(navigation image)
Home American Libraries | Canadian Libraries | Universal Library | Community Texts | Project Gutenberg | Children's Library | Biodiversity Heritage Library | Additional Collections
Search: Advanced Search
Anonymous User (login or join us)
Upload
See other formats

Full text of "Roll of eminent burgesses of Dundee, 1513-1886"

ffillliWMHMWKSlSH 




DO^ 



M 




. i V ^i £ Ti 



' ' i jlA'AUJii 



TMtii llll til I IIIIIBIIIIi'lllill'lllllll lllllllll'l ll 



^41.3102;! 
0914 d 
315415 



llii: 








e illJiii' 



EifSl 



m 





1 
i 


1 

t 

1 

i' 





Bti'it:t5|[||it'li{: 



[mi 



3 1833 00730 2091 

mUr "ill j| lit 

: f.i .« Ei.iiink.iiijii.^.-filjIM'I- 
; ^H';i = inHf! 11!? 3 hji 

'Ifi '^^' 



:a 


i 


1 

M 

i. 


i 


1 

is 

1 



mm 

ihuni 



mm 



■ " : M °!p'i 



i 3 =W|?,i hill [n*i 



\mui 



m 

tjj|il: ,,,, 






lllllll 



HlHlilflniHri 






\m\\ 









mm 



mmm 



tiilhiiiui'- 




EHM 






;,= ■ = ;;! = ! H:,i,i 






IS? »s 



•IE! .... 



iUiu': '■■ i.^'i;'-'^"'^ ■'■■■■■ 



iiiiillllli 



■IP: 



iljljlfljjj 















iiiyiii 






;-K 






ik iil:itte 



imm 



mm' 






,'t;,^!(S' !J.|,jif:i:i.-:l; i 'i • 

:,|H'iil: li ! ll.Hir'fM!; 



fiiS i!!!.: 



iW 



■ 1> 1 1 ■ I - ' -M ; i : i ; ; ; ; ; : ^fi [ : ! :i yU' J : J t I !; 



'3 1 Mint 









yii|ji|i(||||t'!'=i:HI!;IJ 

. ;iiiitli!i""' 






1 \i 


m 




J t ; 
i : ^ : 

: : ; 

in 


{it; B 

1 Hi 











:i , . 












i 


i 


':; 


■4 

\ 

"t 


i 
i 


3' 


■■El 


3 

w 


3 



fill 

:itii 
nil 



Jill 



:h!l 



131 






h 51 If! 



: f : ;: : r; [a 



illii 



11111 



: iii,! 


l 

i 


111!' 


HI: 









ilpiiHIHn 

!,i|!i:i::.:i; 



|||ii|l'^:fflHllilifl'llii 









iiiiiiliililii^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^ 



lliliiii 






mi:-^ii!iitl[?jll 

il- ■; :.;j:i::t3 tj:; 



ggNSALOOY COI_L-ECTION 



ROLL OF EMINENT BURGESSES 



OF DUNDEE 



JOJHN LENG a Co., PRINTtHS DuNDEE, 



lOLL O 



EMUIKW 



\r\ 



n 



]r) (T^W 'CJ eJ mJ 'QJ 



Oil 
IJIfW 



ii'x^n? n^ o) ^:3 Ji^j ^19 



V 1 I [J 



1513-1886. 




TOWN HOUSE, DUNDEE. 



IPTUBHSHEB BY 0EBEM, OF THE PMOYOST, 

mages: . ES am:)) towm couifciL, 

DUNDEE » 1887. 



13154 15 



P R R F A C K. 



\ 




-^ 



HE Author has to acknowledge gratefully the assistance he has received in the 
preparation of this volume. His sincere thanks are specially due to His Grace the 
Duke of Argyll, K.T., K.G. ; the Right Hon. the Earl of Strathmore, Lord- 
Lieutenant of Forfarshire ; the Right Hon. the Earl of Southesk, K.T. ; the Right Hon. the 
Earl of Rosebery, LL.D. : the Right Hon. the Earl of Camperuown ; Sru John Ocjilvy of 
luvorquharity, Bart.; Sir William Eraser, LL.T)., K.C.B. ; the Right Hon. W. E. Gladstone, 
D.C.L.. LL.D., M.R; Patrick Stirling, Esq. of Kippendavie ; George Armitstead, Escj. ; 
Frank Hender.son, Esq. ; Edward Cox, Esq. ; A. C. Lamb, Esq., F.S.A. Scot., and the other 
noblemen and gentlemen who kindly revised the proofs of the articles relating to the various 
members of their families whose names appear in this work. He has also to acknowledge the 
valuable aid afforded by the Sub-Committee of the Town Council charged with the duty of 
superintending the work, including Provost Ballingall, Bailies W. M. Ogilvie and John 
TuLLOCH, Dean of Guild Mathewson, Ex -Bailie Wm. Hunter, Ex -Bailie J. S. Bradford, 
and William Hay, Esq., Town-Clerk. To the gentlemen who granted permission to utilise 
ilocuments preserved amongst their family papers his acknowledgments are also due. From the 
care taken to secure accurac)', it is hoped that the volume will be found useful as an authentic 
book of reference upon Scottish history and genealogy. 



To Hugh Ballingall, Es(i., Provost, and to the Magistrates and Town Council of Dundee, 
by whose direction this work was unflertaken, the present volume is respectfully dedicated. 

A. H. MILLAR. 



October, LS^r 



CONTENTS. 



1513. Lord Gray, Provost, .... 9 
„ James Scrymgeour, Constable of Dundee, 10 
„ Gilbert Gray, Son of Lord Gray, . .11 
,, Andrew Abercrombie, Provost, . .11 

1.514. Alexander, Earl of Craufurd, . . 12 
,, James Weddorbiirn, junior, . . 13 

1515. James, Lord Ogilvy of Airlie, . . 14 
„ Alexander, Lord of Ogilvy, . . .15 
,, Robert Maule of Panmure, . . .15 
,, James Scrymgeour, . . . .16 

1516. Alexander Seres, 16 

1523. John Scrymgeour of Glastre, . . 17 

1526. Alexander Ogilvy, Son of Lord Ogilvy, 17 

„ James Scrymgeour, yr. of Duntruue, . 18 
,, Thomas Fotliringhame of Powrie, . IS 

„ James Scrymgeour, yr. of Fardle, . 19 

,, Walter Scrymgeour, yr. of Glastre, . 19 

1529. Mariote Ker, 20 

1535. Magister Thomas CIayhill.s, ... 20 
,, Robert Wedderburne, . . . .21 
,, William Wedderburn, . . . .22 

1539. Magister Walter Spalding, ... 22 

1540. William Ruthven of Bandene, . . 23 
,, James Haliburton, Provost, . . .24 

1543. Herbert Glaidstanes, . . . .27 

,, Walter Scrymgeour of Glaswell, Provost, 28 

1550. Finlay Duncan, Surgeon, . . .29 

1553. James Wichtand, Chaplain of Kinnaird, 29 

1555. John Maxwell of Terriklis, Ivnt., . 30 

1559. Henry Lovell of Ballumbie, . . 30 

„ George Haliburton of Pitcur, . .32 

„ Magister Walter Smetoun, . . 32 

„ Alexander Guthrie, fiar of that Ilk, . 33 

1562. James Scrymgeoure of Glaswell, . . 34 

„ James Goldman, Merchant, . . 35 

1564. Alexander Maxwell of Tealing, . . 39 
,, Magister Alexander Hepburne, . . 40 

1565. Andrew Balfoure of Monquhany, . . 41 
,, Robert Balfoure, his Son, . . .41 
,, Andrew Balfoure, junior, of Monc|uhauy, 41 
,, David, Earl of Craufurd, Provost, . 42 
„ Thomas Fothringham of Powrie, . 43 

1568. John Blair, junior, of Balgillo, . . 44 



1568. 
1571. 
1574. 

1575. 
1576. 

1582. 



1583. 



1586. 



1587. 

1588. 
1589. 



1592. 

1.596. 
1597. 
1599. 



1600. 



PAGE 

John Lovell, junior, of Ballumbie, . 44 

John Carnegie of that Ilk, . . .45 

George Ramsay of Bam If, . . .46 
David Guthrie of Kincaldrum, . . 46 
Gilbert Auchinleok, of that Ilk, . . 48 
David Robertson, Minister of Rossie, . 48 
Sir James Scrymgeour of Dudhope, . 49 
Magi-ster Alexander Wedderburn, . 51 

Magister Alexander Beatoun, . . 53 
David Wedderburne, . . . .54 
Francis, Earl of Bothwell, . . .55 
Hercides Stewart, . . . .55 
David, Earl of Craufurd, . . .57 
Michael Balfour of INIonquhany, . . 59 

]\Iagister Thomas Ramsay, Schoolmaster, 59 
John Chrystesoun, Pa.stor, Invergowrie, 61 
Ludovic, Duke of Lennox, . . .61 
John, Lord Hamilton, . . .62 

Captain Robert Cunningham, . . 64 
George, Earl Marischal, . . .65 
James Lawson of Humbie, . . .67 
George Balfour, Prior of Charterhouse, 67 
John, Earl of Mar, . . . .69 
Sir Archibald Striveling of Keir, Knt., 70 
Andrew Wood of Largo, . . .71 
Alexander Hume, of North Berwick, . 72 
William Lundie, of that Ilk, . . 73 
Patrick, Lord Gray, . . . .74 

Gilbert Gray, Bandirrane, . . .74 
Gilbert Gray of Milnhill, ... 74 
William Gray, Son of Lord Gray, . 74 

David Scrymgeoure of FardiU, . . 75 
James Ogilvie of Balfoure, . . .76 
.I\Iagister William Fergusson, Physician, 76 
Magister Peter Young of Seatoun, . 78 
Sir James Anstruther, junior, of that Ilk, 80 
James Robertsoun, Jlinister of Dundee, 81 
Magister Andrew Lamb, . . .82 
John Scrymgeoure, younger of Dudhope, 83 
Magister Alexander Gibson of Durie, . 84 
Sir Thomas Areskyne of Gogar, Knt., . 85 
Sir John Ramsay, Knt., . . .85 
Sir Hugh Herries, Knt., . . .85 



VI. 



CONTENTS. 



PAGE 

IGOO. James Crichton of Ruth veil, . . 87 

87 
IGOl. George, Marquess of Hiintly, . . 89 

91 
91 
91 
91 
91 
91 
91 
91 
91 
91 
91 
91 
91 
91 
91 
91 
91 
92 

1602. David Kiiiloch, M.D., " . . .92 

94 
96 

1603. "William Graham of Glaverhouse, . . 96 
„ Magister Robert Howie, Pastor of Dundee, 97 

1605. David Maxwell of Tealing, ... 98 
„ Thomas Wintoun of Strikomartine, . 99 

1606. John Scrymgeoure of Kirktoun, . . 100 
„ Magister James aSTicolsoun, Megill, . 100 
,, Magister James Gleig, Schoolmaster, . 101 

1611. William WedderburnejPastorof Dundee, 102 

1612. Sir Robert Danielstoun of Montjoy, . 103 

1615. James Neill, Surgeon, .... 104 

1616. David, Lord Carnegy, .... 105 

1618. John Young, Dean of Winchester, . 105 
„ Magister Patrick Young, King's Librarian, 107 

1619. John, Earl of Perth, . . . .108 
„ James Scrymgeoure, youngerofDudhope, 109 
„ Colin Campbell, Pastor of Dundee, . 109 

1620. David Graham of Fintrie, . . .110 
,, Tlionirts Fotliringham of Powrie, . 112 
„ ]\Iagister John Fothringham of Powrie, 112 
„ IMagister George Graham of Glaverhouse, 113 
„ John, Lord Holyroodhouse, . . .114 
„ AVilliam Sandilands of St Monans, . 114 
„ William Sandilands, junior, . . .114 
„ Magister iVndrew Sandilands, . .114 



James Crichton of Ruthveii, 

George Hay of Netherliff, . 

George, Marquess of Huntly, 

William Gordon of Geicht, . 

George Gordon, younger of Geicht, 

James Gordon, younger of Lesmoir, 

Alexander Murray of Cowbairdie, 

Alexander Ileriiig of Litill Blair, . 

William Stewart of Seatoun, 

James Gray of Schives, 

Adam Dutf, younger of Tullynesle, 

James Gordon, in Piainy, 

Jolm Gordon, younger of Newton, 

John Chalmer, in Drumbolg, 

John Gordon, younger of Carneburro, 

Adam Gordon, Son of Carneburro, 

Adam Gordon, Son of the Laird of Crichi 

William Borthwick, 

Alexander Gordon, Son of Lesmoir, 

Andrew Gray, Son of Lord Gray, 

Magister Gilljert Ramsay, 

David Kinloch, M.D., 

!Magister David Lindsay, Schoolmaster, 

Magister Andrew Clayhillis, Monifieth, 

William Graham of Glaverhouse, . 



1620. James Leirmonth, younger of Balcomy,. 115 
,, James Carmichael of Balmedie, . .116 
,, John of Bothwell, . . . .116 
,, James, Earl of Biiehan, . . .117 
„ John, Earl of Kinghorne, . . .117 
„ Frederick Lyon of Brigton, . . .117 
,, Andrew, Lord Gray, . . . .118 
,, Sir WiUiam Murray of Abercairney, . 119 

1621. Sir Alexander Home of Manderstone, . 120 
,, John Erskine of Balgonie, . . .120 

1622. William, Earl of Morton, . . .121 
„ Robert, Lord of Dalkeith, . . .121 
,, Archibald, Lord of Lome, . . .121 
,, Patrick, Lord of Lundors, . . .124 
,, Alexander Erskine of Dun, . . . 125 
„ John Livingstone of Kynnaird, . .126 
„ Alexander Nairn, Queen's Chamberlain, 127 
,, Robert Montgomery, jMinister atKinnaird, 1 27 
,, David Scrymgeour, younger of Dudhope, 128 

1623. James, Lord of Coupar, . . . 128 
„ ]\Iagister Alexander Gibson, yr. of Durie, 130 
,, John Gibson, Son of Lord Durie,. . 130 

James, Master of Deskford, . . .132 
John Duncansone, Pastor of Dundee, . 133 
Dr Patrick Blair, Physician, . .134 

George Haliburtou of Fotherance, . 134 

Sir Patrick Drummond, Knt., . .135 
David Primrose, Advocate, . . .136 
Magister Robert Bruce, Lord Broomhall, 137 
Magister Henry Cheip, Advocate,. . 138 
Simon, Lord Eraser of Lovat, . .138 
Hew, Master of Lovat, . . .138 

Jolm Carnegie, Son of Lord Carnegie, . 140 



1625. 



1627. 



1629, 
1631. 
1632. 



1633. 



Alexander Carnegie, Son of Lord Carnegie, 1 40 
Sir George Auchinleck of Balmanno, . 140 
Magister Archibald Auchinleck, . .140 
Magister David Wedderburn, Aberdeen, 142 
John Graham, younger of Fintrie, . 143 

Magister James Graham, . . .143 
Patrick Maul of Panmure, . . .144 
George Maul of Pannmre, . . .144 
Henry Maul, Son (if Patrick Maul, . 144 
William Laud, Bishop of London, . 146 

William Juxone, Bishop of Heryfoord, . 146 
Magister John Guthrie, Bishop of Moray, 146 
Magister John Maxwell, Bishojj of Ross, 146 
Magister Gilbert Primrose, . . .150 

Magister George Gibson, yr. of Durie, . 151 







CONTENTS. 






PAGE 




1633. 


William, Earl of Dalhousie, . 


151 


1668. 


)) 


Sir Janaes Sandilands of St Monans 




)) 




Knt., 


152 


J) 


1634. 


Sir Jolin Mackenzie of Tarbat, 


152 


1670. 


)) 


Simon Mackenzie of Loclislyne, . 


152 


JJ 


n 


John Mackenzie of Loclislyne, 


152 


JJ 


)) 


Kenneth Mackenzie of Coull, 


152 


J) 


» 


Thomas SyJserflf, Bishop of Brechin, 


154 


J) 


>j 


James SyJserff, .... 


154 


1671. 


1636. 


Sir Patrick Hay of Megginch, 


155 


3» 


1646. 


Jolm, Earl of Loudon, . 


155 


5) 


)) 


John, Earl of Middleton, 


156 


33 


1648. 


John, Lord Balmerinoch, 


158 


)T 


J) 


John, Master of Balmerinoch, 


158 


Ji 


)) 


James Fitliie, Schoolmaster, . 


160 


JJ 


1650. 


Walter Graham of Duntrune, 


161 


J5 


1651. 


Sir Adam Hepburue of Humbie, . 


161 


)3 


)J 


Thomas Ilepburne, younger of Humbie 


, 161 


1675 


)J 


Sir Thomas Hamilton of Prestene, 


161 


3J 


» 


James Hamilton of Priestfield, 


161 


t3 


)» 


Patrick Hamilton, Son to Prestene, 


161 


3J 


J) 


James Hamilton, Second Son to Prestene 


,161 


33 


1657. 


Magister Peter Wedderburne, Advocate 


, 163 


13 


1660. 


John, Viscount Dudhope, . 


164 


J) 


M 


Patrick, Earl of Kinghorne, . 


164 


)3 


5» 


John Graham of Claverhouse, 


166 


11 


)3 


David Graham, Brother of Claverhouse 


166 


3) 


)J 


James Graham, Son of Duntrune, 


166 


)> 


JJ 


John Graham, Son of Duntrune, . 


166 


3> 


3) 


George, Earl of Linlithgow, . 


169 


1676 


J) 


George, Lord Liviixgstone, . 


169 


J) 


)J 


Sir Thomas Stewart of Grandtully, 


170 




1661. 


Sir George Mackenzie of Tarbat, . 


171 


J) 


J» 


George Mackenzie, Lord Advocate, 


171 




1663. 


William, Earl of iMortoun, . 


175 


3) 


JJ 


David, Lord Lour, 


175 


1677 


)5 


Charles, Lord Claremont, 


175 


1678 


)1 


Andrew Middleton of Balbegno, . 


175 


J> 


1) 


Sir Alexander Durham, Lord Lyon, 


175 




» 


Sir John Strachan, 


175 


1689 


)i 


Muugo Murray of Garth, 


175 


1713 


3) 


Alexander Milne, Minister of Dundee, 


177 


1717. 


)J 


Eobert Edward, Minister of Murroes, . 


177 


33 


)) 


Magister David Fergusson, . 


179 


1721 


1665. 


Alexander Wedderburn, yr. of Kingemii 


e,180 


3) 


1667. 


William Oliphant, Mariner, . 


ISl 


1742 


1668. 


John, Earl of Eothes, . . . . 


182 


1746 


)) 


James, Earl of AirHe, . . . . 


182 


1753 



Vll. 

PAGE 

Charles, Earl of Aboyne, . . .182 
David, Lord Ogilvy, . . . .182 
Sir James Carnegie of Balnamoon, . 182 

Robert Sibbakl, 188 

John Beattic, 188 

John, Lord Lindores, . . . .191 
Colonel Ludovic Leslie, . . .191 
Sir James Macgill of Rankeillor, . .191 
Sir Henry Bruce of Clackmannan, . 192 
David Bruce of Kennet, . . .192 
Sir Alexander Bruce of Broomhall, . 192 
IMagister Patrick Lyon, Advocate, . 192 

John, Lord Elphinstone, . . .194 
Charles, Lord Haltoun, . . .194 

Sir James Foulis of Colintoun, . .195 
Sir John Lockhart of Castlehill, . .195 

John Wedderburne, Son of Lord Gosford, 196 
Sir Peter Wedderburne of Gosford, . 196 
Peter Wedderburne, Son of Lord Gosford, 196 
Alex. Wedderburne, Son of Lord Gosford, 196 
Robert Lawrie, Bishop of Brechin, . 197 

David Rollo, 197 

Sir David Ogilvy of Clova, Knt., . . 198 
John, Earl of Athol, . . . .198 
James, Lord Murray, .... 198 
Thomas Murray, Lord Glendoick, . 200 

Robert, Earl of Southesk, . . .200 
Robert, Viscount of Arbuthnot, . . 200 
Jolm Murray, Tutor of Stormonth, . 200 

John Graham, Postmaster of Scotland, . 201 
William Tolmash, Son of the Duchess of 

Lauderdale, 202 

Magister Thomas Tolmash, Son of the 

Duchess of Lauderdale, . . . 202 
Robert Lumisdaine of Stravithie, . 202 

Magister Hew Dalrymple, Advocate, . 203 
John Siezer, Engineer, . . .203 

Dr George Haliburton, Bishop of 

Brechin, 206 

Alexander Duncan of Lundie, . . 207 
Magister Patrick Lyon, Schoolmaster, . 208 
Alexander Duncan of Lundie, . . 209 
Jolm Scrymgeoure, younger of Teahng, 209 
Professor James Duncan, . . .211 
Patrick Murray, Son of Ochtertyre, . 211 
William Morisone of Nauchton, . .212 
H.R.H. the Duke of Cumberland, .212 

Magister John Glas, Minister, . .215 



VUl. 



CONTENTS. 



1753. 
1760. 
1761. 
1765. 
1767. 
1768. 
1771. 
1776. 
1780. 

1782. 

1791. 
1793. 
1795. 
1797. 
1799. 
1804. 
1807. 
1811. 
1812. 
1813. 

1816. 



1817. 



1818. 
1820. 



1821. 
1822, 



1823. 
1825, 
1826, 

1828, 
1829, 



Thomas Glas, 

Eev. James Balliugall, Minister, Dundee, 
Magister George Dempster of Dunniclien, 
John Dempster, Merchant, . 
James Ivory, Watchmaker, . 
"William Pulteney, Westminster, . 
John Guild, Provost, . 
Alexander Riddoch, Provost, 
Colonel Jolin Campbell of Boquhan, 
John E<amsay L'Amy of Dunkenny, 
Thomas Bell, Provost, . 
Admiral Lord Rodney, 
Alexander Balfour, Provost, 
William Lindsaj-, Provost, . 
Thomas Ivory, Watchmaker, 
Admiral Lord Viscount Duncan, . 
David Brown, Provost, 
Patrick Anderson, Provost, . 
James Chalmers, Bookseller, 
Robert Jobson, Provost, 
George Duncan, M.P. for Dundee, 
Sir David Wedderburn of Baliudean 

Bart., 

James Brown, Provost, 

Edward Baxter of Kincaldrum, . 

James Ivor}', Advocate, 

Andrew Curr, .... 

William Curr, .... 

Patrick Hunter Thorns, Provost, . 

Thomas Neish, Merchant in Dundee, 

Sir David Baxter, 

John Symers, ^Merchant, 

Lieutenant^Colonel AVilliam Chalmers, 

Archibald Campbell of Ely ths wood, 

The Hon. Hugh Lindsay, 

William Johnston, Provost, 

Principal Nicol, D.D., St Andrews, 

Professor Thomas Duncan, St Andrews, 

Alexander Lawson, Provost, 

George Rough, junior, Provost, 

William Hackney, Provost, 

James Carmichaol, Engineer, 

Charles Carmichael, Engineer, 

Jolm Boyd Baxter, 

Sheriff L'Amy of Dunkenny, 

Captain Basil Hall, R.N., . 

Alexander Kay, Provost, 

James Keish, Merchant, 



PAGE 

215 
217 
217 
222 
223 
224 
225 
226 
228 
229 
230 
231 
233 
234 
236 
237 
241 
242 
242 
244 
245 

246 
247 
248 
249 
250 
250 
250 
251 
252 
253 
254 
255 
255 
256 
256 
257 
258 
258 
259 
260 
260 
261 
262 
263 
264 
265 



1831. David Jobson, Provost, 
,, Viscount Duncan, 
,, William Maule of Panmure, M.P., 
„ Joseph Hume, M.P., . 
„ Charles William Boase, Banker, . 
„ William Harris, junior, Bailie, 

1832. George Kinloch of Kinloch, M.P., 
1834. Charles, Earl Grey, . 

,, Henry, Lord Brougham and Vaux, 

„ John, Earl of Durham, 
1837. Sir H. Parnell, Bart., . 

,, John Gladstone of Fasque, . 
1841. Francis MolLson, Merchant, . 

1843. Richard Cobden, M.P., 

1844. H.R.H. Prince Albert,. 

1845. John Ewan, Provost, . 
1847. Jame.s Yeaman, M.P., . 

1850. Fox Maule, IM.P., 

1851. Adam, Viscount Duncan, 

1854. George Armitstead, M.P., 

1855. Sir John Ogilvy of Inverquharity, Bart, 
„ David Rollo, Provost, . 
„ Alexander Hay Moncur, Provost, 

1857. Rev. David Livingstone, LL.D., 

,, Charles Parker, Provost, 
1863. John, Earl Russell, M.P., 

,, William Hay, Provost, 

1866. William Brownlee, Provost, . 

1867. Walter, Duke of Buccleugh and Queens 

berry, ..... 
„ Sir Charles Lyell of Kinnordy, Bart., 
„ Sir Roderick Impcy ]\Iurchison, Bart., 
,, Sir William Armstrong, Knt., 

1868. James Cox, Provost, . 
„ Frank Henderson, M.P., 

1869. William Robertson, Provost, 

1870. Hugh Ballingall, Provost, . 

1874. Claude, Earl of Rtrathmore and King- 

home, ..... 

1875. Alex. Mackenzie, Premier of Canada, 
,, David, Earl of Airlie and Lintrathen, 

1878. Sir Thomas Bouch, 
„ John Stirling of Kippendavie, 

1883. Archibald, Earl of Rosebery, 
„ Robert, Earl of Camperdown, 
,, John, Earl of Dalhousie, 

1884. John Bright, M.P., . 

1885. George, Duke of Argyll, 



PAOB 

265 
266 
266 
266 
268 
269 
270 
271 
271 
273 
274 
275 
277 
277 
279 
281 
281 
282 
282 
283 
284 
285 
285 
286 
287 
287 
289 
291 

292 
292 
292 
292 
296 
297 
297 
298 

300 
301 
302 
303 
304 
305 
305 
305 
307 
307 



INTRODUCTION 




HOUGH the civic history of Dundee previous to the beginning of the fourteenth 
century is involved in considerable obscurity, there is sufficient evidence extant to 
show that the Burgh was regarded as an important national and commercial centre 
long before that time. From a Charter by KiNG Robert the Bruce to the Burgh, dated 1327, 
it appears that Dundee had enjoyed burghal privileges previous to the time when it was con- 
feiTed upon David, Earl of Huntingdon, by his brother William the Lion, who reigned 
from 1165 till 1214. The deed whereby the King bestowed the Burgh of Dundee upon the 
Earl of Huntingdon is no longer in existence, but that such a gift was made is proved beyond 
question by contemporary references made to " Earl David's Burgh" in documents which are 
preserved amongst the archives of England in London. From the " Exchequer Rolls of the 
Kings of Scotland" we learn that long anterior to the date of the oldest existing Charter (1327), 
a large portion of the Royal revenue consisted of customs uplifted in Dundee from wool and 
hides exported from the harbour of Dundee to the Netherlands. It can be proved from un- 
doubted records that the earliest trace of any commercial relations between Scotland and 
England is found in a special privilege given to the traders of " Earl David's Burgh of Dundee" 
before the close of the twelfth century. 

Few documents relating to the civic history of Dundee dui-ing the thirteenth century are in 
the possession of the Town Council, arising, it is asserted, from Edward I. of England, who 
twice visited the Burgh, having caused them to be removed or destroyed. In the Charter by 
Robert I. reference is made to privileges granted by Alexander III. to the Burgh ; but as 
these are not detailed, the Confirming Charter of 1327 is really the foundation of the civic 
development of Dundee, so far as the Town's Records are concerned. It is not necessary to refer 
to grants made to the Burgh by later Sovereigns, as the Charters were printed in extenso by 
order of the Town Council in 1880 [Charters, Writs, and Public Documents of the Royal Burgh 

B 



2 INTRODUCTION. 

of Dundee— 1292-1880] ; nor need allusion be made to its rapid growth commercially during 
the fourteenth and fifteenth centuries, as that development is clearly shown by numerous entries 
in the Eegister of the Great Seal, and in the Exchequer Rolls of Scotland. The following pages 
take up the story of the progress of Dundee from 1.513 till the present time, showing indirectly, 
but upon incontestable grounds, the vicissitudes which it has experienced. 

lu preparing this volume, it was thought expedient that no name should appear in the list of 
Honorary Burgesses that belongs to an earlier date than the existing Roll, which begins in 1513. 
Many of the names of Burgesses previous to that time might safely have been included, on the 
supposition that they had been admitted as Guild-Brethren ; but all names have been excluded 
save those of men who are proved upon authentic grounds to have been Burgesses of Dundee. 

The Roll of Burgesses has been ke23t regularly since 1.581, but the names betwixt 1513 and 
that date have been transcribed in chronological order, and placed in their proper positions upon 
the list. These names are all in the same handwriting, and it is probable that they have been 
copied from the Minute-Books of the Council and from the Burgh Court Books, for the period 
between 1513 and 1581. The Minutes of Council were formerly kept in the volumes which 
contained the records of the Burgh Court, the earliest of the latter still existing bearing the date 
of 1550. The regular Council Minutes do not begin till 1553, and this Burgess-Roll is therefore 
the oldest civic record in po.ssession of the Town Council. 

The manuscript volume in which these names are entered merits some description. It 
consists of 1,020 pages of unruled antique paper, bound in leather-covered wooden boards, and 
closed with two engraved brass clasps fitted with locks and keys, hence called the " Lockit Book." 
The first fly-leaf contains the following particulars as to the fee (in Scots money) for admission of 
Burgesses, written in handwriting of the sixteenth century : — 

" The Accidentis that are coniounlie payd be friemen at y^ first Ressaving — 

To the Dene of Gild his collectr xx .ss. & vj ss. & viij d. for Packing and peilKng, 
To ye Kirk-maister x ss. 

To ye Clerk x ss. for inserting uf his name, and iij ss. & 4 d. for ye extract y^ of. 
To ye Gild Officer x ss. 

Off friemenis sones at yl admissione — 

To ye Dene of Gild .x ss. & vj .ss. & viij d. for Packing and Peilling. 

To ye Kirkmast. vj ss. 8 d. 

To ye Clerk, ye dewtie above-written. 

To ye Gild Offf ye dewtie foirsaid." 



INTRODUCTION. ' 3 

On the following page a table of the fees (in Scots money) at a later date has been extended, 
shewing several additional items : — 

" The Sunima of the Accidents of each burgess at his entric — 
to the Giklvie --.... 

to the Clerk and extract ----- 

to the Kirk': ---.-. 

the Hospitaller ------ 

to the Officer --.-_. 

to the Jaylor ---... 



lib. 


ss. 


(i. 


2 


6 


8 





1.3 


4 





10 








3 


4 





10 








1-2 






4 15 4" 



The first portion of the Lockit Book is described as " The Buik of ye Comoun Rentallis of the 
Burgh of Dundie, fliiishous [Flesh-house], and Kirk-wark thairof, with the names of all Burgessis, 
friemeu, and Brether of the gild within ye sam. Sen ye moneth of September the zeir of God 
ane thousand five hnndreth and threttene zeiris, and Swa to follow In tyme cumming. This 
maid and devysit in yc tyme of M'.' James Halieburtoun, provest, Alexander Scrymgeoure, 
William Forrester, James Fyndlasoun, and Alexander Ramesay, bailleis of ye said Burgh." 
This part of the volume is divided into three portions, named respectively " The Thesauraris 
Chairge," " The Kirkmaisteris Chairge," and " The Chairge or Rentall of ye Maister of ye Hospital 
of ye Burgh of Dundie." Under these heads a detailed account is given of the dues uplifted from 
various properties in the Burgh for the support of religious ordinances in pre-Reformation times. 
From the internal evidence afforded by the names of holders of property mentioned, as well as 
from the evidence of the handwriting, it is apparent that this Roll was made up in 1582, "in 
the time of Mr James Halieburtoun, provost." The ecclesiastical property that had been 
secularized by the famous Charter of Queen Mary in 1567, and handed over to the Burgh, is 
described in detail, the dues formerly exigible for support of various chaplainries and altars being 
entered as separate items in the Charges. This part of the volume was examined by the late 
Professor Cosmo Innes when preparing the evidence for the Stipend Case (1851-58), and portions 
of the entries were printed by him in the papers relating to this important suit. In Maclaren's 
edition of Thomson's " History of Dundee" (1874) there are also copious extracts given ; but it 
may be useful for future historians of Dundee to know where the complete Rental-lists as they 
were made up in 1582 are to be found. They are written on the first fifty-four pages of the 
Lockit Book. 

The remainder of this interesting book is occupied with the Roll of the Burgesses of Dundee 
from 1513 till the present time. It is perfectly evident that it was begun in 1582, the entries 



4 INTRODUCTION. 

up to that date being all in the handwriting of Magister ALEXANDER Wedderburne, who was 
Town-Clerk at that time. I'lie inscrij^tion at tlic head of tlie first page reads thus : — 

"Heir fcillowis the Xamcs of tlu' Uurgossis, friemen, and Brother of Cilclc of the Burgh of Duudie, 
maid sen the moneth of September In the zeir of God ane thowsand fyve hundreth and threttene zeiris, 
and of sic persones as sail obtene the frcdome and libertic Thairof in tyme cuming." 

The value which the Councillors formerly set upon this important volume may be estimated 
from the fact, frequently recorded in the Minutes, that when the Lockit Book was to be opened 
for the inscription of any new name upon the Roll, a " bank" or proclamation by tuck of drum 
was sent through the town to announce the event to the citizens. 

The Town-Clerk of the Burgh has always been the custodian of the volume, and he acted as 
the scribe who inserted the record of the fact that a certain tradesman or merchant was admitted 
a brother of the Guildry. All the entries previous to 1646, and the majority of them up till 1700, 
are written in the legal Latin of the time, and always explain that the admission of the Burgess 
was claimed through right of his father — ratione libcrtatis sui patris ; by request of the King — 
ad rogatufn Regis; for good services — ^^j-j-o bono servitio ; for his counsel and aid in the service 
of the Burgh — pro consilio et auxilio suo servendo hurgo de Dunde ; or for some other reason 
distinctly specified. Honorary Burgesses who had no claim through their ancestors or by marriage, 
are always distinguished as having the honour conferred free of charge — accidens gratis; anfl 
frequently the special reason for bestowing this dignity upon them is detailed, and thus an 
indication of the spirit of the time is afforded, and the relationship of Dundee to the leading 
nobles and statesmen of former days is clearly shewn. Many of the names recorded in the 
succeeding pages will be examined with surprise and interest, as they reveal the social and 
political history of Dundee in a manner which no other documents of a similar character have 
hitherto done. 

Immediately preceding the Roll of the Burgesses the Town-Clerk has inserted the following 
extracts from the Acts and Proceedings of the Burgh Court of Dundee, which relate to the duties 
and jirivileges of Burgesses in the olden times, and may find a place here : — 

" [At the Head Court of the Burgh of Dundee held in the Town House there Ijy honourable men, 
George Lovell, Kobert Myln, James Forrester, Thomas Maxwell, Bailies of the said Burgh, on the 
eleventh day of the month of January, I55I.] 

" The quhilk day it is statute and ordanit that all Burgesses of this Burgh shall ciuii, Rcmane and mak 
residence within the same, To Jois and Brouk the privilegis and liberteis thereof, and to decoir the same 



INTRODUCTION. 5 

efter thair power -witli thair counsall help and Supplie In taxationes, walking, wairJing, and all vtlier 
dewteis conforme to the maintenance of the privilege of the Burgh lyik as yai are swomc be thair aithis 
quhen thai ar maid Burgessis. 

" [At the Head Court of the Burgh of Dundee held in the Town House thereof the 18th June, 15G7.] 

" The rjuhilk day it is statute and ordanit In Respect of the gryit misordoiir of persones Rcsortand To 
tills Bur^ and pretendand to be friemen Burgessis and Bretlier of gild thereof, Thai uatlier beand qualifeit 
To use the Tred of ^lerchandice Xor zit able to saifl" Thair aith gewine the time of thair admissioun to 
ye fredome. Thairfor That na persoun be admittit efter This pnt. dait to be Burgess frieman or Brother 
of Gild of this Burgh without Thair honeste lyift' conversatioun, and nianeris be notorlie knawin. 

" The quhilk day it is also statute and ordanit That gif ony frieman of this Burgh caryis or transportis 
fra this Burgh, or zit TraflSques w' ony unfriemandis gudes under cullor of his awin. That ye offendar tyne 
his fredome forever, and never to be admittit yyto agane. In respect he is thairby periurit [perjured] and 
the cnst(jms of this Burgh gryitlie defraudit. 

" [At the Head Court of the Burgh of Dundee held in the Town House thereof by these honourable 
men ^Magister James Haliburtoun, Provost, Alexaxder Scrymgeodr, and William Forrester, Bailies 
of the said Burgh, 23rd April, 1582.] 

" The (pihilk day it is ordanit and eoneludit that the honc.iurable estait of Gildrie of this Burgh be 
kepit, maintenit and defendit In all Lawis, privileges, constitntiones, friedomes and liberteis grantit be our 
soverane Lord and his maist nobil progenitours To ye estait of Gildrie of this Bur^ and according to ye 
Lawis and Actis of Parliament maid thairaneut, and that all Brether of the said Gildrie Reverence, obey, 
fortifie, and assist thair Dene of Gild pnt and to be for the tyme In all his conveutionis Jugements and 
ordinances according to ye commissioun and po^^•er grantit to hym, and that nae man attempt to do in 
the contrair under the panes conteanit In the saidis privilegis to be e.xecut but favor. 

" The quhilk day it is also statute and ordanit That nae Burgess and Brether of gild be maid w'^ this 
Burgh without payment of the sowme of twentie lib. money, and that nae Burgesship nor Gildrie rpdiilk 
sail be gewin heirefter gratis Lest ony langer than the lyftyme of him that obteanis the same, Swa that his 
bairnes nor nane quhatsumever sal pretend na privilege thair tlirow." 

Au examiuation of these entries will show the conditions under which a burgess enjoyed hi.s 
privileges in early times. The Letter of Guildry, or Charter from the Magistrates by which the 
powers of the Guildry were settled, bears the date 10th October, 1515, and was confirmed by 
JAjVIES V. in 1526 ; but the constitution of the Guild was a gradual development extending over 
a very long period. Not long after the Guildry had been instituted it was recognised by the 
Government as affording an admirable weapon whereby the power of law might be maintained. 
Oaths were introduced at a very early stage for the purpose of excluding members of the 
community from public offices who refused to undertake the support of established authority. 



6 IXTRODUCTION. 

When t.his method of compelling loyalty was found successful it was extended still further by the 
introduction of the Burgess Oath, by which every Burgess and Guild Brother was sworn to 
maintain both King and Church as by law established. This Oath has undergone several curious 
transmutations ; and the Lockit Book is an exceptional volume in tliis respect, that from its pages 
we can learn no less than three different forms of the Burgess Oath. 

The earliest form of Oath contained in the volume precedes the Roll of Burgesses, but 
it has been carefully obliterated at a date long subsequent to its insertion. After a careful and 
laborious inspection and examination it has been entirely deciphered, and is here reproduced. 
It is a most interesting historical item, since it shows the exact form of Oath administered after 
tiie Reformation by the victorious Protestant nobles who sujiported King James VI. 

" The Aitli and faitlifull Protestatioune or Promiss to be maide be ewrie Burgess and Brother of 
Gild insert in tliis Lockit Book. 



" I sail serve fear and obey the eternall lord ourc god, I .sail profess maintene and continew in the 
trew Relligioune now faythfuUie and purelie teachit and followit within this roalmo of Scotland and 
Speciallie within this Burgh, and abhor and detest all other Relligioune repugnant thairto, and sail defend 
observe and obey the holy ordinances of oure trew Kirk, and speciallie the ordure of di.scipline thereof. 
1 sail be leill and trew tn the Kiugis M. of Scotland and his liienes niaist nobile sueccssouris. I .sail 
fortifie and defend after my power the coinonwealtli of the Burgh of Dundie. I sail reverence and obey 
the ^lagistrates thereof, speciallie the Prouest, Balleis, and Counsall of the sam anil all thair guid and 
godlie Lawis and Stattutis. I sail in lyikwayis be obedient to the dene of Gild of this Pjurgli, and sail 
be subiect to his jurisdictiouue and all his privilegis Actis and ordinances maid for the weill and 
Comune Estait of the Gildrie. I sail maik concord amang Nichbouris quhair discord Is. I sail noeht 
hyde conceaU nor yet traffique with ony Vnfremenis gudes vnder culloure of myn awn. I sail handle 
and dealt riohteouslie with all men in my awin occupatione. Quliilk premessis I oblis nie till observe 
and fullfill during all the space of my lyftyme Be the holy name of God the father Sdue ami holy ghost. 
Amen." 

This form of the Oath has evidently been engrossed in the Lockit Book when the volume was 
begun in 1581, and may therefore be taken as the oldest form subsequent to the Reformation. 
Two interpolations have been inscribed on the margin in 1639, for the purjjose of carrying out 
the abolition of Episcopacy by the General Assembly which met at Glasgow in the preceding 
year. The first addition is made so that the sentence reads, " The holy ordinances of our trew 
Kirk, and speciallie the ordoure of discipline thereof statutt and ordained be the Act of Assemhlie 
held at Glasgoiu Now. 16SS." The second interpolation refers to the establishment of the suc- 
cession to the Throne, and by it the sentence is made to read thus, " I sail be leill and trew to 



INTRODUCTION. 7 

the Kingis M. of Scotland and his hienes maist nobile succcssouris, our established rulers." A 
third interpolation has been made after the exposure of the monopoly system, and is in these 
terms, " I sail handle and deall richteonslie with all men in my awin occiipatioune, mid tall 
not procure nor he -pairtner n't. of any monopolie." 

After the Union of the Parliaments (1707) it was found necessary to amend the Burgess 
Oath, and a new form was prepared, and is written iu the Lockit Book on the page facing 
the first of the Roll. It is titled "The Aith and faithfull protestation or promise to be made 
be every Burgess and Brother Gild insert in this Booke as amended this seventh day of February 
one thousand seven hundred and eight years." The terms of this Oath do not greatly differ 
from that already quoted. In the earlier Oath reference is made to " the trew Relligioune now 
faythfuUie and purelie teachit and foUowit within this real me of Scotland, and Speciallie within 
this Burgh ;" but in tiie new form this description is elided, and the phrase " the true reformed 
protestant religione" is substituted. No allusion is made to the Assembly of 1G3S, nor to the 
Queen's " most noble successors" being " our established rulers ;" but otherwise the new Oath is 
identical with its immediate predecessor. The first Oath has apparently been obliterated when 
the last one was written in 170S. The subscription of this Oath was made a stringent condition 
of entrance for all Burgesses, and after the date of its introduction every entry bears that the 
new Burgess had " taken the Oath" as well as paid his fee. In one corner of the page on 
which the Oath is inscribed, the suggestive sentence is written : — "Abolished by Act of Council, 
1st September, 1819." 

It would not have been possible to have reproduced the names of all the Burgesses inscribed 
upon this Roll and given particulars of their careers within reasonable limits, hence only a few 
of the more prominent names have been selected, and brief biographical notes of the principal 
Burgesses have been added. The main reason for the production of the present volume is to 
afiford authentic data for the construction of an adequate record of the progress of the Burgh. 
In this respect the Burgess-Roll is many-sided, for whilst it takes note of the local magnates 
and burghers by whose exertions the commerce and manufactures of Dundee were developed, it 
also shows most clearly the relationship which the Bui'gh bore towards those entrusted with the 
control of national affairs. The words of an eminent author, whose ancestors' names may be 
found in the volume, may well be applied to it : — " Look at the mighty names which stand 
inscribed upon the Roll of Fame — warriors, sages, and statesmen — the beacons of the present, 
the examples of the past." 

On the fly-leaf of the Lockit Book a short Latin inscription has been written over the signa- 
ture — Magister Alexander Wedderburne, Archigraphus, Ciiitatis Beidonancc. The writer was 



8 INTRODUCTION. 

Town-Clerk of Dundee three hundred years ago, was the transci-iber of the first part of the Roll, 
and was one of the leading men of his time, both in the affairs of the Burgh and of the Kingdom. 
The following is a translation of the inscription referred to : — 

" If it he tb}' ilosigu to ornament the City by thy gifts, be thou dedicated tby.sclf, in the first 
place, to whatsoever is loveliest, and of Clemency, Justice, and Beneficence thou shalt raise aloft the 
best and most memorable monument within the Republic, not merely an inconsiderable building. For 
if Reason should rule iu cities, it is better certainly for great souls to inhabit small houses than for 
mean slaves to lurk in magnificent mansions. 

" The Euboeans and .Spartans did not build and repair their walls with stones onl3", but with 
Discipline and Zeal for Good Morals, which are the visible ornaments alike of cities and of rulers. 
Flourishing, truly, and peaceful they made the Republic, by uniting together not logs and stones, but 
livm" souls." 



ROLL 



EMINENT BURGESSES OF DUNDEE. 

15 1 3-1 8 8 6. 

1513. October 3rd. 

LORD GRAY, Provost. 
In temipore Lord de Gray, Frovost. 

The family of Gray was first settled in the Car.se of Gowrie in the beginninoj of the four- 
teenth century, SiR Andrew Gray of Chilliugham obtaining the lands of Longforgan from King 
Robert I. in 1806, for military services. It is probable that he received large grants of land in 
the neighbourhood of Dundee at that time, as we find his descendants in unquestioned posses- 
sion of the West Field and the Common Meadow of Dundee shortly after that date, whilst the 
Lady Egidia Gray in 1860 had a widow's terce out of the produce of the Mills and Fishings of 
Dundee. The title of Baron Gray was conferred upon Sir Andrew's descendant and name- 
sake before 1437 ; and the Lord de Gray who was Provost of Dundee was the third holder of 
that title. He was the son of Patrick, Master of Gray, and Annabella, daughter of the first 
Lord Forbes, and succeeded his grandfather in 1469. His name appears frequently in the 
history of the time, as he was a pjromincnt Member of the Privy Council of James IV., and held 
the office of Justice-General of Scotland. In 1488 he was appointed to the Heritable Sheriffdom 
of Angus — a post similar in dignity to that of Lord-Lieutenant of the County in our day — which 
office was administered by his descendants till about 1G30. He was twice mai-ried, his first wife 
being a grand-daughter of the Earl Marischal, and his second a grand-daughter of Lady 
Joanna Beaufort, Queen of James I. His name does not appear as Provost of Dundee any- 
where save on the Burgess-Roll. He died in 1514, the year succeeding this entry. Several of 
his descendants appear at a later date as Honorary Burgesses of Dundee. 

c 



10 JAMES SCRYMGEOUR, CONSTABLE OF DUNDEE. 



1513. October 3rd. 

Jacobus Scrymgeour, Constabularius de Dundee, effedus est frater Glide, pro cons'dw et 

auxilio servanda dicfe hurgo. 

(JAINIES SCRYMGEOUE, Constable of Dundee, is made a Guild Brother, 
FOR HIS Counsel and Help in Serving the said Burgh.) 

Perhaps no name is more familiar in the civic annals of Dundee than that of Scrymgeour, 
the connection of the family with the Burgh extending back for six centuries. The alleged origin 
of the name belongs to even an earlier date. It is said that when ALEXANDER I. left his palace 
at Invergowrie to quell a rebellion in the north about the year 1110, he was accompanied by SiR 
Alexander Carron, a brave knight, who distinguished himself in the moment of imminent 
defeat by seizing the Royal standard from Bannerman, the standard-bearer, and carrying it 
across the Spey, where he planted it in full view of the rebels, and turned the tide of battle. 
For this act of bravery the King made the Knight his hereditary standard-bearer — vexillator 
Regis — giving him " the name of Skir.meschur or Scrymgeour, signifying a hardy fighter," 
and bestowing certain lands upon him as a reward. BuRKE states that Alexander I. gave liim 
the right to bear the lion as a part of the Royal Scottish Arms upon his shield ; but as the lion 
was not assumed as the Roj'al cognizance for nearly a century after Alexander's death, this part 
of the story must be rejected. 

The first settlement of the Scrymgeour family near Dundee regarding which there is any 
authentic record took place in 1298, in which year Sir William Wallace, as one of the 
Guardians of Scotland, granted to Alexander Skirmeschur the lands of Dudhope, the Upper 
Field of Dundee, and the King's portion of the West Field of the Burgh, together with the office 
of Hereditary Constable of Dundee. This interesting document, which is the oldest original 
charter relating to Dundee that is known to exist, is preserved in the General Register House, 
Edinburgh. Alexander was succeeded in the Constableship by Nicol Scrymgeour in 1317, 
the office being confirmed to him at that time by Robert I. From the Exchequer Rolls 
we learn that the annual fee paid to the Constable in the fourteenth and fifteenth centuries 
amounted to twenty shillings. The ScRYMGEOURS took an active interest in the Burgh from the 
time of their first connection with it, and were frequently Provosts of Dundee. The member of 
the family whose name was enrolled in 1.513 was the seventh in direct descent from the com- 
panion-in-arms of Sir William Wallace. 

The father of this James Scrymgeour had served the Burgh in a double capacity, having been 
Provost of Dundee in 1492, and Member of Parliament for the Burgh in 1491 and 1492. His 
mother was Lsaeelle, daughter of LoRD Gray, and sister of the LORD Gray who was Provost in 



GILBERT GRAY — ANDREW ABERCROMBIE. 11 

1513, wlicn he was admitted. He succeeded his father in 1503, and had thus been Constable of 
Dundee ten years before ho was made Burgess. Like his predecessors he took much interest in 
the progress of the Burgh, and was himself made Provost in 1519, and again in 1525. Whilst 
acting in this capacity it was his duty to sign the important charter whereby the Walker Craft of 
Dundee founded an Altar dedicated to S. Mark, Evangelist, within the Parish Kirk of Dundee. 
In 154'o-4 he served as Lord of the Articles in the Scottish Parliament. His wife was Mariota 
Wardlaw (not Stewart, as usually stated) [Rc(j. Mag. S'lg. Jac. V. 2G0S.], by whom he had one 
(laughter, Elizareth, who was married to James Scrymgeour of Kirktoun, through whom the 
ancient line is now represented by Henry S. Scrymgeour- Wedderburn of Wedderburn and 
Birkhill. Having no male issue to succeed to his estate and titles, he executed a charter in 1541 
settling his succession upon the Kirktoun branch, failing the issue of his uncle, John Scrym- 
geour of Glaister. He died in 1540, without male issue, and the succession fell to his nephew, 
John Scry'MGEOUR of Glaister, whose name appears on the Burgess-Roll in 1523. One of the 
sisters of the Constable of Dundee was married to the Earl of Buchan, and another became 
the wife of Lord Carlyle of Torthorwald. 



L513. October Srd. 

GILBERT GRAY, Son of Andrew, Lord de Gray. 

Gilbert Gray of Buttergask was the eldest son of Lord Gray', Provost of Dundee, by his 
second wife, Elizabeth Stewart, daughter of John, Earl of Athol, and was thus great- 
grandson of Queen Joanna. He was married to Egidia, daughter of Sir Lawrence Mercer 
of Aldie ; and his eldest son, Patrick, became fifth Lord Gray. 



1513. 

ANDREW ABERCROMBIE, Provost. 

The name of Abercrombie is derived from an estate in the county of Fife, and the Provost 
OF Dundee who succeeded Lord Gray evidently belonged to the Abercrombies of that Ilk. 
His life is not recorded in any history of Dundee, though he must have been one of the most 
successful Burgesses of his time. His name appears attached to the Letter of Guildry, dated 



12 ALEXANDEU, EARL OF CRAUFURD AND LORD LINDSAY. 

10th October 1515. From a charter executed by him in 1521, shortly before his death, it appears 
that he had founded an Altar dedicated to S. Barbara iu the Parish Church of Dundee before 
that time, and he then granted a large annual rent from his numerous properties in Dundee for 
the support of a perpetual Chaplain at that Altar. The eminent position which he must have 
tlien held in the Burgh is shown by the fact that he was owner of extensive properties in the 
Argylls-gait, the Fleuker-gait, the Well-gait, and the Cow-gait, no less than fourteen different 
tenements being laid under contribution to furnish the annual fee of the Chaplain. By a special 
clavise in the charter he provided that that fee should not exceed 20 marks, the residue collected 
from thcj^e properties and from the estate of Gibliston in Fife being designed for distribution 
amongst the poor of Dundee. Nor were these the only pious bcnefjxctions of this worthy citizen. 
It was he who founded and endowed the Monastery of Black or Dominican Friars in Dundee, the 
last religious institution of the kind established in the Burgh. The building stood on tiie west 
side of the Friars' Vennel — now Barrack Street — opposite the burying-ground of the Gray Friars 
or Franciscans, which afterwards became the Howff. The Dominicans or Preaching Friars — 
Fratres Predicatores — were doomed to have but a brief existence in Dundee, as in 1567, about 
half-a-century after their foundation, the whole of their lands and endowments were conveyed 
by Queen Mary to the Town Council. 

Andrew Abercrombie's wife was Elizabeth Barry — a name well known in Dundee at 
that time — and she seems to have survived her hu.sband for several years. Her consent to the 
Foundation-charter of 1521 is recorded, and it is certain that the Provost's death took place 
before 1526, as in that year the Perpetual Vicar of Lathrisk in Fife was in receipt of 10 sol. 
annually for masses to be said for the repose of the soul of " Andrew Abercrombie, late Burgess 
of Dundee." This duty was committed to the Chaplain of the Collegiate Kirk of Crail, and the 
annual fee was made over to him. No trace is now to be found of the property with which 
the Altar of S. Barbara was endowed ; and the name of Abercrombie will not readily be 
recognised by the Burgesses of our time as that of a munificent benefactor. 



1514. 

ALEXANDER, EARL of CRAUFURD and LORD LINDSAY, is aiade a 
Brother of the Guild, for his Counsel and Aid in the Service of the 
Burgh of Dundee. 

The connection of the Craufurd family with Dundee extends back for a considerable space 
of time. There is no authentic account of the precise period when they first settled in this 
locality, but there is every likelihood that it took place towards the close of the fourteenth 
century, when the first Earl of Craufurd built the Chapel of S. Nicholas on the rock of the 
Craig, circa 1390. For many years after that date the " Earl's Lodging" in Dundee, built by the 



JAMES WEDDERBURN, JUNKIR. 13 

same Earl David, was one of the 2>riucipal residences of the Craufun] family, and they long 
exacted an important portion of their revenue from the Customs of the Burgh. Many of the old 
Earls of Craufurd were buried within the precincts of the Gray Friars Monastery, afterwards 
known as the Howff, and it was here that Earl John, the nephew of tlie Lord Lindsay entered 
on the Roll of Burgesses, was interred after his death on the held of Floddeu, where he had held 
a chief command. Alexander Lindsay of Auchtermonzie, who succeeded him as seventh Earl 
of Craufurd, and whose name heads this notice, was the second son of the famous Earl who 
fought with the Earl of Huntly at Brechin in 14.52. His elder brother, David, fifth Earl 
OF Craufurd, was created Duke of Montrose by James III. in 14S8, but John, the only son 
of the latter, did not assume the title, nor did Alexander, his uncle and successor, lay any claim 
to the Dukedom, though the grandfather of the present Earl of Craufurd sought to establish 
his right to the title in 1853. Sir Alexander Lindsay of Auchtermonzie had come into 
that estate throuoli his mother, and was advanced in j'cars before he came to the title of 
Earl of Craufurd. From the Roll of Burgesses, as well as from the " Book of tlie Church" 
[MaxtucU's " Old Dwadee," p. 507], we learn that he was Provost of Dundee in 1514, the year in 
which he was admitted as a Guild Brother, and at a time when he was actually Duke of Montrose. 
He did not long survive to enjoy his title, as he died in 1517, leaving two sons, the elder of 
whom was the famous David, eighth Earl of Craufurd. His grandson gained an unenviable 
notoriety as the " Wicked Ma.ster of Craufurd," who lost his life in a brawl in the Market-gait of 
Dundee. The names of both Earl John and Earl Alexander are frequently omitted from 
the " Peerages," but there is documentary evidence extant to prove that Earl John's body was 
brought from Flodden and interred in the Gray Friars Monastery, Dundee, and also that " Earl 
Alexander died at Fiuhaven, and was buried at Dundee." The latter was the chosen confidant 
of Queen Margaret after the death of James IV., at Flodden, and during his term of office 
as Provost of Dundee he was appointed, together with other three noblemen, " to remain con- 
tinually with her, to give her counsel and assistance." At the same time he was appointed High 
Justiciary north of the Forth, and had the task committed to him of reducing the turbulent 
Highlanders to order. His death took place on the 14th of May, 1517. To some of his successors 
in the Earldom of Craufurd, who were also Burgesses of Dundee, reference will be made at a 
later date. 



1514. 

JAMES WEDDERBUEN, Junior, is made a Brother of the Guild, by reason 

OF THE Liberty of his Father. 

The Wedderburn family took their name from the lands of Wedderburn, in Berwickshire, 
where they were located at a very early date. James Wedderburn, a cadet of this family, came 
to Dundee in 1430, and was engaged in commerce. His son, James Wedderburn, pursued a 
similar vocation, and rose to the position of Bailie in the Burgh, his name appearing as Bailie 



li JAMES OCILVY, LORD 0(ai,VY. 

giviug sasinc in two importaut charters from the " Walkeris Craft" to the Kirk of Dundee, under 
dates 1.517 and 1523. James Wedderburn, Junior, whose admission is ah-eady recorded, was his 
son ; and from him the race of Wedderburns tliat for so long a period guided the municipal 
affairs of Dundee is directly descended. This entry is especially interesting, as it is the earliest 
appearance of the name of Wedderburn in the existing Burgh records. 

James Wedderburn, Junior, was married to Jaxet Forester, daughter of David Forester 
in Xevay, who inherited from her father the lands of Trosto and Tullohill, in the Baronj' of Feme, 
Forfarshire. These lands she granted, with her husband's consent, to their son, JoHN Wedder- 
BURX, in 1.527. It is worthy of notice, as showing their social position, that this charter was 
signed by the father and mother with their own hands, although writing was not a common 
accomplishment in those days. On 31st August 1.533, James Wedderburn purchased from 
James Scrymgeour, Constable of Dundee, thirteen acres of land, one portion of which is de- 
scribed as " lying between the lands of the chaplainry of the B.V.M. in the Welgait and the road 
which goes between the Welgait Port and Diidup," whilst the other is referred to as the place 
" commonly called Cawdame-Greyne, Daiue, and Daineaker, lying beside the lands of Clapantoun." 
This charter is interesting, as showing the condition of the town at the time. Six of the thirteen 
acres purchased lie in the very midst of the Dundee of to-day. The last notice of James 
Wedderburn occurs in a charter of 1.537, w-herein he is alluded to as the proprietor of certain 
lauds " near the Butterbuni." His son John was the first of a succession of Wedderburns who 
held the office of Town-Clerk of Dundee for nearly a century and a half. 



1.515. October 15th. 
JAMES OGILVY. LORD OGILVY, is made a Brother of the Guild, by 

REASON OF THE LiBERTY OF HIS FaTHER. 

The nobleman whose name is here recorded was the third Lord Ogilvy OF Airlie, his 
grandfather having been raised to the Peerage by that title in 1491. His father, through whom 
he claims the Freedom of the Burgh, was John, second Lord Ogilvy, and was connected with 
Dundee through his marriage with the GRAHAMS, LoRDS OF KINCARDINE, who were allied 
matrimonially to the Royal Family of Stewart. There is no existing record of the entrance of 
the second Lord Ogilvy as a Burgess of Dundee, although the entry quoted above proves that 
he had that privilege. The comiectiou of the third Lord Ogilvy' with Dundee was probably 
brought about through his near relationship to Robert Graham of Fintry, who was frequently 
Provost of Dundee, and whoso descendants, the Grahams of Claverhouse, were long a most 
important family in the neighbourhood. The third Lord Ogilvy of Airlie was married to 
Margaret, daughter of David Lindsay, eighth Earl of Craufurd, the son of that Earl of 
Craufurd to whom allusion has been made as Provost of Dundee. Many of his descendants 
have been enrolled amongst the Burgesses of Dundee since his time. 



ALEXANDER OGILVY, LORD OF ilGILVY — ROBERT MAULE. 15 



1515. October 15th. 

ALEXANDER OGILVY, LORD of OGILVY, is made a Brother of the 
Guild, by reason of the Liberty of his Father. 

Sir Walter Ogilvy of Auchleveii {oh. 1473) aciiuh-ed the lands of Deskford through hi.s 
marriage with Margaret, daughter of Sir John Sinclair of Deskford. Hi.s great-grandson, 
the Alexander here enrolled, obtained a charter in 1511 incorporating the lands of Deskford, 
Findlater, and Keithmore into one entire barony of Ogilvy ; hence his title, " LoRD OF Ogilvy." 
He was nearly related to James, Lord Ogilvy of Airlie, whose name precedes his own on the 
Burgess-RoU, as their common ancestor wa.s SiR Walter Ogilvy (oh. l-i-tO), Lord High 
Treasurer of Scotland. As Alexander, Lord of Ogilvy, claims the Freedom through his 
father, SiR James Ogilvy {oh. 1505-6), this proves that the latter was also a Burgess of Dundee, 
though the record of his admission is no longer in existence. The j)i'esent representative of 
Alexander, Lord Ogilvy, is the Earl of Seafield. 



1515. October 15th. 

ROBERT MAULE of Panmure is made a Brother of the Guild, by reason 

OF the Liberty of his Father. 

The origin of the Maules of Panmure cannot be readily traced, but it is supposed that they 
were descended from the Maules of the Lordship of Maule, near Paris, a possession, it is stated, 
which was owned by the family for the long period of four hundred years previous to the 
eleventh century. Their first appearance in Scotland took jjlace during the reign of David I., 
a certain Robert Maule having come to this country along with that Monarch. William, son 
of this Robert, obtained the lauds of Easter Fowlis in Perthshire as a reward for his bravery 
at the Battle of the Standard (1138), and since that time the history of the family has been 
intimately connected with the progress of Dundee and of this neighbourhood. From the entry 
in the Roll it is evident that Robert Maule's fiither, Sir Thomas Maule of Panmure, had been 
a Burgess of Dundee. The latter was slain at Flodden, and Robert Maule succeeded to the 
estate in September, 1513. 

He \vas of rather a turbulent disposition, even for those unquiet times, and frequently 
engaged in serious jDolitical brawls during the time of James V. and the earlier portion of QuEEN 



16 JAMES SCRYMGEOUR — ALEXANDER SERES. 

Mary's reign. He was married to IsoBEL, daughter of SiR LAURENCE Merger of Aldie, and 
Wixs thus hrothcr-in-law to Gilbert Gray of Buttergask, whose name appears near his own on 
the Burgess-Roll. He died in 1560, and the names of not a few of his descendants will be found 
recorded in the succeeding pages. 



1515. October. 

JAMES SCRYMGEOUE, Son of the late Nichol Scrymgeour, is made a 
Brother of the Guild, by reason of the Liberty of his Father. 

One of the younger branches of the SCRYMGEOURS of Dudhope seems to have been early 
engaged in Dundee in a mercantile capacity, and the above James Scrymgeour belonged to this 
portion of the race. His father, NiCHOL Scrymgeour, was the owner of extensive property in the 
Market-gait (F/cm.s Fori), and was apparently a merchant of considerable importance. NiCHOL 
ScRYMGEt)UU died previous to 1496, and was succeeded by his son James, wlio claims his 
liberty through his deceased father. 



1516. October lOtii. 

ALEXANDER SERES is made a Brother of the Guild, at the request 

of the Governor of Scotland. 

The Seres family took their territorial title from the lands of Ceres, in Fifeshire, and the first 
trace we find of them in connection with Dundee is in a charter granted to Robert DE Seres, 
Burgess of Dundee, by Sir Patrick Gray, dated 22nd June, 1408. By this document he obtains 
the possession of certain lands in the Common ileadow at the north of Dundee, between the 
Gray Friars' fields and the lands of S. Salvador, tlie charter being confirmed by Robert, Duke 
OF Albany, on the above date. From this time forward several members of the Seres family 
rose to eminence in the Burgh — two of them, both named Robert, holding the office of Town- 
Clerk of Dundee for more thau lialf-a-century. Previous to 1492 Robert and Thomas Seres, 
Burgesses of Dundee, founded an Altar dedicated to S. Magnus The Martyr, " on the north 
side of the choir of the Parish Church of Dundee," and Thomas Seres took a prominent part in 
civic affairs, being for a long time one of the principal bailies. 



JOHN SCRYMGEOURE— ALEXANDER OGILVY. 17 

In " The Book and Register of Amies," prepared by SiR David Lindesay of the Mount in 
1542, the arms of "Seres, Lord of Dwnde of auld," are blazoned thus: — Gules: three daggers, 
point downwards, in pale. Later genealogists assert that there is no authority for the title of 
Lords of Dmulee, although it seems very unlikely that SiR David Lindesay, then Lyon King of 
Arms, would have invented it without reason. 

It is not easy to discover what precise services had been rendered to the Governor, John 
Stewart, Duke of Albany, to evoke this form of gratitude. Albany had been called from 
France to assume the Regency of Scotland in 1.515, during the minority of James V., but was 
entirely unsuited for so delicate a task, and was forced to return to France, after what has been 
described as eight years of " great incajDacity and extreme unpopidarity — loaded with the curses 
and reproaches of the nation." As the Governor's chief opponent was the Earl of Angus, who 
then held sway throughout Forfarshire, it may have been Albany's intention to secure the assist- 
ance of the " Lord of Dundee," lest he should find it necessary to make the Burgh a point of 
attack. No trace now remains of this once-important family, and even the name of Seres Haugh, 
near which their mansion probably stood, has been altered long ago. It is now called Mouorgon's 
Croft, and revenues from it — known as Johnstone's Charity — afford relief to a considerable 
number of indifrent inhabitants. 



1523. October 16th. 
JOHN SCRYMGEOURE of Glastre is made a Brother of the Guild, by 

REASON OF THE LIBERTY OF HIS FATHER. 

The father of this John Scrymgeoure was the second son of that Constable of Dundee 
who died in 1476. His elder brother James has already been referred to {vide page 10), and 
also his nephew the Constatsle, who died in 1546. The John Scrymgeoure of Glastre who is 
here enrolled ultimately succeeded his cousin as Constable of Dundee in 1546, and from him the 
Viscounts of Dudhope and Earls of Dundee claimed direct descent. He died in 1575, and was 
succeeded by his son, Sir James Scrymgeoure. 



1526. November 12th. 

ALEXANDER OGILVY, Son of the late James, Lord Ogilvy, is made a 
Brother of the Guild, by reason of the Liberty of his Father. 

James, first Lord Ogilvy, had three sons, the eldest of whom succeeded him as second Lord 
Ogilvy of Airlie — the Alexander here enrolled being the second son. James, third L(.>rd 
Ogilvy, is enrolled as a Burgess under date 15th October, 1515, claiming through his father, 

D 



18 JAMES SCRYMGEOUR — THOMAS FOTHRIXGHAME. 

tlie second Liuti) OoiLVY ; but as Alexander, brother of tlie latter, also claims through his 
father, this shows that the first Lord Ogilvy was also a Burgess of Dundee. As he died iu 
loO-t, and the existing Roll only begins in 1513, we have no other proof of this fact than the 
above entrv, but it is interesting as showing how long the family from whom the Earls of Airlie 
sprang has been connected with Dundee. 



1526. November 12th. 

JAMES SCEYMGEOUR, Son and Heir of James Scrymgeodr oe Duntrune, 
IS made a Brother of the Guild, by reason of the Liberty of his Father. 

The lauds of Duntrune, which belonged iu early times to the Ogilvys, came into the posses- 
sion of the Scrymgeours of Dudhope about the beginning of the sixteenth century. The father 
of the James Scrymgeour mentioned above was probably the first of the Scry'mgeour Lairds 
of Duntrune, but they did not obtain full control of the lands, as from a charter dated 1539 it 
appears that the Constable of Dundee disposed of an annual rent from these lands, which 
afterwards belonged to the Burgh of Dundee. Early in the following century they passed into 
the possession of the family of Graham, nearly related to the Claverhouse branch. It is likely 
that this James Scrymgeour was engaged in the Burgh in a commercial capacity, as there are 
many of the name to be found in the records of the time, but, as he may have dropped his 
territorial title, it is impossible to identify him. 



1526. November 12tli. 

THOMAS FOTHPtlNGHAME of Powrie is made a Brother of the 

Guild, gratis. 

The earliest evidence of the settlement of the Fothringham family near Dundee is found in 
a charter by Robert IL, dated IGth October, 1377, confirming to Thomas de Ffodringhay, sou 
of Henry de Ffodringhay, the land.s of Ballunie, which had been in possession of the latter. 
From the " Book of the Church" it appears that Henry of Fothringham was Provost of 
Dundee in 1454. The Fothringhams acquired the lands of Powrie early in the fifteenth ccntur\-, 
and their names have since been closely as.sociated with Dundee. Thomas Fothringham of 
Powrie was the intimate friend of David, Duke of Montrose (ob. 1495), and he represented 



JAMES SCRYMGEOUR — WALTER SCRYMGEOURE. 19 

Dundee in the Conventions of 14S2 U) l-iS5. His descendant, the Thomas Fothringhame 
whose name appears here, was deeply engaged in the political turmoils which took place after 
the death of James Y., and was one of the leaders who directed the movements of the band of 
Burgesses who went from Dundee to Perth to resist the appointment of the Earl of Arran 
as Regent in 1.542. In this nnsnccessful attempt he was associated with Robert Maule of 
Panmure (vide page 15), Thomas Winton of Strathmartine, and his own brother-in-law, Jo]in 
Charteris of Cuthil-Gurdy, and was mulcted in a heavy penalty for his so-called treason. From 
a charter of 1549, granting certain lands to his widow, Alisone Charteris, wc learn that both 
he and his brother-in-law fell at the Battle of Pinkiecleuch, in September, 1547, fighting under 
the Standard of the Ql'EEX (siiJ> Rrgmic vexUlo). Several of his descendants will be found 
enrolled amongst the Burgesses of Dmidee. 



152G. 

JAMES SCRYMGEOUli, Son of David Scrymgeour of Fardle, is made a 

Brother of the Guild, gratis. 

David Scrymgeour of Fardle was the brother of that Juhn Scrymgeour of Glastre who 
became Constable of Dundee in 1546. He and his wife, Alice Ferne, obtained confirmation of 
the lands of F'ardle in 1497, and he died early in 1529. His son James was the proprietor of 
several valuable tenements in Dimdee, one of them being described in the " Charge of the Master 
of The Hospital in Dundee" as "ye Laird of foirdillis Land, callit the Chanteris, lyand on ye 
south sjid of Ergyllisgait." This is said to have been his principal town residence, and had 
obtained its name from having been formerly the dwelling of the " Chanter or Superior of the 
Chantry of the Blessed Virgin and S. George the Martyr" in the Parish Church of Dundee. 
The house was removed about fifteen years ago. James Scrymgeour was married in 1547 to 
Mar.turie Mercer, a member of one of the oldest Perthshire families, but his line has been long 
extinct. 



1.526. 

WALTER SCRYMGEOUIIE, Son of Magk. John Scrymgeoure of Glastre, 
is made a Brother of the Guild, gratis. 

Magr. John Scrymgeoure of Glasti-e appears as witness to one of the Scrpngeoure Charters, 
dated at Dundee, 10th June, 1493. He was dead before 1521, as at that time John SCRYM- 
GEOURE of Glastre, afterwards Constable of Dundee, was in possession of the property. The 
Walter here mentioned would thus be a brother of the Constable, though his name does not 
appear in any account of the family. 



20 IIARIOTE KER — MAGISTER THOMAS CLAYHILLS. 



1529. November 12th. 
MARIOTE KEE is given the Freedom of the Guild by the King's Request. 

This entry has been transcribed, as it is the only woman's name which appears upon the 
Bnrgess-Roll. The precise position which tlie lady occupied has not been discovered, nor is there 
any evident reason for the King's recommendation. The name of Ker, though not common in 
Dundee at the time, had been long associated with the Burgh — Robert de Kere, Burgess of 
Dundee, having purchased a portion of Wester Craigie and of Westfield of Dundee from Sir 
Andrew Gray in 1429. In the seventeenth century the name of Ker was brought into close 
connection with Dundee through the intermarriages of the Scrymgeours and Haliburtons with 
the family of the Earl of Roxburghe, and some of their names are inscribed on later pages of 
this Roll. 



153.5. June 8th. 
Magister THOMAS CLAYHILLS is made a Brother of the Guild, gratis. 

The name of Clayhills, which has since been honourably associated with Dundee, appears 
in this Roll for the first time in the Civic Records. Little is known of Magister Thomas 
Clayhills, though the prefix shows that he had taken his Degree as Master of Arts— Artmm 
Magisteo — and the likelihood is that he was in holy orders. No trace of him is to be found, how- 
ever, in the Church history of the time, and his name is not recorded in the Register of Ministers 
and Readers in the Ku'k of Scotland in 1574, so that he was either dead before that time, or had 
adhered to the Romish creed. Magister Andrew Clay'HILLS, Minister of Monifieth, and after- 
wards of Jedburgh, was a prominent leader of the Reformed Kirk at the last-named date, and is 
enrolled amongst the Burgesses of Dundee, but his connection with M. Thomas Clayhills is not 
easily traceable. 

The name is said to have been derived from the lands of Clayhills, in Aberdeenshire. In 
1543, Robert Clay'hills, Burgess of Dundee, witnesses a charter; and the name of his son. 
Bailie Peter ClaY'HILLS, appears frequently in the Records of the Burgh and in the history of 
the period. The lands of Baldovan, near Dundee, were in the possession of the Clayhills family 
early in the sixteenth century ; and they afterwards acquired the estate of Invergowrie. The 
present representative of this family is Captain George David Clayhills-Henderson of 
Invergowrie. 



ROBKRT WEDDERBURNE. 21 



1535. JuxE 8th. 



ROBERT WEDDERBURNE is made a Brother of the Guild, because he 
IS the Son of James Wedderburne, Brother of the Guild. 

It is no light task to identify the various members of the Wedderburn family, or to follow 
the race through all its ramifications. The similarity of the Christian names of man}' of the 
Weddekburns is apt to add to the confusion, and the Burgess whose admission is here recorded 
may have been Robert Wedderburn, younger brother of the Town-Clerk of Dundee, and 
son of James Wedderburn, Junr., though several facts seem to contradict this idea. The form 
of the entry is exceptional, and has no parallel throughout the Roll. The new Burgess is 
admitted " because he is the son of James Wedderburn, Brother of the Gild," and this seems 
to imply a special condition qualifying his admission. The father is not described as " Junior," 
though that title is added to the name of the Town-Clerk's father in a charter of a later 
date than this entry. It is therefore very probable that the Robert Wedderburn mentioned 
above was he who afterwards figured prominently as Vicar of Dundee, and to whom a large 
share in the authorship of the " Gude and Godlie Ballatos" — frequently called the " Dundee 
Psalms" — is usually attributed. He was the youngest son of " James Wedderburne, Merchant 
at Dundee, called James Wedderburne, at the West Kirk Stile." According to Calderwood, 
he studied at St Andrews under Mr Gavin Logie, one of the most active teachers of reformed 
doctrines. His mother belonged to one of the branches of the Barrie family, and he succeeded 
his uncle, Magr. Robert Barrie, as Vicar of Dundee. He appears to have taken his Degree 
of A.M. in 1530, but the year when he succeeded to the Vicarage is not recorded. The 
two elder brothers of Rcibekt Wedderburn were prosecuted for heresy. James Weddek- 
BLTiN, who is spoken of by Calderwood as having largely aided the Reformation by his 
satirical jooems and dramas, fled to France about 1540, and settled either at Dieppe or Rouen, 
where he continued to reside till his death, which took place circa 1550. Mr John Wedder- 
burn, the second brother of Robert, was educated at S. Mary's College, St Andrews, and 
graduated as A.M. in 1528, afterwards entering the priesthood. He is sometimes confounded 
with his younger brother, the ViCAR OF Dundee, in consequence of an error made by Lindesay 
of Pitscottie, but we have miquestionable evidence from a document now in the Charter-room of 
Dundee that the Vicar's name was Robert. It is supposed that John also fled to France and 
died there, his property in Dundee having been confiscated in 1539. Hitherto it has been 
doubted whether Robert Wedderburn retained his office as Vicar after the conviction and 
escaf)e of his two elder brothers, and that matter can now be definitely settled. The document 
to which allusion has been made is a charter, dated 10th March 1551, and recites that as Magr. 
Robert Wedderburn, perpetual Vicar of Dundee, had had his house destroyed and burned by 
the English ships and soldiers during the war betwixt the Scots and " our old enemies, the 
English" — hello inter nostrates et Anglos veteres nors. inimicos — he was willing to repair and 
construct it anew, for his own use during his life. The principal condition which he made 



•2i WII.I.IAJI \Vi:i)l>ERBUItN' — MAGISTEU WALTER SrALDING. 

\\us tlial he should liavu tlie right to alienate or raise money upon the new building, reserving 
only one chamber therein, eighteen feet long by seventeen feet broad and ten feet high, as the 
Vkwk of DrNDEE's chamber in all time coming. The house stood on the site of what is now 
(Jrichton Street, the frontage being on the south side of the Market-gait (High Street). As he 
obtains the consent of the Abbot of Lindores and the Bishop of Brechin to his joroposal, it is 
perfectly clear that in 1551 Robert Wedderburn was still a Vicar in the Romish Communion. 
The seals of these dignitaries are still attached to this very interesting document. The reason 
for the Vicar's desire to have full possession of this building may be found in the fact that on 
13th January, 1552-3, he obtained Letters of Legitimation for his two natural sons, Robert and 
David ^VEl)I)EHI!^R^•. 

The most recent writers upon the literary history of the time are inclined to place the ViCAR 
of Dundee in a very eminent position. Though his share in the " Gude and Godlie Ballates" 
cannot be precisely indicated, all critics admit that it was through his efforts that they were 
preserved for publication. The theory has also been advanced that he was the author of the 
" Complaynt of Scotland," and there is much to be said in support of it, even though the argu- 
ments ma}' not be absolutel}'' convincing. It is a striking fact that the position of such men as 
Robert Wedderburn, Vicar of Dundee, and James Haliburton, Provost of that Burgh, made 
Dundee the centre of reforming influences whilst the Protestantism of Scotland was in its infancy. 



1535. June 8th. 

WILLIAM WEDDEIiBURN, Son and Heir of David Weddeeburn, 
IS MADE A Brother of the Guild. 

The David Wedderburn here referred to was the brother of James Wedderbc'rn, Junior, 
who Avas admitted Burgess in 1514. He appears as the proprietor of a property on the north 
side of the Murray-gait in 1488. William Wedderburn, whose name is here recorded, was 
cousin of John Wedderburn, the first of the Town-Clerks who bore that name and filled that 
important office. 



1539. November 1st. 

Magister WALTER SPALDING, Eeotor of the Grammar School, is 
made a Brother of the Guild, gratis. 

This name has been selected for two reasons — it is the first appearance in the Burgess-Roll 
of a name that was intimately associated with the civic history of Dundee long before this date, 
and it is the earliest instance of the admission of one of the Teachers in Dundee to the Guild, 



WILLIAM KUTUVEN. 23 

although many such entries will be found in succeeding pages. The Si'ALOINGS were settled in 
Ayrshire towards the close of the thirteenth century, and shortly after that time the name is to 
be found at various parts on the east coast between Berwick-on-Tweed and the city of Aberdeen. 
Richard de Spalding is the first whose name appears directly connected with Dundee, he 
having been Custumar of Dundee in lo42-79, and appearing also as a Bailie of the Burgh. 
David de Spalding and his son, who bore tlic same name, were leading mei-chants in Dundee 
for the greater part of the fifteenth centiuy — the elder being Town Councillor in 1438, and the 
younger holding the honourable positions of M.P. for Dundee, 1 456-8, and Provost of Dundee in 
1460. The latter was a munificent donor to the Church, founding a Chaplainry at the Altar of 
S. Margaret, and bequeathing some of his property in Spalding's Wynd (now Couttie's W^ynd) to 
the Monastery of Lindores, part of the revenue to be applied to the repairing of the choir of 
S. Mary's Church, Dundee. 

Thomas Spalding, brother of David Spalding, Senior, was Provost of Dundee in 1459 (Libcf 
Sanctc Mario de Bahnovinach, p. 6Jf.). George of Spalding appears also to have been a pious 
benefactor of the Church, as in 1461 he presented " a Brew led that wes in Patric Barberis 
land to the thekyu of the queyr" (Maxivell's " Old DtiMdee," ^j. o60), and from the " Registrwno 
Epis. Brechinensis" we find that he made elaborate preparations for his obsequies in 1495. His 
burial-place was in the choir of S. Mary's Kirk, " under the farrast gree befor the hye altar." 
Although it is not possible to affirm confidently that Magr. Walter Spalding was the son of 
George of Spalding, it seems highly jDrobable that he was closely connected with him, and 
was most likely the brother of William Spalding, who represented Dundee in the Parliament 
of 1543. Since that time the Spaldings have intermarried with many of the leading Scottish 
nobles, and important branches of the family are still to be found in Sweden and in Prussia. 



1540. 

WILLIAM RUTHVEN of Bandene is made a Brother of the Guild, for his 
Counsel and Help rendered to the Provost and Bailies of the 
Burgh of Dundee. 

William Ruthven, whose name is here inscribed on the Burgess-Roll, was the thii-d son of 
Sill William de Ruthven, who was created a Lord of Parliament in 1487-8, and who died in 
1528. His relationship with Dundee was not a very intimate one, although his descendants were 
closely connected for some time with the Burgh. His grandson was the famous Eahl of Forth 
and Earl of Brentford, who served with great distinction under Gustavus Adolphus in the 
Thirty Years' War. He afterwards took part in the civil wars of Charles I., and gained his 
second title of Earl of Brentford from the town of Brentford, which he held for the King 



24 JAMES HALIBURTON. 

against the Parliamentarians in 1642. The Eaul died in Dundee in 1651, at a very advanced 
age. His portrait still hangs in the great hall of the Castle of Skokloster, in Sweden, beside the 
other heroes of the Thirtv Years' War. William Ruthven of Bandene, who is here entered as 
Burgess, was one of the Scottish soldiers of fortune who left this country in 1552, to take part in 
the wars in which Henry II. of France was engaged. 



JAMES HALIBURT(1N, Tutor of Pitcur. 

The record of the admission of James Haliburton as a Brother of the Guild has not been 
preserved, although, curiously enough, the Burgess-Roll from 1513 till 1581 was transcribed 
under his supervision. As his entry must have been about 1540, his name has been inserted 
here, prefixed by an excerpt from the Council Minutes of a later date. 

[1588-9] February 20th. In the Minute of the Council under this date, the following entry 

appears : — 

" Concludit, tliat the Council miik the haill charges and expenses of the burial of Maister James 
IlALiBUiiTox, sometime Provost of the Burgh, in respect of his gude will and favour during 
the time of his charge." 

In pursuance of this resolution, a monument was erected within the Church of S. Mary, 
Dundee, at the expense of the Burgh. 



James Haliburton, who was thus specially honoured by the Burgh of Dundee, was one of 
the most prominent men of his time, and played a leading part, not only in the commercial 
development of the Burgh, but also in the i-eligious and political history of Scotland. Yet it 
is a curious fact that no civic hero of modern times has suffered more severely from the neglect 
of historians. By a strange slip on the part of Patrick Fraser Tytler — usually the most 
accurate of historians — Haliburton is numbered amongst the slain who fell at Edinburgh in 
1559, fighting against the Romanist soldiers of the Queen-Regent, though Calderwood 
(Hist, of the Kirk i. J^72) distinctly states that it was Captain Alexander Haliburton, 
brother to the Provost of Dundee, who was thus sacrificed. Some historians of Dundee, 
entertaining no doubt of Tytler's accuracy, though unable to reconcile his statement with 
the fact, clearly shown by the Council books, that James Haliburton continued to be 
Provost of Dundee for more than a quarter of a century after this date, have supposed that 
there were two Provosts of this name, father and son ; but this is an error. 



JAMES HALIBURTON. 25 

Provost James Haliburton was one of the grandsons of Walter and Catherine de 
Haliburton, who were settled at Pitcur, in the Parish of Kettins, Forfarshire, in ] 432. He 
was bom in 1518, and spent his early years of study at the University of St Andrews, where he 
ultimately took his degree as Master of Arts in 1588. His hearty adoption of the doctrines of 
the Reformers, and his life-long devotion to the advancement of the Protestant Church in 
Scotland, may bo attributed to the College friendships which he formed at this period. He was 
thrown into the daily society of such men as George Wishart, Peter Young, David 
Straitoun, and John Erskine of Dun — all students from his own district in Forfarshire — and 
learned from them that " forbidden lore" to which he afterwards steadily adhered. The memory 
of Patrick Hamilton's martyrdom was still fresh in the minds of the students at St Andrews, 
and not a few of Haliburton's companions suffered a similar fate, and died as martyrs to their 
creed. 

Having completed his Academic course, he prepared to settle down to his duties as a member 
of the Commonwealth. In November, 1540, he obtained a charter from James V. to himself and 
his "affianced wife," Margaret of Rossy, of certain lands in the Carse of Gowrie. About 
the same time he was enrolled as one of the Burgesses of Dundee, and in 1553 was elected 
Provost of the Burgh. J^ir the long period of thirty-three years ho continued to occupy this 
honourable position with dignity, guiding the Burgh with prudence and wisdom amid the dangers 
of a troublous period. He had already proved his willingness and ability to serve the Burgh, 
having led the troop of horse provided by the " Angus barouns, and landit men," in 1548, against 
the Castle of Broughty, which was then in the hands of the English, and having succeeded in 
expelling the invaders who had obtained possession of the Fort through the treachery of Lord 
Gray. James Haliburton's brother, Andrew, the Laird of Pitcur, had died before this time, 
leaving an infant son — afterwards Sir George Haliburton, Knt. — under the guardianship of 
James, who thus became " Tutor of Pitcur," a title by which he was known until the time 
of his death. 

