(navigation image)
Home American Libraries | Canadian Libraries | Universal Library | Community Texts | Project Gutenberg | Children's Library | Biodiversity Heritage Library | Additional Collections
Search: Advanced Search
Anonymous User (login or join us)
Upload
See other formats

Full text of "Representative men and old families of southeastern Massachusetts : containing historical sketches of prominent and representative citizens and genealogical records of many of the old families"












REPRESENIA'IIVE MEN 




and OLD FAMILIES of 






SOUTHEASTERN 






MASSACHUSETTS 






CONTAINING 

HISTORICAL SKETCHES OF PROMINENT AND 
REPRESENTAl'IVE liTIZENS AND GENEALOG- 
ICAL RECORDS OF MANY OF THE OLD FAMILIES 

illtjstrateB ' 

VOLUME 11 






J. H. BEERS&CO. 






C H J C A G Ci .  






1912 

















"^mih^-^^' 



~4^^— 



1\H 



Sf 










/ 



INDEX 



Akin Families 843, 1141 

Akin, Francis T 1141 

Akin, Mrs. Franklin S.... 1141 

Akin, Peleg P 843 

Akin, Thomas 1143 

Albro Family 1614 

Alden Families 1506, 1704 

Alden, George N 1507 

Alden, Lucas W 1704 

Alger, Mrs. Abbie A 1614 

Alger, Arthur M 896 

Alger Families 

894, 949, 1231, 1613 

Alger, Frank S 949 

Alger, Newton H 1613 

Alger, Stillman 1231 

Alger, Rev. William R... 895 

Allen, Edward H 356 

Allen, Ethan 1754 

Allen Families 

70, 350, 1380, 1678, 1754 

Allen, George H. H 357 

Allen, Gideon, Jr 355 

Allen, Gideon H 1380 

Allen. Gilbert 355 

Allen. Mrs. Horatio A 355 

Allen, James W 356 

Allen, Joseph D 1631 

Allen. Samuel 1739 

Allen, Mrs. Sophia A 1631 

Allen, Thomas F 1678 

Allen, Walter S.. 357 

Almy, Benjamin R 824 

Almy, Mrs. Emily M 826 

Almy Families 

670, 691, 824, 1662 

Almy, Noi-man L 1663 

Almy, William 672 

Ames Family 26 

Ames, Frederick L 29 

Ames, Miss Mary S 30 

Ames, Hon. Oliver 27 

.Ames, Hon. Oliver, Jr. . . . 28 
Anthony, Benjamin H.... 48 

Anthony, Daniel A 1550 

Anthony, Edmund 45 

Anthony, Edmund, Jr.... 46 

Anthony, Mrs. Ella F 1264 

Anthony Families ....45, 1550 
Anthony, Mrs. Sarah 0... 46 

Archer Family 108 

Archer, Dr. Jason H 109 

Archer, John J 109 



Arnold Families.480, 1302, 1336 

Arnold, Franklin 6 1302 

Arnold, Moses N 482 

Arnold, Wallace E 484 

Arnold, William B 483 

Arnold, Wilson W 1335 

Ashley, Mrs. Bettie H 1322 

Ashley, Charles S 151 

Ashley Families 150, 1321, 1783 

Ashley, George B 1783 

Ashley, Henry T 1322 

Ashley, Jefferson 1114 

Atherton, LeBaron 923 

Atwood, Alton B 611 

Atwood, Benjamin S...... 216 

Atwood, Charles A., M. D. 758 

Atwood, Charles H 1564 

Atwood, Charles N 609 

Atwood Families , 

216, 609, 758, 960, 1333, 

1366, 1543, 1563, 1616, 1788 

Atwood, George S 1333 

Atwood, Gustavus 1616 

Atwood, Dr. Joseph 1366 

Atwood, Josiah W 1564 

Atwood, Levi 1788 

Atwood, Marcus 1543 

Atwood, William B 960 

Averell, Edward E 1317 

Averill (Averell) Family. 1317 
Ayer (Ayers, Ayres) 

Family 1517 

Babeock Family 1521 

Bacon, Ebenezer 858 

Bacon Family 878 

Bacon, Mrs. Luoretia M. . 858 

Bailey Family 18 

Baker, Charles A 1127 

Baker, Charles F 295 

Baker, Charles L 1127 

Baker Families 

295, 572, 1087, 1099, 1126, 1319 

Baker, Capt. George 0.... 1087 

Baker, Capt. Joshua G . . . 572 

Ballou Family 455 

Ballou, Walter 455 

Barden Family 677 

Barden, Mrs. Louise B . . . . 681 

Barden, Winthrop F 681 

Barker, Anson J 1524 

Barker, Capt. Charles W.. 1410 
Barker, Mrs. Edith F..208, 247 



Barker, Edward 208 

Barker, Mrs. Emily K 1411 

Barker Families 

207, 331, 1410, 1524, 1655 

Barker, Orville A 1526 

Barnett, George D 1776 

Barney, Algernon H 1015 

Barney Families 1014, 1063 

Barney, Morgan 1064 

Barrows Families 611,1275 

Barrows, Fletcher L 1277 

Barrows, Horatio 1275 

Bartlett Families.841, 1079, 1255 

Bartlett, Frederick D 841 

Bartlett, Horace 1255 

Bass Family 517 

Bassett, Charles A 319 

Bassett Families 317, 1413 

Bassett, I^ester E 1415 

Bassett, Rufus W 319 

Bassett, Thomas B 320 

Bates, Mrs. Anna W...524, 536 

Bates, Mrs. Elderetta 1491 

Bates, Eliphalet R 852 

Bates Families 

401, 536, 851, 988, 1490 

Bates, Joshua 536 

Bates, Orrin 1490 

Bates, Mrs. Ruth T 853 

Battles, David W 1769 

Battles Family 1767 

Battles, Joseph 1770 

Baxendale, John V 1676 

Baxendale, John W 1676 

Baxendale, Thomas A 320 

Baylies, Charles S 526 

Baylies Family 524 

Baylies, John B 525 

Baylies, Mrs. Mary C 525 

Baylies, William 525 

Beal, Charles A 341 

Beal(s) Families 338,905, 1179 

Beal, Mrs. Florence L 340 

Beal, George A 339 

Beal, George C 340 

Beal, Herbert A 340 

Beals, Arthur L., M.D.... 1179 
Beals (Beal) Familiea.... 

338. 905.. il79, 1614' 

Beals, Isaiah A . . . w; lH4i 

Beals, Joseph E. .,..}• •••■•v- . ^"^ 
Beals, Walter h...^^:^..,:'J^l. 
Bearce, Mrs. JefferWMiS..', 



INDEX 



/live L, 
JS.....1511, 

/ H.. ...... 

.liam A. ...... 

^iiy 

lUiam H 

Families 954, 

.^e, Frank A 

iickford Family 

Bickford, George E 

Bickford, Mrs. Mary T. . . 

Bird Family 

Bishop Family 

Blackinton, Amos S....... 

Blackinton Family 

Blackmer (Blackmore) 

Family 

Blackmer, Herbert A 

Blackstone, Alfred V., M.D. 
Blackstons Family ...... 

Blackstone, Hollis M...... 

Blake Family 

Blake, James Edwin 

Blanding Family 

Blanding, AVilliam W..... 

Bliss, Charles E 

Bliss, Miss Cordelia L 

Bliss Families 808, 

Blossom, Aloiizo C 

Blossom Family 

ii.y ' 

 p 

  iot L 

: - ; . Abbie L 

'■. '■' 5 Anna H. . . .. 
Borden, Mrs. Bertha V... 
Borden. Mrs. Bethana B.. 
Borden, Miss Carrie L. . . . 

Borden, Charles F 

Borden, Edwin 

Borden, Mrs. Ellen F.. .. . 

Borden Families 

8, 82, 417, 553, 1228, 
Borden, Henry F., M.D. . . 

Borden, Jonathan 

Borden, Nathaniel B 

Borden, Nathaniel B., Jr.. 

Borden, Philip D 

Borden, Philip H 

Borden, Col. Richard 

Borden, Richard B 

Borden, Robert R 

Borden, Simeon, Sr 

Borden, Simeon, Jr 

Borden, Col. Tliomaa J 

Bourne, Edmnnd W 

Bourne I'amily 

Bourne, Standish 

Bowen F.imily 

Bowen, .Joseph A 

Boyden, Dr. Albert G. . . . . 
Boyder, viithur C. ..... , 

BtrMTen Family 

.Boyden, Mrs. Isabella W.. 

Boyden, Wallace C 

Bradford, Cornelius F . . . . 



1524 Bradford Families ...... 

1522 915, 1284, 1,305 

1226 Bradford, Miss Frances M. 916 

1226 Bradford, Lewis G 915 

213 Bradford, Miss Mary E... 1080 

213 Bradford, Mrs. Mary E... 1307 

214 Bradford, William 1079 

1746 Braley, Mrs. Annie E 949 

1746 Braley Families... 304, 948 

1513 Braley, Capt. Sierra L.... 948 

635 Brayton. Mrs. Caroline E. 125 

637 Brayton, David A 122 

1627 Brayton, Miss Elizabeth H. 123 

956 Br.ayton Family ..... 120 

753 Brayton, Miss Harriet H.. 124 

753 Brayton, Hezekiah A 124 

75,5 Brayton, John S 123 

422 Brayton, Miss Julia W... 122 

1779 Brayton. William B 122 

1474 Brett, Ellis 239 

1472 Brett Families 

239, 366, 516, 1764 

1530 Brett, Henry A .368 

1531 Brett, William F 367 

562 Brett, Zenas F 368 

560 Briggs, Abram T 999 

561 Brigas Families 

714 457. 510, 729, 911, 1000, 

714 1246, 1354, 1581, 1596 

1313 Briggs, Franklin 731 

1315 Briggs, George E 1596 

977 Briggs, George R... .. 1246 

978 Briggs, Seth M 1354 

976 Brightman. Charles 0. .... 851 

1476 Brightman, Charles P 1649 

1475 Brightman, Miss Eva St. C. 1648 

1516 Brightman Families. . .850, 1647 

1517 Brightman, Hathaway .... 1648 

839 Bronson Family 397 

340 Bronson, Dr. John R 397 

13 Brown Families. 008, 1273, 1771 

1359 Brown, Isaac A 1772 

419 Brown, Marcus A 1273 

13 Erownell, Alvin C 1030 

1247 Brownell, Benjamin F 1481 

555 Brownell, Mrs. Deborah D. 1481 

14 Brownell. Mrs. Evelyn H.. 777 
Brownell Families 

1248 691. 082, 1030, 1177, 1471, 
1228 1480, 1630 

554 Browiiell, Fenner 1472 

84 Brownell, Fenner C. 1472 

89 Brownell, Isaac T 1178 

1250 Brownell. Joseph 692 

419 Brow-nell. William H 1030 

P Bryant F.amilies 868, 1699 

13 BrV.int. Walter C 867 

1250 Buffington, Darius 1368 

87 Buffinton (Buffington) Fa- 

88 milies 1219, 1367, 1706 

11 Buffinton, Frank 1707 

1291 Buffinton, Mrs. James N.. 277 

1289 Buffinton, Oliver 1707 

1291 Bullard Family 1020 

1244 Bullard, John" T., M.D.... 1019 

1245 Bullock, Hon. William J.. 1296 

J44 Bump Families 1659, 1673 

, .„ Bump, James S 1674 

\Zn Bump, Josiah B 1660 

\^J: Burbank Family 1519 

147 Burrell, David T 1668 

147 Burrell Families 793, 1665 

1305 Burrell. Jarvis 1666 



Burt Families ..... 789, 1278 

Burt, Henry P ....... 791 

Burt, Samuel P. .......... 790 

Burt, T. Preston.......... 1279 

Bushee, Albert A. ....... 1791 

Bushee, Charles H ....... . 1790 

Bushee Family 1788 

Byram Family ........... 517 

Cady Family ........... 1050 

Cady, Frank L......... . 1050 

Gaboon, Mrs. Annie J.... 559 

Gaboon, Elleiy C ........ . S58 

Gaboon Family. .......... 558 

Caldwell, Benjamin 0..... 1108 

Caldwell Family. .....,.,. 1108 

Canedy Family. .......... 1452 

Canedy, Zebulon L. ....... . 1452 

Capron, Everett S 1583 

Capron Family 1582 

Capron, Harford A. ..... 1583 

Carleton Family 1750 

Carleton, George H 1750 

Carleton, Mrs. Mary W... 1751 

Carpenter, Mrs. Eliza J. . 1583 

Carpenter Families. . .642, 1578 

Carpenter, Frank L 642 

Carpenter, Mrs. Harriet D. 1581 

Carpenter, Henry L 1580 

Carpenter, Lyman 1581 

Carpenter, Shcpard W.... )580i 

Carr Family 5534 

Carr, Simeon D. 1534 

Gary, Charles H 1 564 

Cary Families 360, 517, 3 564 

Car'y, Mrs. Matilda F.... 363 

Gary, William H 360 

Case, Charles A 1663 

Case, Charles E 1745 

Case F.amilies 1663, 1745 

Case, Mrs. Nellie M 1664 

Caswell, Mrs. Eliza J 1640 

Caswell F.amily 1639 

Caswell, William H 1039 

Chace, Arthur F., M.D. . . . 707 

Chace, Benjamin S 707 

Chace, Charles A 707 

Chace (Chase) Families 

132, 237, 518, S54, 1218, 

1343, IGlo 

Chace, Frank C 1220 

Chace, Frank M ^kk 

Chace, George A 

Chace, George M 

Chace, Rev. Obadiah.. 
Chace, Mrs. Sarah A. . 

Chace, Walter F ., 

Chace, Warren 708 

Chace, William B. M...... 518 

Chamberlain Fiimily 403 

Chambeilain, Loyed E 402 

Chandler, Cleaveland A... 70 

Chandler Families. .68, 965, 1195 

Chandler, Henry W 966 

Chandler, Joseph 1196 

Chase, Edward L 1343 

Chase (Chace) Families... 

132, 237, 518, 854, 1218, 

1343, 1015 

Chase, Simeon E 133 

Child Family 1252 

Church Families... 5.52, 740, 1254 

Church, Nathaniel 552 



INDEX 



IX 



atliaway, Sai.uuel W. . . . G14 

athaway, WiilUam J. ... 1196 

authaway, C/harles L. . . 289 

Hauthaway, ijharles M. . . 288 

Haulliaway, 'l^iank: M. ... 291 

Bav'haway, (Mrs. Susan 

Avffusta 290 

Hawes, Edw ard E., M.D . . 600 

Hawes, Mrs'. Eliza P 1394 

Hawes Families 

227. 'oOO, 1183, 1389, 1392 

Hawes, Fr^ederick B 1391 

Hawes, Ge orge H 230 

H:iwes, Jonathan C 1391 

Hawes, l\''-rs. Mary W 1391 

Hawes, Ciliver K 230 

Eawes, (Jliver S 229 

Hawes, 'Svlvanus T 1392 

Hawes, William C 1184 

Hawes, William M 229 

Hawes. William T 1184 

Hawkins, Charles W 997 

Hawkins, Edward L 997 

Hawkins, Edwin M 997 

Hawldns Family 996 

Hawkins, Henry C 997 

Hay-s, Mrs. Helen L 1636 

Hay ward, Ernest L 885 

Haj ward Families 234, SS4. 1532 

Hay ward, John L 1532 

Hayivard, Dr. Joseph W . . 884 

Hay.vard, Walter B., M.D. 885 

Heard Family 517 

;iied(;e, Barnabas 1169 

Hedge Family 1168 

.Hedge, Mrs. Priscilla S. .. 1170 

Harney Family 985 

''lersom Family 1455 

Hersom, Tliomas 1455 

Hervey, E. Williams 912 

.Eervey Family 911 

Eowett, Miss Ellen E. . . . 478 

He\i'ett Family 477 

Hewett, Herman 478 

Hewett, Joseph 477 

Hewett, Justin 479 

Hewett, Mrs. Mary 479 

Hey wood. Miss Grace A... 1543 

Hey wood, John J 1542 

Hicks, Andrew 771 

Hicks, Barney 770 

Hicks, Miss Charlotte 771 

Hicks Family 769 

Hicks, Isaac 771 

Hicks, .John Jay 771 

Hicks, Miss Maria R 772 

Hicks, Mrs. Sarah A 772 

Hicks, William B 772 

Hill Family 675 

Hills Family 1495 

Hills, George H 1496 

Hobart, Hon. Aaron 7 

Hf bart, Edward S 

Hobart. Edward E 1567 

Hobart Families ...5. 796. 1567 

Hodge, Michael 743 

'"^odges Families 

846, 1051, 1319, 1584 

Frederick G ' 

' ''onard M. 
Ham B. 
) Far- 
inu' 



Holbrook, Mrs. Susan J... 1731 

Hollis, Mi-s. Esther 967 

Hollis Family 967 

Hollis, John H 967 

Hollywood Family 1683 

Hollywood, Joseph M 1683 

Holman, David Emory, 

M. D 298 

Holman Family 296 

Holman, Samuel F 298 

Holmes, Albert W 1424 

Holmes, Barnabas H 1518 

Holmes, Charles J 280 

Holmes, Charles L 281 

Holmes, Edward 395 

Holmes, Ezra 1680 

Holmes Families 

277, 392, 1424, 1518, IGSO 

Holmes, Frank H 395 

Holmes, Miss Helen 395 

Holmes, Miss Helen R. ... 1519 

Holmes, Josiah, Jr 1427 

Hoames, JiUdgei Lemuel TieB: 838 
"lolmes, Mrs. Mary A. . . . 281 

Holmes, Paraclete W 396 

Hood, Alfred H 592 

Hood Family 591 

Hood, William P 591 

Hooper Families 285, 555 

Hooper, Dr. Frederick H.. 555 

Hooper, George M 286 

Horton, Adin B 1237 

Horton, Charles M 919 

Horton, Edwin J 444 

Horton, Mrs. Emily H. . . 447 
Horton, Maj. Everett S. . . 442 

Horton Families 

441, 731, 917, 1236 

Horton, Gideon M 446 

Horton, James J 447 

Horton, Mrs. Mary J 1237 

Horton, Nathaniel B 1237 

Horton, Raymond M 448 

Hosmer Family 1408 

Hosmer, Stephen D 1408 

Hough Family 453 

Hough, Garry deN 454 

Hough, George A 454 

Hough, Dr. George T 453 

Hovey F.imily 1681 

Howard, Charles 96 

Howard, Cyrus 1715 

Howard, Daniel S., Jr 44 

Howard, Daniel S., Sr 42 

Howard, Miss Edith F 540 

Howard, Embert 309 

Howard Families 

40, 96, 309, r.36, 764. 993, 1162 
1513. 1038, 1668, 1682, 1715 

Howard, I'rancis E 536 

Howard, George 993 

Howard, Gorham B 43 

Howard, Harry C 995 

Howard, James E 1164 

Howard, .Jeremiah B 1515 

Howard, U>avitt T 1682 

Howard, Lester S 1515 

Howard, Mrs. Mary Cobb. 43 

-'■d, Nathan C 1514 

Mrs. Sylvia M. . . 1683 

'arren A 43 

■\v 1110 

vs H 1110 



Howland, Abraham H. ... 466 

Howland, Miss Elizabeth K. 155 

Howland Families 

153, 464, 805, 1116, 1323, 1508 

Howland, Miss Mary T... 467 

Howland, Peleg C 154 

Howland, Hon. Weston . . . 467 

Hubbard, Mrs. Clara I 860 

Hudner Family 1728 

Hudner, Michael T. 1729 

Hume, Miss E. Maude . . . 556 

Humphrey Families. . 1625, 1710 

Humphrey, Galen 1626 

Himiphrey, George W 1711 

Hunt, Dr. Charles R 522 

Hunt Families 334, 521, 1059 

Hunt, Reuben 1060 

Hussey, Miss Emily Morgan 135 

Hussey, George 135 

Hussey-Morgan Family. . . 134 

Ingraham Family 1784 

Ingraham, Robert C...... 1785 

Innesa, Thomas B. 526 

Ivers, Miss Ella F 265 

Ivers Family 264 

Ivers, Samuel 264 

Jackson, Amos M., M.D... 162 

Jackson, Elisha T 1076 

Jackson Families 160, 1073 

Jackson, James F 1076 

Jackson, John A 1074 

.Jackson, John H., M. D. . . 161 

Jackson, Oliver H., M. D. . 162 

Jackson, Prescott H 1075 

Jackson, Ralph W., M. D. . 161 

Jean, Jean B 1324 

Jenkins Family 400 

Jenkins, George 0.- 400 

Jenney Families ....1544, 1700 

Jenney, Mrs. Mary A 195 

Jennej', Mrs. Mary E 1545 

Jenney, Perry P 1545 

Jennings, Jlrs. Annie B . . . 366 

.Jennings Family 364 

Jennings, William H 365 

Jones, 'Mrs. Abbie B 396 

Jones, Augustus T 578 

Jones, Bradford E 235 

Jones Families 235, 578 

Jones, Heni'y M 397 

Keevey, Peter 1404 

Keith, Adelbert F 18 

Keith, Allen P 718 

Keith, Bela 654 

Keith, Charles 74 

Keith, Charles P 74 

Keith, Dennis Gary 23 

Keith, Edward A 19 

Keith, Edward H 429 

Keith, Edward P 1575 

Keith, Edwin (Brockton). 778 

Keith, Edwin (Taimton).. 183 

Keith, Eldon B 23 

Keith, Elmer L 1423 

Keith Families 

14. 71, 184, 267, 426, 
488, 718, 775, 783, 1145, 

1352, 1420, 1465, 1575, 1585 

Keith, Frank P 1464 



INDEX 



Kei^. , George E 20 

■^^•;i' , Harold C 23 

!Ui."' , Horace A 267 

.li'"'';-, Howard P 1585 

KtiOi, Martin L 777 

f;<'!(,li, Merton S 1424 

Ktil;:, Myron L 25 

K<>)i', Nahuni Williams.. 1352 

Kftiti , Nathan 1145 

Pvn'ci., Preston B 75 

tftlth, Roland M 489 

Keith, Rufus P 77 

XjAlh, Miss Sarah E. . . . 185 

■~rM:h, Capt. Seth 382 

. .-' , Simeon Elliott .... 430 

;; ;: , S. Lorin 400 

y.'.'- ' , Solomon 490 

■■■:. ., Wallace C, M. D.. 783 

.. ,111, Warren R 428 

■>:,■! .h, Ziba C 779 

, . Jey, Charles S 243 

iV.'jley Families 241, 1411 

I'.ll.-y, George W 888 

i< (-:' loy, Mrs. Sarah A 244 

Kf'.ipton, David B 937 

KjLi;)ton Families ....936, 1026 

Ee.iiDton, Mrs. Susan H... 937 

j'Cem. John S 90 

K;it;'irn(Kilbom-ne) Family 1619 

Killv.irn, William J ' 1G20 

Kin uall Family 130 

King Family 1165 

Sir;;-, William B 1166 

t'^i'^man, Benjamin S 1043 

j\ in.^man, Calvin D 408 

Jsii.gman Families 

•109, 913, 974, 1325, 1540, 1643 

Kingman, Gardner J 1325 

Kingman, Herbert L 913 

Kingman, Horace 974 

J-'.iiigman,i Josiah W 1326 

iZingman, Mrs. Mary A. . . 410 

Kiiig:man, Ruins P 1541 

Kirby Families 601, 917 

1v,by, Holder C, M. D.. . 603 

s^iu.wles, Daniel M 196 

Jinowles, Edward 196 

Knowles Family 192 

Knowles, Henry M 196 

K,uowle3, Capt. John P. . . 194 

Knowles, John P., Jr 195 

is./!.~wles, Joseph . '. 197 

Ki;owles, Joseph C 195 

Ki.owles, Joseph F 198 

Ivi'owles, Mrs. Mary J. . . 195 

ICi/'^wles, Thomas H 194 

Knowles, William H 196 

Kollock, Mrs. Helen M. .. 1516 

Kollock, Lemuel M 1516 

Lane, Alonzo 662 

Lane, Mrs. Deborah M. ... 1404 

Lane, Maj. Everett 662 

Lane Families 060, 1402 

Lane, George F 1402 

Lane, Mrs. Helen E 662 

Lane, Jenkins 661 

Lane, Richmond J 661 

Lane, Zenas M 662 

Lawrence Family 1164 

Lawrence, Miss Ida E 1165 



Lawrence, James W' 116: 

Lawrence, Dr. N. Louise.. 162i 

Lawson Family 136! 

Lawson, Frederick W 1369 

Lawton, Charles H 512 

Lawton, Mrs. Clara P. . . . 513 

Lawton Family 511 

Lawton, Horace A 512 

Lawton, Mrs. Marv E 512 

Leach Families. . .'380, 382, 1084 

Leach, Henry W 1085 

Leach, James C 379 

Leach, Mrs. Phebc 381 

LeBaron Families 831, 1035 

Leonard, Cornelius II. ... 1377 

Leonard, Daniel B 590 

Leonard Families 

587, 1217, 1264, 1277, 1378 

Leonard, Henry T 589 

Leonard, Job M 1265 

Leonard, Milton H,, M.D. 590 

Leonard, Theodore W. . . . 1218 

Lewis Families 211, 1008 

Lewis, Zcnas W 1008 

Lincoln, Edward 346 

Lincoln, Edward E 346 

Lincoln Families. . .66, 343, 1010 

Lincoln, George A 1012 

Lincoln, Miss Helen B. . . . 67 

Lincoln, Henry C 346 

Lincoln, Heniy E 1012 

Lincoln, James M 348 

Lincoln, Mrs. Jeauctto A.. 1013 
Lincoln, Jonathan T. (de- 
ceased) •"44 

Lincoln, Leoutine 347 

Lincoln, Lorenzo 348 

Lincoln, Miss Mary E 346 

Lincoln, Nathaniel R 348 

Lincoln, Theodore G 67 

Lincoln, Theodore I; 67 

Lincoln, Gen. Tliomas .... 66 

Lindscy, Crawford E 21;i 

Lindsey Family 214 

Lindsey, Mrs. Mary E 216 

Little Family 1545 

Lothrop, Edwin H 880 

Lothrop Families 31, 880 

Loud Family 389 

Loud, Reuben ' 389 

Lovell, Dr. Charles E 1076 

Lovell Families 

1076, 1205, 1463, 1624 

Lovell, George W 1464 

LovoU, Samuel C 1205 

Levering, Charles L 63 

Lovering Family 61 

Lovering, Henry j\t 65 

Lovering, Willard 62 

Lovering, William C 64 

Low, Emery M 438 

Low Family -438 

Luce, Arthur G 1687 

Luce Family 1686 

Luce, Capt. Hervey E 1686 

Luce, Matthew 1061 

Lund Family 182 

Lund, Parkman M 184 

Luscomb, Andrew 349 

Lu!'"ii' ■. ~' s. Mary M. . . . ' 

Lui. ..,'1 :■ les B 

Lu ' ••  .lilies 683, 



' -■!' ier, Joseph G. .;. . . 
• -.■'.ler, Samuel M. I . . 
-^ „n, Arthur V., M,.D. 
Lyon Family \ . . 

Macomber Families .' . 
1144,\l 
Macomber, Miss Harriie 
Macomber, Capt. John', 
Macomber, John C. . . ,. 

Macomber, Joseph L. .'.... ili-i\j 

Macy, Edwin B 3 . , , 293 

Macy Family '. . . 291 

Macy, Frank H 294 

Macy, Frederick '.. . 29i^ 

Macy, Frederick B 29? 

Macy, George 1 293 

Macy, James R 294 

Macy, Philip E 294 

Macy, Tliomas W 294 

Magiathlin Family 998 

Maglathlin, Capt. Henry B. 998 

Magri, Countess Lavinia.. 1674 

Makinson Family .'206 

Makinson, John F 1206 

Manchester Family 1005 

Mandell, Augustus IT.. M.D. I'i36 

Mandell Family 1''35 

Manley, Albert 1 194 

Manley Families ....1191, 1533 

Manley, Milo 1193 

Mann, Charles F 1)74 

Mann Families 673, ')4C 

Mann, Frederick C 072 

Mann, Mrs. Pamelia L. . . ()74: 

Manning Family 1611 

Manning, Lucian W 1C13 

Marang, Mrs. Clara Swift. 2,57 

Marbel Family 1557 

Marbel, Capt. William P.. 1557 

Marshall Family 1232 

Marshall, Howard T 1234 

Marston, Arthur B., 3d... 1695 

Marston Family 1693 

Marston, Harry L i6Sl^ 

Marston, Zenas L ICS , 

Martin Family 74 ; 

Marvin Family 39 

Mavx in. Nelson H 39 

Mii-on Families 

405, 518, 934, 1048, 104 

Mason, Francis A 104- 

Mason, Frederick 40:- 

Mason, Herbert N 105i' 

Maxim, Charles M 177' 

Maxim, Clarence W 177! 

Maxim Family 1'^^' 

McCrillis Family 172' 

McCrillis, Mrs. Hetty T....172J 

McCrillis, John S 172/ 

McCullough. Jolm 508 

McLathlin Family 1752 

MeWhirr, Mrs. Elizabeth J. 1361 

McWliirr, Robert A 1360 

Meaney, Mrs. Mary 1462 

Meaney, Thomas J 1460 

Mendell, James H 1537 

Messingor, Austin 1376 

H Family 637 

 Mshai 125 

Uig Families . 



INDEX 



XI 



families 

126, 1004, 1171, 1386, 1419 

aller, Franklin H 1172 

Miller, John A 1005 

Miller, Southard H 1172 

Milliken, Charles W., M.D. 301 

Milliken Families 302, 1481 

Milliken, Mrs. Helen K. . . 197 

Milliken, Joseph K 1483 

Mitchell Families ....282, 287 

Mitchell, Herbert 284 

Mitchell, Isam 283 

Moore, Charles E 617 

Morey Family 541 

Jlorgan, Charles W 135 

Morgan Family 134 

Morse, Alfred B 939 

Morse, Edward N 939 

Morse Families 

937, 1433, 1568, 1774 

Morse, Harrison 1568 

Morse, John P 1773 

Morse, Justin N 940 

Morse, Nahum F 1433 

Morton, Charles H 1364 

Morton, Ephraim S 1181 

Morton Families 

, 358, 548, 901, 1182, 1363 

Morton, Herbert A 551 

Morton, James M., LL. D. 359 

Morton, James M., 3d 360 

Morton, Hon. Marcus .63, 551 

Morton, Thomas J 550 

Miinro (Munroe) Family. . 1775 

Munroe, Miss Charlotte B. 1776 

Munroe, Josiah 1776 

• ash, Mrs. Clara J 922 

ash Families 920, 1151 

ash, Thomas N 921 

\eill, Hon. Joseph 739 

■eill, Mrs. Marv J. Conant 739 

Tclson Families 458, 1546, 1589 

■elson, Mrs. Hannah 

Coomer 460 

elson, John H 1589 

i-elson, Mrs. Mary D. W. . 1592 

Kelson, Sidney Tucker . . . 1549 

Nelson, William H 459 

•lewcomb Families . . . 159, 820 

Miwcomb, Miss Harriot A. 

67, 160 

' feWcomb, Nathaniel 159 

^cwoomb, Mrs. Sarah J... 

822, 847 

'fewcomb, Washington L. . 821 

■'■fewton, Mrs. James E . . . . 984 

fickerson. Capt. Alfred . . 173 

.-foyes, Edward 1503 

■■foyes FamJIv 1503 

Nutter, Charles L 255 

Nutter Faiiiily 253 

Nutter, Isaac N 254 

K utter, Richard W 255 

Nye, Charles H 412 

Nye, Charles H., Jr 413 

Nye, David D 1261 

Nye Families. 329, 412, 785 

1103, 1107, 1234, 1356, 1743 

Nye, James H 1234 

Nye, Obed 785 

Nye, Mrs. Susan C 1104 

Nye, Thomas 1104 



Nye, Willard 330 

Nye, Willard, Jr 331 

Nye, William F 1107 

Nye, William L 1357 

Oesting, F. William 982 

Oesting, Mrs. Violetta C. 982 

Osborn Family 37 

Osborn, Mrs. Hannah F. . . 532 

Osborn, James E 40 

Osborn, James M 39 

Osborn, Judge Joseph .... 37 

Osborn, Weaver 38 

Osborn, William J 37 

Osborne Family 750 

Osborne, William H. ..'. . 752 

Packard, Mrs. AUie V. ... 1148 

Packard, Davis S 78 

Packard, DeWitt Clinton . . 081 

Packard, Elmer C 513 

Packard Families 78, 111, 326, 

513, 520, 604, 681, 1214, 1258 

1374, 1488, 1636, 1702, 1752 

Packard, Frederick Ill 

Packard, Fred H 604 

Packard, Fred L 1216 

Packard, George A 1702 

Packard, Mrs. Harriet J... 1753 

Packard, Josiah Q 1488 

Packard, Martin 1636 

Packard, Moses A 326 

Packard, Nathan F 1752 

Packard, Nathaniel R. . . . 520 

Packard, Robert H 1374 

Packard, Sidney E 1215 

Packard, Stunner T 80 

Packard, Warren B 606 

Page (Paige) Family .... 556 

Paige, Nomus, M. D 556 

Paige, Dr. Onias 558 

Paine, A. Elliot, M. D 905 

Paine Family 903 

Park Family 1758 

Park, Frederick Waldo ... 1758 

Parker, David L 1017 

Parker Families 1016, 1271 

Parker, Capt. Josiah 1467 

Parker, Ward M 1016 

Parker, William C 1271 

Parker, William N 1466 

Partridge, Miss Deborah A. 1372 

Partridge Family 1371 

ParUl, Mrs. Abbie F 142 

Paull, Elbridge G 1690 

PauU Families ..141, 1493, 1689 

Paull, John 141 

Pearse Family 1099 

Pearse, George G 1102 

Pearse, William G 1102 

Pearse, William H., de- 
ceased 1101 

Pearse. William H 1102 

Peck, Capron 1201 

Peck, Clarence A 748 

Peck Families 746, 1200 

Peck, Frank 749 

Peck, Herbert L 748 

Peck, Jathniel A 746 

Peck, Miss Lvdia D 1202 

Peck, Russell A 748 

Peckham, Anson C.,M. D.. 1037 



Peckham Families . . . 1038, 1528 

Peckham, Henry C 1527 

Peirce, Mrs. Amanda E. . . 34 

Peirce, Charles M., Jr. ... 34 

Peirce Family 810 

Peirce, Hon. James P 810 

Penney Family 1725 

Penney, Justin B 1725 

Percival, Henrv M 936 

Perkins Families 

,■ 231, '312, --647, 1148, 

1485, 1588, 1600, 1721, 1739 

Perldns, George A 1486 

Perkins, Henry 647 

Perkins, James 1588 

Perkins, Merritt G 233 

Perkins, Oscar C 232 

Perkins, Stillman S 1721 

Perkins, Thomas H 1486 

Perkins, William (2) 1601 

Perry, Alonzo W 1160 

Perry, Augustus -F 1698 

Perry Families 1160, 1698 

Perry, Mrs. Lucy M 464 

Perry, Mrs. Susan B 1699 

Philbrick, Mrs. Annie E. . . 349 

Phillips Family 928 

Phillips, Capt. Jacob B. . . . 800 

Phillips, Lot 928 

Pickens Families. .411, 641, 811 

Pierce, Alfred 533 

Pierce, A. Martin, M. D . . . 33 

Pierce, Andrew G 35 

Pierce, Anthony 910 

Pierce, Mrs. Caroline L... 36 

Pierce, Charles S 157 

Pierce, Miss Clara 911 

Pierce (Pearce, Pearse) 

Families 32, 155, 533, 910, 1491 

Pierce, George R 157 

Pierce, James 1491 

Pierce, Mrs. Lizzie J 34 

Pierce, Mrs. Mary 1492 

Pierce, Otis N 36 

Pitts Families 718, 1355. 

Pitts, Joseph S 1355 

Poisson, Joseph 1260 

Poole, Benjamin F 1058 

Poole Families. 1057, 1136, 1449 

Poole, Isaac B 1449 

Poole, I. Chester 1450 

Poole, Jerome B 1060 

Pope, Charles E 1455 

Pope Families 922, 1454 

Porter Family 628 

Porter, Henry S 628 

Porter, John 568 

Potter, Andrew H 1285 

Potter, Capt. Alden T. . . . 1043 

Potter Families 1043, 1284 

Potter, Warren B 1286 

Potter, William F 1287 

Pratt, Augustus 1338 

Pratt, Dr. Charles A 569 

Pratt, Charles H 1372 

Pratt Families.. 796, 1251, 

1338, 1342, 1350, 1372, 1382 

Pratt, Henry K 1251 

Pratt, Henry T 1352 

Pratt. Mrs. Jennie E 1251 

Pratt, Joseph 1381 



Xll 



INDEX 



Pratt, Mrs. M. Adah 1452 

Pratt, . Prescott H 1341 

Presbrey Family 797 

Presbrey, Mrs. Fannie S. . . SOO 

Presbrey, Silas D., M. D.. . 708 

Presbrey, William L 799 

Proctor Family 1702 

Puffer F-amily 575 

Puffer, Dr. Loring W 575 

Quinby Family 822 

Quinby, Oliver B 822 

Randall Family 1732 

Randall, George H 1732 

Rankin Family 1556 

Rankin, Mrs. Kate J 1557 

Rankin, William 1556 

Rankin. William J 1557 

Read, Alexander, M. D. . . 92 

Read, Benjamin B 1407 

Read, Mrs. Cynthia A 620 

Eead(e) Families 

91, 540, 619, 1407 

Read, Joseph R 619 

Read, Paddock R 540 

Read, William A 92 

Reade (Reed) Families... 

49, 341, 853 

Reed, Arthur B 388 

Reed, Edward P 387 

Reed (Reade) Families ... 

49, 341, 386, 859, 1151, 1670 

Reed, Mrs. Georgiana S . . . 388 

Reed, Henry G 860 

Reed, Mrs. Joseph S 1789 

Reed, L. Alston 342 

Reed, Lucius 341 

Reed, Hon. Warren A 49 

Remington, Clinton V. S.. 175 
Remington, Mrs. Elizabeth 

A. . 174 

Remington Family 173 

Remington, Hale 175 

Remington, Joshua 281 

Remington, Robert K 173 

Reynard, Capt. Robert P.. . 1018 

Reynard, Capt. William H. 919 

Reynolds, Bion F 658 

Reynolds, Charles T 656 

Reynolds, Edmund D 1670 

Reynolds, Mrs. Ellen K . . . 653 

Reynolds, Mrs. Emily J . . . 1205 

Reynolds, Miss Emma D.. 1432 

Reynolds, Enos H 1202 

Reynolds Families 051, 655, 

75(., 1202, 1398, 1429, 1671 

Reynolds, Isaac N 1398 

Reynolds, Jay B 657 

Reynolds, Jonas 651 

Reynolds, Lowell M 657 

Reynolds, Luke W 659 

Reynolds, Mrs. Minnie I.. 738 

Reynolds, Philip 1428 

Reynolds, Mrs. Sarah S. . . 657 

Rhodes Family 420 

Rhodes, George H 421 

Rhodes, John B 422 

Rhodes, John C 422 

Rhodes, Marcus M 421 

Rice, Charles L 1123 

Rice, Clarence E 1126 

Rice Family 1121 



Rice, John A 1122 

Richards, Sirs. Winifred C. 1129 

Richardson Familj' 541 

Richardson, Heniy A 542 

Richardson, Miss Linda . . 542 

Roarty Family 1 308 

Roarty, James A 1308 

Robbins, Benjamin W. ... 1610 

Robbins Fam'ily 1610 

Robbins, Mrs. Frank B. . . . 922 

Robertson, John T 739 

Rodman Family 384 

Rodman, Miss Julia W. . . 386 

Rodman, Thomas R 384 

Rogers, Asa 1511 

•' Rogers Families 203, 430 

Rogers, Frank L 1653 

Rogers, Henry Huttleston . 430 

Rogers, Capt. John 1652 

Rotch Family 247 

Rotch, Morgan 249 

Rotch, William J 248 

Rounseville, Alden, Jr. . . . 1640 

Rounseville, Cyrus C 202 

Rounseville Families. .201, 1640 

Rugg, Cliarles P 1042 

Rugg Family 1641 

Rugg, Mrs. 'iMary P 1642 

Ruggles Family 952 

Ruggles, John A 052 

Ruggles. Mrs. Susan R. . . 953 

Russell Families.. 743, 885, 1247 

Russell, George T 885 

Russell, Henry T 887 

Russell, Mrs. Ruble D. . . . 888 

Sampson, Elnathan T. . . . 1282 

Sampson Families 

1034, 1282, 1661 

Sampson, George R 1034 

Sanford, Baalis 545 

Sanford, Dr. Edward 931 

Sanford, Rev. Enoch, D. D. 931 

Sanford Families 

185. 545, 930, 1573 

Sanford, John Elliott 187 

Sanford, Miss Kate 1 188 

Sanford. ]\liss L. Augusta. 931 

Sanford, Philip H 1653 

Sanford, Samuel T 1574 

Sanford, Mrs. Sarah A.... 1653 

Sanford, Mrs. Susan 1575 

Savery Families 1569, 1625 

Sawin, Ezekiel R 1388 

Sawin Family 1386 

Sayer, Miss Caroline M... 1119 

Sayer Family 1118 

Sayer, Frederic L 1119 

Sayer, William L 1119 

Scates Family 1535 

Scates, John 1535 

Seabury, Alexander H. . . . 81 

Seabury, Charles P 571 

Seabury Families 80, 569 

Seabury, Miss Helen H.... 571 

Seabury, Humphrey W. . . 570 

Seabury, Miss Mary B. . . . 571 

Seabury, Mrs. Sarah W. .. 571 

Sears, Chaunccy H 168 

Sears Families 166, 638 

Sears, Henry W 640 

Severance Family 1 156 

Severance, Lorenzo F 1157 



Se. Mrs. Slarv 1 

Sh'iw, .tlett M. .'. . 
Shaw, Benjamin C. . . 
Sliaw, Capt. Charles F. 
Shaw, Mrs. Etta F. . . 

Shaw, Eugene E 

Shaw Families 

343, 607, 696, 828, 865, 

972, 1041, 1185, 1505, 1598 

Shaw, Francis E 670 

Shaw, Francis M 068 

Shaw, Job L 1187 

Shaw, John J., M. D 865 

Shaw, Josepli 1505 

Shaw, Linus H 669 

Shaw, William H 1597 

Sherman, Albert S 1555 

Sherman, Elbridge G 1358 

Sherman Families 468, 1170, 1358, 

1519, 1553, 1571, 1720, 1756 

Sherman, James L 1572 

Sherman, Nathaniel B. . . . 1756 

Sherman, Nelson 407 

Sherman, Wilson 1553 

Short Family 888 

Short, Mace B. " 888 

Short, Mrs. Nancy B 890 

Shove, Charles M 119 

Shove, Charles .'. 118 

Shove, Edward 119 

Shove Family 117 

Shove, Mrs. Sarah Elmen- 

dorf 120 

Shove. Walter Frank 120 

Shurtletr, Albert T 710 

Shurtleff Families 709, 959, J384 

Shurtleff, Mrs. Maria Y rm 
Shurtleff, Nathaniel F. 
Shurtleff, Walter D., M 

Simmons Family 

Sinunons. John 

Sisson, Arnold B 

Sisson, Mrs. Hannah A. 

Sladc, Abbott E 

Slade, Abner 

Slade, David F 

Slade Families 

471, 649, 708, 1085, I'. 

Sladc, George W 

Sladc. John L l Mi- 

Slade, John P 'iof' 

Slade, Jonathan 17? 

Slade, l\Irs. Lois A liSO 

Slade, Nathan 1'I85 

Slade, William L -17^ 

Slade, William W 474 

Small Family 77? 

Small, Reuben C 77? 

Smith, Dr. Andrew J 732 

Smith, Bradford ['30 

Smith Families 847, V!80 

Smith, Irani 1791 

Smith, Mrs. Timothy .U;7 

Snell, David A 1633 

Snell Families 1394. 1032 

Snell, Varanus 1394 

Snow Families ..208, 1345, 1437 

Snow, George G 209 

Snow, George H 21 1 

Snow, Herbert E 210 

Snow, Levi M 1345 

Snow, Loum 1439 

Snow, Robert 1440 



INDEX 



Xlll 



Soule Faiiiil.es 

 40, 842, 1007, 1089 

Soule, Genri.e D 1000 

Soule, Miv-.. Haiinnh 1090 

Soule, Oalccs S 1089 

Soule, Eufus A 451 

Soule, Tlioinas H 453 

Southwoitl., Echvavd 1539 

Soutlnvoitl., Miss Ella F... 1539 
Soutlittortii Families 1539, 1621 
Soutliwort'i, jMaicus C... 1621 

Sparc Family 373 

Spare. Pr. joliii 374 

Spare, Joiin V 375 

Sparrow Family 1068 

Sparrov, Frank M 1072 

Sparrov,', Harry P 1070 

Sparroiv, Jacob A 1070 

Sparrow, Solomon E 1071 

SparrcM', Dr. William E... 1071 
Sparro.v, William E., Jr.. 1071 

Spenci, Mrs. Anne F 266 

Spemc, James W 267 

Sjienie, John 266 

Sperioe. William H 267 

Sprcat Family 1418 

Sprcat, Horace M 1418 

Sta.y Family 1172 

Stacy. William H 1172 

.St.-ndish Family 1292 

.Staples. Mrs. Alice M 105 

Stiples Family 103 

Staples, Herbert M 104 

S.aples. Sylvanus N 103 

Starrett, Artlinv P 1760 

f-tenrns, Mrs. Caroline W.. 1093 

Stetirns Family 1092 

Stearns, William L 1092 

Stetson Families 257, 603 

Stetson, George W 260 

Stetson, John M 260 

Stiitson, Nahum (deceased) 258 

Stetson, Nnhum 260 

Stetson, Mrs. Ruth B. . . . 200 
Stoddard, Mrs. Sarah M... 1388 

S;robridge Family 1492 

S;udley. Ezekiel 'E 903 

Studlev Families 826, 902 

Studley, Gideon S27 

Sturdy, Albert W 500 

Sturdy, Charles A 500 

Sturdy, Charles H 500 

■Sturdy Family 496 

,'^t,urdy, Frederic E 498 

Sturdy, James H 499 

Sturdy, John F 497 

Sturdy, William A 497 

Sturtevant Family 1742 

Sullivan, Mrs. Catherine E. 1005 

Sullivan, John B 1604 

Sumner Family 260 

Swain, David G 1758 

Swain Family 1758 

Swan Family 1656 

Swan, Henry S.. M.D 1650 

Swan, Mrs. Matilda J.... 1659 

Sweet, Andrew H 1376 

Sweet Families 1376, 1789 

Sweet, Frank R 1789 

Swift, Hon. Charles Francis 1294 
Swift, Miss Elizabeth P.. 1561 

Swift Families 

114, 199, 256, 1295, 1459, 1559 



Swift, Franklyn K 200 

Swift, Frederick C 1296 

Swift, Humphrey Hatha\vay 115 

Swift, Moses C 1561 

Swift, Noble P 256 

Swift, Rodolphus Nye 200 

Sylvester, Charles F 908 

S3'lvester Families 862, 907 

Sylvester, Frederick 909 

Sylvester, George 1 909 

Sylvester, IMrs. Laura G . . 909 

Sylvester, Robert 864 

Sylvia, Antone L 1609 

Taber, Charles S 786 

Taber, Edward S 206 

Taber Families 

205, 474, 711, 786, 1024 

Taber, Frederic 476 

Taber, George H 712 

Taber, Capt. Jacob 463 

Taber, Jolm H 712 

Taber, Mrs. Laura H 786 

Taber, Miss Mary Kempton 1026 

Taber, William G 1025 

Talbot Family 665 

Talbot, George H 665 

Tannatt Family 1743 

Tannatt. James C 1743 

Tappan, Charles H 272 

Tappan, Ephraim H 271 

Tai)pan Family 270 

Tappan, Mrs. Fannie M... 273 

Tappan, Frank E 273 

Tappan, William C 272 

Taj'lor, James B 1388 

Terry Families. .1253, 1635, 1699 

Terry, Isaiah F 1099 

Terry, Joseph C 1253 

Terry, Capt. Phineas 1635 

Tew Family 1006 

'Tliacher Family f 68 

Thaeher, John 070 

Thacher, William T 971 

Thayer Families ..18, 763, 767 

Thomas, Mrs. Annie C 901 

Thomas Families 899, 1445 

Thompson, Albert G 169 

Thompson Families 

169,' 755, ,956 
Thompson. INIrs. Marcia A. 172 
Thompson. William M. ... 956 

Tliomas, William A 900 

Tliomson (Tliompson) Fa- 
mily 1«" 

Thorne, William H l/li^ 

Tlioniton Family 847 

Thornton, Elisha. Jr S48 

Thornton, John R 848 

Thumb, Jlrs. General Tom 1674 

Thurber Family 1347 

Tlnirbcr, Zimri 1347 

Tluirston, Anthony 1724 

Thurston Family 1723 

'Oiurston, Frank A 1725 

Tilliiighast, Mrs. Elizabeth L.1445 

Tillinghast Family 1443 

Tillinghast, John T 1443 

Tillinghast. Joseph 1446 

Tillson Family 1577 

Tillson, Henry H 1S78 

Tillson. Mrs. LTdia C 1578 

Tilton. Charles' W 1096 



Tilton Family 1696 

Tobey Families ..205, 305, 1220 

Tobey, William H .... 1221 

Toriey Family 1053 

Torrey, George W 1056 

Torrey, Josiah A 1054 

Totman Family 828 

Totman, Horace C 828 

Townsend Family 1664 

Townsend, Mrs. W. C 296 

TrafTord, Allison W 425 

Trafford, Andrew R 424 

TrafTord, Bernard W...... 425 

TrafTord, Charles A....... 424 

Trafford Family 422 

TralTord, Henry L 425 

Trafiord, Orrin F 425 

TrafTord, Perry D 425 

Trafford, William C 424 

Tribou, Charles E 1033 

Tribou Family 1032 

Tribou, John A 1033 

Tripp, Arnold G 1521 

Tripp, Azariah S 275 

Tripp, David K 916 

Tripp Families 274, 916, 1520 

Tripp, Miss Katharine M.. 917 

Tripp, Philip E 277 

Tripp, Hon. Philip J 275 

Tripp, Thomas A 1521 

Trow Family 1708 

Trow, Frederick L 1708 

Trow, Mrs. Olive H. M. . . . 1710 

Tucker, Abram R 1093 

Tucker, Almon H .. 1137 

Tucker, Charles 1222 

Tucker, Edward T., il.D.. 694 

Tucker, Ervin A., M.D 1138 

Tucker Families 

510, 092, 1002, 109,3, 

1137, 1222 

Tupper, Mrs. Mary Akin.. 844 

Turner Family 864 

Turner, l\Irs. Fannie H. . . . 795 

Turner, Joseph S 794 

Tuttle, Elias A 1159 

Tj'ler Family 1744 

Vigueron Family 375 

Wade, Hon. Albert R. . . . . 702 

Wade Family 702 

Wade, Mrs. Susan H 704 

Wadsworth Family 1433 

Waitc, Benjamin H 1335 

Waite Family 1334 

Waite, Miss Florence L 1335 

Walker Family 749 

^Valker, George H 714 

Walker, William E 750 

^\'arner Family 574 

Warner, Richard E 575 

Warren Families 615, 1676 

Washburn, Col. Abr.am... 881 
Washburn, Mrs. Annie R.731, 733 

Washburn, Azel 1754 

Washburn, Charles G 596 

Washburn, Clinton ....... 699 

Washburn, Elliott, M. D.. 596 

Washburn Families 

188, 522, 593, 608, 698, 

7.32. 872, 882, 1754, 1781 
Washburn, Francis B 1782 



XIV 



Washburn, Fiederie A 872 

Washburn, George A 595 

Washburn, George R 1783 

Washburn, Miss Harriet 

M. S 1754 

Washburn, Herbert T 732 

Washburn, Mrs. Mary B . . 723 

Washburn, Mrs. Mary J. . . 874 

Washburn, Dr. Nahuin ... 698 

Washburn, Nathan 190 

Washburn, Thomas J 597 

Waterman Family 1223 

Waterman, Fred E 1224 

Watkins, Miss Emma E . . . 285 

Watkins Family 284 

Watkins, William 284 

Watson, Benjamin M 926 

Watson Family 927 

Watson, Tliomas R 928 

Weeks, Mrs. Andrew G . . . . 207 

Weeks Family 1G79 

Weeks, Capt. William 1679 

Weeks, William ,f., M. D. . 1680 

'. . ellington Family 856 

 ellington. Dr. James L.. 856 

'eston Families 460, 946 

'eston, Lon 946 

.'etherell Family 1269 

Wethcrell, Orin "B 1270 

We.xel, Mrs. Helen A 1048 

Wexel, Henry 1047 

Wheeler, Mrs. Ada W 1085 

Wheelock Family 399 

Whipple Families 249, 1338 

Whipple, Col. John J 249 

White, Andrew M. W.,M.D. 982 

White, Charles P 372 

White, Dr. Charles W 961 

White, Mrs. Eliza C 963 

White Families . . : 

100, 370, 390, ' 961 

White, Francis E 890 

White, Hon. Jonathan 100 

White, Mrs. Margaret T . . . 372 

Whiting, Edward B 944 

Whiting Family 943 

Whiting, Miss Susan A. . . 944 



Whitman Family 220 

Whitman, William E 222 

Whitman, William P 220 

Whitmarsh, Ezra S 1134 

Whitmarsh Families 

1134, 1188, 1537 

Whitmarsh, Frederic P.... 1188 

Whitmarsh, Irving F 1537 

Whitney, Amasa 378 

Whitney, Miss Emma M. . . 378 

Whitney Family 376 

Wilbar, Charle.s A 1090 

Wilbar (Wilbor, Wilbur) 

Families 1090, 1272, 1400 

Wilbor, Alfred G 1400 

Wilbor (Wilbur) Families 

744, 1272, 1400 

Wilbor, Mrs. Louise A.... 1402 

Wilbur, Daniel 1273 

Wilbur ( Wilbor, Wilbar ) 

Families 1090, 1272, 1400 

Wilbur, George E 744 

Wilcox, Benjamin 1082 

Wilcox Families 479, 1080 

AVileo.x, Miss Susan A.... 1440 

Wilco.x, Thomas 480 

Wilcox, Tliomas B 1080 

Wilkinson Family 262 

Wilkinson, Samuel W 1259 

Williams, Mrs. Adelaide N. 

104, 585 

Williams Families 582, 1592 

Williams, George B 586 

Williams, Joseph 1592 

Williams, Mrs. Josephine T. 1445 

Williams, Lewis 585 

Williams, Mrs. Mary Hor- 

ton 919 

Williams, Miss Sarah B.. 587 

Willis, Arthur H 964 

Willis. Charles E 1737 

Willis, Edward M 1736 

Willis Families. .963. 1139, 1735 

Willis, Capt. James M 1139 

Willis, Nathan E 964 

Willis, William H 1735 

Williston, Charles H 1714 



Williston Family 1713 

Wilmarth Family 1129 

Wilmarth, Williair D 1130 

Wing, Charles F 1239 

Wing Families 1095, 1238 

Winslow, Capt. Albert 1288 

Winslow, Miss Betsey 3... 1112 

Winslow Families 

364, 1111, 1288 

Winslow, Miss Hope 1289 

Winslow, Hudson 1113 

Winslow, William B 1111 

Winsor, Miss Ellen A 500 

Winsor Family 542 

Winsor, Walter P 544 

Winstanley, Emanuel 1632 

Winstanley Family 1632 

Winstanley, James H 1632 

Winstanley, Miss Lizzie B. 1632 

Winter, Everett H 599 

Winter Family 597 

Winter, Sanford 597 

Wood Families 845, 1157 

Wood, George S 845 

Wood, Nathan M 1157 

Woodard, Horace F 623 

Wordell, Mrs. Elizabeth D. St92 

Wordell Families 

1152, 1468, 1653 
Wordell, Marcus M 
Wordell, Rodney D 
Wordell, Rufus E . . 
Wright, Augustus I 
Wright, Barzillai E 
Wright, Edmund . 
Wright, Ellery C. . 
Wright, El win T. . . 
Wright Families. . .. 
Wright, Rev. Horac 
Wright, Mrs. Jane 

Wright, Mrs. Pamelia sx. . y& 

Wright, Theodore F 94 

Young, John M 1593 

Zuill Family 1608 

Zuill, Robert W 1608 



Genealogy — Biography 




AALIS SANFORD. Various 
members of the Sanford family 
in Massachusetts have been 
prominent in their day as cler- 
gymen, educators and mer- 
chants, but none lived a nobler 
life or held a warmer place in 
the hearts of his fellow men than 
Baalis Sanford, of Brockton, of whom this 
artic'e is especially to treat. Not only was 
he the oldest active business man of the city 
\rith regard to age, but as well in point of serv- 
ice, and during his long and continued career 
as a business man he was the embodiment of all 
that is straightforward, upright and honorable, 
and he could feel an especial pride in the fact, 
in the evening of his well spent life, that he had 
been an honor to the name he bore. This 
"grand old man," for such he was acknowledged 
to be by hosts of his admirers, was faithful in 
small things, and therefore great in large things. 
Baalis Sanford was born Oct. 4, 183.3, in East 
Bridgewater, Mass., son of the late Rev. Baalis 
and Abby (Burt) Sanford, a member of a time- 
honored family, a history of which, together 
with the record of the life achievements of this 
highly respected citizen of Brocldon, follows, 
the generations being given in chronological 
order. 

(I) John Sanford, the first settler by that 
name in New England, reached Boston in 1631, 
and his name stands one hundred and eighth on 
the list of church membership. He was sworn 
a freeman April 3, 1633, and the same year 
made cannoneer of the fort. Gov. Thomas 
Hutchinson mentioned him among the distin- 
guished citizens [Hirt., Vol. I, p. 73]. There 
is a record of his baptism at Alford, in Lincoln- 
shire, England, Jan. 15, 1618. He had an an- 
cestor in the battle of Hastings, A. D. 1066, 
when William of Normandy conquered England, 

35 



and distributed the land among his faithful 
officers. This ancestor must have been an 
officer, as his name appears on the battle roll, 
and as a reward for his services he received the 
lordship of Sanford. This was his title, and he 
relinquished his own name and received that of 
Sanford. In the year 1637 John Sanford, at 
Boston, was disarmed, that is, deprived of his 
civil privileges, because of his support of John 
Wheelwright and Mrs. Anne Hutchinson in 
their controversy with the Colonial authorities. 
In December he left Boston for Aquidneck, 
now the island of Rhode Island, with William 
Coddington, Edward Hutchinson and sixteen 
others, having made, as the records show, an 
honest purchase of the island. He was chosen 
constable for the year 1640, and lieutenant 
Jan. 13, 1644. The three settlements were 
united by a common charter in 1647, and on 
May 21st he was chosen assistant governor, and 
acted as coroner. He was reelected general 
assistant May 23, 1649 ; chosen general treas- 
urer of the Colony May 23, 1655; general re- 
corder and treasurer. May 20, 1656; and 
"clarke" of the General Assembly, Roger Wil- 
liams at the same time having been chosen 
moderator. He was reelected "clarke" in 1657- 
58. He was later deputy for Portsmouth in 
the General Assembly at Newport; and Oct. 

31, 1677, one of the committee to lay out East 
Greenwich. He was married (first) about the 
time he went to Boston to Elizabeth Webb, sis- 
ter of Henry Webb. Their children were : John, 
baptized June 34, 1632 ; Samuel, baptized June 

32, 1634; and Eliphalet, baptized in December, 
1637. He married (second) Bridget, daughter 
of the celebrated Anne Hutchinson. 

(II) John Sanford, son of John and Eliza- 
beth (Webb), was baptized June 24, 1633. He 
was admitted a freeman at the General Assem- 
bly held at Newport May 17, 1653, at the age 



64 a 



of twenty-one. He was a man of learning and 
filled high office in the Colony. He married, 
April 8, 1654, Elizabeth, eldest daughter of 
Henry Sparhurst, of Bermuda. She died Dec. 
6, 1660. This marriage was blessed with chil- 
dren as follows : Elizabeth, born July 11, 1655 ; 
Mary, Aug. 18, 1656; Susanna, July 31, 1658; 
and Rebecca, June 23, 1660. John Sanford 
married (second) April 11, 1663, Mary, daugh- 
ter of Rev. Samuel Gorton, of Warwick, and 
widow of Peter Green. To this union were 
born: Mary, March 3, 1664; Eliphalet, Feb. 
20, 1666; John, June 18, 1672; and Samuel, 
Oct 5, 1677. 

(III) John Sanford, son of John and third 
of the name, was born June 18, 1672. He lo- 
cated in Taunton, tliat is Berkley, about 1713, 
on July 1st of which year he married Abigail 
Pitts, born 1689, daughter of Samuel Pitts, of 
Taunton, granddaughter of Peter Pitts, great- 
granddaughter of Peter Pitts and Edward Bab- 
bitt, of Taunton, and great-granddaughter of 
Miles Tarne, of Boston. She received from her 
father a tract of land described in Liber 4, 
page 150. Her brothers were: Peter, Eben- 
ezer and Samuel. Jolm Sanford was a large 
landowner and is described in one of the records 
as a mason by trade. To him and his wife 
Abigail was born, among others, a son George. 

(IV) Lieut. George Sanford, son of John 
and Abigail (Pitts), born in 1724, lived to the 
good old age of ninety-six years. He was an 
officer in the French war, serving under Gen- 
eral Wolfe at the capture of Quebec. He mar- 
ried Mary (or Mercy) Phillips (1727-1793). 

(V) Capt. Joseph Sanford, of Berkley, 
Mass., son of Lieut. George, was a patriot of the 
Revolution, serving in 1776 and 1777 in dif- 
ferent organizations and enlisting in 1778 in 
the Continental army for a period of nine 
months "from the time of their arrival in Fish- 
kill," in Capt. Ebenezer Paul's (2d) company. 
Col. Edward Pope's (2d Bristol County) regi- 
ment ; age seventeen years ; stature, five feet, ten 
inches ; complexion, dark ; hair, black ; residence 
Berkley. He died in 1634. He was a mason by 
trade and also engaged in farming, and now 
within the precincts of Fort Warren, in Boston 
harbor (where he was stationed for a time dur- 
ing the war) are a well and a chimney which 
show the quality of the work he turned out. 
in 1785 he married Eleanor Macomber, 1763- 
1845, of the seventh generation from Thomas 
■Rogers, of the "Mayflower." Four of their 
sons were graduated from Brown University, 
all of whom became Congregational clergymen. 
These were: James, John, Enoch and Baalis. 
The third son, Alpheus, died in Taunton, June 



1, 1872, aged seventy-eight years, i,c''fii months, 
twelve days. 

(VI) Rev. Baalis Sanford, son cf Capt. Jos- 
eph, was born July 6, 1801, in BiTkley, .Mass., 
and after acquiring his early ed;iiation in the 
district schools entered Brown Liiivcrsity, at 
Providence, R. I., from which ht; :Taduated in 
1823. On Oct. 4, 1827, he was <:-:a ■ined pastor 
of the Union Trinitarian Society ;Yi llast Bridge- 
water, continuing there until li!4;i, when he 
was installed pastor of the Triiiiln-iaii Con- 
gregational Society 'of East Bridg':,' ^m. i', hav- 
ing been at the close of the latte p - •"-ite in 
the ministry in that town for a pe' (" '.t thirty- 
three years. He had lived in t'  -<■ .- i for 
fifty-three years, and died there J :' 1880 

He was a man of great decision .. (cter 

and true to his convictions. On th 'J 'iioral 
questions of the day he was in ad  -: ;■;' the 
times, and on the temperance que-iivn) i.'ik a 
strong position, while on the subjc 1 "f -.i i?ery 
he gave utterance to ideas that W' "jM.'ste- 
ful at the time, but which were ev mI,''!  re- 
spected. His discourses, thougl ■: illy 
thought out and of great worth, wer i^ ■■••, t.nd 
practical, and in them he endeavc ' set 
forth the gospel of divine love an >■• '.'tn. 
He was naturally kind-hearted and j .  : !, i.ut 
to the evil-doer or to the careless id, 

indeed, be stern. He was a member of •■•A 

committee for a longer period than ,' jiie 
else in the town, and held the office w. ' h- 
man of that board longer than any otl r,- m-u- 
ber, having been identified with thiv .lo.rd 
almost continuously from 1829 to 1877, \i: ' h? 
reports which emanated from his pen v-.- -9 
plete with good sense and useful sugj. ;.  
His memory will long be cherished i. 

sterling qualities. On March 31, 183 
Mr. Sanford was married to Abby Burt, ■;::-.>l. 
ter of Dean and Polly (Crane) Burt, of ■;•;■■ 
ley, Mass. Mrs. Sanford, who was a d ^^d 
wife and mother, survived her husband, > ■, , ; 
in East Bridgewater in 1885. Nine ch:-' ■•'-!' 
were born to Rev. Mr. Sanford and wi:"; i; 
follows: Irene Abby, who died unmai ' '^' : 
Baalis, mentioned below; William A] den, «.• 
was formerly engaged in the dry goods husij..;:. ^ 
in Brockton, but is now living in Westb. '.• . 
Mass. ; Henry Dean, a bookkeeper, who db.:' 
in Brockton ; Austin, a graduate of DartmouL- 
College, and for a number of years profeivr^r 
of English in the Albany (N. Y.) high sch'-'il, 
where he died unmarried Dec. 28, 19i' ■; 
Eudora, who was engaged in teaching foi a 
number of years, and died in Boston, unmi  
ried, April 25, 1908; Eugene, a bookkeep 
in Dorchester; Charles Homer, who conducti 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



547 



the home farm in East Bridgewater, and died 
unmarried ; and Abbott, a graduate of Amherst 
College and a physician by profession, who died 
in Everett, Massachusetts. 

(VII) Baalis Sanford, eldest son of the Rev. 
Baalis and Abby (Burt) Sanford, received his 
primary education in the district schools of his 
native town, and then attended the Bridge- 
water and East Bridgewater Academies. After 
leaving school he remained at home until April, 
1851, when he located in North Bridgewater, 
becoming bookkeeper and cashier in the dry 
goods house of Robinson & Barry. He con- 
tinued in that capacity until Feb. 1, 1858, when 
he was admitted to the firm of H. W. Robin- 
son & Co., successors of Robinson & Barry, and 
of this well-known house he was a member until 
his death, and for many years the senior mem- 
ber. In 1903 the business was incorporated as 
the H. W. Robinson Company, of which Mr. 
Sanford was made president, in which capacity 
he afterward remained, taking an active part 
in the management. Although this establish- 
ment has the distinction of being the oldest 
established dry goods and department store in 
Brockton, dating back to 1844, at the same 
time it stands among the foremost and most 
modern equipped of its kind in southeastern 
Massachusetts. The store covers a floor space 
of 22,000 square feet, and is stocked to repletion 
with dry goods and fancy goods of every 
description, in fact, with all that goes to make 
a great metropolitan department store. 
Systematic and moderate prices prevail, and 
although so near the city of Boston all com- 
petition is met in every particular, and this has 
gained for the company a large and increasing 
trade. 

After locating in North Bridgewater, now 
Brockton, Mr. Sanford was always prominently 
identified with its various social, fraternal and 
financial interests. In political faith he was a 
stanch supporter of the principles of the Repub- 
lican party, and was active and influential in 
the councils of the same, as well as in the public 
affairs of the city. In 1877 he was a member 
of the General Court of the Commonwealth, 
serving on the committee on Mercantile Affairs. 
He was a valuable member of the school com- 
mittee of Brockton for a period of ten years, 
from 1875 to 1885, inclusive, serving as secre- 
tary the entire period, his early associations and 
educational training well qualifying him to fill 
this position. In January, 1882, he was elected 
city auditor, being the first auditor under the 
new charter when Brockton became a city, and 
he continued in this capacity for a period of 
fourteen years, when he resigned on account of 



his many other business affairs. On Dec. 27, 
1881, he received his first commission as a jus- 
tice of the peace from Gov. John D. Long, and 
had served in that capacity continuously to the 
time of his death. A petition was circulated 
in 1895 by prominent business men, ex-mayors 
and others, asking him to become a candidate 
for mayor. The signatures showed men of 
every political party, and after deep considera- 
tion Mr. Sanford accepted. The campaign was 
contested with great vigor, and he was defeated. 
As a member of the sinking fund commissioners 
he was selected because of his financial ability 
as well as of his interest in Brockton. 

Upon the chartering of the Security Co- 
operative Bank, in 1877, Mr. Sanford was 
elected the first president of same, and he served 
in that office two years, after which time he 
was one of the auditors. He was treasurer of 
the Brockton Gas Light Company from 1886 
to 1888, resigning this position when the com- 
pany became a corporation. In April, 1892, 
he was elected president of the Brockton Sav- 
ings Bank, and was also chairman of the board 
of investment of the bank, holding both positions 
at the time of his death. He was actively 
identified with the Brockton Agricultural So- 
ciety from its incorporation in. 1874, and in 
1886 became its secretary, filling that position 
with efficiency until his death, and for thirteen 
years was superintendent of the exhibition hall 
at the fair grounds. He was a charter member 
of the Commercial Club of Brockton, organized 
in January, 1883, and composed of the leading 
citizens; was its first secretary, filling that 
office a number of years, and for five years was 
the treasurer. For several years Mr. Sanford 
was treasurer of the Lugonia Fruit Growing 
and Packing Company, of Redlands, Cali- 
fornia. 

In Masonic circles Mr. Sanford had been 
prominent from 1864, having reached the 
thirty-third degree. He became a master 
Mason in Paul Revere Lodge, A. F. & A. H., 
of which he was worshipful master in 1868 
and 1869 ; he became district deputy grand 
master of the 19th Masonic district and later 
of the 24th Masonic district, in 1882-83-84; 
senior grand warden of the grand lodge of 
Massachusetts, in 1887, and was grand master 
in 1903-04-05. In 1865 he was made a Royal 
Arch Mason in the chapter at Abington, and 
in 1869 a charter member of Satucket Chap- 
ter, R. A. M., of Brockton, of which latter he 
was the first high priest, serving three years; 
was grand scribe of the grand chapter in 1878, 
elected grand high priest in December, 1907, 
and reelected in 1908. He was a member of 



548 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



Brockton Council, E. & S. M., of which he was 
thrice illustrious master in 1895 and 1896, and 
recorder for several years ; was grand conductor 
of the grand council of Royal and Select 
Masters of Massachusetts in 1898, and illus- 
trious grand master of the council in 1900, 
1901 and 1902. He was a charter member of 
Bay State Commandery, K. T., was the second 
eminent commander, and in 1883 was grand 
captain of the host in the grand commandery 
of Massachusetts (of which he was a permanent 
member), and for fifteen years was recorder 
of the commandery. He was a life member of 
the Massachusetts Consistory, thirty-second 
degree, and on Sept. 15, 1893, was elevated to 
the thirty-third degree. 

In his life the church held a high place, 
and while not a member he was faithful in his 
attendance at the Porter Congregational 
Church, of Brockton, which he served as treas- 
urer for a number of years, and in the work 
of which he was active and prominent. 

On Aug. 19, 1856, Mr. Sanford was mar- 
ried to Lucy Cotton Hapgood, daughter of 
Capt. Benjamin and Anne (Whitman) Hap- 
good, of Stow, Mass., the former a captain in 
the war of 1812. Mrs. Sanford died in Boston 
Nov. 25, 1907, beloved by all who knew her. 
To Mr. and Mrs. Sanford were born three 
daughters, namely: Irene Gertrude, unmar- 
ried;' Anne Cora, who died in 1860, in infancy; 
and Mabel Louise, who died in 1869, in the 
third year of her age. 

Personally Mr. Sanford was a man of cul- 
tivated tastes whose quiet, yet cordial and 
democratic, manner was a strong characteristic. 
His politeness was inborn, and being void seem- 
ingly of any consciousness of his own superiority 
he was ever a simple-mannered, courteous 
gentleman. His friends were among the young 
as well as the old. He was a member of the 
"Mayflower Descendants," as is his daughter, 
who is also a member of Paul Revere Chapter, 
D. A. R., of Boston. For a number of years 
Mr. Sanford and his family resided at the 
"Brunswick Hotel" in Boston, and after the 
death of his wife he found his happiness in 
the companionship of his devoted daughter. 
He died Nov. 16, 1909, in Boston, after an ill- 
ness of scarcely fifteen minutes, and his re- 
mains were brought to Brockton, the funeral 
being held in the Porter Congregational 
Church. Interment was made in Union 
cemetery. The services were conducted by Rev. 
Dr. F.A. Warfield, of Milford, and Rev. Dr. 
A. M. Hyde, of Porter Church. Then followed 
the simple blue lodge services conducted by 
Merton S. Gurney, worshipful master of Paul 



Revere Lodge. Masons to the number of three 
hundred from all over the State, representatives 
from every concern with which the deceased 
had been connected, city and State officials 
and friends — all were there to pay a last tribute 
of respect to a man whom they knew to honor 
and to revere. In the course of his eulogy 
Rev. Dr. Warfield said: "He [Mr. Sanford] 
always stood for that which is highest and best 
in civic life, and to the realization of these 
things he devoted his best endeavors. He was 
never a partisan, but always a Puritan in his 
aims and spirit. He recognized the other 
man's point of view, but he saw with clearer 
vision that which made for righteousness and 
strength and to do this he gave himself. He 
cared little for popularity, but set a high value 

upon that which was true He "was 

trustworthy in business. He knew only the 

law of right Those who have been 

•associated with him know full well his integrity. 
As gentle as a woman but as firm as the most 
stalwart man, he could bend to anything that 
was right. He could make any concession to 
honor but to nothing else." 

It seems only just that this article should 
contain a few of the expressions of the men 
associated with him in many ways when the 
news of his death reached the public. 

Mayor John S. Kent: "No finer example 
of a true gentleman and noble citizen can be 
presented for the emulation of the man upon 
whose shoulders rests the burdens of progres- 
sive development in our city. He possessed 
the virtues of lionesty, courage, simplicity and 
sympathy, which together with his ability, 
energy and devotion to principle made him a 
man among men." 

Fred Hanson in the Enterprise: "In my 
feeble way I want to pay my respects to the 
memory of Baalis Sanford, a man of un- 
blemished character, of the strictest honesty and 
integrity, a man without a blemish." 

President Charles Howard of the Brockton 
Agricultural Society : "He was always a friend 
who could be relied upon though thick and 
thin." 

Ex-Gov. William L. Douglas: "The sudden 
death of Baalis Sanford comes as a shock and 
surprise to me. He was a man who was be- 
loved by everybody always congenial, 

a man of excellent character and strict integrity. 
His life has been a worthy example for the 
rising generation to follow." 

• MORTON. The Mortons of East Freetown, 
Bristol Co., Mass., formerly quite numerous 
in that vicinity, but not now represented by 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



549 



many of the name, are the posterity of Maj. 
Nathaniel Morton and descendants of the 
eminent George Morton. 

(I) George Morton, born about 1585, at 
Austerfield, Yorkshire, England, came to New 
England in the ship "Ann" in 1623. He had 
married in Leyden, in 1612, Juliana Carpenter, 
daughter of Alexander Carpenter, of Wrentham, 
England. He is said to have served the Pil- 
grims in important relations before coming 
to this country, and published in England in 
1621 the first history of the Colony, which was 
entitled "A Relation or Journal of the Begin- 
ning and Proceedings of the English Plantation 
settled at Plymouth in New England." It is 
commonly known as "Mourt's Relation." He 
died in 1624. The children of George and 
Juliana (Carpenter) Morton were: Nathaniel, 
who married (first) Lydia Cooper and (sec- 
ond) Mrs. Hannah Pemplar; Patience, who 
married John Faunce; John; Sarah, who mar- 
ried George Bonum; and Ephraim. Of these, 
Nathaniel was secretary of Plymouth Colony 
from 1647 to 1685, and author of that very 
valuable work known as the "Old Colony 
Memorial," compiled from the observations and 
writings of himself and Gov. William Brad- 
ford, second governor of Plymouth Colony. As 
early as 1668 Nathaniel Morton was elected a 
selectman of Plymouth and held that office 
twenty-one years. He was chosen to represent 
the town of Pljinouth in the Colonial Court 
as early as 1659 and served in that capacity 
twenty-seven years. After the Old Colony was 
united with that of Massachusetts Bay he was 
elected to represent the town of Plymouth in 
the Provincial Court at Boston. 

(II) Lieut. Ephraim Morton, born in 1623 
on the ship "Ann," married (first) Nov. 18, 
1644, Ann Cooper, who died Sept. 1, 1691. He 
married (second) in 1692 Mary, widow of 
William Harlow, and daughter of Robert 
Shelly, of Scituate. Mr. Morton became a free- 
man in 1648, and in that year was constable 
of Plymouth. He was chosen a representative 
to the General Court at Plymouth in 1657, and 
was a member of that body for twenty-eight 
years. He was chosen the first representative 
to the Massachusetts General Court under the 
charter of 1691-92. He was for nearly twenty- 
five years at the head of the board of selectmen 
of Plymouth. He was chosen a magistrate of 
the Colony in 1683, and at the time of his 
death he was a justice of the court of Common 
Pleas. He also served in other important re- 
lations. He died Sept. 7, 1693. His children 
were: George, born in 1645; Ephraim, born 
in 1648 ; Rebecca, bom in 1651 ; Josiah, born 



in 1653; Nathaniel; Eleazer, born in 1659; 
Thomas, born in 1667; and Patience. 

(III) Eleazer Morton, son of Ephraim, mar- 
ried in 1693 Rebecca Dawes, daughter of Am- 
brose, and their children were : Eleazer, born 
in 1693; Ann, born in 1694 (married Robert 
Finney); Nathaniel, born in 1695; and Re- 
becca, born in 1703. 

(IV) Nathaniel Morton, born in 1695, was 
lost at sea before 1730. He married in 1720 
Rebecca Ellis, widow of Mordecai Ellis, and 
daughter of Thomas Clark, and their children 
were: Elizabeth, born in 1720; Nathaniel, 
born in 1723; Eleazer, born in 1724; and 
Ichabod, born in 1726. 

(V) Maj. Nathaniel Morton (2), of Free- 
town, born Feb. 1, 1722-23, married in 1749 
Martha Tupper, of Sandwich, daughter of 
Eldad Tupper and granddaughter of Thomas 
Tupper, and their children were : Nathaniel, 
born in 1753; Martha; Elizabeth, and Job. 
Nathaniel Morton, the father, was a soldier in 
the Revolutionary war, being at first second 
lieutenant in Capt. Levi Rounseville's company 
of minute men, subsequently commander of a 
company, and then promoted to major. There 
were many members of the Morton family named 
Nathaniel, and on Dec. 8, 1776, there were 
among the officers and private soldiers of the 
local militia of East Freetown who responded 
to what was known as the "Rhode Island alarm" 
no less than four Nathaniel Mortons : the com- 
pany commander (later major) ; his son 
Nathaniel (then called Nathaniel, Jr., but in 
subsequent life widely known as Hon. Nathaniel 
Morton), who was one of the four sergeants 
of the company; Nathaniel Morton, Sr., and 
Nathaniel Morton, 4th. 

(VI) Job Morton, son of Maj. Nathaniel 
Morton, was born at East Freetown June 14, 
1770, and received fine educational advantages. 
After attending the common schools he took a 
collegiate course, and was graduated at Brown 
University in 1797. He studied medicine, but 
never practiced. Like his forefathers he took 
a prominent part in the affairs of the town. 
On April 1, 1805, he was elected a selectman 
of Freetown, and served twenty-four years as 
such ; on the same date he was chosen assessor 
of Freetown, in which office he served twenty- 
eight years. On May 14, 1814, he was chosen 
representative of FreetoNvn in the General 
Court, and served acceptably for eleven years. 
On Feb. 9, 1811, he was commissioned a justice 
of the peace for the county of Bristol. In 1812 
he was appointed clerk of the county courts, 
but it is not known that he accepted this posi- 
tion; if he did, he held it only a short time. 



550 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



He was also chairman of the board of com- 
missioners of highways, which soon came to be 
known as the board of county commissioners. 

In 1808 Job Morton married Patience Pur- 
rington (or Purington), of Middleboro, and 
they lived in an old-fashioned unpretentious 
looking house still standing in East Freetown, 
about a third of a mile from the line that 
divides Freetown from Lakeville, in which all 
their children were born. Mr. Morton died in 
March, 1843, in the house mentioned near the 
one in which he was born. His wife died Feb. 
15,1841. They had children as follows : (1) 
James Madison, born April 28, 1803, is men- 
tioned at length elsewhere in this work. (2) 
Albert Gallatin, born Aug. 8, 1804, lived and 
died in Freetown. He was a clergyman of the 
Christian denominatioil. (3) Charles Austin, 
born May 14, 1806, died in a house standing 
only a few rods from the one in which he was 
born. For a time he held a position in the 
Boston custom house; was selectman of Free- 
town nine years; assessor eight years; member 
of the school committee nine years; representa- 
tive to the General Court, one year; and was 
a justice of the peace for the county of Bristol 
from April 11, 1839. No man in East Free- 
town or anywhere was better posted regarding 
the local affairs of that place and the immediate 
vicinity, he and his neighbor. Dr. Bradford 
Braley, being "lively oracles" to and "walking 
histories" of East Freetown, and the adjacent 
parts of Lakeville and Rochester. (4) Elbridge 
Gerry, born March 8, 1808, moved to Fair- 
haven, where he lived for many years. He was 
a leader in the public life of that place, serving 
five years as selectman ; sixteen years as 
moderator of the annual town meeting; three 
years as representative to the General Court 
in Boston ; delegate to the Constitutional con- 
vention of 1853 ; and was elected in 1853 a 
member of the board of commissioners of 
Bristol county (which consisted of three com- 
missioners and two special commissioners), of 
which board he was immediately chosen chair- 
man. Toward the close of his life he was post- 
master at Fairhaven. (5) William G., born 
April 10, 1810, died March 8, 1811. (6) 
Hannah P., born in the year 1811, married 
Harrison Staples, of Lakeville, Mass., where 
she died. (7) Andrew Jackson is mentioned 
below. (8) William A., born March 20, 1817, 
at the old place, was reared there, and died 
in 1886, in the house in which he was bom. 
The sons of this family were all "six footers" 
and were of marked personality. 

(VII) Andrew Jackson Morton, son of Job, 
was born July 5, 1812, in Freetown, Mass., 



and was a farmer all his life, dying March 10, 
1893. He lived in East Freetown, near the 
old homestead, his farm comprising what is 
now Lake Side park. In politics he was a Re- 
publican, but he was not active in party affairs 
or public matters of any kind. He married 
Abbie Lawrence, who was born Sept. 18, 1817, 
daughter of Alden and Chloe (Sherman) 
Lawrence, of Freetown, and died March 25, 
1906. They were the parents of a large family, 
namely: William Grey, born Feb. 6, 1838, 
died at sea Jan. 18, 1878 ; George Washington, 
born Oct. 22, 1840, died June 2, 1842 ; Patience 
Purrington was born Nov. 24, 1842; Martha 
Washington, born April 1, 1845, married 
Charles F. Vauglm, of Middleboro, and lives 
at Weymouth; George Andrew, born Jan. 31, 
1848, died Aug. 2, 1850 ; Myron Lawrence, bom 
June 25, 1850, is living in Boston; Frank 
Pierce, born Jan. 4, 1853, lives in New Bed- 
ford; Thomas J. is mentioned below; Herbert 
Andrew is mentioned below; Anna Cora, born 
Feb. 28, 1862, died Nov. 14, 1888. 

(VIII) Thomas J. Morton, son of Andrew 
J., was born in East Freetown March 2, 1856. 
He received all his education in the public 
school of East Freetown, leaving school at the 
age of twelve years. From that time until 
he was seventeen he was engaged in the usual 
work on the farm, and then went to learn the 
trade of machinist at the Taunton Locoifiotive 
Works, in Taunton. He worked in the machine 
shops of the Old Colony and Boston & Albany 
railroads, and for a time acted as foreman on 
the Boston & Albany road, following this work 
until the fall of 1882 ; at that time he engaged 
in ijhe laundry business with his brother, buy- 
ing out a small laundry, on Summer street, 
and installing new machinery throughout. At 
this time they gave employment to six hands. 
Remaining there until 1386, they removed from 
the original location iato their present fine 
laundry building, which they erected, though 
it was not then as large as now, three additions 
having been since built. Their laundry plant 
is now one of the finest in southeastern Massa- 
chusetts, and they give employment to sixty 
people. Their business is gathered from twenty 
or more places, ranging from Manchester to 
Boston. Mr. Morton has been a successful man 
and his prosperity is of his own making. He 
has other interests in addition to his laundry 
business, having been a corporator of the 
Bristol County Savings and Taunton Savings. 
Banks, and he is a trustee of the former. He 
is a Republican in politics and socially he unites 
with the Masons, holding membership in Ionic 
Lodge, A. P. & A. M., St. Mark's Chapter, 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



551 



R. A. M., of Taunton, and Bristol Commandery, 
No. 29, K. T., of Attleboro. In January, 1890, 
Mr. Morton was elected second lieutenant of 
Company F, 1st Regiment Infantry, 1st 
Brigade, M. V. M., and served two years, resign- 
ing at the end of that period. 

On Oct. 30, 1897, Mr. Morton married Helen 
L. Watts, daughter of William Watts, formerly 
of England. They have no children. 

(VIII) Herbert Andrew Morton was 
born in Lakeville, Mass., near the old home- 
stead in East Freetown, March 16, 1858. His 
early training was obtained in the district 
schools in East Freetown and was limited, but 
he later had two terms in a graded school in 
Middleboro, when about eighteen or nineteen 
years of age. When only nine years of age he 
went away from home to live in another family, 
so it may readily be seen that whatever he has 
has been acquired through his own efforts. In 
1878 he spent part of his time in Taunton, 
where in November, 1882, he went into the 
laundry business with his brother. He had, 
however, been working a few years for William 
Webster, and liis brother Myron Morton, who 
was then in the clothing business in Taunton. 
The success of the Morton Brothers and the 
remarkable growth of their laundry establish- 
ment is due to the fact that both are men of 
energy and executive ability, and by harmonious 
cooperation they have placed their business on 
a profitable basis. Everything is carried on in 
the most modern fashion and the plant is a 
credit to the community. Herbert A. Morton 
is well known socially, being a member of Ionic 
Lodge, A. F. & A. M. (of which he is a past 
master), St. Mark's Chapter, R. A. M., Bristol 
Commandery, K. T. (of Attleboro), the Eastern 
Star, and Sabbatia Lodge, I. 0. 0. F. He is a 
Republican in politics. 

On June 29, 1909, Mr. Morton married Alice 
Shaw, daughter of William and Fannie (Coffin) 
Shaw, the former of Nantucket. They have 
no children. 



(VI) Hon. Nathaniel Morton (3), of Free- 
town, first son and second child of Nathaniel 
(2), born June 1, 1753, married in 1782 Mary 
(Polly), daughter of Eleazer Carey, of Bridge- 
water, and their children were : Marcus, born 
Feb. 19, 1784; Mary, born Sept. 28, 1786, who 
became the wife of Rev. Elijah Doxtcr (they 
were the parents of Rev. Henry M. Dexter) ; 
and maybe others. 

Mr. Morton was a farmer in moderate cir- 
cumstances, self-educated, self-reliant and with 
strong practical common sense. He was repre- 
sentative to the General Court, a member of 



the Senate from Bristol county, justice of the 
court of Sessions, and at one time collector 
of the port at New Bedford. He served as 
selectman of Freetown twenty-four years; as- 
sessor twenty-six years; moderator of annual 
town meeting fourteen years; and was eight 
times chosen to represent the town in the 
General Court. On May 14, 1804, he was 
elected to a seat in the Senate board and held 
that position for five consecutive years, and 
was a delegate from Freetown to the State 
convention of 1820. Near the close of the 
eighteenth century he was appointed a justice 
of the peace for the county of Bristol and at a 
considerably later date was commissioned to 
administer the oaths of qualification to civil 
officers "dedimus potestatum," and was chair- 
man of the board of county commissioners. 
He passed a few of the last years of his life 
at Taunton, where he died at the residence of 
his son, Gov. Marcus Morton. 

(VII) Hon. Marcus Morton, LL. D., 
lawyer, member of Congress, justice of the 
Supreme court of Massachusetts, governor, was 
born Feb. 19, 1784, in East Freetown, Mass., 
the son of Nathaniel and Mary (Carey) Morton. 
He was graduated with high honors from Brown 
University in 1804, when twenty years of age. 
He commenced the study of law in the office 
of Hon. Seth Padelford, then judge of Probate 
for Bristol county, and completed his legal 
education in the then famous law school in 
Litchfield, Conn., at which school studied also 
his contemporary, John C. Calhoun. He began 
the practice of law in 1807 in Taunton. He 
rose high in the legal profession. 

Mr. Morton was a Democrat, and as such 
met with opposition in the Federalist town 
of Taunton, but in the course of his life he 
held nearly every office it was in the power of 
the people to bestow upon him. In 1811 and 
1812 he was clerk of the Massachusetts Senate. 
He was also county attorney for Bristol county. 
He was a member of Congress from 1817 for 
several years, and took part in the discussions 
on the Missouri Compromise. In 1823 he was 
a member of the executive council. He was 
chosen lieutenant governor in 1824 with 
Eustice at the head of the ticket, and after 
Governor Eustice's death, Feb. 6, 1825, to the 
end of the term for which he was elected he 
was the acting governor. He was brought in 
intimate relations during this time with 
LaFayette, who was then visiting this country. 
He was again chosen lieutenant governor, and 
in that same year was appointed to the Supreme 
bench of the State and took his seat July 5, 
1825. He was chosen governor of Massachu- 



552 



SOUTHEASTEEN MASSACHUSETTS 



setts in 1839 by the people and again in 1843 
by the Legislature. On May 1, 1845, he was 
made collector of the port of Boston, a re- 
lation to the service he sustained some four 
years. He was in sympathy with the Free-soil 
movement in 1848, in 1853 he was delegate to 
the Constitutional Convention, and in 1858 was 
again in the Legislature. His period of service 
on the bench covered fifteen years, and his 
Congressional service four years. For several 
years he was one of the overseers of Harvard 
University. 

Governor Morton had a tall, commanding 
figure, was fine-looking, quiet and self-possessed 
in manner ; and his wife was an elegant woman, 
a person of beauty and grace. 

On Dec. 23, 1807, Governor Morton was 
married to Charlotte, born Dec. 33, 1787, 
daughter of James Hodges, of Taunton, and a 
direct descendant of William Hodges, of Taun- 
ton as early as 1643. The children born to 
Governor Morton and his wife Charlotte 
(Hodges) were: (1) Joanna Maria married 
William T. Hawes, of New Bedford, a graduate 
of Brown University. (2) Lydia Mason mar- 
ried Henry W. Lee, D.D., of Springfield, Mass., 
and Rochester, N. Y., afterward bishop in the 
Protestant Episcopal Church, in Iowa. (3) 
Charlotte married Samuel Watson, of Nash- 
ville, Tenn. (4) Sarah Carey married Hon. 
Willard Lovering, a manufacturer of Taunton. 
(5) Marcus married Abby, daughter of Henry 
Hopping, Esq., of Providence. (6) Nathaniel 
married Harriet, only child of Hon. Francis 
Baylies. (7) James married Elizabeth, daugh- 
ter of Hon. George Ashmun, of Springfield. 
(8) Susan Tillinghast married M. Day Kim- 
ball, of the firm of Faulkner, Page & Kimball, 
Boston. (9) Frances Wood married George 
Henry French, of Andover. (10) Emily 
Matilda married Daniel C, son of Dr. Dawes, 
of Taunton, a resident of Brooklyn, N. Y. Of 
these, the three sons were graduated from 
Brown University, Marcus in 1838, Nathaniel 
in 1840, and James in 1843; all were dis- 
tinguished in college and became eminent 
lawyers, the eldest becoming chief justice of the 
Supreme court of Massachusetts. 

Governor Morton died at his home on Wash- 
ington street, near Broadway, Taunton, Mass., 
Feb. 6, 1864. His wife Charlotte (Hodges) 
Morton died Dec. 25, 1873 ; both are buried in 
Mount Pleasant cemetery, Taunton. 

NATHANIEL CHURCH (deceased) was 
during his life a well-known business man and 
prominent citizen of Fairhaven, where he was 
born Nov. 16, 1798. The Church family of 



which he was a representative is among the 
oldest and most prominent in New England, 
the name being identified with the an- 
nals of southern Rhode Island and southeast- 
ern Massachusetts from almost the very dawn 
of civilization there. 

Richard Church, the immigrant settler and 
progenitor of the Churches of the region named, 
was born in 1608. He came to New England 
in 1630 in the fleet with Governor Winthrop. 
He removed from Weymouth to Plymouth, 
where he was made a freeman in 1632, and 
where he married, in 1636, Elizabeth, daughter 
of Richard Warren, of the "Mayflower," 1620. 
He lived at a number of different points, died 
in 1668 in Dedham, and was buried at Hing- 
ham. He was a carpenter by trade, and 
helped to build the first meetinghouse and the 
first gun carriage in Plymouth. He served in 
the Pequot war. Locating at Eastham in 1653, 
he was then at Charlestown and in 1657 was 
at Hingham. He was the father of thirteen 
children, among them Col. Benjamin Church, 
who settled in Little Compton, R. L, from 
whom Nathaniel Church descended. 

Col. Benjamin Church is credited with hav- 
ing been the first white settler in the town of 
Little Compton (1674), which was then in 
Massachusetts, but is now in Rhode Island, and 
with building the first house there. The name, 
fame and usefulness of Col. Benjamin Church 
were as broad as New England, and in the 
general histories of the New World his deeds 
are always recognized. It was he who beat 
back the red man and opened the way for the 
habitation of the white settler that followed — 
hunting Philip to his death, Aug. 13, 1676. 
He thoroughly understood the character of the 
Indians and their modes of warfare, which 
latter he adopted with great success. Colonel 
Church was to southern New England what 
Miles Standish had been to the first genera- 
tion of the Plymouth Colonists — a buckler and 
shield in the hour of danger; but he had far 
more experience in military affairs than fell 
to the lot of the Pilgrim captain. It was 
destined for him to strike the first and last 
decisive blows in Philip's war, by which he is 
now best known to fame. So great was the 
reputation he gained that he was afterward con- 
stantly called to the field to repel the French 
and Indians at the North and East. Colonel 
Church married Alice Southworth. A brother 
of Colonel Church, J^iweph Church, also was 
one of the first settlers of Little Compton. He 
married Mary Tucker and became a promi- 
nent public man of the town. 

The descendants of Richard Church became 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



553 



numerous and, as stated, distinguished in that 
part of Rhode Island and Massachusetts al- 
luded to. Among these the late Nathaniel 
Church was prominent. 

Joseph Church, father of Nathaniel, made 
his home in Fairhaven, where he was engaged 
in business and where he lived all his life. He 
died in Fairhaven in 1839. He married Deb- 
orah Perry, and they became the parents of 
six children. 

Nathaniel Church, son of Joseph and Deb- 
orah (Perry) Church, was born in Fairhaven 
Nov. 16, 1798. He attended the local schools 
and grew to manhood in his native home, where 
he received a thorough business training. He 
formed a partnership with his brother, Eben- 
ezer P. Church, and they entered into the 
general mercantile business at Adamsville, in 
the town of Little Compton, under tlie firm 
name of E. P. Church & Co. This business 
continued until 1831, when he withdrew from 
the partnership and again located at Fairhaven, 
becoming engaged in the mercantile business 
for himself, which he followed for a number of 
years. He next became interested in the brass 
foundry business, also the whaling industry, 
and being a man of progressive ideas and en- 
terprise made a success of whatever he under- 
took. He took a deep interest in his native 
town and its people, and was known for his 
strict honesty and high moral character. He 
served as town clerk of Fairhaven for many 
years, and also filled the office of selectman and 
overseer of the poor of his native town; served 
as a member of the State Legislature; and was 
often called upon to settle estates, etc. He 
was a public-spirited man, generous, and al- 
ways ready to lend a helping hand. Politically 
he was an old-line Whig, later a Republican 
and a stanch supporter of Abraham Lincoln, 
strongly opposed to slavery. His death oc- 
curred March 17, 1865, in his sixty-seventh 
year, and he was buried in Riverside cemetery, 
Fairhaven. 

Mr. Church married May 23, 1829, Lydia 
Hicks, bom Dec. 15, 1800, in Westport, Mass., 
daughter of Barney Hicks, a sketch of whom 
will be found elsewhere in this publication. 
Mrs. Church was a devout Christian woman 
and took much pleasure in her home and fam- 
ily. Her death occurred at her home in Fair- 
haven April 12, 1885, and she was buried be- 
side her husband. She was an attendant of the 
Congregational Church. Mr. and Mrs. Church 
were the parents of the following children: 
Sarah C, who resides in Fairhaven ; Nancy F., 
deceased ; Mary L., who married Ansel G. Jen- 
ney, now a widow residing in Cincinnati (Mr. 



Jenney was a native of Fairhaven and was a 
well known banker of Cincinnati, where he 
died July, 1895, leaving four children, Lyman, 
Bessie, who married William B. Mundie, of 
Chicago, William and Elise, wife of Aden 
Finch, of Cincinnati) ; and Lydia M., who 
died at her home in Fairhaven Aug. 15, 1910. 

BORDEN (Westport family). The Borden 
family of the town of Westport here briefly 
treated is a branch of the early Rhode Island 
family of the name, a family that dates back 
to the early history of Rhode Island and Massa- 
chusetts, and one that has played a most impor- 
tant part in the great industrial life of Fall 
River. The particular branch of the Borden 
family here alluded to is that of which the head 
was the late Christopher Borden of Westport, 
who was long closely identified with the history 
of his town, and some of whose sons now repre- 
sent the name in Westport, where they are 
substantial men and useful citizens. 

The history of the Westport Borden family 
in question follows in chronological order from 
the immigrant settler. 

(I) Richard Borden, born in 1601, died May 
25, 1671. The Christian name of his wife was 
Joan. She was born in 1604 and died July 
15, 1688. Mr. Borden was admitted an inhabi- 
tant of the island of Aquidneck in 1638, being 
then of Portsmouth, R. I. On May 20th of that 
same year he was allotted five acres of land. 
He took an important and active part in the 
early affairs of Portsmouth. He was assistant 
in 1653-54; general treasurer in 1654-55; com- 
missioner in 1654-56-57; and deputy in 1667- 
70. The children of Richard and Joan Borden 
were : Thomas, Francis, Mary, Matthew, John, 
Joseph, Sarah, Samuel, Benjamin and Amey. 

(II) John Borden, born in September, 1640, 
married Dec. 25, 1670, Mary, born in 1655, 
daughter of William and Mary (Walker) Earle, 
and was of Portsmouth, R. I., and, like his 
father, was prominent in the public affairs of 
the town. He was deputy in 1673, 1680, 1700, 
1704, 1705 and 1708. He died June 4, 1716, 
and his wife in June, 1734. Their children 
were : Richard, John, Amey, Joseph, Thomas, 
Hope, Mary, William and Benjamin. 

(III) Richard Borden, born Oct. 25, 1671, 
married about 1692 Innocent Wardell. He 
lived on the main road about a mile from the 
east shore of Mount Hope bay and two and a 
half miles south of the city hall in Fall River, 
his homestead comprising about 200 acres of 
land. He became one of the wealthiest men 
in the town, and at the time of his death he 
was one of the largest landholders in the town. 



554 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



He lived until about the age of sixty years. 
His children were : Sarah, John, Thomas, Mary, 
Joseph, Samuel and Eebecca. 

(IV) Thomas Borden, bom Dec. 8, 1697, 
married Aug. 14, 1721, Mary, born Oct. 6, 
1695, daughter of Christopher and Meribah 
Gifiord. Mr. Borden died in April, 1740, in 
Tiverton, R. I. Their children were : Richard, 
born in 1722; Christopher, born Oct. 10, 1726; 
Deborah; Mary, and Eebecca. 

(V) Christopher Borden, son of Thomas, 
born Oct. 10, 1726, married Dec. 24, 1748, 
Hannah Borden, daughter of Stephen. Chris- 
topher Borden inherited from his father what 
was known as the Cranberry Neck property with 
other lands, and became a farmer there, and 
probably built the first sawmill on the site, 
where stood some years ago the mill of younger 
generations of the family. He was one of the 
substantial men of his commimity. He died 
in 1800. 

(VI) Jonathan Borden, son of Christopher, 
born May 5, 1761, married Elizabeth Bowen. 
Mr. Borden was a farmer and mill owner, a 
very active business man, was successful in his 
undertakings, and was honest and straight- 
forward. He was a man of a social and genial 
nature. His death occurred May 19, 1848. 
His children were : Abraham, Phebe, Thomas, 
Rhoda, Isaac and Elizabeth. 

(VII) Abraham Borden, son of Jonathan 
and Elizabeth (Bowen), was bom July 20, 
1793, on the farm occupied after him by his 
son Christopher, in the town of Westport, Mass., 
and in the house in which he went to housekeep- 
ing and continued to live through life. He inher- 
ited a farm from his father which, with some 
land he himself purchased, made him an estate 
of some 270 acres. In addition to farming he 
was occupied in lumbering. He was a man of 
quiet disposition and rather reserved in man- 
ner, going through life in the even tenor of his 
way, caring nothing for political preferment 
or the excitement that goes with politics, 
although he had opinions of his own, and was 
fixed in them. He married Phebe, daughter 
of Lemuel and Maria (Tripp) Barker, of Dart- 
mouth. Three children blessed the marriage, 
namely: Christopher; Rhoda, who married 
Abiel Davis; and Maria R., who married Capt. 
Weston Jenney. The mother was a member 
of the Society of Friends, and her husband, 
while not a member, attended the Friends' 
meetings. He died Oct. 28, 1864. 

(VIII) Christopher Borden, son of Abraham 
and Phebe (Barker) Borden, was bom Oct. 20, 
1815, in that part of Tiverton, R. I., that later 
became the town of Westport, Mass., and on 



land that had been for generations before him 
occupied by his ancestors. He was reared amid 
agricultural pursuits and attended the schools 
of his neighborhood, furthering his studies ia 
the Friends' School in Providence, R. I. After 
his school days were over he returned to the 
farm, becoming associated . with his father in 
the conduct of the farm and in the lumbering 
business. In these operations he in time suc- 
ceeded his father. Mr. Borden, though occupy- 
ing the same farm, by the changing of 
boundary lines lived in two States and three 
towns, Tiverton, R. I., and Fall River and 
Westport, Mass. He was much in the public 
service of his tovra; was a member of the town 
council of Tiverton, frequently served as select- 
man of Westport ; was a member of the auditing 
committee for years, and held other minor 
ofiices. A man possessing the confidence of his 
fellow citizens, and one having managed his 
own affairs successfully, he was frequently 
called upon to settle estates. He was a man of 
a sunny, cheerful and genial disposition, and 
won and held friends. His political aiEliations 
were first with the Whig party, then with the 
Republican. He was a stockholder in the 
Metacomet, Pocasset and Union Banks of Fall 
River, and of the Commercial Bank at New 
Bedford. He also held stock in the Flint, Bar- 
nard and Weetamoe Mills in Fall River, and 
was interested in and a director of the Fall 
River Manufacturing Company. 

On Feb. 11, 1839, Mr. Borden married Lucy 
H., daughter of Peter and Sarah S. (Howland) 
Davis, who was born Feb. 11, 1818, in West- 
port, Mass. She died March 10, 1897. Six 
children blessed the marriage, namely: Jona- 
than ; Alice A., who married George H. Hicks, 
of Fall River, and had children, Christopher 
B., Lester, Edgar A., Alice and George H. ; 
Mary E., who married Isaac W. Howland, of 
Little Compton, R. I., and died leaving a son 
William W. ; Othniel T., who was accidentally 
killed while hunting, at the age of nineteen; 
Edwin; and Phebe S., v;ho married Arthur D. 
Cornell, and died leaving two daughters, Lucy 
Sarah and Mary Elizabeth. Mr. Borden died 
at his home in Westport, Mass., Dec. 12, 1894. 

(IX) Jonathan Bokden, son of Christopher 
and Lucy H. (Davis) Borden, was born May 
15, 1841, in that part of Tiverton, R. I., that 
became Westport, Mass., the eldest of a family 
of six children. He attended the public schools 
of his native town, remaining at home until 
fourteen years of age. He then went to work 
for his grandfather Borden, later marrying and 
locating in the town and upon lands held by 
successive generations of his ancestors, and con- 





<^^s#^ 




SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



555 



tinuing to be occupied in agricultural pursuits. 
He has followed in the footsteps of his father, 
and has long been one of Westport's leading 
farmers and substantial men. For three years 
he served as selectman of the town. He is of 
a quiet, unassuming nature, and has so lived 
as to have the respect and esteem of his com- 
munity. 

On Nov. 7, 1861, Mr. Borden married Mary 
M., born April 24, 1846, daughter of Thomas 
and Mary (Snell) Estes, he a direct descendant 
of Richard Estes, who came from Dover, Eng- 
land, to this country in 1684 (stopping a few 
days in Boston, thence proceeding to what is 
now Portsmouth, R. I., there joining his brother 
Matthew who had preceded him), from whom 
his descent is through Robert Estes, Thomas 
Estes and Peter Estes. Seven children have 
blessed the marriage of Jonathan Borden to 
Mary M. Estes, namely : Mercy D. married 
Walter F. Grinnell, of Tiverton, R. I., and has 
three children, Annie May, Wilfred and Doro- 
thy; Thomas E., born Aug. 9, 1866, married 
Macie Grinnell, lives in Westport, and has six 
children, Myra T., Clarence, Louise, Raymond, 
Philip and Katherine; Othniel T., born Dec. 
18, 1868, married Sarah P. Upham, resides at 
Westport, and has children, Othniel, Esther 
and Osmund; Christopher, born Nov. 27, 1871, 
married Alice F. Greene, lives at Westport, 
and has children, Mildred, Gertrude, Chris- 
topher, Vivian and Jonathan; Mary R., born 
June 20, 1874, married James H. Kay, of Fall 
River, and has children, Harold, Henry, Bere- 
nice and Dorothy; Jennie M., born Jan. 1, 
1878, married Arthur M. Read; Jonathan L. is 
deceased. The mother of these died Sept. 10, 
1896. 

(IX) Edwin Boeden, son of Christopher 
and Lucy H. (Davis) Borden, was born June 
26, 1850, in that part of Tiverton, R. I., now 
Westport, Mass. He attended the public schools 
of his native town and the Friends' School in 
Providence, R. I. Mr. Borden continued at 
home assisting his father in his farming and 
business operations until his marriage, and has 
since been engaged in farming and business for 
himself. 

Unlike his father before him Mr. Borden has 
given little or no time to politics in the way of 
office seeking or holding, having no taste in that 
direction. He has, however, ever taken that 
interest in public affairs that becomes any good 
citizen, and is a Republican in principle. He 
has many acquaintances and friends who hold 
him in the highest esteem for his many good 
qualities. He is a member of Mount Vernon 
Lodge, No. 157, K. of P., Fall River. 



On March 2, 1871, Mr. Borden married Mary 
E., daughter of William and Nancy (Pierce) 
Young, and their children are: Minnie E., 
born Sept. 16, 1872, married George S. Law- 
ton, and has two children, Ina A. and Alice E. ; 
Ida H., born Sept. 19, 1874, married Henry J. 
Sampson; William C, born Aug. 17, 1878, 
married Cora Macomber, lives at Westport, and 
has three children. Hazel L., Elton M. and 
Eleanor M. ; Beriah E., born May 16, 1880, 
resides at Westport, where he is prominent in 
Masonry, being a Knight Templar and a Shrin- 
er; and Minerva A., born Dec. 26, 1882, mar- 
ried Walter F. Sanford, of Dorchester, Mass. 
(no issue). 

DR. FREDERICK HUBBARD HOOPER. 
In the death of Dr. Frederick Hubbard Hooper 
the city of New Bedford lost one of its eminent 
medical practitioners and a citizen who in fifty 
years of residence there had proved himself 
worthy of the confidence and respect of his 
fellow men. He was a native of the State of 
New Hampshire, born at Walpole June 12, 
1829. 

John Hooper was the first of the name in 
Bridgewater. He married Sarah, perhaps the 
daughter of .John Harden, and they had chil- 
dren born in the very beginning of the eigh- 
teenth century, and before their location in 
Bridgewater. 

Levi Hooper was bom in Bridgewater in 
1742, and in 1767 married Susanna Leach. 
When a young man he went on a whaling voy- 
age to Hudson bay, and on his return enlisted 
as a soldier in the French and Indian war, 
which closed in 1763. On the expiration of 
his term of enlistment — nine months — he was 
unable to get his pay unless he would remain 
in the service three months longer; this he 
did, but at the close of the time he was no 
better off, and so with three other soldiers he 
took "French leave" and made for home. On 
reaching Walpole, N. H., the soil and heavy 
growth of timber pleased Mr. Hooper so much 
that he was induced to return, after visiting 
his home and friends, and locate there. He 
returned to Walpole in 1771, and soon after 
buried his wife Susanna. He married (sec- 
ond) in 1771 Sarah, daughter of Jonathan Hall, 
by whom he had six children. He bought in 
1775 the Samuel Chase farm and located on 
the southern part of it. In 1781 he built and 
moved into the so-called mansion, later the 
residence of George D. Hooper, of Walpole; 
there he lived and died. In the Revolution he 
served as second lieutenant of a company in 
General Bellows's regiment, and later as cap- 



556 



SOUTHEASTEEN MASSACHUSETTS 



tain. Captain Hooper was a man of resolute 
character, held many town offices and accumu- 
lated a competence. 

Salmon Hooper, son of Levi, bora Aug. 7, 
1774, married Nov. 8, 1795, Kebecca Foster. 

Levi Hooper (2), son of Salmon and Re- 
becca, was born April 7, 1801, and married 
Jan. 19, 1826, Harriet, daughter of John 
Graves. Nine children were bom to this union. 

Dr. Frederick Hubbard Hooper, son of Levi 
and Harriet (Graves) Hooper, was born June 
12, 1829, in Walpole, N. H., where he was 
schooled and prepared in part for the medical 
profession, completing his studies in the Col- 
lege of Physicians and Surgeons in New York 
City, from which institution he was graduated 
with honors, taking the degree of M. D. He 
practiced his profession for a time in his na- 
tive town, then for a short time in Fall River, 
Mass., where an uncle. Dr. J. Foster Hooper, 
was located, and in 1857 came to New Bed- 
ford, Mass., where for nearly fifty years he con- 
tinued in the active practice of medicine, be- 
coming one of the leading physicians of the 
city and one of its best known citizens. 

In his early professional career in New Bed- 
ford Dr. Hooper for a period was located in 
the "Parker Hovise." Later he established him- 
self upon his own property, his residence on 
the comer of William and County streets, 
where he continued during the remaining years 
of his active practice — some thirty-seven years. 

During the Civil war Dr. Hooper was the 
examining surgeon for the government in what 
was styled the Cape Cod district. Of a retir- 
ing disposition, he never sought or held politi- 
cal office other than that alluded to above. He 
was a charter member of the Massachusetts 
Medical Society, and at one time served as its 
secretary. He was a trustee of the New Bed- 
ford Five Cents Savings Bank, and also a mem- 
ber of the Wamsutta and Country Clubs. He 
was a member of the Unitarian Society, attend- 
ing that church for many years. 

Dr. Hooper never married. He left sur- 
viving him a sister, Mrs. Mary E. Weymouth, 
of Walpole, N. H., and a brother, George L. 
Hooper, of Lowell, Massachusetts. Dr. Hooper 
died Aug. 31, 1908, at his home, aged seventy- 
nine years, two months, nineteen days, and was 
buried at Walpole, New Hampshire. 

The excellent likeness of Dr. Hooper, ap- 
pearing in this publication is presented solely 
by Miss E. Maud Hume, who for nearly, twenty 
years was the faithful housekeeper for Dr. 
Hooper. Miss Hume is a native of Dartmouth, 
Nova Scotia, daughter of the late Rev. Isaac 
Hume, a minister of the Baptist denomination 



afid well known in Lunenburg county. Nova 
Scotia. 

NOMUS PAIGE, M. D., one of the best 
known physicians as well as one of the oldest in 
point of service in Taunton, and one of that 
town's most active, progressive and public- 
spirited citizens, is a member of an ancient 
Massachusetts family, and was born in Went- 
worth, N. H., March 26, 1840, son of Joseph 
and Pamelia (Ellsworth) Paige. 

(I) John Page was of Hingham and Haver- 
hill, Mass., removing to the latter town about 
1652. He died Nov. 23, 1687, and his widow, 
Mary (Marsh), died in 1697. Their children 
were: John, baptized July 11, 1641; Onesiph- 
orus, baptized Nov. 20, 1642; Benjamin, bap- 
tized July 14, 1644; Mary, baptized May 3, 
1646; Joseph, baptized March 5, 1647-48; Cor- 
nelius, baptized July 15, 1649; Sarah, baptized 
July 18, 1651; Elizabeth, born June 15, 1653; 
Mercy, born April 1, 1655; Ephraim, born Feb. 
27, 1658-59. 

(II) Onesiphorus Page, son of John and 
Mary (Marsh) Page, was born about 1642, and 
was a weaver at Salisbury, where he took the 
oath of fidelity and allegiance, and where he 
was a householder in 1677. He married (first) 
Nov. 22, 1664, Mary Hauxworth, and (second) 
July 31, 1695, Sarah (Morrill), widow of 
Philip Eowell. He died June 28, 1687. His 
children were: Mary, who died Oct. 5, 1666; 
Mary (2), born Oct. 29, 1666; Joseph, born 
April 6, 1670; Abigail, born June 23, 1672; 
Mary, born Nov. 18, 1674: Sarah, bom July 
6, 1677; Onesiphorus, born Feb. 10, 1679; Cor- 
nelius, who died in 1683; Mary, born Sept. 29, 
1686; and John, born Feb. 21, 1696-97. 

(III) Joseph Page, son of Onesiphorus and 
Mary (Hauxworth), born April 6, 1670, mar- 
ried (first) March 12, 1690-91, Sarah Smith, 
who died in 1693. The name of his second wife 
was Elizabeth. His children were : Sarah, 
born Oct. 13, 1691; Judith, Oct. 22, 1693; 
John, June 17, 1696 (married Mary Winsley) ; 
Joseph, Sept. 3, 1698; Joshua, Nov. 15, 1700; 
Benjamin, May 14, 1703; Mary, May 26, 1706; 
and Onesiphorus, Sept. 18, 1708. 

(IV) John Page, son of Joseph and Eliza- 
beth, was born June 17, 1696. In 1720 he 
married Mary Winsley, and they lived in South 
Hampton and in Salisbury. They became the 
parents of children as follows: Ebenezer, born 
July 19, 1720 ; Samuel ; Betsey, born Aug. 12, 
1724; Moses, Sept. 3, 1726; John. Nov. 11, 
1728: Ephraim, March 16, 1731; Mary, April 
5, 1733; Benjamin, Aug. 17, 1735; Benjamin 
(3), Aug. 6, 1737; and Enoch, Sept. 29, 1741. 



SOUTHEASTEEN MASSACHUSETTS 



557 



John Page and his five sons — Samuel, John, 
Ephraim, Moses and Enoch — were original pro- 
prietors of Wentworth. Two of the sons, 
Ephraim and Enoch (called Major), moved 
from Salisbury to Wentworth at its earliest set- 
tlement, and appear to have been the only orig- 
inal proprietors who permanently settled in the 
town (Dr. Hoyt's History of Wentworth). Maj. 
Enoch Page was appointed one of the judges of 
the Inferior court for the county of Grafton. 

(V) Ephraim Page, son of John and Mary, 
was born March 16, 1731, and died Nov. 4, 
1802. He married Hannah Currier, 'frho was 
baptized May 2-1, 1738, and died July 9, 1813, 
As above stated, Ephraim Page was of Salis- 
bury, Mass., and Wentworth, N. H. He had 
three sons: John, born 1769; Samuel, 1773; 
and Currier, 1781. 

(VI) John Page, son of Ephraim, born May 
24, 1769, died Sept. 5, 1840. He was a lad of 
only four or five years when his father moved 
to Wentworth. Of schooling he had very little, 
but he was a man of good mind and excellent 
memory, early showed marked capacity for busi- 
ness, and was successful in whatever he under- 
took. At his father's death he inherited the 
homestead (afterward the town farm), where 
for many years he resided. He was one of the 
largest farmers and landliolders in town, own- 
ing a large quantity of land in various parts 
of the town, especially Ellsworth Hill. About 
1824 he moved to the village, and for a short 
time kept tavern at the old stand, which he then 
owned. The business, however, not being con- 
genial to his tastes, he moved to the three-story 
house adjoining, where he made his home until 
his death. He married Hannah Elimball, born 
April 5, 1772, died Feb. 17, 1837, daughter of 
Joseph Kimball, one of the early settlers. She 
was a woman greatly beloved by all who knew 
her. To John and Hannah Page were born 
children as follows : James, born July 26, 
1794; Ephraim, May 22, 1796 ; John, Jr., April 
27, 1798 ; Elinor, Feb. 19, 1800 ; Samuel, March 
17, 1803; Joseph, July 19, 1805; Hannah, 
April 17, 1807; Simon, April 20, 1809 ; Louisa, 
April 18, 1811 : Sally, May 30, 1814; and Han- 
nah, April 13, 1816. 

(VII) Joseph Page, son of John and Han- 
nah, bom July 19, 1805, died July 19, 1851. 
On April 13, 1832. he married Nancy Peck, 
(second) Feb. 18, 1836, Betsey Webster, and 
(third) Sept. 22, 1839, Pamelia Ellsworth 
(born June 17, 1807, died July 19, 1872). To 
the first marriage was born a daughter Sarah 
(born 1832), who married R. W. Shelbourne 
in 1855. No children were born of the second 
marriage, but to the third came: Nomus and 



Onias, born March 26, 1840, of whom Onias 
died March 26, 1840; Onias (2), born Oct. 9, 
1841, who married June 30, 1868, Mary Louisa 
Park; Octavia Catharine, born Feb. 11, 1843; 
Helen M. and Ellen M., born Oct. 31, 1844; 
Joseph, Jr., born July 12, 1846 ; and Ellen E., 
born July 12, 1848. 

(VIII) Dr. Nomus Paige, son of Joseph and 
Pamelia (Ellsworth), was born in Wentworth, 
N. H., March 26, 1840. He received his early 
education in the common schools of Wentworth, 
and took a preparatory course of three years at 
Kimball Union Academy, Meriden, N. H. From 
there he entered the medical department of 
Dartmouth College at Hanover in 1859, and 
graduated in April, 1861. While there he re- 
ceived instruction from the famous surgeon, 
Prof. Dixi Crosby, the professor of surgery at 
Dartmouth. Before his graduation Dr. Paige 
became interne in the hospital on Deer island, 
Boston Harbor, for six months, and at the same 
time attended medical lectures at the Boston 
Medical School. In June, 1861, he was ap- 
pointed assistant physician at the State Lunatic 
Asylum at Taunton, where he remained a little 
over two years. In the latter part of 1863 he 
established himself in the practice of his pro- 
fession in Taunton, where he has continued for 
nearly fifty years. While not having made a 
specialty of surgery, he has had a wide experi- 
ence in it. Dr. Paige's practice at one time was 
larger perhaps than that of any other physi- 
cian in southern New England. For twenty- 
seven years he was physician to the Bristol 
county jail. 

Although so deeply engrossed in his pro- 
fession, Dr. Paige has nevertheless been inter- 
ested in the material development of the city 
and was one of the builders and a director of 
the Nemasket Mill (now a part of the New 
England Cotton Yarn Company). In 1882 he 
organized the Taunton Electric Light Com- 
pany, it being the third company of the kind 
in the State. Of this he became a director, 
and in 1887 its treasurer, and he continued as 
manager in control of the company until 1897, 
when it was sold to the city. Under municipal 
ownership he was appointed manager of the 
plant, and so continued until 1901. This plant 
is to-day krgely the product of the Doctor's 
industry, energy and foresight. He is one of 
the trustees of the Taunton Savings Bank. In 
politics he is a Republican, and in the early 
days of the city he was a member of the com- 
mon council, and also city physician. He has 
been a member of the Massachusetts Medical 
Society since 1863, and has held all the offices 
in that society; he is a trustee and a member 



558 



SOUTHEASTEEN MASSACHUSETTS 



of the consulting staff of Morton hospital. Dr. 
Paige is a communicant of St. Thomas' Epis- 
copal Church, of Taunton, and one of its 
vestrymen. 

On Nov. 22, 1866, Dr. Paige married Maria 
Josephine Hewins, of Hyde Park, Mass., who 
died in 1876. He married (second) June 30, 
1881, Mrs. Nora (Colby) Baylies, daughter of 
Samuel Colby, of Taunton. Dr. and Mrs. 
Paige had two children, namely : Eussell Colby, 
born Aug. 11, 1882, married Ethel G. Baker, 
daughter of Charles F. Baker, of Taunton, and 
has a son, Samuel Colby, born Oct. 5, 1909 ; 
Katharine Crossman, born in February, 1884, 
married Eugene W. Leach, of Concord, N. H., 
and* they have a daughter, Barbara, born Oct. 
17, 1909. Mrs. Nora Paige died Aug. 13, 1903. 
(VIII) De. Onias Paige, son of Joseph and 
Pamelia (Ellsworth) Paige, was born in the old 
town of Wentworth, N. H., Oct. 9, 1841, and 
came to Taunton in 1862, at the age of twenty- 
one, to study dentistry with Dr. John T. Cod- 
man, whose office was on Main street. Dr. Cod- 
man, in his youth, was a member of the famous 
Brook Farm community, and a delightful por- 
trayer of the people and scenes of that experi- 
ment of associated labor. In March, 1865, Dr. 
Paige opened his office in the City Hotel build- 
ing, and this became his work home for the rest 
of his busy life. Interested in good government, 
he gave his ward and the city his best service 
as councilman and alderman (representing the 
Third ward), and finally as mayor for three 
terms, in the years 1877, 1878 and 1879. His 
administration was characterized by clean-cut, 
efficient business methods, and he himself was 
honestly devoted to the interests of the people. 
When his work for the public was over he gave 
close attention to his business, which had been 
all the time large and lucrative. 

Dr. Paige was for many years a member of 
the Parish committee of the Unitarian Church, 
and no one in the city had a larger acquaint- 
ance with the clergy and laity of that denomi- 
nation. He was a man who did his duty quietly 
and unobtrusively, but none the less effectively. 
He remained true to his ideals, and was known 
as a man of unimpeachable integrity. His life 
extended over more than threescore years — 
busy, well-spent years. 

Dr. Paige married, June 30, 1868, Mary L. 
Park, of Taunton, and they had one daughter, 
Abby Louise. Dr^ Paige died Sept. 2, 1905. 

ELLERY C. CAHOON. The standard writ- 
ers, such as Farmer, Savage and Pope, of the 
pioneers of New England give nothing of the 
Cahoons, but Baylies refers to William Gaboon 



as an inhabitant of Rehoboth in 1665, where 
nothing of vital record seems to appear. 
Fragmentary accounts of the Gaboon family, 
however, appear in Cape Cod towns. James 
Gaboon is referred to as born Oct. 25, 1696, 
son of Widow Mary Davis; wliile William and 
Sarah Gaboon are given as among the first set- 
tlers of Chatham. The latter was originally the 
district of Manamoit or Monomoy, and became 
incorporated as a town, in 1712. Another tract 
of land called Satuckett became the town of 
Harwich in 1694. Id this latter town have 
'lived the branch of xhe Gaboon family here 
considered — the descendants of a James 
Gaboon, as will be observed farther on. 

A James Gaboon figured in the early' pro- 
ceedings of the town of Wellfleet, which be- 
fore it was incorporated in a town was the 
North precinct of Eastham. At the meeting 
of the inhabitants of the North precinct, held 
Jan. 29, 1738-39, James Gaboon was appointed 
one of a committee "to take an account of ye 
agents for building ye meeting house." Mr. 
Gaboon was chosen one of the assessors in 1742- 
43, and again in 1743-44. The family of Wil- 
liam and Sarah Gaboon as of early Chatham 
record as above alluded to were : Marcy, bom 
May 7, 1717; Sarah, born March 4, 1719-20; 
and James, born May 8, 1721. 

James Gaboon of the early family of this 
surname on Gape Cod lived in Harwich. 

Seth Gaboon, son of James, of Harwich, 
married Mariba (or according to another 
Sally), and their six children were: Ezekiel, 
Seth, Ziba, Hannah, Rebecca and Mariba. Of 
these, Kzekiel is mentioned farther on; Seth 
married Mehitable Godfrey and had children, 
Seth, Benjamin and Mehitable; Ziba married 
Ruth Bassett and their children were Ziba, 
Nathaniel, Louisa, Ann, Sarah, Amanda; Re- 
becca was the mother of Mrs. Almena Rob- 
bins, of East Harwich. 

Ezekiel Gaboon, son of Seth, was bom in 
1799 in East Harwich, Mass., where his life 
was spent in agricultural pursuits, and where 
he died Sept. 22, 1877, aged seventy-eight years. 
He married about 1826 Polly Baker, of East 
Harwich, daughter of Anthony Baker, who died 
April 24, 1853, aged eighty-seven years, five 
months ; he was married three times, Mrs. 
Gaboon's mother being his first wife. Mrs. 
Gaboon was born in 1803, and died in East 
Harwich Sept. 26, 1877, aged seventy-four 
years, only a few day? after the death of her 
husband. They were the parents of nine chil- 
dren (the eldest born in 1827), namely: Eze- 
kiel (whose wife's name was Catherine), Ellery 
E., Alonzo, Benjamin, Trxunan, Marrietta, 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



559 



Polly, Emma and Catherine. Of these, Alonzo 
married a Snow (first name possibly Cather- 
ine), and Capt. Frank Cahoon, of South Chat- 
ham, is his son. 

Ellery Eldridge Cahoon, son of Ezekiel, was 
born in 1830 in East Harwich, Mass., and died 
in East Brewster, Mass., in 1863. In early 
life he was a shoemaker, receiving the stock for 
the shoes from the Melrose factories and making 
the same at his home, as was the custom in 
those days. Later he had a store in Brewster, 
and also ran a team on the Cape, selling Yan- 
kee notions, hardware, etc. In politics he was a 
Whig and latet a Eepublican. He was a mem- 
ber of the Baptist Church. He married Sarah 
Freeman, of Brewster, Jlass., daughter of An- 
thony Freeman; she survived her husband, and 
passed away in Brockton, Mass., the mother of 
the following children: Elnora F., who mar- 
ried Alvin W. Sears, died in Brewster from 
injuries received in being thrown from a car- 
riage; Ellery Carroll is mentioned below; An- 
thony B., born in 1858, died in 1859 ; Louisa, 
who married Charles Parker, died in Brockton ; 
and Nellie Frances married William Wixon, of 
West Brewster, where they reside. 

Ellery Carroll Cahoon, president of the 
Brockton Board of Trade, one of the trustees 
of the People's Savins Bank, director of the 
Security Cooperative Bank, senior member of 
the firm of Cahoon, Kingman & Swift, public- 
spirited, forceful and useful citizen, entered 
into rest Aug. 3, 1907, at Norwood, Mass. Mr. 
Cahoon was bom Aug. 22, 1853, at East Brew- 
ster, Mass., and the public schools of that town 
afforded him his means of education. His first 
work after leaving school was the driving of the 
stage-coach through the town of Dennis, and he 
became very well known to the people of that 
section. About 1871 he came to North Bridge- 
water (now Brockton), and entered the employ 
of L. F. Severance, at that time a leading mar- 
ket man, and remained there some years. He 
then went to Luce & Poole, a firm engaged in 
the same line of business, and continued with 
them until he went into the wholesale beef 
business, forming the firm of Cahoon, King- 
man & Swift, a branch of Swift & Co., of Chi- 
cago, and this business grew rapidly, expanding 
with the broadening of the interests of the town, 
and playing an important part therein. 

While devoted to the interests of his business, 
Mr. Cahoon was a many-sided man, and with- 
out neglecting any one thing was able to be 
interested in many lines of activity. From the 
inception of the Brockton Board of Trade he 
was one of its active workers, inspiring others 
to greater effort by his enthusiasm, and shortly 



before his death had been elected its president. 
He was one of the trustees of the People's Sav- 
ings Bank, and an officer of the Security Co- 
operative Bank. In the Commercial Club he 
was an ever-welcome adviser and tireless worker. 
He had been active in a garbage disposal scheme 
for the city, and at his request an agent of the 
Wiselogel Sewerage Disposal Company, of St. 
Louis, visited Brockton and explained to the 
city officials the system he represented. This 
question had engrossed Mr. Gaboon's attention 
for some time, and he was on the alert to find 
the best practical method for his city*. 

Mr. Cahoon was a member of the Porter Con- 
gregational Church, and was the senior melh- 
ber of the parish committee and collector of the 
church. He was a member and at one time a 
director of the Brockton Y. M. C. A., and in 
the Brockton No-License League he was vigi- 
lant and energetic, at all times taking a firm 
stand on the side of morality in commercial, 
social and municipal life. He was a friend of 
humanity — the love of his friends was a marked 
characteristic, and his hearty greeting cheered 
many a wavering, despondent being. His pres- 
ence vibrated sincerity and loyalty, and became 
a tonic to those associated with him. He kept 
himself pure and sweet amid all the temptations 
of life, and no taint of corruption rested upon 
him. Large responsibilities and trusts were 
confided to him, and his reliability was never 
questioned. His square dealing was known to 
all his business acquaintances, and the confi- 
dence given him' in return was implicit. 

To Mr. Cahoon life brought its duties, and 
he felt that the day of no man was his own. 
Each day, each hour, had its task, and there 
were no idle moments. He loved life and its 
activity, and he faced each day with the cour- 
age and confidence that bespoke his faith — a 
faith that questioned not the duties thrust upon 
him, but lent strength to their accomplishment. 
Mr. Cahoon was prominent in fraternal cir- 
cles, being a member in and collector of Brock- 
ton Lodge, Knights of Honor ; a member of the 
N. E. 0. P. ; Paul Revere Lodge, A. F. & A. M. ; 
Satucket Chapter, R. A. M. ; Brockton Council, 
R. & S. M. ; and Bay State Commandery, K. 
T., Brockton. 

