Skip to main content
1«— 4737a-3 OPO
PUBLIC & PRIVATE IMPROVEMENTS
gt grief f istars at %\m Cclltgt, anb ^Mt\ts of tk
|irst Srttlmcnt at\\t f0ton. .
COMPILED AND WRITTEN,
BY C. J. SELLON.
J. H. SHERMAN, PRINTER,
Dear Reader, my object in writing this " History " is to set forth the
^ advantages, privileges and prospects of Gale^burg. I have endeavored
to give a faithful daguerreotype of the business of the town, and to group
within these pages facts at once interesting and useful. It may be that
much has been omitted that should have appeared, and much admitted
that were better out ; and, if so, this must be my excuse ; since I con-
cluded to undertake this work 1 have been compelled to make a perilous
journey by flood and land in search of a Press on which to print it — te
edit a weekl}"^ paper, assist in getting ready to issue a Daily, and perfom-
ing sundiy other duties " too tedious to mention."
I have met with much unlooked for difficulty in gathering facts con-
nected with Colleges, Churches, Railroads, &c. &c., but through the
untiring exertions of Mr. Tuthill I have been enabled to give a tolerably
fair account of them. I wish here to make public acknowledgement of
raluable aid received from Rev. G. W. Gale. The early history of the
town and Knox College is from his pen. The same facts were once before
published, but ver\ few of our citizens have read them. We are also
indebted to him for a copy of the census taken in 1843. I am also under
obligations to Mr. W. Abkold, clerk in the C. B. & Q. Railroad Freight
Office for much valuable statistical information respecting that Railroad.
The reader will find that I have been unable to give an extended account
©r description of anything. My limits, but, above all, the price of my
"bocky compelled me to be brief.
Trusting that what is here written may prove a "lamp to the feet" of
some westward bound emigrants, and contribute in some degree towards
building up the " Collegiate City," as well as prove interesting to the
oitiieus of Gale-sburg, and — profitable to myself, I subscribe myself
Your Humble Servant,
CHARLES J. 8ELL0N.
HISTORY OF GALESBURG.
[When we first conceived the idea of writing and printing a
history of Galesburg, we applied to Rev. George W. Gale, the
projector and founder of Knox College, and as a consequence, the
founder of Galesbuig, to write out for this work the<}arly history
of the College and the town. This he cheerfully promised to do»
but subsequent ill health prevented him from writing it. He had,
however, in 1845, written and published a small pamphlet, enti-
tled, " A Brief History of Knox College," which contained the
substance of the information we desired to incorporate into this
work. From this pamphlet we determined to cull such facts as in
our judgment would prove interesting to our citizens ; but aftei*
reading it we concluded to insert it entire.]
Late in the Autumn of 1836 more than thirty families had found
their way to what was then, as it is still by many, considered the
"far west." They were snugly quartered in dwellings of the rudest
kind, ^built by themselves, or hired of western settlers, along the
south border of Henderson Grove, Knox County, Illinois ; on what
is called the " Military Tract ;" thirty miles frrom the Mississippi
River, about forty miles from Rock River, and an equal distance
from the Illinois River on the east ; on elevated prairie land where
the streams rise which flow into these three rivers.
Henderson Grove is of the finest timber ; from ten to twelve miles
long, and from four to seven broad. The prairie on its south bor-
der, where Galesbuig stands, larger in extent than the grove, is
beantifully rolling, and of the finest quality of soil.
HISTORY OF OALKSByRG.
A few famllicK, pioneers of tlie west, had seen this grove and
prairie in their verdure and bh)s*;om, having arrived the preceding
summer ; but most of them beheld them for the first time in autumn,
yellow and sere; yet interesting alike to all. This spot was their
future homo ; the scene of coining laleors in the cause of the Re-
deemer, jtiid tlieir resting place after a wagon jonrney to many of
more than one thousand miles.
These families were homogeneous in their character, partaking of
the spirit, as they sprung from the blood, of the Pilgrim Fathers
of jS'ew England. They loved the Bible, the Sabbath, and the
sanctuary. Tlicy cherished with slight or no variation, the same
views of Gospel truth ; and felt, as their fathers felt, the import-
ance of transmitting the institutions of religion to those tvdio should
come after them, as the richest inheritance they could leave.
But their views were not restricted to benefitting their descend-
ants. The object which gave birth to the enterprise, was that of
diffusing over an important region of country, at an early period of
its settlement, the combined influences of education and religion.
Like their ancestors, they had both " Pastors and Teachers." No
Sabbath was spent after the mam liody had arrived without the
public worship uf God. Their private dwellings first, and soon a
Luiliiiiig erected for the purpose, was used, serving the double \)ux-
pose of school-room and sanctuary ; and the very first winter a
school was taught by a gentleman and lady both in the common
and academic branches.
Thus situated and employed, this inf;mt community were more
than contented — they weie happy. True they were far from friends,
from loved homes and cherished scenes of the tenderest associations.
They had expected trials, and they met them. Kxehanging cora-
fortable habitations in eastern villages for the straitened and ruda
accommodations of western log cabins ; some had lost children,
others had buiied husbands and fathers by diseases contracted oa
the way ; and others were still suffering from like causes ;* but they
never suffered a moments depression, nor repined against Providence,
nor legretted for a moment that they had embarked in this enter-
■iO ' ' ■ — ■ • ■ — • ■ ■
* Uov. U. \\ . Gale buned an intiint son, fourteen months old, a few day.s froix
home in New York. Deu. Sumucl Tompkins bnriod one in Michigan, on his war;
aud lAvo other families lot*! mimbers.
HISTORY OF GALESBURO. 7
prise. The liope of securing the blessings of education and religion
to their posterity, and to the region where they settled, was more to
them than the comforts they had left.
Nor were they left without a manifest token of God's approba-
tion. The first winter after their arrival, the Lord poured out his
Spirit upon them, and a considerable number of tlie youth gave
pleasing evidence of having passed from death unto life. It was
like the re-appearance of the star to those who of old journeyed
from the east seeking Jesus. And, " When they saw the star they
rejoiced with exceeding joy." Early the ensuing spring, after much
consultation and prayer, a Presbyterian church was formed, con-
eisting of eighty-two members, a part were the fruits of the late
reviv.il, but the most united by certificate. They were_Tresbyterians
and Congregationalists in nearly equal numbers; but both parties
were resolved to yield their predilections rather than divide. The
same spirit has continued since, and though the church polity has
been somswhat modified, there is yet (1845) but one church in the
Next summer (1837) the adjoining prairie was the theater of a
busy activity, in the erection of buildings and opening of farms ;
and part of the settlers having removed to their dwellings in the
town, public worship was held alternately there, and at the Grove.
The Academy building was erected in the fall (1837), and opened
for students early in the winter with more than thirty pupils.
The College was chartered by the Legislature at the SessioHS
1838-7, embracing a " Preparatory Department," designed for
general academic purposes for both sexes, the intention being to
have separate schools for the sexes as soon as buildings could be
erected. From this time (1837) to the present, (1845), the Church,
the population, and the Institution have steadily advanced. The
Church has above three hundred members ; the settlement a popu-
lation of near eight hundred ; and the College (when the Freshman
class enters at the close of the vacation,) will have between thirty
and forty in several classes. The Academy has ha.d under its in-
struction one hundred and eighty-four pupils during the present year.
The settlement of Galesburg originated in the desire and hope of
doing good. It had in this, its birth and being from the minds and
hearts of its projector and his associates.
HieTOnV OK GALEBBURO.
The writer of thepreeent sketch, as early as 1825, conceived th«
plan of combining physical labor with education, specially for the
Benefit of those young men, who, in passing from laborious occupa-
tions to a life of study, too commonly suffer by the transition from
active to sedentary pursuits. It was thought two objects might be
obtained by such a scheme — the preservation of health, and the
cheapening of a liberal education to enterprising young men by the
avails of their labor. The writer was connected with the first regu-
lar effort to combine manual labor with a liberal course of instruc-
tion made in this country. And theugh, like every valuable dis-
covery, it was to be expected that .this improvement in the mode
of education would be affected by the ebbing and flowing of public
sentiment, as indeed it has been ; yet he has the satisfaction of be-
lieving, with a multitude of best informed men, that vast benefits
have accrued and are yet to accrue from the attempt to combine
physical labor with intellectual culture and education in this
Encouraged by good success, and finding himself straitened in
his location in New York State, by surrounding endowed institu-
tions, the writer conceived and drew up a plan for a large institu-
tion at the West, which was in substance, as follows :
A colony of settlers was to be formed, and a township of land
(/. e. six miles square, or thirty-six square miles or sections, making
twenty-three thousand and forty acres,) purchased at the govern-
ment price. Three sections near the center being reserved for a
village and College grounds ; the remainder was to be divided into
farms, appraised according to location, near or remote, from the
town and Institution, its woodlands, or other advantages ; the whole
to be rated at an average price of not less than five dollars per acre:
and purchasers were to take these farms at their estimated and mark-
ed value ; or bid for the choice where there was competition. All
the town property, a mile square, after paying cost, was to consti-
tute a fund for Academies for both sexes. And the proceeds of all
other lands, after paying expenses, etc., was to constitute a fund
for building the College edifices, and endowing professorships and
scholarships, censisting of the right of gratuitous instruction of one
student for twenty-five years for each eighty acres purchased and
cultivated within a given time.
HISTORY OF GALESBURG. 9
The above plan was shown, and approved of extensively by
clergymen and laymen, who Avarmly advised and urged its prosecu-
tion. The considerations which swayed the projector's mind in
fixing the site, were the circumstances favoring success, with the
prospective want of such an institution as was contemplated.
The location was not easily settled. Michigan, Northern Indiana,
and Illinois were successively considered. The prairies of Michigan
were small, and at that period (1834) mostly taken up ; and the
toil of clearing a timbered country, the necesary inequality in prices
of cleared and uncleared lands, with the long unhealthy period in-
cident to the removal o%,fQrests. These considerations decided
us successively against^fliclugan and Indiana ; and delayed the
enterprise itself, so that at one time the projectors had well nigh or
quite relinquished the idea of its prosecution.
It was, however, resumed the following year ; when the fixed
character, and undoubted wealth of the prairie soil — its uniform
quality, and consequent easy susceptibility of a justly graduated
scale of prices ; but above all, the brief time requisite to bring
farms under improvement, and give them the cultured beauty of
long 'settled couutries, determined us, at last, in favor of Illinois.
In such a country, we reasoned, there could be no fear as to the
present means of living, and ultimate success of our plan.
A subscription was accordingly opened, and operations com-
menced. Ilev. II. II. Kellogg, since then first President of the
College, and Rev. John Waters, entered cordially into the enter-
prise and attached themselves to it ; though Mr. Kellogg, then en-
gaged in a flourishing institution for the education of females, which
he had himself founded and built, did not remove to Illinois with
the first who came. liev. G. W. Gale was appointed to procure a
colon}' of settlers.
About thirty families soon embarked in the enterprise, contribu-
ted funds for the purchase ; and an Exploring Committee was
chosen, consisting of Nehemiah West, Thorn a.s Gilbert, and Timo-
thy Jervis. They were not to purchase; but spending, as they
would, some of the hot months in the West, to select and report
a suitable location for the objects of tl-.e colony, They were di-
rected to examine the part of Indiana near the head of Lake Michi-
gan, and proceed to the Northern and central counties of the State of
HISTORY OK GAl.ESnURG.
Illinois;, in the vicinity of the Illinois ami Fox rivers. A location
in either case was thought to be suflicientlj remote from any ex-
isting Institution; and convenient as a place of education to the
present and future inhabitants of a vast region of country.
Mr. West was obliged to return early in the sunnner. !Mr. Jervis
•was soon after taken ill and returned also ; and Mr. Gilbert, the
third and last of the committee, concluded to purchase for himself
in Knox county, on the Military Tract. No location was reported
by the committee. Doubt and uncertainty for a time settled upon
the enterprise, but the Directors were not disheartened. The cause
had been committed to God, and the sidvation of souls was in it.
They contributed six or 5even^wiilf3^dollars in money; nego-
tiated a loan of ten thousand dollars at the Bank of Michigan ; and
chose a Purchasing Committee wdio were to proceed forthwith to
Illinois, select a location if possible, and make the purchase. This
committee were 8ylvanus Ferris, Neheniiah West, Thomas S'm-
mons, and George W Gale.
The committee left Whitesboro, N. Y., about the middle of Sep-
tember, 1835, in their own conveyance. At Buffalo _they shij^ped
their team on board a steamer and set out for Detroit ; and a rough
and dangerous passage they had of it. After a storm (the equi-
noctial) which kept the boat in haibor one day, and meeting a gale
which drove them into the harbor of Dunkirk, Avhere we lay in
shelter twelve hours more, we met on our way up the lake, a more
serious accident, which had well nigh ended our enterprise and our
About three o'clock at night, off Cleveland, while we were fast
aslce[) cur boat ran foul of another steamer which was coming
down the lake vinder full head way. A mere providence saved us
from all going to the bottom. A rent was made in our vessel
near the water's, edge, but we were able to proceed on our way.
At Detroit, 'Sir. Samuel Tompkins was added to th ' committee
in plaw of Ixev. G. W. Gale, who was taken sick on his way up
the lake. jNIr. Tompkins, with Kev. John Waters, had accompa-
nied the committee, and tiie latter proceeded on with the committee,
and was present, aiding in the selection of the site.
The committee weie instructed to keep their design secict, lest
they should be interfered with by speculators. A necessary caution
HISTORY OF GALESBURO.
as it prove 1 ; for before the purchase was complete, one who was
putting up at the county-seat, huiTied away to the land office, and
entered eighteen alternate halt' quarter sections, running directly
througli the townNhip.
The committee found here thirty thousand acres of the finest
prairie, lying in a hodj, rolling, well watered, surrounded with,
groves ©f the finest timljer, with ravines yielding an abundance of
mineial coal ; the whole tract subject to entr}'-, on Congress title,
and at the minimum price of one dollar and a quarter per acre.
In the midst of this beautiful tract, they first bought some tim-
bered and improved lands, near Henderson Grove, for the tempo-
rary convenience of settlers, and afterward entered ten thousand
acres lying in a body, in the center of which they located the town,
which they called Galesburg, after the name of the original pro-
jector, re-surveyed the lands purchased, and returned to their homes;
all which they accomplished in a little moiethan eight weeks.
These minute details, though pcihaps not interesting to the gen-
eral reader, are yet so to the descendants of the men concerned, and
may be of some use to future pioneers in the West.
