(navigation image)
Home American Libraries | Canadian Libraries | Universal Library | Community Texts | Project Gutenberg | Children's Library | Biodiversity Heritage Library | Additional Collections
Search: Advanced Search
Anonymous User (login or join us)
Upload
See other formats

Full text of "Commemorative biographical record of the county of York, Ontario : containing biographical sketches of prominent and representative citizens and many of the early settled families. --"

3 P 



COMMEMORATIVE 
BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



OF THE 



COUNTY OF YORK 

ONTARIO 



CONTAINING 

BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES OF PROMINENT AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS 
AND MANY OF THE EARLY SETTLED FAMILIES 



ILLUSTRATED 



TORONTO : 
J H. BEERS & CO. 

1907 



FROPOLJTAN 

IV 

iDlAN HISTORY 



f 3 3,5 7 6" 



W.01I3 



PREFACE 

d,The importance of placing in book form biographical history 
both for its immediate worth and for its value to coming genera 
tions is admitted by all flunking people; and within me past 
decade mere has been a growing interest in this commendable 
means of perpetuating biography and family genealogy. 

CLThat me public should avail itself of the privileges afforded by 
a work of mis nature needs no assertion at our hands. Cicero, me 
Roman orator and philosopher, has said that "for a man to be ig 
norant of what happened before his birth is to be always a child." 
Carlyle says "there is no life of a man faithfully recorded, but is a 
heroic poem of its sort, rhymed or unrhymed." Emerson substan 
tially says the history of any country resolves itself into the 
biographies of its stout, earnest, progressive and representative 
citizens. No truths are more obvious. This medium, then, serves 
more than a single purpose ; while it perpetuates biography and 
family genealogy, it records history, much of which would be pre 
served in no other way. 

CC, In presenting me Commemorative Biographical Record to its 
patrons, the publishers have to acknowledge, with gratitude, the 
encouragement and support their enterprise has received, and the 
willing assistance rendered in enabling them to surmount the many 
unforeseen obstacles to be met with in the production of a work of 
this character. In nearly every instance the material composing 
the sketches was gathered from those immediately interested, and 
then submitted in type-written form for correction and revision. 
The volume, which is one of generous amplitude, is placed in the 
hands of the public with the belief that it will be found a valuable 
addition to the library, as well as an invaluable contribution to the 
historical literature of the Province of Ontario. 

THE PUBLISHERS. 



\ 



INDEX. 



XI 



tAGE. 

Abbs, Robert ................ 323 

\1, 41. -Mrs. Christina ....... 19 

Abell, Mrs. Emily .......... J67 

Abell, John ................. 19 

Abell, Robert W .............. 157 

Adair. Mrs. Margaret ....... 205 

Adair, Thomas .............. 20 

Adams, E. Herbert, M.D.C.M.. .509 
Adams, Rev. Ezra ........... 507 

Adams, J. Franklin, L.D.S., D. 
D.S ...................... 61 

Adams, Dr. John G .......... 515 

Adams, Mrs. Lizzie ......... 245 

Adams, William ............. 244 

Aikins, Hon. J. C ............ 353 

Aikins, William H. B., M.D. 
C.M ...................... 352 

Alexander, Mrs. Annie B ..... 376 

Alexander, James ............ 476 

Alexander, Mrs. Jessie ....... 470 

Alexander, John ............. 451 

Alexander, Rev. John ......... 375 

Allan. Mrs. Adelaide H ....... 175 

Allan, Hon. George W ....... 175 

Allan, Sir Hugh ............ 2 

Allen, Charles H ............. 536 

Allen. Mrs. Elizabeth ........ 536 

Allen, Mrs. Hanna F ......... 606 

Allin, George ............... 451 

Allison, John ............... 61 

Allison. Mrs. Lizzie .......... 612 

Ambcrg, Mrs. Henrietta F ..... 529 

Amberg, Rev. John. M.A ..... 528 

Anderson, Mrs. Jane ......... 307 

Anderson, John ............. 580 

Anderson, Mrs. Margaret .... 580 

Anderson, Thomas W ........ 307 

Andrews, Albert ............ 227 

AiiHnnvs. Mr-. Mary A ...... 227 

Andrew?. Walter A .......... 314 

Angus. William M ........... 37 

Ardagh Family ............. 336 

Ardagh. Mrs. Frances ....... 336 

Armitage, Seth ............. 452 

Armour, Andrew ........... 589 

Armour. Mrs. Maria ......... 580 

Armstrong, Mrs. Amanda ..... 595 

Armstrong. Mrs. Elizabeth ...445 
Armstrong, Thomas .......... 445 

Armstrong. William ......... 595 

Arnold, Alfred ............. 477 

Arnold. Mrs. Mary .......... 477 

Arthurs, Mrs. Annie J ........ 70 

Arthurs. George A ........... 69 

Ashbridge, Mrs. Elizabeth ---- I 1 ? 

Aslibridge. Jesse ............. 189 

Ashby. Dr. Thomas H ....... 668 

Atkinson, Joshua ........... 460 

Atkinson, Mrs. Mary ........ 460 

Atkinson. Simeon . ......... 455 

Austin Family ....... ....... 70 

Austin, James A ............. 637 

Austin, Mrs. Susan .......... 628 

Badgerow, John ............ 459 

Badgerow, Mrs. Sarah , ...... 460 

Bailey. Mrs. Evelyn J ....... 571 



INDEX 



PAGE. 

Bailey, George 277 

Bain, Mrs. Margaret M 23 

Bain. Thomas R 23 

Baker, John 373 

Baker, Mrs. Margaret 3(3 

Bakewell, Frederick 488 

Baldwin, Mrs. Catherine A. B. . 46 

Baldwin, Mrs. Elizabeth 

Baldwin Family 2 

Baldwin, Mrs. Frances 20(3 

Baldwin, Henry St. G 24 

Baldwin, James B., M.D 

Baldwin. Mrs. Margaret F. . . 6 

Baldwin^ Morgan 205 

Baldwin. Robert R., B.A 14 

Baldwin, Mrs. S.M 363 

Baldwin, Dr. Warren, B.A. ... 45 

Baldwin, William A 59 

Baldwin. Dr. William A 51 

Baldwin. William W 36 

Bales, Joseph 566 

Balfour, Mrs. Josephine B. ... 27 
Balfour, Hon. William D., M. 
p p 26 

Ball. Mrs. Annie M 569 

Ball. Samuel N. 568 

Barbr-r, Charles 317 

Barber, Mrs. Lucinda 317 

Barber. Moses 167 

Barker, Mrs. Annie L 444 

Barker. Robert W 444 

Barnhart, Noah 32( 

Barrett, George 418 

Barrett, Mrs. Jennie 41i 

Barrett, R. G 174 

Barrick. Eli J.. M.D 178 

Barton. Mrs. Sarah 243 

Barton. William J 243 

Bastedo Family 37 

Bater. Mrs. George 483 

Bates Families 40, 3 

Bates. Ira 312 

Bates, Rev. S. S., B.A.. D.D. . . 40 

Bayly. Benjamin, B.A 610 

Bayries Reed. Rev. W. L 495 

Beatty, Adam ( 1810) 144 

Beatty. Adam (1836) 396 

Beatty. James H 385 

Beatty. Mary A 144 

Beattv. Mrs. Sarah C 385 

Beatty, William 382 

Beddow. Mrs. Caroline 560 

Beddow. Thomas 560 

Bee, Mrs. Jane 13 

Bee. Rev William 132 

Belden, George F., D.D.S 349 

Boll. Mrs. Agnes 491 

)>, " Dougald *9 



PAG1 

21 
21 
13 
13 
15 



Bailey, 



! ... ! 



V I 



gennett, ,T ame s s > 
l>entlev }f r . 




Bernard, John J 

Bernard, Mrs. Matilda 

Bertram, Mrs. Helen 

Bertram, John 

Beynon, George W 

Beynon, Mrs. Edith 

Bickell, Mrs. Ann E., 

Bickell, Thomas 

Black, Mrs. Thirza 

Black, William (1862) 

Black, William (1835) 

Black. Zenas 

Blackstock. Mrs. Mary 

Black-stock, Rev. William S. 
D.D 

Blair. Mrs. Martha 

Blair. Rev. William, B.A. . . . 

Blight, Walter H 

Blong, Edward 

Blong. Mrs. Margaret 

Bloug, Robert 

Bogart, Martin J 

Bogart, Peter 

Bogart. Mrs. Roxey 

Bolton. Charles R - 

Bolton. James C., Esq. . J53 

Bond, John P. 671 

Bond. Robert --.15 

Bonnell, William 

Boomer, Mrs. Ann 

Boomer. James 

Boston. Joseph 

Bostwick Family 

Bostwick. Nelson 

Bothwell, John A., D.D.S. . 

Botsfnrd. Timothy 

Boultbee, Mrs. Marian 

Boultbee. William, C.E 

Boulton, Henry J 

Boustead. Mrs. Isabella J. . . 

Boustead. James B. . 

Boxall, George . 

Boxall, Mrs. Mary A. . 
Boyd. Alexander J. 
Boyd, Geoffrey, B.A., 

Boyd, John 

Bovd, John A 

Boyd. Mi - 

BoVd. W 



15i-(" ~ 

.... 
Bridgland, Mrs. Martha A. 

Briggs, Mrs. Mary J 

I!. 



:ir;,- J. 

Bri c lvu 

Brodir. Mrs. Adeline J. H . 

Brod ! e Family 

Bro<~ie. John L -> 

Brr.He. Wilm_. 

- - -*** 






21 

2 
21 

2i 

i;: 



INbKX. 



PAGE. 
Brough, Mrs. Mary C ........ 522 

1 rough, Theodore G .......... 522 

Brown, Alexander ........... 62 

Jion-n. Alfred J ............. 547 

*rown, Mrs. Alice ........... 401 

irown, Austin .............. 277 

Brown, Mrs. Ann P ......... 45 

Brown, Asa A., V.S ......... 549 

IJnnvn, Charles ............. 659 

Brown, Edward ............. 485 

I rown, Mrs. Eliza ........... 277 

.lirvvn. Mrs. Elizabeth ...... 62 

T.rown Families .......... 39, 246 

Brown. George .............. 660 

Brown, Henry T ............. 401 

3rown, Mrs. Jennie ......... 156 

3rown, Joseph .............. 442 

Brown, Mrs. Louis e .......... li.V.) 

3rown, Mrs. Mary A ........ 547 

3rown, X. Allen ............ 246 

rown, Richard ............. 39 

irown. Robert S ....... . . . . . 48 

irown, Thomas ........ . . .. 44 

Jrou-n, dipt. Thomas ..... . .15S 

3rown, William ............. 506 

irumell, Mrs. Emily ...... " 106 

rumell, Henry P ...... ... . . 106 

unskill Family .......... 134 

nskill, Mrs. Hannah ..... 309 

iskill, Rf ^-t ............ 309 

kill, Thomas, M.D ...... 134 

it Press, Limited, The ...661 
. , Mrs. Louisa .......... 157 

i, Thomas .............. 156 

.on, George L ............ 262 

on, Mrs. Mary ........ . 262 

William ............. 331 

. Emerson ........... 362 



John R .............. 256 

Joseph R .............. 545 

Thomas H., B.A ....... 412 

"" Robert ............ 645 

Airs. Sarah M ....... 645 






irgesa 

tess 



Christopher W 267 

Mrs. Mary E 270 

Mrs. Margaret 631 

Mrs. Maria 629 

Solomon L 628 







William 631 

holder, Jacob S . . 425 

Rev. Alexander, M.A., 

LL- 15 649 

VIrs. Edith 512 

*-ames QI2 

< J^mes H., M.D. . . . . . .611 

Mi,. Martha 423 

Mrs Parah A ^650 

s! Wiiiij, aT \ . .. . . .". "428 

tt Famii . . g^g 

n Mr rat M VM -D . C.M! .375 

n, Mrs. MI ry A. ... 524 

n, Warren ..... 5.75 

11. William 



.124 
. 87 



ill, B>nry . . . 
11, Jesse F. ... 



er, Mr.. Mary J. . . ,, 

<t, Robert :; tfln 

i, Mrs. Bmilv ..." 

Johi H. : 

ron, Alex; ... 

roil, Irving M. M.B. C. wt 

ron, Hon. John H., M P in 

lie! . 471 

r otte . . . . .32-2 

~ 



tAGE. 

Campbell, Mrs. E. P ......... 400 

Campbell, Dr. Frank A ....... 505 

Campbell, James ............ 322 

Campbell, Mrs. Mary F. ...... 264 

Campbell, William .......... 400 

Camplin, Dr. William ........ 638 

Cane, Henry S .............. 101 

Cane, William ............. 101 

Cannon. Mrs. Annie ......... 581 

Cannon, Thomas E., Jr ....... 90 

Cannon, William H., D.D.S. . . 580 
Canthis, Mrs. Ellen ......... 607 

Canthis, William ........... 607 

Carleton, Charles S .......... 209 

Carleton, Mrs. Maria ......... 210 

Carpenter. Mrs. Harriet ...... 487 

Carpenter, Thomas .......... 486 

Carroll, Frank G ............ 619 

Carroll, Mrs. Mary .......... 619 

Carruthers, Rev. Samuel ...... 606 

Carson, Henry ............... 603 

Carson, Mrs. Margaret E ..... 603 

Carter, Edward T ........... 147 

Carter, Mrs. Louisa C ........ 147 

Carty, Jeremiah ............ 48 

Caven, Rev. William, D.D. 
LL.B .................... 393 

Cawthra Family ............ 32 

Cawthra, Henry ............. 32 

Cawthra, H. Victor ......... 33 

Chalcraft, Mrs. Clara ........ 301 

Chalcraft, William E ......... 301 

Chalmers, John ............. 285 

Chalmers, Mrs. Marion ...... 285 

Chambers. Rev. Andrew B 
LL.B.. D.D ................ 15 

Chapman, Mrs. Essie ......... 615 

Chapman, Frederick W ....... 615 

Chapman, James ............ 501 

Chapman, Thomas .......... 335 

Chnrli-s. Mrs. Charlotte ..... 536 

Charles, John W ............. 535 

Charlton, Mrs. Ann ........ 243 

Charlton, George ............ 242 

Charlton, Dr. W. J .......... m 

Chesnut. Mrs. L ............. 581 

Chessell, Mrs. Eliza E ....... 267 

< lirssell. George D ........... 267 

Chick, Frank L ........... . . 415 

Christie, Brown & Co., Ltd. . . 47 
Christie, Mrs. Jane .......... 187 

Christie, Mrs. Mary J ........ 48 

Christie. Robert J ............ 4S 

Christie. William. (1833) ____ 186 

Christie, William (1829) ____ 565 

Christie, William M .......... 47 

Chrysler. .Tamos C ........... 660 

Chrysler, Mrs. Sarah ..... ...661 

Church, Mrs. Elizabeth 1 ..... 471 

Clark, D. A., M.D ........... 562 

Clark, D.inie!. M.D .......... 67 

Clark, Mrs. Helen L .......... 7 

Clarke, Mrs. Charlotte E ..... 99 

Clarke, Edward F., M.P. . . 99 
Clarke, W. A ............... 423 

Clarkson, Mrs. Amelia ....... 132 

Clarkson, Charles, B.A ........ 132 

Clarkaon. Hillary ........... 475 

Clark-son. .Tonnio ............ 47- 

Clarkson, Mrs. Mary A ^-frrr: 
Hark-son, William . ....... l 

W. H ...... ./ .......... ?, 

Clayton, William .1 .......... , n * 

Clemes, Airs. Annrf ........... 004 

Clemes, M^j. Job" .......... ,}>, 



r - 

Afton FlGoorge W ..... 38O 

Mrs. An\ ............. SL 

"boomer, Tit 6 .......... 

"iomas ....... * * 



Close, Mrs. Mary 

Close, Thomas H 421 

Clubine, Edwin J 329 

Clubine, Mrs. Hannah J 329 

Clubine, William H 347 

Cciiidy, Richard T 200 

Contsworth, Emerson 445 

< oatsworth. Mrs. Margaret ...445 

Codv, Benjamin 514 

Colby, Mrs. Jane 488 

Colby, Robert 488 

Cole, Mrs. Elizabeth 279 

Cole, Thomas 279 

Coleman, Mrs. Amanda 554 

Coleman, Arthur 613 

Coleman, Charles 554 

Coleman, Charles W 413 

Coleman Family 413 

Coleman, Mrs. Mary A 547 

Coleman, William 547 

Coles, George 356 

Collins, Mrs. Elizabeth ...... .420 

Collins, George W 419 

Collins, James W 341 

Collins, Mrs. Orphena M 342 

Connors, Mrs. Catherine 577 

Connors, Stephen 577 

Cook, Dr. Allan B 384 

Cook, Edgar M., M.D 155 

Cook Family 155 

Cook, Herman H., M.P 121 

Cook, John L 527 

Cook. Mrs. Lucy 527 

Coons, Frances E 235 

Coons, Reuben 234 

Cooper, A. B 356 

Cooper, David G 561 

Cooper, Rev. Henry C 356 

Cooper, Hugh, V. S 461 

Cooper, James H 564 

Cooper, Mrs. Margaret H 564 

Corcoran. Mrs. Hannah 409 

Corcoran. Michael J 409 

Cornish Family 33 

Cornish, Rev. George H., LL.D. 33 

Cotterill. John 598 

Cotton, Mrs. Sarah 297 

Cotton. William J 297 

Coulson, Arthur .". . 225 

Coulson, Mrs. Margaret A. . . 225 

Coulter, John 504 

Coulter, Mary 504 

Cowan, Mrs. Frances 633 

Cowan, John J 633 

Coxhead, Caesar 250 

Craig. Mrs. Janet 290 

Craig, William 290 

Cramp, David 639 

Cramp, Mrs. Eliza 639 

Cramp Family 483 

Crandell, Mrs. A. Ruth 571 

Crandell, Clarke 571 

Crane. James 518 

Crawford, Andrew 14 

Crawford, Mrs. Catherine 14 

< , ifrhton, John 112 

Crocker, James 164 

Crocker, Mrs. Mary 164 

Crosby, Isaac 440 

Cruickshank, James 246 

Cummer, Frank R 265 

Cunningham, Helen A. . 466 

Cunningham, James 558 

Cunningham, Mrs. Mary J. ..558 

Curran, Mrs. Anne 420 

Curran, James 420 

Curry, Samuel W 489 

Curtis, Charles 487 

Mrs. TTiyii^k ; . . . . 652 



INDEX. 



XI 



PAGE. 

Cuseck, Sergt. Nathaniel 652 

Cuttell, Mrs. Grace 663 

Cuttell, Thomas 662 

Dack, Edward 91 

Duck, Lucy 92 

Dack, Robert 657 

Back, Robert G 657 

Dale, George 646 

Dale, Sarah 261 

Dale, Thomas 260 

Dalton, Miss Florence E 143 

Dalton, Robert G., Q.C 142 

Daniel, Daniel ^619 

Daniel, Mrs. Katherine F 619 

Davey, James 482 

Davey, John 670 

Davey, Mrs. Selma 670 

Davidson, Mrs. Caroline 204 

Davidson, George L 439 

Davidson, Joseph 203 

Davidson, Mrs. Martha P 440 

Davies, Charles 566 

Da vies, Mrs. Emma . ! 631 

Davies, Mrs. Mary E 343 

Davies, Capt. Peter ! 630 

Davies, Mrs. Sarah 567 

Davies, William, Jr 348 

Davis, Mrs. Eliza . ..556 

Davis, Frank 556 

Davis, Joseph S 635 

Davison, Mrs. Mary G "20? 

Davison, William ...202 

Deacon, Mrs. Eliza 153 

Deacon, James 152 

Dean, Benjamin 530 

Deo. Francis 0. 337 

Dee, Mrs. Mary 337 

De la Haye, Alcide, B.A., M. D. 411 

De la Haye, Mrs. Mary 412 

Delamere, Col. Joseph M. !.210 
Delamere, Thomas D M A " 

K.C ; ..; . 178 

De Leplante, Maglorie 548 

De Leplante, Mrs. Theresa ..548 

Dempster, James 633 

Dempster, Mrs. Mary . . . 833 
Denison, Lt.-CoI. Frederick C 

C.M.G., M.P .192 

Denison, Mrs. Julia A. . 190 

Dennis, J. R " 5 -^ 

Dennison, Mrs. Fanny .409 

Demr son. Joseph H. . . . . 409 

Des. Brisay, Mrs. Sarah E. 360 
Dw; Brisay, R ev . William A 360 

WEsterre, Mrs. Annie 568 

t) Esterre, Robert J 567 

Diamond, James 493 

Diamond, Mrs. Jane "423 

Dickie, Mrs. Elizabeth . ^567 
iJiekie, James . . 587 

Jgnnjck, Mrs. Charlotte jf.". . 95 
Dinmek, Rev. John D., D.D 
JJmwoody, Jeremiah . . 643 

Dixon, Frederick E 
Dixon, Frederick J. 

Dixon w. v D.D.s. :::::::669 

-Uoan Families 379 

Doan. J. Norman . 

Doan, Mahlon . 

Doan, Thomas B. 

Doan, William . 

Doan. William A.. ... 

Doane, Mrs. Elizabeth . , 07 

Doane, Henry 

Doel, John . . . 

Dolierty, Charles p. . 
Doherty, Mrs. Charlotte . . 
Doty, Mrs. Amanr]v J 

I 



PAGE. 

Doty, Frank 437 

Douglas, Samuel J 325 

Douglas, William J 256 

Dowsley, Dr. George W. 0. ... 367 

Drouillard, Mrs. Jane 320 

Drouillard. Phelix 320 

Dnimmond, Mrs. Hester A. . . .374 

Drummond, John W 374 

Duckworth, Mrs. Catherine ..219 

Duckworth, John 219 

Duggan, Edmund H 397 

Dunlop, John H 126 

Dunn, George 253 

Dunn, Mrs. Rebecca 253 

Dunnet, Mrs. Jessie 231 

Dunnet, Thomas, M.A 230 

Dunwoodie, James 421 

Dunwoodie. Mary A 421 

Durham, John 336 

Dyas, Mrs. Emma W 162 

Dyas, Thomas W 162 

Dyas, William J 187 

Earl, Mrs. Sarah A 595 

Earl, William 595 

Eaton, Edward Y 34 

Eaton, Mrs. Mabel . 34 

Ecclestone, Alfred G 217 

Ecclestone, Mrs. Amelia J 217 

Eckardt, Mrs. Sarah 212 

Eckardt, William 212 

Edinjrton. Adam 642 

Edington, Mrs. Margaret 642 

Edwards, Mrs. Charlotte 555 

Edwards, Mrs. Elizabeth J. . . 05 

Edwards, James 555 

Edwards, Sergt. John E 65 

Elliot, C. Shomberg, M.D 375 

Elliott, David 429 

Elliott, George, M.D.C.M. . ... 63 

Elliott. Mrs. Harriet 429 

Ellis, Arthur W., D.D.S 626 

Ellis, Harry 629 

Ellis, John ^519 

Ellison, Mrs. Kate 613 

Ellison, William J 612 

Elson, Mrs. Minerva 294 

Embury, Mrs. Elizabeth 486 

Embury, John E., V.S 486 

Emerson, Mrs. Catherine I. . . 304 

Emerson, Joseph 304 

Emery, Mrs. Barbara .... 573 

Emery, Robert 573 

England. Mrs. Ellen 320 

England, John 320 

Evans, Mrs. Annie 318 

Evans, Arthur W T 447 

Evans, Mrs. Harriet ...489 

Evans, John 313 

Ewan, Peter [[ 579 

Fair, David 639 

Fair, Mrs. Lizzie 639 

Farley, John 133 

Farley, Mrs. Maggie A. . . . ]38 

Farr, Charlotte 468 

Farr, Mrs. Isabella . . 143 

Farr, John 468 

Farr. Joseph 143 

Farrar, Mrs. Elizabeth ". 65 

Farrar, Rev. Michael A 64 

Fan-ell, Mrs. Elizabeth J. 634 

Farrell, William 634 

Featherstonhaugh, Mrs Cath- 
"I ine L 274 

Fen u irk, .1. 
Fenwi. 



PAGE. 

Feiiwick, Murray McC., B.A.. 527 
Ferguson, Mrs. Elizabeth . 581 

Ferguson, Francis -,$\ 

Ferguson. Mrs. Helen E. . . 381 

Ferguson, John 330 

Ferguson, John D. ... 565 

Ferguson, Dr. John H 951 

Ferguson, Mrs. Mary 50.5 

Finch, John .745 

Finch. Mrs. Kate .. . . 

Fiudlay, John M., M.A i~44 

Finn, Mrs. Ellen 463 

Finn, William . . . . .468 

Fish, Mrs. Catharine 453 

Fish. Rev. Charles 458 

FMi. William A., M.D., CM.. .453 

Fisher, Mrs. Agnes E 370 

Fisher, T. Stavert >-(, 

Flanagan, Cornelius .. 569 

Flanagan, Mrs. Delia ....... ^10 

Flanagan, Dennis 599 

-Flanagan, Mrs. Margaret . . . . 599 
Flanagan, Mrs. Margaret S. 569 

Flanagan, Peter J 410 

Fleming, James .. 107 

Fleming. Mrs. Mary E. ... . . . .108 
I letcher, James 52 

Fl"tc ,ier, Mrs. Rebecca I. 
Flint. Abraham B 

Flint, Charles ." 

Flint, Mrs. Elizabeth 
Flint, Mrs. Elizabeth A. 
Flintoff, George C 

Floyd, Mrs. Kate . . " 679 

Floyd, Stephen "079 

Fogarty, Joseph . . . . . . .963 

l-Vg-irty. Patrick 571 

Foord, William H. . . 

Ford, William H . 4~r } 

Foreman, Mrs. Agnes .. . . " ritn 
Foreman. George fj 03 

Forster. Mrs. Martha . 

Forster, Thomas 99. 

Forsyth, Charles .... 22 

Foster, Charles H. 

Foster, Mrs. Mary ." ":, 

Foster. William A., Q.C 6iO 

Fox, Mrs. Caroline ... . " 583 

Fox, John - s ., 

Irs. Gertrude A. 

For. John ].>"> 

Fraleigh. Mrs. Frances . 

Fraleigh, T)r. William S. . 117 

Francis, John H .... 28f 

Frankland. Henry R. . . . . . i ; 
Fraser, Alexander ,.... .. 203 

Fraser Familv 539 

Fraser, James 115 

Fraser, John B., M.D./CM 53f 

Fraser. Mrs. Sarah F 

Frost, Arthur J \\\ "^ 

Frost, George B. 

Fuller, Charles . "o, 

Fuller, Charles D 

Puller, Mrs. Delilah . S(i ..n/. 

Fuller, Mrs. Mai 

Fuller. Mrs. Rosamond . 

Fuller, William D . . . . :StK> 

Gai d. John 4j,- 

Gardhouse, James (1862) . 404 

Gardhouse, James (1832) 6 4 

Gardiner, David -^. f 

Gardiner, Mrs. Jane .. . . . . 30^ 
Gardiner, Thomas . . ... . .. , fjfif 

,1 119 

artor , 

t. ... 
- - 




INDEX. 



PAGE. 

Geddes, William A 177 

Gee, Mrs. Emma 261 

Gee, Frederick R 261 

Geikie, Walter B., M.D., C.M., 

D.C.L 81 

Gibbons, Luke 361 

Gibson, Mrs. Elizabeth 271 

Gibson, Rev. Joseph C 108 

j Gibson, Mrs. Marcella 108 

jr Gibson, William 271 

3 r( Gilbert, Mrs. Jane 406 

i Gilbert, Thomas 406 

Gilchrist, Archibald 448 

Giles Family 218 

Giles, James G 197 

Giles, John 21S 

Gilnior. Angus R 412 

Gilmor, Isaac C 412 

B- Gi . tn.ur. John T.. M.D 74 

Globe. The 180 

5, Going. Mrs. Ada M 021 

>., Going. Clmrl. s C 621 

!!. Goldsmith, Annette 136 

!r, Goldsmith, Rev. Thomas 135 

,! Goode, Henry B 200 

; r , Goode. Mrs. Zelinda 200 

? r Gordon, Dr. Edward P 312 

r Gordon, Mrs. Margaret 312 

Ic purlay, Adam 408 

nskilljrlay, Mrs. Lottie 408 

iskill, R-"> Adam 417 

kill, rcs, Mrs. Ann J 417 

,^ iv ham Family 344 

Cvaham, .Mrs. Helen 312 

Graham, J. A 344 

; , Graham. John 311 

Graham, William J 602 

Grainger, Edwin 316 

Granger, Oliver 588 

Graver. Mrs. Margaret 183 

< .raver. Thomas R 183 

Gray, Mrs. Elizabeth 416 

.ray, George 484 

miray, Henry. A 35 

., ; ray. Henry J 580 

fra i Mrs. Xorma V 35 

>niy. Thomas J 416 

Green. Mrs. Rebecca 293 

Green, Robert 293 

Greensides, Isaac 613 

iisides, William . 614 

ts. Hon. Edwin N. ...109 

Gurnett. Mrs. Jane P 276 

Gurnett, John T 276 

-"- Robert C 92 

Hackett, William T., D.D.S. ..604 

nag.-n. Mrs. Jennie 600 

Hagen, Thomas H 600 

I ague, Mrs. Mary A. 473 

lague, William 473 

lahne, Charles H 501 

talme, Mrs. Henrietta 502 

iltale, Miss Carol 49 

IfuleVpr. George W 48 

Hale, Miss Harriet 49 

Hall. Mrs. Margaret 636 

Hall, Thomas 636 

Hal s. Mrs. Minnie 410 

Jl-.lls. T. T 410 

Hambleton, Ai-ten-us 450 

lianiill, Henry 480 

TTamil . Mrs. Martha C 481 

, . -Ha-, nah, Mrs. Gertrude M. ... 61 

Hannah. William G.. LL.B 60 

Hardy, Hon. Arthur S 537 

Hare. John 53J 

Hiii-grave. Edward 434 

rgrave. Mrs. Maria . . . . ...<13 



PAGE. 

Harris, Mrs. Annie 51 

Harris, Henry 484 

Harris, Joseph 400 

Harris. Mrs. Rebecca 400 

Harris, Thomas M 49 

Harrison, Hugh 119 

Harrison, Mrs. Sarah 119 

Harrison, William 622 

Hart, Mrs. Dora 546 

Hart, Dr. J. More 546 

Hart, John S., M.D 64 

Hurtman Family 533 

Hartman, Lot L 533 

Hartney, Frank B 552 

Harvey, Arthur 116 

Hastings, George H 431 

Hastings, Mrs. Georgina 431 

Hatton, Annie J 61 

Hatton, John S 61 

Ration, Mrs. Mary A 61 

Hawke, Benjamin E., M.D. . . 139 

Hawke, Mrs. Charlotte A. 116 

Hawke. George M 115 

Hay, Mrs. Elizabeth S 236 

Hay, Maj. John D 235 

Hayes. Mrs. Elisabeth 203 

Hayta, William H 202 

Hazelton, Joseph 634 

Hazel ten, Mrs. Susanna 634 

Heggie Family 66 

Heggie, William C., M.D 66 

Heintzman, Charles T 526 

Ileintzman, Herman 54 

Heintzman, Mrs. Mary J 526 

Heintzman. Theodore A 53 

Helliwell, Miss Abigail 307 

Helliwell, Mrs. Sophia A 130 

Helliwell, Thomas 306 

Helliwell, William P 130 

Henderson, Alexander 40 

Henderson, Mrs. Carrie A 367 

Henderson, Charles M 369 

Henderson. Charles R 479 

Henderson, Mrs. Mary 479 

Henderson, Robert H., L.D.S., 

D. D. S 437 

Hendrick, Arthur C., M.A., 

M.B 62 

Hendrick Family 62 

Hendriek. M. J." 651 

Hendry, W. B., B.A., M.B 301! 

Henry" Mrs. Ellen 616 

Henry, James 616 

Henrv. Mrs. Louisa 381 

Henry, William 381 

Heward, Mrs. Catherine 120 

Howard. Stephen 120 

Heydon, Dr. Charles M 369 

Heydon Family 368 

Heydon. Francis 368 

Hilborn, Eli H 133 

1 lilborn Family 133 

Hill, George E., D.D.S 592 

Hill. John R 426 

Hill. Mrs. Lucy L 426 

Hill, William 471 

Hillam. George 206 

Hind. Joseph 148 

Hinde Brothers 299 

li ind \ William 300 

Hodgson, Mrs. Catherine 628 

Hodgson, John 628 

Hogaboom, Mrs. Frances A. ..223 

i li u-iboom. George H 223 

Ho2<r. Mrs. Sarah S?,5 

Hogg. William 324 

HolHs. George J 501 

Hollyman, Samuel 467 

Holh-man, Samuel E. . ..468 



PAGE. 

Homer, Maurice F 645 

Hooey, John 571 

Hooey, Mrs. Margaret 572 

Hopkins, James A 644 

Hopkirk, Mrs. Margaret 554 

Hopkirk, Thomas F. .. .- 554 

Hopper, Henry F 259 

Howard, A. MacLean 277 

Howard Family 277 

Howard, John 152 

Howard, Mary 152 

Howell, George A 118 

Rowland Family 389 

Howland, Henry S 392 

Rowland, Oliver A., K.C., C. 

M.G. 389 

Howland, Peleg 392 

Hughes, Amos J 219 

Hughes Families 169, 219 

Hughes, James L 129 

Hughes, John E 169 

Hull. Mrs. Anne 471 

Hull. Dr. Richard W 653 

Hull. William J 471 

Hume, A. J 593 

Humphrey, B. D 309 

Humphrey Family 309 

Hunt, Mrs. Margaret 449 

Hunt. Samuel L 449 

Hunter, Mrs. Ann 1 567 

Hunter. Mrs. Catherine J 523 

Hunter, John, M.D 161 

Hunter. Uotiert 522 

Hunter, Robert J 567 

Huntley, George J 313 

lluntly, Mrs. Mary 570 

Huntly. Samuel 570 

Rurd. Dr. Henry E 476 

Husband, George C 226 

Husband, Mrs. Mary A 226 

Hutchinson, Isaac 304 

Hutchinson, Mrs. Margaret ..304 

Hutt. W. G., M.D 499 

Hutty, Alfred 202 

Hutty, Mrs. Dinah 202 

Hutty, Emily H 621 

Hutty. Peter 620 

llyni s. Mrs. Margaret 262 

llynos, Michael 262 

Hj-nes, Patrick 279 

Ide, Mrs. Eliza -flR 

Ide, Henry T : Hp" 

Ince, Mrs. Helen J 206 

Ince, William $4fe " 

Ingham, Edwin JH 

Ingham, Mrs. Harriet A 43^ 

Ingram. A. J 560 \ 

Innes, William 568 ^; 

Inslemann, Ernest R, 60&V 1 

Inslemann. Mrs. Mary GSfr 

Irish, J. R., L.D.S 5m 

Irving, Mrs. Mary 1 9^ 

Irving, William ! 

Irwin, Mrs. Emily 299 

Irwin, H. E., B.A., K.C iflk 

Irwin. Mrs. Jane 4 

Irwin. John ( 1831 ) 40PI 

Irwin. John (1825) 136 * 

Irwin, William W 258 

Jackson, Mrs. Emily L 153 

Jackson, James 523 

Jacl son, James W 241 

Jar ,0011, Lyman G 153 

Ja loon, M. li 71 

J; ek-oii, Mrs. Sar.ih E 523 

Js.ekson, Thoma s 257 

Jiiiray, Sena to- Tlobert ... 11 



INDEX. 



XI 



tAOE. 

James, Mrs. Milbro 441 

James, Robert 441 

Jarvis, jEmilius 211 

Jarvis Families 23, 41, 211 

Jarvis, Frederick W 23 

Jarvis, Mrs. Helen W 121 

Jarvis, Mrs. Jennie E 96 

Jarvis. Mrs. Mary 41 

Jarvis, Col. Salter M 96 

Jarvis, Stephen M 41 

Jay. William 272 

Jefferson, Mrs. Rachel 257 

Jefferson, William T 257 

Jenkins. Frederick 599 

Jenkins, Mrs. May 599 

Jennings. Joseph 452 

Jermyn, Mrs. Anna 618 

JiM-niv.i. John J lil" 

Jessopp, Capt. Dudley F 493 

Johnson, Arthur J., M.B 188 

Johnson, Edward 1 280 

Johnson, Edward R 424 

Johnson Family 424 

Johnston, Arthur 495 

I lniston Family 433 

Johnston, John 433 

Johnston, Mrs. Mary 168 

Johnston, Mrs. Orpha E 434 

Johnston, William 434 

Johnston, W. R, 650 

Jones, Champion 391 

Jones. Mrs. Christina 391 

Jones. Edward C 114 

Jones, John 475 

Jones, Mrs. Margaret 475 

Junes, Mrs. Margaret 1 114 

.Tone?, Mrs. Mary 347 

Jones, Robert, Sr 347 

Jordan, Walter 592 

Kay. Helen 96 

Kay, John 96 

Keele, Mrs. Augusta A 34-1 

Keele, Charles C. 341 

Kelly, Mrs. Henrietta 562 

Kelly. Samuel J 562 

Kennedy, George, M.A., LL.D., 

K.C 306 

Kennedy, Mrs. Jessie 672 

Kennedy, Robert D., C.E., 0. 

L.S 672 

Kerr, Mrs. Ann J 98 

Kerr, Bernard S.. M.D 402 

Kerr. Mrs. Klizabeth 146 

Kerr. Hon. James K., K.C. ...654 

Kerr, John (1819) 97 

Kerr, John ( 1820) 146 

Kerr. Miss Sarah J 610 

Kirkpatrick, Andrew 643 

Kirkpatrick, Mrs. Jane 467 

Kirkpatrick. Joseph 467 

Kirkwood. Alexander 63 

Knowles, Henry A 625 

Knowlps. Mrs. Mary M 020 

Kyle. Edley 129 

Kyle. Eliza 129 

Kyle, James 483 

Kyle. Mrs. Margaret 483 

Laidlaw, Mrs. Catharine A. ..007 

Laidlaw. John t,C,7 

Laing, William J 473 

Lainson, John W 610\ 

Lamond-Smith, Mrs. Isabella .6091 

Lamond-Smith, James 6091 

Lamond-Smith. Louise F 609| 

Lament, David 618 

Lament, Mrs. M. F. .,,.,,,... ....! 8 

,,;;rt ; foh , lrs , Harriot . . . .2731 






iff. 



-on. , ohn 



PAGE. 

Lander, Mrs. Margaret 582 

Langmuir, John W 121 

Lannin, Mrs. Sarah 273 

Lannin. Thomas 273 

Lash, John F 568 

Lash, Mrs. Sarah 568 

Latimer, Mrs. Emily 579 

Latimer, James M 579 

Lawrence Family 318 

Lawrence. William J 318 

Lea Family . 384 

Lea. Joseph H 383 

Leach, Hugh 339 

Leadlay, Edward 113 

Leadlay, Mrs. Marv 1 113 

Lear, Mrs. Elizabeth 212 

Lear, Richard H 212 

Lee, Mrs. Emma M 201 

Lee, Mrs. Harriet J 296 

Lee. John P.. .Tr 295 

Lee. Joseph R 146 

Lee. Philip T 340 

Lee, Walter S 201 

Lee, W. H 448 

Leech, Mrs. Caroline G 358 

Leech, Henry S 358 

Legge, Thomas 438 

Le Gros, Edward 599 

Le Gros, Mrs. Sarah 599 

Leigh, Robert J 415 

Lemon, Edward 364 

Lemon, George 333 

Lemon. Mrs. Maria 364 

Leslie. Edward 224 

Leslie, Maj. J. K. 69 

Leslie, Mrs. Marian 225 

Lesslie Family 43 

Lesslie, Joseph W., M.D 43 

Lester, Mrs. Kate 209 

Lester, William H. 209 

Lightfoot, William 408 

Lilley. Mrs. Maria 313 

Lilley. Thomas 313 

Lillis. Mrs. W. J 646 

Lindsay, Mrs. Ann E ->~>~ 

Lindsey. Mrs. Ellen J 639 

Lindsey, Isaac W 639 

Lindsay. Isaac W 639 

Linton Family 183 

Linton. William 183 

Little. James H 205 

Little. Mrs. Mary E 319 

Little. Mrs. Mary J 266 

Little. S mon G 319 

Lloyd. Mrs. Charlott 004 

Lloyd, David 352 

Lloyd. Murdock McL 603 

Loft. Alice 633 

Loft. Annie 633 

Loft. Lukp B 632 

Lousrhead. George 601 

Loughead. .Mrs. Martha 001 

Lougheed. Dr. R. J 355 

Love. Alfred 237 

Love Family 237 

Love, Mrs. Mary 266 

Love. Robert 266 

Lundy, Charles 228 

Lnndv Family 226 

Lundy. Joseph C. . 226 

Lundy. S. H Olio 

Lyon. John L 597 

Lyon, Mrs. Lucie 598 

McAllister. Samuel 105 

McAuloy, Francis 434 

McAuie-v. Mrs. Margaret E. ..435 

McBain. .Tiimes 239 

Mcl ain. Mrs. .1o-ii> 239 



PAGE. 

McBride, Charles 397 

Mi-Bride. Mrs. Jennie 397 

Met ":irthy. Andrew W 401 

McCarthy, Mrs. Mary 402 

.VicCleary, Joseph 308 

McCleary, Mrs. Mary A 308 

McClelland, Alexander 171 

McClelland. Mrs. Elizabeth ...171 
McClure, Charles N., M.A. . . . 465 

McCoivkey, Ernest G. E 658 

McCormack Family 159 

Met Mi-mack, R ( ber t L 159 

McCracken. Alexander J 223 

McCraney, Moses S 281 

McCniney. Mrs. Sarah 281 

McCurdy Family 89 

McDonell, Mrs. Jane -J70 

McDonell, Samuel S 275 

McDougall, Mrs. Jean M. 5)1 

McDougall. Judge Joseph E. ..511 

McGuire, Mrs. Eliza . . . .. 418 

McGuire, John 418 

McHardy, Forbes 316 

McHardy. Mrs. Xoble M 316 

Mclnto-h, James 499 

Mclntosh, Mrs. Jennie 360 

Mclntosh. Peter 360 

Mclntosh, Reginald K 500 

Mcinto<h. William D 254 

McKay. Mrs. Ellen 229 

McKay, Mrs. Hester A 246 

VrK.iy. John 11 245 

McKay, Robert 229 

McKellar, Alexander 235 

McKellar, Mrs. Sarah J 235 

McKennedy, Mrs. Alice ~. ^ i 

McKemifdy. William .596 

McKibbon, Herbert C 595 

Mi-Kiblv.in. Mrs. Mare-iret ....595 

McKiin. Mrs. Isabella 422 

Mi-Kim. Robert 422 

McLean. Colin 597 

McLein. Dugald t;::-_ 

Mi-Lean. Mrs. Lillian 507 

Md.can. Mrs. Margaret 032 

McLean. Robert G 411 

McMahon, Thomas F 290 

Mc-Master. Arthur R 520 

ire .Master. Mrs. Helen E 520 

McMichael, Alfred J. W., M.A..100 

McMichael, James W 167 

McMichael, Richard 167 

McMillan. James 423 

McMillan. Mrs. Mary A 423 

Mi-Murray, Mrs. Elizabeth ... 94 
McMurray, James S. . . . .-. .... 93 

Mabley, Albert 243 

Ala bier Family 244 

MacCallum. James, B.A., M.D..&01 

Macdonald. Mrs. Annie 1 

MacDonald, Donald 287 

Mat-Donald, Mrs. Elizabeth ...287 

Macdonald, Hon. John 1 

Macdonald, John K 173 

Macdonell. Angus C., D.CL. 

M.P . 86 

Macdnnell Family S6 

MacDonell. James G . . t* 2 

Ma.-dougall. Alfred 5; 4f > 

Macdougall, Mrs. Mary 5;- 1 " 

M.-n-fnrliine, Malcolm fil49 

Macfarlane, Mrs. Mary 620^ 

Mackay. Angus 274 

Mackay, Elizabeth 27 9 

Mackay, William E 5f 05 

MncKenzie, Mrs. Ellen IV" 

MaeKenzio. William h 18 

MackM. Alexander A ji; - 26 

Mackid. Mrs. M. Victoria 
_-,.. i..<i, I/*. ..,i,.it-s _ ; . 8Q9 



INDEX. 



PAGE. 
Maclean. Mrs. Mary B ....... 91 

Maclean, William (1824) ---- 65 

Maclean, William (1847) ---- 91 

MacMath, Hush ............ 33 . 8 

MacMonagle, Mrs. Janet ...... oTO 

MacMonagie. John ........... 570 

MacNamara, Dr. Albert T ..... 340 

Macoomb, Albert ........... 661 

Madill. Mrs. Florence ........ 11 

Madill, Frank, M.A., M.P.P., 
M.P ..................... 11 

Miifjee. John J.. B.A ......... 170 

Ma"ce. Mrs. Mary .......... 170 

Maile, Mrs. Elizabeth ........ 652 

Mailo. Frank ............... 6.51 

Malcolm. Mrs. Euphemia ..... 464 

Malcolm. George ............ 463 

Mamleville. E/W ........... 423 

Mandovillo. Mrs. Isabella ---- 423 

Manning, Alexander ......... 115 

Manning. Percy A ........... 115 

Marks, Elly ................ 225 

Marks, Mrs. Emilie P ........ 80 

Marks, George ............. 80 

Marks, Henry .............. 225 

Marks, Mark ............... 225 

Marriott, James T ........... 563 

.Marriott, Mrs. Jane .......... 563 

Marsh. Alexander ........... 351 

Marsh, William G ........... 352 

Marshall, John ............. 554 

Marshall. Mrs. Mary ........ 555 

Martin, Dr. George S ......... 137 

Marl in. Mrs. Helen .......... 583 

Martin, Matthew ........... 583 

Mas in, Charles ............. 261 

Mason, Mrs. Mary .......... 139 

Ma-on, Thomas J .......... 583 

Ma-on. Mrs. Thomasme ...... 583 

Mason, William T ........... 138 

Massey, Charles A ........... 57 

Massey, (" hosier D. .......... 58 

Massey, Hart A ............. 56 

Mas<=ey, W. E. H ............. 50 

Massio, .lames ........ , ..... 190 

Mathers, John ............. 648 

Matthews, Aner C ............ 295 

Matthews. Mrs. Emma ....... 295 

Matthews, Mrs. Mary A ..... 382 

Matthews, William L ......... 381 

Mauahan. John ............. 123 

Manle. Mrs. "Henrietta I, ...... 607 

Maule, Capt. Robert ......... 607 

Mead, Mrs. Ma.y A ......... 378 

Mead. Cart. Robert, C.E.. M.E..37S 

P Mearits, VJobert ............. 476 

Modcilf. Alfred .............. 627 

H; Mo l.-alf. Edward ........... 627 

Mrs. Elizabeth ..... 627 

Mwloalf Family ............. 626 

Melvin-.Tones, Hon. Lyman ... 22 
Meredith, Mrs. Susannah ..... 557 

Meredith. Thomas ........... 557 

Morrick Family ............. 35 

Morritt, Mrs. E. Robertson ..364 
Mevritt, William M ......... 364 



Gi 
Gr 

,,- 



G] 

I,: 

Qi 

Gi , 

Gur, 

Gun 







a ? 



. ,, 



AV-rtena, William J ......... : 319 

M -vers, D. Campbell, M.D.. 





Hal s, :n g|)t< Jo!lll M 42S 

1 llls - Mar, John. B.A 282 

I"" 1 MilUir, Mrs. Kate M 282 

! a " ! Millar, Mrs. Sarah A 139 



HainiP. 



illar, Rev. Walter 139 



IlLOil f A\ . \>il!Hl I. O0 

iah . Hard Family 461 

ij - s ^rd, John H 461 

lniUy, Ho,.,. Mrg A de]ai<]. A 249 

" "Vr. Elijah 422 

Ha -.- lv ,e, . , : ,,, iu . 4 ,,. ; 

Trs. Hi JTi ** * 



rjfravo. M 



PAGE. 

Miller, llenrv 496 

Miller, Mrs. Janet 500 

Miller, Jolm C., M.P.P 249 

Miller, Mrs. Mary J 422 

Milligan. Lt.-Col. William J. L. 17 

Mills, George H 501 

Milne, Rev. Andrew, M.A 611 

Milne. Mrs. Lena 611 

Minkler, Asa E 659 

Minkler, Mrs. Mary A 6t>0 

Minor, Mrs. Mary H 408 

Minor, Morgan J 407 

Minto, Mrs. Annie 152 

Minto, William 152 

Mitchell, Mrs. Joanna 92 

Mitchell, John 305 

Mitchell, Mrs. Margaret 305 

Mitchell, Thomas 359 

Mitchell, Thomas C 92 

Montgomery, Elizabeth 113 

Montgomery, Hon. John 113 

Mooie, Mrs. Ann 275 

Moore, Charles F., M.D., C.M..404 

Moore, Robert 275 

Moore, William H 138 

Morgan, Charles E 470 

Mo r gan, Mrs. Clara 470 

Morgan, Judge Edward 176 

Morgan, Mrs. Elizabeth 546 

Morgan, Mrs. E. M. A. 376 

Morgan, George 546 

Morgan, Thomas K 376 

Morley, George 232 

Morley, Walker 524 

Morrison, The Hon. Joseph C. . 8 

Morrow Family 294 

Morrow, John 294 

Morse. Mrs. Elizabeth 578 

Morse. Mrs. Elizabeth A 87 

Mor-,0. John T 87 

Morse, William M 578 

Morson. Frederick M., B.A. ...186 

Mortimer, Rev. George 178 

Mortimer, Thomas 178 

Mowat, Frederick 6 

Mowat, Mrs. Isabella 399 

Mowat, Sir Oliver 5 

Mowat. Robert D 399 

Moynihan, Ellen 630 

Mo ynihan, Michael 630 

Mnldoon, Arthur 560 

Muldoon, Mrs. Lois M 560 

Mnlholland. Mrs. Mary A 213 

Mulholland. Thomas 213 

Munro, William P .93 

Murdock, Mrs. Annie L 561 

Murdock. William J 560 

Murphy, Edward F 330 

Murphy, Mrs. Marion 330 

Murray, Mrs. Hughina 571 

Murray, Huson, M.A., K.C 18 

Murray. Maj. John A 517 

Murray, John W 571 

Murray, Mrs. Marion 666 

Murray. William 5S5 

Murray. William A 516 

Murray, William T 666 

Nash. Mrs. Eliza J 323 

Nash, Richard 323 

Nealon, Mrs. Maria 395 

Nealon, Patrick 395 

Nellis, Mrs. Helen S 607 

Nelson. Mrs. Isabella 134 

Nelson." Horatio W 133 

Nesbitt. Rev. George. M.A. ... 81 
Nevitt, Richard B., A.B.. M.I").. 177 

Nichols, Mrs. Agnes 322 

Nichols, Alfred J 322 




." 



PAGE. 
Nichols, Mr. and Mrs. J. Lister.158 

Nichols, John 271 

Nicol, Major 402 

Notman, Mrs. Eliza J 66 

Notman, John C 66 

Oakley, Dr. Francis 386 

Oakley, Mrs. Janet 386 

O Brien, Patrick \V., M.D 417 

O Hagan, Mrs. Elizabeth 550 

O Jlatjs)!. James 550 

O Halloran, Mrs. Daniel J. ..430 

O liaJioran, Michael 430 

OTlar.i. James 031 

O Hara, Mrs. Sophia 631 

O Keefe, Eugen 478 

O Leary, Mrs. Katharine 487 

O Leary, Louis, V.S 487 

Oliver, Dr. John K 157 

Oliver, Mrs. Mary E 158 

O Meara. Rev. Canon Thomas 

R., LL.D 654 

O Neill, Mrs. Agnes 507 

O Neill. William 506 

Orchard, Mrs. Bessie 663 

Orchard, Richard M 663 

Ostley, Frank 358 

Owen, Trevor R 73 

Page, Dr. Thomas J 585 

Palmer, Dr. J. M 588 

Falser, Henry D 299 

Falser, Mrs. Susan 299 

Parker, Alfred . 000 

Parker, Mrs. Emma G06 

Parkin, John W 410 

Passinore, Frederick F., C.E...519 

Passmore, Mrs. Isabella 519 

Paterson, Mrs. Florence 1 75 

Paterson, James F 75 

Paterson, Mrs. Jane 411 

Paterson, John 411 

Paterson, Rev. Thomas W., 

M.A 55 

Patterson, Dr. Elijah 120 

Patterson, Mrs. J. S 2S3 

Patterson. Mrs. Martha 120 

Patton, Hon. James 7 

Paxton, Mrs. Amy E 663 

Paxton, John 003 

Peakcr, John W., M.D 118 

Pearce, Mrs. Margaret 73 

Pearce, Thomas P 73 

Pears, William 286 

I earsall. Benjamin 189 

Pearsall, George 127 

Pearson, Dr. B. F 100 

Pearson, Edward 279 

Pearson Family 310 

Pearson, Lambert B 310 

Peerless, Alfred J 431 

Peerless, Mrs. Elizabeth 431 

PelLttt, Henry 20 

IVndriok. Mrs . Harriet 468 

Pendrick. Richard 408 

Pepler, W. H., M.D., C.M., L.R. 

C.P 30 

IVrl.ins, Matthew J., M.D. ...472 

Per y, Richard 489 

Petf-rs. ( apt. Alexander 561 

Peters, Mrs. Annie 628 

Pelers, Mrs. Elizabeth J 562 

Peters, John 628 

Pi-terson, Adolph 

Petersen, Mrs. Agnes 2S2 

Pettigrew, Robert ">S4 

I Philip, Mrs. Catherine 506 

M. B . A ^.. J *Z9 , 

In, Mrs. fS.ir.ih E Jr~- ;- 

In, Thomas 2: " 

, Senate" Robert ... 



INDEX. 



XI 



PAGE. 

Phillips, Philip 371 

Phillips, Robert W 229 

Phillips, Dr. Thomas G 376 

Piuirott, George 473 

Pirritte, Capt. John 207 

Pirritte. Mrs. Sarah 207 

Plant, George 432 

Plant, William 216 

Playter. Charles P 198 

Playter Family 198 

Playter, John L 640 

Plumb, George 588 

Portch, Mrs. Anne 322 

Portch, James W 321 

Porter, George D., M.D 240 

Powell, Edwin R 381 

Powell Family 534 

Powell, George H 332 

Powell, Henry 486 

Powell, Mrs. Mildred L 381 

Powell. i:i..-h;ml C. 534 

Price. John 295 

Pringle, James 102 

Prince, Mrs. Margaret 102 

Punnett. Richard 557 

Purdon, Mrs. Henrietta 326 

Purdon, Robert A 326 

Purvis, Mrs. Elizabeth 603 

Purvis, George E 603 

Quick, Capt. John 630 

Quick. Mrs. Mary E 630 

Quigley, Lillian 388 

Quigley, Robert J 387 

Quitm, Mrs. Cecelia 658 

Qiiinn. Thomas 658 

Ramsden, John A 190 

i-den. Joseph G 4(<0 

Ranks, H. R 594 

iilV. Mrs. Elizabeth 251 

cliff, Thomas 251 

nore. Mrs. Elizabeth A. ..503 

Raj more, William H. P 502 

Rea, Dr. James 196 

, Mrs. Mary 1 196 

Read, David B., K.C 13 

Ki iid, James 308 

Kend, John B 113 

1. Mrs. Nancy L. 308 

1. Mrs. Roxana B 114 

Reai, Walter J. B 80 

litt Family 329 

1. Charles 209 

Reed. John 280 

Reed, Mrs. Matilda 280 

Reed, Richard 275 

1, Rev. W. L. Baynes 495 

, Hon. David 9 

or, Mrs. Emily 10 

"r Family 75 

Reesor, Henry A 78 

Reford, Lewis 403 

Beford, Mrs. Rosa C 204 

Rcfi.rd, William M 204 

Reid, Alexander 464 

Reid, John Y 60 

Reid, Mrs. Mary A. H Ill 

Reid, Mrs. Mary Y 60 

Reid, Mrs. Naomi 464 

Reid, Rev. William, B.D Ill 

Reikie, Mrs. Marion C 119 

Reikie, Rev. Thomas M. 119 

Rice, Allan B 406 

Rioharclson, Mrs. A. M 121 

Richardson, Francis 272 

Richardson, G. S., D.D.S 504 

Richardson, Mrs. Harriet 273 

Richardson, . ohn 605 



PAGE. 

Richardson, Robert S. 329 

Richardson, Samuel 328 

Richardson. Rev. William 121 

Riddell, Rev. George 578 

Riddell, Mrs. Jeanis 578 

Ridout. Mrs. Alice 155 

Ridout. Mrs. Charlotte B 91 

Ridout, Donald C 1 518 

Ridout, Douglas K 415 

Ridout Family 154 

Ridout, Horace R 661 

Ridout. John 90 

Ridout, John G 339 

Ridout, Mrs. Katharine 519 

Ridout, Mrs. Maggie 519 

Ridout, Thomas 19 

Ridout, Walter 154 

Ritchie, James 572 

Ritchie, James B 669 

Ritchie, John 259 

Ritchie, Mrs. Laurette 670 

Ritchie, Mrs. M. A 572 

Roadhouse Family 163 

Roadhouse, Neria h J 163 

Robb. Charles 665 

Robb, Mrs. Isabella 665 

Robertson, Dr. Hugh, M.R.C.S.577 

Robertson, Mrs. Jane. . 232 

Robertson, Mrs. Jennie 577 

Robertson, John 232 

Robertson, John W 199 

Robertson, Mrs. Mary 199 

Robinette, T. C 530 

Robinson, Rev. Alfred J 196 

Robinson. Mrs. Arabella 417 

Robinson. Arthur 416 

Robinson, Christopher, K.C., 

M.A., D.C.L 2 

Robinson, Mrs. Elizabeth 190 

Robinson Family 2 

Kc-binson, George 370 

Robinson, Mrs. Jane 395 

Robinson, John 526 

Robinson, Mrs. Rachel 278 

Robinson, Mrs. Sarah 370 

Robinson, Thomas 278 

Robinson. William S. 395 

Robson, George 637 

Roe. Albert E 498 

Roe Family 498 

Roger, Mrs. Elizabeth 44 

Roger, Neill 44 

Rogers, Charles, Jr. . 389 

Rogers. David . 389 

Rogers Family 388 

Rogers, W. B 389 

Koeerson, Mrs. E. W 503 

Rogerson, James 503 

Ronald, Mrs. Emma W 193 

Ronald, William TJ. M 193 

Rordans, Mrs. Charlotte 106 

Rordans. Joshua L 106 

Rosar, Frank 296 

I osar, Mrs. Rosalia 297 

Rose, Alexander. . . 594 

Rose. Mrs. Florence M 31(1 

Rose, George MoL 529 

Rose, Mrs. Margaret C. J. L. .530 

Rose, Rev. Samuel, D.D 112 

Rose, Sarah 113 

Rose, Mrs. Sarah 594 

Rose, William M 315 

l!o-c iiberg. Henry 416 

Rosenberg, Mrs. Marion 410 

Mrs. Sarah N 22 

RO S ; . Walter M 21 

Koutledee, Peter 2S4 

Rowntrce. William 525 

Roycc, Josiah R 672 



PAGE. 

UnsM ll, John P., M.D., C.M..662 
Rutherford, Mrs. Catherine . . .253 

Rutherford, Henry 253 

Rutter, Mrs. Catherine 195 

Rutter, Capt. Charles 195 

Ryan, Mrs. Catherine 194 

Ryan, Hugh 42 

Ryan, Miss Isobel M 25 

Ryan, John 25 

Ryan, John T 42 

Ryan, Martin 458 

Ryan, Mrs Sarah 458 

Ryan, William 194 

Ryerson, Charles E., B.A 394 

Ryerson Family 394 

Sage, M. J 559 

Salmon, George ... 107 

Salmon, Mrs. Martha 107 

Sanderson, Mrs. Eliza J 436 

Sanderson, Herbert M., D.D.S..599 

Sanderson, William 436 

Sandham, Emma 215 

Sandham, John 215 

Sankey, Mrs. Anne N 37 

Sankey, -Ma j. Villiers 36 

Savage, Mrs. Mary J 465 

Savage, Dr. Thomas Y 465 

Sawden, Thomas 629 

Scadding, The Rev. Canon H., 

D.D 6 

Scadding, Dr. H. Crawford ... 399 

Scarlett, Edward W 623 

Scarlett, Robert A 625 

Scheibe, Charles 480 

Scheibe, Mrs. Susannah 480 

Schiller, Charles A 632 

Schiller, Mrs. Mary 632 

Scholes, Mrs. Anna J 206 

Scholes, Thomas E 206 

Scott, James 491 

Scott, John 199 

Scott, Katherine S. 200 

Scott, Stuart, M.D 71 

Scott, William T 622 

Secor, Mrs. Elizabeth A 387 

Secor, Carjt. Joseph M 387 

Sefton, Henry F 31 

Shanly, Francis, C.E 7 

Sharps, Mrs. Anire B 403 

Sharpe, Henry F 403 

Sharpley, Charles . . 172 

Shaw, James 429 

Shaw, John 576 

Shelton, Mrs. Emma 198 

Shelton, Thomas Y 197 

Shepard, Mathew 593 

Shepherd, Dr. George . . 291 

Shepherd, Mrs. Mary 292 

Shields, Agnes 262 

Shields, Mrs. Elizabeth A 249 

Shields, Scott 202 

Shields, William R 249 

Shxiter, Albert W 597 

Shuter, Mrs, Hannah 54S 

Shuter, Joseph W 548 

Silver, Mrs. James 442 

Simmers, Hermann 446 

Simmers, J. A 445 

Simmons, John S 649 

Simpson, Mrs. Annie 470 

Simpson, George. 305 

Simpson, Robert 469 

Simpson, Mrs. Sarah J 305 

Sinclair, Daniel A., M.D., M.R. 

C.S.E 185 

Sinclair, P. James 263 

Sinclair, Mrs. Emma 609 

Sinclair, Dr. James A 609 



Xll 



INDEX 



PAGE. 

Sinclair, John 580 

Sinclair, John, Jr 531 

Sinclair, Mrs. Margaret . . . .580 
Sinclair, Mrs. Margaret R. ...532 

Skene, Mrs. Eleanor E 386 

Skene, James W 386 

Slattery, Mrs. Joanna 420 

Slattery, Michael 420 

Slemin, Mrs. Mary 652 

Slemin, Robert. . " 652 

Small, Barbara A 356 

Small, Benjamin 356 

Small, Mrs. Catherine F. 579 

Small, Daniel A 664 

Small Family 3] 

Small, Mrs. Gertrude 664 

Small, John 31 

Small, Dr. John T . . . . 578 

Smith Brothers 311 

Smith, David 656 

Smith, Sir Frank. ... 123 

Smith, Fred W sil 

Smith, George E., B.A., M.B.^BKi 

Smith. Mrs. Hanna 607 

Smith. Mrs. Isabella 609 

Smith, James ( 1830) 615 

Smith, James (1844) 468 

Smith, James L 609 

Smith, J. E. Berkeley .... .. 607 

Smith, Jerry 601 

Smith, John (1851) . "104 

Smith, John (1818) . ^245 

Smith, Louise F. ....... fio9 

Smith, Mrs. Margaret 245 

Smith, Mrs. Margaret W 616 

Smith, Mrs. Polly 469 

Smith, Sidney . . .".311 

Smithson, William J. .. . .... .45?, 
Smuck, J. Wallace. M.D. C M 300 

Smyth, Mrs. Sarah H 621 

Smyth, William A "(521 

Snarr, George 430 

Snarr, Mrs. Harriet 431 

Snell, Arthur E., B.A., M.Tt." 36S 
Somerville, Thomas 251 

Sorley, Mrs. Edith G. , ",Ivj 

Sorley, Jamc-s T! 65" 

Sparrow, George 671 

Sparrow, Joseph W. ..... 405 

Sparrow, Mrs. Mary A. . 671 

Spears, James V. . . " 307 

Spence, Mrs. Ellen ... " S8 6 
Spence, <,v<>r<rr s . 5gg 

Spiller, George .... . . . . . .".".ym 

Spragge, Arthur . M 5.5 

Spragge, Mrs. Ellen E. i . 10 56 
Sproule, Robert K.. B 4 402 

Srifrjey. Mrs. Margaret J. . 147 
Sngley, Dr. Nelson V 147 

Starr, Charles . 2 ^ 

Starr. Frederic N. G., M.B. . . . 655 

fitarr. Mordecai F 289 

St. Croix. William De 394 

Steele, Mrs. Harriet 9(M 

Steele, John S. .. 203 

Stephens, John . . "549 

Stephens, William F . .\\9tt 

^tepnenson. Joseph ooc 

Steward. Mrs. Lucv 

Steward. William R i^ 

i tewar * A / A., D.D.s: :::::: 5 96 

Stewart, Mrs. Georgianna . ..107 

Stewart, Mrs. Helen .. 474 

Stewart, Mrs. Isabella M. "551 
Stewart, James . 

Stewart, John . US 
Stewart, John H 

, Stewart, William H . . "ioe 

enry E 573 




PAGE. 

Stiles, Mrs. Mary 1 573 

Stitt, Gladys E. S 582 

Stitt, William 582 

Stobo, Mrs. Margaret A 291 

Stobo, Lieut. Robert H 291 

Stock, Agnes 493 

Stock, Edward 492 

Stock, Miss Elizabeth 493 

Stokes, Mrs. Eliza 339 

Stokes, James C 339 

Stone, Daniel 523 

Stoncham, Mrs. Elizabeth J. . . 324 

Sloneham, William H 324 

Storm, Annie E 208 

Storm, Thomas 208 

Sliader, John .635 

Strange, Mrs. Elizabeth 479 

Strange, George W 478 

Strathy, Mrs. Agnes S 525 

Strathy, Mrs. Elvira 240 

Strathy, James B 240 

Strathy, John A 525 

Strong, Mrs. Sarah A 583 

Strong, William G. 583 

Stuart. Charles J 315 

Stuart, Mrs. Henrietta 315 

Sullivan, Mrs. Henrietta 6, 30 

Sullivan. Robert, M.A 29 

Sullivan, Robert B 29 

Summerville, Hugh 255 

Summerville, Mrs. Mary 255 

Sutcliffe, Mrs. Charlotte H. ...355 

Sutcliffe, Joseph 354 

Sutherland, Catherine 568 

Sutherland, Donald 568 

Swain, Mrs. Annie E 128 

Swain, Richard 128 

Swales, Charles 492 

Swales, Mrs. Hannah 492 

Sweeney, Dr. Daniel J 591 

Switzer. J. A. E 373 

Syki-s, James 443 

Syki s, Samuel 236 

Sykes, Mrs. Sarah 443 

Svkes. W. J 391 

Sylvester, Mrs. Rebecca 547 

Sylvester, William 547 

Symons, Mrs. Isabel . . . . 12 

Symons, John 12 



Tait, Joseph 195 

Tasker, Mrs. Ann 237 

Tasker, Henry 037 

Taylor, Mrs. Annie 367 

Taylor, Charles W 2 2 o 

Taylor, George 366 

Taylor, Mrs. Helen 393 

Taylor, Mrs. Henrietta V 480 

Taylor, Henry A 441 

Taylor, James H 350 

Taylor, Mrs. Jane 453 

Taylor, John A 392 

Taylor, Mrs. Pauline 221 

Taylor, Thomas B 480 

Teasdale, Anthony 536 

Teasdale, Mrs. Marion 536 

Tebbs, Mrs. Alice 606 

Tebbs, Theodore H 606 

Telfer, Mrs. Agnes 160 

Telfer, Andrew 160 

Tennant, Mrs. Agnes 242 

Tennant, David 2< 2 

Terry, Mrs. Christine .17</ 

Terry, Edward 

Thayer, Frederick A 364 

Thayer, Mrs. Mary A . . ^365 

Thomas, George ; 449 

Thomas, Mrs. Rebecca . , ....449 



PAGE. 

Thomas, Mrs. Sarah A. (widow 

of William J.) 105 

Thomas, Mrs. Sarah A. (widow 

of William) 252 

Thomas, W 7 illiam 252 

Thomas, William J 105 

Thompson, John 431 

Thompson, Col. John T 657 

Thomnson, Robert 482 

Thompson, Thomas 97 

Thomson, W. Colborne 642 

Thome, William H 993 

Todd, J. A., M.D 187 

Tolhurst, William 487 

Tomlin, George 320 

Tomlinson, Joseph 449 

Tompkins, William 640 

Toms, Mrs. Annie E 467 

Toms, Frederick 466 

Toplis, Charles S. C 404 

Toplis, Mrs. Eliza A 404 

Topp, Mrs. Marv E 101 

Topn. Dr. Richard TJ 101 

Torrance, Mrs. B. M ..565 

Torrance, J. A 564 

Torrington, Dr. F. H 109 

Townsley, George H 443 

Townsley, George S 575 

Townsley, Mrs. Martha 576 

Toye, Benjamin . 436 

Trench, George 321 

Trench, Mrs. Mary E 321 

Trenor, Daniel 252 

Trenor, Margaret 252 

Trenor, Maria 125 

Trenor, Peter 125 

Trenor, Rose 252 

Trent, Edward 365 

Trent, Helena 366 

Tressider, James J 194 

Tressider, Mrs. Sarah 194 

Trimble, James 574 

Trimble, Mrs. Matilda 574 

Trolley, George 419 

Turner, Andrew H. 247 

Turner Family . . . 22 

Turner, Frank E. P 22 

Turner, Mrs. Mary 248 

Turp, Charles 636 

Tyrwhitt, Mrs. Emma 72 

Tyrwhitt, Col. Richard, M.P. . . 72 

Ulbrich, Charles 470 

Underwood, Mrs. Chestina W. .582 

Underwood. James E 582 

Usher, Mrs. Elizabeth 85 

Usher, John E 85 

Vallary, Mrs. Agnes 419 

Valla ry, Francis 418 

Van Camp, J. C .590 

Van Zant Family 327 

Van Zant. Garratt R 327 

Vercoe, Henry L., M.D 95 

Vercoe, Mrs. Phoebe 95 

Verrall, Mrs. Clara T 93 

Wadsworth, Maj. Charles . . .237 

Wagg, John . . . . 666 

Wagstaff, Albert H 524 

Wagstaff, David 471 

Walker, Mrs. Agnes 239 

Walker, Mrs. Emily. 298 

Walker, John . . . . . 297 

Walker, John W 239 

Walker, Lewis L 464 

Walker, Robert 207 

\Valker, Mrs. Sarah 

Walker, Mrs. Sarah E 404 



INDEX. 



Xlll 



PAGE. 

Walker, Stewart 671 

Wallace, John . . 5S 

Wallace, Mrs. Letitia 584 

Wahnsley, Thomas 5 

Walters, W. R., M.B 604 

Walton, Jacob 127 

Walton, Jesse M. 12 

Ward, Alfred 345 

Ward, Alfred R. 284 

Ward. Charles H 637 

Ward, Mrs. Elizabeth J 34 

Ward Family 636 

Ward, George 63 

Ward, Mrs. Mary A 427 

Ward, Thomas 427 

Warne, Edward S. 587 

Warne, Mrs. Elizabeth A 587 

\\ arnica, Mrs. Annie Z 303 

W arnica, Samuel W 303 

Waters, Alfred 413 

Waters. Alfred G 300 

Waters, Mrs. Anna 300 

Waters, H 413 

Watson, Albert D., M.D 151 

Watson, James 314 

Watson, Mrs. Jane 544 

Watson, Sergt.-Maj. John . ...544 

Watson, Mrs. Sarah 314 

Watt, Dr. Thomas H 009 

Webb. Alfred, M.D 532 

Webber, Augustus 380 

Webber, Mrs. Eliza 380 

Webber, John 651 

Webster. T. Shaw, M.D 108 

Wells Families 334, 454 

Wells, Henry G 454 

Wells, James 221 

Wells, Josephine, D.D.S 161 

Wells, Richard 334 

Wenman, Charles 585 

Wesley, J. H., M.D. 337 

West, John 330 

West, Mrs. Marion 331 

Westwood, John 553 

Whale. Mrs. Arta 664 

Whale. Charles C. 664 

Whaley, John McL 634 

Wlmrin. William 143 

Wliitcombe. Mrs. Mary 644 

Wl itcombe. William 644 

White. Mrs. Annie G. H 45 



PAGE. 

White, Dr. John E 45 

Whitehouse, Nathaniel 11 

Whitehouse, Mrs. Sarah 11 

Whittemore, Mrs. Anna L. 34 

Whittemore, Ezekiel F. 34 

Whittemore Family 34 

Whittemore, Francis B 343 

Wickens, Richard 14 

Widdifield, A. E 379 

Widdifield Families 16, 379 

Widdifleld, Joseph H., M.D., 

M.P.P 1 

Widdifield, William C., B.A. ..29 

Widdifield, W. H 336 

Wilds, Mrs. Johanna 19 

Wilds, Thomas 191 

Wiley, James W 61( 

Wiley, Mrs. Susannah 616 

Wilkie, Thomas J. . 123 

Willard, Dr. E. F 598 

Willard Family . 172 

Willard, James C 173 

Willard, Dr. W. T 173 

Willcock, Mrs. Charlotte ....569 

Willcock, Mark. . 569 

Willeock, Samuel J 253 

Willcock, Stephen 617 

Wiilcocks, Mrs. Annie 103 

Willcocks, Dr. George 103 

Williams, Angus S 18 

\\ i.liums. Mrs. Annie 157 

Williams, Benjamin 497 

Williams, George 62 

Williams, .H. H 670 

Williams, Richard S. (1834).. 46 
Williams, Richard S. (1874).. 08 

Williams, Robert . . 349 

Williams, Mrs. Sarah 46 

Willson, Charles R 398 

Willson, Mrs. Margaret 398 

Wilson, Hon. Sir Adam 140 

Wilson, Mrs. Adelaide E 512 

Wilson, Col. Augustus N 512 

Wilson, Jacob . . 633 

Wilson, James 641 

Wilson, John 1 638 

Wilson, Johnson 464 

Wilson, J. Wellington ">l-2 

Wilson, Lady 142 

Wilson, Mrs! Lillie 633 

Wilson, Mrs. Louisa 556 



PAGE. 

Wilson. Mrs. Minnie 464 

Wilson, Mrs. Rachel 638 

Wilson. Capt. William 556 

Wilson, Dr. W. J 38 

Windrum, Mrs. Sarah B. . ..49( 

Winn, Mrs. Charlotte E 397 

Winn, Dr. Theophilus B 396 

Winslow, Albert 19 

Winslow, Mrs. Mina E 198 

Winstanley, Charles J. H 362 

Winstanley Family 362 

Wishart, Dr. David J. G 340 

Withrow Family. .. 30 

Withrow, Rev. William H., 

M.A., D.D., F.R.S.C. 30 

Wood, Dr. Isabella S. 398 

Wood, John 51 

Wood, J. R 2 " 

W T ood, Mrs. Mary A 51 

Wood, William R. 299 

Woodcock, T. J 217 

Woods, Mrs. Emma L -276 

Woods. Thomas 276 

Woodsworth, Rev. Richard W..657 

Woolley. Mrs. Sarah 573 

Woolley, Thomas 572 

Worthington, Mrs. Caroline ... 87 

Worthington. James 87 

Wreggitt, James 19 

Wreggitt, Mrs. Rachel . . 193 

Wright, Mrs. Annie 555 

Wright. Charles F 459 

Wright, Edwin B 165 

Wright. Mrs. Fannie R 664 

Wright. George W. V 664 

Wright, James 407 

Wright, Mrs. Jane 407 

Wright, Jesse G 357 

Wright. John (1847) 555 

Wright, John ( 1836 ) 556 

Wright, Mrs. Mary A 557 

Wright, Thomas P 545 

Yates, Mrs. Lillie 646 

Young. Mrs. Annie 3 

Young, Archibald 72 

Young. Mrs. Eliza J 304 

Young. Mrs. Isabelle 427 

Young, James W 427 

Young, John 303 

Zimmerman, E. R., D.D.S 641 



BIOGRAPHICAL. 




ON. JOHN MACDONALD was 
widely known as the merchant 
prince of Canada, and his 
death, which occurred in 1890, 
removed from Toronto one of 
her most honored and highly 
esteemed citizens. He was born 
in Perthshire. Scotland, in December, 1824, son 
of John and Elizabeth (Nielson) Macdonald. 
of Aberdeen, Scotland, the former of whom 
came to Canada with the Ninety-third High 
landers. 

The Hon. Mr. Macdonald was but a mere 
lad when he came to British America, and he 
received his education at Dalhousie College, 
Halifax, and the Bay Street Academy, Toronto. 
After leaving school he served two years as a 
clerk with William Macdonald, and then re 
turned to Toronto and entered the mercantile 
house of Walter McFarlane, on King street 
east. In 1847 he went to Jamaica in search of 
a climate better suited to his health, and there 
he remained one year, returning to Toronto in 
1849, and in September of that year he opened 
a retail dry goods store at No. 103 Yonge 
street, which he operated three years, and then 
engaged in the Avholesale dry goods business 
on Wellington street, opposite the modern firm 
of John Macdonald & Co., meeting with excel 
lent success in all his ventures. Early in his 
career he became known as the merchant prince 
of Canada, and the firm of John Macdonald & 
Co., Ltd., of which he was the founder and exe 
cutive head, is known in every city and hamlet 
in the Dominion. 

In spite of his active interest in the mercan 
tile world, Mr. Macdonald found time for an 
equally active participation in public affairs. 
As an independent Liberal he was opposed to 
the confederation of the Provinces, to com 
mercial union with the United States, and to 
the national policy. In 1861 he was elected a 
member of the Legislative Assembly, and he 
held his seat until confederation. In 1875 he 
was returned to Parliament for Centre Toron 
to, and in 1887 he was raised to the Senate by 
the advice of his political opponent Sir John 
A. Macdonald. He took great interest in edu- 
1 



cational matters, and for a number of years 
was a member of the Toronto University Sen 
ate and of the high school board. In his reli 
gious belief he was a Methodist, and he was 
long a member of the executive committee of 
the church and treasurer of the missionary so 
ciety. He was twice president of the Young 
Men s Christian Association Conference of On 
tario and Quebec, and he took a pronounced 
interest- in the work of the Evangelical Alli 
ance, the Bible Society, the Temperance organ 
ization, and the Toronto Hospital, giving to the 
last named institution $40,000. Mr. Macdon 
ald wrote two very interesting brochures, 
one of which, "Business Success," which was 
formerly a lecture, was a practical address to 
the young men of his Avarehouse. His career 
is a striking instance of what energy and per 
severance combined with integrity and upright 
ness may accomplish for a young man just 
starting upon life s battle. 

On Aug. 14, 1857, Mr. Macdonald was mar 
ried to Miss Annie Alcorn, born in Quebec, 
Feb. 28, 1833, daughter of the late Samuel Al 
corn, who for many years was a wholesale 
china and glass merchant of Quebec. To this 
union were born the following children: John, 
since his father s death president of John 
Macdonald & Co., Ltd.; J. Fraser; Duncan 
McG., vice-president of the company; Annie 
E., Mrs. Mont Gomerie Lewis, of Toronto; 
Marion L., Mrs. James Morrow, of Halifax; 
Lucy E., Mrs. Dr. James Grant, of Victoria, 
B.C.; Alexander, for some time master of lan 
guages in Upper Canada College; Winnifred 
J., Mrs. H. G. Barrie, of China, where her hus 
band is missionary ; Ethel A., Mrs. David Mc- 
Killop, missionary to Jamaica; and Arthur N., 
unmarried, of the North-West Territory. 

The following words from* Longfellow may 
be fittingly applied to the life of Senator Mac 
donald : 

If a star were quenched on high, 

For ages would its light 
Still tending downward from the sky 

Shine on our mortal sight; 
So when a great man dies 

For years beyond our ken 
The light he leaves behind him 

Shines on the paths of men. 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



CHRISTOPHER ROBINSON, K.C., M.A., 
D.C.L., late of Toronto, was the unquestioned 
leader of the Canadian Bar for many years 
before his death, which occurred Oct. 31, 1905. 
He was a member of a prominent pioneer fam 
ily of the County of York, being a son of the 
late Sir John Beverley Robinson, Baronet, 
Chief Justice of Upper Canada, a grandson of 
Christopher Robinson, Esq., and a descendant 
of Christopher Robinson, Esq., of Cleasby, 
Yorkshire, England. 

Christopher Robinson, Esq., crossed to Amer 
ica in the reign of Charles II., as military sec 
retary to Sir William Berkeley, governor of 
Virginia, and he himself became, later, gover 
nor of that colony. His second son, John Rob 
inson, became president of the Council of Vir 
ginia, and one of the latter s descendants, 
Christopher Robinson, was the grandfather of 
the subject of this sketch. During the Ameri 
can Revolution, at the age of seventeen years, 
he left college, obtained a commission as en 
sign in Col. Simcoe s regiment of Queen s Ran 
gers, which formed a part of Sir Henry Clin 
ton s army, and served in that regiment till 
1783, when, with many other Loyalists, he mi 
grated to New Brunswick. While there he 
married Esther, daughter of Rev. John Sayre. 
Later Mr. Robinson removed to Upper Can 
ada, first settling in Kingston, where he re- 
maine.d six years, during which period, in 1797, 
he was called to the Bar. In 1798 Mr. Robin 
son removed with his family to Toronto, which 
was then the town of York, and he died Nov. 
2nd of that year. He was elected a member of 
the first Parliament of Upper Canada, repre 
senting Lennox and Addington. 

John Beverley Robinson, his son, was born 
July 26, 1791, receive.d his education under 
Dr. Strachan, and entered as a student of law 
in 1808, studying under the direction of Attor 
ney-General McDonell, who was killed at the 
Battle of Queenston Heights, Oct. 13, 1812. He 
was twice elected treasurer of the Law Society 
-1818-1821 and 1828-29. While still a stu 
dent in 1812 he entered the militia service in 
defence of the Crown, and served as lieutenant 
in the York militia, being present at the capitu 
lation of Fort Detroit and the surrender of 
Brigadier-General Hull, and at the battle of 
Queenston Heights, and he was one of those 
who escorted the American prisoners to King 
ston on their way to Quebec. On returning 
from his country s service, and before being 
actually called to the Bar, Mr. Robinson was 
appointed acting attorney general for Upper 
Canada, Nov. 19, 1812. He was called to the 
Bar in November, 1812. In 1815 he became 
solicitor general, and in 1817 was permanently 



appointed attorney general. In 1821 he enter 
ed the House of Assembly of Upper Canada, as 
a member for the town of York, and served in 
that body until Jan. 1, 1830, when he was sum 
moned to the Legislative Council, of which he 
was appointed speaker, Jan. 2, 1830. On his 
retirement from political life in July, 1829, he 
was appointed to the position of Chief Justice 
of the Queen s Bench, and it was in 1838 that 
he passed the sentence of capital punishment 
on William Lount and Peter Matthews for high 
treason. In 1850 Sir John Robinson was ga 
zetted as Companion of the Bath of the United 
Kingdom, and in 1854 was made a Baronet. In 
1856 the University of Oxford conferred upon 
him the degree of D.C.L. Retiring from the 
Queen s Bench in 1862, he was appointed pre 
siding judge of the Court of Appeals on 
March 18th of that year and held the position 
until his death, which occurred Jan. 31, 1863, 
in Toronto. 

Sir John Beverley Robinson was married in 
England in 1817, to Miss Emma Walker, of 
England, by whom he had eight children, four 
sons and four daughters, Christopher being 
the sixth child and third son in the family. 

Christopher Robinson was born in Toronto 
Jan. 21, 1828, at Beverley House, where the 
family have resided since 1817. He received 
his early education at Upper Canada College, 
and took his degree at King s College, now the 
University of Toronto, after which he took up 
the study of law, and in Trinity term, 1850, 
was called to the Bar of Upper Canada, From 
1850 to 1852 he travelled in Europe, and re 
turning to Toronto in the latter year, he at 
once entered upon the practice of his profes 
sion, which he followed continuously until his 
death, a period covering more than half a cen 
tury. In 1866 he formed a partnership with 
Mr. Henry O Brien, K.C., and this association 
continued throughout his life. On March 27, 
1863, Mr. Robinson was made a Q.C. He was 
standing counsel for the city from 1868. In 
1856 he became reporter of the Court of 
Queen s Bench, serving as such until 1872, 
when he became the editor of the Ontario Law 
Reports. He resigned from the latter posi 
tion in 1885, when he was appointed a Bencher 
of the Law Society, remaining in that incum 
bency the rest of his life. In 1880, with the 
assistance of the late Frank J. Joseph, he com 
pleted the preparation of a digest of all the 
cases contained in the Ontario Reports from 
their commencement, in 1822 "a work of im 
mense labor and invaluable to the profession." 
Such is a brief resume of the main facts in an 
unusually brilliant legal career. Regarding the 
particulars of that career, we can not do bet- 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



ter than quote from a memorial published in 
the Canada Law Journal, edited by his close 
friend and associate Mr. Henry O Brien. 

"As was the fashion in those days, men de 
voted themselves to special circuits, and Mr. 
Robinson chose the Western as his special field. 
The leaders of this circuit were at that time 
John Wilson, Q.C., H. C. R. Beecher, Q.C., Al 
bert Prince, Q.C., and others. After the ele 
vation of Mr. Wilson to the Bench, Christopher 
Robinson took the leading place, being en 
gaged in nearly every case. Gradually, how 
ever, as his reputation increased, he devoted 
himself more and more to special work, his 
briefs being now largely confined to the Court 
of Appeal, the Supreme Court and the Privy 
Council ; the rest of his time being occupied in 
the preparation of opinions on important mat 
ters. 

Acknowledged leader of the Bar of his own 
Province of Ontario, we think we may safely 
say that he occupied the same position in refer 
ence to the Dominion. As such he was engaged 
in some of the most interesting and important 
legal events which have taken place in this 
country during the past thirty years. His re 
putation is also recognized in connection with 
many important interests affecting the Empire 
at large. 

"Mr. Robinson was in various important 
matters the confidential counsellor of the Gov 
ernment of Canada, and the trusted representa 
tive of its interests in the great international 
questions hereafter -referred to. His grasp of 
the subject and lucid and skilful presentation 
of the arguments in these matters were the ad 
miration of all concerned. 

"It will now be of interest to refer to some 
of the most important cases of a public char 
acter in which he was engaged. 

"In 1868 the country was shocked by the 
death of one of the brilliant men of the day, 
the Hon. Thomas D Arcy McGee, at the hands 
of his assassin. Whelan. who, being convicted 
of the murder, applied for a writ of error. Mr. 
Robinson s successful argument for the Crown 
in that case was a masterly effort, and was in 
dicative of his minute and thorough familiarity 
with criminal law. 

"In 1875 party politics ran high, and out of 
this ferment grew the famous political suit of 
the Queen vs. Wilkinson, the defendant being 
the editor of a newspaper in which the serious 
charge of political intriguing was made against 
Senator Simpson in connection with what was 
known as the Bi<r Push letter. In connec 
tion with this the Hon. George Brown made a 
violent attack in the Globe newspaper upon the 
late Chief Justice Adam Wilson, then a puisne 



judge of the Queen s Bench. An application 
was thereupon made on behalf of Wilkinson, 
to commit Mr. Brown for contempt of court. 
Mr. Robinson and Mr. Henry O Brien were 
counsel for the applicant, Mr. Brown conduct 
ing his defence in person with his usual force 
and courage, but repeating and emphasizing 
and seeking to justify the libellous charges 
made in his paper. The court was composed 
of Chief Justice Harrison and Mr. Justice Mor 
rison, Mr. Justice Wilson taking no part. The 
language used by Mr. Brown was held to be a 
reckless and unjustifiable attack on a judge of 
the court and a contempt of court; but, as the 
judges who heard the case were divided in 
opinion as to the action to be taken, the rule 
was dropped. Mr. Robinson s magnificent 
speech on this occasion will not be forgotten 
by those who heard it. 

"In 1884 Mr. Robinson was counsel for the 
Dominion Government in the arbitration with 
Manitoba respecting the boundaries of that 
Province, arguing the case- before the Judicial 
Committee of the Privy Council. In the next 
year he had a more serious task in connection 
with the North-West Rebellion, as senior coun 
sel for the Crown, in the prosecution of Louis 
Riel for high treason, which resulted in the 
conviction and execution of that noted rebel. 
There was an appeal from the verdict to the 
Court of Queen s Bench of Manitoba. The ver 
dict was sustained, and a subsequent appeal to 
the Privy Council met the same fate. 

"The most famous matters of Imperial in 
terest in which he has been engaged were the 
Behring Sea Arbitration and the Alaska Boun 
dary dispute. In the former, in 1893, he repre 
sented the Dominion Government before the 
arbitrators at Paris, his colleagues being Sir 
Richard Webster, now Lord Alverstone, and 
Sir Charles Russell, afterwards Chief Justice 
of England. Amid the array of talent in this 
important international arbitration, not the 
least conspicuous figure was that of Mr. Chris 
topher Robinson. The London Times refers in 
complimentary terms to his brilliant speech at 
the conclusion of the argument, in which he 
summarized the whole case, reducing it to a 
series of concise propositions, which, from the 
British point of view, demonstrated the absur 
dity of the American claims. For his services 
in this case the learned counsel was offered 
knighthood, which, however, for private rea 
sons, he declined. That he might have occu 
pied, had he so desired, the highest judicial 
position in Canada goes without saying. 

In his last great case, the Alaska Boundary 
dispute, he was on the same side with the great 
leaders of the Bar in England, and pitted 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



against the most brilliant advocates of the 
United States. The intellectual gifts of Mr. 
Robinson and his luminous masterly presenta 
tion of the British case evoked the highest 
praises as well from the members of the Com 
mission as from his opponents and his con 
freres. It is unnecessary to speak of the many 
minor cases that were also intrusted to him. 
Suffice it to say that the same thoroughness 
was given to them, and he never failed to win 
distinction in all he undertook. 

"The only public position which Mr. Robin 
son could be induced to accept was the Chan 
cellorship of the University of Trinity Col 
lege. In that capacity he urged and, through 
his influence, accomplished the broad-minded 
policy of federation with the University of 
Toronto. As has been said by a leading daily 
journal, How much his unique character and 
influence contributed to this apparently impos 
sible accomplishment can scarcely be over esti 
mated. The feeling was that whatever so wise, 
so disinterested and so sure a counsellor ad 
vised was something that could safely be done. 
"A great lawyer, a good man and a true 
friend he has gone from among us ; and those 
who were his associates at the Bar and in pri 
vate life seem, day by day, to miss him more 
and more. But no one of his character and 
gifts could live in vain. His name, and that of 
his distinguished father, of whom he was a 
worthy son, shed lustre on the pages of Can 
adian history, and his memory will long live 
and be cherished by all true Canadians." 

As to Mr. Robinson s personal character, it 
may be judged from the statement of one fact 
that although he was a leader among leaders 
he aroused no jealousies. In this he was in 
deed unique, but it was undoubtedly due in a 
great degree to his modesty and lack of osten 
tation, for although he was one of the greatest 
and most popular men of his day he never as 
sumed privileges because of such distinction. 
In his home and among his friends he was be 
loved of all for his gentleness and unselfishness, 
and the high sense of honor which character 
ized him in all the relations of social or do 
mestic life, and it has been truly said of him, 
"Every one who knew him was the better for 
being brought into contact with him." Though 
of inflexible integrity, and firm in his stand on 
questions of right, he never forced his convic 
tions upon others, or made himself an offensive 
partisan. He could fight for what he consider 
ed a worthy cause, but he. usually prevailed by 
the force of sound judgment and a personality 
that won its own way into the hearts and minds 
of men. His record for absolute fairness was 
so well established that his decisions were usu 



ally sustained on appeal. As a counsellor he 
was invaluable because he had the gift of see 
ing a question from both sides and applying 
his legal knowledge accordingly. In fact his 
astuteness in judging the position of his op 
ponents amounted almost to intuition. He was 
not only learned, but practical, and his advice 
frequently prevented tiresome and expensive 
litigation. His sense of justice was so keen 
that he not only argued his own side of a case 
to the best of his ability but gave to the other 
side every reasonable advantage, relying on the 
merits of his case to win, with results that jus 
tified his course. To quote again from the me 
morial previously mentioned: 

"Other features of his character have often 
been spoken of and might be enlarged upon : a 
marked absence of prejudice, so that he seemed 
to approach a subject with an open and unbias 
ed mind, judging it on its merits and in its 
relation to all attendant circumstances. In 
business matters he was thorough, accurate, 
and gave close attention to details. These val 
uable qualities, combined as they were with 
great intellectual gifts and a well recognized 
conciseness and clearness of expression, gave 
him a commanding position in his profession. 
His mental and physical activity, and his inter 
est in and clear memory of, passing events, was 
unimpaired by advancing years; and he con 
tinued to the end the same bright, cheery com 
panion and warm personal friend he had always 
been. So swift and unexpected was his pass 
ing that although he had attained the ripe age 
of seventy-seven years and was literally speak 
ing in harness till within a week of his death, 
the remembrance of him will remain with us 
as of one who retained to the last in a marked 
degree the freshness and vigor of youth." 

Mr. Robinson died at Beverley House Oct. 
31, 1905, in his seventy-eighth year. The fun 
eral services, held at the Cathedral Church of 
St. James, were attended by the largest gath 
ering ever seen at the obsequies of a private 
citizen in Toronto. He was buried in St. James 
Cemetery. At the opening of the Divisional 
Court of the High Court of Justice of Ontario 
at Toronto, the day after Mr. Robinson s death. 
Hon. Chief Justice Falconbridge, the presiding 
judge, made the unusual departure of paying 
him a tribute in a brief but eloquent speech. At 
a special meeting of the council of the corpor 
ation of the city of Toronto, held for the pur 
pose, Nov. 3, 1905, resolutions of sympathy and 
respect were passed by that body. The Can 
adian Churchman expressed the loss sustained 
by the Church of England and by Trinity Col 
lege in an eulogistic article. 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



On July 2 1879, Mr. Robinson married Eliza 
beth, eldest daughter of the Hon. J. B. Plumb, 
of Niagara, at one time Speaker of the Senate, 
and of this union were born four children, a 
of whom survive: Christopher Charles, John 
Beverley, Duncan Strachan, and a daughter, 
Christobel. The family are connected with the 
Anglican Church. Mr. Robinson was a Con 
servative by birth and conviction. 

SIR OLIVER MOWAT. Among the many 
distinguished men who have passed away after 
having been prominently identified with On 
tario s interests for a more or less extended 
period, there can be found no name more hon 
ored nor personality more revered, than that 
of the late Sir Oliver Mowat, late Lieutenant- 
Governor of Ontario, the beloved Liberal 
Premier. 

Every incident of so respected and admired 
a statesman holds a measure of interest for those 
who enjoyed his beneficent government for so 
long, and to do justice to a life .and character 
like. his. the historian, who preserves the annals 
of history, must, while telling Ontario s story, 
repeat that of Sir Oliver Mowat, who for twen 
ty-four years was so indissolubly linked with 
it as Premier. 



Sir Oliver Mowat was born at Kingston, July 
22, 1820, son of John and Helen (Levack) Mo 
wat. The father was of the Mowats of Caith 
ness-shire, Scotland, and was a soldier who had 
seen service under Wellington. His wife was 
also of Caithness. They were married June 16, 
1819, in Montreal, by Rev. John Somerville, 
Presbyterian minister, driving to Kingston for 
their wedding trip, where the husband had set 
tled. Oliver was the eldest of their five chil 
dren and evidently the parents recognized his 
superior mental equipments, for they gave him 
excellent educational advantages at private 
schools, and he made such progress that by the 
time he was seventeen years of age, he was 
ready to enter upon the study of law. His pre 
ceptor was a former schoolmate, who was five 
years his senior, Hon. John A. Macdonald. 
While a student here the country was con 
vulsed by the Mackenzie Rebellion, and with 
boyish enthusiasm he was anxious to partici 
pate thus early in public affairs of moment. 
After almost four years of study at Kingston, 
Mr. Mowat completed his course at Toronto, 
and was called to the Bar in 1841, forming a 
partnership with his latest preceptor, Robert 
E. Burns, to which partnership other distin 
guished attorneys were admitted and subse 
quent changes made, but each year saw the 
persistent, industrious, level-headed student 



still farther ahead and nearer to the goal ^of 
Queen s Counsel, which he attained Jan. 5, 1856. 

From 1856 to 1859, Mr. Mowat served on 
the commission appointed by Sir John A. Mac 
donald to consolidate the public general sta 
tutes of Canada and Upper Canada, respective 
ly, and he was also, at a subsequent period, a 
commissioner for the consolidation of the sta 
tutes of Ontario. 

Admirably had he so far guided his political 
career, but after 1856 it became of much more 
importance. In this year he was elected an 
alderman in the city of Toronto, in 1857 he 
was a train elected to civic office, and about the 
same time he was elected a member of the 
House of Assembly for South Ontario. His im 
portance continued to grow, and in 1858 he 
was made Provincial Secretary to the Brown- 
Dorian Administration after the fall of the 
Macdonald-Cartier Government. In 1861 he 
was re-elected for South Ontario ; in 1863, on the 
formation of the Sandfield Macdonald-Dorian 
Government, he was taken into the Cabinet as 
Postmaster-General, a position he continued to 
hold until the defeat of that Government. 

In the coalition government then formed by 
Sir E. P. Tache, he filled the same office from 
June to November, 1864, when he was appoint 
ed Vice-Chancellor of Upper Canada and re 
tired to the Bench temporarily from the scene 
of active politics. His services on the Bench 
were no less notable than his labors as a min 
ister of the Crown. As a Judge he was grate 
ful both to the public and to the Bar, and he 
acquitted himself with efficiency in every case 
which came within his jurisdiction, and gain 
ed the reputation of being an ideal equity 
judge. 



Judge Mowat left the Bench in 1872, and 
then, according to the opinion of his fellow 
countrymen, began the greatest period of his 
public career. It is nqt the province of this 
sketch to review the political situation which 
brought about the acceptance, of the high posi 
tion which Judge Mowat adorned for the suc 
ceeding quarter century, sufficient to say that 
on the 25th of October, 1872, as Premier, he 
formed a new Cabinet and took the post of At 
torney General, which he held until his retire 
ment in 1896. In November, 1872, he sought 
a seat in the Legislature from North Oxford, 
and was returned unopposed, and this seat he 
also continued to represent as long as he re 
mained in the Provincial field. His political 
career from this time forward was one of con 
tinued success, but it was won by many hard 
fought battles with capable opponents. 



6 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



In addition to the political and other honors 
which the late Lieutenant-Governor enjoyed, 
he was associated with a large number of so 
cieties and institutions. Formerly he was pre 
sident of the Canadian Institute; president of 
the Evangelical Alliance of Ontario; and vice- 
president of the Upper Canada Bible Society. 
In 1897 he was elected honorable president of 
the Canadian Bar Association. For many 
years he was an active member of St. James 
Square Presbyterian Church. In some way he 
found time, in the intervals of his busy life, to 
reflect on such serious matters as to bring forth 
treatises on "Evidences of Christianity," and 
"Christianity and Some of its Fruits." From 
Queen s University in 1872 he received the 
honorary degree of LL.D., and from Toronto 
University in 1889. In 1887 he presided over 
the Quebec Interprovincial Conference, and in 
1893 over the great Liberal Convention at Ot 
tawa. 

In recognition of his eminent public services, 
in 1892 Queen Victoria created him a Knight 
Commander of the most distinguished Order 
of St. Michael and St. George, and in 1897, at 
the Queen s Diamond Jubilee, he was promoted 
to be a Knight Grand Cross of the same order. 
In 1846 Sir Oliver Mowat was married to 
Jane, second daughter of the late John Ewart, 
of Toronto. In her he found a devoted, sympa 
thetic and appreciative companion. She died, 
after a long illness, March 13, 1893. Five chil 
dren survive, namely : Frederick, Sheriff of To 
ronto ; Arthur, of Edmonton, Alberta ; and Mrs. 
C. R. W. Biggar, Mrs. Thomas Langton, and 
Miss Mowat, all of Toronto. 

Sir Oliver s younger brother, the late Rev. 
J. B. Mowat, of Queen s University, died in 
1900. H. M. Mowat, K.C., Toronto, and J. 
Macdonald Mowat, Kingston, are nephews. 
Another brother of Sir Oliver, George Mowat, 
a law practitioner with the late Sir Alexander 
Campbell, died in 1871, and a son of the lat 
ter, Joseph Mowat, is of the License Depart 
ment, Parliament building. Of Sir Oliver s 
sisters, Mrs. John Fraser lives at Ottawa, the 
mothe.r of George L. B. Fraser, C.S.O., of the 
Department of Justice. Sir Oliver s other sis 
ter, Mrs. Duff, i s widow of the late Lieut-Col. 
Duff, of Kingston, and her sons are: Capt. 
George M. Duff, R.E., now in India; Surgeon 
Lieut.-Col. H. R. Duff, Kingston; and J. M. 
Duff, bank manager, Guelph. 

After almost twenty-four years of continu 
ous service as Premier of the Province, Sir Oli 
ver Mowat severed his connection with the On 
tario Government, and accepted the invitation 
of Sir Wilfrid Laurier to .join him in the Fed 
eral field, and became Minister of Justice in 



the Laurier Cabinet. He remained, however, 
but little more than a year in Federal politics. 
In November, 1897, the Lieutenant-Governor 
ship becoming vacant, on the 18th of that 
month, Sir Oliver Mowat was appointed to that 
position, a fitting reward for long continued 
public services. 

The aged statesman passed away on April 
19, 1903. 

THE REV. CANON HENRY SCADDING, 
D.D., was the son of John Seadding, of De 
vonshire, England, factor to Major General 
(afterwards Governor) Simcoe, who came to 
Canada in 1793. His father, after receiving a 
large tract of land on the eastern side of the 
Don, went back to England in 1796. 

Dr. Seadding was born in Dunkeswell, De 
vonshire, in 1813. In 1821 he came to his peo 
ple in Canada, whither they had returned. Dr. 
Seadding was the head boy in Upper Canada 
College in the first year of its existence, 1830, 
and in 1833 won the King s Scholarship, which 
entitled him to a free course at an English uni 
versity. He went to St. John s College, Cam 
bridge, where the late Dean Grasett was finish 
ing his academic course. He took his B.A. de 
gree in 1837, returning to Canada that same 
year. The day after landing in Quebec he was 
ordained by the Bishop of that Diocese. After 
spending some months in the family of Sir 
John Colborne, as tutor to his sons until the 
latter returned to England, he came to Upper 
Canada in 1838, when he received his appoint 
ment as Classical Master in Upper Canada Col 
lege, and was also appointed to a curacy at St. 
James Cathedral. He was made the first rector 
of Holy Trinity Church, in Toronto, Oct. 27, 
1847. In 1840 he took his M.A. degree, in 1852 
that of D.D. Cantab., and in 1867 that of D.D. 
Oxon. (comitatis causa). He was made a Can 
on of the St. James Cathedral in the year 1867. 

Dr. Seadding wrote "Toronto of Old," and 
many historical papers of very great interest, 
and he was known as the Historiographer of 
York. From 1870 to 1876 he was president of 
the Canadian Institute, and was the first presi 
dent of the York Pioneers. He was remark 
able not only for his great grasp of every sub 
ject, but for his gentleness and kindness of 
disposition, and he was loved by everyone who 
knew him. 

In 1841 Dr. Seadding married Harriet Bald 
win, daughter of John Spread Baldwin (father 
of the present Bishop of Huron, and of the 
Rev. Arthur H. Baldwin, rector of All Saints 
Church) , and by her he had one daughter, now 
Mrs. Robert Sullivan. 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



Dr. Scadding passed away in the quaint 
home which he had built for himself, and which 
he bequeathed to the Parish of Holy Trinity, on 
the 6th day of May, 1901, in his eighty-eighth 
year. The funeral took place at 3 o clock in 
the afternoon of Thursday, May 9th, 1901, the 
church being appropriately draped for the oc 
casion. The services were conducted by the 
rector, the Rev. John Pearson, D.C.L., assisted 
by the Rev. Canon Sanson, of Trinity Church, 
the oldest clergyman of the church in the Dio 
cese. The church was filled with representa 
tive men from every walk of life, while the 
York Pioneers attended in a body. The ser 
vices at St. James cemetery were made unus 
ually impressive by the attendance of the full 
surpliced choir and the singing of some beau 
tiful and appropriate hymns. 

HON. JAMES PATTON, who died in Toron 
to in 1889, was born in Prescott, Ont, in 1824, 
the youngest son of Major Andrew and Eliza 
beth (Simpson) Patton, both of London, Eng 
land. Major Andrew Patton was a son of Col. 
Andrew Patton, for many years in Her Majes 
ty s service. 

Major Andrew Patton was the founder of 
the family in Canada, settling on the Bay of 
Quinte, where he owned a large tract of land, 
and where for many years he led a retired life. 
He later removed to Prescott, where he died. 
His widow died in Cornwall. Five children 
were born to them: Andrew, Henry, John, Ann 
and James. 

James Patton was educated at the Upper 
Canada College, which institution he entered 
when he was seven years of age, being the 
youngest student to enter the school up to that 
time. At the age of sixteen years he entered 
the office of Hilliard & Cameron, where he read 
law. and in due time was called to the Bav. He 
became one of the leading barristers of On 
tario, and a prominent public man. On com 
pleting his. studies Mr. Patton settled at Bar- 
rie, being one of the first lawyers of that place. 
From Barrie he came to Toronto, and was at 
the head of a law firm which also included 
among its members Mr. Osier, and which firm 
continued a number of years, when Mr. Patton 
went to Kingston and became connected with 
the firm of Macdonald & Patton. Sir John Mac- 
donald being his partner. After spending 
about ten years in Kingston the firm removed 
to Toronto, and were solicitors for the Trusts 
& Loan Company for about fifteen years, after 
which Mr. Patton was manager for the Scottish 
Loan Society for a short time. During the 
time in which Mr. Patton had been prominent 
in business and in the legal profession, he had 



filled many important public positions, viz.: 
Vice-chancellor of the University of Toronto, 
member of the Dominion Senate, solicitor gen 
eral and collector of customs at Toronto, which 
latter position he held at the time of his death. 

In 1854 the Hon. James Patton married Miss 
Martha Mariette Hooker, born in Prescott, May 
25, 1829, daughter of Alfred and Elvira (War 
ner) Hooker. Mrs. Hooker s father was Col 
onel Warner, of the English army, and fought 
in the American Revolution. Alfred Hooker 
was the founder of that family in Canada, and 
for many years was in the forwarding business 
at Prescott, where he died. He had two chil 
dren, Mrs. Patton and Mrs. Brodhead, the lat 
ter deceased. The Hon. Mr. Patton left one 
daughter, Helen Louise, now Mrs. William 
Clark, who resides with her mother at No. 53 
Beverley street, Toronto. 

Mr. Patton was a prominent Conservative, 
and besides being a law partner to Sir John 
Macdonald was one of that gentleman s most 
intimate friends. In religion he was connected 
with the Church of England, to which faith 
his widow and daughter also adhere. Frater 
nally he was a Mason. 

FRANCIS SHANLY, C.E., who passed away 
very suddenly while journeying from Toronto to 
Ottawa. Sept. 13, 1882. was a man of interna 
tional reputation as a civil engineer. A mem 
ber of an Irish family of Celtic origin, dating 
back to very early times, and one of the pioneer 
families of Western Ontario, Mr. Shanly was 
born at "The Abbey," Queen s County, Ire 
land, Oct. 29, 1820, the seventh son of James 
Shanly (a member of the Irish Bar) and Fran 
ces Elizabeth Mulvaney, his wife. The family 
emigrated to Canada in 1836, and finally set 
tled at "Thorndale." County Middlesex, where 
our subject s father lived retired until his 
death in 1857, at the age of seventy-eight years. 
He was a direct descendant of the Shanly who 
represented Jamestown, County Leitrim, in 
the "Patriot Parliament" of 1689, the last Par 
liament of Ireland. 

Francis Shanly was educated by private tui 
tion in Ireland and about the year 1846 he be 
gan to engage in civil engineering in company 
with his brother Walter, their early work in 
this line being undertaken in the States of 
Pennsylvania and New York, with a view to 
fitting themselves for the railway era -^v*- to 
open in Canada. In 1852 they were associated 
in the construction of the "Toronto and Guelph 
Railway." afterward incorporated into the 
Grand Trunk Railway System. The brothers 
also successfully carried through the construc 
tion of the Hoosac Tunnel, in the State of Mas- 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



sachusetts, after many failures on the part of 
American engineers to cope with the undertak 
ing, which at the time of its completion ranked 
next to the Mont Cenis tunnel as a feat of engi 
neering skill. In 1860 Mr. Shanly settled de 
finitely in Toronto, and was engaged in various 
undertakings in both Canada and the United 
States, amongst others the rebuilding of the 
Northern Railway, the construction of the To 
ronto, Grey and Bruce Railway, etc. From 
1875 to 1880 he was engineer for the city of 
Toronto, and in the latter year he was appoint 
ed chief engineer of the Intercolonial Railway, 
and was engaged upon the adjustment of claims 
against the government, growing out of the 
contracts of that railway, at the time of his 
death. 

.Mrs. Shanly. who survives her husband, re 
sides at No. 15 Wilcox street, Toronto, and was 
Miss Louisa Saunders, daughter of the late 
Thomas Saunders and Lucy Anne Willcocks, 
his wife. Mr. Saunders was born in Bucking 
hamshire, England, in 1795, his Avife at Chapel- 
izod, near Dublin, Ireland, in 1803. They came 
to Canada in 1833 and settled near Guelph, 
where their home, "Woodlands," one of the 
ideal rural homes of Canada, was situated. 
Mr. Saunders was the first clerk of the peace 
of the County of Wellington, which position 
he held until his death, in 1873. He was a col 
onel of militia and took an active part during 
the troublous times in 1837. His widow died 
in Guelph in 1877. Of the family of Francis 
Shanly find his \vife. one son, Coote Nisbitt, 
formerly Adjutant of the Royal Grenadiers, 
and no\v senior paymaster of the Western On 
tario Command, and four daughters survive. 
Mr. Shanly was a Conservative in politics, a 
member of the Church of England, and in early 
life was connected with the Masonic order. A 
man of singularly quick perceptions, of very 
ready resource and great boldness in the face 
of physical difficulties, he was a naturally en 
dowed engineer. Untiring energy, a singular 
ly high standpoint in regard to whatever he 
busied himself with, great integrity and that 
fine sense of honour which would feel a stain 
like a wound, were also among his characteris 
tics. A recent writer, referring to the group 
of eminent Canadian engineers of earlier days, 
which included the Shanly brothers, says: "A 
very noticeable characteristic of these men was 
tv-ir hiorh estimate of the dignity of their call 
ing. Each seemed to be thoroughly impressed 
with the idea that a civil engineer must also 
be a gentleman and a scholar. It will be a for 
tunate thing for Canada if her great practical 
science institutions keep her constantly sup 
plied with men of their stamp." 



THE HON. JOSEPH CURRAN MORRISON 

(deceased) was born in the South of Ireland 
Aug. 20, 1816, to which country his father, 
Hugh Morrison, had removed from Sutherland- 
shire, Scotland, where he had been born. Dur 
ing Judge Morrison s life he claimed his 
Scotch descent, and was a member of St. An 
drew s Society; but he did not, however, disclaim 
his native Ireland, and was proud of the fact 
that his early education was received within 
the walls of the Royal Belfast Institution. 

Judge Morrison was still a boy when his 
father settled at York (Toronto), Ont., and he 
continued his education at the Upper Canada 
College. After graduating therefrom he took 
up the. study of law, under the direction of 
Mr. Simon Washburn, a local practitioner of 
that time. Among his fellow students at law 
was the late Chancellor Blake. He was admit 
ted a student by the Law Society in Hilary 
Term, 4 William IV., in 1834, and was admit 
ted to the Bar. as the books show, in Easter 
Term, 2 Victoria, 1839. On graduation, Mr. 
Morrison and Mr. Blake (Chancellor) formed 
a partnership, which continued until Mr. 
Blake s elevation to the Bench in 1846. In 1843 
Mr. Morrison became clerk of the executive 
council, his duties being those of the clerk of 
the old Court of Error and Appeal, composed 
of the Lieutenant-Governor and members of the 
council. Judge Morrison was a Reformer of 
the School of Reform as it existed at that time, 
and was a great friend of the Honorable Rob 
ert Baldwin, the then recognized leader of the 
Reform party. In 1848 Mr. Morrison was the 
Reform candidate for Parliament for the west 
riding of York. He was returned as a sup 
porter of the. Baldwin-Lafontaine administra 
tion, and sat in Parliament until 1851. On June 
22, 1853, he became solicitor general for Up 
per Canada, and was returned in 1854. Oil 
May 24, 1856, he became receiver- general in 
the Tache-Macdonald administration, and also 
a member of the Board of Railway Commis 
sioners. In August, of the same year, he was 
again returned to Parliament. It was about 
this time that the Baldwin Reformers had 
largely merged with the Conservative party, 
owing to their divergence from the "Clear 
Grits." In this year also Judge Morrison was 
a member of the commission for revising the 
Statutes of Upper Canada. He was a strong 
advocate of the building of the old Ontario, 
Simcoe & Huron (now the Northern) Railway, 
the first sod of which was turned by Lady El 
gin, Oct. 15, 1851. He was for some years pre 
sident of the first board of directors of this 
road. In 1859 he was appointed registrar of 
the city of Toronto, but this he resigned in 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



1860, being appointed solicitor general by the 
Cartier-Macdonald government. 

On March 19, 1862, Mr. Morrison was ap 
pointed Puisne Judge of the Common Pleas, 
and on Aug. 24, 1863, was transferred to the 
Queen s Bench, whence on Nov. 30, 1877, he 
was appointed Judge of the Court of Appeal. 
Judge Morrison was a lover of art, and adorn 
ed his home, "Woodlawn," with pictures of 
the masters. He also had great taste for hor 
ticulture, his conservatory being one of the 
finest in Toronto. 

Judge Morrison passed away at his home 
Dec. 6, 1885. His reputation throughout On 
tario was an enviable one. Full of charity and 
thought for others, he had hosts of friends in 
every community, while his sound judgment 
and sterling character won him a place in the 
front rank of men of refinement and education. 

Judge Joseph Curran Morrison married Eli 
zabeth Bloor, daughter of Joseph Bloor, a pio 
neer of Toronto, and to this union the follow 
ing children were born: Emmeline, Mrs. James 
Oliver Buchanan, of No. 186 St. George street ; 
Elizabeth, widow of Dr. James Buchanan Bald 
win; Mary, widow of the late Hon. A. S. Har 
dy; Joseph, of the North- West; James B., a 
business man, of Detroit, Michigan ; and Angus, 
deceased. 

JAMES BUCHANAN BALDWIN, M.D., of 

Toronto, was one of the most prominent mili 
tary men of Ontario, and a member of one of 
the pioneer families of the County of York. 
The Doctor was a son of the late William Au 
gustus Baldwin, whose sketch appears else 
where, and to which the reader is referred for 
the early history of the Baldwin family. 

Dr. James Buchanan Baldwin was born in 
Toronto July 14, 1839, and died in his native 
city May 30, 1897. He was educated at the 
Upper Canada College, after which he com 
pleted his medical course at the Trinity Medi 
cal College. In 1876 he was graduated with 
the degree of M.D., and at once engaged in 
the general practice of his profession. He took 
great interest in military matters, and the great 
part of his active life was spent in the practice 
of his profession in connection with the militia. 
About 1860 Dr. Baldwin joined the Oak Ridge 
Cavalry; later he became a member of the 
Governor-General s bodyguard, and then be 
came surgeon of the Second Dragoons. With 
this company he was identified many years 
prior to his death. The Doctor served in the 
Fenian Raid and in the rebellion in the North- 
West, The Doctor was a member of the 
Church of England in religion, a pronounced 



Conservative in politics, and in fraternal cir 
cles was connected with the Masonic order. 

On June 4, 1873, Dr. James Buchanan 
Baldwin was united in marriage with Miss 
Elizabeth Morrison, daughter of the late Judge 
Joseph Curran Morrison, and to this union 
were born two sons, Kenneth Joseph and Car 
lisle James Buchanan, and two daughters who 
died when quite young. 

HON. DAVID REESOR, who departed this 
life in April, 1902, was one of the best known 
men, not only in his own ccmnty, York, but in 
the legislative halls of Canada, where he helped 
to direct the course of affairs in the sixties. 
He was a man of the strictest integrity, an 
earnest Christian, and one who carried his 
principles into every field of action, whether 
in private or public life. Senator Reesor was 
a native of Markham township, County of 
York, a son of Abraham Reesor. 

Christian Reesor, the great-grandfather of 
our subject, settled in Lancaster County, Penn 
sylvania, in 1737. His son, Christian, emigrated 
tbence in 1801, accompanied by his son Abra 
ham, and thereafter they made their home in 
M& rkham township. County York, where twen- 
ty-jwo years later, Jan. 18, 1823, David Reesor 
was born. His mother s maiden name was Anna 
Detwiler, and she was a native of Pennsyl 
vania. She died in the County of York in 1857, 
hut Abraham Reesor passe^l away when his son 
\vas but six years old. The boy grew up in 
-Markham township, attending the local schools, 
an education that was afterward supplemented 
by three years instruction from a competent 
1 eacher. 

David Reesor began the battle of life on his 
father s farm, but he soon drifted from rural 
inirsuits into mercantile life, and then into 
manufacturing. In 1856 he went into journal 
istic work, for he was a man not merely of busi 
ness ability but of genuine intellectual strength. 
Hence, when he began publishing his journal, 
known as the Markham Economist, of strong Re 
form proclivities, it was only natural that he 
should be most successful. He continued to 
edit the paper until 1868, when he sold out. 
Meantime his participation in the guidance of 
public affairs had long been going on, for his 
political career began in 1848, when he was ap 
pointed a magistrate. In 1850, when York, Pee! 
and Ontario Counties were united, Mr. Reesor 
became a member of the county council and ten 
years later was made warden. Previously, in 
1854, he had been appointed returning officer 
for the East Riding of York. One lino in which 
Mr. Reesor was particularly interested was 
education, and Markham Township owes its fine 
grammar school mainly to his efforts. In 1860 



10 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



began his participation in Dominion affairs, .is 
in that year he was made representative for 
Kings Division in the Legislative Council of Can 
ada, a position he held until the Federation of 
Provinces in 1867. On Oct. 23, 1867, he was 
called to the Senate by Royal Proclamation. It 
had always been his belief that senators should 
be elected, not appointed, and he soon intro 
duced a resolution to that effect in the legislative 
council, but it was defeated. In 1876 Senator 
Reesor retired from public life, and settling in 
Rosedale, North Toronto, lived there; quietly 
until his death in 1902. He was largely instru 
mental in the building of the Nipissing Rail 
road, now the Midland branch of the Grand 
Trunk Railroad. 

Senator Reesor, as has been mentioned, was an 
earnest Christian. He was a member of the 
Methodist Church, and gave generously of his 
time, strength and money to support the various 
departments of work in that body. He was also 
for many years president of the Markham Bible 
Society. He was a man of unusual strength of 
character, and of an uprightness and probity, 
which made him a worthy example to all. 

In February, 1847, Mr. Reesor was united in 
marriage to Miss Emily McDougall, eldest 
daughter of Daniel McDougall, of St. Mary s, 
and sister of the late Hon. William McDougall, 
C.B., of Ottawa. To this union five children 
were born: (1) Augustus became the wii e of 
William C oburn, M.D., of Oshawa, by whom she 
had four children, namely: J. H.. a barrister 
of Walkerville, Ont., who married Miss Carrie 
Lash, and has a daughter, Margaret; Marion, 
wife of Eugene Smith, M.D., of Cleveland, 
Ohio, and mother of one son, Donald; W. A., of 
the Imperial Bank; and Nellie, at home. (2) 
Jessie Adelaide is the widow of John Holmes, 
who died in Australia, leaving three children, 
Emily, Louise and A. Bertram. (3) Aimetta re 
sides in Hamilton, unmarried. (4) Mrs. H. E. 
Stinson resides in Rosedale. (5) W. D., of the 
North- West Territory, married Miss Alice Mof- 
fatt. and has four sons, Bruce, Frank, Harry 
and Colby. 

Mrs. Emily Reesor, who survives her husband, 
was born in County York, Jan. 25., 1824. She 
was a granddaughter of John McDougall, of 
Scotland, who came to Canada. It is said that 
his son, Daniel. Mrs. Reesor s father-, who was 
born in what is now Toronto, in 1735, was the 
first white child born there. Mr. Daniel Mc 
Dougall became a farmer and lived for many 
years in York township, but died in St. Mary s. 
His wife was a Miss Hannah Matthews, born at 
St. Andrews in 1805. She died in 1889, nineteen 
years after her husband s demise. They were 
Methodists in their religious faith. Fifteen chil 



dren were born to them and three are still living, 
namely: Mrs. Reesor, Horace, and Mrs. H. A. 
Jones, all of Toronto. 

HON. JOHN HILLYARD CAMERON, M.P., 
for many years the leader of the Ontario Bar, 
member of Parliament and Attorney-General of 
Canada, was born at Blandigne, France, April 
14, 1817, son of Angus Cameron, of the 79th 
Cameron Highlanders, and founder of this 
branch of the Cameron family in Canada. The 
other children in the family of Angus Cameron 
were : Alan ; Samuel Hillyard, deceased ; Robert, 
a lieutenant in the 63rd Regiment, who died iu 
India; Ann, widow of Col. Robert Muter, com 
mander of the Canadian Rifles ; and Elizabeth, 
wife of Dr. Joseph Clarke, of England. 

John H. Cameron was but a lad when his par 
ents came to Canada, and he received his educa 
tion at the Upper Canada College. He prepared 
to become a barrister in Toronto, in which city 
he was engaged in the practice of his profession. 
In this he rapidly rose until he became the ack 
nowledged leader of the Ontario Bar. In 184ti 
he became Solicitor-General of Canada. He was 
a member of Parliament from Counties Corn 
wall and Peel, ably discharging the duties of 
that office for many years. He was also chan 
cellor of Trinity College. Toronto, for many 
years and until his death and in every respect 
was a leader in his profession. 

Mr. Cameron was twice married, his first wife 
being Mrs. Elizabeth Bouton, and to this union 
was born one son, Col. Hillyard Henry Angus 
Cameron, of England, who married Mary Fer 
guson, and had six children, Arthur, Elsie, 
Blanch, Maud, Mary, and George. Mrs. Cam 
eron died April 20, 1844, and one June 28, 1849, 
Mr. Cameron married Miss Ellen Madeline de 
Bernier Mallett, daughter of Edward J. Mal- 
lett, a French Huguenot. To this union were 
born: Captain Alan, of South Africa, a retired 
ermy officer, who married Florence de la Garde 
Grissell, and has three children, Hillyard, Alan 
and Irene ; Mrs. Arthur Spragge, mentioned else 
where; and Madeline, who married Col. T. D. 
Foster, of England, and has one surviving son. 
Douglas. 

The Hon. John H. Cameron died Nov. 13, 
1876, and at the request of the Law Society, of 
which he had long been treasurer, he was buried 
from Osgoode Hall. lie was a member 0? the 
Church of England. In politics he was a strong 
Conservative, and in his fraternal affiliations 
an Orangeman and grand master therein. Mrs. 
Cameron survives and makes her home in To 
ronto. 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



11 



FRANK MADILL, M.A., M.P.P., M.P. (de 
ceased), who passed away at Beaverton, Ont, 
Oct. 25, 1895, was a highly-esteemed barrister 
and one of the well-known public men of Can 
ada for many years. Mr. Madill was born in 
Scott township, in the County of Ontario, Xov. 
23, 1852, son of Henry Madill, who married 
Eliza Quinn. Henry Madill was born in the 
North of Ireland, and about 1840 settled in 
Markham township, York County, Ont, but 
soon thereafter went to Scott township, where he 
engaged in farming for some years, until his 
retirement. 