On June 16, 1875,. Mr. Cahoon was united 
in marriage with Annie C. Johnson, of East 
Boston, Mass., daughter of Andrew and Ellen 
(Murray) Johnson, both natives of Boston. Two 
children were born to them : Edith Louise, 
who died aged nine years; and Ellery Carroll, 
Jr., who died aged nine months. Mrs. Cahoon 
and Mr. Cahoon's sister, Mrs. William Wixon, 
of Brewster, survive to mourn his death. 



560 



SOTJTHEASTEKX MASSACHUSETTS 



The funeral services were held at the home, 
No. 695 Belmont street, Brockton, and were 
simple but impressive. Associates in business 
and fraternal life, friends, all were there, Rev. 
Dr. Albert Marion Hyde conducted the services, 
and the Gerrish quartette sang several selec- 
tions. Dr. Hyde said in part: 

"Every interest in our community has suf- 
fered grievous loss in the death of Ellery C. 
Cahoon. The business world in which he has 
long stood in such honor, the social circles to 
which he always brought much bounding good 
cheer, the church interests to which he was al- 
ways such a faithful ally, the charitable insti- 
tiftions to which he was such a liberal giver, 
are all poorer because he has gone out from us. 
Active and energetic, always abounding in vi- 
tality and good cheer, he has been among our 
first and our best in all that counts for the com- 
munity and the individual. I do not need to 
speak his eulogy. The eulogy of such a char- 
acter is never spoken. Not the words but the 
works which follow him will be his memorial 
monument. Through all the record of our 
brother's life four great words are shining, in- 
tegrity, industry, friendship, faith _• . 

We can say of him as Whittier said of Agassiz : 

"As thiu mists are glorified, 
By the light they cannot hide. 
All who gazed upon him saw, 
Through its veil of tender awe, 
How his face was still uplit 
By the old sweet look of it; 
Hopeful, trustful, full «f cheer, 
And the love that casts out fear." 

The directors of the Security Cooperative 
Bank, at their meeting held in Brockton Sept. 
19, 1907, adopted resolutions as follows : 

Whebeas, the dark Angel, whose wings ever spread 
in flight summoning our friends and loved ones 
to the eternal and invisible beyond, has paused to 
deliver his dread message to Ellery Carroll Ca- 
hoon, our friend, companion and co-worker, and 

Whereas, in the sudden answer to the summons we 
are brought to realize how strong a character and 
how noble a man has been removed from among 
us, leaving a place vacant and calling for some 
one to step from the ranks of thoughtless toil 
and, in his stead, administer relief to the 
distressed and comfort to the afflicted; 

Be It Resolved, that in his death the Security Co- 
operative Bank and the community at large have 
suffered a loss that is severely felt ; that in the 
twenty-four years that he has been a member of 
this institution, thirteen years as a director and 
four years as a vice president, he has performed 
service to the bank and to the community that 
will be of lasting benefit; that the kindly smile, 
hearty handshake, and cheery word of Ellery 
Carroll Cahoon have been blessings to us all, and 
we are called upon to turn from the considera^ 



-tion of our own condition and affairs to offer our 
deepest sympathy to his bereaved family in the 
loss sustained. 

(Signed) 

Grant D. Anthony, 
Samtiei. Goodwin, 

B. B. WiNSLOW, 

Committee. 

BLACKSTONE (Bridgewater family). The 
name Blackstone (early written Blaxton) is a 
very ancient one in Massachusetts and the fam- 
ily later a most respectable and honored one 
in the ancient towns of Branford and Nor- 
wich, in Connecticut, descendants of that New 
England pioneer and Boston-Eehoboth settler, 
William Blackstone. And at Bridgewater, this 
Commonwealth, in that ancient Plymouth Col- 
ony town, the name and family have stood not 
less conspicuously, reference being made to 
Hollis M. Blackstone, the head of the Bridge- 
water family, who for upward of twenty-five 
years, as superintendent, has had the manage- 
ment of the State farm at that place. 

William Blackstone, the pioneer, is supposed 
to have been a graduate of Emanuel College, 
Cambridge, in 1617, and a clergyman of the 
Church of England. He left there because 
of a dislike of the Lords Bishops. He was 
probably of Robert George's party, who made 
settlement in 1623 at Weymouth. About 1623 
he moved from Plymouth to the peninsula of 
Shawmut, where Boston was afterward built, 
and was living there alone when Governor Win- 
throp arrived at Charlestown in 1630. Black- 
stone went to Winthrop, told him of an ex- 
cellent spring at Shawmut, and invited him 
thither. The Governor and the greater part 
of the church accepted this invitation. The 
land, although Blackstone had occupied it first, 
belonged to the Governor and company, and on 
April 1, 1633, they gave him fifty acres, near 
his house, "to enjoy forever." He sold his es- 
tate in 1634, purchased cattle with the pro- 
ceeds of his sale and m that or the subsequent 
year removed to Rehoboth, and was the firs' 
permanent white settler there. His locatic 
there was on the banks of the Blackstone (nr 
in the town of Cumberland, R. I.) and vr.> 
called by him "Sturdy Hill." It is said t 
he .planted the first orchard in Massachus' .-r?, 
and also the first in Rhode Island. 

On July 4, 1659, Mr. Blackstone marr;?'^! 
Sarah Stephenson, widow of John. He l^od 
May 26, 1675, and she in June, 1673. '"i? 
family name has been perpetuated throv vh hin 
only son, John Blackstone, a resident o:^ }  ' 
both, Mass., Providence, R. I., Attleborc "■ n  
and Branford, Conn. John Blacksto >•  



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



561 



ried a woman whose Christian name was Cath- 
erine. Soon after going to Branford, it is 
thought, Mr. Blackstone went to sea and fol- 
lowed the occupation of a seafaring man for 
a number of years, becoming master and owner 
of a vessel, and carried on trade with the 
West Indies. Subsequently he became a farmer 
in Branford and the proprietor of a large 
landed estate which for generations has been 
handed down from father to son. Through the 
second John and only child, so far as ascer- 
tained, have descended the distinguished Bran- 
ford and Branford- Norwich (Conn.) lines of 
Blackstones, the especial worthies being Capt. 
James Blackstone and his sons Hon. Lorenzo 
and Timothy B. Blackstone. Capt. James 
Blackstone, a farmer of Branford, for a time 
during the war of 1813, in command of a 
company, did coast guard duty. He served his 
town as assessor and selectman, was its repre- 
sentative in the State Assembly, and his dis- 
trict in the Senate; Lorenzo Blackstone was 
for nearly a third of a century prominently 
identified with the manufacturing interests of 
Connecticut, one of the leading citizens of 
Norwich, for some thirty years president of one 
of the banks there, for years the city's honored 
mayor and its representative in both the lower 
house and Senate of the General Assembly of 
Connecticut; while the late Timothy B. Black- 
stone, who had left the East nearly fifty years 
before his death, and at the latter time was a 
resident of Chicago, for some thirty years 
managed with consvmomate skill the affairs of 
the most successful of all the great railways of 
the West, and was best known as president of 
the Chicago & Alton Eailway Company. Tim- 
othy B. Blackstone was the donor of the hand- 
some and costly library at Branford, Conn., 
which is styled "The James Blackstone Memo- 
rial Library." This building he had erected, 
and provided an endowment for the mainte- 
nance of the library, in memory of his father. 
It is thought that the Maine branch of the 
Blackstone family, from which descends Hollis 
M. Blackstone, superintendent of the Massa- 
chusetts State farm in Bridgewater, springs 
from William Blackstone, the pioneer and Bos- 
ton settler. One Benjamin Blackstone was 
among those whose right in the common lands 
of the town of Falmouth, Maine, under pro- 
vision of Governor Danforth, was acknowledged 
in May, 1730, his name being of record there 
in this connection, in the month and year 
named. Varney Blackstone, M. D., father of 
Hollis M., was a practicing physician of Free- 
dom, Maine, where his death occurred when he 
was aged forty-one years. His wife, formerly 

36 



Julia Lamson, like himself a native of Maine, 
was a daughter of James Lamson, who was a 
pensioner of the war of 1812, and for many 
years a deacon of the Baptist Church. She is 
still living, now (1910) in her ninetieth year, 
and makes her home with her son, Hollis M. 
Five children were born to Dr. Blackstone and 
his wife, namely: Francis Lamson, who died 
young; William, who died aged nineteen years; 
HoUis M. ; John Milton, who died young ; and 
Euphemia, who married Ellis H. Walker, who 
is engaged in farming in Rehoboth, Massachu- 
setts. 

Hollis M. Blackstone, left fatherless at 
the age of six, was early thrown upon his own 
resources, practically so when twelve years of 
age. Through persistent efforts he acquired an 
academic education, and after completing his 
education taught school for some time. He 
lived in his native State until reaching the age 
of twenty-two, and, subsequently taking up his 
residence in Boston, he in 1873 was appointed 
to a clerkship at' the city institution on Deer 
island. He continued in that position until 
1877, when he was chosen superintendent of 
the Marcella Street Home, conducted by the 
city of Boston, and located at the Highlands. 
In 1883 he was the choice of the board of 
trustees for the superintendency of the State 
farm in Bridgewater, and that he has fully 
displayed the competency and fidelity expected 
of him is amply attested by his long tenure of 
office. This institution has three separate de- 
partments : the workhouse, to which are sen- 
tenced habitual inebriates, tramps, vagrants, 
and ic"o and disorderly persons; the State alms- 
house, which is a retreat for the sick and in- 
firm poor of southeastern Massachusetts; and 
the asylum for insane criminals. The State 
farm of 1,200 acres is beautifully and health- 
fully located, and its present handsome struc- 
tures of brick, stone and concrete, which re- 
placed the former wooden buildings destroyed 
by fire on July 2, 1883, are models as to thor- 
oughness of construction and completeness in 
every detail. The conflagration, which de- 
stroyed the old buildings, occurred the day 
after Mr. Blackstone took charge of the insti- 
tution; and the architectural plans and speci- 
fications for the present buildings were all 
planned in detail by him ; this was the pioneer 
venture in this State in the use of reinforced 
concrete in the construction of buildings. The 
present management is accomplishing the work 
for which it is intended in a most satisfactory 
manner, and the superintendent is exceedingly 
popular with all parties interested in the wel- 
fare of the institution. The excellent results 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



obtained at the farm are due mainly to his 
executive ability and thorough knowledge of 
the work, and in all probability his continuance 
in office is optional with himself. When he 
took charge of the State farm but 157 persons 
were inmates of the same, while now this in- 
stitution takes care of an average of 2,400 the 
year round. Included in his duties at the 
State farm are those of postmaster. 

In his political affiliations Mr. Blackstone 
is a Republican. He was for years a member 
of the Bridgewater school board and for seven- 
teen years its president. He belongs to Fellow- 
ship Lodge, A. F. & A. M., of Bridgewater, 
and to the Royal Arch Chapter, of Bridgewater, 
and is a member of the Unitarian Church, at 
Bridgewater. 

On Feb. 8, 1877, Mr. Blackstone married 
Sarah F. Roberts, of Brooks, Maine, daughter 
of Alfred Roberts, and the union has been 
blessed with these children : Alfred Varney ; 
Helen Monroe, who was educated in the local 
schools and Bradford Academy, and is now the 
wife of Frank H. Carlisle, M. D., of the Fox- 
boro (Mass.) State Hospital; and Nellie, who 
died young. 

Alfeed Varney Blackstone, M. D., only 
son of Hollis M., was educated in the public 
and high schools of Bridgewater, after which, 
in 1899, he entered Brown University, gradua- 
ting therefrom in 1903, and later taking a course 
at Harvard Medical College, graduating from 
the latter in the class of 1907, with the de- 
gree of M. D. He then went to Europe, and 
took a post-graduate course at Dublin Hospital, 
Dublin, Ireland, after which he became ship 
surgeon on the Nelson Line, sailing to South 
America. He is now located at Absarokee, 
Mont., where he is practicing his profession. 
He is unmarried. 

DAVIS (Plymouth family). If is the pur- 
pose of this article to set forth in chronological 
order and briefly from the earliest known 
American ancestor a line of the Davis family 
that has been conspicuous in the annals of Ply- 
mouth and, beyond* the town, in those of the 
Commonwealth of Massachusetts. Reference is 
made especially to Thomas Davis, the first of 
the family at Plymouth, who was one of the 
leading ship owners and prominent business 
men of his time in the town ; to his sons Hon. 
Thomas Davis, long one of the leading public 
men of Plymouth and of the Commonwealth, 
serving in high public station in each; Hon. 
John Davis, a graduate of Harvard, lawyer and 
judge^ member of the Constitutional conven- 
tion, etc.; Isaac P. Davis, Esq., for years one 



of the most extensive manufacturers of Boston; 
Hon. Wendell Davis, a graduate of Harvard, 
lawyer, high sheriff of Barnstable county, etc.; 
and William Davis, Esq., who succeeded his 
father in navigation and the merchant service; 
and in succeeding generations to the late Hon. 
Charles Gideon Davis, a graduate of Harvard, 
lawyer and judge and man of affairs; to the 
latter's brother, the late Hon. William Thomas 
Davis, also a graduate of Harvard, lawyer, his- 
torian, and prominent public official; and to 
their sons, respectively, Charles S., lawyer, now 
active and prominent in the professional life 
of his section, president of one and director 
of two Plymouth banks; and Howland Davis, 
member of the firm of Blake Brothers, New 
York and Boston, and who has his summer 
home at Long Pond, Plymouth. 

And it will be noted further along that this 
line of the Plymouth Davis family have an 
allied connection in the beginning with a de- 
scendant of Evert Jansen Wendel, a native of 
the city of Embden, East Friesland (now Han- 
over); on the confines of the United Provinces 
of Holland, who came thence in 1640 to New 
Netherlands in America under the Dutch West 
India Company and became a resident of New 
Amsterdam on the island of Manhattan, the 
present site of the city of New York ; and from 
whom have descended the Massachusetts family 
of the name, including the late eminent Wendell 
Phillips and Oliver Wendell Holmes. 

(I) Thomas Davis came from England and 
was at Albany. He is believed to have been a 
descendant of Robert Davis of Plymouth. He 
married Catherine Wendell, and removed to the 
State of North Carolina about 1730. Their 
children were: Robert, born in 1708; John; 
Catherine, born in 1714, who married John 
Creecy, of North Carolina; Thomas, born in 
1738; David, born in 1724; Benjamin, and 
Miles. 

The Wendell family is of Germanic origin 
and of great respectability. The coat of arms, 
which has the device of a ship under full sail 
and two anchors, and which was stained on nine 
panes of glass in the east window of the old 
Dutch church at Albany, demolished in 1805, 
and the matrimonial alliances which they 
formed among tlie Van Rensselaer, De Key and 
Steats families indicate their high social stand- 
ing (Rev. Elias Nason in New England Histori- 
cal and Genealogical Register, Vol. XXII, page 
420). 

(II) Thomas Davis (2), son of Thomas and 
Catherine (Wendell) Davis, born in 1722, came 
to Plymouth in 1737 for the purpose of being 
educated under the care of Elkanah Morton. 



SOUTHEASTEEN MASSACHUSETTS 



563 



He married in 1753 Mercy, born in 1734, 
daughter of Barnabas Hedge and his wife 
Mercy (Barnes-Cole), he a direct descendant 
of William Hedge of Lynn, 1634, and afterward 
of Sandwich and Yarmouth, through Elisha 
Hedge and his wife Mary, and John Hedge and 
his wife Thankful (Lothrop), of Barnstable. 
Mr. Davis was a soldier in the expedition 
against Louisburg. After his return he engaged 
in navigation, conducting a large trade with 
the West Indies, Spain, France and along the 
shores of the Mediterranean sea, being one of 
the leading ship owners and prominent busi- 
ness men of the then busy town of Plymouth. 
In 1782 one of the vessels, the schooner "Har- 
mony," commanded by Nathaniel Carver, was 
overhauled and captured by Horatio Nelson, 
afterward Lord Nelson, the noted English ad- 
miral, and the captain was held as prisoner, 
being compelled to pilot the English ship 
through comparatively unknown and intricate 
passages out of the way of the French fleet 
which put out from Boston for its capture. 
Once safe from the French Nelson put the cap- 
tain ashore. In the possession of the Davis 
family is Nelson's certificate of capture and re- 
lease of the ship and his signature to it is the 
only known autograph of Nelson in this coun- 
try. The children of Thomas and Mercy 
(Hedge) Davis were: Sarah, born in 1754, 
who married LeBaron Bradford, of Bristol, E. 
I., son of William Bradford, the latter at one 
time United States senator from Ehode Island ; 
Thomas, born in 1756; William, born in 1758; 
John, born in 1761; Samuel, born in 1765; 
Isaac P., born in 1771; and Wendell, born in 
1776. Of these sons, 

(III) Thomas Davis was a representative 
from Plymouth, senator from Plymouth county, 
senator from Suffolk county, treasurer and re- 
ceiver general of the Commonwealth from 1792 
to 1797, and president of the Boston Marine 
Insurance Company from 1799 until his death, 
Jan. 21, 1805. 

(Ill) John Davis was graduated from Har- 
vard in 1781, and entered the legal profession. 
He was the youngest member of the convention 
on the adoption of the State constitution, and 
in 1796 was appointed by Washington comp- 
troller of the United States treasury. In 1801 
he was appointed, by John Adams, judge of the 
United States court for the district of Massa- 
chusetts, and continued on the bench forty 
years. He was treasurer of Harvard College 
from 1810 to 1827. fellow of Harvard from 
1803 to 1810, and president of the Massachu- 
setts Historical Society from 1818 to 1843. He 
died in Boston Jan. 14, 1847. 



(Ill) Samuel Davis was a well-known anti- 
quarian, a learned linguist, and a recognized 
authority on questions relating to Indian dia- 
lects. He was a member of the Massachusetts 
Historical Society, recipient of an honorary de- 
gree from Harvard in 1819, and died in Ply- 
mouth July 10, 1829. 

(Ill) Isaac P. Davis was for many years an 
extensive manufacturer in Boston, owning a 
rope walk on the mill dam, now Beacon street, 
and perhaps was more widely known in Boston, 
than any other man of his time. He was a 
friend of artists and a patron of art, whose 
judgment and taste were freely consulted by 
purchasers. Stuart, the portrait painter, was 
his intimate friend, as was Webster, who dedi- 
cated a volume of his speeches to him. 

(Ill) Wendell Davis was graduated from 
Harvard in 1796, was clerk of the Massachu- 
setts Senate from 1802 to 1805. He studied 
the law with his brother John, and settled in 
Sandwich. He served by appointment of the gov- 
ernor as sheriff of Barnstable county. He was 
the father of Hon. George T. Davis, of Green- 
field, whom Thackeray declared the most bril- 
liant conversationalist he had ever met. 

(Ill) William Davis, son of Thomas and 
Mercy (Hedge) Davis, born July 15, 1758, 
married in 1781 Eebecca, born in 1762, daugh- 
ter of Nathaniel and Eebecca (Jackson) Mor- 
ton, and a direct descendant of George Morton, 
of Yorkshire, England, who early joined the 
Pilgrims in Leyden, Holland, and sailed with 
his wife and five children in the "Ann," the 
third and last ship to carry what are distinc- 
tively known as the Forefathers, and reached 
Plymouth early in June, 1623, from whom her 
descent is through Ephraim and Ann (Cooper), 
Nathaniel and Mary (Faunce), Nathaniel (2) 
and Meriah (Clark) and Nathaniel (3) and 
Eebecca (Jackson). Mr. Davis was trained in 
the business of his father, who was largely en- 
gaged in navigation and foreign trade, and, 
after the death of his father, March 7, 1785, he 
continued the business of the firm of Thomas 
& William Davis with marked success until his 
death. He was a representative to the General 
Court of Massachusetts, a member of the execu- 
tive council, and for twenty-five years a mem- 
ber of the board of selectmen of Plymouth. It 
is worthy in this connection to note that in 
this line the services of four generations of 
the Davis family as selectmen cover a period 
of fifty-two years. Mr. Davis was one of the 
founders of the Plymouth Bank, and its presi- 
flent until his death, and one of the founders 
of the Pilgrim Society and its first vice presi- 
dent. After his death, Jan. 5, 1826, his widow 



564 



SOUTHEASTEEN MASSACHUSETTS 



continued to occupy the family mansion until 
1830, when she removed to Boston, where she 
died April 1, 1847. The cliildren of William 
and Eebecca (Morton) Davis were: William, 
born in 1783; Nathaniel, born in 1785; 
Thomas, born in 1791; and Elizabeth, born in 
1803 (married Alexander Bliss and George 
Bancroft, Mr. Bliss being the law partner of 
Daniel Webster and Bancroft the eminent his- 
torian). 

(IV) William Davis (2), son of William and 
Eebecca (Morton) Davis, born in 1783, married 
in 1807 Joanna, daughter of Capt. Gideon 
White, of Shelburne, Nova Scotia, an officer in 
the English army, and a direct descendant of 
William White of the "Mayflower," 1620. Mr. 
Davis was for a period associated in business 
with his father. He died at the comparatively 
early age of forty-one years, March 22, 1824. 
The children of William and Joanna (White) 
Davis were : William Whitworth, born in 1808 ; 
Eebecca, born in 1810, who married Ebenezer 
Grosvenor Parker and George S. Tolman ; Han- 
nah White, born in 1812, who married Andrew 
L. Eussell; Sarah Bradford, born in 1814; 
Charles Gideon, born in 1820 ; William Thomas, 
born in 1822; and Sarah Elizabeth, born in 
1824. 

(V) Charles Gideon Davis, son of William 
and Joanna (White) Davis, was born May 30, 
1820, in the house now known as Plymouth 
Eock House on Cole's Hill, in Plymouth, Mass., 
and died July 2, 1903. He acquired his ele- 
mentary education in the home schools and in 
a private school at Hingham, Mass.; furthered 
his studies in the Plymouth high school, and 
was prepared for college under the direction of 
Hon. John A. Shaw of Bridgewater. Entering 
Harvard College he was graduated therefrom 
with the class of 1840. He was prepared for 
the law under the direction of Hon. Jacob H. 
Loud, of Plymouth, Messrs. Hubbard & Watt, 
of Boston, and at the Harvard Law School. He 
was admitted at the August term of the Com- 
mon Pleas court, Plymouth, 1843, and located 
in Boston for the practice of his profession, 
where for a decade he was engaged in an active 
and increasing practice, in partnership at vari- 
ous times with William H. Whitman, George P. 
Sanger, who was a member of his class at Har- 
vard, and Seth Webb, also of Harvard, of the 
class of 1843. In the early fifties, owing to 
bronchial trouble, he deemed it was best to leave 
Boston, so relinquished his practice there and 
retired to his native town, where he ever after- 
ward resided, adding to his professional pur- 
suits the vocation of operating in real estate, 
in which he exhibited a degree of public spirit 



and enterprise by which the town was largely 
benefited. On his return from Boston to Ply- 
mouth he purchased a farm on the outskirts of 
the town and built thereon the house in which 
he continued to make his home the remainder 
of his years. In 1854 he built the Davis build- 
ing, the brick block at the corner of Eailroad 
avenue in 1870, and for many years was the 
largest individual holder of real estate in the 
town. 

While a resident of Boston and scarcely be- 
yond his majority young Davis espoused the 
cause of the slave and became one of the organ- 
izers of the Free-soil party, in 1848. He was 
one of the numerous persons arrested and tried 
in 1851 for participation in the rescue of Shad- 
rach, the fugitive slave. The charge was that 
he was entering the court room, Shadrach was 
going out, and that he held the door in such 
a way as to make the escape effectual. On this 
point said his brother, the late William T. 
Davis, "though he was acquitted, I never knew 
how much or how little, if at all, he aided the 
negro in his flight." He with others, among 
them the afterward war governor of Massachu- 
setts, John A. Andrew, and F. W. Bird, op- 
posed the reelection to Congress of Eobert C. 
Winthrop, and offered in Faneuil Hall the reso- 
lution which first nominated Charles Sumner 
for that honor. In 1863, the year in which he 
changed his residence to Plymouth, he was a 
delegate from Plymouth to the Constitutional 
convention. In 1856 he was appointed a mem- 
ber of the State board of agriculture (sustain- 
ing that relation until 1877) and in the same 
year chosen president of the Plymouth County 
Agricultural Society, retaining the latter ofiBce 
until resigning in the year 1876. In 1856 he 
was one of three delegates from Massachusetts 
to the convention at Pittsburg at which the Ee- 
publican party was organized ; was a delegate 
from the First Massachusetts district to the 
convention at Philadelphia in 1856, which put 
John C. Fremont in nomination for president, 
and to the convention at Cincinnati, in 1872, 
which nominated Horace Greeley for the same 
office. In 1859 he was chosen an overseer of 
Harvard University for five years. In 1861 
he was appointed by Governor Andrew on a 
commission to propose a plan for a State agri- 
cultural college, and after the establishment of 
that institution served as one of its trustees 
many years. In 1862 he represented Plymouth 
in the General Court and in that same year was 
appointed under the United States revenue law 
assessor for the First district, holding that office 
until 1869. In 1874 he was appointed Judge of 
the Third District court, and remained on the 



SOUTHEASTEEN MASSACHUSETTS 



565 



bench until his death. And during these vari- 
ous official rela'^ns and vocations Mr. Davis 
steadily followed his profession and in a num- 
ber of civil and criminal cases of importance 
he acquitted liimself with acknowledged ability 
and substantial success. 

On Nov. 19, 1845, Judge Davis married Han- 
nah Stevenson, who was born Feb. 25, 1821, 
daughter of Col. John B. and Mary (LeBaron) 
Thomas, the former at the time clerk of the 
courts of Plymouth county. Mrs. Davis died 
Nov. 7, 1900. Four children were born to this 
marriage, namely: Charles Howland, born in 
1853, who died soon; Joanna, born in 1856, 
who married Eichard H. Morgan; Charles 
Stevenson, born in 1858; and Edward, born in 
1860, now deceased. 

(VI) Charles Stevenson Davis, son of the 
late Judge Charles Gideon Davis, was born in 
Plymouth Jan. 1, 1858. He received his early 
education in the public schools there and at 
Adams Academy, Quincy, Mass., after which he 
entered Harvard, from which university he was 
graduated with the class of 1880. He then took 
up the study of law in the ofBce of Bacon, Hop- 
kins & Bacon, of Worcester, Mass., and was ad- 
mitted to the bar of this State in 1882. That 
year he entered upon another experience which 
has proved valuable to him, becoming private 
secretary to Justice John M. Harlan, of the 
United States Supreme court, at Washington, 
D. C. He then began legal practice in his na- 
tive place, soon afterward, however, opening an 
office in Boston, where he has been practicing, 
most successfully, for many years. Meantime, 
however, he has continued to make his home at 
Plymouth, and though his legal interests have 
centered in Boston he has always continued to 
be thoroughly identified with his home city, as 
his numerous relations with the life of the com- 
munity testify. He is associate justice of the 
Third District court of Plymouth county; 
counsel for the town of Plymouth and other 
towns; president of the Plymouth Savings 
Bank; director of the Old Colony National 
Bank; president of the Jordan hospital board; 
a trustee of the Pilgrim Society of Plymouth, 
and a director of numerous manufacturing and 
railway corporations. He has filled a number 
of municipal offices, among others that of select- 
man, and he was chairman of the board. He 
is a stanch Democrat in political opinion. 

On June 30, 1886, Mr. Davis married Lydia 
Eussell, daughter of the late John J. and Mary 
(Danforth) Russell, the latter still surviving. 
Mrs. Davis died in 1910, the mother of three 
children, Charles Stevenson, Jr., Eussell, and 
Helen, the daughter dying in infancy. 



(V) William T. Davis, son of William and 
Joanna (White) Davis, was born March 3, 
1823, in Plymouth, Mass., and in the town of 
his nativity and illustrious ancestors was passed 
in main his long and useful life; and with its 
affairs, with its people and its' institutions, with 
the history from the time of the landing of the 
Pilgrim Fathers, none other was so familiar. 
He was fitted for college at the Plymouth high 
school, entered Harvard University, and was 
graduated therefrom with the class of 1842. 
Descending from forefathers of achievement, 
from a liberally educated family, it was but nat- 
ural that he determined on entering one of the 
learned professions, hence he chose that of 
medicine, and for a time prosecuted his studies 
in that direction in the University of Pennsyl- 
vania, then continued his studies for a year in 
Europe. A change came upon him, and on his 
return from abroad he switched ofE onto the 
law, studying first for a time under the direc- 
tion of lus brother Charles G. (whom it will 
be noticed became a lawyer of eminence and a 
man of distinction, at that time in Boston), 
after which he furthered his preparation at the 
Harvard Law School. Mr. Davis was admitted 
to the bar of Suffolk county Nov. 9, 1849, and 
in the city of Boston began the practice of his 
chosen profession. There he continued to suc- 
cessfully prosecute the practice of law with zeal 
for several years, but conditions brought about 
another change in the course of his life, and 
in 1853 he returned to his native town, where 
he engaged in business, and soon became one 
of the substantial men and valuable citizens of 
Plymouth. 

Of scholarly attainments and of literary 
tastes, Mr. Davis in time drifted into literary 
work, and became the recognized historian of 
his section, an acknowledged authority on the 
history and genealogy of Ancient Plymouth, 
which meant practically southeastern Massa- 
chusetts. Among his writings and publications 
are 'TSistory of Plymouth," "Ancient Land- 
marks of Plymouth," "History of Newburyport, 
Massachusetts," "Historical Sketches of Some 
Massachusetts Towns," and "History of the 
Bench and Bar of Massachusetts." He also 
edited the "Plymouth Town Eecords" (two vol- 
umes) and the "History of the New England 
States" (three volumes). And this sort of 
work, for which he was so admirably fitted, 
brought him in demand for addresses and lec- 
tures along these lines and those akin to them, 
and on various public occasions not historical 
he also delivered many addresses. 

It goes without saying that Mr. Davis was 
prominent in the public affairs of the com- 



566 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



munity, the welfare of which he had always at 
heart. He was an efficient member of the board 
of selectmen of Plymouth for a great mapy 
years, serving many times as its chairman. He 
was first chosen selectman in 1855, and was 
chairman of the board in 1856, so continuing 
until the spring of 1866, when he declined fur- 
ther service. In 1870 and 1881 he was again 
chosen, but declined; he was again chosen in 
1888, 1889 and 1890, serving the last year as 
chairman. He also acted as moderator of the 
town for seventy-nine times. He served as 
a member of the school committee for a num- 
ber of years; in 1858 and 1859 he was State sen- 
ator from the Plymouth district. As a Eepub- 
lican he was a Presidential elector from 
Massachusetts in 1872; he was a delegate from 
his State to the Republican National convention 
held in Cincinnati, Ohio, in 1876, at which 
Rutherford B. Hayes received the nomination 
for the presidency of the United States. In 
1895 he was made chairman of the Old Colony 
Commission ; and was chairman for fifteen years 
or more of the First Parish Unitarian com- 
mittee. He was for years president of the Pil- 
grim Society, and a trustee of that organization. 
And in commercial lines he was for twenty years 
or more president of the Plymouth National 
Bank, and for a time president of the Plymouth 
Gas Company. Mr. Davis also performed valu- 
able service to his State and country during the 
Civil war. On behalf of the Plymouth Bank, of 
which he was president, he offered Gov. John 
A. Andrew the use of $20,000 as a contribution 
to an emergency fund to meet expenditures 
which must at once be made. He also did much 
toward relieving suffering among the families 
of soldiers. He was also chosen by Governor 
Andrew to visit the Massachusetts troops in the 
field upon several occasions, and to report to 
him their condition, sanitary and otherwise, 
with the view of allaying the anxieties of sol- 
diers' families, looking to the comfort of the 
wounded soldiers in the hospitals, etc. His 
work in this line resulted in preventing much 
suffering and sickness among the Massachusetts 
troops, and although he experienced many hard- 
ships his first thought was the comfort of the 
soldiers in the field, as well as the assistance 
which he rendered to soldiers' families at home. 
In 1849 Mr. Davis married Abby Burr, who 
was born in 1826, daughter of Thomas Hedge 
and his wife Lydia (Coffin), the former a direct 
descendant of William Hedge, of Lynn, Mass., 
in 1634, and later of Sandwich and Yarmouth, 
through Elisha, of Yarmouth; John, of that 
same town; Barnabas; Barnabas (2) ; and Bar- 
nabas Hedge (3). 



To Mr. and Mrs. William T. Davis w'ere born 
the following children : AbH^ Warren, born 
March 24, 1854, who married Alexander Jack- 
son, of Boston; Howland, born July 28, 1855, 
mentioned below; Katherine Wendell, born 
March 2, 1859 ; and Alice Whitworth, born Dec. 
13, 1864, who married Dr. Henry R. Hitch- 
cock, now of Plymouth. The mother of these 
children died in Plymouth in August, 1895, 
and the father passed away Dec. 2, 1907, both 
being laid to rest in Oak Grove cemetery. 

(VI) Howland Davis, only son of the late 
William T. and Abby Burr (Hedge) Davis, 
was born in Plymouth, Mass., July 28, 1855, 
and began his education in the local district 
schools. He later attended the high school, and 
also a business college in Boston, after which 
he became a clerk with the banking and broker- 
age firm of Blake Brothers & Co., of New York 
and Boston, with which firm he has since been 
associated. After ten years of faithful service 
he acquired an interest in the business, and has 
been a member of the firm for a number of 
years. His office is in Exchange Place, New 
York. Mr. Davis has, however, maintained his 
interest in his old home town, and he and his 
family spend the summer seasons at Long Pond, 
in Plymouth, where he has a beautiful home. 
Mr. Davis is a prominent member and a trustee 
of the Pilgrim Society of Plymouth. He is also 
a member of the General Society of Mayflower 
Descendants, of which he was elected governor 
general in 1909 ; and is also a member of the 
New England Society in the City of New York, 
which was founded in 1805, and of which he 
was elected president in 1910. His achieve- 
ments have been worthy of the family to which 
he belongs, and although he has devoted prac- 
tically all of his time to his business interests, 
departing somewhat from the traditions of his 
forefathers, his success has been so noteworthy 
as to reflect honor on the name. 

On June 3, 1885, Mr. Davis was united in 
marriage to Anna Shippen, daughter of the 
late William W. Shippen, of New Jersey, and 
to this union have been born the following 
children : Howland S. ; Hester L. ; Ruth G. ; 
Anna, who died young ; William Shippen ; Sybil 
W. ; Wendell, and Katherine. 

DENISON (New Bedford family). The 
Denisons of New Bedford — the families of the 
two brothers, Henry C. and the late John H. 
Denison, long engaged together in business here 
under the firm style of Denison Brothers and 
the Denison Brothers Company, among the 
leading business men and substantial citizens 
of the city — represent ancient and most re- 
spectable New England stock. 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



567 



The birthplace and home of these Denison 
brothers and of their father, Daniel Denison, 
was in the to^vn of Hartland, Vt. ; their mother, 
Pamelia Lathrop • Head, was a native of the 
State of New Hampshire, born at Franconia. 
Hartland is one of the Vermont towns which 
has a frontage on the Connecticut river, and 
was first settled in May, 1763, the date fixed 
as that of the removal thither of Timothy Lull 
and family. Later on is found the family there 
of George Denison,' comprising, according to 
the first United States census, 1790, six in allj 
including its head, who in 1789 is credited with 
being the representative from Hartland in the 
State Assembly; and still later, in the years 
1842 and 1843, Daniel Denison represented the 
town in the same body. These men were kins- 
men, father and son. They were a branch of 
the old Denison family of Stonington, Conn. 
And other branches of the same stock and from 
Stonington were then living at different points 
in Vermont. David Denison, from Stonington, 
Conn., a patriot and officer of the Eevolution, 
who removed to New London, Conn., then in 
1785 to the State of New Hampshire, finally 
settled in Guilford, Vt., where he was a resident 
at the time of the taking of the first United 
States census in 1790. His wife was formerly 
Keziah Smith, of Groton, Conn. William Deni- 
son, from Stonington, also removed to Vermont, 
as did a number of other families from that 
town. 

This New England Denison family was origi- 
nally from Bishop Stortford, Hertfordshire, 
England, the name there being variously 
spelled as Denyson, Dennyson, etc. 

Capt. George Denison, the Stonington settler 
and ancestor of the George Denison who re- 
moved to Hartland, Vt., was baptized Dec. 10, 
1620, at Stratford, England, son of William and 
Margaret (Chandler, Monck) Denison, and 
grandson of John Denyson and his wife Agnes 
of Stratford (Stortford). He .came to New 
England with his father and family in 1631, 
the family settling in Roxbury, where the par- 
ents lived and died. The son, George, who 
had been bred at Cambridge, England, married 
about 1640 Bridget Thompson, daughter of 
John Thompson, gentleman, and his wife Alice, 
of Northamptonshire, England. She died in 
1643, leaving children Sarah and Hannah. Cap- 
tain Denison then returned to England and 
married Ann Borodell, and again came to New 
England in 1645, taking up his abode in Eox- 
bury. There he lived until 1651, when he re- 
moved with his family to Connecticut, locating 
at New London, thence removing in 1654 to 
Stonington, where he continued to reside until 



his death, though it occurred at Hartland in 
1694. He won distinction in both civil and 
military life. 

Prom this Capt. George Denison the lineage 
of George Denison, the Hartland (Vt.) settler, 
is through Capt. William Denison (1655-1715) 
and his wife Sarah Stanton Prentice (1655- 
1713) ; William Denison (1687-1724) and his 
wife Mercy Gallup (1690-1724) ; and Benadam 
Denison, of Stonington, Connecticut. 

George Denison, son of Benadam, was born 
Oct. 8, 1751, in Stonington, Conn. He removed 
to Hartland, Vt., where he became a prominent 
man and was called Col. George Denison. He 
married there Jan. 9, 1772, Theody Brown, 
born May 9, 1752, daughter of Nathan and 
Lydia (Dewey) Brown, and a direct descend- 
ant of Thomas Brown, of Lynn, Mass. He 
married (second) in Northfield, Mass., Feb. 12, 
1804, Submit Lyman, born July 11, 1767. To 
the first marriage were born: Benadam, born 
at Stonington, Conn., July 11, 1773; Jonathan, 
born at Stonington April 26, 1775; Sarah, born 
at Stonington May 3, 1777; George Washing- 
ton, born at Hartland, Vt., Oct. 16, 1779; 
Amos, born at Hartland April 27, 1782; 
Theody, born at Hartland June 27, 1784 ; Anne, 
born at Hartland Dec. 2, 1785; Mason, bom at 
Hartland March 18, 1788; Lucy, born June 15, 
1790; and Daniel, born at Hartland May 15, 
■1794 (died Jan. 21, 1861). To the second 
marriage was born one son, Charles. 

Daniel Denison, son of Col. George, born 
May 15, 1794, died Jan. 21, 1861. On April 
8, 1827, at Hartland, Vt., he married Pamelia 
Lathrop Head, born Jan. ^22, 1801. Their chil- 
dren were: Daniel Borodell, bom Jan. 1, 1828; 
Pamelia Submit, born March 19, 1830; George, 
born Nov. 24, 1831 ; John Head, born Aug. 29, 
1833; Mary Ann, born April 30, 1835; Helen 
Jane, born April 18, 1837; and Henry Clay, 
born May 18, 184i, who married April 9, 1878, 
Emma Frances Dewey, of Quechee, Vt. (no 
children). 

John Head Denison, son of Daniel and 
Pamelia Lathrop (Head) Denison, was born at 
Hartland, Vt., and when a young man came in 
1852 to New Bedford, entering the employ of 
Shaw & Whitridge, in the grain business. In 
1858, with Joseph B. Warner, he established a 
flouring mill at the corner of South Water and 
School streets, and conducted this with success. 
In 1864 Henry C. Denison and Burrage Y. 
Warner were admitted to the firm. From that 
time down to within a few years of his death 
the business was conducted by the Denisona, 
'though with some changes in the firm name and 
style. From 1871 the firm comprised only the 



568 



SOUTHEASTEEN MASSACHUSETTS 



Messrs. Denison, until in 1896 they sold out to 
H. M. Plmnmer, and the Denison-Plummer 
Company was organized. The firm did an ex- 
tensive flouring business until Western compe- 
tition forced tlie Eastern manufacturers out of 
the field. During a large part of the time the 
firm also managed the large mill at the foot of 
Hillman street, and the two plants were con- 
sidered of the largest in this section of the 
country. Mr. Denison also became a member 
of and heavy stockliolder in the Denison Broth- 
ers Company when it was organized for the coal 
trade, though he did not enter actively into the 
corporation management. At one time he was 
prominent in public affairs. He was a Eepub- 
lican in politics. He was a member of the Pro- 
tecting Society in 1884 and 1885, and served 
as councilman in 1869 and 1870. In early life 
he was deeply interested in musical affairs, and 
for some years was a member of the Unitarian 
Church choir. He died at his home in New 
Bedford April 25, 1899, aged sixty-five years, 
eight months. 

On May 27, 1862, Mr. Denison married 
Louise A., daughter of Hon. John and Jane 
Frances (Foster) Porter, of Hartford, Vt. To 
this union were born children as follows : Jane 
Frances, born June 6, 1865, married Arthur L. 
Tucker, and has children, Charles, Henry D., 
and Frederick; John Porter, born Oct. 19, 1868, 
married Emma Retching Wilkinson, and re- 
sides in Chicago; May Louise, born Nov. 25, 
1872, married Dr. Charles A. Pratt; Helen 
Pamelia, born March 7, 1875, married Eev. 
Smith 0. Dexter, of Concord, Mass., and they 
have children, Helen^ Smith 0., Jr., and Lewis. 

John Poetee, father of Mrs. Louise A. 
(Porter) Denison, was a native of Hartford, 
Vt., and lived a long, prominent and useful life 
there. He was born April 8, 1798, son of Wil- 
liam and Mary (Hodges) Porter, and a direct 
descendant of John Porter, who was bom at 
Wruxall Abbey, near Kenilworth, County of 
Warwick, England, and sailed from London 
for America in the "Ann," accompanied by Eose 
Porter, his wife, and their children, arriving at 
Dorchester May 30, 1627, thence in 1635 going 
to Windsor, Conn. According to Henry D. 
White, of New Haven, Conn., Mr. Porter came 
with his wife and nine children from Felsted, 
County of Essex, England, probably in the ship 
"Susan and Ellen," in 1638, with wife Anna 
White, of Messing, born July 13, 1600, daugh- 
ter of Eobert White, of Messing, and his wife 
Bridget Allegar, of Stratford, County of 
Essex, England. Mr. Porter had a grant of 
land at Windsor, where he was a man of prom- 



inence, holding a number of public offices, 
among them that of deputy, serving- as such in 
1646 and 1647. Through his son Samuel 
Porter and his wife Hannah Stanley, she of 
Hartford, Conn., and their son John (born in 
1666), who married and settled in Lebanon, 
Conn., came the Lebanon and Hebron branch 
of the family. 

William Porter, father of Hon. John Porter, 
of Hartford, Vt., was a native of Lebanon, 
Conn., born Sept. 4, 1749. He removed to 
Hartford, Vt., in 1780, and afterward married 
Mary Hodges, and nine children blessed the 
marriage. Tlieir son Jolm received the best 
common school education the time and place af- 
forded, and also mastered the elementary 
branches of the sciences. At the age of eighteen 
he taught school himself in the vicinity of his 
home town; then at Eodman, in Jefferson 
county, N. Y., and on two or three occasions 
made the entire journey tliere and back from 
his home, a distance of some three hundred 
miles, on foot. Energy and persistence were 
marked traits in both his private and public 
life. He represented his town, Hartford, in 
the Lower House of the Assembly in 1840, 1841 
and 1842; and was a senator from Windsor 
county in 1843 and 1844; then was again in 
the House in 1845, 1848 and 1849. In 1851 
he was elected a director of the Vermont State 
prison, and again in 1852. In 1850 he was 
elected judge of Probate of Windsor county, 
and held the office by successive reflections 
until the time of his death. 

Judge Porter was a zealous Whig, and for 
years a member of the Whig State committee. 
In 1856, on the organization of the Eepub- 
lican party, he was chosen one of the presi- 
dential electors for Vermont. In 1858 he was 
appointed a commissioner, with George P. 
Marsh and Norman Williams, to prepare plans 
for the erection of the present State capitol of 
Vermont, and also to superintend its con- 
struction. On the organization of the Wood- 
stock Bank he was elected a director, serving 
until the bank was reorganized, when he was 
chosen a director of the Woodstock National 
Bank, a relation he sustained until the time 
of his death. 

On May 30, 1831, Judge Porter was married 
to Jane Frances, daughter of Dr. Fordyce 
Foster, of Hartford, Vt., and six children 
blessed this union, the following of whom sur- 
vived the father: Jane F. married Charles T. 
Smith, of Colchester, Conn., and resided at 
Brookline, Mass., where both died; Louise A. 
is the widow of John H. Denison, of New Bed- 
ford, Mass.; Hon. Charles W., who resided at 



SOUTHEASTEEN MASSACHUSETTS 



569 



Montpelier, Vt. (was former secretary of 
State), where he died in 1891, married Florence 
Bailey. 



Dr. Charles A. Pratt was bom in Eayn- 
ham, Mass., Oct. 23, 1863, son of Hiram A. 
and Louise Caroline (Dean) Pratt, and grand- 
son of Jonathan and Elizabeth (White) Pratt 
(the latter born in Taunton and a descendant 
of Nicholas White) and of Charles (born in 
eastern Massachusetts) and Lydia (Wilbur) 
Dean (the latter born in Taunton). Louise 
Caroline Dean married (first) Alonzo Dean and 
(second) his brother Charles Dean, sons of 
Elisha Dean, Jr., and grandsons of Elisha 
Dean, Sr. Dr. Pratt received his primary 
schooling in Eaynham and in the Somerville, 
Mass., public schools, to which place his family 
removed when he was fourteen years of age. 
He graduated from Harvard University in 
1886, and from the medical department of the 
same institution in 1890. He was for one and 
a half years house officer in a hospital in 
Boston, and in 1893 began practice in New 
Bedford. He is a member of the American 
Medical Association, Massachusetts Medical 
Society and Boston Medical Library Association. 

Dr. Pratt married May Louise, daughter of 
John H. and Louise A. (Porter) Denison, and 
they have had children as follows : John Den- 
ison, Louise, Charles A., Jr., and William 
Porter. 

SEABUEY. The American ancestor of the 
Seaburys of New Bedford was (I) John Sea- 
bury, of Boston, who died before 1662. The 
name was variously spelled Sebury, Saberry, Sa- 
berrey and Sabury. John Seabury married 
Grace, and had two sons — John, who went to 
Barbadoes; and Samuel, born Dec. 10, 1640 — 
and several daughters. 

(II) Samuel Seabury, son of John, born 
Dec. 10, 1640, married at Weymouth, Nov. 9, 
1660, Patience Kemp, who died Oct. 29, 1676. 
He married (second) April 4, 1677, Martha 
Pabodie (or Peabody), daughter of William 
and Elizabeth (Alden) Pabodie, and grand- 
daughter of John and Priscilla (Mullins) 
Alden. He died Aug. 5, 1681. His children 
were: Elizabeth, born Sept. 16, 1661, who 
probably removed from the town, as in her 
mother's will she was given a negro girl Jane 
and a cow "if she returns"; Sarah, born Aug. 
18, 1663; Samuel, bom April 20, 1666; Han- 
nah, bom July 7, 1668; John, bom Nov. 7, 
1670; and Grace and Patience, twins, born 
March 1, 1673 (all born to the first marriage) ; 



Joseph, born June 8, 1678 ; Martha, born Sept. 
23, 1679; and John, who married Elizabeth 
Alden, Dec. 9, 1697 (to the second marriage). 
Samuel Seabury, the father, was a physician 
and removed to Duxbury, Mass. His will gives 
to his son Samuel his landed property in Dux- 
bury; to son Joseph "those great silver buttons 
which I usually wear"; to son John "my bird- 
ing piece and musket. I will that my negro 
servant Nimrod (valued at twenty-seven 
pounds) be disposed of either by hire or sale 
in order to bring up my children, especially 
the three youngest now bom." 
• (III) Joseph Seabury, son of Samuel (un- 
doubtedly), removed to what is now Little 
Compton, E. I., and there married Sept. 25, 
1701, Phebe Smith. He died Aug. 22, 1755, 
and she April 21, 1715. Their children were: 
Samuel, born June 5, 1702; Martha, Feb. 7, 
1704; Joseph, Dec. 2, 1705; Benjamin, Jan. 
20, 1708; Sion, March 17, 1713; Mary, April 

17, 1715. 

(IV) Benjamin Seabury, born Jan. 20, 
1708, son of Joseph and Phebe (Smith) Sea- 
bury, married in 1733 Eebecca Southworth, 
born Dec. 22, 1708, daughter of Edward and 
Mary. He died in 1773. Their children were 
Mercy, bom Aug. 13, 1734; Mary, Jan. 25 
1736; Eebecca (twin to Mary), Jan. 25, 1736 
Euth, Nov. 26, 1739; Benjamin, Jan. 24, 1743 
Fobes, March 29, 1745 (died June 4, 1746) 
Gideon, March 1, 1747 (died Oct. 29, 1827) 
Constant, June 19, 1749; and Isaac, Nov. 3, 
1751. 

(V) Constant Seabury, son of Benjamin and 
Eebecca, bom June 19, 1749, married in 1775 
Susanna Gray. He died in January, 1807. 
To him and his wife were born children as 
follows: Isaac, bom March 19, 1776 (died Oct. 
20, 1850) ; Phebe, May 13 (or 23), 1778; Wil- 
liam, May 23, 1780; Hannah, July 29 (or 24), 
1782; Bridget, Sept. 14, 1784; Ichabod, Nov. 

18, 1786: Eobert, July 10, 1789; and Eliza- 
 beth, Nov. 16, 1792. 

(VI) William Seabury, son of Constant, was 
born May 23, 1780, and died July 30, 1852, 
in New Bedford. He was a master mariner in 
the merchant service, residing first in Tiver- 
ton, E. I., later in Little Compton, and after 
1833 in New Bedford. On April 12, 1807, he 
was married to Ehoda Woodman, bom Dec. 11, 
1786, who died Jan. 2, 1833. On Feb. 16, 
1834, he was married (second) to Sally Wood- 
man, sister of his first wife. They were daugh- 
ters of Edward and Priscilla (Negus) Wood- 
man, granddaughters of John and Patience 
(Grirmell) Woodman, great-granddaughters of 
Eobert and Deborah (Paddock) Woodman and 



570 



SOUTHEASTEEN MASSACHUSETTS 



great-great-granddaughters of John and Han- 
nah (Timberlake) Woodman, John Woodman be- 
ing the ancestor of this branch of the family. 
The children of William Seabury, all born to 
his first marriage, were as follows: Otis, born 
Sept. 1, 1808, died June 2, 1880; Edward W., 
born Jan. 3, 1810, died Feb. 1, 1884; Louisa, 
born Nov. 11, 1811, died Jan. 3, 1895 (she 
married Benjamin Cushman) ; William H., 
bom Nov. 15, 1813, died Jan. 27, 1897; Julia 
Ann, born May 19, 1815, died Jan. 12, 1892. 
unmarried; Humphrey W. was born June 28, 
1817; Charles P. was born Aug. 16, 1820; 
Jason, born Nov. 2, 1832, was lost in the Arctic 
ocean in 1853; Andrew Jackson, born May 19, 
1836, died Sept. 22, 1836. 

(VII) Hdmpheey W. Seabury, son of Capt. 
William and Ehoda (Woodman) Seabury, was 
born June 28, 1817, in Tiverton, R. I., spent 
the greater part of his boyhood in Little Comp- 
ton, whither his family had removed, and in 
his sixteenth year came with them to their 
permanent home. New Bedford. Here, at this 
period, the enterprise of the place was repre- 
sented around the busy wharves and seafaring 
was the promising business, so there sprang up 
in his mind a determination to make that his 
calling and to become the commander of a 
ship, an ambition later attained with credit to 
himself and profit to the owners. After a short 
experience on a coasting vessel to New York, 
he first visited a foreign land when he went 
to Holland on the bark with the good-omened 
named "Hope," of which his father was cap- 
tain. This proved an auspicious opening to 
his career on the ocean, though he began at 
the bottom of the ladder as foremast hand and 
accepted no unusual favors. His first whaling 
voyage was commenced in his nineteenth year 
on the "Corinthian," commanded by Capt. 
Leonard Crowell. The ship sailed from New 
Bedford Dec. 8, 1835, and arrived home Feb. 
19, 1839. On this voyage young Seabury ad- 
vanced upward toward his cherished goal and 
was promoted from the position of boat steerer 
to that of third mate. His second voyage was 
as first ofiicer of the "Coral," Capt. James H. 
Sherman. The ship sailed June 16, 1839, and 
arrived home June 11, 1843. The "Coral" 
cruised on the coast of Peru and off the 
Galapagos islands. Whales were sighted eighty- 
nine times during the voyage and one or more 
captured in fifty-eight instances. The whole 
number taken was 102. It was a most remark- 
able catch, surpassed in but few cases in the 
history of whale fishery. A thrilling incident 
occurred during this voyage that well illustrates 
the dangers to which whalemen are exposed. 



On June 15, 1841, the "Coral's" boats were 
out after a one-hundred-barrel sperm whale 
just south of the Galapagos islands. He proved 
to be what the sailors term a "bad" whale — 
one that fights with his jaws. He turned upon 
the boats and literally chewed two of them in 
pieces. One of the sailors was drowned, and 
another, named Jethro S. Studley, was saved 
from a similar fate by the plucky action of Mr. 
Seabury, who, diving for him as he sank in 
the depths, brought him to the surface by the 
hair. Mr. Seabury said this was the only "jaw 
fighter" he encountered in his experience, which 
included the taking of 12,000 barrels of sperm 
oil. On the third voyage, at the age of twenty- 
five, Mr. Seabury attained the position which 
he had aimed to get since his youth, and on 
Nov. 16, 1842, sailed as captain of the "Coral." 
Thirty-nine sperm and ten right whales were 
captured on tliis voyage, and he rfeturned home 
March 9, 1846. On Nov. 17, 1846, he sailed 
for the Pacific ocean in the "Coral," captured 
one hundred whales, and returned home June 
11, 1850, with a cargo of 3,350 barrels of sperm 
oil. The price current on arrival was $1.19 
per gallon, and the value of the entire catch 
was more than $136,000. This was one of the 
notable voyages in the history of the whaling 
industry from New Bedford. From 1850 to 
1872 Captain Seabury was acting outside agent 
with his older brother, Otis, during this time 
making a trip in 1853 as commander of the 
ship "Mechanics Own" to the Sandwich Islands 
taking supplies to whaling vessels and bring- 
ing back a cargo of oil and bone. He subse- 
quently made a merchant voyage to Pernam- 
buco and Rio de Janeiro in 1856 in the "Com- 
merce," visited Paris in 1858, Havana in 1870 
and Chili in 1871. His last whaling voyage 
was a short one entered upon in May, 1860, 
when he took command of the "Scotland," 
which had come in before time, and went to 
the North Atlantic and returned Dec. 1, 1860, 
with one hundred barrels of sperm oil. 

Captain Seabury retired from sea service at 
the period when the whale fishery had attained 
its most profitable and successful prosecution, 
the middle of the last century, and in 1872 he 
retired permanently from active participation 
in business, though to the date of his death he 
found agreeable employment in the affairs of 
the city and its institutions. He served the 
city as alderman from the Fifth ward in 1870, 
and also served as councilman and member of 
the school committee. In all these positions 
he rendered service with honor to himself and 
with substantial benefit to the city. The New 
Bedford Mercury in an editorial notice of his 




iG 




AJ> ooToyCAyUiy ^^U^OL^^ 




'k ^*r 




./•■e 



J^^^^S^-^ ^(^^z^- 



7- 



SOUTHEASTEKN MASSACHUSETTS 



571 



decease said : "He was a faithful and conscien- 
tious public servant, positive in his opinions, 
and plain in his expressions of them. His 
honesty was of the rugged and uncompromis- 
ing type, as sterling in matters of principle as 
in those which involved money. He was an 
ardent and active Eepublican, holding to the 
extreme temperance wing of that party, and 
as such for many years conspicuous in the pri- 
mary meetings, where he led many a fight with 
the so-called liberal faction. He was a good 
citizen, whose influence and example were al- 
ways exerted fearlessly in the way he believed 
to be right." 

Captain Seabury was interested in many of 
the business enterprises that have substantial- 
ly added to the growth and prosperity of the 
city. He was a director in the First National 
Bank, and at his death its officers passed resolu- 
tions that extolled his integrity and his faith- 
fulness to duty. He was a member of the In- 
dian Association from the beginning of its or- 
ganization, and it also honored his memory 
with a testimonial showing appreciation of his 
services. 

Captain Seabury was associated with the 
Friends' Society, a constant attendant upon its 
meetings, and a generous supporter of its in- 
terests ; a member of the board of managers of 
the Port Society, and associate member of the 
Y. M. C. A. In all the stations of life he 
enjoyed the confidence and sincere respect of 
all. His charities were of a quiet nature, yet 
few men more thoroughly considered the needs 
of the poor, or more constantly studied the wel- 
fare and convenience of his fellow man. 

On Oct. 14, 1850, Captain Seabury was mar- 
ried to Mary B. Wilcox, who died March 10, 
1852, the mother of one son, Charles Albert, 
who died at the age of four years. Captain 
Seabury married (second) Aug. 12, 1855, 
Susan M. GifCord, daughter of Nathaniel and 
Mercy (Macomber) Gifford. Two daughters, 
Mary B. and Helen H., were born to this 
union, and reside in New Bedford. 

Captain Seabury passed away on his birth- 
day, June 28, 1891, and Mrs. Seabury sur- 
vived him until March 6, 1899. 

(VII) Capt. Charles P. Seabdet, son of 
Capt. William and Ehoda (Woodman) Sea- 
bury, was born Aug. 16, 1820, in Tiverton, and 
received his education in the district school in 
the town of Little Compton. He lived on the 
farm until thirteen years old, when he came 
to New Bedford, and was employed in the store 
for 0. & E. W. Seabury, remaining two years. 
Having a strong desire for the sea he shipped 
in 1835, at the age of fifteen, as a cabin boy on 



the whaling ship "Nile," Captain Townsend, 
and continued in the whaling business for a 
period of fourteen years. In 1849 he com- 
manded the ship "America," which sailed for 
California during the gold fever with a large 
number of passengers. Eeturning from his 
trip to California in 1853, the ship was fitted 
out for a whaling voyage, Captain Seabury in 
command. They sailed to the Arctic ocean, 
and the following year the ship was staved by 
ice near the Behring straits, and the captain 
and crew were obliged to abandon her with a 
loss of several hundred barrels of oil. They 
were taken on board the "Minerva Smyth," 
Captain Childs, of New Bedford, who landed 
them at San Francisco. Captain Seabury then 
Joined a steamer as first officer, and continued 
to serve in that capacity on different steamers 
for some time. He then took command of a 
steamship running between San Francisco and 
the Isthmus, continuing thus for some time. 
Returning home, he became commander on 
one of the Vanderbilt line of steamers, plying 
between New York and Aspinwall. During 
the Civil war he had command of several steam 
transports. Later he took command of the 
steamer "Arizona," plying between New York, 
China and California, taking her through the 
Suez canal, in December, 1870, it being the 
first American steamship to pass through the 
canal. Subsequently he commanded the 
steamer "Granada" from New York to San 
Francisco and China, taking her through the 
straits of Magellan. After completing this 
last voyage he gave up the sea, and was for a 
time in the employ of the United States gov- 
ernment in the custom house department at 
New Bedford, serving as boarding officer, to 
fill the unexpired term of Capt. James V. 
Cox. On account of his health he resigned the 
office and made his home on Fifth street. New 
Bedford, where he died Dec. 21, 1890. He was 
one of the best known and most skilled naviga- 
tors in his section of New England, and was 
popular with all who knew him. Politically he 
was a stanch Republican. His remains rest in 
Rural cemetery, New Bedford. 

Captain Seabury was married in New Bed- 
ford, April 15, 1847, to Sarah Wilcox, who was 
born at Westport, Mass., March 26, 1825, 
daughter of Benjamin and Patty (Brownell) 
Wilcox. Mrs. Seabury, with her daughter and 
son-in-law, resides on Fifth street. New Bed- 
ford. Captain and Mrs. Seabury had children : 
Jason, bom March 2, 1855, died May 29, 1860; 
Charles P., Jr., born May 21, 1856, died June 

I, 1856; Charles P., Jr. (2), was born June 

II, 1857; Annie, born Dec. 26, 1858, married 



572 



SOUTHEASTEEN" MASSACHUSETTS 



Dec. 31, 1900, Frank Wood, a well known cot- 
ton broker of New Bedford; and Harry Wil- 
lard, born April 28, 1863, died March 28, 
1868. 

(VIII) Charles P. Seabury, Jr., was born 
in New Bedford June 11, 1857, and was edu- 
cated in the schools there. He was a traveling 
salesman for the Meriden Britannia Company, 
of Meriden, Conn., and died at Dubuque, Iowa, 
while on a trip, Feb. 22, 1896. He married 
Nov. 18, 1880, Avis J. Dwelley, daughter of 
Dr. Jerome Dwelley, of Fall Eiver. They had 
one child, Eichard, born Oct. 9, 1888, who 
died Dec. 5, 1890. 

CAPT. JOSHUA GAGE BAKEE, a retired 
whaling master, who died Nov. 1, 1910, at 
Padanaram, in the town of Dartmouth, Bristol 
Co., Mass., was a member of the Baker family 
which has been identified with that section for 
the past hundred years. He was born there, 
in the village of Bakersville, South Dartmouth, 
Oct. 31, 1845, and after tliirty-two years on 
the water retired to the neighborhood where he 
had spent his early life to enjoy the years of 
his retirement. However, retirement did not 
mean inactivity, for he devoted much of 
hie time to the public service, making himself 
useful to the town in many capacities and giving 
the benefit of his time and efforts to his fellow 
citizens. His work was highly appreciated, and 
no man in the community had a better record 
for intelligent citizenship and disinterested 
labors in behalf of the town. 

The Bakers of South Dartmouth trace their 
lineage back to Francis Baker, the first of the 
line in New England, from whom we give the 
genealogical record in chronological ordor. 

(I) Francis Baker was born in England in 
1611. His last residence in his native land was 
at Great St. Albans, Hertfordshire, and in 
1635 he came over in the ship "Planter," locat- 
ing at Yarmouth, Mass. He married Isabel 
Tarning, of Yarmouth, and died in 1696, the 
last of the first comers. His children were : 
Nathaniel, John, Samuel, Daniel, William, 
Thomas, Elizabeth (married John Chase) and 
Hannah. 

(II) Daniel Baker, son of Francis, married 
May 27, 1674, Elizabeth Chase, daughter of 
William Chase (2), the latter born in Yar- 
mouth, Mass., in 1622. To this union were 
born the following children : Daniel, born in 
1675; Samuel, .1676; Elizabeth, 1678 (married 
in 1705 Nathan Baker) ; Hannah (married in 
1714 Joseph Nixon) ; Thankful ; and Tabitha. 

(III) Samuel Baker, son of Daniel, born in 
1676, married Patience, and their children 



were: Shubal, born March 24, 1710; Susannah, 
June 22, 1711; Hezekiah, Aug. 4, 1715; 
Tabitha, March 8, 1718; Desire, Feb. 5, 1720; 
Elizabeth, Sept. 9, 1725; and Samuel, June 4, 
1732. 

(IV) Shubal Baker, son of Samuel, born 
March 24, 1710, married in 1733,Lydia Stuart. 
Their children were: Sylvanus, born March 
10, 1734; Azubah, May 17, 1737; Temperance, 
June 24, 1739; Shubal, Nov. 11, 1741; Eliza- 
beth, Jan. 2, 1744; Lydia, Oct. 13, 1746; Euth, 
June 25, 1749 ; and Patience, July 19, 1752. 

(V) Shubal Baker (2), son of Shubal, born 
Nov. 11, 1741, married Nov. 15, 1764, Eebecca 
Chase, bom Aug. 24, 1747, daughter of Eichard 
and Thankful Chase. To this union were born : 
Hepsabcth (or Hepsibah), born Oct. 15, 1765, 
married March 23, 1786, Zenos Chase; 
Archelus, born Nov. 26, 1767, married in 1789 
Mehitable Chase; Eebecca, born Dec. 19, 1770, 
married Dec. 11, 1788, David Howes; Shubal, 
born July 10, 1772, married Jan. 10, 1793, 
Mercy Smalley; Ezra, born Sept. 5, 1775, is 
mentioned below; Michael, born Nov. 6, 1776, 
died April 7, 1796; Ensign, born July 3, 1779, 
married Dec. 27, 1800, Sally Nickerson; 
Temperance, born Oct. 15, 1781, married Dec. 
4, 1800, Henry Kelly; Abigail, born Nov. 22, 
1783, married April 20, 1807, Edward Sears; 
Sylvanus, born Aug. 24, 1786, married March 
1, 1800, Bethiah Crowell; and Halsey, bom 
Feb. 27, 1789, married Nov. 28, 1811, Mercy 
Allen. 

(VI) Ezra Baker, son of Shubal (2), born 
Sept. 5, 1775, in tlie town of Harwich, Barn- 
stable Co., Mass., was one of the six Baker 
brothers who in 1806 came to Bristol county 
and settled on a tract of land which he cul- 
tivated during the remainder of his life. He 
died there March 25, 1842, in his sixty-seventh 
year. He is buried in South Dartmouth. Mr. 
Baker was a member of the M. E. Church and 
respected as a good Christian man. On March 
13, 1795, he married Susan Gage, who was 
born July 8, 1779, at Harwich, Mass., and 
died July 7, 1866, at her home in Bakersville, 
South Dartmouth. She was laid to rest beside 
her husband in the cemetery in South Dart- 
mouth. Their children were as follows: David 
Gage, born Nov. 12, 1795, died Sept. 25, 1820, 
of yellow fever, while on a voyage from Ha- 
vana, Cuba; Michael was born Jan. 1, 1797; 
Susanna, born June 28, 1800, married (first) 
Eussell Crapo and (second) Wanton Westgate, 
and died July 3, 1873 ; Ezra, born Jan. 7, 1802, 
died Sept. 22, 1820, of yellow fever, while on 
the passage from Havana, Cuba; Joshua Gage, 
born Jan. 1, 1804, died Sept. 16, 1804; Lovey, 



SOUTHEASTEEN MASSACHUSETTS 



573 



born Sept. 17, 1806, married Holder W. 
Brownell; Eliza, born June 16, 1809, married 
Thomas Lapham, and died Jan. 6, 1903; 
Hepsibeth Gage, born March 25, 1813, married 
William E. Borden, and died Oct. 16, 1876; 
Joshua Gage was born Oct. 5, 1814; Sylvia 
Davoll, born April 20, 1817, married Christ- 
opher Booth ; Jane Crocker, born July 22, 1830, 
married Ephraim C. Ellis, of Harwich, Mass., 
and died May 4, 1896 (Mr. ElUs died in 1910). 

(VII) Joshua Gage Baker, son of Ezra, was 
born Oct. 5, 1814, at Bakersville, South Dart- 
mouth, and grew up to farm life, working on 
the homestead from boyhood. He learned the 
butcher's trade, at which he was engaged for 
some time, also continuing to carry on the 
farm, and in 1849, at the height of the gold 
excitement, he went overland to California, 
where he spent two years prospecting and min- 
ing. After his return to the East he followed 
a seafaring life for about twenty years, engag- 
ing in the coast trade between New Bedford 
and nearby ports, going to Philadelphia for 
coal, and in the winter months running to the 
West Indies. He was master of the schooner 
"Adelaide" and of the "Henrietta," and of the 
brig "Ormers," of which he was part owner. 
Eetiring in 1870, Mr. Baker spent the remain- 
der of his days at the homestead in Bakers- 
ville, where he died Oct. 6, 1883, at the age 
of sixty-nine years. Mr. Baker was a Eepub- 
lican in political sentiment. 

On April 14, 1834, Joshua Gage Baker mar- 
ried Mary Briggs, who was born May 29, 1816, 
daughter of Elihu and Polly (Kelley) Briggs, 
and died in 1841. To this union were born 
three childreq: A daughter that died in in- 
fancy; Ethelenda Gage, born in February, 
1836, widow of John Castino, residing in New 
Bedford; and Hepsebath, who died young. 
On Jan. 15, 1842, Mr. Baker married (second) 
Susan Kelley Briggs, who was born Sept. 26, 
1826, and was a sister of his first wife ; she 
died Jan. 9, 1860, and is buried in South Dart- 
mouth. There were five children by the sec- 
ond marriage, namely: Mary, born March 12, 
1843, who married Edward F. Potter, and died 
Jan. 31, 1882; Joshua Gage, born Oct. 31, 
1845; Adelaide, born April 11, 1848, who mar- 
ried (first) Giles Bennett, of Bakersville, and 
(second) Charles Sanford, of New Bedford 
(both are now deceased, and she resides in New 
Bedford) ; Amy, born Aug. 13, 1853, who died 
in 1861 ; and Eva Gage, born March 15, 1855, 
who married Stephen S. Davis, chief engineer 
in the United States lighthouse service, and re- 
sides at Fairhaven. 

(VIII) Joshua Gage Baker (2), son of 



Joshua Gage, received his education in the dis- 
trict schools in his native village and worked 
at home until he was sixteen years old. He 
then made choice of a seafaring life, shipping 
on the whaler "Sea Breeze," as a common 
sailor, under Capt. William Weeks. His first 
voyage was on the Atlantic; Ins second as boat 
steerer; third as second mate on the whaling 
bark "Matilda Sears," of Dartmouth, owned by 
William Potter and commanded by William 
Gifford; his fourth in the same ship as first 
officer under Capt. Gilbert Borden. Upon 
completing that voyage he was made master of 
the ship "Reindeer," built by W. C. N. Swift, 
of New Bedford, which he took out June 12, 
1877, continuing in command of her for fifteen 
years. He sailed her in the southern Pacific 
waters and part of the time from the port of 
San Francisco to the Arctic ocean. The owners 
sold this vessel in 1892 and Captain Baker be- 
came master of the whaling steamer "Beluga," 
owned by the Pacific Whaling Steamship Com- 
pany, in which he made one voyage, during 
which eighteen whales were captured. Eeturn- 
ing to San Francisco — from which port he had 
sailed for ten years — at the close of that trip, 
he gave up the water and came back to his 
native place, locating in Padanaram, where he 
made his home during the remainder of his 
life. 

Upon his return to his early home Captain 
Baker at once interested himself in local affairs, 
in which he took a most active part, filling the 
offices of selectman, overseer of the poor, mem- 
ber of the board of health, constable and truant 
officer, holding the latter position three years. 
He was a stanch Eepublican in political mat- 
ters. Captain Baker proved his high char- 
acter in everything he undertook, and was 
ever faithful and honorable in the discharge 
of the duties assigned him. He was a member 
of Star in the East Lodge, A. F. & A. M., and 
of the Dartmouth Historical Society, of which 
Mrs. Baker is a member. 

On June 30, 1873, Captain Baker married 
Susan M. Davis, daughter of Charles A. and 
Susan M. (Maxfield) Davis. They had three 
children : Edward Davis, who is in the employ 
of the mercantile firm of Cummings & Cum- 
mings, of New Bedford, married Sarah E. 
Shaw, of Dartmouth, Mass., and has had three 
children, Edward D. (died in infancy), a son 
that died in infancy and Marion Shaw; 
Charles A. died unmarried June 18, 1910; 
Joshua Gage, Jr., who is engaged as a book- 
keeper at New Bedford, married Elsie Florence 
Luce and has two children, Ellsworth D. and 
Gladys A. 



574 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



WARNER (Taunton family). Through 
much of the century but recently closed and on 
into this one, New Bedford and Taunton, re- 
spectively, have been the home of a branch of 
the New England Warners. Reference is made 
to the families of the late Joseph B. and the 
present Hon. Richard Everett Warner, of Taun- 
ton, the latter of whom has for some twenty- 
five years been identified with the business af- 
fairs and actively interested in the growth of 
his adopted city, useful in its citizenship, and 
prominent in public life; while the former was 
long one of the leading business men of New 
Bedford. 

The Warner family is an ancient one in New 
England, and now numerous the country over. 
The Warners of New England descend largely 
from Andrew, William and John Warner, 
"never as yet connected on this side of the water, 
though very likely all of one family in England, 
in times remote," according to Wilbur F. War- 
ner, Esq., in Stiles's "Ancient Wethersfield," 
but recently published. Of the three Andrew was 
of Cambridge as early as 1632, and later re- 
moved to Hadley. The name of his first wife, the 
. mother of his children, is unknown. His chil- 
dren settled at Hadley, Mass., and Middletown, 
Conn. William Warner was at Ipswich as early 
as 1637. And John Warner, the third progenitor 
alluded to above, settled in Farmington, and is 
the ancestor of a long line of Warners, who 
settled in Woodbury, Waterbury and other 
neighboring Connecticut towns. From William 
Warner, the immigrant and the Ipswich settler, 
through his son Daniel Warner, of that town, 
and the latter's son, Lieut, and Deacon William 
Warner, who removed to Wethersfield between 
1660 and 1665, have descended about all of the 
Warners of that town. Then there was John 
Warner, who came to New England in the ship 
"Increase," in 1635, embarking at London, who 
is of record at Providence as early as 1637, and 
who subsequently was of Warwick. His name 
has been perpetuated through his son John of 
Warwick, and the latter's sons, John and 
Ezekiel, all of whom were prominent men in 
their several towns, some serving often as 
deputy. Again, many of the prominent South- 
ern Warners are of the blood of Col. Augustus 
Warner, who settled in Virginia, and whose 
daughter Mildred became the wife of Lawrence 
Washington, and the grandmother of President 
and General George Washington. 

It may be a matter of interest to note that 
from the New England Warners came the dis- 
tinguished lawyer and jurist of Georgia — Hon. 
Hiram Warner, member of the United Stated 
Congress and Chief Justice of the Supreme 



Court of Georgia ; a man of Massachusetts birth 
as was also the late Charles Dudley Warner, 
the author. From the Farmington settler, John 
Warner, sprang that gallant soldier of Revo- 
lutionary fame, Col. Seth Warner, who as sec- 
ond in command assisted in the capture of 
Ticonderoga, and on the following day took 
the important post of Crown Point with its 
garrison and 113 cannon. For this he was 
given by Congress in July, 1775, a colonel's 
commission, and afterward he was a conspicuous 
figure throughout the war, remaining with the 
army until 1782 when his health gave way and 
he returned with his family to the town of 
Roxbury. 

As indicated New Bedford, this Common- 
wealth, was the home of the immediate fore- 
fathers of the present head of the Taunton 
Warner family — Hon. Richard Everett Warner, 
member of the former firm of White, Warner 
& Co., and now treasurer of its successor, the 
White- Warner Company, one of the extensive 
manufacturing concerns of Taunton. 

Joseph B. Warner, father of Richard Everett 
Warner, was a son of Joseph and Nabby (But- 
terick) Warner, of Acton. He and his associate 
John H. Denison were the founders in 1858 
of the flouring and feed mills at New Bed- 
ford, Mass., of the Denison, Plummer Com- 
pany, and for years Mr. Warner was identified 
with them through their several changes in 
ownership and style of firm ; and as well was 
one of New Bedford's enterprising and pro- 
gressive citizens, alive to its advancement and 
the welfare of its people. After a residence of 
a number of years in New Bedford Mr. Warner 
on April 26, 1863, moved to North Dighton, 
where he bought a farm and where many years 
of an active life were spent. During the earlier 
years of the Civil war. and while a resident of 
New Bedford, not being able to enli«t on ac- 
coiint of a bad knee, he gave expression to his 
patriotism by furnishing to the government six 
recruits all fully equipped for service. Mr. 
Joseph B. Warner after locating in North 
Dighton became active in public affairs of the 
town, being treasurer and selectman for some 
years. In his earlier political life he was a 
Republican, but on the election of President 
Cleveland he became a Cleveland Democrat, as 
he was opposed in every way to the principles 
and policies of James G. Blaine. He was treas- 
urer of the Dighton Stove Lining Company of 
Dighton. Mr. Warner married Lucy E. Pierce, 
daughter of Simeon and Lucy (Haskins) 
Pierce, and a descendant of one of the early 
comers to New England. They had two chil- 
dren : Lucy Butterick ; and Richard Everett, 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



575 



born Oct. 6, 1861. Joseph B. Warner died at 
his home in Taunton in 1892. ' 

Richard Everett Warner was born Oct. 6, 
1861, in New Bedford, Mass., and acquired his 
education in the public schools of Dighton and 
in the Bristol Academy, located in that same 
city. It having been determined that he learn 
a trade, young Warner in 1876 entered the 
employ of the Dighton Stove Lining Company, 
for the purpose of learning the business of the 
concern. With these men he continued until 
1881, when for approximately a year he was 
employed in the capacity of general manager 
of the sales department of the Somerset Pottery 
Company's Providence branch, where he was 
located for a time. Leaving this establishment 
in July, 1883, he seemingly struck the position 
that led to his rise and success in the business 
world, entering as he did this, the concern 
with which he has ever since been identified — 
long as a partner, stockholder and officer. His 
personal equipment, as he said, for this under- 
taking, consisted of a good wife, good supply of 
wearing apparel and $2,700. On his entering 
the business it was that of White, Walker & Co., 
which in 1886 became White, Warner & Co., 
he at that time acquiring the interest of Mr. 
Walker. The business continued under that 
firm style until it was incorporated in February, 
1897, as The White- Warner Company, its pres- 
ent style, and of which Mr. Warner has been 
treasurer since the incorporation. The business 
of the company is the manufacture of stoves, 
ranges and furnaces. Mr. White died in 1903, 
and Mr. Howard A. Tinkham became president 
and Mr. Henry E. Wilbur secretary. Mr. 
Warner has been closely identified with this 
company since 1882, from that time up to 1886 
doing any and all kinds of work necessary to 
the success of a small struggling manufacturing 
concern; he then for seventeen years from that 
time on acted as its salesman on the road, and 
also assumed the responsibility of disposing of 
the entire product, while later as its treasurer 
and during the illness and after the death of 
his partner, Mr. White, he had the entire re- 
sponsibility of the conduct of the business. It 
can truly be said of him that he created the 
major part of that now large and important 
industry. He has been instrumental in its 
development from a small plant employing 
twelve men to one now employing between 360 
and 370 ; from a plant established upon a basis 
of $280,000 per annum before the fire to one 
of over $700,000 with its increased equipment. 

Mr. Warner has ever taken an intelligent and 
active interest in all that pertains to the ad- 
vancement of Taunton, devoting not a little of 



his time to the public affairs of the city. He 
had so successfully managed his own business 
affairs that his fellow-citizens became impressed 
with his fitness for public office, and they elected 
him to the board of aldermen, of which he was 
a good working member in 1893 and 1894, 
serving as chairman of the board in the year 
last named. In 1894 he was appointed by 
Governor Russell a member of the State Board 
of Arbitration and Conciliation (now Con- 
ciliation and Arbitration), a position he held 
for one and a half years when he resigned on 
account of the press of his own business. In 
1895 he served as one of the License commis- 
sioners. He was mayor of the city in 1902, 
1903 and 1904, giving to the citizens of Taun- 
ton an administration characterized by strong 
business methods, and a consequent material 
reduction in their tax rate. In 1908 he was 
elected a member of the board of county com- 
missioners of Bristol county, and he was 
reelected in 1911. 

Mr. Warner is a member of King David 
Lodge, A. F. & A. M.; St. Mark's Chapter, 
R. A. M.; Sutton Commandery, K. T., of New 
Bedford; Good Samaritan Lodge, I. 0. 0. F. ; 
and Taunton Lodge, KJnights of Pythias. 

In April, 1881, Mr. Warner was married to 
Ida E., daughter of Horatio L. and Mary E. 
(Mason) Briggs, of Dighton. Three children 
have blessed this marriage : Joseph E., a 
graduate of Harvard Law School and now an 
attorney at Taunton; Ella E., who married 
Eugene H. Brownell and resides in Taunton 
(she has two children, Evelyn and Eugenia), 
and Grace M. Mrs. Warner died in February, 
1893, and Mr. Warner married (second) in 
October, 1895, Mrs. Nettie M. (Lewis) Peirce, 
of New Bedford, daughter of Elijah R. and 
Mary A. (Simmons) Lewis, and widow of 
Frank E. Peirce. 

LORING W. PUFFER. While the family 
of Puffer is not a Bridgewater one in point of 
antiquity, it is one here in what was long the 
North parish (North Bridgewater, and now 
Brockton) of some fifty and more years' stand- 
ing, a period covering the birth and growth of 
the great industrial center and city it has be- 
come, and in the life of which its now repre- 
sentative head — the venerable Dr. Loring Wil- 
liam Puffer, surgeon dentist, underwriter, edi- 
tor and writer — has been most active and use- 
ful, ever alert in intelligent effort in the varied 
lines that have brought about the wonderful 
growth of the shoe city. 

Dr. Puffer, the head of this Brockton fam- 
ily, and the recognized local historian of the 



576 



SOUTHEASTEEN MASSACHUSETTS 



town and city, is, however, representative of 
Bridgewater stock, descending in maternal line 
from one of the original proprietors and num- 
bering among his forbears and family connec- 
tions some of the ancient and honored names in 
the Commonwealth's history. In the paternal 
line he is remotely connected with that illustrious 
son of Massachusetts, Charles Sumner. Through 
the Southworths he is of royal descent. He 
numbers among his ancestors Eev. Thomas Car- 
ter, who was bred in St. John's College, Cam- 
bridge, England, taking his degrees in 1629 
and 1633; came to New England in 1635 in 
the "Planter," was for a time at Watertown 
and Dedham, and was ordained in 1643 the 
first minister at Woburn. Another of his for- 
bears was Maj. General Humphrey Atherton, 
of Dorchester, 1636, who perhaps was from 
Preston in Lancashire, and here became cap- 
tain of the Ancient and Honorable Artillery 
Company, served many years in civic oflScial 
life and succeeded Sedgwick as major general 
of the Colonial forces. Still other of his early 
forbears were Eev. James Keith, the Scotch 
divine who was educated at Aberdeen and on 
coming to New England, in 1662, was two 
years later ordained the first minister of Bridge- 
water; and Judge Joseph Wilder, long chief 
justice of the court of Common Pleas, a man of 
great gifts. 

On Feb. 24, 1640, the town of Boston 
granted to George Poffer land for five heads, 
that is twenty acres at Mount Wollaston, after- 
ward Braintree, and still later Quincy. Of 
him nothing more is known, but the family was 
continued under tlie name of Puffer by two 
persons, who may confidently be called his sons ; 
and the Widow Puffer, who died at Braintree, 
Feb. 13, 1677, was undoubtedly his relict. 
Mary Puffer, "an aged woman," who died at 
the same place July 23, 1700, is perhaps, more 
likely to have been his daughter than the 
widow of his eldest spn. Of the two probable 
sons of George Poffer, James, born about 1684, 
married at Braintree Feb. 14, 1656, Mary Lud- 
den, remained. on the paternal homestead, and 
had children : Ejchard, Martha, Mary, James, 
Euth, Eachel and Jabez. Mr. Poffer lived at 
Braintree and there died July 25, 1692. The 
other son of George, Mathias Puffer, married 
at Braintree May 12, 1662, Enchcl Farnsworth, 
and their children were : Joseph, John, James, 
Jonathan and Esther (who married William 
Sumner, of Milton). After the death of the 
mother, who was killed by the Indians, her 
blood being the first shed in the Colony, the 
father married (second) Feb. 11, 1677, Abigail, 
daughter of Eichard Everett, of Dedham, and 



had children, Benjamin, Eleazer and Abigail. 
After the death of his second wife Mr. Puffer 
married (third) May 14, 1697, Mary Crehore, 
probably Widow Teague, of Milton. Mr. Puffer 
was for a time at Mendon, going there as one 
of the first promoters and settlers. His wife 
and one son, however, being slain in the attack 
on the town by the Indians, July 14, 1675, he 
withdrew to his native place, but finally re- 
moved to Dorchester, and likely to that part 
which later became Stoughton. He held sev- 
eral offices in Dorchester, lived to advanced age 
and distributed among his children lands in 
Dorchester, Milton and Dedham, near Wren- 
tham. It was through Mathias that descended 
such distinguished men as Charles Sumner, 
William S. Appleton and Charles Endicott. 

From the foregoing source came the Puffers 
of Stoughton, which town was the birthplace 
of Dr. Loring W. Puffer, of Brockton, he being 
the son of Loring Puffer and grandson of 
Nathan Puffer, the latter of whom was a sol- 
dier under General Scott, serving with him in 
all of the battles of the frontier, 1812-15. Dr. 
Puffers lineage from George Poffer is through 
(II) James and Mary (Ludden) Puffer; (III) 
Jabez and Mary (Glazier) Puffer; (IV) Sam- 
uel and Dorothy (Haynes) Puffer; (V) Nathan 
and Katy (Clapp) Puffer; (VI) Nathan and 
Abigail (Joslyn) Puffer; and (VII) Loring 
and Lucy II. (Southworth) Puffer. 

In the maternal line Dr. Puffer's immediate 
ancestors were of Stoughton residence, and his 
great-grandfather, Capt. Jedidiah Southworth, 
an officer who saw much active service in the 
Eevolution, being captain at South Boston 
Point Fort, was in direct line from Constant 
Southworth (who was the brother of Thomas, 
and son of Sir Edward Southworth, of Eng- 
land, who died at Leyden), who was born in 
1615, in England, and came to New England 
in 1628; was an early settler in Duxbury, where 
he died in 1679. He served in the Pequot war 
in 1637, was later ensign and lieutenant in the 
Duxbury company; was for twenty-two years 
from 1647 deputy to the General Court at 
Plymouth; was treasurer of Plymouth Colony 
for sixteen years; was member of the council 
of war, 1658 ; was commissioner for the United 
Colonies, 1668; commissary general during 
King Philip's war, etc. 

As the history of this Plymouth Southworth 
family goes, Edward Southworth, of Duke 
Place, London, 1595, was early at Leyden, Hol- 
land, where lie died. He had married in 1613 
Alice, daughter of Alexander Carpenter, of 
Wrington (?), Somersetshire. Edward died in 
1620, leaving sons Constant and Thomas. The 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



577 



Avidow Alice came to Plymouth in the "Ann" 
in July, 1683, and on Aug. 14th of that year 
married Gov. William Bradford, of Plymouth. 
The sons, Constant and Thomas Southworth, 
came to New England in 1628 at Governor 
Bradford's request. SufBce it to say that the 
lineage of Edward Southworth has been traced 
back to the Saxon kings of England and their 
ancestors, Cerdic and Odin. 

Constant Southworth was one of the original 
proprietors of Bridgewater, the first interior 
settlement of the Old Colony, he being one of 
the three who purchased the land from the In- 
dians. He married Elizabeth, daughter of Wil- 
liam Collier, a prominent citizen of Duxbury, 
and it is said at that time the richest man in 
Plymouth Colony. From one of their descend- 
ants, Edward Southworth, who married in 1711 
Bridget Bosworth, Dr. Puffer's descent is 
through Constant Southworth (2) and his wife 
Martha (Keith) ; Capt. Jedidiah Southworth 
and his wife Mary (Atherton), of Stoughton; 
Jedidiah Southworth (2) and his wife Sally 
(Hewett) ; and Lucy Hewett (Southworth) 
Puffer, wife of Loring Puffer, of Dorchester. 

Loring William Puffer, D. D. S., son of Lor- 
ing and Lucy Hewett (Southworth) Puffer, 
was bom Sept. 17, 1828, in Stoughton, Mass. 
His general education was acquired in com- 
mon and private schools, which he attended un- 
til he reached the age of eighteen years, and 
he graduated from the Boston Dental College 
March 17, 1870. From eighteen to twenty- 
five years of age he was engaged in mechani- 
cal work and the manufacturing of pegging 
awls, which failing health obliged him to re- 
linquish. The three years following were de- 
voted to the study of medicine and dentistry. 
He began the practice of dentistry in 1854, 
and for nearly fifty-five years followed the pro- 
fession, actively, from 1856 established in 
North Bridgewater, which afterward became 
Brockton. A few years after his removal to 
North Bridgewater he became connected with 
fire insurance business (1858), since which 
time he has represented a number of the old- 
line companies of England and America. This 
business in connection with real estate in time 
almost entirely displaced his profession. Dr. 
Puffer is a great reader, and for over sixty 
years has devoted an average of five hours in 
each twenty-four to reading. 

Quite early in life Dr. Puffer became a 
copious correspondent for various newspapers, 
and later had experience in the editorial chair, 
being editor of the Brockton Advance for one 
year, and editor of the Brockton Eagle during 

37 



the years 1884 and 1885. He has done other 
literary work, especially in historical and bio- 
graphical lines, which has widened his reputa- 
tion. In 1871-72 he was adjunct professor of 
operative and clinical dentistry in the Boston 
Dental College, and professor in the institute 
of dentistry and dental therapeutics in 1872- 
73. Previous to 1880 he had been secretary, 
treasurer and president of the Old Colony Den- 
tal Association and was a frequent essayist at 
its meetings. He has at two periods during his 
residence in North Bridgewater, or Bfockton, 
been a member of the school committee (1875- 
1885) ; and for over a third of a century he has 
been one ef the trustees of the public library 
(of which he is known as the father), having 
served as president of the board; was one of a 
number of citizens who originally purchased the 
library, and some years later gave it to the town. 
He was appointed a justice of the peace in 1855, 
and is now holding a commission; in 1883 he 
was appointed a notary public, and also holds 
a commission to perform marriages in Brock- 
ton. For several years he has been a trustee of 
the Brockton Savings Bank. 

Soon after attaining his majority Dr. Puffer 
became interested in politics, and his interest 
has never flagged. Originally an Antislavery 
man, he was among the first to help form and 
sustain the Eepublican party, and has been 
steadfastly devoted to its cause. Outspoken and 
frank with tongue and pen, he is counted one 
of the most efficient, honorable and successful 
political workers in Massachusetts. He has 
been on the Republican city committee of 
Brockton for many years, and has also served 
as chairman of the same. In 1856 he became 
an active member of the Plymouth County 
Agricultural Society; was a trustee for many 
years, and has been vice president. In 1860 
Dr. Puffer built the first greenhouse ever con- 
structed in North Bridgewater; and from that 
date to the present he has been an ardent hor- 
ticulturist, florist and frequent, contributor to 
agricultural, horticultural and floricultural 
publications. Dr. Puffer was one of the most 
active originators of the Brockton Agricultural 
Society founded in 1874, which was a success 
from the start. Its opening exhibition, held in 
a tent for ten days, received an income of 
$7,400; and to-day (1910) its annual income 
has exceeded $100,000. The Doctor is also a 
member of the New England Historic Genea- 
logical Society; of the Natural History Society 
of Boston ; of the Old Bridgewater Historical 
Society, of which he has served as president; 
of the Stoughton Historical Society, of which 
he is a trustee; of the Old Colony Historical 



578 



SOUTHBASTEKN MASSACHUSETTS 



Society (honorary member), of Taunton; and 
of the Massachusetts and Suburban Press Asso- 
ciation. He is a charter member of Paul 
Revere Lodge, A. F. & A. M., and of Satucket 
Chapter, E. A. M., of Brockton. 

On Sept. 18, 1856, Dr. Puffer was married 
to Martha Mary Crane Worcester, niece and 
adopted daughter of Hon. Samuel Thomas and 
Mary Fenno Crane (Wales) Worcester, of Nor- 
walk, Ohio. They have had four children, all 
born in North Bridgewater, as follows: Loring 
Worce^er, born Feb. 7, 1857, died July 29, 
1858; Mary Crane, born April 11, 1859, is at 
home, unmarried; William Loring, born May 
27, 1863, married Dec. 5, 1888, Eliza Cook 
Leonard, of Brockton, daughter of Cyrus and 
Mary (Isaacs) Leonard, and has two daugh- 
ters, Alice Louise and Catherine; and Clarence 
Carter, born June 29, 1870, married June 19, 
1901, Minnie Jean Rollins, of Jay, Maine, 
daughter of William and Elmira J. (Mace) 
Eollina. 

AUGUSTUS TURNER JONES (deceased) 
was born in North Bridgewater (now Brock- 
ton) May 21, 1832, and there — except for the 
time spent elsewhere in study or travel — passed 
his entire life. As editor for many years of a 
paper which under his management became one 
of the most influential in this section, and as 
a man of public spirit whose interest in the 
community led him into active participation 
in its administration, he was influential in 
shaping the policies which characterize the best 
features of the government of Brockton. He 
bore an honored name, and his ancestors have 
been noted for high ideals of citizenship in 
every generation. As a son of Capt. Augustus 
Jones and grandson of Capt. A^a Jones he 
counted among his immediate forefathers men 
who were both useful and active in local affairs. 
Both received their titles for service in the 
militia. Capt. Augustus Jones was one of the 
honored guests at the inauguration of the first 
municipal government of Brockton, at which 
time he was a venerable man. A glance at the 
records of the old North parish of Bridgewater 
and of the later town of North Bridgewater 
evidence the active part the earlier Joneses took 
in its civil and political life. 

On the maternal side Mr. Jones was 
descended from several of the early settlers of 
this section, including the Pilgrim John Alden 
and Priscilla Mullins. From Lieut. James 
Torrey and Thomas Snell the lines are as fol- 
lows: 

(I) Lieut. James Torrey, of Seituate, Massa- 
chusetts. 



(II) Jonathan Torrey, of Weymouth. 

(III) Jonathan Torrey (2), of Weymouth. 

(IV) David Torrey, of Weymouth. 

(V) Deacon David Torrey, of Abington. 
(VI') Turner Torrey married Sarah Snell. 
(VII) Almeda Torrey married Augustus 

Jones. 



(I) Thomas Snell settled in what became 
West Bridgewater about 1665. 

(II) Josiah Snell married Dec. 21, 1699, 
Anna Alden, of Duxbury, daughter of 
Zachariah Alden. 

(III) Zachariah Snell married Abigail Hay- 
ward. 

(IV) Ischar Snell, the next in line, married 
Sarah, daughter of Benjamin Hayward. 

(V) Sarah Snell married in 1803 Turner 
Torrey. 



Returning to the Joneses of Brockton, this 
family should more properly be designated the 
Raynham-Brockton family. It is an ancient 
one in the Commonwealth of Massachusetts, the 
late Augustus Turner Jones being a descend- 
ant in the eighth generation from Thomas 
Jones, of Hingham, England, who came to 
America in the ship "Confidence" in 1638, and 
settled at Taunton, Mass., his line of descent 
being through Joseph (II) ; Nathan (III) ; 
Nehemiah (IV); Nathan (V); Capt. Asa 
(VI); and Capt. Augustus (VII). 

The original Taunton included Raynham and 
what became five other towns, and was settled 
in 1638 or 1639 by emigrants principally from 
Taunton in England. Settlements were made 
in Raynham in 1652 by James Leonard, Henry 
Leonard and Ralph Russell, who came from 
Wales and first settled in Braintree. The act 
setting off Raynham from Taunton as a distinct 
subdivision or town bears date of April, 1731. 
At the time it embraced thirty families. The 
first name on the petition for such act was that 
of Abraham Jones, who was the principal agent 
in bringing the separation about. 

From the late Samuel Jones of Raynham, 
who either himself or the immediate family 
traced out his line from Joseph Jones, we have 
it that the latter settled in that part of Taun- 
ton which later became the town of Raynliam; 
that he died in 1726, aged sixty-seven years; 
that he was a son of Thomas Jones of Hingham, 
England, who came to New England in 1638 
in the ship "Confidence," etc. The children 
of Joseph Jones of Raynham, according to the 
Probate records as stated by the late Samuel 



SOUTHEASTEKN MASSACHUSETTS 



579 



Jones cited above, were: Abraham, Benjamin, 
Nathan, Elnathan, Submit (married a Part- 
ridge), Sarah, Lydia (married a Bosworth), 
Rebecca (married a Dyer) and Mary. Of these 
it was Abraham Jones who was the principal 
agent in bringing about the separation of the 
Raynham settlement from the parent town. He 
was one of the thirty-two persons dismissed from 
the parent church in Taunton to organize the 
First Church in the new town — Raynham. 
Abraham, Joseph and Mary Jones were all in 
full communion with this church when formed. 
Joseph Jones was one of the selectmen of the 
new town in 1733, and was a justice of the 
peace. Several of the daughters of Squire 
Jones married men of talent who became dis- 
tinguished in the learned professions, namely: 
Mary Jones married Rev. John Wilder, of 
Charlestown; Louisa Jones married Rev. Linus 
Shaw, of Sudbury, and a third daughter be- 
came the wife of Dr. Alden Hathaway. 

From this Raynham stock has descended the 
Brockton family which for a hundred years and 
more has been one substantial and influential 
there, and which had in the late Augustus 
Turner Jones a worthy and highly honored rep- 
resentative, a man who had been long and 
prominently identified with the business and 
financial interests of the community. Mr. Jones 
was descended from the North Bridgewater set- 
tler, Capt. Asa Jones, who was a son of Nathan 
Jones, of Raynham. Nathan Jones, the eldest 
son of Capt. Asa, was a corporal in Capt.Nehe- 
miah Lincoln's company, called out during the 
war of 1812 to guard the forts along the coast. 
He was a captain in 1827, major in 1828 and 
lieutenant colonel in 1829. He was selectman 
of the town of North Bridgewater in 184o and 
1844. He was moderator of town meetings in 
1836, 1837 and from 1839 to 1842. 

Capt. Asa Jones came from Raynham to the 
North parish of Bridgewater some years after 
the American Revolution and here married, 
Dec. 4, 1792, Rachel, daughter of Capt. Jere- 
miah Beals. After her death he married (sec- 
ond) Nov. 27, 1806, Charity, daughter of Mark 
PerkinB. They died, Mr. Jones Dec. 6, 1840, 
and Mrs. Jones, March 20, 1849. The chil- 
dren of Captain Jones, all born to the first mar- 
riage, were : Nathan, born Aug. 19, 1794 ; Ros- 
seter, born Sept. 16, 1797 (father of Bradford 
Elliot Jones, of Brockton) ; Sally, born Aug. 
12, 1799, who married Nov. 18, 1819, John 
Thompson; Augustus, bom Oct. 12, 1801; and 
Asa Beals, born Sept. 21, 1803. 

Capt. Augustus Jones, father of Augustus 
Turner Jones, was bom Oct. 12, 1801, in North 
Bridgewater. He learned the trade of carpen- 



ter, which he followed for a number of years 
in partnership with his brother Rosseter, doing 
considerable work in Sharon, Milton and Ran- 
dolph, as well as in their native town. Some 
years prior to his death he retired from carpen- 
ter work, his remaining days being devoted to 
agricultural pursuits. He was for a number 
of years connected with the State militia, being 
an ensign in 1803, 1809 and 1818; he held the 
commission of captain in the same in 1809, and 
in that same year served on the committee of 
North parish. Though a man of quiet, unpre- 
tentious nature, devoted to his home and fam- 
ily, he was an active man in local affairs and in 
the religious life of the community. In early 
life he was active in the work of the First Con- 
gregational Church, being one of the committee 
in 1824, and one of the advising committee 
when the meeting-house was erected, in 1827; 
and he was one of the charter members of the 
Porter Congregational Church when it was or- 
ganized in 1850, and thereafter until his death 
was active in the latter as well as very liberal 
in his support. 

On Nov. 27, 1828, Captain Jones was married 
to Almeda Torrey, eldest daughter of Turner 
Torrey, who came from Weymouth, and they 
celebrated their golden wedding Nov. 27, 1878. 
To this union there were bom the following 
children: Augustus Turner, mentioned below, 
and Sarah Fidelia, born Jan. 1, 1834. The 
daughter married Oct. 18, 1857, Charles R. 
Ford (now deceased), who was one of the lead- 
ing shoe manufacturers of Brockton for a num- 
ber of years. Mrs. Ford now lives with her 
daughter, Mrs. Wallace C. Keith, of North 
Main street, Brockton; and is also the mother 
of Miss Jennie H. Ford of Brockton and Rev. 
Edward T. Ford, a Congregational minister of 
Tacoma, Washington. 

Augustus Turner Jones began his education 
in the public schools and then spent part of two 
years as a pupil at the Adelphian Academy 
(then conducted by the Lopmis Brothers) in his 
home town, which at that time was known as 
North Bridgewater. Then he entered Phillips 
Andover Academy, of which Dr. Samuel H. 
Taylor was principal at the time, and in 1854 
completed the regular classical course to fit him- 
self for college. The same year he entered Am- 
herst, but in 1856 changed to Yale, where he 
was graduated with high rank in 1858. For a 
few years following his graduation he engaged 
in teaching. Immediately upon leaving col- 
lege he was given a position as classical instruc- 
tor in a large training school at Stamford, 
Conn., President Woolsey of Yale recommend- 
ing him for this work, in which he continued 



580 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



one year. Then he was ofEered the principal- 
ship of a new institution which had been re- 
cently opened in Haydenville, Mass., and which 
he helped to place upon a practical and sub- 
stantial footing, resigning after two years to 
return home and enter the field of journalism. 
In this line Mr. Jones made a name and place 
for himself in the history of North Bridge- 
water and Brockton which can never be forgot- 
ten. He became proprietor and editorial man- 
ager of the North Brid^ewater Gazette in 1863, 
and for twenty years devoted his best efforts to 
the welfare of that paper, which during that 
period attained an amazing influence and popu- 
larity. When he took charge it was a weekly 
journal, of limited- circulation but great possi- 
bilities, which Mr. Jones developed to the ut- 
most. He was sincere and enthusiastic, and he 
had ideals of what a newspaper should be in 
its effect upon the morals and welfare of the 
community. With perception, intelligence and 
education beyond the ordinary, he had the 
vision to see the needs of the growing town and 
the demands which would be made upon his 
journal, and he led progressive thought and 
movements for many years, with an independ- 
ence of spirit and a conscientious regard for the 
right which won him the respect and support 
of the best elements in all classes. When Mr. 
Jones sold out and severed his connection with 
the newspaper business, Sept. 1, 1884, he left 
the Gazette firmly established both in a finan- 
cial sense and in its position in the community, 
for no paper in the State bore a higher reputa- 
tion for honesty of purpose and unquestioned 
standards. From 1881 it had been published 
daily as the Evening Gazette, the North Bridge- 
water Weekly Gazette being continued mean- 
while. Both were sold to A. M. Bridgman. 
The building in which the weekly and daily 
issues were published stood at the northeast 
corner of Main and Ward streets, and in 1910 
was replaced by the present Marston block. 

During this time Mr. Jones had personally 
entered heartily into various enterprises des- 
tined to keep the town and city abreast of the 
times. In 1864, the year after he returned to 
North Bridgewater, he was chosen a member 
of the school committee, upon which he served 
twelve years between that time and 1880, with 
a devotion only too rarely found in public offi- 
cials. In March, 1864, he was a member of a 
committee appointed to consider the advisability 
of establishing a high school in the town. In 
1872 he was appointed postmaster by President 
Grant, and had the appointment renewed in 
1873, serving until 1876, when he resigned this 
office. In 1874 he was elected first town mod- 



erator and frequently thereafter, and his ability 
as a presiding officer over public assemblies was 
so generally recognized that he was often called 
upon to act as such, and he was often chairman 
at political conventions and various public 
gatherings. In 1878, when it was decided to 
establish the public water works in Brockton, 
he was selected a member of the committee to 
decide upon the best source of supply and the 
best system to adopt, and he took an active part 
in establishing what was for many years the 
city's source of supply — the Avon reservoir. He 
was appointed a member of the committee cho- 
sen by the town to frame a city charter for 
Brockton and represented his ward in 1882 in 
the first city council, of which he was unani- 
mously chosen president. In 1886, 1887 and 
1891 he was elected tax collector, and in 1887 
became city treasurer, which office he held for 
seven years. That he retained the public con- 
fidence and the good will of the community 
throughout his municipal service betokens the 
liigh regard he showed for the interests of his 
fellow citizens in all these positions of trust. 

Mr. Jones cast his first Presidential vote 
for John C. Fremont, and he was a lifelong 
Eepublican in political faith. He was always 
a faithful party worker, and served several 
years as chairman of the Eepublican town com- 
mittee before Brockton became a city; he was 
often called upon to preside at conventions in 
his district. He was a prominent member of 
various clubs and social organizations, belong- 
ing to the Commercial Club, the Old Colony 
Congregational Club, the Old Bridgewater His- 
torical Society, and to various Masonic bodies. 
In 1864 he joined Paul Eevere Lodge, A. F. 
& A. M., and he joined the higher bodies up 
to and including Bay State Commandery, K. 
T. ; he held the office of generalissimo in the 
commandery, the next to the highest office, but 
declined to serve as eminent commander be- 
cause of the pressure of business interests. He 
was among the original promoters and members 
of the Old Colony Congregational Club, served 
five years as its secretary and was president for 
two years. He was a member of the board of 
directors of the Plymouth County Safe Deposit 
& Trust Company and its successor. The Plym- 
outh County Trust Company, from the time of 
its organization. He was practically the founder 
of the People's Savings Bank, which opened 
for business Aug. 1, 1895, and served as treas- 
urer from that time until his death. In fact, 
he was always the leading spirit in this institu- 
tion, which proved to be such a valuable factor 
in the prosperity of Brockton, and into whose 
success he put so much of his own personality. 



SOUTHEASTEEN MASSACHUSETTS 



581 



Mr. Jones lived to see this bank grow to be 
one of the city's leading financial institutions, 
passing away a few months after its removal 
to its present commodious and substantial bank- 
ing house, erected for that purpose. 

As' intimated, Mr. Jones's church connection 
was with the Congregationalists. He was one 
of the most efScient workers and members of 
the Porter Congregational Church, to which he 
belonged nearly fifty-four years, served as dea- 
con several years, as superintendent of the Sun- 
day school, Sunday school teacher fifty years, 
chairman of the board of finance, member of 
the parish committee (nineteen years), repre- 
sented the church in various ecclesiastical gath- 
erings, and acted in other important official 
connections, besides contributing liberally to all 
the church enterprises. 

Mr. Jones's death, which occurred suddenly 
March 8, 1909, near the close of liis seventy- 
seventh year, was felt in so many circles in 
Brockton that it might be said there was hardly 
a phase of the life of the city unaffected by 
the event. The flag over the city hall floated 
at half mast during the funeral services, the 
city hall was closed for an hour and business 
was suspended in all the municipal offices, while 
many representatives of the city government, 
including the mayor, attended the funeral, offi- 
cially or unofficially ; the People's Savings Bank 
closed at noon, and the Plymouth County Trust 
Company observed the hour of the services. 
Both banks sent resolutions of sympathy to the 
family, and in every way showed the losa they 
suffered in Mr. Jones's decease. The twenty- 
four trustees of the People's Savings Bank 
were present, as well as officers and prominent 
men from his church, employes, fellow workers, 
officers and members of Paul Eevere Lodge, and 
representatives from the other Masonic bodies 
with which he was affiliated. The services were 
conducted by Rev. A. M. Hyde, pastoT of Por- 
ter Church, from whose sermon we make the 
following quotation : 

"He was a farseeing builder, a master build- 
er, a builder of institutions, a builder  whose 
beautiful temples are about him everywhere. 

Living all his life here, building here 

for seventy-seven years, he has built himself into 
almost everything that is worthy and beautiful. 
We may say of him as they said of Sir Chris- 
topher Wren, in the great cathedral, 'If you 
would see his monument look about you.' The 
editor who for nearly a quarter of a century 
molded the sentiment of the city to noble and 
lofty ideals, the moderator of town meetings, 
the leader of the meeting that gave the city its 
name, a member of the committee that framed 



the city charter and gave the city its form of 
government, the first president of the council, 
a member of the committee that established the 
high school, a member of the committee that 
gave us our water supply, postmaster, treasurer, 
school committeeman, business man, church 
man — where is there another who has done what 
he has done? Through all these has been an 
accuracy of mind that is as great a marvel as 
a matter of genius as his honesty of heart is 
a marvel as a matter of experience. His clear- 
ness of mind, his voluminous reading, his 
knowledge of men, all fitted him to hold the 
highest positions. To him promotion always 
called. But he shrank from it. He declined it 
again and again. He was ambitious only to 
do the duty next to him which seemed to be 
given him of God to do. • He cared to make our 
city truly great ; and caring not for greatness 
for himself he found greatness in being great 
to others 

"He was a philanthropist from the very be- 
ginning. Making his way with marked honor 
through Phillips Academy and Amherst and 
Yale Colleges, receiving his diploma when he 
was twenty-six years of age, he entered the 
school room. He was a born teacher. There 
are men and women in middle life who date 
their first tuition and abiding thirst for knowl- 
edge to the guidance and the inspiration of this 
faithful and skillful teacher. A lover of books, 
gathering from the libraries written on the 
scrolls of nature, abiding much in the school 
room of the fields, from these silent companion- 
ships there passed through him to the circles 
of his human intercourse wonderful parables 
of life, revealing thoughts as rich and beautiful 
as the petals, the clusters, the ruby and golden 
spheres he knew so well. 

"A philanthropist from the first, he was ^ 
philanthropist always. Each new day was a 
new door to new philanthropies. He was al- 
ways giving. He gave his money; he gave his 
time; he gave his sympathy; he gave himself. 
And he gave always with the clear-sightedness 
of a systematic business man who could be 
trusted with the finances of a city or a bank. 
He gave with a view of investing his money and 
himself where they would do the most for hu- 
manity. His life itself was a gift. His very 
business life was lived in love. He was in 
charge of other people's finances. Millions of 
dollars have passed through his hands. Yet 
not a penny was ever charged for any selfish 
interests of his own. Opportunity came again 
and again when he might have used his place 
for enriching himself. He never did it. He 
used it all to serve. His bank was like a draw- 



582 



SOUTHEASTEEN MASSACHUSETTS 



ing room in its courtesies to the most humble 
aud the most poor." 

The following editorial appeared in the 
Brockton Enterprise: "Death's summons came 
with startling suddenness last evening to a citi- 
zen who has had very much to do with the up- 
building of Brockton from an ambitious town 
into the 'no mean city' of to-day. A life is 
ended that spanned over threescore and ten 
years, and they were years of unbroken activity 
along lines of endeavor that contributed to 
everything good in the life of this community. 

"Augustus T. Jones was a man of high 
ideals, of strict probity, of unvarying courtesy 
in his intercourse with his fellows. As an editor 
he made the Gazette a newspaper of dignity and 
influence. As moderator of town meetings, as 
postmaster, as school committeeman, as com- 
mon councilman, as city treasurer, he served 
the people faithfully and capably. In his 
church he was loyal and steadfast; a kindly 
neighbor, a helpful friend, a home lover de- 
voted to his family. The People's Savings 
Bank, of which he \^as the founder, was a 
dream he saw fulfilled in his later years. He 
gloried in its development, gave to it the best 
of his hands and brains and heart, and when 
it was moved to its fine new home but a few 
weeks ago he was proud and happy in the ful- 
fillment of his hopes. 

"When the Enterprise was launched as a 
competitor of the Gazette back in 1879, with 
little capital beyond ambition and determina- 
tion, it found Mr. Jones a fair and friendly 
contemporary. In fact for a time, until the 
struggling venture was able to walk alone, the 
Enterprise was printed on his press. The two 
papers, and the men who made them, were 
always on good terms. 

"It seems to us that the end came to this 
useful, busy, honorable career just as he might 
have wished it. To the very last he was 'in the 
harness,' and it was a harness he wore because 
he loved to be honorably occupied. He had 
attained much that made life sweet and satisfy- 
ing. He had earned the esteem and confidence 
of his fellow citizens, had held the deeper love 
of those who knew him best. 

"What higher rewards can this life offer?" 

Mr. Jones was laid to rest in Union ceme- 
tery, his son and his three sons-in-law offici- 
a:ting as pallbearers. 

On Dec. 2, 1860, Mr. Jones was married to 
Helen Eveleth, daughter of Moses and Betsey 
(Preble) Eveleth, of New Gloucester, Maine, 
and a graduate of Mount Holyoke College, 
class of 1856. There were two children by this 
union: (1) Bertha Eveleth, born Sept. 7, 



1866, was graduated from the art department 
at Wellesley College in 1889 and was married 
in 1894 to Edward Dwight Blodgett, a gradu- 
ate of Amherst, 1887, who is now editor of 
the Daily Standard, at Cortland, N. Y., where 
they reside. They are the parents of two chil- 
dren, Eleanor Dickinson and Edward Eveleth 
Blodgett. (2) Lizzie Lee, born Sept. 25, 1868, 
who graduated from Wellesley College in 1891, 
was a teacher for several years, and is now the 
wife of J. Howard Field, vice president of the 
C. A. Eaton Shoe Company, of Brockton, 
where they reside. They are the parents of 
three children, Helen Eleveth, John Howard, 
Jr., and Elizabeth Field. The mother of these 
children died in 1875, and Mr. Jones married 
(second) March 20, 1876, Mrs. Harriet 
(Drake) Pettee, daughter of Deacon Ebenezer 
and Lucy (Reed) Drake, and widow of S. 
Cardner Pettee, of Stoughton, Mass., by whom 
she had one daughter, Alice Gardner Pettee, 
born Nov. 20, 1864, in Stoughton, who gradu- 
ated from Wellesley College, and is now the wife 
of Eev. George P. Eastman, of Framingham, 
Mass., now located at Orange, N. J., where he 
is pastor of the Orange Valley Congregational 
Church. They are the parents of four children, 
Gardner Pettee, Roger, Philip Yale and Har- 
riet Drake Eastman. Mr. Jones and his sec- 
•nd wife had one son, Everett Augustus, born 
Aug. 16, 1878, who was graduated from the 
Brockton high school in 1896, and from Am- 
herst College in 1900; he is engaged in the 
manufacture of shoe dressings and shoe manu- 
facturers' supplies under the firm name of, E. 
A. Jones & Co.. at Brockton, where he resides, 
unmarried, making his home with his widowed 
mother. The family residence is at No. 182 
North Main street. 

WILLIAMS (Taunton family) . In the an- 
cient town of Taunton there are still represen- 
tatives of the famous Cromwell-Williams line 
of the family bearing the latter name. Refer- 
ence is made to some of the posterity of Rich- 
ard Williams, who with Oliver Cromwell, the 
"Lord Protector," sprang from the same an- 
cestor, William Cromwell, a son of Robert Crom- 
well, of Carleton upon Trent, a Lancastrian 
who was killed at the battle of Towton, in 1461. 

Many years ago the statement was made, 
and afterward vehemently doubted, that the 
family of Richard Williams of Taunton was 
connected by ties of blood with that of Oliver 
Cromwell. This fact was established by the 
wonderful patience and perseverance, and at 
considerable expense, of the late Hon. Joseph 
Hartwell Williams, of Augusta, Maine, a former 



SOUTHEASTEEN MASSACHUSETTS 



583 



governor of Maine, a direct descendant of Rich- 
ard Williams of Taunton. The following is an 
account of this connection taken from the New 
England Historical and Genealogical Register 
of April, 1897, abridged by the late Josiah H. 
Drummond, LL. D., of Portland, Maine. 

Cromwell. The Cromwell line dates 
from Alden de Cromwell, who lived in the time 
of William the Conqueror. His son was Hugh 
de Cromwell, and from him descended ten 
Ralph de Cromwells in as many successive gen- 
erations; but the tenth Ralph died without 
issue. 

The seventh Ralph de Cromwell married, in 
1351, Amicia, daughter of Robert Berer, M. P. 
for Notts; besides the eighth Ralph, they had 
several other sons, among whom was Ulker 
Cromwell, of Hucknall Torkard, Notts. Ulker 
had Richard ; and he, John of Cromwell House, 
Carleton upon Trent, Notts; and he, Robert; 
the names of the wives are not given. 

(I) Robert Cromwell, of Carleton upon 
Trent, was a Lancastrian. He was killed at the 
battle of Towton, in 1461. His lease of Crom- 
well House was seized by Sir Humphrey 
Bourchier, Yorkist, who was the husband of 
Joan Stanhope, the granddaughter of the ninth 
Ralph, through his daughter Matilda, wife of 
Sir Richard Stanhope. 

Robert left a son William, the ancestor of 
Robert Cromwell, and a daughter Margaret, 
the ancestor of both Oliver Cromwell and Rich- 
ard Williams of Taunton. 

(II) William Cromwell, of the prebend of 
Palace Hall, Norwalk, Notts, settled in Put- 
ney, Surrey, 1453. He married Margaret 
Smyth, daughter of John Smyth, of Norwalk. 
Notts, and had John. 

Margaret Cromwell married William Smyth 
(son of John). They had son Richard Smyth 
and daughter Joan Smyth. 

(III) John Cromwell, son of William, mar- 
ried his cousin, Joan Smyth. He was a Lan- 
castrian, and his lands at Putney were seized 
by Archbishop Bourchier, Lord of the Manor of 
Wimbledon, and his lease of Palace Hall, Nor- 
walk, Notts, remised by Lord Chancellor 
Bourchier. They had, among other children, 
Walter Cromwell. 

Richard Smyth, of Rockhampton, Putney, by 
wife, Isabella, had daughter Margaret Smyth, 
who married John Williams, fourth in descent 
from Howell Williams, the head of the Wil- 
liams line. 

(IV) Walter Cromwell married in 1474 the 
daughter of Glossop of Wirksworth, Derby- 
shire; in 1472 he'claimed and was admitted to 
two virgates (thirty acres) of land at Putney; 



in 1499 Archbishop Morton, Lord of Wimble- 
don Manor, gave him six virgates (ninety acres) 
of land in Putney as a solatium for the prop- 
erty taken from his father by the Bourchier 
Yorkists. He died in 1516, leaving among 
other children Katherine Cromwell. 

(V) Katherine Cromwell married Morgan 
Williams, fifth in descent from Howell Wil- 
liams, and had a son Richard Williams, born 
about 1495. 

(VI) Sir Richard Williams, alias Cromwell, 
married in 1518 Frances Murfyn. He died at 
Stepney in 1547 and was buried in 6t. St. 
Helen's Church, London. He left son Henry 
Cromwell, alias Williams. 

(VII) Sir Henry Cromwell, alias Williams 
(called "The Golden Knight"), of Hinchen- 
brook, Huntingdop, married Joan, daughter of 
Sir Ralph Warren, Lord Mayor of London, and 
they had : Sir Oliver, Robert, Henry, Richard, 
Philip, Joan, Elizabeth and Prances. 

(VIII) Robert Cromwell, of Huntingdon, 
brewer, married Elizabeth Stewart, widow of 
William Lynn, of Bassingbourn, and their fifth 
child was Oliver Cromwell, the "Lord Protec- 
tor." 

Robert's sister, Elizabeth Cromwell, married 
William Hampden, of Great Hampden, Bucks, 
and among their children were John Hampden, 
"The Patriot," and Richard Hampden. 

Williams. Governor Williams, through his 
assistants, traced the Williams line back to 
Howell Williams, Lord of Ribour. 

(I) Howell Williams, Lord of Ribour, mar- 
ried Wenlion, daughteT»and heiress of Llyne ap 
Jevan, of Rady, and had son Morgan Williams. 

(II) Morgan Williams, of Lanishen, Gla- 
morgan, married Joan Batton, daughter of 
Thomas, of Glamorgan, and they had Thomas 
and Jevan. 

Jevan Williams married Margaret, daughter 
of Jenkin Kemeys, of Bagwye Man. They had 
son William Williams of Lanishen, bailiff for 
Henry VIII., who (wife not knovra) was the 
father of Morgan Williams, of Lanishen, Gla- 
morgan, and later of Putney, Surrey, ale brewer 
at Putney, Wansworth, and Greenwich, for 
Henry VII. and Henry VIII., and the husband 
in 1494 of Katherine Cromwell — see ante 
Cromwell, No. 5, et seq. 

(III) Thomas Williams, of Lanishen, Gla- 
morgan, died at St. Helen's, Bishopsgate, Lon- 
don ; was buried in the church there, "with his 
brass on stone." 

(IV) John Williams, steward of Wimbledon 
Manor, Surrey, married Margaret Smyth, 
daughter of Richard Smyth, and granddaughter 
of Margaret Cromwell (see ante Cromwell, 



584 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



Nos. 1, 2). He died at Mortlake in 1502, and 
she in 1501. They had two sons, John and 
Richard. 

John Williams, born in 1485, married Joan 
Wykys, daughter of Henry Wykys, of Bolleys 
Park Chertney, and sister of Elizabeth Wykys, 
who married Thomas Cromwell (brother of 
Katharine), secretary to Henry VIII., Lord 
Cromwell of Oakham, Earl of Essex. 

(V) Richard Williams was born in Rock- 
ampton in 1487. He settled at Monmouth and 
Dixton, Mon., where he died in 1559. He was 
twice married. The name of his first wife is 
not known. She is credited with one daughter, 
Joan. His second wife. Christian, had two 
daughters, Reece and Ruth, and one son, John. 

(VI) John Williams, of Huntingdon, near 
Wotton under Edge, Gloucester, died in 1579, 
leaving son William. No other particulars of 
this family are given. 

(VII) William Williams, of Huntingdon, 
married Nov. 15, 1585, Jane Shepherd. She 
died about 1600, a child of hers having been 
baptized Dec. 2, 1599. He married Dec. 4, 
1603, Jane Woodward. She died Feb. 2, 1614, 
and he in 1618. The first child by his second 
marriage, bom in January, 1606, was Richard 
Williams, of Taunton. 

Of the change of his name by Sir Richard 
Williams, Governor Williams said: "Oliver 
Cromwell in the male line of Morgan Williams 
of Glamorganshire. His great-grandfather. Sir 
Richard Williams, assumed the name of 'Crom- 
well,' it is true, but not until in mature years 
he had distinguished himself in the public ser- 
vice (temp. Henry VIII.), under the patronage 
of his uncle, Thomas Cromwell (Vicar General, 
1535), whom he proposed to honor by the adop- 
tion of his name. In fact, ever afterwards. Sir 
Richard used to sign himself, 'Richard Crom- 
well, alias Williams' ; and his sons and grand- 
sons, and Oliver Cromwell himself, in his youth 
(*1620), used to sign in the same manner. In 
important grants from the crown to Sir Rich- 
ard (29 and 31, Henry VIII.) the grantee's 
name appears in both forms, 'Cromwell alias 
Williams' and 'Williams alias Cromwell.' " 

It is not believed that, in the light of Gov- 
ernor Williams's researches, the relationship of 
Richard Williams of Taunton and the Crom- 
well family will again be questioned. 

(VIII) Richard Williams, son of William 
Williams, of Huntingdon, and his wife Jane 
(Woodward), born in January, 1606, married 
in Gloucester, England, Feb. 11, 1633, Frances 
Dighton, daughter of Dr. Jolm Dighton, and 
for whom the town of Dighton, Mass., was 
named. Richard Williams came to America 



and was among the first purchasers of Taun- 
ton. He was a man of good abilities; was 
deputy to the General Court of Plymouth Col- 
ony from 1645 to 1665; selectman in 1666 and 
1667. He was one of the proprietors of the 
"New Purchase," now Dighton. He was a 
member and deacon of the First Church. He 
died in the year 1693, aged eighty-seven. 

The children born to Richard and his wife 
Prances (Dighton) — the eldest two being born 
while the parents were living in Gloucester, in 
the parish of Whitcombe Magna, and both of 
whom died when young — were: (1) John was 
baptized March 27, 1634. (3) Elizabeth was 
baptized Feb. 7, 1635-36. (3) Samuel married 
Jane Gilbert, and is mentioned farther on. (4) 
Joseph married (first) Nov. 28, 1667, Elizabeth 
Watson, and (second) Abigail Newland, and 
is mentioned later. (5) Nathaniel married in 
1668 Elizabeth Rogers, of Duxbury, and their 
children were: John (bom Aug. 37, 1675), 
Nathaniel (born April 9, 1679) and Elizabeth 
(born April 18, 1686). (6) Thomas and his 
wife Mary had children: Mary (born 1680), 
Jonathan (born 1683, married Elizabeth Leon- 
ard), Sarah (born 1685, married James Hall), 
Macy (born 1687), Hannah (born 1689), 
Bethia (bom 1692), Mehetabel (born 1695) 
and Damaris (born 1698). (7) Benjamin mar- 
ried March 18, 1689-90, Rebecca Macy, and 
their children were : Rebecca (bom Nov. 27, 
1690), Josiah (bora Nov. 7, 1692), Benjamin 
(born July 31, 1695) and John (born March 
27, 1699). (8) Elizabeth, bom about 1647, 
married John Bird, of Dorchester. (9) Han- 
nah married John Parmenter, of Boston. 

(IX) Samuel Williams, second son of Rich- 
ard and Frances, first of Taunton, married 
Jane Gilbert. Their children were: Seth (bom 
1675, died 1761), Samuel, Daniel, Mary, Sarah 
and Hannah. 

(X) Seth Williams, son of Samuel and Jane, 
born 1675, was chief justice of the county court 
of Common Pleas from 1754 till 1761, the time 
of his death. His children were: James; 
David; Abiel; Benjamin, bom Feb. 25, 1721, 
who died March 18, 1784; Mary; Elizabeth; 
Susanna; Rachel, and Jemima. 

(XI) James Williams, son of Seth Wil- 
liams, above, died in 1765. Ete was a judge of 
the court of Common Pleas after the death of 
his father; and was also appointed register of 
deeds in 1746 (when the records were removed 
from Bristol, then set off from Massacliusetts 
to Rhode Island), serving till his death. 

(XI) Benjamin Williams, son of Seth, born 
Feb. 25, 1721, was appointed judge of Probate 
for the .county in 1778, and held the office till 



^^wk] 




€rt^ fy rs. u-'/Aofi, 3 ^^„ fior 






SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



585 



'lis death, March 18, 1784. His children were: 
Lemuel, who became a member of Congress; 
Benjamin, born July 17, 1757; Joshua; Elisha; 
Ann, who married a Tubs ; and Mary, who mar- 
ried Rev. Mr. Spaulding. 

(XII) Benjamin Williams, son of Benjamin, 
was bom July 17, 1757, and died Jan. 29, 
1830. On Nov. 28, 1793,; he married Lydia 
Williams, who was born Jan. 24, 1774, and died 
Sept. 11, 1845, youngest daughter of James 
Williams and sister of Judge John M. Williams. 
The children of this marriage were: Ann, born 
Feb. 8, 1795, who died in July, 1797; Myra, 
born Aug. 11, 1796, who married Rev. Samuel 
Presbrey; Benjamin F., born July 5, 1798; 
George W., born July 13, 1800; Sydney, born 
Feb. 13, 1803; Henry, born Nov. 30, 1805; 
Edgar, born 1807, who died April 6, 1808; 
Lydia, born Jan. 27, 1809, who died Sept. 7, 
1830; and Anna Augusta, born Aug. 24, 1811, 
who died Dec. 2, 1838. 

(XIII) George W. Williams, son of Benja- 
min and Lydia, was born July 13, 1800. He 
married Emma Willis, and they became the 
parents of children born as follows: Emma 
Augusta, March 11, 1827; George Edgar, Aug. 
16, 1829; Julius, Jan. 11, 1834; Andrew, 
Aug. 28, 1837; Lewis, April 25, 1840; Felix, 
Oct. 17, 1843 ; Arthur Herbert, Feb. 23, 1846. 

(XIV) Lewis Williams, son of George W. 
and Emma (Willis), was born in Taunton 
April 25, 1840, and died there Dec. 23, 1902. 
He was brought up in Weir village, and at- 
tended Bristol Academy. After his school days 
he promptly entered upon business life and in 
the early seventies was busy in the old firm of 
Staples & Phillips, who were the leading ship- 
pers, vessel owners, and coal movers and sellers 
in southeastern New England for a long term 
of years. On the dissolution of that firm he 
joined his fortunes with those of the Staples 
Coal Company, and vigorously assisted in de- 
veloping the business of that corporation until 
it became one of the leaders in New England in 
moving and selling coal, owning shipping (both 
barges and tugs) and constantly enlarging its 
sphere of operations until they covered a great 
portion of this territory, both coast and interior. 

A public-spirited and open-handed citizen, 
Mr. Williams was among the foremost in vari- 
ous enterprises to increase the commercial 
facilities of the city, add to its manufactories, 
and give employment to workers. His advice 
was always sound and his foresight good. He 
was interested as a part owner in the West Sil- 
ver Works, the Dighton Furnace, the Taunton 
Crucible Works,- and he owned stock in the Carr 
and Winthrop Mills, of Taunton, and was also 



interested as a heavy stockholder in a number 
of Fall River mills. He never shirked his ob- 
ligation to do his part in charitable work, and 
no one who was really needy, no deserving pub- 
lic benefaction, ever called upon him in vain. 
He was brought up in the old First Church, 
believed in it and stood by it always, both by 
his presence at its services and in every other 
way to strengthen its growth and its power as 
an element of good in the city and the denomi- 
nation. 

On Sept. 22, 1870, Mr. Williams married 
Adelaide N. Staples, daughter of Sylvanus N. 
and D. Adaline (Bood) Staples, and one 
daughter blessed this union, Hattie Staples, 
who married Frederick Ludlam. Mr. Wil- 
liai^s's wide family and personal connections 
made the termination of his useful and busy 
life and the loss of his kindly and courteous 
personality far-reaching, his high citizenship 
touched and influenced so many sides of the 
community's social, religious and business life. 

(IX) Joseph Williams, son of Richard and 
Frances (Dighton), married (first) Elizabeth 
Watson and (second) Abigail Newland. His 
children were: Elizabeth, Richard, Mehetabel, 
Joseph, Benjamin, Ebenezer, Phebe and Rich- 
ard (2). 

(X) Richard Williams, son of Joseph and 
Elizabeth (Watson), born March 26, 1689, died 
in 1727. He married (first) Anna Wilbore 
and (second) Jan. 1, 1740, Elizabeth Merick. 
His children were: George, born in Taunton 
in 1717; Richard, and Ebenezer. 