Why was Knox College located where it is ? The purchasing
committee, were not, of cour.se, indifl'erent to the natural advantages
of soil, timber, and climate in fixing a location for their own and
the habitations of their chihlren. But the controlling idea of th«
whole enterprise was tlie building up of an institution of religious
learning fi>r piescnt and future generations ; and the spot on which
this was to be erected was not fixed upon without grave and delib-
Tlie "iiilitary Tract," named from the lo'-ation here of the sol-
diers' bounty lauds of the last war, embraces all the land between
the Mississippi autl Illinois rivers, beginning at the point where
these rivers meet, and extending north almost to Rock river. It )«
thus the Mesopotamia of the West.. Drawing a line from the Mis-
sissippi at the mouth of Rock river to the great bend of the Illinois
river near Reiu ; and you have between the rivei's a territoiy larger
than the State of Massachusetts, containing in 1S40 nearly 100,000
inhabitan's, well watered, with, for the most part, an adequate sup-
ply of timber, and abounding in mineral coal. Encircled by nav-
igable waters — almost embosomed by the gieat Mississippi — almost
HISTORY OF OALKSBURO.
every inch of the soil arable ; yet more rolling, high, and healthful
than the greater part of Michigan, — the whole earth does not con-
tain a spot capable of sustaining a denser population than the re-
gion between these rivers. And if there he a soil on the globe
where the seeds of salvation ought to be sown with the first break-
ing of the turf, it is this. Others beside the founders of Knox
College have appreoiatpd the importance of thispositiou. Colleges
have been chartered, on this tract, at Warsaw, Macomb, Tiock Is-
land, Canton, Nauvoo, and Jubilee. And though, excepting Bish-
op Chase's College at the latter place, no permanent institutions are
likely to be built under any of these charters, they 3'et show how
strong and wide an impression has prevailed, that an institution of
the first class must be located within the Military Tract.
Galesburg, the site of Knox College, is central to this region*
It is situated on the head waters which flow into the great rivers,
and is healthful. Fewer cases of sickness and death can scarcely
be found in any town of any State, time and numbers being propor-
tionate. Like Oxford and Cambridge in England, and most of the
American Colleges, it is inland ; and free from the rivalships of an,
active commercial interest, commercial luxuries, and commercial
vices, incident to those river or seaport towns where rapid accumu-
lation of wealth by commerce, produces vast inequality of property,
and almost infallibly overlays society with indolence, made fashion-
able by overgrown wealth ; and obstructs college discipline by vio-
lent temptations to vicious amusements.
But commercial towns must be, and are rapidly rising along the
courses of the great rivers, and Knox College is oonvenientl}' situa-
ted for the education of their sons, Taking Galesburg for a center
a ?.weep of fifty miles takes in one hundred and twenty miles of the
Mississijipi ; in other words, this great stream runs one hundred
and twenty miles without getting more than fifty miles from Knox
College. The same circle takes in more than thirty miles of the
Rock river, and more than seventy of the Illinois ; embracing be-
sides other towns, fifteen county seats. Whether a college, placed
in tlie center of such a region is located wisely, for present and
prospective uses, capable minds will not find it difficult to judge.
It has been suggested that, at present, one college — that at Jack-
sonville — is sufficient for the Presbyterian and Congregational
HISTORY OF GALK8BURO. 13
wants of Illinois. The founders of Knox College judged otherwise,
8uch sparse collegiate policy has no precedent in New England, or
any where else except in populations wedded to ignorance. Even
in Lower Canada, the Romanists had, fifteen years ago, located six
New England, excluding Maine, and ineluding Vermont, New
Hampshire, Massachusetts, Connecticut and Rhode Island, has an
area of 31,280 square miles; the State of Illinois has 55,000!
In 1840 these States together had a population of 1,732,339 ; Il-
linois had 476,183. Those States have seven colleges for Congre-
gationalists ; it has been suggested that one, at present, will do for
In 1830, the above States had a population of 1,552,276 ; showing
in th« last ten years an increase of 177,963 ; Illinois had 157,455 ;
showing an increase of 318,638 in the same time ; that is, those
New England States increased in population less than twelve per
cent. ; while the Illinois increase was about two hundred per cent.
Should Illinois increase only at the rate of one hundred per cent.,
till 1860, fifteen years hence, it will nearly equal those States in
population, should their increase continue at the rate of the last
ten years ; that is, it will have near two millions of inhabitants !
At the least supposable rate of increase, what a population must
this State have before either of her colleges shall celebrate their semi-
centennial anniversary ! When Illinois shall have the same popular
tion to the square mile that Massachusetts now has, she will contain
FIVE MILLIONS OF SOULS ! And what is to hinder the speedy attain-
ment of that number ! Twice five millions will not be crowded,
within her ample boundaries. Her matchless soil will not refuse to
feed them, nor her mighty rivers to bear their burdens.
"Why should such a territory, so environed with navigation, with
such a population and such prospects, be stinted in the means of
furnishing liberally educated men ? Why should Illinois be made
an exception to other States East or West ? Why should this
time, and this territory be selected for the experiment of a new poli-
cy ? Shall the rising population of this Western Mesopotamia
receive the Apocalyptic beasts's mark in their intellects and ac-
tions — that is to say, "in their foreheads and bands?" And will
christians suffer it ?
14 ' HISTORY OF GALESBURQ.
It has also been suggested that Knox College is too near Illinois
College at Jacksonville. The ordinary road of travel between
ihem is some 100 miles, and an air line makes the distance not
much shorter. There is also a navigable river between the two to
tnm the current of business and the course of trayel. The business
of the Military Tiact, what does not go to Chicago and St. Louis,
terminates, and always will, at different points on the surrounding
river. And if it were not so, the distance between these Institu-
tions isnrorethan double tliat between some of the established col-
leges of New England, and far greater than that between most of
those standing next each other. While the present population of
Illinois equals in density that of some of those States when the older
colleges were founded ; and the prospective population is greater
The founders o£ Knox College did not intend to interfere with
the just prerogatives or true interests of any other Institutions ; and
have no wishes concerning them, but their success in doing good.
It was not originally intended to appeal to the christian public to
mid its funds, which were thought to be provided for in their original
plan. And so they were, but for the financial earthquake which
wrecked every thing in the western countiy which could be shakea
by pecuniary reverses. Still they have persevered, and, as the
state of the Institution shows, God has not withheld a high degree
©f success All that has been received in donations from the publit
has not equaled the amount destroyed in one short hour by fire.
Their present funds, though as yet, partly unproductive secure per-
manence to the Institution which they have planted ; and what
nors may be needed will doubtless be furnished, through his chiU
iren, by Him whose promise supplies the means to establish Hi«
kingdom, and bless and save the world.
This sketch designed for the double purpose of public informa-
tion and a document for reference, is necessarily minute.
The purchasing committee returned, a meeting of the subscribers
was called to receive their report at Whitesboro, N. Y., January 7,
1836. The report was satisfactory, was accepted, and the following
proceedings had, viz : A College was provisionally organized, t«
"he called, till chartered, " Prairie College." A Board of Trust ap-
pointed, consisting of Rev. John Waters, Sylvanus Ferris, Rev.
HISTORY OF GALESBURO. 15
H. H. Kellogg, Dea. Thomas Simmons, John C. Smith, Rev. Geo,
W. Gale, Nehemiah West, Isaac Mills, Samuel Tompkins, and Dr.
Walter Webb. The town site was reported, and the name, Gales-
bnrg, confirmed. Plats of the purchase were made. Town prop-
erty was reserved of five hundred and sixty acres. One thousand
and four acres were reserved for college and theological uses. The
balance of the purchase was divided into farms ; appraised upon the
average of five dollars per acre; and nearly half of the whole pur-
chase sold to purchasers most of whom had never seen the soil ;
such was their confidence in the committee. Nor was it misplaced;
for though a vote was adopted to allow any who should be dissatis-
fied with their purchases to exchange them for other lands on their
arrival, no such change was made. The meetings were commonly
attended with prayer to God, and a spirit of harmony prevailed
which has characteiized the settlement since.
The town plat made in the center of the purchase, embraced one
hundred and sixty acres. The form, si'ae, and price of lots were
fixed. A ten acre lot on each side of the town was reserved for male
and female Academies ; also a Cemetery of five acres, ground for a
meeting-house, and a lot for a parsonage. Plans for Academy
buildings, public house, and s team mill were suggested, but finally
left to private enterprise.
In the spring (1836) several families removed by land, and ar-
rived at the settlement in June. Others went on with them to pre-
pare to remove their families in the fall. Among those were Messrs,
West and Gale, two of the Trustees, who were authorized to pro-
cure a survey of the town plot, which they did, and sold a large
amount of town property to emigrants from New York, Vermont,
and Maine ; moat of them Presbyterians and Congregationalists who
had heard of and wished to join in the enterprise.
Mr. John C. Smith, of Utica, persuaded several to purchase with
him a canal boat, in which they embarked their families and effects.
They proceeded to Buffalo; were towed by a steamer to Cleveland ;
thence through the Ohio canal to Portsmouth on the Ohio river ;
from which point they floated down the Ohio to Cincinnati.
Fin ling their progress too slow ; and finding it impossible to
hire a steamboat to tow them which would stop on the Sabbatb,
16 HI9TOKY OF GALESBURO.
which they had not violated by traveling hitherto, they constructed
a stern wheel to their boat, and propelled it by their horses.
An incident occurred at Portsmouth respecting the Babbath,
worthy of note. While tied up for the day at that place, a steamer
came to on Sabbath morning, bringing home a large number of
commissioners to the Presbyterian General Ast^embly, which had
just closed its session. A clergyman came to the canal boat, and
addressing an old lady, (most of th^ boat's company were at public
worship on shore,) invited them to come on board the steamer for
worship. The old lady asked if the boat had not come in that
morning? He answered, yes. "We had heard," said she, "that
you were to have worship on board, but we had concluded not to
attend the preaching of those who are breaking the Sabbath."
W^ith their new propelling power, they went on down the river
from Cincinnati. After much difficulty and detention from defe«-
tive machinery and ignorance of shoals, etc., they succeeded in
reaching the mouth of the Ohio ; were towed thence to St. Louis;
propelled their boat to Alton ; were again towed into the Illinois,
and worked their way by their stern wheel up to Meredosia ; where
some of them taking sick, others leaving to go by land, the rest
with the boat, were towed up to Copperas Creek, near Peoria, the
nearest point to Galesburg.
Wagons were immediately dispatched to bring them off; but
they were found at a public house, a few miles from the river, nearly
all sick. One large unfinished room, with beds spread on the floor,
contained most of them ; literally a hospital iu the wilderness sud-
denly filled with patients. Forty persons had been crowded
into one narrow canal boat upon the western rivers from two to
three months in the warm season of the year. They were soon as
possible, removed to their cabins at Henderson Grove.
Col. Mills died ten days after his arrival. Mr. Smith, projector
and captain of the expedition, speedily followed him ; and Mr.
Lyman, after being removed from the boat to tha grove languished
about two months and died. "These all died in faith," passing
from new scenes here, to more impressive scenes in "the better coun-
try, that is in an heavenly." Their death cast a gloom over the
infant colony. They were principal men ; two of them members
of the Board of Trust.
HISTORY OF GALESBURG. 17
Mr. Smith, a relative of Dr. Grant,, the Nestorian misaionarj,
whose two sons he had with him for education, by the advice and
counsel of their father ; was an able, energetic, but somewhat vis-
ionary mind. Mr. Lyman , an elder of the Presbyterian church at
New York Mills, Oneida county, N. Y., was a pious and intelligent
man. His children have been blessed and prospered in the colony;
and one has since joined the departed spirit of his father. Col.
Isaac Mills, a farmar of Columbia, Herkimer county, N. Y., was
■with his family converted to Christ from Universalism in the great
revivals of 1825-8
He was a liberal and holy man, also an ehler in the church. He
left every comfort of life in the hope of doing more good in this
mission colony. He aided in the daily and Sabbath worships held
on board of the boat, distributed tracts on the way ; and when,
there was no preaching where they tied up on Sabbath, called the
inhabitants together and held meetings for prayer, reading, and
exhortation. The rest of the invalids from this unhappy voyage
Thus ended this ill-fated expedition ; for boldness of conception,
and perseverance in execution, equal to that of Jason and his Argo-
nauts of old. A journey of more than two thousand miles, thus
accomplished by men of little knowledge of navigation any where
and none of the waters which they passed.
The following are the names and residences of those who arrived
in 1836 : Rev. John Waters, New Hartford, N. Y. ; Rev. George
W. Gale, Prof. N. H. Losey, Whitesboro, N. Y. ; John C. Smith,
Utica, N. Y. ; Henry Lyman, Elisha King. New York Mills, N. Y.;
Riley Root, Camden, N. Y. ; Mrs. Phelps and family, do. ; Leon-
ard Chapel, Clinton, N. Y. ; Drs. Thomas Simmons, Samuel
Tompkins, Daniel Wheeler, Hamilton, N. Y. ; Col. I«aac Mills,
Columbia, N. Y. ; Patrick Dunn, Western N. Y. ; Col. Matthew
Chambers, Roswell Payne, Luther Gay, Wm. Hamblin, Bridport,
Vt. ; Erastus Swift, Addison, Vt. ; Henry Wilcox, Moriah, N. Y,
Abel Goodell, Chancey S. Colton, L:aac Edton, Monson, Me.
Nehemiah West, Loreutius Conger, John G. \Yest, Ira, N. Y. .
Caleb Finch, Greenbush, N. Y. ; John Kendall, Adoniram Kendall]
New Lebanon, N. Y. ; Geo. Troop Avery, mother and sisters, and
Mrs. Hitchcock and family. Besides these, all of whom had fami-
18 HISTORY OF GALE8BURG.
lies, there were three young men, viz : John McMullen, G. T). Col-
ton, and Abraham Tyler, from the State of New York,
The following arrived in the spring of 1837, viz : Sylvanus
Ferris, Geo. Ferris, Russia, N. Y. ; Weston Ferris, N. O. Ferris,
Norway, N. Y. ; Dr. James Bunce, Utica, N. Y.; Levi Sanderson,
Eli Farnham, Dea. Agrippa, Martin Fabius, N. Y. ; Harvey H,
May, Union Village, N. Y. ; Junius C. Prentice, Sheldon Allen,
Augusta, N. Y. ; Barber Allen, Cato, N. Y. ; and Jonathan Sim-
mons, Hamilton, N. Y.
A Steam Saw Mill and the Academy were built in the summer
©f 1837. The College was chartered by the Legislature of Illinois
at the sessions in the winter of 1836-7 : the property conveyed to
the legal board, and by them deeded to the purchaser, in fee simple.
but with the condition of forfeiture to the College, if intoxicating
liquors are made and sold on the premises.
In 1838, Eev. H. H. Kellogg, of Clinton, N. Y., was appointed
President of the College; Rev. G. W. Gale, Prof, of Rhetoric and
Moral Philosophy ; and H. N. Losey, A. M., Prof, of Mathematics
and Natural Scienes. Mr. Losey had heretofore conducted the
Preparatory Department, In 1841 the College was fully organized,
and a class entered on the Freshman year. In 1843, a building
which had cost more than $5000, took fire and burned down.