Frank Madill early manifested great intel 
lectual ability. His early training was received 
in the high school at Uxbridge, and at the age of 
thirteen years he held a second-class certificate 
for teaching. Having completed the course at 
Uxbridge he entered the University of Toronto, 
and in 1876 was called to the Bar. He at once 
settled at Beaverton, where he became a leading 
barrister and where he practised for about ten 
years. Meantime, in 1882, he was elected to the 
Ontario Legislature, where he served for two 
years, being "Conservative Whip," and the 
youngest member of the House. On his retire 
ment from the local house he was presented a 
gold-headed cane, an opponent remarking, Ton 
can have this cane with which to walk out of the 
House." Mr. Madill s career was just begin 
ning, and he went to the Dominion House, where 
for ten years he represented the North Riding 
of Ontario County ably and efficiently. Mr. 
Madill was an accomplished scholar, an able 
barrister, and a leader of the Conservative party 
in Ontario. He was a prominent Freemason, 
and also belonged to the I. 0. O. F. and the 
Knighte of Pythias, being a past chancellor in 
the last named organization. 

In 1886 Mr. Madill married Miss Florence 
Young, who was born at Columbus, Ont.. daugh 
ter of C. T. Young, for many years a well- 
known woolen manufacturer of Beaverton and 
Port Perry. He was for some time a member 
of the council at Beaverton, and was reeve of 
that place. Mr. Young was born in Canada in 
1841, and married Patience McKenzie, who was 
born in 1840. They stili reside at Beaverton. 
They had a family of six children, of whom Mrs. 
Madill was the eldest. 

To Mr. and Mrs. Madill three children were 
born, of whom the eldest, Frank, died in infancy. 
Enid and Ralph M. are now attending school in 
Toronto, where their widowed mother now makes 
her home. She is a Presbyterian in religion, 
and Mr. Madill also adhered to that faith. 

SENATOR ROBERT JAFFRAY, one of the 
most prominent business men of the city of To 



ronto, Ont., and an honored member of the Do 
minion Senate, is a native of Bannockburn, Scot 
land, born in 1832, son of William and Margaret 
;lleugh) Jaffray, natives of that country. 

William Jaffray was for many years engaged 
extensively in the manufacture of nails in Scot 
land, employing about forty men in this indus 
try before the invention of nail making ma 
chinery, each nail having to be made by hand. 
In later years, however, he engaged in agricul 
tural pursuits and became an extensive farmer. 
William Jaffray married Margaret Heugh, and 
to them were born children as follows : Janet, 
who married J. B. Smith, for many years a 
well-known business man of Toronto; Robert; 
Alexander, who is bursar at the Central Prison, 
Toronto; John, William, and Thomas, of Mani 
toba; James, on the old farm in Scotland; and 
George, deceased. 

Robert Jaffray received his literary training 
in his native country, and in Edinburgh served 
his time to the grocery biisiness. On settling 
in Toronto in 1852 he engaged with his brother- 
in-law, the late J. B. Smith, who was in the gro 
cery business on Yonge street, later became Mr. 
Smith s partner, and subsequently succeeded to 
his interest in the business, which he continued 
until 1880. During his fifty-four years resi 
dence in Toronto Senator Jaffray has been iden 
tified with many leading business enterprises of 
the city, and to-day is connected with more than 
a score of large industries, either as official, 
stockholder or director. In 1880 he became a 
director of the Globe Printing Company, and 
since 1888 has been its honored president. He 
was a director in the Northern and Midland 
railways, president of the Land Security Com 
pany, vice-president of the Imperial Bank of 
Canada, vice-president of the Crow s Nest Pass 
Coal Company since its formation, director 
since its inception of the Toronto General Trust 
Corporation, and is connected with many other 
enterprises. Not only in business life has he 
been prominent, however, as he has been urged 
at different times to be standard bearer of his 
party for Parliamentary honors, which he has 
always declined. In 1906 he was appointed to 
the Dominion Senate, and. although this ap 
pointment came unsolicited, it was certainly an 
honor properly bestowed, as Senator Jaffray has 
always been a staunch advocate of Reform prin 
ciples, and for many years at the head of the 
greatest Reform paper of Canada, and one of the 
greatest in the world. ITis religious faith is that 
of the Presbyterians, and his fraternal connec 
tions with the Masonic order. 

Senator Jaffray was married to Miss Sarah 
Bugg, daughter of the late John Bugg, for 
many years an alderman of Toronto. Mrs. Jaf- 



12 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



fray passed away March 27, 1906, the mother of 
four children: Annie E., wife of Christopher 
Eaton, of Owen Sound; William Gladstone, a 
broker of Toronto; Rev. R. A., missionary to 
China, and at the head of a college for educat 
ing Chinese missionaries, Wuchow, China ; and 
Elizabeth, the wife of William A. Cameron, a 
barrister of Toronto. 

JOHN SYMONS. The death of John Sy- 
mons, which occurred in Toronto in 1902, was 
the closing chapter of a life long m years and 
correspondingly rich in all that makes a man s 
career of value to the world. 

An adopted son of Canada, Mr. Symons was 
born in Derby, England, Nov. 19, 1808. He was 
educated in his native land, studied law there, 
and was admitted as an English solicitor in 
1832. He at once took chambers in London, in 
"Old Jewry," practising there till 1851, when 
he came to Canada to look the ground over 
while considering the question of removal. De 
ciding favorably Mr. Symons settled there per 
manently in 1852, and was duly qualified to 
practise at the Canadian Bar, and for a while 
did so, but later went into business instead. He 
formed in 1858 the Canada Landed Credit Com 
pany, now reorganized under the name of the 
Canada Landed and National Investment Com 
pany, and for more than twenty years acted as 
manager of the corporation. On retiring from 
that position Mr. Symons gave up active busi 
ness, and turned his attention rather to a con 
sideration of various public questions from a by 
stander s point of view. He was specially in 
terested in what is known as the "fast Atlantic 
service," and contributed an able pamphlet on 
the subject, pointing out the advantages of a 
short sea route and of utilizing Valentia Har 
bor. 

Mr. Symons married Miss Isabel Thorbnrn, 
daughter of the late David Thorburn. of Queens- 
ton Heights, who was one of the prominent men 
of his day and generation. Mr. Thorburn was 
one of the first wardens of the Niagara District, 
which for many years he represented in Parlia 
ment. He and his wife, formerly Miss Isabel 
Thompson, of Niagara Falls, both died at 
Queenston. Children as follows wore born to 
John and Isabel Symons: John T., late captain 
in the 12th York Rangers, and a well-known 
man among real estate agents; D. T., a barrister; 
Mrs. Shaw, widow of Dr. Shaw, of Hamilton- 
and Leila Frear and Kate, at home. Since her 
husband s death, in 1902, Mrs. Symons has con 
tinued to live in the old home, at No. 68 Ave 
nue Road, built a number of years ago by Mr. 
Svmons. 



In political sentiment John Symons was a 
Conservative, while in religious belief he was an 
Anglican. Formerly a member of St. Paul. .s 
Church , in which he was at one time warden, he 
bad a seat at the time of his death in the Church 
of the Redeemer. A scholar ; a Christian and a 
true gentleman, his was a life commanding the 
respect of all who knew him. Lacking, as he 
did, only a few years of rounding out a cen- 
lury, Mr. Symons naturally had a fund of remi 
niscence both entertaining and instructive, 
reaching back even to the reception of the news 
of Waterloo and Wellington s victory. 

REV. WILLIAM S. BLACKSTOCK, D.D., 
deceased. Forty years of active service in the min 
istry is a record on which a man may well look 
back with pride. Such a lifetime of helpfulness 
to his fellows is rightly followed by a period of 
freedom from responsibility, and of: leisure to 
enjoy quietly the last years of existence, crowne-i 
by the respect, gratitude and affection of the 
many he has helped. Such a tranquil evening of 
life was the lot of Rev. William S. Blackstock, 
u minister of the Wesleyan Methodist Church, 
who lived in retirement in Toronto at No. 121 
Carlton street. His death occurred at Atlantic 
City, New Jersey, in November, 1905. 

The Blackstock family is from the North of 
Ireland, and three brothers came thence to Can 
ada about 1819, George, Rev. Moses and John, 
the latter settling in Barrie. George Blackstock 
had a son, George, who was born in Ireland in 
1803. This son went to the State of New Jer 
sey and there married Miss Jane Chambers. 
Later the young couple came to Canada, settled 
first in the township of Cavan, and from there 
afterward moved to the township of Pickering. 
Still later they moved to Port Huron, Michigan. 
Of their children three grew to maturity, Mrs. 
Ballard, Mrs. Cruickshank and Rev. William S. 
Mrs. Cruickshank resides in Michigan, and the 
last years of the parents were passed in her 
home. The father was a farmer by occupation. 

Rev. William S. Blackstock was born in Buf 
falo, New York, in 1824. His education was 
acquired in Toronto and New York City, find 
lie was early prepared for the ministry. For 
forty years he labored faithfully for his fellow- 
men, most of the time in Central Ontario. His 
last pastorate was in Toronto, where he was sta 
tioned for eight years prior to his retirement, in 
3887. The honorary degree of Doctor of Divin- 
itj was conferred upon him by the Victoria Uni 
versity. From the time he was called there, in 
1879, Dr. Blackstock continued to make his home 
in Toronto. His first residence there was in 
1827. when he was only three years old, but the 
familv soon moved to Cavan township. 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



13 



Dr. Blackstock was married in 1850 to Miss 
Mary Gibbs, born in 1826, sister of the late Hon. 
T. N. Gibbs and of W. H. Gibbs, M.P., of Osh- 
awa. She is still living. Mrs. Blackstock was 
a constant support and sympathizer in her hus- 
band s work from the first, and enjoyed with him 
their well earned rest. They were among the 
oldest couples in Toronto, and as highly esteemed 
as they were widely known. Although well past 
eighty at the time of his death, Dr. Blackstock 
enjoyed reasonably good health and was in full 
possession of all his faculties. To Dr. and Mrs. 
Blackstock were born two sons: Thomas Gibbs 
Blackstock, K.C., a leading member of the On 
tario Bar, who died in July, 1906 ; and George 
Tate Blackstock, K.C.. a prominent member of 
the Ontario Bar. 

DAVID BREAKENRIDGE READ, K.C., 
died of paralysis at his residence, No. 40 Bread- 
albane street, May 11, 1904, at the age of eighty- 
one. He had a stroke of apoplexy in Novem 
ber, 1902, and was afterward confined to his bed, 
but was conscious until shortly before death. 

The late Mr. Read, who for many years was 
one of the best-known lawyers in the Province, 
was born in Augusta, Ont., June 13. 1823, and 
on both sides was of United Empire Loyalist 
descent. At the age of thirteen he was sent to 
Upper Canada College, and when the Mackenzie 
rebellion broke out he marched with the other 
boys to the Governor to offer his services. The 
Governor. Mr. Read used to say, patted them on 
the head and said that they were not needed at 
present. He entered on the study of law June 
16. 1840, and was called to the bar on June 19, 
1845. Among those with whom he practised 
were: Alexander Leith; the present Chancellor 
Boyd; J. B. Read, his brother; T. A. Keefer; 
H. V. Knight, and latterly his son. Wal 
ter Read. He was created Q.C. by the old Gov 
ernment of Canada Dec. 23, 1858. and at the 
time of his death was the oldest so appointed, his 
immediate predecessor having been the late Sir 
Oliver Mowat, appointed in 1855. He was elect 
ed a Bencher of the Law Society in November, 
1855, and continued a Bencher until his retire 
ment in April, 1881. A feature of his work 
there was the interest he always manifested in 
the students. It may be added that among his 
students were Chancellor Boyd. Judge Idington, 
Col. Matheson, the Provincial Treasurer, Judge 
Ermatinger, of St. Thomas, Isaac Campbell, K. 
C., of Winnipeg, and Frank Denton, K.C., of 
Toronto. 

Many years ago, when legal procedure was 
less flexible than it became under the long re 
gime of the late Attorney-General Mowat, Mr. 
Read held a high position at the Ontario Bar. 



He was a Master of legal technicalities, and of 
the special pleading which in the earlier part of 
his career was very effective in. counsel work. 
Several eminent jurists received their prepara 
tory training in his office, and to the last he re 
tained their respect and affection. The great 
change in judicature and procedure, wnich was 
for the most part completed between 1 1 and 
1884, made it difficult for the older practitioners 
and judges to keep up with the procession, and 
Mr. Read gave up the arduous struggle. He had 
done his work, but he never complained of the 
changed conditions. 

Comparative exemption from professional dut 
ies gave him a chance to carry on the wor!c of 
historical investigation, in which he took great 
delight, and at which by dint of ability, patience, 
and conscientiousness he became an expert 
a somewhat high order. Whoever undertakes to 
write a history of Ontario, formerly Upper Can 
ada, will fmd his work of research greatly aided 
by the material collected and the sources indi 
cated by Mr. Read. He was by temperament a 
man of activity, with a special fondness for pub 
lic affairs. In politics he was an ardent Con 
servative, and he had a fund of anecdotes of 
the stirring period of his early manhood which 
served to enliven his conversation when he was 
in a reminiscent mood. All trace of partisan 
aggressiveness passed away from him long ago, 
and during his later years some of his most inti 
mate friends were his former political opponents 
He was a public-spirited participant in muni 
cipal administration, and was fond of referring 
to the time when he and Sir Oliver Mowat were 
fellow-members of the city council of Toronto. 
Thus in more than one way his death severs an 
other link Which bound the present to the past 
He always took an active interest in municipal 
politics, and was elected alderman for St. Pat 
rick s ward in 1858. On November llth of chat 
year, he was elected by the council. Mayor of 
the city on the resignation of W. H. Boulton. 
At the time of his death he was the oldest ex- 
Mayor. Among the aldermen of that year was 
Sir Oliver Mowat. He was one of the first mem 
bers of the Toronto Club. 

Active in both outdoor and indoor sports, he 
was a member of the Royal Canadian Yacht 
Club, of the Toronto Cricket Club, and of the 
Caer Howell Bowling Club, of which for years 
he was Honorary President, He also was active 
in military affairs, and was appointed ensign 
of the 5th Battalion of Toronto Militia in 185G. 
During the last fifteen years he devoted him 
self to literary and historical work "The Lives 
of the Judges of Upper Canada," "The Life of 
Governor Simcoe," "The Life of General 
Brock, " " The Rebellion of 1837. He was vice- 



14 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



president of the York Pioneers, a member of the 
Ontario Historical Society, and one of the com 
mittee of the Upper Canada College Old Boys 
ii>n. In politics he was a personal Iriend 
and strong supporter of Sir John Macdonnld. 
He was an active member of the Church of Eng 
land, and was one of the founders of St. John s 
Church, and also of St. Matthias Church, of the 
r <>f \vhic\i he was for many years church 
warden and representative in the Synod. 

Mr. David Breakenridge Read was a son of 
John Landon and Janet (Breakenridge) Read. 
John Lanclou Read was a son of Obadiah Read, 
a United Empire Loyalist, who came to Canada 
in 1784, settling in the town of Augusta, County 
of Qrenville, Ontario. Obadiah Read married 
Miss Lydia Landon, also of United Empire 
Loyalist stock. 

m 1848 Mr. David Breakenridge Read mar- 
Miss Emily Ballard, of Picton, and to this 
union the following family were born : Miss Ada 
Read, librarian of the County of York Law As 
sociation; Mrs. F. C. Wade, and Mrs. H. J. 
Wade, of Vancouver, B.C. ; and one son, Mr. 
Walter Read, of the firm of Read & Read. 

ANDREW CRAWFORD. Among the well- 
known business men of Toronto was Andrew 
Crawford, a member of the firm known as The 
W. R. Brock Company, wholesale dry goods 
dealers. Mr. Crawford was born at Carnfoot, 
near Dollar, Scotland, in. 1837, and he died in 
Toronto in 1893. He was a son of Robert and 
Margaret (Dixon) Crawford, also natives of 
Scotland. 

In 1856 Andrew Crawford came to Toronto 
and engaged as a clerk for Dixon & Logan, whose 
business he and Mr. James D. Smith purchased 
later, the firm becoming known as Crawford & 
Smith. Later Mr. Crawford became a member 
of The W. R. Brock Company, and with this 
firm was identified up to the time of his death. 

In 1863 Andrew Crawford and Catherine Gibb 
were united in marriage, she being a daughter 
of the late Charles and Elizabeth (Shillinglaw) 
Gibb. Charles Gibb was born in 1808 at Fet- 
tercairn. Scotland, was educated in Edinburgh, 
and there he studied for the profession of civil 
and mechanical engineering. In 1832 he came 
to Toronto, where he followed that line until 
1846, when he died. He was a son of James and 
Catherine (Durie) Gibb. who also came to Can 
ada, settling near Chatham, Where they died. 
Elizabeth Shillinglaw, the mother of Mrs. 
Crawford, was the only daughter of William 
Shillinglaw. who died at Galashiels, Scotland. 
his widow and children coming to Canada when 
Elizabeth was only nine years of age. She died 
in Toronto in 1890, leaving two children : Mrs. 



Crawford; and James Gibb, of Arkansas, U.S.A. 
Mr. and Mrs. Crawford s children vere: Mar- 
g.-in t, at home; Charles, deceased; Ethel, deceas 
ed; Robert Dixon, with The W. R. Brock Com 
pany ; Catherine, the wife of Frank Johnston, of 
Toronto; and Andrew Gordon, in the Bank of 
Toronto, at Collingwood. Mr. Crawford was a 
consistent member of Knox Presbyterian 
Church, and Mrs. Crawford adheres to the same 
religious faith. He was a Reformer in politics, 
and his fraternal connection was with St. And 
rew s Society. 

ROBERT RUSSELL BALDWIN, B.A., of 
No. 36 Lowther avenue, Toronto, who for some 
years previous to his death had retired from 
active business, was a member of one of the old 
est families in the city. He was a son of Wil 
liam Augustus and Isabella Clarke Baldwin, who 
was the daughter of James Buchanan, British 
Consul at New York. 

William Augustus Baldwin was a son of Dr. 
AVilliam Warren Baldwin, who was born, in Ire 
land in 1775, and died at Toronto Jan. 5, 1844. 
Dr. Baldwin founded the family in Canada, 
having in 1790 settled in Toronto. He married 
Margaret Phoebe Willcocks, daughter of Wil 
liam Willcocks, by whom he had these 
children : Robert, William Augustus, Henry 
and Quetton St. George. William Aug 
ustus Baldwin s children by his first 
marriage were : Henry St. George, men 
tioned elsewhere ; James Buchanan, M.D. ; Wil 
liam Augustus ; Robert Russell ; Aemilius ; 
Phoebe Buchanan ; and Isabella Elizabeth. Mr. 
Baldwin s first wife died Aug. 21, 1850, and on 
Feb. 29. 1852, he married Margaret Fry, daugh 
ter of Capt. Martin Donald McLeod. To this 
union were born these children : Jane McLeod, 
wife of Martin Graham, of Rome, Georgia ; 
Elizabeth Alexandrina McLeod; Annie Maria, 
now Mrs. Charles Pratt Whelan ; Martin 
Donald McLeod, deceased; Lawrence Heyden, 
barrister of Toronto ; Margaret McLeod, de 
ceased ; Noranan McLeod, deceased ; Charles Mc 
Leod, of St. Thomas ; and John McLeod, a physi 
cian of Toronto. 

Robert Russell Baldwin was born in Toronto 
in 1842. and was educated at Upper Canada Col 
lege, and Toronto University, from which latter 
institution he graduated in 1866 with the de 
gree of B.A. Upon completing his classical edu 
cation, Mr. Baldwin was for some years con 
nected with the Canadian Bank of Commerce 
at Toronto. In 1883 he resigned this position, 
and he died in 1906. 

In 1893 Mr. Baldwin married Ada Webster, 
daughter of the late James and Margaret (Wil 
son) Webster, early settlers in the County of 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



15 



Wellington. Mr. Webster was born in 1803, in 
Perthshire, Scotland, and died at Guelph, in 
1869. The Webster home in Scotland was known 
as "Balruddery." The father of Mrs. Baldwin 
was a son of James and Agnes (Hunter) Web 
ster, who spent their entire lives in Scotland. 
Their children who came to Canada were: 
.Tames, the father of Mrs. Baldwin ; and Thomas. 
James Webster came to Ontario in 1833, and 
purchased a large tract of land in the County of 
Wellington, to the clearing, cultivating and sell 
ing of which he gave his active life. He was not 
only a clever business man, but also a prominent 
public citizen, serving in Parliament several 
years. Mr. Webster s strict integrity may be 
gathered from the fact that upon one election to 
Parliament he saw that fraud had been com 
mitted in the elections and promptly resigned 
the office as a strong rebuke to his over-zealous 
supporters. For many years Mr. Webster 
served as registrar of the County of Wellington. 
On March 6. 1838, he married Margaret "Wilson, 
born at Aberdeen, Scotland, in 1821. 



REV. ANDREW B. CHAMBERS, LL.B., 
D.D., of Toronto, bears a name long identified 
with the best interests of Canada. The family 
originated in the North of Ireland, and its 
founders in Canada were Richard and John 
Chambers the latter the father of Dr. Cham 
bers, of Toronto. These two pioneers were sons 
of Alexander Chambers. Richard preceded John 
to Canada by a few years, and settled first in St. 
Catharines, but later removed to Dunnville. 
where he became a prominent merchant and mil 
ler. His old mill still stands at Dunnville, and is 
known as the Chambers Mill. He was a man 
of affairs there, a member of the council, and 
otherwise an important and substantial citizen. 
John Chambers, who shared the honor almost 
equally of founding the Chambers family here, 
was born in the North of Ireland, near Ennis- 
killen, in 1813, and died in 1901. His wife, 
born in 1815, lived until 1881. In 1847 John 
Chambers and his wife came to Canada, settling 
at Toronto, where they remained until 1854, 
when they removed to the township of Whit- 
diurch, in the County of York. There Mr. 
Chambers engaged for a time .in the muuufacture 
of lumber. Later he removed to Reach town 
ship. County of Ontario, farming there for a 
short period, and then entered the mercantile 
business at Victoria Corners, same township. In 
1866 Mr. Chambers removed to Wilfrid, in 
Brock township, where he became a general 
merchant and was the first postmaster at that 
place. He resided there until 1883, when he 
retired from business and settled for a time at 
OanninEtton. In 1899 he came to Toronto, where 



he resided with his son. ^)r. Chambers, until his 
death. To John Chamb ITS and his wife were 
born children as follows : jEliza, born in Ireland, 
now Mr. James Dale, of Manitoba; Dr. Andrew 
B., born in Ireland ; Alexander Carson, deceased, 
who was born in Ireland (his son John King 
lives in Toronto) ; Mary, wife of William Henry 
Lawrence ; Mrs. John Moore Ha.rt, widow of Dr. 
John Moore Hart; Ann Jane, who died unmar 
ried; John James, who died unmarried; and 
Thomas Richard, for twenty-five years a resi- 
dest of Hamilton, North Dakota. 

Rev. Andrew B. Chambers was reared and 
educated at Toronto, and in 1875 he was gradu 
ated in law at McGill University. After sev 
eral years spent in teaching in the 
Counties of York and Ontario Dr. Cham 
bers turned his attention and study to 
the ministry. In 1864 he entered the 
Methodist Conference as a probationer, and in 
1868 he was ordained. He remained two years 
at his first pastorate, at Newmarket, went to 
Prince Edward County, where he served three 
years, and then went to Sherbrook Street 
Church, Montreal. His subsequent stations 
were as follows: Pembroke, two years; Nap- 
anee, Quebec ; Montreal, second term ; Stanstead, 
two years, during part of which time he was 
governor of Stanstead College. Prom Stanstead 
he was called to Napanee for a second term. 

In 1891 Dr. Chambers was called to Wesley 
Church, Toronto, where he remained three years. 
He then spent three years as pastor of the Mc- 
Cavil Street Church, three years at the Gerrard 
Street Church, three years at Wood Green Tab 
ernacle, and in 1903 became pastor of the Par 
liament Street Church. 

Dr. Chambers through his high Christian 
character and scholarly attainments has become 
a power in his church and for twenty sessions 
of the Conference he has been a member of the 
stationing committee. He has served as Chair 
man of the Quebec, Montreal, Stanstead. Nap 
anee, Toronto Central and Toronto East Dis 
tricts, and has been a member of five General 
Conferences. In 1897 he was elected President 
of the Toronto Conference, and at the close of 
the term in 1898 Victoria College conferred upon 
him the degree of D.D.. an eminently fitting 
honor. He is a member of the Senate of Vic 
toria College, and treasurer of the superannua 
tion fund for the Toronto Conference. 

On June 16. 1868, Dr. Chambers was mar 
ried to Miss Lucy, third daughter of the late 
Rev. William McCullough, and they have had 
these children: Mrs. A. N. Burns, of Toronto; 
Mrs. R, AV". Anglin, of the Essex High School; 
Pearl: Ruby; and A. Harold H., now connected 
with the Equity Fire Insurance Company. Dr. 



16 



.MEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



Chambers is an Orangeman, and also belongs to 
the Masons, the I.O.O.F. and the A.O.U.W. In 
his political seutimente he is a Conservative of 
the independent type. He worthily enjoys the 
esteem of all who know him, the respect of all 
classes, and the ajttmiration of his co-laborers. 
He has been a member of and has taken a great 
interest in the work of the Upper Canada Bibie 
Society during the past fourteen years, and is 
at the present time one of its vice-presidents. 
He is a member of the board and also of the 
executive of tbe recently formed Canadian Bible 
Society. 

JOSEPH HENRY WIDDIFIELD, M.D., M. 
P.P. The sudden death of Mr. Widdifield on 
Sunday morning, June 3, 1906, removed from 
the County of York one of her most faithful 
officials and most highly esteemed citizens, and 
from Toronto a Christian gentleman whose 
friends were legion. For many years he was 
sheriff of the County of York, and was a mem 
ber of one of the pioneer families of the County. 
The family is of Saxon English extraction, and 
was first brought to Canada by Henry Widdi 
field, the grandfather of Joseph H. 

Henry Widdifield was born in New Jersey in 
1779. a son of Henry Widdifield, Sr., who was 
also born in New Jersey, but who moved to 
Pennsylvania when his son, Henry, the grand 
father of Joseph H., was but a lad. In 1800 
Henry Widdifield, Jr.. came to the County of 
York on a prospecting tour, and was so favor 
ably impressed with the coiintry that he re 
turned to Pennsylvania, and prepared to move 
to Canada, which he did the following year, set 
tling on Lot 32, Concession 3, Whitchurch town 
ship, where he cleared a farm from the bush. 
This farm has never passed out of the family, 
and is now owned by one of his grandsons, 
James Edward Widdifield, and is known as 
"Maple Grove Farm." In 1805 Mr. Widdifield 
returned to Pennsylvania, and there marriei 
Phebe Randall, a native of that State. Her 
brothers and sisters were also early settlers in 
the County of York. She was born in 1774, and 
died on the York County farm in 1855, her hus 
band surviving until 1869. when he too, 
passed away. In their religious faith, they were 
Quakers, and in political principle Henry Wid 
difield was a Liberal. Some time after they lo 
cated in the County of York, they were joined 
about 1807 by Mr. Widdifield s father, Henry 
Widdifield, Sr., who came, accompanied by his 
family, to find prosperity in the country so at 
tractive to his son. He made his home there 
until his death. To Henry Widdifield, Jr., and 
wife were born the following children : Charles 
E., the father of our subject; Agnes, who mar 



ried James Playter, and is now deceased ; Mary, 
deceased wife of Ira Brown, of Pickering; and 
Mercy, deceased, who married George Playter. 

Charles E. Widdifield was born on Maple 
Grove Farm in 1812, and there on his birthplace 
he followed farming all his life, dying in 1883. 
He was a man much interested in public affairs, 
particularly matters pertaining to schools, and 
he served most acceptably as school trustee for 
a number of years. Political honors, however, 
he steadfastly refused. In 1841 he was mar 
ried to Angelina Hughes, who was born in Penn 
sylvania in 1821, daughter of Joseph Hughes, 
a pioneer of the County of York, and died at 
the home of her son, Joseph H., in 1896. Both 
Charles Widdifield and his wife were members 
of the Quaker Church. He voted the ticket of 
the Liberal party. The nine children born to 
Charles Widdifield and wife were : ( 1 ) Eliza 
beth, married George B. Knowles, and had three 
children: Emma, wife of Dr. Elsworth McMil 
lan, of California ; Frederick, of New York City ; 
and Helen Maude, wife of John Taylor, of Ham 
ilton, New York State. (2) Joseph Henry. (3) 
Elma is widow of Walter Playter. by whom she 
had the following children: Florence, wife of 
Lome McCormick, of the Royal Bank of Otta 
wa; and Vera and Greta, at home. (4) Mercy, 
deceased, married J. J. Collins, of St. Cath 
arines, by whom she had two children : Herbert, 
of the class of 1904, Toronto University; and 
Evelyn Maude, at home. (5) Miss Jennie lives 
in Toronto. (6) William C.. a barrister at New 
market, married Emma Cane, daughter of the 
late William Cane, by whom he has two daugh 
ters, Marjorie and Kathleen. (7) James Ed 
ward, owner of the old home, married Emma 
Watson, sister of George Watson, K.C., of To 
ronto, and has three children : Ethel, of the civil 
service at Ottawa; Charles Howard and George 
Wentworth. (8) Charles Howard and (9) Rose 
Evelyn both died tvnmarried. 

Joseph Henry Widdifield was born on the old 
homestead June 12, 1845. His literary educa 
tion was acquired in the rural schools of his dis 
trict and in the high school at Newmarket. Upon 
completing his work at the latter place he en 
tered at once upon the study of medicine, his 
chosen profession, and in 1869, he received the 
degree of M.D. from Victoria University. In 
1870 he was graduated from the Royal College 
of Surgeons at London, England, and in the 
same year became a licentiate of the Royal Col 
lege of Physicians, at Edinburgh. Late in the 
same year he entered upon the active practice of 
his profession at Newmarket, and continued to 
be successfully engaged there until 1888, when 
he was made sheriff of the County of York. 
Soon after locating at Newmarket he became act- 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



17 



ive in the councils of the Liberal party, and in 
1875 was the recipient of parliamentary honors, 
being honored by re-election in 1879. 188:? and 
1886, resigning his office in 1888 to become 
sheriff. During seven years of his service in 
Parliament he was "Parliament Whip" for the 
"Mowat party," and for seven years >vas chair 
man of the Standing Orders committee. 

It was not only in political and professional 
lines that Mr. Widdifield was prominently iden 
tified with his native county, but he was also 
conspicuous in military circles. He held a first- 
class certificate from the Military Institute of 
Toronto, and also from the School of Gunnery 
of the same city. He served in the Fenian raid 
in 1866, for which service he held a medal and 
a grant of 160 acres of land in a township in 
Ontario, named in his honor Widdifield town 
ship. 

Dr. Widdifield belonged to the College of Phy 
sicians and Surgeons of Ontario. He was a 
Mason of Knight Templar degree ; was past mas 
ter, of Tuscan Lodge No. 99, Newmarket; 
past first principal of Doric Chapter, 
No. 60 Newmarket; ex-members of the 
board of general purposes, of the Grand 
Lodge of Canada; past district deputy 
grand master of the Toronto district; past grand 
superintendent of Toronto District. R.A.M. For 
many years prior to the holding of the office of 
sheriff," Dr. Widdifield was a justice of the peace, 
and also coroner of the County. He was medical 
examiner for the A.O.F.W. 

In 1892 Dr. Widdifield purchased his fine 
residence at the corner of St. George street and 
Prince Arthur avenue, where his many friends 
always found a hearty greeting. 

LIEUT.-COL. WILLIAM J. LANE MILLI- 
GAN. a retired Staff Officer of Pensioners, Impe 
rial Service, residence Bromley House, Toronto, 
comes of a family long connected with military 
life, while 011 his mother s side he is descended 
from John of Gaunt, Duke of Lancaster. The 
Colonel himself has added new lustre to the 
name and has distinguished himself during long 
years of service in Europe. Asia, Africa and 
America. He was born in Madras, India, son 
of Dr. William Milligan. 

Dr. William Milligan, born in Perthshire, Scot 
land, in 1791, was for many years a surgeon of 
the 6th Enniskillen Dragoons. He married Mi-s 
Elizabeth Sybil Lane, of England, of the Lane 
family, Bentley Hall, Staffordshire. Bentley 
Hall was one of the hiding places of King 
Charles II. during his escape from England, and 
he left it disguised as a groom to Lady Jar.e Lane, 
riding on a pillion in front of her, on his escape 
to the coast from Bentley Hall. The family 
2 



was offered a Dukedom by King Charles, but it 
was declined. The Lane crest is the strawberry 
horse, bearing the Crown between his feet, with 
the motto " Garde-le-Roi, " and their arms are 
quartered with those of England. Colonel Mil 
ligan s grandfather, Colonel Lane, was governor 
of St. Helena during the imprisonment of Na 
poleon. A great-uncle, Major-General Sir 
Burges Camac, was military secretary to the 
Duke of Wellington in India. 

Colonel Milligaii was the only son. He was 
educated in England under Dr. Greig, of Wal- 
thamstow. Essex, and at the age of sixteen en 
tered upon his military career, in the 
course of which he has seen service in 
the four great continents ^of the world. 
In South Africa he served with the 73rd 
Perthshire Regiment, was also in the Indian 
Mutiny (it afterwards became the 2nd 
Battalion, Black Watch), while later he was ap 
pointed Staff Officer of Pensioners. This posi 
tion he held twenty years, and the last twelve, 
from 1879 to 1891. he was in Toronto. After 
retiring he continued to make his home in that 
city. 

While on service in India Colonel Milligan 
was married in Dinapore to Miss Isabella Mar 
garet Moir, who was bom in that country, a 
daughter of Col. J. D. W. Moir, of the Bengal 
East India Service. To this union seven chil 
dren were born, namely: William J. Lane, de 
ceased; Alice Sibyl, who married Frank 
Xicholls Kcnnin, of Toronto; Isabella Grace, 
who married F. A. Hilton, of Toronto, and has 
five sons and two daughters ; Helen Mary Edith ; 
Yda Louisa, who married Lester Weaver, of 
Hespeler, Ont, and has two sons; Kathleen 
Maude; and Beatrice Adele, wife of Russell 
Brown, of Toronto, and mother of one daughter. 

Colonel Milligan is one of Toronto s most^ dis 
tinguished citizens, and holds a high position 
socially. When in India he became a member 
of the" Masonic fraternity, and still maintains 
his interest in it. In religion he is a mem ter 
of the Episcopal Church, and in politics he is a 
Conservative. 

WILLIAM BOULTBEE, C.E. The late 
William Boultbee, who passed away at his resi 
dence, "Iver House," No. 52 St. Alban street. 
Toronto, in November, 1902, was a well-known 
civil engineer, and spent many years in the 
practice of his profession in Hamilton and 
Toronto. He was born in Devonshire, England, 
March 15, 1832, son of Felix and Mary (Sam 
uel) Boultbee. 

Felix Boultbee, who was an officer in the ET. 
E. I. C. S.. was the founder of the family in 
Canada. His father, William, also came to 



18 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



Canada in his later years, and resided with his 
son. On coming to Canada Felix Boultbee set 
tled at Ancaster, where he soon afterward died. 
His brother and sister, Washington and Rosa 
lind, came to Canada and cared for his family 
until they grew to maturity. His children were : 
Mary Ann, Alfred, Frank, William and Rev. 
Arthur. 

William Boultbee was educated in Canada. 
On the completion of his term as apprentice 
to the late John Howard, a well-known civil 
engineer of Toronto, he secured a position as 
civil engineer on the construction of the Great 
Western railway. In this work Mr. Boultbee 
distinguished himself as a thoroughly competent 
engineer, and his experience gained him an ap 
pointment, in 1864, to a position on the en 
gineering staff of the Madras Railway Company 
of London, England, operating in India. He 
soon rose to the position of executive engineer, 
which he held until 1882. when he retired. The 
high esteem in which Mr. Boultbee was held in 
his service in India will be seen from the fact 
that in 1876-77, during the famine in that 
country, he was in charge of a staff of tweuty- 
three thousand people, engaged in railway work, 
and as an appreciation of his most excellent 
services was given a prolonged furlough to Can 
ada of two years. Ic 1878 he started back to 
India, and in February. 1879, resumed his pro 
fessional work, continuing therein until 1882, 
when he returned to Canada. He settled in 
Toronto, where he erected a fine home on St. 
George street, in which he passed a few years. 
Selling this home, he located at No. 52 St. Al- 
ban street, and there the remainder of his life 
was spent. 

On Dec. 12,1866, at Madras. India, Mr. Boult 
bee married Miss Marian Mulock, a member of 
an old and prominent family of Ontario. She 
is the daughter of the late Dr. Thomas Homan 
Mulock, sister of the Hon. Sir William Mulock, 
late postmaster-general of Canada, and cousin of 
"Miss Mulock," author of "John Halifax, 
Gentleman." The Mulock family was founded 
in Canada by William Mulock. the grandfather 
of Mrs. Boultbee. He was born in Dublin, Ire 
land, and in 18-37 settled at Orillia, Ont., where 
he owned valuable farm property. His wife 
WHS Miss Sarah Paisley, also of Dublin, and 
their children were: Rev. Canon Mnlock, of 
Kingston ; William, deceased, of California ; 
Robert P., of Colfax. Iowa; Vance; Dr. Thomas 
Homan; Mary, Mrs. Arthur Robinson; and sev 
eral who died young. 

Dr. Thomas Homan Mulock, father of Mrs. 
Boviltht o. was bom in Dublin, Ireland, in 1811, 
and was educated at Trinity College, Dublin, 
and the College of Physicians at London, Eng 



land. In 1837 he settled at Newmarket, County 
York, Ont., later removing to Bondhead, where 
he died in 1S47. His wife was Miss Mary Caw- 
thra, a member of an old and prominent family 
of Ontario, and daughter of John Cawthra, 
merchant of North York. Dr. Mulock was 
married to Miss Cawthra in 1838, and they be 
came the parents of five children: John (de 
ceased) ; Marian, Mrs. Boultbee; Hon. Sir Wil 
liam; Sarah T. (deceased), wife of G. W. 
Lount, a barrister of Osgoode Hall, Toronto; 
and Rosamond P., now Mrs. G. W. Monk, of 
Toronto. 

To Mr. and Mrs. Boultbee were born eleven 
children, several of whom died young. The 
following grew to maturity: Dr. Alfred, of To 
ronto, married Edith Hannaford, imd has four 
children, Michael, William, Constance and John 
H. Marian married Dr. Longfield Smith, of 
Barbados, West Indies, and died in 1905, leav 
ing two children, Joyce and Rosamond. Will 
Mulock, a barrister of Toronto, married Mar 
garet Amy Douglas, of Bampton, Oxford, Eng 
land, and their children are Charles D., Kli/a- 
beth M., Thomas F. and William S. Horace, a 
journalist on the Mail, married Nan Greer, of 
loronto, and they have one child, Richard Greer. 
Miss Rosamond and Miss Gladys are at home. 
All but the two last named were born in India. 

Mr. Boultbee was a consistent member of the 
Church of England, to the faith of which Mrs. 
Boultbee and the family also adhere. Frater 
nally he was connected with St. George s Soci 
ety. He was an ardent lover of chess, and for 
many years president of the Chess Club o On 
tario. 

HUSON MURRAY, M.A., K.C., of Toronto, 
is of Scotch extraction, and the first of his fam 
ily of whom anything definite is known is his 
grandfather, William Murray, who, trading 
from a branch of the House of Murray (Athoi), 
bears the same arms. He went to the Barbados, 
where he died. His wife was Keturah Shepherd 
Bruce, a lineal descendant of Lord Elgin, and 
their children were: William Murray, manager 
of the Colonial Bank, Barbados, and Davidson 
Ainnro Murray. 

In 1835 Davidson Munro Murray, the father 
of the subject of this article, located in Toronto, 
uhm> he lived retired until his death, in 1851. 
He was in the service in the rebellion of 1837- 
38. holding the rank of captain. He married 
Mary Ann ITuson, daughter of George Hu- 
son, and they had these children: Marion Bruce, 
who died in Toronto, unmarried: Huson Mur 
ray: William Davidson, of Toronto; Davidson 
Tullamore Wells, deceased; Keturah Shepherd 
Bruce, wife of Samuel Clark Duncan, of To- 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



19 



ronto ; Hannah Jane Emily Maud, and Gertrude 
Louisa Anne, who died several years ago. 

Huson Murray was born in Toronto in 1835, 
and was graduated with the degrees of B.A. and 
M.A. from Trinity University in 1855. He later 
received his M.S., after which he read law with 
John Hillyard Cameron, and was called to the 
Bar in 1859, since when he has been engaged in 
active practice in his native city. In 1889 Mr. 
Murray was made a K.C. He was a bencher of 
the Law Society for ten years, and chairman of 
the finance committee. Mr. Murray has been 
identified with the Protestant Orphans Home 
for many years. 

In 1860 Mr. Murray married Miss Eliza M. 
A. Heward, daughter of Francis Harris Hew 
ard, and grand-niece of the late Sir John Bever- 
ley Robinson, Baronet, and to this union hove 
been born: Charles Bruce Munro, broker and a 
prominent Mason, married Charlotte Grand; 
J\rthur Huson, manager of the Imperial Bank 
at Brantford, married Sybille Walker, daughter 
of Capt. Henry Walker, and they have two 
children, Duthga Muriel and Henry; Athol F. 
B., with the Imperial Bank of Fergus, married 
Sybil Sinclaire; Louisa Frances is the wife of 
< ;<>orge H. Jones, and they have two children, 
Percival Heward and Herbert Francis; Emma 
Mabel is the wife of Stephen Y. Baldwin, and 
has two children, Leslie Murray and Stephanie 
Victoria ; and Lillian Grace Louise is at home. 
The family are members of the Church of Eng 
land. Mr. Murray is a Conservative. 

THOMAS RIDOUT settled in York, now To 
ronto, in 1797, and was therefore one of its 
earliest inhabitants. He was born in Sherborne, 
Dorsetshire, England, March 17, 1754. The 
Ridouts were originally from France, but had 
settled in England early in the sixteenth cen- 
lary, a coat of arms being granted them in the 
reign of Henry VII. George Ridout, father of 
Thomas, was born in 1703 at Henstridge. Som 
erset, where the family had a small estate, but 
he married and settled in Sherborne, Dorset 
shire, where he brought up his numerous fam 
ily. The boys were educated at the famous 
siierborne Grammar School, and the eldest son 
John, after taking his degree at Oxford, left 
England for America as secretary to Horatio 
Rharpe, Governor of Maryland. He became a 
member of the King s Council of that Province, 
and acquired a larjre property there. To this 
brother, in 1774. Thomas Ridout, then twenty 
years of age, was sent. 

It was at an exciting time in American history, 
when the tea tax was the absorbing question, 
and by ill fortune, the youth had, as a fellow- 
passenger, the merchant who had shipped a few 



weeks before some tea to Annapolis against the 
rales of the Convention. On arriving at New 
York this merchant learned that his ship, the 
"Peggy Stewart," had been burned, and that 
his life was in danger from the enraged popu 
lace. Thomas Ridc-ut, who was in his company, 
had also a narrow escape from ill treatment, but 
was befriended by Hugh Wallace, a leading 
merchant in New York, who sent him off to Ann 
apolis. For some time Thomas took charge of 
his brother s plantations in Maryland, and then 
was provided by him with capital to trade in 
tobacco and sugar between the West Indies and 
France. Trading on the! high seas between 
1775 and 1785 was a dangerous pursuit, for 
there were always privateers ready for a chase, 
and with captures and wrecks Thomas Riclout s 
ventures were not successful. He returned to 
Annapolis determnied to seek his fortunes in the 
western settlements of Kentucky, and was pro 
vided by General Washington with letters of 
introduction to various well-known people there. 
It was in the summer of 1787 that he set off, 
but near the falls of the Ohio his party were 
taken prisoners by the Shawenese Indians. His 
companions were massacred, but his life was 
spared, and he spent several months as a pris 
oner among them, wandering with the triba 
through the dense forests of the (then) far 
West. He at last reached the neighborhood of 
Detroit, where there was an English garrison. 
By the connivance of an Indian friend and 
master he escaped, and was warmly received by 
the officers of the 53rd Regiment, who provided 
him with clothing and took him with them to 
Montreal. 

There Mr. Ridout, as his Journal relates, was 
kindly received by Lord Dorchester. Sir John 
Johnson and others, who interested themselves 
in the "engaging stranger," as the Montreal 
Gazette, of Aug. 21, 1788, names him. He re 
ceived from Lord Dorchester an appointment in 
the commissariat, and shortly afterward, on 
May 26, 1789, married Mary Campbell, a daugh 
ter "of Alexander Campbell, an U. E. Loyalist of 
the Bay of Quinte. 

Mr. Ridout then proceeded to Newark, then 
the seat of government, where he was employed 
in the Commissary Department, and also in the 
Surveyor-General s office. In 1794 he was made 
a. public notary and sergeant-at-arms to the 
House of Assembly. In 1796 a registry office was 
established for the Home district, and Thomas 
Ridout was appointed the first registrar. In 
1797 he removed to York, and the office was 
established in his own house. He held it until 
1811. In 1800 he was made clerk of the peace 
for the Home district, and clerk of the District 
Court. From 1799 to 1800 he was joint acting 



20 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



surveyor-general with Mr. Chewett, and again 
from 1802 to 1807. In 1810 Thomas Ridout 
was appointed Surveyor-General of Upper Can 
ada, and in 1812 was elected Member of Parlia 
ment for the West Riding of York, and in 1824 
was called to a seat in the Legislative Council 
of Upper Canada. 

The Ridout family homestead in York was on 
Duke street, east of Princess, and extended north 
to Duchess street. The house was of frame. 
There was a large garden and orchard attached, 
and some fine trees shaded the house. A pen 
picture of Mr. Ridout as he appeared during the 
last years of his life, is given by Dr. Scadding: 
"Among the venerable heads and ancestral 
forms which recur to us, as we gaze down in 
imagination from the galleries of the old wooden 
St. James of York, we will single out that of 
Mr. Ridout, some time Surveyor-General of the 
Province, father of a numerous progeny, ;md 
tribal head, so to speak, of more than one fam 
ily of connections settled here bearing the same 
name. He was a perfect picture of a cheerful, 
benevolent-minded Englishman, of portly form, 
well advanced in years, his hair snowy white 
naturally, his usual costume of antique style." 

A son of an elder brother of Surveyor-Gen 
eral Ridout emigrated to Canada with his fam 
ily early in the nineteenth century, and also set 
tled in York. Of this branch were Joseph D. 
Ridout and George Perceval Ridout and Lionel 
Ridout, of London, Ontario. 

Thomas Ridout died Feb. 8, 1829, in the sev 
enty-fifth year of his age. It was the time when 
an epitaph was always considered necessary, 
and his is to be found carved on a flat stone in 
the church yard of St. James Cathedral: 

"The kind and exemplary father of a num 
erous family, who loved and revered him and 
mourned his departure, the faithful servant of 
Government for nearly forty years, he en 
deared himself to the inhabitants of Upper Can 
ada, and so won their affections by his unre 
mitting attentions to their interests and un 
wearied courtesy to themselves, that they justly 
considered him an ornament to the colony. To 
a highly cultivated mind he added the most pol 
ished manners, and, what was far better, 
the meekness and humility of a Christian look 
ing forward in faith to a blessed immortality." 

HENRY PELLATT, re-siding at No. 349 Sher- 
bourne street, Toronto, has been identified with 
the business interests of the city for many 
years. Mr. Pellatt was born in Glasgow, Scot 
land, of English parents, in the year 1830, being 
a son of Mil! Pellatt and Maria (Wyld) Pellatt. 
both of whom lived and died in London, Eng 
land, where the father carried on business on 
King "William street as a wine merchant. 



Mr. Pellatt was educated in London, Eng 
land, and commenced his business career there as 
a clerk in the Royal Bank, of which his uncle, 
Apsley Pellatt, was a director, but while still 
under age he came to Canada, and obtained his 
first position here in the Bank of British North 
America, at Kingston, Ont, in the year 1850. 
Shortly afterwards, however, he transferred to 
the Bank of Upper Canada, in Kingston, remov 
ing later to the head office in Toronto, where he 
continued till that bank was taken over by the 
Government. Mr. Pellatt then, to enlarge his 
opportunities, opened an office as a share broker, 
and soon after secured as his partner Mr. E. B. 
Osier, now at the head of the well-known firm of 
Osier & Hammond. They remained in business 
together for some years, establishing a very large 
and profitable connection. 

Mr. Pellatt s energy and enterprise were 
shown early in his business life, and he it was, 
in the first days of the firm of Pellatt & Osier, 
who obtained the necessary stock subscriptions 
in various cities and towns in the Province for 
the organization of both the Dominion and Im 
perial Banks. In the year 1882 Mr. Osier with 
drew from the firm, and Sir Henry Mill Pellatt 
was taken into the partnership by his father, 
under the name of Pellatt & Pellatt. A suc 
cessful business was carried on by them until 
1892, when Mr. Pellatt retired from public life, 
having since devoted his time to private busi 
ness, retaining control of his own affairs and 
some few financial interests which prevailed 
upon him to continue his valuable services on 
their behalf. 

On leaving Kingston for Toronto Mr. P^llatt 
was presented, by his fellow citizens, a handsome 
silver plate, dated Sept. 1st, 1859, the public ad 
dress being made by the Catholic Bishop of 
Kingston ; he received also on that occasion a 
Special Testimonial, signed by the leading pub 
lic men of Kingston, among whom were the 
Bishop of Kingston, Sir Henry Smith, 0. S. Gil- 
dersleeve, James Harty, Henry W. Anglin, the 
Ven. Archdean Stewart, and Thomas Kirkpat- 
rick; to further illustrate the h: : gh esteem in 
which he was held while still so young, he re 
ceived the following letter from his bank asso 
ciates, dated Sept. fith. 1859: 

Dear Sir, 

On the occasion of your removal to the Head Office 
of the Bank of Upper Canada, we, the undersigned 
members of the Kingston Branch, pray you to accept 
the accompanying Gold Pencil as a small token of our 
esteem, and with best wishes for the welfare and hap 
piness of yourself and family, wo remain. 
Your sincere friends. 

W. G. HINDS, Cashier, 
W. G. GBASETT, 
.T. P. BURROWS. 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



21 



In Toronto Mr. Pellatt interested himself with 
the Hon. G. W. Allan, J. D. Ellis, E. A. Scad- 
ding, and others, in taking charge of the Horti 
cultural Gardens, then presented to the city by 
Mr. Allan. He was made secretary -treasurer, 
and worked indefatigably with those gentlemen 
for many years in preserving that property and 
developing it for the benefit of the citizens; 
they built the first pavilion in the center and 
held concerts, operas, etc., and obtained the 
needed funds for conservatories, for a new pa 
vilion when the old one was burned down, for 
fencing and other purposes, until the Gardens 
were taken over finally in a prosperous condi 
tion by the city council; for all this he was 
warmly commended by the citizens. 

Mr. Pellatt held positions as auditor for the 
Northern Railway Company, the Consumers Gas 
Company, and the Canada Permanent Loan & 
Savings Company, three of the then largest 
financial institutions in the Province. He was a 
director of the British Canadian Loan & Invest 
ment Company, and is now vice-president of the 
Ontario & Qu Appelle Land Company, and di 
rector of the Victoria Rolling Stock Company 
and the Dominion Telegraph Company. Mr. 
Pellatt was the active inangurator and first 
president of the Toronto Stock Exchange, estab 
lished in 1878, holding that position for three 
years; associated with him in that important 
move for the brokers \vere Messrs. Fred Sio\ve, 
J. L. Blaikie, C. S. Gzowski, C. J. Campbell, W. 
G. Cassels, E. B. Osier, R. H. Temple, and 
others. 

This life sketch -would be very incomplete 
without particular reference to the personal 
character of Mr. Pellatt. ~VYe see that he was 
successful in business, and in such connections 
was recognized as a man of high personal honor 
and business integrity, and in private and social 
life he has exhibited qualities which have at 
tracted admiration, by his ready wit and always 
genial humor, his kindness of heart, his hos 
pitality and benevolence. He was one of ihe 
oldest and most popular members of the Toronto 
Club, also one of the first members of the Royal 
Canadian Ta.cht Club, and with Mr. Beverley 
Jones planted the first of the trees which now 
beautify the Island Clubhouse. He obtained the 
subscriptions, ov most of thorn. J or the building 
of St. Peter s Church, of which church he is 
K!ill a member, and from the beginning he- was 
the strongest supporter of the late Archdeacon 
Boddy in the work of that church, assisting it 
CTiienmsly by his contributions and personal 
labors throughout its history. V.? was a warden 
tor ninny years, and on retiring was pi esentcd 
a handsome clock. The Home lor Incurables 
has always been a special object of his charity. 



To this institution he has been a real benefactor 
by his donations and active support, to say noth 
ing of the annual oyster supper, which he has 
never failed to give. Many other objects of his 
charity could be mentioned. In politics Mr. 
i ellatt is a staunch Conservative, though of late 
years he has not taken any active part in such 
matters. 

In the year 1854, in Kingston, Mr. Pellatt 
married Emma M. Holland, who died in Orillia 
in November, 1901. Their children are as fol 
lows : Kate, the wife of Col. R. B. Hamilton ; 
Miriam, wife of II. E. Morphy, barrister, of 
Oshawa; Emily, wife of E. R. Rogers, of To 
ronto Junction ; Lt.-Col. Sir Henry Mill Pellatt, 
A.D.C. ; Fred, who served in the South African 
war and was taken prisoner at Harts river; 
and the youngest son, Mill. 

AVhen Mr. Pellatt came to Toronto, in 1859, 
the site of his present house was a wilderness, 
known as "Ridouts Bush"; purchasing this 
property, he cleared it of trees and graded the 
land, and in 1870 erected the handsome resi 
dence where he now lives. He has built other 
dwellings adjacent to his home, but prides him 
self most of all upon his picturesque summer 
resort upon the shores of Lake Couchiching, 
near Orillia. Here it has been a labor of love 
during twenty-two years to beautify and enrich 
the house and grounds for the pleasure of his 
children and grandchildren, who annually meet 
there with their many friends. The place is al 
ways greatly admired for its admirable situa 
tion, its natural beauty, its running streams, its 
drives, tennis courts and croquet lawns, while 
its flowers, fruits and vegetables are the very 
best products of skilled cultivation. A steam 
launch and smaller pleasure boats add to the 
attractions of this delightful place. 

Mr. Pellatt is now in his seventy-eighth year, 
and in comparatively good health and spirits. 

WALTER MILLAR ROSS, for many years 
a prominent figure at Osgoode Hall, was born 
in Montreal in 1834, and died in Toronto in 
1882. Ho was a son of John Ross, of Scotch ex 
traction, the founder of the family in Canada. 

Some time after coming to Canada John Ross 
came into possession of Bourdon Island, near 
Montreal, in the St. Lawrence river, and also 
owned and conducted the ferry line between this 
Island and the mainland. Both he and his wife 
died in Montreal. 

"Walter M. Ross was educated in Kingston, 
and about 1858 came to Toronto, where he be 
came taxing officer at Osgoode Hall. He later 
became clerk of the process, with offices at Os 
goode Hall, and this position he filled until his 
death. 



22 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



In 1858 Mr. Ross married Miss Sarah N. Buell, 
daughter of the late A. N. and Calcina (Rich 
ards) BuelL Mr. Buell was born in Canada, 
and his wife in the United States. He was a son 
of an United Empire Loyalist, who settled in 
Brockville, during the times of the American 
Revolution, receiving a grant of land from the 
Crown, and there both he and his wife died. A. 
N. Buell, father of Mrs. Ross, was born in 1798, 
and became one of the well-known barristers of 
Ontario. In 1849 he located in Toronto, and 
received the appointment of master in chan 
cery, a position he ably filled for twenty years. 
He continued in the service of the Crown until 
his superannuation, and died in Toronto in 
1881. His wife, who was born in 1809. died in 
Toronto in 1853. They had three daughters: 
Mrs. Hare, Mrs. Alexander Cameron, and Mrs. 
Ross. Mr. and Mrs. Buell were members of the 
Church of England. He was a Reformer, and 
a decided anti-Family Compact advocate. 

Mr. and Mrs. Ross had three children : Elven 
Walter, Andrew Norton Buell and Mabel Elsie. 
The family are members of the Church of Eng 
land. Mr. Ross was prominent in Masonic cir 
cles of Toronto, in which order he was very pop 
ular. His political preferences were with the 
Conservatives. 

HON. LYMAN MELVIN-JONES, President 
and General Manager of the Massey-Harris 
Company, Limited, of Toronto, which enjoys the 
unique distinction of being the largest concern 
engaged in the manufacture of agricultural im 
plements under the British flag, was born in 
York County, Ont., where he was educated. His 
father was a farmer in that district. In 1868 
he entered into the mercantile business at Bee- 
ton, Simcoe County. In 1873 he gave up busi 
ness there, going to Brantford to take a posi 
tion with Messrs. A. Harris, Son & Company, 
manufacturers. Four years later he was ad 
mitted to partnership, and in 1879 he moved 
to Winnipeg, where he assumed the management 
of the company s business in Manitoba and the 
North-West Territories. 

In 1881, when the firm of A. Harris, Son & 
Company became a joint-stock company, under 
the name of A. Harris, Son & Company, Lim 
ited, he was elected a director. In 188(1, he 
was elected an alderman of the city of Winni 
peg, and appointed chairman of the Finance 
committee. He became mayor of that city in 
1887, and was elected vice-president of the Board 
of Trade. He was re-elected mayor in 1888, and 
in January of that year, upon the defeat of Ibe 
Provincial Government, he accepted a portfolio 
in the new Liberal Government, as Provincial 
Treasurer, and represented the County of Shoal 



Lake. During the year he negotiated in Lon 
don, England, the first Provincial loan of 
$1,500,000, to build a competing line of railway 
to Winnipeg, Brandon and Portage la Prairie. 
In the general election of 1888 he was elected 
to represent North Winnipeg. 

Resigning his position of Provincial Treas 
urer in 1889, but retaining his seat in the Legis 
lature until the end of the term, he returned to 
the city of Brantford to accept the position of 
general manager of his company, which had been 
rendered vacant by the sudden death of Mr. 
John Harris. 

Upon the formation of the Massey-Hams 
Company, Limited, in 1891, Senator Melvin- 
Jones came to Toronto, was elected a director, 
and appointed general manager of the consoli 
dated companies, which position he has ever 
since occupied, and has now also become the 
president of the company. In 1893 he became 
a member of the Toronto Board of Trade. lie 
is a director of the Verity Plow Company, Lim 
ited, of Brantford, and is president of the Bain 
Wagon Company, Limited, of Woodstock, and 
in both of these associate companies he takes an 
active interest. He is also a director of the Can 
adian Bank of Commerce and the Nova Scotia 
Steel & Coal Company. He is a large share 
holder and a director of the Canada Cycle and 
Motor Company, Limited, a shareholder in sev 
eral other manufacturing companies, and in n 
number of mining companies. In 1901 he was 
called to the Senate. 

Senator Melvin-Jones is a. member of the To 
ronto Club, the National Club, the Country and 
Hunt Club, the Royal Canadian Yacht Club, the 
Victoria Club, all of Toronto; Rideau, Ottawa- 
Grosvenor, London, England; a life member of 
the Toronto Cricket Club, and a director of the 
Ontario Jockey Club. He has always shown a 
great interest in cricket, and encouraged the 
practice and development of that manly game, 
besides supporting golf and other- healthy sports 
and pastimes. 

In 1882, Senator Melvin-Jones married 
Louise, a daughter of Thomas Irwin. They have 
one daughter, Eallien Melvin-Jones. The Sen 
ator is a member of the Presbyterian Church. 
He can well be reckoned among 1he most repre 
sentative Canadians of his time. 

FRANK EDWIN PRINCE TURNER, a re 
tired civil engineer, residing at Bracondale, just 
outside of the limits of Toronto, is a member 
of the very prominent English family of that 
name a family founded in Canada by the 
father of our subject, Robert John Turner. 

Rev. Richard Turner, grandfather of Frank 
E. P., was a minister at St. Nicholas Church, 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



23 



Great Yarmouth, England, for thirty years. 
Jlis brother Joseph was, dean of Norwich Cath 
edral for many years, and his son. Sir George 
James Turner, was Lord Justice of the Court 
of Common Pleas, Westminster. His brother, 
Sir Charles, was master of the Queen s Bench, 
Temple, for many years, and Francis Turner, 
an uncle of our subject, was a prominent bar 
rister and conveyancer, London, England. 
Thomas Turner was the Squire of Lincoln Inn, 
of Colchester, Essex, and William was British 
minister to the United States of Columbia. 

Robert John Turner was born May 12, 1795, 
at Ipswich, England. He was educated in his 
native country, becoming a fine classical scholar, 
and he also read law and became a barrister, 
which profession he followed on coming to Can 
ada. In 1833 he settled for a short time in 
Brantford, whence he went to Kingston, where 
he engaged in the practice of his profession in 
the chancery courts. When these courts were 
removed to Osgoode Hall, Toronto. Mr. Turner 
removed to that city, and erected the fine home 
now occupied by our subject. After coming to 
Toronto Mr. Turner continued his practice at 
Osgoode Hall until he became referee of titles, 
and accountant-general of the Court of Chan 
cery, in which capacity he served until about 
1872. in which year his death occurred. In poli 
tics he was a Baldwin Reformer, and in religion 
he was connected with the Church of England. 
Robert J. Turner married (first) Maria Patrick, 
born in England in 1814, daughter of Thomas 
C. Patrick, an early settler of the County of 
York. To this union were born the following 
children: Maria, wife of Rev. Arthur Boultbee, 
of Ancaster; Mary Emma, who died Feb. 4, 
1906; Frank Edwin Prince; and Robert Charles, 
of Cloughfold, England. The mother of these 
children died in 1843, and for his second wife 
Mr. Turner married Mrs. Walter Rose, by whom 
he had three children, namely: George Richard. 
of Iowa; Thomas William, of Kansas City. Mis 
souri: and Charles Conrad, of Winnipeg, Mani 
toba. 

Frank Edwin Prince Turner was born at 
Brantford, April 13, 1838, and was educated at 
the Upper Canada College, after which he be 
came connected with the firm of Jackson, Peto, 
Brassey & Betts, railroad contractors for the 
Grand Trunk Railway. Here Mr. Turner re 
mained five years, becoming a civil engineer. 
His first work outside of local (Ontario) mat 
ters, was in Brazil, South America, where, with 
engineer Patrick Ogilvie. he constructed the 
Bahia & San Francisco railroad. After five and 
one-half years Mr. Turner went to London, Eng 
land, and engaged on the London, Chatham & 
Dover railroad, as chief assistant engineer, in 



which capacity he continued for three years. He 
then embarked in business in London, England, 
on his own account, and as contractor for the 
Metropolitan Board of Works, constructed ex 
tensive sewers in London. In 1869 he went to 
Honduras, Central America, as chief engineer 
for Waring Bros. & McCandlish, and built the 
first section of the Honduras Inter Oceanic Rail 
road from Puerto Caballos to the Rio Veiita. 
The work on the second section was cut off on 
account of a revolution, and Mr. Turner returned 
to Toronto, whence he went, in 1874. to Buenos 
Ayres, Argentine Republic, as chief engineer 
aiicl agent for Clark, Punehard & Co., and built 
the railroad from Buenos Ayres to the Port of 
Campana. In 1880 Mr. Turner went to Para- 
hyba. Brazil, and built for Wilson, Sons & Co., 
the Conde D Eu Railroad, on the completion of 
which in 1882 he returned to his Toronto home, 
and has since lived retired at Bracondale, in 
the old homestead built by his father, which our 
subject now owns. 

Not only as an engineer is Mr. Turner well 
known in Toronto and the County of York, but 
as a public official as well. In 1882 he was 
elected deputy reeve of York township, and was 
a member of the county council. In 1883 he was 
elected by acclamation; and again so elected in 
1901 and 1903, and is at the present time an 
honored member of that august body. From 
1882 to 1892 Mr. Turner was president of the 
Albany Conservative Club, and since the latrer 
year has been honorary vice-president. He is 
a life member of St. George s Society and of the 
Sons of England, and he is also connected with 
the Masonic fraternity. In 1863 he became an 
associate member of the. Institute of Civil En- 
.gineers, Great George street, London, England. 
He was a member of the first board of direct 
ors of the Empire, now the Mail and Empire, of 
Toronto. 

FREDERICK WILLIAM JARVIS, Sheriff 
of the Counties of York and Peel for thirty 
years, was one of Toronto s best known and most 
esteemed citizens. He was born at the old Jar- 
vis homestead in the township of Toronto Febru 
ary the 7th, 1818. He came of a U. E. Loyal 
ist family. His grandfather was in command 
of a troop of horse in the American Rebellion, 
and at the close of the war he went to New 
Brunswick, settling there in 1783. Some years 
after the family came to this part of the coun 
try. 

Mr. Stephen Jarvis and Secretary Jarvis were 
first cousins of the same stock as the well-known 
Bishop Jarvis of Connecticut and the Church 
historian, Dr. Samuel Farmer Jarvis. Both 
were officers in incorporated Colonial regiments. 



24 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



Both came to Canada as United Empire Loyal 
ists, and were the founders of the leading Can 
adian family to which the first Sheriff Jarvis 
belonged. 

Mr. Samuel Peters Jarvis. from whom Jarvis 
street has its name, was the son of Secretary 
Jarvis. 

Starr Jarvis, father of the second Sheriff, set 
tled in the township of Toronto, and his brother 
William Botsford Jarvis became Sheriff of the 
county. Another brother afterward Judge 
Jarvis of Cornwall, Out. was in the militia and 
was wounded and taken prisoner at the battle 
of Queenston Heights, where General Brock was 
killed. He married Miss Crawford, of Brock- 
ville, who died leaving one son and five daugh 
ters. After her death he married Miss Moun 
tain, a relative of the first Bishop of Lower Can 
ada, who left two sons: Satter Mountain, a bar 
rister, and Arthur, a clergyman of the Episco 
pal Church. 

Young F. W. Jarvis was educated at Upper 
Canada College. On leaving he undertook the 
management of his father s large farm, but after 
some years left to become Deputy Sheriff. At 
the death of his uncle, who had occupied the of 
fice for twent} years, he succeeded him. His 
appointment was very popular, and he received 
warm letters of congratulation from many 
prominent lawyers and citizens of Ontario. Be 
fore coming to Toronto, he married a daughter 
of Captain Skynner, British R. N.* 

Frederick William Jarvis had five children. 
The eldest died very young. His only daughter 
married Rev. R. L. Brydges, formerly of this 
city, but now rector of St. Mark s Church, Islip, 
New York. His eldest son lives in the United 
States. His second, Frederick Clarence, is a 
barrister in Toronto. The youngest, Edmund 
Meredith, is in the Crown Lands Office. 

The Sheriff witnessed many exciting inci 
dents of Toronto s early life. He had charge 
of a number of prisoners taken during th> 
Fenian Invasion. During the rebellion of 1837. 
he served in the Queen s Rangers, was appointed 



*Captain Skynner had led an adventurous life, enter 
ing the navy as midshipman when very young. On one 
occasion ho was taken prisoner in Egypt, but made his 
escape and slept in caves three nights with a stone for 
his pillow, lie had shared the perils of Nelson s career 
and been in all his battles but that of Trafalgar, missing 
which was the regret of his life. But on that occasion 
lie was on one of the ships sent to recounoiter. On the 
death of Nelson and close of the war he was given the 
command of a ship of war to protect the commerce of 
the Mediterranean, then infested with pirates, and re 
mained in that position for several years. On leaving 
he was presented a handsome piece of plate "by The 
Merchants and others residing in Malta as a token of 
respect for his very meritorious conduct and unremitted 
attention to the numerous convoys under his charge while 
in the Mediterranean." He was also given two rewards 
of honour. 



Captain in the First Battalion of York Militi-". 
by Lord Elgin, and received a further commis 
sion from Lord Elgin, appointing him Captain 
of the Third Battalion of Toronto Militia, in 
August, 1852. He was called out in active serv 
ice, and was one of those who saw the "Caro 
line" go over the Falls. He marched up Yonge 
street under arms with the Infantry, at the time 
of the burning of Montgomery s tavern, in 1837. 
In private life he was a quiet, courteous gen 
tleman, respected and popular with those who 
knew him best. He was for many years a mem 
ber of St. Peter s Church, Carlton street, a 
churchwarden, and a delegate to the Synod; a 
strong supporter of Wycliffe College and mem 
ber of the Council. He was deeply interested in 
the Mimico Industrial School and a number of 
charities. 

HENRY ST. GEORGE BALDWIN. While 
Toronto numbers among its residents many 
whose families have been identified with the his 
tory of Ontario from its earliest days, there are 
few who can trace their ancestors back for so 
many generations in the old country as can 
Henry St. George Baldwin, long one of the city s 
well-known business men, but who for some 
years has been living retired at No. 50 Lowther 
; i venue. 

The Baldwin family has been established in 
Canada for over a century, but was originally 
from Ireland, where, perhaps, the best known 
among the Baldwin progenitors was John, who 
was mayor of Cork in 1736-37. John Baldwin 
was descended from Henry, through Thomas, 
James and John, the last named of whom mar 
ried Miss Catherine Corliss. John Baldwin, 
mayor of Cork, married Bai-bara, daughter of 
William Spread, of Cork, by whom he had six 
teen children. Of this family nine came to Can 
ada. Only two out of this large family were 
sons, and the younger, who became well-known 
in Toronto as the Hon. Robert Baldwin, was 
the founder of the name in Canada. He was 
born in Ireland Aug. 21, 1741, crossed the ocean 
in 170i). and settled in Toronto, where he died 
Nov. 24, 1816. With all the later growth of the 
city, which in his day was called York, and with 
its gradual transformation from a region of 
frog-ponds and forests to a city of beautiful 
streets and handsome residences, the Baldwins 
have been largely concerned. 

Dr. William Warren Baldwin, son of Robert, 
was horn near Cork, April 25, 1775, and on com 
ing to Canada, first lived on a farm in Clarke 
township, but within a few years moved to 
Toronto and there followed the professions of 
both law and medicine. For some time he acted 
as judge in that city. His political principles 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



2 ) 



were those of the Reform party. On May 31, 
1803, Dr. William W. Baldwin was married to 
Miss Margaret Phoebe Willcocks, like himself a 
native of the city of Cork. Both were members 
of the Church of England. The children born 
to them were as follows: Robert, born May 12, 
1804 (who died Dec. 9, 1858) ; Augustus Wil 
liam, 1805 (who died in infancy) ; Henry, Jan. 
7, 1807 (who died May 12, 1820) ; William A., 
Sept. 4, 1808 (deceased June 14, 1883) ; Quet- 
ton St. George, Jan. 4, 1810 (deceased Nov. 30, 
1829). 

William Augustus Baldwin was born in To 
ronto and was educated in that city by Bishop 
Strachan. On attaining manhood he became a 
farmer and started out on Lots 22 and 23. Con 
cession 2, near the Bay, which he cleared up 
from bush land into valuable farming property. 
His death in 1883 occurred on this old home 
stead. William A. and also his brother Robert, 
who was for many years Attorney-General for 
Canada, were members of the Reform party in 
politics. William A. Baldwin s first wife was 
Miss Isabella Clark Buchanan, daughter of 
James Buchanan, who was at one time British 
Consul at New York. She bore her husband the 
following children: Phoebe, Mrs. LeFrey, de 
ceased; Henry St. George; James Buchanan; 
William Augustus; Robert Russell; Aemelius; 
and Isabella Elizabeth. After Mrs. Baldwin s 
death, her husband was united to Miss Margaret 
Fry Macleod, who was born in the Isle of Skye, 
and who is still living, a resident of Toronto. To 
this union children were born as follows: Jane: 
Elizabeth A.; Anna Maria; Martin Macleod; 
Lawrence Hayden; Margaret Macleod; Norman 
Macleod and Charles John Macleod, all born on 
the old farm home. 

Henry St. George Baldwin was born in 1837, 
and he received his education in Upper Canada 
College. For a while after completing his stud 
ies he remained at home on the farm, and then 
lie entered the Bank of Toronto, where for twen 
ty-two years he held prominent positions. Since 
severing his connection with the bank Mr. Bald 
win has been engaged in looking after his own 
property and the estate left by his father. His 
marriage occurred in 1869, when he was united 
with Miss Amelia Sarah Pentland, born in Que 
bec, daughter of W. G. Pentland, deceased, of 
Cobourg. 

Mr. and Mrs. Baldwin are the parents of three 
children, only two of whom are living. The old 
est son, Bertram St. George, was born in Mont 
real, and died in Toronto. Harold Augustus. 
born in Toronto, is in the London Lancaster Fire 
Insurance Company of that city. The daughter. 
Ethel Isabella, is at home. The family are mem 
bers of the Church of England. In politics Mr. 



Baldwin is a strong and ardent Conservative. 
The home at No. 50 Lowther avenue was built 
by Mr. Baldwin in 1878. He sustains an ad 
mirable reputation, both morally and financially, 
u nd the family are among the most esteemed 
i<t Toronto s residents. 

JOHN RYAN. The late John Ryan, of To 
ronto, was well known as a prominent railway 
contractor. He was born Dec. 25, 1834, in 
Doone, County Tipperary, Ireland, and died 
March 21, 1902, at his residence, No. 621 Jarvis 
street, Toronto, Ontario. In 1843 the family emi 
grated from Ireland, and settled in the Province 
of Quebec. 

At an early age Mr. Ryan was interested in 
the construction of portions of the Grand Trunk, 
the Chicago & Alton, the Brockville & Ottawa, 
and the Intercolonial railways, the Ottawa wa 
terworks, etc. ; and from 1879 to 1882 built one 
hundred miles of the Canadian Pacific, west of 
Winnipeg. It was during the building of this 
piece of work that the first locomotive was 
brought into Winnipeg. This was accomplished 
by laying a track on the ice across the river from 
St. Boniface. In 1883-84 Mr. Ryan engaged in 
the construction of the Ontario & Quebec rail- 
M ay. From 1889 to 1895 he was associated with 
bis brother, the late Mr. Hugh Ryan, and with 
Mr. M. J. Haney. of Toronto, in the construc 
tion of the Sault Ste. Marie canal, and in 1897- 
98, with Mr. Allan R. Macdonell, of Montreal, 
successfully completed the locks at Cascade 
Point, on the Soulanges canal. It will thus be 
seen that Mr. Ryan was one of the most extens 
ive contractors in Canada ; he was also a prom 
inent resident of the Province, and was well 
known throughout the Dominion. 

In 1863 Mr. Ryan married Miss Margaret Isa 
bella, fourth daughter of Roderick McSweeu, of 
Brockville, Ont. Mr. and Mrs. Ryan resided in 
Brockville over thirty years, and were devoted 
and loyal citizens, deeply interested in its wel 
fare and advancement. In 1894 the family 
moved to Toronto. Mrs. Ryan died April 24, 
1906. Five children survived her, namely: 
Helen Margaret, wife of Allan R. Macdonell, 
of .Montreal: Roderick McSween ; Hugh Alex 
ander: Isobel Margaret, and John Raymond. 
Mr. and Mrs. Ryan were members of the Roman 
Catholic Church. During Mr. Ryan s short 
residence in Toronto he became a member of 
the board of trustees of the General and of St. 
Michael s Hospital, and a director of the Home 
Saving and Loan Company, and of the Catholic 
Charities Board. 

FREDERICK ELDON DIXON, who died 
verv suddonlv in Toronto. Nov. 13. 1905. was 



26 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



engaged in the leather belting business in that 
city at No. 30 Wellington street east. 

The Dixons are of Scotch descent, and have 
the same crest, etc., as the Homer Dixons. In 
1690 one of the Dicksons went over to Ireland 
and raised a troop of horse, taking part in the 
battle of the Boyne, in which he lost an arm. 
For his services in the King s army King Wil 
liam III. granted him a large tract of land in 
County Tyrone, Ireland, which remained in the 
family until the close of the eighteenth century. 
A direct descendant of the founder of the fam 
ily in Ireland was the grandfather of Mr. F. E. 
Dixon, one William Dixon, who was born, lived 
and died in the Emerald Isle. His sons who 
came to Canada were: (1) Alexander; (2) 
Joseph, who was assessor of Toronto for many 
years, had three sons: William, who held the 
rank of major in the Imperial army and died 
some years ago, in Scotland ; the others are now 
living in Toronto, Rev. Canon H. C. Dixon and 
Alexander Dixon of Norwich. Union. 

Alexander Dixon was the father of Frederick 
E. Dixon. He was born in Ireland, Dec. 27, 
1792, and came to Canada in 1830, settling in 
Toronto, where in 1835 he became a member of 
the municipal council in that city, representing 
the St. Lawrence ward from 1835 to 1844 Mr. 
Dixon was for many years engaged in the sad 
dlers hardware trade in Toronto, where he died 
in 1855. In politics he was a Conservative. He 
was a member of the Church of England. In 
1814 Mr. Alexander Dixon married Esther 
O Dwyer, who died in 1877. They had several 
children: Archdeacon Dixon, of Guelph; Wil 
liam, head of the Canadian Emigration Office, 
who died in London, England, in 1873 ; John, 
who was accidentally killed in Toronto in 1903 ; 
Frederick Eldon ; and five daughters. 

Frederick E. Dixon was born in Toronto in 
1834. He was educated at Upper Canada Col 
lege, and after spending some time in different 
lines of work in 1871. established himself as n 
manufacturer of leather belting, in which he 
successfully engaged until his death. 

In 1861 Mr. Dixon joined the "Queen s Own 
Rifles, " serving during the Fenian Raid and re 
ceiving the General Service medal. After seven 
and one half years service he retired with the 
rank of major. 

In 1868 Major Dixon married Miss Marsh, of 
London, Ont., who died in 1893 To this union 
were born : Mrs. II. G. Gillespie ; of New York : 
Harold W. D., who served with the 1st Can 
adian South African Contingent (medal and 
four clasps) and is now in New York; Mrs. Ed 
wards, of England; Lewis, and Eldon, both of 
Toronto. 

In politics Mr. Dixon was a Conservative, and 



in religion a member of the Church of Eng 
land. 

GEOFFREY BOYD, B.A., M.B., a special 
practitioner, living at No. 167 Bloor street east, 
Toronto, is a member of a family of long stand 
ing in this community. He is a son of Sir John 
Boyd, the well-known Canadian jurist, whose 
sketch appears elsewhere. 

Dr. Boyd was born in Toronto in 1867. His 
early education was received in the Upper Can 
ada College, Toronto Collegiate Institute and 
Trinity College School. Returning to Upper 
Canada College, he matriculated in 1884, and 
then went to the University of Toronto, from 
which institution he was graduated in 1888, re 
ceiving the degree of B.A. In 1891 he received 
his M.B., on completing his course in the medi 
cal department. After graduating in medicine 
the Doctor spent one year as house surgeon at 
the Toronto General Hospital, from which posi 
tion he changed to become surgeon on the Can 
adian Pacific Company s steamship, "Empress 
of Japan," plying between Vancouver, B.C., and 
Hong Kong, China. In this capacity Dr. Boyd 
remained one and one-half years, and then, in 
1895, after a few months study in New York, 
settled in his native city, in the general practice 
of his chosen profession. He continued thus 
until 1906, when he gave up general practice 
and confined himself to special work in diseases 
of the ear, nose and throat. 

In 1896 Dr. Boyd and Miss Ethel Farnsworth, 
of Memphis, Tennessee, were united in mar 
riage, and they have had three children : John 
Alexander, Nancy Farnsworth, and Elizabeth. 
Dr. and Mrs. Boyd are members of the Angli 
can Church. 

Dr. Boyd is associate in Laryngology and 
Rhinology in the University of Toronto Medical 
Faculty, and is a member of the staff of both 
the .Toronto General and the Sick Children s 
Hospitals. He is also connected with the vari 
ous country and local medical societies. 

HON. WILLIAM DOUGLAS BALFOUR, 
M.P.P., late Provincial Secretary of the Prov 
ince of Ontario, was born in Forfarsbire, Scot 
land, Aug. 2, 1851, son of David Balfour. a 
member of a Kincardinesbire family, and his 
wife Janet Douglas. In 1857 David Balfour 
and his family settled at St. Catharines, where 
Mr. Balfour engaged in railroading, and where 
he died in 1899, his widow surviving until No 
vember, 1905. 

Of a family of five children, William Dong- 
las Balfour was the eldest. He received his pre 
liminary education in the public schools, and 
supplemented this with a course at Grantham 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



21 



Academy, St. Catharines. At the age of fifteen 
years he began teaching, at which he continued 
for five years, during which time he was con 
nected with the St. Catharines Board of Trade 
and also Librarian of the Mechanics Institute. 
In 1872 Mr. Balfour established the St. Cath 
arines Daily and Weekly News, in partnership 
with Mr. R. Mathesou. This firm dissolved in 
1874, Mr. Balfour removing to Amherstburg, 
where, with John Auld, M.P.P., under the firm 
name of Balfour & Auld, he published the Am 
herstburg Echo. This partnership continued 
until 1885, when a joint stock company was 
formed under the name of the Echo Printing 
Company, Mr. Balfour being president of the 
company, a position he held until his death. In 
1875 Mr. Balfour was elected school trustee of 
Amherstburg, and re-elected for four successive 
years, during which time he was chairman of 
the board. In 1878 he was elected reeve of 
Amherstburg, and was ex-officio .member of the 
county council of Essex, as such serving as the 
chairman of the Finance and Educational com 
mittees, as well as auditor of the criminal justice 
accounts. In 1879 he contested the election for 
South Essex in the local house with Louis Wigle, 
M.P.P., and was defeated, the riding being 
strongly Conservative. Mr. Balfour again con 
tested, the election against Peter Wright, reeve 
of Colchester South, and carried the riding by 
a majority of seventy-two, thus turning the as 
pect of the riding to the Reform party, whose 
principles have since prevailed in the elections 
in that riding. Mr. Balfour s first appearance 
in the local house of Ontario was in 1882. In 
1883 he again took his seat in the local House, 
retiring from the council of Amherstburg. 
This was at the general election of that year, his 
opponent being Thomas B. White, reeve of And- 
erdon township. He served on the following 
committees: Public Accounts, Printing, Munici 
pal Railways and Private Bills. It was Mr. Bal 
four who introduced the bill providing for the 
admission of Delos R. Davis (colored), of Col 
chester, to practise law. This bill met with seri 
ous opposition, but Mr. Balfour carried his 
point, and same became a law. It was mainly 
through his efforts that toll roads were abolish 
ed. For a number of years he was a director of 
the South Essex, Anderdon and Maiden agricul 
tural societies, and he was also a director of the 
South Essex Farmers Institute. He was well 
informed on political history, an able debater, 
and a member to whom the entire House listened 
with attention. Probably Mr. Balfour s greatest 
speech in the Parliament of Ontario was deliv 
ered in 1885, in defense of the late Sir Oliver 
Mowat s Redistribution bill. In 1895 Mr. Bal 
four was Speaker of the House, and in 1896 was 



appointed provincial secretary, a position which 
he was ably filling at the time of his death, which 
occurred in the Parliament Building, Toronto, 
Aug. 19, 1896. 

In 1876 Mr. Balfour was united in marriage 
with Miss Josephine Brodhead, daughter of the 
late Col. T. F. Brodhead, of Grosse Isle, who 
was commander of a Michigan Cavalry Brigade, 
and who lost his life on the field of Manassas, 
Virginia. Colonel Brodhead was born at New 
market, New Hampshire, U.S.A., in 1819, and 
was a gallant soldier, as well as a good citizen 
and a Christian gentleman. He and his wife, 
Archange Macomb, who was born on Grosse Isle, 
Michigan, Jan. 21, 1820, had children as fol 
lows : Mrs. Balfour, John Thornton, Mary Jean- 
ette (now Mrs. J. K. Webster, of Detroit), Ellen 
Macomb, Catherine Julia and Elizabeth Adams 
CMrs. Fred Howard, of Grosse Isle). Archange 
(Macomb) Brodhead was a daughter of William 
and Janet (Mareutette) Macomb (Mr. Macomb s 
first wife was Janet Navarre). William Maeomb 
was a son of William Macomb, Sr., who founded 
the family in the United States. William Mac- 
emb and his brothers, Alexander and John, at 
one time owned Grosse Isle, Sugar Island and 
about one-half of Detroit, Michigan, in which 
city Mrs. Balfour, widow of our subject, was 
born. He owned also the Thousand Islands, in 
the St. Lawrence. 



To the Hon. William D. Balfour and wife the 
following children were born: Thornton B., of 
Amherstburg; Jessie L. ; Mollie W. ; William 
Douglas; David Arthur; Eleanor Macomb; Ed 
ward Blake; and Josephine Archange. In his 
religious faith Mr. Balfour was a Presbyterian, 
and in his fraternal connections a member of 
the I.O.O.F. 

On the death of Mr. Balfour his widow sold 
out his interest in the printing business at Am 
herstburg to Mr. John Auld, and settled in To 
ronto, where she now resides. The popularity 
of the late Mr. Balfour may be seen from the 
fact that he turned a strong Conservative 
riding (South Essex) to a strong Reform con 
stituency. His able speeches in Parliament, 
whii-h were discussed in all the leading papers 
in the Dominion, made his name a household 
word, and the several bills framed by him and 
enacted into laws through the influence of his 
persuasive arguments on the floor of the House 
place him in the front rank of the political lights 
of his day and generation. 

The late Colonel Brodhead, father of Mrs. 
Balfoxir, as he lay wounded after the battle of 
Manassas, wrote to his brother at Washington, 
D.C., the following letter, the words of which 
have subsequently been set to music, appearing 



28 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



in sheet form, with a full page portrait of Col 
onel Brodhead on the front cover: 

" I am passing now from earth, but send you 
love from my dying couch. For all your love 
and kindness you will be rewarded. I have 
fought manfully and now die fearlessly. But 
the Old Flag will triumph yet. The soldiers 
will regild its folds polluted by imbecility and 
treason. I had hoped to have lived longer, but 
I die amid the ring and clangor of battle, as I 
could wish. Farewell. To you, and the noble 
officers of the regiment, I confide my wife and 
children." 

SIR HUGH ALLAN. Probably no firm is 
more widely known than the Allan Steamship 
Company, of which the late Sir Hugh Allan was 
a member and one of the founders. Sir Hugh 
was born in Saltcoats, County of Ayr, Scot 
land, Sept. 29, 1810, second son of the late Capt. 
Alexander Allan, long and favorably known as 
a popular and successful shipmaster between 
the Clyde and Montreal. 

Brought up on the sea coast, his father and 
two brothers sea-faring men, Sir Hugh early be 
came familiar with all things nautical, and on 
selecting a life work he turned naturally to the 
sea. In 1824 his parents removed to Greenock, 
and he became a clerk in the well-known firm 
of Allan, Kerr & Co., acquiring a knowledge of 
the management of ships and the keeping of 
their accounts. At the end of a year, acting on 
paternal advice he came to Canada, sailing from 
Greenock for Montreal April 12, 1826, in the 
brig "Favorite," of which his father was com 
mander. His first three years were spent as 
clerk for William Kerr & Co., in the dry goods 
business, learning bookkeeping in connection 
with commercial affairs. He acquired a thor 
ough knowledge of the French language and im 
proved himself by study. He then determined 
to visit home, but first took what wa,s then a long 
trip, going to New York, and returning by way 
of the Hudson River and Erie canal through 
Buffalo, Niagara Falls, Toronto, etc. Sailing for 
Scotland, he visited also some places in Eng 
land, returning to Montreal in the spring of 
1831. Entering as clerk the firm of James Mil 
lar & Co., engaged in building and sailing ships 
and as commission merchants, he acquired the 
foundation of his knowledge of the business that 
w.-is later of advantage in the development of 
the Allan Steamship Company. Sir Hugh had 
risen from the position of humble clerk to a 
member of the firm, and in 1856 with four 
steamers his own line began operations. The 
history of the development of this line is the his 
tory of Canadian commerce. With the Allan 
Steamship Company Sir Hugh was connected 



until his death, and his sons, Montague of Mont 
real and Brice of Boston, have succeeded their 
father in the business. In addition to his in 
terest in the Allan line Sir Hugh was largely 
interested in various enterprises in Montreal, 
in which city he made his home. He was presi 
dent of the Merchants Bank of Canada; the 
Vale Coal, Iron and Manufacturing Com 
pany; the Thunder Bay Silver Mining Com 
pany; the Canadian Rubber Company; the 
Cornwall Manufacturing Company; the Mont 
real Cotton Company; the Williams Manufac 
turing Company ; the Adams Tobacco Company ; 
the Provincial Loan Company ; the Academy of 
Music Company; the St. Lawrence and Chicago 
Forwarding Company ; the Montreal and West 
ern Land Company; the North- Western Cattle 
Company; the Montreal Telegraph Company; 
the Halifax and Cape Breton Railway and Coal 
Company ; the Citizens Insurance Company ; the 
Canada and Newfoundland Sealing and Fish 
ing Company ; and for many years of the Riche 
lieu & Ontario Navigation Company. He was 
vice-president of the Montreal Rolling Mills 
Company, and a director in the Acadia Coal 
( ompany, the Ontario Car Company, and the 
Montreal Elevating Company. 

On Sept. 13, 1844, in Montreal, Sir Hugh 
Allan married Miss Matilda Smith, daughter of 
John Smith, a United Empire Loyalist. The 
Smiths came from England to the United States 
prior to the Revolution, and as they would not 
take up arms against the Crown in that trouble, 
left the States and settled in Canada, making 
their home in Montreal. Sir Hugh and Lady 
Allan had thirteen children, five sons and eight 
daughters. In his religious faith Sir Hugh was 
a Presbyterian, as was also his wife, who died 
some twelve months prior to her husband. In 
politics he was a Conservative. In recogni 
tion of courtesies extended to H.R.H. Prince 
Arthur, on the occasion of his visit in 1869, and 
of his own services to commerce, he was knighted 
by Queen Victoria in 1871. 

Sir Hugh. Allan died in Edinburgh, Scotland, 
Dec. 9, 1882. The Montreal Gazette, Dec. 11, 
1882, said editorially: "In his death it may be 
truthfully said that the foremost commercial 
man of Canada, the man whose name has been 
most intimately associated with its commercial 
advancement, has passed away. * * * * * 
Death is a visitor which spares neither rich nor 
poor, old nor young, the useful nor the useless. 
But there is this amid the sorrow and mourning 
of to-day, as a consolation, that he who has 
passed from us has left the record of a life act 
ively and usefully spent, and monument* of his 
life s work by which he will always be grate 
fully remembered by the people of Canada." 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



29 



ROBERT SULLIVAN, M.A., who died in 
Toronto in 1870, was born in the Queen City in 
1837. He was the younger son of the Hon. Rob 
ert Baldwin Sullivan, Judge of the Queen s 
Bench and afterwards of the Common Pleas, 
who was written of as follows in Read s "Lives 
of the Judges": 

"Robert Baldwin Sullivan was one of the 
builders of the Canadian constitution of 1841. 
Besides being a judge in the Province, he was 
the architect of his own fortune. Mr. Sullivan 
was an Irishman, born of Irish parents, who 
lived at Baudon, near Cork, in Ireland. His 
father, Daniel Sullivan, during the trouble of 
1798, was engaged in trade, making money, if 
not a fortune, in supplying the troops with 
recessaries during that remarkable period of 
Irish history. Daniel Sullivan had been intend 
ed for the Church, was a student of Trinity Col 
lege, carried off the Grand Prize, and was other 
wise well educated in classical learning. When 
the full time came for his taking on the vows of 
the University, he quarrelled with the Thirty 
Nine Articles; rather than submit, he betook 
himself to trade. Hence he became a dealer in 
merchandise rather than in Church doctrines. 
He married Miss Baldwin, sister of Dr. Bald 
win, whose name is as familiar id Canadians of 
the past as of the present, Daniel Sullivan had 
four sons, Daniel, Robert, Henry and Augustus. 
"Robert, the second son, was born Aug. 24, 
1802. He was a bright, intelligent boy, quick to 
learn, and able, to a remarkable degree, to re 
tain knowledge he acquired. His early educa 
tion was in the private schools of Bandon, sup 
plemented by his father, who instructed him in 
the classical and higher education. In 1819, 
through the inducements of Dr. Baldwin and 
others of the Baldwin family, Robert Sullivan s 
father came to Canada. When Daniel Sullivan 
arrived in Toronto, he enlisted in trade, open 
ing a store just east of the present site 
of St. James Church, on King street, 
It was customary in those days for 
the boys of the family to assist their 
fathers in the work of the shop. This, how 
ever, did not suit Robert, and he turned his at 
tention to the study of law. On passing his ex 
amination he entered the office of his uncle, Dr. 
Baldwin (who was a lawyer as well as a physi 
cian), where he passed his five years of proba 
tion, and was called to the Bar in 1828. As 
soon as he was called to the Bar Robert Sullivan 
determined to strike out for himself, and settled 
at Vittoria, County Norfolk. He had been in 
Vittoria but a few years, when he was sailed 
upon by Dr. Morrison and his friends to act as 
his counsel before the Legislative Assembly, in 
his contest with Mr. John Beverley Robinson, 



for the Parliamentary seat of York. This \vas 
a spirited contest, both out of, and in, Parlia 
ment, and resulted in Mr. Robinson retaining 
his seat. 

Mr. Sullivan acquitted himself so well before 
the Legislature in this trial of strength, that 
friends at once took him by the hand and insisted 
on his coming to York, where he would receive 
their patronage and support. Acting on this 
appeal of his friends, Mr. Sullivan in 1830 re 
moved from Vittoria to the capital and became 
a junior partner in the office of his uncle. He 
rapidly rose in popular favor, and when a resi 
dent of Toronto only about five years was made 
mayor of the city, his opponent being the late 
William Lyon Mackenzie. This was in 1835, 
Mr. Mackenzie having been mayor the previous 
year. The city council has kept in remembrance 
the second mayor of Toronto by a portrait of 
Mr. Sullivan, which hangs on the wall of the 
mayor s office, at the City Hall. 

"When the Rebellion broke out in December, 
1837, Mr. Sullivan buckled on his armor in de 
fence of the Province. While Mr. Sullivan be 
lieved reform necessary in the government, he 
did not think armed revolt the proper remedy. 
In February, 1839, Mr. Sullivan was appointed 
a Legislative committeeman, and in the Upper 
Chamber he had charge of many bills, especially 
those affecting legal matters, property and civil 
rights. Mr. Sullivan continued to hold office 
until the formation of the first Baldwin Lafon- 
aine administration, Sept. 16. 1842, of which he 
became a member. From the period of the 
Union until his resignation, in 1843, Mr. Sulli 
van was the senior member of the council, and 
leader of the government of the Legislative 
council. After leaving the government Mr. 
Sullivan returned to the practice of law in To 
ronto in partnership with Mr. Shuter Smith. 
under the firm name of Sullivan & Smith. On 
Sept. 15. 1848, Mr. Sullivan was appointed to 
the Queen s Bench, to succeed Judge Jones, who 
had died that year. On Aug. 21, 1851, Mr. Sul 
livan was transferred to the Common Pleas." 

Mr. Justice Sullivan was twice mai ried, first 
to a daughter of Captain Matthew. To this 
marriage was born one daughter, who died in in 
fancy. Mr. Sullivan s second wife was a daugh 
ter of Colonel Delatre. and by her he had sev 
eral children: William Baldwin Sullivan, also a 
member of the legal profession, in Chicago-. 
Robert Sullivan, the subject of this sketch ; Amy, 
whose husband was Thomas Moss, Chief Justice 
of Ontario; Emily, wife of Charles Moss, the 
present Chief Justice of Ontario; and Mary, 
wife of William G. Falconbridge, Chief Justice 
of the King s Bench. 

Robert Sullivan was educated at the Uni- 



30 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



versity of Toronto, graduating as both gold and 
silver medalist. He then read law in Toronto, 
in which city he was a leading barrister before 
his death. In 1866 he married Henrietta Scad- 
ding, the only daughter of the late Rev. Canon 
Henry Scadding, D.D., a complete sketch of 
whom will be found elsewhere in this volume. 
These children were born to Mr. and Mrs. Sul 
livan: Adelaide, widow of Overton McDonald, 
has two children, Adelaide Helen Grant and 
Robert Overton Grant ; Henry Scadding is in the 
merchant marine service ; Mabel, wife of W. R. 
Johnston, Jr., of Toronto, has one son, David 
Scadding. 

In politics Mr. Sullivan was a Reformer. He 
was a member of the Church of England, to 
which Mrs. Sullivan also belongs. 

WILLIAM T. BOYD, M.A., of No. 181 Bloor 
street east, is one of the oldest barristers of To 
ronto, and a member of a family long identified 
with the County of York. He is a son of Fran 
cis and Elizabeth (Smith) Boyd, the former of 
whom, born in England in 1787, died in Toronto 
in 1862. and the latter, born there in 1791, died 
in 1872. Francis Boyd came to Canada in 1835 
to look over the new country. He returned to 
England and in 1837 brought his family to Can 
ada, settling with several other retired officers 
of the Army and Navy near Richmond Hill. Dur 
ing the visit of Lord and Lady Elgin to this 
country they were hospitably entertained by Mr. 
and Mrs. Boyd at Brookside, their fine country 
home, near Richmond Hill. In politics Mr. 
Boyd was a Conservative, and in religion a mem 
ber of the Church of England. 

REV. WILLIAM H. WITHROW, M.A.,D.D., 
F.R.S.C., of Toronto, is a descendant of an 
oid Scotch family. His great-grandfather, John 
Withrow, was born in Virginia, and about 1733 
came as a United Empire Loyalist to Nova 
Scotia, where he and two brothers received 
grants of land. One of his sons, John Wit hrow, 
\ras the grandfather of Rev. William H. With 
row. 

John Withrow was born in Nova Scotia, and 
there carried on farming and died. His wife. 
whose maiden name was Whittier, and who was 
a relative of the Quaker poet, was born in Nova 
Scotia and died there ; her mother was a United 
Empire Loyalist who came from South Caro 
lina. The children of John Withrow and his 
wife were: James. John, Daniel. Jacob. Joseph, 
William, and six others. 

James Withrow. father of Rev. Wm. H. With 
row, came to Canada in 1833, settling in "Mud 
dy York," where he followed contracting and 
buildin?. He also owned a lumber vard on the 



site of the Grand Opera House, Adelaide street, 
Toronto. He was a guard at the city hall dur 
ing the Rebellion of 1837-38. James Withrow 
married Miss Ellen Sanderson, a native of Ire 
land, and they had two sons, Jolm and William 
II. Of these, John, who died in 1899, was a 
contractor of Toronto, for several terms alder 
man of the city, and for twenty years president 
of the Toronto Exhibition Board. He married 
Miss Margaret Foster, and they had children: 
Arthur, of Toronto; Percy, of Winnipeg; Nor 
man, of Toronto ; and Maude and Winnif red, of 
Toronto. 

William H. Withrow was born on Bay street. 
Toronto, in 1839, and received his education at 
Toronto Academy, Victoria College and the To 
ronto University. Graduating from the latter 
in 1864 with the degree of B.A., he obtained the 
M.A. in 1865, and later the D.D. from Victoria 
College. Mr. Withrow then filled pastorates as 
follows .- The East and West Methodist Churches 
at Montreal, one year; the Main Street Metho 
dist Church of Hamilton, two years ; Rice Lake, 
two years, as pastor of the Wesleyan Church; 
Davenport and Leslieville (near Toronto), two 
years ; Old Niagara on the Lake, three years ; 
Wesleyan College at Hamilton, one year, holding 
the chair of Classics and Philosophy. In 1874 
he came to Toronto and became the editor of 
The Methodist Magazine, and of the Simday- 
school periodicals of the Methodist Church, in 
which work he is still engaged. 

Mr. Withrow was married in 1864 to Sarah 
Ann Smith, who was born at Delhi, daughter of 
John Smith. Mrs. Withrow died in 1901, leaving 
children as follows: William James, of Ottawa, 
examiner of patents, married Mamie Burns, and 
they have one son, Wilfred; Ellen Rachel, mar 
ried E. H. Stafford, M.D., of Toronto, and has 
iive children. Ethelbert, Helen, Emerson, Mar 
gery and Gwendoline ; Miss Florence ; John 
Frederick, examiner of patents, Ottawa, mar 
ried Ida Harvey, of Toronto. 

In politics Mr. Withrow is a Reformer, lie is 
the author of many valuable works, and his ex 
tended travels, which have carried him to every 
continent of the globe, and to every State in the 
United States with the exception of South Caro 
lina, have greatly aided him in his literary work. 
Among his books are "The Catacombs of Rome." 
which reached six editions in Britain and a wide 
circulation in the United States and Canada; a 
"History of Canada" in a large octavo and two 
others in condensed form ; a series of historical 
stories "Valeria, a Tale of Ancient Rome," 
which has been translated into German: "Bar 
bara Heck," "Neville Trueman," "Lawrence 
Temple," "Life in a Parsonage"; also "The 
Xative Races of America," "China and Its Pen- 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



31 



pie," "Our Own Country," and "A Canadian 
in Europe," books of travel, and other works. 
He is a member of the Board of Regents and of 
the Senate of Victoria University, Toronto; of 
the Senate of Wesleyan Theological College, 
Montreal; and Fellow of the Royal Society of 
Canada. He has personally conducted successive 
parties of nearly three hundred persons in all to 
and through Europe, and took one party eight 
hundred miles up the Nile, through Palestine, 
Syria and Turkey. 

HENRY FRANCIS SEFTON. The death of 
Henry Francis Sefton, of Toronto, in his eighty- 
third year, May 21, 1892, deprived the musical 
circles of the city of one of their most gifted 
members, and the one to whom, more than to 
any other individual, was due the gratifying- de 
velopment of music in the Queen City. Mr. 
Sef ton s special sphere was vocal music, and he 
was a gifted singer, the quality of his voice and 
his method of using it being unusually pleasing. 
He was talented as a composer and a leader of 
choral societies, while in his work as director of 
music in Toronto s schools normal, model and 
public he achieved splendid results. 

Henry Francis Sefton was born in the city of 
Worcester, England, in 1809, son of Francis 
Sefton, of the same city. He received a thor 
ough education along both literary and musical 
lines, and early in life took a prominent place 
in the musical circles of his native city. He 
took part for many years in the celebrated musi 
cal festivals held in the Cathedrals of Worcester, 
Gloucester and Hereford. In 1851 Mr. Sefton 
sang in the great Handelian Festival held in the 
r-ity of London, England, under the patronage 
of the late Queen Victoria, and he was presented 
a commemorative medal of the event. He con 
tinued his work in England until 1858, in which 
year the late Dr. Ryerson, the father of the 
educational system in Canada, arranged, during 
a visit to London, to secure Mr. Sefton s serv 
ices as Professor of Music in the Toronto nor 
mal and model schools, and from that time the 
latter was identified with the development of 
music in this city and other towns of Ontario. 

From 1858 to 1883 Mr. Sefton gave of his best 
to Toronto, in the latter year retiring from act- 
ive work. In addition to his work as teacher in 
the schools he compiled a system of exercises and 
song book. In I860, when the then Prince of 
Wales, now King Edward VII., visited Toronto. 
Mr. Sefton conducted the musical programme 
for the occasion. While he left his mark most 
indelibly, perhaps, upon the musical develop 
ment of the schools, he was also closely con 
nected with that side of church work in the city, 
thus becoming known in a variety of circles, and 



extending his influence over a sphere much 
larger than was realized during his modest, un 
ostentatious life. He was universally liked and 
esteemed, and won for himself a high place in 
the regard of the citizens of Toronto. He was 
faithful, painstaking and truly musical in spirit; 
his influence was far-reaching in its character, 
and its value can hardly be estimated. 

Mr. "Sefton was survived by his wife, one son, 
and six daughters. Mrs. Sefton passed away in 
the eighty-eighth year of her age, Feb. 11, 1906. 

JOHN SMALL, an ex-member of Parliament 
and the collector of customs at Toronto, belongs 
to one of the old families which took part in the 
founding of this beautiful and thriving city. 

The Small family is of English extraction, and 
was founded in Canada by one Major Small, our 
subject s grandfather, a military man who came 
oat from England with Governor Simcoe about 
1791 as clerk of the Executive Council and clerk 
of the Crown and Pleas, and settled on the cor 
ner of King and Berkeley streets. In many 
ways he was a man of note. He retired from 
the duties of clerk of the Crown and Pleas at 
his own request, on the appointment by Lord 
Dathurst of his son, Charles C. Small, to fill his 
place, but continued in the former capacity. His 
death took place in 1831. He is represented as 
Laving been a man who never flinched from 
what he believed to be his duty and held himself 
ready, at all tunes, to settle disputes according 
to the "code of honor." One occasion is re 
called when he and Attorney-General White 
sought to settle a controversy thus, the duel 
resulting in the death of Mr. White. Major 
Small was arrested as was usual in such cases, 
but this was but a form, and later he was fully 
acquitted. 

Major Small married Miss Eliza Goldsmith, a 
native of the County of Kent. England. She died 
at Toronto about 1834. In their religious connec 
tion they were members of the Church of Eng 
land. Their children were -. John, who served 
in the Peninsular wars, was taken prisoner but 
escaped only to die on his way to Canada ; James 
Edward, who was one of the distinguished men 
of Canada, serving as solicitor-general under 
Lord Metcalf, and later as a judge in County 
Middlesex, where he died; and Charles C., 
father of our subject. 

Charles C. Small was bom in 1800, in Toronto, 
and died in the same city March 17, 1864. In 
1825 he succeeded his father to the office of clerk 
of the Crown and Pleas, a position he held until 
his death. In addition to his official duties he 
was interested in farming and live stock, owning 
a valuable farm of 500 acres in Lots 6, 7 and 8, 
York township, where he enjoyed all kinds of 



32 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



agricultural pursuits, and the raising of fine 
cattle. He was a member of the Agricultural 
Society of County York, and the products of 
his farm took many prizes at the various exhi 
bitions. He was connected with the military 
organizations of the county, was colonel of the 
Fourth Regiment of North York militia for many 
years, and held other offices. Like a true Can 
adian he was a lover of outdoor sports, was a 
fine rifle shot and the winner in many contests. 

In 1827 Charles C. Small married Frances 
Elizabeth Innes, born in England and educated 
in her native land and in France. She was high 
ly accomplished and spoke the French language 
fluently. Her death took place about 1859, in 
Toronto. Her brother "William Innes came to 
Toronto about 1849, formerly having been the 
owner of an indigo plantation in India. The 
children of Charles C. Small and wife were: (1) 
Louisa Elizabeth, born in Toronto, and now de 
ceased, became the wife of Rev. "William H. 
Ripley, of Trinity Church, and after his death 
she married W. T. Goldsmith, by whom she had 
children : Mrs. Philips, of St. Paul, Minn. ; Mrs. 
Laing, of Hartford, Connecticut ; Arthur, of St. 
Paul ; and Egbert, a physician at Seattle, Wash 
ington. (2) John is the subject of this review. 
(3) Charles C. was for some years an alderman 
in Toronto and died leaving a widow. (4) William 
Innes and (5) Edward Goldsmith, twins, are both 
deceased. (6) Eliza, for many years and now 
a resident of London, England, married Jeremy 
Pemberton Ripley, now deceased, and they had 
these children : Mrs. Carpenter, wife of the 
rector of St. Andrew s vicarage, Plaistow, Lon 
don ; Beatrice, and Ethel. 

John Small was born in 1831, in Toronto, and 
was educated in his home district schools and at 
the Upper Canada College. His active work in 
life began in 1855 when he became taxing offi 
cer of the Court of the Queen s Bench, a position 
he held until 1882. During this period he 
served on the council in his native city for some 
time and became well and favorably known to 
the public, so well that in 1882 he was elected 
to the House of Commons to represent East To 
ronto. In this capacity he served the city until 
1891, when he was appointed to his present 
position by Sir John Macdonald. During his 
service in Parliament he was one of the whips of 
the Conservative party. His public career re 
flected credit upon him personally and upon his 
city. 

In 1856 Mr. Small was united in marriage with 
Miss Susan Margaret Boulton. a native of Ni 
agara, and a daughter of James and Harriet 
(Thorn) Boiilton. Mr. and Mrs. Small are mem 
bers of the Church of England. 



HENRY CAWTHRA, deceased. To all who 
are familiar with the history of Toronto, and 
have followed the careers of its prominent men, 
no name is better known than that of Cawthra, 
associated as it is with the early development 
of the city. In military records, too, the family 
has been represented. One of the most stately 
residences in the city, Yeadon Hall, was for long 
years the home of one of the best known of the 
family, the late Henry Cawthra, a barrister and 
wealthy man of affairs. 

The Cawthra family was originally of Eng 
lish stock, and was founded in Canada in 1806 
by Joseph Cawthra. -Born in England, Joseph 
Cawthra s first destination on leaving his native 
land was the United States, but he soon joined 
other Loyalists who removed to Canada. There 
he received a grant of land near Port Credit, 
among the Indians, who gave him and his fam 
ily the name of Atobicontz, from the many elder 
trees that grew on the shore near his place. 
Joseph Cawthra was a man of enterprise and 
foresight, and before long established himself in 
Toronto, formerly known as York, where he 
opened the first wholesale concern in that place. 
He was very successful, and became a wealthy 
and prominent citizen. He died in 1842, at an 
advanced age, and his wife, Mary Turnpenny, 
passed away in 1847, in Toronto, aged eighty-six. 
They had a large family, of whom one, William, 
was an influential man in Toronto and died there 
in 1880. 

John Cawthra, eldest surviving son of Joseph, 
was born in England. During the war of 1312 
he served as an officer in one of Queen Victoria s- 
regiments, was with General Brock at the cap 
ture of Detroit, and at Queenston, and partici 
pated in the battle of Queenston Heights. He 
settled in Newmarket as one of its pioneer mer 
chants, was active in public affairs, and repre 
sented County Simcoe in the Parliament of Up 
per Canada its first representative after the 
separation of the county from the County of 
York. Mr. Cawthra died in Newmarket in 1851. 
He married Ann Wilson, of Cumberland, Eng 
land, and they were the parents of four chil 
dren, namely: Joseph; Mary, deceased, wife of 
the late Dr. William Mulock ; John ; and Henry. 

Henry Cawthra, youngest son of John, was 
born at Newmarket Sept, 2, 1832. After com 
pleting his early studies he entered the Univers 
ity of Toronto, and then the Law School, being 
called to the Bar in 1858. While Mr. Caw 
thra proved himself eminently fitted for legal 
work, his health was not equal to the demands 
made upon it, and within a few years he was 
obliged to abandon practically that sphere of 
activity. Thereafter he was occupied in looking 
after his private interests, which were of such 




^ 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



33 



a scope that they gave him close connection with 
various lines of financial institutions. He was 
a large stockholder in the Bank of Toronto, and 
a director therein for over thirty years. He 
was also a director of the Consumers Gas Com 
pany and of the Canada Permanent Mortgage & 
Loan Company. He spent much time abroad in 
search of health and travelled extensively over 
Europe. He was a great lover of art and dur 
ing his travels secured many fine pieces of 
painting and sculpture to place in his home. 

Mr. Cawthra was married, in London, Eng 
land, Oct. 6, 1857, in St. George s Church, Han 
over Square, to Miss Annie C. Mills, daughter 
of Hon. Samuel Mills, of Hamilton, Senator of 
the Dominion of Canada, who died in 1876. Mr. 
and Mrs. Cawthra were the parents of six chil 
dren, of whom four survive, namely: (1) A. 
Maude, born in Toronto, married Major Henry 
Brock, of Toronto. (2) Henry Victor Holton, 
born in Jersey, Channel Island, married Miss 
Ada Arthurs, and to this union was bora one 
daughter, Victoria Isobel. He is a barrister 
and is engaged in the real estate business in 
Toronto. (3) Helena F.. born in Toronto, is 
the wife of Capt. James Burnham, R.C.R.I., of 
Port Hope. (4) Miss Grace M. K., resides at 
the old home. Mr. Cawthra was a member of 
St. James Cathedral, where a memorial window 
was erected to his memory by his widow. 

While Mr. Cawthra was never physically equal 
to the strain of the active business life to which 
he was otherwise so well adapted, he maintained 
his career of moderate activity up to the end 
rf his life, and was personally conducting his 
affairs when the end came. His death occurred 
Dee. 25, 1904, at Teadon Hall, and seldom has 
such an event called forth more widespread ex 
pression of regret. Among the large family 
connection of the deceased were many men 
prominent in public affairs, such as Sir "William 
Mulock. late Postmaster-General, and various 
others. 

Mr. Cawthra was mainly endeared >o his 
friends by his fine character. He was a man 
of the most upright and conscientious life, but 
never hard or severe in his demands for the 
conduct of others. He was ever ready and gen 
erous in response to the appeals of the poor and 
afflicted, while with equal care he sought to pro 
mote the larger welfare of the community as a 
whole. His greater pleasure was in his home, and 
his domestic life was one of the utmost happi 
ness. Of unfailing hospitality, he and his wife 
ever welcomed to their home the hosts of friends 
who surrounded them. One and all found the 
SMIMC cordiality, for the winning tact and gra 
cious courtesy of Mr. Cawthra was shown alike 
tn the King s representative or the humble 
3 



friend. Few men are so deeply or so justly be 
loved, and the sense of loss in his death is still 
felt. 

REV. GEORGE H. CORNISH, LL.D., who 

was for forty-three years in active work in the 
Christian ministry of the Methodist Church in 
Canada, retired from his labors in 1901, and 
has since resided at No. 160 Argyle street, there 
reaping the reward for his many years of de 
voted service in the honor and confidence with 
which he is regarded by his friends and former 
associates, and in the sense of a lifelong duty 
well and faithfully performed. 

Dr. Cornish is one of a family long identified 
with the County of York and City of Toronto. 
He is of English descent and his grandfather, 
lolm Cornish, vras a merchant in Exeter, Eng 
land, where he died. The first of the family to 
come to Canada was the son of this merchant, 
also named John, born in Exeter, in 1809, and 
there educated. After beginning his business 
career in his native city as a manufacturer of 
boots and shoes, he decided in 1843 to make his 
home in Canada, and so came to Toronto. He 
arrived with his family in April, of that year, 
and secured a position as foreman with the late 
Thomas Thompson, of King street east, whose 
business Mr. Cornish three years afterward 
bought out. This he conducted for many years, 
employing as many as fifty men, but later in 
life he gradually worked out of the manufac 
turing line, and became instead an importer of 
French and American boots and shoes. From 
Toronto he finally removed to Yonge street, York- 
ville, and there continued his business until his 
death, which occurred March 22, 1882. 

While still residing in England John Cornish 
had been married to Miss Elizabeth Hellins, who 
was born in Exeter March 16, 1807, daughter of 
James Hellins, who lived and died there. She 
survived her husband thirteen years, and con 
tinued to make her home in Yorkville, where slv 
died in May, 1895. She bore her husband five- 
sons and seven daughters. The sons were: John, 
born 1830, died 1831 ; Theophilus William, born 
1832, died in Toronto 1887 ; George Henry, born 
1834 ; Charles, born 1836, died 1897 ; and Joshua 
Hellins, born 1846, died 1902. Mr. John Cor 
nish was a member of the Wesleyan Methodist 
denomination, and soon after his arrival in To 
ronto became an active member of the old George 
Street Church and in 1845 of the Richmond 
Street Church, which latter was located where 
the Methodist Book Concern now has its large 
publishing house. He took great pride in the 
fact that he had subscribed for the Globe when 
it was first published in 1844, and he continued 
to take it until his death. 



34 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



Rev. George Henry Cornish was born in Ex 
eter, England, June 26, 1834. His education 
after he reached the age of nine years was re 
ceived in Toronto, where he attended the To 
ronto Academy, on the present site ot tne 
"Queen s Hotel," at the time when the teach 
ing staff included Rev. Alexander Gale, Prin 
cipal, with Dr. Woodrope and Thomas Henning 
as assistants. From the Academy he went to 
Victoria College at Cobourg, and after complet 
ing his studies, in 1858, he was accepted by the 
Conference as a probationer for the ministry. 
His first mission was Mitchell, Out., with the 
Rev- John S. Evans as superintendent. This 
charge had fourteen preaching places, and em 
braced parts of five townships. In 1862 Dr. 
Cornish with twenty-four others was ordained, 
the rite being solemnized in the old Pinnacle 
Street Church in Belleville, Out, by Rev. Dr. 
Wood, the Conference for that year being held 
in that church. Then followed his long career 
as a minister of the Gospel, during which he had 
charge of churches in Beaverton, Caledonia, 
Cainsville, Pickering, Norwich, Grimsby, Bur 
lington, Wingham, Stratford, Hespeler, Port El 
gin, Niagara and other points. In 1901 he re 
tired from the active work and was placed on 
the superannuation list, and settled in Toronto. 
He has, however, not been idle, but has willinsly 
acted as supply in filling appointments when 
needed by his brethren in the city and else 
where. He has also occupied himself with iiter- 
ary labors, and for the past two years has been 
assistant pastor of Wesley Church, Duridas 
street. Throughout his busy life Dr. Cornish 
has always found- time for more or less work of 
a literary kind, and is the author of various 
books, amontr which may be mentioned : The 
Handbook of Methodism," published in 1867; 
Cyclopedia of Methodism," Vol. I., published 
in 1880, Vol. II. in 1903 (Vol. III. is in course 
of prcparati6n). In 1883 appeared the "Pas 
tor s Pocket Ritual and Record, which has now 
reached its fifth edition. From 1872 to 1877 
he acted as Journal Secretary for the Confer 
ence ; was Secretary of the London Conference 
in 1879, and of the Guelph Conference in 1884. 
He has been four times elected as chairman of 
his district, and seven times as a delegate to the 
General Conference, which meets once in every 
four years. He was chosen a Journal Secretary 
of the General Conferences of 1902 (at Winni 
peg) and 1906 (at Montreal). In 1886 he was ap 
pointed General Conference Statistician, which 
position he still holds. The honorary degree of 
LL.D. was conferred upon him in June, 1887, 
by Rutherford College, North Carolina. Dr. 
Cornish is a Reformer in politics. He is a mem 
ber of the Ancient Order of the United Work 



men, the Independent Order of Foresters, and 
the York Pioneers. 

In 1862 Dr. Cornish was united in marriage to 
Miss Elizabeth Frances Reynell, daughter of the 
late Capt. John Reynell, of Balnalack House, 
Ireland, and niece of the late Charles Walker, 
and his brother William, merchants of King- 
street, Toronto. Mrs. Cornish \vas born in Dub 
lin, Ireland. She is the mother of five children : 
William Walker, who died in infancy: Reynell 
George Henry, of Brooklyn, New York, who 
married Miss Henrietta Forbes, of Toronto, and 
lias two sons, Edward and Clarence : Frederick 
William, a lawyer in Chicago, who married Miss 
Alice Hay, of Toronto, and has three sons and 
one daughter ; Louisa Victoria, who died in No 
vember, 1906 ; and Alexina, wife of Haldred St. 
Glair Fisher, of Queenston, Niagara, and mother 
of one daughter, Dora Gwendolin, born in 1903. 

EDWARD Y. EATON. Probably no man in 
Toronto was more successful in business than 
Edward Y. Eaton, who at his death, Oct. 3, 
1900. was vice-president of the T. Eaton Co., 
Ltd.. whose department store is the largest in 
Canada, and one of the largest in America. Mr. 
Eaton was born at St. Mary s, Ont. in 1863, son 
of T. Eaton, president of the above named 
company. 

Edward Y. Eaton was educated at the Model 
School in Toronto, and immediately after com 
pleting his course there commenced his suc 
cessful business career, entering commercial life 
at. an early age, with his father, Timothy Eaton, 
\vhen 1he present great T. Eaton Com 
pany was practically beginning business in To 
ronto. To the success of the business Edward Y. 
Eaton gave his entire attention, and with liis 
father placed this great business second to none 
on the American continent, Mr. E. Y. Eaton 
was a, self-made man. His fortune was acquired 
through his business ability, strict attention to 
his duties, his untiring energy, and his reputa 
tion for integrity for which he was highly es- 
teemed by all who knew him. 

On Jan. 6, 1897, Edward Y. Eaton and Miss 
Mabel, eldest daughter of the late William and 
Sarah < I farrinirton) Eekardt, were united in 
marriage. Mr. Ecknrdt was born in Markhnm 
township, County York, son of Godlieb Eckardt, 
a native of the same township, whose father came 
from Pennsylvania to Canada, settling in Mark- 
ham township at an early day. For many years 
Mr. Eckardt was engaged in a brokerage an, I in 
surance business in Toronto, where he died Aug. 
17, 1904, and where Mrs. Eckardt still resides. 
Mrs. Eaton resides at the beautiful home erected 
by her late husband at No. 157 St. George Street 
in 1898. 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



3.3 



To Mr. and Mrs. Eaton were born two daugh 
ters, Marjorie and Alice. Mr. Eaton always took 
a great interest in the Methodist Church, of 
which he was for many years a worthy mem 
ber. In politics he was a Reformer. In his 
death the Queen City lost one of her best busi 
ness men. and a citizen who was held in uni 
versal esteem. 

HENRY ALFRED GRAY. The name of the 
!ate Henry Alfred Gray was one well known in 
the Dominion of Canada, for his services to the 
government as an efficient member of the De 
partment of Public Works covered a long period 
and took him into various parts of the country. 
A man of long and wide experience, his record 
was one of brilliant achievement in his chosen 
line of engineering. 

Mr. Gray was born near Birmingham, Eng 
land, in 1843, and was a son of Edward A. 
and Maria (Williams) Gray, both of whom died 
in their native England. The son was given a 
good general education and then began his pro 
fessional work by serving the time required for 
practical experience, on the Midland Railway, 
and then passed the examinations for the Royal 
Engineers. He was first sent to India and 
thence to Bermuda. In 1867 he came to Can 
ada, and was for six or seven years identified 
with the Intercolonial Railway, with headquar 
ters at Halifax. His connection with the gov 
ernment work began in 1878, and lasted from 
that date till his death in 1905. When first ap 
pointed to the Department of Public Works he 
was stationed at Ott.-uva. but was later sent to 
Stratford to take charge of the department work 
for Western Ontario. There he remained till 
1879, when he returned to Ottawa to assume the 
duties of assistant chief engineer, to which posi 
tion he had been promoted. Two years later 
he went to St. John, N.B.. and after an equal 
interval from there to Toronto. While residing 
in that city his. death occurred May 23. 190">, in 
the sixty-third year of his age. 

Mr. Gray was three times married. His first 
wife, who was Miss Alice Lomer, left him with 
three children, viz. : Henry A. St. George ; 
Charles P.: and Alice W., wife of Walter P. 
Merrick. After her death Mr. Gray married 
Miss Catherine McDonald, who died without is 
sue. For his third wife Mr. Gray chose Miss 
Norma Victoria Merrick, who survives him, ami 
resides in Toronto. She is a native of that city, 
descended from a pioneer family, and the Mer 
rick home was formerly where the "King Ed 
ward Hotel" stands. Three children were born 
to this union, Norma Lillian, Kathleen flilda 
and (Iconic Merrick. Both Mr and Mrs. Gray 
were members of the Roman Catholic Church. 



MERKICK. The Toronto branch of the Mt-rr!ck 
family has descended from Dominick Merrick. 
who came to Little York, now Toronto, in 18:27 
The family is of Welsh origin, but for many 
\ears had been settled in the County of Mayo, 
Ireland. 

Dominick Merrick. Sr.. was born in 17:10, at 
Ballindine, in that County, and married Crlia 
l>. Dease, daughter of Anthony Dease, of Cloon- 
more, County Mayo, the Dease family being re 
lated to the Blakes, Nugents and Binghams. The 
family was implicated in the Irish Rebellion of 
1798, and suffered considerable property losses 
which ultimately forced several members of the 
family to leave Ireland. The town of Little 
York at that remote period of its history was 
little more than a collection of frame houses. 
The early struggle for responsible government 
furnished a congenial field for the liberty-loving 
citizens, and Dominick Merrit-k, h-.vingbut fresh 
ly arrived from a similar condition of affairs in 
Ireland, took a very active part with his nephew 
Dr. McCormick in opposition to the Family 
Compact. Dr. John McCormick took up arms 
with the rebels, and was captured at Montgom 
ery s Tavern titrht, and spent a year in Toronto 
jail. Dominick Merrick died in 1837. just be 
fore the rebellion broke out, leaving, besides his 
wife, three sons, Jerry D., Dominick A. and 
lames. The family settled on Richmond street, 
near Jarvis street, where Robertson s factory is 
now located, and they remained there for mnny 
years. 