(XI) Col. George Williams, of Taunton, son 
of Richard and Anna (Wilbore), bom in Taun- 
ton in 1717, married Jan. 6, 1736-37, Sarah 
Hodges, born in 1715 in Taunton, Mass., daugh- 
ter of Henry and Sarah (Leonard) Hodges, of 
Taunton. The second marriage of Col. George 
Williams was to Mrs. Nancy Dean. He died 
in 1803, and his wife in 1797. His nine chil- 
dren, all born in Taunton, were: (1) Phebe, 
born in 1737, died in 1813, in Taunton. She 
married (first) John Hart, of Taunton, son 
of Lawrence and Elizabeth Hart, (second) Feb. 
15, 1759, Simeon Tisdale, of Taunton, son of 
Joseph and Ruth (Reed) Tisdale, and (third) 
April 27. 1763, Eliphaz Harlow, of Taunton, 
son of Eleazer^nd Hannah (Delano) Harlow. 
(2) Sarah, bom in 1739, died in 1830. On 
April 14, 1757, she married Richard Godfrey, 
of Taunton, son of Richard and Theodora 
(Dean) Godfrey. (3) A child, born in 1741, 
died May 5, 1750, in Taunton. (4) George, 
born Aug. 18, 1745, died Feb. 23, 1814, at 
Raynham, Mass. He married Oct. 2, 1766, 



586 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



Bathsheba King, daughter of Philip and Abi- 
gail (Williams) King, of Raynham. (5) Anna, 
bom in 1747, died Nov. 2, 1833, at Taunton. 
She married (first) Sept. 16, 1763. Elisha 
Codding, and (second) July 19, 1788, Jona- 
than French, of Berkley, Mass.^ son of Ebenezer 
and Keziah French, of Berkley. (6) Ebenezer, 
born in 1751, died April 30, 1814. He married 
March 7, 1769, at Raynham, Sarah Ellis, of 
Raynham, daughter of Philip Ellis. (7) Lydia, 
born in 1753, died March 5, 1773. She mar- 
ried Aug. 6, 1772, Isaac Tobey, of Berkley, son 
of Rev. Samuel and Batljsheba (Crocker) 
Tobey, of Berkley. (8) Richard, born in 1755 
or 1757, died in Taunton in 1814. He mar- 
ried Hannah Padelford, of Taunton, daughter 
of Edward and Sarah (Briggs) Padelford. ,(9) 
Abiather, born June 4, 1759, died Oct. 4, 1760, 
at Taunton. 

Col. George Williams lived in Taunton, on 
the east side of the Taunton river, on what is 
now Williams street. He was a man of prop- 
erty, owning a large landed estate. From the 
soldierly qualities which he evidently possessed 
it seems that he served in the war with the 
French in 1744-45; and perhaps in the first 
year of the French and Indian war. But the 
record thus far found of his military service 
begins in 1757. He was then ensign of a com- 
pany stationed 'at Fort William Henry, when 
the French and Indians under Montcalm in- 
vested the place Aug. 3, 1757. He was sent 
out at the beginning of the siege under Captain 
Saltonstall, but his party was driven back, and 
he himself taken prisoner. He was released not 
long after, and returned to Taunton. He rose 
to the rank of captain of the 3d Taunton Com- 
pany, and in 1772 was major of the 3d Bristol 
County regiment. On Feb. 8, 1776. he was 
elected colonel of this regiment by the Legis- 
lature, and commissioned Feb. 7th, and did 
good service during the Revolution. His prin- 
cipal military operations were in Rhode Island, 
which State was constantly harried and threat- 
ened by the British navy. He was a prominent 
member of the Taunton committee of Corre- 
spondence, Inspection and Safety for several 
years, beginning in 1775, and was selectman of 
"Taunton in 1780. His son, Richard Williams, 
was one of the minute-men of the company of 
Capt. James Williams, Jr., wbo marched to 
Roxbury at the news of the battle of Lexington. 
During the lasl six months of 1776 he was 
serving at the defense of Boston, being sergeant 
under Capt. Joshua Wilbore. He very likely 
served at other times, but the Revolutionary 
rolls are not sufficiently explicit for his iden- 
tification among the many soldiers of this name. 



(XII) George Williams, son of Col. George 
and Sarah (Hodges), was born in Taunton 
Aug. 18, 1745, and died in Raynham Feb. 23, 
1814. He married, Oct. 2, 1766, Bathsheba 
King, daughter of Philip and Abigail King. 
She was born in Raynham March 31, 1744, 
and died in Taunton May 26, 1839. Their 
children, all born in Raynham, were: Sarah, 
born July 27, 1767; George, Feb. 26, 1769; a 
son. May 6, 1771; Abiathar, Jan. 8, 1773; 
Bathsheba, Jan. 25, 1775; Melancy, Feb. 28, 
1777; Francis, Oct. 13, 1779; Narcissus, Sept. 
13, 1781; Enoch, Dec. 29, 1783; and Samuel 
K., Nov. 17, 1785. George Williams was a man 
of fine personal appearance, according to the 
accounts handed down in the family. He was 
a farmer, and owned a fine property. While 
it is certain he served in the Revolution, it is 
difBcult to pick out his record from the many 
of the same name. Possibly he served in New 
York State from about the beginning of 1776 
until December, being or becoming a sergeant 
in Capt. James Allen's company. Col. Simeon 
Carey's regiment. He certainly was quarter- 
master of his father's regii^ent in Rhode Island, 
December, 1776, and January, 1777. 

(XIII) Abiathar Williams, son of George 
and Bathsheba, was bom in Raynham Jan. 8, 
1773. He married Anna Dean, daughter of 
Joseph and Anna (Strowbridge) Dean, and 
they had eleven children, as follows: Anna, 
born Jan. 19, 1803; Maria, Nov. 1, 1804; Eliza- 
beth Jane, Sept. 1, 1806 ; Bathsheba, Sept. 11, 
1808; Harriet Dean, Nov. 17, 1810; Frances 
Amelia, Jan. 30, 1813; Abiathar K., March 
11. 1815 ; Helen Melancy, July 6, 1817 ; George 
Bradford, Nov. 7, 1819 ; Keziah, Nov. 28, 1821; 
and George Bradford (2), Nov. 12, 1824. 
Abiathar Williams was known as "Capt." Wil- 
liams. He ran a sloop from Taunton to New 
York from the time he was fifteen years of 
age till he was fifty-five. He made his sons 
Abiathar K. and George B. his partners. A 
successful and influential citizen, he represented 
his town in the General Court, and held vari- 
ous local offices. He died in June, 1856, and 
his wife in 1858. 

(XIV) Geohge B. Williams, son of Abia- 
thar and Anna, was born Nov. 12, 1824. He 
was educated in tlie Taunton public schools and 
always prided himself on being an old academy 
boy. He became one of the stanch monied 
men of Taunton. Starting early in life with 
a goodly inheritance, he constantly added to it 
by thrift and good management until gradu- 
ally he became the largest real estate owner in 
Taunton. Like his father, he was engaged in 
the lumber business. In the early days lum- 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



587 



ber was discharged far down the river, and 
rafted up, and Mr. Williams was a prominent 
figure on all of those rafts after he became 
old enough to go into business. He became his 
father's partner, and his name appeared in the 
firm through all its changes until his retire- 
ment in 1887. He was a sturdy specimen of 
old New England stock. He was quiet and 
unpretentious in manner, keen in business af- 
fairs, and strictly honest in all his dealings. 
It would seem that no man could leave a bet- 
ter heritage to his family. Like his ancestors 
he was a stanch supporter of the First Congre- 
gational Society of Taunton. 

Mr. Williams married Sarah Carver Barstow, 
daughter of Charles Carver Barstow and sister 
of the late Charles M. C. Barstow. They 
reared a large family, born as follows: George 
B., July 29, 1849; Charles K., Feb. 9, 1851; 
Sarah B., Sept. 4, 1852; Frederick B., Aug. 
4, 1854; Abiathar G., Feb. 4, 1856; Enos D., 
Oct. 30, 1857; Charlotte A., Oct. 20, 1858; 
Alice M., Sept. 18, 1860 ; Franklin D., Nov. 21, 
,1861; Enos D. (2), Aug. 9, 1863; Alfred B., 
July 8, 1865; Ida L., Oct. 11, 1868. 



Simeon Williams, of Taunton, son of John 
and Hannah (Robinson) Williams, born Feb. 

21, 1716-1717, in Taunton, died Sept. 10, 1799. 
He was twice married. His first wife, Zipporah 
Crane, of Raynham, whom he married Aug. 86, 
1742, died in Taunton May 21, 1748. In 1750 
he married (second) Waitstill Hodges, born 
Dec. 21, 1723, died Nov. 21, 1820, at Taunton. 
Their children were: Zipporah, bom Feb. 5, 
1750-51, who died Oct. 28, 1812; Lurana, born 
Dec. 30, 1752; Nathaniel, born March 29, 
1755; Waitstill, bom Aug. 10, 1758, who died 
Sept. 16, 1776, at Taunton; Hannah, born Jan. 

22, 1761, who died Feb. 24, 1846; Levi, born 
Aug. 25, 1763, who died Aug. 5, l')k64; Jemima, 
born June 30, 1765, who died Dec. 18, 1793, at 
Raynham; and Cynthia, bom Sept. 9, 1767, 
who died Dec. 6, 1854. 

Deacon Simeon Williams was one of the 
many members of the First Church of Taunton 
who withdrew from the Society in 1792, and 
founded the Westville Congregational Church. 
The cause of the withdrawal was dissatisfaction 
with the new minister selected for the original 
church — dissatisfaction which seems to have 
been well grounded. Deacon Simeon was a 
man of ability, strength of character and in- 
fluence. He doubtless served in the French 
and Indian war, for, being corporal of the 2d 
Company (Taunton). April 6, 1757, according 
to the roster of that date, he rose to be lieuten- 
ant and captain of the company. As he was on 



the alarm (or reserve) list Dec. 6, 1776, he 
probably saw no active service in the Revolu- 
tion. But in 1775, 1776, 1777 and 1778, pos- 
sibly also other years, he was elected a mem- 
ber of the Taunton committee of Correspond- 
ence, Inspection and Safety, whose multifarious 
duties included the discipline and reformation 
of Tories, the care of confiscated property, the 
regulation of prices, the obtaining of supplies 
for the American troops, etc. He was select- 
man of Taunton from 1760 to 1766, in 1770 
and in 1777. 

Nathaniel Williams, of Taunton, son of Dea- 
con Simeon and Waitstill (Hodges), born 
March 29, 1755, at Taunton, died there June 
30, 1829. He married April 20, 1780, Norton 
Lucilda Hodges, born May 27, 1760, at Norton, 
Mass., died May 7, 1847, at Taunton. Their 
children were : Lucilda, born May 16, *1781, 
died Feb. 8, 1869; Pollv, bom May 2, 1783, 
died May 30, 1860; John, born Sept. 2, 1785, 
died March 21, 1850; Charlotte, born April 
26, 1789, died Oct. 24, 1873; Susannah, bom 
April 24, 1791, died May 13, 1884; Philander, 
bom Oct. 18, 1793, died Nov. 16, 1796; 
Amelia, born May 7, 1796, died May 17, 1838; 
Nathaniel Hodges, born Nov. 11, 1798, died 
Dec. 25, 1879; Simeon, bom May 31, 1801, 
died Aug. 10, 1847; and Cassander, bom Dec. 
9, 1804, died Jan. 8, 1873. Nathaniel Wil- 
liams was one of the minute-men who, at the 
news of the battle of Lexington, marched to- 
ward Boston under Capt. Robert Grossman. 
In December, 1776, and January, 1777, he 
served as corporal under Capt. Samuel Fales 
in Rhode Island. In 1778 he served two terms, 
aggregating four and a half months, as ser- 
geant in Rhode Island of the companies of 
Capt. Samuel Fales and of Capt. Josiah Crock- 
er. He may have served other terms, for the 
name occurs repeatedly in the records, but as 
in other cases the rolls are not explicit enough 
to identify the different individuals of the same 
name. 

LEONARD. The Leonard family has been 
of note in this country since the coming of the 
two or three brothers to the American colonies 
in the early settlement of New England, and 
beyond the ocean it is one ancient and dis- 
tinguished. In several of the towns of Bristol 
county, this Commonwealth, with the Leonards 
of which region of country this article is to deal, 
they as a faniily with their allied connections 
through marriage have been of especial note, 
one historic and distinguished. From the com- 
ing to Taunton of James and Henry Leon- 
ard to the present dny, possessed of great 



588 



SOUTHEASTEEN MASSACHUSETTS 



wealth they have been one of the first families 
of the Commonwealth, influential and pow- 
erful. 

Henry Leonard, who with his brother James 
established the forge at Taunton (now Eayn- 
ham), was at Lynn in 1655 and 1668, and after- 
ward carried on the works at Eowley village, 
which place he left early in 1674; and at that 
time, or soon after, went to New Jersey, 
establishing the manufacture of iron in that 
State. The brothers, James and Henry Leon- 
ard, are stated by Eev. Doctor Fobes, LL. D., 
who more than a century ago furnished for the 
Massachusetts Historical Collections an account 
of the Leonard family, to have been from 
Pontypool, County of Monmouth, Wales, which 
place was celebrated for its working of iron 
at an early date. These brothers were sons 
of Tliomas Leonard of Pontypool, who him- 
self did not come to this country with his 
sons. The Leonards are believed to have had 
some claim to the ownership of iron works 
at Bilston, County of Stafford, England. At 
the time they came to New England there was 
probably but one furnace in the place. At Lynn 
and Braintree forges were established at an 
earlier date than here at Eaynham, and James 
and Henry Leonard were connected with them, 
but finally settled at the point last named, 
where they built the first iron works in the 
Old Colony. At that time the proprietors of 
the iron works at Lynn and Braintree had a 
monopoly by grant of this business for the 
Massachusetts Colony. Their neighbors were 
also desirous to establish works of the kind. 
Henry Leonard's sons Samuel, Nathaniel and 
Thomas contracted to carry on the works at 
Eowley village after their father had left, but 
undoubtedly soon followed him to New Jersey, 
where numerous and highly respected descend- 
ants have lived to within recent years, and 
where generation after generation of this branch 
of the family it is believed to at least within 
recent years have been more or less interested 
in their favorite pursuit — the manufacture of 
iron. The Leonards were probably in most 
if not all of the iron works established in this 
country within the first century after its set- 
tlement, and it is a remarkable fact that the 
business of iron manufacturing has continued 
successively, and generally very successfully, in 
the hands of the Leonards, or their descendants, 
down to within comparatively recent years. 
Their old forge at Eaynham, though it had been 
several times remodeled, had been in constant 
use for upward of two hundred years ; and 
some fifty years ago was in the hands of Theo- 
dore Dean, Esq., who was descended from the 



Leonards through his father, Eliab B. Dean, 
Esq., and his grandfather, Hon. Josiah Dean, a 
member of Congress, 1807-1809, who was a son 
of Josiah Dean and he of Thomas and Mary 
(Kingsley) Dean, whose mother was Abigail 
Leonard. 

The very extensive iron works at Squabetty, 
on Taunton river, which at one time belonged 
to H. Leonard & Co., and were later incorpo- 
rated as the Old Colony Iron Company, were 
fifty years ago carried on by Messrs. William 
A., Samuel L. and George A. Crocker, Esqs., 
who were descendants of James Leonard 
through their father, William Crocker, Esq., 
by the marriage of their grandfather, Josiah 
Crocker, son of Eev. Josiah Crocker, to Abi- 
gail, daughter of Zephaniah Leonard, Esq., who 
was a son of Stephen. 

It has been said that the Leonards are of 
the family of Lennard, Lord Dacre; one of 
the most distinguished families of the nobility 
in the United Kingdom, and descended in two 
lines from Edward III., through two of his 
sons, John of Gaunt, Duke of Lancaster, and 
Thomas Plantagenet, Duke of Gloucester; and 
this statement, says William Eeed Deane, who 
prepared the memoir of the Leonard family 
(in 1851) from which much of this is taken, 
has some plausibility, he setting forth facts 
upon which he bases his conclusions. 

James Leonard, son of Thomas of Pontypool, 
Wales, was the progenitor of the Leonards of 
Taunton, Eaynham and Norton, towns in Bris- 
tol county, this Commonwealth. He and his 
sons often traded with the Indians, and were 
on such terms of friendship with them that 
when the war broke out King Philip gave 
strict orders to his men never to hurt the 
Leonards. Philip resided in winter at Mount 
Hope; but his summer residence was at Eayn- 
ham, about one mile from the forge. 

The old Leonard house, which stood but a 
few rods from the forge, was pulled down some 
fifty and more years ago. A part of this 
house was built probably as early as 1670, 
although the vane upon it had stenciled or cut 
into it the year 1700. It had been occupied 
by the family down to the seventh generation. 
At the time the old house was demolished it 
was probably the oldest mansion in New Eng- 
land, if not in the country. It was apparently 
modeled after an English fashion of the 
eighteenth century, with some modifications 
proper for defense against the Indians. This 
house in its first rude form was with another 
kept constantly garrisoned during Philip's war. 
"In the cellar under this house was deposited 
for a considerable time the head of King Philip, 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



589 



for it seems that even King Philip himself 
shared the fate of kings; he was decapitated 
and his head carried about and shown as a 
curiosity by one Alderman, the Indian who 
shot him." From this estate, it is stated in 
the biography of Mrs. Peddy (Leonard) Bow- 
en, was taken the timber that went into the 
keel of the "Constitution." 

(I) James Leonard, the immigrant settler at 
Taunton, was dead in 1691; his wife Margaret, 
who survived him, was mother-in-law to all 
his children. She died about 1701. His chil- 
dren were : Thomas, born Aug. 3, 1641 ; James, 
born about 1643; Abigail; Rebecca; Joseph, 
born about 1655; Benjamin; Hannah; and 
Uriah. 

(II) Benjamin Leonard, son of James, mar- 
ried Jan. 15, 1678-79, Sarah Thresher, and 
their children were: Sarah, born May 21, 1680; 
Benjamin, born Jan. 25, 1682; Hannah, born 
Nov. 8, 1685; Jerusha, born June 25, 1689; 
Hannah (2), born Dec. 8, 1691; Joseph, born 
Jan. 22, 1692-93; and Henry, born Nov. 8, 
1695. 

(III) Joseph Leonard, son of Benjamin, 
born Jan. 22, 1692-93, had children: George, 
who lived in Middleboro, Mass.; Chloe; 
Ephraim, and Philip. Of these, Chloe married 
Eliphalet Elmes, of Middleboro, a soldier of 
the Revolution who died in 1830, aged seventy- 
seven years; she died in 1843, aged eighty- 
three. Ephraim married Mary Pratt, and lived 
in Middleboro ; his children were : James (of 
Middleboro), Jane (wife of L. 0. Perkins, of 
Boston), Sarah (wife of Orlando Thompson, 
of New Bedford) and Betsey (wife of J. Drake, 
of Boston). 

(IV) Capt. Philip Leonard, son of Joseph, 
married Jan. 6, 1737, Mary Richmond, 
daughter of Josiah Richmond. Captain Leon- 
ard had his forge at what is now called the 
tack factory on the railroad between Middle- 
boro and Taunton. 

(V) George Leonard, son of Capt. Philip, 
born in Middleboro, always lived in his native 
town. He had his bloomery on the Nemasket 
river at Pour Corners. He married Mary Al- 
len, born Sept. 21, 1760, and their children 
were : George ; Samuel ; Nehemiah ; Lois, mar- 
ried to Rev. Lewis Leonard, of Cazenovia, N. 
Y. ; and Emeline, married to Thomas Daggett, 
Esq., of Middleboro. Nehemiah had been in 
business at Middleboro, and then he bought the 
forge at Randy's Mills in Rochester, and he 
and his brother George carried it on in partner- 
ship some four or five years, when George 
bought his interest and continued the 'business 
alone the rest of his life. Nehemiah located 



in New Bedford in 1822, beginning business 
on Orange street. He prospered and in five or 
six years was a director in the Merchants' Bank, 
and agent for several whale ships. He drifted 
into the manufacture of oil, and in 1836 built 
candle works on Rotch's South (familiarly 
known as Leonard's) Wharf, carrying on this 
business for thirty years. He died Oct. 25, 
1869. 

(VI) Samuel Leonard, son of George, was 
born in Middleboro. In 1814 he married Han- 
nah Taber, born in New Bedford, daughter 
of Benjamin Taber, and their children were: 
Henry Taber; Bathsheba, who married Na- 
thaniel Gilbert, of Bridgewater; Samuel, Jr., 
who married Sarah Tobey, daughter of George 
and Keziah (Sherman) Tobey; Capt. John W., 
who married Sylvia Tucker; George, who mar- 
ried Cynthia Washburn; Thomas W., who 
married Sarah Schenck; and Mary A., who 
married Peleg Akin, a bank president of South 
Yarmouth. Shortly after his marriage Sam- 
uel Leonard and his father-in-law contracted 
to build a mill building at the Head-of-the- 
River. Through thii came acquaintance with 
William Rotch, Jr.- For a short time Mr. 
Leonard was at Yai louth erecting salt works, 
and starting the business, and after his return 
to New Bedford he built extensive salt works 
at the Cove for Messrs. Rotch, Arnold and 
Russell, these works eventually covering many 
acres, and he operated the works as long as 
they were profitable. He erected the house 
now occupied by the Orphans' Home, at the 
corner of Brock avenue and Cove street. 
Through purchasing the lumber for his ex- 
tensive building operations he became inter- 
ested in the lumber business, and Mr. Rotch 
built what is known as Leonard's wharf for the 
business which so rapidly grew. Mr. Leonard 
added a planing-mill and other works. He then 
began the manufacture of sperm candles, and 
after a fire had destroyed all his and his 
brother's works, built the candle works of Wil- 
liam Russell (now the carriage factory of the 
George L. Brovraell estate). He was the largest 
oil refiner in the world, and was the first to 
make the colored wax candles used all over 
the world. He was a very important factor 
in the commercial life of New Bedford. At 
the time of the building of the New Bedford 
and Taunton railroad, it was said that his 
freighting was one and one-half times greater 
than all other freights from New Bedford com- 
bined. He died Oct. 25, 1868, and his widow 
Oct. 14, 1875. 

(VII) Hemut Taber Leonard (son of 
Samnel), for seventeen years, fifteen days the 



590 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



faithful and efficient clerk of the city of New 
Bedford, was born Aug. 17, 1818, in South Yar- 
mouth. In the public schools of his dative town 
and in the Friends' Boarding School at Provi- 
dence his education was acquired. He became 
a clerk in Seth Akin's store, first, but subse- 
quently was associated with his father. Later 
he went to New York, and became a partner 
in the firm of Wetherell, Sprague & Co., oil 
and iron merchants who were connected with 
Samuel. Leonard and Lazell, Perkins & Co., of 
New Bedford. Mr. Leonard finally withdrew 
from this concern, and returning to New Bed- 
ford engaged in the lumber business with 
Augustus A. Greene, under the firm name of 
Leonard & Greene. He made a number of 
business changes, being several times in the 
oil business with his father and brother Samuel, 
either as partner or bookkeeper, engaging in 
the manufacture of cotton with his father at 
Suncook, N. H. He joined the fortune hunt- 
ers in the rush to California in 1849, and on his 
return east conducted a lumber yard in Charles- 
town, Mass., afterward reengaging in the oil 
business at New Bedforc^, as the head of the 
firm of Leonard, Sturtey'nt & Co. Upon the 
dissolution of this partn\.'-ship he returned to 
the oflice of his father. On the death of Sau- 
ford S. Horton, in 1862, he was elected clerk 
for the city of New Bedford, which office he 
filled until his death, July 18, 1879. His in- 
telligence, unblemished character, faithfulness 
to duty, geniality and quiet manliness secured 
for him universal esteem and continued re- 
election as city clerk during violent political 
changes, he never having any opposition. He 
also served one year as a member of the school 
committee. 

Mr. Leonard was a member of the Society of 
Friends, a man of unswerving religious con- 
viction and strict conscientiousness, and was 
without an enemy. In 1841 he married De- 
borah Allen Butler, daughter of Daniel But- 
ler, of New Bedford. She died Dec. 16, 1901. 
Their children were: Robert Taber, Daniel 
Butler, Gertrude Hoyer, Henry Allen, Mary 
L., Roland Allen, Milton H. and Mary Butler- 

(VIII) Daniel Butler Leonard, son of 
Henry T., born in New Bedford April 6, 1844, 
was educated in the public schools of his na- 
tive town and in the private school conducted 
by Prof. John Boadle, an Englishman. Under 
the latter gentleman he also received private 
instruction in contemplation of a college course, 
but instead of entering college went in 1860 
to New York City as bookkeeper for his uncle, 
Thomas W. Leonard. After a short time he 
was made a partner in the business, which asso- 



ciation continued for about four years. He 
then returned to New Bedford and became an 
employee in the city treasurer's office for a 
year. He then received a commission as assist- 
ant assessor of internal revenue under Charles 
G. Davis, assessor-at-large for the district, for 
a term of three years. Upon the consolida- 
tion of the district he retired from the posi- 
tion. He was next commissioned by the county 
commissioners to copy the old town proprietary 
records, which he finished, and they are now on 
file in the office of the register of deeds for 
the New Bedford district. For the next nine 
or ten years he was employed by the A. & W. 
Sprague Manufacturing Company, of Provi- 
dence, R. I., continuing with the trustee, Zach- 
ariah Chaffee, after the Sprague failure. He be- 
gan with the Spragues as clerk and finally be- 
came buying agent for the company. Upon the 
expiration of this service he entered the employ 
of the Silver Spring Bleaching and Dyeing 
Company of Providence, ex-Gov. Henry Lippett 
being treasurer, and remained there until the 
year of his father's death, when he returned to 
New Bedford. He was first appointed city 
clerk under the administration of Mayor Wil- 
liam T. Soule May 8, 1879, and elected the 
following October. He was reelected annually 
from April, 1880, to April, 1902, when he was 
elected for a term of three years, and was re- 
elected in 1905 and 1908, making a term of 
thirty-one years, or forty-eight years that this 
office was filled by father and son. Mr. Leon- 
ard was the best known of any of the city 
officials, because of his long contimious service, 
and he was one of the best informed men in 
the State on municipal laws, his opinion be- 
ing frequently sought in complicated matters 
of a legal nature. Hi§ death occurred March 
13, 1911, in his sixty-seventh year. Mr. Leon- 
ard never took an active part in public rnat- 
ters. He was a Republican in political be- 
lief. 

Fraternally Mr. Leonard belonged to R. A. 
Pierce Post, No. 190, G. A. R., of New Bed- 
ford, having enlisted during the Civil war in 
Company E, 3d Massachusetts Regiment; he 
was at once transferred to the commissary de- 
partment of the State. He was a member of 
the Knights of Pythias; of Acushnet Lodge, 
I. 0. 0. F., of New Bedford, in which he was 
the fourth oldest member ; of Star in the East 
Lodge, A. F. & A. M. ; of Adoniram Chapter, 
R. A. M. ; of New Bedford Council, R. & S. M. ; 
and of Sutton Commandery, No. 16, K. T. 

Mr. Leonard married July 28, 1869, Char- 
lotte E; Howard. They had no children. 

(VIII) Dr. Milton Hall Leonard, son of 



^*i 



%*^ 






iff'-TA^^ 



SOUTHEASTEEN MASSACHUSETTS 



591 



Henry T., born in New Bedford April 17, 1857, 
was educated in the public schools of that town 
and was prepared for college under Betsy B. 
Winslow. He entered the medical department 
of the University of the City of New York 
in 1876, and graduated therefrom in 1879. He 
began the practice of his profession in New Bed- 
ford in March, 1879, and has been thus en- 
gaged for more than thirty years. His practice 
extends to the neighboring cities of Providence, 
R. I., Fall River, etc. He has made a specialty 
of obstetrics. For three or four years he was 
physician to the town of Dartmouth, and for 
sixteen years was county physician. Profes- 
sionally he is a member of the American Medi- 
cal Association; the Massachusetts Medical So- 
ciety; Boston Medical Library Association; 
New Bedford Medical Society, and the Bristol 
South District Medical Society (a branch of 
the Massachusetts Medical Society), of which 
he has been president. He belongs to the 
I. 0. 0. F. In his political faith he is a Re- 
publican. 

On Sept. 13, 1882, Dr. Leonard was mar- 
ried to Sarah Parthenia GafEord, daughter of 
Joseph and Sarah Jane (Longley) Gafford, of 
Virginia. On her father's side she is related 
to the Lees of Virginia. She is a great-grtod- 
daughter of Parthenia Webster, sister to Pele- 
tiah Webster, one of Washington's financial 
advisers and a Congressman from Pennsylvania. 
Dr. and Mrs. Leonard have no children. 

WILLIAM PERRY HOOD, for more than 
half a century one of the most prominent and 
representative men of Somerset, was born in 
Providence, R. I., June 16, 1825, son of David 
B. and Mary Ann (Brown.) Hood, the latter 
a daughter of John and Sally Brown. 

Noble Hood, great-grandfather of William 
Perry, was born Aug. 16, 1748. He married 
Hannah Perry. He served as private in the 
Revolutionary army in Colonel Carpenter's 
regiment. He was the father of five cliildren, 
viz. : Lydia, born April 7, 1773, died March 26, 
1846; John, bom March 23, 1775. died Oct. 12, 
1859; William, born Sept. 17, 1776, died Dec. 
31, 1863; Martha, born in 1780, died in 1846; 
Noble, Jr., was born April 1,. 1781. 

John Hood, son of Noble, was born March 23, 
1775, and died Oct. 12, 1859. He married 
Mary Ann Bowers, who died March 28, 1847. 
They had twelve children: John, bom in 
1796, who died in 1836; William; George B., 
born Nov. 10, 1799, who died Jan. 22, 1871; 
David B., born Jan. 12, 1802, who died June 6, 
1871; Mary, bom Oct. 22, 1803, who died 
Feb. 5, 1843; Nancy, born in 1805, who died 



in 1880; Barton Quincy, born Oct. 23, 1807; 
Rachel, born Jan. 17, 1812, who died March 7, 
1887; Rebecca F., born Feb. 10, 1813, who 
died Feb. 15, 1897 (she married William G. 
Gardiner) ; James Madison, born in 1815, who 
died May 20, 1871; Sophia, born April 2, 1817, 
who died MaT^15, 1891 ; and Elouisa M., born 
Jan. 11, 182™who died March 16, 1909. 

David B. Hood, son of John Hood, was born 
Jan. 12, 1802. He married Mary Ann Brown, 
daughter of John and Sally Brown. He was 
a merchant by trade. He had four children, 
viz. : William' P. ; David B., who died in 1832, 
when about three years of age ; Alfred H., now 
living in California; and David B. (2), now 
living in Somerset. 

His father being a merchant and business 
taking him on frequent trips to the Southern 
States, young William P. Hood would be left 
in charge of the business with responsibilities 
unusual for one so young in years. A man's 
mature Judgment and thoughtfulness seem to 
have possessed the boy of fourteen to such an 
extent that the business went right along under 
his management. The one absorbing principle 
of liis life, self-reliance, was early implanted. 
Thus actuated he left home at the early age of 
fifteen to try the world for himself. He worked 
first at any kind of employment he could get 
for a number of years, and at last he took up 
fire, marine and life insurance. In this he was 
eminently successful, so much so that he con- 
tinued it as a side line to every other under- 
taking that he entered into. 

Coming to Somerset in early boyhood Mr. 
Hood showed special business capacity. He 
became a clerk, then the cpnfidential clerk and 
business manager for the late James M. Hood, 
who was a successful shipbuilder from 1850 to 
1854. To follow him through the many and 
diversified undertakings he carried through 
successfully, without a single failure, would 
take a long time. For twenty-five years he 
was a commercial traveler for the Seavey Com- 
pany, of Boston, selling all over New England, 
never stopping for hard times, but meeting 
circumstances of that nature with renewed 
energy and determination. In 1854 with others 
he organized and incorporated the Boston Stove 
Foundry Company, at Somerset, and for some 
years was its treasurer. 

But it must not be taken for granted that 
the life of a commercial traveler or successful 
stove manufacturer filled up the scope of Mr. 
Hood's operations. On the contrary he early 
invested in shipping, carried shares in a number 
of vessels, and was interested in eighteen vessels 
which have gone down at various times. He 



592 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



was interested in the merchant marine, and 
owned a large interest in the five-masted 
schooner "Gov. Ames." For many years he 
was one of the principal owners of the Somer- 
set shipyards, making his first venture in real 
estate in 1844 with a beginning of only $40 
becoming the largest individual property owner 
in the village of Somerset. He owned one of 
the best farms in the county, and in it took 
special pride. 

About the year 1892 Mr. Hood purchased 
the property of the Cooperative Foundry Com- 
pany, and with John D. Flint, Frank S. Stevens 
and others formed the Somerset Stove Foundry 
'Company, of which he was chosen the treas- 
urer and general manager, in which capacity 
he acted at the time of his death. 

In politics Mr. Hood was a stanch Repub- 
lican, and for many years he was chairman of 
the Republican town committee. For many 
years he was chairman of the board of select- 
men and assessors of the town, having as as- 
sociates most of the time William Lawton Slade 
and the venerable Capt. Alfred Pratt. In 1861 
he represented his district in the General Court. 
Though not a church member, Mr. Hood was 
alwavs closely identified with the First Baptist 
Church, and contributed liberally to its main- 
tenance. He was a social man, and one of the 
most genial to meet in business, in his home, 
or in social circles. Though often engaged 
in the heated contests of town matters he never 
bore any ill will toward anyone, and the man 
who had opposed him one day in a sharp con- 
test for town honors, or in the advocacy of 
tovra matters, found in him the following day 
a genial friend and well wisher. This trait of 
character means more in a small country town, 
where matters are drawn on sharp lines and 
political grudges not always forgotten, than it 
does in a city. In his home he was pleasant, 
social and hospitable. His life was upright and 
moral in every respect, temperate, just and 
honest. Cordial in all his dealings, he was the 
adviser and well wisher of all who sought his 
advice on any matters. When the dark cloud 
of adversity years ago began hovering over the 
town of Somerset, he of all others tried to stay 
its progress, and freely and willingly invested 
his money in local enterprises and real estate, 
even though his better judgment assured him 
it might not be wise from a financial stand- 
point. Fraternally he was a Mason, being a 
charter member of Tioneer Lodge of Somer- 
set, and he also belonged to a Royal Arch Chap- 
ter of Fall River. 

In 1843 Mr. Hood married Sarah A. Davis, 
daughter of Deacon Nathan and Clarissa 



(Bowen) Davis. They had ten children, as fol- 
lows: 

(1) Mary E., born July 20, 1844, married 
William H. Tallman, and died June 17, 1907, 
the mother of five children, Marianna (mar- 
ried William A. Padelford), Sadie E. (mar- 
ried F. N. Reed, of North Dighton), Helen R., 
Alfred W. and Annie A. 

(2) William P., Jr., born Jan. 15, 1846, 
married Julia A. Gardner, and had two chil- 
dren, Lillie A. (married Frank B. Hood) and 
Bernice (married A. H. Plant, of Syracuse, 
N. Y.). He died Jan. 20, 1906. 

(3) Clarence T., born May 25, 1848, died 
in infancy. 

(4) Sarah F., born July 26, 1849, died 
Feb. 17, 1851. 

(5) Sarah F. (2), born May 3, 1851, mar- 
ried William 0. Sweet, of Attleboro, Mass., 
Oct. 3, 1869. They had four children, as fol- 
lows: Florence Eliza, born Aug. 3, 1870, died 
Feb. 20, 1879; Frank Royden, born Oct. 3, 
1880, is to-day one of the most successful manu- 
facturers in Attleboro (he married Harriet 
Pitman, of Mansfield) ; William Raymond, born 
Feb. 5, 1886, is a machinist engaged in manu- 
facturing tools for making jewelry; Howard 
Leslie, born Jan. 27, 1892, works in Attleboro 
in the factory of his brother Frank. 

(6) Annie A., born March 8, 1853, died 
Aug. 11, 1898. She was married to Henry B. 
Leonard, treasurer of the Mount Hope Iron 
Company, March 9, 1875, and died Feb. 26, 
1904. They had five children, as follows: 
Ralph Emerson, born Dec. 9, 1875, died Aug. 
8, 1894; Ethel Bernice, born Dec. 10, 1877, 
married June 15, 1898, Raymond S. Case; 
Gertrude Field was born July 12, 1880; May 
Adelaide, born May 1, 1883, married George 
Chapman, of Boston ; Russell Henry, born Oct. 
4, 1888, now in the employ of the United States 
Government with reference to tariff matters, 
married Sept. 19, 1911, Helen Case, of Spring- 
field, Massachusetts. 

(7) Alfred H. was born in Somerset, Mass., 
April 19, 1855. During the winters of 1870-71 
and 1873 he attended commercial college in Fall 
River, and from the fall of 1874 to December, 
1875, the Peirce Academy in Middleboro. In 
1877 he graduated from Worcester Academy, 
and in 1881 from Brown University, with the 
degree of A. B. He was a classmate of Justice 
Charles E. Hughes, of the United States 
Supreme court, and was a member of the Delta 
Upsilon fraternity. In early manhood he be- 
came associarted with his father in the insur- 
ance business as William P. Hood & Son, and 
while in academy and college had full charge 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 593 

of that business and of the farm. Selecting native town. Like her father and her mother, 

the law as his profession he attended Boston her face was implacably set against every form 

University Law School graduating in 1883, of intemperance, and she did whatever she 

and since that time has practiced in Fall Eiver. could toward raising the social standards of 

On Jan. 1, 1887, he became a member of the the town. Perhaps no house in the town was 

law firm of Lincoln & Hood. more open to hospitaility and good cheer than 

Mr. Hood is president of the Somerset Stove hers, and at the farm which was her home 

Foundry Company, and director and attorney for more than fifty years probably more husking 

for the Fall River Cooperative Bank. bees and other forms of sociability on a large 

In politics Mr. Hood is a Republican. His scale took place than elsewhere in the county, 

fraternal connection is with Pioneer Lodge of No one seeking aid in a good cause, or for 

Somerset and Royal Arch Masons of Fall charity's sake, was ever turned away from her 

River. He is interested in the moral welfare home empty-handed. Mrs. Hood provided in 

of the town, and has been an active worker in her will that a public library to be known as 

the Y. M. C. A. of Fall River. Spring Hill the Hood Library, in memory of her husband, 

Farm in Somerset, where Mr. Hood now re- William P. Hood, should be erected in Somer- 

sides, which was the homestead of his parents, set, and this library was dedicated Oct. 1, 1910. 
is one of the finest farms in Bristol county. 

On April 14, 1885, at Somerset, Mass., Mr. WASHBURN (Taunton family). For, per- 

Hood married Carrie W. Ridlon, daughter of haps, nearly a century there have lived several 

Almond S. and Carrie C. (Gardner) Ridlon. generations of the Washburn family at Taun- 

They have had four children, viz. : Ruth, born ton, descendants of a progenitor many of whose 

July 4, 1888, who died July 7, 1888; Preston posterity have filled high and honorable po- 

Hart, born Aug. 9, 1889, who is a student at sitions in society, in civil and military affairs, 

Brown University; Mildred Davis, born Oct. in New England and elsewhere; not excepting 

29, 1891; and Harold Gardiner, born June 5, the Taunton branch, a member of that family 

1897. having since the outbreak of the Civil war been 

(8) Lydia F., bom May 24, 1856, was mar- one of the leading citizens of his community, 
ried Nov. 24, 1881, to Edward J. Holland, and rising to commendable rank in the service of 
had one child, Clifford Milburn, born March his country and to high position in civil affairs, 
13, 1883. He is a graduate of Harvard Col- in which a continued public service in one de- 
lege and now in the employ of the Pennsylvania partment of approximately thirty years estab- 
Railroad Company as civil engineer in bridge lished for him a record and reputation which 
and tunnel work, in New York City. made his election as president of one of the 

(9) Nellie R., born Aug. 21, 1860, died Taunton banking institutions desirable. Refer- 
March 18, 1879. ence is made to Capt. George Albert Washburn, 

(10) Thomas H., born Oct. 18, 1866, died who for a decade was the chief executive officer 
March 11, 1883. of the Taunton National Bank; and two of 

Mr. William P. Hood died in Somerset Nov. whose sons are now well established in pro- 

4, 1899. In his will he gave $500 to the town fessional life in their native city — Dr. Elliott 

of Somerset, and this with other funds fur- Washburn and Charles Godfrey Washburn, 

nished by his widow erected the public drink- members respectively of the medical and legal 

ing fountain in Somerset. He also gave $1,000 professions: and to Eli King Washburn, a 

to the First Baptist Church. sturdy Abolitionist and temperance worker, and 

Mrs. Sarah A. (Davis) Hood, wife of Wil- his son, Thomas J. Washburn, who as a "forty- 

liam P. Hood, was born in Somerset, Mass., niner" sought his fortune for some years in Cal- 

Dec. 7, 1826, and died at her home there Nov. ifornia. 

3, 1905. She was a daughter of Deacon Nathan This Taunton Washburn family descends 

Davis and a descendant of one of the oldest and from (1) John Washburn, who according to 

best known families of the town. Like her tradition was the secretary of the Massachusetts 

husband she was interested in everything that Company, or, as it is put by another, the first 

affected the community. She was a member secretary of the council of Plymouth in Eng- 

of the First Baptist Church, of which her fa- land, in which position he was succeeded by 

ther, Nathan Davis, was for many years a William Burgess in 1628. Mr._ Washburn is 

deacon and prominent supporter. From early of record at Duxbury in 1632, in which year 

childhood up to within a few years of her he was taxed. He bought property there in 

death, Mrs. Hood had been actively interested 1634-35. He was made a freeman June 2, 

in all the various phases of social' life in her 1646. He is said to have been in the military 

38 



594 



SOUTHEASTERN" MASSACHUSETTS 



company commanded by Capt. Myles Standish. 
In about 1665 he removed to Bridgewater, of 
which town he and his son John were orig- 
inal proprietors, and they and Philip became 
residents and settlers in South Bridgewater. 
His wife Margery, aged forty-nine years, with 
sons John, aged fourteen years, Philip, aged 
eleven years, came to New England in 1635 in 
the "Elizabeth and Ann," being certified from 
Eversham, Worcestershire, England. The chil- 
dren of John and Margery Washburn were : 
John (2), born in Eversham, England, about 
1621 ; and Philip, bom in Eversham, about 
162-1, who died unmarried. 

This John Washburn (2) is the "ancestor 
of most if not all of the name in the United 
States." From John, through his son Samuel, 
came Israel, late governor of Maine; Cadwala- 
der C, who in the early seventies was gov- 
ernor of Wisconsin; Elihu B., at one time 
minister to France; and Charles A., a former 
minister to Paraguay — all brothers and sLxth 
in descent from John Washburn. And from 
John through his son Joseph came Emory 
Washburn, former governor of Massachusetts, 
fifth in descent from John; William B. Wash- 
burn, also former governor of Massachusetts, 
sixth in descent from John, and the late 
Peter Thacher Washburn, former governor 
of Vermont, sixth in descent from John. 
The latter, Hon. Peter Thacher Washburn, 
says his biographer, "became one of the most 
marked characters that have figured in the 
politics of Vermont." Liberally educated, a 
graduate of Dartmouth with the class of 1835, 
he became a lawyer of ability; was from 1844 
to 1855 reporter of decisions of the Supreme 
court of Vermont; served as lieutenant colonel 
on the 1st Vermont Volunteers in the early 
part of the Civil war, and was elected governor 
of Vermont in September, 1871. 

Israel Washburn, of Raynham, was a mem- 
ber of the convention which framed the con- 
stitution of Massachusetts in 1780. [See be- 
low.] 

(II) John Washburn (2), son of John and 
Margery, was born in Eversham, England, 
about 1621. He came to Duxbury with his 
mother and brother Philip (aged eleven) in 
1635. He is mentioned in the Plymouth rec- 
ords in December, 1638. He served as agent 
for the Narragansett Indians in 1645. On Dec. 
6, 1645, in Duxbury, he married Elizabeth 
Mitchell, daughter of Experience Mitchell, one 
of the forefathers of the Colony, who was with 
the Pilgrims at Leyden, and who came to Ply- 
mouth on the third ship, the "Anne," in 1623. 
Experience Mitchell married Jane Cooke, 



daughter of Francis Cooke, the "Mayflower" 
Pilgrim. To John and Elizabeth Washburn 
were born children as follows : John mar- 
ried Rebeckah Lapham; Thomas married 
(first) Abigail Leonard and (second) Deliver- 
ance Packard; Joseph married Hannah La- 
tham; Samuel, born in 1651, married Deborah 
Packard; Jonathan married Mary Vaughn, of 
Middleboro, Mass. ; Benjamin died in Phipps's 
expedition against Canada ; Mary married Sam- 
uel Kinsley in 1694; Elizabeth married (first) 
James Howard and (second) Edward Sealey; 
Jane married William Orcutt, Jr. ; James mar- 
ried Mary Bowden in 1693 ; and Sarah married 
John Ames in 1697. John Washburn (2), the 
father, died at Bridgewater before 1690. 

(III) Jonathan Wa.shburn, son of John (2) 
and Elizabeth (Mitchell), married about 1683 
Mary, daughter of George Vaughn, of Middle- 
boro, and their children were : Elizabeth, born 
1684, who marfied John Benson in 1710; 
Josiah, born 1686 ; Benjamin, bom 1688 ; Eb- 
enezer, born 1690; Martha, born 1692; Joanna, 
born 1693; Nathan, born 1699; Jonathan, born 
1700; and Cornelius, born 1702. 

(IV) Benjamin Washburn, son of Jonathan 
and Mary, born in 1688, married in 1714 Be- 
thiah, daughter of Henry Kingman. He set- 
tled his father Jonathan's estate in 1725, and 
his brother Ebenezer's in 1728. His children 
were: Isaac, Jonathan, Henry, Benjamin 
(married in 1742 Susanna Battles), Ezra, and 
perhaps others. Isaac Washburn went to Dart- 
mouth, where he was a tanner. He enlisted in 
the French war under General Winslow in 
1755. Bethiah Washburn married Nehemiah 
Bryant in 1741. 

(V) Jonathan Washburn, son of Benjamin 
and Bethiah (Kingman), married Judith, 
daughter of Elnathan Wood, of Middleboro, 
Mass. Their children were : Jonathan, Ben- 
jamin, Isaac, Salmon, and perhaps others. 

(VI) Isaac Washburn, son of Jonathan and 
Judith (Wood), came from Middleboro to 
Taunton in the earlier part of the century but 
recently closed, and through life was one of 
the highly esteemed and respected citizens of 
his adopted town. He had been a soldier of the 
Revolution — one of the "minute-men" of 1776. 
He founded at Taunton the business — that of 
furniture, hardware and house-furnishings in 
general — now conducted by his grandsons, and 
with which he and his sons, John Nicholas and 
Salmon Washburn, in turn, for years were 
identified. Isaac Washburn died in 1832. He 
had been three times married, and was the 
father of eighteen children. He married (first) 
Mary Phillips, (second) Eunice Carey, of Mid- 



SOUTHEASTEEN MASSACHUSETTS 



595 



dleboro, Mass., and (third) Elizabeth, born Feb. 
16, 1770, daughter of Hon. William Eichmond, 
of Providence, E. I., and his wife Lois (Gray) 
Eichmond, he a direct descendant of John Eich- 
mond, an early settler of Taunton, from whom 
his lineage was through Edward, Silvester, Wil- 
liam and Barzillai Eichmond. We have the 
names of seventeen of his children: Nancy; 
William; Henry; Mary (all born to the first 
wife); Eunice Carey; Mary (3); Isaac; Eli- 
phalet (all born to the second wife) ; George, 
bom April 6, 1799; Elizabeth, born Dec. 17, 
1800; Louisa, born Oct. 5, 1802; Albert Gray, 
born April 14, 1804; Fanny, born Dec. 16, 
1805; Charles Eichmond, born Nov. 21, 1807; 
John Nicholas, born Oct. 3, 1809 ; Salmon, 
born April 7, 1812; and Elizabeth N., bom 
Dec. 14, 1814. 

(VII) George Washburn, son of Isaac and 
Elizabeth (Eichmond), born April 6, 1799, 
married June 5, 1835, Diana Northam Mason, 
of Swansea, Mass., a direct descendant of Samp- 
son Mason, who was a soldier in Cromwell's 
army and who on the ascent of Charles II. to 
the throne of England came to America, and as 
early as 1649 is of record in New England. He 
settled in Eehoboth, Mass., not far from 1657, 
and became the progenitor of a numerous pos- 
terity. He married Mary Butterworth, prob- 
ably daughter of John Butterworth, of Wey- 
mouth, and sister of John Butterworth, of 
Swansea, Mass. For upward of one hundred 
years the descendants of Mr. Mason were known 
as Mason elders, during, which period they 
served continually in the pastorate of the first 
Baptist Church in Massachusetts. The only 
child of George and Diana Northam (Mason) 
Washburn was George Albert, born Feb. 5, 
1836. 

(VIII) George Albert Washburn, son of 
George and Diana Northam (Mason), was born 
Feb. 5, 1836, in Swansea, Mass. He came 
with his parents to Taunton, where he resided 
for the remainder of his life, and where he ac- 
quired a good public and private school educa- 
tion. At the age of sixteen years be became a 
clerk in the hardware, iron and steel store of 
Mr. Albert G. Washburn, afterward entering 
the employ of Wood & Washburn, who were en- 
gaged in the same business. In 1857 he was ad- 
mitted as a partner in the firm, which was 
known as Hunt, Harris & Co. He gained a 
valuable experience in these capacities, and laid 
the foundation for a successful and substantial 
career. His mercantile life, however, ended 
on the breaking out of the Civil war, which at 
once aroused his patriotism and caused him 
promptly to offer his services to the Union. 



On April 16, 1861, young Washbum left 
his business and responded to the first call for 
troops, enlisting in Company C, 4th Mass. V. 
I., which arrived at Fortress Monroe April 
20th. This was the first company to leave 
Taunton, and also the first company of the first 
regiment to leave Massachusetts for the front. 
By a singular coincidence his grandfather, Isaac 
Washbum, a "minute-man," was in the first 
company to leave Taunton in the Eevolutionary 
war, departing April 20, 1775, just eighty-six 
years before. Mr. Washburn went out as a ser- 
geant, served three months, or until the expira- 
tion of his term of enlistment, and immediately 
reentered the service as a first lieutenant in the 
22d Mass. V. I., for three years. Col. Henry 
Wilson commanding, attached to the 1st Di- 
vision, 1st Brigade, 5th Army Corps, Army oi 
the Potomac. He was wounded at the battle 
of Gaines' Mill, Va., June 27, 1862, and taken 
prisoner, and for some time suffered the terrible 
confinement of Libby prison. He was promoted 
to captain to date from July 11, 1862, and was 
mustered out of service to date from Jan. 5, 
1863. 

Captain Washburn received official notice of 
honorable discharge March 8, 1863, and the next 
day was elected treasurer and collector of taxes 
of Taunton, which office he filled with great 
credit and satisfaction for twenty-nine consecu- 
tive years, resigning Dec. 24, 1891, at which 
time he was elected president of the Taunton 
National Bank. He was also clerk of the over- 
seers of the poor from 1865 to 1882, inclusive, 
a member of that body from 1883 to March, 

1891, clerk of the board of assessors from 1869 
to 1875, and member of the city council in 

1892, 1893, 1894, 1895, 1896, 1897, 1898, 1899 
and 1900. He was secretary and treasurer of 
the board of Sinking Fund Commissioners of 
Taunton from 1878 to 1892, and secretary from 
1892 to 1898, and in January, 1898, was elected 
its chairman. He was also a trustee of the Mor- 
ton hospital and of the Taunton Savings Bank, 
a member of the investment committee of the 
last named institution, and a director of the 
Taimton Street Eailway Company. Mr. Wash- 
burn was an able business man, a public-spirited, 
progressive citizen, and a worthy representa- 
tive of one of Taunton's oldest and most re- 
spected families. His long and valuable serv- 
ice as treasurer and tax collector established 
his reputation for industry, honesty and faith- 
fulness, and won for htm a large circle of 
friends. In every capacity he efficiently and 
satisfactorily discharged his duties, and en- 
joyed the confidence of the entire community. 

Mr. Washburn married (first) Elizabeth 



596 



SOUTHEASTEEN MASSACHUSETTS 



Gordon Pratt, daughter of Nathan and Lydia 
Pratt, and (second) Ellen Button Keed, 
daughter of Edgar Hodges and Ellen Augusta 
Reed, all of Taunton, Mass. His four children 
— one born to the first marriage and three to 
the second — are: Harriet Mason, wife of 
Charles A. Austin, of Brockton; Edgar Reed; 
Elliott; and Charles Godfrey. 

(IX) Elliott Washburn, M. D., son of 
George Albert and Ellen D. (Reed), was born 
Feb. 9, 1870, in Taunton, Mass.,, and acquired 
his early education in the public schools of 
that city, graduating in 1887. Entering Har- 
vard Medical School the same year, he was 
graduated therefrom in 1892, the last two years 
of that period being given to study and practice 
in the Boston City hospital. Since then he 
has been engaged in the general practice of 
medicine at Taunton. In July, 1896, Dr. 
Washburn was elected chairman of the Taun- 
ton board of health, and was continued in that 
position until 1907, when he resigned. Dr. 
Washburn, in July, 1907, was appointed State 
inspector of health for the Fourth district of 
Massachusetts for a term of five years. He has 
been president of the Bristol North District 
Medical Society, a branch of the Massachusetts 
State Medical Society. He has also been a 
member of the staff of Morton hospital since 
1892. He has been a success in his profes- 
sional work, and ranks among the best of the 
younger physicians in Taunton. He is a mem- 
ber of Ionic Lodge, A. F. & A. M. In religious 
belief he is a Unitarian. 

On Nov. 18, 1896, Dr. Washburn married 
Mary Louise Hayden, of Holbrook, Mass. They 
have no children. 

(IX) Chaeles Godfrey Washburn, son of 
George Albert and Ellen D. (Reed) Washburn, 
was born Sept. 15, 1871, in Taunton, Mass. He 
received his early education in the public 
schools of his native city. Having decided to 
follow the legal profession for a life work he 
was prepared for it under the direction of Hon. 
E. H. Bennett and Frederick S. Hall, and at the 
Boston University Law School, being gradu- 
ated therefrom in 1896. After his admission 
to the bar he entered upon the practice of law 
in his native city. He married Helen Clark 
Shalling, daughter of Frederick Girard and 
Lilla A. (Clark) Shalling, of Taunton. They 
have one daughter, Carolyn, born Dec. 28, 
1906. 



(Ill) Samuel Washburn, son of John (3) 
and Elizabeth (Mitchell), was called Sergeant 
Washburn. He was born at Duxbury, Mass., in 



1651. He married Deborah Packard. Her 
father, Samuel Packard, came from Windham, 
near Hingham, England, on the ship "Delight" 
of Ipswich, and settled at Hingham, Mass., in 
1638, and later he lived at Bridgewater. The 
children of Samuel and Deborah Washburn 
were: Samuel, born 1678, married Abigail; 
Noah, born 1682, married in 1710 Elizabeth 
Shaw; Israel, bom 1684, married in 1708 
Waitstill Sumner; Nehemiah, born 1686, mar- 
ried in 1713 Jane Howard; Benjamin married 
Joanna (or Susanna) Orcutt; and Hannah 
married in 1711 John Keith. Samuel Wash- 
burn died at Bridgewater, Mass., in 1720. He 
was the ancestor of the Maine family of Wash- 
burns. 

(IV) Israel Washburn, son of Sergt. Samuel 
and Deborah (Packard), was born at Bridge- 
water, M^ss., in 1684. In 1708 he married 
Waitstill Sumner, and their children, all born 
in Bridgewater, were: Sarah, born 1709, who 
married in 1732 Ephraim Keith; Deborah, born 
1712, who married (first) John Ripley and 
(second) Nathaniel Bottom (or Bolton) ; Seth, 
bom in 1714; and Israel, bom Aug. 11, 1718. 
Israel Washburn died at Bridgewater in 1719. 
He was the last of this line of Washburns who 
lived at that place. His son Israel settled in 
Raynham, and his descendants continue to live 
there. The widow of Israel Washburn married 
Ebenezer Pratt in 1720. 

(V) Israel Washburn, son of Israel and 
Waitstill (Sumner), was born at Bridgewater 
Aug. 11, 1718. In 1740 he married Leah 
Fobes, who was born at Bridgewater March 
27, 1720, daughter of Joshua and Abigail 
(Dunbar) Fobes. Israel Washburn settled in 
Raynham, Mass., shortly after his marriage, and 
all his children were born there. He died at 
Raynham Jan. 21, 1796. His wife Leah died 
there Dec. 9, 1789, and he married (second) 
Hannah Keith, of Bridgewater, who died in 
the same year as himself. Of his children the 
first three died young; Leah married in 1770 
Jason Fobes; Israel, born 1755, married in 1783 
Abiah King, of Raynham ; Nehemiah married 
Polly Preshno, had ten children and lived and 
died in Raynham; Seth was a physician at 
Raynham ; Oliver married Sally Lascom, had 
five children and lived and died in Raynham; 
Olive married Reuben Andrews, of Raynham ; 
and Prudence married a Mr. Keith. Israel 
Washburn was elected March 4, 1776, a member 
of the committee of correspondence, inspection 
and safety for the town of Raynham. He was 
also captain of the military company — the 
trained band — of Raynham, Nov. 9, 1774, the 
company being one of the companies of the 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



597 



Sd Regiment of Bristol county. He also served 
a short time in the Revolutionary army. 

(VI) Israel Washburn, son of Israel and 
Leah (Fobes), was born in Raynham, Mass., 
Jan. 30, 1755. He died at Raynham Jan. 8, 
1841, aged a few days less than eighty-six years. 
He was a soldier in the war of the Revolution, 
and the following is an official abstract of a 
part of his service : "Commonwealth of Massa- 
chusetts, Office of the Secretary: Revolution- 
ary War Service of Israel Washburn, Jr. : 
Israel Washburn, Jr., appears with rank of 
private on Lexington Alarm roll of James Wil- 
liams, Jr.'s Company, which marched on the 
alarm of April 19, 1775, from Taunton to 
Roxbury." Israel Washburn was a tall, large- 
framed man, and when in the prime of life 
was very straight and strong, but much bowed 
in old age. He served in the General Court 
of Massachusetts several years, and was a mem- 
ber of the convention that adopted the first 
constitution of the Commonwealth. He talked 
but little and it is said that in all his legis- 
lative experience he made but one speech. On 
one occasion, a member having made a speech 
that greatly pleased him, he arose and said : 
"I like what that man said, because — I do like 
it." Israel Washburn married in 1783 Abiah 
King, daughter of Benjamin and Deliverance 
(Eddy) King. She was born in Raynham 
June 29, 1762, and died May 25, 1842. Their 
children, all born in Raynham, were: Israel, 
bom Nov. 18, 1784; Molly, Nov. 14, 1786; 
Sidney, Nov. 14, 1788; Benjamin, Feb. 10, 
1791; Reuel, May 21, 1793; Elihu, July 22, 
1795; Philander, June 28, 1799; Eli King, 
July 22, 1802; Lydia King, Feb. 24, 1805; and 
Cornelia, Jan. 7, 1807. 

(VII) Eli King Washburn, son of Israel and 
Abiah (King), was born at Raynham July 32, 
1802. He spent his life on the old Washburn 
homestead at Raynham. He represented bis 
town in the Legislature of Massachusetts, and 
weHS an ardent temperance man and Abolition- 
ist. He married Dec. 25, 1825, Nancy Dean 
Norton, who was born at Mansfield, Mass., Aug. 
28, 1806. He died at Raynham July 28, 1852, 
and she died at Taunton May 26, 1873. Their 
children were: Thomas J., born Jan. 6, 1827, 
died July 8, 1870 ; Emily, born April 28, 1828, 
died Aug. 11, 1896; Nathan, born Dec. 29, 
1829, died Dec. 4. 1904; Mary, born Oct. 37, 
1832, died Nov. 4, 1855; Lucy, born Oct. 8, 
1834, died Nov. 5, 1855 ; Laura, born Aug. 28, 
1836, died May 21, 1887; Camilla, born :March 
17, 1838, died Nov. 2, 1855 ; Arthur, born April 
36, 1840, died Aug. 24, 1892; Miriam, born 
Feb. 5, 1842, died Dec. 30, 1855; Jane, born 



March 23, 1844, died Oct. 30, 1855; Juliet, 
born April 5, 1846; and Martha, born Sept. 
13, 1851, died Sept. 14, 1854. 

(VIII) Thomas J. Washburn, son of Eli 
King and Nancy Dean (Norton), was bom 
Jan. 6, 1837, and died in the old Washburn 
home at Raynham July 8, 1870. In 1849 he 
went to California and remained there until 
1863, during which time he made one trip back 
home. On Nov. 25, 1866, at Taunton, he mar- 
ried Mary Bowers Hall, born Jan. 13, 1834, 
daughter of Andrew H. and Hannah W. 
(Crane) Hall. To this union was born one 
son, Harry Thomas, Nov. 34, 1868. Mrs. Wash- 
burn and lier son reside in a modem home 
recently erected on the old Hall property on 
Dean street, Taunton. 

SANFORD WINTER, for fifty years a resi- 
dent of North Bridgewater and Brockton, ac- 
tive in business, proprietor of the "Hotel Bel- 
mont," president of the Brockton Savings Bank, 
and former selectman and councilman, died at 
his home. No. 31 Belmont street, Nov. 9, 1909, 
in the eighty-third year of his age. He was 
a native of Maine, born in Carthage, Franklin 
county, Nov. 16, 1836, son of Joseph and 
Phebe (Gray) Winter. 

The name Winter is an early one in New 
England, Christopher Winter appearing in 
Plymouth in 1639, "where he was fined ten 
shillings for publishing himself in marriage to 
Jane Cooper, contrary to order and custom of 
this government" ; whether Jane ever became 
Mrs. Winter does not seem to be recorded. Win- 
ter succeeded John Bradford in the occupancy 
of Governor's island in 1660. At a still earlier 
period, in 1636, John Winter was a proprietor 
in Watertown, and died there in 1662; in his 
will dated March 4, 1661, and proved in June, 
1662, he mentions sons Richard and Thomas, 
late of London, daughter Alice Lockman, of 
London, and son John of Watertown, to whom 
he gave his landed property. In 1683 the son 
liad land assigned him in Cambridge Farms, 
whither he went, and there died in 1690 ; in his 
will of 1689 he speaks of his children, John, 
Thomas, Samuel, Sarah, Hannah and Mary. 
Cambridge Farms, it should be understood, be- 
came Lexington. Of these two early Massa- 
chusetts Winters, Christopher and John, the 
former, so far as we have ascertained, left no 
male issue. The Winter family with which this 
article especially deals have it that their earliest 
forbear of whom there is definite knowledge, 
.Joseph Winter, was a native of Truro, in Barn- 
stable county, this Commonwealth. But the vital 
records of the town do not record his birth or 



598 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



family, uor does it appear that the family was 
early there or that it has been continuous. In 
the early part of the eighteenth century one 
Samuel Winter was the schoolmaster in Truro 
for several years, he being first employed at a 
meeting of the town held in October, 1719. The 
records of the town at that early period are only 
fragmentary and from them little is to be 
gleaned. This Joseph Winter referred to is 
credited, too, as being a fifer in the war of 
the Revolution, and as a young man with going 
to the State of Maine. "Massachusetts Soldiers 
and Sailors in the War of the Revolution" gives 
an account of the services of a Joseph Winter, 
as follows: "Return dated Newbury, Sept. 20, 
1781, signed by the selectmen of bounties paid 
said Winter and others to serve in the Conti- 
nental Army for three years, or during the war, 
agreeable to resolve of Dec. 2, 1780; said Win- 
ter reported as having been engaged for the 
war ; also return of men raised in Essex County 
for Continental service, agreeable to resolve of 
Dec. 2, 1780 ; engaged for the town of New- 
bury; engaged July 2, 1781, term three years; 
also fifer. Col. Benjamin Tupper's (10th) regi- 
ment; service from July 15, 1781, 17 months, 
17 days; reported promoted from private Dec. 
1, 1781." 

Joseph Winter, grandfather of the late San- 
ford Winter, was born in Truro, Barnstable 
county, where he was engaged in farming. He 
was a "fifer in the Revolutionary war. As a 
young man he settled in Maine, and in about 
1814 removed to Carthage, that State, where 
he continued at farming until his death, in 
about 1833-33. He married Betsey Carver, of 
early Plymouth and "Mayflower" stock, who 
died in Carthage. Their children were: Bet- 
sey, who married a Mr. Robinson; Mary (or 
Polly), who married Jeremiah Whitney; Ben- 
jamin, who married Olive Gray; Samuel Still- 
man, who settled in Ohio; Joseph, mentioned 
below; Olive, who married Joseph Whittier; 
William, who married Anne Hutchinson ; Mar- 
garet, who married William Hall ; and Han- 
nah, who married Nathan Adams. 

Joseph Winter (2), son of Joseph, was born 
at Jay, Maine, and later removed with his 
parents to Carthage, and there the remainder 
of his life was spent in farming. He died 
there of consumption June 5, 1845, aged fifty- 
one years, ten days, and his remains were later 
brought to Brockton, Mass., and interred in 
Union cemetery. He married Phebe Gray, of 
Carthage, who survived him, and married for 
her second husband Jacob Williams, of South 
Easton, Mass., where she died Oct. 25, 1853, 
aged fifty-four years. To Mr. and Mrs. Winter 



were born children as follows: Eveline, who 
married James Smith, and died in Brockton 
at the home of her daughter, Mrs. Ethan Allen ; 
Elbridge Gerry, who married Hannah Adams, 
and died in Carthage May 6, 1844; Mary 
Coolidge, who married Abijah Pratt, and both 
died in Roseville, 111.; Sanford, mentioned be- 
low; Sophronia, who died aged three years; 
Julia Ann, who died in infancy; Lorenzo Dow, 
who died in Livermore, Maine, aged sixteen 
years; Marilla Leach, who married George L. 
Whitman, of Attleboro, Mass. ; and Henry Lee, 
who was killed at the battle of the Wilderness 
in the Civil war at the age of twenty -one (un- 
married). 

Sanford Winter was born Nov. 16, 1826, and 
after the usual course of common school edu- 
cation (his father dying when he was a young 
man), the duties of the farm devolved upon 
him. He conducted the home place for about 
a year, when he sold it and removed to Jay, 
Maine, working on a farm for two years, during 
which time he attended school during the winter 
months. At the end of that time, in 1850, 
he went to North Easton, Mass., and entered 
into partnership with his brother-in-law, Abijah 
Pratt, of that town, in the buying and slaughter- 
ing of cattle for the retail trade, under the firm 
name of Pratt & Winter, the business at that 
time requiring about one hundred and fifty 
cattle per year, besides the smaller animals. 
In 1855 the partnership was dissolved and Mr. 
Winter continued in business alone, running 
two retail wagons. During the stringent times 
of 1857-58 he had pretty hard work, but ^we/it 
through the panic safely, and in 1859 com- 
menced the wholesale business in North Bridge- 
water (now Brockton), in connection with the 
retail business; in 1859 he purchased a farm 
of Manley Packard on Pearl street, Brockton 
Heights, removing to that locality in 1860. The 
business continued to increase steadily until 
1865, when a fire destroyed all his buildings 
excepting his dwelling house, causing a severe 
loss and throwing him out of business for about 
a year. But phoenix-like, from the ashes of 
the old buildings rose new and improved build- 
ings, and many improvements were introduced. 
The varied kinds ol^ business in connection with 
the work were successfully conducted, giving 
emplojrment to a number of hands. 

To the original business of buying and 
slaughtering for the retail and wholesale trade, 
new departments, including rendering and 
fertilizer plants and icehouses, had been added 
from time to time, while the dealing in hides 
and calfskins alone brought in thousands of 
dollars annually. Several years ago Mr. Winter 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



599 



■conducted what was known as the Centre street 
market, later a market in Whitman street, the 
Franklin market, and various other markets, 
besides the Boston Cash store. He personally 
superintended all divisions of his business up to 
within a few weeks of his death, daily visiting 
the various ofBces, and keeping in touch with 
the d€tails of each. This was a task that would 
have appalled most men of half his years, for 
at the last his business included the wholesale 
establishment with traffic in hides and horns, 
besides the actual sale of meats and provisions, 
a retail market, grocery store and fish market, 
and the "Hotel Belmont." But a year before 
his death he had sold the interest he held in 
the drug store at the comer of Main and Bel- 
mont streets. His life had always been an 
active one. In the early days he worked from 
■early dawn far into the night, and he belonged 
to that old schdol of business men who. by close 
attention to every detail felt and made them- 
selves personally responsible for every act of 
business undertaken in their names. 

Besides the above named Mr. Winter erected 
the large brick block in 1881, at the corner 
of Main and Belmont streets, where the "Old 
Green Store" formerly stood. His corner lot 
was 75x130 feet, and the building four stories 
in height, the lower floor being used for stores. 
The whole upper portion is the "Hotel Bel- 
mont," and contains sixty-two rooms, besides 
a splendid dining room, reading room and 
billiard room. It is equipped with gas and 
electricity, heated by steam, and altogether is 
•one of the finest hotel structures in the county. 
As its proprietor Mr. Winter was host to many 
persons of national fame — statesmen, literary 
men, clergymen, actors and business men, and 
contact with men of widely different interests, 
and a natural leaning toward the higher things 
of life, gave him deeper knowledge and broader 
charity. 

Very few men possess the ability to conduct 
successfully as many and as varied enterprises 
as were \mder the control of Mr. Sanford 
Winter. Starting in life with few advantages 
he became a prominent, influential and well 
known citizen, and among Brockton's most 
active business men, one who did much toward 
forwarding the interests of the town and open- 
ing up new fields for the employment of labor, 
aiding in the development of the city. Though 
at the age beyond that usually allotted to man — 
over fourscore years — he handled every depart- 
ment of his extensive business with remark- 
able skill, method and success. His physical 
and mental strength were extraordinary, and 
endured to his latest days. In spite of his 



personal interests he was ever ready to take 
part in public affairs, and work for the moral 
and material welfare of the town. He was 
honored by the town (then North Bridgewater) 
in 1877 by being elected one of the board of 
selectmen, and when the first council of the first 
year of the city government of Brockton was 
organized he was one of its members. It is 
said of him that no man in the council "entered 
into the solution of city problems with greater 
zeal, and few men could take a more determined 
stand when he believed himself to be right. 

He was always recognized as a man 

whose judgment in business matters merited the 
highest consideration." He was a stanch Repub- 
lican in political faith, but never a politician. 
He was one of the original incorporators and 
served as president of the Brockton Savings 
Bank two years, and was a charter member of 
the Commercial Club. 

In his religious views Mr. Winter was at 
one time a Methodist, and an active and in- 
fluential member of Central Methodist Church, 
and for a number of years a member of its 
board of trustees. Later he united with the 
First Congregational Church, where he was 
once a pewholder, but not at the time of his 
death. 

On Oct. 31. 1852, Mr. Winter married Elvira 
Ann, daughter of Enoch and Mehitabel Noyes, 
of Jay, Maine, and to this iinion were born 
the following children: Francis Eugene, born 
May 6, 1856, died May 19, 1876 ; Hattie Louise, 
born May 21, 1858, died April 17, 1883; 
Everett Henry, born Aug. 9, 1862, who con- 
ducted the "Hotel Belmont" until it was sold in 
1910, and is now engaged in the beef and 
fertilizer business at Brockton Heights, married 
Oct. 13, 1892, Florence M., daughter of El- 
bridge and Jane Benson, of Abingdon, Mass. 
(no issue) ; and John Sanford, born Aug. 13, 
1864, died July 8, 1875. The mother of these 
children died Aug. 23, 1865, and Mr. Winter 
married (second) Nov. 22, 1868, Sophia Tilton 
Vincent, daughter of the late Matthew and 
Sophia Vincent, of Edgartown, Mass. No chil- 
dren were bom to this union. Mrs. Winter 
died in January, 1904. Mr. Winter's death 
came after an illness covering several weeks, 
and the close of his active, useful life was 
peaceful. He will long be missed from the 
business life of Brockton, and from among the 
many to whom he had been a rock of safety in 
threatened storm. For the city of Brockton 
he had been one who had laid the foundations 
of her prosperity strong and deep, and he was 
permitted to live to see the beauty and strength 
that crowned his endeavors. 



600 



SOUTHEASTEEN MASSACHUSETTS 



EDWAED EVEEETT HAWES, M. D., a 
well-known physician of Barnstable county, 
with home and office at Hyannis, is a native 
of the State of Maine, born at Troy March 5, 
1862, son of Eobert and Emily Wentworth 
Hawes. 

The Hawes family from which the Doctor 
descends is an old and prominent one of New 
England. Four or more immigrants bearing 
the name of Hawes came to New England be- 
fore 1650 — Edmund Hawes, of Plymouth, Dux- 
bury and Yarmouth; Edward, of Dedham; 
Eobert, of Eoxbury; and Eichard, of Dor- 
chester. It is with the last named that this 
article has to deal. 

(I) Eichard Hawes, aged twenty-nine, with 
wife Ann, aged twenty-six, and children Ann 
(or Anna), aged two and a half, and Obadiah, 
aged six months, came from England in the 
"Trulove" in 1635, and settled in Dorchester. 
He was a freeman May 2, 1638. He had at 
Dorchester: Bethiah, born July 27, 1637; 
Deliverance, born June 11, 1640; Constance, 
born July 17, 1642; and Eleazur, who married 
Euth, daughter of Edmund Haynes, of Spring- 
field, and was killed in King Philip's war April 
81, 1676. Eichard Hawes died in January, 
1657, for his inventory was taken the 27th 
of that month, and his widow, says Savage, 
perhaps, died at Eoxbury in 1663. 

(II) Obadiah Hawes, son of Eichard, born 
in England, at the age of six months as stated 
came in the "Trulove" in 1635 to New Eng- 
land with his father and family, who located 
in Dorchester. He married Mary, daughter of 
Elder James Humphrey, who died April 21, 
1676. Mr. Hawes was a freeman in 1666, and 
died Oct. 5, 1690. His children were: Obadiah, 
born Aug. 20, 1663 ; James, born Dec. 18, 
1664; Mary, bom Oct. 3, 1666 (died young) ; 
Ebenezer, born Dec. 15, 1668 (died in ten 
days); Desire, born Aug. 30, 1670; Eichard, 
born Dec. 19, 1672; and Sarah, born Oct. 29, 
1674. 

(III) Obadiah Hawes (2), son of Obadiah, 
born Aug. 20, 1663, married Dec. 19, 1693, 
Eebecca, daughter of John Cowen, of Scituate. 

(IV) Obadiah Hawes (3), son of Obadiah 
(2), married Mary Cobb. 

(V) Obadiah Hawes (4), son of Obadiah 
(3), born in that part of Stoughton, Mass., 
that later became the town of Sharon, married 
Tabitha Eichardson, daughter of John Eichard- 
son, of Woburn, Mass. They early removed to 
New Hampshire, and lived at various points in 
that State. They had three sons and as many 
daughters. 

(VI) Nathan Hawes, son of Obadiah (4) 



and Tabitha (Eichardson), married Phebe 
Stevens. Mr. Hawes moved from Goffstown, 
N. H., to Farmington, Maine, where his death 
occurred about Nov. 1, 1845. When but six- 
teen years of age he saw service in the war of 
the Eevolution ; was a pa^-ticipant in the battle 
of Bennington. His children were : Abigail, 
Stephen J., Hannah, Nathan, Joseph, John, 
David. Mary, Sally, Belinda and Betsey. 

(VII) Stephen Johnson Hawes, son of 
Nathan and Phebe (Stevens), born Dec. 6, 
1784, in GofEstown, N. H., married (first) 
Betsey Stearns, (second) Betsey Dal ton, who 
died in Weld, Maine, June 4, 1829, and (third) 
Sept. 4, 1831, Maria Masterman, who died 
Feb. 10, 1884, in Weld, Maine. Mr. Hawes 
died Jan. 26, 1865. His children were : Gil- 
man, Leonard, John L., Nelson (died when 
young), Eobert W. (all born to the first mar- 
riage), Benjamin, Nelson, 'Betsey, David, 
Stephen, LaFayette, Melvina L. (all born to 
the second marriage)-, Phebe M., George F., 
Alpheus P., Isabella E., John M., WiUiam A., 
Charles E. and Leander E. 

(VIII) Eobert Wallace Hawes, son of 
Stephen Johnson and Betsey (Stearns), born 
Jan. 3, 1816, at Goffstown, in the State of 
New Hampshire, lived for a time in Albion, 
Maine, and then moved to Troy in that same 
State, where he died Oct. 1, 1897. He married 
March 30, 1843, Emily Wentworth, who was 
born April 13, 1882, in Albion, Maine, daugh- 
ter of Timothy and Abigail (Black) Went- 
worth, the latter a daughter of Joab Black, 
a native of York, Maine, who was a soldier of 
the Revolution and was at the battle of Bunker 
Hill. Mrs. Hawes also descended from .John 
Wentworth, of England, 1626, who belonged 
to the Wenthworths of Wentworth Castle, an 
ancient family, who came to England with 
William the Conqueror. The Colonial gover- 
nors of New Hampshire and "Long John" 
Wentworth, one time mayor of the city of 
Chicago, were of this family. The children of 
Mr. and Mrs. Eobert W. Hawes, all but the two 
youngest born in Albion, were: Timothy W., 
born Jan. 31, 1844; Charles W., born Dec. 7, 
1846; Lizzie E., born Aug. 17, 1849; George 
E., born Aug. 8, 1851 ; Walter E., born Mav 3, 
1853; Abbie M., born Oct. 1, 1855; Frederick 
M., born Sept. 8, 1859; and Edward E., born 
March 5, 1868. All are living except Abigail, 
who died in young womanhood. 

(IX) Edward Everett Hawes received a 
liberal education, attending the Maine Central 
Institute, also Bowdoin College, and the 
medical school of the University of New York, 
as well as the medical school of the Universitv 




2 Z. ^^^^i^^^^yrJ^^D 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



601 



of Vermont, from which latter he graduated in 
1886 with the degree of M. D. Meantime, be- 
fore his graduation, he taught school several 
years, first at Detroit, Maine, in 1877, when but 
sixteen years old, later at Harwich, in 1882, 
and at Yarmouth, Mass., where he continued 
until 1888. In 1886 he had be^n medical prac- 
tice at Harwich, Mass., and two years later 
moved to Hyannis, where he was located for 
eight or nine years. After that, seeing a wider 
field in Boston, he settled in that city, where he 
continued to follow his profession until April, 
1909, at that time returning to Hyannis, where 
he is still in active practice. He still lectures 
at Boston, however, on surgical subjects, giving 
special instruction on fractures and dislocations 
at the College of Physicians and Surgeons. 
His profession has brought him honor and 
success, and his standing among his fellow 
practitioners is as high as among his patrons. 

Dr. Hawes married Emily Crowell, of West 
Yarmouth, daughter of Capt. Elkanah and 
Susan (Crowell) Crowell (of the same stock 
but very distantly related). Her father, now 
a retired sea captain, is a son of Elkanah 
and Eliza (Bacon) Crowell, and a descend- 
ant of Elkanah Crowell, son of Yelverton 
Crowell, the Pilgrim; two Crowell brothers 
came from Plymouth to Barnstable, Elkanah 
going; to Yarmouth. ' Mrs. Hawes was born at 
Yarmouth and educated there and at Brock- 
ton, attending high school at the latter place. 
While still young she sailed in her father's 
vessel, and rounded Cape Horn twice. She 
takes a deep interest in botany, and has given 
much time to the study of many varieties of 
wildflowers, in which her husband is also in- 
terested. 

The Doctor is a Mason, belonging to Frater- 
nal Lodge, A. E. & A. M., and Orient Chapter, 
E. A. M., both of Hyannis, and to Palestine 
Commandery, K. T., of Chelsea, Mass. ; he is 
also a member of the Scottish Rite. He holds 
membership in the Massachusetts Sons of the 
American Revolution ; is a member of the 
Massachusetts Medical Society, and of the 
American Medical Association. He attends the 
Universalist Church. Politically he is an inde- 
pendent Republican. 

KIRBY. The name Kirby so far as relates 
to the old family has been a continuous one 
and the family a numerous one in New Eng- 
land for now some two hundred .and seventy 
years and more — since approximately 1636, 
only a decade and a half later than the coming 
hither of the Pilgrim Fathers; and here, in 
what was Ancient or Old Dartmouth, it has 



been established since not far from 1660-70, 
and given a good account of itself in the march 
of progress that has steadily intervened, and 
developed a great section. Richard Kirby, the 
immigrant and progenitor of the race in ques- 
tion, was one of the founders of Sandwich, 
as he was later of Dartmouth, and here many 
of his posterity have made an honorable place 
for themselves in local history. This article, 
however, has only to do with one branch of the 
Kirbys — some of the descendants of the 
brothers Justus and Wesson Kirby, men of the 
fifth generation from this settler, and whose 
farms joined each other in that part of Dart- 
mouth which later became the town of West- 
port, where and at New Bedford later genera- 
tions of their posterity have been prominent 
and influential citizens, some occupying high 
and honorable positions in the public service 
of their communities and for unusually long 
periods of time. Among the earlier generations 
may be mentioned Luther, Benjamin, Wesson 
and Abraham ; and of the succeeding genera- 
tion Avary, Stephen P., Wesson, Jr. and Hon. 
George, all substantial men and useful citizens, 
and the latter of whom had the privilege of 
representing his town — Dartmouth — for ten 
years in the State Assembly, of serving his 
community upward of twenty years as select- 
man and overseer of the poor, for about that 
same length of time as collector and treasurer, 
and for over sixty years as surveyor of wood 
and lumber ; while in the succeeding generation 
among the worthies have been the present Wil- 
liam Avery Kirby, now venerable in years and 
retired, long an honorable and substantial 
citizen and a representative on the board of 
directors of several of the financial institutions 
of New Bedford ; the late Humphrey S. Kirby, 
long one of the successful business men of New 
Bedford and for seventeen years a member of 
the school committee ; and the present Hon. 
Albert C. Kirby, who has several times repre- 
sented the towns of Westport and Dartmouth 
in the State Assembly, and for thirty-one years 
served Bristol county as a deputy sheriff, and 
the latter's son. Dr. Holder C. Kirby, who has 
attained high place in the medical profession ; 
and several other sons of these men who are 
worthily wearing the family name. 

There follows in chronological order some 
family history and genealogy of the branch of 
Kirbys already indicated. 

(I) Richard Kirby appears first of record in 
New England in 1636, as an inhabitant of 
Lynn, Mass. He with others in 1637 removed to 
Cape Cod and began the settlement of Sand- 
wich. He shared in the division of land in 



«02 



SOUTHEASTERN" MASSACHUSETTS 



1641, and in 1643 his name appears on the list 
of those able to bear arms. He was one of the 
eleven male members whose names are found on 
the first recorded list of members of the Puritan 
Church of Sandwich. It was here, in Sand- 
wich, so far as known, that the first persons in 
this country embraced the principles of the 
Friends. Among these was Kichard Kirby, yet 
it is not certain that he ever became a member 
of the Society of Friends. It is known that in 
1684 he took the oath of fidelity, and neither 
his name nor that of his son Richard appears 
AS a member in the church records of the 
Friends. He removed to Dartmouth some time 
after 1660. He purchased a half share of land 
there in 1670, and in 1683 he bought land on 
the west side of Cocksett river. He died in 
Dartmouth in June or July, 1688. The sur- 
name of his wife is unknown, but her Christian 
name appears to have been Jane. His children 
appear to have been Jane, Sarah (born in 
1638), Ruhamah, Richard and Recompence. 

(II) Richard Kirby (2), probably born be- 
fore 1638, married Oct. 9, 1665, Patience, 
daughter of William Gifford, of Sandwich, 
Mass. The name of Mr. Kirby is found among 
the twenty-four inhabitants of Sandwich who 
in October, 1660, were each fined ten shillings 
for attending Quaker meetings. Together with 
his father he suffered the distraint of fifteen 
cows to satisfy fines imposed. Some time after 
his marriage he removed to Dartmouth. His 
wife died after May 30, 1674, and he married 
(second) Dec. 8, 1678, Abigail, widow of Zoeth 
Howland. His children, all born to the first 
marriage, were: Sarah, born May 1, 1667; 
Experience, May 5, 1670 ; Temperance, May 5, 
1670 ; John, March 2, 1672 ; and Robert, May 
10, 1674. 

(III) Robert Kirby, born May 10, 1674, 
married Rebecca, born in 1673, daughter of 
Nathaniel Potter, of Portsmouth, R. I. Mr. 
Kirby was a member of the Society of Friends, 
and lived in that part of Dartmouth which in 
1787 became the town of Westport, and near 
the Coaxit river; on either side of which stream, 
according to the proprietary records of Dart- 
mouth, there were laid out in 1712 for Mr. 
Kirby's homestead 212 acres of land. Mr. 
Kirby died in 1757. His widow Rebecca died 
in 1772. Their children were: Patience, 
Nathaniel, Ichabod, Recompence, Silas, Robert 
and Barsheba. Mr. Kirby bought in 1728 from 
Benjamin Waite tlie farm and house, the latter 
of which in 1904 was the oldest standing in 
Old Dartmouth. The center part of it was 
built by Thomas Waite in Central Village, 
Westport, about 1677, on land that remained 



in the Waite family until 1728, when, as stated, 
it passed into the hands of Mr. Kirby ; and in 
1904 it was the oldest Kirby house then stand- 
ing. 

(IV) Nathaniel Kirby married March 25, 
1731, Abigail, born June 25, 1712, daughter 
of James and Rebecca (Howland) Russel, of 
Dartmouth. Mr. Kirby was a member of the 
Society of Friends. He died probably early in 
the year 1748, as in his will of Nov. 5, 1747, 
and approved in August, 1748, he speaks of 
himself as "being very sick and weak in body." 
His children were: Wesson, born Oct. 14, 
1731; Rebecca, June 26, 1733; Lydia, Nov. 20, 
1738; Mary, March 15, 1743; and Justus, 
April 28, 1746. The mother of these was a 
direct descendant of Ralph Russel, who came 
from Pontypool, Monmouthshire, England, to 
New England, and for a time, according to 
Savage, was likely engaged in the iron works 
in Taunton with the Leonards, then located 
in Dartmouth, from whom her descent is 
through John Russell, who bought in 1664 one 
share (800 acres) of Dartmouth lands, and 
set up an iron forge at what was later called 
Rus-sell's Mills, was much employed in public 
affairs, a number of times representative in the 
General Court, etc. ; Jonathan Russel and his 
wife Hassadyah (Smith), and James Russell 
and his wife Rebecca (Howland). 

(V) Justus Kirby, born April 28, 1746 (ac- 
cording to Dartmouth record), or A])ril 18, 
1747 (according to the family Bible), married 
Dec. 27, 1768, Catherine, born April. 14, 1751, 
daughter of Peleg and Mary (Russell) Cornell. 
They lived in that part of Dartmouth which 
became the town of Westport, where he died 
Jan. 5, 1831, and she, Aug. 27, 1833. His 
farm joined that of his brother Wesson. His 
home was located a little north of the site 
of the present town almshouse. Their children 
were: Lydia, May 6, 1770; Luthan, born Feb. 
23, 1774": Abner, July 10, 1771 ; and Elizabeth, 
Oct. 1, 1781. The mother was a direct descend- 
ant of Thomas Cornell, of Portsmouth, R. I., 
who came from the County of Essex, England, 
to Boston, about 1638, and removed to Ports- 
mouth, R. I., in 1640, from whom her descent 
is tlirough Samuel, of Dartmouth, Thomas 
Cornell and his wife Catherine (Potter), and 
Peleg Cornell and his wife Mary (Russell). 

(V) Wesson Kirby, born Oct. 14, 1731, in 
Dartmouth, married there Feb. 23, 1750, 
Hannah, born in 1731, daughter of William 
White, of Dartmouth. They resided in that 
part of the latter town which in 1787 became 
the town of Westport, and near the small fork 
of the river above the bridge. Mr. Kirby was 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



603 



surveyor of the highways in 1771, 1775, 1776, 
1780 and 1781 ; was also selectman and assessor, 
in 1779. He died in Westport Oct. 9, 1798, 
aged sixty-seven years. His widow Hannah 
passed away in 1819 at Westport, Mass. Their 
children were: Nathan, born July 4, 1751; 
William, March 21, 1753; Sarah, April 11, 
1755; George, March 9, 1757; Wesson, April 
15, 1759; Elihu, June 13, 1761; Benjamin, 
June 18, 1763 ; Jonathan, July 14, 1765 ; Mary, 
in 1767; Hannah, July 19, 1769; Ruth, Oct. 
19, 1771; Paul, Oct. 20, 1773; Abraham, Dec. 
11. 1775; and Elizabeth. The mother of these 
was a direct descendant of Francis Cooke, of 
the "Mayflower," 1620, from whom her descent 
is through Elder John Cooke, of Plymouth and 
Dartmouth, and his wife Sarah (Warren), she 
a daughter of Richard Warren, also of the 
"Mayflower"; Arthur Hathaway and his wife 
Sarah (Cooke), of Marshfield and Dartmouth; 
George Cadman and his wife Hannah (Hatha- 
way) ; and William White and his wife Eliza- 
beth (Cadman). 

(VI) Abraham Kirby, son of Wesson, born 
Dec. 11, 1775, in that part of Dartmouth which 
became the town of Westport, married Feb. -3, 
1803, Eunice, daughter of Obed and Sarah 
(Peckham) White, he a son of George and 
Deborah (Shaw) White and grandson of Wil- 
liam White, of Dartmouth, the latter of whom 
is believed by some (and while there are no 
positive records yet found of the connection 
there are evidences pointing to it) to be a son 
of Samuel White, of Rochester, who was the 
son of Resolved White and grandson of William 
White, of the "Mavflower," 1620 (see pp. 347- 
348. "The Kirbys'of New England"). This 
William White, of Dartmouth, moreover, mar- 
ried Elizabeth Cadman, a direct descendant of 
Francis Cooke, of the "Mayflower." The chil- 
dren of Abraham and Eunice (White) Kirby, 
all born in the town of Westport, Mass., were: 
Amy, bom Jan. 20, 1804; Abner, May 4, 1806 ; 
Harvey, in 1810; Deborah, Dec. 24, 1812; 
Stephen P., April 9, 1815; and Harvey W., 
Sept. 8, 1819. 

(VII) Stephen P. Kirby, son of Abraham, 
born April 9, 1815, married (first) June 30, 
1839, Harriet N., born May 18, 1820, daugh- 
ter of Nathan Crary Brownell, of Westport, 
Mass. She died May 21, 1857, and he married 
(second) Jan. 1, 1871, Diana, born in 1842, 
daughter of Charles M. and Desire Macomber, 
of Tiverton. R. I. Mr. Kirby lived at West- 
port, Mass., where for many years be was a 
<lrover and large cattle merchant, buying cattle 
at Brighton, and distributing them through 
southern Massachusetts. His children were: 



Albert C, born March 17, 1841 ; Wilfred Smith, 
July 31, 1843 (died Jan. 3, 1878) ; Edward 
B., Sept. 21, 1847 (died at sea in 1862) ; Frank 
R., May 28, 1850 (married Oct. 11, 1877, Cora 
L. Eddy, and is in business in New Bedford) ; 
Henry P., Aug. 15, 1856 (died March 1, 1862). 

(VIII) Albert C. Kirby, son of Stephen 
P., born March 17, 1841, married Jan. 21, 1869, 
Cynthia White Brownell, born Aug. 15, 1843, 
daughter of Holder and Love (Baker) Brovmell, 
the former a great-grandson of Abner Brownell, 
the first town clerk of Westport, and the latter 
a daughter of Ezra and Susan Baker. Mr. 
Kirby has long been one of the substantial and 
influential men of Bristol county. He was 
elected collector of taxes in Westport in 1863, 
and held office for four years. In 1863 he 
was elected town clerk, and held that office 
six years. He was a justice of the peace and 
auctioneer for about thirty-four years. He 
was made deputy sheriff of the county in 1879, 
and true to the example set by earlier genera- 
tions of the Dartmouth-Westport-New Bedford 
Kirbys proved an efficient and faithful public 
servant, and like them a "stayer," for he sus- 
tained such relation to Bristol county for thirty 
years. In 1894 he was made special deputy 
sheriff. In politics he has always been a stanch 
Republican. More recently he has been en- 
gaged in business in New Bedford, being now 
a member of the firm of Kirby & Hicks, livery- 
men. In 1890 and 1891 Mr. Kirby represented 
the towns of Westport and Dartmouth in the 
Massachusetts Assembly. 

The children of Albert C. and Cynthia 
Wiite (Brownell) Kirby were: Holder Crary, 
born Aug. 8, 1874 ; and Wilfred Stephen, born 
Feb. 3, 1883, who is in business with his father. 

(IX) Holder C. Kirby, M. D., son of Al- 
bert C. and Cynthia White (Brownell), was 
born in the town of Dartmouth Aug. 8, 1874. 
His early education was acquired in the public 
schools' of New Bedford, from which he 
graduated in the class of 1893. He then 
entered Brown University, taking the regular 
course for three years and doing special work 
in biology. He graduated from the medical de- 
partment of the University of Pennsylvania in 
1900, with the degree of M. D. During his 
course he gave special attention to the study 
of pathology. After receiving his degree he 
went to Pittsburg, Pa., as resident physician 
at Mercy hospital, after which he spent three 
months in the Children's hospital at Phila- 
dephia, and five months in the Municipal hos- 
pital. He was at the latter place during the 
great smallpox epidemic in the fall of 1901, 
when about three thousand cases, were treated 



604 



SOUTHEASTEEX MASSACHUSETTS 



in the hospital, about a third proving fatal. 
In 1902 he opened an office in Pittsburg, Pa., 
and remained there until Dec. 1st, when he 
located in New Bedford, opening an office, 
where he has continued most successfully in his 
practice. In January, 1903, he was appointed 
city physician, and this office he has continued 
to fill. In October, 1904, he was made assistant 
surgeon, at St. Luke's hospital, and in March, 
1906, he was elected surgeon. He is a member 
and former counselor of the Massachusetts 
Medical Society; member of the South Bristol 
District and New Bedford Medical Societies, 
and of the American Medical Association. He 
is also a member of the Boston Medical Library. 

While a student at Brown University Dr. 
Kirby was a member of the Chi Phi Greek 
letter society, and at the University of Penn- 
sylvania he belonged to the Theta Nu Epsilon 
and Alpha Mu Pi Omega of the medical de- 
partment. He also belonged to the Pepper 
Medical Society. 

Dr. Kirby married Mary Eleanor, daughter 
of Thomas F. and Ellen L. Wood, of New Bed- 
ford. They have no children. 

FEED HERBERT PACKARD, of Brock- 
ton, one of the enterprising and successful 
business men of that city, is prominently iden- 
tified with manufacturing interests, being pro- 
prietor of the well known shoe tool concern 
of Snell & Atherton, Incorporated, one of the 
pioneer industries of old North Bridgewater 
(now Brockton), the business having been 
established by his father-in-law, Varanus Snell. 
Its products are known the world over. Mr. 
Packard is a worthy descendant of one of 
New England's earliest settled families. He 
was born Feb. 3, 1854, in West Bridgewater, 
son of the late Japhet Beals and Lucretia 
Parker (Dunbar) Packard. The history of 
this branch of the Packard family follows : 

(I) Samuel Packard, with his wife and 
child, came from Windham, England, in 1638, 
in the ship "Diligence," and settled in 
Hingham, Mass., where in that same year he 
had a grant of land. He removed from Hing- 
ham and became a resident of what is now 
West Bridgewater, Mass. He was constable 
in 1664, and in 1670 was licensed to keep a 
tavern. His will was dated in 1684, which 
was about the time of his death. His children 
baptized in Hingham were: Zaccheus, April 
20, 1651 ; Jane, April 20, 1651 ; Abigail, April 
20, 1651; and Deliverance, July 11, 1652. He 
had other children : Elizabeth, Samuel, Thomas, 
John, Nathaniel, Mary, Hannah, Israel, Jael 
and Deborah. 



(II) Nathaniel Packard, son of Samuel, 
married a daughter of John Kangman, and 
their children were: Samuel, Zachariah, 
George, Fearnot, Margaret, Sarah, Lydia, 
Faithful, Hannah, Deliverance, Elizabeth, 
Mary and Deborah. The father's \vill bears 
date of 1720. 

(III) Zachariah Packard, son of Nathaniel, 
married in 1724 Abigail, daughter of Richard 
Davenport, and their children were : Elijah, 
born in 1726 ; Abigail, born in 1728; Nathaniel, 
born in 1730; and Nathan, born in 1733. The 
father's will was dated in 1771. 

(IV) Capt. Nathan Packard, born in 1733, 
married in 1758 Lydia, daughter of Ephraim 
Jackson, and their children were : Oliver, 
Elijah, Nathan, Ransom, Perez, Sullivan, 
Jonas, Sarali, Abigail, Lydia, Olive, Roxana. 
The father died on Feb. 17, 1798, aged sixty- 
five years, and the mother died April 1, 1812. 
Capt. Nathan Packard was active in the war 
of the Revolution. He was first lieutenant in 
Capt. Josiah Hayden's company. Col. Bailey's 
regiment, which served as minute-men, march- 
ing on April 19, 1775, on the Lexington alarm. 
He was captain of a company in Col. Thomas 
Carpenter's regiment of State militia, from 
July 25, to Sept. 9, 1778, in service in Rhode 
Island, and was also captain of a company in 
Maj. Eiiplialet Cary's regiment that nvirched 
on the Rhode Island alarm, July 22, 1780, by 
order of council from North Bridgewater. 

(V) Elijah Packard, son of Capt. Nathan, 
married in 1789 Susanna, daughter of Japhet 
Beal. Their children were: Lewis, born in 
1789; Libbeus, born in 1791; Lydia, born in 
1793; Isaac, born in 1795; Elijah, born in 
1797; Clara, born in 1799; Patience, born in 
1801 ; Susanna, born in 1803 ; Nathan, born 
in 1806 ; Sophronia, born in 1808 ; and Den- 
nison, born in 1811. The father died in 1832, 
aged sixty-six years, and his widow died in 
1849, aged seventy-eight years. 

(VI) Isaac Packard was born May 2, 1795. 
in West Bridgewater, Mass., where he died at 
the age of about thirty-three years. He was 
a farmer and shoemaker. He married in 1816 
Mary Jones Foster, of Whitman, Mass., and 
after his death she married (second) Ezekiel 
Ripley, of Plympton, Mass., where she died. 
She was the mother of the following children : 
Orlando H., who died at the age of nineteen 
years; Japhet B., mentioned below; and Perez 
(a /Shoemaker), who married Mercy Sherman, 
of Plympton, and died in Rockland, Massachu- 
setts. 

(VII) Japhet Beals Packard, son of Isaac 
and Mary J. (Foster) Packard, was born Sept. 




^ 



^ 







SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



605 



7, 1819, in Easton, Mass. He died June 2, 
1909, at his home on North Ehn street in West 
Bridgewater, in which town lie had resided for 
over eighty years. While he was still very 
young his parents removed to that part of 
West Bridgewater known as Jerusalem, and he 
was seven years old when they settled in the 
more central part of the town, where he lived 
upon a farm near the site of his late home. 
He received his education in the public schools, 
and among his classmates were Benjamin B. 
Howard (founder of Howard Seminary), 
Charles Howard, Horatio Howard, John Dun- 
bar and Elihu Leonard, all of whom long pre- 
ceded him in death. When sixteen years old he 
went to Plympton, whence after a residence of 
five j'ears he returned to West Bridgewater, 
where he continued to make his home during 
the remainder of his long life. He learned the 
trade of shoemaker with his stepfather, Ezekiel 
Ripley, at Plympton, remaining with him five 
or six years ; and for fifty years in all followed 
that calling. He began it in the primitive days 
when shoes were made in small shops near the 
home of the tradesman, and Mr. Packard em- 
ployed several hands in his .shop. None of 
the work was done by machine at that time. 
When the various manufacturers began to do 
business upon a larger scale and the smaller 
business men were crowded out he became em- 
ployed at the P. & N. Copeland factory, in 
Campello, where he acted as superintendent. 
About twenty years prior to his death he gave 
up shoemaking in order to spend more time 
in the open air, working considerably upon his 
farm and carrying on a large garden. For 
several years he also had charge of Pine Hill 
cemetery, in West Bridgewater. In fact, he 
continued to be active up to within a short 
time before his decease, always finding some- 
thing to do about the farm and home. 

Mr. Packard's devotion to outdoor sports 
continued to be one of his chief sources of en- 
joyment until a few weeks before he died. He 
was considered the best marksman with a rifle 
in all the region, and except for the last five 
years of his life never missed the annual fall 
outing at Brant Rock, where with his gun and 
his dog he went for several days' shooting 
along the seashore. In 1895, at the age of 
seventy-six, he purchased a bicycle, which he 
rode for nearly ten years. He was always a 
special favorite with children, and was in- 
terested in watching young folks at their sports, 
when they gathered at play near his home. He 
was well known to old and young, and among 
all classes, and had scores of friends and well 
wishers wherever he went. He never took any 



special part in public affairs and would never 
accept office, though he was public-spirited and 
attended town meetings regularly. His word 
and opinion carried great weight, and he gave 
his support to all enterprises intended for the 
benefit of the public, and he was a regular 
voter at local and national elections. 

On Sept. 25, 1843, Mr. Packard married 
Lucretia Parker Dunbar, daughter of Perez 
and Nancy (Willis) Dunbar. She was born 
in North Bridgewater, but at the time of her 
marriage was living in West Bridgewater, 
where the ceremony was performed by Rev. Mr. 
Cogswell. In 1844 they moved into the home 
on North Elm street where they ever after- 
ward resided, and there they celebrated the 
silver and golden anniversaries of their wed- 
ding. Their wedded life covered over sixty- 
five years, Mrs. Packard passing away Feb. 32, 
1910, in the eighty-fifth year of her age. Six 
children were born to Mr. and Mrs. Packard: 
Hattie married Edward C. Hall, of Freeport, 
Maine, and is now a widow, residing in Whit- 
man, Mass. ; Lucius Sumner, who resides in 
Walpole, Mass., married Helen E. Ripley; 
Fred Herbert is mentioned below; Charles 
Everett married Eugenia Young and resides 
in West Bridgewater; Ernest Lincoln died at 
the age of thirty-two years ; Jennie Beals died 
aged eighteen years. 

(VIII) Fred Herbert Packard, son of 
Japhet Beals and Lucretia Parker (Dunbar) 
Packard, was born Feb. 2, 1854, in West 
Bridgewater, Mass., and acquired his early 
schooling in the common schools of his native 
town. Leaving school when about sixteen years 
of age, he took up shoemaking with his father, 
continuing at home until he had reached the 
age of twenty. He then came to Campello, 
where he worked at shoemaking for Elmer L. 
Keith, George E. Keith and C. W. Copeland 
& Co., respectively, until Feb. 18, 1880, when 
he entered the employ of Snell & Atherton, as 
a machinist on the making of machine tools, 
in which capacity he remained for about six 
years. Later he was made bookkeeper and 
salesman, as well as shipper, for the concern, 
acting as such until about 1898, at which time 
he became a partner in the business. On Jan. 
1, 1903, he became sole ovraer of the business, 
the founder, Mr. Snell, retiring. In January, 
1907, the business was chartered as an in- 
corporation under the Massachusetts laws as 
Snell & Atherton, Incorporated, with Fred H. 
Packard as president and treasurer, and War- 
ren B. Packard (his son) as clerk of the 
corporation. This well known concern is en- 
gaged in the manufacture of hand tools of all 



606 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



kinds for shoe workers, and duplicate parts 
for shoe machinery of various kinds, their 
products having a world-wide reputation for 
perfection and uniform quality. They are 
used in every country where shoes are made. 
The firm gives employment to about twenty 
expert and skilled mechanics, several of whom 
have been connected with this concern con- 
tinuously for nearly fifty years. 

Mr. Packard has also been successfully en- 
gaged in the real estate business to some ex- 
tent. In 1888-89 he opened up two tracts of 
land on Herrod and Martland streets, and sev- 
enty lots were disposed of. He also owns 
various other plots in different parts of the 
city. 

Mr. Packard is of a musical turn of mind, 
and for about twelve years was a member of 
Martland's Band, in which he played first 
clarinet; during four years of that time he 
was secretary and treasurer of that well-known 
musical organization. In politics he is a stanch 
supported of the principles of the Republican 
party, and he has always manifested a keen 
interest in the affairs of his adopted city. In 
1892 he served as a member of the common 
council, and in 1896 and 1897 he was a mem- 
ber of the board of aldermen, from Ward Seveji, 
being president of the board the last year. 
During the first year he was a member of the 
latter board he was a member of the committees 
on Finance, Accounts, Highways and Health, 
and the last year was chairman of the above 
committees, and also a member of the police 
committee. 

For a number of years Mr. Packard has been 
prominently identified with various financial 
institutions of Brockton, having served for 
eleven years as a trustee of the People's Sav- 
ings Bank, since which time he has been a 
trustee of the Brockton Savings Bank, which 
he has served several years as a member of the 
board of investment, and in April, 1910, was 
elected second vice president. He has also been 
a director for a number of years of the Se- 
curity Cooperative Bank of Brockton. 

Fraternally Mr. Packard is an active and 
prominent member of the Masonic organization 
of many years' standing, holding membership 
in St. George Lodge, A. F. & A. M., of Cam- 
pello, of which he became a member in 1877; 
Satucket Chapter, R. A. M. (of which he has 
been a member over twenty years) ; Brockton 
Council, R. & S. M. ; and Bay State Com- 
mandery. Knights Templar, of Brockton; he 
also belongs to Aleppo Temple, Mystic Shrine, 
of Boston, which he joined in 1889, and is a 
life member of the lodge, chapter and com- 



mandery. In 1874 he joined Massasoit Lodge,. 
No. 69, I. 0. 0. F., and he has been a member 
for many years of the Commercial Club of 
Brockton, which is composed of the city's lead- 
ing business and professional men. 

On June 29, 1882, Mr. Packard was united 
in marriage to Idella Abbiette Snell, daughter 
of Varanus Snell, the founder of the Snell & 
Atherton concern, and his wife, Emily Hewins 
Gill, of Brockton, and this union has been 
blessed with one son, Warren Belcher, bom 
July 14, 1887. He graduated from the Brock- 
ton high school in 1906, after which he at- 
tended Phillips Exeter Academy. He then took 
a business course at Bryant & Stratton's Busi- 
ness College, Boston, and is now a member of 
Snell & Atherton, Incorporated, to which he 
was admitted as a partner early in 1909, hav- 
ing started at the bench and forge in the tool 
shop in 1908. He is also a member of St. 
George Lorge, A. F. & A. M., of Campello; 
Satucket Chapter, R. A. M. ; Brockton Council, 
E. & S. M. ; and Bay State Commandery, 
Knights Templar, of Brockton; holding a life 
membership in the latter three bodies. He is 
also a member of the Brockton Country Club 
and the Commercial Club. He is unmarried, 
and resides at home with his parents. 

WALTER HAMLET FAUNCE, chairman 
of the board of county commissioners of Ply- 
mouth county, Mass., is a lineal descendant of 
John Faunce, who was the progenitor of a large 
and well established family in New England, 
members of which have for generations made 
their home in Kingston, Plymouth county. 

(I) John Faunce came to Plymouth in the 
"Ann" in August, 1633. He was, perhaps, 
then a youth, as no wife or child is mentioned 
for a decade. He was a freeman in 1633, in 
which year he married Patience, daughter of 
George Morton, and had : Priscilla, who mar- 
ried Joseph, son of Richard Warren, of the 
"Mayflower" ; Mary, who married July 15, 1658, 
William Harlow ; Patience, who married Nov. 
20, 1661, John Holmes; Sarah, who married 
Feb. 26, 1663, Edward Doty, son of Edward 
of the "Mayflower," and (second) John Buck; 
Thomas, born about 1647; Elizabeth, bom 
March 23, 1648; Mercy, born April 10, 1651, 
who married in December, 1667, Nathaniel 
Holmes; Joseph, born May 14, 1653; and John, 
born Nov. 29, 1654 (probably died young). 

(II) Joseph Faunce, son of John, bom May 
14, 1653, married Jan. 3, 1677, Judith Rickard, 
daughter of John and Judith Rickard. Their 
children were: Hannah, born 1679; Mary, 
born 1681 (married Nathaniel Morton) ; John, 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



60r 



born 1683; Mary, born 1686; Mehitabel, born 
1689 (married Judah Hill) ; Joseph, born 
1693; Eleazer, born 1696; Thomas, born 1698 
(married Hannah Damon) ; and Benjamin, 
born 1703. 

(III) John Faunce, son of Joseph, born 
1683, married in 1710 Lydia, born in 1685, 
daughter of Jacob Cooke, granddaughter of 
Jacob and Damaris (Hopkins) Cooke (the lat- 
ter a daughter of Stephen Hopkins, of the 
"Mayflower," 1680), and great-granddaughter 
of Francis Cooke, of the "Mayflower," 1620. 
The children of John and Lydia (Cooke) 
Faunce were: Judith, bom in 1711, who 
married Jabez Washburn; Lydia, born in 
1714, who married Ebenezer Washburn; John, 
bom in 1716; Hannah, born in 1718, who mar- 
ried Charles Cook; Mary, born in 1720; 
Mehetabel, born in 1722, who married Thomas 
Cushman; and Rebecca, born in 1724, who mar- 
ried Tillson Ripley, of Plympton. The father 
married (second) in 1733 Ruth Sampson, and 
their only child was Mary, bom in 1734, who 
married Amos Curtis, of Scituate. He mar- 
ried (third) Lydia (Tilden) Cook, widow of 
Simeon Cook, and by this union had a son 
Benjamin, born in 1742. 

(IV) John Faunce, son of John, was bom 
in 1716, and was of Kingston. He married 
Hannah, widow of Robert Cook, and daughter 
of Elijah Bisbee. Their children were : Lydia, 
bom in 1746, who married Josiah Cook ; John, 
born in 1747; Hannah, bom in 1749; Eleazer, 
born in 1751; Eleanor, born in 1753; Molly, 
born in 1755, who married John Cook; Joanna, 
born in 1757, who married Zenas Cook ; Elijah, 
bom in 1759; Sarah, born in 1760; and Sarah 
(2), bom in 1764. 

(V) Elijah Faunce, of Kingston, son of 
John and Hannah, born in March, 1759, mar- 
ried in 1785 Lydia, daughter of Ichabod Water- 
man, and their children were : Elijah, bom 
in 1787, who died aged fifteen years; Kilborn, 
bom in 1789; Nathaniel, born in 1791; Lydia, 
born in 1793, who married Spencer Bradford ; 
Sally (twin), born in 1793; and Charles Cook, 
born May 21, 1801. 

(VI) Charles Cook Faunce, son of Elijah 
and Lydia (Waterman), was born in Kingston, 
Mass., May 21, 1801. He was educated in the 
local schools, and then learned the mason's 
trade, which he followed nearly all his life, 
being engaged as a builder in stone and brick. 
His home was always in his native town, and 
be became greatly interested in public affairs. 
For fifteen years he held the office of town 
clerk, and also filled several minor positions. 
He died Oct. 26, 1878, and was buried in 



Kingston. He married Amelia Washburn, who 
was born in Kingston Jan. 7, 1807, daughter 
of Seth and Sarah (Adams) Washburn, and 
died Oct. 8, 1881 ; she was buried beside her 
husband. Their children were: Walter Ham- 
let, born Nov. 16, 1832; Amelia Washburn, 
born March 1, 1834, who married George 
McLaughlin (both are deceased) ; Charles 
Thomas, born April 19, 1835, who lives at 
Kingston; and Sewall Allen, born Feb. 9, 1841, 
who resides in Boston, Massachusetts. 

(VII) Walter Hamlet Faunce, son of Charles 
Cook and Amelia (Washburn), was born in 
Kingston, Mass., Nov. 16, 1832. He received' 
a good education, first attending the public 
schools in his home town, and then going to the 
East Greenwich Academy, East Greenwich, 
R. I. Returning to Kingston he began teach- 
ing, and for fifteen years was thus engaged ini 
the public schools of his native town. He then 
began surveying and civil engineering, in which 
he has since been more or less engaged in Kings- 
ton and adjoining towns, but the best part of 
his life has been given to public affairs. He 
has served as selectman, overseer of the poor 
and assessor for a number of years, during eight 
years being chairman of the board of select- 
men. In 1882 Mr. Faunce was elected county 
commissioner of Plymouth county, and with 
tlie exception of five years, from 1885 to 1890, 
he has since served continuously in that office, 
and for eight years has been chairman of the 
board. During his long service many public 
improvements have been effected — new build- 
ings and bridges, including the fine courthouse 
at Brockton, and the registry building at Ply- 
mouth, both from an architectural standpoint 
among the best in the State; the bridges at 
Buzzard's Bay and over the North river in 
the town of Hanson. At the present time there 
is in coiirse of construction the new prison at 
Plymouth, built of concrete, which contains 
one h^indred and fifty-nine cells. Mr. Faunce 
is conscientious in his work, and having, from 
long experience, a general knowledge of all 
matters pertaining to town or county affairs, 
is able to see that the contracts are honestly 
carried out. In 1880 he was elected to the 
State Legislature, where he served as a mem- 
ber of the committee on Insurance. He has 
been active in work for the public schools, and 
for a quarter of a century has been a member 
of the school board, and many years its 
chairman. In 1867 he was appointed by 
Governor Ames a justice of the peace, and has 
held that commission ever since, probably being 
the oldest justice in point of service in the 
State. He is a member of the State Board of 



608 



SOUTHEASTERN" MASSACHUSETTS 



Agriculture, and is vice president of the Marsh- 
field Agricultural Society, and for a number 
of years was vice president of the Plymouth 
County Agricultural Society. Fraternally he 
belongs to Corner Stone Lodge, A. F. & A. M., 
of Duxbury; and Adams Lodge, I. 0. 0. F., of 
Kingston. He attends the Unitarian Church. 

In December, 1863, Mr. Faunce was married 
to Arabella Ryder, daughter of Merrick and 
Lucy Ryder, of Plymouth. She died in Kings- 
ton in May, 1870, and was buried in the New 
cemetery. They had two children: Lucy D., 
born July 28, 1865, who resides at home, un- 
married ; and Charles M., mentioned below. Mr. 
Faunce -married (second) in 1874 in Smith- 
field, R. I., Elizabeth Brown, daughter of 
Waterman Brown, of that town. No children 
have been born of this marriage. 

(VIII) Charles Merrick Faunce, son of 
Walter Hamlet and Arabella (Ryder), was born 
in Kingston, Aug. 2, 1868. He graduated from 
the high school there, after which he entered 
Exeter Academy, at Exeter, where he prepared 
for college. He graduated from Harvard Uni- 
versity in 1892, with the degree of A. B., and 
then became an instructor in the Massachusetts 
Institute of Technology, Boston, where he re- 
mained for three years. Failing health com- 
pelled him to give up his profession, and he 
went West, but all in vain. He returned home, 
and died July 16, 1899. He was unmarried. 
He was a young man of unusual ability and 
promise, and his pleasant manners and sterling 
character won him many friends who sincerely 
mourned his taking away when seemingly on 
the very threshold of a life of true usefulness. 



Washbdkn. (I) John Washburn, of Kings- 
ton, married Lydia Billington, and their 
children were : John, born in 1699 ; Ichabod, 
born in 1701; Mercy, born in 1702; Elisha, 
born in U03; Ephraim, born in 1705; Barna- 
bas, born in 1707; Jabez, born in 1708; 
Ebenezer, born iji 1709; and Thankful, born in 
1715. There was an earlier John Washburn, 
of Duxbury, 1632, who, with his two sons, John 
and Philip, was included with those able to 
bear arms in the Colony in 1643, and his name 
is also among the first freemen of Duxbury. 
He and his son John were original proprietors 
of Bridgewater, and they and Philip became 
residents and settlers there in South Bridge- 
water as early as 1665. The name was per- 
petuated through the son John. Mitchell sup- 
posed that all of the name in the Bridgewater 
part of the country descended from John of 
Duxbury. Davis gives no evidence of any con- 
nection between the John of Duxbury and John 



of Kingston. Savage and Pope make no men- 
tion of John Washburn of Kingston. 

(II) John Washburn (2), of Kingston, son 
of John, of Kingston, married Abigail Johnson, 
and their children were: John, born in 1730; 
Abigail, born in 1732, who married Abner 
Sylvester; Mary, born in 1734; Mercy, born 
in 1736; Seth, born in 1738; Philip, bom in 
1739 ; and Thankful, born in 1742. 

(III) Seth Washburn, son of John (2), born 
in 1738, in Kingston, married in 1765 Fear 
Howard, and their children were: Fear, who 
married John Foster ; Persis, who married John 
Turner; Abigail, who married Zenas Churchill; 
Seth; and Ichabod, who married Ann Fuller, 
of Plymouth. 

(IV) Seth Washburn, son of Seth and Fear 
(Howard), born in 1769, married in 1792 Sarah 
Adams, and had children; Marcia, born in 
1793, who married Nathaniel Faunce ; Sally, 
born in 1796, who married Solomon Davie; 
Christiana Drew, born in 1799, who married 
Nahum Bailey; Hannah, who married Sewall 
Rice, of Worcester, Mass. ; Judith, who married 
Francis Johnson ; and Amelia. 

(V) Amelia Washburn, daughter of Seth and 
Sarah (Adams), born Jan. 7, 1807, married 
Charles Cook Faunce, and they became the 
parents of Walter Hamlet Faunce. 



Brown. Mrs. Elizabeth (Brown) Faunce be- 
longs to one of the oldest and most prominent 
families in Rhode Island history. The Browns 
have been closely and conspicuously identified 
with the history of Providence since the coming 
of Chad Brown in 1638, a leader in the Colony, 
one of the committee to formulate the first 
written form of government for the town, and 
the first settled pastor of the Baptist Church. 
James and Obadiah Brown, of the fourth gen- 
eration, were the founders of the extensive com- 
mercial house of the Browns, which in the suc- 
ceeding generations was conducted by the four 
Brown Brothers — Nicholas, Moses, John and 
Joseph of commercial note and wealth. In the 
succeeding generation came Nicholas Brown 
(2), an eminent merchant and philanthropist, 
whose munificent gifts made possible the great 
Brown University of to-day, as well as some of 
the great public institutions of Providence, and 
from whom the imiversity derived its name. 

(I) Chad Brown, accompanied by his wife 
Elizabeth, son John, then eight years of age, 
and perhaps his younger sons, emigrated from 
England in the ship "Martin," which arrived 
at Boston, Mass., in July, 1638. He soon re- 
moved to Providence, where he became at once 
a leader in the Colony and one of the most 



t* 




\^¥^ 






^o/a-t^ y)." O li-i.^^^j^L 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



609 



valued citizens. In 1640 he was one of a com- 
mittee who reported to Providence Colony the 
first written form of government, which was 
adopted and continued in force until 1644, 
when Eoger Williams returned from England 
with the first charter. In 1642 Chad Brown 
was ordained as the first settled pastor of the 
Baptist Church. His wife was Elizabeth, and 
their children were: John, James, Jeremiah, 
Judah and Daniel. 

(II) John Brown, born in 1630, died about 
1706. He married Mary, daughter of Rev. 
Obadiah and Catherine Holmes, of Newport, 
R. I., and resided in Providence, at the north 
end, in a house near the one afterward occupied 
by his son. Elder James, near the junction of 
North Main and Randall streets. Like his 
father he was a surveyor as well as a Baptist 
elder. He served in various important capac- 
ities, was moderator, member of the town 
council, deputy in the Legislature, etc. His 
children were: Sarah, James, John, Obadiah, 
Martha, Mary and Deborah. 

(III) James Brown, born in 1666, died Oct. 
28, 1732. He married Dec. 17, 1691, Mary, 
born Dec. 17, 1671, daughter of Andrew and 
Mary (Tew) Harris. She died Aug. 18, 1736. 
Mr. Brown served almost continuously as a 
member of the town council from 1705 to 1725, 
and was town treasurer from 1714 to 1718. He 
was pastor or elder of the First Baptist Church, 
succeeding Rev. Ebenezer Jenckes, and he re- 
mained pastor until his death, in 1732. His 
children were: John, James, Joseph, Martha, 
Andrew (born Sept. 20, 1706), Mary, Anna, 
Obadiah, Jeremiah and Elisha. 

(IV) Joseph Brown, son of James, born 
May 5, 1701, died May 8, 1778. He was a 
farmer by occupation, and resided in North 
Providence. He married (first) Martha Field, 
daughter of William, of Field's Point ; she died 
April 19, 1736, aged twenty-six years, leaving 
one son, Gideon, born in 1726, who married 
Ruth Rutenberg, daughter of David and 
Hannah (Jenks) Rutenberg. Joseph Brown 
married (second) Abigail Brown, who died 
May 23, 1784, in her seventy-third year. Their 
children were: Elisha, Andrew and Joseph. 

(V) Elisha Brown, son of Joseph, of North 
Providence, married Waite Waterman, of Crans- 
ton, R. L, daughter of Thomas Waterman. 

"Their children were: Welcome, ))orn May 12, 
1777; Waterman, Jan. 7, 1779; Elizabeth, Aug. 
23, 1780; Lydia, March 5, 1782; Philena, Sept. 
19, 1784; Susanna, Nov. 3; 1787; Waite, March 
13, 1789; and Catherine, Oct. 3, 1791. 

(VI) Waterman Brown, son of Elisha, born 
Jan. 7, 1779, married Hannah Congdon, and 



they had children, Salmon, Waterman, Welcome 
and Elisha. 

(VII) Waterman Brown (2), son of Water- 
man, married Eliza A. Highland, and their 
daughter, Elizabeth, born in Smithfield, R. I., 
was engaged as a school teacher. In 1874 she 
married Walter Hamlet Faunce, of Kingston, 
Massachusetts. 

CHARLES NELSON ATWOOD, the well 
known box and lumber manufacturer of Rock, 
Middleboro, Mass., wa,s born June 22, 1844, 
son of Ichabod F. and Abigail T. (Thomas) 
Atwood. 

The Atwood family was one of some conse- 
quence in Great Britain, no less than sixteen 
families of the name having their arms entered 
in the Herald's College. On each side of the 
Atlantic it has been a prolific family. One 
Mr. John Atwood, "gent.," from London, came 
to Plymouth and was a freeman of 1636; was 
assistant in 1638. He died in 1644, leaving, 
says Davis, no issue ; and who further says that 
the various branches of the Atwood family are 
descended from (I) John Wood, of Plymouth, 
1643. He was called Wood, alias Atwood. He 
married Sarah, daughter of Richard Masterson, 
and their children were: John, born in 1649; 
Nathaniel, born in 1651; Isaac, born in 1653; 
Mary, who married (first) Rev. John Holmes, 
of Duxbury, and (second) Maj. William Brad- 
ford; Sarah, who married John Fallowell; 
Abigail, who married Samuel Leonard; Mercy; 
Elizabeth; and Hannah, who married Richard 
Cooper. 

(II) Deacon Nathaniel Atwood, son of 
John, bom Feb. 25, 1651-52, married Mary, 
daughter of Jonathan Morey, and their chil- 
dren were: John, born May 1, 1684; Eliz- 
abeth, born April 24, 1687; Joanna, born Feb. 
27, 1689 ; Mary, born April 26, 1691 ; Nathan- 
iel, born Oct. 3, 1693; Isaac, born Dec. 29, 
1695; Barnabas, born Jan. 1, 1697-98; and 
Joanna (2), born June 8, 1700. The father 
was a deacon of the church. He died Dec. 17, 
1724, in Plympton, in his seventy-fourth year. 

(III) Lieut. Nathaniel Atwood (3), son of 
Nathaniel, born Oct. 3, 1693, married (first) 
Mary, daughter of Francis Adams, and (sec- 
ond) Oct. 7, 1747, Mrs. Abigail Lucas. Mr. 
Atwood served as lieutenant in the military 
company of the town. He lived in that part 
of Plymouth which became Plympton. His 
children were : Mary, born in 1723, who mar- 
ried Benjamin Shaw; Natha'niel, born in 1725; 
Francis, born in 1728 (bom to the first mar- 
riage) ; Sarah, who married Joseph Barrows; 
Mercy, who married Joseph Warren; Ebenezer, 



39 



610 



SOUTHEASTEEN MASSACHUSETTS 



born in 1735; Kezjah, bom in 1737; William, 
born in 1740; Joseph, born in 1741; and 
Ichabod, born in 1744 (by the second mar- 
riage). 

(IV) Ichabod Atwood, son of Lieut. Na- 
thaniel, born in 1744, in that part of Plympton 
which became Carver, Mass., married Hannah, 
born in 1751, daughter of Capt. Nathaniel and 
Hannah (Perkins) Shaw, of Plympton. Twelve 
children were born to them, all of whom lived 
to attain middle life, among them being a son 
Nathaniel, born April 28, 1782. The father 
was a farmer and also a dealer in lumber, wood 
and charcoal. The mother's father, Capt. 
Nathaniel Shaw, was a Patriot of the Revolu- 
tion, commanding a company in that mem- 
orable conflict. 

(V) Nathaniel Atwood (3), son of Ichabod, 
born April 28, 1782, in Middleboro, Mass., 
married Zilpha, born in 1782, daughter of 
Francis and Mary (Shaw) ShurtlefE, of 
Plympton and Carver, Mass., and of their chil- 
dren the following reached mature years: 
'Flora, who married Elijah Hackett; Ichabod 
F., of Middleboro, Mass.; and Eeuel, Gardiner 
and Polly died young. Natlianiel Atwood in- 
herited the homestead, and like his father 
before him was occupied in farming and dealt 
in lumber, wood and charcoal. 

(VI) Ichabod F. Atwood, son of Nathaniel 
(3), was born in Fall Brook, Middleboro, 
March 13, 1820. He attended the district 
school and Peirce Academy, and at about the 
age of fifteen began to teach. For some thirty 
years he followed this profession, and with the 
exception of a single year confined his efforts 
to Plymouth county. For several years he was 
connected with the mills at Fall Brook and 
Eock, making his home in the latter town after 
1866. In politics he was a Eepublican, and 
filled many important local offices, being justice 
of the peace over forty-five years, surveyor 
forty years, selectman and overseer of the poor 
three years, member of the school committee 
several years, and auditor and assessor. He 
was often called upon to administer estates. 
In his religious belief he was a Methodist. In 
1841 he married Abigail T. Thomas, daughter 
of Harvey C. and Hannah C. (Atwood) 
Thomas, and they had four children: Emery 
F., Charles Nelson, Harvey N. and Hannah 
Z. Mr. Atwood died at. his home in Rock in 
1901, aged eighty-one years, and was buried 
in the Atwood lot_in the Fall Brook cemetery, 
on the same farni where he was born. His 
wife died in 1906, aged eighty-four years, and 
was buried in the same cemetery. 

(VII) Charles Nelson Atwood, son of Ich- 



abod F., born June 22, 1844, grew to manhood 
on the farm, and what education he obtained 
was received in the public schools of Middle- 
boro. He worked on the home place and in 
the mill until 1879, when he took charge of 
the mill and box manufacturing plant, where 
he has continued for the past thirty-two years 
with great success. He has made extensive 
improvements in the plant, and in 1904 he 
admitted his son Levi 0. into partnership with 
him, the firm name being changed to C. N. 
Atwood & Son. Close attention to business, 
untiring energy and upright principles have 
marked Mr. Atwood's business career, and he 
is reaping his reward not alone in worldly 
goods but in the respect of his associates. He 
built a modern home at Eock, and there he 
has since lived in comfort. 

Mr. Atwood is a man of progressive ideas 
and public spirit. He has taken a leading, 
part in public affairs, and is at present filling 
the office of selectman, to which he was elected 
in 1908. In politics he is a stanch Eepublican, 
and in religious faith a Congregationalist, be- 
ing at the present time treasurer of the Con- 
gregational Society of Eock, which office he has 
held for a number of years. For several years 
he has been a trustee of the Young Men's 
Christian Association. He is also a trustee of 
the Middleboro Savings Bank, and of the Co- 
operative Bank, of Middleboro. He is a lover 
of outdoor life, and finds great enjoyment in 
automobiling. Mr. and Mrs. Atwood have 
traveled extensively in this country as well as 
in Europe; they have made several trips to 
California and Mexico. 

On Oct. 23, 1866, Mr. Atwood married 
(first) Eozilla A. Barrows, daughter of Wil- 
liam Orville and Amanda N. (Wood) Barrows. 
She died Nov. 22, 1874, in the twenty-ninth 
year of her age, and was buried in the ceme- 
tery at Eock. To this union were born: (1) 
Alton Barrows, born Sept. 20, 1868, is men- 
tioned below. (2) Levi Orville, born May 4, 
1870, is the junior member of the firm of C. 
N. Atwood & Son. He is also a director of 
the Middleboro National Bank, and a trustee 
of the Cooperative Bank; and president of the 
Business Men's Club and of the Young Men's 
Christian Association, of Middleboro. On Sept. 
27, 1892, he married (first) Eva G. Tinkham, 
and his second marriage was to Gertrude Col- 
lier. He has three children, two by the first 
marriage, Eose Anita, bom Oct. 24, 1897, and 
Marian Nelson, born May 18, 1899; and one 
by the second, Grace Elizabeth, born Aug. 27, 
1908. 

Mr. Charles N. Atwood married (second) 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



611 



Oct. 17, 1876, Sarah A. Gibbs, daughter of 
Francis Bradford and Tirzah Swift (Morse) 
Gibbs, of Middleboro, a descendant of one of 
the oldest families of Barnstable county, and 
as well a descendant of Revolutionary stock 
through the Morse family. By this union 
there is one son, Ichabod F., born Feb. 28, 
1883, who graduated from the Massachusetts 
School of Technology in 1903, and is now 
engaged in box manufacturing in Chelsea with 
his brother; he is unmarried. 

(VIII) Alton Baeeows Atwood, eldest 
son of Charles N. and Rozilla (Barrows) 
Atwood, was born at Rock, town of Middleboro, 
Sept. 20, 1868. He attended the public and 
high schools of Middleboro, graduating from 
the latter in 1885. He then began to learn 
the boxmaking business in his father's factory 
at Rock, where he continued until 1893, be- 
coming familiar with all branches of the bus- 
iness. In the latter year he went to Chelsea, 
Mass., and there formed a partnership with H. 
P. McManus, under the firm name of Atwood 
& McManus, the father, Charles N. Atwood, 
owning a third interest in the business. Here 
a large plant was built, and the manufacture 
of wooden boxes and packing cases was begun 
on June 1, 1893, since which time they have 
been kept busy with the increasing demand for 
the product, now having one of the largest 
factories of the kind in New England. On 
Sept. 21, 1908, the plant was destroyed by 
fire, after having escaped the great Chelsea fire 
of but a few months before, and they met with 
a heavy loss. However, they were not .dismayed, 
and in place of the first structure they erected 
fine brick buildings, fully equipped with up-to- 
date machinery, which was put into operation 
June 1, 1909. The firm owns timber tracts in 
many parts of New England, from which the 
supply of lumber is obtained, and also has 
several sawmills in operation. Mr. Atwood is 
a man of progressive ideas, and is farsighted 
in his investments. He gives his entire time 
and attention to the business he knows so thor- 
oughly, and his genial personality has made 
him friends with the trade and with his em- 
ployees as well. In politics he is a stanch 
Republican, but he takes no active part in 
party work. Fraternally he is a member of 
Robert Lash Lodge, A. P. & A. M., of Chel- 
sea. He is also identified with the financial 
institutions of Chelsea, being vice president of 
the Chelsea Trust Company, and a trustee of 
the County Savings Bank. Mr. Atwood is a 
member of the First Congregational Church of 
Chelsea, and has served as treasurer of the 
church and as a member of the prudential 



committee; he was also chairman of the build- 
ing committee which had charge of the erection 
of the present church edifice, which was built 
in 1905-06. 

