coal which would pay for getting had been 
removed, the pit hills were levelled by test labour during the 
depressed times of 1847-8. 



160 Rambles Round Horton. 

A portion of the land about Beldon Hill at one time 
belonged to the Booth family, previously alluded to as 
large landowners in Horton. There was also a William 
Beldon, who owned and farmed his own land, but it would 
appear that the hill derived its name from Benny Beldon, his 
predecessor, who also owned and farmed a few closes. The 
old name for Beldon Hill was Upper Haycliffe, and Haycliffe 
Hill was called Lower Haycliffe. 

An old farmhouse on Beldon Hill, divided into two 
tenements, and now the property of Mr. Wm. Ramsden, is 
worth inspection as affording a sample of the squat, 
substantial erections intended to withstand the elements 
in exposed positions. One portion is occupied by Mina 
Wilkinson, and another by old Benny Priestley. In " old 
Benny's" comfortable domicile will be found a singular 
combination of old-time and modern luxuries — to wit, a fine 
carved oak bedstead, fully three centuries old, and a splendid 
trichord pianoforte of most approved construction, upon 
which the best of classical and sacred music is played to a 
select but appreciative audience on certain days. The little 
garden plot in front also contains one of the best collections 
of pansies to be found in the neighbourhood, the great 
altitude notwithstanding. 

The Priestleys have lived a very long time upon Beldon 
Hill and Pickles Hill, there being several families of this 
name. The Tordoffs, Wilkinsons, and Shepherds have also 
resided upon these hills for generations. It may be noted, 
too, that the denizens of these high-lying parts of Horton are 
very clannish — a peculiarity which may be found more or 
le.ss in Hortonians generally. 

The public gardens on Beldon Hill have been a favourite 
resort for over forty years. They were first laid out by 
Richard Townend — musical instrument maker, whose shop 
formerly adjoined the Old Foundry in Tyrrel Street — and 
were kept by him for nearly ten years, but have been occupied 
by the present tenant for thirty years. They are generally 
known over the country side as " Tom Hardy Gardens." 
The views from the gardens are very fine and the air is 
especially bracing. 



Ranib/es Round Hart on. i6l 

There is a higher altitude than Bcldon J I ill, however, in 
Horton, namely, Reevy Beacon Mill, which is 975ft. above sea 
level. Being in the line of connection with Beacon Hill at 
Halifax and Beamsley Beacon, near Addingham, there is 
little doubt that it derived its name from the uses to which 
this elevated spot was put in the disturbed times of the 
Scottish invaders, intimation of whose approach was made b}- 
means of beacon fires lit upon the most suitable elevations 
that could be found. 

Holdsworth is a verj- old name in connection with these 
parts. From the subsid}- roll, dated Ma}', 1608, it appears 
that Georgius Holdsworth was taxed for lands held b\- him 
in Horton, of the annual value of 20s., for which he paid 
2s. 8d. We have before us a receipt, dated June, 1687, given 
by Alice Holdsworth, daughter of Richard Holdsworth, 
deceased, of Shelf, to Matthew Holdsworth, of Reevy, and 
Gilbert Brooksbank, yeoman, of Horton (doubtless executors 
under the will of her father) for her " childe-portion " and the 
legacies bequeathed her by her father. It was a Jeremiah 
Holdsworth, who occupied Miss Thornton's land in the 
immediate localit}-, that ga\'e the name to "Jer Lane." 

In Beacon Lane once stood a number of low cottages 
called Miry Pond, from the nature of the ground. Hence 
came the name of Mir\' Pond Mill, now owned b\' Messrs. 
Thomas Priestley & Co., but first erected for Mr. Thomas 
Ackroyd, to whom reference has been made. 

At Nettleton Fold, in Jer Lane, are two old houses, the 
initials on one being I. S. L., and dated 171 1 ; on the other 
R. T., 1701*. The owner of the first named was in 1800 
W'illiam Oliver, and the tenant William Nettleton. The 
property was bought by Mr. Fllis Cunliffe Lister, and has 
passed into the possession of Mr. William Ramsden, who has 
acquired much property b}- purchase in the localit}'. Miss 
Thornton was the owner of the one erected in 1701, where 
Joshua Smith lived, and where Francis Barraclough has 
resided for over half a century. Jer Lane Old School was 
erected bv subscription in the vear 1822, for the use of the 
neighbourhood, and was conducted for man}- }'ears until his 
death by an able mathematician and master, John Benn who 



UV2 Rambles Round Hoyfon. 

was entirely self-taught. Many persons who have risen to 
influence in the neighbourhood were indebted to Mr. Benn for 
their education. The Horton Bank Top School, erected by 
the Congregationalists in 1881, has superseded the old school 
for religious services, while the excellent Board School at 
Horton Bank, opened in August, 1874, supplies elementary 
education. 

From an old survey and other documents we gather that 
the Jowett family, of Horton, were considerable owners of 
land and tenements in the higher parts of Horton during the 
latter half of last century. About 1760 Jeremiah Jowett, by 
his last will, bequeathed to his younger son, James, " all that 
messuage, with outbuildings and lands, &c., belonging thereto, 
in the occupation of William Topham, and all those two 
cottages in the occupation of John Ellis and Samuel Mires, 
paying unto Jonas Jowett, his eldest son, the sum of forty 
pounds within one year after the decease of the testator." 
Jeremy Jowett, the first of the family settling in Horton, 
originally came from Buttershaw, in North Bierley. His sons 
were Jonas o' Jeremy's, who lived at Beldon Hill ; John 
Jowett, of Bank Bottom, whose grandson, Joshua, died in his 
eighty-fifth year, in Stephenson Fold, in 1885, having resided 
in that dwelling for seventy years. Charles Jowett, of Bank 
Bottom, was also a son of old Jeremy. All the family were 
handloom weavers. 

At the corner of Cooper Lane there once stood several 
very old houses, with large gardens attached, owned and 
occupied by a family named Lister. The present buildings 
were erected on the site. Miss Thornton owned the Hare 
and Hounds Inn, kept in 1800 by Charles Parker, and he was 
succeeded by William Tordoff, who was the landlord for 
many years. Below the Hare and Hounds there were two 
old farmhouses, since removed, one owned by John Holds- 
worth, the other by Samuel Waterhouse, or " Watress." 

Near the top of Hollingwood Lane there is a place 
called "Cockpit Hill," from the circumstance of its having 
been a place of resort for cockfighting. Another meeting- 
place for the same purpose was at Ikacon Hill. Upon one 
of the cottages at Cockpit Hill are the initials j "^ M. ^^'^^ ^^^^ 



Ranib/cs Round Hoy foil. im 

date 178 1. It was the residence of one of the Moldsworths 
ah'eady noticed. Further down Horton Bank there is a 
sundial over a grocer's shop kept for a long time by William 
Swaine, inscribed T. H. (for Holdsworth; and the date 1827. 
The motto is — " Time flieth swiftly avv^ay." Tradition has it 
that Hollingwood Lane obtained its name from the holly 
hedges which once abounded in the neighbourhood. The 
Horton legend of " Fair Becca," whose unfortunate history 
lingers in the immediate locality, affords evidence in corro- 
boration, as the story goes that " she would come ageean 
while 'holly grew green.'" If holly was once so plentiful 
in Hollingwood Lane it must have fallen a prey to an 
impregnated atmosphere, or more likely to the whittling 
knives of " knor-and-spell " players, who spared no holly 
bush large enough to afford material for their " knors." The 
following indentures testify to the name of Hollingwood 
being of very long standing : — 

1623. — Thos. HoUings by deed poll granted to John Midgley all his 
interest in the close of land called Hollinwood, estimated ai four acres, 
situate in Horton, adjoining upon one great close called Clayton Pasture 
on the west, by lands in the occupation of Gregory Fox on the east, by 
the lands of Edd. Brooksbank on the south. 

Ronr. ILLINGWORTH, Attorney. 

168 1. — Indenture between John Mortimer, of Hollinwood, and 
Richd. Mortimer, of Boiling, his brother, wherein John conveys to his sons 
John and Richard all his interest in a close of land called Hollinwood. 



JOSHUA StANSFIELD, K^j^^^^^^^^_ 

Isaac Broadi.ev, ) 



Isaac Broadi.ev, 

The Drop Farm belonged at the beginning of the 
century to Richard Holmes, John Wilkinson being the tenant. 
His family had ]i\'ed there a long time. The farm has now 
dropped out of existence, the site being occupied by Horton 
Bank Reservoir. The last tenant was named Birkby. 

In the upper part of Horton and about Tanner Hill 
and Hollingwood Lane the Fox family owned and occupied 
property. In 1738 a close of land was called " Gregory Fox 
Close," in the then occupation of John Ramsden. One 
Gregory Fox lived at the roadside cottage in Pasture Lane, 
where Tanner Beck joins Bulgreave Beck. His son was named 
William Fox, 



164 Rambles Round Hoyfoii. 

At Tanner Hill Farm, or Hollin House, the initials 
A. N. and G. N. existed, the date being 1666. The house 
was rebuilt in 171 1 by some owner whose initials 
were J. H. probably answering for John Haley. In 1801 
Jonathan Fox was the owner, and Samuel Holmes the 
occupier. The premises were afterwards occupied by Abm. 
Bairstow and John Holmes. Two old houses have been 
pulled down at Tanner Hill recently, the date of one of them 
being 1560. It is said that a tannery existed here at one 
time, and hence came the name. Paddock Dyehouse was 
founded by Abm. Bairstow, of Hill End, who was a character 
in Horton in his day. His son John, and son-in-law, John 
Holroyd, carried on the works, and afterwards Holroyd and 
Buckle, until the erection of Horton Dyeworks. Of two farms 
at Hill End, one belonged to Jonas Jowett, the other to 
Joseph Wardman. Joseph Cawthra and Saml. White were 
once occupiers, afterwards VVm. Fox and Abm. Bairstow 
became the owners. 

Paradise Farm belonged to John Haley, a calico weaver, 
who attained his ninetieth year. It was purchased from Mr. 
Joshua Pollard and Mr. Paley, of Bowling Ironworks. David 
Mortimer, a respected townsman and octogenarian, has since 
acquired the property, and still resides upon it. Solitary, the 
name of an adjoining farmstead, formed part of the Ashton 
dole land, Daniel Dracup being for a long time the occupier. 

What is known as Horton Bank, or the New Road, 
from Bank Bottom to Bank Top, was formed about the )'ear 
1807. The old road still exists, although in a much inproved 
condition to that in which it was when a portion of the 
highway and coachroad from Bradford to Halifax. In the 
olden times, when the Highflyer and Defiance coaches were 
pulled up the steep ascent by four and sometimes by six 
horses, it was in a shocking state. The road was very 
narrow, not permitting of more than one vehicle going along 
at a time. It was indented by deep ruts, and horses have 
been known to fall dead with the exertion required to pull up 
the coaches. It was not so bad for pack-horses, accustomed 
to highways which in these days of highway authorities would 
not be tolerated. 



Rajiiblcs Roiuid Hovtou. i6o 

About half way up the Old Road there stood an old 
hostelry, called the Three Blue Bells, said to have been 
the oldest inn within many miles. The building consisted of 
two wings and a central portion, and doubtless afforded all 
the accommodation required for man and beast. The last 
landlord who kept it as an inn was Robert Fox. The licence 
was afterwards removed to the house belonging to the 
Blamires family, a little higher up the road ; subsequently to 
the lane end, where it was known as the Dog and Gun, and 
was kept by David Armitage, a noted sportsman. It 
afterwards became the Crown Inn. The premises known as 
the old hostelry in Old Road still stand, but in a very 
dilapidated condition, and, with the farm land adjoining, 
belong to Mr. F. S. Powell. 

The old homestead at Bank Bottom appears to date 
back to about the year 1600, and at one period must have 
been a residence of some standing in Horton. In 1763 
Joseph Pollard bequeathed the property to his son Joseph, 
but he does not appear to have resided there, as he was a corn 
miller, and lived at Shuttleworth Hall, Fairweather Green. 
He was, however, an extensive property owner in Horton. In 
1 78 1 Joseph Pollard sold it to Joshua Crabtree, of Shiple\-, 
Samuel Swaine being at that time the occupier. 

In 1787 Dr. Joshua Walker appears to have acquired the 
property. Dr. Walker was for twenty-five years physician to 
the Leeds Infirmary, but was a native of Bradford, residing in 
Wakefield Road. By his will, dated 181 3, he bequeathed the 
property to lidward Jowett, of P21tofts, Leeds, James Swaine 
being at that period the tenant. James Swaine belonged to 
the old Horton family of the name, and lived to a very great 
age. It is said that while in his ninety-sixth year he followed 
the plough. He died about 1820 in his ninety -seventh year. 
His sons were — James, of Ha\'cliffe Hill ; (iilbert, landlord of 
the George and Dragon Inn ; and John, who had a son. 
William Swaine, a grocer in Xew Road. Another brother of 
old James was named Samuel. 

In 1837 the Bank Bottom farm became vested in Alary 
Leatham, daughter of Dr. Walker, and Edward Jowett, of 
Leeds. After James Swaine the farm was occupied b)' Isaac 



166 Rambles Round Horton. 

Waddington, John Gaunt, and William Watson, the property- 
having been acquired by William Murgatroyd, of the Heights. 
From the latter it was purchased by' the present owner, Mr. 
John Ramsdcn. 

Pickles Hill derived its name from a man named Pickles, 
a horse jobber, who lived at a farmhouse since pulled down, 
but which stood on the site of the new farmstead built by 
Messrs. Ramsden. 



Rambles Round Hovtou. 167 



C H A r T i<: R X V. 

Horton Magna- -The Blainhcs Family— John Wade— Hew Clews— " Fair Becca" — 
The Horton " Guytrash "—Bracken Hall — The Ramsden Family — Horlon Old 
Corn Mill— The Beanlands— Hodgson Old Hall. 

A glance at an old plan of Horton Magna, as Great 
Horton was styled in olden times, would show that very few 
houses existed there at the beginning of the present century. 
Beyond a few dwellings built anyhow on Upper and Lower 
Green, at Old Todley (the site of Broadbent's Mill), at Salt 
Pie and Town End, and detached tenements, generally 
fringing the sides of the high road from Bradford to Halifax, 
there were few buildings. Several lanes and "folds" branched 
from the main road, but not a single street, except that formed 
by the "row" of houses, latterly known as "Knight's Fold," 
then belonging to Mary Brooksbank. From the end of 
Southfield Lane, and continuing for some distance, there was 
a large space of common land called " Great Horton Green," 
including what is now known as Low Fold, which was 
approached on the north side by Paternoster Lane, probably 
one of the most ancient thoroughfares in Horton. An 
almost equally large open space was known as the Upper 
Green. How it has come about that the open spaces of 
common land in question have become covered with dwellings 
is a problem we cannot solve. 

Standing near the highway, and at a short distance from 
Cliffe Mills, is one of the best examples of the farming class 
of homestead in Horton, that known as Blamires' P'arm, 
or " Luke's." It was the homestead of one of the most 
numerous and respectable families of Horton, although 
latterly the property has passed into the hands of Mr. 
William Ramsden. The earliest reference we find to the 
Blamires family is in the township rolls of North Bierley, 
where they were numerously represented as early as 1660. 
A hundred years later, while still retaining property in North 
Bierley, the family would appear to have become settled in 
Horton, as is proved by the will of Joseph Blaymires, of 



168 Rambles Round Hoyion. 

Horton, dated 1760, who devised to his grandson, Joseph 
Blaymires, " all that messuage, with several closes of land in 
VVibse)-, in the occupation of Jeremy Blaymires, his son, and 
two other messuages in Wibsey inhabited by Samuel Wood 
and Rachel Blaymires," with annuities to his son Jeremy and 
his daughters Martha, wife of Samuel Kellitt, Mary, wife of 
John Stocks, Ann, wife of John Wilkinson, and Grace, wife 
of John Thornton. By agreement dated Februar}', 1759, the 
above Joseph Blaymires leased to Samuel Kellitt, of Wibsey, 
a dwelling-house, situate in Wibsey, and four closes of land 
for the term of three years, at a yearly rental of £6 los. 

Our next evidence is that of the will of Luke Blamires, 
butcher, of Horton, dated 1789, wherein he bequeathed to his 
sons, Joseph, Samuel, and William, the messuages, lands, &c., 
in his possession in Horton, conditional on their paying to 
Martha Driver, his daughter, the sum of ;i^io per year during 
her lifetime, and the sum of £200 to her children. Luke 
Blamires died in 1794, aged eighty-one. 

His sons, however, appear to have become owners of 
property by their own industry, as by deed of conveyance 
dated 1780, Joseph Pollard, of Fairweather Green, re-leased 
to William Blamires, of Horton, four messuages in Horton, 
formerly occupied by Jonas Blamires, John Smith, John 
Smithies, and Wm. Crosley, and at the date of transfer by John 
Blamires, Wm. Mires, John Crosley, and Isaac Wilkinson, also 
one close of land called The Croft, for the sum of ^250. In 
October, 1791, also, John Loxley, clothdresser, of Wakefield, 
conveyed Gledhill Croft to Joseph Blamires, butcher, of Great 
Horton. 

Samuel, .second son of old Luke Blamires. kept the 
King's Arms Inn, in Great Horton, besides being a butcher, 
and died in 1818. His sons were Samuel and John. John 
was a butcher and cattle dealer, and at one time kept the 
Granby Inn at Queenshead (now Oueensbury;, afterwards 
removing to the Packhorse Inn at Bradford. Samuel lived 
in Cross Lane, Horton. It was his daughter, Sally Blamires, 
who many years ago gallantly repulsed a gang of burglars 
wIkj attempted to break into the house in Cross Lane. 
Mr. William Cuuscn married another daughter of Samuel 



Raiiibles Round Hoy ton. loy 

Blamires, named Phcebe, and by the marriage obtained 
much property. 

William Blamires, youngest son of old Luke, seems to 
have been the most substantial member of the family. Like 
his father and brotliers, William was also a butcher, and at 
one time had his shop in Kirkgatc, Bradford. He also 
possessed the family peculiarity, that of being somewhat 
" close-fisted " and intent on gain, and the story is told of 
him that, when hard driven by a bargaining customer over a 
joint of beef, he would point a skewer in the direction of the 
old Piece Hall, remarking at the time, " I don't get tJiat at 
it ! " Unsuspecting purchasers naturally supposed that by 
his action William meant the skewer, while in reality he had 
in mind the Piece Hall building ! 

By dint of much hard work, however, William Blamires 
acquired considerable land in the upper portion of Horton, 
his residence being the old homestead referred to, owned by 
his father Luke, and his grandfather. He died in 1829, aged 
eighty years. By his will, dated 1827, he bequeathed the old 
homestead and six closes of land to his eldest son John. To 
Luke, his second son, a messuage in Old Road, with several 
fields adjoining. To his son Timothy (who had the reputation 
of being the strongest man in Horton), five cottages at Hew 
Clews and two closes of land. To his daughter Lydia, wife 
of Thomas Myers, he bequeathed Low Fold Croft and four 
cottages ; and to Elizabeth, an unmarried daughter, two closes 
of land. Through its descendants the Blamires family is still 
well represented in Horton. 

His^h Street is also associated \\ith the familv of Wade, 
of whom one member is deserving of honourable mention in 
these records. John W^ade was a good type of the Horton 
character, plodding and industrious, firm in principle, public- 
spirited, and a pattern of uprightness in all his dealings. He 
was a native of Paradise Green, where he was born in 1799, 
the son of humble parents. By dint of steady industry and 
thrift, however, he became in 1829, when a young man, a 
small employer of hand-loom labour, in the making of all-wool 
plainbacks, shalloons, &c., the staple articles of the then 
Bradford trade. He after\\ards emplojcd steam power, at 



170 Rambles Round Horton. 

Dracup's Mill, Cliffe Lane, but ultimately got into the wool 
trade, which he continued until his death. For nearly fifty 
years he was one of the most regular attenders at Bradford 
market, and few men could better trace the development 
of the worsted trade from its infancy to maturity. Not- 
withstanding his attention to business, he was one of the most 
active men in the affairs of Horton, having a particular 
aptitude for public business. He served as churchwarden for 
many years at Bell Chapel, and also filled the position of 
poor-law guardian, and town councillor. The contest in 
Nov., 1850, in which Mr. Wade was opposed by Mr. Samuel 
Dracup, is still remembered as one of unusual keenness. He 
also dispensed the Ashton Dole for a period of ten years. 
Although warmly attached to the Episcopal form of worship, 
Mr. Wade was a thorough Liberal, and never flinched from 
upholding his views. His death occurred on January 6, 1876, 
in the seventy-seventh year of his age. 

Hew Clews, in Cliffe Lane, is a name recalling several 
points of interest to Hortonians. As to the correctness of 
the spelling we have only conjecture to guide us. It may be 
either Hew, Ewe, Yew, or Heugh with equal correctness, 
although the form given above is generally adopted. " Clew," 
from the Saxon Cleow, is usually understood to be either a 
ball of twine, a guide, or a direction. At any rate, the little 
colony of Hew Clews is a distinctive part of Horton, and 
probably among the oldest settlers upon it was the family of 
Myers, formerly spelt Mires. A female of this name, whose 
daughter married John Shepherd, attained her 102nd year, 
having been born at Hew Clews. William Blamires had 
acquired this property as early as the beginning of the present 
century. John Hanson and his family farmed Hew Clews 
I"'arm for above a hundred years, the property belonging to 
Richard Hodgson, of Whetley. 

Stories are told of the natives of Hew Clews and Ben 
Hill, of a character not in accordance with accepted notions 
(jf civilisation. It is said, for instance, that for about half a 
dozen cottages which stood on Ben Hill there was only one 
oven, which was used in common, and that a solitary spoon 
served alike the six families. Another .storv is told of 



Rinnbles Roiutd Horton. 171 

vSammy Rouse, who, having slept all clay, aroused his spouse 
with the exclamation, " Sharah, t'world's coining tuv an end, 
for t'sun's risen t'wreng side o' t'hahse ! " 

The most popular legend in connection with Hew Clews, 
however, is associated with the story of " Fair Becca," who 
came to an untimely end at the hands of her sweetheart. 
This heartless swain lived at Hanson Farm, " Fair Becca " 
residing in one of the old cottages which until recently stood 
opposite the entrance to Cliffe Mill. As the legend goes, the 
sweetheart appeared one morning before Rebecca's cottage 
mounted as for a journey. Dismounting, he told her to array 
herself in bridal apparel, as he intended taking her to the 
kirk to be married. Rebecca delightedly obeyed, and was 
soon equipped, when they rode away in the direction of 
Wilsden, she mounting behind him on the double saddle ('the 
fashion of the period^. He then put his plan into execution. 
Near a lonely lane they had to traverse at Old Allen were 
some old disused pits, and, riding to one of the most remote, 
ho told his companion to prepare for death, as he was going 
to throw her down. Rebecca pleaded for mercy, but he, 
disregarding her entreaties, galloped round the pit, and 
tried to throw her off the horse ; Rebecca clinging to him 
desperately, he had to ride round three times ere he could 
effect his purpose, his victim shrieking at every attempt. 
The third time he succeeded in flinging her into the pit. 
When the deed was accomplished the murderer seems to 
have suffered pangs of remorse. Before he died he made a 
full confession of his crime, and the corpse of Rebecca was 
found, fearfully mangled, at the bottom of the pit. 