There was no insurance. The Board then commenced the present
Echeme of college buildings, for which the inhabitants of Galesburg
wibscribed near $3000, and ^some $500 more were obtained in the
▼icinity. In the summer of 1843 Rev. G. W. Gale went east and
returned early the year following, with an apparatus which cost
»ear $800, and sixteen hundred volumes of books, besides some
fands toward building. In 1843, President Kellogg went to Eu-
rope, and while there, obtained for the College about $1000 in
Money, and some $500 worth of books.
In 1844 a College building was completed, containing rooms at
present occupied by the Library, as a lecture room, and for the
Philosophical and Chemical apparatus ; besides accommodations
f»r eighteen to twenty students. Another building of the same
iimensions is nearly completed.
After this outlay of more than $10,000, the productive fund of
*be iDstitution is above ^20,000. Besides this productive fund.
HISTORY OF GALE8BURG. 19
the College has unsold lands, chiefly within the original purchase,
which are valued at $30,000 ; and unsold lands in other counties,
worth some seven or eight thousand dollars more. There is land
and town property reserved for Theological Instruction, if applied
to that use within a given time, now valued at S3, 000. So that
the entire lund for all educational uses, realized from this
enterprise, is at present some $70,00O.^CT^he school section (640
acres) given hy the Government for primary schools, fell near the
town, and has yielded a permanent fund of $7,000, the interest of
which with the annual State appropriations, nearly furnishes grat-
uitous instruction to every child in the township. Some two Imn-
dred children now profit by this fund.
The town of Galesburg now has (1845) some seventy dwellings,
Reside mechanics' shops, stores, mills, Academy and College build-
ings, accommodating some eight hundred inhabitants. An ample
church building is in process of completion. Repeated revivals of .
religion have been experienced. Profaneness is rarely heard in the-
atreets, and intoxicating drinks have neither foothold nor advocatCB :
in the community. There being but one religious society as yet in
the place, (long may the happy union continue), and all the infla-
ences centering in the College and subordinate schools, the discip-
line over students is rather that of the ^^/face than of the instHutioB,
and nothing seems requisite but industry and fidelity, with the
continued approbation and blessing of God, to realize the most
ardent hopes and pious wishes of the founders and friends of the
Colony and Seminaries here planted.
HlSTCr.Y OF GALESBURG.
First Church, Chables W. Tyler, Pastor. — This, as its name
purports, was the first church organized in Galesburg. It was or-
ganized Feb. 25th, 1837, under the name of the First Preshyterian
Church. It consisted of eighty members, eighteen of whom united
by profession of faith, and the rest by letter from Churches in the
East. Rev. G. W. Gale was the first stated supply of the pulpit.
He commenced preaching to the first settlers as early as 1836, and
from that time the pulpit has been supplied as follows :
Rev. G. W. Gale, assisted by Rev. John Waters, 1836 to 1839;
Eev. Horatio Foote, 1839 to 1840; Rev. G. W. Gale, 1840 to
1841 ; Rev. H. H. Kellogg, aided by Mr. Gale, 1841 to 1843 ;
Eev. H. Marsh, Rev. J. Waters, and Rev. Mr. Hollister, 1843
to 1844 ; Rev. L. Parker, 1844 to 1845 ; Rev. H. H. Kellogg,
installed Pastor Jan., 1846, dismissed May, 1847 ; Rev. J. Blasoh-
ARD, stated supply from 1847 to Dec, 1849 ; Rev. F. Bascom, Pas-
tor Dec, 1849 ; Rev. Charles W. Tyler, present Pastor.
In 1842, after an amicable discussion and consultation, the
Church adopted a modified form of government, adapted to accom-
modate both Presbyterians and Congregationalists. The present
number of members is 386. The term Presbyterian was expunged
by vote of the Church in October, 1856. Church building cor.
Broad street and Public Square.
Methodist Episcopal Church, John P. Brookb, Pastor. — This
Church was organized in Feb. 1847, with ten members. The pres-
ent number of members is 140. Church building corner of Kellogg
and Tompkins streets.
iU:^TiST CmiijCH, Silas Tucker, Pastoi;.^On the 15th of Jan.,
1848, the* first Baptist Church of Galesbur^'was organized with
aboui .thirty members. They purchased the lot on the corner of
Tompkins and Broad streets, on which they erected a small but con-
T^nient house o.( vyofshjp^ Under the labors of their present Pas-
tor the church. has been Btrengthened and built up, and now num\)ers
216 members. ^ \ -v
Second Presbyterian Church, John \\ .JiAiLV.Y, Pastor. — This
Church was organized in May, 1854, with thirty members. Kum-
HISTORY OF GALKSBURG. 2l
ber of members added since then, 113. Present number 123. The
church building is on the corner of Mxin and Kellogg streets. The
present building is designed for temporary use, only, as it is the
determination to buihi a large and handsome church within the next
two years, in some eligible part of the city.
Swedish Evangelical Lutheran CnaRCH, T. N. Hasselquist,
Pastor. — This Church was organized in 1852, and. has at this time
185 members. Church building on Seminary stieot.
Old School Presbyterian Church, I. N. Candee, Pastor. —
Organized December 80th, 1854, with 18 members. Present num-
ber of members 50. Church buibling on North Cedar street.
First Congregational Church, Edward Beecher, Pastor. —
Organized Nov. 9th, 1855, with 50 members. Present number 127.
Church building on Broad street between Tompkins and Simmons
streets. This is the finest church edifice in this part of the State.
Swedish Methodist E. Church, Peter Rjahlman, Pastor. —
Organized Oct, 1856. Present number of members, 50. Church
building on Ferris street.
Colored M. E. Church, A. AVoodfork, Pastor. — Organized
Oct., 1858, with 20 members. No additions since. This Church
worships in a school house on the ilonmouth Road.
Universalist Church, Wm. Livin'oston, Pastor. — Organized in
. Members 100. Attendants 100 to 150.
COLLEGES AND SCHOOLS.
The citizen of Galesburg, wherever he may be, at home or abroad'
speaks proudly of the Institutions of Learning in our city ; and
well he may, for few towns in our wide land are better off in this
respect. We feci inclined to speak at length of these Institutions
but the vast number of subjects upon which we have to speak ad-
monish us that we mast " waste no words.'' The following engrav-
ing gives an accurate idea of the outward form of Knox College,
but not of the location. The engraver iiiistook the design and rep-
resented the building as on a street, while in fact it is several rods
back from the street, and is surrounded with young trees.
HISTORY OF GALESBURG.
Professor Gale gives, in thepreceiling pages, a full history of tliis
College up to 1845. The Building rcpresentoil Lj tlie above en-
graving was commenced last year (1856) and will be completed in
August next. The Contract for its erection was let to CnARLEg
Ulricson of Peoria. It is a very substantial, and at the same time
a very beautiful building, and reflects in its design and execution
the highest credit upon Mr. Ulricson. The cost of this building
will not be less than 655,000,
The following named gcntiomen constitute the Board of Trust, —
Eev. JoxATHANELANCHAKD,Prf5?We??^ of the Board, Rev. George W.
Gale, Galesburg, Dea. Thomas Simmons, Galesburg, Nehemiah II.
Lose}'-, A. M., Galesburg, John G. Sanburn, Esq., Knoxville,
Williiim J. rhelp.-. Elm wood, Sylvanus Ferris, Esq., Galesburg,
Hon. Peter Butler, Cold Brook, Rev. William E. Holyoke, Elgin,
Rev. Flavcl Bascom, Galesburg, James Bull, Galesburg, James
Bunco, M. D., G-alesburg, Eli F;'.rnham, Galesburg, Rev. Horatio
Foote, Quincy, Rev. Milton Kimball, Augusta, Hon. James Knox,
Knoxville, Chauncey S. Colton, Galesburg, hftillman F. Dolbear,
Galertliurg, Levi Sanderson, Galesburg, Orville H. Browning, Esq.,
Quincy, Levi S. .^'tanley, Galesburg, William E. Withrow, Macomb,
HISTORY OF GALESB(*RG. 23
Marcus B. Osborn, Esq., Rock Island, Rev. Samuel G. Wright,
STILLMAM F. DOLBEAR, Secretary of Board.
LUCIUS GARY, Treasurer.
The Faculty consists of the following named persons :
Rev. Joxathan Bi.axciiard, President, and Professor of IntcllectuaZ
Rev. George W. Gale, Professor of Moral Pluloso-phy and Belles- Lettres.
Neiiemiah II. LosEY, A.M., Professor of Mathematics and Natural
Innes Grant, A. M., Professor of Ancient Languages.
Hexry E. HiTcncocK, A. M., Professor of Mathematics and Katural
Pliilosophy in the Femcde Collegiate Department.
Albert Herd, A.M., Professor of Natural Sciences.
Ekastus S. Wilecox, A.M., Professor of Modern Languages.
Junius B. Roberts, A. B., Tutor.
George CnuRcniLL, A. M., P.inclpfcl of the Academic Depai'tmenf,
Edward P. Scott, A. B., As^t Teacher in the Academic Department.
Miss Ada H. Hayes, Principal of the Female Academic Department.,
Miss Mary E. Comstock, Assistant in Female Acculemic Department.
Mrs. S. F. Dolsear, )
Mrs. j*,Iary B. Flagg, > Teachers in Music — Piano or Guitar.
Miss C. S. Chappell, )
This Institution now consists of three Departments — Collegiate,
Female Collegiate, and Academic. From the Catalogue for 1856
we learn that the grand total of Students in the difi'erent Depart-
ments is 431.
This is one of the most flourishing Colleges in the United States,
and stands second onl}^, we understand, in point of wealth.
Tuition in the Collegiate Department, per year, j;520.00
Tuition in the Academic Department, 812.00 to 1(3.00
Room rent in College Buildings, G.OO
Contingent Expenses, 2.00
The College duos liavine: been reduced to the lowest consistent
HISTORY OF CJALF.SBURO.
amount, must invariably be pai.l in advance. No person will be
received until he preheats the Tn asurer's receipt ; nor will any pupil
be allowed to leave tlie Institution without permission until the
tlose of the (luarter.
Board can be had in good families at from ^1.50 to 2.00 per
week, exclusive of washing and room-rent. Board with room and
lodging may be had for ^2.50 per week.
: : -:, ^.-.^-^ ^^ ^^ W
'W "'F! P' '? &.^ ^# ^^ |r
KNOX FEJrALE COLLEGE.
The above is an excellent engraving of Knox Female College,
engraved from an Ambrotype by Codding, of this city. This
building was commenced last year (185G), and will be completed
sometime this Spring. The cost will bo about $-45,000.
S C IT L S .
There ar-^ ^ix District and four Piivatc ^3chools in the City. 1st
District, Mr. Kent and Miss Slioruian, Teachers ; 2d District, Mr.
Powell ; ;M Distrct, Miss C. Fuller; 4lh District, Miss Gaylord;
5th District, Mr. Stevens ; 0th District Mr. Bancroft. The private
Schools are taught by Miss Mary West, !Mi6s Love, Miss Barnes,
and Mr. Phctteplace. Many of our cih'/.ens are making an eainest
effort to do away with District Schools, and adopt the Union
Graded School system. It is to be hoped that the effort will
HISTORY OF (JALESlJUIiO.
L :».[ B A R D U X I V E R S T T Y .
The above engraving was also taken from an Ambrotype b)' Cod-
ding, and is a faitliiiil representation of the building. Tins Insti-
tution was obartcred in 1851 nnJer tlie name of the Illinois Lib-
The College was built nndcr the pnt'/onage of the Universalist De-
nomination in 1S51-2. It is I'.ow known as Lombarh University.
It wa« opened the first of September 1850, under the charge of Prof.
P, R. Kendall as Principal of the j\Tale Department, and Miss C.
S. Woodbury, of Female.
The building formerly occupied was destroyed by fire in 1855.
Steps were immediately taken to erect another and larger edifice for
the use of the school. This building was commenced in 1856, and
is now nearly completed. It Avili cost about §30,000. The college
is one mile South-east of the Square, on fourteen acres of beautiful
grounds, which can not be used for any other than college purposes.
This ground is to belaid, out and ornamented in beautiful style.
Benjamin Lombard, whose naino the lustitr.tion bears, was the
principal donor. He gave the sum of 820,000.
The Institution is endowed by sale of Scholarships, the sales of
which have already reached $70,000. Tliei-e hnve, also, been
donations made in land and money to the ■■.mount of -STOj-OOO.
The University is in a prosperous cond.ition.
HISTORY OF GAI,E8BURG.
The following named gentlemen constitute the the Board of
Trust, — J. W. Spaui.ding, M. D., President, Galesburg, Hon. S.
W. Brown, Secretary, Galesbnrg, Rev. S. P. Skinner, Cliicago,
Erastus Hnrd, Esq., Galesburg, L. E. Conger, Esq., Galesbnrg, L,
C. Conger, Esq., Galesbnrg, W. B. Chamberlin, SI. D., Burlington,
Iowa, Benjamin Lombard, Esq., Henry, John B. Clay, Esq., Gales-
burg, Alfred Brown, Esq. Henderson, Reuben Hefiin, Esq., Hender-
son, Horatio Reed, Esq., Farmington, Alva Wheeler, Esq. Knox-
ville, Alfred Knowles, Esq., Oquawka, Rev. Wm. S. Ballou, Gales-
burg. HORATIO REED, Esq., Treasurer.
The Faculty consists of the following named persons, —
J. Y. N. Standish, Acting President, and Professor of Mathematics.
William Livij-gstox, Professor of Xatural Sciences.
E. R. Benneh, Professor <f Languages.
J. H. CnAPiN, Princlval if Academic Department.
Miss II. A. Kendall, Principal of the Female Pepartment, and Teacher
of the Ornamental Branches.
Miss A. Stillman, Assistant in Female Department.
NEWSPAPERS AND MAGAZINES.
The first newspaper published in Galesburg was called the ''Knox
Intelligencer," and v^as edited and printeil by Rev. C. R. Fisk. It
was first issued on or about the first of January, 1849. The /w^e/-
Z?^(?;icer lived about two years. It was neut)al in })oliti(:s. The
office was fi)-st located over L. Sanderson's Stoic, but was subse-
quently removed to a building erected by Mr. Fisk, ou die South-
west corner of the Public Square.
Near the latter'part of the same year, 1849, if wo recollect rightly,
the ''North- Western Gazetteer" was started, under the editojial and
typographical management of SounnvicK Davis. For a consi*ler-
ablc time after its establishment, the Gazetteer and the Knox Intelli-
gencer were eagerly sought after by the citizens of Galesburg and
vicinity on account of the College controversy caried on through
their columus. The Gazetteer was, al.-^o, neutral in politics — in re-
ligious nuittns 'it favored Congregationalism. The Intelligencer
HISTORY OF GALESDURG.
favored Presbyterianism. The Gazetteer was; published about two
years, we believe, though it may have existed for a longer period,
Some time in 1850, if we are correctly informed, the '' Xeivs
Letter" made its appearance, under the editorial management of
W. S, Gale, Dr. James Bunce, and G. C. Lanpiiere. This paper
took the place of the Knox Intelligencer. The News Letter was an
able advocate of local measures in which the people of Galesburg
and vicinity were then deeply interested. It had a wide circulation
among the friends of the Central Military Tract Eailroad, then a
projected Railroad. Some of the best written articles, upon the
subject of Railroads, which were published in the West, during
that period, first appeared in the editorial columns of the Xews
Letter. The office was over the Furniture Rooms of \V. J. Woods,
on the West side of the Square.