The leaders of the Reformation in Scotland were the Earls of Moray and of Argyll, and 
throughout the whole of the protracted struggle betwixt the two contending forms of religion we 
continually tind the name of the Provost of Dundee figuring prominently amongst the Lords of 
the Congregation. He was summoned to co-operate with the two Earls, the Lairds of Dun and 
PiTARROW, and John Knox in the Reformation of the Cathedral of St Andrews in 1559 ; and he 
led a band of the Burgesses of Dundee to Cupar Muir, prepared to do battle against the QuEEN- 
Regent in defence of their religious liberty. Later in the same year he and his brother. 
Captain Alexander Haliburton, did all in their power to restrain the fury of the Burgesses 
at the burning of the Abbey of Scone, but were unable to save the place from destruction. The 
fire of rebellion spread rapidly, and when the Qiteen-Regent sought to impose the yoke of 
Romanism upon the people by the aid of French mercenaries, the burghers of the principal towns 
rose in open revolt. Provost Haliburton again led his fellow-burgesses to battle, greatly 
distinguishing himself by his conduct in their repeated attacks upon Leith, then held by the 
French soldiers. These attacks, however, were unavailing, and CAPTAIN Alexander 
Haliburton, George Lovell of Dundee, and many other leaders amongst the Reformers, were 
slain. The death of the Queen-Regent in the following year gave a new aspect to public affairs. 
£ 



2C JAMES HALIBURTON. 

To dotuil fully the public life of Provost Haliburton would be to write the history 
of the tiaie iu which he lived. He sat as Member for Dundee iu the Parliaments and 
Conventions of Estates almost continuously from 1563 till 1581, and was frequently chosen 
to administer justice and to deliberate in a responsible capacity upon some of the most 
momentous questions in Kirk and State. It was his misfortune to offend the QuEEN by 
opposing her marriage with Darnley, and in 15G5 he openly joined with Moray, Rothes, 
and Kirkcaldy of Grange, in their revolt against this union. It is supposed that at this 
time he tied with the Earl of Moray to the Court of Queen Eliza)5ETH for protection, 
returning with him the following year. 

In 1567 James Haliburton was restored to his office as Provost, to which the Earl of 
Craufurd had been appointed temporarily, and having shown to the Privy Council that a pension 
bestowed upon him by the Queen-Regent, and renewed by the Queen, had not been available to 
him, he received the thirds of certain of the confiscated Kirk lands, which raised his pension to one 
thousand pounds. During this eventful year the murder of Darnley, the marriage of the QuEEN 
with BoTHWELL, and her capture at Carberry Hill and confinement in Lochleven Castle took place ; 
and when she unwillingly resigned the Crown, the Provost of Dundee was one of those selected 
to administer the affairs of the country until the Regent Moray was proclaimed. On the 29th 
of July he took part in the Coronation of the Infant Prince, afterwards James VI., at Stirling, and 
received his comrade, the Earl of Moray, as lawful Regent on his return from England. He 
shared in the decisive conflict at Langside in May, 1568, and was afterwards sent to quell the 
abortive attempt of the Gordons to restore the Queen, and to take possession of the lands of 
Kinnaird in Forfarshire, then held by Sir John Carnegie, a consistent supporter of Queen 
Mary. 

For many years Scotland was kept in a continual ferment by the varied fortunes of the 
supporters of Queen Mary and of the Reformers. The assassination of Moray was followed by 
the defection of Kirkcaldy of Grange, who declared for the Queen whilst he was holding the 
Castle of Edinburgh for the Regent Lennox. The army of the Protestant party was assembled 
at Leith, and whilst they made an attack upon Edinburgh, it was the misfortune of Provost 
Haliburton — who held a commission as Colonel in the army — to fall into the hands of his 
enemies on 27th August, 1571. Eight days afterwards the Regent was assassinated. His 
two murderers were captured and executed, and the Queen's party were only prevented from 
avenging the merited death of the assassins upon the Provost of Dundee by the earnest 
entreaty of the Burgesses of Edinburgh. The taking of the Castle by the new Regent Mak, 
enabled Haliburton to regain his liberty, and he returned to resume his official duties. 

From this time forward his career was a peaceful one. The aged Provost, who had 
battled so bravely in defence of the rights of the Burgh and the country, at leugtli began to 
feel the symptoms of approaching decay, and he resigned his office as civic ruler in 1586 — 
thirty-three years after his first appointment. He still continued his services iu the General 
Assembly, making his last appearance there on 6th August, 1588. He died in the month of 
February, 1588-0, and was honoured by his brethren of the Council in the manner described in 
their Minute. When some alterations were being made on the fabric of the Church of S. Mary 
of Dundee, in 1827, a grave and richly-carved monument were discovered beside the window 



HERBERT GLAIDSTAXE.S. 



27 



Oil tlie north of the pulpit, and it was stated that tlie inscription upon the lid of the coffer-tomb 
proved that it was the sepulchre of Provost Haltburton. The monument was placed close to 
the wall beside the window, but it was completely destroyed in the conflagration by which the 
churches were consumed in 1.S41. The inscription transcribc^d by Monteith is in these terms : — 

Hie situs est Jacobus Halybuktonus, putruus nubilis viri, Gborgii IIalvbukton 
de Pitcur, militis, qui prEefucturam Dendoui urbanum fauciter [fulicitcr?] 
annos 33 sessit. Oliiit aunn Doni. IfiSS. .Etatis sure 70. 



Allecti 
Prffifectus 



Patriae 
Viiulox 




Ecclesiae Ie.su i 
Ahininus fuit I 



Here lies James Haliburtox (mule [father's brother] of an honourable man, 
George IIaliburton of Piteur, Knight), who happily filled the civic office 
of Provust of Dundee for 33 years. He died a.d. 1588, of his age 70. 



I Chief of the 
I Magistracy 



Defender of 
his Country 



Protector of 
the ( )rphan 



Follower of the 
Church of Jesus 



No one who considers the important share which James Haliburton took in the stirring 
events of the time in which he lived will hesitate to endorse the judgment of his friend a.nd 
comrade, James Balfour of Halhill, when he describes him as " that notable Provost ov 
Dundee." 



1543. 
HERBERT GLAIDSTANES is made a Brother of the Guild, gratis. 



Although little is known of the personal history of Herbert Glaidstanes, he was for a long 
time an important personage in Dundee. From the heraldic arms of his sou, George Glaid- 
stanes, Archbishop of St Andrews, it is evident that he derived bis descent from the ancient 
family of de Gledestan, which was settled in Lanarkshire in the thirteenth century. In 1296 
the name of Herbert de Gledestan appears in the roll of those who rendered homage to 
Edward I., and the family seems to have remained in different portions of the Border Counties 
until the close of the seventeenth century. No record has been found to show at what precise 
time, or under what circumstances, Herbert Glaidstanes, Burgess of Dundee, settled in tbis 
locality, although, from the large number of local charters which have passed through his hands as 
Notary Public, he must have had an extensive legal practice. He is occasionally described as 



28 WALTER SCRYMGEOURE. 

" Clerk of Dundee," and some of his protocol books and charters are preserved in the Charter- 
room of the Burgh. His name appears in the list of Bailies in loG2, and in " The Chairge or 
Rcntall of the Master of the Hospitall of ye Burgh of Dundie," prefixed to this Burgess-Roll, his 
house is described as " lyand on ye north syid of Argyllisgaitt, Betwix ye land of James Scrym- 
GEOR, litster, on ye south, the comoiui buriall-place on ye north, ye land of Alex. Ti{A1LL on ye 
east, and ye land of William Kyd on ye west partis." This " Chairge" was probably made up 
in 1580, and, as the land is described as "sumtpiie perteuiug to Harbert Glaidstainis," it may 
be assumed that he was dead before that date. His son, the Archbishop of St Andrews, was 
born in Dundee, educated at the Grammar School there, and took his degree of A.M. in 1583. 
He was first settled as minister of Ecclesgreig (St Cyrus) in 1587, and was afterwards pastor at 
Arbroath and St Andrews. From the latter charge he was promoted to the Bishopric of Caith- 
ness, and finally became Archbishop of St Andrews in 1604, in which office he died, 2nu May, 
1615. His character has been variously described according to the religious profession of different 
writers. His successor. Archbishop Spottiswood, writes of him as " a man of good learning, 
ready utterance, and great invention, but of too easy a nature." The Presbyterians, on the other 
hand, vie with each other in finding language vile enough to describe him. Several epitaphs 
upon this " proud, presumptuous Prelate" will be found in Row's " History of the Kirk of Scot- 
land." 

The latest trace of HERBERT Glaidstanes' name to be found in public documents is under 
date 1561, one year before he was elevated to the Bailie.ship in Dundee. 



1543. November 20th. 
WALTER SCRYMGEOURE of Glaswell, Provost of Dundee. 

The Burgess whose name is entered here was a scion of the family of the Scrymgeoures, Con- 
stables of Dundee. His territorial title was taken from the property of Glaswell, near Kirriemuir, 
though he had also large properties in the Burgh, and held a share in the lands of Milton of 
Craigie. From the " Rentall of the Master of the Hospital" it appears that about 1580 his name 
was associated with the castmost house in Dundee, which was then situated immediately within 
the Burgh wall at the East Port. It is described as " ye Laird of Glaswell's Land and zeard, 
Lyand on ye north syid of ye Seagaitt, Betwix ye land of waiter Carmanow on ye west, and Cure 
ladie wynd on ye east pairtis." The Provost died before 1st October, 1549, as at that date his 
son, James Scrymgeoure, was retourod as his heir. That the family of Glaswell was nearly 
related to the Constable of Dundee may be inferred from the fact that in a charter of Novodamus 
of the Barony of Dudhope by QuEEN Mary to the eldest son of the Constable, dated 30th June, 
1565, the reversion of the estate and office is given to James Scrymgeoure of Glaswell, failing 
the legitimate issue of the Constable's two sons. 



KINLAY DUNCAN — DOMINUS JAMES WICHTAND. 29 



1550. 

FINLAY DUNCAN, Surgeon, is made a Brother of the Guild, for 

Services done. 

FiNLAY Duncan is the first of the Medical faculty whose name appears in the Burgess-Roll 
of Dundee. His house and garden stood " on ye South syid of Argyllis-gaitt, Betwix ye land of 
James Goldman on ye east, And ye land of ye Airis of vuiqle. Jhone Hoppringle on ye West 
pairtis," or about the south-west corner of Tally Street and the Overgait. He is also the first of 
the name of Duncan mentioned in existing records — a name which since his time has been 
constantly associated with Dundee. He appears to have been succeeded in his profession by 
William Duncan, Physician, progenitor of the Duncans of Lundie, now Earls of Camperdown. 
The latter was married to Katherine Wedderburne, sister of the famous Sir Alexander 
Weuderburne, first Baron of Kingenny, who is buried beside him in the Howft". The tomb- 
stone (No. 1213) bears the following inscriptions: — 

" W. D : K. V: — Hie tJonnlt lionorahilis vir, Guliehnus Duncauc, iiwdicu.^, clm^ de Duudr, qui obiit 
die — Mail men.fis, anno 160S, cetatia sum 52." [Here sleeps an honourable man, William Duncan, 
Physician and Citizen of Dundee, who died — of May in the year 1608, and of his age 52.] "Heir 
lies ale.swae anc godlie honorabil voman, Katerin Veddcrburne, spous to Villiame Dvncane, wlio departit 
this lyif ye — day of — 160 — . 

Disciie ah exeinplo mortales diacite noslro. 

[See and learn from our example, mortals, that ye are mortal.'\ 

Mors sola fatetiir quantula sunt honmium corpuscula. 

[Death alone shows how contemptible are the bodies of men.]" 

The SOD of Dr William Duncan and his wife Katherine Wedderburne was also a citizen, 
and lies buried in the lair adjoining theirs (No. 1214). His tombstone bears this inscription : — 

"Heir lyis auc godly honest man, Jliuu Duncan, Merchant, P.urgess of Dundie, who ilied the 16 of 
Octob. his age 4 — . 

" The memorial of the iust shall be blised, hot the name of the wicked shal root [sic.]" 



1553. 

DoMiNus JAMES WICHTAND, Chaplain of Kinnaird, is made a 
Brother of the Guild, Gratis. 

Previous to the Reformation the Church of Inchture, in the Carse of Gowrie, belonged to 
the Priory of St Andrews. David Robertson, a member of the Chapter of St Andrews, was 
presented to the Vicarage of Rossie by James VI. in 1570, and the Chapels of Inchture and 



;^0 JOHN MAXWELL — HENKV LOVELL. 

Kinnaird were placed undor his charge. In 1574 James Wichtand is described in " The Register 
of Ministers and Readers," made up at that time, as "reidare at Inchesture and Kynnarde," his 
stipend being rated at 30 lib. Scots. In the Fasti Erdesice Scotieance he is referred to as having 
been Reader at Inchture "from 1574 till his death in 1579;" but the entry in the Burgess- 
Roll of Dundee proves that he was Chaplain of Kinnaird more than twenty years before the 
earlier of these dates, whilst the prefix Dominus shows that he was a regularly ordained priest 
of the Romish Church in 1553, and then held the Chaplainry which he afterwards served as 
Reader in the Protestant Communion. His immediate connection with the Burgh of Dundee 
does not appear. 



1555. 

JOHN MAXWELL of Terriklis [Terregles], Knt., is made a Brother of 

THE Guild, gratis. 

Sir John Maxwell of Terregles was the second sou of Robert, fifth Lord Maxwell, 
and acted an important part in the reign of Queen Mary. By his marriage with Agnes, the 
eldest daughter of William, fourth Lord Herries, he obtained the estate of Terregles — Terra 
EGclesioe=the Kirk land — in Dumfriesshire, and became Lord Herries of Terregles in right of 
his wife, though he did not assume that title till 1567. He was descended from the ancient 
family of the Maxwells of Caerlaverock, from which stock the Maxwells of Tealing were 
derived, and it was probably through his relationship with the latter family that his name 
was inscribed on the Burgess-Roll. SiR John was Warden of the East Marches, and a Privy 
Councillor both to Queen Mary and to James VI., and his name figures prominently in the 
history of the time. He survived till 1583, and was the ancestor of the Earls of Nithsdale 
(title extinct) and of the Barons Herries of Terregles. His present representative is Marma- 
BUKE Constable-Maxwell, fourteenth Baron Herries. 



1559. June 20th. 

HENRY LOVELL of Ballumbie is made a Brother of the Guild, gratis. 

The Lovells of Ballumbie were at one time amongst the most influential members of society 
in Dundee, though the name has now almost disappeared. The family claimed a very high 
nncestral origin, being descended from EuDES, Duke of Brittany, through his younger son 



HENRY LOVELL. ,11 

Robert, who came to England in the train of William the Conqueror, in 1066. The son and 
grandson of this Robert were settled respectively in Somerset and in Northamptonshire ; but at a 
later date a branch of the family came to Scotland, and held the historic estate of Branxholm, in 
the Barony of Hawick, for a very long period. The LovELLS appear in Angus for the first time 
about 1250, though they took no share in public affairs for a long time afterwards. They seem, 
however, to have had continuous possession of the lands of Ballumbie till early in the seventeenth 
century. The Henry Lovell whose name appears on the Roll was the son of Andrew Lovell 
of Ballumbie, and though he is here described as if he were the Laird in 1550, he cannot have 
been proprietor of the estate at that time, as his father was then alive and in possession of it. 
Throughout his life he seems to have been of a turbulent disposition ; and the fact that by a 
charter under the Great Seal, dated 30th May, 1551, his father passed him over, and conferred 
the lands and Castle of Ballumbie upon Henry's son John, proves that he had forfeited the 
paternal favour even at this time. For nearly a quarter of a century after the date of his entry 
as a Brother of the Guild he troubled and perplexed the citizens of Dundee and their landward 
neighbours ; and his name appears frequently in the records of the Privy Council of the time as a 
disturber of the peace. One of the comjolaiuts against him was brought before the Privy Council 
on 21st May, 1566, by James Durham of Pitkerro, accusing Henry Lovell of having entered 
his house and maltreated his servants, " committand thairthrow hamesuckin, forthocht fellony, 
and manifest opi^ressioune, upoun the said James, lyke as the said Henrie hes done to sindry 
utheris of the countre, as is notonrlie knawin ; lyke as thair wer nowther Prince, law, nor justice 
within this realme, bot that it wer lesum to everie tyranne to impyre tyrannouslie, abone the 
sobir men dwelland besyde thame." For this and other similar deeds Lovell was summoned to 
appear before the Privy Council, but failed to do so, and was declared a rebel and " put to the 
horn." His ovm sou, John Lovell, who had been chosen by the grandfather, Andrew Lovell, 
as the heir to the estate instead of Henry, was subjected to " unnaturall wrangis and injureis" at 
his father's hands, and was forced also to complain against him to the Privy Council in 1567. 
The tenor of this complaint gives a most instructive glimpse of the state of the country at the 
time, as well as showing the character of this boisterous Angus laird. John Lovell alleges that 
his father, besides " birning of his cornis," for which he had been outlawed, " laitlie hes hurt and 
chaissit away the said Johnnes servandis, ca.ssin out his pover tennentis out of thair houssis, 
intromettit with his haill nolt and scheip, and haldis the same puiiwslie, eitand and distrojand his 
awin cornis, that nevir proffeit sail cum thairof, the lyke of quhilk oppressioun wes nevir seue in 
ony cuntre." For this offence Henry Lovell was again denounced a rebel, but he does not 
appear to have suffered seriously from this sentence, and he continued his career of crime for 
some time thereafter. His name was again brought before the Privy Council, in 1575, in 
connection with a malicious outrage ujion '" the puyr tenentis of West Ferry and Monyfuith 
pertening to the leving of Ballumby." He came before the Council and denied the charge, and 
the case was adjourned for proof; but nothing more regarding him is recorded in the Register of 
the Privy Council, and it is probable that his stormy life was terminated about this time. It is 
certain that his son John, whose name is found on the Burgess-Roll in 1568, had full control of 
the estate of Ballumbie in 1579, and Henry must therefore have died before that time. 



32 GEORGE HALIBUETON — MAGISTEK WALTER SMETOUN. 



1559. June 20th. 
GEORGE HALIBURTON of Pitcur is made a Brother of the Guild, 

GRATIS. 

George HALiBrRXON of Pitcur was the son of Andrew Haliburton and Katherine 
Grahame, and the nephew of Provost James Haliburton, to whom alhision has already been 
made (vide page 24). He was merely an infant when his father died, and the guardianship of the 
estate thus fell upon Provost Haliburton, who was designated from this circumstance the 
" Tutor of Pitcur," a name which adhered to him thi-oiigliout his long life. His position as 
Provost at this time probably accounts for the enrolment of his nephew. George Haliburton 
was knighted by Queen Mary previous to the battle of Laugside, but he seems to have adhered 
to the faction of the Regent Moray after the Queen's flight to England and imprisonment, and 
he became a firm supporter of James VI. He was married to Elizabeth Leirmonth, daughter 
of Sir James Leirmonth of Balcomie, in 1553, and they obtained a joint-charter of the lands of 
Eglismagirdill from the Abbot and Conveut of Lindores in 1568. He signed the " Band of the 
Baronis in the North," confirming the pacification made by the Regent Morton in 1574, and he 
survived the perturbed times which succeeded that date. The last trace to be found of him is in 
1594, at which time his sou James is referred to as his "sone and heir appearand." His name 
was inscribed on the monument erected by the Town Council of Dundee as a memorial of 
Provost Haliburton in 1588; and this seems to indicate that the connection of Sir George 
Haliburton of Pitcur witii the Burgh was highly esteemed at that period. 



1559. June 20th. 

Magister WALTER SMETOUN is made a Brother op the Guild, 

gratis. 

Walter Smetoun was the eldest son of Andrew Smetoun, tenant of the Haltoun of Fingask, 
Perthshire. He studied at St Andrews, and took his degree as Master of Arts there in 1551. He 
practised for some time in St Andrews as a Notary Public, and it was when so employed that he 
was entered as a Burgess of Dundee. His connection with the Burgh probably arose from his 
relationship with the RoLLOKS, then one of the principal Dundee fomilies, as his wife's name was 
Mariote Rollok, and she was a scion of the family now represented by Lord Rollo of Duncrub. 
A curious confirmation of the entry of Walter Smetoun's name on the Burgess-Roll is afforded 
by a grant made by QuEEN Mary under the Great Seal, dated 3rd June, 1564, of " the lands of 
Polcak [otherwise Balcak] in the lordship of Tealing," to Andrew Smetoun in life-rent, and to 
" Magister Walter Smetoun, Imrgcs.^ of Dundee, his son, and Mariote Rollok, spouse of the 



ALEXANDER GUTHRIE. .S."{ 

said Walter, or tlie longest liver of them, in conjunct fee." The Smetouns were eminently 
distinguished in the history of the Kirk of Scotland. Magister Thomas Smetoun, brother- 
german of Walter, was educated at S. Salvator's College, in the University of St Andrews, 
and was " Regent" or Professor there jjrevious to the Reformation. From this place he 
went to Paris, and was enrolled in the Jesuits' College tiiere, and afterwards visited Rome. 
Having been stricken down by a severe fever (according to Calderwood), his doubts of the 
orthodoxy of the Romish faith were confirmed, and he .shortly afterwards joined the Protestant 
Church, and retiu'ned to England under the patronage of Walsingham, the Secretary of Queen 
Elizabeth. In 1577 he was appointed Minister of Paisley Abbey Kirk, and three years after- 
wards he succeeded Melville as Principal of Glasgow University. He died in the enjoyment of 
this office in 15cS3, being then in his forty-seventh year, and having twice officiated as Moderator 
of the General Assembl}-. His brother, Magister John Smetoun, was also distinguished in the 
history of the Reformed Kirk of Scotland, though in a humbler fashion. 



1559. June 20th. 

ALEXANDER GUTHRIE, Fiar [Heir-apparent] of that Ilk, is made a 

Brother of the Guild, gratis. 

The family of Guthrie of Guthrie is one of the oldest in Forfarshire, and they have held the 
estate from which their territorial title is derived from the time of David II. Sir David 
Guthrie was Sheriff of Forfarshire in 1457, was made Armour-bearer to James III., and became 
Lonl Treasurer of Scotland in 1461, and Lord Clerk Register in 1467. Shortly afterwards he 
was one of the ambassadors sent from this country to conclude the Peace of Newcastle ; and in 
1473 he was made Lord Chief Justice of Scotland. His son, Sir Alexander Guthrie, was con- 
nected by marriage with the families of Glamis and of Dudhope, and he fell fighting by the 
side of his Sovereign at Flodden Field. His grandson and successor was Andrew Guthrie 
of Guthrie, whose son Alexander was the Laird .at the date of this entry. Alexander 
Guthrie, for some unexplained reason, had quarrelled with the family of his mother, Christian 
Gardyne of Gardyne, and a feud ensued which resulted in the assassination of the Laird of 
Guthrie in his house of Inverpcffer, by the hand of his cousin, Patrick Gardyne. To avenge 
his death, his second son, William Guthrie of Gagie, accompanied by several of his as.sociates, 
" bodin with daggis and pistoUetis," set upon Patrick Gardyne, the murderer of his father, " and 
cruellie, schamefullie, and unmercifuUie slew him be schot of ane gun or dag, upoun set purpois 
and provisioun." For this outrage he was denounced a rebel, but no proceedings were taken 
against him. 
F 



m JAMES SCRYMGEOURE. 

Alexander Guthrie, who is entered here as a Burgess, was the eldest sou of the Alexander 
Guthrie who was murdered, and of his wife Isabel, daughter of William Wood of Bonuyton. 
He was married iu 1568 to Agnes, daughter of Sir Alexander Falconer of Halkerton, and 
was succeeded at his decease by his eldest son, bearing the same name. 



1562. 

JAMES SCRYMGEOURE of Glaswell is made a Brother of the Guild, 

GRATIS. 

In the note appended to the entry of the admission of Provost Walter Scrymgeoure as a 
Burgess {vide page 28), allusion is made to liis son and successor James, whose name appears here. 
He was in possession of the estate of Glaswell in 1549, and was married to Mariota, daughter of 
James CrichtoN of Ruthven, in the following year. The exact date of his death is not recorded, 
but he must have been alive in 1579, as his son John is referred to in a charter of that year as 
" heir-a]ipareut of Glaswell." The family of his father, the Prov< iST, was highly distinguished in 
literature. Henry Scrymgeoure, second son of Walter and brother of James oi Glaswell, 
was born in Dundee iu 1506, and educated at St Andrews University. He passed as Bachelor 
of Arts in S. Salvator's College in 1533, and in the succeeding year he obtained his degree as 
Master of Arts, after having undergone what is described in the Roll as " a most rigorous 
examination." From St Andrews he removed to the University of Paris, and afterwards to that 
of Bourges, where he studied Civil Law. Having been chosen Private Secretary to the Bishop of 
Rennes, he accompanied that Prelate to Italy, when the BiSHOP was sent there as ambassador 
from the Court of France. Though professing the Roman Catholic religion, Scrymgeoure had 
been affected by the reforming sentiments of his College companions, George Wish art, George 
Buchanan, John Erskine of Dun, and Provost Haliburton, and whilst he was at Padua he 
came in contact with the famous Francis Spira, who it is stated " died under great horror of 
mind iu consequence of his recantation of the Protestant religion." The effect of this incident 
upon Scrymgeoure's mind was very great, as he shows in his work upon Francis Spira, printed 
in 1550. His position in the household of the Bishop opened up a great field of jiromotion for 
so able a man, but he decided to abandon the creed of the Romish Church, and to cast in his lot 
with the Reformers. Accordingly he removed to Augsburg, where he was received by Ulrich 
FUGGER, one of the most liberal patrons of literature, and spent a considerable time in collecting 
that Classical Library which rendered Augsburg one of the centres for the revival of literature. 
Many of the manuscripts of Greek and Roman authors which Scrymgeoure had secured in 
Italy were placed in this collection ; and whilst in this place he edited several of the Classics 
which were published by the famous printer, Henry Stephens. His reputation, alike as a 
scholar and a Reformer, soon attracted the notice of the Geneva Protestants, and he was invited 
by Calvin to settle at Geneva in 1561. In that year he was appointed Professor of Philosophy at 
the University of Geneva, and was so highly esteemed by the civic rulers there that the freedom 



JAMES GOLDMAN. 35 

of that city was conferred upon him. Two years afterwards, when the Chair of Civil Law was 
founded at Geneva, he was chosen as the first Professor, and occupied this post till his death on 
;3rd January, 1.370. Whilst here he enjoyed the friendship of literary men of all shades of 
opinion throughout Europe, and was in close companionship with JoHN Calvin and Theodore 
Beza, as well as Georoe Buchanan, Andrew Melville, and the other leading Reformers in 
Scotland. So highly was he esteemed that both Regents Lennox and Mar invited him to 
return to his native country and to accept of some public office ; but he was then advanced in 
years, and had formed many ties which bound him to Geneva; nor did the disturbed state of 
Scotland at that time, torn as it was by many factions, seem likely to form a safe or pleasant 
retreat for one whose life had been devoted to peaceful literature. An interesting glimpse of his 
life at Geneva is ati'orded by his nephew James Melville, in his " Autobiography," in these 
words : — 

" Ml' Hendhie Scrymgeour be lii.s Icruing in the lawes and polecii- and service of mauie noble princes, 
liaid atteiued to grait ritclios, and haid conquesit a prettie rouni within a lig [league] to Genev, and biggit 
thairon a trim house called ' The Vilet,' and a fear ludging within the town, (juhilks all with a douchtar, 
his onlie born, he left to the Syndiques of the town." 

The name of " Henry Scrymgeol^RE, a renowned man and Professor of Arts," appears amongst 
the witnesses to John Calvin's Testament, in April, 1.564, and his history is preserved amongst 
the Biographies of Eminent Citizens of Geneva, published in 1815. As a Greek scholar, Henry 
Scrymgeoure occupies the very foremost rank amongst the literary men of his time. 

James Scrymgeoure of Glaswell had two sisters besides this brother, both of whom were 
connected with literature. IsoBEL Scry'MGEOURE was married to Richard Melville of Baldovie, 
and became the mother of James Melville, Minister of Kilrenny, Professor of Theology at St 
Andrews, and author of the " Autobiography" quoted above. Margaret Scrymgeoure became 
the wife of John Young, burgess of Edinburgh, in 1541, and her second son was the famous 
Sir Peter Young of Seatoun, tutor of King James VL, whose name appears at a later date on 



the Burgess-Roll of Dundee. 



1315415 



1562. April loth. 
JAMES GOLDMAN, Merchant, is made a Brother of the Guild. 

James Goldman, whose name is here entered, was the first of a generation of merchants who 
held a leading place amongst the Burgesses of Dundee for nearly three centuries. Their place of 
origin is not known, though it seems probable, from the early spelling of the name with double N 
— GoLDMANN — that they had come to this country from Flanders. This James Goldman is the 
first whose name appears in the records of Dimdee. He must have been exceptionally successful 
in business, as he amassed a considerable fortune, and was the proprietor of several valuable 
properties within the Burgh. The exact positions of some of these possessions may be easily 



;j(i JAMES GOLDMAN. 

understood troiii tlie fnllowiiii; entries in the " Kirkmaster's Charge," and from the " Reiitall of 
the Master of the Hospitall," made up about 1580:— 

" Furth of ye land sumtyme of Anduo ^Iitchelsoun, now of James Goldman, James Michell, and 
James Cowtie, Lyand on ye South syid of Argyllisgaitt, Betwix ye land of Gabriel Mvln on ye east, and 
ye Kivkzoard on ye west pairtis." (This tenement was on tlie site of what is now Tally Street.) 

" Furth of ye laud of Patrik Durham, Lyand on ye north syid of Ergyllisgaitt, Bctwix ye land of 
John Merschell and James Bower on ye south, ye land of James Goldman on ye oast pairtis." (This 
land was at the west corner of P.arrack Street and the Over-gait.) 

" The few-niaillis underwritten Ilex™- (respectively) awand he ye personnis ]-'articvdar Proprietaris of 
ye Gloss («llit Sanct Salvatoris Gloss, lyand on ye north syid of Argyllisgaitt, to wit, P,eginning at ye 
foirland on ye west syid of ye Gloss pertening to Petir Newman, — The next laud northward, pertening to 
James Goldman," etc. 

Besides these urban properties, he accpured a portion of the estate of Sandfurd — corrupted 
into St Fort — in Fifeshire, from wliich place he took his territorial designation. He was married 
to M.\RGARET Jack, and had a numerous family, all of whom were distinguished in the civic annals 
of Dundee. A very interesting account of four of them is given in a long Latin poem, written by 
Peter Goldman, the youngest son, and included in the Delitlie Poetarimi Scotoram. This 
curious work is entitled Margdveta; laccJuv iriatrls 8ucg S'U2Jcr trldi et ivirnatiira niorte qwutwor 
filioriim Lachrymce. (The tears of Margaret Jack, his mother, over the sad and immature 
death of her four sons.) From the poem it appears that the first-named son, Patrick, was over- 
taken by a sudden squall, aud drowned in a harbour of Batavia (Holland). John, the second 
son, fell a victim to the plague in Dundee, despite the efforts made by Dr Kinloch to save 
him. The third son, Robert, was thrown from his horse, aud instantly killed ; whilst the 
eldest son, WiLLlAM, " the beloved (jf the common people, and the guardian of the welfare of 
Dundee," was carried off by death in the midst of his labours. 

Patricium Batavis Nepiunus mersit in umJix, 
Pestis lohannem rapiiit, sonipexque Eohertum ; 
Telluri, elisis, afiixit,fleliile, memhrix, 
Et subito e.din.flf Gulielmvin funere Parca. 

There are feeling allusions made in the poem to the comfort which the sorrowing mother had 
derived from the ministrations of the three Pastors of Dundee, David Lindsay, William 
Wedderburn, and James Robertson, and the poem concludes by an expression of thank- 
fulness that Charles — mea maxima cura, afflictoi spes et solatia matris [my greatest care, 
the hope of my affliction, aud the solace of his mother] — was still spared to her. In another 
poem by the same writer — In Patric'imii, fratrem naufraglo cxtinctum — he laments the early 
death by shipwreck of his brother Patrick, exclaiming that no portion of his own life can be 
happy imtil the sea shall give up its dead. 

ThL'se most interesting poetical effusions introduce us to a family distinguished alike by their 
eminence in public affairs and by the strength of their domestic affection. From other sources 
the varied careers of the members of the Goldman family may be traced ; and the tombstones 
over their place of interment in the Howff of Dundee afford several items of information. This 
burial place is at the second recess to the north of the principal western gate, aud, though 



JAMES GOLDMAN. 87 

the wall has been altered and the mural iuscriptioQ defaced, there remained at this spot fifty 
jrears ago the following fragmentary lettering: — 

" Family .... Goldiiiim .... Laird .... 

■\V. (t 1. G R. G 

Kcivisi'd ill 1797 Ijy William Goldman Laird . . . ." 

These initials plainly indicate the resting-place of three of the brothers commemorated in the 
first of Peter Goldman's poems. On the flat stones (Nos. 66 and 67) laid on the ground beside 
the recess the following inscriptions, though much decayed, may yet be deciphered : — 

"Heir lyi.s iohu gciMiiiau, mairchanJ, and olisalseth Traill hi.s spous, quha both depairtit in .September 
1607, of his age 34, hirs 29." 

From this memorial stone it is apparent that the wife of John Goldman also fell a victim to 
the pest which raged in Dundee, with little intermission, from 1602 till 160S, reaching a crisis in 
the month of September, 1607, when these two were prematurely cut off. 

The stone upon which the deaths of Robert and William Goldman were recorded is so 
■completely obliterated that it is no longer decipherable. That portion of the inscription which 
apparently relates to Robert Goldm.\N reads thus: — ■ 

" Heir lyis . . . . rt . . Idiii ane fe ■ 

in .... 26 j\[ay of hi.s age .... 

My sovlc praises God. My sovle praises God. 
Death is lyfe to the Godlie. 

M- L 
I- Z. D G 

I- F 
Thy glasso runnes. jNfyne is runne. 
1617." 

The initials I- Z. are placed on each side of an escutcheon bearing the arms of the Yeaman — 
Zeman — family. The other letters are placed upon and around a shield, and may be the initials 
of some obscure monumental sentiment. Robert Goldman was Collector of the Crafts in 1601-3, 
and was also a member of the Glover Trade. On several occasions he appeared before the Privy 
Council, together with his brother WiLLi.\.M, as re23re.senting Dundee in some of the disputes in 
which the Burgh was concerned. As has already been shown, he lost his life through a fall from 
his horse previous to 1617. William Goldman first appears in the town's records as one of the 
Councillors in loOO, and from that time until his death, which took place in 1613, he was actively 
engaged in the service of the Burgh. For the twelve years betwi.Kt 1601 and 1613, lie was almost 
■continuously chosen as the Commissioner re23resenting Dundee at the Convention of Royal 
Burghs. The confidence reposed in him by the Convention is shown by the fact that, in 1612, he 
was sent as Commissioner to the town of Campvere, for the purpose of " re-establishing the Stapill 
of the natioun at the said toun" — a service in which Dundee was specially interested. The voyage 
of William Goldman and his fellow-Commissioner, David Aitkinheid, of Edinburgh, was an 
adventurous as well as an expensive one, for, on their return, we find that they " producit the 
■compte of their expenses in the said voyage, extending the haill to the soum of four tliousand 
aucht hundreth twentie-thri lib. cllevin s. 4d. Scots money, they beand long tym detynit in the 



38 JAMES GOLDMAN. 

said touu, aud coustraiiiit to cum hoiii bo Inglaud iu this deid aud paroulus tyin (jf zuir." In this 
wurk the Commissioners had been assisted by SiR Robert Danielstoun of Moutjoy, who was 
Conservator of the Scots Privileges at Campvere, and who was admitted a Burgess of Dundee on 
6th July, 1612. William Goldman was Bailie in Dundee from 1606 till his death, which 
appears to have taken place suddenly. As executor of his brother, JoHX GoLDMAN, he paid 
over a legacy to the Hospital of Dundee of eight hundred morks, to which bequest the following 
excerpt from the Council minutes refers : — 

"11 .Inly 1609 — Quhilk day the Balleis, Counsale, and dekyni.s of Crafts of the Burcli of Dvuidie, 
being convenit in the Counsal hous thaivoff — vnderstanding that vmquhile Johne Goldman', Mercheand, 
laitlie left ti> the puir resident within the Hospitall the sowme of aucht Hundrcth merkis money of this 
Keahne, nuhilk is orJanit to be wairit either upon the redemptione of the eonnnon landis pertening to tlie 
Hospitall or upon ane new rent be advyis of the Ministeris and Sessioun of the Kirk, — thairfoir for moving 
and inciting vtheris to leave the lyik for advancement of the Hospitall rentis, hes eonchulit and ordanit that 
William Goldman, Dailie, Executor to the .said unKiuhile Johxe, and the said William, his airi!>, sail half 
power to present ane aigit deeayit Burgess of this Bureh, quhom the ministeris and Sessioun of the Kirk 
sail find meit and ipudifeit to be admitit in the Socitie of the pure resident within the said Hospitall — he 
tu'anil ane single persone nather haifl'and bairnc nor wyifT, according to the lawis maid anent the qualities 
of the personis cpdia suld be ressavit in the said Hospitall — and the said person being so presentit and tryit 
and being subiect to the lawis of the hous sail be preferrit to any vtheris and interteaneit within the said 
Hospitall during bis lyiif, except he be deposit for ane notorious eryme — and after his decei.s, bow oft the 
.said i)laee vaikis be deceise or deprivatione als oft ane vther to be presentit of new to that place be the 
said William and his foirsaidis — and at the desyre of the said William, and upon his presentatione, 
James (^Iuiiitsone, ehirurgian, being tryit and found meitt in manner fuir.said, is alreddy receaved in the 
.said Ibispitall." 

The money thus mortified was applied in redeeming a mortgage on Andrew Barrie's 
Meadow, another mortgage over Lovell's Meadow, a third over the Gray Sisters Acre (West 
Port), and in the purchase of an annual rent out of a tenement in Mackisson's Close. The 
properties in the Meadows are still in the possession of the Hospital, aud include the ground from 
Lamb's Hotel to Panraure Street, and from Bell Street to the centre of Reform Street. 

The inscription upon the tomb.stone over the grave of WiLLlAM GoLDMAN reads thus : — 

" Hir jacd cir Iwnoratus clilis Dcidoiiancii qvondarii cicis ct .... Gulielmus Goldman de Sandfurd 
qvi i>biit crtafis fuir anno qvailraget-imo qvario, (inno a imrlvr. Virijinh 1613, iirie ijonas Aprills. 
Memento Mori. [Here lies an honourable man, formerly liurgess and .... of Dundee, William 
Goldman of Sandfurd, who died in the forty-fourth year of his age, on the day before the Nones of April 
— 4tli April— in the year from the Accouchement of the Virgin, 1613. Remember thou art to die.]" 

Besides these sons, James Goldman had two daughters, one of whom was married to James 
Wedderburn, son of the Town-Clerk, Alexander Wedderburn of Kingennie, and ancestor of 
Lord Chancellor the Earl of Rosslyn, and the other to Sinclair of Ulbster. In several of the 
published genealogies of the Wedderburn family, James Goldman's eldest daughter's name is 
given as Margaret, but from the monument in the Howff, No. S12, this appears to be a mistake, 
as the inscription reads thus : — 

" Beuealh this stone are deposited the remains of the following persons, viz. : — James Wedderburn, 
Esq., who (lied 16:^0, and his wife, Mary Goldman." 



ALEXANDER MAXWELL. 39 

She was married in IGOS, and liad two sous, SiH ALEXANDER Wedderburn of Blackness, and 
Sir Peter Wedderburn of Gosford, who became a Lord of Session. 

From another tombstone at the Goldman biirying-place in the Howff, it is evident that James 
Goldman had a younger brother called John, who was born in 1.531, and who is thus described 
in the monnmental description : — 

" Heir lyis ane honest aged fatlier called John Goldman Mercliaiid and IJvrges in DunJie (julia 
depairtit this present lyf ye 3 of Apryle, anno 1605, of aige 74. And Christiaiie Man liis spovs qulia 
depairtit this lyf ye 8 (if September, anno 160.3, of aige 36. 

" Death is lyf to ye faithfnl." 

John Gold>l\.n, Junior, son of the above, is mentioned in tlie Register of the Privy Council as a 
prominent Burgess of Dundee. Charles Goldman, to whom reference is made in Peter Gold- 
man's poem, was Boxmaster of the Weaver Incorpoi-ation of Dundee in 1624. James Goldman, 
probably a younger brother of Charles, is also buried in the Howff, No. 23, his tombstone bear- 
ing this inscription : — 

" Heir lyis ane honest man naniit .Jajies Goldman, JMerehand Bvrges of Diuidie, wIki ileceissit in 
.September 1632, of the aige of 42. This is done he Margaret Ogiiav, his spovs, for his memorie." 

Several other members of this family are mentioned in the Sasine records of Dundee and else- 
where, although it is not easy to trace their relationship. William Goldman of Sandford is 
referred to in the Acts of Parliament as being on the Committee of War for Fife, in 1648-9 
(VI. II. .)t-^ — 190^ ). Mr James Goldman, minister, son of Alexander Goldman (1652), and 
grandson of John Goldmax (1623), was living in 1731, and had two sisters, but no other descen- 
dants of a later date have been traced. Referring to this family, Jervise states that " the last 
of them; a female, died some years ago, so reduced in circumstances as to be dependent on the 
charity of a neighbouring Kirk Session" (Mcmor tills of Angus and Mearns, edition ISGl, p. 
198). The Goldman burying-place was claimed by a family called Laird, one of whom, William 
(lloLDMAN Laird, revised the inscription on the wall of the Howff, 1797. 



1564. May 29th. 
ALEXANDER MAXWELL of Tealixg js made a Brother of the Guild, 

GRATIS. 

The Maxwells of Tealing were derived from the Caerlaverock family, and their earliest 
appearance in Forfarshire was in the first quarter of the fifteenth century. Eu.stace Maxwell, 
the first proprietor of the name who held Tealing, was the second son of Sir William Maxwell 
of Caerlaverock, and he obtained possession uf the fourth part of the Barony in 1427. His direct 



40 MAGISTER ALEXANDER HEPBURNE. 

descendant was that Alexander Maxwell whose name is here enrolled. He appears to have 
been a Magistrate of Dundee in 1553, but subsequent to this time had been involved in 
monetary difficulties, and temporarily pledged his lands to relieve himself in 1561. From this 
entry, it is apparent that he had obtained regress to the lands of Tealing three years after- 
wards. His eldest son and successor. Sir David Maxwell, was knighted by King James VI. 
For a long period the Maxwells of Tealing served the Burgh of Dundee in a public capacity -^ 
and several of the descendants of Alexander Maxwell will be found recorded on the Burgess- 
Roll. 



1564. January 17th. 

Magister ALEXANDER HEPBURNE, Preceptor of the Grammar School, 
IS MADE A Brother of the Guild, gratis. 

Alexander Hepburn is the second of the schoolmasters of Dundee entered upon this Roll, 
the first being Magister Walter Spalding, who was admitted a Burgess in 1539 [vide page 22]. 
Though few references to him are found in the records of the period, his life was an eventful one. 
He had studied at St Andrews and taken his degree as Master of Arts there before he settled 
iu Dundee, and it was probably through the influence of the relatives of his wife. Christian 
Scrymgeour, that he obtained preferment to the high ecclesiastical dignity which he afterwards 
enjoyed. Previous to 1574 he was placed in charge of the Kirks of " Litill Duukeld," " Dowalie," 
" Logyrait," " Logyallowy," " Mwlin" (Moulin) ; and in the latter year was promoted to the Pro- 
testant Bishopric of Ross. Many writers on the history of the time have been perplexed by the 
fact that John Lesly, Roman Catholic Bishop of Ross, the well-known defender of Queen Mary', 
retained his episcopal title long after his deposition, and consequently there were both a Pro- 
testant and a Romanist Bishoj") of Ross living at the same time. Hence many of the acts of 
these two persons are confused and credited to the wrong party. Alexander Hepburn was not 
popular in the North as Bishop of Ross, since the Roman Catholics naturally regarded him 
as an intruder ; and it appears from the lamentable complaint laid by his widow, Christian 
Scrymgeoure, before the Privy Council, that his death was brought about by the cruel oppression 
of his neighbours. In December, 1578, whilst he was contincd to his dwelling in the Channonrie 
of Ross by his last sickness, CoLiN Mackenzie of Kintail j^revented his wife and servants from 
obtaining either fuel or victuals, " usand sic inhumane and cruell dealing aganis him that for 
displesour thairof he fell seek and nevir recoverit quhill he depairtit this life." When Mac- 
kenzie learned that the Bishop was nigh luito death, he surrounded the house with armed men. 
and entered the Castle with violence, expelled the unfortunate wife ere her husband's body 



ANDREW BALFOURE— KOBERT BALFOURE — ANDREW BALFOURE. 41 

was cold, and drove her out with her children und the few servants whom Mackenzie had not 
already imprisoned, and took forcible possession of all her property. Nor did his cruelty end 
here, for having put thmn " furth of the said hous, he constrynit thamo to leif the cuntrie and to 
cum away by sey, not suffering thame to get meit, drink, or lugeing, within the toun, nor lettand 
sa meikle cum away with thame of thair owin geir as a plaid or blankat to keip the bairnis fra 
cauld within the boit." For this barbarous deed Mackenzie and his accomplices were justly 
denounced as rebels and put to the horn. 



1565. March 29th. 
ANDREW BALFOURE of Monquhany is made a Brother of the Guild, 

GRATIS. 



ROBERT BALFOURE, his Son, is made a Brother of the Guild, gratis. 



ANDREW BALFOURE, Son of the aforesaid Andrew, is made a Brother 

of the Guild, gratis. 



The family of Balfour claims descent from a certain Siward who was living in the time 
of King Duncan, chxa 1033. The first of the Monquhany branch was Michael Balfour, 
who was one of the favourites of James IV., from whom he obtained a Charter in 1493 erecting 
his lands into the Barony of Monquhany. SiR Michael was married to Marjory, daughter of 
George Durie of that Ilk who fell with his Royal Master at Flodden. Andrew Balfour, 
whose name is here recorded, was his only son, and was a mere infant when his father was slain. 
In fulfilment of the special Act made by James IV., whereby the children of those who should fall 
at Flodden were to be at once declared heirs as if they had attained their majority, Andrew 
Balfour became Laird of Monquhany at a very early age. He was married to Janet, third 
daughter of SiR Alexander Bruce of Earlshall, and, according to the accepted genealogy, he 
had only seven sons ; but the above entry in the Bui'gess-Roll of Dundee appears to indicate that 
he had another son named Andrew. All these sons took a distinguished share in the history of 
the times of QuEEN Mary and James VI. Michael Balfour, the eldest son, who was enrolled 
as a Burgess of Dundee in 1583, was married to Janet Boswell, and died during his ftither's 
lifetime, leaving a son, Michael, who succeeded Andrew Balfour as Laird of Monquhany in 
1592. Sir Gilbert of Westra, the second son of Andrew Balfour, was Master of the House- 
hold to Queen Mary. The third son was the notorious Sir James Balfour of Pittendreich. 
who was deeply concerned in the murder of Darnley. He held the post of Lord President of the 

G 



42 DAVID, EAEL OF CRAUFURD AND LORD LINDSAY. 

Court of Session, anJ, through his marriage with Margaret Balfour of Burleigh, he became the 
ancestor of the Lords Balfour of Burleigh and the Lords Balfour of Gleuawlcy. David, the 
fourth son, was ancestor of the Balfours of Grange. George, the fifth son, whose name appears 
at a later date on this Roll, was the Prior of the Charterhouse, Perth. Robert, who was made 
Burge.ss of Dundee at the same time as his father, was Provost of S. Mary's College, St 
Andrews; whilst John is usually referred to as the youngest of the family, and he seems to have 
held property in Orkney. Of Andrew Balfour, Junior, no trace appears elsewhere than on this 
Burgess-Roll. It is worthy of notice that a hundred years elapsed betwLxt the first erection of 
the Barony of Monquhany (1493) and the death of the second Laird in 1.592. Andrew Balfour, 
Senior, was thus Laird of Monquhany for the very exceptional peri(jd of seventy-nine years. 



1565. September 2oth. 

DAVID, EARL of CRAUFURD and LORD LINDSAY, is made a Brother 

OF THE Guild, gratis. 

David, tenth Earl of Craufurd, occupies a peculiar position iu the civic history of Dundee. 
He was the son of Alexander, Master of Craufurd — known in history as " the Wicked Master"- — 
and of Jean, daughter of Lord Sinclair. His grandfather, the eighth Earl of Craufurd, had 
been cruelly treated by the " Wicked Master," who had seized, fettered, and imprisoned him ; and 
in revenge for his unnatural conduct the injured Earl had disinherited his immediate descen- 
dants, and conveyed the title and estates to his cousin, David Lindsay of Edzell. The latter, 
" being of a generous disposition," re-conveyed the title and estates to the son of the Master, 
merely reserving the title of Earl of CR-IUFURD to himself for his lifetime. At his death, 
therefore, in 1558, David Lindsay became tenth Earl of Craufurd. He was a firm adherent 
of the Marian party, and supported both the Queen-Dowager and the QuEEN in their struggles 
with the Lords of the Congregation. The attitude which Provost Haliburton had taken in 
this contest had seriously displeased the QuEEN, and when she and Darnley came to Dundee 
in 1565, Haliburton had wisely left the Burgh with a band of the principal Protestant 
B\u-gesses, and joined the insurgent Earl of Moray. Dundee was therefore without a Provost, 
and the QuEEN took the opportunity of placing her faithful follower, the Earl of Craufurd, in 
that important office. The ancient connection of the Craufurd flimily with the Burgh of 
Dundee has already been referred to [vide page 12], and it seemed to afford an excuse for placing 
her favourite in this post. Those of the Town Council who had remained in the Burgh acquiesced 
for the time in this arbitrary act, and to give it an appearance of regularity, they inscribed the 
Earl of Craufurd's name upon the Burgess-Roll. The first meeting of the Council under the 
presidency of the new Provost was held on the 25th September— the very day on which his 



THOMAS FOTHHINGHAM. 43 

Dame was enrolled — and the fii'st official act of the Eaul of Craufukd was to order the payment 
of the expenses incurred during the entertainment of QuEEN Mary and Darnley in Dundee. 
The rapidly-changing fortunes of the QuEEN soon affected the condition of Dundee, and the 
Earl of Craufurd found it expedient to demit his office at the end of a twelvemonth. James 
Haliburton then returned, and was replaced in his former position as Provost of Dundee, and 
he retained that honourable post without interruption for twenty years afterwards. 

The Earl of Craufurd was married in 154G to Margaret, daughter of Cardinal Beatoun, 
and had four sons, two of whom succeeded himself as Earls of Craufurd, whilst a third was 
created Lord Spynie, and was the chosen companion of James VI. The Earl died at Lords- 
cairnie, Fife, in 157-t, and was burieil in the family vault within the Cemetery of the Gray 
Friars Monastery, now the Howtf of Dundee. 



156o. September 25th. 
THOMAS FOTHRINGHAM of Powrie is made a Brother of the Guild, 

BY REASON OF THE LlBEKTY OF HIS FaTHER. 

Thomas Fothri^uham's father, through whom he claims his right of Burgess-ship, has 
already been noticed under date 12th November, 1526 [vide page 18]. He succeeded to the 
estate on the death of his father at Piiikie-Cleugh, and retained possession until the beginning of 
the seventeenth century. By his marriage with Helen, daughter of John, Lord Lindsay of the 
Byres, he was brought into immediate contact with the party opposed to Queen Mary. His 
brother-in-law was that Patrick, Lord Lindsay of the Byres, whose stern conduct towards the 
Queen whilst imprisoned in Lochleven Castle is familiar to every reader of Scottish history. 
Helen Lindsay had five sisters, who were married respectively to Norman Leslie, Master of 
Rothes, the principal assassin of Cardinal Be.woun ; to Thomas Myreton of Cambo ; to David 
Beatoun of Melgum, a natural son of the Cardinal ; to George Douglas, the brave deliverer of 
Queen Mary' ; and to David Kinnear of that Ilk. Seldom has there been a family so divided 
politically as this one. From a curious charter, dated at Powrie, 24th July, 1579, it appears 
that Thomas Fothringiiam had not received the complete sum of money due as the tocher of 
his bride even at this date, as he then sold to his wife " the lands and town of Ballathrone, the 
lands of Halpes, and his eighth part of Bruchtie with the pendicle there, called the Nethir 
Marche," for a large sum of money paid by her brother, Patrick, Lord Lindsay of the Byres, 
ill augmentation of her wedding gift. Elizap.eth Fothuingham, sister of Thomas Fothringham 
of Powrie, was married to John Ogilvy of Inverrpiharity, and was the ancestress of the present 
Sir John Ogilvy of Inverquharity, Bart. Thomas Fothringham survived till 1610, and was 
succeeded by hi.^ son, who bore the same name. 



44 JOHN BLAIK — JOHN LOVELL. 



1568. October 4th. 

JOHN BLAIR, Heir-apparent of Balgillo, is made a Brother of the 

Guild, gratis. 

The Blairs of Balgillo were descended from the old family of the Blairs of Balthayock, a 
race that for centuries held an important place amongst the Lairds of the Carse of Gowrie. 
John Blair, whose entry is here recorded, was connected with Dundee through his marriage 
with a daughter of Haliburton of Pitcur. He succeeded to the estate on the death of his 
father, William Blair of Balgillo, circa 1570, and he survived till 1593. His son William, 
and his grandson John, were knighted by James VI. and Charles I. respectively. An 
interesthig incident, with which both he and Thomas Fothringham of Powrie, mentioned on the 
preceding page, were connected, is recorded in the Register of the Privy Council. Sir David 
Graham of Fintry, the son of the builder of Mains Castle, was married to Barbara Scott, a 
descendant of SiR Michael Scott of Balwearie. Sir David's unfortunate connection with 
the Popish plot, known in history as the " Spanish Blanks," had brought about his execution 
for treason in 1592. Almost immediately afterwards, his widow had married Thomas 
Fothringham, Younger of Powrie, and his relatives seem to have vmited together for the 
purpose of harassing and oppressing her. She accordingly applied to the Privy Council for 
protection for herself and her new spouse, and from the Records it appears that no less than 
nineteen of the Lairds in the neighbourhood subscribed bonds that they wotdd not harm her — 
John Blair of Balgillo being amongst the number. 



15G8. October 8th. 
JOHN LOVELL, Fiar of Ballumbie, is made a Brother of the Guild, 

GRATIS. 

A brief account of the LoVELLS of Ballumbie has already been given, when referring to the 
admission of Henry Lovell as a Burgess on 20th June, 1559; and allusion is there made to 
the John Lovell, son of Henry, whose admission is here recorded. It is there shown that 
the father had continuously wronged and oppressed his son John, and was repeatedly bound 
over to keep the peace towards him. Strangely enough, we find that John Lovell, after he 
had obtained possession of Ballumbie, suffered in a similar manner at the hands of his own son, 
William Lovell. He died in 1591, leaving two sons, William and Gilbert, the former of 
whom succeeded him. 



JOHN CARNEGIE. 45 



1571. September 14th. 
JOHN CARNEGIE of that Ilk is made a Brother of the Guild, 

GRATIS. 

Sir John CARNEraE of Carnegie, whose name is entered here, is the first of that important 
family included in the Roll. His father, Sir Robert Carnegie of Kiunaird, held a considerable 
amount of property in Dundee, but he does not seem to have been entered as a Burgess. The 
date of the admission of Sill John Carnegie is important, as throwing some light upon his 
own political history. 

After a long life spent in the service of his country as an ambassador, as a senator of the 
College of Justice, and as a politician, SiR Robert Carnegie expired on the 5th of January, 
15G5-6, and was buried in the Old Kirk of Leuchars, where his tombstone may still be seen. 
By his wife, MARGARET Guthrie of Lunan, he left seven sons and seven daughters, all of whom 
were closely connected with Angus and the Mearns. His eldest daughter, Margaret, 
became the wife of Sir James Scrymgeour of Dudhope, Constable of Dundee ; whilst his eldest 
son was that SiR John Carnegie whose name is here entered. Almost the last public act of 
Sir Robert was the executing of a charter, dated 25th March, 1565, by which he resigned his 
lands of Kimiaird, Balnamone, Littlecarcary, and Monrommon Muir, to his son and heir-apparent, 
John Carnegie, these lands being incorporated anew into the Barony of Kinuaird by Queen 
Mary, " in recognition of the services done for her by the said Robert, as well in France and 
England, as in other foreign parts, in negotiations conducted by him for the honour and common 
weal of the kingrlom." In the early portion of the struggle betwixt Queen Mary and the 
Protestant party, Sir John adhered to her most loyally, and he is usually represented as having 
remained faithful to her interests throughout his life. The entry in the Burgess-Roll, however, 
appears to contradict this statement, for the following reasons. 

After the escape of Queen Mary from Lochleveu Castle, an attempt was made by the Earl 
OF Huntly to create a diversion in her favour by a rising in the North. Sir John Carnegie, 
mindful of his allegiance, joined the Earl in this movement ; but the attempt proved abortive, 
and he, with David, Earl of Craufurd (lately Provost of Dundee), and James, Lord Ogilvy, 
were denounced by the Privy Council, and orders given that their houses should be confiscated 
for the use of the Regent Moray and the party acting in the name of the infant King. To 
Provost Haliburton of Dundee, who had been reinstated in his office, the task was committed 
of taking possession of the House of Kinnaird, and making a full inventory " of the haile gudis and 
geir being thairin." In accordance with this order, the Provost entered the house and lands of 
Kinnaird, and held them until he was instructed to hand them over to John, Lord Glamis. 
No account has been given of the place of refuge which Carnegie had found, nor is there any 
record of his having given in his adherence to the King's party; but the fact that he was 
entered a Burgess of Dundee in 1570, whilst his old antagonist Haliburton was Provost of that 



46 GEORGE RAMSAY — DAVID GUTHRIE. 

Burgh, clearly shows that he must have abandoned the cause of the QuEEN before this date, and 
taken the oath in support of James VI., which was then rigorously exacted from all new entrants. 
This idea is confirmed also by the circumstance of his knighthood, which was conferred upon him 
in 1572. Sir Johx was married to Agnes Wood of Craig, and his only legitimate child, 
Margaret, was married to Patrick Kinnaird of Inehture, the direct ancestor of the present 
Lord Kinnaird of Rossie and Inehture. As Sir John left no male issue at his decease in 159G, 
the estates were inherited by his younger brother David. The latter was admitted a Burgess of 
Dundee on 30th January. 1616. 



1574. July 27th. 

GEORGE RAMSAY of Bamff is made a Brother of the Guild, gratis. 

George Ramsay of Bamff claimed descent from Adam de Ramsay of Bamff, whose name 
appears in the Ragman Roll as swearing fealty to Edward I. in 1290. He was the grandson of 
Nigel Ramsay of Bamff {oh. ante 1531), and his father was Alexander Ramsay, and his 
mother Elizabeth Crichton, a daughter of Crichton of Ruthvcn. George Ramsay wa.t 
in possession of the estate in 1552, and he seems to have been on intimate terms with the 
Halihurtons, and with his kinsmen the Scrymgeours of Glaswell. His name is appended to 
the charter granted by SiR George Haliburton of Pitcur in 1553 to his wife Elizabeth 
Leirmonth, and is there placed beside that of the unfortunate Captain Alexander Haliburton, 
brother of the Provost, who fell at the siege of Leith in 1559. George Ramsay was married to 
Elizabeth Wood of Bonniton, in 1564, and was the direct ancestor of Sir James Henry 
Ramsay of Bamff, Bart. His residence in Dundee was " on ye south syid of ye Fluker-gaitt," 
and had formerly belonged to the Abbot of Scone. He died in 1580, and was succeeded by 
his son, George Ramsay, thirteenth Laird of Bamff. 



1574. January 12th. 
DAVID GUTHRIE of Kincaldrum is made a Brother of the Guild, 

GRATIS. 

The descent of the family of Guthrie of Guthrie and their relationship to Dundee has been 
explained where the admission of Alexander Guthrie, Fiar, of that Ilk, is noted, under date 20th 
June, 1559 {vide page 33). David Guthrie of Kincaldrum was an uncle of this Alexander, and 
consequently son of Andrew Guthrie and of Christian Gardyne of Gardyne. Kincaldrum 



DAVID GUTHRIE. 47 

was the estate usually given to younger sons of the Lairds of Guthrie, and though the name of 
David does not appear in the genealogy of the family, his existence is proved by his signature to 
several charters, in which he is described as the son of Andrew. It was his brother Alexander 
who was assassinated at Inverpeffer by his cousin Patrick Gardyne, as already related. The 
most important event, however, with which his name is associated took place two years after his 
admission as Burgess of Dundee. On the ISth July, 1.576, he appeared in presence of the 
Regent Morton and the Lords of the Privy Council, at Edinburgh, together with his nephew, 
William Guthrie of Halkertoun, William Rynd of Carse, and James Arbuthnot of Len- 
tusche, and gave in a bond and obligation making himself surety with them for the printing of 
the first Scottish Bible. The terms of this contract are of sufficient interest to be transcribed 
here, as they are entered in the Records of the Privy Council : — 

"Be it kend till all men be thir present lettres, we Alexander Aebuthnot merchand, and Thomas 
Bassinden improiitair, Burgesses of Edinburgh ; that forsamckill as cure Soveraiu Lord, with avise and 
consent of hi.s ryelit traist cousing James, Erll of Mortoun, Lord op Dalkeyth, Regent to hi.s Hienes, 
his realmo and lieges, has grantit us not onelie licence for imprinting of the Bybill, but als he.s causit us 
be avanceit of the pryces of a greit nownier of the same Byliillis afoirhand, for furthering of the werk, — 
and that be contributioun of parroohynnaris of the parroehe Kirkis, inbrocht and collectit bo the labouris 
and diligence of tlie ]jisehopj)is, Siiperintendentis, and Visitouri.s of the Dyoeeis and Cuntreis, according to 
ane ordour and aggrement maid betwix thanie and us, alluwit and aiithorizit be the Regentis grace. And 
in respect that the werk lies not yit takin etfect, in respect of the imjjcdimentis occurring, as alsua that — 
sen the conditioim making, the .souritie fund be me the said Alexander Arbuthnot is departit this lyff, — 
it lies plesit the Regentis grace yit to grant unto us tlie space of nync monethis following tire last day of 
Marche instant for wirking and performing of the said werk, within the (pdulk sjiace we liave promittit 
that the werk salbe accomplissit and the bukis dehverit to the debursaris of the said avancement and con- 
tributioun, conforme to the said aggrement ; — thairfoir to be bundin and obleist, and be the tennour heirof 
bindis and obleissis us, conjunctlie and severalie, as principallis ; David Guthrie of Kincaldrum, 
WiLLiAME Guthrie of Halkertoun, Williamb Rynd of Kerse, and James Arbuthnot of Lentusche as 
sourties, conjunctlie and severalie for nie the said Alexander Arbuthnot, and James Norwell Burges of 
Edinburgh, as souirtie for me the said Thomas Bassinden, our airis and executionris ; that wo sail wirk, 
and perfyte the said werk of imprenting of the Bybill dewdie and sutficientlie, within tlie said space of 
nyne monethis nixt following the said last day of Marche instant, and sail deliver the Bukis, bund in 
black and claspit, to the use of every parrochyn that lies avanceit and gevin the said eontributioiin for 
furthering of the said werk, howsone eftir the end of the saiJis nync monethis as we salbe re(]uirit be ony 
ano of the parrochyn, or ony uthor in name of the same havand tliair directioun to ressave the said 
Bybill, — but forder delay, fraude or gyle ; and in case of failye, sail rander and deliver the money ressavit 
be us, to every ane parrochyn tliair awin part and portiouii." 

This important historical bond was dated 18th March, 1575, and signed by all the persons 
named. 

A series of misfortunes overtook this Bible. On the 11th January, 1570-77, Alexander 
Arbuthnot complained that Thomas Bassinden was not executing the work with all possible 
diligence, aud^ stated that " he on na wayis will do the samyn without he be compellit, quhair- 
tbrow the said werk lyis ydill in the menetyme, to the gi-cit hurt of the commoun weill of this 
realme." The Privy Council ordered that Bassinden should at once hand over, not only that 
portion of the work which be had completed, but also his " prenting irons and necessaris appertening 



48 GILBERT AUCHINI.ECK — DAVID ROBERTSON. 

thairto meit for setting furthwart of the said werk." Even after the Bible was finished, great 
difficulty was experienced by the subscribers in obtaining the copies for which they had paid, 
and an action was raised against David Guthrie of Kincaldrum and the other sureties in 
1587 — nine years after the date of the bond — by Archibald Douglas, Messenger in Old 
Aberdeen, for 102 " Biblis bund in blak and glasspitt," which the deceased Alexander Arbuth- 
not and Thomas Bassinden had failed to deliver. Three years afterwards these Bibles had not 
reached their destination, and letters of horning were granted in 1590 against David Guthrie 
of Kincaldrum. The last trace of this notable Burgess of Dundee is under date 1592, and he 
appears to have been succeeded at that time by his eldest son ALEXANDER. 



1575. May 10th. 

GILBERT AUCHINLECK of that Ilk is made a Brother of the Guild, 

gratis. 

Gilbert Auchinleck is the first of that important family whose name appears upon the 
Roll. The Auchinlecks, or Afflecks, are first found in Ayrshire, and the branch of the family 
to which Gilbert belonged held lands in Forfarshire early in the fourteenth century. In 1296 
" Matheu LE Naper of Aghelek," supposed to belong to the Merchiston family, swore fealty to 
Edward I., and it is probable that the Napiers had dropped their patronymic and assumed 
their territorial name about the period referred to. 

The remains of the Baronial Castle of Auchinleck, which was built by the Gilbert whose name 
is here entered, are still in fair preservation. The name of Gilbert Auchinleck of that Ilk 
appears in the Register of the Privy Council, under date 19th April, 15G9, as complainer against 
two of the Ogilvies of Airlie, who had committed a " cruell and abhominabill murthour and 
slauchter" upon James Ramsay, tutor of the Lewis, within the Burgh of Dundee, and who had 
found refuge with Patrick, Lord Gray, and several of his confederates. The names of some of 
the family of AuCHiNLECK are entered on the Burgess-Roll of Dundee at a later date. 



1576. May 17th. 

DAVID ROBERTSON, Minister of the Word of God, is made a Brother 

of the Guild, gratis. 

The admission of David Robertson as a Burgess of Dundee is significant of the alteration in 
the religious history of the time. Like James Wichtand (vide page 29), he had been a Member 
of the Chapter of St Andrews previous to the Reformation ; but he must have abandoned his old 



JAMES SCRYMGEOUR. 49 

creed and adi)pted the tenets of the Reformers about 15G0, as in 1507 he was Protestant Minister 
of Tealing, and held that chargx; in conjunction with the curacy of Rossie in the Carse of Gowrie. 
On 12th October, 1570, he was presented to the Vicarage of Rossie by James VI., and the 
Chapels of " Inchesture and Kynnarde" were also put under his charge four years afterwards. The 
estimation in which he was held may be very accurately measured by the stipend which hi^ 
obtained. From Tealing he received one hundred merks (£5 lis. lid.); and from Rossie, 
Inchture, and Kinnaird, he had the unvisual sum of a hundred and thirty-three pounds six and 
eightpence Scots money (£11 2s. 9Jd.), with the Kirk-lands. In 1577 this stipend was aug- 
mented by Robert, Bishop of Caithness, in respect that " he hes seruit and servis at vther twa 
kirks of ours." He was translated from Rossie to the Vicarage of Inchture in 1585, and was still 
Minister there in 1588. The fact of his admission as a Burgess shows that he must have abjured 
the Romish creed when taking the Burgess-oath. His residence in Dundee is described in the 
" Rental! of the Master of the Hospitall" in these terms : — " Ye Land of Dauid Robertsoun, 
Minister, lyand on the north syid of ye Fluker-gaitt betwix ye land of THOMAS Duncan, 
mariner, on ye east, and ye land of ye aii-is of vniqle Thomas Symesoun on ye west pairtis." The 
date of his death has not been recorded. 



1576. February 6th. 

JAMES SCEYMGE(3UR of Dudhope, Constable of Dundee, is made a 

Bkother of the Guild, gratis. 

Sir James Scrymgeour of Dudhope succeeded his father, John Scrymgeour of Glaister, in 
1575 ; and as the latter had become the male representative of the Constables of Dundee, Sir 
James had that office confirmed to him. He took an important part in the municipal govern- 
ment of Dundee for more than thirty years after the date of his admission. He seems to have 
been a man of indomitable will, little scrupulous as to the means which he adopted to carry out 
his purposes; and for a long period he held the Burghers of Dundee in almost complete sub- 
jection. His name aj)pears with ominous frequency in the Register of the Privy Council, and 
complaints were repeatedly made to that august body by the numerous persons who suffered 
from his oppression. He regarded his office as Constable as giving him free licence to control 
the Burgh according to his own pleasure, and he not infrequently confined those who resisted his 
authority within the dungeons of Dudhope Castle. On more than one occasion he was denounced 
as a rebel for refusing to obey the orders of the Privy Council, but he succeeded by some means 
or other in regaining their favour, and retained his position unchallenged. 

The first grave dispute which Sir James Scrymgeour had with the Burgh had reference to 
his rights over the annual fairs, as detailed in early charters to the Constables of Dundee. These 

h 



60 JAMES SCRYMGEOCR. 

rights were very extensive, aud put a serious limit upon the trade of the Burgh. As the power 
of the Burgesses increased, they naturally resisted the imposition of dues and conditions which 
hampered their trade, and were clearly obsolete; but the Constable would suffer no diminution of 
his heritable rights, and asserted them by the most violent means. He thrust himself into office 
as a Bailie of the Burgh, in hopes thus to accomplish his purpose, and but for the foresight and 
courage of Provost Haliburton he would doubtless have carried out his design without opposi- 
tion. During the few last years of Hali burton's Provostship, Scrymgeour was kept within 
reasonable limits, but after old age had compelled the PROVtjsT to resign, the Constable suc- 
ceeded in obtaining that honourable post, and dominated the Burgh without let or hindrance. 

Despite his turbulence, his public services to Dundee were not inconsiderable. He sat as a 
minor Baron in the Conventions of 1.594, 1597, 159S (twice), and 1604, and he represented 
Dundee in the Parliaments of IGOO and 160-5, and Forfarshire in 1605 and 1607. The great 
mistake of his life was his joining with the Gowrie party in 1582, and for this action he was 
banished from the three Kingdoms. He fled with some of his companions for refuge beyond the 
Tweed, disregarding the futile attempt made by King James VI. to e.xile him from England and 
Ireland, over which that Monarch had then no control. Four years afterwards (in 1586) he 
returned to Scotland, and succeeded in ingratiating himself once more with the King ; and when 
Haliburton resigned his Provostship, he was appointed to that important post. He formed one 
of the band of noblemen despatched to Denmark for the purpose of arranging the marriage of 
King James with the Princess Anne, and though he was not privileged to accompany her 
home to Scotland, he received the honour of knighthood from the Sovereign when that mission 
was finally accomplished. At a later date, whilst .still Provost of Dundee, he was selected as one 
of the Commissioners from Scotland appointed to bring about the complete Union of the 
Crowns, and seems to have enjoyed the especial confidence of King James in this matter. 
In 1583 the Town Council refused to accept the Earl of Craufurd as Provost of Dundee, 
at the dictation of the King ; but they were not so fastidious with reference to Sir James 
Scrymgeour. On two occasions — in 1604, and again in 1606 — the King wrote letters direct- 
ing that Sir James should be elected and continued in his office, and though some of the 
craftsmen attempted to resist these orders, they were ultimately obeyed. He last appears in 
the position of Provost in 1609. His formal retour as heir to the Constableship was not made 
np till 15th December, 1610, aud it seems as if he had completed this legal form so as to secure 
the estates to his son, and thus place the rights of the latter beyond question. He died in 1612. 
By his marriage with Margaret, daughter of Sir Robert Carnegie of Kinnaird, he had one 
son. Sir John Scrymgeour of Dudhope, who was afterwards Viscount of Dudhope, and direct 
ancestor of the first Earl of Dundee. The admission of Sir John as Burgess of Dundee took 
place on 23rd September, 1599. 



MAfilSTER ALEXANDEK WEDDERIiURN. 51 



1582. May 8th. 

Which day Magisteh ALEXANDER WEDDEKBURN is made a Burgess of 
THE Guild, by reason of the Priyilege of his Father, Alexander 
Wedderburn, Town-Clerk of Dundee. 

The early history of the Weddeuhukn family ha.s been brieHy sketched in relation to the first 
entry of one of its members upon the Burgess-Roll, under date 1514 (vide page i;3). Allusion Ls 
there made to John Wedderburn of Tofts, who was the first of a succession of Towu-Clerks in 
Dundee bearing the same name. John died circa 1583, and was succeeded by David Wedder- 
RURN, his sou, who filled the same public office. In 1535, David Wedderburn and his wife 
Helen, daughter of Robert Lawsoun of Humbie, purchased from the Abbot and Monastery of 
Lindores the half of the lands of Hiltoun of Craigie, Coimty Forfar, and the charter was confirmed 
by James V. in 1538-9 [Rc<j. Mmj. Sly. Juc. V. 1913]. They also obtained possession, by purchase 
of the Mains of Huntly, from Patrick, Lord Gray, in 1542, and ten years afterwards they acquired 
from the same nobleman another portion of the lands of Hiltoun. It is stated by Douglas 
(Baronage of Scotland, p. 279) that David Wedderburn died in 1590, and that his son 
Alexander succeeded him in the ottice of Town-Clerk. But from the above entr}-, as well as 
from other documents in the Charter-room of Dundee, it is clear that Alexander Wedderburn 
was Town-Clerk in May, 1-582. The genealogy of the Wedderburn family given b}' Douglas is 
evidently incorrect, as he omits entirely all mention of an Alexander Wedderburn of Tofts, 
who intervenes betwixt David Wedderburn and the first Alexander, who was Tow^l-Clerk, 
and who, therefore, was David's grandson. Alexander Wedderburn of Tofts was married 
to Janet, daughter of James Myln of Drimmie, and was the father of the Town-Clerk who 
became the first Baron of Kingeuuie. 

Alexander Wedderburn, the Town-Clerk, was one of the most eminent of the East Country 
Barons of his time. It was he, acting under the instructions of Haliburton, who drew up the 
Roll of Burgesses in 1581, and it is to his industry and unsparing zeal that we owe the preserva- 
tion of the earliest records of the Burgh of Dundee now in existence. Like the other members 
of his family, he studied at St Andrews University, and took his degree as Master of Arts there. 
For some time before he succeeded to the office of TowTi-Clerk he practised as a Notary Public in 
Dundee, and many of the charters prepared by him during this period are still extant. His capacity 
as an administrator of public affairs drew the attention of King James VI. towards him, and he 
was frequently employed by that Monarch upon missions and embassies of considerable import- 
ance. It is stated by DouGLAS that " he accompanied him [the King] up to England, anno 1G03 ; 
and, when he was about to return to Scotland, His Majesty' took a diamond ring off his finger 
and gave him it as a token of friend.ship, which is still [1798] preserved in the family." 

In IGOO Alexander Wedderburn acquired the Barony of Kingennie, in Forfarshire, which 



52 MAGISTER ALKXAXDER WEDDERBURN. 

afterwards became the chief territorial possession of the ftxmily. By his marriage with HELEN 
Ramsay of Brackmout, in Fifeshire, he had four sons and three daughters, the eldest being that 
Magister Alexander Wedderburn whose admission as a Burgess is here recorded. The first 
WEnDERBURN of Kiugeunie died, it is said, in 1618, and was succeeded by his eldest son and 
namesake. He had represented Dundee in eight Conventions between 1585 and 1609, and had 
taken an active part in the important labours of the Convention of Royal Burghs during the long 
period of his term of office. His house stood on the south side of the Nether-gait, a little to 
the west of Crichtou Street ; and when it was removed recently some of the mural and plafond 
decorations were found intact. 

The Alexander Wedderburn whose name is at the head of this notice also served the 
Burgh and the Nation as MeDiber for Dundee, with credit to himself and to his birthplace. He 
was appointed Commissioner for the Regulating of the Weights and Measures of Scotland, under 
the Act of Parliament passed in 1618 ; and represented Dundee in the Conventions of 1612, 1618, 
1621, and 1628 to 1633. Some of his biographers assert that he died in 1625, but the Parlia- 
mentary Returns plainly show that he was Member for Dundee eight years after that date. By 
his marriage with Magdalen, daughter of John Scrymgeour of Kirkton, he left a son and 
daughter, the former of whom succeeded him as third Baron of Kingennie. 

James Wedderburn, the younger brother of the last-named Alexander, had obtained 
through his father, the gift of the office of Town-Clerk in event of his fatbei-'s decease, and for 
some time he exercised the functions, but his ill health caused him to provide a substitute in 
1627, and he died, it is stated, in 1633. He had been bred as a merchant in Dundee, and tilled 
.some important posts in the Burgh, besides being Town-Clerk. He was married to Mary, 
daughter of James Goldman, one of the leading merchants in Dundee at the time (vide page 38), 
and from him descended the AVedderburns of Blackness and the Wedderburns of Gosford, two 
families whose members were long connected with the progress of the Burgh. 

The three sons of Alexander Wedderburn of Tofts and Janet Myln all attained to 
eminence in their various vocations. The eldest son, Alexander of Kingennie, has already been 
referred to. James, the second son, was born in Dundee in 1585, and removed to Oxford at an 
early age, for the purpose of completing his studies. In 1631 he became a Prebend of White 
Church, in the Diocese of Wilts, in England, but shortly afterwards he was appointed Professor of 
Divinity in S. Mary's College, St Andrews. When Bishop Bellenden was translated from the 
See of Dunblane to that of Aberdeen, Professor Wedderbltrn was called to occupy his place, 
and was consecrated Bishop of Dunblane on 11th February, 1636. He was not suffered long to 
remain in this office. The famous General Assembly, held at Glasgow on 13th December, 1638, 
boldly abolished Prelacy throughout Scotland, and BiSHOP Wedderbltrn, in common with all his 
Episcopal brethren, was deposed from his office and excommunicated. The reason given for this 
extreme measure was the allegation that Wedderburn " had been a confidential correspondent 
and agent of Laud, Archbishop of Canterbury, in introducing the new Liturgy and Popish cere- 
monies." Wedderburn fled for protection to his patron. Archbishop Laud, but did not long 
survive his deposition. He died in England on 23rd September, 1639, in the fifty-fourth year of 
his age. He was buried in the Cathedral Church of Canterbury, within the Chapel of the 
Virgin Mary there, the memorial stone over his grave bearing the following inscription : — 



MAGISTEK ALEXANDER BEATOUN. 53 

" Revcrt'iiih'tisiiiiUf! in CJirisfu 

Pater Jacohns Wedderhurims, Taoduii! 

In Scotia natug, 

Sacclli Re(jii Ibidem Deeanus. 

DiiriiJilinientiiff Scdis per annos IV. Episrojius : 

Atitiqme probitatis et fidei : 

MaijuiiiDque ob excellentem Dodrinam ; 

Patrice sua' ornarneiititm." 

[To the most revereml futlier in Christ, James Wedderbukn, born iu DimJee, Scotlaml, Dean of 
the Chapel Royal there, Bishup of the See of Dunblane for f(jur years, faithful and upright as those of 
oil], superior and excellent in doctrine, and an ornament to his country.] 

John Wedderburn, younger brother of the Bishop, was educated as a physician, and rose 
to eminence in that profession. His reputation as a mathematician was so great that he was 
appointed Professor of Mathematics in the University of Padua. This honourable post he filled 
for some time, but he ultimately resigned it, and spent the remainder of his life in the practice of 
medicine at Brinth, in Moravia. Tiie names of other members of this notable family appear on 
the Burgess-Roll at a later date. 



1582. May loth. 

Which day Magister ALEXANDEE BEATOUN, Archdeacon of Lothian, 
IS MADE A Burgess and Brother of the Guild, for his Counsel and 
Services to the Commonweal of the Burgh, gratis, in absence. 

Alexander Beatoun (sometimes erroneously styled Archibald) was the second son of 
Cardinal Beatoun and Marion Ocjilvy, daughter of Lord Ogilvy of Airlie. His predecessor 
in the office of the Archdeanery of Lothian was his uncle, Walter Beatoun, brother of the 
Cardinal ; but before Alexander succeeded, the Reformation had been accomplished, and the 
Archdeacon had become a functionary of the Protestant Church. The family connection of 
Alexander Beatoun with Dundee was a very intimate one. Four of his aunts — sisters of his 
father — were married to important baronial families in the neighbourhood : one to SiR WiLLlAM 
Graham of Fiutry, another to John Graham of Clavorhouse, a third to Moncur of Ballumbie, 
and a fourth to Strachan of Carmyllie. The connection of his mother's family, the Ogilvies of 
Airlie, with Dundee has already been frequently referred to. The precise services that had been 
rendered to the Burgh by the Archdeacon to entitle him to the freedom of the Guild have not 
been described; nor is the date of his death recorded. He was living, however, in IGOl, and had 
then two sons, John and Archibald, who were concerned in some of the Fife risings of that 
period (Register of Pr'tvy Counc'd, Vol. VI.). The Archdeacon held the estate of Carsegownie, 
in Fife, for some time. In 1584, whilst he administered the office of Archdeacon of Lothian, 



54 DAVID WEDDEKBURNE. 

a portion of the revenues of that ecclesiastical dignity were conferred upon the uewly-fouaded 
University of Edinburgh, the official himself resigning a large part of his income for the laudable 
purpose of fostering education in this manner. He was the ancestor of the Bethi'XES of Tarvit, 
who afterwards acquired Kilcouquhar by jiurchase and Wormiston by marriage ; and he is now 
represented by John Trotter Bethune, tenth Earl of Lindsay. 



1582. May 15th. 

Which day DAVID WEDDERBUENE, Son of Alexander Wedderburne, 
Common Cleek to the Burgh, is made a Burgess and Brother of 
the Guild, by reason of the Privilege of the said Alexander, his 
Father, who is a Burgess and Brother of the Guild ; Accidents 
gratis. 

The name of this David Wedderburn, son of the Town-Clerk, does not appear in any of 
the publLshed genealogies of the family ; but the fact that it is inscribed on the Burgess-Roll in 
its true chronological place, by the hand of the father himself, is conclusive evidence of his exist- 
ence. The entry, moreover, makes it possible to identify a David WEUDERiirRX, whose name 
occurs in the Register of the Privy Council, under date 1604. D.WID was probably the youngest 
of the four sous of Alexander Wedderburn, Town-Clerk of Duudee, and first Baron of Kin- 
gcnnie. Alexander, the eldest son, carried on the line of tiie family. James, the second son, 
succeeded to the office of Town-Clerk, as has been explained {vide page 52), and was progenitor 
of the Wedderburns of Blackness. John, the third son, attained a very eminent position at 
the Court of Charles I. He studied at St Andrews University, and, like his uncle and name- 
sake, chose the profession of medicine, in which department he rapidly won great reputation. 
He was appointed Physician to the King, was knighted by him, and received a pension of £2,000 
Scots (£166 13s. 4d. sterling) for life from Charles I., that grant being confirmed to him by 
Charles II. In 1646, Sir John Wedderburn was incorporated as a member of Oxford 
University, ujjon the recommendation of the Chancellor, who thus wrote regarding him : — 

" He is one of His Majesty's Physician.s in Ordinary, and a gentleman of known learning, and of vast 
experience. He was originally a Professor of Pliilcsophy in the University of St Andrews, but that 
being too narrow a place for so great a person, he left it, travelled into various countries, and became so 
celebrated for his great learning and skill in physick that he was the chief man of his country for many 
years for that faculty. Afterwards, he received the honour of knighthood, and was highly valued when 
ho was in Holland with the Prince in 1646-7. At length, though his infirmities and great age forced him 
to retire froip publick practice and business, yet his fame contracted all the Scottish nation to him ; and 
his noble liospitality and kindness to all that were learned and virtuous, made his conversation no less 
loved than his advice was desired." 



FRANCIS, EARL (IF liOTHWEIJ, — HERCULES STEWART. 55 

Sir John left no family at his death, and a large portion of his great wealth came to his 
nephew. Sir Peter Wedderburn of Gosford. His library was giveu as a legacy, together with 
a large sum of money, by his will to S. Leonard's College, St Andrews ; and the esteem with 
which he was regariled by the members of that institution is indicated in a letter of thanks for 
this gift, addressed by the Principal and four Professors of the University to Sir Peter, in July, 
1679. Referring to this "noble donation," the writers proceed thus: — 

" We cannot biit ackiKiwlcilge it the greatest of tliat nature that ever liath been made by any man to 
iuiy colledge in tlie Kingddine ; and yet we must, in justice to liim, say that we have no more but himself, 
restored witli this disadvantage ; that (wlledge now only possesseth in many dead volumes what it enjoyed 
in one living man ; when he, in bis younger years adorned his profession tlierein by his singular pietie, 
prudence, and bis other eminent endowments, whereby he was also an ornament to this Uuiversitie, as lie 
hath ever since Ijecn an honour to his country. As he .spent his life in making others live, so at his death 
he hath not only cdntributed liis endeavours to restore his languishing mother to that vigour which may 
enable her to lu'ing forth sui_-h children as may, in some measure, resemlile him, but also given so great an 
example as (we wish) may be as nuicb imitated as this is admired." 