Jerry D. Merrick. the eldest sen, entered into 
partnership with Peter Paterson in the early 
fifties, and married Sarah J. Paterson, the niece 
of his partner, the Paterson family having set 
tled in Toronto in 1817, coming from Blantyre, 
Scotland. In I860 with his brothers, Dominick 
A. and James, he formed the partnership of the 
Merrick Bros., in wholesale and retail dry goods 
and millinery on King street, in the store after 
ward occupied by R. Walker & Sons. The 
"King Edward Hotel now occupies that site. 
For many years the business was the largest of 
its kind in Toronto. In 1869 the family moved 
to the large brick residence. \Yyckham Hall. No. 
142 Mutual street. This house had been built 
by Mr. Thomas, the architect of the Toronto 
Public Library. 

Mr. J. D. Merrick took a very active part in 
politics, and was a followe- of Robert Baldwin 
and later of the Liberal party. In 1880 he was 
appointed as Sheriff of Prcseott and Russell, 
and removed to L Orignal. where he resided until 
his death in 1S87. His brother, Dominick A., 
carried on business until his death in 1895. 
Mrs. Merrick survived her husband five years, 
dvinsr in Toronto in 1892. 



36 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



Family is represented by children of the 
late Sheriff Merrick : In Toronto by Mrs. David 
B. Lay ton. Mrs. Noruia V. Gray, Miss Elma 
Merrick, Mr. James G. Merrick, and Mr. Walter 
P. Merrick. Mr. Herbert Blake Merrick is a 
resident of Minneapolis, Minnesota; Mr. Peter 
J. Merrick a resident of Oak Lake, Manitoba ; 
Mr. Louis I). Merrick is carrying on business at 
Berlin, Ont. ; and Mr. Dominick A. Merrick is 
a resident of Montreal, Quebec. The family is 
still residing at the homestead, No. 142 Mutual 
street. 

W. H. PEPLER, M.D.C.M., L.R.C.P., Asso 
ciate Demonstrator of Pathology at the Univers 
ity of Toronto, and general medical practitioner 
and surgeon of that city, is one of Ontario s best 
known medical men. 

James Pepler, father of the Doctor, was born 
in 1830, in Wiltshire, England, and in his native 
country grew to manhood. There he married 
Emma Eyres, and in 1868 they came to Canada, 
locating at Toronto, where he soon became secre 
tary-treasurer of the Canada Car Company. 
Subsequently he embarked in business as a 
leather merchant on Front street, and was later 
appointed government inspector of leather, a 
position he filled until his death, in 1890. Dur 
ing his business life in Toronto, Mr. Pepler took 
an active part in municipal matters and for 
some time was an alderman of ihe city. He also 
served as chairman of the school board. Mrs. 
Pepler died in 1888, when sixty-four years of 
age. They were members oE the English Church. 
while Mr. Pepler was a. Conservative in politics 
and fraternally a Mason. To Mr. and Mrs. Pep 
ler were born children as follows: Francis Ed 
ward Philip, a barrister; Ernest Eyres, an art 
ist of Toronto ; James B., who is in the real estate 
business at Winnipeg; Tom S. G., in business at 
Port Hope ; and Dr. W. H. 

Dr. W. H. Pepler was born in 1863, in Bris 
tol, England, and was but five years of age when 
the family came to Canada. His literary edu 
cation was acquired at Upper Canada College, 
whore lie completed his course of study in 1SS1, 
after which he at once entered Trinity Medical 
College, from which he was graduated in 1885, 
with the (Ic .iTcc of M.D/ .M. Desirous of per 
fecting himself still farther in his profession, 
Dr. Pepler went to London, England, and for 
three years studied at St. Bartholomew s Hos 
pital. In 1888 he was graduated from that in 
stitution with the degree of L.R.C.P. (Lond.), 
and he then returned to Toronto, and entered 
into the practice of his profession, in which he 
has continued to the present time. In 1800 he 
became Associate Demonstrator of Pathology at 
his alma mater, and since the union of Trinitv 



Medical College with the University of Toronto 
he has filled the same chair in that institution. 
He has made a specialty of- this line and has con 
tributed articles upon it to the leading medical 
journals of the country. He is a member of the 
Ontario Medical Association, the Canadian Medi 
cal Association and the Toronto Clinical Society, 
and is vice-president of the Pathological Society, 
surgeon to the Canadian Pacific Railway Com 
pany, associate physician to the General Hos 
pital, physician to the Toronto Hospital for In 
curables, and has a like position at the Convales 
cent Home. He is a member of the Masonic or 
der, the Orangemen and the 1. 0.0. P.. In politi 
cal sentiment he is a Conservative, and he and 
Mrs. Pepler are members of the English Church. 
In 1895 Dr. Pepler was married to Miss Kath 
leen Chadwick, who was born at Guelph, daugh 
ter of Frederick Chadwick, ex-mayor of that 
place and editor of the Guelph Herald. To Dr. 
and Mrs. Pepler have been born four children : 
Stewart Herbert, William Arthur Eyres, Kath 
leen Gladys and Doris Louise. 

MAJOR VILLIERS SANKEY, whose death 
on Lake Maitou occurred July 10, 1905, was 
one of the most brilliant engineers Canada has 
known, as well as a prominent member of mili 
tary circles. He came of a family many mem 
bers of which have achieved military distinction, 
and he naturally inherited the tastes which led 
him to join the Canadian army. 

Major Sankey s great-grandfather, William 
Sankey, was one of the leading barristers of 
Dublin, Ireland, and the family were identified 
with that part of the country. Matthew Henry 
Sankey, his father, after leaving the army, owing 
to an accident he sustained, became manager of 
Lord Brooke s estate, Colebrooke, in County 
Fermanagh. Ireland. He married his cousin, 
Mehctabel Roe, a direct descendant of Brian 
Boru. 

Villiers Sankey was born in County Ferman 
agh, Ireland, in October, 1853. He first attended 
a public school in Portora, and later, at Cooper s 
Hill, he passed the examination for the Royal 
Engineers, in India. His association with Can 
adian projects, did not begin until 1878, when 
he settled in Toronto, as a member of the firm 
ol Wadsworth, I nwin, Brown & Santey. For 
a mamber of years he held the appointment ot 
city surveyor of Toronto, and in January, 1905, 
he became a member of the staff of engineers 
for the Transcontinental railroad. It was while 
in discharge of the duties devolving upon him 
in that position that he met his death. Major 
Sankey was an authority on all surveying and 
engineering matters, and his name was known 
through all the Dominion. Tn military circles 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



37 



his place was also a high one. He was an en 
thusiastic member of the Queen s Own Rifles, in 
which he held first the rank of captain and later 
that of major. In 1902 he joined the Corps of 
Guides, and held the rank of major therein until 
his death. He would have received the rank of 
colonel had he lived another month. 

In 1882 Major Sankey married Anne Nesbit 
Ponton, third daughter of Lt.-Col. Archibald 
Ponton, of Bay View, Belleville, and their union 
was blessed with seven children, five daughters 
and two sons. The family are all members of 
the Church of England. 

The demands of his profession were too ex 
acting to permit of Major Sankey taking any 
personal part in political affairs, but he was a 
strong adherent of the Conservative party. Fra 
ternally he was a Mason and past master of 
Ionic Lodge. A.F. & A.M. 

WILLIAM MITCHELL ANGUS was born in 
St. Catharines, Ont, Oct. 31, 1846, son of Rob 
ert and Charlotte (Wright) Angus, and died 
in Toronto May 14, 1904. 

Robert Angus was born in Fife, Scot-land, 
and coming to Canada, settled first at St. Cath 
arines, whence he later removed to London, 
Ont., and from there to Hamilton, where he 
died. He was in the wholesale dry goods busi 
ness in the above mentioned places for many 
years, and while in Hamilton was with Mclnnes. 
The children of Robert Angus and his wife 
were: Mary. Oty, Nellie, William Mitchell, 
George, John, Hugh and Harry. 

William Mitchell Angus was educated in Ham 
ilton, and later entered the wholesale house of 
Mclnnes. having charge of the tweed depart 
ment. From there he went to Montreal, where 
he had charge of the same firm s interests, re 
maining there until 1879, when he located in 
Toronto, representing Cantlie & Ewing, as a 
manufacturer s agent. Later Mr. Angus em 
barked in business on his own account as a manu 
facturer s agent, successfully continuing in this 
line until his death. 

In 1872 William M. Angus and Miss Annie 
Bastedo. a member of the well-known United 
Empire Loyalist family of that name, were unit 
ed in marriage. Mrs. Angus is a daughter 
of John M. and Anna (Tovel) Bastedo. To Mr. 
and Mrs. Angus were born the following child 
ren: Robert, of Toronto, who married Caroline 
Campbell, by whom he has had one son, Wil 
liam; Frederick, of Toronto, who married Edith 
Lawrie and has one daughter, Helen A. ; Per- 
cival. deceased ; and Edith, the wife of William 
Begg, who has one daughter, Dorothy. Mr. An 
gus was a Presbyterian. In politics he was a 
Conservative, but he never sought office. He 



affiliated fraternally with the Masons, in which 
order he attained the thirty-second degree. His 
widow survives, residing at No. 179 Carlton 
street, Toronto. 

The Bastedos trace their descent from the im 
portant Spanish family of De La Bastido, of 
whom the chief is the Marquis De La Bastida, 
member of the Chamber of Deputies for the 
Balearic Islands. Another is Don Guillermo De 
La Bastida, treasurer of the Province of Bada- 
joz. The progenitor of the Bastedo family, hav 
ing embraced the faith of the Reformed Clrarch, 
was forced to leave Spain and take refuge in 
Holland, whence about 1778 he or one of his 
descendants emigrated to America, ultimately 
settling at Sehenectady, New York. Of this 
branch of the family was Jacob Bastedo, as the 
name became Anglicized, who, abandoning a 
valuable estate in Sehenectady, came to Canada 
as a United Empire Loyalist, and settled first 
at Cataraqui (Kingston), where he had a grant 
of 800 acres, but removed to Stamford, County 
of Welland. Ont. He married Clarissa Jean 
Van Slyke, whose sister married a Van Buren, 
and their son, Martin Van Buren, was President 
of the United States from 1837 to 1841. Another 
sister was married to Major Tice, a Royalist 
officer. The children of Jacob and Clarissa 
Bastedo were: (1) Abraham; (2) Lewis; (3) 
David; (4) Joseph, killed at the battle of Chip- 
pewa; (5) Gilbert Tice; (6) John, of Nelson, 
married Mary Flewelling and had issue : Maur 
ice, William, Jacob, Gilbert, Elizabeth and Cath 
erine; (7) Cornelius, killed in the war of 1812. 
Of these, 

David Bastedo, of Stamford, afterward of 
Waterdown (Burlington), County Halton, mar 
ried Elizabeth MacMicking. Their sons were : 

(la) Peter married Margaret Galbraith and 
had issue: Sons (Ib) John MacMicking. (2b) 
David married Sarah Elizabeth Tovel and had 
issue : Samuel Tovel. of the Ontario Civil Ser 
vice; Peter; Albert Edward; Margaret Ann, and 
Sarah Elizabeth. (3b) John Galbraith died May 
8, 1900, aged seventy-five years. He married and 
had issue: John Nelles and Charles Augustus. 
(4b) Joseph Rogers married Mary Force and 
had issue : William. Lincoln. Burleigh, Frederick, 
David Edgar (of Braeebridge), Ada, Patience 
and Margaret. (5b) Thomas Beveridge Good- 
willie married and has had issue: Nellie; Minnie, 
deceased; Christina, and Margaret. (6b) Peter 
Campbell married and has had issue : John Gal 
braith, Thomas, William. James, and Nellie. 
Daughters (Ib) Mary Galbraith; (2b) Margar 
et, deceased. 

(2a) Gilbert married Mary Lindsay and has 
had issue : Joseph, Jacob, Samuel, Nancy, Eliza 
beth, Jane, Tamar, Susan, and Kate. 



38 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



(3a) John MacMicking married (first) Susan 
Lemon and (second) Anna Tovel, and had is 
sue: Son (Ib) John MacMieking. furrier in 
Toronto, is married and has issue: Frederick, 
Harry. Melville. Mabel, and Edna. Daughters 
(Ib) Jane. (2b) Millie. (3b) Christina. 
1-ib) Mary, (obi Annie married William M. 
Angus and has had issue: Robert, Frederick, 
IVrcival (deceased), and Edith. (6b) Susan 
married James Magee. Q.C., of London. Ont, 
and has issue: Arthur. Allen. Mabel, and Edith. 
(7b) Sarah. 

(-la) Jacob. 

The daughters of David and Elizabeth (Mac 
Micking) Bastedo were: 

(la) Catherine married Thomas Stock, of Wa- 
terdown. and has issue: John, Walter, Charles, 
William. Clara, Christina, and Lizzie. 

i 2a i ( hristina married, as his first wife, Jo 
seph Rogers, furrier, of Toronto (who married 
secondly Janet Nixon Bastedo. as below), and 
had issue: Sous (Ib) John. (2b) Charles mar 
ried and had issue: Joseph. Clara. Lizzie, Chris 
tina. Louise, Ada, and Charlotte. (3b) James 
married and has issue: James, Christopher, Jo 
seph, George, Frederick, Thomas, Augusta, Lil- 
lie, and May. (4b) Alexander. Daughters 
(Ib) Mary. (2b) Clara. (3b) Aggie. (4b) 
Elizabeth. (5b) Margaret. 

Gilbert Tice Bastedo (son of Jacob and Clar 
issa), born in Schenectady, settled in Nelson. 
County Halton. in 1806 or 1807. He married 
Marian, daughter of John Thompson, of the 
Whirlpool. Stamford. Their sons \vere: 

(la) Jacob, born March 16, 1807. died Dee. 
26, 1878, was a merchant in Hamilton. He 
served as lieutenant in the Gore Militia in 1837. 
He married (firstly) in 1838 Margaret Sinclair, 
who died, and (secondly) in August. 1840, Hep- 
zibah Chilver. born Sept. 30. 1821, daughter of 
Joseph Chilver (born Jan. 3. 1794. died Oct. 
K). 1857. son of Thomas Chilver. of Fishneed- 
ham. County of Norfolk. England, and Lydia 
Walling, his wife, who came to Canada and set- 
tin! in Toronto in 1833) and Eli/a, his wife, 
daughter of William Jennings, of Burkholl. 
County of Suffolk, Ensrland. The only child of 
Jacob Bastedo by his first marriage was: (Ib) 
Gilbert Tice. born in 1833. died Aug. 3, 1868, 
barrister at law. of Milton, married Maria. 
daughter of Charles Thompson (who survived 
him and is married secondly to lion. J. Byron 
Turk, of Chicago i. and had one son. (Ic) Gil 
bert Tice. who is married and living in the Tint 
ed States, and two daughters. (Ic) Margaret, 
married to William Wallace Blair, and (2c) 
Marian Christina, married to Lieut. -Col. George 
Alexander Shaw. Of the second marriage : Sons 
(2b) Joseph Albert, born May 4. 1841. post 



master at Newmarket, County of York, married 
Henrietta, daughter of Joseph Lee, of Toronto, 
and has issue : George, manager of the Bank 
of Hamilton at Chesley; Arthur, a medical stu 
dent in New York; Cecil, May Etta, and Mar- 
jorie. (3b) Edward, born Aug. 6, 1844, is mar 
ried and living in Buffalo, U.S.A., and has issiie: 
Edward. Arthur, Neil, John, Lily, Anna and 
Mary. (4b) David Henry, born Dec. 29, 1845. 
furrier in Toronto, married Charlotte Elizabeth, 
daughter of Thomas Armstrong and Mary Jane, 
his wife, daughter of Rev. John Davidson, and 
has issue: Norman, Gilbert Tice, and Marian. 
(5b) Thomas Walter, born Aug. 22, 1847, died 
in September, 1848. (6b) Cornelius Nixon, born 
Jan. 15, 1850, merchant in Toronto, married 
Mary Cameron and has had issue: Albert Nixon, 
John (deceased). Jay, Robert, Kathleen, Mar 
jory, and Sarah. (7b) Louis, born Dec. 20, 
1853, died in September, 1854. (8b) John Mac- 
Gregor, born Sept. 15, 1857, merchant in Milton, 
married Ida Ackermann. and has issue : Chil 
ver. Alfred, and Gladys. Daughters (Ib) Mar 
ian Hepzibah, born Dec. 31, 1842, died Aug. 9, 
1843. (2b) Hannah Elizabeth, artist. Toronto. 
(3b) Janet Rogers married William Macready. 
and has issue, one son, Allan. 

(2a) John Thompson, postmaster at Burling 
ton, served as captain in the Gore Militia in 
1837. married Augusta Eliza Magee, and had 
issue: Sons (Ib) Gilbert Cornelius (deceased) 
married Harriet McLeod and had issue: Gilbert 
Jeff, Anna Harriet, Mabel Augusta Mary, and 
Ellen Baxter. (2b) John Henry, living in the 
Tinted States, married Ida Tonkins, and has is 
sue: Albert Edward and Arthur. (3b) Walter, 
living in Buffalo. U.S.A.. married Kate Henry 
and has issue: Paid. Daughters (Ib) Mar 
garet Eliza, deceased. (2b) Marian Augusta 
married Lot Allen, of Bradford, and has had 
issue : George : Willis, deceased ; Harry ; Leseure ; 
Edith, married to II. G. Morrow; and Mar 
garet. (3b) Isabella married Joseph Leseure, 
of Bradford. 

(3a) David, of Burlington, died in 1898, un 
married. He served as captain in the Gore 
Militia in 1837. 

(4a) Gilbert, of Bookton, County Norfolk, 
married Mary Ann Harrison, and has issue : 
Marian, and Rebecca, married to a Mr. Mnir. 

(5a) Walter (deceased) merchant in Hamil 
ton, married Jane Benedict and had issue: Cam 
eron. Emily, and Irene. 

(6a) James, of Brandon. Man., married Maria 
Harrison, and has issue: Edgar. Frank, David, 
Joseph Rodgers, Septimus. Bertie, and Clara 
Paul. 

The daughters of Gilbert Tice and Marian 
Bastedo were : 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



39 



(la) Janet Nixon married (as second wife) 
Joseph Rogers, merchant in Toronto (who pre 
viously married Christina Bastedo, as above), 
and had issue: (Ib) Christina married John 
Wellington Bowlby, barrister at law, Q.C., of 
Branlford. and has issue: Adam, Joseph, Urania, 
Janet, Augusta, Christina: and (215 s ) Janet 
Augusta married Edward A. Scadding. 

(2a) Elizabeth married Bruce Cameron (de 
ceased), major in the United States army, son 
of Senator Cameron, and has issue: (Ib) Simon 
(Cameron) married Helen Harkley, and has is 
sue. Simon and Elva. (2b) Maggie. (3b) Janet 
Rogers married Tyron Edwards, of Harrisburg. 

(3a) Marian married Robert Johnston, de 
ceased, of "Waterdown, and has had issue : Rob 
ert married Emma Martindale, and has issue: 
Lawrence, Ross, Marian, and Clarissa Jane ; 
Gilbert, deceased; and Elizabeth. 

(4a) Clarissa Jane married William Buntou, 
of Waterdown. and has had issue : Marian, who 
married William Davidson, of Montreal, and has 
issue : William, David, and Marian Bastedo. 

(5a) Sarah died in infancy. 

(6a) Rebecca, unmarried. 

RICHARD BROWN, president of The 
Brown Bros.. Limited, wholesale and manufac 
turing stationers, dealers in paper, office sup 
plies, printers and bookbinders material, manu 
facturers of account books, leather goods, diaries 
bookbinders, etc.. Nos. 51-53 Wellington street 
west, Toronto, Ont., is a member of the family 
which has been for more than a century engaged 
in the above business. 

The Browns are of English extraction. Thom 
as Brown, the grandfather of our subject, in 
1774 engaged in the above mentioned business in 
Newcastle. England, continuing therein until 
1822, in which year his son. Thomas. Jr.. the 
father of our subject, took up the business and 
continued it at the same place until 1846. In 
this year he settled in Toronto and resumed the 
business formerly located at Newcastle. Eng 
land, the place of business being on King street 
east, near Church street. Here Thomas Brown 
continued business until 1856, when the firm of 
Brown Brothers was formed, the three brothers 
being Thomas, who died in Toronto in 1867 ; 
Major John Brown, well known in military 
circles as a member of the Queen s Own Rifles, 
who died in 1882; and Richard. The firm of 
Brown Brothers continued until 1893, when a 
stock company was formed, under the firm name 
of The Brown Bros., Limited, with the follow 
ing officers: Richard Brown, president; Robert 
S. Brown, vice-president ; and T. H. Hornibrook, 
secretary-treasurer. Since The Brown Bros., Ltd., 
was formed thev have suffered two severe losses 



by fire. On April 19, 1904, when the wholesale 
district of Toronto was destroyed by a terrific 
fire, the magnificent building and stock of 
Brown Bros., Ltd., was consumed. They secured 
temporary quarters in the Queen City Rink, 
where in the month of August. 1904, they were 
visited by another severe fire. In 1905 their 
well-appointed and commodious fireproof build 
ing was erected on the site of the first building, 
Nos. 51-53 Wellington street west. This build 
ing, which is of concrete and expanding metal, 
and supposed to be one of the most substantial 
and fireproof buildings in the city, is equipped 
with the most modern machinery for the various 
lines of work carried on by them. They have a 
most complete and full stock of all kinds of 
paper, stationery, account books, office supplies, 
leather goods, printers and bookbinders ma 
terials, etc. The firm have displayed an enter 
prising spirit by sending specimens of their 
work to the various exhibitions. They have still 
in their possession the book with which their 
father took the first prize at the first Exhibi 
tion in Toronto in 1846, and from that date 
they have taken high honors wherever exhibit 
ing: Montreal, the opening of the Victoria 
Bridge, 1860; Centennial, Philadelphia, 1876; 
Paris (France) ; Dublin, Indian and Colonial 
Exhibition, London, England, 1886; World s 
Fair, Chicago, 1893; National Exhibition. To 
ronto, gold medal, etc., etc. 

Thomas Brown, the founder of the family and 
business in Canada, was born in 1789, and died 
in Toronto in 1863. His wife, who bore the 
maiden name of Ann Spoor, was born in Eng 
land in 1802. and died in Toronto in 1865. Their 
children were as follows : Thomas, deceased ; 
Robert S.. retired; Major John, deceased; Rich 
ard: William: Rev. George M., ex-president of 
the Methodist Conference ; Charles S. ; Mrs. B. 
B. Toye. deceased ; and Miss M. Brown, deceased. 

Richard Brown was born in Newcastle, Eng 
land, in 1834, and was educated in his native 
land and in Toronto. In 1848 he embarked in 
the stationery and book business with Mr. Thom 
as Maclear, their place of business being located 
on Yonge street, near King. Here he continued 
until the formation of the Brown Bros, in 1856, 
when, as above stated, he was made a member 
of that firm. Mr. Brown is one of the oldest 
stationers in Canada, having been in the business 
continually since 1848. He is a director in the 
Toronto Paper Manufacturing Company, of 
Cornwall, Ontario. 

Mr. Brown s wife bore the maiden name of 
Elizabeth Robinson. She was a native of Que 
bec, daughter of the late -Dr. Slade Robinson, a 
well-known physician of Toronto. Mr. and Mrs. 
Richard Brown had these children : Mary Edith, 



40 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



the wife of A. A. Fisher, of Brockville ; Amy 
Douglas, the wife of A. E. Huestis; Thomas Al 
bert, vice-president of the firm of Brown Bros., 
Ltd. ; Grace E., wife of J. M. Kerr, a merchant 
of Toronto ; R. Norman, a member of the firm 
of Brown Bros., Ltd. ; and Miss Belle, at home. 
The family are all members of the Methodist 
Church, with which they have been identified for 
many years. 

ALEXANDER HENDERSON, merchant, 
born in Old Pitsligo, Scotland, Nov. 3, 1824, 
died in Toronto, Ont, Canada., June 3, 1887. 
His father, John Henderson, died in Ripon, 
Wisconsin, United States of America, in October, 
1887. at the age of ninety-four years, having re 
tired from agricultural pursuits in his sixtieth 
year ; his mother, Catherine Udny Henderson, of 
the Udny Estate, in Scotland, died in Wisconsin 
in 1862, in her sixty -seventh year. 

In the year 1832 Alexander Henderson came 
to Canada with his father s family, locating in 
Toronto, and began the business career that made 
him one of the wealthy and influential men of 
that city. When eighteen years old he com 
menced the retail dry goods business on his own 
account at the north-east corner of Queen and 
Yonge streets, shortly afterwards buying the 
same property, which has been known for years 
as the Henderson Block. After a few very 
successful years in the retail business he sold 
out to his head salesman, and embarked in the 
wholesale dry goods and millinery business, do 
ing one of the largest trades in Canada, and at 
the age of thirty-two years retired from active 
business life. Mr. Henderson saw not only the 
possibilities, but the probabilities of Toronto be 
coming the leading city of Ontario, and invested 
his dividends in real estate, becoming a large 
realty holder in the city whose development he 
had foreseen. 

It was not only as a business man that Mr. 
Henderson was known to the people of Toronto, 
however, but also as a public officer of popular 
ity and efficiency. For eleven years he was an 
alderman of St. James Ward of Toronto, and 
for the greater part of that time was chairman 
of the Board of Works and Finance, and he was 
also one of Toronto s most efficient Justices of 
the Peace. He was a director of the Union 
Building Society for years, and also of the Grey 
& Bruce Railway. In religion he was a consist 
ent member of the Knox Presbyterian Church. 
In fraternal circle.s he was affiliated with the St. 
Andrew s Society for forty-two years, and an 
old member of the Caledonian Society. He was 
one of the best-known citizens of Toronto, and 
a staunch Liberal in politics. 



REV. S. S. BATES, B.A., D.D., of Toronto, 
a distinguished clergyman of the city, comes of 
English ancestry and belongs to a family which 
has been devoted to the church and to missionary 
work. 

Rev. John Bates, his father, was born in 1805 
in Northamptonshire, England, being a member 
of an old settled family of that region. He left 
his native place in early manhood and went to 
London, where he was engaged in the dry goods 
trade for a time, leaving it to enter the ministry 
of the Baptist Church. In 1850 he settled in 
Dubuque County, Iowa, where he remained until 
1864, moving from there to Hamilton, Ont., and 
thence to Dnndas, where he was pastor of the 
Baptist Chun-h for four years. From 1867 un 
til 1873 he was pastor at Woodstock, removing 
then to St. George, where he died in 1875. He 
and his wife were buried at Woodstock. Their 
children were : Lieut. Samuel, who was killed in 
the Civil War in the United States; Jane, who 
is the widow of W. D. Booker, of Hamilton; 
John G., formerly a dry goods merchant at Chi 
cago, Illinois, who died in 1876; Mary E., wife 
of Rev. John McLaurin. D.D., of India (her 
children are: Kate S., a missionary in India; 
Jennie, a nurse in New Haven. Connecticut; 
Rev. John B., B.A., of Toronto; and Elsie R., 
of Toronto) ; Joseph I., B.A., Ph.D.. and Rev. 
Stuart Samuel, of this sketch. 

Dr. Bates s sister, Mrs. Booker, was first mar 
ried to Rev. A. V. Timpong, with whom she went 
out to India, where he died in the perform 
ance of his missionary labors. He left three 
children, namely: Rev. Stuart, M.D., a mission 
ary in India; Euretta N., now Mrs. H. E. Still- 
well, also a missionary in India ; and Mary B., 
now Mrs. Charles M. Clarke, of Aylmer, Ont. 
Mrs. Booker s husband was a son of the late Rev. 
William Booker. 

The late Joseph I. Bates, an older brother of 
Dr. S. S. Bates, died in 1896, and is survived by 
a widow and two children, John S. and Mar- 
jorie. For many years he was identified with 
Woodstock College, first as a tutor, but later as 
principal. 

Rev. Stuart Samuel Bates was born in Du 
buque County, Iowa, hut was educated at 
Dundas, Woodstock and, later, at the Toronto 
University, receiving his degree of B.A. from 
the latter institution in 1878. In 1901 he was 
honored with the degree of D.D.. which he re 
ceived from McMaster University, Toronto. Dr. 
Bates took his theological course at Woodstock 
Colleifo and Rochester. New York, and in 1881 
he was ordained to the Baptist ministry. His 
first charge was at Gobies Corners, Coxinty Ox 
ford, where he remained for five years, then ac 
cepting a call to the College Street Baptist 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



41 



Church, in Toronto, which he served with all 
faithfulness for seventeen and a half years. In 
1903 Dr. Bates was made field secretary of the 
Baptist Sunday Schools in Toronto. Since 1892 
he has been a member of the Senate and Board 
of Governors of McMaster University, and since 
1893 he has been chairman of the Baptist For 
eign Mission Board of Ontario and Quebec ; he 
has also been honored with other positions of 
responsibility. 

In 1885 Dr. Bates was united in marriage with 
Josephine Jeffery, who was born in London, 
daughter of the late Joseph Jeffery, a man of 
business prominence in that city. They have 
three sons, viz. : Stuart J., B.A. ; Harold C., and 
J. Edgar. 

In politics, as far as becomes his profession, 
Dr. Bates takes an interest in the success of 
the Reform party. 

STEPHEN MAULE JARVIS, who passed 
away in Toronto in 1902, was a native of On 
tario, born near Oakville, third son of Frederick 
Starr and Susan (Merigold) Jarvis, and grand 
son of Colonel Stephen Jarvis, a prominent U. 
E. Loyalist, who fought through the seven 
years (1776-1783) Revolutionary war in the 
United States. 

Col. Stephen Jarvis, after the close of the 
Revolution, settled in 1784 in New Brunswick, 
where he lived for twenty-five years before com 
ing to Ontario in 1808. His home was in To 
ronto from 1809 until his death in 1840, and his 
absences from the city were only while making 
prolonged visits to his children. In the twen 
ties he lived with his younger son, Sheriff "Wil 
liam Botsford Jarvis, at Rosedale, and was for 
many years Registrar of Toronto (then York). 
The death of Col. Jarvis occurred in Weston, 
while he was on a visit to his daughter, Mrs. 
Phillips, wife of the rector at Weston, the Rev. 
Thomas Phillips, D.D., for many years chap 
lain of the Legislative Assembly of Upper Can 
ada. After Col. Jarvis became Usher of the 
Black Rod to the Legislative Assembly he had 
his rooms at the Parliament House, Front street, 
and there his grandson, Stephen Maule, lived 
with him while attending Upper Canada Col 
lege. 

Frederick Starr Jarvis, son of Col. Stephen, 
was born in New Brunswick in 1786. He settled 
near Oakville on lands granted by the Govern 
ment. There on Aug. 4, 1816, his thirtieth 
birthday, he married Susan Merigold, daugh 
ter of a IT. E. Loyalist, who had come from New 
Brunswick the year before the Jarvises. To this 
marriage were born twelve children, as follows : 
Frederick William, Sheriff of Toronto, York and 
Peel; Amelia, who married Alexander Proud- 



foot ; George Thomas, who died at Chicago, leav 
ing a family; Stephen Maule. barrister at Os- 
goode Hall; Peter Robinson, Mayor at Strat 
ford ; Charles Beverley, who died in California ; 
Mary, who married deputy sheriff Henry Skyn- 
ner; Arthur Murray, acting deputy sheriff at 
Osgoode Hall ; Henry Augustus, who was drown 
ed at Stratford ; Edgar John, of Rosedale ; Julia, 
in England; and Hester Elizabeth, who died in 
1858. All are deceased except Julia and Arthur 
Murray. 

Stephen Maule Jarvis was educated at Upper 
Canada College, being one of the first students 
graduated from that institution. He later read 
law with his uncle, Judge Jarvis, of Cornwall, 
and was called to the Bar in 1843 at Brockville. 
In 1845 he went to Brockville, where he was for 
two years a partner of Judge Steele, and in 
1849 came to Toronto as solicitor of the sheriff s 
office for the Counties of York, Toronto and 
Peel. He was one of the founders of the Can 
ada Landed Credit Company, and was solicitor 
of that company for many years. In Toronto 
Mr. Jarvis was in continuous legal practice from 
1849 to 1902, and he was a representative mem 
ber of the Ontario Bar. 

In 1850 Mr. Jarvis married Mary Stinson, 
born near Hamilton in 1830. daughter of Thomas 
and Margaret Stinson. Mrs. Margaret Stinson 
was born Jan. 1, 1806, and died 1882, daughter 
of James Zimmerman, an U. E. Loyalist, and 
members of the family still live on land patent 
ed from the Crown to the U. E. Loyalists. 
Thomas Stinson was born in Ireland in 1798, 
and came to Canada in 1822, locating in the 
Niagara District, later opening a mercantile 
business in Hamilton. In 1829 he built the 
Stinson s Block, the first brick stores in Ham 
ilton, and these are still standing. He was the 
first man to import goods from Liverpool direct 
to Hamilton. In 1847 he founded the Stinson 
Savings Bank, which he successfully conducted 
for many years. Mr. and Mrs. Stinson were 
members of the Church of England. He was a 
very successful business man, and at his death 
left a handsome competency. 

To Mr. and Mrs. Stephen Jarvis were born : 
(1) Margaret Isabella Maule. married B. R. 
Clarkson (who died in 1897), and died in 1900.. 
leaving three children : Nina Mary, Hilda Stu 
art, and Cyril Jarvis. (2) Thomas Stinson. bar 
rister, of Osgoode Hall, married in 1880 Ann 
Croft, daughter of Professor Croft, of the To 
ronto University. They had no children. Mr. 
Stinson Jarvis was the author of several books 
of travel and fiction, and is now living in Cali 
fornia, devoting himself to journalism. (3) 
Stephen Jarvis, manager of the Bank of Mont 
real at Wallaceburg, married Agnes Scott, and 



42 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



lias one son. Guy H. (4) Edward Robinson, of 
The Molson s Bank, Toronto, is unmarried. 

Mr. Jarvis was for several years an alderman 
of the city, and acting mayor during Mr. Bowe s 
absence in England. He was a Conservative 
in politics, and a member of St. George s So 
ciety. Mrs. Jarvis survives her husband and 
resides at her home. No. 131 Beverley street, To- 
ronto. 

HUGH RYAN was one of the best-known men 
in Canada, and he left an imperishable monu 
ment behind him in the hundreds of miles of 
railroad he constructed, opening up a new 
empire to the world. He was born in County 
Limerick, Ireland, in 1832, son of Martin and 
Margaret (Couway) Ryan. 

Mat-tin Ryan was born in Ireland, and in 1841 
brought his family to Canada. He settled on a 
farm near Montreal, where he spent the remaind 
er of his life. His wife, Margaret Con way. died 
in Perth, Ont. Their children were: Hugh, 
John, Patrick, Martin, Alice (Mrs. Michael Do- 
hemy). and Margaret (Mrs. John Doyle). Of 
this family 

Hugh Ryan was but nine years of age when 
the family came to Canada, in which country s 
commercial affairs he was destined to become so 
important a factor. When eighteen years of 
age he embarked in railway contracting, in which 
line he gained an international reputation. His 
first work was on the construction of the St. 
Lawrence & Atlantic Railway, which became the 
first link of the Grand Trunk System, and at 
his death he was one of the oldest railway con 
tractors on the American continent, having spent 
forty-six years in that occupation. In all of his 
enterprises, involving the expenditure of hun 
dreds of millions of dollars, he never entered 
an action at law against any man a fact which 
alone speaks volumes for his business tact. In 
1856 the firm of H. & J. Ryan took the contract 
for a portion of the Brockville & Ottawa line 
(now the Ontario & Quebec), from Smith s 
Falls to Perth, also that branch of the same road 
from Arnprior to Bonnechere. now a portion of 
the main line of the Canadian Pacific Railway. 
Mr. Ryan had contracts on much of the work of 
the railroads in Michigan, Kentucky and Illinois 
his work in the latter being a part of the Chi 
cago & Alton road. In 1867 he went to Nova 
Scotia, and with Mr. A. Brooks built a large por 
tion of the Pictou railroad, along the Salmon 
river. The same firm built a large portion of 
the European & North American line in Maine 
and New Brunswick, also the Pope line from 
Lennox to the eastern townships. Mr. Ryan 
built Section 20 of the International railway, in 
cluding the bridges across the Miramichi river. 



In 1876. with Mr. Purcell, he built the Canadian 
Pacific- from Port William to Eagle River, a dis 
tance of 230 miles, laying the first rail west of 
Port William. In 1877 they started the first 
locomotive on the Canadian Pacific. Mr. Ryan 
had the management of the construction of the 
road from Toronto to Perth, and in conjunction 
with Mr. Haney he built the Red River Valley 
road from Winnipeg. In all, he had to do with 
the construction of about 1.000 miles of railway 
in Canada and the United States. 

While Mr. Ryan could justly feel gratified at 
his wonderful success as a railway contractor, 
his supreme effort was on the construction of the 
Canadian Sault canal, requiring six years of 
time. This structure will of itself prove a monu 
ment to his business ability and mechanical gen 
ius, lie was one of the founders of the Domin 
ion Cable Company, in which he was a stock 
holder, and he was greatly interested in many 
business enterprises in Toronto, among which 
may be mentioned the Imperial Bank, in which 
he was a director ; and he was a director in the 
Toronto General Trusts Corporation, the Canad 
ian General Electric Company, and the Toronto 
Electric Light Company and also in the Old 
Kingston Locomotive Works. He was a trustee 
of the Toronto General Hospital; vice-president 
of St. Michael s Hospital ; and one of the trustees 
in Canada of the Equitable Life Insurance Com 
pany. In all his business enterprises Mr. Ryan 
was most successful, and at his death, which oc 
curred Feb. 13, 1899, he was one of Toronto s 
wealthy and prominent citizens. With his for 
tune, acquired through his own efforts, he was 
constantly doing good. In 1905 he built the fine 
wing to St. Michael s Hospital, Toronto, at a 
cost of $60.000. This handsome structure Mrs. 
Ryan, his wife, handsomely equipped, and many 
a patient sufferer will reap the benefits bestow 
ed by these good people. 

In 1858 Hugh Ryan was married to Miss Mar 
garet Walsh, who was born in Ireland, daughter 
of William Walsh. She died in Cairo, Egypt 
Feb. 22, 1904, her remains being brought back to 
Toronto and buried beside her husband. To Mr. 
and Mrs. Ryan were born four sons and four 
daughters, of whom John T. (the third in order 
of birth) and Mary are the only survivor s. 
Speaking of the death of Mr. Hugh Ryan, a 
leading Toronto paper said: "In the death of 
Mr. Ryan, Canada lost one of her strongest char 
acters and keenest intellects, and Toronto one 
of her most benevolent citizens." 

JOHN THOMAS RVAN, only surviving son of the 
late Hugh Ryan, was born at Perth. Ont., April 
5, 1863. His early literary training was received 
in the schools of his native town, and this was 
supplemented by study in New York and Ottawa. 





/ V 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



Mr. Ryan has been a resident of Toronto since 
1885. In 190-1, on the formation of the Dominion 
Sewer Pipe Company, he was elected its presi 
dent, and this company has the best of prospers 
before it. Like his father. Mr. Ryan is a thor 
ough business man. and is determined to make a 
success in any business enterprise to which he 
gives his time and attention. 

In 1902 Mr. Ryan married Miss Hronadia Mc- 
Evenue. daughter of John E. McEvenue, well 
known in Montreal. To this union have been 
born two children, Hugh and Bronacha. 

"Holly dene," the home of Mr. and Mrs. 
Ryan, is one of the beautiful spots of Toronto, 
and was built in 1876. Mr. and Mrs. Ryan are 
members of the Roman Catholic Church. Like 
his father before him, Mr. Ryan is a very genial 
gentleman, and enjoys the respect and esteem of 
a very wide circle of friends and acquaintances 
in the city, who see in the son many of the 
admirable traits which made the father so popu 
lar and successful. In his home he is a loving 
husband and devoted father, and in all walks 
of life a true Christian gentleman. 

JOSEPH W. LESSLIE. M.D., of No. 1 St. 
Patrick street, Toronto, is a member of one of 
the old families of the Queen City. The first of 
the Lesslie family in America of whom we have 
any data is Edward Lesslie. the Doctor s grand 
father. He was born in Dundee, Scotland, about 
1773. and on Monday, Aug. 27, 1798, married 
Elizabeth Watson, also a native of Dundee. 

In 1819 Edward Lesslie sent his son, Edward. 
to America, on a prospecting tour, for the pur 
pose of locating a suitable place at which to settle 
the family. After spending some time in Phila 
delphia and other places in the 1 nited States 
Mr. Lesslie came to Canada, and decided that 
Toronto was the place for his parents and their 
family to settle. Consequently, in 1823. the 
grandfather and his family came to Canada, 
bringing with them a cargo of general merchan 
dise, and 011 arriving in this country embarked 
in business in Kingston, Toronto and Dundas. 
At this time they had the privilege of issuing 
their own coin, and Dr. Lesslie has in his pos 
session a twopenny piece and a halfpenny issued 
by the Lesslies, bearing their name and the ad 
dress of their places of business. The family 
consisted of Edward Lesslie, Sr., his wife, and 
tlie following children: Edward; John, who set 
tled in Dundas and had charge of the business 
there; James, who located in Toronto for a 
time, and then settled in Eglinton ; William, 
who became a wealthy broker of New York City ; 
Grace, who married Mr. Holt, of Dundas ; Ann. 
who married Mr. Patterson, of Dundas; Charles, 
who went with others from Toronto to Daven 



port, Iowa, where they purchased a large amount 
of land (some of the Toronto people who ex 
pected to join them, changing their minds, sold 
their interests to Mr. Charles Lesslie and others 
of the company) ; Joseph, the father of Dr. 
Lesslie ; Helen, who died unmarried in 1899 : an 1 
Lydia. who married Mr. Thornton, of Dundas. 
Joseph Lesslie was born at Dundee .Ian. 30, 
1813, and was ten years old when his parents 
came to Canada, lie was educated in Rochester 
and Boston, and then spent some time with his 
people at home in Toronto. He became one of 
the editors of the K.nt m/inr (now the (Holx }. and 
later purchased a farm in County Norfolk, near 
that of Dr. James Graham, whose daughter, 
Sarah Elizabeth Graham, he later married. Mrs. 
Lesslie was born in County Norfolk. Her fath 
er. Dr. Graham, was a prominent man of his 
day. and served as a surgeon in the war of 1812, 
being with General Brock at the battle in which 
the General was killed. After two years of 
farming Joseph Lesslie was appointed in charge 
of the York roads, and was later appointed post 
master at Toronto, which position he filled for 
twenty -seven or twenty-eight years, until super 
annuated by Sir John Macdonald with a hand 
some superannuation. Prior to his post office 
appointment Mr. Lesslie was active in cam 
paigns and was a strong and convincing stump 
speaker for the Hon. Robert Baldwin, the grand 
father of Dr. Joseph W. Lesslie s wife. After 
leaving the post office Mr. Lesslie lived retired 
until his death, which occurred Jan. 6. 1904 ; his 
wife passed away in 1883. In political sentiment 
Mr. Lcsslie was a Reformer, and in religion hi- 
was connected with the Plymouth Brethren. His 
children are: Grace, the wife of E. J. Harding, 
of Bristol. England, who has two children, Har 
old Ivan and Constance ; James, deceased in 1873, 
who was in the post office department, Toronto. 
for some time; Mary, who married T. D. Bell, 
of Montreal, and has two children. Muriel and 
Leslie ; Dr. Rolph. deceased in 1892, who was 
one of the prominent men of his day; Dr. Jo 
seph W. : ( ieorgie. who died in 1871 ; and Louisa, 
who married Andrew Bell, of Montreal, and has 
one son. Andrew Lesslie Bell. 

From the London Medical Directory of 1890 
we take the following concerning Dr. Rolph Less- 
lie: M.A., M.D.. Toronto, 1876; L.R.C.P., Lon 
don, England. 1879 (St. Thomas and Vienna) ; 
F.R.G.S. ; Order of Medjidi. fourth class; Russo- 
Turkish and Zulu war medal; physician, Queen 
Charlotte s Hospital; surgeon major, Turkish 
war. 1877-78 ; ambulance surgeon, National Aid 
Society Russo-Turkish Compassionate Fund, 
during smallpox epidemic in Constantinople, 
1878; resident assistant physician. Hospital, Port 
of Spain, Trinidad, 1880-81 ; physician, Homer- 



44 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



ton Fever Hospital, 1881 ; surgeon in the Zulu 
war, 1879 ; physician. International African As 
sociation, 1883-84; physician, Congo Free State, 
1884 to 1886; "Order of Leopold," "Chevalier. 
1886;" Order of the Congo, Star, 1889; author 
of "Hints to Travellers in the Tropics." 

Dr. Joseph W. Lesslie was born in Toronto in 
1854, and was educated at the Upper Canada Col 
lege and Toronto University, receiving the de 
gree of M.D. from the latter in 1879, since which 
time he has practised his profession in Toronto. 
The Doctor has also been prominent in military 
matters. He was surgeon to the Queen s Own 
for nearly fifteen years, and was surgeon in the 
Northwest Rebellion (1885), receiving a medal 
and clasp and also twice "special mention." 
Dr. Lesslie s ambulance corps in the "Queen s 
Own Rifles" was the first started in Canada, and 
they also had the honour of being specially men 
tioned for their services at Cut Knife Hill, in 
1885. 

Dr. Lesslie was married in 1883 to Miss Agatha 
M. Y. Baldwin, daughter of the late William 
Willeocks Baldwin, whose sketch appears else 
where. Dr. and Mrs. Lesslie are members of the 
Church of England. In politics he is a Con 
servative. 

NEILL ROGER, who passed away in 1877 in 
the West Indies, was born there, and was a son 
of the Hon. James D. Roger, of St. Kitts, W. 
I., where he owned a large sugar plantation. The 
Hon. Mr. Roger later removed to Scotland, where 
he passed the remainder of his life, and there 
died. 

Neill Roger was educated in Germany and 
Hythe, England, and after completing his edu 
cation joined the "Second Queen s" at Gibral 
tar. He remained with this regiment two years, 
during which time he was in Bermuda during 
the yellow fever epidemic. From this regiment 
Mr. Roger changed to the commissary depart 
ment, and in 1864 he came to Canada, serving 
during the Fenian Raid. He was stationed at 
Thorold, Fort Erie and other places. He then 
went to the commissary s office in Toronto, later 
removing to Quebec, and while there Mr. Roger 
was called into the second Fenian Raid, having 
charge of the supplies of all kinds for the men. 
Resigning from the commissary department, Mr. 
Roger volunteered to go to the West Indies, Mrs. 
Roger accompanying him. For a time they were 
located at Trinidad, and then went to St. Kitts, 
where Mr. Roger died, as above mentioned. 

During his stay in Toronto Mr. Roger married 
Miss Elizabeth Paterson, daughter of Peter and 
Hannah (Wilson) Paterson, the former born in 
New Glasgow, and the latter in England. Peter 
Paterson was educated at Bishop Strachan s 



School, Toronto, and was for many years a well- 
known dry goods merchant on King street east. 
His home was known as "Blantyre Park," the 
space now being occupied by the R. C. Indus 
trial School. His father, Peter Paterson, came 
from Scotland to "Muddy York" at an early 
day. and was for some time engaged in the hard 
ware business on King street; he founded the 
firm of P. Paterson & Sons, and died in Toronto. 
To Peter and Hannah (Wilson) Paterson were 
born: Rev. C. W., who is deceased; Frederick 
W., deceased, who married Florence McCarthy, 
and had children; Mrs. Roger; Rev. T. W., of 
Toronto ; Mary Louisa, a missionary among the 
Japanese in California ; Emily, wife of Fred 
Winstanley; and J. H.. of Toronto. 

Mr. and Mrs. Roger had four children: Alice 
Maude, Edith, M. Percy, and Neill, of whom the 
last named died in 1902. Mr. Roger was an Ang 
lican in religion, and Mrs. Roger also adheres to 
that faith. 

JOHN M. FINDLAY, M.A., who died in To 
ronto in 1896, was one of the city s highly 
esteemed citizens. He was born in Scotland in 
1860, and in his native land received his literary 
training, completing the classical course in Glas 
gow University, from which he was graduated 
with the degree of M.A. 

Shortly after graduation Mr. Findlay came to 
Canada and settled in Toronto, and soon became 
connected with the Board of Trade of that city, 
later accepting the position of accountant in the 
office of the London Canadian Loan Company, 
a position which he was ably filling at the time 
of his death. Mr. Findlay was a prominent mem 
ber of the Presbyterian Church, and active in its 
work. He was a member of the Masonic fra 
ternity, and of the A. O. U. W., and in all circles 
was prominent and popular. A public-spirited 
citizen and Christian gentleman, his death was 
felt by all, and the city of Toronto lost one of 
her representative citizens and upright men. 

THOMAS BROWN (deceased). For many 
years the firm of Brown Brothers has been a 
leading commercial industry in Toronto, its foun 
dation having been laid about sixty years ago 
by Thomas Brown, Sr., the father of the gentle 
man whose name appears at the head of this 
sketch, and it is with the early history of the 
company that Thomas Brown, Jr., was identified. 
He was born at Newcastle-upon-Tyne, England, 
Jan. 15, 1828. and when about eighteen years of 
age came with the family to Canada, where his 
father embarked in the stationery business. At 
the time of his death it was transferred to the 
management of the sons, Thomas, Richard and 
John. A thorough business man, Thomas Brown, 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



45 



our subject, was honest and upright in all of his 
dealings and had much executive ability, and the 
success which has attended the firm, with which 
he continued until his death, in September, 1866, 
is largely due to his efforts. He was a member 
of the Methodist Church, and for many years 
served as trustee and Sunday school superinten 
dent. In polities he was a Reformer. 

On Aug. 30, 1848, Thomas Brown married 
Miss Ann Parry, born at Manchester, England, 
Aug. 7, 1828, daughter of Henry and Esther 
(Bailey) Parry, the former born in Wales, and 
the latter in Manchester, England. Henry Parry 
came to Toronto about 1840, and soon thereafter 
established himself in the tailoring business on 
King street, opposite the "Rossin House." Many 
of the early residents of the city will remember 
Mr. Parry and his business. He was an enthu 
siastic church and Sunday-school worker, and 
was connected with one of the first Methodist 
churches in the city. He died in Toronto in 
1849, as did his wife in 1886, their children be 
ing : Henry, of Toronto ; Mary, the widow of Wil 
liam Kilpatrick, of Toronto; Emma, deceased, 
who married John Henderson, who also died in 
Toronto ; Esther, who married Charles Blair, and 
died in Toronto; and Ann, who became Mrs. 
Brown. 

To Mr. and Mrs. Thomas Brown the follow 
ing family were born: Capt. Thomas, of the 
Queen s Own Rifles, deceased, a sketch of whom 
will be found elsewhere; Henry J.,- of Brown 
Bros., Ltd.. who married Matilda Reed; Miss 
Annie M., of Toronto; Emma II.. wife of Wil 
liam Ewens, of Owen Sound; Minnie, wife of 
Dr. W. H. Jeffs, of Eglinton; William G., of 
Toronto, who married Millicent Britt ; and Har 
riet E., who became the wife of George H. Lugs- 
din. 

DR. JOHN EDWARD WHITE, who died 
in Toronto in 1894, was a well-known medical 
practitioner of the Queen City for many years. 
The Doctor was born at Beaverton, Ont., in 1848. 
son of Henry White, also a native of Canada, and 
a civil engineer of wide reputation. 

Dr. White was educated at the Upper Canada 
College, and at the University of Toronto, gradu 
ating from the medical department of the latter 
institution in 1870. He began his medical prac 
tice at Pontiac, Michigan, but remained there 
only a short time, after which he located in 
Parry Sound for a number of years, thence went 
to Beaverton for three years, and finally settled 
on Carlton street, Toronto, where he continued 
in the practice of medicine and surgery until his 
death. Dr. White was one of the leading physi 
cians and surgeons of his day, was very success 



ful in the practice of his chosen profession, and 
was highly esteemed by all who knew him. 

In 1875 the Doctor married Miss Annie Gurnee 
Hewitt Wallis, born in Toronto in 1852, daughter 
of Thomas George and Sarah (Hewitt) Wallis, 
the former a native of Massachusetts, and the 
latter of New York, a sister of the late Senator 
Abram S. Hewitt, of the Empire State, a son-in- 
law of Peter Cooper, of New York City. The 
Coopers and Hewitts were owners of the Trenton 
Iron and Wire business at Trenton, New Jersey. 
Thomas George and Sarah (Hewitt) Wallis were 
both born in 1812. He was a son of Thomas 
Wallis, of Cornwall, England, owiier of tin mines 
of Cornwall. Thomas George Wallis came to 
New York as manager for John Hewitt, exporter, 
father of Sarah Hewitt, and who located in To 
ronto in 1816. engaging in cabinet making. for 
many years at the corner of King and Simcoe 
streets. His wife was Mary Ann Lynch, of Eng 
lish extraction. Thomas George Wallis, father of 
Mrs. White, engaged in the grocery business at 
the corner of Queen and John streets, Toronto, 
for a number of .veal s, and died in 1871, his wife 
surviving until 1893. Their children were: the 
late Lieut.-Col. George Hewitt Wallis. who 
served in the American War of the Rebellion in 
1861-5; Charles Hewitt Wallis, deceased; and 
Mrs. White, widow of the Doctor. 

To Dr. and Mrs. White were born three sons : 
Edward Hewitt, of Calgary, Alberta; Francis 
Otway, of Toronto: and Conrad L., of the same 
place. Dr. White was a member of the Church 
of England, to which faith Mrs. White also 
adheres. In politics he was a Conservative. 

DR. WARREN BALDWIN, B.A., who died 
at Olive Island, Muskoka, March 23, 1903, 
was a native of the Queen City, born in 
1864, third child of Robert and Jemima (Mac- 
Dougall) Baldwin, whose other children were: 
Rev. James McQueen, a missionary of Japan; 
Robert, deceased; Jemima, Mrs. Dyson Hague, 
of London; David Cecil, deceased; Catherine, 
wife of J. S. R, Boyd, of Toronto; Elizabeth 
Mary, Mrs. Barr, of Toronto; Annie Gertrude, 
deceased; Frederick Walker, a student of To 
ronto; and Grace Constance. Dr. Warren Bald 
win was a cousin of H. St. George and Dr. Wil 
liam Augustus Baldwin, to whose sketches the 
reader is referred for the early history of the 
Baldwin family. 

Dr. Warren Baldwin was educated at the Up 
per Canada College and the Toronto University, 
graduating from the latter in 1886, with the de 
gree of B.A. On completing his classical conr.se 
above mentioned Dr. Baldwin took up the study 
of medicine at Trinity Medical School, and took 
the degree of M.B. at Toronto University in 



46 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGKAPHICAL RECORD 



1889. lie continued his studies in Philadelphia 
under Dr. Kent, a well-known homeopathic physi 
cian of that city. Returning to Toronto, the 
Doctor practised for three years, when failing 
health caused him to locate in Muskoka, where 
he practised his profession until his death. 

In 1892 Dr. Warren Baldwin and Miss Cath 
erine A. B. Ridley were united in marriage. Mrs. 
Baldwin is a native of Hamilton, and a daughter 
of the late Dr. Henry T. Ridley, a well-known 
physician of that city, born in 1827, son of Dr. 
Ridley, of Belleville ; he married Catharine Mary, 
daughter of Hon. Edmund Murney, of Belleville. 
Dr. Ridley read medicine at MeGill, and For 
many years practised his profession at Hamilton, 
and he died in 1896. Dr. Ridley s children were : 
Louisa M. de R,, Mrs. E. W. Boyd, Mrs. R, H. 
Labatt, Mrs. Baldwin, and Sophia E. D. To Dr. 
and .Mrs. Baldwin were born the following ehild- 
ivn : Ridley Warren (deceased) ; Katherine 
Mary Warren, and Robert Henry Warren. 

Dr. Baldwin was a member of the Church of 
England. In politics he was a Reformer. 

RICHARD SUGDEN WILLIAMS, who 

passed away at his late residence, "Oaklawn," 
corner of Sherbourne and Wellesley streets, To 
ronto, Feb. 24, 1906, was one of the city s best 
known business men and highly esteemed citi 
zens. 

The Williams family is of English extraction, 
and was founded in Canada in 1838 by Richard 
Williams, the father of Richard S., who on com 
ing to this country settled at Hamilton, and 
there lived as a retired gentleman until 1854. 
He then removed to Toronto, and soon became 
connected with the Northern railway, at the 
opening of which he was accidentally killed at 
Newmarket. He had two sons: Richard Sugden 
and William Hodgson. W. H. Williams was 
for some years associated with his brother in the 
manufacture of organs, but later went to Bal 
timore, Maryland, where the remainder of his 
life was spent. 

Richard Sugden Williams was born April 12, 
1834. on Oxford street. London, England, and 
was christened in St. Margaret s Church, beside 
Westminster Abbey. He was but four years old 
when the family settled in Canada. In 1849, at 
the age of fifteen years, he began the work in 
which he won an international reputation. As a 
lad he showed marked ability in repairing musi 
cal instruments, and shortly after the family re 
moved to Toronto, in 1854, he embarked in the 
manufacture of banjos, mandolins, etc., his first 
place of business being on Yonge street, above 
Queen street. From there he removed to the 
present location, No. 143 Yonge street. In 1879 
the firm of R. S. Williams & Son was formed, 



Mr. Robert Williams entering the company. 
From the smaller enterprise the firm entered into 
the making of the melodeon, later the cabinet 
organ, and finally the pipe organ and piano. The 
pipe organ line was found to be not so satisfac 
tory as the cabinet organ and piano, and was 
soon dropped, the entire energy of the firm be 
ing given to the manufacture of the latter in 
struments until 1890, when the manufacture of 
guitars, banjos, etc., became a part of the busi 
ness. For many years Mr. Williams had his 
factory in Hayter street, Toronto, but in 1889 
it was moved to Oshawa. In 1890 the firm of 
the R. S. Williams and Sons Company, Limited, 
was incorporated, with a capital of $500,000. R. 
S. Williams being president, and Robert Wil 
liams vice-president, and in 1902 the business 
was divided and the Williams Piano Company 
founded at Oshawa with a capital of $250,000, 
while the business at Toronto was continued un 
der the former name. Mr. Williams remained ac 
tively identified with the business until 1903, 
when failing health compelled him to relinquish 
active duties and place them upon the shoulders 
of his sons, who had been associated with him at 
both places named. The extent of this business 
may be appreciated from the fact that the pay 
roll of the factory at Oshawa amounts to over 
$60,000 annually, in addition to that of the com 
mercial salesmen and others connected with the 
business in all about two hundred and fifty 
men. When it is realized that the majority of 
these two hundred and fifty men are married 
and have families, it will be seen that fully one 
thousand people are dependent upon the suc 
cess of this business for a livelihood. Probably 
no man is a greater public benefactor, in the 
true sense of the word, than he who furnishes 
employment for so many of his fellowmen, and 
such a man was the late R. S. Williams. Mr. 
Williams was a member of St. James Cathedral, 
and in political matters was a Conservative. 

Mrs. Williams, who survives her husband, was 
Mi.ss Sarah Norris, daughter of Robert and Mary 
(De Maine) Norris, who came from the United 
States to Canada in 1852. To Mr. and Mrs. 
Williams there were born children as follows : 
Robert, president of the Williams Piano Com 
pany at Oshawa, a sketch of whom appears else 
where in this volume; Richard Sugden, .Jr., pre 
sident of the R. S. Williams & Sons Company, 
Limited, n sketch of whom is found elsewhere 
in this work ; Annie, the widow of Dr. William 
Moore, who has one son, William Ellwood Moore. 
the manager of the Winnipeg (Man.) branch 
of the R. S. Williams & Sons Company, Limit 
ed; and Herbert DeMaine Williams, in the 
piano business in Ottawa. 

Mr. Williams was a man of refined tastes. 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



enjoying as his recreation his plants and flow 
ers, in his beautiful conservatory. He took fre 
quent trips both on this continent and abroad, 
in which all the members of his family were par 
ticipants at one time or other. His later years 
\\civ spent in contributing to the happiness of 
others and lending a helping hand to many who 
were in need. Mr. Williams was an exemplary 
eiti/en in every walk of life, and in his death 
Canada lost a pioneer manufacturer of musical 
instruments. Toronto one of her successful busi 
ness men. the Church a consistent member and 
liberal supporter, and his family a devoted hus 
band and father. 

CHRISTIE, BROWN & COMPANY, LIMIT 
ED. The buildings occupied by this firm are 
situated on Duke street, in the City of Toronto, 
and cover an area of 270 feet frontage, by 130 
feet deep. There are five storeys and basement, 
with a total floor space of 210,000 feet. The 
number of employees is 525. 

The history of the firm is an interesting one. 
It was originally formed by Mathers & Brown, 
with Mr. William Christie as assistant baker and 
travelling salesman. In 1850 Mr. Mathers retir 
ed, and Mr. Christie became associated with Mr. 
Alexander Brown as partner. Three years later 
the latter retired, but in 1861 he was again back 
in the business, when the style of the firm be 
came Christie, Brown & Company. In 1878 Mr. 
Brown finally retired from the firm, Mr. Christie 
continuing the business under the old firm name 
until June, 1899, when it was merged into a joint 
stock company, with a capital of $500,000. After 
Mr. William Christie s death, in June, 1900, his 
son. Mr. Robert J. Christie, became president; 
R. Harvey, vice-president; and C. E. Edmonds, 
secretary-treasurer. 

The business was originally started on Youge 
street. It was removed from there to Francis 
street in 1871, and from Francis street to the 
present site at Frederick and Duke streets in 
1874. The original building on the present site 
was 60 x 90 feet, Besides the Toronto factory 
there are branch warehouses on St. Charles Bor- 
romee street. Montreal, and Dalhousie street, 
Quebec. There are also agencies in St. John. 
Halifax, Winnipeg. Victoria, and Vancouver. In 
all. Christie. Brown & Company, Limited, em 
ploy seventeen travellers, who cover the Domin 
ion from one end to the other. The factory is 
scrupulously clean. The girls employed in pack- 
ins; biscuits are provided at the firm s expense 
with clean blouses and large white aprons, and 
the men with white suits and pocket handker 
chiefs, while baths of modern style and finish are 
provided for all. 

Durinsr the last few years the company has 



been paying some attention to the export trade, 
and it has met with a good deal of success. 
"Christie s Biscuits" are now to be found in 
several leading cities of the United States, such 
as New York, Boston, Chicago. Cleveland and De 
troit. Shipments are also made with more or less 
regularity to South Africa and the British West 
Indies, while unsolicited business has been re 
ceived from Cuba. Hayti, India and Xew Zea- 
1,-ind. The firm has export agents in Great Bri 
tain, South Africa and the West Indies. They 
manufacture all kinds of sweetened and unsweet 
ened biscuits, and for the export trade all its 
biscuits are put up in hermetically sealed tin 
boxes, 

WILLIAM MELLIS CHRISTIE. When the death 
of the late William Mellis Christie took place 
on the 14th of June. 1900. a prominent figure in 
the Toronto commercial and manufacturing 
world was lost to view, but "his memory will lin 
ger for many years among numbers of his fel 
low citizens, whose admiration and respect he 
had gained in his long, honorable and successful 
business career. He was born at Huntly, Scot 
land, Jan. 5, 1829. and after receiving a good 
ed\ication and apprenticeship in that country 
came to Canada in 1848. He engaged in the bak 
ing trade for some years, and finally settled in 
Toronto, where, in 1849, he entered the employ 
ment of Messrs. Mathers & Brown, Biscuit Manu 
facturers. MS assistant and travelling salesman. 
In 1850 Mr. Mathers retired and Mr. Christie 
became a partner, with Mr. Alexander Brown. In 
ISoo Mr. Brown retired, but in 1861 re-entered 
the business, when the name Christie. Brown & 
Company was adopted. Mr. Brown retired in 
1878, Mr. Christie continuing alone until June 1. 
1899, when, the business having expanded to such 
an extent, it was thought necessary and to the 
best interests of the concern, to form the same 
into a limited company. This accordingly was 
done, and the business was incorporated as 
"Christie. Brown & Company, Limited," on 
June 1, 1899. with Mr. William Mellis Christie 
as the first president. This company is the un 
doubted leader of the biscuit manufacturing in 
dustry in the Dominion, its wares being thor 
oughly distributed throughout the country from 
coast to coast. The concern was built up to its 
present proportions by the efforts of Mr. Chris 
tie from a comparatively small beginning, and it 
has taken the devotion of a lifetime to develop. 
On June 14. 1899. a few days after the forma 
tion of the company. Mr. Christie sailed for 
Europe for a well-earned rest, and just one year 
afterward he passed away peacefully at his resi 
dence. Queen s Park, Toronto, on the 14th of 
June. 1900. Practically, his lifetime was exclu- 
sivelv devoted to his own business interests, and 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



that of the company, with the exception that for 
several years he was a trustee of the Toronto Uni 
versity, and from the inception of the Toronto 
Industrial Exhibition almost up to the time of 
his death, worked hard and continuously to bring 
it to the position which it now occupies. In poli 
tics he was a Liberal. He was a member of the 
Toronto and National Clubs, and of the St. An 
drew s Society. The favorite occupation of his 
leisure was the reading of high-class literature, 
old books, and studying the leading scientific, lit 
erary and political reviews and periodicals. He 
surrounded himself with a fine library of books 
at his residence in Toronto, where he also took 
great pride in his extensive garden, which he 
spared no expense to have cultivated to perfec 
tion. 

On the 25th of March, 18, William Mellis 
Christie was married to a Canadian lady, Miss 
Mary Jane McMullen, and left four children : 
Robert Jaffray; Mary Jane, married to John J. 
Palmer, of Toronto ; Ann Elizabeth, married to 
D. S. Barclay, of Toronto ,- and Fanny Laura, 
married to T. J. Clark, of Toronto. 

Mrs. Christie was born in the CoTinty of York 
in 1831, daughter of James and Jane (Robert 
son) McMullen, the former born in Ireland, a 
son of James McMullen, who died in that coun 
try. James McMullen married Miss Jane Rob 
ertson, and after a residence of several years in 
Toronto removed to West York, there settling on 
a farm, where Mr. McMullen remained during 
the rest of his active life. He passed his latter 
days in Toronto, where both he and Mrs. McMul 
len died. 

On the death of Mr. Christie, his son, Robert 
Jaffray Christie, succeeded to the presidency of 
the firm of Christie, Brown & Company, Lim 
ited, and under his efficient management the busi 
ness is sustaining the high reputation acquired 
under the direction of his father. 

Robert Jaffray Christie was born in Toronto 
April 5, 1870. and on Feb. 20, 1895, married Miss 
Emma L. Lee, daughter of J. R. Lee, whose 
sketch appears elsewhere. To Mr. and Mrs. 
Christie have been born the following named 
children : William L., Tluntly I., and Katharine. 

The late Mr. Christie will long be remembered 
as a public spirited Torontonian, as well as a 
generous and charitable citizen. 

JEREMIAH CARTY (deceased). Many of 
the older business men of Toronto will recall 
pleasant memories of their business relations 
with the nte Jeremiah Carty, who from 1S45 
until his death, in 1868. was one of the promin 
ent men of Ihe Queen City, both in commercial 
and municipal life. His birth occurred in 1820 
is Dunmanway, County Cork, Ireland. He was 



a son of John Carty, who died in Ireland. John 
Carty s widow, with her two children Jeremiah 
and Mrs. Charles Eedy came to Toronto in 
1830, four years before that place became a city. 
In the Queen City Jeremiah Carty grew to 
manhood, and there he spent his entire business 
life. In 1845 he erected a plant at the corner of 
George and Queen streets, for the inanufactiire 
of soap and candles, and was one of the pioneers 
in that line in Toronto. In this business he was 
very successful. He was one of the founders of 
the Western Canada Loan & Savings Company, 
and was vice-president of that organization 
until his death. He served on the council of the 
city of Toronto as alderman. In politics he was 
a Conservative, and in fraternal matters a mem 
ber of the I.O.O.F. In religion he was a Metho 
dist, attending the Richmond street church for 
many years, and being a member of the board 
of trustees. 

Mr. Cart} was married in Toronto to Miss Mary 
Robinson, daughter of Samuel Robinson, of 
County Cavan. Ireland. Mrs. Carty died in 
1876, leaving two daughters. 

DR. GEORGE WILLIAM HALE, for many 
years one of the leading dental practitioners of 
Toronto and St. Catharines, Ont., passed away 
in the former city Jan. 19, 1899. He was one 
of the first dentists of Toronto, there being but 
one other dentist in the city when he began prac 
tice. This gentleman soon afterward died, leav 
ing Dr. Hale in full possession of the field. 

George William Hale was born in London, 
England, in 1823, son of W T illiam and Mary Ann 
Hale, who came to Toronto in 1836, Mrs. Hale 
passing away in this city, while her husband 
went to Albany, New York, where his last days 
v.ere spent. Dr. Hale came with his parents to 
Canada, and, as above mentioned, became the 
second dentist in the city. He continued his pro 
fession in Toronto and St. Catharines for many 
years, and was well and widely known as an 
efficient practitioner of dental surgery and as a 
citizen of honor and integrity. 

Dr. Hale married Miss Louise E. Williams, 
who was born in London, England, in 1826, 
daughter of Henry and Elizabeth Williams, who 
came to Toronto in 1827, where Mr. Williams 
followed cabinet-making in his younger days, 
spending the last twenty years of his life in re 
tirement. Mrs. Hale survived the Doctor until 
Sept. 23, 1901, when she too passed away. To 
them were born : Mary Ann, deceased ; Louise, 
who died aged twenty-one years ; Asmes, who 
also died at that age; Annie, the wife of Wil- 
loughby Cowpin, of Dundas; William, deceased; 
Hannah, who died young; Charles, deceased; 






COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



49 



Miss Carol and Miss Harriet, of Toronto; and 
May. deceased. 

Dr. and Mrs. Hale were members of the Meth 
odist Church. In political opinion he was inde 
pendent. 

ROBERT SPOOR BROWN, ex-vice-president 
of the firm of Brown Brothers, Limited, now liv 
ing retired at No. 412 Euclid avenue, Toronto, 
is a member of a family which has long been 
identified with the Queen City. Mr. Brown was 
born at Xewcastle-upon-Tyne, England, June 8, 
1830, son of Thomas and Ann (Spoor) Brown. 
In the Royal Grammar School of Newcastle 
Mr. Brown received his education, and at the age 
of thirteen years he entered the employ of the 
Newcastle & North Shields Railway Company, 
with which he remained until coming to Canada, 
in the year 1846. The following year he spent, 
; n the employ of Thomas Bilton, a tailor oi To 
ronto, and his next position was with Thomas 
MacLear, a stationer and bookbinder. In 1856 
he went to Hamilton and engaged in the book 
and stationery business until 1859, when he re 
turned to Toronto and became identified with 
the well-known firm of Brown Brothers. With 
this house he was actively engaged until 1904, 
being vice-president of the company for the last 
ten years of that long period, at the end of 
which he retired from active work, although he 
still continues as a member of the company. 

On Oct. 1. 1856, Mr. Brown was united in mar 
riage with Miss Mary Porter, who was born at 
Weston, in the County of York, Oct. 29, 1837, 
daughter of John D. and Louise (LongstaiF, 
Porter. To this union were born the following 
named children: Annie L. is the wife of John 
W. Tonkin, of Toronto Junction; Fred W. is a 
resident of Weston ; Emily Victoria is the wife 
of W. H. Rowntree. of Emery; Mary E. is un 
married: M. Margaret is Mrs. Joseph Nason, of 
Weston; Harriet I. is the wife of William E. 
Ellerby, of Winnipeg; Laura E. is married to 
James D. Conklin, of Toronto; and Alfred E., 
of Toronto, married Miss Florence Moss, of To 
ronto Junction. Mr. Brown and his family are 
members of the Methodist Church. In political 
opinion he is a Reformer. 

THOMAS MORGAN HARRIS closed his 
brief but luminous earthly career twelve years 
ago, but its pervasive influence has not lessened 
to this day. His work goes on, and his memory 
is a blessing to all who ever enjoyed association 
with him. 

Mr. Harris was born in 1862 in Beamsville, 
Ont, and was the youngest son of Alanson Har 
ris, whose family consisted of three children, 
the others being Rev. Dr. Elmore Harris, of To- 
4 



ronto, and Mrs. Popplewell. Thomas M. Har 
ris was a boy when his parents removed to 
Brantford, and there he received his education 
in the public and collegiate schools. Though 
never really robust, he had a rigorous mental 
and moral makeup, which more than counter 
balanced any lack of physical strength, and his 
ambition early asserted itself. He was always 
a deep student and an idealist in the lines into 
which his inclinations led him, but he was no 
idle dreamer and had no taste for the pleasant 
paths of leisure which he might have chosen. 
His school days over, he soon took an active in 
terest in the important manufacturing firm of 
which his father was the head, Harris, Son & 
Co., since reorganized as the Massey-Harris 
Company, of Toronto and Brantford, extensive 
manufacturers of agricultural implements, one 
of the leading firms in the Province of Ontario. 
Having demonstrated his ability he was given 
responsibilities which he assumed in the earnest 
manner characteristic of anything he undertook, 
and in the faithful discharge of his duties de 
veloped an efficiency which promised well for a 
business career. From the organization of the 
Slingsby Manufacturing Company, of Brant 
ford, about a year before his death, Mr. Harris 
was a member of its board of directors, and 
influential in the councils of that body. His 
business faculties, however, were less the result 
of commercial instinct than of devotion to duty, 
and the application of the means at hand to the 
work in view. It was this practical side of his 
mature which made him particularly valuable in 
the work to which his tastes drew him, and to 
which he intended to devote all his time had he 
been spared. In fact, although he had made a 
substantial place for himself in business circles, 
he was best known as a Christian philanthro 
pist. 

The Baptist denomination, and especially the 
First Baptist Church of Brantford, lost one of 
its best friends when Mr. Harris died. For thir 
teen years he had been a member of the First 
Church, and prominent in its work, having 
served as clerk, deacon, Bible class teacher and 
Sunday-school superintendent. He was also at 
the time of his death a trustee of the W aimer 
Road Church, of Toronto. He liked church 
work, especially as it afforded an outlet for his 
humanitarian and benevolent instincts. His 
home church and its allied interests ever re 
ceived the benefit of his best efforts. But he was 
too thoroughly devoted to the uplifting of hu 
manity in general to confine his work to the op 
portunities afforded even by that enterprising 
organization, and every movement in the city 
which had a philanthropic object was sure of 
his financial and moral support. He found a 



50 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



wide field of usefulness in the Young Men s 
Christian Association, to which he gave liberally 
of both time and means. He held various offices 
in the Association, for several years serving as 
a member of the Brantford branch board of di 
rectors, and being a director and vice-president 
of the General Convention of the Associations. 
In all its activities he was a leading spirit 
throughout the period of his connection with the 
organization, his influence in which was un 
doubtedly due as much to his personality as to 
his zeal. As a young man he understood those 
whom the Association most desires to benefit, 
and, though he was a thoughtful man, had a 
genial disposition, which won the ready sympa 
thy as well as the respect of the young men with 
whom the work brought him into contact. The 
young people of his church felt his usefulness in 
the Baptist Young People s Union, of which he 
served as president ; he was vice-president of the 
Provincial Association. The Neglected Chil 
dren s Society, the Orphans Home and the 
Widows Home were all objects of his continual 
solicitude. 

Mr. Harris gave two or three hours each day to 
the study of the Bible, at first because of his in 
terest in the Scriptures, and later with the in 
tention of devoting himself entirely to evangelis 
tic work. He did not mean to enter the ministry 
formally, but he wished to prepare himself for 
effective and authoritative speaking at the meet 
ings of a religious character to which he was so 
frequently called. He was deeply interested in 
the establishment of the Toronto Bible Training 
School and was chosen a member of its General 
Council, but he died before the formal opening 
of the Home. His thoughtfulness in providing 
continuous aid for its work is gratefully realized 
to this day. [His brother, Rev. Elmore Harris, 
was president of the school, and his father-in- 
law, Rev. Dr. Stewart, resident instructor.] 
About a year before his death he arranged for 
and organized a class for Bible study at Brant- 
ford, and he was its recognized leader as long 
as health permitted. During the last three or 
four years of his life Mr. Harris had begun to 
give Gospel addresses in schoolhouses. mission 
churches, and at other Lord s Day services, as 
opportunity afforded and his health permitted. 
For all these he made diligent and prayerful 
study and preparation. He also spoke on sev 
eral occasions with much acceptance to very 
large audiences at meetings of different asso 
ciations and conventions. "He cultivated his 
gifts in the prayer meeting, the Young People s 
Union, and the Young Men s Christian Associa 
tion meetings, till he became quite effective as a 
speaker. Some who read this will remember his 
earnest and spiritual addresses at large gather 



ings in Hamilton, Brantford and Woodstock. 
He had made a beginning of evangelistic work, 
and ... he had the deepest interest in the 
revival of spiritual life among the churches at 
home." The writings he left, enough to till a 
volume, show clearly the spiritual trend oE his 
nature and his zeal for the spread of the Gospel. 
In company with some of his friends he main 
tained an evangelist in Ontario and a missionary 
in India. The close of his short life was greatly 
cheered by the assurance that some of his efforts 
were bearing fruit in the awakening of several 
with whom he had had daily association. 

For two or three years before his death Mr. 
Harris was afflicted with poor health, and though 
he took several trips to the South, and made a 
stay of some length in California, he was not 
benefited. About two months before his death, 
on the advice of his physician and intimate 
friends, he went to New York City to place him 
self .in the care of an eminent specialist, and the 
first effects of the change were most gratifying. 
But the improvement was only temporary, and 
he passed away about midnight between the 30th 
and 31st of August, 1894, surrounded by his im 
mediate family, as well as his brother. His wife, 
who had been back and forth between Brantford 
and New York several times, spent the last few 
days continuously by his side, and his brother 
also was unremitting in his attendance. The 
Rev. Dr. J. L. Campbell, pastor of the Lexing 
ton Avenue Baptist Church, of New York, with 
whom Mr. Harris had formed a warm friend 
ship during his stay in the city, 
proved himself a friend indeed dur 
ing those last sad hours, which were 
nevertheless lightened by Mr. Harris s fortitude 
and cheerful faith. Though aware that the end 
was approaching he was calm and without fear, 
and his last words were: "All things work to 
gether " but he had not the strength to finish 

the sentence. His only regrets were for the sor 
row his taking away would bring to his nearest 
and dearest. He was only thirty-two, yet he had 
accomplished more than many a man grown old 
in good works. 

The deepest sympathy for his family was 
everywhere manifest in Brantford upon the re 
ceipt of the sad news. The flags at the Massey- 
Harris works and on the Y.M.C.A. Building were 
placed at half mast. The funeral services, held 
at the First Baptist Church, were so largely at 
tended that the capacity was well taxed to the 
utmost, in the assemblage being many of the 
oldest and most prominent citizens of Brant 
ford, and representatives from every Christian 
denomination in the city. One and all, they 
were there to show respect to the memory of one 
of Brantford s most popular young men. The 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



51 



pall-bearers were Rev. Elmore Harris, Rev. W. 
G. Wallace, Messrs. Lloyd Harris, Joseph Shut- 
tleworth, Alfred Morgan and C. Cook, all rela 
tives of Mr. Harris, and the numerous floral tok 
ens were borne by the members of his Bible 
Study Class. At the house prayer was offered 
by Rev. T. B. Moore, of Toronto. The services 
were conducted by Rev. Mr. Johnson, pastor of 
the First Baptist Church, who presided and 
made an address; Rev. David Hutchinson, of 
the Park Baptist Church, Brantford, who led 
in prayer ; Rev. W. H. Porter, of Brantford, who 
made a touching address; and Rev. R. J. Bo- 
ville, of Hamilton, who made the closing prayer. 
The remains were then taken to Greenwood Cem 
etery for interment, Rev. D. M. Mihell, of Lon 
don, leading the prayer at the grave. 

Among the many letters of condolence and 
resolutions of sympathy received by the family 
from various sources, were expressions from 
Rev. J. L. Campbell, D.D., of New York City ; 
the Sunday-school of the First Baptist Church 
of Brantford; the Baptist Young People s Union 
of that church; the Class for Bible Study; the 
Brantford Y.M.C.A. ; the Walmer Road Church, 
Toronto ; the Toronto Bible Training School ; the 
Slingsby Manufacturing Company, Brantford; 
the Brant County W.C.T.U.; the Y.W.C.,\., of 
Brantford; the Ladies Auxiliary of the Y.M.C. 
A.; the Managers of the Widows Home. Brant 
ford; the Women s Foreign Missionary Society, 
of Brantford. 

Mr. Harris married Miss Annie Stewart, sec 
ond daughter of Rev. Dr. Stewart, of Toronto, 
and two sons were born to them, both of whom 
survive, makins 1 their home with their mother in 
Toronto. 

JOHN 0. WOOD, for many years a well- 
known business man of the Queen City, died in 
Toronto Ausr. 8, 1896. He was born in Frederic- 
ton, N.B., Nov. 9, 1841, son of the late Rev. 
Enoch Wood. D.D.. a prominent Methodist di 
vine of Canada, and Caroline M. (Merrett) 
Wood, of St. John, New Brunswick. 

Rev. Enoch Wood was born in Lincolnshire, 
England. Jan. 12, 1804. He came to New 
Brunswick, and was for some time pastor of the 
Centenary Methodist Church of St. John, N.B., 
after leaving which he became superintendent of 
Methodist Missions, with his office on Richmond 
street, Toronto. In this capacity Dr. Wood con 
tinued until his death, in January, 1888. On 
settling in Toronto he built an attractive home 
on the hill opposite MacKenzie avenue, Daven 
port road, where his widow continued to reside 
until her death, in September, 1888. Their 
children were: Mary B., Eliza, Caroline. Robert 



A., Sarah, Amy, Martha, John 0., Wilmot A., 
James Burns and Enoch B. 

John 0. Wood received his education in To 
ronto, where with his brother, Robert A., he 
embarked in the drug business on Yonge street, 
under the firm name of R. A. Wood & Bro. In 
this business Mr. Wood continued until the end 
of his active life, being not only one of Toronto s 
prominent business men, but a highly esteemed 
citizen as well. 

On June 15, 1863, Mr. Wood married Miss 
Mary Anna Filer Stroud, adopted daughter of 
the late Stephen and Sarah ("Wilson) Stroud. 
Her own father, Thomas Filer, died when she 
was but a child. Her mother was Jane Hill, 
daughter of William and Abigail (Montgomery) 
Hill, early settlers of Eglinton, York County. 
Stephen Stroud was for many years a hotel- 
keeper near the market, conducting a hostelry 
from 1848 until his death, in 1887. He was very 
well known in Toronto, and was highly respected 
for his many excellent traits of character. His 
wife died in Toronto in June, 1861. Mr. and 
Mrs. Stroud had no children of their own, and 
Mrs. Wood was given a very happy home, re 
ceiving all the advantages that could have been 
given her by her own parents had they lived. 

To Mr. and Mrs. Wood were born three sons : 
John Stroud, in business in Toronto ; and Enoch 
Irving and Arthur Ogden, also in business. In 
November, 1902, Mrs. Wood sold the farm 
house and purchased her present residence, at 
No. 345 Dovercourt road, where she has since 
made her home. Mr. Wood was a member of the 
Methodist Church, and in politics was a Reform 
er. His fraternal connections were with the A. 
O.TJ.W. at Toronto. 

DR. WILLIAM AUGUSTUS BALDWIN, 
who departed this life at his home in Deer Park, 
Toronto, July, 1894, was born in the Queen City 
in December, 1840. third son of the late William 
Augustus Baldwin of Mashquoteh and Isabella 
E. (Buchanan) Baldwin. 

In 1883 Dr. William Augustus Baldwin was 
united in marriage with Miss Ella Winnifred 
Poston, only daughter of Charles Poston, of Que 
bec. To this union were born two sons . Charles 
William Augustus, a lieutenant of the British 
royal navy; and St. George P., a medical stud 
ent of Toronto University. 

Dr. William Augustus Baldwin was educated 
at the Upper Canada College, and read medicine 
in Toronto School of Medicine. from 
which he was graduated in ,1868. 
He engaged in the practice of his pro 
fession for some time in his native county 
and then located in Prince Albert, from which 
place he went to Winnipeg. He then went to 



52 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



Norquay, Man. In 1891 Dr. Baldwin returned 
to his native city, and died there in 1894. In 
politics the Doctor was a Conservative, and while 
in the North- West was for some time president 
of the Liberal Conservative Club. He was a con 
sistent member of the Church of England. Fra 
ternally he associated with the I.O.O.F. 

THOMAS WALMSLEY, of the firm of Scott 
& Walmsley, underwriters, at No. 32 Church 
street, Toronto, is a member of one of the early 
settled families of the County of York. 

The Walmsleys are of English extraction, and 
for more than three centuries members of the 
family have resided in Lancashire, England. 
The first of the family of whom any de/inite 
data is at hand was James Walmsley, the grand 
father of our subject, whose son, John, the father 
of Thomas, was the founder of the family in 
Canada. 

John Walmsley was born in Lancashire, Eng 
land, in 1799, and when quite a young man came 
to Canada, settling at Niagara-on-the-Lake, 
where he resided for a short time. He then came 
to the township of York and settled on Yonge 
street, in what was then known as Drummond- 
ville, now as Deer Park. Here he purchased a 
large tract of land and engaged in the manufac 
ture of earthenware and in farming on an ex 
tensive scale; and to these interests he gave his 
attention to the end of his business career. He 
died in September, 1846. He was twice married, 
and by his second marriage a son and a daughter 
were born : Thomas ; and Elizabeth, now the wife 
of Mr. William Kirvan. 

Thomas Walmsley was born on the site of his 
present home, "Walmsley Villa," Deer Park, in 
1845, and he received his education in Toronto. 
He early determined to make himself thoroughly 
acquainted with the insurance business, and 
went to the office of Alfred DeGrassi, who was 
then a well-known insurance man. He remained 
with Mr. DeGrassi a short time, continuing with 
Hugh Scott, into whose hands Mr. DeGrassi s 
business had passed, and in 1866 the firm of 
Scott & Walmsley was formed, which has con 
tinued to the present time. The business was 
founded in 1858 by Mr. Scott, being known as 
Hugh Scott & Co., then Scott & DeGrassi, and 
in 1866, Scott & Walmsley, the present firm. 
From this will be seen that Mr. Walmsley is one 
of the oldest underwriters doing business in 
Toronto. 

The wife of Mr. Walmsley is a daughter of 
the late Thomas Taylor, of Toronto. Mr. Walnas- 
ley s home, "Walmsley Villa," is on part of the 
homestead settled by his father in 1822; and 
he has preserved the old house until this time, 
and a portion of the farm is still in the posses 



sion of the family. The Walmsleys are Con 
servatives in politics, and were staunch United 
Empire Loyalists. 

During the Rebellion of 1837-8 in the absence 
of Mr. John WaLmsley, his home was searched 
for firearms, and practically raided, his men 
being taken prisoners. 

At the time of the Fenian Raid, in the sum 
mer of 1866, When the call came for volunteers, 
Mr. Walmsley, being a member of the Governor- 
General s Body Guard, went to the front with 
his regiment under Colonel George T. Denison, 
for which he has since received a Veteran s 
Medal. 

Mr. Walmsley is vice-president of the Queen 
City Fire Insurance Company; vice-president 
of the Hand-in-Hand Insurance Company ; man 
ager and treasurer of the Millers & Manufac 
turers Insurance Company ; and manager and 
director of the Fire Insurance Exchange Cor 
poration. All of these companies were founded 
by the present firm of Scott & Walmsley. and 
they owe their success in no small measure to 
the wise management exhibited by Mr. Walmsley 
and his partner, Mr. Scott. Mr. Walmsley is 
also interested in some large industrial and 
financial companies, being a director of the 
Crow s Nest Pass Coal Company and subsidiary 
companies ; a director of the Imperial Trusts 
Company; vice-president of the Canada Paint 
Company, etc. 

JAMES FLETCHER, in his lifetime one of 
the prominent members of the Ontario Bar, was 
born at Brampton, Ont., in 1849, son of Robert 
Fletcher, who came from Ireland at an early 
date, and founded the family in Canada, set 
tling in Brampton. 

James Fletcher was educated in his native 
town, and after completing his literary studies, 
entered upon the study of law, and was called 
1o the Bar in 1870. Immediately thereafter he 
entered upon the practice of his profession in 
Brampton. In 1897 he opened an office in Wiar- 
ton, where he continued to practise successfully 
until his death in 1900. 

In 1875 Mr. Fletcher was married to Miss Re 
becca Ida Good, daughter of the late James and 
Eleanor (Bull) Good. James Good was born 
in Dublin, Ireland, in 1814, and in 1831 came 
to Canada, settling in Toronto, where he soon en 
gaged in the foundry business at the corner of 
Queen and Yonge streets. Here he continued in 
business until his death in 1882. Mr. Good buiit 
the first locomotives ever made in Canada, and 
among his first made may be mentioned the 
"Toronto" and the "Lady Elgin." In addition 
to locomotive building he carried on a general 
foundry business, and at his d^alh was the old- 






COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



53 



est foundryman in Toronto. He was a mem 
ber of the Masonic fraternity. In religious 
views he was a Methodist, and he was a consist 
ent church attendant and liberal supporter of 
that creed. In politics he was a Reformer, and 
was at one time a member of the council of Tor 
onto, and one of the Queen City s most prom 
inent business men. In 1840 Mr. Good married 
Miss Eleanor Bull, born in the County of York 
in 1820, who died in Toronto in 1894, leaving 
these children : Mrs. Alexander McDonald, of 
Toronto ; and Mrs. James Fletcher. 

Mr. and Mrs. Fletcher had these children: 
(1) Clarence is at Yokohama, Japan, where he 
went in 1903 to establish an office for the Sun 
Insurance Company. The fact that the Com 
pany felt that it could intrust its business in 
terests in the hands of so young a man, is the 
highest commendation he could receive. (2) 
Alfred Good, equally trustworthy, is connected 
very prominently with the Metropolitan Bank 
of Toronto. James Fletcher was a member of 
the Church of England, and in political prin 
ciple was a Conservative. His fraternal connec 
tions were with the Masons. 

THEODORE AUGUST HEINTZMAN. Prob 
ably no name is a more universal household 
word in Canada than that of Heintzman. This 
is due to the fact that the Heintzman piano is to 
be found in most of the leading homes in the 
Dominion. It is also to the credit of Ontario 
that among her leading business industries is 
that of Heintzman & Co., Ltd., whose extensive 
factory is located at Toronto Junction, with 
warehouse at No. 115 King street west. This ex 
tensive business was founded by the late T. A. 
Heintzman, whose name appears at the opening 
of this memoir, and who for many years was 
one of Canada s leading captains of industry. 

Mr. Heintzman was of German extraction, and 
the founder of this family in Canada. In 1831 
in his native land Mr. Heintzman began to learn 
the piano business. In 1848 Mr. Heintzman 
made the patterns for the first locomotive built 
in Berlin, Germany, thus showing himself to be 
of a mechanical turn of mind, having followed 
the machinist business from 1842 to 1848, when 
with his father-in-law, Julius Grunow, he en 
gaged in the manufacture of optical goods until 
1850, when he emigrated to America, settling 
in New York. The high esteem in which the 
late Mr. T. A. Heintzman was held by his many 
employees is clearly shown in the following 
article, which appeared in a local paper in con 
nection with the celebration of Mr. Heintzman s 
eightieth birthday : 

Theodore August Heintzman, founder of the 
well-known firm of Heintzman & Co., Ltd., piano 



manufacturers, was born in Berlin, Prussia, 
May 19th, 1817, and his eightieth birthday was 
fittingly celebrated at The Birches, his beau 
tiful home here, May 19th, 1897. The celebra 
tion was of a threefold character, the celebrants 
being the employees of the firm, the Lieder- 
kranz Club and the German Lutheran Church. 

"It was the men from the factory who paid 
their respects first. About 4 o clock they march 
ed up to The Birches in holiday attire, headed 
by their band, and pitched their tents on the 
lawn. For an hour or so the band played, and 
then the heads of the various departments in 
the Junction factory, together with William 
Ray, cashier ; W. H. May, accountant ; and L. A. 
Conrad, general agent, of the Toronto offices, as 
cended the steps of the western verandah and 
there awaited the appearance of Mr. Heintz 
man, who was greeted with loud and prolonged 
applause by the men assembled on the lawn. 
Mr. Ray then stepped forward, and, addressing 
Mr. Heintzman, told him that it was with great 
pleasure that his employees gathered around him 
on this eightieth anniversary of his natal day. 
It seemed peculiarly fitting that they should do 
so at this time, when there was so much friction 
between capital and labor, because in this case 
there was nothing but mutual respect and esteem 
between employer and employees. The speaker 
did not like to use a stereotyped phrase, but he 
could not better express the sentiments of all 
the men than by saying, From the bottom of our 
hearts we wish you many happy returns of the 
day, and the loud applause which followed evi 
denced that the words were full of meaning. 
He then asked Mr. Heintzman to accept from 
the men a beautiful solid silver lyre, set on a 
shield of carved walnut, in the center of which 
was a wreath of solid gold, designed to hold a 
portrait of Mr. Heintzman. On the lyre was 
engraved the following: Presented to Theodore 
A. Heintzman by his employees on the occasion 
of his eightieth birthday. It is with great 
pleasure that we, your employees, meet under 
your roof to tender our congratulations and pre 
sent to you this tribute of our appreciation of 
your sterling qualities as an employer. We pray 
that Almighty God may still add to your length 
of years. 

"After reading the above inscription Mr. Ray 
uncovered another handsome gift an Edison 
phonograph with a large and assorted case of 
tubes. This he also presented on behalf of the 
men. In conclusion, he proposed that as Bis 
marck is the grand old man of Germany and 
Gladstone the grand old man of England, in 
future Mr. T. A. Heintzman would be the grand 
old man of Heintzman & Co., Ltd. 

Mr. Heintzman, to whom the gifts of his em- 



54 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



ployees came as a complete surprise, said that 
he had not been born to make a speech, though 
he may have been born to make a piano, but he 
found words in which to fittingly express his 
thanks for the kindness of the men. He had 
looked forward to having his men around him 
for a few hours on his eightieth birthday, but he 
had expected to receive no such gifts as those 
gifts, which he would always prize above every 
thing in the world. 

"In the evening the grounds were beautifully 
illuminated and friends came out from the city 
in great numbers to pay their respects to the 
popular octogenarian. Mr. J. G. Strohmeyer, 
president of the Liederkranz Club, presented, on 
behalf of that organization, an address artistical 
ly illuminated by Mr. A. H. Howard, bound in 
the German national colors. There was also an 
address from the German Lutheran Church, 
read by the pastor, Rev. O. W. Muller. The 
proceedings were enlivened with the music of 
the band, the Toronto Banjo Club, the Lieder 
kranz Club and Mr. W. E. Ramsay. The festiv 
ities were continued until a late hour." 

Mr. Heintzman was the architect of his own 
fortunes. He was one of those men who accom 
plish much by indomitable energy and persever 
ance. At the age of fourteen he learned the 
pianomaking trade in his native country, and in 
1850 emigrated to America with his wife and 
young family. After working a year or two with 
Luetche & Newton in New York, he went to Buf 
falo, where he worked for a short time for a 
pianomaker named Keough. In 1852 he went 
into business in Buffalo as a member of the firm 
of Drew, Heintzman & Anowsky. In 1860 he 
severed his connection with this firm and came 
to Toronto, where the reputation of his pianos 
had preceded him. Here he began business in 
a small way, his little factory being located in 
York street. Subsequently he moved to Duke 
street. In 1866 he took as a partner a Mr. Ben 
der, the firm name being then, as now, Heintz 
man & Co., Ltd. The firm at once moved to 
more pretentious quarters in King street. In 
1868 they built the factory and warerooms ad 
joining the "Rossin House." In 1875 Mr. Ben 
der retired from the firm and the business con 
tinued to grow, finally assuming such propor 
tions that the King street premises were inade 
quate, and in 1888 the large factory was built in 
the Junction, where the manufacturing opera 
tions have been carried on, the King street 
establishment b eing used as warerooms and of 
fices for the distribution of the output. At pres 
ent the firm employs about 375 men, including 
factory employees, office hands, and travellers. 
Mr. Heintzman s three sons, Herman, William 
F. and George C., are all associated with the 



business, and Charles T., whose death occurred 
in 1897, was also connected with the concern. 
They all have beautiful homes in the Junction. 
Mr. Heintzman also had three daughters : Anna 
L., Mrs. Charles Bender, of Toronto; Elizabeth, 
Mrs. Charles Swenker, of St. Catharines, Ont. ; 
and Minnie M., Mrs. Archibald Loughry, of Lon 
don, Ontario. Mrs. T. A. Heintzman was Ma 
tilda Louisa Grunow, born in 1820, died in 1889, 
daughter of Julius and Louisa Grunow, the for 
mer of whom died in Connecticut and the lat 
ter in Toronto. 

Mr. T. A. Heintzman was a truly self-made 
man, naturally adapted to his vocation, which, 
coupled with energy and business ability, en 
abled him to become one of the greatest busi 
ness men and most successful managers of em 
ployees to be found in the Dominion of Canada. 
It may be truly said of Mr. Heintzman that both 
the business and the musical world are the better 
for his long and useful life. 

HERMAN HEINTZMAN, vice-president of 
Heintzman & Co., Ltd., was born at Buffalo, 
New York, March 23, 1852, son of the late Theo 
dore August Heintzman, whose sketch precedes. 

Herman Heintzman came with his father to 
Toronto in 1860, and received his literary train 
ing in private schools of the city, after which he 
learned the cigar business, which he followed 
until 1874, when he became bookkeeper for his 
father, having full charge of the financial part 
of the constantly increasing business. In 1903, 
when the business was incorporated, Herman 
Heintzman was made vice-president of Heintz 
man & Co., Ltd., which position he has since ably 
filled. Notwithstanding the fact that Mr. 
Heintzman s duties as vice-president of the com 
pany are arduous he finds time to devote to 
municipal matters. He served as councilman at 
Toronto Junction for several years, in which he 
exercised the same energy exerted in connection 
with Heintzman & Co., Ltd. 

On Aug. 24, 1880, Mr. Heintzman and Miss 
Lucy A. Spink were united in marriage. Mrs. 
Heintzman was born at Goole, Yorkshire, Eng 
land, daughter of John and Elizabeth (Fletcher) 
Spink, who came to Toronto about 1853, where 
Mr. Spink followed contracting and building for 
many years, and where he died in 1903, at the 
age of eighty-one years. His widow still resides 
in the city, the mother of the following family: 
Jennie S., Mrs. William Arthurs, of Toronto; 
Thomas, of Vancouver; Sally, who died in 1904, 
wife of James R. Earnhardt; Alice, wife of 
Clarence Nichols, Reading, Massachusetts ; John, 
of Toronto; Althea, Mrs. Joseph Wright, of 
Toronto ; Mrs. Heintzman ; Frank, of Melita, 
Man. ; Jessie, Mrs. S. Carpenter, of St. Thomas, 
Ontario. 






COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



55 



To Mr. and Mrs. Herman Heintzman were 
born the following children: Gertrude L. ; 
Charles T. ; T. Herman ; Mildred E. ; and Mar 
garet E. Mr. Heintzman is a member of the 
German Lutheran Church, but with his wife 
and family attends the English Church. Fra 
ternally he is a member of the A.F. & A.M. So 
cially he is a member of the National Club, the 
Lambton Golf and Country Club, the Caledon 
Mountain Trout Club and the Liederkranx So 
ciety. In politics he casts his ballot with the 
Conservative party. 

REV. THOMAS WILSON PATERSON M.A., 
rector of Christ Church, Deer Park, Ont, 
is widely known for the great and good work 
he has accomplished as a minister of the Gos 
pel, and is a member of one of County York s 
old and honored pioneer families. 

The Paterson family is of Scotch extraction, 
as may be seen by the spelling of the name. 
The family was founded in Canada by Peter 
Paterson. grandfather of our subject, who was 
born in Scotland, and who came, in 1819, with 
his sons, David. John and Peter, to Canada. 
He located in Toronto when that city was known 
as Little York, and there he engaged in a hard 
ware business on King street east. He died in 
Toronto in 1846. He married Jean Fraser, by 
whom he had the following children: John; 
David, who carried on the business founded by 
his father-, Peter, the father of our subject; 
Sarah, who married (first) a Maitland and (sec 
ond) a Lailey. 

Peter Paterson, the father of our subject, was 
born in Blantyre, Scotland, Sept. 13, 1807, and 
was but a lad of eleven years when brought to 
Canada by his father. He grew to manhood in 
Toronto, and became one of the leading merch 
ants of that city, his business being situated on 
the present site of the "King Edward Hotel." 
Some time prior to his death, which occurred in 
1883, Mr. Paterson retired from the mercantile 
business and settled near Toronto, on the Kings 
ton Road, and there built a home, "Blantyre," 
named after his home in Scotland. The place 
is now occupied by the R. C. Industrial School, 
which is known as the "Blantyre School." After 
removing to his rural home, Mr. Paterson, for 
some time prior to his death, spent his winters 
in the city of Toronto, and his summers in the 
country. It was at his winter home in Toronto 
that he died, in the year above mentioned. Mr. 
Paterson married Hannah Wilson, daughter of 
Charles Wilson of Ewithington, County Here 
ford, born in England, June IS, 1815, and she 
died in Toronto in 1892. To Peter and Hannah 
Paterson were born, in addition to three who 
died young, the following children : Rev. Charles 



William, B.C.L., deceased, married Mary Ben 
son, daughter of Senator Benson, of St. Cath 
arines, by whom he had six children, Annie, 
Edith Hamilton, Lillian, Amy, Susie and Charles 
Frederick Wilson; James Frederick, deceased, 
was a bank manager, and married Isabella Flor 
ence McCarthy, daughter of D Alton McCarthy, 
of Barrie, and to this union were born, Percival 
(of Sarnia), Norman (of Toronto), Florence (of 
Toronto, married William MiUichamp), and! 
Emily (of Toronto, married George E. Gooder- 
ham) ; Elizabeth, of Toronto, married Neil 
Eoger, and has children, Maude McKenzie, 
Edith, Percy and Neil (deceased) ; Rev. Thomas 
Wilson; Mary Louise is a missionary in Cali 
fornia; Emily is the wife of Fred Winstanley, 
of Los Angeles, California; and John Henry, 
of the Toronto Hardware Manufacturing Com 
pany, married Florence, daughter of William 
Ince. 

The Rev. Thomas Wilson Paterson was born 
in Toronto in 1847. He received his education 
at the Upper Canada College, and Trinity Uni 
versity, graduating from the latter in 1869 with 
the degree of B.A. In 1875 he received his M. 
A., from the same institution. He studied the 
ology in Trinity University and began his work 
as a clergyman in 1871. After spending 1 a 
short tune in Manvers, Hastings and Bradford, 
and a year in England, Mr. Paterson .settled 
in 1877 in Deer Park, as rector of Christ Church, 
in which position he has remained since that 
time. 

In 1891 the Rev. Mr. Paterson and Miss Chris 
tiana Mary Porter, daughter of William Porter, 
of St. Stephen, New Brunswick, were united in 
marriage, and to this union were born four chil 
dren, two of whom, both sons, died young. The 
daughters still survive, namely: Christine Mar- 
jorie and Annie Beatrice. 

ARTHUR GODFREY MOLSON SPRAGGE, 
who met his death by drowning in the Columbia 
river, in June, 1898, was a well-known barrister 
of Canada. He was born in Quebec in 1848, son 
of AVilliam and Martha (Molson) Spragge. 

The Spragge family was founded in Canada 
by three brothers, William, Joseph and Chan 
cellor John Spragge, who came to this country 
at an early date. The last named became Chief 
Justice Spragge, for many years the leading 
jurist of the Dominion, and Dr. Spragge, of 
Toronto, is his son. Joseph Spragge left one 
daughter, who is now the widow of the Rev. Dr. 
Lett, of Ireland, late rector of St. George s 
Church, of Toronto. 

William Spragge, one of the three brothers, 
became the father of our subject. He was born 
in England, and soon after coming to Canada 



56 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



became superintendent of the Indian offices at 
Ottawa, a position he held for many years, and 
died at that place. His widow died at Mont 
real in 1900. They were the parents of the fol 
lowing- children: Arthur G. M. ; Mrs. "William 
Barber, of England; Henry, deceased; Char 
lotte, Mrs. Pierson; Mrs. E. P. Winslow; 
Charles E. ; and Alfred S., who died in 1902. 

Arthur G. M. Spragge was educated in Len- 
noxville, and took a legal course in Ottawa. He 
was called to the Bar in Toronto, and in that 
city began his practice in the office of Dr. Hos- 
kin, continuing there until 1880, in which year 
he went to the North-West Territory, settling 
in British Columbia, where he continued prac 
tice until his death. Mr. Spragge was prom 
inent in Masonic circles, being past master of 
Ionic Lodge, Toronto, and the founder of Moun 
tain Lodge, in British Columbia. 

In 1878 Mr. Spragge married Miss Ellen Eli 
zabeth Cameron, daughter of the late John Hill- 
yard Cameron, for many years leading member 
of the Ontario Bar. To Mr. and Mrs. Spragge 
was born one daughter, Florence Elsie. Mr. 
Spragge was a consistent member of the Church 
of England. In politics he was a staunch Con 
servative. 

JAMES WILLIAM BRIDGLAND, deceased. 
The name of the late James W. Bridgland was 
well known not alone in Toronto but in many 
parts of the Dominion for his connection with 
important engineering enterprises, and such was 
his reputation that his services were demanded 
by the Canadian government. He was a native 
of Toronto, bom there in 1821, and there his 
death occurred in October, 1883. 

The parents of James W. Bridgland came to 
Toronto early in the nineteenth century, when 
the town was still called by its old name. York. 
The father was for some time connected with 
the courts there, but his later years were spent on 
a farm which he owned near Toronto, on the 
Vaughan Plank Road. He died in the home of 
a daughter, Mrs. Galbraith. There were six 
children in the family, namely : Martha, de 
ceased wife of Oliver Brown; Ann, deceased, 
who .married Robert Goulding ; Lucy, Mrs. Gal 
braith; Ellen, Mrs. Bennett; Clark, a farmer 
in County York; and James W., the only son 
born after the parents came to Canada. 

James W. Bridgland received his education 
in the public schools of Toronto. On complet 
ing the course there, he desired further instruc 
tion, and selling a part of some land which 
he owned he went to Victoria College, Cobourg, 
where he perfected himself for the profession 
of a civil engineer. This was his profession 
nominally throughout his life, but in later years 



he went into the Crown Lands Department, first 
as surveyor and then as inspector of Coloniza 
tion Roads, in which capacity he served till his 
dfalh. He laid out the first road between Win 
nipeg and Fort William, done as a matter of 
special request from the Dominion government, 
as Mr. Bridgland was in the regular employ of 
the Province of Ontario. His skilled work 
brought him naturally into prominence in his 
line, and his services were always highly val 
ued. Mr. Bridgland was twice married. His 
rirst wife was Miss Marie Dennis, daughter of 
Col. Dennis. She died leaving one daughter, 
Maria, now Mrs. John Wilson Lawrence. Mr. 
Bridgland married (second) Miss Martha -Ann 
Jones, and by this marriage there were four 
children, viz. : Annie, who married Leland Dar 
ling, and became the mother of George, Morris 
B., Reginald and Eric ; Ella, assistant super 
intendent of the Children s Hospital. Toronto: 
Josephine, of Toronto; and Millie, Mrs. Rob 
ert Walker, residing in the same city. 2-1 r. 
Bridgland was, like his father before him, a 
Methodist in his religious belief, and for many 
years he held official position in the church. He 
was a Reformer in politics. 

Mrs. Martha Ann Bridgland was a daughter 
of Rev. Richard and Mary Ann (Wright) 
Jones. The former was born on an island in the 
St. Lawrence, where his father, Richard Jones, 
was stationed while serving in the British 
army. Later the military services of Richard 
Jones were recognized by the grant of a large 
tract of land from the government. The boy 
Richard was educated in Quebec, and became 
a Methodist minister, beginning his study when 
eighteen years old. He was located in turn at 
Hamilton, Stamford, Ottawa, Picton, London, 
and later at Victoria. College, Cobourg. He held 
there the office of bursar and filled it for some 
time before his death, which event occurred tin-" - 
in Cobourg. Mrs. Jones was a native of Ver 
mont and a cousin of Col. Robert Ingersoll. Be 
sides Martha Ann, Mrs. Bridgland. Rev. and 
Mrs. Jones had the following children: Mary 
Eliza, who married John Lewis, of Belleville; 
Sarah Ann, Mrs. Dickson, of Toronto; Amelia, 
Mrs. John McDonald; Elizabeth; Louise, who 
was a successful teacher in the Normal School, 
becoming later the second wife of John Lewis; 
Maria Jean, deceased wife of Dr. Davidson; 
Catherine, deceased wife of Mr. Sawyer, the 
musician, and for several years the organist of 
the Central Methodist Church in Toronto; and 
Eleanor, who died young. 

HART ALMERIN MASSEY. whose death 
occurred Feb. 20. 1896, at his late residence, 
No. 515 Jarvis street, Toronto, was one of Can- 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



57 



ada s leading captains of industry, and Mas- 
sey-Harris Company, Limited, of which he as 
the honored president, from the time of its for 
mation until his death, is known throughout the 
civilized world. 

The late Mr. Massey was born in Northum 
berland County, Ont, April 29, 1823. He re 
ceived his early education in a log-cabin school 
three miles from his father s farm. Later he 
went to school for a few years at Watertown, 
New York, and completed his education at Vic 
toria College, Cobourg. At the age of twenty- 
one he was placed in charge of his father s ex 
tensive farm, serving as school teacher during 
the winter. In 1851 Mr. Massey removed to 
Newcastle, Ont., and became superintendent of 
his father s agricultural implement works, estab 
lished four years previously. In 1852 he be 
came a partner and general manager of the busi 
ness at Newcastle, where the first mowing ma 
chine manufactured in Canada was produced. 
He also for many years served the locality in 
which he lived as a justice of the peace. 

In 1855, his father retiring, Mr. H. A. Mas 
sey became sole proprietor of the business and 
under his efficient supervision were produced 
new and improved machinery that soon made 
the name of the firm well known throughout 
Canada. In 1863 he introduced the first self- 
rake reaper made in Canada, In 1864 Mr. Mas 
sey suffered a loss of $30,000 by a fire. This, 
however, only seemed to encourage him to even 
greater energetic action. In 1867 Mr. Massey 
made a tour of the United States, then went to 
Paris with a number of machines purchased of 
him by the French Government. In 1870 the 
business was incorporated into a company with 
himself as president and his son, Mr. Charles A. 
Massey. as manager. Mr. Massey s desire was 
to place the most modern farm machinery on 
the market. 

In 1879, better facilities being required, the 
company moved to Toronto. Its capacity was 
subsequently more than doubled, the business of 
the Toronto Reaper and Mower Company hav 
ing been purchased. During the intervening 
quarter of a century, the business has grown in 
volume and value until the Massoy-Harris ma 
chines find a market all over the world, and the 
firm is without doubt the best known industrial 
concern in the Dominion of Canada. The up-to- 
date methods of the company and the excellency 
of their product is seen in the fact that prizes 
were awarded them at the Centennial Exhibi 
tion in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, 1876, the 
Antwerp International Exhibition and othei s of 
equal merit. 

In 1889 Mr. Massey became president of a new 
organization, known as Sawyer & Massey Com 



pany, Ltd., with headquarters at Hamilton, 
Ont., manufacturers of threshers and engines, 
and in 1892 he was made president of the Ver 
ity Plow Company, Limited, of Brantford, On 
tario. 

In 1891 the Massey Manufacturing Company, 
of Toronto, A. Harris, Son & Co., Limited, of 
Brantford, and Massey & Company, Ltd., of 
Winnipeg, were amalgamated under the name of 
Massey-IIarris Company. Limited, with a capi 
tal of five millions of dollars. Shortly after the 
Patterson & Bro. Company, Ltd., "of Wood 
stock, and J. 0. Wisner & Co., of Brantford, 
were also absorbed. From the large proportions 
attained by the business one would think Mr. 
Massey s entire time and attention would have 
been engrossed therewith, but, as the Toronto 
people well know, he found time to consider 
philanthropic enterprises, and it is to Mr. Hart 
A. Massey that the city of Toronto is indebted 
for the magnificent auditorium, Massey Music 
Hall, which was erected as a gift to the citizens, 
and in memory of his son, Charles A. Mr. 
Massey erected the Fred Victor Mission of To 
ronto in memory of one of his sons. 

Mr. Massey is survived by his wife, Mrs. H. 
A. Massey. whose maiden name was Eliza Jane 
Phelps. His children were: Charles A., de 
ceased; Chester D. ; Walter E. H., deceased; 
Fred V., deceased; and Mrs. Lillian Massey 
Troble. 

Of the late Hart A. Massey it may be truth 
fully said the world is the better for his having 
lived in it. He passed away in 

The holy pride of good intent. 

The glory of a life well spent. 

CHARLES ALBERT MASSEY. The late 
Charles Albert Massey was the eldest son of the 
late Hart A. Massey, the well-known manufac 
turer and philanthropist, and was born in Hal- 
dimand township, near the town of Cobourg, 
Northumberland County, on Sept, 20, 1848. 
About three years later his parents removed to 
Newcastle, Ont., where his father had purchased 
an interest in the business established by his 
father, Daniel Massey. Esq., and began the 
manufacture of agricultural implements. Young 
Charles received a good school education and 
all the advantages that devoted parents and 
good influences could afford. He was a man of 
business from the beginning. He was not long 
in his teens when his father placed him in the 
factory, where by actual experience with the 
other workmen he might become acquainted with 
a trade. In 1864 he entered Victoria Univers 
ity, Cobourg, where he was a student for two 
years. In the fall of 1866 he pursued the course 
and graduated at the British American Com 
mercial College, Toronto, showing fine business 



58 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



habits and rapid work. Following this he took 
the course at the Toronto Military School, which 
completed his student life. 

In 1867, while his father was absent in 
Europe, the whole business was placed mainly in 
his charge, though he was not yet nineteen years 
old. These grave responsibilities were bravely 
borne, and from this time forward until his 
death he was an active spirit in the management 
of the business. In 1870, the health of his 
father becoming impaired for a while, the busi 
ness was formed into a joint-stock company, 
under the name of the Massey Manufacturing 
Company, Charles being made vice-president and 
manager, a position he ably and acceptably filled 
during the remainder of his life. 

The rapid development of the business at 
Newcastle, with the introduction of every ap 
pliance and the best machines, and the unparal 
leled extension of the works on their removal 
to Toronto in 1879, attest to the energy and skill 
of Charles A. Massey. He was always deeply 
interested in the welfare of the workingmen 
under him. They recognized in him one to 
whom they could go in trouble and find relief, 
one who would kindly advise a brother who 
was always ready to listen to their troubles, and 
do what he could to help them out of their dif 
ficulties. He also kept himself fully informed 
in all public affairs, and at one time was offered 
a candidacy for election to the Dominion Par 
liament, from West Toronto, but his business 
cares and responsibilities were so heavy that he 
was obliged to decline. He had always en 
joyed remarkably good health until a short time 
before his last illness. In January, 1884, he was 
stricken with what appeared at first to be a 
severe cold, but which quickly developed into 
typhoid of a virulent form. He died Feb. 12 
following, in his thirty-sixth year. The Massey 
Music Hall, Toronto, was erected by his father 
in his memory. 

Mr. Massey was married on Oct. 12, 1870, to 
Miss Jessie F. Arnold, of Kalamazoo, Michi 
gan, and had seven children, five of whom sur 
vived him, namely: Mrs. E. S. Glassco. Arthur 
Lyman, Mrs. W. Howard Chandler, Charles Al 
bert, and Mrs. A. L. Armstrong. His widow 
is since deceased. 

CHESTER DANIEL MASSEY. Few fami 
lies are better known throughout Canada on ac 
count of their vast and wide-spreading business 
interests, and their kindly interest in and prince 
ly contributions towards various philanthropic 
objects, than that of Massey. the family identi 
fied with the great manufacturing corporation, 
the Massey-Harris Company, Limited. The 
present head of the family is Mr. Chester Daniel 
Massey, son of the late Mr. Hart A. Massey, and 



grandson of the late Mr. Daniel Massey, the 
founder of the Massey business. He was born 
in Haldiinand township, in the County of 
Northumberland, Ont., June 17, 1850, and re 
ceived his education at the public school. From 
school he entered his father s implement busi 
ness, at that time located at Newcastle, Ontario. 
In 1871, the late Hart A. Massey and his 
family having removed to Cleveland, Ohio but 
retaining his connection with the business, and 
leaving his eldest son, Charles A. Massey, in 
charge as vice-president and general manager, 
Chester accompanied him there. In 1879 the 
business of the Massey Manufacturing Com 
pany was removed to Toronto, and in 1882 Mr. 
Hart A,. Massey with his family returned to 
Canada, and settled in Toronto, the great de 
velopment of the Canadian business rendering 
his constant personal supervision desirable. In 
1891 came the amalgamation of the Massey 
Manufacturing Company, Toronto, with the A. 
Harris, Son & Co., Limited, of Brantford, and 
Massey & Company, Limited, of Winnipeg, into 
one powerful corporation, called the Massey - 
llarris Company, Limited, Mr. Hart A. Massey 
becoming president, and Mr. C. D. Massey treas 
urer. Mr. Hart A. Massey died in 1896, and 
was succeeded as president of the company by 
Mr. W. E. H. Massey, and he dying in 1901, 
Mr. C. D. Massey was elected president. Mr. 
Massey s present position with the company is 
that of honorary president and treasurer. Mr. 
Massey is president of the Sawyer & Massey 
Company, Limited, of Hamilton, Ont., manu 
facturers of threshing machines and engines, 
and also a director of the following companies: 
the Central Canada Loan & Savings Company, 
the National Trust Company, and the City Dairy 
( ompany, of Toronto. He is also an executor of 
his father s estate. 

Mr. Massey is an active participant in relig 
ions and philanthropic work. He is a devoted 
member of the Methodist Church, a trustee of the 
Metropolitan Church, Toronto, a trustee of the 
Chautauqua Institution, and of the Massey 
Music. Hall and the Fred Victor Mission, To 
ronto, which two latter buildings were con 
structed through the munificence of his father. 
He is also a member of the Board of Regents of 
Victoria University. 

Mr. Massey has been twice married. His first 
wife was Miss Anna D. Vincent, of Erie, Penn 
sylvania, to whom he was united on March 17, 
1886, and who died in London, England, on 
Nov. 11, 1903. His second wife was Miss Mar 
garet Phelps, of Gloversville, New York, whom 
he married on Jan. 3, 1907. The family con 
sists of two sons by the first wife, C. Vincent 
Massey and Raymond Hart Massey. 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



59 



W. E. H. MASSE Y, who died Oct. 28, 1901, 
was one of the most enterprising leaders among 
the btisiness men of Toronto, and one of her 
highly esteemed citizens. Mr. Massey s birth 
occurred April 4, 1864, at Newcastle. Ont., and 
he was a son of the late Hart A. Massey. As 
president of the Massey- Harris Company and 
c osely allied with other extensive business con 
cerns he was an important figure in the com 
mercial life of the city and country. 

When Mr. Massey was seven years old his 
parents settled at Cleveland, Ohio, and there he 
received his early education, which was supple 
mented by one year at Boston University. Mr. 
Massey then located in Canada, becoming a mem 
ber of the well-known Massey-Harris Company, 
of which he was the president at the time of 
his death, having succeeded his father in that 
position. He not only maintained his connec 
tion with the Massey-Harris Company, but was 
also the promulgator of the City Dairy Com 
pany, of which he was the first president, hold 
ing that office up to the time of his death; he 
v MS also a director in the Bank of Commerce, the 
Carter-Grume Company and the National Trust 
Company, vice-president of the Insurance Ag 
ency Company, of Toronto, director in the Saw- 
ver-Massey Company, of Hamilton, and presi 
dent of the Verity Plow Company, of Brant- 
ford. 

On July 11. 1888, in Boston, Massachusetts, 
Mr. W. E. H. Massey was united in marriage 
with Miss Susie Denton, who was born at New 
ton, Massachusetts, and is a member of an old 
New England family, being a daughter of 
George T. and Lucy A. (Locke) Denton, and 
grand-daughter of Jacob and Eliza Denton, all 
natives of Massachusetts. The Dentons 
were originally English, but settled in 
Massachusetts many years ago. After their 
marriage Mr. and Mrs. Massey settled in 
Toronto, where Mr. Massey spent his business 
life, and where his widow still resides. 

In addition to the different enterprises previ 
ously referred to, in which Mr. Massey was in 
terested, should be mentioned his beautiful 250- 
acre farm, "Dentonia Park," adjacent to To 
ronto. He took a great interest in thorough- 
Tired stock, especially in Jersey cattle, and in 
conducting this business was thoroughly scien 
tific. All modern methods were employed on 
his premises, and his dairy products were abso 
lutely pure. 

To Mr. and Mrs. Massey were born children 
as follows: Ruth Lillian, Madeline, Dorothy 
and Denton. Mr. Massey was an official mem 
ber of the Central Methodist Church. He was 
a thorough business man, a highly esteemed 



citizen, a devoted husband and father, and all 
in all a Christian gentleman. 

WILLIAM AUGUSTUS BALDWIN, who 
departed this life June 14, 1883, at "Mash- 
quoteh," Deer Park, Ont, was a native of To 
ronto, born at the corner of Bay and Welling 
ton streets, in 1808, son of Dr. W. W. Baldwin. 

Robert Baldwin, grandfather of W. A., was 
born Aug. 21, 1741, O.S. He came from Ire 
land in 1799. and on July 13th of that year set 
tled at Port Patrick, "Annarva," Baldwin s 
Creek, Clarke township, County of Durham. In 
December, 1810, he moved to York (now To 
ronto), where he died Nov. 24, 1816. Robert 
Baldwin married Barbara Spread, daughter of 
William Spread, of Forest, in the County of 
Cork, and by her had sixteen children, nine of 
whom came to Ontario, namely : William War 
ren Baldwin; John Spread; Augustus Warren, 
who lived at Russell Hill; Henry; Barbara; 
Elizabeth; Alice; Anna Maria; and Mary War 
ren. 

Of this family Dr. William Warren Baldwin, 
who had come out with his father, settled in To 
ronto, where he carried on the practice of his 
profession, and subsequently studied law. He 
married Margaret Phoebe Willcocks, daughter 
of William Willcocks, of Cork, and they had the 
following children: (1) Robert, who married 
Augusta Elizabeth Sullivan and had these chil 
dren, Phoebe Maria, William Willcocks, Aug 
usta Elizabeth (widow of Hon. John Ross), and 
Robert; (2) Augustus William, who died an in 
fant; (3) Henry, who died young; (4) William 
Augustus: and (5) Quetton St. George, de 
ceased. 

William Augustus Baldwin was born in To 
ronto Sept. 4, 1808. He was educated at Bishop 
Htrachan s School in Toronto, and for a time 
engaged in business with his brother. For many 
years prior to his death he lived retired at his 
beautiful home, " Mashquoteh, " at Deer Park. 
Mr. Baldwin was married Sept. 25, 1834. to 
Miss Isabella Clarke Buchanan, daughter of 
James Buchanan, Her Majesty s Consul at Xew 
York. Tlieir children were: Phoebe Buchanan 
(deceased), who married George Lefroy, and 
had the following children, Catharine Isabella 
(died unmarried), Ernest Baldwin, Harold 
Baldwin, Benjamin St. George (a barrister of 
Osgoode Hall). Phoebe Isabella Beatrice, Wil 
liam Baldwin (died an infant), and Augustus 
George; Henry St. George, who married Amelia 
Sarah, daughter of William George Pentland, 
of Quebec, and who has had the following chil 
dren Bertram St. George (died unmarried), 
Harold Augustus and Ethel Isabel; James Bu 
chanan (deceased), who married Elizabeth, 



60 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



daughter of the Hon. Joseph Curran Morrison, 
a Justice of the Court of Queen s Bench, and 
had the following children Kenneth Joseph 
Morrison, Florence Emetine (died an infant), 
Sybil Isabel (died an infant), and James Car 
lisle Buchanan; William Augustus (deceased), 
who married Ella Winifred, daughter of Charles 
Poston, of Quebec, and had the following chil 
drenCharles William Augustus, a Lieuten 
ant in the Royal Navy, and St. George Pentlaml: 
Robert Russell (deceased), who married Ada 
Jane, daughter of James Webster, of Guelph; 
Aemelius, of No. 75 Spadina road, Toronto; 
Isabella Elizabeth (deceased), who married 
William Ross Baldwin, of Lismore, County Wat- 
erford, Ireland, and had the following children 

William Augustus (who died unmarried), 

Phoebe Isabella Margaret (who married John 
Hedley), Godfrey St. George, and Wilhelmine 
Russell. 