At a subsequent period, in 1852, we think, the Xeios Letter passed
into the hands of S. G. Cowan, who issued it under the title of the
"News Letter and Henry County News." This title was given it to
please its Henry County patrons, who were quite numerous. This
was also a neutral paper, though during the latter part of its exist-
ence it was somewhat Free Soilish.
In the Fall of 1853 the News Letter office passed into the hands
of J. W. Lane, and the first political paper ever published in the
town made its appearance under the title of the '' Western Freerucm."
It was an Anti- Slavery paper. This paper lived only two months.
The office of the "Western Freeman" passed into the hands of
SouTHWicK Davis and William H. Holcomb, and on the 5th day
of January, 1854, the " Guleshurg Free Democrat" made its first
aj)pearance. This paper then was, and has ever since continued, an
Anli-Slavery journal. On the 30th of November 1854 the estab-
lishment passed into the hamls of William J. Woods, and 15. F.
Haskins became the Editor. On the 8th of March, 1855, Mr.
Haskens retiied from the paper and C. J. Sellon became Editor.
On the 26Lh of July, 1855, the office passed into the hands of S.
W. Brov.-n, R. H. Whiting and D. H. Frisbiic. Mr. S. still con-
tinued to act as Editor. On the 1st of November, 1855, the man-
agement of the office pas.-ed into the hands of S. D. McDonald.
Dec'^mber lltli, 1855, the office again passed into the hands of W.
J. Woods, and shortly afterwards, Mr. Soli on resumed his post of
HISTORY OF GALEMIiURG,
Editor. On the 18th of August, 1856, Mr. Woods made a sale of
the office to J. H. Sherman, who is the present proprietor. The
paper is now edited by C. J. Sellon & J. H. Sherman.
The Dally Free. Democrat, Sellon & Sherman, Editors ; J. H.
Sherman, Proprietor, was commenced on the 17th day of March
The "Knoxiana," a Montlily Literary Jonrnal, conducted by an
association of Students of Knox College was first issued in Au-
gust, 1850. The first Editors of this Magazine were J. B. White,
J. S. Davis, J. H. McCiiesney and E. L. Hurd. The Knoxiana
is now in its sixth volume. For five years it was publislied under
the management of the "Knoxiana Publication Company." The
present volume is published by the Adelphi Society. It is printed
at the office of the Free Democrat. Present Editors, R. B. Guild,
W. E. Pheli's, and Geo. H. Beecher.
The " Oah Leaf," a College Magazine, was first issued from the
office of the Free Democrat, in October 1856. It is published by
the Gnothautii Society of Knox College. Its present Editors are
C. H. Bryant, M. M. Clark, and G. Worman.
The "ffemknulet," a Swedish Lutheran paper, edited by Rev. T.
N. Hasselquist, first appeared in Febiuary 1855. When first pub-
lished it was the only Swedish newspaper published in the United
States. It has a large circulation. It was first printed in the Free
Democrat o.ce; though subsequently its publisher procured au
office of his own. It is now, however, printed on the press of
Stone & Taylor at the Ben Franklin Office.
The following notices of the Societies named were written out by
Tin-] ADELPIII SOCIETY OF KNOX COLLEGE.
It IS impossible to state, in a» intelligent manner, anything more
than the different eras in the history of this Society ; unless we wish
to give in lengthy detail an account of the difficulties necessarily en-
countered in guiding it through infancy up to riper years. The^
"Alma Mater " herself was stiirrocking in the cradle of her infancy;
HISTORY OP GALESBURG. 29
and it is not surprising to find her cousin-german cliildishly nest-
ling at her side.
The first meeting of the members of Knox College for adopting
measures preparatory to the organization of this Society was held
Oct. 4th, 1843. Messrs. Wm. E Holyoke, Edwin G. Smith, and
James A. Warren were appointed a committee for drafting a con-
stitution, which was reported, and adopted on the 11th. The same
committee were continued to draft hy-laws ; and on the 18th their
report was adopted, and the Society was organized under the name
of " The Adelphi Lyceum of Knox College." They hoped by as-
sociated effort to obtain that cultivation of the heart, which renders
friendship's hallowed tie eternal — and feeling the necessity of dis-
cipline in order to being prepared " to act well their part in the
great arena of thought," and knowing "the importance of correct
principles and actions," they pledged themselves to aid each other
in securing these objects.
There were two divisions of the Society, the Deltian and Thetian
— this Avas for the purpose of giving all the members an opportu-
nity to enjoy the privileges of the Society as much as possible —
upon public occasions, however, both division were equally repre-
sented. The exercises of the Society were Lectures, Discussions,
Essays and Declamations, and the performances were public at such
time as it was thought expedient.
It retained the name under which it was organized until April 2d,
1846 ; when by adopting a revised constitution , the name was
changed to the Adelphi of Knox College. And imder the opera-
tion of this constitution the two divisions before referred to, by a
vote of the Society, Jan. 27th, 1850, were lost under one name,
although they were recognized in the constitution after the revision.
This was the second era in the history of the Society — and having
learned wisdom from experience, their constitution and by-laws
were better calculated to give permanence and regularity to their
proceedings. Their meetings public and private were held at stated
times, instead of being discretionary.
As yet there was but this Society connected with the College, and
the organization of the " Gnothautii " marks the third era in its
history. It would not be proper to mention all the circumstances
connected with the organization of this new Society, from the fact
HISTORY OF GALESI5URG.
that it is better to forget tlie follies of youth and learn wisdom to
guide the future. Suffice it to say, that things were so managed
that the Adelphi, not knowing her real friends, came near being
wrecked by the influence of enemies. But the lines of distinction
becoming visible, a series of dqilomatic measures placed the two
Societies on equal footing, and, setting aside Society pride,and having
emulation enough to maintain an active interest among the members
of each in their affairs, they have grown up together in harmony^
The Adelphi was incorporated by an Act of Legislature, approv-
ed Feb. 25th, 1847 ; and under its charter can accumulate an amount
not exceeding S25,000 in property of any description ; thus giving
ample room for procuring library, apparatus, &c.
This Society offers facilities to the Essayist, the Orator, the De-
bater, the Poet and Dramatist ; and some of its productions would
do honor to any age. Its Library amounts to four hundred and
seventy volumes at present. Three years ago a small case contain-
ing about five shelves four feet long contained the sum total of the
society library ; and now book-cases and books would net ap-
pear to disadvantage in any hall. Progress is the spirit of our age,
and the Adelphi has not stood an idle spectator in the onward and
upward march of things.
A strong moral sentiment prevails in the Society, and if the gales
of prosperity continue to bear her on as in time past, we will expect
to see the integrity, honor, and philanthropy of the Brothers doing
much to elevate and refine all who may enjoy their influence.
THE GNOTHAUTII SOCIETY OF KNOX COLLEGE.
From the time that Knox College was founded, until Nov. Ist,
1849, only one Literary Society belonged to the Institution. This
Society (known as the "Adelphi,") adopted a constitution which
did honor to its framers by setting forth their noble purposes and
high aims at excellence and was calculated to preserve and perpetu-
ate the same in its subsequent members. But as the Society in-
creased in size, certain evils were permitted to creep in, such ae
•♦Senior monopolies," — unrestrained use of language, and the sub-
stitution, of Aristocratic for Democratic principles. This soon be-
came intolerable to a few who were unwilling to make any compro-
mise with such principles and consequently they, viz : Hiram G.
HISTORY OF C.ALESBURa. 31
Ferris, George Churchill, Wilson T. Smith, Robert J. Adcock,
James C. McMurtry, Stephen B. Shemway, W. H. Burrard, Milton
L. Comstock, Erastus Wilcox, Edward P. Chambers, Edward A.
Lyon, Alexander G. Gower, Thomas H. Hutchinson, and Peter
Fenity, met in the lecture room of Wiliston Hall on the 1st of
Nov., 1849, for the purpose of forming a new Society which should
have in riew not only high intellectual attainments, but also a fair
distribution of honors and privileges. Then, and there, and by the
above named gentlemen, the Society known as the "Gnothautii"
of Knox College was organized. A constitution was adopted
and subscribed to, which by its perfect adaptation to the wants of
such a body, plainly indicates that its framers were under noble and
energizing influences. This constitution, together with the by-laws
enacted soon after, still remain with only a very few amendments
for the government of the Society, and a good degree of that energy
and independence of purpose and action which characterized the
originators, also remains.
By an act of Legislature this Society became a corporate body
which afforded it such privliges as are usually granted such bodies.
The first election of those officers which the constitution demands
resulted as follows : Tliomas H. Hutchinson, President; Robert J.
Adcock, Vise President ; Milton L. Comstock, Rec. Secretary ;
Edward P. Chambers, Cor. Secretary ; James C. McMurtry, Trea-
nrer <fe Librarian.
This organization has for its object the development of intelleo-
nal and moral strength and the cultivation of executive and admin-
istrative talent. To this end imporant questions are discussed in
the Society's Hall every week — Essays read, and occasionally pub-
lic performances. It holds its anniversaries on the first Tuesday
•f every November.
During the current year some of the most distinguished men in
the Union have been employed to lecture before the Society, the
proceeds of which lectures constitute a Library fund. When fundi
now on hand shall have been expended, the Library of the Society
will consist of about eight hundred well selected volumes.
In addition to the above means and indicatiens of imprevement
and prosperity the Society not being satisfied with, nor disposed to
improve the " Knoxiana," resolved to publish a Magazine under
32 HISTORY OF GALESKURO.
their exclusive control. Accordingly at the beginning of the present
collegiate year, the " Otvlc Loaf," made its appearance under the
particular supervision of three Editors and a General Agent, to be
elected at the cdosc of each term.
In short, the Gnothautii Socii^ty is prosperous ; and including,
as it does, a majority of tlie College students, who arc full of hon-
est zeal, it bids fair at no vciy distant jicrioil to accomplish the
greatest designs and realize the most sanguine hopes of its noble
Its present officers as elected Sept. lOtli, 185G, are, — ^I. M. Clark,
President ; Frank Wells, Vice President ; E. C. D. Robbins. Rec.
Sec; L. F. Gaylonl, Cor. Sec. ; C. E. Marsh, Treasurer ; Charles
DEK'ADELPllII SOCIKTY OF LOMiJ.VRl) rXJVER.^ITY.
This is a Literary Society, composed of ami conducted by Students
of Lombard University. It was oiganized in Nov., 1855, and its
meetings have since been held at the Univeisity on Saturday evening
of each week. The exercises consist of discussions upon miscella-
neous topics, reading of a Maga;ane, edited and sustained by the
ladies of the Society, and general business appertaining to the
It is designed to be a permanent '-trganlzation connected with the
Institution, and to afi'ord the Students an opportunity for improve-
ment in those things not embraced in the regular course of instuction.
ALPHA LODCE, NO. l.''.;], A. F. ct A. .\J.
Sixty-three members. Ofticers : J.W.Spalding, W. M. ; W.
W. Patch, S. W. ; E. W. Wee.ie, •', . \V.; H. 31. Hale, Secretary;
J. A. Thompson, Treasurer, fleets the first and third Friday of
each month at IMasonic Hall, East side Public Sc^uarc.
GALESBUIKI LODGE, X(>. 142, I. 0. of 0. F.
Meets every Aldnday evening at Odd Fellows Hall, West side
Square. Ofiiccrs : Joseph Hill, N. G.; T. L. Clark, N. G.; A. L.
Belknap, 11. S. ; ]\1. 1). Hillings, Treasurer. Seventy members.
LIBERAL TEMPLE OF IIONOTL NO. 3J.
HISTORY OF GALESBURO. 33
THE AUTO-KELUrilll SOCIETY OF LOMBARD UNIVERSITY.
The Society of tlie " Auto Keluthii " was established, Septem-
ber 9th, 1854, hy the students of the Collegiate Department of
*' Illinois Liberal Institute," .since " Lombard University." This
is now the oldest Society connected with Lombard University.
Although conducted for a time under adverse circumstances, being
deprived of both library and hall by the burning of the first build-
ing of the Institution, yet, by the perseverance of its members, it
etill continued to promote the objects set forth in the preamble of
its constitution, viz : The acquiiement of knowledge, the procura-
tion of skill and confidence in debate, and facility in the communi-
cation of thought.
Measures are now being taken to incorporate it by charter ; a new
hall and library rooms are in an active state of preparation, and
the future bids fair to attend its efforts with success.
UNION GRADED SCHOOLS.
In addition to the many other institutions of learning in Gales-
burg we shall shortly have a Union Graded School. The late
lamented Silas Willard left S20,000 for this object. The be-
quest was conditional, that the city rai&e $30,000 more. This con-
dition will, without doubt, be complied with, when we shall have
an ample fund with which to inaugurate the best system of Free
Schools ever devised. The school building will be centrally located
in order to accommodate all the children in the city.
During the past two winters our citizens have had the benefit of
two courses of Lectures, and enjoyed the jorivilege of listening to
a large number of the most distinguished lecturers in America.
The first course was given imder the management of the Adelphi
Society of Knox College, and the second under the management
of the Gnothautii Society. Another course will be given next
Winter under the direction of the Adelpiii Society, To these
HI8T0KY OF GALESBURG,
Societies much credit is clue for their untiring exertions to secure
the services of the best talent of the country ; and to our citizen for
their liberal support of the enterpiise.
In 1840, the population of the village of Galcsburg was 272. as
filiown by the census of that year. There were 39 families. Tho
popuhition of the Township, including the village, was 516. In
the village there were 130 males and 142 females ; 7G persons un-
dur ten years of age ; 75 between ten and twenty ; fiity betweea
tw-cnty and thirty ; 27 between thirty and forty ; 29 between forty
and fifty ; 8 between fifty and sixty, and 7 between sixty and seven-
ty. The following are the names of the heads of families living ia
the village at that time :
Sebastian Adanis, Sylvanus Ferris, Stillman Dolbear, Harvey
Gei"a»ld, George Ferris, D. Edgerton, S. Edgerton, Jacob Edgertou,
James Bnnce, Hcrry Fciris, Eiastus Swift, Abiam Follett, Enos
M'Eulear, Elisha King, Chauncey Colton, Clarissa Phelps, C. R.