David Wedderburn, the fourth son of the Towx-Clerk, whose name is entered here on 
the Burgess-Roll, was a merchant in Dundee, but took little part in public life. Of the three 
daughters of the Town-Clerk, the eldest, Elizabeth, was grandmother to the famous Sir 
George Mackenzie of Rosehaugh, and superintended his early education in Dundee ; whilst 
the second, Agnes, was married to HaliburtoN of Gask and Pitcur, and was grandmother of 
Agatha Haliburton. Couxtess of Morton. 



1583. May 11 th. 

Which day FRANCIS, EARL of BOTHWELL, LORD of HAILES and 
CRICHTON, LORD LIDDTSDAIL, Lord High Admiral of the King- 
dom OP Scotland, is added to the number of the Citizens of Dundee, 
FOR HIS Labours in the Service of the Town of Dundee. 



The same day HERCULES STEWART, Brother of the said Francis, Earl 
AS aforesaid, is given the Liberty of the Town of Dundee, gratis. 



Francis Stewart, Earl of Bothwell, is accurately described by Professor Masson (Reg. 
Privy Council, Vol. IV., p. GIO, a.) as " one of the strangest and altogether most unintelligible 
personages in Scottish history." He was a grandson of James V., his father having been John 



56 FRANCIS, EARL OF BOTHWELL— HERCULES STEWART. 

Stewart, Prior of Coldingham, a natural son of the King by Elizabeth, daughter of Siu John 
Carmichael, Captain of Craufurd. His mother was Jean Hepburn, sister and sole heiress of 
hiT brother, the infamous Earl OF BOTHWELL, who became the third husband of QuEEN Mary ; 
aiul it was through the intercession of his mother, in 15S1, that he succeeded to the estates and 
offices which had formerly belonged to her brother, and had fallen to the King after Bothwell's 
forfeiture. In Burke's Extinct Pcernfje, p. -'lO, it is stated that Francis Stewart was created 
Earl of Bothwell in 1587; but this date is manifestly wrong, as his name appears in the Lockit 
Book of Dundee in May, 1.583, under that title; and from the Register of the Privy Council, it 
api^ears that he sat as a member of that body in 1578, and is styled in the Sederunt Franciscus, 
Comes de Botkuile. 

It is not possible, within reasonable limits, to do more than merely glance at the career of 
this ver\' prominent political leader, as it is found in the public archives of the time. His 
relatioushiiJ to the King — he was his full cousin — had early made him a favourite, and he might 
have retained his position at the Court and risen to eminence but for the ambition which 
ultimately wrought his downfall. The success which had attended the plots of his uncle, the 
Regent Moray, probably tempted him to join with Provost Haliburton of Dundee and many 
others in the enterprise known in history as "the Raid of Ruthven," in August, 1582; but he 
had succeeded in obtaining the King's pardon for his share in this action, and at the very time 
when he was entered as a Burgess of Dundee he was preparing to accompany the King upon a 
royal progress through Fife. It was whilst the KiNG was at Falkland Palace at this time that 
he managed to throw off the yoke that had been imposed upon him by the " Ruthven Raiders," 
and the Earl of Bothwell, in common with several of his confederates, was ordered to remain 
at his own dwelling, under pain of being denounced as a rebel. Two years afterwards (1585) he 
was again restored to favour, and appointed as one of the noblemen deputed to quell the dis- 
turbances on the Border. His life for several years after this time was a constant fluctuation 
betwixt treason and pardon, honour and disgrace. When the Treaty of Union between QuEEN 
Elizabeth and King James for the defence of the Protestant Religion against the Catholic 
League, was made, he was the principal Commissioner from Scotland charged with this duty ; but 
he was one of the foremost to demand a declaration of war against England when the news 
of Queen Mary's execution reached the Scottish Court. In 1588, he led an expedition 
to the North Isles, for the purjaose of protecting the fisheries there against the encroachments 
of foreign pirates ; and immediately after his return he was directed to make prejmration, 
as Lord High Admiral of Scotland, to intercept the projected Catholic invasion known as 
the Spanish Armada. The hopes of the Romanist party in Scotland were dimmed, but not 
extinguished, by the wreck of " that great fleet, invincible ;" and by working upon the deadly 
animosity which Bothwell cherished against England, the leading Catholic nobles — the Earls 
OF HuNTLY, Errol, and Craufurd — induced the Lord High Admiral to join them. But 
for the personal regard which the King had fur him, he would certainly have suffered for his 
teachery and apostasy in this matter. His treason, however, was repeatedly forgiven, and even 
when he was taken hi arms against the King, he was merely warded in the Castle of Edinburgh, 
under a very imperfect guard. There was one crime that King James could not forgive — the 
crime of " consultation with nygromanceris, witcheis, and utheris wickit and ungodlie personis, 



DAVID, EARL OF CRAUFURD, LOUD LINDSAY. 57 

bayth without and withiu this cuutre, for bereviiig liis Hieiies lyft'," -^nd several of tlie witches, 
whom the King had tried in person, had accused Both well of having conspired with them ; and, 
as he had broken out of prison and fled, rather than endure a trial, he was declared a rebel, and 
his title and estates were forfeited to the Ci'own, in 1591. From this time forward he never 
regained the Royal favour, and beca.me the open enemy of his kingly cousin. Twice he attempted 
to seize the persons of the King and Queen — at Falkland and at Holyrood — and on both occasions 
his plot miscarried. He fled for refuge to the North of Scotland, seeking the protection of the 
Earl of Huntly ; but he was jjursued so closely by his enemies that he became a wanderer 
throughout Scotland, a special proclamation declaring that all who should reset or assist him in 
any way were to be punished as if they had been guilty of the most heinous crimes. He escaped 
to France, and though the French King refused to deliver the fugitive to the emissary whom 
King James had sent specially to that country to demand his extradition, the unfortunate Earl 
was compelled to fly to Spain, for some misdemeanour committed by him at the French Court. 
Thence he went to Naples, and died there, in extreme poverty, in 162-i. By his marriage with the 
Lady Margaret Douglas, eldest daughter of the seventh Earl of Angus, he left three sons 
and three daughters. The line of Francis, the eldest son, has long been extinct ; and the present 
representative of the Hepburn and Stewart Earls of Bothwell, is Charles E. F. Stirling 
of Glorat, Bart., who is descended from the second son, John Stewart, Prior of Coldinghani. 
John Stewart, the second son, was admitted a Biirgess of Dundee, on 2nd September, 1G20. 



Hercules Stewart, whose name is entered on the Burgcss-Roll, was a natural brother of 
Francis, Earl of Bothwell, and adhered closely to him during all his turbulent career. After 
the forfeiture of the Earl, the vengeance of the King fell upon Hercules Stewart, and he was 
denounced as a rebel, " for certaine tressounabill practicis and couspiraceis," on 9th January, 
1593-4. Though he was fortiuiate enough to escape for some time from his enemies, he was at 
last captured and brought to trial, and he, with one of his servants, was executed at the Mercat 
Cross of Edinburgh, on the ISth of February, 1594-5 — the very day upon which sentence of 
excommunication was pronounced against his brother, the Earl, by the General Assembly. 



1583. October IGth. 
Which day DAVID, EARL of CRAUFURD, LORD LINDSAY, is added to 

THE NUMBER OF THE CiTIZENS OF DuNDEE, BECAUSE HE IS SoN AND HeIR 

OF THE Noble and Potent Lord, David, Earl of Craufurd, who 

HAS HAD THE FREEDOM OF THE BuRGH BESTOWED UPON HIM. 

David Lindsay, eleventh Earl of Craufurd, was the son of David, tenth Earl of 
Craufurd, Provost of Dundee, and of Margaret, daughter of Cardinal Beatoun. The career 
of his father has been briefly referred to under date 23rd September, 1565 (vide page 42). The 

I 



o8 DAVID, EARL OF CRAUFURD, LORD LINDSAY. 

elevtMitli Eakl, whose name is here recorded, was born in 1552, and succeeded his father in 1574. 
He is described as having been " ane princely man, but a sad spendthrift ;" and his life, from the 
time of his accession till his decease, was a stormy one, even for that unsettled period. Three 
years after he succeeded to the title, a strange accident happened, which threw a cloud over all 
his subsequent career. For a long time before this period a feud had existed between the 
families of Craufurd and Glamis. In 1577-iS, whilst Lord Glamis was Chancellor, and was in 
attendance upon the King at Stirling Castle, he happened one evening, in March, to meet the 
Earl of Craufitrd in a contracted passage, called the Schoolhouse-Wynd, where there was 
barely room for tlie attendants of the two noblemen to pass without jostling each other. At this 
time both Craufurd and Glamis were adherents of the same political party, and knew that it 
would be dangerous for them to give way to their personal animosity, and they sought to restrain 
themselves, and to meet each other with cold politeness. But before their followers had passed, 
some trivial offence had been given by obscure members of the trahis, and ere either of the 
leaders could interfere, their servants had drawn their weapons and were engaged in a sanguinary 
conflict. Various accounts have been given of this skirmish, and though, as might be expected, 
these do not agree precisely as to the minuter incidents, the fatal result is the same in all 
versions. A stray shot from a pistol struck the Chancellor Glamis, and he fell on the causeway 
niortallv wounded. Although it was alleged that this shot was fired by Craufurd himself, no 
sufficient proof was ever offered of this statement ; but, in accordance with the custom of the 
time, he was held responsible for the actions of his followers. The old family feud was revived 
with increased virulence, and the King was at length compelled to interfere. The Earl of 
Craufurd was apprehended upon a charge of murdering Lord Glamis, but, after a brief deten- 
tion he was set at liberty, and shortly afterwards he left tlie country and journeyed to France 
and Italy. He returned to Scotland towards the close of 1581, and was received again into the 
King's favour. Strenuous efforts were made by KiNG James to bring about a reconciliation 
betwixt Craufurd and the fiimily of Glamis, but with only partial success. The Earl's long 
residence abroad, in company with the Earl OF Huntly, had made him incline towards the 
Romish creed, and this made him even more acceptable to the King. Several of his relatives 
were placed in offices of trust at the Court, and his conduct in enabling the King to throw off 
the yoke of the Ruthven i^arty was amplj' rewarded. 

The entry of the Earl of Craufurd's name on the Burgess-Roll of Dundee is of historical 
importance. The King unquestionably regarded the Burgh as the principal seat of the "Ruthven 
Raiders," with whom Provost Haliburton had been closely associated. When that party was 
broken up, therefore, it was the King's purpose to deprive them of all civic power, and to place 
nominees of his own in public offices. Accordingly, in October, 1588, Sir Robert Bowes, the 
English amliassador, in one of his letters to QuEEN Elizabeth, states that the King wrote to 
the Magistrates of Dundee, " commanding them to elect and take Craufurd to be their Provost, 
albeit they had chosen their own Provost to be still continued in his office." It thus strangely 
appears that a second attempt had been made at this time to supersede Provost Haliburton, 
and that by forcing into his place the son of that Earl of Craufurd who had formerly been 
thru.st upon the Burgh. On this occasion, however, the Earl was unsuccessful, and he came no 
nearer his end than being received as a Burgess, not for special services done by him, but in right 



MICHAEL BALFOUR — MAGISTER THOMAS RAMSAY. 59 

of his father. Provost Haliburton remained in cjffico till 1586, desjiite the King's resentment, 
and then resigned the post he had so greatly adorned fur thirty-three years. 

The later portion of the Earl of Craufurd's turbulent career need not here be related in 
detail. He declared himself the ally of the Catholic Earls of Huntly and Errol, and took 
part with them in the insurrection at the Brig o' Dee, in 1587, for which offence he was 
imprisoned. On his i-elease he rotm'ued to France, and remained there till IGOl, when he caine 
back to Scotland, and took up his principal residence at Lordscairnie, in Fife. He died there on 
22ud November, 1G07, and his botly was brought to Dundee, and buried in the family vaidt within 
the Howfif. He was twice married : tir.stly, to LiLlAS, daughter of Lord Drummond of Stobhall, 
and secondly, to Lady Grizel Stewart, eldest daughter of Johx, fourth Earl of Athol. His 
son, David Lixdsay, succeeded him as twelfth Earl of Craufuru. 



1583. October Ifith. 

Which day MICHAEL BA.LF(JUPi of Monquhany is made a Brother of 
THE Guild, by reason of the Privilege of his Father. 

Michael Balfour was the eldest son of Andrew Balfour of Monquhany, whose entry as a 
Burgess is recorded under date 29th March, 1565 {vide page 41). He predeceased his fiither, and 
his son, Michael, succeeded Andrew Balfour, the grandfather, and was served heir to him in 
1592. The present representative of this ancient family is David Balfour, Esq. of Balfour and 
Trenabie. Other members of Andrew Balfour's family were made Burgesses of Dundee at a 
later date. 



1583. March 9th. 

Which day Magister THOMAS RAMSAY, Schoolmaster, is given the 
Freedom of the Burgh of Dundee, by reason of the Privilege of 
his Father, David Ramsay, Baker, who is a Burgess and Guild 
Brother of the said Burgh ; Accidents gratis. 

The family to which Magister Thomas Ramsay belonged were highly distinguished in the 
annals of the Burgh. His father, David Ramsay, was the second Deacon of the Baker Craft 
whose name has been preserved, and was appointed to that office on S. Clement's day (22nd 
November), 1555. On more than one occasion the meetings of the Craft were held in the house 



00 MAGISTER THOMAS RAMSAY. 

of Deacon Ramsay, which stood " on ye nortli syid of Argyllis-gait," near the Buri;il Wyud, or a 
little to the east of the corner of Barrack Street aud the Over-gait. David Ramsay's eldest son, 
David, succeeded to his fother's occupation, and is described as " David Rahesay, Zounger, 
baxter," in 1580. Thomas Ramsay was designed for the Church, and was educated at S. 
Leonard's College, St Andrews, where he took his degree of Master of Arts ; aud he received the 
appointment as Master of the Grammar School of Dundee, in succession to Thomas Makgibbon, 
in 15G7. During the time of his predecessor, serious disputes had arisen regarding the instruc- 
tion of the children of Roman Catholic parents by a declared Protestant like Makgibbon ; but 
the interposition of the civic power of the Provost and Magistrates had settled these divisions, 
and under Thomas Ramsay's superintendence the Grammar School became a mo.st important 
institution. The estimation in which he was held by his fellow-citizens is shown by a curious 
entry in the Lockit Book of the Baxter Craft, which is in these terms : — 

" lOtli April 1577. — (jhiliilk Jay, iu preseuce of ye Deacone, Maystri.s, aud ConsuU of ye Craft, Tliir 
followiiig, Mayster Thomas Ramsay, Mayster pf ye Scliole, and Mayster Pateick Galloway, minister at 
Forgeune aud Fowillis, soues of Mayster.s of ye Craft, ar acceptit aud ressaifit in ye liberties of ye Craft, 
tuiching all ye .preiwlegis yairof, and in speciall quhensour and quhen at any tyme ye saidis p-sones 
pleasis to mak yair leiviug and baik, it is to be lesum, wtout ony impedmet of vs pres^ or to cum, &c. ; 
and ye saidis p-soues lies uphaldiu y^ hand be ye faith and trewtli of yair bodies, itc." (Sec Warden's 
Burgh Laws of Dundee, p. 24-1.) 

Patrick Galloway, the son of the Dundee baker, who was thus nuxde a Master of the Baxter 
Craft along with Thomas Ramsay, afterwards became Minister of Perth, Chai)lain of the King's 
Household, and Moderator of the General Assembly. Ramsay continued bis labours as School- 
master of Dundee for some time after this period, and was made a free Burgess of the Burgh, 
according to the Roll, in 1.5S3. 

Whilst he held this office, the educational requirements of the Bm-gh dimanded increased 
scholastic accommodation, as the temporary place within S. Clement's Church, which had been 
used after the destruction of the Schoolhoiise by the English in 1-548, was found ipiite inadequate 
for the numerous scholars. Accordingly, towards the close of 1588, the Town Council " devysit 
that void place at the back of the Weigh-house in S. Clement's Kirkyaird to be the maist com- 
modious quhairupon to big aue common school ; (pdiilk they ordainit to be biggit with all guidlie 
diligence." " The Grammar School then erected," writes Mr Maxwell (Old Dundee, p. 92), 
"was a plain aud substantial building of two stories, which contiuued to serve its purpose until 
near the end of last century, when another house was built in S. Mary's Churchyard, at the lower 
end of Kirk W}-nd, thenceforth known as School Wyud. The building in S. Clement's Wynd 
was then appropriated as a house for the Town Guard, and after the Police superseded that body, 
it was used as offices for them and as a Magistrates' Court-room." 

Thomas Ramsay did not long remain Master of the new School, as he was appointed Minister 
of luchture in 1589, succeeding David Robertson, another Burgess of Dundee, to wdiom refer- 
ence has been made {vide page 48). Inchture had been separated from Rossie and Kinuaird 
before this time, and, after serving the fiist of these charges for two years, he was transferred to 
the second, Rossie, in 1591, and remained there till his death, on 1st October, 1594. His widow. 
Christian Rutherford, and his son and two daughters, survived him. 



MAGISTER JOHN CHRYSTESOUN — LUDOVIC, DUKE OF LENNOX. 61 



1583. March 9th. 

Which day Magister JOHN CHRYSTESOUN, Minister of the Word of 
God at Innergowrie, is made a Burgess and Brother of the Guild, 
FOR the sum of Ten Pounds, paid to the present Treasurer [David 
Zeman] ; other Accidents gratis. 

John Chrystesoun first appears as Reader at Dunfermline, from 1570 to 1574'. Two years 
Jifter the latter date he was entered as Minister of Logie, Dundee — a Church which, before the 
Reformation, had belonged to the Abbey of Scone. On his entrance, the Churches of I.iff and 
Invergowrie were also placed under his charge, and the latter seems to have been regarded as the 
most important of the three, as he is designated Minister of Invergowrie in the Burgess-Roll. 
He retained his triple office till 1608, and died shortly after that date, leaving a widow, Bessie 
Keir, and one son, William. He was succeeded by John Duncane, from Lundie Parish, who 
also had the three Churches under his care. The Parishes of Logie, Invergowrie, and Liff were 
united by the Commissioners of Parliament in 1613; but for some time after the death of John 
Chry'STESOUN, the Parson of Dundee had chai-ge of the spiritual affairs of the Church of Logie. 
He must not be confounded with William Chrystesoun, the first ordained Minister of Dundee, 
who was living at the time of the admission of the Minister of Invergowrie as a Burgess of 
Dundee. 



]586. October 4th. 

LUDOVIC, DUKE of LENNOX, LORD of DARNLEY, TORBOLTON, and 
DALKEITH, is added to the number of the Citizens of Dundee. 

LuDovic Stewart, second Duke of Lennox, was the eldest sou of Esme Stewaet, Lord 
DAuBiGNY, and grandson of the famous JoHN, Lord D Aubigny, Captain of the Scots Guards in 
France, and Governor of Avignon. His father, EsME Stewart, was full cousin to Henry, Lord 
Darnley', the husband of QuEEN Mary, and had been invited to Scotland by his near kinsman. 
King James VI., in 1579, where he soon became the most powerful nobleman of the period, being 
created Duke of Lennox in 1581. By the Raid of Ruthven the influence of Esme Stewart over 
the young King was suddenly terminated, and he was forced to fiee to France, where he died in 
1583. LuDOViC, his eldest .son and successor, was born on 29th September, 1574', and was thus 
only twelve years of age when he was made a Burgess of Dundee — a fact which confutes the 
prevalent idea that all Burgesses must be of age before their admission. Unlike his father. 



62 JOHN, LORD HAMILTOy. 

LrDu\'ic liad shown some leaning towards the Gowrie party, and this may have induced Provost 
Haliburton — then aLdut to retire from civic life — to endeavour to secnre his adhesion to the 
remnant of the " Ruthven Raiders," by conferring upon him the freedom of a Burgh so deeply 
pledged to support that political party. The plan was so far successful, as the DuKE OF Lkxnox 
afterwards married Sophia, daughter of William Ruthven, Earl of Gowrie, and thereby 
temporarily reconciled the King to the family of that unfortunate nobleman. This connection 
with the locality was made closer by the fact that a large portion of his revenues at this time 
was obtained from the Abbey of Aberbrothock and the Monasterj^ of Lindores, a considerable 
part being ujDlifted from Dundee. 

Tlio Duke of Lennox rose to great eminence at the Court of King James. He was made 
Chamberlain of Scotland and Lord High Admiral, and was sent as ambassador to Henri IV. of 
France. When the King went to London, to assume the Crown of the United Kingdom, he was 
accomjDanied by the Duke, who so distinguished himself there that he was created Earl of 
Richmond in 1013, and Earl of Newcastle and Duke of Richmond in 1023. Whilst in 
England he was made Master of the Household and Fii'st Gentleman of the Bedchamber — two 
offices reserved at that time for the principal favourites of the King. He did not long survive his 
last accession of dignity, as he died on 16th February, 1624'. He was thrice married, but left no 
legitimate issue. His English honours thus became extinct, and his Scottish dignities devolved 
upon his only brother, Esme Stewart, who became third Duke of Lennox. 



158G. October 4th. 

Which dav JOHN, LORD HAMILTON, is added to the number of the 

Citizens of Dundee. 

The admission of John, Lord Hamilton, as a Burgess of Dundee at this time is a fact full of 
political significance. It shows how completely the position of parties had been reversed by the 
turning of the capricious wheel of Fortune during the preceding twenty years. Lord Hamilton, 
an ardent adherent of the Romanist party under Queen Mary, and himself the Heir-pre.sumptive 
to the Throne of Scotland, is here seen swearing to support the true — meaning the Protestant — 
religion, and to be a dutiful subject of the King, whom he had regarded as an usurper, and in 
whose name he had been exiled for many years from his native land. 

John, Lord Hamilton, was the second son of James, second Earl of Arran and Duke 
OF Chatelherault, who is known in history as the " Governor Arran," having been chosen 
Regent of Scotland on the death of James V., and made guardian of the infant QuEEN Mary. 
James, the eldest son of the Governor, had sought the hand of the Queen when she came to 
Scotland in 1.561, but his violent opposition to the Romish creed had compelled her to decline 
the proposed alliance, and the unfortunate nobleman, disappointed by her refusal, had become a 



JOHN, LORD HAMILTON. 63 

raving maniac. Hence, whou tlie GovEKXOU Ahran died in 1575, his eldest son was declared to 
be insane, and incapable of succeeding to the estates, and these were placed umler the charge of 
his brother John, Lord Hamilton, who thus became practicallj- the foremost of the Scottish 
nobility. As his father, the Governor, had been declared Heir-presumptive to the Throne 
in 1543, Lord John Hamilton was nearest to the Crown, and would have succeeded had 
James VI. died without issue. When the church-lands were virtually secularized by the appoint- 
ment of laymen to ecclesiastical offices, he was made Commendator of the Abbey of Aberbrothock, 
with the title of Lord Arbroath; but his connection with the Earl of Huntly and the party 
opposed to the Regent.s Moray and Lennox was punished by his denunciation as a rebel, and 
by the forl'eiture of this valuable benefice. When the Earl of Morton entered upon the office 
of Regent one of his first acts was the drawing up of the " Pacification of Perth," in February, 
1572-3, whereby the Hamiltoxs and the other leaders of the Marian Party were pardoned for 
their offences. Seven years later, however (1579), Morton found it expedient to revive the 
charge against Lord John Hamilton and his brother. Lord Claud, of being concerned in the 
assassinations of the Regent Moray and his successor the Regent Lennox, and both these 
noblemen were compelled to fly for their lives to England. According to Spottiswood, "the 
Lord John Hamilton, jroiuo- on foiJt throuoh the most part of England, in tlie habit of a sea- 
man, fled into France," whilst his brother remained with some of his relatives in the northern 
parts of England. The Castles of Hamilton and Draff'en were besieged and captured by the 
Regent Morton and the Earl of Angus, and all the possessions of the Hamiltons were 
confiscated. 

Tlie policy of Ql^een Elizabeth at this time required that she should keep King James 
entirely under her control. She held his mother, QuEEN Mary, a close captive in her grasp, and 
she welcomed to her Court the exiled supporters of that captive, and all the discontented noble- 
men who had been banished from Scotland, so that she might turn them loose upon that coimtry, 
should the King show the least signs of indeijendence. Lord John Hamilton, in his two-fold 
aspect as a supporter of QuEEX Mary and a possible claimant to the Scottish Throne, was a 
most valuable ally for QuEEX Elizabeth, and he was treated accordingly. Finding it convenient 
for her to break with KiXG James, Elizabeth sent the banished Scottish Lords — Lord John 
Hamilton, the Earls of Angus and Mar, and the Master of Glamis — to Berwick in October, 
15X5, for the purpose of invading the King's territory and capturing his person at Stirling Castle. 
They advanced, with their forces, from Berwick to Falkirk, and thence to St Ninians, within a 
mile of Stirling, where they encamped, and, after a slight skirmish, took possession of the town 
and castle. The rapidity of their movements terrified the King, and, though on 29th October 
he had issued a proclamation denouncing them, on the 4th of November he not only pardoned 
their offences, but dii-ected that the leaders should be " nominat, electit, and chosin" to be 
Members of the Privy Council. Immediately afterwards the Hamiltons had their estates 
restored to tiiem, and Lord John was made Keejier of Dunbarton Castle, which formed the 
key to the West of Scotland. From that time forward till the period of his death. Lord John 
Hamilton was the most prominent noble at the Scottish Court. 

Apart from the political reasons, there was a very special personal motive inducing the 
Burgh to enrol Lord John Hamilton as a Burgess in October, 1586. At the Convention of 



64 ROBERT CrXXINGHAME. 

Estates, held at Holyrood House on 25th September precediDg, in which Lord John took a 
leading part, an important dispute had been decided betwixt the Burghs of Perth and Dundee. 
The " peir, bulwark, schoir, and bavin" of Dundee had been exposed to tempestuous weather, and 
had " becum ruyuous and likelie to decay," and the Provost, Bailies, Council, and Connniuiity had 
obtained a letter under the Privy Seal, authorizing them to levy a " towst and exactioun" from all 
ships using the harbour for the space of five years. The burghers of Perth objected to pay this 
imposition for the repair of a harbour which they admitted they used, contending that their own 
necessities were well known, and that they had more need " thameseltfis of sic exactionis to 
supporte the commuun workis of theii- owne burgh, mair requisite to be bett and helpit nor the 
porte and heavyn of Dumlee." James Scrymgeoure of Dudhope, the new Provost, attended by 
four Bailies and the Treasurer, appeared before the Privy Council to defend the action of Dundee, 
and obtained a full confirmation of the right of taxation that had been conferred upon the Burgh. 
In this matter it is probable that they had obtained valuable support from Lord .John HAMILTON, 
as the name of that nobleman was eni-ollcd in the Lockit Book immediately after the return of 
the Provost. 

The career of Lord John Hamilton after this date need not be here detailed. For many 
years he was closely associated with LuDOVic, Dltke of LenX(ix, in the government of the 
country, and was created Marquess of Hamilton, together with Huntly, who was raised to 
the same rank with him, at the baptism of the Princess Margaret, on 17th April, 1599. 
He died 12th April, 1G04, and was succeeded by his only son, James, second Marquess of 
Hamilton. He was married to Margaret, daughter of John, Lord Glamis, and widow of 
Gilbert, fourth Earl of Cassilis. 



15S6. October -ith. 

Which day EGBERT C'UNNINGHAME, Captain of Dunbaetane, ls given 
THE Freedom of the Burgh of Dundee. 

The position of Dunbarton Castle, commanding the entrance to Scotland by the Clyde, made 
it an important post from early times ; nnd the office of Constable of this fortress had always been 
regarded as a responsible one. During the supremacy of the Gowrie party, it had been entrusted 
to John Cunninghame of Drumquha.ssil, and when their power was broken he became one of the 
first victims, being seized, along with Douglas of Mains, and executed as a " Ruthven Raider." 
James Stewart, Earl of Arran, had placed William Stewart, one of his own retainers, in the 
Castle as Captain ; but when the banished Scottish Lords returned, and Arran's power was over- 
thrown, Lord John Hamilton became Constable of Dunbarton Castle, and appointed Robert 
Cunninghame as Keeper. The name of the latter was probably inscribed on the Burgess-Roll 
at the retiuest of Lord Hamilton, though that fact is not recorded. Robert Cunninghame 
continued to occupy this office till 1591, at which time his name disappears from history. 



GEORGE, EARL MARISCHAL. 65 



1587. March 7th. 



Which day GEORGE, EARL MARISCHAL, LORD KEYTH, &c., is added 
to the number of the citizens of dundee, for his multifarious 
Labours and Assistance to the Commonweal of the said Burgh, 
IN presence. 

The name of George Keith, fifth Earl Marischal, is one of the most memorable of the 
time in which he flourished. He was the eldest son of William, Lord Keith, and of Lady 
Elizabeth Hay, daughter of the sixth Earl of Errol, was born in l')5o, and succeeded his 
grandfather as fiftli Earl Marischal, on 7th October, 1581, his fixther having expired before that 
time. The family from which he was descended had held the dignified post of Great Marischal 
of Scotland from the time, it is said, that Malcolm II. invested their ancestor with the oflfice iu 
1010; and the Earl whose name appears here on the Burgess-Roll of Dundee was the seven- 
teenth in direct descent from that remote dignitary. When he succeeded to the estate, on the 
death of his grandfather, he was said to be the wealthiest man in Scotland ; and as he had 
resided for several years abroad, and had spent the early period of his life iu companionship witli 
many of the most learned men of his time, he had also the more durable reputation of being 
" an unusually learned and accomplished young man." Whilst at Geneva, he had been the pupil 
of the eminent Theodore Beza, and had profited by his acquaintance with the most eminent 
Scotsmen of that learned time. In 1582 and 1583 he sat as a Member of the Conventions of 
Estates, and took part in the principal General Assemblies of the Kirk ; but ho had succeeded 
in keeping himself aloof from the two great parties of Lennox and Ruthven, which then 
contended for supremacy. 

When George, Earl Marischal, came to his title, the nobles of Scotland were seriously 
divided by private feuds, as well as political i'actious, and it was with difficulty that the yciung 
Earl could decide upon the best course to be pursued. His liberal education made him incline 
towards union rather than division, and it was therefore with much pleasure that he took part 
in a famous historical scene enacted in Edinburgh two month.s after his enrolment as Burgess 
of Dundee. On the 14th of May the King endeavoured to reconcile the noblemen who were 
then opposed to each other, by inviting them to a magnificent bancpiet, which is thus described 
by Calderwood: — 

"Upon Moonday, the 15th of ^lay, after supiier, the King cume from tlio I'alai'e of Ilalyrooilhous to 
the Ca.stell of Edinburgli ; from that to the Tolbuitli, and relieved the prisoners warded for debt ; from 
thence to the Mercat Croco, where a long table wa.s set furni.shed with bread, wyne, ami .sweetmcates. 
The Croce was covered witli tapestrie, and upon it the trumpeters blowing and tlie musicians singing. 
The King, in presence of the multitude, draiike to the nobilitie, and every lord drankc to another. The 
gibbets at the Croce were broken down with the fire-balls and fire spearcs ; the gla.sses, with wyne and 
sweetmcates, were cast abrod in the streets, and from the fore staires. They went back to the Palace in the 
same order as they came up — the King, with my Lord Ha.mmilton on the right hand and the iSecretau 

K 



66 (;Ef)RGE, EARL MARISCHAL. 

on the left ; tlie Uukk (ok Lennox) and Lord Claud (Hamilton) in othris hands hcforo the King ; 
Amgus and Montrose in hands, Huntly and Marshall, (,'ra\vkurd and tlie IMaster op Glames, likewise. 
In the nieantyme the cannons of the Castell thundered." 

In this memorable procession there were no less than four Burgesses of Dundee, all of the 
foremost rank ; though the Earl Marischal — the latest on the Roll — was the possessor of the 
greatest landed estates. " Lord Marischal," it is said, " could enter Scotland at Berwick, and 
travel, in the leisurely style of those days, through the country to John o' Groat's House, and 
never need to take a meal or a night's rest off his own lands" (Dotnestlc Annula of Scotland, I., 
p. 310). It was this wise and opulent nobleman that James VI. sent to Denmark in 1589 
for the purpose of negotiating the marriage of the King of Scotland with the Princess Anne. 
Robert Keith, uncle of the Earl Marischal, had obtained the valuable lands of the Abbey of 
Deer, Aberdeenshire, with the title of Lord Altrie, in life- rent to himself, and in fee to his 
nephew, the Earl ; and when Lord Altrie died, without male issue, in L593, the Earl Marischal 
entered into possession of the estates. His literary tastes led him at this time to devote a large 
portion of his immense wealth to the founding of Marischal College, Aberdeen, which .still 
remains as a lasting monument displaying his love of letters. The charter of foundation was dated 
2nd April, 1.593. The Earl was appointed Royal Commissioner to the Scottish Parliament in 
1G09, and took a most active share in the government of the kingdom, from the time of his 
first appearance in the Privy Council, in 1583, till the close of his life, in 1(j23. 

George, Earl Marischal, was twice married; his first wife being Margaret {ob. 1598), 
daughter of Alexander, fifth Lord Home, by whom he had one son, William, his successor, 
and two daughters. His second wife was MARGARET, daughter of James, si.xth Lord Ogilvy of 
Airlie, who had two sons, James Keith of Benholm and John Keith. The treatment which the 
E.4RL Marischal received at the hands of Lady Margaret Ogilvy, his second wife, is shown by 
a curious document preserved in the Advocates' Library, Edinburgh (Analecta Scotica, I., 'p. 171). 
It is in the form of a Royal Warrant, by James VI., in favour of William, sixth Earl Marischal, 
dated 22nd August, 1624, and addressed to the Chancellor, Sir George Hay o( Kinfauns, and 
the Privy Council, and is in these terms : — 

" James E. 

Kight trustie, and li.ght weil-belouit counsellor, Kight tnistie and weil-belouit coosenis 
and counsellors, and riglit tru.stio and weil-belouit counsyllors, We greet you weill. Whereas upon our 
certane knowledge of ths; unkynde, ingrate, and insolent behavior of the late erle merchcllis wyfe to hir 
lord and husband, who, with hir sone benholm, the laird thorntonn, and uthcris, Ijcsyde other indignities, 
had in a thifteous manner robbed the said erle of wryttis, money, plate, furniture of his house. 
We out of the regarde we had to the memorie of that man, who had alwayes to oure contentment served 
ws at home and abroade in greatest charges, and to prevent heirefier in otheris the following of so euill a 
precedent, wer pleasit to recommend to you that business : And becaus a great pairt thairof wes clandestine 
and night-worke, we willed you to call before you and examine sik persones as the erle marschall and our 
advoeat suld give up to you : And whereas we ar informed that in a later letter under our hand we have 
schawin to you that it wes not oure pleasure nor meaning in ony former letteris to hurt the said lady 
marschell or ony other persone ; These ar now expreslie to mak it knowin to you that we nether gave 
directioun to insert ony sik clause in oure letteris, nether at the putting of oure hand to the samen did tak 
liead thairto, nor never meant ony sik favour to hir who hath so ill deserved of one, for whose sake we 



JAMES LAWSOX — GEORGE BALFOUR. G7 

wer only to respect hir ; Ami to will auil reipiyre you to prueeiil in the said aetion according to tlic tenour 
of oure first letteris against all persones persewed for the saidis factis, as ye will schaw your readdines to 
obey our cominandenientis, and zeal to sic sik barbarous deidis condignelie punisched. Gewin at our 
court of Hanwell, the twentie twa day nf August the yeir of god I™.vi': and twenty foure yeiris." 

This unique docuuient uot onlj' proves that the Kixo held George, Earl Marischal, in 
higli respect, but also shows the nefarious arts practised upon the Monarch in his declining years, 
in procuring his signature to warrants which he had not perused. Besides the portrait of this 
eminent Burgess of Dundee which is preserved in Marischal College, Aberdeen, there is a very 
interesting bust portrait of him at Craufurd Priory, Fife, which bears the following in.scriptiou : — 
" George, V. Earl Marischall of Scotland, Founder of Marischall College ; oh. 1623. ^tat 70." 



1.587. March 7tl). 

Which day JAMES LAWSON, Laird of Humby, is added to the numbeb 
of the citizexs of dundee, at the request of the noble lord the 
Earl Marischal. 

The name of Lawsox dates from the beginning of the fourteenth century ; and the first 
Lawsox of Humbie known to history is WiLLLiM, who was served heir to his father iu that 
estate iu 1406. From him descended Helex Law.sox, the wife of David Wedderburx of 
Tofts, and ancestress of the families of Kingennie and Blackness, so long connected w'ith Dundee. 
James Lawson, whose name is here entered on the Burgess-Roll, was derived from the same 
stock, and was the associate of many of the principal nobles of his time. His death took place iu 
1611, under very peculiar and lamentable circumstances. It is thus recorded by Calderwood 
(History of the Kirk of Scotland, vol. VII., ji. IGJ):— 

"About the 24th of September, Sir James Lawsonb of Humbie, rydiug in Eakalvie Sands, where 
manie other gentlemen were pa.ssing their time, sunk down in a part of the sands and perished. He was 
found againe on the morne, but his Imrs was never seene." 



1588. February 4th. 
Which day GEORGE BALFOUR, Prior of the Charterhouse at Perth, is 

ADDED TO the NUMBER OF THE CiTIZENS OF DuNDEE, FOR HIS CoUNSEL 

AND Help in Public Affairs ; Accidents gratis, in absence. 

George Balfour was the fifth son of Andrew Balfour of Monquhany, wliose entry as a 
Burgess is recorded under date 29th March, 1.565. He may have obtained the valuable post of Prior 
of the Charterhouse, Perth, through the influence of his elder brother. Sir James Balfour of 



68 GEORGE BALFOUR. 

Pittondreich, and he was tlie first secular holder of this office after the Reformation. The Car- 
thusian Monastery, or Charterhouse, at Perth, was founded by James I. in 1429, that Monarch 
having obtained authoi'ity from the Superior of the Order three years before. This Monastic Order 
had been founded circa lO.SO, by Bruno, a Canon of the Cathedral of Rheims, who had settled 
with some com23anions at La Chartreuse in the Alps; and from this first colony sprang the 
widely-spread sect of the Carthusians, whose places of residence in various lands took the name of 
Chartreuse — corrupted into Charterhouse — from their original seat. " It was the custom," writes 
R. Scott Fittis (EccU^iaHtical Annals of Perth, p. 317), "to denominate the branch establish- 
ments of the Carthusians by distinctive titles : thus, the Charterhouse of London was ' The House 
of the Salutation of the Mother of God;' that at Ingilby, in Yorkshire, was 'The Mount of 
Grace ;' and the one at Perth was ' The House of the Valley of Virtue,' evidently because it was 
placed in the great valley of the Tay." Between the date of the foundation of this Priory and 
the time of the Reformation the names of thirteen Priors are found recorded, the last of these 
being Adam Forman, who entered upon that office in 1-546. It was his fate to witness the 
violent abolition of his Order, and the destruction of the magnificent building which King 
James I. had founded, and within which his mutilated body had been buried after his assassina- 
tion. The fabric has been described in extravagant terms, as being an adaptation of the 
perfections of all similar structures : — 

" For greatness, beauty, stateliness so fair, 
In Britain's isle, was said, none might compare." 

Prior Adam Forman, however, had not the art of conciliation ; and when the storm of the Refor- 
mation burst upon Scotland, the Priory of the Charterhouse was demolished on 11th May, 1.5.59, 
by that "raskail nudtitude" which, inflamed by the eloquence of John Knox, had already destroyed 
the Church of the Black Friars, and the Monasteries of the Franciscans and Carmelites at Perth. 
The Prior was forced to flee, and found refuge for a time at Errol; but the rent-rolls of the 
Priory were too tempting to be allowed to remain in his possession after the Reformation. He 
made several attempts to retain them during the reign of QuEEN Mary ; but they passed entirely 
beyond his control in 1570, at which time George Balfour was appointed Prior of the Charter- 
house. 

From the fragments of his history wdiich are preserved in authentic documents of the time, he 
appears to have been of a very turbulent character. His brother, SiR James Balfour, had gained 
a high place amongst the Lords of the Congregation by many dubious practices, and it seems pro- 
bable that George Balfour had obtained his position as Prior of the Charterhouse by his aid. 
The very first appearance of George Balfour's name as Prior, on 1st March, 1572, is as conjoint 
security with his brother, Gilbert Balfour of Westray, for another brother, Robert Balfour, 
Burgess of Dundee, who was then imprisoned for .some undescribed misdemeanour. In 1.5S0 
George Balfour himself was imprisoned in Edinburgh Castle, and brought to trial for treason, 
but was afterwards liberated on bail. When the Privy Council sat in Dundee, on 9th June, 1.580, 
under the presidency of the Earl of Athol, George Balfour tendered his father, his brother 
Gilbert, and other three Barons, as security that he would appear to underlie the law, " for 
making, forging, and countarfuting of certane fals and adulterat money, and outputting and 



JOHN, EARL OF MAR. 69 

exchanging of the same amangis our Soveraue Lordis liegis at divers and sindrie tymes." No 
trace of the result of this charge has been found, and it is probable that it was abandoned, as the 
Prior retained his office, and appears on the Burgess-Roll of Dundee eight years afterwards with 
that designation. That he was on intimate terms with several of the Burgesses of Dundee at this 
time is proved by the fact that some of them became security for liim in a dispute which he had 
with a few neighbouring proprietors, some months after his own admission as Burgess. About 
this time he demitted his charge, and it seems then to have been bestowed upon his brother, SlR 
James Baleour of Pittondreich, who had been Prior Conimcndator of Pittenweem. His name 
appears in several documents after this period as "late Prior of the Charterhouse, Perth;" but no 
trace of iiim is found after 1599. The office was afterwards filled by another and more eminent 
Burgess of Dundee, Georce Hay of Nether Lifif, first Earl of Kixnoul, whose name was entered 
on the Burgess-Roll on 12tli October, 1600. 



1589. April 15th. 

Which day JOHN, EARL of MAR, LORD ERSKINE, is given the Free- 
dom OF THE Burgh of Dundee, for his Aid and Multifarious Services 

DONE FOR THE COMMONWEAL OF THE SAID BURGH. 

John Erskine, seventh Earl of Mar, was the only son of the Regent Mar, and of Anna- 
BELLA, daughter of SiR William Murray of Tullibardine, from whom the Duke of Athol 
claims descent. He sticceeded to the title on the death of his father in 1572. His part in the 
history of his time was very similar to that of many of the Burgesses of Dundee who were 
enrolled about this period. He was a " Ruthven Raider," and was banished witii his comrades 
■when the Gowrie party was broken up. When Lord John Hamilton returned to Scotland in 
the manner already described [vide, page 62], the Earl of Mar accompanied him to Stirling, 
and was pardoned and restored to kinglj' favour. During the remainder of his life he was one of 
the pi-incipal members of the Privy Council, was made Keeper of Stirling Castle, and was 
entrusted with the guardianship of the young Prince Henry, the Heir-apparent to the Scottish 
Throne. When the King went to London, after the death of Queen Elizareth in 1603, Mar 
accompanied him, and was made a Member of the Privy Council of England, and invested with 
the Order of the Garter. 

The political life of the Earl (W Mar may be read in the histories of his time, and need not 
be detailed in this place ; but there was one incident in his career not to be found in such works, 
and which may well be recorded here, as it bears upon the municipal customs of the period. It 
was the settled purpose of James VI. to obtain control over the burghs of Scotland, by placing 
his o^vn nominees at the head of each important municipality. His unsuccessful attempt to force 



70 SIR ARCHIBALD STRIVELIXG. 

the Eahl of Craufurd upon tlio Conunnuity of Dundee as Provost in 1583, to the exclusion of 
the venerable James Haliburton, who had served them so long, has been referred to already 
[vide page 58]. No punishment was visited upon Dundee for this contumacious refusal to obey 
the King's dictates ; but the Burgh of Montrose was not so successful. Ou 2:3rd October, 1599, 
Robert Lichtox, Provost of Montrose, two Bailies, ten Councillors, and the Town-Clerk of that 
Burgh, were all summoned before the Privy Couueil, to answer a complaint that they had "dis- 
obeyed a charge by His Highness to elect Johnne, Earl of Mar, to be Provost of the said 
Burgh for this year." After they had been heard in their defence, the King and Council decided 
against them for refusing to elect the Earl, and " for useing of a pretendit forme of electioune 
of thaii- awue," and the fourteen hapless offenders — the entire Corporation of Montrose — were 
ordered to be imprisoned in the Castles of Blackness and Doune during His Majesty's pleasure. 
The Earl of Mar was twice married — firstly, to Anne, second daughter of David, Lord 
Drummond, and sister of the wife of David, eleventh Earl of Craufurd [vide page 59] ; and 
secondly, to Lady Mary Stewart, second daughter of Esme, Duke of Lennox, and sister of 
LuDOVic, Duke of Lennox [vide Y>age CI]. The names of two of Earl of JIar's brothers-in- 
law were inscribed on the Burgess-Roll of Dundee before his own. John Erskine, the only son 
of the first marriage, succeeded him, and is now represented by the present Earl of Mar. Two 
of the sons of the second marriage were the ancestors of the Eaels of Buchan and the Earls 
OF RossLYN. The Earl of Mar died on 14th December, 1634. 



1589. April 15th. 
Which day SIR ARCHIBALD 8TRIVELING of Keir, KxiaHx, is added to 

THE NUMBER OF THE BUKG ESSES OF DuNDEE. 



The Stirlings have held the estate of Keir without interruption since the middle of the 
fifteenth centur}', but they can trace their descent, in an unbroken line, from an ancestor who lived 
three hundred years before that time. In the course of this long term of years many of the 
Lairds of Keir distinguished themselves in the history' of the country, and Sir Archibald 
Stirling, whose name is here recorded, did not disgrace his ancestry. 

Sir Archibald Stirling was the son of Sir James Stirling, by liis second wife, Jean 
Chisholm, who is described in her Marriage Contract as " Cousigness to William Chisholm, 
Bishop of Dunblane." This Contract is dated 5th March, 1542, shortly before the celebration of 
the ceremony. Sir James Stirling of Keir died at Cadder, on 3rd February, 1588, and liis Will, 
which was made a few months before his death, contains a very peculiar reference to his eldest 
son, Archibald. After making provision for his widow, and entrusting her to the care of that 



ANDREW WOOD. 71 

son, he adds: — "As to my couiisdl quliow AROiiiiiALi) nail n'owcrue himself, or quhais companev 
and counsall he sail use, I refer that to his avvin wisdouie, for I hoip in his judgment." 

Sir Archibald Stirling was Keeper of Stirling Castle under the Earl of Mar, and this 
accounts for the fact of his name apj)eariiig on the Burgess-Roll of Dundee beside that of his 
patron. Whilst acting in this capacit)', it was his lot to take part in a curious historical incident. 
When King James went to England in 1G03, he was accompanied by the Earl of Mar, and that 
nobleman left the charge of the young Prince Hen'rv to his mother, the Dowa(jer Countess of 
Mar, and to Sir Archibald Stirling, as Captain of Stirling Castle. Queen Anne had been left 
at Dunfermline Palace, and, in the absence of her hu.sband, she thought she might visit her eldest 
son, the young Prince, whom .she had not seen for several years. For this purpose she went t<i 
Stii-ling, and appeared with her train of noblemen before the Castle, and demanded admission. 
But the Countess and Siu Archibald obstinately refused to grant her access, and she was 
compelled to withdravv. This repulse caused her so much disappointment and chagrin that she 
gave birth prematurely to a still-born child, and her life at that time was despaired of Despite 
this untoward accident, the KiNG exonerated SiR ARCHIBALD STIRLING from his share in the 
incident. 

Sir Archibald was knighted by James VI. before \5^)'I, and represented Stirling.shire in the 
Conventions of 1617, 1G21, and 1625. He was married firstly to Mary, youngest daughter of 
David, Lord Drltmmond, and was thus brother-in-law of the Earl of Mar ; his second wife 
was Grizel, daughter of James, Lord Ross, whose children founded the families of Stirling 
of Kippendavie and Stirling of Garden. The line of Stirling of Keir is now represented by 
Sir John Maxwell Stirling-Maxwell of Keir and Pollok, whilst the junior branch survives 
in the person of Patrick Stirling, Esq. of Kippendavie and Kippenross. Sir Archibald 
Stirling died in 1030, and was succeeded by his grandson, Sir George Stirling of Keir, 
Knight. 



1589. April 15th. 

Which day ANDREW WOOD of Largo i.s added to the number of the 

Burgesses of Dundee. 

The Woods of Largo were intimately connected with, if not immediately derived from, the 
family of that name in Angus, which held for a long period the lands of Bonniton and of Craig. 
The most renowned member of the Largo branch was its original founder, the famous Admiral 
Sir Andrew Wood, the faithful servant of James III. and James IV., whose brilliant naval 
services were rewarded by the former Monarcli with the gift of the lands of Largo, which his 
■descendants retained in their possession till the beginning of the seventeenth century. There is 



72 ALEXANDER HUME. 

a tradition tiiat tlic town residence of the Woods of Largo in Dundee stood on the south side of 
the Vault, at the foot of S. Clement's Lane, and it is probable that this was the place where the 
Admiral lived when he brought the captured English privateer, Stephen Bull, with his ships, 
to the harbour of Diuidee, in 1490. 

Andrew Wood of Largo, whose name is here inscribed on the Burgess-Roll, was the great- 
grandson of the Admiral, and was born circa 1557. His father died in 1579, and he had already 
obtained a position in p>d)lic affixirs before he succeeded to the estate. In 1581 he was appointed 
Comptroller, ami retained that office for sis years after that date. Whilst holding that post be 
had found it necessary to expend a large portion of his own means for the purpose of sustaining 
the dignity of his master, the King ; and when he retired from his place it was found that the 
King was due him no less than seven thousand pounds, a large portion of which he had procured 
by bonding his own private estate. A letter under the Great Seal, in which this debt is acknow- 
ledged, declares that, " as no present occasion offers for repaying the said debt, Andrew and his 
heirs shall have full power to hold the barony of Largo, notwithstanding of it being so pledged." 
At a later date he had confirming charters of many of his possessions in Fife and Forfar, but he never 
recovered from the pecuniary difficulties into which his loyalty had led him, and his descendants 
were ultimately compelled to dispose of the lands which the Admiral had obtained for his naval 
services. Andrew Wood endeavoured to secure some fragments of the estate for his own chil- 
dren, though his efforts were not very .successful. The exact date of his death is not recorded, 
but it probably took place about 1612. He married Elizabeth Lundy, a member of an old 
Fifeshire family, and left three sons and three daughters. The direct line of the family terminated 
with his eldest .son, who bore the same name as himself His descendants have held numerous 
properties in various parts of Angus, though their estate of Largo has long since been dissijiated 



1589. Arril loth. 

Which day ALEXANDER HUME of North Beravick is given the 
Freedom of the Burgh of Dundee. 

Sir Alexander Hume of North Berwick was the second son of Patrick Hume of Polwarth, 
and played a distinguished part in the political history of the reign of James VI. He obtained 
the dominical lands of North-Berwick in 1562, by purchase, from his younger sister, Margaret, 
who was the last Prioress of the famous Convent of North-Berwick. In October, 1580, he was 
appointed one of the twenty-four Gentlemen of the Chamber selected by the King as " having 
moyen to leif on thair awin, and being kuowin to have bene afifectionat to his Hienes sen his 
birth ;" and in the following month he was despatched on a mission to the Court of QuEEN 



WILLIAM LUNDIE. 73 

Elizabeth to concert with her some means of suppressing the tumults on the Borders. This 
duty was accomplislied satisfactorily, and the Privy Council declared after his return that ho had 
" trewlie, honestlie, and diligentlie pcrformit and dischargeit his charge and devoir in the maters 
committit to his credite." He took part with Provost Haliburton of Dundee in the " Raid of 
Ruthven," to which allusion has been so often made in this volume ; and it is very evident that 
it was his association with the leaders of that exploit which caused his name to be enrolled 
among'st the Burgesses of Dundee in 1589. Sir Alexander sat as a Minor Baron in the 
Convention of 1.j90, and as representative of Edinburgh in 1593-4. He was Lord Provost of 
Edinburgh from 1593 to 1596, and was a faithful attender of the meetings of the Privy Council 
whilst he was a member of that powerful body. It is usually stated that he died " before June, 
1608," but as he is referred to as " the late Alexander Hume of North-Berwick" in a Charge to 
the Sheriff of Roxburgh in December, 1599 (Register- of the Privy Council, Vol. VI., />. uS), the 
date of his death must have been at least nine yeai-s earlier. His po.sition on the Burgess-Roll of 
Dundee is another proof that that Burgh was regarded as the principal seat of the party known 
in history as thi* " Ruthven Raiders," even after the death of Provost Haliburton. 



1589. April 15th. 

Which day [WILLIAM] LUNDIE of that Ilk is added to the number of 

the Burgesses of Duxdee. 

The family of Lundie of that Ilk settled in Fife in the middle of the twelfth century, Philip 
OF LuNDix having obtained the lauds of Lundie from Malcolm IV. circa 1150. At the Refor- 
mation Walter Lundie of Lundie (oJ). 1569) joined the Lords of the Congregation; and his son, 
William, whose name appears here on the Burgess-Roll, was a prominent member of the 
Protestant party. He was born in 1522, his mother being a daughter of Lord Lindsay. By 
his marriage with Christian, daughter of the second Lord Ruthven, he was intimately con- 
nected with the Gowrie family, and seems to have adhered to them through all their varied 
fortunes during the reigns of QuEEN Mary and James VI. William Lundie died in 1600, aged 
seventy-eight, and was succeeded by his eldest son, John. The present representative of the 
family is the Lady Clementina Elizabeth Heathcote-Drummond-Willoughby, Baroness 

WiLLOUGHBY D'ErESBY. 



74 PATRICK, LORD tiRAY— GILBERT URAY— GILBERT GRAY— WILLIAM GRAY. 



1589. January 13th. 

Which day PATKICK, LORD GRAY, is added to the number of the 
Burgesses of Dundee, by reason of the Privilege of his Father, 

THE LATE PATRICK, LoRD GrAY ; AND ALSO, BECAUSE OF HIS MANY 

Services to the Commonweal of the Burgh of Dundee, the Freedom 
OF THE said Burgh is given to him. 



The same day GILBERT GRAY of Bandirrane, Brother of the said noble 
Lord, is added to the number of the Burgesses of Dundee. 



The same day GILBERT GRAY of Mylnhill, Son of the aforesaid noble 
Lord, is given the Freedom of the Burgh. 



The same day WILLIAM GRAY, Son of the said noble Lord, is added 

TO THE number OF THE BuRGESSES OF THE SAID BuRGH. 



Patrick, sixth Bakon Gray of Gray, was the grandson of Gilbert Gray of Buttergask, 
who was enrolled as a Burgess on 3rd October, 1513 [vide page 11]. The present entry implies 
that his father, Patrick, fifth Baron Gray^ also enjoyed that privilege, though no record of his 
admission has been preserved. The sixth Baron Gray was closely connected with Dundee, not 
only through his ancestor, Lord Gray, Provost of the Burgh, in 1513 [vide page 9], but also 
through his mother, who was a daughter of James, Lord Ogilvy of Airlie. His marriage with 
Barbara, fourth daughter of William, Lord Ruthven, made him an associate with the party 
of the latter, and linked him with several of the most powerful families in the Scottish nobility. 
After his accession to the estate and title, on the death of his father in 1582, he was suspected of 
favouring the Jesuits, but the terms of his oath as a Burgess of Dundee, taken seven years after-' 
wards, would preclude all support of Romanism. Besides the two sons mentioned here, Lord 
Gray had another son, Andrew, whose name appears in the Burgess-Roll under date 28th 
October, IGOl ; whilst his eldest son and successor was that Patrick, Master of Gray", afterwards 
seventh Baron Gray, who appears in history as a miracle of political intrigue and duplicity. It 
was the latter who was sent as ambassador to the Court of England to petition for the release of 



DAVID SCKYMGEOURE. 75 

Queen Mary, but who used his position for the purpose of encompassing the destruction of that 
unfortunate captive. 

From a curious entry in the Acta Cautionis (Register of the Privy Council, Vol. F.,p. 071), 
it appears that a Commission was issued by the Privy Council in 1596, ordering the Provost 
and Bailies of Dundee to besiege and capture " the houses of Huntlie, Fowlis, and [Broughty ?], 
belonging to Patrik, Lord Gray, and Patrik, Master of Gray," who were then charged with 
treason ; but tlie Commission was afterwards suspended. A still more mournful entry is that 
which occurs in the Register of the Privy C'ouncU on 3rd April, 1607, .showing that Patrick, 
Lord Gray, had " havelie complenit" to the King that his son, the Master of Gray, had 
notonly brought his wife and fxmily into the House of Gray, " consuming thairby all that 
mean portioun that he had reservit for his awne mantenance," and violently taken possession of 
the father's revenue, but was also " preising verie nnnaturallie to accelerat his faderis gray hairis 
to the grave with sorow," by removing all his " auld servandis and domesticques," and bringing in 
others " whose service noway gevis tiie auld man ony contentment." The King ordered that the 
Master should be removed from the House of Gray, but shortly afterwards (1609) the old Lord 
Gray expired. 



1.589. January 13th. 

Which day DAVID SCRYMGEOURE of Fardill is added to the number 
OF the Burgesses of Dundee, by reason of the Privilege of his 
Father, the late James Scrymgeoure of Reidgorthine. 

The relationship of the Scrymgeours of Fardle with the Constables of Dundee has been 
explained with reference to the admission of James Scrymgeour in 1526 [vide page 19]. In 
the confirming charter given by Queen Mary, in 1565, to James Scrymgeour of Dudhope, by 
which all the possessions and emoluments of the Constabulary were ratified to him, James 
Scrymgeour of Fardle is nominated as fourth in succession to the office and estates, whilst 
James Scrymgeour of Kydgond (Reidgorthine) is placed sixth heir to the title. In the 
twenty-four years which intervene betwixt the dates of that charter and the entry on the 
Burgess-Roll serious changes had taken place. David Scrymgeour, son of the Laird of Reid- 
gorthine, had succeeded to the estate of Fardle, and was thus brought two stejDs nearer the 
Constabulary. Of his own career little is known. He must have died before September, 1594, 
as at that time the Laird of Fardle was James Scrymgeour, whose name appears frequently in 
the history of Forfarshire up till 1606. The old mansion of the Fardle family, to which reference 
has been made [cnte page 19], must have been in the possession of David Scrymgeour at the 
time of his entry as Burgess of Dundee. 



76 JAMES OGILVIE — MAGISTER WILLIAM FERGUSON. 



1580. January 13th. 

Which day JAMES OGILVIE of Balfouke is given the Freedom of the 

Burgh of Dundee. 

The Ogilvies of Balfour claimeil dcsceut from the same stock as the Ogilvies, Earls of 
AiRLiE, their ancestor being Walter, son of Sir James Ogilvy of Aii-lie, Knight, who is 
described as a Burgess of Dundee [vide page 14], and who died in 1504. The member of the 
famil}' who is here enrolled was closely, associated with the Ogilvies of Airlie in their varied 
fortunes at this period ; and as the Lady Ogilvy of that time was a daughter of Ruthven 
of Gowrie, he was brought into the widely-spread list of Ruthven Raiders. His name appears 
frequently between the years 1590 and 1607 as cautioner for some of the more turbulent 
members of his family ; and he was one of those chosen to mediate in the protracted dispute 
betwLxt the Lindsays and the Ogilvies, Lords of Spynie. He was associated more ominously 
with those who encompassed the slaughter of " the Bonny Earl of Moray" at Donibristle ; and 
no grave political action of the Airlie family took ^^lace without his presence or support. His 
enrolment as Burgess of Dundee on the same day as that of Patrick, Lord Gray, proves that 
at that time he was on intimate terms with the Ruthven party, then dominant in the Burgh. 
The present representative of this branch of the Ogilvy fiimily is Mrs Mary Balfour-Ogilvy, 
late of Tannadice House and Balgillo. 



1592. May -ilst. 

Which day Magister WILLIAM FEEGUSON, Physician, is made a Burgess 
AND Brother of the. Guild, by reason of the Privilege of his 
Father, David Ferguson, Minister of the Word of God at Dun- 
fermline, WHO IS A Brother of the Guild ; Accidents gratis. 

The priucii>al importance of this entry is in the fact that it shows that David Ferguson, the 
famous Minister of Dunfermline, was not only a native of Dundee, but also an admitted Burge.ss 
of the Burgh. An extended account of his life is not necessary in this place, but the following 
particulars regarding his career may be useful to future biographers. 

D.WID Ferguson was born in Dundee in 1533, and early declared himself an associate of the 



MAGISTER WILLIAM FERGUSON. 77 

Reformers. The first notice of his profession as an adherent of the new doctrine occiirs in the 
Exchequer Rolls, under date 7th July, 1558, and is in the following terms: — 

" Item, the said day to David Lindsay, Kothesay hcrauld-passand of Ediidjiu'gh, with letteris, to 
sumniond George Luvell, David Fergusone, .and certain utheris personis witliin the bur' of Dunde, to 
tak sourte of tliame that thai sail coiupeir befoir the Justice and his deputies in the tolbuith of Edinbuigli, 
the xxviii. day of Julii instant, for thair wrongus using and resting of the Scripture, and disputting upoun 
erroneous opinions, and eicing of flesche in Lenterone and utheris forljidding tyme.s, contrair tlie actis of 
parliament, iij. lib. v.s." 

The immediate result of this summons is not recorded, but it is certain that on the 19th of July, 
1560, David Fergu.sox was nominated hy the Lords of the Congregation as the first Protestant 
Minister of Dunfermline, and continued in that office till his death, at a date long subsequent to 
thi.s. Though he had not graduated in any college, his great natural ability had brought him 
early to the front, and he was described by his fellow-townsman Principal Smetoun as "a man 
of refined wit and of great piety." His efforts were especially directed towards the preservation 
and improvement of the 8ci>ttish vernacular, and he has left behind him several striking examples 
of the vigour and expressiveness of his mother tongue in the sermons which were published by 
him. One of these sermons was jareached before the Regent Mar, at Leith, on 13th January, 
1571-2, and called forth the special commendation of John Knox, then on his deathl)ed, who 
subscribed this sermon with these striking]}' |)athetic words: — "John Knox, with my dead hand, 
but glaid heart, praising God, that iif his mercy he levis such light to his Kirk in this ilesolation." 
David Ferguson was member of thirty-nine Assemblies, from 25th June, 15G3, to 10th May, 
1597, and was twice elected Moderator, in 1572 and 157S. His literary works, though not 
voluminous, wei'o eminently serviceable to the Church at a very trying period of its existence ; 
and the boldness of the language in which he rebuked the rapacity of the Protestant Lords 
had much effect in preserving the Reforming ministers from the starvation which at one time 
threatened them. Besides a collection of Scottish Proverbs which he made, and which were 
published forty years after his death, he left a Diary, which formed the foimdation iif the 
" Historic of the Kirk of Scotland," written by his son-in-law, the Rev. John Row, of Carnock. 
His power as a divine and his foi'ce as a writer have been equally lauded in several elegant Latin 
poems by his contemporaries. He died at Dunfermline on 23i'd August, 1598, in his sixty-fifth 
3^ear, having outlived his early associates in the work of the Reformation, and being recognised at 
the time of his death as the Father of the Church of Scotland. By his wife, Issof.EL Durhame, 
he had five sous and four daughters, his eldest son being that Magister William Ferguson, 
Physician, whose name is here enrolled amongst the Burgesses of Dundee. In his Will the aged 
minister left " his bulks of natural history to his son William, and all his buiks of theology and 
human historic, estimat to j'.' lib. to his tlu-ee sons-in-law, Mr D.wid Spens, Mr JiiHN R(_)w, and 
David Ramsay." 

William Ferguson, the Physician, who was made a Burgess of Dundee in 1592, was born at 
Dunfermline, in 15G3, and settled in his father's native town, where he ultimately rose to the 
dignity of Bailie of the Burgh. His house stood a little to the west of the foot of Couttie's 
Wynd, nearly on the site of Union Street. After a long career of usefulness, he died in 1G27, 
and was buried in the Howff of Dundee, where his tombstone is still visible. It lies on the 



7S MAGISTER TETER YOUNG. 

ground in;ar the west wall of the Cemetery, numliered 24, and has evidently been a very 
elaborate monument. The inscription upon it, though now much defaced, has been in these 
words : — 

" M. Guliel. Fergusono, medico ac pndori 
Deiilonan . et Vf amice KinnalocJiioi parentib. 
Chariss. necnon fratres et sororih. germanis 
Septem furhafo nafurcc ordine cedentib. itemque 
Sibi et Helena; Dwir.ane xixori Jegitimm 
Pietatis ergo et meinorite ponebat superstes 
Gul. Fergusonus, mercator. M- Gtd- Fcrgusonus 
oUit 25 Martii 1627 natvs annos 64- 
Evfamim Kinnalocliice obiit 6 Junii 16~3 
nata annos 07." 

[To M. William Ferguson, Pliysirian and Bailie in Dundee, and Eupham Kinloch, his dearest 
parents ; also to seven brothers- and si.sters-german, who died through the disturbance of the order of 
Nature; likewise for himself and Helen Duncan, his lawful wife, the surviving "William Ferguson, 
Merchant, has raised this monument to their pious memory. Mr "William Ferguson died 25th March,. 
1627, aged sixty-four years, and Eupiiam Kinloch died 6t]i June, 16-3, aged fifty-seven.] 



1.592. October 19th. 
Which day Maglster PETER YOUNG of Seatoun, Privy Councillor, 

AND ChIKF ElEEMOSINAR OF THE KiNG, IS ADDED TO THE NUMBER OF 

THE Burgesses of Dundee, for his merit in the Service of the 
Commonweal. 

Few of the statesmen of the time of James "VI. are better known tlian Peter Young, though 
his connection with Dundee is frequently ignored. His own Diary affords ample details of his 
life, and the sketch of his career published by the late Patrick Chalmer.s of Auldbar may be 
considered as sufficiently exhaustive. A very complete biography of him is included in Dr 
Thomas Smith's Vitcc quorundam Eruditissimorum et Illustrium Viroriim, published in 
1707. The notes regarding him which are added here are confined, therefore, principally to 
those points which bear upon his relationship to the Burgh. 

The fainily to which Sir Peter Young belonged was settled in Forfarshire early in the four- 
teenth century. His father, John Young, a Burgess of Edinburgh, was married in 1541 to 
Margaret Scrymgeoue, daughter of Walter Scrymgeour of Glaswell, and sister of the famous 
Henry Scrymgeour, to whom allusion has been made {vide page 34). John Young died at 



MAGISTER PETER YOUNG. 7^ 

Dundee in 1583, iu his eighty-sixth year, his wife having predeceased him, leaving four sons and 
two daughters. The tombstone erected by Peter Young in memory of his parents is still in 
existence in the Howff of Dundee, and bears the following inscription : — 

" Memorke • S •Joanne ■ Juiiio • ac • Marijarittn ■ Scrinujera: • })arent • optime. Pdms • Junius • a ' Seatoune . 
J'ut • sucv • tandem • pie • sat isf • H[oc\ M\<mumentnni\ P'\osuit\ Ohdormit Joannes. in'D":2. An. Sal. 
MDXA'CIII ■ j}r[idie] Cat. Sept. <rtat XACVI. Margarita vera An. Dr 78. 5 Id ■ Maii aiat. 68. 

" Dies miirtis est tiatalis aierna' vitie." 

[Sacred to the memory of John Young and Mauoaret SceYiMGEOUre, the best of parents. Peter 
Young of Seatoun has afterwards raised this moimmeut to show his reverence to future times. John 
slept in the Lord in the Year of Salvation 1583, on the day before the Calends of September, aged 
eighty-six. Margaret in the Year of the Lord 1578, on the 5tli of the Ides of May, aged sixty-eight. 

Tlie day of death is the birth-day of eternal life.] 

Peter was the second son, and was born in Dundee on loth August, lo-i-i. At an early age he 
was sent to the Continent to complete his studies under the care of his uncle, Henry Scrymgeour, 
with whom he spent some time at the University of Lausanne. He was thus introduced to the 
company of the foremost men of letters of the period, and became associated with the great leaders 
of the Geneva School, John Calvin and Theodore Beza. His literary reputation must have 
been very considerable, as upon his return to Scotland, in 1569, he was chosen as assistant to the 
famous George Buchanan — one of the most erudite men of the time — in superintending the 
education of the young King. The task was a most responsible one, since the peace and security 
of the Kingdom depended upon the bias given by the instruction of the King during his early 
years. Opinion has been divided as to the fitness of Peter Young for this duty, some of his 
contemporaries, notably Archibald Simson and Sir James Melville, accusing him of having 
flattered the vanity of his Royal pupil for the purpose of securing favours and rewards for him- 
self and his family ; but these statements must be received with caution. YoUNG could neither 
have obtained nor held hLs j^ost as assistant tutor had his gifts and accomplishments been other 
than exceptional. Throughout his long life he enjoyed the confidence of the King, and was 
frequently sent by him upon missions of the greatest moment to the Courts of contemporary 
Sovereigns. He was thrice despatched as ambassador to Denmark, and also accompanied the 
King to that country when he went to bring home his bride, the Princess Anne. In 1595, 
•when King James committed the charge of the affairs of Scotland to eight of the most trusted 
statesmen — known in history as the Octavlans — Peter Young was included in the number; 
and he was also one of the Commissioners appointed to examine into the constitution of the 
Universities of St Andrews, Aberdeen, and Glasgow, in 1598. Shortly after the King had 
assumed the Crown of the United Kingdom, YoUNG was knighted at Whitehall (19th February, 
1605), and a munificent pension was bestowed upon him, in addition to the princely gifts that 
had formerly been granted to him from thu Kirk lands that had fallen into the King's hands. 
With Queen Anne he was not less a favourite, and for a long period he was entrusted with the 
care oi her revenues in Scotland. The estate of Easter Seatoun, near Arbroath, was purchased 
by Sir Peter, in 1580, and after his retiral from public life he .spent the remnant of his 
declining years at the mansion-house there. He died at Easter Seatoun, on 7th January, 1628, 



so SIR JAMES ANSTRUTHER. 

in his eiglit\"-fourtli year, aud was buried in tlie vault under the Churcli of St Vigeans, where a 
mural tablet bearing a Latin inscription to his memory is still preserved. From the date of his 
father's birth (1-197) to that of his own death (1628) the long period of one hundred and thirty 
years intervened, during which time there had been six Sovereigns on the Throne of Scotland. 

Sir Peter Young was thrice married. By his first wife, Elizabeth Gibb, daughter of John 
GiBB, a Gentleman of the King's Bedchamber (married, 1577; died, 1595), he had seven sons 
and five daughters. His second wife was the relict of Lord Torphichen, but she only survived 
her marriage six months. In 1600, Sir Peter married IVLvrjory Nairne, daughter of Nairne 
of Sandford, in Fife, by whom he had four daughters. Several members of his family rose to 
eminence, and two of his sons appear at a later date on the Burgess-Roll of Dundee. 

An interesting item of family history connected with Sir Peter Young has latel}- been 
brought to light, and does not appear in any previous biography. In the Calendar of the House 
of Lords for 1642, there is the notice of a petition presented by Dame Marjory Young, his 
vridow, in which she declares that " KiNG James granted her a pension of £200 per annum, 
which King Charles confirmed, in consideration of the services of Sir Peter, who was tutor to 
King James, and seven times ambassador for the making uji of the match between His late 
Majesty and Queen Ann ; of this pension the arrears now amount to £850, and £3,000 besides 
are due from His Majesty to petitioner's two daughters ; she has in consequence become so 
indebted that she is in fear of arrest ; she prays their Lordships to give order for the payment of 
the money due to her, or of some part of it, for relief of her distress" (Fifth Bejioii of Royal 
Comviission on Hist. 3ISS., p. Go). No record exists to show whether the petition was granted 
or not. It appears, however, from one of the documents preserved at Traquair House that, on 
30th June, 1631, King Charles sent a letter, signed by himself, to the Earl of Traquair, the 
Treasurer-Depute, authorising him " to continue and pay to SiR Peter YouN(;, Knight, the 
pension of 500 merks granted to his deceased father, SiR Peter Y<juxg, Knight, by the late 
King James VI." (Ninth Report of Royal Commission on Hist. MSS.,2^. '-44 )■ 



1596. December 15th. 

Which day SIR JAMES ANSTRUTHER, Fiar of that Ilk, Knight, is 
GIVEN THE Freedom of the Burgh of Dundee, for his Many and 
Meritorious Works performed for the Public Weal. 

Sir James Anstruther. Fiar of that Ilk, was the only son of John Anstruther and 
Margaret, daughter of George Clephane of Carslogic, and was the representative of a family 
which has been in possession of the estate for more than seven centuries. He was Master of the 



MAGISTER JAMES ROBERTSOUN. 81 

Household to Queen Anne, and in 1585 was appointed Heritable Carver to the Royal Family 
in Scotland, an office still held by his present representative, Sir Wyndham Anstruther, Bart. 
He was one of the " Fife Lairds" who undertook to colonize the Island of Lewes, in the Hebrides, 
in 1598 — a project which, after repeated attempts, was finally abandoned in 1G09. Sir James 
predeceased his father, in 160G. 



1597. December 21st. 

Which day Magister JAMES ROBERTSOUN, Pastor of the Kirk op 
Dundee, is added to the number of the Burgesses and Brethren 
OF the Guild in the said Burgh. 



James Robertson, the first Minister of the Second Charge, or South Church of Dundee, was 
born in 1555, and educated at St Andrews. In 15S4, whilst still a student of Theology there, he 
had copied and circulated the famous letter written by James Melville against the " intolerable 
tyrannie of the fals Bischopes," and the " Popish Supremacie of the King," and he was com- 
pelled to flee with a fellow-student beyond the Border for safety, and to find refuge in London. 
Four years afterwards (1588), he was appointed colleague to the Rev. William Christeson, the 
first Protestant Minister in Dundee, being allowed to retain his post as Third Master in the 
New College, St Andrews. He entered on his duties as Minister of the Second Charge in 1590, 
his stipend being then uplifted by the Town Council in the form of a special assessment. The 
King presented him to the Vicarage of Dundee in 1596, but the dues must have been greatly 
reduced by alienation before that time, as the Minister was content to demit his right in 1G08, on 
receiving a stipend of viij'r merks (£44 8s. 4d.). He seems to have been held in high estimation, 
as the Town Council frequently added to his emoluments as his family increased; and in 1617 
a special undertaking to contribute a yearly pension of one hundred merks for five years was made, 
to assist in the education of his eldest son, Alexander, " in consideration of the long, true, and 
faithful service done by Mr James Robertson, to the glory of God, and the comfort of the 
people" (Vide MaxiveU's " Old Dundee," p. 392). He took part in the Assemblies of 1594, 
1598, and 1601, and on more than one occasion was nominated as Moderator. He died in 1623 
and was buried in the South Church, where his tombstone was found in a dilapidated condition 
after the edifice had been destroyed by fire in 1841. The inscription was illegible, but a 
sculptured shield bore the arms of the Scrymgeour family, to which his wife had belonged. 



M 



82 MAGISTER ANDREW LAMB. 



1599. September 14th. 

Which day Magister ANDREW LAMB of South Leith, Pastor of the 
Church of Aberbrothock, is added to the number of the Burgesses 
AND Guild Brethren of the Burgh of Dundee, for his Aid in the 
Advancement of the Commonweal. 

Magister Andrew Lamb begau his public career as Minister of Burntisland, and completed it 
as Bishop of Galloway. Betwixt these extremes his life was a busy one, and his name appears 
frequently both in political and ecclesiastical history. The place of his birth has not been 
recorded. When the church at Burntisland was re-built in 1592 he was appointed first Pro- 
testant Minister there, and remained in that charge for ftjur years. In 1596 he was translated to 
Arbroath, and continued there till July, 1600. It was whilst in this place that he was admitted a 
Burgess of Dundee, and the entry is curiously confirmed by the ecclesiastical records of the period. 
It may be noticed that whilst he is described as "of South Leith," he is further designated as 
" Pastor of the church of Aberbrothock." This is accounted for by the fact that he was proposed 
for Minister of the Second Charge at South Leith, in March, 1598, but di<l not obtain licence of 
transportation till March, 1600, and he was thus presentee to one church and Minister of another 
at the time of his adniis.sion as Burgess. Whilst serving the charge at South Leith, he was 
appointed Minister to John, Earl of Mar, when on an embassy to England, and shortly after 
his return he was promoted to the office of Dean of the Chapel Royal at Stirling, and presented 
to the conjoint charges of Kirkinner and Kirkcowen, by the Kino, in 1602. At the latter date he 
was nominated '■ Conunendator of the Abbacie of Coupar," and was selected to preach the fare- 
well sermon at Holyi'ood House on the morning of the King's departure to assume the Crown 
of the United Kingdom. His favour at Court still increased, and in 1607 he was nominated 
Bishop of Brechin, and consecrated at London three years afterwards. During his reign as 
Bishop of this See, he presented a magnificent chandelier to the Cathedral church, which still 
exists as a testimony of his liberality. He was translated to the See of Galloway in 1G19, and 
remained in that office until his death, in 1634. He had then served the Church for over forty 
years, and had become blind in the service of his King and country. His acceptance of episcopal 
dignity had not rendered him more popular, but had brought him into high repute with King 
James. But for his age and physical infirmity he would certainly have taken an advanced 
position in the contest between Prelacy and Presbytery, which began with the reign of Charles 
I., in 1625. 

From the Council Minutes, it appears that " Mr Andro Lamb, Commendator of Coupar and 
preacher to His Majesty," was commissioned by the King, in October, 1605, to act as mediator 
in a dispute between James Wedderburn, son of the Town-Clerk, and a certain Robert 
ROLLOK. The precise cause of this quarrel has not been described, but it seemed probable that 



JOHN SCKYMGEUURE. 83 

the Minister would have settled their differences had not a mariner, called David Blvth, 
encouraged RoLLOK in his opposition. For his contumacy, " Mr Andro found fault with hiin, and 
callit him ane evil neighbour, and said he suld accuse him as ane stayer of the peace of the town. 
David answerit that he carit nocht for his challenge, he had been before the Privie Council of 
before, and he knew ipihat a man Mr Andko wes ; and that he [David] wes as honest a man 
as Mr Andro, and that his father wes as honest as Mr Andro his father ; and farder, sayit 
that he knew Mr Andro would rail against him in the pulpit as Mr James Robertson did, but 
he cair'd nocht for it ; and utherwayes misbehavit himself very irreverently to Mr Andro." As 
this conduct was likely to bring the Burgh into disrepute with the King, the Provost and 
Bailies ordered Blyth to be put in ward, and both parties were afterwards bound over to keep 
the peace towards each other (Vide Maxwell's " Old Dundee," p. 364.). 



1599. September 23rd. 
Which day JOHN SC'RYMGEOUEE, Heir-apparent of Dudhope, is added 

TO THE NUMBER OF THE BuRGESSES AND GuiLD BRETHREN OF DuNDEE, 
BY REASON OF THE PRIVILEGE OF HIS FATHER, SiR JaMES ScRYMGEOURE 

OF Dudhope, Provost and Constable of the said Burgh. 



The admission of Sir James Scrymgeour as Burgess of Dundee took place on Gth February, 
1576-7, under which date a brief sketch of his connection with the Burgh appears {vide page 49). 
His son John, whose name is entered here, succeeded to the Constableship of Dundee on the 
death of his father in 1612. He represented Forfarshire in the Parliaments of 1G12, 1617, and 
1621 ; and Argyllshire from 1628 till 1633. He was one of the Forfar Barons who welcomed 
King James at Kinnaird Castle, on the occasion of His Majesty's visit to Scotland in 1616 ; but 
he did not take any active part in public affliirs. On 15th November, 1641, he was created 
Viscount of Dudhope and Lord Scrymgeour, on the occasion of a visit paid by Charles I. 
to his northern Kingdom, but he did not long enjoy that title, as he died on 7th March, 1643. 
By his marriage vnth MARGARET Seton of Parbroath, he left two sons, James, second Viscount 
OF Dudhope, and Captain David Scrymgeour; and two daughters, Jean, married to Sir 
Thomas Thomson of Duddingstone, Bart., and Mary, married to Sir James Haliburton of 
Pitcur. 



84 MAGISTER ALEXANDER GIli.S()N. 



1599. September 23rd. 

Which day Magister ALEXANDER GIBSON, Clkkk of Session to our 
Lord the King, is added to the number of the Burgesses and 
Breth'ren of the Guild of Dundee, for his Merit, and his Aid to 
THE Commonweal. 

Magister Alexander Gibson, afterwards Sir Alexander Gibson, Lord Durie of Session, 
was the sou of George Gibson of Goldingstoncs, and was the representative of a Fifeshire family 
of great antiquity. Having chosen the Law as his profession, lie stndied with such assiduity and 
success that he ultimately rose to the very highest dignity attainable in his vocation, that of 
Lord President of the Court of Session. His first official post was that of Third Clerk of Session, 
to which position ho was called in 1594. "On account of his merit and knowledge of the laws 
of his own and foreign countries," writes Sir Robert Douglas, " he was appointed by King 
James VI. one of the Principal Clerks of Session. King James in penson presented him to the 
Court, and desired he might be admitted into that office. The King remained in the Court until 
Sir Alexander was received, then, thanking them for their compliance, withdrew" (Baronage 
of Scotland, jx oGS). He rapidly amassed a very considerable fortune, and acquired several 
extensive estates in Fife and the Lothiaus, one of them being the barony of Durie in Fife, 
from which he took his title. He was nominated as a Senator of the College of Justice by 
the King in 1621, and was appointed Lord President in 1G42, in which office he remained until 
his death, in July, 1G46. The favour which he enjoyed during the reign of King James was 
continued towards him by Charles I., who created him a Baronet in 162S, and bestowed some 
lands in Nova Scotia upon him, to enable him to support that dignity. He is described by one 
writer as having been " one of the most eminent men of his time ;" whilst another refers to him 
as "a man of a penetrating wit and clear judgment, polished and improved by much study 
and exercise" ( Forbes s Journal of the Session [1714], p. 'J8). " We may frame a rational 
conjecture," adds the latter writer, " of his great learning and parts, . . . from the following 
circumstance — In a tract of more than twenty years, he was frequently chosen Vice-President, 
and no other Lord in that time." His great literary work was a " Collection of the Decisions of 
the Session, from July, 1621, till July, 1642," which is still quoted, under the title of "Durie's 
Practicks," as an authority on points of law." There is a romantic story told of him, that on one 
occasion, when a case was before him upon which he was expected to give a judgment adverse to 
the Earl of Roxbltrgh, that nobleman engaged George Meldrum of Dumbreck to kidnap him 
whilst he was riding with a friend and servant at the waterside opposite Dundee, and to carry 
him captive to England, where he was detained for some time, and eventually sent back, minus 
his purse, to his relations, who had mourned him as dead. From the manuscript abstract of the 
Books of Adjournal in the Advocates' Library, Edinburgh, it appears that Meldrum was tried 
for this unusual crime, in 1604, and sentenced "to have his head .stricken from his body" 



SIR THOMAS ARESKYNE — SIU JDHX llAMSAV — Sill HVC.U HERRIES. 85 

(Tytlers Life of Sir Thmnas Cruig, i^. o^-i)- A similar story is related as occurring to his son, 
Sir Alexander Gibson, but it is not so well authenticated. 

Sir Alexander OiksoN was doubly connected with Dundee, through the Fothrix(;hamk 
of Powrie, as his daughter, Margaret, was married to Thomas Fothrtngham; whilst the wife 
of his son. Sir Alexander, was Cecilia Fothringham. The arms of Thomas Fothringham, 
marshalled with those of his wife, are still visible* over a doorway in the church of Murroes. 
Lord Durie's wife was a daughter of the famous Sir Thomas Craig of Riccarton, one of the 
foremost lawyers of his time. His eldest son. Sir Alexander, was Lord Clerk Register of 
Scotland, and a Senator of the College of Justice, and was admitted Burgess of Dundee on 21st 
April, 1623 ; whilst two other sons, John and George, had that honour conferred upon them at 
a later date. 



1600. October 12th. 

Which day SIR THOMAS ARESKYNE or Gogar, Knight, for his Merit 
IN THE Service of the Commonweal, is added to the number of the 
Burgesses of Dundee. 



The same day SIR JOHN RAMSAY, Knight, is given the Freedom of the 
Burgh of Dundee, for his Merit in the Service of the Commonweal. 



The same day SIR HUGH HERRIES, Knight, is added to the number of 
the Burgesses of Dundee, for his Merit in the Service of the 
Commonweal. 



These three names have been grouped together here because they are linked indissolubly in 
connection with the great historical event designated the " Gowrie Conspiracy ;" and it was, doubt- 
less, their concern in that affair which induced the Town Council of Dundee to grant them the 
freedom of the Burgh. The story of this strange transaction has been so frequently related that 
it is only necessary to give the merest outline of it here. 