Long, long afterwards the spirit-form of " Fair Becca " 
was said to wander in the neighbourhood of Hew Clews and 
Hollingwood Lane, in confirmation of her dying words, that 
" she would come ageean as long as holly grew green." Her 
name was a great scare in Horton, as may be imagined ; but 
although the legend was religiously believed to be true, " old 
inhabitants " generall)- were slow to affirm that they had ever 
seen her. Latterh-, her non-appearance is accounted for by 
the fact that she had been " flayed awaj' ' by- the whirr of the 
machincr\- at Cliffe Mills. 



17-2 Rambles Round Norton. 

The Horton " Guytrash " was another boggard in our 
young days, and generally took the form of a " great black 
dog," with horrid eyes. Horton Lane, Legrams Lane, and 
Bowling Lane, now Manchester Road, seemed to be particu- 
larly chosen as favourable places for its ramblings, and many 
are the tales told of this " Guytrash " being seen there. The 
late I'2dmund Riley, of Horton Green, used to tell the story 
of a well-known and staunch Independent of the old school, 
who resided at Horton, and was going home one night about 
the " witching hour," when, as he was passing the gates of 
Horton Hall, he was startled in his meditations by something 
jumping at his heels. He looked round, and, sure enough, 
there was the " great black dog." He made his way home, 
as fast as he could, and when he got there either fainted or 
was near doing so. The next morning he was told that Mr. 
Sharp (who inhabited Horton Hall) had died just about 
the time he was passing and saw the " Guytrash." In its 
ramblings the " Guytrash " was said to go about with chains 
rattling round it, and sometimes without ; but as it has never 
been heard of since the town was incorporated, it is supposed 
to have become jealous of the policemen, and so has left the 
neighbourhood for ever. 

Bracken Hall and Holly Bank, situate in Hollingwood 
Lane and Cliffe Lane, are the modern-built residences of 
Mr. Wm. Ramsden and Mr. John Ramsden, the energetic 
proprietors of Cliffe Mills. The former occupies the site of 
a farmhouse long tenanted by John Bennett and his family, 
and alluded to in the will of the Rev. Thos. Sharp, of Horton 
Hall, dated 1693, as "all my house and lands at Breckin 
Hill, Great Horton," which he becjueathed to his daughter, 
Elizabeth. The property belonged to the Giles famil}-. 
successors of the Sharps, until purchased by Mr. William 
Ramsden. Holly Bank is an entirely new residence standing 
in an elevated position, and, like Bracken Hall, is surrounded 
by thriving plantation.s. 

The name of the Ramsden family will long be honourably 
associated v»ith the commercial history of Horton from the 
enterprise displayed by the present representatives, who from 
a humble beginning have built up an extensive business 



Rambles Round Hortcvi. 173 

concern, and have become considerable propert}' owners in 
Horton. The family sprang from Upper Green, where John 
Ramsden, grandfather of Messrs. William and John Ramsden, 
was a plodding, industrious carpenter and dealer in timber. 
His sons were Thomas, Joseph, Jonathan, and James, all 
of whom were engaged in similar av^ocations at Great 
Horton. Since their acquisition of the Cliffe Mill property 
Messrs. Ramsden have much enlarged the premises, which 
are now among the most extensive in the neighbourhood. 

There are grounds for assuming that so earl}' as 131 1 
there was a soke corn mill at Horton, as the Lord of Horton 
in those early times amerced some of his tenants for grinding 
their corn at the mill at Bradford. In the Hopkinson MS. 
it is recorded that Thomas Foxcroft held Horton Mill of the 
lord of the manor, Thomas Foxcroft, of Kebro}-d, Sowerby, 
died 7th September, 36 Henr}- YHI. (1545), seised of one 
messuage and forty acres of land, meadow, and pasture, and 
of one " water mill " in Great Horton, and of a fee farm or 
annual rent of 46s. 4d. out of certain lands and tenements 
in " Lytle Bollyng," which were held of John Lacey, of 
Cromwellbotham, by knight service and rent of 6s. Richard 
Foxcroft was his son and heir. 

The descent of the manor from the Lacies to the later 
branch of the Horton family has been previously traced. 
When Sir Watts Horton died, and the manor fell to Captain 
Rhyss, the manorial property was brought to the hammer in 
1858, Mr. Wm. Cousen purchasing the lordship, including the 
building known as the Manor House, the pinfold, the "lord's 
rents," &c., and Mr. Samuel Dracup the old corn mill, farm, 
and water rights connected therewith. Upon an outbuilding 
of the mill there were the initials I. CM., and the date 1668. 
The old mill has been partially rebuilt. The water-wheel 
supplied from the adjoining dam is also comparatively 
modern, although doubtless occupying its old position. There 
were .several roads from Horton and Clayton down to the old 
corn mill, one of which is still known in the neighbourhood 
as the " Cat Steps." 

Long before the manorial property left the hands of the 
Hortons, Joseph Beanland was the tenant of Horton old 



174 Rinnbles Round Hart on. 

corn mill. He was a corn miller and colliery proprietor 
at Fairweather Green, and belonged to a Heaton family. 
Joseph Beanland was a man of some enterprise. In addition 
to running the old mill he erected for the purposes of his 
business a corn mill at Beckside, besides a worsted mill in 
Cliffe Lane for his sons-in-law, Samuel Hellewell, Joseph 
Wilkinson, and Edward Knight. Robert Fox was the miller 
at the old mill under Beanland for many years. 

Joseph Beanland had a son John, who assisted him 
at the old corn mill, and when he married succeeded his 
father, the old man going back to reside at Shuttleworth 
Hall. The affairs of the Beanland family were unfortunatel)- 
thrown into Chancery, resulting in much of their property 
being sold at a sacrifice. Beckside Corn Mill, with three 
closes of land, barn and about a dozen cottages, although 
not Beanland's property, shared a similar fate, having been 
purchased for an " old song " by Samuel Dracup, after 
the mill had stood unoccupied for some time, and after 
being considerably enlarged and adapted to the worsted 
manufacturing business was let to Messrs. John & Robert 
Turner and others. Messrs. W. & J. Pilling formerly occupied 
the corn mill, in addition to Sams Mill. 

At a short distance from Beckside Mill there stood 
upon the brow of the neighbouring hillside two very ancient 
tenements, which have only recently been taken down. One 
of the houses stood at the bottom of Pleasant Street, and was 
known as Hodgson Old Hall. The other was situate beneath 
the Wesleyan Chapel burial-ground near to Cow- wells. 
Both were of very antique construction, with high pitched 
gables, massive chimneys, long, low mullioned windows, 
and oaken doors and panelling. The initial stone removed 
from the old house at Cow-wells has been built into the 
embankment wall close by, and contains the letters T. S., and 
the date 1620. 

For upwards of a century this house was occupied by 
a family named Smithies. The initial S., however, had 
reference to the owner named Sugden, as is borne out by an 
indenture dated May 3, 1697, reciting that "whereas Robert 
Sugden, of Horton, by his will dated November 9, 1686, 



Ra/ub/cs Round H art on. 



175 




OQ 






176 Rambles Round Horfon. 

devised to Isaac Rollings, of Rorton, and Thomas Pighills, 
yeoman, all that messuage in Horton in the occupation of 
Grace Smithies, in trust to be disposed of for the benefit 
of his children." In discharge of this obligation the 
trustees sold the messuage, &c., to Robert Swayne. The 
indenture is witnessed by Robert S\va}'ne and Samuel 
Swa\'ne. The inscrip- I i and the date 1654. It 

tion upon Hodgson Old _ a is said that John Wesley 
Hall contained the initials ! preached from the horse- 

steps that formerly stood in front of the house. This building 
belonged to the Swaine family, Susannah Swaine being 
set down as the owner in the township survey of 1801, and 
John Hodgson as the occupier. Hodgson was a bachelor, 
and had for many years another bachelor named Robert 
King residing with him. Both were of a careful turn, as is 
evidenced by the fact that whenever old Hodgson had a load 
of coals to deliver Robert King followed behind to pick up 
any straj* "cobbling" that fell from the cart. The propert}- 
at the period of its demolition belonged to Mr. W. H. Fox, 
of Skipton. 



Rambles Round H art on. 177 



• CHAPTER XVI. 

The Rrooksbanks of Horton— Gilbert Brooksbank— The Charnocks— Old Todlc)'— 
Harris Court Mill— Cowling Ackroyd— J. ). Broadbent — "Spectacle" Wood- 
Doctor Thomas — Edward Cockerham— Hunt Yard — The Legend of the Wild 
Boar— Low Green— Hall Yard. 

One of the most important families in Horton Magna 
during the seventeenth century was that of Brooksbank. 
The name meets the eye continually in the records of the 
period, and the Christian name of Gilbert appears to have 
been a favourite one in the family, as it was continued during 
several generations. In the Subsidy Roll of 1608, Gilbert 
Brooksbank was assessed upon lands in Horton of the annual 
value of 20s., the same man having in 1602 been complained 
of along with others for enclosing waste land in Horton. 
This offence was, however, by no means uncommon at the 
period. In 1675 a Gilbert Brooksbank, yeoman, of Horton, 
proved the last will of Richard Brooksbank, of Oxheys, 
Norwood Green, he retaining the document in his own pos- 
session under a bond of £^0 to produce it to Sir Wm. 
Horton, lord of the manor, when required. It was doubtless 
this Gilbert who paid the hearth-tax, levied in 1666, for two 
hearths or fires at his homestead in Horton. Still continuing, 
we find a Gilbert Brooksbank assessed in the Horton land-tax 
of 1704, and paying the largest amount of any landowner 
in Horton township, the Sharps, Listers, or Mortimers not 
excepted. 

The existence in Great Horton of several residences of 
more than ordinarily substantial appearance, all bearing the 
initials of Gilbert Brooksbank, testifies to the standing which 
the family bearing this name had in Horton, and, with 
other circumstances to be subsequently referred to, justifies 
a somewhat extended record of the family history. 

The earliest of the Brooksbank houses in point of 

date is the building known as the old " Four Ashes Inn," 

situate at Primrose Hill, and now the residence of Mr. 

James Akeroyd. On 1 1 and on the outer porch the 

the lintel of the house '^^' \ initial B, and the date 174^. 

1674 . . 

is the inscription | The building long used as 

M 



178 Rambles Round Horton. 

a tanhouse by the beck side at Primrose Hill was also a 
residence of the Brooksbanks. Other two residences are 
standing in the upper part of Horton. That now tenanted 
by Mr. John Denton , It is a good example of 

opposite to Broadbent's -,7^0 ^ gentleman's residence 

Mill, bears the inscription ! 1 of the period, and at the 

date of its erection would form a prominent feature in Great 
Horton. It has latterly become the property of Mr. F. S. 
Powell, Mr. Denton being his agent. Closely adjoining is 
the King's Arms Inn, which bears the above initials and 
the date 1739. 

The inference drawn from these facts will probabl}- 
be that this substantial family, including a succession of 
Gilbert Brooksbanks, originally lived at Primrose Hill, and 
subsequently erected the two houses at Great Horton, the 
more pretentious building becoming the family residence. 
This inference is borne out by the will of Gilbert Brooks- 
bank, of Great Horton, gent, proved in 1763, wherein he 
devised to his niece Rebecca, wife of Jonas Atkinson, clerk, 
late of Tong, the mansion at Great Horton, wherein he 
resided, and two tenements occupied by Timothy Stocks 
and John White ; also four other dwelling-houses occu- 
pied by Joseph Sutcliffe, Jeremiah Robinson, Samuel 
Holdsworth, and Joseph Wilkinson. The will was attested 
by Gilbert Brooksbank, jun., and John Hill, a Ikadford 
physician. 

The subsequent disposition of the family mansion is 
shown in an indenture bearing date 1779, and reciting that 
whereas a marriage was proposed between Richard Gorton, 
of Salford, merchant, and Elizabeth, daughter of Rebecca 
Atkinson, " all that capital mansion at Great Horton, then 
in the occupation of Joseph Swaine, also three fields called 
the West Croft, the Moorfields, and the Stunsteads ; also the 
messuage lately occupied by Timothy Stocks, and the three 
closes called Stoney Lands, Upper Stunstead, and Crooked 
Royd ; also the large Cragg where the Quarry is, the Ing or 
Coal Pit Close," were released to John Hill and Samuel 
Lister in trust for the use of the young children of Richard 
Gorton and his wife Elizabeth. 



Rambles Round Norton. 



179 




ISO Rambles Round Norton. 

Residents of Great Horton will have no difificulty in 
identifying the closes named. The more complete description 
of the Brooksbank property comprised fourteen messuages, 
eight barns, eight stables, eight orchards, and lOO acres of 
land in Great Horton and Stanbury. Stephen Parkinson 
purchased Stoney Lands, and upon the site erected some of 
the houses at Summerseat Place. 

Richard Gorton died intestate in 1816, leaving a son 
John and six other children ; and in July, 1821, by indenture 
bearing that date, his trustees sold to Benjamin Knight, 
cotton manufacturer. Great Horton, " all that mansion 
recently occupied by Joseph Swaine, also the West Croft, 
Stunsteads, &c.," for the sum of ;!{^2 5oo, ;^2000 of which was 
borrowed on mortgage from Edward Ferrand, of St. Ives, 
John Gorton, and John Lambert, the two latter being trustees 
of the Gorton estate. 

The ultimate proprietorship of the family residence of 
the Brooksbanks is bound up with the broken fortunes of 
Benjamin Knight and his brother John, who were made 
bankrupt in the year 1826, when the mansion and other 
hereditaments were seised by the Commissioners in Bank- 
ruptcy, and became the property, subject to the above 
mortgage, of Messrs. Cbas. Harris and the partners of the 
Old Bank, who were the largest creditors upon the bankrupt 
estate. It would appear that the King's Arms property was 
sold in 1827 to Mrs. Trout, of Bradford, and ultimately came 
by will to the Rudd family, who sold it in 1878 to the 
Bradford Corporation for the purposes' of street improvement 
for the sum of ;^5ooo. 

The above recital, interesting and conclusive though 
it be, deals only with a portion of the property formerly 
belonging to the Brooksbanks. The family, as may have 
been gathered, was numerous, and, although for some reason 
the family mansion in the higher part of Horton passed from 
the male heirs as early as 1763, other possessions remained in 
the hands of the Brooksbanks. The family were also con- 
nected with the Barracloughs of Horton, and by marriage 
the latter were allied to the Charnocks, who have acquired 
much of the property formerly held by the Brooksbanks. 



Rambles Round Hortoii. 181 

This wc gather from an indenture dated June, 1797, reciting 
that a marriage was intended between Mary Barraclough, 
spinster, of Manningliam, and James Charnock, incumbent 
of Haworth, and that the former " stood seised of the 
reversion expectant on tlie decease of Mary Brooksbank, 
the elder, widow, late wife of John Brooksbank, of Horton, 
gent., deceased, and Mary Brooksbank, the younger, widow 
of Joseph Brooksbank, late of Horton, gent., deceased," of 
certain messuages and lands described as " all that tenement 
situate at Horton Lane Side, with barn, &c.," and also " all 
those several closes of land belonging thereto, known as the 
Sherebrig Beck Close, the Lower Hall Brooks, the Tempest 
Field, Stonylands, &c., late in the tenure of John Brooksbank 
and Jonas Tommis, and also all the other hereditaments in 
Horton and elsewhere." The trustees under the marriage 
settlement were Thomas Hodgson, of Scholemoor, stuffmaker, 
and Wm. Smith, Bradford, grocer. 

Mary Charnock died in July, 1S09, leaving at her decease 
three children, namely, Thomas B. Charnock, Mary Hodgson 
Charnock, and Martha Hanson Charnock, to whom she 
bequeathed her property in three equal parts. Her husband, 
the Rev. Jas. Charnock, died in May, 18 19. Mary Hodgson 
Charnock died in December, 1845, leaving her property in 
equal portions to her brother, T. B. Charnock, and her sister, 
Martha Hanson Charnock, who married in 1835 Mr. Thomas 
Horsfall, and went to reside at the Paper Hall, Barkerend, 
afterwards removing to Burley Hall. Thomas Brooksbank 
Charnock died in October, 1847, intestate, leaving a son, 
James Hanson Charnock. The Charnocks resided at the 
Mansion House, in Southfield Lane, after leaving Haworth. 
Thomas (locally known as Tommy) Barraclough, the father 
of Mrs. Charnock, married Mary, the only daughter of 
old Gilbert Brooksbank, of Tanhouse, and tlius became 
the connecting link between the Brooksbanks and the 
Charnocks, who now hold their property. Unfortunately, 
the later members of the Brooksbank family were very 
improvident, the last of them, who died very poor, having, 
it is said, " swallowed five farms " during the course of an 
intemperate life. 



182 Rambles Round Horton. 

The little colony of houses once known as Old Todley 
exists now only in name. The site of it is partly occupied 
by Messrs. J. J. Broadbent & Co.'s mill and the late Mr. 
Broadbent's residence, called Great Horton House. When 
Brooksbank House opposite was in its heyday it looked 
upon a few low cottages, a blacksmith's shop, and a little 
school-house, with burial ground attached, also a plot of 
vacant land. From the proximity of these buildings of high 
and low degree it is evident that Old Todley or Smithy Hill 
might be regarded as the centre of the village of Great 
Horton, a distinction which the site still retains. 

From deeds in the possession of the Broadbent family 
it appears that the old school was built by the Wesleyans 
of Horton in the year 1766, the ground having been 
purchased for that purpose by Jonas Jowett and James 
Brayshaw. It remained as a day and Sunday school and 
preaching-room until the erection of Hunt Yard Wesleyan 
Chapel in the year 18 14. The old school property and the 
land adjoining were sold in 181 5 on behalf of the Wesleyan 
body to Messrs. John Knight & Co. by the following trustees, 
namely, Samuel White, James Helliwell, Thomas Stocks, 
Roger Milnes, Robert Turner, Eli Suddards, John Ramsden, 
and John Hall. Many interments having been made on the 
Todley site, the remains were removed to the burial ground 
adjoining the new chapel. The old school-room was after- 
wards used as a shuttle-making shop by Nathaniel Dracup, a 
noted bass singer. The smith's shop appears to have been in 
the occupancy of a man named John Abbott. Three of the 
cottages adjoining were occupied by James Aveyard, James 
Binns, and John Tommis, and on the side nearest to the Four 
Ashes was one cottage occupied by the Blagbrough family. 

Reference has already been made to the earlier history 
of Messrs. Broadbent's Mill, erected in the early part of the 
century for the cotton manufacture by Messrs. J. & B. Knight, 
afterwards occupied by Mr. Cowling Ackroyd in the worsted 
business, and for about a quarter of the century by Mr. J. J. 
Broadbent. During the interval it has been respectively 
known as Knight's (or " Kneet ") Mill, Cowling Mill, and 
Harris Court Mill, consequent on the property having come 



Rambles Round Horton. ina 

into the possession of Messrs. Harris, the bankers, on the 
bankruptcy of Messrs. Knight, The good house adjoining 
called Great Horton House, was originally erected by John 
Knight for his own residence, and was enlarged and much 
improved by Mr. J. J. Broadbent. 

This gentleman was for many years connected with the 
staple trade of Bradford, and after his acquisition of the 
Harris Court Mill property was largely contributory to the 
welfare of the people of Great Horton, materially and socially. 
He was the son of Mr. John Broadbent, of the Canal Road 
Vitriol Works, Bradford. Prior to the removal of his business 
to Harris Court Mill Mr. J. J. Broadbent was at Atlas Works, 
Thornton Road, but as his business proved more and more 
successful he bought the Harris Court Mill property from 
Messrs. Harris, the bankers. He very much enlarged the 
mill premises, which at the present time form an extensive 
pile. Mr. Broadbent was a thoroughly practical business 
man, and was held in high esteem in commercial circles. He 
was of a retiring disposition, and took very little part in the 
political or municipal affairs of the town. For many years 
he attended St. John's Church, Great Horton, the building of 
which had been greatly helped forward by him, and he held 
the office of warden there for some time. In Great Horton 
he was highly esteemed both as an employer of labour and 
as a leading resident. Mr. Broadbent's death occurred in 
October, 1885, aged sixty-seven years. 

The previous occupier of Great Horton House, Mr. 
Cowling Ackroyd, was a gentleman whose name was long 
associated with the trade of Bradford, while as a resident of 
Horton he occupied a very prominent position. He was one 
of the sons of old h>ank Ackroyd, and commenced in the 
worsted business with his brother Thomas, at Mir}'pond Mill, 
prior to the latter's removal to Birkenshaw. Cowling Ackroj-d 
then succeeded Messrs. Knight at Harris Court Mill, and for 
years was tlie leading man of the worsted trade of Great 
Horton, while at the same time an active townsman, and the 
leader in almost any movement, socially and politically. For 
a long period he enjoyed the title of the " King of Horton." 
He was an ardent Tory, and was the proposer of Mr. John 



184 Rambles Round Norton. 

Hardy when that gentleman first contested Bradford in 1832, 
and again on the occasion when the present Lord Cranbrook 
(then Mr. Gathorne - Hardy) sought the suffrages of the 
Bradford electors in 1847. Mr. Ackroyd was at one time the 
parish constable for Horton, and was unsuccessful in a contest 
with Mr. Richard Denton for the office of councillor for the 
Great Horton Ward in 1848. He was, however, returned for 
the Bowling Ward in 1849. He was also a trustee of the Old 
Piece Hall, and a commissioner of taxes. In more recent 
times Mr. Ackroyd held an appointment on the Great 
Northern Railway. His death occurred in May, 1872, in 
the seventy-second year of his age. 

Several old Horton families were located in the immediate 
neighbourhood of " Cowling Mill." John Clough kept a 
grocer's shop next to the mill, and nobody was better known 
and respected. His son W^illiam removed to Westgate, Brad- 
ford, and was a maltster there. Adjoining Clough's house 
was the residence of John Wood, familiarly known as 
" Spectacle Wood," to whom Great Horton was indebted for 
postal facilities, of which the village stood in great need half 
a century ago. 

Mr. Wood was a native of Allerton, but migrated to 
Manningham as a schoolmaster, and in 1838 removed to 
Great Horton. One of his first engagements was to assist in 
the preparations made for celebrating the coronation of Her 
Majesty Queen Victoria, which event took place on the 28th 
day of June, and was observed in Great Horton as a day of 
general rejoicing. At that time postal affairs were managed 
with great laxity. All the letters were forwarded from 
Bradford twice a-week, the messenger being a man over 
seventy years of age, who could neither read or write, and who 
frequently remained drinking on the road until late in the 
day, deferring the delivery until the following morning. At 
Mr. Wood's initiation, however, a memorial praying for a daily 
delivery was successful, and subsequently a sub-post-ofifice 
was established, Mr. Wood being elected sub-postmaster, and 
this position he held for twelve years. Mr. Wood afterwards 
became connected with various newspapers, and n that 
capacity was well known. 