Palmer, James Bull, William Ilolycdco, Daniel Williams, Lucian
Mills, Nehemiah Losey, Luke Strong, Robeit Bush, Sojdiia Lyman,
John Waters, Gustavus Marsli, Biloy Boot, Sheldcn Goddard, Ed-
ward Daly, John Clay, Thomas Simmons, Elani S. liitihcoclv, Levi
Stanley, Patrick Dunn, Ro swell Paine, Junius Prenti.^s, Sheldoa
Allen, Hiram Marsh, (.'eoige "V\\ Gale, Agiippa Martin, Kehrmiah
West, Barber Allen, Abram Bergen, Levi ypeucer, Floyd Bucking-
ham, Caleb Finch, Naaman Churchill, Henry W'illcox.
In 1850 the population was less than 800. In 1853 it was a little
k&s than 1400. Jn Jr.ne, 18f:5, it was COIG. At this time, tho
j'Opulation Avithin the new city limits is 5,455. The increase since
June, 1855, has been 2,539, or n-arly 100 per cent, in less than
B UI L D I N G S .
There were erected in 1856, three hund.e<l and four buildings, ai;
a total cost of $551,000. Thi.-? includes the Colleges and other
public buidings. Most of tho business buildings and many of tho
HISTORY OF GALE8BURO. S§
dwe]Iirig8 weie frst cla.sj-, costing 1V( in SC.CCO (o Sll2,C00, each.
Exldisive j'lrjaiatic'iiK liavc Iceii iiuuie foi liiilding the preseufc
season, an<l iulorniaJion in our possession lojuls ns to the conclusion
that tiie miHiler of buildings to be erected tin's year will not fall far
ehovt of four Imndrcd. Many of these will be fine buildings. Home
©f the busijiess honses, especially, will i'ar surpass in size and beauty
of fiiiish, any thing we yet have.
HALLS FOR PUBLIC MKETIXGS.
As yet we have iiejiber Town Hall nor Market House. Botli are
fadly iiocdtd, aad will pro! al ly be built during the present year.
Most of tlic I'ublic Mectii gs aie held in the First Church and Lecture
Room. Lectures, Concert.*;, and pei Ibrmaui-es of vai ions kinds are
given i» those buihlijjg.s. Paik'.s l];i]l, comer of Main and Prairie
streets, is 80Tncti?nes r.sed for Tl catriral jkm !oi niances, &e. A few
thousand dollr.vs « ould not Le inve^ted moie piofitably than in a
good-sized,. well-Ioiated Slar! ct au'l City Mall.
Galcsiuig is t'lef-timed in a ^holt time to I ec onie a great Railroad
Center. We have ahcady a Railroad to Chicago, one to Quincy,
•ne to Burlington, Iowa, and one to Pe<.»iia. Tlie road to Chicago
•was fe>imerly callod the Cential INIilitaiy Tract Railroad, and ex-
tended from Gaiesbnrg to ilendota, where it connected with tha
Aurora Exteasion. The Auroi a Bi audi, the Central jMilltai v Tract,,
sjid the We^tnn Irain h of the Pcoiia & Oouawka road are now
«alle<lthe Chic;ige, Burlington & Quiuey Raiboal. This road doe*
an immense business, and is considered tlie bcht projjeity of tho^
kind m ths- West.
The road to Quinfj is called the Nortlicni Cross Railroad, andl
will, when its tonnections are completed, form a link in the greak
thoroughfare between the Northern States and Kansas.
Till? Peo-ria & Oquawka Railroad counctts us with Peoria, and
-wiil iw cIk© seafOM foijxi the most diiect and cheapest Knite to tha
•itJe* «>f Ph)ikMieli>hia, New York, and Boston.
36 HISTORY OF O.VLESBURO.
In addition to tlie completed roads we have charters for the
"Galesburg & Ptock Islaml llailroad," and for the " Galeshnrg &
Muscatine Railroad." The road from Galcsburg to Eock Island
will without doubt soon be built. A largo amount of stock has
already been subscribed, and active effort is making to raise suffi-
cient to put it under contract. The friends of the Galesburg and
Muscatine Railroad have organzied under their charter, and opened
The Road from Quincy to St. Josephs, Missouri will soon be
completed, and we shall be within a few hours' ride of Kansas. The
Topeka and St. Joseph Railroad will piobably be built within two
years, giving us railroad connection with the very heart of that
The road from Burlington to Nebraska will put us in connection
with that Territory also.
The Alton & Rock Island Railroad, of which the Galesburg &
Rock Island Railroad will in all probability form a link, will put
us in connection with St. Louis, and open to us the great Grocery
market of the United States. This road will intersect the Northern
Gross Railroad at Macomb, forty-five miles South of Galesburg,
and, if it connects with the Galesburg & Rock Island road, use the
Northern Cross to this city.
The roads centering here have a very large and beautifully finished
Passenger House. It is 174 feet long and 3G feet wide. This
building is used for various purposes. There are waiting rooms
for passengers— a large and well arranged wash-room— a barber-
shop, and a Telegraph ofiice. A part of the building is used for
an Eating house, and is kept by Messrs. Blossom & . The
dinning hall is one of the largest and best finished rooms in the
West. The house is kept in the best style. We know of no other
Passenger House, East or West, that will equal it in its interior
The freight House of the C. B. & Q. Road is 175 feet long by
30 wide. An addition, ICO feet long will be put on this season,
making the whole building B35 feet long. J. W. Cothren is the
Freight Agent. Westox Arnold, Clerk. There are employed,
about the Freight house, fifteen laborers.
HISTORY OF GALESBURG. Ol
The Engine Department gives employment to one hundred and
forty-five men. E. Prindle, foreman of the Finishing Shop; B.
H. KiuDF.R, foreman in the RoiUKi House, and C. F. Jaurikt, Mas-
ter Mechanic. The following is the classification of the hands em-
ployed : 25 Engineers, 25 Firemen, ?>() Macliinists in Finishing
Shop, 15 JIaehinist in the Round House, 2 Pattern Makers, 8
Blacksmiths, 5 Boiler Makers, 20 Wipers of Engines, and 15
The Carpenter Shop gives employment to about 30 liands. C.
F. Ali.en, Superintendent of Wood Woik, J. I Etherige, Fore-
man, L. C. Waters, Clerk.
E. W. Weed, Tiack Master, has charge of the Track between
Burlington and Buda, and has under his charge 150 men.
Telegraph Office, 1Iii,t., Operator. IT. Hitchcock, Assistant
Superintendent, B. O. Carr, Clerk of the Engine Department.
The Total number of men employod by this Company at this
Station will not fall short of 350.
The American Express Company have an office near the Passen-
Messrs. Ward & Barnett have a large Warehouse near the
Depot for storing grain and merchandise. Tiiis buihling is 100
feet long by 40 wide, and two stories high. There are several other
Warehouses in the vicinity of the Depot, owned by Produce
The improvements in this part of the city during the present
season will be extensive. A large biick hotel, and several stores
are now under contract. It is thought by many that in a short
time tlie heavy Grocery and Hai'dware establishments will be
located there. Lots in the vicinity of the Depot, suitable for busi-
ness stands, are rapidly increasing in value.
HISTORY (IF GALE8BUR0.
o r> r> o o o
o :o O o ~ ~
o o •.-:i o
O 30 lO ".-1 -t* .o — t
T< -^ --O -t< :0 I- »
^ 71 I- r^ -Ti 35 -t*
CO 5t ^0
• w ■- /J CO ^_~o o --0 r;_»^ >
o _- -^ o^j ^ r5 "0 .1 .- rs vO o
o M •-< -ti ^ x o .'< rs J? M -I ir-
O 7-1 :o => -35 N o :=> •* -^ => t^ , ^
Tj< -* rH ^ -:t* -Tp" crs => ri o
rH -t f^ N rH M -^1 .-^
o -i -. --I -o .4 .:o I- ^ >o '-"^ o 3J
rH rji c;_ .-o^ CD o M__ :^_ :r5_ rs o >d ,o_
_> J? r> -2 ^ _? o
o r> o o ^
o =>:=>=> o ^ o o_ o o o^ _._^
OT ri to X. >» .o 2^ -? ^ T^ ^ I? ^
- - ■ — - -j;j i^ o ~__ jO >0_ 0_ -i U.--^
CO -t* :o lO o o o .0 I-- '-o .-I ..o
Oil-- to^ci -.-< vo rH -^ -i- TO C5 -M
-^ CO O -— I '^ 20 t— I— O ^ Tl 35
O O ^ p I--
"^ ^ rjt :?■» CO
-f "* -ri lO lO
CO O O Xi X.'
ITs"^ X) .O ^N to :0 :0 CI
«o "^^ "* "*- ^- ^- '"■- '^- "^l
-J'r-H'o'irtr-rcOC^t— — ^
•^ (M ^ OJ
Cvl X) 'O CO X) o >o r-<
-5}i X) T^ 0_ .~ C5_ o c:5_
rjT C5 r-T C5 -x" xT ?i" CO
i-< rl r-l -* to T-(
"" - '^ s s
^ <: -Ji O '^ Pi
HISTORY OF GALESBURO. 39
CLASSIFICATION OF BUSINESS.
Below we give, under appropriate headings, the names of the per-
sons now engaged in business in this city. This list, as far as we
have been able to ascertain, is correct and complete. A more e.x-
tended notice of the leading business houses will be found under the
heading of "Business Notices.
The following named gentlemen are engaged in the Practice of
Medicine. We think the list is correct :
Alopathic. — Jaff-es Bunce, John M. Morse, J. W. Spalding, 8.
D. Slater, M. R. Taylor, H. S. Kurd, A. T. McCurdy, G. W. Barck,
Homeopathic. — Foot ife Nye, John Babcock.
Eclectic. — S. B. Chapman.
Hydropathic. -^Johw B. Gully.
J. C. Rutherford.
Dentists.— E. C. Sohn, E. F. Davi)^.
Lawyers. — W. S. Gale; Hammond <fc Turley; Boyd & Boggg;
Smith & Ford; Pitcher & Mason; Sidney Myers; Hite & Watts;
Seiders <fe Kingsbury, Wm. Andrews.
Dry Goods Merchants. — C. S. Colton & Sons; Rnger & Ogden;
Willard, Babcock & Co.; Josiah Tilden; C. H. Mathews; L. San-
derson & Son; P. Vanhorn; Sage <fc Reed; Wm. A. Wood «fc Co.,
Delano & Foster; J. Baker & Co.
Grocery Merchants. — Dunn, Cheesebro <fe Co.; F. L. <fc H. S.
Smith; Hammond, & Co.; Hiram Everest; S. B. Hoisington ; Geoi.
H. Kingsbury; Caleb North: W. F. Tuthill; H. M. Saxton.
Hardware, Stoves, d'c. — Reed & Abliott; Wm. Babcock & Co.;
Woodbridge <fe Lawrence.
Boots and Shoes. — S. N. Grose; Isaac Merrill; D. W. Brinkerhofif.
Ready-Made Clothincf. — J. R. Gordon; Wisner <fe Taylor; A.
Jacobi; A. B. Mayer; G. W. Anderson; Chalmers & Hopper.
Furniture Dealers. — Bartlett & Judson; Patterson & Wilson; J.
C. Bottsford; Dredge, Hester k Co.; R. A. Adams.
40 HISTORY OF OALESBURO.
Yanlcec N'ot'iovs. — W. W. Davis, Wholesale and Retail dealer.
Drug Stores.— 0. B. Matteson ; C. White ; C. M. Hamilton.
Book (Old Music Stores. — J. H. & A. Knapp ; Boishel, Kuhn &
Crockery, Queensimre, d'c. — Love & Danaher ; II. V. Disbrow.
Saddle and Harness Shops and Stores. — D. M. Chapin ; S. Lyon;
H. W. Short.
Cigar Store. — Charles Iluenuann.
A.uctio7ieers. — Hale &, Rouell.
Milliners and Dress Makers. — Miss Tiibbs & Mrs. Farr ; Miss
James ; Mrs. A'^an Blarcom; Miss E. A. Stead ; Miss M. J. Miller;
Miss Sarah Conwell ; Mrs. L. C. Stone.
Watch and Jewelry Stores. — 11. ^I. Bartholomew ; J. A. Thomp-
son & Co.; John Armstrong.
Bankers.— X. J). Reed & Co.; J. F. Dunn & Co.
Daguerreotypes, cOc. — Joseph Hill ; E. Codding ; W. Petty ; A,
Foundry and Machine Shops. — J. P. Frost & Co.; C. M.Law-
rence ; N. Briggs.
Sash, Blind and Door Factories. — Mars & Gimble ; G. D. Col-
ton ; J. P. <fe D. Chapman ; White & Jenkins ; H. B. Weeks.
Chain Pumps. ^DGhxno & Foster.
Plow Shops.^^E. Dailey; James Smith ; R. S. Patterson ; G. D.
Blacksmith Shops.— C. M. Brown ; T. H. Mooney ; Patterson &
Scott; S. S. Smith; Nels Ilockinson ; P. Gabrison ; F. Payne;
Flour aud Feed Store. — W. C. Goudey.
Lumher Yards.— U. & G. A. Tryon & Love ; X. Anthony ; P.
S. & E. Post ; A. L. Belknap ; Stewart & Gilbert.
Baker Shops.— Fitch & O'llarra; Thos. McQueen ; R. Ilinsey.
Livery Stahles. — W. D. Look k Co. ; O. Nichols ; G. D. Schenck.
Shoemaker Shops. — S. N. Grose ; L. Eger ; B. Linegar ; S. 0.
HISTORY OF GALESliLTRG. 41 '
Was/on Shops. — Bergen & Bisson ; Hobljard & Willard ; L. H.
Insvranre Companies and Agencies. — Galcslmrg Home Ins. Co.;
Galesburg Mutual Ins. Co. Both of these Companies were char-
tered in the recent Session of the Legislature. No organization has
yet taken place. Agents of other Companies, — I). Sanlxjrn ; Lu-
cius Chapman ; J. P. Dorman.
Land Af/oits. — S. W. Gale; D. H. Fiishie ; Nettleton & Drura-
mond ; Stewart, Mourer & Hurd ; H. H. i\Liy ; Hammond Jt Tur-
ley ; L, Stevens & Co.
Paiidcrs. — R.^A. Adams ; Everts & Chamberlin ; James Gregory;
John A. Johnson ; Thos. Livesey ; J. B. Simpkins ; Thos. Fair-
man ; John Oden ; Charles Anderson ; Bemis & Dickerson ; George
Butcher Shops. — Proud &; Allen ; Brinkerhoff" & Washburn ;
Hotels. — Haskell House; Galesburg House; City Hotel ; Hen-
Boarding Houses. — Mrs. T. A. Bergen ; iliss Sarah Crean, Adin
Russell ; Jesi^e Beals ; Jonathan Dudley ; James Jerome ; Mrs. A.
L. Prentice ; David Jerome ; L. 11. Saunders ; A. E. Hotchkiss ;
Mrs. F. S. Denton ; Mrs. Mary Griffith ; Miss Mary Brown ; Miss
Nancy A. Shaver.