John Ruthven, third Earl of Gowrie, it is alleged, was desirous of obtaining possession of 
the King's person, for some sinister purpose, and he and his brother, Alexander Ruthven, 
persuaded the KlXG to visit the Earl's house, at Perth, of which city Gowrie was then Provost, 
on 5th August, 1600. In the train of the Monarch there were the three noblemen whose names 
are entered on the Burgess-Roll — SiR Thomas Erskine of Gogar, SiR John Ramsay, page to the 
King, and Sir Hugh Herries, the King's physician. Shortly after the arrival of King James 



86 SIR THOMAS AEESKYNE — SIR JOHN RAMSAY — SIR HUGH HERRIES. 

at Gowrie House, whilst secluded in a turrct-clinmber, he was attacked by Alexander Rcthven, 
who threatened to take liis Vid.-. "At the moment j^oung Ramsay, the page, happened to be 
hurraing tu the stable for his horse, and heard the KiNG crying, from the window of Gowrie's 
house, • Treason ! Murder 1' The Royal attendants, who had rushed up the jirincipal staircase to 
his assistance, found the doors locked ; but Ramsay, fortunately, entered the room by a back 
stair, and perceiving Alexander Ruthven struggling with the King, drew his dagger, and 
plunged it twice into Alexander's body, and then threw him downstairs, where he was met by 
Sir Thomas Erskine, and Hugh Herries the King's physician, who despatched him, and went 
up to the King. Just then the Earl of Gowrie rushed into the apartment, followed by six of 
his attendants, completely armed, but was met by Ramsay, Erskine, and Herries, and, after a 
mortal struggle, was slain" (Burl'c's Extinct Peerage, p. Jf-kS). It has been averred that the 
whole story of Gowrie's treason was without foundation, and that the pusillanimity of the King 
had made him imagine danger to his life when none was intended ; but if James did fabricate 
the charge at the time, he adhered to it with consistency throughout his life, and appointed the 
anniversary of the alleged attack upon him as a day of special thanksgiving. From a curious 
entry in the Register of the Privy Council for 19th February, 1601 (Vol. VI., p. :'1'2), it appears 
that the KiNG regarded Ramsay, Erskine, and Herries, " the thrie gentilmen quha, nixt to 
God, wer the authoris of his Majestie's preservatioun quhen his Hienes' persone wes sa cruellie 
persewit be that traitour Gowrie and aucht or nyne of his tressonable associattis all in armes." 
In accordance with the barbarous custom of the time, the dead bodies of the Earl of Gowrie 
and his brother, ALEXANDER RuTHVEN, were brought to trial at Ediubui-gh, convicted of treason, 
and their honours and estates declared forfeited to the Crown. 

Sir Thomas Erskine of Gogar was the fourth son of Sir Alexander Erskine, Governor of 
Edinburgh Ca.stle and Vice-Chamberlain of Scotland. He was therefore nephew of the Regent 
Mar, and cousin of the Earl of Mar who was admitted a Burge-ss of Dundee on 15th April, 
1589 {ride page 69). His mother, Magdalen Livingstone, daughter of Loiu) Livingstone, 
was married, after his father's decease, to John Scrymgeour of Glaister and Dudhope, Constable 
of Dundee. In 1603 he was created Baron of Dirleton, and on 18th May, 1606, he was raised 
to the dignity of ViscoUNT Fentoun by Royal Letters Patent, being the first nobleman in Scot- 
land who bore the title of Viscount. On 12th March, 1619, he was created Earl of Kellie, and 
at his death, on 12th June, 1639, he was succeeded by his grandson. His present rei^reseutative 
is Walter Henry Erskine, eleventh Earl of Mar and thirteenth Earl of Kellie. 

Sir John Ramsay was the brother of George, first Lord Ramsay of Dalhousie. His services 
to the King in the Gowrie affair were rewarded by knighthood, and ho had then the barony of 
Eastbarns, county Haddington, conferred upon him by the King. On 11th June, 1606, he was 
created Viscount Haddington and Lord Ramsay of Barns, and had a special addition to his 
heraldic bearings commemorative of his share in the preservation of the King at Gowrie House. 
He went to London with his Royal Master in 1603, and was made Earl of Holderness in 
1621. By special direction, he and his heirs were entitled to bear the Sword of State before the 
King on the Gowrie anniversary, when the Monarch went in procession to return thanks for his 
deliverance. He was twice married, but had no issue, and his titles became extinct at his death, 
in February, 1625. 



JAMES CRlCIfTDN — GEORGE HAY. 87 

These three noblemen were entered on the Burgess-Roll of Dundee ou 12th October — five 
weeks after the strange incident at Gowrie House. For a long period be'fore that date, as has 
been shown, the Bur;ih was entirely in sj'mpathy with the Ruthven party; and there can bo 
little doubt that the names of these nobles were placed on the Roll to prove to the King that 
Dundee entirely disowned the lawless violence of the Earl of Gowrie and his associates, despite 
their intimate connection with the Burgh. 



IGOO. October 12th. 

Which day JAMES CRICHTOX of Ruthven is added to the number of 
THE Burgesses of Dundee, for his Zeal and Diligence in the 
Service of the State. 

Sir Jame.s Crichton of Ruthven was descended from Stephen Crichton of Cairns, who 
was the common ancestor of the Crichtons, Earls of Caithness, and the Criohtons, 
Viscounts Frendraught. He was the son of Sir Adam Crichton of Ruthven, and on 13th 
September, 1578, during his father's lifetime, he had a charter from King James VI. uniting 
various lauds in Forfarshire and Perthshire into one free barony of Ruthven. He was related 
by marriage to the Stewarts of GrandtuUy and the Ramsays of Bamft', two of the leading 
Dundee families of his time. His sou represented Forfarshire in the Parliament of 1G44; and 
his grand-daughter was married to Sir George Kinnaird, first Baron Kinnaird of Inchture. 



IGOO. October 12th. 

Which day GEORGE HAY of Netherliff, Commendator t)F the Charter- 
house OF Perth, is given the Freedom of the Burgh of Dundee. 

George Hay of Netherliff was one of the foremost statesmen of his time, and at his death 
occupied the highest office which any subject could hold — that of Lord Chancellor of Scotland. 
He was the third son of Peter Hay of Megginch, and Margaret, daughter of Sir Patrick 
Ogilvy of Inchniartine, and was born in 1572. His uncle, Edmund Hay — better known in 
history as Father Hay, the Jesuit — had found refuge in France after the Reformation ; and 
George Hay was sent tliither, at the age of eighteen, to complete his studies at the Scots 



88 GEORGE HAY. 

■College at Douay, under the supervision of his relative, who was Professor of Civil and Canou 
Law at that seat of learning. Though thus trained in the midst of Romanism, and under the 
care of one of the most acute plotters, for the restoration of the Catholic religion in Scotland, 
young Hay was preserved from both political and religious taint, and thus a brilliant career was 
opened for him, which would otherwise have been impossible. He returned to Scotland in 1596, 
having gained a high reputation as an accomplished scholar; and when he was introduced at 
Court by his cousin. Sir James Hay of Pitcorthy, afterwards Earl of Carlisle, the King 
received him at once into favour, and appointed him a Gentleman of the Bedchamber. In 
February, 1598-9, he was made Commendator of the Charterhouse, an office whieli had been 
unworthily occupied by George Balfour, and his brother. Sir James Balfour of Pittendreich 
[vide page 67]; and though, when he came into the post on the death of the latter in 1600, he 
found the revenues seriously dilapidated, the title of " Lord and Prior of the Charterhouse" gave 
him a position in public afftiirs which hv would not have attained without it. That title was 
never borne by any successor. He had the good fortune to assist in defending the King against 
the Ruthvexs in the Gowrie House incident, in 1600, and shortly afterwards he was rewarded 
with the honour of knighthood. When the project of the colonization of the Lewes [vide page 81] 
was revived by the Fife Barons, in 1608, Sir George entered with spirit into the scheme, 
but failed to bring it to a successful issue. His experiences in the North of Scotland, however, 
led him to propose and carry out a more important undertaking for the advancement of the 
national prosperity, by the establishment of works at Letterewe, near Loch Maree, for the manu- 
fiicturc of iron. This may be regarded as the earliest serious attempt made in Scotland to 
develop an industry which has since reached gigantic proportions. The ruins of SiR George 
Hay's furnaces may still be seen at Letterewe, and so late as 1772 there were traces of his work 
existing in the locality (Vide Pennants Tour in Scotland, imder date Aurjust 3, 1772). A 
special Act of Parliament was passed iu October, 1612, giving Sir George Hay of Netherliff the 
exclusive privilege of making iron and glass in Scotland, and nine years later (4th August, 1621) 
he had a licence from Parliament to transport and sell the iron made by him in any free Royal 
Burgh. Sir George was made Clerk-Register of Scotland in 1616, and was constituted Lord 
High Chancellor in 1622. Five years later (4th May, 1627) he was created a peer, by the title 
of Viscount of Dupplin and Lord Hay of Kiufauns; and in 16:33 he was made Earl of 
Kinnoul. During his life he had acquired vast estates both in the Hebrides and North of 
Scotland, and in Forfarshire and Perthshire, and was regarded as one of the wealthiest nobles of 
the period. " His Lordship," writes Sir Robert Douglas, " enjoyed the Chancellor's place with 
the approbation of the whole Kingdom and the applause of all good men, for his justice, integrity, 
sound judgment, and eminent sufficiency, till his death, which happened at London, on the 16th 
of December, 1634. His body was conveyed to Scotland, and on the 19th August, 1635, was 
interred in the Church of Kinnoul, where a sumptuous monument was erected to his memory, 
being a statue of his Lordship of the full size, dressed in his robes as Chancellor, and reckoned a 
strong likeness" (Peerage, sub voce Kinnoul). There are two portraits of Sir George Hay 
m the collection at Dupplin Castle, one of them by Ferdinand, showing him in his youth, 
dressed in Court armour ; and the other, attributed to George Jamesone, the Scottish Vandyck, 
representing him in his Chancellor's robes towards the close of his life. 



GEORGE, MARQUESS OK HUNTLY. 89 

The first Earl of Kinnoul was connected with Dundee by his marriage with Margaret, 
daughter of SiR James Haliburton of Pitcur, who died nearly two years before hiin (4th April, 
1633). His present representative (though not his direct descendant) is George Hav, eleventh 
Earl of Kixnoul. 



1601. April 24.th. 

Which day GEORGE, MARQUE88 of HUNTLY, EARL of ENZIE, LORD 
OF BADENOCH and GORDOUN, ls added to the number of the 
Burgesses of Dundee, for his Merit in the Service of the State 

AND OF the said BuRGH. 

Thv career of George, first Marquess of Huntly, was perhaps as varied and romantic as 
that of any of his noble contemporaries. He was the only son of George, fifth Earl of Huntly, 
and Lady' Anne Hamilton, daughter of the Governor Arran, was born in 1562, and succeeded 
to the Earldom on the death of his father, in 1576. For many years after the Reformation the 
hopes of the Romanist partj- were centred upon the HuNTLY' family ; and they were ever in the 
front when any great movement was on foot for the restoi'ation of the old form of religion. The 
attitude of the Marquess himself towards the contending religious factions must have puzzled 
them both. It is thu.s detailed in the note to Spalding's Memorialls of the Triibblcs in Scot- 
land : — 

"In l.")88 he gave in ]ii.s adliereiiee to the Refornieil Establislimout, ami sub.scribed the Coiife.ssiuu ; 
but in lii.s intercepted letters to tlie Spanish King he say.s that ' the whole had been extorted from him 
against his conscience.' In 1597 his Lordsliip was again reconciled to the Kirk, with much public 
solemnity, signed the Confession of Faith, and partook of the Sacrament. His fidelity, liowevcr, was wholly 
feigned, and did not last long. In 1607 Mr George Gladstanes, minister at St Andrews [son of Herbert 
Gladstanes, burgess of Dundee, vide page 27], was appointed by the General Assembly to remain with the 
Marquess of Huntly ' for ane (piarter or aue half year, to the eifect by his travels and labours, the said 
noble lord and his family might be iuformit in the Word of Truth.' ... In 1G06 he was accused of 
giving encouragement to the Eoman Catholics, and thereljy occasioning a great defection from the reformed 
opinions, and in 1608 he was excommunicated. In 1616 he was absolved from excommunication by the 
Archbishop of Canterbury, and afterwards by the General Assembly, which met at Aberdeen in that 
year. There is, however, no doubt that during his whole life he was a warm adherent of the ancient 
religion." (TmhhUs of fli,; Kirk in Scotlawl. SpalJiiKj Clnh Edition, Vol. I., p. 74.) 

To trace the career of this nobleman through all its vicissitudes would be to detail the history 
of his time. The darkest incident in his life was his concern in the slaughter of " the bonny 

N 



90 GEORGE, MAIKJUESS OK HUNTLY. 

Earl of Moray" in 1592, which gave rise to a protracted feud between the Gordons aud the 
Stewarts. It is curious to find that thougli at the date of the entry of the Marquess as 
Burgess he must have taken the oath abjuring Rouiauism, yet within two weeks afterwards four 
of his servants were tried by the Privy Council for attending " tlie late Mass within the Burgh of 
Edinburgh," aud two of them were condemned to banishment for life. Despite the dangers which 
had threatened him, he survived till June, 1G36, experiencing strange alternations of kingly 
favour and disgrace. In the last year of his life he was suspected of intercommuning with rebels 
and broken men in the North, and was ordered into confinement in Edinburgh Castle, where ho 
was imprisoned in an unlighted room, and subjected to much j^rivation. Out of compassion for 
his age and weakness, he was afterwards permitted to live in " his own lodging, near to His 
Majest3''s palace of Holyrood House, with liberty to walk within one of the gardens or walks 
within the precincts of the said palace, but no further ;" but at length, when he had become 
almost jjowerless through infirmity, he was suffered to depart from Edinburgh, and to return 
home to Strathbogie Castle. His last journey is thus described by Spalding : — 

" Thf ^laniuess fyiiJiug himself booiun waiker and waiker, dcsyrit to be at home, and upon tlie day 

of Junij wes careit from his lodging in tlie Cannaget in ane wand-bed within his cliareot (his deir ladie 
still in his company) to Diindy, and is lodgit in Eobert Murray's houss, a burges, and tavern of the 
toun, hot now his liour is com, forder he michte not go. His seiknes increisis moir and moir, resohiis to 
die, doclairis his mynd befoir his ladie and sic freindis as he had thair in perfect maner ; recommendis his 
souU to God, aud upone thretteint of Junij depairtit this lyf, a Romane Catholik, in the sainen lodging, 
now being about the aige of thrie scoir fourtein yeiris, to the gryt greif of his matchless freindis and loyall 
ladie, who with her husband had leivit tngidder many yeiris, both in prosperitie and adversitie. 

" This michtie Marquess was of ane gryte spirit, for in time of trubles he wes of invincibill courage, 
and bolillie bure down all his enemeis triompheantlic. He wes never inclynit to warr nor trubbill him self, 
bot by the pryde and insolcncie of his kin wes diuerss tymes drawin in trubljill, ijuhilk he boir throw 
valiantlie. ... A weill set nichtbour in his merchis, deposit ratlier to give nor tak ane foot of 
ground wraugouslie. He wes hard say he never drew his sword in his awin ipierrell. In his youth a 
prodigall spender ; in his elder aige moir wyse and worldlie ; yit never comptit for cost in materis of credit 
and honour. A gryt housholder, a terror to his enemeis, whome with his prydeful kin he ever held under 
gryte feir, subiectioun, and obediens. In all his barganes just and aefaukl, and never hard for his trew 
debt. He was michtellie invyit by the Kirk for his religion, and by vtheris for his grytness, and had 
thairby muche trubble. His maister King James lovit him deirlie, and he wes a good and loyall subiect 
vnto him inibiring the King's liftyme. . . . The Marquess freindis oonvenis in murning weid, 
and vpone the 25 of Junij liftis his corps fra Dundy. His kist coverit with ane blak taffata, and in 
ane horss litter is brocht to the Chapped of Strathbogy, his ladie still with the corps, whill he wes brocht 
thair; syne with ane wofull hairt she went to the Bog." 

The body was afterwards buried with Romish pomp and ceremony in the Huntly Aisle within the 
College Kirk of Elgin. 

The Marquess was married, in 1588, to Lady Henrietta Stewart, eldest daughter of 
EsME, Duke of Lennox, and left a numerous family. The Marchioness, who had shared his 
varied fortunes for nearly fifty years, removed to France after his death, and died at Lyons on 
2nd September, 1642. His eldest son, George, second Marquess of Huntly, was a devoted 
adherent of Charles L, and was beheaded by the Presbyterian party in 1649. The line of the 



ANDREW GRAY. 91 

first Marquess was coutinueil unbrokeu till the death of the eighth Marquess of Huntly aud 
fifth Duke ok Gordon, in 1S36, when the Marquessate devolved upon the descendant of the 
Eael of Ar.OYNE, grandson of the first Marquess. His present representative is Charles 
Gordon, eleventh Marquess of Huntly. 



On the day of the enrohnent of the Marquess of Huntly, the following names were 
inscribed upon the Burgess-Roll bj' his request. Though several of these persons were historical 
characters, it has not been thought necessary to give extended notices of thein : — 

" William Gordon of Geiclit ; George Gordon, Apparent of Geiclit ; James Gordon, Apparent of 
Lesmore ; Alexander Murray of Cowbairdie ; Andrew Hering of Litill Blair ; Williaji Stewart of 
Seatoun ; Jajies Gray, fewar of Schive-s ; Adam Duff, Apparent of Tullyne-sle ; James Gordon in Rainy ; 
John Gordon, son of John Gordon of Newton; John Chalmbr in Drumbolg ; John Gordon, son of 
John Gordon of Carneburro ; Adam Gordon, son of John Gordon of Carneburro ; Adam Gordon, son 
of George Gordon of Crichie ; William P.orthwick, son of the Laird of Brigamh (sic) ; Alex. Gordon, 
son of Alex. Gordon of Lesnioir." 



IGOl. October 2.sth. 

ANDREW GRAY, Son of Patriciv, Lord Gray, is cuven the Freedom of 

THE Burgh of Dundee. 



Andrew Gray was a younger son of that Lord Gray whose name is entered on the Burgess- 
RoU under date loth April, 1589. In his early days he seems to have been led into the commis- 
sion of several treasonable actions through the influence of his elder brother, James Gray of 
Dunninald, one of these crimes being the forcible seizing of the fortalice of Redcastle, in Lunan 
Bay, whilst occupied by Lady Stewart of Innermeith, in 1579-80. At that time the Provost ami 
Bailies of Dundee were charged, by a special letter from the King, to besiege the castle and evict 
the unlawful occupants, which duty tliey performed effectually. ANDREW Gray must have made 
his peace with them in the interim, as they received him into the number of the Burgesses of 
Dundee in 160L 



92 GILBERT RAMSAY — DAVID KINLOCH. 



1601. OCTOHER 2Sth. 

Which day Magister GILBERT RAMSAY, Reader of the Word of God in 
THE Church of Dundee, is granted the Freedom of the said Burgh. 

The office of Reader — lector — was one of tlie survivals of the Romish ceremouial, which was 
continued for a considerable time in the Reformed Church. In 1574 the "reidare at Dundie" was 
WiLLlAME Kyd, who Served under WiLLlAME Christeson, at an annual stipend of forty pounds Scots. 
This salary had been very materially increased to Magister Gilbert Ramsay, his successor, as it 
appears from the Council Minutes that he " had payit to him in the time of nmquhile William 
Christeson one hundred pounds yearly, by and attour his sustentation at bed and buird." When 
Magister James Robertson resigned the Vicarage of Dundee {vklc page 81) it was granted to 
Rajisay, but the Council, finding upon examination that the yearly value only amounted to two 
hundred merks, and " considering that Gilbert can nocht leive thereupon," they undertook to pay 
him another hundred merks additional. The contract had not been strictly fulfilled, for at his 
death, in 1609, the Council was indebted to him in the sum of one himdred pounds, which sura was 
handed over to the Hospital Master in trust for Ramsay's children. His name appears in connec- 
tion wth several of the Bonds of Caution granted by natives of Dundee to the Privy Council at 
the close of the sixteenth century. 



1602. February 17th. 

Which day DAVID KINLOCH, M.D., Son of John Kinloch, is made a 
Burgess and Guild Brother of Dundee, gratis. 

Dr David Kinloch was one of that wide circle of literary men that served to give Dundee a 
very eminent place in the world of letters during the reign of James VI. He was descended from 
the Fifeshire family of KiNLOCH of that Ilk, and claimed as his ancestor a certain John de 
Kyndeloch, who held lands in Fife circa 1165. His grandfather. Sir George Kinloch of that 
Ilk, had four sons, the youngest of whom was bred to the sea, and settled at Dundee about the 
middle of the sixteenth century. Genealogists have differed as to the name of this youngest son, 
but the entry on the Burgess-Roll affords contemporary evidence on the best authority that he was 
called John Kinloch, and not William as frequently stated. Dr David Kinloch seems to have 
been his only son, and he was born in Dundee in 1559-60. Having studied medicine at St 



DAVID KIXLOCH. 9?^ 

Andrews University he went abroad, like many of the stvidents of his time, to complete his 
education on the Continent ; and he returned to his native land with an established reputation as 
a physician of exceptional skill. His merits were brought under the notice of the King, and when 
he purposed departing on another journey to France he obtained a special letter of introduction 
from James VI., recommending him to the fostering care of those Monarchs through whose 
dominion.s he might pass. That letter is now in the possession of his descendant and representa- 
tive, Colonel John Kixloch of Logic. During his second voyage it was his misfortune to fall 
into the hands of the Spanish Inquisition, by whom he was condemned to death as a heretic. The 
consistent tradition still current in the family relates that his execution was delayed for some time, 
and that when he inquired as to the cause of his protracted imprisonment, he was informed that it 
had been intended to make him one of the victims of an auto da fi, but that the illness of the 
Grand Inquisitor had prevented the accomplishmeut of this purpose. He then disclosed the fact 
that he was a practitioner of medicine, and discreetly suggested that it might be within his power 
to bring about the recovery of this high official. As the case was a desperate one, his suggestion 
was adopted, and, through the exercise of his skill, he was enabled to restore the patient to health. 
The grateful dignitary not only set KiNLOCH at liberty, but also loaded him with marks of 
special favour, and procured for him one of the Orders reserved for nobles of the higher rank. 
The portrait of Dr Kixloch, which is now at Logic House, shows him in liis robes as a physician, 
bearing the decoration which he had thus gained by his ability. 

The exact date of Dr Kixloch's return to Dundee is not recorded, but there is every likelihood 
that it was shortly before his admission as Burgess, in 1C02. His h(juse stood on the west side of 
Couttie's Wynd, near the spot where Union Street has been opened up, or, as it is described in some 
of the Council Minutes, " his foreland lay foreanent the wind mill" at Yeaman Shore. It has been 
stated that this property belonged to William Kinloch, in 1581, who is described as the father 
of the Doctor, though the entry in the Burgess-Roll contradicts this theory. It is certain, how- 
ever, that he was in possession of this tenement in 1610, as the Council took proceedings against 
him at that date for an alleged encroachment upon the public road. He survived till 1617, at 
which period he was buried in the Howff of Dundee. The remains of what must have been one 
of the most magnificent tombstones of the time is still preserved there, and bears the following 
inscription : — 

" Monuinentiim sepulturce, viri 

amplisshno honore pr(edara 

ermlitione, <Sf miiHis in vita oximiis 

virtutibus omaii, D. Davidis Kinloch 

all Aberbothrie, reguin magnte Britan- 

nioi if Francia. medici peritissiriii ; 

quorum diplomatic ^ sigiUis gentis 

sum Sf familice nobilitas lufuleitfer 

testata Sf comprabata est. Obiit decimo 

Sej/tembritt, anno Salutis liumaw.B 1617. 

jEtatis sun- 58." 

[The monument of the tomb of a most honourable man, Doctor David Kinloch of Aberbothrie, 
of famous learning, and adorned during his life with many exceptional virtues ; a most experienced 



94 MAGISTER DAVID LYNDESAY. 

pliysiciiin to the Kings of Great Britain and Fiance ; by whose patents and seals the nobility of his race 
and family is excellently witnessed and proved. lie died lOtli September, in the year of Salvation 1617, 
of his age the fifty-eifjhth year.] 

Wheu Robert Monteith visited the HowfT in 1710, for the purpose of trauscribing- the 
monumental inscriptions for his Theater of Mortality, he found the following verse upon the 
tombstone : — 

" Kinnalochi I't'oavo^ cj- uv'da' ste/iimata (jcnfin 
Clara inter proceres, luce monumenfa probanf : 
Magnus ah his cut surgit hnnos : sed major ah arte. 
Major ah ingenio gloria 2^ arta venit.'" 

[Thi.s tombstone clearly ])roves the illnstrious race of ancestors whence Kixloch s[)rang : great is the 
honour which thus arises to him ; but greater is the glory which comes from his own skilfulness and art.] 

This verse was removed more than a century ago, and an inscription substituted referring to 
Sir James Kinloch Nevay, Bart., grcat-great-grandsou of Dr Kinloch, who died in 177G. It 
was Sir James who took possession of Dundee, and held it for the Pretexdei! in the Rebellion 
of 174.5. 

The literary fame of Dr Kinloch rests principally upon a Latin medical pcx'tn, which he wrote 
in two books, entitled Dr Homin'is Procreation/', and De Anatome, et Morhts Intern is, and which 
was published in 1637 by SlU JOHX Scot of Scotstarvit in the Delitue Poefarura Scotorum, 
beside the works of other three eminent Scottish Latinist.s — Peter Goldmax, Hercules 
RoLLOCK, and David Wedderburx. This poem is useful as showing the physiological theories 
then accepted by the most eminent scientists. The year before his death Dr KlXLOCH 
acquired the estate of Abcrbothrie, and also of Balmyle in Perthsliire, which w'as afterwards 
called Kinloch, and still gives the territorial title to his descendants. By his marriage 
with Grizel Hay', daughter of Hay of Gourdie, he had two sons and one daughter. The latter 
was married to Thomas Fothrixgham of Powrie, and from the two former the KiXLOCHS of 
Kilry and the KiNLOCHS of Goui-die are descended. 



1602. February 17th. 

Which day Magister DAVID LYNDESAY, Schoolmaster, is admitted a 
Burgess and Brother of the Guild, gratis. 

David Lyxdesay, the Schoolmaster of Dundee, who became one of the foremost prelates of 
the time of Charles I., is said to have been a descendant of the noble House of Edzell, though 
his relationship has not been precisely defined. He studied at the TTniversity of St Andrews, and 



M AGISTER PAVIl) I.YNPESAY. 95 

graduated there in 1593. Shortly thereafter he was appointed Master of tlie Grammar School at 
Montrose, and remained there till 1597. At the latter date he was chosen to succeed Thomas 
Ramsay, who had demitted the charge of the Grammar School ijf Dundee in 1591, and for 
whom no adequate successor had been found. In 1599 he was presented to the Church of 
Giithrie, in the Presbytery of Arbroath, and afterwards, when the fsxmous Robert Howie was 
removed by the decree of the Privy Council, in July, 1G05, from tlie Church of Dundee, he was 
promoteil to this ii^iportant charge. He endeavoured at first to retain the double office of Pastor 
and Schoolmaster of Dundee, but found himself unable to overtake the duties, and resigned his 
claim as Master of the Grammar School for a consideration, in 1606. His efforts met the 
approbation of his contemporaries, for in 1613 the Council undertook to reward him with the 
sum of five hundred merks, in acknowledgment of his faithful service, "as weill in the education 
and information of the youth in letters and gude manners, as in his disehairge of his office and 
calling of the ministry." One consideration which moved the Council to this act of generosity 
was " the present burden quhilk he bears in the sustentation of his wyiff, bairns, and family," 
though before this time the Minister must have saved sufficient money to enable him to 
purchase the estate of Dunkenny, in Angus, which was inherited after his death by his son and 
daughters. Ten yeai's after his settlement as Minister of Dundee he began to take an active 
share in the work of the General Assembly ; and he attracted the special notice of the King at 
" the disputations" in divinity held before His Majesty at St Andrews, in July, 1617. His first 
jniblished work, issued in the following year, was entitled Rcai^ons of a Pastor's JRcnoltdion 
touching the Beverent Receiving of tlie Holg Communion ; and it was received with so much 
favour that he was promoted to the See of Brechin, in November, 1619, that Episcopate having 
become vacant through the translation of Bishop Andrew Lamb (another Burgess of Dundee) to 
the See of Galloway. Though thus elevated, Dr Lyndesay retained his post as Minister of 
Dundee until he was advanced to the higher office of Bishop of Edinburgh, in 1634. One year 
before that date, it was his duty to officiate at the coronation of Charles I., at Holyrood Chapel, 
and at that ceremony he was afterwards accused of having introduced certain ritualistic forms 
which " bred great fear of inbringing of Popery." These anticipations seemed about to be con- 
firmed when he appeared at the Cathedral of S. Giles, Edinburgh, on the morning of Sunday, 
23rd July, 1637, and attempted to force the new Liturgy upon the people. On that occasion he 
naiTowly escaped with his life from the fury of the populace, and had to be protected from the 
fierce onslaught which they made upon him by the servants of the Earls of Wemyss and 
Roxburgh. It was soon found by the Prelatic party that the Scottish people were not to be 
coerced into an objectionable form of religion ; and when the General Assembly met at Glasgow, 
in 1638, their most important work was the abolition of Episcopacy. BiSHOP Lyxdesay was 
compelled to flee to the protection of Laud and of the King, and he died in England in 1640. 
He has been described as " a prime scholar," and also as " a learned and able divine, of high and 
irreproachable character." 



96 MAGISTER ANDREW CLAYHILLIS — WILLIAM GRAHAM. 



1602. October 12th. 
Which day Magister ANDREW CLAYHILLIS, Minister of the Word of God 

AT MONIFIETH, SoN OF THE LATE RoBERT ClAYHILLIS, IS MADE A BuRGESS 

AND Brother of the Guild, gratis. 

Andrew Clayhillis was born in 154(3 at Dundee, his father Robert Clayhillis having 
been au eminent Burgess of the Burgh and a leading member of the Protestant Church at that time 
and for long afterwards. The first ecclesiastical charge which Andrew had was that of Monifieth, to 
which he was introduced at Candlemas in 1.569, being the second Protestant minister there. From 
this place he was transferred to Jedburgh before loy-i, but he returned to his former charge in 
1598, and remained minister of Monifieth till his death. In 1614 he was formally presented to 
this kirk by James VI. He died on 23rd March, 1G17, in the seventy-first year of his age and 
forty-ninth of his ministry. By his marriage with Christian Ogilvy he had one sou and four 
daughters, one of the latter becoming the wife of Patrick Durhame, his successor. His connec- 
tion with Dundee arose through his brother's marriage with Margaret Wedderburn, a sister 
of Alexander Wedderburn of Kingennie. Town-Clerk of Dundee. Peter Clayhillis for a 
long period was a leading Burgess of Dundee, and he and his wife were buried in the Howff, 
where their mommient may yet be seen. Allusion has been made to the admission of another 
member of this family under date f^th June 1535 (vide page 20). 



1603. July 25th. 

Which day WILLIAM GRAHAM of Claverhouse is added to the number 
OF Burgesses and Brethren of the Guild of the Burgh of Dundee, 

FOR HIS MANY SERVICES TO THE COMMONWEAL. 

Sir William Graham of Claverhouse was the son of John Graham of Claverhouse, and of 
Anne, daughter of Robert Lundin of Balgouie. He succeeded to the estate on the death of his 
father, clrcd 1580. He was descended from William, Lord Graham of Kincardine, and his 
wife, Lady Mary Stewart, daughter of King Robert III., and was closely related to the well- 
known family of the Grahams of Fintry, who long hold important offices in the municipal govern- 
ment of Dundee. SiR William was married to Maria, daughter of Thomas Fothringham of 
Powrie, and was ancestor of John Graham, Viscount Dundee, and of the Grahams of Duntrune. 
He represented Forfarshire in the Parliament of 1628-33, and died in October, 1642. He was 
succeeded by his eldest son, George Graham, who was admitted a Burgess of Dundee on 30th 
March, 1620. 



MAGISTER ROBERT HOWIE. 97 



1603. July 25th. 

Which day Magister ROBERT HOWIE, Pastor of Dundee, is made a 
Burgess and Brother of the Guild of Dundee, gratis. 

The name of Robert Howie is closely associated with both the ecclesiastical and municipal 
history of the Burgh of Dundee during his occupancy of the post of Pastor. He was born near 
the city of Aberdeen, circa 1565, and was educated at King's College, Old Aberdeen. Having 
completed his studies there, he travelled abroad, in company with some of his College companions, 
and passed several years at the Universities of Herborn and Basle, as a student of Theology. 
Whilst studying under the famous John James Gryn.eus at Basle, he published his first theologi- 
cal work, entitled Dc ReconcUiatlonc Horainis cum Deo,seude Humani Generis Redemptionc, 
being two disputations which he had road in public before the Professor, and for which he had 
been commended. It was whilst HowiE was a student at Herborn, in 1586, that he published 
the posthumous work of George Buchanan, called De Sphcerc, from which fact the extent of his 
classical knowledge may be deduced. On his return to Scotland, in 1591, he was appointed to 
the Third Charge in Aberdeen ; and his literary reputation was so great that when George, 
Earl Marischal, founded the College which bears his name, in 1594 (vide page 66), Robert 
Howie was selected as the first Principal. He remained in this post till 1598, and was then 
transferred by the General Assembly to Dundee, as successor to the venerable William 
Chrystesone, whose infirmities had necessitated his removal. In this charge he continued till 
he was deposed by an order of the Privy Council, in July, 1605, for his interference in a disputed 
municipal election, and declared " nawise to be capable of ony public office, function, or charge 
within the said town." This incident is too involved to be detailed in this jDlace, nor is it neces- 
sary, since a very complete account of it is given in Maxwell's Old. Dundee, pp. 319 — 353. It 
is sufficient to state that the minister had led the Burgesses to oppose the election of Sir James 
Scrymgeour of Dudhope to the Provostship, in defiance of the King's letter directing them to 
place that nobleman in the office, and the real cause of Howie's disgrace was his declaration that 
freedom of election could not be maintained if the Royal interference was permitted. For this 
offence he was banished from the Burgh by a special edict, and ordered to be warded in the city 
of St Andrews. All the documents relating to this interesting case may be found in the Register 
of the Privy Council, Vols. VI. and VII. 

Though Howie had incurred the displeasure of the King by his action in this matter, he soon 
regained the Royal favour, by showing a disposition to adopt the doctrines of the Prelatists as 
opposed to the Presbyterians. He was one of those summoned to appear at the conferences at 
Hampton Court along with Gladstanes, Lamb, and others, in support of the Bishops ; and when 
Andrew Melville was deposed from his oflSce as Principal of the New College, St Andrews, and 
imprisoned in the Tower for his sturdy Presbyterianism, Robert Howie was appointed to succeed 
o 



98 DAVID MAXWELL. 

him ill that important post. Hitherto the Priucipalship had been a life appointment, but the 
King's letter placed him in the position merely during His Majesty's pleasure, and he would not 
accept of it under that condition. An order was issued by the Privy Council directing that he 
should enter ou his duties within fifteen days under pain of rebellion, and he then assumed the 
post of Provost or Principal of the New College. " Howie's literary and theological acquirements 
were respectable," writes Dr M'Crie (Life of Andrew Melville, cd. 1856., p. 282), " but he did not 
possess the genius, the elegant taste, or the skill in sacred languages, by which his predecessor 
was distinguished." On the other hand, Archbishop Gladstanes, a native of Dundee and a 
friendly critic, describes Howie's first appearance in the Chair of Melville in a letter to the 
King, 28th October, 1607, in these terras: — 

" Mr EoBERT Howie has been entered to teach in the New College, and that with so much rare learning 
as not only breeds great contentment to all the clergy here, but also ravishes them with admiration. So 
that the absence of his antecessor is not missed, while they find, instead of superficial feckless inventions, 
profitable and substantious theology." 

The zeal for Episcopacy with which Howie began his career at St Andrews ultimately toned 
down into moderation, and he retained his post as head of the New College for some time after the 
abolition of Prelacy and the establishment of Presbyterianism. He died before l&VJ. His 
successor in the pastoral charge of Dundee was that David Lyndesay to whom reference is made 
under date 17th February, 1G02 {vide page 94). 



1605. November 20th. 

Which day DAVID MAXWELL of Tealing is made a Burgess ajqd Brother 

OF THE Guild of Dundee, gratis. 

David Maxwell was the son of that Alexander Maxwell of Tealing who was admitted as 
a Burgess on 29th May, 1.5G-1 {vide page 39). He is sometimes designated Sir David Maxwell, 
Knight, and the names of himself and of his two brothers, EoBERT and Hew, appear frequently in 
Bonds of Caution lodged with the Privy Council for the good behaviour of their friends. He suc- 
ceeded to the estate previous to 1592, and survived till 1609, when the succession passed to his 
son, Hew Maxwell. There is one incident in the life of David Maxwell which may be quoted 
as illustrating the state of municipal government in the Burgh in his time. On 23rd September, 
1.592, he made a complaint to the Privy Council that "Upon 31st August last, he being within the 
Burgh of Dundee, accumpanyit onlie with his sone, doing his legall effearis and busyness, and 
haveing ressevit certane grite soums of money, and being passing hame with the same about aucht 



THOMAS WINTOUN. 99 

houris at evin," certain Burgesses of Dundee, " with convocation of the lieges to the number of 40 
persons, all armed with jacks, spears, hagbuts, pistols, and other weapons, having been informed of 
complainer's circumstances, lay at awaitt for him at the Well-gaite porte of the said burgh, be the 
quhilk they knew it behuiffit him to pas, quhair maist shamefullie and crucllie they invadit and 
persewit him of his lyfie, upone set purpois to have slane and murdreist him undir cloude and 
silence of nicht, and to have mellit and intromittit with his said silver ; lykeas they hurte and 
woundit him in divers pairtis of his body, especiallie in his richt arme, and hes made him 
impotent thairof be strykeing away the knap of his elbok, and had not faillit to have murdreist him, 
wer nocht, be the providence of God and his awne bettir defeus be eschaiped, not without grite 
hasard and perrell of his lyffe. And the saidis personis finding tharae selffis disapointit of thair 
intendit crueltie, thai followit hiai to his houssis, barne, and barneyaird of Wallace Cragy, cpihair 
thay serchit and socht him and liis sorvandis, rypit thair houissis and stoggit thair beddis, thair 
being na occasioun of offens nor injiirie done be the said complenair to thame, or ony of thair 
freindship, be worde or deid. Murder and robbery had been their sole object, the saidis haill per- 
sonis for the maist pairt being knawne to be debosheitt vagabonndis, wanting mo^^ane and credit 
to interteny thameselffis." The three ringleaders did not appear to answer the charge, and were 
denounced as rebels accordingly. For a considerable time after this outrage there were feuds and 
reprisals between the Maxwells and some of the Burgesses of Dundee, but these differences seem 
to have been adjusted before the time of the admission of Sir David as a Guild Brother. 



1605. NOVEMBER' 20th. 

Which day THOMAS WINTOUN of Strikemartine is made a Burgess and 

Guild Brother of Dundee, gratis. 



The estate of Stratlunartine, near Dundee, was in the possession of the WiNTOUN family early 
in the sixteenth century, and remained in their hands till the middle of the eighteenth century. 
The name appears frequently in Brieves of Inquest during that period, though the WiNTOUNS do 
not seem to have taken a leading part in political affairs. Thomas Wintoun, whose name is 
entered here, was the son of Andrew Wintoun and Elizabeth, daughter of James Scrymgeour 
of Balbeuchly. He was a Justice of the Peace for Forfarshire in 1616, at the time of the visit of 
James VI. to Scotland, and was one of the Forfar Barons who met the King at Kinnaird Castle 
at that date. His town residence stood at the south-west corner of the Vault, Dundee, and is 
still known by the name of " Strathmartine's Lodging." It is one of the most ornate of the 
urban residences of the neighbouring gentry that have survived to the present da^-. 



100 JOHN SCRYMGEOURE — MAGISTER JAMES NICOLSOUN. 



1606. April 1st. 

Which day JOHN SCRYMGEOURE of Kirktoun is made a Burgess and 
Guild-Brother of Dundee, by reason of the Privilege of his 
Father, the late John Scrymgeoure of Kirktoun. 

The relationship of the Kirktoun ScRYMGEOURS to the Constables of Dundee has already 
been explained. James Scrymgeour of Kirktoun, the grandfather of this John Scrymgeour, 
was married, circa 1541, to Elizabeth, eldest daughter of the Constable who died in 1546, 
and though the Glaister branch of the family had intervened, the Kirktoun Lairds were not far 
removed from the succession to the estates of the main line of the Scrymgeours. John 
Scrymgeour's daughter, Magdalen, was married to Alexander Wedderburn, second Baron 
of Kingennie, and Town-Clerk of Dundee. The names of several of his and their descendants 
appear on the Burgess-Roll. 



1606. April 2nd. 

Which day Magister JAMES NICOLSOUN, Pastor of the Church of 
Megill, is made a Burgess and Guild Brother of Dundee, gratis. 

The brief career of James Nicolson, the Pastor of Meigle, shows in a peculiar manner the 
dangers which attend upon a favourite of the Court at a critical period of the Church's history. 
No trace of the place of his birth or education has been found, but as he was the bosom friend of 
James Melville, the famous minister of Kilrenny, it is most likelj' that he had studied with him, 
and obtained his degree at St Andrews. On 7th May, 1580, he was presented to the parsonage 
and vicarage of Cortachy by King James, and three years later was transferred to Meigle, which 
charge was also conferred upon him by the KiNG. Though quite a young man at this time, he 
soon displayed conspicuous ability in the Church Courts, taking part in fifteen out of twenty-one 
Assemblies, and twice filling the Moderator's Chair — in 1595 and in 1606. During the early stage 
of his public career he was entirely in favour of the popular party, and resisted all attempts to win 
him over to the Prelatic notions which were then dominant at the Court. At length the impor- 
tunities of Archbishop Gladstanes, and the threats, it is asserted, of the King himself, induced 
him to abandon his companions and support the Bishops. He was rewarded with a position as 
Collegiate Minister in the King's household, and suffered to retain the Parsonage of Meigle in con- 
junction therewith. In 1606 he was appointed constant Moderat<jr of the Presbytery, by Royal 
warrant, the members being charged to receive him as such within twenty-four hours after notice, 



MAGISTER JAMES GLEIG. 101 

under pain of rebelliou. His sorvility had so pleased the King that the latter took the very 
unusual course of purchasing the gift of the Bishopric of Dunkeld from the holder, Peter Rollock, 
for 20,000 pounds Scots (£1,G66 13s. 4d.), that ho might present it to his favourite, the Parson of 
Meigle. This office, however, he was destined never to enjoy, as he died on I7th August, 1607, 
before the presentation had passed the seals. It is stated that his death was brought on " by a 
heavy melancholy, induced by making alterations in the record of the actings of the previous 
General Assembly." On his death-bed, " when his friends proposed sending for a physician, he 
exclaimed, ' Send for King James ; it is the digesting of the Bishopric that has wracked my 
stomach.' He would not allow his Episcopal titles to be put into his testament; and earnestly 
exhorted his brother-in-law to keep aloof from the Court, and not to become a Bishop ; ' for if you 
do,' said he, 'you must resolve to take the will of your Sovereign for the law of your conscience.' " 
His career was cut .short ere he had reached his fiftieth year. By his Will he gave " x\ merks 
to the pure the day of his buriall, and xx merks to hing the bell in the Kirk of Meigle." By 
his marriage with Jane, daughter of Gilbert Ramsay of Bamff, grand-daughter of a Burgess of 
Dundee (vide page 40), he left a son, James Nicolson, and two daughters. 



1606. April 22nd. 

Which day Magister JAMES GLEIG, Kegent in the College of S. 
Salvator, St Andrews, is made a Burgess and Brother of the 
Guild of Dundee, gratis. 

The date of the admission of James Gleig as a Burgess marks a strange episode in the 
history of the Burgh. After the office of Master of the Granuuar School had been finally 
resigned by David Ltndesay, on his appointment as Minister of Dundee (vide page 95), 
application was made for the post by Robert Nairne, " ane bairne of the toun," who had been 
engaged " in the teaching and bringing up of youth" at Linlithgow and St Andrews. He had 
numerous testimonials and special letters of reconunendation to Provost Scrymgeour and the 
Bailies, and was at once adopted by the ruling party in the Council as a suitable candidate. 
The Presbytery examined him and reported favourably as to his ability, and he was about to be 
appointed to the place, when the Crafts, who had begun to feel the Provost's rule irksome, 
protested against the undue haste with which the matter had been settled, and brought forward 
as an applicant " Mr James Gleg, ane of the Regents of S. Salvator 's College." Like his 
rival, he " wes ane native bairne of the Burgh," and was willing to undergo an examination as to 
his qualifications by the Presbytery ; but that reverend body, probably desiring to gratify the 
PR0Vt)ST, declined to give any other report than that which they had {jrescnted in favour of 
Nairne. In these circumstances, Gleig desired to retire from the contest, and at the meeting of 
the Council, on 22nd April, Nairne was appointed after a protracted discussion. On this very 



102 MAGISTER WILLIAM WEDDERBURNE. 

day the Lockit Book was opened, and the name of Magister James Gleig inscribed on the 
Biirgess-Roll, apparentl}' as a reward for his discretion in retiring. Nairne did not long retain 
the place, for on 18th December, 1610, he was superseded for some undescribed offence, and 
Gleig was at length installed as Master of the Grammar School of Dundee. That post he 
retained with credit and distinction for the succeeding forty-three years. During this long 
period the Council repeatedly made gifts of sums of money to him as tokens of their approbation, 
and on one occasion (9th August, 1636) they decided that, " knawing he is of present intention 
to put Thomas, his eldest son, to the College, of quhom they have good hopes that he may in 
progress of time prove profitable to the commonweill," they would " freely grant his son ane 
himdred pounds yearly during his abode in the Philosophy College in St Andrews." The antici- 
pations of the Councillors in this instance were fully realized, for Thomas Gleig rose to be one 
of the foremost medical men of the time, was associated with the first proposal for a Royal 
College of Physicians in Edinburgh, and was regarded as a Latinist of very great ability. The 
last gift bestowed upon the aged Schoolmaster was an addition of two hundred mcrks to his 
stipend in 1649, which was expressly declared to be granted because of "his personal descrvings, 
and long and useful service." He seems to have only survived this date for four years, as a 
successor was appointed in 1653. 

James Gleig occupied a high position amongst the Scottish Latin scholars of his time, 
although few of his works have been preserved. The most remarkable of his Latin poems which 
have come down to us is transcribed amongst the MSS. of Sir James Balfour of Denmyln, now 
in the Advocates' Library, Edinburgh, and is described as having been " written by Ja- Glege, 
Schoolmaster of Dundee, in Appryle 6 • 1638." It is entitled Pasquillits contra Bpiscopos, and 
is a violent attack upon the Prelates of that period — several of them being townsmen of his 
own. This poem will be found, together with a contemporary translation, in Maidment's Book 
of Scotish Pasquils, p. 1-5. 



ICll. July 9th. 

Which day Magister WILLIAM WEDDERBURNE, Pastok of the Kirk of 
Dundee, is made a Burgess and Brother of the Guild, by reason of 
THE Privilege of his Father, Alexander Wedderburne, Bailie of thjb 
said Burgh. 

William Wedderburn was the son of Alexander Wedderburn of Pittormie, Bailie of 
Dundee, an active member of the Council for many years. He studied at St Andrews, taking his 
degree as Master of Arts there, and afterwards serving as Regent (teacher) in S. Salvator's College. 
He was ordained as minister of Pittenweem in April, 1609, and remained there for two years. In 



SIR ROBERT DANIELSTOUN. 103 

March, IGll, he was transferred to the new Third Charge in Dundee, having professed his willing- 
ness to refrain from interfering with " controverted heads of discipline," and ready to " conforme 
himself vnto quhatsumever order of Church government" the King and the Kirk should appoint. 
He was unmarried when he entered upon his charge at Dundee, and the Council made a 
stipulation with him that they would pay him "as grite ane stipend for his service as they paid 
to the remanent ministers, how soon it pleasit God to give him the chairge and burden of ane 
family." His marriage with Magdalen, youngest daughter of Alexander Wedderburn of 
Kingeunie, the Town-Clerk of Dundee, took place in 1G12, and in the following year his stipend 
was raised to " the soum of aucht hundred merks" (£40), besides his house-maill. He was con- 
tinued in his pastorate in 1616, and must have died before November, 1617, as his successor then 
entered on his duties. 



1612. July 6th. 

Which day SIR ROBERT DANTELSTOUN of Montjoy, Knic4ht, King's 
Ambassador in Holland, is given the Freedom of the Burgh of 
Dundee, for his Services to the Commonweal. 

The intimate commercial relations between Dundee and the Netherlands which had existed 
for centuries before the above date, naturally led the merchants in the Burgh to take a very 
special interest in the statesman who had charge of the foreign trade under the title of Conser- 
vator of the Scots Privileges at Campvere. That office was worthily occupied by Sir Robert 
Danielstoun — now corrupted into Dennistoun — for thirty years, and this fact accounts for the 
appearance of his name on the Burgess-Roll. It was intended as a reward for the assistance 
which he had rendered to William Goldman of Dundee in establishing the staple trade at 
Campvere {vide page 38). He was descended from SiK Hew de Danzielstoun of that Ilk, who 
swore fealty to Edward I., in 1296, the branch of the family from which he was more immediately 
derived being that which was settled at Colgrain, Dunbartonshire, circa 1350. Sir Robert was 
born in lo-tS, and was sent abroad early in life to prepare him for the post which he afterwards 
obtained. The conservation of the Scots Privileges was made the care of the Convention of 
Royal Burghs, and SiR Robert was despatched to Campvere, under special recommendations, to 
fill this onerous {position. For thirty years he administered this delicate office with acceptance, 
and only once was he brought into a dangerous dilemma. When Francis, Earl of Errol, one 
of the leading Romanist nobles, escaped from Scotland after the futile rebellion under Huntly in 
1596, he was captured in Holland, and placed under the care of SiR Robert Danielstoun. By 
some means he eluded the vigilance of his captor, and SiR Robert was summoned to answer to 
the Privy Council for his alleged negligence. He was able to give them a satisfactory explanation. 



104 JAMES NEILL. 

and retained his post with tmdiminished power. In November, 1602, he was introduced as a 
member of the Privy Council, and served in that capacity for many yeai'S. He survived till 1G2G, 
and was then buried in the Grayfriars Churchyard, Edinburgh, where his tombstone may still be 
seen, bearing the following inscription : — 

" Eii nil orbi-s quod jjerennit jwssidet. 
Robertus isto cunditus sub marmore, legatus olhu 
Denystouus Regius ; per lustra lihertatis ad Belgas fuit 
sex Scoticana: assertor; idem ad Anglos, Ibcros missus 
est cum gloria, fidusgue patrim, principi erai a eonciliis ; 
cetate plenus, q?iinque ter lustris tribus minis peradis, cmlitem 
vitam colit. D. 0. S. Domini Roherti Denistoni quod 
rlaudi potwit hie jacet ; amantissima uxor, famm 
rarissimi viri, et mansurce memorial, Jioc monumentum 
De Sua Pecunia Faciendum Guru." 

[Behold, how nothing whicli this world possesses may endure ! Beneath this stone lies Sm Eobert 
Denistoun, ambassador at one time for the King, who for thirty years was Conservator of the Scottish 
Privileges in Holland, and who was also sent to the English and the Spaniards (and returned) with honour. 
Faithful to his country, a Councillor to his Sovereign, he, being agod, having spent seventy-eight years (on 
earth), now lives in Heaven. Here lie the remains of Sir Robert Denistoun. His best-beloved wife, 
careful of the fame of her dearest husband, has raised this monument, at her own cost, that his memory 
may be preserved.] 

Sir Robert's widow, Christian Gibson, survived till 1642. His first wife, Helen Myrton, 
widow of Colonel Andrew Traill, died in 1608, and was buried at St Andrews. 



1615. April 8th. 

Which day JAMES NEILL, Surgeon, is made a Burgess and Brother of the 
Guild, for his Services in Curing the Inhabitants of the Burgh who 
were Wounded in the Service of the Country, and for his Attendance 
uroN THE Poor in the said Burgh, when Requested by the Provost and 
Bailies. 

This entry is of special interest, as being the earliest instance of any recognition of gratuitous 
medical services recorded in the civic annals. It is fitting that it should find a place here, .since 
the name of James Neill does not appear anywhere else in the annals of Dundee. No clue to 
his life and career has been found ; nor is it easy to tell in what contest the natives of the Burgh 
were wounded whose cure he had effected. The recognition of his services to the poor is perhaps 
the earliest instance on record of work of this kind being officially acknowledged. 



DAVID, LORD CARNEGY — MAGISTEl! .lOHX YOUNG. 105 



1616. January 30th. 

Which day DAVID, LORD CARNEGY, is added to the number of the 
Burgesses of Dundee, for his Services to the Commonweal. 

David Carnegie was the son of Sir David Carnegie of Panbride, aud Eupheme, daughter of 
Sir John Wemyss of Wemyss. His grandfather, Sir Robert Carnegie of Kiunaird, held several 
valuable properties in Dundee ; and reference has already been made to his uncle. Sir John 
Carnegie, who was enrolled as a Burgess on 14th September, 1.571 {vide page 45). It is not 
necessary to give any detailed account of his career, as his life is fully related in the History of 
the Camegies of Southesk, published by his descendant aud representative, the present Earl of 
SoUTHESK. It is worthy of notice, however, that he appears under the designation of " L(jRD 
Carnegy" on the Burgess-Roll in Januaiy, 1616, though his patent as a Peer of Scotland is dated 
14th April of that year. This may be accounted for on the supposition that though the first day 
of the year in Scotland was altered from 25th March to 1st January in 1600, the Council Records 
were not re-arranged for some time afterwards. Lord Carnegie gained .special importance in 
Forfarshire at this time, from the fact that the King resided with him at Kinnaird Castle when 
on liis famous visit to his ancient northern Kingdom, in 1617. He was constituted a Lord of 
Session on 5th July, 1616, and raised to the Peerage in 1633, by the title of Earl of Southe.SK. 
He died at Kinnaird, in February, 1658, leaving by his wife Margaret, daughter of Sir David 
Lindsay of Edzell, four sons and sis daughters, one of the latter being married to William 
Haliburton of Pitcur. 

On the day of Lord Carnegie's admission the names of his relatives David, Master of 
Carnegie, his eldest son — ob. vita i^tris, 1633, Robert Carnegie of Dunnichen, and Alexander 
Carnegie of Balnabroich, were also inscribed on the Burgess-Roll ; but they do not require special 
notice. 



1618. January 9th. 

Which day Magister JOHN YOUNG, Dean of Winchester and Doctor of 
Theology, is added to the number of the Burgesses of Dundee, for 
his Services to the Commonweal. 

Doctor John Young was the sixth son of Sir Peter Young of Seatoun, who was admitted a 
Burgess on 19th October, 1592. He was born on 25th June, 1585, and was educated at Sidney 
Sussex College, Cambridge, where he gained considerable distinction, and took his degrees with 
honours. After a lengthened residence in France and Germany, he returned to Scotland, in 



106 MAGISTER JOHN YOUNG. 

1G03, to take possession of the estate of Nether Insches, in Fife, which had been bequeathed 
to him by his uncle, Alexander Young. The latter, who was a younger brother of Sir Peter 
Young, was Usher-Depute to the King, and was specially favoured by the Town Council of 
Dundee with a burial-place in " the new Croce Kirk without payment of ony duty therefor, 
nochtwithstanding it be provydit be the acts that na person sail be buried without payment of 
ane hundred pounds." Like the other members of Sir Peter's family, John Young was made 
the recipient of the patronage of the King. He was appointed Chancellor and one of the Canons 
of Wells Cathedral, in 1G15, an office which he retained even after he had been elevated to the 
Deanery of Winchester. The following letter, which is now preserved amongst the Cathedral 
archives at Wells, has only lately been discovered, and throws a curious light upon the relation- 
ship betwixt King James and this eminent native and Burgess of Dundee. It is addressed by 
the King to the Chapter of Wells : — 

" Jaiies R. 

" Trusty and well-Leloved, wee greit you well. Whereas John Young, D'; of Di^'inity, 
Chancellor, and one of your Canons of the Cathedral Church of WelLs, by reason of his attendance on us, 
and imployment in our service cann not Reside amongst you, and performe such ordinary dueties as his 
place may require. Theis are to certify you that notwthstanding his non Residence It is our special 
pleasor that henceforth he enjoy all commodityes, dividents, and quotidians any way belonging tii his 
place in as ffull and ample manner as yf he were there present. By doing whereof you shall doe us very 
accejitable service. 

"(iiven at Cranburne the viii. of August, 161.5." 

From the Acts of the Chapter of Wells, it appears that on "23rd Sept. A.D. 1615, John 
Young, the Chancellor, a Canon resident, produces letters from the King in that behalf, and 
obtains dispensation from residence." In the following year he was made Dean of Winchester, 
and from the report of the Metropolitan Visitation of Archbishop Laud, in 1634, preserved 
amongst the manuscripts of the House of Lords, it is evident that he held the Chancellorship of 
Wells Cathedral, together with the higher dignity, at that period. Besides these lucrative offices, 
he had also an appointment as Chaplain to the KiNr;, and was entrusted by the Sovereign with 
the management of some of the most delicate of his projects regarding the establishment of 
Prelacy. It had been a favourite scheme with Archbishop Gladstanes to revive academical 
degrees in Divinity, but he died before he could accomplish this reform. The King saw in the 
proposal a method of attaching the professors and clergy to himself, and accordingly, in July, 
1616, the year after Gladstanes' death, he sent Dr John Young to St Andrews, for the purpo.se 
of restoring the obsolete Scottish degree of Doctor of Divinity. One of the first to receive this 
degi-ee was Robert Howie, the deposed minister of Dundee, who was then Principal of St Andrews 
University (vide page 97). Two years afterwards he was the bearer of a message from the 
King to the General Assembly which James had summoned to Perth. That message contained 
directions that the Assembly should adopt the famous " Five Articles of Perth," by which some 
essential forms of ritual would have been introduced ; and the servile members, terrified by the 
threats of the Bishops, agreed to this enlargement of the Royal prerogative. "But that day," 
writes John Row, " there was such a fearfull storm of winde and raine, that, at the conclusion of 
this Asserablie, all were feared that the Kirk should have been blowen doune upon them ; but 



M AGISTER PATRICK YOUNG. 107 

seared consciences takes no notice of warnings from heaven." This Assembly was afterwards 
declared illegal, and its acts rescinded. It was whilst Dr Young was in Scotland preparing for 
the Assembly of 1G18 that the Council of his native town conferred the freedom of the Burgh of 
Dundee upon him, though this honour was bestowed more out of respect for his talents than 
through sympathy with his Prelatic actions. His name appears prominently in connection with 
the Parliament of 1620; and his services were freipiently brought into reijuest in secular as well 
as in ecclesiastical affairs. 



1618. January 9th. 

Which day Magi.ster PATRICK YOUNG, Superintendent of the King's 
Library, is given the Freedom of the Burgh of Dundee, on account 
OF his Zeal in the Service of the Commonweal, and for the mode in 

WHICH HE has munificently INCREASED THE LiBRARY OF THE BuRGH. 

Patrick Young was the fifth son of Sir Peter Young of Seaton, and the elder brother of Dr 
John Young, who was admitted as a Burgess on the same day. He was born in Dundee iu 1583, 
and educated at St Andrews, where he took his degree as Master of Arts in 1603. Two years 
afterwards he removed to Oxford, where he prosecuted his studies witli sucii conspicuous success 
that he won the reputation of being a very profound scholar. Following the example of his 
renowned grand-uncle, Henry Scrymgeour, he devoted himself especiallj' to the classical 
languages, and was regarded as one of the most learned Greek scholars of the period. He obtained 
the Rectory of Hayes, in Middlesex, and of Lannerage, in Denbighshire, and was appointed 
Prebendary and Treasurer of S. Paul's Cathedral, London. He held the post of Librarian 
successively to Prince Henry, to King Jajies, and to Charles I., an office for which his extensive 
acquaintance with foreign and classical literature peculiarly fitted him. The high estimation in 
which his literary ability and scholastic attainments were held by his contemporaries is proved 
indirectly but convincingly by the following circumstance, which is not noted iu any biography of 
him. In the Journal of the House of Lords for 28th December, 1647 (Vol. IX., ]). 616), there is a 
draft ordinance written in extenso, directing that the sum of £1,000 should be paid "to Patrick 
YoUNGE, in part recompense of his pains in the edition of a most antient manuscript copy of the 
Greek Septuagint Bible, and other Greek manuscripts." This entry is immediately followed by 
another draft order for the payment to him " of a further sum of £1,000 for the same reason." As 
this was at a time when literary labour was not munificently rewarded, it may be concluded that 
Dr Young's qualifications for these tasks were exceptional. It is alleged that he was Archdeacon 
of St Andrews, and whilst in that office he presented the ground that had belonged to the 
Dominican Monastery thei'e to the town fur the purpose of founding a school ; but as this gift is 
sometimes credited to him, and sometimes to his brother John, the statement seems very doubtful. 
He died at Bromfield, in Essex, on 7th September, 1652, leaving two daughters, his co-heiresses. 



108 JOHN, EARL OF PERTH. 

The allusion to " the Library of the Burgh" in the entry of Dr Patrick Young's admission 
is especially interesting. The Library at that time probably consisted of the remnants of the 
collections made by the various monasteries in Dundee, which would come into the possession of 
the Town when the ecclesiastical property was secularized. William Chrystesone, who was 
Pastor of Dundee from 1560 till 1597, seems to have taken special care of these works, and they 
are described as having included many rare and valuable volumes. The Town Council repeatedly 
ordered that inventories of them should be made up, but unfortunately no catalogue has been 
preserved, and the Library was utterly consumed when the churches of Dundee were destroyed 
by fire, in 1841. It is impossible, therefore, to say precisely what were the works with which Dr 
Young " munificently increased the Library of the Burgh," though a very reasonable conjecture 
may be hazarded. It is known that Henry Scrymgeour, the Professor of Civil Law at 
Geneva, bequeathed his library and manuscripts to his nephew, Sir Peter Young of Seatoun, 
and that these were brought to Scotland by Sir Peter's brother, Alexander, in 1573. The 
care of this unique library devolved upon Dr PATRICK YouNG, and it is stated by Thomas Smith 
(Vita Ulustrium V'trorum) that "the most valuable portions of it passed into public collections 
through his [SiR Peter's] son, Dr P. Young." It is highly probable, therefore, that the gift 
which the latter made to the Town of Dundee consisted of some of those books and manuscripts 
which had belonged to his illustrious relative, Henry Scrymgeour, so that he might keep alive 
the memory of that eminent scholar in the place of his birth and the home of his kindred. 



1619. July 9th. 

Which day JOHN, EARL OF PERTH, LORD DRUMMOND, is added to 
the number of the burgesses of dundee, for his services to the 
Commonweal. 

John, second Earl of Perth, was the younger son of Patrick, third Lord Dhummond, and 
Elizabeth, daughter of the Earl of Craufurd. His elder brother, James, who had been 
created Earl of Perth in 1605, died leaving only one daughter; and as the title was granted 
"with remainder to heirs-male whatsoever," the succession to the title devolved upon John 
Drumjiond. He was an ardent supporter of the Prelatic party, and was one of those who voted 
for the " Five Articles of Perth" at the General Assembly, held there in 1618. By his marriage 
with IjADY Jean Ker, daughter of the first Earl of Roxburghe, he had three sons — James, 
third Earl of Perth, John Drummond of Logie Almond, and William, afterwards second Earl 
OF Roxburghe. This marriage connected him doubly with Dundee, as Sir James Scrimgeour 
of Dudhope was married to one sister of the CouNTESS of Perth, and Sir James Haliburton 
of Pitcur to another. 



JAMES SCRYMGEOURE — MAGISTER COLIN CAMPBELL. lOfl 



1619. July 9th. 

Which day JAMES SCRYMGEOURE, Apparent of Dudoi', is made a Burgess 
AND Brother of the Guild of the Burgh of Dundee ; Accidents Gratis. 

James Scrymgeour was the eldest son of John, first Viscount Dudhope, who was admitted 
as a Burgess on 23rd September, 1-599 {lide page 83). He was more active in public affairs than 
his father, and was involved in several serious disputes with the Town Council regarding the rights 
of the Coustableship of Dundee, and the jurisdiction of the Town over the Rotten Row, or Hilltown. 
The fact that he bore the courtesy title of Lord Scrymgeour during his father's life has misled 
some of the historians of Dundee, who refer to him as " Viscount Dudhope" years before he had 
any claim to that designation. His father survived till 7th March, 1643, and it was not until that 
date that he came into the title as second ViscouNT OF DuDHOPE. He took part in the contest 
between Charles I. and the Parliamentarians, and received a wound at Marston Moor on 2nd 
July, 16-i4, from the results of which ho died three weeks afterwards. By his marriage with Lady 
Isabel Ker, second daughter of Robert, first Earl of Roxburghe, he had two sons and two 
daughters. The elder son succeeded as third ViscouNT OF Dudhope, and was created Earl of 
Dundee. His name appears on the Burgess-Roll under date 9th May, 1660. The younger 
daughter, Margaret, was married to John Graham of Fintry. The second son was Captain 
Scrymgeour, whose death is thus recorded in Lamoiit's Diary : — 

"1661, Agust. The Lord Cranston, in Lowthian, the E[arl] of Leven's son-in-law, by way of duel], 
killed Captaine iSkrymger, the E[arl] of Dundie's brother, being both att London for the tynie." 



1619. October 19th. 

Which day Magister COLIN CAMPBELL, Pastor of the Church of 
Dundee, is added to the number of the Burgesses and Brethren 
of the Guild in the said Burgh, for his Public Services. 

Colin Campbell, minister of the Third Charge in Dundee, was born in 1577, and studied at 
St Andrews University, where he took his degree in 1.597. He was placed as minister of Kettins, 
in the Presbytery of Meigle, about 1604, and remained there until he was transferred to Dundee, 
in 1617, as successor to Magister William Wedderburn {vide page 102). His name appears 
associated with those of Andrew Melville, Patrick Simson, James Melville, John Row, and 
other Pre.sbyterian leaders, in the famous Protestation against the establishment of Episcopacy, 
which was presented to the Parliament at Perth, on 1st July, 1606. His opinions upon this 



110 DAVID GRAHAM. 

matter, like that of mauj- of his brethren, must afterwards have changed, as he was one of those 
nominated in the High Commission issued by the King, on 15th June, 1620, for the piu-pose of 
erecting an Ecclesiastical Court, where offences against church discipline might be summarily- 
dealt with. Regarding this Commission, Calderwood writes : — 

" The true intent was to force ministers and other professors to practise the Five Aiiicles, and to 
establish the tyrannous usurpation of Bishops" (Hist, of the Kirli, Wodrow edition, Vol. VII., p. S84). 

At a later date (21st October, 1634) he was a member of the Commission for the Mainten- 
ance of Church Discipline, and must therefore have possessed the confidence both of the King 
(Charles I.) and of the Assembly. 

In the Fasti Ecclcskv Scoticamv, Vol. III., p. 694, it is stated that Colin Campbell " had 
for stipend and house-maill in 1622 ix" merks," but from the entry in the Minutes of the Town 
Council it is apparent that this is an error. When he was admitted to the Third Charge the 
Council agreed to pay him " the soum of aucht hundred merks yearly in name of stipend, by and 
attour his house maill." In 1624, after he had been seven years in the place, the Council granted 
him an increase "yearly and ilk year during the time of his serving the cure, ane hundred and 
ten merks in augmentation of the aucht hundred payit him of before, and of his house maill, 
making in the whole the sum of ane thousand merks." These payments are verified by the 
entries in the Kirkmaster's accounts. 

Colin Campbell died on 13th June, 1638, and was buried in the South Church, where his 
memorial stone was found in fragments after the destruction of the Churches by fire, in 1841. 
"He estimated his haill buikis to be worth ii9 lib., utencils, &c., iii^^vi lib. xiiis iiij d, Frie geir, 
ii'= lib., xiii s. iiij d, and left in legacie to the poore of the Burgh xl merks" (Fasti Ecclesiaj 
Scoticcmcv). His wife, Margaret Hat, survived him, and was in a position to lend money to the 
Town when a levy was made, in 1644, to provide men to send against the Marquess of Huntly 
and the insurgents who had joined with him. The three sons of Colin Campbell were all 
engaged in the ministry — James being minister of S. Madoes, David, of Menmuir, and John, 
of Tealiug. 



1620. March 30th. 
Which day DAVID GEAHAM of Fintrie is added to the number of the 

BURGES,SES of DuNDEE, GRATIS. 

The Grahams of Fintry had an honourable connection with the municipal histor}' of Dundee 
for two hundred years before the date of this entry, and as their intimate relationship with the 
Burgh has not yet been adequately acknowledged, a brief sketch of their history, so far as it 
relates to Diuidee, may be necessary. 



DAVID GRAHAM. HI 

It has been asserted regarding the Grahams that " no family of North Britain can boast of 
higher antiquity." Their earliest recorded possessions lay in the district of Strathblane, and on 
the banks of the Clyde, near Dunbarton ; and their first appearance in the eastern part of 
Scotland dates from the beginning of the fourteenth century. Sir David Graham of Kin- 
cardine obtained the lands of Old Montrose from King Robert I. in exchange for his estate of 
Cardross, on the Clyde, at which place the KiNG afterwards expired. The Fintry branch of this 
ancient family took origin from Sir William Graham of Kincardine, great-grandson of this Siu 
David. By his second marriage with Lady Mary Stewart, daughter of King Robert III., 
Sir William had five sons, the eldest of whom was the first Graham of Fintry. Sir Robert 
Graham, the earliest Laird of Fintry, was thus nephew to King James I, being the son of tlie 
King's sister. His father had obtained charters of many valuable estates in various parts of 
Scotland from his brother-in-law, the Duke OF Albany ; and these were confirmed to him by 
the King after his return from his long imprisonment in England. In 1430, the lands of " Ald- 
monros, Kynnabre, and Charlton," in Forfarshire, were settled upon SiR Robert Graham by the 
King, though the precise time when he obtained the lands of Fintry is not recorded. Thirty-four 
years after this date (3Ist August, 1464), Sir Robert Graham obtained a charter from James 
III., when that Monarch was in Dundee, by which he was permitted to incorporate the lands of 
Craigtoun and Balmanoch, in the Earldom of Lennox and County of Dunbarton, into a free 
barony, " to be called the barony of Fintry in all future time." This charter indicates that the 
name Fintry was in existence as applied to the Forfarshire property before it was used in the 
West country, though the contrary has been maintained by several wz-iters (Reg. Mag. Slg. 
Jac. III. SOS). By his marriage with Janet, daughter of SiR Richard Lovell of Ballumbie, 
he had two sous, Robert, his successor, and John of Balargus, the latter of whom was married to 
the daughter of the Constable of Dundee, and became ancestor of the Grahams of Claver- 
house and of Duutrune. 

The elder son, Robert Graham of Fintry, was intimately associated with Dundee, having 
served repeatedly as Provost of the Burgh. In a charter, dated I7th February, 1465, by which 
some of the Town's property in le Horsivynd on the south side of the Mvirraygate is let, he is 
explicitly described as "Provost of Dundee" (Reg. M(ig. Sig. Jac. IV., 2395) ; and he is similarly 
designated in another charter which he witnessed at Dimdee on 10th Sejjtember, 1478. He was 
married to the Lady Elizabeth Douglas, daughter of George, Earl of Angus,* and received 
extensive grants of lands in Forfarshire from her brother, the famous " Archibald, Bell-the- 
Cat." Provost Graham held property in the Sea-gait and Murray-gait of Dundee, which he 
granted in 1492 to the Parish Church of Strathdichty-Comitis — now Mains — to found a 
Chaplainry for the celebration of masses for the welfare of the souls of himself, his wife, his father 
and mother, and several of his nearest relatives. He was succeeded by his son. Sir David Graham, 
third Laird of Fintry, who was married to a daughter of William, first Earl of Montrose. 



* In Bueke's Extinct Peerage, page 176, it is stated that the marriage contract of Sir Robert Graham and Lady 
Elizabeth Douglas was dated 1476 ; but tliis appears to be an error, as "David Grahasi, son and heir-apparent" of 
Sir Robert, witnesses the above-mentioned cliarter in 14G5. Again, in Burke's Landed Geiifri/, under Gr.mia.m of 
Fintry, Lady Elizabeth is called the daughter of "John, Earl of Angus;" but her father's name was George, 
and tliere never was a JoHX, Earl of Angus. 



112 THOMAS FOTHRINGHAM — MAGISTER JOHN FOTHRINGHAM. 

William Graham, his son and successor, was married to Katherine, daughter of John Beaton 
of Balfour, and sister of Cardinal Beatoun. His son, Sir David Graham, was the builder of 
the Castle of Mains, near Dundee, in 1562, and received the honour of Knighthood from James 
VI. By his wife Margaret, daughter of James, Lord Ogilvy of Airlie, he had three sons, the 
eldest of whom succeeded to the estate, and is known in history as that David Graham of Fintry 
who was executed in 1592 for his concern in the Roman Catholic consj^iracy of the " Spanish 
Blanks." His eldest son was tlie David Graham whose name is here inscribed on the Burgess- 
Roll. 

By some means the seventh Laird of Fintry last referred to had been preserved from the 
religious taint that had proved so fatal to his fither, and had been taken under the care of his 
relatives. Sir James Scrymgeour of Dudhope, Sir James Haliburton of Pitcur, and Thomas 
FOTHRINGHAM of Powrie, who prevented his mother, Barbara Scott — daughter of Sir James 
Scott of Balwearie — from exercising her influence over his early instruction. He is described as 
having been " a devoted Royalist," and he was Knighted by Charles I. in 1G33, when the King 
was crowned at Holyrood. In the Parliament of 1641 he represented Forfarshire, but took no 
prominent part in public affairs. He was married to Mary, daughter of Sir James Haliburton 
of Pitcur, and grand-daughter of Viscount Dudhope, and was succeeded by his eldest son, John, 
whose name appears on the Burgess-Roll under date 27th July, 1632. 



1620. March 30th. 

Which day THOMAS FOTHRINGHAM of Powery is added to the number 

OF THE Burgesses of Dundee, gratis. 



The same day Magister JOHN FOTHRINGHAM of Powery, Brother- 

GERMAN OF THE SAID ThOMAS, IS MADE A BuRGESS AND GuiLD BROTHER 

of Dundee, gratis. 



Reference has already been made to the father and grandfather of these two FOTHRINGHAMS, 
wlio were admitted Burgesses in the years 1565 and 1526 respectively (vide pages 43 and 18). 
Thomas Fothringham succeeded to the estate on the death of his fatlier, in 1610. When the 
troubles betwixt Charles I. and the Scottish people began, he attached himself ardently to the 
Royalist cause ; and after the execution of that unfortunate Monarch, he still adhered to the 
doubtful fortunes of the young King, Charles II. It was his lot to suffer severely for his 



MAGISTER GEORGE GRAHAM. 113 

loyalty, as he was oue of the barons that vainly attempted to revive the failing hopes of the 
Stewart partizans when Cromwell had over-run Scotland. The termination of that exploit is 
thus recorded by Lamont (Diary, p. JJ/): — 

" 1651. Aug. 28. — A great pairt of the comittie of Estaits were taken prisoners by the English at 
Eliot in Angus, viz. the Earle of Crafoord, E' of Leuin, E. Marshall, Lord Ogilbie, Lord Hombie, Lord 
Lie, Laird of Colintoune, Pourie Fothringam, Lord Hombie's soiine, etc., and about 80 other gentellmen 
and souldiers, and nobelmen's seruants. . . . After they were apprehended, they were all put into 
EngHsh .ships, and hot mainlie used. After that they were carried to England, first to Tinuiouth Castle 
and then to London." 

Fothringham succeeded in effecting his release, and returned to Scotland, but did not long 
remain. In " 1652, Nov., Powrie Fothringhanie, in Angus, tooke iourney from Edenbroughe to 
goe to London, witli a purpose to goe from thence to France. 1654, he depairted out of this life 
in France" (Lamont's Diary, p. 49). He was twice married, (first) to Jean Kinloch, daughter of 
Dr David Kinloch of Aberbothrie and Dundee {vide page 92), and (second) to Margaret, 
daughter of Sir Alexander Gibson of Durie {vide page 84) ; but he left no sxirviving issue, and 
the estate fell to his brother John, who was admitted Burgess on the same day as himself The 
latter was retoured heir of Thomas Fothringham in certain lands in Fcjrfarshire on 5th December, 
1564. He took a special interest in the municipal afif;iii-s of Dundee, and acted as a kind of 
mediator betwixt Viscount Dudhope and the Town Council in their long-continued disputes 
regarding the Constable's jurisdiction. 



1620. March SOth. 

Which day Magister GEORGE GRAHAM of Claverhouse, Son of William 
Graham of Claverhouse, Knight, is made a Burgess and Guild 
Brother of Dundee. 

The admission of Sir William Graham of Claverhouse to the Burgess-ship of Dundee is 
recorded under date 25th July, 1603 {vide page 96). George Graham was the elder of Sir 
William's two sons, and succeeded to the estate on the death of his father, in October, 1642. 
He did not long survive to enjoy it, as he expired in April, 1645, leaving one son, Sir William 
Graham, the father of the first and third Viscounts of Dundee. When James VI. visited 
Scotland in 1616, George Graham of Claverhouse was one of the Justices of the Peace in 
Forfarshire charged to make suitable preparation for the King and Court whilst in Angus 
(Anulecta Scotica, Vol. II., j). ■-'■■S). Several of his descendants appear on the Burgess-Koll. 

Q 



114 JOHN LORD HOLYROODHOUSE— WILLIAM, WILLIAM, AND MAGISTEK ANDREW SANDILAXDS. 



1620. September 2nd. 

Which day JOHN, LORD HOLYROODHOUSE, is added to the number of 
THE Burgesses of Dundee, for his Public Services. 

John Bothwell, second Lord Holyroodhouse, was the son of John Bothwell of 
Alhamnier, and grandson of Adam Bothwell, Bishop of Orkney — the prelate who performed 
the marriage ceremony betwixt Queen Mary and the Earl of Bothwell, and six months after- 
wards officiated at the coronation of King James. John Bothwell of Alhamnier had obtained 
the position of a Lord of Session when his father the Bishop resigned that post in 1593; and he 
became a special favourite with the KiNG, whom he accomparued to England in 1603. On 20th 
December, 1607, he was created a peer with the title of Lord of Holyroodhouse, an honour 
which he enjoyed for a very brief period, as he died in November, 1609. He left an only son by his 
wife Mary, daughter of Sir John Carmichael of that Ilk, who was the Lord Holyroodhouse 
here enrolled amongst the Burgesses of Dundee. His connection with the Burgh arose through 
his relationship, on his mother's side, with the FoTHRlNGHAMES of Powrie. He was served heir to 
his father on I7th January, 1629, and died unmarried in 163.5. As the title had been devised to 
the heirs male of the body of John, first Lord Holyroodhouse, the dii-ect line thus failed ; but 
as there was a remainder to the heirs male of Adaji, Bishop of Orkney, the title became 
dormant, not extinct. No claimant appeared for it till 173.5, at which date Henry Bothwell 
of Glencorse, great-great-grandson of William Bothwell, third sou of the Bishop, petitioned 
the Cro^vn for an acknowledgment of his title. No decision was come to regarding this claim, 
although Henry Bothwell assumed the title during his lifetime. He died in 175.5, leaving 
an only daughter, who became the mother of SiR Robert Menzies, fifth baronet of Menzies. 



1620. September 2nd. 

Which day WILLIAM SANDILANDS of St Monans is made a Burgess and 
Brother of the Guild of Dundee, gratis. 



The same day WILLIAM SANDILANDS, Son of the said William 
Sandilands, is added to the number of the Burgesses of Dundee. 



The same day Magister ANDEEW SANDILANDS, Son of St Monans, is 
MADE A Burgess and Brother of the Guild of Dundee. 



The family of Sandilands of St Monans was a junior branch of th(; house of Torphichen, and 
came into the estates of Cruvie and St Monans by marriage towards the close of the fifteenth 



JAMES LEIRMONTH. 115 

century. There are several discrepancies in the received accounts of their genealogy, which it is 
unnecessary to detail. The following brief notice is founded upon a careful comparison of existing 
genealogies with each other and with unpublished documents. 

Sir William Sandilands of St Monans was the son of William Sandilands and Jean 
BoTHWELL, and was born in 1572. He succeeded to the estate on the death of his father, circa 
1613, and married Catherine, daughter of John Carstares of Kilconquhar. He represented 
Fifeshire in the Parliament of 1G17, and was concerned in the scheme for civilising the Lewes, 
undertaken by the " Fife Adventurei's," to which reference has been frequently made. His eldest 
son James predeceased him, leaving a son, who succeeded to St Monans. The name of the latter 
appears on the Burgess-Roll under date 7th November, 1G33. Magister Andrew is mentioned by 
Wood in his account of the family (Enfit Neul: of Fife, p. 2GS), but no reference is made to 
William, another son of the Knight, though this entry on the Burgess-Roll proves his existence. 
Sir William's daughter Eupham, born 1G29, was married to Sii: James Learmonth of Balcomie, 
whose name was entered on the Burgess-Roll on the same day as his own. The death of Sir 
William took place in October, 1644, when he had reached his seventy-second year. 



1G20. September 2nd. 

Which day JAMES LEIRMONTH, Fear of Balcomy, is made a Bukgess and 
Brother of the Guild of Dundee, gratis. 

The Leirmonths of Clatto and Dairsie obtained possession of the estate of Balcomie by pur- 
chase, in 1526. Sir James Leirmonth, the first of Dairsie, who fell at Pinkie-cleugh in 1547, had 
a daughter Elizabeth, who was married to Sir George Haliburton of Pitcur, and Sir James, 
whose name appears on the Burgess Roll, was his great-great-grandson. The father of the latter 
was Sir John Leirmonth of Birkhill, who succeeded to the estate in 1600, on the death of his 
elder brother. Sir John was married to Elizabeth, daughter of David Myrton of Randerstou, 
and as he survived till 1625, his eldest son James is here described as " Fear of Balcomy." 

Sir James Leirmonth of Balcomy rose to eminence in the law. He was appointed a Lord of 
Session on 8th November, 1627, and though he was temporarily deprived of office during the 
troubles in the early part of the reign of Charles L, he was re-appointed as a Judge by the King 
in 1641. Twice in his official career he was elected Lord-President of the Court of Session — in 
1G43 and 1647 — but having joined in " the Engagement," he was discjualified from holding this 
important office. It was found, however, that a man so eminent as he was could not be easily 
dispensed with, and accordingly he was made a Commissioner for the Administration of Justice 
in 1G55, and resumed his seat as a Lord of Session. His Parliamentary career was not less 
distinguished. He represented Fifeshire in the Convention of 1625, and eight years afterwards 
served on several Parliamentary Commissions. His end was both sudden and appalling. Whilst 



116 JAMES CARMICHAEL — JOHN OK BOTHWELL. 

oa the Bench giving judgment in a Court of Session case, on 2Gth June, 1657, he stopped in the 
midst of his speech, his head ch-opped on his breast, and he expired without warning. He was 
mamed to Margaret, daughter of Sir Willluvi Sandilands of St Monans (vide page 115), 
and left a numerous family. 



1620. September 2nd. 

Which day JAMES CAEMICHAEL of Balmedie is made a Burgess and 
Brother of the Guild of Dundee, gratis. 

Thu family to which James Carmichael of Balmedie belonged had been connected intimately 
with the municipal history of Dundee for a century before the date of his admission. William 
Carmichael of Carpow was Provost of Dundee in 1526, and represented the Burgh in the 
Parliament of that date. His relative, James Car.michael of Hyndford, filled the same office for 
the Burgh in the Pai'liament of 1593. The founder of the Balmedie branch was James 
Carmichael, son of John Carmichael of Meadowflat and his second wife, the widow of George, 
fourth Earl of Angi^S, and lie was conserjuently half-brother of the famous "Archibald, Bell- 
the-Cat." This James Carmichael of Balmedie was the fifth Laird in direct descent from the 
founder of the house. He was associated with Dundee through his marriage with Jean, sister of 
David, first Earl of Southesk, and also by the marriage of his son. Sir David Carmichael, with 
Cecilia, daughter of Fothringham of Powrie. His descendant, Sir James Carmichael, is 
the representative of the Balmedie branch, and, since the extinction of the Earls of Hyndford, 
the latter is the head of this ancient family. 



1620. September 2nd. 

Which day JOHN of BOTHWELL, Son of the late Francis of Bothwell, is 
MADE A Burgess and Brother of the Guild, gratis. 

Francis Stewart, Earl of Bothwell, was admitted a Burgess of Dundee on 11th May, 
1583, and some account of his career has already been given {vide page 55). John of Bothwell 
was his second son, and held the office of Ccmmendator of Coldingham. Like his father, he 
was of a turbulent disposition, and his name appears several times in the Privy Council Records 
as having been imprisoned for his lawless conduct. His son Francis held a commission as a 
Captain of Dragoons under Charles II., and commanded the cavalry on the left in the action 
against the Covenanters at Bothwell Bridge. His daughter Margaret was married to SiR John 
Home of Rentou, and is now represented by SiR Charles E. F. Stirling of Glorat, Bart. 



JAMES, EAEL OF BUCHAN — JOHN, EARL OF KINGHOIINE — FREDERICK LYON. 117 



1620. September 2nd. 

Which day JAMES, EAEL of BUCHAN, LORD AUCHTERHOUSE and 
SOMERVILLE, is made a Burgess and Brother of the Guild, for his 
Services to the Commonweal. 

James Erskine, Earl of Buchan, was the first of the Erskine family to bear this very 
ancient and honourable title. He was the eldest son of James Erskine, seventh Earl of Mar, 
Lord High Treasurer of Scotland, by his second wife Lady Mary Stewart, daughter of Esme, 
Duke of Lennox. The Earldom of Buchan had devolved upon Mary Douglas, only daughter 
of James Douglas, a descendant of the Lochleven family, on the death other father in 1601, and 
immediately upon her marriage with James Erskine he assumed the title of Earl of Buchan. 
At the time of thi.s marriage the Countess was under age, and some difficulty arose as to 
whether the estates to which she had succeeded could legally carry the title with them to her 
husband. A Royal Charter was obtaiued in 1617, conferring the lauds upon the Countess and 
James Erskine, and no question as to the right oi the Erskines to bear the title of Earls of 
Buchan has ever been raised. 