In January, 1895, Mr. Atwood married 
Maud L. Webster, of Chelsea, who died Sept. 
7, 1900. On April 17, 1907, he married (sec- 
ond) Mabel E. Coan, of Everett, and they have 
one child, Charles Nelson, 2d, bom May 
1, 1909. 



Barrows. The Barrows family, to which 
the late Mrs. Charles N. Atwood belonged, was 
early settled in the Massachusetts Bay Colony. 
John Barrus (or Barrows, etc.), born in 1609, 
in England, at the age of twenty-eight, left 
Yarmouth, England, his wife Anne accompany- 
ing him, and came to America, settling at 
Salem, in the Massachusetts Bay Colony. He 
and his wife received grants of land in Salem 
in 1637, and were inhabitants of that town for 
twenty-eight years, and all their children were 
born there. They removed to Plymouth before 
1665, and John, the immigrant, died there in 
1692. His will shows that he left a second 
wife, younger than himself, and four sons: 
Robert; John; Benajah, who lived in Attle- 
boro; and Ebenezer, who lived in Cumberland, 
R. I.; and two daughters, Mary and Deborah. 

Robert Barrows, born in Salem, Massachu- 
setts Bay Colony, removed with his father to 
Plymouth. He had by his first wife, Ruth 
(Bonum), four children: John, born in 1667, 
who died in Plymouth in 1720; George, born 
in 1670; Samuel, who died in Middleboro in 
1755; and Mehetabel, who married Adam 
Wright. He married (second) Lydia Dunham 
and had children : Robert, born in 1689, who 
died in Mansfield, Conn., in 1779; Thankful, 
born in 1692, who married Isaac King; Elisha, 
who died in 1767 in Rochester, Mass. ; Thomas, 
who died in Mansfield in 1779; Lydia, who 
married Thomas Branch; and Capt. George. 

Samuel Barrows, son of Robert, was bom in 
1672. He settled in Middleboro, and in about 
1700 built a garrison house which is still 
standing and known as the old Barrows house. 
He was elected deacon of the First Church 
in 1725. He married (first) Mercy Coombs, 
who died in 1718, and (second) Joanna Smith. 
He died Dec. 30, 1755, aged eighty-three years. 

There, too, was a Samuel Barrows, who is 
judged by Weston, in his work on Middleboro, 
Mass., to be a son of the immigrant settler 
John Barrows, who was an early settler of 
Middleboro, and before the breaking out of 
King Philip's war, 1675, had built a dam 



613 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



across the Nemasket river, some fifty rods above 
the present Star Mills, and erected a gristmill, 
in which he worked. On the morning of the 
attack upon the town, after the Indians had 
been shot, he saw a band approacliing the mill, 
and fled to the fort uninjured. The records of 
the First Church of Middleboro show that he 
had acquired a share in the Twenty-six Men's 
Purchase before the breaking out of the war. 
This much concerning the early history of the 
Middleboro Barrows family, but in the absence 
of earlier vital records of the especial branch 
of the Barrows family treated below the con- 
nection between the earlier and later family 
is rendered impracticable to make. 

Benjamin Barrows lived in Middleboro and 
was the father of Nathaniel Barrows, who 
married Hannah Jones. 

Nathaniel Barrows, son of Benjamin, was 
bom in Middleboro. To him and his wife 
Hannah Jones were born children as follows: 
Lois, born May 28, 1767; Eunice, Oct. 13, 
1769 (died Aug. 22, 1791); Abisha, Jan. 3, 
1772; Nathaniel, March 24, 1774; Abigail, 
July 31, 1776; Josiah, July 25, 1778; Asa, 
Feb. 25, 1781 ; Freeman, March 22, 1783 ; Nel- 
son, Sept. 23, 1786; and Stillman, Sept. 3, 
1789. The father of these children died Nov. 
15, 1803, in Middleboro, aged sixty-two years. 

Asa Barrows, son of Nathaniel, was born in 
Middleboro Feb. 25, 1781. He married Sarah 
Cobb, and they had a son, William Orville. 

William Orville Barrows, son of Asa, mar- 
ried in Middleboro, Feb. 18, 1826, Amanda N. 
Wood, daughter of Noah and Nancy (Norton) 
Wood, and their children were : Levi Marshall, 
born May 13, 1828, died Oct. 19, 1828 ; Nancy 
N., born Dec. 26, 1829, died Dec. 4, 1866; 
Deborah Shaw, born Feb. 26, 1832, married 
June 1, 1850, Josiah B. Thomas, and resides 
at Peabody, Mass. ; Rozilla Amanda, born June 
23, 1846, married Oct. 23, 1866, Charles N. 
Atwood, and died Nov. 22, 1874. 

HATHAWAY. (I) Nicholas Hathaway 
was one among a company of men migrating 
from some of the older towns who went to re- 
side within the borders of Taunton, and were 
designated as "first settlers," a term which has 
adhered and served to distinguish them from 
the first purchasers. Mr. Hathaway had so- 
journed for a time at Boston and purchased 
lands in that vicinity before going to Taunton; 
land was granted to him at Mount Woollystone 
in February, 1639, he being then designated of 
Monaticott. It seems that in that year, or 
1640, he went to Taunton, where he became an 
extensive land owner. He had a son John, and 



probably Joseph and Jacob Hathaway, of Taun- 
ton, were also his sons. 

(II) John Hathaway, born in 1629, was at 
Taunton with his father and the time of their 
going there is determined by a deposition in 
which John makes the declaration that his 
knowledge of the boundaries and occupation of 
certain portions of the town extended as far 
back as 1639 and 1640. His name appears with 
those who in 1657 had taken the oath of fidelity. 
In 1658 he purchased with two associates four 
hundred acres of "meadow and upland" in that 
part of Taunton which afterward became in- 
corporated as the town of Berkley. In 1659, 
when a division of land was made, John Hath- 
away was recorded as having seven heads in 
his family and received a share in proportion 
to that number. He was made a freeman in 
1670. In 1671 he purchased the eighteenth 
lot of the Freetown lands and thereupon estab- 
lished his eldest son, John Hathaway, Jr. In 
1676 he was chosen constable, then an office 
of great responsibility and power. He was 
elected deputy in 1680 and served five successive 
years; and in 1681 he was chosen one of the 
selectmen of the town. He was again constable 
in 1690, when engaged in reorganizing the 
military companies, in one of which he served 
as ensign. He was again elected deputy to the 
General Court at Plymouth in 1691. In 1695 
a company of well-known citizens, with John 
Hathaway, Sr., of the number, set up a bloom- 
ery or forge on Stony brook, which was after- 
ward known as the Leonard Iron Works of 
Norton. He was a representative to the Massa- 
chusetts General Court in 1696 and 1697. Mr. 
Hathaway was twice married ; the Christian 
name of his first wife, the mother of his chil- 
dren, was Martha, and that of the second Ruth. 
Both he and his wife Ruth died in 1705, she 
in September of that year. His home was in 
that part of Berkley known as "The Farms." 
Mr. Hathaways children were : John, born in 
1650; Abraham, born in 1652; Isaac, born in 
1655; Ephraim, born in 1661; Abigail, and 
Rebecca. Of these, Abraham married Rebecca 
Wilbore and settled in Berkley, and died in 
1725. Isaac married Mary Pitts, settled in 
Berkley, and died in 1722. Ephraim married 
and settled in Dighton, and died in 1718. 
Rebecca married Jared Talbot, theirs being the 
first marriage recorded in the town of Dighton. 

(III) John Hathaway (2), born in' 1650, 
married Hannah, daughter of James Burt, and 
settled in Freetown, where he died in 1730. As 
stated, his father had installed him upon the 
lot of the Freetown lands he purchased in 1671. 
He became one of the leading citizens there. 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



613 



(IV) Isaac Hathaway, son of John (2), set- 
tled in Berkley, Mass., where he died. He is 
said to have inherited a part of the homestead 
of his father, and also the iron forge which 
was established by his father, the first forge 
in the town ; he also owned a mill, and, as may 
be judged, was a man of snap and enterprise. 
On Feb. 22, 1711, he married Sarah Makepeace, 
and they had children born as follows: Sarah, 
Nov. 14, 1712; Anna, Dec. 7, 1714; Eebecea, 
March 1, 1716; Abijah, March 21, 1719; 
Thomas, March 23, 1721; Nicholas, April 1, 
1723; and Peleg. Of these, Nicholas inherited 
a part of the original purchase — the eighteenth 
lot of the Freetown lands — made by his great- 
grandfather John Hathaway. On Sept. 8, 1744, 
he married Rebecca Merrick, and his children 
were : Stephen, Elkanah, Isaac, Sarah, Dighton 
and Rebecca. 

(V) Thomas Hathaway, son of Isaac and 
Sarah (Makepeace) Hathaway, bom in Free- 
town March 23, 1721, married (first) Jerusha 
Hathaway. Children: Samuel and Thomas 
(baptized Oct. 16, 1759). By his second wife, 
Abigail Babbitt, he also had two children, 
Abner and Abbey, twins. 

(VI) Samuel Hathaway, son of Thomas and 
Jerusha (Hathaway) Hathaway^ baptized Oct. 
16, 1759, married Mary Evans, of Freetown. 
Children: Samuel, born Aug. 31, 1781, who 
married Hannah Cook; Evans, born March 7, 
1783; Hannah, born April 26, 1785; Jerusha, 
born March 17, 1787; Thomas, born Jan. 18, 
1789; Peleg, born Aug. 2, 1791; Isaac, born 
Aug. 21, 1794; Rosamond, born Aug. 15, 1796 
(died unmarried) ; Lucy, who married Eben 
Delano, of Fairhaven; Polly; and Sally, who 
died unmarried. 

(VII) Samuel Hathaway (2), son of 
Samuel and Mary (Evans) Hathaway, born 
Aug. 31, 1781, married Hannah Cook, who was 
born March 6, 1773, and they had children as 
follows: Samuel, born Oct. 31, 1807; Evans, 
who died at sea June 10, 1842, at the age of 
twenty-five years; Hannah, who married Alan- 
son Sweet and lived in Cumberland, R. I.; and 
Mary, who died unmarried Feb. 5, 1842, aged 
thirty-two. 

(VIII) Samuel Hathaway (3), son of 
Samuel (2) and Hannah (Cook) Hathaway, 
was born Oct. 31, 1807, in Freetown, Mass. 
His father dying, the mother and her four 
children removed to Fall River in 1817, when 
Samuel was ten years of age. He being the 
eldest child circumstances made it necessary 
for him to assist in the support of the family, 
and he had but meager school advantages. He 
began employment in 1824 at Robeson's Print 



Works and in time learned the art of color 
mixing and became overseer of the color mixing 
department of the works. He retained this 
position for a number of years, until he became 
manager, which position he retained until the 
concern changed hands, in 1848, Andrew Robe- 
son, the principal proprietor, then retiring 
from business. This change in ownership of 
the business made one in the life of Mr. Hatha- 
way, who then engaged in farming near the 
then village, as it were, of Fall River, an occu- 
pation he practically continued in through the 
remainder of his life. 

Mr. Hathaway developed into one of the 
foremost citizens of his day in Fall River. 
Possessing a rugged, independent character, he 
was always bold in his denunciation of what 
he considered shams and frauds and earnest 
in the defense of what he thought was just and 
true. He was largely interested in the manu- 
facturing interests of Fall River, having been 
a prime mover in organizing the Robeson Mills, 
and an active participant in the founding of 
the Stafford and Davol Mills. He was a director 
of them all and also of the Watuppa and Granite 
Mills from their organization until the time 
of his death, and was president of the Robeson 
Mills. He was also a director of the Manufac- 
turers' Gas Company. He was active in the 
organization of the Citizens' Savings Bank of 
Fall River in 1851, and from the start until 
his death was a member of the bank's board 
of investment. He assisted in organizing, ill 
1854, the Pocasset Bank, of which from the 
start on through his life he was a director, and 
its president during the last decade or more of 
his life. As a banker he was noted for his 
sound judgment, strict integrity and faithful 
performance of all the trusts reposed in him. 
Mr. Hathaway had little or no taste for 
politics and political preferment, yet he ever 
had a great interest in the public welfare and 
performed his duty in citizenship in the way of 
earnest support of correct principles and the 
putting of the most suitable men into oflSce. 
He was for one year a member of the board 
of aldermen, but declined a reelection at the 
expiration of his term of office. He was asked 
a number of times to become a candidate for 
the office of mayor, but as often declined. Per- 
haps no one in Fall River of his day enjoyed 
the confidence of the people of the city to a 
greater extent than Mr. Hathaway. His judg- 
ment was valued by his associates in the many 
official relations he sustained. He was an 
earnest friend of temperance and active in 
every effort for the moral welfare of the city. 
He was a friend to the widow and the orphan. 



614 



SOUTHEASTEEN MASSACHUSETTS 



His life was well lived and the memory of its 
uprightness and of his good deeds has lived 
after him. 

On March 3, 1832, Mr. Hathaway was mar- 
ried to Abby, born Aug. 10, 1811, in Fall Eiver, 
daughter of Joseph and Rhoda (Borden) War- 
ren. Ten children blessed the marriage, those 
who survived the father being: Abbie (born 
Oct. 7, 1833, died Oct. 20, 1895), wife of 
Eleazer Waldron, of Fall Eiver; Edward E. 
(born Oct. 14, 1836), who died May 9, 1911; 
Marion A. (born May 31, 1841), wife of Henry 
Frye, of Providence, E. I.; Samuel W. (born 
Aug. 3, 1843) ; and Clarence M. (born April 
38, 1855). 

Mr. Hathaway died at his home in Fall 
Biver, Mass., April 4, 1873, when in the sixty- 
sixth year of his age; Mrs. Hathaway died 
Feb. 10, 1869. 

(IX) Edwakd E. Hathaway, son of Samuel 
and Abby (Warren) Hathaway, was born in 
Fall Eiver Oct. 14, 1836, and after attending 
the public schools there went to Middleboro 
Academy to finish his education. His father 
had been one of the promoters of the Citizens' 
Savings Bank when it was organized in 1851 
as the Savings Bank in Tiverton, and on June 
12, 1854, Edward E. Hathaway was elected 
assistant treasurer of the institution. The 
Pocasset Bank of Tiverton (later the Pocasset 
National Bank of Fall Eiver) began operations 
the following month, in the same office, and 
he also became a clerk of that. He continued 
in the banking business throughout his life. 
In 1862 William H. Brackett, the first treasurer 
of the Savings Bank and the first cashier of 
the Pocasset Bank, resigned to become cashier 
of the Washington Bank of Boston, and Mr. 
Hathaway succeeded him in both positions, to 
which he was elected Dec. 9th of that year. He 
continued as cashier of the Pocasset Bank until 
1903, when it united with the Massasoit Na- 
tional and the National Union Banks to form 
the present Massasoit Pocasset National Bank, 
of which he became vice president and director. 
He was one of the committee which had 
cliarge of the erection of its new building. He 
continued as treasurer of the Savings Bank 
until his death, having held that position al- 
most forty years. On April 15, 1873, he suc- 
ceeded his father as director of the Pocasset 
National Bank, and became a trustee of the 
Savings Bank in 1900. 

. When Mr. Hathaway first became associated 
with the Savings Bank it was but a small insti- 
tution, located in the brick building still stand- 
ing on the northeast corner of South Main and 
Eodman streets, then in Ehode Island, the Fall 



Eiver Union Bank building. The change in 
the boundary line between Massachusetts and 
Ehode Island, in March, 1862, brought the bank 
within Massachusetts territory, and it assumed 
its present title of Citizens' Savings Bank and 
removed to an office on the northwest corner 
of the first floor of the City Hall, where it re- 
mained until 1873, when, with the Pocasset 
Bank, with which it had been associated from 
the time the latter was formed, it occupied the 
present quarters at the corner of Main and 
Bedford streets, the Savings Bank purchasing 
same from the Pocasset when the latter went 
out of business. Under Mr. Hathaway's 
direction the Citizens' Bank grew until it now 
has over eight thousand depositors, and deposits 
of more than five million dollars. 

In addition to his long connection with local 
banking interests Mr. Hathaway was for many 
years identified with the cotton manufacturing 
industry in Fall Eiver, was one of the first board • 
of directors of the Osborn Mills, of which he 
continued to be a director up to the time of 
his death, and was president of three corpora- 
tions, the Chace Mills (from 1886), the Granite 
Mills (from 1904) and the Stafford Mills (for 
a shorter period). 

In all his relations Mr. Hathaway displayed 
marked faithfulness to duty and devotion to 
the interests in his charge. His only public 
office was that of sinking fund commissioner, 
which he held continuously from 1879 until his 
death. Though in poor health for some years, 
and perceptibly worse during his last few 
months, he attended to his business affairs to 
the very end, dying May 9, 1911, at the age of 
seventy-four years. "He was of a reserved and 
retiring nature, though always courteous with 
all who came in contact with him, always well 
liked by all who were privileged to know him 
at all well. His associates in business held him 
in very high regard, and so did all who worked 
under him. In his position as one of its lead- 
ing bankers he had much to do with the ad- 
vancement of the city." 

On March 16, 1869, Mr. Hathaway married 
Ella B. Coggeshall, daughter of Capt. Frederick 
B. Coggeshall, and they had one child, Mary, 
born in 1872, who died at the age of twelve 
years. Mrs. Hathaway died Jan. 2, 1903. Mr. 
Hathaway was a member of no church or so- 
ciety, but attended the Central Congregational 
Church. 

(IX) Samuel West Hathaway, son of 
Samuel and Abby (Warren) Hathaway, was 
born in Fall Eiver, Mass., Aug. 3, 1843. He 
received his educational training in the public 
schools of Fall Eiver, and for three years in 



SOUTHEASTEKN MASSACHUSETTS 



615 



early life followed the trade of machinist. 
Working first at the Watuppa Mill as a 
mechanic, he finally became superintendent, and 
in 1871 became the superintendent of the 
Stafford Mill, which position he held for thirty- 
two years, retiring in 1903. He is the oldest 
director of the Stafford Mill and is a member 
of the board of investment of the Citizens' Sav- 
ings Bank of Fall Eiver. Mr. Hathaway mar- 
ried Sept. 1, 1864, Sarah D. Eddy, daughter 
of Jervis W. Eddy, of Somerset, and to them 
were born four children, viz. : Samuel E., 
Nov. 3, 1865, is mentioned below ; Abby Warren, 
March 11, 1873, married David T. Wilcox and 
had a son, Samuel Edward H. ; Danforth Hor- 
ton, March 17, 1881, married Anna Osborn 
Swift, and has Samuel W. and Orson (he is 
treasurer of the Pilgrim Mill of Fall River, 
and of the Barrowsville Bleachery) ; and Joseph 
H., July 2, 1884, treasurer of Wilcox & Hatha- 
way, cloth brokers in Fall Eiver. 

(X) Samdel E. Hathaway, late superin- 
tendent of the Fall Biver Iron Works Company, 
was born Nov. 3, 1865, son of Samuel W. Hath- 
away. He was educated in the public and high 
schools of Fall Eiver, and then started out at 
the age of nineteen, to learn practical manu- 
facturing at the Stafford Mill, where he finally 
became an overseer in the card room. In July, 
1889, at the age of twenty-four years, he was 
selected bv M. C. D. Borden for superintendent 
of the Iron Works Mills, and he superin- 
tended the construction of No. 1 Mill and all 
of those following, at the same time buying 
all the cotton and supplies for the entire plant 
and acting as the superintendent of the several 
mills. As a manufacturer he was very success- 
ful, his energy and untiring labor contributing 
largely to the success of the Iron Works Com- 
pany. Mr. Hathaway was a thirty-second-de- 
gree Mason, a past master of King Philip 
Lodge, and a past commander of Godfrey de 
Bouillon Commandery. A fine musician, he 
weekly entertained a gathering of some of his 
musical friends at his home, and took great en- 
joyment in it. 

On Feb. 15, 1887, Mr. Hathaway married 
Maud Clifton, daughter of Theodore W. 
Borden, and granddaughter of Cook Borden. 
Their children were : Alice Borden, born Sept. 
5, 1893, who graduated from the Fall River 
High School in 1910 and then attended Lasell 
Seminary; and Theodore Borden, born Aug. 
22, 1896. 

Mr. Hathaway had not been in good health 
for a number of years before his death, and 
had taken several trips abroad in the hope of 
regaining his strength, but in spite of all that 



medical skill could do for him he closed his life 
work on the afternoon of Nov. 16, 1910. On 
the day of the funeral the entire plant of the 
Iron Works Company was closed as a tribute 
of respect. 

(IX) Clarence M. Hathaway, son of 
Samuel, born April 28, 1855, in Tiverton (now 
a part of Fall Eiver), was educated in the 
public schools of Fall River, graduating from 
the high school in 1875. His first business 
employment was as a clerk in the cotton mill 
now known as the Fall River Print Works. 
From there he changed to the Robeson Mills, 
as bookkeeper under Linden Cook, the treasurer 
of the works at that time, and so well ,did he 
apply and adapt himself to the business that 
upon the death of Mr. Cook he succeeded him 
in the treasurership. He was retained in that 
position until the reorganization of the Eobeson 
Mills, in 1897, when, upon the organization of 
the selling committee for the mills, he became 
bookkeeper. When that arrangement was aban- 
doned, in 1901, Mr. Hathaway became the sec- 
retary of the Cotton Manufacturers' Association, 
a position he still fills. He has given all his 
time and energy to business, taking no part at 
any time in public matters. His standing 
among his business associates, for both ability 
and unquestionable uprightness of character, is 
of the highest. 

On Nov. 12, 1889, Mr. Hathaway married 
Alice R. Taber, daughter of Capt. Jacob and 
Hannah (Blackmer) Taber, of New Bedford. 
They have no children. Mr. Hathaway is a 
member of the Unitarian Church at Fall River. 

Mr. Hathaways maternal lineage, in the 
Warren line, is traced back in America to 
bichard Warren, of the "Mayflower," 1620, 
from whom he is a descendant in the ninth 
generation. In the Old World, however, the 
line is traced back to the ninth century. We 
have the following account of this family: 

In the ninth or tenth century a Danish 
knight and wife had children: Gunnora, who 
married Richard (I), Duke of Normandy; 
Herfastes, who married Walter de H. Martine ; 
and four other daughters. About the year 900 
King Charles of France, called the "Simple," 
conferred on Rollo (or Rolf) the Duchy after- 
ward called Normandy. Rollo (or Rolf) was 
a Dane and was one of the celebrated Normans 
(a Northman) in the invasion of that country 
by the Danish so-called "sea robbers," or sea 
kings. Rollo (or Rolf) while living in and 
holding that country married Poppa, a daugh- 
ter of Bevangarius, Count of Bayeaux. Rollo 
(or Rolf) died in 931. Rollo (first Duke of 
Normandy) and Poppa had children : William, 



616 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



second Duke of Normandy, called Longsword; 
and Robert, fifth Count of Corbiel. 

William, second Duke of Normandy, married 
Adela, daughter of Hubert, Count of Senlis. 
William was slain in 948. His wife Adela died 
in 960. They had children: Richard (I), 
called the "Fearless," and Walter de H. Martine. 
Richard the Fearless married Gunnora, daugh- 
ter of a Danish knight, as previously recorded, 
and had children: Richard (II), surnamed 
the "Good," and Emma, who married Ethelred 
(II), of England. Richard (II) was father 
of Richard (III) and Robert the "Magnificent." 
Robert was the father of William the Conqueror, 
who was born out of wedlock, his mother being 
Aletta (or Herlava), the daughter of a tanner. 

Walter de H. Martine, second son of Wil- 
liam (second Duke of Normandy), married 
Herfastes, daughter of a Danish knight, and 
their son was William de Warrenne, first Earl 
of Warrenne in Normandy. The latter married 
a daughter of Ralph de Forta, and their son, 
William de Warrenne, was by inheritance sec- 
ond Earl of Warrenne in Normandy, but by 
act of William the Conqueror (whose daughter 
Gundreda he married) was created first Earl 
of Warren and Surrey in England. The first 
Warren known on English soil was William, 
first Earl of Warren and Surrey, son of Wil- 
liam de Warrenne, first Earl of Warrenne in 
Normandy. He accompanied William the 
Conqueror to England, took an important part 
in the battle of Hastings, fought Oct. 14, 1066, 
and was so highly esteemed by the Conqueror 
that the latter gave him lands in almost every 
county in England and also conferred on him 
the Earldom of Surrey. Settling in England, 
he selected for his residence the village of 
Lewes, in the County of Sussex. (He is No. 13 
in the genealogy.) 

He married Gundreda, daughter of William 
the Conqueror, and their children were William 
(second Earl of Warren and Surrey) and four 
more children. 

William, second Earl of Warren and Surrey, 
was amono those who took part with Robert, 
Duke of Normand^', and when the latter landed 
at Portsmouth in the autumn of 1101 William 
■joined his standard. This William married 
Isabel, third daughter of Hugh the Great, who 
was Earl of Vernandoise. 

William, third Earl of Warren and Surrey, 
was slain in the second crusade. 

Reginald de Warren was heir to William, 
third Earl of Warren and Surrey. He married 
Adela, daughter of Sir Roger de Mowbray, 
Knight, the renowned leader in the second 
crusade. Reginald de Warren and Adela, his 



wife, had a son William de Warren, who mar- 
ried Isabel, daughter of Sir William de Hayden, 
Knight. Their son. Sir John Warren, married 
Alice, daughter of Roger de Townsend, Esq. 
Sir John Warren and wife Alice had a son John. 
This Sir John Warren married Joan, daughter 
of Sir Hugh de Port, Knight. Sir John War- 
ren and wife Joan had a son Edward.^ Sir 
Edward Warren married Maud, a daughter of 
Richard de Skeyton, and their son. Sir Edward 
Warren, married Cicely, daughter of Nicholas 
de Eaton, Knight. Sir Edward Warren and 
his wife Cicely had a son John. Sir John 
Warren married Agnes, daughter of Sir Richard 
de Wymington, Knight, and their son. Sir 
Lawrence Warren, Knight, married Margery, 
a daughter of Hugh Bulkley, Esq., of Ware 
in Shropsliire. Sir Lawrence Warren and 
Margery, his wife, had a son John, who married 
Isabel, daughter of Sir John Stanley, Knight. 
John Warren and Isabel, his wife, had Sir 
Lawrence Warren, who married Isabel, daugh- 
ter of Sir Robert Leigh, Knight. Sir Lawrence 
Warren and Isabel, his wife, had a son William, 
seated at Countan, in Nottinghamshire, he 
married Anne; died May 1, 1496. William 
Warren and wife Anne had John, who married 
Elizabeth; he died in 1525. John Warren 
and his wife Elizabeth had John of Headbury, 
in the parish of Ashburton, in Devonshire, Eng- 
land. John of Headbury and his wife had 
Christopher, who married and had a son Wil- 
liam, who married Anne, daughter of Thomas 
Mable, of Calstock, in Cornwall. William 
Warren and Anne, his wife, had a son Christo- 
pher, who married Alice, daughter of Thomas 
Webb, of Sidnam in Devonshire. Christopher 
Warren and Alice, his wife, had Rev. Robert, 
known as the "parson of Rome," John, Thomas 
(no information in relation to him), Richard, 
Christopher (who married Sarah Opie, in Ply- 
mouth, England) and William (merchant in 
London, England, married Mary, daughter of 
William Culling or Cutting). Of these, John 
(according to Thomas C. Armory, one of his 
descendants) was born about 1581, died 1667; 
he came with Sir Richard Saltonstall in Win- 
throp's fleet in 1630. He settled at Watertown, 
Mass., and was the ancestor of General Warren, 
and also ancestor of the late Dr. John C. War- 
ren, of Boston, who spent considerable time 
and a large amount of money. in England and 
France getting the records and tracing the 
lineage of the Warren family from the eighth 
and ninth centuries to the present. 

The American line which we are tracing is 
given in detail as follows : 

(I) Richard Warren, noted above as son of 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



617 



Christopher and Alice, was a merchant, of 
Greenwich, in the County of Kent, England, 
and was one of the Pilgrims who came in the 
"Mayiiower," 1620. His wife and children 
came subsequently, he having left tliem in Eng- 
land. He was the ancestor of Gen. Joseph 
Warren, who was killed at the battle of Bunker 
Hill, and was also the ancestor of the branch 
of the Hathaway family outlined in the preced- 
ing, through Salome Cushman. Richard 
Warren married Elizabeth (Juatt) Marsh, 
widow, and she came to Plymouth with her 
children on the "Little James" or "Ann" in 
1623. She died in Plymouth in 1673, aged 
ninety years; he died in Plymouth in 1628. 
They had children: Elizabeth, who married 
Sergt. Richard Church; Mary; Ann; Sarah, 
and Abigail — all born in England; and two 
sons born in America, Nathaniel ^nd Joseph. 

Sergt. Richard Church, husband of Elizabeth 
Warren, was a volunteer soldier in the Ply- 
mouth Colony forces sent to fight the Pequot 
Indians in 1637 and held the office of sergeant. 
He was by trade a carpenter. Their son, Ben- 
jamin Church, born in 1639, was the celebrated 
warrior and Indian fighter who destroyed King 
Philip and captured his successor, the chief 
Annawann. A great-grandson of Sergt. Richard 
Church was born at Little Compton and 
christened Thomas. This Thomas Church was 
appointed colonel of one of the Patriot reg- 
iments of Rhode Island in 1775 and was a 
member of the State Senate. 

(II) Nathaniel Warren, son of Richard, had 
twelve children, born as follows : Richard, 
1646; Jabez, 1647; Sarah, 1649; Hope, 1651; 
Jane, 1652; Elizabeth, 1654; Alice, 1656; 
Mercy, 1658; Mary, 1660; Nathaniel, 1661; 
John, 1663; James, 1665. 

(III) Richard Warren (2), son of Nathaniel, 
went to Middleboro and married Sarah. He 
died in 1698, aged about forty-eight years. 

(IV) Samuel Warren, son of Richard (2), 
was born March 7, 1683. He was by trade a 
tanner. He married Elizabeth Bellington Jan. 
26, 1703, and they had eleven children, born as 
follows: Priscilla, 1704; Jabes, 1705; Samuel, 
1707; Cornelius, 1709; James, 1710; Nathan, 
1712; Joseph, 1714; Joanna, 1717; Benjamin, 
1720 ; Sarah, 1721 ; and Josiah, 1724. 

(V) James Warren was a shoemaker. He 
died in Tiverton, R. I., in what is now Fall 
River, Mass., about 1790, in his eightieth year. 
On Sept. 4, 1735, he married Mary Perry, of 
Freetown, and their children were: Samuel, 
born in 1737; Mary, 1739; Cornelius, 1741; 
Gamaliel, 1744; James, 1745. 

(VI) Gamaliel Warren, son of James, mar- 



ried Ruth Jenckes about 1765, and died March 
10, 1807, aged sixty-three years; she died Aug. 
26, 1835, aged eighty-nine years. They had 
children as follows : Perry, 1767 ; Henry, 1769 ; 
Abraham, 1772; Benjamin, 1775; Josepli, 
1776; Elnathan, 1778; Samuel, 1781; Russell, 
1783 ; Ruth, 1785 ; Gamaliel, 1787 ; and Abigail, 
1791. Gamaliel changed his name to Minton. 
(VII) Joseph Warren, son of Gamaliel, was 
a remarkable carver of wood. He married 
Rhoda Borden, and they had six children: 
Marshall, born April 8, 1800; Almira, born 
Jan. 1, 1805 ; Minerva, who married Joseph S. 
Cook; Admiral, born Aug. 24, 1813; Hiram; 
and Abby, born Aug. 10, 1811, who married 
Samuel Hathaway. 

CHARLES EVERETT MOORE, general 
superintendent of the George E. Keith Com- 
pany's extensive shoe manufacturing plants, is 
one of Brockton's best known makers of shoes, 
one who has grown up with the business and 
whose force and energy, combined with natural 
executive ability, have forced him to the front 
rank in the shoe indiistry. He went to work 
at the age of fourteen years sweeping floors in 
a shoe factory, and has risen step by step until 
to-day (1911), at the age of but forty-five 
years, he is in charge of one of the most exten- 
sive shoe manufacturing concerns in the world. 
Mr. Moore was born Nov. 10, 1866, in Milford, 
Mass., son of John Moore, Jr., and Sarah 
Prince (Dudley) Moore. 

John Moore, Sr., his grandfather, was a na- 
tive of England. A musician by profession, 
after coming to America he was for a number 
of years engaged in teaching music. Although 
his favorite instrument was the clarinet, Mr. 
Moore was proficient in the playing of many 
instruments. He finally settled in Sutton, 
Mass., and was leader and instructor of the 
Sutton band for a number of years, and under 
his guidance many of the members of the band 
became adepts. Mr. Moore died Jan. 31, 1876, 
in Sutton, Mass., aged seventy-eight years. He 
married Anna Smith, who died in Milford, 
Mass., the mother of the following children: 
Sarah, who died unmarried; John, Jr., men- 
tioned below; William, a shoemaker by trade; 
Katherine, who married Edward Schofield, and 
died in Boston; Nellie, who died aged nineteen 
years; and Jennie H., who married George H. 
Harris (they reside in Boston). 

John Moore, Jr., father of Charles Everett, 
was bom in Troy, N. Y., Aug. 21, 1831. He 
early in life took up his residence in Milford, 
Mass., and for a number of years followed the 
trade of shoemaking, and later was engaged as 



618 



SOUTHEASTEEN MASSACHUSETTS 



a traveling salesman in the interests of the 
Whittemore pegging machine, which in those 
days was extensively used in the making of 
shoes. Upon the breaking out of the Civil war 
in 1861 Mr. Moore enlisted in Company F, 36th 
Mass. V. I., and served his country until the 
close of the war, taking part in many of the 
battles of that memorable conflict. Returning 
from the war Mr. Moore continued his resi- 
dence at Milford until about 1868, when he 
removed with his family to Holbrook, Mass., 
where the remainder of his life was spent, 
and where he passed away Feb. 13, 1905. Mr. 
Moore was a kind and devoted husband and 
father, and although in ill health for several 
years prior to liis death retained his cheerful 
and kindly manner. He was a consistent mem- 
ber of the Congregational Church at Holbrook, 
and was an active member of Capt. Horace 
Niles Post, No. 110, G. A. E., of Randolph, 
Mass., in which he held various offices. On 
Jan. 15, 1852, Mr. Moore married Sarah Prince 
Dudley, daughter of Peter and Juliette (Eob- 
inson) Dudley, of Sutton, Mass., who survives 
her husband, and makes her home with her son, 
Charles E. Moore. To Mr. and Mrs. Moore 
were born thirteen children, of whom four did 
not outlive infancy. The others were : Edward 
L., a shoe salesman, married Alice Lee, of Bur- 
lington, Vt., where they reside; Frederick H., 
a shoe worker and the inventor and patentee 
among other articles of Moore's Patent Blind 
Opener and Shutter, died in Holbrook in 
March, 1886, aged thirty-three years, unmar- 
ried; Mary Lillian is the wife of Deacon Brad- 
ford H. Nash, and they reside in Brockton; 
William H., a shoe worker, died in Holbrook 
in November, 1885 (he married Hattie Flan- 
ders, of Lawrence, Mass.) ; George E. died in 
infancy; Frank A. died in infancy, as did also 
George (2) ; Charles Everett is mentioned be- 
low; Nettie Frances is unmarried and lives 
with her brother Charles E. 

Charles Everett Moore was born in the old 
shoe town of Milford, Mass., Nov. 10, 1866. 
^Vhen he was but two years of age his parents 
moved to Holbrook, and in the latter town he 
received his schooling, attending first the dis- 
trict schools and then the high school, leaving 
the latter when about thirteen years of age. At 
the age of barely fourteen years he entered 
Thomas White & Co.'s shoe factory under 
Eugene Snell, who was boss of the stitching- 
room, his first duty being the sweeping of the 
floors. He did not sweep floors very long, how- 
ever, being soon put to rimning a Merrick pow- 
er eyeleting machine. From that he entered the 
stitching-room, where for a time he was em- 



ployed stitching straps on the old Don Pedro 
shoes, after which he took up the various 
branches of the work in the stitching-room. 
Some time later, when Mr. Snell gave up his 
place, Mr. Moore was made foreman of this de- 
partment, retaining that position until the firm 
went out of business on the death of Mr. White. 
During his thirteen years' experience with this 
concern Mr. Moore had applied himself to every 
detail of the work of his department, and had 
acquired a thorough knowledge of the business. 
He next became foreman of the stitching-room 
of the S. H. Howe Shoe Company, at Marlboro, 
Mass., in which capacity he remained for about 
a year, when on May 26, 1897, he accepted the 
foremanship of the stitching-room of the 
George E. Keith Company's factory at Cam- 
pello, which at that time consisted of No. 1 
factory, he having charge of about 160 hands. 
He remained in that capacity for about seven 
years, when he was made superintendent of the 
plant, where for the next two years he had 
under his supervision 250 hands. During his 
service with the Keith Company Mr. Moore has 
seen the business grow from a one-factory plant 
to a large industry with seven factories at Cam- 
pello, one at Middleboro, one at North Adams 
and one in East Weymouth, the latter being 
used for the manufacture of ladies' shoes. On 
Jan. 1, 1906, Mr. Moore was made general 
superintendent of the whole system, now having 
supervision of over 4,80D hands, in which he 
is assisted by seven superintendents and sixty- 
three foremen. 

Although exacting and insistent in matters of 
detail, Mr. Moore is popular with his subordi- 
nates. He is an active and prominent member 
of the Brockton Association of Superintendents 
and Foremen, which organization he served as 
president for a period of three years. He was 
one of fifteen judges at the World's Fair, St. 
Louis, 1904, serving in the shoe department, 
and there received a medal and diploma, the 
latter being in recognition of his membership 
on the international board of experts. Frater- 
nally he is a member of Norfolk Lodge, A. F. 
& A.  M., of Eandolph ; Satucket Chapter, E. 
A. M. ; Brockton Council, E. & S. M. ; and Bay 
State Commandery, K. T., of Brockton. He 
is also past chancellor commander of Norfolk 
Lodge, No. 119, K. of P., of Holbrook. He 
belongs to the Commercial and Country Clubs 
of Brockton, and to the New England Order 
of Protection. 

In political faith Mr. Moore is a stalwart 
advocate of the principles of the Eepublican 
party, and while a resident of Holbrook he was 
active in the municipal life of the town, serving 




,' 1- O B 1_ JC- 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



619 



as a member of the board of selectmen for a 
period of three years, the last year of which 
he was chairman of the board. He was also a 
director of the Holbrook Cooperative Bank for 
several years. He has always had a high re- 
gard for the town of Holbrook, where he spent 
his boyhood days, and the town has the use 
of a tract of land he owns, as a park. Since 
coming to Brockton he has taken an active in- 
terest in the Y. M. C. A., giving freely of his 
time and money to advance its interests. He 
and his family belong to the South Congrega- 
tional Church of Campello. 

On Nov. 14, 1888, Mr. Moore married Eva 
Florence Peckham, daughter of Charles and 
Ellen Frances (Thurston) Peckham, of Hol- 
brook, Mass., and they have one daughter, Ha- 
zel Gertrude, born in Holbrook Nov. 24, 1893. 
Mr. Moore's success in life has been due to 
his own energy, perseverance and ability, and 
his rise has shown what a boy can do if he has 
the determination to win. Recently in an ad- 
dress before the Boston Association of Superin- 
tendents and Foremen he made the claim that 
there is no reason to-day why a boy cannot get 
ahead in a shoe factory as well as the boys of 
years ago. 

READ (New Bedford family). The Read 
family of New Bedford, whose head was the 
late Joseph R. Read, who was for many years 
engaged in business here and one of the city's 
substantial men, successful in business and use- 
ful in citizenship, comes of an early family of 
Ancient Rehoboth, this Commonwealth, and Mr. 
Read himself married into one of the ancient 
and prominent families of Portsmouth, Rhode 
Island. 

There follow in chronological order and 
somewhat in detail the successive generations 
of this New Bedford branch of Reads. 

(I) John Read, supposed son of William and 
Lucy (Henage) Read, was bom in 1598, and 
it is said came to America with the great fleet 
in 1630. He is of record in 1637 in Wey- 
mouth, was in Dorchester the next year, and 
went from there to that part of Braintree now 
Quincy. In 1643 or 1644 he accompanied Rev. 
Mr. Newman and his church society to Reho- 
both, where his name appears the third on the 
list of purchasers of the town. He was a man 
of large property for those times, and held the 
ofBce of constable, which was the chief execu- 
tive office in town. He lived in that part of 
Rehoboth now Seekonk, and was a prominent 
and leading man; he kept a public house. He 
died Sept. 7, 1685, aged eighty-seven years. The 
Christian name of his wife was Sarah, and their 



children were : Samuel, William, Abigail, John, 
Thomas, Ezekiel and Zachariah (twins), Moses, 
Mary, Elizabeth, Daniel, Israel and Mehetabel. 

(II) John Read (2), bom Aug. 29, 1640, 
in Braintree, married Rachel. Mr. Read was 
killed by the Indians in the fight March 21, 
1676, sometimes styled "Pierce's Fight." He 
was a prominent man and was distinguished by 
the appellation of "Mr." His children were: 
Sarah, born Dee. 14, 1664; Mehetabel, bom 
April 13, 1667; John, born Dec. 8, 1669; and 
Thomas, born July 23, 1672. 

(III) Thomas Read, born July 23, 1672, 
in Rehoboth, married (first) June 21, 1699, 
Sarah Butterworth, and (second) Martha. Mr. 
Read died Nov. 25, 1748. His children, all 
excepting the eldest born to the second wife, 
were: Patience, born April 16, 1708; Thomas, 
March 10, 1712; Martha, Nov. 4, 1715; Noah, 
Dec. 26, 1717; Hannah, June 18, 1720; Sarah, 
Dec. 12, 1722; and Peter, Dec. 26, 1724. 

(IV) Noah Read, born Dec. 26, 1717, in 
Rehoboth, married Anna Hunt. He died Oct. 
14, 1773. Their children were: Peter, bom 
Nov. 20, 1742; Martha, May 2, 1744; Noah, 
Feb. 19, 1746; Perez, Aug. 4, 1748; Cyrel, 
Sept. 20, 1750; Thomas, Dec. 25, 1752; Anna, 
May 29, 1755; Judith, July 20, 1758; William, 
Oct. 12, 1760; and Lois, Dec. 23, 1763. 

(V) Thomas Read, born Dec. 25, 1752, in 
Rehoboth, married Hannah Bourne, bom Dec. 

24, 1761, died Jan. 10, 1817, and lived at Re- 
hoboth, Mass., where their children were bom 
and where Mr. Read died Sept. 2, 1816. The 
children were : William, born in October, 1785 ; 
Francis, Aug.' 3, 1787 (died in 1814) ; Betsy, 
October, 1789 (died in 1847) ; Thomas, April 
28, 1791; Samuel, April 3, 1794; Noah, July 

25, 1796; and John B., May, 1799 (died in 
1848). 

(VI) William Read, born Oct. 19, 1785, in 
Rehoboth, Mass., married March 6, 1808, Sarah 
Rogers, and lived in Somerset, Mass., where 
some of his children were born; he also lived 
later at Fall River, where he died Nov. 2, 1863. 
His children were : Hannah Bourne, born Oct. 
9, 1808, died June 16, 1838 ; Peter, born Jan. 
22, 1810, died Jan. 22, 1811; William was 
born Feb. 13, 1811; Thomas, born April 30, 
1814, died Oct. 5, 1822; Francis Bourne was 
born March 15, 1816; Joseph R. was bom July 
5, 1818; Julia Ann, born Dec. 21, 1821, died 
unmarried in 1904. 

(VII) Joseph R. Read, son of William and 
Sarah (Rogers) Read, was born July 5, 1818, 
in Somerset, Mass., and early in life learned 
the tailor's trade in Fall River, Mass. Remov- 
ing to New Bedford he was employed as a cut- 



620 



SOUTHEASTEBN MASSACHUSETTS 



ter in the outfitting firm of 0. & E. W. Sea- 
bury until 1850. In the year last named, asso- 
ciated with Edward T. Taber, who had been in 
the employ of the same firm, he purchased the 
business of the firm, and continued it with suc- 
cess. Subsequently Nathan S. Ellis was admitted 
to a partnership in the concern and later, 
on the death of Mr. Ellis, he was succeeded 
by Darius P. Gardner, and the business was 
so carried on and with great success until the 
time of Mr. Read's death. 

A man of- quiet manner, unostentatious and 
devoted to business, Mr. Read had little or no 
taste and less ambition for public position; 
however, he was a member, and an efficient and 
valued one, in 1874, of the board of aldermen 
of the city. He was a man of decided and clear 
convictions, and enjoyed the confidence and re- 
spect of all who knew him. He was fond of 
the best literature and especially of history, 
possessed an unusual mind and had fine con- 
versational powers. His social qualities en- 
deared him to a large circle of friends, and 
these same qualities made his home ever bright 
and cheerful. This home, too, was most dear 
to him. He died Sept. 12, 1879. 

On JSTov. 17, 1844, Mr. Read was married 
to Cynthia A., born Sept. 30, 1823, daughter 
of Jonathan and Cynthia (Howard) Potter, he 
a direct descendant of Nathaniel Potter, an 
Englishman who came to New England as 
early as 1638 and settled in Portsmouth, R. 
I.; was admitted an inhabitant of the island 
of Aquidneck in that year and in the follow- 
ing year was one of the twenty-nine signers 
of the Compact binding them "into a civil body 
politicke," from whom his descent is through 
Ichabod Potter and wife Eleanor, Jonathan 
Potter and his wife Rebecca (Southward) and 
Wesson Potter, of Westport, and his wife Mary 
(Kirby). 

Mr. and Mrs. Read had children as follows: 
Clara A., bom Sept. 28, 1845; William Fran- 
cis, born Oct. 14, 1849, who married Oct. 22, 
1879, Eleanor Masters, of Syracuse, N. Y., and 
has three children — Warren Kempton (born 
Aug. 18, 1883, married, Oct. 27, 1907, Jessie 
Sawyer, of Sharon, Mass., and has one child, 
Warren Kempton. Jr., born Aug. 15, 1908), 
Joseph Masters (born June 6, 1885, married 
Jan. 12, 1909, Amelia Hazleton, of Rome, N. 
Y., and has two children, Eleanor, born Sept. 
27, 1909, and Elizabeth, born Feb. 26, 1911), 
and Everett Preston (born April 25, 1887) ; 
Ella Howard, born- Dec. 13, 1850; and Charles 
Warren, born Jan. 19, 1853, who married Jan. 
21, 1908, Elizabeth Williams, of New Bedford, 
Mass., daughter of Theodore F. Williams. 



ARTHUR VINAL LYON, M. D., one of the 

leading representatives of his profession in Ply- 
mouth county, Mass., is a descendant of several 
of New England's earliest settled families. The 
Lyon family has been prominently identified 
with the history of this country for over two 
hundred and fifty years, as have many of the 
families allied with it by marriage, many of 
whom have played a conspicuous part in the 
annals of American history. This article, how- 
ever, is to treat of the Lyon family of which 
Dr. Arthur Vinal Lyon, of Brockton, is a lineal 
descendant in the eighth generation, tracing 
line back through Ellis V. (VII) ; Vinal (2) 
(VI); Vinal (V); Jedediah (IV); Samuel 
(III) ; and William, Jr. (II), to William (I), 
of Roxbury, who was the American progenitor 
of the family. The genealogy of the family 
follows in chronological order. 

(I) William Lyon, aged "fourteen years," is 
found among the passengers that embarked for 
America in the ship "Hopewell," Sept. 11, 1635, 
at London, England. It is the supposition that 
he was an orphan, and is said to have been 
placed in the care of Isaac Heath, at Roxbury. 
There appears to be no reason to question the 
conclusion reached by Albert Welles in his 
American Family Antiquity that this was the 
William Lyon who was baptized at Heston, now 
a part of the city of London, Dec. 23, 1620, 
youngest son of William and Anne (Carter) 
Lyon, of Heston. According to Welles, Henry 
Lyon, fourth in descent from Baron John de 
Lyon, left Norfolk, which had been for more 
than two hundred years the ancestral home, and 
settled in Ryslippe, County of Middlesex. The 
family remained in Ryslippe through four gen- 
erations. John Lyon, born in Ryslippe about 
1470, married Emma Hedde, of Ryslippe, and 
had four sons, Henry, Thomas, Richard and 
John. The latter settled in Little Stanmore, 
County of Middlesex ; his wife's name was Joan, 
and their oldest son, born in 1540, was William, 
who married Isabel Wightman. William lived 
for a time (1596) in London, but was buried 
Sept. 7, 1624, at Little Stanmore. He had a 
brother Thomas, whose son William was called 
the Marquis of Southwold, and was the owner 
of the ship "Lyon" which brought to America 
so many emigrants. William and Isabel Wight- 
man had a son William born about 1580. He 
married July 17, 1615, at Harrow-on-the-Hill, 
Anne Carter, and made his home in Heston. 
His children were : Katharine, baptized Oct. 
25, 1616; John, baptized Nov. 30, 1617, who 
died in infancy; John, baptized June 1, 1619; 
and William, baptized Dec. 23, 1620. 

In Roxbury land records the name of Wil- 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



621 



Ham Lyon appears as Lion, Lyon and Lyons, 
and he seems to have written it himself some- 
times Lion, sometimes Lyon or Ljon. He mar- 
ried June 17, 1646, Sarah Ruggles, daughter 
of John and Mary (Curtis) Euggles, of Nasing, 
England. She was born April 19, 1629, and 
came to America with her parents while yet 
an infant. Her death is not found recorded 
in Roxbury, but probably occurred in Rowley, 
for in 1677 William Lyon, "of Rowley,"' was 
married to Mrs. Martha (Pliilbrick) Casse, 
widow of John Casse. In 1645 William Lyon 
was a member of the Ancient and Honorable 
Artillery Company of Roxbury. He received 
in 1648 a grant of land in Roxbury, where his 
name also appears as grantee of deeds of lands. 
When the new settlement at New Roxbury (now 
Woodstock), Conn., was determined upon, in 
1686, he was one of the "goers" and he was 
assigned a lot there, although he did not 
actually occupy it. Several of his grandsons, 
William, Thomas, John and Jacob, were prom- 
inent members, however, of the new Colony. 
The Lyon homestead in Roxbury was on what 
ia now Bellevue avenue, formerly called Lyon 
street. William Lyon was admitted to full com- 
munion in John Eliot's Church in 1655, and 
became a freeman in 1666. He lived to the age 
of seventy-two, and was buried May 21, 1692, 
probably in the West Roxbury cemetery, al- 
though there is no stone there to mark his 
grave. His widow died about 1694. His will 
was dated in the year 1692, and was probated 
Oct. 27, 1692, the inventory amounting to £213. 
The children born to William and Sarah 
(Ruggles) Lyon, at Roxbury, were^ John, 
Thomas, Samuel, William, Joseph,' Sarah, 
Jonathan and Jonathan (2), the latter two 
dying in infancy. 

(II) William Lyon, Jr., was born in Rox- 
bury, Mass., where he was baptized July 18, 
1652, and died there Aug. 10, 1714. His 
tombstone, in a good state of preservation, still 
stands in the West Roxbury cemetery. On Sept. 
1, 1675, in Roxbury, he married Sarah Dunkin, 
presumably the daughter of Samuel Dunkin. 
She died Feb. 9, 1689, and he married (second) 
Nov. 18, 1690, Deborah, who survived him, dy- 
ing March 12, 1717. He was one of the goers 
at the time of the New Roxbury settlement 
(afterward Woodstock, Conn.), but although 
he received a grant of land there in 1686 he 
did not go there to live. The children of Wil- 
liam and Sarah (Dunkin) Lyon, born in Rox- 
bury, were: William, Samuel, Hannah, Ben- 
jamin and Mehitable ; and of William and Deb- 
orah Lyon were : Deborah, David, Martha and 
Jacob. 



(III) Samuel Lyon was born in Roxbury 
Sept. 20, 1679, and died in Middleboro, Mass., 
Feb. 22, 1756, in the seventy-seventh year of his 
age. He married (first) Maria Kenrick (born 
1675, died April 25, 1704), and married (sec- 
ond) Dec. 20, 1704, Joanna Weld, daughter 
of John and Hannah (Prentice) Weld. She 
was born Sept. 15, 1685. Samuel Lyon is 
spoken of as "of Newtown" in 1714, but seems 
to have been then residing in Roxbury. He is 
also called "lieutenant." He moved with his 
family to Middleboro, and united with the 
church there Jan. 23, 1732. The only child 
born to Samuel and Maria Lyon was John. To 
Samuel and Joanna Lyon were born: Eleazer, 
Jonathan, Edward, Sarah, Hannah, William, 
Jedediah and Phebe. 

(IV) Jedediah Lyon was born in Roxbury, 
Mass., Sept. 7, 1721, and died in Middleboro, 
Mass., Feb. 9, 1807. He married Nov. 24, 1743, 
at Middleboro, Mary Cushman, born Dec. 22, 
1723, daughter of Ichabod and Patience 
(Holmes) Cushman, of Plympton, Mass. At the 
Lexington alarm Jedediah Lyon was corporal 
in Capt. Abiel Pierce's company of militia, and 
he served three months, 1776-77, as private 
in Capt. Nehemiah Allen's company, being then 
fifty-five years old. The children of Jedediah 
and Mary (Cushman) Lyon, born in Middle- 
boro, were : Samuel, Joanna, Fear, Joanna (2), 
Mary, Isaac, Rebecca, Phebe, Lemuel, Lucy 
and Vinal. 

(V) Vinal Lyon was born presumably in 
Middleboro, Mass., although no town record is 
found, date probably between 1762 and 1766. 
He died in Middleboro Nov. 28, 1819. On 
Sept. 8, 1796, he married Chloe Richmond. 
Accdrding to the Plymouth county Probate 
records his widow was appointed guardian May 
1, 1820, of four minor children, Jane Wash- 
burn, Chloe Richmond, Phebe and Vinal, all 
under fourteen years of age. The children of 
Vinal and Chloe (Richmond) Lyon, all born 
in Middleboro, v<'ere : Mary C., born June 21, 
1797, died Jan. 1, 1820 ; Lemuel, born April 19, 
1799, died May 21, 1848 ; Jane Washburn, born 
May 19, 1801, married Jan. 24, 1822, Jason 
Wilbur; Chloe Richmond, born Oct. 4, 1803, 
married Philip Wood; Fear T., born in 1809, 
died Jan. 22, 1820; Eunice, born in 1813, died 
Dec. 15, 1819; Phebe married Hosea Kingman, 
and died without issue ; Vinal was born Nov. 30, 
1811. 

(VI) Vinal Lyon (2) was born in Middle- 
boro, Mass., Nov. 30, 1811. He was a builder 
and carpenter, employing many men, and con- 
tinued at this occupation during the actjve years 
of- his life, a thrifty, enterprising man, success- 



622 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



ful in his business enterprises. He became a 
sutler in the Civil war, and returned home 
broken in health. He was a Whig and later a 
Republican in political faith, and served the 
town of North Bridgewater as a selectman for 
several years. He built the large house in 
Campello, corner of Main street and Lyon 
avenue, where he resided, and which is still 
owned in the family. He died Nov. 16, 1866. 
On Oct. 25, 1840, he married Deiparis Williams 
Keith, who was bom Oct. 8, 1818, and died 
April 9, 1892, daughter of Charles and Mehit- 
able (Perkins) Keith, and a direct descendant 
of Rev. James Keith, the first minister at 
Bridgewater. The children born of this union 
were: Ellis Vinal, born Aug. 30, 1841, is 
mentioned below; Martha Ann, born Nov. 10, 
1843, married April 8, 1866, Edmund B. Fan- 
ning, of Brockton ; Chloe Richmond, born April 
5, 1845, married June 3, 1866, Lysander F. 
Gurney, of Brockton, who is mentioned else- 
where ; Granville Ward, born Oct. 7, 1846, mar- 
ried Dec. 3, 1873, Sallie J. Hart, and they are 
living at Enterprise, Ky., where he is stationed 
as a Methodist minister; Mary Williams, born 
Sept. 16, 1849, married April 17, 1872, Rufus 
E. Packard, late of Brockton ; Abbie Jane, born 
Sept. 7, 1851, married Sylvester 0. Snyder 
Aug. 20, 1872, and died in Louisville, Ky., in 
1905 ; and Maggie Keith, born March 24, 1859, 
died in July, 1859. 

(VII) Ellis Vinal Lyon was born in North 
Bridgewater Aug. 30, 1841. He was a graduate 
of the State normal school at Bridgewater, and 
for several years was successfully engaged in 
teaching in Braintree and North Weymouth. In 
1861 he enlisted in the 4th Massachusetts 
Cavalry, Captain Richmond,, and died in Peters- 
burg, Va., Sept. 24, 1864. His term of service 
had expired, and his family and friends were 
expecting him home, on the day that news came 
of his death, which was caused by peritonitis. 
His body was embalmed and sent home, and he 
was buried (vith military honors on Sunday, 
Oct. 3, 1864, a detachment of cavalry attending. 
His remains are interred at Weymouth. Mr. 
Lyon was a consistent member of the Congre- 
gational Church, and in political faith was a 
Republican. On Dec. 1, 1861, he married 
Hattie F. Kingman, daughter of Ebenezer and 
Eveline (Bates) Kingman, of Weymouth, who 
survives and resides in Brockton. They had one 
son, Arthur Vinal. 

(VIII) Arthur Vinal Lyon, M. D., was born 
Jan. 12, 1863, in Braintree, Mass., and began 
his educational training in the public schools 
of Weymouth, graduating from the Weymouth 
high school in the class of 1879. He then 



entered Thayer Academy, at Braintree, graduat- 
ing therefrom in the class of 1880. Entering 
Amherst in the latter year, he was a student at 
that college for four years, receiving the degree 
of A. B. in the class of 1884, and the degree of 
A. M. was conferred upon liim in 1903 by the 
same institution. He took a medical course 
at Harvard Medical School, graduating with the 
degree of M. D. in 1887. After receiving his 
diploma from Harvard he immediately took 
up the practice of his chosen profession in 
Brockton, in which practice he has continued 
with marked success. Both as a physician and 
citizen Dr. Lyon has been called upon to hold 
many positions of trust and responsibility, and 
has never failed to respond promptly to every 
call made upon him. He has served as a mem- 
ber of the school board of Brockton for over 
twenty years, and was chairman for a period 
of five years, and now (1911) is serving his 
seventh term as a member of that board, a 
term constituting three years' service. He has 
served as a visiting physician of the Brockton 
hospital since its organization. Dr. Lyon is a 
member' of the Porter Congregational Church, 
and has served several years as a member of 
the standing committee of the church. In 
political faith he is a believer in the pj-inciples 
of the Republican party. 

On June 30, 1887, Dr. Lyon was married to 
Mary Adelaide Bates, daughter of Alpheus and 
Hannah M. (Smith) Bates, of East Weymouth, 
and this union has been blessed with three sons, 
as follows: Ellis Vinal, born May 21, 1889, 
died Nov. 28, 1889; Arthur Bates, born July 
18, 1890, graduated from the Brockton high 
school in the class of 1908, and is now a student 
at Amherst College, class of 1912; and Harold 
Alpheus, born Aug. 3, 1893, graduated from 
the Brockton high school in the class of 1911, 
and is now a student at Amherst College, class 
of 1915. 

Dr. Lyon is a man whose active mind is not 
satisfied with present conditions. In his pro- 
fession he is constantly studying, keeping him- 
self well in touch with the discoveries and 
theories of the day. He holds membership in 
the Brockton City Medical Society and the 
Massachusetts Medical Society, before which 
bodies he is a frequent debater. His practice 
is a large one, and he has been successful in 
many serious cases, and is frequently called into 
consultation, the members of his profession 
recognizing his knowledge of the various 
branches of the profession. 

On the paternal side Dr. Lyon is descended 
from sixteen of the "Mayflower" passengers, as 
follows : Isaac Allerton and wife, Mary Norris, 





i^^^<^ 



SOUTflEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



623 



through their daughter Mary, who married 
Elder Thomas Cushman; John Alden and his 
wife, Priscilla MuUins, through their son Jos- 
eph; William Mullins and his wife Priscilla; 
Elder William Brewster and wife; Francis 
Cooke; John Howland; John Tilley and wife 
Bridget and their daughter Elizabeth, who mar- 
ried John Howland; Richard Warren; and 
Thomas Rogers. He is also a descendant of 
four of the "Fortune" passengers, and thirteen 
of the passengers of the "Ann" and "Little 
James." He is a lineal descendant of nine Revo- 
lutionary soldiers, as follows: Col. Simeon 
Gary; Corporal Jedediah Lyon; Levi Keith; 
Benjamin Keith; Jonas Reynolds; Josiah Per- 
kins, Sr. ; Josiah Perkins, Jr.; Ensign Luke 
Perkins, and Job Richmond. He is also a lineal 
descendant of sixteen of the original proprietors 
of Bridgewater, Mass., and of seven of the 
original proprietors of Taunton, Massachusetts. 

HORACE F. WOODARD, senior member of 
the firm of Woodard & Wright, last manufac- 
turers of Brockton, is one of the substantial 
and successful business men of that thriving 
city, and as well one of the honored and highly 
respected citizens of the . community in which 
he is so well and favorably known. Mr. Wood- 
ard is a native of Vermont, bom at Tunbridge, 
Orange county, Sept. 25, 1835. 

Theodore Woodard, his grandfather, was one 
of the original sixty-one grantees of the town 
of Vershire, Orange Co., Vt., in 1781, but of 
his antecedents and whence he came we have 
failed to learn, the town records of Vershire 
prior to 1793 having been destroyed by fire 
about that time. Theodore Woodard married 
Sally Ferguson, and they had a large family, 
among their children being: John, Cyrill, 
Jehial, Harriet and Hannah. 

Jehial Woodard, son of Theodore, and father 
of Horace F., was born in January, 1792, 
in Vershire, Vt. He was engaged extensively 
in farming and also- lan a grist and saw mill. 
He was a quiet,, unpretentious man, generous 
and kind in his impulses, hard-working, in- 
dustrious, and a good provider for his family. 
In early life he allied himself with the Whig 
party, later becoming a Detfi'ocrat of the old 
school, but he was not inclined to office seek- 
ing, preferring to give his time to his business 
and to his family, to whom he was much de- 
voted. His unassuming disposition won him 
many friends, and he enjoyed the respect and 
esteem of the commimity. He died Jan. 27, 
1875, in South Royalton, Vt., at the advanced 
age of eighty-three years. 

In 1817 Jehial Woodard married Polly Pea- 



body, who was born April 28, 1796, in Tun- 
bridge, Vt., daughter of John Peabody, of 
Tunbridge. She died April 26, 1880, at South 
Royalton, aged eighty-four years. Thirteen 
children were born to this worthy couple, of 
whom we have the following record: (1) 
Harvey H., born Aug. 25, 1818, was engaged 
in the hotel business in South Royalton, Vt., 
for a number of years, and died May 6, 1878. 
He married Adeline E. Davis. (2) Charles W., 
born Oct. 9, 1819, died in May, 1826. (3) 
Ira K., bom March 25, 1821, died Aug. 23, 
1822. (4) Mary, born Jan. 15, 1823, married 
Enoch Ordway, and died May 19, 1855. (5) 
John Chandler, born Sept. 21, 1824, was a 
painter by trade, and died July 22, 1907. He 
married Elizabeth P. Bennett. (6) Huldah 
P., born Jan. 4, 1826, married Dr. B. H. Phil- 
lips, and died Sept. 20, 1887. (7) Edith, 
born Feb. 9, 1828, died July 25, 1830. (8) 
Henry M., born May 4, 1830, married Sarah 
Sargent, and died June 4, 1862. (9) Ellen S., 
born April 7, 1832, is the wife of John S. 
Hinkley, to whom she has been married over 
fifty years. They reside at Chicopee Falls, 
Mass. (10) Emily, bora Dec. 17, 1833, died 
Oct. 24, 1889, unmarried. (11) Horace F., 
born Sept. 25, 1835, is mentioned below. (12) 
Albert P., bom July 22, 1837, lives in Tun- 
bridge, Vt., where he carries on agricultural 
pursuits. He married Jane P. Cushman. (13) 
Lucinda A., born March 17, 1839, died in 
December, 1839. 

Horace F. Woodard was born in Tunbridge, 
Vt., and obtained his early educational train- 
ing in the district schools of his native town, 
his time until he was seventeen years of age 
being divided between his schooling and such 
assistance as his strength and time would per- 
mit him to give in work on the farm and in his 
father's mill. At the age of seventeen year,s he 
left home to make his own way in the world. 
Going to Haverhill, Mass., he became appren- 
ticed to the lastmaking trade with Levi C. 
Wadleigh, in whose employ he remained for a 
period of about twelve years, during which time 
he had so closely applied himself to the business, 
and shown his worth to such an extent, that 
he was made foreman of the plant, in which 
capacity he served for several years. Not con- 
tent with merely a meager knowledge of the 
business he had by this time determined should 
be his life work, he then went to Boston, where 
for about a year he was employed in the last 
factory of Gilson & Walker, and from there 
changed to the factory of the Frohock Last 
Company, where for a period of four years he 
was foreman of the plant. Mr. Woodard then 



624 



SOUTHEASTEEN MASSACHUSETTS 



went to Stoughton, Mass., where for a term 
of about ten years he was foreman in the last 
factory of Walker & Phinney, and their suc- 
cessor, George F. Walker, and for about a year 
was the senior member of the firm of Woodard 
& Sherman, last manufacturers, of South 
Weymouth, Mass., at the end of that time sell- 
ing his interests to his partner. During these 
years he had been prudent, and, having ac- 
quired a thorough knowledge of the various 
details connected with the manufacturing of 
lasts of all kinds, with his savings he came to 
Brockton, in April, 1886, and purchased an 
interest in the firm of Lee & Wright, last 
manufacturers, taking over the interests of the 
senior partner, the firm then becoming Wood- 
ard & Wright. Since Mr. Woodard's connec- 
tion with this concern the business has been 
enlarged and expanded until to-day the firm is 
one of the best known in that line of business. 
All kinds of lasts for the shoe trade are manu- 
factured, giving employment to from seventy- 
five to one hundred hands, and the capacity of 
the establishment is about 35,000 pairs of lasts 
per month, the product being used by the best 
known shoe manufacturers throughout the 
country. 

While a resident of Haverhill, Mass., Mr. 
Woodard was made a Mason, joining Merrimac 
Lodge, A. r. & A. M., which he served as secre- 
tary for one year; since coming to Brockton he 
has identified himself with St. George Lodge, 
of Campello. Although not a member of any 
religious denomination Mr. Woodard attends 
church, and is liberal in all his donations to 
good and deserving causes. In political faith 
he is a Republican, with independent tend- 
encies. 

On March 15, 1856, Mr. Woodard was united 
in marriage to Sarah Elizabeth Carleton, 
daughter of Jonathan Carleton, of Plaistow, 
N. H., and this happy union has been blessed 
with children as follows: Arthur Milton died 
in infancy; Edward C, who is connected with 
the last factory of his father, married Inez 
Maria Curtis, of Stoughton, Mass., and they 
have children, Charles F., Bessie M., Arthur C. 
and Horace C. ; Ernest died at the age of twen- 
ty-one years, unmarried; William M., who is 
associated with his father in the last factory, 
married Alice King, of Brockton, and has had 
twin sons, Carleton K. and one that died in 
infancy; Myrtie G. is the wife of Arthur M. 
Keith, of Brockton, who is also associated with 
Mr. Woodard in the last factory; and Bert 
LeRoy, who died in August, 1904, married Alice 
Drake, and had one daughter, Mildred, who 
has since been adopted by her aunt, Mrs. Keith. 



Mr. Woodard is possessed of a quiet, unpre- 
tentious manner, which combined with a kind- 
ly and genial make-up has won for him many 
warm friendships; those who know him best 
are warmest in their friendship for him. He 
is very generous in his impulses, and no needy 
ones are ever turned away from his door with- 
out receiving his attention. He is not prone 
to pomp or ostentation, but rather the reverse, 
being content to spend his leisure moments in 
the companionship of his family and home, to 
both of which he is very devoted and indulgent. 
He holds a warm place in the esteem of a few 
intimate friends, and for their comfort and 
amusement he has had fitted up a "club room" 
in his barn, where almost every night for a few 
hours his friends congregate to enjoy a quiet 
and friendly game of cards; this coterie is 
known as the "Old Men's Club." Mr. Woodard 
is also fond of fishing and hunting and each 
year spends several weeks in the woods or by 
the streams. 

CAPT. HENRY CLAY HATHAWAY, of 

New Bedford, United States shipping commis- 
sioner and auctioneer, earlier a whaleman and 
long master mariner, was born Jan. 9, 1842, 
in New Bedford. Probably no man now living, 
or that has been alive for a score of years, of 
the master mariners who have been identified 
with the whaling interests of New Bedford, is 
more widely known, either personally or by 
reputation, than he whose name introduces this 
article. Although not himself attaining first 
rank in this service, his experience has been 
much more varied than that of many who fol- 
lowed the pursuit longer than he did, and he 
has often played a part in events of importance 
which have marked the incidental history of 
whaling voyages with thrilling interest. The 
"Gazelle" and the "Catalpa" furnish to lovers 
of splendid acts a store of romance, and neither 
of these can be mentioned without recalling at 
the same time tlie services of humanity which 
were rendered by Captain Hathaway in connec- 
tion with each. 

Captain Hathaway springs from ancestry 
early and prominent in the Taunton region of 
the Commonwealth, among his forebears being 
John Hathaway and John Richmond. John 
Hathaway, born in England, came to America 
at the age of ten years with his father Nicholas, 
in 1639. He was a member of the Plymouth 
Military Company in 1643. He was living in 
Taunton in 1649; was admitted a freeman in 
1670, and bought a tract of land in Freetown, 
lot No. 18, in 1671. He was constable in 1676 
and 1690 at Taunton; was often on the grand 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



625 



jury; was selectman 1680 and 1684, and deputy 
to the General Court of Massachusetts in 
1696-97. His home was in what is now Berk- 
ley, known as the Farms. The site of the house 
was marked by an iron tablet in 1889, by the 
Old Colony Historical Society. The Christian 
name of his first wife was Martha. In 1693 
he married (second) Euth Dyer, a widow of 
Braintree, who died in 1705. 

John Hathaway (2), son of John, born in 
1650, married Hannah, daughter of James Burt, 
and settled in Freetown, where he died in 1730. 
James Burt was born in 1622 in England and 
in 1635 sailed in the "Falcon" for Barbadoes, 
where his older brother Richard was settled. 
A few years later he came to New England; 
was in Newport in 1639, but his home seems 
to have been with his brother's family in Taun- 
ton, his brother having soon died. 

From this source came the Hathaways of 
Freetown, where were born John and Amey 
(Read) Hathaway, whose children were: 
Braddock D. ; John B. ; Joseph R., who located 
in St. Paul, Minn. ; and William, who settled 
in East Bridgewater. 

Braddock D. Hathaway was bom May 3, 
1806, in the town of Rochester, Mass. He 
learned the blacksmith's trade and became an 
edge tool maker of considerable skill ; he gained 
a wide acquaintance through the fine quality 
of his workmanship, being a genius in his line, 
and had a reputation for honesty that gave him 
high standing in the community in which he 
lived. Mr. Hathaway made his home in New 
Bedford, where he died April 13, 1879. 

On Oct. 24, 1829, Mr. Hathaway married, 
then being a resident of Raynham, Mass., 
Harriet Richmond, who was born Nov. 27, 1805, 
in Dighton, Mass., daughter of Joseph and 
Abigail (Swain) Richmond, he a shipwright of 
Dighton and she of Nantucket. Mrs. Hatha- 
way was a direct descendant of one of the early 
and prominent families of this section of Massa- 
chusetts, tracing her line from John Richmond, 
the immigrant, who came to America from 
Ashton Keynes, Wiltshire, England, and settled 
in Taunton, Mass., being one of the purchasers 
there in 1637; through John Richmond (2) of 
Taunton and his wife Abigail Rogers, formerly 
of Duxbury ; Lieut. Joseph Richmond of Taun- 
ton and his wife Mary (Andrews) ; Josiah Rich- 
mond and his wife Joanna (Briggs) ; Josiah 
Richmond (2) of Dighton and his wife Lydia 
(Babbitt), she formerly of Berkley; and Joseph 
Richmond of Dighton and his wife Abigail 
(Swain). 

After their marriage Braddock D. Hatha- 
way and his wife lived in New Bedford, and 

40 



their children were: Braddock Richmond, 
born June 28, 1830, married Harriet A. 
Henderson; Joseph Richmond, born Aug. 11, 
1831, married Sarah A. Wilbur; Freeman, born 
April 23, 1833, married Martha Damon; Ben- 
jamin F., bom Oct. 7, 1834, died March 18, 
1836; Benjamin F. (2), born July 10, 1836, 
died young; John Francis, born Feb. 21, 1839, 
a Civil war soldier, died from wounds received 
at Gettysburg; Harriet, born May 28, 1840, 
married Frederick S. Damon (both are de- 
ceased) ; Henry Clay, born Jan. 9, 1842, is 
mentioned below ; Charles M. was born Dec. 14, 
1843 ; Abby Swain, born May 26, 1845, is now 
deceased; Allen, born June 22, 1847, died April • 
27, 1848; Richmond was born Jan. 8, 1849; 
Amey Read, born Feb. 5, 1852, married Thomas 
Mandell Denham, of New Bedford. 

Capt. Henry Clay Hathaway, son of Brad- 
dock D. and Harriet (Richmond) Hathaway, 
was born Jan. 9, 1842, in New Bedford, Mass. 
While yet in his fifteenth year young Hathaway 
commenced his life as a whaleman, shipping 
Aug. 4, 1856, in the "Lancer" of New Bedford, 
a 395-ton vessel of which Capt. Aaron C. Cush- 
man was master and Richmond & Wood agents. 
His very first trip was an eventful one. Captain 
Cushman was accompanied by his wife, who had 
long been sick with consumption, and who as 
a last resort had undertaken a voyage to the 
South Pacific in the hope of regaining her 
health. So little hope was there for her re- 
covery that her husband had made preparations 
in fitting out the "Lancer" to care for her body 
in case of death. He himself answered the last 
summons before Jiis wife. Coming up from the 
cabin, Captain Cushman fell dead upon the 
deck while speaking to one of the crew, and 
within a few feet of where Hathaway was 
serving a turn at the wheel. This was Nov. 23, 
1856, and the preparations he had made for 
the death of another served for himself. His 
body was sent home from Pernambuco, and 
later his wife was transferred to a ship home- 
ward bound. She died almost in sight of land, 
while coming up Massachusetts bay. Hathaway 
did not finish the trip on the '"Lancer," but 
after two years' service left her, for no par- 
ticular reason, at Payta, in Peru, made his way 
to Callao, and returned home in a merchant 
vessel, the "Enterprise," of New York. 

On Aug. 25, 1858, Captain Hathaway sailed 
in the bark "Callao," of New Bedford, a vessel 
of 324 tons, Andrew J. Fuller being master of 
the vessel and Henry Taber & Co. agents. The 
"Callao" went- as far north as the Okhotsk sea, 
and was out four years. She returned July 20, 
1862, with a total of 214 barrels of sperm, 1,543 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



of whale and 10,063 pounds of bone. On Sept. 
2, 1862, Hathaway again left New Bedford, this 
time in the bark "Hercules," a vessel of 335 
tons, and went again to the Okhotsk sea. John 
G. Dexter was master, Swift & Perry agents. 
The "Hercules" arrived home May 5, 1866, 
and returned to her owners 348 barrels of sperm, 
2,678 of whale, and 25,600 pounds of bone. 
On Aug. 15, 1866, he went as third officer of 
the ship "Gazelle" to the Indian ocean, of which 
vessel Capt. David R. GiSord was master, and 
E. C. Jones agent. The "Gazelle" returned 
home April 20, 1870, with a total of 1,600 
barrels of sperm and three of whale. It was 
during this trip that the "Gazelle" was made 
famous in England and America by the rescue 
of John Boyle O'Reilly, to which reference will 
be made further on. On Oct. 26, 1870, Captain 
Hathaway shipped as first mate of the "Ga- 
zelle," but went only as far as the Cape Verde 
islands, where, having taken sick, he left the 
ship and returned home. Captain Gilford died 
aboard ship on this trip, Aug. 26, 1873. 

On April 25, 1871, Captain Hathaway 
shipped as first mate in the bark "Milwood," 
and went to Cumberland Inlet on the coast of 
Greenland. Sanford S. Milner was master, and 
Gideon Allen & Sons agents. The "Milwood" 
had good fortune for some six months, but was 
caught in the drift and driven ashore Nov. 13, 

1871, on Black Lead island, about fifty miles 
from the coast of Greenland, and went to pieces. 
The crew stripped the vessel and established 
themselves on the island for the winter. Here 
was a settlement of some three hundred 
Eskimos, and what with provisions saved from 
the wreck, and the rewards of gunning and 
fishing. Captain Hathaway and his comrades 
had as pleasant time as civilized people could 
expect in such locality. Their stay on Black 
Lead island came to an end in September of 
the next year, when the steam whaler "Tigris," 
of St. John, N. B., entered the inlet. The 
"Tigris" was under charter for a summer cruise 
by Captain Spicer of New London, and the 
whole party embarked on her. Accidents did not 
end here, for the "Tigris" broke her shaft com- 
ing out and had to make her way home under 
sail. Some of the crew of the "Milwood" left the 
"Tigris" at St. John, and the others, including 
Captain Milner and Captain Hathaway, went 
in her to New London, arriving there Oct. 19, 

1872. The "Tigris" brought back 140 barrels 
of whale and twenty-two bundles of bone saved 
from the wrecked vessel, and previously twenty 
barrels of sperm had been sent home. The 
"Milwood" had had a long life. She was built 
in 1806, but it does not appear that she hailed 
from New Bedford until thirty years later. 



With this trip closed the service of Captain 
Hathaway as a whaler. He served for four 
years in the police department of New Bedford, 
becoming assistant marshal of police in 1874, 
in 1875 being appointed captain of the night 
force, and in 1876 appointed chief of police 
under Mayor Abraham H. Howland, Jr., wliich 
office he filled with credit and ability for two 
years. He organized the present police system, 
being the first man to wear a uniform. Re- 
signing from the police force he went to sea 
again, and during the four years from 1878 
to 1882 made fourteen voyages as master of the 
packet "Veronica" for Loum Snow & Sons, to 
the Azores, Madeiras and Canaries. Since then 
Captain Hathaway has been ashore, engaged as 
an auctioneer and in the real estate business, 
with office on Acushnet avenue. New Bedford. 
In 1884 and 1885 he served the city as overseer 
of the poor. In 1884 President Arthur ap- 
pointed him a United States shipping commis- 
sioner for the Thirteenth Congressional dis- 
trict, and he is still such officer, having served 
for over twenty-seven years, being one of the 
oldest government officials in New England in 
point of service. 

The rescue of John Boyle O'Reilly hag been 
alluded to above. Convicted before a military 
commission in Ireland in 1866, O'Reilly had 
been sentenced to death on five capital charges. 
Then his sentence was commuted to imprison- 
ment for life, and then to twenty years' penal 
service. In 1867 he was transported with sixty 
other political prisoners to the convict settle- 
ment of western Australia. Through the assist- 
ance of a Catholic priest O'Reilly escaped from 
a convict gang at work on the Banbury road, 
and several days later was picked up from an 
open boat some eighty miles off shore by Cap- 
tain Gilford, whose sympathies in his behalf 
had been enlisted through the efforts of Father 
Patrick McCabe, the priest referred to. The 
escaped prisoner was a guest on the "Gazelle" 
until put aboard the ship "Sapphire," of Bos- 
ton, bound for Liverpool. From that port 
O'Reilly made his way to America. Between 
Hathaway and O'Reilly a strong friendship 
began at sea and it lasted until the day of the 
latter's death. Both men were of about the 
same age and the attraction was mutual. What 
the one owed to the other may be best inferred 
from what follows, written shortly after 
O'Reilly's death : 

Among the thousands who loved the brave 
and tender heart just silenced by death was one 
to whom he was bound by ties of affection and 
gratitude. O'Reilly owed his escape largely, his 
immunity from recapture wholly, and his life 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



627 



itself ultimately, to a noble American sailor, 
Capt. Henry C. Hathaway of New Bedford. 
Captain Hathaway was third officer of the 
"Gazelle" when that vessel picked up the escap- 
ing prisoner off the coast of Australia. With 
O'Reilly was an uninvited companion, a ticket- 
of-leave man and a wretched criminal, one 
Martin Bowman, who had discovered O'Reilly's 
plan and threatened to divulge it if he were 
not also taken on the "Gazelle." Reluctantly 
enough he was included in the party. After a 
six months' whaling voyage the "Gazelle" 
touched at Rodriguez, an English plant in the 
Indian ocean, where the governor came aboard, 
and, to the dismay of O'Reilly's friends, de- 
manded the convict they were harboring. The 
mate, to gain time, gave up Bowman, who, 
directly he was landed, obtained his own release 
by informing against O'Reilly. This had been 
foreseen and provided for by Hathaway. Dur- 
ing the night, the ship's grindstone and 
O'Reilly's hat were thrown overboard together. 
The cry of "man overboard" was raised, boats 
were lowered, and so cleverly was everything 
managed that one of the English ex-convicts 
aboard declared, when questioned by the police, 
that he saw O'Reilly sink. The Rodriguez au- 
thorities were deceived by the ruse, and the 
ship went to sea with O'Reilly secreted under 
the steps of the companionway. How Hathaway 
before this saved the life of his strangely found 
friend, he tells best himself in a letter which 
follows : 

New Bedford, Mass., 1877. 
My Dear Friend: 

According to your wish I will now endeavor to give 
a brief account of what happened on the day when 
Mr. O'Reilly was with me in pursuit of a "bad" 
whale on the northwest coast of Australia. I don't 
exactly remember the date, but think it was in May, 
1869. We lowered away our boats for whales, and 
O'Reilly was very anxious to go in my boat; I told 
him that he had better stay by the ship, but he in- 
sisted on going. I finally consented, and he went. 
Mr. Hussey, in another boat, struck the whale first. 
I noticed the whale, as soon as he struck him, make 
for Hussey's boat, but didn't think at the time he 
was a bad one. 

We then started for him, and just before we 
reached him he "settled," and the next thing I saw 
was his back close to our boat. I told Lambert, the 
boat-steerer, to "give it to him." As soon as he 
struck him the whale raised his flukes and struck 
our boat four times, knocking her to atoms. The 
first time he struck her he stove her badly, and she 
began to fill. I noticed O'Reilly's head droop as 
though he was hurt. The rest of the crew jumped 
into the sea away from the boat and clung to their 
oars; I clung to the stem part of the boat, that be- 
ing the only piece left large enough to hold a man 
up; this, I think, was about ten feet long. I missed 
O'Reilly, and thought he must have drowned, as I 
knew he was hurt. When the whale left us the men 
swam back to the shattered boat. 



I remember saying, "0 my God! where is O'Reilly?" 
and Bolter, who was close by my side, said : "There 
he is on the other side under water." I looked, and 
sure enough there he was about two feet from the sur- 
face of the water, bobbing up and down like a cork. 
I threw myself over, and by clinging to the broken 
keel with my left hand, reached him by the hair of 
the head with my right hand and hauled him on the 
stovcn boat. I thought then that he was dead, as 
the froth was running from his nostrils and mouth; 
but a thought struck me if he was dead he would 
have sunk; so I raised him up on my shoulder. As I 
lay on the side of the boat, with his stomach across 
my shoulder,' I kept punching him as much as possi- 
ble to get the salt water out of him. 

It was several hours before he realized anything, 
as the ship was about twelve miles from us to the 
windward, and we lay on the stoven boat a long time 
before we were picked up by Mr. Bryant, the fourth 
mate. The next day after this happened, as O'Reilly 
was lying in his bunk, suffering from the blow of the 
whale's flukes, he said, "Oh, Hathaway, why didn't 
you let me go?" I told him to keep quiet — that he 
would live to see better days ; but he couldn't see 
it. We don't see far ahead, after all, do we? 

The next time we saw whales he came to me and 
said he would like to go with me again. I told him 
"No," he had got out of one scrape, and had better 
rest contented. But he insisted on going and I con- 
sented, as he said he wanted revenge. We were 
lucky enough that day to get a good big fellow, and 
I think he had his revenge, as we minced him up 
pretty well. I think it was the death of that whale 
that suggested his poem of "The Amber Whale." 

I wanted to say how it was that Mr. O'Reilly was 
kept on board the "Gazelle" as long as he was, and 
who influenced Captain GiS'ord to put him on board 
the "Sapphire," at the Cape of Good Hope ; but as I do 
not wish to say anything disrespectful of the dead, 
I will let it drop. But I will say that if I hadn't 
"drowned" him at the Island of Rodriguez two months 
afterward, when the English governor searched the 
ship for him, he never would have left there in the 
"Gazelle," as the old man got frightened. 
Yours sincerely, 

Henry C. Hathaway. 

Captain Hathaway is a Republican in politics 
and has filled the office of alderman for Ward 
Three, serving under three mayors, Brownell, 
Parker and Ashley, respectively. Fraternally 
he is a member of A. F. & A. M., Star in the 
East Lodge, Council and Chapter, and Sutton 
Commandery, of the Knights Templars. 

Captain Hathaway married July 19, 1870, in 
New Bedford, Catharine Perry, born in New 
Bedford, daughter of Nathaniel and Ruth 
(Sampson) Perry. Their children were: Ger- 
trude, born in September, 1875, now deceased; 
Henry Clay, Jr., Sept. 5, 1879, who married 
Maria Moran; Braddock B., Aug. 31, 1882, 
who is associated with his father in business. 



John B. Hathaway, son of John and Amey 
(Read) Hathaway, was born July 7, 1808, "in 
Rochester, Mass. At the age of six years he 
accompanied his family on their removal to 



628 



SOUTHEASTEEN MASSACHUSETTS 



the village of Assonet, and from that time on 
through a long busy life he was identified with 
the affairs of Bristol county. When eleven 
years old he was indentured to a farmer in 
Berkley for five years. He later learned the 
shoemaker's trade and followed it for a couple 
of years in Assonet. He then went to the grow- 
ing village of Fall Elver, and there worked 
for Mr. Gardner D. Cook, receiving for his 
services $12 per month and his board. From 
1828 to 1831 he was employed at calico print- 
ing, but owing to ill health he was obliged to 
discontinue the business. His next move was 
to open a shoe store to which in the year 1834 
he added groceries and took his brother Joseph 
into partnership with him. His health con- 
tinuing poor he disposed of his business in 
1841. One year later he began again in the 
grocery business, this time engaging in the 
wholesale trade. He was burned out in the big 
fire that swept his portion of Fall Eiver in 
1843, and not being insured, lost every dollar 
he had in the business. He erected the first 
building constructed after the fire, this on the 
site of the Wilcox crockery store on Bedford 
street, where he continued the wholesale grocery 
business till 1854. He then erected a block 
of buildings on a part of the present site of the 
Massasoit National Bank building. During the 
succeeding ten years he made a competence, and 
sold at the end of that period the business to 
Messrs. Petty, Lawton & Co., and retired. He 
thereafter led a quiet life in the enjoyment of 
the fruits of his labors. He passed his winters 
in Florida to within a few years of the time 
of his death and his summers at the homestead 
of his wife in Westport. 

Mr. Hathaway, while never active in muni- 
cipal politics, served in the lower branch of 
the State Legislature in 1866-67, and in the 
Senate in 1869-70. He died Jan. 17, 1895, at 
his home in Fall Eiver, Mass., aged eighty-six 
years, six months, ten days. His wife, formerly 
Betsey Phillips, survived him and died March 
26, 1900. They had one son, John Francis. 

I 

HENEY SWAN POETEE, now high 
sheriff of Plymouth county, a position he has 
most efficiently filled for several years, belongs 
to what in way of designation might more 
properly be termed the Brockton-Plymouth Por- 
ter family, that of which the head was his 
father, the late Ahira Swan Porter, who for 
years was one of the substantial men and citi- 
zens of Brockton, engaged there extensively 
as a dealer in horses and carriages ; it is a 
branch of the earlier Stoughton family and it 
of the early Porter family of Weymouth. 



From Eichard Porter, of Weymouth, tlie first 
American ancestor of the Brockton-Plymouth 
family alluded to and here considered, the line- 
age of Sheriff Porter of Plymouth county is 
through Sergt. John Porter, Samuel Porter, 
Samuel Porter (2), Lieut. Joseph Porter, Col. 
Cyrus Porter, Ahira Porter and Ahira Swan 
Porter. These generations follow in the order 
named and in detail. 

(I) Eichard Porter, coming from Weymouth, 
England, in 1635, settled in Weymouth, Mass., 
where he received grants of land in 1648, 1661, 
1663 and 1668. For many years he was con- 
tinuously in ofBce as selectman, constable and 
upon committees. He was a member of the 
original church there and his name often occurs 
on the old records. His will was made Dec. 
25, 1688, and the inventory of his estate was 
made March 6, 1689. The Christian name of 
his wife was presumably Euth, and their chil- 
dren were: John, Euth (born Oct. 3, 1639), 
Thomas and Mary. 

(II) Sergt. John Porter, son of Eichard, 
was a resident of Weymouth, Mass., and is said 
to have been one of the most enterprising men 
of his time. He had many land grants in 
Weymouth, and was a large purchaser of lands 
in ancient Bridgewater from 1686 to 1699. He 
built in 1693 the first sawmill at Little Comfort, 
in what became South Abington. He and his 
wife sold Grape island in Weymouth in 1705. 
Sergeant Porter was a useful, honored citizen, 
holding all the various offices at different times. 
He married, Feb. 9, 1660, Deliverance, daugh- 
ter of Nicholas and Martha (Shaw) Byram, 
and they died, he Aug. 7, 1717, and she Sept. 
30, 1720. Their children, all born in Wey- 
mouth, were : Mary, born Oct. 12, 1663 ; Su- 
sanna, born June 2, 1665; John, born July 2, 
1667; Samuel; Nicholas; Euth, born Sept. 18, 
1676; Thomas; Ebenezer, and Sarah. 

(III) Samuel Porter, son of Sergt. John, 
married about 1698 Mary, daughter of Jacob 
and Abigail (Dyer) Nash, of Weymouth. He 
was town officer of Weymouth in 1707, and 
about that. iime removed to Abington; was a 

, .shoemaker and schoolmaster. He bought the 
Daniel Axtel farm in Abington in 1712; was 
assessor of the town in 1716 ; selectman in 1714 
and for three years thereafter. In 1724 he was 
employed by the selectmen to teach school. He 
was one of the original members of the church 
in Abington, where he died, Aug. 31, 1725. 
His children were: Samuel, born May 14, 
1699; Mary, Oct. 5, 1701: David, 1702; Jacob, 
Aug. 10, 1704 (all in Weymouth) ; Hannah, 
Dec. 16, 1712 ; John, Feb. 2, 1716 ; and Abigail, 
June 23, 1719 (all in Abington). 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



629 



(IV) Samuel PorteT (2), born May 14, 
1699, in Weymouth, Mass., married (first) 
July 2, 1722, Sarah, daughter of Joseph and 
Sarah (Ford) Josselyn, of Abington, and (sec- 
ond) May 31, 1764, in Bridgewater, Ruth Reed. 
Mr. Porter probably moved to Bridgewater 
soon after Dec. 1, 1742, at which time he and 
his wife deeded house and land to his brother 
Jacob. His children were : Sarah, born Aug. 
26, 1723; Mary, Feb. 9, 1725; Samuel, Oct. 
12, 1727; Joseph, Feb. 27, 1730; Ebenezer, 
Sept. 15, 1731 ; Mary, Aug. 3, 1733 ; Adam, Feb. 
24, 1735; Hannah, Feb. 18, 1736; Betterus, 
Sept. 23, 1737; Noah, May 13, 1740; Jonathan, 
Aug. 27, 1741 ; Deliverance, July 9, 1742 ; Abi- 
gail, July 7, 1743 ; Tabitha, in 1744 ; and Sarah. 

(V) Lieut. Joseph Porter, born Feb. 27, 
1730, in Abington, Mass., married Jan. 25, 
1753, Elizabeth, bom July 4, 1733, daughter 
of Samuel and Content (Whitcomb) Burrell, 
of Weymouth. She went to Abington to teach 
school, and was there married. She was a 
woman of remarkable personal beauty, as were 
all her daughters. Mr. Porter was a resident 
of Bridgewater and Stoughton, Mass. Both he 
and his wife were admitted to the Bridgewater 
Church in 1780. He was a lieutenant in the 
militia at the time of the Revolution. He died 
Jan. 15, 1803, in the seventy-fifth year of his 
age. His 'widow died March 26, 1822, aged 
eighty-nine years. His children, of whom the 
first seven were recorded in Bridgewater, were : 
Elizabeth, born Nov. 8, 1753; Joseph, June 
10, 1754; Hannah, July 21, 1758; Robert, 
March 30, 1762; Isaac, Feb. 23, 1765; Content, 
Feb. 5, 1767; Mehetabel, April 15, 1769; Lib- 
beus, April 22, 1771; and Cyrus, 1774. 

(VI) Col. Cyrus Porter, son of Lieut. Jos- 
eph, born in 1774, married (first) in 1800 Re- 
'becca, daughter of Capt. William and Mary 

(Perkins) French, and (second) Sept. 8, 1835, 
Mrs. Martha, widow of Calvin Alden and 
daughter of Ebenezer Hayden, of Stoughton. 
Mr. Porter was a resident of the town of 
Stoughton, Mass., a farmer, occupied much in 
public affairs and of high respectability. He 
lived to the advanced age of eighty years, and 
died May 29, 1855. His children, all born to 
the first marriage, were: Olive, bom Oct. 16, 
1800, married Caleb Copeland; Ahira was bom 
Nov. 9, 1801; Rebecca, bom Nov. 11, 1803, 
died May 25, 1804; Rebecca (2), bom in 
1805, married Marcus Copeland; Cyrus, bom 
June 12,- 1807, married Eliza J. Dunbar; Me- 
hetabel, bora Dec. 3, 1808, married Ezra 
Churchill, of Stoughton ; Luther, bom Dec. 18, 
1814, married Lucy Talbot; William French, 
born Jan. 23, 1823, married Harriet Sears; 



Eliza Ann, born April 5, 1829, married Wil- 
liam Hall, of North Bridgewater. 

(VII) Ahira Porter, son of Col. Cyrus, born 
Nov. 9, 1801, in Stoughton, Mass., was a shoe- 
treer by trade, which vocation he followed 
during the active years of his life. He lived 
in East Stoughton, Mass., where he died Dec. 
6, 1863. In 1826 he married Rachel D. Swan, 
who died Nov. 19, 1861. Their children were: 
Ahira Swan, born Jan. 20, 1827, is mentioned 
below; Rachel D., born Dec. 27, 1828, married 
and resided in Worcester, Mass., where she died; 
William, born Aug. 30, 1831, died in Randolph, 
Mass.; Samuel, bom June 27, 1833, died in 
Worcester, Mass. ; James, born Oct. 4, 1835, 
resides at Brant Rock, Mass.; and George W., 
born Jan. 30, 1843, resides in Avon, Massa- 
chusetts. 

(VIII) Ahira Swan Porter, son of Ahira, 
was bom Jan. 20, 1827, in Stoughton, Mass., 
and married April 22, 1849, Louisa Packard, 
bora Nov. 29, 1829, daughter of Josiah and 
Betsey D. (Bolton) Packard, of North Bridge- 
water, Mass., and a direct descendant of Samuel 
Packard, who with his wife and child came from 
Windham, near Hingham, England, in the ship 
"Diligence," of Ipswich, in 1638, and settled 
first in Hingham, thence removing to West 
Bridgewater, where he was a tavern-keeper and 
served as constable; from whom her descent is 
through Zaccheus and Sarah (Howard) Pack- 
ard; Israel and Hannah Packard; Seth and 
Mercy (Bryant) Packard; Jonathan and Su- 
sanna (Alger) Packard; Israel and Susanna 
(Edson) Packard, and Josiah and Betsey D. 
(Bolton) Packard. To Mr. and Mrs. Porter 
were born two sons, as follows: Henry Swan, 
born May 27, 1852, and Frank Forest, bom 
Dec. 14, 1856. The latter married Rachel A. 
Porter, daughter of Lewis Porter, of North 
Bridgewater, and they had one son, Ahira L. 
Porter, who resides in Brockton, where he is 
superintendent of the Packard & Field shoe 
factory. 

Ahira Swan Porter passed his boyhood in his 
native town, and in early life followed the trade 
of shoemaking as a shoe-treer there until about 
the year 1853, when he removed to the town 
of North Bridgewater (now Brockton). There 
he embarked in the hay and grain business, 
opening a store in that part of the town known 
as "Factory Village," which he conducted for 
about three years, at the end of which time he 
disposed of the same and entered the business 
in which he continued successfully until his 
death. On May 13, 1857, he commenced to run 
a stage line to Boston, making three trips a 
week, and in the following month, because of 



630 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



increasing patronage, began to make daily trips. 
He continued to run the line for several years, 
until the advent of the railroad. This was 
actually the nucleus of his livery and carriage 
business, for during this time he established the 
livery and sale stable at the head of which he 
continued as senior member of the firm — A. S. 
Porter & Sons — organized in the course of 
time until his death. This business grew 
under his direction to one of the largest 
of its kind in southeastern Massachusetts, and 
the firm was one of the most widely known in 
its line of trade in the State. As his sons 
grew to manhood Mr. Porter took them into 
partnership, the firm thereafter being known as 
A. S. Porter & Sons, continuing as such until 
the death of the father. This enterprising 
firm acted as agent for several of the leading 
carriage manufacturers, and its repository in 
Brockton was one of the largest in the State. 

Mr. Porter was intensely interested in mu- 
sical affairs, and had one of the first orchestras 
in the town, which was established in 1848, 
and for fully twenty years was leader of a 
local orchestra bearing his name, and which 
was known far and near, he being exceedingly 
popular as a prompter. On various occasions 
his orchestra was called upon to substitute for 
the well-known Germania Orchestra of Bos- 
ton. For a number of years he was agent for 
Martland's Band, one of the best known musical 
organizations in southeastern Massachusetts. 

In October, 1876, Mr. Porter was appointed 
deputy sheriff by the sheriff, Major Bates, and 
continued to serve in that capacity until his 
death, during which time he did the greater 
part of the criminal work, and was perhaps 
the best known deputy sheriff in tlie county. 
At one time he was coroner for this section. 
In early life he was an old-line Whig, and upon 
the formation of the Republican party, in 
1856, he allied himself with the latter party, 
and continued loyal to the principles of that 
party until his death. 

Mr. Porter was a member of Paul Revere 
Lodge, A. F. & A. M., of Brockton, a member 
of the Stoughton Grenadiers, and a fine member 
of the Cunningham Rifles. 

Mr. Porter died in Brock-ton Nov. 12, 1886, 
in the sixtieth year of his age, and at his 
funeral, held at the New Jerusalem Church, 
Nov. 17th, there were many evidences of the re- 
spect and esteem in which he was held in the 
community where he had resided for so many 
years; it was largely attended by the citizens 
in general, and there were delegations from the 
various organizations with which he was con- 
nected, the following being represented: Paul 



Revere Lodge ; Company I, Cunningham Rifles ; 
M. V. M.; Stoughton Grenadier Association; 
Martland's Band; city board of engineers; and 
deputy sheriffs -of the county. 

(IX) Henry Swan Porter, son of the late 
Ahira S. and Louisa (Packard) Porter, was 
born May 27, 1852, in North Bridgewater (now 
Brockton), Mass., and in the common schools 
and the high school of his native town acquired 
his early educational training. At the age of 
twelve years he entered the employ of Brett 
Brothers, well-known merchants of North 
Bridgewater, as a clerk, and for a period of six 
years continued in their service and with their 
successors, during the hours not spent in the 
schoolroom. After leaving school, at the age 
of eighteen years, he entered the employ of 
his father, and in 1883 was made a partner in 
the business, the firm then becoming A. S. Por- 
ter & Sons. For a number of years Mr. Porter 
had charge of the selling end of the business, 
and traveled extensively over various sections 
of the State, selling carriages. After the death 
of his father Mr. Porter and his brother con- 
tinued the business until 1894, when Mr. Por- 
ter disposed of his interests in the business to 
his brother, Frank F. Porter. 

In political faith Mr. Porter is a stalwart 
adherent of the principles of the Republican 
party, and for a number of years has been active 
in the political affairs of Plymouth county. He 
has acted in the public service of the county 
since 1875, on March 9th of which year he was 
appointed constable and police officer by the se- 
lectmen of his native town, continuing in that 
capacity until 1882, when the town became 
the city of Brockton. On Aug. 16, 1879, he was 
appointed deputy sheriff of Plymouth county 
under Sheriff A. B. Harmon, and continued 
to hold that commission until he was elected 
high sheriff of Plymouth county. In 1883 he 
was appointed court officer of the county, which 
office he still retains. In 1883, 1884 and 1885 
he represented Ward Two as a member of the 
common council, and in 1886 was a member of 
the board of aldermen of his native city; notice 
of Alderman H. S. Porter's refusal to continue 
in public office appeared in the Enterprise of 
Nov. 20, 1886. In 1901 Mr. Porter was elected 
high sheriff of Plymouth county, receiving a 
very large majority vote, carrying every ward 
in his native town, and twenty-three of the 
twenty-seven towns in the county, and at each 
subsequent election has been elected to the same 
office by large majorities, having filled the 
office with honor to himself and to the satis- 
faction of his constituents. 

Fraternally Sheriff Porter is a prominent 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



631 



member of the Masonic organization, holding 
membership in Paul Revere Lodge, A. F. & A. 
M., Satucket Chapter, R. A. M., and Bay State 
Commandery, Knights Templar, of Brockton, 
being a life member of the two former bodies. 
He was also a charter member of Banner Lodge, 
No. 81, New England Order of Protection, of 
Brockton, and is a member of Brockton Lodge, 
No. 218, Knights of Honor, of Brockton. While 
a resident of his native city he was also an 
active member of the Commercial Club, which 
numbers among its membership the leading 
business and professional men of the communi- 
ty. Upon becoming high sheriS of the county 
Mr. Porter took up his residence at Plymouth, 
where he and Mrs. Porter are prominent in 
tlie social affairs of the town as they were in 
Brockton, being well and favorably known in 
both places. 

On Nov. 19, 1873, Sheriff Porter was united 
in marriage to Laura Jane Hall, daughter of 
David S. and Mary (Partridge) Hall, of Dux- 
bury, who is also a descendant of early New 
England ancestry, being a direct descendant 
in the seventh generation from Miles Standish. 
This union has been blessed with one daughter, 
Laura Louise, who is the wife of Earl P. Blake, 
of Brockton, one of the deputy sheriffs of Ply- 
mouth county. 

COPELAND. The family bearing this 
name is a time-honored one in this Common- 
wealth, and has had numbered among its mem- 
bers worthy representatives in the business 
world as well as in good citizenship. This arti- 
cle is to particularly treat of that branch of the 
family through which descended the late Fran- 
cis Copeland, and his sons, Ira Copeland, Davis 
Copeland and the late Heman Copeland, all of 
whom have been honored and respected citizens 
of the communities in which their lives and en- 
ergies have been spent. The history of this 
branch of the Copeland family, given in chron- 
ological order, beginning with the first Ameri- 
can ancestor, follows. 

(I) Lawrence Copeland came to America 
and settled at Braintree, Mass. It is supposed 
that he was a sailor. He married 12th day, 
10th month, 1651, Lydia Townsend, the Rev. 
Mr. Hibbins, of Boston, performing the cere- 
mony. To this union were born children as 
follows: Thomas, bom in 1652 (who died in 
infancy); Thomas (2), 1654; William, 1656; 
John, 1658; Lydia, 1661; Ephraim, 1665; 
Hannah, 1668 ; Richard, 1672 (died same day) ; 
and Abigail, 1674. 

(II) William Copeland, son of Lawrence, 
was born 15th day, 9th month, 1656, in Brain- 
tree, Mass., and there died Oct. 30, 1716. In 



his wdll he called himself "husbandman." On 
April 13, 1694, he married Mary Bass, widow 
of Christopher Webb, Jr., and daughter of 
John and Ruth (Alden) Bass. Their children 
were: William, born March 7, 1695; Ephraim, 
Feb. 1, 1697; Ebenezer, Feb. 16, 1698; Jona- 
than, Aug. 31, 1701; David, April 15, 1704; 
Joseph, May 18, 1706; Benjamin, Oct. 5, 1708; 
Moses, May 28, 1710; and Mary, May 28, 1713. 

(III) Jonathan Copeland, son of William, 
was born Aug. 31, 1701, in Braintree, Mass., 
and settled in Bridgewater, where he died Sept. 
11, 1790. He was a farmer and tanner and 
currier, and tradition says his tannery was in 
West Bridgewater. On Jan. 14, 1723, he mar- 
ried Betty Snell, daughter of Thomas Snell, Jr., 
of Bridgewater, and their children were: Abi- 
gail, born Dec. 9, 1724; Betty, April 17, 1726 
(died June 14, 1750) ; Jonathan, Jr., Aug. 9, 
1728; Mary, March 26, 1731; Joseph, April 
28, 1734; Hannah, May 13, 1737; Elijah, June 
3, 1739 ; Daniel, Sept. 13, 1741 ; Sarah, Feb. 13, 
1744-45; Ebenezer, July 27, 1746; and Betty 
(2), Sept. 23, 1750. 

(IV) Jonathan Copeland, Jr., son of Jona- 
than, was bom Aug. 9, 1728, in Bridgewater, 
and died Nov. 16, 1820, in the ninety-third 
year of his age, in West Bridgewater. He was 
a farmer, and also a tanner and currier, con- 
tinuing the latter business as founded by his 
father. On May 22, 1754, he married Mehit- 
able Dunbar, daughter of Samuel and-Melatiah 
(Hayward) Dunbar, of Bridgewater. She died 
Oct. 4, 1827, in the ninety-second year of her 
age. To this union were born children as 
follows: Jonathan, born April 30, 1755; Me- 
hitable, Aug. 19, 1757; Sarah. Dec. 18, 1759; 
Asa, Aug. 4, 1762; Caleb, Aug. 6, 1764; Eph- 
raim, June 8, 1767 ; Betty, Feb. 27, 1770 (died 
in infancy) ; and Mary (or Polly) and Martha, 
twins, Aug. 7, 1772, the former dying in in- 
fancy, and Martha dying Oct. 8, 1853. 

(V) Asa Copeland, son of Jonathan, Jr., 
was born Aug. 4, 1762, in West Bridgewater, 
where he died March 26, 1852, in the ninetieth 
year of his age. He was engaged in farming 
during his active life, and kept house over sixty 
years in the same house where now lives his 
grandson, Davis Copeland. On Feb. 8, 1792, 
he married Persia Howard, who was born Feb. 
9, 1772, the daughter of James and Elizabeth 
Howard, and died Jan. 21, 1851. Their chil- 
dren were: Albert, bom Jan. 28, 1793, a farm- 
er and wheelwright, died in West Bridgewater ; 
Azel Howard, born Oct. 30, 1795, a farmer and 
carpenter, died in West Bridgewater; Asa, Jr., 
born May 20, 1799, a farmer and blacksmith, 
died in Bridgewater; Francis was born Dec. 
31, 1803, 



632 



SOUTHEASTEKN MASSACHUSETTS 



(VI) Francis Copeland, youngest son of Asa 
and Persia (Howard), born Dec. 31, 1803, in 
West Bridgewater, in the same house where 
now lives his sou, Davis, followed the occupa- 
tion of his ancestors, and during his life was 
engaged in agricultural pursuits. He was an 
industrious man, and as a citizen commanded 
the respect of the community in which his long 
life was spent. In his political faith he was 
a Democrat of the old school, and took an ac- 
tive interest in the affairs of his native town, 
holding some minor offices. Both he and his 
wife were active members of the Church of 
the New Jerusalem at Brockton, he having 
been one of the early members of the same 
society in West Bridgewater. Mr. Copeland 
died Dec. 17, 1882, aged nearly seventy-nine 
years, in West Bridgewater, where he is buried 
in the Pine Hill cemetery. On Nov. 8, 1830, 
he married Judith Washburn Kingman, born 
Nov. 15, 1809, daughter of Seth and Judith 
(Washburn) Kingman, of North Bridgewater, 
and a direct descendant of Henry Kingman, 
who came from Wales in 1632 to this country, 
settling at Weymouth, Mass., where he became 
an early and prominent resident of that town, 
her line of descent being through (II) John 
and Elizabeth Kingman; (III) Henry and 
Bethiah (Howard) Kingman; (IV) Henry and 
Mary (Allen) Kingman; and (V) Seth and 
Judith (Washburn) Kingman. Seth Kingman, 
her father, was a soldier in the Kevolutionary 
war, being a member of Capt. Nathan Pack- 
ard's company. Col. Eliphalet Cary's regiment, 
which marched on account of the alarm of 
Rhode Island July 22, 1780, by order of the 
council of North Bridgewater; he married Ju- 
dith Washburn, born in 1771, daughter of 
Jabez Washburn. Mrs. Copeland died in West 
Bridgewater Feb. 1, 1876, in the sixty-seventh 
year of her age, and is buried at the side of 
her husband in Pine Hill cemetery. To Fran- 
cis and Judith Washburn (Kingman) Cope- 
land were born the following children: Ira, 
born Nov. 14, i83J, married Caroline F. Eeed, 
of Abington, Mass.; Davis, born March 16, 
1835, married Sarah S. Wade; Lucy, bom 
April 27, 1839, died unmarried in 1899; and 
Heman, born Dec. 30, 1843, who died July 
26, 1909, in Chula Vista, Cal., married Caro- 
line A. Parker, of Mattapoisett, Massachusetts. 

(VII) Ira Copeland, inventor and real es- 
tate dealer, formerly of Brockton, Plymouth 
county, now residing at Newton Highlands, 
Mass., was born Nov. 14, 1831, in West Bridge- 
water (now a part of the city of Brockton), 
eldest son of Francis and Judith Washburn 



(Kingman) Copeland. Mr. Copeland was edu- 
cated in the schools of his native town and in 
the State normal school at Bridgewater, which 
in his day was under the principalship of 
Nicholas Tillinghast; he graduated from that 
institution in the year 1850. For several years 
following Mr. Copeland was engaged in teach- 
ing, principally at East Bridgewater, West 
Bridgewater, Foxboro, Abington and Fall 
River, teaching the grammar school at the lat- 
ter place, eventually retiring from that profes- 
sion on account of ill health. Returning to the 
homestead in West Bridgewater, he engaged in 
farming for a time, in 1857 engaging in the 
grocery business in the town of North Bridge- 
water (now the city of Brockton), which then 
boasted a population of but 3,000, his place 
of business being located on the East side of 
the town. He was in business there for a per- 
iod of forty years, with continuous success, 
during which time he saw the little town ex- 
pand and develop until its population exceeded 
50,000. Meantime he_also engaged for a num- 
ber of years in the cultivation of fruit, in 
which he found both pleasure and profit. By 
strict attention to the demands of his trade 
he prospered, and as he accumulated means 
acquired real estate interests in the city, which 
he still holds. Closing out his grocery busi- 
ness, Mr. Copeland in 1897 moved his family 
to Newton Highlands, Middlesex Co., Mass., 
where he resides in a beautiful home on an 
elevation which commands a fine view of the 
surrounding country. 

Though an adtive business man for so many 
years Mr. Copeland found time to follow his 
inventive inclinations and develop his faculties 
along that line, with gratifying results. In 
about 1866 he perfected a system of cipher cor- 
respondence which is still a secret, and which 
though simple was one impossible to translate 
without the key by which it was produced. On 
Jan. 14, 1868, he invented and had patented 
a fruit box and packer, and in 1870 he invented 
a horse hoe which he also patented. In 1878 
he invented and patented a wringer, upon 
which he made an improvement the following 
year. In 1887 he patented the improved wire 
nail. In 1903 he devised a method of fasten- 
ing rails, and in 1904 invented a railroad 
spike, which he had patented, also receiving a 
patent known as a method of spiking. In 
1887 he patented a cement coated vrire nail, 
which he had patented and which proved the 
most successful of all his inventions and of 
which millions of dollars' worth are now sold 
annually; in 1900 he invented an apparatus 
for cement coating and packing nails, which he 




U^a. /t5'^V^^^5^^'H^l^ 




^^^'^ 




^ 



ayj^ci 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



633 



also patented.- A number of other useful arti- 
cles are included in the list of the contrivances 
he has produced, several of which have proved 
particularly beneficial to those who employ 
them. 

Wliile a resident of Brockton Mr. Copeland 
was quite active in the administration of mu- 
nicipal affairs. He is a Democrat, but inde- 
pendent in action and a firm supporter of the 
doctrines of Henry George, believing ardently 
in the single tax tenets. Particularly inter- 
ested in the cause of public education in his 
home community, he served six years on the 
school board. He was a member of the board 
of assessors of Brockton in 1881 and 1882. 
He takes great pride in the present city of 
Brockton, now numbering nearly sixty thou- 
sand inhabitants, and it was he who suggested 
the name Brockton when the renaming of 
North Bridgewater was being discussed, after 
the town of Brockton, in Ontario. The name 
was adopted after due consideration by the 
Board of Trade, of which he was secretary at 
that time. Mr. Copeland was also one of the 
organizers of the old Board of Trade of the 
town of North Bridgewater and served as its 
secretary during its existence. He was a mem- 
ber of the North Bridgewater Agricultural So- 
ciety and served as its first secretary, contin- 
uing in that capacity for a period of twenty- 
five years, until he removed to Newton High- 
lands, and being succeeded in that position by 
the late Baalis Sanford. In 1886 he was the 
prime mover in obtaining a franchise for the 
East Side Electric Railway of Brockton, which 
had a trackage of about four and a half miles. 
Of this corporation he was vice president, and 
acting president, until capitalistic influences 
obtained a controlling interest in its capital 
stock. This was the first electric railway fran- 
chise granted in Massachusetts and, he believes, 
in New England. It was the initial step in 
making Brockton a great electric railway cen- 
ter. Although it is not generally known, Mr. 
Copeland was also the prime mover in causing 
the Old Colony Railroad Corporation to elim- 
inate its grade crossings throughout the city, 
which was done at an estimated cost of 
$1,800,000. 

On Dec. 1, 1853, Mr. Copeland was married, 
in Abington, Mass., to Caroline F. Reed, a na- 
tive of Abington, daughter of Noah and Mary 
Reed, and a descendant of one of the oldest and 
bast known families of that section of the State 
of Massachusetts. Three children were born 
to them : Mary C. ; Helen L., who died in her 
twenty-second year; and Marion K., the sur- 
viving daughters residing with their parents 



in the comfortable family home at Newton 
Highlands. Mr. and Mrs. Copeland are mem- 
bers of the Church of the New Jerusalem at 
Abington, Massachusetts. 

(VII) Davis Copelanb, one of the success- 
ful agriculturists of the community in which 
his long and industrious life has been spent, 
was born March 16, 1835, in West Bridge- 
water, in that part of the town which has since 
been annexed to the city of Brockton, and in 
the same house on Copeland street, which was 
named for his family, in which he has 
resided the greater part of his life. He is the 
second son of Francis and Judith Washburn 
(Kingman) Copeland. Until eighteen years of 
age his winters were spent in acquiring his 
education in the district school, while his sum- 
mers were devoted to work on the homestead 
farm. After leaving school he continued farm- 
ing, and since his father's death has success- 
fully conducted the homestead of 100 acres. 
Being of an industrious and .painstaking nature 
he keeps his place in a high state of cultivation. 
For the past twenty-five or more years he has 
been extensively engaged in market gardening, 
supplying his patrons in Brockton with pro- 
duce. 

Mr. Copeland and his family are active and 
consistent members of the Church of the New 
Jerusalem, at Brockton, Mr. Copeland having 
served as a member of the standing committee 
and on the church council. Fraternally he 
was a charter member of Howard Lodge, No. 
116, Knights of Pythias, of West Bridgewater, 
and also a charter member of the West Bridge- 
water Grange, No. 156, Patrons of Husbandry. 
He was one of the original members of the 
Brockton Agricultural Society, and is also a 
member of the Bridgewater Historical Society. 
In his political faith he is a Democrat, and for 
a number of years before becoming a resident 
of Brockton took an active interest in the af- 
fairs of his native town, having served for five 
years as a member of the board of road com- 
missioners, for nine years as a member of 
the school committee and for a term of four 
years as a member of the board of selectmen 
of West Bridgewater. 

On Dec. 8, 1863, Mr. Copeland married 
Sarah Samantha Wade, daughter of Charles 
Thomas and Samantha (White) Wade, of 
Easton, Mass. Mrs. Copeland is also a de- 
scendant of historic New England ancestry, as 
well as of Revolutionary stock. Her grand- 
father, Thomas Wade, married Silence Phil- 
lips, daughter of Oliver Phillips, the latter a 
soldier of the Revolution. To Mr. and Mrs. 
Copeland were born children as follows: (1) 



634 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



Lida Wade, born May 7, 18G6, is unmarried 
and living at home. (2) Arthur Davis, born 
April 4, 1869, was educated in the public and 
high schools of West Bridgewater, after which 
he entered the Massachusetts Agricultural Col- 
lege at Amherst, from which he was graduated 
in 1889. He was for several years engaged in 
the florist business, and later in the hay, grain 
and feed business in Brockton, and died in 
Forest Hills, Mass., at Dr. Emerson's private 
hospital, Sept. 3, 1907. For several years prior 
to his death he was a trustee and treasurer of 
Howard Seminary, of West Bridgewater. He 
was a member of the various Masonic bodies, 
holding membership in Paul Revere Lodge, A. 
F. & A. M.; Satucket Chapter, R. A. M.; and 
Bay State Commandery, Knights Templar, of 
Brockton. He was also a member of the Inde- 
pendent Order of Odd Fellows, and held mem- 
bership in the Commercial Club, of Brockton, 
and in the West Bridgewater Grange, No. 156, 
Patrons of Husbandry. He married July 6, 
1898, Jessie Janet Lothrop, daughter of Edwin 
H. Lothrop, of West Bridgewater, and they 
had a son, Dwight Lothrop Copeland, born 
Aug. 16, 1899. 

(VII) Heman Copeland, the youngest son 
of the late Francis and Judith Washburn 
(Kingman) Copeland, was bom Dec. 30, 1843, 
in that part of West Bridgewater which has 
since become a part of the city of Brockton, 
Mass., in the house which adjoins the old 
Copeland homestead, the latter now occupied 
by his brother, Davis Copeland. He acquired 
his educational training in the district schools, 
later attending Hunt's Academy at North 
Bridgewater and also the State normal school 
at Bridgewater. After completing the course 
at the State normal he engaged in teaching 
school for several terms, both in Duxbury and 
in his native town. Having been reared on 
the farm he naturally drifted toward agricul- 
tural pursuits, and after teaching school for 
several terms he in 1868 purchased the Nahum 
Snell farm, of about fifty-five acres, better 
known as the Brooks farm, near his old home- 
stead, later purchasing the Molbry Ripley 
farm, of about twenty-six acres, near by. Upon 
this land Mr. Copeland engaged extensively in 
market gardening, greatly improving the same, 
which became recognized as one of the most 
iip-to-date market gardens in this section of 
the State. His health failing, Mr. Copeland 
eventually sold this property, and shortly 
thereafter, in July, 1886, removed to Cali- 
fornia, remaining in Riverside a few months 
and going to San Diego in November, 1886. 
Soon after settling in California his health 



showed improvement. Mr. Copeland then en- 
gaged in fruit growing, at his death having 
about seventy acres of land, devoted to the 
growing of lemons, at Chula Vista. Being 
naturally adapted to this industry through his 
many years' experience in market gardening 
in the East, he had fruit growing developed to 
a science. He raised oranges, citrons, grape 
fruit and lemons, but devoted the greater part 
of his endeavors to the lemon industry, his 
lemon orchards being recognized as the finest 
and most productive in that section of Cali- 
fornia. Mr. Copeland continued thus engaged 
until July, 1894, when he became horticul- 
tural superintendent for the San Diego Land 
and Town Company, a corporation which 
owns and operates thousands of acres of land. 
In this capacity he had charge of the orchards 
of this concern, covering an area of over 
twelve hundred acres and having under his 
supervision about one hundred men. After 
filling this position with pronounced efficiency 
for a period covering nearly thirteen years his 
health again became impaired, and he was 
compelled to relinquish the active management 
of this corporation's affairs, at which time he 
was made advisory superintendent of this same 
corporation, a position he occupied until about 
a year prior to his death, when he retired from 
active business cares. 

Mr. Copeland's thorough knowledge of fruit 
culture caused him to be recognized as a lead- 
ing authority on that subject and he was con- 
sulted on all matters of citrus fruit culture 
by growers in all parts of southern California, 
and as advisory member of the State Board 
of Horticultural Commissioners did valuable 
work for the citrus fruit industry. Among 
his friends and admirers were practically all 
the prominent San Diegans of long residence, 
and one of the directors of the Chamber of 
Commerce of San Diego county said of him 
at the time of his death, "In the death of 
Heman Copeland San Diego has sustained a 
great loss. Besides being recognized as one 
of the greatest authorities on lemon culture, 
Mr. Copeland was also a great optimist, and 
preached San Diego county and its future 
wherever he went. He had especial faith in 
the lemon industry and inspired many others 
with it. Mr. Copeland was in every respect 
a model citizen and was abreast of the times 
in everything pertaining to the public wel- 
fare, being a leader in business, political apd 
public afilairs of the county. He was one of 
thife most genuinely kind-hearted and charitable 
men I ever met." 

Fraternally Mr. Copeland was a prominent 




90 b: 




c^L^-C-Oi^-XA---^^^ 



SOUTHEASTEKN MASSACHUSETTS 



635 



Mason, of high rank. He first became a mem- 
ber of the organization in Brockton, where he 
joined Paul Revere Lodge in 1868, and after 
removing to California transferred his mem- 
bership to South West Lodge, No. 383, A. F. 
& A. M., of National City. He was also a 
member of San Diego Commandery, No. 25, 
Knights Templar, of San Diego, and of Con- 
stans Lodge of Perfection, No. 8, and the 
other bodies of the order in San Diego, attain- 
ing the thirty-second degree. He was also a 
member of Al Malaikah Temple, A. A. 0. N. 
M. S., of Los Angeles, being an active and 
prominent member of all these organizations. 

Mr. Copeland was a consistent member of 
the Christian Science Church, of San Diego, 
of which his wife is also a member, and to 
which they have given a liberal support. In 
politics he was an advocate of Democratic 
principles, but during the silver agitation, in 
1896, he did not favor the free coinage of sil- 
ver, and thereafter became independent in his 
political views, and although he was always 
deeply interested in public affairs he never 
aspired to public office, preferring to give his 
undivided attention to his business affairs. 

On April 12, 1866, Mr. Copeland was 
united in marriage to Caroline A. Parker, 
daughter of Nathaniel D. and Mary Ann (Dex- 
ter) Parker, of Mattapoisett, Mass., and a de- 
scendant of historic old New England ances- 
try. Mrs. Copeland survives her husband,' 
making her home in Chula Vista, Cal. They 
had no cliildren. 

Mr. Copeland passed away at his home in 
Chula Vista, Cal., July 26, 1909, in the sixty- 
sixth year of his age, and at the time of his 
death various organizations with which he had 
been prominently identified adopted resolutions 
of respect on his demise, among which were 
the following: 

Whereas, it has pleased our Heavenly Father to 
take to Himself the soul of our respected friend, 
Heman Copeland, chairman of the board of horticul- 
tural commissioners, who for so many years success- 
fully devoted his energies and ability to horticulture 
in this county, and during our darkest days never 
lost faith in the great future awaiting persistent 
ranchers here, and who, as advisory horticultural 
commissioner so faithfully performed his duties, and 

WiTEREAS, we look upon his loss as one of the 
greatest that ever befell our county, therefore be it* 

Resolved, that we, the supervisors of San Diego 
county, extend to the widow and relatives of the 
deceased our heartfelt sympathy with them, in this, 
their bereavement, and furthermore be it 

Resolved, that a copy of this preamble and resolu- 
tion be sent to the widow and spread upon the minutes 
of this meeting. 



The Chamber of Commerce of San Diego County. 
San Diego, Cal., August 12, 1909. 
Mrs. Caroline Copeland, 
Chula Vista, California. 

Dear Madam: I am instructed by the Board of 
Directors of the Chamber of Commerce of San Diego 
County to convey to you their sincere regret over the 
loss of your husband. 

Mr. Copeland was recognized by the Chamber of 
Commerce as one of the representative men of South- 
ern California. His faith in the ultimate greatness 
of this section never wavered, and while he did not 
survive to see the fruition of his hopes yet his life 
was spared to witness the beginning of the great 
things he saw and prophesied for the future. 

Southern California and San Diego County in 
particular has sustained a great loss in the death 
of your husband. He is missed from our councils and 
is mourned by us, for we have lost not only a trust- 
worthy adviser, but a firm and steadfast friend. 

With renewed assurance of our sympathy, I beg 
to remain, 

Sincerely yours, 
[Signed] John S. Mms, 

Secretary. 

Asylum of 
, San Diego Commandery, No. 25, 

Knights Templar. 

San Diego, Cal., August 6th, 1909. 

At stated Assembly of San Diego Commandery, 
No. 25, Knights Templar, held at its Asylum on Au- 
gust 3d, 1909, the death of Sir Heman Copeland, on 
July 26th, 1909, was announced; 

Whereupon a committee of three was appointed 
to voice the sentiments of the Commandery on this 
sad event, who reported the follo^ving resolutions: — 

Resolved, That in the death of Sir Heman Cope- 
land this Commandery has lost a faithful, worthy and 
respected member, whose absence will be regretted 
as the years go by; 

That to his widow, C. A. Copeland, and family is 
extended our sincere sympathy and regret and wth 
her and them we will join in proper service which 
may be rendered to better bear this bereavement, ever 
trusting in the great love of the Nazarene, our Guide 
and Leader in the true path to go and do ; 

Further, that a copy hereof be spread upon the 
records and an attested copy be forwarded to his 
widow. 

George Bubnham, 
William Kettneb, 
George Mifflin Dannals, 

Committee. 
In witness whereof, I have hereunto attached the 
seal and my signature, the day and date above writ- 
ten. 

[Signed] Jno. P. Bubt, 
[SE-^] Recorder. 

BENT (Taunton family). For some fifty 
years there has resided at Taunton a branch of 
the ancient Sudbury-Milton (Massachusetts) 
Bent family, one established there approxi- 
mately two hundred and seventy-one years ago. 
Reference is made to the family of the present 
William H. Bent, Esq., of that city, who for 
quite half a century has been continuously iden- 
tified with what is now the Mason Machine 



636 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



Works and much of the time officially, and as 
well is, as he has long been, one of the substan- 
tial men and useful citizens of Taunton, serving 
his community in a number of public official 
capacities. His son, Arthur Cleveland Bent, a 
graduate of Harvard and now general manager 
of the Mason Machine Works, has served his 
city as alderman; another son, Frederick Hen- 
dee Bent, after his graduation from Harvard, 
in 1889, entered the Mason Macliine Works, 
and died in 1897. 

(I) John Bent, a native of England, born 
in the parish of Penton-Grafton, in the County 
of Hants, some seventy miles southwest of Lon- 
don, sailed from Southampton, England, in 
1638, and became one of the first settlers of 
Sudbury, Mass. Mr. Bent was baptized Nov. 
20, 1596, in the parish of Waybill. He was 
the son of Eobert Bent and grandson of John 
Bent. The Christian name of the wife of Mr. 
Bent was Martha, and five of their seven chil- 
dren were bom in England, the other two 
in Sudbury. Their children were: Eobert, 
baptized Jan. 10, 1624-25; William, baptized 
Oct. 24, 1626; Peter, baptized April 14, 1629; 
Agnes, born about' 1630; John, born about 
1635; Joseph, born May 16, 1641; and Martha, 
born about 1643. 

The house lot of Mr. Bent, which comprised 
some six acres, was about a quarter of a mile 
from Wayland Center, and upon it he lived, 
a farmer, until his death, Sept. 27, 1672, when 
aged nearly seventy-six years. 

(II) Joseph Bent, born May 16, 1641, in 
Sudbury, Mass., married June 30, 1666, Eliza- 
beth, daughter of John Bourne, of Marshfield, 
and moved thither, but returned to Sudbury be- 
fore 1671, and was killed accidentally in the 
summer of 1675 by a pistol shot fired by his 
brother Peter. While at Marshfield he was con- 
stable in 1669. Five of his six children were liv- 
ing in 1686, though the names of his two 
daughters are unknown. The children of Jos- 
eph and Elizabeth whose names are known, the 
youngest two being born in Sudbury, were : 
Joseph, born Oct. 11, 1667; Experience; Eliza- 
beth, born in 1673 ; and Joseph (2), bom March 
5, 1675. 

(III) Joseph Bent (2), bom March 5, 1675, 
married Oct. 27, 1698, Eachel, daughter of 
Jonathan Fuller, of Dedham: Mr. Bent was 
brought up in Marshfield by his grandfather, 
John Bourne. He was a blacksmith, and after 
his marriage lived in Milton, Mass., where he 
died March 31, 1728, aged fifty-three years. 
His wife died July 5, 1725, aged fifty-one. 
Their children were: Mary, bom Jan. 21, 
1700; Joseph, born Sept. 26, 1701; John, born 



Oct. 15, 1703; Eachel, born Aug. 21, 1705; 
Elizabeth, born Jan. 13, 1708; Sarah, born 
April 13, 1710; Ebenezer, born April 23, 1712; 
Experience, born Oct. 12, 1714; and Thankful, 
born July 5, 1716. 