Printing Offices.— ^i. H. Sherman ; Stone & . Taylor ; T. N.
BooJc Binderies. — Boishel, Kuhn & Colville ; Stone & Taylor.
Editors. — J. H. Sherman, C. J. Sellon, V^tiiioxa Free Democrat;
T. N. Hasselquist, Editor HemUmdet; R. B. Guild, W.^E. Phelps
and Geo. H. Beecher, Editors Kno.xiuna; Charles H. Bryant, M.
M. Clark and G. Worman, Editors Oak Leaf; E. Codding, Editor
Carpenters. — T. P. Chapman ; A. N. Carpenter ; Benjamin and
Charles Johnson; George Bell ; John Collins ; J. M. Carson ; John
W. Boyd ; Robert T. Bronson.
Masons. — George Bancroft; Stephen Wilcox; George Smith;
HISTORY OF OALESDUUG.
Luke Brown ; G. 0. Butterfield ; Andrew Berglen ; R. 0. Hanos ;
Grist Mills.— U. B. Stebbins, Parker & Co.; Jordan & Hill.
Barbers — John Soman ; James Finchee; T. R. Paine; J. Jackson;
Justices of the Peace. — A. C. Wiley ; 0. White.
Notary Public. — G. C. Lanpliere ; A. C. W. Lucius Gary ; L. A.
Drayman. — George Stropes ; R. T. Felkins ; Nathan Coleman ;
Peter Anderson ; Harlem Willis.
Constables.— \Nm. Follett ; A. C . Tyler.
Deputy Sheriff. — L. Conger.
The various lines of Railroad completed and centering here, and
those in contemplation and likely to be speedily built, renders all
parts of the country easy of access from this point ; and this, to-
gether with the fact that coal is abundant and cheap, and steam a
more reliable and cheaper motive power than water, makes this a
very desirable point for manufactories. Before we proceed to speak
of those we have we will mention one or two which we have not,
and which would pay liandsoraely. First a Paper Mill. We have
no running water to be used for this purpose, but any amount of
the purest and best water can be had by digging. A well capable
of yielding a sufKcient amount of water could be obtained at a less
cost than the expense of building a dam across an ordinary mill
stream. The large demand for printing and wrapping paper, and
the high price, would afford such a factory a sure support.
We also need a Barrel, Tub and Bucket Factory. In this busi-
ness the amount expended is principally for labor, the cost of the
lumber in a barrel, tub or bucket being a very small percentage of
the selling pri(;e of the manufactured article. Lumber of all kinds
is dearer here than at some other points where such factories are in
operation. But when we consider the fact that an ordinary flour
barrel sells here for sixty cents, and that ninetecn-twcntieths of the
HISTOUY OK GAT.ESBUUr,. 4S
Tnbs and Buckets and other Wooden Ware soM in the west is im-
poitcd from the Eastern States at a lieavy expense for freight, th«
disadvantage of a comparatively higher price for lumber is raor«
than over-balanced. The demand for these is great and increasing,
and the sales are enormous. If we had money to invest in manu-
facturing we know of no other business in which we would so
readily engage. Persons who design engaging in such an enter-
prise in the West would do well to visit Galesburg before deter-
mining npon a location.
There are others of which we might speak if we had the space,
bnt we must content ourself with the general remark that this is an
excellent point for the manufacture of all articles in general use,
where cheap motive power and an extensive market are the principal
C I T Y F U X I) 11 Y .
Among the many noteworthy objects in Galesburg, is the City
Foundry of J. P. FrooT & Co. This Foundry was established in
1856, and the tirst casting was done on the 4th of March of that
year. It was thought at the time to be a ha/.ardous undertaking to
put up a Foundry at this point to compete with Chicago, Peoria,
Burlington and Quincy, but our enterprising townsmen, Frost &
Harrington, thought there was a necessity for such an establish-
ment, and they invested their capital in it. They put up a large
building for a Machine Shop, T'attern Shop and Foundry, and a
smaller one for a Blacksmith Shop, and went to work. The result
inoio than justified their expectations, and the vast amount of work
demanded by the country, has compelled them to make arrange-
ments to add to their buildings this Spiing, and to otherwise in-
crease their facilities for doing work. This establishment has the
reputation of turning out excellent work of all kinds, but more
especially Engines. During the short time they have been in opera-
tion, they ha\e built several engines which have given entire satis-
faction. They have now on the stocks a 30 horse power engine,
for paities in Kewanee. They also make a groat many castings for
the (\ B. & Q. Railroad.
The firm now consists of d. P. Frost, A. Hakringtox, W. S.
Bellows and L. C. Field. They are all energetic, go-ahead Young
44 HISTORY OF GALESliURQ.
America business men, as well as masters of their business in all of
its departments. The Fouuilry is on Simmons street near Pres.
Blanduirtls, Tuesday and Friday, we believe, are their casting days,
and those who have never witnesssed sueli work wouhl be well paid
for tliutiuie con.sumed in making tlicni a vi>ir.
They melt about two tliousand }>ounl!.^ of iion per day, em-
ploy about twenty hands, and are doing about $25,000 worth of
business per year. Brass castings are also made at thi:s establish-
EUOVrX'S ILLINOLS CORN PLANTER .MANUFACTORY.
Geo. W. Browx, Esq., tlie proprietor of the establishment ancT
the inventor of the ^^laehine, commenced expeiimenting with the-
first one in 1852. In 1853 he obtained his first patent, and made
12 machines, wliicii were successfully used by the faruiei-s in the
vicinitv of his .^bop which be had built on his farm, ten miles from
Galesburg. In 1854 he inanufactuied 100. In 1855 he made 278»
and also obtained a patent on an additional improvement.
From the universal favor manifested toward his Flanters by the
farmers, the fact l)ecame apparent to Mi-. ?>., that to meet the in-
creasing demand, he must greatly enlarge his manufacturing facili-
ties. Accordingly in 1856 he erected his present shop in this place,
equipped it with steam power, and also supplied it with the various
modern improvements in machinery, to facilitate the rapid and
suce.-sfiil manufacture of this ''great Western invention for i^lfoding
the /-r (dries."
For the planting season of 1850, he manufactured and sold 503,
and many more could have been sold could they have been made in
time. Mr. .15. lirds the demand steadily increasing for these ma-
chines, and he is constantly enlarging and extending his works to
enable him to mee't it. For this year, 1857, he is manufacturing
1000, giving employment to fifty men, using 120,000 feet of lum-
ber, and thirty tons of iron.
It is evident from the history of this Planter, that it is gradually
becoming one of the fixed and permanent imjilements of agriculture
upon the western prairies ; and that the time will soon come when
the western farmer will feci that be can no more successfully plant
HISTORY OF GALESBURG. 45
an average number of acres of corn without the aic of this ma-
chine, than he could harvest his grain or grass without a reaping or
ROTARY FAN BLOWER.
Among the many improvements in Galesbnrg, is a machine for
clearing Railroads of snow, called a rotary Fan Blower.
The machine was invented January 23il, 1855, and patented
January 29th, 1856, hy Riley Root and Samuel G. Holyoke. Its
construction is that of a heavy iron shaft, on the front of which, is
fastened a fan, two feet in width and 14 feet in diameter, weighing
in all about two tons. The fan consists of four wings, on the front
edge of which, are steel knives eight inches in width and 14 feet
long with projecting spurs to loosen up the snow as it advances
forward. The Blower is to be driven by a 25 horse power engine
and made to rotate as fast as its structure will bear. It is designed
to rotate cross-wise of the track, and so arranged as to rotate either
way, to suit the direction of the wind. The advantage gained in
this machine, over the usual snow plow, is, that this machine cuts
tip the snow and throws it to a great distance from the track, whilst
the snow plow can only tlirow it to short distances, and even then
a portion of the one half that is thrown towards the wind, will be
blown immediately back again. Another important consideration
is, that after two or three passages with the plow through deep
drifts, the snow becomes so solid at the sides of the track, that a
resort to the shovel is necessary. It is our opinion that when the
machine is brought into full requisition, it will advance the cause
of Railroads far into northern countries, and that it will supercede
any machine hitherto invented for that purpose.
G. D. COLTON'S PLANING MILL AND PLOW FACTORY.
G. D. CoUon's Planing Mill and Plow Factory stands a little
Northwest of the Passenger Depot. It was built in 1856. In this
establisment is one of Fisk's celebrated Planing Machines, which
does its work better and faster than any thing of the kind we ever
witnessed in operation. For planing, tonguing and grooving
flooring it has no equal. It will plane about 1,000 feet of lumber
HISTORY OF GALE6BITRO.
per liour. In the same building is a Circular Saw for converting
loarils into .'■iding. In the basement is an engine of about 20 horse
power, manufactured by Gage & Co., of Chicago. It is au excel.
l(-nt piece of workmanship, and peiforms its various duties with
that quiet and 8teadiness that characterizes nearly all great work-
ers — whether uieu or machines. In another part of the building is
the Blacksmith Shop, where the iron woik for TuitLEv's celebrated
PIow.s is done. The grinding of the mould boards is also done in
this shoj). In the thin'', story of the main building, workmen are
engaged in stocking and painting the plows. Tliese plow's, we think
are destined in a short time to come into general use. ]Mr. Colton
coutemjilates making additions to his buildings and Machinery to
meet the wants of his increasing business. He is an enterprising
Mian and is worthy of patronage and succe-^s.
MARS, G^MI;LE & CO.'S SAStI, DOOR AXD RLIXl) FACTORY
AND PLAXlXr; fdlLL.
One of the largest manufactu! iiig establishments in Galesburg is
tlie Sash. Dcor and Blind jManufnctoiy and Planing Mill of Mars,
GiMRLE & Co. Several years ago, in 1844, we think, M'-. Gimblo
started the fii.st Sash, Door and Blind factory in this city. He then
performed all ihe woik by hand. But as the town and country in-
cieased in pO| ulation, the nr.mber of houses increased, and, in con-
eequence, there was a lieavy demand for such articles as he
inanufacfurcd. Last year he entered into partnership with Mr.
Mars, and the business was carrieil on under the name and stylo of
!RiAns & GiMr.LE. They immediately after the ibrmation of the
partnership, erected, the largi^ building a little Northeast of the
Depot, which they uuw occupy. Jn this building they placed a
large amount of machinery for the manufacture of Sasli, Doors and
Blinds, and also, an excellent I'ianing machine and Surface machine.
Their Engine, a beautifid pie-e of uiachinery, was built at the P^oun-
diT and macliine Shoj) of d. P. Frost & Co., in this city. They
now give employment to about twenty hands, and turn out a vast
amount of work. In addition to tlicir Factory, they have a build-
ing near by in which they keep a very lari^e stock of Glass of all
sizes and every quality. In the ujiper story of this building the
glazing and sash painting is done.
HISTORY OF GALESBURO. 47
They also keep a Lumber Yard, where all kinds of luiilding lum-
ber can be obtained. This they sell in a rough state or plane and
manufacture it to order.
Persons wishing to build would do well to visit this establish-
ment before perfecting their arrangements or making their purchasea
Factory corner of South and Chambers Streets.
There are many otlier manufactuiing establishments worthy of no-
tice in this connection, but we have not the space to devote to them.
There are Plow Manufactories, Wagon and Cariiage Factories,
Mills, &c. (fee.
ELECTIONS, CITY CHARTER, &C.
VOTE OF THE TOWN IN THE rRESIDENTIAI. ELECTION OF 1'''50.
On the 4tli of November, 1856, the vote in this Township stood
as follov.-s :
Fiemont's majority 5o9
William Kellogg for Congress 704
J. W. Davidson^ " '' 159
VOTE FOR PROHIBITION.
On the 1st Monday in June the people of Illinois voted for and
against a prohibitory Liquor Law. In this town the majority in
favor of the Law was 404. There were 516 votes cast. This was
the vote of the Tov»'nship.
During the past winter a City Charter for Galesburg was granted
by the Legislature. In that Charter the question of gi\- ing the Com-
mon Council discretionary power to license the sale oi intoxicating
drinks was submitted to the voters of the city. On the first Mon-
day in April a vote was taken and resulted as follows :
For Prohibition 462
For Power to License 104
Majority for Prohibition 358
There were 668 votes cast, but there were 113 who did not vota
on this question.
48 HISTORY OF GALESBSRO.
liOARD OF TRUSTEES ELECTED IX 185G.
E. U. A^lams, U. II. ^VIuUni,^
E. M.Jordan, L. C. Field,
L. C. CoxcEH, Py-es.
Geo, W. Ford, Clerk.
CITY OFFICERS ELECTED OX THE FIRST MOXDAV IX APRIL, 1857, UNDER
THE NEW CHARTER.
Mayor, Heniy 11. Sanderson,
City Clerk, 0. S. Pitcher,
Mumhal, Y. P. Bisson,
Assessor, David Sanborn,
Treasurer, A. M. Phelps.
S(~eet Commissioner, J. Burliingham,
J'ulice Matjislrute, A. (J. Wiley,
" " L. C Conger,
Cily Justice of (he Peace, M. D. Cook,
Alderman \st Ward, J. H. Sherman,
" 2)1(1 " Edwin Post,
" ord " James F. Dunn,
4tk " J. W. Cothren.
5/A " Marcus Belden,
" G(h " E. M. Jordan.
BOUNDARY OF THE CITY AND THE WARDS.
Wo take from the City Charter the following sections which de-
fine tlie boundary of the City and the AVards :
Section 1. Be it enacted by the people of the State of Illinois,
represented in General Assembly, that all the districts of
country in the County of Knox and State of Illinois, consisting of
the tract.'i of land known as the West half of the South West
quarter of Section one, the South half of section two, the South
half of section <hree, the South East quarter and East half of the
South West quarter of section four, and the East half of the North
West quarter and the lilast half of the South West quarter of sec-
tion nine, the East half of section nine, sections ton and eleven, the
West half of the North West quarter and the West half of the
South W^cst quarter of section twelve, the West half of the North
West quarter and the West half of the South West quarter
of section tiiiitecn, sections fourteen and fifteen, (he East
half section sixteen, the East half of the Noi-lh West quar-
ter and the East half of the South W^est quarter of section
HISTORY OP GALE8BUR0. 49
sixteen, the East half of the North West quarter of section
twenty-one, the North East quarter of section twenty-one, the North
half of section twenty two, the North half of twenty-three, and the
West half of the North West quarter of section twenty-four in,
Township eleven(ll) North, one (1) East, is hereby erected into a
city, by the name of the City of Galesburg.
Sec. 3. The City of Galesburg shall be dividad irito six wards,
the boundaries of which shall be as follows : The territory bounded
on the North by the centerline of Main Street, on the south by the
center lin(i of South Street, on the east by the center line of Semi-
nary Street, on the west by the center line of West Street, shall ba
called the J^irst Ward.
The territory bounded on the north by the center line of North
Street, on the south by the First Ward, on the east by the center
line of Seminary Street, on the west by the center line of West
Street, shall be called the Second Ward.