James Erskine was one of the Lords of the Bedchamber to Charles I., and spent the most 
of his time in England. His principal residence in Scotlantl was at Auchterhouse Castle, near 
Dundee, where some of the remains of his architectural improvements may still be seen. The 
Countess Mary died in 162S, leaving a son, who afterwards succeeded as .second (Erskine) Earl 
of Buchan. Her husband survived till 16-iO. His male line failed with his grandson, and the 
succession was then diveited to the descendants of his younger brother, Henry Erskine, Lord 
Cardross. 



1620. September 2nd. 

Which day JOHN, EARL of KINGHORNE, is made a Burgess and Brother 

of the Guild of Dundee, gratis. 



The same day FREDERICK LYON, Brother-german to Lord Kinghorne, 
IS made a Burgess and Brother of the Guild, gratis. 



John Ly'ON, second Earl of Kinghorne, was the son of Patrick, ninth Lord Glamis, and 
his wife Dame Anna Murray, daughter of the first Earl of Tullibardine. His father was 
Captain of the Guard to Jajies VI., and was created Earl of Kinghorne in 1G06. To this title 
John succeeded in 1615. His first wife was Lady Maegaret Erskine, daughter of the Earl 
of Mar, and he was thus brother-in-law of the Earl of Buchan, whose name precedes his own 
on the Burgess-Roll. The Lady Margaret died at Edinburgh, on the 7th November, 1639, all 



lis ANDREW, LORD DE CRAY. 

her children having predeceased her. " Shoe had issue diversse childrene," writes Balfour 
(Vol. II., p. 371), " hot all of them deyed before herselue ; her corpes wer embalmed, and 
solemnly interred in the comon sepulture of that familey at the Church of Glamis in the 
nionthe of February, 1640." 

The Earl of Kinghorne was closely associated with the Covenanters, and held a commission 
under the great Marquess of Montrose at the time that that General had command of the 
Covenanting army. In the expedition against the Marquess of Huntly, Lord Kinghorne 
was actively engaged, and appears to have been present at the Battle of the Bridge of Dee. A 
contemporary ballad relating to this engagement associates the names of the two noblemen in 
a very peculiar fashion, that indicates the high esteem in which Kixghorn was held by the 
Covenanters : — 

" God bless our Covenanters in Fyffe and Lotheau 
In Angus and the Mearnis qulio did us first begin 
With muskit and with oarabin, with money, speare and shield 
To take tlie toune of Aberdeen and make our Marques yield. 

" God bliss Montrois oiu' General 
The stout Earl of Kinghorne, 
That we may long line and rejoyce 
That ever they were borne." 

The Earl survived till 1647, having married Lady Elizabeth Maule, only daughter of 
Patrick, first Earl of Panmure. He was succeeded by his son, Patrick, who afterwards 
obtained the double title of Earl of Strathmore and Kinghorne. The name of the latter 
appears on the Burgess-Roll, under date 19th July, 1660. His representative and descendant, 
the present Earl of Strathmore and Kinghorne, was admitted a Burgess of Dundee on 1st 
October, 1874. 



Frederick Lyon was the third son of Patrick, first Earl of Kinghorne. He obtained a 
charter of the lands of Brigton, on 31st July, 1622, and he represented Forfarshire in the Con- 
ventions of 1644 and 1644-7. The family of the Lyons of Brigton claimed descent from him. 



1620. September 2nd. 

Which day ANDREW, LORD de GRAY, is made a Burgess and Brother 

OF THE Guild of Dundee, gratis. 

Andrew, eighth Baron Gray, was the son of the infamous Master of Gray, and the grand- 
son of Patrick, sixth Baron Gray, who was admitted a Burgess on 13th January, 1589 {vide 
page 74). He succeeded to the title on the death of his father in 1612, and twelve years later he 



SIR WILLIAM MURRAY. 119 

went to France with Lord Gordon, and ubtaiued a post as Lieutenant of the Scots Guards there. 
He was actively engaged in the numerous wars which Louis XIIL was concerned in after 1624, 
and he returned to Scotland, retaining his rank in the French Army. The office of Heritable 
Sheriff of Forfarshire had been for a long time in his family, but ho was induced to resign 
the Sheriffship to Charles I. on obtaining a bond for 50,000 merks from that Monarch. The 
money was never paid, but the Grays were unable ever afterwards to regain the office. When 
the Marquess of Montrose abandoned the Covenanters and raised a Royalist army in Scotland, 
Lord Gray took service under him, and made himself so conspicuous in this rising that he was 
banished from the Kingdom by the Parliamentarians in 1645. The sentence of banishment seems 
to have been inoperative, for he remained in the country, and was further engaged against botJi 
the Presbyterians and the army of Cro.mwell. He was accused of being himself a Romanist and 
a supporter of the Catholic party in 1G49, and was solemnly excommunicated by the General 
Assembly at that date. The Act of Grace which Cromwell promidgated in 1G54 excluded the 
name of Andrew, Liird Gray, from pardon, and imposed a fine of £1,500 upon him as a penalty 
for his unwavering loyalty. Shortly after this period he removed to France, and whilst at the Court 
of Charles II. there, he was persuaded by the Duke of York — afterwards James VII. — to resign 
his office in the Scots Guards, that it might be conferred upon the Marshal Schomberg. This 
honourable post had been administered by Scotsmen from the time of Louis XL, but was never 
afterwards held by an}- of LoRD Gray's countrymen. He survived to witness the Restoration of 
Charles II., but acquired no new dignity, and died in 1663. By his first wife, a daughter of Lord 
Ogilvy of Deskford, he had one son, who predeceased him, and one daughter, Anne, Mistress 
OF Gray. The son of the latter, by special patent, was constituted his successor, and ultimately 
became Patrick, ninth Baron Gray. 



1620. September 2nd. 

Which day SIR WILLIAM MUERAY of Abercairney is made a Burgess 
AND Brother of the Guild of Dundee, gratis. 

Sir William Murray" was the scion of a race that had s\ipplied many eminent statesmen 
and warriors to Scotland from the time of David L, as from that stock came the MuRRAYS of 
Bothwell, the Earls of Strathearn, the Earls of Tullibardine, and the Dukes of Athol. 
He was the son of Robert Murray of Abercairney and Catherine Murray of Tullibardine, 
and was born rirea 1561. As his mother's sister, the CoUNTESS OF Mar, was guardian to the 
infant KiNG James VI., he had the advantage of being educated with the young Monarch at 
Stirling Castle, and became one of the special Royal favourites. During his long life he 
remained a devoted servant of the King and his unfortunate son, and held a high position at the 
Courts of Scotland and Great Britain. After the marriage of King James to Anne of Denmark, 
he was appointed Master of the Horse to the Queen, and retained this post until her death. 



120 SIR ALEXANDER HOME — JOHN ERSKINE. 

He succeeded to the estate of Abercairney ou the demise of his father, in 159-t. The confidence 
which the Queen reposed in him is shown by tlie following letter — now preserved in the 
Charter- Room at Abercairney — which serves also to illustrate the jealous care with which Royal 
personages of that time destroyed relics whose existence might have been inconvenient : — 

" Ann- A R. 

William Mini'ay of Abercairney, we liavo taken occasioun hereby to will and commaiul 
you that you faill not to tak our littare, with the furnitour belonging thairunto, and caus the same to be 
brint at the Marcat place of Salisburie, for so is oure expres wiU and pleassur. Wliereanent this present 
shal be your warraunt. Gevin at our court in Wiltoune, the 21 Jay of November, 1603." 

Sir William Murray was married to Christian, daughter of Sir Laurence Mercer of 
Aldie, and had one son, who predeceased him. He died in 1640, and was succeeded by his 
grandson. His present representative is Charles Stirling-Home-Drummond-Moray, Esq. of 
Abercau-ney. 



1621. October 16th. 

Which day SIR ALEXANDER HOME of Manderston is made a Burgess 
AND Brother of the Guild of Dundee, gratis. 

Sir Alexander Home was descended from Sir David Ho.me of Wedderburn, who fell at 
Flodden, his great-grandfather having been SiR Alexander of Manderston, the third son of Sir 
David, and one of the famous " Seven Spears of Wedderburne." He was the brother of SiR 
George Home, Knt., Lord Treasurer of Scotland, who was created a Peer in England with the 
title of Baron Hume of Berwick, in 1604, and raised to the dignity of Earl of Dunbar in 
Scotland in the succeeding year. Both these titles became extinct on the death of SiR George, 
without male issue, in 1611. The Homes of Manderston were connected with Dundee through 
their intermarriages with the Wedderburns of Gosford and Kingennie. 



1621. OCTf>BER 16th. 

Which day JOHN ERSKINE of Balgonie is made a Burgess and Brother 

of the Guild of Dundee, gratis. 

John Erskine of Balgonie was Member of Parliament for Stirling.shiro in the Convention of 
1630. His son, SiR John Erskine of Balgonie, was married to a daughter of Sir Charles 
Halket of Pitfirrane, and he was thus connected with Dundee through the Wedderburns of 
Gosford and Kingennie. 



WILLIAM, EARL OF MORTON — ROBERT, LORD nALKEITH — ARCHIBALD, LORD OF LOUXE. 121 



1622. April 10th. 

Which day WILLIAM, EARL of MORTON, is made a Burgess and Brother 
OF THE Guild of Dundee, for his Public Services to the Commonweal. 



The same day ROBERT, LORD of DALKEITH, is added to the number of 

THE Burgesses of Dundee. 

William Douglas, eighth Earl of Morton, was the sou of Robert Douglas of Lochleven, 
and Jean Lyon, daughter of John, eighth Lord Glamis. His grandfather was that William 
Douglas of Lochleven who had charge of QuEEN Mary whilst imprisoned in Lochleven Castle, 
and who, after a life of strange vicissitudes, had become seventh Earl of Morton. The latter 
was succeeded in 1606 by his grandson, whose name is here enrolled. The eighth Earl of 
Morton was one of the foremost politicians of his time, and held the elevated position of Lord 
High Treasurer of Scotland. It is stated that before the Civil War broke out he was 
" one of the richest and greatest .subjects in the Kingdom." Unfortunatcl}' for himself 
he cast in his lot with the Royalist party, and was repeatedly applied to for money to 
enable them to carry on the war. For this purpose he disposed of his extensive and 
valuable property of Dalkeith, together with several of his minor estates, thus depriving 
himself of an annual rental estimated at 100,000 pounds Scots. As an offset for this great 
sacrifice on his part, he received a Royal charter, dated 15th June, 1643, gTanting him the 
Islands of Orkne}' and Shetland in absolute right, with all their jurisdictions, redeemable only by 
the Crown upon payment of £30,000 sterling. This charter, though apparently exact in all its 
terms, was ultimately repudiated by Ch.\RLES II., and the Islands were once more annexed to 
the Crown by special Act of Parliament, in 1GG9. The Earl of Morton died in 1648, and was 
succeeded by his eldest sou Robert, the issue of his marriage with Lady Ann Keith, daughter 
of George, fifth Earl Marischal {vide page 65). This son was the "Robert, Lord of 
Dalkeith," whose name appears on the Burgess-Roll beside that of his father, and who became 
ninth Earl of Morton on the death of his flxther. This dignity he only enjoyed for one year, 
as he died in 1649, leaving a son, William, who succeeded him, and who was made a Burgess 
of Dundee on 7th March, 1663. 



1622. April 10th. 

Which day ARCHIBALD, LORD of LORNE, is made a Burgess and Brother 
OF THE Guild, for his Public Services to the Commonweal. 

Archibald Campbell, Lord of Lorne, and afterwards eighth Earl and first Marquess op 
Argyll, was the son of Archibald, seventh Earl, and of Lady Ann Douglas, daughter of 
William, Earl of Morton. From the time of his accession to the Earldom in 1638 until his 



122 ARCHIBALD, LOBD OF LORNE. 

career was terminatod on the scaffold in IGGl, he was the most prominent man of the time both 
in politics and in warfare. It wonld not be possible in this place to give any aderpiate idea of 
his changeful and romantic career, nor is this necessary, since it may be found in every history 
of the period. The following brief sketch, therefore, is intended to afford documentary evidence, 
some of which has not hitherto been utilised, rather than to supply a biography of this eminent 
man. 

Much controversy has arisen amongst historians regarding the character of the Marquess of 
Argyll, principally caused by his own secretiveness and unwillingue.ss to declare plainly what his 
intentions were when decision was necessary. Consequently, the main points in his career are 
more subjects of conjecture than of opinion. His attitude towards the Covenanters, with whom 
he was closely allied, brought him into a strange relationship with Cuarles I. ; and, though in 
the early j^ears of that Monarch's reign he was on intimate terms with him, it is asserted that he 
was the principal agent in the surrender of the King to the Parliamentary army. Whilst 
Charles was wavering betwixt his duty to the Covenant and iiis zeal for Episcopacy, he found 
it expedient to court an alliance with Argyll, and, accordingly, he advanced him to the 
Marquessate of Argyll, by Royal letters patent, dated loth November, 1041. This mark of 
favour, however, did not succeed in detatching Argyll from the Constitutional cause. When 
the Marquess of Montrose, having abandoned the Covenanters, made a strong diversion in 
sujjport of the King in Scotland, Argyll, as Commander-in-Chief of the Covenanting army, was 
met and defeated by Montrose at Inverlochy and at Kilsyth. 

The execution of Charles I. had never been contemplated or anticipated by the Covenanters, 
and when that sad event took place, Argyll declared himself against the Cromwelliau 
Republicans. So decided was his action in this matter that he officiated at the Corona- 
tion of Charles II. at Scone, and with his own hands placed the Crown upon the head of 
the King. Along with the other leaders of the Covenant, he submitted to the de facto 
government of the great Protector, and a few years afterwards he was present and assisted at the 
ceremony of proclaiming his successor, Richard Cromwell, signing the engagement to support 
and defend the usurper in his government. From letters preserved in several of the Charter- 
rooms in Scotland, it is made clear that at the time wdien, with the rest of his countr3', he 
was thus submitting to the usurpation of Cromvvell, he corresponded with the fugitive King, 
Charles II., and was prepared at the first turn of fortune to restore the Monarchy under 
constitutional guarantees. The King himself undoubtedly regarded him as the nobleman upon 
whom the fate of Scotland depended, and he frequently made overtures to him, for the purpose 
of inducing him to declare his sentiments openly. The following letter, written by Charles to 
him whilst that Monarch was in serious difficulties, shows the personal inducements to which the 
King resorted. The original is not now in existence, but a copy of it, in the handwriting of 
the Marquess, was recently discovered by Dr William Fraser in the Charter-room at 
Castle Forbes : — 

"Heaving taken into my consideration the faithful endeavours of the ^ifARQUESS of Argyll for restoring 
nie to my just riglits, and the happie settling of my dominions, I am desyrous to let the world see how 
sensible I am, of his reall respect to me by some particular mark of my favour to him, by which they may 
sec the trust and confidence 1 repose in him ; and particularly I doe proiius that I will iiiak him l)uk of 



ARCHIBALD, LORD OF LORNE. 123 

Argyll and Knight of the Garter, and on of the gentlemen of uiy bed-cliamber, and this to bo performed 
when he shall think it titt. 

" '\\niensoever it shall pleas God to restor me to my just rights in England, I shall see him payed the 
40,000 pounds sterling which is due to him, all which I do promis to mak good upon the word of a King. 
St Jhonstown, September 2-1, 1G50. 

"CHAELES R." 

The Marquess of Argyll, depending upon the reiDcated promises of Charles that he would 
respect the Constitution, was one of the first of the Scottish nobility to meet the King in 
London on the occasion of his Kest oration, but he found that his loyalty to the Covenant, and 
to the cause of constitutional g-overnment during the period which intervened betwixt 1G51 and 
1660, had served to obliterate all memory of his loyalty to the Monarchy. The King not only 
refused to see him, but ordered him to be imprisoned in the Tower of Loudon, where he was kept 
in close confinement for the ensuing six months. He was ti-ansmitted by sea to Scotland in 
December, and after narrowly escaping shipwreck on the vo}'age, he reached his native countr}-, 
and was confined in the Castle of Edinburgh. Elaborate jDreparations were made for his trial. 
He was charged with uc.i less than fourteen different criminal acts, the most important being that 
of conspiring to cause the death of Charles I. This charge was indignantly denied by the 
Marquess, and Dr Eraser suggests that it is unlikely that Charles II. and the Queen-Mother 
would have written to Argyll in the affectionate terms which they did had he been really 
suspected even by the Royal Family' of this treason. It is certain that the Marquess 
himself maintained his innocence to the very last, but he was convicted of high treason on 
other groituds than this, and condemned to death on 25th May, 1661. Two days afterwards 
he was executed at the Market Cross of Edinburgh, protesting that he died a guiltless man. 
The following letter, which was written by him to his second son. Lord Neil Campbell, whilst 
his trial was proceeding, is i^reserved in the Charter-room at Castle Menzies, and has not hitherto 
been used in any biography of him : — 

"Edinburgh, 11 May 16G1. 

" Loving Sonne, — Theis papers which I signed at pairting are to be mad use of l:iy ycjur lirother's 
advyce, who douljtles Avill know what may be most etJectuaU, and wliairin the preiudiee of \V(irds or mater 
may ly. 

"It is fit you remember what I have often siioken in Parliament, that ther needed no probation for 
maters of fact. I was ever willing to declair all things realy as they wer cireumstantiat, and to remit the 
consideration of all with myself and what concerned me to his gratious maiestie ; but it is endeivored that 
the maters of fact may be known without the circumstances, though it was never refoosed to a subiect in 
my condition to lead to probation for cliering his innocencie, which was ather doune by way of jirecogni- 
tion befor tryell, or exculpation in the tym of it. 

" Thougli I doe not deny my declairing and swearing in Parliament that I nether had knowledg of nor 
accession to his leat Eoyall jMaiestie's murder, yit I may say that ather Cromwbl's or Irton's deelairiu"- 
the contrir was but fals calumnies, for doubtles it is known to all the Englischc armie that Irton was not 
at all in ScotlamL I shall wret more at some other occasion, so at present with my blessing I rest 

" Your loving father, 

"A. M. AEGYLL." 

During the course of his trial it was found that the evidence against the Marquess, so far as 
it related to his betra}-al of Charles I., was so imperfect that it was not insisted upon, and his 



124 PATRICK, LORD OF LUNDORIS. 

coiivictiou, therefore, was founded rather upon his suiDport of, or his submission to, Cromwell 
than upon any more discreditable accusation. His confidence in his innocence supported him to 
the last, and it serves to throw additional doubt upon the justice of his sentence. The following 
letter to his son, Lord Neil Campbell, is especially iuterestuig, as it was written the day 
before his execution, and in the immediate prospect of death. It is also preserved among the 
documents at Castle Menzies : — • 

"Edinburgh, 26 May 1661. 
" Lovino- aud dear soniio : — The hlessing of tlie Lord maketh riche and he addctli no troubll therwith, 
thairfor I send you my hlissiug with it which I houpe the Lord will bli.ss unto you, both for your spirituall 
and temporall advantage. I shall say no nior but iutreat you to entertain aniitie and wnitie with your 
brother and si.ster.s, and dwtio to your dear mother, .so I rest 

" Your loving father, 

" A. M. AEGYLL. 
" For Lord Neill Campbell." 

The Marquess had taken an active part in the trial and conviction of his great rival, MoxTROSE, 
and tradition asserts that when that unfortunate nobleman was on his way to prison after his 
capture, Argyll seated himself at a window of Moray House, in the Cauongate, that he might 
deride MoNTROSE during his progress. But that tradition is not supported by contemporary 
evidence. By the irony of fate, it so happened that the head of Argyll, after his execution, 
was placed upon the same spike over the Old Tolbooth from which the head of Montrose 
had been recently removed and buried with honour and solemnity. For three years it was 
suffered to remain here, aud from a letter now in the possession of the DuKE OF Argyll, it 
appears that it was taken down on the morning of the Sth of June, IGG-i, bj' some of his nearest 
relatives, and interred in the family burjdng-place. 

The Marquess of Argyll was married to his cousin, Margaret Douglas, daughter of 
William, Earl of Morton. His eldest sou, Archibald, was restored to the Earldom of 
Argyll in 1663, and he was the ninth Earl. But the Marcpiessate was not restored. 



1622. April 10th. 

Which day PATRICK, LORD of LUNDORIS, is made a Burgess axd Brother 
OF THE Guild, for his Public Services. 

Patrick Leslie, first Baron Lindores, was the son of the Hon. Sir Patrick Leslie of 
Pitcairlie, and grandson of Andrew, fourth Earl of Eothes. He was raised to this dignity 
by charter, dated 31st March, IGOO, \vhieh charter was ratified to himself anil his heirs male and 
assignees whatsoever by Act of Parliament, in 1606. His father was Conunendator of Lindores 



ALEXANDER ERSKINE. 125 

Abbe}-, and assuinud the titli' of Lord Lixdoees ; hence the son, during the father's lifetime, 
was known as " Master of Lindores," although technically he was the only one entitled to the 
higher designation. Patrick died without issue, in August, 1649, and was succeeded by his 
brother James. John Leslie, the son of the latter, who became third Lord Lindores, was 
admitted a Burgess of Dundee on 22nd September, 1G70. 



1G22. April 10th. 

Which day ALEXANDER ERSKINE of Dun is added to the Burgesses of 

Dundee, gratis. 

Alexander Erskine of Dun was descended from the famous John Erskine of Dun, Super- 
intendent of Angus and the Mearns, and the chosen friend and companion of John Knox. His 
precise relationship to the Superintendent is not clearlj' detailed by any of the chroniclers of the 
family historj", and, indeed, some of them dispute as to whether he was named John or Alexander. 
The Burgess-Roll, however, affords contemporary evidence as to his proper name. He succeeded 
to the estate of Dun after the death of two young boys, the orphan children of David Erskine, 
who were poisoned by their uncle Robert, for which crime he suffered execution on 1st December, 
IClo. Alexander Erskine was deeply concerned in the Civil Wars on the side of the Royalists, 
but still found time to improve the agriculture of the district by more intelligent methods of tillage 
than were then pursued. In 1631 he found himself in the position of having more victual in 
his stores than he could use or find a market for, and he was under the necessity of ajoplying to 
Charles I. for a warrant to permit of his exporting it, a method of disposal whii^h the strict 
protective laws of the realm prevented. The services which he had rendered to the KiNci 
both at home and abroad induced the Sovei'eign to relax these enactments in his favour, though 
under terms which show that the warrant was an unusual one for liim to grant. This Laird of 
Dun was considerably in advance of his time in several particulars. He was one of the first 
advocates of temperance in the Kingdom. On 5th July, 1627, he signed a temperance bond at 
Dundee, which is perhaps the earliest document of the kind in existence. The parties to this 
contract, which is attested by four witnesses, were Alexander Erskine of Dun and Sir 
John Blair of Balgillo. They bound themselves to drink nothing intoxicating, except in 
their own dwellings, till the first of May, 1628, under a penalty of 500 merks Scots for the 
fii-st " failzie or brack," and of 100 merks for every succeeding one, and for security agreed to 
register the contract. The reason alleged for this agreement is that the " access [excess] of 
drinking is prohibite bothe be the Law of God and Man," and that they were " willing to give 
guid exampill to vtheris be their lyff and conversacioun to abstain from the lyke abuse." It would 



126 JOHN LIVIXGSTOXE. 

be interesting to know if tliis bond was renewed upon its expiry, or if the revenues of either 
Dun or Balgillo suffered seriously from the penalties provided in case of failures. 

The favour with which he had been received at Court caused Alexander Erhkine to journey 
frequently to London, and he made many acquaintances there ; but, like most of the Scottish 
lairds who were drawn into the vortex of a society so much more lavish than that to which they 
hail been accustomed, he became involved in debt, and died there a bankrupt. The time of his 
decease is not recorded, but an undated letter from his friend LoED Spynie to his foui'th son, 
David Erskine, intimates that " he died on Tuesday night, and would allow none to write home 
concerning his sickness. He was buried on Thursday night in S. Martin's Church, accomjjanied 
by the greater part of the nobility and all the gentry of Scotland then in London. He ows about 
ane hundreth aud tw'ente pounds sterling hier, and if wee had not ingaged for the payment thairof, 
his corps had beiu arrested." His son. Sir Alexander Erskine, was Member for Forfarshire in 
the Parliaments of 1630, 1639-41, and 1645. As he is described in the Parliamentary Eeturns 
for 1630 as "the Laird of Dun," his father's death must have taken place before that time. 



1622. June 10th. 

Which day JOHN LIVINGSTONE of Kynnaied is made a Buegess and 
Brother of the Guild of Dundee, gratis. 

John Livingstone of Kinnaird, in Fifeshire, was descended from the same family from which 
the Earls of Linlithgow, Callander, and Newburgh, and the Viscounts of Kilsyth and 
Forteviot were derived. The first of the family is said to have been a Hungarian, who came to 
Scotland with Margaret, Queen of Malcolm Caenmore, about 1070. The direct line from which 
John Livingstone was descended began with Robert, second son of Sir John Livingstone of 
Callander, who fell at the battle of Homildon on 14th September, 1402. The John Livingstone 
who is here enrolled had charters of the Barony of Kinnaird, in Fife, in 1618, and was created a 
Baronet in 1627. His son, SiR James, was one of the Gentlemen of the Bedchamber to Charles 
IL, and was raised to the Peerage with the title of A^iscouNT Newburgh on 13th September, 1647. 
He accompanied the King to the Continent, and remained at the Hague during the Common- 
wealth. Returning with Charles to this country at the Restoration, he was apjiointed Captain 
of the Royal Body-guard, and on 31st December, 1660, was created Earl OF Nevvburgh, Viscount 
OF Kinnaird, and Lord Livingstone of Flawcraig. From him descended by the female side the 
present Earl of Newburgh, Sigismund Nicholas A^enantius Gaetano Francis Giustiniani 
(born 1818), who is the sixth holder of the title. SiR John Living.stone of Kinnaird died in 
1628, the year after he obtained his Baronetcy. 



ALEXANDER NAIRN — MAGISTER ROBERT MONTGOMERIE. 127 



1622. June 10th. 
Which day ALEXANDER NAIRN, Pkivate Chamberlain to the Queen, is 

ADDED TO THE NUMBER OF THE P)URGESSES OF DuNDEE. 

The snrnumo of Nairn was derived from the Burgh of Nairu, and proniiuent members of the 
family are found in pubUc documents dating from 18G0 onwards. A branch of the Nairns 
settled at Sandfoord, in Fife, about the middle of the loth century, and ALEXANDER Nairn, who 
is described as of Sandfoord in 1445, sat in Parliament four years after that date, and held the 
offices of Comptroller, Keeper of the Rolls, and Lyon King-of-Arms. From him descended the 
Nairns of Newton, Rere.s, and of Seggiedeu. Alexander Nairn, the Chamberlain, was pro- 
prietor of the lands of Tnnerdovat, which were erected into a barony by charter in 1627. His 
descendants afterwards held the estate of Baldovan, near Dundee, and Sandfoord remained in the 
family until the time of his grandson, Alexander, who died in 1705, leaving two daughters. 
The estate was then sold, and this branch of the family was represented by the late John Berry 
of Tayfield, who was de.scended from the elder of Alexander's daughters. 



1622. June 10th. 

Which day Magister ROBERT MONTGOMERIE, Minister at Kinnaird, was 
MADE A Burgess and Brother of the Guild of Dundee, Gratis. 

This entry in the Burgess-Roll enables us to supply a blank in the parochial history of 
Kiunaird. Robert Sommer was minister of Kinnaird in 1620, but the date of his death is not 
recorded in tlie Fantl Ucdesicv Scoticana;. It is only stated that he died prior to 2-ith May, 
1G28, as at that date Robert Montgomerie was " presented to the Vicarage by James VI." 
This date must be wrong, as King James died in March, 1625, and the entry iu the Burgess-Roll 
describes Robert Montgomerie as " minister at Kinnaird" three years before the latter date. 
Robert Sommer must have died, therefore, previous to 1622. Robert Montgomerie was born 
in 1597, studied at the University of St Andrews, and obtained his degree of Master of Arts there 
in 1618. He otSciated as pastor of Kinnaird, in Perthshire, till 16.3-3, at which time he was 
translated to St Quivox, in Ayrshire, where he remained till his death in 16-11. By his will he 
left X. lib. towards erecting the library in the University of Glasgow. He married J.iNET, sister 
of John Hamilton, younger of Grange, and had two sons and two daughters. 



128 DAVID SCRYMGEOURE — JAMES, LORD OF COUPAR. 



1C22. June 10th. 

Which day DAVID SCRYMGEOURE, Son of John Scrymgeoi kb of Dudhope, 
IS MADE A Burgess and Brother of the Guild of Dundee, gratis. 

David Scrymgeoure was the son of the first Viscount Dudhope, l)y his wife Margaret 
Seton of Parbroath, and was brother of the second ViSCOUNT Dudhope, and uncle of tiic first 
Earl of Dundee {vide pages S3 and 109). 



1G2.3. April 21st. 

Which day JAMES, LORD of COUPAR, is added to the number of 

Burgesses of Dundee. 

The Abbey of Coupar in Angus was founded by MALCOLM IV., on 12th July, llG-i. It was 
dedicated to the Virgin, and tlie first Monks belonged to the Order of Cistercians, or White 
Friars, so called from the nncoloured robes which they wore. It remained as one of the principal 
ecclesiastical establishments in Scotland until the Reformation, but it was ahnost totally 
destroyed in 1559, by the same mob, it is asserted, of Burgesses from Dundee and Perth who had 
overthrown the Abbeys of St Andrews, Arbroath, Lindores, and Balmerino, and the C-arthusian 
Monastery and Church at Perth. After this date the property belonging to the Abbey fell into the 
hands of lay Commendators, the first of these being Leonard Lesley, who died in 1G05, at the 
advanced age of 85 years. On the 24th of March, 1603, Lesley resigned the Commendatorship, 
and it was then conferred by James VI. upon Magister Andrew Lamb, afterwards Bishop of 
Brechin, who was admitted Burgess of Dundee on 14th September, 1599 (vide page 82). 
Many of the documents relating to the Abbey are in the possession of the present Earl of 
Airlie, whoso ancestors were officially connected with it, and other papers referring to the tem- 
porality have come to E. A. Stuart Gray, Esq. of Gra}' and Kinfauns, by inheritance. Amongst 
the latter there is a deed by which Andrew Lamb resigned all his claims to the benefice into the 
hanrls of the King, that it might be secularised. By a special Act of Parliament, dated 9th July, 
160G, the lands and baronies then belonging to the Abbey were converted into a temporal Lord- 
ship, and conferred upon James Elphinstone, second son of the first Lord Balmerino. This 
Act declares that at that date all the members of the Convent were deceased, that Mr Andrew 
Lamb had fully resigned the Commendatorship, and that the King desii'cd to testify his affection 
for his godson by bestowing the lauds upon him. On 20th December, 1G07, James Elphinstone 
obtained a charter of this temporal Lordship, with the title of Lord of Parliament, and the 
style of Baron Coupar. 



JAMES, LORD OF COUPAU. 129 

James Elphinstone was the only son uf James, first Lord Balmekixoch, by his second wife, 
Marjorie, daughter of Hugh Maxwell of Tealiog. He was born circa 1587, and the position 
which his father held as Secretary of State brought him early under the notice of KiXG James, 
who stood spousor for him at his christening. On the death of his half-brother Joiix, seconil 
Lord Balmerixoch, he was appointed an Extraordinary Lord of Session, but he did not greatly 
distinguish himself on the bench. A contemporary epigram contrasts his ro})utatiou with that of 
his brother in a \"er\' vigorous fiishion : — 

" Fy upon death, 
He's worse than a troujiier, 
That took from us Balineriiiocli, 
Ami left that linwlit Cowper." 

When the troops of CROMWELL overran Scotland, Lord Got'RAR incurred the displeasure of tlie 
Protector through his .sympathy with the Royalists, and he was fined £o,000 .sterling, which 
sum was afterwards reduced to £7-50. At a later date he appeared as a Nonconformist, and 
was again fined f 4',S00 for opposing the establishment of Episcopacy. He was present as a 
witness against the Makqltess of Argyll at the trial of that nobleinan in IGGl. Eight years 
after this date he expired without issue, and his title and estates devolved u])on his nephew, 
John, third Lord Balmerixoch, as was provided by the original letters patent. 

Lord Courar was twice married — first, to Margaret, daughter of Sir James Haliburtox 
of Pitcur: and secondly, to Lady Mariox Ogilvy, eldest daughter of James, second Earl of 
Airlie. a curious Court of Session case arose regarding the latter marriage, which is thus 
related in Riddell's Peerage and Consisforial Lain : — 

" Wlieu apprnaching- eighty, and scarcely two years before hi.s death, he 'had the misfortune' to marry a 
young lady of quality, who holiUy resolved, under cloak of law and in spite of nature, which refused its aid 
to the 'poor old man,' to be the mother of a Lord Coupar. AVitli this view .she inveigled her spouse into 
a conveyance of his honours and estates upon an Exchociuer resignation (to the exclusion of Lord 
Baljierin'och, his next heir, whom she artfully estranged from him) in favour of herself^ ' and any whom 
she shoidd jilease to niarrie.' In tbis manner tlie notable Baroness, wliile the delecfus i^eritonce was in her, 
instead of tlie Crown, not only promoted the above objects, but facilitated the chance of forming an 
advantageous match. But it unfortunately happened that the Peer whose demise she evidently desired, 
gone in body as in mind, was labouring under a mortal )iialady ; in other words, was on death-bed at the 
critical moment, wliich, of course, voided the conveyance, that thus became a dead letter, and excluded 
any confirmation or intervention by the Crown. It must be indeed confessed that the state of this noble- 
man was piteous enough. At the time of granting the disposition he ' wes several nyghts waked, and the 
minister wcs called to pray for liini, whiche he wes never in use to doe before.' In order to counteract the 
law of deathbed, his tender helpmate resolved that he should go to kirk and market, which with us here 
operates as an exception ; but it was objected that he went ' supported,' which again is fatal to the plea — 
although her ladyship replied that this was not ex impatientia mortin, but owing to the accidental storminess 
of the day, which had even the force to break the kirk bell. After ' cniciating the poor old nobleman ' 
by the expedient, and at length reaching the church, ' he wes not able to goe up to his owne seat, but sat in 
Crimon's seat near the door with his furred cap, and the whole people who beheld him looking on him as 
a dead man. Lykeas in his returne he wes not only supported, but havmg swearved and foundered, he wes 
carried into Ids house in an armed chyer, when he bad almost expyred had not brandie and cannel 



130 MAGISTER ALEXANDER GIBSON— JOHN GIBSON. 

[ciuiiamon] wine revived his spirits, wJiicli wcs poured in at his mouth, his teeth being lialden open 
with an knyfe.' Owing to these circumstances the law of deathbed prevailed, and the conveyance of the 
houours and estate was set aside by the judgement of the Session, on the 28th of June, 1671, upon an 
action of reduction at the instance of Lord Balmerinoch, the heir-at-law." 

Lady Coupar was afterwards married to John Leslie, third Lord Lindores, and was mother 
of David Leslie, who succeeded as fourth Lord Lindores. 



1G23. December .5th. 

Which day Magister ALEXANDER GIBSON, Younger of Durie, Clerk to 
THE Lords of Council, is made a Burgess and Brother of the Guild of 
Dundee, gratis. 



The same day JOHN GIBSON, second Son of Sir Alexander Gibson, Knight, 
ONE OF the Lords Ordinary of Session, is added to the number of 
the Burgesses of Dundee. 



The admission of Alexander Gibson, Senior, as a Burgess of Dundee, is recorded under date 
23rd September, 1599 (vide page 84). His eldest sou and namesake, whose name is here entered, 
became his rival in the profession of the Law, and gained a very eminent place amongst the lead- 
ing men of his time. Having served some time as Clerk to the Privy Council, he ultimately 
became Lord Clerk Register, in November, 16-H, and was made an Ordinary Lord of Session on 
2nd July, 1G46. These two offices he filled with credit till 1G49, at which time he was superseded 
by the Protector Cromwell. Before this time he had been employed by the Presbyterian party 
to oppose the establishment of Ejjiscopac}', and when the King's Declaration was published at 
Edinburgh, on 4th July, 1G37, he protested against it in name of the Barons. After the 
memorable Assembly of 1G38 had abolished the rule of the Bishops, he was commissioned to 
collect evidence against them, and thereby aroused the opposition of the High Church party. 
The feelings with which he was then regarded by the Ejiiscopalians is shown by a contemporaiy 
lampoon, in which he is thus referred to : — 

" From Sandie Hay, and Sandie CHbsuiie, 
Sandie Kinneir, and Saudie Johnstoun, 
Wliase knaverie made them Covenanters 
To keep their neek.s out of the halteris, 
Of falshood, greid, whan you'll it name. 
Of treacherie they think no shame. 

Yet thes, the mates of Catharus, 

Frome whome crood Lord deliver us." 



MAGISTER ALEXANDEU GIBSON — JOHN GIBSON. 131 

Finding that he was suspected by both parties, Sir Alexander, who had been Knighted by 
Charles I., in 1G41, for his adherence to the Royalists, cultivated the favour of the Croiu- 
wellians when they were in power. According to NicOL (Dlarij, 'page 1:J1, edition 18JU), he 
and the Earl of Traquair " went up to Court, being, as reported, sent for to be preferrit ; my 
Lord Durie also followit to the lyko end, and upon the lyke scoir ; bot both were disappoyuted." 
The method by which he obtained his post of Lord Clerk Register was severely animadverted 
upon at the time by his envious contemporaries. Sir John Scot of Scotstarvit says that, 
" having been long a Clerk of Session, he was made Clerk Register when the King came last to 
Scotland, by the moyen of William Murray, now Earl of Dysart, to whom, it is said, he gave 
a velvet cassock lined with tine furrings, and a thousand double pieces therein." This incident, 
whether true or calumnious, was utilised against SiR Alexander Gibson by the lampooners of 
the period, as the following pasquil, written by Saml^el Colvil, the author of The Wliig's 
Sicp2^licution, sufficiently shows : — 

" C'olvil's Pasqail ov Sir Ahwuiukr Gihson. 

'' At tirnt a I'uiitaue commaiuler, 
J\uw a forsunrno .seditious bander, 
Quhill ther was houiie.s for lirybes and Ijudding, 
Yuu c(iurted ( iod for caikes and jiudding. 

Thy evill contrived and desi)arat matters 
Makes thee ti.schc in drumley water.s, 
Or forseing some tragieal closse, 
Thou leaves Argyll to tind Montrose." 

(Buok (if Scof/'sJi Pafqunf, 2"ii/<' m)- 

Though the poems quoted show that he had not the complete confidence of the two political 
parties that divided the kingdom at the time, the assertion of Sir Robert Douglas (Baronage 
of Scotland, page oGO), that he was " a man of great abilities and worth," is well supported. 
He continued in his office, despite the rage of contending parties, till his death, which took 
place in June, 1G5G. 

There is some dissension amongst the genealogists as to his marriage. Douglas states that 
he was " married, first to Marjorie Murray, daughter of Andrew, Lord Balvaird, father of 
David, fourth Viscount of Stormonth, by whom he had a daughter, Ann, married to John 
Murray of Polmaise. He married secondly, Cecilia, daughter of Thomas Fotheringham of 
Powrie, by whom he had a son, Sir John Gibson of Durie." Stodart, on the other hand, states 
that Sir Alexander was married to Cecilia Fotheringham, and that his son, Sir Alexander, 
was married to the daughter of Lord Balvaird (Scottlah Arms, Vol. II., p. 397). The latter 
account is accepted by Foster, on the authority of Douglas' Peerage (Scots M.P.'s, jjage H7 ), 
though Douglas himself contradicts it in his later work. In anj- case, it is certain that Sir 
John Gibson, who was admitted as Burgess of Dundee on the same day as his brother, ultimately 
succeeded to the estate of Durie, and carried on the line of the famil}^ He is described as "' a 
great loyalist, a steady friend to the Royal Family, and of singular resolution and spirit. He 



132 JAMES, MASTER OF DESKFORD. 

attended King Charles I. in all his vicissitudes of fortune, and accomimnied King Charles II. 
to the unfortunate battle of Worcester, 1G51, where, for his gallant behaviour, ho had the honour 
of knighthood conferred upon him under the Koyal banner. He lost his leg in that action." He 
was married to Margaret Hay, a daughter of the noble house of Kinnoul, and was succeeded 
by his eldest son, SiR Alexander Girson of Pentland and Adiston. 



1625. March :3rd. 

Which day JAMES, MASTER of DESKFORD, is made a Burgess and 
Brother of the Guild of Dundee, gratis. 

James Ogilvy, Master of Deskford, and afterwards first Earl of Findlater, was the son of 
Sir Walter Ogilvy, first Lord Ogilvy of Deskford, and of his second wife, Lady Mary 
Douglas, daughter of William, Earl of Morton. His ancestors had been Burgesses of 
Dundee from a period extending beyond the earliest extant records — his great-great-grandfather 
having been that Alexander Ogilvy, Lord of Ogilvy, who was admitted as a Brother of the 
Guild on loth October, 1515 {vide page 15). He had also a claim to the freedom of the Burgh 
through his mother, as her father, William, Earl of Morton, was made a Burgess on 10th 
April, 1G22 {vide page 121). His father was raised to the Peerage on 4th October, 1616, by the 
title of Baron Ogilvy of Deskford, and as he was the only son he succeeded as second Lord 
Ogilvy of Deskford at his father's decease. In 1637 he was infeft by his fiither in Lord 
Deskford's crofts in the Burgh of Culleu, " which sometime belongit to ye prebendarie of auld 
of ye Kirk of Culleu" (vide Cramond's " Church and, Churchyard of Cidlen," p. G-'>). On 20th 
February, 1638, he was created Earl of Findlater, but as he had no son to succeed him, he 
procured a renewed patent, dated l!Sth October, 1641, conferring the title upon liis eldest 
daughter, Lady Elizabeth Ogilvy, and her husband. Sir Patrick Ogilvy, Knight, of Inch- 
martin, and they became at his death the Earl and Countess of Findlater. Whilst Master 
of Deskford, James Ogilvy rejiresented the Burgh of Culleu in the Parliament of 1617; and he 
was made a Privy Councillor in 1641. He was twice married, firstly to Elizabeth, daughter of 
Andrew, fifth Earl of Rothes, by whom he had two daughters — the Lady Elizabeth already 
referred to, and Lady Anne, who became Countess of Glencairn by her marriage with the 
ninth Earl of Glencairn. A curious relationship between the families of Ogilvy and 
Cuninghame was brought about by the second marriage of Lord Findlater, as his second 
wife, Lady Marion Cuninghame, was the sister of Lord Glencairn, the Earl's son-in-law. 
The Earl of Findlater was associated with Montrose and the Earl Marischal in support of 
the Covenanters in the North, and adhered to their cause during his life. 



MAGISTER JOHN DUNCANSONE. 183 



1625. March 8rd. 

Which day Magister JOHN DUNCANSONE, Minister of the Word of 
God in Dundee, is made a Burgess and Brother of the Guild of 
the said Burgh, gratis. 

John Duncanson was the successor of James Robertson in the pastorate of the Second 
Charge, or South Church, of Dundee. He was e(Uicated at the University of Edinburgh, and 
took his tlegree as Master of Arts there, on 27th July, IGll. After the death of James 
Robertson {vide page 81), the Lords Commissioners of the Kirk of Scotland appointed 
" Mr J(.)HN Duncanson, presently residing at Montrose," to the vacant pulpit, and " ordaiuit the 
Council to content and pay to him six hundred merks for transporting of himself and his house- 
hold from Montrose to Dundee." On 20th February, 1024, the Minutes bear record that "the 
Council, understanding that the common gude is nocht able to defray the same, therefore all in 
one voice were content that the soum be eikit on the ne.xt term of the King's Majestie's grite 
taxation." 

Besides the monetary difficulty, there was the still more serious one of an apparent infringe- 
ment by the Commissioners upon the right of the Council to present to the Church. There 
could be no question that the Commissioners were empowered to act as they had done, and that 
their presentation was entirely legitimate ; but the Council preserved their right of nomination 
"by meeting on 29th July, 1624', and formally appointing Mr Duncanson to the place, as though 
under no compulsion to accept him. The Minutes state that " After due deliberation and 
consideration taken be them of the qualifications of certain persons, leeted be them of before to 
bear the function, they all of ane mind and consent electit and nominat Mr John Duncanson, 
lately resident at Montrose, to be ane of their ministers for serving the cure of the Kirk. And for 
Mr John his better assurance of ane competent stipend, they faithfully promised to pay him 
yearly the soum of aucht hundred merks, . . . togidder with three score pounds for his house 
mail ; and the.se soums of money Mr John accepted as ane competent stipend for his service, and 
in contentation of all other duties that he can ask or crave" (MaxivelVff " Old Ditndee," p. 4-11). 
Twenty years afterwards, it is recorded that " their revered pastor gave in ane supplication 
craving some augmentation," and the Council " unanimously condescended that he shall have 
an addition of two hundred merks, so that his stipend shall be one thousand, by and attour his 
house mail." In 1026, he was elected to the charge of the Church of South Quarter, Edinburgh, 
but declined to accept the call, and remained in Dundee until his death, which took place at 
the close of 1651. The following reference to his decease occurs in Lamonffi Diary, and is 
of special interest as affording some particulars of the siege of Dundee from the account of a 
contemporary : — 

" 1651. iSept. 1. — The toune of Uumlie was taken by storme by the English forces commanded by 
L. Gener. Jlonke : the towns ])eople were secure, and surprysed att iniawarrs. The governour, Robin 
lAimsdaino of Eawhannie, was killed, the Lord Xewton and lus sonne in likemaner. A number of towns 
people and strangers also were killed, to tlie iiumlier of 5 or G hundred; the towne iilunJered exceidinclie 



184 DOCTOR PATRICK BLAIR — MAGISTER GEORGE HALIBURTON. 

botli liy laud forces and ]>y tlie sliipnieii. The}' gatt a very rich bootio tlier, not mdic of the inliabitans, 
bot also of several! strangers. The ministers, viz. Mr And- Fleck and Mr Jho. Robertsone, were taken 
captive, with many others. They gatte many ships in the harberey nireby 200 veshells, great and small. 
Not long after, Martha IMonipennie, wife to the said Mr Andro Flecke, depairted out of this life att 
Dundie. And ^[r Jho. Dunkcsone, minister tlier, (within some months after) depairted out of this life." 

At the time of Mr Duncanson's death the Town was iu his debt, and as " his execntor 
desired that the Council woukl satisfie four hundred four score and fifteen merks, . 
they thought most just to be satisfied, it being ane just debt." He left "to the Kirk Session 
iiij^lx. lib. iiis. viijd. for the use of the poor." (Fasti Ecclesiw Scotlcance.) 



1025. March 3rd. 

Which day Doctor PATRICK BLAIR, Physician, is made a Burciess and 
Brother of the Guild of Dundee, for his Meritorious Services to 
THE Commonweal ; Accidents gratis. 

The name of Blair is found amongst the Burgesses of Dimdee at the close of the fourteenth 
century ; and members of the families of Balthayock, Ardblair, Pittendreich, and Glasclune were 
intimately connected with the progress of the Burgh for several centm'ies. Dr Patrick Blair, 
whose name is here recorded, was the third son of George Blair of Glasclune, and of Eupham 
Blair, a grand-daughter of John Scrymgeour of Kirkton. He rose to eminence in his pro- 
fession as a physician in Scotland, and afterwards removed to Woolcester in England, where 
he remained till his death. He was married to Isabel White, but no record of his family is 
preserved. His name appears in the Register of Baptisms in Dundee in the following entry : — 

" 1647. April 6th. — Mr Andro Auchinlek, Parson and Minister of Dundee, had a sou bapt'} Ajidro ; 
Godfathers : ilr John Duncanson and Mr John Robertson, Ministers of Dundee ; Wm. Kiuneir, Provost ; 
Dr Patk Blair, Thomas Mudio & Mr Geo. Haliburton, Bailies ; & oL^" 



1625. March 21st. 

Which day Magister GEORGE HALIBURTON of Fotheranoe, Advocate, 
IS made a Burgess and Brother of the Guild of Dundee, gratis. 

Sir George Haliburton of Fodderance was a younger son of the Pitcm- lamily, the small 
estate from which he took his title being an appanage of Pitcur reserved for cadets of the 
Haliburtons. He studied the Law as his profession, and was so successful at the Bar he was 
early promoted to the Bench. On 8th November, 1627, he was advanced to the position of an 
Ordinary Lord of Session, with the title of Lord Fodderance, a vacancy having occurred 
through the death of Lord Kilsyth. When Charles I. visited Scotland in July, 1633, that he 



SIR PATRICK DRUMMOND. 135 

might be formally crowued at Holyrood, George Haliburton was knighted ; aud the same year 
he was appointed a Member of the Parliamentary Commission for Surveying the Laws. Eight 
j'ears afterwards (November, 1G41), his name was included amongst the Judges re-appointed by 
the King, with the approval of Parliament. In November, 1G42, he was elected President of the 
Court of Session, and remained in this honourable office till the close of the succeeding year. 
His last public work was executed as a Member of the Commission appointed for Revising and 
Arranging the Laws and Acts of Parliament, to which duty he was called on loth March, 1649. 
He died some time before August in that year, as his place as an Ordinary Lord of Session was 
then in the possession of his successor, JOHN DiCKSON of Hartrie. He was married to a daughter 
of Sir Thomas Blair of Balthayock, but the names of his family, if he had any, have not been 
recorded. In the Register of Baptisms for the Parish of Dundee the following entrj' occurs :^ 

" 1646. ilarcli 7tli. — M^ Alex": Wedderljuni of Blackness and Clerk nf Dundie, a \vomaii child, 
Helen; Goilfather, Sir Geo. Haliburton, Lord Fodderance." 

This daughter of the Town-Clerk was afterwards married to David Dickson of Hartrie, son of 
that Lord Hartrie who succeeded Sir George as a Lord of Session. 

The services which SiR George Haliburton rendered to the Burgh were very considerable. 
During the protracted dispute betwixt the Town and ViSOOUNT Dudhope regarding the rights 
of the Constable, he was chosen by both parties as referee, together with Sir John Leslie, 
Lord Newton of Session, and it was chiefly through their counsel that these disputes were 
ultimately terminated. The " Articles of Agreement between the Vlscount of Dudhope and 
the Town of Dundee for removing all controversies betwixt them" are still preserved in the 
Charter-room, and are dated 12th October, 164:5. A copy of them is printed in Hay's Charters 
and Wr'itx, p. 86. 



1625. July 28th. 

Which day SIR PATRICK DRUMMOND, Knight, Ambassador for the 
Kino at Belgium, is made a Burgess and Brother of the Guild of 
Dundee, gratis. 

Intimate commercial relations betwixt Dundee aud the Low Countries hatl early caused the 
Burgh to take a great interest in the preservation of the trade with the Continent. In all the 
controversies relating to the Scots trade with Holland Dundee took the leading part, aud it has 
been asserted that Andrew Haliburton, the first Conservator of the Scots privileges at 
Campvore, was a native of Dundee, and a member of the family to which Provost Haliburton 
belonged. It has been shewn that William Goldman, Bailie of Dundee, was sent by the 
Convention of Royal Burghs to Campvere in 1612, for the purpo.se of re-establishing the Scottish 
trade in that quarter {vide page 38); and at the same date SiR Robert Danielstoun of 
Montjoj', who was then Conservator, was made a Burgess of Dundee as a mark of special 



136 ■ DAVID PRIMROSK. 

honour (ride page 103). Sir Patrick Drummond, who is here entered on the Burgess-Roll, was 
the successor of SiR Robert Danielstoun in the office of Conservator. Before the death of 
Sir RoiiERT, King James had given the reversion of the office of Conservator to a certain 
Nathaniei.L Vduard, but this arrangement had not been satisftxctory to the Convention of 
Royal Burghs, and the Commissioners had written to His Majesty, asking him to reconsider 
this matter, and recommending the .substitution of Patrick Drummond. The King's reply to 
the Convention is in these terms : — 

" James K., 

Trustic ami wcil lidouit, we greit you weill. AVe wer m.aiil heirtofoir so far to give way 
to your (lesyre as, liaiffing granntit the office of Conservatnrie of the Privileges of our natioun iu the Low 
Cuutreyis in reversiouu to ]\Iaister Nathaniell Vduard, we wer pleased vpone your objectioun of vufitnes 
of the persoun to recall o\u-e said graunt ; and now perfytlie vnderstanding the sufficiencie, qualificatioun^ 
and aptitud of iMaister Patrik Drumond for iliscliairging of that plaice, we liaue maid special! choice of 
him for that effect, and thairfore haue thocht guid by these presentis to recommend him to you, willing 
you if auie thing you haue to object against him to aduerteis ws thairof by your lettre, vtherwayes to give 
way to our graunt and accept of him as one speciall choice by oure selff to performe cure seruice in these 
jiairtes which our conformitio to youre pleasure salbe to ws verie acceptable ; so we liid you fairwell. 
Gavin at Xewmarket the fourteen of Novembir 1624." 

The Convention thereupon drew up special Articles of Agreement betwixt themselves and 
Sir Patrick Drummond, and after the death of Sir Robert Danielstoun, on 14th July, 1625, 
he entered upon his office as Conservator. Sir Patrick was admitted Burgess of Dundee 
fourteen days after that date. He held this position for sixteen j'ears, performing the duties of 
the office satisfactorily ; but in July, 1640, for some unexplained reason, he was deposed by the 
Committee of Estates. Against this arbitrary act he appealed by a petition to Parliament, but 
he did not at that time regain his office, and in a special Act by which Thomas Cunningham 
was made Conservator, in 1644, it is stated that the office had remained vacant in the interim. 
Unfortimately, the Records of the Convention of Royal Burghs between 1631 and 1649 have 
disappeared, and no authentic account of this affair is now obtainable. It appears, however, 
from the Minutes of the Convention, dated 11th January, 1661, that Sir Patrick was then 
exercising the office of Conservator, and continued to do so till November of that year. At the 
latter date the place was declared vacant, though no reason is assigned by the Commissioners. 
It is probable that Sir Patrick Drummond's death took place shortly afterwards. 



1627. May 17tb. 

Which day DAVID PRIMROSE, Advocate, is made a Burgess and Brother 

OF THE Guild of Dundee. 

David Primrose was the elder of the two sons of Archibald Primrose of Burnbrae, Fife, 
and of Margaret Bleau of Castlehill. From James Primrose, the younger son, the family of 
the Earl of Rosebery claims descent. As the entry in the Roll shows, David Primrose was 



MAGISTER ROBERT BRUCE. 137 

admitted as an Advocate before 1027, l)ut ho did not attain to any special eniincuce in legal 
circles. He had a charter of Whitehoiise, near Craraond, on 17th December, 1618; and he 
survived till 1651, having been twice married, and leaving a numerous family. His name is 
entered on the Burgoss-RoU beside that of his cousin — the son of his father's sister — Robert 
Bruce, afterwards Lord Broomhall of Session. Gilbert Primrose, his nephew, was made a 
Burgess of Dundee on 17th September, 1633 ; and his kinsman, the present Earl of Rosebert, 
had the same honour confon-ed upon him on 7th August, 1883. 



1627. May 17th. 
Which day Magister ROBERT BRUCE, Son of Sir George Bruce, Knight, 

IS ADDED TO THE NUMBER OF THE BuRGESSES OF DuNDEE. 

Robert Bruce was the youngest son of the fixmous Sir George Bruce of Carnoek, and of 
Margaret, daughter of Archibald Primrose of Burnbrae. His father. Sir George, was one 
of the most successful commercial men of his time, and did more to develop the mineral 
resources of Scotland than any of his contemporaries. " He embarked in the coal and salt trades, 
carried on an extensive business in the working of coals and manufacture of salt witliin his native 
parish (Culross), exported large quantities of these articles, and erected numerous and extensive 
works, which rendered his name famous throughout the country. He is said to have been the 
first who introduced the method of draining coal pits by machinery ; and lie was probably also 
the first who euuceived and successfully carried out the daring project of sinking a coal pit in the 
sea, and encasing the shaft in a circular wall or mocd which rose above the surface of the water. 
. The profits of these collieries and salt works enabled Sir George Bruce to acquire 
an immense estate, comprising a great part of the parish of Culross, and a great part of the 
adjoining parish of Carnoek, in Fife. He also owned extensive possessions in the parishes of 
Torryburn and Dunfermline" (Bemridges Cidross and Tulliallan, Vol. I., p- US). 

Sir George Bruce had three sons, George, Alexander, and Robert. The eldest son, 
George, was the father of the first Earl of Kincardine ; and the sou (if the youngest, Robert, 
succeeded as fourth Earl of Kincardine. Alexander died without issue, and when Sir 
George Bruce expired, on 6th May, 1625, his vast estates were divided between his two 
surviving sons. Robert Bruce studied Law at Edinburgh LTniversity, and passed as Advocate, 
on 4th February, 1631. He was made an Ordinary Lord of Session on 2iid June, 1649, his title 
of Lord Broomhall being taken from one of his Fife estates. In 1648 he was a member of 
the Committee for Fifeshire, and in the following year was associated with Sir George Hali- 
BURTON of Fodderance in the Commission for Revising and Arranging the Laws {vide page 134). 
He served as a member of the Committee of Estates, appointed 6th June, 1651, and died on 
25th June, 1652. By his marriage with Helen, daughter of Sir James Skene of Curriehill, 



138 MAGISTER HENRY CHEIT — LORD SIMON — HEW, MASTER OF LOVAT. 

Lord President of the Court of Session, he left an only son, SiR ALEXANDER Bruce of Broomhall, 
who afterwards succeeded as fourth Earl OF KINCARDINE, and was made a Burgess of Dundee 
on 1st April, 1671. Three of the sons of the latter were Earls of Kincardine successively; 
and the present Earl of Elgin and Kincardine is his direct descendant. 



1G27. May I7th. 

Which day Magister HENRY CHEIP, Advocate, is made a Burgess and 

Brother of the Guild of Dundee. 

Henry Cheape of Mawhill was descended from a family of that name who were proprietors 
of the estate of Mawhill, Fifeshire, in the beginning of the fifteenth century. His father, Henry 
Cheape, was prominent as a politician in the reigns of Queen Mary' and James VI., and was 
concerned in the Raid of Ruthveu, being then an intimate friend of William, Earl OF Gowrie. 
For his treason in this affair he received pardon under the Great Seal, dated 27th December, 1.583. 
His son and successor, the Henry Cheape who is here enrolled, achieved considerable success as 
a lawyer, and acquired a large fortune, which he invested in several lands and baronies in Perth- 
shu'e and Fifeshire. Amongst these purchases the estate of Ormiston was included, and he was 
latterly known by the designation derived from it. He was married to Janet, daughter of John 
Durham of Largo, and had a son, James Cheape of Ormiston, who was also eminent in the 
profession of the law. The preisent representatives of Henry Cheape are Alexander Cheape 
of Lathockar, County Fife, and Charles Cheape of Killundine, County Argyll. 



1627. August 10th. 

Which day the Noble and Potent LORD SIMON, LORD ERASER of 
lovat, is added to the number of bukgesses and brethren of the 
Guild of the Burgh of Dundee, for his Extraordinary Services to 
THE State. 



The same day HEW, MASTER of LOVAT, is made a Burgess and Brother 

OF THE Guild of Dundee, gratis. 



The Fraser clan is supposed to have had a Norman origin, and to have settled first in 
East Lothian in the twelfth century. At a later date, the principal branch of the family re- 
moved to Inverncss-shire, where they made alliances with several of the most important noble 



LORD LOVAT — HEW, MASTER OF LOVAT. 139 

families in that quarter. Hew Fraser, first Lord Lovat, died in 14-tO, and from him 
SiMOX Fraser, whose name is entered here, was directly descended. He was the son of Hew 
Fbaser, seventh Lord Lovat, and Lady Elizabeth Stewart ; was born in 1 572 ; and 
succeeded to the title on the death of his father, four years later. His mother was after- 
wards married to Robert Stewart, then Earl of Lenxox, and it was she who persuaded her 
husband to resign that ancient Earldom to the King's favourite. Lord Altbigny, afterwards 
Duke of Lennox. During her second husband's life she procured a divorce from him, so that 
she might be able to marry James Stewart of Ochiltree, the brilliant and daring adventurer 
who became Earl of Arran. From these facts some notion may be gained both of the early 
training of the young LORD Lovat and of the Noblemen into whose company he was cast. His 
first public services were performed as a member of the Commission under the Earl of Athol 
for the subjugation of the Northern Counties, in 1592. Two years later he was appointed one of 
the Councillors of LuDOVic, Duke of Lennox, who was then acting as Lieutenant for the King 
in the North; and at this time (28th October, 1594') he first apjjears on the Roll as a Privy 
Councillor. In 1G02 Queen Elizabeth requested the aid of James VI. in "repressing of the 
tressonable rebellioun intertenyit aganis hir within the cuntrey of Ireland," — and Lord Lovat 
was ordered to supply a hundred men for this expedition. His counsel and influence were also 
used in settling the feud betwixt the Earl of M( )Ray and the Marquess of Huntly, which 
had arisen in consequence of the murder of the " bonny Earl of Moray." Though his 
appearances in the Privy Council were not frequent, they were always on important occasions, 
and he is entitled, therefore, to be ranked amongst those " whom history is now bound to keep in 
memory as the persons who had in their hands the Government of Scotland in those 3'ears just 
after the removal of King James to England, when the little nation was accustoming itself to 
the loss of resident royalty, and who are to be held responsible, therefore, collectively and 
iudiviilualh-, for the general nature of that government, and for all its particular acts" (Regl><ter 
Privy Council, Vol. VII., Intro.). Lord Lovat was thrice married: first to Catherine, 
daughter of Mackenzie of Kintail, second to Jean, daughter of James, Lord Doune, and third 
to a daughter of FLEMING of Moyuess. Hew, Master of Lovat, who is entered on the Burgess- 
Roll together with his father, was the son of the first wife, and became ninth Lord Lovat. 
From the two sons of the second marriage the families of Eraser of Inverallochy and Eraser of 
Brea were descended. Simon, Lord Lovat, died on 3rd April, 1633. 

Hew Eraser, ninth Lord Lovat, was born in 1591, and married to Isabel, daughter of Sir 
John Wemyss of Wemyss. He was the grandfather of Simon, Lord Lovat, who was beheaded 
for his concern in the Rebellion of 1745. The death of Hew, ninth Lord Lovat, took place in 
1646. 



l-iO JOHN AND ALEXANDER CARNEGIE — SIR GEORGE AND ALEXANDER AUCHINLECK. 



1629. August 25th. 

Which day JOHN CARNEGIE, Son of David, Lord Carnegie of Kynnard, 
is added to the number of the burgesses and brethren of the 
Guild of the Burgh of Dundee, gratis. 



The same day ALEXANDER CARNEGIE, Son of the said David, Lord 
Carnegie, is made a Burgess and Brother of the Guild of Dundee, 
gratis. 



David, Loud Carnegie of Kynnard, was admitted Bnrgess of Dundee on oOtli January, 
1U1{J {vide page 105). Sir John Carnegie of Craig was his third son, and Alexander 
Carnegie of Pitarrow was his fourth son. Sir John died in 1656, and was succeeded by his 
only son, David, in whom the line terminated. Alexander Carnegie was married to 
Margaret Arbuthnot, sister of the first Viscount Arbuthnot, and was the direct ancestor 
of the present Earl of Southesk. Full details of the careers of the.se two Burgesses will he 
found in Dr William Fraser's Carnegies of Southesk. 



1631. September 2nd. 

Which day SIR GEORGE AUCHINLECK of Balmanno, one of the 
Senators of the College of Justice, is added to the number of 
the Burgesses and Brethren of the Guild of Dundee. 



The same day Magister ALEXANDER AUCHINLECK, Son of above 
George Auchinleck, is made a Burgess and Guild Brother of 
Dundee, gratis. 



The Auchinlecks of Balmanno were cadets of the family of Auchinleck of that Ilk, one of 
whom appears on the Burgess-Roll under date 10th May, 1575 (vide page 48). Sir George 
Auchinleck was clo.sely related to the (Douglas) Earls of Morton and the Earls of Ajstgus. 
His great-grandfether, Sir George, was married to Mary Douglas, sister of the Regent 
Morton ; and his grandmother was Sarah, daughter of the ninth Earl of Angus. His father, 
Sir William Auchinleck, succeeded to the estate on the death of Lady Sarah's husband. Sir 
George, in 1597. Sir George, whose name is entered here, followed the profession of the Law, 



SIR (iEOIlGE AUCHINLECK MAGISTER ALEXANDER AUCHINLECK. 141 

and won a high reputation and obtained special (Ustinction. He represented Perthshire in the 
Parliament of 1617, and on 14th February, 1626, he was appointed an Ordinary Lord of Session in 
place of Viscount Lauderdale, who had been superseded by the Act of that year which made it 
illegal for a nobleman to fill this office. Like Lord Fodderance and Lord Broomhall {nide 
pages 134 and 137), he was on the Commission for Revising Laws ; and ho was also employed upon 
several other duties of a similar nature during the early pai't of the reign of CHARLES I. Amongst 
the documents preserved at Tracpiair House there is a letter signed by Charles I., and dated from 
Whitehall, May, 1638, by which an arrangement for the retirement of Lord Balmanno from the 
Court of Session is made, the statement being that he, " in respect of his age and other infirmities, 
is willing and desyrous to retire himself from that chairge." His death took place previous to 
23rd Februaiy, 1G39, as on that day SlR James Car.mi(_'1L\EL, Treasurer-Depute, was appointed 
to his vacant place on the Bench. He was succeeded by his eldest son, SiK William Auchin- 
LECK, who survived till 1648. 

Magister Archibald Auchinleck was the second son of Sir George, Lord Balmanno. 
He was born in 1600, and had evidently completed his studies and taken his degree before the 
date of his em-olment as a Burgess. According to Sir Patrick Lyon of Carse (quoted by 
Stodart, Scottish Arms, II., j). 62), he " is said to have married Anna, daughter of Arnot of 
Woodmill, and to have left a daughter, Anna, heiress of the family, who married John Carnegie 
of Kinnell," but this does not agree with the inscription upon his tombstone in the Howff of 
Dundee, which reads thus : — 

" Heir lyis outombM, who, sjinmg of worthie race, 
Match'd with the Provest's dochter of this plaice ; 
Liv'd long in hemen's knot, thogh fates decried 
For thame no chyld, yet heauens this want supplied 
By good Balmanno, his Ijrother, rather sonne, 
AVhd honoin\s now his Ashes with this tonibe. 

" Mr Archibald Anchinlerk lived in ye state of mariage with his beloved wytf, Janet Auchinleck, 
26 years ; he died in ye Lord yc il of Xovem. 1G47, of his age 47. 

" Dcatli's uncontroird syth moues all men doun. 
From poorest slave to him that wears the croun ; 
Wirtew, nor noble birth doth non exieme. 
For death such nualities doth not esteime ; 
But suddenlie, and oft in middle dayes, 
As was this worthie oii[e] intonib'd heir lyes. 

" Magister Ardnhaldus Auchinlpckivs. 

" Anaijramma. 

" SahihriK mill! ArchaiKjeli ai/difus." 

[The hearing of tlie iVrelumgel shall be my salvation.] 

From this inscription it is apparent that Magister Archibald Auchinleck was married in 
1621 to Janet, daughter of William Auchinleck of Woodhill, who was Provost of Dundee in 
1619, and it also proves that they had no children. Archibald Aui'UINLECK was one of the 



142 MAGISTER DAVID WEDDERBT'RXE. 

leading men in the niovenient for an armed resistance to the imposition of Episcopacy, as appears 
from the Council Minutes of the period. On 18th October, 1643, it is recorded that "the 
Counsel hes nominat and ordained Mr Archibald Auchixleck to pmvyde for 15 or 16 baggage 
horse at the easiest pryce he can, and at most not to exceed 50 merk the piece." In the following 
year, when the Burgh raised a troop for the purpose of assisting in quelling the Rebellion under 
the Marquess of Huntly in the North, Archibald Auchinleck was " nominat to be captayne 
thairof," and he probably accompanied the Dundee contingent on that expedition. His death 
took place, as his tombstone shows, three years after this event. 



1632. May 26th. 

Which day Magister DAVID WEDDEEBURNE, Schoolmaster, Aberdeen, 
is added to the number of the burgesses of dundee, for his 
Erudition and Skill in Teaching the Young. 

David Wedderbtjrn is placed by critics amongst the foremost of the Latinists of his time. 
The appearance of his name here on the Burgess-Roll of Dundee may serve to settle a disputed 
point in his biography. The place of his birth has not hitherto been known, but the fact that 
the name was then very prevalent in Dundee, and that the Burgh was ever willing to recognise 
the exceptional merit of natives, makes it very probable indeed that he was what the Council 
Minutes of the period term " ane bairn of the touu." He was born circa 1570, and studied at 
Aberdeen, where he took his degree as Master of Arts. In 1G02, he was appointed Master of the 
Grammar School of Aberdeen in conjunction with the learned Thomas Reid, afterwards Latin 
Secretary to James VI., but in the following year he resigned this post, having then the intention 
of entering the Church. This notion was abandoned, however, and he resumed his place at the 
Grammar School in 1603. When Gilbert Gray, Principal of Marischal College, died, in 1614, 
Wedderburn was engaged to teach the advanced class in that institution, and five years later 
he was appointed to the charge of the Humanity Couise in the same College. The visit of 
James VI. to Scotland, in 1617, called forth all the poetic energy of the country; and as it was 
thought that so learned a monarch should be honoured in Classical language, Wedderburn was 
employed by the Town Council of Aberdeen to write a Latin poem congratulating him upon his 
arrival, for which production they paid 500 merks. When the King died, in 1625, he wrote 
another poem upon that mournful event, which has been often referred to as a model of Latinity. 
His long experience as a teacher enabled him to prepare a new Grammar for the use of young 
scholars, and in acknowledgment of this work he received £100 Scots from Aberdeen, and " ane 
huudreth pounds moe" to enable him to travel to Edinburgh and arrange about the printing 
of it. This seems to have been the special work which the Tosvn Council of Dundee had in 
remembrance when they conferred the freedom of the Burgh upon him for his skill in teaching 



JOHN GRAHAM— MAGISTER JAMES GRAHAM. 143 

the youug — in eriuliendo juventatem — two years after his Grammar was auuouiiced. His 
failing health comjjelled him to resign the Rectorship of the Grammar School of Aberdeen in 
IG-iO, when he obtained a retiring pension of 200 merks annually. He still cultivated the Muses 
in his seclusion, and in 1641 published si.K Latin elegies on the death of his old school companion 
and fellow-Classicist, Dr Arthur Johnstone. These were reprinted in the Poetarum Scotomni 
MiiKW SacroB. Still further was his literary activity shown in 1643 and 1644, when he produced 
two volumes containing three hundred Moral Epigrams and several Elegies. The exact date of 
his death is not recorded, but it must have taken place before 1664, as at that time his brother, 
Alexander Wedderburn, published his Commentaries ou Persius as a posthumous work. Eight 
of his Latin poems are to be found in the Delitice Poetarum Scotorum, published in 1637, by 
Sir John Scot of Scotstarvit, the first of them being an Elegy upon the death of Prince 
Henry, the eldest son of James VI. 



1632. July 27th. 

Which day J(JHN GRAHAM, Apparent of Fixtrie, and Maglster JAMES 
GRAHAM, HIS Uncle [Patkucts = Father's Brother], have been made 
Burgesses and Brethren of the Guild of Dundee, by reason of the 
Privilege of their Fathers. 

John Graham, afterwards eighth Laird of Fintry, was the son and successor of David 
Graham of Fintry, who was admitted as a Burgess on 30th March, 1620, and of Mary, daughter 
of Sir James Haliburton of Pitcur. He was Member for Perthshire in the Convention of 
1678 ; and was also a Commissioner of Supply for Forfarshire. Much confusion exists in the 
published genealogies of the family as to the personal identity of his wife, and the number of his 
children. The following extracts from the Register of Marriages and Baptisms for the Parish of 
Dundee are of considerable value, as settling these jjoints upon indisputable evidence. 

lu Burke's Landed Gentry, sitb voce, " Graham of Fintry," it is stated that " Joh n Graham, 
eighth of Fintry. married the Lady ALvrgaret Scrymgeour, only child of James, Earl of 
Dundee, by the Lady Margaret Ramsay, his wife, daughter of the Earl of Dalhousie, and 
had one son, who died young." Reference to Burke's Extinct Peerage, p. 4S0, shows that the 
first and last Earl of Dundee, the husband of Lady Anne [not Margaret] Ramsay, was named 
John, not James; and hi the same place it is .stated that the wife of this John Graham of 
Fintry was Margaret, daughter of the second Viscount of Dudhope, who was father of the 
Earl of Dundee. In the Register of Marriages the following entry occurs : — 

" 1647. June 30. — The Right Honb'f John Graham, Fear of Fiiitrie, in the Paroch of Maynss, 
and Mistress Joan Scrymger in this Paroch, Proclaimed y'' 13 day of Junij, 1647." 



144 PATRICK MAUL — (JEOROE AND HENRY MAUL. 

The designation of John Graham's wife is confirmed by several entries in the Register of 
Baptisms, thus : — 

"1651. -Tiin}'. 28. — The Eight Honorable John Graham of Fentrie, a woman ohilrl, named Jean." 

" 1660. March 1. — Eoh^ son of Honl)i.£ John Graham, y": of Fentrie, and Mrs Jean Scrinn.?er, bap') 
Robert. Godfathers : Robert, Lord Carnegie, Rob'. Scrimseor brother to John, Lord V"! of Duddop. 
Witnesses: David Fotheringham of Ponrie, Sir Alex": Wedderburne of r.hickness, Maister Alex'! Wedder- 
burne of Kingennie, Ja^ Graham of Bueklivie. This child born on the 2.3 Feby. 1660, forenoon." 

" 1662. May 22nd. — Alexl son of John Gramc of Fentrie and ladie Jean Scrimgeour, bap* Witnesses : 
Rob*. Scrymseour, Broyl^ to the Earl of Dnndie, Provost of DS5 and oyl. 

" 1664. May 4. — Grahame, son of John Grahamc, Laird of Fintrie and Jean S. bap^ Witnesses : 
Rob^ Scrimseor, brother of the El of Dnndie, Sir A. Wedderhnrne of Blackness, and oy''f" 

From these entries it appears that John Graham of Fin try had three sons and one daughter, 
but the sons must all have predeceased him, as he was succeeded by his brother, James, ninth 
Laird of Fintry. It is worthy of notice that " PiOBERT ScRYMSEOUR, brother of the Earl OF 
Dundee," is not included in the accepted accounts of this family. 

The name of Magister James Graham, which is entered beside that of his nephew, does not 
occur in any genealogy of the family, but from the description of him given in the Biu'gess-Roll 
it is apparent that he was son of the unfortunate Laird of Fintry who was beheaded for treason 
in 1592 (vide page 112). 



1632. October 9th. 

Which day an Honourable Man, PATRICK MAUL of Panmure, is added 
to the number of the burgesses of the burgh of dundee, for the 
Innumerable Benefits which he has conferred on the said Burgh, 
and for his services to the commonweal. 



The SAME DAY GEORGE and HENRY MAUL, Sons of the said Patrick, 

ARE MADE BuRGESSES AND BRETHREN OF THE GuiLD OF THE SAID BuRGH. 



It has been shown, when referring to the admission of Robert Maule of Panmure as a 
Burgess of Dundee, on 1.5th October, 1515 (vide page 15), that the connection of this family 
with the Burgh could be traced to a period earlier than the existing records cover. Patrick 
Maule, whose name appears here, was the direct descendant of Robert Maule, and was the son 
of Patrick Maule of Panmure, and of Margaret, daughter of John Erskixe of Dun. He 
succeeded to the estate on the death of his father, in 1G05, but before that time had made his 
appearance at Court, and had accompanied the KiNO to London, in 1G03, and received the 



PATRICK MAUL — GEORGE AND HENRY MAUL. 145 

honourable appointment of Gentleman of the Bedchamber. He had charters of the Barony and 
teinds of Panmure in 1610 and 1G19. After the death of James I., he was continued in his 
office as Gentleman of the Bedchamber by King Charles, and was also made Keeper of the 
Palace and Park of Eltham, and Sheriff of Forfarshire. He had gained the confidence of the 
young King during his long term of service to his father, and was regarded as one of the special 
favourites at the Court of the time. Many of his letters to his nephew, Alexander Erskine of 
Dun (vldr page 125), are still preserved in the Charter-room at the House of Dun, and one of 
these may be quoted here, as showing the position he held towards the King, and the efforts he 
made to avert those unfortunate dealings with the Church which brought about the downfall of 
Charles : — 

" 22ud Novembei 1637. 
" As to your wish that I should be cairfull to doe all the good I can in this present business of tlie 
Church, be confidant I shall never be wanting therein to the utermost of ray pouer, and beliue me I have 
not bein eidle with my best indeuouris, to give his Majestie the true informatione with as much aduantage 
to thise that hath apeer'd in this bussiness as posibilie I could, soe that I hope (if they bee descreete, and 
stand to there ground, and not brak amongse themselfis) that the bussiness shall have a good event." 

The attitude which the Earl took towards the disputes betwixt the Covenanters and the 
Prelatists is very clearly indicated in another letter to his nephew, dated 2nd February, 1639, 
and is in these terms : — 

" The unsertintie of deliuerie of letters make me that I dar not wreit freele. His Majestie coming to 
York the first of Aprill is com to your knowledg befor this, where their is to be a powerful! armie ; how 
or wher it shalbe imployed is not to me knovrae. I shall pray for pace, but 1 fear if liis Majestie be 
forsed to soe much trouble and charge both to himself and tlie whoU Keengdome, that the Covenanters 
shall not gate so much of their will as they exspeot. I am sure they might haue made faire condisiones, 
both for Church and Kingdome, if it had bein takin in tyme ; but what they can doe now God knowcs. 
I must hope the best, for I am confidaut all good men will indeuour to seek pace." 

Throughout all the troubles which the King brought upon himself, Patrick Maule adhered 
to his Royal Master with unshaken fidelity, and on 2nd August, 1646, he was rewarded by being 
raised to the Peerage, with the title of Baron Maule of Brechin and Navar and Earl op 
Panmure. His loyalty provoked the resentment of Oliver Cromwell, and by the Act of Grace 
and Pardon he was fined in the exorbitant sum of £10,000 sterling, afterwards reduced to £4,000 ; 
whilst his son, Henry, whose name appears here on the Burgess-E,oll, was also mulcted in 
the penalty of £2,500. These fines were paid in 1655. The Earl of Panmure survived to 
witness the Restoration of Charles II., and expired on 22nd December, 1661. He was buried 
in the family vault at Panbride. He was thrice married, his first wife being Frances, daughter 
of Sir Edward Stanhope of Grimston, Yorkshire, who was the mother of the two sons, George 
and Henry, who are recorded as Burgesses of Dundee on the same date as their father. Her 
two daughters, Jean and Elizabeth, were married respectively to the second Earl of North- 
ESK and the second Earl of Kinghorne {vide page 117). The Earl's second wife was Mary 
Waldrum, Maid of Honour to QuEEN Henrietta Maria; and his third wife was the Ladi 
Mary Erskine, daughter of John, Earl of Mar, and widow of William, sixth Earl Marischal. 

u 



146 WILLIAM LAUD — WILLIAM JUXONE — MAGISTERS JOHN GUTHRIE AND JOHN MAXWELL. 

George Maule, the eldest son, became second Earl of Panmure, and survived till •24th 
March, 1671. He was married to Lady Jean Campbell, eldest daughter of John, Earl of 
Loudoun, High Chancellor of Scotland, by whom he had three sons, George, afterwards third 
Earl, James, afterwards fourth Earl, and Harry Maule of Kelly — a family who were all dis- 
tinguished by their fidelity to the Royalists and by their sufferings in the Jacobite cause. The 
title of Earl of Panmure was attainted in consequence of the share which James, the fourth 
Earl, took in the Rebellion of 1715. 

Henry Maule of Balmakellie, the second sou of the Earl of Panmure, who is here admitted 
as a Burgess, was actively engaged on the Royalist side during the Civil Wars, and commanded a 
regiment throughout the campaign of 1648. He was taken prisoner at the Battle of Preston, 
but effected his escape, and took part in the final contest at Dunbar, in 1650. He died in 1667, 
and was biuied in the Abbey of Holyrood. 



1633. July 4th. 

Which day WILLIAM LAUD, Bkhop of London, is included in the number 
OF THE Burgesses of the Burgh of Dundee, as a Reward for his 
Services to the Commonweal. 



The same day WILLIAM JUXONE, Bishop of Heryfoord, is added to the 
number of the burgesses and brethren of the guild of the said 
Burgh, for the same reason. 



The same day Magister JOHN GUTHRIE, Bishop of Moray, is made a 
Burgess and Brother of the Guild of the aforesaid Burgh, for 
the same reason. 



The s.ame day Magister JOHN MAXWELL, Bishop of Ross, is added to 

THE NUMBER OF THE BuRGESSES AND BRETHREN OF THE GuiLD OF THE 

SAID Burgh, for the same reason. 



The foct of the enrolment of four Prelates of the Episcopal Church upon the Burgess-Roll of 
a Burgh so entirely devoted to Presbyterianism as Dundee then was requires some explanation. 
A comparison of dates will show that the admission of these four Bishops took place at the time 
when Charles I. was making a Royal progress through this part of the Kingdom after his 



WILIJAM LAUD — WILLIAM JUXONE — MAGISTERS JOHN GUTHRIE AND JOHN MAXWELL. 147 

Coronation. At the end of Jane, 1633, the King set forth from Edinburgh upon a sporting 
tour, journeyed by Linlithgow and Dunfermline to Falkland Palace, where he remained for 
several days, ultimately reaching Perth on the 8th of July. It was whilst he was at Falkland 
that the Bishops who had accompanied him came to Dundee for the purpose of being made 
Burgesses ; their personal presence in the town being proved negatively, since it is not stated 
that the honour was conferred upon them in absence. It may therefore be concluded that the 
honour was paid to the King in their persons rather than to the form of ritual which they sought 
to introduce. 

William L.\ITD, Bishop of London, and afterwards Archbishop of Canterbury, was born at Read- 
ing on 7th October, 1573. His parentage was humble, as his father was a clothier in that town, 
and he obtained the rudiments of his education at the Free School there. When sixteen years of 
age he removed to S. John's College, O.xford, of which institution he became a Fellow in 1593, 
and ultimately was Lecturer in Theology at that place. His office as a Lecturer gave him an 
opportunity of promulgating some of his extreme Romanising views, and the debates to which 
these gave rise attracted notice towards him. In 1G08 he received the degree of D.D., and 
became Chaplain to the Bishop of Rochester, through whose intervention he was introduced to 
King James. That Monarch had been gradually estranging himself from the Presbyterians, and 
the sentiments which Laud had so openly expressed were quite in accordance with the Royal 
mind. He was received into favoiu', and in spite of the actions of his most powerful rivals he 
succeeded in gaining the confidence of the KiNG, and had ready access to him both in Church and 
State affairs. He was made Dean of Gloucester in 1616, and accompanied the King to Scotland 
in that year. It is asserted that it was mainly through his exertions that the Five Articles of 
Perth were adopted by the General Assembly, for he showed himself not only a plausible counsellor 
but an astute politician, and his efforts were suitably rewarded. He was made a Prebendary of 
Westminster on his return to England, and in 1621 he was consecrated Bishop of S. David's. 

No sooner had he reached the Episcopal Chair than he began to put in practice the ritualism 
which he had formerly only recommended, and it was soon made ajjpareut that the wall of sepani- 
tion betwixt Protestants and Romanists had been all but destroyed. The death of the King, in 
1625, increased rather than diminished the power of Bishop Laud. He had been frequently 
thrown into the company of Charles I. during his youth, and had gained great power over him, 
so that his position as a favourite was more secure than it had been. Bishop Williams of 
Lincoln, who should have officiated at the Coronation, but whose Puritanism was offensive to the 
King, was superseded by Laud, who placed the crown upon the head of his Royal Master. 
Shortly afterwards he was promoted to the See of Bath and Wells, was made Dean of the 
Chapel Royal, and took his place as a Member of the Privj' Council. His old antagonist, George 
Abbot, Archbishop of Canterbury, who had withstood his innovations at Oxford, was suspended 
in 1628, and Laud, with other four Bishops, was placed in charge of the Primacy of the Realm. 
He was elected to the See of London in July of that year, and when Buckingham had been 
removed by the hand of an assassin, Laud took his position in the counsels of the King, and 
became the most powerful man in the Kingdom. There is little doubt that the extreme notions 
held by Charles as to the " Right Divine" were inculcated by Laud, and they ultimately 
brought about the fatal end of both King and counsellor. He visited Scotland a second time 



14S WILLIAM LAUD — WILLIAM JUXONE — MAGISTERS JOHN liUTBRIE AND JOHN MAXWELL. 

when Charles came north lor his Coronation, in 1G33, and it was thea that the freedom of the 
Burgh of Dundee was conferred upon him. It was his intention to have introduced the English 
Liturgy in its entirety to the Scottish Chiu'ch at this time, but the Scottish Bishops succeeded in 
dissuading him from this extreme step, and a compromise was attempted in the form of a Service 
Book that might lead to the development of more serious changes. It is not necessary to recount 
here the reception which the Service Book received from the Scottish people. 