The mother of the foregoing children died in 
1850, and in 1852 Mr. Baldwin married Mar 
garet Fry Macleod, daughter of Capt, Martin 
Donald Macleod, of the 25th Regiment, K.O.B. 
Captain Macleod came to Canada in 1845,^ and 
took up a farm of 600 acres of land in the Oak 
Ridges," where he died. His wife was born in 
1828. in Frybrook, Ireland. To William Aug 
ustus and Margaret Fry Baldwin the following 
children were born : Jane Macleod, who married 
Martin Grahame, of Rome, Georgia, U.S.A., ani 
has had the following seven children, Margaret 
Baldwin (died an infant), John, William Bald 
win. Jane Baldwin, Reginald Kearney, Susannah 
Ottilie (died an infant), and Dorothy Baldwin; 
Elizabeth Alexandrina Macleod: Anna Maria 
Macleod. who married Charles Pratt Whelan. 
who has two children, Charles Robert and Mar 
garet Frances; Martin Donald Macleod, who 
died unmarried; Lawrence Heyden. a barrister 
of Toronto, who married Ethel Mary Sylvia, 
eldest daughter of Edward Martin, of Hamil 
ton, and has six children. Lawrence Counsel 
Martin, Edith Margaret Sylvia, Ethel Barbara 
Macleod, Mary Phoebe O Donnell, Edward Wil 
liam Charles and Robert Richard Archer; M ir- 
garet Macleod, who died unmarried; Norman 
Macleod, who died unmarried; Charles Mac 
leod. of St. Thomas, who married Mary Craven 
Laycock and has one son, Donald Macleod; and 
John Macleod, a physician practising in To 
ronto. 

William A. Baldwin was a member of the 
Church of England, to which all his family be 
long. His political support was given to the 
Conservative party when Sir John A. Macdon- 
ald was premier. 

JOHN YOUNG REID. who passed away at 
his late residence, No. 87 Pembroke street, To 



ronto, Jan. 23, 1899, was born in Northumber 
land, England, of Scotch parentage. His father 
was Alexander Reid, who soon after the birth 
of our subject returned to Scotland, where he 
spent his remaining days. 

On reaching young manhood John Young 
Reid came to Canada, and for a time resided in 
Hamilton, from Which city he removed to To 
ronto in 1856. Soon thereafter he engaged in 
the wholesale paper business with Mr. Buntin, 
under the firm name of Buntin & Reid, con 
tinuing as a member of this firm until failing 
health made it necessary for him to retire from 
active business. Aside from his connection with 
the paper business, Mr. Reid was a director in 
the Globe Printing Company, British America 
Assurance Company, Canada Landed & National 
Investment Company, and was identified with 
other business enterprises of Toronto, as a share 
holder therein and a director thereof. He was 
largely interested in stock raising, being for a 
number of years associated with the late Hon. 
George Brown in the well-known Bow Park 
Farm, and also owned the Hillside Stock Farm, 
near Paris, Ont. He was well known throughout 
western Canadian business circles, and was a 
man held in high esteem by all who were for 
tunate enough to have made his acquaintance. 

Mr. Reid was married in 1869 to Miss Mary 
Young Butt, of Glasgow, Scotland. Mr. Reid 
was for many years one of the leading members 
of St. James Square Presbyterian Church, in 
which he was an elder, as well as being tveasurer 
thereof. In politics he was a Reformer, and he 
took an intelligent interest in the success of the 
party, although never desiring -political office, 
preferring to devote his time and attention to 
the business in which he was so successful. Mr. 
Reid was one of the oldest residents on Pembroke 
street at the time of his death, in which To 
ronto lost a useful citizen and an honorable, 
upright man. 

AVILLIAM GEORGE HANNAH, LL.B. In 
the death of William G. Hannah, who departed 
this life in Toronto, Sept. 24, 1905, the legal 
profession lost a member who for over forty 
years had been a brilliant practitioner, and who 
at the time of his demise was the oldest lawyer 
in the city. 

Charles C. Hannah, father of William G., was 
a native of Ireland, and in his earlier life saw 
military service; he was in the battle of Water 
loo. On coining to Canada he located in the 
County of TLildimand and engaged extensively in 
the lumber business, employing many men and 
doing a large exporting trade to Buffalo and 
other points. He and his wife, whose maiden 
name was Annie Stuart, both died in the County 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



61 



of Haldimand. They became the parents of six 
children: Jane, Matilda, Margaret, David, 
Charles and William George. 

William G. Hannah was born in York, County 
of Haldimand, Dec. 23, 1840. His literary train 
ing was obtained entirely under private tutors, 
among whom may be mentioned Rev. William 
Hill and Mr. Cameron. When he was ready to 
take up the study of law, upon which he had de 
cided for his life work, he entered the office of 
Judge Stevenson, of Cayuga, Haldimand County, 
but later went from there to the office of Edgar 
Barker, of Dunnville, where he studied for three 
years. His preparation completed, Mr. Hannah 
went to Toronto, passed his examinations for the 
Bar there, and on Oct. 1, 1865, was made one of 
the legal fraternity. Forming a partnership 
with the late Henry Ince, he at once began prac 
tising, but before long the association was sev 
ered, and Mr. Hannah from that day conducted 
an office by himself. He became very well- 
known, and was a prominent member of the On 
tario Bar. In 1871 he was appointed notary 
public and continued as such until his death. 
Mr. Hannah was one of Toronto s most highly 
esteemed citizens, and was a man of broad sym 
pathies and interests. While never an active 
politician he was always a loyal supporter of 
the Conservative party. In fraternal connec 
tion he was a Mason, and in religion he was a 
devoted member of the Church of England. 

In 1886 Mr. Hannah was joined in the bonds 
of matrimony to Miss Gertrude M. Bai-ker. 
daughter of the Edgar Barker in whose office 
Mr. Hannah read law. To this union were born 
two sons and one daughter, namely : Beverley, a 
medical student, class of 1909, University of To 
ronto ; George David, who is in the Crown Bank ; 
and Mabel. The family residence, at No. 164 
Park Road, was built by Mr. Hannah in 1900. 

JOHN STINSON HATTON (deceased), who 
was for nearly half a century actively engaged 
in the lumber business, was born in Oakville, 
Ont., in 1834, son of William and Elizabeth 
(Stinson) Hatton. The parents were both born 
in Ireland, and came to Canada about the same 
time, in 1824, but their marriage did not occur 
until after their arrival here, in 1826. They set 
tled on a farm at Oakville, which Mr. Hatton 
carried on until he retired from active business 
operations and moved to Milton. There he died 
in 1865. while his wife survived him until 1880. 
They were members of the Methodist Church, 
and on political subjects Mr. Hatton held the 
views of a Liberal. Always interested in mili 
tary affairs. Mr. Hatton held the rank of cap 
tain in the local militia, and in that capacity did 
active service during the rebellion of 1837-38. 



He and his wife had four children, namely: 
Mary, who died in childhood; Jane, who died 
in 1863, the wife of James McGuffin; Thomas, 
Avho died unmarried ; and John Stinson. 

John S. Hatton studied first at Oakville and 
later at Victoria College, Cobourg. After leav 
ing college he was in a mercantile business, in 
Milton, in partnership with James McGuffin, for 
a year or two, but in spite of his strong disin 
clination for agricxiltural pursuits it seemed best 
for him to return home and undertake the man 
agement of his father s farm, near Hamilton. 
This he did for a short time, but before long he 
was able to start in the flour and lumber busi 
ness in Milton, and thereafter continued in that 
line. At first only a lumber merchant, he later 
included the manufacture of lumber also, oper 
ating in Milton until 1885, when he moved to 
Toronto and established himself there perman 
ently, continuing in the active control of his 
business until his death, which occurred in Sep 
tember, 1904. Mr. Hatton emphatically em 
bodied the modern business spirit, being very 
energetic and progressive, equally quick to think 
and act. Identified so long with the lumber 
trade, he was widely known in a business way all 
over Canada, and held a very high reputation. 
He had large interests in his line, his biggest 
holdings in timber lands being in British Col 
umbia. After his death his son succeeded him 
in the business. 

Twice married, Mr. Hatton s first wife was 
Mary Elizabeth Anderson, who was born in 
Flamborough, Ont., in 1844, daughter of Isaac 
and Elizabeth (Erb) Anderson. She died in 
1871, leaving three children, namely: William 
Henry, a well-known lumber merchant, of Ivy, 
Ont., and who married Margaret Davidson, and 
has six children, Gladys, John, Irene, 
Wilfred, Helen and Bessie; and Annie 
J. and Agnes E., who reside in To 
ronto. A fourth child, Frederick, had died 
in infancy. For his second wife Mr. Hat- 
ton married, in 1876, Mrs. Mary Ann (Hatt) 
Aikman, widow of Samuel Aikman. She sur 
vives her husband and with his two daughters 
resides at No. 10 Sussex avenue. The family 
attend the Methodist Church, of which the late 
Mr. Hatton was also a member. In politics he 
was a Reformer. 

Mrs. Hatton, whose maiden name was Mary 
Ann Hatt, was born at Ancaster. Ont., daugh 
ter of Andrew and Barbara (Thorpe) Hatt. The 
former was a native of Dundas, Ont., and the 
latter of Ireland. Andrew Hatt was a son of 
Richard Hatt. the founder of the family in Can 
ada, who was a large land owner in the vicinity 
of Dundas, where he was a general merchant, 
and where his death occurred aboiit the end of 



62 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



the nineteenth century. Andrew Hatt carried 
on farming at Ancaster, and there both he and 
his wife died. 

ARTHUR C. HENDRICK, M.A., M.B., as 
sistant demonstrator in Physiology, Anatomy 
and Biology in the Medical Department of the 
University of Toronto, is of United Empire Loy 
alist extraction, and a member of a family iden 
tified with Canada since 1785. 

Members of the Hendrick family, which was 
of Scotch origin, emigrated from Scotland to 
the North of Ireland many years ago, and thence 
to the United States, where the family was 
founded prior to the outbreak of the American 
Revolution. About 1785 the widow of Arthur C. 
Hendrick s great-great-great-grandfather came 
with her family to Canada, settling at the Bay 
of Quinte, where the family received a large 
grant of land from the Crown, and in that sec 
tion the family has been an important one to 
this day. Of the family of pioneers to come to 
Canada was one James Hendrick, the great- 
great-grandfather of the Doctor, who spent his 
entire life in the vicinity of the original settle 
ment. Among his children was one Jacob Hend 
rick, who also followed farming and milling at 
the Bay of Quinte. His son, Hiram, who was a 
well-known lumberman, also spent his life in 
that section, and there the latter s son, "Willmot 
Hendrick, the father of Artlmr C., was born in 
1840. 

Willmot Hendrick married Janet Gunn, a 
native of Halifax, and a daughter of Peter A. 
Gunn, who came to Canada as an officer of the 
93rd Highlanders, and was later appointed to 
Her Majesty s Customs at Kingston, with which 
he was identified for more than forty years. Mr. 
Willmot Hendrick has been a lifelong resident 
of Murray township, County Northumberland, 
where he has been a justice of the peace for many 
years as well as a member of the township coun 
cil. Two sons have been born to him and his 
wife, namely: Prof. A. W., of Seattle, Washing 
ton ; and Dr. Arthur C. 

Dr. Arthur C. Hendrick was born in 1870, in 
County Northumberland, and received his liter 
ary training in the public schools and the Uni 
versity of Toronto, where he received his classi 
cal course leading to the degree of M.A. in 1897. 
He then entered upon his medical studies, and 
was graduated from the Medical Department of 
the University in 1900, with the degree of M.B. 
Being desirous of putting himself in touch with 
the leading teachers of Europe as well as those 
on this side of the Atlantic, Dr. Hendrick spent 
1905 in King s College, London, England. In 
1901 the Doctor was appointed lecturer in An 
atomy, Physiology and Biology in the medical 



department of his alma mater, a position he has 
ably filled to the present time. For some years 
he has been a member of the Canadian Army 
Medical Corps. 

Dr. Hendrick is a communicant of the Angli 
can Church. In politics he is a Conservative. 
His social connections are with the Royal Can 
adian Yacht Club, Victoria Club, and the Can 
adian Military Institute. 

ALEXANDER BROWN, who died at his 
home, No. 86 Charles street, Toronto, March 7, 
1904, was one of the well-known and highly re 
spected business men of the Queen City. Mr. 
Brown was born in Berwickshire, Scotland, Feb. 
3, 1828, and came of a prominent family who 
had resided at "Park," Berwickshire, for over 
600 years. The parents of Alexander Brown, 
John and Anna (Bell) Brown, spent their en 
tire lives in Scotland, and there died, leaving 
these children : Alexander ; Margaret, who died 
unmarried ; Mary, deceased, who married James 
Barrie; William, deceased; Elizabeth, deceased, 
Who married Andrew Murray ; and John and 
David, both deceased. 

Alexander Brown grew to manhood in his 
native land, and in July, 1850, came to Toronto, 
where he resided for some time, engaged in the 
bakery business with Alexander Mather. This 
was the nucleus of the well-known firm of Chris 
tie, Brown & Co., Ltd. After his marriage in 
1857, Mr. Brown settled in West Zorra, County 
Oxford, and was auditor and reeve of that town 
ship. Mr. Gordon, of West Zorra, has remarked 
that Mr. Brown was the most capable officer who 
ever filled the office. He also served as school 
trustee for some time. In 1869 Mr. Brown came 
to Toronto to establish the firm of Christie, 
Brown & Co., and later for ten years (1876- 
1886) resided in Eglinton, during which time 
he engaged in the milling business. Returning 
to Toronto he continued the milling business, 
and with Mr. Matthew Robbins owned the Citi 
zen Mills. A few months later he purchased 
Mr. Robbins s interest, and continued the busi 
ness alone until within a few months before his 
death. Then the firm was incorporated as the 
Alexander Brown Milling and Elevator Com 
pany, with Mr. Brown as president. Mr. Brown 
was educated for the law, but never followed 
that profession. However, he became one of the 
well-known business men of Toronto, and his 
friends were limited only by his acquaintance. 
He was a member of the Toronto Board of 
Trade. 

In 1857 Mr. Brown married Miss Elizabeth 
Lamb, born in Scotland, daughter of James and 
Jessie (Cairns) Lamb, who came to Canada in 
1839, locating at Gait, where Mr. Lamb engaged 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



63 



in milling. He removed later to a farm near 
Orangeville, where he and Mrs. Lamb died. 
Their children were : Archibald ; Mrs. Brown ; 
Mary, the wife of J. T. Walker; Ellen, wife of 
T. Reid ; and John. To Mr. and Mrs. Alexander 
Brown were born these children : John, engaged 
in the milling business in Toronto, married Clara 
Walker, by whom he had four children, Kath 
leen, Marjorie. Ruth and Dell. Jessie, the wife 
of Dr. J. F. Bell, has children. Prank and Alex 
ander. Annie, the wife of D. B. Jacques, has 
two children, Elizabeth and Margaret. James, 
of Toronto, married Clara Bell, a sister of Dr. 
Bell, mentioned above, and has children. Doug 
las and Hilda. William married Mabel Rice, 
and has two children. Alexia and Ross. Eliza 
beth is unmarried. Mary Florence is unmar 
ried. Murray married Ethelyn Harrison. Helen 
Bell married Armour A. Miller, of Toronto. 
Archibald and Alexandria are unmarried. Mr. 
Brown was a member of St. James Square 
Presbyterian Church, with which Mrs. Brown is 
connected. In politics he was a Reformer. 

GEORGE ELLIOTT, M.D., C.M., physician 
and surgeon of Toronto, Demonstrator of An 
atomy, University of Toronto Medical Depart 
ment, managing editor of the Dominion Medical 
Monthly and of the Ontario Medical Journal, 
and general secretary of the Canadian Medical 
Association, is a native of County Wentworth, 
Ontario. 

Dr. Elliott received his literary training in the 
public schools of his native county, and in In- 
gersoll, after which he was a teacher in Oxford 
and Haldimand Counties for a time. In 1891 he 
entered Trinity Medical College, Toronto, and 
was graduated in 1895, with the degree of M.D., 
C.M., from Trinity University. He at once set 
tled in Toronto in the practice of his chosen pro 
fession. In 1898 the Doctor was appointed De 
monstrator of Anatomy in the Medical Depart 
ment of the University of Toronto, and since 
1903 has been managing editor of the medical 
journals formerly mentioned. Since 1901 he has 
been secretary of the Canadian Medical Associa 
tion. 

In 1897 Dr. Elliott married Miss Sophie Gard 
iner, of Toronto, who died Feb. 27, 1907. Fra 
ternally Dr. Elliott is connected with the Ma 
sons, the I.O.F., the C.O.F., and the Royal Ar 
canum. In his political principle he is a Con 
servative, and in his religious connection a mem 
ber of the Anglican Church. 

ALEXANDER KIRKWOOD, whose death 
occurred July 13, 1901, was for forty-seven 
years connected with the Crown Lands Depart 
ment of Ontario, and was one of the best-known 



and most popular officials of the Ontario govern 
ment. He was born in Belfast, Ireland, Dec. 
17, 1823. 

In 1846 a party left Belfast for America, with 
only the vague idea of taking up agriculture in 
the neighborhood of Cincinnati, and Mr. Kirk- 
wood attached himself thereto as tutor. But the 
majority of the party got no further than New 
York, where Mr. Kirkwood followed his occupa 
tion for some time, later, however, turning his 
attention to agricultural pursuits. He started 
out from New York and soon found employ 
ment in Herkimer County, that State, next try 
ing wheat farming at Geneva, New York. In 
1853 he located in Montreal, and for a time 
worked for Stephen Baker, at Durham Flats. 
While there he read one day that a Department 
of Agriculture was to be established by the gov 
ernment, and this seeming to hold out promises 
of congenial work he hastened to Quebec. Mal 
colm Cameron was the new minister, and Mr. 
Kirkwood presented himself to him. He receiv 
ed the promises of employment, but was told to 
wait, and he resumed farming. While working 
with Robert Nugent Watts, at Riviere St. Fran 
cis, he wrote an article on the drilling of wheat 
which appeared in the Montreal Agriculturist. 
When Mr. Cameron read the article he at once 
sent for Mr. Kirkwood, and in a few days the 
latter had Lord Elgin s commission in his pocket 
to visit Europe and report upon the growth and 
management of flax, and to encourage emigra 
tion from the continent to Canada. Mr. Kirk 
wood performed this task most creditably, but 
on his return to Canada found the govern 
ment changed and Dr. Ralph minister of agri 
culture. Consequently he had to make his re 
port to Mr. Cameron as a private individual. 
Soon afterward he obtained an appointment to 
the Crown Lands Department, and, although he 
would have preferred to remain in the Agri 
cultural Department he gave his best energies 
to the new work, continuing in this department 
until his retirement, in 1900. 

Mr. Kirkwood wrote continually for publica 
tion, and his writings, under the name "Nep 
tune, were familiar to the readers of the Week 
and the Globe. He interested himself largely in 
Canadian Fisheries, before the present depart 
ment was founded with Mr. Bastedo in charge. 
Mr. Kirkwood and J. J. Murphy, of the Free 
Grants and Sales Department, jointly published 
a work on the undeveloped lands of northern 
Ontario, which was received with much praise 
and everywhere acknowledged to be a valuable 
work. Among Mr. Kirkwood s other writings 
were translations of "The Art of Observing," 
by Benjamin Corrard. and an account of the 
forests of Russia and their products in compari- 



64 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



son with the territorial area and with the popu 
lation, by P. V. Werikha. This latter work was 
the means of introducing systematic forestry 
into Canada. It was through Mr. Kirkwood s 
instrumentality also that the Algonquin forest 
and park were set apart as a reservation. 

On Oct. 1, 1900, Mr. Kirkwood s failing health 
compelled him to retire from the department and 
give himself a rest. For many years he resided 
at No. 1 St. Thomas street. Toronto. 

JOHN S. HART, M.D., of No. 1480 Queen 
street west, Toronto, is a descendant of a York 
shire, England, family, which has for many years 
been identified with central Ontario. 

The Hart family was founded in Canada by 
the grandfather of Dr. Hart. Jeremiah Hart 
married Hannah Drury, and they were both na 
tives of Yorkshire, whence in 1830 they came to 
Canada. After a short stop in what is now To 
ronto, they proceeded to Lake Simcoe, and to the 
south-eastward, settling on a tract of land in 
Brock township, County of Ontario, where the 
rest of their lives was spent. Jeremiah Hart had 
a fine property, and the ashes of himself and 
wife rest in a cemetery given by him from his 
own land to the Methodist Church. Mr. Hart 
held many municipal positions in Yorkshire, 
England, and was a man of importance in his 
day. To him and his wife were born children as 
follows: Mary; Hannah; John; Jeremiah; Eliza 
beth; Robert; George; and Sarah, all now de 
ceased. All but Sarah had children, who are 
now settled in various parts of the country. 

John Hart, son of Jeremiah, was born in 1S09, 
in Yorkshire, and accompanied his parents to 
Canada. In 1844 he married Miss Sabra Way, 
who was born in Prince Edward County, Ont.. 
of U. E. L. ancestry. She was a daughter of 
Reuben and Lydia (Gleason) Way, both natives 
of Canada, the former being a son of Daniel B. 
Way, of the State of New York. Reuben Way 
was a farmer and public man and a member oE 
the old Home District Council, the Home Dis 
trict being one of the four origiiial divisions of 
Upper Canada for municipal purposes. 

After his marriage he settled on a farm in 
Brock township, where they resided until Mr. 
Way retired from active life. John Hart was a 
representative man, and was made a member of 
the reception committee of the county council of 
Ontario, to meet the then Prince of Wales, now 
King Edward VII., on the memorable occasion of 
his visit in 18(51. Tie at that time represented 
his township (Brock) in the Ontario county 
council. He was also president for many years 
of the Brock Agricultural Society. To John 
and Sabra (Way) Hart were born the follow 
ing children: Hannah, wife of William Franks, 



of Iowa; Nancy, deceased; Reuben, a. member 
of the council of Georgina township, County of 
York, and now reeve; Lydia, wife of John Cor 
ner, of Pefferlaw, Ont. ; Sarah, who died unmar 
ried; Robert, who died in 1882, while a student 
of medicine; Sabra, wife of Joseph B. Hi)], of 
Seabright, Ont. ; John S., a practicing physician 
of Toronto; Eunice; George P., a merchant; and 
Phebe S., wife of Rev. R, P. Cummings. All of 
these children were born on the homestead. 

Dr. John S. Hart was born in Brock township, 
Ont., in 1860, and he received his education in 
the home schools and the Port Perry high school. 
In 1885 he entered xipon the study of medicine, 
and in October, 1888, he received his degree of 
M.D. from Victoria University, and in 1889 
the degree of M.B. from the University of To 
ronto. Both before and after graduation Dr. 
Hart spent some time in the office of the late Dr. 
W. T. Aildns. after which he settled down to the 
individual practice of his profession of medicine 
and surgery, establishing his office in 1890. He 
is a member of the staff of the Toronto Western 
Hospital, and of the Home for Incurables, and 
a member of the council of the College of Physi 
cians and Surgeons of Ontario. 

In 1903 Dr. Hart was united in marriage with 
Miss Jean Lawson, who is of Scotch descent, but 
who was born in Hamilton. She is the daughter 
of William and Jessie K. (Cooper) Lawson. 
Mrs. Lawson is a writer of international repu 
tation, her writings appearing in periodicals 
both in Canada and Scotland. She first wrote 
for "Grip" over the name of " Hugh Airlie." 
Dr. and Mrs. Hart have one son, John L., born 
in 1904. They are members of the Methodist 
Church. Dr. Hart is descended from families 
who were Reformers on paternal and maternal 
sides. His father and maternal grandfather 
were both arrested on account of their known 
sympathy with the purposes of the "rebel" party 
in 1837, but were detained only for a day. Dr. 
Hart is deeply interested in Canadian politics, 
history and literature, and is a collector of Can 
adian books, but is not a party politician. He 
belongs to the Masonic fraternity. 

REV. MICHAEL ANDREW FARRAR, 
whose death occurred in 1876 at Westwood, Ont., 
was born in Bradford, England, in 1813, son 
of Squire Farrar, a native of that country. 

In his native county Michael Andrew Farrar 
received his education at Bradford and later was 
a student at Christ Church. Oxford, after leav 
ing which latter institution he engaged in teach 
ing for some time as a private tutor prior to 
being ordained as a clergyman in the Church of 
England. He was head master of the Swansea 
grammar school. Rev. Mr. Farrar came to Can- 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



65 



ada in 1862, settling at Westwood. and he was 
incumbent for Westwood, Hastings and Nor 
wood, filling those important pastorates as rector 
until his death. 

Rev. Mr. Farrar was twice married, the first 
time to a Miss Benson, by whom he had a daugh 
ter, Caroline, who married Henry Perregrine 
Leader, and whose son, Gen. H. P. Leader, is now 
a well-known man in military circles. He was 
brought up by his grandmother, Mrs. Farrar, 
and educated at Port Hope and the Royal Mili 
tary College. Kingston. Rev. Mr. Farrar s sec 
ond wife was Miss Elizabeth Powel, born in 
1836, daughter of Rev. Thomas and Charlotte 
McGregor Powel. Of the children of Thomas 
and Charlotte Powel John, Flora and Mrs. Far 
rar came to this country. John Powel resides 
near Norwood, retired from active business. By 
his second marriage Rev. Mr. Farrar had one 
son, Dr. Stewart Farrar, of Cedar Rapids, Iowa, 
and one daughter, Charlotte Isabel, wife of 
Thomas Grover, Esq., barrister, Norwood. The 
latter s son, Percy, is an accountant in the Bank 
of Commerce, Toronto, and Trevor Grover is in 
the Bank of Toronto, head office. 

In 1904 Mrs. Farrar located in Toronto, and 
since that time has resided in the home which 
she purchased at No. 71 Lakeview avenue. 

WILLIAM MACLEAN. For nearly half a 
century the name of William Maclean has been 
a familiar one in Toronto. He comes of High 
land Scotch ancestry, and has inherited many of 
the sterling qualities characteristic of that race. 

Mr. Maclean is a native of Banffshire, Scot 
land, and was born in 1824. He received a good 
education, with a legal training, in Keith, his 
native town. Aberdeen, and Glasgow, and soon 
thereafter joined the staff of the Aberdeen and 
Great North of Scotland Railways. 

Mr. Maclean s subsequent career in Canada 
was chiefly the outgrowth of his successful work 
in Scotland, for it was his record as general 
auditor of the Great North of Scotland Rail 
way which led the London Board of the Buffalo 
& Lake Huron Railway Company to select him 
to look after their interests in Canada. He left 
Aberdeen in 1856 and was sent out to Canada 
in that year as secretary and treasurer of that 
company, and for eleven years he was located 
at Brantford, the company s headquarters, in the 
discharge of the various responsibilities of his 
office, and was soon thereafter appointed man 
aging director. On the amalgamation of the 
road with the Grand Trunk System, in 1867, Mr. 
Maclean left Brantford and went to Toronto to 
assume the position of managing director of the 
Union Loan & Savings Company, which he held 
for thirty years, when in 1897 he finally retired. 

5 



Subsequently the "Union" and "Building & 
Loan" united in the formation of the present 
Toronto Mortgage Company, under its new name. 
It should be further stated, however, that Mr. 
Maclean was also connected with and interested 
in other important corporations and business 
institutions in Canada, and was largely instru 
mental in promoting, among others, The Toronto 
General Trusts Company, of which he was one of 
the first directors, and was for some years a 
director and secretary of the International 
Bridge Company prior to its acquirement by the 
Grand Trunk. 

Mr. Maclean s sons also are well-known as 
men of superior business ability and standing, 
several of whom have filled important positions 
of responsibility and trust, those surviving being 
Mr. Charles Maclean, F.I.A., of New York City, 
who has an influential connection and a large and 
lucrative practice in that city; Mr. Frank W. 
Maclean, the well-known Toronto barrister, in 
active practice in that city ; and Mr. A. G. Mac 
lean, who holds a position in the Government 
service. 

The beautifully situated residence of Mr. Mac 
lean at No. 249 University avenue has been the 
family homestead for many years, and while Mr. 
Maclean is well along in years it is scarcely real 
ized, for his health and activity remain still 
vigorous and seemingly unimpaired a pleasant 
sequel as well as fitting tribute to a useful and 
honorable career. 

Mr. Maclean was twice married. His first wife 
died in 1894. Subsequently he married Mrs. 
McLeod, of Quebec, who was well and favorably 
known in that city some years ago. 

SERGEANT JOHN E. EDWARDS, a Royal 
Engineer in Her Majesty s Service, and for many 
years a manufacturer of leather novelties at Bra- 
condale, County York, died at his home March 
7, 1900. He was born in Edinborough, Kent, 
England, in 1836, son of George Edwards, who 
was head gardener for Bishop Gilbert, of Chi- 
chester, Sussex, England. George Edwards s 
wife died in England, and he came to New York 
State, settling with his sons at Brooklyn, but later 
made his way to Canada, dying at the home of 
his son, James, in 1895. Of the sons of George 
Edwards, James and John E. came to Canada; 
Albert, Charles and Henry reside in Brooklyn, 
New York : Joseph resides in England ; and Wil 
liam, George and Jacob died in England. 

Jonh E. Edwards was a Royal Engineer in Her 
Majesty s Service for twenty one years, and was 
stationed at Cape Town, South Africa, for some 
years. He there married Elizabeth Jane Slade, 
who was born in SI^RP^, England, daughter o? 
William and Jane Slade. After five years in 



66 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



Cape Town, Mr. and Mrs. Edwards returned to 
Chatham, Kent, England, and after some time 
there Mr. Edwards was commissioned to go to 
Ireland for two years. In 1875, while in the 
Government service, Mr. Edwards came to Can 
ada as an engineer on the boundary survey, and 
was discharged in Quebec two years later. Then 
he located on Yonge street, Toronto, in the leath 
er business, after some time coming to Bracon- 
dale, erecting a factory which was destroyed by 
fire in 1899. He then put up the present brick 
factory. After Mr. Edwards death, in 1900, 
his sons became his successors, under the firm 
name of J. E. Edwards & Sons, and they are 
among the leading fancy leather and harness 
goods dealers in this section of the country, their 
product finding a ready market all over the 
Dominion. In politics Mr. Edwards was a Con 
servative, and during his residence in Bracon- 
dale he served as deputy postmaster under Mr. 
Turner. He was reared in the faith of the 
Church of England. 

Mr. and Mrs. Edwards had children as follows : 
Alice, born at Cape Town, Africa, married N. 
Keel, of Toronto Junction, and to them was 
born one daughter, Alice. Elizabeth, born in 
Cape Town, Africa, married Abraham Ball, a 
merchant on College street, and has children: 
Albert, Mabel, Lilly, Claude, Irene and Grace. 
John, born in Cape Town, was reared in Toronto, 
where he married Miss Lillie Tooze, and they 
reside on Bathurst street, Bracondale ; they have 
five children: Florence, Elsie, Allen, Frank and 
Harold. William, born in Kent, England, mar 
ried Miss Elizabeth A. Cursley, and resides near 
the factory in Bracondale ; he has two children, 
William H. and Esther. James, born in Ireland, 
grew up at the home in Toronto, married Miss 
Edith Dickinson, a native of England, and re 
sides on Christie street, Bracondale, where he 
owns a fine home. Charles, born in Chatham, 
Kent, England, married Miss Lucy Flight, 
daughter of Captain Flight, of Toronto, and re 
sides on Christie street, Bracondale ; they have 
two children, Margaret and Edith. Emily, born 
in Toronto, was educated in the public and high 
schools of the Queen City, and resides at the 
home with her mother. Mary, born in Toronto, 
married Olander Dunsford. and resides in Bra 
condale. 

Mr. Edwards was a member of the Army and 
Navy Club. He was very highly esteemed in 
Bracondale as a man of honesty and integrity, 
and his memory will be long cherished by a host 
of friends and acquaintances. 

JOHN CHRISTOPHER NOTMAN, who died 
in Toronto May 2, 1890, was one of the well- 
known men of that city, having been in the pub 



lic service for more than forty years. He was 
born in Montrose, Scotland, in 1829, son of John 
and Margaret (Howden) Notman, natives of 
Scotland, who came to Canada in 1849, locating 
at the village of St. George. There John Not 
man died, and his widow passed away in Toronto, 
at the home of her son, John Christopher Not 
man. 

John Christopher Notman was educated in Ed 
inburgh, Scotland. Or coming to this country 
he located first in Toronto, where for some 
time he was bookkeeper for J. B. Smith. From 
this position Mr. Notman changed to become 
bookkeeper for the "Kerby House," in Brant- 
ford, and in about 1850 he entered the employ 
of the Government at Toronto, on its transfer 
to Quebec, making his home there, to continue 
in his work. From Quebec Mr. Notman went to 
Ottawa in connection with government work, 
later returning to Toronto, where he was ac 
countant to the Legislative Assembly, and later 
became the Queen s printer, which position he 
held at the time of his death. His cleverness and 
ready adaptability to the position he filled made 
Mr. Notman a favorite with all, and none knew 
him but to honor and respect him. 

Mr. Notman was married in 1860 to Eliza Jane 
Frazer, daughter of James and Julia (Hines) 
Frazer, the former of whom was born in Ire 
land in 1788 and died in 1860. Mrs. Frazer died 
in 1889, aged ninety-seven years. Their children 
were: Thomas, William, George, James, Sarah, 
Amelia, Margaret, Clarissa, Eliza Jane and 
Julia. Mrs. Notman was born at St. George 
village. She now resides in Toronto with her 
daughter, Clarra Etta. Her other children are: 
Florence Maggie, married Dr. John A. Tuck, of 
Toronto, and they have two sons, Wilfred Per- 
cival and Christopher Notman Tuck ; Christopher 
R. Notman is in Pittsburg, Pennsylvania. Mur 
iel L. is the wife of A. John McKay, of Toronto. 
In religion Mr. Notman was a Presbyterian. 

Mr. Notman made a specialty of minerals, rel 
ics and coins, and had one of the finest collec 
tions of the kind in Canada. The Agricultural 
College at Guelph purchased the minerals and 
sold the balance of his collection. He had a mu 
seum of his own in the Parliament Buildings. 
To show how much the Government appreciated 
Mr. Notman s collection, it is only necessary to 
say that it was given room in the Parliament 
Buildings. 

WILLIAM CARTER HEGGIE. M.D., of No. 
116 Dovercourt road, Toronto, is a member of a 
family of professional men, his father. Dr. Da 
vid Heggie, being one of the oldest medical prac 
titioners in Ontario. The Heggie family came 
originally from Switzerland, but it can be traced 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



67 



to France, and thence, in the persons of Hugue 
not refugees, to Scotland and still later to Can 
ada. 

David Heggie, the Doctor s grandfather, was 
a lifelong resident of Scotland, and died there. 
His father was a member of the Pifeshire Vol 
unteers. His son David, the eminent physician 
and surgeon of Ontario, and the father of Dr. 
William C. Heggie, was born in 1837, in Scot 
land, and was thoroughly educated at Edinburgh. 
For some years subsequently he taught school in 
his native land, but finally came to Canada. Ik-re 
he taught school and also studied medicine, 
graduating at Queen s University in 1866 with 
the degree of M.D. Shortly afterward he settled 
at Brampton, where he has continued as a gen 
eral practitioner and has acquired a large degree 
of eminence. He is particularly well known as a 
lover and student of Carlyle, his book, "How I 
Read Carlyle s French Revolution," being one 
of the finest works on Carlyle literature. 

Dr. David Heggie was united in marriage 
with Miss Mary Carter, who was born in Bramp 
ton, daughter of William and Sarah (Elliott) 
Carter. William Carter was born in England, 
coming to Canada with his parents when four 
years old. His wife was a native of Canada, 
and a daughter of the late John Elliott, one 
of the early settlers at Brampton almost the 
founder of that place, to which he gave its name, 
in memory of Brampton, England, his old home. 
William Carter was also an early settler at 
Brampton, where he owned valuable farm pro 
perty, on which both he and his wife died. Both 
lines of our subject s ancestry, it will thus be 
seen, have been closely identified with Dominion 
interests for a long period. 

The children of Dr. David Heggie and his wife 
were: Dr. William Carter, of Toronto; Dr. Da 
vid Livingston, of Brampton ; Robert Elliott, a 
barrister at Brampton ; Dr. Norman McLeod, of 
Jacksonville, Florida, who received his medical 
training at Baltimore, Maryland; and Isabella, 
wife of Christopher Irvine, of Brampton. 

William Carter Heggie was born in 1866 at 
Brampton, Ont., where he received his literary 
training. In 1882 he entered the Toronto Medi 
cal School, and was graduated in 1886, with the 
degree of M.D.C.M. After graduating there, 
Dr. Heggie went to Ann Arbor, Michigan, where 
he continued his studies in the University of 
Michigan, and there it was that he came under 
the instruction of Dr. Donald McLean. Profes 
sor of Surgery in that institution. While at Ann 
Arbor Dr. Ileggie was invited to Detroit to be 
come assistant to Dr. McLean, and thus he en 
joyed a training in surgery under this noted man 
of science, the benefits of which can scarcely be 
overestimated. He remained with Dr. McLean 



about a year, when he contracted typhoid fever, 
making it necessary for him to give up his medi 
cal work for a time. He recuperated in the 
South, and when he resumed practice it was at 
Malton, Ont., where he remained for three years. 
He then removed to Detroit, where he practised 
until 1898. In the latter year he settled at To 
ronto, where he has built up a very large prac 
tice as physician and surgeon, and is an esteem 
ed and valued citizen from every point of view. 
In 1897 Dr. Heggie was united in marriage 
with Miss Gertrude Lizzie MacAffree, who was 
born at Newport, Rhode Island, a daughter of 
David and Mary (Hopkins) MacAffree. The 
mother of Mrs. Heggie belongs to an old and 
distinguished family of Rhode Island, her great 
grandfather having been one of the signers of the 
Declaration of Independence, whose descendants 
in the States have reason to be proud of the dis 
tinction. 

DANIEL CLARK, M.D., physician, lecturer, 
author and for thirty years superintendent of 
the Toronto Asylum, is a leading member of the 
medical profession in Ontario, and a recognized 
authority on mental diseases. He was born in 
Scotland in 1831. 

Alexander Clark, the Doctor s father, was 
born in Scotland in 1806, and his wife, who was 
Miss Annie Mclntosh, a native of the same coun 
try, was born in 1808. The family came to Can 
ada in 1841, and settled on a farm near Port 
Dover, where Mr. Clark continued in agricultural 
pursuits till his death in 1872. After that event 
his widow made her home with Dr. Clark, and 
died in Toronto in 1898, at the advanced age of 
eighty-nine. Mr. Clark was a Reformer, and 
both he and his wife belonged to the Presbyter 
ian Church. They were the parents of three liv 
ing children, viz.: Dr. Daniel; Annie, wife of 
Robert Porteous. of Simcoe ; and John Alexand 
er, of the County of Norfolk. 

Dr. Daniel Clark received his literary educa 
tion in Canada. At the age of eighteen he went 
to the gold fields of California, but after two 
years experience there he returned to Canada, 
and, deciding upon the practice of medicine as 
his profession, he entered Victoria Medical Col 
lege, taking his degree of M.D. in 1858. In 1892 
he received the degree of M.D. from the Univer 
sity of Toronto. Dr. Clark then went abroad and 
spent some years in the hospitals of London. Ed 
inburgh and Paris, thus acquiring a varied ex 
perience and putting himself in practical touch 
with the best medical thought of the day. 

Upon his return to Canada Dr. Clark estab 
lished himself at Princeton. County of Oxford, 
but in 1864 he went to the United States and 
became an army surgeon for the remainder of 



68 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



the great Civil War then pending in that coun 
try. During this time he met personally Pre 
sident Lincoln, "General Grant, and others who 
were leaders of that day. Prom a professional 
point of view, this period offered more varied 
surgical experience than he could otherwise have 
obtained, and was of great benefit to him. He 
came back to Canada and resumed his former 
practice until 1875, when he was appointed to the 
position with which his name will always be 
chiefly associated. 

From 1875 till 1905 Dr. Clark was superin 
tendent of the Toronto Asylum for the Insane, 
and during that long period of service more than 
5,600 patients passed under his charge, more 
than 2,000 of them fully recovering. Dr. Clark 
is an authority on the treatment of insanity, 
and is the author of the text-book on that sub 
ject iised in the University of Toronto, and by the 
College of Physicians and Surgeons, besides being 
a contributor to various medical journals ; and he 
has written a number of monographs on medical 
subjects. His "Pen Autographs" ran through 
two editions, as did also his novel, "Josiah 
Garth." For fifteen years he lectured on insan 
ity at the University, and was at one time exam 
iner of students for the Medical Council, also for 
the University of Toronto, and is an ex-president 
of the American Psychological Association, and 
in June, 1906, he was made an honorary mem 
ber thereof. This association is composed of su 
perintendents and assistant superintendents of 
the asylums of Canada and the United States. 
He was a member and president of the medical 
council, and also of the Ontario Medical Asso 
ciation. Dr. Clark is likewise an honorary mem 
ber of the Canadian Press Association, and in 
connection with his brother-in-law established the 
Princeton Review, and later the Woodstock Re 
view, a Reform sheet, which they afterward sold 
to the late Mr. Patullo, M.P.P. Dr. Clark s opin 
ions are everywhere held in much respect, and 
he has long been an influential factor in the 
medical thought of Canada. He is a Reformer 
in politics, and belongs to the St. Andrew s and 
the Caledonian Societies, of both of which he has 
been chosen president. He is now at a ripe old 
age, retired from active practice. 

In 1859 Dr. Clark was married to Miss Jeannie 
Gissing, who was born in Princeton. County of 
Oxford, daughter of Alfred Gissing. an early set 
tler in that section. Mrs. Clark died in 1898. 
She bore her husband three children, but all are 
deceased. Both Dr. Clark and his wife united 
many years ago with the Presbyterian Church. 
Since resigning his position as superintendent, 
Dr. Clark has resided at No. 375 Huron street. 
Toronto. 



RICHARD S. WILLIAMS, president of the 
R. S. Williams & Sons Company, Limited, manu 
facturers of and dealers in musical instruments, 
No. 143 Yonge street, Toronto, was born in the 
Queen City March 17, 1874, son of the late Rich 
ard Sugden Williams, a business man of inter 
national reputation, a record of whom appears 
elsewhere in this volume. 

Richard S. Williams was educated in the Wel- 
lesley street public school and at the Collegiate 
Institute on Jarvis street. From an early age 
he showed marked ability in the business, visit 
ing the office, factory and warerooms after school 
hours, and at the age of fifteen years started out 
in the city one morning to interview some pros 
pective purchasers of pianos. In this, his maiden 
effort as a salesman, he was successful, returning 
with the order of two ladies, sisters, for a piano. 
On finishing his collegiate course Mr. Williams 
entered his father s business, and has been iden 
tified therewith to the present time. In 1890, on 
the formation of the R, S. Williams & Sons 
Company, Limited, he became vice-president, and 
in 1906, on the death of his father, was made 
president. 

One room of the spacious buildings of the com 
pany, at No. 143 Yonge street, is devoted largely 
to the exhibiting of antique musical instruments. 
On the walls among these instruments are dip 
lomas received by the company showing the high 
standing taken by the instruments, one of which 
(dated 1861) is from the Mechanics Institute, 
and another (in the same year) for the finest col 
lection of musical instruments ; still another, dat 
ed 1863, being from the Agricultural Association, 
for a brass drum. In this room one has a chance 
to study the style and finish of primitive instru 
ments, among them being a cello made by the 
great-grandfather of Mrs. Williams in 1803, in 
the Isle of Wight, and a violin case of the eight 
eenth century weighing thirty-five pounds. This 
collection of antique instruments is the finest on 
the American continent. This firm are the only 
makers of small instruments in Canada, manu 
facturing any instrument from a jevrsharp to a 
pipe organ. In visiting the warerooms of the 
company one is impressed with the distribution 
system and arrangement of the different lines of 
instruments. One floor of the great building is 
given to violins, and in 1905 27,000 of these went 
out of this department. On another floor are tht> 
brass instruments, and on another the phono 
graphs, etc. Another interesting department, 
especially to the musician, is that in which is kept 
the collection of the finest violins, not for the 
general trade, but for those who know a fine 
instrument when they play it, and at the same 
time are able to own one worth thousands of dol 
lars. Mr. Williams, the president, is always early 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



69 



at the office and warerooms, an . takes great 
pleasure in showing visitors through the various 
departments and explaining all points of interest 
connected therewith. 

On March 31, 1887. Mr. Williams was married 
to Miss Alma Coleman. a skilled musician, 
daughter of Charles Coleman, at one time leader 
of the Philharmonic Society of Toronto. To 
Mr. and Mrs. Williams have been born three 
children : Irrna D., born in 1896 ; Madeline, born 
in 1900; and Annette, born in 1905. Mr. and 
Mrs. Williams are members of the English 
Church. In politics he is a Conservative, and 
he is connected with the Canada Bowling Club, 
the River Beach Athletic Association, and the 
Beach Sailing Association. 

MAJOR J. K. LESLIE, treasurer of the In 
dustrial Exhibition Association of Toronto, and 
an ex-alderman, is a native of the Queen City, 
and a son of George and Caroline (Davis) 
Leslie. The grandmother of our subject mar 
ried John Leslie, and their children were: Wil 
liam (deceased) was a farmer; John (deceased) 
was a farmer; George (deceased) was proprietor 
of the well-known Toronto Nurseries; Robert 
was a contractor and house builder; and Eliza 
(deceased) was married to William Phillips, of 
Orangeville (deceased). By a second marriage 
to John Leslie, a cousin of her first husband, 
the grandmother had these children : Willie (de 
ceased) was a farmer; James (deceased) was a 
farmer; and Geordie. a merchant, was in the 
Civil War in the United States. 1861-65, and is 
now a resident of the Union. 

Of the above mentioned children, George Les 
lie was the father of Major Leslie. He was born 
at Rogart, Sutherlandshire. Scotland, in 1805, 
and in his native country followed gardening. 
On settling in Toronto he continued gardening 
for many years, and many of the beautiful shade 
trees of the city were planted by him. Mr. Les 
lie later settled on a farm in Derry West, and 
went into the grain, seed and grocery business 
at the corner of Yonge and Colborne streets. In 
1837 he went into the nursery business at Rus 
sell Abby Square, south-east corner of King and 
Caroline (now Sherbonrne) streets, and carried 
on that business until his death, which occurred 
in Toronto June 24. 1892. In Mr. Leslie s store 
on Front street were exhibited the first gas 
lights ever installed in Toronto. He was a mag 
istrate for many years, and also served as an 
alderman, and he was a member of the old Vol 
unteer Fire Department during the rebellion of 
1837. In religion he was a Presbyterian; in 
his political sympathies a Reformer. In 1835 
Mr. Leslie married Caroline Davis, daughter 
of Calvin Davis, an early settler of Toronto, and 



she died in 1851, leaving children as follows : 
George, of Toronto ; Major J. K. ; Caroline Jane, 
the wife of Robert C. Jennings, manager of the 
Bank of Commerce at Toronto Junction; and 
Esther Ann, wife of Alexander McDonald Allan, 
of Goderich. 

Major John Knox Leslie was born in 1848. 
He was educated in his native city, completing 
his studies at the Model Grammar School. For 
two years he was in the exchange office of E. 
Chaffey & Co.. and then engaged with the Can 
ada Permanent Building & Loan Society. For 
three years he was with the Royal Canadian 
Bank at Whitby. Returning to Toronto in 1869, 
he was until 1881 in the nursery business with 
his father, in that year being appointed clerk of 
the township of York, a position he held until 
1888. In 1890 he was elected an alderman of 
Toronto, serving nine years, two years of which 
time he was on the board of control. Major 
Leslie was one of the original directors of the 
Excelsior Life Insurance Company. He was a 
director of the Industrial Exhibition Associa 
tion, 1893-1903; in March, 1904, he was made 
cashier, and in June, 1906, treasurer of the asso 
ciation. 

On Dec. 25, 1889, Major Leslie married Miss 
Blanche Eleanor Anderson, daughter of the late 
Thomas W. Anderson, of Eglinton, whose sketch 
appears elsewhere. They have had one child, 
Dorothy, born Sept. 15, 1895. Major and Mrs. 
Leslie are members of the First Church of 
Christ, Scientist, Toronto. In politics he is a 
prominent Liberal, and in 1892, on the death of 
Hon. Alex. Mackenzie, contested the East York 
Riding for Parliament against Mr. McLean, the 
Government supporter, but was defeated by a 
small majority. 

Major Leslie is very prominent in military af 
fairs, his record being as follows . He joined the 
Highland Company of the Q. O. R.. and subse 
quently was a member of No. 4 Company of that 
regiment, until he left the city. On his return he 
joined the 12th Regiment, "York Rangers," 
serving through the Northwest (Riel) rebellion. 
1885, as First Lieutenant in the York and Simcoe 
contingent. He was Captain of No. 3 Company 
of the 12th for nearly ten years, was Junior Ma 
jor for five years, and is now Senior Major of 
the regiment. 

He is a past master of Orient Lodge, No. 339, 
A. F. & A. M., G.R.C., and a past Z of Orient 
Chapter, No. 79, G.R.C. 

GEORGE ALLAN ARTHURS (deceased). 
Among the families long and prominently identi 
fied with the County of York and the business 
interests of Toronto are the Arthurs and the 
Austins, of which families the late George Allan 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



Arthurs and his widow, Annie Jane (Austin) 
Arthurs, have been worthy representatives. 

The Arthurs family is of Irish extraction, and 
was founded in Canada by William H. Arthurs, 
the father of George Allan. He was born in 
Ireland and came to Canada in an early day, 
being among the earliest settlers of Toronto, com 
ing hither from the United States. The Arthurs 
of Toronto are related to the late Chester A. 
Arthur, who became president of the United 
States on Sept. 20, 1881, upon the death of Pre 
sident Garfield, and served the remainder of the 
presidential term until March 4, 1885. On com 
ing to Toronto, William H. Arthurs opened a 
general store, and he continued to make Toronto 
his home until his death. His wife, who bore the 
maiden name of Helen Watson, became the 
mother of the following children: Helen, who 
married John Leys, and left two children, Wil 
liam (deceased), and Helen (of Toronto) ; John, 
deceased; Col. William, deceased; and George 
Allan. 

George Allan Arthurs was born in Toronto in 
December, 1835, and received his education at 
the Upper Canada College. His business life 
was begun with the firm of Howland & Fitch, 
with whom he remained for some time, and then 
he engaged with a Mr. Hutchinson, a wholesale 
merchant, with whom he remained a number of 
years. Having become well versed in the whole 
sale grocery business with these gentlemen, Mr. 
Arthurs, in company with Mr. John Boyd, form 
ed the firm of Boyd & Arthurs, and engaged in 
business. On the dissolution of this firm Mr. 
Arthurs formed a partnership with the late John 
Smith, and carried on a wholesale grocery busi 
ness on Wellington street east, continuing in this 
connection until his retirement from business in 
1876. 

In 1863 Mr. Arthurs and Miss Annie Jane 
Austin were united in marriage. Mrs. Arthurs 
was a daughter of the late James and Susan 
(Bright) Austin, pioneer settlers of Little York. 
now Toronto. To Mr. and Mrs. Arthurs were 
born three daughters, as follows : Ada. who mar 
ried Victor Cawthra, of Toronto, and has one 
daughter, Victoria Isobel Mirille; Helen Elma, 
who is deceased; and Margaret Georgina, who 
married Sidney A. C. Green, deceased, and has 
one daughter, Doris Margaret. Mr. Arthurs was 
a consistent member of the old Knox Presbyter 
ian Church, while Mrs. Arthurs is a member of 
the Anglican Church. Fraternally, Mr. Arthurs 
was connected with the Masonic order. 

AUSTIN. The Austin family is also of Irish 
extraction, and was founded in Canada by John 
Austin, the father of James Austin, and grand 
father of Mrs. Arthurs. John Austin came to 
Canada in 1828, and settled about twenty-two 



miles from Toronto, where he took up a tract 
of land, and here he and his wife spent the re 
mainder of their lives. Their family, all of whom 
were born in Ireland, were : John, Mary, Wil 
liam, Thomas, and James. It is with James Aus 
tin s business career that we are especially inter 
ested. He was born in Ireland in 1814, and was 
but a lad of sixteen years when his parents 
settled in the forests of Ontario. Here he grew 
to manhood, and at the same time laid the foun 
dation for a progressive business life. He was 
partly educated in Ireland, and when quite 
young engaged as a clerk with William Lyon 
Mackenzie in the printing business. Dtiring this 
time Mr. Austin attended evening school in To 
ronto, and thereby acquired a liberal education, 
which, with his large amount of natural ability, 
made him one of the leaders in financial circles 
of his day in Canada. 

Mr. Austin began business on his own account 
in company with the late Patrick Foy, under the 
firm name of Foy & Austin, wholesale and retail 
grocers. Later he entered into finance, so con 
tinuing until his death in 1897. With the late 
Hon. John Ross, he was the founder of the Do 
minion Bank, and it was he who conceived and 
was instrumental in putting into effect the city 
Branch Banking System of Canada. Besides 
these interests, he was president of the Consum 
ers Gas Company. North of Scotland Canadian 
Mortgage Company, Queen City Fire Insurance 
Company, and for many years was identified 
with many other business interests of the city. 
In 1865 Mr. Austin purchased a beautiful tract 
of land on the north side of Davenport road, 
which is known as the "Spadina Property." 
Here he f built his home, and also the one now 
owned by his daughter, Mrs. Arthurs. On the 
death of Mr. Austin, the propertj r was divided 
between Mrs. Arthurs and her brother, Albert 
William, he taking the family homestead, which 
is still known as the "Spadina Property." The 
Arthurs plaee is known as " Ravenswood, " and 
is one of the most beautiful spots in Ontario, 
overlooking, as it does, the city of Toronto and 
Lake Ontario, and in a clear atmosphere may 
be seen the spray that rises from Niagara Falls. 

In 1844 Mr. Austin was united in marriage 
with Miss Susan Bright, who was born in To 
ronto in May, 1817, and died Feb. 21, 1907. She 
was a daughter of William Bright, a pioneer 
of Toronto, a record of whose family will be 
found elsewhere. To Mr. and Mrs. James Austin 
were born five children, three sons and two 
daughters, as follows : Annie Jane, who married 
George Allan Arthurs ; Margaret Louise, who 
married Col. William Joice, of England, by 
whom she had one son, Charles Albert (deceas 
ed) ; Charles George, who died when fourteen 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



71 



years old; James Henry, whose death occurred 
in 1894; and Albert "William, the present resi 
dent of the old homestead, who married Mary R. 
Kerr, and has had six children : May (deceased) ; 
James Percival, Adele Mary, Albert Edison, 
Anne Kathleen, and Constance Margaret. 

M. B. JACKSON has for nearly forty-three 
years been clerk of the Crown and Pleas at Os- 
goode Hall, Toronto. During this time the en 
tire personnel of Osgoode Hall has changed, Mr. 
Jackson being the only man now found on duty 
at this seat of legal talent and learning who was 
there in 1864. He was born in County Wexford, 
Ireland, in 1831, son of Benjamin and Anne 
(Tuthill) Jackson. 

About 1831 Benjamin Jackson came to Can 
ada, locating in Brantford, and in 1836 his fam 
ily joined him. From Brantford Mr. Jackson 
removed to Sydenham, County of Peel, and then 
to Toronto, where he died in 1852, at the age of 
sixty years. His widow passed away two years 
later, in her sixty-second year, and they are both 
buried in St. James cemetery. Benjamin Jack 
son served as an officer during the Rebellion of 
1837-8. Of his children, but two, M. B. and 
Mrs. J. B. McKay, are living. 

M. B. Jackson was educated in Brantford and 
at The Toronto Academy, Toronto, and after 
leaving the latter read law with the late Hon. 
Stephen Richard. He was called to the Bar in 
1855, and at once went into a partnership with 
his former preceptor, which continued until 
March 23, 1864, when Mr. Jackson was appointed 
clerk of the Crown and Pleas by the Hon. John 
Sandfield Macdonald, a position he has ably filled 
to the present time, a period of nearly forty -three 
years. 

In 1868 Mr. Jackson and Miss Claire E. Cull 
were united in marriage. Mrs. Jackson was born 
in Toronto, a daughter of John A. Cull, an early 
settler of that city. To this union have been 
born : Misses Nora and Rosalie, of Toronto ; M. 
B., of Toronto, a member of the class of 1906, of 
McGill University, where he took the British As 
sociation medal; Philip T., B.Sc.. McGill Uni 
versity, class of 1904, in which institution he 
was demonstrator in 1904 and 1905; Misses 
Lucie and Gladys. Mr. and Mrs. -lackson are 
members of the Church of England. Mr. Jack 
son is a member of the Law Society of Toronto. 

The offices now occupied by Mr. Jackson are 
those in which he first took up the duties of his 
position. Since assuming those duties in 1864 
up to the winter of 1906-7, he was detained from 
his office by sickness for only a period of three 
weeks a very remarkable record. His whole 
life has been given unreservedly to his profession, 
and he is one of the most highly esteemed gen 



tlemen of the Queen City. Although past his 
three score years and ten, he is enjoying the best 
of health, and is sound in body and mind. 

STUART SCOTT, M.D., a leading physician of 
Newmarket, York County, who has held various 
positions of trust and responsibility in this lo 
cality, and who has been for twenty-two years 
coroner of York County, was born in Northum 
berland County, Ont., Feb. 26, 1860, son of Jo 
seph S. and Mary (Irish) Scott, natives of that 
county, the former born in July, 1829, and the 
latter April 1, 1832. 

Mary (Irish) Scott was the daughter of Peter 
and Elizabeth (Stanton) Irish, the former, who 
was born in 1801, coming to Canada when a boy. 
He was an orphan, and made the trip to this 
country alone when he was eleven years old. The 
Stantons were Scotch. Joseph Scott, the Doc 
tor s father, was the son of Reuben and Mary 
(Keeler) Scott, natives of Massachusetts, who 
came to Northumberland County at an early day. 
Reuben Scott was a millwright, and also engaged 
in sawmilling, and he and his wife died at 
Colborne, that county. They were Methodists in 
religious belief, and were the parents of these 
children : Reuben, James, Joseph, Mary, wife of 
one Abbott ; Jane, wife of a Mr. Jones, of Penn 
sylvania. 

Dr. Joseph S. Scott, father of our subject, 
studied medicine at the Queen s College, King 
ston, and settled at Gananoque, where he prac 
ticed his profession until his death, Feb. 4, 1876. 
He married in April, 1855, Mary Irish, who died 
in 1888. She was well educated, and for a num 
ber of years was a teacher in the public schools, 
as well as a music teacher and artist. They were 
Methodists in religion. In politics Dr. Joseph 
S. Scott was a staunch Reformer. Their only 
child was Dr. Stuart, our subject. 

Dr. Stuart Scott was educated in the public 
ami high schools of Gananoque, and the Model 
school, and afterward engaged in teaching for 
three years. At the end of that time he entered 
Trinity University, Toronto, from which he was 
i>radnated in 1885. He located at Lloydtown, 
York County, where he practised medicine four 
years. In 1889 the Doctor located in Newmarket, 
where he has followed the practice of his pro 
fession to the present time, being very success 
ful. The Doctor is a skilled physician, and has 
the confidence and esteem of the entire commun 
ity. 

Dr. Scott was married Feb. 24, 1886, to Miss 
Lizzie Dunn, born in Northumberland County, 
daughter of Jonathan and Lydia Dunn, a Quak 
er family of that county. Mrs. Scott was edu 
cated in the schools of Trenton, and later gradu 
ated from the Pickering College. Mrs. Scott s 



72 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



parents had these children: Lizzie, Mrs. Scott; 
Lelia, deceased ; Mattie, deceased ; Audra, wife of 
Perry S. Corl, of Riverside, Cal. ; Alexander, a 
farmer of Northumberland County; Lloyd, a 
druggist, of Montreal. 

Dr. and Mrs. Scott have one son, Douglas, born 
at Lloydtown, Jan. 22, 1888, who is now a stu 
dent in the high school of Newmarket. The 
Doctor and his wife are members of the Metho 
dist Church. In political principles Dr. Scott is 
a Reformer, and he has been a member of the 
school board for eighteen years, and has served 
as coroner of York County for the past twenty- 
two years. 

COL. RICHARD TYRWHITT, M.P., whose 
death June 22, 1900, brought to a close a long 
and honorable political career, covering over 
eighteen years, during that period of service to 
his country, made a record for loyal, disinterested 
and statesmanlike conduct of affairs, that re 
flected credit both upon himself and his constit 
uency. Of a family early identified with West 
ern Ontario, he was born in County Simcoe, Ont., 
Nov. 28, 1844, son of William and Elizabeth 
(Armstrong) Tyrwhitt. 

William Tyrwhitt came from Shropshire, Eng 
land, in 1836, and chose County Simcoe as his 
place of abode, and there he married. There 
were four children, namely: Richard, John and 
William Henry, all now deceased; and Margaret 
Elizabeth, Mrs. Thomas Graham, of London, 
England. 

Col. Richard Tyrwhitt was given a sound pre 
paratory training in the Barrie high school, and 
then was sent to France to complete his educa 
tion at Dinan. When he returned to Canada he 
made farming his nominal vocation, and settled 
on a fine place in County Simcoe, but his atten 
tion was by no means confined to agricultural 
pursuits. An adherent of the Conservative 
party, he soon began to manifest an active in 
terest in political matters, and became in time 
a man of marked influence in his section of the 
Province. In 1882 he was elected a representa 
tive in the Dominion Parliament, from South 
Simcoe, and served that constituency continu 
ously from that time iintil his death, eighteen 
years later, a record which showed indisputably 
the estimation in which his political talents and 
services were held by those whom he represented. 
The influence of Colonel Tyrwhitt was no less 
felt in the military circles than in the political, 
and he had seen actual service in both the Fen 
ian Raid and the Northwest rebellion. In 1887 
he was sent to England in command of the Wim- 
bleton team, and again in 1897, on the occa 
sion of the Jubilee, to celebrate the sixtieth an 
niversary of Queen Victoria s reign, he com 



manded a part of the Canadian military conting 
ent. He was colonel of the 36th Peel battalion. 
On April 26, 1870, Colonel Tyrwhitt was mar 
ried to Miss Emma Whitaker, a lady of English 
birth, and daughter of the late Ven. Archdeacon 
Whitaker. The latter came to Toronto in 1851, 
to assume the duties of Provost of Trinity Col 
lege, and remained in that capacity until 1881, 
a period of thirty years. He then returned to 
England, and there died the following year. 
His wife survived until 1898, and during that 
time remained in England. Of their family, two 
daughters live in Canada, Mrs. Tyrwhitt and 
Mrs. H. Leonix, of Barrie, whose husband suc 
ceeded Col. Tyrwhitt as the member of Parlia 
ment from South Simcoe ; two daughters live in 
England ; one in California ; and a son, Rev. 
George H. Whitaker, lives in England. The 
union of Colonel and Mrs. Tyrwhitt was blessed 
with the following children : Alice, Mrs. Arthur 
Nicol. who has two children, Kenneth and Ron 
ald; Elizabeth; Charlotte; Arundel; Dorothy; 
George Herbert ; Richard, deceased, who married 
Miss Mildred Graham, and was employed in the 
Marine and Fisheries department at Ottawa ; 
Henry Percy, also deceased ; and Raymond.. A 
loyal son of the Church of England, Col. Tyr 
whitt always took great interest in church work, 
and materially assisted in building and repair 
ing many churches in his riding. He laid the 
corner-stone of Christ Church, Tottenham, in 
November, 1886, and the corner-stone of St. 
George s Church, Allandale, Sept. 22, 1892. He 
was asked to lay the corner-stone of Trinity 
Church, Bradford, when it was rebuilt after the 
fire in 1900, but was unable to do so. A win 
dow in memory of him was placed in this church 
by the officers and members of his regiment, 
and a bell was also presented to it by the Con 
servative Association of South Simcoe in his 
memory. He was affiliated with two fraternal 
orders, the Orange Lodge and the Sons of Eng 
land, having an influential voice in the affairs 
of each. His death at his home in County Sim 
coe in 1900 deprived the county of an able ser 
vant and valuable citizen, whose loss was deeply 
felt in both private and public circles. 

ARCHIBALD YOUNG, who died in Toronto 
in October, 1889, was born in Lanark township, 
in the County of Perth, in 1832, eldest son of 
Archibald Young (2) and grandson of Archi 
bald Young. 

The Young family, which counts Crusaders 
and Covenanters among its ancestry, is of Scot 
tish extraction, and was founded in Canada in 
1820 by Archibald Young. He settled in Lan 
ark township, County Perth, later removing to 
County Lambton, where he died in 1871. His 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



son, Archibald Young (2), the father of the sub 
ject of this sketch, was born in Scotland, and 
was but a lad of fourteen when his parents came 
to Canada. His business life began in Lanark, 
and was continued from 1839 to 1872 in Sarnia, 
where for many years he was a general merchant 
and mill-owner; he was one of the early wardens 
of the county. Later he went to Manitoba, 
where he died in 1881. His wife was Helen liar- 
vie, also a native of Scotland, and their child 
ren besides Archibald were: Jane, wife of Wil 
liam B. Clark, eldest son of the seigneur of 
Berthier: Mary. \vitV of the Rev. William Blain, 
Presbyterian minister ; Helen, who first married 
H. F. Mackenzie, M.P., and subsequently Wil 
liam Roy; Agnes, wife of the late Charles Mac 
kenzie, M.P.P. ; Peter, postmaster of Lockport, 
Man. ; William, town clerk of Selkirk, Man. ; 
and David, medical superintendent of the Asy 
lum for the Insane, Selkirk, Manitoba. 

Archibald Young, eldest son of Archibald (2), 
was educated in Sarnia, and there engaged in 
mercantile pursuits, in which he continued for 
many years, the larger part of his business life 
being spent in that place. In 1877 he removed 
to Toronto, where his death occurred, after 
he had actively interested himself in matters 
pertaining to Manitoba, especially in the Great 
Northwest Central Railway. 

In 1857 Archibald Young married Miss Annie 
Wilson, second daughter of Joseph and Hannah 
( Harding) Wilson, both of whom were born in 
1802. Joseph Wilson was a native of Guys- 
borough, England, and in 1830 settled in Can 
ada, where he engaged extensively in cabinet- 
making, at the corner of Yonge and Temperance 
streets. Later he went to County Lambton, 
where he bought land and became factor to Mr. 
L. Talfourd, dying in 1865. He and his wife 
were originally members of St. James parish, 
but became Methodists. In politics he was a 
strong Conservative. To Mr. and Mrs. Joseph 
Wilson were born the following children : Rob 
ert, now of Saginaw, Michigan; Charles Hard 
ing, deceased; Mary Catherine, widow of Ebe- 
nezer P. Watson, of Sarnia; Annie, Mrs. Young: 
and Emily, widow of John R. Major, of Rock 
Island, Illinois. 

Mrs. Young was born in 1834, and is now liv 
ing at No. 524 Euclid avenue, Toronto. To her 
and her husband the following children were 
born: Mary Helen, Jane Harvie, Prof. Archi 
bald Hope, of Trinity College; Dr. Wilson 
Yates, of Toronto ; Henry Bruce, Annie Hester, 
Florence Emily, and Agnes Mackenzie. 

Mr. Young was a member of the Presbyterian 
Church, upon whose services he was a consist 
ent attendant. In political opinion he was a 
Reformer, furthering with his father, who re 



fused to stand himself, the candidature of the 
Hon. G-eorge Brown against the Hon. Malcolm 
Cameron, and, on Mr. Brown s withdrawal from 
Lambton, that of the Hon. A. Mackenzie. 

TREVOR R. OWEN, a gentleman living re 
tired at No. 8 Cawthra Square, Toronto, in his 
earlier life an officer in the British army, was 
born in 1847 in South Wales. Mr. Owen and all 
his family are members of the Church of Eng 
land. In politics he takes an independent stand. 

THOMAS PETER PEARCE, who departed 
this life July 14, 1894, at Santa Barbara, Cali 
fornia, wa.s born at Norwood, Ont., in 1843, son 
of Peter Pearce, who came from England to 
Canada, settling near Norwood. Thomas Peter 
Pearce was educated at Norwood. He began 
business on his own account at Marmora, where 
he engaged in the lumber and flour-milling busi 
ness, in which he was very successful. He con 
tinued in this line, conducting his interests per 
sonally, until obliged by failing health to seek 
rest, and in 1892 he moved from Belleville, 
where he had lived for several years, and settled 
in Toronto. Thence he went to California, be 
lieving that a change of climate would better his 
health, and it was while there that he passed 
away. 

Mr. Pearce was very prominent in politics, as 
a member of the Conservative party, was a mem 
ber of the county council of County Hastings, 
and warden of that county for many years. The 
Conservative party urged Mr. Pearce to accept 
Parliamentary honors, but his poor health caus 
ed him to decline the offer. He was interested 
in various business enterprises, at one time own 
ing the Cobourg, Peterboro & Harwood Rail 
road, and was a stockholder in the Mail Printing 
Company, of Toronto. He was a man of relia 
bility and influence, and enjoyed the esteem of 
all who knew him. 

In 1869 Mr. Pearce married Miss Margaret 
Campion, daughter of the late Col. William 
Campion, who came from England to Canada 
and located at Lily Creek, where he died. Col. 
William Campion was for many years an agri 
culturist, and owned a fine farm near Marmora, 
upon which he died. Mrs. Pearee was born at 
Lily Creek. She now resides at No. 14 Prince 
Arthur avenue, Toronto, in the home purchased 
by Mr. Pearce shortly before his death. To Mr. 
and Mrs. Pearce were born children as follows -. 
William, of Toronto ; Frank S., who with his 
brother, Henry R., is conducting the business 
founded by their father at Marmora ; Mary A., 
and Ada II. 

Mr. Pean-o was very prominent in Masonic 
circles. He was an adherent of the Methodist 



74 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



Church, Mrs. Pearce being a member of the 
Church of England. 

JOHN TAYLOR GILMOUR, M.D., warden 
of the Central Prison of Toronto, has been prom 
inently identified with the Province of Ontario 
in various ways. Dr. Gilmonr belongs to an old 
family of the County of Durham, the first of 
whom in Canada was Thomas Gilmour, a native 
of the Emerald Isle, from which country he came 
to the Dominion in the early part of the last 
century, locating on a bush farm in the County 
of Durham, where he followed lumbering and 
agriculture until his death, in 1850. 

Thomas Gilmour (2), father of Dr. Gilmour, 
was born in the County of Durham in 1825, and 
for some time after reaching his majority en 
gaged in farming and contracting, following the 
latter line in connection with the construction 
of the Grand Trunk railway, for which he fur 
nished ties, timber, etc. In 1862 Thomas Gil- 
inour went to British Cohmibia, and in 1863 to 
Alaska, being one of the first white men to pros 
pect for gold in that country. He remained 
there and in the Pacific States until 1894, when 
he returned to Ontario, settling at Toronto 
Junction, where he died in 1897. In 1852 
Thomas Gilmour married Jane Leet, of Clarice 
township. Mrs. Gilmour. who died in August, 
1905, was born in the County of Durham in 1831, 
and from 1894 until her decease was a resident 
of Toronto Junction. In religious faith she was 
a Methodist, as was her husband, who in poli 
tics adhered to the principles of the Reform 
party. Mr. and Mrs. Thomas Gilmour had four 
children, two daughters and two sons, the latter 
being John Taylor Gilmour, M.D., and T. H. 
Gilmour, K.C., of Winnipeg. 

John Taylor Gilmour was born in the County 
of Durham in 1855. His literary training was 
received in the high school at Port Hope, where 
he completed his course in 187o, after which he 
taught in the public schools of his native county 
for two years. He then turned his attention to 
the study of medicine, and in 1878 was gradu 
ated with the degree of M.D. from Trinity Medi 
cal College, Toronto. The Doctor at once began 
the practice of his profession, his first field being 
in the township of King, County York, where he 
remained one year. He then returned to his 
native county, where he continued to practise 
for five years, at the end of that period remov 
ing to Toronto Junction, which at that time 
(1884) was not a separate municipality. Dr. 
Gilmour was active in school matters and in 
public affairs generally from the time of his 
settlement at Toronto Junction, which place be 
came a village in 1887, and a town in 1888. 

In June, 1886, Dr. Gilmour was nominated by 



the Reform party to contest West York for the 
Ontario House, and notwithstanding the fact 
that the riding was Conservative in both Houses 
of Parliament, he received a handsome majority 
over his opponent. At the next general election, 
in 1890, Dr. Gilmour was re-elected to Parlia 
ment from West York, his opponent being D. W. 
Clendenan. In 1894 the Doctor was again ten 
dered Parliamentary honors, but declined. In 
1890 Dr. Gilmour seconded the address, the 
mover of which was the late Charles Mackenzie, 
of Sarnia, a brother of the late Alexander Mac 
kenzie, Premier of Canada. While in Parlia 
ment Dr. Gilmour had charge of the bills which 
incorporated the first electric railways in the 
County of York the Metropolitan, the City & 
Suburban and the Mimico railways. He also 
had charge of the bills for the incorporation of 
the towns of North Toronto and Toronto Junc 
tion. While thus serving West York the Doc 
tor did not forget his home, Toronto Junction, 
into the history of which his life is interwoven. 
lie was chairman of the first high school board 
of the place, which board was elected in 1891. 
Dr. Gilmour established, and for one year edited, 
the first newspaper the York Tribune at To 
ronto Junction, which paper is now one of the 
well-established sheets of York County. 

In 1885 Dr. Gilmour was appointed surgeon 
of the Canadian Pacific Railway Company, 
which position he filled until retiring from the 
practice of medicine, in 1894. In 1894, after 
declining Parliamentary honors, the Doctor was 
appointed registrar for the county, a position 
he filled until 1896, when he was requested by 
the government to take charge of the Central 
Prison of Ontario, situated at Toronto, to ac 
cept which incumbency he resigned the office of 
registrar. 

Since assuming the duties of warden of the 
Central Prison Dr. Gilmour has taken an active 
part in legislation for the betterment of the 
criminal class, and it was partly due to his ef 
forts that the "Ticket of Leave Act" for the 
Dominion of Canada was passed, becoming a 
law in 1899. Dr. Gilmour is a member of the 
National Prison Association, and at the Con 
gress held at Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, in 
1902, he was made secretary of the Wardens As 
sociation. At the Congress held in Louisville, 
Kentucky, the following year, he was elected 
President of that association. When it is under 
stood that this congress is composed of about four 
hundred members, of wham but ten or twelve 
are Canadians, his selection as the president 
was certainly a compliment to Canada, and a 
testimonial of the high appreciation of the abil 
ity of Warden Gilmour. 

Dr. Gilmour has been twice married, his first 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



75 



wife being Miss Emma Hawkins, of Canton, near 
Port Hope, who died in 1886, leaving two chil 
dren: Charles H., a physician at Toronto, now 
holding a prominent position with the Can 
adian Northern Railway Company, and Miss 
Emma H., of Toronto. In 1889 Dr. Gilmour 
was united in marriage with Margaret Edgar, 
daughter of the late John Edgar, of Toronto 
and Brantford. Dr. and Mrs. Gilmour are 
members of the Methodist Church. The Doctor 
is a past master of Mimico Lodge, No. 369, A.F. 
& A.M., of Lambton Mills, and is also a mem 
ber of the A.O.U.W. and of a number of the 
leading clubs. 

JAMES FREDERICK PATERSON, whose 
death occurred in Toronto in 1896, was a native 
of the Queen City, born in 1843, son of Peter 
.and Hannah (Wilson) Paterson. 

Mr. Paterson s education was received at the 
Upper Canada College, and after his graduation 
he turned his attention to the banking business. 
For some tune he was manager of the Imperial 
Bank, of Toronto, and. after leaving that insti 
tution, vent into the brokerage biisiness, in 
which he was engaged at the time of his death. 
In 1871 Mr. Paterson and Miss Florence Isabel 
McCarthy, daughter of D Alton McCarthy, were 
united in marriage. Mr. McCarthy, who was a 
well-known barrister of Barrie, Ont, was born 
in Ireland in 1804, son of Bucknall McCarthy. 
D Alton McCarthy settled in Barrie about 1848, 
-and for many years was one of the most prom 
inent barristers of that portion of the county. 
He prepared for law in Ireland, and had prac 
tised his profession in Dublin before coming to 
Canada. Mr. McCarthy married Zina Hope 
Manners, a native of Edinburgh, and they had 
children: (1) Bucknall, served in the Royal 
Navy. (2) D Alton, K.C.. for some time a mem 
ber of Parliament for North Simcoe, was one 
of the leading politicians of the day. He was at 
one time tendered the premiership of Canada 
by the Conservative party, but declined the 
honor. He married Emma Katharie Lally, by 
whom he had children, Ethel Reda and D Alton 
Lally. (3) His Honor, Thomas Anthony Mait- 
land McCarthy was Judge of the County of Duf- 
ferin. (4) Julia Ann Hope married John II. 
Hornsby. (5) Annie Katharine Hope is un 
married. (6) Clara Matilda Hope (deceased) 
was the wife of His Honor Judge Edward Mor 
gan, of the County of York. (7) Clara Mait- 
land Hope. (8) Dr. John. (9) H. B. (10) 
Florence Isabel became Mrs. Paterson. 

To Mr. and Mrs. J. Frederick Paterson the 
following children have been born: Percival Le 
Messieur, of Sarnia, is in the lumber business; 
Frederick D Alton Norman is in the Imperial 



Bank at Toronto, and has two daughters, Bev- 
erley and Norma; Florence Lillian is the wife 
of R. William Millichamp, of Toronto; and 
Emilie Francis married George E. Gooderham, 
of Toronto, and has one daughter, Florence El 
len. Mr. Paterson was a member of the Church 
of England, to the faith of which Mrs. Pater 
son also adheres. In politics he was a Con 
servative. 

REESOR. This family name, which is spelled 
in German Reiser, is a very old one. Families 
bearing the name are mentioned in German his 
tories of the early Reformation, as residing in 
Franconia and Switzerland, belonging to the 
merchant class and city burghers, and connected 
with the German Waldenses as early as the 
fourteenth century. One, Frederick Reiser, son 
of Conrad Reiser, born in 1401, was a Walden- 
sean Bishop and did much to keep together, by 
his teaching, the scattered communities of his 
brethren. He suffered martyrdom at Stras- 
burg in 1458. An anonymous writing, which 
had an influence on the Protestant Reforma 
tion, known as "The Reformation of the Em 
peror Sigismund, is claimed by some historians 
to have been written by him. 

The Canadian and United States branch of 
the family trace their descent to Peter Risser, 
or Reiser, who was born in 1713. was a min- 
Nter of the Mennonite Church and of Swiss 
descent. His parents left Switzerland on ac 
count of religious persecution, for Rhenish Ba 
varia, and from there five brothers of the fam 
ily emigrated to America. The first to came 
over were Ulrich and Jacob in 1729. John fol 
lowed in 1738, and the last two, Philip and the 
above named Peter, landed at Philadelphia in 
1739. All of them settled in Lancaster County, 
Pennsylvania, Peter s home being in the north 
ern part of the county near the village of Mil 
ton Grove, about twenty miles south east of Har- 
risburg. He carried on the business of farming 
and milling. His dwelling house was a two- 
si ory stone building, with pitched roof built in 
the Colonial style and having an arched cellar. 
The building is very picturesque and is now 
owned and occupied by Jacob 0. Risser, the 
great-grandson of the original owner. Peter and 
his wife Elizabeth had ten children, two of whom 
were born in Germany. Their names and dates 
of birth are as follows: Esther, 1737; John, 
1739; Catharine. 1741; Elizabeth, 1743; Bar 
bara, 1745; Christian (the Canadian ancestor), 
1747 (died 1806) ; Peter, 1750 (died in 1841) 
Abraham, 1753 (died 1823); Magdalene, 1758; 
and Jacob, 1764 (died 1835). 

Christian Risser married Frances Detwiler, of 
Lancaster eoTinty. Pennsylvania, and resided 



76 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



there until the year 1786, when he and his 
brother, Abraham, with their wives and children, 
moved to Franklin County, same State, and took 
up farms adjoining each other, and about five 
miles north of Charabersburg. Christian re 
mained there until the year 1804, when owing 
to unfair treatment of Xon-Associators, to which 
party he belonged, by the Revolutionary party, 
he decided to come to Canada, and in the same 
year he set out for Canada with his wife and 
six children, arriving in Canada in the fall, and 
settling in the eastern part of the township of 
Markham. He did not long enjoy his new home, 
for two years after, in 1806, he met with an ac 
cident, a tree falling upon him while he was (riv 
ing directions in felling timber, to which he suc 
cumbed. He left surviving his widow and six 
children, namely: Peter, John. Elizabeth, Bar 
bara, Abraham and Christian. In the second 
generation after the settlement of the family in 
Canada, the name of Risser became changed to 
its present form of Reesor, while in the States 
the family branch retain the old form of Risser. 

(1) Peter Reesor, eldest son of Christian, the 
Canadian ancestor, was born Dec. 25, 1775. He 
married Elizabeth Erb, and his home was at 
Cedar Grove. At the time his father died he be 
came entitled, as eldest son. to the whole of his 
father s lands, being the sole heir at law, under 
the Primogeniture Act, his father having died 
without a will. Instead of claiming the whole 
estate, he at once divided it equally between the 
brothers and sisters to carry out his parent s 
wish. He died at Cedar Grove, Nov. 16, 1854, 
in the seventy-ninth year of his age, and had 
ton children, namely: Christian, Frances, John, 
Elizabeth, Esther, Peter, Anna Maria, Abra 
ham, Samuel and Josephus, all of whom except 
the eldest son, Christian, married and had chil 
dren. Christian, when a young man, paid a visit 
to the Southern States, and while there died of 
yellow fever. His body was brought to Canada 
and buried in the family burying ground. All 
the other children are dead, except the young 
est. Josephus, who is living retired, now over 
ninety years of age. The third child, Rev. John 
Reesor, was a minister of the Mennonite Church 
at Cedar Grove, and his son, Christian, is the 
present minister there. 

(2) John Reesor, the second son of Christian, 
resided north of Cedar Grove and east of Mark- 
ham village. He married Anna Grove, and had 
issue, the following children, namely : Frances. 
Elizabeth, Christian G., Simeon, Barbara, John 
G., Anna. Jacob, Peter, Esther, Mary. Samuel, 
Magdalene, Benjamin G., Jesse G. and Abraham, 
all of whom except Benjamin G. and Jesse G. 
are now deceased. Benjamin G. resides at Mount 
Joy, a retired farmer; Jesse G. has his home at 



St. Joseph s Island, where he holds several pub 
lic offices and is one of the most prominent, and 
enterprising farmers on the island. All of the 
above children married and had children, and 
their descendants number several hundred. 

(3) Elizabeth Reesor, the third child of 
Christian, married Abraham Stouffer. It is from 
his name that the village of Stouff ville takes its 
name. They had issue six children, namely: 
Christian, Abraham, John. Jacob, Elizabeth and 
Frances. 

(4) Barbara Reesor, fourth child of Christian, 
married a Mr. Gamble, and had issue one son, 
who married Marie Antoinette Franklyn, of Mid- 
dleton, New York, and left issue. 

(5) Abraham, the fifth child of Christian, 
married his cousin Anna Detwiler. His home 
was south of Markham village, then called Eee- 
sorville. He died in 1831, leaving surviving 
him his widow and six children, namely: (1) 
Christopher, born May 18, 1816, married Miss 
Margaret Armstrong, a sister of the late Wil 
liam Armstrong, of Markham. He resided in 
Concession 10, of Markham, where he carried 
on farming. His death occurred Nov. 27, 1846. 
(2) John, born July 15, 1818, resided at the 
homestead on Lots 7 and 8, in Concession 8, of 
Markham. He married, in 1843, Eliza Whitney, 
daughter of the late Henry Whitney, of New 
Ross. County Wexford, Ireland, who with his 
brother, Paul Frederick, came to Canada in 
1831. John Reesor was deputy reeve of the 
township of Markham for the years 1852 and 
1855: president of the Markham & Scarborough 
Plank Road Company; church warden an 1 lay 
delegate of Grace Church for many years; and 
was one of the school trustees. He was en 
gaged in the business of milling and farming. 
He died in October, 1881. and his wife di"d in 
July. 1868. (3) Fanny, born Jan. 15. 1821, 
married Joseph James, late of the township of 
Vaughan. He was a well-known farmer of- That 
township and a member of the Willowdale Meth 
odist Church. He was one of the most upright 
and highly esteemed residents of the township. 
(4) Hon. David, born Jan. 10, 1823, was "du- 
cated at the private school of Sinclair Holdrn 
of the village of Markham, where his brothers 
and many of the early residents attended. This 
Sinclair Holden carried on a druggist s business 
after he gave up the school, and was also a local 
preacher in the Methodist Church. After finish 
ing at Sinclair Holden s school Hon. David 
Reesor was supplied with a private tutor. In 
1860 he was elected for and represented Kings 
Division in the Legislative council from I860 
until confederation, when he was called to the 
Senate in 1867. He was appointed justice of 
the peace in 1848, and Lieutenant Colonel in 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



77 



the Reserves. He was for many years a mem 
ber of the township council and was chosen 
warden of the county in 1860. In 1856 he 
started the Markham Economist and edited it 
for many years. He was president of the East 
Riding of York Agricultural Society, and helped 
to promote the St. Lawrence Bank and the To 
ronto & Xipissing Railway, now the Midland, 
and the Whitby & Georgian Bay Telegraph 
Company. He died April 26, 1902. at Rosedale, 
Toronto, leaving his widow, Emily Macdougall 
(who is a sister of the late Hon. William Mac 
dougall) and five children. His widow, Emily 
Reesor, still resides at the home in Rosedale. 
(5) Nancy, born April 4, 1827, is still living. 
She married Henry R. Corson, of Markham, 
editor of the Markham Economist. Mr. Corson 
acted as clerk of the township for many years, 
is a notary public and issuer of marriage licen 
ses. He belongs to a well-known family of 
Huguenot descent. (6) Peter, born Aug. 5, 
1829, as a young man attended a college at 
Washington, B.C. He acted as a law convey 
ancer, and for some years assisted his brother 
in the management of a c heese factory. He died 
in 1883, unmarried. Besides the above chil 
dren, Abraham Reesor had two step children, 
who married two well-known and prominent 
residents of the township, namely, Chauncey 
Crosby and Archibald Barker; the former was 
a justice of the peace and father of the late 
Hugh Powell Crosby, M.P.P. for the east riding 
of York for many years. The latter was also 
a justice of the peace and as the senior magis 
trate of the county usually presided at the 
Quarter Sessions in Toronto. He was post 
master of the village for many years and took 
a prominent part in the early days in the coun 
cils of the Home District and afterward in the 
county councils. He was a Conservative in poli 
tics and was a strong opponent of the Hon. 
David Reesor in all political contests. He was 
also one of the first trustees of the Markham 
grammar school, at which some of his children 
were educated. One of his sons. Peter M. Bar 
ker, is a graduate of the TTniversity of Toronto, 
and afterward entered the legal profession : he 
now resides at Edmonton. 

(6) Christian Reesor, the sixth and youngest 
child of Christian, resided at the old homestead. 
He was born in Franklin county, Pennsylvania, 
in 1793. He owned considerable landed prop 
erty in the township. He was twice married and 
had children by both marriages. He died in 
1877. 

The living descendants of the above named 
six children of Christian, the first Canadian an 
cestor, are now estimated to number not less than 
nine hundred. In 1904 a family reunion was 



held at Locust Hill, on their ancestors old home 
stead, to celebrate the one hundredth annivers 
ary of the settlement in Canada, at which about 
five hundred descendants attended. Some of the 
more prominent living descendants of the fam 
ily, bearing the surname of Reesor, residing in 
the County of York, are as follows: 

(1) Abraham Reesor carries on milling and 
fanning at Altona. He is a son of Noah Reesor, 
grandson of Rev. John, and great-grandson of 
Peter, eldest son of Christian, the first Canadian 
ancestor. 

(2) Andrew Reesor is a prosperous farmer 
and owner of Lot 3, 9th Concession, Markham. 
He is a son of Peter, grandson of Peter, eldest 
son of Christian, the original ancestor. He mar 
ried a Miss Raymer. His post office is Cedar 
drove. 

(3) Albert Reesor is owner, with his brother, 
of one of the largest creameries in the county. 
He attended Guelph Agricultural College, tak 
ing a special course. He is a son of Christian 
and grandson of Christian, the original ancestor. 
He married Miss Bertha Pike, daughter of John 
Pike. His post office address is Locust Hill. 

(4) Abraham H. Reesor, a retired farmer, .is 
now residing at Mount Joy. He is a brother of 
the above named Andrew Reesor. He was mar 
ried twice, his first wife being a sister of John 
Pike, and his second a daughter of the late T. P. 
White, of Whitevale. 

(5) Benjamin B. Reesor is a son of Rev. John 
Reesor, and brother of Rev. Christian Reesor, of 
the Mennonite Church. He married a daughter 
of John Hoover, and is now a retired -farmer. 
His post office is Cedar Grove. 

(6) Benjamin F. Reesor is a son of the late 
Samuel Reesor of Cedar Grove, and grandson 
of Peter, the eldest son of Christian, the an 
cestor. For some years he was engaged in the 
milling business at his father s home, and after 
ward at Newmarket. He served several years 
in the municipal council as reeve and deputy 
reeve. He is now an electrical engineer, has 
put in plants for the electric lighting of several 
towns, and was chosen president of the Society 
of Electrical Engineers. He is at present en 
gaged in installing an electric plant for Owen 
Sound, and has also the management of the 
power works at Fenelon Falls in connection 
with the lighting of Lindsay, where he now re 
sides. 

(7) Benjamin G. Reesor is a retired farmer 
living at Mount Joy, and is a son of John Ree 
sor and grandson of Christian, the original 
ancestor. He married a Miss Cook. 

(8) Benjamin H. Reesor is a son of the above 
named Benjamin B., and is the owner of Lot 3, 



78 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



llth Concession. He is married and carries on 
farming. His post office is Cedar Grove. 

(9) Christian *Reesor is a son of Rev. John 
Reesor, and is minister of the Mennonite Church 
at Cedar Grove. On account of his age he has 
turned the management of his farm over to his 
son, Thomas. 

(10) Colin D. Reesor carries on the business 
of milling at the homestead of his father, the 
late Samuel Reesor. who died in 1901. Samue! 
was a son of Peter Reesor, the eldest son of Chris 
tian, and was born in 1817. He was one of the 
most prosperous and wealthy farmers in the 
township, and was much respected by al] his 
neighbors for his kindly and neighborly acts. 
His charity extended beyond his own home. He 
gave liberally to the Hindoo missions of his 
Church, and at the time the Russian Mennon- 
ites settled in Manitoba he became surety for 
the payment of the advances made them by the 
government of Canada, Colin D., his eldest 
son, is married and his post office address is 
Cedar Grove. 

(11) David Reesor is a son of Christopher 
Reesor and grandson of Abraham and nephew 
of Hon. David Reesor. He resides in the 10th 
Concession on his father s old farm. He mar 
ried Jane Miller, daughter of the late George 
Miller, who was one of the first to import pedi 
greed stock into the Province. He engaged in 
large farm and stock operations in the early 
days of the settlement of Manitoba, and has 
traveled extensively in both America and 
Europe. He is prominent in stock raisin g and 
in all farming matters. 

(12) David A. Reesor is a son of Noah Ree 
sor, and- grandson of Rev. John Reesor. He 
is engaged in farming, and his post office is 
Cedar Grove. 

(13) Elias Reesor is a retired farmer residing 
at Stouffville. He is a son of Peter G. Reesor, 
and grandson of John Reesor. He married Miss 
Burkholder. 

(14) Plavius Reesor is a son of B. B. Reesor 
and grandson of Rev. John Reesor. He carries 
on farming near Cedar Grove and there receives 
his mail. 

(15) Frank A. Reesor carries on farming on 
Lot 10, Concession 9, Markham. He is a son 
of the late Abraham B. Reesor. and grandson 
of John G. He married Miss Armstrong, only 
daughter of William Armstrong. His post of 
fice is Locust Hill. 

(16) Frederick Augustus Reesor, son of John 
Reesor and grandson of Abraham, was born in 
1844, and was educated at the Markham gram 
mar school under E. T. Growl e, and at the Uni 
versity of Toronto, class of 1867. During his 
course he took honors in mathematics and ob 



tained a scholarship and a medal. He after 
ward entered a bank, and has been manager of 
the Markham branch of the Standard Bank for 
thirty-three years, having but lately retired. He 
has been warden and lay delegate of Grace 
Church for many years, secretary and treasurer 
of the village library and school trustee. 
He married Catharine Bain, daughter of Rev. 
James Bain, late of Scarborough, and sister of 
the late John Bain, K.C., of Toronto. He re 
cently moved to Ottawa which is his present 
post office address. 

(17) Frederick E. Reesor is a son of Chris 
tian Reesor and a brother of Albert Reesor. and 
with his brother owns the Locust Hill Creamery. 
He is married to a daughter of Anthony Foster, 
ex-warden of the county. His post office is Lo 
cust Hill. 

(18) Frederick K. Reesor is a son of Peter 
Reesor, late of Cedar Grove, and grandson of 
Peter, who was the eldest son of Christian. He 
received his education at the Markham gram 
mar school. He has always taken a great in 
terest and prominent part in municipal affairs, 
and has been reeve and deputy reeve of the 
township for many years, and was warden of 
the county. For some years he was engaged in 
farming and milling, and afterward took up the 
business of insurance becoming connected with 
the Standard Mutual Fire Insurance Company 
and acted as inspector. He married Miss Mc.- 
Creight. He now resides in Toronto, and his son 
carries on the milling business in Markham. 

(19) George Reesor carries on farming on 
Lot 14, Concession 7, Markham. He is a son 
of Josephus, deceased, and grandson of Peter 
Reesor. His post office is Markham. 

(20) George E. Reesor, of Toronto, is a son 
of Samuel Reesor. late of Cedar Grove, and 
brother of Colin D. and Benjamin F. He re 
sides in Toronto and is engaged in the business 
of butter and creamery manufacture. 

(21) George Walter Reesor is a son of John 
Reesor, and grandson of Abraham, and was 
born in 1849. He married a Miss Flewry. a 
niece of the late Ex-Warden Flewry, of New 
market, and has been engaged in milling and is 
now a general merchant in Markham village. He 
has for several years been chosen warden of the 
English Church. He is president of the Public 
Library, and has also held many other offices 
and takes part in all municipal affairs. 

(22) Herman C. Reesor is a son of Benjamin 
B. Reesor and grandson of Rev. John Reesor, 
late of Cedar Grove. He married a Miss Burk 
holder, and is a prosperous farmer. His post 
office address is Cedar Grove. 

(23) Henry Arthur Reesor is a son of John 
and grandson of Abraham Reesor, and- nephew 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



79 



of the late Senator Reesor. He was born in 
1847, and educated at the Markham grammar 
school and Toronto University. He received 
his degree of B.A. in 1870. He then studied 
for the legal profession and was called to the 
Bar in Hilary term, 1874. He became a partner 
of the late Judge Mackenzie, in whose office he 
had studied, and has ever since practised in the 
same firm and its successors on Toronto street, 
the names of the firm being Mackenzie. Dela- 
mere & Reesor, Delamere & Reesor, Delamere, 
Reesor, English & Ross, and at present is Dela 
mere, Reesor & Ross. The office is at Xo. 18 
Toronto street. Mr. Reesor holds a certificate 
of the Military- School, and he served four years 
in the Queen s Own and retired as lieutenant in 
the York Rangers in 1874. He married Miss 
Frances L. Fowler, daughter of D. Fowler, R. 
C.A., late of the "Cedars," Amherst Island. 

(24) Henry B. Reesor is a son of Christian, 
who was a son of John Reesor and grandson of 
Christian, the original ancestor. He was edu 
cated at the Markham grammar school. He 
then engaged in the business of insurance. The 
Standard Mutual Fire Insurance Company was 
formed by him, and for many years he was its 
manager. He was trustee of the Mavkham 
grammar school, superintendent of the Sunday- 
school in Markham village, and has identified 
himself with public affairs in general. His first 
wife was a Miss Dack, a sister of Walter Dack, 
M.P.P., of Kincardine, now deceased. He was 
married a second time, to a Miss Peck, of To 
ronto. His present residence is Toronto, where 
he carries on a real estate business, having sev 
ered his connection with the managership of the 
Standard Mutual Fire Insurance Company. 

(25) Isaac Reesor is a son of Noah Reesor 
and grandson of Rev. John Reesor, great-grand 
son of Peter Reesor, eldest son of Christian. He 
carries on farming near Cedar Grove, which is 
his post office, and he owns one of the finest 
and best cultivated farms in the county. 

(26) Jacob Reesor is a son of Peter and a 
grandson of Peter, the eldest son of Christian. 
He is a retired farmer, and his post office ad 
dress is Markham. 

(27) Jacob B. Reesor is a son of Noah Ree 
sor and grandson of Rev. John Reesor. He car 
ries on farming near Cedar Grove. 

(28) Josephus Reesor resides on Lot 5. Con 
cession 9, Markham, and is a retired farmer. 
He is the only surviving child of Peter Reesor, 
eldest son of Christian, and is now over ninety 
years of age. His post office is Box Grove. 

(29) Dr. J. Arthur E. Reesor is a son of 
Christian and grandson of the original ancestor. 
He and his two brothers Albert and Fred Ree 
sor, proprietors -of the Locust Hill Creamery, 



are the only living grandchildren of the orig 
inal ancestor except Josephus Reesor. He re 
sides in Toronto and is an osteopathic physician. 
He has attended meetings of members of the 
profession in the United States, and has also 
traveled extensively in Europe. He is unmar 
ried. 

(30) Lewis H. Reesor is a son of the late 
Samuel Reesor, and brother of Benjamin F., the 
electrical engineer. He is engaged in the same 
profession and at present has charge of the elec 
tric works at St. Mary s. He is married to a 
Miss Eby. 

(31) Martin J. Reesor is a farmer and resides 
on Lot 6, Concession 9, Markham. He is A son 
of Jacob Reesor. deceased, who was a son of 
John and grandson of Christian. His post office 
address is Cedar Grove. 

(32) Martin S. Reesor is a son of Noah Ree 
sor, and is a farmer of Cedar Grove. 

(33) Nicholas E. Reesor is the owner of a 
farm near Locust Hill. He is a brother of Henry 
B. Reesor and grandson of John. He married 
his cousin, Sarah Reesor, daughter of John G. 
Reesor. 

(34) Noah Reesor. a retired farmer at Cedar 
Grove, is a son of Rev. John Reesor. 

(35) Peter Reesor is a son of Peter Reesor, 
and is a farmer at Cedar Grove, near Hillside. 

(36) Peter B. Reesor is a son of Noah Reesor, 
and has a farm at Cedar Grove. 

(37) Peter H. Reesor is a son of Jacob, who is 
the son of Peter and grandson of Peter, eldest 
son of Christian. He carries on farming with 
his father and has been a member of the village 
council of Markham. 

(38) Robert Reesor is a son of Christopher 
and grandson of Abraham Reesor, and nephew 
of Senator Reesor. He was captain of the local 
company of the York battalion, and holds a 
military school certificate. He is well known as an 
importer of pedigreed stock, and was one of 
the first to bring to Canada ponies from the 
Shetland Isles, having made a trip there for that 
purpose. He has always taken an interest in 
agricultural societies and has been a director of 
the East York Agricultural Society, and has 
acted as judge at many large exhibitions. He 
carries on farming and is the owner of a large 
herd of fine Jerseys. He married Miss Barr, 
daughter of the late Rev. Mr. Barr. 

(39) Russell J. Reesor is a son of Frederick 
K. Reesor and runs the Glen Rouge Mills at 
Markham. He has also taken a course of studies 
in electrical engineering. His post office is 
Markham. He married a daughter of W. Delos 
Crosby, and niece of the late H. P. Crosby, 
M.P.P. 

(40) Simeon Reesor is a son of Rev. John 



80 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



Reesor, and has a farm near Cedar Gruve, which 
is his post office address. 

(41) Solomon Reesor is a brother of Frederick 
K. Reesor, ex-warden of York County, and owner 
of a farm which he works near Cedar Grove at 
his father s old homestead. 

(42) Tilman Reesor is a son of Simeon Ree 
sor, and grandson of Rev. John Reesor. He has 
a farm near Cedar Grove where he resides. 

(43) Thomas Reesor is a son of Rev. Chris 
tian Reesor, and grandson of Rev. John Reesor. 
He carries on farming at his father s home near 
Cedar Grove, residing with his parents. He is 
a school trustee, and is one of the best farmers 
in the neighborhood, making use of many mod 
ern improvements in machinery, and many of 
the farm houses in that neighborhood are con 
nected by telephone. 

(44) Wesley Reesor is a son of Josephus. of 
Box Grove, and carries on farming on Lot 14, 
in Concession 7, Markham. 

(45) William D. Reesor is the only son of the 
late Senator Reesor. He was educated at the 
Markham grammar school. For some years he 
was engaged in farming in Concession 9, of 
Markham, and had a fine herd of Jersey pedi 
greed cattle. He was president of the East York 
Agricultural Society in the year the Earl of 
Aberdeen, governor-general of Canada, visited 
and opened the exhibition. He is no\v engaged 
in the management of a large ranch in the North- 
West Territories. 

(46) William J. Reesor is a son of John 
Reesor and grandson of Abraham. He was edu 
cated at Hamilton College and Trinity Uni 
versity. He afterward engaged in insurance 
for many years at Winnipeg. He is married to 
Miss Emma B. B. Buchan. 

GEORGE MARKS, of Toronto, whose death 
took place in that city in 1899, was born in 
England in 1814. His father, James Marks, was 
a manufacturer of woolen cloth. The son grew 
up in his native country, receiving a good edu 
cation, and became a chemist by profession, an 
occupation which he followed there for many 
years successfully. His removal to Canada oc 
curred in 1887. and from that time until his 
death, twelve years later, he made his home in 
Toronto. 

Mr. Marks did not marry until rather late, in 
life, when in 1865 he was united, in England, to 
Miss EmiHe Pi-ice. A family of six children 
rare born to them, as follows: (1) George Her- 
vcy Price was born April 13, 1866. (2) Arthur 
Hervey Selwyn, born March 4, 1868, mar 
ried Miss Zella Mary Dunbar, of Toronto, and 
had two children, Aileene and George Ivan 
Douglas. (3) Ada Marion, born Oct. 31, 1869, 



died April 23, 1885. (4) Emilie Lillian, born 
June 3, 1872, married Alexander O Brien, of 
Toronto, and had two daughters, Isabel Campion 
Marks and Barbara Lillian. (5) Isabel Ruber- 
gall, born Oct. 19, 1875, died in 1896. (6) Ed 
win Walter, born March 1, 1871), married Miss 
Ida Tilt, of Brampton. and has two daughters, 
AJ adeline Rubergall and Josephine Marion. 

Airs. Emilie P. Marks belonged to a family 
settled in Canada since the earlier part of the 
nineteenth century. Her parents were Hon. 
James Hervey and Mary Elizabeth Ann (Ruber 
gall) Price. James H. Price was born in Cum 
berland, England, and received his earlier edu 
cation at Eton, whence he went to Doctors Com 
mons and prepared for admission to the Bar. 
His marriage took place in his native country, 
and later he moved to Canada and settled in 
Little York. He resumed the practice of law 
there and as the place grew became very suc 
cessful. He was in partnership with Mr. Thomas 
Ewart. Mr. Price ran for Parliament as a mem 
ber from York, and was elected, becoming a rep 
resentative at the same time Robert Baldwin 
was. A close alliance between Mr. Price and Mr. 
Baldwin sprang up, and the government was 
known as the Price-Baldwin government. Mr. 
Price was connected with the Canadian Parlia 
ment for thirty-two years, after which he re 
turned to England and while there died, in 1883. 
He was also commissioner of Crown Lands for 
many years. His wife died in England, in 1380. 
They were the parents of seven children, namely : 
Hervey William, late Judge of the County of 
Welland; Eliza, Mrs. Edward Cowles, of Farm- 
ington, Connecticut ; Edwin Rubergall, who died 
in Australia at the age of twenty-three; Emma, 
who married Joseph Jackes, both now deceased; 
Arthur Wood, who died in England; Emilie, 
Mrs. Marks; and Lavinia, residing in Deer Park. 

WALTER JAMES BREAKENRIDGE 
READ, Counsel for the Board of Statute Com 
missioners for the Ontario Government, and 
a son of the late D. B. Read, K.C., 
mentioned elsewhere, was born in To 
ronto in 1855. His education was ac 
quired in Upper Canada College, and on leav 
ing school he determined to follow in his father s 
footsteps and enter the legal profession. He 
read law with his father, and was called to the 
Bar in 1879. In that same year was formed the 
law firm of Read & Read, consisting of father 
and son. Later it became Read. Read & Knight, 
and so continued until 1896, when it was 
again changed to Read & Read, the style under 
which it was known until 1907, when Mr. 
Walter J. B. Read closed the office to assume the 
duties attendant upon his present position. 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



81 



For over twenty years Mr. Read was solicitor 
for the Upper Canada Law Society, which posi 
tion he resigned to become counsel for the Board 
of Statute Commissioners. He has been en 
gaged in many notable cases, and has a high 
reputation among his fellow practitioners. 
Among the most famous .cases may be mentioned 
the St. George Railway cases before the late 
Judge Rose, in which he was associated with the 
late Judge Lount and George Tate Blackstock, 
K.C., as counsel for the plaintiffs. Mr. Read 
was engaged also on the Morse extradition case 
a case which excited a good deal of local in 
terest in Toronto winning the case for the 
prisoner, Morse. 

Outside of his profession Mr. Read has found 
time to take an interest in public and business 
affairs. For many years he was actively asso 
ciated with, was one of the founders and filled 
the office of president of the Muskoka Lakes As 
sociation. Socially he has been quite prominent. 
He belongs to the National Club; he takes an 
active interest in whist, and was the first presi 
dent of the Canadian Whist League. In his 
religious affiliation and belief he is a strict 
churchman, belonging to the Anglican Church, 
and is particularly interested in church music. 
In his political ideas he is a Conservative, sup 
porting by voice and ballot the men and meas 
ures of that party. He stands in the front rank 
of his profession, and as a citizen is progressive 
and public-spirited, and as a man upright and 
sincere. 

REV. GEORGE NESBITT, M.A., now super 
annuated and living in Toronto, has been en- 
gaged in the ministry of the Anglican Church 
for thirty-five years. He was born in the town 
ship of Beckwith, County Lanark, Ont., Aug. 12, 
1831, son of John and Jane (Pierce) Nesbitt, 
and grandson of William Nesbitt, who came to 
Canada in 1819. He settled in Franktown, which 
was laid out as a government town, County Lan 
ark, where he died. He was of Scotch parent 
age, and was a member of the Established Church 
of Scotland. His children were: Hugh, Dr. 
George (who was sent to Scotland to be edu 
cated), John, and two daughters. 

John Nesbitt. father of Rev. George, was born 
in the North of Ireland, in 1789, and came to Can 
ada with the family. He, too, like his father was a 
Presbyterian, but in after years became a mem 
ber of the Anglican Church, in which he brought 
up his family. He died in 1880, his wife having 
pre-deceased him for some four years. Their 
children were: William, John, Rev. George, 
Thomas, James, Dr. Edward, R. C. S, K., and 
three daughters. 

Before preparing for the ministry our sub- 
6 



ject attended Perth Grammar School, and in 
1856 he (with his brother William, deceased, 
who also intended entering the ministry), ma 
triculated in Trinity University, taking a Foun 
dation Scholarship. In 1859 he took the de 
gree of B.A., with mathematical honors, and also 
a Scholarship of $120 which lasted during his 
Divinity course of two years. In 1861 he was 
ordained to the Diaconate, and the following 
year to the Priesthood. In 1863 he took the de 
gree of M.A. His first charge was that of Mary- 
boro and Peel, where he labored ten years, thence 
going to Port Perry, Rosemont and Sutton 
West, which is a noted place for pleasure seek- 



Mr. Nesbitt was first married to Joanna Mor 
ris, only child of Rev. E. Morris, rector of 
Franktown. Five children were born of this 
union: Ebenezer G., John W. G., James E., 
George Mowbray (who was drowned at Ren 
frew a clerk in the Merchants Bank), and 
Georgina. In 1877 the mother of these children 
died. Mr. Nesbitt s second marriage was with 
Elisabeth McNab. Of this union there were four 
children : George Heber, Hugh Waldemar (man 
ager of a branch of the Merchants Bank, Napin- 
ka, Man.), George Oswald (of the Bank of 
Montreal. Vancouver) and Mary Emma (de 
ceased). The mother of these children passed 
away in 1885. 

WALTER B. GEIKIE. M.D., C.M., D.C.L., 
F.R.C.S. Ed., L.R.C.P. Lond., secured the es 
tablishment of his medical college, Toronto, in 
1871, and was for the last twenty-five years of 
its existence its Dean. Dr. Geikie was born in 
Edinburgh, Scotland, and came to Canada with 
the family in 1843, when he was very young. 

The late Rev. Archibald Geikie, father of Dr. 
Ceikie, on coming to Canada, settled on the 
river St. Glair, in the township of Moore, abovit 
ten miles below Sarnia. Here he ministered to 
two congregations of his own gathering, one in 
Moore, and one in Sarnia. His wife died in 
1848, and in 1849, the family removed to To 
ronto where Mr. Geikie was for some years the 
respected minister of a congregation. In the 
family there were three sons, two besides the 
subject of this sketch. One, the late Rev. Archi 
bald C. Geikie, D.D., LL.D., was formerly min 
ister of St. Andrew s, Berlin, Ontario, and sub 
sequently colleague of the late well-known Rev. 
Dr. Bayne, of Gait, upon whose death he went 
:o Australia and there died in 1898. Dr. Geikie s 
other brother, who died in 1906. was the Rev. 
Cunningham Geikie, D.D.. LL.D., of Bourne 
mouth, England, and his name will long be re 
membered by his works. 

Dr. Walter B. Geikie, the founder, and so long 



82 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



the Dean of Trinity Medical College, is the 
youngest of the brothers, and he began the study 
01 medicine in Toronto with the late Hon. Dr. 
John Rolph, M.R.C.E. Eng., LL.D., just after 
the family came to the city. After finishing 
his college course in Toronto he passed the 
medical board of Upper Canada, at that time 
and for many years before, the sole licensing 
board of this Province. He afterward went to 
Jefferson Medical College, Philadelphia, where 
he was graduated. Many students from Can 
ada at that time did the same thing, for this par 
ticular college was then exceedingly attractive 
from the large number of eminent teachers on 
its faculty, such as the late Professors Robiey 
Dunglison, Charles D. Meigs, R. M. Mutter, and 
many others. On returning to Canada Dr. 
Geikie began practice in Bond Head, South Sim- 
coe, but soon after was induced to remove to 
Aurora, in the County of York, where, as in 
Bond Head, he did a large practice. 

In October, 1856, his old teacher, Dr. Rolph, 
then Dean of the Medical Department of Vic 
toria University (conducted in Toronto) asked 
him to join him as one of the professors in that 
Faculty, which he consented to do. During 1 the 
session 1856-7 Dr. Geikie did double duty, hav 
ing to lecture on Materia Medica and Therapeu 
tics, and also upon Obstetrics and Diseases of 
Women and Children. He continued in this 
medical college till Dr. Rolph resigned in 1870, 
when he resigned with him. During the years of 
his Victoria University professoriate, Dr. Geikie 
taught in addition to the subjects named above, 
Anatomy, Descriptive and Surgical, Principles 
and Practice of Surgery, and Practice of Medi 
cine and Clinical Medicine, the latter in Toronto 
General Hospital. 

In 1867 Dr. Geikie revisited Great Britain and 
passed the examination of the Royal College of 
Physicians of London, and the Royal College of 
Surgeons of Edinburgh. 

Early in 1871 the Medical Faculty of Trinity 
University was reorganized on a broad and lib 
eral basis suggested by Dr. Geikie, and was from 
the first, a great success. The Doctor had had 
the advantage of being long associated with Dr. 
Rolph in the conduct of a medical college, which 
proved the best possible training for the respon 
sibilities which were to devolve upon him, 
from 1871 onward, of having full charge of a 
large medical college and in addition to his 
own professorships of medicine and clinical 
medicine. In 1871 he was appointed registrar 
and treasurer of the newly formed Faculty. 
The first Dean, Dr. Hodder, having died in 1S78, 
Dr. Geikie was appointed to the Deanship and 
continued until June, 1903, in active discharge 
of its duties, as well as those of the Professor 



ship he had held for so many years. His life has 
been an exceedingly busy one, and although the 
tax upon his time and energy has been very 
great, the continued success of the medical col 
lege, until the extinction of its autonomy by 
"amalgamation/ was most gratifying to him 
and to its thousands of warm friends throughout 
the Dominion. Besides his college work, Dr. 
Geikie was for many years a member of the act 
ing staff of the Toronto General Hospital, and 
was also for a series of years on its consulting 
staff. , and likewise for some time on that of the 
Hospital for Sick Children. Dr. Geikie has 
ever had an enthusiastic love for his profession 
He was always very thoroughly devoted to his 
duties as a medical teacher, believing that in 
a country of such extent and such possibilities 
as the Dominion of Canada, no man can select 
a more useful calling or one which will be likely 
1<j do more good to the Canadian people than 
that of a faithful, earnest medical teacher, Who 
seeks as far as in him lies, to sow broadly and 
deeply amongst our young men, the beneficent 
and unspeakably valuable principles which are 
the most important part of the profession of 
medicine, and will continue to be so. more and 
more, the farther our knowledge is extended in 
the future. Such teachers, and such alone, are 
great blessings to the Province. In 1889 Trinity 
University, in acknowledgment of the long con 
tinued and great services he had up to that time 
rendered to medical education in this Province, 
conferred upon him the degree of D.C.L. He 
also represented Trinity Medical College on the 
Council of the College of Physicians and Sur 
geons of Ontario for twenty-five years 1877 to 
1902, inclusive. 

On June 4, 1903. Dr. Geikie resigned his posi 
tion as Dean of the Trinity Medical College, the 
occasion being the proposed "amalgamation" of 
the Faculty of that institution with the Toronto 
University Medical Faculty. This change, which 
meant extinction, and only this. Dr. Geikie, to 
gether with many other experienced medical 
touchers, and nearly all the graduates of Trin 
ity Medical College, entirely disapproved of, for 
H hi> following reasons: 

(I.) The mere suggestion of such a thing was 
exceedingly distasteful to every medical gradu 
ate of Trinity University wherever he may be 
found, and to students of Trinity Medical Coi- 
]p,re v:ith hardly an exception. 

(II.) When suggested some time befora it took 
place, alone did the college much injury in many 
ways for two consecutive years. The plan pro 
posed, proved not only a failure when first 
made, but a failure which was felt by many 
teachers and graduates to be insulting beyond 
description, to the Medical College. What was 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



83 



offered as "amalgamation" had it been accept 
ed, would have been then, a humiliating: an 
nihilation, so far as Trinity Medical College was 
concerned. It was promptly declined, and 
"amalgamation" was at that time definitely and 
finally decided against by the College, a decision 
which was printed on a fly leaf and scattered 
broadcast in the calendar for no less than two 
consecutive years, 1901-2 and 1902-3. 

(III.) From the moment it was announced 
in two successive calendars that all "amalga 
mation" negotiations were at an end, the Col 
lege did as \\f\\ as ever, and but for the re 
newal of amalgamation" negotiations even be 
fore the close of session 1902-3, the session 
1903-4 would have been, had amalgamation not 
taken place, one of the best of the very best in 
the history of the College. 

(IV.) "Amalgamation," no matter by whom 
proposed or what its character might be, neces 
sarily extinguishes the College entirely, so far as 
its name, and its long and successful past his 
tory go, and to this its true friends objected in 
the strongest way, and regard it as. in every way, 
most undesirable, and they continue to think ex 
actly as they did when it was first mooted. 

(V.) AVere the previous objections not suffi 
cient to exclude the idea of amalgamation of 
any kind, and were such a proposal made and 
agreed to, it is certain, that for practical teach 
ing purposes, the formation of one huge medical 
school, by merging two medical schools, each 
already large enough, into one, would all but 
surely prove to be a failure, as a practical, work 
able teaching body. In London, England, with 
her many Medical Colleges, the rule is, and aL- 
ways has been, to have several medical schools, 
with the desire that no one of them should be 
very large. Each secures as good a teaching 
faculty as possible for itself, and never so large 
as to be unworkable. In Edinburgh there are 
several large medical schools. The students 
there, owing to the large numbers in attendance, 
are obliged to employ "Grinders," who abound, 
and whose charges are a heavy burden to the 
student as they equal, or sometimes exceed, the 
fees paid for the regular medical classes. Huge 
faculties and huge classes, can not in the nature 
of things do justice either to individual lec 
turers, or to individual medical students. The 
interest of teachers in students, individually, is, 
under such circumstances, simply impossible. 
Hence the wisdom of the London plan of having 
many medical schools, each of moderate size. 
Two schools have existed for fifty years past in 
Toronto, and are now more necessary than ever 
before, for the number of students who come 
here every year to study is nearly seven hund 
red, and soon will be larger. The North- West. 



too, is filling up rapidly, and doctors will be re 
quired there in considerable numbers. Besides 
this, there is a constant demand outside of the 
Dominion for medical men educated in Canada. 

(VI.) Were Trinity Medical College extin 
guished by being amalgamated with any other 
medical faculty, another medical school would, 
without doubt, be shortly established, for the 
absence of all competition, by the creation of a 
huge medical teaching monopoly, was a serious 
blunder. As above stated, for more than fifty 
years there have always been at least two medi 
cal colleges in Toronto when, with a very much 
smaller population, two were much less needed 
than they are now, and before long we may ex 
pect to see another medical school formed (may 
it be composed of able, practical teachers), as 
Trinity Medical College, with its honored his 
tory as a distinct medical teaching body, has been 
blotted out by amalgamation. 

(VII.) Trinity Medical College, after thirty- 
two years of success, earned for herself a very 
high place amongst the medical schools, not of 
Canada alone, but of the world, and to have her 
extinguished by "amalgamation" has proved 
not only no advantage, but already to have been 
a great injury to practical medical education in 
Ontario, and thus an injury to our Province. 

(VIII.) Even were the position of Trinity 
University to be changed by "federation" with 
the University of Toronto, Trinity Medical Col 
lege would have had no difficulty in securing 
in Ontario all the University recognition she 
required for the graduation of her students, and 
the Province should not by "amalgamation" 
have been deprived of one of her most valuable 
educational assets. 

(IX.) No one favored "amalgamation" of 
Trinity Medical College except those under the 
influence of persons who, without being perhaps 
aware of it, were led by the views of Toronto 
University s special friends, who saw in Trin 
ity Medical College a well and long established 
and successful college, and a powerful rival of 
their own Medical Department. 

(X.) Another and a very strong reason 
against the amalgamation of Trinity Medical 
College with any other teaching Medical Fac 
ulty, is the fact, that every member of the Cor 
poration of that College had signed, as a condi 
tion of membership, an indenture, and had his 
seal affixed to it, and also the seal of the College. 
and was duly witnessed, which contains the fol 
lowing strong and solemn agreement, which 
was. practically, "a self-clcni/ing ordinance." 

"We hereby covenant, promise and agree 
with the party of the first part" [that is, the 
Corporation of Trinity Medical College] "to be 
at all times loyal to the said College, and to do 



84 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



everything in our power to uphold its honor, 
and to promote its welfare." 

No agreement, not even an oath, could be 
stronger or more binding- than this. 

Dr. Geikie s resignation called forth many 
expressions of regret and tributes to his char 
acter and work, from which three have been se 
lected for preservation here. The first is from 
the Toronto Saturday Night, of July 25, 1903, 
and reads as follows: 

"Hundreds of medical practitioners not only 
in Canada, but in far corners of the American 
continent, and even in more distant lands, will 
be delighted to have a memento of Dr. Geikie in 
the accompanying lifelike and characteristic por 
trait of the retiring Dean of Trinity Medical 
College. Dr. Geikie has been long associated with 
medical education in Ontario, and has left his 
impress indelibly upon the thousand or 
more doctors who have passed as it were, through 
his hands since he was instrumental in reorgan 
izing Trinity Medical School, which has now 
passed out of existence. His high sense of duty 
and his exalted precept and example as to the 
social and professional standards which a medi 
cal doctor should strive to maintain, have done 
much to elevate the ideals of his students; but 
chiefly, perhaps, he is held in loving and grate 
ful veneration for his unfailing kindness and 
spirit of helpfulness in his relations with his 
boys. In the heart of many a successful medi 
cal man there will be an unwavering response to 
every word of the following personal tribute to 
Dr. Geikie by one of the early graduates of Trin 
ity. Dr. Charles Sheard, the Medical Health Of 
ficer, of Toronto." 

The second: "A contemporary, in writing 
of university appointments, a while ago, said: 
Colleg-e professors seldom die and never re 
sign. So evenly has the tide of affairs in the 
universities of Toronto ebbed and flowed, that 
when even a venerable teacher sees fit to with 
draw from what has been an average life-time 
of earnest, splendid service to his college, and 
a never-dying example of sturdy manhood and 
keen, unswerving application of good sense and 
high mental attainments, all dedicated to his of 
fice, of Dean of Trinity Medical College, it causes 
more than a ripple of regret, while at the same 
time it leaves an opportunity for his mantle to 
fall upon the shoulders of another. Dr. Geikie 
was founder, and for twenty-five years Dean of 
Trinity College Medical Faculty. Earlier in 
life he was a professor in the old Rolph Medical 
School; so for over fifty years he has been a 
medical teacher in Toronto, and knows his work 
from its alpha to its omega. Father-like, he 
loves his child, Trinity Medical College, and 
now, with the current of the times, and the ten 



dency to amalgamation in all circles, business, 
educational, and even religious, the child of his 
heart and care through all these many years has 
reached out and formed an amalgamation with 
Toronto University, and so, with enlarged re 
sources and better equipments, and a strong 
teaching body, elected from both institutions, 
presses on keeping pace with this rapidly advanc 
ing age of high and ever higher achievements. 
We feel sure we are voicing the feelings of every 
Canadian medical practitioner when we say we 
are heartily sorry that splendid old Dean Gei 
kie feels, owing to this amalgamation, of which 
he does not approve for many reasons, that he 
must withdraw. He has our admiration and re 
spect; he will be missed, for in educational af 
fairs, as well as in business pursuits, we need 
the men of experience, who can look back as well 
as forward, and who can close one eye in retro 
spection, applying the old-fashioned test of ripe 
judgment to ascertain, when occasion requires, if 
the proposed action answers to the plumb-line." 