The territory bounded on the west by the center line of West
Street, and by the same line extended to the northern limits of the
city, on the south by the center line of North Street and the same
extended to the eastern limits of the city, and bounc'ed on tlie north
and east by the City limits, shall be called the Third Ward.
The territory bounded on the north by the Third Ward, on the
west by the center line of Seminary Street, and the same being extend-
ed to the southern limits of the city, and on the east and south by
eth City limits, shall be called the Fourth Ward.
The territory bounded on the east by the Fourth Ward, on the
north by the centerline of South Street, and the same line extened-
ed to the Western limits of the city, and on the south and West
by the City limits, shall be called the Fifth Ward.
The Territory bounded on the south by the Fifth Ward, on the east
by the First, Second, and Third Wards, on the north and west by
the City limits, shall be called the Sixth Ward.
The boundaries of the said Wards may be, by the City Council,
changed from time to time. The City Council may create
additional Wards as occasion may require, and fix the boundaries
50 HISTOnV OF OALESBURG.
The bm-.Yir.g-gTOund where rest the bodies of nearly all who have
died in GalesLurg, is three squares West of the Public Square, and
fronts on the North on Main Street. This Grave-yard is now in the
very heart of the town ; and for this reason, as Avell as because it
was becoming too small, a piece of ground containing thirty
acres, aljont three-fourths of a mile West of the Western
limits of the city, has been purchased for a New Cemetery. It is
called LiNwooD Cemetery. It is designed to improve and orna-
ment this spot, and make it a fitting and beautiful resting place for
The Post Office is located on Broad Street, directly opposite the
First Church. The following named persons have held the office
successively: N. H. Losey; Sidney Edgerton ; C.E. Palmer; W.
Selden Gale ; David Sanborn and G. C. Lanphere. Mr. Lanpherh
is the present incumbent.
AMITY COLLEGE ASSOCIATION.
The above Association Avas organized in Galesburg in 1853.
The object of this Association was to build np an Institution of
Learning in the West, similar to Knox College, and to draw
around it an intelligent, enteiprisiug and reformatory community.
We can not,, in the brief space we have to spare, give any thing
like a full history of this enterprise. Benjamin F. Haskins was the
originator of the idea. The first meeting of the Stockholders and
those friendly to the enterprise was held at the house of William J.
Woods, who Avas then favorably impressed with the idea, and who
has ever since been an active member of the Association. B. F,
Haskins, William J. Woods and James McQuinn, were appointed
a Committee to look up a suitable location. On the 12th of April
Mr. Woods and Mr. Haskins started on their mission. They did
not find a suitable location. In 1855 another exploring committee
was appointed, and they selected Page County, Iowa, as the seat of
the Institution the Association proposed to found. Lauds were
purchased — a town was laid out and called Amity — the college is
called Amity College. The enterprise bids fair to b» highly suc-
cessful, and the Great West will be indebted to Galesburg for an-
other amply endowed Institution of Learning.
C. S. GOLTON Sl SONS Dealers in Dry Goods, GiocericP, Huid-
ware, Queensware, Glassware, Iron, Nails, &c., &c.
This firm consists of C S. Colton, John B. Colton and Francis
CoLTON. The readers of this little history have read the name of
Chauncey S. Coltok among those who arrived here in 18*6. At
that early day he opened in the Colony Settlement at Henderson
Grove a small stock of Goods. At that time help was not easily
obtained, and Mr. Coltou's means were limited. It was determined
to locate the College at this point, and early in the Spring of 1837
the work of ^building up Galesburg was commenced. Leaving his
store in charge of his family, Mr. C. took his axe and team and
cut and hanled the timbers for his first store building and dwelling
in Galesburg. If we are correctly informed, he performed most of
the labor in building them. During that year, (1837), he removed
his goods and his family from the Colony Settlement at Henderson
Grove to Galesburg, and commenced a business which from that
day to this he has successfully prosecuted.
All old residents of Illinois must have a vivid recollection of the
fact that the farmers of the country were, as a general thing, poor
men. Nineteen-twentieths of them were in debt for their land, or
the money with which it was entered. What little means they may
have brought with them was necessarily invested in improvements,
teams, wagons, plows, &c. It was to this class of men that Mr».
Colton'was compelled to sell his merchamiise, if he soM at all. But.
he did not hesitate to sell to them. He took in exchange for his
goods nearly every thing the farmers had to sell, and notwithstand-
ing the inconvenience and expense of having to wagon goods and
produce a distance of forty-five or fifty miles, he managed to do a
successful business. As his capital and facilities for doing business
increased, he extended long credits to the farmers of this vicinity,
and not ."i few of them owe their present substantial prosperity to
his timely assistance. In numerous instances he has c-one year
t)2 BUJtlNESS NOTICKS.
after year without his (lues to en:ilile farmers to make payments on
their lands and secure their farms. In this respect there are few men
in the West deserving of more credit than Chauncey S. Colton.
When it was a matter of extreme doubt whether we should have
a Railroad to Galesbarg, he, in coirmon with other public spirited
citizens, stepped promptly forward, and subscribed a large amount
of stock to the en>^erpiise. To all worthy public enterprises he sub-
scribes with a liberal hand.
On the site where he built his first store, cor. of Main Street and
Public square, now stands a block of five large brick stores, two
of them three stories high, and three of them two. The two next
to Main Street are occupied by himself and sons. They are now
doing a heavier business than ever heretofore, and we commend
them to the Public as men every way worthy of patronage.
WM. A, WOOD Wholesale and Retail Dealer in Dry Goods, Silks
and Fancy Goods, Hats, Caps, Bonnets, Boots and Shoes, «fec. &c^
corner of cherry and Main Streets, (Brown & Whiting's old stand),
Mr. Vv ooD is among the oldest Merchants in the place, having
commenced business in 1845 with L. Sanderson, in the store now
occupied by Sandeksox is Son. His business, at that time, was
that of exchanging Cloths for Wool. In 1852 the partnership be-
tween Sanderson and Wood was dissolved, and Mr. W. went into
business in the house now occupied by Mr. Grose as a Shoe Store.
In 1853 he built the store generally and well known as Buown &
Whiting's stand. Here he continued in business until 1855, when
he sold out to Brown & Whiting. During the same year he open-
ed a store in the building on the corner of Cherry and Main Streets,
directly opposite the Haskell House. While here he had several
partners in business. In 1857 he bought the stock of Brown &
Whiting and also the building, where he is now engaged in a heayy
and prosperous business. It is an old saying that " a rolling stone
gathers no moss," but it does not hold true in Mr. Wood's case,
for all his changes have been profitable. To say a word in his favor
to the old citizen is superfluous — they all know him to be an honor-
We, upright, conscientious dealer, and a pleasant man to trade with.
To the gtranger who has just arrived, and has not yet selected his
permanent places of trade, we wonld suggest that a visit to
this establishment may inure to his profit and result in long-con-
tin :ed patronage, and mutual benefits to himself and Mr. W. His
Stock is among the largest in the city — carefully selected and sold
at the lowest living rates.
REED'S BANK.— This Institution was chartered at the last Session
of the Legislature. Its officers are A. D. Keep, President, E. L.
The following statement was published on the 9th of April. 1857:
Capital Stock paid in and invested according to law,. .^52,9?)5.85
Notes in circulation, -47,300.00
Stock deposited as security for circulation, $52,935.o5
Notes of other banks on hand, 12,427.00
Specie on hand 0,761.00
Deposited with other Banks and Bankers, 28,112 00
THE GALESB'uRa HOUSE, Main Street, Galcsburg, Wm. Ander-
son, Landlord ; John V. Heermance, Clerk.
This popular tavern was built by President Kellogg, of Knox
College, about 15 years ago; and after passing through several
hands, and having been repeatedly enlarged, was purchased l>y Mr.
Wm. Anderson, the present proprietor, in 1854. Under the dilfer-
ent landlords it has always enjoyed a liberal patronage fiom the
public ; and from having at first but ten sleeping rooms has now
increased to over fifty. Mr. Anderson, the excellent landlord, de-
Totes his whole attention to promoting the comfort and convenience
of his guests ; keeps an excellent Table cV IRte ; gives special atten-
tion the arrival and departure of trains, and carries his guests free
of charge to and from the Depot in a well appointed omnibus, got
up in the best city style.
The stages for Muscatine and Rock Island leave the Cilesburg
House — for Muscatine on Thursdays, and for Rock Island on Mon-
days and Thurdays.
Good Stabling is connected with the Hotel to meet the wants of
the traveling community.
54 lU'SIXESS KOTICKS.
BOiSHELj KUHN & COLVILLE, Bookbiuders, Booksellers, Station-
ers and Blank Book Manufacturers, Southu'«*it Corner of the
The partners of this firm are J. W. Boishel, J. S. Kchn, and R.
CoLviLLE. The Bookselling department of the business was estab-
lished several years ago bj the senior partner, Mr. Boi^ihel. In
Sept., 1855, jIj-. Jvuhu joined him in partnership, at which time
the stock was cousiderablj a-iigmented, and has since been gradually
increased, till it now comprises quite an extensive assortment o"^
works in miscellaneous liteiature ; all the books in use in both the
Colleges, au'l tlio other schools ; the different publications of the
Bible Society, the Tract Society, and the Sabbath School Union ;
besides a large and well asssorted stock of miscellaneous stationery
of all kinils. Mr. B. has for several years traveled regidarly over
.some of the adjoining counties, having a team and wagon adapted
for that purpose.
Jiessrs. ]j. & K. having often felt the want of a well applianced
Bookbindery in Galesburg, resolved to establish one in connection
with their Bookselling business ; and being desirous of seeming the
services of a person of experience, and fully competent to undertake
its management in all the different branches, they were recommended,
at the end of 1855, to correspond with Mr. Colville — then in busi-
ness in Chicago — the result of which was. that on the first of May,
1850, ilr. C. arrived in Galesburg vvith all the raachinei-y requisite
for establishing the Bookbinding, which was immediately com-
menced in the building adjoining their bookstore. That success
wonld soon attend the arrangement gone into, was soon apparent,
the ])remises being shortly found too limited for the manufacture of
Blank Books and the usual class of miscellaneous Bookbinding.
In consequence of this, early in February of the present year, the
himfery was moved to the biick building known as Colton's Block
— on the same floor as the Free Democrat oflfice — where it is now
locateil. Since 'he business was first started several specimens of
clygant Bookbinding have l)e<'n tuined out, proving that the aitisan
understands his business, and convincing the citizens of Galesburg,
that they have no need to go from home for any thing whatever,
reipiired, in that line. In lilank Rooks also, from the smallest to
those of the largest class, evidence has been satisfactorily given.
BUSINESS NOTICES. 55
tliat they can be manufactured quite as well at home as abroad, thus
saving the party requiring the article a deal of trouble, and the
advantage of having it done under his own supervision,
besides the self-gratification of assisting in some degree, the devel-
opment of our home manufactures. A short time since, a Paging
Machine of the newest and most approved construction was added
to the Bindery, so that it may now be said to be one of the most
comjilcte in any city of equal size in the West, there being in fact
no establishment of a similar nature, where an equal amount of
capital is embarked, or experience in the business brought to bear
upon it, within a radius of many miles.
This firm have now two wagons on the road, and are M'holesale
agents for several articles, — Sheet and Roller Maps, Prints, etc. etc.,
which, as well as Blank Books, can be supplied on as good terms as
at New York, or other eastern cities. It was hoped that a brick
building would ere this have superceded the wooden one, in which
the bookselling is yet carried on : whether this may be put up
during the present season, remains to be seen — we sincerely hope so;
a few such being much wanted in this locality, to preserve what
may be termed the equilibrium of the city,
J. R. GORDON Wholesale and Retail Dealer in Beady-Made Cloth-
ing, Hals and Caps, Gentlemen's Furnishing'.Goods &c. &c., Main
Street, opposite the Haskell House, Galesburg, Illinois.
Mr. Gordon commenced business in Galesburg in 1854. He
established the first regular Clothing Store ever opened in this
city. He first opened in a small wooden building erected by W.
J. Woods, on the South side of the Public Square, where, by close
attention to business — a stock carefully selected and constantly full
— low prices and fair dealing, he gained a good business reputation
and secured an excellent run of custom. In 1856 he built the
store he now occupies. Here bis customers and his success follow-
ed him, and here he is now doing a heavier business than ever here-
tofore. Mr. Gordon is an American, and, though he sells goods as
cheap as the cheapest, he does not do business upon the Jew princi-
ple. He treats all alike and all fairly. We bespeak for him that
liberal patronage to which his long residence among us, excellent
Goods and low prices so justly entitle him.
56 BUSINESS NOTICES.
WILLIAM H. BABCOCK & CO, Dealers in Stoves. Tin, Copper
and Sheet Iron Ware, and all kinds of Farming Implements, North
side of the Public Square, Galesburg, Illinois.
Mr. Babcock came here in June, 1853, and went into the Stove
and Tin-Smithing business with his father. Their shop was in the
brick building adjoining the store now occupied by Willard, Bab-
cock & Co. After the death of his father he built the store now
occupied by him onthe North side of the Square. The store was built
in 1855. In December, 1856, he associated with him in business,
Mr. J. F. Stilson, and the name and style of the [firm became
William IT. Babcock & Co.
In addition to the Stove, Tin, Copper and Sheet Iron ware busi-
ness, which they carry on extensively, they keep what may properly
be termed an " Agricultural Warehouse," where every kind of
implement used in Western Farming may be found. The advan-
tages of such an establishment to the farming community can
hardly be properly appreciated, save by those farmers who toiled
for years in this part of the West without being able to procure
any thing better than a wooden mould-board plow, and an old-fash-
ioned harvesting cradle, and hand rake. Now the farmers of Knox
and the surrounding Counties can come to Galesburg with the full
assurance of finding at the above named establishment every thing"
used by them from a pitch fork to a threshing machine. Here may
be found Deere's celebrated Plows, in praise of which too much
can not be said. Harvesting and Mowing machines, of the most
approved patterns, can always be found, and on manufacurers terms.
Corn and Cob Mills, Corn Planters, Corn Shellers and Corn Knives
can also be had here. Machines for hulling and cleaning clover
seed — large iron kettles for boiling corn, potatoes, &c., for Stock,
and, in short, every thing in the Stove, Tin, Copper, Sheet Iron,
and Farming Implement line used by farmers or housekeepers, can
be found here at reasonable prices. Messrs. B. & Co., are fair
anc honorable dealers, enterprising men, and ever on the alert to
secure for their customers all that is new and valuable in their line.
They are building up a^ very extensive and valuable business, and we
commend them to the public as young men every way worthy of
BUSINESS NOTICES. 57
SAGE k REED, Wholesale and Retail Dealers in Dry Goods,
Silks and Fancy Goods, Clothes, Cassimeies, shawls, Ilats, Caps,
Bonnetc, Straw Goods, Carpets, Wall Paper, &c. &c., one door
West of the Haskell House, Main Street, Galesburg, Illinois.