One month after Laud's admission as a Burgess of Dundee he was raised to the Archbishopric 
of Canterbury, and it is asserted that on the same day he had the offer of a Cardinal's hat from 
the Pope of Kome. His power both in Church and State was then almost unlimited. " He was 
a Member," writes Professor Lorimer, " of the High Commission and the Star Chamber as well 
as of the Privy Council ; he was Chancellor of Oxford and Dublin, and Visitor of Cambridge ; he 
was placed on all the Commissions entrusted with the management of the Treasury, the Crown 
Revenues, and Foreign Affairs. The old times when Churchmen monopolised all the power of 
the Kingdom seem to have come back again — Laud was a second Wolsey." If his rise had 
been rapid, his fall was startlingly sudden. The assembling of the Long Parliament, in 1647, 
formed the turning-point of his career. It was soon made apparent that the many enemies 
whom he had made whilst in office were determined to avenge the injuries they had received at 
his hands. He was accused of having urged the King to impose taxes and to levy war without 
the consent of the Parliament, and on 1st March, 1641, he was arrested and imprisoned in the 
Tower of London, where he was confined for three years without a public trial. At length, on the 
12th of March, 1644, his trial was begun in the House of Lords, but his final sentence was not 
pronounced till 2ud January, 1645. Eight days afterwards he was beheaded on Tower Hill, 
declaring that only his zeal for the Church had brought him to the scaffold. 

William Juxox, Bishop of Hereford, and afterwards Bishop of London, was born at Chichester, 
in 1-582, and studied along with William Laud at S. John's College, Oxford. It was his original 
intention to have followed the profession of the Law, but he afterwards abandoned this notion and 
took Orders in the Church, and in 1G07 was made Vicar of S. Giles', Oxford. He succeeded 
L.AUD as President of S. John's College, in 1621, and was preferred, through the influence of his 
patron, to various ecclesiastical offices in the Royal Household. In 1633, the year of his visit to 
Dundee, he was nominated Bishop of Hereford, and he bears that title in the Burgess-Roll, 
although he never was in possession of the See. Before his consecration. Laud had been raised 
to the Archbishopric of Canterbury, and JuxON was made Bishop of London in his stead. He 
became Member of the Privy Council in the same year, and was made Ecclesiastical Lord 
Treasurer two years afterwards. That office had not been Iield by a Churchman since the reign 
of Henry VII., and much indignation was felt at his appointment to one of the most responsible 
posts in the Government, but his administration of the office gave no room for opposition. 
Though the close associate of Laud, his character was totally opposed to that of the Abch- 
BISHOP, and he counselled such moderation to the King in the most serious crises in his history 
as would have saved the imfortunate Monarch from destruction. He retired from public life 
after the execution of Strafford, but he retained his office as Bishop of London till 1 649. 
The King discovered too late the value of the advice which he had received from JuxoN, and 
by his express desire the BiSHOP attended upon him throughout the whole of his trial, and 



WILLIAM LAUD — WILLIAM JUXONE — MAGISTERS JOHN GUTHRIE AND JOHN MAXWELL. 149 

accompanied him to the scaffold. At the Restoration, JuxON was raised to the Archbishopric of 
Canterbury, but did not long enjoy this office, as he died on 4th June, 1663, in his eighty-first 
year. He was buried at S. John's, Oxford, and at the same time the remains of his old patron, 
Laud, were removed from their first resting-place at Barking and laid beside him. 

John Guthrie, Bishop of Moray, was descended from Sir Alexander Guthrie of that 
Ilk, and MARGARET Lyon, daughter of John, Lord Glamis, his direct ancestor being John 
Guthrie of Hilltown, fourth son of Sir Alexander. He was the son of Patrick Guthrie of 
CoUicston and Margaret Rait. He studied at St Andrews, and took his degree of M.A. there 
in 1597, and was appointed reader at Arbroath in the same year. Two years afterwards he was 
presented by the King to the Church of Kiniioll. Thenco he was translated to Ajbirlot, in 1603, 
and remained there until his removal to the Second Charge at Perth, in 1617. Four years 
afterward.s he was appointed Minister of Edinburgh, and remained there until he was raised to 
the Bishopric of Moray, in 1623. At an early stage in his career he showed decided leanings 
towards Prelacy, and immediately before the date of his entry as a Burgess he had officiated in 
the presence of the King in S. Giles' Church, Edinburgh, wearing full canonical robes. It is 
asserted that his apjaearance in this garb at the time was one of the earliest indications which 
the Scottish people had observed of the King's design to thrust Episcopacy upon them ; and it was 
rapidly followed by the overthrow of the Prelatic party. The General Assembly held at Glasgow 
in 1638 deposed him from his Bishopric, and he took refuge in the Episcopal Palace of Spynie, 
hoping to escape the violence of the Presbyterians in that remote spot. In this expectation he 
was disappointed. Major-General Robert Monro of Foulis, at the head of 300 men, invested 
the Palace, on 16th July, 1640, and took the BiSHOP prisoner. He was conveyed to Edinburgh, 
and imprisoned there until November, 1641, at which time he was liberated by the General 
Assembly after repeated petitions to that powerful body, an express condition of his release being 
that he should not return to the Diocese of Moray. In 1636, he had accpiired the Barony of 
Guthrie from his kinsman, Peter Guthrie of that Ilk, and he spent the remainder of his life 
there in close retirement. He died at Guthrie on 28th April, 1649, and was buried in the 
Kirk of Guthrie, beside his wife, Nicholas Wood, who had predeceased him four years before 
that date. He hail two sons, Magister John Guthrie, Minister of Duffus, and Magister 
Andrew Guthrie, who was taken prisoner at Philiphaugh, and beheaded at St Andrews. The 
Bishop's only surviving daughter, Bethia, succeeded to the estate, and kept the lands in the 
family by marrying her relative, Francis Guthrie of Gagie. His present representative is 
John Douglas Maude Guthrie, Esq. of that Ilk. 

John Maxwell, Bishop of Ross, was the son of Maxwell of Cavens, a branch of the 
Kirkhouse fomily in Nithsdale, and belonged to the same race as the Maxwells of Tealing, to 
whom reference has been repeatedly made. He was born in 1591, and studied at St Andrews 
University, where he took his degree as Master of Arts on 29th July, 1611. He became 
Minister of Mortlach in 1615, and was transferred to the High Church of Edinburgh in 1622. 
During the succeeding eleven years, he was Minister successively of Trinity College Chui-ch, of 
the Old Church, and of S. Giles, Edinburgh, and was considered one of the leading clergymen 
in the TVIetropolis. Through the influence of his cousin, James Maxwell, afterwards Earl of 
DiRLETON, one of the Gentlemen of the Bedchamber to Charles I., ho was promoted by the 



150 MAGISTER GILBERT PRIMROSE. 

King to the Bishopric of Ross, on 26th April, 1633 — about two months before his enrohnent as a 
Burgess of Dundee — and by the interest of his "intimate friend," ARCHBISHOP Laud, he was 
made a Privy Councillor and an Extraordinary Lord of Session in the same year. That 
influential Prelate had recommended that the King should appoint Maxwell to the office of 
Lord High Treasurer, but the opposition of the Earl of Traquair, who then held the post, and 
of his noble friends, prevented the fulfilment of this project. He did his utmost, in conjunction 
with Laud and Guthrie, to introduce the Episcopalian Ritual to the Scottish Church, and used 
the Service Book regularly for some time in his own Cathedral. He had thus " no small share in 
fomenting and widening the breach between the King and his subjects," and suffered accordingly. 
He was deposed and excommunicated in 1638, and fled for protection to the King, in March, 
1639, but never returned to his native country. Though accused before Parliament of treason 
against the State, he retained the King'.s favour, and was presented by him to the Bishopric of 
Killala and Achoury, in Ireland, in October, 1640. When the Irish Rebellion of 1641 broke out, 
he was seized by the rebels, stripped naked, and left for dead, but was discovered and rescued by 
a friendly nobleman, and conveyed to Dublin. Once more he had to take shelter with the KiNG 
at Oxford, and remained at Court until he was raised to the Archbishopric of Tuam, on 30th 
August, 1C4.5. He returned to Dublin, but the news of the disasters which overwhelmed his 
Royal Master, and for which he was partly responsible, caused him acute suffering. On 14th 
February, 1G46, having retired to his closet, he was found on his knees, dead, having then 
reached the age of fifty-five years. By his wife, Elizabeth Innes, he had four sons and four 
daughters. 



1633. September 17th. 



Which day Magister GILBERT PRIMROSE, Clerk to the Lords of the 
Privy Council, is made a Burgess and Brother of the Guild of 
Dundee, gratis. 



Gilbert Primrose was the son of James Primrose, Clerk of the Privy Council, and was the 
aephew of David Primrose, Advocate, who is entered on the Burgess-Roll under date I7th May, 
1627 {vide page 136). His father held a position of eminence as a lawyer, and was appointed 
Clerk of the Privy Council, in 1602, by King James, which office he administered for nearly forty 
years. Gilbert was born in 1595, and obtained his position as one of the Clerks of the Privy 
Council through the influence of his father. He was married, in 1621, to Janet Foulis of 
Ravelstoun, and died in 1637, leaving a very numerous family. His younger brother, Archibald 
Primrose, was the ancestor of the present Earl of Rosebery, and his eldest sister, Alison, 
was married to George Heriot, the fomous Court Jeweller to James VI. 



MAGISTER GEORGE GIBSON — WILLIAM, EARL OF DALHOUSIE. 151 



1633. September 17th. 

Which day Maoister GEORGE GIBSON, Son of Sir Alexander Gibson of 
DuRiE, Lord of Session, is made a Burgess and Brother op the 
Guild, gratis. 



George Gibson was one of the youuger sons of Sir Alexander Gibson, President of the 
Court of Session, and of Margaret Craig, daughter of Sir Thomas Craig of Riccarton. His 
father and two of his brothers were entered as Burgesses of Dundee on 23rd September, 1599, 
and .5th December, 1023 (vide pages 84 and 130), and an account of the family is given under 
these dates. 



1G33. November 7th. 

Which day WILLIAM, EARL of DALHOUSIE, LORD RAMSAY of 
Kerrington, is made a Burgess and Brother of the Guild of 
Dundee, for his Services to the Commonweal. 



WiLLiAJi Ramsay was the son of Sir George Ramsay of Dalhousie, and of Margaret, 
daughter of SiR George Douglas of Helen Hill, the deliverer of Queen Mary. He succeeded 
to the estate and title of Lord Ramsay of Dalhousie on the death of his father, in 1629. 
Before that time he had represented the Burgh of Montrose iu the Convention of 1617 and 
the Parliament of 1621. He espoused the cause of the Royalists, and was fined £1,-500 by 
Cromwell's Act of Grace and Pardon, 12th April, 16.54. On 29th June, 1633, he was created 
Earl of Dalhousie and Lord Ramsay of Kerrington, and thirteen years afterwards was 
appointed High Sheriff of the County of Edinburgh. He was twice married, his first wife being 
Margaret, eldest daughter of David, first Earl of Southesk, whose eldest son, George, 
succeeded as second Earl ou the death of his father, 11th February, 1674. His uncle, Sir 
John Ramsay was made a Burgess of Dundee on 12th October 1600 (vide page 85), and his 
descendant, the present Earl of Dalhousie, had the same honour conferred upon him on 
7th August, 1883. 



152 SIR JAMES SANDILANDS — SIR JOHN, SIMON, JOHN, AND KENNETH MACKENZIE. 



1633. November 7th. 

Which day SIR JAMES SANDILANDS of St Monans, Knight, is made a 
Burgess and Bbother of the Guild of Dundee, for his Services to 
THE Commonweal. 

Sir James Sandilands was the son of James Sandilands, and grandson of that Sir 
William Sandilands who was admitted a Burgess of Dundee on 2nd September, 1620 {vids 
page 114). He succeeded to the estate on the death of his grandfather, in October, 1644, and 
was served heir to him in very extensive possessions in Fifeshire. The account which Lamont 
gives of him is not flattering. He describes him as " a ryotous youth wha spent aue olde estate 
in the .space of 4 or 5 yeares." In 1649 he disposed of his propert}^ in Fife, incUiding 
St Monance and the Castle of Newark, to Lieut.-General David Leslie, who took the 
title of Lord Newark thence. Sir James was a devoted adherent of the Royalist party, and 
was elevated to the Peerage by Charles I., in 1647, with the title of Lord Abercrombie. He 
was married to Lady Agnes Carnegy, second daughter of David, first Earl of Southesk, and 
was thus brother-in-law to the Earl of Dalhousie, whose name precedes his own on the 
Burgess-Roll. His son and .successor, James, second Lord Abercrombie, died without issue, in 
1681, and the title thus became extinct. 



1634. June 3rd. 

Which day SIR JOHN MACKENZIE, Baronet, LORD of TARBAT, is 
MADE A Burgess and Brother of the Guild of Dundee, for his 

Services to the Commonweal. 



The same day SIMON MACKENZIE, Brother of the Noble and Potent 
Lord, George, Earl of Seaforth, is added to the number of the 
Burgesses and Brethren of the Guild of the said Burgh, for his 
NUMEROUS Services to the State. 



The SAME DAY JOHN MACKENZIE, Brother-german of the said Noble 
Lord, is made a Burgess and Brother of the Guild of the afore- 
said Burgh, for the same reason. 



The same day KENNETH MACKENZIE, Heir-apparent of Coull, is made 
A Burgess and Brother of the Guild of the said Burgh, for the ^ 
same reason. 

This entry in the Burgess-Roll is of value both to the historian and the genealogist, since it 
clearly shows the relationship of the Mackenzies, whose names are enrolled, to each other, and to 



SIR .lOHX, SLNKIX, JOHX, AM) KENNETH MACKENZIE. 153 

iinpcirtaut members of this powerful family. Their couoectiou with Dundee arose from their 
matrimonial alliance with the Wedderburns of Blackness and the Ogilvies of Powrie. 

Sir John Mackenzie of Tarbat was descended from the ancient family of the Mackenzies 
of Kintail, a race said to have been of Irish origin, aud to have settled in Scotland in the middle 
of the thirteenth century. His father, Sir Roderick Mackenzie, Knight of Tarbat, was the 
second son of Colin Mackenzie of Kintail, who took part in the Battle of Langside in support 
of Queen Mary ; and his mother was Margaret, daughter of Torquil Macleod of Lowes. Sir 
John succeeded to the estate on the death of his father, in September, 1G2G. He was created a 
Baronet of Nova Scotia, on 21st May, 1628, and represented Inverness-shire (including Caithness 
and Ross) in the Parliaments of 1628-33, 1639-40, and 1645. He was married to Margaret, 
daughter of Sir George Erskine of Innerteil, aud niece of the first Earl of Kellie. His eldest 
son, George, became first Viscount of Tarbat and Earl of Cromarty, and was admitted a 
Burgess of Dundee on 17th August, 1661. The third son, Roderick, was one of the Senators 
of the College of Justice, with the title of Lord Prestonhall. Sir John Mackenzie diixl on 
10th September, 1654. 

Simon Mackenzie of Lochslyne was the fourth son t)f Kenneth, first Lord Mackenzie of 
Kintail, by his second wife, IsAiiEL, daughter of Sir Alexander Ogilvie of Powrie. He was 
Member for Inverness-shire (including Ross) in the Parliament of 1640-41. His wife wa.s 
Elizabeth, daughter of Peter Bruce, D.D. {oh. 1648), Principal of St Andrews University, and 
of Elizabeth, daughter of Sir Alexander Wedderburn of Kingennie, Town-Clerk of Dundee. 
The son of this marriage was the famous SiR (}e(_>rge Mackenzie of Rosehaugh, Lord-Advocate 
during the reigns of Charles II. aud James II, , who was made a Burgess of Dundee on 17th 
August, 1661. George Mackenzie, the elder brother of Simon, to whom reference is made in 
the entry on the Bui-gess-RoU, succeeded his half-brother, Colin, as second Earl of Seaforth, 
on loth April, 1633. 

John Mackenzie of Lochslyne was the second sou of Kenneth, Lord Mackenzie of Kintail, 
by his first wife, Anne, daughter of George Ross of Balnagown. As he died before his elder 
brother, the first Earl of Se.\FORTH, leaving only one daughter, the succession to the Earldom, 
which woidd have fallen to him, devolved upon his eldest surviving half-brother, George : whilst 
the estate of Lochslyne passed to his youngest half-brother, Simon, who thus became Laird of 
Lochslyne. His present representative, by the female line, is Edward Montague Stuart- 
WoRTLEY, Lord Wharncliffe. 

Kenneth Mackenzie, Heir-apparent of Coul, was the son of Alexander Mackenzie, 
youngest brother of Kenneth, Lord Mackenzie of Kintail, and he was thus full cousin of 
Simon and of John, whose names are entered with his on the Burgess-Roll. He succeeded to 
the estate as second Laird of Coul on the death of his father, in 1650, and was created a Baronet 
of Nova Scotia on 16th October, 1673. He is described as having been " a man of parts, and in 
areat favour with Charles II." 



154 THOMAS SYDSERFF — JAMES SYDSERFF. 



1631 October 21st. 

Which day The Rev. Father in Christ THOMAS [SYDSERFF], BISHOP 
OF BRECHIN, IS made a Burgess and Brother of the Guild of 
Dundee, for his Services to the Commonweal. 



The same day JAMES SYDSERFF, Brother-german of the said Rev. 
Father, is made a Burgess and Brother of the Guild of the said 
Burgh, gratis. 



Thomas Sydserff was the eldest sou of .James Sydserff, a Merchant of Edinburgh, and was 
born in 1581. He was educated at Edinburgh University, and took his degree as Master of 
Arts there, ou 22nd February, 1602. His first charge was the Church of S. Giles, Edinburgh, to 
wliich he was appointed in May, 1611, in succession to Px\.TRiCK Galloway, an eminent native ot 
Dundee, who was then advanced to higher honours. When the City of Edinburgh was re-divided 
ecclesiastically, Sydserff was transferred to Trinity College Church, in 1626, and was made 
Dean of Edinburgh in 1634. In the latter year, he was again translated to the New or High 
Church of Edinburgh, but this position he only held for five months, being then promoted to the 
Bishojjric of Brechin by the e.xpress advice of Archbishop Laud. From this period his advance- 
ment to successive ecclesiastical dignities was rapid. His appointment to the Diocese of Brechin 
was signed by Charles I., on 30th August, 1635, and he was installed on the l[)th November 
following. His immediate predecessors in the Bishopric were the famous Andrew Lamb and 
Davu) LiNJiSAY, both Burgesses of Dundee. He was translated to the See of Galloway early in 
163.5. 

When the Scottish people rose indignantly to resist the imposition of Prelacy, Bishop 
Sydserff was one of the first against whom they directed their violence. His known intimacy 
with Lauu had excited then- suspicions whilst he was a Minister in Edinburgh, and the attitude 
which he adopted towards the objectionable Service Book made him extremely unpopular. 
Whilst at Stirling, in February, 1638, he was attacked by a mob of Presbyterians, and only 
escaped severe injury through the intervention of the Magistrates. A few days afterwards, he 
was assaulted both in Falkirk and Dalkeith ; and was formally deposed and excommunicated by 
the General Assembly of 1638. 

" SydserflF," writes Maidment, " was a man of learning and probity. He was unj)opular for his 
cxertion.s to introduce the Liturgy, and was nearly murdered on the streets of Edinburgh by an infuriated 
rabble. His pupil, Lord Traquair, coming to his assistance, was soon in as bad a plight as the Bishop, 
the multitude shouting out, to his Lord.ship's infinite horror — ' God defend those that defend God's cause ! 
God confound the Service Book, and all the maintainers of it !' Both the Peer and the Bishop would 
have been torn to pieces had assistance not been procured." 

After his deposition, BiSHOP Sydserff joined King Charles, and was present with him at 
the camp at Newcastle, in 1645. The overthrow of the Royalist party necessitated his retire- 



SIR I'ATKICK IIAV — 1!T. HON. THE ERLE OF L(^WnENE. loo 

ment into private life, and he livi'd in close seclusion until after the Restoration. When the 
Episcopacy was re-constitutod iu Scotland, he was promoted to the Bishopric of Orkney, in 1602, 
being the only survivor of the Bishops wlio had been deposed in 16:3S. He died at Edinburgh 
on 29th September, 1663, in the eighty-second year of his age. He left four sons and four 
daughters. One of the sons, Thomas Sydserff, was a popular dramatist, and was the compiler 
of the Mercwr'nin CaledoniuK — the first newspaper print'.Ml in Scotland. 



16.S6. At'GUST !)th. 

Whjoh day sin PATRICK HAY of Megginch is made a Burgess axd 
Brother of 'j-he Guild of Dundee, gratis. 

Sir Patrick Hay of Megginch was the nephew of George Hay, first Earl of Kinnoul^ 
who was admitted a Burgess of Dundee on 12th October, 1600 (vide page 87). He was 
descended from the ancient family of the Hay'S of Leys, his father being Patrick Hay, fifth 
Baron of Megginch, who died before June, 160G. Sir Patrick was knighted by Charles I., 
when that Monarch visited Scotland in 1633. His half-brother. Sir Peter of Megginch, died 
without issue, and Sir Patrick, who had obtained from him during his lifetime the lauds of 
Pitfour, succeeded also to Megginch on his decease. Sir Patrick was married to Helen, 
daughter of Alexander Lindsay of Evelick, Bishop of Dunkeld, by whom ho had two sons and 
six daughters. His eldest son, Patrick Hay of Pitfour, succeeded him; and he is now repre- 
sented by Charlotte Elizabeth Richardson Drummond-Hay of Seggieden. 



1646. February 13th. 

The qlk. day the Rt. Hon. The ERLE of LOWDENE, LORD MARCJH, 
Lord High Chanoellor, ^VAs admitted Burgess and Guild-Brother 
of this Burgh, ^VITH all requisite solemnities.* 

Sir John Campbell of Lawers, a descendant of tlie Breadalbane family, was married, in 
1620, to Margaret Campbell, daughter of the Master of Loi-DorN. She succeeded as Baroness 
OF Loudoun on the death of her grandfather, Lord Campbell of Loudoun, in 1622. Sir John 
was an ardent adherent of the Presbyterian party, and is described as having been " a most 
strenuous supporter of this cause." In conjunction with the Earl of Rothes, he was continually 
opposing the schemes of King Charles with reference to Church government and ritual. For 
the purpose, probablj^ of securing him as an adherent, the King created him Earl of Loudoun, 
Tarinyean, and Mauchline, in 1633, but the bribe, if so intended, was ineffectual. The action 

* After this ilate iieial_\ all the entries ui-e in the \eriiacular. 



1^)0 RIGHT HON. J? MIDDLETON. 

taken by the General Assembly of 1638 against the Bishops was juincipally brought about by 
his agency, and he was bold enough to assert before the Privy Cotmcil that he was prepared to 
prove the Bishops guilty of the most shocking crimes. When Charles found that he could no 
longer withstand the Presbyterians, the Earl OF Loudoun was the first to insist that the King 
should sign the Covenant, and he did so in these unmistakable terms : — 

" If yiiur ^Mujesty sliaU refu.st> your cousmit to the resolution, yon will Iclsi/ all your friends in the 
House and in the City, and all England shall join against you as one man ; they will despise you, and set 
uj) another Government; they will eharge us to deliver your Majesty to them, and remove our arms out 
of England; and upon your refusal, we will he obliged to settle Kcligion and jjcace without you; which 
will ruin your Majesty and year posterity." 

The counsel of the Earl of Loudoun was for the time effectual, and Charles was persuaded 
thereby to temporise with the Scottish leaders. He raised the Earl to the position of Lord 
Chancellor of Scotland, in 1642 ; and had he kept faith with his Scottish subjects, his fate might 
have been different. The favours which the Chancellor had received, whilst ineffectual to 
make him a traitor to the cause which he had espoused, were sufficiently great to provoke the 
envy of mauy opposed to the King. When Cromwell had conquered all opposition in Scotland, 
he caused the name of the Chancellor to be specially excepted from the Act of Grace and 
Pardon, and the extensive estates and offices which the Earl of Loudoun held were declared 
forfeited. It might have been imagined that one who had suffered so much for the purpose of 
preserving Scotland to the King would have been treated with especial gratitude at the time of 
the Kestoration ; but the contrary was the case. Shortly after Charles had returned to the 
throne, the Earl of Loudoun was heavily fined and threatened with imprisonment, on the 
pretence that he had been implicated in the siirrender of the King's father. The grief and 
vexation which he endured at the time preyed so much upon his mind that he expired suddenly, 
on the 15th of March, 1662. His death is thus recorded by LamonT: — 

" 1662. Mar. — The Earle of Lawdin, suruamed Campbell, the leate Cliancelour of Scotland, depairfced 
out of this life att Edb. and was carried off the towne, to be interred." 

He was buried in the Vault at Loudoun Kirk, his body having been embalmed and left visible 
through an opening in the coffin lid, and it is asserted that a few years ago his face could be seen 
in perfect preservation. 



1646. March 23rd. 

The quhilk day the Right Hon. J^ MIDDLETON of Cademe, Generall- 
Major of the Army, and Commander in Charge of the Forces 
wTiN THE Kingdom of Scotland, was admitted a Burgess of this 
Burgh. 

The career of General John Middleton may be regarded as that of the tyi)ical soldier 
of fortune of the period. He was the eldest son of John Middleton of Caldhame, in 
Kincardineshire, and of Helen, daughter of John Strachan of Thurton. His father was 



RIGHT HON. J^' MIDDLETON. 157 

slain b}' Montrose's men, in 1G45, whilst sitting in his chair within his own dwelling. John 
MiDDLETON began his military life as a pikeman in Hepburn's Regiment, and served with his 
troops in France. Returning to England, he joined the Parliamentary army, in 1642, obtained 
the command of a troop of horse, and became Lieutenant-General under SiK William Waller. 
Shortly afterwards he came north to Scotland, and took service with the Presbyterians, under 
General David Leslie. He was present at the Battle of Philiphaugh, on 1.3th September, 
1645, and took so prominent a share in the defeat of Montrose at that time that the Scottish 
Parliament rewarded him with the gift of '2.),000 merks. In the succeeding year, he marched 
against Montrose to the North, raised the siege of Inverness, and compelled the MARQUESS to 
retreat and capitulate. So complete was his victory at this period, that Montrose was forced 
to leave the country. It was whilst MiDDLETON was making preparations for this successful 
expedition that he visited Dundee, and was specially honoured by having his name placed on 
the Burgess-Roll. Dundee being then a defended town, was regarded as the most convenient 
rendezvous for the Presbyterian forces ; and when the army was remodelled in the following year, 
under General Middleton's supervision, the " Dundee Regiment" was specially excepted from 
the order for disbandment. The Act of Parliament ordering this re-arrangement of the troops is 
in the following terms : — 

" 12 Feb. 1G47.--Tlie Estates of Parliament, Ordainis these companies of foote qi]i ar to be keipt vp of 
Colonell Stuart, the Yiromit of Kenmiire, Lieut.-gen'i baillie, Earle of cassillis, Lord eowper, Earle of 
murray, and Lord Chancelloris Regiments, and that Eegiment in dundie, for making vp of the genii of 
artillarie his Regiment of the new modelled forees, — To marcbe the readiest and straightest way from there 
quarters To dundie and mak there Randezvous their q. they ar to ressave fm'ther orderis for tliair farder 
marche." 

At this period Middleton was still in the service of the Parliamentarians, btit in the 
succeeding year he abandoned them, and joined the Royalists. When troops were raised for the 
purpose of rescuing Charles I., he was ajjpointed Lieutenant-General of Cavalry, and made a 
diversion in favour of the King in the West Country. Thence he marched into England, in 
company with the first DuKE of Hamilton, and fought with great gallantry under him at the 
Battle of Preston (17th August, 1648). He was taken prisoner there, and sent to Newcastle, 
but effected his escape, and shortly alterwards he attempted to raise a Royalist army in the 
Highlands, but was defeated, after a daring struggle, in 1650. When Charles II. marched from 
Stirling into England at the head of a numerous army, Middleton accompanied him, and was 
present with him at the Battle of Worcester (3rd September, 1651), where he made the chief 
resistance to tije Cromwellians. In this engagement he was wounded and taken prisoner, and 
having provoked the resentment of Cromwell by his conversion to the Royalist cause, the 
Protector committed him to the Tower of London, and endeavoured to have him executed as a 
deserter from the Parliamentarian army. MiDDLETON succeeded in escaping even from this 
secure place of confinement, and made his way to France, where he joined the fugitive King at 
Paris. In 1653 he was despatched to Scotland to command the Royalist troops there, but was 
defeated by General Monk at Lochgarry, on 26th July, 1654. Again he escaped to the 
Continent, and once more found refuge with Charles II. at Cologne. His services to the 



158 LORD BALMERINOOH — MASTER OF BALMERINOCH. 

Royalists had been so great that he was specially excepted from Cromwell's Act of Grace and 
Pardon (1654); and he remained abroad until the Restoration in 1660. 

So devoted an adherent of the Royalist party might well anticipate honour and reward when 
the star of the King was in the ascendant ; and in this respect he was not disappointed. On 1st 
October, 1660, he was created Earl of Middleton, was appointed Commander-in-Chief of the 
Forces in Scotland, and Royal Commissioner to the Scottish Parliament. Two years afterwards 
he was made an Extraordinary Lord of Session, and for a brief period he iield almost undisputed 
sway over Scottish affliirs. His administration, however, was disgraced by the grossest tyranny, 
and his life was spent in scenes of the vilest debauchery and licentiousness. " Aided by the base 
subserviency of the Estates," writes Dr James Taylor, " he annulled all the proceedings of the 
various Parliaments that had been held since 1633, and in a brief space of time overturned the 
entire fabric of the civil and religious liberties of the countr}"." His chief opponent at this time 
was John Maitlaxu, afterwards Duke of Lauderdale, and the reckless conduct of Middleton 
afforded him ample opportunity to facilitate his downfall. The Earl seriously offended the 
KiXG by procuring the passing of the Act of Billeting, by which many of the principal Royalist 
noblemen were incapacitated from holding prominent offices ; and he was suddenly disgraced and 
deposed from the elevated position which he had held, " to the joy of the nation," writes SiR 
Robert Douglas, " as his administration had become odious from his severities, and con- 
temptible from his riotous excesses." By his appointment as Governor of Tangier in North 
Africa he was carried into honourable exile in 166o, and never more returned to Scotland. Tea 
years afterwards (1673), he was killed by falling from his horse at Tangier. 

The Earl of Middleto.v was twice married. His first wife was Grizel, only daughter of 
Sir James Durham of Pitkerrow and Luffness, by whom he had a son, Charles, afterwards 
second Earl of Middleton ; and two daughters, Grizel, married to William, tenth Earl of 
Morton, and Helen, married to Patrick, first Earl of Strathmore and Kinghorne. The 
second wife was Lady Martha Cary, daughter of the Earl of Monmouth, by whom ho had no 
issue. There is an excellent portrait of the Earl of Middleton in the drawing-room at Glamis 
Castle, in the possession of the Earl of Strathmore. The son, son-in-law, and one of the 
brothers of the Earl of Middleton were admitted Burgesses of Dundee, on 7th Mareli, 1663. 



164S. February sth. 

The quhilk day LORD BALMERINOCH and the MASTER of BAL- 
merinoch, his sone, wes swore and admitted burgesses and 
Brethren of the Guild of this Burgh. 

John Elphinstone, second Lord Balmerinoch, was the son of the Hon. Sir James 
Elphinstone, first Lord Balmerinoch, by his first wife, Sarah, daughter of Sir John 
Mcinteith of Carse. When his father died, in 1612, the title was then attainted, but in the 



LORD BALMERINOCH — MASTER OF BALMERINOCH. 159 

following year the second Lord Balmerinoch obtained its restoration, and received troni KiNG 
James a charter under the Great Seal granting him the paternal estate anew. 

Lord Balmerinoch was one of the most faithful leaders of the Covenanters, and suffered 
severely for his adherence to their cause. When Charles I. came to Scotland, in 1683, several 
of the Nobles and Members of Parliament had drawn up a petition asking the KiN(i to annul 
some of those Acts by which it was thought that the civil and religious liberty of the country 
would be endangered. It was judged expedient to show this petition to the King before 
formally presenting it, and the indignation with which His Majesty regarded it proved that it 
would be hopeless to expect him to receive it favourably. The document never was presented, 
but Lord Balmerinoch, who was supposed to have drawn it up, retained a copy amongst his 
private papers. Shortly afterwards, whilst conversing with his legal adviser, a certain John 
Denmure, Solicitor in Dundee, Lord Balmerinoch showed this paper in strict confidence, and 
Denmure by some means obtained possession of it. The dangerous document at last found its 
way into the hands of the Akchbishop OF St Andrews, and as it was regarded as libellous, Lord 
Baljierinoch was apprehended on 9th June, 1G34, and carried before the Privy Council for 
examination. He was kept in strict confinement in the Castle of Edinburgh until 30th March, 
1635, and then brought to trial before a jury. 

Some mystery has hitherto surrounded the proceedings of the King and Council in this 
matter, but a recent examination of the documents at Traquair House, made by I)r William 
Fraser, throws a flood of light upon the transaction. The first Earl (.if Traquair was Lord 
High Treasurer to King Charles, and many of the communications which passed betwixt that 
Monarch and himself are still in existence. Amongst these are the depositions of Lord Bal- 
merinoch before the Privy Council, from which it appears that the accused nobleman denied 
having drawn up the petition, or even given it more than a qualified assent. The determination 
of the King to avenge what he considei-ed as an interference with his prerogative, is proved by 
the fact that he wrote a holograph letter appointing the Judges who wore to trj' this iinpc^rtant 
case, and making arrangements for the trial. Before it was decided to commit the case to a jury, 
Lord Balmerinoch desired to throw himself upon the clemency of the KiNc;, and the very 
abject Submission which was drawn up for him to sign still bears several additions and correc- 
tions in the King's handwriting. The unfortunate mibleman refused to submit to the proposed 
conditions, and he was bmught to trial, found guilty, and condemned to death by the casting vote 
of the Earl of Traquair. 

This high-handed proceeding on the part of the King and his ccjuusellors provoked the 
resentment of the Covenanters ; and the people threatened not only to rescue the victim, but to 
execute summary vengeance upon the Judges and jury who had condemned him, by putting 
them to death and destroj'ing their houses. The King at last saw that the impolicy of his 
action was likely to prove fatal to his cause in Scotland, and he was at length compelled to 
liberate Lord Balmerinoch and to restore him to his estate and title, after an unjustifiable 
imprisonment of thirteen months. Charles never regained the confidence of the Scottish 
nation, and his ultimate downfall is often attributed to his treatment of the accused. 

After his release, Lord Balmerinoch became the foremost leader of the Covenanters in their 
opposition to the introduction of Episcopacy. He was chosen President of the Parliament in 1641, 



160 JAMES FITHIE. 

.Hid retained his popularity during the remainder of his life. His admission as a Burgess of 
Dundee may be regarded as another proof of the strong Presbyterian feeling which then existed 
in the Burgh. He died of apoplexy, on 1st March, 1641) — little over a year after the date of the 
inscription of his name on the Burgess-Roll. 

John Elphin.stdxe, thii-d Lord Balmerinoch, who is entered on the Roll as " Master of 
Balmerinoch," was the son of the second Lord, aud of Anne, daughter of SiK Thomas Ker of 
Ferniehirst. He was born on ISth February, l(j23, and succeeded to the title ou his father's 
death, in 1649. The estate had been seriously impaired by the liberality of the late Lord in 
aiding the Covenanters during their long struggle against Charle.s I., and he was comjDelled to 
sacrifice much of his property to supply his own necessities. It is stated that he received 
Charles II. at his mansion in Leith when the King landed there in 1650, but he was never- 
theless fined in £6,000 Scots for non-conformity to Episcopacy in 1662. He survived till 1704, 
when he had reached the extreme age of eighty-two years, and was buried in the family vault at 
Restalrig. By his marriage with Lady Anne Campbell, daughter of the Eaul of Loudoun 
{ride page lo.5), he had three sons and one daughter, aud was succeeded by his eldest son, John, 
fourth Lord Balmerinoch. 



1648. Ferruary 8th. 

The qithilk day JAMES FITHIE, Master of the Reading Scoll, was admitted 
Burgess and Brother of the Guild, so that he and his Childre shall 

EN.JOY THE benefits FREELY, WITHOUT ANY ACKNOWLEDGMENT. 

James Ftthie first appears as " Schoolmaster in the Hill of Dundee,"' in August, 1687, at 
which date he was " admittit to be a Doctor under Mr John Mow, for educating and learning 
of young children aud bairns to read Inglische books," his stipend being ten pounds yearly. At 
tliis time John Mow, who is described as " the principal musician," had charge of the " Sang- 
schule" in Dundee, and was Reader in the East Kii'k, as well as Teacher of the Reading-school, 
which plurality of offices he had held from 1609. Shortly after Fithie's admission as As,sistant 
Teacher, he was " appointed to attend in reading in the West Kii'k upon the Sabbath day, and 
also in taking up the psalm in the East Kirk on the week days," his annual salary being fixed at 
one hundred pounds. The failing energy of John Mow opened up still further preferment for 
James Fithie, and soon after he received an additional sum of fifty raerks for " taking up the 
])salm in the West Kirk quhen there wes preaching there." John Mow died in 1647, and 
Fithie then became Master of the Reading-school. The reason for his admission as a Burgess, 
in 1648, may be found in the fact that in that year "James Fithie, precentor, lent the Council 
the souni of ane thousand merks, for quhilk they subscryved ane band." This may account for 
the liberal terms upon which he and his children were admitted to the full privileges of Burgess- 
ship. The date of his death is not recorded. It is probable that he was the father of the Rev. 
James Fithie, A.M., Minister of the Parish of Mains from 1663 till his death in 1672, and who 
was admitted a Burgess of Dundee on 10th December, 1663. 



WALTER GRAHAM — SIR ADAM AND THOMAS HEPBURNE, ETC. 161 



1650. February 20th. 

The quhilk day WALTER GRAHAM of Duntrune, lawful Son to umqH: 
Sir W" Gram of Clavbrhous, compt and admittit Burgess and 
Brother of the Guild of this Burt be reasoune of the ruiviLEGE 
OF HIS Father being now Burgess. 

Walter Graham of Dimtrune was the second son of Sir William Grah.\m, who was 
admitted a Burgess of Dundee on 2.5th July, 1603 {vide page 96), and of Maria, daughter of 
Thomas Fothringham of Powrie. His elder brother, George Graham of Claverhouso, the 
grandfather of Viscount Dundee, was also enrolled as a Burgess on 30th March, 1620 {vide. 
page 113). Walter Graham acquired the lands of Duntrune from the ScRYMGEOUR family 
previous to 1629, and founded the family of the Grahams of Duntrune, a race distinguished for 
their consistent loyalty to the Stewart dynasty. He was married in 1630, to Elizabeth, sister 
of Alexander Guthrie, and had four sons, two of whom were admitted Burgesses of Dundee on 
22nd September, 1662. The date of the death of Walter Graham is not recorded, but his 
name appears as godfather in the Register of Baptisms in the Parish of Dundee, under date 18th 
August, 1663. He seems to have survived even this date, as the following entry from the 
Register of Marriages in Dundee, referring to his eldest son, clearly implies : — 

" 16GG. May 23rd. — William Graham, Fiar of Duntvoone and Eupham Durham, lawfull daughter to 
William Durliam of Grange of Mouifietli, to be ju'uolaimed." 

Walter Graham was succeeded by his son David, who died in 1706. 



1651. July 3rd. 

The quhilk day SIR ADAM HEPBURNE of Humbie, ane of the Senators 
OF the College of Justice ; THOMAS HEPBURNE Y5 of Humbie ; 
SIR THOMAS HAMILTOUN of Prestene ; JAMES HAMILTOUN, 
Brother to the Earl of Hadintoune ; PAT. HAMILTOUN, Son to 
the Laird of Prestene; and JAMES HAMILTON, second Son to 
Prestene, were all admittit Burgesses and Brether of the Guild 
of this Burt, and gave their oathes in usuall forme. 

This entry is of special interest, as it is the last of importance made in the Burgess-Roll 
before the Siege of Dundee. It is of historical value, as showing the political attitude of the 
Burgh at this critical time. 
w 



162 SIR ADAM AND THOMAS TIEPIUJRNE, ETC. 

Sir Adam Heplurx of Humble was one of the most consistent opponents of the 
tyrannical encroachments upon the liberty of the subject made by Charles 1. at this eventful 
period. He was appointed Clerk to the Committee of Estates in June, 1640, and was elevated 
to the Bench as an Ordinary Lord of Session, and knighted in the following year. He represented 
the Constabulary of Haddington in the Convention of 1643-4, and in the Parliaments of 1648 
and 16.50-51. On the 17th of August, 1643, he was made Collector-General and Treasurer of the 
Army, and, acting in this capacity, he uplifted the fine of 40,000 merks imposed u})on the Earl 
OF Tr.\QUAIR, in 1646. After the cajjitulation of York, he was sent by the Scottish Parliament 
to London for the purpose of representing the impoverished condition of the Presbyterian army to 
the Commonwealth; and was frequently employed upon the varidus Committees of the Estates 
who had then the ruling of Scottish affairs. He is described as having been " the most active 
and zealous of his party." Believing, with many of his fellow-politicians, that Charles II. would 
respect his repeated promises, and govern the country in a constitutional manner, he assisted at 
the coronation of that Monarch at Scone; but when the King disappointed the e.xpectations of 
the Moderate Party, he at once withdrew from supporting his pretensions. 

His presence in Dundee at the time of his admission as Biu'gess is thus accounted for. The 
advance of Cromwell into Scotland at the head of an English army had alarmed the Presby- 
terians, and they were making strong efforts to resist him in the North. In less than two 
months after the date of the entry on the Burge.ss-Roll, Sir A]).\m and his son were taken 
prisoners by the English, together with many of the Members of the Committee of Estates, at 
Alyth, conveyed to Broughty Castle, sent thence to Tynemouth Castle, and despatched to London 
(vide page 113). He was afterwards permitted to return to Scotland, and died — according to a 
passage in Nicol's Diar-i/ — in June, 16-56. 

Some confusion has arisen amongst his biographers regarding the date of his de^ath through 
the mis-reading of a passage in Lamont's Diary, which is in these terms: — 

" 1658, Dec. — The Lovil llnmbie, in Lowtliian, sone-in-law to the Lord ^^^^l■L^sto^^l, ilcpairted (Hit of 
this life at liis owno house, and was interred at . . . the 24 of December. He luarkc the taylie, and 
left his lands to his daughter, Ijeiiig only of the age of two yeares." 

The son-in-law of SiR Archibald Johnstone of Warriston was Thomas Heit.itrn, son of 
Lord Humbie, who was entered as a Burgess of Dundee on the same day as his father. His 
widow, Elizabeth Johnstone, afterwards married William, first Viscount Strathallan ; and 
his daughter, Helen, became the wife of Walter Scott, first and last Earl of Tarras. 

The Hamiltons of Preston were descended from a younger son of Sir Gilbert de Hamilton, 
ancestor of the DuKES OF Hamilton, and one of the foremo.st nobles at the Court of Alexander 
II. Sir Thomas Hamilton of Preston was Member for the Constabulary of Haddington in the 
Conventions of 1661-3, 1665, and 1667, and died in 1672. His son Patrick, who is here 
recorded as a Burgess of Dundee, was married to Elizabeth, daughter of Sir James MacGill 
of Cranstoun-Riddell, first Viscount of Osfurd. The present representative of the family is 
Sir William Hamilton, Bart, of Preston, son of the celebrated Sir William Hamilton, 
Professor of Logic and Metaphysics in the University of Edinburgh. 

Sir James Hamilton of Priestfield, who is described in the Burgess-Roll as "bi'other to the 



MAGISTER PETER WEDDERBURNE. 1 Go 

Earl of Hadintoune," was the sou of tho famous Sir Thomas Hamilton, Lord Binning, and 
afterwards first Eaiil of Haddington. He was born on 29th May, 1603, and served in Sweden 
with the Scottish contingent, nnder the Marquess of Hamilton, in 1631. He was married to 
Anne, daughter of Sir Patrick Hepburn of Wauchton, and was succeeded by his eldest sui'viving 
son, in 1666. 



16.57. February 7th. 

The quhilk day Mac4Ister PETER WEDDERBURNE, Advocate, Son of 
James Weddeeburne, Esquire, is admitted a Burgess and Brother of 
THE Guild of this Burgh. 

Sir Peter Wedderburn of Gosford was the youngest son of James Wedderburn, Merchant 
in Dundee, and of Mary Goldman (vide page 38), daughter of an eminent Burgess of the Burgh. 
His grandfather was Alexander Wedderburn of Kingennie, Town-Clerk of Dundee, and he 
was bom circa 1610, about ten years before his flither's death. He was educated at St Andrews 
University, and took his degree there in 1630. Having chosen the Law as his i^rofession, he was 
admitted Advocate on 19th January, 1642, and soon achieved a leading place at the Bar. In 
January, 16-58-9, he acquired the estate of Gosford, in Haddingtonshire, from Sir Alexander 
AucHMUTY, Knt. — not, as Douglas asserts, from his uncle, Dr John Wedderburn, Physician to 
Charles I. ])\u'ing the Civil War he remained a steady Royalist, and was especially favoured 
by Charles IL after the Restoration. He was knighted in 1660, and made Keeper of the 
Signet for life, with power to appoint deputies. Li July of the following year he was installed 
as Clerk to the Privy Council; and was raised to the Bench as an Ordinary Lord of Session on 
17th June, 1668, with the title of Lord Gosford. His parliamentary career was a distinguished 
one. He represented the Constabulary of Haddington in the Conventions of 1661-3, 166.5, 1667, 
and 1669-74. On the Bench he won special distinction as an upright Judge in a venal age, as 
an eloquent orator, and as one " whose deeds w ere prompted by truthfulness, and whose law was 
dii'ected by justice and sympathy." He retained his jJosition and his reputation till his death, 
which took place at Gosford on 11th November, 1679. His principal legal work was a 
Collection of Decisions of the Court of Session, from. Isi Jane, 1668, till July, 1677, which is 
still referred to as an authority. 

Sir Peter was married to Agnes, daughter of John Dickson, Lord Hartree of Session, 
and had three sons. The eldest son, John, was made a Privy Councillor before he was twenty 
years of age (Fosters Scots M.P.'s, p. oo4), was engaged to furnish the King of Denmark 
with a regiment of Scotsmen, consisting of twelve companies of one hundred men each ; but was 
drowned through ship-wTeck off Calais, on 26th ]\Iay, 1678, during his father's life. The other 
two .sons, Peter and Alexander, were admitted Burgesses of Dundee on 20th July, 1675. At 
the latter date their father's name, under the designation " Sir Peter Wedderburn of Gosford, 
Senator of the College of Justice," is inscribed for the second time on the Burgess-Roll. 



](J4 VISCOUNT DUDHOP — PATRICK, EARL OF KIXGHORNE. 

1660. May 9tli. 

At Dundee, the quhilk day the VISCOUNT DUDHOP was admitted Burgess 
AND Brother of the Guild, by his Father's privileges. 

John Scrymgeour, tliird Viscount of Dudhope, was the son of James, second Viscount 
OF Dudhope, and of Lady Isabel Ker, daughter of the first Earl of Roxburghe (vide page 109). 
He succeeded to the title on the death of his father in 1644, and was an ardent Royalist 
throughout the whole of the Civil War. When the Duke of Hamilton and General 
MiDDLETON attempted to rescue Charles I., in 1648 (vide page 157), he joined with them and 
had command of a troop of horse, but managed to escape to Scotland after the Battle of Preston. 
He attended Charles II. at Stirling Castle, and marched with him into England upon the fatal 
expedition which was terminated by the Battle of Worcester, in 1651. From this conflict he 
again returned uninjured, and shortly afterwards took jjart with Middleton in the abortive 
campaign in the North, in 1054, on which occasion he was captured bj' a party of English 
soldiers in the Braes of Angus, and sent prisoner to London. His loj'alty to the Royalist cause 
was rewarded at the Restoration, as he was sworn a Privy Councillor, and created Earl of 
Dundee, Viscount of Dudhope, and Lord Scrymgeour and Inverkeithing, on 8th Septem- 
ber, 1660. The entry of his name on the Burgess-Roll at this date marks a curious change in 
the political condition of the Burgh. For many years before, the majority of the noblemen whose 
names had been inscribed on the Roll were either pronounced or avowed Presbyterians ; but 
there was no dubiety as to the Royalist attitude which Viscount Dudhope had consistently 
maintained. Twenty days after Lord Dudhope's admission as a Burgess, Charles II. made his 
triumphal entry into London, and the Restoration was an accomplished fact. 

The Earl of Dundee was married, in 1644, to Lady Anne Ramsay, daughter of William, 
Earl of Dalhousie (vide jsage 151), but loft no children at his decease, which took place on 
23rd June, 1668. His death is thus recorded by Lajiont: — 

" 1668. .Tun. — The E^ of Dundie, .surnamed Scrimger, dopairted uwt of tliis life att Didopc, and was 
interred the . . . He dyed withowt any ishwe of his owne body." 

His widow afterwards married SiR Henry Bruce of Clackmannan, who was made a Burgess 
of Dundee on 3rd January, 1671. 



1660. July 19th. 

At Dundee, the quhilk day PATRICK, EABL of KINGHORNE, was 
admitted and booked Burgess and Brother of the Guild of this 
Burgh, by reason of his Father's privileges. 

Patrick Lyon, third Earl of Kinghorne and first Earl of Strathmdre, was the son of 
John, second Earl of Kinghorne (vide page 117), and of Lady Elizabeth Maule, daughter 
of Patrick, first Earl of Panmure (vide page 144). He was born on 29th May, 1642, and 



PATRICK, EARL (IF KIXOHDRXE. 16o 

succeeded to the title ou his father's death, in 1G46, when he was only four years df agfe. His 
education was completed at St Andrews University, and in IGGO he was married to Helen, 
daughter of JoHX, first Earl of Middleton {vide page 156). Though his minority had been a 
protracted one, his estate had been greatly impaired by the building projects of his fatlier and 
grandfather, as well as by a fine of £1,000 imposed upon him by Cromwell's Act of Grace and 
Pardon as a punishment for the loyalty of liis father. From his earliest years he had formed the 
design of rebuilding the greater portion of the Castle of Glamis, which had been the home of his 
ancestors for centuries. For many years he was unable to accomplish this purpose, but he 
ultimately succeeded in reconstructing the Castle in a style which has made it the wonder of 
after generations. Amongst the documents at Glamis Castle there is a very interesting volume, 
entitled " The Book of Record," written by the Earl, in 1685, in which he details exactly all the 
alterations which he made upon the original structure of the Castle, and gives particulars of the 
cost of the building. 

As the Earl was only eighteen years of age whrn the Restoration took place, he had had no 
opportunity of showing his own political convictions practically during the Civil War ; but the 
faithfulness of his ancestors was rewarded in his person. His grandfather had been created Earl 
OF KiNGHORNE in 1606, with limitation to his heirs male. Patrick, the third Earl, obtained a 
new charter on 30th May, 1672, enabling him to nominate a successor in default of male issue. 
Five years afterwards he procured another charter (dated 1st July, 1677), by which it was 
provided that " Patrick, third Earl of Kinghorxe, and his heirs male or heirs whatsoever, 
should in all future ages be styled Earls of Strathmore and Kinghorne, Viscounts Lyon, Barons 
Glamis, Tannadyce, Sidlavv, and Strathdichtie." He was sworn of the Privy Council on 10th 
January, 16S2, and was appointed an Extraordinarj^ Lord of Session on 27th Mai-ch, 1686, but 
was deprived of office at the Revolution. His last appearance in connection with Dundee is 
recorded in the Register of Baptisms in these terras : — 

" 1G9-1. Jany. 14. — Patrick, son of Henry Crawford of Monorgan, baptised. Godfathers ; Patrick, 
Earle of Strathmore, Patrick, Lord KiuiuiirJ, Patrick, Master of Glamis, Patrick Lyon, .son of E. of 
Stratlunore." 

He died on 15th May, 1695, and was buried in the family vault at Glamis. Thei'e are two 
portraits and a marble bust of the Earl preserved at the Castle, and there is a sculptured bust 
of him placed in a niche over the main entrance. He was succeeded by his son John, fourth 
Earl of Kinghorne and Strathmore. His descendant, the present (thirteenth) Earl of 
Strathmore, was admitted a Burgess of Dundee on 1st October, 1874. 



166 JOHN GRAHAM — DAVID GRAHAM — JAMES GRAHAM — JOHN GRAHAM. 



16G0. September 22ud. 

The (^uHiLiv DAY JOHN GRAHAM of Claverhouse and DAVID GKAHAM, 
HIS Brother, were admitted Burgesses and Brethren of the Guild 
OF Dundee, by reason of their Father's privilege. 



The same day JAMES GRAHAM and JOHN GRAHAM, lawfull Sones 
TO Walter Graham of Duntrune, were admitted Burgesses and 
Brethren of the Guild for the same reason. 



John Graham of Claverhouse and his brother David were the sous of Sir William 
Graham of Claverhouse, and of Magdalen (not Jean), daughter of John, first Earl of 
NoRTHESK. The former has gained an unenviable notoriety as the supporter of Episcopacy and 
the fierce i ipponent of the Covenanters ; and his name survives in tradition as tlie " bluidy 
Claverse." Even at the present day opinion is divided as to his merits, and whilst one party 
denounces him with every opprobrious epithet, the other describes him as " last of Scots and 
last of freemen." This is no jjlace for controversy ; and the following brief sketch is intended to 
bring out some portions of jiis career which have not hitherto been treated b}' his biographers. 

He was born about 1643, and was educated at St Andrews University, where his favourite 
studies were Mathematics and Gaelic poetry. Immediately upon the completion of his College 
course he took service in France as a volunteer, and afterwards became a Cornet in the Dutch 
Guards. It is usually asserted that he remained abroad until 1677, and his admission as a 
Burgess must therefore have taken place before his departure for the Continent. Shortly after 
his return he was appointed to the command of a troo}^ of the Cavalry which had been raised for 
the purpose of enforcing conformit}' in Scotland to the Episcopalian Ritual. His severity in the 
execution of the task committed to his charge has been frequentlj' condemned ; and it must be 
admitted that the method which he adopted for dispersing conventicles, though strictly within 
his commission, had not been attempted before his time. He received a severe check at the 
hands of the Covenanters at Drumclog (1st June, 1679), but avenged himself upon them three 
weeks afterwards at Bothwell Bridge. His devotion to the Royalists was highh^ rewarded. He was 
made Sheriff of V/igton in 16S2, his brother, David, being conjoint Sheriff with him ; two years 
afterwards he was sworn of the Privy Council, made Colonel of a Royal regiment of horse, and 
was granted the estate of Dudhope and the Constabulary of Dundee, which had fallen into the 
hands of the Lauderdale family. The manner in which he sought to revive the obsolete rights of 
the Constabulary provoked the resentment of the Provost and Council of Dundee, and continual 
disputes occurred betwixt them for several years, and were only terminated with the life of Claver- 
house. He claimed to have the right of presiding as, or nominating, the Provost; and in the Council 
Minutes of 27th March, 1688, there is engrossed a copy of a letter from James VII., directing 
the Council to receive Major-General John Graham as Provost for that year. In that 
capacity he officiated for more than one term. So bitter was the strife between the opposing 



JOHN GRAHAM — DAVIU GRAHAM — JAMES GRAHAM — JOHN GRAHAM. 167 

parties that Claverhouse attacked the towu, at the head of a uumber of his fdlluwers, cm 13th 
May, 1CS9, aud, finding he could not prevail, he set fire to the suburb of the Hilltovvn. 

Against the frequent charge of cruelty on his part, it is only foir to state that, on 10th 
September, 1G84, shortly after he had been made Constable, he reported to the Privy Council 
that ho " found several persons in prison in Dundee for potty thefts, which will be fitter to be 
jjunished arbitrarily than by death;" thus showing himself an advocate,. in this instance, for 
humane and corrective, rather than retributive, punishment. He was accordingly " empowered 
to restrict the treatment of these persons and any others that might hereafter commit the like 
offences, 'to ane arbitrary punishment, such as whipping or banishment, as he shall find cause'" 
{Domestic Annals of Scotland, Vol. II., p. Jfil). 

The faithful services of Claverhouse were recognised by James VII. on his accession to the 
throne, by his promotion to the rank of Major-General ; aud on 12th November, 1G88, he was 
created a Peer of Scotland, with the title of Viscount of Dundee aud Lord Gkaha.m of Claver- 
house. The crisis of the Revolution had been reached, and Dundee adhered to King James, and 
endeavoured to persuade him to adopt a courageous policy till the last. After the fiight of the 
King he promised obedience to the new Government, and came to Scotland hoping to avert 
what he considered the disastrous settlement of tlie Crown upon William of Orange and Mary. 
His hopes in this respect were disappointed, and he retired from Edinburgh and took up his 
residence at Dudhope Castle. On obtaining information that a wari'aut to apprehend him had 
been issued, he fled with his Highland followers to Perthshire, and was pursued and defeated by 
General Mackay at the Pass of Killieerankie, in July, 1US9. In this engagement he was 
mortally wounded by a musket ball, and fell on the field at the moment when the tide of battle 
was turning in his favour. He was buried in the Church of Blair-in-Athol, but no trace of his 
grave can now be discovered. 

The ambition of Cl.a.verhouse, from his youtli upwards, was insatiable, and tliere is one 
episode in his life which has escaped the notice of histrirical writers who have dealt with him. 
His kinsman, William, second Earl of Menteith and Airth, had no heir to succeed him, and 
had the power of appointing a successor. To secure this appointment became the settled purpose 
of Claverhouse ; and a series of letters written by liim to the Earl were recently discovered by 
Dr William Eraser amongst the muniments of the Duke of Montrose at Buchanan House. 
They exhibit the writer in quite a new light, and refute the chai'ges of unlettered ignorance 
which have been brought against him. The Earl of Menteith and Airth wished to settle 
his title and estates upon Helen Gr.^ham, only child of his uncle, and upon any husband whom 
she might marry, aud Claverhouse became an ardent suitor for her hand. In one of these 
letters, written about 1G79, he " urges upon the Earl of Menteith the advantage of settling 
his affairs, establishing his successor in time, for ' it can doe you no prejudice if you com to have 
any childring of your owen body, and will be much to your quyet and comfort if you have non ; 
for whoever you mak choyse of will be in place of a sonne.' He instances the wisdom of Julius 
C^SAR in adopting Augustus, securing a thankful and useful friend as well as a wise successor ; 
' neither of which he could have promised himself by having childring, for nobody knows whether 
they begit wyse men or fooles ; besides that, the tays of gratitud and friendship ar stronger in 
generous myuds then those (jf natur.' Then he proposes himself as heir, a resolution the Earl 



IG.S JOHN GRAHAM DAVID GRAHAM JAMES GRAHAM JOHN GRAHAM. 

seems to have already formed, marshalling with great vigour and i-egularity several reasons; the 
kindred name, and the fact that he could, more easily than any other, obtain the Earl's cousin, 
which union continued the family in the right line ; his toiling for honour, though it had been 
his ' misfortun to atteen but a small shear,' and the ' francness and easiness' he lives in with all 
liis friends. He ends with this forcible sentence — 'But, my Lord, after all this, if these raisons 
cannot perswad you that it is your interest to pitch on me, and if you can think on anybody that 
can be mor proper to restor your family, and contribut mor to your comfort and satisfaction, mak 
frankly choyse of him, for without that you can never think of geating any thing don for your 
family; it will be for your honour that the world see you never had thoughts of alienating your 
family, then they will look no mor upon you as the last of so noble a race, but will consider you 
raither as the restorer then the ruiner, and your family raither a rysing than falling ; which as it 
will be the joy of our friends and relations, so it will be the confusion of our enimys'" (Third 
Report of Hid. MSS. Covnnission, p. 402). The plans of the Earl were altered by the 
elopement of the lady with " an Irish gentleman," and the estate was ultimately settled upon the 
Marquess of Montrose, and the title is still in abeyance. 

Viscount Dundee married the Hon. Jean Cochrane, youngest daughter of William, first 
Earl of Dundonald, and had one son, James, second Viscount of Dundee, who died in infancy 
six months after his father. She afterwards married William, third Viscount of Kilsyth, and 
was accidentally killed, together with her infant son, whilst residing in a hostelry in Holland, by 
the joists of the chamber where she was sitting giving way above her. Her body was embalmed 
and brought to the family vault at Kilsyth, and the coffin containing the two corpses was 
discovered in 1795 in perfect preservation. An account of the appearance of these bodies is given 
in the Edinhurgh Courant of 18th May of that year. Several epitaphs upon the Viscountess 
are preserved in a volume within the Advocates' Library, Edinburgh. 

David Graham, brother of Lord Dundee, succeeded to the title as third Viscount Dundee 
on the death of his infant nephew. He had been with his brother at Killiecrankie, and was out- 
lawed in the following year. After the defeat of the Jacobites there, he retired to the Court of 
St. Germains, and was invested with the Order of the Thistle bj' James VII. in 1G92. As he died 
without issue in 1700, the representation of the family devolved upon the Grahams of Duntruno. 
William Graham of Duntrune {oh. 1706) did not assume the title, but his son William styled 
himself ViscouNT of Dundee. He was attainted for his concern in the Rebellion of 1715, and 
his son James {oh. 1759), who also took the title, was similarly treated for his adherence to the 
Jacobite cause in 174G. The title is now extinct. 

The names of the first Viscount of Dundee and of his wife, Lady Jean, appear frequently 
amongst the sponsors entered in the Register of Baptisms of the Parish. The most noteworthy 
of these entries are the following : — 

"1685, Nov. ITtli. — John, son of Magister Hourie Scrymsour, rareou of DiuiJic, and Mrs Jeau 
Alexander. Witnesses : John Graham of Claverliouse and Constable of Dundie, and O™." 

" 1689, May 9th. — Jean, daughter of Kob^ David.son of Bal,gay and Eliz. Graham. AVitnesses: Jo. 
Graham, L''. Dundie, his ladie Jean Cochrane, and C'' ." 

On r2th April 1075, " jMr David Graham, brother to the Laird of Claverliouse," is entered as 
witness to a baptism. 



GEORGE, EARL OF LINLITHGOW — GEORGE, LORD LIVINGSTONE. 169 

The admission of Walter Graham of Duutrune is entered under date 20th February, 1650 
(vide page 101). The uanu^s of the two sons who are here "booked" do not appear in the 
accepted genealogies of the flunily, thougli their existence is proved by contemporary documents. 
They were both members of the Town Council of Dundee, and John Graham for a long period 
held the position of a Bailie of the Burgh. The following extract from the Register of Baptisms 
in Dunder affords information as to both of the brothers : — ■ 

" 16G5, Oct. 17. — John, son of James Graham, merchant, Dundee, and Agnes Rate, baptised. Wit- 
nesses : John Graham of Glaverhouse, John Fithic, Bailie Joline Graham, son to the Laird of Dnntronn, and 
OE!." 

Both brothers were concerned in the attempt uf their kinsman, ViscoUNT Dundee, to over- 
throw the power of William III. in Scotland, and the Bailie was deposed from his office and 
threatened witli prosecution, as appears from the following entr}- in the Council Minutes: — 

"1689, June 15. — The s'^ day John Graham, late Bailie, his bond contoining ane caul' for liim for 
presenting of him to the privie counsell or magistrals of the s'.' burgh, as tliey shall be desyred, for his 
having converse with the viscount of dundic, was put v[) in the townes press." 

John Graham'.s daughter, Marjory, was nn\rried to John Forrester of Millhill, as is shown 
by the tombstone of the latter (No. !S1) in the Howff. 



1600. October 26th. 

At DuxXDEE, THE QUHiLK DAY GEORGE, EARL OF LINLITHGOW, and 
GEORGE, LORD LIVINGSTONE, his Lordship's Sone, were admitted 
Burgesses and Brether of the Guild. 

George, third Earl of Linlithgow, was the son of Alexander, second Earl, and of Lady 
Elizabeth Gordon, daughter of George, Marquess of Huntly (vide page 89). He was born 
in July, 1016, and succeeded to the title on the death of his father. As the date of his father's 
decease is not precisely recorded in any of the Peerage genealogies, the time of bis accession to 
the Earldom is obscure. SiR Robert Douglas (Peerage, Wood's Edition, Vol. II., j). 128) 
states that " George, Earl of Linlithgow," had charters under that style in 1669, and Foster 
(Scots M.P.'s, p. 215) gives this as the year of his accession. The entry in the Burgess-Roll of 
Dundee, however, shows that he had succeeded to the title in 1660, nine years before the accepted 
date. 

The third Earl OF Linlithgow was a faithful adherent of the Royalists, and suffered severely 
during the supremacy of Cromwell. He represented the Sheriffdom of Perth in the Parliament 
of 1654-5, but took little part in their proceedings. At the Restoration he was made a Privy 
Councillor, and was appointed Colonel of the Royal Regiment of Horse Guards. The appearance 
of his name in the Lockit-Book at this time affords another proof of the political change that had 
taken place in the Burgh. There is a curious account in Lamont's Diary, p. 187, of a strange 

X 



170 SIR THOMAS STEWART. 

duel that liappened at the race-course of Cupar, betwixt the Earl of LiNLlTHGOW and LoRU 
Carnegie, on 12th April 1G66, in which the Earl was severely wounded. After his recovery he 
was one of the principal commanders to whom the suppression of the Conventicles was committed, 
and acted in concert with General Dalziel and John Graham of Claverhouse. The high posi- 
tion which he occupied in the army is proved by the fact that the Earl OF Argyll was directed 
to serve under him in this task. There is a letter from the Duke of Rothes to the Earl of 
Argyll preserved amongst the documents at Inverary Castle, which is in these terms : — 

"Edinburgh, 7 June, 1679. — The fanatickes in the west and vthcr haveing formed themselves into a 
dann-erous rebellion, whose numbers and force doe daylie iuoresce, wee have therefore thought fitt to 
desyre your LordshiiJ, with the greatest expedition your cireunistancc^s can allow, to disentangle yourself 
from the expedition for which you are commissiouated against the rebellious people in the Highlands, 
to the c^nd your Lordship may with tlie greatest diligence j-ou can, repaire to his ^lajestie's host, and 
joyne the forces vnder the command of the Earlc of Linlithgow, with your friendis, vassallis, servantis, 
and followeris, weill appoynted and armed for assisting towards the suppression of this treasonable 
insurrection. . . ." 

The Earl of Linlithcjow terminated his military career by resigning his counnand in 1681, 
and he was then appointed Justice-General of Scotland. This office he retained till the Revolu- 
tion of 1G88, when he was deprived, in common with all his fellow-Royalists. He was concerned in 
the plot of Sir James Montgomery of Skelmorlie for the restoration of James VII. to the 
throne which ho had abandoned ; but he died before any overt action had been initiated. His 
death occurred on the 1st of February. 1690, when he was in his seventy-fourth year. 

By his marriage with Lady Elizabeth Maule, daughter of Patrick, first Earl of 
Panmure (vide page 144), and widow of John, second Earl of Kinghorne (vide page 117), Lord 
Linlithgow had two sons and one daughter. The eldest son was that George who is entered 
as a Burgess of Dundee on the same day as his father. The second son was Alexander, third 
Earl of Calendar. The daughter, Lady Henriette, was married to Robert, second Viscount 
of Oxfurd. The Countess of Linlithgow died at Castle Huntly, in October, 1659. 

George, Lord Livingstone, succeeded his father as fourth Earl of Linlithgow, but did 
not long survive him. He was sworn of the Privy Council in 1692, appointed one of the Com- 
missioners of the Treasury, and died 7th August, 1695, without is.sue. The title then passed to 
his nephew, Jajies, fourth Earl of Calendar. 



1660. October 26th. 

At Dundee, the quhilk day SIE THOMAS STEWART of Garintully 
WAS admitted a Burgess and Brother of the Guild of the said 
Burgh. 

The Stewarts of Grandtully are derived from the same source as the Royal Family, their 
conmion ancestor being ALEXANDER, sixth Lord High Steward of Scotland, who died in 1283. 
Sir Thomas Stewart, whose name is entered here, was the eldest son of Sir William Stewart, 



SIR GEORGE MACKENZIE — MAGISTEli GEORGE MACKENZIE. 171 

Gentleman of the Bedchamber to James VI., and of Agnes Moncrieff, daughter of SiR John 
MONCRIEFF of that Ilk. He was born in 1608, and was knighted by CHARLES I., at the Corona- 
tion in Holyrood, in 1033. He re2>reseuted Perthshire in the Conventions of 1665 and 1667. By 
his marriage wirh Grizel, daughter of Sir Alexander Menzies of Weem, he had one son, John, 
and eight daughters. Marjory, the second daughter, was married to David Fothringham of 
Powrie, and Helen, the sixth daughter, became the wife of Crichton of Ruthven — two families 
intimately connected with Dundee. The town residence of the Stewarts of Grandtully stood at 
the Burnhead, on the south side of the Seagate, near the site of S. Paul's Ejiiscopal Church. It 
was afterwards memorable as the place where the Pretender slept when in Dundee, in 1716, and 
at a later date was the birthplace of Admiral Viscount Duncan. Sir Thomas Stewart died 
on 10th August, 16SS, in the eightieth year of his age. 



1601. August 17th. 

At Dundee, the qlk. day SIR GEORGE MACKENZIE of Tarbat, ane 
OF THE Senators op the College of Justice, and Magister GEORGE 
MACKENZIE, His Maiestie's Depute, were admitted Burgesses and 
Brethren of the Guild of the said Burgh. 



Sir George Mackenzie of Tarbat was the elder son of Sir John Mackenzie, who was 
admitted Burgess on 3rd June, 1634 (vide page 152), and of Margaret, daughter of Sir George 
Erskine of Innerteil. He was born in 1030, and succeeded to the estate on the death of his 
father, in 1054. At this period strong efforts were being made to place Charles II. upon the 
throne, and Sir George, ambitious to distinguish himself in the Royalist cause, obtained jsermis- 
sion from the King to raise forces in the north for this purpo-se. He served under General 
MiDDLETON (vide page 150), and, with his aid, the contest with the Cromwellian party was main- 
tained for twelve months, and ultimately concluded by an honourable capitulation. 

When the Earl of Middleton was sent to Scotland, after the Restoration, as Royal Commis- 
sioner, his former ally, Sir George Mackenzie, became his chief confidant and most trusted adviser. 
Sir George was appointed a Lord of Session on 14th February, 1661. It is asserted that it was 
by his advice that MlDDLETt)N introduced the Recissory Acts, by which the country was deprived 
of the liberty that had been gained since 1633. It was also through his influence that the 
Billeting Act, which brought about Middleton's downfall (vide page 158), was introduced ; and 
Sir George was involved in the cata.strophe whicii overwhelmed his patron. The Duke of 
Lauderdale rose to the supreme place in Scottish affairs, and Sir George Mackenzie was 



172 SIR GEORGE MACKENZIE— MAGISTER GEORGE MACKENZIE. 

deprived of his seat on the Bench on IGtli February, 1GG-I-. For Hfteen years after this date he 
remained in obscurity, but at length he succeeded in obtaining the forgiveness and favour of 
Lauderdale. He was appointed Justice-General on IGth October, 1G7S, and sworn a Privy 
Councillor in the following month. In October, 1G81, he was the succes.sor of Sir Archibald 
Primrd.se in the office of Lord-Clerk-Register, and was restored to his place on the Bench in 
November of that year. From that time until the Revolution he had full control of Scottish 
affair's; and was created ViSCOUNT OF Tarbat on 15th February, 1G85, on the occasion of the 
accession of James VII. It was in consequence of his acute proposal to disband the militia in 
1688 that the Revolution was accomplished without bloodshed. The new King, William III., 
had not sufficient faith in him to replace him in his high position, and he was not restored to his 
office of Lord-Clerk-Register until 1G92. This post he retained until 1G9G, at which time he 
resigned it and retired with a pension. 

The accession of QuEEN Anne brought Lord Tarbat again into notice. On Lst January, 
1703, he was created Earl of Cromarty, and made one of the principal Secretaries of State. 
He was now advanced in years, and unable to overtake the duties of this onerous office. In the 
following year he resigned it, and was restored to his former place as Lord Justice-General, in 
which post he remained till 1710. His Parliamentary career was a distinguished one. He 
represented Ross-shire in the Parliaments and Conventions of IGGl -3, 1G78, and 1C81-2, and after- 
wards took his seat in virtue of his various offices. He was a strong advocate, both with voice and 
pen, of the Union of the Parliaments, and lived to witness its accomplishment. He died at New 
Tarbat on 17th August, 1714, in the eighty-fourth year of his age. An obelisk, fifty-seven feet in 
height, was erected by him on an artificial mound near the Parish Church of Dingwall, to mark 
the place which he had chosen for his grave. Lord Cromarty was twice married. His first 
wife was Anne, daughter of SiR James Sinclair of Mey, Bart., who became the mother of John, 
second Earl of Cromarty, Sir Kenneth Mackenzie of Grandvale, and Sir James Mackenzie, 
Lord Roystoun of Session. The Earl was married secondly in 1700, when he had reached his 
seventieth year, to Margaret, Countess of Wemyss, widow of Lord Burntisland, whom he 
survived nine j'ears. 

" Magister George Mackenzie, His Maiestie's Depute," whose name is entered in the Lockit- 
Book at the same time as that of the Earl of Cromarty, was the son of Simon Mackenzie of 
Lochslyne, brother of the Earl of Seaforth (vide page 153), and of Elizabeth Bruce, grand- 
daughter of Sir Alexander Wedderburn of Kingennie, Town-Clerk of Dundee. He was born 
in Dundee in 1636, and spent his early years under the roof of Wedderburn's house there, 
receiving his first instruction from his grandmother, Mrs Bruce. The rudiments of his education 
were imparted at the Grammar School of Dundee, and from thence he was sent to St Andrews 
University, and afterwards to King's College, Aberdeen. Following the frequent custom of the 
time, he went to the L^niversity of Bourges, in France, to complete his study of the Civil Law, and 
on his return was admitted a member of the Faculty of Advocates on 18th January, 1G59. His 
great forensic ability and extensive learning soon brought him into notice, and he rapidly attained 
a leading place at the Scottish Bar. The first case of iiuijortance which won him rrputation was 
his defence of the Marquess of Argyll, in IGGl {vide page 121), in which task, it is said, he 
''discharged his duty with great firmness and courage." For some time afterwards his sympathies 



SIR GEORGE MACKENZIE — MAGISTER GEORGE MACKENZIE. 173 

were entirely with the popular or Presbyterian party, and ho Dpposod, to some extent, the 
tyrannical pretensions of the King. His patriotism, however, was not proof against the temptations 
of office which the Court held out to him, and he latterly became one of the most formidable 
enemies of the Covenanters. He was made Justice-Depute shortly before the date of his admis- 
sion as a Burgess of Dundee, and hi.s connection with the Burgh became more intimate a few 
years later. In the Council Miiuites for oth December, 1G65, the following entry appears: — 

" .To" WoLlderbui-n haveing liepu ilismis.seJ from his office of Advocate for tlic towne, Geo. M^'Kenzie, 
advocate, was appointed to supply his place, and to have a salary of £46 ■• 13 " 4." 

Twelve years afterwards (in 1(J77) he was made Lord-Advocate and one of the Lords of 
Privy Council, and was knighted by Charles II. He now declared himself the determined 
opponent of the Presbyterians, and prosecuted the Conventiclers with such rigour that he is still 
stigmatized amongst the populace as " Bloody Mackenzie." It is asserted that his subserviency 
to the Court induced him to strain the law so that he might accomplish the suppression of the 
Conventicles; but this tradition is probably a gross over-statement. It is certain, on the other 
hand, that in 1686 he was deprived of the office of Lord-Advocate, which he had held so long, 
because he resisted the attempts of James VII. to repeal the penal laws against the Roman 
Catholics. He was restored to this post in 16SiS, but only retained it for a few months, as he was 
dismissed at the Revolution, which took place in that year. 

Whilst the Burgh was involved in the protracted dispute with Claverhouse as to the civic 
power of the Constable (vide page IGG), Sir George Mackenzie and Sir John Lauder — 
afterwards Lord Fountainhall — were employed to report to the Town upon the matter, and the 
elaborate opinions that they prepared (which differ in their conclusions) are engrossed in the 
Minute Book of the Council for 1687-9. Sir George represented Ross-shire in the Parliament 
of 1669-74', and Forfarshire in the Convention of 1689. He had amassed a larsre fortune during 
his profes-sional career, and he acquired the estates of Rosehaugh and Newtyle, and took his 
designation from them. These estates, after much litigation, were adjudged to his great- 
great-grandson, the Hon. James Archibald Stuart-Mackenzie, father of the first Lord 
Wharncliffe. 

After his dismissal from the office of Lord-Advocate, Sir George retired to Oxford, and died 
in London on 8th May, 1691. His body was brought to Scotland and interred in a splendid 
mausoleum within the Greyfriars Churchyard, Edinburgh. The laudatory Latin inscription upon 
his tomb describes him as : — 

" Pairut ilecus, Reliijiunis vindex, Jusiiiiie propmjalor, 
Juru regii assertor strenuics et indefessus." 

[An ornament to his Country, a vindicator of Eeligion, a preserver of Justice, an active and unwearied 
asserter of Kingly right.] 

Amongst Sir Robert Sibbald's MSS. in the Advocates' Library, Edinburgh, there is a short 
Latin poem upon Sir George Mackenzie, written by his townsman, Dr Thomas Gleig, son 
of the Master of the Grammar School of Dundee {vide page 101), which may be quoted here 



174 SIR GEORGE MACKENZIE — MAGISTER GEORGE MACKENZIE. 

as an example of the exaggerated praise bestowed upon the Lord-Advocate by his contem- 
poraries : — 

" Pingere vis qua fronte Gato titubante Senatu 

Asseruit Patria; jura verei/dn S7Ui;. 
Pingere vis Magnus qun Tullius ore solebat 

Dirigere attoiiiti linqtiain univiamque fori. 
Pingere vis quanta Maro niajesfafe ranelinf, 

Et quali tetigit pollice Place us Ehur. 
Pinge Mackenzeum pictor, namque altera tion est, 

Qua' referant tanlos una lahella viros." 

The following translation was written at the time by Dr John Alexander : — 

" If tliou \voukl draw with boldnes, what 

Cato Rome's right maintained, 
With what admired eloquence 

Tulhc the great declaimed. 
And with what high majestic note 

Great Virgil used to sing, 
How delicately Horace wont 

To touch the Lyrick string. 
Rare limner of that three in one, 

"Would these men rightly paint, 
Mackenzie draw, none can but he 

Such great men represent." 

Though few would now be inclined to assent to this extravagant encomium, every one will 
admit that Scotland owes a deep debt of gratitude to Sir George Mackenzie, since it was he 
who founded the Advocates' Library in Edinburgh, in 1682, whilst he was Dean of Faculty — an 
institution which has done much towards preserving Scottish literature, and which now contains 
over 200,000 volumes, and an extensive collection of rare manuscripts. Sir George's own literary 
works are numerous, and include elaborate treatises upon Heraldry, Criminal Law, and the Law 
of Scotland, as well as several works of a general character. 

Sir George ILvckenzie was twice married : firstly, to Elizabeth, daughter of John Dickson, 
Lord Hartree of Session ; and secondly (on 14th January 1070), to Margaret, daughter of Sir 
James Haliburton of Pitcur. The latter survived him, and became tlie wife of Roderick 
Mackenzie, Lord Prestonhall of Session, brother of the first Earl of Cromarty (vide 
page 153). 



WILLIAM, EAHLL OF MORTUUN, ETC. 175 



166:1 March 7th. 

At Dundee, the said day the persons undernamed were admitted Burgesses 
AND Guild Brethren of the said Burgh, gratis : — WILLIAM, 
EARLL OP MORTOUN ; DAVID, LORD LOWRE ; CHARLES, LORD 
CLAREMONTH: ANDREW MIDDLETOUN, Brother to the Earll 
OF Middletoun ; SIR ALEXANDER DURHAM, LORD LYON ; SIR 
JOHN STRACHAN, Receiver of His Maiestie's Revenues ; MUNGO 
MURRAY, Cornet to His Maiestie's Lyfe Guards. 

William, tenth Eaul of Morton, was the son of Robert, Ldim Dalkeith, and the 
grandson of William, eighth Earl of Morton, who were admitted Burgesses of Dundee on 
10th April, 1622 (vide page 121). He succeeded his father as Earl of Morton in 1649. As 
already related, his grandfather had obtained a gift of the islands of Orkney and Shetland, in 
acknowledgment of the large sums of money which he had expended to support the Royalist 
cause. The ninth Earl had a new grant of these islands in 1662, but both the charters were 
objected to by the King's Advocate, and the islands were conjoined to the Crown on 27th 
December, 1669. The Earl of M(.)RT0N was married to Lady Grizel Middleton, eldest 
daughter of John, first Earl of Middleton (vide jmge 156), on 12th June, 1662, and had one 
son, Charles, Lord Dalkeith, who died, unmarried, before his father. The Earl survived till 
1681, and as he left no issue, the title devolved upon his uncle, Sir James Douglas of Smith- 
field. 

David Carnegie, Lord Lour, was the eldest son of the first Earl of Northesk, and of 
Magdalen, daue-htor of Sir Jajies Haliburton of Pitcur. His father. Sir John Carnegie, 
was a brother of the first Earl of Southesk, and had been created a Peer in 1639, with the 
title of Lord Lour, and was afterwards advanced to the dignity of Earl of Ethie. After the 
Restoration he obtained a new patent, by which his title was changed to that of Earl of 
Northesk, the older style of Lord Lour being reserved for the Heir-apparent. David, Lord 
Lour, succeeded his father as second Earl of Northesk in 1667. He spent a large portion of 
his early life on the Continent, and was closely connected with the leading members of the 
Royalist party before the Restoration. His sister. Lady Magdalen Carnegie, was the wife of 
Sir William Graham of Claverhouse, and the mother of the first Viscount of Dundee (vide 
page 166). He was married, in 1638, to Lady Jean Maule, eldest daughter of Patrick, first 
Earl of Panmure, and left a numerous family. Though his name does not appear prominently 
in the history of his time, the second Earl of Northesk seems to have been highly respected 
in Dundee. His death took place at Errol, on 12th December, 1079, and the following extract 
from the Records of the Presbytery of Dundee relating to his burial shows how highly he was 
esteemed in the Burgh : — 

"Dundee, U Jauy. 1680. 
" This day while the exerciser was in his gow-n going to the pulpit, tlie Earl of Xorthesk's corps were 
handed and lifting, and the canons sluitting [sliootiiig], and the l)ody of the towiie attending the corps, and 



176 WILLIAM, EAKLL OF MORTOUN, ETC. 

the ministers invited to the buriiil, and the corps to bo deposited in the Church for tlic niglit, therfor it 
was thought expedient to eurrceasc [surcease] the exercise this da}'. Notwithstanding, after tlie close of 
the funeral solemnity, the brethren met for discipline." 

The Earl was succeeded by his eldest son, David, third Earl of Northesk. 

Charles, Lord Clermont and Fettercairn, was the only sou and successor of the first 
Earl of Middletox {vide page 156), aud of Grizel, daughter of Sir James Durham of 
Pitkerrow. During his youth liis father was abroad at the Court of Charles II., and he was 
reared in the midst of those devoted noblemen who shared the King's exile. Shortly after the 
Restoration he was appointed Euvoy-Extraordinary to the Court of Austria ; and he succeeded to 
the title of Earl of Middleton on the death of his father, in 1673. Returning to this countiy in 
1082, he was made one of the principal Secretaries of State for Scotland ; and two years afterwards 
was raised to the position of an Extraordinary Lord of Session, and sworn of the Privy Council of 
England. On 25th August, lOSi, he was appointed one of the Secretaries of State for England, 
and held this high office till the Revolution of 1688, at which time he retired to France with King 
James. He was outlawed as a rebel on 23rd July, 1694, and his estates were forfeited the 
following year. The Earl never returned to Scotland, but remained with the exiled Royal 
Family at St Germains mitil his death. He is thus referred to in Mackay'.s Memovrs : — 

" This man, wlio had stood all tlic. teuiptation.s of King James' reign and all the endeavours of that 
prince to bring him over, to the surprise of all wlio knew him, declared himself a Eoman Catholic upon the 
King's death ; and, after having said as much as any man against Popery, yet hath now the entire manage- 
ment of the Court of St Germains." 

The Earl of Middleton was married to Lady Catherine Brudenel, daughter of Rorert, 
Earl of Cardigan, aivl had two sons and three daughters. The Countess survived till 1743, 
having then reached her ninety-fifth year. 

Andrew Middleton was the younger brother of the first Earl of Middleton, and was 
therefore paternal uncle of Lord Clermont, who was admitted a Burgess of Dundee on the same 
day as himself. His family had been connected with the County of Kincardine from the time of 
William the Lion, and in 1690 he acquired the lands of Balbegno there, and founded the family 
of Middleton of Balbegno, which became extinct on the death of his only surviving son, Robert, 
in 1710. 