Rambles Round H or ton. 185 

Another family named Haley, were for generations shop- 
keepers at the end of Southfield Lane, " Sally Haley's " being 
a household name in the neighbourhood, and a Jeremy Haley 
occupied the Mansion House before the Charnocks came to 
reside at it. Dr. Illingworth, afterwards of Bradford, occupied 
a room in this house, when commencing practice in the 
district ; and the Mansion House was subsequently occupied 
by the Misses Hinchliffe as a boarding school ; then by Mr, 
E. K. Fox, and the present tenant is Mr. John Buckle. 

;. While gossiping about old Hortonians who resided in 
this neighbourhood we must make some reference to Abraham 
Thomas, or " Doctor Tom," as he was familiarly called, who 
was the village surgeon for over sixty years, and the only one 
in'Horton for nearly forty. Dr. Thomas came from Hebden 
liridgc in 1822, and resided first in the old parsonage opposite 
Bell Chapel, afterwards removing to the end of Cross Lane, 
where he died in February, 1878, in his eightieth year. The 
doctor was one of the old school of surgeons, and bled for 
ever}'thing, but he had the wisdom to refrain from dosing 
with physic where fresh air was m.ore suitable, and was in the 
habit of recommending a stroll upon Beacon Hill as the best 
thing possible. He had his peculiarities, however, among 
them being a love of money, although as a set-off he was 
moderate in his charges, and was never known to ask for a 
debt. He was a big, burly man, somewhat short-tempered, 
and not very particular in his choice of language. Apart from 
his medical standing, " Doctor Tom " played a somewhat 
prominent part in the affairs of Horton, and enjoyed con- 
siderable respect. He was a bachelor, and left several 
bachelor brothers, among whom he divided his great property 
while still alive. He was buried at Heptonstall, near his 
native village. 

Edward Cockerham was also a man of some standing in 
Horton. He originally came from Leeds. His father was 
a carrier between Leeds, Bradford, Manchester, and other 
places, his waggons being well known as " Cockerham's 
waggons." The son came as an apprentice to Cowling 
Ackroyd, and remained several years after reaching manhood, 
afterwards acting as manager for Messrs. Priestman at Brad- 



186 Rambles Ro2md Hortoii. 

ford, prior to his entering into partnership with Mr. Getz at 
Atlas Shed, Tumbling Hill. He lived at the house adjoining 
the Wesleyan Chapel, which was built by Samuel Blamires. 
Mr. Cockerham afterwards purchased Chapel House and 
resided there until his removal to Ashfield House, Bingley, 
where he died in 1883. He was an active churchwarden at 
Bell Chapel, and a kindly neighbour and friend. 

The neighbourhood of Hunt Yard has been strangely 
altered since the commencement of the present century. 
When the old road from Bradford to Halifax by way of 
Silsbridge Lane, Green Lane, Toby Lane, Scarr Lane, was 
the chief highway, there was an open space at Hunt Yard, 
used in later times by the surveyors for a dross hill. 
Excepting an old hostelry there were only two or three low 
dwellings in Hunt Yard. According to the evidence of an 
inscribed stone still preserved, the old hostelry was erected in 
1622, the sign being the " Robin Hood and Little John." 
The building was pulled down in iSoo for the erection of 
more modern dwellings. The original cellars, however, 
remain, and are arched, and in an underground recess there 
are several stone pillars which supported the old building. A 
portion of the original walling is above a yard in thickness. 
There used to be an old building connected with this hostelry 
called " Brick Castle," in which travellers were lodged ; the 
beds of oak being built into the walls. Altogether, the 
" Robin Hood " was a noted house when the old Scarr Lane 
passed in front of it. It was at a " hen drinking " in this house, 
in which the murderer of " Fair Becca " took part, that her 
ghost, it is said, first appeared. 

The most singular legend in connection with Hunt Yard, 
however, is one which has been told by Mr. James, in his 
" History of Bradford," and to which subsequent^historians 
have been able to add little. The story runs thus : — That a 
wild boar once frequented a certain well in Cliff Wood to 
drink ; that the beast was watched by a person who, having 
shot him dead, cut out his tongue, and repaired to court to 
claim the reward which had been offered to any one who 
would rid the neighbourhood of the presence of the beast. 
Presently after his departure from the well, another person 



Rambles Round Horfon. i87 

came thither upon the same errand, and finding the beast 
dead, without any further examination he cut off his head 
and hastened away to the same place in expectation of the 
promised reward. Arriving" before liim who had been first at 
the well, and being introduced to His Majesty's presence, the 
head was examined, but was found without a tongue, con- 
cerning which the man, being interrogated, could give no 
satisfactory account. Whilst this was held in suspense, 
the other man was introduced with the tongue, claimed the 
promised reward, and unfolded the riddle by informing His 
Majesty how and by what means he killed the beast, and thus 
received the following grant, namely, a certain piece of land 
lying at Great Horton, known by the name of Hunt Yard, 
and for the tenure of which he and his heirs for ever should 
annually attend at the market place at Bradford on St. 
Martin's Day, in the forenoon, and there by the name of 
Rushworth hold a dog of the hunting kind whilst three blasts 
were blown on a horn, and utter these words following, 
expressed aloud, " Come, heir of Rushworth, come hold my 
dog whilst I blow three blasts of my horn to pay my 
Martinmas rent withal." 

This tradition has been preserved for centuries. The 
famed John of Gaunt, lord of the Honor of Pontefract, it is 
said, added the blowing of the horn in order to make his 
progress through Bradford more imposing, and the original 
grant was made to John Northrop, of Manningham, who 
granted a portion of it to Rushworth, of Horton, for assisting 
in the horn-blowing ceremony. The horn went with the Hunt 
Yard property, and was handed down by its possessors for 
generations. At one time it was used to summon the 
manufacturers to market. By purchase of part of the Hunt 
Yard property it came into the possession of Mr, Richard 
Fawcett, who afterwards lived in Hunt Yard, where his son, 
the late Canon Fawcett, was born. Mr. Fawcett employed 
many handcombers in the neighbourhood, and for some time 
after his removal to Bradford continued the employment. 

At the sale of I\Ir. Fawcett's estate the Hunt Yard 
property passed into the hands of Messrs. Harris, the bankers, 
and Messrs. Fox purchased it from them at the price, it is 



188 Rambles Round Norton. 

said, of ^21 per house. The property now belongs to Mr. 
R. A. Fox. The famous horn, however, came into the posses- 
sion of Mr. Jonathan Wright, whose trustees at his death sold 
it to the late Charles Rhodes,twho afterwards sold it to Dr. 
Outhwaite. Dr. Outhwaite, having given up his house in 
Bradford, did not feel himself justified in taking away this 
interesting relic, and, according to agreement, gave Mr. 
Rhodes the option of repurchasing it. This Mr. Rhodes did. 
Afterwards it came into the possession of the late Sir Titus 
Salt. Finally it has passed into the keeping of the Bradford 
Philosophical Society, and may be seen in their museum at 
the Technical College. Its length is about twenty-eight inches, 
and it is of a beautiful dapple-grey, tipped with silver. The 
silver tip is understood to have been added while the horn was 
in the keeping of Mr. Fawcett. 

Whilst taking our topographical ramblings in Great 
Horton proper, we may add a sentence or two in reference 
to Low Green or Low Fold. The existence here of two or 
three very ancient houses, including the old Manor Llouse, 
marks Low Green as one of the original settlements of Great 
Horton. Tradition has it that the ancient residence of the 
Horton family, formerly lords of the manor, was situate at 
Low Green, and some colour is lent to the assumption by an 
adjoining plot of ground being still called Hall Yard. With 
all deference to the tradition, however, it is more likely that 
the latter took its name from the family of Hall, which 200 
years ago was one of some standing in that neighbourhood. 
Upon an old residence ad- | and the date 1697, 

ioininrr the King's Arms , . ' while similar initials 

Inn, there are the initials are inscribed upon a 

building at Low Green, with a subsequent date, 1722. As 
noted in a previous paper, James Hall was, in 1704, assessed 
in the property-tax for Horton at 20s., and he was also one 
of the collectors. He lived at what is called the Manor 
House, and owned land in front and at the back of his 
residence. He was a manufacturer, as well as a carrier from 
this district to London, conveying his own and other makers' 
goods to the Metropolis by means of bell or pack horses. 
He had a son John Hall, who lived at the same house after- 



Rarnhles Round Norton. i89 

wards, whose daughter Jane was married to Sammy Blamires, 
who kept the King's Arms Inn. By Mr. WilHam Cousen's 
marriage with Phcebe, the daughter of Sammy Blamires, the 
Low Green property came into the hands of the Cousen 
family. 

Another old residence of equal antiquity at Low 
Green was that occupied by Eli Suddards, a corn dealer, 
who commenced the erection of Cross Lane Mill, after- 
wards purchased and completed b}' Mr. William Cousen. 
Upon a house i and the date 1657, but as 



situate near the mill, , to its origin we have no 

is the inscription 1 I information. By the laying 

out of Horton Park several old homesteads have been 
absorbed. In one of them, called Low Close Farm, resided 
John Jennings, a well-known townsman, who succeeded James 
Wilson. The Hall Yard now forms the cricket ground of 
Morton Park. 



190 Rambles Rotmd Norton . 



C HAPTER XVI I. 

Lidget Green— Dr. Fawcett — Mount Pleasant School — Schole Moor— The Mortimer 
Family — The Midgleys— Schole Moor Cemetery — Birks Farm — Sams Mill. 

There are doubtless several old portions of Great Horton, 
as for example Blacksmith Fold and Upper Green, which 
would yield abundant material for gossip, but we must hie 
away to Lidget Green and Schole Moor, which are not 
without features of interest. 

Lidget or Lidgate Green has been supposed to be derived 
from the Saxon Leodgate, signifying a gate leading to the 
adjoining land, and we have abundant evidence that the land 
to the west was formerly waste or common land. Li olden 
times Lidgate Green would be a quiet place upon the old road 
leading from Bradford to Halifax, the principal indication of 
its existence being a blacksmith's shop at the corner of the 
" Green," and two or three substantial farmsteads close at 
hand. To one of these the following extract from the Sessions 
Rolls of 1689 would doubtless apply, where we read : — " An 
assembly of dissenting Protestants in and about Bradford 
and Bradford-dale do make choice of the house of Richard 
Whitehurst, clerk, Lidgate, near Clayton." 

From this extract we derive two facts, one being that two 
hundred years ago the place was called " Lidgate," and the 
other that under the provisions of the so-called Toleration 
Act, a little assembly at Lidget contributed to the foundation 
of Nonconformity in these parts by establishing a meeting- 
house. It would appear that the residents of Lidget Green in 
more recent times were intolerant of clerical imposts, the 
collector of vicar dues having been once stoned away at the 
ri.sk of his life. Happily there has been no such martyr in 
recent times. We are unaware whether the great bonfire 
which upon each anniversary of Gunpowder Plot was set 
ablaze at Lidget Green had any political or religious 
significance, but it is certain that the residents of this hamlet 
have for generations held pronounced views on matters 
ecclesiastical and political, while local questions excite in 
them an equal amount of interest. 



Rambles Round Norton. 191 

Lidgct Green has given birth to a thrifty race of people, 
many families, such as the Rawnsleys, Bentleys, Cockcrofts 
Leaches, Dewhirsts, Holdsworths, and others having clung 
to the neighbourhood with loving pride. Their histories, 
however, we must pass over to notice that of one of the 
celebrities of the neighbourhood. 

John Favvcett (afterwards the celebrated Dr. Fawcett) 
was born at Lidget Green in January, 1739. His father was 
Stephen Fawcett, a small farmer, and he leaving a numerous 
progeny, John was bound apprentice to a staymaker in 
Bradford. Although engaged from six in the morning to 
eight at night, the young man contrived to steal a ^ew hours 
for study, and became a good linguist and Biblical scholar. 
His first- religious impressions were received from the 
celebrated Whitfield, who preached in the Bradford Bowling 
Green to about ten thousand persons when young Fawcett 
was about sixteen years of age. He afterwards attended 
Haworth Church, where the Rev. William Grimshaw, the 
apostle of the North, officiated. In February, 1758, young 
Fawcett came before the Baptist Church at Bradford, and was 
baptised by the Rev. William Crabtree on the nth of March. 
Having imbibed the doctrines of the Baptists, he still walked 
to Haworth to hear the Rev. James Hartley, the Baptist 
minister, preach; and in 1764 the latter was the means of 
pressing Mr. Fawcett to accept the pastorate of W^ainsgate 
Chapel, near Hebden Bridge, where he laboured for many 
years. He afterwards established an academy at Ewood 
Hall, which attained considerable celebrity and brought him a 
handsome competence, and in 181 1 the degree of D.D. was 
conferred upon him. 

Dr. Fawcett's writings are numerous, his Commentary on 
the Bible being a text-book for all Biblical scholars, and he 
wrote many other valuable works, one of which, his " Essay 
on Aneer," brought the author under the notice of George HI. 
This was about the year 1802, when a dignitary of the 
Church, preaching before His Majesty, quoted a passage on 
the government of the passions, with which the Royal hearer 
was particularly pleased, and requested to know the name of 
the author quoted. This was given, and it was added that he 



192 Rambles Ronnd Horton. 

was a minister in Yorkshire of the Baptist denomination. 
His Majesty wrote to Mr. Fawcett, and the book was 
sent, accompanied by a modest and respectful letter. The 
King having read it with great pleasure, expressed to Mr. 
Fawcett his wish to serve him in any way that might be 
agreeable. That gentleman, however, rested satisfied with 
expressing the high sense he entertained of the honour done 
him, without soliciting further favours. Some time afterwards, 
the son of one of Mr. Fawcett's members was convicted of 
forgery, and, sympathising with the afflicted parent, the 
minister determined to avail himself of his interest with the 
King, and wrote a very pathetic letter requesting the life of 
the young man. A reprieve was at once granted, to the 
great surprise of all who did not know the previous cir- 
cumstances, but the full particulars of the event Dr. Fawcett 
considered himself bound by delicacy to conceal during the 
life of his benefactor. One of the doctor's sermons delivered 
at the Baptist Association in Bradford in 1810 produced a 
great effect. His death occurred in 1817 ; aged seventy-seven. 

The building called Mount Pleasant Independent School 
may be regarded as a link connecting the present with the 
past. Although of humble appearance contrasted with such 
erections as the new Board school adjoining, or the numerous 
Sunday schools upon the elegant scale now prevailing, Mount 
Pleasant School did good service at a period when such 
institutions were much needed. Although, as we have shown, 
a small body of Dissenters had nearly two centuries ago done 
its part in establishing a meeting-house at the Green, no 
necessity had apparently arisen for the erection of a place of 
worship, and half a century ago there was neither church, 
chapel, nor school-house in the neighbourhood. 

The pioneer in providing an acknowledged want was 
Mr. Joshua Rhodes Balme, of Crosley Hall. He first 
collected children in a cottage occupied by Sarah Silson, and 
the school was continued there until the cottage became 
too small to accommodate the numbers seeking admission- 
Subscriptions were then raised towards the erection of a 
school for instruction on Sundays and week days, and a plot 
of land was purchased from Messrs. John & Robert Turner, 



Rambles Round Horton. 193 

stone merchants, of Legrams, containing an area of 324 square 
yards, for the sum of £dfO los. The trustees contracting for 
the purchase were the Rev. J. G. Miall, Bradford ; Rev. Thos, 
Hutton, Allerton ; Henry Brown, Bradford, draper ; Geo. 
Osborn, Bradford, woolstapler ; Wm. Mackay, Manningham, 
tea dealer ; John Wilkinson Balme, Allerton, coal proprietor ; 
Wm. Smith, Legrams, worsted spinner ; Samuel Rawnsley, 
Lidget Green, worsted manufacturer ; Joseph Holdsworth, 
Lidget Green, worsted manufacturer ; John Holdsworth, 
Paradise Green, stuff weaver ; Thos. Hammond, Bradford, 
worsted manufacturer; Thomas Buck, Bradford, worsted 
spinner ; Wm. Wyrill, Bradford, ironmonger ; Robert 
Patterson, Bradford, stuff merchant ; and John Dewhirst, 
Lidget Green, stuff weaver. 

The building was opened in the year 1838, with about 
120 scholars, Mr. Joshua Balme being the responsible head, 
assisted, as teachers, by his cousin, Mr. E. Balme, the Misses 
Holdsworth, Tiplady, Rawnsley, and others. Mr. Balme had 
had an academic training, and his heart was evidently in the 
work. He was, however, somewhat of a recluse, and had a 
little room fitted up in the attic of the school, in which he 
studied and slept, the dim light of his nightly lamp being 
often observed in the small hours of the morning. Mount 
Pleasant School was at first attached to Horton Lane Chapel, 
tlien to Salem Chapel, and afterwards to Lister Hills Chapel, 
with which it is now connected. \\\ 1877 the building was 
completely remodelled at an expenditure of ^600, chiefly 
through the liberality and endeavours of Mr. Robert Leach, 
an old scholar at the school, and one of the present trustees. 

The National School at Lidget Green was opened in 1839, 
having been erected principally by subscription. The land for 
the site was given by Mr. Joshua Pollard, of Crow Trees. The 
architect of the building was Mr. Wm. Andrews, of Bradford. 

Scholemoor (with which may be associated Paradise 
Green) is a hamlet of Horton adjoining to Lidget Green, and 
is supposed to have derived its • name from having been 
moorland dotted with rude huts ; scholcs or scJiales denoting 
huts. That the commons or wastes of Horton lay in the 
vicinity, if not upon the actual site of the Scholemoor 

N 



194 Rambles Round Norton. 

Cemetery, the deeds handed over to the Corporation 
abundantly testify. These deeds extend backwards to the 
year 1520, and bring up the title to the most recent owners. 
The temptation to copy freely from such a wealth of material 
is undoubtedly great, but we must be content to indicate by a 
few extracts the line of owners since the land was " improved " 
from the waste. 

While yet in this condition a family of the name of 
Thornton would appear to have been possessed of a messuage 
and lands at Scholemoor, but as they do not appear after 
about the year 1520, and were then described as of Byrtbe, in 
the county of York, their interest was probably bought up by 
the most important Scholemoor family on record, that of the 
Mortimers. In 1562 John Lacy, of Cromwellbotham, who 
had succeeded to the lordship of the Manor of Horton by 
marrying the heiress of the Leventhorpes, conveyed to John 
Mortimer, of Scholemoor, several parcels taken from the 
waste lands of Horton, and similar grants were made to 
William Ellison, of Horton, Thomas Littlewood, and Thomas 
Wood, rendering knight's service, suit of Court at Horton, and 
an annual rent of one red rose (an evident indication that the 
grantor could give no substantial title). 

In Oct., 1589, Richard and John Lacy sold the moors 
and wastes of Horton, at that time said to comprise 250 acres, 
to Thomas Hodgson, of Bowling, yeoman, Thomas Sharp, 
Robert Booth, and William Field, of Horton. Accordingly 
we find several deeds, dated 1591, relating to grants made 
from the newly-acquired wastes, of which the following is an 
example, viz. : — 

Mar. 31, 1 59 1. — Thos. Hodgson, of Bowling, yeoman, Thos. Sharp, 
Robt. Booth, Wm. Field, of Horton, yeomen, granted to Edwd. 
?vIortimer, of Horton, clothier, all those parcels of land, being portions 
of eight acres forming part of Horton common or moor, five acres being 
on the west side of the road Icadino to the end of the mansion-house of 
Ed. Mortimer, and abutting on the north side by the road leading from 
Clayton to Bradford. Another parcel of five roods abutting on the same 
road, and on the east side by land belonging to Benjamin Kennett, clerk ; 
and another parcel lying in the Upper Moor, being portions of land 
assigned to Edwd. Mortimer, Richard Clayton, John Hollings, Thos. 
liarraclough, and others. And also another parcel containing lA. IR., 



Rambles Round Horton. 195 

having a road over it, being the residue of the aforesaid eight acres, 
abutting on the lands of Ed. Mortimer, in Horton. 

The mention of a " mansion-house " at that remote 
period naturally leads the antiquarian mind to wonder where 
it might be situate, and there can be little doubt that the 
residence in question was that which stood near the top of 
Scholemoor Cemetery when the land was acquired for burial 
purposes. The house was a substantial specimen of the class 
usually inhabited by the smaller gentry, having heavy over- 
hanging eaves, and massive mullioned windows. A pair of 
huge pillars flanked the entrance gateway in front, a broad 
walk leading to the house. Several of the large trees 
surrounding the residence are now standmg in the Cemetery. 

The Mortimers evidently added to their possessions in 
other parts of the township, as is shown by deeds dealing 
with land at Hollinwood, to which place members of the 
family migrated from the paternal homestead. Particulars 
of the Scholemoor branch are given in the following 
summarised wills: — 

Will of John Mortimer, oj Scholemoor, dated 16^8. 
John Mortimer, yeoman, in his last will and testament, made May 
12, 1658, devised to William Mortimer, his younger son, and his heirs, all 
that dwelling-house and barn, with one close of land belonging, then in 
the occupation of Matthew Sowden, and situate in Horton ; four closes 
called Milner Closes, and other closes in Horton, occupied by the said 
John Mortimer. To Elizabeth, Martha, Sarali, and Mary Mortimer, his 
daughters, he left one hundred pounds each. To his wife Mary he 
bequeathed a portion of his goods and chattels ; and to his eldest son 
John the residue of his estate. 

Witnesses : Richard Booth, William Field, John lllingworth. 

Will of John Mortimer, jun., of Scholemoor, dated 16"] 8. 
John Mortimer, yeoman, of Scholemoor, in his last will and 
testament, made December, 1678, provided that if the child then 
expectant should be a son, then he should inherit all his estate at 
Scholemoor ; and, if a daughter, he bequeathed to her the sum of three 
hundred pounds, and in that case devised his estates to his brother 
William, his heirs, &c., upon payment of the above bequest to his unborn 
daughter upon her attaining her majority. To his wife Elizabeth he made 
provision by a yearly allowance during her lifetime. To Elizabeth, 
Martha, Sarah, and Mary, his four sisters, he left the sum of one 
hundred pounds, 

Witnesses : John Sagar, John Hodgson, David Midgley. 



196 Rambles Round Horton. 

In Sir John Maynard's valuation of the rectorial tythes of 
Horton, made in 1638, John Mortimer, of Scholemoor, is 
assessed at £2\ on three oxgangs of land, and a John 
Mortimer is the only master miner named in the early 
registers of the Bradford Parish Church ; while in the allot- 
ment of sittings at the church, made before 1705, Wm. 
Mortimer has the largest number allotted to him as a 
freeholder of Horton, namely, four and one-fourth, showing 
that William had succeeded to his brother John's estate ''as 
bequeathed in the second will) failing a son being born to 
the inheritance. Indeed we have the receipt before us dated 
June, 1705, wherein his brother's wife Elizabeth acknowledges 
the half-yearly payment of £6 13s. 4d., " by virtue of the last 
will and testament of John Mortimer, my late husband." 