Messrs. Sage «k Reed formerly transacted business in Farming-
ton, Illinois. In the Spring of 1856 they came to this city and
erected the large and beautiful store now occupied by them.
They filled the establishment with the largest and richest assort-
ment of Goods ever brought to this city ; and, by means of ex-
tensive and systematic advertising, they soon built up a tremendous
business. They hoisted the sign of the "Regulator," and by that
Bame their establishment is known for a hundred miles around.
They sell their goods at extremely low prices — deal justly and
fairly with all — and extend to their customers such acoraniodations
as those in large and successful business alone can afford to.
Strangers in the city should pay this store a visit, and learn from
its packed shelves and crowded rooms what a large amount of busi-
ness is transacted here. Country dealers will find it to their advan-
tage to call on them. Residents need not be told that it is a cheap
store — t/u'f/ know that already.
REED & ABBOTT Wholesale and Retail Dealers in Hardware ;
Stoves ; Tin, Copper and Sheet Iron Ware ; Iron, Nails, &,c. &,c.
Colton's Block West side Public Square.
This firm formerly transacted business in Farmington, Fulton
County, Ills., fi'om whenee they removed to this city in the Spring
of 1856. This is by far the largest establishment of this kind in
this pait of the West. They have two large rooms in Colton's
Block, the store formerly occupied by Barry & Field, the cellar
under Reed's Bank, and several other rooms literally jammed
with Hardware, Stoves, Iron, Tinware, <kc. &c. A person
naturally wonders, at first, where it all goes to ; but after re-
maining about the premises an hour or so, he soon discovers that
the wants of the wide extent of country with which they deal de-
mand it all. They ship goods to all the towns in the immediate
vicinity of Galesburg, and also to points in Iowa. They have been
here but a short time, and yet by placing their Goods at low
figures, aad honorable dealing, they have built up an immense busi-
ness, and made themselves favorably and widely known.
Ic is to such men that our city owes much for its reputation
abroad as an extensive and cheap market. To all who deal in or
use articles in their line we commend them as every way worthy of
liberal patronage. Builders, Blacksmiths, country dealers, and
housekeepers will do well to call on them before making their
0. B, MATTESON, Greneral Dealer in Drugs, Medicines ; Paints
and Dye-Stuffs ; Surgical Instruments ; Tobacco and Cigars ; Fancy
Articles ; Plain and Fancy Stationery ; Perfumery, &c. &c.
Culton's Block, West Side Public Square, Galesburg, 111.
O. B. is one of our most enterprising merchants, and as the result
of a prudent use of his opportunities is steadily advancing as one
of our most extensive Dealers. In 1852 Mr. M. commenced
business with Judge Lanphere, and contintied the partnership
for a year on Dr. White's corner. South side of the Square. At
that time the yearly amount of business was $4,000, while now it
has increased to $15,000. In the Spring of 1854 Mr. Matteson
built the gravel store West side of the Square, which one year there-
after he sold to A. D. Reed, Escp, and removed to his present very
commodious and tastefully fitted up Store in Colton's Block. 0.
B. is somewhat of an innovator too, for he was the first to introduce
to the thirsty and parched up lieges a Soda Fountain in the summer
of 1853. The Vicar of Wakefield's wife was noted for the excel-
lence of her gooseberry wine, and 0. B. is equally noted for the supe-
riority of his Soda Water. He also introduced after a hard fought
battle with prejudice the now popular burning fluid or spirit gas,
which is used by almost every family in town. He makes the fluid
himself, and supplies lamps of every style. Thirdly, he introduced
the S3'steui of compounding physicians' prescriptions, for which
purpose his brother Asa has been qualifying himself by an attend-
ance at the College of Pharmacy of Philadelphia. 0. B. may there-
fore be set down as a young man of spirit and enterprise, who has
made his mark among us. His Stock of goods is large and varied, and
the man himself is just such a one as we wouhl like to deal with on
all occasions, for his good nature ami cheerfulness never forsake
BU8I^"K8S NOTICES. 59
STEWART, MQliR[R & CO.. Insurance Agents and Dealers in
This firm, under the name and style of Stewart & Mourer, com-
menced business in the early part of 1856. Subsequently Dr. H. S.
HuRD entered the firm and the above name and style was adopted.
The firm now consists of J. C. Stewart, D. J. Mourer and J. 0.
ScROGGS. Their office is over Eeed's Bank, corner of Main Street
and the Public Square.
The numerous and shameful frauds too often practiced upon the
unsuspecting by Land Companies have had the effect to make land
buyers very cautious in their transactions with Land Agents and
dealers ; and they need strong assurances tliat the money they de-
posit for purchases will be honestly accounted for, and that the titles
they receive shall be valid. We are glad that this is so, and rejoice
that the "confidence" system of transacting business has exploded.
To the thousands of residents of other States to whom this pam-
phlet will be sent, we commend the above firm as a fair-dealing and
responsible one. Persons wishing to intrust them with business, or
to make purchases of them, may institute inquiries respecting their
integrity and responsibility with the full assurance of satisfactory re-
plies. Although they make entries of land, and purchases, and
locate Warrants when desired, yet the lands they offer for sale are
generally their own, and those who purchase of them save the fees
and commissions usually exacted by those who sell the lands of
others. They have fcr sale, at all times, improved lands, town
lots, &c. &c.
They arc also Agents for some of the most reliable Insurance
Companies in the country, and take risks at the Companies' rates.
JOSIAH TILDEM Dealer in Dry Goods, Silks and Fancy Goods,
Boots and shoes, Hats, Caps, Bonnets, Groceries, &c. &c.. Main
Street, Galesburg, Illinois.
'My. Tilden first commenced business in Galesburg as early as
1852, in company with David Sanborn. The name and style of
the firm was Sanborn <k Tilden. This firm did a successful busi-
ness, and the copartnership continued until 1856. In that year
(1856) Mr. Tildon liuilt the Store he now occupies. It was said
by an observant writer, Theodore Parker, we think, that ninety-
five per cent, of all who had ever engaged in the mercantile busi.
60 BUSINESS NOTICES.
ness in the city of Boston, had failed. He thought the per centage
of failures in the coiadry equaled this. To succeed in this business,
then — to pursue it without failure or su^ pension for a number of
years, as Mr. Tilden has done, argues dose attention to, and thor-
ough knowledge cf the business. By cai-o, prudence and close at-
tention to his business he has avoided (he rock on which so many
have split, and has won to his suppoit and holds a large number of
excellent customers. lie keeps his store well supplied with all arti-
cles in which he deals, and those who visit him may be sure of
good bargains and polite attention.
DUNN, CHEESEERO k CO., Wholesale and Retail dealers in
Groceries, Provisions, Nails, ice. <fec., Main Street, Galesburg, 111.
This firm came from Farmingtou to this city in 1855, and com-
menced business in the house now occupied by C. C. Bottsford as a
Furniture Store. They remained in that house until Hammond and
Smith <& Field's brick block was completed, which was, we think,
in the Fall of 1855. They then moved into that, and have remained
there ever since.
The citizen of Galesburg, when speaking of the heavy
business transacted in the city, rarely closes an account of it
without referring to this establishment. The amount of business
tiansacted by this firm is enormous, and Avould compare favorably
with many houses claiming to be first class in St. Louis or Chicago.
Wc think wc speak within bounds when we say that the amount of
their sales for the year will not fall much short ofS200,000. Tlieir
business, heavy as it now is, is steadily increasing. It is the com-
mon remark among small dealers in the city, and country merchants:
"I can buy Groceries of Dunk, Cheesebho & Co., cheaper than
I can get them in St. Louis or Chicago." This is a fact which the
country dealers fjr a great distance around us are fast becoming-
acquainted with, and they are not slow to profit by it.
With such firms as this in our city there is but little danger that
the trade of this section of country will be drawn off to other
points. The men wdio compose this firm aie so well, so widely
known, that not a work of commendation from us is necessary.
Fair and honorable in their dealings, pleasant and accommodating
to their customers, and untiring and successful in their efforts to
BUSINESS NOTICES. 61
keep pace with the demands of the country in the quantity and
quality of their Goods, they have succeeded in the short space of
two years in building up a business never before equaled in this
part of the West.
HASKELL HOUSE.— Haskell & Bonnev, Proprietors, Maiu
Street, Galesburg, Illinois.
This House, under the management of its present proprietors,
has gained an excellent reputation among travelers, and bids fair to
do much toward silencing the long and loud complaints against the
hotels of our city. The house has been newly furnished and reno-
vated throughout, and the traveler will find it a pleasant place to
stop when business or pleasure calls him this way.
SIDNEY MYERS, Attorney at Law, and Dealer in Real Estate.
Office over Re^-id's Bank, Galesburg, Illinois.
Mr. MyERs is a young man of fine abilities, and is rapidly rising
in his profession. lie is a dealer in real estate. Residents and
strangers will find him a safe and reliable person with whom to in-
trust their business.
BR9WN &, MORSE, Dealers in Real Estate. Office over Wood's
store, corner of Cherry and Main Streets, Galesburg, Illinois.
The firm consists of Samuel W. Brown and John M. Morse.
Mr. Brown is an old resident of this city and county, and a word
in assurance of his integrity is unneeded in this community. All
know him, and respect him, and all would be willing to intrust
business to any amount in his hands. Mr. Morse is a Physician,
in high standing here, and like his associate, is universally respected
for his integrity.
Persons wishing to buy land or to invest their money in city
property, may approach this firm in the full assurance that they
will be fairly and honorably dealt with. Individuals living abroad
may confidently rely upon the truthfulness of any statement they
receive from them. Those to whom this pamphlet may be sent,
living abroad, and who may wish to gain reliable information re-
garding lands or city property can not do better than to address
Messrs. Brown & Morse. They own nearly or quite all the prop-
erty they offer for sale, and by purchasing of them the buyer saves
Vi/ILLARO, BABCOCK & CO., Dealers iu Dry Goods, Silks and
Fancy Goods, Carpets, Yankee Notions, Groceries, &c., corner
Main Street and Public Square, GalesLurg, Illinois.
This firm consists of Warren C. Willard, Josiah Babc»ck
and George Wood. Mr. Willard commenced business in Gales-
burg in 1847 in the old building used by Sanborn for the Post
Office. In 1848 ho built the house now occupied by the firm. In
1850 he entered into partnership with Silas Willard. In Jan.,
1853, Mr. Babcock and W. C. Willard bought the interest of Silas
Willard. In 1855 Mr. Wood entered the firm.
This is among the oldest establishments in this city, and one of
the most successful. They are now doing a heavy business, and
the popularity of the establishment is every day increasing. All
who want excellent goods, at fair prices and on reasonable terms,
will do well to give tliem a call.
J. H. & A. KNAPP, Wholesale and Pvetail Dealers in Books, Sta-
tionery, Sheet Music, Musical Instruments, Mathematical Instru-
ments, (fee. &c.
We regret that our limited space forbids us to give to this ex-
tensive^ establishment the extended and favorable notice it so richly
merits. This is the only establishment in this or adjoining Counties,
(except Peoria) where Pianos, 'Melodeons, &c. can be obtained.
They have a very large stock of all~articles in their line. For fur-
ther particulai'8, see advertisement on the cover of this work.
JAMES GREGORY, House and Sign Painter, Paper Hanger, &c.,
Mr. Gregory is an excellent woikman, and those in want of
Painting would do well to give him a call.
PITCH ER 8l mason Attorneys and Counselors at Law, Gales-
burg, Illinois. Office with A. C. Wiley, over Mathews' Store.
The first Business Directory ever printed for Galesburg v.-as pre-
pared and issued by H. McEvoY, of Chicago.
CONCLUDING UEMARKS. 63
CONCLUDING R E :M A R K S .
The emigrant Avho leaves a comfortable home iu New England,
or any of the older States, to settle in the West, is generally influ-
enced by a desire to better his worldly condition. He has heard of
the Great West — its rich prairies, its flowing streams, its valuable
coal and woodlands — its railroads and flourishing towns and cities,
and he is seized with an incontrollable desire to see it. lie has heard
that men grow rich there on the labor and capital necessary to gain
a bare subsistence in the older States, and he wishes to try his luck.
Having made up his mind to come to the West, his first care is to
find a location combining the most advantages. First, he wishes to
know where labor and capital may be best employed. Second,
where he can educate his children to the best advantage. Third,
where lie can enjoy good society, church privileges, &c. There are
few places in the wide-spread West combining these advantages in
greater degree than Galesburg. There is a demand for all kinds of
LABOR, and high prices are paid. The city and the country are im-
proving with wonderful rapidity, and capital invested in lots and
houses or in almost any branch of business will pay a handsome per
centage. Here, too, the facilities for the education of children and
youth are greater than in any other town or city in the West, as our
three Colleges, ®ur Academy and our numerous District and private
Schools attest. The Church privileges here enjoyed are great, and
the Society is no where surpassed. Although we have many wealthy
residents we have no aristocrats.
There will be many copies of this little book sent to persons in
other States and in other parts of this, and we assure them that they
may rely upon the strict truth of all that it contains. In these few
pages we have been unable to give a complete history of the city
or its business, or to enlarge upon its prospect, but have been com-
pelled to restrict ourself to a general outline. We think we have
written enough, however, to give the reader a pretty fair idea of our
city as it has been and as it is ; and if our effort shall result in di-
recting hitherward a good class of emigrants, and in benefitting
them and building up our city, we shall feel well satisfied.
Errata. — In the Classification of Business, under the liead of Physicians Dr. S. B .
Chapman should be classed a.s Botanic instead of Eclectic. Dr. J. C. Rutherford
Ekctticlan instead of blank. Page 27th, 14 lines from top, for " West" side of the
Square, read "South."
INDEX TO CONTENTS
Preface r age B
Earl}- History of the Town, b}' Prof. G. W. Gale, 5
Colleges and Schools, 21
Newspapers and Magazines, 26
Union Graded Schools, 3 8
i'ublic Halls, 35
Classification of Business, 39
Elections, Cit}' Charter, &q., 47
City Officers, 48
Uoundar}- of City and Wards, 48
Post Office, 50
Amity College Association, 50
C S. Colt,>n A Sons 51
W. .\. AVood, 52
Reed's Bank 53
Calesburg House, 53
Boishel, Kuhn .t Colville, 54
J. K. Gordon, 55
Widiam H. Babcock & Co., 56
Sage & Kecd— Heed & Abbott, 57
0. B. Matteson, 58
Stewart, Mourer & Co. — Josiah Tilden, 5t)
Dunn, Chccscbro & Co., 60
Llaskell House — Sidney Mjers — Brown &. Morse, 61
Willard, Babcock Sc Co.— J. H. & A. Knapp, 62
James Gregory — Pitcher &. Mason, 62
Business Directory, 62
Concluding Remarks, 63
LIBRARY OF CONGRESS
016 097 872 7