(IV) Ebenezer Bent, born April 23, 1712, 
married Jan. 9, 1735, Deborah, daughter of 
Jonathan Fairbanks, of Dedham, Mass. Mr. 
Bent was a yeoman of Milton, Mass., where he 
died Feb. 15, 1786, aged seventy-three. His 
widow died Aug. 17, 1798, at Quincy, Mass., 
aged eighty-four. Their children, all born in 
Milton, Mass., were: Eleanor, born Sept. 28, 
1735; Ebenezer, Aug. 22, 1737; Samuel, March 
1, 1739; Nedabiah, Jan. 21, 1742; Mary, Feb. 
1, 1744; Jolin, July 10, 1746; Deborah, July 
8, 1748; Sarah, March 24, 1751; Elizabeth, 
April 13, 1754. 

(V) Jolin Bent, born July 10, 1746, married 
Dec. 11, 1769, Hannah Collar of Dedham, 
Mass., and lived in Milton. Among their chil- 
dren was a son Josiah. 

(VI) Josiah Bent, son of John, married 
Susannah Tucker. They lived in Milton, where 
Mr. Bent probably built what is characterized 
as the old Bent house. It was in this house 
that he began on a small scale, with one oven 
only at first, the baking business which through 
the century has been popularly known as Bent's 
cracker bakery. It is said that he made the 
first water crackers in this country, and these 
long after his day were continued to be made 
by hand and the excellent reputation he made 
from them maintained. He continued the busi- 
ness until 1830. Among his children were 
Josiah and Nathaniel Tucker, both of whom 
became liberally educated and were successful 
in the learned professions. 

(VII) Eev. Josiah Bent (2) was born at 
Milton, Mass., and in due time prepared for 
college. He was graduated from Harvard with 
the class of 1822. He then studied theology 
at Princeton and devoted his life to the Chris- 
tian ministry. He settled at Weymouth, Mass., 
where he was ordained pastor of the First 
Church. In 1834 he became pastor of the 
church at Falmouth, Mass. From the Fal- 
mouth charge he was dismissed in 1837 to be- 
come pastor of the church at Amherst, where 
his death occurred Nov. 19, 1839. Eev. Mr. 
Bent married Pauline Eich. 

. (VII) Eev. Nathaniel Tucker Bent, son of 
Josiah and Susannah (Tucker) Bent, and 
brother of Eev. Josiah, was bom July 31, 1810, 
in Milton, Mass. He began his preparatory 
studies for admission to college under the in- 
struction of his brother Rev. Josiah Bent, of 
Weymouth, Mass., who had graduated at Har- 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



637 



vard College in 1832, and completed them at 
Phillips Academy in Andover. He entered 
Harvard and held a distinguished rank in col- 
lege, and was graduated with high honors with 
the class of 1831. After leaving college young 
Bent began the study of divinity at the Episco- 
pal Theological Seminary in New York and 
finished his studies under the instruction of 
Bishop Alexander Viets Griswold, at Salem. 
He was ordained at Salem, and was afterward 
instituted as rector over the following churches : 
Grace Church, in New Bedford, where he re- 
mained five years: St. John's, in Charlestown, 
two years ; St. Thomas's, in Taunton, five j'ears ; 
St. John's, in Bangor, Maine, two and a half 
years ; All Saints', in Worcester, two and a half 
years; and Grace Church, again, in New Bed- 
ford, a few months. He retired from the min- 
istry in 1853, and removed to Worcester, Mass., 
where he taught a private school for yoimg 
ladies, which he continued until his death. 

On June 18, 1834, Rev. Mr. Bent was mar- 
ried to Catherine E. D. Metcalf, eldest daugh- 
ter of Col. Eliab W. Metcalf, of Cambridge, 
and had four children by birth and one by 
adoption ; three of whom, including the adopted 
one, survived the father. 

"Mr. Bent was a man of rare abilities, and, 
when engaged in the active duties of the min- 
istry, was very popular and efficient as rector. 
Much might be said truly in praise of his 
fidelity to all the details of parochial duty, the 
interest he took in promoting musical taste 
in its sacred department, his zeal in missionary 
enterprises, and the genial flow which he mani- 
fested in social life. Not a few of his former 
parishioners and friends will long cherish a 
most kindly remembrance of him as a beloved 
and respected pastor." He died Nov. 4, 1856, 
at his home in Worcester, Mass., aged forty- 
six years. 

(VIII) William H. Bent, son of Rev. Na- 
thaniel T. and Catherine E. D. (Metcalf) Bent, 
was born Jan. 2, 1839, in Cambridge, Mass. 
He was educated in private and public schools 
and fitted for civil engineering. When he was 
seventeen years old (in 1856) he entered the 
extensive machinery works of William Mason, 
Taunton, and he has been connected with them 
ever since except for a short time after the 
panic of 1857, when that business was tempo- 
rarily suspended. Returning in 1859, he grad- 
ually worked up to the position of chief ex- 
ecutive officer of the works, assuming such po- 
sition at the death of Mr. Mason, in May, 1883. 
In 1873, when the business was incorporated 
under the name of the Mason Machine Works, 
he became treasurer of the corporation, which 



office he has held uninterruptedly until the 
present time. The corporation employs in good 
times about one thousand men, chiefly in build- 
ing cotton machinery. Mr. Bent has been and 
still is connected with numerous other large 
interests. He was a director of the Corliss 
Steam Engine Company, of Providence, R. I.; 
director of the Nemasket Mills, Taunton; has 
been for many years and now is director of the 
Boston Manufacturers' Mutual Fire Insurance 
Company; director of the Corr Manufacturing 
Company, of Taunton; director of the Ma- 
chinists' iSTational Bank of Taunton; president 
of the Liberty Square Warehouse Company of 
Boston. He has served as an alderman of 
Taunton for two terms (1877 and 1878) and 
was chairman of the board of commissioners of 
the Sinking Fund of the city for twenty years. 
Although repeatedly sought he has declined 
political offices and appointments other than 
municipal, among them that of member of 
the special commission on the unemployed, cre- 
ated by the Legislature of 1894, to which he 
was appointed by Governor Greenhalge. In 
politics he is a Republican. He was a delegate 
to the Republican National Convention of 1888, 
and is a defender of protection, a frequent 
contributor to the press in its interests, was 
president of the Home Market Club of Boston 
for three years, and president of the Arkwright 
Club, of Boston, for three years. In religious 
faith he is an Episcopalian, and is a prominent 
lay member of the church organization. He is- 
a delegate to the diocesan convention of the 
Episcopal Church of Massachusetts, was,a mem- 
ber of the committee of fifteen appointed by 
Bishop Laurence in 1894 to report a plan for 
the division of the diocese, a member of the 
Episcopalian Club of Massachusetts, and senior 
warden of St. Thomas's Episcopal Church, 
Taunton, for many years. He belongs to the 
Union Club of Boston. 

On June 14, 1865, Mr. Bent was married 
to Harriet F. Hendee, daughter of Charles 
J. Hendee, of Boston. They had three sons, 
Arthur Cleveland, Frederick Hendee and 
Charles (died in infancy). The two sons who 
lived to maturity were both graduated from 
Harvard University in 1889. Mrs. Bent died 
in 1873, and Mr. Bent married (second) Jan. 
29, 1885, Sarah E. Chesbrough, daughter of 
Lewis R. Chesbrough, of New York. 



Metcalf. The Metcalf family to which Mr. 
Bent belongs through the maternal line is 
descended from Michael Metcalf, who was born 
in Tatterford, County of Norfolk, England, in 
1586. He followed the occupation of weaver 



638 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



in the city of Norwich, that county. His wife 
Sarah was born June 17, 1593, in the adjoin- 
ing town of Waynham, where they were mar- 
ried Oct. 13, 1616. To escape religious perse- 
cution he took passage from Yarmouth to New 
England April 15, 1637. He arrived "three 
days before midsummer," and was admitted 
a townsman at Dedham July 14, 1637. 

Michael Metcalf, third child of Michael and 
Sarah, was born Aug. 29, 1620. He married 
April 2, 1644, Mary Fairbanks, and died Dec. 
24, 1654. 

Eleazer Metcalf, fifth child of Michael and 
Mary, was born March 20, 1653. He married 
April 9, 1684, Melatia Fisher. 

Michael Metcalf, second child of Eleazer and 
Melatia, was born May 21, 1687, and married 
Abiel Colburn. 

Pelatiah Metcalf, first child of Michael and 
Abiel, married Hepzibah Mann. He died April 
1, 1770, and she died Oct. 11, 1773. 

Thomas Metcalf, eighth child of Pelatiah 
and Hepzibah, born Aug. 13, 1749, married 
Jan. 25, 1776, Jemima Ray, who was born Jan. 
8, 1756. Thomas Metcalf, with his older 
brother, Silas, built the hip-roofed house which 
formerly stood on the farm in West Wrentham 
in the year 1797. They occupied the house, 
and carried on the farm in partnership for 
several years, until Silas's son Lewis took his 
father's share, when the farm was divided. 
When a young man he got "the old elm," which 
now stands by the roadside, in a swamp, brought 
it on his back and set it out. He died Oct. 
30, 1832, and his wife in May, 1830. 

Eliab Wight Metcalf, third child of Thomas 
and Jemima, born Jan. 20, 1781, married May 
7, 1809, Lydia Stedman, who was bom Jan. 
24, 1787. He learned the printer's trade of 
Nathaniel Heaton in Wrentham, and about 
1800 went to Boston, and soon after to work 
at Cambridge for Deacon William Hilliard. He 
was taken in as a partner after a short time, 
finally became proprietor, and extended and 
established the business which now forms so 
important a part of the industry of Cambridge. 
He sold out his interest in printing, and be- 
came a partner with Eussell & Odiorne in 
book publishing in Boston. He was a member 
of the Legislature in 1835 ; was also a promi- 
nent Freemason and militiaman. He died Nov. 
27, 1835. His wife died Dec. 5, 1866. Their 
children were: John Porter, born Feb. 3, 1810, 
died June 13, 1818; Catherine E. D., born Dec. 
7, 1811, married June 18, 1834, Nathaniel 
Tucker Bent, an Episcopal clergyman (born at 
Milton, Mass., July 31, 1810, died Nov. 4, 1856, 
at Worcester), and she died Feb. 28, 1892; 



Eliab Wight, born June 10, 1814, died Sept. 
13, 1817; David Ray, born Aug. 28, 1816, 
died Sept. 19, 1817; John Porter, bom Sept. 
13, 1818, died Sept. 10, 1853; Lydia Stedman, 
bom Aug. 28, 1820, died Jan. 14, 1859 ; Susan 
Harrod was born Sept. 21, 1822; Eliab Wight 
(2), born Dec. 4, 1824, died Aug., 19, 1835; 
Harriet Augusta, born June 39, 1826, married 
June 18, 1844, William Mason (born at Mystic, 
Conn., Sept. 3, 1808, died May 31, 1883), and 
they resided in Taunton, Mass., where he was 
proprietor of a large manufactory of locomo- 
tives and cotton machinery (she died Dec. 31, 
1880); Ellen Maria was bom May 20, 1828; 
a daughter, bom in November, 1830, died 
young. 

SEARS (Middleboro family). The names of 
Sarres and Series have been represented in 
Guernsey for several centuries, and are found 
there to-day. Marblehead, Mass., where the 
American ancestor of the Sears family resided 
in 1638, was largely settled by people from the 
islands- of Guernsey and Jersey. "There is a 
popular belief that the family of Sears is of 
Norman origin, and it is noticeable that in 
the eastern parishes of London, and adjacent 
villages, which contained many Huguenot, 
Flemish and Walloon emigrants, the name of 
Sears or Sares is common about 1600." 

It is the purpose of this article to treat of 
what may properly be styled the South Yar- 
mouth-Middleboro branch of the old Yarmouth 
Sears family. The head of the Middleboro 
family was the late Barnabas Sears, a carpen- 
ter and builder by trade and early occupation, 
and later at Middleboro a dealer in lumber and 
builders' supplies, succeeded by his son, the 
present Henry W. Sears, Esq.; who has long 
been one of the successful business men and 
prominent citizens of his adopted town. The 
latter gentleman descends in the ninth genera- 
tion from Richard Sares (Sears), one of the 
early comers to Plymouth, from whom his de- 
scent is through Lieut. Silas Sears, Capt. 
Joseph Sears, Barnabas Sears, Stephen Sears, 
Stephen Sears (3), Barnabas (3) and Barnabas 
Sears (3). These generations in the order 
named and in detail follow. 

(I) Richard Sears (name variously spelled, 
in time taking the form of Sears) is of record 
at Plymouth as early as March, 1632-33, when 
taxed. He soon crossed over to Marblehead 
and was there taxed in 1637. He removed to 
Yarmouth, where he was a proprietor in 1638. 
His name was on the list of those able to bear 
arms in 1643. He became a freeman June 7, 
1653. Commissioners on Indian affairs were 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 639 

appointed Oct. 26, 1647, to meet at his house, of certain iron-works Jan. 5, 1740, and died 

He died in Yarmouth, and was burred there soon, 1740-41. His children were: Stephen; 

Aug. 26, 1676. His widow Dorothy was buried Hannah; and Mary, born April 27, 1738, in 

there March 19, 1678-79. It is not certain that Hardwick, Massachusetts. 

she was his only wife, or the mother of all, (V) Stephen Sears, born about 1736, mar- 

if any, of his children. His children were: ried in Yarmouth, Mass., Nov. 24, 1757, Lydia 

Paul, born in 1637^38; Silas, possibly a twin Sears, who died March 8, 1792, in her fifty- 

to Paul, as his age as given at his death by seventh year. He then married (intentions 

Otis would indicate ; and Deborah, born in Sep- published Nov. 30, 1794) Martha Hale, of 

tember, 1639. Sandwich, Mass., who died Jan. 25, 1838, aged 

(II) Lieut. Silas Sears, born as indicated seventy-nine years. He served in the Revolu^ 
by age at time of his death in 1637-38, mar- tion as a private in Capt. Benjamin. Berry's 
ried Anna Bursley, daughter of James Burs- (Harwich) company, Maj. Zenas Winslow's 
ley, of Yarmouth. Both died at Yarmouth, regiment, service five days, on an alarm at Bed- 
Mr. Sears Jan. 13, 1697-98, and Mrs. Sears ford and Falmouth, Sept. 7, 1718. He and 
March 4, 1725-26. Lieutenant Sears lived in his wife Lydia were admitted to full com- 
the East precinct of Yarmouth, which later be- munion in the Second Church, Yarmouth, 
came Dennis. He was commissioned ensign March 20, 1774, and he was chosen deacon, 
Oct. 28, 1681, and lieutenant July 7, 1682. He March 9, 1789. His children, all save the 
was chosen representative to the General Court youngest born to the first wife, were: Barna- 
at Plymouth, 1685-91, selectman, 1680-94, and has, born Oct. 7, 1758; Thankful, borii Oct. 
juryman, 1680-82. The children of Silas Sears 15, 1760; Kezia, born Aug. 14, 1763; Stephen, 
were: Silas, born in 1661; Richard (both born Oct. 2, 1765; Priscilla, born Aug. 13, 
born in Yarmouth) ; Hannah, born in Decern- 1768; Lydia, born July 24, 1771; and Sophro- 
ber, 1672, in Eastham; Joseph and Josiah, born nia, born in 1797 — all in Yarmouth, Massa- 
about 1675 in Yarmouth; and Elizabeth and chusetts. 

Dorothy, both born in Yarmouth. (VI) Stephen Sears (2), born Oct. 2, 1765, 

(III) Capt. Joseph Sears, born about 1675 in Yarmouth, married Nov. 10, 1785, Sarah, 
in Yarmouth, married there Sept. 19, 1700, daughter of David G. Gorham. She was ad- 
Hannah Hall, of Yarmouth, and is designated mitted to the church in East Yarmouth, Jan. 
as a yeoman of that town. He lived in the 28, 1787, and died in April, 1811. He then 
East precinct, now Dennis, and was styled cap- remarried, his second wife dying in January, 
tain. He died May 7, 1750, in the seventy-fifth 1825. He died in East Dennis, Mass., May 24, 
year of his age, as per gravestone. His wife 1851, aged eighty-five years. His children, all 
Hannah died July 28, 1753, in her seventy- born to the first wife, were: Elizabeth, born 
third year, according to her gravestone. She Aug. 20; 1786; Priscilla, June 25, 1788; Bar- 
was admitted to the church at Harwich March nabas, July 30, 1790; Lydia, Sept. 3, 1792; 

21, 1708, and to the Second Church at Yar- David Gorham, Nov. 16, 1794; Almond, or 
mouth Aug. 6, 1727. Their chiliren, all born Alfred, May 1, 1798; Stephen, March 16, 1800; 
in Yarmouth, were: Priscilla, born July 1, and Stephen (2), July 5, 1804. 

1701; Hannah, Dec. 10, 1703; Zachariah, April (VII) Barnabas Sears, born July 30, 1790, 

22, 1706; Joseph, March 27, 1708; Stephen, in Dennis, Mass., married in Yarmouth, Mass., 
July 22, 1710; Roland, May 17, 1711; Barna- Dec. 12, 1815, Hannah, born there Nov. 13, 
bas, April 5, 1714; Peter, May 20, 1716; 1792, daughter of Isaiah Crocker. Mr. Sears 
Bethia, March 20, 1718; Silas, Feb. 11, 1719- died in South Yarmouth, Mass., July 17, 1875, 
20; and Thankful, April 11, 1723. aged eighty-five, and was buried in the Quaker 

(IV) Barnabas Sears, born April 5, 1714, cemetery. His wife died Jan. 7, 1879, aged 
in Yarmouth, Mass., married in Rochester, eighty-six years, two months. Their children, 
Mass., Sept. 25, 1732, Thankful, born in Har- all born in South Yarmouth, were: John 
wich, Mass., Oct. 6, 1714, daughter of John Kelly, born Sept. 11, 1816, who married at 
and Mercy (Watson) Freeman, of Rochester. Nantucket, Mass., Sarah Burdett; Barnabas, 
Mr. Sears was a bloomer, or iron forger, and born Sept. 14, 1818;' Stephen, born July 15, 
probably an associate in business with his 1822; Seth, born Sept. 27, 1825, who died July 
brother Roland. He removed from Rddrtster 17, 1847; Elizabeth, born Nov. 18, 1828, who 
to Hardwick before the birth of his daughter married Nov. 30, 1851, Dr. John Stetson, of 
Mary in 1738, as his daughter Hannah was Abington, Mass. ; and David, born July 6, 
born there. From Hardwick he removed to 1832, the only survivor of this family, and 
Brookfield, where he purchased an eighth part now living at South Yarmouth. 



640 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



(VIII) Barnabas Sears (2), born Sept. 14, 
1818, in South Yarmouth, Mass., married in 
Yarmouth, Nov. 36, 1840, Ruth H., born Jan. 
28, 1806, daughter of Rev. Simeon and Char- 
lotte Crowell. She died Oct. 31, 1851, in 
South Yarmouth, Mass., and he married (sec- 
ond) in Brewster, Mass., Oct. 18, 1852, Deb- 
orah Manter Clark, born Oct. 9, 1832, 
daughter of Capt. William and Lydia Clark, 
of Brewster, Mass. She died April 38, 1885, 
in Middleboro, Mass., and he married (third) 
May 2, 1886, Mrs. Susan H. Doane, of Sonier- 
ville, Mass., now deceased. 

Barnabas Sears was a carpenter and builder 
of the town of South Yarmouth, being so occu- 
pied and residing there until 1874, when he 
removed to Middleboro, where, associated with 
his brother, John K. Sears, under the firm 
name of J. K. & B. Sears, he engaged in the 
lumber and hardware business, and they so 
managed their business affairs as to be highly 
successful. The firm of J. K. & B. Sears was 
first engaged in the lumber business in South 
Yarmouth, where they became established in 
1849, carrying it on until 1869, when the busi- 
ness was removed to Hyannis, Mass., where it 
is still being conducted under the same firm 
name, together with the business at Middle- 
boro. Mr. Sears, besides his residence at Mid- 
dleboro, maintained a summer home in South 
Yarmouth, the old Crowell homestead. He 
retired from active business in 1888, and there- 
after resided at his home in South Yarmouth, 
where he died Aug. 30, 1894, in his seventy- 
sixth year, an esteemed and respected citizen 
and a prosperous and successful business man. 
He was buried at South Yarmouth. He was 
a member of the Central Congregational 
Church, of Middleboro, and politically was a 
Republican. His children born to his wife 
Ruth were: Henry, born June 24, 1842, died 
Feb. 8, 1843;. John, born May 29, 1845, died 
Sept. 12th, of that same year; John K., born 
Sept. 16, 1846, died July 29, 1847; Simeon 
Crowell, bom Oct. 16, 1847, died March 29, 
1864, of injuries, having fallen from aloft, off 
the west coast of South America, March 17th, 
while on passage from Rio Janeiro to San 
Francisco, in the ship "Fleetwing." The chil- 
dren born to Mr. Sears by his wife Deborah 
were: Isaiah Clark, born Sept. 11, 1853, re- 
sides at Hyannis, being in the lumber business 
in partnership with his brother Henry W. 
Sears; Henry William was born April 24, 
1859; Etta Frances, born Feb. 26, 1866, mar- 
ried Walter H. Doane, and they reside in Port- 
land, Oregon. 

(IX) Heney W. Sears, son of Barnabas 



and Deborah, was born April 24, 1859, in 
South Yarmouth, Mass. He acquired his edu- 
cation in main in the comm,on schools of his 
native town, furthering his preparation for 
business with a three months' course of study 
at Comer's commercial college in Boston. He 
began his business career as a clerk in a gro- 
cery store at the age of fifteen, remaining so 
occupied for some six months. At the age 
of sixteen, in 1875, he entered the establish- 
ment of his father and uncle, at Middleboro, 
J. K. & B. Sears, and some half dozen years 
later, Jan. 1, 1882, was taken into the firm, 
the style of which was then changed to the one 
it has ever since borne, that of J. K. & B. Sears 
& Co. As the father advanced in years the 
management fell to the son, the father practi- 
cally retiring, and on the father's death the 
son assumed control and has since conducted 
it with that perseverance, energy and good 
management that had been shown by the father. 
The business has steadily grown under the direc- 
tion of the son until it is one of the most ex- 
tensive in its line of any in the Middleboro 
section of Massachusetts. At the establishment 
is kept a full line of lumber, doors, sashes, 
blinds, hardware, paints and builders' supplies 
of all kinds. 

The political aSiliations of Mr. Sears are 
with the Republican party, in whose councils 
he has been active, zealous and prominent. He 
lias been a member of the town committee of 
his party. He has proved himself a valuable 
citizen, a man of worth to the community. He 
has long been a stanch advocate of total absti- 
nence, and a member of the Sons of Temper- 
ance. His religious faith is that of the Con- 
gregational denomination, and he has long been 
an active and zealous member of the church of 
that denomination at Middleboro, serving it as 
clerk and deacon. He has also served as presi- 
dent of the Christian Endeavor Society and 
has taken an interest in the work of the Sun- 
day school of the church; has been active 
in the Y. M. C. A., and was president of same 
for several years. 

On Dec. 5, 1883, Mr. Sears was married 
to Martha S., daughter of James M. Pickens, of 
Middleboro, Mass. Two children have blessed 
the marriage: (1) Henry W., born Jan. 11, 
1888, in Middleboro, was educated in district 
and high schools in Middleboro, and in the 
School of Technology in Worcester, remaining 
in the latter two years. He is now engaged 
in business with his father. (2) Mabel B., 
born April 20, 1892, was graduated from the 
Middleboro high school in 1909. Mrs. Sears 
is a member of the Cabot Club, of Middleboro. 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



641 



She is a descendant of Tliomas Pickens, the first 
of that name in New England, her lineage be- 
ing as follows: 

(I) Thomas Pickens, according to a letter of 
his grandson, John Pickens, of New Bedford, 
bearing date of Jan. 6, 1807, with his wife 
Margaret (Steel) and their children, Jane, 
Andrew and James, the latter two twins and 
about two years of age, came to America about 
1717, landing, after a rough and tedious voy- 
age of eleven weeks, at Boston. The family 
was for a time at Milton, thence went to Free- 
town, and later settled in the southwest part 
of Middleboro, on land which for generations 
was occupied by their descendants. Two sons 
and two daughters were born to them after 
their arrival in New England, namely : Martha, 
John, Margaret and Thomas. The Milton 
Church records show that "Thomas and Martha, 
twins, children of Neighbour Thomas Pickens, 
were baptized June 11, 1721." The family 
came from BallyguUy, near Coleraine, in the 
northern part of Ireland. Thomas Pickens first 
acquired land in the Middleboros by deed Dec. 

26, 1732, from Barnabas Eaton. His name 
appears as one of the original members of the 
Lakeville Congregational Church formed Oct. 
12, 1725. 

(II) Andrew Pickens, born about 1715, in 
Coleraine, Ireland, came to New England with 
the family. On Nov. 19, 1741, he married 
Elizabeth Eeed, of Freetown. Mr. Pickens was 
a farmer, and lived on the land owned by and 
in the house built by his father. He died in 
Middleboro March 29, 1795, in the seventy- 
ninth year of his age. His wife died in Mid- 
dleboro April 4, 1795, in her eighty-second 
year. Their children were: John, born Feb. 

27, 1743; Andrew, Jr., July 3, 1744; Phebe, 
Nov. 4, 1745; James, March 17, 1747; Sarah, 
Nov. 18, 1748; Thomas, Nov. 3, 1750; Samuel, 
May 4, 1752; Eleazer, May 27, 1754; Martha, 
Feb. 6, 1756; Elizabeth, March 21, 1757; Ben- 
jamin, May 10, 1760. 

(III) Samuel Pickens, bom May 4, 1752, 
married Matilda, daughter of Ebenezer Briggs, 
who served in the Revolutionary war, being a 
member of Capt. Amos Washburn's company, 
which marched on two alarms at Dartmouth in 
1778; also a member of Capt. Jonah Wash- 
burn's company, which marched to Rhode 
Island on an alarm in 1780. The' children born 
to Samuel and Matilda were : Stephen Briggs, 
born Oct. 5, 1782; James, Oct. 17, 1784; and 
Ebenezer, Oct. 6, 1787. 

Samuel Pickens, the father of this family, 
was also a Revolutionary soldier, having been 
a private and corporal in Capt. Job Peirce's 

41 



company which, was on duty in Rhode Island 
in 1777, during the Revolution; and also was 
a private in Capt. Amos Washburn's company, 
raised in Middleboro in 1778. He served as a 
member of the Constitutional convention, Nov. 
15, 1820. 

(IV) Ebenezer Pickens, son of Samuel, born 
Oct. 6, 1787, in that part of Middleboro which 
became Lakeville, married Oct. 5, 1813, Mary 
Bourne Thompson, born Nov. 4, 1792, a direct 
descendant of John Tomson, one of the early 
settlers of Plymouth and Middleboro, and his 
wife Mary (Cooke), daughter of Francis 
Cooke, of the "Mayflower," 1620, from which 
her descent is through Jacob Thompson, Jacob 
Thompson (2), Jacob Thompson (3), 'Benja- 
min Thompson and his wife Mary (Bourne), 
Benjamin, last named, being a soldier in the 
Revolution. 

Ebenezer Pickens was one of the well and 
favorably known men who lived at the Four 
Corners in Middleboro. He lived near his 
birthplace until the year 1832, when he re- 
moved his house to its present site near the 
corner of Main and Courtland streets. He re- 
sided there for twenty years, and in 1852 pur- 
chased land on the southerly side of Main 
street and built a commodious house. In 1822 
Mr. Pickens was appointed a justice of the 
peace, and in 1850 a trial justice, which office 
he held until the time of his death. In con- 
structing his house just alluded to Mr. Pickens 
provided a room on the east side for an office 
and courtroom. In 1847 he was elected county 
commissioner and served nine years. While a 
resident of Lakeville, and later, he with his 
family attended church at the Green, and they 
were seldom absent from services through sum- 
mer's heat and winter's cold. On the formation 
of the Central Congregational Church Mr. 
Pickens was chosen one of the deacons, a. rela- 
tion he sustained to the church until the time 
of his death, which occurred May 8, 1868, when 
he was aged eighty years. The children born 
to Mr. Pickens and his wife were: Caroline 
Matilda (born Dec. 26, 1814) and Andrew 
Jackson and James Madison, twins (born June 
5, 1818). 

(V) James Madison Pickens was born in 
that part of Middleboro which is now Lake- 
ville, Mass., June 5, 1818, and there grew to 
manhood. As a young man he was engaged 
in business in New Bedford, but later he 
started in business for himself, manufacturing 
straw goods. He formed a partnership with 
his twin brother, Andrew J., and William A. 
King, purchasing the business of Ebenezer 
Briggs, and they were the pioneer manufac- 



642 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



turers of straw goods in this section. He con- 
tinued in the business until 1858, when he sold 
out and engaged in the grocery business for 
several years. He next became interested in 
the real estate business, at which he continued 
during the remainder of his active life. He 
was a man of upright character and honorable 
dealings. He was a consistent member of the 
Central Congregational Church, and was active 
in building it up in a successful way ; he was 
connected with the building of the church edi- 
fice, contributing over $1,000 in money, as well 
as giving much of his time. He was for up- 
ward of a quarter of a century deacon of the 
church. A good Christian man in every sense 
of the word, he left a name of which his chil- 
dren are justly proud. He had a beautiful 
tenor voice, and conducted singing schools in 
different sections of the State for nearly half 
a century. He died at his home on South 
Main street, Middleboro, Feb. 16, 1899, after 
a long and painful illness, and was buried in 
Central cemetery. 

Mr. Pickens married, June 5, 1851, Lucy 
H. Potter, of North Brookfield, Mass., whose 
grandfather, Capt. John Potter, was a Revolu- 
tionary soldier, and four children were born to 
them: (1) Lucy maTried Richard Cobb, and 
resides at West Newton, Mass. (2) Laura mar- 
ried E. F. Kingman, of Brockton, and she is 
now a widow, residing in Riverside, Cal., of 
which city Mr. Kingman was mayor at the 
time of his death. (3) Mary B. married Amasa 
R. Glidden, of Middleboro, where they reside. 
(4) Martha S. married Henry W. Sears, of 
Middleboro. 

FRANK L. CARPENTER, treasurer of the 
Davis Mills at Fall River, is. a member of one 
of the oldest families in New England, being 
a descendant in the ninth generation from Wil- 
liam Carpenter, from whom we give the line 
down to the present. 

(I) William Carpenter, son of William Car- 
penter, of London, was born in 1605, in Eng- 
land, and there married Abigail. On coming 
to America, he first settled in Wej'mouth, where 
he became a freeman in 1640. He was a repre- 
sentative from Weymouth in 1641 and 1643, 
and from Rehoboth in 1645, having been ad- 
mitted an inhabitant of the latter town in 1645. 
He was also made a freeman in that same year. 
From 1643 to 1649 he served as proprietors' 
and town clerk. He died Feb. 7, 1659, in Reho- 
both, Mass., his widow, Abigail, dying Feb. 22, 
1687. Three of their seven children were born 
in England, the next three in Weymouth, and 
the youngest in Rehoboth ; they were : John, 



born about 1628; William, about 1631; Joseph,, 
about 1633; Hannah, April 3, 1640; Abiah and 
Abigail (twins), April 9, 1643, and Samuel, 
about 1644. 

(II) Samuel Carpenter, born about 1644,. 
married May 25, 1660, Sarah Readaway, of 
Rehoboth. He was one who bought land in the 
North Purchase, and also had land allotted ta 
him in the division in 1671. He died Feb. 20,. 
1682 or 1683, and his widow Sarah remarried. 
He and Sarah had a family of ten children, all 
born in Rehoboth, viz. : Samuel, Sept. 15, 
1661; Sarah, Jan. 11, 1663-64; Abiah, Feb. 10, 
1665-66; James, April 12, 1668; Jacob, Sept. 
5, 1670; Jonathan, Dec. 11, 1672; Solomon, 
Dec. 23, 1677; David, April 17, 1675; Zach- 
ariah, July 1, 1680; and Abraham, Sept. 20, 
1682. 

(III) Abiah Carpenter, son of Samuel, was 
born Feb. 10, 1665-66, married (first) May 
30, 1690, Mehitable Read, who was born 
in August, 1660, and died March 19, 1701-02. 
He married (second) June 7, 1702, Sarah 
Read, who died July 17, 1724. He married 
(third) Mary Ormsby on July 16, 1726. Abiah 
Carpenter was a farmer and wheelwright and 
served as ensign in the militia. He died in 
April, 1732. His children, all born in Reho- 
both, were: Abiah, April 21, 1691; Thomas,. 
Nov. 8, 1692; Mehitable, Nov. 15, 1694; Sam- 
uel ; Sarah, 1696 ; Rachel, May 19, 1699 ; Peter, 
April 22, 1701; Mary, March 4, 1704; and 
Cornelius, Aug. 20, 1707. 

(IV) Thomas Carpenter, son of Abiah, born 
Nov. 8. 1692, married Jan. 17, 1720 or 1721, 
Mary Barstow. He lived in Rehoboth, Mass., 
was a farmer and a deacon in the church. He 
died May 3, 1779, in Rehoboth. She died April 
28, 1783, aged seventy-eight years. Their chil- 
dren, all born in Rehoboth, were : Mary, born 
Sept. 22, 1723; Peter, Sept. 22, 1723 (married 
Rachel Bullock and second Amy French^ 
widow) ; Rachel, April 14, 1731 (married John 
Hunt); Thomas, Oct. 24,^733; Caleb, Sept. 
21, 1736 (married Elizabeth Bullock). 

(V) Capt. Thomas Carpenter (2), son of 
Thomas, born Oct. 24, 1733, married Dec. 26, 
1754, Elizabeth Moulton. He was a farmer in- 
Rehoboth, Mass. He was elected deputy to 
the General Court in 1775 ; was commissioned 
colonel of Bristol (Mass.) militia Feb. 10, 1776. 
He marched to New York under the command 
of General Lincoln — dated Boston Nov. 28, 
1776; he appears on a petition asking for a 
new choice of officers — dated Rehoboth, June 
26, 1778; autograph signatures. He served on 
the Rhode Island expedition, July 24, 1778, 
.served one month and nineteen days. Thomas' 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



643 



Carpenter, colonel, 1st Bristol regiment (dated 
July 5, 1779), Brigadier General Godfrey's 
brigade; served at Tiverton, July 26, 1780, for 
seven days; served the second time at Tiverton, 
Aug. 1, 1780, for nine days. Col. Thomas Car- 
penter had 130 men fit for duty as by returns 
of Gen. H. Parsons, of the Provincial army, 
Nov. 3, 1776. He was promoted from a private 
to colonel, and served in the Eevolutionary war. 
He was made captain in a military company 
in Bristol county, Oct. 7, 1774. On Feb. 1, 
1775, he was sent from Rehoboth, chosen on a 
committee to take into consideration the vote 
of supplying several individuals of Boston and 
other towns with lumber, etc., and every other 
field equipage necessary to qualify them to take 
the field in the spring. He was chosen County 
committee April 12, 1775. On Jan. 2, 1775, 
the town of Eehoboth chose Maj. Timothy 
Walker and Capt. Thomas Carpenter delegates 
to attend the Provincial Congress to be held 
at Cambridge, Mass., on Feb. 1, 1776. Captain 
Carpenter was also chosen a delegate from 
Eehoboth to attend the Provincial Congress held 
at Watertown, Mass., May 31, 1775. He with 
others was ordered by the Provincial committee 
in bringing up the Indians, June 23, 1775. On 
June 28, 1775, he was one of the committee to 
fix the pay of the soldiers and officers. On July 
5, 1775, he was one of the committee to con- 
sider some method to prevent conveyance of 
intelligence to the enemy, and also to stop 
supplies. 

In September, 1776, a regiment was raised 
in the town of Rehoboth and some of the ad- 
joining towns, and marched under the com- 
mand of Col. Thomas Carpenter, of Eehoboth, 
to join the army of Washington at White Plains, 
N. Y. They arrived there some time before the 
battle, but were not in the action, being drawn 
up under arms about four miles distant in 
momentary expectation of orders to march to 
the scene of battle. Previous to this battle 
Colonel Carpenter's regiment had a slight skir- 
mish with a small detachment of the British, 
and three of his men were wounded. On Aug. 
18, 1788, Col. Thomas Carpenter was ordered 
with his regiment to march immediately to 
Ehode Island, and there to do duty during the 
campaign. 

Col. Thomas Carpenter was in action on Long 
Island Aug. 29, 1778, and was distinguished 
for his activity and bravery. Several of the 
soldiers belonging to Colonel Carpenter's regi- 
ment, residents of Eehoboth, were killed. 

Col. Thomas Carpenter was a large, portly 
man. One of his granddaughters is the au- 
thority that she made a whole suit of clothes 



for one of hfer children out of one of the 
Colonel's vests. He died April 26, 1807, at 
Eehoboth. His wife died May 17, 1804. Their 
children, all born in Eehoboth, were : Eliza- 
beth, born Dec. 22, 1755, who married Pre- 
served Abell ; Thomas, born March 6, 1758, who 
married Cynthia Wheaton ; one not named, bom 
Oct. 8, 1759; Sarah, born Oct. 10, 1760; Wil- 
liam, born April 15, 1763; James, born Sept. 
15, 1764; Stephen, born Nov. 5, 1765; James 
(2), born Sept. 15, 1767, who married Lucy 
Bliss; Eebecca, born Sept. 14, 1769, who mar- 
ried (first) Samuel Bliss and (second) Thomas 
Carpenter; Nathan, born June 17, 1772; Peter, 
born Oct. 5, 1773, who married Nancy Bishop; 
and Nathan (2), born Aug. 27, 1776. 

(VI) Stephen Carpenter, son of Capt., 
Thomas, born Nov. 5, 1765, married in Janu- 
ary, 1790, Hannah Wilmarth, and they were 
farming people. Their children were : Han- 
nah, born Oct. 22, 1791, who married Sylvester 
Allen: Stephen, born Sept. 19, 1793; Maria, 
born Sept. 2, 1796; William M., born April 5, 
1798; Joseph Wilmarth, born Nov. 24, 1801, 
who married Louisa Lewis, widow; Samuel 
Bliss, born June 15, 1804, who married Sera- 
phina A. Hix ; Ira Winsor, born May 19, 1807, 
who married Mercy Ann Hall ; Abigail Whipple, 
born July 28, 1810, who married James B. 
Moulton ; and Francis Henry, born April 24, 
1813. who married Betsey Perry. 

(VII) Stephen Carpenter (2), born Sept. 
19, 1793, grandfather of Frank L., resided in 
that part of Tiverton now included in the city 
limits of Fall Eiver and was engaged as a 
tavernkeeper. He died Sept. 28, 1841. On. 
Feb. 15, 1825, he married Mary P. Lawton, 
and they had four children, as follows: (1) 
William Moulton, born May 30, 1827, married 
Eunice Walker Bishop, on May 20, 1851. She 
was born Dec. 23, 1821, and died Nov. 3, 1889. 
He was engaged in the dry goods business and 
died April 4. 1868. (2) Joseph Wilmarth was 
born June 28, 1828. (3) Stephen Henry, bom 
Jan. 30, 1826, died June 28, 1827. (4) George 
Washington, born Nov. 25, 1830, died Dec. 21, 
1832. 

(VIII) Joseph Wilmarth Carpenter was bom 
June 28. 1828, in Tiverton (now Fall Eiver), 
and when a young man learned the trade of 
machine engraver of the cloth printing indus- 
try. After a time he engaged in the dry goods 
business in company with his brother William, 
in Providence. They continued there until fire 
destroyed their establishment, when Joseph W. 
returned to Fall Eiver and engaged in the gro- 
cery business, at the corner of Main and Rod- 
man streets. Subsequently he was elected city 



644 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



messenger, part of the duties of which position 
at that time was the renting of the city hall 
for amusement purposes and also looking after 
the markets in the basement. In 1873 he pur- 
chased a farm in Berkley and resided there 
for seven years. Returning to Fall River, he 
was made sealer of weights and measures, hold- 
ing that position for a succession of years, later 
having charge of the care of the city hall. He 
then engaged in the roll covering business, 
which he followed until the infirmities of age 
incapacitated him from further activities, and 
he died Feb. 24, 1894. He was buried in Oak 
Grove cemetery. Mr. Carpenter was a member 
of the old Cascade hand fire company, serving 
as clerk of the organization for many years. 

On Nov. 10, 1853, Mr. C^arpenter married 
Phebe Kershaw, who was born Feb. 13, 1831, 
in Cheadle, England, daughter of James W. 
and Mary R. (Barnes) Kershaw. Mrs. Carpen- 
ter died April 20, 1895. They had children as 
follows: (1) Joseph Wilmarth, born Sept. 4, 
1855, married Anna Barney, and died in Wor- 
cester, Mass., Oct. 30, 1899. He was a travel- 
ing salesman. (2) Annie E., born Feb. 22, 
1858, was for several years a teacher in the pub- 
lic schools of Fall River. She is now the wife 
of Moses F. Brierly and resides in Worcester, 
Mass. (3) Mary A., born July 17, 1860, is a 
teacher in the Robeson school, at Fall River. 
(4) Edward M., born May 23, 1863, married 
Alice Hayhurst and resides in Fall River. (5) 
Frank L. was born Jan. 3, 1868. 

(IX) Frank L. Carpenter was born in Fall 
Eiver Jan. 3, 1868, and graduated from the 
high school there in 1887. He then began to 
learn the profession of architect, in the office of 
Ichabod B. Burt, where he remained one year, 
leaving there to become a clerk in the Durfee 
Mills, and one year later he went to the Saga- 
more Manufacturing Company as assistant 
bookkeeper. He was there until 1892, when 
he became bookkeeper for the Fall River Iron 
Works Company, remaining with that concern 
until Sept. 14, 1909, when he was chosen treas- 
urer of the Davis Mills, succeeding the late 
Arthur H. Mason. Mr. Carpenter's business 
ability has been proved in his long connection 
with the mills of this region, and he has the 
confidence and respect of all his business asso- 
ciates. He. is a member of the corporation of 
both the Fall River Savings Bank and the 
Union Savings Bank. 

Mr. Carpenter is a member of the Arkwright 
Club of Boston, the Fall River Cotton Manu- 
facturing Association, the National Cotton 
Manufacturers' Association (with headquarters 
in New York), and socially of the Quequechan 



Club. Fraternally he is a member of King 
Philip Lodge, A. F. & A. M., of which he is 
past master, and which he served two years as 
treasurer; of Fall River Chapter, R. A. M.; 
Fall River Council, R. & S. M,, of which he is 
past thrice illustrious master; of Godfrey de 
Bouillon Conimandery, Knights Templar, of 
which he is past eminent commander; and is 
also a member of the Massachusetts and Rhode 
Island Association of Knights Templars Com- 
manders. He is a charter member of Puritan 
Lodge, No. 88, K. of P., and was master of 
finance for several years. In politics -he is a 
Republican. 

Mr. Carpenter was married in Fall River 
Sept. 20, 1893, to Annie P. Brightman, a native 
of that place, daughter of Pardon M. and Rachel 
D. (Pickering) Brightman, and they have one 
daughter, Isabel, born July 22, 1899. 

CRANE (Bridge water family). Through 
the greater part of the nineteenth century there 
resided at Bridgewater a branch of the early 
New England Crane family, its representative 
head being the late Hon. Joshua Eddy Crane, 
himself one of the most active and useful citi- 
zens of Bridgewater of his generation, promi- 
nent in public life, etc., who reared several sons 
who followed in his footsteps, and of an ancient 
and honorable ancestry which, with his own 
marriage, has given his posterity a New Eng- 
land inheritance which they may contemplate 
with just pride. 

From the best information at hand it appears 
that between the years 1635 and 1640 John, 
Samuel and Jaspar Crane came to Massachu- 
setts, John making a home in that part of Bos- 
ton now Brookline, Samuel in Dorchester, and 
Jaspar removing about 1639 to New Haven, 
Conn. ; whether they are brothers or not is yet 
an open question. John was in Boston as early 
as Jan. 8, 1637, but must have died or returned 
to England within a few years. The latter was 
succeeded by Henry Crane, who was born about 
1621, probably in England, and married 
Tabitha, daughter of Stephen Kinsley; settled 
in Braintree, and left a large line of descendants. 
Without evidence to the contrary it may be 
reasonably supposed that Samuel was the father 
of this Henry. Samuel Crane is mentioned in 
the Braintree records, 1640, as one of several 
elected to administer town affairs, among them 
Stephen Kinsley, this the first association in 
these records of the names Kinsley and Crane. 
In 1654 Stephen Kinsley (who was at Mount 
Wollaston. Mass., in 1639) and his sons-in-law 
Anthony Gulliver and Henry Crane were set- 
tled on adjacent farms in that part of Dorches- 



SOUTHEASTEEN MASSACHUSETTS 



645 



ter which later was incorporated as Milton. 
Henry Crane was in main a husbandman. He 
was one of the selectmen of Milton in 1679, 
1680 and 1681, and was one of the trustees of 
the first meetinghouse built in the town. His 
wife Tabitha died shortly after 1681, and he 
married (second) about 1683 Elizabeth, who 
survived him. His children were: Benjamin, 
bom about 1656 ; Stephen, who married (first) 
Mary Denison and (second) Comfort, widow of 
Samuel Belcher, of Braintree; Henry; John, 
born in 1658, in Dorchester; Elizabeth, born in 
1663, who married (first) Eleazer Gilbert, of 
Taunton, and (second) George Townsend, of 
that same town; Ebenezer, born in 1665, who 
married Mary Tolman ; Mary, born in 1666, 
who married Samuel Hackett, of Taunton; 
Mercy, born in 1668; Samuel, born in 1669; 
and Anna C, born in 1687, who removed to 
Taunton. Henry Crane died in Milton March 
21, 1709. 

It should have been stated ere this that, 
according to Mr. Ellery Bicknell Crane, the 
Cranes in England are classed among the fami- 
lies belonging to the County of Suffolk. Though 
numerous families bearing the name have been 
found residents of other counties in Great Brit- 
ain, it is among the records of Suffolk County 
that we find delineated the long roll of aristo- 
cratic land holders in a line of succession from 
father to son covering a period of time marked 
by hundreds of years. Here their estates are 
to be found recorded which have been retained 
in the family for nearly three hundred years. 

It will be observed that some of the imme- 
diate posterity of Henry Crane located in Taun- 
ton, and the towns of Dighton, Berkley and 
Norton also became the places of residence of 
their descendants. 

John Crane, bom in Dorchester, 30 : 11, 1658. 
married Dec. 13, 1686, Hannah, daughter of 
James and Hannah Leonard, of Taunton, and 
there became a settler, but in 1698 had sold 
his place in Taunton and with his brother Ben- 
jamin in that year bought of the heirs of Jona- 
than Briggs a farm of three hundred acres in 
the South Purchase of Taunton, now Berkley, 
which in a few years was divided in two portions 
by the two brothers. 

Benjamin Crane, the brother, was a member 
of Captain Johnson's company in King Philip's 
war and was severely wounded in the battle of 
Narragansett Swamp, Dec. 19, 1675. His death 
occurred Oct. 13, 1721. Many of the Crane 
family of Berkley were his descendants. 

John Crane died Aug. 5, 1716, and Hannah, 
his wife, died Oct. 24, 1760. Tlieir children : 
Henry, Gershom, Zipporah, Tabitha and John. 



Gershom Crane, born Sept. 3, 1692, married 
Feb. 27, 1716, Susanna Whitmarsh, daughter 
of Samuel Whitmarsh, then of Dighton. It 
was at his house that the first meeting of the 
town of Berkley was held and of which he was 
the moderator in 1735. He died June 23, 1787. 
His ^vife, Susanna, died Sept. 11, 1770. Their 
children were: Abiah, 1716; Abel, 1718; 
Ebenezer, 1720; Hannah, 1722; Elisha, 1724; 
Gershom, 1728 (died 1732) ; John, 1731; Ger- 
shom, 1735; Jonathan, 1737. 

John Crane married Eachel Terry and was 
a resident of Norton, and his son, Eev. John 
Crane, D. D., born 1756, was the minister of 
Northbridge and died in 1836. 

Jonathan Crane, another son of Gershom, was 
graduated at Harvard College in 1762, married 
Mary, daughter of Col. Josiah Edson, 1770, and 
practiced his profession of medicine in Bridge- 
water. His son, Daniel Crane, was graduated 
at Brown University in 1796. 

Elisha Crane, son of Gershom, born Dec. 25, 
1724, married Thankful Axtell, daughter of 
Daniel -Axtell, of Berkley, Jan. 15, 1774, and 
lived at the home of Daniel Axtell, which was 
established in 1710 in the town of Dighton, now 
Berkley. Their children were: Betsey, born 
1775, married Benjamin Hathaway, 1801 ; 
Susannah, born 1776, married Christopher 
Paull, 1802: Daniel, born 1777, died 1805; 
Polly, born 1779, married Dean Burt, 1806; 
Barzillai was born in 1783. Elisha Crane 
died Nov. 20, 1807. Thankful (Axtell) Crane 
died Jan. 22, 1832. 

Barzillai Crane, born Feb. 24, 1783, married 
Jan. 22, 1810, Lydia Eddy, daughter of Capt. 
Joshua Eddy and his wife, Lydia (Paddock) 
of Middleboro, and lived in Berkley. Their 
children were: Charlotte Maria, 1811 (died 
1818) ; Nancy A., 1812 (died 1818) ; Susanna 
W., 1815 (married Samuel Breck) ; Elisha, 
1817 (died 1843, a physician, unmarried) ; 
Charlotte M., 1820 (died"l841) ; Joshua Eddy, 
1823; Irene Lazell. 1826 (married Dr. Thomas 
Nichols) : Lydia, 1829 (died 1833) ; Morton 
Eddv. 1831 "(died 1857, unmarried). Lydia 
(Eddy) Crane died Feb. 10, 1842. Barzillai 
Crane married (second) in 1844 Eliza Tobey, 
daughter of Apollos and Hannah (Crane) 
Tobey, of Berkley. He died June 15, 1851. 
Eliza (Tobey) Crane, born Oct. 29, 1801, died 
Dec. 9, 1882. 

Mrs. Lydia (Eddy) Crane, wife of Bar- 
zillai, was born Dec. 23, 1787, the daughter 
of .Toshua and Lydia (Paddock) Eddy, Joshua 
Eddy being a direct descendant of Samuel Eddy, 
who was the son of William Eddy, A. M., vicar 
of St. Dunstan's Church, Cranbrook, County of 



646 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



Kent, England, and liis wife Mary (Fosten). 
Samuel Eddy came from Boxted, County of 
Suffolk, England, to America in the ship 
"Handmaid" in 1630, settling in Plymouth, 
where he purchased property in 1631. From 
this Samuel Eddy and his ^nfe Elizabeth the 
descent of Lydia Eddy is through Obadiah and 
his wife Bennet, Samuel (2) and his wife Mela- 
tiah (Pratt), Zechariah iand his wife Mercy 
(Morton), and Capt. Joshua Eddy and his wife 
Lydia (Paddock). 

Capt. Joshua Eddy saw much hard service 
in the Revolution. He entered the service, en- 
listing in 1775, in Captain Benson's company, 
Colonel Cotton's regiment; was at Roxbury, 
Mass., during the siege of Boston, and at the 
battle of Breed's (Bunker) Hill. In 1776 he 
was lieutenant in Colonel Marshall's regiment 
and went to Castle island. He was in the re- 
treat from Ticonderoga and was at Saratoga 
at the surrender of Burgoyne. He then went 
to New Jersey, was in winter quarters with 
General Washington, and was at the battle of 
Monmouth. After the close of the war he was 
extensively engaged in various kinds of business. 
He was a man of unusual energy. For many 
years he was a deacon in the church of his 
community. He died in 1833. 

Joshua Eddy Crane, son of Barzillai and 
Lydia (Eddy) Crane, was born July 9, 1823, 
in the town of Berkley, Mass., and in both the 
public and private schools of his native town 
acquired his education. Desiring to enter busi- 
ness he at sixteen years of age began preparation 
for it in the office of a commission merchant in 
New York City. Later, in 1844, he was at 
Bridgewater %vith his uncle, Morton Eddy, who 
retired from the firm in 1848. Thereafter 
while in active business the concern was con- 
ducted by Mr. Crane. A man of ability, good 
judgment, one successful in the management 
of his own business affairs, Mr. Crane was soon 
found by his fellow citizens to possess the quali- 
ties required in the same, and as a conservative 
public man was often sought and long continued 
in public official service. He cast his first vote 
in 1844 for the candidates of the Liberty party, 
having been present at the organization of that 
party at Boston. He soon became active polit- 
ically in local affairs. He was a delegate to 
the Worcester convention, at which Judge 
Charles Allen presided, and at which was or- 
ganized the Republican party in Massachusetts. 
For many years he was chairman of the Repub- 
lican town committee of Bridgewater and also 
a member of the State Republican committee. 
In 1857 he was a representative for the town in 
the General Court. On the breaking out of 



the Civil war, in 1861, when party lines were 
almost obliterated, he was chosen senator from 
the South Plymouth district, and in the follow- 
ing year was almost unanimously again elected 
to that body, the Democrats making no nomi- 
nation against him. While in the Senate he 
had the honor of taking part in the election of 
Ion. Charles Siimner to the United States Sen- 
ate from Massachusetts. In the Senate he 
served on the committees on Claims and on 
Mercantile Affairs and Insurance. He was 
town clerk of Bridgewater for several years, 
from 1855 to 1858 inclusive, and in 1873 and 
1874. For more than thirty years he was in 
various capacities connected with the Plymouth 
County Agricultural Society, and for a number 
of years was treasurer and member of the board 
of trustees of that society. On the occasion of 
the celebration of the fiftieth anniversary of 
the society, Sept. 30, 1869, he delivered the 
historical address. For a dozen and more years 
he served as chairman of the board of trustees 
of the State Workhouse at Bridgewater and for 
twenty and more years was a trustee of the 
Bridgewater Academy, and was active in the 
erection of the present school building. 

For upward of twenty-five years Mr. Crane 
was a correspondent for the newspapers of 
Bridgewater and vicinity, writing many sketches 
of interest to those of antiquarian tastes. He 
prepared the sketch of the town of Bridgewater 
contained in the History of Plymouth county 
published in 1884. His religious faith was that 
of the Central Square Congregational Church 
in Bridgewater, of which he was a member, and 
he was chairman of the building committee at 
the time of the erection of the present churcli 
edifice. 

On Jan. 9, 1849, Mr. Crane was married to 
r>ucy Ann Reed, bom Sept. 25, 1825, daughter 
of the late Quincy and Lucy (Loud) Reed, of 
Weymouth, Mass., and their children were: 
Joshua Eddy, 1850 ; Cliarles Reed, 1852 (mar- 
ried Jane E. Keith) ; Lucy Reed, 1854 (died 
1856) ; Morton Eddy, 1857 (of Washington, 
D. C.) ; Henry Lovell, 1860; Anna Howe, 1862 
(married Charles A. Drew, M. D.) ; Edward 
Appleton, 1865 (died 1887). Joshua E. Crane 
died in Bridgewater Aug. 5, 1888 ; Lucy Ann 
(Reed) Crane died Sept. 24, 1898. 

Quincy Reed, the father of Mrs. Crane, de'- 
scended from William Reade, who settled in 
WejTuouth in 1635, from whom his descent is 
through Thomas Reed and his wife Sarah 
(Bicknell) ; John Reed and his wife Sarah 
(Whitmarsh"! : John Reed (2) and his wife 
Marv (Bate) and Ezra Reed and his wife Mary 
(Lovell). 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



647 



Joshua Eddy Cbane (2), son of Joshua 
Eddy and Lucy Ann (Eeed) Crane, was born 
•Oct. 1, 1850, in Bridgewater, Mass., and there 
■educated in the public schools of the place and 
at the Bridgewater Academy, then under tlie 
instruction of Mr. Horace M. Willard. He 
furthered his studies at Brown University, from 
■which he was graduated in 1872. Mr. Crane 
was preceptor of Bridgewater Academy, 1873- 
75; principal of the English preparatory de- 
partment of the Syrian Protestant College, 
Beirut, Syria, 1876-79 ; subsequently was em- 
ployed as a private tutor; and was in charge 
•of the Latin classes of Albany Academy, Al- 
hany, N. Y., until 1884, when he became 
librarian of the Young Men's Association of 
Albany. In 1887 he accepted the position of 
•associate principal of the Portland Latin School 
at Portland, Maine, but in 1890 resumed his 
former position at the library, from which he 
withdrew in 1892. He is at this time librarian 
■of the Public Library of Taunton. He is an 
officer of the Old Colony Historical Society 
and of the Old Bridgewater Historical Society. 
Mr. Crane married Jan. 1, 1884, Katharine 
Perkins, daughter of Henry and Amelia (Sher- 
man) Perkins, of Bridgewater. 

Henry Lovell Crane, son of the late Joshua 
Eddy Crane and his wife Lucy A. (Reed), was 
"born Jan. 31, 1860, in Bridgewater, Mass. Here 
in the public schools and Bridgewater Academy 
he acquired his education. At the age of six- 
teen he entered the mercantile store of his 
father at Bridgewater and by close application, 
and industry, under the father's oversight he be- 
•came thoroughly versed in all that pertained to 
•careful, painstaking, judicious business meth- 
■ods. On the death of his father, in 1888, young 
Crane associated with him in the continuance 
•of the business Henry T. Burrill, under the firm 
name of Crane & Burrill, a business partner- 
ship that lasted through the remaining years 
of the life of the junior member of the firm ; 
and as a business house its standing was second 
to none in Bridgewater. 

 As had been his father before him, Mr. Crane 
■was greatly interested in the public affairs of 
his native town, and as a good citizen when 
called to public duty performed it to the best 
of his ability and judgment, which always 
meant to the satisfaction of his fellow citizens 
and to-wnsmen. Elected town clerk in 1886 and 
■treasurer in 1887, he was each year successively 
reelected to these offices up to the time of his 
■decease. Endowed with much natural ability, 
sharpened by business experience and reading, 
possessing pleasing and accommodating social 
qualities, he won and held the esteem and re- 



spect of his community. He was well fitted for 
that social and useful citizenship he filled. He 
was an active and intelligent member of the 
Masonic fraternity; was past master of Fellow- 
ship Lodge, of Bridgewater, past high priest oi 
Harmony Chapter, and a member of Bay State 
Commandery, at Brockton, Mass. He was also 
a member of Pioneer Lodge, I. 0. 0. F., of 
Bridgewater, and held the rank in it of noble 
grand. 

In 1884_Mr. Crane was married to Lizzie A. 
Cole, daughter of Mr. Charles H. Cole, of 
Brockton, Mass. His death occurred March 
16, 1905. 

HENRY PERKINS was a well-known iron 
manufacturer and biisiness man of Bridgewater. 
His ancestral line is traced from Abraham Per- 
kins, one of the first settlers of Hampton, N. 
H., who was nlade a freeman May 13, 1640. 
He was a man of good education and was much 
employed in the service of the town. He died 
Aug. 31, 1683, at the age of seventy-two. His 
widow, Mary, died May 29, 1706, at the age of 
eighty-eight. The will of Abraham Perkins, 
dated Aug. 22, 1683, and probated Sept. 18, 
1683, contains the names of his wife and sons 
Jonathan, Humphrey, James, Luke and David. 
To the last two were given five shillings each, as 
they had already received their share. The 
names of the children of Abraham Perkins 
were: Mary, Abraham, Luke, Humphrey, 
James, Timothy, James (2), Jonathan, David, 
Abigail, Timothy (2), Sarah and Humphrey 
(2). 

David Perkins, son of Abraham, of Hamp- 
ton. N. H., was born Feb. 28, 1653, settled in 
Beverly about 1673, married Elizabeth Brown, 
daughter of Francis Brown, of Beverly, 1675- 
76, and in 1688 became a resident of Bridge- 
water, in that part of the town whicli became 
ilie South Precinct. In 1694 he built the first 
mill at the site of the iron works of Messrs. 
Lazell, Perkins & Co., known afterwards as the 
Bridgewater Iron Company, and was engaged 
in the occupation of blacksmith. He was the 
first representative of the town in the General 
Court at Boston after the union of the Col- 
onies of Plymouth and Massachusetts, in 1692, 
and served also in this capacity in 1694, and 
from 1704 to 1707, inclusive. His death oc- 
curred Oct. 1, 1736. His wife, who was born 
Oct. 17, 1654, died July 14, 1735. In his will 
of June 17, 1736, he names his sons: David, 
Abraham, Thomas, sole executor, and Nathan, 
deceased, and grandchildren: David and Jona- 
than, children of his son David, and Nathan, 
Timothy, James, Solomon, Martha and Silence, 



648 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



children of Nathan. His children were : Mary, 
David, Nathan and Thomas, who resided in 
Bridgewater; and Abraham, who became a set- 
tler in Kingston, R. I., and died in 1746. 

Thomas Perkins, son of David and Elizabeth 
Perkins, was born in Bridgewater May 8, 1688. 
He married Feb. 20, 1717, Mary Washburn, 
supposed to be the daughter of James and Mary 
(Bowden) Washburn, of Bridgewater, and lived 
near the site of the present iron works. Their 
children were: Mary, born 1718, married Jo- 
siah Hayward, 1742; Hepzibah, born 1720, mar- 
ried Elezer Carver, 1746;, Thomas, born 1722, 
married Mary Pratt, 1748; Charles, born 1724, 
died 1726; Ebenezer, born 1727, is mentioned 
below; Francis, born 1729, married Susanna 
Waterman, 1762, and Phillibert Keith, 1775. 
The wife of Thomas Perkins, Mary (Wash- 
burn) Perkins, died April 23, 1750, and he 
died June 5, 1761. 

Ebenezer Perkins, son of Thomas and Mary 
(Washburn) Perkins, born April 20, 1727, mar- 
ried Feb. 28, 1751, Experience Holmes. Their 
children were: Ebenezer, born 1752; Mary, 
born 1753; Holmes, born 1757; Hepzibah, born 
1759; Susanna, born 1764; Nancy, born 1769 
(who married Rufus Leach). Ebenezer Per- 
kins, the father, died May 31, 1770. 

Ebenezer Perkins, son of Ebenezer and Ex- 
perience (Holmes) Perkins, born in 1752, mar- 
ried Mary Pratt, daughter of Solomon and 
Mary (Keith) Pratt, in 1782. Their children 
were: Ebenezer, born 1783 (died 1784) ; Mary 
K., 1784 (died 1786) ; Daniel, 1786; Thomas, 
1788; Solomon, 1790; Aaron, 1792; Oman, 
1794; Minerva, 1796; Ebenezer, 1798; Simeon, 
1801; Mary K., 1802; Ozias, 1804. Ebenezer 
Perkins, the father, died in 1833..^ Mary 
(Pratt) Perkins, the mother, died in 1849. 

Ebenezer Perkins, the father, was an active 
patriot in the war of the Revolution. The rec- 
ords of Massachusetts give the following: 
"Ebenezer Perkins, of Bridgewater, private, 
Capt. James Allen's company. Col. Simeon 
Cary's regiment, pay abstract for mileage dated, 
'Camp near New York, Aug. 9, 1776,' mileage 
for 251 miles allowed the said Perkins, private; 
also Capt. Nathaniel Packard's company. Col. 
Thomas Carpenter's regiment, entered service 
July 25, 1778, discharged Sept. 9, 1778— ser- 
vice one month and sixteen days, at Rhode 
Island. Roll sworn to at Plymt)uth. Was also 
among the descriptive list of men raised in 
Plymouth county in 1779 to serve in the Con- 
tinental army, aged twenty-seven years, stature 
six feet, complexion dark. Engaged for town 
of Bridgewater; reported delivered to Capt. L. 
Bailey. Was also private, Capt. L. Bailey's 



company, Colonel Bailey's (2) regiment; en- 
tered service July 25, 1779, discharged April 
25, 1780, term nine months. Was also among 
a descriptive list of men raised to reinforce the 
Continental army for the term of six months, 
agreeable to resolve of June 5, 1780; returned 
as received of Justin Ely, commissioner, by 
Brig. Gen. John Glover, at Springfield Aug. 2, 
1780, aged twenty-eight years, stature six feet, 
complexion dark, engaged for town of Bridge- 
water, arrived at Springfield July 31, 1780, 
marched to camp Aug. 2, 1780, under command 
of Lieut. Benjamin Pike. Was also among the 
list of men raised for the six months' service 
and returned by Brigadier General Paterson 
as having passed muster in a return dated Oct. 
25, 1780 ; was commissioned corporal. Pay roll 
for six months' men raised by the town of 
Bridgewater for service in the Continental army 
at West Point during 1780, marched July 12, 
1780, discharged Jan. 13, 1781, service six 
months and thirteen days, including travel 
(240 miles) home." 

Solomon Perkins, son of Ebenezer and Mary 
(Pratt) Perkins, was a native of Bridgewater, 
born May 16, 1790, and there Feb. 14, 1813, 
married Clarissa Robinson, daughter of Dyer 
Robinson and his wife Abigail (Stetson). To 
this union were born: Henry, 1814; Charles 
Robinson, 1816; William Franklin, 1818; 
George Sproat, 1820 ; Ebenezer, 1826 ; Mary K. 
and Martha H., twins, 1828; Alfred Holmes, 
1830. He was long engaged as a foundryman 
in the works of Messrs. Lazell, Perkins & Co. 
He died Feb. 26, 1880, and his wife died Oct. 
13, 1859. 

Henry Perkins, a son of Solomon and Clarissa 
(Robinson) Perkins, was born in Bridgewater 
April 25, 1814. In the maternal line of de- 
scent he was a grandson of Dyer Robinson of 
Bridgewater, a forgeman in the iron works of 
Messrs. Lazell, Perkins & Co., and was a nephew 
of Increase, Dyer, Gad and Jacob Robinson, 
long associated with the iron works in Bridge- 
water, and of Charles and Enoch Robinson, of 
the Old Colony Iron Works of Taunton. Mr. 
Perkins received his early training in the pub- 
lie schools of his native place and at Bridge- 
water Academy, and at an early age entered upon 
the occupation of an iron worker and foundry- 
man with employment at Bridgewater, Swanzey 
and in the Hudson Valley. In 1847, about 
the time of his marriage, Mr. Perkins estab- 
lished an iron foundry in Bridgewater near 
the site of the cotton gin factory of Messrs. 
Bates, Hyde & Co., now the Continental Gin 
Company factory, and soon after the period of 
the Civil war erected a spacious foundry- and 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



649 



machine shop on the line of the Old Colony 
railroad, now the New York, New Haven & 
Hartford railroad, which has ever held an im- 
portant place in the maniifacturing establish- 
ments of the town. Mr. Perkins possessed a 
profound knowledge of the history and devel- 
opment of the iron industry and with the eye 
of an expert gave attention to every requirement 
of his office and to the operations and products 
of his foundry. For many years the large an- 
nual production of pianoforte frames, the in- 
ventions of the Chickerings and other manufac- 
turers, included much of the workmanship of 
this foundry and established its reputation for 
the production of work of the best quality of 
American iron and illustrative of the perfec- 
tion of the art of casting. For many years also 
Mr. Perkins was interested in the prosperity of 
the Eagle Cotton Gin Company of Bridge- 
water, which gave emplojrment to a large num- 
ber of men, and for a long period held the posi- 
tion of president of the company. Interested 
in public affairs, he did not seek or hold political 
office, but devoted himself to the demands of 
his occupation, and remained in active business 
life- for more than sixty years. 

As a man of untiring energy and honorable 
business methods he was enabled to achieve suc- 
cess in his undertakings and was respected and 
esteemed by those who were in his employ, and 
by the members of the community of which he 
was a benefactor. He will long be remembered 
for his spirit of benevolence and for the quali- 
ties of heart which endeared him to his family 
and associates. His death occurred March 24, 
1901. 

Mr. Perkins married July 16, 1848. Amelia 
Bartlett Sherman, daughter of Aaron Simmons 
aid Lydia (Whitney) Sherman, of Bridgewater. 
Their children were: Ralph, born March 26, 
1849 ; Katharine, Oct. 6, 1851 ; Henry, Nov. 24, 
1853 (died Dec. 12, 1854) ; Annie, Jan. 24, 
1855 (died July 2, 1858) ; Clara, May 11, 1856 
(died May 24, 1888) ; Ebenezer, March 27, 
1859; Charles, March 24, 1862; Amelia, June 
16, 1864 ; Enoch, Oct. 24, 1866 ; Harry K., Aug. 
11, 1868; Saba, Sept. 7, 1869. 

SLADE. (I) William Slade, the first of 
the line in this country, is said to have been 
bom in Wales, Great Britain, the son of Ed- 
ward, of whom nothing seems to be known 
more than that he died. This family is said 
to have come from Somersetshire, England, 
probably being of Wales only a short time. 
William appears of record at Newport, R. I., 
in 1659. when admitted a freeman of the Col- 
ony. He became an early settler in the Shaw- 



omet Purchase or Shawomet Lands, which in- 
cluded that part of Swansea which later be- 
came the town of Somerset. Mr. Slade located 
in Swansea as early as 1680, the year of the 
beginning of the first record book, and the 
meetings of the proprietors were held at his 
house after their discontinuance at Plymouth, 
in 1677. Mr. Slade was a large landholder, 
his possessions including the ferry across 
Taunton river which took his name, Slade's 
ferry, and which remained in the family until 
the river was bridged in 1876, and it was last 
operated by William L. and Jonathan Slade. 
Mr. Slade married Sarah, daughter of Rev. 
Obadiah Holmes, of Rehoboth. He died March 
30, 1729, aged sixty-seven years; Sarah, his 
widow, died Sept. 10, 1761, aged ninety-seven, 
and her descendants numbered 435 at that 
time. Of their ten children three were sons: 
Mary, born in May, 1689; William, born in 
1692; Edward, born June 14, 1694; Eliza- 
beth, bom Dec. 3, 1695; Hannah, born July 
15, 1697; Sarah; Martha, bora Feb. 27, 1699; 
Phebe, born Sept. 25, 1701; Jonathan, born 
Aug. 3, 1703 (died aged about eighteen) ; 
Lydia, born Oct. 8, 1706. 

(II) Edward Slade, son of William, born 
June 14, 1694, married (first) in 1717 Eliza- 
beth Anthony, (second) Dec. 6, 1720, Phebe, 
daughter of Samuel and Sarah (Sherman) 
Chase, and (third) Deborah Buffum. They 
were members of the Society of Friends. His 
children were born as follows: By the first 
marriage — William, Sept. 25, 1718; by the 
second marriage — Samuel, Sept. 26, 1721 ; 
Elizabeth, April 29, 1723; Joseph, Nov. 16, 
1724; Sarah, in February, 1726; by the third 
marriage — Edward, Jr., Nov. 11, 1728; Philip, 
April 19, 1730; Phebe, July 4, 1737: Mercy, 
in 1744. 

(III) Edward Slade, Jr., son of Edward 
and Deborah (Buffum) Slade, bom Nov. 11, 
1728, married June 4, 1756, Lydia Baker, his 
cousin, daughter of Ebenezer and Lydia 
(Slade) Baker. Children: Baker, bom Sept. 
20, 1759; John; Edward; Sarah; Phebe. 

(IV) Baker Slade, son of Edward, Jr., born 
Sept. 20, 1759, married March 18, 1784, Han- 
nah, daughter of Capt. Mial Pierce and his 
wife Hepsibeth (Mason), of Swansea and 
Somerset, Mass. They were farming people 
of Somerset. Their ten children were born 
as follows: Lydia, April 1, 1785; Edward, Jan. 
8, 1787; JohiQ, Sept. 17, 1789; Jonathan, Oct. 
27, 1791; Mial, April 13, 1793; Elizabeth, 
March 8, 1795: Philip, March 17, 1797; Han- 
nah, Feb. 15, 1799; Sarah, April, 1801; Levi, 
Aug. 29, 1804. 



«50 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



(V) John Slade married Phebe Pierce, of 
Somerset, and they were farming people of 
Swansea and Somerset, Mass. Among their 
■children were sons: Pierce, John and Edmund. 
The father of these died at the early age of 
twenty-seven and the widow married (second) 
Wing Eddy and several children were born to 
"them. Mrs. Eddy lived to advanced years. 

(VI) Jolin Slade (2) married his cousin, 
Mary, daughter of Edward Slade (above). 
They were farming people and both died com- 
paratively young, Mr. Slade when twenty-seven 
;and Mrs. Slade at the age of thirty-nine years. 
Their children were : Winslow, wlio was lost 
at sea; John Palmer; Edward and Mary, the 
two latter being twins who died in infancy. 

(VII) John Palmer Slade, son of John 
and Mary (Slade) Slade, was born Nov. 13, 
1824, in Somerset, Mass. His father dying 
•when he was but three years of age, and his 
mother when he was fourteen, he made his 
home with the family of Capt. Eobert Gibbs, 
■a farmer of Somerset. He was given a com- 
mon school education and for a period at- 
tended Myers Academy at Warren, R. I. The 
•conditions about his early years prompted that 
spirit of self-reliance and independence that 
no doubt led to the great success he attained 
in life. Early thrown upon his own resources, 
by his energy and perseverance he soon ac- 
quired a reputation among his associates for 
■enterprise and correct business methods. In 
1841 he entered upon what proved to be a 
prosperous career as a clerk in a grocery and 
■drug store in Fall River. Remaining so oc- 
cupied for some eight months, he then went 
to the South in the capacity of a clerk in 
the establishment of his cousin Mr. F. P. 
Cummings, becoming a few months later a 
partner in the business — that of general mer- 
chandise and cotton. Two years later Mr. 
Slade purchased his partner's interest, settled 
up the business and returned to Fall River, 
where he ever afterward resided and prospered. 
This was in the late forties and for the suc- 
ceeding seven years he was clerk and con- 
ductor for the Fall River Railroad Company, 
it later becoming the Old Colony Company. 
From 1855 to 1858 he was clerk and salesman 
for Mr. Hale Remington, who was a general 
commission merchant. In 1858 he himself 
became engaged in this line of effort, estab- 
lishing a wholesale commission and insurance 
business in which he continued, and with suc- 
cess, the remainder of his life. His son Leon- 
ard N. Slade became associated with him as 
partner in the business in 1879, the firm name 
becoming John P. Slade & Son. 



As the cotton manufacturing industry be- 
gan to develop in New England, Mr. Slade, 
with other progressive citizens, recognizing the 
admirable facilities afforded by the water power 
of Fall River, gave an encouraging support to 
all new enterprises for the manufacture of cot- 
ton goods. In 1863 he was one of the original 
subscribers to the Granite Mills corporation, 
which was organized in his oflBce and in which 
he served as director. When the Davol Mills 
were organized in 1867 he became one of the 
directors; he assisted in establishing the Shove 
Mills in 1872 and was made a director and the 
first treasurer; he also served as president of 
this corporation from 1875 to 1880. For sev- 
eral years he was a director of the Weetamoe 
Mills and from 1881 up to the time of his 
death he was president of the Laurel Lake 
Mills. In all of these great enterprises Mr. 
Slade displayed marked executive and admin- 
istrative ability. For upward of forty years 
Mr. Slade was secretary of the Five Cents Sav- 
ings Bank (of which he was vice-president to 
the time of his death), an institution that has 
been of the greatest usefulness to the city and 
now carries deposits to the amount of approxi- 
mately $5,000,000. From 1865 up to the time 
of his death Mr. Slade was a director of the 
Fall River National Bank, the oldest financial 
institution in Fall River. In all of these many 
and varied positions he filled and in the many 
corporations with which he was identified he 
displayed rare good judgment, energy and en- 
terprise. In 1856-57 Mr. Slade served as a 
Republican member of the board of aldermen, 
having in the previous year, 1855, when the 
city was one year old, been a member of the 
common council. He was again an alderman 
in 1860 and a common councilman in the years 
1866, 1867, 1877 and 1878. He was a charter 
member of King Philip Lodge, A. F. & A. M., 
a member of Fall River Chapter, R. A. M., 
Fall River Council, R. & S. M., and a charter 
member of Godfrey de Bouillon Commandery, 
K. T. He was also a member of the First 
Congregational parish. Mr. Slade died June 
12, 1902, aged seventy-seven years, seven 
months. 

Mr. Slade married (first) Sarah L., daugh- 
ter of Martin and Mary Lewin, of Somerset, 
Mass.. who died soon thereafter. He subse- 
quently married (second) Ruth Ann Gardner, 
daughter of Preserved S. and Ann Maria 
Ganiner, of Swansea, Mass., and after her 
death he married (third), Jan. 28, 1858, Lois 
A., daughter of Moses and Ruth B. (Slade) 
Buffinton, of Swansea. Two sons, Leonard N". 
and Abbott E., were born to the second mar- 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



651 



riage ; and by the third he had : Mary E., born 
Sept. 26, 1859; Benjamin, born Dec. 10, 1860, 
who died Oct. 7, 1861; John Milton, born 
June 12, 1864, who died March 23, 1868; and 
Louis Palmer, born March 14, 1873. 

(VIII) Leonard N. Slade, born Feb. 11, 
1852, son of John Palmer and Ruth Ann 
(Gardner) Slade, married Emma F. Peckham, 
daughter of Joseph Peckham, of Newport. 
Their children were: Everett N., who married 
Asenath Borden, daughter of Jerome Borden; 
Zetta Lois, who married Charles E. Chace; 
John P., who died young; and Francis C. Mr. 
Slade is connected with the John P. Slade & 
Sons Company. 

(VIII) Abbott E. Slade, son of John 
Palmer and Ruth Ann (Gardner) Slade, was 
born on Bank street, Fall River, Dec. 14, 1853. 
He was educated in the public schools of Fall 
Eiver, where he prepared for entrance to the 
Massachusetts Institute of Technology, at Bos- 
ton, he matriculating at that institution in 
the fall of 1871. Here he continued the regu- 
lar course of study of the institute for three 
and a half years, and to within one-half year 
of graduation, when a severe attack of typhoid 
fever made it seem inadvisable to continue his 
studies. He then engaged in work as a civil 
engineer, being for about one year with two 
or three engineers of the city, and for a few 
months in the city engineers office. From this 
employment he went into the engineering de- 
partment of the Fall River waterworks, being 
there part of the time employed as general 
service man. He then became clerk to the city 
treasurer, and continued thus until the fall of 
1881, when he was elected treasurer of the Lau- 
rel Lake Mills, his father at that time being 
president of the company. With the exception 
of two years, 1899 and 1900, he has continued 
in that position to the present time. During 
the two years 1899-1900 he was engaged in 
the cotton brokerage business. Mr. Slade is 
a director of the Laurel Lake Mills. He has 
been a Republican in politics but not active in 
such matters. He is a member of King Philip 
Lodge, A. F. & A. M., of Fall River, of which 
he was secretary for a number of years ; of 
Fall River Royal Arch Chapter; of Fall River 
Council, R. & S. M., and of Godfrey de Bouil- 
lon Commandery, Fall River, of which he is a 
past commander. He belongs to the First 
Congregational Church Society of Fall River. 

Mr. Slade married Cora Lynn Chase, daugh- 
ter of George D. and Sarah M. Chase, of 
Providence, and they have one son, Harold 
Chapin, born in Fall River April 26, 1885. 

(VIII) Mary E. Slade, born Sept. 26, 1859, 



daughter of John Palmer and Lois A. (Buf- 
finton) Slade, married June 14, 1882, Horace 
W. Tinkham, son of Andrew L. and Dorothy 
(King) Tinkham. They make their home on 
their large farm on Touisset Neck, Warren, 
R. I. Their children are: Henry Buffinton, 
born June 14, 1883, who married Helen, 
daughter of George and Lavinia Marvel, bom 
Aug. 13, 1884, and they have a daughter, Dor- 
othy Lavinia, born July 1, 1909; George King, 
born Aug. 13, 1885; Marion Lois, born Jan. 
19. 1888; and Corrella Whitridge, born Feb. 
3, 1889. 

(VIII) Louis Palmer Slade, born March 
14, 1873, son of John Palmer and Lois A. 
(Buffinton) Slade, married April 2, 1901, 
Charlotte Keach Boone. Their children are: 
Virginia, born Feb. 13, 1903 ; Benjamin, born 
April 11, 1905; John Milton, born May 17, 
1907. Mr. Slade was educated in the public 
schools of Fall River, graduated from the high 
school, from Williams College with the class 
of 1893, and pursued post graduate work at 
Harvard. He spent a year in European travel 
and was in attendance at the University of 
Berlin during the winter semester of 1895-96. 
In 1898 he became instructor in history in the 
Fall River high school. In 1905 he became 
principal of the high school at Chicopee, Mass., 
and has since been instrumental in establishing 
an industrial department in that school. While 
at Williams College he became a member of the 
Delta Upsilon fraternity, and was elected to 
the Phi Beta Kappa. 

JONAS REYNOLDS, one of the well-kno\\'n 
shoe manufacturers of Brockton, is one of the 
city's substantial and respected citizens — one 
whose whole life has been spent in the com- 
munity where his honored ancestors for several 
generations before him were numbered among 
the industrious residents of the locality. Mr. 
Reynolds was born at Marshall's Corner, North 
Bridgewater (now Brockton), Mass., in the 
same house where he now resides, which house 
was built by his father. The history of this use- 
ful citizen and that of his family follows, the 
generations being given in chronological order. 

(I) Robert Reynolds appears in Boston as 
early as 1632 and is believed to have been bom 
in England. He joined the church in Boston 
Aug. 10, 1634. He is mentioned Sept. 3, 1634, 
as a shoemaker and freeman. Soon thereafter 
he removed to Watertown, and finally went with 
his brother John to Wethersfield, Conn., being 
dismissed March 29, 1636, by the church to 
form a church in Wethersfield. However, he 
soon returned to Boston, and there passed the 



652 



SOUTHBASTEEN MASSACHUSETTS 



rest of his life, dying April 27, 1659. The 
Christian name of his wife was Mary. She died 
Jan. 18, 1663. Their children, all believed to 
have been born in England, were: Nathaniel; 
Euth, who married John Whitney; Tabitha, 
who married Matthew Abdy; Sarah, who mar- 
ried Eobert Mason ; and Mary, who married 
Eichard Sanger. 

(II) Capt. Nathaniel Eeynolds, son of Eob- 
ert, born about 1627, in England, came when a 
child to New England with his parents. He 
became a freeman in 1665 ; was a shoemaker. 
In a record dated Chelmsford, Feb. 25, 1676, 
he was called captain, probably for service in 
King Philip's war. He was a lieutenant in an 
artillery company. [Professor Munro, of Brown 
University, says in his History of Bristol (1880) 
that Nathaniel Eeynolds was a member of the 
Artillery Company, and did good service in 
the Indian war as captain of a company under 
Colonel Church.] He removed to Bristol (now 
Ehode Island) in 1680 and was recognized in 
the first town ftieeting there. He became one 
of the principal men of the town. He married 
(first) Nov. 30, 1657 (the ceremony being 
performed by Gov. John Endicott), Sarah, 
daughter of John Dwight, of Dedham. She 
died July 8, 1663, and he married (second) 
Priscilla, daughter of Peter Brackett, a well-to- 
do tradesman of Boston. He had three children 
by his first wife and eight by his second. He 
died at Bristol July 10, 1708. His children 
were : Sarah, born July 26, 1659, married John 
Fosdick; Mary, born Nov. 20, 1660, died 
young; Nathaniel was born March 3, 1662-63; 
John, Aug. 4, 1668; Peter, Jan. 26, 1670; 
Philip, Sept. 15, 1674; Joseph, Dec. 29, 1676; 
Hannah, Jan. 15, 1682 (married Samuel 
Eoyall) ; Mary, in 1684 (married Nathaniel 
Woodbury); Benjamin, May 10, 1686; Ruth, 
Dec. 9, 1688 (married Josiah Cary). 

(III) Nathaniel Reynolds (2), son of Capt. 
Nathaniel, born March 3, 1662-63, lived in 
Boston, and there died prior to 1717. The 
Christian name of his wife was Ruth, and he 
was the father of nine children, among them 
Nathaniel, born Jan. 14, 1693 ; John, born 
March 29, 1696; and Philip, born May 12, 1701. 
(See full record elsewhere in this work.) 

(IV) Nathaniel Eeynolds (3), son of Natha- 
niel (2), born Jan. 14, 1694, in Boston, was 
a shoemaker, like his father and grandfather. 
He married Jan. 27, 1717, Mary Snell, daugh- 
ter of Thomas Snell, of Bridgewater, and they 
had sons Nathaniel, born March 19, 1718, and 
Thomas, born Feb. 25, 1719. The father died 
in Boston Oct. 29, 1719, and his widow moved 
to her native town of Bridgewater, Mass., tak- 
ing her two sons with her. 



(V) Nathaniel Eeynolds (4), son of Nathan- 
iel (3), was born March 19, 1718, in Boston, 
on Milk street, in the same house in which Ben- 
jamin Franklin was born in 1706. He mar- 
ried jn 1739 Hannah, daughter of Samuel 
Hartwell, and their children were : Philip, born 
in 1740; and Jonas, born in 1742. His first 
wife died Aug. 12, 1742, and he married (sec- 
ond) June 14, 1744, Mary Tolman, daughter 
of Thomas Tolman, of Stoughton, Mass., and 
their children were: Timothy, born in 1746; 
Hannah, in 1750; Mary, in 1754; Nathaniel, 
in 1757; David, in 1759; Silence, in 1760; 
Jonathan, in 1764; and Cynthia, in 1769. 

(VI) Jonas Reynolds, son of Nathaniel (4), 
was born Jan. 28, 1742. In 1768 he married 
Anna Perkins, daughter of Luke Perkins, and 
their children were: Anna, born in 1769; 
Jonas, in 1772; Isaac, in 1774; John Perkins, 
in 1781; David Perkins; Jonathan; and Polly. 
The father died Aug. 5, 1795, and his widow 
married for her second husband, in 1798, Dea- 
con Eli jail Snell. 

(VII) Jonas Reynolds (2), son of Jonas, 
born Sept. 28, 1772, was a farmer and wheel- 
wright, and for a number of years was engaged 
in making spinning wheels. He was indus- 
trious, and was recognized as a fine workman, 
many of his spinning wheels still being in exist- 
ence — now prized for their antiquity. He died 
in North Bridgewater June 22, 1842. In 1798 
he married Rebecca Hayward, daughter of 
Joseph Hayward, and their children were: Mar- 
tin Luther is mentioned below ; Orren, born 
Feb. 17, 1801, died unmarried Sept. 26, 1822; 
Anna, born April 16, 1803, married in 1824 
Simeon Carr, and she died in Brockton ; Mary, 
born June 26, 1805, married John Tilden, Jr., 
in 1823, and she died in Brockton ; Joseph Hay- 
ward, born Sept. 17, 1808, a farmer and car- 
penter, who died at Brockton Heights, mar- 
ried in 1834 Zibia Sumner; Rebecca, born 
Sept. 28, 1814, married in 1834 Howard Til- 
den, and she died in Philadelphia; and Eliza- 
beth S., who was born Dec. 16, 1824, died July 
25, 1826. 

(VIII) Martin Luther Eeynolds, son of Jo- 
nas (2), was born March 2, 1799, in North 
Bridgewater, in that part known as Brockton 
Heights. In early life he learned the carpen- 
ter's trade, which he followed for a number of 
years, during which time he located in that part 
of the town known as Marshall's Corner, and 
there he built his home, which is now the resi- 
dence of his son, Jonas Eeynolds. He finally 
engaged in farming, and also conducted a grist 
mill near his home, continuing thus engaged 
until his death April 27. 1880. He was an in- 
dustrious man, and acquired a comfortable com- 



SOUTHEASTEEN MASSACHUSETTS 



653 



petency. He was possessed of a quiet though 
genial manner, and was a kind and considerate 
friend and neighbor. In his political views he 
early allied himself with the old-line Whigs, and 
upon the organization of the Kepublican party 
identified himself with the latter. On Nov. 30, 
1826, Mr. Reynolds was married to Abigail 
Tilden, daughter of John and Polly (Howard) 
Tilden, of North Bridgewater. She died in 
Brockton Oct. 29, 1885, aged seventy-eight 
years. To Mr. and Mrs. Eeynolds were born 
three children, as follows: Martin Bradford, 
born Oct. 11, 1827, died unmarried Oct. 4, 
1850; Orren Bgnton, born April 10, 1832, died 
in infancy ; Jonas was born Feb. 2, 1837. 

(IX) Jonas Reynolds, son of Martin Luther 
and Abigail (Tilden) Reynolds, was born Feb. 
2, 1837, in North Bridgewater, Mass., and in 
the common schools of his native town began his 
educational training. He then attended the 
East Greenwich (R. I.) Academy for four 
years, after which he was a student in the 
Bridgewater normal school, from which insti- 
tution he graduated. He left school when about 
twenty-three years old, and then began teaching 
school in Campello, continuing there several 
years, three years of the time being principal of 
the Campello schools. Resigning his position 
as teacher he then engaged in the shoe manu- 
facturing business in .partnership with Palmer 
Newton. This partnership continued for only 
a short time, however, when he became asso- 
ciated with George G. Whitten, under the firm 
name of Whitten & RejTiolds, shoe manufactur- 
ers, locating in a small shop at Marshall's Cor- 
ner. After several years this firm was dis- 
solved, Mr. Reynolds purchasing his partner's 
interests, and he continued alone in the busi- 
ness until in 1876, when he took into partner- 
ship Charles E. Drake, the firm becoming J. 
Reynolds & Co. The firm so continued until 
it was incorporated under the name of Reynolds, 
Drake & Gabell, William F. Gabell, one of the 
firm's salesmen, being made a member. They 
engaged in the manufacture of the medium- 
grade shoe, which retails for from $3.50 to $5.00, 
giving employment to from 100 to 125 hands, 
with an output of about five hundred pairs per 
day. On the night of Jan. 24, 1909, the plant 
was completely destroyed by fire. This factory 
was a frame building 40x185 feet, three stories 
high, and was built by Mr. Reynolds in 1870. 
He was spending the winter in California with 
his wife when the fire occurred, and upon his 
return, in the spring of 1909, the firm was re- 
organized under the name of the Reynolds- 
Stetson Shoe Company, A. W. Stetson, a prac- 
tical shoemaker, becoming a member of the firm. 



A factory was obtained in North Easton, Mass., 
to which place the business was removed, and 
where it is now being successfully carried on. 
Mr. Stetson withdrawing from the firm in Janu- 
ary, 1910, it became the Reynolds, Drake & 
Gabell Company. 

Mr. Reynolds is a director of the Cowesset 
Cemetery Company of Brockton. In political 
faith he is a Republican, and has served the 
city as a member of the common council. He 
attends the Pearl Street Methodist Church, 
while Mrs. Reynolds attended the Olivet Mem- 
orial Church (undenominational) at Brockton. 
She formerly attended the Pearl Street Metho- 
dist Church. She attended the meetings of 
the Christian and Missionary Alliance at Old 
Orchard, Maine, where the family has had a 
summer home for many years. She was much 
interested in missionary work and of a very 
faithful and devout nature. Of strong per- 
sonality and charming temperament, she made 
friends with all with whom she became asso- 
ciated. Her life was characterized by its 
marked simplicity, and there was nothing osten- 
tatious in her nature. 

Mr. Reynolds is of a quiet and retiring na- 
ture, but possesses a genial manner which has 
made him many friends. He is keen, intellec- 
tual and farsighted. When the business cares 
of the day are ended he is found in his home, 
where his friends are always welcome. He has 
spent several winters in Florida. 

On Nov. 29, 1866, Mr. Reynolds married 
Ellen Sherman Keith, who was bom in North 
Bridgewater, in the section then known as "The 
Plain" (now Campello), Sept. 13, 1836, daugh- 
ter of Bela and Mary (Kingman) Keith, of 
Campello, where she was educated in the pub- 
lic schools. To this union were born children 
as follows : Abbie Keith, born June 30, 1868, 
married Rev. George W. Higgins, of Durham, 
Maine, and has three children, Caleb, Austin 
Perry, and Miriam Reynolds; Mary Louise, 
born" Oct. 20, 1872, married Carl J. Carlson, 
who is engaged in the real estate and insurance 
business in Brockton, and has a son, Bela Keith 
Carlson; Martin Elbert, bom Jan. 23, 1876, 
who is associated with his father in the shoe 
manufacturing business, being president of the 
RejTiolds, Drake & Gabell Company, married 
Lula M. Sladen, of North Easton, Mass., and 
they have two children, Alfred Sladen and 
Ellene Marie. Mrs. Reynolds passed away at 
the summer home of the family at Old Orchard, 
Maine, July 25, 1910, in the seventy-fourth 
year of her age. 

Mrs. Jonas Reynolds was a descendant of 
early New England families, in both paternal 



654 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



and maternal lines. Among her ancestors may 
be mentioned Rev. James Keith, the first min- 
ister of the ancient town of Bridgewater; John 
Gary, the first town clerk of Bridgewater ; Dea- 
con Samuel Edson, who erected the first mill 
in the town of Bridgewater; Henry Kingman, 
of Weymouth, Mass., the first of his name in 
this country; and William Sherman, one of the 
early settlers of Plymouth, who later removed 
to Marshfield, Massachusetts. 

Bela Keith, father of Mrs. Reynolds, was 
a son of Benjamin and Martha (Gary) Keith, 
and a direct descendant in the sixth generation 
from Rev. James Keith (I), the first ordained 
minister in Bridgewater, where he continued 
in the ministry for fifty-six years, through 
Timothy and Hannah (Fobes) Keith (II) ; 
Timothy and Bethiah (Ames) Keith (III) ; 
Levi and Jemima (Perkins) Keith (IV) ; and 
Benjamin and Martha (Gary) Keith (V). Bela 
Keith was born Feb. 2, 1793, in the village of 
Gampello, in what was then the town of 
Bridgewater, later North Bridgewater, and now 
a part of Brockton. After acquiring his early 
educational training in the district schools of 
his neighborhood, he became apprenticed to the 
carpenter's trade, and after familiarizing him- 
self with the details of the business he estab- 
lished himself in the contracting and building 
business, in which he was successfully engaged 
until his death. From early manhood till his 
death, Mr. Keith was prominently identified 
with the interests of the town, and was an ac- 
tive worker in all measures which had for their 
object the advancement of the social,, material 
and religious welfare of the community. As 
a contractor and builder he carried on a large 
business in the erection of residences, factories, 
churches, etc. He built the. second church edi- 
fice belonging to the First Gongregational 
Ghurch of Brocldon, and also erected the first 
house of worship of the South Gongregational 
Church at Gampello, which cost $4,307.37, of 
which only $3,000 was subscribed, and he, as 
master builder of the edifice, paid the balance 
of $1,307.37 himself. This edifice was de- 
stroyed by fire in May, 1853, and Mr. Keith was 
chairman of the committee which erected the 
present church edifice. Mr. Keith also owned 
a large farm at Gampello, upon which a portion 
of the village is now located. He was a safe 
and prudent man to trust in the management 
of town affairs, and as early as 1837 was com- 
missioned a justice of the peace, a capacity in 
which he served as long as he lived. He was 
selectman of the town in 1845-46-47-48-51-52- 
53-54, and was also assessor and overseer of the 
poor for a number of years, and in all these 



official positions he discharged the duties with, 
an eye single to the public good, and he died 
honored by his fellow citizens, and esteemed 
by a large circle of friends and relatives. He 
was a consistent Christian, and one of the prin- 
cipal founders of the South Gongregational 
Ghurch Society in 1837, remaining an active- 
member of the church until his death Sept. 
6, 1867, in the seventy-fifth year of his age. 
At the time of his death, one who knew himi 
and his family well wrote the following notice : 
"The last of four brothers whose lives were- 
spent in the vicinity of their early home at Gam- 
pello, has been called from the scenes of his 
early labors, cares and benefactions. Respected 
and honored in life wherever he was known, 
he is in death universally lamented by neighbors 
and fellow citizens. Seldom has so large an 
assembly of sincere mourners gathered to pay 
the' last token of respect to a departed friend,, 
as congregated at the funeral of Mr. Keith in 
the church at Gampello. It wanted no elo- 
quent language to awaken the sympathy of the 
audience, and well did the pastor remark that 
the 'deceased needed no eulogium from him.' 
His life was a transparent one — well known 
and well read by his acquaintances and friends. 
Of a well balanced mind, an unpretending and 
unambitious spirit, his fellow citizens had often 
called him to positions of trust and honor. In 
every public enterprise he had been liberal, in 
every philanthropic object at home and abroad 
he had taken a generous interest ; in supporting 
the institutions of religion, in erecting temples 
of worship, in maintaining the preached word, 
he had borne no humble part, but had willingly 
stood up under the burden and heat of the day. 
Many have been the young men who received 
their first lessons in business under his direc- 
tion, and there is not one who does not gladly 
attest to his unfailing integrity and scrupulous 
uprightness even in matters of the smallest 
consequence, and they will always remember 
his almost paternal solicitude for their welfare, 
and the constant courtesy and kindness which 
characterized his demeanor toward them. Such 
a family of brothers — Charles, Ziba, Arza and 
Bela Keith — cannot soon be forgotten. The 
blessed fragrance of their lives and examples 
will remain to exert an abiding influence on the 
surviving cotemporaries. They were worthy 
to bear the name of the first minister of Bridge- 
water, whose descendants they were, and may 
their mantles fall on others who shall live and 
act like them." 

On Jan. 1, 1821, Bela Keith married Mary 
Kingman, daughter of Seth and Judith (Wash- 
burn) Kingman, of North Bridgewater, and 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



655 



their children were: Lewis, born Nov. 12, 1821, 
married (first) Charlotte Louise White, of Nor- 
ton, Mass., and (second) her sister, Mariette 
White; he died in North Bridgewater June 11, 
1859. Seth Kingman, born Sept. 23, 1823, 
died Aug. 12, 1825. Henry Kingman, born 
Dec. 17, 1826, married Vesta Snell Cary, and 
died in Kingston, Mass., Aug. 8, 1909. Mary 
Kingman, born Oct. 12, 1828, died in North 
Bridgewater, unmarried. Louise, born Sept. 
20, 1830, married Jan. 25, 1855, Simeon 
Franklin Packard, of North Bridgewater, where 
she died Sept. 20, 1892. Ellen Sherman, born 
Sept. 16, 1836, married Nov. 29, 1866, Jonas 
Reynolds, of North Bridgewater. The mother, 
although in feeble health for some years, was 
always youthful in her interests and feelings, 
a kindly neighbor and an affectionate mother; 
she died Oct. 30, 1868. 

REYNOLDS. The name introducing this 
sketch is one synonymous with Brockton and 
the development of the shoe industry in that 
community, where for several generations the 
family has been prominently identified with 
the evolution of the industry which has made 
Brockton famous the world over as "the shoe 
city." This article is to treat particularly of 
the branch of this family to which belong the 
late Charles Turner Reynolds and his sons, the 
latter of whom especially have made a name and 
reputation for themselves in the shoe manu- 
facturing world. They are descendants in the 
ninth generation of Robert Reynolds, shoemaker 
of Boston, and the early history of this family 
is here given, the generation follomng in 
chronological order. 

(I) Robert RejTiolds, believed to have been 
born in England, was apparently in Boston as 
early as 1630, joining the church at Boston 
Aug. 10, 1634. and is mentioned Sept. 3, 1634, 
as a shoemaker and freeman. Soon thereafter 
he removed to Watertown, and finally went with 
his brother John to Wethersfield, Conn., being 
dismissed March 29, 1636, by the church to 
form a church in Wethersfield. He, however, 
soon returned to Boston, and there passed the 
rest of his life, dying April 27, 1659. The 
Christian name of his wife was Mary. She died 
Jan. 18, 1663. Their children, all believed to 
have been born in England, were : Nathaniel 
is mentioned below : Ruth married John Whit- 
ney; Tabitha married Matthew Abdy; Sarah 
married Robert Mason; Mary married Richard 
Sanger. 

(II) Capt. Nathaniel Reynolds, son of Rob- 
ert, bom about 1627, in England, came when 
a child to New England with his parents. He 



became a freeman in 1665; was a shoemaker. 
In a record dated Chelmsford. Feb. 25, 1676, 
he was called captain, probably for service in. 
King Philip's war. He was a lieiitenant in 
an artillery company. [Professor Munro, of 
Brown University, says in his History of Bris- 
tol (1880) that Nathaniel Reynolds was a mem- 
ber of the Artillery Company, and did good 
service in the Indian war as captain of a com- 
pany under Colonel Church.] He removed to 
Bristol (now Rhode Island) in 1680 and was 
recognized in the first town meeting there. He 
became one of the principal men of the town. 
He married (first) Nov. 30, 1657, the cere- 
mony being performed by Gov. John Endicott, 
Sarah, daughter of John Dwight, of Dedham. 
She died July 8', 1663, and he married (sec- 
ond) Priscilla, daughter of Peter Brackett, a 
well-to-do tradesman of Boston. He had thre'-' 
children by his first wife and eight by his sec- 
ond. He died at Bristol, July 10, 1708. His 
children were: Sarah, born July 26, 1659, 
married John Fosdick; Mary, born Nov. 20,. 
1660, died young; Nathaniel, born March 3, 
1662-63, is mentioned below; John was born 
Aug. 4, 1668; Peter, Jan. 26, 1670; Philip, 
Sept. 15, 1674; Joseph, Dec. 29, 1676; Hannah, 
Jan. 15, 1682 (married Samuel Royall) ; Mary, 
1684 (married Nathaniel Woodbury) ; Benja- 
min, May 10, 1686; Ruth, Dec. 9, 1688 (mar- 
ried Josiah Cary). 

(III) Nathaniel Reynolds (2), son of Capt. 
Nathaniel, born March 3, 1662-63, lived in Bos- 
ton, and there died prior to 1717. The Chris- 
tian name of his wife was Ruth, and she died 
Sept. 19, 1716. They had nine children, 
namely: Sarah, born Oct. 25, 1687, married 
Robert Young; Ruth, born Sept. 11, 1689, died 
March 16, 1693; Mary, born Aug. 21, 1691, 
married Edward Marion; Nathaniel, bom Jan. 
14, 1694, married Mary Snell; John, bom 
March 29, 1696, married Anna Blanch; Eben- 
ezer, born in Jime, 1699, died July 29, 1701; 
Philip, born May 12, 1701, died Dec. 27, 1727; 
Ruth (2), born Sept. 1, 1704, died June 22, 
1721; Naomi, born Oct. 27, 1706, married 
Samuel Ridgeway. 

(IV) Nathaniel Reynolds (3), son of Na- 
thaniel (2), born Jan. 14, 1694, in Boston, 
was a shoemaker, as were his father and grand- 
father. On Jan. 27, 1717, he married Mary 
Snell, daughter of Thomas Snell, of Bridge- 
water, and they had sons Nathaniel, bom March 
19, 1718, and Thomas, born Feb. 25, 1719. The 
father died in Boston Oct. 29, 1719, and his 
widow moved to her native town of Bridge- 
water, Mass., taking her two sons with her. 

(V) Thomas Reynolds, son of Nathaniel (3), 



656 SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 

was born Feb. 25, 1719, in Boston, on Milk 20, 1898. (10) Martha, born June 26, 1820, 
street, in the same house in which Benjamin married Isaac A. Reynolds, of North Bridge- 
Franklin was born in 1706. He married Nov. water, where she died. (11) Mary Ann, bom 
3, 1748, Elizabeth Turner, and their children July 28, 1822, married Samuel A. Clark, of 
were : Amy, born Oct. 29, 1749, who died Deering, N. H., and died in Abington, Mass. 
May 9, 1752; Joseph, born June 21, 1751 ; Amy (12) Joseph, born Sept. 30, 1824, married Eliz- 
(2), born Feb. 25, 1753, who married Silas abeth M. Stoddard, of Canton, Mass., and both 
Dunbar; Elizabeth, born June 22, 1755; Su- are now deceased. (13) Elizabeth Whitcomb, 
sanna, born April 24, 1757, who married Oliver born April 8, 1827, married George H. How- 
Howard; Martha, born March 23, 1759, who ard, of Easton; they reside in Brockton. (14) 
married Capt. Parmenas Packard; Thomas, Harriet, born April 10, 1829, married Lewis 
born Jan. 27, 1762; and Josiah. Randall, of Easton, Mass., and both are de- 

(VI) Joseph Reynolds, son of Thomas, born ceased. (15) Olive died March 12, 1836, in 
June 21, 1751, married Sept. 17, 1772, Jemima, infancy. 

daughter of Luke Perkins, and their children (VIII) Chables Turner Reynolds, eldest 

were: Ichabod, born March 27, 1773, who son of Joseph (2) and Phebe (Whitcomb) 

married Polly Brett; Joseph-, born April 18, Reynolds, was born May 6, 1818, in North 

1775; Daniel; Simeon, who married Mary Bridgewater (now Brockton), where he died 

Snell; Azel, who married Susanna Nash; May 20, 1898, aged eighty years. After ac- 

Thomas, born Jan. 19, 1776, who taarried quiring his early training in the district schools 

Nancy Pike; Jemima; Olive, who married Jo- of his native town, he as a boy took up shoe- 

seph Macomber ; Amy, who married Ziphion making, and when he had become familiar with 

Howard ; Susanna, who married Capt. Silas the making of boots and shoes he was employed 

Dunbar; and Vesta, who married Isaac Clapp. for several years after the fashion of shoemak- 

(VII) Joseph Reynolds (2), son of Joseph, ers of that day, taking stock from the factories 
born April 18, 1775, married (first) April 19, and making up the boots and shoes at his home, 
1798, Martha (Patty), daughter of Silas Dun- returning to the factories with the finished pro- 
bar and Amy (Reynolds) Dunbar, and after duct. Later he engaged in the manufacture of 
her death (second) Phebe, daughter of Noah shoes on his own account, having his factory in 
Whitcomb. Mr. Reynolds was a resident of a part of his house on Pleasant street, where 
North Bridgewater, where he was occupied as he continued for a number of years, subse- 
a farmer and shoemaker. He also made nails, quently removing the business to larger quar- 
which he marketed in Boston. He served as ters, where he was located during the remainder 
major in the State militia. He stood over six of his active business career. Mr. Reynolds was 
feet in height, was a powerful man, possessed possessed of an amiable, genial disposition, and 
a hardy constitution and lived to be upward of enjoyed the friendship as well as the respect 
ninety-three years of age, dying in August, and esteem of the community in which his long 
1868, in North Bridgewater, Mass. His chil- and useful life was spent. He was an active 
dren were: (1) Olive, born April 26, 1799, member of the Pearl Street Methodist Episcopal 
died in February, 1800. (2) Pamela, born Church, and for several years played the violin 
Aug. 1, 1800, married Azel Packard, and died in that church. In early life he was a member 
in North Bridgewater. (3) Sophia, born April of the North Bridgewater Dragoons, and pos- 
29, 1802, married Azel Macomber, of Jay, sessing a military bearing made a fine appear- 
Maine, where she died. (4) Oliver, born Jan. ance on horseback. 

20, 1804, married Olive K. Gay, of Stoughton, On Oct. 15, 1843, Mr. Reynolds married 

and they both died in Brockton. (5) Nancy, Sarah Stephens Knowles, daughter of John and 

born March 30, 1808, married Joseph Macom- Susannah (Cram) Knowles, of Wilmot, N. H., 

her, of Jay, Maine, where she died. (6) Daniel, and granddaughter of David and Sarah (Ste- 

born May 11, 1810, married Hannah Tribou, phens) Knowles. This union was blessed with 

and he died in North Bridgewater. (7) Su- children as follows: (1) Charles Wesley, bom 

sanna, born June 26, 1812, married Samuel July 17, 1844, was a member of Company D, 

Peabody, of Canton, Maine, where she died. 58th Massachusetts Volunteer Infantry, and 

(8) Luke, born April 10, 1815, was a shoe- was killed on April 2, 1865, at the last battle 

maker and mason, and is now living retired, in front of Petersburg before Lee's surrender. 

He married Emeline Harding, of Abington. All during the Civil war; he was unmarried. (2) 

these children were born to the first marriage. Sarah Almena, bom Feb. 21, 1847, married 

The following were by the second union: (9) Aaron S. Harlow, of Brockton, who is foreman 

Charles Turner, born May 6, 1818, died May in the cutting room of Bion F. Reynolds' shoe 







qX^.^u.-/^ qj^ ^y^j^^^ljU 



•l 



!«**'- 



^" 



' ^^^^^^^^^^^^^^1 






ip 


-«iB 


M" -v^^^^^^^^^l 




^^^ 




sc 


^gfe ^i^^^^^^!*^^ 


^^^^^^^^^H 


^fcj - / 




z^wM, 


^llr^L: ^^S^HWi^' 


•k^^^ 


^^v 




-'j^un 










===£-=:.;_: '^■ 




/ 


;^- 


-:=SffiS 


-:z^^^^^7izr^^j^^^ _ --: 


\;> 


/ 


- ^^Cc, 


- - -=^^ 


, = .=,= ---r^^ ,:,_^^„^ -_- 






- "^^^ 


^^^^*a*B 


m 








"g 


^ES, _ -_- :___r-. 






'^:.::-- ^j=^- 


/^5 


— *;:-^=^- - - --- 


-ST- —n-sss. -------: 


. - . - =™„___^- 


— 


i^BdSH 






SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



657 



factory. They have one son, Herbert Wesley, 
born Nov. 15, 1872 (now bookkeeper for Bion 
F. Reynolds), who married Abby Frances 
Smith, of Barnstable, Mass., and they have one 
son, Wesley Spear Harlow. (3) Lowell Mason, 
born Feb. 4, 1849, is mentioned below. (4) 
Susan Eldora, born Sept. 3, 1851, married Jus- 
tin Hewett, of Brockton, where they reside. He 
is mentioned elsewhere in these volumes. (5) 
Jay Bird, born May 2, 1854, is mentioned 
below. (6) Bion Fourth, born March 4, 1856, 
is mentioned loelow. (7) Luke Webster, born 
Feb. 3, 1859, is mentioned below. (8) Zira, 
bom March 22, 1862, is the widow of William 
L. Grout, of Greenfield, Mass., whom she mar- 
ried Sept. 1, 1894, and who was prominently 
identified with the growth and development 
of the New Home Sewing Machine Company, 
of Orange, Mass., and who at the time of his. 
death, which occurred April 15, 1898, was one 
■of the wealthiest and most influential business 
men in his section of the vState ; Mrs. Grout 
still makes her home in Greenfield, Massachu- 
setts. 

Mrs. Sahah Stephens (Knowles) Rey- 
nolds, wife of Charles T. Re^Tiolds and mother 
of the above cliildren, survived her husband, 
passing away in the house where she had lived 
nearly sixty-four years, and in which all her 
xaarried life had been spent, and where her 
children were all born, on June 14, 1909, in 
the eighty-fourth year of her age. Mrs. Rey- 
nolds was born June 25, 1825, in New Chester, 
N. H., and after her marriage came to North 
Bridgewater and went to housekeeping in the 
house on Pleasant street which was built in 
1844, and which was ever afterward her home. 
■She was of a home-loving nature, a devoted and 
affectionate wife and mother, her interests cen- 
tering around her family and household, and 
beloved by all who knew her for her noble traits 
of character. She was a devout member of the 
Pearl Street Methodist Episcopal Church, which 
she joined by letter upon coming to North 
Bridgewater. 

(IX) Lowell Mason Reynolds, eldest liv- 
ing son of the late Charles T. and Sarah Ste- 
phens (Knowles) Reynolds, was .born in North 
Bridgewater, Feb. 4, 1849, and in the common 
schools of his native town received his early 
training. At the age of five years he was assist- 
ing his father in making shoes, and at the age 
of seven could cut out and make a shoe com- 
plete, trading the first pair he made for a jack- 
knife. He remained with his father until he 
was twenty years of age, when he became a 
cutt# in the shoe factorv of the late Peleg S. 
Leach, who was one of the leading shoe man- 

42 



ufacturers of his day. Continuing in the em- 
ploy of Mr. Leach for about four years, he next 
entered the factory of the late George H. Gur- 
ney. When Mr. Gurney died, about one and a 
half years later, Mr. Reynolds continued the 
business for the firm of B. F. Campbell & Co., 
of Boston, as general manager for about five 
years, at the end of that time, in 1880, pur- 
chasing the latter business, and the following 
year taking into partnership with him his bro- 
thers Bion F. and Luke W. Reynolds, the firm 
becoming L. M. Reynolds & Co. Their estab- 
lishment was located in a part of what is known 
as the Charles Howard needle factory, and they 
were engaged in the manufacture of shoes of 
the medium grade. They occupied these quar- 
ters until 1883, when they built a factory of 
their own, 30 by 80 feet, three stories high, with 
an L, which contained the engine and boiler. 
Two years later an addition of 70 feet, and sub- 
sequently another addition, of 40 feet, \vith an 
additional office building, were erected, making 
in all a building 230 by 30 feet, three stories 
high, with an L 30 by 40 feet, which was used 
for the office. The company employed from 
150 to 250 hands, and manufactured daily from 
ten hundred to twelve hundred pairs of shoes 
which retailed at from $2 to $5 per pair. On 
April 18, 1904, this factory was destroyed by 
fire, and Mr. Reynolds has since been retired 
from active business. 

Fraternally Mr. Reynolds is a member of the 
difl'erent Masonic bodies, holding membership 
in Paul Revere Lodge, A. F. & A. M., Satucket 
Chapter, R. A. M., Brockton Council, R. & S. 
^[., and Bay State Commandery, Knights Tem- 
jilar, of Brockton. He is a member of the Por- 
ter Congregational Church, and sang in the 
choir of the church for a number of years; he 
was also a member of the Paul Revere Quar- 
tette for about ten years. In his political views 
ilr. Reynolds is a stanch Republican, but has 
never cared for nor sought office. 

On Dec. 5, 1877, Mr. Reynolds was united in 
manriage with Clara B. Cobb, daughter of the 
late Lyman E. and Maria (Collamore) Cobb, 
of Brockton. They have no children. 

(IX) Jay' Bird Reynolds, fifth child of the 
late Charles T. and Sarah Stephens (Knowles) 
Reynolds, was born May 2, 1854, in North 
Bridgewater (now Brockton), Mass., in the old 
liomestead on Pleasant street. Like liis elder 
hrotlier, he was but five years of age when he 
commenced to assist his father in the making of 
shoes, and during the time he was not attending 
the district schools of his neighborhood he was 
industriously employed in his father's shoe 
shop. Leaving the schoolroom at the age of 



658 



SOUTHEASTEEN MASSACHUSETTS 



fourteen years, he continued with his father 
until he was between seventeen and eighteen 
years of age, at which time he entered the shoe 
factory of the late Peleg S. Leach, as a shoe 
cutter. After remaining in this factory and 
other shoe factories of his native town for a 
period of about two and a half years, and be- 
fore he had reached the age of twenty, he 
bought his first leather and, in 1874, estab- 
lished himself in business as a shoe manufac- 
turer in the house adjoining his home on 
Pleasant street. His first purchase of leather 
amounted to enough to make five cases of thirty 
pairs each, and he himself performed all the 
labor in connection with the making of the 
shoes with the exception of the finishing of the 
bottoms. From this small beginning his busi- 
ness steadily grew, so much so that he shortly 
removed to Wheeler's factory on Pleasant street, 
where he continued for a time, until the in- 
creasing demands of his trade again made 
larger quarters necessary, and he then located 
on Railroad street, in Daniel W. Hayward's 
factory building, where he continued for several 
years. In 1880 his business had grown to such 
proportions that Mr. Reynolds was justified in 
purchasing the shoe factory of Porter & South- 
worth, on Montello street, to which he removed 
his business, taking into partnership with him 
Henry H.« Tucker, of Avon, Mass. This part- 
nership continued for about one and a half 
years, at the end of which time Mr. Reynolds 
purcliased the interest of his partner, and there- 
after carried on the business alone at the same 
location, with marked success, until 1885, in 
which year many of the Brockton shoe .manufac- 
turers were confronted with labor troubles. Mr. 
Reynolds determined to leave tlie city rather 
than submit to the terms of the labor unions. 
The citizens of Orange, Mass., learning of his 
determination to remove his shoe factory from 
Brockton, offered him extraordinary induce- 
ments to locate his business in that town, agree- 
ing to build him a factory, give him the rent 
of the same free for a term of five years, and 
exempt same from taxation for a period of ten 
years, in order to have him locate his plant in 
Orange. This factory was 200x30 feet in 
dimensions, three stories high, with an office 
extension on one side and boiler and engine 
house on the otiier. Mr. Reynolds began the 
manufacture of shoes in this factory at Orange 
about May 1, 1887, and the years that followed 
proved so successful for his business that in 
the fall of 1890, finding he needed more com- 
modious quarters, he purchased the building, 
and during the winter erected an addition there- 
to 108 feet long, 40 feet wide, and three stories 



high, corresponding in architecture with the 
main building. The additions made to this fac- 
tory gave Mr. Reynolds a working floor space 
of 34,000 square feet, and he gave employment 
to over three hundred skilled hands, with a 
capacity of one hundred cases of shoes,of twenty- 
four pairs each, per day, his product being 
known as the medium-grade shoes for men, boys 
and youths. In 1897 the business was incor- 
porated, under the laws of Massachusetts, with 
a capital stock of $100,000, as the Jay B. Rey- 
nolds Shoe Company, of wliich corporation Mr. 
Reynolds became president and treasurer, re- 
taining ninety-seven per cent of the stock. Mr. 
Reynolds continued in the manufacture of shoes 
with marked success until Jan. 1, 1908, when 
he retired from active business, due to the fact 
that he had entirely lost his sense of hearing, 
which had been failing him for a number of 
years, and he was finding it very difficult to 
transact business with such an unpleasant hand- 
icap, having been obliged to resort to the use 
of a speaking tube for a number of years. 

Mr. Reynolds has always had a fondness for 
good horses, and for several years lived on and 
conducted a large farm at Orange, which was 
well stocked with fine bred cattle and horses, 
until 1896, when he removed his residence to 
the adjoining town of Athol, Mass. There he 
still resides, although he retains his business 
office in Orange, his time now being devoted to 
looking after his various invested interests. In 
1892 Mr. Reynolds built the Masonic block at 
Orange, wliich is recognized as the most sub- 
stantial and modern business structure in the 
town, at a cost of over $50,000. 

Fraternally Mr. Reynolds is a member of 
various Masonic bodies, holding membership in 
Paul Revere Lodge, A. F. & A. M., Satucket 
Chapter, R. A. M., and Bay State Command- 
ery. Knights Templar, all of Brockton ; he is 
also a member of Aleppo Temple, Nobles of 
the Mystic Shrine, of Boston. While a resident 
of Brockton he was a member of the Commer- 
cial Club, and now holds membership in the 
Pequot Club, of Athol, which numbers among 
its membership tlie leading business and pro- 
fessional men of that community. In his polit- 
ical views Mr. Reynolds is a stalwart Republi- 
can, and a strong advocate of no-license. 

On Nov. 6, 1878, Mr. Reynolds was united 
in marriage with Mrs. Ellen M. (Phillips) 
Drake, daughter of Benjamin F. and Clara Jane 
(Smith) Phillips, of Stoughton, Mass., and 
widow of the late Melvin Drake. Mr. and Mrs. 
Reynolds have no children. 

(IX) BioN Fourth Reynolds, the sixth 
child of the late Charles Turner and Sarah 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



659 



Stephens (Knowles) Reynolds, was born March 
4, 1856, in North Bridgewater, now the city 
of Brockton, Mass., at the old homestead on 
Pleasant street, and acquired his early educa- 
tional training in the district schools of his 
neighborhood, attending the same until he was 
about fifteen years of age. During the time not 
spent in the schoolroom, and until he was nine- 
teen years of age, he was kept busy at shoemak- 
ing with his father, under whose training he 
learned the details of the making of shoes from 
the cutting of the stock to the finishing of the 
same ready for the market. At the age of nine- 
teen years he left his father's employ and en- 
tered the shoe factory of his elder brother, 
Lowell Mason Reynolds, as foreman of the 
stitching room, remaining in this capacity until 
1881, at which time he and his younger bro- 
ther, Luke Webster Reynolds, became partners 
in the business, which was then conducted un- 
der the firm name of L. M. Reynolds & Co., he 
continuing an active member of this firm for 
a period of nine years. Deciding to enter busi- 
ness on his own account, in 1890, Mr. Rey- 
nolds withdrew from the firm of L. M. Reynolds 
& Co. and established himself in the manufac- 
ture of shoes, locating in a part of the A. C. 
Thompson brick factory on Railroad avenue, 
where he remained in business for about four 
years. At the expiration of that time, his busi- 
ness having outgrown his limited quarters, he 
removed to the C. S. Pierce building on Mon- 
tello street, where he continued for about ten 
yeass. Having prospered in his venture, and 
his business again having reached that point 
where it required more commodious quarters, 
he in May, 1906, purchased the Nahum John- 
son shoe factory building, at the corner of War- 
ren avenue and Dover street, which had pre- 
viously been occupied as the Crawford shoe 
factory, and here Mr. Reynolds has since con- 
tinued in the manufacture of shoes, having met 
with a marked success, as a result of his untir- 
ing energy, perseverance and natural business 
acumen. He gives employment to about one 
hundred and fifty hands, his factory having a 
daily capacity of about six hundred pairs of 
shoes of the medium-fine grade which retails 
for $4 or $5 per pair, known as the "Bion" 
shoe ; this shoe enjoys a well merited reputation 
for style and quality. The trade extends to 
various parts of this country as well as to Cuba 
and other foreign countries. 

Fraternally Mr. Reynolds is a prominent 
member of the Masonic organization, holding 
membership in Paul Revere Lodge, A. F. & 
A. M. : Satucket Chapter, R. A. M. ; Brockton 
Council, R. & S. M. ; and Bay State Command- 



ery, Knights Templar — of Brockton; and he 
is also a member of Aleppo Temple, A. A. 0. 
N. M. S., of Boston. Socially he is a member 
of the Commercial Club, of Brockton, which 
numbers among its members representatives of 
the leading business and professional circles of 
the city. Although a stanch supporter of the 
principles of the Republican party and an ad- 
vocate of protection to American industries, 
Mr. Reynolds, like his father and brothers, has 
never cared for nor sought public office, pre- 
ferring to give his undividecl attention to his 
business. He is a director of the Plymouth 
County Trust Company, one of Brockton's 
thriving financial institutions, and is also a 
member of the Brockton Shoe Manufacturers' 
Association. Mr. Reynolds possesses an ener- 
getic nature, and is progressive in the manage- 
ment of his affairs. Affable and courteous in 
manner, he enjoys a large acquaintance in both 
business and social circles. 

On May 2, 1877, Mr. Reynolds was united 
in marriage with Ida Louise Phillips, daughter 
of Frank and Susan (Sprague) Phillips, of 
North Easton, Mass., and this union has been 
blessed with one daughter, Marion Susan Rey- 
nolds, who was graduated from Smith College 
with the class of 1906, and resides at home 
with her parents. 

Mr. and Mrs. Reynolds affiliate with the Por- 
ter Congregational Church, of Brockton, and 
are liberal in their donations for the support 
of the church as well as for charitable and 
benevolent objects. 

(IX) Luke Webster Reynolds, the young- 
est son of the late Charles Turner and Sarah 
Stephens (Knowles) Reynolds, was born Feb. 
3, 1859, in North Bridgewater (now Brockton), 
Mass., at the old homestead on Pleasant street, 
and received his early educational training in 
the district No. 10 school of his neighborhood, 
which he attended iintil he was fifteen years 
of age. While not at school, like his elder broth- 
ers, his time was occupied in his father's shoe 
factory, where he familiarized himself with the 
details of shoemaking, and after leaving school 
he continued employed in the factory of his 
father until the latter discontinued business. 
Mr. Reynolds then entered the employ of hie 
brother, Lowell M. Reynolds, who was engaged 
in the manufacturing of shoes, with whom he 
remained until he had reached his majority. He 
then accepted a position in the shoe factory of 
his brother. Jay B. Reynolds, and became super- 
intendent of the latter's shoe manufacturing 
plant, in which capacity he continued for some 
time, until he became a partner in the firm of 
L. M. Reynolds & Co., shoe manufacturers. At 



660 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



the end of six months, however, he returned to 
his former position with Jay B. Reynolds. Upon 
retiring from the latter position, in 1886, he 
then engaged in the leather business on Elm 
street, in partnership with John W. Snow, un- 
der the firm name of Snow & Reynolds, this 
partnership continuing until 1891, when Mr. 
Reynolds sold out his interest to his partner 
and engaged in the leather business on his own 
account, continuing in that line for about two 
years. In 1893 he again went to work for L. 
M. Reynolds & Co., as an upper leather cutter, 
continuing in that position until 1898, in 
which year he formed the Bicycle Shoe Com- 
pany, of Marlboro, Mass., with liis brother, L. 
M. Reynolds, as partner, and removed the busi- 
ness to Brockton, where in the zenith of this 
firm's career from 100,000 to 125,000 pairs of 
bicycle shoes were manufactured annually. Mr. 
Reynolds was a partner in this business, of 
which he was general manager during its ex- 
istence. As the pleasure of bicycle riding be- 
gan 'to wane the demand for their product de- 
creased, and Mr. Reynolds eventually, in 1902, 
purchased the interests of his brother, L. M. 
Reynolds. He has since .continued to conduct 
the business successfully, under the name of 
Luke W. Reynolds. For several years Mr. Rey- 
nolds' business was located in a portion of the 
large brick manufacturing building of the 
Brockton Last Company, on Court street, until, 
in July, 1909, after the death of Nathaniel R. 
Packard, he leased the latter's shoe factory on 
Centre street, to which building he has removed 
his business. Mr. Reynolds employs about one 
hundred hands, and manufactures about six 
hundred pairs of shoes per day. Since remov- 
ing his business to the N. R. Packard factory, 
he has added the making of welt shoes to retail 
at $2.50 per pair, in connection with the man- 
ufacturing of the McKay sewed shoes retailing 
at $2 per pair, which has been his specialty 
since engaging in business on his own account. 

Like his brothers, Mr. Reynolds is a member 
of the Masonic fraternity, holding membership 
in Paul Revere Lodge, A. F. & A. M., Satucket 
Chapter, R. A. M., Brockton Council, R. & 
S. M., and Bay State Commandery, Knights 
Templar, all of Brockton, and is also a mem- 
ber of Aleppo Temple, Nobles of the Mystic 
Shrine, of Boston. He is also a member of 
Harmony Lodge, No. 27, Knights of Pythias, 
of Brockton, and for several years held member- 
fihip in the Uniform Rank of the same lodge, 
having been captain of the latter body. 

Socially Mr. Reynolds is an active member 
of the Commercial Club and the Merchants' 
and Manufacturers' Club, of Brockton. When 



but eighteen years of age he joined the Han- 
cock Engine Company, and for a number of 
years was an active member of that organiza- 
tion, now being a member of the Veteran Fire- 
men's Association, of Brockton. In political 
faith he is a stanch adherent to the principles 
of the Republican party. He affiliates with 
the First Congregational Church of his native 
city, of which his wife is a member. 

On Oct. 21, 1891, Mr. Reynolds was united 
in marriage with Elizabeth W. Adams, daughter 
of Benjamin and Deborah (Ellis) Adams, of 
Pocasset, Mass., and by this union there is one 
daughter, Marie Adams Reynolds, who was born 
April 27, 1894. 

Of a genial, whole-souled nature, Mr. Rey- 
nolds enjoys the acquaintance of a large circle 
of business and social friends with whom he is 
deservedly popular. 

LANE (Rockland family). The Rockland 
Lane family, the head of which was the late 
Hon. Jenkins Lane, the founder of the exten- 
sive shoe manufacturing establishment in that 
town bearing the family name, a representative 
in the Massachusetts General Court, etc., sev- 
eral of whose sons grew up in the business and 
followed in the father's footsteps as honorable 
and successful business men and representative 
citizens of their community, among whom were 
the late Richmond Jenkins Lane, the present 
Zenas M. Lane, the late Alonzo Lane and the 
present Maj. Everett Lane (a gallant officer 
of the Civil war), is one of long and honorable 
standing in the Commonwealth, early at Dor- 
chester, then in Hingham and still later in 
Abington and Rockland. The especial family 
alluded to in the foregoing is reviewed in what 
follows from the ^immigrant Dorchester set- 
tler to the present. 

(I) William Lane, of the County of Norfolk, 
England, was early at Dorchester, placed there 
by one writer as early as 1635. He was a pro- 
prietor in 1637. In his will, proved July 6, 
165-1, he mentions two sons and four daugh- 
ters : Elizabeth married Thomas River ; Mary 
married (first) Joseph Long and (second) Jo- 
seph Farnsworth ; Avis (or Avith) married 
Thomas Lincoln, "the cooper" ; George ; Sarah 
married Nathaniel Baker ; and Andrew. 

(II) Andrew Lane had a house lot of five 
acres on what became North street in Hingham. 
He had other grants and bought in 1648 a 
house lot of five acres with a dwelling and build- 
ings thereon. He also purchased other prop- 
erty. The Christian name of his wife was 
Tryphena, and they resided on North street, 
next west of the way leading to Squirrel Hill. 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



661 



He died May 1, 1675. She died Jan. 2, 1706- 

07, aged about ninety-five years. Their chil- 
dren, all baptized in Hingham, were: Andrew, 
Aug. 16, 1646; Mary, Aug. 16, 1646 (married 
William Orcott) ; Abigail, Aug. 16, 1646 (mar- 
ried Daniel Stodder) ; John, Jan. 30, 1647-48; 
Ephraim, in February, 1649-50 ; Deborah, June 
20, 1652 (married William Sprague) ; Joshua, 
Aug. 20, 1654; Caleb, July 17, 1657; Hannah, 
Sept. 30, 1658 (married Jeremiah Beal (2)). 

(III) Andrew Lane (2), baptized Aug. 16, 
1646, in Hingham, married Dec. 5, 1672, Eliza- 
beth, daughter of Mark Eames. He was a 
wheelwright and resided on what became Main, 
nearly opposite Water street. He died Dec. 4, 
1717, in his seventy-fifth year, and she Nov. 

•21, 1727, aged eighty-three years. Their chil- 
dren, all born in Hingham, were: John, born 
Oct. 13, 1673; Elizabeth, born Nov. 20, 1675, 
who married Samuel Low; Andrew, born Feb. 

8, 1677-78; Bethia, born Aug. 20, 1680, who 
married Simon Stodder; Isaac, bom April 8, 
1683; Jonathan, born Dec. 27, 1685; and Solo- 
mon, born Jan 12, 1693-94. 

(IV) Jonathan Lane, born Dec. 27, 1685, in 
Hingham, Mass., married Oct. 30, 1718, Abi- 
gail, born March 3, 1693-94, in Hingham, 
daughter of Thomas and Abigail (Lincoln) 
Andrews. He was a farmer and resided on the 
paternal homestead on Main, nearly opposite 
Water street, Hingham, Mass. He died Oct. 
15, 1777, in his ninety-second year. She died 
May 26, 1763, aged sixty-nine years. Their 
children, all born in Hingham, were : Jonathan, 
Aug. 18, 1719; David, Oct. 19, 1722; Daniel, 
May 28, 1724; Moses, Dec. 31, 1726; Abigail, 
May 7, 1730; Euth, April 10, 1734 (married 
Nathaniel Bangs) ; and Caleb, Nov. 22, 1739. 