The relation of the Mortimers to the Tempest family of 
Horton is indicated to some extent in the following extract 
from a deed referring to Shelf Hall, Avherein by indenture 
dated 

July 12, 1660. — Richard Mortymer, of Horton, in Bradford-dale, 
yeoman, in consideration of the sum of ^19 6s., bargains to sell to 
Martha Best, of Landimere, Shelf, widow of Richard Best, and Michael 
Best, younger son of Richard Best late of the same, yeoman, deceased, 
the messuage called "the old house," &c., in Shelf, late the inheritance of 
Richard Tempest, of Horton, deceased, late uncle of Richard Mortymer 
deceased, who died without issue. The estate then came to Richard 
Mortymer, as cousin and next heir of the said Richard Tempest, (that is 
to say) son and heir of Sarah, late wife of William Mortymer, deceased, 
late father of said Richard Mortymer, and which said Sarah was sister 
and only heir of Richard Tempest. 

Witnesses : Isaac Maude, Jas. Sagar, Will. Appleyard, John 

Learoyd. 

About the beginning of the eighteenth century the 
Mortimer estate at Scholemoor appears to have become 
merged in that of the Midgleys, one of the four sisters named 
in John Mortimer's will having married a Midgley, who in 
1706 administered to the personalty of her brother, William 
Mortimer. The Midgley family was of ancient descent at 
Headley, in Thornton, and was connected by marriage with 
many of the chief families in the neighbourhood. In the 
Bradford Parish Church there is a handsome mural monument 



Rambles Round Norton. 197 

in memory of John Midglcy, of Scholcmoor, who died in 
1730, and of Bathsheba, his wife, daughter of John HoHings, 
of Crosley Hall, who died in 1736. The deceased gentleman 
was an attorney. The deeds conveying the Scholemoor 
estate to the Bradford Corporation describe the Midgleys 
as of Scholemoor, and presumably residing at the former 
mansion of the Mortimers. 

About 1740 two maiden sisters of John Midgley, of 
Scholemoor, gentleman, named Mary and Martha, purchased 
the adjoining manor of Clayton for ^looo. Mary Midgley 
became the first wife of Samuel Lister, Esq., of Horton, and, 
she dying in 1764 without issue, the manor became the 
property of her unmarried sister, Martha, who by her will 
dated 1778 devised the lordship of Clayton and all her estate 
to the Rev. Geo. Cooke, of Everton, and Mary his wife, who 
was a Rollings. The Rev. Henry Cooke, a son of the latter, 
succeeded to the Scholemoor estate, and in 1800 sold it to Mr. 
John Jarratt, of Bradford, who had land in the neighbourhood, 
the Scholemoor land being then in the tenancy of Richard 
Lumby, farmer. In 18 14 Mr. Jarratt disposed of his interest 
to John Booth, farmer, of Denby, Allerton, who, by his will, 
dated 1826, bequeathed his estates at Clayton, Manningham, 
and Scholemoor to Joshua Robertshaw, of Swain Royd, and 
James and William Booth, both of Allerton, in trust for the 
use of his wife Mary, and Ann Lumby, his daughter, and 
her children. 

The transfer of the Scholemoor estate to the Corporation 
was made in 1858 by Wm. Tickles, \\'ilsden ; Dan Hopkin, 
Clifton ; Jos. Woodhead, Cleckheaton ; and Catherine Booth 
Woodhead, daughter of Samuel Lumb}'. Samuel and Richard 
Lumby, of Scholemoor, were brothers, the former residing in 
the homestead previously described as standing within the 
Cemetery grounds, and the latter in the farmstead situate 
near to the Cemetery gates. Both the brothers Lurnb}' were 
very active townsmen during the early part of the present 
century. Richard was largely engaged in farming operations ; 
Samuel, or " owd Sammy Lumby," as he was invariabl}- called, 
was almost wholly engaged in town's business either as 
overseer or constable, and he was the leading churchwarden at 



198 Rambles Round Horton. 

Bell Chapel. In 1857, when the Scholcmoor estate came into 
the market, Mr. James Dixon, of Bradford, purchased two 
lots, upon the site of which he erected North Park Lodge, 
where he resides. 

Scholemoor Cemetery stands in a beautiful position just 
beyond Lidget Green, the ground lying upon a gentle slope 
overlooking the Thornton Valley. An estate of more than 
thirty acres was purchased by the Corporation at a cost of 
£^^^0. Twenty acres have been laid out, ten acres being 
reserved in fields and meadows for future appropriation. The 
principal works were begun in the latter part of 1858, and 
were carried out under the direction of Mr. Gott, the borough 
surveyor, the registrar's house and the chapels having been 
erected from the designs of Mr. E. Milnes, architect. The 
cost of the site and the laying out was about £\ 1,000 

Springfield, the residence of Mr. Simeon Townend, is not 
very ancient, although it has been much altered in appearance. 
Formerly the ground upon which it stands, as well as the 
adjoining land, formed a part of the estate of the Pollards, of 
Crow Trees, afterwards bought by the Horsfalls. The house 
has been occupied successively by Joshua Dewhirst, John 
Hardaker, topmaker and farmer, John Sagar, Jo. Morris, 
solicitor ; and others. Before Mr. Morris entered to it the 
land was said to be " too poor to summer a gooise," but under 
his care, and that of the succeeding occupier, it has been 
much improved. 

Until recently the carriage way which divided the two 
portions of Scholcmoor Cemetery led to a footpath which 
to the left went forward to Crosley Hall, and to the right 
led to Birks P'arm, comprising two separate tenements. One 
occupied by James Pearson and cut in the mantel- 

contains the inscription piece of an adjoining 

over the doorway _ building the initials 

and the date 1664. There is also a curious motto 
accompanying the latter inscription, as follows : — 
" My son, fear the Lord and the King, and meddle 
not with them that are given to change." This portion of the 
homestead is in a ruinous condition, but was formerly owned 
and occupied by Thomas Hodgson, who is severally described 



Rambles Round Hortoii. 199 

as a woolstapler and merchant. His family continued the 
occupation, a more recent Thomas Hodgson being one of 
the original trustees of Horton Lane Chapel, and described 
in the deeds of 1781 as a worsted stuff maker. He after- 
wards removed to a good house on the site of Messrs.* 
D. Illingworth & Sons' Mill in Thornton Road. A long time 
ago this portion of Birks Farm was in the occupation of 
William Smith, and then of John Waugh, of Shuttleworth 
Hall, whose family combined clog-making with farming. 

An adjoining house, but one not of so ancient an 
appearance, has for generations been in the occupation of 
the family of Bakes. Both properties until recently belonged 
to Mr. J. A. Jowett, as the descendant of the Hodgsons, but 
Bakes's Farm has lately been purchased by the Corporation 
for the purpose of improving the cemetery site. 

The situation of Sams Mill marks it as the probable site 
of a very old corn mill, bordering the stream which, after 
receiving the waters of Bullgreave Beck, dividing Clayton from 
Horton, is afterwards known as Bradford Beck. The origin 
of the name of the mill is obscure, but the date of its founda- 
tion is probably given in an inscribed stone upon an inner 
wall, which orioin- with the words, " Sams Mill 

T H 

ally was an outer on Middle Broke," namely, 

wall, as follows : — that portion of the stream 

dividing Allerton and Clayton. The above date and initials, 
it will be observed, correspond with those upon the old house 
at Birks ; indeed, the mill was evidently erected by Thomas 
Hodgson, and afterwards passed to Dicky Hodgson, of 
Whetley, from whom the property has descended to its 
present owner, Mr. J. A. Jowett. 

Of former millers we have only recent records. A 
century ago John Jennings, whose family were millers at 
Bowling Corn Mill, and lessees of the old Soke Mill, Bradford, 
was tenant of Sams Mill, and in April, 1789, was killed by 
the cogwheel of the mill. His widow married John Dalby, 
of Leventhorpe Mill and Crosley Hall, who succeeded to 
Sams Mill. After Dalby came Joseph Pilling, who had 
previously run Poole old mill. He lived at the house 
adjoining .Sams Mill, where his sons William and Joseph 



200 Rambles Round Horton. 

were born. The latter were of an enterprising turn, as, in 
addition to running Sams Mill, they occupied Beckside Mill 
at Horton, and about forty years ago erected the premises 
in Manchester Road, now known as the Borough Mills 
(Messrs. J. Ellis & Co.). 

James Pearson, of Leventhorpe Mill, followed the Fillings 
at Sams Mill, and has been the miller there now for forty 
years. By alterations and additions the old mill has been 
almost completely absorbed, and little is observable of the 
original structure. Many years ago, however, Mr. Pearson 
discovered an underground passage, which had apparently 
been long hidden from view, and of which the former tenant 
knew nothing, which had been probably a portion of the 
goit for the waste water. The old house adjoining has also 
received considerable additions. 

In an old map of 1773 the adjoining land is named 
" Scoles-moor," and the bridge leading to it from Manningham, 
"Thief- ford Bridge." Thiefscore Lane, which has been 
greatly widened and otherwise improved, has been re-named 
Cemetery Road, and Scholemoor Lane altered to Necropolis 
Road. 



Rambles Round Horton. 201 



CHAPTER XVIII. 

Legrams Lane— The Beiitleys^Hortoii Cirange— Dr. Maud— 11 le Turner Family — 
John Jackson and Stephen Fawcett Lister Hills— Tlie West End Building 
Club— Tanhouse— Fieldhead Dyeworks— Samuel Smith— The " Happy \'alley." 

Legrams Lane is chiefly noticeable for the array of 
familiar names with which it has been associated. Indeed, to 
do justice to this part of the township an additional paper 
would be needed, but we must refrain. 

One of the names calling for mention is that of Nathan 
Bentley. He was of a humble Horton famil}', and was 
brought up to handloom weaving. By marriage with a 
daughter of Mr. Joshua Bakes, of Horton, Mr. Bentley 
acquired property at Legrams, and in 1837 erected upon it 
Northside Mill, in which he successfully carried on the 
worsted business, being, next to Mr. Cowling Ackroyd, the 
largest manufacturer in Horton at one time. The business 
was afterwards conducted by his sons Edwin, William, Bakes, 
Nathan, and Henry Bentley, but was given up some years 
ago. Besides his commercial enterprise, Mr. Nathan Bentley 
had military leanings, and held a recruiting commission under 
Government. He was himself a man of commanding presence 
and of soldierlike bearing. 

A more ancient family than the one last named resided 
in the substantial farmhouse opposite the entrance gates of 
Horton Grange, namely, that of Swaine. As already stated, 
it was from this homestead that Mr. John Rand the elder 
married his wife, the daughter of Samuel Swaine. The 
Woods, father and son, succeeded Swaine, and they have been 
followed by the Robertshaws. The farm, however, has for 
generations belonged to the Hodgson family, represented 
by Mr. J. A. Jowett. In an upper portion of the farmstead 
there is a fine plaster cast of the Ro}-al arms, surmounted by 
the initials of Charles II. and the date 1660. At some period 
the apartment has probably been used as a justice-room. 

Horton Grange has a twofold histor}-, associated as it is 
with Dr. Maud, a member of an old Ouakcr family, and with 



202 Rambles Round Horton. 

the Turners, the latter being one of the most influential 
families in the township. Ur. William Maud was born in 
Bradford in 1765, his father, Timothy, being a surgeon there. 
His father's place of business was in Westgate, and to his 
practice William Maud .succeeded, and became an exceedingly 
popular practitioner. He was amongst the first to give effect 
to Jenner's discovery of vaccination. He also established, 
with his partner, the firm, of Maud & Wilson, druggists, in 
Sun Bridge, but in 1820 retired from practice, and went 
to reside at a large house which stood on the site of the 
Victoria Hotel in Bridge Street. He was an eminent member 
of the Society of Friends, and took great interest in the slave- 
trade question, the Bible Society, and Sunday schools, besides 
giving his professional advice gratis to poor people. 

Mr. Maud removed from Bridge Street to Legrams, 
having for his residence an old house which stood on the site 
of Horton Grange. This house he much improved, and also 
planted the trees now surrounding the grounds. 

About the year 1831 Mr. Maud withdrew altogether from 
town life, and retired to a small farm in Craven, which he 
took great pleasure in cultivating, and where he spent the 
remainder of his days. His death occurred in September, 
1835, aged seventy-one. Benjamin Seebohm, of the firm of 
Hustler & Seebohm, woolstaplers, succeeded Dr. Maud at 
Legrams, but ultimately went to reside at Hitchin, where his 
family still live. 

Horton Grange estate next became the property of 
Messrs. John & Robert Turner, stone merchants, whose 
quarries were also situate in Legrams. The old homestead of 
the Turners was that since acquired and enlarged by Mr. 
George Hodgson. The two brothers pulled down Dr. Maud's 
old residence and erected upon the site two houses, in which 
they resided, and upon the death of John the Grange was 
made into one residence for Robert, who was the father of 
Messrs. George, John, and Robert Turner, of Holme Top and 
Beckside Mills. Horton Grange is now the residence of Mr. 
George Turner, who has added to his estate much of the land 
in the vicinity. The Gothic villa in Legrams Lane was built 
for the widow of Mr. John Turner. 



Rambles Rotind Norton. 203 

The Swaines and the Ramsbothams, families of import- 
ance in Bradford in the beginning of the century, were 
associated with Legrams, but ample reference was made to 
both families while treating of commercial matters in a 
previous chapter. The house, which is now the Willowfield 
Hotel, was the residence of Mr. H. R. Ramsbotham. Prior to 
his occupancy of it, a family named Smith, comprising two 
bachelor brothers and a sister, resided there. Lawrence 
Smith, whose residence was a little higher up Legrams Lane, 
farmed the land on which Princeville stands. 

The building now occupied by Mr. George Robertshaw 
is one of the few farmsteads which retain their ancient 
appearance in this neighbour- , and the date 1728. 

hood. Inscribed on the ' I The rhain struc- 

ample porch are the initials ' ' ture is evidently of 

a prior date. The leading initial, we believe, denotes the 
house to have been a residence of the Barraclough family, of 
Horton. The property had, however, been acquired by Dicky 
Hodgson, of Whetley, prior to 1800, at which period Isaac 
Wilkinson, a stuff-maker, was the occupant. John Rhodes, 
John Wilkinson, and George Robertshaw have since 'divided 
the occupation. 

Tanhouse, probably the early residence of the Brooksbank 
family, was for forty years occupied by William Greenwood. 
Before him Joseph Freeman, tanner, occupied the premises. 
The new building, however, was erected as a residence for 
Tom Hirst, one of the Hirsts of Clayton, and sometime 
schoolmaster at the National School, Great Horton. The 
love of sport, however, was such a predominant feature in 
Tom Hirst's character that it is said he would any day leave 
his school to follow the hounds, and probably his scholars 
offered no objection to the holiday thus secured. 

Before quitting Legrams a brief record of two of its 
celebrities, namely, the late John Jackson and Stephen 
Fawcett, may be inserted. Both occupied an humble sphere 
in life, and both were remarkable in their respective walks. 

John Jackson, or the " old Chartist," as he was latterly 
styled, was a native of Harden, but when quite a lad came 
to Horton, where his father had obtained employment at 



204 Rambles Round Morton. 

Kniijht's cotton mill. John himself worked at the padpost, 
and probably while at his occupation round the " pot o' four" 
he imbibed those political notions which distinguished his 
after life. He relinquished woolcombing, however, while yet 
a young man, and took to horticultural pursuits, for which he 
had a natural bent, and which he indulged so long as strength 
allowed him. Meanwhile Jackson was a close student of 
theology, of political economy, and of politics generally. He 
was one of the first Chartists, but he had no sympathy with 
" physical force," and strongly opposed many of the doctrines 
held by his colleagues. He, along with Mr. Squire Farrar, 
Mr. \Vm. Richardson, and a few others, established the old 
Radical Reform Club in Bradford, out of which all subsequent 
organisations of a like character have sprung. 

John Jackson was always ready with his pen to uphold 
his beliefs, and wrote many letters and pamphlets under the 
signature, " J. J.," his most notable pamphlet being that 
directed against Feargus O'Connor, entitled "The Demagogue 
Done Up." He was also a good conversationalist, being full 
of quaint humour. For more than half a century John 
Jackson lived at Legrams, and in the same cottage. His 
means, however, were very slender, and having lost his 
partner in life he gave up his modest mansion, and built 
himself a tiny hut in his garden allotment, and in this hermit 
fashion he lived up to within a few days of his death, which 
occurred at nearly eighty years of age, in March, 1875. 

Stephen Fawcett was a man entitled to rank amongst the 
best of our local poets, and might have acquired an even 
more distinguished position had he not attempted too much. 
For forty years he wrote and published poems and lyrics 
descriptive of the natural scenery and legendary incidents 
connected with his native valley of the Wharfe, as well as on 
other topics, reverential, pathetic, grotesque, or tragic. His 
first essay was in 1837, when he published his " Wharfedale 
Lays and Legends " ; in 1842 his " Edwy and Elgiva " 
appeared; and in 1872, by subscription, his "Bradford 
Legends." None of his literary ventures, however, brought 
him pecuniary gain — -a penalty frequently attaching to 
literary effort. 



Rambles Round H or ton. 205 

Stephen Fawcett was a man of voracious appetite for 
learning, and by his own efforts mastered Latin, French, and 
ItaHan, thus enabling him to consult authors in all three 
languages. It was within an hour of giving a discourse to a 
few friends in White Abbey, upon a passage from the Latin 
version of Swedenborg's Adversaria, in December, 1876, that 
he was found dead in a backyard in the neighbourhood. For 
some time previous he had been supported by the generosity 
of friends almost as poor as himself, and it is more than 
probable that he died from the lack of sufficient sustenance. 
Stephen Fawcett was a native of Burley, where he was born 
in 1806. At the time of his death, therefore, he had reached 
the allotted term of life. 

Remembering the present populous character of Lister 
Hills, the statement would hardly be credited that in the 
year 1825 the inhabitants of that district were limited to 
the half-dozen families resident at Cuckoo Nest. It was so, 
however. There was no Lister Hills Road, nor Longside 
Lane, nor Richmond Road, nor Preston Street, giving access 
to the locality, this being alone supplied by Water Lane, 
leading to Silsbridge Lane, and a footpath in continuation of 
Shearbridge Road through the Fieldhead estate and over the 
beck to Manningham. The land principally belonged to 
Mrs. Giles, representing the old Sharp family, and Col. 
Fitzgerald, if we except the Fieldhead Estate, which belonged 
to Mr. Henry Gates, who had a residence opposite Shearbridge 
Road, then a narrow steep lane crossing the Horton Beck. 

The origin of the name of Lister Hills is clear. The 
F'itzgeralds obtained the property by the marriage of Col. 
Fitzgerald with the daughter of Dr. Crowther, of Leeds, 
"she being heir-at-law of Samuel Lister, of Horton House, 
gentleman. In the settlement drawn up in view of the 
marriage of Samuel Lister and his second wife Dorothy, in 
1766, mention is made of closes of land in Horton called the 
Langsides, purchased by him of Benjamin Kennett, vicar of 
Bradford, and inherited by the latter from his grandfather, 
Mr. Stockdale ; and also the Great and Little Laistridge, 
Tumbling Hill (then occupied by John Whitaker) ; and the 
Norcroft, purchased by Samuel Lister of Thomas Aked, but 



206 Rambles Round H or ton. 

previously owned by Faith Sawrey (heiress of the Sharp 
estates). The bulk of the land in question comprised what is 
now known as Lister Hills, evidently derived from the name 
of Lister, of Horton House. 

This view is confirmed by the ground plan of the 
Fitzgerald Estate, dated 1825, in which the names Upper 
and Lower Lister Hills occur. In the latter year a large 
portion of the Horton property of the Fitzgeralds was put 
into the market for sale as building land, and many blocks in 
Lister Hills were sold. Directly afterwards, however, came 
the great commercial crisis, bringing down the Wakefield 
Bank and other previously considered safe repositories, and as 
a consequence many of the speculators declined or were 
unable to take up their purchases. Nor was the difficulty got 
over easily, and not until the vendors had undertaken the 
laying out and construction of Norcroft Road, now Richmond 
Road, and Longside Lane, as an approach to the various 
building plots. For years afterwards very few dwelling- 
houses were put up on the estate, those in Lister Terrace, 
erected by Dr. Thomas Lister, being about the first. 

In the year 1845, or twenty years subsequent to the 
opening up of the Fitzgerald Estate, an important building 
movement was instituted at Lister Hills, leading to the 
erection of Cobden Street, Bright Street, and Villiers Street. 
At that period building clubs were in their infancy, the 
Belgrave Place and one or tv/o other clubs having just been 
started. Inspired by the growing desire to become landlords, 
carrying with it the privilege of a vote for the county, several 
working men put their savings together and founded the 
West End Building Society, and a suitable plot of land 
belonging to the Giles Estate of Horton Old Hall being 
available, they purchased the whole at the price of 2s. 6^d. 
per yard. It may be added that the corner plot upon which 
the Waterloo Hotel stands, exchanged for a site selected by 
the West End Club, only cost is. 6d. per yard. 

A critical moment, however, occurred in the early history 
of the West End Building Society which might have wrecked 
the hopes of its promoters. Their accumulated capital had 
reached ;^900, and had been invested in the Leeds and West 



Rmnbles Round Norton. 207 

Riding Union Bank, whose premises were in l^ank Street, 
when a rumour reached the trustees of the society that the 
bank was in difficulties. In great distress the treasurer 
hastened with his bank book, arriving just in time to find 
the doors of the bank being closed to the pubh'c ! The 
entire capital of the building club was invested in the bank, 
and affairs looked serious ; but to the honour of the share- 
holders of the bank be it said that they paid every farthing 
of the club's deposit, not even reserving bank commission. 
At the commencement of the society's operations only a few 
straggling erections had appeared in Lister Hills, but the 
demand for shares was such that dwellings were put up as 
fast as share capital was available. The names given to the 
various streets were inspired by the great Corn-Law agitation, 
then at its height. 

Practically, if not in order of priority, the opening up of 
the Fieldhead Estate led to the development of Lister Hills. 
This property, as previously stated, belonged to Mr. Henry 
Oates, a member of the Leeds family of that name. At 
the beginning of the century Mr. Oates was a somewhat 
prominent member of Bradford society, and was a partner 
in the Old Brewery. He was an active member of Chapel 
Lane Chapel, and of a very benevolent disposition. At any 
rate, he was a wealthy man, and* lived at Fieldhead House, 
surrounding which he planted trees, adding quite a rural 
aspect to the suburban locality. 