Sir Alexander Durham was the third son of Sir James Durham of Pitken-ow, and was one 
of the members of a family that had been long associated with Dundee. His father .suffered 
severely for his adherence to Charles I., but was replaced in the offices from which he had been 
ousted when Charles II. was restored to the throne. Sir Alexander was also a faithful sup- 
porter of the Royalists, and was Knighted and made Lord Lyon Kiug-of-Arms in August, 1600. 
Two years afterwards he acquired the lauds of Largo, in Fife, of which he had a charter under the 
Great Seal, dated 1st January, 1663. At this time he held a commission as Colonel of one of the 
Royal Regiments, and was Receiver-General of the Land-Tax of Scotland. His sister, Grizel 
Durham, was married to the fii-st Earl of Middleton, and he was the maternal uncle of Lord 
Clermont. The exact date of Sir Alexander Durham's death is not recorded, but as it 
appears from Lamont's Diar?/ (page 162) that the Parliament which met on ISth June, 1003, 



MAGISTER ALEX. MILNE — MAGISTEK ROBERT EDWARD. 177 

" ratified Ch. Arskin, Kelly's brother, his commi.ssion t" be Lord Lyon iu stead of the deceased 
S? Alex. Durhame," his death must have taken place early in that year. He was never married, 
and his estate went to his nephew Francis, son of the famous James Durham, minister of the 
High Church of Glasgow, and one of the most eminent divines of the period. 

Sir John Strachan, Receiver of His Majesty's Revenues, was a scion of the house of 
Strachan of Thornton, in Kincardineshire. His father, Sir Alexander Strachan of Thornton, 
was created a Baronet by Charles I. in 1625 ; and bis aunt was the mother of the first Earl 
OF Middleton. 

Sir Mungo Murray of Garth was the second son of John, first (Murray) Earl of Athol, 
and of Jean, youngest daughter of Sir Duncan Campbell of Glenurchy. He held a commission 
in the Royal Guards at the time of the Restoration ; and he represented Perthshire in the Parlia- 
ments of 16G1-3 and 1669- He died unmarried in 1671, and was buried in St Giles', Edinburgh. 



166.S. December 10th. 

At Dundee, quhilk day Magister ALEX. MILNE and Magister KOBERT 
EDWARD, Ministers, were admitted Burgesses by virtue of their 
Father's privileges. 

Magister Alexander Milne was the son of Bailie Alexander Milne of Dundee, and was 
born in the Burgh in 1618. He received his education at the University of St Andrews, and 
took his degree there on 2nd May, 1639. He was admitted Minister of the Church of Longforgan 
in August, 1649, and remained in that charge till 16G1. In the latter year he was translated to 
the Second Charge or South Church of Dundee, in which place he continued till his death, in 
August, 1665. From him descended the Milnes of Mylnefield, who were related by marriage 
to the Wedderburns of Kingennie. " He was proprietor of the town and lands of Pilmore, and 
bequeathed to the Kirk-Session j'f.Kxxiii. lib. vi.s. viij.d. for behoof of the poor." By his wife, 
Agnes Fletcher, he had four sons and one daughter. 

Two interesting monuments still exist in the Howff of Dundee, erected by Alexander 
Milne in memory of his father and iiis brother, who are supjaosed to have both fallen during the 
Siege of Dundee, in 1651. The inscriptions upon these are as follows: — 

" Pa/ri iiptimo, Alexandro Milne, saipius in liac urhe prcdura cunt 
laude, defundo tandem arma wiatis suw OS. Ami. Dom. 1651. 
Vita fimdo, monumentum hoc Magister Alexander Milne, filiiis, eriijcndum 
curavit. 

Relligio, nicci mores, prudentia, candor. 

In Milno radiis enituere suis : 
Conside quo, felix respuhlira ; judlco, felix 
Curia, ^- mdili res sacra sem2}er erit." 



178 MAGISTER ALEX. MILNE — MAGISTER ROBERT EDWARD. 

[To the best of fathers, Alexander Milxe, often Bailie in this Burgh with praise, who died in his 
€8th year, a.d. 1651. His life being accomplished, his son ^lagister Alexander INIilne, caused this 
monument to be erected. 

The rays of religion, spotless manners, prudence and candour shone forth in Milne. Happy the 
Republic which had such a Consul ; happy the Court which had such a Judge. Therefore to the .^Edile 
(the keeper of i)ublic monuments) this shall ever be a sacred thing.] 



" diariss. fratri TJwm.ce Milne in vrbe hac proinignabat 
vita cum decore funcio. Ann. Dom. 1651, cetat. sues 22. 
Monumentmn hoc posidt Magister Ali'.r. Milne, Pastor Forgonensix. 

Longain fama dahit vitarii quam fata 
Negahant, nee moriter cvi contigit appetere." 

[To his dearest brother, Thomas Milne, who lost his life duly fighting in defence of this Burgh, 
A.D. 1651, in the 22nd year of his age, this monument has been raised by Magister Alex. ]\Iilne, Pastor 
of Forgan. 

Fame shall give the long life which the Fates have denied ; nor is it death thus to be snatched hence.] 

In the Register of Baptisms for Dundee the following entry occurs : — 

" 1663, Feb. 3. — John, son of M^ Alex. Mihie, minister of Dundee and Agnes Fletcher bapt. God- 
fathers : Sir John Fletcher, Lord Advocate, John Scrimseour of Kirkton & 0!?-" (in all fourteen godfathers 
bearing the name of John). 

The name of the Rev. Robert Edward, minister of Murroes Parish, is well Icnown in connec- 
tion with his Latin Description of the County of Angus, written to accompany a map of the 
locality engraved in Holland in 1G78. He was the son of ALEXANDER Edward, a Burgess of 
Dundee ; was born in the Burgh circa 1620 ; and was presented to the Kirk of Murroes early 
in 1656, by Patrick, Earl of Panmtjre. He remained in this charge till the Revolution of 1688, 
but seems then to have been deprived, and to have removed to Edinburgh, where he died on 23rd 
March, 1696. His son Charles, who took his degree of Master of Arts at St Andrews University 
in 1G79, was appointed colleague to his father in 16S4, but was either ousted by the Presbyterian 
party or abandoned the charge four years afterwards. The elder son of the Rev. Robert Edward 
also had the degree of M.A. from St Leonard's College, St Andrews, in 1670, and was presented 
to the church of Kemback, in Fife. He also was deprived for refusing to pray for King William 
and Mary, and had to fly to Edinburgh, as his life was threatened. 

A very peculiar monument, erected by the Rev. Robert Edward, in memory of his father and 
two of his children, may still be seen in the Kirkyard of Murroes. In the upjjer part the Angel 
of the Resurrection is shown blowing the last trumpet, whilst in the base the dead are carved in 
relief, rising in various stages from their graves. Around the surface of the stone are three 
inscriptions, — a quotation from Isaiah xxvi. 19, in Hebrew characters, with the Latin version: 
■" Awake and sing, ye that dwell in dust ;" and also the phrase from 1 Cor. xv. 52, in Greek 



MAGISTER DAVID FERGUSONE. 17& 

characters, " For the trumpet shull sluukI and the dead shall arise." The centre of the tombstone 
Ls thus inscribed : — 

'M E ■ 

Alexcmder Edrardus, Civis Deldonanis 

Qui ohiil 22 Mali. Ann. Dom. 1655 Aetatis an • 67. 

Neptesqua hltuc Maijdalcna Edvarda 

Qiiir vita; mcn>ie J/. '." Ann. Dom. 1656 

Et Maiihn Edvardii quw vitm mense 

Ibidem 4'." Ann. Dom. 1600, ohiere 

Hie lunnantvi-r 

[Alexander Edward, citizen of DuuJee, who died 22ud May, a.d. 1655, in the 67th year of his age. 
Two grand-daughters^MAGDALEN Edward, in the 4th month of her life, a.d. 1656, and Martha Edward, 
also in the 4th month of her life, a.d. 1660, are buried hero.] 



1G63. December 10th. 

At Dundee, the quhilk day Magister DAVID FERGUSONE was admitted 
A Burgess by his Father's Privileges. 

Magister David Ferguson was the great-grandson of the famous David Ferguson, Minister 
of Dunfermline, to whose admission as a Burgess reference has already been made {vide page 76). 
His grandfather, Dr Wiij.iam Ferguson, was also a Burgess, and from the present entry it 
appears that the name of his fither was also on the Roll. This succession of Burgesses carries 
back the connection of the family with Dundee for over one hundred and fifty years. David 
Ferguson studied at St Andrews University, and took his degree there in 1648. He was 
introduced as Minister of Strathmartine iu April, 1664, and remained in this charge till his death, 
in July, 1696. On 20th December, 1695, he executed a Deed of Mortification, assigning 6,000 
merks " for the use, maintenance, and education of two jjoor male children, not under the age of 
nine years at their admission, nor above the age of fourteen years while they are at school." The 
conditions of this benefaction are that the recipients are " to be of my own surname, and nearest 
of blood to me ; (juhilk failing, any other two male children of my nearest relations ; quhilk 
failing, any other two poor male cliildren, begotten of good and honest parents, in aruo lawful 
marriage." These children were to be " maintained, educated, and brought up in the Grammar 
School of Dundee, and to be lodged and boarded with one of the surname of Ferguson, in case 
there be any can do the same ; and to furnish the said children with sufficient clothes and 
necessaries for their bodies, head, and feet — their coats being always of a grey colour, lined, with 
blue sleeves." The patrons had power to send such children as showed aptitude for learning to 
S. Leonard's College, St Andrews, for four years ; or, if they inclined to be tradesmen, to apprentice 



180 ALEXANDER WEDDERBURN. 

them to learn some trade, paying their apprentice fees out of tliu proceeds of the fund. By an 
express stipulation, the patrons are empowered " to deprive and exclude from this Mortification 
such as are children of thieves, night walkers, breakers of yards, drunkards, whoremasters, 
swearers, liars, or otherwise scandalous in their lives ;" and it is provided " that both of them own 
the Protestant religion." The funds of this Mortification at present amount to over £4,000, and 
are now administered under a scheme fixed by judicial authority. 



1665. May 15th. 
QuHiLK DAY ALEXANDER WEDDERBUKN, Younger of Kingany, was 

ADMITTED BuRGESS AND GuiLD BROTHER BY HIS FatHER's PRIVILEGES. 

Alexander Wedderburn was the son of the third Baron of Kingennie, and of Elizabeth 
Ramsay, niece of the Laird of Murie. His grandfather was Town-Clerk of Dundee, and that 
office would have been bestowed upon his father had he been of sufficient age when the grand- 
father died ; but it was then granted to James Wedderburn, his father's cousin, from whom the 
Wedderburns of Blackness derive their descent. 

Alexander Wedderburn, senior of Kingennie, was for a long period a very eminent civic 
official, having been a Bailie for several years, and Provost for more than one term. He also 
represented the Burgh of Dundee in the first Parliament held after the Restoration (1661-3), and 
survived till 1683. He was buried in the Howff of Dundee, where the dilapidated remains of the 
monument of this branch of the family may still be examined (No. 725). In Thomson's MS. 
Biiok of the Hotvff the following is given as the inscription decipherable in 1838 : — 

" Gonditiir hoc tum.ulo Alexander Wedderhurn, dominiis 
de Easter Pouri'e, famUice sua: princeps, nuperriinr 
huic vrbi prcefedus ejusdem, ad Parliamenium prinium 
Siqn'emi Domini Nostri Regis Caroli 2 do. delcijatus. 
Ohiit 9 die Aprilis Anno Domini 1683, cetatis US. 



Hie efiaiii cunquiescuiit ossa Elizahefha' Ramsui) illius 
priwi amofis uxoris, fiUce unira; Joannes Ramsay, 
fratris Domini de Muric., hujusque urhis olim pncforis, 
qum ohiit 2 die mensis Aprilis 16^3, cetatis 22." 

[Under tlii.s tomb lies Alexander Wedderburn, Laird of Eastur I'ourio, Chief of liis race, lately 
Provost in this Burgh, and Delegate from it to the first Parliament of our Sovereign Lord, King Charles II. 
He died 9th April, 1683, aged 68. 

Here also rest the bones of Elizabeth Kamsay, tlie wife of his first love, only daughter of John 
Eamsay, brother to the Laird of Murie, formerly Bailie of this Burgh, who died 2nd April, 1643, aged 22.] 



WILLIAM OLIPHANT. 181 

Tlic following note by TiKiMSON describes the tomb as it was fifty years ago : — 

" This has been a splendid tomb, and worthy of tlie ancient and honourable family whuse Chief was 
laid under it ; but at present the upper surface is much decayed, being formed of Balgay stone, and rests 
upon several clumsy stones by way of pillars, instead of the original finely executed work, a specimen of 
which — one of the ends — remains still beside it, which was dug up in 1834. This specimen consists of a 
much-injured figure of Death endeavouring to extinguish a candle which represents human life, while 
Time is arresting his hand. The design is taken from one of the hieroglyphics at the end of Quarles' 
Book of Emhlpms, but the execution of the stone is far superior to the plate. On the latter the words 
Tnnpvs erat — a time will come — arc placed on an escroll, instead of which on the former there is " anv 
(quwinfrd time," which is the only deviation, saving the superior workmanshiji, from the original design. 
The monument, according to the family archives, was originally erected in the year 1G26, over the remains <:)f 
Alexander AVedderburn of Kingennio and his wife Helen Kajisay, daughter of Mv Eamsay of Braeh- 
mont ; and when their grandson, Provost Alexander "^^'EDDERBURX of Kingennie and Easter Pourie died 
in 1683, lie and his wife Elizabeth Eamsay being both interred under it, the original inscription was 
obliterated to make way for the present one, which is nearly eifaced also. The arms sculptured on the 
upper surface were allowed to remain, as the surnames of the gentlemen and their respective ladies were 
the .same." 

Alexander Wedderburn, junior, whose name is entered here on the Burgess-Roll, 
succeeded his father as fourth Baron of Kingennie. He was married to Grizel, daughter of 
Sir Alexander Wedderburn of Blackness, Town-Clerk of Dundee, and had a son, Alexander, 
who carried on the line of the family. 



16G7. January 28th. 

QuHiLK DAY WILLIAM (3LIPHANT, Mariner, was admitted Burgess and 
Guild Brother, gratis, the same bein promist to him at his going to 
His Maiestie's Service and Expedition against the Dutch. 

This entry is of historical value, as showing in a very special manner how ardently the recruit- 
ing of the navy was conducted by the adherents of the Royalists at this period. The first Dutch 
War was begun by Charles II. in 1664, more under the compulsion of his subjects than from 
any patriotic feelings in the breast of the KiNG. The Dutch formed then the only commercial 
nation that threatened to rival Great Britain, and the war was begun by both parties merely as a 
pretext for the extirpation of either of the two countries. It was terminated ingloriously for the 
British by the Treaty of Breda in 1G67, after the Dutch had sailed up the Medway and captured 
several vessels, and had even blockaded the Thames and threatened Loudon with famine. 
William Oliphant had apparently been induced to accompany the British Fleet to Holland 
under the promise of a free admission to the Guildry, and that promi.se was fulfilled upon his 
return. No similar entry occurs throughout the whole of the Burgess-Roll. 



182 JOHN, ERLE OF ROTHES, ETC. 



1668. May 2.Srd. 
At Dundee, quhilk day the haill persons undernamit were entered, 

SWORN, AND ADMITTED BuRGESSES AND BrETHER OF THE SAID BuRGH, 

GRATIS, VIZ. : — JOHN, ERLE of ROTHES, Lord High Chancellor of 
Scotland ; JAMES, ERLE of AIRLY ; CHARLES, EARL of ABOYNE; 
DAVID. LORD OGILVY ; SIR JAMES CARNEGIE of Balnamone. 

John Leslie, sixth Earl and first Duke of Rothes, was the son of the fifth Earl of 
Rothes and of Lady Anne Erskine, daughter of John, Earl of Mar {vide page 69). He was 
born in 1630, and succeeded to the title on the death of his father, in August, 1641. When only 
eighteen years of age he was contracted in marriage to a daughter of the Earl of Craufurd, 
and silent the early portion of his wedded life in his father-in-law's Castle of Struthcrs, in Fife. 
The fifth Earl had been an ardent Presbyterian and opponent of Charles I. until almost the close 
of his life, but a few months before his death he had been gained over to the King's party, and 
his son, the sixth Earl, continued to support the Royalists throughout his career. He officiated 
at the Coronation of Charles II. at Scone, at which ceremony he carried the Sword of State ; 
and was ajopointed Colonel of one of the Fife regiments raised for the Royal service in 16-51. He 
accompanied the Kino from Stii'ling when the army set forth upon the fatal expedition to 
England, and was taken prisoner with many other Scottish nobles at the Battle of Worcester, on 
3rd September, 1651, and sent as a prisoner to the Tower of London. There he remained in close 
confinement for three years, being afterwards transferred to Newcastle, and occasionally allowed 
hi.s libert}' on parole. At length, in July 1655, he was liberated through the intervention of the 
Countess of Dysart, whose influence with the Protector Cromwell was very great, and he 
returned to Leslie House to await the course of events. The clemency of Crojiwell did not 
wean him from his adherence to the Royalist cause, and in 1658 he was committed to the Castle 
of Edinburgh, on the pretence that he had proposed engaging in a duel with Viscount Howard. 
All his estates wore confiscated in this year, and though he was set at liberty, he was forced to 
find security that he would not harm the Commonwealth, but submit himself to General Monk, 
who was then Commander of the Forces in Scotland. Shortly afterwards he joined Charles II. 
at Breda, and remained in close company with that Monarch tnitil the Restoration. 

When the King was once more securely seated upon the throne of his ancestors, the Earl of 
Rothes naturally expected some reward for the sufferings he had endured in support of the 
Royalists, and he was not disappointed. His contemporary, BiSHOP BuRNET, thus describes him 
at this period : — 

" lie had the merit of a long imprisonment to recommend him ; he liad a ready dexterity in the 
management of aftah's, with a soft and insinuating address ; he had a quick appreliensioii. witli a clear 
judgment; he had no advantage of education, no sort of literature, nor had he travelled abroad; — all in 
liim was mere nature." 



JOHN, ERLE OF ROTHES, ETC. 183 

Despite the disadvantages here enumerated, the Earl ok Rothes rose to the foremost phice 
amongst Scottish politicians. His career, for the most part, lias been traced by unfriendly hands 
and though he has been denounced as a sybarite, given over to every form of folly and frivolity, 
this statement must be accepted with caution. No one absolutely bereft of principle could for so 
long a time have held a high position as he did at the Court of Charles II. ; nor could he have 
kept his place had he not been endowed with exceptional abilities. The various stages in his 
career may be accurately discovered froui the documents relating to him which are preserved 
at Leslie House, and as these have not hitherto been utilized for this purpose, the following 
account of them may be useful to the future historian of this remarkable character. 

The conversion of the father of the DuKE OF RoTHES to the Royalist side took place, as has 
been said, but a few months before his death, and there was thus no time either to reward his 
decision or to confirm his adhereoce. His son was a mere infant at this period, but it was 
important that he should be secured on the side of the Kixo. The method adopted is shown by 
one of the documents referred to. It is a " Letter of Gift, under the Privy Seal, by KiNG 
Charles I., and directed to the Treasurer-Principal, and Deputy, and Commissioners of 
the Exchequer, bearing that His Majesty, remembering the true service in many ways done to 
His Majesty and the country by the deceased John, Earl of Rothes, who died before any 
particidar remuneration could be conferred therefor, whereof His Majesty, not being unmindful, 
but being graciously pleased to remember his Royal intention and promise made to the said 
deceased Earl of Rothes, and to the performing of the same really in favour of John, Earl of 
Rothes, his son, who was a pujiil succeeding to him, therefore, and for other weighty considera- 
tions, His Majesty gave to the said John, Earl of Rothes, and his heirs, a yearly pension of 
ten thousand pounds Scots. Dated at Holyrood House, 23rd September, 1641." 

On the 29th of May, 16G0, Charles II. was placed on the throne, and three months afterwards 
he Issued a Commission nominating " John, Earl of Rothes, to exercise the office of Pi-esident 
of the Privy Council, with all the privileges, profits, and dignities belonging to the same, during 
His Majesty's pleasure. Dated at Whitehall, the 30th of August, 1G60." The royal bounty was 
not confined to the bestowal of ofiices merely, for on the day of the issue of this Commission the 
King granted a Letter of Gift and Pension to the Earl, declaring that " His Majesty, taking into 
his royal consideration the many good and faithful services done to him by his right trusty and 
well-beloved counsellor, John, Earl of Rothes, how gallantly he served in His Majesty's armies, 
and how constantly he suffered for his loyalty ; therefore His Majesty granted to the said Earl 
for all the days of his life, in lieu of the former pension of ten thousand f)ounds Scots, a yearly 
pension of one thou.sand pounds sterling." 

In the succeeding June the Earl was made an Extraordinary Lord of Session, and after the 
downfall of the Earl of Middleton (vide page 158), he was appointed (29th May, 1668) 
Commissioner to Parliament in the following terms : — " Seeing that, by many great tokens. His 
Majesty had found the great love, exalted virtue, and undaunted fliith, John, Earl of Rothes, 
Lord Leslie and Balinbreich, President of the Privy Council, did bear to His Majesty, and 
with what truth and constancy he always adhered to His Majesty (for which he was long 
imprisoned and endured a great many hardships) ; therefore His Majesty granted full power and 
commission to the said JoHN, Earl of Rothes, to represent His Majesty's royal person and 



1,S4. JOHN, ERLE OF ROTHES, ETC. 



an 



thority in the next session of Parliament, and in all other Conventions thereof; and in all 
these to do every thuig touching the profit and advantage of the Church, the peace thereof, and 
government of this ancient Kingdom, both in Church and State (as now by law established)." 

From the fact of the appointment of Lord Rothes to succeed Lord Middleton, it may be 
understood that the former was the close companion and confidant of the l^UKE of Lauderdale, 
who had then risen to the highest place in the counsels of the King ; and the Earl of Rothes 
doubtless owed much of his preferment — ajxirt from his own abilities — to the fact that he was the 
chosen favourite of the DuKE. The office of Commissioner to Parliament was repeatedly renewed 
to him in 1664-5-G, and he luul literally, as BuRNET declares, " the whole power of Scotland put 
in his hands," though the BiSHOr adds, " it was a very extravagant thing to see one man 
possess so many of the chief places of so poor a kingdom." 

His father-in-law, the Earl of Craufurd, had provoked the resentment of the King by 
refusing to abiure the Covenant, and pressure was brought to bear upon him to cause him to 
resign his office of Lord High Treasurer, which he had administered faithfvdly for many years. 
Immediately upon the resignation of Craufurd, the King issued a diploma under the Great 
Seal, bearing that " His Majesty, reflecting how much it was necessary for his service, and the 
great business in his Kingdom of Scotland, that all the public offices, chiefly tlie most eminent, 
should be adorned with faithful, honest men ; and the office of Treasurer of Scotland being then 
vacant, and in His Majesty's gift by the voluntary demission of John, Earl of Craufurd and 
Lindsay, and calling to mind the great fidelity of John, Earl op Rothes, and his great gifts of 
mind for exercising and officiating in such a high station ; therefore His Majesty made him High 
Treasurer, Comptroller, and Collector of the new augmentations, with power to receive His 
Majesty's rents, customs, and casualties whatsoever, the excise, and all other things due to His 
Majesty and his Exchetpier." 

The power of the Earl of Rothes was still further augmented by his appointment under a 
special Patent, dated 25th November, 166G, as " General Commander of all the Scots Forces, and also 
of all the Castles and Fortresses in Scotland," because of his " noble faith and virtue." His last 
important j^romotion before his admission as a Burgess of Dundee was his installation as Lord 
Chancellor — the title under which he is designated in the Burgess-Roll. The Conunission under 
the Great Seal for this purpose is also preserved at Leslie House, and narrates that " His 
Majesty, reflecting that the high place and office of Chancellor of Scotland had been vacant ever 
since the death of William, Earl of Glencairn, the last Chancellor, and His Majesty's service 
necessarily requiring the said place and office, as being of the gi'eatest trust, to be supplied by a 
person of known virtue and noted fidelity ; and His Maje.sty, calling to mind the many great ser- 
vices done to him by his most trusty and dearly beloved counsellor, John, Earl of Rothes, High 
Commissioner of Scotland, as President of the Privy Council, afterwards Treasurer, and now as 
His Majesty's Commissioner, General of all the Forces, and Keeper of the Great Seal ; therefore 
His Majesty constituted the said Earl of Rothes His Majesty's High Chancellor of the 
Kingdom of Scotland, and that during all the days of his lifetime, commanding all His Majesty's 
subjects to acknowledge and reverence the said Earl of Rothes as High Chancellor. Dated at 
Whitehall, the 16th of April, 1667." 

The only other promotion which it is necessary to notice is his advancement to the Dukedom 



JOHN, ERLE OF ROTHES, ETC. 185 

of Rothes, the patent for which lionoiir is also preserved amongst the Rothes Muuiments at 
Leslie House, and is in these terms : — 

" His ]\rajesty, King Charles the Second, in testimony of his royal esteem of the merits of Jolni, Earl 
of Eotlies, Lord High Chancellor of Scotland, ami of his integrity, endowments of mind, sufferings and 
services, constituted and created the said John, Earl of Rothes, Duke of liothes, Manjuess of ISamhreich, 
Earl of Leslie, Viscount of Lugtoun, and Lord Auchmoutye, and Caskieberrie, giving and confirming to the 
said Earl of Rothes and his heirs male the title, degree, honour, and dignity of a Duke. Dated at Windsor 
Castle, •29th May, 1680." 

The Duke of Rothes did not long survive to enjo}- this last accession of dignity, as he died 
at the Abbey of Holjrood, on 27th July, 1681, in the fifty-first year of his age. " His body being 
privately carried up to the Cathedral of S. Giles, was convej'cd, with the greatest magnificence 
that could be devised, to Holyrood House, where it was deposited for some time, and from thence, 
with the same funeral pomp, carried to Leith, and put on board a ship to be conveyed to Leslie." 
As the DuKE left no male issue, his titles as Duke of Rothes and Marquess of Ballinbreich 
became extinct; but as these had been granted with a special proviso that they should not 
prejudice the original title of Earl of Rothes, the latter dignity still survives. By his wife, 
Lady Anne Lindsay, he left two daughters, one of whom became Countess of Haddington 
by marriage, and was mother of the seventh Earl of Rothes, whilst the other married the third 
Marquess of Montrose, and was mother of the first Duke of Montrose. 

James Ogilvy, second Earl of Airlie, was the son of James, first Earl of Airlie, and of 
Lady Isabelle Hamilton, daughter of the Earl of Haddington, and was born circa 1615. 
His family had been connected with Dundee for centuries before his time, but the entry of his 
name at this period has a special historical significance. His father had been a most devoted 
adherent of the Royalists, even in their severest distress, and he had early been brought into 
enforced support of the cause of Charles I., as he was left in charge of the paternal Castles of 
Forther and Airlie whilst the first Earl was absent from Scotland. The first Earl of Airlie 
fled from his native laud to avoid compulsory subscription of the Covenant, leaving his two 
principal castles in the custody of his eldest son. The Estates of Parliament, then dominated by 
the Presbyterian party, instructed the Earls of Montrose and Kinghorne to take possession 
of these fortresses. The Earl of Montrose (afterwards famous as the first MARQUESS OF 
Montrose) was inclined to deal leniently with the Ogilvies, and he left the young Lord 
Ogilvy unmolested. But his tenderness was not appreciated by the Covenanters, and shortly 
afterwards a Commission of Fii-e and Sword, dated 12th June, 1640, was granted to the Earl OF 
Argyll (vide page 121), empowering him to subdue the Earl of Athol, the Lord Ogilvy, and 
other rebels, and " to persew tliame and euery ane of thame, in all hostile maner, with fyre and 
.sworde, ay and quhill [until] he bring thame ather to thair boundin dewties, and give assurance 
for the samen, be pledges or vtherwayes, or else to the utter subdueing and rooting thame out of 
the countrie." The Earl of Argyll was not so fastidious in his actions, nor so lukewarm in his 
adherence to the Covenant, as Montrose had been; and he marched at the head of an over- 
powering army of five thousand men to Angus, and besieged the Castles of Airlie and Forther. 
The memory of his action in this matter still survives, though poetically over-coloured, in the 
ballad of" The Bonnie House of Airlie." The young Lord Ogilvy, whose name is here entered, 



ISfi JOHN, ERLE OF ROTHES, ETC. 

refused to deliver up Airlie Castle to the assailants, und Argyll was compelled to invest it. 
Whilst the army laj- in front of the Castle, Lord Ogilvy managed to convey his mother and her 
young family secretly to Forther, leaving the besieged Castle of Airlie undefended. When 
Argyll discovered that he had been losing time over a fruitless victory, and that he had been 
outwitted by a mere stripling, his irritation was extreme, and he gave orders for the total 
destruction of the Castle. If the contemporary account of this incident given by Cordon of 
Rothiemay can be accepted, the Earl led the work of demolition in person, and " was so 
extremely earnest that he was seen taking a hammer in his hands and knocking down the hewed 
work of the doors and windows, till he did sweat for heat at his work." A rumour reached him 
that the young Li>RD Ogilvy had funn<l refuge with his kinsman, 8lR John Ogilvy of Inner- 
quharit}^ and he took measures to apprehend him there. The following letter addi-essed by 
Argyll to the Laird of Innerquhauity is still preserved amongst the family archives at 
Baldovan House : — 

" Loveing Freynd, — Sen your parteing frome this I have gottine certaine informatiomu; that my Lord 
Ogilvie i>! this niLjht in your house. For the which cause I could doo no les.s tlian direct a coiupanie to ly 
about your house till it bo searched, wherat I entreat you to tak no exceptiounes for I doo nowayes doubt 
you. Onlie I will give you this warning, that if ye press to conceall my Lord Ogilvie in your hnus at this 
tyme it will be moir to your jireiudice than ye ar awar off, and so I hope ye wil be wyise. The gentleman 
that is commander of this company is Colinc Campbell, Cawdor's sonne. So referring this to your 
cousideratioune, I rest your affetionat freynd, 

ARGYLL. 

From my Camp at Airlie, 7 July, 1640, 

for my loveing freynd, tlie Laird of Inu('r({uliarity." 

Finding that he could obtain no clue to the hiding-place of LoRD Ogilvy and his mother, 
Argyll was compelled to abandon the search, and direct his army to the seat of Athol and his 
associates. He left the task of destroying Forther Castle to his kinsman, Dugald Campbell of 
Inverawe, and his original letter of instructions is still in existence at Inverawe. As it proves 
the vindictiveness with which Argyll j^ursued the Ogilvies, it may be quoted here : — • 

" Dowgall, — I mynd, God willing, to lift from this the morrow, and therefor ye shall meitt me the 
morrow at niclit at Stronarnot in Strathardill, and caus bring alonges with you the hail nolt and shiep 
that ye have foundine perteining to my Lord Ogilbie. As for the horses and niearis that ye have gottine 
perteining to him. Ye shall not faill to direct thame home to the Straneraoor. I desyre not that they be 
in our way at all, and to send thame the neirest way home. And albeit ye shoidde be the langer in 
foUowoing me, yeit ye shall not faill to stay and demolishe my Lord Ogilbie's hous of Forthar. Sio how 
ye can cast off the irone yeattis and windowis, and tak doun the rouff, and iff ye find it will be langsome, 
ye shall fyre it weill that so it may be destroyed. Bot you neid not to latt know that ye have directions 
frorae mo to fyir it, onlie ye may say that ye have warrand to demolishe it, and that to mak the work 
short ye will fyir it. Iff ye mak any stay for doeing of this, send firdwart the goodis. So, referring this 
to your cair, I rest 

Your freynd ARGYLL. 

" P.S. — Ye shall lieawe fur your pains of that beis send hame. You shall dolyver bak to Rob Grower 
such of his goods as ar not sufficient for present use, and thir presents .shall be your warrand. 

ARGYLL. 

For Dowgall Campbell of Livcrawe." 



JOHX, ERLE OF RdTHES, ETC. 187 

When DuGALD Campbell attacked Forther Castle Lord Ogilvy was still within its walls, 
but finding that he could not hopefully maintain resistance to the force brought against him, he 
again managed to escape from his oppressors, and to join his father, the Earl of Airlie, in 
England. Shortly afterward.?, when Montrose abandoned the Covenanters, Lord Ogilvy met 
with him, and they waited on the King at O.Kford, in 1G43, to offer their services. He was 
present at the Battle of Marston-Moor, and was despatched to Scotland in command of some of 
Prince Rupert's men after that engagement. Whilst on the way, he was captured by a 
skirmishing part\' of the Parliamentarian army, and sent prisoner to the Tolbooth of Edinbiu'gh 
in 1644. Here he remained in confinement till he was released by Montrose after the battle of 
Kilsyth, in August, 1645. He had the command of some of the Royalist troops at Philiphaugh 
(13th September, 1645), and was captured after the battle as he was escaping from the field. 
He was can-led prisoner to Glasgow and thence to St Andrews, and was condemned to death by 
the Parliament which met there in November, 1645. Through the intrepidity of his sister. 
Lady Helen Ogilvy, he escaped from St Andrews Castle the night before his execution was to 
have taken place, she having exchanged clothes with him and remained in prison whilst he 
passed out disguised. After suffering severely in the Royalist cause, he was at last induced to 
submit to General Leslie, in 1649, under guarantee that his life, estate, and liberty would not 
be endangered ; and soon afterwards he was relieved from the pressure of the Acts that had been 
made against him. He was appointed to the command of a troop of horse at the Restoration, 
and was sworn a Privy Councillor. From a paper preserved amongst the family documents at 
Cortachy Castle, it appears that at this time he endeavoured to obtain compensation for the 
destruction of the Castles of Airlie and Forther by the Earl of Argyll, but his ajiplication was 
unsuccessful. He lived to see Kino William III. firmly established on the throne, and was a 
Member of the Scottish Parliament which met in 1693, though he was excused from attendance 
in consequence of iiis great age and infirmity. His death took place shortly after this date. 

The Earl was twice married, firstly to Helen, daughter of George, first Lord Banff, by 
whom he had one son and three daughters. Lady Marion, the oldest daughter, being the wife 
of James, Lord Coupar, referred to on page 129. The Earl's second wife was Isobel, 
widow of Lewis, third Marquess of Huntly. 

Charles Gordon, first Earl of Aboyne, was the fourth son of George, second Marquess 
OF Hltntly', and grandson of the first Marquess of Huntly, who was admitted a Burgess of 
Dundee on 24th April, 1601 (vide page 89). His mother was Lady Anne Campbell, sister of 
the fir.st Marquess of Argyll (vkle page 121), and he was born circa 1620. He is described 
as " a man of great honour and loyalty, who adhered firmly to the interest of Charles L and 
Charles II. during the Civil Wars, often exerting himself in their service, on which account 
he suffered many hardships." His faithfulness was recognized at the Restoration, and he was 
raised to the Peerage by patent, dated 10th September, 1660, with the titles of Earl of Aboyne 
and Lord Gordon of Strathavon and Glenlivet. He died in March, 1681, leaving three 
sons and one daughter by his wife, Lady' Elizabeth Lyon, daughter of John, second Earl of 
Kinghorne (vide page 117). 

David, Lord Ogilvy, was the only son of James, Earl of Airlie, who was admitted as a 
Burgess on the same day as himself He succeeded as third Earl OF Airlie on the death of his 



188 ROBERT SIBBALD — JOHN BEATIE. 

father, and was served heir to him in 1704. He was niarried to Lady Grizel Lyon, daughter of 
Patrick, third Earl of Kinghorne and first Earl of Strathmore, who was made Burgess of 
Dundee on 19th July, 1660 {vide page 16-1). The Earl of Airlie died in I7l7. As his eldest 
son, James, Lord Ogilvy', had been concerned in the Rebellion of 1715, the title was attainted 
when the latter should have succeeded to it ; but Lord Ogilvy obtained pardon and remission 
in 1725, and his younger brother became fourth Earl of Airlie in 1731. 

Sir James Carnegie of Balnamoon was the grandson of Sir Alexander, youngest brother of 
David, first Earl of Southesk (vide page 105). He was the son of Sir John Carnegie of 
Balnamoon and of Lady Elizabeth Ogilvy, sister of the second Earl of Airlie, whose name 
appears beside his own on the Burgess-Roll. He succeeded to the estate in 1662, and died on 
25th April, 1700. 



1670. May 3rd. 

At Dundee, quhilk day EGBERT SIBBALD and JOHN BEATIE, his 
Servant, were received and admitted Burgesses and Guild- 
Brethren OF this Burgh, gratis. 

The name of Sir Robert Sibbald of Kipps is memorable, both because of his eminence in 
his own profession as a Phy.sician and for the great service which he rendered to the country by 
his numerous literary works. Several biographies of him have been published, but they are all 
incomplete in points of vital importance. The following sketch is founded principally upon the 
manuscrij^t Autobiography that he wrote in 1695, and which is now in the Advocates' Library, 
Edinburgh, amongst the valuable documents that were acquired by the Faculty of Advocates 
at the sale of his collection in 1723. This Autobiography was formerly in the possession of 
James Boswell of Auchinleck, who contemplated publishing it ; but it lay in manuscript imtil 
James Maidment included it in the first volume of his Analeda Scotica. It is of special 
interest as recording a striking incident in the Siege of Dundee by General Monk, in 1651, at 
which time SiR Robert was resident in the Burgh. 

Sir Robert Sibbald was born in Edinburgh, on 15th April, 1641, being the fifth child of his 
parents. 

" My father," he writes, " was Mr David Sibbald, third brother to Sir James Sibbald, 
Knight, Baronet of Rankillor, and Keeper of the Great Seal under the Earle of Kinoul while 
he was Chancelor, after which he lived privately upon his own fortune. He was a man of a mild 
spirit, very civill and kynd to his relations and acquaintences. He dyed the year 1660, and was 
buried at Edinburgh. . . . He was 71 years old." Sir Robert's mother was Margaret 
Boyd, daughter of Mr Robert Boyd of Kipps, Advocate, and he describes her as " a vertuous and 
pious matron of great sagacity and firmnesse of mynde, and very carcfull of my education." His 



ROBERT SIBBALD — JOHN BEATIE. 189 

taste for literature was apparent at a very early age, for he quaiutly relates that " while I wa.s a 
child in my nurse's arms my grandfather did observe my inclination for letters, for when I cryed 
and weejjt upon any occasion, I stilled upon the giving me the Psalms of BrciiANAN he keept in 
his pocket." He began his studies at the Grammar School of Cupar in 1650, but the turmoil 
caused by the invasion of Scotland by Cromwell forced his family to take refuge in Dundee. 

" The following yeer," he writes, " my parents removed me with them to Dundee, wher we 
were when the towue was taken by storme. My father was hurt with a strock given him by a 
footman with a carabin. We were all plundered, and lost in Jewells, silverwork, and money, and 
all the furniture of the house to a great value. We sold some meal to gett a pass and to pay 
forre our transportation wher I went on foot from the Ferrj' to Cowper, there not being enough 
of money to purchase a horse for me. 

"In the time the Inglishes were storming the town there was a battery erected by them, from 
which they fyred canon and muskets into the High Street from the Banet-raw, opposite to the 
Morow-gate. The townsmen had putt up a .sconce of dealls in the middle of the streat. My 
sister, deals, a child then of eight years of age, had passed somewhat higher than the sconce, and 
was exposed to ther view. I ran after her to bring her back, and they lyred at us in the return- 
ing ; the ball missed us, and battered upon the street. I took it up and brought it with me." 

His academical course was continued at the High School of Edinburgh and completed at the 
University there, whilst Robert Leighton, afterwards Bishop of Dunblane and Archbishop of 
Glasgow, was Principal. Under the tuition of this saintly prelate Sibbald made great advances 
in his studies, and confesses that he was influenced in the direction of " a serious and good lyfe" 
by the advice of the Principal. 

" I shunned the playes and divertisements the other students followed," he writes, " and read 
much in my study, for which my fellowes gave me the name of Diogenes in dollo." 

Like many other Scottish matrons, Margaret Sibbald wished to devote her son to the 
Church ; but the dissensions amongst the numerous sects at the time gave him " ane disgust of 
them." His opinion of the religious questions of the day is put tersely and truthfully : — 

" I saw noil could outer to the ministerie without ingadgiug in some of those factions, <and espousing 
their interests. . . . Upon this consideration I fixed upon the studio of medicine, wliorein I thought 
I might be of no faction, and might bo usefull in my generation, if not here, elsewhere. Upon which con- 
sideration I re.solved to goe abroad to prosecute that studie, and see the world, ami know men." 

In March, 1660, Sibbald embarked in a Dutch frigate, and went to Holland, where he studied 
at Leyden for a year and a half under several of the most famous Professors of his time. Having 
completed his course at Leyden, he went on a tour throtigh the Continent, remaining at Paris for 
nine months. His studies here were principally directed towards botany, clinical surgery, and 
anat(jmy, and shortly afterwards he obtained his degree as Doctor of Medicine at Angiers. 
Thence he returned by London to Edinburgh, where he arrived at the end of October, 1662. 

During his absence on the Continent, his father had died deeply involved in debt in con- 
sequence of his losses at the Siege of Dundee, and young SiBBALD devoted himself with intense 
ardour to clearing off the liabilities of his parents. He applied himself with energy to the 
practice of Medicine, and soon gathered around him a large circle of patients. 



190 ROBERT SIBBALD — JOHN BEATIE. 

" The designe I proposed to myself," he writes, " was to passe quietly through the world, and 
content myself with a moderatf fortune, and I was a dozen of yeers after I came here before I 
resolved to marry." 

Whilst abroad prosecuting his studies, Sibbald had become acquainted with SiR Andrew 
Balfour, son of Sir Michael Balfour of Denmiln, in Fife, one of the most eminent Physicians 
of his time, and the acquaintance was renewed when SiR Andrew settled in Edinburgh. He 
and Sibbald projected and set out the first Botanic Garden in Scotland, having obtained a 
portion of the ground belonging to Trinity Hospital, in Edinburgh, for that purpose. The 
intention of the projectors was to make this garden a place for the rearing of foreign plants used 
in Medicine, and thus to direct the attention of the Faculty towards the study of Botany. 

After his Mother's death in 1G72, SiBBALD became the proprietor of the estate of Kipps and 
the Mill of Torphichcn, which had belonged to his maternal grandHither, and from which he 
took his territorial designation. Five years afterwards he was married to Anna Lowes of 
Merchistoun, and settled on the estate of Kipps. 

In his Autobiography, Sir Robert explains, with great amplitude, how he became acquainted 
with the Earl of Perth, and by what means that nobleman induced him to adopt the Roman 
Catholic faith. It is not necessary to detail the steps by which this conversion was effected. It 
is sufficient to state that he was blamed by the multitude for perverting the Earl himself, and 
only escaped assassination through the aid of John Graham of Claverhouse, ViscouNT of 
Dundee. 

The principal work accomplished by SiR Robert Sibbald was the establishment of the Royal 
College of Physicians and Surgeons in Edinburgh. For some time before its foundation, several 
of the most prominent physicians had been accustomed to meet regularly in the house of SiR 
Robert Sibbald. and they were ultimately formed into a College and constituted by Royal 
Patent, dated 30th November, 1681. In the following year Sir Robert was knighted by the 
Duke of York, then High Commissioner in Scotland, and was appointed Physician to Charles 
II. and Geographer of Scotland. The latter appointment was made in consequence of some steps 
which Sir Robert had taken to procure accurate information as to the topography and condition 
of Scotland, by sending a series of questions in the form of a circular to prominent persons — pre- 
cisely the method adopted by Sir John Sinclair a century afterwards when preparing his 
Statistical Account of Scotland. According to his own statement. Sir Robert Sibbald 
" employed John Adair for surveying, and did bestow much upon him, and payed a guinea for 
each double of the Mapps he made ;" but Adair afterwards repudiated this bargain, and Sir 
Robert was deprived by the Privy Council of any profit which might have arisen from this first 
complete map of Scotland. To Sir Robert do we owe the credit of producing the earliest 
intelligent account of the Kingdom of Scotland, which he called Scotia lUustrata, for the work 
that Timothy Pont and Sir John Scot of Scotstarvet had brought out before his time was very 
imperfect and inexact. Sibbald's History of the Sheriffdoms of Fife unci Kinross, published 
by him in 1710, is still referred to as an authority, and displays a wonderful amount of antiquarian 
research. 

The reputation which Sir Robert had won as a Physician led to his appointment, on 5th 
March, 168-5, as the first Professor of Medicine in the University of Edinburgh, at which time he 



JOHN LESLIE, LORD LENDORS— COLLONELL LESLIE — SIR JAMES MlQILL. 191 

was also President of the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons that had been founded mainly 
through his instrumentality. He eoutiuued actively engaged in literature until his death. His 
biographers only state the time of his death infercntially as taking place in 1722, because his 
books were sold in February of the following year. The exact date is shown by this announce- 
ment in the Caledonian Mercury for ISth August, 1722 : — 

" Last week Sir Kobert Sihbald of Kipp.?, M.D., Fellow of tlic Koyal Collegp nf Physicians, died 
liere, in the 83rd year of liis age. He was a person of great piety and learning, and author of many 
learned anil useful hooks, especially in Natural History." 

A portrait of Sir Robert Sibbald was presented to the Royal College of Physicians and 
Surgeons in 1744 by Lady Duntarvy, one of his daughters, and is still preserved in the Hall 
at Edinburgh, 



1670. September 22nd. 

At Dundee, quhilk day JOHN LESLIE, LORD LENDOES, OOLLONELL 
LESLIE, AND SIR JAMES M'^'GILL of Rankeillor, were all 

ADMITTED BuRGESSES OF THE SAID BuRGH, GRATIS. 

John Leslie, third Lord Lindores, was the nephew of Patrick, Lord Lindores, who was 
enrolled as a Burgess on 10th April, 1622 {vide page 124). He was the sou of James Leslie, 
second Lord Lindores, and of Mary, daughter of Patrick, seventh Lord Gray. He succeeded 
to the title on the death of his father in 1667, and survived till 1706. By his marriage with 
Lady Marion Ogilvy, daughter of the second Earl of Airlie {vide page 182) and relict of 
Lord Coupar {vide page 128), he had one son, David, who succeeded as fourth Lord Lindores. 

Colonel Ludovic Leslie was the fifth son of Sir Patrick Leslie of Pitcairlie, and the 
brother of the lii'st and second Lords Lindores. He accompanied his brother, the celebratetl 
General David Leslie, Lord Newark, to Sweden, and served with great distinction under 
Gustavus Adolphus in the German Wars. Returning to Scotland when the Civil war broke 
out, he took part with his brother in support of the Parliamentarians, and was appointed 
Governor of Berwick in 1648. The exact date of his death is not recorded. 

Sir James Macgill of Rankeilour was the great-great-grandson of the famous Sir James 
Macgill, Lord-Clerk-Register during the reign of QuEEN Mary, and one of the most active of 
her opponents. He succeeded to the estate on the death of his father, David Macgill, on 20th 
April, 1661, who is described as "being ane old man of 82 years." Sir James was married to 
Lady Janet Crichton, daughter of Viscount Frendraught, on 24th August, 166.5, and left 
one son, David, who succeeded him. His present representative is David Maitland Makgill- 
Crichton, Esq. of Rankeilour, who is also heir-of-line in general to James, first Viscount 
Frendraught. 



192 SIR HENRY BRUCE — DAVID BRUCE — SIR ALEXANDER BRUCE — PATRICK LYON. 



1671. January 3rd. 

At Dundee, quhilk day SIR HENRY BRUCE or Clackmannan and DAVID 
BRUCE OF Kennet were admitted Burgesses of the said Burgh, 
gratis. 

Sir Henry Bruce of Clackmannan was the son of Robert Bruce of Clackmannan, and of 
Margaret, daughter of Sir James Haliburton of Pitcur. He was knighted by Charles II., 
and obtained a charter under the Great Seal, dated 26th March, 1669, of the lands and barony of 
Clackmannan. By his first wife, Mary, daughter of SiR ALEXANDER ScHAW of Sauchie, he had 
three sons who were successively lairds of Clackmannan. No account of his second marriage is 
given by Douglas, but the following passage in Lamont's Diary not only j^rovcs that it took 
place, but also shows an additional link betwixt Sir Henry Bruce and the Burgh of Dundee: — 

" 1670, Oct. 13. — (.)ld Clackmannan Bruce maried the deceasset E^ of Dundio his Lady, Dalhowsie's 
dawghter, suruanied Ramsay, to liis second lady ; the mariage feast was att Euder-Kethen, at liir dweUing- 
liowse tlier." 

Sir Henry was Sheritf of Clackmannanshire, and represented that county in the Parliaments 
of 1661-3, 1667, and 1669-74. His name appears thus in the Dundee Register of Baptisms : — 

"1671, Sep. 13th. — Hendrie, son of Francis Guthrie, Bap* — Witnesses: Hcndrie, Bischop of 
Dunkeld, Sir liarie Guthrie of CuUestoun, Sir Hendrie Bruce of Clackmannan, Hendrie Scrimseor, Parson 
of Dundie, Hendrie Crawford of Seatoun, and O"'^-" 

He died before 1678, and was succeeded by his eldest son, David Bruce. The male line of 
Sir Henry Bruce is now extinct, his present representative being the Earl of Elgin and 
Kincardine. 

David Bruce of Kennet was the eldest son of Robert Bruce of Kennet and of Agnes 
Murray, daughter of the Laird of Perdowy. He was married to Marjory, daughter of David 
Young of Kirkton, county Fife, and left a numerous family. His present representative is 
Alexander Hugh Bruce, sixth Lord Balfour of Burleigh. 



1671. April 1st. 

At Dundee, quhilk day SIR ALEXANDER BRUCE of Broomhall and 
Magister PATRICK LYON, Advocate, were admitted Burgesses of 
THE SAID Burgh, gratis ; except the said Patrick Lyon, who was 
admitted Burgess of the said Burgh be vertue of his Father's 
privileges. 

Sir Alexander Bruce of Broomhall was the only son of Robert Bruce, Lord Broomhall 
of Session, who was admitted Burgess on 17th May, 1627 {vide page 137). He was Member for 
Culross in the Parliaments of 1661-3, 1669-74, 1678, and 1685-6, and for Sanquhar from 1692 



SIR ALEXANDER BRUCE — MAGISTER PATRICK LYON. 193 

till 1702. In 1693 he was appointed joint Receiver-General of Supply and Excise, and continued 
in this office for two years. •' When the Act for .securing the true Protestant Religion and 
Presbyterian Government was read a second time, 12th June, 1702, Sir Alexander having said 
that it contained things inconsistent with the essence of the Monarchy, he was thereupon called to 
the bar, and not giving satisfactitm, he was ordered to withdraw ; and the question being put — 
ExpcU him out of Parliament or not? it carried in the affii-mative nem. con., and a warrant was 
ordered to the Burgh of Sanquhar to elect a new Commissioner in his place" (Douglaa' 
Peerage, Wood's edition. Vol. I., p. 520). Long before this time Sir Alexander had shown 
himself an avowed opponent of Presbyterianism. The Burgh Records of Culross, under date 7th 
November, 1678, contain the fjllnwing suggestive entry: — 

" The saiil day Sir AlexV Bruce significil tn the town eouncil that he is informed that there are certain 
disorderly C(>n\'entiele meittiiigs in and about tlii.^ burgli and elsewhere, to which certan of tlicir burges.ses 
doeth repair ; and therfor desired the magistrates to advert to it, by their tymus procoiding against them, 
conform to the Act of Parliament ; the whicli advyce of his they find convenient, and accordingly thinks 
titt they l)e proceidit against nt -tiipni with all expeditione." (Bcvendge's Ctiliv.ss and Tuniallan, Vol. I., 
page Soo.) 

Writing in 1704, Mackay thus describes Sir Alexander Bruce in his Memoirn: — 

" He hath been in and out of the administration all the three reigns of King Charles, King James, 
and King William ; hath spent a va-;t deal of money, and is always poor ; hath a great deal of wit, and 
was [expelled] for a speech he made against presbytery, and yet hath been on all sides ; he hath now a 
pension from the Queen, and is a very blustering, bold man, of near 70 years ohl." 

When Alexander, third Earl oy Kincardine, died unmarried in November, 1705, a plea 
arose betwixt his sister. Lady Mary Cochrane, and Sir Alexander Bruce of Broomhall, with 
reference to the title, and was ultimately settled in the following year by the vote of the latter 
being received in Parliament as that of the fourth Earl of Kincardine. He survived long 
enough to protest against the Union of the Parliaments in 1707, but appears to have deceased 
shortly afterwards. 

He was married to Christian, daughter of Robert Bruce of Blairhall, and had four sons 
and hve daughters. Three of the sons were in succession the fifth, sixth, and seventh Earls of 
Kincardine. The present Earl of Elgin is the lineal descendant of Sir Alexander Bruce 
of Broomhall. 

Sir Patrick Lyon of Carse was the uncle of the first Earl of Strathmore. He was 
educated at St Andrews, and became Professor of Philosophy in the Old College there, but 
afterwards studied for the Law. He passed as Advocate on 11th July, 1671, and obtained the 
appointment of Admiral Depute. He was raised to the Bench as Lord of Session on 10th 
November, 1683, with the title of Lord Carse. Four months after he was made a Lord of 
Justiciary, and continued to sit until he was deprived of office at the Revolution in 1688. His 
principal literary work was a collection of pedigrees and genealogies of Scottish families, which is 
now preserved amongst the MSS. in the Advocates' Library, Edinburgh. There is a portrait of 
Lord Carse, painted in 1691, amongst the family portraits at Glamis Castle. Sir Patrick's 
son, Patrick Lyon, was retoured heir to him on 30th October, 169.5. 

2 A 



194 JOHN, LORD ELPHINSTONE — CHARLES, LORD HALTOIX. 



1671. May 8th. 

At Dundee, quhilk day JOHN, LORD ELPHINSTONE. and CHARLES, 
LORD HALTOUN, Treasurer-Depute, were admitted Burgesses of 
THE SAID Burgh, gratis. 

John, eisrhth Lord Elphinstone, was the son of Alexander, sixth Lord Elphinstone, and 
succeeded to the title on the death of his elder brother in May, 1669. His marriage with Lady 
Isabel Maitland, eldest daughter of Charles, Lord Halton, whose name is entered on the 
Roll with his own, brought him into close relationship with the Lauderdale family; and he was 
entrusted with the conducting of several of the important military movements in Scotland, both 
for the suppression of Presbyterianism in 1679, and for the counteracting of the DuKE OF 
Monmouth's Rebellion in 1685. Many of the letters and official documents addressed to him by 
the Duke of Lauderdale, the Duke of Rothes, the Earl of Dunbarton, and the Privy 
Council, are preserved at Carberry Tower amongst the family papers of his descendant, the 
present Lord Elphinstone. From these it appears that he held a commission as Captain in the 
army at Flanders, and returned to this country in 1696. He took his seat in Parliament on 14th 
May, 1703, and voted in sujjport of the Treaty of Union. His eldest son predeceased him, and 
he was succeeded by his second .son Charles, ninth Lord Elphinstone. 

Charles Maitland, Lord Halton of Session, and afterwards third Earl of Lauderdale, 
was the youngest son of John, first Earl of Lauderdale, and the younger brother and 
successor of the famous Ditke OF Lauderdale. By his marriage (18th November, 16.52) with 
Elizabeth, only daughter and heiress of Richard Lauder of Halton, in Midlothian, he became 
possessed of the valuable estate from which he took his designation. His first appointment after 
the Restoration was to the office of General and Master of the Mint ; and he was one of the 
members of the Privy Council admitted the year after Charles II. had regained the throne. On 
8th June, 1669, he was made an Ordinary Lord of Session with the title of Lord Halton ; and 
in February, 1671 — a few days before his enrolment as Burgess of Dundee — he was promoted to 
the post of Treasurer-Depute, by which office he is designated on the Roll. Whilst his brother, 
the Duke of Lauderdale, had control of Scottish affairs, he was associated with him in the 
government of the Kingdom, and seems to have been even more tyrannical and overbearing than the 
Duke himself His conduct in stifling debate was frequently complained of, and when the power 
of the Duke was overthromi. Lord Halton shared in his overthrow. In 1681 he was forbidden 
to preside in the Privy Council, and his accounts as Treasurer and Master of the Mint wore 
ordered to be investigated. The Commission appointed for this purpose was composed principally 
of his enemies, and in June, 1682, he was deprived of all his offices, and ordered to be tried for 
malversation. On 20th March, 1683, he was found guilty, and he and Sir John Falconer were 
found liable to the King in a penalty of £72,000 sterling. This sum was reduced by His 
Majesty to £20,000, and the culprits were directed to pay £16,000 to the Lord Chancellor, 
and £4,000 to John Graham of Claverhouse (Viscount Dundee). A dispute arose betwixt the 
Chancellor (the Earl of Aberdeen) and Claverhouse as to the division of this sum, but 



SIR .lAMES FOl'LIS — SIR .TOHX LOCKHART. 195 

ultimately the latter obtained the lauds of Dudhope and the Constabulary of Dundee, and was 
thus brought into a protracted contest with the Burgh {vide page 166). As the DuKE OK 
Lauderdale died witliout male issue on 24th August, 1G82, the higher title became extuict; but 
his brother, Lord Halton, succeeded to the Earldom of Lauderdale, and was re-admitted to the 
Privy Council in March, 1G86. He died on 9th June, 1691. By his wife he had a family of six- 
sons and two daughters. The two eldest sons succeeded as fotnth and fifth Earls of Lauder- 
dale ; and the one daughter was married to Lord Elphinstone, and the other to Charles, 
fourth Earl of Southesk. 



1G71. May 21st. 

At Dundee, quhilk day SIR JAMES FOQLIS of Collingtoun, and SIR 
JOHN LOCKHART of Castlehill, Senators of the College of 
Justice, were sworn and admitted Burgesses of the said Burgh, 

GRATIS. 

Sir James Foulis of Colinton was the son of Sir Alexander Foulis of Colinton, and of 
Elizabeth, daughter of Roisert Hepburn of Ford. He was fifth in descent from Sir James 
Foulis of Colinton who was Lord-Clerk-Register when the College of Justice was founded by 
James V. He was knighted by Charles I. on 14th November, 1641, and at his father's death 
became second Baronet of Colinton. From 164.5 till 1GS4 he represented Midlothian continuously 
in the Scottish Parliament, and was especially active in his resistance to the usurpation of 
Cromwell. In the early part of the memorable year 1651 he took refuge, with many of his 
compatriots, in Dundee. This is shown by the following remarkable entry in the Register of 
Baptisms in the parish : — 

" 1(5.51, April 13. — Walter Purterfield, advocate, a woman child, Elizabeth. Witnesses: John Balfour, 
JNIaister of Iknlie, 8ir James Foulis of Collintoiui, Sir Thomas Thom.son of Dudistone, and Sir William 
Dick." 

The Master of Burleigh was one of those Covenanters deeply implicated in the assassination 
of Archbishop Sharpe, and Sir William Dick of Braid was the famous Lord Provost of 
Edinburgh who lost a colossal fortune in the Royalist cause, and died a prisoner for debt in a 
Loudon jail. These associates suflicieutl}' indicate the political profession of Sir James Foulis. 
When the Committee of Estates withdrew from Dundee before the siege SiR James accomimnied 
them, and was taken prisoner at Alyth on 2Sth September, 1651, by a detachment of General 
Monk's forces, who were sent for that purpose from Dundee {vide page 113). SiR James was sent 
with his companions to England, and detained there for a long period in prison. His services and 
sufferings were rewarded after the Restoration by his appointment as one of the Senators of the 
College of Justice on 14th February, 1G61, his advancement to the post of a Lord Commissioner 
of Justiciary in February, 1G71, his admission as a Privy Councillor in 1674, and his jiromotiou 



196 JOHN WEDDERBURNE — SIR PETER, PETER, AND AI.EXANJ)ER WEDDERBURNE. 

as Lord Justice-Clerk in February, 1684. His death took place at Edinburgh, uu 19th January, 
1688. By his marriage with Barbara, daughter of Alexander Ainslie, he had a son. Sir 
J.AMES, who succeeded him. 

Sir John Lockhart of Castlehill was the third sou of Lord J ('stice-Clerk Lockhart, and 
of Martha, daughter of Sir George Douglas of Mordington, one of the Maids-of-Honour to 
Queen Henrietta Maria. He was admitted Advocate on 4th January, 1656, during the 
supremacy of Crojiwell, and was re-admitted after the Restoration, having expressed regret at 
his misfortune in having obtained that privilege during the time of the usurpation. He was raised 
to the Bench as an Ordinary Lord with the title of Lord Castlehill, on 28tli August, 1665, and 
made a Lord of Justiciary on 6th February, 1671 — a short time before his enrolment as Burgess 
of Dundee. Having provoked the resentment of the Dt'ke of Lauderdale, he was summarily 
removed from the Bench in November, 1678, but was restored in 1683, after the Duke's death. 
Sir John was Member of Parliament for the Sheriffdom of Dunbarton, 1656-8 ; for the Lanark 
Burghs, 1658-9 ; and for Lanarkshire, 1693-1702. His death appears to have taken place shortly 
after the last date, though it is not exactly recorded. 



1671. July 13th. 
At Dundee, quhilk day JOHN WEDDERBURNE, Son to Sir Peter 

WEDDERBURNE OF GoSFORD, WAS ADMITTED A BuRGESS AND BROTHER OF 

THE Guild, gratis. 

Reference has been made to John Wedderburn in the notice of his father's admission under 
date 7th February, 1657 (vide page 163). He is described as heir-apparent of Gosford in several 
charters of 1670 and 1671 ; but he was drowned during his father's lifetime in the manner already 
described. 



1675. July 20th. 

QuHiLK DAY SIR PETER WEDDERBURNE of Gossford, ane of the 
College of Justice, and PETER WEDDERBURNE and ALEXANDER 
WEDDERBURNE, his Sons, were admitted Burgesses and Brethren 
of the Guild of Dundee, be vertew of their Father's and Goodsyre's 
privileges. 

Sir Peter Wedderburn, Lord Gosford of Session, was admitted as a Burgess on 7th 
February, 1657 (vide page 163), and he is here enrolled for the second time. His eldest son, John, 
was admitted to the same privilege on 13th July, 1673, and his other two sons are placed on the 



M AGISTER ROBERT LAWRIE — DAVID Rol.LO. 197 

Burgess-Roll with himself two years afterwards. That Sir Peter was in Dundee at the latter 
date is shown by the follcjwiug entry in the Register of Baptisms : — 

" 1675, Sept. 2. — John Wedderbuni of Blackness a son, I'eter, bap! Witness : Sir I'cter Wedileibuiii 
of Gosfoord, ane of the Senators of the College of Justice." 

Peter Wedderburn, second son of Lord Gosford, and of Aoxes Dickson of Hartree, was 
born iu 16G0, and is described by Douglas as " a well-accomplished gentleman." He held a 
commissiou in the army as Captain of Grenadiers, and sat in the last Parliament of Scotland 
(1705-7) and in the first Parliament of Great Britain (1707-8) as Member for Dunfermline. On 
30th December, 1097, he was created a Baronet by William III. — not Charles II., as sometimes 
stated — and when his wife's brother, Sir James Halkett of Pittirrane, died without issue in 1705, 
he succeeded to his estate and assumed the name of Halkett. He died on 20th March, 17'1'6, 
having then reached his eighty-sixth year. By his wife, Dame Jane Halkett, he had four sons 
and three daughters, and his eldest son, Colonel Sir Peter Halkett, became the second 
Baronet. His present representative is Sir Peter Arthur Halkett, Bart., of Pittirrane. 

Alexander Wedderburn, " a man of parts and merit," was the third son of Lord Gosford, 
and was appointed one of the Commissioners of Excise for Scotland, which office he held until his 
death. His eldest son, Peter Wedderburn, became Lord Chesterhall of Session, and his 
grandson, Alexander Wedderburn, was the famous Baron Loughborough, Lord High Chan- 
cellor of Great Britain, and afterwards Earl of Rosslyn. Alexander Wedderburn, whose 
name is here enrolled, is now represented by his descendant, Francis Robert St Clair Erskine, 
fourth Earl of Rosslyn. 



1075. July 20th. 

At Dundee, quhilk dav Magister ROBERT LAWRIE, Bischop uf Brechine, 
AND DAVID ROLLO, his Sone-in-Law, were admitted Burgesses and 
Brethren of the Guild of the said Burgh, gratis. 

Robert Lawrie was the son of Joseph Lawrie, minister of Longforgan and of Perth, and was 
born in 1610. He studied at St Andrews University, and obtained his degree there in 1036. On 
the death of his father, in 1040, he was appointed to succeed him in the Second Charge in Perth, 
and remained there till 104-i. At the latter date he was translated to Edinburgh, and held the 
position of minister in the churches of Trinity, the Tron, and the High Church in succession, from 
the year 1644 till 1602. Charles II. then presented him to the Deanery of Edinburgh, which 
office he held in conjunction till 1672. On the 11th of July in that year he was promoted to the 
Bishopric of Brechin, and continued iu this post until his death, in March, 1678. The appearance 
of his name on the Burgess-Roll shows that the sympathies of the civic rulers were then strongly 
Episcopalian, for he was the only minister in Edinburgh who conformed to Episcopacy. 

David Rollo was a merchant-burgess of Edinburgh, and was married to Bethia, eldest 
dauohter of BiSHOP La\VRIE. 



198 SIR DAVID OGILVY— JOHN, EARL OF ATHOLL — JAMES, LORD MURRAY. 



1675. August 17th. 

QuHiLK DAY SIR DAVID OGILVY of Clova, Knt., was admitted a Burgess 
AND Brother of the Guild of Dundee, c4ratis. 

Sir David Ogilvy of Clova was the third sou of James, first Earl of Airlie, aud of Lady 
Isabel Hamilton, daughter of the Earl of Haddington. He was, therefore, younger brother 
of the second Earl of Airlie, who was admitted Burgess of Dundee on 23rd May, 1668 (vide 
page 182). SiK David was born in 1617, and at an early age was engaged fighting on the 
Royalist .side with other members of his family, in the Civil War. OCHTERLONY, in his Account 
of the Shire of Forfar, written in 1684-.5, thus refers to the Ogilvies of Airlie :— 

"Thii family is very ancient and honourable, and have ever been very famous for their loyaltie, 
especiallie in the times of our Civill Warrs. The late and present Earl of Airlie, with his brethren, Sir 
Thomas, who died in his Prince's service, and Sir David, now living, have, with diverse others of their 
name, given such evident testimonie of their loyaltie to their Prince that will make them famous to all 
generations." 

Sir David Ogilvy represented Forfarshire in the Parliaments of 1669-72 and 1681-2. The 
date of his death is not recorded, but it must have been prior to 30th October, 1687, as his son, 
David, was then retoured as his heir. 



1675. September 21st. 

At Dundee, quhilk day JOHN, EARL of ATHOLL, and JiMES, LORD 
MURRAY, HIS SoNE, were admitted Burgesses and Guild Brethren 
OF the said Burgh, gratis. 

John, second (Murray) Earl of Athol, and afterwards first Marquess of Athol, was the 
son of John, first Earl of Athol, and of Jean, youngest daughter of Sir Duncan Campbell of 
Glenurchy. His younger brother, SiR MuNGO Murray, was admitted as Burgess of Dundee on 
7th March, 1663 (vide page 177). The second Earl of Athol, whose name is entei-ed here, was 
born in 1635, and succeeded to the title on the death of his father-, in June, 1642. When the 
Earl of Glencairn mustered an army to withstand the Cromwellian invasion, hi 1653, the Earl 
<iF AtH(il, then a more youth, joined him with 2,000 men, and with his aid the Royalists were 
enabled to re.sist the conquest of Scotland for some time. In consequence of his patriotic but 
unsuccessful efforts at this time, the Earl was specially excepted from Cromwell's Act of Grace 



JOHN, EARL OF ATHOLL — JAMES, LOKD MURRAY. 199 

and Parduii, 16")-i. He continued faithful to the Stewart cause, and was rewarded after the 
Restoration with many honours and offices. He was sworn a Privy Councillor in 1660, and made 
Hereditary Sheriff of Fife; was appointed Lord Justice-General of Scotland in 1663, Captain of 
the King's Guard in 1670, Keeper of the Privy Seal in 1672, and an Extraordinary Lord of 
Session on 14th June, 1673. Through the death of the Earl OF TullibARDINE, in 1670, he 
succeeded to that title, and on 17th February, 1676, he was created Marquess of Athol. 

In the early portion of the DuKE of Lauderdale's administration Athol was his intimate 
friend and confidant, but the severe measures which the Duke adopted towards the Conventiclers, 
though at first a source of profit to the Marquess, ultimately caused him to sever his connection 
with Lauderdale, and to join the Duke of Hamilton against him. In revenge for this deser- 
tion the office of Lord Justice-General was taken from him, but he retained the other posts to 
which he had been appointed. He presided in the Parliament of 16.S1, and was one of the 
principal agents in the suppre.ssion of Argyll's Rebellion in 16S5. When the Order of the 
Knights of the Thistle was revived in 1687 by James II., he was amongst the first nominated for 
that distinction. Though he had so long supported the Royalist cause he was an active promoter 
of the Revolution, and visited the Court of William and Mary, expecting preferment, as he was 
nearly related through his wife to the new King. In this he was disappointed, and his attempt 
to secure the post of President of the Convention of Estates, in the Episcopalian interest, 
in opposition to the DuKE of Hamilton and the Presbyterians, was also unsuccessful. Shortly 
afterwards he retired from public life, and spent the remainder of his days at Blair- Athol. He 
died there on 7th May, 1703, and was buried in Dunkeld Cathedral, where a magnificent monu- 
ment has been erected in memory of him, bearing a Latin inscription to the following effect: — 

" In ;t vault umlenieatli this stouo the ashes are pre.sorved of an ilKistrious hero, John, Marquess of 
Athol, Earl of Tullibaixline, VLscount of Ealquhidder, Lord Jfurray, Balveny, and Gask, Lord of the 
Regality of Athol, Heritable Bailie of the Lordship of Dunkeld, Heritable Steward of Fife and Hunting- 
tower, heir to the Stewarts, Earls of Athol, and to the Murray.s, Earls of Tullibardiue ; who, being deprived 
of both his jiarents, John, Earl of Athol, and Jean, daugliter to th(; Laird of Glonurcliy, while he was scarce 
ten years of age, was honoured with many offices by King Charles II. at liis return, for his diligent labours 
against the rebels, being as yet a youtli .ilmut eighteen years of age, and for his greatest constancy 
and loyaltj' afterwards in peace and war : fur he was Justice-General, an Extraordinary Lord of Session, 
Captam of the King's Life Guards, sometime President of the Parliament, Keeper of the Privy Seal, Lord 
of the Treasury, Exchequer, and Council, Sheriff of Perthshire, Lieutenant of the Earldom of Argyll and 
Tarbat ; and lastly, by King James VII. he was made a Kniglit of the Most Noble Order of S. Andrew. 
He died 7th May, 1703." 

The Earl of Athol was married to Lady Amelia Sophia Stanley, daughter of the seventh 
Earl of Derby, by whom he had five sons. The eldest son succeeded to the title, and was 
afterwards created DuKE OF Athol. The second son, Charles, was the first Earl of 
DUNMORE. Lord James Murray of Dowally, who is entered on the Burgess-Roll beside his 
father, was the third son of the Earl of Athol. He represented Perthshire in the Parliaments 
of 1710 to 1715. 



200 MAGISTER THOMAS MURRAY — ROBERT, ERLE OF SOUTHESK, ETC. 



1675. September 21st. 

At Dundee, quhilk day Magister THOMAS MURRAY, ane of the 
Senators of the College of Justice, designated Lord Glendoick, 
WAS admitted a Burgess and Guild Brother of the said Burgh, 
gratis. 

Thu.mas Murray, Lord Glendoick of Sessiou, was the sou of Mr Thomas Murray, 
advocate, and was himself admitted a member of the Faculty of Advocates on 14th December, 
1661. He was related to Elizabeth, Countess of Dysart and Duchess of Lauderdale, and 
through her inHuence he rapidly gained promotion. On 4th July, 1674, he was raised to the 
Bench, and two years afterwards he was created a Baronet. He was appointed Lord-Clerk- 
Register in 1677, and is said to have shared the emoluments of that office with his patroness, the 
Duchess of Lauderdale. In 1679 he obtained an exclusive privilege for the printing of his 
edition of the Statutes of the Realm — a work that is regarded still as authoritative. When the 
power of the Duke of Lauderdale was overthrown. Lord Glendoick was superseded, and his 
name was not included in the Commission for the Administration of Justice in 1681. His office 
of Lord-Clerk-Register was granted at that time to Sir George Mackenzie of Tarbat (vide 
page 171). 



1675. October 29th. 

At Dundee, quhilk. day the Persones after-named, viz. : — ROBERT, ERLE 
of SOUTHESK, ROBERT, VISCOUNT of ARBUTHNOT, and Magister 
JOHN MURRAY, Tutor of Stormonth, were admitted Burgesses and 
Brethren of the Guild of the said Burgh, gratis. 

Robert, third Earl of Southesk, was the only son of James, second Earl of Southesk, 
and of Lady Mary Ker, daughter of the first Earl of Roxburghe, and relict of James 
Haliburton of Pitcur. He came into the title on the death of his father in 1669. His early 
yeai-s had been spent on the Continent, and when in France in 1659 he was made a Captain of 
one of the Companies of Scots Guards by Louis XIV. Shortly after his accession to the title he 
was appointed Colonel of the Militia of Forfarshii-e by special commission from Charles II. ; and 
in 1682 the Sheriffship of Forfarshire was confirmed to him and his son Charles, Lord 
('arnegie. The Earl died at Edinburgh on 19th February, 1688. He was married to Anna, 
daughter of William, second Duke of Hamilton, and had two sons, the elder of whom became 
fourth Earl of Southesk. The younger son, William, was slain in a duel at Paris by William 
ToLLEMACHE, SOU of the Duchess of Lauderdale. 



JOHN GRAHAM. 201 

Robert, second Viscount of Arbuthnott, was the son of the first Viscount, and of Lady 
Marjory Carnegie, daughter of the first Earl of Southesk, and relict of William Haliburton 
of Pitcur. He succeeded to the Viscouutj- at his father's death in IG60, held the office of High 
Sheriff of Kincardineshire whilst General Monk was in >Scotland, and was compelled to 
execute several of the decrees issued by the Council of the Protector. After the Restoration he 
had to superintend in an official capacity the military movements in Kincardineshire, acting under 
the orders of the Earl of Aboyne (vide page 187). Amongst the documents preserved at 
Arbuthnott House there is a certificate, dated 5th December, 1G81, stating that on that day 
" Robert, Viscount of Arbuthnott did take and signe the Teste appoynted by the Sext Act of 
this current Parliament, as being anywayes concerned in j^ublict debts that he might have the 
benefit thereof" This was his last public act, as he died on IGth June, 1G82. He was married 
firstly to Lady Elizabeth Keith, daughter of William, seventh Earl Marischal, and secondly 
to Catherine, daughter of Robert Gordon of Pitlurg and Straloch, and left a numerous family. 
His eldest son, Robert, succeeded as third Viscount, and he is now represented bv his direct 
descendant, the ninth ViscouNT of Arbuthnott. 

Sir John Murray of Drumcairne was the fourth son of Andrew, first Lord Balyaird, and 
of Lady Elizabeth Carnegie, daughter of the first Earl of Southesk. He was bred to the 
profession of the Law, and was raised to the Bench when the new Commission was appointed in 
October, 16SL In the Parliament of 1685-6 he represented Perthshire, and in the following year 
he was made a Lord of Justiciary, with the title of Lord Drumcairne. He was deprived of all 
his offices at the Revolution of 1688. His grand-nephew was the famous Earl of M.\NSFIELD, 
Lord Chief-Justice of England. 



1676. April 4th. 

At Dundee, quhilk day JOHN GRAHAM, General Postmaster for 
Scotland, was made a Burgess and Guild-Brother of the said 
Burgh, gratis. 

This entry indirectly shows the prevalent Royalist feeling in Dundee at the time, and also 
indicates the appreciation of commercial enterprise in the Burgh ; for whilst John Graham was 
connected with a family of the most pronounced loyalty, the office which he and his father had 
administered for nearly twenty years had greatly assisted in the development of the trade of 
Dundee. John Graham was the third son of the famous Patrick Graham of Inchbrakie, and of 
the Hon. Jean Drummond, daughter of the second Lord Madderty. His father, Patrick 
Graham, had suffered severely for his adherence to the Royalist cause during its darkest days ; 
and it was at his house that Montrose had raised the Royal Standard in 1644. So greatly was 
the valour and loyalty of Patrick Graham dreaded by the Cromwellians, that Lord Madderty 
was compelled to become cautioner for him in the extreme sum of £50,000, that he would not 
interfere with their progress through Scotland. After the Restoration, Patrick was rewarded 

•2 15 



202 WILLIAM TOLMASH — THOMAS TOLMASH — ROBERT LUMISDAINE. 

with the office of Postmaster-Goueral of Scotland, ami he was the first to introduce a regular 
bi-weekly horse-post between Aberdeen and Edinburgh, via Dundee, and a weekly foot-post from 
Inverness to the Scottish Metropolis, " for the advancement of trade, correspondence, and con- 
venience of the King's subjects." In 1674 this important office was transferred to John Graham, 
whose name is enrolled here two years later. John Graham was married to his cousin, the Hon. 
Margaret Drummond, daughter of David, third Lord Maddertv, and niece of the first 
Viscount Strathallan. Patrick Graham survived till 16S7, and is now represented by 
Patrkjk J. F. Gr.eme, Esq. of Inchbrakie and Aberuthven. 



1676. May 31st. 

At Dundee, quhilk day WILLIAM TOLMASH, Sone to Hm Grace The 
Duchess of Lauderdaill, was admitted a Burgess of Dundee, gratis. 



1676. June 29th. 



Quhilk day Magister THOMAS TOLMASH, Sone to the Duchess of 
Lauderdaill, and ROBERT LUMLSDAINE of Stravithie were 
admitted Burgesses and Brethren of the Guild of Dundee, gratis. 

William Tollemache was the third son of Elizabeth, Countess of Dysart in her own 
right (afterwards DucHESS of Lauderdale), by her first husband. Sir Lionel Tollemache, 
Bart., of Helmingham. He was born circa 1665, and would thus be only about eleven years of 
age at the time of enrolment as a Burgess. Having chosen the Navy as his profession, he rose to 
considerable eminence, and had command of a man-of-war in the servii;e of King William. 
Whilst quite a youth he sjjent some time in Paris, and whilst there became acquainted with the 
Hon. William Carnegie, son of Robert, third Earl of Southesk (vide page 200). On 20th 
November, 1681, the two young noblemen met at a supper table in Paris, when a dispute upon 
some trivial matter arose between them. Swords were drawn, and in the struggle that ensued 
Carnegie was mortally wounded, and died three days afterwards. Tollemache was apprehended, 
and tried for manslaughter before the Criminal Chamber at Paris in January, 16S2. He was con- 
demned to pay 200 livres to three of the monasteries there for prayers for the repose of the soul 
of William Carnegie, and 10,000 livres as reparation to Charles, Lord Caenegie, brother of 
the deceased. A pardon and remission was afterwards granted to him by Louis XIV., and a 
year later (21st February, 1683) Charles II. caused a .similar pardon to pass under the Great 
Seal relieving Tollemache of all the penalties imposed upon him. He died of fever in the 
West Indies, towards the close of the seventeenth century. 

Thomas Tollemache was the elder brother of William Tollemache, and was renowned 
:is a brilliant soldier, having served with distinction in seventeen campaigns. He rose to the 



MAGISTER HEW OALRYMPLE — JOHN SLEZER. 203 

rank of Lieuteuant-General, and was Cominander-iu-Chiif of the expedition against Brest iu 
1694. There he was severely wounded, and died shortly afterwards at Plymouth. 

Robert Lumsden of that Ilk and of Stravithie was a member of the same family as the brave 
Robert Lumsden of Montquhannie, who was Governor of Dundee, and fell at the siege of that 
Burgh by General Monk in 1651. He became Laird of Stravithie through his marriage with 
Eliza, daughter and heiress of his cousin, James Lumsden. His present representative is the 
Rev. Francis Gordon Sandys-Lumsdaine of Lumsdaine, Blauerne, and Innergellie. 



1677. August 11th. 

C^UHiLK DAY Magister HEW DALRYMPLE, Advocate, was admitted a 

BuRGEs.s OF Dundee, gratis. 

Hew Dalrymple was the third son of the first Viscount Stair, and of Margaret, eldest 
daughter of J.\MES Ross of Baluiel. He was born in 1642, studied Law at Edinburgh, and was 
admitted Advocate on 23rd February, 1677 — six mouths before his enrolment as Burgess of 
Dundee. His first office was that of Commissary of Edinburgh, but his commanding talents and 
ability soon brought him to the first rank even at the learned Bar of that time, and he was chosen 
Dean of Faculty in 1695, a position which he held until elevated to the Bench. Like the other 
prominent members of his tamil}' he adhered to KiNG William at the Revolution, and was made 
a Baronet on 29th April, 1698. The office of Lord President of the Court of Session had been 
vacant from the time of his father's decease until this date, and on 7th June, 1698, he was received 
into this honourable place upon a special letter from the King, though he had not sat on the 
Bench as an Ordinary Lord as was customary. His conduct as Lord President was so unexcep- 
tionable that he was not allowed to resign the post in 1726, though he had earnestly sought to do 
so. He took part in the important Parliaments of 1696-1702 and 1702-7, sitting in the former 
as Member for New Galloway and in the latter for North Berwick. He remained iu office as 
Lord President until hi'^ death, which took place on 1st February, 1737. His younger brother 
was the celebrated SiR David Dalrymple, Lord Hailes, and his son, Hew, became Lord 
Drummore of Session. The present representative of the Lord President is Sir Hew 
Hamilton Dalry'Mple, Bart., of North Berwick. 



1678. April 19th. 
Which day JOHN SLEZER, Ingineir to His Ma.j., was admitted Burgess, 

GRATIS. 

Although Captain John Slezer is worthy of remembrance as one of the earliest delineators 
of Scottish scenery and architecture, very little is known of his personal history. Dr Jamieson 
published a biography of him, for the incompleteness of which he apologises; and the following 



204 JOHN SLEZER. 

sketch may therefore be of vahie, since it is principally founded upon papers in the Advocates' 
Library at Edinburgh, and on documents in the possession of the Earl of Strathmore at 
Giamis Castle, and of Charles Stirlixg Home-Drummoxd-Moray, Esq. of Abercainiey, at 
Blair-Drunimond. 

JoHX Slezer was a Dutchman, attached in a military capacity during his early years to the 
House of Orange. He came to Scotland in 1G69, and became accpiainted with several of the 
nobility in consequence of his skill as a draughtsman. Through their influence he obtained a 
commission as Lieutenant of Artillery, and was entrusted especially with the practical superintend- 
ence of the ordnance. The entry of his name on the Burgess-KoU of Dundee is of interest, as being 
the earliest notice yet found of him in any document ; and it is of value as it gives the date of the 
two views of Dundee which he must have drawn at this time, but which were not published for 
sixteen years afterwards. It was about this period that he visited Giamis Castle, upon the invita- 
tion of Patrick, first Earl of Strathmore (vide page 1G4), and made the interesting sketch of 
the Castle which appears in his T/u-atrurn Scotiw. To this visit Earl Patrick refers in his 
manuscript Book of Record (now preserved in the Charter-i-ooin at Giamis) in the following 
terms : — 

" I have been at the charge to umplov uno who i.s to make a liook of tlie ti'jures and drautjlit.'i 
and frontispiece in Talydiice [Tailledouce, the French term for copper-plate etching] of all the King's 
Castles — Pallaces — towns, and other notable places in the Kingdom, belonging to privat subjects, whos 
desyre it was at first to me, and wlio liimselfc passing by deemed the place worthie of the taking notice of 
— and to this man (Mr Sletcher by name) I gave liberall money, because I was loatli that he shuuld doe it 
at his owno charge, and that I knew the cuts and ingravings would stand Inm monej-." 

This passage, taken in conjunction with the date of the entrj' on the Burgess-Roll, proves that 
Slezer had contemplated the production of his great work many years before its publication ; but 
its progress was temporarily interrupted. In 1680, JOHN Drummond of Lundin, brother of the 
Earl of Perth, was Master of the Ordnance, and he was directed by Charles II. to send Slezer 
to Holland for the purpose of having new guns cast for Scotland, and also that he might bring 
experienced gunners, or " fireworkers," as they were called, to this country. Many interesting 
letters written by Slezer to John Drummond whilst employed ou this mission are preserved at 
Blair-Drumniond, and afford much information as to this branch of the military service. In one 
of the notes he hopes that his claim on the Treasury for his expenses had been paid, " for I 
suspect," he adds, " my wife will be as scairce of siller as myself" This shows that his marriage 
had taken place before 1680, and as his wife's name was Jean Straiton — a local name in Dundee 
■ — it is probable that his admission as a Burgess was caused through his connection with her 
family. 

The favour with which Charles II. and his brother the Duke of York regarded Slezer's 
projected volume induced him to proceed with it upon his return, though the expenses which he 
thus incurred must have weighed heavily upon him. His former attachment to the fiimily of the 
Prince of Orange enabled him to procure a commission from William III. in 1690 as " Captain 
of tlie Artillery Company and Surveyor of His Majestie's Magazines in Scotland," which ofhce he 
retained till 1705. He had not passed through the critical time of the Revolution, however, 
without some difficulty. In March, 1689, he was appointed by Parliament to "draw together 



JOHN SLEZEH. 205 

the canoniers and the artillery," aiul had received the command of the Eaui, OF Leven's regiment 
of 800 foot-soldiers at that date ; hut as he at first refuseil to take the oath to support the 
Committee of Estates he was ordered into confinement, and forbidden to return to the Castle until 
he had shown his fidelity. With this command he must have complied before his Commission as 
Captain was issued. 