(V) Daniel Lane, born May 28, 1724, in 
Hingham, Mass., married (first) May 19, 
1745-46, Lydia, baptized Oct. 8, 1727, in Hing- 
ham, daughter of Samuel and Lydia (Whiting) 
Tower. He married (second) Aug. 14, 1773, 
Bethia Cushing. He was a cooper by occupa- 
tion. About 1748 the family removed to the 
town of Abington, Mass., where Mr. Lane died 
March 13, 1816, in his ninety-second year. His 
children by wife Lydia were : Lydia, born July 
11, 1746, who married Jacob Smith, of Abing- 
ton; Susanna, born in Abington Aug. 1, 1748, 
who married Philip Shaw, of Abington ; Daniel, 
born Feb. 25, 1750-51; Olive, born April 8, 

.1754; Euth, born June 27, 1756; Christiana, 
bom Nov. 29, 1760; Caleb, born Nov. 4, 1763; 
Charles, born April 19, 1765, and Nabby, born 
Dec. 11, 1768, who married Oliver Stetson. 

(VI) Charles Lane, born April 19, 1765, 
married May 25, 1788, Eachel, daughter of 



David Jenkins, and settled on what became 
Union and Market streets, in the eastern part 
of the town. She died April 14, 1840, and lie 
in September, 1849. Their children were: 
David, born July 12, 1791, married Euth Lin- 
coln; Charles, born Jan. 27, 1793, married 
Sarah I.'eed; Eachel, born Sept. 14, 1797, died 
Oct. 23, 1805; Eichmond, born Oct. U, 1799, 
died in infancy; Jenkins, born July 24, 1801, 
is mentioned below; Lydia, born Nov. 1, 1803, 
married Harvey Torrey. 

(VII) Jenkins Lane, son of Charles and 
Eachel (Jenkins) Lane, was born in the eastern 
part of Abington, Mass., July 24, 1801. He 
acquired a common school education and then 
learned the shoemaker's trade, working for a 
number of years at the bench. He worked for 
years for others before beginning business for 
himself in a small way. He persevered, was 
industrious, managed his affairs well and pros- 
pered, his business gradually increasing as the 
years came and went until he had developed a 
great and profitable trade. In time he took 
his sons into partnership with him, and the 
concern did work to the extent of several hun- 
dreds of thousands of dollars a year; and the 
senior member of the firm lived to see the sales 
reach a million dollars a year. During the 
latter part of his life Mr. Lane turned the 
business over to his sons and devoted his time 
to inventions and the improvement of machin- 
ery, an occupation that was much to his liking. 

Mr. Lane was for many years not only a sub- 
stantial man and citizen, prominent in business, 
but a useful member of his community. He 
represented Abington in the Massachusetts Gen- 
eral Court in 1846, served for years as a. direc- 
tor of the Abington National Bank and was the 
first president of the Abington Savings Bank. 
He was also for a time treasurer of the Hanover 
Branch Eailroad Company. 

On Dec. 22, 1825, Mr. Lane married Meheta- 
bel Pratt Jenkins, daughter of Zenas Jenkins, 
.and there came to them children born as fol- 
lows: Eichmond Jenkins, Oct. 6, 1826; Zenas 
M., Oct. 22, 1828; Mehetabel Pratt, May 9, 
1831 (married Dec. 29, 1852, Eev. John W. 
Harding, of Longmeadow, Mass., where she 
now resides, a widow) ; Elvira, April 23, 1833 
(married Oct. 8, 1852, Jefferson Shaw) ; 
Alonzo, April 12, 1835; Everett, June 27, 
1836; and Maria Jane, Sept. 28, 1839 (died 
Oct. 6, 1840). 

(VIII) Eichmond Jenkins Lane, son of 
the late Hon. Jenkins and Mehetabel Pratt 
(Jenkins) Lane, was bom Oct. 6, 1826, in 
Abington, Mass. He was educated in the pub- 
lic schools of his native town, and after com- 



663 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



pleting his course tliere took another at the 
high school at Quincy. He entered the otfice 
of his father's shoe factory at an early age and 
worked there for many years. He was subse- 
quently promoted to a partnership and finally 
became the head of tiie firm of Jenkins Lane & 
Sons, which for many years was one of the 
largest shoe companies in this section. 

Mr. Lane during his early life took a promi- 
nent part in town affairs and served in various 
town offices. He was one of those who were in- 
strumental in building tiic Hanover Branch 
railroad and served for many years as a mem- 
ber of the board of directors. He was also in- 
terested for a number of years in the coal and 
grain business now carried on under the name 
of the Albert Culver Company. For many 
years he was president of the Abington Nation- 
al Bank and of the Rockland Savings Bank. 
He was for forty-three years a member of the 
First Congregational Church of his town and 
for thirty years was parish treasurer of the so- 
ciety. He was a deacon for twenty-one years 
and superintendent of the Sunday-school for 
about the same length of time. 

Mr. Lane died at Hanson, Mass., Jan. 9, 
1905, aged seventy-eight years. The funeral 
services took place the following Thursday af- 
ternoon at the residence of his brother, Alonzo 
Lane, on South Union street, Rockland, Mass. 
The services were conducted by Rev. Edgar C. 
Wheeler, and the body was taken to Abington 
for interment in Mount Vernon cemetery. 
There were many handsome floral tributes. 

On Dec. 22, 1845, Mr. Lane married Sarah 
Ann Poole, who was born in Rockland, daugh- 
ter of Micah H. and Sally (Hunt) Poole, and 
died Jan. 7, 1897, at Longmeadow, Massachu- 
setts. 

(VIII) Zenas M. Lan?;, son of Jenkins and 
Mehetabel Pratt (Jenkins) Lane, was born in 
East Abington (now Rockland) Oct. 23, 1828. 
He was educated in the public schools of the 
town and at Andover Academy, and from an 
early age was interested in the shoe manufac- 
turing business with his father and brothers, 
in what is now the town of Rockland, where 
the firm of Jenkins Lane & Sons were the lead- 
ing manufacturers. After the death of his 
father he was similarly engaged in partnership 
with his brother Richmond Jenkins Lane, un- 
der the firm name of R. J. & Z. M. Lane, but 
this continued for only a short time. Then he 
became a partner with his brother Maj. Everett 
Lane. In 1889 he withdrew from business and 
has since led a retired life. Unassuming and 
quiet, but genial and companionable, Mr. Lane 
has made many friends of whose good will he is 



keenly appreciative. PHs modest disposition, 
however, has not prevented him from being a 
good citizen or from helping his fellowmen 
upon occasion, but he has never gone into any- 
thing of a public nature. He is a Republican 
in politics. 

On Jan. 15, 1851, Mr. Lane married Emeline 
Morse, daughter of Moses Morse, of Pawtucket, 
R. I. Mrs. Lane died in Rockland Jan. 13, 
1904. 

(VIII) Aloxzo Lane, son of Hon. Jenkins 
and Mehetabel Pratt (Jenkins) Lane, was born 
April 12, 1835, in Abington, Mass., and was 
educated in the public schools of the town. 
When a young man he went into the shoe busi- 
ness with his father and brothers under the 
firm name of Jenkins Lane & Sons. He was 
also for many years engaged in the leather busi- 
ness in Boston as a member of the firms of 
Lane, Pierce & Co., and A. & E. Lane, but re- 
tired from that end of the shoe business many 
years ago, and with' his brother, Everett Lane, 
engaged in the tannery business at Sand Bank, 
Altmar, N. Y. The tanneries w-ere destroyed 
by fire a number of years ago and after that 
time Mr. Lane withdrew to retired life. He 
always took a deep interest in his native town, 
and, while he never held office, he was always 
ready with a pleasant word of encouragement 
and always ready to help the town in any way 
in liis power. He erected the large residence 
on South Union street which he occupied for 
many years. It was for years one of the best 
in Rockland. 

Mr. Lane married (first) Sept. 19, 1856, 
Maria, daughter of Judson Smith, and they had 
one child, Myra, who makes her home with her 
step-mother and uncles, in Rockland, Mass. 
Mr. Lane's second marriage was to Helen E. 
Stetson, daughter of the late Martin S. Stet- 
son, of Whitman, and they had one son, Jen- 
kins Lane, now of San Francisco, Cal. Mr. 
Lane died suddenly Sept. 18, 1907, at Long- 
meadow, Mass. The body was returned to 
Rockland for interment in Mount Vernon ceme- 
tery, and the funeral services held from the 
home of his brother, Zenas M. Lane, on Union 
street, the Sunday afternoon following his 
death, the officiating minister being Rev. Fred 
Hovey Allen, of New York City, former pastor 
of the First Congregational Church at Rock- 
land. 

(VIII) Ma.t. Eveuett Lane, son of the late 
Hon. Jenkins and Mehetabel Pratt (Jenkins) 
Lane, was born June 27, 1836, in East Abing- 
ton, now Rockland, Mass. After being duly 
educated he entered the boot and shoe manufac- 
turing establishment of his father, and early 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



663 



in the Civil war from the counting room went 
to the defense of his country, enlisting Aug. 
28, 1868, in Company G, 43d Regiment, Mas- 
sachusetts Volunteer Infantry. He entered the 
service as private, was chosen captain of the 
company, and Oct. 20tli following promoted 
to major of the regiment. Although direct 
from the office on entering the service he soon 
became proficient in military tactics and often 
was selected to command the battalion on drill 
while at Kewbern, N. C. He took part with 
the regiment in the battles of Kinston, White- 
hall, Goldsboro and Blount's Creek, in North 
Carolina, and while in command of a portion 
of the regiment at Springbank, near Golds- 
boro, became the target for three successive 
shots from a Rebel sharpshooter posted in a dis- 
tant tree. A corporal and a private of Com- 
pany E were shot at this place, and the body 
of the corporal could not be recovered. In 
July, 1863, Major Lane was provost marshal 
of Harper's Ferry and vicinity, with head- 
quarters at Sandy Hook, Md., but by reason of 
expiration of his term of service returned home 
with his regiment and was mustered out at 
Readville, Mass., July 30, 1863. While the 
regiment was on the way home to be mustered 
out, and while at Baltimore, Md., Major Lane 
with a portion of his regiment volunteered dur- 
ing the Gettysburg campaign, to go to the front, 
and were attached to the 6th Corps, Army of 
the Potomac. Major Lane is a member of 
Hartsuff Post, No.' 74, G. A. R., of Rockland, 
which he joined in 1890, and of the Military 
Order of the Loval Legion of the United 
States. 

After the war Major Lane went to New Or- 
leans in the interest of the firm of Jenkins 
Lane & Sons, being thus engaged for twelve 
years. In 1877 he formed a partnership with 
his brother Zenas M., under the firm name of 
Z. M. & E. Lane, shoe manufacturers, and they 
did business together until 1882, when he be- 
came interested with his brother Alonzo in the 
leather business. He remained in this line for 
twelve years, having a tannery at Sand Bank, 
N. Y., and during ten years of this time they 
"had a wholesale place in Boston. He is now 
living retired, making his home in Rockland. 

On June 84, 1857, Major Lane married 
Sarah S. Warne, daughter of William M. 
Warne, of Washington, New Jersey. 

STETSON. (I) Robert Stetson, commonly 
called Cornet Robert, because he was cornet of 
the first Horse Company raised in Plymouth 
Colony in 1658 or 1659, tradition says came 
from the County of Kent, England. He set- 



tled in Scituate, Mass., in 1634, in which year 
he received from the Colony court quite a large 
^rant of land, lying on the North river. His 
liouse stood ui>on a sloping plain, near the 
bank of the river, and an unfailing and valuable 
spring, which supplied him and his descend- 
ants with water for two hundred and more 
years, still marks the spot. Pope in his "Pio- 
neers of Massachusetts" calls him a carpenter, 
of Duxbury, and has him constable March 7, 
1648-43, and a freeman of 1653. He was a 
very enterprising man from the time of his 
first settlement in the Colony, and was held 
in high esteem by his townsmen and by the 
Colony in general. In 1656 he built a sawmill 
on what was then called "third Herring brook," 
which was burned by the Indians in 1676. He 
was a deputy to the General Court seventeen 
years between 1654 and 1678. He was chosen 
a member of the Council of War in 1661, and 
in 1681 he was holding that office. In the war 
with Philip and other Indians of different 
tribes he was an active officer and rendered 
valuable assistance. He made his will Sept. 
4, 1708, being aged, which will was probated 
March 5, 1702-03, in which he bequeathed to 
wife Mary, sons Joseph, Benjamin, Samuel and 
Robert. His children baptized at the Second 
Church of Scituate were : Joseph, born in June, 
1639; Benjamin, born August, 1641; Thomas, 
born Dec. 11, 1643; Samuel, born in June, 
1646; John, born in April, 1648; Eunice, born 
April 28, 1650; Lois, born February, 1652; 
and Robert, born Jan. 8!), 1653. 

(II) Robert Stetson (8), son of Robert, born 
Jan. 89, 1653, married in 1676, Joanna Brooks, 
and his house was burned by the Indians in 
that same year. He seems to have lived in 
what became the town of Pembroke ; the latter 
became a separate town in 1712, when Robert 
Stetson and his son Isaac were heads of fami- 
lies there. Almost all the descendants of these 
two heads of families continued to live in Pem- 
broke and vicinity; and the familv has been a 
noted one, from the fact that its members have 
been very extensively engaged in' the iron busi- 
ness, and yet rank among the foremost of those 
engaged in this business in Plymouth county, 
or even in Massachusetts. Robert's children 
were: Isaac, Timothy, Resolved, Sarah, who 
married Ebenezer Bennett, of Middleboro, and 
Nathaniel. 

(III) Isaac Stetson, son of Robert (2), mar- 
ried and had children: Abisha, born about 
1706; Nathaniel, born about 1708; John, born 
about 1710; Janet, baptized March 23, 1729, 
at the age of seventeen (married Benjamin 
Thomas); Peleg, born in 1714; Jerusha, born 



664 



SOUTHEASTEEN MASSACHUSETTS 



about 1718 (married Elisha Palmer) ; Agatha, 
born about 1720 (married William Page) ; 
Mary, born about 1722 (married Peleg West, 
of Kingston). 

(IV) Peleg Stetson, son of Isaac, born in 
1714, married March 9, 1738, Mercy Ramsdell, 
and lived in Abington, where he died in 1806, 
aged over ninety years. His children were : 
Isaac, born Aug. 23, 1738; Ephraim, born in 
July, 1740, who died in April, 1743; Ephraim 
(2), born March 28, 1743; Oliver, born in 
1745; Levi, born in June, 1747; Betty, born in 
April, 1749, who died young; Peleg, born in 
April, 1751; Laban, born in August, 1753; 
Betty (2), baptized Oct. 19, 1755; Hannah; 
and Mercy. 

(V) Ephraim Stetson, son of I'eleg, born 
March 28, 1743, married Ruth Ford, and their 
children were : Ephraim, Barnabas, Lydia 
(married Daniel Barstow), Ruth (married 
Ward Bates), and Mary (married Amos Ford). 

(VI) Barnabas Stetson, son of Ephraim, 
born April 27, 1775, married Oct. 10, 1802, 
Lucy, daughter of Daniel and Betsej (Tilden) 
Barstow, and lived in the town of Hanover, 
Mass. Their children were: Amos, Lucy B., 
Martin S., Lydia, Julia Ann (married Samuel 
Blake) and Barnabas. The father was a mem- 
ber of the firm of B. & E. Stetson, his partner 
being his brother, which firm carried on a large 
mercantile business, operating stores at what is 
now Rockland and Hanover Four Corners. He 
was also extensively interested in other branches 
of business — farming, brick manufacturing, 
etc. He was an active, energetic business man. 

(VII) Martin S. Stetson, son of Barnabas, 
was born June 1, 1809, in East Abington, Mass. 
He acquired his education in the district 
schools of his native town and at the Bolton 
(Mass.) Academy. At the age of twelve 
years he began employment in the store of an 
uncle in Hanover, Mass., with whom he con- 
tinued several years until the death of a 
brother made it necessary for him to return 
home to assist his father. He remained at 
home until he reached his majority, in the 
meantime teaching winter school several terms 
in East Abington and Hanover. In 1835, as- 
sociated with Samuel Blake, Jr., he engaged in 
the manufacture of boots and shoes, the firm 
style being Stetson & Blake ; this was one of the 
earliest firms so engaged in that vicinity. In 
a few years this partnership was dissolved, 
when Mr. Stetson carried on the business alone. 
In 1840 he opened a store in Mobile, Ala., for 
the sale of his product, this establishment being 
in the charge of his brother, and through the 
efforts of himself and brother, he going South 



occasionally, an extensive business was devel- 
oped in that section. From that time on until 
the outbreak of the Civil war Mr. Stetson went 
South in the interest of the business there- 
yearly, where he passed the greater part of each 
year. He maintained a pleasant home at East 
Abington, to which he returned each summer 
during his long stay in the South, later re- 
moving to South Abington, now Whitman, just 
prior to the Civil war. As early as 1850 he 
had associated with him in business James B. 
Studley, of Hanover, to whom latterly the ac- 
tive management of the business was entrusted. 
Suffice it to say of the Southern end of the 
business that the losses to the house incurred 
by the war were into the hundreds of thou- 
sands of dollars. 

Mr. Stetson was extensively known in and 
about Mobile, where his reputation as a busi- 
ness man and citizen was high. After the close- 
of the war he returned to Mobile, where he was 
well received and again established himself in 
business and again enjoyed the confidence and 
esteem of his Southern friends, and as well 
again built up an extensive business. This he- 
turned the management of over to a son in 
1869 and he himself retired from active busi- 
ness. From 1861 to 1865 Mr. Stetson had a 
branch store in St. Paul, Minnesota. - 

Mr. Stetson traveled quite extensively in his 
own country. In 1870, on the completion of 
the Union Pacific railroad, he joined the first 
organized excursion — that of the Boston Board 
of Trade — over it to California, Yosemite Val- 
ley, etc. At Mobile he was a member of the- 
Presbjrterian Church of the city. He was a 
director of the Abington National Bank. He- 
was a strong temperance man; was president 
of the first young men's temperance society or- 
ganized in Plymouth county. 

Aside from being an able and successful 
business man, for which he was admired, he- 
had a kindly, generous nature which appealed 
to all who knew him and his friends were- 
legion. Ever straightforward and honorable in 
all of his business and social relations of life,, 
he had the copfidence of all who came in contact 
with him and who esteemed and respected him 
for these virtues. He had an erect, manly' 
bearing, and was dignified and commanding in 
person. 

On Nov. 14, 1836, Mr. Stetson was married 
to Eliza A., daughter of John Thomas, of Troy, 
N. Y., where her father held the office of 
chamberlain. Their children were : John T., 
deceased; Amos Sumner, deceased; Helen E., 
widow of Alonzo Lane; Julia B., deceased;, 
and Virginia A., deceased. 




^2!l.=^y£^^>^:^^'-^^ 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



665 



GEORGE HOWARD TALBOT, founder of 
the Norton Mills Company, now the Talbot 
Wool Combing Company, Inc., and a well- 
known and prominent citizen of Norton, is a 
descendant of an old established family of Bris- 
tol county, ancient and honored in England as 
well as America. 

In 1035 A. D. Hugh Talebot granted a 
charter to Trinite du Mont, Rouen, Normandy, 
and 1066 A. D. le Sire Talebot, a Norman 
Rnight, went into England with William the 
Conqueror and fought under him at Hastings ; 
his name is on the roll of Battle Abbey. There 
were peers among the English Talbots, and no- 
bles, gentlemen, scholars, and men famed in 
the wars. In 1442 John Talbot was created 
first Earl of Shrewsbury. Among some of the 
more distinguished American Talbots may be 
mentioned Governor Talbot of Massachusetts, 
and Bishop Ethelbert Talbot, of the Protestant 
Episcopal Church, Pennsylvania. 

Here in New England, in the now Common- 
wealth of Massachusetts, appears at Taunton 
one Jared or Garratt Talbot, who was there 
married April 1, 1664, to Sarah Andrews, 
probably daughter of Henry Andrews, of that 
town, and their children were: Jared, born 
March 20, 1667; Mary, born Dec. 14, 1671; 
Samuel, born Feb. 29, 1676; Josiah, born Oct. 
12. 1678; and Nathaniel, born Feb. 21, 1681.. 

Jared Talbot (2), son of Jared and Sarah 
(Andrews) Talbot, born March 20, 1667, in 
Taunton, married May 4, 1687, Rebecca Hatha- 
way. Mr. Talbot seemingly from the records 
bore the title of captain. He was one of the 
proprietors of the South Purchase, territory 
bought from the Indians in 1672. This addi- 
tion to Taunton began to be permanently set- 
tled just after King Philip's war, 1675-76, 
and Capt. Jared Talbot was one of the very 
earliest settlers in it, and contemporaneous 
with him were Ephraim Hathaway, Edward 
Babbitt and Nicholas Stephens, of whom the 
first named had eleven children, the other two 
nine each. Captain Talbot and hi? wife lost 
their first child, a son born March 26, 1688, 
who died within a few weeks. They then had 
children: Nathan (born April 4, 1690), Jo- 
siah, Jacob, John, Elizabeth, Seth, Rebecca, 
Ebenezer, and others to the number of four- 
teen in all, several of whom died in infancy. 

Out of the territory just alluded to — the 
South Purchase — came the town of Dighton, 
which was incorporated in 1712. In the pre- 
liminary work bringing the new town into ex- 
istence and in its early history the name of 
Capt. Jared Talbot appears frequently, evi- 
dencing his activity and prominence in the 



community. He was the second town clerk 
of Dighton, the first having been Joseph Deane. 
Captain Talbot was one of the leading men of 
the settlement and one of the fifteen signers 
of an agreement made in 1708 with the east 
side of the river to build a separate meeting- 
house and support their own minister. At that 
time Assonet Neck was a part of Taunton, 
having been annexed in 1677, and constituted 
a part of the lands forfeited by King Philip. 
It was purchased from the governmemt and was 
annexed to Taunton in 1682, and in 1799 was 
set off as Berkley. It became a part of Digh- 
ton on the latter's incorporation. May 30, 1712. 

From the early period alluded to — from the 
very dawn of civilization in Dighton to the 
present — the Talbots have been identified with 
the history of the town. From Dighton came 
the Norton branch of the Talbot family. 

Joseph Talbot married Nov. 11, 1742, Ruth 
Reed, born Nov. 3, 1727, daughter of George 
and Sarah Reed. Their children were: Seth, 
born Nov. 20, 1743; John, born July 17, 1745; 
Hannah, born March 9, 1747; David, bom 
Nov. 19, 1748; Marian, born May 25, 1750; 
and Joseph, born in 1752. 

Joseph Talbot (2), son of Joseph, married 
in 1773 Sarah Luther, and they lived in Digh- 
ton, Mass. Their children were : Joseph, born 
Dec. 11, 1773, who died young; Rebecca, born 
April 30, 1775; Susannah, born April 1, 1777, 
who married Jonathan Hathaway, and died 
Sept. 20, 1822; John, born May 10, 1779; Si- 
mon, born April 15, 1781 ; Mary, born March 
15, 1784; Luther, born Dec. 28, 1786; and 
William, born Jan. 22, 1789. Joseph Talbot 
married for his second wife Annie Hathaway 
(intentions of marriage published March 18, 
1802), and their children were born as follows: 
Sally, May 13, 1803 ; Joseph, Oct. 5, 1809. The 
father died April 25, 1821. 

Joseph Talbot (3), son of Joseph (2) and 
Annie (Hathaway), was born in the town of 
Dighton Oct. 5, 1809. Here he grew to man- 
hood and engaged in the occupation of farm- 
ing in the Broad Cove district of Dighton. He 
spent his life there . and died in 1859, being 
buried in the Dighton cemetery. He married 
in Dighton, Dec. 20, 1835, Mary Luther Pratt, 
born Oct. 21, 1811, daughter of Lemuel and 
Alma Pratt, and their children were: William 
B., who followed the trade of mason, now re- 
tired and residing in New Bedford ; James A., 
who resides on the homestead in Dighton; 
Charles, who resides in Dighton; George How- 
ard, who is mentioned below; Lemuel Pratt; 
and Mary Ann, who married Benjamin Sim- 
mons, and (second) a Mr. Knight, and resides 



666 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



in Pawtucket, R. I. The mother died on the 
homestead in 1863, and was buried in the 
Dighton cemetery. 

George Howard Talbot, son of Joseph (3) 
and Mary L. (Pratt), was born March 17, 
1846, in Dighton, Mass. He attended the com- 
mon schools of his native town and supple- 
mented this with a few sessions at a private 
school in the nearby town of Somerset, taught 
by Henry T. Buffington, a well-known teacher 
of that section. His fatlier dying when he was 
but twelve and his mother some four years 
later, he was early in a manner thrown upon 
his own resources, thus becoming self-reliant. 
At the age of fifteen he found employment in 
the Dighton Tack Works, where he was em- 
ployed a few months. He then turned his at- 
tention to the farm, hiring to Capt. Frank 
Hathaway, who owned a farm in that section. 
After a year in agricultural work he again 
turned his attention to the factory, this time 
engaging with the Dighton Woolen Company, 
operated by Timothy Dunlap, and learned the 
busmess of sorting wool. With this company, 
saving an interval of several months, he con- 
tinued until the destruction of the plant by 
fire some three years later. During the four 
months' interval alluded to above he was in 
charge of a wool sorting establishment at Bux- 
ton, Maine. Following the destruction of the 
Dighton Woolen Mill he continued in the same 
line of employment in Stillwater, R. I., and 
also at Providence, Rhode Island. 

In the autumn of 1867 Mr. Talbot came to 
the town of Norton, where he assumed charge 
of wool sorting for the concern of Williams & 
Co., who were doing a small business in that 
line at the Willis mills, on the Rumford river. 
A year later the fii'm leased the property, 
which stood on the sife^ of the present mill of 
Mr. Talbot and was then known ,as the Cen- 
tre mills. In 1869 Daniel S. Pratt & Co. of 
Boston came into possession of the business of 
Williams & Co., and at this time Mr. Talbot 
first became an interested party in the con- 
cern; this was a one-ninth share. He had had, 
however, since June, 1868, entire charge of 
the mills. The firm of Pratt & Co. was dis- 
solved in January, 1870, and the business was 
continued by Mr. F. Q. Story, former partner 
of Mr. Pratt and Mr. Talbot, the former own- 
ing two thirds and Mr. Talbot one third of 
the business. 

In February, 1872, Messrs. Story and Talbot 
purchased the ground on which the mills are 
now located, including all of the improvements 
thereon. The business kept increasing as time 
passed and it was not long ere it had outgrown 



the accommodations, and in the year 1874 they 
built a large addition to the plant and greatly 
increased the equipment and working facilities. 
In 1878, owing to failing health, Mr. Story 
sold his interests to Mr. Talbot and from that 
time on the latter has continued to be identi- 
fied with the business, carrying it on alone un- 
til he associated his sons with him. The busi- 
ness was incorporated as the Norton Mills 
Company, with George H. Talbot as treasurer, 
and his son Walter H. as president and son 
Francis S. as secretary. 

In 1880 Mr. Talbot saw it was expedient to 
the growing business to still further enlarge 
the plant and he added thereto another three- 
story building, and put in new and more mod- 
ern machinery, by which was increased the 
capacity for more rapid and effective work. 
The power is furnished by a waterfall, with 
an au.xiliary steam and electric power plant for 
use in dry weather. The bxisiness is exclusively 
wool washing and job work. Mr. Talbot was 
one of the first engaged in the business and 
when he commenced in this line here he was 
alile, by hard work, to scour five bags of wool 
a day, his work being done for the wool mer- 
chants of Boston and Providence. At that 
time his plant was one of the only two of the 
kind in the country. In 1890 the establish-- 
ment was almost wiped out by fire, but two 
years later he rebuilt, with a capacity of 
7,000,000 pounds- yearly. 

'J'he Norton Mills Company added another 
byanch to the business, known as the making 
of wool tops, and carding and combing. In 
1909 the entire business was incorporated as 
the Talbot Wool Combing Company, Inc., of 
which Walter H. Talbot is president and 
Francis S. Talbot secretary and treasurer. The 
mills now cover five acres, and the work is 
so well known that wool from all over the 
world is sent there to be cleaned, 84,000 pounds 
a day being the average output, representing, 
approximately, wool from 14,000 sheep. The 
work is chiefly for the Boston and New York 
markets. Employment is given to upward of 
two hundred persons. 

It goes without saying that Mr. Talbot has 
made a success of the business he has been en- 
gaged in practically from boyhood and with 
which he is most familiar. He started life 
a poor boy, worked hard, and is entirely self- 
made. He is a stanch Republican, but not a 
politician, public-spirited and enterprising, 
and in all a substantial and valuable citizen. 

On Nov. 18, 1873, Mr. Talbot married Delia 
M. Storer, who was born May 28, 1849, daugh- 
ter of George and Delia Storer, of Norton. 



SOUTHEASTERX MASSACHUSETTS 



667 



They have had children as follows: Walter 
Howard, born Aug. 15, 1874; Francis Story, 
born March 2, 1878; Alfred Pratt, born Oct. 
15, 1882, who died young; and Gladys Irma, 
born April 14, 1894, who was educated in the 
public schools of Norton, Quincy Mansion 
School, at Wollaston, Mass., and Miss Brown's 
Select School of Boston. 

Walter Howard Talbot, son of George H., 
was born in Norton Aug. 15, 1874, and was 
educated in the public schools and Bristol 
Academy at Taunton. He went into the mill 
with his father and later became interested in 
the enterprise, to such an extent that when the 
business was incorporated he was elected presi- 
dent, which office he held until the Talbot 
Wool Combing Company, Inc., was formed and 
he became president of the latter. He married 
Jessie Mattox, and they have one child, George 
Howard. 

Francis Story Talbot, born in Norton March 
2, 1878, was educated in the local public 
school and in the Bryant & Straiton business 
college at Providence, R. I. He entered his 
father's business, becoming secretary, and upon 
the formation of the new corporation he be- 
came secretary and treasurer. He married 
Adelayde Bemis, of Foxboro, Mass., and they 
have three children. Marguerite, Gertrude and 
Herbert Hersey. 

SHAW. (I) Abraham and Bridget (Best) 
Shaw came from the village of Northowram, 
parish of Halifax, Yorkshire, England, and 
settled in Watertown, Mass., where he .was 
made freeman March 9, 1636. He was one of 
the first to subscribe to the Covenant. His 
house was burned in October, 1636, and he soon 
after sold his town lot and farm of eight and a 
half acres and removed to Dedham, Mass., for 
the incorporation of which he, with his eldest 
son Joseph and twenty others, had signed a 
petition on "the 6th of the 7th month ( Sept. ) 
1636." With his associates he built the old 
dam across the Charles for a gristmill, about 
-three quarters of a mile southwest of the new 
bridge. He'was made freeman March 9, 1637, 
and the same year was granted a monopoly of 
one half of the coal and iron to be found in the 
Common Lands, but died next year, 1638. His 
•will bears no date, but mentions his town lot 
in Dedham, also his two sons and two daugh- 
ters, Joseph, Mary, John and Martha, the two 
latter being infants, Joseph and John to have 
his estate in Dedham. 

From this Abraham Shaw have sprung some 
strong, forceful men and women, men who were 
college-bred and entered the learned profes- 



sions and formed alliances with the first fami- 
lies of their section and day. Some family his- 
tory and genealogy of the Shaws follows in 
chronological order. 

(II) John Shaw, of Weymouth, son of Abra- 
ham, born in England, was baptized in Eng- 
land, May 21, 1630. He died at Weymouth, 
Sept. 16, 1704. He married Alice Phillips, 
daughter of Deacon Nicholas Phillips, of Ded- 
ham and Weymouth, and they had children: 
John, born about 1655 ; Elizabeth, born in 
1656; Abraham, born in 1657; Mary, born in 
1660; Nicholas, born in 1662; Joseph, born in 
1664; Alice, born in 1666; Hannah, born in 
1668; Benjamin, born in 1670; Abigail, born 
in 1672; and Ebenezer, born in 1674. 

(III) Benjamin Shaw, born June 16, 1670, 
at Weymouth, married Hannah Rogers, and 
lived and died in Taunton, dying June 16, 
1723. His wife Hannah died at Taunton, May 
26, 1723, aged forty-nine years. 

(IV) Samuel Shaw, born at Weymouth, 
Mass., in 1698, married Elizabeth Hodges, 
daughter of Henry Hodges. Samuel Shaw 
died at Taunton, Mass., in 1730, aged thirty- 
three years. His widow married (second) 
Isaac Sampson and (third) Deacon Edward 
Richmond. 

(V) Joseph Shaw, born at Taunton, Mass., 
Sept. 2, 1725, wa^ the first of the name in the 
town of Raynham, which was set ofl' from 
Taunton in 1731, and here he engaged in farm- 
ing. He married Oct. 18, 1748, his cousin, 
Mary Shaw, daughter of Jonathan and Mercy 
(Mason) Shaw. Joseph Shaw died at Rayn- 
han, Mass., April 20, 1808, aged eighty-three 
years; Mary Shaw, born Oct. 19, 1729, died at 
Raynham Oct. 15, 1816. Of their children, 
the following are found in the Vital Records: 
Joseph, born April 1, 1750 (died April 2, 
1750); Joseph (2), born Nov. 6, 1751; and 
Silas, born July 26, 1754. However, another 
account says they had : Joseph, Samuel, Silas 
and Polly. Joseph Shaw of Raynham was in 
the Revolutionary war. He was a private in 
Capt. John King's company. Col. Timothy 
Walker's regiment; enlisted May 3, 1775, and 
served three months and five days. His name 
also appears on company return dated Oct. 6, 
1775. In bis last years he received a pension 
from the government. 

(VI) Samuel Shaw, son of Joseph, born at 
Raynham, Mass., April 19, 1772, was a farmer 
and also a house carpenter there. He had ex- 
ceptional talent for music, taught singing 
school winter evenings, in the neighborhood, 
and also composed music and set words to 
music. He married April 21, 1793, Abigail 



668 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



Hall, born at Raynham Sept. 21, 1771, daugh- 
ter of Seth Hall. He died at Raynham April 
20, 1840, aged sixty-eight years. She died 
there aged eighty-seven years. Their children 
were as follows: Mary, born Sept. 13, 1794, 
married Josephus Bumpus, of Middleboro; 
Samuel, born Sept. 24, 1795, is mentioned be- 
low; Diadamia, born July 29, 1797 (died in 
March, 1882, aged eighty-five), married (first) 
Abiather Dean, of Taunton, and (second) 
William Ramsdell, of Middleboro; Isaac H., 
born Feb. 4, 1800, died at sea in June, 1844; 
Susannah H., born June 4, 1802, married 
Henry Hall, of Westmoreland, N. H. ; Linus 
H., born Nov. 29, 1804, married Louisa Alden, 
and died in 1866; Alanson, born May 6, 1807, 
died March 15, 1809; Abigail, born Jan. 10, 
1810, married a Mr. Briggs, of West Bridge- 
water, and (second) Joshua Hall, of East 
Westmoreland, N. H. ; Lucinda, born in 1814, 
died in that same year. 

(VII) Samuel Shaw, Jr., born Sept. 24, 
1795, at the family homestead in Raynham 
(the house which is over two hundred and fifty 
years old, is still standing, and is occupied by 
Samuel, Jr.'s son, James H. Shaw), resided 
there to the end of his days, dying March 4, 
1881, at the age of eighty-five. In his old age 
he drew a pension for his services in the war of 
1812. He was twice married, first on Aug. 25, 
1817, to his cousin, Mrs. Rachel (Shaw) Bar- 
den, of Raynham, daughter of Silas and Eliza- 
beth (Staples) Shaw. She died at Raynham 
March 9, 1840, aged forty-eight years, and sub- 
sequently he married Mrs. Farnham. Seven 
children were born to the first union : Caroline 
E. married Dr. Daniel Briggs, of Philadelphia, 
and died in Brockton; Francis Marion is men- 
tioned below ; James Harmon resided at the 
old homestead in Raynham ; Alanson died in 
1854; William Wallace died aged fifty yea-rs; 
Oliver Perry died at the age of thirty-five ; An- 
drew Jackson died when eighteen years old. 

(VIII) Francis Marion Shaw, son of 
Samuel, Jr., was for years a well-known busi- 
ness man of Brockton, a gentleman of wide and 
varied experience in life. He served his coun- 
try in time of war in both the army and the 
navy; traveled far and journeyed in distant 
lands; and held numerous positions of trust 
and responsibility, serving the interests of im- 
portant industrial enterprises, and lending a 
hand sagaciously to the conduct of public af- 
fairs. 

Mr. Shaw was born Nov. 3, 1825, at Rayn- 
ham, Mass., being a representative of the fourth 
generation of Shaws in that ancient town of 
Bristol county. He was one of several boys in 



this patriotic family who bore the names of 
martial heroes. In his early years attending 
the district school, a mile from his home, he 
acquired a good knowledge of the common 
English branches. The schoolroom was heated 
from a fireplace, on whose ample hearth, in. 
winter days, blazed a fire of huge logs and 
brushwood. The furniture and all the appli- 
ances were of primitive fashion. But text- 
books were well conned, hard sums were tri- 
umphantly ciphered out, minds grew attentive 
and ale"rt; and not the least valuable lessons 
learned were of resolute self-reliance and vig- 
orous endeavor. 

At the youthful age of fourteen Francis M. 
Shaw joined the army of wage earners by go- 
ing to work in a nail factory at Titicut. He 
was next, for about a year, employed in the 
East Taunton Iron Works; and from there he 
went to a manufacturing place on the Schuyl- 
kill river in Pennsylvania, still later finding a 
situation in the Duncannon Iron Works — all 
this before he was eighteen. At that age he 
took a new departure, embarking on the "Wil- 
liam and Eliza," a four-boat whale-ship, for a 
four years'" cruise, sailing around Cape Horn, 
stopping at Valparaiso and the Sandwich Is- 
lands, both on the outward trip and the return 
voyage, spending at one time six months at 
Honolulu. In 1846 they were taking in oil at 
Japan; while in the China sea they were in a 
typhoon, and had a narrow escape from de- 
struction. At the Cannibal Islands they en- 
gaged in traffic with the natives, bartering beads 
for hogs ; and young Shaw there sold the king's 
son one of two violins that he had made him- 
self, the other still being in the possession of his 
son, Linus H. Shaw. Among other places that 
he visited were the Samoan islands and New 
Zealand. 

Reaching home on the Fourth of July, 1848, 
a man of twenty-two, with mind broadened and 
matured, he shortly after went into the shoe 
business, some branch of which he followed for 
five or six years. Then he bought a thirty- 
acre farm, and built a small shoe factory there- 
on. In this he set up the firs! pegging ma- 
chine that was brought into Raynham. In 
1860 his factory was burned down, and in 
1862 he removed to Abington Center. In the 
following summer he enlisted in the 9th Mas- 
sachusetts Battery, and, being sent into the 
field, reached Gettysburg just after the battle 
was over. Orders coming for the discharge of 
all sailors from the ranks, Private Shaw en- 
listed on the United States steamship "San 
Jacinto," and was appointed paymaster's stew- 
ard. At Key West, where the steamer touched. 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



669 



the yellow fever was raging. They there took 
on Admiral Bell, and returned to New York, 
whence they were ordered to St. John, N. B., 
after the pirate Sims. Losing two boats in a 
^ale off Cape Hatteras, they put into Kittery 
navy-yard, and from there went to Fortress 
Monroe. While cruising among the Bahama 
islands on the watch for Rebel vessels, the "San 
Jacinto" was wrecked on "No Name Key," and 
went to pieces. The crew remained on the is- 
land eighteen days, subsisting on what could be 
eaved from the wreck; and for water brought 
to them in boats by the natives the captain paid 
three hundred dollars in gold. The men were 
rescued by the United States steamship "Talla- 
poosa," which took them to Boston. They had 
saved ten thousand dollars from the sunken 
ship. 

On receiving his discharge in July, 1865, 
Mr. Shaw went back to Abington, but soon re- 
moved to North Bridgewater. For some time 
he traveled for David Whittemore & Co., manu- 
facturers of shoe machines, putting up ma- 
chines in Boston and vicinity. In 1871 he 
went abroad in the interests of Mr. Whitte- 
more, and sold machines in London and Glas- 
gow, visiting also Dublin, Paris and other 
places during his absence of eight months. Re- 
ceiving word while at Hamburg that the 
Whittemore manufactory had been burned, he 
returned to Massachusetts. In the year 1873 
he had charge of the Boston Shoe Machinery 
Company's exhibit at the Vienna E.xposition. 
Among other illustrious visitors who came to 
view the American machinery were the Em- 
peror Francis Joseph and his wife, the Em- 
press. Mr. Shaw availed himself of the oppor- 
tunity afforded by his six months' sqjourn in 
Europe to visit the Alps and other points of 
interest. 

Returning to Massachusetts, he bought out 
a factory on High street, Boston, and for three 
years carried on the business of manufacturing 
pasted insoles and heel stock. His next en- 
terprise was undertaken in Brockton, where he 
established the leather and remnant business 
on Railroad avenue, and the Naplitha Extract- 
ing Works on Center street, now carried on un- 
der the name of F. M. Shaw & Son, from wliich 
he retired on account of failing health, since 
which time the business has been carried on by 
his son, Francis E., under the same firm name. 
Previous to this last venture Mr. Shaw had 
bought an interest in the Boston Rivet Com- 
pany, and, as a representative of the company, 
had made, in 1875, another visit to Europe. 
He crossed and recrossed the Atlantic twice 
after that time — namely, in 1883 and 1885 — 



and also traveled in California and other parts 
of the great West. 

Mr. Shaw was a member of the Know-Noth- 
ing party during the short existence of that 
political combination in the fifties. He was a 
stanch Republican from the organization of the 
party; and was a delegate to the convention 
at Worcester that nominated for the chief mag- 
istracy of the State John A. Andrew, since re- 
nowned as this Commonwealth's war governor. 
Mr. Shaw served as a member of the council of 
Brockton for two years. He belonged to 
Fletcher Webster Post, No. 13, Grand Array of 
the Republic, of which he was chaplain for 
several years; and served as a delegate to four 
Grand Army conventions, including that held 
in Denver. In religious faith Mr. Shaw was a 
follower of Swedenborg, and was a member of 
the Church of the New Jerusalem at Abington, 
Mass. He died at Brockton, Aug. 22, 1900, in 
his seventy-fifth year. 

Mr. Shaw was twice married. His first wife, 
Mary L. Eaton, of Raynham, Mass., daughter of 
Charles and Emeline (Leonard) Eaton, died 
leaving six children, as follows : Emma E. mar- 
ried Edward Bryant, of Brockton; Linus H. is 
"mentioned below; Alice L. married David T. 
Burrell, of Brockton; Francis E. is mentioned 
below; Mary E. is the wife of Sidney Perkins, 
and resides at Savin Hill, Boston ; Samuel mar- 
ried Sarah Ryder, of Middleboro, in which town 
he is engaged in the manufacture of shoes as 
junior member of the firm of Leonard & Shaw. 
On Nov. 25, 1861. Francis M. Shaw married 
(second) Harriet B. Bates, daughter of Rufus 
B. Bates, of Abington, who survived him, and 
resides in Brockton. To this union was born 
one son, Norman B., who married Lila S. 
Copeland, of Raynham, and they reside in 
Brockton, where he is a member of the Opera 
House orchestra ; they have one son, Lawrence, 
who is a graduate of the School of Technology 
at Boston. 

(IX) Linus Hall Shaw, eldest son of the 
late Francis M. and Mary L. (Eaton) Shaw, 
was born Aug. 23, 1851, in Raynham, Mass., 
and acquired his early education in the schools 
of his native town, of Abington and of North 
Bridgewater, his parents removing to the latter 
place when he was about fourteen years of age. 
After finishing his schooling, he early acquired 
a knowledge of shoemaking through employ- 
ment in various factories of the town, eventu- 
ally engaging in the manufacture of shoes on 
his own account. For a period of about twenty 
years Mr. Shaw was thus engaged, for a time 
as a partner with James Sidney Allen and in 
company with James C. Tannatt. In 1906 Mr. 



670 



SOUTHEASTEKN MASSACHUSETTS 



Shaw established himself in the manufacture 
of men's fine shoe heels, organizing the Acme 
Heel company. This concern's product is used 
by the high-grade shoe manufacturers in the 
making of shoes ranging in price from $5 to 
$8, at retail. The very best quality of heels 
is manufactured by the Acme Heel Company, 
used in the construction of the finest men's 
shoes made, in various parts of the world, large 
shipments being made to leading shoe manufac- 
turing concerns throughout the country. This 
concern gives employment to about seventy- 
five hands, and since its first inception the vol- 
ume of business has steadily increased. A nat- 
ural-born mechanic, Mr. Shaw has invented and 
has patented various machines and appliances 
used in tlie 7nanufacture of shoes, upon which 
he is still receiving royalties. 

Fraternally Mr. Shaw is a member of Paul 
Eevere Lodge, A. F. & A. M., of Brockton. 
In political faith he is a Republican, but has 
never cared for nor sought public preferment. 
In religion he is a Unitarian, holding member- 
ship in the Unity Church, of Brockton. 

On Jan. 1, 1873, Mr. Shaw was united in 
marriage with Abbie Pierce Dunham, daughter 
of Lysander and Sarah (Simmons) Dunham, 
of Plymouth, Mass., and this union has been 
blessed with children as fallows : Mary Frances 
is the wife of Fred B. Leonard, of Brockton, 
where he is teller of the Plymouth County Trust 
Company, and they have two children, Ruth 
and Warren ; Chester Earl married Lena Bald- 
win, of Middleboro, where he is connected with 
Leonard & Shaw, shoe manufacturers ; Frank 
E., superintendent of the Acme Heel Company, 
married May E. Brown, of Brockton. 

(IX) Francis E. Shaw, son of the late 
Francis M. and Mary L. (Eaton) Shaw, was 
born Feb. (5, 1856, in Raynham, Mass. His 
schooling was acquired in the common schools 
and the high school of North Bridgewater, to 
which town his parents removed when he was 
only about nine years old. After leaving school 
Mr. Shaw entered the employ of bis father, in 
the manufacture of heels and shoe findings, 
continuing in his employ until he purchased 
the business, in 1890, and he continued to con- 
duct it under the firm name of F. M. Shaw & 
Son until 1903, in which year it was incorpo- 
rated under tlie laws of Massachusetts as the F. 
M. Shaw & Son Company, capital stock $100,- 
000, with the following officers : Francis E. 
Shaw, president; Ernest L. Shaw, treasurer; 
and Herbert F. Bryant, secretary. This con- 
cern is extensively engaged in the manufacture 
of shoe heels and findings, and also deals in 
leather remnants of all kinds, and is well known 
to the shoe trade generally. 



Fraternally Mr. Shaw is prominently identi- 
fied with the Masonic organization, holding; 
membership in Paul Revere Lodge, A. F. & A. 
M., of which he is past worshipful master; 
Satucket Chapter, R. A. M. ; Brockton Council, 
R. & S. M.; and Bay State Commandery, 
Knights Templar, of which he is past eminent 
commander. In political faith he is a stanch 
supporter of the principles of the Republican 
party, and has served the city as a member of 
the common council for two years; for several 
years he was a trustee of the Public Library. 
Mr. Shaw is an active member of the Unity 
Church, of Brockton, and for several years has 
served as chairman of the standing committee 
of the church. 

By his first wife, Jennie Perkins, Mr. Shaw 
had one daughter, Lena F. His second wife, 
who was Hattie E. Wilde, daughter of Brad- 
ford Wilde, of Brockton, passed away in Brock- 
ton June 21, 1904. Mr. Shaw has since mar- 
ried (third) Mrs. Isabelle Prior, of Boston. 

ALMY (Dartmouth-Boston family). The 
origin of the Almy family of Rhode Island and 
Massachusetts, which for the past two hundred 
and fifty aiul more -years has been well and 
prominently represented in many of the towns 
of both Commonwealths, is traced back to Wil- 
liam Almy, who was born in England in the 
year 1601. 

It is here, however, the purpose to review, 
and that briefly, but one branch of the Almy 
family — that which later on located in the an- 
cient town of Dartmouth, thence went to Bos- 
ton, where several of the sons of the late Thomas 
Almy became most enterprising and progres- 
sive merchants, and have been followed by their 
sons and jierhaps grandsons. Reference is 
made to the brothers, the late William and Fred- 
erick Almy of the extensive dry goods establish- 
ment of Messrs. Almy, Patterson & Co., and 
their successors. There follows the Almy 
lineage and family history of the younger mem- 
bers of the Dartmouth-Boston Almy family 
from the immigrant settler, chronologically ar- 
ranged. 

(I) William Almy, who was born in England 
in 1601, died in 1676. He came to this country 
prior to 1630, but returned almost immediately 
to England, coming here again in 1635 in the 
ship "Abigail," and bringing with him his wife 
Audrey and two children, Ann and Christopher. 
He first located in Lynn, Mass., later, in 1637,. 
was at Sandwich, and on Nov. 14, 1644, had 
land granted him at Wading River, Portsmouth, 
R. I. Here the balance of his life was spent. 
In 1655 he was made a freeman, juryman in 
1656, and commissioner in 1656, 1657 and 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



671 



1663. His will was proved April 23, 1677. 
His daughter Ann was born in 1687, and his 
son Christopher in 1632. 

(II) Christopher Almv, son of William, born 
in 1632, died Jan. 30, 1712. He was made a 
freeman in l6o8. In 1667 he and others 
bought lands of the Indians in Monmouth, N. 
J., and he lived there some years, returning to 
Rhode Island before the year 1680. On March 
5, 1680, he and several others bought Pocasset 
(now Tiverton) lands for £1,100, he having 
three and three fourths shares out of thirty 
shares in the whole. He was made a deputy 
in 1690, and also assistant. On Feb. 27, 1690, 
he was elected governor, but refused to serve 
for reasons satisfactory to the Assembly. This 
was the first election of governor after the 
deposition of Andros. In 1693 he was sent to 
England as a messenger from Rhode Island, 
and on Aug. 2-ith of that year he delivered an 
address and his own petition to Queen Mary, 
stating the grievances of the Colony and pray- 
ing that she may grant such encouragement 
therein as she see fit. The Assembly allowed 
him £135, 10s., 8d. for his charge and expense 
in England for the Colony's use. On July 9, 
1661, Christopher Almy married Elizabeth 
Cornell, daughter of Thomas and Rebecca Cor- 
nell, and they had children : Sarah, born April 
17, 1662; Elizabeth, Sept. 29, 1663; William, 
Oct. 27, 1665; Ann, Nov. 29, 1667; Christo- 
pher, Dec. 26, 1669; Rebecca, Jan. 26, 1671; 
John, April, 1673 (died in 1673) ; John (2) ; 
Job, and Catherine. 

(III) William Almy, son of Christopher, 
born Oct. 27, 1665, married (first) Deborah 
Cook, daughter of John and Mary (Borden) 
Cook, and (second) Hope Borden, born March 
3, 1685, daughter of John and Mary Borden. 
Mr. Almv resided in Tiverton, R. I. He died 
July 6, 1747, and his wife Hope died in 1762. 
His children, all born to the first marriage, 
were: Mary, born Aug. 7, 1689; John, Oct. 10, 
1692; Job, April 28, 1696; Elizabeth, Nov. 14, 
1697; Samuel, April 15, 1701; Deborah, July 
27, 1703; Rebecca, Oct. 14, 1705; William and 
Joseph, Oct. 3, 1707. 

(IV) Job Almy, son of William and Deborah 
(Cook), born April 38, 1696, married Lydia, 
born July 8, 1700. Their children were: Deb- 
orah, born Dec. 5, 1719, married in 1738 John 
Slocum; Freelove, born April 18, 1723, married 
in 1742 Edward Springer; Samuel, born Sept. 
20, 1725, married in 1746 Sarah Wood; Joseph, 
born Nov. 21, 1727, married in 1750 Abigail 
Sisson ; Job, born Oct. 10, 1730, married in 
1750 Ann Slocum; Lydia, born Feb. 19, 1732- 
33, married Benjamin Akin, and maybe in 1750 



John Wing; Thomas, born Nov. 5, 1735, died 
April 9, 1737; Christopher, born May 29, 1738, 
married in 1762 Elizabeth Sanford; and Hope, 
born April 14, 1746, married in 1763 William 
Howland. 

(V) Christopher Almy (2), son of Job and 
Lydia, born May 29, 1738, married in 1762 
Elizabeth Sanford. Their children were : 
Peleg, born Sept. 2, 1764, married in 1787 Deb- 
orah Almy; Giles, born April 29, 1766, mar- 
ried in 1787 Mary Macomber; Benjamin was 
born March 21, 1768; Freelove, born March 
16, 1770, married in 1789 William Cory; Rich- 
ard, born June 22, 1773, married in 1799 Pa- 
tience Wilcox; Thomas was born April 22, 
1775. What is known as the mansion house on 
the old Job Almy place in Westport stands near 
the road, faces south and commands a magnifi- 
cent view of the Atlantic ocean south and west 
of the Elizabeth islands. It is the only two- 
story gambrel-roofed house in old Dartmouth, 
and belongs to the latest variety of that type. 

Job Almy owned the farm, and in his will of 
1771 he devises his estate to his'four sons; and 
in the division in 1778 Joseph and Christopher 
took the part on the east side of the road, and 
that on the west side was taken by Job and 
Samuel. To his wife he gives "the Eastern 
most great room, bed room adjoining, cellar 
under and chamber, and attic over the same." 
This can only apply to the large house which in 
another part of the will he describes as "my 
new dwelling house," which he specially devised 
to his son Joseph. It is safe to conclude that 
this house was built between 1765 and 1770. 

This land originally belonged to Hugh 
Mosher, who sold it to William Almy, who was 
the owner in 1710, and this large farm has re- 
mained in the Almy family ever since. The 
original house has probably been removed or 
destroyed. The small one-story gambrel was 
erected about 1730, some distance east of the 
road, but within recent years was moved to its 
present location and has been since used as the 
home of the manager of the farm. It belongs 
to the variety that was common in this section 
between 1725 and 1740. 

(VI) Thomas Almy, son of Christopher and 
Elizabeth (Sanford), born April 22, 1775, mar- 
ried in 1798 Sally Gifford, born June 10, 1779, 
daughter of William and Patience GifEord. Mr. 
Almy, who was somewhat noted for his great 
strength, was a carpenter by trade. He became 
a merchant at Smith Mills, then a farmer. He 
was a man of good judgment, and was active in 
the public affairs of the town ; liked the old 
muster days of the State militia. He loved a 
good horse and his favorite means of travel was 



672 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



by horseback. He was a member of the Society 
of Friends. He died Nov. 23, 1868. His wife 
died June 13, 1848. Their children were : Wil- 
liam, Silence, Frederick and Henry. 

(VII) William Almy (3), son of Thomas 
and Sally (Gifford), was born Oct. 10, 1798, 
on the old Almy homestead in Dartmouth, 
Mass. He passed his childhood and youth on 
his father's farm, receiving in the way of an 
education what the neighborhood district school 
afforded. Early in life he concluded to become 
a merchant, and with this end in view when 
thirteen years of age walked from his home near 
Horse Neck, carrying his shoes in his hand as 
a matter of economy, to Russell's Mills, where 
he began his business career in the store of the 
late Abraham Barker. In a few years he re- 
moved to New Bedford, and was employed as 
bookkeeper in the store of William H. Allen 
and the late Gideon Allen, and also in the 
counting room of the late John Avery Parker. 
Subsequently he went to Boston, and found em- 
ployment in the best school possible for a mer- 
chant — the counting room of the late A. & A. 
Lawrence. Soon after attaining his majority, 
and doubtless under the kind auspices of his 
employers, he formed a partnership with a fel- 
low clerk named Dexter, establishing the busi- 
ness which under the firm name of Dexter & 
Almy, Almy, Blake & Co., Almy, Patterson & 
Co., Almy, Hobart & Co., and Almy & Co., he 
successfully pursued for nearly fifty years ; this 
was the importing and jobbing of white goods. 
Cool, clear-headed and sagacious, no man stood 
higher in the confidence and esteem of his fel- 
lows than William Almy. He achieved a hand- 
some fortune for his time, but secured some- 
thing far better, a reputation for spotless integ- 
rity, and unblemished honor. 

For many years Mr. Almy was a director in 
the Eagle Bank, Boston, and for a number of 
3'ears his firm was selling agent for various 
cotton and woolen mills, among these being 
the celebrated Wamsutta Mills of New Bedford. 
Politically he was a Whig and Republican. 

In November, 1828, Mr. Almy married Eliza- 
beth, daughter of Robert and Deborah Brayton, 
of Nantucket. She was born June 19, 1803, 
and died May 11, 1879. 

About 1830 Mr. Almy bought a portion of 
the old Almy farm, near Horse Neck, in Dart- 
mouth, which he greatly improved and beauti- 
fied, making of it a most delightful summer 
residence. He became totally blind in 1858, 
and in 1868 retired from business. He died 
Dec. 25, 1881, in Boston, having lived to a ripe 
old age and leaving an honored name and the 
memory of an active and useful life. 



The cluldren born to Mr. and Mrs. Almy 
were: (1) Sarah died in infancy. (2) Robert 
B., born Sept. 12, 1830, died Jan. 4, 1896. 
(3) Sarah H., born Dec; 16, 1832, died Feb. 
28, 1869. (4) Matilda H. died in infancy. 
(5) Henry, born Aug. 22, 1836, was a business 
associate of his father, and died April 6, 1879. 
He married Jan. 17, 1862, Elizabeth Barker, 
and their children, all now living (1910) were: 
Mabel, born Sept. 5, 1864; Sarah Helen, Dec. 
19, 1870; Henry, June 24, 1875. (6) Cath- 
erine G. died young. (7) John P. and (8) 
William F. were twins, born Jan. 17, 1841. 
John P. never married, and died Aug. 7, 1905. 
William F. is mentioned below. (9) Alice B., 
born April 14, 1843, died Jan. 5, 1871, married 
Frederick Grinnell, of New Bedford, and had 
a daughter, Alice A. (10) Thomas R. resides 
at New Bedford. 

(VIII) William F. Almy, son of William (3) 
and Elizabeth, was born Jan. 17, 1841. He 
married Alice Gray, of Boston. Soon after his 
marriage he became associated in business with 
Thomas Gray & Co., cotton merchants, and after 
Mr. Gray's death he continued the business un- 
der the name of Almy & Co. until he died, 
June 14, 1898. He had two children, William 
and Eleanor Brooks, who with the wife and 
mother survive. 

(IX) William Almy, son of WilUam F., 
was born April 9, 1874. He succeeded his 
father, William F. Almy, in the cotton business, 
and after a few years formed a new firm, Almy, 
Rogerson & Bremer, afterward Almy, Bremer 
& Co., and now William Almy & Co. He has 
been successful in business, being one of the 
largest cotton mercliants in Boston. 

On April 8, 1899, Mr. Almy married Elsie 
H. Pierce, of New Bedford, daughter of An- 
drew G. Pierce. They have had five children, 
all living (1910) : William, Jr., born Nov. 30, 
1900; Caroline Pierce, Oct. 9, 1901; Robert 
•Brayton, Dec. 1, 1902 ; Mary Louise, March 
21, 1906; Richard, Feb. 5, 1909. 

(IX) • Eleanor Brooks Almy, daughter of 
William F. Almy, married April 22, 18^96, The- 
odore G. Bremer, and they have three children : 
Alice, born May 24, 1897; Eleanor, Oct. 10, 
1899 ; and Theodore Glover, Jr., Dec. 8, 1903, 
all living. 

FREDERICK CHANDLER MANN, for so 
many years connected with the Carver Cotton 
Gin Company, and so well known through the 
entire Southland where he had traveled in the 
interest of that company, was born in Boston, 
Mass., Jan. 24, 1839, and died in East Bridge- 
water, Feb. 8, 1907. The surname Mann in 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



673 



England is found in "Domesday Book," A. D. 
1086, and here in New England history it has 
been kno^vn from the earliest period of the 
Colonies. 

(I) Richard Man, of Scituate, Mass., came 
to New England previous to the year 1644, 
where in January of that year he took the oath 
of fidelity.' Dean, in his history of Scituate 
^1831), says "Richard Man (planter) was a 
youth in Elder Brewster's family, and came to 
Plymouth in the 'Mayflower,' 1620. He was 
one of the Connihassett partners in Scituate, 
1646. His farm was at Man Hill (a well 
known place to this day), south of the great 
Musquaslicut pond, and north of John Hoar's 
farm. There is no record of his marriage 
here." Mr. Man was a farmer and one of the 
original proprietors of Scituate. On the east 
of liis lands was the sea. on the north Musquash- 
cut pond, and still farther north, bordering on 
the pond, were the "Famies" so called. In an 
attempt to cross this pond on the ice in Feb- 
ruary, 1655, Richard Man was drowned. The 
records indicate that he was a man of consid- 
erable prominence in the colony. After his 
death his widow Rebecca married John Cowen, • 
and lived in the house of her former husband 
until 1670. Richard Man and his wife Rebecca 
had children, born in Scituate : Nathaniel, born 
Sept. 23, 1646, died July 20, 1688; Thomas, 
born Aug. 15, 1650 ; Richard, born Feb. 5, 1652, 
married Elizabeth Sutton; Josiah, born Dec. 
10, 1654. 

(II) Thomas Man, son of Richard and Re- 
becca, was born Aug. 15, 1650, in Scituate, 
Mass. The Christian name of his wife was Sarah. 
The records indicate that Mr. Man was a large 
landholder, and more than twenty transfers to 
and from him are found in the record . of con- 
veyances. In one or two deeds he is called a 
wheelwright, but his chief occupation was farm- 
ing. In 1703 he bought lands of his brother 
Richard, and ten years later deeded them to his 
own son Thomas. He was a coroner's juror in 
1677, and in 1680 his name was propounded 
as a freeman for the next year if the town ap- 
proved. His children were : Josiah, born 
March 11, 1679, died in 1708, unmarried; 
Thomas, horn April 5, 1681 ; Sarah, born Nov. 
15, 1684, married a Gibbs; Mary, born March 
15, 1688; Elizabeth, born March 10, 1692; Jo- 
seph, born Dec. 27, 1694; Benjamin, born Feb. 
19, 1697, married Martha Curtis; and Ensign, 
"born about 1699, married widow Tabitha Vinal, 
of Scituate. 

(Ill)* Thomas Man (2), son of Thomas, bom 
April 5, 1681, in Scituate, married Dec. 8, 1714, 
Deborah Joy. In some accounts he is men- 

43 



tioned as a cordwainer, but his principal occu- 
pation was farming on lands deeded to him by 
his father in 1713. He died Dec. 8, 1714. His 
children were: Josiah, born Dec. 7, 1715, 
married Jan. 2, 1741, Mary Chubbuck, who died 
in 1800; Capt. Thomas, born Nov. 26, 1717, 
married (first) Ruth Damon, and (second) 
Deborah Briggs; David, born Nov. 9, 1719, 
married Alice Healey; Deborah, born Feb. 20, 
1721, married in 1749, Abner Curtis of Han- 
over; Sarah, born Feb. 20, 1721, married Jesse 
Curtis of Hanover; and Ebenezer, born Dec. 

28, 1725. 

• (IV) Ebenezer Man, son of Thomas (2), 
born Dec. 28, 1725, in Scituate, Mass., mar- 
ried (first) Aug. 22, 1751, Rebecca Magouq, 
who was the mother of all his children. • He 
married (second) Oct. 1, 1772, Ursula Ran- 
dall. His life was spent chiefly in Pembroke, 
Mass., where he is mentioned as a shipwright, 
having early purchased lands at what was 
known as the brick kilns, a famous shipbuild- 
ing locality in the early history of the town. 
He also had lands near the North river bridge 
and later purchased an estate where Thomas 
Man afterward lived. He died about 1805, in 
Pembroke, Mass. His children were : David, 
l)orn Oct. 19, 1752 (0. S.) ; Rebecca, born Jan. 
12, 1755, married Joshua Turner; Ebenezer, 
l)orn Aug. 6, 1757, married Sarah Buffington; 
Betsey, born Oct. 14, 1759, married Thomas 
Nash. 

(V) David Mann, son of Ebenezer, born Oct. 
19, 1752 (0. S.), in Pembroke, Mass., married 
Dec. 24, 1778, Betsey Bates, of Duxbury, Mass. 
In deeds Mr. Mann is called a shipwright. It 
is said, also, that he was a farmer, and a dea- 
con in the "First Church" in Pembroke, Mass. 
He died there Nov. 22, 1838, leaving a will. 
His wife died at Pembroke, in 1828, aged sixty- 
eight years. Children, all born in Pembroke, 
were: Huldah, born Aug. 7, 1780 (married 
Jabez Josselyn) ; David, born Nov. 29, 1782; 
Comfort, born July 11, 1785; Ebenezer, born 
Oct. 12, 1788 (married Alma Josselyn) ; Isaiah, 
born May 22, 1791; Daniel, born Nov. 8, 1793; 
Thomas, born June 10, 1796; Betsey, born 
April 18, 1799 (married John Turner of Pem- 
broke) ; Josiah, born Oct. 16, 1801; and Me- 
linda, born June 4, 1807. 

(VI) David Mann, son of David, born Nov. 

29, 1782, in Pembroke, Mass., married there 
Jan. 24, 1805, Rebecca Oldham, daughter of 
David and Rebecca (Chandler) Oldham, of 
Pembroke, born Sept. 18, 1785, and died Jan. 
7, 1855. Both are buried in Central cemetery. 
Mr. Mann was a resident of Pembroke, Mass., 
by trade a ship joiner, a very skillful and in- 



674 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



dustrious workman.' He took large contracts 
in Medford and elsewhere, and employed many 
men in his day. He died in Pembroke, Oct. 
11, 1858. His children were: John C, born 
April 6, 1806, married Sylvia L. Hedge ; David 
0., born Dec. 13, 1808, married Nancy Austin; 
Jonathan 0., born Dee. 13, 1808, married Eliza 
A. Sears; Almira, born April 1, 1811, married 
George Taber; Adeline, born Feb. 13, 1813, 
married George Oldham; Elizabeth, born Dec. 
26, 1815, married Robert Ramsdell ; Mary T., 
born July 15, 1820, married Seth Whitman, 
Jr. ;- and Lucy P., born Sept. 3, 1822, married 
Horace J. Foster. 

(VII) John Chandler Mann, son of David 
and Rebecca, was born in Pembroke, April 6, 
1806, and died April 23, 1867. He attended the 
common schools, and then learned the mold- 
er's trade in the iron foundries, aft#r wliich 
he went to Boston and worked at Alger's foun- 
dry as master workman, later becoming super- 
intendent. He was also employed at different 
times in Canton, and in Bridgewater, Mass. 
On March 1, 1827, he married Silvia Lovell 
Hedge, born in Nantucket, Nov. 25, 1806, 
daughter of John and Clarissa (Crowell) 
Hedge, of Pembroke. She died in Pembroke, 
June 23, 1875, and was buried beside her hus- 
band in Central cemetery. Their children, born 
in Pembroke and Boston, were: (1) Maria, 
born Feb. 26, 1828, married Sept. 27, 1847, 
James R. Josselyn (who died in 1882), and 
had three children, Ella F. (married E. M. 
Jones), Oilman and James E. (2) Priscilla 
Josselyn, born April 9, 1830, married April 29, 
1849, Dr. Francis Collamore, of Pembroke, and 
had two children, Fiorina M. (born June 28, 
1862) and Francis, Jr. (born Oct. 23, 1855, 
and residing in East Bridgewater). (3) 
Charles E., born April, 1833, died in August, 
1833. (4) Clara Hedge, born April 6, 1834, 
married Sept. 12, 1858, Josiah Dean Bonney, 
and had a son, Charles Dean (born July, 1867, 
married to Etta Stetson). (5) John Hedge, 
born September, 1836, died August, 1842. (6) 
Frederick Chandler is mentioned below. (7) 
Louise Frances,;. born Aug. 1, 1841, married 
Jan. 29, 1865,fHenry B. White, and they made 
their home in Boston, where both died, and they 
are buried at Forest Hills cemetery tliere. Tliey 
had two sons, Harry Howard and Frederick 
Leonard. (8) Florena Ella, born July 8, 1843, 
died Nov. 26, 1860. (9) Edwin Forrest, born in 
September, 1845, died Nov. 19, 1860. (10) 
Julia Augusta, born Aug. 7, 1848, married Wil- 
liam P. Bates, of Boston, and their son, William 
Franklin, born in June, 1876, resides at Ever- 
ett, Massachusetts. 



(VIII) Frederick Chandler Mann, son of 
John Chandler, was born in Boston, Jan. 24,. 
1839, but was still quite young when his father 
took his family back to the old homestead in 
Pembroke. There, in the public schools he ac- 
quired his preliminary education, and his stud- 
ies were completed in Hanover Academy. At 
the age of eighteen he came to East Bridgewater, 
where he learned the carpenter's trade, serving 
his apprenticeship with William Hudson. He 
then went to Providence, R. I., where he worked 
at his trade for a Mr. Gale for about three 
years. At the end of that time he returned to 
East Bridgewater, and entered the employ of the- 
Carver Cotton Gin Company in the wood work- 
ing department, setting up the wooden parts of 
the cotton gin. Later he went into the machin- 
ery department, and while there perfected a 
number of inventions, which were made use 
of in cotton seed oil machinery. On several of 
these he was granted Letters Patent, under 
which he licensed the above named company 
to manufacture. He was also for many years 
directly interested in the manufacture of a 
cotton seed huller, another patented invention 
of his. 

When Mr. Mann started on the road as a 
traveling salesman, it was to sell machinery 
to box board mills through New York, Vermont, 
New Hampshire, Maine and Canada. He- 
proved his worth, and the Carver Company sent 
him South through North Carolina, South Car- 
olina, Georgia, Florida, Alabama, Mississippi, 
Louisiana and Te.xas. His trips consumed 
about nine months of each year. He made his 
first trip in 1869, and his last in 1903. After 
retirement from the road he remained in the 
employ of the same company until some months 
before his death. He was a trustee of the East 
Bridgewater Savings Bank. 

Fraternally Mr. Mann was a Mason, taking 
the first three degrees in Fellowship Lodge, A. 
F. & A. M., at Bridgewater, and later became- 
a member of Satucket Lodge, A. F. & A. M., at 
East Bridgewater, and was a life member of' 
the Satucket Royal Arch Chapter at Brockton. 
In his younger days he belonged to the Good' 
Templars, and was always a believer in tem- 
perance. In politics he was a Republican. He 
was a member of the First Parish (Unitarian) 
of East Bridgewater. His remains rest in Cen- 
tral cemetery. East Bridgewater. 

On Nov. 23, 1864, Mr. Mann married Pa- 
melia Leonard Hill, daughter of Leonard and' 
Pamela (Cushing) Hill, of East Bridgewater. 
To bless this union came children as follows: 
(1) Charles Frederick, born April 12, 1869, in 
East Bridgewater, is unmarried, and resides 




C^>^^Y^^ C3 ^^'^y^^Kf^^^ 



SOUTHEASTEKN MASSACHUSETTS 



675 



with his mother at the old home. He graduated 
from the East Bridgewater high school in 1885, 
and from the Bryant & Stratton Commercial 
School in Boston in June, 1886. The following 
August he became time keeper, paymaster and 
assistant bookkeeper in the Carver Cotton Gin 
Company, where he remained until April 30, 
1893, when he resigned. On May 1, 1893, he 
became treasurer of the East Bridgewater Sav- 
ings Bank, and still holds that position. He 
has been active in public affairs, and served 
as town treasurer from 1902 until 1911, when 
he resigned. In 1902 and 1903 he was town 
clerk. For several years he was treasurer of the 
Board of Trade of East Bridgewater, and of 
the Savings Bank Treasurers Club of Massa- 
chusetts, and is a member of the Commercial 
Club of Brockton. Fraternally he is a Mason, 
belonging to Satucket Lodge, A. F. & A. M., 
of East Bridgewater, in which he is past mas- 
ter; Harmony Chapter, R. A. M., of Bridge- 
water, in which he is past high priest ; Brocktcfti 
Council, R. & S. M., of Brockton; Old Colony 
Commandery, No. 15, K. T., of Abington, in 
which he is generalissimo; and in 1900 and 
1901 was District Deputy Grand Master of the 
24th Masonic District. He is a member of the 
First Parish (Unitarian) of East Bridgewater, 
and for several years has been a member of 
the parish committee. (2) Mary Isabel, born 
March 12, 1876, attended the public schools of 
East Bridgewater, and the Bryant & Stratton 
Commercial School in Boston, after which she 
was bookkeeper in the East Bridgewater Sav- 
ings Bank for eight years, resigning then on 
account of ill health; she married Nov. 17, 
1910, Leon E. Keith, of Campello, Mass., where 
they reside. (3) Grace Leonard, born April 
19, 1882, attended the public schools, and was 
graduated from the State Normal School at 
Bridgewater, in 1903. She taught school in 
Raynham Center for a time ; she married Dec. 
27, 1910, Andrew Richmond Parker, of East 
Bridgewater, where they reside. 

In 1900 Mrs. Mann purchased the old Hobart 
house on Central street, and has since made it 
her home. This house was built in 1799, by 
Gen. Sylvanus Lazell, and is a fine specimen of 
the New England architecture of that period. 



Hill. The Hill family, to which Mrs. Mann 
belongs, is descended from (I) John Hill, immi- 
grant, who was at Dorchester, Mass., in 1633. 
His wife Frances was admitted to the church 
before 1639. He was a member of the Boston 
Ancient and Honorable Artillery Company. He 
died May 31, 1664. His will was proved June 
30, 1664. He bequeathed to his wife Frances, 



sons John and Samuel, and daughter Mary. 
His widow married (second) Jonas Austin, and 
removed to Taunton, being dismissed from the 
Dorchester Church, June 28, 1674; he died at 
Dorchester, Nov. 18, 1676. To John and Fran- 
ces Hill were born children: John settled at 
the "Farms," on Charles river, was twice mar- 
ried and died before March 20, 1718; Frances; 
Jonathan, baptized Aug. 12, 1640; Mary mar- 
ried April 12, 1656, Thomas Breck, of Sher- 
born ; Samuel, baptized in 1638, died young; 
Samuel (2), in 1640; Hannah, born in 1641, 
removed to Taunton; Mercy, born Jan. 8, 1642- 
43; Ebenezer sold land in Dorchester, 1675; 
Martha, baptized Aug. 20, 1648; Mehetabel, 
baptized Feb. 18, 1650-51 ; Ruth married Roger 
Willis ; and Rebecca was admitted to the church 
Sept. 11, 1664. 

(II) Jonathan Hill, son of John, baptized 

Aug. 12, 1640, married Mary , and early 

removed to Bridgewater, Mass. Their children 
were: Nathaniel married in 1710, Hannah, 
daughter of Nathaniel Conant; Ebenezer; Jon- 
athan perhaps went to Middleboro; Mary mar- 
ried in 1702, Elnathan Bassett; and Bethiah 
was a member of the church in 1724. 

(III) Ebenezer Hill, son of Jonathan, mar- 
ried in 1714, Susanna, daughter of Jacob Leon- 
ard. They died, he, in 1760, and she, in 1764. 
Their children were: Ebenezer, born in 1715; 
Jacob, born in 1717; Israel, born in 1719; and 
Eleazer, born in 1730. 

(IV) Jacob Hill, son of Ebenezer, married 
in 1754, Abigail, daughter of Ebenezer Bonney, 
of Pembroke. Their children were : Hezekiah, 
born in 1754; Jacob, born in 1756; Susanna, 
born in 1759; Abigail, born in 1761; Eleazer, 
born in 1764. Of these Hezekiah and Eleazer 
went to Maine. The parents died, he, in 1804, 
aged eighty-seven, and she, in 1781, aged fifty- 
one. 

(V) Jacob Hill (2), son of Jacob, born in 
1756, married in 1780, Anne, daughter of 
Thomas Tribou, a Frenchman who settled in 
Bridgewater, as early as 1745, and his wife 
Margery Pratt. Their children were: Mel- 
zar, horn in 1783; Jacob, born in 1784; Nanny, 
born in 1786, married in 1809 Ephraim Carey, 
and went to Minot; Leonard, born in 1788, is 
mentioned below. Of these, Melzar married 
Mary Howland and went to Minot, now Au- 
Imrn, Maine ; Jacob was graduated from Brown 
University in 1807, settled as a lawyer at Minot 
and married Marcia Lobdell. The parents died, 
he, in 1827, aged seventy, and she, in 1823, 
aged sixty-five. 

(VI) Leonard Hill, son of Jacob (2), born 
in East Bridgewater, March 28, 1788, married 



676 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



(first) in 1817, Polly, daughter of Jonah Willis, 
of Bridgewater. To this union was born a son, 
Charles Henry, who died in Boston at the age 
of twenty-three years. Mr. Hill married (sec- 
ond) Pamela Cushing, daughter of Daniel and 
Zerviah (Chamberlain) Cushing, of East 
Bridgewater. All are buried in the Central 
cemetery at East Bridgewater. The children 
born of the second marriage were : Pamelia 
Leonard, now Mrs. Mann; and Mary Caroline, 
born Aug. 20, 1843, who married America 
Emerson Stetson, of Whitman, and they had 
one son, Frank Cushing Stetson, who married 
Lizzie Gertrude Soule, of Whitman; they have 
been the parents of four children, Dorothy Eliz- 
abeth (who died in infancy), Dana Emerson, 
Robert Jackson and Theodore. 

DARLING. (I) John and Dennis Darling 
appeared at Braintree, Mass., appro.ximately two 
hundred and fifty years ago. To the latter is 
traced the lineage of Joseph Monroe Darling, so 
long well knowii in Fall River. Jojm Darling 
was at Braintree, Mass., as early as 1660. He 
married in 1664 Elizabeth Dowman (?), and 
Dennis married in 1662 Hannah Francis, both 
families having children. 

(II) Capt. John Darling, son of Dennis, bom 
Sept. 2, 1664, in Braintree, married there (first) 
Elizabeth Tliompson. She died in 1687, and he 
married (second) in 1690 Anne, and (third) 
Elizabeth Morse. Captain Darling settled in 
Bellingham, Mass. He is reputed to have been 
a great business man, and owner of considerable 
land. He is said to have headed the petition for 
the setting off of the town of Bellingham, whicli 
was incorporated in 1719. He died in 1753-54, 
in Bellingham, aged eighty-nine years. His 
children born to the third marriage were: 
Elizabeth, Samuel, Ruth, Hannah, Margaret, 
Ebenezer, Mary, Martha, Abigail and Deborah. 

(III) Capt. Samuel Darling, son of Capt. 
John, born March 18, 1693-94, died Feb. 17, 
1774. He married (first) Dec. 15, 1716, Mar}' 
Thompson, of Mendon, Mass., and their chil- 
dren were: Samuel, Michael, Elizabeth, Ruth, 
Abigail, John, Rachel, Penelope and Joshua. 

(IV) John Darling, son of Capt. Samuel and 
Mary (Thompson) Darling, had children: 
John, Nathaniel, Seth, Penelope, Sarah and 
Hannah. The will of John Darling was pro- 
bated April 1, 1800, at Dedham, Mass.. giving 
to his son Seth his estate as provided therein. 

(V) Seth Darling, son of John, was bom 
April 28, 1777. in Bellingham, ilass. (prob- 
ably), and died Feb. 12, 1861. He married 
(first) Susannah Cook, bom Feb. 10, 1776, who 
died Oct. 12, 1812. He married for his second 



wife Susannali Clark, born in 1784, in Gloces- 
ter, R. I. There were four children by the 
first marriage: Anna, born May 17, 1800; 
Horatio N., born Aug. 16, 1802 (died in 
1871) ; Almira, born July 12, 1804 (died July, 
1828) ; and Silas J., born May 11, 1807. By 
the second marriage there were: Isaac C, bom 
July 31, 1814; Susannah Mercy, born March 
19, 1818; Barton M., born July 18, 1821; and 
William J., born xVpril 19, 1823 — all born in 
Glocester, Rhode Island. 

(VI) Horatio N. Darling, son of Seth and 
Susannah (Cook) Darling, born in Glocester, 
R. I., Aug. 16, 1802, died in 1871. He married 
Wait Taylor, daughter of John Taylor (she 
was a cousin of President Zachary Taylor), 
and their children, all bom in West Glocester, 
R. I., were : Amasa Ross, bom Nov. 15, 1825, 
died in April, 1845; Horatio N., Jr., born Nov. 
14, 1828, married Emetine M. Rich; William 
S., bom June 27, 1831, died in 1834; John 
Allen, born Feb. 12, 1833, married Marietta 
J. Rich ; Joseph M., bom July 18, 1835, is men- 
tioned below; Henry C, born Aug. 5, 1837, 
married Ruth S. Slade, of Fall River, and died 
March 31, 1907; Benjamin L., born in 1841, 
married Rhoda Earns, of Fall River. 

(VII) Joseph Monroe Darling, son of 
Horatio N. and Wait (Taylor) Darling, was 
born July 18, 1835, in West Glocester, R. I. 
His parents removing to Fall River when he 
was a child of five years, he there passed his 
boyhood and acquired his education in the pub- 
lic schools. His school days over, he began 
employment in Eddy's Woolen Mill there, in 
which he continued for three years. He then 
learned and followed for a time the carpenter's 
trade, which in time led to the business of 
contracting and building, wdiich he followed 
quite e.xtensively and successfully for some fif- 
teen years, during which period he constructed 
in and about Fall River many large business 
buildings and dwelling-houses and a number of 
public buildings, including several schoolhouses. 
In the meantime he gradually drifted into the 
special branch of business akin to it — that of 
an architect — which superseded the other and 
in which he has now been engaged for approxi- 
mately forty years. And it is needless to say 
that during that long period he has designed 
not a few of the best class of houses in and 
about Fall River and established an extensive 
business. An illustration of his taste and pro- 
ficiency in his profession is seen in the magni- 
ficent edifice of the Boys' Club, including the 
older building and the new part erected in 
1906, a gift to the citv of Fall River from 
Matthew B. C. Borden, of New York Citv. . 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



677 



In time Mr. Darling took into business with 
him his sons, who, having grown up as it were 
in this line of work, became proficient, and all 
in a manner have special features to which they 
have given their attention. The sons Joseph 
ajid Frederick Darling give special attention to 
contracting, while George Darling is a full- 
fledged architect and with his father deals with 
that feature of the work. Mr. Darling is also 
in business in Newport, having a partnership 
with Aldora Slade on work in Rhode Island. 
They built the toi-jiedo factoiy for the govern- 
ment. 

The senior Mr. Darling was for a number of 
years a member of the common council of Fall 
River, and during that time served on the 
committee that had charge of the introduction 
of the water supply for the city. Socially he 
is an Odd Fellow and a Mason, in the latter 
connection belonging to Narragansett Lodge, 
Fall River Royal Arch Chapter and Godfrey de 
Bouillon Commandery. 

Mr. Darling has taken a good citizen's part 
in the upbuilding of Fall River in more than 
one respect. He did his duty while in the pub- 
lic service, and in the particular business to 
which his active years have been devoted has 
found opportunity to promote the material 
growth of the city and influence general opinion 
in the right direction by showing in his work 
the wisdom of combining substantial construc- 
tion with pleasing effects, sacrificing neither 
one to the other. 

On Sept. 30, 1857, Mr. Darling married 
Hettie A., daughter of George and Mehetabel 
Reynolds, of Fall River, but formerly of Rhode 
Island. Mrs. Darling died Jan. 1, 1901. Seven 
children blessed this union: (1) Joseph M. 
married Annie S. Eddy, of Fall River, and they 
had two children, Joseph M. 2d, who married 
Louise Pollock, and Bessie, now deceased, who 
married Joseph Palmer and had four children, 
Ethel, Eddie, Hettie and Janice. (2) George 
married Frances L. Davis and had three chil- 
dren, Edward W., Maud F. (wife of Raymond 
W. Parlin) and George. (3) Frederick E. mar- 
ried Mary Simmons and has children, Marion 
and Wylder. (4) Edith M., wife of Clinton 
G. Albert, city collector, has children, Dorothy 
and Barton. (5) Annie W. is the wife of Wil- 
liam Bennett. (6) Edward B., in Florida, has 
heen twice married ; his first wife was Nellie 
Brightman. (7) Minnie H. 

BARDEN. The surnames Barden, Bardeen, 
Burden, and Bourden were originally Borden, 
in the spelling of which there are over thirty 
variations. The Bardens of Attleboro and 



North Attleboro are descendants of Richard 
Borden, who was one of the original settlers in 
Portsmouth, Rhode Island. 

(I) Richard Borden, of the County of Kent, 
England, born in 1601, came to New England 
in the ship "Elizabeth and Ann," in 1635, 
accompanied by his wife Joan and two children. 
In 1638 he went from Boston to Portsmouth, 
R. L, as one of the founders of that town, was 
admitted a freeman there in 1641, and subse- 
quently held various public offices, including 
that of deputy to the General Court. He wor- 
shiped with the Society of Friends, and in all 
his dealings with his fellow men he exemplified 
to a high degree the principles of that faith. He 
died in Portsmouth in 1671, and his wife died 
there July 16, 1688. Their children were: 
Thomas, born in England ; Francis, also born 
there; Mathew, born in Portsmouth in May, 
1638, the first native white child of the island 
of Rhode Island ; John, referred to below ; 
Joseph, liorn in 1643; Sarah, born in 1644; 
Samuel, born in 1645; Benjamin, born in 
1649 ; Amie, born in 1654. 

(II) John Borden, son of Richard, was bom 
in Portsmouth, in September, 1640, and died 
there June 4, 1716. He married Dec. 25, 1670, 
Mary Earl, born in Portsmouth in 1655, died 
there in 1734. Children: Richard, born Oct. 
24, 1671, died July 12, 1732; John, bom in 
1675, married Sarah Earl, of Portsmouth; 
Annie, born May 30, 1678, married Benjamin 
Chase, of Tiverton, R. I. ; Joseph, bom Dec. 
3, 1680, married Sarah Brownell, of Ports- 
mouth ; Thomas is referred to below ; Hope, 
born March 3, 1684, married William Olney, 
Jr., of Tiverton; William, bora Aug. 15, 1689, 
married Alice Hall, of Jamestown, R. I.; Ben- 
jamin settled in Virginia; Mary. 

(III) Thomas Borden, son of John, was bom 
in Portsmoutli, R. I., Dec. 13, 1682, and was 
residing there in and subsequent to 1721. He 
married April 18, 1717, Catherine Hull, born 
Feb. 23, 1689, daughter of John and Alice 
(Teddeman) Hull, of Jamestown. He married 
(second) Oct. 4, 1727, Mary Briggs, of Ports- 
mouth, a descendant of John Briggs, one of 
the founders of that tovm. His three sons, 
Thomas, Isaac and Samuel Borden (or Barden), 
settled in Attleboro. Of these sons Isaac, who 
was residing in Attleboro in 1759, married Ex- 
perience Miller and reared a family; and Sam- 
uel, who was living in Attleboro in 1766, mar- 
ried a Miss Fuller and also reared a family. 

(IV) Thomas Barden (2), son of Thomas, 
was born in Portsmouth, R. I. He moved to 
Attleboro, Mass., as early as 1756. Prior to 
that he was concerned with his brothers, Isaac 



678 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



and Samuel Borden, in real estate transactions 
in Tiverton and Portsmouth. In the recorded 
deed of this period he is designated as a weaver, 
and he followed that occupation in connection 
with farming. He married Susanna, daughter 
of Jonathan Riggs, and the latters homestead 
was in 1786 conveyed to Thomas Harden by Asa 
Hopkins for the sum of eighteen pounds, being- 
referred to in the deed as "the real estate of our 
honored father, Jonathan Riggs, late of Attle- 
boro." It was located on North Main street, 
and they occupied it as homestead until May 
14, 1793, when with their other property and 
real estate, amounting in all to about thirty-five 
acres, it was conveyed to Ebenezer Roltinson, of 
Attleboro, for the sum of one hundred pounds. 
In later years the Barden homestead on Main 
street came into the possession of C'harles Car- 
penter. Thomas Barden was a Revolutionary 
soldier, and is credited with the following ser- 
vice : On alarm from Rhode Island, he enlisted 
from Attleboro, Sept. 1, 1779, as private in 
Capt. Joseph Franklin's company. Col. Nathan 
Tylor's regiment, served four montlis and was 
discharged Dec. 31, 1779. He reenlisted July 
28, 1780, in Capt. Caleb Richardson's company. 
Col. Abiel Mitchell's regiment, which was 
raised to reinforce the Continental army, and 
was discharged Oct. 31, 1780. Children of 
Thomas and Susanna (Riggs) Barden: Su- 
sanna, born Sept. 3, 1763; Thomas, referred to 
below; George, March 15, 1767 (died Sept. 24, 
1772); Otis, Dec. 6, 1769; Eleanor, May 26, 
1772; James, March 21, 1774; Silvanus,"Nov. 
22, 1779 ; Mollv, July 22, 1782; Eunice, March 
18, 1784. 

(V) Thomas Barden (3), son of Thomas (2), 
born in Attleboro, Mass., Feb. 24, 1765, mar- 
ried Nancy Alexander. 

(VI) Thomas Barden (4), only child of 
Thomas (3), was born in Attleboro, Mass., May 
3, 1788. In early boyhood he was placed by his 
mother in the care of Luther Fisher, of ^Y rent- 
ham, with whom he lived during the remainder 
of his minority, and attended the district school. 
When a young man he was employed at heading 
nails by J. T. Wolcott and others and he later 
worked for Joseph Grant, in Cumberland, R. 
I., remaining there for several years. Return- 
ing to Wrentham he purchased a farm located 
on Blake's Hill, which from a rough and unim- 
proved condition he brought to a high state of 
fertility, and by his energy and perseverance 
made it one of the most productive pieces of 
agricultural property in that section of the 
Stat«. He also erected new buildings, which 
were thenceforth kept in good repair, and dur- 
ing the remainder of his life the general appear- 



ance of his homestead denoted the thrift, pros- 
perity and neatness of its owner. In connection 
with farming lie engaged quite extensively in 
the wood and lumber business, purchasing sev- 
eral tracts of woodland, the products of which 
he sold in the villages of Attleboro and Paw- 
tucket, also Central Falls, and he also carried 
on a profitable business in the manufacture of 
hoops for the West Indian trade. From the very 
moment in which he started to solve the prob- 
lem of life he never neglected an opportunity 
which promised advancement, and as a result 
his prosperity continued unabated for the re- 
mainder of his life, wiiich terminated Oct. 13, 
1845. In politics he was a stanch Democrat, 
supporting the principle of equal rights, and 
strongly opposing monopolies. 

Thomas Barden married, Sept. 13, 1812, Ra- 
chael Smith, born in Cumberland, R. I., March 
1, 1789, died in North Attleboro, Jan. 29, 
1880, daughter of Daniel and Elizabeth (Ful- 
ler) Smith, the latter a daughter of Jeremiah 
Fuller. Thomas and Rachael Barden were in 
every respect exemplary people. They not only 
taught their children habits of honesty, frugality 
and thrift, but through their own example in- 
culcated in them the highest principles of 
Christian morality, and they made their home 
a sacred repository of all that is noble, righteous 
and elevating. The family attended the Bap- 
tist Church. It was said of Rachael that she 
was her husband's guardian angel, and it may 
be truthfully added that she was similarly re- 
garded by the entire family. The best of lielp- 
mates, the noblest and most sacrificing of 
mothers, she did for them all she could and did 
it well. She survived her husband many years, 
spending her last days with her daughter Ann 
and her son Halsey, and died a nonogenarian. 
She reared a familv of seven children, namely: 

(1) John SmithBarden. born Nov. 19, 1813, 
died Feb. 8, 1905. He was an ingenious and 
skilled mechanic, inventing and manufacturing 
many useful devices, particularly pumps, meters 
and waterwheels. He married Oct. 2, 1840, 
Rosetta Ives, who was born May 15, 1820, and 
died Oct. 5, 1893. Children: Jesse, born in 
1847, died Jan. 4, 1848 ; Lorinda, born in 
1842, died June 20, 1881. 

(2) Ann Elizabeth Barden, bom Sept. 3, 
1816, died July 16, 1876. She taught school 
in Attleboro and Wrentham, and was married 
Sept. 3, 1838, to Joseph Blake. Children: 
Edmund M., born Sept. 9, 1839, died Feb. 10, 
1910, married Ellen Cheever, and had one 
daughter, Ethelyn ; Halsev T. was bom Nov. 26, 
1845; Bradford S., born Aug. 26, 1848, died 
Oct. 24, 1849 ; George Henry, bora Aug. 9, 1851, 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



679 



married Elmira Blackington and had one son, 
Elmer. 

(3) Thomas Alexander Barden, born May 30, 
1819, died Feb. 7, 1905. He was a merchant 
and manufacturer and later a farmer, was jus- 
tice of the peace, and served the town of North 
Attleboro as selectman. On Oct. 12, 1813, he 
married Susan Emily White, who was bom 
Aug. 23, 1819, and died Feb. 12, 1890. Chil- 
dren: Emily Frances, born June 1, 1845, died 
Dec. 27, 1845 ; Francis Irving, born Dec. 4, 184(3, 
jnarried Sept. 25, 1867, Harriett B. Warren, and 
had one daughter, Mabel Warren, bom June 
17, 1868, who married June 11, 1890, William 
F. Swift, and died Jan. 20, 1910; Ella Irene, 
bom Oct. 6, 1851, married Dec. 25, 1878, 
Oeorge Eugene Fisher, and has had children, 
Charles Ellis (bom Jan. 24, 1880), Eugene 
(bom 1882, died in infancy), Elliott B. (born 
Aug. 1, 1894, died 1903) ; Walter Elliott, bom 
Dec. 10, 1853, married June 6, 1877, Lucy S. 
Bugbee, who was born Sept. 2, 1851, and died 
June 11, 1901. the mother of six children, 
Harry E. (born June 26, 1878), Elvena B. 
(born Nov. 29. 1879, married April 4, 1906, 
Chester F. Melendy), Louise Annie (bom April 
•3, 1882), Helen S. (bom June 16, 1887), 
Thomas Russell (born Jan. 22, 1890), and 
Estelle (bom July 18, 1894); Evelyn Rhoda, 
bom Oct. 20, 1858, died March 3, 1859; Elvena 
Rachael, twin of Evelyn Rhoda, died April 10, 
1867; Emily Louise was bom July 3, 1861. 

(4) Laurinda White Barden, born June 6, 
1821, died Oct. 6, 1838. 

(5) Joseph Grant Barden is referred to below. 

(6) Stephen Halsey Barden, born Aug. 30, 
1826, died in Providence, R. I., June 19, 1881. 
He was with his brother Joseph in the grocery 
business in North Attleboro, and later with 
Frederick E. Keep, as Barden & Keep, in the 
wholesale flour and butter business in Provi- 
xience, R. I. He married April 27, 1856, Sarah 
Ann Crossley. Children : Charles Albert, bom 
Feb. 26, 1858, married Dec. 19, 1887, Clara 
■Cornelia Wilbur; Frederick William, bom Jan. 
5, 1860, married (first) in November, 1885, 
Emily Carter, who died July 3, 1900, and mar- 
Tied (second) Sept. 6, 1906, Mrs. Marion Hale 
Hilzer; Wallace Lincoln, born Sept. 23, 1862, 
married Sept. 23, 1885, Jennie E. R. Cranston, 
-who died Sept. 5, 1901, the mother of one 
•daughter, Madeline (bom Sept. 7, 1887), and 
be married (second) March 31, 1910, Gertmde 
May Speakman; Sarah Elizabeth, born Dec. 5, 
1864, died Sept. 5, 1866 ; Edward Everett, bom 
Sept. 19, 1867. married Sept. 24, 1891, Mary E. 
Wood, of South Pasadena, Cal., and has chil- 
dren, Harold (bom Sept. 5, 1892) and Stephen 



Halsey (bom Dec. 27, 1900) ; Estelle Jane, born 
Dec. 6, 1874, married in August, 1902, Floyd 
Rowe Watson, and has one child, Norman Allen, 
bom May 11, 1909. 

(7) Clarissa A. Barden, born Sept. 13, 1829, 
died Sept. 28, 1875. She taught school for 
many years; married Oct. 12, 1856, George E. 
Bicknell, who was born March 10, 1829, died 
March 5, 1900. Children : George Atherton, 
born June 25, 1858, married Olive Simonson; 
Annie Louise, born July 31, 1864, married 
Nov. 13, 1888, Henry P. Palin, and has had 
children, Chester A. (born July 27, 1889), Ho- 
mer Alden (born July 13, 1892), and Lester 
(born July 29, 1890, died Nov. 10, 1890). 

(VII) Joseph Grant Barden, son of Thomas 
(4) and Rachael (Smith), was bom in Wrent- 
ham Sept. 2, 1824, the fifth in a family of seven 
children. He was educated in his home district, 
called Blake's Hill. In the years of his child- 
hood and early manhood, Wrentham being 
largely engaged in the manufacture of straw 
bonnets, nearly every well-to-do farmer re- 
served a plat of land whereon he raised straw, 
cradled, cured and bunched in June, afterward 
cut out, whitened, split and made ready for 
braiding. This was much in demand by those 
who manufactured bonnets. During the long 
winter evenings the children, both boys and 
girls, were seated around the tallow candle, 
each having their number of yards to braid. 
Those energetic enough to complete their task 
early could have for their own use all they 
earned afterward. Here was a chance for our 
protege to own what, above all things, he de- 
sired — a violin. With the aid of a master he 
soon became proficient, and his presence, with 
V)ow, was one thing needful at parties and sing- 
ing schools. Later he sold his first purchase 
and secured one of the finest violins then made ; 
this was a lifelong companion. It was menial 
service in those days, even for a promising 
youth, to walk beside a yoke of oxen, with cords 
of wood, to be delivered in Providence some 
fourteen miles away, and bring back whatever 
was ordered by grocers or contractors of build- 
ings in the villages he passed. Much of the 
route on his way was at that time thinly peo- 
pled, so he was acquainted with the heads of 
each household, and in the decline of his life 
enjoyed greatly the narration of those jour- 
neys, which he punctuated with many funny in- 
citlents. Soon after his twenty-first birthday, 
his father's death placed him as the head man- 
ager of the homestead farm. In 1847, two years 
later, his younger brother Halsey and he be- 
came partners in this and other lines of busi- 
ness. They started a small grocery trade, also 



680 



SOUTHEASTEEN MASSACHUSETTS 



manufactured hoop poles, which found a ready 
sale in Providence. They quarried from a ledge 
on the farm large quantities of stone, not de- 
livered, however, by the oxen his father had 
owned, but by two pairs of fine spirited horses 
of his own purchase. The success which fol- 
lowed proved his ability in planning work and 
acting as leader in responsible places. In 1850 
they built the house on the corner of Park and 
Whiting streets, the ground floor being used as 
a grocery and dry goods store by their older 
brother, Thomas A. In 1853 Thomas A. sold 
the business to them. Two years later, 1855, 
Joseph Grant and Stephen Halsey Barden 
erected a fine structure at the junction of Park 
and Washington streets, locating their business, 
"Flour, Grain and Groceries," on the east side 
of the building, and renting to Thomas A. the 
west side for dry goods. The second story was 
fitted and furnished for a hall. It was dedi- 
cated on Thanksgiving Eve, 1855, and is re- 
membered as the first building (aside from the 
shops) in North Attleboro where gas had been 
installed. It was known as "Barden's Store." 
Residents in town and the towns adjoining 
made this the "mecca of trade'" ; their rule was 
"large sales with small profits." In 1857 Mr. 
Barden changed his residence to North Attle- 
boro, but managed the homestead farm until 
1861. The year 1864 found the brothers in 
partnership with Charles B. Thompson, who 
had been in their employ as clerk. Joseph G. 
(always the buyer) now made several trips 
West, purchasing cargoes of com, and flour from 
mills, visiting the dairj' farms of Vermont and 
New Hampshire, purchasing at first cost. 
Shortly afterward he also established a grain 
business in Providence with Otis Cook, and con- 
ducted it successfully till 1868, when it was 
dissolved. In 1869 the brothers (partners for 
twenty-two years) sold the North Attleboro 
store and business to Charles B. Thompson. In- 
dustrious and persevering by nature, Joseph G. 
decided in 1878 to give the coal trade a trial. 
This he followed for seven years with good re- 
sults. Later he was the senior member of a 
jewelry firm known as Barden, Blake & Com- 
pany of Plainville, and in 1897 he retired from 
active service and the jewelrj' plant passed into 
the hands of one of liis sons. His judgment 
regarding the value of property was considered 
excellent and his conscientious scruples (never 
swerving from right for either party) made him 
even in early manJiood much in demand as a 
referee in the appraisal of estates. He filled 
various offices of trust in town, those of select- 
man, school committeeman, surveyor of streets, 
assessor, overseer of the poor, member of the 



building conunittee for the high school, alms- 
house, etc. He with Henry F. Barrows obtained 
from the Legislature the charter for the North 
Attleboro waterworks; this charter was later 
transferred to the town. He was an active mem- 
ber of the Attleboro Agricultural Association 
during the years of its existence, filling many 
of its offices without stint of time, labor or 
purse ; was vice president of same for two years. 
The Attleboro Savings Bank he served for fifteen 
years as member of tlie investigating committee 
and more than twenty years as trustee. Of the 
Plainville Savings and Loan Association he was 
trustee and director for twentv-three years; in 
the records of the association lor 190.3 his long 
connection with the association is pointed to 
with great pride by the board of directors and 
they regretted to be obliged to accept his resig- 
nation, the secretary being requested to pre- 
pare a set of resolutions on the long and able 
service of Mr. Barden, the retiring trustee. He 
was from early life greatly interested in all 
things pertaining to the welfare of the town 
and its suburbs. Though his zeal even at this 
date was in no way abated, his declining health 
caused him to relinquish one by one his accus- 
tomed public places, the last one as director of 
the North Attle))oro Gaslight Compan^y, to 
which office he was chosen in 1862, remaining 
on the board until his death, a period of forty- 
six years. He was often a member of some 
committee to ' attend to its most important 
affairs ; also an auditor of the company for many 
years, which made him familiar with all the 
details of the business. The following is quoted 
from the writings of one among them: "Mr. 
Barden was a very valuable member of the 
board, and was held in the highest esteem by 
other members whose financial interests were 
larger than his own. He had the entire con- 
fidence of those associated witli him." A man 
of temperance and integrity, of few words, 
when he expressed liis opinion they carried 
weight. Gifted like his mother with a remark- 
able memory, he was a great reader and kept 
in touch with all events of the day. He never 
aspired to oflice, yet during Cleveland's admin- 
istration was urged by the Democratic party 
to allow his name to be \ised and was nominated 
as representative. Though the Republican party 
won, this is worthy of note — he ran far beyond 
his ticket. He had a wide acquaintance among 
business men, and held the respect of those with 
whom he had associated during his long life 
of eighty-four years. 

Joseph Grant Barden married Dec. 9, 1857, 
Arm Frances, born in Attleboro, daughter of 
Stephen and Chloe ilartin (Pierce) Clark, the 



SOUTHEASTEEN MASSACHUSETTS 



681 



former a blacksmith of Wrentham. Children: 
(1) Cora Florence, born Aug. 31, 1859, has 
been a teacher in the public schools of North 
Attleboro for nearly thirty years. (2) Arthur 
Stephen, born Oct. 9, 1861, died July 18, 
1864. (3) Edgar Joseph, born March 26, 1865, 
is an engraver. (1) Winthrop Francis is men- 
taoned below. (5) Adelbert Mason, born June 
18, 1872, is connected with the J. C. Hall Com- 
pany, of Providence, R. I. For a number of 
years he was foreman of their lithographing 
department, and is now the traveling salesman. 
He is a member of Aurora Lodge, I. 0. 0. F., 
of North Attleboro, and the Masonic bodies. 
He married Dec. 5, 1899, Mattie Louise Dean, 
of North Attleboro. (6) Henry Clark, bom 
May 12, 1875, is an electrical engineer. He 
graduated from Tufts College in 1897, was for 
seven years chief electrician at the Massachu- 
setts statehouse, and he is now doing business 
in Attleboro as an electrical contractor and 
dealer in electrical goods. 

(VIII) WixTHROP Francis Baeden, third 
son and fourth child of Joseph Grant and Ann 
Frances (Clark) Barden, was born in North 
Attleboro, Mass., Dec. 3, 1868. His education 
was acquired at the public and high schools, 
supplemented by a course in the Bryant & 
Stratton commercial college in Providence, R. 
I., from which he was graduated in 1888. He 
then became bookkeeper for Wade, Davis & 
Company, of Wrentham (now Plainville), 
Mass., remaining with them till 1893, when he 
was made manager of the jewelry manufac- 
turing concern of Barden, Blake & Company. 
In 1897 he formed a partnership with Martin 
I. Chapman, the firm name being Chapman & 
Barden, manufacturers of jewelry. In 1904 
they removed their business to more commo- 
dious quarters at No. 37 County street, Attle- 
boro. Two years later Mr. Chapman disposed 
of his interest to Harry E. Hull, the new firm 
being Barden & Hull, manufacturers of solid 
gold jewelry. Mr. Barden was for a number of 
years a director of the Plainville Savings and 
Loan Association. He was the leading spirit 
in the organization, under the Massachusetts 
laws, of the Bronson Building Company, an 
a.ssociation which bought the late Dr. John R. 
Bronson homestead property and built a mod- 
em block called the Bronson building, which 
in addition to stores and offices contains the 
very attractive and convenient Masonic halls 
and parlors. Later the Bronson apartments 
and court building were erected, these being 
among the substantial structures of Attleboro. 
Dr. Charles S. Holden is president of this com- 
pany, Maj. E. S. Horton was vice president, 



and Mr. Barden is director and general manager 
of the properties. Mr. Barden has also erected 
a residence on Soiith Main street, where he now 
resides. He is a member of the Pilgrim (Uni- 
tarian) Church of Attleboro, one of the stand- 
ing committee and served on the committee in 
charge of the erection of the church recently 
built. He is a member of the following organ- 
izations: Bristol Lodge, Ancient Free and 
Accepted Masons; King Hiram Chapter, Royal 
Arch Masons; Attleboro Council, Royal and 
Select Masters; Bristol Commandery, Knights 
Templar (now holding the office of com- 
mander) . 

Mr. Barden married, at Attleboro, April 12, 
1899, Louise, daughter of Dr. John R. and 
Catherine F. (Wheelock) Bronson. Dr. Bronson 
was distinguished as a physician and surgeon, 
in general practice in Attleboro. During the 
Civil war he served as surgeon and at one time 
was in charge of the military hospital at 
Fortress Monroe. [See Bronson and Pierce 
genealogies.] 

DeWITT CLINTON PACKARD, of Brock- 
ton, is perhaps best known as the oldest town 
clerk of Plymouth county in regard to length 
of service. He has been city clerk of Brockton 
throughout the period of its existence as a city, 
and was serving as town clerk when the change 
from town to city government took place. He 
has held the office continuously since first 
elected to it, at present (1911) rounding out 
his thirtieth year in that incumbency. 

Mr. Packard was born Sept. 22, 1834, in 
the town of North Bridgewater (now Brock- 
ton), Plymouth Co., Mass., and is a descend- 
ant in the eighth generation from Samuel 
Packard, the emigrant ancestor of a numerous 
and respected family of this section. We give 
an outline of the earlier generations herewith. 

(I) Samuel Packard (name in early records, 
both at Hingham and Bridgewater, Packer) 
came from Windham, near Hingham, in Eng- 
land, with wife and child in the ship "Dili- 
gence," of Ipswich, in 1638, and settled at 
Hingham. He was a proprietor in 1638. He 
removed to West Bridgewater, where the first 
settlements in the town were made. He was 
constable in 1664, and licensed to keep an 
ordinary, or tavern, 1670. From his will, pro- 
bated March 3, 1684-85, it appears that the 
Christian name of his wife was Elizabeth. His 
children were: Elizabeth, Samuel, Zaccheus, 
Thomas, John, Nathaniel, Mary, Hannah, Is- 
rael, Jael, Deborah and Deliverance. Of the 
daughters, Elizabeth married Thomas Alger, 
of Easton; Mary married Richard Phillips, of 



682 



SOUTHEASTEEN" MASSACHUSETTS 



Weymouth ; Hannah married Thomas Randall ; 
Jael married John Smith; Deborah married 
Samuel Washburn; Deliverance married 
Thomas Washburn. 

(II) Zaccheus Packard married Sarah, 
daughter of John Howard, and their children 
were: Israel, born in 1680; Sarah, born in 
1682; Jonathan, born in 1684; David, born 
in 1687; Solomon, born in 1689; James, born 
in 1691; Zaccheus, born in 1693; John, born 
in 1695; and Abiel, born in 1699. The father 
died in 1723. The daughter Sarah married 
in 1704 Capt. Josiah Edson. 

(III) David Packard, son of Zaccheus, bprn 
in 1687, married Hannah, daughter of John 
Ames. He was among the first settlers in the 
North parish, which later became North 
Bridgewater, and subsequently changed to 
Brockton. He lived on what in the early years 
of the nineteenth century was the Capt. Robert 
Packard place. His children were : David', 
born in 1713; William, born in 1715; Han- 
nah, born in 1718; Isaac, born in 1720; Mary, 
born in 1722; Ebenezer, born in 1724; Abiah, 
born in 1727; Mehetabel, born in 1730; and 
Jane, born in 1734. The father died in 1755, 
and the mother passed away in 1767. Of the 
daughters, Hannah married in 1737 Samuel 
Brett; Mary married in 1740 Daniel Richards; 
Mehetabel married in 1748 Simeon Brett; and 
Jane married in 1755 Matthew Kingman. 

(IV) William Packard, son of David, born 
in 1715, married in 1740 Sarah, daughter of 
Benjamin Richards. Mr. Packard lived to be 
ninety years of age, dying in 1805. His chil- 
dren were: Amy, born in 1741; Hannah, born 
in 1743; William, born in 1745; Lemuel, born 
in 1747; Sarah, born in 1750; Silvanus, born 
in 1752; Keziah, born in 1754; and Matilda. 
Of the daughters, Amy married in 1764 Levi 
French; Hannah married in 1765 Philip Rey- 
nolds, and afterward in 1782 Enos Thayer; 
Sarah married in 1769 Samuel Sturtevant ; 
Keziah married a Pierce ; and Matilda married 
in 1783 Capt. Zachariah Gurney. 

(V) William Packard (2), son of William, 
born in 1745, man-ied in 1769 Hannah, daugh- 
ter of Nathaniel Reynolds, and their children 
were: Sihon, born in 1770; Nancy, born in 
1772; Eliphaz, and William. The mother of 
these died, and the father married (second) 
in 1784 Mary Wales, by whom he had chil- 
dren : Ambrose, Cyrus, Charles, Hannah, Polly, 
Matilda and Sarah. Of these Eliphaz removed 
to Milton, and William went to Stoughton. 

(VI) Sihon Packard, son of William (2), 
born in 1770, married in 1794 Abigail Scott, 
of Dedham. Their children were : Betsey, who 



died unmarried; Joseph S. ; Oren; Sihon; 
Isaac ; Washburn ; John ; Nathaniel R. ; David ; 
and Mary, who died young. Of these Oren 
married in 1821 Sally Skinner, of Mansfield; 
Isaac married Laura, daughter of Daniel 
Bryant, of East Bridgewater; and David lived 
in Boston. 

(VII) Washburn Packard, son of Sihon, 
was born Dec. 26, 1805, and married Jan. 15, 
1832, Hannah Packard, daughter of Samuel 
Packard. They had two children, namely : 
DeWitt Clinton, born Sept. 22, 1834; and 
Julia Frances, who died Oct. 8, 1844. The 
mother died Oct. 9, 1850, and on Jan. 3, 1852, 
Mr. Packard married (second) Phebe Thomas 
Sherman, daughter of Otis Sherman, of Roch- 
ester, Mass. Mr. Packard was a shoe manu- 
facturer and his factory was situated on Pond 
street. He was well known and highly re- 
spected in Brockton, where he died Feb. 14, 
1881. His widow died Dec. 21, 1892. 

(VIII) DeWitt Clinton Packard received 
his early education in the common schools and 
local academies, and studied out of school, 
reading somewhat of the classics, Greek and 
Roman, and taking French and German under 
native teachers. For some time after leaving 
school he worked with and assisted his father 
in the latter's business of shoe manufacturing, 
and then became a school teacher. About the 
year 1859 he was chosen principal of the acad- 
emy at Plympton, Mass., and served there two 
years, resigning in 1861. He also taught in 
common schools. In 1862 he reentered the 
shoe business, in which he continued success- 
fully for a number of years. In 1865, form- 
ing a copartnership with Oliver F. Leach, 
under the firm name of Leach & Packard, he 
engaged in the manufacture of shoes for the 
Southern and Western trade. This partner- 
ship held until 1871, when it was dissolved, 
and Mr. Packard continued alone, manufactur- 
ing niainly for. the New England trade, until 
1879. Then this business was gradually aban- 
doned for the mortgage, brokerage and real 
estate line, in which he was engaged until his 
election as city clerk. 

Mr. Packard has been 'prominent in town 
and city afPairs for many years, and has held 
numerous local positions. From 1877 to 1888 
he was a trustee and a member of the board 
for the management of the public library. 
From 1879 to 1883 he was a member of the 
school committee. In 1880 he was a member 
of the committee of citizens chosen to prepare 
and obtain a city charter, in 1881 was chosen 
town clerk, and in 1882 elected city clerk, 
which position he has held continuously to 




%^01l 




ejuv.(A^_^J 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



683 



the present time; since 1875 he has held a 
commission as justice of the peace ; in 1880 
he was a United States census enumerator; in 
1884 he was appointed by the governor a com- 
missioner to qualify civil officers, and he has 
been an examiner under the Massachusetts 
civil service rules since their adoption. 

Mr. Packard has for many years given prac- 
tically all his time to lus duties as city clerk 
of Brockton, where he has the confidence of all 
classes, regardless of political color. With all 
the work involved in the faithful discharge of 
his responsibilities, he nevertheless finds time 
to be genial, kindly and obliging, and he never 
fails to give his services willingly wherever he 
can be of any assistance, particularly in any 
work connected with his branch of the muni- 
cipal administration. All the records and 
statistics of the city, the minutes of the board 
of aldermen, and numerous other important 
matters, are recorded and taken care of in his 
office, and the fact that the records are in 
most excellent shape shows that Mr. Packard 
has kept pace with the increasing demands of 
his work, which has not only grown in a ma- 
terial way since he first took office, but which 
has also widened in scope and importance to 
an extent unlooked-for at that day. The sup- 
port his fellow citizens gave him when they 
held him over from the town to the city govern- 
ment has been Justified by the high value of 
his services. He has never allowed his work 
to become a mere mechanical performance of 
duty, but has shown himself progressive and 
enterprising in his conception of its possibili- 
ties and responsibilities, and his work has been 
highly appreciated. To his "tireless energies 
and safe and wise counsel," according to one 
executive, the city owes much of her prog- 
ress and integrity, a criticism which indicates 
the personal interest Mr. Packard has taken 
in the intelligent administration of his office, 
which has been marked by courtesy, faithful- 
ness and efficiency in every detail. 

Mr. Packard has not been able to limit his 
usefulness and knowledge of municipal affairs 
strictly to his. own work, as during his many 
years of service as city clerk he lias acquired 
a fund of information regarding allied mat- 
ters which makes him an authority consulted 
by many who have become familiar with the 
extent and variety of his knowledge. More- 
over, his reputation has extended to other cities 
of the Commonwealth. The clerks of the dif- 
ferent cities meet for discussion of matters 
pertaining to tlicir duties, and his word and 
suggestions are treated with the most respect- 
ful consideration in such gatherings. Many 



citizens and even lawyers in Brockton ha.Ne 
consulted him on important questions regard- 
ing municipal affairs and certain legal prob- 
lems, and the highest compliment that could 
be paid to his acquisitions in this respect is 
the standing of those who regard him as a 
reliable authority. He has a record almost 
unique. 

While a young man, or rather in youth, Mr. 
Packard had some connection with the news- 
paper press, serving as a reporter on the North 
Bridgewater Gazette, and also occasionally con- 
tributing to the Boston Post, Traveller, Satur- 
day Evening Gazette, New England Farmer, 
and, later, the Rural New Yorker. 

On Jan. 5, 1865, Mr. Packard was married 
to Clarissa J. Leach, daughter of Oliver and 
Susannah (Howland) Leach. Mrs. Packard 
is a woman of intelligence and executive abil- 
ity, and is her husband's able assistant in the 
city clerk's office. They have had two chil- 
dren, Clinton Francis and Clara Washburn. 

(IX) Clinton Francis Packard, born Sept. 

11, 1867, in Brockton, received his early edu- 
cation in the public and high schools of his 
native place, and finished his schooling at 
Wilbraham Academy. He is serving as as- 
sistant city clerk under his father. On Dec. 
25, 1887, he married Annie J. Stewart, and 
they have had one child, Blanche L., born Sept. 
10," 1890. 

(IX) Clara Washburn Packard, born March 

12, 1872, was married to Frank N. Sherman, 
who died March 7, 1897. She died May 33, 
1903. They had three children, Marian Nel- 
son, Mary Wilbur and Carlton Packard. 

LUTHER (Fall River family). For three- 
quarters of a century and more there has lived 
in and been prominent in the commercial life 
of Fall River the family of the late Samuel 
Martin Luther, where father and .son, respec- 
tively, have figured as contractor and builder 
and manufacturer; the son being the present 
Charles Bateman Luther, treasurer of the 
Luther Manufacturing Company. 

This Warren (R. I.) -Fall River Luther fam- 
ily is a branch of the earlier Swansea family, 
whose progenitor, Capt. John Luther, came to 
the shores of New England some two hundred 
and seventy-five years ago. 

(I) The name of John Luther appears the 
twenty-seventh on the list of the forty-six 
ancient or original purchasers of Taunton, 
1638. Nothing definite seems to have been set 
forth by the writers of the early comers to 
New England of Mr. Luther. A captain of a 
vessel trading to Delaware, from Boston, of 



684 SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 

this name in 1644 was killed by the Indians first pastor as well as in his broadly catholic 
in that river [see Winthrop II, 203, 237]. spirit. "The Congregational element found 
The General Court decreed 22d of May, 1646, the ne\Y minister less ready to grant the same 
that the widow Luther should have the balance liberal privileges as to church fellowship, in- 
of her husband's wages according to sea cus- fant baptism, etc. The new version of Bap- 
tom, after allowing to the merchants what tism and Christian Communion, as given by 
they had paid for the redemption of her son. Elder Ijuther, was not acceptable to the Pedo- 
On Oct. 19, 1672, Samuel Luther, son of John, baptists of the town, and, whether intended or 
made a demand for his father's purchase rights not, helped to established the dividing line of 
of the to\vn. In November following James denominationalism between the hitherto united 
Walker made reply to this demand in sub- parties." These changes in the church 
stance that he or his predecessors had enjoyed covenant with reference to baptism and com- 
the rights for thirty years, had paid all charges, munion instituted by Elder Luther which de- 
etc, and that Samuel Luther had no claim to stroyed the fellowship between Anabaptists and 
it. From a branch of the Warren Peck-Luther Pedobaptists enjoyed by Mr. Myles and his 
family comes the information that Capt. John associates, and made the church distinctly 
Luther came to Boston in one of two Dutch Baptist, this change so distasteful to the Con- 
vessels that arrived there in 1635 bringing a gregationalists, opened a religious controversy 
number of Flemish mares, cattle and some which twenty-five years later split Swansea, on 
passengers; that Mr. Luther was a native of sectarian lines, into two townships. 
Germany and a direct descendant of the The children of Elder Samuel Luther and 
mother of the great Martin Luther (she was his wife Mary were: Samuel, born Oct. 25, 
formerly Margaret Lindeman, and married 1663; Theophilus, born Oct. 9, 1665; Mary, 
John Luther, and the birthplace of Martin born July 80, 1668; Joshua, born Nov.. 25, 
Luther was Eisleben, Saxony, 1483); that in 1670; Elizabeth, born Feb. 2, 1672; Experi- 
1637 he became associated with Elizabeth's ence, born March 3, 1674; Mehetabel, bom 
company in the purchase of Taunton; that in Aug. 26, 1676; Ebenezer, born Dec. 27, 1678; 
1644 a charter was granted to certain mer- Martha, born Dee. 9, 1681; Susanna; Joanna, 
chants of Boston authorizing them to trade (III) Samuel Luther (2), son of Elder 
with a colony of Dutch and Swedes on Dela- Samuel, born Oct. 25, 1663, married Sarah 
ware bay; that John Luther was sent as super- Chaffee. Mr. Luther went on the expedition 
intendent of the ship and interpreter, while in 1690 against Quebec, under Phipps. The 
William Aspinwall went to prosecute the trade ; children of Samuel and Sarah, all born in 
that a few years after, 1658, he joined with Swansea, were: Samuel, born Nov. 20, 1689; 
Thomas Willett and otliers in the purchase of Caleb, born in 1692 ; James, born March 8, 
Attleboro, but he soon sold his interest to Bos- 1693 ; Benjamin ; Consider ; Elizabeth, born 
ton parties, and in 1667 joined with Willett June 22, 1702; Eleflzer, born Feb. 28, 1704; 
and others in the purchase of Swansea, where Jabez ; and Sarah, born Dec. 25, 1707. 
he took up his permanent residencje. (IV) Caleb Luther, son of Samuel (2), 

Mr. Luther is made the father of Samuel born in 1692, married Mary Cole, of Swan- 

and Hezekiah Luther, of Swansea, Mass., who sea, and their children were: Freelove, born 

according to the source mentioned above were Jan. 15, 1715; Susanna, born Aug. 20, 1717; 

born, Samuel (in Yocumtown), in 1638, and Hannah, born Sept. 22, 1720; Caleb, t)Orn 

Hezekiah, in 1640. April 22, 1723; Jabez, born July 8, 15;25; 

(II) (Elder) Samuel Luther, son of Capt. Samuel, born in 1727; and Frederick, born 

John, bom in 1638 in Yocumtown, married Feb. 15, 1730. 

Mary. Captain Luther, as he was at one time (V) Frederick Luther, son of Caleb, bom 
styled, was one of the most influential towns- Feb. 15, 1730, married Feb. 16, 175J, in 
men of Swansea. He was deputy from Swan- Swansea, Joanna Luther, and their children, 
sea to the General Court of Plymouth Colony the first five born in Swahsea, Mass., and the 
in 1677, 1678 and 1679, and his brother others in Warren, R. 1., were: Freelove, born 
Hezekiah was representative from Swansea to Sept. 26, 1752 ; Lydia, born July 31, 1754 ; 
the Great and General Court of Massachu- Hannah, born Dec. 10, 1756; Saraji, born Dec. 
setts Bay Colony in 1706. Rev. John Myles, 7, 1758; Martin, born April 19, 1761; Fred- 
pastor of the Baptist Church in Swansea, died erick, born June 8, 1763 ; Rejiecca, born April 
in February, 1683, and Elder Samuel Luther 17, 1765; and Samuel, bom April 11, 1768. 
became his successor in 1685. Luther, it is The father was a farmfer and )ived and died 
said, was wanting in the scholarship of the in Warren, R. I., reaching advanced age. 





'/,J£.^^ 



Uniji In, BUmai i Sm^.VeuTTT-h 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



685 



(VI) Samuel Luther (3), son of Frederick, 
born April H, 1768, in Warren, R. I., mar- 
ried Abigail Beers, and located in the towTi of 
Swansea, Mass., where he was occupied in 
farming and as a carpenter. He died in Fall 
River, Mass., in 1843, and his widow Abigail 
passed away in 1858 or 1859. Their children 
were : Rebecca married James Bowen ; Polly 
married Willard Barney; Abbey married James 
Richards; Daniel B- was a seafaring man; 
Priscjlla married John Bushee; Samuel M.; 
and Nancy married John Baker. 

(VII) Samuel Jfartin Luther, son of Sam- 
uel and Abigail (Beers) Luther, was bom 
Nov. 15, 1806, in Swansea, Mass. He was 
reared on his father's farm, having such school 
privileges as it was in those days the custom 
to give farmers' sons — attendance at the neigh- 
borhood school in the winters — and working in 
season on the farm. Quitting the farm before 
he was of age, he went to Providence, R. I., 
where he commenced to 3earn the mason's 
trade. But he was dissatisfied, and in 1836 
went to Fall River, where he served an ap- 
prenticeship of three years at the mason's 
trade under Mr. John Phinney, one of the 
contractors ^nd builders of that day in the 
town. He continued to work for this employer 
after the expiration of the term of his ap- 
prenticeship as a journeyman workman until 
the year 1831. In the last named year he be- 
gan the business of contracting and building 
on his own account, an occupation he con- 
tinued in, and most successfully, throughout 
the rest of his active business life. After be- 
ginning for himself the first work of any con- 
siderable size that he did was the building of 
the substantial edifice of the Congregational 
Church still standing on North Main street. 
Fall River. And many are the substantial 
buildings in and about Fall River of to-day 
that stand as monuments to his skill and 
workmanship. A practical mechanic himself, 
he knew how a building should go up and 
saw to it that it was constructed well. 

Beginning life a poor boy, Mr. Luther 
through his own efforts and force of character 
rose to position and wealth. Besides looking 
after the business in which he made his prin- 
cipal reputation, he became interested in and 
a director of a number of Fall River enter- 
prises, among them the Rotieson Mills. 

Mr. Luther was twice married, his first wife, 
Abby M. BoswQrth, of liy^^ren, R. I., born 
Feb. 21, 1809, 4yiDg May 11, 1854. He mar- 
ried (second) Nov. 18, 1857, Harriet, born 
July 8, 1817, in Newport, R. I., daughter of 
William and Susanna (Spencer) Bateman. 



Three of his four children were born to the 
first marriage and died when young; the 
fourth, born to the second marriage, is the 
present Charles Bateman Luther, of Fall River. 
Samuel Martin Luther died May 14, 1887. 
Mrs. Luther died Feb. 21, 1892. 

(VIII) Charles Bateman Lutheh, born 
in Fall River Nov. 15, 1860, received his early 
education there in the public schools. Gradu- 
ating from the high school in 1879, he entered 
Brown University, from which institution he 
was graduated in 1883, with the degree of 
Ph. B. He was a member of the D. K. E. 
fraternity. Following his school life Mr. 
Luther was in the employ of the Edison Elec- 
tric Illuminating Company at Fall River un- 
til September, 1887, after which he was out of 
business for a number of years. He became 
president of the Robeson Mills upon the death 
of Lloyd S. Earle in August, 1895, and con- 
tinued as such nntil 1903; he was treasurer 
pro tem from March, 1898, to January, 1899. 
In 1903 he started the Luther Manufacturing 
Company, named for his father, and organized 
for the purpose of purchasing the property of 
the Robeson Mills and enlarging and develop- 
ing same by the addition of new buildings and 
machinery for the manufacture of a higher 
grade of cloth. Mr. Luther organized this com- 
pany and became treasurer thereof, which posi- 
tion he has since held; Mr. Leontine Lincoln 
is president of the company and Mr. John H. 
Estes vice president. Under the financial guid- 
ance of Mr. Luther the plant has been most 
successful and its product has attained a high 
reputation. In addition to his connection with 
this concern he is interested in the Stafford 
and Flint Mills, being president and a direc- 
tor of the first named and a director of the 
latter. He is vice president and director of 
the new Charlton Mills. He is a man of 
broad capabilities, as he has proved in the 
management and wisely planned development 
of his properties, and ranks well among mill 
interests for the skill he has displayed in their 
promotion and evolution. 

Mr. Luther married Lottie H. Robinson, 
daughter of John H. and Charlotte (Brownell) 
Robinson, of Fall River. They have no chil- 
dren. Mr. Luther is a member of the Que- 
quechan Club of Fall River, Squantum Club of 
Providence, Fall River Cotton Manufacturers' 
Association and the Rhode Island Country 
Club. 

ELWIN T. WRIGHT, one of Rockland's 
leading business men and well-known shoe 
manufacturers, is the treasurer of the shoe 



686 



SOUTHEASTERX MASSACHUSETTS 



manufacturing corporation of E. T. Wright & 
Co. He was born in the town of Plympton, 
Plymouth Co., Mass., Nov. 6, 1852, and is a 
descendant of one of the oldest families of the 
old Plymouth Colony. 

(I) William Wright, the first of the name in 
America, is supposed to have been the William 
who was baptized at Austerfield, England, in 
1588, and came in the ship "Fortune," in 1621, 
with his wife Priscilla, who was the daughter 
of Alexander Carpenter, and son Richard. 

(II) Richard Wright, son of William, born 
about 1607, died in Plymouth, Mass., June 9, 
1691. In 1644 he married Hester Cook, and 
they had children, Adam, Esther, Mary, Jolm 
and Isaac. 

(III) Adam Wright, son of Richard, born 
about 1644, died Sept. 20, 1724. He was twice 
married, marrying (first) Sarali Soule, daugh- 
ter of Jolm Soule, of Duxbury, and grand- 
daughter of George Soule, of the "Mayflower."' 
They had two children, John and Isaac. He 
married (second) Mehitable Barrows, and they 
had children : Samuel ; Moses ; James ; 
Nathan; Esther, who married Daniel Pratt; 
Sarah, who married Seth Fuller; Mary, who 
married Jeremiah Giflford ; and Rachel, who 
married Ebenezer Barlow. Adam Wright was 
one of the first settlers of the town of Plympton, 
Massachusetts. 

(IV) Moses Wright, son of Adam and Me- 
hitable (Barrows) Wright, was born in 
Plympton, Mass. He married Thankful Bowles, 
of that town. 

(V) Ebenezer Wright, son of Moses, born in 
the town of Plympton, where he made his 
home, was married to Deliverance Churchill, 
of Plympton, where his death occurred. 