Upwards of half a century ago Mr, Oates disposed of 
his estate at Fieldhead to Mr. Robert Stables Ackroyd, of 
Great Horton, who erected upon a portion of it Fieldhead 
Mill, which he occupied. Another portion he sold to the firm 
of Messrs. Joseph Smith & Sons, comprising John and 
Thomas Smith, dyers, of Halifax, who commenced the 
erection of Fieldhead Dyeworks, opened in October, 1836. 
After a few years the senior partner and his son Thomas went 
out of the firm, and Mr. Samuel Smith joined his brothers at 
Bradford, under the style of Samuel Smith, Brothers & Co., 
the dyeworks at Halifax being still carried on. In 1843 3. 
dissolution of partnership took place, and Mr. John Smith 
retired, when the firm traded as Messrs. Samuel Smith & Co., 



208 Rambles Round Horton. 

and under this title it has been carried on until the concern 
was transformed into a limited company in 1878, the directors 
being Mr. S. Milne Milne, Mr/ C. Telford Smith, and 
Mr. William Binns. 

It is unnecessary to add that the Fieldhead Dyeworks 
have been greatly enlarged since their formation, being now 
among the most extensive in the district. Field House was 
erected by Mr. John Smith, one of the early partners, and 
upon the late Mr. Samuel Smith coming to Bradford he took 
up his residence there. Fieldhead Mills were occupied by 
Messrs. Tremel & Co. after the death of Mr. R. S. Ackroyd, 
but were purchased by Mr. John Smith, father of Alderman 
Isaac Smith, who is now the owner and occupier. Mr. 
Archibald Neill some years ago purchased the residue of the 
Oates Estate, including Fieldhead House, and upon it he 
erected many dwelling-houses, including St. Andrew's Villas. 

No topographic notice of Lister Hills would be complete 
without reference, however brief, to the character and enterprise 
of the late Samuel Smith, of Fieldhead Dyeworks. Of his 
commercial ability ample proof was furnished in the rapid 
increase of the dyeworks after he became the leading partner. 
He had not long been settled at Lister Hills before he began 
to afford evidence that his mind was not wholly absorbed in 
commercial affairs. 

With a view to the development of the neighbourhood of 
the dyeworks he commenced the erection of dwelling-houses 
of an improved character in Preston Place, which was named 
after Mr. John Preston, of Bradford, woolstapler, and a cousin 
of Mrs. Smith, to whom he left some property. The street 
afterwards got the name of Preston Street. At the corner 
block Mr. Smith erected a building which was used as a 
chapel and school-room, and in which occasional oratorios 
were given under Mr. Smith's management. Preston Place 
School was completed in P'ebruary, 1847, the organ being 
opened at the same time by Dr. Gauntlett. 

Mr. Smith's love of music was intense, and his skill and 
judgment in musical matters were highly valued in quarters 
not restricted to this neighbourhood. He was the chief 
promoter of the erection of St. George's Hall, and was the 



Rambles Round Norton. 209 

chairman of the company for many years. It was during the 
first year of his mayoralty of Bradford, in 1851, that the 
foundation-stone of the hall was laid with Masonic honours. 
The Bradford Festival Choral Society was also established 
mainly through his influence, and as its president he gloried 
in the proud position to which the society attained. In 
public affairs Mr. Smith acquired equal prominence, he having 
been the first burgess called upon to sustain the office of 
Mayor of Bradford for three years in succession, namely, from 
November, 185 i, to November, 1854. His death occurred at 
Cliffe Hill, Warley, in July, 1873, at the age of sixty-eight. 

The church of St. Andrew, at Lister Hills, was erected 
in 1852 at a cost of ;;^3000. The building was consecrated 
by the Bishop of Ripon on September 28, 1853. The 
tower has since been added. Lister Hills Independent 
Chapel dates its origin from the little preaching-room 
established by Mr. Samuel Smith, at Preston Place. The 
chapel was opened in 1854, and in its erection and subsequent 
well-being Mr. Smith took an active interest. 

When the various wards of the borough were rearranged 
by the Town Council a short time ago, Lister Hills was made 
to include a very large portion of Little Horton, and the 
upper boundary was fixed at the centre of Trinity Road, 
Grafton Street, and Caledonia Street. Many people thought 
at that time that some entirely new name would have been 
better than an old one which represented a mere fraction of 
the newly formed area, Lister Hills proper being solely that 
part of the old hamlet and district of Little Horton lying 
between the stream called West Brook and the township of 
Manningham. 

Ashfield, or the " Happy Valley," as it was termed from 
its being colonised by Quakers, was originally a portion of the 
Giles (or Sharp) estate, until the advantage of the site for 
residential purposes was recognised by John Armistead and 
Wm. Frazer Hoyland, two Bradford grocers, members of the 
Society of Friends. The situation was indeed very pleasant, 
all the land being open around Ashfield, with a clear stream 
running down the valley. Another company of Quaker 
builders erected residences in Westbrook Place, on the opposite 

O 



210 Rambles Round H or ton. 

side of the valley, giving rise to the " happy " name by 
which for many years this immediate locality was known. 
James Ellis, also ' a Friend, erected West Lodge, now the 
residence of Alderman Nathan Drake, and in it he resided 
for some time. The "four ashes," — a tree four stems of which 
grew from one root — and said to be about half way between 
Hull and Liverpool, once stood near to the top of Ashfield. 
It fell to the ground in November, 1835, completely blocking 
up the highway opposite. 



Rambles Round H or ton. 211 



C II A P T \i R XIX. 

Religious Organisations— The Wesleyans— The Old School at Todley— Hunt Yard 
Chapel— The Old Bell Chapel - Rev. .Samuel Redhead— Rev. J. C. Boddington— 
Rev. John Harrison— Rev. G. M. Webb — St. John the Evangelist — Moravian 
Chapel, Paternoster f'old — Primitive Methodism -Wesley Place Chapel — The 
Congregationalists . 

In "rambling" about Great Horton no mention was 
made of the religious organisations and several other matters, 
in order that the topographic survey upon which we set out 
might be presented in a connected form. The omission may 
now be supplied, and in so doing a chapter may be devoted 
to the religious societies of the place. 

Among existing organisations the honour of first starting 
a school and place of worship in Great Horton belongs to 
the Wesleyans, who set about the erection of the small 
building at Old Todley (the present site of Broadbent's Mill), 
which, as previously stated, was completed in the year 1766. 
A class had been formed in Great Horton, however, long 
before this period. 

In Stamp's " History of Methodism " we read that 
"amongst those who at this early period (1747) joined the 
ranks of Methodism was Nathaniel Dracup, of Great Horton ; 
a steady, moral young man, then in his nineteenth year, who 
subsequently became one of the most exemplary and useful 
members of the Wesleyan Society." Dracup was a native of 
Idle, but early in life removed to Great Horton, and in all 
likelihood was the first Methodist in the then small village. 
He was the leader of the first class formed in Great Horton, 
and for many years previous to the erection of the school at 
Todley, the services were held beneath his roof He died 
in 1798, aged sixty-nine, and was of course buried in the 
ground at Old Todley, but his remains were among those 
removed to Hunt Yard, when the oak coffin in which he lay 
was repolished by his son. Among the literary remains of 
Nathaniel Dracup is a touching " Elegy " written by him on 
the death of the celebrated Rev. Wm. Grimshaw, of Haworth, 
to whom he was devotedlv attached. 



212 Rambles Round Horton. 

Nathaniel Dracup, described as a " shuttlemaker, Great 
Horton," was a party to the deed of erection of the old 
Octagon Chapel at Bradford in the year 1765, and he was one 
of the society stewards, Bradford being at that early period 
regarded as a branch of the Birstall circuit. He had a son 
Nathaniel, also a son George, the father of Sammy Dracup, 
who, with his sons, were noted shuttlemakers and makers of 
jacquard engines when first introduced. The Dracups have 
been devoted Wesleyans throughout their history. 

From the first " catalogue of the societies " in connection 
with the Bradford circuit, issued in 1781, we obtain the names 
of the class leaders and local preachers at Great Horton at 
that period, who were as follow: — John Murgatroyd, Nathaniel 
Dracup, John Hodgson, Richard Fawcett, Thos. Dobson, 
John Shutt, John Smith, James Wilkinson, John Haley, 
Jonathan Hudson, and James Throp. Including Clayton 
Heights and Brown royd, there were at that period 175 
members in the Great Horton Society. 

In the year 18 14, the old school at Todley becoming far 
too small to contain the increasing society and congregation, 
a new and spacious chapel (first called Hunt Yard Chapel), 
holding about 500 persons, was erected. Such was the desire, 
however, to occupy the new chapel, that service was held in it 
some months before its actual completion, and on Easter 
Tuesday, 1815, its formal opening took place, the Revs. 
Robert Newton and James Everett preaching on the occasion. 

The trust deed bears date May ist, 181 5, and is signed 
by the following persons as trustees, viz. : — Nathaniel Dracup, 
John Ramsden, Jonas Milnes, Eli Suddards, Joseph Wilkinson, 
Roger Milnes, John Suddards, John Fawcett, James Brooks- 
bank, Thomas Stocks, William Holdsworth, William Nettleton, 
John Mason, George Dracup, Samuel Bentley, William Lee, 
and Thomas Ramsden. In 1820 a commodious school-room 
was erected on the chapel premises at a cost of £'}f)0. This 
was subsequently enlarged. In 1830 the land, originally on 
lease and subject to an annual rent of ^^"16, was converted into 
freehold at an additional expense of ;^300, on which occasion 
the trust deed of the whole premises was renewed. This 
deed bears date November 17th, 1830. In 1834 the chapel 



Rambles Round Hoy ton. 213 

premises were rendered still more complete by the erection of 
a preacher's house adjoining the chapel, its first occupant being 
the Rev. Benjamin Pearce. Annexed to the chapel was the 
burial-ground. 

On the erection of the Church Sunday School at Horton 
in 1808, under the auspices of the Rev. John Crosse, vicar of 
Bradford, the Sabbath school which for many years had been 
held by the Methodists in their ancient school and preaching- 
room was transferred to the Church, and as a Methodist 
school was not revived till twelve years afterwards. But for 
this circumstance the Horton Wesleyan Sunday School might 
have claimed the precedence of well nigh every other in the 
West Riding. In 1842 the Great Horton circuit was formed 
of places mostly taken from that of Bradford West. Since 
that period the Great Horton Wesleyan Chapel has been 
much enlarged, and, with its accessories, forms one of the 
most valuable Conference properties in the county. 

The memorial stone of the Wesleyan Day and Sunday 
Schools was laid by Thomas Farmer, Esq., of Arthington 
Hall, on the 30th day of August, 1859, and the schools were 
opened in the year i860. The cost of the erection was about 
^^3000, raised by subscriptions and a Government grant of 
ii'ioso. 

Many of the above particulars have been obtained from 
the historical notices of Wesleyan Methodism by the Rc\'. W". 
W. Stamp, which were compiled while that gentleman was 
stationed at Great Horton during the years 1838-40. The 
rev. gentleman may indeed be claimed as a Bradford man, 
having been born here in 1801, while liis father, the Rev. 
John Stamp, was stationed in Bradford. The Rev. W. W. 
Stamp, was elected President of the Conference in i860, and 
died in Liverpool in January, 1877. 

The records of Methodism in Great Horton furnish many 
examples of devotion to the societ}-, if space permitted us to 
enlarge upon the topic. Thomas Peel is said to have been 
the first subscriber to the new chapel at Hunt Yard. Nathan 
Bentley, with his large family of sons, was also a prominent 
figure, and the record, however incomplete, should contain the 
names of Ramsden, Blamires, Dracup, Jennings, White, 



214 Rambles Round Horton. 

Myers, Shepherd, and Greenwood. In former times there 
was a " warmth " in the services of which the present con- 
gregation have httle experience. The elder members have 
still a lively recollection of one " local," named James Carter, 
whose deep and powerful voice was often heard exhorting the 
people. Dick Throp had also one of the strongest voices in 
the village, and used it vehemently. Willie Thornton, a 
class leader, was nearly equal to him in lung power, and 
was greatly gifted in devotion. Other equally prominent 
Methodists were Job Robertshaw and W. Crabtree. 

It was the custom in those days for Methodists to have 
preaching service every Sunday morning at five o'clock. 
James Carter, who was also a fine bugle player, would go an 
hour before that time to different corners of the village, and 
with some fine old psalm tune would arouse the people to early 
morning service. The anniversary, or " sitting-up," was also a 
great event. Financially, however, these occasions did not 
compare well with the present day. If ^^25 was raised it 
was thought a great sum ; but after the Disruption in 1850 
the Reformers and the Old Body could each raise more than 
treble that amount. 

There being no Episcopalian church nearer to Great 
Horton than Bradford or Thornton, a movement was started 
for the erection of a church, and the Old Bell Chapel was 
built in the year 1806, and consecrated on July ist, 1809, as 
a chapel of ease to the Parish Church of Bradford. It was a 
plain structure, without any attempt at architectural effect. 
The original cost was ;(^I200, which was raised by subscrip- 
tion, Mr. John Rand the elder being one of the principal 
contributors. The communion plate was presented to the 
chapel by Mrs. Lister, of Manningham. A record of the 
original erection and subsequent addition is preserved in the 
following inscriptions : — 

This chapel of case, subjecl to the Parish Church of Bradford, was 
built by subscription in the year of our Lord 1806. This clock put up 

in 1808. 

Joseph Beanland, John Blamires, Churchwardens. 

This vestry built and chapel repaired by the town a.d. 1823. 

Rev. J. C. BODDINGTON, Incumbent. 
Joseph Gomersall, John Blamire.s, Churchwardens. 



Rambles Round H or ton. 216 

The site was taken from the waste land of Horton. The 
perpetual curacy, first valued at ;^99 per annum, was 
augmented in 1810 with ^200 of Queen Anne's Bounty, and 
in 181 3, 1818, and 1821 with sums amounting to ^^"1800 in 
Parliamentary grants. The Vicar of Bradford is the patron. 
The first baptism was dated July 2, 1809, and was that of 
William, son of James and Rebecca Bennett. Since that 
date the number of baptisms has been 2785, and the burials 
28 17, the first burial being that of John Fox, woolcomber, 
aged sixty-three, who died July 25th, 1809. 

The first incumbent appointed to the Old Bell Chapel 
was the Rev. Samuel Redhead. Mr. Redhead was not 
resident in Great Horton during his incumbency, but lived 
at Fawcett Hill, Horton Road, in the house afterwards 
occupied by Dr. Brown, where he kept a school described as 
a classical academy. Mr. Redhead laboured very earnestly 
in Horton till the year 1822, when the living of Haworth 
was presented to him, but the people of that district would 
not have him as their vicar, not from any personal dislike to 
him, but because he had been presented by the Vicar of 
Bradford. The strange scenes which were enacted in 
Haworth Church during;: his initiation have been oft referred 
to. After three weeks' possession of the living he resigned, 
and was afterwards appointed to the living of Calverley, 
havinsf shortlv before married Miss Rand, sister of Messrs. 
John and William Rand. He died in August, 1845. 

During the incumbency of Mr. Redhead there was 
commenced the movement for the erection of the National 
School, which was built by public subscription in the year 
1808. The Sunday school up to this period had been con- 
ducted in two cottages in Bartle Fold. This building also 
stood upon the waste, and in front were placed a pair of 
stocks, which were a terror to evil-doers. 

The next incumbent after Mr. Redhead was the Rev. 
J. C. Boddington, who was curate of the Parish Church of 
Bradford at the time of his appointment, but came from 
Leamington. Mr. Boddington was well fitted for the position 
to which he was appointed, not only as an able minister of 
the gospel, but also as having considerable skill in medicine. 



216 Rambles Round Horton. 

In his labours at Great Horton he was the means of doing 
great good both spiritually and bodily. He was an able 
pulpit speaker, a good classical scholar, and had considerable 
acquaintance with natural philosophy. 

Although the stipend was small, the respected incumbent 
wanted not for means, assistance being tendered him by 
others. He was the only man in Great Horton who was 
vouchsafed the title of " Mr." Mr. Boddington was obliged 
to resign the living at Horton owing to ill-health, and went to 
reside at Cheltenham, where he died in 185 i. His assistant, 
Dave Hartley, by frequently accompanying the rev. gentleman 
on his visits to the sick, also acquired a knowledge of physic, 
and kept up the " practice." 

The Rev. John Harrison was appointed incumbent on 
the resignation of Mr. Boddington, and laboured in Horton 
till the year i860. During his incumbency a movement was 
started for the erection of new schools, the Old Bell School 
being too small for the number of children who wished to 
attend. A committee was appointed for the purpose of 
collecting subscriptions for the erection of the schools, which 
were commenced in the summer of 1859, ^1^^ memorial stone 
being laid on Saturday, December 3rd, 1859, t)y Mr. F. S. 
Powell. The schools were opened in November, i860, when 
the occasion formed a " red-letter day " in Horton ; no fewer 
than 1200 persons sat down at the tea party in connection 
with the event. The site occupied by the schools was 
conveyed to Mr. Henry Mason on behalf of the trustees b}' 
Mrs. Charnock, of Halifax, Mr. Thomas Horsfall, of Burley 
Hall, and others. It previously formed part of closes of land 
called the Middle Field, Clover Field, and Green Field, and 
contained about 4851 square yards. It was subsequently 
conveyed by Mr. Henry Mason to the Archdeacon of Craven 
for the sum of ;i6^363 16s. 6d. 

The premises were opened as a day-school in 1861, 
Mr. Dovey being the first master, and Miss Armitage 
the first mistress. The present master is Mr. Robt. 
VVaite, under whom the schools hav^e flourished for many 
years. The Old J3cll Chapel lias been converted into an 
infant school. 



Rambles Round Morton. 21'*^ 

The Rev. J. Harrison married a sister of Sir Wm. Wright, 
of Hull, formerly of Bradford, and exchanged livings with the 
Rev. G. M. Webb, vicar of Aughton, in the East Riding, in 
April, i860. 

During Mr. Webb's incumbency the new church of 
St. John the Evangelist was erected, and also the present 
vicarage, a site for the latter being begged by Mr. Webb, who 
also solicited all the money required for its erection. As a 
safe foundation for a steeple could not be found, in con- 
sequence of the ground being undermined, Lhe Old Bell 
Chapel site was abandoned, and the new church erected on 
the brow of the hill overlooking the Thornton Valley, upon a 
plot of ground given by Mr. F. S. Powell. The foundation 
stone of the new edifice was laid on Easter Tuesday, 1871, by 
the late Mr. John Rand, and the consecration took place on 
March 9th, 1874. 

The cost of the new church was ^"7000, exclusive of the 
tower, the erection of which was deferred for a time. 
Towards this large amount handsome contributions were 
given as follow : — William Rand, ^^1350 (in addition to 
oak pulpit, reading-desk, font, and communion plate) ; 
Francis S. Powell, ;^iioo (and site); Henry Mason, ;^500 ; 
J. J. Broadbent, ^^500 ; George Turner, £500 ; &c. The 
church is of large proportions, in Early Gothic, and was 
designed by Messrs. Healey, of l^radford. The tower and 
spire were added during last year, at a cost of ^1800, towards 
Avhich donations of iS^SOO each were given by Messrs, George 
Turner, J. J. Broadbent, and F. S. Powell. Mr. Webb's 
labours in connection with Horton Church and Schools will 
not soon be forgotten. After a residence in Horton of fifteen 
years, he exchanged livings with the Rev. W. T. Storrs, vicar 
of Heckmondwike, in April, 1875. Mr. Storrs was a physician 
as well as clergyman, and worked hard during his short stay 
in Horton. The present vicar is the Rev. James Gallic, M.A., 
formerly of St. Luke's, Bradford. 

We are debarred from indulging in the many reminis- 
cences which are interwoven with the history of the Old Bell 
Chapel, Although possessing no savour of antiquity, still 
that history covers the lifetime of the oldest inhabitants of 



218 Rambles Round Norton. 

Great Horton with a few exceptions, and many there are who 
have something to tell of its former incumbents or worshippers. 
We must be content with stating that Joseph Beanland, of 
Beckside, was the first churchwarden at Bell Chapel. Mr. 
James Walmsley was clerk of the chapel for twenty-six years, 
during the incumbencies of the Rev. Mr. Redhead and the 
Rev. Mr. Boddington. Joseph Lofthouse, who died in 1837, 
had been sexton since its erection in 1806. Nathaniel 
Dracup, a former bass singer at Bell Chapel, may be named 
as representing the choir. Among the earnest workers 
connected with the old Bell Sunday School were Henry 
Mason, Edward Cockerham, George Beanland, Richard 
Haley, whose labours have left impressions which will never 
be forgotten. 

Of the early schoolmasters at the Old School, we have 
record of one named Sutton, who was succeeded by Tom 
Hirst, generally called " Hunting Tom," the secretary of the 
Bradford Coursing Club, and for many years steward to the 
Rev. Godfrey Wright. Then there was Ben Hartley, and next 
George Laycock. The latter had a great name in Horton. 
He was the son of Lazarus Laycock, chapelkeeper of the 
Moravian Chapel in Paternoster Fold, and had previously 
received his training at the Fulneck establishment. 

The Paternoster Fold Moravian Chapel was established 
in August, 1742, the first year that the pioneers of the United 
Brethren came into Yorkshire, and it continued to be occupied 
by the Moravians till after the erection of the present chapel 
in Little Horton Lane, the foundation stone of which was 
laid on May 15th, 1838, and it was opened December 28th 
the same year. 

The Old Chapel must have been built long before it was 
occupied by the Moravians. At the time it was first occupied 
by them there was not a building to break the view all the 
way to Bradford. In front of the chapel and the adjoining 
houses there used to be four large ash trees, and when the 
weather was fine the Moravians often held their meetings 
outside under the .shade of the trees. Lazarus Laycock was 
chapel-keeper at Morton above twenty years ; he died April 
24th, 1837. The Horton Chapel was soon after deserted, and 



Rambles Round Horton. 219 

the chapel made into a cottage dwelling, which was occupied 
by George Laycock and his two sisters. 

The introduction of Primitive Methodism to Great 
Horton may be ascribed to the Rev. John Coulson, of Leeds, 
who in May, 1821, visited Great Horton as a Primitive 
Methodist missionary. During the summer months meetings 
were held in the open air, but very soon a barn-house at 
Upper Green was hired for religious services, and a society 
was formed consisting of eleven members. This barn-house 
not being very comfortable, the little church rejoiced exceed- 
ingly when they subsequently had secured the upper room of 
a cottage in Southfield Lane. 

In 1824, when their numbers had increased to forty 
members, it was decided to purchase the plot of land at Town 
t^nd, on which the chapel now stands, with burial ground in 
front. The foundation-stone was laid on Saturday, the 22nd 
January, 1825, the collection made at the stone-laying 
amounting to ^^3 4s. 4^d. This was a very feeble com- 
mencement ; but the society consisted of very poor members, 
and what they were short in money they made up by labour, 
for all the excavating work was done without cost to the 
society. 