The third is an expression of appreciation by 
the Corporation of Trinity Medical College, and 
appeared in the Toronto Saturday Night, Aug. 
1, 1903: 

"The corporation of Trinity Medical College, 
upon receiving the resignation of Dr. "Walter B. 
Geikie, founder of the college and for many 
years its dean, unanimously passed the follow 
ing resolution, an engrossed copy of which has 
been forwarded to Dr. Geikie : 

" We, the Corporation of Trinity Medical 
College, in accepting the resignation of Dr. Wal 
ter B. Geikie, D.C.L, F.R.C.S.E., L.R.C.P., 
Lond., Dean of the Faculty and Professor of the 
Principles and Practice of Medicine, desire to 
place on record our sense of the debt of grati 
tude we owe to our late associate, for his two 
and thirty years of earnest and self-sacrificing 
labors on behalf of the college. At all times, in 
season and out of season, by night and by day, 
year after year, the cause of Trinity Medical 
College has ever been foremost in his thoughts 
as the one object around which his affections 
centered. With every energy and faculty he 
possessed, Dr. Geikie labored to promote what 
he considered the best interests of the college 
which was so dear to his heart, and owing in 
a large degree to these unwearied efforts Trinity 
Medical College has attained her present proud 
position. It is with feelings of regret that the 
corporation parts with him, who is the father in 
medicine of most of its members, who has pre 
sided over its meetings, and piloted its ship 
through many breakers, and we one and all de 
sire that Dr. Geikie may be spared for many 
years to enjoy the satisfaction of well-earned 
repose. 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



85 



" Signed by all the members of the Corpora 
tion. 

" Toronto, June, 1903. 

JOHN EDWIN USHER, deceased. To few 
mortals is given the inestimable gift of the art 
istic spirit united with the power to portray in 
tangible form its creations, but to those few the 
world owes a debt of gratitude beyond expres 
sion in words and not lightly to be forgotten. 
In Canada, no name among its artists of the 
present era is more widely known nor more 
highly regarded than that of the late John Ed 
win Usher, whose palate was laid aside forever 
Oct. 29, 18f)6, in Toronto. Death came, how 
ever, not so much as an interruption to a prom 
ising career, as an ending to a well rounded and 
completed life, for its summons was uttered soon 
after Mr. Usher had completed his magnificent 
painting, "The Morning of the Crucifixion," 
which had been the great goal of his artistic ef 
fort for a number of years. 

John Edwin Usher was born in Chatham, Eng 
land, in 1846, son of William C. and Ann (Swan) 
Usher, both of whom died in Toronto. The boy 
early showed his artistic talent, and was encour 
aged in it, producing his first oil painting at the 
age of eleven years. Unlike most of those who 
are similarly gifted, however, Mr. Usher was also 
extremely practical, and combined with the art 
istic temperament a Fondness for mechanics 
which led him to adopt that line of work as a 
means of livelihood. In 1865 he left England 
for the United States and spent seven years at 
Cleveland, Ohio, going from there to Toronto, 
in 1872, and making his permanent home in the 
latter city, where he was employed for a number 
of years as foreman in the shops of the Grand 
Trunk Railway Company. The last years of his 
life were given up almost wholly to his paint 
ing, and of that we will speak at length later. 
In 1874, two years after settling in Toronto, 
Mr. Usher was united in marriage with Miss 
Elizabeth Noblett, who was born in Ireland in 
1853. daughter of Richard and Mary Ann (Grif 
fin) Noblett, both of whom died in Ireland. Mrs. 
Usher had three brothers, Frank, S. George and 
Thomas Griffin. Mr. and Mrs. Usher became the 
parents of the following children : Mary E., de 
ceased wife of T. J. Robertson, who left one 
son, George S. ; Maude, wife of Frederick G. L. 
Darlington, and mother of one son, Earle F. ; 
Herbert S.. of Toronto, who married Miss Millia 
Malone, and has one son. Herbert George ; Amy, 
who married Frederick Mansell, and has one 
daughter, Leter May Amy; Violet, Mrs. 11. 
McGown ; Francis John, of Toronto ; and Ed 
win, who married Miss Ethel Blackstone. The 
late John Edwin Usher, during the latter part 



of his life, resided at No. 131 Spadina avenue. 
In political matters he voted with the Reform 
party, while religiously he was connected with 
the Queen Street Methodist Church, in which he 
was an active worker and a prominent and val 
ued member. 

As an artist Mr. Usher will long be held in 
honor in Toronto, for it was in that line that he 
was specially proficient, and in which he did 
his really vital, individual work. One of his 
most successful pictures was a portrait in oil 
of John Brighton,M.P., which is a fine example 
of portraiture. Mr. Usher s work in setting 
forth Biblical subjects was, perhaps, that which 
bore most truly the stamp of the man himself, 
for his religious nature found beautiful expres 
sion in pictures of that character. His master 
piece, which had absorbed most of his attention 
during the last years of his life, has already been 
alluded to, but is too important to be briefly dis 
missed. It is still in the possession of Mrs. 
Usher, and is always on exhibition to the public 
at her home. The description given below is the 
one authorized by Mrs. Usher and conveys a 
better idea of the picture than anything else save 
the actual canvas, which must be seen again and 
again to be fully appreciated in its entirety: 

"For years past the late artist gave his whole 
attention to this subject. The size of the pic 
ture commands your attention, the canvas being 
10 feet high by 18 feet long. There are 150 
figures represented upon it, those in the fore 
ground being life-size. The picture is the larg 
est in America and valued at $75,000. 

"In the distance to the left Mount Scopus is 
seen, and to the right Mount of Olives. Around 
the brow of Calvary are the scoffing and revil 
ing enemies of Christ. 

"The main representation of the picture being 
Christ, and here we have an entirely original 
idea, for the magnificent head and noble face 
command your immediate attention, but to more 
fully appreciate this noble form you will need to 
study the different expressions of the face, the 
look of agony, the tender and loving expression 
of the upturned eyes, and the half parted lips 
convey the idea that he is supplicating with the 
Creator for the forgiveness of His cruel perse 
cutors. Although perfectly obvious to the sur 
roundings, and with perfect resignation to his 
fate, the whole figure is suggestive of great ma 
jesty. 

The brutal figure, holding Him to the Cross, 
and looking with a triumphant and diabolical 
expression into our Savior s face while the other 
executioner is busily engaged in driving tho last 
nail into the foot, shows us that the artist was 
an adept in his work. 

"Near the foot of the cross attention is drawn 



86 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



to the three Rabbis, the one in the crimson robe 
is Amos, one of the learned Rabbis; the one in 
the white robe is Joseph of Arimathea, watching 
the scene with a strange interest. 

"Passing to the right of the cross the next 
striking figure is that of the fainting Mary Mag 
dalene. Yon will here observe the complete re 
laxation of all the muscles, the dark circles 
around the -mouth and eyes and deathly pallor 
of the face. 

"The beloved disciple, John, with the golden 
hair, is seen whispering words of consolation to 
the grief-stricken mother. Close to her is Mar 
tha, with dark hair, and a little to the right, 
with clasped hands, is Mary of Bethany, while 
close by is Mary, the wife of Cleopas, and in 
close proximity is Simon of Gyrene, upon whom 
the bearing of the cross was lain. 

The figure at the back of John is the cautious 
Nicodemus with a few more followers of Christ. 
Close by are to be seen the Roman soldiers bus 
ily engaged in erecting one of the thieves upon 
the cross. We would call your attention to the 
figure upon the ladder as having completed his 
work and throwing down the rope. 

"The figure upon the white horse is the cen 
turion in charge of the executions, and in the 
act of issuing orders." 

Mrs. Usher is now making her home with her 
daughter at No. 51 Palmerston avenue. 

ANGUS CLAUDE MACDONELL. D.C.L., 
M.P., member for South Toronto, and a leading 
barrister of the city, is a member of one of the 
earliest and most prominent families of this sec 
tion of Ontario. 

The Macdonell family is of Scotch extraction, 
and was founded in Canada by Capt. Allan Mac- 
donell, the great-grandfather of Angus Claude 
Macdonell, who was born in Glengarry, in the 
Highlands of Scotland, and came to the Ameri 
can Colonies prior to the outbreak of the Ameri 
can Revolution. In 1775, at the opening of that 
struggle, Capt. Allan Macdonell came to Canada 
as a U. E. Loyalist, settling in Glengarry Coun 
ty, Ont. Very soon thereafter he joined His Ma 
jesty s forces in Canada and returned to the 
United States to fight for the Crown. In 1783. 
at the close of the war. Captain Macdonell re 
turned to Glengarry County, subsequently re 
moving to Quebec, where he died. His wife, 
Helen McLean, was also of Scotch extraction. 
Of his children his sons, the late Alexander 
Macdonell, grandfather of the member for South 
Toronto, and the late Angus MacdonelJ, were 
prominent in Canada. Angus Macdonell was a 
well-known barrister in Toronto many years ago. 
He was treasurer of the Law Society for many 
years, and in 1804 was drowned, with other 



members of the Bench and Bar of Ontario, when 
the schooner "Speedy" went down in Lake On 
tario while making a trip from Toronto to 
Kingston. Angus Macdonell was Crown coun 
sel and represented East York in the Old Par 
liament of Upper Canada. He was unmarried. 

The late Hon. Alexander Macdonell was born 
in Scotland in 1762. When thirteen years of 
age he held a commission under the British 
Government in the war of the American Revo 
lution, and with his father served throughout 
that struggle, at the end of which he returned 
to Glengarry County, Ont. He represented that 
county in 1792 in the First Parliament of Up 
per Canada, and was its first Speaker. At that 
time Parliament met at Niagara-on-the-Lake, 
then called Newark. In the war of 1812 Hon. 
Alexander Macdonell was paymaster-general of 
both the Volunteer and Imperial forces in Can 
ada, and held the rank of lieutenant-colonel in 
connection with that war. In 1818 he settled in 
Toronto, where he died in 1844, and his wife in 
1858. Her maiden name was Ann Smith, and 
her father. Colonel Smith, was at one time ad 
ministrator of the Province. The adopted son 
of this couple, Col. John Macdonell, A.D.C., fell 
with Brock at Queenston Heights, and is buried 
with him under Brock s monument. The chil 
dren of Hon. Alexander and Ann (Smith) Mac 
donell were : Allan, who \vas a prominent man in 
the thirties and forties in the settlement of the 
North- West, being agent for Lord Selkirk; 
James, deceased; . Angus Duncan, deceased; 
Alexander, deceased, for mauy years clerk at 
Osgoode Hall: and Samuel S.. K.C., of Toronto, 
formerly of Windsor, Ontario. 

Of this family Angus Duncan Maedonell was 
the father of Angus Claude. He was born in 
Kingston in 1815, was for many years a well- 
kiiown resident of Toronto, where he engaged 
in the brokerage business, and for years in the 
Internal Revenue Department at that place. He 
married Miss Pauline Rosalie DeLaHaye, whose 
father. John P. DeLaHaye. was appointed in 
1829 by the British Government as French Clas 
sical Master at Upper Canada College, on the 
establishment of that College. Angus Duncan 
Macdonell died in Toronto in 1895, while Mrs. 
Macdonell survives him and resides in the city. 
To this union were born the following family: 
Helen; Henriette. wife of W. M. German, K.C., 
M.P., of Welland ; John D.. of Toronto ; Angus 
Claude; Marie; Margaret, wife of L. M. Hayes, 
barrister at Pcterboro : and Major Archibald, 
D.S.O., D.A.A.G., of Halifax. Nova Scotia. 

Angus Claude Macdonell was born in To 
ronto in 1861, and received his literary train 
ing under private instruction and in the model 
school. In 1881 he entered upon the study of 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



87 



law, and in 1886 was called to the Bar of On 
tario, receiving in the same year from Trinity 
University the degree of B.C.L., and in 1902 the 
degree of D.C.L. Since 1886 Mr. Macdonell has 
been actively engaged in the practice of his pro 
fession in his native city. He has always taken 
an active interest in politics, being officially con 
nected with organizations for the advancement 
of Conservative principles, and is an able politi 
cal speaker. In 1904 the Conservative party in 
South Toronto nominated Mr. Macdonell to rep 
resent them in the Commons at Ottawa. "When 
the votes were counted, on the eve of Nov. 4, 
1904, Mr. Macdonell was found to have received 
a handsome majority over his Liberal opponent, 
Mr. H. H. Dewart, and since that time he has 
served as a member of Parliament to the entire 
satisfaction of his constituents. 

JAMES WORTHINGTON, who died in To 
ronto Nov. 24, 1898, was one of the well-known 
men of Ontario, having been for many years en 
gaged in contracting in this and other portions 
of Canada. Mr. Worthington was born in Staf 
fordshire, England, in 1822, and at the age of 
five years was left an orphan. He remained in 
England until his eighteenth year, when he came 
to Canada, locating for a time at Kingston, and 
later at St. Mary s, where he owned a small 
farm, the cultivation of which was his first busi 
ness venture. From St. Mary s he came to To 
ronto and embarked in the contracting business 
with his brother, John Worthington, and they 
built the old University building at Toronto, the 
John Macdonald block, and many other struc 
tures. They also erected the fortifications at 
Quebec. This partnership was later dissolved, 
and James Worthington continued in business 
alone. He had a contract on the Intercolonial 
Railway, and in company with A. P. McDonald 
built the Wellington Basin, at Montreal. Mr. 
Worthington also built the Canadian Pacific road 
from Pembroke to Sudbury. In 1886 he resumed 
his residence in Toronto and went into the bolt 
works, in which he continued until the end of 
his business life. 

Mr. Worthington, was twice married, his first 
wife being Hannah Shunn, by whom he had one 
child, J. C., now deceased, who left four chil 
dren, Harry, Charles, Ida and Pearl. In 1859 
Mr. Worthington married Caroline Hitchcock, 
daughter of John Hithccock, who died in Eng 
land. Mrs. Caroline Worthington passed away 
in 1905. Mr. Worthington was a member of the 
Church of England. In politics he was a Con 
servative, while fraternally he was connected 
with the Masons and the I.O.O.F. 

JOHN TAYLOR MORSE, who died in To 
ronto, Aug. 17. 1868, was born at Black Rock, 



near Buffalo, New York, in 1832, son of William 
Morse. When four years old he came with his 
parents to Toronto, where he was educated. Mr. 
Morse began his business life as a flour and feed 
merchant on Francis street, Toronto, and later 
went into the milling business at Tollendale, 
Barrie, Ont, also dealing in grain. In 1864, in 
company with two brothers, William Mills and 
George Dennis, vmder the firm name of Morse 
Bros., he engaged in feeding and shipping cattle 
to foreign markets, and in this he continued 
until his death. 

In 1859 Mr. Morse and Miss Elizabeth Ann 
Helliwell, daughter of William and Elizabeth 
(, Bright) Helliwell, were united in marriage. 
To this union were born five children: Freder 
ick William, Frank Morton, Nellie Maude, Har- 
ly Victor and John Taylor. Mr. Morse was a 
member of the Church of England, to which his 
widow and family also belong. In his politi 
cal sympathies he was a Reformer. 

Frederick William Morse, born in Toronto in 

1860, was married in 1902 to Margaret Eliza 
beth McBride. He was in the wholesale hard 
ware business in Winnipeg until his death, Nov. 
29, 1905 ; he left no issue. 

Frank Morton Morse, born in Tollendale in 

1861, is now one of the largest shareholders in 
the Miller-Morse Hardware Company, Limited, 
Winnipeg, Man. He was married Aug. 22, 1888, 
to Ella Ruth Cummings, of Birtle, Man., and 
they have four children, Stanley Cummings, 
Gerald Frederick, Eric David and Garth. 

Nellie Maude Morse, born in Maitland, Ont., 
in 1865, was married July 28, 1885, to Harton 
Walker, son of John Gardiner Walker and 
grandson of Robert Walker, and they have five 
children, John Harold, Madeleine, Dorothy, 
Evelyn Noel and Alan Morse. 

Harry Victor Morse, born in Toronto in 1866, 
is now in the hardware and lumber business in 
Swan River, Man. In June, 1893, he was mar 
ried to Elise Douglas, and they have one son, 
John Douglas. 

John Taylor Morse, born in Toronto in 1868, 
was drowned in Toronto Bay June 12, 1884. 

JESSE FRANCIS BY AM, who lived retired 
at his home No. 87 Homewood avenue, Toronto, 
until his death Dec. 8. 1906, was for many years 
a teacher and a business man in Ontario, and 
after 1883 an esteemed resident of Toronto. He 
was born at Lyon s Creek, near Niagara Falls, 
Out., Aug. 14, 1826. 

The Byam family originated in Wales, and 
was founded in the United States by the grand 
father of our subject, who died in the State of 
Vermont. His daughter married and settled in 
New York State. One of his three sons, Jesse, 



88 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



also settled in Vermont, and one died there ; and 
the third, John Wesley, became the father of 
Jesse Francis. 

John Wesley Byam was born and educated in 
Vermont, and there entered the ministry of the 
Methodist Episcopal Church. In 1810 he came 
to Canada as a missionary, and settled in the 
County of Welland. Later, he was one of the 
"original seven" who held true and loyal to the 
Methodist Episcopal Church at the time of the 
division, in 1828. His whole life was spent in 
religious work, and his peaceful death took place 
in Manchester, Reach township. Those were the 
days when the preacher, with saddle-bags on 
horseback, took a Whole month to get once around 
his circuit, and he did this for years. Pie mar 
ried Miss Joanna Buchner, daughter of Lieut.- 
Col. Henry Buchner, an U. E. Loyalist, and an 
officer in the British army during the war of the 
Revolution and in the war of 1812, his death 
following the latter struggle in the County of 
Welland. The children born to the Rev. John 
W. Byam and his wife were : Sarah Ann, Joanna, 
George, Eliza J., Jesse F., Henry, Charles Fred 
erick, Mary Ann and William, of whom Sarah 
Ann (in her eighty-ninth year), Joanna (in her 
eighty-seventh year) and Henry (in his seventy- 
ninth year) are the only survivors. 

Jesse Francis Byam was educated in the 
schools of his native place and in the Toronto 
Normal. He then taught school for eight years, 
after that entering into the mercantile business 
at Canifton, in which he continued for four 
years. Mr. Byam then made a visit to Australia, 
where he spent four years in mercantile and 
mining pursuits, and after his return settled in 
Minnesota, where he served in public office as 
coroner and as magistrate. From 1861 to 1865 
he was a soldier in the Civil war in the States 
as a member of the 2nd Independent Bat 
tery, Minnesota Volunteer Light Artillery. In 
one engagement Mr. Byam had charge of the 
battery, and at his own request went in first on 
the "double run." While Mr. Byam was in the 
army it was an anxious time for his wife, as, in 
addition to her fears for her husband, the Indi 
ans got on the warpath and were massacring the 
whites wherever they dared to make a raid. In 
reality they were nine miles from the Byam 
home, but the wildest rumors were rife, and the 
greatest alarm and confusion prevailed, as 
many believed them to be in the woods near Buf 
falo (Minnesota). Families hastily collecting a 
few household goods met in Buffalo, and there 
erected what protection they could against the 
expected attack. After their fears were some 
what quieted by the non-appearance of the In 
dians and yet not knowing what they might ex 
pect the settlers, who were mostly old men and 



young boys unfit for war, and the women, gath 
ered together what they thought most needful, 
and drove or walked nine miles to the nearest 
town. Monticello. Although unwilling to leave 
her home, Mrs. Byam, with a baby a few weeks 
old and three older children, was obliged, aa 
she could not get any one brave enough to stay 
with her, to go, too. After staying there a 
month, she and her family went to her sister 
Louisa s (Mrs. John Frank), whose husband 
was also in the army, with whom she stayed a 
month, and then rented a house in Rochester, 
Minnesota, where she remained until Mr. Byam 
returned from the war, he being discharged on 
account of illness. When they returned to their 
farm they found all their stock cattle and forty 
hogs destroyed or lost. Two years later they 
returned to Canada, and Mr. Byam became a 
merchant and miller in the township of Caledon, 
County Peel, remaining there about twenty-five 
years, and being one of the most prominent men 
in the locality. In 1883 he retired from active 
business life and settled in Toronto. 

On Aug. 2, 1849, Mr. Byam was married to 
Miss Adeline McCurdy, who was born in Belle 
ville, Ont, Aug. 16, 1827, daughter of Jonathan 
and Mary (Frank) McCurdy. The children 
born to Mr. and Mrs. Byam were as follows: 
Adelaide, deceased, married Robert Johnson; 
Charles, deceased, married Mary Edith Ramsay, 
and left five children, Mildred, Otto, Francis, 
Percy and Charles M. ; Carrie L. is the widow of 
Dr. George Mark, of Mt. Pleasant, Ont; Fre 
mont R., of Toronto, married Annie Ramsay, 
and has two sons, Jesse Fremont Howard and 
Manly Frederick Malcom; and Manly George 
Washington, of New York, married Carrie 
Lemon, and has one daughter, Dorcas May. Mrs. 
Byam is a leading member of the Methodist 
Church, to which her husband also belonged. In 
politics Mr. Byam was a Reformer. Fraternally 
he was a member of the Masons, the Orangemen 
and the Royal Black Knights. 

Mr. and Mrs. Byam celebrated their Golden 
Wedding in 1899, at their home, No. 87 Home- 
wood avenue, gathering around them their chil 
dren and grandchildren, and many other rela 
tives as well. On Nov. 23, 1906, Mr. Byam at 
tended the silver wedding anniversary of his son, 
Fremont Russell Byam, and there gave an after 
dinner speech, describing his trip of that sum 
mer through the Western States to Nebraska, 
via Lakes Huron and Superior, returning by 
way of Montreal up the St. Lawrence river 
through the Thousand Islands to Toronto. 

Mr. Byam died suddenly at his late home, Dec. 
8, 1906. He had been unusually well and cheer 
ful when he retired the night before, but quietly 
passed away, from heart trouble, before morn- 




J. B. BOUSTEAD. 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



89 



ing. His sons and grandsons acted as pall 
bearers at his funeral, and the services -were 
conducted by Dr. Cleaver and the Rev. George 
Jackson, B.A. Interment was made in Mount 
Pleasant cemetery under the direction of the 
Orangemen. 

Samuel McCurdy, paternal grandfather of 
Mrs. Byam, was of Scotch descent, and was born 
in Freeman, County of Antrim. Ireland. Being 
a gentleman s son, he was educated for the law, 
after which he emigrated to the United States, 
settling in New Hampshire, where he owned an 
extensive cattle ranch (which was looked after 
by a manager). In his younger days he was one 
of the renowned Green Mountain Boys. His 
mother s brother, Stuart Barrey, was Governor 
of Pennsylvania. Samuel McCurdy was the 
father of seven children : Jonathan ; James, who 
remained on the New England homestead ; Joan 
na (Mrs. Joshua Smith) and Sarah (Mrs. George 
Ferman, who also came to Canada; and Mrs. 
Henman, Mrs. Bailey and Mrs. Brown, who re 
mained in the United States. 

Jonathan McCurdy. son of Samuel and father 
of Mrs. Byam, was born May 24, 1801, in Sur 
rey, New Hampshire, and became a prominent 
general merchant at Belleville, settling there 
when not more than twenty-five houses made up 
the village. In 1841, he and three others were 
elected as a board of police to manage the af 
fairs of the village until 1850, when it was in 
corporated as a town. In 1851 Mr. McCurdy 
was appointed deputy reeve and he continued a 
member of the council and as magistrate up to 
his death in 1856. On Dec. 23. 1822, he married 
Mary Frank, born at WilKamflburg. Oct. 14, 
1800, daughter of William Frank, and they had 
children: Gordon, Charles, George, Russell, 
James, Mrs. Byam, Margaret. Maretta, William. 
Louisa and Helen. 

William Frank, father of Mary (Frank) Mc 
Curdy, was born on the ocean during the voyage 
of his parents, natives of Wurtemberg, Germany, 
to the United States. Refusing to take up arms 
against England in the Rebellion of the Thir 
teen Colonies in 1776, he became what was after 
ward known as an U. E. Loyalist, and received 
grants of land in Canada from the British 
Crown. He married Margaret Miller, who was 
born of English descent in Albany, New York, 
a daughter of wealthy parents who owned con 
siderable property in and around Albany. They, 
too, were loyal to the King, and were forced to 
leave their home. They buried their gold under 
the barn, built rafts and floated down the Hud 
son river to a place of safety. During this primi 
tive voyage, they suffered many hardships and 
were threatened by hostile Indians, but finally 
without loss of life reached a British post. When 



peace was declared they returned to find their 
home and barns destroyed and everything lost. 
They then moved to Williamsburg to begin life 
afresh. Later he sold this farm, and moved to 
Caledon township, County Peel, where he built 
a grist mill, a sawmill and a brewery. His house, 
which is still standing and in the family, was 
then one of the finest and largest for miles 
around. 

JAMES B. BOUSTEAD was born in Carlisle, 
England, in 1832, only son of Thomas and Ed- 
wena (Bell) Boustead. His father came to Can 
ada in 1832, and settled at Newtonbrook, town 
ship of Tork. He died the following year. 

At the age of twenty-one Mr. Boustead began 
his business life by entering the employ of 
Messrs. John Macdonald & Co., wholesale dry 
goods merchants, with whom he remained for 
one year. The following five years were spent 
in managing a large milling and general busi 
ness at Hillsburg, Wellington county. In 1859 
he returned to Toronto, where he engaged in the 
wholesale provision business till the year 1874, 
after which he conducted a prosperous fire in 
surance business. He was also an official As 
signee and Issuer of Marriage Licenses. 

Mr. Boustead was elected to a seat in the city 
council in 1865, representing what was then St. 
David s Ward, and after the increase in the 
number of wards took place he represented St. 
James Ward till 1897. He has been chairman 
of all the most important committees of the city 
council, notably, the Fire, Water, Gas. Water 
Works, Executive, and Claims Commissions com 
mittees. He was instrumental in reorganizing 
the fire department, and he established the fire 
alarm system. Through his efforts the city ob 
tained the charter by which the present water 
works were built, thus supplying pure water for 
the city. 

Mr. Boustead also took an active interest in 
educational matters, and was a member of the 
high school board. Nor did he take a less in 
terest in military affairs. He was one of the 
first members of the "Queen s Own," and soon 
received his commission as lieutenant. He was 
present at Ridgeway in command of his company, 
and retired with the rank of captain. In church 
work Mr. Boustead was an old pioneer. He was 
superintendent of Yorkville Sunday-school from 
1866 to 1878, and of the Metropolitan school 
from 1878 to 1891 ; also of the Sabbath School 
at what was then known as the "John McDon 
ald" church, now "North Toronto." He also 
held the office of trustee and steward in the 
Central Methodist church, an office which he 
filled in the Metropolitan church when a mem 
ber of it. For years Mr. Boustead was choir- 



90 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



master of the old Adelaide street church, and 
of Bloor street, now Central, church, and for 
eleven years was connected with the Toronto 
Philharmonic Society, being vice-president, 
then president. Recognizing the truth of the 
adage, however, that "All work and no play 
makes Jack a dull boy, he encouraged all kinds 
of honest, healthy amateur sport, and was presi 
dent of the first bicycle club in this country, also 
first president of the Canadian "Wheelmen s As 
sociation. He was for years a member of the 
Toronto Lacrosse Club. 

The cause of temperance always found an 
ardent supporter in Mr. Boustead, and during 
his work he had taken six hundred pledges. He 
gallantly fought for the cause in the city council 
when the question of reducing the number of 
licenses was under discussion. 

.Mr. Boustead was married, in 1856, to Miss 
Isabella Jane Griffith, of this city. He died 
April llth, 1902. Surviving him are his widow, 
a son, Fred W., of the City Treasurer s Depart 
ment, and a daughter, Mrs. A. Russell Clarke. 

"A man of broad sympathies, genial manners 
iind untiring energies, many movements for the 
i dvancement of life in the community in some 
form or other benefited by his labor and patron 
age." 

THOMAS E. CANNON, JR. The firm of T. 
Cannon & Son, contractors, is probably one of 
the best known in the Dominion on account of 
the length of time in which it has been in busi 
ness and because of the size and importance of 
the contracts accepted and carried out by it. 

Thomas E. Cannon, Sr., the founder of the 
business and father of Thomas E. Cannon, of To 
ronto, was born in Kent, England, in 1844, and 
grew to manhood in that place. There he became 
engaged in the contracting business as foreman 
for a railway company, and did similar work at 
Manchester and London. In 1870 he left his 
native country for the United States, and set 
tling in Chicago was in that city at the time 
of the great fire in 1871. Immediately after the 
fire he was engaged with a large contracting 
firm in the rebuilding of the burnt district. In 
1873 Mr. Cannon located in Toronto, and a short 
time later engaged with Lionel Yorke, a well- 
known contractor, with whom he remained until 
that gentleman s death, in 1890. In this con 
nection Mr. Cannon had considerable to do with 
the erection of St. Andrew s Church, and at the 
time of Mr. Yorke s death they were engaged in 
the erection of the Parliament building, Queen s 
Park, Toronto. They also built the present Mc- 
Conkey building, King street west; the Presby 
terian church, Denison avenue and Woolsley 
street ; the street railway barns, corner of George 



and Front streets; Bank of Montreal building, 
Front and Yonge streets ; Standard Bank build 
ing, Jordan and Wellington streets; and the 
Quebec Bank building, Toronto and King 
streets. 

Thomas E. Cannon, Jr., present proprietor of 
the firm of T. Cannon & Son, is a native of 
London, England, born in 1867. He was edu 
cated in Chicago and Toronto, and his entire 
business life has been spent in the latter city, 
engaged in contracting. In 1879 he engaged 
with his father and Mr. Lionel Yorke, but in 
1887 he went into business on his own account. 
Among the buildings he erected were the Gas 
Company building at the Bathurst Bridge; the 
Chalmers church, 1888-89 ; property in New To 
ronto ; and the tower on the George Street Meth 
odist church. Peterboro. In 1892 father and 
son engaged in business together and since then 
the following important structures have been 
erected by them : Walmer Road Baptist church ; 
residence of the late Mr. Pratt, corner of St. 
George and Bloor streets ; the American Watch 
Case Company building; Imperial Bank, head 
office, Toronto; the bridge over the Highland 
creek for York county ; the Lawler building, 
King and Yonge streets; and the Trinity Col 
lege School, Port Hope, Ont. A short time after 
the partnership was formed, Mr. T. E. Cannon, 
Jr., took charge of the entire business, and since 
that time has been the owner and sole proprietor 
thereof. The firm name has remained the same, 
however, and Mr. Cannon, Sr.. still devotes his 
time and experience toward the welfare of the 
business. He has superintended the erection of 
a. number of buildings, among them being the 
Bank of Commerce and the Imperial Bank, both 
of Toronto; the Hospital building at Lindsay. 
Ont. ; the Canada Foundry buildings at Daven 
port, Ont; and the residence of D. D. Mann, 
Esq., at East Toronto. 

The rapid growth of the business made it 
necessary for the firm to have better accommoda 
tions than the former location offered, and in 
consequence, in 1905, they purchased the pres 
ent place, No. 75 Brock avenue, where they have 
a large yard, furnished with proper machinery 
for handling heavy matter. They also have a 
private siding, thus affording ample facilities 
for the handling of all material used by them 
in their extensive business interests. 

JOHN RIDOUT, who departed this life Sept. 
1, 1894, was born in Toronto, May 8, 1806. son 
of Samuel and Elizabeth (Parsons) Ridout. The 
family is a very old one in Toronto, and its his 
tory reaches far back into the old country as 
well. The first authentic record of the Ridouts 
is in the College of Arms, London, where a coat 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



91 



of arms was granted, in 1531, to one Thomas 
Ridout, of the Point of Hensbridge. in Somer 
set. The Ridouts were principally in Bland- 
ford and Sher bourne. Dorset, after the latter of 
which Sherbourne street, Toronto, was named 
by Mr. Thomas Gibbs Ridout, son of the Hon. 
Thomas Ridout, surveyor-general of Upper Can- 
ada, who founded the family in the New World. 

Samuel Ridout, the father of John Ridout, was 
& son of the Hon. Thomas Ridout, and was born 
at Hancock, Maryland, in 1778. He married 
Elizabeth Parsons, and they had children : John ; 
Samuel George; Thomas; and five daughters. 

After completing his literary studies John 
Ridout read law, and practised for a few years 
in conjunction with his duties as deputy reg 
istrar of the County oi York. He was ap 
pointed registrar of the County of York in 1 855, 
filling that position until a short time prior to 
Tiis death. About the time of the outbreak of 
the rebellion of 1837-38 he organized a company 
of militia, of which he was captain; they were 
stationed at Niagara, guarding the border line. 
Mr. Ridout was all his life a member of St. 
James Church. In 1S39 he married Charlotte 
B. Powell, who was born in "Muddy York" 
(Toronto), March 15, 1814, and now resides at 
No. 250 Rusholme road. Mrs. Ridout is prob 
ably the oldest native-born resident of Toronto. 
With the exception of a slight deafness she is 
in possession of all her faculties, and her mind 
is as clear as ever. She has seen many changes 
in the community, and her reminiscences of 
early days are very interesting and told in a 
pleasing and entertaining way. Mrs. Ridout is 
a daughter of Dr. Grant and Elizabeth (Bleeck- 
er) Powell, the former of whom was born in 
England May 4, 1779, and died in January, 
1838. He was inspector of the hospitals from 
Montreal to Niagara. His wife was a native of 
Albany, New York. 

John Ridout and his wife had the following 
children: Elizabeth Harriet, who married John 
W. Langnvuir, and had children ; Charlotte, un 
married ; Violet, who married Mr. Gwyn Fran 
cis, and has one daughter ; and J. Grant, of the 
Assistant Receiver General s Department, To 
ronto, who married Alice Callighen, of Barrie. 
and has no children. 

WILLIAM MACLEAN, who passed away at 
his late residence, at No. 3 Nassau street, To 
ronto, April 24, 1898. was very well known in 
business circles in the Queen City. He was born 
in Scotland in the year 1847, son of William 
Maclean, a well-known business man of Toronto, 
now retired. 

Mr. Maclean received his literary training in 
his native country, being about thirteen years of 



age when he came to Canada. When he was 
sixteen we find him connected with the Bank of 
Montreal, with which institution he remained for 
thirteen years, holding the position of teller for 
some time prior to his resignation. On Dec. 27, 
1870, while still connected with the Bank of 
Montreal, Mr. Maclean was united in marriage 
with Miss Mary B. Stephens, daughter of the 
late Moore and May (Gibbons) Stephens, nat 
ives of Ireland. To this union were born eight 
children. After their marriage Mr. and Mrs. 
Maclean resided in St. Mary s for three years, 
and thence he went to Brockville and later to 
Toronto, where he became the inspector for the 
Union Loan & Savings Company, of that city. 
Mr. Maclean had been with this company but a 
short time when he became teller, a position he 
held until the spring of 1898, when he resigned 
to go into the real estate business. He had 
scarcely become settled in his new business at 
the time of his death. 

For many years an official member of St. 
Stephen s Church, of Toronto, Mr. Maclean was 
a man well known and highly esteemed. He was 
much interested in curling, and was a prominent 
member of the Victoria Curling Club, of To 
ronto. 

EDWARD DACK (deceased). Probably no 
business house in Toronto is better known than 
that of R, Dack. at No. 73 King street west, the 
present owner of the establishment being of the 
third generation of the family to carry on the 
same business in the same place. 

The Dack family is of Irish extraction, and 
was founded in Canada by Matthew Dack, who 
was born in Ireland in 1786, and there mar 
ried Lucy Norman, a native of Stradbally, Ire 
land. In 1834 Matthew Dack and his family of 
five children came to Canada, and after spend 
ing two years in Kingston settled in 1836 in To 
ronto. Here Mr. Dack founded the boot and 
shoe business subsequently carried on by his son, 
Edward Dack. and now by his grandson. Rob 
ert Bower Dack. In Ireland Matthew Dack had 
been a hardware merchant, but after coming to 
Canada devoted himself to the shoe business, in 
which he continued until his death, in 1842. His 
children were: Catherine, deceased; Ann: Dr. 
Thomas, deceased: William, deceased: and Ed 
ward. 

On the death of his father Edward Dack suc 
ceeded to the business, which he carried on until 
about 1884, when he retired. His son Robert 
succeeded him, and still conducts the Imsiness. 
Edward Dack was born in Ireland in 1813, and 
was there educated, coming to Canada with the 
family in 1834. His entire business life was 
spent as a shoe merchant in Toronto, where he 



92 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



died in 1899. In Toronto, in 1849, Mr. Dack 
and Miss Jane Bower Nixon were united in 
marriage. Mrs. Dack was born in Dublin in 1822 
and died in Toronto in 1889. She was a daugh 
ter of Thomas Nixon, a wholesale merchant of 
Dublin, where he died in 1829. His wife was 
Kate Bower, who also died in Dublin, Ireland, 
and who was the elder daughter of Sir James 
Bower, of Yorkshire, England, a captain in the 
Honorable East India Company s service; their 
vessels were half merchantmen and half armed 
craisers. To Edward and Jane Bower (Nixon) 
Dack were born: Edward, of the United States, 
married Olive Wooldridge, by whom he had two 
children; Emily, the wife of Frederick B. Wil 
son, of Chiswick, England, has three children ; 
Robert, who succeeded his father to the shoe 
business, married (first) Minnie Sinclair, by 
whom he had five children, and (second) Mary 
Oldham, by whom he had one son ; Miss Lucy, of 
No. 24 Grosvenor street, Toronto ; and Clara, the 
wife of Alfred Effingham Mason, of Toronto, has 
one daughter. 

Mr. Dack was a member of the Church of 
England, and in politics he was a Conservative. 
He also associated with the York Pioneers. Mr. 
Dack built the house at No. 11 Grosvenor street, 
where he lived for thirty-five years. 

THOMAS C. MITCHELL was born in New 
market. County York, in 1859, and died in To 
ronto in 1902, from injuries received in a fall 
from one of the buildings at the Exposition 
Grounds. 

John and Minerva (Mosier) Mitchell, his 
parents, were born in Scotland and Canada, re 
spectively, the latter a daughter of Thomas Free 
man Mosier and Nancy Ann (McNulty) Mosier. 
John Mitchell came to Canada when a young 
man, settling in Newmarket, where he became 
well known as the proprietor of the "Mitchell 
House," conducting that hostelry for many 
years. He and his wife still reside there. To 
them the following named children were born : 
Thomas C. ; Harriet Henrietta Gibson ; Minerva, 
now Mrs. Thomas Little, of Detroit; and John. 

Thomas C. Mitchell received his education at 
Newmarket, going to school to the late Alex 
ander Muir. On reaching his majority he en 
tered the employ of the Grand Trunk Railway 
Company, remaining with that company for 
seven years, at the end of which time he took 
up the structural iron business, working under 
the direction of the Dominion Bridge Company. 
In this connection he was engaged on the iron 
work in the City Hall, the Parliament Build 
ing, the "King Edward Hotel," the store of the 
Robert Simpson Company (by whom he was 
twice engaged), the Globe building, the Mail 



building, the armories, etc., including many of 
the most substantial structures in the city. It 
was while thus engaged that Mr. Mitchell fell 
forty-five feet from* the Transportation building, 
in the Exposition Grounds, receiving injuries 
which soon proved fatal. He was very well 
known in Toronto, particularly in the line of 
his work, and was a member of the International 
Architectural and Structural Iron Workers 
Union No. 23. Cheerful and liberal in disposi 
tion, he was well liked wherever known, and he 
was a citizen highly respected by all. 

In 1884 Mr. Mitchell and Miss Joanna Pen- 
nock were united in mai-riage by the late Rob 
ert Wallace. She was born in Markham town 
ship, County of York, in 1854. daughter of John 
and Charlotte (Vallier) Pennock, who were like 
wise born in the County of York. Truman Pen- 
nock, Mrs. Mitchell s grandfather, was born in 
Strafford, Vermont, and was among the early 
settlers of York. He married Catherine Badg- 
ero, who was born in the town of Cambridge, 
New York State. John Pennock. Mrs. Mitchell s 
father, followed farming during his active life, 
and now lives retired in Toronto. His wife, who 
passed away in 1902, was a descendant of a 
distinguished French family. She was noted for 
her fondness for poetry and music, her great 
love for nature, and her piety. Kind to her 
neighbors, unselfish, cheerful under great trials, 
she was beloved by all and the devoted friend 
and confidant of her children. She left the fol 
lowing family: Mrs. Mitchell, Mrs. Painter, 
Angus, Truman, Joseph, Willis and Bernard. 

To Mr. and Mrs. Mitchell were born : John, 
Charlotte and Myrtle. Mr. Mitchell attended 
the Presbyterian Church. He was a Conserva 
tive in political matters. Mrs. Mitchell resides 
at present at No. 311 Markham street. 

ROBERT COLIN GWATKIN, who died in 
Toronto in 1889, was born in Clifton, England, 
in 1819, son of William Gwatkin and grandson 
of Robert Lovell Gwatkin, both of whom died 
in England. 

Robert Lovell Gwatkin s home was in Wales, 
and his wife, "Offie" Palmer, whom he married 
in 1781. was a favorite niece of Sir Joshua 
Reynolds. On page 97 -in the "Life of Sir 
Joshua Reynolds" is found: "Early in that 
year (1781) his niece Offie Palmer married 
Richard (sic should be Robert) Lovell Gwat 
kin, a Cornish squire; the marriage took place 
at Torrington. There is a charming letter of 
Sir Joshua s written on this occasion to his fav 
orite niece; it finishes thus: That you may be 
as happy as you both deserve is my wish, and 
you will be the happiest couple in England. So 
God bless you. " Offie (Palmer) Gwatkin lived 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



93 



happily with her husband, and died at the age 
of ninety; she was permitted to see her child 
ren s grandchildren. 

"William Gwatkin, son of Robert Lovell and 
Offie, died at the untimely age of twenty- nine, 
and his little son Robert Colin went to his grand 
father s home. 

Robert C. Gwatkin came to Toronto at the age 
of sixteen years. He learned the grocery busi 
ness under Mr. Moore, afterward Perkins & 
Co., now Perkins & Ince, Mr. William Ince, Sr., 
learning his business at the same time. Mr. 
Gwatkin went into the grocery business on King 
street east, opposite St. Lawrence market. He 
continued in business there until the great fire 
which destroyed that part of the city, and soon 
after he went to the United States and engaged 
in business in Green Bay, Wisconsin. From 
there he went to Vicksburg, Mississippi, remain 
ing until the close of the Civil war. In 1865 he 
returned to Toronto, and resumed the grocery 
business on Edward street, later moving to the 
corner of King and Bay streets, where he en 
gaged in printing, finally removing the busi 
ness to the corner of Bay and Wellington 
streets, where he remained until his death. 

In 1843 Mr. Gwatkin married Miss Mary 
Theresa Todd, born in England, daughter of 
William and Sarah (Brown) Todd. Mrs. 
Gwatkin was born in 1818, and died in 1899. 
This marriage was blessed with the following 
children: Robert, of Toronto; Clara Thc-resa, 
who married Robert H. Verrall, a native of Eng 
land, who came to Canada when a young man 
(in politics a Conservative, in religion a com 
municant of the Church of England, and in fra 
ternal connection a member of the Sons of Eng 
land 1 ; William Henry, who resides in Toronto; 
John, of Ohio; Lucy T., deceased: Sarah, Mrs. 
Bailey of "The Soo" (American); George St. 
John of Toronto: and Beatrice, of Toronto. 
Mr. Gwatkin was a member of the Church of 
England. In his political sympathies he was a 
Conservative. 

HENRY JOHN BOULTON, who passed away 
in the Queen City in 1876, was a native of To 
ronto, born in 1826, son of the late Chief Justice 
Henry Boulton, for some time Chief Justice of 
Newfoundland. Justice Boulton was a native of 
England and was there educated. On coming 
to Canada he was for a time a resident of To 
ronto, from which place he went to Newfound 
land, accepting the position of Chief Justice, but 
later returning to Toronto, where he died. 

Henry John Boulton was educated at Upper 
Canada College and at Trinity University. He 
read law in Toronto, and followed the profes 
sion successfully for a short time, afterward 



turning his attention to modern farming. He 
owned a large tract in the township of Moul- 
ton, and here he introduced into Canada the tile 
system of land draining, which has proved so 
valuable to the rural districts. Mr. Boul ton s 
home was known as " Humberf ord, " and was 
located near Thistledown, this property, one of 
the beautiful spots of Canada, being also drain 
ed with tile. After some ten years spent here 
Mr. Boulton returned to Toronto, where he 
lived practically retired until his death. 

In 1852 Henry John Boulton married Miss 
Rudyerd, daughter of Henry Rudyerd, an offi 
cer in the British army. Henry Rudyerd came 
with his regiment to Canada prior to the Re 
bellion of 1837-38, and here received his dis 
charge from military service. At the outbreak 
of the Rebellion, however, he offered his serv 
ices to his country, and on cessation of hostili 
ties settled in Toronto for a time, whence he 
returned to England, and there died. 

To Mr. and Mrs. Boulton were born the fol 
lowing children : Henry Rudyerd, of the Bank 
of Montreal at Brockville; Reginald Rudyerd, 
of Toronto ; Constance Rudyerd ; Elizabeth Rud 
yerd; Wolf rid Rudyerd; and Marion Rudyerd. 
Mr. Boulton was a member of the Church of 
England, to which faith the family adheres. 
In politics he was a Conservative. 

JAMES S. McMURRAY, who died in Toronto 
in 1895, was for many years a well-known bar 
rister of that city. He was born at Dundas, Ont, 
in 1840, son of Rev. William and Charlotte 
(Johnstone) McMurray, the former a native of 
Ireland, and the latter of Canada, daughter of 
John Johnstone, who settled in Canada many 
years ago. 

Rev. William McMurray was born in Ireland 
in 1810. and was the founder of the family in 
Canada, coming here when a year old. He was 
Missionary of the- Church of England, at Sault 
Ste. Marie, for some time, later at Dundas, and 
for thirty-six years at Niagara. At his death 
he was archdeacon of Niagara. 

James S. McMurray was educated at Dundas 
and Hamilton, and then entered the law offices 
of Cameron & Harman, where he pursued his 
legal studies. He was called to the Bar in 1863, 
and settled down to practice in Toronto, where 
he was actively engaged until his death. In ad 
dition to his legal practice, Mr. McMnrray filled 
a number of prominent public positions, both 
local and international. He was an alderman for 
some time, was secretary to the Hon. George 
Brown at a conference in Washington, D.C., in 
1872, and at the time of his death was vice- 
consul to Norway and Sweden. Mr. McMurray 
was instrumental in building the new Home for 



94 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



the Protestant Orphans on Dovercourt road. 
Toronto, and was interested in all movements 
for good of present and future generations. 

In 1864 Mr. McMurray married Elizabeth 
Fuller, daughter of the late Right Rev. Thomas 
Brock Fuller, Bishop of Niagara, and his wife, 
Cynthia (Street) Fuller, the latter of United 
Empire Loyalist ancestry. Rev. Thomas Brock 
Fuller was a son of Major Thomas Richard Ful 
ler, of the 41st Regiment, who came to Canada 
with his regiment, settling in Kingston. The 
Rev. Mr. Fuller was born in 1810, and after 
being educated at "Little York" and Chambly, 
Quebec, was located at Montreal for some time 
as curate in the parish church. He then went 
to Chatham and Thorold. and in 1860 located 
in Toronto, and was consecrated Bishop of Ni 
agara in 1875. His death occurred in Hamilton 
in 1884. His children were: Mrs. MacLeod; 
Mrs. McMurray ; Mrs. Benson ; and six sons. 

Mrs. McMurray was born in Thorold in 1843, 
and her entire life has been spent in Canada. 
To Mr. and Mrs. McMurray were born six chil 
dren, as follows: Leonard L., of Toronto; Ar 
thur, deceased; Louis S.. of Toronto; James S., 
of Toronto; Elizabeth Street; and Douglas S., 
of Winnipeg. The family are members of the 
Church of England. Mr. McMurray was a Con 
servative. 

ALEXANDER A. MACKID, who died at 
No. 168 Dowling avenue, Toronto, March 30, 
1904, was born March 30. 1854, in Goderich, 
Ont., son of the Rev. A. Mackid, B.A., who was 
born in Scotland, and who came to Canada when 
a young man, founding the family in this coun 
try the only family of the name in the Do 
minion. 

Rev. A. Mackid was a well-known Presby 
terian clergyman of Goderich for many years, 
in which place he died. His wife, whose maiden 
name was Julia Brown, was born in Goderich, 
daughter of the late George Brown, of Goder 
ich, a native of England, where he had been a 
large ship owner. The children of Rev. A. and 
Julia (Brown) Mackid were as follows: Alex 
ander A.; John M.. deceased; Dr. H. Goodsir, 
of Calgary ; and Percy, deceased. The Mackids 
of Canada descend from one of the first fami 
lies of Scotland, and since locating in the Do 
minion have manifested the same strong char 
acteristics for which their Scottish ancestors 
were noted. 

Alexander A. Mackid was educated at Goder 
ich and Kingston. His business life was begun 
in the Bank of Commerce at Goderich, with the 
late Hon. A. M. Ross, and he was affiliated with 
the bank for sixteen years. Tn 1891 Mr. Mac- 
kid settled in Toronto and was associated with 



the Dominion Pei-manent & Loan Company, and 
the Western Loan & Investment Company of 
Montreal. Later he became inspector for the 
Trust & Guarantee Company, of Toronto, a po 
sition which he filled until his death. Mr. Mac- 
kid s business relations made him well known 
throughout Canada, and there were none more 
highly esteemed. 

On Sept. 14, 1873, Mr. Mackid married Miss 
Mary Victoria McKay, who was born in Hamil 
ton, daughter of the late Rev. W. E. McKay, 
B.A.. and Angelina (Lockwood) McKay. Rev. 
W. E. McKay was educated in Kingston and 
Toronto, and spent his life as a Presbyterian 
minister in Canada, He died at Orangeville 
June 4, 1885, and there his widow still resides. 
Mrs. Angelina (Lockwood) McKay is a daugh 
ter of the late Colonel Lockwood, a United Em 
pire Loyalist, who came to the Dominion from 
the United States, about the time of the Ameri 
can Revolution. 

To Alexander A. and Mary Victoria (Mc 
Kay) Mackid were born four children : Percy 
John Digby, an electrical engineer of Toronto; 
Harry Aitchey Walter, accountant in the Metro 
politan Bank, Queen street west, Toronto : Ruth, 
who is the wife of Percy H. Kane, accountant at 
the Bank of Ottawa, at Toronto. Ont. : and 
Mary, now finishing her course of music in New 
York City. 

Mrs. Mackid is a Daughter of the Empire (as 
are also her daiighters) find a member of the U. 
E. Loyalists. Her sons are affiliated with the 
I.O.O.F. In religion the family are members of 
the Church of England. Mr. Mackid was a 
Conservative in politics. In fratei-nal matters 
he was connected with the Commercial Travel 
lers Association, the T.O.O.F., the Royal Ar 
canum, the A.O.U.W., and the Mutual Reserve 
Assurance Company, of New York. He was a 
man highly respected by all who knew him, for 
his business ability, his irreproachable integ 
rity and many other sterling qualities appreci 
ated by those who had dealings with him. His 
remains rest in the Goderich cemetery, beside 
those of his parents. 

REV. JOHN DUNN DINNTCK, D.D., was 
born in England in 1841. and his death occurred 
in Toronto in 1901. taking from that city one 
of its most highly esteemed Christian gentle 
men. Dr. Dinnick was the son of Thomas and 
Mary (Dunn) Dinnick, the former of whom was 
in the Civil Service in England for many years, 
and was well-to-do and well known in his native 
country. There his son, John Dunn Dinnick, 
was educated, attending the public schools and 
colleges, and having decided upon the ministry 
as a life profession, he prepared for the practice 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



95 



thereof and received the degree of Doctor of Di 
vinity. For a quarter of a century Dr. Dinnick 
was a Methodist minister in some of the lead 
ing churches of England, among which may be 
mentioned churches at London, Brighton and 
Ramsgate. At Aldershot he built the Rotunda 
Church, and the Soldiers Home, and he also built 
churches at Reigate, Redhill. Parnham and 
Guildford. On account of failing health the Doc 
tor s physician advised him to make a trip to 
Canada, in accordance with which he toured the 
country for seven months, and returned to Eng 
land, resuming his position at Brighton. On 
continuing his work the Doctor soon found that 
his health required a second trip to Canada, and 
he spent some months in this country, again re 
turning to his native land, where he remained 
for four years. He then came with his family 
to Toronto, where he lived until his death. 

Dr. Dinnick was devoted to his work as a 
minister of the Gospel, and ever gave his hearty 
support to all church movements and reforms 
for the betterment of his fellowmen. He preach 
ed in nearly every pastorate church in the city, 
and thus became well and widely known and 
most highly esteemed. Dr. Dinnick was well 
known as a writer on theological topics, his con 
tributions being printed by some of the leading 
magazines, and in both his writings and ser 
mons his arguments were logical and convinc 
ing. 

Dr. Dinnick married Miss Charlotte M. Sav- 
ery, a native of Cornwall, England, and daugh 
ter of William and Martha (Bowden) Savery, 
the former a large land owner and one of the 
leading men in financial circles of Cornwall, 
where both he and his wife died. To Dr. and 
Mrs. Dinniek were born the following children: 
John Ernest, who died in England at the age 
of twenty-one years: Augustus Georsre, man 
ager of the Casualty and Boiler Insurance Com 
pany, of Toronto: Wilfrid S.. manager and 
vice-president of the Standard Loan Company, 
and also vice-president of the Casualty and 
Boiler Insurance Company; Rev. Samuel Dunn, 
pastor of Zion Methodist Church of Toronto; 
Oswald T., M.D. ; Miss Annie S., at home; D. 
Vincent : and Theodore, deceased. 

Mrs. Dinnick and her daughter, Annie, re 
side on Clinton avenue, Deer Park. 

HENRY LIDDELL VERCOE, M.D.. whose 
death took place at Toronto in July, 1885, was 
an eminent physician and belonged to an hon 
orable Canadian family of English extraction. 
His father was John Vercoe, and his mother 
was a sister of Capt. James Liddell. of the Royal 
Navy. John Vercoe came from England to Can 
ada and settled at Sparta, near St. Thomas, 



where he engaged in farming and where he 
and his wife died. 

Dr. Vercoe had only common-school advan 
tages in his youth, and to make his way through 
medical college he was obliged to exert all his 
energies. He succeeded in graduating with his 
degree from McGill University in May, 1868, 
and had the satisfaction of carrying off the 
chief prize. He settled at Sparta in practice for 
two years, and then removed to Seaforth, where 
he remained until on account of failing health 
he went to Texas. While there he was urged to 
accept a position as member of the faculty of 
a college, but this honor he was obliged to de 
cline on account of delicate health. He re 
turned North in 1884 and died the following 
y ear a loss to family and friends and to a 
profession which he was fitted to adorn. 

Dr. Vercoe married Phoebe Bristol, daughter 
of Coleman Bristol, who belongs to a fine old 
English family which settled in the United 
States prior to the American Revolution and 
when trouble arose joined the United Empire 
Loyalists, subsequently coming to Canada and 
settling on the Bay of Quinte. At the close 
of the war they took up a large body of bush 
land, which they cleared, making a fine home 
here. The paternal grandfather of Mrs. Ver 
coe married Elsie Ellsworth and their children 
were: John, Norris, Joel, Coleman, Elizabeth, 
Susan and Elsie. 

Coleman Bristol was born on the Bay of 
Quinte in 1796. He took part in the war of 
1812, during which he was a sentinel at Wolf 
Island. H e became possessed of 300 acres of 
land, and died on his home in 1886. He married 
Katie Way. and they had children as follows : 
Caroline ; Dr. Amos, deceased; Sarah: Mary: 
Catherine: James; Louis: and Phoebe, Mrs. 
Vercoe. 

The following children were born to Dr. Ver 
coe and wife: Gertrude is the wife of Archie 
McLean, grandson of Chief Justice McLean, 
and they have two sons, Archie and Duart ; 
Frank is deceased: Augusta is the wife of 
Herbert Townsend, Rossland, and has two 
daughters, Dorothy and Helen ; Harold, of Win 
nipeg, married Helen McKechnie, and has one 
daughter. 

The late Frank Vercoe, whose young life was 
sacrificed in South Africa, was a brilliant young 
man, a civil engineer, and at the time of death 
\vss in the path of duty following an honor 
able career. He was graduated at the Royal 
Military College, Kingston, where he received 
the gold medal in appreciation of his scholar 
ship. For a short time he was with the Can 
adian Pacific Railway Company and in vari 
ous positions testified to his professional skill. 



96 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



In 1900 he took advantage of a chance to go to 
South Africa, where he was at the time of the 
Boer war, and after its close he was made acting 
resident engineer at Bloemfontein. In his 
death Canada mourned the loss of one of her 
most valued sons. 

COL. SALTBR M. JARVIS. The late Lieut- 
Col. Salter Mountain Jarvis was born at Corn 
wall in 1844, son of the late George Stephen 
Jarvis, judge of the County of Stownont for 
nearly fifty years. He entered Trinity College, 
receiving a liberal education, prior to which he 
was for years a pupil of Upper Canada College. 
He then became a student of law, but for some 
years did not devote himself to the practice 
of his profession. He began his active military 
career as a sergeant in Trinity s College Com 
pany of the Queen s Own Rifles, and saw serv 
ice with that famous corps at Ridgeway in 
1866. Later he was promoted to the captain 
cy of the company and was afterward made 
major and adjutant of the battalion. In 1882 
he retired with the rank of brevet lieutenant- 
colonel. Colonel Jarvis came of good United 
Empire Loyalist stock, his grandfather having 
served in the war of 1776, and his father in the 
war of 1812. Though not a conspicuous poli 
tician he was. nevertheless, a staunch upholder 
of Liberal-Conservative principles. Articles 
from his pen appeared in many of the Canadian 
magazines dealing with both military and poli 
tical affairs, which showed him to be a deep 
practical thinker, as well as facile writer. His 
mother was a member of the Mountain family, 
known in Quebec and Montreal from the earliest 
days of the country, her father, Bishop Moun 
tain, being the first Bishop of Quebec. 

Colonel Jarvis was a firm adherent of the 
Church of England. By nature he was one 
of those fine-strung, sensitive men, scrupulous 
to a degree in his business transactions, the very 
soul of high principle, and whose instincts re 
volted at the bare thought of an unmanly or un 
worthy act. He was liberal in the dispensation 
of his charity and ever took keen interest in 
benevolent and philanthropic work. 

In 1881 Colonel Jarvis married Jennie E. sec 
ond daughter of Mr. John E. Brooke, one of the 
pioneer families of Toronto, whose grandfather, 
Daniel Brooke, came to Toronto, in the early 
days of the nineteenth century, from England. 
Colonel Jarvis died in 1890, leaving 1 a son, G. 
Arthur Jarvis, at the time of this writing at 
tached to the staff of the Bank of Montreal in 
Toronto; and Muriel B. Jarvis, residing in To 
ronto. 

JOHN KAY. In the death of John Kay, who 
passed away Dec. 16. 1891, Toronto lost one of 



her most energetic business men. Mr. Kay 
was born in Garqunnock, near Stirling, Scot 
land, in 1817, and came to Canada when little 
more than twenty years of age, settling in Lit 
tle York. For about three years he was en 
gaged with the old wholesale house of Ross, 
Mitchell & Co., and at the expiration of that 
time the firm of Bettey & Kay was established 
at the southeast corner of King and Yonge 
streets, where they carried on a business for 
nearly twenty years. The partnership was then 
dissolved, Mr. Kay conducting the business 
alone until 1881, when he removed to No. 34 
King street west and engaged exclusively in the 
line of carpets, his favorite department in the 
trade. In 1887 John Bryce Kay, his son, and 
Colin Fraser Gordon, his son-in-law, were taken 
into partnership, and since that time the firm 
name has been John Kay, Son & Company. 

Early in the spring of 1891 Mr. Kay s health 
began to decline, and as his physician urged 
him to withdraw from business, he decided to 
travel for a time and made a trip around the 
world, starting in February, accompanied by 
his second son. Frank, and the Rev. D. J. Mac- 
donnell, the latter returning to England from 
Ceylon, while father, and son proceeded via 
Japan to Canada. Having benefited by the voy 
age, Mr. Kay resumed business with his usual 
activity, and continued until December, when 
after a short illness he died on the 16th of that 
month. 

Mr. Kay, at the time of his death, was one 
of the oldest merchants doing business on King 
street, and was known from one end of the Do 
minion to the other, as well as in many of the 
European markets. About three years of his 
life had been spent on the ocean, as he had 
crossed the Atlantic nearly one hundred times. 

Mr. Kay was twice married, his first wife 
bearing the maiden name of Agnes Bryce Cul- 
len. To this union were born three daughters, 
Katherine (Mrs. D. C. Ridout), Eliza (Miss 
Kay), Janet Paterson (Mrs. Colin F. Gordon), 
and two sons, James (deceased) and John Bryce 
Kay (who carried on the business of the firm 
until the autumn of 1906). Mr. Kay s second 
wife was Ellen C. Macartney (deceased), and 
their children were : Francis, who died in 1901 ; 
and a daughter Helen, residing in Toronto. 
"While Mr. Kay had no desire for public life 
and declined all offers of official position, he 
was an ardent Liberal and supporter of the Hon. 
George Brown. Mr. Kay was a pillar of St. 
Andrew s Church, and it was mainly through 
his efforts that the St. Andrew s Institute build 
ing on Nelson street was erected. Mr. Kay was 
truly a genial gentleman, a liberal contributor 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



97 



to all philanthropic and religions objects, and 
he was beloved by all who knew him. 

THOMAS THOMPSON, now living retired 
at No. 139 Crescent road, Toronto, was for many 
years a well-known wholesale and retail merch 
ant of that city, where he was born Jan. 9, 
1832. The Thompson family was originally of 
Yorkshire. England, and was founded in Can 
ada by Thomas Thompson (2), the father of 
the Thomas Thompson who is the subject of this 
sketch. 

Thomas Thompson (2) was born in York 
shire, England, in 1803, son of Thomas Thomp 
son, who also came to Canada. Thomas Thomp 
son (2) came to Toronto (then "Muddy York") 
in 1830, and for some time conducted a private 
school, one of the first in the place. He subse 
quently went into the mercantile business, on 
King street west, on ground now occupied by the 
Stitt Costume Company, engaging in the boot 
and shoe trade. He purchased his stock in 
Montreal, shipping it by boat ^o Toronto. His 
was the first boot and shoe store in Toronto, 
and was successfully conducted by Mr. Thomp 
son for a number of years. He finally closed it 
out. however, and next embarked in general 
merchandising at the corner of Francis and King 
street east, opposite the market, where he con 
tinued in business until his death, in 
1868. His wife, Rebecca (Boyce), was 
born in Yorkshire, England, in 1800. and 
died in Toronto in 1878. They were members of 
the Methodist Church. Their children who grew 
to maturity were as follows -. John B., born in To 
ronto in 1830, a shoe merchant of the city from 
1871 to 1890, married Margaret Duff, and their 
children are Sydenham. Bennington, Rebecca, 
May, George L., Florence and Robert; William, 
deceased, who was a professor in a college in 
Brooklyn, New York, married Miss Bla.ckstone, 
by whom he had five children ; Thomas is men 
tioned below. 

Thomas Thompson received his education in 
Toronto, his teacher being Mr. John Boyd, of 
the Bay Street Academy, the father of the pres 
ent Sir John Boyd, and among his schoolmates 
were Sir John Boyd, W. H. Pearson, Mr. Foster 
(a well-known optician of the city), John Has- 
sen, Michael Dwan, William Thomson and Jos 
eph Lawson. When thirteen years of age Mr. 
Thompson left school and entered upon the 
duties of life as a clerk in his father s store. In 
1864 he became a partner, and on the death 
of his father, in 1868, took over the business, 
Which he conducted until his retirement from 
active commercial life in 1890, the business in 
turn being taken over by his sons, who con- 
7 



ducted it for some time, closed it out and em 
barked in another line. 

On April 26, 1855, Mr. Thompson married 
Miss Hester Carbert, who was born at Marston 
Moor, in the house in which Oliver Cromwell 
passed the night before the battle of Marston 
Moor. Her parents, Joseph and Lucy (Jeffer 
son) Carbert, were natives of Yorkshire, Eng 
land, the former born in 1790, and the latter in 
1791; they died in Toronto in 1857 and 1856, 
respectively. They came to the city in 1844 from 
Yorkshire, England, where Mr. Carbert had been 
a farmer for many years. Their family was a 
large one, and Hester, Mrs. Thompson, was the 
youngest daughter. 

To Mr. and Mrs. Thomas Thompson have been 
born a large family, all sons : Major J. 
Boyce, of the Queen s Own, is a merchant of To 
ronto, where he was born, and where he mar 
ried Miss McCausland, by whom he has one son, 
Gordon (a member of the class of 1907, Univer 
sity of Toronto), and one daughter, Mildred; 
William Alfred, born in 1860, is a real estate 
dealer of Toronto; Dr. Percy Walker is a medi 
cal practitioner of London, England; Bert is de 
ceased; Arthur is also deceased; Thomas C. ; 
George is a resident of British Columbia; Dr. 
Frank is deceased. 

Mr. Thompson was made justice of the peace 
in 1885. In 1882 he was the Liberal candidate 
for East Toronto for the Dominion House, his 
opponent being John Small, collector of customs. 
The city being strongly Conservative. Mr. Small 
won the election, although Mr. Thompson polled 
the highest Liberal vote. He was a license com 
missioner for a number of years, and was also 
a member of the library board for some years. 
He is now a member of the Victor Mission 
Board, and he is an official member of the Carl- 
ton Street Methodist Church, to which he has 
always belonged, and of which his wife has also 
been a member for many years. 

On April 26, 1905, Mr. and Mrs. Thompson 
held a celebration in honor of the fiftieth anni 
versary of their wedding at their home, which 
was attended not only by all members of the 
family, but by a number of time-honored 
friends. 

JOHN KERR. In the death of the late John 
Kerr, which occurred July 12, 1896, Toronto 
lost one of her prominent business men, who 
had been among the large real estate holders and 
at the head of two extensive wholesale estab 
lishments. 

Mr. Kerr was born at Carney Hill, County 
Tyrone, Ireland, in 1819, and in his native land 
received a good education, and on reaching man 
hood made his first essay in business a career 



98 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



destined to be uniformly successful. Embarking 
in the confectionery line, he was so engaged until 
the thirties, when he broke off all connections 
in the Old "World and sailed for the New. Land 
ing in New York he remained in that city a few 
years, and during that time resumed his previous 
occupation, but about 1840 decided to leave the 
United States entirely, and settle in Canada in 
stead. He removed to Toronto and opened up 
a bakery and a confectionery business, each on 
a wholesale scale. In the former line he was one 
of the pioneers in the city, and established him 
self at No. 324 Queen street west. The location 
of his confectionery business was in that same 
vicinity, and in both lines Mr. Kerr was very 
successful and built up a large trade, thus win 
ning for himself recognition as one of the city s 
prominent business men. Mr. Kerr was a large 
property owner, especially in the region where 
his own stores were located. In addition to the 
business houses erected by Mr. Kerr himself, two 
handsome brick stores have been put up since his 
death by his wife, who manages the estate. He 
also owned considerable residence property in 
different parts of the city, particularly on Bul- 
wer street, and all of this was very valuable. The 
family home at No. 32 Maynard avenue, where 
Mrs. Kerr still resides, was built by her husband. 

Not only was Mr. Kerr an able business man, 
but he was also equally prominent in both mu 
nicipal and church affairs. For seven years he 
was a valued member of the council of Toronto, 
representing the district of St. Patrick s "Ward, 
for the Reform party, and during this term of 
service he worked on several of the most import 
ant committees. His church relations were es 
tablished with the Queen City Methodist Church, 
in which he was a leading member, and served 
for twenty years a.s recording steward. Al 
though firm in the faith of the Methodist Church 
Mr. Kerr was not, however, bigoted in his views, 
but was broad-minded and ever ready to recog 
nize a true faith and genuine manhood, wher 
ever found. He was also a member of the Ma 
sonic fraternity, taking a prominent part there 
as elsewhere, and likewise held the office of chap 
lain in the Enniskillen Orange Lodge. 

Twice wedded, Mr. Kerr s first marriage was 
to Miss Mary Weir, and to this union was born 
one daughter, Susan, now the wife of Rev. J. W. 
Sparling, D.D., of Wesley College, Winnipeg. 
There are three grandchildren, Laura, John and 
Fritzie. After the loss of his first wife, Mr. 
Kerr, in 1884, married Miss Ann Jane Newton, 
who was born in Robin Hood s Bay. Yorkshire, 
England, in 1862, daughter of Capt. Thomas 
and Catherine (Dwyer) Newton. The former, 
who was born in 1822, in Lincolnshire, Eng 
land, a direct descendant of Sir Isaac Newton, 



was for many years a sea captain, and he died 
in 1900. His widow resides in Toronto at pres 
ent. Mrs. Kerr was the eldest of their four 
teen children, and she herself became the mother 
of two daughters. Annie, the eldest, was gradu 
ated in 1903, from the Abbe Loretto School for 
Ladies in Toronto ; and Kathleen May completed 
her literary course at the Jameson Avenue Col 
legiate school in 1905. Both daughters are now 
living at home. Since the death of her husband 
Mrs. Kerr has had charge of the property, and 
has managed it with unusual success, proving 
herself possessed of much genuine business ca 
pacity. All of the valuable store property Which 
Mr. Kerr left has been advantageously rented. 

In the career of a self-made man like Mr. 
Kerr there is much to serve as an example and 
an encouragement to others. An upright, hon 
est business man, his fair dealing won the re 
spect of all, while his devotion to his work, his 
energy, and sound judgment brought material 
prosperity. 

JAMES G. MAcDONELL, of No. 11 MacDon- 
ell avenue, Toronto, represents one of the city s 
old and prominent families and resides on land 
that has been in the MacDonell name since they 
first settled in Canada. 

The MacDonells are of Scotch extraction, and 
the first to come to Toronto was Alexander, 
grandfather of James G. He was a pioneer in 
that part of the country and bought up large 
amounts of land in what is now the west end of 
the city. MacDonell avenue, one of the fine resi 
dential streets of Parkdale, is named for this 
family. Alexander MacDonell had five sons, 
James, Allan, Samuel, Alexander and Angus. 

James MacDonell, the eldest son of Alex 
ander, was born in Toronto in 1808, and died 
there Feb. 6, 1865. He was a grandnephew of 
the Colonel MacDonell who fell with Brock at 
Queenston Heights, and received from the Col 
onel the property at the corner of King and 
Church streets, Toronto. He married Miss Mar 
garet Leah Smith, who was born in the County 
of York, daughter of Col. Samuel Smith, who 
was for many years attorney-general of Upper 
Canada and at one time governor-general there 
of. Mrs. MacDonell died Nov. 22, 1892. Chil 
dren as follows were born to James and Mar 
garet Leah MacDonell: Alexander, deceased-, 
Samuel S. ; John G. ; James G. ; Mrs. W. G. Mc- 
Williams; Margaret J., deceased wife of Bever 
ly Robinson ; and Jessie H., deceased wife of A. 
B. Harrison. James MacDonell, who was a life 
long resident of Toronto, was for many years 
in the government service in the Inland Rev 
enue department. His wife survived him for 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



f 

many years. Their old home is now used for 
the Western Hospital. 

James G. MacDonell was born in Toronto in 
1843, received his education in his native city, 
and has passed his entire life there. For a num 
ber of years he has had no active business in 
terests, but has lived as a retired gentleman. He 
was married in July, 1866, to Miss Ann Jane 
Walsh, who was born in Ireland in 1848. Her 
parents were Ralph and Elizabeth (Pier- 
son) Walsh, who came to Canada in 
1852, settled in Toronto and there died, 
he aged fifty-three years, and his wife aged 
fifty-one. There were two other children, 
younger than Mrs. MacDonell. Seven children 
have been born to James G. and Ann J. Mac 
Donell, viz. : James Alexander Greenfield, of 
Memphis, Tennessee; Margaret Jane; Allan, de 
ceased ; Jessie H. ; Frederick William, deceased ; 
John George; and Beatrice Gertrude, deceased. 
The parents are both communicants of the 
Church of England. Mr. MacDonell is a Con 
servative in his political ideas, and fraternally 
belongs to the Masons. He is a man held in high 
esteem in Toronto and the family is a promin 
ent one socially. 

EDWARD FREDERICK CLARKE, M.P., 
late Grand Treasurer of the Grand Orange 
Lodge of Ontario West, and editor and propri 
etor of the Sentinel, who died at his home in To 
ronto March 3, 1905, was one of the leading 
men of the Dominion in every walk of life. 

Mr. Clarke was born April 24, 1850, in Bail- 
lieborough, County Cavan, Ireland, the third son 
of the late Richard Clarke. The father was a 
large linen and flax merchant there and was well 
able to give his children all the advantages of 
a finished education. His death, however, in 
1864, broke up the family home, and Edward 
accompanied his bereaved mother and the other 
members of the family to Toronto. There he 
served his apprenticeship at the printing trade, 
in the office of the Toronto Globe, and was later 
employed on the Toronto Mail. 

Mr. Clarke was married in 1884 to Miss Char 
lotte E. Scott, daughter of Dan and Phyllis 
(Ford) Scott, of Chesterfield, England. In 
1864 Mr. Scott came to Toronto with his family 
and became bookkeeper for W. J. McGuire, of 
that city, a position he filled until his death, in 
1888. Mrs. Scott passed away in 1895. They 
had children as follows: John Herbert and 
Alexander D.. of Toronto; Alice May, wife of 
H. C. Otter, of Chicago ; Sarah Evelyn, Mrs. 
Charles H. Mortimer; Annie S., wife of Edgar 
J. Allen, of London. Ont. : Charlotte E., Mrs. 
Clarke; Minnie Phyllis, wife of T. S. Watson, 
of Ashland, California; and Dan, of Toronto. 



For a number of years Mr. Dan Scott, the father, 
was the salaried tenor singer at St. James 
Cathedral, Toronto. 

Within the limits of a record like the present 
it is almost impossible to do more than to sketch 
the career of so prominent a man and so useful 
a member of society as the late Edward Fred 
erick Clarke. His endeavors covered so many 
lines of activity, he was so energetic, eager, en 
thusiastic, broad-minded, and had such a clear, 
wide view of what life and its environments 
meant, that pages could be filled which would 
be profitably read by those who must admire 
the scope of such a noble career. 

In the great printers strike of 1372 Mr. 
Clarke came to the front, contending that the 
laboring man had a right to leave his employer. 
He was arrested under an old Act passed in the 
days of Queen Elizabeth, which held that it was 
an offense. Willing to sacrifice himself in order 
that the. matter should be brought before the at 
tention of Parliament, Mr. Clarke held to his 
contention, and it was the real beginning of the 
emancipation of labor and the final legalization 
of trades unions. With telling oratory he de 
fended his principles and his name became fa 
miliar throughout the Dominion. 

In 1877 he founded the newspaper which he 
owned entirely at the time of his death, and 
which Mrs. Clarke has since sold, and in this 
journal he had a medium by which he could 
speak to the. thousands whom he could never 
see. He became prominent in the counsels of 
the Loyal Orange Association and was- made 
Deputy Grand Master of the order in British 
America, and Grand Treasurer of the Grand 
Lodge of Ontario West. 

In the general elections of 1886 Mr. Clarke was 
elected to the Ontario Legislature and served 
until 1894, Avhen he voluntarily resigned. In 
1888 he was elected mayor of Toronto, and 
was re-elected, serving four successive terms, 
and being the only individiial ever so distin 
guished in that city. As chief executive of the 
city his administration was notable. He entered 
upon municipal office at a time when a strong 
hand and firm will were needed. Debt faced the 
city in every direction, every department of 
civic affairs had become disorganized. In a 
remarkably short period Mayor Clarke had the 
departments again in working order and the 
debt consolidated, and in this connection he 
negotiated the sale of city bonds in England. 
For floating this loan Mr. Clarke was pre 
sented with an illuminated address, signed by 
leading citizens of the City of Toronto. Dur 
ing his tenure of office the duty of making a new 
street railway contract foil upon Mayor Clarke, 
the old franchise expiring. It was his desire 



100 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



that the city should retain the franchise and 
operate the railway, but he was not able to 
overcome the opposition of a majority of the 
city council. Subsequently Mr. Clarke was able 
to secure the present agreement with the To 
ronto Railway Company, which has been of such 
great advantage to the city. During his ad 
ministration many public improvements were 
inaugurated and the new city hall was com 
menced, Mayor Clarke laying the corner-stone. 
In 1892 Mr. Clarke was appointed a member 
of the Royal Commission on the liquor traffic. 
At the Dominion general election in 1896 he 
was returned as one of the members of the House 
of Commons for Toronto West, and again in 
1900 he was returned at the head of the poll, 
receiving the largest majority in Canada. At 
the general election in 1904 the city ridings were 
redistricted and Mr. Clarke was chosen, after 
a bitter contest with the Liberals, as the stand 
ard-bearer of the Conservative party in Toronto 
Centre. In the House of Commons Mr. Clarke 
was regarded as one of the foremost parlia 
mentarians. He was one of the most convinc 
ing debaters, one of the clearest and most logi 
cal speakers, and had a manner that spoke of 
sincerity in every word. He appeared first at 
Ottawa in August, 1896, and his first address 
was a stirring protest against the resort to the 
spoils system by the new government. All 
through his whole Parliamentary career he was 
the earnest friend of labor and on many occa 
sions came forth in protests by word and pen 
when his zeal imperilled his own political fut 
ure. He exerted great influence, and many of 
his ideas concerning industrialism received the 
careful consideration of the Government. How 
ever, the whole aim of his efforts was in the di 
rection of a closer imperial union, a union of 
sentiments strengthened by a union of inter 
ests, and thus, logically, he favored Canada s 
participation in the South African war. 

Mr. Clarke was thrice elected to Parliament 
and he grew in power and influence continual 
ly. He was an orator and during his tour with 
Mr. Borden through the West, in 1902, he was 
everywhere greeted with enthusiasm. He was 
admired and esteemed by both and all political 
parties, and, although a strong Orangeman, he 
enjoyed the friendship of a large number of the 
Roman Catholic clergy. 

For several years Mr. Clarke was manager of 
the Excelsior Life Insurance Company of To 
ronto, and he was deeply interested in the To 
ronto Western Hospital and was president of its 
board of trustees. He was a consistent Chris 
tian, a devout member of the Reformed Episco 
pal Church. 

Mr. Clarke s home life was wholesome, ten 



der and true as it was beautiful, and to hearth 
stone, wife and children he gladly turned when 
he could put aside for a season the great respon 
sibilities resting upon him. He was the father 
of eight children, namely : Phyllis Ellen, Alice 
Mary Victoria (deceased), Isobel Stewart, Char 
lotte Louise (deceased), Edward George Rey 
nolds, Warring Kennedy, Elizabeth Hastings 
and Evelyn Grace. He was permitted to pass 
the last few weeks of life, after he was stricken 
with illness, with his beloved family. Until the 
immediate end hope was entertained for his re 
covery, but this hope was not fulfilled. In touch 
ing language he bade his loved ones farewell 
and, devoted to them to the last, he sought Di 
vine blessings upon them when he could no 
longer give them his earthly protection. 

From every portion of the Dominion, from 
colleagues, friends, mere acquaintances and peo 
ple in every walk of life, came messages of ap 
preciation and regret, and the crowds which 
thronged his late home while his body was lying 
in state could scarcely be counted. The private 
services were conducted at the home, No. 383 
Markham street, by the Rev. George Orman, 
pastor of Emmanuel Reformed Episcopal 
Church. A public service was held at the Broad 
way Tabernacle and was attended by an im 
mense throng. The funeral was held by the 
city, an honor rarely conferred. The cortege 
was one of the longest and most imposing in 
the history of the city. The final services at 
the grave were under the auspices of the Loyal 
Orange Association. 

ALBERT JOHN WEDD McMICHAEL, M. 
A., pastor of the Catholic Apostolic Church of 
Toronto, is a member of one of the oldest fami 
lies of eastern Ontario. 

The McMichaels were of Dutch extraction, and 
the family was founded in Canada by the grand 
father of our subject, Albert McMichael. who 
came thither from the United States about the 
time of the American Revolution. He married 
Mary Ferris, daughter of John Ferris, who was 
of Scotch descent. On coming to Canada the 
family settled at Waterloo (now Cataraqui), 
about three miles from Kingston, Ont. Here the 
grandfather died. He had nine children : Dan 
iel. M.A., LL.D.. Q.C. ; John; Barbara; Albina; 
Albert; Charles; Osmond; and Kitty and Neil, 
who died in childhood. Of this family Daniel 
was the father of Albert J. W. McMichael. He 
was born at Waterloo, Oct. 8, 1816, and died 
in Toronto, Aug. 5, 1894. After locating in To 
ronto he attended King s College, from which he 
received the degrees of M.A. and LL.D. In To 
ronto he practised law for many years, and dur- 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



101 



ing his life there was one of the representative 
men of that city. He also took an active part 
in the work of the Catholic Apostolic Church, in 
the interest of which he made many trips to Eng 
land. He was made a Q.C. in 1872. Dr. Mc- 
Michael married Amy Wedd, who was born Dec. 
31, 1826, daughter of John Wedd, and sister of 
William Wedd, M.A., formerly first classical 
master of Upper Canada College, Toronto. Mrs. 
McMichael died Aug. 26, 1864. the mother of 
the following children: Amy Adelaide, wife of 
William Cook, B.A., barrister, etc.; A. J. W. : 
and Charles Baldwin, deceased. 

Albert John Wedd McMichael was born in 
Toronto March 22, 1857. and was educated at 
Upper Canada College and Trinity University; 
from which latter institution he was graduated, 
in 1878, with the degree of B.A., receiving the 
degree of M.A. in 1882. He then read law, and 
was called to the Bar in 1883, from which date 
until 1896 he practised his profession. In the 
latter year he was appointed pastor of the Cath 
olic Apostolic Church, Toronto, in which ca 
pacity he has since acted. 

In 1S86 Mr. McMichael married Miss Ada 
Helen Winstanley. daughter of Dr. Winstanley, 
extended mention of whom will be found else 
where, in the sketch of C. J. H. Winstanley. To 
Mr. and Mrs. McMichael were born the follow 
ing children : Albert Roland, who after passing 
through the Model School completed his course 
at the Upper Canada College in 1904, and is 
now a student at Trinity College, Toronto ; Mary 
Charlton; Charles Wedd; Daniel John, deceas 
ed : and Amy Elizabeth. 

The Church in Toronto was set up in 1837, 
and its pastors have been as follows: Capt. 
George Gambier. Rev. George Ryerson, Hev. 
Joseph Elwell. Charles McMichael. and Albert 
J. W. McMichael, who was the successor of his 
uncle. 

DR. RICHARD USHER TOPP, who died in 
Toronto Sept. 7, 1898, was born in Ireland in 
1866, son of John and Charlotte (Boate) Topp. 
In 1877 the family came to Bracebridge. Ont, 
where John Topp lived retired until his death, 
in 1890. His widow continued to reside in Brace- 
bridge until her death, which occurred there 
April 15, 1906. They had three sons, all of 
whom were professional men: Charles H., a 
civil engineer of Victoria, B.C. : Dr. John, a 
dentist of Bracebridge; and Dr. Richard Usher 
Topp. 

Dr. Richard Usher Topp attended the public 
schools and then entered Trinity Medical Col 
lege, from which he was graduated in 1887, with 
the Degree of M.D. Soon after graduation he 
settled at Rosseau, Muskolca, where he practised 



two or three years, at the end of which time he 
returned to Bracebridge, practising in the home 
of his youth until 1895. in which year he settled 
in Toronto. He became well known in the medi 
cal circles of the Queen City, making a spec 
ialty of surgery, in which line he was very fav 
orably known. He spent the remainder of his 
life in Toronto. 

Dr. Topp married Mary Eliza Beley, who was 
born at Rosseau, Muskoka. daughter of Benja 
min and Lucy E. Beley, natives of England. 
The Beleys came to Canada in 1867, settling 
at Muskoka, where Mr. Beley lived retired until 
his death, in 1896, his widow surviving him until 
1900. 

To Dr. and Mrs. Topp were born four sons : 
Charles Beresford, John Usher Sowden, James 
Basil, and George E. Dr. Topp was a promin 
ent member of the Church of the Redeemer. In 
politics he was a Conservative, and fraternally he 
was connected with the Masons and the I.O.O.F. 
In 1900 Mrs. Topp purchased her home at No. 
61 Prince Arthur avenue. Toronto. 

HENRY S. CANE, ex-mayor of Newmarket, 
president and manager of the William Cane & 
Sons Manufacturing Company, of Newmarket, 
and vice-president of the United Factories, Lim 
ited, of Toronto, was born at Queensville, Coun 
ty York, Sept. 19, 1850, son of William and 
Catherine (Belfry) Cane. 

William Cane was for many years the head 
of the firm known as William Cane & Sons, lum 
ber merchants and manufacturers. He was born 
in Albany, New York, in 1822. of Irish parent 
age, and emigrated to Canada in 1833, first lo 
cating in Manvers and then in Mariposa. In 
about 1841 he went to the village of Queetvs- 
ville. County York, where he commenced the 
business of wood turning. He operated the 
pump works, and also purchased the sawmill 
formerly owned by Mr. Wilson, and bouffht 
some land upon which he erected another mill. 
Mr. Cane, during his residence in Queensville, 
was reeve and councillor of the township of East 
Gwillimbury for a number of years, and during 
1874 was warden of the County of York. He 
came to Newmarket in 1875, and in that year 
established the business which, has now such an 
extensive connection; he also purchased a half 
interest in the Sykes & Elvidge foundry and 
engine works, which was destroyed by fire in the 
spring of 1876. In the following year the firm 
of William Cane & Sons commenced the manu 
facture of all kinds of building materials, 
wooden ware of all kinds, such as pails, tubs, 
washboards, clothes pins, etc. They also erected 
a foundry on the same lot, and the entire brace 
of buildings were destroyed by fire in 1885. In 



102 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



this same year the firm erected the present large 
brick factory and warerooms. The sash and blind 
factory was also erected about the same time. 
As manufacturers of pails, tubs, washboards, 
clothes pins, ironing boards and all kinds of 
wooden ware, the firm is known throughout the 
Dominion of Canada, and they likewise export 
their goods to the mother country. 

Mr William Cane s general fitness for public 
office was quickly recognized by the citizens of 
Newmarket, and very little time was allowed 
to elapse after his location in the town 
before his election as a member of the 
council. When Newmarket received the honor 
of incorporation, in 1881, he was elected mayor, 
an office he held for nine years. Mr. Cane was 
married in 1844. to Miss Catherine Belfry, of 
Queensville, and eleven children were born to 
them. Mr. Cane died at his home in Newmarket 
in 1899, loved and esteemed by all who knew 
him. His name will long be cherished with en 
dearing pride, and his neighbors, in passing 
.judgment on his character, will rank him among 
the good and noble men of his time. His worthy 
wife is still living, and resides in Newmarket. 

Henry S. Cane s early education was received 
in the district schools of Queensville, and while 
young he worked in his father s mills and fac 
tories until he mastered the business in every 
detail. After coming to Newmarket in 1875, he 
and his brother William became members of the 
firm of William Cane & Sons, and in 1885 when 
the new works were built the company was in 
corporated as The William Cane & Sons Manu 
facturing Company, Limited. On the death of 
William Cane, Henry S. Cane was made presi 
dent; J. E. Cane, vice-president; E. S Cane, 
secretary, these sons carrying on the business 
under the incorporated name. Henry S. being 
general manager of the business. 

In 1876 Mr. Cane married Miss May Armit- 
age x , born in County Victoria in 1856, daughter 
of Seba Armitage, and to this union were born 
two sons, Howard and Lawrence, who are in the 
manufacturing business with their" father. They 
are both well educated and have bright futures 
before them. In religion Mr. and Mrs. Cane 
are members of the Methodist Church, Mr. Cane 
being a member of the Quarterly Board of offi 
cers. 

In politics Mr. Cane has always been iden 
tified with the Liberal party, and has always 
been active in local affairs. He has been chosen 
many times to represent his party in positions 
of trust and honor. Since 1881 he has been a 
member of the board of council of Newmarket, 
was reeve for five years, and mayor for eight 
years. Such lasting popularity is conclusive evi 
dence of sterling worth. He is active in every 



movement calculated to be of benefit to his com 
munity, and is one of the city s most upright, 
honorable and public spirited men. He is chair 
man of the electric light and water systems, 
these plants being under municipal ownership. 

JAMES PRINGLE, whose death on May 3, 
1895. in Toronto, brought sorrow to his devoted 
family and deep regret to a wide circle of friends 
and business acquaintances, was one of the sub 
stantial citizens and progressive business men 
of the Queen City. Mr. Pringle was born hi 
Scotland June 16, 1828, son of James and Mary 
(Vair) Pringle, natives of Scotland. 

The Pringle family was founded in Canada 
by the subject of this sketch, who came across 
in 1853, settling at Niagara-on-the-Lake for a 
short time and then locating in Toronto, where 
he engaged with the Western Assurance Com 
pany, of Toronto, with which company he re 
mained continuoiisly until his death. He was 
at first general agent, later becoming general 
agent and inspector, and was rated as one of 
the most successful agents ever with the com 
pany. At his death the following memorial, 
handsomely carved in leather, was read at a 
meeting of the board of directors of the Western 
Assurance Company, in Toronto: 

"RESOLVED: That this board desr res to place 
on record an expression of their sense of the 
loss which the company has sustained by the 
death on the 3rd instant of Mr. James Pringle, 
who has been connected with the company in 
various capacities during the past thirty-five 
years, and who, in the prosecution of his duties 
as general inspector and adjuster, always main 
tained a deep interest and zealous devotion to 
the interests and welfare of the company, re 
sulting in a valuable and self-sacrificing serv 
ice, eminently satisfactory to its directors and 
officers. 

The directors wish to extend to Mrs. Pringle 
and family their warmest sympathy and con 
dolence in the deep affliction which they are 
called upon to bear. Signed by George A. Cox, 
president, and J. J. Kenney, managing di 
rector. 

James Pringle was married, in 1854, to Miss 
Margaret Forbes, who was born in Aberdeen. 
Scotland, and to this union children as follows 
were born : James Forbes, who is in business 
in Toronto, married Catherine Laid! aw, and has 
two children, Ina and Franklin ; Alexander, who 
is in the Western Assurance Company s of 
fice, married Sarah Dill, and has three children, 
Rena, Dorothy and Allan; Edward, of Toronto, 
married Bertha Ashenfelter, and has one son, 
Edward; Albert, who is deceased, was with the 
Western Assurance Company, married Ida Ma- 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



103 



belle Booth, who is also deceased, and they left 
one daughter, Elva; Frederick died at the age 
of twenty; Margaret is the wife of Robert 
Weir, and has one daughter, Gladys; 
Mary is the wife of John Ewart; Flor 
ence married John M. Sutherland, who is 
with the Standard Bank of Toronto; Lillian 
Ross is unmarried. 

Mr. Pringle was a Presbyterian. In politics 
he was a Reformer. He was a popular mem 
ber of the Masonic fraternity. 

JOHN LOWE BRODIE was born May 15, 
1835, at Coupar Angus, Scotland, eldest son of 
John Brodie, farmer, East Grange, Culross, who 
was accidentally killed at Culross Station in De 
cember, 1852, leaving a widow with eight chil 
dren, the youngest an infant. 

Mr. Brodie attended Geddes Endowed School 
at Culross. The death of his father led to the 
removal of his widow in 1852 to Dollar, Clack- 
mannanshire, where at the Dollar Academy Mr. 
Brodie finished his education. This academy 
was founded and endowed by Mr. McNab, a 
West India merchant, who was born at Burn- 
brae, Dollar, in 1732. Dr. Milne was head mas- 
ter, and under him Mr. Brodie had the advant 
age of an excellent mathematical training; he 
was also under Dr. Lindsay, through whose class 
a great number of pupils passed attaining emin 
ence in all parts of the world, especially India. 
In 1855, at the age of sixteen, Mr. Brodie entered 
a branch of the Commercial Bank at Alloa, 
where he remained for three years, leaving to 
enter the head office in Edinburgh, where the late 
Alex. Kincaid Mackenzie was manager. In 1861 
the Chartered Bank of India, Australia and 
China applied to Mr. Mackenzie for a thorough 
ly trained accountant for their London office. 
with the prospect of being sent to India to one 
of their branches. Mr. Brodie was chosen, and 
left Edinburgh in 1861 for London, remain 
ing but one year in London and proceeding to 
Bombay, where at the age of twenty-three he 
was appointed manager, serving as such for four 
years. During this time occurred the great 
crisis and panic in the cotton speculations, 
brought about by the American Secession War. 
In 1865 Mr. Brodie resigned his position in the 
bank and accepted an appointment as manager 
of Messrs. H. & B. Cama s Trust large coffee 
plantations held by Parsees. This he closed 
most satisfactorily. In 1868, owing to broken 
health, he returned to Scotland, whence after a 
short sojourn he went to Hanover, leaving in the 
autumn of the same year for the United States, 
where his two brothers were settled. At Wau- 
kesha, Wisconsin, he bought a farm. In Octo 



ber, 1870, Mr. Brodie married his second cousin, 
Adeline J. H. Lowe. 

In November, 1871, having regained his health, 
the old love of finance asserting itself he decided 
to accept a position offered him by the late 
Thomas McCraken, manager of the Royal Can 
adian Bank, Toronto (both Mr. and Mrs. Brodie 
having already visited Toronto and having 
friends there). In the spring of 1875 Mr. Bro 
die accepted the agency of the bank s branch in 
Montreal. After a very short stay, through 
Strong requisites made by Mr. A. J. Somervills 
and the late Mr. John Kerr, Mr. Brodie accepted 
the position of manager of the St. Lawrence 
Bank, then in a very bad condition, and of which 
the late Hon. T. N. Gibbs was president. En 
tering on his duties in the fall of 3875 the ad 
visability of changing the name of St. Law 
rence to the Standard Bank of Canada was not 
long in being considered. The resuscitating of 
a bank was hard, strenuous work, as Mr. Brodie 
wrote to his wife, then in Montreal, "it will take 
ten years of my life." After eighteen years 
service in the Standard Bank, having been ap 
pointed managing director June 6th in place of 
the late Mr. A. Thornton Todd, Mr. Brodie died 
June 18, 1894. 

DR. GEORGE WILLCOCKS, a prominent 
citizen of Toronto, distinguished as a physician 
and surgeon, died in that city in 1885. He was 
born in the County of York, in 1851, son of Abel 
and Fanny (Jobe) Willcocks, natives of Eng 
land, who were among the early settlers of the 
County of York, where for some time Mr. Will- 
cocks was in the lumber business. They later 
settled in Toronto. 

Dr. Willcocks was educated in the home 
schools of his native place, and afterwards in 
Toronto. He then took up the study of medi 
cine, and in 1881 graduated from the Toronto 
School of Medicine, with the degree of M.D. He 
then went to Edinburgh, where he continued to 
pursue his medical studies, and where he receiv 
ed the degree of L.R.C.P. Returning to To 
ronto, Dr. Willcocks engaged in the practice of 
his profession. Although a young man, he was 
well fitted for the work in which he had put his 
entire energy. He had been well educated in 
Toronto, and was a recognized counsel in the 
medical profession, when, in the prime of life, 
he was called to his reward. 

In 1881 Dr. Willcocks and Miss Annie Filbert 
were united in marriage. Miss Filbert was born 
in Toronto, daughter of William and Harriet 
(Shaver) Filbert, the former a native of Ger 
many and the latter of the County of York. To 
Dr. and Mrs. Willcocks were born two daugh- 
- tors: Lillian E., a graduate of the Toronto Con- 



104 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



servatory of Music ; and Georgiana F. Dr. Will- 
cocks was a member of the Methodist Church. 
Politically he was a Reformer, and he was as 
sociated fraternally with the I.O.O.P., the C.O. 
F., and the Royal Arcanum. 

REV. WILLIAM BLAIR, B.A., who passed 
to his reward March 1, 1904, was one of To 
ronto s able ministers of the Methodist denom- 
irfation. A son of William Blair, he was born in 
Ross, Renfrew County, May 6, 1843. 

Although greatly hampered by circumstances, 
Mr. Blair was from early boyhood determined 
to have an education, and so diligently did he 
improve every opportunity that at the age of 
fourteen he was able to pass the examination for 
a third-grade teacher s certificate. Ambitious 
for a better education, after teaching some time 
Mr. Blair entered Albert College. Belleville, in 
the year 1864. There he came under the in 
fluence of Principal Carman, who confirmed him 
in his purpose to enter the ministry. He entered 
the Conference of the Methodist Episcopal 
Church in 1866, and was sent to Ottawa under 
the oversight of the Rev. S. G. Stone, after 
which he was assistant pastor with Rev. Dr. I. 
B. Aylesworth, at Napanee. His next charge 
was Arnprior. During all this time he had 
never abandoned his purpose to complete his 
college work, and on leaving Arnprior returned 
to Albert College. The following year he lab 
ored in Ottawa West. Returning to College 
again he graduated in 1875 with hon 
ors in Metaphysics, Ethics and Civil 
Polity. After his graduation he was 
stationed successively at Lyn, Iroquois, 
Farmersville, Almonte, Smith s Falls. Kempt- 
ville, Waterloo. Que., North Bay, Markham and 
Mimico. When the union of Methodist Churches 
was first proposed Mr. Blair, associated with 
Rev. T. G. Williams, Rev. W. H. Graham, Rev. 
A. D. Traveller and Rev. T. W. Pickett, was 
a prime mover in the matter, was secretary of 
the first meeting held to consider the question, 
and after the union was accomplished was chosen 
first secretary of the Montreal Conference. He 
was financial secretary of the Perth district for 
four years, and the chairman of the Waterloo 
and Nipissing districts. While chairman of the 
Nipissing district he practically opened up the 
Temiscaming district, preaching the first Metho 
dist sermon in the now growing town of New 
Liskeard. While at North Bay, by a change of 
boundaries, h e came into the Toronto Confer 
ence. In 1902 he went to Mimico, his last charge, 
Where his death occurred in 1904. 

Having been received into full connection in 
the ministry, and having graduated with honor, 
the year 1875 was marked by his marriage, June 



25th, to Mrs. Martha A. (Tuttle) Smith (widow 
of Rev. B. A. Smith), who was at the time of her 
marriage to Mr. Blair preceptress of Alexandra 
College, in Belleville. One daughter survives 
of their union, now the wife of H. G. Barber, 
and residing in Toronto. j\Ir. Blair was a prom 
inent man in the councils of the church to which 
he had devoted his life, and was honored by 
being sent as delegate to several of the Gen 
eral Conferences of that body. He was a very 
earnest supporter of the movement for the union 
of the Methodist, Presbyterian and Congrega 
tional churches of Canada, a project that orig 
inated in the reading of a paper on that subject 
by a Presbyterian layman before a young peo 
ple s society. This paper was so well considered 
and showed such a profundity of thought as to 
arrest the attention of all who heard it, and as a 
result a Church Union Conference was called to 
meet at Melville Presbyterian Church. Mark- 
ham. The Conference was largely attended and 
the object enthusiastically discussed, resulting 
in almost a unanimous desire for the union. 
The Conference was concluded by a resolution 
appointing a committee to draft a constitution. 
Mr. Blair with three laymen represented the 
Methodist Church, and he carried the recom 
mendations of this committee to the General 
Conference held at Winnipeg. As a preacher 
of the Gospel. Mr. Blair s whole heart was in 
his work and the success which he achieved and 
the extent of his personal influence for Christ 
was overwhelmingly indicated after his death by 
the appreciative letters which poured in from 
all sides to Mrs. Blair. Not only did he choose 
the work for which he was pre-eminently fitted, 
but he gave to it his whole powers. He was a 
good preacher, a good pastor and a wise coun 
sellor of souls seeking Christ. Faith in God, 
courage, decision and gentleness were marked 
traits in his character. He died amid the activi 
ties of service and he has entered into rest and 
his works follow him. 

ABRAHAM B. FLINT, late of Toronto, was 
for twenty-five years engaged in business in the 
Queen City, and was universally recognized as 
a man of strict integrity and upright business 
principles. He was born in Wisbech. England, 
Aug. 25, 1840, and grew to manhood in his nat 
ive country, where he received his education and 
learned the mercantile business. 

In 1861 Mr. Flint located in Toronto, and 
from that time until his death, which occurred 
in 1886, was well known in the business circles 
of that city. He was engaged as buyer and trav 
eller for Jennings & Brandon, and later became 
a member of the firm of Brandon & Co. The busi 
ness was located on Front street west, in what 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



105 



was known as the Iron Block. Later Mr. Flint 
removed to Colborne street, where the business 
was being conducted five years before his death. 
In Toronto Mr. Flint met and married Miss 
Elizabeth Acred, daughter of Mr. James M. 
Acred and Mrs. Mary (Schofield) Acred, of 
Lincolnshire, England. Abraham B. Flint was 
an honorable business man and a Christian gen 
tleman. In political sentiment he was a Re 
former. 

WILLIAM JOHN THOMAS was one of the 
best-known business men of the Queen City, 
where he was born Dec. 23, 1840, and he died 
Oct. 4, 1904, at his late residence. No. 32 River 
street. 

The Thomas family was founded in Canada 
by James Thomas, the father of "William J., 
who was born in England, and came to Canada 
about the year 1830. Here he followed the busi 
ness of military tailor, his place of business being 
on King street, between Bay and York streets. 
His wife, whose maiden name was Susan Bishop, 
was born in England, and died in Toronto in 
1895. This good couple had two children : Wil 
liam John ; and Susan, the wife of William. 
Brand, of Toronto. 

William John Thomas was educated in his 
native city, where he began his most successful 
business career. He was an architect and also 
a builder, but it was not in these lines that he 
made his record as a business man. From the 
Mail and Empire we have the following regard 
ing Mr. Thomas: "He was born in Toronto; 
educated at the Model school. In 1862 he made 
his first trip to California, and a second trip in 
1880, crossing the Plains both times. After a 
useful experience in mining and in the cattle 
business in Idaho, in 1869 he returned to To 
ronto and became a contractor, erecting some 
of our most important structures. He later be 
came interested in the malting and later in the 
brewing business, under what is known as the 
Ontario Brewing & Malting Company, Lim 
ited, the business being situated on the corner of 
Ontario and King streets, extending to Front. 
Mr. Thomas designed the malt house, erected in 
1882, and the brewery was built in 1885. The 
malt house has a capacity of 225,000 bushels, 
the largest in the Dominion. On entering the 
malt business it was the intention of Mr. 
Thomas to ship malt to the United States, but 
the tariff law made this disadvantageous, and 
he built the brewery, thereby manufacturing 
the product of the malt house into ale and por 
ter. The business was organized in 1882 under 
the name of the Queen City Malting Company, 
and in 1889 assumed the name Ontario Brew 
ing & Malting Company. 



"A prominent man of Toronto said of Mr. 
Thomas : I became acquainted with him as a 
member of the city council in 1879. He is one 
of our wealthiest citizens. He is what is known 
as a safe man, to whom can be trusted a great 
responsibility. I now frequently come in con 
tact with him as a director of the Traders Bank. 
He scarcely ever errs in judgment. Not only 
does he possess splendid business talents, but he 
has the pleasant and easy bearing which makes 
him a very effective business man. He has at 
all times been willing to serve a friend. Many 
men have homes whose families would be with 
out one but for William J. Thomas. 

On Sept. 26, 1876, Mr. William J. Thomas 
and Miss Sarah A. Davies, a member of an early 
family of Toronto, were united in marriage. 
Mrs. Thomas, like her distinguished husband, 
is a native of Toronto. She is a daughter of 
Thomas and Fidelia (Jones) Davis, the former 
of whom was born in Cheshire, of Welsh par 
ents, in 1803, and died in Toronto in 1869. On 
coming to Toronto, in 1832, Mr. Davies embark 
ed in the brewing business. He was the pioneer 
brewer. His every-day deeds were proof of the 
assertion that Worth makes the man. and want 
of it the fellow." Thomas Davies always be 
lieved that his best friends were his ten fingers, 
and that men seldom died of hard work. He 
established his business in 1849, in Toronto, 
which has since been conducted under the names 
of Thomas Davies, Thomas Davies & Son, 
Thomas Davies & Brother, Thomas Davies & 
Co., and is at present known as the Davies Brew 
ing & Malting Company. 

In connection with the Davies Brewing & 
Malting Company, the Mail and Empire of Jan. 
20. 1898, quotes a prominent banker of Toronto 
as saying: "I wish you to understand, sir, that 
the people and patrons of this company are as 
sured that the election of William J. Thomas, a 
man of great executive ability, as president, has 
done much for this company." 

To Thomas Davies and his wife were born the 
following children : Elizabeth, deceased, who 
married Robert Def ries ; Joseph, of Toronto ; 
Sarah A.-, Mrs. Thomas; Thomas, of Toronto: 
Robert, of Toronto; Fidelia, and Henrietta, Mr. 
and Mrs. Davies were members of the Church of 
England. In politics he was a Conservative. 

Mr. and Mrs. William John Thomas became 
the parents of children as follows : Robert Ar 
thur, M.D., a graduate of Trinity Medical Col 
lege, Toronto, 1901, who in 1905 received from 
the College of Physician and Surgeons, of Lon 
don, England, the degrees of L.R C.P. and M. 
R.C.S. ; Miss Sarah A., and Miss Etta Fidelia. 
Mr. Thomas was a member of the Church of 
England, and in politics a Conservative. 



106 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



HENRY PEARETH BRUMELL, who 
passed away in Toronto Jan. 14, 1877, was for 
many years identified with the interests of that 
city. Mr. Briunell was born at Little Hough- 
ton, Northumberland, England, in 1835, son of 
Hawdon and Mary (Blackett) Brumell, the lat 
ter a grand-daughter of Sir Walter Blackett, of 
Matfen. Through his paternal grandmother Mr. 
Brumell was a direct descendant of the Peareths 
of Usworth Castle, in Northumberland, which 
family is now extinct. 

Henry Peareth Brumell grew to manhood in 
England, and there received his literary edu 
cation. Leaving his native country in 1857 he 
went to New York City, and in the following 
year settled in Toronto, where he associated him 
self with Mr. Francis Richardson as a practical 
chemist, later buying out the business. This he 
conducted for some time, and then sold out and, 
with his wife, went to England for a while. Re 
turning to Toronto, Mr. Brumell engaged as a 
commission agent, and later embarked in the 
wholesale druggists sundries biisiness, in which 
he continued for a short time, his place of busi 
ness being in the Phoenix Block. Selling out 
this business he went to Montreal, and, with Mr. 
Robert Russell, embarked in the same line, con 
tinuing there during the remainder of his busi 
ness life. Some years prior to his death he re 
turned to Toronto, where he spent the remainder 
of his days. 

In 1862 Mr. Brumell married Miss Emily Car 
ter, who was born in Northumberland, Eng 
land, daughter of Walter R. and Mary (Maug- 
han) Carter. In England Mr. Carter was a law 
statistician. In 1857 he settled in Toronto, and 
for a time was connected with The Colonist, a 
leading paper of that time. He was later ap 
pointed to the Registry office, after which he was 
with Col. Sir Casimer Gzowski and Mr. McTur- 
son. In 1871 he went to New York City, where 
he remained for some time, retired. Returning 
to Toronto, he died March 14, 1889. His chil 
dren were : Miss Carter, of Toronto ; Mrs. King- 
don, of New York City; Mrs. Brumell; Walter 
Robert, treasurer of the Pacific Express Com 
pany, at St. Louis ; and Maughan, of New York 
City, a practical chemist. 

To Mr. and Mrs. Brumell were born the fol 
lowing children : Henry Peareth Hawdon, a 
mining engineer of Ottawa, married Alice Hun 
ter, of Chicago, and has three children, Mary, 
Henry and John; Mary Lilian, wife of W. A. 
Hamilton, of New York City, has two children, 
Arthur G. and Emily Hope; Walter Blackett, a 
member of the firm of Boyd & Brumell. of To 
ronto, married Kate Peters, and has two chil 
dren, Henry Ralph and Jack; Hawdon, a min 
ing engineer, is at Ottawa. 



Mr. Brumell was a member of the Anglican 
Church, to the faith of which Mrs Brumell also 
adheres. In politics he was a Conservative. 
Fraternally he was connected with the Masons. 

JOSHUA LONG RORDANS (deceased), who 
for many years was a well-known business man 
of Toronto, where he was the first dealer in law 
stationery, passed away in that city in 1888, 
Avhen sixty-four years of age. 

Mr. Rordans was born in 1824 in London, 
England, in which country his parents both 
died. He came to Canada in 1847, and spent 
the rest of his life there. He made the trip in 
a sailing vessel, which was six weeks on the voy 
age, and after disembarking he decided upon 
Toronto as his permanent location, establishing 
himself there as a law stationer, at the corner 
of Church and King streets. For a time he was 
in partnership with Mr. French, but both the 
partnership and the location were given up later 
and for many years Mr. Rordans carried on his 
business alone on King street east, finally retir 
ing some time before his death. 

Twice married, Mr. Rordans children were 
all by his second wife, who survives him and re 
sides at No. 458 Euclid avenue. She was Miss 
Charlotte Turner, and was born in Essex, Eng 
land, in 1826. Their four children were as fol 
lows: John, who is in the book-binding busi 
ness in Boston, Massachusetts ; James, with the 
Canadian Pacific Railroad Company in Van 
couver, B.C.; Mrs. Charles E. Fice. of Toronto; 
and Harry, of Dayton, Iowa. Mrs. Rordans 
is a member of the Church of England, which 
her late husband also attended. 

WILLIAM H. STEWART. Among the 
prominent and enterprising business men of To 
ronto who have passed to their final rest may 
be mentioned William H. Stewart, who died in 
the Queen City in 1904, after an active and 
useful commercial career of about thirty years. 

Mr. Stewart was born in Covington, Kentucky, 
in 1854, son of William and Sarah (Dunkley) 
Stewart, the former a native of Toronto and the 
latter of Ireland. Alexander Stewart, his grand 
father, was a builder, and at one time owned a 
farm Where the city of Toronto now stands. He 
served in the Rebellion of 1837-38, and died 
about 1883. His wife, whose maiden name was 
Ann Maria Hitchcock, passed away in 1899. 
aged eighty -nine years; she was a resident of 
Toronto from her fifteenth year. Among this 
good couple s children was William Stewart, the 
father of William H. He was an architect of 
Hamilton, and at one time a member of the firm 
of Stewart & Strickland, of Toronto. William 
Stewart was the father of the following named 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



107 



children : William H. ; Annie M., deceased ; Alex 
ander, deceased; Walter W. and Charles A., of 
Hamilton ; and Lottie M. 

William H. Stewart was educated in Toronto, 
whither he had come with his parents when six 
years old. He attended the public schools and 
the Upper Canada College, and on completing 
his education engaged with Poster & McCabe, 
in the wholesale fancy goods business, on Wel 
lington street west. After about six years he 
embarked in business as a manufacturer s agent 
with H. C. Boulter, at No. 30 Wellington street 
east. They later went into the manufacturing 
business at No. 13 Front street west, and con 
tinued for about seven years, when they amal 
gamated with a manufacturing firm and became 
known as the Novi Modi, manufacturers of lad 
ies eostxunes. In this line Mr. Stewart con 
tinued until April 19, 1904, when the great fire 
swept that portion of the city. Some time previ 
ous to this he had been at Gravenhurst Sanato 
rium, on account of failing health, and had in 
tended removing to California, and the shock of 
the loss in business no doubt hastened his death. 

In 1888 Mr. Stewart married Miss Georgianna 
Rodger, who was born in Hamilton, daughter 
of John and Elizabeth (Steele) Rodger, natives 
of Glasgow, Scotland (born in 1829 and 1834, 
respectively). Mrs. Rodger died in 1880, while 
her husband is living retired in Hamilton. Mr. 
and Mrs. Rodger came to Canada soon after 
their marriage and at once settled in Hamilton. 
They then went to Chicago, where he was en 
gaged in business until about 1870. in which 
year he returned to Hamilton and engaged in 
the manufacture of wagons, machinery, etc. Mr. 
and Mrs. Rodger had the following children: 
Mary F. and John, both deceased; Caroline E. ; 
Robert, of Hamilton ; Agnes, of Hamilton ; Wil 
liam C., of New York; and Mrs. Stewart, of 
Toronto. 

To Mr. and Mrs. Stewart were born : William 
Steele and Margaret Boulter. Mr. Stewart was 
a member of the Presbyterian Church. He was 
greatly devoted to his home and family, and 
was one of Toronto s most energetic and pro 
gressive business men, as well as a thorough 
Christian gentleman. 

GEORGE SALMON, who for thirty-three 
years was connected with the Canada Life In 
surance Company, was born in Surrey, Eng 
land, in 1836. and died in the city of Toronto, 
May 25, 1903. 

Mr. Salmon received his education and grew 
to manhood in his native country, and there 
joined the Rifle Brigade, with which he came to 
Canada. With this brigade he was on duty at 
Quebec during the Fenian Raid, for which serv 



ices he received his medal. He began 
his business life as a messenger in a 
bank at Guelph,"and shortly afterward went to 
Hamilton. On the 1st of March, 1870, he en 
tered the employ of the Canada Life Insurance 
Company, with which he remained until March 
1, 1903, when failing health made it necessary 
for him to give up active work. In 1899 Mr. 
Salmon located in Toronto, where the main of 
fice of the company had been transferred. He 
was widely known in insurance circles, and high 
ly esteemed as a business man and Christian 
gentleman. 

In 1868 Mr. Salmon married Martha Sample, 
who was born in Hamilton in 1844, daughter of 
Robert and Mary Ann (Smith) Sample, the 
former of whom, born in Ireland in 1823, died 
in Colorado in 1893 ; and the latter, born in Ire 
land, died in Hamilton in 1845. The only child 
of their marriage was Mrs. Salmon. Mr. Sam 
ple married for his second wife Mary Ann Mc- 
Cormick, by whom he had eleven children, five 
of whom are living. Mr. Sample subsequently 
removed to Colorado, where he and his second 
wife died, at the home of their daughter. They 
were Presbyterians in religious faith, and in 
politics he was a Conservative. 

Mr. and Mrs. George Salmon had children as 
follows: George, who is with the Canada Life 
Insurance Company, at Montreal, married An 
nie Isabel Simpson, and has three children, 
Martha Annie, Sarah Irene and George ; Jennie, 
married Crawford McCleary ; Robert is with the 
Canada Life Insurance Company, at Toronto; 
Sarah is with the same company ; William and 
Harry are in Toronto; two children died in 
Hamilton. Mr. Salmon was a member of the 
Church of England. He was a Conservative in 
political matters, and fraternally he connected 
himself with the Ancient Order of Foresters. 
He was buried in Hamilton. 

When Mr. Salmon was a boy in England he 
served in "The Castle" with the gamekeeper, 
and was hunting with the present King Ed 
ward when the latter shot his first rabbit. Mr. 
Salmon carried the game to the Castle, being 
careful not to injure the fur, as the family de 
sired to mount the skin. 

JAMES FLEMING (deceased) may be men 
tioned among the well-known and highly-esteem 
ed business men of Toronto of the past genera 
tion. He was born in Aberdeen, Scotland, in 
1812, and in his native land learned the seed 
business. In 1834 he came to Montreal, whence 
he made his way to Toronto two years later, be 
ginning seed growing on three acres of land 
on Yonge, south of College. Mr. Fleming built 
a seed store and greenhouses for the sale of 



108 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



plants and seeds. This venture proved a most 
profitable one, Mr. Fleming thoroughly under 
standing his business and giving his attention 
to its constant betterment. He was the pioneer 
seed grower of the County of York, and made a 
decided success in his line, accumulating a hand 
some competency. His original place, establish 
ed in 1837, is still in the possession of the fam- 

iiy. 

Mr. Fleming was not only well known as a 
successful seedsman, but as a leader in public 
affairs. In 1864 he was commissioned a justice 
of the peace in Toronto, and in 1888 was ten 
dered the same position for the County of York. 
In 1877 he was elected an alderman for St. 
John s Ward, and was re-elected for three con 
secutive elections. He was a director of the 
Horticultural Society and of the Industrial Ex 
hibition Association. In political sentiment he 
was a Reformer, in religion a member of the 
Presbyterian Church. 

Mr. Fleming was twice married, his first wife 
bearing the maiden name of Margaret Geddea 
She is now deceased, as are the children of that 
marriage. Mr. Fleming was united in marriage 
to Miss Mary E. Wade, daughter of the late 
John Wade, who was born in England in 1803. 
Mr. Wade came to Canada in 1819, settling near 
Port Hope, where he resided until his death. He 
married Elizabeth Barrett, who was born in 
Cornwall, England. Mrs. Fleming survives her 
husband and resides at No. 267 Rusholme road. 

To James and Mary E. (Wade) Fleming 
came one son, James PI., a naturalist of the city 
of Toronto, born in that city in 1872, who was 
educated at Upper Canada College, completing 
the course in 1889. He further pursued his 
studies in Europe, and since returning has been 
engaged in his profession, that of naturalist, in 
the city of Toronto. He married Miss Christine 
Maekay Keefer, now deceased, by whom he had 
two children, Annie Elisabeth and Thomas 
Keefer. 

REV. JOSEPH CHAMBERS GIBSON (de 
ceased), who for a number of years ministered 
to the parish of St. Ann s, in Toronto, had 
seemingly many more years of usefulness before 
him M hen he was called from this world, in 
1872, at age of forty-two. But while his life 
was not long it was rich in good deeds and in 
faithful efforts to lead his fellowmen to a higher 
view of their duties and opportunities, and many 
indeed are those who owe the ideals and inspira 
tion of their Christian lives to his teachings. 
He was born in Cumberland, England, in 1830, 
a son of Rev. John Gibson, of that locality. 

At the age of nine years Rev. Joseph C. Gib 
son came with his parents to Canada, where his 



father was settled at Sutton as rector of the 
English Church, and where both Rev. John Gib 
son and his wife died. After acquiring the 
usual preliminary literary traininsr and general 
education the son entered Trinity College, To 
ronto, and prepared for the ministry, being 
graduated in 1853. In that same year he was 
ordained, and then began his life work as curate 
at Woodstock. After six years he was moved to 
Warwick, thence to Strathroy, and thence to To 
ronto, where until his death he was rector of St. 
Ann s Church. The sincerity of his Christian 
ity and the consistency of his life made all re 
spect his work, while the beauty of his char 
acter won him many warm personal friends, and 
his untimely death was deeply lamented. In 
political sentiment Rev. Mr. Gibson was a Con 
servative. 

Rev. Joseph Chambers Gibson married Miss 
Marcel] a Dewson. and to their imion were born 
the following children: George; Charles A.; 
Charlotte Augusta, the wife of George Sparks, 
of Alberta; Lilla; Edith Josephine; Marcella 
Adelaide ; and Joseph Charles, deceased, who was 
in the Dominion Bank, of Toronto. 

Col. Jeremiah Dewson, Mrs. Gibson s father, 
was born in England, and in 1827 came to Can 
ada with the 15th Regiment, in which he was 
captain. He settled on a farm in East Gwillini- 
bury township, County York, where he and his 
wife spent the remainder of their lives. Of their 
ten children, Mrs. Gibson was born in Kincrs- 
ton, Ontario. 

THOMAS SHAW WEBSTER, M.D., a 
prominent practitioner of surgery and medi 
cine, who is located at No. 581 Spadina avenue. 
Toronto, is a member of a well-known family of 
Ontario. The Websters are of English extrac 
tion, the family being founded in Canada by 
Henry Webster, Sr., the Doctor s grandfather, 
who came from England to New York City, and 
thence to Guelph, where he was engaged as a 
coppersmith and stove dealer for some time. Be 
fore coming to America he had been copper 
smith to the Marquis of Hastings. From Guelph 
Henry Webster went to Fergus, and engaged in 
the stove business until his death. The wife of 
Henry Webster, Sr., was Elizabeth, daughter of 
Thomas Shaw, and among the children of the 
union was Henry Webster, Jr. 

Henry Webster, Jr., was born in England in 
1831. and was but twelve years old when the 
family came to Canada. Growing to manhood 
in Guelph, he removed to Fergus, where he estab 
lished the home later occupied by his father. 
Henry Webster, Jr., was a very successful busi 
ness man. and was able to retire from active life 
many years prior to locating on the farm which 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



109 



lie now occupies, near Fergus. He devotes him 
self to looking after his investments. He mar 
ried Susan Stacy, who is also living, and two 
sons were born to this union : Dr. Thomas Shaw, 
our subject; and Henry Bailey, once a well- 
known breeder of Durham cattle, now a dealer 
in real estate in Regina, Saskatchewan. 

Dr. Thomas Shaw Webster was born at Fer 
gus in 1857, was educated there iri the public 
and high schools, and in time became principal 
of the Fergus public school. He then began 
preparation for his profession, graduating from 
Victoria University in 1888, and from the Uni 
versity of Toronto in 1889. After completing 
his medical course Dr. Webster engaged for one 
year in the practice of his profession at French 
River, and then settled in Toronto, where he has 
been engaged in a large practice since 1891. 
In 1903 the Doctor erected his very pleasant 
home and office at No. 581 Spadina avenue, in 
which immediate locality he has been located 
:since 1894. 

In 1890 Dr. Webster and Miss Georgiana Ross 
Mclntosh were united in marriage, slie being a 
daughter of Daniel Mclntosh. a resident of To 
ronto and for many years a well-known whole 
sale merchant of the Queen City. To Dr. and 
Mrs. Webster have been born two children. Isa 
bel McLean and Henry Fergus Ross. 

Dr. Webster is a member of the Canadian 
Medical Association, the Ontario Medical As 
sociation and the Toronto Medical Society. He 
is gynaecologist to the Western Hospital of To 
ronto. In politics the Doctor is a Conservative. 
Socially he is connected with the Masonic fra 
ternity, the C.O.F. and S.O.E. 

i 

HON. EDWIN N. GUNS AI HATS. Consul of 
the United States of America at Toronto, was 
born in Knox county, Ohio, son of the late Cal 
vin Gunsaulns. M.D., a, native of the State of 
New York, and for many years a noted medical 
practitioner of the Buckeye State. After a long 
and successful medical career Dr. Gunsaulus 
passed away, Jan. 15, 1904. 

Hon. Edwin N. Gunsaulus received his edu 
cation at Mt. Vernon and Mt. Gilead, Ohio, after 
which he served an apprenticeship to the news 
paper business at Mt. Gilead. In 1887 Mr. Gun 
saulus settled in London, Ohio, where for about 
twelve years he was editor of the London Times, 
the leading Republican newspaper of that place. 
In the capacity of editor of this publication Mr. 
Gunsaulus rendered his party very efficient serv 
ice and became very prominently identified with 
the local, State and national organizations. On 
different occasions he was a delegate to the State 
and national conventions of the Republican 
party, in the work of which he took a prominent 



part. Mr. Gunsaulus s public career began when 
he was elected mayor of Centerburg, Ohio, which 
position he resigned to become editor of the 
paper above mentioned. On Feb. 1, 1900, the 
late President McKinley appointed Mr. Gunsau 
lus United States Consul to Pernambuco, Brazil, 
South America, which position he ably filled 
until Nov. 13, 1901, when President Roosevelt 
appointed him consul to Toronto. The history of 
the Republican party of the United States con 
tains a full record of Mr. Gunsaulus s work in 
connection therewith. Mr. Gunsaulus is a cousin 
of the Rev. Frank W. Gunsaulus, the well- 
known president of the Armour Institute, Chi 
cago. 

DR. F. H. TORRINGTON. Dr. Torrington s 
name is so well known throughout Canada and 
the United States, and his identification with 
the musical resources of Canada has been so 
marked, that a mere record of his active work is 
a. sufficient indication of the position he holds in 
the musical world. 

Dr. Torrington was born in Dudley, 
Worcestershire, England. At seven years of age 
he gave evidence of marked ability in playing 
the violin, and was placed by his parents under 
the care of competent musical instructors in Bir 
mingham. Afterwards, he was articled for four 
years to James Fitzgerald, Cathedral organist 
of St. George s and St. Mary s, at Kidder 
minster, subsequently becoming organist and 
choirmaster of St. Ann s Church, Bewdley. 