(VI) Zebedee Wright, grandfather of Elvin 
T. and son of Ebenezer, was born in the town 
of Plympton in 1785. He was a farmer by 
occupation and made his home in Plympton 
during his active life. The last years of his 
life were passed with his son Lorenzo, in East 
Abington (now the town of Rockland), with 
whom he died Dec. 7, 1865. Zebedee Wright 
was married to Rhoda Ganmions, a native of 
Middleboro, Mass., who died in Aiigust, 1850, 
in Plympton, and they were both buried in 
Plympton. The children born to this union 
were: Annie, who married Elisha Vaughn, and 
became the grandmother of ex-Gox. William 
L. Douglas, of Brockton; Isaiah, who married 
Elizabeth Brigdon, of Middleboro; Rufus, who 
married Zerviah Ripley, of Plympton ; Rich- 
ard, who married Azubah Tillson, of Middle- 
boro; Peris, who died at sea; Adeline Crocker, 
who married (first) Levi Churchill and (sec- 



ond) Rufus Curtis; Rhoda, who married Chip- 
man Ripley, and resided in Whitman, Mass. ;. 
Ebenezer, who married Fannie Vickery ; Cyrus, 
who married Sarah Cody; John Gammons, who 
marrie'd Hulda Vickery, of Plympton; Row- 
land Allen, who married Sarah P. Wright; Lo- 
renzo, mentioned below; Rebecca Ganunons, 
who married Nathaniel Billings, of Plympton; 
Mary Jane, who died aged five years; and 
Julia Keith, who died aged two years. Mr. 
and Mrs. Wright were members of the Con- 
,iegational Church. 

(VII) Lorenzo Wright, son of Zebedee 
Wright, was born July 27, 1825, on the home- 
stead in the to\^^l of Plympton, and there at- 
tended the district school. At an early age he 
started to learn the boot and shoe trade and 
while still in his teens went to Chelsea, Mass., 
where he found employment at his trade. Here 
he continued for some time, where his mar- 
riage occurred, and a year or so later returned 
to his native town of Plympton and worked at 
his trade for a short period. Later he moved 
to South Braintree, Mass., and from there to 
East Abingtim, now the town of Rockland, 
where he engaged at the shoemaking trade 
also. He was for a time engaged with his son 
Elwin T., in the manufacturing of shoes, and 
later worked for his son in the sole leather 
department of his factory. In 1900 he retired 
from active business and is now making his 
home with his daughter, Mrs. John G. Owens,, 
in Rockland, still active and in good physical 
health. He is a stanch Democrat of the old 
school, a member of the Union Glee Club of 
Rockland, and is identified with the Unitarian 
Church. 

Lorenzo Wright was married in Chelsea,, 
Mass., to Catharine O'Connell, who died in 
Rockland April 18, 1888, and is buried in 
Mount Pleasant cemetery. Their children were : 
Loring L., who resides in Rockland ; Leman, 
who died in infancy ; Elvrin T., mentioned be- 
low; Emma W., who married Jeremiah Rior- 
don, and has one child, Helen K. ; Esther Ann, 
born Sept. 9, 1859, who died Oct. 1, 1859; 
Juanita, who married George Harrington; 
Julia Anna, born March 21, 1864, who mar- 
ried John G. Owens, and resides in Rockland ; 
and William Preston, bom Sept. 23, 1866, who- 
resides in North Abington, Massachusetts. 

(VIII) Elwin T. Wright was educated in 
East Abington, now the to\vn of Rockland. In 
early boyhood he learned the trade of his father, 
and in 1876 he started in the shoe business 
for himself. His first factory was a bam 
where he and his father with the assistance- 
of his wife began the manufacturing of shoes,. 



SOUTHEASTEEN MASSACHUSETTS 



Gsr 



and this was the foundation of tlie wen-kno\vn 
firm of E. T. Wright & Co. of to-day. Mr. 
Wright and his father continued in business 
for a short time, and in 1879 Mr. Wright took 
into partnership liis father-in-law, Charles 
Grose, of Scituate, they beginning the manu- 
facture of shoes on the site of the present plant, 
the firm being known as E. T. Wright & Co. 
This partnersiiip continued until 1885, when 
it was dissolved and Mr. Wright took in as 
partner Charles Richards, the firm' then bec:om- 
ing Wright & Richards, and this partnership 
continued for eight years. In the year 1893 
this partnership was dissolved, Mr. Wright con- 
ducting it alone until 1896, when Alfred W. 
Donovan was taken in as partner and the busi- 
ness was carried on under the old firm name of 
E. T. Wright & Co. In 1906 it was incor- 
porated under the laws of the State of Massa- 
chusetts with Alfred W. Donovan as president 
and Elwin T. Wright as treasurer under the 
name of E. T. Wright & Co., Inc. Many addi- 
tions have been made to the factory from time 
to time and it is one of the best equipped fac- 
tory establishments in the Bay State, employing 
about 650 hands, and manufacturing about 
three thousand pairs of shoes per day, doing a 
business of upward of two millions of dollars 
per year. The product, knowTi as the "Just 
Wright" shoe, is shipped to all parts of the 
United States, Hawaiian Islands, Canada, and 
other parts of the world. The concern has 
offices at Boston, New York, Pittsburg, Phila- 
delphia, San Francisco, Lynchburg (Va.) and 
also in London, England. 

Mr. Wright is a man of enterprise and pro- 
gressive ideas. He is kind and generous and 
takes a deep interest in the people who -are in 
his employ. A thorough business man, thrifty 
and mdustrious, he is an excellent citizen, and, 
though not an office-seeker, is much interested 
in the welfare of his community. He is a mem- 
ber of the Commercial Club, of Rockland, hav- 
ing been at one time its president; a member 
of the New England Shoe & Leather Associa- 
tion ; the Trade Club of Boston ; member of 
Standish Lo<lge, I. 0. 0. F. ; past grand master 
of the Lodge and member of Grand Lodge of 
the State ; member of Abadour Lodge, A. F. & 
A. M., of Boston ; Pilgrim Royal Arch Chapter, 
and Old Colony Commandery; Knights Tem- 
plar, of Abmgton ; the Massachusetts Consistory 
(thirty-second degree, of Boston), and Aleppo 
Temple, Order of the Mystic Shrine, of Bos- 
ton. He is also member of the Union Glee 
Club, of Rockland. 

On Jan. 27, 1873, Mr. Wright married Mary 
F., daughter of Charles and Mary A. Grose, of 



Scituate, Mass. Mrs. Wright has proved her- 
self a willing helpmate, having assisted her 
husband in his early struggles, and much of his 
successful life is due to her assistance and en- 
couragement. Three children were bom to this 
union: Charles Irving, born May 26, 1876, who 
is a lawyer and resides in Pa^^adena, Cal., mar- 
ried Edith McFadden, and has one child, Kath- 
arine, born Jan. 28, 1907; Annie May, born 
Nov. 28, 1879, married James Albert Monroe, 
who is vice-president of E. T. Wright & Co., 
and they reside in Brookline, Mass.; Janet 
Ansel, born May 2, 1891, married Louis F 
Wright, of Brockton, Mass., and they have one 
;>on, Louis Elwin Wright, born Sept. 17, 1910. 

CUMMINGS (New Bedford family). The 
name Cummings, variously spelled, is of com- 
mon occurrence in Great Britain. It appears 
early in France, often written Coymus. A 
Robert Cumine was made Earl of Northumber- 
land in the third year of William the Con- 
queror. A William Cumin was Lord Chan- 
cellor of Scotland in the time of King David, 
1124. And many more influential houses in 
the old country were of this name. 

Perhaps some twenty years after the com- 
ing to this country of the Pilgrim Fathers 
there came hither one (I) Isaac Cumings, tlie 
tradition being that he came either from Scot- 
land or was of Scottish descent. He was of 
Ipswich and made a freeman in 1642, and 
later of Topsfield. From him has descended 
a family now numerous both in New England 
and throughout the country. Of his wife noth- 
ing is known except that she preceded him in 
death. He left four children : John, born, in 
1630; Isaac, born in 1633; Elizabeth, and 
Ann. 

For generations the old town of Dartmouth, 
this Commonwealth, has been the home of one 
branch of the New England stock of Cum- 
mingses, and New Bedford for half a cen- 
tury has been the home of .what we might 
have more properly in point of designation 
called the Dartmouth-New Bedford family. 

Among the representatives of the branch 
just named was Benjamin Cummings, the 
elder, several of whose sons, among them Wil- 
liam, John and Benjamin, were merchants of 
Dartmouth, conducting there an extensive 
store and successful business. It was with the 
family in particular of the youngest of these 
three brothers — the late Benjamin Cummings, 
Esq., of New Bedford — that this article is to 
deal, Mr. Cummings himself becoming one of 
the most active and extensive business men of 
his adopted city. He left a son to perpetuate 



688 



SOUTHEASTERX MASSACHUSETTS 



the family name, the late Charles S. Cum- 
mings of tlie same city, who worthily wore it 
and sustained the family reputation, now up- 
held by his nephew and successor, Benjamin 
Cumraings. 

It may be of interest to state that among 
some of the worthies of the New England 
Cummingses, some who have achieved more 
than an ordinary or local fame, are : Maria 
Susanna Cummins, the author, a native of 
Salem, Mass., one of whose works, "The Lamp- 
lighter," published when she was twenty-seven, 
was instantly popular, over forty thousand cop- 
ies being sold within two months, and when 
republished in England was received with even 
greater approbation, the sale reacliing upward 
of one hundred and twenty thousand copies. 
.Of this book said a writer : "The work is one 
of the noted successes in American fiction, be- 
ing exceeded only by novels like 'Ben Hur' 
and 'Uncle Tom's Cabin.' Had Miss Cum- 
mins written nothing else she had earned the 
title of fame." Revs. William and Moses Cum- 
mings, father and son, were pious clergymen 
of the Christian sect, the former being the 
founder of his church in New England and the 
latter the editor of the "Christian Herald and 
Messenger" and the "Palladium." It was the 
latter's son, the Hon. Amos Jay Cummings, a 
gallant soldier of the Civil war, who later won 
national reputation as a newspaper correspon- 
dent, was president of the New York Press 
Club, represented the Wall street Congressional 
district in the Fiftieth United States Congress 
and later succeeded the late Hon. S. S. Cox 
in the Ninth New York district. And an- 
other of the literary New England Cum- 
mingses following the learned professions was 
Eev. Joseph Cummings, D.D., LL.D., educator 
and clergyman of the M. E. Church, and for 
years president of the Wesleyan University and 
subsequently of the Northwestern University 
at Kvanston, Illinois. 

(II) Deacon Isaac Cummings, son of Isaac 
of Ipswich and Topsfield, born in 1633, mar- 
ried Nov. 27, 1659. Mary, daughter of Robert 
and Grace Andrews. He resided in Topsfield, 
and was elected deacon of the church June 13, 
1686. He was an influential man of the town, 
and served as selectman, treasurer, constable 
and tithingman. He was made a freeman in 
1673, and in 1675 was impressed for the Nar- 
ragansett expedition. He died in 1731. His 
children were: Isaac, born Sept. 15, 1664; 
John, June 7, 1666; Thomas, June 27, 1670; 
Mary, Feb. 16, 167—; Rebecca. April 1, 1674; 
Abigail ; and three sons that died in infancy. 

(III) John Cummings, son of Deacon Isaac, 



born in Topsfield June 7, 1666, was quite a 
large landholder in his native town. He mar- 
ried Jan. 23, 1688, Susannah, daughter of 
Joseph and Phebe' (Perkins) Towne. She was 
born Dec. 24, 1670, and died Sept. 13, 1766. 
The children born of this union were : Joseph, 
baptized Jan. 26, 1689-90 ; John, baptized 
July 17, 1692; Isaac, born Dec. 25, 1695; 
David, born April 15, 1698; Mai-y, born May 
15, 1700; Susannah, born Jan. 3, 1701-02; 
Stebbins, born Aug. 3, 1706; Samuel, born 
Feb. 14, 1708-09; and Rebecca, baptized Nov. 
1, 1713. 

(IV) John Cummings, son of John, bap- 
tized in Topsfield July 17, 1692, married (in- 
tentions published) Feb. 18, 1715, Mary, 
daughter of Isaac and Martha (Towne) Larra- 
bee, of Lynn, Mass. He was a shoemaker by 
trade. In 1727 he removed to Southboro, 
Mass., where he bought a farm from John 
Howe. In his will he mentions his son John 
"if he shall ever return from His Majesty's 
service." He died Feb. 29, 1756. His chil- 
dren were: John, bom April 19, 1717; Han- 
nah, Nov. 6, 1718; Mercy, Oct. 26, 1720; Ben- 
jamin, Sept. 12, 1723 (died Nov. 27, 1731); 
Reuben, Jan. 29, 1726; Sarah. May 30, 1729; 
Benjamin, Oct. 7, 1731 ; and Joseph, Feb. 5, 
173.3. 

(V) Joseph Cummings, son of John, born 
Feb. 5, 1733, in Middletown, married Sept. 11, 
1753, Elizabeth, daughter of Andrew Allard, 
of Framinghara, and lived in Southboro, Mass. 
In 1767 he made an exchange with David 
Goddard, giving his farm in Southboro for a 
farm in Athol. He served as corporal in Captain 
Dexter's company at Lexington ; he was also 
at Bunker Hill, and in 1777 marched against 
the forces of Burgoyne. He was elected to 
office in his town, which he served many years. 
He died Feb. 25, 1818, in Phillipston, Mass. 
His children were : Joseph, born in Southboro, 
Oct. 13, 1754, a Revolutionary soldier; Eliza- 
beth, born in Southboro Feb. 8, 1757; John, 
born in Southboro Aug. 13, 1759, a Revolu- 
tionary soldier; Benjamin, bom in Southboro 
Feb. 8, 1764; Stephen, born in Southboro May 
8, 1766; Daniel, born in Athol May' 20, 1768, 
who died young; Nathan, horn in Athol April 
8, 1771; Samuel, born in Athol Feb. 2, 1773; 
Susy, born in Athol Jan. 7, 1778; and Daniel, 
born in Athol Jan. 27, 1781. 

(VI) Benjamin Cummings, son of Joseph, 
born in Southboro Feb. 8, 1764, married Jan. 
10, 1780, Mehitable Rider. He was a sea cap- 
tain and was known as Capt. Benjamin. His 
children were: Rebecka, born Oct. 22, 1781, 
who married Joseph Smith and moved to 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



689 



White Creek, N. Y.; William, born Dec. 21, 
1783, who died unmarried; Rutli, born Nov. 
4, 1785; Elizabeth, born Mav 20, 1788, who 
died Feb. 15, 1812; Nancy^ born May 23, 
1790, who married Charles Smith; Mehitable, 
born Nov. 30, 1792, who died unmarried; John, 
born Feb. 13, 1795, who married Elizabeth 
Olds; Benjamin, born April 7, 1797; and 
Sally, born June 5, 1799. 

(VII) Benjamin Cdaimings, son of Ben- 
jamin, born April 7, 1797, in the town of 
Dartmouth, Mass., was in his early years un- 
til soon after his marriage associated with his 
•older brothers, William and John Cummings, 
in the conduct of an extensive store in Dart- 
mouth, doing a successful business. Soon after 
his marriage he left the store and devoted his 
attention to his farm and the many business 
interests connected with it. There was upon 
it a valuable water power which was used for 
a sawmill, grist mill and fulling mill, all of 
■which called for his attention, and all of which 
lie successfully managed. At that time the 
whaling business flourished greatly, and it 
naturally attracted him, and he soon began to 
invest in whaling vessels. He found interest 
and profit in this and increased his investments 
until he was part owner in a large number of 
whalers, one of which was named for him, and 
bore as a figureliead a full-length likeness of 
him carved in wood, which was thought singu- 
larly true to life. He also invested largely in 
Teal estate in New Bedford, and the accuracy 
of his judgment has been indicated' in the 
■development of the city. 

In 1857 he erected the Cummings building 
■on the corner of Williams and Purchase streets, 
in which enterprise his brother William joined. 
At that time the building was the largest and 
finest in the city, and the wisdom of it from 
a financial standpoint was doubted by many, 
but the result proved his judgment correct, 
and his building did much to fix the business 
■center of the city. He had moved from Dart- 
mouth to New i3edford in 1855, to the house 
at No. 411 County street where he died seven 
years later, and in which his widow resided un- 
til her death, in 1902. 

The life of Benjamin Cummings was one 
■of intense attention to business up to the time 
of his death. He was much interested in 
Antioeh College at Yellow Springs, Ohio, and 
found time in his busy life to serve it as a 
trustee. He liked trees and flowers and all 
outdoor things and took great pleasure and 
pride in his garden. 

On Jan. 27, 1820, when twenty-two years 
«lil. Mr. Cummings married Cynthia Smith, 

44 



born Jan. 9, 1802, daughter of Henry and 
Mary (Almy) Smith, who owned a large tract 
of land in Dartmouth, on the Paskamansett 
river, which is still kept in the family. Ten 
children blessed this marriage, namely: Caro- 
line Almy, born Sept. 23, 1821, married Abner 
R. Tucker, and died March 5, 1904; Mary 
Ann, born Jan. 6, 1823, married Charles Almy, 
whom she survived, and lived in Buffalo, where 
she died Dec. 18, 1910 (she was laid to rest 
in Oak Grove cemetery, at New Bedford) ; 
William Henry, born Dec. 21, 1824, died Dec. 

27, 1874; Emily Mandeville, born June 25, 
1827, married Benjamin Rathbone Almy; 
Charles Smith was born Feb. 4, 1830; Sarah, 
bom Oct. 8, 1832, died Sept. 29, 1847; John 
Tillinghast, born April 23, 1835, died April 
7, 1837; Louise Smith was born in Dartmouth 
Sept. 18, 1838; Julia Holmes, born May 20, 
1842, died May 26, 1843; and Julia Holmes 
(2), born Feb. 20, 1844, died Aug. 20, 1856. 
The old age to which Mr. Cummings had 
looked forward as a time when he could en- 
joy the property he had accumulated, to which 
he had looked as a means rather than an end, 
was denied him, and lie died, leaving the repu- 
tation of an honorable and upright man in 
whom his family could feel just pride, Sept. 

28, 1863, in New Bedford. Mrs. Cummings 
died March 4, 1902, just about two months 
after her one hundredth birthday. 

(VIII) William Henry Cummings, son of 
Benjamin, born Dec. 21, 1824, in Dartmouth, 
married (first) June 5, 1849, Hannah W. 
Smith, who bore him three children, namely: 
Benjamin, born Dec. 24, 1852 ; William, Aug. 
11, 1856; and Florence Evelyn, Aug. 3, 1859. 
Mr. Cummings married (second) March 15, 
1864, Lucy B. Gifford, and to this marriage 
were born two children : Charles Smith, Dec. 
9, 1867; and Mabel L., Jan. 6, 1870. Mr. 
Cummings spent his younger days in Dart- 
mouth, where he was educated. In his earlier 
years he followed whaling for a short time, go- 
ing on two or three voyages. In 1849 he went 
to California with the gold seekers, and re- 
mained about a year. Upon his return he 
lived in Westport for about four years, and 
in 1855 located at Russell's Mills in Dart- 
mouth. Here he engaged in farming, an oc- 
cupation he followed until his death, which oc- 
curred Dec. 27, 1874. 



(IX) BENjAMfN Cummings, son of William 
H., was born Dec. 24, 1852, in that part of 
Westport which is known as "Head of West- 
port." He was given his primary or elemen- 
tary education at Russell's Mills, whither his 



690 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



parents had removed in 1855. He attended 
school there until he was about twelve years 
of age, when he was sent to the Friends' board- 
ing school in Providence, where he studied two 
years. He left this school in June, 1867, and 
on Aug. 19th of the same year became a clerk 
in the store of his uncles. Tucker & Cum- 
mings, and continued in that capacity until the 
retirement of Abner R. Tucker, the senior 
member, in 1881, when he became the junior 
member of the firm. This business was estab- 
lished in 1853, as Tucker & Cummings (Abner 
R. Tucker and Charles S. Cummings), and 
was confined to one store from 1853 to 1873, 
when another store was added, and two stores 
were operated until 1881, when the third store 
was opened, and the firm name became C. S. 
& B. Cummings. As such it continued until 
the death of the senior member in 1906, when 
the firm name was changed to Cummings & 
Cummings, Frank A. Cummings, son of 
Charles S., becoming the junior member of the 
firm, and at the same time a fourth store was 
added. The members of this firm of importers 
and grocers for fifty-five years have numbered 
among their patrons the best and most exclu- 
sive New Bedford families. From the time of 
his entrance into this firm as a boy in 1867, 
for a period of twenty-nine years, Benjamin 
Cummings opened the store daily at 5 :30 a. m. 
in the summer and 6 :00 a. m. in the winter, 
and without disparagement to any one else it 
may be said that he largely assumed the man- 
agement of the business years before he be- 
came a member of the firm, in 1881. From 
the time he became identified with the firm 
in 1867 the business has increased tenfold. 
Inheriting from his parents a rugged constitu- 
tion, and possessing great energy and keen 
aptitude for business, Mr. Cummings has made 
himself one of the most representative and 
successful business men and merchants. He is 
a member of the Board of Trade. In his politi- 
cal views he is a Republican, and a firm be- 
liever in the merits of a protective tariff for 
American industries. He is a member of the 
Republican Home Market Club, but otherwise 
is not active in party work. He is a trustee 
of the Institution for Savings. Socially he is 
an original member of the Dartmouth Club, 
and a member of the Wamsutta, Country and 
Yacht Clubs. 

On Feb. 7, 1893, Mr. Cummings was mar- 
ried to Mary Elizabeth Smiih, of New Bed- 
ford. They have no children. 



(VIII) Ch.\rles Smith Cummixcss, son of 
Benjamin and Cynthia (Smith) Cummings, 



born Feb. 4, 1830, died in New Bedford Aug. 
26, 1906. He received his education in the 
schools of his native town, the Friends' Acad- 
emy at New Bedford and Phillips Academy at 
Andover. In 1849 he went to California, and 
for the next four years was engaged in min- 
ing. He returned and established a store at 
South Dartmouth. For fifty-three years Mr. 
Cummings had devoted his time and attention 
to the grocery business, which began in a 
small store at Padanaram in 1853, and at the 
time of his death comprised several stores in 
the Cummings building on Williams street. 
The business was established under the firm 
name of Tucker & Cummings, the partners be- 
ing Abner R. Tucker and Charles S. Cum- 
mings. The store in South Dartmouth was 
on the road leading to the bridge, and in it 
were kept for sale all sorts of goods, from 
hardware to groceries, from crockery to ship 
supplies. Besides their general store business 
Tucker & Cummings fitted nine whaling ves- 
sels and built four more, the "H. H. Crapo," 
the "A. R. Tucker," the "Eliot C. Cowdin" 
and the "Benjamin Cummings." The panic 
of 1857 resulted in the dropping of the whal- 
ing end of the business, and in 1860 the firm 
moved to New Bedford. For a year Tucker 
& Cummings occupied a store at the corner of 
Front and Union streets, where they carried 
on a wholesale and retail business. In 1861 
the firm opened the Williams street stores, 
which were extended from time to time to 
meet the requirements of the increase in busi- 
ness. In 1881 Mr." Tucker withdrew and Ben- 
jamin Cummings, a nephew, became the jun- 
ior member of the firm. During the war Mr. 
Cummings was a member of the 3d Massachu- 
setts Cavalry, in wliich he attained the rank 
of second lieutenant. He was a member of 
Acushnet Lodge of Odd Fellows, and of the 
New Bedford Protecting Society. In politics 
he was a Repul)lican. 

On Nov. 27, 1855, Mr. Cummings was mar- 
ried to A. Emma Brownell, daughter of Jo- 
seph BrowncU. Their children were: (1) Ida 
F., born Oct. 29, 1858, married Charles D. 
Prescott, M. D. (2) Emily Ahny, born Jan. 
16, 1861, married June I'l, 1891, Eliot D. 
Stetson, and has children, Lydia Almy (born 
April 5, 1892), Emily Cummings (March 2, 
1893), Ellen AVinslow "(May 18, 1895), Frances 
Eliot (born June 23, 1897), Thomas Meriam 
(horn Oct. 27. 1899), and Eliot Dawes, Jr., 
(Oct. 5, 1903). (3) Frank Augustus, bom 
Oct. 15, 1869, married Sept. 15, 1903, Roxy 
H. Greene, and his children are Rosalind, born 
July 15, 1904, and Prescott Brownell, born 
July 6, 1908. 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



691 



ALMY. (I) William Alniy, born in Eng- 
land in 1601, came to America with Governor 
Winthrop. He was made a freeman in 1635, 
was commissioner in 1656-57-63. His wife 
Audry was born in 1603, and both died in 
1676. 

(II) Christopher Almy, son of William and 
Audry, born in 1633, married July 9, 1661, 
Elizabeth Cornell, daughter of Thomas, born 
in Hertford, England. He was of Portsmouth, 
R. I., and died there Jan. 30, 1713, and she 
died after 1708. 

(III) William Almy, son of Christopher and 
Elizabeth, born Oct. 27. 1665, was of Tiverton, 
R. I., where he married Deborah Cook, of 
Portsmouth, R. I., born Feb. 15, 1669. He 
died July 6, 1747. 

(IV) Job Almy, son of William and 
Deborah, born April 28, 1696. was of East 
Greenwich, R. I. In Tiverton he married 
July 18, 1717, Lydia Tillinghast, of East 
Greenwich, born July 8, 1700. He died at 
Tiverton July 18, 1777. 

(V) Job Almv, son of Job and Lydia, born 
in Dartmouth Oct. 16, 1730, died Jan. 4, 
1816. On April 27, 1750, he married in Dart- 
mouth Anne Slocum, born in Dartmouth 
March 6, 1732, died Sept. 17, 1793. 

(VI) Tillinghast Almy, son of Job arid 
Anne, born March 16, 1754, died Sept. 22, 
1830. He was of Dartmouth. He married 
about 1777 Hannah Chase, of Portsmouth, 
R. I., born March ]5, 1750, died Jan. 6, 1840. 

(VII) Mary Almy, daughter of Tillinghast 
and Hannah, born in Dartmouth May 23, 1780, 
died March 26, 1829, married Oct. 2, 1800, 
Henry Smith, born July 16, 1777, died July 
16, 1813. 

(VIII) Cynthia Smith, daughter of Mary 
(Almy) and Henry Smith, born Jan. 9, 1802, 
in Dartmouth, married Jan. 27, 1820, Ben- 
jamin Cummings, born April 7, 1797, died 
Sept. 28, 1863. 

(IX) Emily Mandeville (Cummings) Almy, 
daughter of Benjamin and Cynthia (Smith) 
Cummings, born June 25, 1827, in Dartmouth, 
married there Nov. 15, 1849, Benjamin Rath- 
bone Almy, born in Tiverton, R. I., Feb. 22, 
1810, died in New Bedford Jan. 29, 1861. 
He was a son of William Almy, of Portsmouth, 
R. I., and Rhoda his wife, and grandson of 
Tillinghast and Hannah (Chnse) Almy, above 
mentioned. To Benjamin R. and Emily M. 
(Cummings) Almy were born children as fol- 
lows: Walter, born in Providence Dec. 29, 
1850, died Aug. 13, 1906; Clarence, born in 
Barrington, R. I., Aug. 15, 1852, married Anna 
Kirtley Bowen, and died July 6, 1883; Emma 



Cummings, born in New Bedford July 4, 1854, 
died there July 12, 1855; Harry Atherton, 
born in New Bedford Aug. 8, 1857, died Sept. 
2, 1860; and Ernest, bom in New Bedford 
June 20, 1859, died July 4, 1859. 

BROWNELL. While the Brownell family 
strictly speaking is a Rhode Island one, yet 
through that part of Massachusetts lying adja- 
cent thereto branches of the family early found 
homes and the name has since been a com- 
mon one there and the family numerous. 

(I) Thomas Brownell, the progenitor of the 
Rhode Island family, was born in 1619. He 
appeared at Portsmouth in 1647, when at the 
formation of the government under the char- 
ter of 1643, with John Cook, he was chosen 
water "bailie" for the Colony, having charge 
of the fisheries, then, as now, an important 
industry and a source of wealth. Mr. Brown- 
ell was a freeman in 1655. He was also com- 
missioner in that same year, and again in 
1661, 1662 and 1663, and deputy in 1664. 
The Christian name of his wife was Ann. Mr. 
Brownell died in 1665, and Mrs. Brownell in 
that same year. Their children, were: Mary, 
Sarah, Martha, George, William, Thomas, 
Robert and Anna. Of these, 

(II) George Brownell, born in 1646, 
married in 1673 Susanna, born in 1652, daugh- 
ter of Richard and Susanna (Wright) Pearce. 
He lived in Portsmouth, R. I., and was a 
prominent public man. He represented his 
town as deputy to the General Court, in 1699 
and 1702; and was assistant in 1706-07-08-09- 
10-11. He died in 1718, and his wife in 1743. 
Their children were: Susanna, Sarah, Mary, 
Martha, Thomas, Joseph, Wait and Stephen. 

(III) Joseph Brownell, son of George, of 
Portsmouth, R. I., was born Dec. 5, 1680. 
He, married Jan. 5, 1716-17, Ruth Cor- 
nell, born Dec. 12, 1697, daughter of 
George Cornell, and their children were: 
George, born June 23, 1718 ; Joseph, April 

26, 1720; Thomas. Oct. 23, 1722-; Wait, 
Feb. 6, 1724-25; Philadelphia, Dec. 15, 1726; 
Martha, March 17, 1728-29; and George, Sept. 

27, 1736. 

(IV) Joseph Brownell (2), son of Joseph 
and Ruth, born April 26, 1720, married Dec. 
22, 1742, Rebecca Tripp, born Aug. 28, 1722, 
daughter of Abicl and Eleanor (Wait) Tripp. 
Their "children were: Stephen, born Feb. 12, 
1744; Jonathan, May 30, 1746; Nathan, Feb. 
7, 1747-48; Oliver, Feb. 17, 1749; Philadel- 
phia, May 17, 1752; Susanna, March 17, 1754; 
Mary, Dec. 6, 1757; Amey, Sept. 8, 1760; 
Thomas, Dec. 16, 1762; Rebecca, Feb. 19, 1765. 



692 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



(V) Thomas Brownell, son of Joseph and 
Eebecca (Tripp), born Dec. 16, 1762, mar- 
ried May 6, 1790, Mercy Shaw. Their chil- 
dren were: Amey, born Jan. 31, 1791; Oliver, 
April 15, 1793; Joseph, Jan. 19, 1795; An- 
thony, Sept. 27, 1797; Rebecca, Jan. 14, 1800; 
Thomas, Feb. 28, 1802; and William, June 
17, 1804. 

(VI) Joseph Beowxell (3), son of 
Thomas and Rebecca (Tripp) Brownell, born 
Jan. 19, 1795, in Portsmoutli, R. I., married 
Lyda Almy, born March 7, 1804, died Feb. 12, 
1888, daughter of Sanford and Lydia (Grey) 
Almy, of Little Compton, R. I. He removed 
to New Bedford, Mass., where he first engaged 
in blacksmithing and then in carriage manu- 
facturing, being one of the first to carry on 
the manufacture of "carriages there, a business 
begun there early in the nineteenth century. 
He commenced in a limited way and in a small 
shop on the corner of Fourth and Spring 
streets perhaps as early as 1820. Later on his 
son J. Augustus and Joshua B. Asldey were 
admitted to the partnership. In 1854 a re- 
pository was built which was in after years 
occupied by H. G. 0. Cole; and still later it 
was occupied and was perhaps the property of 
the firm of Brownell, Ashley & Co. 

Mr. Brownell was a man of quiet tastes, un- 
assuming. He was fully devoted to his busi- 
ness and made a success in it. He liad clear 
convictions and was decided in them. He 
possessed social qualities which made him 
many friends. It goes without saying that he 
was held in high esteem and respect by those 
whose privilege it was to know him. 

With little or no taste for political prefer- 
ment, and less ambition in this direction, pub- 
lic office sought Mr. Brownell rather than he it. 
Back near the middle of the century but re-, 
cently closed he was a member of the Con- 
etitutional convention. He, too, served for 
several years as an alderman of New Bedford. 
He was for many yeaf s a member of the Fourth 
Street Methodist Episcopal Church and filled 
from time to time most of the church offices. 
Of this church he was a generous supporter. 
Mr. Brownell died at his home in New Bed- 
ford, Mass., Aug. 19, 1879, aged eighty-four 
years, seven months. His children were : 
Thomas Anthony, born Jan. 10, 1823, died 
April 29, 1840; Caroline, born July 23, 1824, 
died Oct, 19, 1855 ; Alniira, born Aug. 25, 
1827, died Sept. 19, 1830; Joseph A., born 
July 12, 1829, died Nov. 21, 1893; Emma 
Waldron, born April 15, 1831, died Feb. 2, 
1833; Almira Emma, born Aug. 22, 1834, is 
the widow of Charles Smith Cummings; Jo- 



sephine, born Oct. 30, 1836, died Nov. 10, 
1898; Lydia Almy, born Nov. 17, 1839, died 
May 20, 1840; Thomas F., born Jan. 3, 1842, 
died Jan. 7, 1901; Ella Marie, born Aug. 10, 
1846, died Sept. 22, 1846. 

TUCKER. The Tucker families of Dart- 
mouth and New Bedford, Mass., are descended 
from a common ancestor, (I) Henry Tucker, 
who is called by Savage as of Sandwich. How 
long he resided there is uncertain. He pur- 
chased of his friend William Allen, of Sandwich, 
April 15, 1669, his one-third share of Dart- 
mouth lands for fifteen pounds, and was then 
called of Milton. He married Jan. 9, 1651-52, 
Martha, and their children were : Abraham, 
born Oct. 13, 1653, who married (first) Mary 
Slocum and (second) Hannah Mott; John, 
born Aug. 28, 1656; Martha, born July 14, 
1659; Hannah, born July 25, 1662; James, 
born March 16, 1665, who died March 28, 1689 ; 
Mary, born Aug. 16, 1668, who married May 
9, 1690, Samuel Perry, of Kingstown, R. I., 
son of Edward Perry, of Sandwich, Mass.; and 
Sarah, born Sept. 20, 1674. 

(II) John Tucker, son of Henry, born Aug. 
18 (or 28), 1656 (one record says June 28, 
1656), married April 25, 1688, Ruth Woolley, 
of Shrewsbury, N. J., born Oct. 12, 1663, died 
Dec. 23, 1759, daughter of Emanuel and Eliz- 
abeth Woolley. He died Sept. 2, 1751, and 
his will was drawn Aug. 26, 1751, and pro- 
bated or approved Sept. 10, 1751. On the 
records of the Dartmouth Monthly Meeting 
he is styled that "ancient and 'noted Friend." 
His children were : Elizabeth, born Dec. 9, 
1689, who died Jan. 6, 1690; James, born Aug. 
27, 1691; John, born Oct. 25, 1693, who died 
June 14, 1730; and Joseph, born Nov. 7, 1696. 
John Tucker lived for a time at Shrewsbury, 
in east New Jersey, and moved to Massachu- 
setts about 1695. He was a minister and very 
influential member of the Society of Friends 
for fifty years, serving as clerk and keeper of 
the records of the meeting. He was a large 
landed proprietor. 

(III) Joseph Tucker, son of John, born 
Nov. 7, 1696, was an esteemed member of the 
Society of Friends. He died at Dartmouth 
May 21, 1790. On Dec. 22, 1720, he mar- 
ried Mary Howland, daughter of Nicholas 
Howland, and their children were : Ruth, born 
Dec. 2, 1721, died April 24, 1816, married 
June 4, 1747, James Tucker, son of Abram 
and Elizabeth (Russell) Tucker; Hannah, born 
Sept. 2, 1723, died unmarried July 25, 1799; 
Elizabeth, born Oct. 25, 1725, died May 12, 
1780; Mary, born June 27, 1727, died unmar- 




PD 



/i?-d^-'/f /v - yy /'^rff ^/fr ft 



SOUTHEASTEKN MASSACHUSETTS 693 

ried Aug. 28, 1799; Abigail was born Feb. 25, port. In 1830 he came to New Bedford and 
1729; John, born Feb. 24, 1732, is mentioned entered the counting room of Isaac Howland, 
below; Martha, born Nov. 14, 1734, died Oct. Jr. & Co., and six years later he began hiji 
7, 1820, married Oct. 16, 1755, Timothy Gif- business life. In 1844 he entered into partner- 
ford; Edith, born June 1, 1737, died Oct. 21, ship with Edward D. Mandell, and then was 
1827, married July 2. 1766, Edward Wing, of established what eventually became the sue- 
Sandwich; Joseph, born July 29, 1740, died in cessful and distinguished business house of 
1827, married Oct. 2, 1762, Mary Wing, sister Charles E. Tucker & Company. Mr. Tucker 
of Edward; and Barzillai, born June 15, 1743, very early took a high position among the 
died in 1832. merchants of New Bedford. He was enter- 

(IV) John Tucker, son of Joseph and Mary prising and successful, and for the most part 
(Howland), born Feb. 24, 1732, was promi- the firm confined its operations to whale fish- 
nent in the Society of Friends. He died in ing or the whaling business. As the business 
Dartmouth March 12, 1820. He was twice and managing capacity of the head of the 
married, on June 3, 1756, wedding (first) firm developed, and his fidelity to duty as the 
Lydia Wilbur, of Ehode Island, born Jan. 2, ruling principle of his conduct was universally 
1731, died in 1768. They had three children, recognized, he had committed to him many im- 
Esther, born March 1, 1758, Ruth, Nov. 20, portant trusts, to all of which he was faithful, 
1760, and Lydia, Sept. 4, 1763. On Oct. 25, and in the discharge of which he won to an ex- 
1769, he married (second) Rhoda Wing, tent reached by few the approbation and regard 
daughter of Benjamin and Rhoda (Rogers) of his associates and of the community. His 
Wing. She was born Oct. 22, 1741, and died connection with the Merchants' National 
April 21, 1828. Their children were: John, Bank extended o%er a period of more than a 
born April 13, 1771, died July 27, 1791; quarter of a century, for twenty-three years of 
Lydia, born Sept. 20, 1774, married April 30, which time — from 1853 until his death — he 
1795, Zephaniah Buffington, and died Dec. held the presidency of the institution, succeed- 
29, 1796; James, born April 27, 1777, died ing the late John Avery Parker. He was long 
Dec. 17, 1843, married (first) June 10, 1796, a trustee of the New Bedford Institution for 
Phebe Tucker, daughter of Benjamin Tucker, Savings, and at the time of his death held a 
and (second) in 1813 Sarah Fish; Benjamin, place on its board of investment. 

born Sept. 15, 1781, died Dec. 19, 1861, mar- As a member of the Church of Christ and 

ried Oct. 11, 1802, Lucretia Russell. leading member and official of the Society of 

(V) Benjamin Tucker, son of John and Friends, Mr. Tucker was conspicuous for his 
Rhoda, born Sept. 15, 1781, was one of the activity and usefulness. There was placed in 
leading residents and farmers of the town of him the same reliance in the soundness of his 
Dartmouth, being the owner of considerable judgment and his fidelity to right, and his in- 
real estate. Like his forefathers he was a fluence was widely felt. There is no position 
member of the Society of Friends. He died in the society which he did not at some time 
in Dartmouth Dec. 19, 1861. On Oct. 11. occupy, and there was in the discharge of the 
1802, he married Lucretia Russell, daughter of various duties devolving upon him such un- 
Elijah and Hannah (Brayton) Russell, of selfish devotion to principle and recognition of 
Dartmouth, where she was born Nov. 30, 1779, the paramount value of the spiritual life as in- 
and died June 22, 1852. Three children were spired confidence in his counsels and gave him 
born of this union : John, born June 22, 1805, a large share in the administration of the af- 
married in 1831 Mary B. Swain, of Nantucket; fairs of the New England Yearly Meeting, as 
Rhoda, born Nov. 27, 1806, married May 6, well as many of the subordinate organizations. 
1830, William Giflford, and died Dec. 22, 1891 ; At the time of his death he was clerk of the 
Charles Russell, born March 5, 1809, married yearly meeting, the highest official position in 
Dorcas Fry. the society. In his own monthly meeting he 

(VI) Charles Russell Tucker, son of Ben- was an elder and overseer. His judgment and 
jamin and Lucretia (Russell), was a native of fidelity in aid of the management of one of 
Dartmouth, born March 5, 1809, on the home- its trust funds, by which an unproductive be- 
stead farm which was for over two hundred quest was changed into a bountiful source of 
and ten years in the possession of the family, benefit to the needy, will long be remembered 
After leaving the Friends' School at Provi- in connection with the "John West Fund," for 
dence about the year 1825, the young man be- the assistance of the worthy poor. Although 
came a teacher, and for four years followed warmly attached to the religious principles and 
that occupation in his native town and in West- denominational peculiarities of the Society of 



69-1: 



southeastp:i?x Massachusetts 



Friends, he had a most comprehensive cliarity 
and felt and often expressed a unity in all the 
measures which appeared to him calculated to 
exalt the moral tone of society and diffuse the 
blessings of the Redeemer's kingdom. 

For many years Mr. Tucker was a member 
of the school board, having the oversight and 
direction of the Friends' Yearly Meeting Board- 
ing School in Providence. The interests of the 
scliool received a large share of his attention. 

At the time of his death, which occurred Dec. 
21, 1876, the New Bedford Mercury said: "It 
is simple justice to the deceased to say that he 
brought to the discharge of every duty he as- 
sumed conscientious fidelity and displayed in 
each sound judgment and practical ability. He 
gave his time without stint, and at no small 
personal sacrifice to every public trust confided 
in him — an example worthy of all imitation, 
and the more excellent because so rare." 

On Sept. 19, 1833, Mr. Tucker was married 
to Dorcas Fry, of Weare, N. H., a native of 
Bolton, Worcester Co., Mass., who died a year 
previous to his decease. Their children were : 
Benjamin R., born March 14, 1835, died March 
11, 1836; Benjamin, born Nov. 20, 1836, now 
living in Bethlehem, N. H., married Sept. 4, 
1876, Maria McKeage, and has two children, 
Edith (born Nov. 25, 1877) and George E. 
(born Dec. 7, 1885) ; John Fry, born Aug. 13, 
1839, died June 14, 1886, married (first) Jan. 

17, 1860, Elizabeth H. Huzzey (died in Octo- 
ber, 1868) and (second) in February, 1870, 
Lucy C. Haseltine, and had a daughter Bertha 
F., born Dec. 31, 1874; Henry R., born April 

18, 1842, died in New Bedford Aug. 9, 1872; 
Charles Russell, Jr., born Aug. 19, 1844, died 
in New Bedford Feb. 11, 1891, married Mary 
R. E. Bourne in June, 1869, and had three 
children, Annie (born in April, 1871, died in 
July, 1872), Arthur Standish (born in 
July, 1873) and Ralph (born in March, 
1878) ; Robert E., born Aug. 30, 1846, died in 
California Feb. 22, 1873; Edward T., born 
Sept. 29, 1849, is mentioned below ; and George 
F., born Jan. 19. 1852, graduated from Brown 
University in 1873 and from Boston Univer- 
sity Law School, received the honorary degree 
of Ph. D. from Brown, and is now practicing 
law in Boston though living in Middleboro 
(on May 18, 1907, he married Effie Dana Wil- 
liams, and they have two children, Dorcas, born 
June 11, 1908, and Robert B., born Aug. 29, 
1909). 

(VII) Dr. Edward T. Tuckkr, son of 
Charles Russell, born Sept. 29, 1849, received 
his primary education in the New Bedford 
schools, and was prepared for college at the 



Friends' Academy at the same place. He 
graduated from Brown University in 1871, 
and from Harvard Medical School in 1874. 
Since that time he has been engaged in the 
practice of his profession in New Bedford. 

Dr. Tucker is a member of the Massachu- 
setts Medical Society and of the New Bedford 
Society for Medical Improvement. He was 
physician to the overseers of the poor for out- 
side work for the south half of the city from 
1903 to 1905, and has been physician in charge 
of the city almshouse since 1904. For six 
years, 1893 to 1898 inclusive, he was a mem- 
ber of the school committee, and has been ac- 
tive in public affairs. He is broad-minded and 
liberal, and keenly interested in every move- 
ment tending to the uplifting of the moral 
tone of the community. Dr. Tucker belongs to 
the New England Historic and Genealogical 
Society ; to the Old Colony Historical Society 
of Taunton; and to the Old Dartmouth His- 
torical Society of New Bedford. He is secre- 
tary of the Safe Deposit and Trust Company 
for its annual meetings. Like all his family 
he is a member of the Society of Friends, being 
affiliated with the New Bedford Meeting. He 
has been clerk of the New Bedford Monthly 
Meeting of Friends since 1883, and of the 
Sandwich Quarterly Meeting since 1887. 

On June 7, 1877, Dr. Tucker married Anna 
E. Pope, and four children have blessed this 
union, namely : Robert Earle, born June 29, 
1878 ; Emily, born Oct. 19, 1880, who died 
March 19, 1882; George G., born Sept.. 28, 
1882, who died Feb. 8, 1903 ; and Helen, born 
Aug. 14, 1884, who married Herbert H. Chand- 
ler, and has a son, Richard T., born June 14, 
1907. 

ARTHUR RICHMOND CRANDELL,M.D., 

engaged in the practice of medicine and 
surgery in Taunton and one of the popular 
club men of that town, was born there Sept. 
15, 1870, and is a descendant of a family that 
has been of record and prominence in New 
England since the middle of the seventeenth 
century. 

(I) John Crandall appears at Newport, R. L, 
as early as the year 1651, where he was asso- 
ciated with the Baptists. He subsequently be- 
came the first elder of that denomination at 
Westerly. He was a freeman in 1655, was 
commissioner several years, 1658-1662, inclu- 
sive. He had half a square assigned him' at 
Westerly in 1661, was deputy in 1667 and again 
in 1670-71. He died at Newport in 1676, hav- 
ing moved there on account of the Indian war. 
Mr. Crandall was twice married ; the Chris- 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



695 



tian name of his first wife is not known. She 
was buried May 2, 1670. His second wife's 
name was Hannali. His children were: John, 
James, Jane, Sarah, Peter, Joseph, Samuel, all 
bom to the first wife ; and Jeremiah and Eber 
born to the second wife. 

(II) Samuel Crandall, son of John, married 
in 1685 Sarah Celley. He died May 19, 1736, 
iind slie died Aug. 3, 1758. Their children 
were: Samuel, born Oct. 30, 1686; Mary, born 
May 17, 1689, died July 11, 1732; James, bom 
Aug. 23, 1692, died Jan. 30, 1782; John, born 
Jan. 11, 1695; Peter, born Oct. 25, 1697: Jo- 
seph, bom Nov. 28, 1701, died June 2, 1731; 
and Thomas, born July 27, 1707. 

(III) Samuel Crandall, son of Samuel and 
Sarali (Celley), born Oct. 30, 1686, married. 
May 3, 1706, Mary Wilbor, born in 1685. Their 
children were: Thomas, born 1707; Eber, 1708; 
Samuel, 1710; William, 1711; John, 1713; 
Peter, 1715; Wilbor, 1717; Sarali, 1718; Jo- 
seph, 1721 (died Jan. 19, 1791); Mary, 1723 
(died April 4, 1783); Lois, 1725; Benjamin, 
1727: Lemuel, 1729; Philip, 1731; and Na- 
thaniel, 1733 (died April 10, 1821). 

(IV) Nathaniel Crandall, son of Samuel and 
Mary (Wilbor), born in 1733, and baptized 
June 10, 1733, in the United Congregational 
Church of Little Compton, died April 10, 1821. 
He married Sarah Wilcox, who bore him child- 
ren as follows: Falle, baptized in the United 
Congregational Church at Tiverton in July, 
1757; Ezra, baptized in same church in July, 
1769; Nathaniel, and perhaps others. 

(V) Nathaniel Crandell, born June 2, 1779, 
son of Nathaniel and Sarah (Wilcox), married 
in 1803, Comfort Bailey, born Dec. 14, 1782, 
daughter of Joseph and Euth Bailey. He re- 
moved to Taunton, where he engaged in busi- 
ness as a baker. He died May 4, 1842, and his 
wife 4ied March 19, 1858. His children were: 
William Bailey, born April 16, 1804, at Tiver- 
ton, R. I. ; Louisa, born Dec. 21, 1805, in Ti- 
verton, who married Alex. H. Seabury ; Sarah, 
•who married Charles Nourse; and Mary Ann, 
■who married Zephaniah Leonard. 

(VI) William Bailey Crandell, son of Na- 
thaniel and Comfort (Bailey), bom in Tiver- 
ton April 16, 1804, passed his boyhood days in 
Taunton, and was there educated. For some 
years he engaged in the dry goods business in 
Boston, Mass., and accumulated a considerable 
property. He had an inherent love for music, 
and was a skillful player on the violin and 
flute, and owned much music and many instru- 
ments. He was one of the original members 
of the Beethoven Society of Taunton — an or- 
ganization that secured for the city a wide 



reputation as a music-loving community. Mr. 
Crandell died April 22, 1872. He married Aug. 
27, 1826, Abigail Howard Weatherby, a native 
of Taunton, and their children were as follows: 

(1) Abigail Farrington, born July 25, 1827, 
died Oct. 27, 1828, married Henry C. Perry; 

(2) SaraJi Bailey, born May 25, 1829, married 
Francis B. Dean, and had two children, Louis 
B. (deceased) and Clarence R. ; (3) William 
Thomas, born Jan. 6, 1832, died July 21, 1833; 
(4) William Thomas (2), bom Aug. 4, 1834, 
married (first) Mary Ellis and. (second) Cath- 
erine Peirce; (5) Caroline Weatherby, bom 
July 13, 1836, is unmarried and lives in Taun- 
ton; (6) Charles Weatherbv, born Aug. 20, 
1838, died Dec. 13, 1897; and (7) Marianna, 
born Nov. 27, 1840, died March 25, 1845. 

(VII) Charles Weatherby Crandell, son of 
William Bailey and Abigail Howard (Weath- 
erby), was born in Taunton, Aug. 20, 1838. He 
married Abby Dean, youngest daughter of 
Barney Dean, and died Dec. 13, 1897. Their 
cliildren were : Frederick,^ Walter and Charles, 
who all died under two years of age; Arthur 
Richmond, born in Taunton Sept. 15, 1870; 
and Ruth, born Oct. 23, 1878, who married 
Allan B. Greenough, of Taunton. 

(VIII) Arthur Richmond Crandell was bom 
in Taunton, Mass., Sept. 15, 1870, and he re- 
ceived lys primary education in the public 
schools of that city, graduating from the high 
school in 1888. In the fall of that same year 
he entered Harvard University, from which he 
was graduated in the class of 1892, with the 
degree of A. B. He then entered the Medical 
Department of Harvard University, graduating 
therefrom in 1896 with the degree of M. D. 
Believing in thorough preparation for the prac- 
tice of his profession he became interne in the 
Children's Hospital at Boston, remaining for 
fifteen months in 1896-1897. He then en- 
tered the Massachusetts Hospital as surgical 
pupil for sixteen months. At the end 
of this period, he entered the Boston 
Lying-in Hospital, where he remained two 
months in 1898 and four months in 
1899. Returning at the end of that time to 
his native town, he began the general practice 
of his profession, in which he has continued to 
the present time with more than ordinary suc- 
cess. He is one of the staff of Morton Hospital. 
ProfeRsionally he is a member of the Massa- 
chusetts Medical Society, and of the American 
Medical Association. Socially he belongs to 
the Winthrop and Yacht Clubs, and is presi- 
dent of the Taunton Boat Club. 

On April 25. 1906, Dr. Crandell was united 
in marriage with Gertrude Scovil Luce, daugh- 



696 



SOUTHEASTEKN MASSACHUSETTS 



ter of Warren Augustus Luce, a Methodist mia- 
ister, native of Vineyard Haven. To this union 
was born, July 8, 1907, a daughter Carolyn. 

• EUGENE EBEN SHAW, formerly of the 
town of Carver, now residing in Middleboro, . 
Plymouth Co., Mass., is a business man of 
varied interests, but perhaps best known in 
his connection with the cranberry industry, he 
having been the largest individual grower in 
the town. He has served in numerous town 
oflBces and represented his district in the Legis- 
lature, and all in all is an appreciable factor 
in the well-being of the community. 

Mr. Shaw was born Nov. 5, 1853, in Provi- 
dence, E. I., but he belongs to an old Massa- 
chusetts family, being a descendant in the 
ninth generation from John Shaw, his im- 
migrant ancestor. We give herewith the line 
in chronological order. 

(I) John Shaw was in New England, an 
inhabitant of Plymoiith, in 1627, in which year 
he had a share in the division of cattle. He is 
referred to as one of the "purchasers or old 
comers." He was a freeman according to 
Pope of 1632-33, and was one of those who be- 
fore July 1, 1633, undertook to cut a passage 
from Green's harbor to the bay. He had ad- 
ditional lands in 1636 and was juryman in 
1648. He was one of the purchasers of Dart- 
mouth in 1652, and became one of the first 
settlers in Middleboro in 1662. He had bought 
into the Twenty-six Men's Purchase prior to 
the breaking out of the war, and was one of 
the inhabitants of Middleboro in the fort at 
that time, and then he or his son John served 
seventeen days against the Narragansetts in 
1645. He had sold his interest in the Twenty- 
six Men's Purchase before 1677 to Samuel 
Wood. On coming from England, according 
to Savage, he brought with him wife Alice 
and children John, James, Jonathan and 
Abigail, the latter of whom married Stephen 
Bryant. The father died Oct. 24, 1694. The 
mother was buried at Plymouth, Mass., March 
6, 16.54-55. 

(II) Jonathan Shaw, son of John, as stated, 
came to New England with his parents and 
was an early settler at Plymouth, and for a 
portion of his life he may have been a resi- 
dent of Duxbury or Eastham. He was twice 
married, marrying (first) Jan. 22, 1657, 
Phebe, daughter of George Watson, and (sec- 
ond) Persis, widow of Benjamin Prati and 
daughter of Deacon John Dunham. He had 
children : Hannah married Aug. 5, 1678, 
Thomas Paine, Jr., of Eastham ; Jonathan was 
born in 1663; Phebe married John Morton; 



Mary married in 1687 Eleazer Ring; George 
married Jan. 8, 1690, Constant Doane, and 
was of Eastham; Lydia married April 4, 1689, 
Nicliolas Snow; Benjamin (twin) was born in 
1672; Benoni (twin), born in 1672, married 
Lydia, daughter of John Waterman. 

(III) Jonathan Shaw (2), of Plympton, soa 
of Jonathan, born in 1663, married (first) in 
1687 Mehetabel Pratt, who died in 1712, and 
he married (second) Nov. 6, 1715, Mary Dar- 
ling, who died March 9, 1754, aged eighty and' 
a widow. His children were: Jonathan, born, 
in 1689, in Middleboro, Mass.; Phebe, born in 
1690, who married Thomas ShurtlefE; Persis, 
born in 1692, who married Joseph Lucas; 
Mehetabel, born in 1694, who married Zacha- 
riah Weston ; James, born in 1696 ; Hannah, 
born in 1699, who married James Harlow; 
Elizabeth, born in 1701; Priscilla, born in 
1702; Abigail, born in 1705; Samuel; and 
Rebecca, born in 1718. 

(IV) Jonatlian Shaw (3), of Plympton, 
son of Jonathan (2), born in 1689, in Middle- 
boro, married (first) Elizabeth Atwood, and' 
(second) Sarah Rich. His children, all born 
to the first marriage excepting the youngest, 
were: Nathaniel, born in 1714; Mary, born 
in 1716; Nathaniel (2), born in 1718'; Eliza- 
beth, born in 1719; Sarah, born in 1724; Jo- 
nathan, born in 1728; and Thomas, born in 
1738, who served in the war of the Revolution 
and died while in the army. 

(V) Capt. Nathaniel Shaw, of Plympton, 
son of Jonathan (3), born in 1718, married 
Hannah, daughter of Luke Perkins. According 
to the family Captain Shaw was a soldier of 
the Revolution. A Nathaniel Shaw of Plymp- 
ton is of record as a member of Capt. James 
Warren's regiment, which marched in response 
to the alarm of April 19, 1775, to Marshfield. 
He also was captain of the Plympton com- 
pany under Col. Gamaliel Bradford, Jr., whO' 
commanded the 1st Plymouth county regiment 
of militia in 1776, Shaw being commissioned 
June 6th of that year. He was also captain 
in Lieut. Col. Jeremiah Hall's regiment in 
December, 1776, company raised in Kingston, 
Plympton and Halifax; and captain of 7th 
company of Col. Theophilus Cotton's regiment 
of Massachusetts militia, being commissioned 
Oct. 28, 1778. His children were: Mary, bom 
in 1741; Elizabeth, born in 1744; Nathaniel, 
born in 1747; Joseph, born in 1749; Hannah, 
born in 1751 ; Ruth, born in 1753; Sarah, born 
in 1756; Jonathan, born in 1758; Deliverance, 
born in 1760; James, born in 1764; and Zil- 
pha, born in 1765. 

(VI) Lieut. Joseph Shaw, born in 1749, son^ 




 ES U B t3 






(yuoji^^-L^ 




^a^-yy^ 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 6<jr 

of Nathaniel, married April 25, 1776, Lydia J. Holmes, and Nathaniel Warren. (6) Han- 
Shaw, their marriage being of Middleboro town nah M., born in 1827, died in 1892. In 1850' 
record. He was a soldier in the Revolutionary she married Eli Atwood, of Carver, and they 
war, and died Aug. 4, 1805, at the age of fifty- had one child, Betsey S., who married Win- 
six years. His children were: George, born field Pratt. (7) Oliver, born Feb. 5, 1831, 
in 1776; Lydia, born in 1778; Nathaniel, born died Dec. 26, 1894. ' He was for years one 
in 1780; Joseph, born in 1782; Oliver, born of the most prominent and successful men in 
in 1784; Ruth, born in 1786; Isaac, born in his section, his residence being at Watertown, 
1788; Betsey, born in 1790; Waitstill, born in Mass. In 1855 he married Miranda Atwood, 
1792; Hannah, born in 1794; Cephas, born in and their children, Alton E., and Bradford 0. 
1797; and Elkanah, born in 1802. and Bartlett E., twins, are all now deceased. 

(VII) Capt. Joseph Shaw (2), son of Jo- (8) Priscilla Jane, born in July, 1834, mar- 
seph and Lydia, was born in the town of Car- ried Pelham W. Barrows, and had children: 
ver, Feb. 17, 1782, and died Sept. 26, 1855. Joseph Whitman, Ellis Harvey, Pelham A., 
He was engaged principally in farming, in the Laura L., Hannah B. and Frank E. (9) Bart- 
winter months working in the old blast foun- lett, born March 12, 1835, learned the iron- 
dry. He was one of the leading men in his molder's trade. In 1861 he assisted in rais- 
locality, taking an active part in the affairs ing a company in Carver for the Unioii ser- 
of his day, and was captain of a company of vice, was appointed orderly sergeant, and was 
State militia. During the war of 1812 he was later promoted to the rank of second lieutenant, 
drafted for service, but because of illness in Owing to the illness of his superior ofRcer he 
his family sent a substitute, Benjamin Harlow, was placed in charge at the second battle of 
In 1804 Captain Shaw married (first) Sarah Bull Run, and lost his life in that engage- 
MurdoA, and to them were born six sons, the ment. 

eldest born in 1804, the youngest in 1814, as (VIII) Ebenezer Dunham Shaw, son of Jo- 
follows: (1) Joseph died unmarried in 1865. seph, born Feb. 8, 1823, in Carver, died Sept. 
(2) Linus was married in 1833 to Dicey 14, 1889. He engaged in the lumber business 
Allen, and they had six children, George H., and in charcoal burning, and built an iron 
Linus A. (both of whom served in the Civil foundry at Middleboro, conducting same for 
war), Jeannette H., Arlotha M., Calvin R. and some years. It burned down, however, and he 
Betsey. (3) Bartlett was married in 1833 to spent his declining years at Carver, where he 
Almira Atwood, had one child, and died in died. He was not only a good business man 
1835. (4) Martin, born in 1811, died the but active in town affairs, serving many years 
same year. (5) Dennis, who died in 1875, as selectman. 

married Emmeline Skinner, and their children In 1848 Mr. Shaw married (first) Nancy 
were : William B., Henry and Henrietta Eugenia Bisbee, daughter of Alden and Nancy 
(twins), Albert, Charles, Emmeline, Susannah (Dunham) Bisbee. Mrs. Shaw died Aug. 11, 
and Apollos. The father and the eldest four 1855, in Lakeville, the mother of four chil- 
sons served in the Civil war, two of them being dren, Frederick, Aravesta, Josephus and Eu- 
wounded. One son died while serving in the gene Eben, the last named the only one who 
regular army. (6) Harrison, who died in survived infancy. Mr. Shaw's second mar- 
1861, married Adaline Bent and had eight riage was to Mrs. Hannah (Westgate) Denni- 
children, William B., Sarah M., Deliverance, son, who was born Jan. 13, 1830, and died July 
Charles H., Emma B., John, Mary and 2, 1908. They had five children, as follows: 
Erastus. (1) Frederick Warren, born Dec. 19, 1857, 

For his second wife Captain Shaw married, died Jan. 29, 1899. He married Annie Till- 
in 1818, Hannah Dunham, and to this union son, daughter of Marcus and Abbie (Atwood) 
were born nine children: (1) William H., Tillson, and they had four children : Ellsworth 
born in 1819, died the same year. (2) Na- Vernon, Norman Lee, Myrtle Amber and Eben- 
thaniel, born in 1820, died in 1821. (3) ezer Dunham. (2) Aravesta Bartlett, born 
Ebenezer Dunham is mentioned below. (4) Jan. 14, 1859, in Carver, is unmarried and 
Francis S., born in 1824, died in 1885. In living in Lakeville, Plymouth county. (3) 
1849 he married Abbie Southworth, of Lake- Elmer Francis, born July 4, 1861, is engaged 
ville, and of their thirteen children only two in the foundry business in Boston. He mar- 
survive, Emma L. amd Jennie. (5) Sally ried Harriet Squires, of Plymouth, and they 
Murdock, born in 1826, was married in 1847 have had two children, William S. and Oliver, 
to Ira Cook Bent, of Carver, and they had the latter now deceased. (4) Bartlett Mur- 
two children, Ellen F., who married Philander dock, born May 1, 1865, married Edith B. 



698 



SOUTHEASTE]}X :MASSAt'HUSP:TTS 



Ashley, of Berkley, and their children are 
Eliot A., Joseph, Bartlett M., Jr., and Fred- 
erick D., all residing in Watertown, Mass. He 
is superintendent of the Walker & Pratt Manu- 
facturing Company. (5) Myra Amber, born 
Dec. 26, 1868, married Walter Franklin Ham- 
mond, of Carver, and they have one child, 
Bertha Frances. 

(IX) Eugene Eben Shaw, son of Ebenezer 
D. Shaw, received his education in the district 
schools, which he left when fourteen years 
old. He learned the molder's trade ill Water- 
town, Middlesex Co., Mass., following that 
work for five years, after wliich he went West, 
spending some time in Nebraska and North 
Dakota, in the latter State being in the employ 
of the Northern Pacific Railway Company. Ee- 
turning home after an absence of about three 
years he went into the foundry business, manu- 
facturing oil stoves, whifh business he later 
sold to the Plymouth Stove Company. He was 
then engaged in the charcoal business in South 
Carver, later taking up the lumber business 
and running a sawmill. For some time he was 
extensively interested in the growing of cran- 
berries, his bogs covering about seventy-five 
acres, but sold his interests in this line to the 
United Cape Cod Cranberry Company in the 
fall of 1909. He has high standing among 
business men for integrity and ability, and is 
trusted by all who have had dealings with 
him. 

Mr. Shaw has been quite prominent in the 
local government, having filled many town offi- 
ces ; was special assessor for two years ; served 
five years as forester ; and was representative 
in the State Legislature in 1908, during which 
year he served as a member of the committee 
on Agriculture. He is a Republican in politi- 
cal connection. Fraternally he is a member of 
Waukinquoak Lodge, No. 119, I. 0. 0. F., of 
Wareham, and a member of Plymouth Rock 
Lodge, No. 84, A. 0. U. W., of Plymouth : in 
religion he is a Baptist. 

Mr. Shaw married (first) July 16, 1885, 
Cordelia Frances Shurtleff, who was born Nov. 
29, 1861, daughter of Perez T. and Eliza 
(Richmond) Shurtleff, of Carver, and they had 
two children: Ralph, born in August, 1886, 
who died in infancy; and Cordelia Gertrude, 
born Nov. 29. 1887, who married April 6, 
1909, Henry Stewart Pink, of Carver. The 
mother of these children died Dec. 7, 1887. 
Mr. Shaw's second marriage, on Feb. 14, 1891, 
was to Ella Gibbs Atwood, daughter of John 
Savery and Susan Malone (Hamblin) Atwood, 
and they have had four children, born as fol- 
lows: Kenneth Eugene, Feb. 17, 1892; Cora 



Frances, April 12, 1893; Hannah Lucille, Oct. 
11, 1894; and Aravesta Eugenia, July 3, 1898. 
On Sept. 1, 1910, Mr. Shaw purchased the 
handsome residence of Arthur H. Leonard, on 
High street, Middleboro, to which he and his 
family have since removed, and where they 
now reside. 

DR. NAHUM WASHBURN, D. D. S., who 
during his life was one of the leading profes- 
sional men of the Bridgewaters, and a pioneer 
in the dental profession in southeastern Massa- 
chusetts, was bom in Bridgton, Maine, Nov. 
15, 1806. The Washburn family is an old and 
distinguished one in New England. The name 
has been variously spelled — Washburne, Wash- 
born, Washborne and Washburn — but all claim 
as a common ancestor Jolm Washburn of Dux- 
buiy. 

(I) John Washburn, the first of the name, 
was an early settler in New England, and was 
a resident of Duxbury, Mass., before 1632, in 
which year he had an action in court against 
Edward Doten. He was named in the assess- 
ment of taxes in 1633, and in 1634 bought a 
place from Edward Bonparse known as 
"Eagle's Nest." He and his two sons, John 
and Philip, were included among those able 
to bear arms in 1643. He and his son John 
were original proprietors of Bridgewat.er, and 
they, with the son Philip, settled in that town 
as early as 1665. John Washburn died in 
Bridgewater before 1670. 

(II) John Washburn (2), son of John, lo- 
cated with his father in Bridgewater. He mar- 
ried in 1645 Elizabeth, daughter of Experience 
Mitchell, also of Bridgewater. Mr. Washburn 
made his home there and there died. His chil- 
dren were : John ; Thomas ; Joseph ; Samuel ; 
Jonathan; Benjamin; Mary, born in 1661, who 
married Samuel Kinsley ; Elizabeth, who mar- 
ried (first) James Howard and (second) Ed- 
ward Sealey ; Jane, who married William Or- 
cutt, Jr. ; James, born in 1672 ; and Sarah, who 
married in 1697 John Ames. 

(III) Jonathan Washburn, son of John (2), 
was married about 1683 to Mary Vaughn. 
Their children were: Elizabeth, bom 1684 
(married in 1710 John Benson) ; Josiah, 1686; 
Benjamin, 1688; Ebenezer, 1690; Martha, 
1692; Joanna, 1693; Nathan, 1699; Jonathan, 
1700; and Cornelius, 1702. 

(IV) Josiah Washburn, son of Jonathan, was 
born in the town of Bridgewater in 1686. In 
1723 he married Elizabetli Devenport, and they 
had two sons, Josiah and Jonathan. 

(V) Josiah Washburn (2), son of Josiah, 
married in 1753 Phebe Hayward, daughter of 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



699 



Thomas Hayward, and their children were : 
Solomon, born in 175-i; Seth, 1756; Thomas, 
1758; Bethiah, 1760; Mary, 1762; Hannah and 
i?etty, 1766; Jonathan, 1768. 

(VI) Solomon Washburn, son of Josiah (2), 
was born in Bridgewater in 1754. In 1773 he 
married Anne Mitchell, daughter of Seth 
Mitchell, and their children were: Zenas; 
Anna, who married in 1797 Oliver Hayward; 
Solomon; Eeuljcn ; Thomas, horn in 1787; Os- 
car, born in 1795; Lewis, born in 1797; and 
Nahum, who married Anne Mitchell, daughter 
of Jolm. 

(VII) Solomon Washburn (2), son of Solo- 
mon, was born in Bridgewater, and tliere in 
1801 married Sally Carver, daughter of Ja- 
bez Carver. In his young manhood Solomon 
Washburn spent some time in Maine, but later 
removed to Hanover, Mass., and thence to 
Bridgewater, where the remainder of his life 
was passed. He was a machinist by trade, and 
was an extensive landowner in his native town 
in the vicinity of the normal school. He built 
a fine brick house on Summer street, which is 
still standing, and there he made his home. 
He was a man of enterprise and of progressive 
spirit, and for many years was a member of the 
firm of Washburn, Carver & Co., manufacturers 
of cotton gins. He died at his home on Sum- 
mer street, and was buried in Mount Prospect 
cemetery. His children were : Rotheus, bom 
Feb. 26, 1803, married Mary Hayward; Carver 
was born Nov. 20, 1804; Nahum was bom Nov. 
15, 1806; Thomas J., born June 25, 1809, mar- 
ried Marcha Perkins; Albert, bom July 21, 
1812, married (first) Clarissa Pratt, daughter 
of Calvin Pratt, and (second) Maria 0. Pratt, 
daughter of Jared Pratt; Eli, born March 18, 
1817, died unmarried Dec. 21, 1879; Nathan, 
born April 3, 1819, died unmarried Dec. 10, 
1842; John, born May 22, 1821, married Jane 
Robinson, and died July 28, 1868; Maria, bom 
in 1823, married Alonzo Masters, of Boston, 
and died in November, 1879. 

(VIII) Carver Washburn, son of Solomon 
(2), was bom Nov. 20, 1804, and was edu- 
cated in the local school and at Bridgewater 
Academy. He grew to manhood in his native 
home, and became identified with the cotton 
gin manufacturing business, being a member 
of the firm of Washburn, Carver & Co., of 
Bridgewater. He continued a member of this 
firm until his death, although for the last few 
years of his life his impaired health rendered 
his retirement from active work imperative. 
His home was on Summer street, near the old 
home of his father, and there he died June 17, 
1862, and his remains rest in Mount Prospect 



cemetery. He was a Whig and Republican, 
but he never sought or accepted office though 
often solicited to do so. With his wife he at- 
tended the Unitarian Church. Mr. Washburn 
was twice married. On March 4, 1827, he mar- 
ried Harriett Harden, bom Oct. 4, 1800. She 
died Feb. 24, 1834, and was laid to rest in 
Mount Prospect cemetery. The children of 
tliis union were: Mira Louise, born Dec. 2.1, 
1827, married (first) Jan. 12, 1845, Frederick 
Cushing, and (second) James Whitney, of New 
York, and is now deceased ; Margaret, born 
Dec. 9, 1829, married April 21, 1850, Stillman 
Alger, and died July 4, 1856, tlie mother of 
four children, Stillman (bom Dec. 29, 1850), 
Austin W., William E. and Hattie C, all now 
deceased; Ferdinand Carver, bom July 17, 
1831, now deceased, a railroad engineer and 
Scottish Rite Mason in Ohio, married March 
1, 1859, Mary Brumly. Mr. Washburn mar- 
ried for his second wife Jane Mitchell Hay- 
ward, born Oct. 20, 1802, daughter of Calvin 
Hayward. She died Aug. 5, 1902, and was 
laid to rest in the family lot in Mount Pros- 
pect cemetery. She was a member of the Uni- 
tarian Church. The three children of this 
marriage were : Mary Jane, born June 19, 1836, 
who died Aug. 6, 1837; Clinton, bom Nov. 25, 
1838 ; and Caroline, born April 2, 1842, who 
died in March, 1907. 

(IX) Clinton W.\shburn, only son born 
to Carver and Jane Mitchell (Hayward) 
Washburn, received his education in the 
Bridgewater school and the local academy. He 
then worked in the cotton gin factory for some 
years, when he retired from active business and 
made his home with his mother and sister as 
long as they lived. He occupied the homestead 
until his death, which occurred April 8, 1909. 
He was unmarried, thus being the last of his 
line. In politics he was a Republican, and in 
religious views a Unitarian. 

(VIII) Dr. Nahum Washburn, son of Solo- 
mon (2) and brother of Carver, was but five 
years of age when his parents removed to the 
town of Hanover, in Plymouth county, later 
coming to Bridgewater, which town has been- 
the home of the Washburn family for many 
years. He attended the public schools and 
Bridgewater Academy under the tutelage of the 
late Hon. John A. Shaw, after which he at- 
tended Dartmouth College, graduating in 1832. 
His scholarship was of a high order, and he 
had an especial taste for literary and scientific 
subjects. After completing his college course 
he became a member of the Massachusetts 
Medical Society in 1835. Later he took up 
the study of dentistry, and entered upon the 



700 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



active practice of that profession in Bridge- 
water, his ability winning for him marked suc- 
cess for upward of half a century. He num- 
bered among his patients some of the most 
distinguished families of New Bedford and 
other sections of the State besides those in the 
Bridgewaters. He was a man of fine inventive 
genius, and was the inventor and manufac- 
turer of many of the instruments used in his 
profession. He was also the inventor of a mill 
for the grinding of rock crystal for use in the 
manufacture of teeth. He was a typical gen- 
tleman of the old school, a fine entertainer and 
possessed of refined tastes. His wit was spark- 
ling, but never cruel, and he was endowed with 
a remarkable memory and rare conversational 
powers, wliicJi, united with his habits of close 
ob.servation and study, rendered his companion- 
ship not only attractive but instructive. 

Dr. Washburn was not only liberally edu- 
cated himself, but he was the firm friend of 
the public schools. He was keenly sympathetic 
and was quick to advocate any measure that 
insured actual benefit to the unfortunate. On 
account of the loss of eyesight, he was obliged 
to abandon his profession some ten years be- 
fore his death, but he retained Ms mental 
vigor to the last. His declining years were 
spent in his historic home, surrounded by his 
family and the friends he loved so well. He 
died as he had lived, a true man, loyal to bis 
State and faithful in his home, Dec. 28, 1883, 
at the age of seventy-seven years, and was laid 
to rest in Mount Prospect cemetery. 

Dr. Washburn was married May 16, 1836, to 
Christiana Pratt, of Bridgewater, born Jan. 8, 
1811, who died April 18, 1893. She was a 
daughter of Calvin and Clarissa (Keith) Pratt, 
and a member of one of the oldest families of 
Plymouth county. She was a member of the 
Church of the New Jerusalem. Their chil- 
dren were: (1) Dr. Christian, born April 22, 
1838, married June o, 1862, Salome Lazell 
Keith, born March 23, 1840, daughter of 
Thomas and Caroline (Jones) Keith, and has 
one child, Helen Christiana (born April 29, 
1868), who married April 28, 1896, Frank 
Jordan, horn Dec. 17, 1868, son of Simeon 
and Harriett Jordan, and has one child, Chris- 
tiana Pratt, bom Oct. 22, 1902; they reside at 
Plymouth. (2) Nahum, born July 30, 1839, 
died Oct. 14, 1893. He married (first) Nov. 
18, 1874, Mary Reed (born March 15, 1848, 
died June 25, 1878, daughter of Charles and 
Sophia Reed), and had one child, Sophia 
Clarke (born Nov. 3, 1875, married Dr. Frank 
E. Bateman, of Somerville, and has three chil- 
dren — Lois, bom April 25, 1898; Leon, Feb. 



25, 1900; and Sylvia, June 5, 1902). He mar- 
ried (second) Jan. 26, 1881, Corinna Bates 
(born July 16, 1846, died March 22, 1902,. 
daughter of Samuel Ward Bates) and had one- 
son, Samuel Ward, born Nov. 7, 1885. (3) 
Clara Sumner, bom April 15, 1845, resides at 
home. (4) George, bom April 23, 1850, mar- 
ried Feb. 18, 1886, Ellen Burt Allen (bom 
Dec. 19, 1853, daughter of Joseph A. and Lucy^ 
Allen) and has one child, Lucy Christiana^ 
born Aug. 26, 1896. 

GIFFORD (Fall River family). The fam- 
ily bearing tliis name in this as well as in the- 
mother country is one ancient and honorable. 
It was seated at Honfleur, in Normandy, three- 
hundred years before the conquest of Eng- 
land by William the Norman, and for services 
at the battle of Hastings (1066) was rewarded 
by him with land in Somersetshire and 
Cheshire. And here in America a branch of 
the English family is one of some two hundred 
and eighty and more years' standing, dating^ 
from the coming to the Virginian Colony in 
1626 of Francis Gifford. Here in New 
England, in this Commonwealth, the com- 
ing of the progenitor of the special Fall 
River family here treated is perhaps a 
score of years later. Reference is here 
made to the family of the late Gideon Gif- 
ford of Fall River, one of whose sons is the 
present Ferdinand H. Gifford, Esq., who has 
for years been president of the Fall River 
National Bank. From William Gifford, the 
Sandwich settler. President Gifford's descent 
is through Robert, Stephen, Benjamin, John, 
Isaac and Gideon Gifford, which generations in 
the order named and in detail follow. 

(I) William Gifford, of record in 1647 at 
Stamford, Conn., and William Gifford, of 
Sandwich, Mass., and a member of the Grand 
Inquest, Plymouth, in 1650, are believed by 
the compiler of the "Gifford Gen." to be one 
and the same person. He died in 1686-87, and 
in his will probated March 2d of that year he 
gives to his children John, Hannaniah, Wil- 
liani, Christopher, Robert, Jonathan, James 
and Mary; and to his grandchildren. Temper- 
ance, John, Robert, Experience and Sarah 
Kirby (children of Richard Kirby). He also- 
gave five pounds "to the service and improve- 
ment of my friends called Quakers." He seems 
to have left a considerable property among his 
children, including lands at Sacounessett or 
Falmouth. He was committed by the court in 
1658 for not taking the oath of allegiance; 
again in 1659 for affronting the marshal, and 
in 1660 for being at Quaker meetings. 




cf 




SOUTHEASTEKN MASSACHUSETTS 



701 



(II) Robert Gifford, son of William, mar- 
ried Sarah, daughter of Stephen Wing, of 
Sandwich,' who died the 20th of the 6th month, 
1720. It seems he had married again previous 
to making his will (in 1724), which docu- 
ment was probated April 30, 1730, and in 
which he gives to his children Jeremiah, Ben- 
jamin, Stephen, Timothy and Simeon. Ste- 
phen Wing, of Sandwich, in his will dated Dec. 
2, 1700, and probated July 13, 1710, gave to 
his daughter Sarah Gifford and grandson Jere- 
miah Gifford. 

(III) Stephen Gifford, son of Robert, mar- 
ried Mary, and their children were : Ste])hen, 
born Jan. 30, 1711-12 (died Feb. 25, 1711- 
12); Patience, Dec. 16, 1712; Hannaniah, 
Aug. 20, 1714; Susannah, May 24, 1716; Pris- 
«illa, June 17, 1718; Keziah, Feb. 2, 1720; 
Abigail, Nov. 4, 1721; Mary, Aug. 12, 1723; 
Ruth, Oct. 5, 1725; and Benjamin, Feb. 2, 
1727-28. 

(IV) Benjamin Gifford, son of Stephen, was 
born Feb. 2, 1727-28. (A Benjamin by will, 
25th of 10th month, 1778, probated May 4, 
1779, gives to sons Stephen, Chadwick, Benja- 
min and to daughters Grace and Ruth. — See 
■"Leonard Papers," Xew Bedford Public Li- 
brary.) 

(V) John GifEord, son of Benjamin, born 
Aug. 28, 1754, married Ruth Luther, born 
Aug. 6, 1754. They lived in Westport, Mass. 
Their children were : Warren, born July 29, 
1775; Weston, Oct. 12, 1776; Luther, Aug. 
17, 1778; Anna, April 3, 1780: Lydia, Oct. 24. 
1781; Peleg, Sept. 17, 1783; Levi, June 15, 
1785; Isaac, Jan. 15. 1787; Maria, Sept. 2, 
1788; Mary, July 2, 1790; Lucretia, May 10, 
1793; Benjamin, Dec. 3. 1795; Weston (2), 
May 2, 1796; and one born dead, Jan. 19, 
1792. 

(VI) Isaac Gifford, son of John and Ruth, 
■was born Jan. 15,- 1787, was a farmer, and re- 
sided in Westport, where he died. He was 
buried on his farm, whence in 1908 the re- 
mains were removed to Oak Grove cemetery. 
Fall River. Mr. Gifford was a member of the 
First Christian Church at Head of Westport. 
He married Edith Sherman, of Westport, who 
survived him, and died at the home of her 
daughter, Mrs. Charles Jenks, at Fall River. 
To Isaac and Edith (Sherman) Gifford were 
born children as follows: Hannah nuirried 
Abner Read, a farmer, and resided in West- 
port nearly all her life, but died in Fall River ; 
Gideon is mentioned below; Ann married 
Charles Jenks, a farmer, and lived in Fall 
River; Weston married Rachel Thurston and 
died in Westport (he was a farmer) ; Cynthia 



married Rev. Benjamin S. Batchelor, an Ad- 
ventist clergyman, and died in New Bedford; 
Uriah died in young manhood; Ruth S. mar- 
ried John Tripp, a farmer and mason, and 
died in New Bedford; Emeline Jane married 
Benjamin Carter, a cabinetmaker, and died in 
Providence; William died in early manhood; 
Sarah died young; Andrew A. went to Cali- 
fornia during the gold excitement and was 
drowned there while bathing; Betsey B., the 
last surviving member of the family, is the 
wife of Charles F. Lake, a painter and paper 
hanger, and resides in Fall River ; George F. 
died young. Of this family, Uriah, William, 
Sarah and George F. died within a short time, 
of fever. 

(VII) GiDEOx Gifford, son of Isaac, was 
born June 10, 1811, in Westport, and resided 
there, engaged in farming, until his removal 
to Fall River in 1844. Here he engaged in 
teaming, following that occupation, which he 
found very profitable, until about three years 
previous to his death. He retired on account 
of advancing age. and died Jan. 6, 1882; he 
was buried in Oak Grove cemetery. Mr. Gif- 
ford was a well known man in his line, and did 
considerable teaming for the large mills of 
the city. He had a high reputation for indus- 
try, thrift and reliability, and was respected 
by all who knew him for his quiet but useful 
life. A stanch advocate of temperance, he 
would never allow intoxicating liquors of any 
kind, not even cider, on his wagons. He was 
a member of the First Christian Church. 

Mr. GifEord was twice married, his first wife, 
Almeda W. Dennis, daughter of Robert Den- 
nis, of Westport, being the mother of two chil- 
dren, Ferdinand H. and Robert D. (born Dec. 
28. 1849, died Dec. 6, 1851). Mrs. GifEord 
was born Feb. 13, 1811, and died March 15, 
1861. For his second wife Mr. Gifford mar- 
ried Eliza Rhodes, who survived him and died 
in Boston. 

(VIII) FEiiDiNAXD H. GiFFOED, SOU of Gid- 
eon, was born Dec. 13, 1838, in Westport, and 
was but a child when his parents moved to 
Fall River. He received his education in the 
public schools of that city, and left school to 
take a position which had been offered him, 
ag clerk in the Metacomet National Bank. At 
that time JefEerson Borden was president of 
the institution and Azariah S. Tripp cashier. 
He there remained as clerk until September. 
1863, when he was offered the position of teller 
in the Fall River National Bank, holding same 
for almost ten years, until Feb. 1, 1873, when 
he was promoted to cashier. After over twenty 
years in that incumbency he became president, 



702 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



Sept. 30, 1895, succeeding Guilford H. Hatha- 
way, and has been at the head of the bank 
ever since. For many years Mr. Gifford has 
been a trustee of the Eall River Savings Bank, 
and he is president of the Fall River Clearing 
House, in which position he succeeded the late 
Charles J. Holmes. Mr. Gifford's business re- 
lations show clearly his standing among finan- 
ciers in the city. Up-to-date in everything 
that pertains to the transaction and advance- 
ment of his business, he is nevertheless care- 
ful and conservative in the best sense, and has 
been able to hold the confidence of his asso- 
ciates and the public to an unusual degree. 
Personally, though courteous and companion- 
able, he is a man of the most quiet and modest 
tastes, and belongs to no clubs or fraternities. 
He is a Republican, but takes no part in poli- 
tics beyond casting his vote. , 

Mr. Gifford was married in Fall River to 
Eliza Nelson Buffinton, a native of Fall River, 
born Aug. 26, 1847, daughter of Benjamin and 
Eliza (Carr) Buffinton. Mrs. Gifford died 
June 30, 1879. 

In 1902 Mr. Gifford published a "Genealogy 
of Joseph Carr of Jamestown, Rhode Island," 
for private distribution. It pertains particu- 
larly to the lineage of the mother of Mrs. 
Ferdinand H. Gifford, whose maiden name was 
Eliza Carr, and is one of the finest works of 
the kind ever published, a veritable work of 
art from the bookbinder's standpoint. 

HON. ALBERT RICHMOND WADE. "To 

live in the hearts of those we leave behind us 
is not to die," and so the Hon. Albert Rich- 
mond Wade, fifth mayor of Brockton, Mass., 
man of courage, of integrity, of upright living, 
of high ideals, "is not dead — he is just away." 
It has been given to but few to so live that it 
could be truthfully said their passing into life 
eternal was a shock and a grief to the entire 
community, yet so it was with Mr. Wade, whose 
entire life had been passed in Brockton, and 
whose record was an open book, the pages of 
which were without spot or blemish. Strong 
in character, bluff and hearty in manner, warm 
in heart, he was a most likeable man. He was 
frank and outspoken of his convictions, yet 
tolerant of the opinions of others; his judg- 
ment was rarely at fault, and his reasoning, 
so rapid that it seemed like intuition, was al- 
ways logical. What he did he did thoroughly, 
conscientiously. He loved the world and he 
loved life, and his cheerful acceptance of life's 
duties and responsibilities magnetized the con- 
ditions about him and made him an inspiration 
to those who came within his radiance. 



Albert R. ^^"ade was bom at Brockton 
Heights, in the town of North Bridgewater 
(now Brockton), Oct. 26, 1844, son of Oren 
and Jane (Richmond) Wade, the former for a 
generation proprietor of a blacksmith shop on 
North Pearl street. He is a descendant in the 
seventh generation from Nicholas Wade, the 
line being given herewith : 

(I) Nicholas Wade, of Scituate, took the 
oath of allegiance Feb. 1, 1638. His house 
and homestead were on the west side of Brushy 
hill. In 1657 he was licensed to keep an ordi- 
nary or tavern. He married Elizabeth, daugh- 
ter of Thomas Ensign, and his children were : 
John, Thomas, Nathaniel, Elizabeth, Joseph,. 
Hannah, Nicholas and Jacob. 

(II) Tliomas Wade, son of Nicholas, mar- 
ried in 1672 Elizabeth, daughter of Thomas 
Curtis. He settled in Bridgewater about 1680, 
and there some of his children were born. In 
1693 he purcliased a farm near Nippenieket 
Pond. His will was dated in 1726. His chil- 
dren were: Jacob, born in 1673; Joseph, born 
in 1675; Sarah, born in 1678; Thomas, born 
in 1680; Hannah, born in 1682; Ichabod, born 
in 1685 ; Moses, born in 1689 ; Deborah, born in 
1691 ; and Rachel, born in 1692. 

(III) Thomas Wade (2), bora in 1680, mar- 
ried in 1722 Rebecca, daughter of Joseph Snow, 
and lived in what became West Bridgewater, 
Mass. Their children were : Hopestill, born in 
1725; Mary, born in 1727; Keziah, bom in 
1729; David, born in 1732; Rebecca, bom in 
1734. 

(IV) David Wade, born in 1732, married in 
1756 Maiy," daughter of Daniel Littlefield, and 
.their children were: Rebecca, born in 1757; 
Rhoda, born in 1759; Silence, born in 1762; 
Thomas, born in 1764; David, bom in 1766; 
Thomas, born in 1769; Keziah, born in 1772; 
and Mary, born in 1775. This family removed 
to the town of Easton. David Wade, the father, 
was a member of Capt. Eliakim Howard's com- 
pany. Col. Edward Mitchell's regiment, that 
marched to Braintree during the Revolution. 

(V) David Wade was born Sept. 20, 1766, 
and died May 7, 1817, in Easton, Mass. He 
was engaged in farming. His wife, Chloe, was 
bom June 12, 1768, and, their children were 
Eliza, born April 5, 1789; Patty, born Jan. 25 
1791; David, born July 12, 1792; Ramath 
born Nov. 15, 1793 ; Chloe, bom Feb. 23, 1797 
Amold, born April 29, 1798; Ajahal, born 
Aug. 20, 1799 ; Joseph D., born Dec. 8, 1800 
Fidelia, born Nov. 27, 1802 ; Lorenzo, bom 
Aug. 21, 1804; Oren, born Feb. 12, 1808 
Mary, bom July 12, 1809 ; and Susannah, bom 
June 1, 1811. 



SOUTHEASTEEX MASSACHUSETTS 



703 



(VI) Oren Wade, son of David, was born 
Feb. 13, 1808, in Easton, Mass., and after at- 
tending the district schools of his native town 
went to Milton, Mass., where he learned the 
trade of blacksmith. After acquiring a 
thorough knowledge of his trade he, as a young 
man, came to North Bridgewater (now Brock- 
ton) and settled in that part of the town 
known as Brockton Heights, where for many 
years he conducted a blacksmith shop. In po- 
litical faith Mr. Wade was originally an old- 
line Whig, and after the formation of the Re- 
publican party he became a stanch supporter of 
the principles of that party, but although he 
was always interested in public affairs he never 
sought public office. In manner he was quiet 
and unassuming, and devoted to his family. 
Of a cordial and friendly disposition, he made 
aud retained many friends. He inclined to the 
Unitarian Church, and gave his support to the 
same. On Aug. 24, 1834, Mr. Wade married 
Sophia Churchill, daughter of Isaac Churchill, 
of Plympton, Mass., and to them were bom 
children as follows : Oren Allen, bom June 14, 
1835, was a shoemaker by trade; he married 
Sarah Smith, of Easton, Mass., where they 
both died. Isaac Edmund, born x\ug. 12, 1839, 
a shoemaker by trade, married Martha A. 
Hunt, of Stoughton, Mass., and died in East 
Bridgewater in 1909. The mother of the above 
children died Nov. 29, 1839, and the father 
married (second) May 18, 1842, Jane Rich- 
mond, daughter of Apollos Richmond, of Mid- 
dleboro, Mass., who passed away Sept. 16, 1870, 
in Brockton, aged fifty-three years. To this 
second marriage came one son, Albert Rich- 
mond, mentioned below. 

Mr. Wade's line of descent from (I) John 
Richmond, of Ashton Keynes, Wiltshire, Eng- 
land, who came to this country and became an 
original purchaser of Taunton in 1638, is 
through (II) John Riclmiond (2), (III) Jo- 
seph Richmond, (IV) Henry Richmond, (V) 
Job Richmond and (VI) Apollos Richmond, 
father of Mrs. Jane (Richmond) Wade. 

(VII) Albert Richmond Wade was educated 
in the public schools and also attended a private 
school for some time. When his education was 
completed,_as a boy his first work was in a ma- 
chine shop) where he spent about one year. He 
then entered his father's blacksmith shop, and 
there served a regular apprenticeship, learning 
blacksmithing, horseshoeing and carriage-mak- 
ing, becoming so proficient that he had few 
equals in this part of the State. This was the 
trade he was following when elected mayor of 
Brockton, and his smithy was the one his 
father had established — for a long time the only 



one in this locality. It was while performing 
his duties as chief executive that he closed his 
forge, and formed a partnership with Lowell E. 
Smith for the manufacture of shoe findings, 
later adding leather trimmings and similar 
goods. The firm was known as Smith & Wade, 
and about five years before the latter's death 
erected the factory at No. 52 Haverhill street, 
Mr. Smith retiring four years later. Mr. Wade 
then conducted the business alone, assisted by 
his daughter, Helen E., now Mrs. Hamilton. 
He did much of the selling, and made many 
trips through the South and other parts of the 
country. On his return from these trips his 
friends at the Commercial Club would gather 
around him, delighting in the description^ of 
people and things his keen observation and 
kindly humor had preserved for them. 

As a young man he took a great interest in 
the public affairs of the town and in politics, 
frequently differing with his father. He was 
a Democrat, and in 1883 became a member of 
the city government as councilman from Ward 
Seven; he served with distinction, and in 1884, 
1886 and 1887 served as alderman. In 1887 he 
was chosen to head the administrative depart- 
me«t of the city, and so satisfactory was his 
conduct of official duties that he was reelected 
for a second term without opposition, being 
indorsed by both leading parties. His enforce- 
ment of the no-license law brought him the 
support of the best citizens of all parties. "His 
administration of affairs was that of a clean, 
capable man with ideas and a purpose. He 
pounded away at what he conceived to be right 
with the same ringing blows he had dealt his 
anvil." As his predecessor in that office. Col. 
John J. Whipple, said at the time of Mr. 
Wade's death : "He was a thorough Brocktonian, 
deeply interested in the welfare of the city, 
always championing any movement which he 
believed was for the best interests of the city. 
.... As a mayor his administration was 
honest, upright and conscientious." After his 
retirement as mayor he held no public office. 
Mr. Wade was a veteran fireman of Brockton 
Heights, a survivor of those old days when the 
fire-fighting apparatus consisted of a hand 
engine manned by volunteers. Seldom was he 
absent from a meeting of the Hancock Veteran 
Volunteer Firemen's Association, of which he 
was the first president, and he made the first do- 
nation toward their building fund. At the 
time of his death he was custodian of the silver 
trumpet, of such great interest in bygone days. 
In fraternal societies he was well known. He 
was a member and past grand of Massasoit 
Lodge, I. 0. 0. F. ; a member of Banner Lodge, 



704 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



N. E. 0. P., and twice grand warden of the 
grand lodge of Massachusetts. He belonged to 
the Commercial Club, the Brockton No-License 
League, and the Mayors' Club of Massachusetts, 
and was past president of the Wales Home. In 
all of these orders and clubs he was an active 
member. It was not in his nature to shift 
to others the responsibility that he knew to 
be his, and as he was a good citizen, alive to his 
town's needs, so he was a good member of what- 
ever organization he joined, ever willing and 
ready to do his part well. 

For twenty years Mr. Wade suffered with 
heart trouble, and the last three months of his 
life were months of enforced quiet. Just when 
coijiparative recovery seemed his, death came 
swiftly and suddenly, July 14, 1907, after a 
happy drive to his old home in Brockton 
Heights. The flag on the city hall and that 
over Hancock hall floated at half-mast, and 
the whole city mourned. At the funeral, held 
at the family home, were representatives of 
citizens in every walk of life — the city officials, 
the officers and members of the lodges and of 
the clubs, the Hancock Veteran Firemen — who 
were there as a guard of honor, business asso- 
ciates, men and women and children who knew 
him and loved him. The casket was covered 
with flowers and the room was filled with 
these mute but eloquent tributes to his mem- 
ory. The service itself was simple, as he would 
have desired it. The music consisted of songs 
he especially liked; one of them, "Here and 
There," by Banks, had greatly impressed him 
when sung at his daughters funeral several 
years before. Rev. Dr. Albert Marion Hyde, 
in the course of his eulogy paid this most beau- 
tiful tribute — more beautiful, indeed, because 
it was so very true : "He represented the best 
in public and in private station. No taint of 
corruption ever rested on his public fame ; no 
taint of pollution ever was whispered of his 
private life. AVith him religion, politics, busi- 
ness and life were one, he could not separate 
or distinguish them ; he did not have one set 
of principles for private life and another for 
public life ; to him Monday was as sacred as 
Sunday; his feet trod always on holy ground. 
.... As a child he went only to a country 
school, and that was all. He never attended 
the academies or colleges or universities, yet 
his education was complete. Life itself to him 
was but a school in which he was learning all 
the time. He knew that a cap and gown, a 
diploma and a degree, are not alone sufficient 
to fit a man for living. He knew that life is 
a school where all men study day by day, week 
after week, year after year, in tears and toil 



and trial, in patience and in humility, until at 
last God Himself smiles down as He did on our 
friend the other day and confers the one de- 
gree in the whole universe that is worth hav- 
ing. He was essentially a poet in feeling, in 
sensitiveness and in sympathy. The lion and 
the lamb lay down together in his heart. He 
knew music, for it symbolized to him the har- 
mony of the world. He knew art in the liigher 
sense, the art that is the expression of a man's 
joy in his work, and he lived the real artistic 
life, a life of simplicity, a life of purity, a life 
like that of the flowers, and the little chil- 
dren whom he loved. It is a privilege at this 
hour to recall the courteoiis grace which al- 
ways marked him. His stately bearing, bis 
dignity of character, made him distinguished 
everywhere. There was a prevailing serious- 
ness in his manner and in his speech which 

was most impressive No one will ever 

know all his beneficent deeds. There are wid- 
ows who will miss him ; there are orphans who 
will be heavy-hearted because he is gone; there 
are young men in business who will find it 
another world now he is here no more. His 
biography was written long ago by the great 
apostle of love in the thirteenth chapter of 
First Corinthians: He suffered long and was 
kind; he envied not, vaunted not himself, was 
not puffed up, did not behave himself un- 
seemly, sought not his own, rejoiced in the 
truth and hoped all things." 

The remains were laid to rest in Melrose 
cemetery beneath the stone placed there some 
two years before by Mr. Wade. This is a huge 
boulder, and from it on the top is chiseled an 
anvil — emblem of the work that engrossed his 
earlier years. 

On Oct. 31, 1865, Albert Richmond Wade 
was united in marriage with Susan Howard, 
daughter of the late Cyrus and Abi (Edson) 
Howard, of North Bridgewater, and a descend- 
ant of several of the leading families of North 
Bridgewater (now Brockton), many of whom 
were among the first settlers of the community, 
where they were prominently identified with 
the early government of the colony. Although 
not a meml)er, Mr. Wade affiliated with the 
Porter Congregational Church, to which he 
gave his liberal support, and of which his 
widow is an active member and worjver, she 
being an influential member of the various 
societies. To Mr. and Mrs. Wade were bom 
two daughters: (1) Carrie Agnes, born May 
!). 1869, married April 9, 1894, J. Willard 
Clapp, of Avon, Mass., and died in Brockton 
July 11, 1903. To this union was born a 
daughter, Rita Pauline. Feb. 26, 1895. who 





^oCl^/'<- -'0-;^:^c 



^^-e 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



705 



died July 7, 1896. (3) Helen Everet, born 
Jan. 14, 1873, married Dec. 33, 1907, Ashton 
Hamilton, formerly of Calais, Maine, now of 
Brockton, where he is engaged in the shoe 
findings business, formerly as a member of the 
firm of Hamilton & Strong, and now of the 
Wade Manufacturing Company. Mrs. Hamil- 
ton, who for some years prior to her father's 
death assisted him in his business, has since 
his death continued the business with equal 
success. She is a member of Deborah Samp- 
son Chapter, D. A. R., of Brockton (which 
she has served as treasurer), being eligible to 
membership througli the service of her great- 
great-grandfather, David Wade. 

REV. OBADIAH CHACE, of Swansea, 
Mass., for about fifty-si.x years a minister of 
the Society of Friends, was born April 12, 
1818, in Warren, R. I., son of Anthony and 
Isabel (Buffinton) Chace, the latter of whom 
lived to the age of ninety-three years. The 
Eev. Mr. Chace was the last survivor of a fam- 
ily of six children, two sons and four daugh- 
ters, and he was in the eighth generation in 
direct line from William Chace, who settled 
in Yarmouth, Mass., in 1637, the line being as 
follows: (I) William Chace and wife Mary; 
(II) William Chace; (III) William Chace and 
wife Hannah Sherman; (IV) Eber Chace and 
wife Mary Knowles; (V) Eber Chace and wife 
Sarah Baker; (VI) Obadiah Chace and wife 
Eunice Anthony, who lived on Prudence 
Island, engaged in the produce business, and 
after the husband's death the wife carried on 
the same business with great success; (VII) 
Anthony Chace and wife Isabel Buffinton, who 
moved to the old Gardner farm near Touis- 
set. The maternal or Buffinton line is as fol- 
lows: (I) Thomas Buffinton and wife Sarah 
Southwick: (II) Benjamin Buffinton and wife 
Hannah: (III) Benjamin Buffinton and wife 
Isabel Chace; (IV) Moses Buffinton and wife 
Isabel Baker; (V) Benjamin Buffinton and 
wife Charity Robinson; (VI) Isabel Buffinton 
and husband Anthony Chace. 

The Rev. Mr. Chace was brought up a farm- 
er, and followed that occupation successfully 
until his retirement at the age of sixty-six 
years. His education was received in a War- 
ren district school and at the Friends' School, 
Providence. At the age of thirty-four he was 
approved a minister of the gospel, and served 
the Somerset Meeting in that capacity for more 
than half a , century, without salary, and at 
the same time was a liberal contributor to 
the support of the church. Beginning his 
work when the church was in a relatively low 

45 



state of Christian life, he was instrumental, 
through persevering effort and liberal views, in 
greatly improving its condition, and during 
his ministry many were added to the member- 
ship. Although very active as an agricultur- 
ist he was never too busy to attend the mid- 
week meetings, funerals and other religious 
occasions of the Friends' Society. Nothing 
was allowed to come between him and his re- 
ligious duties. Although living seven and a 
half miles from the meetinghouse, he would 
drive twice — and when occasion required three 
and sometimes more times — a week to the place 
of worship. Nor was his work confined to the 
home meeting; he made two trips through the 
West, one in 1856, and one in 1872, traveling 
as far as Kansas and visiting meetings and 
families of Friends. He always preserved an 
active interest in the affairs of the New Eng- 
land Yearly Meeting, and he visited all the 
meetings within its limits. 

His liberal views were widely known, and 
his advocacy of church extension was well 
known, for he would not exclude any from 
fellowship on account of minor differences of 
belief. He was wont to quote the words of 
William Penn: "The Word of God without 
me, and the Grace of God within me, is the 
foundation and declaration of my faith ; let 
him find a better who can." He was always 
young-hearted, and a friend of the young peo- 
ple, with whom he mingled in social gather- 
ings, contributing to their enjoyment by an 
occasional poem or narrative. During his ca- 
reer he wrote many poems for social and lit- 
erary occasions, the greater number of which 
were brought together in a bound volume. 

As a citizen Mr. Chace was always actively 
interested in the public welfare. He taught 
school several winters at Warren Neck and in 
other towns in this locality ; was a member 
of the Warren town council in 18.57 and for 
several years immediately following; and rep- 
resented the town for two years in the General 
Assembly. During the Dorr Rebellion in 1842 
he took the side of the party in power. A 
watch was kept along the river that year, when 
two sailboats anchored in Mount Hope bay. 
The crews, composed of six men, hurried to 
shore and thence into Massachusetts. This 
aroused suspicion and several citizens, in- 
cluding Mr. Chace, after detaching the rud- 
ders and sails, scuttled the boats at their an- 
chorage. The authorities approved the action. 
The crews later returned, and said they came 
from Warwick to escape from the State and 
avoid military service. They were arrested and 
placed in the Bristol jail. In politics Mr. 



706 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



Chace was first a Whig, then a Free-soiler, and 
later, from the date of the organization of that 
party, a Eepublican. He worked persistently 
for good roads and good schools. Desiring a 
school in his own neighborhood, he built a 
schoolhouse and hired the teacher himself. He 
always interested himself in useful inventions 
and took great pleasure in the inventions of 
speedy transit, like bicycles and automobiles. 
When eighty-nine years of age he would ride 
in an automobile and never complain of too 
great speed whatever it might be. 

On April 28, 1845, Mr. Chace was married 
to Esther Taber Freeborn, daughter of Jona- 
than and Esther (Taber) Freeborn, and they 
had a married life of more than sixty years; 
their twenty-fifth, fiftieth and sixtieth anniver- 
saries were appropriately celebrated. Mrs. 
Chace, his constant companion in work and 
travel, died Nov. 20, 1905, aged eighty-two 
years, and he never recovered from the loss he 
then sustained. In 1884 he had retired from 
active work, and moved to Swansea. After 
his wife's death he became a member of the 
household of his son Charles, and there, after 
a gradual decline, passed away Sunday even- 
ing. May 19, 1907, in his ninetieth year. Until 
a very few months before his decease he walked 
every morning to the railroad station in South 
Swansea to get his daily paper, and he also 
attended church quite regularly. He kept in- 
formed on all current topics, and, with a re- 
markable memory, recalled historical facts and 
statistics with wonderful accuracy. He was a 
member of the American Peace Society, and 
kept fully abreast of the progress of peace and 
arbitration movements in all parts of the world. 
But alive as he was to the movements of men, 
he seemed resigned as he neared the close of 
life, and, indeed, desired the time when he 
should be called hence. Like the Apostle Paul 
he could say : "These hands have ministered 
unto my necessities and I have not been charge- 
able to any of you," and also that he had 
"fought a good fight, had finished his course, 
and had kept the faith." 

To the Rev. Obadiah and Esther Taber 
(Freeborn) Chace were born four children, as 
follows: Charles Anthony, born Dec. 23, 1846; 
Emma Rogers, born May 22, 1853, who mar- 
ried Edgar W. Chace, and died Jan. 6, 1906; 
Walter Freeborn, born Feb. 28, 1858; and 
George Mahlon, born April 3, 1864. 

In 1898 Mr. Chace published a book of 
poems dedicated as follows :  "To Augustine 
Jones, Principal of Friends' School, Provi- 
dence, R. I., where I first learned to frame 
words in metre, I dedicate this Book." In the 



preface he says: "The fir«t that I remember 
of any serious thought of rhyming was when. 
I was about seventeen years of age. A phre- 
nologist examined my head, and said in a very 
slighting kind of way, 'I guess he can't write 
poetry much.' I was rather skeptical in re- 
gard to the new science, and so I thought I 
would try to prove whether it were true. The- 
following is the result of my first effort." The 
titles of poems in this little volume are : The 
Seasons; The Slave's Lament; Ocean; Slavery; 
Composition ; Lines Written in an Album ; To 
My Cousin ; Snow Storm ; A Large Rain ; Dedi- 
cation of Farmers' Hall ; Lines Found in an 
Old Note Book; Welcome; Written for the 
Women's Foreign Missionary Society; Birth- 
day Party ; Re-Dedication of a Church built 
in 1743 ; Lines AVritten for the Ninetieth Birth- 
day of Deacon Peck, of Rehoboth; Christian 
Endeavor Social; The Clambake of 1872;, 
Christmas Carol ; Missionary Social ; 1845- 
1895, Fiftieth Wedding Anniversary, Obadiah 
Chace and Wife; For the Experience Social;, 
etc. In 1891 he wrote the following poem: 

In the name of the old Wickapimset 
And Swansey the more modern word 
We welcome Mead Kelsey our brother 
And servant of Jesus, our Lord. 

From his home in the broad Carolinas, 
Or prairies or leas of the West, 
He may find in his new habitation 
His seasons of labor or rest. 

The ministers ancient and modem. 
Who found in this parish their homes, 
Were Buflfintons, Braytons and Chaces 
And rather more recently Jones. 

But we welcome our wandering brother 
From his journeys of labor and love, 
With his doctrines as broad as the ocean 
And bright as the regions above. 

By the graves of our worshipping fathers, 
Now resting in silent repose, 
Who witnessed in ways that are simple 
And buried their faithful in rows; 

In this house where the voice of thanksgiving 
Has often been heard in the air, 
And the times when the whole congregation 
Arose and uncovered in prayer. 

The chan^jes in manner of travel 
We may not attempt to conceal. 
From old-fashioned saddle and pillion 
To electrics and automobile. 

So we welcome our laboring brother 

To a service as varied and free, 

As the winds that sweep over the mountains 

And play on the waves of the sea. 

* 
And we welcome his loving companion, 
To the hearts and homes of our friends, 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



707 



And the work both at home and in missions 
As that work in its progress extends. 

And in love we all welcome their children 
As plants in a garden are seen; 
May they grow both in station and wisdom 
In favor with God and with men. 

In the earlier days of the Pilgrims 
When passion was strong in the land, 
A company, friends of the martyrs. 
Were formed as an organized band. 

By the shores of a beautiful river 
Which they found in their diligent search. 
In a place which was called Wickapimset, 
They founded a visible church. 

The day of their earliest meeting. 
We may not with certainty know, 
But the date with account of its service 
The records of Heaven will show. 

In the year sixteen hundred and eighty 
A meeting for worship was held. 
And before and for many years after 
Their service the angels beheld. 

Through the years on each Sabbath morning. 
As far as our knowledge extends. 
There was held in this place where we ^ther 
A regular meeting of Friends. 

And now in Nineteen Hxindred One, 
This year of wondrous grace, 
I sign my name, Your Loving Friend, 
Etc., Obadiah Chace. 

In the last year of his life he wrote the 
following : 

We thank Thee, dear and blessed Lord, 
For gifts sent down from Heaven, 
And ask the fullness of His Grace 
For Nineteen Hundred Seven. 

We pri*e the fitting words arranged 
With wisdom and with care. 
And brought so lovingly to view 
In Bishop Brooks's Prayer. 

This little poem was inspired by the famous 
prayer of Phillips Brooks, which is as follows: 
"Pray the largest prayers. You cannot think 
of a prayer so large that God in answering it 
will not wish that you had made it larger. 
Pray not for crutches, but for winga. Pray 
that, whatever comes — trial, doubt, failure or 
success, hope, joy — it may all work together 
to make your soul fit, first to receive, and then 
to shine forth with, the light of God." 

Charles Anthony Chace, son of the Rev. 
Obadiah, born Dec. 22, 1846, was educated in 
the schools of Warren, R. I., and at the 
Friends' School, Providence. For three win- 
ters he taught school, and in 181'9 moved to 
the Abner Slade farm, residing there until 
1900, when he built his present beautiful resi- 



dence at South Swansea. His son Benjamin 
Slade Chace now resides on the farm. For 
many years Mr. Chace and his sons erected 
windmills, tanks and silos, and in 1902 they 
incorporated the New England Tank and 
Tower Company, Mr. Warren 0. Chace taking 
charge of the factory at Everett, Mass. Mr. 
Chace was a Republican previous to 1884, when 
he joined the Prohibition party, becoming one 
of its active and leading members. He has 
been for many years a member of the State 
committee, has served as a delegate from 
Massachusetts to two Presidential conventions, 
has been a candidate on the State ticket several 
times, and in 1900, 1901, 1902 ai3d'1906 was 
the candidate for State senator from his dis- 
trict, the vote those years being 263, 409, 459 
and 738, respectively. In 1904, as candiSate 
for presidential elector, he received 4,275 votes; 
and in 1909, as candidate for State auditor, 
5,663. For seven years Mr. Chace served his 
town as a member of the school board, and he 
is also a member of the Massachusetts Sunday 
School Association. 

On Sept. 26, 1873, in the Friends' meeting- 
house, jVIr. Chace married Adeline Francis 
Slade, adopted daughter of Abner Slade, of 
Swansea, who has a sketch following this. 
Mr. and Mrs. Charles A. Chace have had 
children: Benjamin Slade, born Jan. 11, 1875; 
Harold Anthony, born Aug. 13, 1876, who 
died Feb. 28, 1878; Arthur Freeborn, born 
May 13, 1879 ; Warren Obadiah, born June 12, 
1882; and Sarah Slade, born April 22, 1889. 
Mr. and Mrs. Chace are life members of the 
American Peace Society. 

Benjamin Slade Chace, son of Charles 
Anthony, born Jan. 11, 1875, married June 
19, 1895, Carrie Estelle Mosher, and they have 
had five children : Fenton Mosher, born Aug. 
11, 1896; Harold Dean, Dec. 22, 1898; Clyde 
Fuller, Aug. 6, 1908; Carol Elisabeth, Feb. 
21, 1910; and Beryl, March 8, 1911 (died 
March 28, 1911). Mr. Chace lives upon his 
father's farm, and is ably managing the ex- 
tensive work there. 

Arthur Freeborn Chace, M. D., son of. 
Charles Anthony, born May 13, 1879, was edu- 
cated at Oakwood Seminary, Union Springs, 
N. Y., Earlham College, Richmond, Ind., from 
which he received the degree of A. B., and 
also graduated from Harvard with the degree 
of A. B., and from the College of Physicians 
and Surgeons of New York City with the de- 
gree of M. D. He has advanced rapidly in 
his profession, and is now secretary and assist- 
ant treasurer of the New York Post-Graduate 
Hospital, and a member of its board of trus- 



708 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



tees. Dr. Cliace married Nov. 2, 1911, Kath- 
leen Stirling Fletcher, of New York, where 
they reside. 

Warren Obadiah Chack, son of Cliarles 
Anthony, born June 12, 1882, married Oct. 2, 
1907, M. Flossie Mosher, and has one child, 
Esther Freeborn, born Jan. 22, 1911. Mr. 
Chace has charge of the factory of the New 
England Tank and Tower Company, at Ever- 
ett, Massachusetts, 



Walter Freeborn Chace, son of Rev. Oba- 
diah, born Feb. 28, 1858, resides at Coachella, 
Cal. He married Dec. 24, 1880, Celia Perkins 
Emery, daughter of Eliplialet Emery, former 
superintendent of the Durfee Mills at Fall 
River. They have had three children : Emery 
Perkins, born July 31, 1882, who married 
April 25, 1905, Elsie M. Herbst, born Aug. 
30, 1882, and has had four children, Emery 
Philip (born Jan. 29, 1906, died Nov. 6, 
1907), Ruth (born July 8, 1907), Chester F. 
(born Aug. 29, 1908) and Gail P. (born Feb. 
2, 1910) ; Anthony F., born May 1, 1888; and 
Walter Freeborn, Jr., born June 27, 1897. 

George Mahlon Chace, son of Rev. Oba- 
diah, born April 3. 1864, died Sept. 12. 1907. 
On Sept. 7, 1887, he married Emma F. Sladc. 
He was foreman for Beattie & Cornell, con- 
tractors, at Fall River, Massachusetts. 

SLADE. The name Slade was in use as a 
surname as early as 1200 and the name of 
de la Slade occurs in the Hundred Rolls of 
the thirteenth century. The Slade faniily of 
Trevennen in Gorran, ('ounty of Cornwall, in 
the time of Queen Elizabeth had a coat of 
arms, as did the Slade family of Maunsell 
House, County of Somerset, England. 

(I) Edward Slade, of whom little seems 
known more than he was admitted a freeman 
in Rhode Island in 1658, is said to have been 
a native of Wales, and that he lost his life in 
a voyage from America to England. 

(II) William Slade, son of Edward, born in 
1662, in Wales, came to this country and ap- 
pears at Newport ; was made a freeman in 
1659. He is said to have come from Newport 
in 1680 in company with other young men, 
among them Jonathan Bowers, to that part of 
Swansea (Mass.) now Somerset, and where lie 
settled was called after him .Slade's Ferry. Of 
the company Bowers and Slade only remained 
and founded the settlement — Somerset. Mr. 
Slade became a large land owner in that vicin- 
ity and portions of his estate are still owned 
by his descendants. He married about 1684 
Sarah Holmes, born in 16G4, daughter of Jona- 



than and Sarah (Borden) Holmes, and grand- 
daughter of Rev. Obadiah Holmes, of Reho- 
botli. Slade's Ferry was kept in the family 
upward of 200 years. William Slade died 
March 30, 1729, aged sixty-seven. His wife 
died Sept. 10, 1761, in her ninety-seventh year. 
Children : Jonathan, who died when about 
eighteen years old; Sarah, born in 1687; Mary, 
born in Mav, 1689; William, born Nov. 20, 
1692; Edward, born June 4, 1694; Elizabeth, 
born Dec. 2, 1695; Hannah, born July 5, 
1697; Martha, born Feb. 27, 1699; Phebe, 
born Sept. 25, 1701 ; Jonathan, born Aug. 3, 
1703; and Lydia, born Oct. 8, 1706. 

(Ill) Edward Slade, of Somerset, son of 
William, born June 14, 1694, married (firet) 
in 1717 Elizabeth Anthony and (second) Dec. 
6, 1720, Phebe C'hase, daughter of Samuel and 
Sarah (Sherman) Chase, granddaughter of 
William Chase and great-granddaughter of 
William Chase, the immigrant. His third wife 
was Deborah Buffum. He died April 5, 1755. 

(lY) Joseph Slade, son of Edward and 
Phebe (Chase) Slade, born Nov. 16, 1724, 
married (first) July 25, 1747, Hannah Chase; 
he married (second) Deborah Brayton ; and 
(third) PrisciUa Borden. 

( V ) Benjamin Slade, son of Jose])!) and 
Hannah (Chase) Slade, born June 16. 1753, 
married June 17, 1779, Elizabeth Robinson, 
daughter of John and Phebe (Chase) Robin- 
son. Children: Rebecca, born Aug. 5, 1780; 
Hannah, Jan. 1, 1783 (married Oliver Earle) ; 
Phebe. Oct. 20, 1785; Elizabeth, Nov. 25, 
1787; Susanna, July 12, 1790; Abner, Oct. 2, 
1792; Ruth Borden. Jan. 25, 1795 (married 
Moses Buffington) ; and Content. Feb. 8. 1798. 

(VI) Abner Slade, son of Benjamin and 
Elizabeth (Robinson) Slade. was born in 
Swansea Oct. 2, 1792, on the homestead of his 
father, and his long life was passed in this 
vicinity. He was reared a farmer and tanner, 
succeeding his father in the tanning business, 
which he followed the rest of his life. By 
perseverance and the strictest integrity he built 
u]i a fine business which grew to large propor- 
tions. He was systematic and industrious, and 
believed in giving the most minute detail the 
same attention he would give to larger affairs. 
He retired with a handsome competency as 
the reward of his application and energy, 
leaving business activities in 1856, and his re- 
maining years were devoted to looking after 
his various investments. He never accepted 
nor wi.shed for oflRce, having no political aspira- 
tions. He was a director of the Fall River Na- 
tional Bank many years and was interested in 
the Old Colonv Railroad and to some extent 




P O b L I 



l<^^^--^>^- 




SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



r09 



in the Providence and Worcester Railroad. He 
was also stockholder in various corporations 
and manufactories in Fall River. 

On Sept. 30, 1829, Mr. Slade married Sarah, 
daughter of Asa and Elizabeth (Mitchell) 
Sherman, who was born Feb. 30, 1810. Asa 
Sherman was the son of Samson and Ruth 
Sherman, of Portsmouth, R. I., born Dec. 22, 
IT'TO, and he died in Fall River, Mass., Dec. 
29, 1863, aged eighty-four years. He was a 
lineal descendant of Philip Sherman, who in 
1636, with seventeen others, purchased from 
the Indians the islands of Rhode Island — Pa- 
tience, Hope and Conanicut. Asa's wife, Eliza- 
beth, was the daughter of Richard and Joanna 
Mitchell, of Middletown. R. I., born Oct. 17, 
1782, and she died in Fall River April 22, 
1858, in her seventy-si.xth year. They had ten 
children, of whom Mrs. Slade was third. 

The married life of Mr. and Mrs. Slade cov- 
ered a period of over half a century, and it 
was one of peace and happiness. They had no 
children, but adopted a little girl of about two 
years, Sarah Bovvers, to whom they gave ten- 
der care until her death, in her twentieth year. 
They then adopted Adeline F. Cole, when seven 
years of age, born March 29, 1849, to whom 
they gave the love and care of fond parents. 
She married Charles A. Chace, and they reside 
at South Swansea. Mr. Slade passed through 
the years of life to a hale old age, in which 
the powers of thought and consolations of re- 
ligion held sway until his death, which oc- 
curred Dec. 2, 1879. 

At a special meeting of the hoard of direc- 
tors of the Fall River National Bank, Dec. 4. 
1879, the following preamble and resolution 
was passed : 

Whereas, It has pleased our Heavenly Father to 
remove by death our highly respected associate, Abner 
Slade, at the ripe age of eighty-seven years, who has 
been identified with this bank as director for more 
than thirty-three years, giving to it his counsel find 
judgment, a man honored for his sterling integrity 
and Christian character; therefore, 

Resolved, It is not as a mere formality -that this 
board recognize the loss they have sustained, and 
in token of respect to his memory, and to manifest 
our sj'mpathy with his family, this board will .ittend 
his funeral in a body. 

Mr. Slade was an earnest member of the 
Society of Friends, and was held in high es- 
teem by his brethren. The Frinuh' Rpvie.w 
gave this notice of him: "Abner Slade, an 
elder of Swansea Monthly Meeting of Friends, 
deceased, twelfth month, second, 1879, aged 
eighty-seven. He was truly a father in Israel. 
While we deeply feel our loss, and miss his 
sweet words of counsel, we can but rejoice 



when we think of his triumphal death, and 
remember how his countenance beamed with 
joy when he told us he was going to his home 
in heaven." 

SHURTLEFF. (I) William Shurtleff, 
when a youth, came to America from Eccles- 
field, a village of Yorkshire, England, located 
some five miles from Sheffield, and about 
twenty from Scrooby, the early gathering place 
of the Pilgrims before they went to Holland. 
He was at Plymouth as early as 1634; was 
among those able to bear arms in 1643. He 
removed to Marshfield, where he was a pro- 
prietor and town officer. He married Oct. 18, 
1655, Elizabeth, daughter of Thomas Lettice. 
He was killed by lightning and was buried 
June 24, 1666, his Avidow administering his 
estate. She later remarried. His children 
were: William, born in 1657; Thomas; and 
Abiel, born in June, 1666. 

(II) Abiel Shurtleff, of Plymouth, son of 
William, born in June, 1666, married in 1696 
Lydia, daughter of Jonathan Barnes, of Ply- 
mouth. Their children were : James, born Nov. 
16, 1696; Elizabeth, Dec. 6, 1698; Lydia, Feb. 
28, 1701; David, June 1, 1703; Hannah, July 
31, 1705; John, Nov. 8, 1707; Benjamin, April 
11, 1711; William, Sept. 8, 1713; Joseph, .Jan. 
22, 1716; and Abiel, Oct. 23, 1717. The fam- 
ily home was in that part of the town which 
became Plympton, and there the mother died 
Sept. 10, 1727, and the father Oct. 28, 1732. 

(III) David Shurtleff, son of Abiel, born 
June 1, 1703, married in 1731 Bethiah, daugh- 
ter of Benoni Lucas, and their children were: 
Abiel, born in 1734; David; and perhaps 
others. 

(IV) Abiel Shurtleff (2), son of David, born 
in 1734, married Mary, bom in 1737, daugh- 
ter of James LeBaron, of Middleboro, Mass. 
Their children were: Gideon, bom in 1762; 
David, born in 1765; James, in 1768; Joel, in 
1771; Enoch, in 1773; Abiel, in 1776; and 
Enoch (2), in 1779. At the father's death, in 
1826, he had living three hundred and fifty 
descendants. 

(V) Gideon Shurtleff, of Carver, son of 
Abiel (2), born in 1762, married Lucy Shaw, 
and their children were: Phebe, bom March 17, 
1786, who died April 5, 1822; Lavina, born 
April 5, 1788, who died June 28, 1820; Gid- 
eon, born May 15, 1789; James, bom April 8, 
1795: Sabra, bom June 27, 1792, who died 
March 27, 1822; Luther, bom Nov. 24, 1790, 
who died Oct. 7, 1827; Bethia, born Nov. 16, 
1793, who died Sept. 14, 1852; Malinda, born 
Jan. 27, 1797; Eunice, bom Jan. 27, 1797; 



710 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



Robert, born May 14, 1799, who died Feb. 3, 
1826; Levi, bom March 3, 1801; Lucy, born 
Feb. 14, 1803; Betsy, born Feb. 13, 1805; 
Alden, born Jan. 24, 1807, who died April 15, 
1812; Albert, born March 4, 1809; Mary, born 
March 5, 1812, who died Nov. 15, 1812; 
Amanda, born March 4, 1817, who died May 
22, 1889. 

(VI) Albert Shurtleff, son of Gideon, was 
born March 4, 1809, and died April 26, 1887. 
He married Lucy Thomas, a native of Middle- 
boro, Mass., and they had five children, two 
of whom died in infancy. The three survivors 
were: Lucy Ann, born in 1839, who married 
Job Cole Chandler, of Carver, Mass., and their 
children were Alton C. and Ida M. ; Eunice 
B., who married Daniel Dunham, of Carver, 
and had three children, William B., Charles 
Otto and Teresa M. (deceased) ; and Albert 
Tiilson. 

(VII) Albert Tillson Shurtleff was 
born Jan. 31, 1837, in Carver, Mass. When 
a young man, at the age of sixteen, he secured 
a position on a fishing schooner, but after four 
years on the §ea resigned his place from the 
ship's crew and went to Providence, R. I., to 
learn the jeweler's trade. On April 17, 1861, 
he enlisted from Providence in Company D, 
1st R. I. Detached Militia. He was mustered 
in at Washington, D. C, and on July 21, 1861, 
was at the first battle of Bull Run, where he 
received a wound caused by a minie ball strik- 
ing him on the right arm between the elbow 
and shoulder. He was taken prisoner on the 
retreat, and after the expiration of ten days 
was taken to Libby prison, where he was held 
until Oct. 7, 1861, being paroled and delivered 
to the Union lines at Newport News. His right 
arm was amputated by the surgeons on the 
battlefield three days after he was taken pris- 
oner. Mr. Shurtleff then applied himself dili- 
gently to the study of law and in 1879 was 
admitted to the District of Columbia Ijar, after 
graduating with honors from the National Law 
School. His health becoming impaired, he re- 
signed a position in the War Department at 
Washington, in the paymaster general's office, 
which he had held for a number of years, and 
returned to Carver. Here he entered the lum- 
ber business, becoming associated with the late 
Benjamin Ward and the late John J. Russell, 
of Plymouth. Later Mr. Shurtleff devoted 
himself to cranberry growing, shipping to all 
parts of the country. He continued in the 
same until his death. 

On Aug. 8, 1871, Mr. Shurtleff was married 
to Maria Young Davis, daughter of James and 
Sophia (Smith) Davis, of Washington, D. C, 



and they had children as follows: (1) Mary 
Elizabeth, born June 28, 1872, married Alfred 
Allen Walker, of Washington, D. C, and their 
children are : Ruth S., born May 24, 1895, and 
Grace A., born Jan. 23, 1899, all living in 
Washington, D. C. (2) Walter Davis, born 
May 31, 1875, in Washington, D. C, is men- 
tioned below. (3) Lucy Thomas, bom Jan. 9, 
1877, in Washington, D. C, married March 4, 
1896, Herbert F. Atwood, of Carver, where 
they reside, and they have children: Roy F., 
Charlotte M., Eunice, Carlton S. and Davis B. 
(4) Anna Kimball, born Jan. 6, 1882, in Car- 
ver, married July 9, 1904, Ellsworth Vernon 
Shaw, of Carver, and they have one child, Mar- 
jorie Aima, born April 17, 1909. They reside 
in Pembroke, Mass. (5) Carlton, bom May 
8, 1888, in Carver, is unmarried, living with 
his mother. 

The death of Albert Tillson Shurtleff oc- 
curred Feb. 16, 1902, in Carver, Mass. He 
was a man of wide acquaintance and held in 
high esteem by all who knew him. He was 
instrumentaL in the establishment of the Car- 
ver Free Public Library, and was chairman 
of the board of trustees from its inception up 
to the time of his death. He served fourteen 
years as town clerk of Carver, and for eight 
years he was selectman, assessor and overseet 
of the poor. He was justice of the peace also 
for a number of years. A member of Colling- 
wood Post, No. 76, G. A. R., of Plymouth, 
his funeral was attended by the comrades of 
that post, and he was laid to rest with all 
the honors due a soldier, the interment taking 
place in Carver Centre cemetery. 

(VIII) Walter Davis Shurtleff. M. D., 
son of Albert Tillson, was bom May 31, 1875, 
in Washington, D. C, and was educated in the 
public schools of Carver, in the Eaton School at 
:^Tiddleboro, and in the State Agricultural Col- 
lege at Amherst. In Howard University, 
Washington, D. C, he took the full medical 
course and graduated in 1897, with the degree 
of M. D. He opened an office for practice that 
same year in Kingston, Mass., and has since 
continued in active work in Kingston and Ply- 
mouth. In 1903 he opened an office in Ply- 
moiuh, where he also has a good practice. Dr. 
Shurtleff belongs to Cornerstone Lodge, A. F. 
& A. M., of Duxbury; Middleboro Lodge, I. 0. 
0. F.; Accomack Tribe, I. 0. R. M., of Ply- 
mouth, of which he is a charter member; and is 
medical examiner for a number of insurance 
companies and fraternal organizations. In 
politics he is a Republican, and is now serving 
as a commissioner of Inland Fisheries, and is 
also a member of the Fish and Game commis- 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



711 



sion. He holds the office of justice of the 
peace, so long held by his father. Profession- 
ally the Doctor is allied with the Plymouth 
County and Massachusetts State Medical So- 
<ielies, and with the New England Electro- 
Therapeutic Association. 

Dr. Shurtleif married Dec. 25, 1898, Helen 
Eliza Sleeper, born in Lynn, Mass., daughter of 
Horace J. and Genevra (Bisbee) Sleeper, of 
Xiynn. They have three children : Flora G., 
born Oct. 6, 1899; Albert H., Nov. 30, 1900; 
and Francis LeBaron, June 10, 1902. 

TABER. The Taber family of Dartmouth, 
New Bedford and Fairhaven, one of the oldest 
families in southeastern Massachusetts, is de- 
scended from 

(I) Phillip Taber, who, according to Savage, 
was born in 1605, and died in 1672. He was 
at Watertown in 1634, and he contributed 
toward building the galley for the security of 
the harbor. He was made a freeman at Boston 
in that same year and at Plymouth in 1638. 
In 1639-40 he was a deputy from Yarmouth, 
and was afterward at Martha^s Vineyard, a.nd 
from 1647 to 1655 was at Edgartown, going 
from there to New London in 1651, but prob- 
ably returning soon. He was an inhabitant 
■of Portsmouth in February, 1655, and was a 
representative in Providence in 1661, the com- 
missioners being Roger Williams, William 
Field, Thomas Olney, Joseph Torrey, Phillip 
Taber and John Anthony. He later settled in 
Tiverton, where his death occurred. He mar- 
ried Lydia Masters, of Watertown, Mass., 
daughter of John and Jane Masters, and (sec- 
ond) Jane Masters, sister of his first wife, born 
in 1605, died in 1669. His children were: 
John, baptized at Barnstable Nov. 8, 1640, who 
died young; Phillip, baptized at Barnstable in 
February, 1646, who married Mary Cook; 
Thomas, born in 1644, baptized at Barnstable 
in February, 1646 ; Joseph, baptized at Barn- 
stable Feb. 11, 1646; and Lydia, who married 
Pardon Tillinghast, and died in 1718. 