The total cost of the new chapel was ;^ 803 lis. 2d., the 
income £11^ 18s. 6^d., leaving a debt of ^^685 12s. 7 ^^d. 
The persons who became responsible for the debt and who 
were made trustees, were John Waugh, Thomas Haigh, 
George Broadbent, Thomas Cockroft, James Hanson, Timothy 
Bartle, Edward Rawnsley, Daniel Holroyd, John Peel, 
Benjamin Beanland, Joseph Northrop, William Greaves, and 
Thomas Bartle. 

The following extracts from the deed of conveyance, 
which was made the 21st day of May, 1825, will show with 
what care the trusts were guarded against loss : — 

That if at any time it shall happen that the toleration allowing 
Protestant Dissenters to assemble together for worship shall be taken 
away, then the said chapel shall be sold. 

That the proceeds of the said sale shall be placed out at interest, 
and the amount thereof paid annually to the poor belonging to said 
society living within two miles thereof. 



220 Rambles Roimd Norton. 

That if at any time after such sale the Protestant Dissenters, called 
Primitive Methodists, shall be again tolerated by the laws of this realm, 
then the principal of such investment shall be called in, and the amount 
expended in erecting another building for the purposes of original chapel, 
&c. 

These early Primitive Methodists, or "Ranters," as they 
were called, owing to their extraordinary zeal, would 
frequently walk to Leeds and back on a Sunday to hear a 
travelling preacher or to be present at a camp meeting. 
At that day they were distinguished, the women by their 
plainness of dress and large Leghorn bonnets, and the men 
by their knee-breeches and stand-collar, fish-bellied coats. 
Indeed, it was considered a sad conformity to the world 
and very heterodox when men belonging to the body of 
Primitive Methodists began to wear what were called " long- 
sleeved breeches." When it was decided to build, trade 
was flourishing in Great Horton, but before the village had 
been canvassed for subscriptions the Weavers' Union struck 
for an advance of wages, a great number of people were 
thrown out of employment, and never had the chance of 
further work in that branch of business. Many had to 
change their occupation or emigrate, which circumstance 
fell hard upon the chapel funds. In 1840 a new trust was 
formed, and subsequently, by means of a bazaar, subscrip- 
tions, and collections, the debt was reduced to £600. 

In 1 85 1 a plot of land behind the chapel at Town End 
was purchased at a cost of £()2 5s. iid., but it was not till 
1 86 1 that a new school was built upon it at a cost of i^553, 
which was cleared from debt in 1863. Further enlargements 
took place in 1865, and again in 1868, at a cost of i^iioo. 
In March, 1864, the surviving trustees of the deed of 1840 
sought to be relieved, and the trusts of the chapel and school 
were conveyed to Joseph Wilson, Geo. Frankland, Joseph 
Crabtree, Daniel Pollard, Cephas J. Wilson, Skirrow Peanland, 
Thos. Petty, Joseph Rhodes, Joseph Pickles, Charles Whitaker, 
all members of society, with David Bartle continuing 
trustee. 

The new trustees then decided to enlarge the chapel and 
"pew" the bottom, which was done in 1865 at a cost of 



Rambles Rottnd Norton. 221 

i^ioSo. Subsequently i^350 was spent upon a new organ. 
In 1868 a branch school was formed at Jer Lane, and on the 
25th June, 1871, the wood school chapel, at Horton Bank, 
which had been erected at a cost of £6\J, was opened. On 
February 4, 1883, another branch school chapel was opened 
at Dirkhill, near Horton Park Station, the total cost of which 
was ;^1300. 

Wesley Place Chapel was erected in 185 1, being the 
outcome of the Methodist disruption which took place in 
1850. The foundation-stone was laid on Shrove Tuesday, 
and the chapel was opened for worship on the morning of 
Whit-Sunday of that year. So vigorous was the movement 
of Wesleyan reform in Great Horton at that time that the 
chapel had to be enlarged in 1852, and was made to seat 850 
persons. The total cost of the original premises and enlarge- 
ment was ;^2523. 

During the ten years from 1851 to 1861 the congregation 
formed part of the Great Horton District of Wesleyan 
Reformers, the ecclesiastical constitution of which was 
essentially Congregational Independency. This system was, 
however, too far in advance of Wesleyan ism to be at once 
easily adopted by many of those who had been trained under 
the latter system, and the result was that, whilst a large 
portion gradually became familiarised with the working of 
Independency, and desired to see it consistently carried out 
and distinctly avowed, others clung to old traditions with a 
tenacity which hindered the entirely harmonious co-operation 
which was desirable. Almost instinctively adopting Con- 
gregational principles of church order, and feeling that the 
movement had passed out of the Wesleyan reform stage, the 
Great Horton congregation proposed that the circuit should 
adopt the name " Congregational Methodists." The proposal 
did not meet the approval of the other congregations, and in 
1 86 1 the Great Horton congregation found itself alone, some 
of the others having become affiliated with already established 
sections of Methodists, and the rest retaining their original 
designation. Naturally the isolation thus brought about drew 
the Great Horton church towards the Congregationalists. 
with whom they are now allied. 



222 Rambles Round Horton. * 

The Congregational schools in connection with the above 
chapel were built in 1868. The memorial-stone was laid by 
Mr. Edward Baines, of Leeds, on June 2nd, 1868, and the 
total cost of the building, including the cost of the site and 
furnishing, amounted to £7254 17s. ii^d. A subscription 
list was opened to defray the cost, and was very liberally 
responded to ; and what was thought at the time to be a 
final effort to clear off the debt on the building was made by 
the opening of a Fine Arts and Industrial Exhibition, under 
distinguished patronage, on Wednesday, August 17th, 1870, 
by the late Lord Frederick Cavendish. This exhibition 
remained open until November 30th, 1870, during which time 
it was visited by 71,495 persons, including season-ticket 
holders, and realised a sum of i^i888. 

What is called the " Iron Church " was erected in the 
autumn of 1871, and the opening services were held on the 
9th day of November of that year. The church adopts Con- 
gregational principles, and seceded from Wesley Place Chapel 
before the decision in the " Great Horton Chapel Case," a suit 
at law which created considerable feeling in the neighbourhood 
at one time. 

The " Jumpers " of Horton, as they were called on account 
of their fantastic manner of conducting their religious services, 
located themselves in a large room in Bartle Fold in the 
spring of 1837, and were led by a Mr. Benjamin Deighton, 
from Little Horton. They, however, made little progress, 
and eventually gave up the premises. 



Rambles Roimd Horton. 228 



CHAPTER XX. 

Social features of Great Horton — Working Men's Radical Association — the Democratic 
Institute — Liberal Club— Mechanics' Institute — Horton Old Rand — Great Horton 
Industrial Society — the Ashton Dole — Horton Octogenarians — Conclusion. 

The miscellaneous jottings with which we must conclude 
this series of " rambles round the townships " mostly refer to 
Great Horton, where, in a far higher degree than is the case 
in the adjoining hamlet, the characteristics and institutions of 
a village community are found. Indeed, it would be more 
proper to speak of Little florton as a district than as the 
name given to a community. Latterly, by the great increase 
of population, that district has almost completely lost its 
individuality, and has become absorbed in the town of 
Bradford. 

In the spring of 1837 thirty or forty young men regularly 
assembled at a building at Low Green, where they were 
taught without charge the rudiments of education by Mr. 
Jude Yates. Notwithstanding their defective knowledge the 
majority were possessed of political notions, and not a few 
were enamoured of the philosophical speculations of Paine. 
The result of this gathering was the formation of the Working 
Men's Radical Association. The society had a vigorous 
existence, being visited at times by Feargus O'Connor, Henry 
Vincent, John Cleaver, and other pronounced Radicals, such as 
Peter Bussey, Squire F'arrar, John Jackson, Chris. 'VVilkin.son,&c. 
The Chartist agitation already alluded to upset the arrange- 
ments of the association, but the effect of the training 
thus received was not lost. In the year 1842, after a revision 
of the rules of the Mechanics' Institute, a number of members 
became disaffected in consequence of the prohibition of the 
discussion of political subjects in the Institute, and a new. 
institution called the " Democratic Institute " was formed in 
a house al Upper Green, which combined the discussion of 
political and religious questions in addition to the subjects 
usually comprised withifi the compass of the Mechanics' 
Institute, This society had a prosperous existence for many 



224 Rambles Round Norton. 

years, and continued till 1869, when its effects were sold or 
distributed amongst the members. There is no doubt that 
the above associations exerted a great influence in educating 
the inhabitants in those advanced Liberal principles for which 
the Great Horton Ward is distinguished. 

The present Great Horton Liberal Club was established 
in February, 1871. For three years a cottage in High Street 
was used as a place of meeting. Subsequently a limited 
liability company was formed for the erection of a club house, 
which was opened on March 20, 1876. The building is lofty 
and commodious, and was erected at a cost of .;^2O0O, 
exclusive of the site. A Conservative Club has also been 
recently established in High Street. 

In the latter end of March, 1839, four persons, viz., 
Messrs. John Wood, Chas. Topham, George Sunderland, and 
Ephraim Watmough, remained after the close of the night 
school then conducted by Mr. Wood in the Church school, 
usually called the Bell school, to consider the propriety of 
forming a Mechanics' Institute in Great Horton, and an 
engagement was entered into by those present to bear the 
cost of convening a public meeting for that purpose. A 
placard was issued on April 23rd, 1839, in the Church School- 
room, and a meeting was held, Mr. John Wood, schoolmaster, 
in the chair, when it was resolved — " That an institution be 
immediately formed to be called the Horton Mechanics' 
Institute, or Society for the Acquisition of Useful Knowledge." 
Twenty-four members were enrolled at the meeting, and the 
society continued in existence for about thirty years, when the 
library and effects were sold to liquidate its debts. Among 
the early workers in the movement were Mr. Peter Fox and 
the late George Lay cock. 

Long ago Great Horton was famous for its band of 
instrumentalists, a revival of which has been set afoot within 
recent years. The name of the earlier society was the Horton 
Old Band, its meeting place being Pickles Hill Top. As it 
may be interesting to learn the composition of this famous 
band, we append the names of the players in the year 1820, 
and the instruments they used, viz. : — Leader, Pklward 
Topham, who played the clarionet ; 2, Isaac Rawnsley^ 



Rambles Round Norton. 225 

clarionet ; 3, Richard Swaine, do. ; 4, John llartlc)', do. ; 
5, William Swaine, serpent ; 6, Jos. Blamires, do. ; 7, Eli 
Dracup, do.; 8, Levi Holgate, trumpet; 9, Jonathan Wardman, 
trombone ; 10, John Holdsworth, do. ; 11, George Hardcastle, 
do.; 12, James Carter, bugle; 13, Richard Haley, do.; 14^ 
Chas. Wardman, French horn; 15, William Parker, flute; 
16, Abraham Jowett, bugle; 17, Matthew Wood, bassoon; 
18, Edward Flather, triangle; 19, Henry Hindle, drummer. 
All the above are dead, and the Horton Old Band has long 
since become defunct. 

The Horton Old Choral Society was also an institution 
of some note and influence in its day, of which Mr. Ed. 
Bartle was the leader. At Beldon Hill and the uplands of 
Horton the custom of " Christmas singing" is kept up as in 
the olden time, a band of vocalists and instrumentalists 
turning out in all weathers to herald Christmas morning. 

Great Horton boasts a musical composer of no mean 
order in the person of Mr. Wm. Hollingworth, whose father 
and grandfather were also musicians, the latter being choir- 
master at Horton Lane Chapel in old John Skelton's 
days. Mr, Hollingworth has composed many instrumental 
works, glees, part songs, chants, anthems, and fantasias for 
brass bands, one of his glees, " Here's life and health to 
England's Queen," having gone through six editions. 

We might have some difficulty in offering statistical 
confirmation of the fact, but there are grounds for the 
assertion that a greater amount of thriftiness and husbanded 
resources exist at Horton than in any other township of the 
borough in proportion to population. The people, being of a 
saving turn, naturally adopted the co-operative principle of 
trading during its early introduction into these parts. The 
initiatory step was taken at a meeting held at Hew Clews 
Bottom in the year 1859, the following fourteen working-men 
being present, namely : — Aaron Shepherd, Rei Riley, George 
Lofthouse, Alfred Shepherd, Samuel Watmough, John Preston, 
Harry Topham, John Priestley, John Shepherd, Ellice Atack, 
Matthew Shepherd, Wm. Shackleton, Wm. Fox, with George 
Laycock, the latter being secretary. A quantity of flour, 
groceries, &c., was bought wholesale, and retailed to the 

P 



226 Rambles Round Norton. 

fourteen members in the rooms of the Democratic Institute in 
High Street; Samuel Watmough, one of the number, being 
appointed to act as salesman. 

That was the beginning of the present Great Horton 
Industrial Society, Limited, which grew to such an extent 
that the club-room was soon too small, and a shop just below 
the Institute was taken, and opened, first only at night, 
afterwards all day. Even this building was soon found 
altogether inadequate for the business of the society, and a 
movement was started which resulted in the erection of 
the present handsome stores in the year 1861, the site of 
which (including some old cottages) was purchased from 
Samuel Suddards, of Tong, for £\ioo. The society has six 
branches in addition to the central stores, and about 1500 
members. Its capital amounts to i^i 7,332, and since the 
year 1863, when the society was enrolled, its turnover has 
amounted to over half a million of money, out of which it has 
divided in profits amongst the members over ^40,000. 

What is known as the " Ashton Dole " is a charity, the 
proceeds of which are derived from property left under the 
will of John Ashton in 17 12, to be distributed half-yearly 
among poor people of Horton above sixty years of age who 
are not in receipt of parish relief The property originally 
comprised three cottages, a barn, and several closes of land in 
Horton, let to Jas Gomersall for ^30 per annum ; a black- 
smith's shop, let to Jabez Balmforth and afterwards to John 
Garthwaite for £'/ a year ; a farm called Solitary, with about 
nine acres of land, let to George Briggs and Daniel Dracup at 
£,\6 3. year. In 1813 the trust was vested in Joseph Barrans 
as surviving trustee. In 1826 Mr. Barrans invested the 
charity estate in Joseph Cousen, Thos. Booth, Thos. Ackroyd, 
and John Bilton as joint trustees. In 1881, however, the 
trust property was sold, and the proceeds invested in consols, 
which now realise for the benefit of the poor about £^0 per 
annum. For a period of about ten years, the dole was 
distributed by Mr. John Wade. The present trustees are 
Messrs. James Cousen, Henry Bentley, James Dixon, jun., 
and Henry Cockerham. John Ashton, the founder of the 
dole, would in modern phraseology be termed a " miser," 



Rambles Round Horton. 227 

but he made amends for his peculiarities by benefactions 
at his death. From an inventory of his household goods and 
chattels it appears that he had accumulated a large quantity 
of old silver coin, which sold for 5s. id. per ounce, and 
realised the sum of .^^^147 3s. 

Mr. John James gives in his " Histor}' of Bradford " a list 
of twenty-two persons all over ninety years of age who died 
in Horton between the years 1844 and 1863. They were as 
follow : — Daniel Nelson, Cross Lane ; Elizh. Stead, Clayton 
Lane ; John Milner, Cousen's Mill ; John Haley, Paradise ; 
Hannah Lofthouse, Horton Road ; John Riley, Paternoster 
Lane ; Jon. Briggs, Low Green ; Mary Whitaker, Cordingley 
Fold ; Elizabeth Emsley, Mill Lane ; Jas. Lister, Cobden 
Street ; Hannah Jowett, Old Road ; Jonathan Tommis, 
Southfield Lane ; Martha Greaves, Little Horton ; Michael 
Craighton, Grafton Street, 95 (had children under twelve years 
of age when he died) ; Ann Hargreaves, Clayton Lane ; 
Hannah Hanson, Dog Lane ; Nancy Thewlis, Town End ; 
Hannah Emsley, Harrington Street ; Hannah Hartley, 
Villiers Street ; John Gallagher, Duncan Street ; John Wood, 
Workhouse ; and Hannah Dewhirst, Beckside Road. To this 
list may be added the names of other Hortonians who have 
attained over ninety years of age, among them being three 
members of the Swaine family. James Swaine, of Bank 
Bottom, who died in 1820, followed the plough in his 
ninety-fifth year. It is said that a Mrs. Shepherd died at 
Hew Clews in her 102nd year. Joseph Wardman lived to 
91 years ; Thomas Priestley, Upper Green, 90 ; Rebecca 
Topham, 93 ; James Boocock, Great Horton, 97 ; John 
Wilkinson, 92 ; Joseph Greaves, Great Horton, 95. James 
Clough, of Little Horton, died in 1871, at 90 years of 
age ; and Jonathan Bairstow, of Lidget Green, in 1885, aged 
91. John Topham, of Cliffe Lane, died at over 90 years of 
age during the same year. He was the son of Moses Topham, 
and was one of nine children, of whom two died young, the 
ages of those surviving being respectively 90, 88, 86, 84, So, 
75, and 74 years. 

The annals of the graveyards at the old Bell Chapel and 
the Wesleyan Chapel at Horton contain reference to many 



228 Rambles Round Horton. 

Hortonians of the present century who reached four-score 
years and over. From them the following list has been 
compiled, viz. : — Mary Blagborough, 80 ; Dan Haley, 80 ; 
Sarah Haley, 81 ; John Schofield, 83 ; Squire Lofthouse 
(first sexton at Bell Chapel), 82 ; Sarah Blagborough, 86 ; 
Mary Greenwood, 84 ; Jane Hillam, 84 ; Mary Haley, 84 ; 
John Wright, 81 ; William Holdsworth, 85 ; Jonathan 
Holdsworth, ^'^^ ; Hannah Bennett, Bracken Hill, 88 ; David 
Armitage, '^}^. On a tombstone marking the resting-place of 
Sarah and Joseph Wardman there is an inscription entitling 
the aged couple to the Dunmow flitch — 

This aged pair interred here, 

In wedlock sixty-seven year, 

Who ne'er knew either brawl or strife, 

A happy husband, loving wife. 

Sarah died at 85 ; Joseph, her husband, reached 91 years ; 
Margaret Hallewell, "^6 ; Joseph Holdsworth, 81 ; Ann 
Holdsworth, 87 ; Jeremy Haley, 81 ; Grace Haley, 81 ; 
Martha Fox, 81 ; Ben Shackleton, 82 ; John Littlev/ood, 81 ; 
Sarah Littlewood, 83 ; Joseph Bottomley, 80 ; Sarah Dracup, 
80 ; Roger Milnes, 87 ; Squire Knowles, '^6 ; Sally Knowles, 
86 ; John Hanson, 84 ; Mark Barraclough, '^6 ; Mary Black- 
burn, 84 ; John Hudson, 82 ; Mary Hummel, 85 ; John Smith, 
84; Susan Harland, 82 ; John Kellet, 82 ; Isaac Wade, 80 ; 
Mary Bennett, 84 ; Nancy Wardman, 80 ; John Shackleton, 
80; Stephen Hartley, 83; David Topham, 88; Aaron Topham, 
86 ; Samuel Peel, 83 ; David Shepherd, 82 ; Ann Carter, '^6 ; 
Abram Bentley, 81 ; Ann Bentley, 81 ; Sally Roper, 84; 
Henry Dewhirst, 80 ; Jonathan Jowett, 85 ; John Bakes, 80 ; 
Sarah Binns, 83 ; Mary Edmondson, 83 ; Prudence Hartley, 
84 ; Jonas Fox, 83 ; Stephen Farrand, 84 ; Timothy Jennings, 

84 ; Eli Suddards, 86 ; Elizabeth Suddards, 80 ; Hannah 
Suddards, 87 ; Mary Cliff, ^6 ; Jonas Priestley, 88 ; Mary, 
wife of Joseph Swaine, 83 ; Jonas Jowett, of Beldon Hill, 81 ; 
Jonas Jowett, 82 ; Peter Butterfield, 80 ; Joshua Ormondroyd, 

85 ; David Crossley, 88 ; John Ormondroyd, 81 ; Joseph 
Wood, 83; Betty Emsley, 82; Sarah Dracup, 81; Betty 
Barraclough, 80 ; Mary Shackleton, 80 ; Alice Smith, ^"j ; 



Rambles Round Hoy ton. 229 

Joshua Milnes, 80 ; Joseph Wood, 82 ; Sarah SutcHffe, 88 ; 
Timothy Jennings, 85 ; Ann Jowett, in her 90th year ; 
Eliza Holdsworth, 83, Thomas Hudson, "^J ; Mary Greaves, 
83 ; Hannah Armitage, of Beldon Hill, in her 84th year. 
Mary Wade, Blacksmith Fold, aged 82 ; John Holroyd, a 
Waterloo veteran, aged 82 ; Joshua Jowett, Stephenson 
Fold, aged '^6 ; Mary Verity, Knight's Fold, 89 ; Susey 
Boyes, Bartle Fold, '^J. The above list, although monotonous 
to the unappreciative reader, bears ample testimony to the 
healthiness of Horton, taken in conjunction with the relation 
which frugal and temperate living has upon the vital ststistics 
of a community. 

The branch of the Great Northern line of railway from 
Bradford to Thornton was opened for traffic to Great Horton 
on October 14, 1878. 

The following record of the population, taken at each 
decade, shows the rate of progress of the Horton township 
during the present century as follows : — Census of 1801, 3459; 
1811,4423; 1821,7192; 1831,10,782; 1841, 17,615; 1851, 
28,143; 1861,30,187; 1871,40,722; 1881,46,030. 



APPENDIX. 



20 Jan., 
1642. WILL of JOHN LISTER, of Ovenden, Yeoman. 

Gives to Daniel Lister, his son, and his heirs, all lands in 
Northowram which he had purchased of Jeremy Holdesworth, and one 
messuage and lands, &c., in Shelf, in occupation of James Wallis. 
Messuage, tenement, &c., and all lands belonging in Ovenden, which 
he had purchased of Gilbert Deane, Caleb Kempe, and ]\Ioses Jenkins. 
Also, all that messuage and lands, &c., in Horton, in Bradford dale, 
in tenure of Andrew Shyers. Remainder to Joseph Lister, his 
(testator's) son, and his heirs and assigns. 

Gives to said son, Joseph Lister, four messuages, tenements, and 
three cottages, and all the lands, &c., belonging, in Ovenden, which he 
had bought of John Weddall, merchant, and Mary, his wife. Also, a 
messuage and tenement in Clayton, in Bradford dale, in tenure of 
John Lun. Remainder to aforesaid Daniel Lister. 

Gives to said Daniel and Joseph Lister, his sons, six acres 
of land and buildings thereon, in North Bierley, which he and a 
certain Matthew Houldsworth purchased of a certain John Nettleton 
and Richard Nettleton, in moieties, with remainders to either brother. 

John Lister, the testator's son, and heir apparent, not 21 years 
of age. 

Gives two messuages and lands, in Wibsey and North Bierley, 
to Susan, his wife. Reversion thereof to Daniel and Joseph Lister, 
his sons. 

Leaves Legacies to his Sisters Elizabeth, Grace, and Martha, 
and to his Brother, Joseph Lister. 

To his Father and Mother a pair of gloves a piece. 

Susan, his wife, executrix and residuary legatee. 

Witnesses— James Foxcroft. 
E. Hanson. 