After a successful career in England Dr. Tor 
rington came to Canada, and was engaged in 
Montreal as organist of Great St. James Street 
Methodist Church, which position he occupied 
for twelve years. He then removed to Boston, 
Massachusetts, having been appointed organist 
and musical director of King s Chapel, which 
position he left in 1873 for the one he now holds, 
in the Metropolitan Church of Toronto. Upon 
his arrival in Toronto, he accepted the conduc- 
torship of the Toronto Philharmonic Society. 
While residing in Boston he was conductor, in 
association with Carl Zerrahn and P. S. Gilmore, 
of the mass rehearsals of the great chorus of the 
last. Boston Jubilee, as well as being conductor 
of a number of musical societies. He was also 
professor of piano and solo organist at the New 
England Conservatory of Music. Boston, Massa 
chusetts ; first violinist of the Harvard Sym 
phony Orchestra ; solo organist at Boston Music 
Hall ; and solo organist at Plymouth (Henry 
Ward Beecher s) Church, Brooklyn. New York. 
His experience as organist at King s Chapel, and 
professor of piano at the New England Con 
servatory of Music, and as conductor of orches 
tral and vocal societies, together with his train- 



110 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



ing as a cathedral organist and choirmaster, and 
his ability as a violinist, eminently fitted him for 
the work he has accomplished in Toronto. 

Thus Dr. Torrington s name is the synonym 
for leadership and experience in everything mu 
sical in Canada. The value of his teaching is 
commensurate with his reputation. He strives 
assiduously to impart to his pupils correct meth 
ods, and to place before them every legitimate 
aid in acquiring a thorough, modern musical 
education. A special feature of his work is the 
training of advanced pianists and vocalists for 
professional work. Provision is made for the 
public appearance of such, with full orchestral 
accompaniment; opportunities are also offered 
for those duly qualified to appear in oratorio, 
and in church concerts. Among the many vocal 
pupils of Dr. Torrington, who have attained dis 
tinction, special mention may be made of Miss 
Eileen Millett. 

To Dr. Torrington is due the conception of 
establishing musical festivals in Toronto. The 
first took place in June, 1886, with 1,000 voices 
in the chorus, and 100 performers in the or 
chestra, at which he conducted the great ora 
torios. "Israel in Egypt" (Handel) and Gou 
nod s "Mors et Vita," the miscellaneous pro 
grammes including the overtures to "Tann- 
hauser" (Wagner), "Ruy Bias" (Marchetti), 
"William Tell" (Rossini), and "Oberon" 
(Weber), etc. Dr. Torrington also conducted 
the Festival given at the inauguration of the 
new Massey Music Hall, in June, 1895, and the 
Jubilee performance of Mendelssohn s oratorio 
"Elijah," given at Massey Hall in November, 
1896. He was engaged to train the large chorus 
and orchestra for the reception to the Duke and 
Duchess of York in Toronto, in October, 1901, 
and was associate conductor with Sir Alexander 
Mackenzie, President and Director of the Royal 
Academy of Music, London, England, for the 
Cycle of Musical Festivals inaugurated by C. 
A. E. Harriss, Mus. Bac. (Tin. Tor.), held April 
16-17-18, 1903, in Toronto. On June 13, 1902, 
the degree of Doctor of Music (Mus. Doc.) was 
conferred upon Dr. Torrington by the Univers 
ity of Toronto, in recognition of the valuable 
services he had rendered to the cause of music 
in Toronto during the past twenty-nine years. 

Some years ago Dr. Torrington made an ex 
tended tour through Europe in the interests of 
the Toronto College of Music, visiting the Leip- 
sic Conserve torium and Gewandhaus; the Hoch 
(Joachim) School of Music, Berlin; the Wag 
ner Festival at Bayreuth; the Royal Academy 
of Music, London; the Royal College of Music, 
London; and the Collesre of Organists, London. 
He was also most cordially received by Sir John 
Stainer, Professor of Music. Oxford University ; 



Sir Alexander Mackenzie, Royal Academy; Sir 
Frederick Bridge, Westminster Abbey, and 
Professor Gresham College; Dr. W. H. Cum- 
mings, of the Guild Hal 1 School of Music ; Dr. 
Turpin, College of Organists ; and in Leipsic by 
Herr Jadassohn and Herr K>ause. and other 
eminent musicians. It is very satisfactory to 
find that the strongest features of these vari 
ous schools of music are incorporated in the 
scheme adopted as the basis of the work of the 
Toronto College of Music. 

The Toronto College of Music is justly en 
titled to rank as one of the most advanced in 
stitutions of its kind in Canada, not only from 
the character of its general work, but because on 
several most important lines of musical education 
it bears more than favorable comparison with 
the most eminent musical schools of Europe and 
America. Founded by Dr. Torrington in 1888, 
incorporated by Government in 1890, the first 
musical institution recognized by affiliation with 
the University of Toronto, the Toronto College 
of Music has. from its inception, proved to be 
a prosperous and ever-increasing effective agency 
for musical development in the Dominion. The 
amount of its capital is placed at $50,000. The 
charter granted by Government gives power for 
the fullest development in the art and science of 
Music, together with control of lands, build 
ings and appliances necessary thereto. 

Graduates of the Toronto College of Music 
are afforded the highest Toronto University ad 
vantages, being exempted from all examinations, 
except the third or final, for the degree of 
Bachelor of Music. The faculty of the Toronto 
College of Music has, from the opening, consist 
ed of the most prominent and experienced ex 
ecutive and theoretical musicians, representing 
the best methods of Germany, France, Russia, 
Italy, England and America. Students have 
thus been drawn to the College from all parts 
of Canada and the United States, and its ex 
aminations in music are sought throughout the 
Dominion of Canada. Amongst those who have 
taken both the Theory and Practical examina 
tions are the daughters of the Governor-General 
of Canada (Lord Minto and the Countess of 
Minto), .the Ladies Ruby and Violet Elliot, 

The equipment of the College is complete in 
every department, and unusual facilities are 
provided for the most thorough all-round musi 
cal education, including two of the largest and 
most complete three-manual and four-manual 
modern organs; orchestra under Dr. Torring 
ton s personal direction; choir and oratorio 
chorus training, notably in the Toronto Festival 
chorus and the Metropolitan Church choir; and 
special opportunities for introduction in con 
cert, oratorio and church work, together with 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOC4RAPHICAL RECORD 



111 



every up-to-date means calculated to educate 
musicians on broad lines. Vocal and instru 
mental graduates are brought out with full or 
chestral accompaniment, conducted by Dr. Tor- 
rington. Practical testimony to the efficacy and 
value of Toronto College of Music training is 
accorded through the fact that its vocal, instru 
mental and theory graduates are being constantly 
sought to fill important positions as teachers, or 
ganists, choir directors, and as soloists for con 
certs and church engagements. 

Through the generosity of Mrs. Massey Treble 
patron of the Toronto College of Music one 
of the finest organs in the world has been placed 
in the Metropolitan Church, of which Dr. Tor- 
rington is organist and choir director. This 
organ, the specifications of which were prepared 
by Dr. Torrington and Mr. Lemare, has electric 
pneumatic action, four manuals, seventy-seven 
stops, and all modern appliances, including a 
complete chime of bells. The pedal board, the 
first of its kind in use in Canada, is termed con 
cave and radiating, and is the scale adopted by 
the American Guild of Organists. The organ 
was built by Messrs. Karn-Warren, Woodstock, 
the whole construction being designed and car 
ried out under the personal direction of Mr. C. 
S. Warren. On March 9, 1904. the organ was 
formally opened, when the Toronto Festival 
chorus sang Mendelssohn s "Hymn of Praise," 
under the direction of Dr. F. H. Torrington, and 
on which occasion he displayed the beauties of 
the organ in a brief recital. Mr. Edwin H. Le 
mare, the celebrated English organist, gave a 
recital on March 10th, and pronounced it the 
finest instrument on the continent. The main 
organ stands behind the pulpit, with auxiliary 
organs on each side, the solo and echo organ 
being placed at the opposite end of the church, 
all being connected by pneumatic tubing and 
electric cables laid beneath the flooring. 

REV. WILLIAM REID, D.D. The late Dr. 
William Reid, of Toronto, was a man whose en 
tire life was devoted to the work of the Chris 
tian ministry, in connection with the Presby 
terian Church in Canada. For more than fifty 
years he took a leading part in the work of this 
church, and was widely known throughout tfie 
Dominion. Full of charity and good-will, he had 
numerous friends, while his sound judgment and 
sterliner character won him a place in the front, 
rank of church leaders. 

Dr. Reid was born in Aberdeen shire, Scot 
land, in 1816, and in his native country was 
well prepared for his work as a minister. In 
1839 he came to Canada, and in 1840 was set 
tled at Graf ton. Ont.. as his first pastorate. 
Here he remained until 1849. when he accepted 



a call to Picton, and there served until 1853. At 
this time he removed to Toronto to become agent 
for the then Canada Presbyterian Church, an 
office which he held, amid {ne various changes 
in the constitution of the church, until his death 
in January, 1896. 

In 1848 Dr. Reid married Miss Mary Ann 
Harriett Street, daughter of William and Mary 
Ann (Porter) Street. William Street was born 
in England in 1779, and died in 1834, while his 
wife, born in 1781, passed away in 1864. In 
1832 they came to Canada, and after living at 
Niagara Falls for a short time went to An- 
caster, where Mr. Street died. Mrs. Reid was 
born in Devonshire, England, in 1820. and, 
after a long and useful life, died in 1905, hav 
ing resided for forty-nine years in the same im 
mediate vicinity on Bloor street east, Toronto. 
Dr. and Mrs. Reid were the parents of four sons 
and four daughters, of whom two sons and 
three daughters survive. 

DR. W. J. CHARLTON, of Weston, Ont, is 
known throughout his community both as a phy 
sician and surgeon of skill, and as a prominent 
public man. He was born on the 4th Conces 
sion of York township, son of John and Mary 
(Bull) Charlton, the former born in Cumber 
land, England, in July, 1807, and the latter in 
County York, Ont., in March, 1817. 

On coming to Canada Mr. and Mrs. Charlton 
settled in Toronto, but later located on the 4th 
Concession of York township, remaining there 
until their removal to Weston. At the latter 
place Mr. Charlton died in 1893. and his wife 
survived him ten years, passing away in the 
faith of the Methodist Church, of which he 
was an adherent. In politics he was a Con 
servative. Eight children were born to Mr. and 
Mrs. Charlton : Edward, a merchant of San 
Francisco, California, where he was a sufferer 
during the earthquake in that city, losing all 
his property; John, an orange-grower of Los 
Angeles. California; Thomas, of Toronto; Rob 
ert, a farmer of Meadowdale, Ont. ; Albert, con 
struction engineer of the Canadian Pacific Rail 
way at Winnipeg (is married and has a fam 
ily) : Mrs. G. C. Moore, of Oakville; Mrs. A. 
C. Atwood, of London, Ont, and Dr. W. J. 

W. J. Charlton was reared on the home farm 
in York township, and received his education in 
the public! schools and the Streetsville high 
school. In 1880 he entered the Toronto Uni 
versity, and graduated from that institution in 
1883, after which he spent one and one-half 
years as resident house surgeon in the Toronto 
General Hospital, at the end of this time locat 
ing in Weston village, and first settled on Main 
street. He erected a fine brick home on North 



112 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



Station street in 1893, and here he has success 
fully continued to the present time, engaged in 
the practice of his profession. Dr. Charlton 
is a skilled physician, and he has won the con 
fidence of the community, thereby gaining a 
large and lucrative practice. 

In June, 1885, Dr. Charlton was united in 
marriage with Miss Annie McNally, born at 
Hanover, Ont., daixghter of Samuel McNally, 
of Hanover. Mrs. Charlton. who was a gradu 
ate of Whitby College, passed away at her 
home in March, 1903, at the age of thirty-five 
years, in the faith of the Methodist Church, of 
which she was an active member, being president 
of the Ladies Aid Society. To Dr. and Mrs. 
Charlton were born children as follows: Norma, 
a student of the High school ; Dorothy ; and 
Howard. 

Dr. Charlton is connected with the Metho 
dist Church, in which he has been recording 
steward for the past eighteen years. In poli 
tics he is a Conservative, and was reeve of 
Weston village for five years, as well as a mem 
ber of the high school and public school boards. 
The Doctor is very prominent fraternally, 
holding membership with the following organi 
zations : Humber Masonic Lodge of Weston, the 
I.O.O.F., the Ancient Order of Foresters, the 
Independent Order of Foresters, the Canadian 
Order of Foresters, the Royal Templars, the 
Canadian Order of Social Friends, Canadian 
Home Circle, and the Sons of England Ben 
evolent Society. Dr. Charlton has been coroner 
for the Coxinty of York, Ont., for the past fif 
teen years. 

JOHN CREIGHTON, a well-known bar 
rister at law of Toronto, is a native of the Queen 
City, and a son of William and Margaret 
(Mount joy) Creighton, natives of Ireland. 

William Creighton and his wife came to Can 
ada about 1840, and settled for a short time 
at Oakville, where the former engaged in the dry 
goods business. In 1851 they located in Toronto, 
on King street east, where Mr. Oreighton con 
tinued in the dry goods business until his re 
tirement from active life. He owned a large 
amount of real estate in Toronto, among which 
was his fine home at No. 507 Jarvis street, with 
much adjacent property. In addition to this he 
owned the home on King street in which Mr. 
Stitts is now living. Mr. and Mrs. Creighton 
were members of the Church of England In 
politics he was a Conservative. Their children 
were : Mrs. Mina Gordon : Mrs. John Payne ; 
James B., of Toronto: William T., of Winni 
peg ; Mrs. Murray H. Miller, of Winnipeg ; Miss 
Florence, of New York; and John. 

John Creighton was born on the present site 



of the "KiDg Edward Hotel," Toronto, in 1853, 
and was educated at the Toronto high school, 
taking his legal studies at Osgoode Hall, and 
completing his education in 1880. Since that 
time he has been engaged in the practice of h -s 
profession in his native city. Mr. Creighton a 
specialty is titles, and he has been connected 
with some very important cases in this con 
nection, among which may be mentioned the 
Sefton Trust case, 1886, England, which he set 
tled without legal action ; the Creighton vs. 
Pearson case in Toronto; the Creighton vs. 
Sweetland action against the sheriff of Ottawa ; 
and he was also successful in the case of Schwen- 
nessen vs. Harris, of Chicago, to which city Mr. 
Creighton went at the time. He is a Conserva 
tive in political principle, and his religious 
faith is that of the Church of England. 

REV. SAMUEL ROSE, D.D., who deD.nrtcd 
this life at his late residence, No. 27 Rose ave 
nue, July 16, 1890. was a well-known resident of 
Toronto for many years, and a leading Metho 
dist divine of Ontario. 

Dr. Rose was born at Picton, Ont., Sept. 13, 
1806. He was the son of Peter and Wiunifred 
(Byrns) Rose. Peter Rose was twice married, 
his second wife being Mrs. Gerolamy, of a U. 
E. Loyalist family. Peter Rose was also a des 
cendant of a U. E. Loyalist, who fled in the 
night with his wife and family from a com 
fortable home, to live in the forest, under the 
British flag. 

Dr. Rose received his education in the best 
schools then known in Canada, always keeping 
abreast of the times. He held pastorates in 
various places in Ontario, spending six years as 
governor of Mount Elgin Institute, an institu 
tion for the education of Ihe Indians and sup 
ported by the Government and the Missionary 
Society of the Methodist Church. In 1865 he 
was appointed book steward of the Methodist 
Book Room, then situated on King street and 
since removed to Richmond street. This posi 
tion he filled with great satisfaction for four 
teen years. On retiring from this position he 
settled on Rose avenue, one of the most pleasant 
residential streets of the Queen City, which was 
named in honor of him. 

Dr. Rose was twice married, his first wife 
being Matilda Burdick, daughter of Rev. Caleb 
and Lavina Burdick (all of TT. E. Loyalist 
stock), who died after a short married life, 
leaving him one daughter, now Mrs. Frank- 
Byrne, of Huron street, Toronto. His second 
wife was the daughter of John and Susannah 
Street, of St. John s, in the Niagara District, 
and to them were born five children, three 
daughters and two sons, John E. Rose, deceased, 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



113 



and S. P. Rose, a Methodist minister, now sta 
tioned in Winnipeg, and well known in the min 
istry in Ontario and Quebec. Sarah Rose, 
daughter of Dr. Rose, lives in the home at No. 
27 Rose avenue. 

Dr. Rose was long identified with the Chris 
tian ministry and labored faithfully for his 
fellowmen. He will be well remembered in the 
Queen City and elsewhere. 

EDWARD LEADLAT was among the prom 
inent business men of Toronto who founded and 
carried through to a most successful issue the 
industrial enterprises associated with their 
names, and he passed away in that city Sept. 17, 
1899, after forty-six years of active participa 
tion in the commercial development of the place. 

Mr. Leadlay was born in Scarborough, Eng 
land, in 1827*, son of Capt. Dowker Leadlay, 
who was for many years commander of an ocean 
vessel. The son grew up in his native land, re 
ceived a good literary education, and thereafter 
made himself thoroughly familiar with the mill 
ing business. Having learned its details, Mr. 
Leadlay migrated to the United States and pro 
ceeded to put his knowledge to active use in 
New York State. However, he soon removed 
to Toronto, and embarked in an entirely new 
line, the wool and sheepskin business. He was 
located on Queen street west, just opposite the 
Asylum, and from the first the new enterprise 
prospered. Mr. Leadlay gave his entire atten 
tion to his affairs, and his careful supervision 
and the sound judgment he displayed bore their 
legitimate fruit in the rapid development of his 
business, which soon assumed a leading place 
among the industries of Toronto. Later, in ad 
dition to this, Mr. Leadlay was instrumental in 
bringing about the erection of the Standard 
Woolen Mills, in Toronto, and was identified 
with their management until his death. 

Mr. Leadlay was as good a citizen as he was 
a business man, and while he never took a per 
sonal share in political work he was keenly in 
terested in matters of the public welfare. He 
was not a supporter of any given party, for in 
his judgm ent party organization was but a 
means to an end, and he always gave his support 
to the one which on any given occasion best 
served the true interests of Canada and the Can 
adians. 

Mr. Leadlay was first married to Jane Pick 
ering, of Scarborough, England, who died in 
Toronto, leaving three children : Mary, deceased, 
who was the wife of Albert Ogden ; Annie, de 
ceased; and Edward, who married a Miss Hen 
derson. In 1866 Mr. Leadlay married, in To 
ronto, Miss Mary Isabel Ferris, who was born 
in Glenavy, County Antrim, Ireland, where her 



parents, the late Robert and Susanna Ferris, 
passed their entire lives. In 1863 Mrs. Lead- 
lay came to Toronto, where she has ever since 
resided. The recent home of the Leadlay fam 
ily, at No. 25 Esther street, was built by Mr. 
Leadlay in 1876, and was sold by his widow 
some time after his death. In 1904 she built her 
present home, at No. 38 S herbourne street 
north. Of the children born to Edward and 
Mary I. (Ferris) Leadlay, Gertrude is the 
widow of F. H. Laud, of Boston, Massachusetts ; 
Percival, who is conducting his father s business, 
is married to Frances Linnington. of Chicago; 
and Reginald (deceased) married Eva Shep- 
pard, and they had one daughter, Eva Gertrude 
Isabel. 

Mr. Leadlay was a man of not only marked 
financial ability, but of most upright and hon 
orable character, and was a devoted husband 
and father. He was a member of the Metho 
dist Church. He was a director in the Domin 
ion Bank of Toronto. 

* HON. JOHN MONTGOMERY, who died in 
New Brunswick in 1867, was for many years 
a prominent public man of that Province. He 
was born on Prince Edward Island, in 1800, 
son of Archibald Montgomery, who was a native 
of the same place, and whose father, born in 
Scotland, located on Prince Edward Island at 
an early day. 

As well as being prominent in public mat 
ters, the Hon. John Montgomery was closely 
identified with the business interests of tho 
times. He was a member o the firm of H. & 
J. Montgomery, well-known shipbuilders of Dai- 
housie, N.B. His public life covered about a 
quarter of a century, during which time he was 
a member of the Assembly of New Brunswick. 

In 1833 Mr. Montgomery married Miss Eliza 
beth Hamilton, born in Scotland in 1814, daugh 
ter of the late John Hamilton, the first whit^ 
settler at Dalhousie, N.B. The place was named 
Hamilton in his honor, but was later changed 
to its present name. In 1895 Mrs. Montgom 
ery and her daughter settled in Toronto, their 
residence at No. 1530 King street overlooking 
Lake Ontario, and being one of the fine homes 
of the city. 

JOHN BRECKENRIDGE READ, who pass 
ed away in Toronto Sept. 9, 1882, was for many 
years a well-known barrister of that city, and a 
brother of the late D. B. Read, the author of 
Read s "History of the Judges." Mr. Read 
was born at Merrickville, Ont. Feb. 1, 1832, 
son of John L. Read, also a native of Canada. 

John B. Read was educated at Peterboro, 
under the private tuition of the Rev. Mr. Tayler, 



114 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



and was later a law student iinder Read & 
Leith. He was called to the Bar of Toronto in 
1853, and soon thereafter formed a partnership 
with Mr. Richard Ruttan, son of Sheriff Rut- 
tan, of Cobourg, where he remained some time. 
He then came to Toronto and became a member 
of the well-known firm of Read, Leith & Read, 
the firm consisting of David B. Read, Alex 
ander Leith and John B. Read. This partner 
ship continued for a number of years, and on 
its dissolution our subject for some time con 
tinued legal practice alone. He was then ap 
pointed solicitor for the Law Society, a posi 
tion he held until his death. 

On April 28, 1858. Mr. Read and Miss Rox- 
ana Ballard were united in marriage. She was 
born in Prince Edward County, daughter of 
Norman and Roxalane (McConnell) Ballard; 
the former a native of Massachusetts, and the 
latter of New Jersey, their people being United 
Empire Loyalists and early settlers of Canada. 
His father was Luke Ballard, the founder of 
the Ballard family in Canada. Norman Bal 
lard, the father of Mrs. Read, was for many 
years a merchant at Picton, and later received 
the appointment as agent of the Crown Lands 
office at that point. Here he died aged sev 
enty-seven years, his wife passing away in her 
sixty -third year. The children of Norman and 
Roxalane (McConnell) Ballard were: Luke is 
deceased; Cynthia Jane, born in 1820, resides 
in Vancouver; Emily, deceased, was the wife 
of the late D. B. Read; Erastus Perrins is de 
ceased; Roxana. Mrs. John B. Read, was born 
in 1832; Norman Upson is deceased; and Anna 
is Mrs. Donald Fraser. 

To John B. and Roxana (Ballard) "Read was 
born the following family: (1) Jessie, married 
Dr. R. Francis, of Montclair, New Jersey, and 
has two children Margaret and John Read. (2) 
Emily May, married Justice Archer C. Martin, 
of Victoria, B.C., and has two sons Archer 
D Arcy and Oliver Carew. (3) Ethel is the wife 
of John M. Laing, M.A., Oxon., principal of the 
collegiate school at Victoria, B.C., founded in 
1895. and which in 1905 had an enrollment of 
fifty boys. (4) Norman is with the street rail 
way company, Toronto. (5) Harold, in busi 
ness in Chicago, married Gwendolyn Beddone, 
of Toronto. (6) Percy, of Chicago, married 
Blanche Henderson, of Toronto, and has one 
daughter Audrey. (7) Lionel, manager of the 
Merchants Bank of St. George, Ont., married 
Agnes McLean, and has one daughter Agnes. 
(8) Douglas is manager for H. 0. Armour & 
Co., at Mobile. Alabama. Mr. Read was a mem 
ber of the Church of England. In politics he 
was a Conservative. He was affiliated frater 
nally with the Orangemen. 



EDWARD COURSOLLES JONES, who pass 
ed away at his late residence, No. 241 Church 
street, Toronto, in 1885, was born at Brock- 
ville, Ont., in 1823, son of Jonas A. and Mary 
(Ford) Jones, both of whom were natives of 
Canada. 

Jonas A. Jones and his family settled in To 
ronto in 1836, and here Mr. Jones practiced law 
for some time, finally being appointed to the 
Bench, on which he served until his death in 
1848. His widow passed away in Toronto in 
1869. 

Edward Coursolles Jones was educated at the 
Toronto University and was called to the Ontario 
Bar. He at once settled in Toronto in the prac 
tice of his profession, in which he continued 
until his death in 1885. In 184S he married 
Miss Margaret Innes, a daughter of Robert and 
Margaret (Donoven) Innes, the former born in 
Scotland, and the latter in Canada in 1783. They 
came to Canada at a very early day and set 
tled in Amherstburg. where Mrs. Jones was born 
Dec. 20, 1819. Her mother died in 1864. To 
Edward Coursolles Jones and his wife were 
born: Mary Louisa, who married Captain 
Geddes, and both died, leaving two daughters 
Petica and Margaret; Edward Coursolles, of 
England; and James Gordon, a barrister of To 
ronto. From this it will be seen that three gen 
erations of the Jones family have engaged in the 
practice of law in the Queen City. 

Mrs. Jones, who resides at No. 241 Church 
street, Toronto, has passed the eighty-seventh 
milestone of life s journey, but is in full pos 
session of all of her faculties, and her memory 
of early times, and her reminiscences thereof, 
are full of interest to the younger generations. 
Mrs. Jones is a member of St. James Cathedral, 
of which her husband was also a member. In 
the death of Edward Coursolles Jones, the On 
tario Bar lost a prominent and eminent mem 
ber, and the City of Toronto one of its esteem 
ed citizens. 

REV. JAMES BRECKENRIDGE, who died 
at Streetsville, Ont, in 1879, was for many years 
a well-known Presbyterian divine of Ontario. He 
was born in Scotland in 1830, son of Edward 
Breckenridge, who came from Scotland to Can 
ada many years ago, soon afterward removing 
to the State of Illinois, where he died. 

Rev. James Breckenridge was but a young 
man when he came to Canada, and he first en 
gaged in teaching in the County of Peel. Feel 
ing it his duty to enter the ministry, he accord 
ingly fitted himself for the work, and in 1869 
entered the ministry of the Presbyterian Church, 
in which he continued until his death, in 1879. 
The great and good work accomplished by the 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



115 



Rev. Mr. Breckenridge in the preaching of the 
Gospel will long be remembered by the people of 
Streetsville, where the greater part of his work 
was done. 

ALEXANDER MANNING. The city of To 
ronto lost a public-spirited and useful citizen 
and progressive, energetic business man in the 
death of Alexander Manning, which occurred 
at his late residence, No. 11 Queen s Park, To 
ronto, Oct. 20, 1903. Mr. Manning was born in 
Dublin, Ireland, May 11, 1819. 

Alexander Manning came to Canada in 1834, 
and settling in Toronto when that place first 
became a city, he began a business career that 
was one of the most successful in the history of 
the city. For sixty-nine years he was a prom 
inent factor in business and public life, and at 
the time of his death he was a large land and 
real estate owner and one of the wealthy men 
of the Queen City. On first locating in Toronto 
Mr. Manning engaged in contracting, which he 
followed throughout his life. He built the first 
sawmill in Toronto, and among his later con 
structions were the Manning Arcade at No. 24 
King street west, and the Manning Chambers on 
City Hall Square, both of which buildings are a 
part of the Manning estate. 

Not only was Mr. Manning prominent as a 
business man, but he was also a representative 
public man as well. He was an alderman of the 
city for a number of years, and mayor thereof 
in 1873 and 1885. He was twice married. His- 
only surviving children are by his second wife, 
Susan Smith, who was born at Sherbrooke, 
daughter of Sir Hollis Smith, and who died in 
1889. The children were: Blanche, deceased; 
Georgie Edna, wife of Hume Blake; and Percy 
Alexander. 

The late Alexander Manning was a staunch 
Conservative. In his religious views he was a 
strict churchman, and was always a consistent 
and devoted member of the Church of Eng 
land. 

JAMES FRASER, who passed away at his 
late residence. No. 16 Walker avenue, Toronto, 
Feb. 2, 1905, was for many years a well-known 
and highly-esteemed business man of the Queen 
City. He came of sturdy Scotch stock, being 
born in Glasgow, Scotland, July 24, 1827. son 
of William and Margaret (Laird) Fraser. 

Mr. Fraser grew to manhood in his native 
country and there received his education. 
About 1847 he came to Canada and engaged in 
the insurance business in Toronto for the Liv 
erpool & London & Globe Company, continuing 
in this capacity until 1882, when he retired from 
active life. 



On Feb. 2, 1853, in Toronto, just fifty-two 
years before his death, Mr. Fraser married Miss 
Agnes Gemmel, born in Glasgow in 1825, daugh 
ter of Alexander and Margaret Gemmel, natives 
of Scotland, who came to Canada during Mrs. 
Fraser s girlhood, settling in Montreal, whence 
they went in a few years to Toronto. After their 
marriage Mr. and Mrs. Fraser settled on Bond 
street, and from there removed to the present 
home of the Hon. Robert Jaffray, corner of Gren- 
ville street and Surrey place, which Mr. Fraser 
built. Here they resided for seventeen years, 
and then went to Guelph, returning after three 
years to Toronto. They then settled on Daven 
port Hill, but Mr. Fraser later built the home 
at No. 16 -Walker avenue, Where he was living 
at the time of his death. Not only was Mr. 
Fraser well known in business circles, but in 
municipal and church matters as well. For sev 
eral years he was a member of the council of 
Toronto, and served in that body with credit to 
himself and to the satisfaction of his constitu 
ents. He was a member of the Bond Street 
Congregational Church for many years, and laid 
the corner-stone for the present edifice. For 
twenty-five years he was a deacon in the Bond 
Street Church. On returning from Guelph he 
became connected with the Charles Street (now 
Westminster) Presbyterian Church, but at the 
time of locating in his last residence he identi 
fied himself with the Deer Park Presbyterian. 
Church, with which he was connected at the 
time of his death. 

Mr. and Mrs. Fraser had a family of four 
daughters and two sons, one son and one daugh 
ter dying in infancy; the remaining son. Ed 
ward, resides in California. Mrs. Fraser sur 
vived her husband fourteen months, passing 
away April 2, 1906. 

On Feb. 2, 1903, Mr. and Mrs. Fraser cele 
brated their Golden Wedding, and two years 
from that date his death occurred. Mr. Fraser s 
name was a household word among the sick and 
needy of Toronto. During the later years of 
his life he spent much time among those suf 
fering from sickness and want, cheering them 
with helping words and with his substance. Full 
of charity and thought for others, Mr. Fraser 
was a true Christian gentleman, and in his death 
the city of Toronto lost one of its best citizens. 

GEORGE MACAULEY HAWKE, who de 
parted this life Oct. 26, 1903, at his late resi 
dence, No. Ill Wellington street west, was born 
at Bath in 1826, son of Anthony Bawdon 
Hawke, who came to Canada from Cornwall. 
England, at the close of the war of 1812, and 
settled in the County of Prince Edward. Later 
he was appointed chief emigration agent of Up- 



116 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



per Canada, and came to reside in Toronto, from 
which place he subseqiiently removed to Whitby, 
where he died in October, 1865. He left a fam 
ily of two sons and three daughter?, viz. : Ed 
ward Henry, of New York; George Macauley; 
Eliza, who married Judge Dertwell; Harriot, 
who married Lyman English, of Oshawa; and 
Eliza, wife of William Hawkins, of Colchester. 

On reaching his majority George Macauley 
Hawke came to Toronto to read law, becoming a 
solicitor, and he followed the profession for 
many years, until he retired from active work. 
He was a member of the Church of England. 

In 1857 Mr. Hawke married Miss Charlotte 
Ann "Widmer, Whose father, the late Dr. Christo 
pher Ralph Widmer, was born in 17C in Eng 
land, and married Miss Hannah Stonehouse. 
Dr. Widmer was a noted surgeon, and as such 
served in the Peninsular wars and the war of 
1812, and in 1814 he settled in Toronto, where 
he founded a hospital on Widmer street. To 
him and his wife were born three children: 
Hannah Maria, who married Captain Clarlc, and 
has two daughters, Isabella and Edith, resi 
dents of Toronto; Charlotte Ann. Mrs. Hawke; 
and Christopher. 

Mrs. Hawke. who was born in Toronto June 
19, 1838, survives her husband, and resides at 
the old home, No. Ill Wellington street west. 
To her and her husband were born the follow 
ing named children : Louisa, deceased ; Widmer, 
vice-president of the O Keefe Brewing Com 
pany, who married Isabella Harston, by whom 
he has had two sons, George and Edward; May 
Caroline, the wife of Theodore Brough; and 
Hannah Josephine, wife of Lieutenant-Colonel 
McDougall, of Quebec. 

ARTHUR HARVEY was born in England, 
April 23, 1834, and educated chiefly in France 
and the Netherlands, with which latter country 
his family had long been connected. Return 
ing from the Continent he entered Trinity Col 
lege, Dublin, in 1852, and in 1855 added a 
special course in actuarial science, in London, 
where Professor De Morgan was the great lode- 
stone for students. Coming to Canada in 1856, 
Mr. Harvey first took service as assistant editor 
to a newspaper in Brantford. but soon removed 
to Hamilton, where he became associated with 
the Spectator. Being one of the two swiftest 
shorthand writers in Canada, and as well able 
to follow a French as an English orator, he lived 
in Toronto during the sessions of Parliament, 
and, on the removal of the seat of government 
to Quebec, took up residence there as confidential 
correspondent of the Spectator, and engaged in 
literary work generally, as a writer of magazine 
articles. For a time Mr. Harvey was editor of 



the Quebec Chronicle, and developed a liking 
for statistics. A small pamphlet on the grain 
trade of the basin of the Lakes, in which graphic 
statistics were used for the first time in Can 
ada, brought him the friendship of Mr. (after 
wards Sir) Alexander Gait, whom he assisted 
in preparing the Budget of 1862, which in return 
led to his being appointed to a position in the 
Department of Finance, nominally as statistical 
clerk, but really as confidential aid to the min 
ister of Finance. In this capacity he served 
under several ministers, being entrusted with im 
portant inquiries for each. Thus, for Sir Alex 
ander Gait he investigated the working of the 
Reciprocity Treaty, and was the secretary of the 
commission sent to Washington by the Five 
Provinces to negotiate for its renewal. For Mr. 
Holton he investigated the expenditures for 
printing and supplies to the Department and 
organized a new and regular tariff of charges! 
and a system of checks which resulted in large 
public savings. For Mr. (now Sir) William P. 
Howland he examined Interprovincial Trade 
and its probable development on the removal of 
tariffs and the completion of an Intercolonial 
Railway. For Mr. Gait, again minister, he col 
lected the statistics of the several Provinces in 
view of their approaching confederation, spend 
ing several months at the capitals of the Mari 
time Provinces, for this purpose. With the leave 
of the Government a great part of this work was 
published as the Year Book of British North 
America, 1867, and of Canada, 1868 and I860, 
and Mr. Harvey always regarded it as his mag 
num opus. It entitles him to be looked on as 
the father of Canadian statistics. The collec 
tion, completion and summing up of materials 
independently and often imperfectly gathered 
is no slight work. The general summary, com 
municated to his chief, Mr. Harvey understood 
to have been used in London in laying down the 
basis for Confederation; and the Year Book, 
which was in more complete and scientific shape 
than any national statistical work except that 
officially published for Italy, was the standard 
for reference during all the Provincial debates 
on that union which followed. Under Sir John 
Rose the chief work done by Mr. Harvey was 
the suggestion and preparation of the first Can 
adian insurance law, which called for the mak 
ing of regular annual returns and for the de 
posit of a sum of money as a guarantee of per 
manency. All these ministers had been Mr. 
Harvey s personal friends, but when Sir Francis 
Hincks was appointed to the office, Mr. Harvey 
resigned his most agreeable and (for a civil serv 
ant) well paid position, and came to Toronto 
in 1870 to take charge of the Provincial In 
surance Company. After several years labor 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



117 



in building up the finances of the company, on 
the eve of success, a conflagration year carne 
along, and with the fire at St. John, N.B. 
(1877), as a climax, he thought it most honor 
able to wind up its affairs. From that time he 
did not engage in important public enterprises. 
Mr. Harvey had always been actively con 
cerned in the work of scientific, literary and 
other societies. He was secretary of the Horti 
cultural Society at Hamilton, and the real 
founder of the Hamilton (Scientific) Associa.- 
tion. He was a hard-working secretary of the 
St. George s Society at Quebec, and a member 
of the Literary and Historical Society there. At 
Ottawa he formed and was secretary-treasurer 
of the Civil Service Building and Savings Soci 
ety, and was largely instrumental in the erec 
tion of St. Alban s Church both urgently 
needed. On coming to Toronto, several building 
societies here and in other places wished him to 
value their terminable mortgages, and, being un 
willing to divert his attention from the affairs of 
the Provincial Insurance Company, he published 
the Tables he had prepared for his own use, 
which were the first tables anywhere printed 
for the valuation of mortgages repayable by 
monthly payments. In due time he joined the 
Canadian Institute and was its president in 
1891 and 1892. In 1890 he was a delegate to 
a function at Montpelier, France, where he ad 
dressed the meeting in French, which the other 
delegates were surprised to find was not a 
patois; and he expressed the hope that some day 
France would take a less narrow view of the 
Newfoundland French Shore question. He be 
came a member of the Astronomical Society and 
was its president in 1898 and 1899. The Trans 
actions of these Societies contain several papers 
from his pen. His specialty was the investiga 
tion of the connection between solar and terres 
trial phenomena for which the records of the 
Magnetic and Meteorological Observatory here 
give many of the necessary data. In recogni 
tion of his work on solar phenomena he was 
elected Honorary President and Director, La In- 
stitutio Solar Internacional, Monte Video, Uru 
guay ; and just shortly before his death was 
elected a Fellow of this Society. In 1894 he was 
elected a Fellow of the Royal Society of Can 
ada, and the bibliography which each Fellow 
has to prepare, for election, can be referred to in 
the proceedings for that year (Vol. XII.) as an 
evidence of the fertility of his pen. Later he 
published a work on Decimals and Decimaliza 
tion," being a historical resume, of the move 
ments preceding the adoption in France and 
other countries of the metric system, of whinh 
Mr. Harvey was a warm advocate. Though Mr 
Harvey preferred his literary to his scientific 



papers his most recent contribution to the Can 
adian Institute, on "The Principles of Insur 
ance, with Special Reference to Sick Benefits" 
(the "proofs" of which he was correcting an 
hour or two before his death), seems to irdicate 
a desire to aid in the establishment of a system 
of relief in sickness and old age, not based on 
German precedent but adapted to Canadian con 
ditions. 

Mr. Harvey was a most versatile man. He 
had a remarkable mastery of languages, living 
and dead, and was highly accomplished both in 
music and art. In debate he wasi a strenuous 
fighter, but when the fight was over no one was 
gentler or kinder than he. 

DR. WILLIAM STUART FRALEIGH, for 
many years a prominent citizen of Toronto, Ont, 
where he was distinguished as a physician and 
surgeon, was born in 1847, son of William and 
Julia (Vanderwater) Fraleigh. After com 
pleting his preliminary education Dr. Fraleigh 
entered McGill University, Montreal, from which 
he was graduated with the degree of M.D., and 
he began his medical practice at Napanee. 

Dr. Fraleigh finally settled in Toronto, and 
engaged in the practice of his profession, also 
carrying on the drug business, at No. 182 Clare- 
mont street. His residence was at No. 596 Col 
lege street. Not only was the Doctor known as 
a physician and surgeon of skill, and as a busi 
ness man of ability, but he was also prominently 
identified with municipal matters. In 1893 he 
was a member of the council of Toronto, and he 
took a very active part in the deliberations of 
that body. In political sentiment he was a Con 
servative, and in religious faith he was a Metho 
dist. Dr. Fraleigh was very prominent in Ma 
sonic circles. 

The Doctor was twice married, his first wife 
being Miss Mary McBride, by whom he had three 
sons : James Stuart, a druggist of Midland, who 
married Margaret Symes; William E., a drug 
gist of Fort Frances, who married Marie Bell 
Perry, and has one daughter, May Stuart; and 
E. H., who is also a druggist, located in To 
ronto. The mother of this family died, and Dr. 
Fraleigh married (second) Miss Frances Bow- 
erman, a native of Hastings County, and a 
daughter of Bennett and Mary (Smith) Bow- 
erman. both of whom were of United Empire 
Loyalist extraction. He was a son of Cornelius 
Bowerman, a Quaker minister, whose father was 
the United Empire Loyalist who founded the 
family in Canada. To the Doctor s second mar 
riage there were born two children, Lillie Made 
line and Hilda Louisa. 



118 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



NATHANIEL WHITEHOUSE, who died in 
Toronto in 1876, was born in Birmingham, Eng 
land, in 1839, son of Charles and Mary Ann 
(Richardson) Whitehouse. The parents left their 
native country and came to Canada, settling for 
a time at Toronto, whence they later removed 
to New York. 

Nathaniel Whitehouse received his education 
in the schools of Birmingham. He went to New 
York in 1859, and in 1861 came to Toronto and 
engaged in making fancy leather goods, in which 
line of work he continued until his death. He 
was with Brown Brothers, and for about ten 
years before his death was in business for him 
self, Mr. Julian Sales, now of the Sales Leather 
Company, having learned his trade with Mr. 
Whitehouse. The latter erected! a shop and 
residence and employed an average of ten men in 
the business. Mr. Whitehouse was the pioneer 
in the making of fine leather goods of all kinds. 

Mr. Whitehouse married Miss Sarah Kent, who 
was born in Toronto, daughter of Joseph and 
Ann (Newton) Kent, the former of whom, born 
in Lincolnshire, England, in 1807, died in 1883 ; 
his wife, born in 1815, died in 1903. They were 
married in the old country, and came to Canada 
in 1836, settling at Niagara Falls, Out. In 1837 
they came to Toronto, and Mr. Kent carried on 
a grocery business where the "Rossin House" 
now stands. They had children : John, deceased, 
a lumber merchant, and at one time alderman of 
Toronto ; Mrs. Whitehouse ; Hannah, deceased, 
wife of William Terry ; Charles, of New York ; 
and Joseph, of Toronto. 

To Mr. and Mrs. Whitehouse were born chil 
dren as follows : Charlotte Alice, who is at home ; 
Clara, a trained nurse, of New York; and Na 
talie, a teacher, of Toronto. Mr. Whitehouse 
was a member of the Methodist Church. In 
political sentiment he was a Conservative. 

GEORGE A. HOWELL. until recently man 
aging director of the well-known firm of Grip 
Limited, who make a specialty of fine engravings 
and half-tones, is one of Toronto s leading busi 
ness men and substantial citizens. 

The Howell family, which is of Welsh extrac 
tion, was founded in Canada by the late Rev. 
James Howell, born at Brill, Buckinghamshire, 
England, in 1810, son of Rev. William Howell, 
who died in that country. In his native land 
Rv. Mr. Howell grew to manhood, received his 
education and began his life work as a Congre 
gational minister, and on coming to Canada in 
1856 he settled at Guelph for two years, being 
pastor of the Congregational Church there. Ac 
cepting a call to Liverpool, N.S., he filled the pul 
pit of the Congregational Church there for some 
time, after which he moved to Granby, thence to 



Cold Springs, and finally returned to Guelph, 
where he was retired for some years. Later he 
removed to Orangeville, and then to Toronto in 
1880, in which latter city he died Nov. 5th of 
that year. Rev. James Howell married Margaret 
Amelia Dougall, born in 1829 in Scotland, who 
died in Toronto Feb. 25, 1900, and to this union 
were born the following children: Margaret 
Amelia, of Lambton Mills ; George A. ; Mrs. J. 
W. Bolton, of St. Lambert, Quebec; David 
James, of Toronto; Mrs. C. F. May, of Toronto; 
Mrs. W. A. Lillie, of Monterey, California; and 
Eva C., of Lambton Mills. 

George A. Howell was born May 24, 1861, at 
Liverpool, N.S., and was educated at Granby, 
Cold Springs and Guelph. He began his busi 
ness life with Mr. G. B. Ryan, a dry goods 
merchant of Orangeville, from which house he 
went to that of Kenneth Chisholm & Co., in the 
same business at that place. In 1881 Mr. 
Howell settled in Toronto, and for some time was 
with The Mammoth House of that city, then em 
barking in the dry goods business on his own 
account on Yonge street. In 1891 Mr. Howell 
became a member of The Grip Printing & Pub 
lishing Company, Limited, of: Toronto, and ten 
years later the business was reorganized and the 
name changed to Grip, Limited, of which Mr. 
Howell was managing director until Nov. 30, 
1906. This firm make a specialty of fine en 
gravings and half-tones. Mr. Howell is now con 
nected with the Standard Paper Company, Lim 
ited, of Toronto. 

In 1900 Mr. Howell was married to Lucy 
Knox, born in Armagh, Ireland, in 1871, daugh 
ter of William and Rachel Knox, and to this 
union there has been born one daughter, Mar 
garet Knox. Mr. and Mrs. Howell attend the 
Presbyterian Church. In politics he is a Re 
former, and his fraternal connections are with 
the Canadian Club, of which he was president 
in 1904 and 1905; the Toronto Canoe Club, of 
which he was commodore in 1901, and the Na 
tional Club. 

JOHN W. PEAKER, M.D., University of To 
ronto, 1886, M.R.C.S., London, England, 1888, 
has been identified with the medical fraternity 
of Toronto since 1889. 

Dr. Peaker belongs to an English family long 
identified with western Ontario. About the year 
1841 the Peaker family was founded in Ca,nada 
by William Peaker, a native of Yorkshire. Eng 
land, who settled at Cooksville. where he en 
gaged in a mercantile business for a number of 
years. His son, William Peaker, the Doctor s 
father, was born in 1829, in England, but his en 
tire business life has been spent in Canada. On 
reaching his majority he engaged in a mercan- 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



119 



tile business at Cooksville, where he remained 
several years, at the end of that time removing 
to Brampton, where he is still actively engaged 
in merchandising. He is one of the oldest 
merchants of that place, having been in busi 
ness there since 1860. William Peaker married 
Miss Janet Grimshaw, a native of England, who 
died in 1901, at Brampton, leaving children: 
William, Thomas, George and Frederick, en 
gaged in the mercantile business with their 
father ; Dr. E. S., a dentist of Toronto ; Dr. K., 
a dentist of Toronto ; Dr. John W. ; and Dr. 
Oliver, a dentist of Bramptou. 

John W. Peaker was born in Brampton in 
1865. and his literary education was obtained at 
the Brampton high school and the University of 
Toronto. In 1882 he entered the medical de 
partment of that University, from which insti 
tution he was graduated in 1886 with the degree 
of M.D. Dr. Peaker then pursued his medical 
studies at London, England, where in 1888 he 
received the degree of M.R.C.S. Returning to 
Toronto he established himself in the practice of 
his profession and has been in continuous prac 
tice in that city since that time. 

Dr. Peaker married Miss Florence Woodruff, 
and to this union has been born one son, Cort- 
landt. Dr. and Mrs. Peaker attend the Metho 
dist Church. In political faith he is a Reformer. 
Fraternally he has connected himself with the 
Masonic order and the Knights of Pythias. 

ALFRED GARDNER, deceased. The domin 
ant traits of integrity, perseverance and deter 
mination to succeed, which mark the English 
race the world over, have had many exponents 
among the business world of Toronto, but in 
none have those sterling qualities been more un 
deniably present than in the late Alfred Gard 
ner, who during his fifteen years in that city 
built up one of the largest business connections 
in the place. 

Mr. Gardner was born in Buckinghamshire, 
England, March 5, 1854. and grew to maturity 
in that country. His business career began 
there, but in 1887, at the age of thirty-three, he 
severed his connections with England, crossed 
the ocean to Toronto, and started anew in the 
concrete business, confining himself to its ap 
plication to fire-proof constructions. When he 
began there was only one other man in Toronto 
in that line, the Granolithic Paving Company 
having been first. Mr. Gardner began in a small 
way, but rapidly increased the scope of his op 
erations to keep pace with the constantly grow 
ing demand until he had developed his business 
into one of the prominent industries of the city. 
It was at all times under his personal super 
vision, and the results proved the value of such 



detailed and complete knowledge of the 
business and of such strict attention thereto. 
Mr. Gardner became one of the well-known men 
of the city, and in his death, which occurred Oct. 
5, 1901, Toronto lost one of her best and most 
highly esteemed citizens. He was a member of 
the I.O.O.F. and the S.O.E. 

HUGH HARRISON, born at Belfast, Ire 
land, in 1835, came to Toronto early in the sev 
enties. He was a lineal descendant of General 
Harrison, who fought under Cromwell. In Ire 
land he married Sarah McCord, also a native of 
that country, and he left nine children and four 
grandchildren to mourn his loss. His children 
were: Margaret, wife of D. Densmore, of Cali 
fornia ; Sarah ; Mary ; Lillian ; John ; Hugh, who 
married Sarah Murray; Thomas, who married 
Miss Thomas ; William Henry ; and Alexander. 
His grandchildren were: lanthe Densmore, Gor 
don and Olive Harrison, and Hugh Murray Har 
rison. 

Mr. Harrison and his family were members 
of the Presbyterian Church, while in politics he 
always gave his support to the Conservative 
party. 

REV. THOMAS M. REIKIE was born in 
Glasgow, Scotland, in 1819, and died in 1900, in 
Wiarton, Ont. When a young man he came to 
Canada, locating at Bowmanville, Ont., where 
for nearly twenty-five years he was pastor of the 
Congregational Church. He then spent some 
time travelling in the old country, and on his 
return to Canada settled in Toronto, where ho 
was retired from regular pastoral work, but 
preached occasionally at different churches. 
Later he removed to Wiarton. where he was pas 
tor for a short time, and where he died. He was 
well known in Toronto as a man ably fitted for 
the calling in which he served for so many 
years. 

Mr. Reikie was married in 1872 to Miss Marion 
C. Thomson, daughter of the late T. M. and 
Anne (Ker) Thomson, and granddaughter of 
James Thomson, who came from Paisley, Scot 
land, many years ago, settling at La Prairie, 
Quebec, where he was a merchant until his 
death. T. M. Thomson, father of Mr. Reikie, 
was for many years in the wholesale dry goods 
business at Montreal, later settling in Toronto, 
Where he died in 1889. His first wife died in 
1852, and his second wife, surviving him by 
thirteen years, passed away in 1902. 

Rev. Mr. Reikie and his wife had two sons and 
one daughter : Rev. T. T. Reikie, who graduated 
from Knox College, Toronto, with the class of 
1905, and is in Leduc, Alta. ; K. W., with the 
Bank of Commerce, Winnipeg; and Miss H. E. 



120 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



K., of Toronto. Mr. Reikie was a Reformer and 
a strong advocate of temperance. 

DR. ELIJAH PATTERSON, whose death oc 
curred in Toronto, Sept. 29, 1900, was born in 
Whitchurch township, County York, in 1832. 
son of William and Joanna (Utley) Patterson. 
William Patterson was a son of Whitfield Pat 
terson, who came from Pennsylvania at an early 
day and settled in Whitchurch township, where 
he died. William Patterson was born there about 
1805, and engaged in farming in that township 
for some time, and then went to Michigan, where 
he died, his wife dying in Whitchurch town 
ship, County York. 

Dr. Elijah Patterson was educated at Bow- 
manville, and after completing his literary stud 
ies, read medicine, for a time. He, however, 
changed his mind regarding his profession, turn 
ing his attention to dentistry, and studying with 
Dr. Fenton, of Toronto. The Doctor began the 
practice of his profession at Uxbridge, whence 
he went to Port Perry, and then, in 1881, to To 
ronto, where he continued until his death. 

In 1858 Dr. Patterson married Miss Martha 
Pearson, daughter of John and Sarah (Brown) 
Pearson, the former born in Yorkshire, Eng 
land, in 1818, and the latter in Markham town 
ship, County York, in 1815. daughter of Joseph 
Brown, a son of James Brown, the founder of 
this branch of the family in Canada. James 
Brown was bound out, in England, to the bak 
er s trade, but was so ill-treated that he ran 
away, worked his passage across to Canada, and 
settled in Markham township, later going to 
Pickering, where he died. Joseph Brown, pre 
viously mentioned, married Elizabeth Wideman. 
and followed farming in Pickering all of his 
life. John Pearson, father of Mrs. Patterson, 
was a farmer of Uxbridge, where he died in 1873. 
His wife died in Toronto at the home of Mrs. 
Patterson, in 1903, the mother of seven cihldren : 
Mrs. Patterson, Joseph, Rachel, George, John, 
David and Edward. 

To Dr. and Mrs. Patterson were born one son 
and one daughter: Dr. F. J., a dentist at Men- 
dota, Illinois, who married Roby Kelley, and has 
one daughter, Greta; and Fannie, wife of C. N. 
Johnson and mother of two daughters, Mignon 
and Nelyon. Dr. Patterson was a Reformer. 
His fraternal connections were with the A.O. 
U.W. 

STEPHEN REWARD (deceased), who de 
parted this life at No. 38 Peter street, Toronto, 
in 1881, was born in Toronto in 1826, son of 
Stephen and Mary (Robinson) Heward, the lat 
ter a daughter of Christopher Robinson, grand 



father of Christopher Robinson, mentioned else 
where. 

Stephen Heward, Sr., was a native of Eng 
land. He came to Canada from the United 
States about the time of the American Revolu 
tion, a United Empire Loyalist, locating at St. 
John, N.B. Later settling in Toronto, he was for 
some time clerk of the Peace Home district at 
Osgoode Hall. His death occurred in this city. 
His children were : Charles William ; Henry, a 
lawyer of Toronto; Frank, a business man of 
Montreal, manager of the Royal Insurance Com 
pany of Toronto, in which city he died; Peter, 
at one time a business man of Toronto, who died 
in the Madeira Islands; William B., a clerk at 
Osgoode Hall; John, a broker of Toronto; Aug 
ustus, a broker at Montreal ; Stephen ; and Mary 
Ann, deceased. 

Stephen Heward, the subject of this sketch, 
grew to manhood and received his education in 
Toronto. His bxisiness life was begun in the of 
fice of Clarke Gamble, in Toronto, after which 
he became identified with the Bank of Upper 
Canada. Later he became a stock broker, in 
which work he continued until his retirement 
from active life. On Aug. 12, 1858, he married 
Catherine Crookshank. daughter of a pioneer 
settler of Toronto, the late Hon. George Crook- 
shank, and his wife, Sarah S. (Lambert) Crook- 
shank. The Hon. George Crookshank was born 
July 23, 1773, in what is no\v the State of New 
York, where his father, George Crookshank, a 
native of Scotland, settled prior to the Ameri 
can Revolution. From the United States, as a 
U. E. Loyalist, he removed to St. John. N.B., 
where he died, his wife having passed away in 
the States. His son, the Hon. George Crook- 
shank, came to Toronto in 1796. He had spent 
the previous winter in Jamaica. In 1796 Capt. 
John McGill, who came to Toronto with Gover 
nor Simcoe, invited Mr. Crookshank to come to 
this city, which he did, becoming connected with 
the commissary department, and later serving 
as assistant commissary general. He was also 
a member of the Legislative council until the 
union of the Provinces. Mr. Crookshank was 
married in the town of Wilton, Connecticut, to 
Sarah Susanna Lambert, who was born in that 
State, a daughter of David Lambert. Mr. Crook- 
shank died in 1859, and his wife passed away 
in 1840. They had these children : John, who 
died in New York ; George, a lawyer of Toronto ; 
and Catherine, born May 31, 1829, in Connec 
ticut. 

Mr. and Mrs. Stephen Heward had nine chil 
dren, of whom four died in childhood. There 
survive: Clarence Edwin, born in Edinburgh 
in 1863. and now residing in Toronto, married 
in England Mabel G. Hutton (deceased), by 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



121 



whom he had one daughter. Violet Ethel Aileen ; 
Mabel Augusta married Major Hugh Bruce Wil 
liams, R.E., by whom she has two children, Ed 
ward Stephen Bruce and Winifred Katharine; 
Stephen Augustus, of the Royal Canadian Ar 
tillery, stationed at Quebec ; Aubrey Douglas, of 
the Dominion Bank of Toronto; and George 
Crookshank, a barrister of Toronto, where he 
resides. 

Mr. Heward was a prominent member of the 
English Church. In politics he was a Conserva 
tive, and in fraternal relations a Mason. He 
died in 1881, at his home, No. 38 Peter street, 
Toronto, where Mrs. Heward still resides, in the 
house built by her father in 1837. 

MRS. HELEN W. JARVIS, whose maiden 
name was Helen Woodburn Langmuir, was born 
in Picton, Ont., in 1862, and is the eldest daugh 
ter of John Woodburn Langmuir, by his first 
wife, Emma Lucretia Fairfield. daughter of Dr. 
Fairfield, of Lennox and Addington County, and 
niece of Judge Fairfield, of Picton, Ontario. 

JOHN WOODBURN LANGMUIR was born in War- 
wickmanor, Ayrshire, Scotland, in 1835, and 
came to Canada at an early age, settling in Pic 
ton and later, in 1868. in Toronto. Since that 
time Mr. Langmuir has been prominently identi 
fied with the public affairs of the Province as in 
spector of prisons and public charities, and as 
chairman of the Niagara Falls Park Commission, 
and with the business life of Toronto as general 
manager of the Toronto General Trusts Corpor 
ation. 

In 1883 Helen Woodburn married George 
Hamilton Jarvis, the eldest son of Frederick 
William Jarvis, sheriff of the County of York, 
who married Caroline Skynner in 1857. Sheriff 
Jarvis was closely associated with the business 
and social life of Toronto. His death occurred 
in 1887. Of the marriage of Helen Woodburn 
to George Hamilton Jarvis were born two sons: 
Frederick Langmuir, July, 1884, who since 1900 
"has been a clerk in the Toronto General Trusts 
Corporation; and Vic-tor Ralston, May, 1887. 
who is studying for the ministry. 

REV. WILLIAM RICHARDSON, who died 
in Toronto July 12. 1905, was born in Hull, 
Yorkshire, England, in 1824, son of John Rich 
ardson, an agriculturist of that country. Mr. 
Richardson came to Canada when a young man 
and here entered the ministry of the Wesleyan 
Methodist Church, in which he served for forty- 
seven years. His first charge was at Weston. 
He spent seven years in Lower Canada and then 
returned to Upper Canada. He retired from 
"his ministerial work in 1888. and from that time 
until his death lived in Toronto. 



Mr. Richardson was married in 1856 to Anna 
M. Russ, who was born in Grimsby, daughter of 
Samuel and Elizabeth (Terryberry) Russ, nat- 
ives of Canada. He was a son of Ezekiel Russ 
(born in New York State) and his wife Beulah 
Bracket. Ezekiel Russ founded the Russ fam 
ily in Canada, and followed farming in Grimsby, 
where he died. Samuel Russ also followed farm 
ing in that section, but later removed to Lews- 
ton, where the remaining days of his life were 
spent. He died in 1887, in his eighty-first year, 
and his wife died in 1890, when eighty-three 
years of age. Elizabeth Terryberry was a daugh 
ter of Morris and Mary (Young) Terryberry, the 
former of whom founded this family in Can 
ada. Both he and his wife died in Lincoln 
County, where he had followed farming. 

To the Rev. Mr. Richardson and his wife were 
born these children: Amanda M., the wife of 
Horace E. Parsons, of Erie, Pennsylvania, has 
three children, Albert E., Charles W. and Anna 
M. Miss Ellen S. is a resident of Toronto. La- 
vina V. is the wife of J. C. Bull, of Weston. 
William T., of Nova Scotia, married Emily M. 
White, and has two children, Ada and Viola. 
John Coleman, of Weston, married Grace Ward- 
law, by whom he has had three children, Har 
vey L., Grace Eileen and Charles M. 

HERMAN H. COOK, M.P. The Ontario 
Lumber Company is one of Canada s leading in 
dustries as well as one of the oldest in the Prov 
ince of Ontario, and the history of this enter 
prise is covered in the life of Herman H. Cook, 
who has for many years been prominent in pub 
lic and business life in the Province and Do 
minion. 

Mr. Cook belongs to a family long identified 
with Canada, many members of which have been 
extensively engaged in the lumber business. The 
Cooks, originally Palatinates, located in the days 
of Queen Anne in the County of Middlesex, ad 
jacent to the city of London, and many years 
later members of this family, as well as those 
of Casselman and Hackney, to whom they were 
related by marriage, removed to the American 
Colonies, the Cooks settling in Virginia and the 
Hackneys and Casselmans in the Mohawk Val 
ley, New York. During the struggle between 
the Colonies and the mother country these fami 
lies stood by the Crown, and about the year 1783 
came to Canada, the original Cook ancestor in 
this country being George Cook, the grandfather 
of Herman H. He settled in Williamsburg 
township, County Dundas, receiving a grant of 
land from the Crown, and there spent the re 
mainder of his life. He left two sons, both of 
whom are now deceased, Capt. John and Capt. 
George. The former represented County Dun- 



122 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



das in Parliament, having been first elected in 
1828, and he continued a member of that body 
until 1840. One of his opponents for that 
honor was the late Colonel Chrysler, on whose 
property the battle of Chrysler s Farm was 
fought. Both the Cook brothers were in that 
fight, as well as at "The Windmill/ near 
Prescott. 

Capt. George Cook was born in County Dun- 
das, and there his entire life was spent in the 
lumber business, he becoming one of the leading 
lumber merchants of his day. His wife was 
Sarah Casselman, and to them were born chil 
dren as follows: Sarah Phoebe, who died at the 
age of thirteen years; J. W. Cook, M.P., for 
many years a prominent lumber man a mem 
ber of Cook Brothers Lumber Company a mem 
ber of Parliament for County Dundas. who mar 
ried Miss Paul, of Quebec, and had two children, 
George William and Ellen; Catherine, who died 
unmarried ; George J., also a prominent lumber 
man and member of Cook Brothers Lumber 
Company; John Larkin, also a member of that 
company; Mary who died unmarried; Simon S., 
M.P.P.. who was also engaged in the lumber 
business ; Sarah ; and Herman H. 

Herman H. Cook was born in 1837 in County 
Dundas, and from his earliest recollection he has 
been connected with sawmills, lumber compan 
ies, etc. By the time he reached his majority 
Mr. Cook was well schooled in the lumber busi 
ness, and he founded the Ontario Lumber Com 
pany, of which he is now president and sole 
owner. He owns extensive lumber tracts and 
purchases timber from other districts, all of 
which he manufactures into lumber for the home 
and foreign trade. The annual output of the 
Ontario Lumber Company is i rom 15,000,000 to 
20,000,000 feet, to accomplish which Mr. 
Cook employs 500 men. His mills are at the 
mouth of the French river, one of the most his 
toric spots in Canada. Since 1858 Mr. Cook 
has been a resident of Toronto, being numbered 
among the oldest citizens and most substantial 
business men of the city. Not only has his life 
been a prominent one from a business stand 
point, but as a public man as well. In 1872 he 
was elected to the Dominion House from North 
Simcoe, and has also been chosen twelve times 
by the people as their standard-bearer in the 
Dominion and Local Houses, his public life cov 
ering a period of nearly a quarter of a. century. 

In 1861 Mr. Herman H. Cook married Miss 
Lydia White, a member of one of Canada s old 
est and most honored families, a record of which 
is given in the sketch of John L. Cook. To Mr. 
and Mrs. Herman H. Cook have been born two 
daughters: Sarah A., the wife of Frank Mac- 
Donald, son of the late Senator MacDonald, has 



three sons and one daughter ; and Emma M., the 
wife of Col. A. N. Worthington, M.P., of Sher- 
brooke, has one son. 

Mr. Cook has always taken much interest in 
the United Empire Loyalist Society of Toronto, 
of which he was third president, much advance 
ment being made in the society during his ad 
ministration. In their religious belief the fam 
ily are Lutherans. Mr. Cook s political prin 
ciples are those of the Reform party. The home 
of Mr. and Mrs. Herman H. Cook at No. 20 
Dowling avenue, known as "Ardnacloich," com 
mands a charming view of Lake Ontario, and 
is one of the most beautiful residences of the 
Queen City. 

JOHN FOY, whose death occurred in Toronto 
Dec. 6, 1904, was born in the Queen City in 
1845, son of Patrick and Catherine (Mallaney) 
Foy, natives of Ireland, and early settlers of To 
ronto, where Patrick Foy was a wholesale gro 
cer for many years. He and his wife both died 
in that city. 

John Foy received his early literary training 
in Toronto, at St. Michael s College, and when 
about fifteen years of age went to England and 
studied at Ushaw College, Durham, England, 
completing his education in France. Mr. Foy 
then returned to Toronto, and began his busi 
ness life as confidential assistant to the late Sir 
Frank Smith, whose daughter he afterward mar 
ried. Shortly after the founding of the Niagara 
Navigation Company, by the late Sir Frank 
Smith. Mr. Foy became manager thereof, a po 
sition he ably filled until 1903, when, on account 
of ill-health, he resigned. He was soon there 
after elected president of this company and 
filled that position until his death. Mr. Foy was 
a director in the Crown Life Insurance Com 
pany, vice-president and a director in the Home 
Savings & Loan Company, a director in the To 
ronto General Trusts Corporation, and was also 
financially interested in other business enter 
prises of the city. 

In 1879 Mr. Foy was married to Miss Gertrude 
A. Smith, a native of London, Ont. Mrs. Foy 
came to Toronto in 1866, and was educated at 
Loretto Abbey. 

To Mr. and Mrs. John Foy were born seven 
children, as follows : Frank C.. who is in the 
New York Central office at Toronto; John Vic 
tor, of the Niagara Navigation Company; Gert 
rude ; Clara ; Emily ; Mary ; and Kathleen all 
born in Toronto. Mr. Foy was a Roman Cath 
olic. In political faith he was a Conservative, 
His late residence at No. 40 Bloor street west,. 
was built by Mrs. Foy s father, and is one of 
the beautiful homes of the city. 



/ 



-._, 1.11 fl 

est ana 
is given 
and Mrs 
daughter 
Donald, ; 



r 




COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



123 



SIR PRANK SMITH, the father of Mrs. Foy, 
was born in Rich Hill, County Armagh, 
Ireland, in 1822, son of Patrick Smith, also a na 
tive of the Emerald Isle. In 1832 Patrick Smith 
came to Canada, and settling at Port Credit, he 
spent the remainder of his life there. Sir Frank 
Smith was but ten years of age When he came 
to Canada with his parents. He was educated 
here, and began his mercantile life at Hamilton, 
later going to London. Ont, and in 1866 set 
tling in Toronto, where he was a wholesale gro 
cer for a number of years. He was president of 
the Dominion Bank, and the original promoter of 
the Niagara Navigation Company. In political 
life Sir Frank Smith was one of the foremost 
men of Ontario. He was acting minister of 
public works in the Dominion Government for 
a time, and was for many years a member of the 
Dominion Senate. He died in Toronto in 1901 ; 
his wife, who bore the maiden name of Mary 
O Higgins, passed away in 1896. 

JOHN MATTGHAN. The Maughan family, 
of which John Maughan is a member, is of 
Scotch extraction, and was founded in Cau- 
ada by John Maughan, Sr., who was born at 
Edinburgh, Scotland, in 1800. There he mar 
ried Miss Euphemia Stein, also of Scotch par 
entage. In 1827 he came to Canada, making 
the trans-Atlantic trip on a sailing vessel. Which 
was stranded at Newfoundland. Soon after Fet 
tling in Toronto Mr. Maughan became identi 
fied with the commissariat department of the 
army, in which capacity he continued for many 
years. In 1842 he compiled "A Table of Com 
putations," in book form, for the use of the 
army, whereby sterling money is converted into 
its equivalent in currency and vice versa, being 
the first ever published. It shows much pains 
taking work, and possesses a great deal of prac 
tical information. From the commissariat de 
partment Mr. Maughan went into the Bank of 
Tipper Canada, where he remained for some 
time, later retiring from active business. He 
died in Toronto in 1882 ; his wife died there in 
1862. Of their three daughters and two sons, 
John Maughan is the only survivor. 

John Maughan was born in Markham village, 
County York, Ont., Oct. 19, 1835. His parents 
removed to Toronto in 1836, and he was edu 
cated in private academies and the Toronto 
Academy, a branch of Knox College. In 1851 
he studied law one year with Messrs. Mowat & 
Helliwell, in 1852 taking a clerkship in the 
Western Assurance Company, and since that 
time he has continued in his chosen line, having 
for many years acted as agent for the Hartford 
Fire Insurance Company. Aside from his busi 
ness Mr. Maughan served the city as member 



of the council from St. George s Ward for a 
period of nine years, a member of the board 
of education for two years, and has been con 
nected with the militia since 1853, when he was 
commissioned ensign. In 1865 he was advanced 
to the rank of captain and adjutant. His mili 
tary training was received at the Toronto Mili 
tary School, where his examination was passed. 
On June 18, 1863, Mr. Maughan married Miss 
Margaret E. Parks, born in Toronto, daughter 
of the late Charles G. Parks, of Palermo. To 
Mr. and Mrs. John Maughan were born the fol 
lowing children: Herbert J., deceased; Charles 
F., deceased; John, of Toronto, ornithologist to 
the Ontario Government; Harry, partner with 
his father in the insurance business ; Walter, 
city passenger agent of the Canadian Pacific 
Railway Company, Toronto; Florence, the wife 
of T. C. Howard, of Hamilton; and Miss Min 
nie. Mr. Maughan and his family are mem 
bers of the Church of England. Fraternally 
he is connected with the Masonic order. 

THOMAS J. WILKIE, provincial secretary 
of the Young Men s Christian Association for 
the Provinces of Ontario and Quebec, and one 
of the oldest Association workers in Canada, is 
a member of a family long identified with 
County York. 

The Wilkie family is of Scotch extraction, 
and was founded in Canada by Thomas Wilkie, 
grandfather of Thomas J.. who was born in 
1784 in Scotland, son of James Wilkie. In 1833 
Thomas Wilkie came to Canada and settled at 
Richmond Hill, where he died in 1840, and where 
he and his wife are buried. The latter was 
Agnes Hillson, born in 1784, who died in 1849. 
Mr. and Mrs. Wilkie > had children : John ; 
Agnes, who married James Newton ; Jane, de 
ceased, who married Peter McCall; Janet, who 
married Andrew Burns ; Margaret, who married 
William Brydon ; and two who died In infancy. 
John Wilkie, father of Thomas J., Avas born 
in Scotland, and died in Toronto in 1882. He 
was a veterinary surgeon, and also carried on 
a blacksmithing business at Richmond Hill for 
a number of years. In 1857 he removed to 
Barrie, where he carried on the same occupa 
tion for a number of years, when he was up- 
pointed to a position in the Boys Reformatory 
at Penetanguishene, and there remained until 
advanced years and failing health made it 
necessary for him to resign. He then settled m 
Toronto, which city was his home until his 
death. His wife, formerly Miss Elizabeth Bing- 
ham, was born in the South of England about 
1813, daughter of William Bingham, the found 
er of the family in Canada and an early settler 
of Countv York. To John and Elizabeth, 



124 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



(Bingham) Wilkie were born three children: 
Thomas J. ; John, deceased ; and Mary M. 

Thomas J. Wilkie was born May 10, 1842, at 
Richmond Hill, County York, and was educated 
in the grammar school at Richmond Hill and 
the grammar school at Barrie, where his father 
had removed when he was fifteen years old. 
After completing his schooling Mr. Wilkie was 
employed at a general store in Barrie for a 
time, from which he became operator and sta 
tion agent for the Northern Railway. In 1864 
he came to Toronto as manager for the Provin 
cial Telegraph Company, and after one year 
this line passed into the hands of what is now 
the Great Northwestern Telegraph Company, 
with which Mr. Wilkie remained until 1867. 
This year marks an important epoch in Mr. 
Wilkie s life. In 1867 he was converted to the 
Christian faith, and the entire trend of his life 
was changed. He became general secretary of 
the Young Men s Christian Association, of To 
ronto, in 1869, which position he filled until 
1880. In 1868 Mr. Wilkie, after returning 
from a Young Men s Christian Association con 
vention at Detroit, proposed the forming of a 
provincial committee to assist in supervising 
the various associations in the provinces of On 
tario and Quebec, and this idea was taken up 
and the committee formed, since proving of 
much benefit to the organization. Mr. Wilkie 
was made its first secretary, but on May 14. 
1880, he relinquished the secretaryship at To 
ronto, and went to Brooklyn. New York, where 
he was secretary until 1886. During this time 
the association made great material and spiriju- 
al advancement. He left Brooklyn with the 
largest and best equipped building in the world 
up to that time. The arduous duties of his po 
sition began to tell upon Mr. Wilkie s health 
and his physician advised him to seek out-of- 
door work and a relaxing of mental strain. 
Accordingly Mr. Wilkie returned to Canada 
and purchased a farm five miles west of To 
ronto, and converted it into a summer resort, 
called "Long Branch," which property has 
become very popiuav with Toronto people. 
Soon after returning to Canada Mr. Wilkie in 
terested himself with the Chamberlain Invest 
ment Company, of Denver, Colorado, and was 
the manager of this business at Corpus Christi 
and San Antonio for three and one-half years. 
In 1893 he returned to Toronto, and in 1898 
was called to his present position. In 1871 Mr. 
Wilkie organized the Young Men s Christian 
Association movement under canvas, in connec 
tion with the militia. This has proved a won 
derful agent for good, both in the camp and 
on the field of battle. During the South Afri 
can war, Spanish-American war. and recent war 



between Japan and Russia, this branch of the 
work was most highly appreciated by such 
men as Lord Roberts, as well as the Emperor 
of Japan, who contributed $5,000 to its sup 
port. This was the first instance of a contri 
bution from the Mikado to the work of Chris 
tianity, and this act alone speaks volumes for 
the military branch of the Young Men s Chris 
tian Association. 

Mr. Wilkie has been twice married, first in 
1874 to Charlotte Cornell, daughter of Charles 
Cornell, an early settler of Scarborough, where 
Mrs. Wilkie was born in 1844. She died in 
1884, leaving two sons: William J., one of the 
secretaries of the Buffalo Young Men s Chris 
tian Association; and Charles C., with the 
Kemp Manufacturing Company, of Toronto., 
The present Mrs. Wilkie was Miss Mary, 
daughter of Andrew Tatlor McCord, for forty 
years treasurer of the city of Toronto. Mr. 
and Mrs. Wilkie are members of the Northern 
Congregational Church. He is a Reformer in 
politics. 

HENRY BUTWELL. Among the well- 
known and representative business men of To 
ronto may be mentioned Mr. Henry Butwell, 
who has been extensively engaged in the manu 
facture of brick in the Queen City for a num 
ber of years. Mr. Butwell was born in Ox 
fordshire. England, in 1830. son of Richard and 
Prudence (Richard) Butwell, the former a 
brickmaker in the old country. 

Henry Butwell grew to manhood in his nat 
ive country, and in 1857 came to Toronto, his 
first night in the city being spent at the old 
"Lennox Hotel" on Colborne street. Mr. But- 
well at once started in to work, his first em 
ployment being with a Mr. Davis, at splitting 
wood, this job lasting for half a month. On 
being employed he agreed to work for twelve 
dollars per month, but as an appreciation of 
Mr. Butwell s good work, his employer paid 
him at the rate of fifteen dollars for that period. 
Mr. Butwell next worked on a farm for six 
months, the following winter taking a job 
threshing wheat with a flail at one-eighth roy 
alty. His next employment was at cutting 
twenty-five cords of wood, this, he says, being 
the hardest job of his life. After completing 
this tedious task Mr. Butwell decided to re 
sume the brickmaking business, which he had 
learned in the old, country, and accordingly 
went to Yorkville, where he worked at brick 
and tile making for Mrs. Townsley, continu 
ing here four years. In 1878 Mr. Butwell re 
turned to Toronto to take charge of the brick 
yard at the Central Prison, where the prison 
ers were made to pay their way by work for 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



125 



the Provincial Government, while serving their 
terms, and here he remained for sixteen years. 
During this time Mr. Butwell rented the old 
Crawford estate on College street, where he 
started a brickyard on his own account, and 
after leaving the prison work enlarged the 
plant until it had a capacity of 9,000,000 per 
year. When College street was put through it 
ran through Mr. Butwell s yard, one of his four 
machines being in the line of the street. He 
consequently removed to No. 721 Bloor street 
west, which is a part of the Bickford estate. 
In 1894 Mr. Butwell embarked in business at 
Humber, where he owns about twenty-five 
acres of very valuable clay land and a number 
of houses. Here he carries on the extensile 
brickmaking business, the clay being nearly ex 
hausted at the Bloor plant. Plis annual output 
is about 5,000,000 brick, and in his work he em 
ploys about forty men. Mr. Butwell began life 
in Toronto without a dollar to his name, and 
although he met with many reverses in his 
early life he continued to persevere, and his 
hard work has been rewarded by the gaining 
of a handsome competence for his declining 
years. 

In 1851 Mr. Butwell was married to Miss 
Ann Coggins, and to this union there were born 
children as follows : Richard, who is in charge 
of the Humber business; Mark, also a brick- 
maker ; and Benjamin, Harry, James, Caleb, 
Ann and Elizabeth. In political matters Mr. 
Butwell is a Reformer. 

WILLIAM R. STEWARD. The life of the 
late William R. Steward, a well-known drug 
gist, covered the span of half a century, all 
spent in his native city, Toronto, where he was 
born in 1844, son of William and Charlotte 
(Watson) Steward. 

Among the early settlers in Toronto was Wil 
liam Steward, grandfather of William R. He 
remained in business there for some years and 
there died. Twice married, his son, William, 
was one of the children of the first union. The 
latter was in the saddlery business on Yonge 
street, corner of Temperance, for many years, 
but during his later years was in the Depart 
ment of Crown Lands. He died in 1875, aged 
fifty-three years, leaving a widow, who died in 
November, 1905. Her maiden name was Char 
lotte Watson. 

William R. Steward was educated in the old 
grammar school and old Upper Canada Col 
lege, and when he reached an age to choose 
his line of work decided to enter the drug 
business. He served the time of preliminary 
training, and after mastering the details of 
the business engaged in business for himself, 



first on Yonge, street, opposite Trinity square, 
and later on Spadina avenue, where he built a 
handsome block and established himself per 
manently. He continued in active management 
up to his death, and made a name for himself 
by his upright and successful dealings. His 
death occurred in Toronto in 1894. 

Mr. Steward was united in marriage, in 1876, 
to Miss Lucy Hornibrook. Her father, Thomas 
Hornibrook, was a native of Ireland, and came 
to Canada in 1850. He. died in Toronto in 1874. 
To Mr. Steward and his wife was born one 
son, William, who died in October, 1906. While 
he never took an active part in politics, Mr. 
Steward was decided in his support of the Con 
servative party. He was a member of the 
Methodist Church, and served as trustee for a 
number of years. The family residence is at 
No. 26 Willcox street, and was built by Mr. 
Steward in 1889. 

PETER TRENOR, for many years one of the 
well-known lumber merchants of Toronto, died 
in that city in 1887. He was one of three broth 
ers who came to Toronto in 1832, the others 
being Dr. Patrick and Daniel. The doctor died 
unmarried, while Daniel left a family, and his 
sketch will be found elsewhere. 

Peter Trenor was born in County Derry, Ire 
land, in 1802. In 1832 he settled in Toronto, 
on Sherbourne street (then Allan s Lane), and 
there continued to reside until his death. Soon 
after coming to Toronto, Mr. Trenor embarked 
in the lumber business, at the corner of what 
are now Duke and Jarvis streets. After con 
tinuing in business for many years, during 
which time he accumulated a handsome for 
tune, he retired from active business life, and 
spent the rest of his days in the enjoyment of 
the fruits of his early labor. 

Mr. Trenor was twice married, his first wife 
being a Miss Brett, sister of his brother s wife. 
To this union were born : John Brett, who 
graduated in medicine from the University of 
Toronto, was practising in the Brooklyn City 
Hospital during the Civil war in the States, and 
there contracted lung trouble and died; Sarah 
is deceased; and Elizabeth married James 0. 
Donohue, and had four sons and one daughter, 
Christopher, Augustin Trenor. James Austin, 
John and Marie Teresa (who married C. N. 
Smith, of Sault Ste. Marie). Mr. Trenor was 
married the second time to Miss Annie Mona- 
han, born in Ireland, who died in Toronto some 
time prior to the death of her husband. Their 
family consisted of four daughters : Maria ; 
Rosalie ; Agnes ; and Theresa, the wife of John 
Clancy, by whom she has three sons Aloysius 
Trenor, Louis and Carl and one daughter. 



126 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



Mr. and Mrs. Trenor were members of tha 
Roman Catholic Church, and highly esteemed 
residents of the city in which they had spent 
so many years. 

JOHN H. DUNLOP. One of the conditions 
of success in life is the ability to recognize and 
embrace an opportunity when it is offered, and 
this quality, united with the courage to act on 
the promise of the future, has won John H, 
Dunlop, of Toronto, his present position as the 
most extensive florist of Canada. 

Mr. Dunlop comes of Scotch ancestry, some 
of whom settled in the North of Ireland. There 
Jackson Dunlop, father of John H., was born 
in 1830. He emigrated to New York City, 
where he died when only twenty-nine years 
old, leaving a widow and two children, John 
H. and Martha Jackson, the latter dying in 
New York in 1875. Mrs. Dunlop moved to To 
ronto in 1862, and from 1863 to 1870 carried 
on a millinery business at No. 54 Richmond 
street west, on the present site of the Temple 
building. Her death occurred in this city in 
June, 1870, when she was aged thirty-eight, 
years. 

John H. Dunlop was born in New York City 
in 1855, and was educated in Toronto, attend 
ing the Louisa street public school. His school 
life only lasted, however, until he was twelve 
years old, when he was obliged to begin the 
battle of life for himself, and started in at the 
Wesleyan Book Rooms, where he remained 
about three years. From there he went to 
New York and spent a year with Lord & Tay 
lor, after which he learned the carpenter s 
trade, and worked at it until 1875, when he 
left New York. This experience became of 
great value to him afterward in connection with 
his florist s business. 

Returning to Toronto Mr. Dunlop very soon 
established himself in charge of the news stand 
and telegraph office at the "Queen s Hotel," 
and conducted it for eleven years. It was dur 
ing this period that his attention was first call 
ed to the great demand for flowers. Many or 
ders had to be filled by telegraph to Buffalo, 
Boston, New York, and other points, and the 
call for them increased so rapidly that Mr. 
Dunlop conceived the idea of starting a green 
house himself. He built his first one in 1883, 
on Grange avenue. It was only 6 by 12 feet. 
but it sufficed to establish his patronage and 
convinced him of the wisdom of his enterprise. 
In 1885 he moved to Markham street, and 
starting with a greenhouse there 8 by 50 feet, 
soon increased it by an addition 4 feet in width. 
There he succeeded in forcing roses by the 
Bench system, which was being introduced at 



that time, and lilies of the valley for winter 
blossoming, being the pioneer in Canada in 
both lines. Up to 1888 Mr. Dunlop continued 
his business at the "Queen s Hotel," conduct 
ing his florist establishment only as a side issue, 
but by that time the latter business was so 
flourishing that he determined to give it his 
whole attention. 

After selling out the hotel stand, in 1888, 
Mr. Dunlop purchased the first acre of his pre 
sent place, and proceeded to erect a greenhouse 
21 by 100 feet, smaller ones being 16 by 60 
feet. This step was looked upon as being a 
fatal mistake from a business view, as most 
of his friends considered the trade was not 
large enough to warrant such an immense 
plant. Mr. Dunlop, however, felt assured that 
he was only laying the foundation for a still 
larger business and the outcome has proved the 
wisdom of his judgment. His property has in 
creased until he has now over 175,000 square 
feet under glass, with a steam-heating plant in 
connection that keeps it all in a state of per 
petual summer. His establishment embraces 
six acres, and gives employment to twenty-five 
or thirty men. He has also one retail shop in 
the city, at No. 96 Yonge street, at which place 
the retail part of the business is attended to, 
and where the largest retail florist business in 
Canada is conducted. This large retail trade 
has been secured by the care and selection of 
bloom, nothing but strictly fresh flowers being 
sold. 

Mr. Dunlop is connected with a large num 
ber of organizations both in the line of his 
business and otherwise. He is a member of 
the American Rose Society; President of the 
American Carnation Society; state vice-presi 
dent, 1906 and 1907, of the Society of Ameri 
can Florists; was one of the founders and first 
presidents of the Canadian Horticultural Asso 
ciation ; first secretary and one of the early 
presidents of the Toronto Gardeners and Flor 
ists Association. The North-West Toronto 
Rate Payers Association has honored him with 
a similar office. Fraternally he is connected 
with the I.O.F., the A.O.U.W., and the Can 
adian Order of Chosen Friends. He also be 
longs to the Masonic Order, being a member of 
St. Andrew s Lodge, No. 16, G.R.C., Occident 
R. A. Chapter, No. 77, G.R.C. ; an officer in 
Gyrene Preceptory, K.T., No. 29, G.R.C.; 
Rameses Temple A.A.O.N.M.S. ; Toronto 
Lodge of Perfection, A. & A.S.R., Rose Croix 
Chapter, H.R.D.M. ; Moore Consistory, and is 
an honorary member of Damascus Command- 
ery, No. 42, K.T., Detroit, Michigan. 

On May 15,, 1877, Mr. Dunlop was united in 
marriage to Miss Alice Emma, daughter of 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



127 



Robert and Alice (Lester) Montgomery. To 
this union were born the following children: 
Martha, Mrs. E. W. Goulding, of Winnipeg; 
Mabel, Mrs. A. K. Butchart, of Winnipeg; Jes 
sie, Mrs. H. L. Graham, Toronto ; Alice ; Mar 
garet Baird, and Frank Lester. The mother of 
this family passed away Dec. 28, 1901. Mr. 
Dunlop again married, on Nov. 26, 1903, Mrs. 
Eleanor Francis Farley, daughter of Isaac 
Pierce, of Nashua, New Hampshire, and a 
member of one of the oldest and most respect 
ed families of that section. To this union has 
been born one daughter, Dorothy Eleanor. 

GEORGE PEARSALL, the oldest hardware 
merchant in the city of Toronto, comes from an 
old English military family which was founded 
in Canada by his grandfather, Benjamin Pear- 
sail. 

Benjamin Pearsall was born in England, and 
died at Barrie, Vespra township, County Sim- 
coe, Ont. He served at the Battle of Water 
loo, in 1815, shortly after which he came to 
Canada, and settled on a tract of land which 
was given him for his services in the Peninsular 
war. This section was then all covered with 
bush, entirely uncultivated and unimproved, 
but he developed a fine farm upon which he 
lived until his death. He married in England, 
and his children were: Ann; Martha; - ; 
John, a farmer in Simcoe, who was accidentally 
killed by the upsetting of his wagon ; George ; 
Luke, a resident of Simcoe; and Samuel. 

Samuel Pearsall, son of Benjamin, was born 
in 1818 in England, and was but a child when 
the family came to Canada. As soon as old 
enough he was apprenticed to the blacksmith s 
trade at Hogg s Hollow, not far from Toronto, 
in which city he subsequently settled, opening 
a shop on Duke street, his establishment ad 
joining that of William Smith. Here Mr. Pear- 
sail did a large business, keeping four forges in 
operation, and this continued to be his occu 
pation until he met his death by accident, in 
1855. With three, friends Mr. Pearsall had 
gone out on Toronto Bay, where they were 
drowned during a storm. He was a prominent 
and consistent member of the Methodist 
Church and a member of the church choir. 

Mr. Pearsall was married in Toronto to Ame 
lia Lewis, born in 1820 in Bristol, who died in 
Toronto. Their children were : Annie, married 
Alfred Lailey, and died leaving one son, Thom 
as, of Toronto; George is the subject of this 
sketch; Elizabeth, wife of Adam Bentley, re 
sides at No. 61 Berkeley street, Toronto; Ben 
jamin is engaged in a jewelry business ; Jane is 
the wife of Fred. Martin, of Duke street, To 
ronto ; Samuel lives on Duchess street, Toronto. 



George Pearsall was born in 1840, in Toronto. 
He served an apprenticeship at the safe manu 
facturing business, beginning for himself as a 
jobber in 1870, on a corner of West Judge 
stre.et, in John Bogg s row of stores. He had 
scarcely any capital at this time, and soon 
finding himself obliged to go into other lines, 
began in a small way in the hardware trade. 
By careful management and judicious sales he 
soon increased his business, and by 1871 re 
moved to the corner of McGill and Yonge 
streets where he has since been located. He 
now enjoys a large trade, doing a general hard 
ware and repairing business. 

In 1862 Mr. Pearsall married Margaret 
Isabella Maysenhoelder, who was born 
near Montreal, daughter of Gibb and Sophia 
(Reinhardt) Maysenhoelder. They have eight 
children: George, a commercial traveller, 
of Toronto, married Marian McEachren. 
and their three children are Irene, Frank 
and Kenneth; Sophia, wife of William 
Sparrow, of Toronto, has two sons, Wil 
liam and Charles; Isabella is the wife of T. 
R. Morrow, a druggist, of British Columbia; 
Victoria, wife of H. R. Hamilton, of Montreal, 
has two daughters, Grace and Isobel; Samuel, 
who is with his father in Toronto, married Ann 
Ella Janes, and they have two children, Gor 
don and Clifford ; Annie, wife of Jack Townson, 
of Toronto, has one son, Henry Hubert; Eliza 
beth is unmarried; Louise is the wife of Addis 
Brady, of Chicago, and has one son, George 
Addis. 

Mrs. Pearsall s mother was born in Quebec. 
Her mother s mother was of French extraction. 
Mrs. Pearsall s parents died in Toronto. Her 
paternal grandfather was born in Germany and 
established the family in Canada. 

JACOB WALTON. After thirty-eight years 
of efficient service as postmaster at Kettleby, 
and an equal period as merchant at that place, 
no one is more widely known through all the 
surrounding country than Jacob Walton. He 
belongs to a family that settled in Canada just 
after the war of 1812, and he is of the third 
generation from the founder of the pioneer 
family of that name in Canada. His life covers 
nearly the whole period since that time, and he 
has been an integral part of the history of 
King township. 

Jesse Walton, grandfather of Jacob, was 
one of the United Empire Loyalists, and was a 
native of Pennsylvania. He served in the Eng 
lish army during the war of 1776, and at its 
close settled in New Brunswick, where he died. 
With other loyalists the property in Pennsyl 
vania was relinquished rather than renounce 



128 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



allegiance to the King. His widow and chil 
dren moved to York County, where she died. 
They had three sons and two daughters, name 
ly: John and William, who moved to Wiscon 
sin, and died there, leaving families; Jesse (2) ; 
Hannah, who married Phillip Bogart, of Whit- 
church township; and Elizabeth, who married 
Martin Bogart, of King township. 

Jesse Walton (2), was educated in New 
Brunswick, and was there married to Miss Eliza 
Buck. They came to York County in 1824, and 
at first made their home on a small place in 
East Gwillimbury, where he cleared up a farm, 
but in a few years he removed to Tecumseth 
township, and engaged there in agriculture un 
til 1840. In that year he bought a farm in 
Concession 4, Lot 29, King township, where he 
lived until his family had grown up. He then 
moved to Aurora and lived there until about 
1870. With a large number of others of the 
vicinity he went to Kansas and took up land 
near Garnett, and there his wife died. After 
about two years residence in that State Mr. 
Walton returned to Kettleby and^died at the 
age of seventy-six. Both he and his wife were 
members of the Christian Church. In politics 
he was a Reformer. His children three sons 
and seven daughters were: Jacob; Hannah, 
widow of Seth Heacock ; George Ames, a resi 
dent of Manitoba; Brooks Wakefield, of To 
ronto; Caroline, deceased, wife of George 
Bead; Mary, who married Charles B. Major, 
of Michigan, and has several children; and 
Elma Jane, wife of Rev. B. S. Mills, of Michi 
gan. The other children died in infancy. 

Jacob Walton was born in East Gwillim 
bury, near Newmarket, Jan. 2, 1826. His 
father moved to Tecumseth and there the fam 
ily lived till 1840, when they came to King 
township. Jacob received his education in the 
public schools. He -learned the trade of black 
smith and worked at it for some years, and in 
1852 he gave that up and went into an entirely 
different field. Moving to Kettleby, he open 
ed a store there, and began the mercantile 
career that proved long and successful. Dur 
ing the first year he secured the appointment 
of postmaster, and for thirty-eight years serv 
ed the public in that capacity. In 1891 he re 
tired from all active participation in business, 
and turned over the management of his store 
to his son, Jesse M. Walton, who was appoint 
ed his successor as postmaster. Although a 
strong Reformer, Jacob Walton has never 
taken any active part in politics. In religious 
belief he has adhered to the faith of the Chris 
tian Church, in which he was brought up. 

Jacob Walton was united in marriage to 
Mary Lloyd, daughter of Thomas and Sarah 



Lloyd, a pioneer family of York County. 
Throughout their married life Mr. and Mrs. 
Walton have lived in Kettleby, and have rear 
ed a family of seven children: (1) Ella M., 
born in 1869, is the wife of W. D. White, for 
merly of King township, now in the hardware 
business in Collingwood. They have one 
daughter, Frances. (2) Elizabeth Adelaide, 
born in 1870, died in early womanhood. (3) 
Elma Jane, born in 1872, is the wife of C. P. 
Webb, a merchant in Toronto, Kansas. (4) 
Clara Eliza was born in 1874. (5) Gertrude, 
born in 1876, died at the age of fourteen. (6) 
Frederick, born in 1878, is carrying on the old 
homestead in King township. He married Miss 
Minnie Hiilse, of that locality, and they have 
two children, Mary and Charles. (7) Jesse 
M. is mentioned below. 

JESSE M. WALTON was born in 1866, and as a 
boy was sent to the district schools. Later he 
went to the Friends College at Pickering. In 
1891 he succeeded to the control of his father s 
store at Kettleby, and also served as postmas 
ter. In 1900 he opened a banking office in the 
town of Aurora, and has built up an extensive 
business. In 1903 he sold the old Kettleby 
mercantile business which had been held by 
the family for over fifty years to W. C. Bogart, 
and since that time has confined himself entire 
ly to banking. He is a Grand Scribe of the 
Sons of Temperance of Ontario, and editor of 
the Sons of Temperance Record, now in its 
eleventh year of publication. He has been 
treasurer of the township of King since 1889. 

RICHARD SWAIN, who died at Brace- 
bridge, June 19, 1889, was at one time a resi 
dent of Toronto, where he was in business for 
a number of years. He was born in Hertford 
shire, England, Dec. 23, 1849, and there grew 
to manhood and received his education. 

In 1870 he came to Toronto and followed 
the blacksmithing business for about eight 
years, after which he went to Bracebridge, and 
there continued the same business until his 
death. While residing in Bracebridge Mr. 
Swain was prominent in municipal matters, 
and was for nine years a member of the coun 
cil of that place. 

In Toronto, May 8, 1871, Mr. Swain married 
Miss Annie E. Norwich, born in London, Eng 
land, June 30, 1851, daughter of Joseph and 
Maria Norwich, natives of that country and 
founders of the family in Canada. To Mr. 
and Mrs. Swain were born the following chil 
dren: Frederick William, born Jan. 27, 1873, 
at Toronto, who married Jane Appleton Ma 
tilda Norwich, and has three children, Freder 
ick William, Richard Joseph and Jennie Nor- 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



129 



wich. Richard Joseph, born Dec. 11, 1874, at 
Toronto, now of Winnipeg, Man., who married 
Bellareina Delema Bisson, and has three chil 
dren, Annie Elizabeth Matilda, Emma Pauline 
and Alice Ethel; Emma Louise, born Sept. 9, 
1876, at Toronto; John Henry, born Nov. 25, 
1878, at Toronto (Seaton village) ; Benjamin 
Oscar, born Feb. 23, 1881, at Bracebridge, Ont. ; 
Annie Mabel, born Oct. 20, 1884, at Brace- 
bridge, and Mary Ethel, born Nov. 23, 1886, at 
Bracebridge. The family were reared in the 
faith of the Church of England. Mr. Swain 
was a Conservative. Fraternally he belonged 
to the Freemasons and the Orangemen. 

EDLEY KYLE, who died in 1898, at his late 
home, No. 32 Hazelton avenue, Toronto, was 
one of the old and much respected residents of 
York, in which county he resided practically 
all his life. 

Edley Kyle was born in 1816, in New York 
State, where his parents were temporarily re 
siding. He was the son of Robert and Eliza 
(Christie) Kyle, who came from County Ty 
rone, Ireland. Robert Kyle, who was engaged 
in the export of square timber from Canada to 
Ireland, made frequent trips from Ireland to 
this country, though he did not permanently 
settle here. While prosecuting this business, 
which necessitated his visiting different parts 
of Canada, he was drowned in Lake Simcoe, 
when his son was still very young. His widow 
finally settled in the village of Thornhill, where 
she died. 

Thus Edley Kyle was left at an early age 
largely to his own resources, and had to take 
up the work of life when most lads are enjoying 
boyhood sports. In Thornhill, where he spent 
nearly seventy years of his life, he attended 
school, and learned the trade of builder, which 
he followed until failing health compelled him 
to retire from active work, when, in 1883, he 
removed to Toronto, where he died. 

Mr. Kyle, who married Mrs. Hannah McLel- 
lan, of Thornhill, left two children: Charles 
Edley Kyle, now engaged in wholesale grocery 
brokerage in Toronto, and Miss Eliza Kyle, of 
this city, and also two step-children, James A. 
McLellan, M.A., LL.D., late principal of On 
tario Normal College, who resides in Hamilton, 
and Mrs. Gerard Wiley, of Richmond Hill. 

In religion Mr. Kyle was a consistent and 
faithful member of the Methodist Church. In 
politics, while taking no active part, he was .1 
staunch supporter of the Liberal party. 

JAMES L. HUGHES. One of the best 
known men in educational circles in both Can 
ada and the United States, is Chief Inspector 
9 



J. L. Hughes, of the Toronto Public Schools, 
who has spoken on educational topics in all 
the principal cities of the Dominion and the 
States, and whose writings on different lines 
of educational work are well-known to the 
teachers of both countries. 

The Hughes family, of which Inspector 
Hughes is a worthy representative, is of Welsh 
origin. From Wales, many years ago, mem 
bers of the family migrated to Ireland and 
thence to Canada. The family was founded in 
this country by John Hughes, father of the 
Inspector. He was born in County Tyrone, Ire 
land, in 1822, and he died in Toronto in 1905. 
In his native land he received his education, 
and in 1845 came to Canada, settling in the 
County of Durham, where he engaged in farm 
ing for a number of years, and then engaged in 
teaching in the public schools, continuing in 
the latter capacity for twenty-seven years. The 
latter part of his life was spent in Toronto, 
where he became well and favorably known. 

James L. Hughes was born Feb. 20, 1846, in 
the County of Durham, and his education was 
received in the schools of his native place and 
the Normal School of Toronto, from which lat 
ter institution he was graduated in 1866. Mr. 
Hughes began teaching in 1864, at the age of 
eighteen years, and after graduating from the 
Normal school became head master of the 
Frankford (County Hastings) school, where 
he remained for eight months. On his 
twenty-first birthday Mr. Hughes was tendered 
a position as teacher in the Provincial Model 
School. Toronto, where he accepted, and assum 
ed the duties thereof at the opening of the 
sch6ol year, 1866-7. 

In entering this department, Mr. Hughes be 
gan at the bottom of the ladder. He remained 
in the Model school seven years, during which 
time he had risen from the lowest position in 
the teaching staff of the school to that of prin 
cipal. In 1874 Mr. Hughes was appointed 
Chief Inspector of schools for the city of To 
ronto, which position he has since held. The 
rapid growth of the schools of Toronto for the 
past more than three decades, may be seen 
from the fact that in the first named year, when 
Mr. Hughes became inspector, there were but 
sixty-seven teachers in the schools of the city, 
while in 1906 there were 687. The popularity 
of Inspector Hughes is not confined, however, 
to the city of Toronto, nor the Province of On 
tario, nor even the Dominion of Canada. That 
he is a man of international reputation will 
be seen from the fact that he has responded to 
calls to lecture on educational matters in such 
cities of the United States as Boston, New 
York, Chicago, Minneapolis, St. Paul, Milwau- 



130 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



kee, St. Louis, Peoria, Denver, Omaha, Buffalo, 
Cincinnati, Columbus, Kalamazoo, Rochester, 
Syracuse, Albany, Salem, Portland, Lowell, 
New Orleans, Des Moines, New Haven, Hart 
ford, and many other cities of less population. 
Inspector Hughes is also the author of several 
works, among which may be mentioned "Froe- 
bel s Educational Laws," "Dickens as an Edu 
cator," "Mistakes in Teaching," and "British 
and Canadian Histories." In 1878 Inspector 
Hughes taught the first lesson in the Chautau- 
qua course, Bishop Vincent delivering the ad 
dress. 

Not only is Inspector Hughes a very promi 
nent man in educational circles, but Mrs. 
Hughes, his wife, has also gained international 
reputation in educational fields. Mrs. Hughes, 
who was Miss Ada Marean, was born at Maine, 
New York, in 1849, daughter of Chester and 
Arvilla Marean. She was graduated from the 
Albany (N.Y.) Normal school in 1871, and 
from the Kraus-Boelte school, New York City, 
June 18, 1876. Just thirty years thereafter, 
her daughter. Miss Laura C. Hughes, was grad 
uated from the same school, Mrs. Hughes de 
livering the commencement address. Mrs. 
Hughes was president of the World s Kinder 
garten Congress at the World s Fair, Chicago, 
1893, and was president of the International 
Kindergarten Union in 1905-6, and 1906-7. She 
is also president of the Household Economic 
Association of Canada, and it was she that in 
troduced kindergarten work into Toronto. 

Inspector and Mrs. Hughes have four chil 
dren, namely: Helen M., a graduate of the Chi 
cago Normal School, and of the University of 
Toronto (1900), with the degree of B.A., is a 
teacher in the schools of New York City; Ber 
tha was educated in the Toronto public and 
high schools and the School of Expression of 
Toronto ; Laura C. is a graduate of the Kraus- 
Boelte school, Ne.w York City, class 1906 ; and 
J. Chester is a member of the class of 1909, in 
engineering, University of Toronto. Inspector 
Hughes is a past master of St. Andrew s Lodge 
No. 16, A.F. & A.M., and past grand master of 
the Orange Association of Ontario West. 

WILLIAM PETIT- HELLIWELL, who pass 
ed away at his residence, No. 187 Carlton 
street, Toronto, Sept. 6. 1889, was born Nov. 
9, 1830, in the County of York, Ont. He was a 
member of the pioneer family of that name of 
Northern Ontario, which was founded in Can 
ada by Thomas Hell i well, the grandfather of 
William Petit Helliwell. 

Thomas Helliwell was born in 1769, and died 
July 11, 1823. He was married in his native 
country to Sarah Lord, who was born in 1773, 



and died July 19, 1842. In 1817 Thomas Helli 
well came to Canada, settling at Drummond- 
ville, where he engaged in the distilling busi 
ness. In the winter of 1820-21 the family went 
to East York township, County York, settling 
on the Don River, where Thomas Helliwell and 
his sons, Thomas (II.) and John, engaged in 
the brewing business until the father s death. 
After that the business was continued by the 
widow and sons. Thomas and Sarah (Lord) 
Helliwell, had the following named children: 
Elizabeth, born in 1792, married John East 
wood; Thomas (II.) was born in 1795; Mary, 
born in 1797, married Colin Skinner, and had 
one son, Colin ; John, born in 1799, married 
Mary Elliott; Joseph was born in 1802; Wil 
liam, born in 1811, married Elizabeth Bright; 
Charles Lord, born May 13, 1816, died May 14, 
1906, in Toronto. 

Thomas Helliwell (II.), born in 1795, the eld 
est son of his parents, was engaged during most 
of his life in the brewing business. His first 
wife was Mary Willson, of Stamford, by whom 
he had the following children : Sarah, John, 
Abigail, Thomas and William Petit. The sec 
ond wife of Thomas Helliwell was Ann Ash- 
worth, who became the mother of these chil 
dren: Edward, Christopher, Gordon. Elliott 
and Alexander. 

From the foregoing record it will be seen 
that William Petit Helliwell was a member of 
an old family of the County of York. Com 
pleting his studies at Upper Canada College, 
Toronto, he engaged in the hardware business 
on reaching his majority and carried it on for 
a number of years. After his marriage, to 
Sophia Ann Wood, he retired and moved to his 
estate on Don Mills road, living there until a 
few years prior to his death, when, having sold 
part of the estate, he located at his residence, 
No. 187 Carlton street, Toronto. His widow 
and some of their children continue to reside 
there. 

In August, 1865, William Petit Helliwell 
married Sophia Ann Wood, whose parents, 
John and Elizabeth (Steers) Wood, were both 
born in Kent, England. In 1843 Mr. and Mrs. 
Wood located in Toronto, settling on Isabella 
street, where Mr. Wood and his sons engaged 
in the planing, box manufacturing and lumber 
business for a number of years. Mrs. Wood 
died in Toronto Nov. 12, 1892, and Mr. Wood 
died in London, Ont., Aug. 11, 1898, and was 
buried in the family plot in St. James ceme 
tery, Toronto. They attended the English 
Church, and in later years the Baptist Church. 
They were the parents of the following named 
children: Emily, Mrs. A. Parrinton, of Toron 
to; John, who died in 1840; Charlotte, who 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



131 



died in 1844; Mrs. William Petit Helliwell; 
James E., of Toronto ; John A., who died in Au 
gust, 1873 ; Correna E. ; Mahala, who died in 
1857; Philip B., of Toronto; and Amos B., of 
Toronto. 

Mr. and Mrs. Helliwell were the parents of 
the following named children : Edith M., the 
wife of Abiel S. Bowers, who has, one daughter, 
Phyllis; Gertrude E.. who married Thomas 
Rowan, and has two children, Donald and 
Kathleen; Carrie Louise, the wife of Archibald 
Allan, of New York; Ida S., the wife of Thomas 
Wardell. who has one daughter, Helen ; E. Abi 
gail, the wife of Allen C. Her ; Thomas W., of 
Toronto ; Gordon W.. of Toronto ; and Frank 
R., of Toronto. 

In religious faith Mr. Helliwell was a mem 
ber of the Church of England. In politics he 
was a Conservative. 

HENRY R. PRANKLAND, collector of in 
land revenue at Toronto, and a well-known 
man of the County of York is a member of a 
family which has long been identified with the 
various interests in this section of Ontario. 

The Franklaud family is of English extrac 
tion and was founded in Canada by Garrett 
Frankland, the father of Henry R. Garrett 
Frankland was born in England in 1834, a son 
of John Frankland. who died in his native 
land. In England, Garrett Frankland grew to 
manhood and there received his educational 
training. In 1854 he came to Canada, settling 
in Toronto, where for some time he was asso 
ciated with a Mr. Nightingale in business 
Later Mr. Frankland purchased the property 
on which his son Henry now resides, and there 
engaged in a wholesale butchering business, 
also exporting cattle to England ; he was the 
pioneer here in the latter line, and his efforts 
in the development of this industry were high 
ly appreciated by the Agricultural Society, 
which expressed its estimation of his services 
in substantial form by presenting him a hand 
some marble clock and a testimonial signed by 
Philip Armstrong and James King. During 
his long business experience as a shipper of 
cattle Mr. Frankland had many impediments 
to overcome, among them the "Embargo Act," 
which he fought rigorously and almost single- 
handed, and not without success. The citizens 
of Toronto showed their high appreciation of 
his efforts regarding this measure at a banquet 
in his honor, held at the "Queen s Hotel," 
when, in an appropriate speech, they presented 
him a handsome gold watch and chain. 

As above stated. Mr. Frankland settled on 
the property now owned by his son, soon after 
coming to Canada. It is situated in York 



township, whence he moved prior to his death, 
in 1900, into Toronto. He was twice married, 
first to Jane Nelson, who was born in Toronto, 
daughter of Thomas Nelson, an early settler 
of Toronto and a native of Ireland. Mrs. Jane 
Frankland died in 1883, leaving children as 
follows : Henry R. ; Annie, wife of George L. 
Kavanagh ; Herbert P., of Toronto ; Frances 
C., widow of Alfred S. Dixon; and Arthur 
Hope, of the Assessment Department, Toronto, 
who married Anna Mullin. All the children 
were born in York township. Mr. Frankland 
married after the death of his first wife, but 
there were no children by the second union. 

Henry R. Frankland was born on the old 
homestead in York township, Sept. 1. 1858. and 
was educated in a private school at Colling- 
wood and the public schools of York, and he is 
now a trustee of the latter schools, serving since 
1886. In the year 1874 he crossed the Atlantic 
with the first consignment of cattle that left 
from the "West, passing through Toronto ; he 
took full charge of them and landed them in 
Liverpool, from which place they were sent on 
to London and they realized the enormous sum 
of 42 per head. Never before or since have 
such figures been realized on a cargo of cattle. 
Mr. Frankland began his business career un 
der his father s direction, and continued in 
the same line until 1900, when he was made 
collector of inland revenue, in which capacity 
he has served ever since. Prior to this he had 
been connected with municipal matters, and 
also with county public affairs, having for five 
years served as deputy reeve and reeve of 
York township, and as such being a member of 
the county council: for four years he was an 
alderman of the city of Toronto, and in 1896 
he contested East York for the Dominion 
House, to which he was elected by a majority 
of 80. Since 1885 he has been a justice of the 
peace. 

In 1905 Mr. Frankland was elected president 
of the Toronto Horticultural Society; is a mem 
ber of the Agricultural Society of Toronto Dis 
trict; is vice-president of the Ontario Horticul 
tural Exhibition ; and a director of the Indus 
trial Exhibition and a member of the executive 
board thereof. 

In 1883 Mr. Frankland was married to Miss 
Mary Catherine Smith, daughter of the late 
William Smith, of Toronto, whose sketch ap 
pears elsewhere, and two children have been 
born to this union, viz. : Gertrude and Beatrice 
Olivier. Mr. and Mrs. Frankland are consist 
ent members of the Church of England, in 
which he has been warden for twenty years 
and has also officiated as superintendent of the 
Sunday-school. 



332 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



In fraternal life Mr. Frankland is a Free 
mason, belongs to St. George s Society, to the 
Royal Arcanum, and to the A.O.U.W. For ten 
years he was vice-president of the Children s 
Aid Society of Toronto, and he was manager 
of the House of Industry also of this city. It 
will thus be seen that wherever valuable ser 
vice was to be. given, or public spirit to be 
shown, Mr. Frankland has been prominent in 
this section for a long period. 

CHARLES CLARKSON, B.A. (deceased). 
Among the well-known educators and text-book 
authors of Ontario was the late Charles Clark- 
son, who died March 17, 1902. in Toronto. 
Mr. Clarkson was born in 1845, in Yorkshire, 
England, son of Reuben and Hannah (Dale) 
Clarkson, who in 1853 came to Canada and set 
tled at St. Mary s, where the father followed 
farming for a number of years; there he died. 

In St. Mary s grammar school Charles Clark- 
son began his literary training under Dr. Mc- 
Lellen. Later he attended the Toronto Nor 
mal School, and there qualified for teaching, 
which he followed for a time before entering 
upon his classical course at Toronto Univer 
sity, from which he was graduated in 1876, 
with the degree of B.A. After graduation Mr. 
Clarkson went to Dundas, where he was head 
master of the boys college. He then went to 
Seaforth, being head master of the Collegiate 
Institute there for seventeen years, during 
which time he also got up the Clarkson Arith 
metic and the Clarkson Algebra, both of which 
were adopted in Manitoba. Mr. Clarkson fin 
ally settled in Toronto, where he became an 
editor and reviewer of text-books, being thus 
engaged until his death. He also wrote the 
"Lay of the Last Minstrels." 

In 1872 Mr. Clarkson married Amelia Ar 
nold, who was born at Paris, Ont., daughter of 
Charles and Agnes (Taylor) Arnold, who were 
born in Bedfordshire, England, the former in 
1819, the latter in 1820. Charles Arnold s 
father, Isaac Arnold, came to Canada in 1831, 
settling at Paris, where he died. His wife was 
Amelia Cook, also a native of England. 
Charles Arnold, the father of Mrs. Clarkson, 
was educated in Paris, and there went into the 
nursery business, in which he continued until 
his death, which occurred in 1888. He and his 
wife had the following children : George, of 
Winnipeg; Ida, the widow of "William Nisbet, 
of Hamilton ; Ella, the wife of Edward Moyle ; 
and Mrs. Clarkson. 

Mr. and Mrs. Clarkson had three sons, all 
well-known professional men of Toronto: Dr. 
Fred Arnold Clarkson, a well-known medical 
practitioner, who married Bessie Bastedo; 



Charles Harold Clarkson, D.D.S. ; and Percy 
Edward Clarkson, D.D.S. The family are 
Methodists. Mr. Clarkson was a Reformer in 
politics, and fraternally he was connected with 
the I.O.O.F. 

REV. WILLIAM BEE was well known 
throughout Ontario for the great and good 
work he performed as a minister of the Gos 
pel. He was born Nov. 1, 1827, at Weirdale, 
County of Durham, England, and passed away 
at his late residence, No. 16 Birch avenue, To 
ronto, Jan. 7, 1905. When a young man Mr. 
Bee was converted to the Christian faith. On 
reaching manhood he entered the Methodist 
ministry, and from that time until his com 
ing to Canada there was scarcely a Sabbath 
that he did not occupy a pulpit in his native 
country. 

In 1852, in England, Rev. Mr. Bee was mar 
ried to Jane Martindale, daughter of John and 
Sarah (Armstrong) Martindale, and in 1856 
they came to Canada, for a short time resid 
ing in the County of Essex. Mr. Bee was sub 
sequently pastor of the Primitive Methodist 
Churches at Grand River, Drumbo, Collin s 
Bay, Albion, Reach and other places, and in 
1871 was appointed general and missionary 
secretary and book steward of the Primitive 
Methodist Church, in which capacity he served 
until the Union, in 1884. At the time of the 
Union of the churches Mr. Bee retired from the 
pulpit and went to the North- West, where he 
resided for eleven years, then returning to To 
ronto, where he bought his late residence at 
No. 16 Birch avenue. Mrs. Bee. who survives 
her husband, resides with her daughter, Mrs. 
H. H. Gibson, in Kentucky. In political mat 
ters Rev. Mr. Bee was a Reformer. 

To Rev. Mr. and Mrs. Bee were born these 
children: John, who died on the trip to Can 
ada; William, who died young; Sarah Ann, 
who died in June, 1883; Mary Jane, wife of 
Rev. William Booth, who has one daughter, 
Ethel; Elizabeth S., wife of John Herron, who 
has six children, Horace, Dorothy, Ida, George, 
Jack and Jean ; Wilhelmina, who is the wife of 
Rev. Benjamin Ririe, of the China Inland Mis 
sion, and has three children, William, Harold 
and Mary ; William Garner, of New York, who 
married Ida Jameson, and has had two children, 
George and Minnie; Thomas Martindale, of 
Lemberg, Saskatchewan, who married Mary 
Harper, and has four children, Emily Jane, 
William, Ethel and Eric; and Ida, the wife of 
Harold H. Gibson, who has two children, An 
sel and Miriam. 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



133 



ELI H. HILBORN, who died at his resi 
dence at No. 74 Brunswick avenue, Toronto, 
May 17, 1906, after an illness of about a year, 
was a member of one of the pioneer families of 
York County, founded in Canada by his grand 
father, Thomas Hilborn. in 1806. 

Thomas Hilborn emigrated from Pennsyl 
vania, and settled in Newmarket for a short 
time, later removing to the Coimty of Ontario, 
Ont, near Uxbridge, at what is known as Quak 
er Hill. Here both he and his wife died, their 
children being: Mrs. Jonathan Gould, who died 
in Pennsylvania : John ; Amos ; Rachel, who 
married William Gould; Phoebe, Who 
married John James; Stephen; and Joseph, who 
died in the County of Lambton, Ontario. 

Stephen Hilborn was born in Wrightstown, 
Bucks County, Pennsylvania, in 1785. and came 
to Canada in 1806, with the family. He re 
mained at Newmarket for a time after his 
father had located at Uxbridge, and later re 
moved to Whitchurch township, County of 
York, where he married Hannah Hambleton, 
a native of Pennsylvania, and daughter of 
Moses Hambleton, who came to the County of 
York about 1806. During the war of 1812 his 
son Aaron Hambleton was drafted, but being 
a Quaker in religion he refused to engage in 
any struggle at arms, and was therefore, with 
thirty others, thrown into prison, at Toronto, 
where he died. This action on the part of the 
Canadian Government caused Moses Hamble 
ton to return at once to the United States, set 
tling in New York State, where he spent the 
remainder of his life. 

After marriage Stephen Hilborn settled at 
Uxbridge, where the remainder of his life was 
spent. His children were: Joshua, who rlied 
in 1882; Annie, who married James Russell, 
and who died in Michigan ; Sarah, who married 
Anthony Avery, and had several sons, one of 
whom, Lincoln, is collector of customs at Port 
Huron, another, Alexander, postmaster at that 
point for some time and later collector of cus 
toms, and still another, Joseph, at one time 
County Judge of St. Clair County, Michigan; 
Elizabeth, who married Elijah Rose ; Moses, who 
died at the age of six years : Samuel, a mech 
anic, who died in 1859 : Edwin, also a mechanic, 
who died in Appleton. Wis. ; John, of North 
Dakota; Jane, who married Daniel Gould, a 
brother of Joseph Gould, M.P. ; Priscilla. who 
died at the age of ten years : Eli H. ; and Abi 
gail, who married David Hall. 

Eli H. Hilborn was educated at the high 
school of Uxbridge and the normal school of 
Toronto, after graduating from which he en 
gaged in teaching school for four years. He 
then engaged in manufacturing lumber, oper 



ating a sawmill at Cambray, also following the 
tanning business and engaging in farming. He 
later sold out these businesses and purchased 
the old homestead at Uxbridge, where he e- 
sided until removing to Toronto in 1889. In 
1858 he married Sarah Widdifield, a member 
of an early settled family, and to this union 
have been born two daughters: Elcetta, widow 
of William T. Forfar, of Toronto Junction, and 
mother of four children. Florence. Howard, 
Lillian and Goi don ; and Florence, who mar 
ried Charles Forfar, B.A., a teacher in the Uar- 
bord Collegiate Institute, Toronto, and has two 
children, Russell and Lolita. 

During Mr. Hilborn s residence in Uxbridge 
he was clerk for sixteen years, and a member 
of the high school board for some time. He 
wa,s a member of the Ontario Agricultural 
Commission in 1880, at which time he was 
president of the Dominion Grange. In poli 
tics he was a Reformer, and took a great in 
terest in the success of that party. He was 
fraternally affiliated with the I.O.O.F. In his 
religious faith he was a Methodist, and all his 
family are members of the church of that de 
nomination in Toronto. 

HORATIO WILLIAM NELSON, who died 
at his late residence. No. 70 St. Alban street, 
Toronto. Nov. 22, 1901, was born in Montreal 
in July, 1846, son of Horatio Admiral and 
Maria (Davison) Nelson. Horatio Admiral 
Nelson, M.P.P., was born in New Hampshire, 
U.S.A., and was the founder of this branch of 
the family in Canada. The first of the family 
in America was Capt. Charles Nelson, who took 
an active part in the American Revolution. 
The Nelsons are of English extraction, and have 
for many years been connected with, the com 
mercial interests of Canada. 

Horatio Admiral Nelson settled in Montreal 
in an early day and there engaged in the manu 
facture of woodenware and fancy goods, etc. 
There his business life was spent, and there he 
and his wife died. For some time Mr. Nelson 
was a member of the Quebec Parliament. In 
political affiliation he was a Reformer. He and 
his wife were members of the American Pres 
byterian Church. They had children as fol 
lows: Andrew David. Albert Daniel. Horatio 
William, Emily, Charles Henry, Harriet Ame 
lia, Frederick Eaton, John, and Marie Louise. 

Horatio William Nelson was educated in Bur 
lington, Vermont. In 1868 he began his busi 
ness life in Toronto, establishing a branch of 
the Montreal business on York street, whence 
he removed to Front street Avest. Later the 
business was closed out in Toronto, and Mr. 
Nelson removed to Montreal, where he remained 



134 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



for three years, during which time the Mont 
real business was burned out. He then took 
over the business, removed it to Toronto, and 
founded the firm of H. W. Nelson & Co. Lim 
ited, at the head of which Mr. Nelson remained 
until his death. Since that time Sidney "VVharin 
has conducted it very successfully, Mrs. Nelson 
still retaining her husband s interest. 

On Feb. 11, 1873, in Toronto, Mr. Nelson 
married Miss Isabella Christie, who was born 
at Old Niagara-on-the-Lake, daughter of the 
late Alexander Ritchie Christie, a well-known 
lumberman of Niagara, and a native of Perth, 
Scotland. Mr. Christie married Margaret Kil- 
gour, who was born in Kent, England, of Scotch 
parentage, her father being a member of Wel 
lington s army, with which he served at the 
battle of Waterloo. Both Mr. Christie and Miss 
Kilgour settled in Montreal prior to their mar 
riage, were there married, and immediately 
thereafter settled in Old Niagara-on-the-Lake. 
where Mr. Christie continued in the lumber busi 
ness for a number of years. On account of 
better railroad facilities, however, in connec 
tion with the Middle West, he removed in 1860 
to Toronto, where for a number of years he was 
a leading business man. In this city he died 
in 1895, and his wife in 1870. Their children, 
all born at Niagara, were: Janet R., deceased; 
Margaret K., who married William Kerr, of 
Toronto; Peter, deceased; Helen R.. who mar 
ried Henry W. Darling, treasurer of the Gen 
eral Electric Company, of Schenectady, New 
York; and Isabella, Mrs. Nelson. 

Mr. and Mrs. Nelson had one daughter, 
Helen Georgie, who married Dr. Donald Me- 
Gillivray, of Toronto. Mr. Nelson was a Pres 
byterian, and Mrs. Nelson and her daughter 
adhere to the same faith. In politics he was a 
Reformer. In fraternal circles he was connect 
or! with the Masons. 

GEORGE BENNETT, who died in Toronto 
Junction, Oct. 20, 1898, was well known 
throughout Western Ontario. He was born at 
Tecumseh,- Ont, Dec. 18, 1851, son of William 
and Isabella (Mitchell) Bennett, natives of 
Belfast, Ireland. 

William Bennett was the founder of the fam 
ily in Canada, and on coming first to the coun 
try settled at Tecumseh, where he engaged in 
farming for many years, and where he and 
Mrs. Bennett died. 

George Bennett was educated at Tecumseh, 
and when eighteen years old went into the lum 
ber business at Tidmouth, where he owned and 
operated a sawmill. From there he moved his 
business to South River, and thence to what is 
now Chelmsford, which place he founded. Here 



Mr. Bennett carried on an extensive lumber 
business for a number of years, and then re 
moved the business to Flesherton, where he 
operated a large veneering mill and lumber busi 
ness for some time. From Flesherton he went 
to Toronto Junction, where he continued until 
his death. For some time previous to his death 
Mr. Bennett had been engaged in mining, hav 
ing quite extensive interests in that line. His 
death occurred while he was engineering a large 
land deal, which promised large dividends had 
he been able to carry it through. He was an 
active and progressive business man, well 
known and highly esteemed. 

In April, 1890, Mr. Bennett, and Miss Caro 
line Calvert Cross were united in marriage. 
She was born in England, daughter of William 
Henry and Mary Ann (Calvert) Cross. To Mr. 
and Mrs. Bennett were born two sons, George 
Folkingham and Reginald Oalvert. Mr. Ben 
nett was a prominent member of the English 
Church. In politics he was a Conservative. 

THOMAS BRUNSKILL, M.D., of No. 259 
Wellesley street, Toronto, romes of a family 
who were among the early settlers of the Coun 
ty of York, and is descended from English 
ancestry. 

The first Brunskill, of whom there is any 
data was John, the great-great-grandfather of 
Dr. Thomas. He was born at Winston. County 
Durham. England, in 1690. The next in line 
was Wharton, born in England, in 1729, and 
by occupation a "licensed victualler," or hotel 
keeper. He never left his native land, but his 
son, Robert, born at Soulby, County Westmore 
land, England, in 1783, was the founder of the 
family in Canada, where he settled in 1831, at 
Oak Ridges. County York. He cleared a fann 
in Concession 1, Lot 2, and there passed the rest 
of his life. His death occurred in 1865. and his 
wife, whose maiden name was Tamar Heinsen, 
died in 1868. Robert Brunskill was a mem 
ber of the Church of England. To him and his 
wife the following children were born, all be 
fore the family left England, and of wham all 
but two died in County York. They were: 
John, Thomas, Robert, Matthew, Wharton, 
James (who died on the ocean). Elizabeth. 
Margaret, Ann and Mary. 