(II) Thomas Taber, son of Phillip, born in 
February, 1644, baptized in 1646, died Nov. 11, 
1730. He was town surveyor in 1673; town 
clerk and constable in 1679; freeman in 1684; 
selectman in 1685, 1692, 1694. 1699, 1701, 
1702 and 1711; was twice representative to 
the General Court (once in 1693), and captain 
in 1689. His house in Dartmouth (now Fair- 
haven) was burned by the Indians in 1675, and 
he fled with his family to the blockhouse which 
had been built by John Cook. Mr. Taber after- 
ward built another house, a portion of the south 
end of which is standing (1912). Thomas 



Taber was married (first) to Esther Cook(e), 
daughter of Rev. John and Sarah (Warren) 
Cook(e), he a son of Francis Cook(e) and 
she a daughter of Richard Warren, both of 
the "Mayflower." She died in 1671, and 
he married (second) in June, 1672, Mary 
T(h)ompson, born in 1650, first cousin of his 
first wife, daughter of John and Mary (Cook) 
T(h)ompson, of Dartmouth, and gmnddaugh- 
ter of Francis Cook(e), of Plymouth, and she 
died May 3, 1734. To his first marriage were 
born: Thomas, Oct. 2, 1668, and Esther, April 
17, 1671. The eleven children of the second 
marriage were: Lydia, born Aug. 8, 1673; 
Sarah, Jan. 28, 1675; Mary, March 18, 1677; 
Joseph, March 7, 1679; Thomas, Feb. 22, 1681; 
John (twin to Thomas) ; Jacob, July 26, 1683; 
Jonathan, Sept. 22, 1685; Bethiah, Sept. 3, 
1687; Phillip, Feb. 7, 1689; and Abigail, May 
2, 1693. 

(III) Jacob Taber, son of Thomas and Mary 
(T(h)ompson) Taber, born July 26, 1683, 
married Sarah West, of Tiverton, daughter of 
Stephen and Mercy (Cook(e)) West, and died 
April 4, 1773. She died Dec. 5, 1775, in her 
ninetieth year. Their children were: Eunice, 
born July 10, 1711, married Sept. 13, 1739, 
Benjamin Akin, and died June 4, 1762 ; Ste- 
phen, born Feb. 22, 1712-13, married Dec. 9, 
1734, Rebecca Taber; Jerusha, born Aug. 27, 
1715, married Nov. 16, 1752, John Wood (son 
of Thomas and Content Wood) ; Bartholomew, 
born Sept. 11, 1717, married Mercy Bowditeh 
(daughter of William and Mary West Bow- 
ditch) ; Lois, born Aug. 23, 1719, married Jan. 
25, 1750, Thomas Hathaway (son of Thomas 
Hathaway) ; Sarah, born July 23, 1721, died 
April 16, 1745; Jacob, born May 21, 1723, 
married May 1, 1754, Lydia Howland (daugh- 
ter of Barnabas Howland) ; and John, born 
Nov. 28, 1726, died Aug. 27, 1760. 

(IV) Bartholomew Taber, son of Jacob and 
Sarah (West) Taber, born Sept. 11, 1717, mar- 
ried March 15, 1769, Mercy Bowditeh, daugh- 
ter of William and Mary (West) Bowditeh. 
Their children were: Sarah, born May 13, 
1771; John, May 23, 1773; Jacob, Oct. 12, 
1775; and Bartholomew, Aug. 5,. 1779. 

(V) John Taber, son of Bartholomew and 
Mercy (Bowditeh) Taber, born May 23, 1773, 
died in 1847. In 1800 he married Mary 
Hathaway, eldest daughter of Stephen and Abi- 
gail (Smith) Hathaway, and they had two 
children: Sarah Russell, born Sept. 27, 1806, 
who married Capt. Henry Huttleston; and 
George Hathaway, born Oct. 29, 1808. 

(VI) George Hathaway Taber, son of John 
and Mary (Hathaway) Taber, was born Oct. 



713 



SOUTHEASTEKX MASSACHU SETTS 



29, 1808. His parents were Quakers. His 
father was a farmer, and in his boyhood the son 
worked on the farm and attended school. On 
completing his education in the institution 
known as "The Old Academy" he went to sea, 
and made voyages in merchantmen for several 
years. In 1832 he became a captain and con- 
tinued to follow the sea for several years, sail- 
ing principally from New York for European 
ports. He finally retired to his farm in Fair- 
haven, where he spent the balance of his life, 
dying on Dec. 12, 1901, at the age of ninety- 
three years, in the same room in which he was 
born. Captain Taber was repeatedly honored 
with offices in the town government and served 
as selectman and overseer of the poor almost 
continuously from 1850 to 1890. He was a 
member of the board of directors of the Fair- 
haven Institution for Savings from its incep- 
tion, and was its president from 1880 to the 
time of his death. He was also a trustee of 
the Millicent Library, of Fairhaven, in which 
he took a keen interest. He was deeply inter- 
ested in Freemasonry, and the Masonic lodge 
in Fairhaven and the building occupied by it 
were named for him during his lifetime. Up 
to and beyond his ninetieth year he continued 
vigorous and participated actively in the busi- 
ness and social life of Fairhaven, which knew 
him so long. In 1858 he married Eliza Parker, 
daughter of Joseph and Prudence (Nye) Bates, 
of Fairhaven, and two sons were born to them: 
George Hathaway, born Jan. 20, 1859, and 
John Huttleston, born Jan. 16, 1862. 

(VII) George Hathaway Taber (2), son 
of George Hathaway and Eliza Parker (Bates) 
Taber, was born Jan. 20, 1859, and is now liv- 
ing in Pittsburgli, Pa. He married Jan. 11, 
1887, Bessie Fessenden, daughter of George L. 
and Mary (Hoxie) Fessenden, of Sandwich, 
Mass., and they have had children as follows: 
George Hathawav, born Jan. 4, 1890 ; Mildred 
Fessenden, Jan. 20, 1892; Philip. Jan. 9, 1894; 
Laura Hathaway Nye, Jan. 4, 1896; and Elisa- 
beth Fessenden, May 28, 1899 (died Jan. 11, 
1900). These children have at least seven 
"Mayflower" ancestors, three on their father's 
side and four'^^n their mother's. . Mr. Taber 
has in his possession a deed dated 1672, given 
by John Cook, one of the "Mayflower" Pilgrims 
and one of the original purchasers of Dart- 
mouth, to his son-in-law, Thomas Taber (II). 
This deed conveyed land in Fairhaven, a part 
of which has never been deeded since, being 
handed down from father to son, and now be- 
longing to Mr. Taber. 

(VII) John Huttlestox Taber, son of 
George Hathaway and Eliza Parker (Bates) 



Taber, was born Jan. 16, 1862, and now makes 
his home in San Francisco, Cal. In 1892 he 
married Mary Arthur Frick, of Danville, Pa., 
and they have three children: Mary Hath- 
away, born Oct. 15, 1893; John Huttleston, 
June, 1895; Alexander Frick, September, 1899. 

MAYNAED ALTON DAVIS. One of the 
business institutions of which the people of 
Brockton and the adjacent towns can feel justly 
proud in these days is the Brockton Public 
Market, carrying one of the largest and most 
complete stocks in the New England States. 
The career of the gentleman who is its founder 
and presiding genius presents many points wor- 
thy of commendation, for although a resident 
of the community for but a little over a decade 
he has become one of the best-known business 
men in this section of the Commonwealth. 

Owing to the loss of his father when he was 
but a few days old, Mr. Davis was early com- 
pelled to seek his own livelihood; beginning 
life with no capital save a goodly amount of 
boundless energy and a resolute purpose, he has 
pushed his way upward against hindering ob- 
stacles. In the best sense of the word he is a 
self-made man, but merit commands recogni- 
tion, and the deserving find doors opening and 
the way growing plainer as -they go forward. 
Courage, fidelity, thrift and integrity are the 
prices that must be paid, and Mr. Davis has 
settled in a large measure for all that favoring 
fate or fortune has brought him. Born of 
sturdy and thrifty ancestry, he has inherited 
those traits which have materially assisted him 
in "the battle of life." 

Maynard Gardner Davis, father of Maynard 
Alton, was a native of Vermont, where he was 
engaged in agricultural pursuits. He was born 
in Richford, Vt., son of Gardner Davis, a tan- 
ner, and after attending the neighboring 
schools settled down to the life of a farmer, 
at wliich occupation he continued until the 
outbreak of the Civil war, when he promptly 
offered his services to his country, enlisting in 
Company G, 32d Maine V. I. He continued 
in the service until the battle of Spottsylvania 
Court House, which lasted from May 8 to May 
18, 1864, and which was the second greatest 
battle of that war, 18,000 men being killed and 
wounded ; and there he lost his life, the victim 
of a Confederate picket's shot. Mr. Davis mar- 
ried Adeline Little, who died in Poland, Maine, 
the mother of three sons, as follows: Dellazon 
A., who is unmarried and resides in Brockton, 
an employee at the Brockton Public Market ; 
Donizetta I., a mechanical engineer, who died 
in Montana in 1889; and Maynard Alton. 





VOA^yMJXMJAj Ct , 




ctA^t^^y 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



713 



Maynard Alton Davis was horn May 4, 1864, 
in Poland, Maine, but a few days prior to the 
death of his father on the battlefield. As a 
boy he attended the district schools of his na- 
tive town, and during that time he gave what 
assistance he could to his widowed mother. 
From the time he was eleven until he became 
sixteen he worked at Poland Springs, Maine, 
in summers, and at the age of sixteen he left 
school to begin his life's work. Leaving home 
he went to Pawtucket, R. I., and secured em- 
ployment in the provision store of R. S. Dar- 
ling & Sons, in whose employ he continued for 
a period of seven years. He then bought a 
large farm in Seekonk, Mass., which he suc- 
cessfully conducted as a stock and dairy farm 
from 1887 to 1894, having a ready market for 
his products in Providence and vicinity. Upon 
leaving the farm he again entered the provis- 
ion business, this time as traveling salesman 
for the Darling Brothers Company, of West 
Fourteenth street, New York, this firm being 
composed of the sons in the firm of R. S. Dar- 
ling & Sons, his former employers in Paw- 
tucket. After spending about a year in the 
capacity of traveling salesman in the New 
England States, he returned to the farm, 
which he conducted but a short time, when he 
decided to embark in the provision business 
on his own account, and in November, 1896, 
in company with C. C. Hall, under the firm 
name of Hall & Davis, opened a market and 
provision store on. Broad street, Pawtucket, 
known as the New Public Market, continuing 
as a partner in this business until February, 
1899, in which year he sold out his interest 
in the business to Mr. Hall. Mr. Davis then 
toured the New England States in search of a 
city in which to locate in business on his own 
account, during this time visiting every city 
in that section having a population of 30,000 
or more. He finally decided upon Brockton 
as the most promising city, and in November, 
1899, he there opened a market and provision 
store in the Lyman block. This business meet- 
ing with success he later leased the Satucket 
block, where he opened up for business, run- 
ning the two stores for a time, after which he 
consolidated them, removing the business to 
the latter block, corner of Main and West Elm 
streets, wliich became known as the Brockton 
Public Market. Shortly after establishing this 
business he incorporated the same under the 
laws of Maine with a capital of $50,000 
($35,000 paid in), becoming president and 
treasurer of the concern, and he has since re- 
mained in the capacity of president, Mr. J. 



E. Morrow becoming treasurer in 1909. Mr. 
Davis has extended and increased this business 
until now a corps of about 100 people is given 
employment and a number of wagons are used 
in the delivery of the goods both in Brockton 
and the surrounding towns. In 1906 Mr. Davis 
instituted a Food Fair, held each year during 
the second and third weeks of January, and 
during the first year's exhibition his store was 
visited by 15,322 persons on the first Saturday 
— actual count. From a small beginning the 
Brockton Public Market grew rapidly and 
steadily, until it had no superior in a city of 
like size. The increase of business necessitated 
additional floor space, and in 1909 Mr. Davis, 
upon the completion of the Holbrook building, 
adjoining the Satucket block, leased a large 
portion of the space in the rear of the building, 
which was connected with the Satucket block, 
and at the same time he took over the remain- 
ing space on the ground floor of the Satucket 
block, acquiring a floor space of 44,480 square 
feet. On Sunday morning, July 31, 1911, the 
Satucket block, occupied by the Brockton Pub- 
lic Market Company, the Holbrook building 
next north on Main street, and the F. W. Wool- 
worth store were practically destroyed by fire. 
The Satucket block was gutted, the adjoining 
lodging houses wrecked, and the Holbrook 
building badly damaged. This, the biggest fire 
in the history of Brockton's business district, 
started Sunday morning at 4 :09 and the loss 
conservatively estimated was $200,000. To 
meet the threatening fire crisis all of the fire- 
fighting apparatus that Brockton has was used 
and companies vtete called from Boston, 
Quincy, Rockland, Avon, Stoughton and Taun- 
ton, with some apparatus. Fifty firemen were 
overcome by ammonia fumes in this fire 
and others were overcome by smoke. On 
Tuesday night following the fire Mr. 
Davis closed a deal in which he pur- 
chased outright the business of the J. W. 
Shaw Company, including the stock, fix- 
tures and good will, and on Wednesday morn- 
ing that store was opened under the Public 
Market management. On the following Sat- 
urday the Brockton Public Market opened a 
branch store at No. 19 East Elm street under 
the Orpheum Theatre. 

Since becoming a resident of Brockton Mr. 
Davis has taken an active interest in all mat- 
ters pertaining to the advancement and welfare 
of his adopted city. He is a director of the 
Plymouth County Trust Company, and an in- 
corporator of the People's Savings Bank. In 
political faith he is an independent Republican, 
and a firm believer in local option, being an 



714: 



SOUTHEASTEKN MASSACHUSETTS 



active member of the No-license League of 
Brockton. He is a member of the Royal Arca- 
num, holding membership in the lodge at 
Pawtucket, Ehode Island. 

Mr. Davis is a member of the First Baptist 
Church of Brockton, and has served for sev- 
eral years as a member of the finance com- 
mittee of the church. He was active in the 
work in connection with the erection of the 
new church at the corner of Warren avenue 
and West Elm street, which was completed in 
1909, he having been chairman of the build- 
ing committee in charge of its construction. 

On Oct. 27, 1886, Mr. Davis was married 
to Emma Smith Walker, daughter of George 
H. and Sarah (Burgess) Walker, of Seekonk, 
Mass., and tliis union was blessed with seven 
children, as follows: Chester Allen, who died 
at the age of one year, eight months; Mabelle 
Esther; Marion Edna, «'ho died aged sixteen 
years; Euth Adeline; Howard Halsey; May- 
nard Wentworth, .who died in infancy; and 
Stanton Walker. 

As may be seen, Mr. Davis has been the 
architect of his own success, showing what may 
be accomplished by one who possesses those 
qualities so essential to achievement — self- 
reliance, pluck, energy, thrift and determina- 
tion. His success is not entirely due to a nat- 
ural-born business acumen, but rather to the 
unhesitating grasp of opportunity, and as well 
in taking the initiative. His business career 
has been of that clean-cut, wholesome character 
which makes him a worthy example to the ris- 
ing and ambitious young man of to-day. He 
has just cause to feel a pride in his life's 
achievement and in the place he has earned for 
himself in the business circles of his adopted 
citv. 



George Halsey Walker, father of Mrs. 
Davis, was born in 1837, and is a direct de- 
scendant of Philip Walker, who is of record 
at Eehoboth in 1653. being a son of "Widow 
Walker" of Eehoboth, and brother of James 
Walker of Taunton. Widow Walker was one 
of the first proprietors and purchasers of the 
town, but when and whence she came to New 
England, and where she died, alike seem un- 
known. From Philip Walker the descent of 
George H. Walker is through Samuel Walker, 
of Eehoboth, Mass., and his wife Martha Ide; 
Peter Walker, of Eehoboth, and his wife Mary 
Child ; Lieut. Moses Walker, of Eehoboth, and 
his wife Sarah Bowen; Lieut. Moses Walker 
(2) of Seekonk, Mass., and his wife Hannah 
Carpenter, he a soldier of the Eevolution and 



a lieutenant in the militia ; and George Wash- 
ington Walker of Seekonk, Mass., and his wife 
Esther Smith. George H. Walker went to Cali- 
fornia by way of Panama during the gold ex- 
citement. 

Mrs. Sarah (Burgess) Walker was a daugh- 
ter of John M. Burgess, one of the "forty- 
niners" to California, he making the trip 
around Cape Horn in a three-masted schooner, 
which occupied six months in making the trip. 

JAMES EDWIN BLAKE, one of the oldest 
druggists in southeastern Massachusetts, is one 
of the best known citizens of New Bedford, 
where he is now living retired after an active 
career of sixty-five years in the drug business. 
Mr. Blake was born in Fall Eiver, Mass., and is 
a descendant of one of the oldest and best 
known families of Bristol county. 

The Blakes are an ancient family in England, 
mentioned on the Wiltshire rolls of subsidies 
granted by Edward L, A. D. 1286, and Eobert 
de Blakeland was assessed to that king's re- 
quirement. The progenitor Eobert Blake 
dropped the particle "de" and the suffix "land" • 
from the name. He was a resident of Calne, ad- 
joining the family estates in Blakeland, where 
he was assessed to the subsidies of Edward III. 
in 1347 to an amount far exceeding any other 
inhabitant of the town. He married Anne Cole, 
daughter of William Cole. From this Robert 
Blake has been traced by genealogists William 
Blake, the immigrant to New England, as fol- 
lows: 

(II) Henry Blake, son of Eobert, married 
the daugliter and co-heir of Eobert Durant. 

(III) William Blake, son of Henry, married 
Elizabeth Power. 

(IV) Henry Blake (2), of Calne, son of Wil- 
liam, married Margaret Bellett. 

(V) Eobert Blake, of Calne, son of Henry 
(2), married Alice Wallop. 

(VI) William Blake (2), of Calne' and 
White Parisli, of Wiltshire, son of Eobert. 

(VII) William Blake (3), son of William 
(2), of Andover, White Parish, in Old Hall in 
Eastontown. married Mary Cole or Coles. 

(VIII) Humphrey Blake, son of William (3), 
married Agnes. He removed early in the six- 
teenth century to Over Stowey, Somersetshire, 
and became lord of the manor of Plainfield in 
that parish, etc. 

(IX) John Blake, son of Humphrey, born 
in 1521, succeeded to the manor of Plainfield, 
etc. ; he married Jane. 

(X) William Blake (4), son of John, 
bought land in Pitsminster in 1586 and went 
there to live. He had children: Grace, bap- 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



715 



tized Feb. 9, 1588 ; Eme, baptized Dec. 3, 1592 ; 
William, baptized Jul}' 10, 1594; John, bap- 
tized June 15, 1597; Anne, baptized Oct. 16, 
1600; and Richard, baptized April 17, 1603. 
The American line is as follows: 

(I) William Blake, son of William (4), 
eleventh in descent in the English line and 
first in the American, baptized July 10, 1594, 
married Sept. 23, 1617, at Pitsminster, Eng- 
land, Agnes Band, a widow, and they had chil- 
dren, baptized at Pitsminster: John, Aug. 16, 
1618; William, Sept. 6, 1630; James, April 
27, 1624; Edward. William Blake was one of 
the founders of Springfield in 1636. He re- 
moved to Dorchester, where he is of record 
Jan. 3, 1637. 

(II) William Blake (2), son of William 
and Agnes (Band) Blake, born in England, 
baptized at Pitsminster Sept. 6, 1620, came to 
America with his father. His first wife was 
Anna, his second (married Nov. 22, 1693, at 
Milton) Sarah (Tolmon) Lyon, daughter of 
Thomas and Sarah Tolmon. In 1660 Mr. Blake 
received an allotment of land in that part of 
Dorchester set oil in 1662 as Milton. He 
owned a large farm on Brush Hill in Milton. 
He was very closely identified with Milton, both 
in connection with church and business affairs. 
He served on the committee to build the new 
meetinghouse, as selectman, sergeant of the 
inilitia, etc. He was deputy to the General 
Court in 1680-83-90-97. He died in Milton 
Sept. 3, 1703, aged eighty-three. His wife died 
Aug. 4, 1729 (?), in Dorchester, in her ninety- 
first year. Eight of his eleven children were 
Taom in Dorchester, Mass., and the others in 
Milton. The children were: Samuel, born 
May 14, 1650; Anne, baptized March 7, 1651, 
who died in infancy; Anne (2), born March 6, 
1652-53; Mary, bom March 12, 1654-55; Wil- 
liam, born Feb. 22,. 1656-57 ; Nathaniel, born 
July 4, 1659; Edward, born April 13, 1662; 
Experience, born June 17, 1665; Agnes, born 
Sept. 29, 1667; Susan, bom Julv 20, 1670; 
and Mehetabel, born April 2, 1673'. 

(III) Samuel Blake, son of William (3), 
born May 14, 1650, in Dorchester, Mass., mar- 
ried Sarah, daughter of George and Susanna 
Macey, of Taunton, Mass., and died in the lat- 
ter town in 1719. Children, order of birth not 
known, were: (1) Priscilia married May 30, 
1700, John,, son of Nathaniel Smith. (2) 
Samuel died in Taunton in January, 1771, 
aged ninety-one. He may have lieen the Sam- 
uel Blake who married May 19, 1701, in Taun- 
ton, Sarah Pitts. (3) Edward. 

(IV) Edward Blake, son of Samuel, died in 
Taunton July 25, 1759, in his seventieth year. 



His wife, formerly Anne Hanover ("daughter 
of Ann Grinfell"), died Nov. 21, 1790, in the 
ninety-third year of her age. Children: Ed- 
ward, Grenfield, Mary (who married a Hos- 
kins), Sarah, Priscilia (who married Ebenezer 
Joydale), Silence (wife of Jacob Barney), Pru- 
dence (married Thomas Rob), Jerusha and 
Jane. 

(V) Grenfield Blake, sou of Edward and 
Anne (Hanover) Blake, was born in Taunton 
in 1721. He made his home in Taunton, where 
he died while still in the prime of manhood, 
Sept. 9, 1753, at the age of thirty-two years. 
He married Desire Crocker (?), and they had 
two children : Grenfield and Samuel. 

(VI) Grenfield Blake (2), son of Grenfield 
and Desire Blake, was born Oct. 6, 1752, in 
Taunton, where he grew to manhood, and he 
made his permanent home in that section, being 
an extensive land owner there ; he owned what 
was known as Blake's Landing, and also oper- 
ated a brickyard. He died in Taunton May 
10, 1813. During the Revolutionary war he 
enlisted in the patriot army, his record being 
as follows: "Greenfield" Blake, private, Capt. 
Josiah King's company. Col. David Brewer's 
regiment; muster roll dated Aug. 1, 1775; en- 
listed June 20, 1775; service, one month, two 
weeks; company return, dated Oct. 7, 1775. 
Also, private. Captain King's company. Col. 
Rufus Putman's (late Brewer's) 9th regiment, 

' order for bounty coat or its equivalent in money, 
dated at Roxbury Dec. 2, 1775. Also, matross, 
Capt. Samuel Fales's Taunton (artillery) com- 
pany. Col. G. Williams's regiment. General 
Godfrey's brigade, marched to Slade's Ferry in 
Swanzey, R. I., on the alarm of Dec. 8, 1776; 
service, thirty-one days. Also, private, Capt. 
Jonathan Shaw's company. Col. John Daggett's 
regiment, elilisted Aug. 21, 1778, discharged 
Sept. 1, 1778; service twelve days at Rhode 
Island. Also, private. Capt. Josiah Crocker's 
artillery company, Colonel Mitchell's regiment. 
Brigadier General Godfrey's brigade, marched 
to Tiverton, R. I., on the alarm of Aug. 2, 
1780; service eight days. His son James Hart 
Blake was administrator for his estate, which 
was quite large for the time. Grenfield Blake 
married Phebe Hart, and their children were: 
Grenfield, bom Feb. 26, 1780, married Abigail 
Dean Sept. 22, 1805 : Phebe, born Dec. 13, 1781, 
married David Reed ; Hanover was born Dec. 
20. 1783: Desire Crocker, born Sept. 23, 1785, 
married Ruius Cobb, Jr., April 19, 1808; 
James Hart was bom Aug. 16, 1787; Polly 
Hart was bom Aug. 7, 1789 ; Hannah C., bom 
Sept. 13. 1791, married Barney Pratt: Betsey 
H. was bora Sept. 29, 1793; Gilbert, April 5, 



716 



SOUTHEASTEKN MASSACHUSETTS 



1796; Luther, in August, 1798; Amity, Aug. 
14, 1801. 

(VII) James Hart Blake, born Aug. 16, 
1787, in Taunton, Mass., there grew to man- 
hood. He was engaged in the making of brick 
in Taunton, in his father's brickyard, and in 
Fall River. Later he was engaged in hatmak- 
ing in Dighton. He lived at Taunton, Dighton 
and Fall River. On Oct. 10, 1832, he sailed 
in the sloop "Ann Maria," of Freetown, Mass., 
for Darien, Ga., having charge of a load of mer- 
chandise for his brother-in-law. The sloop 
made New York and from there sailed for her 
destination, which she never reached, having 
been lost veith all hands. 

On Aug. 27, 1823, James Hart Blake mar- 
ried Sarah Pitts, who was born in Dighton, 
Mass., Sept. 12, 1798, daughter of Capt. George 
and Lydia (Stetson) Pitts. Children: (1) James 
Gilbert, born Nov. 24, 1824, died Jan. 19, 
1826. (2) James Edwin, born Dec. 27, 1827, 
is mentioned below. (3) Sarah Elizabeth, born 
May 30, 1829, married Harrison Gray Lowell, 
and they had three children: Walt<?r Nichols, 
born July 23, 1852, married Dec. 24, 1879, Nel- 
lie Wood, and they have had two children, Sarah 
Frances (born March 3, 1885, died July 29, 
1893) and Walter Wood (born Aug. 25, 1895) ; 
Nellie Gray, bom Aug. 26, 1854, married Clin- 
ton E. Stark, M. D., in February, 1885, and 
they have two children, Florence (born May 
21, 1887) and Lowell (born Dec. 7, 1892) ; 
James Harrison, born May 4, 1860, married 
Florence Hard Oct. 8, 1898, and they have 
four children. Wade Harrison (born Aug. 12, 
1899), Blake J. (born June 16, 1901), Doug- 
las Walter (born June 4, 1903) and Edwin 
Gray (born Sept. 19, 1905). (4) Mary Luther, 
born March 28, 1833, resides at Meriden, New 
Hampshire. 

(VIII) James Edwin Blake, son of James 
Hart and Sarah (Pitts) Blake, was born Dec. 
27, 1827, in Fall River, Mass. His father dy- 
ing at sea when James was yet a mere lad, the 
widowed mother and children moved to Dighton, 
where they made their home with her father, 
George Pitts. At the age of fourteen James 
E. Blake went to New Bedford and became a 
drug clerk, in the same building and on the 
same site where his active career terminated 
sixty-five years later. It was back in the thir- 
ties of the last century he entered the apothe- 
cary shop of Dr. S. Tompkins & Brother. He 
attended school between his working hours, and 
wlien he reached his eighteentli year, like most 
of the other boys of his acquaintance, he had 
a desire to engage in whaling, but Dr. Tomp- 
kins talked him out of the idea, promising an 



interest in the firm when he reached his ma- 
jority. When he became of age the original 
firm was dissolved to make place for young 
Blake, who was given an interest in the busi- 
ness. The firm continued under the old name 
for several years afterward, and upon the death 
of Dr. Tompkins Mr. Blake was willed the 
Doctor's interest in the concern. For a period 
the business was continued as formerly, later 
taking the name of James E. Blake, and so it 
continued to the end. At one time, shortly 
after the late F. B. Hadley had served his time 
under Mr. Blake, he purchased an interest in 
the business, and James E. Blake & Co. was the 
name adopted by the new partners, but Mr. 
Hadley's connection with the firm was of short 
duration. 

In the early days of Mr. Blake's experience 
the putting up of medicine chests for the whale 
ships was a money-making proposition, and the 
man who secured this contract made a good 
thing of it. During his first year in the busi- 
ness as a member of the firm Mr. Blake fitted 
twenty-five ships, and as the whaling industry 
increased so did trade along that particular line. 
The firm that started as Dr. S. Tompkins & 
Brother ended as James E. Blake & Co., and 
did a great business in certain patent medicines 
which had more than a mere reputation. Dr. 
Tompkins's Spring Bitters and Dr. Fisher's 
Golden Seal are remedies which will be recalled 
by older residents. Dr. Fisher's Golden Seal 
had immense sales. It was introduced by a 
peddler named Cape and was compounded by 
the firm at the outset, later being taken up by 
the house and puslied for all its worth. When 
Mr. Blake retired from business he sold the 
formula to the Eastern Drug Company of Bos- 
ton, which continues to keep it on the market. 

In Mr. Blake's day there have graduated 
ilruggists under him — I. H. Shurtleff, F. B. 
Hadley, L. H. White and C. T. Bosworth, three 
of whom are to-day among the leading drug- 
gists in New Bedford, besides others who are 
in business elsewhere. Blake's corner was, so 
to speak, the old school for the young men de- 
siring to got a start. In its day the firm was 
one of the most successful in southea.stern 
Massachusetts, and after sixty-five years of 
'activity James E. Blake left the work to be 
taken up by his son George A. Blake. 

What a remarkable record ! Sixty-five years 
in one building and on the same site ! Persist- 
ent as a boy in his chosen profession, Mr. Blake 
gained the good will of his employers, as stated, 
and now, in his declining days — in the eighty- 
fourth year of his age — he can look )iack with 
pleasure at some of the happenings which led 



southeastp:rn masSx\chusetts 



717 



up to his success, for in his time he was one 
of the leading druggists. Witliout a doubt Mr. 
Blake is the dean of that profession in this 
part of the old Bay State, and while he is well 
remembered by men in middle life here in New- 
Bedford, few of the present generation know 
that at one time he carried on the most ex- 
tensive business of its kind in the city. 

Blake's C'orner, as it was called so long ago, 
and the old wooden building on the southeast 
corner of Middle and Second streets in which 
the now aged apothecary sold drugs for sixty- 
five years, may surely be considered one of the 
landmarks of New Bedford and a most inter- 
esting one to father and son. 

James E. Blake is a member of Star in the 
East Lodge, A. F. & A. M., of DeMolay Com- 
mandery, K. T., of the Massachusetts State and 
Americah Pharmaceutical Associations and of 
the Massachusetts College of Pharmacy. He 
is the only surviving charter member of the 
City Guards. • 

On Jan. 24, 1861, James Edwin Blake mar- 
ried Lois Akin Davis, daughter of Humphrey 
and Nabby (Spooner) Davis, and they had 
children as follows: (1) Edwin Humphrey, 
born Jan. 26, 1862, died April 26, 1869. (2) 
George Augustus, horn Feb. 25, 1864, succeeded 
his father in the drug business, but later sold 
out, and is now engaged in manufacturing in 
Boston, Mass. (3) Clara Sears, born May 13, 
1866, was educated in the public and high 
schools of New Bedford and is now a clerk in 
the school board office. New Bedford. (4) Ralph 
Vincent, bom Sept. 9, 1868, educated in the 
local public and high schools and at Harvard 
Dental School, practiced first in Boston and is 
now practicing in New York. He married 
Huldah Carlson, and they have had children, 
Mildred V.. Ralph H. (died in infancy), Lois 
M., and Walter L. (5) James Edwin, Jr., born 
Dec. 12, 1870, was educated in the public and 
high schools of New Bedford and learned the 
drug business with his father, and is now a 
druggist "in Boston, his home being in Walt- 
ham, Mass. He married Ella Gardner. (6) 
Lois Davis, born March 17, 1873, was educated 
in the New Bedford public and high schools and 
at Pratt's Institute, Brooklyn, N. Y., and' i^s 
now a kindergarten teacher in Brooklyn, N. Y. 
(7) Herbert Tompkins, born June 18, 1875, 
married Grace Van Wyangartcn, and has one 
child, Grace E. He built up a splendid drug 
husiness in Caldwell, Idaho, but because of ill 
health he was obliged to prepare for out-of-donr 
work. Accordingly he attended the College 
of Orcharding in Corvallis, Oregon, from which 
■school he graduated in June, 1911. since when 



he has been offered the position of superin- 
tendent of the Roswell Park Fruit Tract Com- 
pany, his duties beginning in February, 1913. 
(8) Ada Swasey, born Dec. 8, 1877, attended 
the public and high schools in New Bedford and 
later Radcliffe College, Cambridge, Mass., and 
is now a teacher in the Young Ladies' Academy 
at Albany, N. Y. (9) Emily Stetson and (10) 
Robert Pitts, twins, were born Feb. 3, 1880. 
She was educated in the public and high schools 
of New Bedford and the State normal school at 
Bridgewater, Mass., from which she was gradu- 
ated in 1904, and taught school in New Bedford 
for several years, but is now at home. Robert 
P. Blake is with his older brother in Boston in 
the manufacturing business. 

Mrs. Blake, the mother of this family, died 
at her home in New Bedford May 25, 1906, and 
is buried in Oak Grove cemetery. Mr. Blake in 
his declining years has the devoted care of his 
daughters. 

Davis. The Davis family, of which the 
late Mrs. James Edwin Blake was a descendant, 
is an old and well-known family of this section 
of the State. 

(I) Dolar Davis, born in 1593, married in 
the County of Kent, England, March 29, 1634, 
Margery Willard, baptized Nov. 7, 1603, daugh- 
ter of Richard Willard, of Horsemonden, 
County of Kent, yeoman. Davis, with his wife 
and three children and Simon Willard, his 
wife's brother, came to New England and set- 
tled prior to Aug. 4, 1634, in Cambridge, 
Massachusetts. He was a carpenter and master 
builder. He removed to Du.xbury, then became 
a resident of Barnstable. He left Plymouth 
Colony and returned to Massachusetts Bay 
Colony, etc. 

(II) John Davis, son of Dolar, born in Eng- 
land, married March 15, 1648, the daughter of 
Robert Linnell, of Barnstable. He was a house 
carpenter. His home lot of eight acres was the 
first on the west side of what is now Hyannis 
road. He died in 1703. 

(III) Timothy Davis, son of John, married 
7th of 1st month, 1690, Sarah, daughter of 
Edward Perry, of Sandwich. He joined the 
Society of Friends and removed to Rochester. 
His oldest son was born in Sandwich and the 
other children probably in Rochester. 

(IV) Nicholas Davis, son of Timothy, born 
Oct. 28, 1690, in Sandwich, married (first) 
20th of 2d month, 1715, Mary, daughter of 
John and Elizabeth Summers, of Rochester; 
(second) Ifith of 12th month 1724-25, Hannah, 
daughter of William Wood, and (third) 10th 
of 5th month, 1729, Ruth, daughter of Abra- 
ham Tucker. 



718 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



(V) Nicholas Davis (2), son of Nicholas and 
Euth, of Rochester, married 24;th of 13th 
month, 1761, Sarah, daughter of Obadiah and 

, Catherine Williams, the former then deceased, 
the latter of Shrewsbuiy, wife of John Russell. 
Children : Hunmhrey, John R., Obediah (who 
married Ruth Slierman), Abraham (married 
Abigail Sherman), Timothy (married Paul- 
ine Stephens), Williams (married Elizabeth 
Tripp), George, Salley (married a Gifiord), 
Kate (married John Jenney) and Elizabeth 
(married Joseph Tripp). 

(VI) Humphrey Davis, son of Nicholas (8) 
and SaraJi (Williams) Davis, married Eunice 
Hathaway, and they had children as follows: 
Lois died unmarried; Hannah married Prince 
Sears; Humphrey, Jr., is mentioned below; 
Nancy married Prince Sears (his second wife) ; 
Rebecca married Ira Leband, a Baptist min- 
ister; Sarah married Joseph Shockley; George 
died uiimarried. 

(VII) Humphrey Davis, Jr., born Feb. 20, 
1798, at Long Plain, Mass., there made his 
home and died March 2, 1863. His wife died 
Dec. 2, 1886. On Dec. 20, 1820, he married 
Nabby Spooner, who was born Oct. 30, 1802, 
and they had a large family, born as follows: 
Nancy Vincent, Oct. 8, 1821 (died Feb. 11, 
1890); Elizabeth Rouncville, Sept. 3, 1823; 
HannaJi Church, April 16, 1825; Walter 
Spooner, March 16, 1827; Joshua Vincent, 
June 2, 1829 (died Nov. 20, 1893) ; Eunice 
Hathaway, March 30, 1831 ; Abbie Spooner, 
Nov. 5, 1833 (died April 12, 1873) ; Isaac Vin- 
cent, Nov. 15, 1835; Lois Akin, May 14, 1838 
(married James Edwin Blake, of New Bedford, 
and died May 25, 1906) ; Rebecca Leland, Jan. 
7, 1841; Sarah Forest, April, 1843; George 
Humphrey, Sept. 10, 1846 (died in 1893); 
Harriet Angeline, April 17, 1848. 

Pitts. The Pitts family, of which James 
Edwin Blake is a descendant on his mother's 
side, is an old and well-known one of Bristol 
county. Peter Pitts, the founder of this branch, 
settled in Taunton as early as 1643. He mar- 
ried about 1654 Mary Andrews, daughter of 
Henry Andrews and widow of William Hodges. 
He died in 1692-93. Children : Samuel, Mary, 
Sarah, Peter and Alice, and Ebenezer. 

Ebenezer Pitts, born in 1670, died Feb. 28, 
1735, in Dighton, Mass. He married Elizabeth 
Hoskins, daughter of John and Elizabeth 
(Knapp) Hoskins, and they had children: 
Elizabeth, born in 1700 (who married Joshua 
Philips); Sarah M., 1703; Mary. 1705; Han- 
nah, 1707; a daughter, July 3, 1709 (died in 
infancy); Mary, Nov. 15, 1712; George, Sept. 
15, 1715; Silence, March 14, 1718. 



George Pitts, son of Ebenezer, born Sept. 
15, 1715, married Elizabeth Brightman. Chil- 
dren: Ebenezer, born June 10, 1749 (died Oct. 
9, 1750); Elizabeth, Aug. 23, 1750; George, 
Aug. 5, 1752; Mary, June 26, 1754; Susannah 
and Silence, twins, June 15, 1756; Sarah, April 
4, 1760. 

Capt. George Pitts, son of George and Eliza- 
beth (Brightman) Pitts, was born Aug. 5, 
1752, in Dighton, where he was a farmer and 
land owner. He enlisted in the Revolutionary 
war, his record being as follows : George Pitts, 
Dighton, private, Capt. Peter Pitts' company. 
Col. Timothy Walker's regiment, muster roll 
dated Aug. 1, 1775; enlisted May 2, 1775; ser- 
vice three months, six days. Also, company 
return dated Oct. 6, 1775. Also, order of 
bounty coat or its equivalent in money, dated 
Roxbury, Nov. 5, 1775. Capt. George Pitts 
married Lydia Stetson, of Scituate, Mass., bans- 
published in Dighton June 3, 1780. She was 
a daughter of Ebenezer Stetson, of Scituate. 
Children: George, born Feb. 21, 1782; Lydia, 
April 11, 1784; Thomas Stetson, AprU 5, 1786; 
John, Aug. 28, 1788 (was drowned in the 
James river, Virginia, July 23, 1816) ; Eliza- 
beth, Sept. 25, 1791; Joseph, July 14, 1794; 
Sarah, Sept. 12, 1798; Hannah, Aug. 9, 1802 
(died Aug. 30, 1808). The father of this fam- 
ily died Aug. 31, 1838, in Dighton. 

Sarah Pitts, daughter of Capt. George Pitts,, 
born at Dighton, Mass., Sept. 12, 1798, married 
(intentions published in Dighton, July 5, 1823) 
James Hart Blake. 

ALLEN PHELPS KEITH, superintendent 
of the public schools of New Bedford, and well 
known as an educator throughout this section 
of Massachusetts, is a direct descendant of the 
Rev. James Keith, a Scotchman, who was the 
first minister of Bridgewater. 

(I) Rev. James Keith was educated at Aber- 
deen, Scotland, and came to America in 1662, 
locating at West Bridgewater. He was then 
eighteen years old. He was ordained in Feb- 
ruary, 1664, and died July 23, 1719. He 
married Susanna Edson, daughter of Samuel 
Edson, and they had children as follows: 
James, Joseph, Samuel, Timothy, John, Jo- 
siah, Margaret, Mary and Susanna. The Rev. 
Mr. Keith married (second) in 1707 Mary 
Williams, widow of Thomas Williams, of 
Taunton. 

(II) John Keith, son of Rev. James, mar- 
ried in 1711 Hannah Washburn, daughter of 
Samuel Washburn, and they lived in Bridge- 
water. He died there in 1761, and she in 1766. 
Their children were: Joihn, bom in 1712; 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



719 



James, 1716; Israel, 1719; HaJinah, 1721 
(married in 1740, Benjamin Leach, Jr.) ; Ke- 
ziah, 1723 (married Arthur Bennett, 1744) ; 
Daniel, 1725; Susanna, 1727; Zephaniah, 
1730; Joseph; Mary (married 1761, Solomon 
Pratt). 

(III) Zephaniah Keith, son of John, born 
in Bridgewater, in 1730, grew to manhood in 
his native town. He later made his home in 
Easton, and remained there until his house 
was burned. He then went to Sheldon, Vt., 
where some of his sons had settled. There he 
died at a ripe old age. In 1750 he married 
Mary Hooper, daughter of Nathaniel Hooper. 
Their children were: Israel, born in 1750, 
graduated from Harvard University in 1771, 
was adjutant general of Massachusetts, but 
later moved to Vermont, and died there in 
1819 ; Scotland married Parnel Howard, daugh- 
ter of Col. Edward Howard; Cyrus; Euel set- 
tled in Vermont; Jonathan settled in Kenne- 
bec, Maine; Unite and Alfred both settled in 
Vermont. 

(IV) Cyrus Keith, son of Zephaniah, was 
born in Middleboro, where he made his home. 
He enlisted during the Revolutionary war in 
Middleboro as private in Capt. Nehemiah 
Allen's Company, Col. Theophilus Cotten's regi- 
ment, and served thirty-one days on secret ex- 
pedition to Rhode Island, September and Oc- 
tober, 1777; was also a private in Capt. Na- 
thaniel Wood's Company, Col. Ebenezer 
Sprout's Regiment, enlisted May 6, 1778, dis- 
charged May 9, 1778, served three days; com- 
pany marched on two alarms at Dartmouth, 
Mass., one in May, and one in September, 1778. 
Mr. Keith married Bathsheba Sprout, daughter 
of Col. Ebenezer Sprout, a Revolutionary offi- 
cer. Their children were : Abigail, Jolin, Bath- 
sheba, Israel, Mary, Thomas and Malinda, 
After the death of his wife, he married (sec- 
ond) Jane Thomas, and their children were: 
Cyrus, Jene, Susan, Philand^, Nancy and 
two others. He married (third) a lady by the 
name of Eveleth. They lived in Providence, R. 
I., and later moved to New York, where he 
died at the age of eighty-three years. 

(V) John Keith, son of Cyrus, was born at 
Middleboro, where he married Abigail Thomas. 
Their children were: Abigail, Thomas, Mary, 
Israel and Cyrus. Mr. Keith died in Middle- 
boro at the age of sixty-three years. 

(VI) Thomas Keith, son of John, was born 
at Middleboro, where he grew to manhood, and 
worked at the nail making trade. He followed 
his calling in Fall River, Taunton, Middle- 
boro, and later at Bridgewater in the Bridge- 
water Iron Works. He made his home in the 



latter town, where he died in 1872, and was 
buried in the Prospect street cemetery. He 
married Julia A. White, of Raynham, Mass., 
daughter of Martin and Parmelia (Washburn) 
White. Their cliildren were : Alfred T. ; Is- 
rael, who resides at Plymouth, Mass.; Mary, 
who died young; Juliette, who married Alex- 
ander Dove and resides at Bridgewater; Anna 
W., who married George W. Gossett, is now a 
widow and resides in Bridgewater. 

(VII) Alfred T. Keith, son of Thomas, bom 
Feb. 18, 1839, in East Taunton, was educated 
in the public schools of Middleboro, and be- 
came an iron worker, following his trade in 
Bridgewater, and also at Nashua, N. H., and 
Providence, R. I. He worked for some time in 
the Bridgewater Iron Works. He died June 
14, 1903. He was a member of the Masonic 
fraternity. Mr. Keith married Mary B. Phelps, 
born at Swanton, Vt., daughter of , Allen 
Phelps, and granddaughter of John and Betsey 
(Pratt) Phelps, and a descendant of the well 
known Phelps family of Connecticut. Mrs. 
Keith is still living, making her home with her 
daughter, Mrs. Willis, where she is tenderly 
cared for. Mr. and Mrs. Keith had children : 
Emma B., born Feb. 3, 1867, married Arthur 
H. Willis, the well known editor of Bridge- 
water (See sketch elsewhere in this work) ; 
John M., born at Quincy, Mass., Dec. 15, 1870, 
died Feb. 1, 1883; Allen Phelps was born 
Dec. 18, 1872. 

(VIII) Allen Phelps Keith, son of Alfred 
T., bom at Bridgewater, Dec. 18, 1872, at- 
tended the public schools of that town. When 
the fariiily removed to Nashua, N- H., he en- 
tered school there, but later returned to Bridge- 
water, and attended the Bridgewater Academy. 
Prom there he entered the State Normal 
School of Bridgewater, under Dr. Boyden, and 
graduated in 1894. He took up the profession 
of teaching, going to Pascoag,. R. I., where he 
taught in the public schools for a year and a 
half, when he was appointed superintendent 
of the public schools of the town of Burrill- 
ville, R. I., a position he filled with ability until 
1904, when he accepted a like position in the 
schools of East Providence, R. I. There he 
remained until 1906, when he came to New 
Bedford, teaching in the Clifford school until 
June, 1908, when he received the appointment 
of superintendent of the schools of New Bed- 
ford, succeeding W. E. Hatch. Mr. Keith is 
well-fitted for ' his position. He is a natural 
student, is equipped with a vast fund of general 
information, and in addition has the enthusi- 
asm and magnetism that is inspiring to pupils. 
As an executive he has shown marked ability. 



720 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



and the schools under his direction liave ad- 
vanced along modern ideas without detriment 
to the thoroughness of the instruction given. 

Mr. Keith is a member of Fellowship Lodge, 
A. F. & A. M.; Adoniram Chapter, K. A. M. ; 
New Bedford Council, and Sutton Command- 
ery, K. T., all of New Bedford. He is a mem- 
her of the National Educational Association. 
He takes a deep interest in the Young Men's 
Christian Association, and is chairman of the 
Social Committee. He is a member of the 
Church of the New Jerusalem. In politics he 
is independent. 

On June 26, 1900, in Pascoag, R. I., Mr. 
Keith married Emma Louise Harriman, 
daughter of Henry P. Harriman. Mrs. Keith 
was a teacher before her marriage. To their 
union have been born two children : Arthur 
Reginald and Doris. 

HALL (Taunton family). Ancient and 
original Taunton has been the home of the 
Halls since its settlement not far from 1637; 
and from that early period to this members of 
the family from generation to generation, as 
evidenced by the records, have been among the 
substantial men and women of their com- 
munities, being more or less prominently iden- 
tified with public affairs. In this article is 
considered some of the Norton branch of the 
name. Reference is made to some of the de- 
scendants of the late Richard Hutehens Hall, 
who was at one time for years superintendent 
of the Norton branch of the Taunton Copper 
Manufacturing Company; to his son, Hon. 
Richard Henry Hall, who was almost from boy- 
hood prominently identified with copper manu- 
facturing in Norton and Taunton, his services 
with one company covering a period of upward 
of a third of a century, and whose public ser- 
vices as councilman, member of the school 
board and mayor of the city of Taunton, re- 
flected honor on the name ; to the sons of the 
latter, who are now active and useful in citi- 
zenship in Taunton, one of whom, Hon. Fred- 
erick Stanley Hall, is most \vorthily wearing 
the family name and sustaining its reputation, 
having for years been among the members of 
the Taunton bar, representing his town several 
times in the Massachusetts Assembly, etc. ; and 
also to Andrew H. Hall, a descendant of the 
same parent stock, but in a collateral line, who 
followed agricultural and manufacturing pur- 
suits, took part in public affairs, and left to 
his posterity an untarnished name. Nine gen- 
erations of the family have lived in Taunton, 
and a record of these in detail follows. 

(I) George Hall and his wife Mary, progeni- 



tors of the Taunton Halls, are said to have 
come from Devonshire, England, in 1636-37. 
Mr. Hall is of record as a proprietor of land in 
Diixbury, Mass., in 1637, about the date of his 
settlement in Cohannet (Taunton). He was 
one of the original forty-six proprietors of the 
first territorial purchase of the Indian sachem 
Massasoit, including a tract of eight miles, the 
present territory of Taunton, Berkley, Rayn- 
ham, extending to Mansfield. He was one of 
the founders of the town of Taunton in 1639. 
He was admitted a freeman in 1645, and was 
constable of the town the same year. He was 
chairman of the board of selectmen from 1666 
to 1669, the year of his death. He was one 
of the founders of the Pilgrim Congregational 
Church of Taunton. He was one of the stock 
proprietors of the first iron "bloomery" estab- 
lished in this region by the Leonards and oth- 
ers of Taunton, upon the site of the "old 
forge," in what was later Raynham, Mass., 
and was its first clerk, continuing so for years 
and being succeeded at his death by his son 
John. Mr. Hall was one of the largest land- 
holders in Taunton, and divided his holdings 
among his sons. He died Oct. 30, 1669, aged 
about sixty-nine years. The children men- 
tioned in his will were: John, born in 1640; 
Joseph, in 1642: Samuel, in 1644; Charity; 
Sarah, and Mary. After his death his widow 
and sons were shareholders in the iron-works, 
which works were continued for upward of two 
liundred years. His sons were among the pro- 
prietors of the large tract of land called 
"Taunton North Purchase," whieli included 
tiie present towns of Norton and Easton and 
portions of Mansfield and Raynham. 

(II) John Hall, born in 1640, married Feb. 
4, 1671, Hannah Penniman. Mr. Hall became 
a leading man in business affairs. He was 
constable in 1666; succeeded his father as 
shareholder and clerk in the iron bloomery in 
1669, in which capacities he is also recorded 
in 1671 and 1677; was one of the board of 
selectmen in 1684, 1685, 1686 and 1691; 
served as deputy to the General Court of Ply- 
mouth Colony in 1689-91. As intimated, he 
was a large landholder and was a large pro- 
prietor in the "Taunton South Purchase" of 
1663, and in the North Purchase in 1668. 
He died in 1693. His children were: John 
horn June 27, 1672; Joseph, April 7, 1674 
James, Dec. 8, 1675; Benjamin, Dec. 6, 1677 
Sarah, 1678; Jacob, Feb. 14, 1680; and Han- 
nah. Jan. 8, 1682. 

(III) John Hall (2), born June 27. 1672, 
married Dec. 16, 1690, Elizabeth King, and 
thev were residents of Taunton, Mass., where 



SOUTHEASTERX MASSACHUSETTS 



721 



Mr. Hall was occupied in fanning. He was 
for several years a member of the board of se- 
lectmen and assessors of tlie town. His death 
occurred in 1768. His children were John, 
Judith and Philip. 

(IV) John Hall (3) was twice married, the 
name of his first wife being Mary ; his second 
was Hannah Williams. He resided in that 
part of Taunton which in 1731 became the 
town of Eaynham, Mass. He was a large land- 
owner and occupied in farming. He held a 
number of positions of trust, among them town 
•offices. He and his family were members of 
the First Congregational Churcli. He died in 
1766. His children were: Freelove ; Brian, 
born July 9, 1727 (both born 'to the first 
wife) ; John, Jan. 26, 1729; Hannah, Nov. 11, 
1730; Elkanah, Deoember, 1732; Elisha, Sept. 
10, 1735; Joseph, March 18, 1738; and Noah, 
Dec. 26, 1741. 

(V) Brian Hall, born July 9, 1727, in what 
is now Raynham, Mass., married in 1751 
Abiah, daughter of Thomas and Joanna Cross- 
man, of the same town. She was born Aug. 
28, 1726, and died Feb. 15, 1814, in the eighty- 
eighth year of her age. Perhaps a year or more 
after their marriage, and the death of their 
first child, they removed to Boston, remaining 
a few years. Mr. Hall having purchased a 
farm in the town of Norton, Mass., the family 
removed thither about 1755. He subsequently 
became a large owner of and operator in real 
estate. In the Revolutionary struggle he was 
one of the first to act and to respond to the 
cause ; was a lieutenant in Captain Hodges's 
company, serving in Rhode Island in 1776. He 
was a member of the select Committee of Cor- 
respondence, to take into consideration the 
"Confederation of the Union of States," pro- 
posed by Congress ; was also on the committee 
to devise means for the formation of a State 
constitution. He held other responsible posi- 
tions in the town. He and his wife were con- 
nected with the First Congregational Society. 
They had the following children : Isaac, born 
Aug. 16, 1753 (in Boston) ; Nancv, April 1, 
1755; Prudence, Jan. 8, 1758; Jolin, Oct. 21, 
1760; Brian, April 10, 1763; Abiah. Oct. 3, 
1765; and Silas, June 19, 1768. 

(VI) Silas Hall, born June 19, 1768, mar- 
ried Nancy Stanley, and they were residents 
■of the town of Norton, Mass., where Mr. Hall 
was occupied in agricultural pursuits. His 
death occurred June 29, 1841. His wife Nancy 
passed away March 26, 1833. Their children 
were; Chandler, born Jan. 23, 1795; x\nna, 
April 4, 1797 ; Silas, Jan. 29, 1800 ; Benjamin 
S., Oct. 2, 1802; Dexter, April 30, 1805; 

46 



Soranus L., Aug. 27, 1807; and Richard 
Hutchens, May 23, 1810. 

(VII) Richard Hutchens Hall, born May 
23, 1810, in Norton, Mass., married Mary Ann 
Bates, born Sept. 8, 1812, daughter of Horatio 
and Mary (Monroe) Bates, of Providence, R. 
I., and they lived in Norton, Mass. Mr. Hall 
learned the business of copper manufacturing 
and became superintendent of the works in 
Norton, a position he held with credit to him- 
self and satisfaction to all concerned for the 
long period of about twenty-five years. He 
was a member of the First Congregational 
Church at Norton. He was held in high es- 
teem by the community in which he lived. His 
death occurred Feb. 11, 1877, his wife's Oct. 
19, 1878. Their children were: Richard 
Henry, born Nov. 7, 1830; Alfred, May 18, 
1832; Horatio Hutchens, Sept. 6, 1833 (lives 
at Weir); Mary Jane, Feb. 14, 1836; Julia 
Ann, Oct. 29, 1838; Eliza Ann (twin to Julia 
Ann), born Oct. 29, 1838; Silas Frederick, 
Feb. 10, 1841; Harriet Augusta, March 14, 
1845 (married Alfred W. Woodward) ; George 
Edwin, Oct. 1, 1847 (lives in Norton) ; and 
Velina Allin, Oct. 5, 1854. 

(VIII) Richard Henry Hall, son of Richard 
Hutchens and Mary Ann (Bates) Hall, born 
Nov. 7, 1830, in Norton, Mass., married Jan. 
3, 1859, Susan Jane, daughter of James Cobb 
and Lydia T. (Packard) Drake, of that part 
of North Bridgewater, Mass., which became 
the town of Brockton ; and great-granddaugh- 
ter of Capt. Daniel Drake, an officer in the 
Revolutionary war, and a kinsman of John 
Drake, of Dorchester or Boston, who, s^'s Sav- 
age, probably came in the fleet with Winthrop 
in 1630, was an early settler of Taunton, and 
was later at Windsor, Connecticut. 

It seems from a little pamphlet entitled 
"Genealogical and Biographical Account of the 
Family of Drake in America." published at 
Boston by S. G. Drake, in 1845, that the fam- 
ily of Drake, according to the old English gen- 
ealogists, "is one of great antiquity, several 
families of the name residing within a small 
compass in the south part of the County of 
Devonshire as early as the Norman conquest, 
and that the family was Saxon; that the Eng- 
lish family had a coat of arms; that the family 
has been distingiiished in England from the 
earliest ages, by a long array of noble men," 
etc. The Drake family, who held their seat 
at Ashe, according to Stiles's Ancient Windsor, 
were ever prominent, and from them it is sup- 
posed that the Drakes of New England were 
descended. 

As stated, Capt. Daniel Drake, the great- 



•^22 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



grandfather of Mrs. Hall, was an officer in 
the American Bevolution. His birth occurred 
in 1743, in Taunton, Mass., and, it is said, he 
entered the service in defense of the Colonies 
the day following the Lexington Alarm, anS. 
served with distinction throughout the strug- 
gle, taking part in the siege of Boston. The 
father of Mrs. Hall. James Cobb Drake, who 
was born Jan. 15, 1809, removed from Grafton 
to Brockton, Mass., in 1831, where for many 
years he was occupied as a railroad contractor. 
His death occurred April 16, 1865. Mrs. Hall 
and perhaps one or more of her sons are mem- 
bers respectively of the Daughters and Sons of 
the American Revolution, made eligible 
through their ancestor first alluded to, and 
the latter also eligible through their ancestor 
Lieut. Brian Hall, of Taunton, also alluded to 
in the foregoing. 

Richard Henry Hall, after attendance at the 
public schools of Norton, finished his studies 
at Brisfol Academy, Taunton, Mass., and at 
the Peirce Academy, in Middleboro, Mass. At 
the age of nineteen years he entered the employ 
of the Taunton Copper Manufacturing Com- 
pany, and for the long period of thirty-four 
years continued his services with that corpora- 
tion, as metallurgist, refiner, chemist, super- 
intendent and director; and to his skill and 
ability the high standard of the various lines 
of merchandise manufactured by the company 
is due. In 1884 Mr. Hall, in need of rest and 
recreation, resigned his position and for sev- 
eral months sought rest and pleasure in Euro- 
pean travel. On his return home, at the ear- 
nest solicitation of the business men of Taun- 
ton he became a candidate for the office of 
mayor of the city. He was elected to that 
office without opposition, serving in 1886. He 
was again elected in 1888, and was reelected 
without opposition in 1889, having been re- 
nominated by both the Citizens' and Republi- 
can conventions. During his three years of 
service as chief e.xecutive of Taunton he gave his 
entire time to municipal work and his arduous 
labors for the city during the year (1886) of 
the disastrous freshet, and during the celebra- 
tion of the town's 250th anniversary, in 1889, 
are held in most appreciative remembrance by 
all. Previous to his election as mayor, his 
only political service had been as member of 
the Norton school board and of the common 
council of Taunton. 

Mr. Hall was independent in his politics, 
voting for men and measures outside of party 
lines. He was for many years a member of 
St. Thomas' Protestant Episcopal Church, and 
one of the vestrymen of that church. He was 



one of the trustees of the Bristol County Sav- 
ings Bank and a trustee of Morton hospital. 
He was chosen a trustee of the Taunton public 
library in the early nineties, and continued in 
that position until his death. For many years 
Mr. Hall was identified with various Masonic 
organizations. Mr. Hall after his retirement 
from the mayoralty of Taunton again entered 
active business, becoming superintendent of the 
works of the Revere Copper Company. His 
death occurred Sept. 5, 1909. His wife died 
July 4, 1906, and they are buried in the Norton 
Common cemetery, Norton, Massachusetts. 

The children born to Mr. and Mrs. Hall 
were : Henry Lindsay, born Nov. 27, 1859' 
(lives in Norton) ; Frederick Stanley. Feb. 10, 
1861; and Edward George, June 29, 1867 
(lives in Taunton). 

(IX) FREDEiiicK Stanley Hall, son of 
Richard Henry and Susan Jane (Drake) Hall, 
was born in Norton, Mass., Feb. 10, 1861. He 
acquired his preliminary education, his prep- 
aration for college, in the public schools of 
Taunton, Mass., entered Harvard University, 
and was graduated therefrom with the class of 
1882. Having decided upon the law for his 
life work he entered the Boston University 
Law School, from which he was graduated in 
1885. After his admission to the bar he at 
once commenced the practice of his profession 
alone at Taunton, where he has since continued 
actively engaged, and through his application, 
industry, acquirements and force of character 
has risen to high standing in the profession, 
not only at the bar of his adopted city, but 
among his legal associates in the county and 
State ; and as well to prominence in citizen- 
ship and public affairs. 

Mr. Hall was chosen a member of the lower 
house of the Massachusetts Assembly for the 
years 1887 and 1888. In 1887 he was a mem- 
ber of the committee on Judiciary and Rules, 
and in 1888 he was chairman of the commit- 
tee on Prisons and member of the comraittee 
on Rules. He was a member of Governor 
Bates's council in 1904, and of Governor 
Douglas's in 1905, for the Second district. 
He was a delegate from Massachusetts to the 
National Republican convention in 1896 held 
in St. Louis, when William McKinley received 
his first nomination for President. He has 
been a member of the Taunton school board 
and an associate .iudge of the District court, 
and as well a member of the Taunton Board 
of Trade, of which he has been president. In 
1907 he was made receiver for the Taunton 
Safety Deposit and Trust Company. He is a 
director of the Bristol County National Bank, 





^^^,....^^^ 



SOUTHEASTEKX MASSACHUSETTS 



723 



and of the Old Colony Street Eaihvay: and is 
counsel lor the New York, New Haven & Hart- 
ford Kailroad Company for Bristol county. He 
is a member of all the social clubs of the city. 
On Nov. 20, 1888, Juda;e Hall was married 
to Bessie H. Perkins, of Taunton, and they 
have had children as follows : Stanley Perkins, 
born Sept. 3, 1889; Fred Hastings, born Aug. 
24. 1898; and Kachel, born March 6, 1901. 
The family attend the St. Thomas Episcopal 
Church. 



(II) Joseph Hall, born in 1642, son of the 
emigrant George and his wife Mary, died 
April 17, 1705. He was a tailor by trade, and 
resided on the homestead inherited from his 
father on Dean street, Taunton. He was a 
large landowner through his father's right in 
the original purchase — fifty-two acres in the 
South Purchase, and a portion in the North 
Purchase. He was also a share owner in the 
iron-works. He was constable and surveyor 
from 1667 to 1680; and he was a ready pro- 
moter of the Pilgrim Church and of town af- 
fairs. He married Mary, daughter of Na- 
thaniel Bell, and ftieir children were : Joseph, 
born in 1694; Mary, born in 1696, who mar- 
ried Joseph Wilbore, of Taunton ; Mehitable, 
born in 1698, who died in 1785; and Abigail, 
born in 1700, who died in 1790. 

(III) Capt. Joseph Hall, son of Joseph, 
born in 1694, died in 1763. He was patriotic 
and public-spirited, and in 1757 raised a com- 
pany for Col. Ephraim Leonard's regiment to 
proceed under Lieutenant General Pepperell 
to protect the frontier from French invasion. 
He was a wealthy business man, as indicated 
by the inventory of his estate, which covers 
several pages, and gives the names of a variety 
of valuables, among which were two slaves — a 
man and a woman — whom he willed to his 
wife, it being before the decree of emancipa- 
tion in Massachusetts. He was master of a 
vessel and was engaged in coasting and trading 
to and from New York and the West Indies. 
He was also interested in land purchases and 
loaning money. He was a prominent member 
of the church at Taunton, of which Eev. Sam- 
\ie\ Danforth and Eev. Thomas Clapp were 
fourth and fifth pastors, respectively. Captain 
Hall was twice married. His first wife was 
Elizabeth, daughter of James Seward 2d, the 
iron manufacturer, and he married second 
Mrs. Sarah (Dean) Williams. His children 
were: Joseph, born Oct. 12, 1720; Susannah, 
who married Job Tisdale; and Ebenezer, born 
in 1754. 



(IV) Ebenezer Hall, son of Joseph, born in 
1754, was a farmer and brickmaker, and re- 
sided on the ancestral estate, near the site of 
the dwelling of his emigrant ancestor George 
Hall, on Dean street. On Jan. 17, 1787, he 
married Mehitable Hodges, born Nov. 15, 1766. 
He died in Taunton Aug. 11, 1820, and she 
died there Oct. 4, 1853. Their children were: 
Sarah, born Dec. 19. 1788, married John Dean 
Gilmore; Ebenezer, born Sept. 22, 1790, died 
unmarried; Mehitable, born Oct. 3, 1793, died 
unmarried; Leonard, born Aug. 16. 1794, mar- 
ried Eoby King Crane, daughter of Terry and 
Eoby (King) Crane, of Norton; Eufus, born 
Jan. 30, 1797, married Lydia Williams Toby; 
Betsey, born March 12. 1799, died unmarried; 
Lodica, born Dec. 14, 1801, married Oren 
Shaw Dean, of Eaynham; Andrew Hodges, 
born March 17, 1804, is mentioned below; Al- 
mira, born March 15, 1807, married Jonathan 
Hunt, of Taunton. 

(V) Andrew H. Hall, son of Ebenezer and 
Mehitable, was born in Taunton March 17, 
1804, and died Dec. 17, 1876, when seventy- 
two years of age. He attended the public 
schools and Bristol Academy, and at an early 
age turned his attention to farming and inci- 
dentally to the manufacture of brick, and to 
surveying, for which latter he had a taste. He 
was a man of sound judgment, which he was 
called upon to exercise in the settlement of 
estates, and as a member of the board of se- 
lectmen and of assessors, and in other respon- 
sible positions. He was a highly respected 
member of the Ancient Congregational Church 
Society, of which his ancestors were members, 
and of which George Hall was one of the origi- 
nators. 

On Nov. 24, 1832, Mr. Hall married Han- 
nah Walker Crane, daughter of Capt. Terry 
and Eoby (King) Crane, of Norton. She was 
born March 18, 1810, and died March 1, 1835, 
leaving two daughters, viz. : Mary Bowers, born 
Jan. 12, 1834; and Hannah Crane, born Feb. 
24, 1835. 

(VI) Mary Bowers Hall, daughter of An- 
drew H. and Hannah Walker (Crane), mar- 
ried Thomas J. Washburn, of Eavnham, who 
died July 8, 1870, in his forty-fourth year, 
leaving an only son. Harry Thomas, born Nov. 
29, 1868. Mrs. Washburn and her son oc- 
cupy a handsome residence recently erected on 
the old homestead on Dean street, where 
George and Mary Hall resided in 1639, when 
the town was incorporated. This homestead 
has been in the family for 255 years, and on a 
portion of this property Andrew H. Hall re- 
sided at the time of his death. 



724 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



DEAN OR DEANE (Taunton family). The 
name of Dean or Deane, which was originally 
spelled Den or Dene, and which is now written 
Dean or Deane, made its appearance in England 
soon after the introduction of surnames. Jt 
was apparently derived from the Sa.xon word 
"den" or "dene," meaning a valley, that word 
being taken as a surname l)y the peo])le who 
lived in the valleys. The family is probably of 
Norman origin, as the first of the name of whom 
we have any record was Robert de Den, butler 
to Edward tiie Confessor, and doubtless one of 
his Norman favorites, as it is known that lie 
owned estates in Normandy. Later the name 
is met with in Essex, Northamptonshire, Hunt- 
ingdonshire, Oxfordshire, etc., many of the 
name belonging to the nobility. After the abo- 
lition of feudalism by Henry the VII., the 
territorial prefix "'de" was drop])ed ; the letter 
"a" was introduced into tlic name "Dene" dur- 
ing the reign of Queen Elizabeth, and it be- 
came "Deane." The Deanes of England have 
been a highly respectable and prominent family, 
such men as Henry Dene, Archbishop of Canter- 
bury and Lord Chancellor under Henry VII., 
Sir Richard Deane, Mayor of London in 1629, 
Major Gen. Richard Deane, the regicide, and 
Sir Anthony Deane, Compti'oller of the Navy, 
being members of that family. 

The Deanes have resided for centuries at and 
in the vicinity of Taunton, Somersetshire, Eng- 
land, and from that place came most of the 
early immigrants of the name to America, Ste- 
phen Dean being the first of the name to land 
in America. He came to these shores in the 
ship "Fortune" in November, 1G21, and built 
the first cornmill in Plymouth Colony. John 
and Walter Deane, brotliers. who came to 
America in 1637 from Taunton or its imme- 
diate vicinity, in England, were the i^regenitorg 
of most of the extensive Deane family in Massa- 
chusetts. They settled at Taunton, in that 
State, which city is said to have derived its 
name from Taunton, in England. The Deanes, 
wherever residing, have iicen noted for certain 
characteristics, among which may he noted 
strong will power, earnestness of purjiose, un- 
tiring energy, and great integrity of character. 

(I) John Deane was horn about ]6(»0 and 
died between April 25 and June 7, 1660, "aged 
sixty years or thereabouts." He was one of 
"the grand inquest, from Taunton, 1640." His 
wife, who was named Alice, survived him and 
was probably living as late as 16G8, as she is 
mentioned in a grant of the Plymouth Court 
June 1st of that year. Their children were: 
John, born about 1639; Thomas, wlio settled 
in Taunton; Israel, wlio was a lieutenant in 



King Philip's war, and was in the great Narra- 
gansett fight, and who died unmarried ; Isaac, 
who settled in Taunton ; Nathaniel, who died 
without issue between 1660 and 1677; and 
Elizabeth, who was born about 1650. 

(II) Jolm Deane, son of John and Alice 
Dean^, born about 1639, died at Taunton Feb. 
18, 1716-17, at the age of seventy-seven years. 
Tradition asserts that he was the first white 
child bom in Taunton. He married, Nov. 7, 
1663, Sarah, daughter of Deacon Samuel Edson, 
of Bridgewater, and she probably survived him. 
They had children : Samuel, born June 24, 
1666-67, who died Oct. 1, 1731; Sarah, born 
Nov. 9, 1668, who married Major Jonathan 
Howard, of Bridgewater; John, horn July 26, 
1670, who died Aug. 6, 1670; Mehitahle,'^born 
Oct. 9, 1671, who married Joseph Wilbore; 
John, born Sept. 18, 1674, who died July 31, 
1724 (his widow Hannah died July 15, 1748),; 
Elizabeth, born March 15, 1676, who died un- 
married March 15, 1749; Mary, horn July 15, 
1680, who married Seth Williams; Susannah, 
born Aug. 13, 1683, who died unmarried in 
1716; Israel, born Aug. 4, 1685, who married 
March 20, 1704-05, Katheryie Bird, of Dor- 
chester. 

(II) Thomas Deane, son of Jolm and Alice, 
married Jan. 5, 1669, Katherine Stephens, and 
settled in Taunton. His will was proved June 
15, 1697. His widow survived him and her will 
was proved June 12, 1726-27. Their cliildren 
were: Thomas, Itorn Feb. 1, 1670-71, died Feb. 
26, 1670-71; Hannah, bom Jan. 14, 1671-72, 
died unmarried about 1750; Thomas (2), born 
about 1673, died Sept. 10, 1747, in his seventy- 
fourth year (he was married Jan. 7, 1696, by 
Rev. Peter Thatcher, to Mary, daughter of John 
Kingsley of Milton. Mass., and she died Feb. 
1, 1749-50, in her seventy-fourth year. From 
them was descended Hon. Josiah Dean, of Rayn- 
ham, who died in 1818, and was a member of 
Congress in 1807-09) ; Deborah married John 
Tisdale; Katherine married A])ril 17, 1710, 
Deacon Samuel Leonard; Lydia married George 
Hall; Mercy married- Daniel Williams; Eliza- 
beth, born about 1(!88, who died March 18, 
1758, aged seventy years, married Dec. 4, 1707, 
Deacon Benjamin \\'illiams, who died Jan. 10, 
1757, aged seventy-one years. 

(II) Isaac Deane, son of John and Alice 
Deane, married Jan. 24, 1677. Hannah, daugh- 
ter of James Leonard. He settled in Taunton. 
His will was proved April 11, 1710. His chil- 
dren were: Alice, born Nov. 20, 1678, mar- 
ried Feb. 1, 1699-1700, John King, of Rayn- 
ham; Abigail, born Nov. 16, 1680, married 
Thomas Terry; Hannah, born April 24, 1683, 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



725 



married a Mr. Hodges; Natlianiel, born April 
25, 1685; Jonathan; Abiali; and Deborali. 



(I) AValter Deane was born in Chard, Eng- 
land, between 1615 and 1620. He was a man 
of influence and highly esteemed among his 
English neighbors at Taunton. He married 
Eleanor, daughter of Richard Strong, of Taun- 
ton, England, who came to New England with 
her brotiier, Elder John Strong, in the "Mary 
and John," in 1630. They had children : Jo- 
seph, a cordwainer of Taunton in 1684, was 
of Dighton in 1728; Ezra settled in Taunton; 
and Benjamin also settled in Taunton. 

(II), Joseph Deane, son of Walter and 
Eleanor (Strong), was a cordwainer in Taunton 
in 1684, and of Dighton in 1728. He died be- 
tween Dec. 3, 1728, and Feb. 11, 1728-29, leav- 
ing a widow Mary. His children were : Joseph, 
born in 1688; Samuel died without issue; 
James, who died about 1750, married Mary 
Williams ; Sarah married Joseph Read ; Esther, 
born in 1694, died in 1707. 

(II) Ezra Deane, son of Walter and Eleanor 
(Strong), settled in Taunton. He married Dec. 
17, 1676, Bethiah, daughter of Deacon Samuel 
Edson, of Bridgewater. He died between Oct. 
28, 1727, and Feb. 15, 1732. His children were: 
Bethia, born Oct. 14, 1677, died Nov. 27, 1679; 
Ezra, born Oct. 14 or 19, 1680; Samuel, born 
April 11, 1682, died Feb. 16, 1683; Seth, born 
June 3, 1683; Margaret married a Shaw; 
Ephraim married Mary Allen, of Rehoboth, 
Massachusetts. 

(III) Ezra Deane, son of Ezra, born Oct. 14 
or 19, 1680, was twice married, (first) to Abi- 
gail Leonard, and (second) to Abigail, daugh- 
ter of Samuel Brentnell, of Bridgewater, who 
survived him. He was a physician and resided 
in Taunton. His family was remarkable for its 
longevity. The following is an extract from a 
communication published in the Columhian 
Reporter, a newspaper published in Taunton in 
1825: "Dr. Ezra IDeane's children were: (1) 
Ezra died at the age of eighty-nine years. (2) 
Theodora died at the age of one hundred years. 

(3) Abigail died at the age of ninety-five years. 

(4) Bethiah died at the age of ninety-six years. 

(5) Nohemiah died at the age of ninety years. 

(6) James died at the age of ninety years. (7) 
Seth died at the age of eighty-eight years. (8) 
Solomon died at the age of sixty-one years. (9) 
Elkanah died at the age of eighty-seven years. 
(10) William is living (1825) aged ninety-four 
years. (11) George died at the age of eighty- 
six years. (12) Elisha died at the age of 
eighty-three years. (13) Nathaniel died at the 
age of twenty-five years. (14) Esther, living 



now, 1825, aged ninety-two years. (15) Pru- 
dence died at the age of eighty years. (16) 
Stephen died at the age of fifty-one years. 
United ages 1307. Eleven of the family lived 
more than 1000 years, two of whom are now 
(1825) living." Theodora Deane lived to see 
her children to the fifth generation and was the 
mother of the late Dr. Job Godfrey of Taunton. 

(IV) Solomon Deane, son of Dr. Ezra, bora 
in 1723, died in Taunton in 1784. He mar- 
ried Mary Williams, daughter of Richard Wil- 
liams (3), and their children were: Abisha, 
Richard (married Deborah Grossman), Solo- 
mon, Nathaniel, Brinton, Sylvester, and 
Wealthy (married John Robinson, of Rayn- 
ham). 

(V) Richard Deane, son of Solomon, mar- 
ried Deborah Grossman, daughter of Benjamin 
Grossman, and they had nine children, as fol- 
lows: Simeon, Richard, Abijah (born April 
28, 1782), Apollos, Deborah, James, Bethiah, 
Calvin (whose descendants live in North Attle- 
boro) and Dolly. 

(VI) Abijah"Deane, bom April 28, 1782, son 
of Richard and Deborah (Grossman), married 
Polly, daughter of Jabez Rounds, of Taunton. 
Their children were: Ashael, born Sept. 19, 
1811, married Harriet Sumner, of Foxboro, 
Mass., in 1835 ; Polly married Elnatlian Jones, 
and died in Norton, Mass. ; Richard died young; 
Abijah Carpenter married Laura Dunbar, of 
Foxboro; Nancy married Enon Rounds, and 
died in 1908, in her ninetieth year; Benjamin 
married Nancy Goe; George married Sarah 
Manchester, and died Nov. 19, 1897; Charles 
Mason married Celinda Harris, daughter of a 
Methodist minister; and Clarissa married Pres- 
ton G. Gomey, of Foxboro. 

(VII) Ashael Deane, son of Abijah, born 
Sept. 19, 1811, married Harriet Sumner, of 
Foxboro, daughter of William Fisher Sumner. 
She was born in 1813 and died in 1845. He 
married (second) Lucy Hodges, daughter of 
Benjamin Hodges, of Sharon. To the first 
marriage were born : Ashael Sumner, born 
March 31, 1837; Harriet Louise, bom in 1839; 
Henry Augustus, born May 3, 1842, who mar- 
ried (second) Ida Ne^vman ; and Mary Skinner, 
born in 1846, who died in infancy. To the sec- 
ond marriage were born three children : Marcus 
Edgar, born Sept. 14, 1847; Lucy Anna, born 
July 36, 1849; and Francis, bom "Sept. 30, and 
died Oct. 7, 1851. 

(VIII) Dr. Ashael Spmner Deane, 
son of Ashael, was born in Foxboro, Mass., 
March 31, 1837. He received his elementary 
education in the grammar school of his na- 
tive town. He then entered the State Normal, 



726 



SOUTHEASTEEN MASSACHUSETTS 



which lie attended for' some time, after which 
he taught sciiool in Canton, two terms in Fox- 
boro and two terms iu Maynard. He was a 
student of medicine for a time at Pittsfield, 
Mass., and then entered the iS'avy on his 
certificate as a surgeon, rcinaining until 
tlie close of tlic war. Returning to Pitts- 
field he graduated in 18(35. While in tiie service 
he was surgeon on the flagship of Admiral 
Dahlgren's scjuailron, and in that capacity met 
many of the best men of the country for those 
times. During this time lie spent one winter 
in Washington, and was blown up on the goveni- 
ment dispatch boat "Harvest Moon." lie had 
among his messmates Admiral Johnson and 
Admiral Forsyth. In 186G Dr. Deane went to 
Fall River, and engaged in the practice of his 
profession for a tew months. He then went to 
Wrentham, Mass., where he practiced for five 
years, and in 1871 he located in Taunton, where 
he has been actively engaged in his profession 
ever since. In point of years he is now one of 
the oldest practitioners in the city. When the 
government established its board of pension ex- 
aminers he was appointed one of the members, 
became its president, and has since served in 
that capacity. He is a member of the Bristol 
(North) branch of the Massachusetts State 
Medical Society. In politics he is a Republican, 
and cast his first Presidential vote for Abraham 
Lincoln in 1861. 

In 1860 Dr. Deane was married to Virginia 
Hughes, who was bom in Pittsburg, daughter 
of John Hughes. Their children were : Ellen 
Virginia, born Oct. 16, 1861, married Rev. 
George H. Reed, of Concord, N. H., and they 
have one daughter, Margaret Reed (born Feb. 
5, 1892) ; Frederick Sumner, born Aug. 8, 1864, 
died May 20, 1883, while a member of the 
Freshman class at Amherst College ; Fanny 
Brown, bom in 1867, died soon after; Lemira 
Harris, born June 22, 1868, married William 
■C. Hawley, of Maiden, Mass., and has three 
children, Alice Sumner (bom Nov. 13, 1803), 
Catharine Deane (born Feb. 16, 1896) and 
William Sumner (bora Sept. 17, 1901). 



(V) Abislia Dean, son of Solomon, married 
Olive Leonard, daughter of Colonel Leonard, 
and had children : William, Allan, James, 
Abby, Barney and Artemas. . 

(VI) Barney Dean, son of Abisha. married 
Fanny Washburn, and has three daughters: 
Frances E., who married Nathan S. Hoard : 
Helen Barney, who married Frederick Crane ; 
and Abby, who married Charles Crandell. 



(II) Benjamin Deane, son of Walter and 



Eleanor (Strong), settled in Taunton. He 
married Jan. 6, 1680-81, Sarah Williams. He 
died between Feb. 2, 1722, and April 14, 1725. 
His children were: Naomi, born Nov. 1, 1681, 
died Jan. 6, 1681-82 ; Hannah, bom Dec. 36, 
1682, married a Mr. Richmond; Israel, born 
Feb. 3, 1684-85, died March 17, 1760, in his 
seventy-sixth year (he married Ruth, who died 
April 18, 1796, in her eightieth year) ; Mary, 
born June 15, 1687, married a Mr. Edson; 
Damaris, born Sept. 4, 1689, married Mathew 
White; Sarah, born Aug. 30, 1692, married a 
Mr. Danforth; Elizabeth, born March 26, 1694- 
95, married a Richmond; Mehetable, born June 
9, 1697, married a Mr. Richmond ; Benjamin, 
born July 31, 1699, died Jan. 6, 1785, in liis 
eighty-sixth year (he married Zopporah Dean, 
daughter of John Dean, and she died Sept. 37, 
1778, in her seventy-fifth year) ; Capt. Eben- 
ezer, born Feb. 14, 1701-03, died July 3U, 1774 
(he married Rachel Allen, who died March 3, 
1768, in her seventy-fifth year) ; Lydia, born 
Dec. 11, 1704; Joshua, born Oct. 33, 1707, died 
March 33, 1709-10. 

(IK) t'apt. Ebenezer Deaji, son of Benjamin 
and Sarah (Williams), born Feb. 14, 1701-03, 
died July 30, 1774. He married Rachel Allen, 
of Rehoboth, who died March 3, 1768, in her 
seventy-fifth year. He and his son Joshua 
marched in the same army in defense of their 
country in the old French war ; he was the cap- 
tain of the company. Joshua had a son Joseph, 
who was frequently out in the service in the 
Revolutionary war, and had command of a com- 
pany that was called out in support of the 
Courts during Shays's Rebellion. Ebenezer and 
Rachel (Allen) Dean had four children: Eben- 
ezer; Joshua, who died June 10, 1772; Rachel, 
and Phebe. 

(IV) Ebenezer Dean, Jr., son of Capt. Eben- 
ezer and his wife Rachel, was born about 1730, 
and died Jan. 5, 1819, in his ninetieth year. 
He was known as Deacon Dean. He married 
Prudence, daughter of John King, of Raynham, 
and she died March 10, 1787. in her tifty-fifth 
year. Their children, eleven in number, were 
as follows: Ebenezer (Deacon) married Sallie 
Soper; Abiatha married Wealtha Crane; Enos; 
Levi, born Dec. 13. 1767, married Betsey Dean, 
and died Nov. 1, 1840: Apollus married Matilda 
French; Caius (doctor) ; Rhoda married Daniel 
Douglass: Phebe married Thomas Daggett; 
Bathsheba married David Padelford ; Rachel 
married Samuel Oushee ; and Prudence married 
Nathan King. 

(V) Enos Dean, son of Ebenezer and Pru- 
dence, was the father of Enos W. 

(VI) Enos W. Dean, son of Enos, married 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



727 



Oct. 29, 1827, Elizabeth Jane Williams, daugh- 
ter of Abiathar and (Nancy) Anna (Dean) 
Williams, of Raynham. Their children were: 
Ebenezer Abiel/born March 16, 1830; Sarah 
Elizabeth, born Feb. 3. 1832; Helen Williams, 
born Julv 27, 1835, died June 18, 1872; and 
William Francis, born Oct. .5, 1839. 

(A'lD William Francis Dean, son of Enos 
W. and Elizabeth J., was born in Taunton Oct. 
5. 1839. and was educated in the pidilic schools 
of Taunton, and at Bristol Academy, at which 
latter place so many of the young men of lus 
time and of tlie best families were given instruc- 
iion. He became a farmer and lived on Stephen 
street. Taunton, where he spent the balance of 
his life. He was a Republican in politics, but 
never an office holder. He was a member 
of the Unitarian Church of Taunton. On Nov. 
24, 1870, he married Mary Jane Bassett, who 
■was born in Grafton, and they had two children : 
Enos Williams, born and died Nov. 5, 1871 ; and 
William Milton, born Nov, 16, 1874. 

(YIII) WiLLL-VM M. Dean, son of William 
Francis and Mary Jane, was born in Taunton 
Nov. 16, 1874. and was educated in the public 
flnd high schools, graduating from the latter in 
1892. In the same year he became a pupil in 
Bristol Academy, in preparation for college, 
graduating in 1893. In the fall of that year 
he matriculated as a student in the Law Depart- 
ment of Boston University, and for the follow- 
ing four years studied for his profession, and 
at the same time took special studies in the 
Academic Department of the University. He 
graduated in the class of 1897. Prior to his 
graduation he applied for and received admis- 
sion to practice in the Courts of the Common- 
wealth of Massachusetts. Immediately after- 
ward he opened an office in Taunton, where he 
has since been engaged in a lucrative practice. 
While his practice has been general, he has nev- 
ertheless had more experience in the matter of 
Teal estate, conveyancing, etc. 

In 1905 Mr. Dean became actively inter- 
ested in political matters, and at the November 
election of that year was elected to represent 
the Fourth District of Bristol County in the 
State Legislature for 1906, and was reelected 
in 1906 and 1907. In his first year he was a 
member of the committees on Constitutional 
Amendments and Federal Relations, of both of 
which he was clerk. In his second year he was 
a member of the committees on Ways and 
Means, and on Elections (of which he was chair- 
man). For the summer of 1907 he sat with the 
committee on Ways and Means in special ses- 
sion "to revise the financial methods of the 
Commonwealth." In 1908 he was elected to 



represent the Fii-st Bristol District in the Senate 
and was chairman of the committee on Public 
Service and member of the committee on Le- 
gal Affairs and (Jounties. Fraternally he is 
a member and past master of King David 
Lodge, A. F. & A. M., Taunton: St. Mark's 
Chapter, R. A. M. ; Boston Commandery, K. T., 
and has attained the 32d degree. He is a mem- 
ber of Palestine Temple, A. A. 0. N. M. S., of 
Providence. In the Knights of Pythias he is 
a member and past chancellor of Orient Lodge, 
Taunton, and was member of the judiciaiy 
committee of the Grand Lodge in 1907. He was 
also district deputy of two lodges at Fall River 
and Brockton. He belongs to Sabbatia Lodge, 
I. 0. 0. F.; the A. 0. U. W.; the B. P. 0. E., 
being past exalted ruler: and the Sons of the 
American Revolution. He was counsel for the 
North Dighton Cooperative Bank. 

Mr. Dean married June 1, 1899, Alta Louise, 
bom Jan. 16, 1876, daughter of Erbanus J. and, 
Louise H. (Lincoln) Bassett. They have two 
children: Alta Ramona, born Aug. 8, 1900; 
and Louise Frances, Aug. 26, 1901. 



(IV) Joshua Dean, son of Capt. Ebenezer 
and Rachel (Allen), died June 10, 1773. He 
married (first) Keziah Paddock, and (second) 
May 23, 1754, Abigail (King) Leonard, wid- 
ow of Nathan Leonard. She was born March 
17, 1728. To the first marriage was born one 
son, Joseph, Jan. 1, 1751. The children of the 
second marriage were: Nathan, born April 28, 
1755; Joshua, bom Julv 26, 1756, died Feb. 
20, 1758; Keziah, bom "Jan. 11 or 14, 1759; 
Abigail, bom Aug. 31, 1760, died young; Abi- 
gail, born Nov. 16. 1761 ; Joshua, born Oct. 9, 
1764; Kate, born Dec. 28, 1766, died Dec. 31, 
1768; and Caleb, born March 8, 1770. 

(V) Joseph Dean, son of Joshua and Keziah, 
was bom Jan. 1, 1751. and died Sept. 7, 1838. 
On Dec. 1, 1774, he married Anna Strobridge, 
born in Middleboro, Mass., Feb. 26, 1755, died 
Sept. 2, 1842. Their children were: Robert, 
born Oct. 28, 1775, died May 24, 1822; Arte- 
mas, bom Feb. 12, 1777, died May 16, 1779; 
Joseph, born Jan. 28, 1779, died Sept. 3, 1841 ; 
Anna, bom Oct. 6, 1781, died Sept. 27, 1858; 
Artemas (2), bom Oct. or Aug. 16, 1783, died 
Sept. 9, 1859; Keziah, bom March 24, 1786, 
died Nov. 19, 1787 ; Joshua, bom July 16, 1788, 
died Jiily 11 or 12, 1824; Keziah (2), bom 
June 27, 1790, died Oct. 15, 1821; Lois, bom 
Sept. 10, 1792, died April 2, 1883; Paddock, 
bom Sept. 27, 1794, died April 29, 1855; Eliza- 
beth, bom Aug. 25, 1796, died Oct. or Aug. 8, 
1821; and George Washington, bom Feb. 23, 
1799, died Jan. 14, 1878. 



728 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



(VI) Robert Dean, son of Joseph and Anna, 
was born Oct. 28, 1775, and died May 2-i, 1822. 
On July 26, 1803, he married Sarah Susan 
Leavitt Padelford, who died April 3, 1850. They 
had ten children as follows : One died young ; 
Robert Strobridge, born Feb. 6, 1805, died in 
Taunton Dec. 18, 1889 ; Benjamin Randall, 
bom Oct. 29, 1806, died March 17, 1863 ; Susan 
Padelford, born Oct. 12, 1808, died March 9, 
1885; Samuel Augustus, born Aug. 29, 1810; 
Henry Ale.xis, born Oct. 5, 1812; Elizabeth J., 
born Aug. 23, 1814; Anna Catherine, born May 
12, 1817; Joseph, born Nov. 16 or 19, 1819, died 
Aug. 16, 1888; and Francis Baylies, born Jan. 
12, 1822. 



Israel Dean married Sarah Richmond, and 
among their children was a son Rufus. This 
Israel is probably the son of Israel (born 1685) 
who married Katherine Bird, and grandson of 
John (son of John and Alice) who married 
Sarah Edson. 

Rufus Dean, son of Israel, and Sarah (Rich- 
mond) Dean, born in Taunton in 1739, mar- 
ried tliere Fei). 1, 1770, Lydia Htxlges, bom in 
1749 or 1750. He died in Taunton Fel). 24, 
1800, and she Sept. 9, 1790. Their children 
were: Joshua, born in 1770-71, died July 2, 
1784; Rufus, bom in 1772, died Sept. 22, 1830; 
Israel, born about 1774; Lydia, born March 
30, 1776, died Feb. 17, 1850, in Raynham, 
Mass., married Feb. 1, 1801, David Carver, of 
Taunton; Sarah Dean, born in 1777, died Jan. 
8, 1805, married Oct. 17, 1802, Nathan Carver, 
of Taunton ; Catharine Walker, born Feb. 28, 
1779, died April 11, 1863, married Capt. Ben- 
jamin Shores, of Taunton ; Henry Hodges, bom 
in 1781, married Mav 13, 1804, Deborah Dean, 
of Taunton; Rhoda,"'born Nov. 28, 1783, died 
Feb. 20, 1866, married May 24, 1804, Charles 
Cobb, of Taunton; Zephaniah Hodges, born in 
1785, married Panielia Hodges; and Nancy, 
born Dec. 10, 1786, died Sept. 5, 1853, married 
Dec. 6, 1820, Rufus Carver, of Taunton, Massa- 
chusetts. 

Col. Israel Dean, born about 1774, son of 
Rufus and Lydia, married Jan. 15, 1813, Lydia 
Burt, daughter of Simeon and Betsey (Pitts) 
Burt, of Berkley, Mass. Their children were: 
Lydia, born in July, 1812, died young; Carissa 
Burt, bom Nov. 12, 1816, died April 26, 1888, 
married Capt. Billings T. Presbrey (born Aug. 
28, 1815, died June 10, 1891) ;" Lydia, born 
March 18, 1818, marrietl Leonard Conant, 
father of Henry Conant; Israel, born March 8, 
1819; and Israel Lysander, bom May 7, 1821. 
Col. Israel Dean was a member of the militia. 



and obtained iiis rank in that service. He waff 
a farmer, brickmaker and fisher by occupation,, 
and is said to have been the first manufacturer 
of brick in Taunton. 



CRIFFITTS M. HAFFARDS, late of Fall 
River, was a man whose influence in financial 
afi'airs and business matters generally had a 
pronounced effect upon the welfare of the com- 
munity in that respect for a long period. His 
record of continuous success, brought about by 
able management and untiring devotion to 
whatever he undertook, gave his opinion weight 
in the highest circles and made his example- 
valualile. He bore an honorable name, and his 
reputation was so high, his judgment so keen,, 
his authority so respected, his ability so pro- 
nounced, that he was often solicited to accept 
place in the directorate of various corporations- 
in the city, mills and financial institutions, in 
wliich he hinuself had no material interest. 
Though so thoroughly identified with tlie af- 
fairs of Fall River, where, indeed, he ])assed 
his active business career, Mr. Haffards was 
a native of New Bedford, bom April 9, 1845. 
The family has long been identified with that 
section. We give herewith a little of the early 
history in New England. 

For some two hundred years at least, and 
how much earlier has not been ascertained, the 
Haffards family, name variously spelled, has 
had an abiding place in various parts of Ply- 
mouth county, while in New Bedford its his- 
tory covers a period of upward of a century. 
Tlie children of John and Lydia (Peirce) 
Haffard of Middleboro record were ; Ebenezer, 
Alice, John, Jacob and SamneJ, all born be- 
tween 1707 and 1719. since when and in that 
and other towns of Plymouth county the name 
has continued ; and since the close of the 
eighteenth century — for now upward of an 
hundred years — the name has been a continu- 
ous one in that part of Dartmouth which be- 
came New Bedford. Reference is made to 
some of the descendants of Jonathan and Roba 
(Brightman) Haffards, whose intention of 
marriage is of public record as expressed May 
27, 17S6. Their children of New Bedford 
public record were: James, born Marcli 11, 
1787: Sarah, born May 11, 1789; William, 
born April 22, 1791 ; John Brightman, born 
April 27, 1793; Jonathan, born March 5, 1795; 
and Susanna, born Nov. 4, 1797, to which are 
added from family record Joseph, Charles, Bet- 
sey and Lydia. Of these, 

Charles Hafl^ards was born Aug. 17, 1801,_ 
in New Bedford, Mass., and married Dec. 26, 





P D B L I C 




^=:^^i^- 




;?€^ 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



729 



1823, Lydia, daughter of Nathaniel and Lydia 
Bonney, of Rochester, Mass. She died Nov. 
20, 1842, and he married (second) July 4, 
1843, Mrs. Betsey (Bonney) Whitney, a widow, 
sister of his first wife. She died Jan. 8, 1870, 
in her sixty-seventh year. Mr. Haffards died 
Oct. 8, 1859, in New Bedford, Mass. He was 
engaged as a merchant there. Of the seven 
children born to the first marriage all died 
quite young excepting Caroline E., who mar- 
ried David F. Brown, formerly of Fall River, 
Mass., now of Accord, town of Hingham, Mass., 



always obliged to decline such honors because 
of the demands of his private affairs. He was 
a stockholder in numerous local corporations, 
and achieved large success, ranking among the 
wealthy men of the city, and he showed his 
faith in its present and future by investing his 
means where he had acquired them. Mr. Haf- 
fards was the proper man to attain wealth and 
position, for he had the sense of responsibility 
which the possession of large means and the 
consciousness of high standing should carry. 
He used his money and his influence with the 



and of their two children Caroline F. died June most intelligent care and thoug^it for the good 



10, 1908; and Charles Haffards Brown is an 
accountant with an office in Boston and resi- 
dence at Accord, Mass., is married and has a 
son David M. Brown. To the second marriage 
of Charles Haffards was born one child, Grif- 
fitts M. 

Griffitts M. Haffards received his education 
in the schools of New Bedford. Coming to 
Fall River while yet in his teens, he became approbation as well as the respect of his fel- 



of others as well as for himself. He did not 
undervalue his obligations and he never shirked 
them. Though he took no direct part in pub- 
lic affairs, with the exception of serving one 
term in 1875 as a member of the common coun- 
cil, his citizenship was of the highest type, and 
he was regarded as one of the leading men of 
the city. He so lived that he commanded the 



a bookkeeper for Daniel Brown, one of the early 
grain, coal and commission merchants of Fall 
River. After a few years Mr. Haffards be- 
came a partner in the business, becoming asso- 
ciated with David F. Brown, son of Daniel, 
under the firm name of D. Brown, Son & Co. 
In 1873 Mr. Haffards, Mr. Alphonso S. Covel 
and Mr. James C. Brady established a bank- 
ing house at the corner of South Main and 
Pleasant streets. Mr. Brady retired from the 
firm in 1877 to become city treasurer, and Mr. 
Covel retired soon after to become treasurer 
in turn of the Crescent Mill, Merchants Ma^iu- 
lacturing Company and the Tremont and Suf- 
folk Mills, of Lowell. Mr. Haffards continued 
the business alone and about 1880 included 
with it a general stock brokerage, real estate 
and insurance business, all of which he contin- 
ued with marked success. In 1884 Mr. John 
T. Robertson, who had been with the firm as 
a clerk from 1877, was admitted as partner, 
and the business is still being conducted by 
him under the old name of G. M. Haffards & 
Co. The senior partner, because of poor 
health, retired from the firm in June, 1905, 
a little more than a year before his death. 

Mr. Haffards was a man of unusually fine 
business qualities. Possessing keen foresight, 
and being a splendid Judge of men, he be 



lowmen, and the force of his example is still 
felt among those who were associated with liira 
for so many years. 

In his political views Mr. Haffards was a 
Republican. Socially he was a member of the 
Quequechan Club. He was one of the leading 
members of the First Christian Church and 
was active in the management of its material 
concerns for many years. He was a member 
of the standing committee of the corporations 
and for years a trustee of the parsonage fund. 
He died Sept. 23, 1906, being stricken while 
sitting in his pew at the morning services in 
the First Christian Church, and passed away a 
few moments later. His remains lie in Oak 
Grove cemetery. 

Mr. Haffards's first wife, Ida P. Brown, was 
tlie daughter of Daniel Brown, his former em- 
ployer, and they had two children : Elizabeth 
M., who died in young womanhood, and Grif- 
fitts M., Jr., who died young. Mrs. Haffards 
died Aug. 12, 1894, and in 1897 Mr. Haffards 
was married (second) to Adelaide B. White, 
of Fall River, daughter of the late Dr. Andrew 
M. W. AVhite, one of the leading physicians of 
the city in his day. She is now the wife of 
Capt. Charles H. Danforth, U. S. A. 

BRIGGS. The Briggs family, to which be- 



came a leading authority in mill matters as longs Franklin Briggs, for years a well-known 



■well as real estate and commercial affairs, and 
his judgment and advice were highly valued 
and much sought. As previously remarked, he 
was frequently asked to accept place in the di- 
rectorate of some of the mills and of various 
financial institutions of Fall River, but he felt 



citizen of the town of Dighton, now living re- 
tired, are prominent citizens of the iowi\ of 
Dighton, wliere for two centuries or more they 
have made their home. The founder of this 
branch of the Briggs family was Clement. 
(I) Clement Briggs came from Southwarke, 



?30 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



England — likely, as Aug. 29, 1638, he made an 
affidavit that in the year 1616 he was living 
with Samuel Latham on Bermuudsey street, 
Southwarke, England — to Plymouth Colony in 
New England in 1621, in the ship "Fortune." 
He shared in the division of the common cattle 
in 1627, and o%vned land at Joanes Swamp, 
June 3, 1639. He was in Weymouth in 1633, 
and was an innholder there in 1660; was a 
resident there from about 1630. He married 
Joane Allen. His will was proved Oct. 24, 
1650, bequeathing to his wife, and to sons 
Thomas, Joi^than, Clement, David and Re- 
member. 

(II) William Briggs, of Taunton, Mass., 
thought to be a son of Clement Briggs and 
mentioned by Savage as probably brother of 
Clement's son Jonathan, settled with others 
of this family in Taunton. He married in No- 
vember, 1666, Sarah Macomber, and their 
children born in Taunton were : William, born 
Jan. 35, 1667-68; Thomas and Sarah (twins), 
born Sept. 9 and 10, 1669,. respectively; Eliza- 
beth, born March 14, 1671; Hannah, born Nov. 
4, 1672; Mary, born Aug. 14, 1674; Matthew, 
born Feb. 5, 1676; and John, born March 19, 
1680. 

(III) Matthew Briggs, son of William and 
Sarah (Macomber) Briggs, of Taunton, born 
Feb. 5, 1676, is probably the Matthew Briggs 
who is referred to in the early records of the 
South Purchase (later the town of Dighton) 
in 1710 as figuring in the seating at the meet- 
inghouse, and wlio is also referred to in the 
records as bringing from England machinery 
for a grist mill and forge, which were set up 
on the pond west of the brick meeting-house. 
This property remained in the Briggs family 
many years. It may be worthy of note to add 
that Dighton was incorporated a town in 1712. 
According to the gravestone Deacon Matthew 
Briggs died March 8, 1765, aged eighty-eight 
years. 

(IV) Matthew Briggs (2), son of Matthew 
Briggs, was bom in the town of Dighton, Mass., 
where he grew to manhood and where his life 
was spent. He was an iron worker and owned 
a forge. He was deacon in the church Dec. 16, 
1736. His wife Mary Pitts bore him children 
as follows: Eliakim, born Sept. 21, 1733; Sil- 
vester, Feb. 5, 1734-35; Mercy, Feb. 3, 1736; 
Abigail, Aug. 10, 1742; Matthew and Henrv 
(twins), Jan. 16, 1747-48; Mary, March 31, 
1752. 

(V) Matthew Briggs (3), son of Matthew 
(2) and Mary (Pitts) Briggs, born Jan. 16, 
1747-48, like his father followed the iron busi- 
ness. His home was in the section of the 



Brick Church, known as the Brick district. He 
was a deacon of the church. He was twice 
married, first (intention of marriage published 
June 18, 1774) to Marcy Richmond, who died 
July 31, 1783, at the age of thirty, and by 
whom he had children : Deliverance, born Nov. 
37, 1775; Betsey, May 6, 1778; Abigail, Jan. 
18, 1781; and Matthew, Jan. 23, 1783. For 

his second wife he married in 1785, Celia , 

and they had children: Nancy, born Jan. 18, 
1786; Polly, July 38, 1788; Henry, June 8, 
1790; Celia, Nov. 18, 1792; and Joseph, in 
1795. 

Deacon Matthew Briggs enlisted during the 
Revolutionary war, being a private in Capt. 
Elijah Walker's company. Col. Pope's (Bristol 
county) regiment, which marched to Rhode 
Island on the alarm of Dec. 8, 1776; service, 
nine days ; roll sworn to at Taunton. He was 
also private in Capt. Jesse Briggs' company. 
Col. Freeman's regiment, which marched from 
Dighton Oct. 2, 1777, on a second expedition 
to Rhode Island; discharged Oct. 29, 1777, by 
General Spencer; service twenty-nine days. He 
died Aug. 13, 1824. aged seventy-seven years, 
and his widow, Celia, died Dec. 18, 1832, aged 
sixty-eight years. He and his wives are buried 
in the town of Dighton. 

(VI) Joseph Briggs, son of Deacon Matthew, 
born in the town of Dighton, in 1795-96, fol- 
lowed iron working and owned a forge at 
Dighton in the Brick Church district, where 
he made anchors and chains, and implements. 
The product of his forge was sold in 'the Bos- 
fon and Nfew York markets and was conveyed 
to these places by ox teams. He spent lus 
entire life in the town of Dighton, where he 
made his home and where he died Jan. 13, 
1864, aged sixty-eight years. He is buried in 
the cemetery where his father and gramifather 
are interred. He was twice married, (first) 
Oct. 25, 1830, to Patience Perry, a native of 
Digliton, daughter of Sylvester and Patience 
(Pierce) Perry, and granddaughter of Edward 
and Sarali (Austin) Perry and gi'eat-grand- 
daiighter of William and Mary Perry. The 
children of this union were boni as follows: 
Joseph, July 30, 1822 (died Aug. 12, 1822) : 
Franklin; Albert, April 10, 1827; Charles, in 
January. 1830 (died June 29, 1859). Mrs. 
Patience Briggs died Dec. 7, 1834, aged tliirty- 
eigiit years, and is buried in the cemetery before 
mentioned. He married (second) June 21, 
1835, Lucinda T. Williams, of Dighton, who 
died April 19, 1888, aged seventy-eight years, 
ten months, two days. Their children were : Pa- 
tience Ann, bom Jan. 1, 1836 (died aged six- 
teen years) ; and J. Emmons, born in 1842, 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



731 



who was a physician and practiced the medical 
profession in Burlington, Iowa, where he died 
May 4, 1867, at the age of twenty-iive. 

(VII) Franklin Briggs, sou of Joseph, was 
born in the to^vn of Dighton June 20, 1828. 
He was educated there in the public schools 
and at Peirce Academj-, Middieboro, Mass. He 
followed the business of his father, and Ids 
brother Albert engaged in the making of chains 
and anchors, Franklin taking up toolmaking, 
at which he continued during his active life, 
conducting the shop. He is now li\ang re- 
tired. Though now pa^ the fourscore mark 
he is still active. He married Mary Jane Hor- 
ton, a native of Dighton, and daughter of 
Leonard and Mary T. (Eead) Horton. They 
had children as follows: Annie E., widow of 
Herbert T. Washburn; Emma J., who married 
Frederick W. Grant, of Rehoboth, and now re- 
sides in Pawtucket (she has one child, Fred- 
erick Briggs) ; and Amitie F., who married 
Frank W. Eead, who is connected with tlie 
Nemasket Mills, and resides in Middieboro, 
Mass. (she has two children, Madeline M. and 
Hawl H.). Mrs. Briggs died March 17, 1911. 
She was a highly respected lady, and her peo- 
ple, the Hortons, have long been among the 
most highly respected families of Rehoboth, 
Massachusetts. 



HoRTON. Published lineage of members 
of the Massachusetts family of Horton sets 
fortli that John Horton, with two brothers, 
came to America from England as early as 
1640. John settled at Rehoboth, Mass., where 
he married Mehitable Gamaey, and they had 
eight children. The descendants of John Hor- 
ton are and have been very numerous in Reho- 
both and surrounding towns. 

The lineage of Mrs. Briggs is through Solo- 
mon Horton, of Rehoboth, assumed to be a de- 
scendant of John of Rehoboth, presumably 
grandson. He and his wife Mary had chil- 
dren : Charles, born March 18, 1739 ; Constant, 
Oct. 29, 1740; Solomon, Jan. or June 15, 1743; 
Mary, Aug. 10, 1745; Abiel, Oct. 14, 1747; 
Daniel. Jan. 13, 1749; Aaron, March 21, 1752. 

Solomon Horton, son of Solomon and Mary 
Horton, born June or Jan. 15, 1742, married 
in November, 1768, Hannah Talbot, of Reho- 
both. He was a soldier in the Revolutionary 
war, being a sergeant in Capt. Elijah Walker's 
company. Col. Pope's Bristol County Regi- 
ment, and serving twelve days at Rhode Island 
on the alarm of Dec. 8, 1776; roll dated at 
Taunton (where it was sworn to) Dec. 17, 
1776; marched Dec. 17, 1776; returned to 
Taunton, Dec. 17, 1776. 



Solomon Horton, Jr., son of Sergt. Solomon 
and Hannah (Talbot) Horton, born at Reho- 
both, lived at. Dighton, where he was a cooper, 
engaged in the manufacture of pails. He also 
followed farming, having his land and resi- 
dence in the Brict Church neighborhood, where 
he died. On May 24, 1802, he married Re- 
becca Wheeler, born Feb. 28, 1781, daughter 
of Jeremiah and Elizabeth (Troop) Wheeler, 
granddaughter of Jeremiah Wheeler, a great- 
granddaughter of James A., Jr., and a great- 
great-granddaughter of James A. Wheeler, who 
was bom March 27, 1697. Jeremiah Wheeler 
located on the farm now owned and occu- 
pied by Henry T. Horton in Rehoboth, where 
he spent the rest of his life. The children of 
Solomon and Rebecca Horton were : Loretta, 
born Aug. 4, 1803, died in Dighton, unmar- 
ried ; Tamerlane W., born Sept. 17, 1805, mar- 
ried Amanda Walker; Rebecca, born Feb. 14, 
1808, was twice married, first to Philip Nich- 
ols, second to Valentine Martin, and died in 
Swansea, Mass., at an advanced age, leaving 
two children by her first marriage. Dexter 
Nichols and Mrs. Rebecca Cummings; Leon- 
ard, born June 13, 1811, married Mary T. 
Read, of Taunton, and resided in Dighton, 
where he was engaged as a farmer, and where 
he died leaving three children — Mary Jane 
(who married Franklin Briggs, and died 
March 17, 1911), Mrs. Rosalthe F. Bliss, and 
Josiah L. (the latter also deceased) ; Eliza- 
beth Stinson, born Sept. 27, 1814, married 
(first) Sylvanus Bliss, and (second) Richard 
Bullock, Jr., and had three children by her 
first marriage — Alice (widow of Stephen Dex- 
ter Lee, of East Providence), Sylvanus A., of 
Baker street. Providence, and Lucetta (the lat- 
ter now deceased). 

Mary Jane Horton. daughter of Leonard 
and Mary T. (Read) Horton, of Dighton, mar- 
ried Franklin Briggs. She died March 17, 
1911. 

Annie R. Briggs, bom Aug. 5, 1858, daugh- 
ter of Franklin and Mary Jane (Horton) 
Briggs, attended common and high schools at 
Dighton, finishing at Wheaton Seminary, at 
Norton. After her marriage to Dr. Andrew 
J. Smith she located with him in Cambridge 
and later at San Antonio, Texas, later return- 
ing to Taunton, where Dr. Smith died. She 
married (second) Mr. Herbert T. Washburn 
and became interested in the undertaking busi- 
ness, assisting her husband in his work. She 
took a course in embalming at the Massachu- 
setts College of Embalming at Boston, from 
which she graduated, being the only woman 
in a class of thirty-two. Having passed the 



732 



SOUTHEASTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



board of Registration of Embalming she re- 
ceived her diploma and conducted the business 
of lier husband for several years before his 
death, having full charge of all its details. After 
the death of Mr. Washburn which occurred 
Aug. 11, 1907', she sold out. She still makes 
Taunton her home. Mrs. Washburn was one 
of tile organizers and directors of the National 
Crash Manufacturing Company, of Millbury, 
Mass., of which she is now treasurer. She is 
a lady of culture and marked intelligence, and 
a thorough business woman, as the success of 
the various ventures testifies. 



De. Andrew J. Smith was a native of 
Maine, born at Augusta Dec. 2, 1845, son of 
Andrew J. and Almira (Dodge) Smith. He 
was educated in his native home and took up 
the study of dentistry at the Massachusetts 
Dental College, where he graduated in 1871 
with the degree of D. D. S. Locating in Taun- 
ton after he was admitted to practice, he re- 
mained there three years in the practice of his 
chosen profession, building up a successful 
patronage. In 1874 he went to South America 
and became court dentist to the Emperor of 
Brazil, Dom Pedro, wliere he practiced two 
years, winning for himself the esteem and re- 
spect of the court and its officials. Returning 
to New England, he located at Cambridge, 
Mass., where for seven years he continued his 
professional work with great success, he and 
his wife then moving to Texas and locating at 
San Antonio. There he was in active prac- 
tice until 1887, but on account of ill health 
he was obliged to give up liis practice and he 
and his wife came to Taunton, where the re- 
mainder of liis life was spent, and where he 
died May 29, 1888. He was buried in the 
Brick Church cemetery, Dighton. Dr. Smith 
was a man well known and most highly re- 
'spected. Possessing a very genial manner, 
thoroughly devoted to his profession, he was 
much beloved and admired. He was a member 
of the A. F. & A. M. 



Washburn. (I) John Washburn, the first 
of this name in New England, settled in Dux- 
bury and was one of the first proprietors of 
Bridgewater, 1645. 

(II) John Washburn (2) married Elizabeth 
Mitchell, daughter of Experience Mitchell. 

(III) Samuel Washburn married Deborah 
Packard, daughter of Samuel. 

(IV) Israel Washburn, son of Samuel, born 
in 1684, married in 1708 Waitstill Sumner, 
and their children were: Sarah, born in 1709; 
Deborah, bom in 1712; Seth, bom in 1714; 



and Israel. The estate of Mr. Washburn was 
divided in 1730 among Israel, Sarah and Debo- 
rah. His \vidow remarried. Of the children, 
Sarah married in 1733 Ephraim Keith; Debo- 
rah married (first) John Ripley and (second) 
in 1740 Nathaniel Bolton, and died in 1759. 

(V) ('apt. Israel Washburn (2), son of 
Israel, married in 1740 Leah, daughter of 
Joshua Fobes, and their sons were : Israel, Ne- 
hemiali, Seth and Oliver. Mr. Washburn set- 
tled in the town of Raynham, Mass. He, as- 
sociated with Zadoc Presbo, operated a fur- 
nace at the dam on the Fowling stream for 
manufacturing hollow ware. This business 
continued many years, the ore being dug on 
the banks of the river. Captain Washburn be- 
came owner of the Presbo gristmill in the year 
1784, and left the property to his son Dr. 
Seth Washburn ; it subsequently passed into- 
the hands of his son Franklin Washburn. The 
Presbo mill referred to was owned by James 
Presbo in 1770. 

(VI) Dr. Seth Washburn, son of Israel (2), 
married and had sons Philo and Benjamin 
Franklin. 

(VII) Philo Washburn, born in Raynham, 
came to Taunton in tlie year 1851 and estab- 
lished the undertaking business which was con- 
tinued by his sons and grandson. He lived and 
died at Taunton. 

(VIII) Philo Thompson Washburn, son of 
Philo, followed the undertaking business in 
company with his brother Henry, carrying on 
the business founded by their father in Taunton 
in the early fifties. They were among the best 
known undertakers in that section of the State. 
Philo T. Washburn died in Taunton, as did 
also liis brother Henry, and both are buried 
in Mt. Pleasant cemetery. The former mar- 
ried Hannah Southworth, and had three chil- 
dren : Helen M., Herbert Thompson and Flor- 
ence. 

(IX) Herbert Thompson Washburn, son 
of Philo TliOmpson and Hannah (Southworth) 
Washburn, was born in Taunton, Mass., Jan. 
23, 1849. After his school days were over, he- 
having received his education in the Taunton 
public schools, he went into business training 
under the direction of his father in his under- 
taking establishment, and, remaining ^-ith the 
concern until the death of his father and uncle, 
succeeded to the business, which he success- 
fully conducted up to his death, Aug. 11, 1907. 

On Jan. 21, 1871, Mr. Washburn married 
Idella A. Bliss, who died Dec. 9,. 1884, leaving 
daughters: Bertha T., wife of Milton H. Far- 
ley, successor to Mr. Washburn; Alice B., un- 
married; and Edith A., who married Louis H.. 



SOUTHEASTEEN MASSACHUSETTS 



733 



Pero, of Taunton. Mr. Washburn married 
<seeond) Dec. 28, 1896, Mrs. Annie R. 
.(Briggs) Smith, who was lx)rn in the town of 
Dighton, daughter of Franklin and Mary J. 
Briggs, and widow of Dr. Andrew J. Smith. 
Mr. Washburn was a member of Ionic Lodge 
of Masons, St. Mark's Royal Arch Chapter, St. 
John's Comnianderj', K. T., of Providence, the 
Mystic Shrine, at Boston, the I. 0. 0. F., at 
Taunton, also of Rebekah Degree, B. P. 0. E., 
and the K. of P. 

HATCH (Whitman family). The family 
bearing this name at Whitman, to which be- 
longed the late Rev. Leonard Bradford Hatch, 
D. D., who for upward of fifty years was a 
zealous and efficient minister of the gospel, 
identified with the Baptist denomination, and 
who for thirty and more years was connected 
with the newspapers of Whitman and vicinity, 
being editor and proprietor of the Whitman 
Times and the Plymouth County Journal, of 
Abingtoii, is one of the ancient and prominent 
families of New England. 

Tliomas Hatch, of Plymouth Colony, the an- 
cestor of the Barnstable families of the name, 
came over early — was one of the nine who pro- 
posed Jan. 7, 1638 (0. S.), "to take up their 
freedom at Yarmouth." In 1641 he had 're- 
moved to Barnstable. He had taken the "oath 
of fidelity" before his removal from Yarmouth. 
In January, 1644, he was named on the list 
•of approved inhabitants of Barnstable. He 
was a church member, a man whose life was a 
living testimony of his fidelity to the princi- 
ples which he professed. He died in 1661, 
leaving a widow Grace and son Jonathan and 
daughter Lydia, wife of Henry Taylor. He 
probably liad other children, but none is named 
as surviving in 1661. 

Jonathan Hatch, son of Thomas, is repre- 
sented as being a man of indomitable energy 
,of character. "He was a pioneer in the marcli 
of civilization, and the history of his life, if 
faithfully written, would present many points 
of romantic interest." On Aug. 24, 1645, he 
was one of the four men forming the quota 
of the town of Barnstable in the expedition 
against the Narragansetts and their confed- 
erates. He married April 11, 1646, Sarah, 
daughter of Henry Rowley. He removed pro- 
bably to West Barnstable, thence to South Sea. 
He sold his farm at Sipnesset in 1661, and re- 
moved to Saconecet (variously spelled), the 
Indian name of the town of Falmouth, of which 
he was an original proprietor. His fann at 
Falmouth contained eighty acres, and for sev- 
eral years he was the agent of the proprietor^. 



and was employed at times in running out the 
bounds of lots and attending to the sales and 
transfers of rights. He became a "religious 
man, the venerable patriarch of a large and 
esteemed family of children." He acquired a 
large landed estate and was ranked among the 
wealthy of those times. He died in December, 
1710, aged about eighty-four years. His chil- 
dren were: Mary, Thomas, Jonathan, Joseph, 
Benjamin, Nathan, Samuel (all born in Barn- 
stable), Moses, Sarah, Mercy and Lydia. 

From the foregoing source have de.scended 
the several branches of the Tolland (Conn.) 
and vicinity Hatches. Of the sons of Jonathan 
and Sarah (Ro\iley) Hatch, 

(1) Capt. Joseph Hatch, who, with the pos- 
sible exception of Moses, was the most dis- 
tinguished of Jonathan's sons, was a soldier 
in King Philip's war, 1675-76. He was lieu- 
tenant of the militia company in 1702 and 
afterward captain. He inherited the home- 
stead of his father, acquired a large estate and 
exercised a wide influence. He married in 
1683 Amy Allen, of Chilmark, and of their 
children (a) Joseph, born in 1689, married 
in 1713. His children by this union of Tol- 
land (Conn.) birth were Amy, Joseph, Mercy 
and Jonathan, and tliose born to a second wife, 
Rebecca, were Lemuel, Rebecca, Ebenezer and 
Timothy. The father as intimated removed 
to Tolland, Conn., where it is said his son 
Joseph was the first male child born in the 
town — Sept. 12, 1715. The father was for two 
years selectman of the town, and was the first 
tavern-keeper in Tolland, chosen as such Jan. 

6, 1718. He was the first military officer of 
Tolland, etc. (b) Ichabod, bom in 1691, mar- 
ried in 1714 Abigail Weeks. He removed to 
Tolland, Conn., in 1726. Their children were: 
Zerviah, Joseph, Judah, Justus, Abigail, Dan- 
iel, Ruth and Ichabod. 

(2) Benjamin Hatch, another son of Jona- 
than and Sarah (Rowley) Hatch, born Sept. 

7, 1655, married (first) in 1678 Mary Hamb- 
lin, of Barnstable, after her death married 
(second) in 1682 Elizabeth Eddy, and after 
her death (third), in 1711-12, Experience, 
widow of Jabez Davis, of Barnstable, and 
daughter of David Linnell. Mr. Hatch re- 
moved to Mansfield, Conn. His children were: 
Abigail, Mary, Nathaniel, Benjamin, John, 
Elizabeth, Melatiah, Timothy, Hannah, Eddy 
(born Aug. 2, 1700) and Solomon (born May 
7, 1704). 

There was in Tolland, Conn., an Eddy 
Hatch, referred to as son of Abner, whose 
children comprised Experience, born in 1722; 
Abner, 1726; Hannah, 1729; Sarah, 1734; 



734 



SOUTHEASTEEN MASSACHUSETTS 



David, 1736; and Lucy, I'iiO; and there was 
a David Hatch, in Tolland, who by his wife 
Anna had children, George, Solomon and Lucy, 
born Sept. 2d, 1764, Nov. 5, 1766, and Feb. 
19, 1768, respectively. 

This Solomon Hatch, son of David, born 
Nov. 5, 1766, it is assumed, married Patience, 
born Sept. 4, 1773, of Bristol (R. 1.) town rec- 
ord, daughter of George and Sally Coggeshall, 
and is the ancestor of Rev. Dr. Leonard Brad- 
ford Hatch, of Whitman, who was of Connecti- 
cut and Rhode Island antecedents and himself 
a native of the latter State. George Coggeshall 
was born in Portsmouth, R. I., Nov. 3, 1780, 
son of William Coggeshall and. his wife Eliza- 
beth (Newby), William removing to Bristol, 
K. I., where earlier generations of the family 
were born and lived. William Coggeshall was 
the son of John Coggeshall, grandson of John 
Coggeshall and great-grandson of John Cogge- 
shall, of the County of Essex, England, who 
came over in the "Lion" in 1632, with his wife 
and children John, Anne and Joshua. 

George Coggeshall Hatch, son of Solomon 
and Patience (Coggeshall), married Martha 
Turner Coomer, daughter of John Coomer, 
grandson of John Coomer, great-grandson of 
John and Elizabeth (Kinnecut) Coomer and 
great-great-grandson of John Coomer and his. 
wife Sarah, of , Newport, R. I. The third John 
and his brother, Thomas Kinnicut Coomer, 
were both Patriots of the Revolution and pen- 
sioners of Bristol, R. I., in 1835, and through 
John is made eligible his posterity in the So- 
ciety of the American Revolution. George 
Coggeshall Hatch was a farmer in that part 
of Bristol, R. I., which later became a part 
of the town of Warren, and he,. too, was of a 
military turn, rendering service as an officer 
in the Rhode Island militia. 

Rev. Leoxard Bkadfoed Hatch, D. D., son 
of George Coggeshall and Martha Turner 
(Coomer) Hatch, was born Sept. 83, 1832, in 
what is now the town of Warren, R. I., where 
in the public schools and the Warren Acad- 
emy he acquired his early education. He for 
a time t^ght school and in the meantime pre- 
pared for college. Entering Colgate College 
he pursued his studies in a manner to win 
honor in his classes, but owing to ill health 
he had to drop out and gain that rest his sys- 
tem required. He had in view as a life work 
the ministry, so he continued his preparations 
in this line and as an aid in furthering his 
preparation taught school to some extent and 
preached occasionally. After having been so 
occupied for a couple of years he passed a very 
satisfactory examination for entering upon the 



work of tlie ministry. He was ordained at 
Brentwood, N. H., in the winter of 1858. He 
engaged in the work later at Edgartown, Mass., 
then at Whitman, to which he came in 1877, 
preacliing for several years at the First Bap- 
tist Church. His ne.xt charge was at Avon, 
Mass., where from a small society he built 
up a large church and during his ministry 
there he was instrumental in the expenditure 
of considerable money in the improvement of 
the church edifice. Following this he was sta- 
tioned over the church at Lexington, Mass., 
where his efi'orts were attended with similar 
success, tlie membership being largely in- 
creased. From Lexington he went to Brain- 
tree, where the church society was small and 
without a church building, a hall being used 
for meetings, but through his zeal and efforts, 
it may be said to liis credit, in less than three 
years a church edifice was built and equipped 
and the society became one of the largest in 
point of attendance and most flourishing of 
any in that vicinity. His success seemingly 
here lay in his power and ability to attract 
railroad men to the services, many of them 
becoming zealous and strong members of the 
church. Again he became pastor of a small 
church society worshipping in a hall, this time 
at Mattapan, Mass., and there he was as suc- 
cessful as he had been at Lexington, building 
up in the period of five years a strong church 
and erecting on one of the principal street* 
of the town a handsome church edifice, ele- 
gantly equipped. 

It will be observed that Dr. Hatch chose to 
accept calls to pastorates small and struggling, 
and, too. that it proved his forte to place them 
upon a sure foundation. This was a prominent 
feature of his ministry, much of his long min- 
isterial life having been given to the building 
up of weak and small societies; and as each 
became a power he left it to others and sought 
other fields to benefit ; and while he was sought 
by many large and flourishing churches he felt 
it a duty to decline such offers and continue 
the path apparently mapped out for him. 

Outside of his ministerial work Dr. Hatch, 
for he bore the title of Doctor of Divinity, 
which was conferred on him in June, 1908, 
by Grand Island College, at Grand Island, 
Nebr., found time to give attention to business, 
having for thirty and more years been the 
editor and proprietor of the Whitman Timex 
and the Plymouth County Journal of Abington, 
having been publisher and owner of the Timef 
from 1878, and of the Plymouth. County Jour- 
nal from 1877. He was for twenty years, from 
1890, a director of the Abington National 




LEONARD B. HATCH 



SOUTHEASTEEN MASSACHUSETTS 



735 



Bank, and a trustee of the Whitman Savings 
Bank from tlie time of its organization, and 
for some fifteen years was a member of the 
investment board. For seven years Dr. Hatch 
was a member of the school committee and he 
had received other public honors in tlie town. 

Dr. Hatch was a charter member of Old 
Colony Chapter, Sons of the American Revo- 
lution, and held the office of president some 
two years. He was a life director of the Bap- 
tist Missionary Society, and was a director and 
president of the Baptist Camp Meeting Asso- 
ciation of Cottage City. 

Dr. Hatch was a Mason from 1859, uniting 
with the lodge at Haverhill,' Mass. On locat- 
ing at Whitman he transferred to Puritan 
Lodge. He served the lodge at Whitman as 
chaplain, then was chosen to the highest office, 
that of the Worshipful Master, sustaining sucli 
relation for several years. He was a member of 
Pilgrim Chapter, Ro3'al Arch Masons, and of 
Abington Council, Royal and Select Masters. 
He was at one time honored with the position 
of chaplain of the Grand Lodge of Massachu- 
setts and Rhode Island. He was for several 
years Past Sir Eminent Commander of Old Col- 
ony Commandery, Knights Templar, of Abing- 
toD, and was for one year prelate of the Grand 
Commandery. He was also a thirty-second-de- 
gree Mason. In Odd Fellowship he had been 
Noble Grand of Webster Lodge, at Whitman, 
was a member of the Patriarchs Militant, and 
held almost every important office in the fra- 
ternity. He was for two years colonel of the 
Division of the East, Patriarchs Militant. In 
1888 and 1889 he was N"ew England aide to 
the Grand Commander of tlie Supreme Lodge 
of Odd Fellows of the United States. He was 
a charter member of Mount Hermon Com- 
mandery, Knights of Malta, and served as Emi- 
nent Commander. 

Dr. Hatch was one of the best of after din- 
ner speakers, and was often called upon on 
6uch occasions. He was a man of pleasing 
personality, of broad and liberal views, a strong 
advocate of temperance and had the reputation 
of being both enterprising and public-spirited". 

Dr. Hatch was twice married. His first 
wife, Mary E. Roberts, daughter of Stephen 
and Nancy G. (Gorham) Roberts, of Bruns- 
wick, Maine, died Aug. 9, 1877, aged thirty- 
four years, nine months, twenty-four days. To 
this union were born two sons, George S. and 
Leonard F., both of whom are physicians. On 
Dec. 25, 1880, he married (second) Myra B., 
daughter of the late David B. Gurney, of 
Whitman, the veteran tack manufacturer. 

Dr. Hatch passed away at the home of his 



son. Dr. Leonard F. Hatch, at Vineland, N. J., 
on Sunday morning, Oct. 9, 1910, aged sev- 
enty-eight years, after an illness of about a 
montli, and in his death the community in 
which he had lived for a period of thirty-six 
years truly sufi'ered a great loss. His place in 
public life will be hard to fill. His remains 
were brought to Whitman for burial, and the 
funeral services were held in the First Baptist 
Church, in order that the hundreds of friends 
might attend; the auditorium was crowded. 
The stores of the towns were closed during the 
services as a mark of respect to one who had 
for so many years been connected with the 
business life of Whitman. The various organ- 
izations with which he was affiliated, the banka. 
Board of Trade, the Merchants' Association, 
and other business associations, were repre- 
sented by delegations. The funeral services 
were in charge of Rev. Frank S. Jones, the 
pastor of the church, the Lotus Glee Club, of 
Boston, rendering the favorite selections of Dr. 
Hatch. The remains were laid to rest in 
Colebrook cemetery. Whitman. The love and 
esteem borne for Mr. Hatch were shown in the 
great number of beautiful floral offerings sent 
from so many friends and from organizations, 
one of the largest ever seen in the town. 

GURNEY. (I) According to manuscript 
in the possession of members of the Gurney 
family there were two emigrants of the name 
to these shores in the early days, Edward Gur- 
ney coming to Cambridge in 16.36, and John 
Gurney coming to Braintree. The latter was 
an apprentice to John Newgate. He was born 
Sept. 29, 1615, and died in 1663. His wife 
died in 1664. Nothing seems to be known of 
his children, yet a Richard Gurney of Wey- 
mouth appears to have been his son. 

(II) John Gurney, probably son of above, 
came from Weymouth about 1690 and settled 
in that part of Bridgewater which became the 
town of Abington, and was the progenitor of 
most of the Abington Gurneys. He died about 
1715, and it seems intestate, as his estate was 
divided equally among his children, among 
whom were Richard, David and Nathan. 

(III) Nathan Gurney, son of John, married 
and lived in Abington. His children were: 
Rebecca, born in October, 1727; Lemuel, born 
in October, 1730; Elijah, born in 1732; Noah, 
born in May, 1735; Nathan, born in Novem- 
ber, 1739; Silas, born in June, 1743; Sarah,, 
born in March, 1745; Jacob, born in March,. 
1748; John, born in May, 1751. 

(IV) Noah Gurney, son of Nathan, born in 
May, 1735, married a daughter of Samuel 



736 



SOUTHEASTEEN MASSACHUSETTS 



Pod], Esq., wlio was a prominent man of his 
town, as was his father before him, and a 
descendant of Edward Pool, of Weymouth, 
through Joseph and Samuel Pool, the latter, 
his father, being for six years selectman from 
South Abington and a representative to the 
General Court, while he himself was also select- 
man and representative. Noah Gurney's chil- 
dren were : Asa, Joseph Pool, Noah, Jeremiah, 
James, John and Olive. 

(V) Asa Gurney, son of