Proved ist October, 1644, by Susan, the widow, to whom 
was committed the guardianship of Daniel and Joseph Lister, her 
" iinpubes JiliosP 



Mr. Francis Sharp Powell was elected Member of ParHament 
for Wigan at the General Election in November, 1S85. 



GLOSSARY. 



WORDS AND PHRASES IN USE AT GREAT HORTON. 



cutting a great 



Abaght — about. 

Aboon — above. 

Addle — to work for wages. 

Afore — before. 

Agate (" Ger agate")— to do some 

thing. 
Ageean — again. 
Ahr ta bahn - -are you going. 
Aht— out. 
Akin — related to. 
All shirt-neck 

figure out of nothing 
Ashelt — likely or probable. 
Ass-neuk — under the fire grate. 
Awf~half. 
Awkert (Awkward) — queer and 

comical. 
Awl — all. 
Awlus — always. 
Awner — owner. 
Axt — asked. 
Az — as 

Bacca — tobacco. 

Backart — backward. 

Badger — a grocer. 

Baght — without. 

Balderdash — talking without sense. 

Bang — to beat, to throw down. 

Barn — a child. 

Batin' time — time for refreshment. 

Bawk — to disappoint. 

Beck'n— to call with the fingers. 

Becoss — because. 

licest — first milk after calving. 

Behunt — signifying behind. 

Bein' — being. 

Belesses — bellows. 

Belling — making a loud noise. 

Bench — a seat. 

Benjey — a straw hat. 

Bezzler — a drunken fellow. 

Blackish — inclining to black. 

Blain — a boil. 



Blame it — an exclamation of dis- 
appointment. 

Blatter — of which pancakes are 
made. 

Bleb — a blister. 

Blendit — mixed. 

Blegs — blackberries. 

Blurred- blotted. 

Bocken — to loath. 

Boggard — a subject for scare. 

Bolt- -to run away. 

Bonny — beautiful. 

Bonkful — filled up. 

Booze — to drink. 

Booath — both. 

Bowd — bold. 

Brag — to boast. 

Bray — to hammer. 

Bray'd — to be thrashed. 

Brat — a pinafore ; a child. 

Brass — money. 

Brazzen — bold, shameless. 

Breikfast — the first meal. 

Breeter — brighter. 

Breyk — to break. 

Brig — a bridge. 

Brigs — used to put upon the fire in 
cookinc 

Britches- 

ISroiched — introducing a subject. 

Brokken — broken. 

Bruarts — the brim of a hat. 

Brussen — over-full. 

Buckstick -a smart young fellow. 

Bugth — great size. 

Bump — a knock 

Bup — addressed to a child to 
drink. 

Burly — thick, clumsy. 

Butty — joint partnership ; a mate ; 
word used by bo\s. 

Buzzard — a moth or butterfly. 

By t' mess — an exclamation of 
surprise or disgust. 



-trousers. 



•234 



Glossary. 



Cackle — to talk loud and foolishly. 



Cadeing- 



-begging. 



cat. 



Canker'd — rusty. 

Cant — vigorous, healthy. 

Can't feshun — shamefaced, 

Capp't — astonished. 

Carl — to thrash ; a clown. 

Catterwauling — to imitate a 

Cawf — a calf. 

Cawf-heead — a disparaging remark. 

Chap — a sweetheart. 

Chary — reluctant, cautious. 

Childer — children. 

Chimley — chimney. 

Chock-full — filled to the top. 

Chomping — chewing. 

Chonce — chance. 

Chumps — wood for Gunpowder 

Plot fire. 
Clahd — cloud. 
Claggy — thick, sticky. 
Clammy — greasy. 
Clatter — noise. 
Clegged — dry in the mouth. 
Cletch — a brood of chickens. 
Clink — to shake up. 
Cloise — warm, sultry ; a close or 

field. 
Clotted — sticking together. 
Clutter — all in a heap. 
Cocker — fair play. 
Collops — slices of bacon. 
Copp't — caught. 
Cowd — cold. 
Cowk — a cinder 
Craan — crown. 
Craps — rendered fat. 
Crash — to break with noise. 
Cratch — an arm chair. 
Cronk — to sit low down. 
Crony — a boon companion. 
Crumple — to disarrange. 
Cubbert — cupboard. 
Cuddn't — could not. 
Cuzzen — cousin. 

Daahn — down. 

Dab — a blow. 

Daddle — to reel. 

Dahn — down. 

Daft — witless. 

Darn— to mend a hole in a stocking. 

Dauntle — to fondle. 

Deeing — dying. 

Deeath — death. 



Ding — to strike. 

Dingle — to make a noise. 

Dish-claat — cloth for washing 

dishes. 
Dither — to tremble. 
Doady — a stupid person. 
Dock — to cut off. 
Dofft — undressed. 
Dowter — daughter. 
Donn'd — dressed up. 
Donk — a pot marble. 
Doy — term of endearment. 
Doytches — ditches. 
Dree — dry, tedious. 
Drizzle — to rain softly. 
Dub — a hole ; a door. 
Dubbler — a large dish. 
Dungon — knocked. 
Dursn't — dare not. 

Ealt — ailing. 

Eaving — the eaves of a house. 

Eawner — owner. 

Eawt — out. 

Eawther — either. 

Eawer — an hour. 

Een — eyes. 

Elliker — vinegar. 

Etten — eaten. 

Eyt — eat. 

Fadge — a bundle. 

Fagged — tired. 

Fawt — fault. 

Fell-aht — to finish a warp ; also to 

disagree. 
Fellah — fellow ; a husband. 
Fend — to stir about. 
Fettle— to clean up. 
Fib — an untruth. 
Flash — fine, showy. 
Flay- craw — an unsightly object. 
Flayed — frightened. 
Flecked — unevenly spread. 
Flegs — a causeway. 
Flick — a side of bacon. 
Flittin' — to remove. 
Flunter — in great haste. 
Flusk— to fly at. 
Foisty — stinking. 
Fowd — fold. 
Fowk — folk. 
Fra' — from. 

Fratch — to quarrel with. 
Freeten — to frighten 



Glossary. 



235 



Fussock — a term of reproach ; also 

a donkey. 
Fusty — to smell bad. 

Gad abaht — to gossip. 

Gape — to yawn. 

Gape-seed — to stare about. 

Gate — way. 

Gaters (Goin' gaters) — accompany- 
ing part of the way. 

Gawby — a dunce. 

Gawmless — stupid, senseless. 

Gavelock — an iron crowbar. 

Gerse — grass. 

Gern — to look savage. 

Giggle— to laugh sillily. 

Ginnel — a narrow passage. 

Gipp — to vomit. 

Girds — sick fits. 

Gleys — to squint. 

Gleyd — an evil-tempered person. 

Glent — a sly look. 

Glopp't — suddenly frightened. 

Gobble — to swallow without 
chewing 

Gooid — good. 

Gooid for nowt — a worthless fellow. 

Gooms — gums. 

Gradely — handsomely. 

Gripping — clasped or clinching. 

Gronny — grandmother. 

Hahsumiver — howsoever. 
Hahse-praad— proud of home. 
H appen — perhaps. 
Han' claat — towel. 
Haver-breead — oatbread. 
Hawve — half. 
Hawpenny — halfpenny. 
Heft — handle of a knife. 
Heigh-flown— high notions. 
Heusings — edge of slates on house. 
Hippins — napkins for infants. 
Hook or Crook — by one means or 

another. 
Howd — to hold. 
Hug — to carry. 
Hugger-mugger — secret ways. 
Hursen — herself. 

Inklin' — a slight knowledge. 
In a pickle — in trouble. 
I'm dahn on't — no faith in it. 
Ittha — hear thou. 
Ivver — ever. 



Jackanapes — a term of derision. 

Jannock — fair play. 

Jawms — the supports of a door or 
mantel-piece. 

Jerry-berrin' — a previous expe- 
rience. 

Jock — food. 

Jossled — crushed, knocked abcut. 

Jowled— to be run against. 

Juggled — swindled. 

Kah — cow. 

Kahcummer^cucumber. 
Kallin' — gossiping. 
Keel— to cool. 
Kersnin' — christening. 
Kersmas — Christmas. 
Kester— abbreviation for 

Christopher. 
Kesting — casting off. 
Kink — to lose the breath with 

coughing. 
Kink-cough — whooping cough. 
Kist — a chest. 

Kit — a vessel to carry water. 
Kittle — ticklish ; liable to be 

upset. 
Kittlin' — a kitten. 
Knodden — kneaded. 
Koil — coal. 
Kuss — a kiss. 

Lackey — a servant. 

Laith — a barn. 

Laking — playing. 

Lap — to wrap up ; to drink. 

Leather-heead — a term of reproach. 

Leet — light. 

Leet-on — to get a sweetheart. 

Lick — to beat. 

Lig — to lie. 

Limp — to halt. 

Lippen — to expect. 

Living tally — unmarried. 

Loft — a chamber. 

Loich — straight. 

Loizins — losses. 

Lug — to pull by the hair. 

Lumber — household rubbish. 

Maalack — a disturbance. 
Maddled — stupefied. 
Map cloth — floor cloth. 
Maunder — to murmur. 
Mawky — proud. 



•236 



Glossary 



-to get into a mess. 



Mali — to meddle with. 

Mess-abaght — active to no purpose 

]\Iidge — an insect ; a little person. 

Middlin'^tolerably well. 

Monny — many. 

Mooin — moon. 

Mough — a mow of hay. 

.Mullock- 

Mun — must. 

Munch — to chew. 

Mysen— myself. 

Na ahn ta — thou will not. 

Nab — to steal. 

Nah — now. 

Nap-hand — a clever workman. 

N asty — queer- tempered. 

Nawn — known. 

Near — ^mean. 

Neet — night. 

Nettled —irritated. 

Newk — a corner. 

Ninny — a simpleton. 

Nobbut — only. 

Nominy — a long, prating statement. 

Nowt — nothing. 

Nudge — to jog with the elbow. 

Odds an' en's —odd, trifling things. 

Offans — often. 

Ofifen — often. 

Oined — pulled down ; *' put on." 

Oist — over it. 

On tick— on credit. 

Oppen thi gob — open your mouth. 

Ossiting — coughing. 

Owd— old. 

Pash abaht— to go about hurriedly. 
Peffing — applied to a short cough. 
Peggies — an infant's first teeth. 
Peggy— to stir clothes in washing. 
Pey — a pea. 
Peyls aljaht — to go about in a 

rough manner. 
Pickle — ^to put away. 
Piggin- — a lading can. 
Poky — being forward. 
Pooak — poke. 

Popped — annoyed ; pawned. 
Prig— ^a pan or posnet. 
Pumping — obtaining information 

by close questioning. 

Quirk — to shirk duty. 



(2uizzing — to obtain information by 

questioning. 
Ouicksticks — in a hurry. 

Raffle-coppin — a vagabond. 

Rarely — excellently. 

Reckon — to suppose. 

Reek — smoke. 

Reet— Right. 

Reezy — rancid. 

Reyt — right. 

Rift — to belch wind. 

Rig — ridge of a house. 

Rive — to tear. 

Rodney — to idle time away. 

Roughshod — without consideration 

for another. 
Rattle — a noise in the throat. 

Sark — to suck. 

Saar — sour. 

Sackless — innocent. 

Scale — to poke a fire. 

Scawp — head. 

Scrawm — to climb. 

Scrunty — little. 

Seeks — sacks. 

Secktacle — a hoist. 

Seed — seen. 

Sell'd— sold. 

Seln — myself. 

Shaat — to shout. 

Shackle — the wrist. 

Shilly-shally — empty ; purposeless. 

Shoin — shoes. 

Sift — to get information slyly. 

Sken — to look aslant ; to squint. 

Slap — a blow. 

Slape-shod —shoes taking water. 

Slash — to cut. 

Slapp't — whipped. 

Slavver — the spittle. 

Slake — to quench the thirst. 

Slaumin' — sleepy or drowsy. 

Sloppy — wet, dirty. 

Slur — to slide. 

Slush — thawed snow. 

Slutter — to fall down. 

Smack — a sharp blow. 

Smooring — smothering. 

Snappy — short ; bad tempered. 

Sneck^a door fastener. 

Snig — to pilfer. 

Snook — to smell. 

Snod — smooth. 



Glossary. 



237 



Snuffle — making a noise through 

the nose. 
Sodden — to soke with wet. 
Soltch — a heavy fall. 
Sops — children's food. 
Split — to tell a secret. 
Spooin — spoon. 
Stalled — wearied. 
Starken — to stiffen. 
Stawp — to stand still. 
Steyl— a handle ; the act of stealing. 
Stint — so much and no more. 
Stown — stolen. 
Stooil — a seat. 
Stroak — two pecks. 
Stuff — to cram. 
Suds — a lather. 
Summat -something. 
Swad — shell of pea or bean. 
Swaith — a single row of mown grass. 
Swarm — to climb. 
Swarthy — tawny. 
Swatch — a sample-piece of cloth. 
Sweeat — sweat. 
Sweal — to melt. 
Swelling — overcome with heat. 
Swig — a hearty drink. 
Swill— to wash lightly. 
Swop — to exchange. 
Syle — to put through a sieve. 

Taan — taken. 

Tak — take. 

Tawk — conversation. 

Tenger- 



Tengs — fire tongs. 
Tent — to attend ; to nurse. 
Teych — to instruct. 
Thoil — to give ungrudgingly, 
Thowt — thought. 
Thump — a heavy blow. 
Tidy-betty — ashpan. 
Tippling — secret drinking. 
Tit — a horse or pony. 
Titter — giggling laughter. 
Topple — to fall over. 
Tramp — a vagrant. 
Trice — speedily. 



Twig- 



-to catch the meaning. 



-a deceiving person. 



Upreyt — upright. 

Varry — very. 

Wack — to strike sharply. 

Wahr — worse. 

Wakey — short of sense. 

Wallop — to beat. 

Wamble — to walk unsteady. 

Ware — to spend. 

Wart — an excrescence. 

Warter — week-day. 

Wax — to grow. 

Wick — alive. 

Wisk — a bundle of rushes. 

Wizzened — shrunk. 

Wokken- -to wake up. 

Yahm — home. 

Yus, ahnt ta — yes, thou will 



INDEX 



A 

PAGE 

Abbot, John, the blacksmith 182 

Ackroyd, Cowling, Notice of 183, 184 

Ackroyd, Francis, worsted piece 
maker ; his numerous family ...138, 139 

Akeroyd, James, FrmiroseHill 177 

All Saints' Church, Horton Green, 
description of; architect, con- 
tractor, and cost 135, 136 

Anderson, Rev. Dr., of Troy, U.S.A., 
successor of Dr. J. R. Campbell, 

Horton Lane Chapel 71 

Annesley Chapel 79 

Area of Township, in acres 14 

Ashley, John, spinner, and presenta- 
tion to 35 

Ashfield, or the " Happy Valley "... 209 

Ashton Dole 226 

Atkinson, Jonas, clerk 178 

Atkinson, Rebecca, married to Richd. 
Gorton 178 



Bacon, William, and his widow 56 

Balme, John, one of the original 
trustees of Horton Lane Chapel ... 56 

Balme, Misses, bequests to Airedale 
and Horton Colleges 56 

Balme, Abraham, assistant over- 
seer 17, 141, 142 

Balme, Joshua Rhodes, his labours at 
Lidget Green 192 

Bamburgh Castle, its historic import- 
ance, one of the residences of 
Dr. lohn Sharp 127 — 129 

Baptist College, founded in 1805 ; 
institution removed to Rawdon in 
1859 80 

Bairstow, Abraham, a celebrity, and 
founder of Paddock Dyehouse ... 164 

Barracloughs of Horton 180 — 203 

Barraclough, Tommy, 181 

Barraclough, Mary, married to Rev. 
James Charnock 181 

Barrans, Jos., farmer, horse dealer, 
and piece maker 142 

Beacon Hill, height of, 3 

Beanland, Joseph, corn miller and 
colliery proprietor 174 

Beldon Hill 5 

Beldon Hill derived its name from 
Benny Beldon, formerly called 
Upper and Lower Haycliffe ; old 



PAGE 

denizens on Beldon and Pickles 
Hills ; public Gardens on Beldon 

Hill 160 

Beldon Hill, road dispute and trials 19, 20 

Bell Chapel 16, 214—218 

Bentley, Nathan 201 

Birks Farm, owners and occupiers of 198 

Blagborough family 182, 228 

Black Horse Inn, Pal Hammond, the 
hostess; her "native Doric" and 

fine old oak bedstead 152, 3 

Blamires family, once numerous and 
still well represented ; descendants 
and their occupations ; Timothy, 
son of William, accounted the 

strongest man in Horton 167 — 169 

Blamires, John, first steward on 

Bridges' Estate 141 

Boddington, Rev. J. C 215 

Booth, Charles, Barrister, takes the 
name of Swaine, and acquires the 
property of Swaines and Booths ; 
married Hannah Gilpin Sharp, 
and also added name of Sharp 107, 108 
Booths, early residents on Horton 
Green ; " Skinny Booth," his pen- 
urious disposition 137 

Booth, Thomas, piece maker, Horton 

Green 139 

Boundaries of township i, 2 

Bower Family ; Jeremy and Thomas, 
mercers, during the reign of Queen 

Elizabeth 49> 5° 

Bowling Lane, Manchester Road, in 

the early part of the century 73, 74 

Bradford incorporated in 1849 ; and 

Horton divided into two wards 22 

Bradford Union, including Horton, 

formed in 1837 18 

Bradford Union Workhouse 18 

Bradford Horn 187, 188 

Bradford Waterworks originally sup- 

]j!ied from Haycliffe Hill to near 

Judy Barrett's shop in Westgate 158 

Proprietors and Number of Shares: 

opposition by some of the 

inhabitants 159 

Bracken Hall and Holly Bank 172 

Bridges, Rev. W. , Rector of Castle- 
ford 117 

Bridges, Francis Sharp, inheritor of 
the Leeds and Horton family 

estates 118 

Bridges, Thomas, a noted antiquary 
and intimate friend of Thoresby... 118 



240 



Index. 



PAGE 

Brick Castle in Hunt Yard i86 

Broad-dole 112 

Broadbent, J. J., purchases Harris 

Court Mill, notice of 182, 183 

Brooksbank, an old family ; Gilliert, 
a favourite Christian name ; men- 
tioned in the Subsidy B.0II of 1608; 
and another Gilbert paid the 
Hearth Tax in 1666 ; and a third 
Gilbert paid a large land tax in 
1704 ; residences of the family and 

their property 177 — 180 

Brooksbank, ^Iary, the elder 181 

Brooksbank, Joseph, gent 181 

Brooksbanks, the last of 181 

Brooksbank Property, to whom 

descended t 80 

Brooksbank House 182 

Brownroyd, Wibsey-like names 154 

Brimton, John, leather breeches 

maker 66 

Buckley protest 38, 39 

Buckle, John 185 

Burglary at Horton Old Hall 138 

Butterworth & Brookes' disastrous 
failure 31 



" Calico Coach," run to Manchester 30 
Calico Manufacturers attending Man- 
chester market 30 

Calimancoes, how made and singed 25 
Campbell, Rev. Dr., and his ministry 71 
Carriers of Cotton Goods to Man- 
chester 29 

Carter, Tom, Workhouse Master 17 

Centenary Chapel 79 

Charnock Family 181 

Charnocks, allied to, acquired property 

of the Brooksbanks 180 

Charnock, Rev. James, married to 

Mary Barraclough 181 

Chapel Green, site of the first Presby- 
terian meeting house 155 

Chapel House, the home of the 

Thorntons 155 

Chapel Lane Chapel, in 1719 52, 53 

Chapel Lane, old residents 49, 50 

Chartist Movement 27, 28 

Chimney Accident at Cannan's Mill 35 

Church School, erected in 1808 213 

Church Sunday School, erection of, 216 
Churchwardens, names of earliest,... 16 
Clayton, James, mathematician, me- 
teorologist, and writer 143 

Clayton, John, introduced mule spin- 
ning by hand ; his sons wool- 
staplers 143 

Clayton I^ane, once contained a 
Jerusalem Church, and many fol- 
lowers of John Wroe 79 

Clothiers and Stuff Makers 24 



PAGE 

Clough, William 184 

Clough, John 184 

Close Top Farm, owners, tenants, 

and alterations in 157 

Coal staiths and waggon roads of the 

Low Moor Company 150, 151 

Coach Road between Bradford and 

Halifax 

Coal got in Horton in 1350 159 

Cockerham, Edward 185, 186 

Cockpit Hill, Beldon and Pickles 

Hills, resorts for cockfighting 162 

Congregational Schools 222 

Constables appointed by the Court 

Leet 16 

Cordingleys, fellmongers, gave ihe 
name of Skin House to Jacob 

Hudson's farm 78 

Cork-leg business, first makers 66 

Cousens, see Horton Villa 148 

Cousen, William, manufacturer, 
purchased the manor in 1858 ; 
acquired the Blamires property by 
marriage ; his son James, lord of 
the manor ; the family remarkable 

for stature 148, 173 — 189 

Cousen, John and Charles, eminent 
line engravers ; titles of some of 

their chief works 146—148 

Cowling Mill 182 

Cricket and Athletic Club, Park 
Aventie 148, 149 



D 



Dean, Rev. John, Unitarian minister, 
and treasurer of the Bradford 

Library 53 

Democratic Institute 223 

Denton, Richard 184 

Denton, John 178 

Dixon, Jeremy, bequest to Uni- 
tarian Chapel 5;5 

Division of Township 15 

"Doles," " gates," and " butts " 156 

Domesday Book description of Horton 6 

Domestic habits of cottagers 25 

Dracup, Saml. , and his improvements 
in the jacquard and card-cutting 

machines 37 

Dracup, Nathaniel, first Methodist 

in Horton 211, 212 

Drop Farm, the site of Horton Bank 
Reservoir 163 



E 



Early Methodists in Horton 213, 214 

Early Schoolmasters at Horton 218 

Ebenezer Chapel and its founders ; 

minister ; chajiel re-built in 1&61 ; 

removed to Mannville in 1879 57 



Index. 



241 



F 

PAGE 

"Fair Becca," Popular legend of: 
account of her untimely fate ; 
remorse and confession of her 

murderer 17", 171 

Fawcett, Dr., born at I^idget Green ; 

his Commentary on the Bible igi 

Fawcett, Stephen, the poet of 

Legrams 204 

Fawcett, Richard, early engaged in 
the wool trade ; owner of the 
Holme Mill, and built another in 
Union Street ; epithet of " King 
Richard"; his sons, Canon Faw- 
cett and Richard, a woolstapler...62, 63 

Fawcett, Canon, where born 187 

Field Head Estate 207 

Field Head Dycw orks 207 

Field Head Mills 208 

Field House 208 

Fine Arts Exhibition at Congrega- 
tional Schools opened by Lord F. 