John Brunskill was born in England in 1811, 
and was just reaching manhood when he came 
to Canada with his parents. He was a farmer 
and miller by occupation, and his operations 
were on a large scale. His property was situ 
ated at Thome Hill, and his mill, known as the 
"Pomona Mills." had a world wide reputation 
for the flour made there. He was one of the 
most prominent and highly respected men of 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



135 



his section, was a member of the Church of 
England, and in his political views was a Con 
servative. In 1839, he married Miss Elizabeth 
Cooper, bom in Hull, Yorkshire, England, in 
1811, daughter of Jonathan Cooper, who came 
to Canada in 1831, and settled on a farm in the 
County of York. Mr. Brunskill s death was 
very sudden and entirely unexpected. It oc 
curred March 1, 1870, when his wife, on awak 
ing, found her husband lying dead beside her. 
So great was the shock that she lingered only 
a few days, and on the following Sunday, 
March 6, 1870. followed him. 

The following excerpt from the Daily Tele- 
yraph. of Mareh 2nd, not only pays a tribute to 
Mr. Brunskil], but refers to a disaster coinci 
dent with his death: "Mr. Brnnskill was well 
and widely known. He was the proprietor of 
the Pomona flour and saw mills. He has been 
for years one of our leading operators in grain 
and flour, and was a heavy loser by the burn 
ing of the Northern elevator last night, fie 
however could not have been aware of his loss 
at the time of his death." The Globe of March 
3rd, also bore testimony to Mr. Brunskill s ad 
mirable character in the following words: "Mr. 
Brunskill, the owner of the Pomona flour mills, 
who has resided at Thome Hill for over thirty- 
five years, had an extensive circle of friends 
and acquaintances. He was well liked by all 
who knew him, and had also borne the repu 
tation of being most honest and straightforward 
in his dealings." 

The family born to John Brunskill and his 
wife were as follows: (1) James, born at Rich 
mond Hill, in 1840, a commission merchant of 
Toronto, died unmarried ; n 1874. (2) Dr. 
Thomas. (3) "William, born in 1853, died in 
1896, the proprietor of the "Olcott Hotel." He 
married Miss Catherine Dow, and had three 
children, Alexander. Ross and Fred. (4) Mary 
Clarkson, wife of Dr. T. C. Scholfield, died in 
1896. (5) Frances married Simon Fraser, of 
the Customs Department in Ottawa. 

Dr. Thomas Brunskill was born in 1845, and 
received his early education in the Richmond 
Hill grammar school (two of his classmates 
being His Honor, Chief Justice Falconb ridge 
and the Rev. Father Teefy), and at another 
school in Hamilton conducted by the Rev. J. G. 
D. McKenzie. He at first went into the mill 
ing business with his father, but later his taste 
for medicine asserted itself, and he prepared 
himself for that profession. His first reading 
was done with Dr. T. C. Scholfield, of Bond 
Head, and in 1868 he was graduated from the 
Rolph Medical College of Toronto. He located 
at Stroud and practiced there until 1880, when 
he went West to the Rocky Mountains, .and 



spent five years on i ranch in the cattle busi 
ness. His first bunch of cattle was sold 
to Hon. M. H. Cochran, a pioneer in the busi 
ness in the immediate vicinity. In 188f> Dr. 
Brunskill returned to Stroud, and, resuming his 
practice, continued it until 1892. Then 
he was in the drug business for some years, 
and since 1897 has made Toronto his home. His 
interests branch out in various lines and his 
name is to be found on the rosters of the Ma 
sonic Lodge and the A.O.U.W. In politics he is 
a Reformer, and in religious belief a Methodist. 
Dr. Brunskill was united in marriage in 1869 
to Miss Jane Marr, born in Markham township, 
daughter of Joseph and Lucy (Crosby) Marr. 
Her father was one of the early settlers of the 
township, whither he had come from Penn 
sylvania in 1801. He died in 1885. aged eighty- 
seven years. Mrs. Brunski l has borne her 
husband four children, namely: Persee *R., a 
stock broker in Toronto; Arthur Dudley, a 
travelling man; Morley, a butcher in Toronto; 
and Frances, wife of Mr. John S. McKay, of the 
Canadian Pacific Railway Company s staff in 
Winnipeg. The family rank high in the es 
teem of their acquaintances, and Dr. Brunskill 
has won considerable reputation locally in the 
practice of his profession. 

REV. THOMAS GOLDSMITH, deceased. 
Broad as are the opportunities for usefulness 
offered by the ministerial career, there are few 
men in that profession who have taken a deeper 
hold upon the hearts of their fellows, or achiev 
ed a more marked influence for good upon all 
with whom they came in contact, than did Rev. 
Thomas Goldsmith, who passed from his labors 
in this world to his Heavenly reward April 14, 
1902. He was born in Hallowell. Prince Ed 
ward County, Feb. 27, 1823, son of David 
Goldsmith. 

The Goldsmith family is of U. E. Loyalist 
stock, and was founded in Canada by Capt. 
Thomas Goldsmith, a British officer who came 
to Canada from the State of New York, soon 
after the close of the American Revolution. He 
was given a grant of land in Prince Edward 
Coimty, and spent the rest of his life there in 
retirement. His wife was a Miss Conger. 

David Goldsmith, son of Capt. Thomas, mar 
ried a Miss Johnson, who was of Irish extrac 
tion. 

Rev. Thomas Goldsmith began early to show 
the traits which made him so successful in the 
ministry. After receiving what education the 
schools of his native county afforded, he con 
tinued to read and rtudy by himself, becom 
ing a proficient student not only in Latin and 
Hebrew, but particularly in Greek. When only 



136 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



nineteen he began his work as a minister and 
became known as the "boy preacher." For 
some years he was connected with the Metho 
dist denomination, and was over the New Con 
nexion Church, but later accepted the creed of 
the Presbyterian Church. In 1865 he was of 
fered a position as agent for the Upper Canada 
Bible Society, and remained there for five years, 
when he resumed th work of the ministry. In 
1870 he became pastor of the Presbyterian 
Church at Seaforth, and during his seven years 
and a half there he built up a large member 
ship. From that charge he was called, in 1877. 
to St. John s Church, in Hamilton, continuing 
his successful ministry there until 1889. At 
that time his health began to fail, and he was 
thenceforward unable to assume the duties of a 
regular pastorate. From that time until his 
death he resided in Toronto, retired from heavy 
responsibilities, but nevertheless he frequently 
officiated in various churches for short periods 
of time, and for one entire year filled the pul 
pit of St. Paul s Church, Peterboro, and for six 
months in St. Andrew s, Toronto. His last ser 
mon was preached in the Bloor Street Presby 
terian Church, in August, 1900, although he 
lived for a considerable time afterward. His 
illness was a lingering one, extending over 
eighteen months, but he retained his keen mind 
and accurate (memory to the end. 

In 1849 Rev. Thomas Goldsmith was united 
in marriage to Miss Jane Cosford, daughter of 
Thomas and Anne (Pearson) Cosford. Her 
parents were Quakers and came from Pennsyl 
vania to County York in the pioneer days, set 
tling in Whitchurch township. Thomas Cos- 
ford was a wealthy man, owning at one time 
eleven farms, a sawmill and a blacksmith shop. 
Mrs. Goldsmith had an elder sister, Mary Ann. 
who married Joseph Hartman, for many years 
Liberal member for North York, and a younger 
brother, Thomas, who died in 1903. Rev. and 
Mrs. Goldsmith were the parents of four chil 
dren, namely: Susanna Catherine, deceased; 
Alfaretta and Annette, of Toronto; and Fred, 
deceased. 

Rev. Thomas Goldsmith was an eminently 
broad-minded man, willing to accept the truth 
in whatever guise or from whatever source it 
came. Being thus liberal in his attitude, he 
commanded the respect of all who enjoyed his 
acquaintance, and he was highly esteemed 
among Catholics as well as Protestants. He was 
always a great reader, not only along theologi 
cal lines, but in literature and science equally. 
As minister he combined rare eloquence in 
speaking with the utmost devotion to the pas 
toral side of his work, particularly among the 
sick in his congregation. His influence was 



widely felt, and throughout his long life he was 
always a power for good. He upheld the Re 
form party. 

JOHN IRWIN. late of Toronto, was one of 
the well-to-do men of the city, in which he had 
been an important factor in business circles for 
a number of years. He was born in 1825, at 
the village of Lurganboy, near the town of 
Manor Hamilton, County Leitrim. Ireland, son 
of William and Martha (Robinson) Irwin, na 
tives of thj3 Emerald Isle, where the mother 
died. 

In 1850 John Irwin came to Canada, and 
after spending some time in Quebec, during part 
of which he was connected with government 
matters, he located in Toronto, where he engag 
ed in the hotel business for a while as the pro 
prietor of the "General Wolfe House." Mr. 
Irwin also owned a fine farm near Toronto, 
which he carried on for some time in connection 
with his other business. For a number of years 
he furnished horses for the Toronto Fire De 
partment. He owned much real estate in To 
ronto, owning the buildings from No. 15 to No. 
21 Grenville street (including his home at No. 
17 Grenville street), also fifteen or twenty 
homes on Berkeley street, the Gill house on 
Yonge street, and others. Mr. Irwin had a fine 
summer home on the Island, near Toronto, and 
in connection therewith a fine fruit orchard, and 
there he and his family spent the summer 
months. 

From 1880 to 1890 Mr. Irwin served his city 
as alderman and proved as thorough and con 
scientious in public life as he did in business. 
From the time he began business in Toronto 
until his retirement he was very successful, ac 
cumulating by his own efforts the large fortune 
which he enjoyed in his old age. 

About 1854 Mr. Irwin married Miss Jane 
Henry, of County Sligo, Ireland. There were 
no children born to this union, b\it they adopted 
two, a boy and a girl. The girl is now Mrs. 
Arthur Ardagh, of No. 18 College street, and 
the boy, John A. Irwin. late of the Assessment 
Commissioner s office, at the City Hall, now of 
Buffalo, New York. The subject of this sketch 
died Sept. 22, 1904; his wife died about five 
months before. Both are buried in the family 
plot in the Necropolis. 

JOHN BERTRAM, for many years one of 
Canada s leading captains of industry, and one 
who always took a deep interest in public af 
fairs, died at his residence, No. 19 Walmer 
road, Toronto, Nov. 28, 1904. Born in East 
Lothian, Scotland, Oct. 16, 1837, Mr. Bertram 
came to Canada in 1860, and settled at Peter- 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



137 



borough. He carried on the retail hardware 
business for some years, and it was while he 
was living in Peterborough that he represented 
West Peterborough in the Dominion Parlia 
ment. 

As president of the Collins Inlet Lumber 
Company, president of the Bertram Engine 
Works, chairman of the Dominion Commission 
on Transportation, and (in 1897) member of 
the Ontario Forestry Commission, Mr. Bertram 
was widely known. From 1872 to 1878 he sat 
in the House of Commons as a supporter of 
Alexander Mackenzie. In 1888 he located in* 
Toronto, continuing in the retail hardware busi 
ness and taking up the wholesale trade as well. 
Mr. Bertram was principally engaged, how 
ever, in the lumber business, with which he was 
identified for a period of twenty-five years, and 
he was regarded as probably the best authority 
on forestry in Canada. He practiced the prin 
ciples of reforestration on his own limits, and 
his knowledge of the subject proved of great 
service to the Province when, in the year 1897, 
he became a member of the Ontario Forestry 
Commission, along with the late E. W. Rath- 
bun, of Deseronto; the late Alexander Kirk- 
wood, of the Crown Lands department, and Mr. 
J. B. McWilliams, of Peterborough. As one 
result of the Commission s work some 3,000,000 
or 4,000,000 acres of forest land, unsuitable for 
agriculture, have been set aside as reserves. It 
was also as the result of Mr. ^Bertram s repeated 
representations that the export duty on logs 
was imposed by the Ontario government, a 
change which has given such an impetus to the 
lumber manufacturing industry on the Can 
adian side of the Great Lakes. 

Mr. Bertram s active interest in the engine 
and shipbuilding industry began in 1900. with 
the death of Mr. George H. Bertram, whom he 
succeeded as head of the Bertram Engine 
Works Company, remaining in that position, 
until his death. Mr. Bertram was chairman 
of the Dominion Commission on Transporta 
tion, which had the work of investigating means 
of improving Canadian channels of transporta 
tion by land and water. It was his illness which 
cut short the tour he was making of Canada 
during June, 1904, in company with his fellow 
members, namely : Messrs. Robert Ref ord, Mont 
real, and E. C. Fry, Quebec. 

To quote the words of another . " In character 
Mr. Bertram was known as a man of strong 
common sense, firmness and positiveness ;>f 
ideas. Great thoroughness marked all of his 
operations." In religion he was a Unitarian. 

Mr. Bertram married Miss Helen Shiells, who 
survives him with seven children. 



DR. GEORGE SHAW MARTIN, manager 
of the International Dental Manufacturing 
Company, with office at No. 20 Temperance 
street, Toronto, is a member of an old and hon 
ored family long identified with Canada. 

The Martin family, which is of English ex 
traction, was founded in Canada by George 
Martin, father of the Doctor, who was born Dec. 
5, 1819, in the parish of Abbey Lanercost, 
County of Cumberland, England, son of James 
and Margaret (Elliott) Martin, the former of 
whom died in England. The latter came to 
Canada and is buried at Lundy s Lane. In 
1840 George Martin and his two brothers, Wil 
liam and Matthew, came to Canada. William 
settling near London, Ont., Matthew at Ni 
agara Falls, and George in the township of 
Mono, County Dufferin. When George Martin 
settled in Mono township the country was cov 
ered with dense timber, but he managed to clear 
a farm from the bush and made his home in 
that locality until his death, in 1904. He m-ar- 
ried Jane Shaw, who was born in Sligo, Ire 
land, daughter of Allen and Margaret (Brett) 
Shaw, and to this union were born children as 
follows : Margaret, the wife of William Thomp 
son, of County Dufferini; James, a farmer; 
Jane, w ho married Andrew Murphy ; Mary, 
who married William Arnold; Isabella, who 
married Daniel Nesbitt. of Manitoba ; Sarah, 
who married Frank Cowan -, Robert, a farmer 
on the old homestead in Dufferin County ; 
Frances ; and Dr. George Shaw Martin. 

George Shaw Martin was born at the old 
homestead in County Dufferin, in 1867, and re 
ceived his literary education at the Collingwood 
Collegiate Institute and the Orangeville high 
school. In 1888 he entered the Royal College 
of Dental Surgery of Ontario, at Toronto, and 
graduated therefrom in 1891 with the degrees 
of L.D.S. and D.D.S., at once settling in the 
practice of his profession at the Junction, 
where he continued until 1905. At that time 
he was the oldest dentist in the place in point 
of years of practice. Dr. Martin has always 
taken a deep interest in the welfare of his pro 
fession, having filled successively every office in 
the gift of the Ontario Dental Society and also 
of the Toronto Dental Society. He was twice 
honored with the presidency of the latter soci 
ety. He was also for nearly ten years associ 
ate editor of the Dominion Dental Journal. 

In 1905 the International Dental Manufactur 
ing Company was founded, by the union of the 
S. B. Chandler Dental Depot, Limited, and the 
Davis Dental Manufacturing Company. Lim 
ited, with Dr. W. Cecil Trotter, of Toronto, 
president, and Dr. George Shaw Martin, man 
ager. The company s head office is in Toronto. 



138 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



while it has a branch office in Buffalo, and 
manufactures, as the name implies, special lines 
of dental goods and supplies. In assuming the 
management of this business Dr. Martin retired 
from the practice of his profession, transferring 
his office to the city, and renting his residence 
at the Junction, where he had for fourteen 
years been a leading dental surgeon. 

In 1904 Dr. Martin was married to Matilda 
Adams, daughter of Dr. J. G. Adams, a well- 
known dentist of Toronto, a record of whose 
life will be found elsewhere. Dr. and Mrs. Mar 
tin are members of the Methodist Church. He 
is a Reformer in political sentiment, and is fra 
ternally affiliated with the Masons, being a past 
master of Stanley Lodge, A.P. & A. M., No. 
426, G.R.C. 

WILLIAM H. MOORE, one of the most hon 
est, genial gentleman of the City of Toronto, and 
one of the Queen City s oldest grocers, was born 
in County Monaghan, Ireland. Sept. 12, 1825, 
son of Alexander Moore, a well-known, farmer 
of the county. 

William H. Moore grew 10 manhood on his 
father s farm, where he learned the habits of 
industry and integrity which have characterized 
him throughout his active business life. On 
Wednesday, July 22, 1852. Mr. Moore landed 
on the wharf at Toronto, and since that time 
has been an honest resident of the Queen City. 
On landing in Toronto Mr. Moore at on<;e 
sought employment, and engaged with Walter 
MacFarland, with whom he remained fifteen 
months and four days. He then learned clock- 
making, which he followed five years, at the end 
of which time he turned his attention to the 
mercantile business. On going out of the clock 
business Mr. Moore found his health somewhat 
impaired, and for the next seven years he trav 
elled in various parts of Canada, In 1863 he 
embarked in the grocery business on Queen 
street west, where he remained until May 6, 
1876. transferring his business at that time to 
No. 54 Grange avenue, where he has since been 
located. Besides his business Mr. Moore is an 
extensive property owner in this section of the 
city. 

Mr. Moore has made his own way in the 
world, and is numbered among the well-to-do 
business men of Toronto. He has the reputa 
tion of being a man whose word is as good as 
his bond, and has never had trouble with any 
one in a business way. Although past the 
eightieth milestone in life s journey, he has the 
full retention of his faculties, and with the ex 
ception of an occasional attack of rheumatism 
is as well as he has ever been. 

Mr. and Mrs. Moore are Presbyterians. In 



politics he is connected with the Conservative 
party. 

JOHN FARLEY, a contractor of Toronto for 
many years, who died in that city March 31, 
1893, was born in County Monaghan, Ireland, 
in 1850, son of John and Margaret (Corbet) 
Farley, both of whom died in Ireland. 

In 1871 John Farley, the subject of this 
sketch, left his native country for the United 
States, and, settlig in New York State, re 
mained there two years. In 1873 he located 
in Toronto, where he was engaged as a sewer- 
pipe contractor during his twenty years resi 
dence in the city. He was very well known, 
as his business brought him in contact with mu 
nicipal work, and he became acquainted with 
majiy men prominent in public affairs. He 
was a man who could be relied upon in all his 
business undertakings, and the fact that Mr. 
Farley was given a contract was assurance that 
the city would get all that was due value re 
ceived, as his work was of the best and accord 
ing to agreement. 

Mr. Farley was married in New York State, 
in 1873, to Miss Maggie A. Latimer, a native of 
Ireland; daughter of William and Elizabeth 
(Williamson) Latimer, the former of whom 
died in Ireland in 1882. In 1887 Mrs. Lati 
mer, who was born in Ireland in 1799, came to 
Toronto, where she died in 1896. Mr. and Mrs. 
Farley had four children: William George, of 
Toronto; Robert John, a veterinary surgeon of 
Winnipeg; Elizabeth; and Francis Joseph. Mr. 
Farley was a member of the Church of England, 
and in political faith he was a Conservative. 
Fraternally he was connected with the Orange 
men. His late residence., where Mrs. Farley 
now lives, was erected by him in 1884, and is 
situated at No. 43 Lowther avenue. 

WILLIAM T. MASON, who died Nov. 6, 
1882, was a well-known and most highly es 
teemed citizen of Toronto. His birth occurred 
Jan. 5, 1824, at Ivy Bridge, Devonshire, Eng 
land, where Thomas Mason, his father, carried 
on an extensive milling business. 

William T. Mason was educated in the home 
school and in the grammar school at 
Plymouth, where his father was a local 
preacher and a leading Methodist. In 1842 
he came to Canada, locating at Montreal 
for a year, and then removed to Toronto, where 
he became accountant and cashier in the well- 
known wholesale house of Taylor & Stephen- 
son, remaining a number of years. He then 
turned his attention to the handling of real 
estate and the adjustment of estates, many of 
which were turned over to him by the court 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



of chancery. This and other outside work was 
a heavy tax on Mr. Mason, and his health be 
gan to fail under the severe mental strain. He 
quite recovered from the illness, however, and 
his death occurred Nov. 6, 1882. Mr. Mason 
was one of the prominent members of the Metro 
politan Methodist Church, in which he was a 
local preacher. On coming to Toronto he as 
sisted greatly in church work. During his 
short stay at Thornhill he was equally active in 
religious work, and on returning to Toronto 
in 1852 was one of the number appointed by 
the Quarterly Board of the Richmond Street 
Church to establish a Methodist cause, of which 
the beginning had been formed in St. John s 
Ward, and this led to the Elm Street Church. 

In speaking of Mr. Mason, the late Hon. John 
Macdonald, with whom he was first acquainted 
on coming to Canada, said, after citing many 
of Mr. Mason s qualities: "I cannot say much 
more. It is enough to add that among all the 
good and loving and devoted brethren whom I 
have ever known, it has never been my lot to 
know a brother more earnest, having more 
singleness of purpose, nor showing more de- 
votedness in all branches of God s work, than 
W. T. Mason." 

On Nov. 10, 1856, Mr. Mason and Miss Mary 
Lawrence were united in marriage. Mrs. Ma 
son is a daughter of Major Peter Lawrence, an 
early settler of the County of York, who was 
born in Fredericton, New Brunswick, Nov. 
21. 1788, son of John Lawrence, of English 
parentage. In 1812 Peter Lawrence came to 
Toronto, and engaged in the tanning business a 
few miles from the city, and he also owned 
much property. He took a great interest in 
military matters, was a major in the militia, 
and participated in the war of 1812-14. and in 
the Rebellion of 1837-38. He married Eliza 
beth Cummer, born in Pennsylvania, Nov. 20, 
1793, and they had these children : Margaret, 
deceased, who married John AVilson ; John, Wil 
liam, Peter and Jacob, deceased: Elizabeth, 
widow of John Walker; Mary, Mrs. Mason; 
Nancy Catherine, widow of Henry Peterman, 
of Aurora. Ont. ; and Sarah Jane, deceased, who 
married Frank Noverre. 

Mr. and Mrs. Mason had these children: 
Lieut. -Col. Percival L., of the Queen s Own 
Rifles, married Miss Luella Mitchell, and had 
children, Bertha L. and Ailocn : Alfred E., of 
Vancouver, B.C.. married Miss Clara Dack, and 
had one daughter, Edith; Arthur IT., of To 
ronto, married Miss Minnie Davidson, and had 
five children, Islay, Edna. Carroll, William find 
Donald: Miss Bertha, of Toronto; William E., 
of Rcgina, Sask., married Miss Nellie Cock- 
burn, and has children. Harold, Edgar, Helen 



and Herbert; and Thomas Harold, of Toronto. 
In the death of Mr. Mason Toronto lost one 
of her most able and highly respected men. 

REV. WALTER MILLAR, who labored long 
and faithfully as a minister of the Gospel in 
County York, died at North Arthur, Ont.. in 
1878. He was born in 1821. in Perthshire, Scot 
land, son of Rev. James Millar, who died in the 
old country. 

Rev. Walter Millar received his early liter 
ary training in his native country, and on 
reaching his majority came to Canada, spend 
ing four years in Toronto as a gardener. While 
here he decided to study to become a member 
of the ministry of the Baptist Church, and, re 
turning to Scotland, pursued his studies with 
that end in view. On the completion thereof 
the Rev. Mr. Millar again came to this coun 
try, and, being ordained, for two years engaged 
in preaching the Gospel in King township, but 
in 1857 he settled on a farm in Arthur town 
ship, -continuing his preaching on Sundays, 
however. There he resided until his death. 

In 1853 the Rev. Mr. Millar was married to 
Miss Sarah Ann Campbell, born in Brooklyn, 
N.Y., in 1834, daughter of Neil and Mary (Bea 
ton) Campbell, natives of Scotland. Neil Camp 
bell located in New York in 1834, but two years 
later removed to King township, settling on a 
farm, where he continued to reside until his 
death in 1841. Mrs. Campbell died at the home 
of her daughter. Mrs. Millar, in 1878. She and 
her husband had three children : Duncan, Mrs. 
Millar and Flora, To the Rev. Walter and Mrs. 
Millar five children were born: Mary Ella, who 
married David Todd. has one daughter, Eva; 
James, deceased, left two children, Wal 
ter and Lois; Flora, wife of William 
TTmbach, had two children. Sarah and Wal 
ter; Maggie is the wife of Philip Umbach; 
and Neil C. is a stationer at No. 996 Queen 
street, Toronto. In political matters Mr. Mil 
lar was a Reformer. 

BENJAMIN ELMORE HAWKE, M.D., of 
No. 21 Wellesley street. Toronto, is one of the 
well-established physicians of that city, and one 
whose professional preparation has been un 
usually complete, a fact which, in connection 
with his agreeable personality and close atten 
tion to his work, accounts fully for the success 
which he has attained. 

The Hawke family was originally of English 
extraction, but migrated to the New World be 
fore the American Revolution and settled in 
Pennsylvania. In 1811 Benjamin Hawke, 
grandfather of the Doctor, left the United 
States, and coming to Canada located in County 



140 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



York, on Yonge street, about twenty miles from 
Toronto, then called York. He had charge of 
building the Yonge street road, through what 
is now known as Hogg s Hollow. About 1855 
he moved with his family to County Waterloo, 
Wellesley township, where he settled on a farm 
and remained until his death, in 1866, at the age 
of eighty-four years. Hawkesville. in the 
County of Waterloo, was named for the family, 
some of whom were its first settlers. They were 
prominent men in their localities, and in the 
first council for the township of Wellesley there 
were four members of the name of Hawke. Ben 
jamin Hawke married Miss Mary Lount, jm 
aunt of the late Judge William Lount. so well 
known in Ontario. Mrs. Hawke was born in 
Pennsylvania and died in Wellesley. 

William Hawke, son of Benjamin, was born 
in County York, in the Yonge street home, in 
1828. He was a farmer and stock raiser by 
occupation and became one of the prominent 
men of his locality. His death occurred in 
1889, in the Toronto General Hospital, as the 
result of an operation, an event the more to be 
deplored as he was but just past the very prime 
of life. Mr. Hawke was twice married. His 
first wife was Miss Jane Monkman, who be 
longed to one of the old families of County 
York, and by this union there were four chil 
dren, namely: Erastus, an implement dealer; 
Lavinia, wife of Pierce Fetch: Rachel, wife of 
David Harrow; and Edgar, Melfort. Sask. By 
his second marriage Mr. Hawke was united to 
Miss Isabella Harrow, who was born in Scot 
land in 1841, daughter of William and Jane 
Harrow. The Harrow family came to Canada 
when Mrs. Hawke was nine years old, and set 
tled in County Waterloo on a farm, where her 
father died later. To Benjamin and Isabella 
Hawke ten children were born, as follows: 
George, of Aurora; Albert, a physician in Gait; 
Henry: Benjamin E. ; Calvin; Janet, wife of 
Rev. A. J. Johnston; Frank; Agnes, residing 
in Gait; Harvey and Walter, also of Gait. 

Dr. Benjamin E. Hawke was born in Welles- 
ley in 1866. His general education was receiv 
ed in the Berlin schools, after which he entered 
upon the study of medicine in Trinity Medical 
College, of Toronto, from which he graduated 
in 1887. As he was desirous of _ still further 
study along his chosen lines Dr. Hawke then 
proceeded to New York City, where he entered 
the New York Polyclinic nnd Post-Graduate 
School, from which institution, a year later, he 
received a degree also. Thus equipped for his 
profession, he returned to his native township 
and began practising in the village of Welles- 
ley. After two years he removed to Stratford, 
where he was located for ten years, and then in 



1901 settled in Toronto, where he quickly built 
up a good practice. Dr. Hawke was married 
in 1893, to Miss Mayme Trow, daughter of the 
late Hon. James Trow, of Stratford, who was 
for twenty-five years a member of the Domin 
ion Parliament. In political faith Dr. Hawke 
is a Reformer, while fraternally he belongs to 
the Masons. 

The Hawke family are very proud of their 
descent and carefully cherish certain heirlooms 
in their possession. Dr. Hawke s mother, who 
now resides in Gait, is very proud of a chair 
which Benjamin Hawke brought with him to 
Canada in 1811, \vhile another valued article !s 
the seat from the first carriage in Toronto; 
this seat Mrs. Hawke has had upholstered and 
placed in a corner of her sitting-room in Gait. 
The Doctor esteems very highly a pair of old- 
fashioned tongs made by Samuel Lount, a 
blacksmith at Holland s Landing, and who was 
hanged in Toronto in the year 1838 for par 
ticipating in the rebellion of 1837-38. Samuel 
Lount was a brother of the Doctor s grand 
mother. 

HON. SIR ADAM WILSON, in AVhose death, 
in December, 1891, the Dominion of Canada 
lost one of her ablest and most erudite prac 
titioners and wise and kindly justices, was of 
the highest type of citizen, upright, honorable 
and blameless, alike in public and private life. 

Sir Adam was born in Edinburgh, Scotland, 
Sept. 22, 1814. His father, Andrew Wilson. 
Esq., of Glasgow, had four sons and four 
daughters: Henry; Andrew; Adam; George; 
Jane, who married Mr. Hay Wright, of Glas 
gow: Jessie, who married Mr. Westwater, of 
Glasgow; Helen, who married Mr. Elkanah 
Billings, a noted geologist of Montreal; and 
Grace, who died unmarried. He came to Can 
ada in 1830 and for a time lived in the town 
ship of Trafalgar with an uncle. Colonel Chal 
mers, who at one time was a member of Par 
liament, and who was engaged in milling and 
merchandising. Shortly after Sir Adam s com 
ing to Canada, his father s family followed. In 
January, 1834, Sir Adam was articled to the 
law in the office of Baldwin and Sullivan. He 
proved a diligent student, and was called to the 
Bar at the Trinity term, in 1839. For some 
months thereafter he remained at his old place 
in the management of the office, and in Janu 
ary, 1840, he formed a partnership with the 
Hon. Robert Baldwin, a relationship that was 
maintained until 1849, when Mr. Baldwin re 
tired from practice. In 1850 Sir Adam was 
appointed Queen s Counsel; in the same year 
he formed a partnership with Dr. Larratt W. 
Smith, and in 1856 a partnership was formed 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



141 



with Hon. Justice. Patterson and Mr. James 
Beaty, Q.C. Sir Adam applied himself to 
counsel business only, and though clients were 
numerous he still found time to be actively in 
terested in public affairs, and was allied with 
the party led by his friend and former part 
ner, Mr. Baldwin. In 1859 and 1860 he sat 
as mayor of the city of Toronto, being the first 
mayor elected by a general vote, and he may 
be said to have been the first practical munici 
pal reformer Toronto ever had. He entered 
with zeal into all matters pertaining to the 
city s interests, and bravely met and faced the 
usual conflicts, being sustained by the people 
at large. During his mayoralty term he had the 
honor of receiving in 1860 His Royal Highness, 
the Prince of "Wales, now King Edward VII. 
In 1860 he was elected member for the North 
Riding of York in the Parliament of Old Can 
ada, representing that constituency until, in 
1863, he was appointed to the Bench. During 
1862 he held the office of Solicitor-General and 
Executive Counselor in the John S. Macdon- 
aid administration. He was appointed to the 
Queen s Bench in 1868, and took his seat in the 
latter Court. In 1878 he became Chief Justice 
of the Common 1 Pleas, and in 1884 of the 
Queen s Bench, and was always looked upon as 
a sound and able lawyer. He was painstaking 
and industrious in the study and preparation of 
all cases entrusted to him, and while on the 
Bench was fearless and conscientious in his de 
cisions, and ever distinguished for his uniform 
courtesy. His dignity and self-possession never 
forsook him, and his receptive as well as alert 
mind made him ever ready for the unexpected 
but important points that came within nis 
jurisdiction and required immediate action that 
must, nevertheless, stand the test of time. Be 
fore his resignation as Chief Justice was ac 
cepted he was Knighted by Her Majesty, Queen 
Victoria, an honor, it is believed, he had formerly 
once if not twice refused. His merits need no 
commendation. Untiring industry, unselfish 
devotion to duty and unblemished integrity were 
the well-known characteristics of his public 
life. 

The "Canada Law Journal" refers to the 
late Sir Adam Wilson as follows : 

"We took occasion to refer at some length 
to Sir Adam s history and public career, on his 
retirement from the Bench, in our issue of Dec. 
1st, 1887. Since his withdrawal from his posi 
tion as Chief of the Queen s Bench Division and 
President of the High Court of Justice, his 
well-known figure has been almost daily seen 
in our streets. It was always a pleasure to meet 
him. His greeting was uniformly sympathetic, 
and there has seldom lived among us one at 



once so kindly and guileless in his disposition, 
so honorable in his dealings, and with such de 
votion to duty. His mind was undimmed and 
active to the last. 

"Soon after his retirement Sir Adam -and 
Lady Wilson spent some months abroad. When 
at home, his residence was at his comfortable 
homestead in Spadina Crescent. The warm 
months of summer were for several years spent 
at his Balmy Beach Cottage, a few miles east 
of the city, where, in full view of Lake On 
tario, and with romantic rural surroundings, 
the active form of the Knight might be seen 
directing workmen, or himself often lending a 
not unskilful hand to their labors. It was 
pleasant here to meet him in the mellow after 
noon of an August day. 

"Sir Adam was well read in current litera 
ture. He often gave his guests interesting de 
tails of men with whom he had been familiar, 
such as his old friends the Baldwins. Sir Louis 
Lafontaine, Sir Francis Hincks, Sir George Car- 
tier, Sandfield Macdonald, and Sir John Mac- 
donald. In looking back on his experience of 
life, as a lawyer, and in the exercise of muni 
cipal, executive and judicial functions, there 
were few of his contemporaries whom he could 
not measure accurately, but in a kindly spirit. 
He shunned all ostentation and accepted the 
honors of Knighthood only on the repeated re- 
qiiest of Sir John Macdonald. 

"When, under Hon. R. Baldwin, as treasurer 
of the Law Society in 1856-57, the present main 
building was erected, Mr. Wilson was chair 
man of the building committee. His energy 
there had much to do in establishing the society 
on its present broad basis, and confirming Os- 
goode Hall as the judicial and professional cen 
ter of the Province. This result he used to refer 
to with satisfaction. On his retirement from 
the judicial bench, Sir Adam resumed his seat 
among the benchers, and his work on commit 
tees of convocation, with an energy only now 
expected from representatives of the junior 
Bar. 

" He took a warm interest in the Homoeopathic 
Hospital and the Home for Incurables, and 
many other useful charities, which found in 
Sir Adam a wise and generous benefactor. He 
had always a lively interest in scientific dis 
covery and discussions, and was a member of 
the Toronto Astronomical and Physical Soci 
ety. His literary memorial will be found in the 
numerous able and learned judgments in the 
law reports, many of them being exhaustive 
treatises on the subjects under discussion. 

"It may be inferred how pleasant and profit 
able a companion Sir Adam was to those whoss 
happiness it was to meet with him." 



142 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



In 1841 Sir Adam "Wilson married a sister of 
the late Robert G. Dalton, Q.C., Emma, the 
estimable daughter of Thomas Dalton, editor 
and proprietor of the Patriot, a Conservative 
organ, and one of the first newspapers pub 
lished in Toronto. Lady Wilson died at her 
home in Toronto, Dee. 22, 1906. 

Of Sir Adam we may say that Ke wore the 
white flower of a blameless life, and his death 
was mourned sincerely in many circles. Up- 
rig ht and honorable, he was always actuated 
by honest motives, a trait so well recognized 
that he was as much respected for his many 
virtues as he was admired for his comprehens 
ive legal learning. Nevertheless, in spite of the 
prominent position he occupied for so many 
years, one of his most notable characteristics was 
his simplicity, his love for the humble things of 
life. In his decisions he was governed by kind 
ness and sympathy, and his memory is cher 
ished tenderly by all who knew him, rich or 
poor, for he had the same smile and hearty 
handshake for all. The sincerity of his good 
will was so evident, so devoid of affectation, 
that he won men to him in the pursuit of his 
most ordinary duties, and retained their friend 
ship as long as he lived. He leaves behind him 
a record of usefulness that might well serve 
those wh." follow him as a standard of emula 
tion . 

ROBERT GLADSTONE DALTON, Q.C., 

was one of the best known legal men not only 
in Toronto, but throughout the Province of 
Ontario, as he was for over fifty years a dis 
tinguished member of the profession of his 
choice. He was born at Kingston, Canada, 
May 8, 1819, and became a student at Upper 
Canada College soon after the founding of that 
educational institution, which has produced so 
many men of whom Canada is justly proud. 

After Mr. Dalton was called to the bar he 
practised law in Torojito until 1868, when he 
was appointed clerk of the Crown and Pleas 
in the Court of Queen s Bench. In 1871 he was 
appointed by the John Sandfield Macdonald 
government clerk in Chambers, and was au 
thorized to hear Chamber motions, such as 
could be heard by a judge. He acted in this 
capacity until the Judicature Act was passed 
in 1881, when he was made Master in Cham 
bers with increased jurisdiction. His duties 
when clerk in Chambers pertained only to 
common law cases, but when the Judicature 
Act came into force he took all Chamber mo 
tions. Before he took the position of Master, 
and when he was a practising barrister, he was 
at one time in partnership with Mr. Gilbert, 
who subsequently became sheriff of Chicago. 



It did not signify who was arguing before 
Mr. Dalton, whether the most obnoxious bar 
rister or the most learned Q.C., he gave a most 
patient hearing, but when the argument was 
concluded the Master s decision was as a rule 
soon given, so keen was his insight and so 
quick his grasp of details. He was a model of 
judicial fairness, and his method of hearing 
cases was instructive, and many were the 
notes, mental and otherwise, which rising 
scions of the law took of his rulings. So much 
confidence had members of the Bar in his abil 
ity to grasp the points submitted for his con 
sideration that they often presented their cases 
orally instead of in manuscript form. His 
court was looked upon as a model one, particu 
larly in its dealings with municipal cases, such 
as those testing the rights of mayors-elect, etc., 
to occupy their seats. His knowledge of mu 
nicipal law was extensive and many members 
of the Bar elected to take their cases before him 
when they might have gone before the judges. 
When his decisions were given they were 
generally accepted without dissent by both 
parties to the case, and they were seldom over 
ruled by the higher courts. He was a steady 
and persistent worker, and after office hours 
might often be seen wending his way home 
with a bundle of papers on which he would 
spend many hours of the night in writing up 
judgments. Then again, in the morning, be 
fore office hours, he might be found busy at 
work in Osgoode Hall Library. His judgments 
when delivered were models of brevity, a trait 
which probably descended to him from his 
father, Thomas Dalton, who established one of 
the first newspapers in Toronto, the Patriot. 
In political sentiment Mr. Dalton was a Con 
servative ; he sympathized with the English 
Unionists, and was a careful reader of the Lon 
don Times. 

For some years, while Mr. Dalton occupied 
the position of chief clerk of Queen s Bench, 
there were associated with him Mr. John 
Small and Mr. Alexander Macdonell. "It was 
a peculiarly pleasant office to do business with 
in those days," remarked a well-known mem 
ber of the Bar, "in fact, it was a veritable 
happy family." The Minister of Justice, in a 
speech to the County of York Law Association, 
on Nov. 23rd, 1906, stated that much of the 
good feeling prevailing in the profession was 
due to the late Robert G. Dalton, Master in 
Chambers, who always discouraged sharp 
practice. 

Mr. Dalton s grandfather was honored with 
the Freedom of the city of Birmingham, Eng 
land; and the city of Manchester has preserv 
ed the memory of a connection of Mr. Dalton, 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



143 



John Dalton, the celebrated physicist and foun 
der of the atomic theory of chemistry, by 
a life-size statue placed in the vicinity of the 
street that bears his name. 

Mr. Dalton married Ophelia Harriet Hen- 
nah, who was born in Cornwall, England, of 
a family connected for generations with the 
British Navy. Her grandfather. Captain Hen- 
nah, commanded H.M.S. "Mars" at the bat 
tle of Trafalgar. Mr. Dalton had three daugh 
ters and two sons: Florence Emma, who took 
the M.A. degree at the University of Toronto, 
and who resided with her aunt, Lady Wilson, 
until the latter s death, Dec. 22, 1906; Sophia 
Frances, now Mrs. Reginald Denison; Mary 
Gertrude, wife, of Walter R. Morson; Robert 
Wilson Gladstone; and Edward Hennah. Mr. 
Dalton had four sisters: Sophia, wife of Wil 
liam Bartlett. of the Indian Department : Em 
ma, wife of the Hon. Sir Adam Wilson, presi 
dent of the High Court of Justice for Ontario ; 
Harriet, who died unmarried; and Mary, wife 
of Daniel McMichael, LL.D., Q.C. 

Robert G. Dalton was a manly man. His 
was a genial and sunshiny disposition, always 
looking on the. bright side, and for many years 
his pacific principles and finely developed 
sense of justice won for him a high reputation 
as an arbiter. He had all the gifts of percep 
tion and decision required for the jurist, and 
what might have terminated in many a tedious 
lawsuit was adjusted amicably, to the satis 
faction of all parties concerned, by this pro 
fessional peacemaker. The world knew him 
as modest and retiring, caring nothing for the 
bauble of popularity, but his finer nature was 
revealed to those of more intimate acquaint 
ance. A gifted conversationalist, an eloquent 
pleader for many rights to man, a shining ex 
ample of a beautiful life lived in strict accord 
ance with the Golden Rule, his kindly advice 
and expressions of sympathy gave to many a 
struggling unfortunate an impetus to a higher 
and better life. Mr. Dalton died at Toronto 
on July 24, 1892. 

JOSEPH FARR was for a number of years 
one of the energetic business men and highly 
esteemed citizens of Toronto, where he died 
Feb. 22, 1904. He was born in 1846, at Que 
bec, a son of Henry and Helen Farr. 

Henry Farr, best known as Sergeant Farr, 
came to Quebec from Ireland many years ago. 
His ancestors, however, were English. He 
owned a large farm near Quebec, at Lake St. 
Charles, where he died, after which his widow 
came to live with her son, the late Joseph Farr, 
who died at Toronto in 1896. Thev had chil 



dren as follows: Joseph, John A., Sarah. Isa 
bella A. and. Henry, deceased. 

The late Joseph Farr was educated in Que 
bec and entered into business with Robert 
Mitchell, an extensive contractor, with whom he 
remained some time. He then became a trav 
elling salesman for the Queen City Oil Com 
pany, making a decided success as such and 
subsequently going] into business for himself, 
in the same line, organizing the Farr Oil Com 
pany varnish business, now known as the Im 
perial Varnish Company. With this concern 
Mr. Farr continued until his death, the partner 
attending to the business at the home office, 
while Mr. Farr did the travelling for the firm. 
He made many friends by his honorable busi 
ness representations and his many sterling 
traits of personality. 

In 1873 Mr. Farr was married to Isabella J. 
Anderson, who was born in Scotland in 18.53, 
daughter of Alexander and Jean (Mclntosh) 
Anderson, the former of whom came with his 
family to Toronto in 1872 and now resides in 
Boston, Massachusetts, with a son. He has 
reached a venerable age, having been born in 
1816. His wife was born in 1822, and died in 
1904. Their children were: Mrs. Farr, Mary 
A., Maggie, and George. 

To Mr. and Mrs. Farr were born the follow 
ing named children: Lucy Apnes, wife of Wil 
liam McConock, who has children Isabel, 
George, Alexander and Frank-. Adelaide Emily 
Alice, wife of Frederick H. d Pole, of To 
ronto, who- has two children, Freda and How 
ard; Isabella Jane; Ellen Margaret Amelia; 
Joseph Henry Alexander ; Sarah Louisa ; George 
Gordon; Joseph Frederick; Lydia May, and 
Jessie, deceased. 

Mr. and Mrs. Farr were valued members of 
the social circle to which they belonged, and 
many outside his family and business connec 
tion were affected by his death. For many 
years he was a member of the English Church, 
of which he served as treasure) and warden. In 
political faith he was a Conservative and fra 
ternally a Freemason and a member of the 
Shrine. He belonged also to the Toronto Board 
of Trade. In 1887 he built a beautiful home at 
No. 14 Birch avenue, which is still the family 
residence. 

WILLIAM WHARIN, a substantial business 
man of Toronto, now situated at No. 441 Spa- 
dina avenue, enjoys the distinction of being 
the oldest jeweler of the Queen City, where he 
has been in continuous business since 1852. 

The Wharin family was founded in Canada 
in 1830 by William Wharin, father of our sub 
ject, who was born in England in 1800. Early 



144 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



in life he joined the military, and in this ca 
pacity came to Canada and resided at Kingston 
for some time. He next resided in Quebec for 
a few years, and then accepted the position of 
lockmaster on the Grenville Canal. He died 
in Kingston in 1887. Mr. Wharin married 
Sarah Butterworth, a native of England, and 
to them were born the following children : 
Mary, who died unmarried; William; Sarah, 
deceased; Ann; Frances, deceased. 

William Wharin was born in 1829, in Eng 
land, and was but one year old when the fam 
ily came to Canada, in which country his edtica- 
tion was secured. He then served his time lo 
the jewellery business in Toronto, and in 1832 
embarked in his chosen occupation on Church 
street, just south of King, where he remained 
until 1858. At this time he removed to the 
"Rossin House" block, where he continued 
until 1862, the time of the fire. The next two 
years were spent at the place now occupied by 
Stockwell, Henderson & Co., and then he re 
moved to No. 11 King street east. In 1869 he 
went to the Old Globe building, then to No. 47 
King street west, and in 1892 to his present 
location. No. 441 Spadina avenue. Probably 
not half a dozen men are in business to-day in 
Toronto who were thus engaged in 1852, and 
Mr. Wharin is at least one of the oldest, if not 
the oldest, business men in the Queen City. 

In 1854 Mr. Wharin was married to Mary J. 
Dunn, who died in 1902, at the age of sixty-six 
years. Their children were : Fanny ; Mabel ; 
William Jarvis. an accountant in Toronto, who 
married Amy Phillips and has four children- 
Mary, Ellen, Philip and John ; Herbert, also an 
accountant, who married Maude Hauter, and 
had two sons Winston and Douglas; and Sid 
ney J., manager for Nelson & Son. Toronto, 
who married Kate Semple, and has two children 
Kathleen and Robert. Mr. Wharin is a mem 
ber of the Methodist Church. He is a Reformer 
in political principle. 

ADAM BEATTY. Among the men who 
have been prominent both in business and pub 
lic circles of the Queen City is the late Adam 
Beatty, who was born in County Fermanagh, 
Ireland, in 1810, son of Luke Beatty. 

Mr. Beatty had three brothers who came to 
Canada, namely: Alexander, who died in To 
ronto, leaving three children, John and Alex 
ander, both deceased, and a daughter who still 
resides in Toronto; John, who located in To 
ronto, and later settled at Tecumseh. where he 
owned a large farm at the time of his death; 
and Luke, who located in Toronto, where he 
died, leaving one son, Alexander. 

Adam Beatty located in Toronto shortly 



after the Rebellion of 1837-38. He at once em 
barked in the grain and produce business in 
which he made a financial success, and then an- 
gaged in mercantile pursuits at the corner of 
Queen and Parliament streets. During his 
business life, Mr. Beatty purchased largely of 
real estate, and among his purchases in this line 
may be mentioned the whole block in which his 
store was situated on Queen and Parliament 
streets. This property is now owned by his 
widow. After closing out his mercantile busi 
ness, Mr. Beatty settled on Queen street east, 
where he lived retired for about eighteen years, 
looking after his investments, and in Septem 
ber, 1881, he moved to No. 147 Sherbourne 
street, where on the 30th day of the follow 
ing March, 1882, he died. Not only as a suc 
cessful business man was Mr. Beatty well 
known, but his public life brought him strongly 
before the people. For many years he was as 
sessor of Toronto, in which capacity he served 
his city faithfully and well,. and with credit to 
his business ability. He also filled the office of 
alderman for many years, and in his death To 
ronto lost not only a successful business man, 
but a popular and efficient city official, and a 
genial Christian gentleman. 

Before leaving Ireland, Adam Beatty was 
united in marriage with Miss Mary Jane Johns 
ton, a native of the Emerald Isle, daughter of 
William and Mary Armstrong Johnston, both 
natives of Ireland, where they died. Mrs. Beatty 
was the only member of the Johnston family to 
locate in Toronto, where she still resides, one 
of the respected and honored ladies of that city. 
To Mr. and Mrs. Beatty the following children 
were born : William married and had one daugh 
ter, Josephine; Adam lives in Toronto; Mai*- 
garet married T. Dockray, and became the 
mother of Minnie, Adam and Herbert; Mar 
garet; Luke married and has one son, Charles; 
Mary Ann resides at No. 147 Sherbourne street, 
with her mother: Christopher, deceased, mar 
ried and at his death left two children, Fred 
and Ethel; Albert, deceased, marripd 
and at his death left one daughter, May; 
Jane, the wife of Joseph Smith, has one son, 
Frank; Alexander F. married and has three 
children, Abigail, Ada and Alexander; and 
Elizabeth Beatrice, deceased, married Thomas 
Worts. 

Politically Mr. Beatty was a pronounced Con 
servative. In his religious views he adhered to 
the teachings of the Church of England. 

WALTER H. BLIGHT, of Toronto, city 
agent for the Ocean Accident and Guarantee 
Corporation, Limited, of London, England, is 
a member of an old English family which was 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



145 



founded in England in the days of William 
the Conqueror. 

The first of the family who came to Canada 
was William Blight, father of Walter H. He 
was a son of William and Mary (Selby) Blight, 
both of whom spent their lives in England. 
William Blight was born at St. Germans, Corn 
wall, England, and was baptized in the church 
there. There he was educated and served an 
apprenticeship to the hardware business. In 
1835 he came to Quebec to take charge of a 
hardware concern the.re. After coming to Que 
bec he married Kathle.en Blaiklock, who was 
born in London, England, in March, 1819, daugh 
ter of Captain Henry Musgrave Blaiklock, a 
native of England, who was in the army for 
some years, and was captain of militia during 
the rebellion of 1837. Both Captain Blaiklock 
and his wife died in Quebec, leaving children 
as follows: George, Frederick William, Louisa, 
Kathleen, Elizabeth, Edwin, and Henry M. Of 
these Henry M. participated in the Crimean 
war, and died in India. George was a contrac 
tor and built the fortifications at Halifax; he 
left one son, Frederick, who was accidentally 
killed at Halifax. Frederick William was a 
Provincial land surveyor and lived at Mon 
treal; he left children as follows: Stansfield, 
an engineer for the Grand Trunk Railway Com 
pany, who, under Mr. Hobson, built the St. 
Clair tunnel, the terra firma link between the 
Canadian and American shores; Harry, of 
Montreal; William, deceased; Mary, and 
Emma. 

William Blight came with his family to To 
ronto in 1852 and shortly afterwards founded 
the hardware firm of Markel & Blight, locat 
ing on the northwest corner of Toronto street 
and King street east, where the Quebec Bank 
now stands. In 1857 they sold out the business 
and Mr. Blight went into the insurance business 
as manager of the old Phoenix Company, after 
ward the Western Insurance Company, and still 
later as manager of the Lancashire Company. 
He was in the latter position at the time of his 
death, Nov. 2, 1891. 

The following children were born to William 
Blight and his wife : William, who is a retired 
manufacturer at Bridgeport, Connecticut ; 
Mary Elizabeth, wife of John Landers, of To 
ronto; Kathleen Blaiklock, wife of William 
Webb, of Toronto ; Walter Henry ; Charlotte 
Louise; Henry Musgrave, with Rolph, Clark 
& Co., Toronto ; Phebe, wife of George Me- 
gloughlin; Francis Thomas Morris, with the 
Toronto Railroad Company ; Ada Caroline, wife 
of John Ross, of Toronto; and Alfred Wiman, 
10 



who is in the fishing tackle business at 
Toronto. 

Walter Henry Blight was born in 1848, at 
Quebec, and was four years old when his par 
ents settled at Toronto. His education was ac 
quired mainly at the Bartlett Academy, and he 
began his business life with Charles Doan, with 
whom he served one year. He was then en 
gaged as a clerk in the hardware house of 
William Hewitt, on the corner of Yonge and 
Adelaide streets, where he remained for a year 
and a half. He next went to Milwaukee, Wis 
consin, where he became a commercial sales 
man for a cutlery firm, with which he remained 
until 1866. When the Fenian troubles arose 
Mr. Blight was in the United States and he 
served his own land in a meritorious manner. 
In the city of Chicago he organized a body of 
stalwart young men under the name of the Chi 
cago Volunteers, and with them returned to 
Canada in 1866, and assisted in repressing the 
Fenian raiders. 

At the close of the Fenian troubles Mr. Blight 
settled at Toronto and engaged with the firm 
of Rice, Lewis & Sons, with whom he continued 
until 1896, when he became interested in insur 
ance, accepting his present position as city 
agent of the great corporation mentioned in 
the opening of this sketch. His services are 
highly appreciated by his employers and he 
has the merited reputation of being an able- 
business man and honorable gentleman. 

In 1876 Mr. Blight was married to Miss Eli 
zabeth Lorondsrough, who was born at Toron 
to, daughter of William Lorondsrough, former 
ly a boot and shoe merchant here, who died in 
1875. Mrs. Blight died in 1889, the mother of 
one son and three daughters, the latter being: 
Edith, wife of Arthur Hawkins ; Ida Kathleen ; 
and Retta. The only son went out with the 
first contingent to South Africa and died there 
April 15, 1900, of fever, and his remains were 
laid away in the cemetery at Bloomfontein. 
This was a sad blow to his family. 

Mr. Blight is a member of St. Paul s Metho 
dist Church, as was the late Mrs. Blight. In 
politics he is a Reformer. In Masonic circles 
he is a past master of Rehoboam Lodge; past 
first principal of St. Andrew s and St. John s 
Chapter, Royal Arch Masons; past preceptor, 
Geoffrey St. Aldemar; and is a thirty-second- 
degree Scottish Rite Mason. He is also an Odd 
fellow, an Orangeman, and a member of the 
Sons of England, and has passed through all 
the chairs of the.se different bodies. Mr. Blight 
is a past president of the Veterans 66 Associa 
tion, a leading aim of which is opposition to 



146 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



the use of the British and Canadian flags for 
business purposes. In 1906 Mr. Blight sent the 
following notice to every editor in the Domin 
ion of Canada : 

Toronto, Feb. 17. 190C. 
To the Editor: 

Sir, Believing that the press will be the most ef 
fective means of accomplishing what our Association 
aims at, I desire to direct your attention to the fol 
lowing resolution passed at the recent annual meeting 
of the Veterans of 1866 Association: 

The flag of our country being the emblem of Bri 
tain s might and glory, it ought, whenever and wher 
ever displayed, to evoke feelings of patriotic pride 
in every British subject, but this Association views 
with regret the prevalent and increasing custom of 
making it the medium of calling attention to auction 
sales and otherwise using it for advertising purposes, 
demeaning the flag and taking from it the respect with 
which it ought to be viewed. 

Besolved, therefore, that the president appoint a 
committee to act with kindred associations or other 
wise, in endeavoring to secure a discontinuance of the 
practice of using the British or Canadian flags for 
such purposes. 

If you sympathize with our object, will you, through 
your paper, urge the discontinuance of this practice 
now thoughtlessly indulged in? If the press generally 
would take the matter up we would soon have such a 
public sentiment of respect for the flag that it would 
no longer be put to the indignity of calling attention 
to the sale of some poor man s furniture or his cow. 

There is no doubt that this matter will be 
speedily corrected and Mr. Blight s most rea 
sonable position sustained. 

JOHN KERR was born in Glasgow. Scot 
land, in 1820, and was a descendant of the 
Kerrs, well-known on the Scottish Border. His 
father, William Kerr, a Scotch merchant, came 
to Canada in 1835 with his wife, one son (the 
subject of this sketch) and two daughters, and 
took up his residence at Huntingdon, near 
Montreal, where many of his old country 
friends had bought farms. John Kerr was 
only fifteen years old when he came to Canada. 
He was educated at the Glasgow high school 
where he carried away several prizes. Two 
years after his coming to Canada the Rebellion 
of 1837 broke out, and the boy of seventeen 
joined the volunteers in defence of his newly 
adopted country and remained under arms till 
the close of the. war. A year or two later he 
entered the employment of a large lumber firm 
in Three Rivers, as accountant, and saw much 
of life in the unexplored forest. In 1860 he 
came to Toronto, where he began business as 
an accountant and assignee, first in the firm of 
Kerr & Anderson, and then in Kerr & Jen 
kins. Mr. Kerr was a Reformer in politics. 
and a devout member of the Presbyterian 
Church. He was a trustee and elder of Knox 
Church for many years. For several years 
before his death he was an invalid. He died in 
1893, greatly beloved by all who knew him and 
universally respected as a man of honor and 



integrity. His widow, formerly Miss Elizabeth 
Anderson, of Three Rivers, survived him until 
1904. 

JOSEPH R. LEE, of 409 King street east, 
bears the distinction of being the oldest drug 
gist in Toronto. Mr. Lee is a native of the 
Queen City, and a son of one of her pioneers 
the late Samuel Lee. 

Samuel Lee was born Dec. 25, 1795, at En- 
niscorthy, County Wexford, and received his 
education at Dublin. He entered the East In 
dia Company s artillery service, and in 1813 
sailed for Madras, where his battery, No. 3, 
was in active service six years, during which 
period Mr. Lee visited the greater portion of 
the Indian Peninsula. Mr. Lee occupied the 
chair of worshipful master of Lodge "Cour 
age with Humanity," while stationed at Dum 
Dum, being associated with the A. P. & A.M., 
and was also a companion of the Honorable 
and Ancient Order of Red Cross Knights. Mr. 
Lee s son, Philip Taylor Lee, a prominent Ma 
son of Toronto, is in possession of certificates 
received from the above lodges by his father, 
bearing the date of 1827. After leaving Mad 
ras. Samuel Lee returned to England, and 
thence to Canada, arriving in 1833. at New 
York, in company with his sisters. 

Samuel Lee was married in 1835 to Jane 
Alicia Taylor, born at Carlow, Ireland, daugh 
ter of William Taylor. She came in 1831 with 
her brother Joseph to Toronto, the latter of 
whom went to New York. After marriage, 
Mr. and Mrs. Samuel Lee settled at what is 
now Nos. 163-165 Queen street west, the pro 
perty now owned by Philip Taylor Lee, in To 
ronto. After settling in Toronto. Samuel Lee 
was for thirty years the manager for John 
Richey, the builder, and under his direction 
many of the principal buildings of Toronto 
were erected, among which may be mentioned 
the Trinity College, the Corn Exchange, St. 
George s Church, Holy Trinity Church, the 
original Upper Canada College, the Provincial 
Lunatic Asylum and many others. Mr. Lee s 
death occurred Jan. 18, 1882, while his wife 
passed away in 1872. For many years prior to 
his death Mr. Lee was secretary and treasurer 
of the "Leader." In 1837 he joined the volun 
teers under Colonel McLean to defend Toron 
to against the irregulars under William Lyon 
Mackenzie. Mr. and Mrs. Lee were the parents 
of six children : Philip Taylor ; Joseph R, ; Mrs. 
E. C. Pomeroy ; and William. Samuel and John, 
deceased. 

Joseph R. Lee was born in Toronto in 1845, 
and received his literary education at the Up 
per Canada College. He served his apprentice- 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



147 



ship to the drug business with Dr. Howson, and 
April 26. 1868. he embarked in that business 
at No. 409 King street east, where for more 
than a third of a century he has been actively 
engaged. In 1872 Mr. Lee opened a drug busi 
ness at No. 256 Queen street east, which he has 
also conducted ever since. Mr. Lee s whole 
time and attention has been given to his busi 
ness, in which he has been eminently success 
ful. 

In 1870 Mr. Lee married .Miss Martha Jane 
Ritchey. born in 1844, daughter of William 
Ritchey. and granddaughter of John Ritchey. 
Mrs. Lee died in 1890, leaving the following 
children: Mrs. H. W. Beatty; William II.. a 
druggist at the corner of Church and Welles- 
ley streets; Mrs. R. J. Christie; Joseph S., a 
rancher of the North-West; and Lillian Duf- 
ferin. at home. Mr. Lee is a communicant of 
the Church of England. His political princi 
ples coincide with the policies of the Conserva 
tive party. He has long been a member of the 
Toronto Board of Trade. 

EDWARD THOMAS CARTER, who was 
for over forty years one of Toronto s well- 
known business men, continued his active busi 
ness career up to the very time of his death, 
which sad event occurred March 2, 1904. 

James Carter, father of Edward T., was born 
in England, and the greater part of his life 
was spent in Beamsville, Ont.. where he was 
engaged in the harness business for many 
years. His wife s maiden name was Susannah 
O Connor, and she was born in Ireland. Both 
were members of the Church of England. 
James Carter died in 1894. 

Edward T. Carter was born at Berlin. Ont., 
Sept. 3. 1847. but passed his boyhood at Beams 
ville. At the age of eighteen he left school 
and coming to Toronto took a position with the 
late John Hallam, a dealer in hides and wool. 
Later, and on the death of Mr. Hallam, Mr. 
Carter bought out the business and formed a 
partnership with his two sous, Henry James 
and Edward Wright. The latter died shortly 
after, and another son, William E. H., took his 
place in the business which the two brothers, 
since their father s death, have been conduct 
ing for themselves. 

Mr. Carter married Miss Louisa Carr Hall, 
their miptials occurring on Sept. 26, 1872. Mrs. 
Carter was born in Cleveland. Ohio, in 1848, 
daughter of Dr. John and Alice (Wright) Hall. 
Dr. Hall was an Englishman, born in Lincoln 
shire, England, and was educated in his native 
land and in the United States. He came to To 
ronto when a young man, and became one of 
the well-known physicians and surgeons of 



that city, ^here his son, Dr. John B. Hall, now 
holds an even more prominent position in the 
medical fraternity. Dr. John Hall died in 
1894, and his wife in 1896. To the union of 
Edward T. Carter and his wife children were 
born as follows : Henry James ; William E. II. ; 
Edward Wright, deceased; J. Beatrice, wife of 
E. S. Wellington, of Toronto ; and A. L. Made 
line. In religious faith Mr. Carter was a mem 
ber of the Church of England. His close atten 
tion to business left him little time for active 
participation in political affairs, but he always 
supported the Reform party. For a number of 
years prior to his death he had been a Mason. 
During the long period when he was a figure 
in the city s business life. Mr. Carter had for 
some time a seat on the Toronto Board of 
Trade. He was a man of much real ability, 
commanded general esteem for his upright 
methods, and made many friends by his many 
admirable traits of character. 

DR. NELSON V. SRIGLEY, who died at 
Schomberg, Ont., in 1877, was a member of a 
pioneer family of County York. He was born 
in Newmarket in 1832, son of Jesse and Phoebe 
(Wray) Srigley, both natives of County York, 
where Jesse Srigley was a farmer in King 
township for many years. He and his wife died 
there. They had children as follows : James, 
Enoch, Robert, Richard, Caroline, Amelia, Nel 
son V., Sarah Ann and Arietta. In religious 
faith Mr. and Mrs. Srigley were Quakers. 

Dr. Srigley received his early education in 
the schools of his locality, and began to read 
medicine at Newmarket. He then entered the 
Toronto school of Medicine, where he complet 
ed his medical course, after which he entered 
Bellevue Hospital, New York City, from which 
he was also graduated. Dr. Srigley at this 
time enlisted in the American army, with which 
he served as surgeon for some, time, and on 
returning to Canada settled at Wingham, where 
he remained four and a half years. At the end 
of that period he established himself at Schom 
berg, continuing to practise there until his 
death. 

Dr. Srigley married Miss Margaret Jane 
Beatty. daughter of Andrew and Margaret 
(Verner) Beatty, natives of Ireland, who, on 
coming to Canada settled for five years in 
Montreal, and then came to Toronto, where the 
remainder of their lives was spent. To Dr. 
and Mrs. Srigley were born the following nam 
ed children: John W., a druggist with the T. 
Eaton Company, married Mrs. Violet (Kaake) 
Srigley; Caroline (deceased) married J. J. 
Henderson, by whom she had one daughter, 
Blanche, and one son. Wilfred; and Henrietta 



148 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



(deceased) married C. B. Edwards, and left 
three children, Willie, Harvey and Lillian. Dr. 
Sriglcy was a Methodist. In politics his sym 
pathies were with the Conservative party, and 
fraternally he was connected with the Orange 
men. 

JOHN STEWART, a retired business man 
now living at No. 179 Sherbourne street, Toron 
to, is a native of that city, where he was born 
in 1829, son of Robert Stewart. 

The first of the family to come to Canada 
was John, who left Perthshire, Scotland, to 
settle in County Halton, Canada, about 1820. 
There he and his wife, who was before mar 
riage a Miss Lament, both died. Their chil 
dren were : Alexander, a builder in Toronto, 
who has two children living, a daughter and a 
son, William, of Hamilton; Robert; Duncan, 
deceased, a farmer of County Halton; John, 
who was also a farmer there, but is now de 
ceased ; Mary, who married Dr. Russell, and 
lived to be ninety years old ; Elizabeth, who 
married a Mr. Stewart, of County Halton, and 
has one. son, Robert, of Guelph. 

Robert Stewart was born in Perthshire in 
1799 and died Dec. 21, 1883. When the family 
came to America Robert remained but a short 
time in County Halton, and then went to To 
ronto where he followed contracting and build 
ing all of his life. He married Miss Elizabeth 
Purkiss, born in England, daughter of John 
Purkiss, who was for many years a ship build 
er in Toronto. Mrs. Stewart died in Toronto 
the mother of four children, namely: John; 
Elizabeth, Mrs. John Duncan ; and Jane and 
Margaret, of Toronto. The family were Pres 
byterians, and in politics Robert Stewart was a 
Reformer. 

John Stewart was educated in the city of 
his birth, but on reaching maturity went to 
Milton, and established himself there in a gen 
eral mercantile business, continuing for a num 
ber of years, when he returned to Toronto to 
take charge of the estate of his father, and 
has resided there ever since. 

Mr. Stewart was married in 1854 to Miss 
Christina Duncan, who was born in Glasgow 
in 1828. To this union two sons have been 
born, Robert, in business in Hamilton, married 
Miss Jennie Young of that city, and has four 
children, Roy, William, Leslie, and Jessie. Wil 
liam is the manager of the Adams Company, of 
Toronto, and is unmarried. John Stewart has 
adhered to the faith of his fathers, the Presby 
terian, and in political matters is a Reformer. 

Mrs. Stewart is a daughter of John Duncan, 
who was born in Glasgow, Scotland, Aug. 6, 
1805, came to Canada at the age of thirty-seven 



years, and very soon thereafter settled at 
Thornhill. The Northern Railroad Company 
gave him the position of station agent there, 
in 1852, and he filled the position until he re 
tired. On that occasion Mr. Duncan was pre 
sented a life pass, engraved on ivory and 
bound in gold. Before leaving Scotland Mr. 
Duncan had married Miss Charlotte McDou- 
gal, of Glasgow, daughter of John McDougal. 
The latter came to Canada the same year as 
his daughter and son-in-law, but soon returned 
to Scotland and there died. Mrs. Duncan died 
in Thornhill. She was the mother of eight chil 
dren : Christina, Mrs. Stewart ; Charlotte, de 
ceased; John, of Toronto; Miss Ellison, of 
Thornhill ; Helen, Mrs. T. Davis, of London ; 
Isabella, the widow of John P. Sheers; Wil 
liam, deceased; and Miss Elizabeth. 

JOSEPH HIND, contractor and builder of 
East Toronto, was born in King township, 
County York, Aug. 14, 1848, son of Thomas 
and Mary (Watson) Hind. 

Thomas Hind and his wife were born in 
England and crossed to Canada on the same 
vessel, when they were aged twelve and seven 
years, respectively, but their acquaintance real 
ly began after reaching Canada. After their 
marriage they settled in King township, on a 
farm. In 1851 they moved to a farm in Wai- 
pole township, County Haldimand, near Jar- 
vis, and there they both died. They were de 
vout members of the Methodist Church. Of 
their family, eleven children lived to maturity, 
namely: James, a contractor, who died in De 
troit; Elizabeth, Mrs. C. Marr, of Walpole; 
Margaret ; Mary, Mrs. Harris, of Hagersville ; 
John, a lumber merchant, of Mooseman, N.W. 
T., who is married and has one son; Thomas, 
a contractor and builder, of Atlanta, Georgia, 
who has a wife and family; William, a teacher 
in Hamilton, with a wife and family; Watson, 
who lives with his wife and son on a farm in 
ITagOTsville, Ont. ; Joseph ; Edward, who died 
unmarried at the homestead in County Haldi 
mand; and Christian, a farmer in the County 
of Haldimand, who died leaving a family. 

Joseph Hind remained in the County of Hal 
dimand until 1863. For a year thereafter he 
worked on a farm, and then went to Wallace- 
town and engaged with his brother, Thomas, 
who was a plow manufacturer, for three years. 
Again resuming farming, he continued that 
until his marriage, after that event buying a 
pump factory in Jarvis, which he operated for 
six months, when fire destroyed the plant. 
After following teaming for six years, Mr. Hind 
began to learn carpentering with William 
Montgomery, of Jarvis. This occupation he 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



149 



has followed up to the present time, doing con 
tracting and building for three years in Hag- 
ersville, Ont, before coming to East Toronto 
in 1887. In 1898 he went to Moosemau, N.W. 
T., and remained there three years engaged in 
contracting and building, returning to East 
Toronto at the end of that time. Mr. Hind has 
also done considerable investing in real estate. 
After purchasing land he has built houses on 
it for sale, and has been very successful in all 
his enterprises of this kind. He has also erect 
ed a fine brick house, for his own occupancy 
on Main Street. 

In his earlier life Mr. Hind was a strong Re 
former, but of late years he has joined the 
ranks of the independent voters, thinking that 
course the best means for securing the best 
welfare of the town. He has always been act 
ive in public affairs, and was elected by accla 
mation to the first council of East Toronto 
town. His son Edmund succeeded him shortly, 
but in 1905 he was again elected to that body. 
Previous to his western trip he was road com 
missioner for eight years. In 1906 he ran as 
an independent candidate for mayor, but was 
defeated by Mr. Richardson. 

On Feb. 28, 1873, Mr. Hind married Miss 
Mary Brock, who was born in Ireland in 1844, 
daughter of John and Catherine Brock. On 
first coming to Canada the Brock family set 
tled in Scarborough township, County York, 
but later moved to the County of Haldimand, 
where Mrs. Hind grew to womanhood. Of the 
nine children born to Joseph and Mary Hind, 
only six are living, namely: (1) Emalina died 
at the age of three months. (2) William H., 
born in Jarvis, who married Miss Nettie Ness, 
of Barrie, is a conductor on the Canadian Pa 
cific Railway. (3) Edmund, born in County 
Haldimand, married Miss Etta May, of East 
Toronto, and has one son, Arthur W. ; he is a 
lumber merchant in Tonawanda, New York. 
(4) Edwin. Twin brother to Edmund, married 
Miss Lois Morden, of Mooseman, and has one 
daughter, Mary J. ; he is a contractor and 
builder of the North-West Territory. (5) Mag 
gie M. and (6) Nellie B., twins, died at the 
age of fifteen months. (7) Lillie E., (8) Car 
rie L. and (9) Alice M. are at home, the lat 
ter being a stenographer in Toronto. Mrs. 
Hind and her children are members of the 
Methodist Church, while her husband is a lo 
yal supporter of the church work, though not a 
member. He is prominent in the East Toronto 
Lodge, A.O.U.W., and has served as its repre 
sentative in the Grand Lodge three or four 
times. Mr. Hind is a man of many fine traits 
of character, and is a citizen whose value has 
been thoroughly proved. 



RICHARD WICKENS, now living retired 
at No. 450 Sherbourne street, Toronto, is of 
English extraction, and belongs to a famity 
founded in Canada by his father, Joel Wickens, 
who was born in Berkshire, England, in 1784. 

Mr. Wickens was born in England Aug. 13, 
1826, and was ten years old when he came to 
Canada with his parents. He received his edu 
cation in Quebec, and then went into business 
with his brother-in-law, Mr. Helherington, at 
Quebec, remaining with him eight years. He 
then went to another business house, with 
which he continued until May, 1854, when he 
located in Toronto, and entered the employ 
of the British American Association Company. 
After nineteen years with that concern he was 
made general agent for the Commercial Union 
Assurance Company, a position he held for 
nearly twenty-seven years, when he retired from 
active business. He purchased his residence, 
at No. 450 Sherbourne street, in 1877. When 
he came to Toronto Sherbourne street was a 
wilderness. 

ROBERT BLONG, who is now living retired 
from active cares except what is involved in 
looking after his investments, is one of the suc 
cessful business men of Toronto, and a member 
of an old family of the County of York, On 
tario. 

The Blong family was founded in Canada by 
the father of Robert Blong, Henry Blong, who 
was born in 1805 in Ireland, of French Hugue 
not ancestry. He married Aldred Easton, who 
was born in 1819 in Ireland, and died in To 
ronto in 1902. In 1843 Henry Blong came to 
Toronto and engaged in the butchering busi 
ness at the old market, where he continued un 
til his death, which occurred in 1861. 
He was one of the well-known men of 
Toronto and the surrounding country and 
was very successful as a business man. He 
and his wife were members of the Church of 
England. In political sentiment he was a Con 
servative. He and his wife had the following 
children : Henry, deceased, who was in the 
butchering business in Toronto for some time ; 
Richard, who was also in the butchering busi 
ness until his death; Catherine, deceased, who 
was the wife of John Craig ; Maria, of Toronto ; 
Sarah, the wife of Peter McDonald, of Rose- 
dale ; Edward, whose sketch appears elsewhere ; 
George, deceased ; Robert ; and Jonathan, a 
well-to-do business man of Port Perry, who 
was at one time in the meat business in Toronto 
and is now looking after his investments. The 
last named has a family of three children, Lil 
lie, Henry and Robert. 

Robert Blong was born in Toronto in May, 



150 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



1859, and on reaching manhood went into the 
butchering business in his native city, continu 
ing to follow that line until the year 1890, when 
he retired from active participation in business 
affairs. Like his father, he met with substan 
tial success in his commercial pursuits, and was 
an honorable dealer throughout his career. He 
is a member of the Church of England, and in 
political opinion he is a Conservative. 

MARTIN J. BOGART is one of the few resi 
dents of York County, whose family is of old 
Dutch stock, but whose ancestors, who origin 
ally came from Holland, were at first establish 
ed in New York City, and then in time one 
branch moved to Canada, and founded the 
family, which for much more than a century 
has been identified with the sterling growth 
and progress of York County. 

Martin Bogart. grandfather of Martin J., 
was born in the State of New Jersey, just op 
posite New York City. When the family mov 
ed to Canada they located in Newmarket for 
some years, and then settled permanently in 
King township. There Martin Bogart and his 
wife died, the former in 1854. Their three chil 
dren were : Comachy. who married Peter Lock- 
hard, and died at their home on Concession 6, 
King township, leaving a large family; Peter, 
who died when a young man ; and Martin. 

Martin Bogart (2) was born in Newmarket 
in 1803. His wife was also of American par 
entage, her family having come from Bucks 
county, Pennsylvania. Mrs. Bogart, whose 
maiden name was Elizabeth Walton, was the 
daughter of Jesse and Hannah Walton, Quak 
ers, and was born in 1800, after the family had 
come to Canada and settled in New Brunswick. 
In 1826 they moved to York County, and made 
their home near Newmarket, on Yonge street. 
There the daughter was married two years later 
to Martin Bogart, and the young couple began 
life together on the farm on Concession 5, Lot 
33, which was to be their lifelong home. The 
brick house now owned by Martin J. Bogart. 
was built by his father, and there both par 
ents died, he in 1877, and she in 1863. They 
were church members of the Christian de 
nomination, and very active workers in their 
church. Five sons and a daughter were born 
to them, as follows ; Martin ; Ferdinand, a far 
mer in King township, who died in September, 
1905, leaving a family: Peter, who for some 
years was a farmer in King township, but later 
moved to Toronto, and there died in 1895, leav 
ing a family; George; Elias, who moved to the 
State of Kansas and there died; and Mary A., 
wife of Richard Rowen, of York County, both 
of whom are now deceased, leaving children. 



Martin J. Bogart, only surviving member of 
the father s family, was born on the homestead 
Sept. 3, 1829. As a boy he went to school in 
King township, and later continued his studies 
in the Newmarket high school. He fitted him 
self to be a teacher, and for four years was an 
instructor in the public schools. After his 
marriage he devoted his attention entirely to 
farming, and after some ten years on another 
farm in Concession 4, he purchased his father s 
homestead from a brother who then owned it, 
and has ever since made his home there. The 
place includes 100 acres of land, in a good state 
of cultivation, and is one of the valuable farms 
of the locality. Mr. Bogart has now given up 
active work on his property, and is passing his 
later years in well earned ease. He has always 
been very fond of travel, and earlier in life 
journeyed quite extensively over a large part 
of the United States and also through New 
Brunswick and Nova Scotia ; while in the sum 
mer of 1860, before his marriage, he made a 
trip to Scotland, Ireland. England, and other 
European countries. 

Mr. Bogart chose for his companion through 
life Miss Mary Lemon, who was born in King 
township in 1829, daughter of Jacob and Cath 
erine Lemon, of one of the old York County 
families. They were married in 1860, and spent 
more than forty years of happy wedded life. 
Mrs. Bogart passed from this world Feb. 21, 
1905, leaving the record of a most useful life, 
and the example of a beautiful Christian char 
acter. She bore her husband five children, 
namely : Caroline, born in 1862, wife of Dr. W. 
G. Dodds, of Canandaigua, New York, and 
mother of one son, Granby ; Harlan, born in 
1866, who received a high school education, is 
a railroad man, located near Parry Sound, and 
has one son, Grant; Dr. Edgar A., a veterinary 
surgeon at Seattle, Washington, is unmarried; 
( atherine E., born in 1870, is the wife of Dr. 
James E. Duncan, of Pittsburg, Pennsylvania, 
and mother of one son, James E. ; and Hiram, 
born in 1874. unmarried, is a gold miner in 
Alaska. 

From an early age Mr. Bogart has been an 
enthusiastic and untiring church worker. He 
first became a communicant of the Christian 
Church in 1847, and during all these ensuing 
years has been one of its most valuable mem 
bers. Besides serving as treasurer, Mr. Bogart 
has for thirty-two years filled the office of sup 
erintendent of the Sunday-school and on several 
occasions the people of the church have ex 
pressed their appreciation of his long service 
by presenting him with handsome gifts, a Bible, 
;i lamp, and two beautiful upholstered chairs. 
Mr. Bogart has chosen to do his work for the 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



151 



public good along these lines of effort and has 
confined himself to them, instead of engaging 
also in political affairs, although he is a staunch 
Liberal in his views and always supports that 
party. 

ALBERT DURRANT WATSON, M.D., of 
No. 10 Euclid avenue, Toronto, is a well-known 
and successful physician. He is a Canadian, 
the family having been residents of Ontario 
since the year 1819. Dr. Watson is the only 
surviving son of William Youle Watson, and 
was born in Peel County, Jan. 8, 1859. 

The family was founded in Canada by Wil 
liam Watson, the Doctor s grandfather, who 
was born in Lincoln. England, in 1786, married 
in 1812 Miss Youle, and in 1819 brought his 
wife and family to this country and settled in 
what was then a part of York County, but since 
known as the township of Toronto Gore, a part 
of Peel County. On arrival in Toronto Mrs. 
Watson died, and was buried in the graveyard 
of St. James Cathedral. Mr. Watson after 
wards married Miss Elizabeth Gale, and was 
engaged in agriculture until his death, in the 
year 1857. Two sons, Henry, who died early, 
and William Youle were born of the first 
union. Four children were born by the second 
wife : John, deceased ; Jesse, now resident in 
Brampton. Out. : Hannah, wife of the late Wil 
liam Herald, deceased; and James, deceased. 

William Youle, Watson, father of the Doctor, 
was born in England in A.D. 1815, and was 
four years of age when brought to Canada. He 
adopted the shoe trade as a calling. When the 
rebellion broke out, in 1837. Mr. Watson en 
listed and served under his country s flag. In 
politics he was a Reformer, in religion a Metho 
dist, but in every way was more or less inde 
pendent in thought and action. His entire life 
on this continent was spent in Peel County, 
where his death took place at Dixie in A.D. 
1898. 

Mr. Watson married, in 1836. Mary Ann Al- 
dred. who was born in England in A.D. 1818, 
and died at Toronto in A.D. 1905. Their eight 
children are: Ezekiel, deceased; Henry, deceas 
ed; Elizabeth, wife of John Sanderson, of Shan 
ty Bay, Ont. ; Jesse, deceased; Mary Lovina, 
wife of H. H. Shaver, police magistrate and 
Division Court clerk at Cooksville ; Eliza R., 
wife of Miles Vokes, hardware merchant, To 
ronto; Albert Durrant; and Adelaide Youle, 
wife of R. H. Graham (alderman), Toronto. 

The maternal grandparents of Dr. Watson 
were James Aldred and his wife, Mary Ann 
Durrant. James Aldred was born in Suffolk, 
England, in A.D., 1773. Early last century he 
enlisted in Wellington s cavalry and served 



both in Spain and at Waterloo. Coming to 
Canada in 1836, he settled in York County but 
afterwards moved with his wife to Port Elgin, 
where a small monument may still be seen to 
mark the last resting-place of these pioneers. 
Their family were: Eliza, deceased, wife of 
Captain Cheyne; James, deceased; Mary Anx 
deceased 1905 ; Capt. William, of Windsor ; 
Samuel of Pueblo, Colorado ; Prances H., wife 
of John Ribey, of North Bruce; and John, of 
Nova Scotia, 

Dr. Albert D. Watson received his early edu 
cation in the public schools of Peel County, 
and afterwards in Toronto Normal school. He 
taught for a short time at Malton and Oakville 
and in 1879 entered the medical department of 
Toronto University. After receiving his de 
gree, he made a prolonged visit to Great Bri 
tain and the continent, where he attended the 
hospitals of Edinburgh, London and Paris. 
Returning to Toronto in A.D. 1884, he estab 
lished himself in that city. He is a member of 
the medical staff of the Western Hospital and 
is connected with the British and other Medical 
Associations. 

Dr. Watson possesses literary abilities of a 
!:igh order, having been a wide reader, especial 
ly along the line of psychology and ethics. He 
has made substantial contributions to Canadian 
literature. One very original and ingenious 
paper, entitled "The Reformation and Simpli 
fication of the Calendar," was read in 1896 be 
fore the Royal Astronomical Society of Toronto, 
of which Dr. Watson is a member. It was re 
ceived very favorably by the society and pub 
lished in full in their transactions. He is the 
author of three books entitled "Sovereignty of 
Ideals," "Sovereignty of Character," and 
"Sovereignty of Service." Besides these books 
Dr. Watson has published articles in the medi 
cal and other magazines, and written poems, 
few of which, however, have been published. 

In September, 1885, Dr. Watson married Miss 
Sarah G. Clare, daughter of Samuel Clare, of 
Toronto, who was for eighteen years writing 
master in the Normal and model schools there. 
Mrs. Watson was born in Sheffield, Ont., in 
1861. Their family consists of five children: 
William V.; Harry Waldo; Myrtle E.; E. Clare 
(twins) ; and Edna Eulalie. Both parents are 
members of Euclid Avenue Methodist Church, 
and are prominent figures in the work of that 
church and of the denomination at large. Dr. 
Watson has been a member of the gener&l con 
ference for some years, has served on the Gen 
eral Board of Missions and the executive of the 
Methodist Social Union, and is prominent in the 
ethical and sociological work of the church. He 
is the -general treasurer of Temperance and 



152 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



Moral Reform department and a member of the 
General Conference Special Committee. 

Politically Dr. Watson is not a partisan, but 
is a friend of every government that does not 
forfeit his confidence by breaking faith with 
the people, whom he regards as the rightful 
sovereigns in every land. He is a boundless 
optimist and hopes to see this country lay the 
whole world under tribute by giving to it those 
ideals of human conduct and character which 
are, he thinks, the chief glory of any nation. 
His only fear is that the wonderful material 
prosperity of the people may blind them to the 
nation s real sources of strength and greatness, 
which he holds to be the virtue and honor of its 
citizens. 

Dr. Watson is a well-known reformer in the 
moral field, being the president and founder of 
the Ethological Association of Canada, presi 
dent of the Canadian Purity-Education Associa 
tion and a recognized teacher and leader in 
ethical ideals. To these ideals in relation to 
the life of Canada he devotes the best powers 
and resources of an acute intellect, a ripe cul 
ture, a lofty enthusiasm, and untiring energy 
and a kind and sympathetic heart. 

JOHN HOWARD, in whose death in Toron 
to, in 1872, the city lost one of its progressive 
and substantial business men, as well as a high 
ly esteemed resident, was born in London, Eng 
land, in 1796. He grew to manhood in his na 
tive country, where he received his education. 
After some years he emigrated to Ne.w York 
City, where he became engaged in silk manu 
facturing. He came to Canada from New York 
about 1841, and locating in the city of Toronto, 
resumed his silk manufacturing operations, 
continuing successfully in that line until 
his death. Mr. Howard married Miss 
Mary Bloss, born in London, England, in 1800, 
and she passed away in 1884, aged eighty-four 
years. The only child of this union, a daugh 
ter, Miss Mary Howard, makes her home in To 
ronto, at No. 16 Oxford street, where her 
mother died. 

Mr. and Mrs. Howard were members of the 
Church of England. In his political sympa 
thies he was connected with the Conservative 
party. Fraternally an Orangeman, he was very 
popular in that order, and in his death the so 
ciety lost one of its most ardent supporters. 
John Howard came to Toronto with a reputa 
tion for honesty and integrity, and during his 
many years of business life in the Queen City, 
he added to his honors, and he died as he lived, 
true to his God and his neighbour. 

WILLIAM MINTO, for many years a well- 
known resident of Toronto, engaged in busi 



ness as a tea merchant, passed away Jan. 23, 
1905, at his late residence, No. 110 Conduit 
street, Toronto Junction. Mr. Minto was a 
native of Scotland, born in 1846, son of Alex 
ander and Margaret Minto, who came to Can 
ada in 1852, Mr. Minto dying the next year. 

William Minto s educational advantages 
were secured in the schools of Lower Canada, 
but his business life was spent in Toronto, 
where he settled in 1876. With his brother, 
John Minto, he engaged in the tea business, 
the first location being on Colborne street, 
where they continued for many years, later 
removing to Front street, and continuing at 
the latter location until William Minto s death, 
Mr. Minto had a large acquaintance among 
the business men of the Queen City, and the 
firm was well and favorably known through 
out the Dominion. 

In 1877 Mr. Minto was united in marriage 
with Miss Annie Shaw, born in Birmingham, 
England, in 1857, daughter of Ambrose and Re 
becca (Atkins) Shaw. In 1871 Mr. and Mrs. 
Shaw came to Canada, settling in Montreal, 
where Mr. Shaw followed his trade of gun 
smith. He subsequently removed to Calgary, 
where he was engaged in business on his own 
account until his death, after which his widow 
located in Toronto, and there passed away. 
Mr. and Mrs William Minto had these chil 
dren ; Annie E. ; Alexander Henry, who mar 
ried Helena Wicks, and had two children, Gert 
rude and William; Alice, deceased; Margaret, 
who married Royden T. Cowan ; William, de 
ceased ; Celia ; James E. ; Helen Jane ; Mary ; 
Andrew; Catherine, and Beatrice. Mr. Minto 
belonged to the Plymouth Brethren. In poli 
tics he was a Conservative. In 1896 he re 
moved his residence to Toronto Junction, but 
carried the business on in the city until his 
death. 

JAMES DEACON, who was for many years 
engaged successfully in a number of business 
enterprises throughout the Dominion, and who 
met his death by drowning at Three Forks, B. 
C., where he was engaged in mining, was born 
near Barrie. Ont., in 1838. The family is of 
Irish extraction, and was founded in Canada 
by the father of James, who was a member of 
Her Majesty s army, for services in which he 
received a grant of land from the Crown. HJ 
settled near Barrie, Ont., and there he and his 
wife died, the parents of four children. 

James Deacon received his education in Bar 
rie, and there engaged to learn the blacksmith 
business, which, however, he followed but a 
short time, it not proving congenial. He was 
engaged for some time as a general merchant 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



153 



in Brandon, Man, thence went to Calgary, 
where for a time he was engaged in the lum 
ber business, later removing to the coast, where 
he was following mining as an occupation when 
he met his death. 

Mr. Deacon was united in marriage with 
Miss Eliza Henderson, daughter of Charles M. 
and Charlotte (Ames) Henderson, the former 
born in Ireland in 1812. Mr. Henderson left 
the old country in 1822, and went to Kentucky, 
where he was prepared for the ministry, a call 
ing, however, which he never followed. On 
completing his education he came to Canada, 
and engaged in civil engineering and survey 
ing. He also owned land in North Gwillim- 
bury, County York, where he was living at 
the time of his death in 1875. His wife, Char 
lotte Ames Sprague, was the daughter of Silas 
Ames, an United Empire Loyalist and an early 
settler of the County of York, where both he 
and his wife, who was a native of Nova Scotia, 
died. The children of Charles M. and Char 
lotte Henderson were: Silas, of Rossland, B. 
C. ; and Mrs. Deacon. 

Mr. and Mrs. James Deacon were the par 
ents of two daughters: Charlotte Henderson 
and Anna. Mr. Deacon was a faithful member 
of the English Church, and to this faith his 
widow and children also adhere. In polities 
he was a Reformer, and he was fraternally af 
filiated with the Masonic Order. Since the 
death of Mr. Deacon Mrs. Deacon and her 
daughters have made their home in Toronto, 
where they are most highly esteemed. 

LYMAN GEORGE JACKSON was born on 
the 23rd of May, 1856, next door to his father s 
printing office, being the only son of Erastus 
Jackson, who was at that time the editor and 
proprietor of the Era, the only paper then 
published in Newmarket. 

Erastus Jackson was born in the village of 
Merrickville, County Grenville, Ont., Aug. 29, 
1829, and received his education in his native 
county. He started life as a printer, in Janu 
ary, 1845, at Cobourg. Three years later he 
removed to Toronto, following his trade till 
the spring of 1850, when he accepted a situa 
tion in a printing office in Guelph. Returning 
to Toronto in the year 1852 he connected 
himself with the old North American, publish 
ed by Hon. "William McDougall. where he con 
tinued till the following year, 1853, when he 
came to Newmarket, purchasing the Era, which 
he published successfully until 1885 when he 
retired from business and turned the paper 
over to his son. For nearly thirty years Mr. 
Jackson held a seat in the local council, repre 
sented the town in the county council for many 



years, and has also filled the warden s chair. 
He has always acted in the interests of the 
town, and has filled acceptably many positions 
of trust and honor. 

Mr. Erastus Jackson was married (first) to 
Mahalah Wright. Mr. Jackson then married 
(second) Miss Sophia "Wright, daughter of 
James Wright, deceased, of County "Welling 
ton, and seven children were born to this 
union, the eldest of whom died quite young. 
Mr. Jackson is a liberal in politics, and has 
taken an active part in nearly all of the great 
conventions of his party in this section. He is 
greatly esteemed in York County, where his 
many sterling qualities are recognized and ap 
preciated. 

Lyman George Jackson received his educa 
tion at Mrs. Bayly s private school, at the pub 
lic school under Mr. Robert Alexander, and at 
the village grammar school. Owing to ill 
health he was obliged to abandon his studies 
for a time, and, after a few weeks holidays, 
entered his father s printing office to complete 
the trade at which he had worked more or less 
since early boyhood. After becoming a jour 
neyman printer, he assumed the position of 
bookkeeper and manager for a period of seven 
years, and, in 1885. after Mr. Erastus Jackson 
had made a success of the Era for over thirty 
years, his son succeeded as editor and proprie 
tor, the former retaining a financial and edi 
torial interest. Under the capable management 
of Mr. Lyman George Jackson, the Era has 
continued to hold first place in the estimation 
of the. people, and has been thoroughly alive 
to the interests of the town which it so ably 
represents. 

In 1878, Mr. L. G. Jackson married Miss Em 
ily Louise Weddel, daughter of the late Calvin 
Weddel, of East Gwillimbury township, and 
four sons were born to this union : Edgar, Wal 
ter, Leslie and Garnet, the youngest of whom 
departed this life in 1893, when nearly five 
years of age. 

When a young man, Mr. Lyman George 
Jackson took an active interest in the game of 
lacrosse, and for about fifteen years was a 
member of the town band. For twelve years 
or more he acted as librarian of the old Me 
chanics Institute, was afterwards elected on 
the board of management, and for over fifteen 
years took an active interest in its affairs, fill 
ing the office of president with much accept 
ance. Ever since his youth Mr. Jackson has 
been a staunch abstainer, and is connected 
with several temperance organizations. Dur 
ing the Ontario Plebiscite he was secretary of 
the York County organization. In religion he 
is a Methodist, and has been for some years 



154 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



superintendent of the Siinday-school. On sev 
eral occasions he has been chosen representa 
tive to conferences, and for four years was on 
the advisory board of the Methodist Book 
Room. For some .years he was on the execu 
tive committee of the Canadian Press Associa 
tion, fie is also ex-president of the North 
York Sabbath School Association, and he now 
holds the office of the secretary-treasurer of 
the Lord s Day Alliance, and is also treasurer 
of A.O.U.W. Lodge No 84. He is always fore 
most in any enterprise proposed for the bene 
fit of the town. 

Mr. Jackson has travelled a great deal, and 
his letters to the Era while touring the British 
Isles and France, dur ing the summer of 1905, 
were interesting and instructive, and greatly 
tippreciated by his readers. 

WALTER RIDOUT. In the untimely death, 
in 1890, of the late Walter Ridout, at the age 
of thirty-three, there was suddenly cut short 
a career which had promised to be one of 
marked success, and to reflect new lustre on a 
name already well known and honored not 
alone in Canada, but even more in England, 
where the Ridouts have been prominent for 
generations. 

The first record of the Ridout family is found 
in Hutchins "Visitation of the Somerset," 
now in the College of Arms, London, in which 
mention is made of the granting of a coat of 
arms in 1551, to Thomas Ridout, of the parish 
of Hensbridge, Somerset, England. The Rid 
outs have resided principally in Blandford, 
Sherborne, Dorsetshire, after which Sherbourne 
street, Toronto, was named by Hon. Thomas 
Ridout, surveyor general of Canada, who was 
born at the old family seat. There is men 
tion in Hutchins also of the Bristol Ridouts. 
first referred to in connection with the mar 
riage in 1674 of Susannah, daughter of John 
Ridout, of Bristol, to Thomas Strongways, of 
Milbury, Dorsetshire. Their granddaughter. 
Elizabeth, married Stephen Fox. who was cre 
ated Earl of Ilchester in 1741. 

The immediate branch of the family to which 
Walter Ridout belonged was founded in Can 
ada by George Ridout, his grandfather, who 
crossed the ocean in 1820. He was born in 
Bristol in 1783, a son of Nicodemus, elder 
brother of Hon. Thomas Ridout. the surveyor 
general of Upper Canada, the latter of whom 
had already settled in the Dominion when his 
nephew came there. George Ridout had mar 
ried long before leaving England Miss Mary 
Ann Knight, and they were accompanied to 
America by their two sons, George Percival 
and Joseph D., who remained for some time in 



the United States, one in New York and the 
other in Philadelphia. The parents settled first 
in the latter city, but in 1826, on the recom 
mendation of Hon. Thomas Ridout, came to 
Little York, and there remained till the death 
of George Ridout, Sept. 3, 1835. His wife sur 
vived him exactly one month. Mr. Ridout had 
received, very soon after coming to Canada, a 
government position and retained it for the 
rest of his life. 

The two sons mentioned above subsequently 
also came to Canada. The elder, George Per 
cival, was born in Bristol, England, in 1807. 
He came to Toronto prior to the rebellion of 
1837-38, and during that stmggle was in act 
ive service for the Crown, so distinguishing 
himself that he retired with the rank of cap 
tain in the Seventh Battalion of the 
York Volunteers. He became a very prom 
inent man in Toronto in both politi 
cal and business circles, representing 
the city in the Dominion Parliament in 1851-52- 
53; was one of the founders of the Toronto 
Board of Trade, which was organized in 1845, 
and of which he was president from then till 
1852, when he was succeeded by a Mr. Clark- 
son [see the Toronto Board of Trade book for 
1904 or 1905] ; and he was president of St. 
George s Society in 1845-46-47. He died in 
1872, unmarried. 

Joseph D. Ridout was born in Bristol in 
1809. His business career began in New York, 
where he was in the branch house of the firm 
of Messrs. Tarratt, of Wolverhampton. Eng 
land. From New York he was sent when only 
nineteen years of age, to open another branch 
of the firm in Boston. The ability thus in 
dicated and the confidence reposed in him by 
lys employers, or those connected with him, 
were features that marked his entire business 
career. In 1831 he came to Toronto and in the 
following year formed a. partnership with his 
brother and the Messrs. Tarratt. After his 
brother s retirement from the business, Joseph 
D. Ridout took into the firm James Aikenhead 
and Alexander Crownbie, and finally in 1876 
himself withdrew from all future active con 
nection with the house. He had been vice- 
president of the Farmers and Mechanics 
Building Society, and when it was merged into 
the Canada ^Permanent Loan and Savings 
Company, he became president of the new or 
ganization, and retained the office until his 
resignation in May, 1844, on account of iil 
health. Like his brother he had helped to found 
the Toronto Board of Trade. He was a mem 
ber of St. George s Society, and served as presi 
dent from 1851 to 1854, inclusive. He was a 
man of varied interests, belonged to the 1.0.0. 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



155 



F.. in which we was at one time Grand Master, 
was a founder of the Mechanics Institute, and 
held rank as an officer in the East York militia 
from 1833 to 1867, retiring with the rank of 
major. During the rebellion of 1837-38, he saw 
active service. 

Joseph D. Ridout was twice married, his 
first wife being Miss Julia Elizabeth Gold, a 
sister of Mrs. F. W. Cumberland. His second 
wife was a sister of Col. F. W. Cumberland, 
named Caroline. To them were born two sons, 
Percival F. and Walter L. Mr. Ridout passed 
away from this world June 4, 1884; his widow 
still survives and lives in Toronto. 

Walter Ridout was born in Toronto in 1857. 
and was educated at Upper Canada College. 
His literary training was but preliminary to the 
study of architecture, and he made his prac 
tical acquaintance with the work of that pro 
fession in the office of Stewart and Strick 
land, a firm with which he later became asso 
ciated as a partner. He was admirably adapt 
ed for the calling he had chosen, and was rap 
idly making a name for himself when his ca 
reer was cut short by death. That sad event 
occurred at his country home in Colborne. Out., 
in 1890. He was a member of the Church 
of England, and in his political views was a 
Conservative. 

In 1881 was solemnized the marriage of 
Walter Ridout and Miss Alice Boyer, to whom 
were born three sons, Frederick Walter Boyer 
(captain, Army Service Corps, stationed in 
South Africa), Robert Joseph and Lionel Cum 
berland. Mrs. Ridout was a daughter of Rev. 
R. C. Boyer, a clergyman in the Church of 
England. Born in 1826. Rev. Mr. Boyer was 
educated at Oxford, and came to Canada in 
1848. He spent his active life in the service of 
his church, and his ministrations were ended 
by his death in 1875. His widow, whose maid 
en name was Grace Parry, now lives with Mrs. 
Ridout in San Diego, California. 

EDGAR M. COOK, M.D., of No. 90 College 
street, Toronto, became one of that city s medi 
cal practitioners in 1893, and in the interven 
ing years has gained an assured position there. 
built up a large practice and made an envi 
able reputation for himself. He came to To 
ronto from Belleville, County Hastings, where 
he was born March 11. 1854, son of William 
McDonald and Susanna (Clark) Cook. 

The Cook family was originally of Irish 
extraction, and was founded in the western 
world by William Cook, great-grandfather of 
Dr. Cook. William Cook left Ireland in the 
latter part of the eighteenth centxiry, and lo 
cated in the State of Vermont, where he died. 



His son John, dissatisfied with the conditions 
in Vermont, came to Canada and settled in 
County Hastings, which became the perman 
ent home of the family. John Cook died there, 
the father of eleven children. Of these only 
one is living, David, who resides in Michigan. 

William McDonald Cook was born in Coun 
ty Hastings, in 1824, and his whole life was 
passed in the vicinity of Belleville, where his 
father had located. Growing up under the con 
ditions of pioneer life as he did. his oppor 
tunities for education were limited, and tlv 
calling of a farmer offered the most promising 
career for him. He married Susanna, daugh 
ter of James Clark, born in Suffolk, England. 
Her father was one of the pioneers who brought 
their families to County Hastings at an early 
day. Mr. Cook and his wife were both Metho 
dists and prominent for years in church work. 
They were the parents of three sons and four 
daughters, but only four are living. The eldest 
daughter. Mary, married William Drew, of 
County Hastings ; her three children all died 
in childhood. One son, John E. Cook, born in 
1861, after completing the course of study in 
the county schools became a teacher there, and 
subsequently continued his studies in the To 
ronto Normal ; he is now a barrister in To 
ronto, commanding a large law practice, and 
recently took in Mr. Bond as partner. Mr. 
Cook is very prominent in Masonic circles, 
being a past master of Doric Lodge. A.F. & A. 
M. ; past master of King Solomon Chapter, R 
A.M.; past eminent preceptor of Gyrene Com- 
mandery, Knights Templar; and a Noble of the 
Mystic Shrine. He married Miss Ella Luke, of 
Toronto. Herbert Cook, born in 1867, mar 
ried Sarah Juby, of County Hastings, and they 
occupy the old homestead. Mr. Cook s mother 
makes her home there with them, but the father 
passed away there in 1876. 

Dr. Edgar M. Cook was the eldest son in his 
father s family. During his boyhood he stud 
ied in the county schools, and thence was sent 
to the Toronto Normal, where he completed 
his education. By that time his ambition to 
become a physician was already strong enough 
to be the determining factor in his life, and in 
order to secure the means for his medical stud 
ies the young man turned to teaching. For 
five years he held a position in the school in his 
home town, in that time saving enough to carry 
out his cherished purpose. In 1881 he went to 
Cincinnati, Ohio, and entered the Homoeo 
pathic College there, graduating in 1883. He 
then returned to Canada, and attended Trinity 
Medical College, from which institution he re 
ceived his diploma, in 1884. passing the exam 
inations of the College of Physicians and Sur- 



156 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



geons of Ontario, and becoming a licentiate in 
March, 1884. Dr. Cook first established himself 
in Belleville, and in the nine years he prac 
tised there built up a large and lucrative pat 
ronage. But the demands of such a large prac 
tice in a country district are excessive, and 
Dr. Cook decided in 1893, to establish himself 
in Toronto instead. The change has proved a 
wise one, for he has been even more successful 
in his new environment than in Belleville. 

In June, 1898, Dr. Cook was joined in ma 
trimony to Miss Edith Hoskin, a daughter of 
Thomas Hoskin, one of Toronto s leading busi 
ness men. Mrs. Cook was one of a family of 
four, and was reared and educated in Toronto. 
She is a woman of true culture and beauty of 
character, and a devoted wife. Both Dr. Cook 
and his wife are members of the Church of 
England. The Doctor has been active in fra 
ternal work, belonging to both the Odd Fel 
lows and the Masons, and in the latter frater 
nity is a member of Gyrene Preceptory, of To 
ronto, and has taken the various degrees of the 
Blue Lodge, the Royal Arch Chapter and the 
Knights Templar. In politics he is a Liberal - 
Conservative, but always stands for principles 
which he deems in the best interest of the 
country in preference to party. Dr. Cook s 
reputation as a physician is high, while per 
sonally he is popular and held in great con 
sideration. 

CAPT. THOMAS BROWN (deceased), for 
twenty-one years a member of the "Queen s 
Own Rifles." a native of Toronto, born Oct. 
8, 1849, and for many years a business man 
of the Queen City, was a member of one of th? 
pioneer families of that place. 

The Brown family is of English extraction 
and was founded in Canada by Thomas Brown, 
the grandfather of Capt. Thomas. He and his 
wife, Ann Spoor, came to Toronto in 1846, and 
it was he who started the well-known whole 
sale stationery and bookbinding business of 
Brown Brothers, with which he was identified 
until his death, in 1863. His children were: 
Thomas, deceased ; Robert S., a retired citizen 
of Toronto, who is mentioned elsewhere; Major 
John, deceased; Richard, who is mentioned 
elsewhere; William, who has been in the hard 
ware business in Toronto for some time; Rev. 
George M., of the County of York, who is ex- 
president of the Methodist Conference; Charles 
S., deceased; Annie, deceased, who married B. B. 
Toye; and Maria, deceased. 

Of this family Thomas Brown was the father 
of the subject of this sketch. He was born at 
Newcastle-upon-Tyne, England, and came to 
Canada in 1846, in young manhood, marrying 



in Toronto Ann Parry, a native of England, 
daughter of Henry and Esther Parry. Thomas 
Brown was for many years a member of the 
firm of Brown Brothers. He died in Toronto 
in 1866, and his wife now resides there. She 
is a member of the Methodist Church, to which 
Mr. Brown also belonged. Their children were : 
Capt. Thomas; Henry J., of Brown Brothers, 
Ltd.; Annie M. ; Emma H., the wife of Wil 
liam Ewens, of Owen Sound; Minnie, the wife 
of Dr. W. H. Jeffs, of Eglinton, Ont.; Wil 
liam G., of Toronto; and Harriet E., the wife 
of George II. Lugsdin, of Minneapolis, Min 
nesota. 

Capt. Thomas Brown was educated in priv 
ate schools and the model school 01 Toronto, 
and for three years thereafter was with the late 
Senator John Macdonald, in a wholesale dry 
goods house. He then went into business with 
his father, who was a member of the firm of 
Brown Brothers, with which the Captain con 
tinued until his death. 

On Feb. 2, 1870, Captain Brown was united 
in marriage with Miss Jennie Irwin, daughter 
of Capt. Thomas and Margaret (Robb) Irwin, 
natives of Ireland, the former of whom 
was a son of Thomas Irwin, who died 
in Ireland. In Ireland Captain and Mrs. 
Irwin were married, and in an early day 
they removed to Montreal, where he died in 
1855. He was for many years a captain in the 
Royal Navy. His wife died in 1859. Their 
children were : Mrs. Brown and Mary Eliza 
beth, the latter residing with Mrs. Brown in 
Toronto. Capt. Thomas and Mrs. Brown had 
children as follows : Thomas Arthur, born in 
Toronto in 1871, who died the same year; 
Thomas Henry, born in 1872, who died in 1887 ; 
Myrtle Winifred; Olive Lillian, wife of Thomas 
Russell, of Toronto; Alberta and Muriel, twins, 
the latter deceased; and Irwin Arthur, of To 
ronto. 

Captain Brown was a Methodist. In political 
sentiment he was a Reformer. Fraternally he 
associated with the Royal Arcanum, and social 
ly he was connected with the National Club of 
Toronto and the Granite Curling Club. From 
1866 to 1887 he was a member of the "Queen s 
Own," and with this regiment served in the 
Northwest Rebellion. He was a thorough busi 
ness man and a Christian gentleman, and- was 
very highly esteemed in the city in which all 
his life was spent. 

THOMAS BRYCE was one of tne best 
known and most highly respected citizens of 
Toronto, where he passed away at his late resi 
dence, No. 95 Woodlawn avenue, on Nov. 6, 
1905. Mr. Bryce was born in 1843, in Syming- 




tX . \^&S*^cnu-m 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



157 



ton, Scotland, son of John and Jane Bryce, 
who came to Canada in 1867, settling first in 
Toronto. Later they removed to St. Mary s, 
from which place they subsequently returned 
to Toronto, where they died. Their children 
were; Thomas; Agnes, who married James 
Fraser, of Stratford; Marion, Mrs. William 
Long; John, deceased; Annie, Mrs. Robert 
Mearns; Alexander, deceased; William; and 
Elizabeth, Mrs. H. H. Williams, of Toronto. 

Thomas Bryce was educated in his native 
land, but his entire business and public life 
was spent in Canada. He came to Toronto 
with the family and soon thereafter engaged in 
contracting and building, occupations which he 
followed for many years, during which time he 
erected hundreds of dwellings in the city. Mr. 
Bryce s business methods were such as to com 
mand the highest appreciation of those with 
whom he dealt, and his warm friends were as 
numerous as his acquaintances. He was always 
ready to assist the sick or needy, and also took 
a great interest in all matters for the public 
good. In 1898 Mr. Bryce was appointed Judge 
of the Court of Revision, an office in which he 
was serving at the time of his death. 

In 1871 Mr. Bryce was married to Mrs. 
Louisa Turreff, widow of John Turreff. She 
is a native of Toronto, and daughter of Mr. 
William Hill, a pioneer settler of the Queen 
City, who was born in London, England, and 
located in Toronto about 1830. He married 
Miss Mary Aehland, born in England in 1817, 
who survives her husband, residing in Toronto. 
To Mr. and Mrs. Hill were born these children : 
Mrs. John Wilson, William B., Mrs. Bryce, Mrs. 
J. B. Fitz Simons, Mrs. Robert Woodward, 
Mrs. Frank Rolph, and Mrs. Alexander Bryce. 

Mr. and Mrs. Thomas Bryce had two chil 
dren: Arthur, who married Vera K. Coxwell, 
and has three children, Kathleen, Thomas and 
Mary; and Mrs. Harry W. Gain. 

ROBERT WILLIAM ABELL, who passed 
away in Toronto in 1899, was one of the well- 
known men. not only of that city, but in all the 
leading places of Ontario, which he had vis 
ited in the establishment of the Ancient Order 
of Foresters. Mr. Abell was born in Gloucester 
shire, England, in 1834, son of David Abell, 
who died in that country. 

Robert William Abell grew to manhood in 
England, and for a time prior to coming to 
Canada had engaged in a mercantile business. 
In 1871 he settled in Toronto, where he en 
gaged in the hotel business, at the corner of 
Queen and Parliament streets. As above men 
tioned Mr. Abell was prominently identified 
with the Ancient Order of Foresters. He es 



tablished the first tent in Toronto, this being 
in 1871, the location being at the corner of 
King and Berkeley streets. In connection with 
the order, Mr. Abell travelled over a large por 
tion of Ontario, and founded many tents. A 
few years before his death Mr. Abell retired 
from business, and spent his remaining days 
in the enjoyment of his home at No. 75 McGee 
street, which he had built, and which is now 
occupied by his widow. 

In 1855 Mr. Abell was united in marriage 
with Miss Emily Hyatt, born in England, in 
1831, daughter of James and Hannah (Hook) 
Hyatt, and to this union were born the 
following children: Fanny, who married Fran 
cis Consler, and has two children. Annie and 
Baldwin ; Annie, who married Robert Williams 
(deceased) and has two children, Emily (wife 
of Alfred G. Snook, has two children, Eileen 
and Howard) and Frederick (who married 
Edith Keat, has one son, Robert) ; Lucy, who 
married Robert Fair, a hardware merchant of 
Toronto, and has children, May (who married 
Ernest All ward, and has one child, Dorothy 
May), Winnie, Gertrude, Alberta, Harvey (de 
ceased) and Lucy; Rowland David, deceased, 
who married Ella French and left one daugh 
ter, Bessie ; Emily, wife of Frank Barcley ; 
and Alice, deceased, who married Harry Lant. 
In politics Mr. Abell was a Reformer. He 
was a member of the Baptist Church. 

Robert Williams, mentioned in the fore 
going, was born -in Toronto in 1859, son of 
George Williams, a well-known citizen, and was 
there educated. After his marriage to Annie 
Abell he kept a hotel in Toronto for a few 
years. By trade he was a machinist. He died 
May 17, 1904. 

DR. JOHN KENNEDY OLIVER, who died 
in Kingston, Ont., Jan. 1, 1881, was one of the 
most popular men of that city. He was born 
in Scotland in 1837. and came to Canada when 
a young man, being educated at the Queen s 
University of Kingston, from which he gradu 
ated in 1863, M.D., and L.R.C.P. & S. in 1868. 

After graduation Dr. Oliver settled in prac 
tice in Kingston, where he became very prom 
inent in medical, military and Masonic cir 
cles. The Doctor s residence was near St. 
George s Cathedral, Kingston. From the time 
of his graduation he was in constant practice 
at this location, and became well known 
throughout the city. He was frequently re 
quested to accept the mayoralty of the city, and 
finally accepted the nomination in the elections 
of 1880-81, but his sudden death prevented his 
assuming the duties of that office. The Doctor 
served his city, however, in the council, and 



158 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



his country in the Fenian raid, being surgeon- 
major of the 14th Battalion for some time. He 
was a Master Mason, high up in the order, 
which, with the military, had charge of his fun 
eral, which was several miles in length. 

Dr. Oliver married Mary Ellen Town, who 
was born on the Isle of Jersey in 1848, daugh 
ter of Richard Town, who built and owned 
the Masonic building in Kingston. To Dr. and 
Mrs. Oliver were born: May Rossmore, wife 
of Frank Gordon, a commercial traveller, who 
has one daughter, Edna Lorraine ; Ethel Gert 
rude; and one son, deceased. The Doctor had 
three brothers and two sisters, one of whom, 
Mary, married Sir James Mclntyre, of Liver 
pool, England. 

Mrs. Oliver, some years after her husband s 
death, settled in Toronto, purchasing the house 
at No. 217 Dunn avenue. South Parkdale, where 
she now resides. In Dr. Oliver s death King 
ston last a prominent and useful citizen, the 
medical fraternity an able member, and his 
family a kind and loving husband and father. 

GEORGE WILLIAM BEYNON, deceased, 
who was a well-known lawyer of Portage ia 
Prairie, Man., was an umisual personality, and 
during his lifetime exerted more power for good 
than most men. A thorough scholar and born 
teacher, he was further gifted with the power 
over his fellows that marks a leader of men, 
and while his lot was not cast in stirring 
scenes or times he was yet a guiding and deter 
mining influence in the lives of many. 

Mr. Beynon was born near Montreal in 1848, 
and was a son of Rev. George Beynon, a prom 
inent Methodist divine. He was a graduate of 
the University of Toronto, and later was a law 
student in that city, where, in 1879, he was duly 
called to the Bar. He first established him 
self in Minnedosa, Man., where he practiced 
law for ten years, and then went to Portage la 
Prairie, where there were more promising open 
ings. He became district registrar there and 
was still filling the duties of that office at the 
time of his death, in 1902. His political af 
filiation was with the Reform party. Besides 
attending to his business and professional in 
terests Mr. Beynon was always actively en 
gaged in church work, and was one of the no^ed 
Sunday-school teachers of the Methodist de 
nomination. He was specially drawn to young 
people and his Bible class was composed of 
suc h. His own genuine Christian character 
and his deep personal interest in his pupils 
made him very successful in his work, and num 
bers of them were firmly settled in right prin 
ciples of living throiigh his teachings. 

In 1881 Mr. Beynon and Miss Edith William 



son, of Brampton, Ont., were united in mar 
riage, and five children came to bless their 
home: George William. Jr., of Petrol ia, who 
married Miss Ida Walker, of Toronto; Edith 
Maude, who is the wife of Alexander Garner, 
of Stratford, and has one daughter, Doris; 
Gareta, wife of Henry McFadyen, of Duluth. 
by whom she has had two sons, Douglas and 
Harry; and two younger sons, Frank Perci- 
val and John, who reside with their mother in 
Toronto. Mrs. Beynon, who survives her hus 
band, and lives at No. 494 Euclid avenue, bears 
an enviable reputation as an authoress, having 
not only contributed a number of articles to 
the leading magazines, but also written several 
novels, among which "Saints, Sinners and 
Queen People" has been especially popular and 
has attained a wide circulation. 

MR. AND MRS. JOSEPH LISTER NICH 
OLS, of Toronto, enjoy the distinction of hav 
ing been identified with two of the prominent 
movements of the city from their inception : Mr. 
Nichols laid the first concrete sidewalk in To 
ronto, it being in front of the Y.M.C.A. build 
ing, on Yonge street, while Mrs. Nichols was a 
member of the first faculty of the Toronto Con 
servatory of Music, with which she is still iden 
tified. Mr. and Mrs. Nichols are of Leeds, Eng 
land, where he was born in 1851, son of David 
Nichols, a contractor of wide reputation in that 
country. 

In his native city Mr. Nichols received his 
education and there learned the contracting and 
building business, which he followed in Leeds 
for some time before coming to Canada. He 
had contracts for many of the principal build 
ings of Leeds, and with his father built the now 
famous Leeds Bridge and Leeds Town Hall. In 
1887 Mr. and Mrs. Nichols and their family 
came to Toronto, where Mr. Nichols resumed his 
contracting business, giving special attention to 
concrete walks, in which line he was the pioneer ; 
he also built the concrete swimming baths for 
the Y.M.C.A. and Upper Canada College. In 
1893 he went out of the contracting business 
and turned his attention to the work of a com 
mercial salesman, in which he was engaged for 
some time. Probably no man is better known in 
Canada than is Mr. Nichols, for he has travelled 
the Dominion from ocean to ocean, visting every 
principal city and town. For some time he was 
connected with an English house. In recent 
years he has again turned his attention to the 
building and contracting business, and is now 
engaged in forming a general concrete construc 
tion business in the city of Winnipeg, Manitoba. 
Mrs. Nichols, who is well known in musica 7 
circles in Toronto, was also born in England, 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



159 



daughter of Thomas and Isabella ( Swan ) Cock- 
burn, well-known residents of that country, 
where Mr. Cockburn was a manufacturer of 
blocks and sails. In Leeds Mrs. Nichols re 
ceived her literary and musical education, and 
on coming to Toronto continued to follow the 
musical profession. In September, 1887, the 
Toronto Conservatory of Music was opened, and 
in February. 1888, Mrs. Nichols became a mem 
ber of the faculty of that institution, with which 
she has since been identified as a teacher of the 
piano forte. 

To Mr. and Mrs. Nichols have been born three 
sons : David, an architect of Winnipeg, was edu 
cated in Toronto, and inherits the musical taste 
of his mother; James L. and Jack are in busi 
ness in Toronto, and like their parents are pio 
neers in a line of industry, having founded the 
York Metal Polish business. They manufacture 
both metal polish and "Grimo, " having pur 
chased the latter from another company. Mr. 
and Mrs. Nichols are consistent members of the 
Congregational Church. In political sentiment 
he is a Reformer. 

ROBERT LATHAM McCORMACK, secre 
tary of the Conger Coal Company, Limited, o,nd 
otherwise prominently identified with the busi 
ness interests of Toronto, makes his home in To 
ronto Junction, of which place he has been a 
resident since it was a small village. He has not 
only seen the rapid development thereof, but has 
been one of the principal factors in bringing 
about present conditions. 

The McCormack family is of Scotch extrac 
tion, the founder of the family in America hav 
ing been reared near Dundee, Scotland, from 
which country Alexander McCormack, the great 
grandfather of Robert L., emigrated to North 
umberland county, Pennsylvania, about the 
year 1783. The maiden name of Alexander Mc 
Cormack s wife was Jane Carson. They both 
died in Pennsylvania, leaving four sons and 
four daughters, namely : William, Samuel, 
James. Nathaniel, Mrs. Nancy Duncan, Mrs. 
Mary Thomas. Mrs. Margaret Smith, and Mrs. 
Jane Jeffords. 

Of the foregoing family Nathaniel McCor 
mack, the grandfather of Robert Latham, was 
born in 1778, and died in New York State in 
1835. He and his brother, William, and their 
sister, Mrs. Jane Jeffords, settled in New York, 
where the brothers became wealthy farmers and 
where both died. Nathaniel McCormack mar 
ried Helen Campbell, who died in 1876, at the 
age of about ninety years. She was the mother 
of children as follows: James, who settled in 
Michigan and there died ; Alexander, who set 
tled in South Carolina, and there died; Rob 



ert; Samuel, who died in St. Louis, Missouri; 
William, who settled in Missouri, went to Cali 
fornia at the time of the gold fever in 1849, 
and has not been heard from since ; George, who 
died at Ransomville, New York ; Nathaniel, who 
died in Alabama ; and one daughter, Mrs. Jane 
Smith, who died in Michigan in 1885. 

Robert McCormack was born in 1818 in New 
York State, and was the only son of the family 
to settle in Canada, being therefore the progeni 
tor of the McCormacks in the Dominion. In 
1838 he settled in Toronto, on the Don. and en 
gaged in the manufacture of lumber and in the 
building of sawmills. From the Don Mr. Mc 
Cormack went to Cashel, where he rented for 
about two years, moved thence to Markham 
township, where he was in the mercantile and 
lumber business, and from there to Vivian, in 
the township of Whitchurch, where he was en 
gaged in the lumber business. There he died 
July 29, 1906, in the eighty-ninth year of his 
age. Robert McCormaek married Elizabeth 
Latham, who was born at, Castleblayney, in the 
North of Ireland, in 1825, and died at Vivian 
in 1900. in the faith of the Presbyterian Church. 
To Robert and Elizabeth (Latham) McCormack 
came the following named children : Ellen, the 
wife of William Simpson, of Ballantrae, Ont. ; 
Elizabeth, who married Michael Jackson, of To 
ronto Junction ; Mary, the widow of Samuel Mc- 
Mullin, of Ballantrae, Ont; William Alex 
ander, of Manitoba; Robert Latham, of Toronto 
Junction ; and Nathaniel and George, of Vivian. 
All of this family were born in the County of 
York. Ontario. 

Robert Latham McCormack wag born in 
Cashel, Markham township, in 1854, and com 
pleted his education in the Newmarket high 
school. From 1877 to 1885 he was with hie 
father in the lumber business, and with this ex 
perience he came in the latter year to Toronto 
Junction, then a mere hamlet, engaging in the 
coal and lumber business on his own account. 
After continuing thus for about five years he 
sold out and purchased a half interest in the 
Conger Coal Company of Toronto, Limited, 
Dec. 24, 1890. He and Mr. Ralph E. Gibson, 
the president of the company, are now sole 
proprietors, and they conduct an extensive busi 
ness as dealers in all kinds of hard and soft 
coal, wood and coke. Though the concern is 
now such an important one it was established 
upon a very modest scale, and at the time Mr. 
McCormack purchased his half interest it was 
still a small but promising industry. It has de 
veloped, however, beyond the most sanguine 
hopes of the proprietors, as the volume of their 
annual business shows, 175,000 tons of coal 
alone being handled yearly. Employment is 



160 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



given to two hundred people, and one hundred 
horses are required constantly. The company 
maintains eleven offices in Toronto besides the 
main office at No. 6 King street east, and one in 
Toronto Junction, has a private dock on Esplan 
ade street east, at the foot of Church street. 
three branch yards in the city and a fourth in 
Toronto Junction. These accommodations have 
been acquired from time to time as the growth 
of the business demanded increased facilities 
for handling and more room for storing, as well 
as convenient points from which to deliver and 
ship, and the thoroughly systematic manner 
in which the trade is supplied is ample reason 
in itself for the substantial growth of the com 
pany. Its standing in commercial circles testi 
fies sufficiently as to the general confidence in 
the ability of the proprietors. Both are men of 
upright character and irreproachable integrity, 
commanding as much respect for worthy per 
sonal traits as for business responsibility. They 
have other important interests, for the most part 
in the same line. In 1902, when the Toronto 
Junction Lumber Company was formed, Mr. 
McCormack became vice-president of that com 
pany, which position he still holds, Mr. R. E 
Gibson being the president. Mr. McCormack 
is also vice-president of the Gravel Construction 
Company, established in 1899 (Mr. Archy 
Campbell, M.P., being president), and a director 
of the Crown Life Insurance Company, To 
ronto. 

On Dec. 20, 1882, Mr. McCormack married 
Miss Amelia Sharpe, who was born in Whit- 
church township, County of York, daughter of 
George and Maryann (Simpson) Sharpe. To 
this union have been born children as follows: 
Carson; Gladys; Grace; Ruth; Robert; Hope; 
Mary, and three deceased. In 1899 Mr. Mc 
Cormack purchased his beautiful home, "Oak- 
lands," at No. 336 Annette street, Toronto 
Junction, to which he has added both in value 
and attractiveness during his occupancy of the 
place. Mr. and Mrs. McCormack are members 
of Victoria Presbyterian Church. 