Cavendish, Aug. 17, 1870 222 

Fitzgerald, Colonel Thos. Geo., his 

descendants 89 

Four Ashes tree blown down 210 

Four Ashes Inn 177 

Fox Family, property owners 163 

Fox, E. K 185 

Freeholders' List, from the subsidy 
roll of 1608 10,11 

G 

Gallic, Rev. Jameb, M.A. 217 

Gas, where first used in Gt.Horton 15, 16 
Glossaryof Words and Phrases 233 — 238 

Glyde, Rev. fonathan 71 

"Good Old Times" : Fare and 

Clothing " 26 

Goodmansend, first interment in 

Quaker burial ground 152 

Gorton, Richard iBo 

(jospel Pilgrims' Chapel 150 

Great Northern Railway, opened to 

Horton 229 

Great Horton Liberal Club 224 

Conservative Club ... 224 
Mechanics' Institute... 224 

Great Horton House 182 

Great Horton Industrial Society 226 

" Greens," no longer open spaces ... 4 
Greenwoods, of Rrownroyd Fold ... 154 
Growth of Trade : primitive modes 

of working 23 — 25 

Guytrash Stories, and form of the 

boggard 172 

H 

Haley Family 185 

Haley, Sally 185 

Q 



P.VGE 

Hailstone, Samuel, attorney, his 

family 58, 59 

Hailstone, J'.dward, F.S.A 100, 109 

Haigh, David, the reputed inventor 

of cork legs 66 

Hall Yard 188 

Hall, James 188 

Hall, John 188 

Harrison, Rev. John 216 

Harris Court iM ill 182 

Hare and Hounds Inn, Landlords of 162 
Hawmonds or Hanmionds, an old 
Horton family,, landowners, and 
mentioned in the poll-tax of 1379 ; 

present family 154 

Haycliffe Lane, the residence of a 

branch of the Swaines 157, 158 

Haycliffe Hill '.. 156 

Hearth Money in 1666, and number 

of hearths 12 

Heinekin, Nicholas Thos. , Unitarian 

minister 54 

Hemingway, Henry, attorney 89 

Heywood, Oliver, visits Horton Hall loi 
Hew Clews, name of and associa- 
tions ; droll stories of the natives 170 
Highway Board : officers and their 
salaries; re-election in 1849; super- 
seded 1851 20, 21 

Highway Surveyors' Meetings: where 

held 21 

Hill Top Presbyterian Chapel 45 

Hill, Edward, ejected by the Act of 

Uniformity 91 

Hinchliffe, Joseph, a Moravian, an 
excellent schoolmaster, author of 

several educational works 12, 13 

Hirst Tom, schoolmaster 203, 210 

Hodsden, Mrs 89, 138 

Hodgson, Thomas, of Birks 198 

Hodgson, Thomas, of Scholemoor... i8i 

Hodgson, Thomas, of Boiling 98 

Holme Top Mill, builders, tenants, 

and owner 146 

Holme Top House, past owners 143 

Holdswortli, George, his descendants 161 
HoUingreavc Lands, alias Spittle 

Roods 112 

Ilollingwood Lane, said to have 
obtained its name from the holly 
hedges ; the name of long standing 163 
Hollingworth, William, musical com- 
poser 225 

Horton .\mateur Thespians^ 2b 

Horton, named from the manor ; 

branches of the family 6 

Horton nomenclature 10 

Horton Magna, or Great Horton, 
sparsely tenanted in the beginning 

of the present century 167 

Horton, primilixe character of the 

neighbourhood 96 

Hortonians, thrifty and "saving;" 
ardent politicians 23 



•242 



Index 



PAGE 

Horton Old Hall, built for the 

younger branch of the Sharps 97 

Horton Hall ; the home of the elder 
branch; description of the building; 
early resort of Nonconformists for 
worship ; here Rev. Thomas Sharp 
officiated some time, afterwards at 

Morley, and Leeds 99 — 109 

Horton Hall, occupants of 107 — 109 

Horton Hall, purchased by V. S. 

I'owell, in 1871 109 

Horton Listers, long residence in the 
neighbourhood ; their descent and 

pedigree 83 — 90 

Horton Grange 201 

Horton Villa 146 

Horton House Academy 82, 83 

Horton Lane Chapel and its founders ; 
Trust Deed and conditions of 
Membership ; successive Enlarge- 
ments ; Ministers and Churches 

sprung from 69 — 71 

Horton Public Park : extent, des- 
cription, and cost 149, 150 

Horton Bank, New and Old Roads 

described J 164 

Horton Green and its Associations 136, 137 
Horton Green — Old Residents of ... 141 

Horton Old Band 224 

Horton Old Choral Society 225 

Hortons of Howroyde 6, 7, 

House Building extraordinary 151 

Howley Hall — Materials used for the 

erection of Chapel T^ane Chapel ... 53 
Hudson, Jacob, and his Wife ; their 
industry and frugal habits ; ac- 

(juisitions and singular will 75-/8 

Hulnie, Nathaniel and [oseph, born 
at Holme Top, two distinguished 
sons of Mr. S. Hulme, of Kipping, 

Thornton 146 

Hunt Yard, Legend of, property pur- 
chased by Fo.x 186, 187 

Hunt Yard W'esleyan Cl)apel ; first 
Trustees; Opening of 212 

I 

Illingworth, Robert, attorney 163 

Tllingworth, Dr 185 

Iron Church, Congregational 222 



J 

Jackson, John, the "old ('liartist" 203,204 

Jennings, John 14, 17, 189 

Jennings, |onas 18 

Jennings, Jolin, the miller 199 

Jer Lane Old .School, conducted 

many years by John Benn 161 

Super.seded by Board School 162 

John of Gaunt (87 



PAGE 



John Northrop 187 

Jowetts, formerly considerable owners 

of land and tenements in Horton 162 

"Jumpers "of Horton 222 



Kaye, Benjamin, Cotton Manu- 
facturer ; a large dealer ; removed 
to Allerton Hall 140, 141 

King's Arms Inn, sold to Mrs. Trout, 
came to the Rudd family ; sold to 
the Bradford Corporation 180 

Knight, John, " one of the kings of 
Horton " : with his brother erected 
a cotton mill, but failed in 1826 ; 
mill re-built by Harris & Co. , and 
adapted to worsted 30 

Knight's Bankruptcy 180 

Knie-ht's Mill ' 182 



L 

Lacy, Henry de. Earl of Lincoln ... 2 
Lacy, Robert de, grants the Manor 

to Hugh de Stapleton 6 

Lacy and Horton families, and their 

tenantry 7—9 

Lacies and their servitors in 1342 8, 9 

Land and Property Owners in 1704, 

1802, and 1839 12 — 14 

Land Owners, four principal 4 

Land tenure and service under the 

Lacies 8, 9 

Lapse of the cotton trade, and growth 

of the worsted 31 

Laycock, Lazarus 218 

Legrams Lane, an old pack horse road 2, 3 

Leventhorpe William 95 

Lidget Green, early seat of Noncon- 
formity 190 

lister, Robert, a privileged dyer in 
1382 ; succeeded by Richard, who 
was constable of Halifax, and paid 
the highest rent to the lords of the 
manor ; the Ovendenand Northow- 
ram Estates continuing in the familv 

till 1756 84, 85 

Lister, Thomas, lands and tenure ; 
descendants ; Shibden Hall branch 
of the family; marriage alliances, &c. 85 
Lister, John, inherited the Horton 

and Ovenden Estates 86 

Lister, John, Will of (Appendix) 
Lister, Samuel, J. P., of Horton, his 

bequests 86, 87, 88 

Lister, Samuel, of Manningham, an 

attorney 88, 89 

Lister, John, M.A 86 

Listers, zealous Parliamentarians ; 
their sufferings during the Civil 
War 91, 92 



Index. 



243 



PACK 

Lister, Joseph, account of the siege 

of Bradford 9 1 , 92 

Lister, Thomas, of Mauiiiiigiiaiii, a 

major under General Fairfax 117 

Lister, Abraham, of liolUng, an 

attorney 113 

Lister Pedigree 88 

Lister's Arms, a favourite call house 

in the coaching days 79 

Lister Hills, origin of 205 

leister Hills Chapel 209 

Low ("lose Farm 189 

Low Green 188 

Low Green Working Men's Radical 

Association 223 

Lower Hall Brooks i8r 

Lumby Family, of Scholemoor ...16, 197 
Lumby, Sammy t6, 197 



M 

Mansion House, Southfield Lane i8i —185 

Manor Court records 7, 8 

Manor Court steward and judge ... 17 
Manor, recent and pre.sent owners ; 
descent from the Lacies to the 
Horton Family ; sale in 1858 to 
Wm. Cousen, and old mill to S. 
Dracup ; mill long tenanted by 

Joseph Beanland 7, 173, 174 

Manor House 188 

Manor of Leventhorpe 96 

Mann Brothers, stuff merchants ; 
Thomas also carried on the cork- 
leg business 66, 67 

Marshall's Mill, built in i8r8, burnt 

down in 1822 33 

Maynard's valuation of the tythes in 

1638 II 

Maude, Dr. William 202 

Meeting-houses registered after the 

passing of the Toleration Act 51 

Midgley Family 196 — 197 

Mills erected between 1817 and 1850 ; 

their owners and tenants 32—37 

Milk stick and its use 26 

Ministers at Chapel Lane Chapel 

from its erection 50—55 

Mires— Myers 162, 168, 170 

Myers, Thomas, assistant-overseer... 

[18, 20, 35, 162 

Miry Pond, site> 161 

Mitchell Bros. , large worsted spinners 33 

Mitchell, r'rancis and John, 33 

Moravian Chapel, Paternoster Fold ; 

do., Little Horton Lane 218 

Mortimers of Scholemoor 195, 196 

Mossman Family 43, 44 

Mount Carmel Chapel 150 

Mount Pleasant School, trustees 

01 192, 193 

Moulsons ; family long engaged in the 
stone and building trade 139, 140 



PAGE 

Names derived from trades 84 

Nathaniel Dracup, first Methodist in 

Horton 211 

National School, Lidget Green 193 

Nettleton Fold : old residents 161 

O 

Gates, William Henry 207 

Octagon Chapel, first Wesleyan place 
of worship in Bradford ; land 
purchase and original trustees ; 
purchased in 1810 by Richard 
Fawcett 63, 64. 65 

Old Bell Chapel, erection of; first 
incumbents 214 — 216 

Old Homestead at Bank Bottom, 
built about 1600 165 

"Old House at Home"; ascribed 
to Isaac Sharp ; passed into the 
Lister family ; different occupiers 144 

Old Road hostelries 164, 165 

Old Skinhouse, a seventeenth century 
homestead, owned by Jacob 
Hudson, purchased by Thomas 
Dewhirst 78 

OldTodley, site of; Wesleyan School 
at Old Todley 182— 211 

Old inhabitants of Horton ,..227, 228, 229 



P 

Parker 20, 32, 75, 162 

Parkinson, Stephen, built houses at 

Summerseat Place 180 

Parkinson, John, bookseller, builder 
of Mount Carmel Chapel ; after- 
wards became a Primitive Methodist 

local preacher 150 

Pickles Hill : derivation of name ... 166 

Pilling, Joseph, the miller 199 

Plug Riots, said to have been due to 
Chartism ; great excitement in 

Horton 28, 29 

Poor Relief in the early part of 

present century 17 

Poll Tax of 1379 9< 10 

Population of Horton 229 

Powell, Rev. Benjamin, father of Mr. 

F. S. Powell 117 

Powell, Francis Sharp, educated at 
Wigan and Sedburgh Grammar 
Schools, and graduated at Cam- 
bridge ; called to the Bar ; sat four 
times in Parliament ; presented 
with portrait of himself in 1884; 
erected All Saints' Church, Par- 
sonage, and Schools; his Yorkshire 
residence, Horton Old Hall ; 
description of the hall ; relics, 
family portraits, articles of vertii, 



•244 



Index 



PAGE 

armour, carved oak, and other 
antiques ; elected member of 
Parliament for Wigan (see 
Appendix) ; pedigree of...ii8, 119 — 121 

Preston Place School, how named ; 
Preston Place 208 

Presbyterian Chapel, erected at Little 
Horton soon after the Revolution 
of 1688 50, 51 

Presbyterians of Chapel Lane became 
Unitarians during the Rev. John 
Dean's ministry 53 

Presbyterian Ministers 5i~53 

Primitive Methodism in Horton ; 
erection of chapel 219, 220 

Primitive Manufacturing, wool carded 
and spun at home ; modes of life 
and furnishing and fare ; cotton 
industry and long hours of labour 24, 25 

Price, Morton (diaries Horton 
Rhyss), sold manorial property in 
1858 7 



Q 



Quaker Lane, so called from its lead- 
ing to the early burying place of 
the Friends ; list of interments ... 



R 



Radical Reform Chib 204 

Ramsbothams, origin and descen- 
dants of, their connection with the 

Rands and Swaines 43, 44 

Ramsbotham, H. R., founded the 
firm of H. R. Ramsbotham and 

Co 44, 203 

Ramsbotham, John, surgeon, adopted 

Hahnemann's views, his family ... 44 
Ramsbotham, Henry, Swaine, and 
N. Murgatroyd, in 1798 erected 
the first worsted mill in the Holme 38 
Ramsdens honourably connected 
with the Bradford Trade ; sprung 

from Upper Green 172, 173 

Rand Family, early pioneers of 

worsted trade 40, 41 

Randall Well Close bequest 66 

Redhead, Rev. Samuel 215 

Red Lion Inn, owners and occupiers 142 

Reevy Beacon Hill 161 

Rent, ancient forms of, and service ; 
" Red Rose," " Boynes," and 

" Hens" ; "Gafol," a tribute 114 

Richardson, 'William 148 

Riley, Joseph and Ldnmnd, school- 
masters ; the latter an author of 

poems and tales 141 

Robin Hood and Little John (old 

hostelry in Hunt yard) 186 

Rushworth, heir of 187 



S 

PAGE 

Sams Mill, ancient corn mill 199 

Sawrey, Faith, the last lineal descend- 
ant of the elder branch of the 
Sharps 107 

Scarr Lane 186 

Scholemoor, origin of name 193 

Scholemoor listate, ancient owners 
of; bought by Bradford Corporation 197 

Scholemoor Cemetery 198 

Seebohm, Benjamin 202 

Sharps of Horton, their long con- 
nection with the township ; posses- 
sions, how acquired 94, 95 

Sharp, James, liis identity ; exact 
relationship not certain ; descent 
claimed from a Christopher Sharp 96 

Sharp Family, branches of the same ; 
divided into two ; residence of the 
elder, Horton Hall ; the younger, 
Horton Old Hall ; espoused oppo- 
site sides in religion and politics 96, 97 

Sharp, Thomas, his inheritance ; his 
two sons ; the younger of the 
main branches of the family 98 

Sharp, John, the noted Parlia- 
mentarian under Fairfax, and 
present at Marston Moor ; two of 
his sons, the Rev. Thomas Sharp, 
vicar of Adel, and Abraham, the 
mathematician 98, 99 

.Sharp, Rev. Thomas, Vicar of Adel, 
dejirived by the Act of Uniformity, 
afterwards an ardent Noncon- 
formist minister at Morley and 
Leeds 98 — loi 

Sharp, Dr. John, studied at Leyden ; 
his outfit and journey to Holland. . . 102 

Sharp, .Abraham, educated at Brad- 
ford Grammar School ; his devotion 
to scientific pursuits ; friendship 
with Flamsted, and employment at 
Greenwich Observatory ; curious 
medley of entries in memorandum 
book; his studious life at Horton 105 — 7 

Sliarp, Thomas, yeoman and clothier 
in 1607 ; added greatly to his 
paternal estate iii 

Sliarp, John, an ardent Royalist, 
received a blow from a battle axe 
during Civil 'V/ars ; his sons 
partisans on the king's side ...115 — T17 

Sharp, John, D. D. , Archbishop of 
York; born in Ivegate ; educated at 
Bradford Grammar School and 
graduated at Cambridge ; obtained 
the Archdeaconry of Berkshire, 
and three other preferments the 
same year ; Dean of Canterbury, 
and created Archbishop of York in 
his forty-seventh year ; his diary 
and life ; a prolific writer, and 
collector of coins 122, 123, 124, 125, 

126, 127 



Index. 



245 



PAGE 

Sharp, Thomas, younger son of the 
Archbisliop, Archdeacon of Xorth- 
lunberland ; Sharp, John, Pre- 
bendary of Durham, Archdeacon of 
Northumberland, Vicar of Hart- 
burn, and curate of Bamburgh 127 

Sharp, Granville, the most distin- 
guished son of the Archdeacon : his 
life and philanthropic labours ; the 
earliest abolitionist of slavery ; his 
trials for setting slaves free ; secured 
Sierra Leone as a settlement for the 
liberated slaves ; earnest labourer 
in behalf of religious and literary 
institutions, and a voluminous 
writer 129, 130 

Sharp, James, of Horton ; his de- 
scendants 131 

Sharp, John, of Tong, father of Wm., 
of Bradford family, and dis- 
tinguished relatives — the Heys ... 131 

Sharp, \Vm. , an eminent surgeon at 
St. Bartholomew's Hospital 129 

Sharp, Wm. , M..A., Mareham Rec- 
tory, Boston 132 

.Sharp, \\'m. , an eminent Bradford 
surgeon, house surgeon of St. 
Bartholomew's Hospital, settled in 
Bradford, in 1792 ; monument 
formerly in the Parish Church, now 
in the corridor of the Infirmary ... 132 

Sharp John, M..\. , \^icar of Horbury 132 

Sharjj, Richard, of Gildersome, the 
father of three distinguished 
sons 132,133 

Sharp, Wm., M.D., F.R.S., F.G.S., 
succeeded his uncle in 1833 ; his 
lectures on Natural Philosophy ; 
one of the founders and president of 
the Bradford Philosophical -Society; 
surgeon to the Infirmary ; removed 
to Rugby ; his careful investiga- 
tion of Hahnemann's theory ; 
marriages and family 133, 134 

Sharp, Madam 107, 108 

Sharps' marriage alliance with Staple- 
ton, Bridges, and Powell 117 

Sherebrig Beck Close 181 

Shibden Hall ; a fine example of 
timber-built residences 86 

Smith. Sanuiel, of Bradford, Mayor, 
notice of 207, 208 

.Smith, Lawrence 203 

" Smith, Uick," at one time the 
largest worsted spinner in Brad- 
ford 142, 143 

Smithy Hill, or Old.Todley 182 

Soke Corn Mill, in Horton, in 1311 ; 
tenants and rent 173 

Southfield Lane ; Saughfield or 
Southgate ; name illustrates the 
custom of the open-field tenure ; 
the system explained .' 156, 157 

Southern Half-acres 112 



PAGE 

Springfield 198 

Stamj), Rev. W. W 213 

Stewards of the Bridges Estates 138 

Stony lands 180 

St. Andrew's Church 209 

.St. lohn's Church, Manchester Road. 
The new Church of St. John the 
Evangelist, in Horton Lane, built 

in its stead 72 

.St. James's Church, erected by John 
Wood, junr. ; first incumbent the 
Rev. G. S. Bull, an earnest ad- 
vocate of the Ten Hours Bill; his 

successors ' 73 

St. John the Evangelist, Great 

Horton, erection of 217 

Sterne Richard, Archbishop ol York 92 
Sterne, Laurence, author of "Tristram 
Shandy, "educated at Hipperholme 

Grammar School 92 

Sterne, Simon ; numerous family ; 

their descendants 92 , 93 

Stephensons of Horton Green 138 

Steadman, W. , D,D. , personal ap- 
pearance and labours 80, 81 

Streams and their Courses 1,2 

Storrs, Rev. W. T 217 

Swaines, a very ancient family ; 
numerous branches ; marriage 

alliances ; pedigree 44, 45 — 8 

Swaine, Joseph 180 

Swaine, Samuel 201 

Swaine, Dr. \\'. E. , physician extra- 
ordinary to the Duchess of Kent... 47 

Swaines of Gomersal 46, 47 

Swaine, James, said to have ploughed 

when ninety-five years of age 165 

.Swaines, noted for longevity 47.48 

Swaine & Ramsbotham's Mill in the 
Holme, the first of the kind in 
Bradford ; great fire, and exer- 
tions of the Bradford \'olunteers... 42 

Suddards, Eli 86, 189 

Summerseat Place 180 



T 



Tan House 203 

Taylor. Rev. Thos. , Minister of 

Horton Lane Cha])el 70, 71 

Tempest Field i8i 

Tenants of Horton Old Hall ... 118, 119 
Tetley Charles (" Pump Tctley"J... 35, 36 
Thomas, Abraham ("Dr. Tom"), 

notice of 185 

Thorntons of Scholemoor 194 

Thorntons of Little Horton 155 

Thornton Lane, the Thome, part 

of Lady Hew ley's Charity 155 

Thief Score Lane 200 

Toby Lane 186 

Tod (or Toad) Well Farm : an old 

homestead 151 



246 



Index. 



PAGE 

Topham 162, 224, 225, 227, 228 

'riirner, John and Robert 202 

Turner, George 202 

Tythes in 1638, and list of contribu- 
tors II 



W 

Wade, John, a good type of the 
Horton character ; Churchwarden, 
Poor Law Guardian, and Town 

Councillor 20, 21, 169, 170, 226 

\\'alker, James, physician, inheritor 

of Bank Bottom Farm ; tenants 165, i66 
" Waste Lands," " Enclosures," and 

" Common fields," 113 

Watmoagh 224, 225, 226 

Webb, Rev. G. M 217 

Weddall, Mr., Account of 123, 124 

Well Close House, built on the site 

of the Old Workhouse 17 

Wesleyanism in Horton 212 

Wesleyan School, first erected ; 

trustees of 182 

Wesleyan Sunday School 213 



PAGK 

Wesley Place Chapel, erection of ; 

becomes Congregational 221 

West End Building Society 206 

West Lodge 210 

Westbrook House 62 

Westbrook Place 209 

Whitaker, Wm. , principal partner in 

the Old Brewery 39 

Wickham, Rev. Lamplugh 60 

Wood Family ; possessions derived 
from the Lacies of Cromwell- 
botham ; transfers of land to the 

Sharps 112, 113 

Wood, John, senr., Southbrook 
Lodge, manufacturer of horn, ivory, 

and tortoise-shell combs, &c C2 

Wood, John ("Spectacle Wood"), 

first postmaster of Horton 184 

Workhouse, Old, pulled down about 
1822 17 



Yates, Jude 223 



WM. BVLES AND SONS, PRINTERS, PICCADILLY, BRADFORD. 



I 



UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA LIBRARY 
Los Angeles 

This book is DUE on the last date stamped below. 



RtCO LO-ORt 

DEC 2 9 i^- 



Form L9-42»»-8, "49(85573)444 



THE LIBRARY 

UNIVERSITY OF CAUfMlOA 

LOfi ANGBLBSB 



DA Cudworth - 
690 I^ambles roundT 
H8C8 Norton. 



UC SOUTHERN REGIONAL LIBRARY FACILITY 




AA 000 398 059 6 






• • t^'i^ti'/^>:.,J'iS#i?^*^«pM