Mr. McCormack has always taken an active 
part in church matters. In 1885 he was chair 
man of the building committee which had in 
charge the erection of the First Presbyterian 
Church at the Junction. The building kno .vn 
as the Victoria Presbyterian Church, since sold 
to the Roman Catholics, is on Pacific avenue, 
and was built at a cost of $3,000. In 1891 the 
present edifice was erected, at the corner of 
Midland and Annette streets, at a cost of $45,- 
000, and Mr. McCormack acted as chairman of 
the building committee for this structure also; 
ho is now one of the managers of the church. 
In his political opinions Mr. McCormack is a 



Conservative, and fraternally he is a member 
of the A.O.U.W., the C.O.F., and the Masonic 
Fraternity, in all of which he has passed all the 
chairs. He was the founder of Stanley Lodge, 
No. 426, A.F. & A.M., as well as of other fra 
ternal organizations at the Junction. Socially 
he holds membership in the Toronto Albany 
Club and the Canadian Club, and he is a mem 
ber of the Toronto Board of Trade. Mr. Mc 
Cormack was a member of the council of Whit- 
church township when he was but twenty-one 
years old. He was also a member of the first 
council of Toronto Junction, and for some time 
was a member of the Junction Collegiate Insti 
tute Board. His superior personality has made 
him a man of note among his business associ 
ates and in the community in which he has so 
long resided, and the confidence and esteem 
which his fellow men feel for him are well shown 
in his popularity as a candidate for various 
honors. He has carried himself with credit in 
every relation of life. 



ANDREW TELFER, whose death occurred 
in Toronto April 28, 1897, was for many years 
a well-known bxisiness man of that city. Ha 
was born in 1829, in Roxburghshire, Scotland, 
son of Andrew and Christina (Murray) Telfer. 
both of whom passed away in Scotland. 

Andrew Telfer. our subject, was educated in 
his native shire in Scotland, and came to Can 
ada in 1854. settling in Quebec. For thirteen 
years he was a member of the firm of Laird & 
Telfer, of that city. From Quebec, Mr. Telfer 
went to Montreal, where he was in the whole 
sale dry goods business for a time, and in 1871 
he became a resident of Toronto, and was first 
engaged as buyer for a large Wholesale house, 
and then formed a partnership with Mr. 
Crompton under the firm name of Crompton & 
Telfer, to carry on the corset business. On the 
dissolution of this partnership Mr. Telfer 
founded the Telfer Manufacturing Company, 
for the manufacture of paper boxes, and in 
this business he continued until his death. 

On June 30, 1867., Mr. Telfer returned to 
Scotland, and married Miss Agnes Dobie, born 
in the South of Scotland, daughter of the late 
Rev. John and Janet (Somerville) Dobie, both 
of whom died in Scotland. To Mr. and Mrs. 
Telfer were born two daughters : Janet S.. 
widow of the late Rev. John MacGillivray, of 
Westmount, Montreal; and Mrs. John Turn- 
bull, of Toronto. Mr. Telfer was an elder in 
St. James Square Presbyterian Church, To 
ronto, for many years. In politics he was a Re 
former. 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



161 



JOHN HUNTER, M.D., is not only well 
known through Ontario as a physician and sur 
geon of skill, and as a writer whose contribu 
tions are gladly accepted by the leading peri 
odicals of the profession throughout the coun 
try, but also as a leading politician, education 
alist and churchman. 

The Doctor comes of Irish ancestry, the fam 
ily having been founded in Canada by his 
father, David Hunter, who was born in Ireland, 
and who came to this country about 1814, set 
tling in the County of Peel. There he engaged 
in farming until about 1854, when he moved to 
the County of Brant. His wife was Jane Ham 
ilton. The father died when the Doctor was a 
child, but the mother lived until 1888. In re 
ligion Mr. and Mrs. Hunter were Presbyterians. 
He was a Reformer. They had twelve chil 
dren. Of these, David H., B.A., was for some 
years principal of the Woodstock Collegiate In 
stitute; and Adelaide, now Mrs. John Hood- 
less, of Hamilton, is well-known all over the 
Dominion as founder of the first college of 
domestic science in Canada, located in Hamil 
ton, and of which she was for many years pre 
sident. She has made this subject very popu 
lar by addresses delivered throughout the Do 
minion, the United States and Europe, before 
large and appreciative audiences of the most 
intelligent people of these countries. 

Dr. John Hunter was born in the County of 
Peel in 1850. His literary education was re- 
ceived at the Gait Collegiate Institute, but be 
fore entering that institution he had been en 
gaged in teaching for three years. In 1872 he 
entered the Toronto School of Medicine, and 
graduated from the University of Toronto with 
the degree of M.D., in 1875. The Doctor sub 
sequently (1888) visited the large hospitals of 
England, Ireland, Scotland, Germany, Austria, 
Italy, Prance and the United States, his post 
graduate work being the very best that could 
be obtained in Europe or America. In 1875 
he began the active practice of his profession 
at Millbrook, County Durham, where he resid 
ed for seven years. In 1882, he located in To 
ronto, where he has since been engaged in gen 
eral practice. For the past six or eight years 
he has been giving special attention to diseases 
of the ear, nose and throat. 

Dr. Hunter is a contributor to the leading 
medical journals of the day, having become a 
writer through being a close student. He is a 
very prominent member of the various medical 
societies of the Dominion, is an ex-president of 
the Toronto Medical Society, and has held var 
ious positions of trust in these associations. He 
is one of the founders of the Western Hospital 
and a member on its staff. In the years 1894 
11 



and 1895 he was a member of the Public School 
Board of Toronto, and was one of the original 
promoters of manual training and domestic sci 
ence in the schools, as well as of the amalgama 
tion of the school boards. He was elected to 
the Board of Education on Jan. 1, 1907, by a 
very large vote over the whole city. His plat 
form was: "Weed out disability from any 
cause; efficient inspection of our schools; ade 
quate salaries for all our teachers; that the 
Government and municipalities should make 
our mines, timber limits and public utilities 
contribute liberally for the education of the 
children. 

For some time Dr. Hunter was president of 
the Liberal Association of West Toronto, and 
in 1905 was the Independent Liberal candidate 
for this riding, on a special platform declaring 
against "the Saloon, the Bar and the Treating 
System." This was the year of the great land 
slide in politics, when the Conservatives, under 
the leadership of Mr. Whitney, defeated by a 
large majority the Reformers under Premier 
G. W. Ross. In the contest Dr. Hunter polled 
nearly two thousand votes an excellent show 
ing under the circumstances then existing, as 
the Liberals had been in power for about thirty- 
three years. 

In 1877 Dr. Hunter and Miss Lizzie Renwick, 
daughter of the late John Renwick, of Orono, 
County Durham, were united in marriage, and 
to this union the following children were born : 
Williston M.. assistant inspector of gas and 
electric meters for the Government; Edith M. 
and Mary; and Mabel and Herbert, both de 
ceased. Dr. Hunter and his estimable wife 
are members of the Dunn Avenue Presbyterian 
Church, in which the Doctor is an elder and 
assistant superintendent of the Sunday-school, 
and prior to his affiliation with this church he 
was for eighteen j-ears an elder in Chalmers 
Church. Dr. Hunter has gained the confidence 
and good-will of the people of Toronto, and 
has enjoyed a lucrative practice. He is at 
home in every line a close student, a careful 
practitioner and a steady-handed surgeon in 
his special work. 

The Doctor spent the winter of 1897-98 in 
Redlands, California, as medical attendant to 
his brother, the late principal of the Woodstock 
Collegiate Institute. He has made frequent 
trips to New York, Philadelphia, Boston, Balti 
more, Washington, Chicago, St. Louis and De 
troit, to visit their hospitals, and to investigate 
their educational systems, as pursued in their 
universities, high and public schools. 

JOSEPHINE WELLS, D.D.S., a well-known 
dental practitioner of the city of Toronto, with 



162 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



offices at No. 653 Spadina avenue, was born in 
Aiigust, 1856, at Aurora, County York, daugh 
ter of Charles and Catherine (Tyson) Irwin 
the former born near Newmarket, County York, 
in 1831, and the latter at Holland Landing, 
youngest daughter of Isaiah and Catherine Ty 
son. 

Robert Irwin, the grandfather of Dr. Wells, 
came to Canada from Pennsylvania in 1800, 
and settled with his wife, Sarah (Cummer), at 
Newmarket, where he was engaged as a me 
chanic. To them were born five children, of 
whom Charles was the only survivor. 

Charles Irwin was born near Newmarket, 
County York, in 1831. His early life was spent 
in carpentering, but he later became engaged 
in the work at his father s gristmill at Aurora, 
which he managed for a number of years. In 
1855 he married Catherine Tyson, who was 
born at Holland Landing, youngest daughter of 
Isaiah and Catherine Tyson, and died May 4, 
1905. She was the mother of five children: (1) 
Josephine is mentioned farther on. (2) Minnie 
H., born in Aurora in 1860, is the wife of 
Thomas Hammell, of Beeton, Ont., and has four 
children, Esther, Charles H.. Katie and Mar 
garet. (3) Katie, born in 1866, died in young 
womanhood. (4) Courtwright, born Jan. 1. 
1870, in Aurora, now the manager of ? .sic 
store in London, Out., married Miss Evelyn 
Brown, and they have one son, Pearson. (5) 
"William, born Nov. 18, 1872, was edticated in 
the Lloydtown public school and Newmarkgt 
high school, taught in the public schools for 
twelve years, and is at present a student in Vic 
toria College, preparing for the ministry. He 
married Miss Lillian Richardson, and they re 
side in Toronto; they have two children, Muriel 
and Vera. 

In 1892 Mr. Charles Irwin came from Schom- 
berg to Toronto, and there he has lived retired 
to the present time. He is connected with the 
Methodist Church, and has held various official 
positions therein. In politics he is a member 
of the Reform party, and while in Aurora 
served as a member of the school board, as coun 
cillor for the township of King and as county 
councillor for the County of York (for about 
ten years 1874 to 1882), and as justice of the 
peace (for thirty years). 

Josephine Irwin was educated in the schools 
of Aurora, at which place she was reared to 
womanhood. In March, 1876, she was married 
to John Wells. D.D.S., who was born in Janu 
ary, 1854. eldest son of J. P. Wells. John Wells 
taught school for some time, and in 1882 gradu 
ated from the Royal Dental College. He prac 
tised four years at Meaford. Ont., and four 
years at Aurora, and in 1889 located in Toronto, 



giving up his profession on account of ill health. 
He died in April, 1904. To Dr. and Mrs. Wells 
were, born five children: Mabel, born in Aurora 
in 1880, received a high school education; 
Charles P., born in King in 1882, is single and 
employed at the post office, Toronto ; Arthur 
Tyson, born in 1882, died in childhood; Edith 
M., born in 1884, died in 1896 ; Dalton C. was 
born in 1900. 

Mrs. Wells first took up the study of dentistry 
with her husband, and entered the Royal Dental 
College in 1891, graduating therefrom in 1893 
the first woman dentist to graduate from that 
institution. She has since attended to a very 
successful practice in Toronto, having taken 
charge of her husband s entire business. She 
resides in her own home in the Queen City. Mrs. 
Wells is a member of the Church of Christ, and 
Mr. Wells died in the same faith. 

Mrs. Wells traces her ancestry back to par 
ticipants of the Revolutionary war in the United 
States, some of whom removed afterward to 
Pennsylvania and became identified with the 
Society of Friends. From Pennsylvania they 
made their way to Canada prior to the war of 
1812, and this has been the home of the family 
to the present time. 

THOMAS WINNING DYAS., who passed 
away at his summer home on Toronto Island, 
June 22, 1899, was for many years, and up to 
the time of his death, advertising and circulat 
ing manager of the Mail and Empire, Toronto, 
and one of the best known figures in the pub 
lishing world of Canada. Mr. Dyas was born 
at " Clonturken, " the old family residence in 
County Cavan, Ireland, Sept. 2, 1845, son of 
John and Ellen (Warren) Dyas, natives of the 
Emerald Isle. He was educated in the pub 
lic schools at New Orleans, and the Collegiate 
Institute of London, Ont., and at the age of 
eighteen years began life as a civil engineer and 
surveyor, and for some time practised his pro 
fession, but later found his vocation in news 
paper work, his first duty being editorial work 
on the Farmer s Advocate, of London. In 1874 
he came to Toronto, and was at first on the staff 
of the Globe. In 1877 Mr. Dyas was appointed 
to the head of the advertising department of the 
Mail, and this position he filled to the time of his 
death. 

In 1871, in London, Mr. Dyas married Miss 
Emma Wilder Ball, a native of Boston, Massa 
chusetts. Mr. Dyas was a member of the Eng 
lish Church. In politics he was a Conservative. 
He was fraternally connected with the I.O.O.P. 
and the A.O.U.W. 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



163 



NERIAH J. ROADHOUSE, ex-mayor of 
Newmarket, County York, and a well known 
business man of this place, engaged as an under 
taker and large furniture dealer, was born at 
Newmarket Nov. 27, 1852, a son of Samuel and 
Frances (Elvidge) Roadhouse. The Roadhoiise 
family is an old one in Canada, the founder of 
the family here being 

"William Roadhouse (1) was one of the 
very first settlers in County Peel. The children 
of this pioneer were: William, the grandfather 
of our subject; Sarah, born in England, the 
widow of David Donnie, resides in County 
Peel and has two sons; Henry died in County 
Peel; Jonathan died in Ontario; John died m 
California, one of the gold seekers of 1849 ; 
Joseph became a prominent man and died at the 
old home in County Peel; James lived until 
1904, in County Peel. 

William Roadhouse (2) was born in Eng 
land, and came to America, sailing from Eng 
land the day that Queen Victoria was born. He 
was located for a time in Ottawa, and in 1836 
he settled in Coxmty York, living a while in To 
ronto, where he worked at his trade of stone en 
graver. Later he made a permanent home in 
Albion township, where he cleared up a farm 
and there he died in 1878, one of the successful 
farmers of that locality. He married Sarah 
Cass, and they had three sons and three daugh 
ters : Samuel was the eldest son ; Jane, deceased, 
was the wife of George Monkman, who died in 
the Northwest Territory ; Neriah. born in Coun 
ty York, followed the trade of a blacksmith and 
died near Toronto ; Sarah, deceased, was the wife 
of M. Stephenson, of Milroy, Ont. ; Elizabeth is 
the wife of Walter Brown, who resides in To<- 
ronto ; William married, lived on the old home 
stead until a few years ago, and then moved to 
Owen Sound. 

Samuel Roadhouse was born in County Peel, 
Ont., in July. 1824, and was reared on the home 
farm, attending the common schools. In 1833 
he came to Newmarket, and learned the cabinet- 
making trade with John Botsford. He re 
mained with him one year, when Mr. Botsford 
died, and then Mr. Roadhouse succeeded him in 
the business, continuing it until his death. In 
1845, at Newmarket, he married Miss Frances 
Elvidge, born in England in 1823, daughter of 
Henry and Elizabeth Elvidge. Mr. and Mrs. 
Elvidge came from England in the year 1824 
on a sailing vessel by way of Quebec. They re 
mained in that city until 1836, when they came 
to Newmarket, County York, as early settlers. 
Henry Elvidge was a millwright, carpenter and 
farmer, and he found plenty of employment 
among the early settlers. His children were: 
Joseph, deceased, of Newmarket; Elizabeth, de 



ceased, wife of W. Weightman, of County York ; 
Edward, formerly a millwright at Newmarket; 
Mary, deceased, wife of John Atkinson, of 
County York; Jane, deceased, wife of Henry 
Fryatt, a retired farmer of County York ; Fran 
ces, the mother of our subject; William, a resi 
dent of Newmarket, who has one son, Herbert; 
Charles, a business man of Oakland, California; 
and George, who resides with his family at 
Brantford. Ont. Samuel Roadhouse died at his 
home in Newmarket in August, 1890, leaving 
an ample fortune and an honorable name. His 
estimable wife survived until May, 1904. In 
religious faith they were members of the Meth 
odist Church. In politics he was a Reformer 
until he supported the national policy, when he 
became a Conservative. 

The children of Samuel Roadhouse and his 
wife were : Charles H., born in 1847, was reared 
at Newmarket, where he married; he is now a 
resident of Blythe. Sarah, born in 1849, is the 
wife of James S. Spiers, who is chief clerk of 
the Grand Trunk railroad, and is located at 
Montreal; they have two sons. Charles A. and 
Harold A. Emma, born in 1855, now deceased, 
was the wife of Jesse Doan, also deceased; they 
left one son, Frank. Annie E., born in 1858, 
is the wife of Thomas H. Hacking of Detroit, 
and they have two children, Jessie (wife of 
William Kirton, of Detroit) and Mabel. Ella, 
born in 1860, is the wife of W. S. McClintock, a 
druggist of Galva. Illinois, and they have chil 
dren. Gladys, Francis and Ross. William, born 
in 1863, married and resides at North Bay, 
Ont. Neriah J. is mentioned below. 

Neriah J. Roadhouse is the third member of 
the above family. He was reared at Newmar 
ket where he attended school, completing the 
course in the grammar school. He was seven 
teen years old when he entered his father s fur 
niture store, and, learning the business, became 
manager while still young, on account of his 
father s failing health. In order to prepare 
himself thoroughly for all the duties of his busi 
ness, Mr. Roadhouse attended a private embalm 
ing school at Toronto, learning the most im 
proved sanitary methods of that profession. 
Since 1890 he has carried on the business alone 
and is one of the city s most reliable and repre 
sentative business men. 

Mr. Roadhouse is equally prominent in public 
life, voting with the Conservative party on im 
portant matters. For a period of twelve years 
he was a member of the town council, his father 
having served a number of years before him as 
councillor and reeve. In 1904 his popularity 
among his fellow citizens was shown by his elec 
tion to the honorable position of mayor of New- 



164 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



market, one which he filled with dignity and 
efficiency. 

On July 20, 1886, Mr. Roadhouse was married 
to Miss Emily Millard. born in County York, 
daughter of Mordecai and Martha Millard, 
members of prominent families of the county. 
Mrs. Roadhouse died at Newmarket, Nov. 24, 
1896, leaving three children, namely: Mildred, 
born in 1888, who is well educated; Geraldine, 
born in 1890, a student in the Newmarket high 
school; and Constance, born in 1893. 

On June 28, 1897, Mr. Roadhouse was mar 
ried (second) to Miss Mary Bogart, who belongs 
to one of the leading families of the county and 
is a daughter of J. W. and Elizabeth Bogart. 
She was reared and educated in this city, and 
is a lady of many social attractions. The hos 
pitable home of Mr. and Mrs. Roadhouse is the 
scene of many pleasant gatherings. Mrs. Road- 
house is a member of the Christian Church, 
while Mr. Roadhouse is a Methodist. 

JAMES CROCKER, who passed away at his 
late residence, No. 490 Jarvis street, Toronto, 
Dec. 23, 1905, was one of the city s most suc 
cessful business men and highly esteemed citi 
zens. Mr. Crocker was born in Cornwall, Eng 
land. Aug. 31, 1828. After receiving his educa 
tion in his native country he came to Canada at 
the age of twenty years, and soon thereafter set 
tled in Etobicoke township, County York, where 
he engaged in farming. In about 1848 he lo 
cated in Toronto, where his business ability soon 
became apparent to his fellow citizens, who 
elected him to represent St. Patrick s ward in 
the city council in the year 1875, by acclama 
tion. After the subdivision of St. Patrick s 
ward, which was brought about largely through 
the efforts of Mr. Crocker, and the formation 
of St. Stephen s ward, he was elected to repre 
sent the latter in municipal offices. He was first 
elected from this ward in 1876 and sat in the 
city council in 1876, 1877, 1878, 1879. 1880, 
1881, 1883, 1884, 1886 and 1889, when he with 
drew from municipal life. During these ten 
years in the council he served the city ably and 
well, with honor to himself and satisfaction to 
his constituents. 

Mr. Crocker was largely interested in various 
enterprises in the city, being a director on the 
board of the Industrial Exhibition Association 
for twenty-one years and a director of the Union 
Loan Company. He was also interested in and 
the owner of valuable real estate in the city. It 
was largely through his influence in associa 
tion with the late Mayor Morrison and Mr. I. I. 
Withrow that the Massey Manufacturing Com 
pany was induced to move from Newcastle to 
Toronto, and this is only one of the ways in 



which he advanced the interests of the city, the 
welfare of which he always had at heart. His 
politics were those of a lifelong Conservative. 
He was a member of the St. George Society and 
the York Pioneers Association, and in religion 
was a consistent member of the Methodist 
Church. 

In 1850 Mr. Crocker was married to Mary 
Steele. who was born in Scotland in 1832 and 
came to Canada when but a child. She survives 
her husband and resides at 490 Jarvis street. To 
Mr. and Mrs. Crocker were born these children : 
Mrs. C. E. Kyle, of Toronto; William, well 
known in financial circles in Toronto ; and John, 
deceased. 

JOHN SMITH, reeve of East Gwillimbury, is 
also a leading agriculturist of the 4th Conces 
sion, Lot 22, and was born in that concession, 
on Lot 27, Sept 13, 1851, son of John and Isa 
bella (Penton) Smith. 

John Smith, Sr., was born in Yorkshire, Eng 
land, and came to Canada in 1828. After mar 
riage he settled in East Gwillimbury, and there 
spent the remainder of his life, clearing a farm. 
His death occurred in 1865. He was the father 
of eleven children, as follows: Mary, widow of 
George Coltman, residing in East Gwillimbury, 
had a family of eleven children, of whom eight 
are still living, William, Thomas, George, Mil 
ton, Wilmot, Jane, Minnie and Lidy; William 
married Miss Gregg, and has six children, Rev. 
William (a Presbyterian minister), Maggie, 
Elizabeth, John, Belle and Fred ; Sarah, the wife 
of Benjamin Eves, of East Gwillimbury, has six 
children, Isabella, William, Julia, Sarah. Minnie 
and Walter; Julia is the wife of John Hicks, of 
Bay City, Michigan ; Thomas married Miss 
Sophie Drury, and settled in Toronto, where he 
died in 1890, leaving two children, Everett and 
Fred; Elizabeth, widow of Robert Kellington, 
of Gwillimbury. has three children, Isabel, John 
and Mary : Margaret, wife of George Smith, of 
Whitchurch. has a family of six children; 
George married Miss Annie Boag, and first set 
tled in Gwillimbury, later removing to Toronto, 
whore he died in June, 1905, leaving children 
Jnlia, Wjjfred, Maud, Walter. Alice, Flor- 
nee and Ernest: Annie, the wife of James Boag, 
lives in East Gwillimbury, and has a family of 
two, Ralph and Roy ; Isabella, the wife of John 
Graham, resides on the American side of Sault 
Ste. Marie, where Mr. Graham is an engineer; 
John is the subject proper of this sketch. 

John Smith received a district school educa 
tion, and, his father having died when he was 
young, he was obliged at an early age to begin 
to help care for the younger members of the 
familv. In 1875 he married Miss Mary A. 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



165 



Johnston, who was born in East Gwillimbury 
in April, 1856, daughter of John and Mary 
(Woods) Johnston. They first settled on the 
home where his father died, his mother living 
with them for eleven years. In 1888 Mr. Smith 
purchased the John Fletcher estate, his present 
farm home, where he has erected new buildings 
and made many improvements. He also pur 
chased a farm on the 4th Concession, where his 
eldest son, Albert J., resides, and owns fifty 
acres in another part of the township. Mr. and 
Mrs. Smith have seven children: Albert J., born 
in 1876, married Miss Louie Lundy, daughter 
of Joseph Lundy, of County York, and has four 
children, Milfred, Mildred G., Roy G. and Ross 
A. ; Elmer E., born in 1878, is booliKeeper for 
a large lumber firm in Muskoka, Ont. ; Norman 
A., born in 1880, lives at the old homestead; 
Ethel E., born in 1883, married James Crann, 
a resident of Newmarket, and has one son, 
Ethan J. ; Lily M., born in 1885, lives at home; 
Prank W., born in 1889, is a student at the 
Newmarket high school ; and Gertrude, born in 
1891. is a student in the home school. 

Mr. and Mrs. Smith are members of the Chris 
tian Church. In political faith Mr. Smith has 
always been identified with the Reform party, 
and he was elected in 1900 a member of the 
council, to which he was re-elected five times 
in succession. At the present time he is filling 
the position of Reeve of East Gwillimbury, hav 
ing been elected to that office in 1906. He has 
also been a member of the school board for a 
number of years. Fraternally he is connected 
with the Order of Foresters at Newmarket. 

Mr. Smith is self-made. Early in life he 
started out to make his own way in the world, 
and he has been very successful. He is a kind 
]y, Christian man, one who can trust and be 
trusted. 

EDWIN BUNCE WRIGHT, editor and part 
proprietor of the Toronto Junction Tribune, an 
influential news sheet of this section of On 
tario, was born at Collingwood, Ont.. Sept. 25, 
1879, son of Charles Wright, of the Junction, 
whose sketch appears elsewhere. 

Edwin B. Wright secured his preliminary 
education in the schools of Collingwood and 
Toronto Junction, and in 1895 he entered the 
office of the Tribune as an employee, Mr. A. B. 
Rice being then the owner and editor. Here he 
remained for two years, then becoming assistant 
editor of the Leader and Recorder, of Toronto 
Junction, for two years. The next year was 
spent at the office of the Telegram, and after a 
few months in Manitoba, Mr. Wright returned to 
Toronto Junction to take charge of the Junction 
edition of the Timrx nnd Guide of Weston, a po 



sition in which he continued for eight months. 
In February, 1904, learning that the Tribune 
was for sale, he interviewed Mr. A. B. Rice and 
purchased the plant. The paper is a Liberal 
sheet, founded in 1882 by Dr. J. T. Gilmour, 
the present warden of the Central Prison, To 
ronto, who sold it to J. T. Jackson, Mr. A. B. 
Rice of His Majesty s Customs purchasing it 
from the latter, and in turn selling it to Mr. 
Wright. An uncle of Mr. Wright s, Mr. J. 
Thackray Bunce, was part owner and editor of 
the Birmingham Daily and Weekly Post for 
forty years, up to the time of his death in 1899. 
He was formerly an employee of the paper. 
While Mr. Edwin B. Wright publishes the pio 
neer newspaper of the Junction, one of his 
brothers, J. G. Wright, owns the drug store Srst 
here, and another, C. F., the pioneer news 
agency. They are all up-to-date, hustling busi 
ness men, and leaders in their various lines in 
the Junction. Mr. Wright is an enthusiastic 
lacrosse man, and held for several years the po 
sitions of manager and vice-president of the 
Toronto Junction "Shamrocks," a leading Can 
adian team, and is athletic correspondent to a 
number of the Toronto publications, as well as 
being suburban correspondent of the Toronto 
Mail and Empire. In political belief he is a Re 
former, and for some time he has been secretary 
of the Junction Liberal Club. 

On June 6. 1904, Mr. Wright, married Miss 
Mary Downey, of St. Catharines, Ont., and to 
this union was born one daughter, Jean. 

SAMUEL MCALLISTER, a weU-known edu 
cator of Toronto, was born in Portaferry, Coun 
ty Down, Ireland, in 1834, son of George and 
Mary Anne McAllister, also natives of Ireland, 
and grandson of George McAllister, who was 
born in Scotland. Four members of the family 
of George and Mary Anne McAllister came to 
Canada and the United States, namely: Wil 
liam, a retired business man of Philadelphia, 
Pennsylvania ; Alexander, for many years a well- 
known business man of Winnipeg, where he died 
in 1905 ; Mrs. Flanigan, of Philadelphia, who 
died in 1906 ; and Samuel. 

Samuel McAllister was educated in his native 
place and at Liverpool, to which city his par 
ents had removed from Ireland. On completing 
his literary training Mr. McAllister in 1854 be 
gan his life work in an evening school in Liver 
pool. In 1857 he came to Canada and settled 
in Toronto, for one year working as a clerk in a 
mercantile house on King street west, con 
ducted by Mr. Henry Graham. In 1858 he be 
came a teacher in Bartlett s Academy, on Queen 
street west, and in the fall of 1859 entered pub 
lic school work, in which he was engaged to the 



166 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



end of 1906, having been a teacher during his 
mare than forty-seven years of service under 
the chairman of every school board of Toronto 
except Dr. Workman, the first chairman of the 
first school board of the city. In 1877, when 
the Ryerson school was opened, Mr. McAllister 
was made principal thereof, a position he ably 
filled till his retirement, in December, 1906, 
being then the senior educator of the city. 

In 1861 Mr. McAllister was married to Marion 
Emery, who was born in London, England, in 
1842, daughter of George and Sophia Emma 
Emery, who came with their family to Toronto 
in 1855. To this union have been born four 
children : George Dumerque, of Toronto, who 
is married to Adeline V. Lewis, and has five 
children, Mary Doris, Samuel Lewis, George 
William Nattress, Emma Jean Dover and Helen 
Isobel; Alexander Laughton, a civil engineer of 
New York ; John Edgar, a civil engineer, man 
ager of the works of the British Columbia Cop 
per Company, at Greenwood, B.C., who married 
Isobel Gray, and has two children, Donald G. 
and Samuel; and Emma Hardy, wife of David 
Evans, of Chicago, who has two children, Ches- 
ley McAllister and Mary Elizabeth. Mr. and 
Mrs. McAllister are members of the Church of 
England. Fraternally he is connected with the 
A.O.TT.W. 

DR. B. P. PEARSON, one of County York s 
prominent physicians and surgeons, has chosen 
for his field of practice the village of Queeus- 
ville, East Gwillimbury. Dr. Pearson was born 
on Lot 86, King township, Aug. 22, 1839, son 
of Nathaniel and Martha (Watson) Pearson. 

Benjamin Pearson, grandfather of the Doc 
tor, was born in Pennsylvania of English par 
entage, as was also his wife, Susannah Pentz. 
They came to Canada in 1797, and settled on 
Lot 83, King township, on wild land. In those 
days Yonge street was only a blazed trail lead 
ing into Toronto. Mr. and Mrs. Pearson made 
this farm their permanent home, and there 
reared their three sons and three daughters: 
Charlotte, who married Eli Hollingshead ; Nan 
cy, who married Thomas Cosford; Mary, who 
married Peter Rush, of Concession 3, King 
township; Peter, who married and settled on 
Lot 90, Whitchurch township; Benjamin, who 
married and settled on Lot 81, Concession 2, 
King township, and who also engaged in teach 
ing; and Nathaniel. 

Nathaniel Pearson was born on Yonge street, 
King township, in December, 1803, and settled 
on his father s old home after his marriage. 
He engaged in agricultural pursuits the greater 
part of his life, and for a few years prior to his 
death in 1882, he made his home with his son 



the Doctor, and there his death occurred. Na 
thaniel Pearson was a magistrate, and also 
served as assessor of King township for a num 
ber of years. He married Martha Watson, who 
was born in Pennsylvania in 1802, daughter of 
William Watson, who moved from Pennsyl 
vania to Aurora, Whitchurch township, and 
there passed the remainder of his days. Both 
the Watsons and Pearsons had been followers 
of William Penn, settling in Luzerne county, 
Pennsylvania. Nathaniel Pearson and his wife 
always attended the Old Friends Meeting. She 
died in 1869, the mother of children as follows : 
(1) Thomas settled on the old homestead, 
where he engaged in farming until his death in 
1866. He married a Miss Phelps, of Holland 
Landing, and left two sons, Thomas and Elijah, 
residents of the Western States. (2) Hiram 
lived for some years in the old home in King 
township, and then removed to Osceola, Iowa, 
where he now lives retired. He married a 
Miss Ashton, of Whitchurch, and has four 
daughters, all of whom are married and settled 
in Iowa. (3) Elizabeth W., deceased, married 
Rev. James Caswell, and settled at London, 
where both died ; they left two sons, Nathaniel 
F., living in Montreal; and T. Edward, of the 
Methodist Book Room, Toronto. (4) William, 
who was a miller, died young. (5) Charles 
was killed during the building of Yonge street, 
when he was fourteen years of age. (6) Su 
sannah married Rev. Samuel B. Gundy, a min 
ister of the Methodist Church, who settled in 
Toronto, where he died, and where his widow 
and family still reside. Their children were: 
William P., Fred, and Samuel B.. all in busi 
ness in Toronto ; Harry W., teacher of classics 
in Toronto Collegiate Institute ; Susanna, widow 
of T. C. Milligan, a barrister of Toronto ; Eliza 
beth, wife of J. H. Denton, a barrister of To 
ronto ; and Pattie, widow of Fred. W". Scott, of 
Toronto. (7) Dr. B. F. is mentioned below. 
(8) Jennie died at Sharon in young woman 
hood. 

Dr. B. F. Pearson received his early educa 
tional training in the district schools of King 
township, and in the grammar school of New 
market. For some four years he taught schools 
in County Waterloo, and in 1863 entered Dr. 
Nelles office in London, remaining one year. 
He then entered the medical department of 
Victoria University, and in 1867 graduated 
from the medical department of Toronto Uni 
versity. He began the practice of his profes 
sion at Queensville, where he has since continu 
ed, with the exception of nine years spent in 
Sharon. 

Dr. Pearson was married in October, 1870, 
to Miss Mary Willson, born in 1849, daughter 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



167 



of William H. Willson and Sarah Harrison, 
who came from New York State among the 
early settlers. In 1879 Dr. Pearson purchased 
real estate in Queensville, and erected a fine 
brick home, with every modern improvement, 
and here Mrs. Pearson died in 1896. Six chil 
dren were born to Dr. and Mrs. Pearson, name 
ly: (1) Ethel Stuart, married John T. Large, of 
Boston, Massachusetts, representing George B. 
Hurd & Son, New York; they have two chil 
dren, Pearson and Gladys. (2) Evelyn married 
Theodore G. Empie, E. E., of Wilmington, 
North Carolina. (3) Marjorie married Thomas 
P. Stewart, of Toronto. (4) Frederick N. spent 
four years in South Africa and is now in the 
service of the Canadian Pacific Railway. (5) 
Frank W. has been for some time engaged as a 
resident engineer on the Trans-Continental 
road. (6) Blanche is a graduate of Newmar 
ket high school. 

In politics Dr. Pearson is a Reformer, and has 
for fifteen years been a member of the school 
board of East Gwillimbury. He is a member 
of the Masonic Lodge at Sharon, being secre 
tary thereof; and of the United Workmen of 
Queensville. 

i 

JAMES WILLIAM McMICHAEL, now liv 
ing retired at No. 160 Borden street. Toronto, 
is a member of a family long identified with 
Western Ontario, and a resident of the Queen 
City for many years. 

The McMichael family is of Scotch extrac 
tion, and was founded in Canada by George 
McMichael, the grandfather of our subject. He 
was born in Glasgow, and when a young man 
came to Canada, settling in County Norfolk, 
where he had a government grant of 640 acres 
of land. Shortly after locating on this land Mr. 
McMichael returned to Scotland, from which 
country he went to Pennsylvania, U.S.A., and 
there married a Miss DeMott. During his resi 
dence in Pennsylvania ten children were born 
to him and his wife. Returning to Canada ha 
settled in the bush, his nearest neighbors being 
eighteen miles distant. The journey from 
Pennsylvania to Ontario was made with two 
yoke of oxen. The couple also owned six cows, 
which were milked, and the milk placed in a 
churn, the latter being put into the wagon, the 
joltings of which clrarned the cream into but 
ter. Mr. McMichael was obliged to go eighteen 
miles to mill, carrying the corn on his back. 
Subsequently the top of an oak stump was 
ground out, and the corn was ground (really 
pounded) in this. When they reached Hamilton 
there was but one building there, that being a 
log tavern. After locating on the bush farm 
mentioned above they proceeded to hew a home 



out of the forest, but Mr. McMichael soon died, 
and his widow was left alone to rear her fam 
ily of children. They were: Mary, George, 
Richard, James, John, Jacob and Daniel 
(twins), William, Isaac and Aaron. 

Of the foregoing family, Richard McMichael 
was the father of our subject. He was born in 
1807, and he died in AVaterford, Oct. 15, 1880. 
He was a farmer of Norfolk County for many 
years, cultivating the old home farm settled by 
his father, and was a man prominent in town 
ship affairs, being a member of the township 
and county councils and reeve of the township 
of Townsend. He was a Reformer in politics, 
and he and his wife were ardent members of 
the Baptist Church, which they attended regu 
larly. Richard McMichael married Mahala Per- 
ney, who was born in 1811, and who died April 
10, 1893. Their children were: Letitia, deceas 
ed, married Warner Nellis, and left three chil 
dren, Richard, Mary and Lena; Charity is the 
widow of Stephen Fairchild, and has children. 
Melvin, Anna, May, Harry, and Charlie ; James 
W. ; Jonathan lives at Kalamazoo, Michigan. 
Alexander makes his home at Waterford; Cal 
vin is deceased; Elizabeth is the wife of Alex 
ander McKirlie; Josephine, deceased, married 
Robert Lutes ; and Orpha died unmarried. 

James W. McMichael was born in Norfolk 
County, July 4, 1834, and there grew to man 
hood and received his education. He married 
Miss Matilda Barber, who was born in Norfolk 
County in 1836, daughter of Moses and Nancy 
Barber, and after their marriage Mr. and Mrs. 
McMichael settled on a farm in Norfolk County, 
which Mr. McMichael conducted for many years. 
He also sold organs and pianos and taught 
music, and in 1872 located in Toronto, where for 
some time he was engaged in building and in 
selling property, also conducting a real estate of 
fice, but he is now retired from active business. 
Mr. and Mrs. McMichael have no children. They 
are members of the Presbyterian Church, which 
they attend regularly and support liberally. In 
political matters Mr. McMichael is connected 
with the Reform party. Fraternally he is iden 
tified with the Masons. 

MOSES BARBER, for many years a farmer 
of Norfolk County, Ont, and a Christian work 
er whose usefulness extended over a long period, 
is still held in loving memory in the locality 
where most of his life was spent. He was a 
native of the State of New Jersey, born Dec. 
29, 1789, at Schooley s Mountain, in Morris 
county, and was a son of Samuel Barber. The 
father was born Jan. 29, 1753, and brought his 
family to Canada in the year 1800. They set 
tled on a farm near the village of Waterford, 



168 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



and Samuel Barber purchased the Waterford 
Mills. He had been a merchant in his old home 
in Xew Jersey, whither he returned to settle up 
his account, and having finished his business he 
started back to Canada. He was last seen near 
Niagara, and nothing 1 was ever afterward heard 
of him. Travelling in those days was attended 
with danger as well as hardship, and travellers 
known to have money in their possession were 
never safe on the road. As Mr. Barber must 
have had considerable, it is supposed that he 
was murdered and robbed. In consequence of 
his untimely death the family, a large one, were 
obliged to give up the mill, and they had to 
battle unaided against privation amid unfa 
miliar scenes. Samuel Barber married Aba- 
gail Cosad, who was born July 11, 1758, and to 
them were born twelve children, as follows : 
Elizabeth, Feb. 8, 1778 ; Mathias, Dec. 14, 1779 ; 
John, April 19, 1781; Daniel, Dec. 2, 1782; 
Jane, Sept. 27, 1784; Mary, Jan. 16, 1786; 
Aaron, Dec. 9, 1787; Moses, Dec. 29, 1789; 
Miriam, April 8, 1792; Elisha, May 11, 1794; 
Samuel, May 26, 1796 ; Jacob, July 2, 1797. 

Moses Barber was a boy when the family 
moved to Canada. On July 7, 1811. he married 
Nancy Nelles, who was born May 18, 1792, in 
the village of York, and died Feb. 27, 1873, 
aged eighty years, nine months, nine days. They 
raised a large family, six of whom, three sons 
and three daughters, survived them. Mr. Bar 
ber passed away March 27, 1881, at the age of 
ninety-one years, two months, twenty-nine days, 
at the residence of one of his sons, in Townsend 
Centre, and he was laid to rest in the burying 
ground at Boston, Ont., on March 29th. 

Mr. Barber was long noted for his interest 
in religious enterprises. He was liberal in his 
views, but rigid in his own conduct, and he sup 
ported Christian institutions of all kinds. Be 
fore there were missionary and Bible societies in 
Canada he aided those in the United States, 
having been brought to a saving knowledge of 
Christ in the summer of 1806, through the in 
strumentality of missionaries from the Shaftes- 
bury Association of the State of New York. On 
Oct. 21, 1806, he was baptized by the Rev. David 
Irish and received into the fellowship of the 
Boston Church, in which he held membership 
until his death. He was both active and effi 
cient in the work of that church. Like a soli 
tary tree when all the forest has gone he stood 
alone, a reminder of a generation gone from 
earth. On the farms around him he has seen 
his fellows successively hold possession and 
pass away, till those who now possess the soil 
are only connected with the past by a few such 
links as these. In the church he could go back be 
yond any living, and tell us that the trials and 



triumphs of the past should encourage us to 
meet with courage present difficulties, and ulti 
mately share in the final victory. While he 
lived, the church, though old for the country, 
might justly claim to still maintain her youth, 
for our brother was admitted a member in the 
second year of her existence. Now he has de 
parted, she flies back into the past by many gen 
erations, and at once becomes venerable with 
age." 

Mrs. Mary Johnston, who died Sept. 8, 1859, 
at Boston, Ont., in the eighty-eighth year of her 
age, had a remarkable experience as a prisoner 
among the Indians in her early life, an account 
of which Avas published at the time of her death. 

"Mary Sitts was born of pious parents, at 
Fort Plain, New York, in May, 1772. At the age 
of seven years she was captured by a band of 
hostile Indians, taken from her home and 
friends, and by them brought to the forests of 
Canada, bordering upon the Grand river, her 
friends, at the time of her capture, barely escap 
ing with their lives. She was held by them a 
number of years, during which time sue fre 
quently came near starving to death. On one 
occasion they threatened to kill her, and inflict 
ed a deep gash in her head, the pains and marks 
of which followed her to the grave. After years 
of suffering and privation, never expecting to 
see home or friends again, she was at length 
rescued from captivity by Captain Nelles, then 
living near the Grand river, where she once 
more found a home and friends. In 1795 she 
was married to George Cunningham, and settled 
at Boston, then a dense forest. Her husband 
was accidentally killed while aiding a neighbor 
in raising a building, and Mary was left to 
otruggle alone with six small children to sup 
port. But being a woman of strong constitu 
tion, untiring industry, and indomitable will, 
aided with the blessing of God, she surmounted 
all obstacles, and saw her children grow to man 
hood honored and respected. Her son Henry 
was, for many years, a useful and zealous mini 
ster of the gospel in these parts. Her son Wil 
liam was an efficient and pious deacon. Both 
hnve ffone to rest. Two of her remaining sons 
still hold the same office in the church of her 
choice. It was in her widowhood, in November, 
1809, she sought the Lord with all her heart, 
and He delivered her from all her fears she 
sought and found a place among the little band 
of Christ s followers in this place, and was bap 
tized into the fellowship of the church by Elder 
Fairohild. She maintained a Christian walk, 
and kept her place with God s people till called 
to join the church above. Her home was long 
the home of God s people, for there they met 
to worship Him ere a sanctuary was built, for his 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



169 



praise. Being a person of remarkable sympathy 
and kindness, she spent much time in visiting 
the sick and dying, and was not unfrequently 
instrumental in restoring them to health again. 
During that dark day when our shores were in 
vaded and plundered by a foreign foe she 
cheered the hearts of both officers and men by 
providing for their bodily wants. She was even 
permitted to revisit the home of her childhood 
not more to the astonishment of her friends than 
as though one had arisen from the grave to be 
their guest and child. The meeting was touch 
ing indeed, and the kind providence of God 
acknowledged both in her deliverance and pres 
ervation. She married her second husband, 
John Johnston, about the year 1810. He was 
a humble, pious Christian, by whom she had 
one son, who has long been an honored office 
bearer among his brethren. In Christian re 
lationship, what a striking contrast between the 
little captive maid of seven years and the aged 
mother in Israel, surrounded with more than 
a hundred relatives even down to the fifth 
generation all respectable and mostly wealthy 
members of society ; and, better than this, the 
most of them trying to walk in the fear of God 
and in the comfort of the Holy Ghost. And 
what a striking illustration of the words of 
the Psalmist: I have been young, but now I am 
old,- yet have I not seen the righteous forsaken. 
nor his seed begging bread. . . . A crowd 
followed her remains to the grave. All felt that 
they had lost a friend; and of her. as of Mary 
of old. it shall be said, She hath done what she 
could." 

Mrs. Johnston was a member of the Boston 
Baptist Church, referred to several times in 
the preceding article. 

JOHN E. HUGHES, town clerk of New 
market, County York, was born in Tecumseth, 
County Simcoe, Oct. 20, 1856, a son of Elwood 
and Sarah (Bogart) Hughes, members of pio 
neer families of County York. The parents of 
Mr. Hughes were both born in County York, the 
father in 1820 and the mother in 1824. Elwood 
Hughes was a son of Ellis and Mary Hughes, 
both of whom were born in 1782, at Cape May, 
New Jersey. Ellis Hughes came to Canada with 
his parents in 1819. after residing in Pennsyl 
vania for some years. 

On the maternal side the grandparents were 
John and Catherine (Wilson) Bogart, the for 
mer of whom was born in 1789 and the latter 
in 1790. In 1800 they came to County York and 
settled in Whitchurch township, near the present 
town of Newmarket, on Crown lands, where 
they lived out their days, becoming identified 
with the progress and development of this sec 



tion. After many years of hard work John 
Boffart retired, and he died in old age at New 
market, respected by all who knew him. 

Ellis Hughes, the paternal grandfather, emi 
grated to Canada with his family and household 
goods in a great covered wagon. By trade he 
was a hatmaker, but he doubtless foitnd in the 
new home that he could work at his trade as a side 
issue and meantime acquire a large lauded prop 
erty by turning his attention to agriculture. He 
purchased land in King township and made 
there a permanent home, on which he died in 
1867. His wife died in 1877. They were the 
parents of twelve children who lived to reach 
maturity, namely: Seth, born in Pennsylvania, 
died in Michigan. Whilden, born in Pennsyl 
vania, was reared in Canada; he married and 
moved to Janesville, Wisconsin., where he be 
came a prosperous stock farmer and died, leav 
ing a wife and family. James P., born in Can 
ada, married and settled as a saddler at New 
market, then studied dentistry and removed to 
Bloomfield, Iowa, where he practiced until his 
death in 1904; he left two children, Dr. Ern 
est, of Des Moines, and Ada, who is the wife of 
J. F. Johnston, of Bloomfield, Iowa, William 
C. was born and married in County York, 
where he engaged in business for some years, 
but later removed to Toronto, where he lived 
retired until his death, in 1904. Charles W., 
born in County York, married and settled on 
the old homestead until 1874. when he moved 
to Niles. Michigan ; there he followed farming 
until his death, in 1885; he left a wife and 
family, and two of his granddaughters were vic 
tims of the Iroquois theatre fire in Chicago the 
children of Dr. Oakey, of that city, who also 
perished. George L., a saddler by trade, set 
tled in King township, where he died in 1902, 
leaving one daughter. Etha is unmarried. Su 
sannah, born in Pennsylvania in 1814, was the 
wife of Samuel Kilbun, and settled at Lansing, 
Michigan, where she died, leaving four children, 
one of whom, Samuel, is a very prominent law 
yer there. Jane, born in 1817, was the wife 
of Robert Irwin, of Aurora, Where he was a 
flour miller. Elwood, born in 1820, is mentioned 
below. Melissa, born in 1828, died at Bloom- 
fiold, Iowa. Harriet, born in 1833, died at 
Bloomfield, in 1884. 

Elwood Hughes, father of John E., was the 
third son and sixth member of the above fam 
ily. He left home when quite young and en 
tered the employ of the late Charles Doan, of 
Aurora, who was then engaged in a mercantile 
business at Sharon. Later he had charge of 
a store at Mono Mills for James Smith, and for 
some time officiated as deputy sheriff for Coun 
ty Simcoe, under Sheriff Walker Smith. After 



170 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



his marriage he opened a store at Penville, from 
which place he removed to Newmarket in the 
spring of 1853, and there conducted a general 
store on Prospect avenue. In 1860 Mr. Hughes 
moved down to Main street, occupying the build 
ing next door south of Broughton s drug store. 
Four years later he sold out. and he lived re 
tired thereafter until his death, Nov. 28, 1895, 
at his town residence. He was a man of sterl 
ing integrity and of quiet disposition, and was 
respected by everybody. For over forty years 
he was a useful and worthy member of the 
Methodist Church and for years was a devoted 
class-leader. His standing was so good in his 
religious connection that he was chosen for re 
sponsible office. He was a member of the board 
of trustees during the building of the present 
edifice and the other members of the board testi 
fied to their appreciation of his help when they 
reverently laid a beautiful wreath on his coffin. 
For a period of seventeen years he was pew 
steward, was financial secretary for a long 
time, for the Quarterly board, and at all times 
was liberal, charitable and just. No less was 
he valued in public life. For eighteen con 
secutive years he was town collector, and he 
held other offices of trust, and his fellow offi 
cials, meeting in sorrow after his death, framed 
resolutions of esteem, respect and confidence. 

In 1851 Mr. Hughes married Miss Sarah 
Bogart, daughter of John Bogart, Esq., of 
Whitchurch township. She still survives, re 
siding with their only child, John E. Hughes, 
in the comfortable family home in Newmarket. 
Her health is not of the best. 

John E. Hughes attended the town schools, 
his education including a high school course. 
He very early began to make himself useful in 
his father s store, but when he entered upon a 
regular business career he engaged with the 
Harrison & Davidson Company, general merch 
ants, with whom he continued several years. He 
then engaged with Danford, Roach & Co., and 
remained with that firm for ten years. In 1902 
Mr. Hughes engaged at office work with the firm 
of "William Cane & Sons, manufacturers of 
\voodenware, and remained with them until 
1904, when he was appointed clerk of Newmar 
ket, in which position he is still serving with 
ability. In 1897 he was elected a member of the 
council of Newmarket and filled the duties of 
that office until his appointment as clerk, and 
he also acts as town treasurer. He is one of 
Newmarket s most popular as well as enterpris 
ing citizens and is a worthy representative of 
the two honorable old families from which he 
came. 

Mr. Hughes belongs to the Masonic fraternity, 
being a member of Tuscan Lodge, No. 99, and 



Doric Chapter, No. 60, at Newmarket, a 
Knight Templar and a Shriner. He belongs also 
to the I.O.O.F Pyramid Lodge, No. 156 ; New 
market Encampment, No. 32; and Newmarket 
Canton, No. 3, Uniform Rank. 

JOHN JAMES MAGEE, B.A., well known 
as an educator of Ontario for many years, died 
at Napanee, April 4, 1891. He was born in 
County Cavan, Ireland, in 1844, son of James 
and Mary (Kellett) Magee, also natives of Ire 
land, who were the founders of this family in 
Canada, coming hither in the latter part of 1844. 
and settling in Bradford. Mr. Magee was en 
gaged in farming there, and there he and his 
wife died in the faith of the Presbyterian 
Church. Their children were : Charles, de 
ceased; Thomas, of Toronto; and John James. 

John James Magee was less than one year 
old when his parents came to Canada, and in 
Bradford he received his early literary train 
ing. Later he graduated with the gold medal 
from the Barrie grammar school, and after com 
pleting his studies he began teaching, first in 
the Bradford high school, and later at New- 
burgh, where he remained until 1869. In that 
year he removed to Toronto in order to complete 
his studies, and entered the University of To 
ronto, from which he was graduated, with hon 
ors in mathematics, in 1871, with the degree of 
B.A. Mr. Magee then went to Napanee, where 
he taught for a number of years, and later re 
moved to Uxbridge and thence to Port Hope. 
At the latter place his health failed and he went 
back to Toronto, where he remained but a short 
time, however, returning to Napanee, where he 
continued until his death. 

In 1882 Mr. Magee married Miss Mary Caton. 
born in Hngerford, Ont., a descendant of a 
United Empire Loyalist, William Caton. who 
founded the family in Canada, coming hither 
from the States at the time of the American 
Revolution and settling at Kingston, where he 
died. Here his son, Archibald Caton. was 
born, he being the first white child born in 
Kingston. He was the grandfather of Mrs. Ma 
gee. Archibald Caton and his wife, Mary Mc- 
Kim, had the following children : William, Miles 
and Allan. Of this family William Caton. the 
father of Mrs. Magee, was born at Napanee in 
1811, and was there engaged in farming all of 
his life. Mr. Caton was a prominent man in 
municipal matters in his township and county 
for a number of years, serving as reeve and 
councillor for a long period. He married Miss 
Phoebe Denison, and their children were: 
Nathan, of Napanee ; Maria, wife of Rev. W. J. 
Young; Lydia, wife of James Bowerman; Hes 
ter, wife of James Weeks; and Mrs. Magee. 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



171 



Mr. and Mrs. Magee were the parents of two 
daughters : Kellett, of Toronto ; and Phoebe Ma- 
gee, B. A., University of Toronto, 1905. In re 
ligious matters Mr. Magee was a Presbyterian. 
In politics he was in sympathy with the Reform 
party. 

ALEXANDER McCLELLAND (deceased). 
Among the names of the pioneer teachers of To 
ronto may be mentioned that of the late Alex 
ander McClelland, who was born in 1819, in 
County Tyrone, Ireland, son of Thomas and Jane 
(McKeosrn i McClelland, natives of the Emerald 
Isle, in which country they died. 

Alexander McClelland was educated for the 
ministry, but on locating in Toronto, in 1844, 
engaged in teaching, which calling he pursued 
for a number of years, during which time he 
invested and became largely interested in real 
estate in Toronto. After giving up teaching Mr. 
McClelland served the city of Toronto as city 
assessor for some time, and after his term of ser 
vice was over he retired from active life to look 
after his own interests. He was a leading mem 
ber of the Presbyterian Church. In politics he 
was a Conservative. His death occurred in 
1886, in Toronto, where his entire active life 
had been spent, and where he had made warm 
and lasting friends. 

Mr. McClelland and Miss Elizabeth McClel 
land were united in marriage in Toronto. Mrs. 
McClelland was born in County Tyrone, Ire 
land, in 1818, and came to Toronto in 1849. She 
was well educated in her native land, and on 
coming to Toronto became a teacher, following 
the profession for a number of years. Mrs. Mc 
Clelland, Who is still residing in Toronto, is the 
oldest living teacher of the Queen City, and al 
though past the eighty-ninth milestone in life s 
journey is in full possession of all of her facul 
ties. After the death of her husband she took 
the management of his city property, and like 
her husband sold and bought, and built and re 
paired buildings and property. So carefully 
did she follow the execution of his plans that 
on an occasion, when a contractor had gone con 
trary to her desires, she ordered the work taken 
down and put up according to stipulations, and 
the contractor, seeing that she was fully ac 
quainted with her business, made no further 
move or attempt to dodge the letter of the con 
tract. 

To Mr. and Mrs. McClelland were born the 
following children: Rev. Thomas James, born 
in Toronto, was a well-known Presbyterian 
preacher, and died in 1891; he married Matilda 
Arthur, by whom he had one son, Arthur. Alex 
ander, of Toronto, married Lizzie Bailey, and 
has four children, Alexander, Donald, Florence 



and James. Lizzie is the widow of James 
O Hara, of Toronto. Sarah L. cares for her 
mother. Mrs. McClelland is a member of the 
Presbyterian Church. She is one of the oldest 
ladies of the Queen City, in which she has spent 
so many years, and through her kind, gentle 
heart has won many friends. 

EDWARD TERRY was born in 1840 in the 
village of Wye, Kent, England, and died in To 
ronto Oct. 19, 1903. He was descended from an 
cestors who fought under Cromwell. 

Although only sixteen years of age when leav- 
his native country Mr. Terry retained inany 
of the characteristics of a typical Englishman of 
the better class. He was plain and outspoken, 
but of a genial and kindly disposition, which en 
deared him to all with Whom he came in con 
tact, as one who never turned his back on a 
friend, however humble, and who gave freely of 
his counsel and substance to the poor and needy. 
He was a splendid specimen of physical man 
hood, who did not spare himself in his efforts to 
uplift his fellowman. 

In religion Mr. Terry was a staunch Metho 
dist, and brought his great business ability to 
bear in the interests of that church. He was 
a local preacher of note, on the West York cir 
cuit, and ably filled positions on the Quarterly 
Board and as superintendent of Sunday-school 
for years and trustee of the Spadina Avenue 
Church, now known as the Broadway Taber 
nacle. In 1882 Mr. Terry removed to Parkdale. 
and in 1899, associated with his brother-in-law, 
Mr. E. G. Kinzinger, and others, he was mainly 
instrumental in the foundation of the St. Al- 
ban s Church, in North Parkdale, and took an 
active interest in its welfare to the end. 

In politics Mr. Terry had strong Liberal lean 
ings, but the sturdy, independent spirit of his 
Puritan ancestors that was in him prevented him 
from supporting any measure that had not his 
unqualified approval. He was a prominent 
member of the Masonic and other fraternal so 
cieties, and in public affairs, as a resident of 
Parkdale, he held office as reeve until the an 
nexation of that suburb to Toronto. He *,vas 
also a member of the York County Council for 
many years. 

In 1856 Mr. Terry landed in New York, but 
finding his surroundings uncongenial early in 
1857 removed to Toronto and established him 
self at the corner of George and Front streets, 
as a dealer in builders supplies. He was suc 
cessful in his operations, and by strict integrity 
and attention to business earned for himself an 
enviable reputation among Toronto s substan 
tial and reliable merchants. The business thus 



172 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



founded is now being successfully continued 
under the management of his son, William B. 
Terry. 

In 1861 Mr. Terry was united in marriage to 
Miss Christine (daughter of Jacob and Sarah 
Cannon) Kinzinger, who was born in London, 
England, in 1842. The Kinzingers were of an 
old Essex family who came to Toronto from Eng 
land in 1856. To this union were born seven 
children, viz.: Lizzie (Mrs. Charles Hall), Min 
nie (Mrs. J. A. Austin), Edward (deceased), 
Fanny G., William B., Horace Jeffrey and Ethel. 

None more than he was nobler in 

That best 1 portion of a good man s life, 
The little, nameless, unremembered acts 
Of kindness and of love. 

CHARLES SHARPLEY, a well-known mar 
ket gardener and florist of Bracondale, Ont., was 
born in Lancashire, England, Sept. 10. 1854, son 
of Benjamin and Mary A. (Reve) Sharpley, both 
natives of England, Benjamin Sharpley being 
born in Yorkshire in 1832, and his wife in Mid 
dlesex in 1823. 

Benjamin Sharpley and wife were married in 
England, and in 1857 crossed the ocean in a sail 
ing vessel, being five weeks on the water. Upon 
their arrival in Canada, they settled in Toronto, 
where Mr. Sharpley followed his trade of car 
penter and contractor. Later he started a car 
riage manufactory on Yonge street, where, with 
his son Charles as a partner, he carried on the 
business until his death in 1898. He and his 
wife were members of the English uhurch, of 
which he was an active choir member. Mr. 
Sharpley was a Liberal in politics. Two sons 
were born to him and his wife: Charles and 
James. 

Charles Sharpley was educated in the schools 
of Toronto, after leaving which he learned the 
carriage building and carpenter s trade under 
the tuition of his father, while yet a young man 
becoming a member of the firm of Sharpley & 
Sons, where he remained until his father s 
death. The business was then sold, and he en 
gaged in gardening. In 1889 he erected his 
beautiful brick residence and fine hot-houses. 

Mr. Sharpley was married in June, 1885. to 
Miss Mary Jane Burbidge, of Scarborough. Can 
ada, born in 1864, eldest daughter of Robert 
Biirbidse. who came from England to that place, 
where he resided until his death, his wife and 
large family still surviving him. To Mr and 
Mrs. Charles Sharpley have been born eight 
children : Ella Mary Jane, born in 1888, who 
married Sept. 5. 1906, W. B. Morrison, of Coun 
ty York ; Eva May, born in 1890 ; Jessie L., born 
in 1892; Frederick C., born in 1894; Mable, 
born in 1897, who died in May, 1897, aged two 
months, eleven days; Stella S., born in 1899; 



Elsie L., born in 1901; and Reta E., born in 
1903. 

Mr. Sharpley was one of the founders, and 
is an active member of Zion Methodist Church 
of Bracondale, where he has been a trustee for 
a number of years and a teacher in the Sabbath- 
school. He has always supported the Conserv 
ative party. He is a member of the Sons of Eng 
land, Yarmouth Lodge; Foresters of Toronto, 
Court Bathas Lodge, No. 479; the daughters of 
Ens-land, Duchess of Kent Lodge; and Northei-n 
Star, No. 778, L.O.L. Mr. Sharpley served six 
years as a cavalryman in the King s service 
under Captain Dunn, B Squadron, Lieut.-Col. 
G. T. Denison, commanding; the last named is 
now chief magistrate of Toronto. 

WILLARD. In the year 1832 William Wil- 
lard came with his family to Canada from 
Dorking, Surrey County. England. He was 
born in 1787 : and was therefore about forty-five 
years of age when he left the old sod to found 
a new home in the new country. They stayed 
for a short time in Hamilton, Ont., and then 
settled in Beverly township, County Wentworth, 
on a farm. In the old country Mr. Willard had 
worked as a carpenter, and for a time he fol 
lowed that trade in Canada before purchasing 
the 100 acres of land in Beverly, on which he 
settled. His children were: Maria, Who mar 
ried Mr. Worstfold, and moved to Strathroy, 
Ont. ; William, James, George, David and 
Charles, who all settled on farms in Bev 
erly township ; John, who settled in Parkhil! ; 
Henry, who went to Michigan ; and Charlotte, 
who married John Proctor, and located in the 
State of Michigan. William Willard, the father, 
died at the age of seventy-four years. 

William Willard, the son, was seventeen years 
of age when the family came to Canada. He, 
too, followed the carpenter s trade, and for 
years was instrumental in helping the pioneers 
build their homes. He helped to build the first 
church in Beverly township. In 1839 he mar 
ried Abigail Smith, who was then seventeen 
years of age, and a member of a family that 
moved from the State of Vermont to Erie County. 
Pennsylvania, and from there to Canada. Mrs. 
Willard had many thrilling experiences in the 
early days, and was several times chased by 
bears, and once, when her husband was in Dun- 
das on business, nearly lost her life by being 
chased by wolves, and being obliged to seek 
shelter with neighbors. Their children were: 
Joe], who married and moved to Vancouver, 
B.C.; William, who went to Gait; John, who 
moved to St. Mary s ; Smith, who located in To 
ronto ; Frank, who died in Toronto, in Septem 
ber. 1905: Abner and George Washington, of 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



173 



Toronto ; and Ilattie, who married Wren Saeger, 
and lives in Gait. The father of these children 
was a member of the Methodist Church for over 
forty years, and was active in its work in his 
younger days. He lived to attain the advanced 
age of eighty-four years. Both William Willard 
and his father, William, Sr., were staunch Con 
servatives, and in 1837 enlisted and were called 
out to the defence of the government against the 
rebellion of William Lyon Mackenzie. 

William Willard, second son of his father and 
the third to bear the name, was born in March, 
1842, and remained on the farm until he was 
fifteen years of age, when he began to learn the 
tailoring trade at Branchton. At the age of 
seventeen he went to Gait, and with the ex 
ception of a couple of years has resided there 
ever since. On Aug. 12, 1864, he married Mary 
Hambly, daughter of Charles Hambly who came 
from Devonshire, England. To this union chil 
dren as follows were born: James Charles, Abi 
gail J., Elizabeth A., William (who died young), 
Walter T., William R., Maye M., and Edith 
(who died young). In 1879 Mr. Willard estab 
lished his tailoring business, which he has con 
tinued up to the present time (1907). In his 
religious faith he is a Methodist, but in his po 
litical principle he has departed from the teach 
ings of his father and is a Liberal. 

JAMES CHARLES WILLARD, eldest son of Wil 
liam Willard of Gait, was born in the city of 
Gait, Oct. 30, 1864. Until 1889 he made his 
home in his native town, and there learned the 
tailoring business. In that year he moved to 
Toronto Junction, and began business on his 
own account, in which he has been very suc 
cessful. He has accumulated considerable cent 
ral property in both Toronto Junction and the 
City of Toronto. In 1889 he married Selena 
Peardon. eldest daughter of Richard Peardon, 
of Bowmanville, Ont, by whom he had two sons, 
namely : James Harold, born July 6, 1892 ; and 
William Hartley, born Oct. 6, 1894. Mrs. Wil 
lard passed away Sept. 14, 1897, after eight 
years of happy wedded life. Mr. Willard mar 
ried (second) Nettie Florence Beswick, eldest 
daughter of Richard and Clara Beswick, and to 
this union have come two children : Arnold Val- 
lance, born Aug. 14. 1899: and Edith Audrey, 
born Feb. 18, 1906. Mr. and Mrs. Willard are 
both members of Victoria Presbyterian Church, 
Toronto Junction. 

W. T. WILLARD, son of William and brother 
of James Charles, was born June 17, 1875, in 
Gait, where he received a public and high school 
education. At the age of fourteen he left the 
Collegiate Institute and started to learn tailor 
ing with his father. At the end of five years, 
ha ving decided he did not care for the tailor s 



trade, he returned to school, and in 1895 matri 
culated at the Royal College of Dental Surgeons. 
While out of school he had taken a four years 
reading course in the Chautauqua Literary and 
Scientific Circle. In the fall of 1895 he entered 
the office of Dr. S. Moyer at Gait as a student, 
and after spending three and one-half year^ in 
the study of his profession he graduated in the 
spring of 1899. Immediately after his gradua 
tion he opened an office in Toronto Junction. 

On July 5, 1905, Dr. Willard was united in 
marriage with Miss Hilda Mae Logan, of Bow- 
manviile, who was born in London Aug. 9, 1880, 
daughter of Edward H. and Laura Logan. Mrs. 
Willard lived in her native city until she was 
five years of age, when her father died. Ed 
ward H. Logan was born at Thorndale, Ont., 
July 31, 1844, son of James Logan, who came 
from Ireland, and at the age of nineteen left 
home to go into the grocery business at London, 
in which he continued as long as he lived. Mrs. 
Laura Logan was born at Bowmanville. Feb. 
28, 1853, daughter of the late Samuel McMurtry, 
who came from County Carlow, Ireland. Both 
the Doctor and his wife are members of Vic 
toria Presbyterian Church. 

JOHN KAY MACDONALD, though not born 
in Canada, has spent the greater part of his life 
there, having come to this country at the early 
age of nine years. He was born October 12, 
1837, in Edinburgh, Scotland, of Highland 
parents, the youngest son in a family of 
ten children five sons and five daughters. His 
father was Donald Macdonald. second son of 
Benjamin Macdonald, of Forsee. Caithness- 
shire. His mother was Elizabeth MacKay. His 
parents left the North at a comparatively early 
period after their marriage and went to Edin 
burgh, where the father engaged in mercantile 
pursuits till 1843, when with his eldest son. 
James, he left for Canada, his second son, Ben 
jamin, having preceded them. The subject of 
this sketch, together with his brother Daniel 
(now of Winnipeg), and two sisters. Mrs. A. 
McLean Howard and Mrs. Andrew McBeath, 
followed in August. 1845. The father had set 
tled on a farm in the County of Peel, where he 
continued to reside until his death in 1861, and 
thither the little group of four found their way 
in due course. Benjamin continued to reside 
on the old homestead until his death ; he was 
survived by his widow, four sons William 
Campbell (late of the Highlands). Donald J., 
James A. and George and two daughters 
Jean and Wilhelmine. 

Mr. John Kay Macdonald spent some years 
on the farm. He attended the public school and 
afterward the Weston Grammar School, com- 



174 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



pleting his education by one session at Knox 
College, at the same time taking certain classes 
at the University, intending to enter the ministry 
of the Presbyterian Church. Immediately fol 
lowing the close of the session he entered, as as 
sistant to the late James Scott Howard, the office 
of treasurer of the United Counties o York and 
Peel. While not abandoning the idea of entering 
the ministry and becoming a missionary, he con 
tinued for between two and three years in that 
position, till on the death of Mr. Howard, in 
February, 1866, he was himself appointed 
treasurer of the Counties of York and Peel. 
This office he held until Peel was formed a sep 
arate county, and he has continued as treasurer 
of the County of York ever since a period of 
forty-one years. 

The evident leadings of Providence and the 
ample opportunities afforded him for religious 
and philanthropic work reconciled him to the 
giving up of the ministry. He has been closely 
identified with various philanthropic and re 
ligious movements in and around Toronto. He 
is one of the few survivors who brought the To 
ronto Y.M.C.A. into existence, and with this 
he was a very active worker for years until 
others came who were capable of taking hold of 
it. Since then he has given his services to other 
causes, amongst them the Upper Canada Bible 
Society and the Upper Canada Religious Tract 
and Book Society. For thirty years he was the 
honorary secretary of the Tract Society, and for 
ten years its president. He was a member of 
the Board of the Upper Canada Bible Society 
for thirty-five years, and for a number of vears 
a vice-president and its treasurer. He with 
drew from these positions some years ago. 

Mr. Macdonald has been identified with vari 
ous interdenominational movements, such as tlv 
Ontario Sabbath School Association, of which 
he was president, and the Ontario Lord s 
Day Alliance, was its first president, hold 
ing that office some four years, and was 
again pressed to accept the position on the death 
of the late Principal Caven. He is an active 
elder in the Presbyterian Church, and has been 
a constant worker in the Sabbath-school ajid 
Bible class. He has given more than twenty 
years of service as convener of the Assembly s 
committee on the Aged and Infirm Ministers 
Fund, and his untiring efforts have resulted in 
securing largely increased benefit to the retired 
ministers of the Church. He has served the 
church in several ways, as a member of Knox 
College board and otherwise; was an active 
mover in bringing into existence St. Andrew s 
Boys College, and one of its mainstays. In 
his absence, and without his consent, he was 



made President, and he has continued to hold 
the office with some reluctance. 

In politics Mr. Macdonald is a Conservative, 
though independent in his views, holding that 
principle, not policy, should guide. This side of 
his character is indicated by his connection with 
the Canada First movement at a time when, in 
his judgment, political leanings should be laid 
aside and the country s real good sought. His 
views are indicated by the motto proposed by 
him for the new party, which was carried by a 
majority vote, though in his absence was again 
brought up and Canada First substituted 
Canada not Faction. This will be found ap 
pended to the Declaration of that party. Sub 
sequently his views led him to take a leading 
part in the Equal Rights movement, of which 
he was at first vice-chairman and afterward 
chairman. His relationship to the Confedera 
tion Life Association is well known from ocean 
to ocean. Its organizer and its guide during 
the thirty-five years of its existence, he has a 
right to feel gratified at the enviable position 
it has reached. 

Mr. Macdonald married Charlotte Emily, 
youngest daughter of the late Col. C. S. Perley, 
and she passed away Aug. 24, 1902. To this 
union were born three sons and one daughter, 
namely : John Perley, who met his death through 
an unfortunate accident; Rev. Donald Bruce, 
LL.D., Principal of St. Andrew s College; 
Charles Strange, Who is in the office of the C. 
L. A. ; and Charlotte Helen, who is with her 
father endeavoring to fill her mother s place in 
the home. 

R. G. BARRETT, a venerable member of the 
Ontario Bar, to which he was admitted over 
fifty years ago, is a native of England, born in 
London, Nov. 26, 1822, son of Michael Barrett, 
a well-known barrister of his day. 

Michael Barrett married Miss Frances Scott, 
and in 1834 came to Ontario, locating first in 
Toronto, where he was returning officer for St. 
George s Ward. Shortly after settling in To 
ronto, he decided to locate in the United States, 
and accordingly went to Natchez, Mississippi, 
where he died in 1845, in the prime of life. His 
children were: Dr. Michael, for thirty years 
master of the Upper Canada College, a medical 
practitioner of note, and the founder of the 
Woman s Medical College at Toronto, one of the 
first in the Province ; Henry, a mariner ; R. G. ; 
Mrs. Georgina Frances Devlin, of Yazoo ; and 
William, who was killed in the war of the Rebel 
lion in the United States. 

R. G. Barrett went to Caen, Normandy, when 
five years old, where he remained nine years, 
acquiring a substantial knowledge of the French 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



175 



language. In 1830, Mr. Barrett saw the excite 
ment at Caen incident to the passing of King 
Charles X. of France, at the time of his banish 
ment. In 1836 our subject went to New York, 
making the trip on the old "City of London," 
the journey taking nine weeks. Very soon after 
landing in New York he went to Goderich, Ont., 
and then to Penetanguishene, where he remained 
until 1837. lie then walked to Newmarket, 
County of York, at which place his brother, the 
Dr. Barrett mentioned above, "was master of the 
grammar school. From Newmarket he came on 
horseback to Toronto, and then went to the 
Southern States with his father. There he re 
mained until 1844, when he returned to Toronto, 
and was employed as a teacher in the old dis 
trict grammar schools. Soon after returning to 
Toronto, Mr. Barrett took up the study of law, 
and in 1852 was called to the Bar. He went 
to Hamilton, where he practised until 1854, re 
turning to Toronto in that year, and there he 
has resided ever since. Not a man is now living 
on Bloor Street who resided there at the time 
of Mr. Barrett s location. In addition to his 
legal practice Mr. Barrett has been identified 
with a number of enterprises, among which may 
be mentioned the Queen City Insurance Com 
pany, of which he was the first vice-president. 
He was one of the founders of the Steam Boiler 
Guarantee Company, and the Rent Guarantee 
Company, now defunct. 

In 1851, Mr. Barrett was married to Rebecca 
Bostwick, daughter of the late Lardner Bost- 
wick, a member of the first council of Toronto. 
To Mr. and Mrs. Barrett were born four 
teen children, nine of whom still survive : Fred 
erick Albert, born Feb. 3, 1853, married Emily 
Roe, and among their children are Edith and 
Pauline; Ada, born May 7, 1854; Sarah Frances, 
born June 25, 1855 ; Robert George, born March 
27. 1857; Reuben Alexander, born Feb. 25, 
1859 ; James M.. born June 14, 1860 ; Annie L., 
born July 22, 1861 ; Helena, born May 11, 1863 ; 
Edwin Hugh, born April 29, 1864: William S., 
born July 12, 1865; Lardner Bostwick, born 
June 22, 1867: Edith G., born Oet. 22. 1869; 
Christina Florence, born May 15, 1871 ; Edithel 
Maude, born July 16, 1874. The mother of these 
children died in August, 1893, in the faith of 
the English Church, of which church Mr. Bar 
rett is the oldest living member in Toronto. In 
his political sympathies he is a Conservative. 
He belongs to the Masonic fraternity. For some 
time Mr. Barrett has been retired from his legal 
practice, giving his time and attention to look 
ing after his business investments. Although past 
the eighty-fourth milestone in life s journey, his 
mind is as clear and active as ever, and aside 
from some slight rheumatic trouble he is in the 



best of health. He has seen many changes take 
place in his adopted city, and his reminiscences 
of early days are both interesting and instruc 
tive. 

HON. GEORGE W. ALLAN, who passed 
away at Toronto in July, 1901, was born in this 
city in 1822, a son of the late Hon. William 
Allan, a member of the Legislative Council, and 
his wife, Leah (Saville) Allan, the latter a mem 
ber of a Avell-known family of County York. 

Hon. Wm. Allan was born in Huntly, Scot 
land, and was sixteen years of age when he came 
to Montreal, removing later to Toronto. He was 
one of the foremost men of the city in his day 
and generation and was interested in all the 
enterprises organized to benefit County York 
and her people. The death of his wife preceded 
his own, which took place at Toronto in 1853. 

The late Hon. George W. Allan was educated 
in Upper Canada College. He left school to take 
up arms in defence of his country in the Rebel 
lion of 1837-38, and when peace was restored 
he resumed his studies, entering upon the study 
of law at Toronto. He became one of the well- 
known men of his profession. In 1854 he was 
elected mayor of Toronto, and he held other 
offices of distinction. Without his solicitation 
or knowledge he was appointed from London a 
commissioner of the Canada Company, an office 
he held until his death. For many years he was 
chancellor of Trinity University. 

In 1858 Mr. Allan was elected to the Legis 
lative Council and at Confederation was ap 
pointed to the Senate. One of Toronto s most 
beautiful parks, the "Allan Gardens," was a 
partial gift by Mr. Allan to the Horticultural 
Society, but later was deeded to the city. Mr. 
Allan had numerous interests in the city and 
like his father before him took pride in the de 
velopment and progress of Toronto. 

Mr. Allan was twice married, first to Louisa 
M., the third daughter of the late Sir John Bev 
erly Robinson. She was born at Toronto and 
died at Rome, Italy, in 1852. There was no 
issue of this marriage. Mr. Allan married 
second Adelaide Harriet, the third daughter 
of Rev. Thomas Schreiber and his wife Sarah, 
the latter being a daughter of Admiral Bing- 
ham. This marriage was solemnized in St. 
James Chm*ch, Piccadilly, London, England. 

The father of Mrs. Allan came to Canada in 
1852 and settled at Toronto, his home long be 
ing known as "Elmsley House." He was the 
father of fifteen children, thirteen of whom came 
to Canada, one of these being Collingwood 
Schreiber, formerly Deputy Minister of Rail 
ways and Canals in Canada, and still promin 
ently identified with the government. 



176 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



The following children were born to Mfr. 
Allan s second marriage: Maude, who married 
Allan Cassels, a well-known barrister of To 
ronto, and has one daughter; George M., a bar 
rister of Winnipeg, who is married and has three 
children; Mary Adelaide, wife of Herbert Har- 
court-Vernon ; Charles S., who was drowned in 
Kempenfelt Bay, in 1883, aged eighteen years; 
Arthur Campbell, an underwriter in London, 
married to Cecelia Driscoll ; Frederick Gamble 
Bingham, married to Jessie Rathburn, daugh 
ter of the late Frederick Rathburn ; and Audrey 
Elizabeth Schreiber, at home. 

Mr. Allan was a consistent member of the 
Church of England. In political opinion he 
was a Conservative. He was one of the men of 
whom it may be truthfully said the world be 
came better for his having lived in it. He was 
held in the highest esteem in every circle and 
his memory is kept green in a hundred ways. 

JUDGE EDWARD MORGAN. His Honor, 
Edward Morgan, Junior Judge of the County 
of York, Ont, appointed to the Bench in the 
year 1885, is an official known far and wide for 
his able administration of justice and keen in 
sight regarding the duties and responsibilities 
of his important position. He is a man of strong 
personality and high ideals, one who has vigor 
ously made his way to an enviable professional 
standing through hard work and rigid adherence 
to honorable standards. 

Judge Morgan was born in the isle of St. 
Vincent, British West Indies, June 28, 1838 
the day on which Her Majesty, the late Queen 
Victoria, was crowned. His father, Rev. Ed 
ward Morgan, for many years owned and cul 
tivated a sugar plantation on the island, but 
entered the ministry and was rector of a 
parish there for many years, coming thence to 
Canada in 1855. Settling at Barrie, Ont., he 
was at first assistant, and later rector, of the 
Church of England at that place, and there he 
died, in 1887. Edward Morgan received his 
early education under the tutelage of an edu 
cated father, supplementing this foundation by 
extensive reading and study along general lines. 
While still in his native isle he acted as over 
seer of an extensive sugar plantation, and after 
coming to Canada he entered upon a regular 
course of preparation for the profession of his 
choice. He took up the study of law at Barrie 
with the well-known firm of Boulton & Mc 
Carthy, and soon thereafter began practice at 
Orangeville, where he remained about four years 
prior to settling in Newmarket, York County. 
At the latter place he entered into partnership 
with the late Alfred Bonltbee. M.P., this rela 
tion continuing until Mr. Morgan s appoint 



ment to the Bench, in 1885, he having been called 
to the Bar in 1878. His services as county judge 
have added dignity and popularity to a deser 
vedly high reputation won in private practice. 

Judge Morgan married Clara M. H. McCarthy, 
daughter of the late D Alton McCarthy, Sr., 
and sister of the late D Alton McCarthy, K.C., 
M.P. She passed away in 1903, leaving three 
daughters: Miss Hope Morgan, who is well- 
known in musical circles everywhere, her repu 
tation reaching beyond the bounds of her own 
country ; Florence Morgan ; and Vera Morgan. 

The judge is a member of the Anglican 
Church. Though nearing the seventieth mile 
stone in the journey of life, he is in the best of 
health, with the prospect of years of usefulness 
still before him. 

DONALD CAMPBELL MEYERS, M.D., C. 
M., M.R.C.S., and L.R.C.P., London, England, 
1889, and L.C.P. & S., New York, owner and 
proprietor of a private hospital at Deer Park, 
Ont., for the treatment of nervous diseases, and 
the only one for nervous diseases in Canada, 
enjoys the distinction of being the first physi 
cian in the country to establish a hospital for 
this express purpose. 

Dr. Meyers comes of distinguished German an 
cestors. Adam Henry Meyers, the founder of 
the family in Canada, and the grandfather of 
the doctor, was born in Germany in 1780, and 
died in Trenton, Ont., in 1832. He was an offi 
cer in the German army, and after coming to 
Canada, in 1804, he served in the war of 1812. 
Purchasing a large tract of valuable timber 
land near Belleville, Ont., he engaged in the 
lumber business until the time of his death. 
On June 27, 1807, Adam Henry Meyers was 
united in marriage to Miss Maria II. Walbridge, 
who was born in 1784, daughter of Asa Wai- 
bridge, and died in Trenton, Ont., in 1852. 
They had children: Elijah Walbridge, father 
of Dr. Meyers ; Adam H. ; William P., Mrs. 
H. M. Cochran, wife of Rev. Mr. Cochran, 
first rector of St. Thomas Church, Belleville; 
and Annie, wife of Sheriff Corbett, Kingston. 

Elijah Walbridge Meyers was born at Trenton 
in 1814, and was educated at the Jesuit College 
in Montreal. On attaining his majority he en 
gaged in the lumber business for some time, 
and his later years were devoted to looking after 
his business investments. He served in the 
Rebellion of 1837-38, and was given the rank of 
lieutenant-colonel in the Canadian militia. In 
1842 he married Sophia Birdsall, who was born 
at Rice Lake in 1823, daughter of Richard Bird- 
sail, C.E., and a granddaughter of Senator 
Burnham. member of the first Parliament of 
Upper Canada. She died in 1893. To her and 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



177 



her husband were horn children as follows : 
Adam Henry, for some time a barrister in To 
ronto, where he died in 1892, unmarried ; W. F., 
M.P.P., of the North-AVest Territory; Robert 
David, a journalist in Toronto for some time, 
who married Helen Strong, and left two sons, 
Louis and Adam Henry; Donald Campbell, the 
subject of this sketch; and Walter Herbert, of 
the North-AYest Territory. 

Donald Campbell Meyers was born at Tren 
ton, Out., in 1863, and his early education was 
obtained at the high school in Trenton. In 
1884 he entered Trinity Medical College, from 
which he was graduated in 1888. Immediately 
after graduation Dr. Meyers went to Europe, 
where he spent four years iu the study of ner 
vous diseases, under the leading medical men of 
England, Scotland, France, Austria, Switzer 
land and Italy. Returning to his native land 
he settled in Toronto, in 1892, and for two years 
was engaged in a general medical practice, hav 
ing his office on Simcoe Street. In 1894 he es 
tablished a hospital on Simcoe Street, Toronto, 
for the treatment of nervous diseases, this be 
ing the first hospital in Canada devoted exclu 
sively to that purpose. In 1897 the Doctor pur 
chased his present beautifully located hospital 
at Deer Park, on the north side of Heath Street. 
The building is a commodious one, surrounded 
by a very beautiful and spacious lawn, adorned 
with beautiful shade trees, and all the environ 
ments and the perfect quiet of the place are 
certainly conducive to the best interests of all 
patients attending the institute. 

On March 24, 1900, Dr. Meyers and Miss 
Edith A., daughter of Rev. George Burson, of 
St. Catharines, were united in marriage. To 
this union have come the following children : 
Edith, born Jan. 6, 1901 ; Eleanor, born June 
12, 1902 ; Margaret, born May 9, 1903 ; Dorothy, 
born March 29, 1904; and Donald, born Jan. 
27, 1907. Dr. and Mrs. Meyers are members of 
the Church of England. In politics he is a Con 
servative. He holds the rank of major in the 
10th Regiment, Royal Grenadiers. 

WILLIAM ALFRED GEDDES passed away 
June 11, 1901, and his death removed from the 
business world of Toronto one of its prominent 
and highly esteemed citizens. Mr. Geddes was 
born April 3, 1847, near Gait, Out, son of James 
Geddes, a native of England. 

James Geddes for many years carried on a 
large plantation in the AA r est Indies, prior to the 
emancipation of slaves in that region. On leav 
ing the West Indies he came to Canada, remain 
ing for some time in Toronto, and later settling 
near Gait, where he died. He was a well-edu 
cated man, and after settling in Gait did much 
12 



work in the line of conveyancing and in other 
matters pertaining to legal forms. He married 
Ann Rachel Abbott, also of English parentage, 
who died in Guelph, and they had the following 
named children: Catherine, George, Anne, 
Emily, Mary, Adelaide, James, Harriet and 
AVilliam Alfred. 

William Alfred Geddes was born near Gait, 
and attended the Gait grammar school. He 
became a mariner and was purser for several 
years on steamers plying the lakes, after which 
he went into business at the Geddes dock, at 
the foot of Yonge Street. There he continued 
about thirty years, being thus engaged at the 
time of his death. He was also financially in 
terested in several boats, among which may be 
mentioned the "Ocean" and the "Persia," 
and at one time he was a shareholder in the 
"Cuba," "California," "Rosedale," and others. 
He was instrumental in the formation of the 
Marine Association, of which he was an officer, 
and was a prominent member of the Board of 
Trade, serving on the harbor commission of that 
body. In fraternal connection he was a Free 
mason of high rank. He was a member of the 
Church of England, and in political sentiment 
was a Conservative. 

In 1871, Mr. Geddes married Miss Matilda J. 
Trowell, daughter of the late Capt. John and 
Jane (Holmes) Trowell, the former of whom was 
born at Swansea, Wales, and on coming to Can 
ada sailed the lakes for many years, his last boat 
heing the steamer "Algerian." He died in 
Kingston in October, 1891. 

To Mr. and Mrs. William Alfred Geddes were 
born the following children : Emma Abbott ; 
James, deceased ; Isabella M., wife of Dr. R. 
W. Large, a medical missionary of British 
Columbia, by whom she has had two sons, Rich 
ard Geddes and Gordon Cunningham; Emma 
Charlotte, wife of William Stewart Pridham, 
who has one son, Alfred Stewart; William Al 
fred, of Toronto; and Agatha Louisa. 

RICHARD B. NEVITT, A.B., M.D., of No. 
46 Bloor Street AA r est, Toronto, has been in con 
tinuous practice in that city since 1878. Dr. 
Nevitt is of Welsh extraction, his great-grand 
father having emigrated to America from AVales 
to the United States many years ago. 

John Nevitt, father of Richard B.. was a pro 
minent business man of Savannah, Georgia, for 
many years, and there married Miss Mary 
Tschudi. They had the following children: 
John, an architect of Savannah, Georgia-. Dr. 
Richard B. : Sarah, who married Wyatt Owen, 
of Philadelphia. Pennsylvania; Mary, who mar 
ried Douglas Flanigan, of Athens, Georgia ; and 



178 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



Louisa, who married Fred Oates, of Philadel 
phia, Pennsylvania. 

Richard B. Nevitt was born in Savannah, 
Georgia, Nov. 22, 1850. In 1868 he entered 
Trinity College, Toronto, from which he received 
the degrees of A.B. and M.B. in 1874. From 
that year until 1878 Dr. Nevitt was surgeon with 
the mounted police of the North- West Territory, 
in the latter year returning to Toronto, where 
he engaged in general practice for some time. 
Later he turned his attention to surgery, in 
which he is now extensively engaged. In 1890 
Dr. Nevitt attended the International Medical 
Congress, at Berlin, Germany, and in 1896 made 
a trip to London, England, for special work in 
surgery. 

On June 22, 1878, Dr. Nevitt married Miss 
Elizabeth Beaty, daughter of Robert Beaty, of 
Toronto, and to this union have been born : Rev. 
Robert Barrington, rector of St. Boniface 
Church, of St. Catharines, Ont. ; Irving, B.Sc., 
of Toronto University, class of 1904; Mary, B. 
A., of Trinity College, class of 1902; Adna, B. 
A., Trinity College, class of 1904; and Richard 
and Bertram, students. Dr. and Mrs. Nevitt 
are members of the Church of England. Fra 
ternally the Doctor is a member of the Orange 
Lodge and the C.O.O.F., and socially he belongs 
to the Royal Canadian Yacht Club. 

REV. GEORGE MORTIMER came to To 
ronto about the year 1834, and settled at Thorn 
Hill, in the County of York, where he was 
rector of the Anglican Church until his death. 
His widow died at Thorn Hill about 1860. They 
had six children, three sons and three daugh 
ters. The eldest daughter married Mr. S. Fry, 
and they are both deceased, as are also the other 
two daughters, who were never married. Of the 
sons, the eldest Cecil Mortimer was for many 
years a resident of Picton, Ont., returning later 
to England where he died. He had two sons, 
who are both deceased. 

Arthur Mortimer, the second son, was a clergy 
man at Adelaide for many years, and subse 
quently died at Toronto. He had four sons and 
one daughter, all deceased but Charles White, 
who is British vice-consul at Los Angles, Cali 
fornia. 

Herbert Mortimer, the third son, married Miss 
S. H. Marsh. For some years he farmed near 
Bondhead, moving into Toronto about the year 
1849. There he became a stock broker and not 
ary public. He died in Toronto in 1892. Their 
family consists of three sons and two daughters, 
of whom one son and one daughter reside at 
present in England with Mrs. Mortimer. The 
others are in Toronto, namely : Mrs. W. T. 
Boyd; Thomas, who is in the manufacturers 



agency business; and Herbert, who is a char 
tered accountant. 

THOMAS DAWSON DELAMERE, M.A., 
K.C., senior member of the law firm of Dela- 
mere, Reesor & Ross, at No. 18 Toronto Street, 
Toronto, was born in County Down, Ireland, 
March 25, 1847, son of Dawson Delamere, men 
tion of whom will be found elsewhere. 

When Thomas D. Delamere was eight years 
of age his parents came to Canada, and he was 
educated at Upper Canada College and Toronto 
University, from which latter institution he was 
graduated in 1866 with the degree of B.A., and 
in 1868 received his M.A. After completing his 
arts course at the University of Toronto, Mr. 
Delamere took up the study of law with the late 
Alexander Leith, Q.C., being called to the Bar 
in 1870. Soon after he formed a partnership 
with the late Judge Kenneth MacKenzie, which 
continued until Mr. MacKenzie was appointed 
to the Bench. Mr. Delamere is one of the oldest 
members of the Toronto Bar, and has occupied 
an office on Toronto Street for more than thirty 
years. In 1889 he was made a Q.C. Mr. Dela 
mere has taken an interest in military matter.^ 
and was captain of the University Rifles, No. 
9, Queen s Own, with which company he served 
in the Fenian Raid as corporal. 

On June 14, 1888, Mr. Delamere married 
Mrs. Grace (Bickford) Keefer, widow of the late 
Ralph W. Keefer, daughter of the late E. 0. 
Bickford, of Gore Vale, Toronto, who came to 
Canada from the State of New York, where Mrs. 
Delamere was born. Mr. and Mrs. Delamere 
have had these children : Beatrice M., Rudolph 
D., Grace B., Mary E., Harold D. and Thomas 
D. Mr. and Mr. Delamere are members of the 
Church of England. In politics he is a Re 
former. 

ELI JAMES BARRICK. M.D.. M.R.CS-, 
Eng., L.R.C.P. & S., London & Edin., is an emi 
nent member of the. medical profession, and his 
reputation extends not only throughout Can 
ada, but also to the United States. His birth 
occurred in 1838 near Port Colborne, township 
of Wainfleet, Ontario, where his maternal grand 
father, Jacob Ott, a United Empire Loyalist, 
had settled shortly after the close of the Ameri 
can Revolution. 

After receiving his preliminary education in 
the rural schools of his native locality, Dr. 
Barrick entered the Normal School at Toronto, 
where he remained one year and then taught 
school in the County of Welland for one and a 
half years. He then returned to the Normal 
School for another year, receiving the highest 
certificate granted by the school, and resumed 




M. D., M. R. C. S., Eng., L. R. 0. P. and S. Loo. 
and Edin. Toronto, Ont. 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



179 



teaching in the County of Wellington, Ontario, 
for three and a half years. During all this 
time Dr. Barrick had been preparing himself 
for the practice of medicine and in 1863 he en 
tered the Rolph school, the Medical Depart 
ment of Victoria University at Toronto, from 
which he graduated in 1866 with the degree of 
M.D. The Doctor spent part of the summer of 
that year in attending the hospitals in New 
York City, and then went to St. Thomas s Hos 
pital, London, England, and soon after passed 
the examination for L.R.C.P., Royal College of 
Physicians of London. In 1867 Dr. Barrick re 
ceived the degree of M.R.C.S. from Royal Col 
lege of Surgeons of England, and in the same 
year went to Edinburgh, Scotland, where he 
successfully passed the examinations for 
L.R.C.P. & S., Ed. While in London pursuing 
his medical studies, Dr. Barrick had the honor 
of being the first Canadian appointed to the 
position of Resident Accoucheur at St. Thom 
as s Hospital, and later as one of the house sur 
geons. In 1867 Dr. Barrick returned to his 
native country and was soon elected to the 
Chair of Demonstrative Anatomy, and shortly 
afterwards Professor of Midwifery, in his alma 
mater, in which capacity he served until 1874, 
when the school was discontinued. During all 
this time Dr. Barrick engaged in a general 
practice in Toronto, where he is now one of the 
oldest medical practitioners. After the disso 
lution of the school above mentioned, Dr. Bar 
rick became Examiner in Midwifery for Vic 
toria University, and held this position until 
its federation with Toronto University. In 
1885 the Doctor-was elected by acclamation as 
East Toronto s representative in the Ontario 
Medical Council and was re-elected by acclama 
tion in 1889, serving in that capacity until 
1893, when he retired, believing that the honor 
should go round. 

In 1897 Dr. Barrick began active work 
toward the solution of the problem of prevent 
ing the spread of tuberculosis. In 1898 the To 
ronto Anti-Consumptive League was formed, of 
which Dr. Barrick has been president ever 
since. The conclusion of the deliberations of 
the league were placed before the Canadian 
Medical Association in a paper read by Dr. Bar 
rick at the annual meeting in Toronto, 1899, 
and a special committee was appointed to re 
port upon the paper at the next annual meet 
ing. In 1900, at the annual meeting in Ottawa, 
a report of this committee, endorsing the pa 
per and recommending the formation of the 
Canadian Association for preventing the spread 
of tuberculosis, was unanimously adopted. Im 
mediately after the new organization was form 
ed, and provisional officers elected. This was 



the beginning of the Canadian Association for 
the prevention of tuberculosis, so ably presid 
ed over by President Senator W. C. Edwards 
with the active sympathy and support as Hon 
orary President of His Excellency Lord Minto, 
and now of His Excellency Earl Grey. Dr. 
Barrick has served on the executive of this 
association since its formation. The Toronto 
Anti-Consumptive League was largely instru 
mental in having the question of $50,000 for a 
municipal sanatorium submitted to the Toronto 
ratepayers in 1904, and in securing a favorable 
vote thereon. 

In March, 1900, Dr. Barrick headed a large 
deputation of members of the League and other 
prominent citizens, who waited upon the gov 
ernment and urged for legislation, the out 
come of which was an "Act Respecting Munici 
pal Sanatoria for Consumptives." 

This Act practically secures government aid 
of $4,000 to any municipality towards land and 
buildings for a municipal sanatorium, and $1.50 
per week for each patient treated therein. 

In 1901 Dr. Barrick was elected Vice-Presi- 
dent at large of the American Congress on Tu 
berculosis, and in 1902 was elected second Vice- 
President of the same organization, of which 
he was made President in 1903, and as such 
took an active part in arranging and carrying 
to a successful issue the American Internation 
al Congress on Tuberculosis, held at the World s 
Fair, St. Louis, in 1904, where eminent men, 
not only of the medical and legal professions, 
but legislators, sanitarians, philanthropists, 
etc., discussed the subject of tuberculosis; not 
so much from a scientific standpoint, as from 
the practical side of the question, as it affects 
the whole people. 

It is not only in the. special line for the good 
of consumptives that Dr. Barrick has taken an 
active part, but it is also largely through his 
efforts as President of the Toronto Ratepayers 
Association that the present Board of Control 
of the City of Toronto was brought into ex 
istence, and the new Court of Revision estab 
lished. The Doctor is a man whose views are 
broader than any particular profession. He 
takes in the whole world of suffering humanity, 
and especially does he believe that the con 
sumptive poor should be cared for, largely at 
the public expense, and that every precaution 
should be used to prevent the spread of this 
disease. This belief is the seed from which has 
grown the plan of municipal sanatoria for con 
sumptives, as provided for in the Act of 1900 
already referred to, and which plan was unani 
mously endorsed by the American Internation 
al Congress on tuberculosis held at the World s 
Pair, St. Louis, in 1904. 



180 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



In 1870 Dr. Barrick was married to Miss 
Kate Heal Newcombe, a daughter of William 
Newcombe and a native of Devonshire, Eng 
land. Dr. and Mrs. Barrick have two sons, J. 
Sidney and Ralph N., who are the owners and 
operators of large tracts of wheat land in Man 
itoba and Saskatchewan. 

Religiously, Dr. Barrick and his wife are 
members of the Methodist Church and for over 
thirty years he has been on the Trustee Board of 
the Metropolitan Methodist Church in Toronto. 
Politically he is a Liberal-Conservative. Dur 
ing his whole life he has been a total abstainer 
from tobacco and all intoxicating liquors. 

THE GLOBE. It may truthfully be said, 
and without immodesty, that The Globe and the 
early political history of Canada are inseparably 
associated. The purpose, in fact, for which the 
paper was established was to uphold the prin 
ciple of responsible government which, after a 
long struggle, was conferred on Canada in 1841. 
Under the Governor-General, Sir Charles Met- 
calfe, this was in danger of being sacrificed, and 
The Globe was founded to maintain the ground 
which had been won with such vigorous effort. 
The beginning of The Globe dates back to the 
formative period in the affairs of the Dominion. 
It was in 1838 that Mr. George Brown had come 
to New York, then a lad of twenty, with his 
father, Mr. Peter Brown. Both engaged in 
newspaper work for a few years, and in Decem 
ber, 1842, they established The British Chronicle 
as the organ of the Scottish population in the 
United States. As publisher, Mr. George Brown 
travelled through the northern States soliciting 
advertisements and subscriptions. In the spring 
of 1843 he came over to Canada on the same 
mission. It was the period of the disruption of 
the Scottish National Church, and both father 
and son had entered into the dispute on the side 
of the Free Church. Its adherents in Toronto 
felt the need of an organ to uphold their inter 
ests in opposition to those of the Established 
Church of Scotland, and proposed that he should 
undertake the work. Mr. Brown forwarded 
the proposal to his father in New York, and con 
tinued his tour. Upon reaching Kingston, the 
seat of government, he received overtures which 
promised better things still. Having come into 
contact with Samuel Bealey Harrison, then Pro 
vincial Secretary for Upper Canada in the Lib 
eral Lafontaine-Balclwin Administration, the 
political situation was discussed freely. 

The Banner STARTED. Mr. Brown, though 
only twenty-five, and but a few weeks in this 
country, had already an astonishing grasp of its 
political questions, and was himself an advanced 
Liberal. He was introduced to Mr. Baldwin, 



Mr. Hincks and other members of the Adminis 
tration. Sir Charles Metcalfe had been only 
about two months in Canada, but those gentle 
men whom Mr. Brown met had already antici 
pated the trouble which followed. It seemed not 
unlikely that the whole question of responsible 
government would have to be fought over again, 
and they were willing to secure the support of 
another paper. No definite proposals were made, 
and Mr. Brown continued his tour to Montreal 
and Quebec. On his return to New York he 
found various overtures from Kingston and To 
ronto, and his enthusiasm soon prevailed upon 
his father to come to Toronto. 

The Banner, to which the name of The British 
Chronicle was changed, made its first appear 
ance in Toronto on Aug. 18, 1843. It was above 
all things the organ of the Free Church party, 
but it was also a strong supporter of the Admin 
istration, which was entering upon its great 
struggle with the Governor-General as to the 
true meaning of responsible government. Sir 
Charles Metcalfe made appointments without 
consulting the council, his constitutional advis 
ers, and when remonstrated with by the mem 
bers for so doing declined either to confess that 
he was in the wrong or to promise that he would 
not repeat the offence. The ministry resigned 
and formed themselves into a Parliamentary 
Opposition. To keep pace with this Opposition, 
and to give expression to Mr. Brown s own 
strong views on politics, The Banner was found 
inadequate. Its arguments were addressed 
chiefly to the Free Church party, and it was felt 
that there should be a paper above all things 
political, and the recognized organ of the Re 
formers. Mr. George Brown was applied to by 
leading Reformers, and the result was the es 
tablishment of The Globe. 

THE FIRST Globe. The first number of The 
Globe & weekly, like The Banner, which con 
tinued to be published for some years by Mr. 
Peter Brown was issued on March 5, 1844. In 
a review of the political history of the Province 
Mr. Brown presented clearly the infringements 
of the constitution by Sir Charles Metcalfe, and 
concluded: The people must be up and doing 
the cause is .-just. If they now suffer the in 
valuable principle of responsible government to 
be taken away, it may be many years and cost 
them many struggles before it is recovered. The 
cause we plead is not the cause of party the 
battle which the Liberals of Canada have to fight 
is not the battle of party, but of constitutional 
right as against the undue interference of exe 
cutive power. 

To promote the practical application of re 
sponsible government, the Reform Association 
of Canada had been formed the previous month. 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



181 



The Globe strongly endorsed it, and in a few 
issues later devoted two entire pages to a re 
port of the first general annual meeting, held in 
Toronto on March 25, 1844. The prospectus of 
The Globe, signed "George Brown, Editor," 
dealt chiefly with responsible government, but 
added that every event which might influence 
the agricultural or commercial interests of Can 
ada would receive earnest attention. 

The Globe, Mr. Brown determined, should 
have an individuality, and with that determina 
tion in view he travelled from end to end of the 
Province, making himseelf acquainted with the 
wants and sentiments of the people. In an in 
credibly short time he knew almost every 
Reformer worth knowing, The Globe became 
a household word in Upper Canada, and gained 
a considerable circulation in Lower Canada. It 
was the recognized organ of the Reform party, 
but was conducted with an independence, and 
sometimes an insubordination, that knew no 
master and would submit to no dictation. The 
circulation grew rapidly, and it became neces 
sary to issue twice a week in 1846, three times 
a week, as well as weekly, in 1849, and in Octo 
ber, 1853, it made its first appearance as a daily. 
In the meantime Sir Charles Metcalfe had re 
turned to England, but the policy he had striven 
to maintain was not effectually done away with 
until the elections of 1847, when it received its 
death-blow at the polls. To this result The 
Globe contributed much, for Mr. Brown estab 
lished a western branch in London, and took per 
sonal charge for four months of the campaign. 

MR. BROWN S HOUSE ATTACKED. No legisla 
tive act during the existence of the union pro 
voked so much controversy and violence as the 
passage of the bill in 1849 to provide for the 
payment of losses sustained during the Rebel 
lion by the loyal inhabitants of Lower Canada. 
The Tories violently attacked the Governor-Gen 
eral, Lord Elgin, although he had done nothing 
more than his duty in giving the royal assent to 
a bill which had passed both Houses. Mr. Brown 
in The Globe and at public meetings made a 
strenuous defence of the Governor-General, not 
because he fully approved of the manner in 
which the measure was promoted, but because 
he thought the constitutional course of Lord 
Elgin, in giving his entire support to his ad 
visers on a subject which had already been par 
tially dealt with by the opposite party, should 
be as vigorously" defended as the unconstitutional 
course of Sir Charles Metcalfe, in refusing the 
advice of responsible Ministers, was denounced. 
When the bill was passed the Tory mob in To 
ronto attacked the private houses of Messrs. 
Robert Baldwin, W. II. Blake, George Brown, 
\V. Lyon Mackenzie and others, and threatened 



The Globe. In Montreal they pelted the Gover 
nor-General with stones and destroyed the Par 
liament building by fire. 

Upon the opening of the Parliamentary ses 
sion of 1851 various sources of discord appeared 
among the Government supporters. Some of 
the party, notably The Examiner newspaper, 
assailed the Ministers for not introducing mea 
sures to settle the questions discussed in the 
elections of 1847. Under the name of Clear 
Grits they advocated, in addition to the secular 
ization of the clergy reserves, universal suffrage, 
vote by ballot, free trade and direct taxation, 
and many other root-and-branch reforms. Some 
of these measures, notably secularization of the 
clergy reserves, were advocated by The Globe, 
which continued to give the Government a gen 
eral support, but the root-and-branch re 
forms Mr. Brown considered in advance of 
the times. But the division became so marked 
that in 1851 both Baldwin and Lafontaine re 
tired from public life, Mr. Hincks became Prem 
ier, and there were other changes, the whole ef 
fect of which was that The Globe withdrew its 
support, "There is no doubt," wrote Mr. Mac 
kenzie in his life of Mr. Brown, "but that the 
supineness of the Liberal leaders at this time laid 
the foundation of the dissensions which were to 
rend the party asunder at no distant day." 

In the general election which followed Mr. 
Brown offered himself as a candidate, but was 
beaten in Ilaldimand. He was subsequently 
elected for Kent and Lambton, and took his seat 
at Quebec in August, 1852. He had no sym 
pathy with the Government, and in The Globe 
criticized its measures severely. It was alleged 
that he was angry because he had not been asked 
to join the Government, and because The Globe 
was no longer the organ of the Administration. 
But the truth was that Mr. Brown saw a clear 
path before him to advocate Reform measures 
independently of the Government. The Minis 
try were hostile to dealing with the clergy re 
serves and other important questions. Mr. 
Brown was by this time the recognized head of 
the more advanced wing of the Reform party, 
but he and his followers had one sentiment in 
common with Conservatives, namely, hostility to 
the existing Administration. At the general 
election of 1854 a great majority of the 
members elected were opposed to the Govern 
ment of Mr. Hincks. who retired, and was 
succeeded by a coalition Government headed 
by Sir Allan MacNab. This administration 
The Globe opposed as vigorously as the last, and 
though it bowed to the popular demand and 
passed a measure handing over the clergy re 
serves to the various municipal corporations for 
secular purposes, abundant other material for 



182 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



criticism was found. The schism in the Reform 
ranks continued," wrote Mr. Mackenzie in his 
life of Mr. Brown, though events were maturing 
a feeling in favor of united action and formal 
organization. Mr. Brown had in several con 
stituencies supported Conservative candidates, 
who pledged themselves thoroughly in favor of 
representation by population and of the secular 
ization of the clergy reserves. This in several 
instances accomplished the defeat of Liberal can 
didates, who were more or less unwilling to com 
mit themselves to out-and-out measures. It may 
fairly be questioned whether this course was the 
best party movement for a leader to take, even 
under the peculiar circumstances then existing, 
but if the triumph of righteous principles was 
the right thing to aim at, there can be no doubt 
that Mr. Brown s policy was successful. . . . 
The work he performed in the sessions of 1854, 
1855, 1856 and 1857 was far more than any man 
should attempt. He had noble supporters in 
the toil in William Lyon Mackenzie and others, 
whose patriotic efforts for good government will 
never be forgotten. 

THE DOUBLE SHUFFLE. At the general elec 
tion of 1857 Mr. Brown was elected in Toronto 
and North Oxford on the crucial question of re 
presentation by population, but when Parliament 
met the Administration had still a majority of 
twelve against it. But on the location of the 
seat of Government at Ottawa the .Opposition, 
led by Mr. Brown, introduced a motion of dis 
approval, which was carried by fourteen, and 
the Ministry resigned. Mr. Brown was sum 
moned by the Governor-General, Sir Edmund 
Head, and formed the Brown-Dorion Adminis 
tration. This, the shortest Administration in 
the history of the country, lasted only two days 
and then was defeated on a motion of non-con 
fidence. Mr. Brown requested the Governor- 
General to dissolve Parliament, upon the ground 
that it did not represent the feelings of the 
country, but Sir Edmund Head declined, alleg 
ing that a general election had just taken place, 
and the Government was compelled to resign. 
Then occurred the discreditable "double-shuffle." 
Mr., afterwards Sir A. T., Gait was asked to 
form a Government, but declined. The Gover 
nor-General then asked Mr., afterwards Sir 
George, Cartier, who, with the assistance of Mr., 
afterwards Sir John A., Macdonald. formed the 
Cartier-Macdonald Government. It was much 
the same as the Macdonald-Cartier which pre 
ceded the Brown-Dorion Government. It was 
little more than an exchange of offices, and would 
have been free from objection if the members of 
the Cabinet had returned to their constituents 
for re-election. They did nothing of the kind. By 
a clause in the Act to ensure the independence of 



Parliament it was declared that a Minister re 
signing one office and accepting another within a 
month might continue to retain his office without 
re-election. This is precisely what the Cartier- 
Macdonald Cabinet did, but in doing so, though 
within the letter of the law, they transgressed the 
spirit of the constitution and the invariable prac 
tice in Great Britain. Moreover, Mr. Brown and 
his colleagues, who had accepted office, were both 
out of office and out of Parliament. 

REPKESENTATION BY POPULATION. The Globe 
denounced the trick unsparingly, and roused a 
strong feeling in the country. It is now recog 
nized that the Governor-General, in accepting 
the resignation of his Ministers and sending for 
the leader of the Opposition to form an Admin 
istration, is committed to give him full confi 
dence. In asking Mr. Brown to undertake the 
task Sir Edmund Head gave him to understand, 
as plainly as if he had said it in so many words, 
that whatever Mr. Brown found necessary should 
have his support. Lord Dufferin under almost 
similar circumstances granted Mr. Mackenzie a 
dissolution in 1873. As a result of The Globe s 
campaign the Independence of Parliament Act 
was amended to prevent a repetition of such a 
scandalous abuse. 

The Globe, however, continued the agitation for 
representation by population. The population of 
Upper Canada in 1858 was estimated at 1,300,000, 
and that of Lower Canada at 1,000,000. but 
as each Province had the same number of mem 
bers, the arrangement meant that 300,000 in the 
former were not represented. At the request of 
Mr. Brown a Reform Convention of 570 dele 
gates from both Provinces met in Toronto on 
Nov. 9, 1859. Two resolutions were passed, the 
first declaring that the existing legislative union 
of Upper and Lower Canada had failed to real 
ize the anticipations of its promoters, and in its 
present form could no longer be continued with 
advantage to the people, and the second de 
claring that the remedy for the existing evils 
would be found in the formation of two or more 
local Governments, to which should be committed 
all matters of a sectional character, and in the 
erection of some joint authority to dispose of 
the affairs common to all. Mr. Brown who, after 
the "double shuffle," had been returned again 
for Toronto, in spite of the desperate efforts of 
the Cartier-Macdonald Government, moved these 
resolutions during the next session at Quebec in 
1860, and on May 8 both were defeated by large 
majorities. But the country had not heard the 
last of them. The Globe kept up the demand for 
reform, and the principles of those resolutions 
came to be recognized in time as the only ones 
whereby the Government could be carried on, 



COMMEMOKATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



183 



and were subsequently embodied in the British 
North America Act of Confederation. 

THOMAS ROBERT GRAVER, who died in 
Toronto, April 15, 1903, was a well-known hard 
ware man in Ontario for many years. He was 
burn in England in 1848, son of Edward and 
Elizabeth (Rhymes) Graver, of the same coun 
try, and early settlers of Barrie, Out. Soon 
after coming to Canada, Edward Graver en 
gaged in the hardware business, in which he con 
tinued for many years. He now lives retired 
in Barrie. His children were : Thomas Robert; 
Susanna, Mrs. Culverwell; and Sarah, Mrs. 
Bladen. 

After receiving a good education, Thomas R. 
Graver went into the hardware business with 
his father at Barrie, under the firm name of 
Graver & Son, and they carried on a large and 
successful business for many years, then retired 
for a number of years, but later re-purchased 
the business, which they continued until about 
1897, when they disposed of it and Thomas R. 
Graver came to Toronto. 

In 1885, Mr. Graver married Miss Margaret 
McRae. daughter of the late Duncan McRae, 
M.P.P., for many years a well-known lumber 
man of North Eldon. Mr. McRae was born in 
Scotland, and his wife. .Maria Dalgleish, in Que 
bec. After their marriage Mr. and Mrs. McRae 
settled in the bush at North Eldon, where he 
engaged in the manufacture of lumber, and 
meeting with such success that he became one of 
the lumber kings of Ontario. He represented 
his riding in the local Parliament or many 
years, being elected on the Conservative ticket. 
He and his wife died in 1879. Their children 
were: Isabella, widow of Alexander Woodson ; 
Susanna, deceased; Margaret, Mrs. Grover; Wil 
liam-, John-, Maria, wife of James Innis; An 
drew, deceased; Agnes, wife of Rev. Dr. Wallis 
Duncan ; Norman ; and "Walter. 

Shortly after their marriage Mr. and Mrs. 
Graver settled in Toronto, where Mr. Graver 
engaged in his own business, but after several 
years returned to Barrie to resume with his 
father their old business, which was finally dis 
posed of in 1897. He then returned to Toronto, 
where he continued to reside until the time of his 
death. In politics he was a Reformer, and in 
religious faith a Presbyterian. He left one son. 
Edward Roy. 

WILLIAM LINTON, president of the Domin 
ion Short Horn Breeders Association, is an 
Englishman who came to the New World in 
1857, equipped with ripe experience and means, 
and by his marked ability has made a position 
for himself among the foremost men of the Do 



minion. He bears a name which has been handed 
down through successive generations for over 
two centuries, and which has ever been kept un 
sullied and worthy of all honor. 

The first William Linton, of whom there is 
record, was born in England in 1692, and died 
Feb. 19, 1773. His son, William Linton (2), 
was born Jan. 15, 1727, and died July 13, 1808. 
William Linton (3), son of William (2), was 
born Dec. 25, 1758, and died at Craike, June 22, 
1836. These three are all buried at Craike, in 
Yorkshire, England. 

William Linton (4), son of William (3), born 
Oct. 7, 1805, at Craike, died in January, 1887, 
and was buried at Sheriff Hiitton, in Yorkshire. 
His business was that of a breeder of Short 
Horn cattle, a line which he continued success 
fully up to the time of his death in 1859. On 
Dec. 20, 1831, he married Jane Rocliffe, whose 
death occurred July 13, 1848. They were the 
parents of eight children, of whom only the son 
William lived in Canada. (1) Mary, born Jan. 
17, 1833, married George Earl, of Yorkshire, 
and died in March, 1887, leaving a family. (2) 
Jane, born Aug. 14, 1834, is the wife of Alfred 
Stables, a farmer of Nottaway County, Virginia, 
and has a large family. (3) John, born Aug. 14, 
1836, died in Sheriff Hutton, England, in Oct., 
1888, leaving seven children. (4) William. 
(5) Elizabeth, born March 28, 1840, became the 
wife of Rev. Mr. Mclntosh, of Yorkshire, and 
died leaving four sons. (6) Ann, born July 
7, 1842, is the wife of Edwin Stables, of Nott 
away County, Virginia. (7) Hannah, born Nov. 
15, 1844, is the wife of John Dixon, of Cadeby, 
England, and has one son, Linton. (8) Ger 
trude, born July 21, 1846, married Joseph Sug- 
gitt, J.P., of Sheriff Hutton, Yorkshire, and has 
children, Alfred, Linton, Hettie, Gertrude, Elsie 
and Daisie. William Linton (4) married 
(second) Oct. 18, 1849, Mary England, of Hull. 

William Linton (5), of Canada, was born at 
Sheriff Hutton, Yorkshire, England, March 31, 
1838. He was given a good education, attend 
ing the public schools and then the grammar 
schools of Lincoln, England. As he grew to 
manhood he assisted his father in his business 
of stock raising, and as the latter was one of the 
foremost breeders of Short Horn cattle in that 
country, the young man acquired a most valu 
able experience, which contributed not a little to 
his own success in the same line later. He re 
mained at home until May, 1857, when he took 
passage for Quebec, and thence went directly to 
County York. He worked for a time as deputy 
sheriff in Barrie, but that same year he married 
Miss Eunice S. Clark, and they settled on the 
old Clark homestead, where Mr. Linton went into 
stock raising on a small scale. He is engaged in 



184 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



the general breeding of fine stock, but makes a 
specialty of Short Horn cattle, both he and 
Sir William Mulock having fine herds and being 
authorities on the subject. In 1902, during a 
trip back to England, he bought three head from 
King Edward s prize herd for Sir William Mu 
lock. In 1904, he was sent by the Dominion Gov 
ernment as emigration agent to England. He 
was elected in 1903 president of the Dominion 
Short Horn Breeders Association and served 
for two years. Mr. Linton s political associa 
tions are with the Liberal party, but he has 
never sought office, and his official positions have 
been confined to those of trustee for. the public 
and high schools of Aurora and member of the 
Council of Aurora. 

Mrs. Linton belongs to one of the old families 
of County York, and was born in 1836, at the 
homestead on Yonge Street, now in the corpora 
tion of Aurora. She was the daughter of Ed 
wards and Annie (Eames) Clark, both natives 
of the United States. The mother was born near 
Boston, Mass., in 1790, while the father was 
born in Vermont, in 1783, and came to Can 
ada with his father, Daniel Clark, in 1796. 
Daniel Clark was a man of means, and invested 
largely in land all over County York. Edwards 
Clark settled on the property now occupied by 
Mr. Linton, and engaged in agricultural pur 
suits there until his death in August, 1866, at 
the age of eighty-three years. His wife passed 
away May 21, 1850. They left a family of 14 
children, of whom Mrs. Linton was the youngest. 
Her entire life has been spent on the farm which 
is still her home, though it has necessarily altered 
considerably in appearance through all these 
years. Mr. Linton has not only developed its 
resoiirces greatly, but has put up many new 
buildings on the place. 

Mr. and Mrs. Linton have had a family of 
eight children: (1) Mary E., born in 1859, died 
aged six years. (2) Ann J., born in July, 1861, 
died in August, 1900. (3) Gertrude, born in 
November, 1864, became the wife of W. E. 
O Brien, of Vancouver, B.C., by whom she has 
had four children, Gertrude, Hazel (deceased, 
twin to Gertrude), May and Beryl. (4) Roc- 
liffe, born in January, 1867, served in the 
Strathcona Horse in the South African war, 
and was presented with a medal by King Ed 
ward VII., and when he attended the coronation 
of King Edward received another medal. He 
now resides at Vandorf. He married Miss Ada 
Sissman, and they have two children, William 
and Beryl. (5) Bvron, born in August, 1869, 
died in August, 1876. (6) William, born in 
February. 1873. live at home unmarried. (7) 
Theresa, now in Toronto, has had an unusually 
complete training as a professional nurse. As 



a girl she attended the public and high schools 
of Aurora, and in 1900 was graduated from the 
^ible Training School of Toronto. Two 
years later she entered the Toronto Train 
ing School for Nurses, and after two years 
work there went to Great Britain with her 
father and finished her professional studies by 
a year in the Hospital for Trained Nurses in 
Dublin. She was graduated at the head of her 
class, taking high honors, so that she is admir 
ably fitted for professional work. She has a 
fine mind, which has been well trained along 
general lines also, and is in the truest sense a 
cultured woman. During her stay abroad Miss 
Linton did not devote her entire time to study, 
but travelled considerably, seeing many points 
of interest, and visiting among her English re 
latives. In London she saw the sights which 
usually attract the tourist, such as the Tower, 
Westminster Abbey and Natural History Build 
ing, visited Scarborough and the castle at York, 
went to Edinburgh and Glasgow, the lakes of 
Killarney, and many other noteworthy spots. 
She returned to Canada in 1905, stopping en 
route at Montreal to see the Cathedral of Notre 
Dame and the famous Bank of Montreal. (8) 
One son died at birth. 

The Linton family occupies a high rank among 
the prominent people of County York, and the 
Province of Ontario. Mr. Linton s fine char 
acter has won him an assured place in the confi 
dence and esteem of those who know him. In reli 
gion he and his family are connected with the 
Disciples of Christ Church. 

ANGUS S. WILLIAMS, barrister, at New 
market, County York, was born Sept. 11, 1868, 
in East Gwillimbury. County York, son of Ad- 
dison and Mary (McCoy) Williams, and grand 
son of Orlin and Merida (Purdy) Williams. 

Orlin Williams was born in Watertown, New 
York, and came in his boyhood days to Prince 
Edward County. Ontario, and from there to the 
township of East Gwillimbury, County of York. 
By trade he was a blacksmith, and he set up his 
forge and carried on business, combining this 
with the making of potash for many years. In 
the latter industry he was assisted by his sons, 
of whom he had a number, his family being com 
posed of eleven children. The three survivors are: 
Addison, of the township of East Gwillimbury; 
John, of the County of Simcoe : and Orlin B., 
of Brockway Centre, Michigan. 

Addison Williams was born in East Gwillim 
bury, in 1835, and was trained to the blacksmith 
trade by his father. He married (first) Miss 
Jane Spooner. of the County of York, and then 
settled in his native township, where hp worked 
at his trade and also farmed. His first wife 



COMMEMOEATIVE BIOGEAPHICAL RECORD 



185 



died leaving no children. He married (second) 
Mary McCoy, daughter of James McCoy, who 
came to Canada from Belfast, Ireland, in Mrs. 
Williams childhood. To this marriage eight 
children were born, namely: Edmund, a ma 
chinist, lives in Cleveland, where he is a prosper 
ous business man (he has two children) ; Angus 
is mentioned below; Celia is the wife of J. H. 
Wight, of the village of Queensville: Norman 
lives in Toronto; Florence is the wife of Emer 
son Sheppard, of the township of North Gwil- 
limbury; and Fred E., Hattie M. and Marjorie 
are at home. 

Angus S. Williams was reared and primarily 
educated in the township of East Gwillimbury. 
but later entered the high school at Newmarket. 
During 1893 and 1894. he was a student at To 
ronto University, and later at Osgoode Hall. 
While a student at law he gained valuable ex 
perience by being connected with the law office 
of Barwick, Aylesworth, Wright & Moss, one of 
the leading firms of Toronto. He completed his 
studies in April, 1903, and was called to the Bar 
on Nov. 20, 1903. He located almost immediately 
at Newmarket, and here he has built up a large 
and lucrative practice. 

In June, 1894, Mr. Williams was married to 
Mrs. B. W. Howard, widow of the late B. AY. 
Howard, one of the prominent and wealthy 
agriculturists of East Gwillimbury-. Mr. Ho 
ward is survived by two children, namely: 
Milly, now the wife of E. S. Cane, of Newmarket; 
and W. C., of Newmarket. Mrs. Williams is a 
daughter of Asa and Jane Phillips, a prominent 
old U.E. Loyalist family of the County of York. 
Mr. and Mrs. Williams reside on their fine farm 
near Newmarket, formerly the property of Mr. 
Howard. Mr. Williams is a strong supporter 
of the Liberal party, and is at present secretary 
of the North Tork Reform Association, and he 
takes an active part in campaigning. He is 
past master of Tuscan Lodge, No. 99, A.F. & 
A.M. Both he and his wife are members of the 
Christian Church, in which he is deacon and 
superintendent of the Sunday School. He has 
many friends and admirers among his fellow 
citizens. 

DANIEL A. SINCLAIR, M.D., M.R.C.S.E.. 
of No. 315 Spadina Avenue, Toronto, has been 
a leading medical practitioner of Canada for 
more than forty years. 

The Sinclair family is originally from France, 
where the name was spelled St. Glair. In that 
country was a Count St. Clair, two of whose 
sons went with William the Conqueror to Bri 
tain. One of these brothers became a ruling 
factor in England and the other in Scotland. It 



is from the latter that Dr. D. A. Sinclair is de 
scended, and it was in this country that the name 
was changed. In direct descent from Count St. 
Clair is one Daniel Sinclair, grandfather of the 
Doctor, who was the Grier for and in the em 
ploy of the old Duke of Argyle, the grandfather 
of the present Duke, and was born in Sco