The first volume of his Theatrum Scotia; was published by Royal authority in 1693, and it 
contained fifty-seven views of palaces, abbeys, and castles of the nobility. Though the book was 
rightly regarded as a national work, he could not sell enough to repay the vast expense of its pro- 
duction, and therefore in 1695 he showed a specimen of it to the Scottish Parliament, petitioning 
them to aid him in completing it by the issue of other two volumes, the sketches for which were 
then ready. A very peculiar method was adopted by Parliament to reuumerate him for his 
e.xpenditure. A special Act was passed imposing a tax of sixteen shillings, Scots money, upon 
every ton of goods imported by foreign ships trading to Scotland, and of four shillings Scots per 
ton upon every Scottish ship above twelve tons burthen exporting merchandise, the tax to be for five 
yeaisfActa ParUamcnturitm, Vol. IX.,2Mg<' 355). During the currency of the Act he received, 
by his own account, £580 sterling; but when it fell to be renewed in 1698 there were serious 
limitations put upon it. The first portion of the tax was to be devoted to the support of 
"His Majesty's frigates ;" handsome salaries were provided for the officials who had to administer 
it; and Slezer and John Adair, the hydrographer, were both to be paid " out of the superplus." 
To eucoui-age the exporting of coals, foreign ships who carried that mineral were to piay half the 
usual dues, whilst those carrying other cai-goes were assessed at twenty-four shillings Scots per 
ton. 

This new arrangement did little towards assisting Slezer, and the arrears both of his claims 
and of his military pay soon amounted to a very considerable sum. In 1705 he again petitioned 
Parliament, stating that he was then £650 sterling out of pocket ; but his case had not been 
examined three years afterwards. He then declared that though he should have obtained £1,130 
from the Tonnage Tax, he " had never receaved the value of a single sixpence." His whole claim 
then amounted to £i!,o47 sterling, but it is only too probable that it was never settled. The later 
years of his life were spent in Edinburgh, and on more than one occasion he was forced to take 
refuge from his creditors in the sanctuary of Holyrood. His death took place on 24th June, 1714, 
and his widow and second sou, (]?HARLES Slezer, obtained a portion of his claim up till 1723, but 
the greater part was absorbed in clearing off the debts which he had incurred during the pro- 
duction of his book. From some of the papers in the Advocates' Library, it appears that James 
Anderson, the celebrated author of Dijjlomata Scotice, v/a,s in the habit of advancing small sums 
of money to him ; and he also suffered from the penuriousness of the Parliament, and from the 
dishonesty of its officials. 

The letterpress which accompanied the first edition of the Theatrum Scutia; was written in 
Latin by Sir Robert Sibbald {vide page 188), but Slezer, without Sir Robert's knowledge, 
had the articles translated into English. Four editions of this wonderful work have aj^peared — 
one in 1693, two in 1718, and one in 1719 — and a fac-si'mile reproduction was put forth in 1874. 
There can be no doubt that the two views of Dundee represent the Burgh as it was when John 
Slezer's name was inscribed on the Burgess-Roll. 



206 DR OEORGE HALIBURTOX. 



167s. November 4th. 

Which day DR GEORGE HALIBURTON, Bishop of Bbechin, was admitted 
A Burgess, by reason of his Father's priyileges. 

Bishop Haliburtox was the son of William Haliburton, minister of CoUace, who was 
brother-german to James Haliburton of Enteryse, a branch of the Pitcur family. His mother 
was a daughter of ARCHBISHOP Glaidstanes {vide page 27), and he was thus doubly connected 
with Dundee. He was born in 1628, studied at St Andrews University, and took his degree there 
in 1646. Two years afterwards he was presented to the church of Coupar-Augus, but was 
suspended before loth September, 16-50. The sentence of suspension was reversed in 1652, and 
he retained his charge as minister of Coupar- Angus long after he had gained high ecclesiastical 
preferment elsewhere. The degree of D.D. was conferred upon him in 1673, and he was promoted 
to the Bishopric of Brechin on 30th May, 1678. From the Register of the Privy Seal it appears 
that Charles II. presented him to the parish of Farnell on 28th January, 1680, the reason 
alleged being that "the Bishopric is small and inconsiderable, so that it is very incompetent for 
maintaining of a Bishop in the dignitie due to his sacred character." He seems to have retained 
the charge of both Coupar-Angus and Faniell until he was translated from Brechin to the 
Bishopric of Aberdeen on 1.5th July, 1682. He remained in this See until the abolition of 
Episcopacy by the Estates in April, 1689, at which time he retired to the small estate of Denhead, 
Coupar-Angus, which lie had purchased. He did not remain idle, however, in his enforced 
retirement. He resisted the appointaient of the Presbyterian minister to the church of Halton of 
Newtyle, and from 1698 till 1710 he conducted services there in defiance of the authorities, until 
age and infirmity compelled him to desist. On 29th September, 1715, he died at his house 
of Denhead, being then in his eighty-seventh year. His widow and family of three sons and a 
daughter survived him. 



[From the date of the last entry till after the Revolution of 1688 the Burgess-Roll has 
not been regularly kept. The following extract from the Council Minutes explains this fact : — 

" Tuesday, 4th September, 1688. — The counsell ordains the drum to go throw the toun Intimating 
y^ ye burgess-book is to be opened upon thursday come eight dayes, the threttein instant. And ordains all 
persons within and without the burgh wlio hes burgess tickets and are not booked in the burghes books 
that they bring ye samen and give them in to be booked the said day, with notification if they do not they 
shall be discharged from tradeiiiL? in ye toun and y^ shop doors closed." 

There can be little doubt that the strict imposition of the Burgess Oath pre\'ented many from 
claiming their privileges whilst the government of the country was in an unsettled state ; and 
even the threat contained in the extract ipioted did not induce them to do so. The Lockit Book 
was opened on the day appointed, and the Town-Clerk has entered the date on the blank 



ALEXANDER BUNCAN. 207 

page ; but no name follows it, aud the date has been carefully obliterated. On 27th February, 1689, 
several Burgesses were called before the Council to explain their neglect to have their names 
entered, aud they all asserted that they declined to take the Burgess Oath, as it had been " framed 
in the time of poporie." The following incident is entered in the Minute Book under that date : — 

" XoTA. — It was voted about in Counsell — whether the old burgess Oath should be allowed ; and it was 
carried in the negative lie the whole counsell, except the conveiner (Wl" Mihie)." 

The oath seems to have been temporarily discontinued from this time till after the Union of 
the Parliaments (1707), and very few entries appear in the Lockit Book.] 



1689. May 7th. 

QuHiLK DAY ALEXANDER DUNCAN of Lundie was admitted a Burgess- 
AND Brother of the Guild of Dundee, by reason of his Father's 

PRIVILEGES. 

The family to wliicli Alexander Duncan belonged, and which is now represented by the 
Earl of Camperdown, can be traced in connection with Dundee from the beginning of the 
sixteenth century. Reference has been made to some of the earlier members of the family in the 
note to the entry of FiNLAY DuNCAN, surgeon, in 1550 {vide page 29). From that date onwards 
the name appears frequently in the records of the Burgh. In 1590, WlLLLiM DuNCAN, surgeon, 
was Dean of Guild, and in the following year was Bailie in Dundee, which office he filled till his 
death in 1G08. From him descended that ALEXANDER DuNCAN, Laird of Lundie, whose name is 
entered hei-o as claiming burgess-ship througli his father's privileges. He was the son of William 
Duncan of Seasyde, a Bailie of Dundee in 1G5G, and was born in 1652. At an early age he took 
part in the municipal affairs of the Burgh, and having amassed and inherited a considerable 
fortune, he acquired the estate of Lundie from CoLiN Campbell, a scion of the family of Argyll. 
The exact date of this purchase is not known, but as Campbell was retoured in Lundie on 23rd 
April, 1674, and Duncan was in possession of the estate in 1681 (rule Hay's Charters, Writs, and 
Documents of Dundee, page 101), it must have been between these dates. After the Revolution, 
when WiLT.iAM III. was securely seated on the throne, Alexander Duncan was sent to London by 
the Council, in company with Provost J'letcher, to ask aid from the King to defray the cost of 
placing Dundee in a state of defence, and repairing the bulwarks. In the "Accompt of Expenses 
be the Town in ftbrtifjdng the same," the following item occurs : — 

" For tlie Provost and Baillie Duncan, yV expences in goeing to London in January, 1689, for present- 
ing the grievances of the burgh to his Majestic, — 1,626 lib." 

His name may have been specially enrolled in the Lockit Book after his return, as a reward for 
his services on this occasion. Though long a public official, Alexander Duncan died at a 
comparatively early age, as is shown by the inscription upon his monument in the Howff. This 

v/as one of the most elaborate nutral tablets in that jdace, although it has been suffered to fall to 



208 MAGISTER PATRICK LYON. 

ruins. The remains of it are still visible, but iu a very dilapidated condition, on the west wall 
of Hovvff, lair ^STo. lo. The inscription is as follows : — 

" Humo adjacenti omdifur ijnod morti concessevunt AlexaivJer 
Duncan ih' Lundir, qui fat,o fund as est Aprilis die — A. ^E. C. 1606 
CBtat. 44 ; fjnsque dilerfa conjux Anna DrutnuKind, utiica filia M'l Joannis 
Drummond dr Mrgtjinch, qucc deceastii Aprilis die — lOO't, at. 4~- Necnon 
eorundem liheri Gulielmus, Patridum, Christiana, et Anna, quihas parentes 
superstitis erani. Idem alter Gulielmus, qui matri nnn vero pater 
vixit, et Joannes, fiUas natus secundus, qui murteia ohiit Julii die — 
J 696, (vtaf. 20. 

" Mnusi ileum exfruenduin ruravit M'i Ale.cander Duncan de Lninlie, 
A. .E. a 171H." 

[In tlie adjacent ground is laid the mortal part of Alexander Duncan of Lundie, Avlio died the — day 
of April, in the year of the Christian Era, 1696, aged 44 ; and his beloved wife Anna Drummond, only 
daughter of Magister John Drnnnnonil of Megginch, v.dio died the — day of April, 1695, aged 42. Also 
their children, William, Patrick, Christian, ami Anna, whom their parents survived. Also another William, 
who survived his mother but not his father ; and John, their second son, who died the — day of Jrdy, 
1696, aged 20. 

Mr Alexander DuiK.-an of Lundie caused this monument to be erected in the year of the Christian Era, 
1718.] 

The name of Alexander Duncan appears frequently both as principal and witness in the 
Register of Baptisms in Dundee. The following may be quoted, as it supplies the name of one 
of his sons who survived him, but whose name is not included in the published genealogy of 
the family : — 

" 1682, March 21st. — George, son to Alext Duncan df Lundie and Anna Drummond. Y\'itnesses : — 
George Broune, lait Provost, Adam Drummond of Megginch." 

George Duncan was appointed Town-Clerk of Dundee, after the deposition of SiR 
Alexander Wedderburn, in 1716. Several of the descendants of Alexander Duncan 
were enrolled as Burgesses at a later date. 



1713. September 22nd. 
Which day Magister PATRICK LYON, Master of the Grammar School, 

WAS ADMITTED A BuRGESS AND BROTHER OF THE GuiLD OF DuNDEE, 
GRATIS. 

The story of Patrick Lyon is interesting as illustrative of one portion of the history of his 
time. After the Reformation in Scotland, schoolmasters were required to profess the Protestant 
religion, and their admission as Burgesses bound them by oath to support it. During the 
supremacy of the Commonwealth a special Act of Parliament was passed in 1655, ordaining "that 
schools in Scotland should be supplied only with schoolmasters well-affected to the government 
.settled by law." Their political convictions were stringently examined after the Revolution, and 



ALEXANDER DUNCAN — JOHN SCRYMGEOUEE. 209 

in 1690 it was decreed that every schoolmaster shoidd take the oath of allegiance to the King aud 
Queen. When the "Assurance" was drawn up in 1G93, whereby it was declared that William 
and Mary were King and Queen dr jare as well as dc fucto, they were necessitated to subscribe 
it before they were appointed ; and in 1096 they were ordained to sign the " Bond of Association" 
rngaging to support William III. against James II., and declaring that " if the Protestant 
champion die a violent death they shall avenge it and maintain the succession." By the Treaty 
of Union they were still further bound to acknowledge the civil government under pain of non- 
appointment or deposition. The authorities in Dundee had been especially careful in this respect. 
" On .SOth May, 1702, Mr Jokn Hill, doctor in the Grammar School of Dundee, though often 
entreated by the Town Council, refused to taki; the Oath of Allegiance, and to subscribe 
the Assurance ; accordingly he was deprived of his office" (Grant's History of the Burgh Schools 
I if Scotland, page 37 4)- Patrick Lyon must therefore have agreed to both these stipulated con- 
ditions, and would be further bound by tlic Burgess Oath administered to him on his entrance. 
Nevertheless, he failed to keep faith with the Town Council, and though he had subscribed the 
Confession of Faith, he taught an obno.xious Catechism to his scholars and officiated as elder in " a 
schismaticall meeting-house set up in opposition to Church and State," and associated with 
" preachers who prayed expressly for ye Pretender under ye Title of King James ye Eighth." 
A complaint having been made against him by the Presbyteries of Dundee aud Forfar, the Town 
Council summoned him to answer the charge, and after examination found him guilty, and 
deposed him from his office on 1st May, 1710. The Minute of the Council on this subject is 
printed in Hay's Charters, Writs, and Documents of Dundee, page IJ^O. 

On 31st October, 174'.t, William Lauder, " one of the Masters of the Latine School in the 
Burgh," demitted his office for a similar reason, and his petition " craving that the Council would 
give him a gratis Burgess Ticket or an equivalent for the same" was refused. 



1717. Febru.\ry 13th. 
Which day ALEXANDER DUNCAN of Lundie, present Baillie, was 

ADMITTED BuRGESS AND GuILD-BrOTHER OF DuNDEE, IN RIGHT OF HIS 

Father. 



The same day JOHN SCRYMGEOUEE, present Baillie, was also admitted 
Burgess and Guild-Brother of the said Burgh, for the same 

REASON. 

Alexander Duncan of Lundie was the son of the first Alexander Duncan of Lundie whose 

name was enrolled on 7th May, 1689 {vide page 207). He was born in 1G77, and, like his father, 

was early introduced to public life. The definite and valuable support which had been given by 

his father to King William during the Revolution brought him into notice, and when the 

2 c 



210 ALEXANDER DUNCAN — JOHN SCRYMGEOURE. 

Hanoverian dynasty came to tlie throne he was one of the most trusted of their adherents in the 
Burgh. The Kebellion of 1715 left Dundee without civic rulers, as the majority had been on the 
Jacobite side, and fled at the approach of the DuKE uF Argyll. A temporary Magistracy was 
appointed by the Duke on 3rd February, 1716, and in the following month a special warrant was 
issued by the King, addressed to the Duke of Douglas as Constable, Alexander Duncan of 
Lundie as Con.stable-Depute, David Haliburton of Pitcur, John Scrymgeour of Tealiug, and 
John Scrymgeour, Jun": of Toaling, empowering them to convocate the Burgesses and proceed 
to the election (if Magistrates and Town Council. This important duty was performed by them 
on 18th April, 171 G, with the result that John Scrymgeour, Sen>':' was elected Provost, and 
his son, whose name is here entered on the Roll, and Alexander Duncan of Lundie, were 
appointed Councillors. From this time until his death Mr Duncan was actively engaged 
in the public service of the Burgh, both as Councillor and Provost. 

The date of the decease of Alexander Duncan of Lundie is not recorded in the genealogy 
of the family, but is here supplied from an authentic source. Shortly after the Rev. JoHN 
WiLLiSON came to the South Church of Dundee, he wrote his earliest published work — now very 
rare — entitled " An Apology for the Church of Scotland ;" and the " Advertisement" which he 
appended to it affords some interesting particulars of the career and character of the Laird OF 
Lundie. It may be necessary to quote a portion of this contemporary notice of him, as it serves 
to clear up some confusion which has long existed regarding this Alexander Duncan, and his 
.son of the same name, who was Provost at a later period : — 

"It is with deep regret," writes Mr WiLLlSON, " that I must acquaint the reader of the death 
of that worthy gentleman the Laird of Lundie, to whom this treatise is dedicated ; which is an 
unspeakal)le loss to the City of Dundee and the whole County of Angus. His health hath been 
long in a declining state, and particularly ever since the late unnatural Rebellion. For Lundie 
being thereby obliged to retire from his own house and native aii-, and live several months 
together in a town, he contracted a bad habit of body, under which he hath been languishing ever 
since that time. This book was put to the press and the first sheet thereof printed off before his 
last illness. But it pleased God that his distemper afterward took a more sudden turn, and he 
was called home before it could be altogether perfected. 

" He was a gentleman of eminent piety, sound principles, and of great sense and reading. 
. . . He was a close resolute adherer to the Church of Scotland and the Protestant succession 
established by law, and that in the most critical juncture; and upon this account he was looked 
on as a speckled bird by the rest of the Gentry of the Shire, who yet paid deference to LUNDIE, 
and feared him because of his parts and interest in the country. . . . As he was a most 
easy and kind master to his tenants all his life, so at his death he testified great charity to such 
of them as were insolvent or poor, by causing burn their Bonds and Bills for what they owed him, 
tho' it amounted to a very considerable sum. . . . He was not on'y a wise and knowing 
man, but also an active and j)ublic-spirited man ; one that upon all occasions stood up for the 
truth with courage and resolution ; one that laid out himself for the interest of religion with zeal 
and affection, and heartily espoused the cause of those that adhered thereto. ... In a 
word, Lundie was a rare and extraordinary instance of one in whom appeared a very sweet 
mixture of knowledge and zeal, capacity and readiness to serve the public good." 



MAGISTER JAMES DUNCAN — PATRICK MURRAY. 211 

Mr WiLLisi.iN uuiicludes his book with a poetical eidogy up(ni his patron, the title of which is 
as follows : — " Au Elegy on the much-lamented Death of the Right Honourable Mr ALEXANDER 
Duncan of Lundie, Lord Provost of Dundee, who departed this life at his House of Lundie, in the 
Shire of Angus, the 2nd of January, 1719 years, in the 42nd year of his age." This title gives 
precisely the date of Provost Duncan's death, and upon incontestable evidence. 

Mr Duncan was married in 1702 to Isabella, eldest daughter of Sir Patrick Murray, 
Bart.,of Ochtertyi-e,and had a numerous family. His eldest son, Alexander {nat. 1703 oh. circa 
17G5), was long a valued public official in Dundee. He was elected a Town Councillor in 1742, 
and was chosen Provost in 1744, and filled the latter post at the critical time of the Rebellion of 
1745. One of the sons of this second Provost Duncan was the famous Admiral, Viscount Duncan 
of Camperdown, whoso name is enrolled at a later date. William Duncan, the second son 
of Alexander Duncan and Isabella Murray, rose to eminence in London as a physician, and 
was appointed Physician-E.Ktraordinary to George II. He was created a Baronet in 1754, but 
died without issue, and the title expired with him. 

John Scrymoeour was the son of John Scrymgeour of Tealing, and of Jane, daughter of 
the Rev. William Raitt, minister of Dundee, and was appointed Town Councillor in 171G,nithe 
circumstances already related. He was married to Jean, daughter of the first Alexander 
Duncan of Lundie. His father represented Dundee in the Parliaments of 1681-2, 1702, and 
1702-7. His sou and successor, Alexander Scrymgeour of Tealing, was long Shoremaster of 
Dundee. 

1721. September 2.3rd. 

Thk .said day Magister JAMES DUNCAN, Professor of Philosophy in 
St Salvator's College in St Andrews, was admitted Burgess and 
Guild-Brother, by the privilege of the deceast Alexander 
Duncan of Lundie, his Father. 



As ALSO PATEICK MUKRAY, second lawfull Son to Sir Patrick 
Murray of Ochtertyre, was admitted Burgess and Guild-Brother, 

BY THE privilege OF AnNE DuNCAN, LAWFULL DAUGHTER TO THE SAID 
DECEASED ALEXANDER DuNCAN, HIS SPOUSE. 

James Duncan was another of the sons of the first (Duncan) Laird of Lundie, whose name 
is omitted from the family genealogy; but this entry not only shows his relationship, but also 
confirms the statement that his father died in 1719 (;vidc. above). 

Patrick Murray was the second son of Sir Patrick Murray of Ochtertyre, and of 
Margaret Haldane of Gleneagles, and was born in 1085. His sister Isabel was married to 
Provost Alexander Duncan, second Laird of Lundie, and his wife was sister to the Provost. 
He acquired the estate of Aytoun, in Fife, and founded the family of Murray of Aytoun. His 
death took place there in 1773, when he had reached his eighty-eighth year; and he was 
succeeded by his grandson, Alexander Murray of Aytoun. 



212 WILLIAM MORISONE — THE DUKE OF CUMBERLAND. 



17-1'2. September 23rd. 

WILLIAM MORISONE of Nauchton, Merchant in Dundee, was booked 
A Free Burgess of the said Burgh, by the privilege of William 
MoRisoNE, Merchant, Burgess, and sometime Bailie of Dundee, his 
Father, he haveing taken the Burghal Oath in the usuall 
manner, and paid the ordinary accidents to those to whom they 

ARE DUE. 

William Morlson, the first Laird of Naughton of that name, was a promiueut merchant of 
Dundee, who by industry and frugality amassed a very considerable fortune. When the estate of 
Naughtou, which had been in the possession of a branch of the family of Hay of Megginch from 
1600, was sold by the creditors of Robert Hay in 1737, it was acquired by AIi- Morison. He 
obtained a Crown charter of the lands in 1745, but he continued to serve his native town for 
a long period after that date, and was Dean of Guild and Treasurer of the Burgh for several 
years. His son James, who succeeded him, was a Bailie of Dundee, like the grandfather men- 
tioned in this entry. James married Miss Maxwell of Strathmartine, who was related by her 
mother to the Duncans of Lundie. Mrs Isabel B. Morison succeeded her father, James 
Morison, and bequeathed Naughton to her kinsman, Adam A. Duncan, son of Captain the Hon. 
Sir Henry Duncan, R.N. His daughter, Miss Morison Duncan, is the present proprietrix. 



1746. April 10th. 

His Royal Highness the DUKE of CUMBERLAND was admitted a 
Burgess and Brother of the Guild of Dundee, gratis. 

William Augustus, Duke of Cumberland, was the son of George II. and of Caroline of 
Branuenburg-Anspach, and was born on 1.5th April, 1721. He was created DuKE of Cumber- 
land in 1726, and was devoted to the profession of arms at a very early age. In 1743 he 
accompanied his father the King on his campaign in Flanders, and was wounded at the battle of 
Dettingen. The command of the forces was conferred upon him in 1745, but he experienced a 
severe defeat by Marshal Saxe at Fontenoy, on 14th May of that year. The young Pretender 
— Prince Charles Edward Stewart— having landed at Moidart and marched successfully to 
Edinburgh, defeating the forces under SiR John Cope that were opposed to him, the Duke of 
Cumberland was recalled from Flanders and despatched to Lancashire at the head of the British 
army to arrest the progress of the Prince. The DuKE encountered and defeated the rebels at 



THE DUKE OF CUMBERLAND. 213 

Clifton, near Penrith, ami forced the insurgents to retire towards Scotland. They occupied 
Carlisle for some time, but that fortified town was besieged by the DuKE of Cumberland and 
capitulated on January 1st, 1746. The rebels having rallied and gained a victory at Falkirk on 
17th January, the DuKE,who had returned to London, once more set out for Scotland to take full 
command of the forces there. He arrived at Edinburgh on 30th January, and marched thence to 
Stirling, driving the Jacobite army before him. From this place he advanced to Perth, and then 
crossed the country to Montrose, detaching a regiment of dragoons to occupy Dundee. 
Alexander Duncan of Luudie, who was then Provost of Dundee (ride page 211), was a faithful 
supporter of the House of Hanover, and he took an early opportunity of testifying the affection of 
the Burgh towards the reigning monarch, as the loyalty of the inhabitants had been rendered 
doubtful through the aid they had rendered to the Jacobites in 1715. The following entry 
appears in the Council Minutes of 22nd February, 1746 : — 

"The Provost acquainted tlie Council that he was Informed liis Eoyal Highness the Duke of Cumber- 
land was to lie at ilontrose on Monday next, and wanted to know the opinion of the Council if or not 
they thought it propei' that a Committee of their number should wait on his Eoyal Highness there. 
"VMiich being considered by the Council tliey agree that the Provost and such other members of the 
Council as incline to go to Montrose on Monday next, wait on the Duke there." 

No record of the meeting of Provost Duncan with the Duke has been preserved, but it must 
have been satisfactory to both parties, as appears from the Minute of the Meeting of Council, on 
10th April, 1746 :— 

"The Provost aeciuainted the Council tluit he had causL-il nudce owt a Burgess Ticket for His Royall 
Highness the Duke of Cundierland, and that the Committee appointed for making up an Address to his 
Majesty had accordingly made out and forwarded the same, all in terms of the former Act of Council ; of 
which the Covuicil ajiproved." 

The " Address of the Provost, Magistrates, Town-Council, and Community of Dundee" is 
printed in full in the Scots Magazine, Vol. VIII., page 170 ; and the following passage in 
it may be (]uoted as showing the condition of the Burgh at the time of the Rebellion : — 

" We did not give credit to the first accounts lirought us of the Leginiiing of this rebellion, but 
continued unprovided for resistance, till of a sudden we were o\cr-run by a superior armed force, 
which obliged many of us to fly from our homes for safety of our persons, and the rest, being defenceless, 
were obliged to submit to lawless insults. But no sooner did the rebels march from this neighbourhood 
than the inhabitants of this burgh took up, with a zeal and fervour .suitable to the duty they owe to your 
sacred Majesty, such arms as they could come at, and honourably delivered the officers of your Majesty's 
army, who were detained prisoners by the rebels at some miles distance from this place, and carried them 
safe to Edinburgh ; and have continued, since his Royal Higlniess's seasonable arri\'al amongst us, to exert 
ourselves to the utmost of our power in assisting to support his vigorous and prudent conduct."' 

The esteem with which the Council regarded the Duke of Cumberland at this period is 
shown by another entry in the Minute of 10th April, 1746, in which they order the Duke's 
birthday, which fell on 1.5th April, "to be kept with all publick Demonstrations of joy; the 
Council and such oy^ CJeutlcmen as the Magistrates shall think proper to be invited to the Cross 



214 THE DUKE OF CUMBERLAND. 

against five o'clock afternoon on s'.' day, and after drinking the Roj'al healths then the Council and 
such oyK Gentlemen as the Magistrates shall incline to be invited to the Town House. All the 
windows to the fore street of this Burrow (except writer's chambers) to be sufficiently illuminated 
between eight and ten o'clock at night s'' day, and appoint the Illuminating of windows to be 
advertised thro' the Town by the Drum, under the common penalty on his Majesty's birthday." 

On 16th April — the day after the Duke's birthday — the rebels were totally routed by 
the British Army under his command at Culloden ; and the Town Council, having obtained sure 
intelligence of this victory, appointed the 24th of April to be kept as a public holiday, and 
the windows to be illuminated in the same manner as ou the loth of that month (Hay's 
Charters, Writs, and Bocuments of Dundee, ixige IJfS). The Burgess Ticket was presented to 
the Duke of Cumberland, enclosed in a magnificent gold casket, whilst he was on his way 
homewards, as is shown by the Minute of 6th Jiuie, 1746 : — 

" The Clk. ar;(|uainted the Council that he had got a letter from Lundy alongst with Burgess Ticket 
Mild box to be delivered the Duke, and that he wrote it was expected the Duke would be in Edin^ on 
•Saturday or Sunday next, so as they might send a deputation to wait upon his Eoyal Higlmess if they 
inclined. "Which being considered by the Council, they unanimously agreed that Bailie Yeaman and 
Tealing go to Edin. in conjunction with Lundy, to wait upon the Duke and deliver him the said ticket." 

The Duke did not arrive at Holyroodhouse until the 21st of July, and there received 
the freedom of the Burghs of Dundee and of Glasgow. The cost of this testimonial to Dundee is 
recorded in the Minute of 23rd August, 1746 : — 

" The Proviist gave into the Council an account of the charge for makoing a Gold Box that was made 
for containing his Eoyall Highness the Duke of Cumberland's Burgess Ticket, amounting to £45 10s. 6d., 
whirh was approved off by the Council." 

The Duke of Cumberland rendered himself unpopular, even with his own party in Scotland, 
by his unnecessary severity towards the Jacobites after the rebellion had been crushed. In the 
year succeeding Culloden he returned to Flanders to resist the encroachments of the French there, 
but was again defeated by Marshal Saxe at Lawfeldt. Ten years later (2.5th July, 1757) he was 
once more repulsed and his army routed by Monsieur D'Etrees at Hastenbeck, and was forced to 
sign Articles of Capitulation at Kloster-seven on 8th September, so as to allow him to bring back 
the remnant of the British Army to this country. Though he retained his military grade, the 
Duke of Cumberlani) was never again actively employed in warfare. He died suddenly at his 
house in Upper Grosvenor Street, London, on 31st October, 1765, being then in his forty-fifth 
year, and was privately interred in the royal vault in Henry VII. 's Chapel, Westminster Abbey. 
His inisuccessful campaigns in Flanders dimmed considerably the glory of his victory at Culloden ; 
and he never gained the favour of the nation, though at the time of his death he was not far 
removed from the throne. He has been described as a Prince of vigorous understanding, 
courageous, truthful, and honourable; but his nature was hai'd, and what seemed to him ju.stice 
was rarely tempered with mere}'. The history of his military career shows that he never won a 
victory when opposed to disciplined forces ; and when it is remembered that the rebels whom he 
vanquished at Culloden were demoralized by a long retreat, and unaccustomed to civilized warfare, 
it will be seen that their conquest is evidently much over-praised. 



MAGISTEK JOHN GLAS— THOMAS GLAS. 215 

1753. September 25th. 

Which day M agister J(JHN GLAS, Minister of the Gospel, was entered 
AS BEING A Free Burgess in terms of an Act of Council, of the 1st 
DAY OF August, 1743. 



As also THOMAS GLAS, Merchant in Dundee, was admitted Burgess of 
Dundee, by the privilege of the above John Glas, his Father. 

This entry is peculiar for several reasons : because of the reputation of the person, as well as 
from the fact that ten years elapsed betwixt the time of the granting of the Burgess Ticket and 
the enrolment of the Burgess in the Lockit Book. The Act of Council referred to is in these 
terms : — 

" 1st August, 1743. — The Council authorise the Clerk to sign and deliver a Burge.ss Ticket iu favours 
of Mr John Glas, jNIinistcr nf tlie Gospell, whirli is tu be in full of his freedom to this Burrow." 

It is probable that Mr Glas had his name entered on the Roll iu 1753, for the purpose of 
procuring the admission of his son, Thomas, at that date. 

John Glas was the son of Mr Alexander Glas, minister of Kiuclaven, and was born 
at Auchtermuchty on 21st September, 1695, where his father was then minister. He was 
educated first at the parish school of Kiuclaven, and afterwards at Auchtermuchty and at Perth, 
completing his studies at S. Leonard's College. On 6th May, 1713, he obtained his degree of 
Master of Arts fit the University of St Andrews, was licensed by the Presbytery of Duukeld in 
171S, and placed as minister of Tealing in the following j-ear. His success as a pojDular preacher 
was rajjid and great, but shortly after his settlement he adv(jcated certain views as to the consti- 
tution of the Church which did not meet with the approval of his co-Presbyters. In 1725 he 
formed a Society outside of his church, which he conducted according to the priucijjles that he had 
adopted, although ho still ministered to his regular congregation in the usual way. His chief 
difference with the clergy of the National Church related to the Covenants, the adherence to which 
was then regarded as obligatory upon all members. He maintained that the Civil Magistrate should 
have no power to interfere with the government of the Church ; that " the National Covenants 
were without warrant of God's Word ; and that those who suffered in late times for adhering 
thereto were so far unenlightened. That there is no warrant for a National Church under the 
New Testaiuent, and tliat a single congregation, with its presbyteries, is in its discipline subject to 
no jurisdiction under heaven." These views were so pertinaciously taught and acted upon by Mr 
Glas that his case was brought under the notice of the Church Courts, and he was suspended by 
the Sjmod on 18th April, 1725. The Commission of the General Assembly continued the 
sentence of suspension in May, 1728, he was deposed in October of tiiat year, ar.d the deposition 
v^'as confirmed by the Assembly Commission in May, 1730. 

At this time he removed to Dundee and founded an Independent Church there in accordanco 
■with his principles. He soon gatliered around him a considerable number of persons like-minded 
with himself, and formed a regular congregation known by the name of Glassites. In 1733 he 
returned to Perth, where his father-in-law, Mr Thomas Black, was minister, and here a small 



21G MAGISTEE JOHN GLAS — TIKIMAS GLAS. 

meeting-house was built by some of his adherents ; but the spirit <>i' intolerance was then 
so rampant that an attempt was made to have hiui excluded from that Burgh as a fomenter of 
discord. He remained in Perth, however, for many years, and soon found his supporters increas- 
ing in numbers throughout Scotland. But he was still regarded as a dangerous schismatic by the 
Established Church ; and though on 22nd May, 1739, the Assembly reversed the sentence of 
deposition, it was declared " that he is not to be esteemed a minister of the Church of Scotland 
until he shall renounce the principles embraced by him that are inconsistent with the constitution 
of the Church." It is worthy of notice that the Act of the Town Council of Dundee constituting 
him a free Burgess was made shortly after he was released from the ban of ecclesiastical censure. 
His principal clerical opponent at this time was Mr John Willison, minister of the South 
Church of Dundee from 171G till 1750. The greater portion of Mr Glas's life after leaving 
Tealing was spent in Perth ; but he returned to Dundee towards the close of his career, and died 
there on 2nd November, 177o, in the seventy-ninth year of his age. His wife, KATHARINE Black, 
whom he married in 1721, had long predeceased him, as she died in December, 1749, having had 
fifteen children, many of whom lie buried beside her in the Howff of Dundee. Thomas Glas, 
whose name is entered on the Roll beside that of his father, was a bookseller in Dundee, and an 
ardent supporter of him in liis theological controversies. " He was carried off in the prime of life 
by a putrid fever, after eight or ten days' illness. This was an unexpected stroke to the aged 
father, and the more severe as he had been for some years an elder in the church at Dundee, and 
was highly esteemed by his brethren for his faithful discharge of the duties of that office" (Glas's 
Narrative of the -K/.sy ami Progress of the Controversy about the National Covenants, edition 
1838, pcu/e XVIII.). The romantic and tragical story of another son, Captain George Glas, 
one of the pioneers of African civilization, who was murdered by his mutinous crew in 1765, is 
fully related in the Scots Magazine, Vol. xxxv. Katharine Glas, one of the daughters of Mr 
Glas, was married to Robert Sandeman, a linen manufacturer in Perth, who had obtained a 
liberal education at Edinburgh University, and who afterwards became the chief propagator of the 
opinions of his father-in-law both in England and America. The first Glassite Church in London 
was founded by him in 1760, and his followers are known to this day by the name of Sandemanians. 
He died at Danbury, Connecticut, on 2nd April, 1771, in his fifty-third year, whilst on a 
proselytizing mission (History and Antiquities of Dissenting Churches, Vol. Ill^fage 270). 
The congregation established by Mr Glas in Dundee in 1730 still survives, and has numbered 
not a few prominent citizens among.st its members. The monument erected to his memory over 
his grave in the Howff bears the following inscription : — 

" John Glas, 

Minister of the Congregational Cliurcli in this iilace, 

Died 2"i' Xovl 1773, aged 78 years. 

lie long .survived 

Katharine Black, 

his beloved wife (interred in the .same grave), 

And all his children, Fifteen in number, 

Many of whom arrived at mature age, and Nine ly liere 

beside their parents. 

His character in the Churclies of Christ is well known, 

And will outlive all monumental inscriptiou.s." 



REV. JAMES BALLINGALL — MAGISTEU GEORGE DEMPSTER. 217 



1760. January 7th. 
Which day the Rev. JAMES BALLINGALL, one of the Ministers of the 

GOSPELL IN THIS BuRGH, WAS ADMITTED A FrEE BuRGESS IN TERMS OF AN 

Act of Council of this date. 

James Ballingall was the sou of Andrew Ballingall, merchant, Strathmiglo, in which 
place he was bom in 1729. He was licensed by the Presbytery of Cupar on 7th January, 1755, 
and ordained as minister of Collessie on 22nd September, 1757. In this charge he remained till 
October, 1759, when he was transferred to the Third Charge, now S. Paul's, Dundee. His 
admission as Burgess took place shortly after this date, but he did not long occupy this position, 
as he died on 4th November, 1763, in the thirty-fourth year of his age. 



1761. September 29th. 
Which day Magister GEORGE DEMPSTER of Dunnichen, Advocate, is 

ADMITTED A BuRGESS BY THE PRIVILEGE OF THE DECEAST GeORGE 

Dempster, Merchant, Burgess of Dundee, his Grandfather. 

There are few of the burgesses of Dundee whose names are entered on the Roll at this date 
that have a higher claim to be remembered by the present generation as benefactors of the Burgh 
than George Dempster of Dunnichen. His family had been connected with the commercial 
prosperity of Dundee for a centurj- before the enrolment of his name as a Burgess, and for more 
than half-a-century afterwards he was one of the foremost guardians and promoters of the welfare 
and advancement of his native Burgh. No elaborate biography of him is necessary here, since 
his life has been repeatedlj' written at various times. The following sketch is therefore intended 
merely to supply several facts regarding his career that have not hitherto been utilized. 

George Dempster was descended from the family of Dempster of Auchterless and Muresk, 
and traced his genealogy from a contemporary of David II. The grandfather of George 
Dempster, after whom he was named and through whom he claims the privilege of his freedom, 
was the son of the Rev. John Dempster, last Episcopal incumbent of Monifieth, who died in 1708. 
The first George Dempster was born at Monifieth in 1677, and came to Dundee at an early age, 
where he amassed a considerable fortune as a merchant and banker. His town house — lately 
altered and included in Messrs IvElLLER & S0N.s' confectionery works — stood in Rankine's Court, 
off High Street, and he became proprietor by purchase of the estates of Dunnichen, Newbigging, 
Omachie, Laws, and Ethiebeaton — all in the shire of Forfar. A portion of this fortune was made 



218 MAGISTER GEORGE DEMPSTER. 

by exporting grain, and as the prevailing notion of the time was that exportation was the cause 
of dearth, Mr Dempster came into serious conflict on one occasion with the populace. He had 
two vessels lying in the harbour of Dundee on 5th February, 1720, laden with barley destined for 
a foreign port. A mob gathered at the pier, took possession of the cargoes, and confiscated them 
for the public use. To avenge themselves upon Mr Dempster, the rioters " attacked and gutted 
the house, shops, cellars, and lofts of that gentleman, carrying off everything of value they 
contained, including twelve silver spoons, a silver salver, and two silver boxes, one of them 
containing a gold chain and twelve gold rings — some hair ones and others set with diamonds" 
(Chambers' Domestic Annals of Scotland, Vol. III., 'page Jto'i). This incident affords some idea 
of the wealth and social position of George Dempster, senV On 2nd Jvine, 1753, he died, leaving 
one son, John' (born 1703*), to succeed him. John Dempster also resided in Dundee, and here 
his two sons by his first wife, IsoBEL Ogilvie, were born — the birth of the eldest, George, being 
recorded in the Register under date December, 1732. He was married a second time on 
Stli November, 1740, to Mrs Stewart Hamilton, as is shown by the Register of Marriages 
in Dundee ; and he was killed by a fall from his horse on 3rd November, 1754. A monument to 
his memory is erected in the Church of St Vigeans.-f George Dempster had thus reached his 
majority before his fiither's death. 

The birthplace of George Dempster was the mansion in Rankine's Court, and here he spent 
the days of childhood, receiving the rudiments of his education at the Grammar School of Dundee. 
His more advanced studies were begun at St Andrews University and completed at Edin- 
burgh ; and, having chosen the Law as his profession, he was admitted a member of the Faculty 
of Advocates on 1st March, 1755. It is, therefore, by his designation as Advocate that his name 
appears on the Burgess Roll. Whilst at Edinburgh he was thrown into the society of the most 
eminent literary men of his time, and numbered amongst his intimate acquaintances the learned 
Prixcipal Robertson ; David Hume, the historian ; John Home, the dramatist ; Alexander 
Carlyle, the well-known minister of Inveresk ; and Adam Fergusson, the renowned Professor 
of Moral Philosophy. He was one of the early members of the Select Society, the most famous 
of the many literary and convivial Associations of the period, and thus came constantly into 
contact with some of the advanced thinkers of the day. As the fortime which his father had 
left him was amply sufficient for his wants, he did not practise long at the Bar, but spent much 
of his time in foreign travel. 

The attention of Mr Dempster had been specially directed towards politics as affording scope 
for the exercise of his excejitional talents, and, accordingly, he was the successful candidate for the 
representation of the Perth Burghs, including Forfar, Perth, Dundee, Cupar, and St Andrews, in 
the Parliament of 1761-S. The cost of this election is said to have amounted to over £10,000, 
and ultimately caused him to sell, in 1771, four of the estates which he had inherited. He entered 
Parliament as an independent member, and very soon attracted notice, even amongst the brilliant 
politicians who then adorned the Senate. The following interesting reference to his first 

*The date is usually given as 1706, but the Register of Baptisms for 170.3 records that " George Dempster's son was 
baptised in the Meeting-house." 

tTlie tombstone at St Vigeans bears the date 2ud November, 1753, but the correct date is given in the Scol-t 
Magazine, where the death is announced. 



MAGISTER GEORGE DEMPSTER. 219 

appearance in the House of Commons occurs in a letter written by Lord George Sackville, 
son of the Duke of Dorset, to General Irwin, dated IGth November 17G1 : — 

" A new Scotch member, a Mr Dempster, sliuw'J a strong desire of spealciug, and seems to Iiave abilitys 
sufficient to malce him an object. In short, lie promises well, and the' he diverted the House by a becoming 
ignorance of its forms, yet ho proved that he neither wanted language, manner, nor matter." 

His candour and fearlessness were not always well received by his English political adversaries ; 
and as the unpopularity of the Earl of Bute, then Prime Minister to the youthful King George 
III., had been extended to all that nobleman's fellow-conntrymen, George Dempster was often 
hardly jndged by them. Amongst his severest critics Dr Samuel Johnson may be ranked, as is 
shown by the following e.xtract from a letter to Lord Hailes, written by James Boswell on 2ord 
July, 17(53. Both Lord Hailes and Boswell had become acquainted with Dempster through 
the Select Society, of which they were members: — 

" iSIr Johnson did nie the honour to sup with mc at my chambers some nights ago. Entre 7ious, he 
said that Dempster, who was also with me, gave him more general displeasure than any man he has met 
with of a long time. He saw a I'upil of Hume and of Eossean totally unsettled as to principles, and 
endeavouring to puzzle and shake other peopb; with childish sophistry. I had infinite satisfaction in 
hearing -solid truth confuting vain subtilty." 

The Parliamentary career of George Dempster extended continuously from 1761 till 1790, a 
period of nearly thirty years, during which time he represented the Perth Burghs almost without 
intermission. He was appoiuted Secretary to the Order of the Thistle on 17th January, 17GG, 
which office he retained for fifty-three years. In the official Returns of Members of Parliament 
for 1774-80 he is described as " Provost of St Andrews," a fact which has escaped the notice of 
his biographers. His services thus began almost with the reign of George III., and covered the 
stormiest portion of that Monarch's supremacy. To examine in detail his Parliamentary work 
during these years would require considerable space, but the following summary of his more 
important services, which is quoted from A Century of Banking in Dundee, by C. W. BoASE, 
will show how far his opinions were in advance of those of his contemporaries : — 

" He opposed the contest w'ith the American Colonies, maintaining that taxes could not be 
constitutionally imposed without representation. At the conclusion of the first American War 
he urged a reduction of the military establishment, and the abolishing of sinecures and of unmerited 
pensions. He supported Pitt when he came into f)ower, especially in respect to the establishment 
of a Sinking Fund. He attended much to the promotion of commerce and manufactures 
generally, but turned his attention particularly to the improvement of the deep-sea fisheries on 
the coasts of Scotland. After many unsuccessful attempts, he obtained leave to nominate a 
Committee to consider this matter. Having been appointed a Director of the East India Company, 
in opposition to the usual House list, his acquaintance with their affairs led him to consider that 
the Company should give up their territorial acquisitions, and restrict themselves to commerce. 
Being thus opposed to the views of the majority of the Directors, he withdrew from the Board, 
and became a strong Parliamentary opponent of the Company. . . . He gave his support 
to the Grenville Act in 1785 for deciding contested elections by Committees chosen by ballot. 
He opposed the Ministry on the Regency Question in 1788-9, declai-iug such an executive would 



220 MAGISTER GEORGE DEMPSTER. 

' resemble nothing that ever was conceived before — an un-Whig, un-Tory, odd, awkward, auonialous 
monster.' " Even from this incomplete list it will be seen that his attitude was similar to that 
of the extreme Liberal of the present day, and that at a time when such sentiments did not meet 
with much favour in Parliament. His constituents iu Dundee, however, thoroughly approved of 
them, as is shown by the following Minute of the Town Council, dated 2Gth September, 1763 : — 

" It was unanimously re.solvcil that the Thanks of the Town Council he jiresentcd in the most resjject- 
ful manner to Jlr Dempster fur liis upright and steady Conduct in Parliament, where, despising ifaction, 
Party measures, and other low Pursuits, the true interest of hi.s Country has been his sole aim ; M'hieh not 
only reflects the greatest Ilononr upon himself, but also, in some measure, on the District of Burrows 
represented hy hiui in tliat Assembly." 

No subject calculated to advance the commercial welfare of Scotland escaped his notice ; and 
on 13th July, 1786, the Convention of Royal Burghs presented him with a service of silver-plate 
in acknowledgment of his patriotic labours. About the same time the Burgh of Dundee 
engaged George Willison to imint Mr Dempster's portrait,* which was hung up in the Council 
Chamber, and is now jilaced in the Permanent Collection of Pictures in the Albert Institute. 
The feelings of admiration with which he was regarded by his Dundee constituents twenty-seven 
years after his first election were expressed in the Minute of Town Council, dated 22nd November, 
1788, in these terms : — 

"The Provost [Alex. Riddoch] produced iu Councd a Letter from Mr Dempster, their Representative 
in ParHament, signifying his intention of not offering himself a Candidate at the next General Election, and 
nKnitiouing his indifferent health as a reason. The Letter being read, the Council unanimously expressed 
the most sensible regret on account o{ the resolution Mr Dempster had taken, and which Avas jiarticularly 
heightened by the cause of it. They in the warmest terms declared their sense of Mr J)empster's 
distinguished conduct in Parliament, and of the important services which he had rendered to the public in 
general, and the Trade and Manufactures of this part of the country in a particular manner. And the 
Council rerpiest the Provost in their name to conmiunicate these their unanimous sentiments to Mr 
Dempster, with every grateful acknowledgement so justly due to him." 

Mr Dempster's Parliamentary duties did not sever his connection with his native Burgh, nor 
prevent him from taking an active part in municipal affairs. Immediately after his admission as 
a Burgess — 29th September, 17G1 — he was elected a member of the Town Council of Dundee, as 
Councillor to the Guild, and though a protest was lodged against his election on the ground that 
he was then Provost of St Andrews, this objection was over-ruled, and he continued to serve on 
the Council in this capacity almost without interruption from 1761 till 1782. He held the 
honourable post of Bailie in Dundee from 1762 tdl 17C8, and on various occasions was made 
Kirk-master and Shore-master. His services to the Burgh were eminently practical. In March, 
1766, he acquired ten acres of vacant ground which belonged to the Hospital, lying " west of the 
Windmill," and these he feued out for building purposes, at reasonable rates, to speculative 



* Tins portrait has been erroneously ascribed to (Jainsborougli. It was painted by George Willison, a grandson of 
John Willison, the well-knowii minister of Dundee, and a nephew, name-son, and proti'rji of George Dempster. The 
latter, perceiving his talent, sent him to Italy, where he studied for some time ; and ultimately, through Mr Dempster's 
influence, he went to India, where he amassed a consideraljle fortune by portrait-painting. One of his pictures, a full- 
length portrait of the Nabob of Arcot, was sent by that Prince to George III., and was placed in the Royal Collection 
at Hampton Court. 



MAGISTER GEORGE DEMPSTER. 221 

builders, so as to encourage the exteiisiou of the town westwards. His position also as principal 
partner of the banking firm of George Dempster & Co. enabled him to assist the Council with 
advances of money on easy terms, at a period when the financial department was in a critical 
state. 

The development of the manufactures of Scotland engaged much of Mr Dempster's attention, 
and he was frequently appealed to as arbitrator in disputes betwixt capital and labour. On more 
than one occasion he acted in this capacity- as a peacemaker betwixt the weavers of Glasgow 
and their employers; and the Magistrates of that city, recognising that his intervention had 
averted a serious riot, perpetuated his memory by naming a newly-opened street after him. 
He greatly assisted the advancement of commercial prosperity in Dundee by projecting and 
establishing the Dundee Banking Company in 1763 — a venture which was first known under the 
designation of " Messrs George Dempster & Co.," and which, alter a very jarosperous career, was 
amalgamated with the Royal Bank of Scotland in 18G4. The practical encouragement of the 
Fisheries in Scotland was effected by him through the founding of a joint-stock company, of 
which he latterly became chairman, and directed the exjienditure of the capital in the erection of 
hai'bours, quays, and storehouses on the islands of the Hebrides. The unfortunate outbreak of 
the war with France in 1793 arrested the develoijment of this industry, and brought the 
comjiany into serious difficulties. 

Having acquired the estate of Skibo, on the coast of Sutherlandshire, in 1786, he endeavoured 
to establish the manufacturing of cotton there ; but the remoteness of the locality and the diffi- 
culty of transit prevented this scheme from meeting the success which it merited, and the project 
caused a considerable loss both to himself and his brother. His agricultural ini^jrovements were 
more successful, and he found employment on his estates for many of the crofters who had been 
evicted by neighbouring proprietors. " He granted long leases to his tenants, freed them from all 
personal services, and from unnecessary restrictions in the cultivation of their farms ; he enclosed 
and drained the lands ; he built the neat village of Lethani ; he drained and improved the moss 
of Dunnicheu and the peat-bog of Restennet, by which he added greatly to the extent and value 
of his property, and rendered the air m(jre salubrious." 

The interest of Mr Dempster in political afflxirs did not terminate with his Parliamentary 
career. He was President of the Whig Club of Dundee, and in that capacity he forwarded a 
congratulatory Address to Trielhard, President of the National Assembly in Paris on 4th June, 
1790. At that time the French Revolution was regarded as it is described in this Address, as 
" the triumph of liberty and reason over despotism, ignorance, and superstition ;" and though the 
members of the Whig Club expressed sj'mpathy with the release of the French nation from 
bondage, they also asserted their devotion to the King. " Our Sovereign," they wrote, " the 
guardian of our constitution and the father of his people, is almost an object of our adoration ; 
and our nobility and clergy form useful and illustrious members of a state where all are subject 
to the laws." The Address, together with the reply from President Trielhard, is printed in 
the Scots Magazine, Vol. lii., page 407, and has very unjustly been made the groimd of an 
accusation of Jacobinism against Mr Dempster. 

After his retirement from public life Mr Dempster resided mostly at Dunnichen and 
St Andrews, spending much of his time in the congenial company of some of his early associates. 



222 JOHN DEMPSTER. 

He survived till iSlS, and died at Duuuieheii House on SOtli February of that year, aged 
eighty-six. The following notice of him appears in the Scot-s Mwjuzlnc, Val. lxxxi., page S9G : — 

" 111 early youtli i\Ir Dempster succeeded to the family estate ; and during the course of a life extended 
beyond the usual period, exhibited in his conduct on all occasions the finished pictiu-e of a complete 
ifi'iitleman. He was a scholar, a man of science, an accomplished courtier, and a benevolent man. His 
very favoimible exterior reflected the image of the powerful and benevolent mind within ; his kindness to 
liis tenants and dependents, and his extreme courtesy to all, were universally acknowledged and admired. 
There was no subject within the compass of human knowledge of which he was ignorant. The ancient, 
as well as many of the luddcrn, languages were familiar to him. He made the tour of Europe. The 
learned sent him their works to revise, and artists their plans to examine, before presenting them to the 
l)ublic. His own printed treatises, and his essays in numerous publications, and especially his speeches in 
Parliament, show how profoundly he was skilled in the business of every deiiartment (if his own country, 
as well as in what regarded our foreign relations ; and, withal, how much he ever had the benefit of man- 
kind at heart. The valuable improvement which he suggested on the fisheries, and the inexhaustible 
treasure (jf manure which he discovered in his own county, will make him be long and gratefully 
remembered. To him agricidture is indebted for many most important and valuable improvements. He 
had a peculiar felicity of expressing his thoughts in writing ; and in speaking on any important subji-ct his 
manner, tone of voice, good humour, and benevolent look, all operated like a charm, and gained on every 
heart. It may be safely said that no man in the present generation has left the world more generally and 
deserveiUy applauded and admired than Mr I)empster of Dunnicheii." 

Mr Dempster was never married, and at his death he was succeeded in the estate of Duuuichen 
by his sister Helex, widow of General Burrington, of the East India Company's Service, who 
resumed her maiden name. Helen Dempster died in 1831, and her daughter, Helen, wife of 
Francis Hawkins, Escp, of the East India Company's Civil Service, became proprietrix of 
Dunnichen, and also took the family name of Dempster. Her eldest son, James Whitshed 
Hawkins (nat. 1796, oh. 1841), was married to his cousin, Charlotte Dempster of Skibo, and, 
as he predeceased his mother, sire was succeeded, at her death in 18.54, by his son, GEORGE 
Hawkins Dempster of Dunnichen. On the demise of the latter without issue, the estate came 
into the possession of his sister, Lady Katherine Hawkins Dempster, widow of the late Sir 
Theophilus John Metcalfe, Bart., of Fern Hill, Berks. The remains of George Demp.ster of 
Duuniclien were deposited in tlie Chancel of the ruined Priory of Restennet. 



1765. September 26th. 

Which day JOHN DEMPSTER, Esq".""- was admitted Burgess and Guild 
Brother of Dundee, by the privilege of the Deceast George 
Dempster, Merchant in Dundee, his Grandfather. 

John Hamilton Dempster was the younger brother of George Dempster of Dunnichen, 
and was associated with him in many of his mercantile enterprises. For a long time he managed 
the affairs of the Dundee Banking Co. in the absence of his brother at London, and served 
continuously in the Town Council as Councillor to the Guild, and Merchant Councillor from 1766 



JAMES IVORY. 223 

till 17S9. During this periml he filled at various times the posts of Treasurer and of Shore-master, 
and was seldom absent from the stated meetings of the Council. He obtained the estate of Skibo, 
in Sutherlaudshire, from his brother, and endeavoured to found a cotton factory there ; but this 
scheme proved unsuccessful, and caused the two Dempsters to suffer considerable monetary loss. 
His descendants held Skibo from his time till 1872, the then propi'ietor being his grandson. 



1707. September 22nd. 
Which day JAMES IVORY, Watchmaker in Dundee, avas admitted Bukgess 

FOR HAVINC4 PAID 50 MeRKS ScOTS TO JaMES DiCK, SOMETIME TREASURER, 
AND HAVING JUST NOW PAID OTHER 50 MeRKS TO HeNRY GeEKIE, PRESENT 

ACTING Treasurer, in full of hls Freedom. 

The terms of this entry show that James Ivory had no previous claim to admission as a 
Burgess through his ancestors, and it distinctly proves that he was the first of a family of eminent 
men who have reflected considerable lustre upon Dundee. The name seems to be a corrupt form 
of the Gaelic cognomen Tverach, and the family had probably a Highland origin, though the 
locality whence they sprung is merely matter of conjecture. 

James Ivory rose to considerable eminence as a watchmaker in Dundee, and was entrusted 
with the making of the clock for the steeple of S. Andrew's Church in the Cowgate. He served 
frequently as a Town Councillor from 17G8 till 1789, and it was whilst acting in this capacity that 
his son, James Ivory, the famous mathematician, was appointed one of the teachers in the 
Dundee Academy. This son — afterwards Sir James Ivory — was born in Dundee in 1765, and 
was educated at the Grammar School there. In 1779 he matriculated at St Andrews University, 
and after he had completed his Arts course of four years he spent the succeeding two years in the 
study of Theology, and another year at Edinburgh University in the same department, his intention 
being to devote himself to the ministry in the Church of Scotland. For some unexplained reason 
he suddenly abandoned his purpose, and on 20th June, 1786, he obtained the appointment of 
assistant Master in the Dundee Academ3^ The work was not congenial to him, however, and on 
12th November, 1789, he resigned his office, and entered into partnership with Mr Douglas of 
Brigton, who founded a flax-spinning mill on Carbet Water, near Forfar — said to be the first mill 
of the kind established in this quarter. This venture was not successful, and the partnership was 
■dissolved in 1804, having resulted only in loss to the parties concerned. 

The reputation which James Ivory had won as a mathematician enabled him to obtain 
a lucrative and honourable appointment as Professor of Mathematics at the Eoyal Military 
College, which was then established at Marlow, but was afterwards removed to Sandhurst. This 
position he held with much credit till his failing health necessitated his retirement in 1819, and 
although his term of office had not expired, he received a retiring allowance " in consideration of 
the excellent manner in which he had discharged his duties." This was sufficient to permit of his 



224 WILLIAM PULTENEY. 

devoting his leisure to those studies that had formerly occujjied liis hours of recreation, the 
science of Astronomy receiving his special attention. Thi' application of Mathematics to the 
higher problems of Astronomy was then little understood in this i[uarter of the world, and he 
was one of the earliest of the British mvcinfs to exhibit its utility. " The chief title of Ivory 
to distinction," wrote the late Professor Macquorx Raxkine, " is the foct that he was amongst 
the first to introduce into Britain those methods of mathematical anal3'sis which, from the time of 
Leibxitz and the Bernouillis, had been gradually developed bj^ Continental mathematicians." 
His life-long friend, Hexry Broughaji, then Lord-Chancellor, knowing his straitened circum- 
stances, brought his case under the notice of William IV., and that Monarch made him a Knight 
of the Hanoverian Order, and conferred a pension of £300 upon him. He was a Fellow of the 
Royal Society, and an hononary member of the leading scientific bodies in France and Germany ; 
whilst the degree of LL.D. was conferred upon him in 1839 by the University of St Andrews. 
He died at Brompton, London, on 21st September, 1842. Many of his books were handed over 
after his death to the town of Dundee, and are now placed in the Dundee Free Library. 
James Ivory, senr., died previous to 1795, as is shown by the entry of another son, Thomas 
IyorY; on the Burgess-Roll on Gth July of that year. 



1768. April 11th. 

Which day WILLIAM PULTENEY, Esq''.'^- of Bath House, Westminster, was 
admitted Burgess of Dundee, and that for having paid 100 Merks 
Scots to John Cristall, Treasurer, in full of his Freedom. 

The appearance of Sir William Johnstone-Pulteney's name on the Burgess-Roll at this 
date is thus accounted for. At the Parliamentary election in 1708 he was returned as member 
for the Perth Burghs (Forfar, Perth, Dundee, St Andrews, and Cupar), and for Cromartyshire at 
the same time. His return as member for the former was dated 13th April, 17G8, but he finally 
decided to sit for Cromartyshire, and Mr George Demp.ster of Dunnichcn, the former member, 
resumed his seat as representative of the Perth Burghs (vide page 217). 

Sir William Johnstone-Pulteney was the second son of Sir James Johnstone, Bart., of 
Westerhall, and of Barbara, daughter of Alexander, fourth Lord Elibank. He was born on 
1 9th October, 1729, and studied Law at Edinburgh, being admitted a member of the Faculty of 
Advocates on 13th July, 1751, and obtaining the appointment as one of the Assessors for the city 
of Edinburgh. On lOth November, 1760, he married Frances Pulteney, cousin and heii-ess of 
William Pulteney, Earl of Bath, the famous political rival of Sir Robert Walpole, and in 
1767 he assumed the additional name of Pulteney, by which ho is known in history. The parsi- 
mony of the Earl of Bath had enabled him to amass a colossal fortime, of which Sir William 
Johnstone-Pulteney became possessed through his marriage; and by judicious investments in 
this country and in America, the latter was reputed at his death to be one of the richest subjects 



JOHN GUILD. 225 

in Britain. SiR William sat in seven successive Parliaments, being Member for Cromartyshire 
from 1768 till 1774, and Member for Shrewsbury from 1775 till his death in 1805. During this 
long period he supported the Whig j)arty, and was frequently associated with George Dempster 
of Dunnichen in important philanthropic measures. He succeeded to the Baronetcy on the death 
of his brother, kSir James Johnstone, on 4th September, 1794, and he survived till 31st May, 
1S05, at which time he was buried in Westminster Abbey. By his first wife, FRANCES PULTENEY, 
he had one daughter, Henrietta Laura, who was created Baroness of Bath in 1792, and 
Countess of Bath in 1803. She was married to her cousin. General Sir James Murray- 
Pulteney, Bart., but died without issue in 1808, when her honours became extinct. Sir William 
Johnstone-Pulteney was connected with this locality through the marriage of two of his sisters. 
Barbara, the elder, who was known amongst the beauties of her time as " Bonnie Barbar.v 
Johnstone," was the wife of Charles, sixth Lord Kinnaird ; and Margaret, the younger, was 
married to David, Lord Ogilvy, son of John, fourth Earl of Airlie (vide page 188), and was 
one of the heroines of the Rebellion of 1745. Lady Ogilvy was captured at CuUoden with the 
rebel army, and was brought to Edinburgh and imprisoned in the Castle, in June, 1746 ; but 
succeeded in making her escape on 21st November of that year, and joined her husband in 
France. Portraits of both these ladies and of theii* brother, Sir William, are preserved at Rossie 
Prior}'. 



1771. September 24th. 
JOHN GUILD, Merchant in Dundee, was admitted Burgess by the 

PRIVILEGE OF J AMES GuiLD, MaLTMAN, BuRGESS OF DuNDEE, HIS FaTHER. 

John Guild, who was for a long time Provost of Dundee, was born there in 1742. His father, 
James Guild, as the entry indicates, was a maltman, and according to his tombstone in the 
Howff (No. 795), was born in 1705, and died in 1782, aged seventy-seven. His son, the Provost, 
reached exactly the same age, as he died on 15th December, 1819. He entered the Town Council 
at the date of his admission as Burgess (1771), was appointed Treasurer in 1774, and a Bailie two 
years afterwards. He was raised to the Provost's chair in 1802, and alternated that office with 
Provost Riddoch continuously till 1815. His son, John Guild, jun., was admitted Burgess on 
24th September, 1799, and served for eleven years from that time in the Council, holding the 
offices of Bailie, Treasurer, and Hospital Master occasionally during this period. Alexander 
Guild, baker, brother of Provost Guild, was admitted Burgess on 23rd September, 1784, and 
also served as Councillor for several years. 



2 e 



226 ALEXANDER RIDDOCH. 



1776. September 2Gth. 

Which day ALEXANDER RIDDOCH, Merchant in Dundee, was admitted 
Burgess for having paid 50 Merks Scots to David Ford, present 
Treasurer, and other 50 Merks to Bailie John Crystall when 
Treasurer, in full of his Freedom. 

For nearly half-a-century after the rlate of his enrolment as Burgess, ALEXANDER RiDDOCH 
was the most prominent leader in the civic affairs of Dundee ; and though he was frequently 
made the object of most virulent attacks both during his life and afterwards, there were few 
men of his time who more distinctly left traces of an improving hand on the Burgh. He was 
born in Crieff in 1744, and came to Dundee at an early age, where he began business as 
a merchant. His energy and activity soon brought him into notice, and he was introduced to 
public life while yet a young man. The first office which he held in the Council was that 
of Treasurer, and to this post he was appointed at the date of his admission as Burgess— 2Gth 
September, 1776. In this important capacity he served the Burgh till 1781, was made Bailie in 
1782, 1784, and 1786, and was elected to fill the Provost's chair in 178S. From the latter date 
until 1818 the position of Chief Magistrate was held either by himself or by some one who 
submitted to his dictation ; and he held almost undisputed sway in the Burgh during a most 
critical period of its history. The foundation of his fortune must have been laid at an early 
part of his career, for in 1779 he was in a position to lend £300 to the Town at a time when 
money was raised to an exceptional value by its scarcity. He foresaw an advancement in the 
value of building sites within the burgh boundaries, and he acquired — apparently by perfectly 
fair means, as shown by the Minutes of Council of that period — many of the vacant pieces of 
ground and a number of the ruinous houses in what is now the centre of the town, at very reason- 
able rates. Castle Street was projected and opened up by him, after he had secured the ground on 
both sides of it ; Crichton Street was laid out by his advice for the purpose of providing a ready 
access to the Harbour from High Street; and Tay Street was projected and carried through whilst 
his rule in the Council was almost absolute. He has often been accused of only bringing forward 
his proposed improvements after he had become proprietor of the ground which was to be 
enhanced by them ; but it must be allowed that in many cases he sold the property which he 
had acquired to the Town at the price he had paid for it, and his profit was more frequently 
prospective than immediate. 

The system of election to civic offices prevalent at the time tended to throw the full control 
of the Burgh into the hands of the Provost, and Mr RiDDOCH availed himself of the power thus 
legally bestowed upon him ; but when an attempt was made to reform the abuses that had arisen 
through this close system, he gave his opinion upon this point most frankly. A Select Committee 
of the House of Commons was appointed in 1819 to consider the subject of Burgh Reform, and 



ALEXANDER EIDDOCH. 227 

Provost Riddoch was called before them as a witness. Iii the Report of this Committee, which 
is engrossed in the Council Minute of 21st Septembei-, 1819, the following passage occurs : — 

"Provost Kidiliicli clones his evkleuoe by declaring that, on mature consideration, and after an experi- 
ence of forty years, it is his opinion that a legislative enactment to enable the Burgesses of Dundee to chuse 
their own Magistrates would give general satisfaction, and be ' a very, very great benefit, both to the town 
and the country.' " 

His own actions in his capacity of Councillor and Provost were severely condemned by 
several of the other witnesses examined by this Committee. The Town-Clerk, Mi- William 
Small, said : — " I believe that previous to last election no person, however fit for office, would 
have been elected, without it had been understood that he would support Mr RiDDOCH. The 
persons admitted have accordingly almost ahvays voted with him. If tliey opposed him, which 
they never did effectually, they were not re-elected." This is a very high though unintentional 
testimony in favour of Mr Riddoch ; for it is impossible to believe that anyone could have 
found a Council subservient to his wishes for thirty years if he had not been possessed of rare 
ability. 

Mr Riddoch's last appearance in the Council was at the election ou 23rd September, 1819, 
forty-three years after he had first taken his seat as a Councillor. He did not afterwards officiate 
hi a public capacity, though he was unfortunately involved in a dispute with the Harbour Com- 
missioners regarding a part of his property at the foot of Castle Street, which interfered with the 
Dock that they were then constructing, and for which he asked what was considered at the time 
an exorbitant price. That dispute was not entirely concluded when his death occurred, on 9th 
December, 1822. His character is thus summed up in an obituary notice of him which appeared 
in the Dundee Advertiser of 19th December in that year: — 

" He was shrewd, subtle, prudent, courteou.s, dexterous in the selection of persons fitted to act under 
him, admirable in the art of attaching them to Iiis interests." 

Mr Riddoch was buried in the Howff, where his tombstone bears the following inscription : — 

•' To the Memory of Alexander Riddoch, Esql'-' for many 
years Provost of Dundee, and one of His Majesty's Deputy- 
Lieutenants for Forfarshire, who died 9th December, 1822, 

aged 78 years. 
A man of strict integrity ; a sincere and constant friemf ; 
a Magistrate whose firmness and moderation, in times of 
difficulty and danger, were of great benefit to the community." 

By a deed of settlement, executed 19th March, 1822, Provost Riddoch directed that £500 
should be invested on heritable security, the annual interest to be applied for the purpose of 
defraying the cost of maintaining such poor insane patients in the Lunatic Asylum near Dundee 
as should not have sufficient means to do so themselves. 



228 COLONEL JOHN CAMPBELL. 

1780. September 4th. 
COLONEL JOHN CAMPBELL of Boquhan. 

Though the uame of Colonel Campbell is not inserted in its chronological place on the 
Burgess-Roll, the date of his admission and the occasion of it are shown by the Minute of the 
Town Council for 4th September, 1780. At that time it was thought that Mr George Dempster, 
who had long repre.seuted the Perth, Fife, and Forfar District of Burghs in Parliament, was 
inclined to retire, and Colonel Campbell wrote to the Provost of Dundee offering his services. 
The letter was read at the meeting of Council, but the members were so satisfied with Mr 
Dempster that they were not inclined to offer any hope to an opponent. To testify their 
appreciation of the honour he had contemplated for them, " the Provost was requested to 
transmit to Mr DuNCAN, their Agent in Edinburgh, the freedom of the Town to CoL. Campbell 
how soon he knew of his being in Edinburgh, and present him with it, in name of the Council." 

Colonel John Campbell was the third and youngest son of Andrew Fletcher of Salton, who 
was a Lord of Session, with the title of Lord Milton, and also Lord-Justice Clerk. The barony 
of Boquhan is situated in the Parish of Kippen and County of Stirling. It had long formed 
part of the extensive possessions of the Argyll family. Though far distant from their principal 
territories, Boquhan was sometimes bestowed on the eldest sons of the Earls of Argyll as a 
provision during their apparency. In later times the barony of Boquhan was bestowed on a 
younger son of the Argyll family. Archibald, ninth Earl of Argyll, who \vas the father of 
the first Duke, bestowed Boquhan upon his youngest sou, James Campbell, who took the 
territorial designation of Boquhan. It was to him that his father wrote one of his farewell letters 
from the Castle of Edinburgh a few hours before his execution. James Campbell of Boquhan 
became a Colonel in the army. He left three sons, the second of whom, Charles Campbell, pur- 
chased the barony of Boquhan, and left it to his sister, Mary^ Campbell. She was the intimate 
friend and relative of Andrew Fletcher, Lord Milton. Having no children, she made an 
entail of Boquhan in favour of the second son of Lord Milton, then Colonel Henry Fletcher, 
who was bound on succeeding to Boquhan to drop the name of Fletcher and assume that of 
Campbell. Having succeeded his eldest brother, Andrew Fletcher, in the estate of Salton in 
1779, he re-assumed his original surname of Fletcher, and di'opped that of Campbell. The 
barony of Boquhan, in terms of the entail, passed from him to his next younger brother, CoLONEL 
John Fletcher, who thereupon became Colonel Campbell of Boquhan. Both Colonel 
Henry and Colonel John became Generals in the army. They were the intimate friends of 
John Home, the author of Doxiglas, and of many of the other distinguished literary men of 
their time. 

Soon after his succession to the estate of Boquhan in the year 1779, Colonel John Camp- 
bell aspired to the representation in Parliament of the Forfar Burghs, as appears from his 
application to the Provost of Dundee. His eldest bi-other, Andrew, long represented his 
native County of Haddington in Parliament ; but Colonel John does not appear to have ever 



JOHN RAMSAY L'AMY, 229 

entered Parliament. He lield the barony of Boqiihau till the year 1803, when, on the death of 
his elder brother, CoLONEL Henry Fletcher, he succeeded to the estate of Salton, and re- 
assumed his original surname of Fletcher. He possessed Salton till his death in the year 180G. 
He left two sons, Andrew and Henry. The former succeeded to the barony of Boquhan in 
1803, and became Andrew Campbell of Boquhan, which he possessed till the year 1806, when 
on the death of his father, he succeeded to the estate of Salton, and became Andrew Fletcher 
of Salton. His only brother, Henry, succeeded him in Boquhan under the designation of 
Henry Fletcher Campbell of Boquhan. He was the father of the present Henry Fletcher 
Campbell of Boquhan. The entails of these two estates of Salton and Boquhan caused a 
circling series of Fletchers and Campbells, which gave rise in recent times to a litigation 
to determine the exact meaning of the respective heirs to Boquhan. The intricacy as to the 
designations of these two families was increased by the second son of the late Mr Henry 
Campbell of Boquhan having been provided to the estate of Castle Wig, in the County of 
Wigton, who, in terms of the entail, has had to drop the name of Campbell, and is now Colonel 
John Hathorn. When these three near relatives, each bearing a separate surname, were 
assembled with strangers, mistakes not imfrequently occurred. 



1780. September 26th. 
Which day JOHN EAMSAY L'AMY, Esq":- of Dunkenny, is admitted Burgess 

BY THE PRIVILEGE OF THE DECEASED J AMES EaMSAY^ MERCHANT, BURGESS 

OF Dundee, his Father. 

The name of L'Amy' or Lamby has been associated with the estate of Dunkenny since 
the beginning of the fifteenth century, and it was possessed by a family of that name till about 
the middle of the seventeenth century. The property then passed out of their hands for some 
time, but was again in the possession of a LAmy in 1G84. The exact connection of James 
Ramsay, merchant, Dundee, with this family does not appear, but it is probable that his son 
whose name is here enrolled came into the estate through his mother, and assumed her name in 
addition to his own. By a Deed, dated 9th January, 1734, James Ramsay handed over to 
trustees, consisting of the Provost, Bailies, Dean of Guild, and Convener of the Trades, the sum 
of 2,000 merks to be applied in building and furnishing "a Workhouse within the Town of 
Dundee, for' containing idle and vagrant persons, as well men as women, to be employed in such 
work as the patrons should think fit ; and in the second place, to furniish necessary utensils and 
instruments for performing the work wherein the said persons should be employed for their 
subsistence, or otherwise for promoting virtue and manufactory in the Workhouse." An altera- 
tion was made in this charity by the Town Council, with consent of the founder, on 22nd April 
1743, by which the patrons were permitted to apply the sum of £100 Scots annually towards the 
salary of a teacher of Mathematics, until a Workhou.se should be erected, and this arrangement 



230 THOMAS BELL. 

was continued for many years. The interest on the capital smn was paid for some time to the 
cashier for the Workhouse, which was fitted up in the Old Hospital, and the idea of building a 
separate Workhouse was abandoned. James Ramsay was buried in the Howff, lair No. 805, and 
his tombstone is thus inscribed : — 

" Hia conduntur reh'quce Jacohi Ramsay , • 

quondam in hac urbe mercaforis, 
qui ohiit Anno D. 1753, cetatis 63. 
Joarmes Ramsay UAmy de Dunkenny 
tarn gen. pri. et ejusdem natu maximus. 
F. H. P. C" 

[Here He the remains of James Eamsay, formerly mercliant in tliis Lurgli, who died a.d. 1753, aged 
63. John Eamsay L'Amy of Dunkenny, his eldest son, and now Chief of the Race (of L'Amy), caused 
this to be erected.] 

John Ramsay L'Amy was born circa 1730, and was naarried in 1760 to Agnes, daughter of 
Robert Hamilton of Kilbrachmont, in Fife. His house in Dundee stood at the foot of Couttie's 
Wynd, facing the shore, and was in the possession of his family when Union Street was opened 
up. He was not officially connected with public affaii's in the Burgh ; but in the election of the 
Town Council on 28th September, 1780, he acted as proxy for George Dempster of Dunnichen, 
and it was for the purjDose of qualifying him for the task that his name was entered on the 
Burgess-Roll. When a proposal was made in 1783 to purchase the old Meal Market and Guard- 
house in the High Street for the purpose of building an English Episcopal Chapel on the site 
which they occupied, Mr L'Amy was one of those who laid the matter before the Town Council 
and carried the project into operation. On 4th April, 1798, he was sent by the Council as Com- 
missioner to the General Assembly, a duty seldom delegated to any one not actively engaged in 
the public service. He survived till 1814, his wife having predeceased him in 1782. His son, 
James L'Amy, Sheriff-Depute of Forfarshire, was enrolled as a Burgess on 4th October, 1825. 



1782. October 7th. 

THOMAS BELL, Merchant in Dundee, was admitted Burgess for having 
BEEN A Free Apprentice to Alexander Biddoch, Merchant in Dundee, 
AND having paid Forty Pounds Scots to the said Alexander Eiddoch. 
when Treasurer, in pull of his Freedom. 

Thomas Bell was the third son of John Bell of Kilduncan and Bonnytown, Fife, and 
was born on 19th July, 1759. He entered into partnership with ALEXANDER Balfour 
(afterwards Provost), and established the firm of Bell & Balfour, merchants and flaxspinners 
in Dundee. For many years both he and his partner were members of the Town Council, and 
both occupied the Provost's chair. Mr Bell entered the Council in 1791, was Treasurer in 1795, 



ADMIRAL LORD RODNEY. 231 

Bailie from 1796 to 1803, and retired from the Council in 1804. Having re-entered the Council 
in 1819, he was again chosen Bailie in 1821, held that office till 1827, and was elected Provost 
as successor to Mr Balfour in 1828 and 1829. He died on 9th January, 1844, in the eighty- 
fifth year of his age. An elegant monument was lately erected to his memory over his grave 
(No. 47) in the Howff. 



1782. November 11th. 

ADMIRAL LORD RODNEY. 

The Town-Clerk of this period — Mr William Chalmers — seems to have regarded the 
Burgess-Roll as reserved solely for the names of those Burgesses who paid for their admission in 
the usual way ; consequently few of the Honorary Freemen are enrolled for several years in the 
ordinary form, and the record of their admission is only to be found in the Minutes of the Town 
Council. This has been the case with the renowned naval commander whose name is here noted. 
The Council Minute of 11th November, 1782, referring to his entry as a Burgess, is in these 
terms : — 

" Ths Council considering the eminent and distinguished services performed by Lord Eodney on the 
Twelfth day of April last, Tliey imanimously resolve to present bis Lordship with the freedom of this 
Corporation, as a mark cf their respect for so illustrious a character; and to ask the favour of Mr 
Dempster to deliver it. And the Council request the Provost to write in the most respectful! terms to his 
Lordship on that occasion." 

In pursuance of this Act of Council, Provost John Pitcairn wrote a letter to Lord Rodney 
intimating the resolution, and received a reply from his Lordship accepting the honour conferred 
upon him. The letter and reply were ordered to be engrossed in the Minute-Book on 6th 
January, 1783, and are as follows : — 

"Dundee, Nov. 13, 1782. 
"My Lord, 

The glorious actions atchieved by your Lordship, while they add lustre to the British 
arms, merit highly every return of gratitude from your country. Animated by this principle, the 
Magistrates and Town-Council, representing the Corporation of Dundee, have directed me, in the most 
respectful terms to acknowledge tlieir high sense of the eminent services performed by your Lordship to 
the British empire, and particularly of that decisive victory over its enemies on the 12tb of April last ; a 
victory equally splendid and beneficial in its consequences, and which will ever stand distinguished in the 
annals of a country where naval merit is the chief boast. 

" Ambitious, my Lord, to see a name so illustrious ranked among their citizens, they have done them- 
selves the honour to present your Lordship with the freedom of their Corporation, which will be dehvered 
by Mr Dempster, their representative in Parliament. 

"The sentiments from which this mark of their respect is offered will, they flatter themselves, render 
it acceptable to your liOrdship. — I have the honour to be, with the utmost respect, my Lord, 

" Your Lordship's most obedient, and most humble servant, 

" JOHN PITCAIRN, Provost." 



232 ADMIRAL LORD RODNEY. 

Lord Rodney's Reply. 

" LoNDO>f, Dec. 10, 1782. 

" Sir, 

Your representative, Mr Dempster, has delivered to me your obliging letter, accompanied 

with the freedom of the town of Dundee. Be pleased. Sir, to signify to every individual member of your 

Corporation tlie just sense of the honour they have been pleased to confer on me, by admitting me to the 

freedom of one of the most considerable maritime towns in the northern part of Great Britain. 

"It cannot but be flattering to me to find my conduct, while I had the honour to command His 

Majesty's fleets, has met with the approbation of gentlemen so peculiarly interested in the naval glory of 

our country. My particular thanks are also due, Sir, to you, for the elegant and obliging expressions with 

which you have been pleased to accompany so honourable a mark of the partiality of your Good Town 

towards me : — -I beg you will permit me to subscribe myself, with every respect, Sir, 

" Your much obliged and most obedient humble servant, 

" KODNEY." 

George Brydges Rodney, Baron Rodney of Rodney Stoke, Somerset, was the second son 
of Henry Rodney of Walton-upou-Thames, and was bom on 19th February, 1718. When only 
twelve years of age he was sent to sea, and was stationed for six years off the Newfoundland coast, 
serving under Admiral Medley. He was made Lieutenant in 1739, and three years later was 
raised to the rank of Captain, in which capacity he performed several daring exploits when acting 
as convoy for British merchantmen trading to foreign ports. In 17-t8 he was appointed Governor 
and Commander-in-Chief on the Newfoundland station, witli the rank of Commodore. For 
several years after his return from America he was actively engaged in numerous expeditions 
against the French ; and in 1759, after twenty-eight years' service, he was made Rear- Admiral, and 
commanded the squadron which successfully bombarded Havre-de-Grace. His services in the 
West Indies were both brilliant and victorious, and shortly after the conclusion of peace, in 1763, 
he was created a Baronet. At an earlier date (1752) he had taken his seat in the House of 
Commons as Member for Saltash, and in 1768 he was returned, after a severe contest, as the 
representative of Northampton ; but the expense of the election was so extreme that he was 
compelled to leave the country and retire for several years to Paris. His most glorious exploits 
were achieved after his return to England in 1779. Having been appointed Commander-in-Chief 
of Barbadoes and the Leeward Islands, he set out in January, 1780, for this station, and before he 
had been ten days at sea he captured sixteen Spanish transports and seven ships of war. 
A Spanish fleet, consisting of eleven line-of-battle ships and two frigates, engaged him off Cape 
St Vincent, and he succeeded in capturing four and destroying two of them. Three months after- 
wards the French fleet, under Count De Guichen, opposed him near Martinique, and on this 
occasion his victory was so brilliant and complete that he received the thanks of Parliament, and 
was awarded an annual pension of £2,000. When the war with Holland broke out in 1781 he was 
instructed to attack the Dutch possessions in the West Indies, and he succeeded in taking the 
island of St Eustatia, in which there was an immense treasure valued at over three millions 
sterling. The great action of his life, however, and that which prompted the Town Council 
of Dundee to do him special honour, took place on 12th April, 1782. On the death of 
Admiral Hawke, Sir George Rodney had been appointed Vice- Admiral of Great Britain, and 
in January, 1782, he set out for the West Indies, was joined by Sir Samuel Hood near Antigua, 
and was thus placed in command of a fleet consisting of thirty-six sail of the line. Count de 



ALEXANDER BALFOUR. 2:33 

Grasse, who coimnandod the French fleet on that station, wliich ruunbered fifty-three sail, 
was then in Fort Royal Bay, Martinii[ue ; and Admiral Rodney, though his force was much 
inferior, determined to attack him. After a severe confiict lasting over eleven hours, Rodney 
succeeded in breaking the French line by a bold maneeuvre, devised by John Clerk of Eldia but 
not heretofore put in practice, and totally routed the French fleet, taking many valuable vessels 
captive. The Admiral's ship, the ViUe de Paris, containing much treasure, struck her colours, 
and the Count was taken prisoner, making, as Rodney wrote in his account of the engagement, 
the fourth Admiral that he had captured within two years. On his return he received the thanks 
of Parliament, and was raised to the Peerage with the title of Baron Rodney. This was 
the crowning triumph of his long career, for by it the French navy was disabled from opposing 
Britain for a long time. Four years afterwards — 24th May, 1792 — LoRD Rodney died in 
Loudon, having reached his seventy-fourth year. His record was unprecedented in the naval 
aunals of the country, for he had beeu sixty-two years in the service and fifty years in commission. 
A monument was erected to his memory in S. Paul's Cathedral, Loudon, at the public expense. 



1791. September 27th. 

ALEXANDER BALFOUR, Merchant in Dundee, was admitted Burgess for 
HAVING PAID Three Pounds Six Shillings and Eightpence Stg. to 
John Jobson, when Treasurer, and having been a Free Apprentice 
to Bailie John Thoms, Merchant, Burgess of Dundee. 

Alexander Balfour was born at Kilmany, Fife, in 1765, and came to Dundee in early 
youth, and entered himself as apprentice to Bailie John Thoms, one of the leading merchants of 
that time. In 1780 he entered into partnership with Mr Thomas Bell as merchant and flax- 
spinner, and founded the well-known firm of Bell & Balfour. He entered the Town Council 
in 1793, and held the office of Dean of Guild on five different occasions (179.5-97-99-1801-3), 
alternating that j^ost with Provost John Guild (vide page 225). He was Bailie in the alternate 
years from 1794 to 1802, but in consequence of a dispute on the question of church patronage he 
retired in 1804, and took no part in public affairs for many years. Li 1823 he returned to the 
Council, and in 1826, 1827, and 1830 he was Provost of Dundee. It was during his term 
of office that the memorable dispute betwixt the Guildry and the Town Council occurred, which 
resulted in the disfranchisement of the Burgh, and he and other members of the Council 
were superseded by order of the Court of Session, and a new Council elected under a Poll 
Warrant. After the municipal constitution had been re-arranged, he again entered the Council 
and served as a Common Councillor from 1841 to 1844. At the latter date he retired and took 
uo further f)art ia the affairs of tlie Burgh, devoting all his attention to business, and to several 
of the charitable institutions in Dundee. He died on 8th November, 1855, in his ninetieth year. 
His son, Henry Balfour, was admitted Burgess on 25th February, 1818. 

2 f 



234 WILLIAM LINDSAY. 



1708. May 23rd. 

WILLIAM LINDSAY, Merchant in Dundee, was admitted Burgess for 
HAVING PAID One Hundred Merks Scots to Thomas "Webster, Jun'I' 
present Treasurer, in full of his Freedom. 



William Lindsay', afterwards famuiis ay Provost of Dundee, could claim desceut from the 
same stock a.s the Earls of Craufurd, who were so long honourably connected with the Burgh. 
His direct ancestor was Sir William Lindsay of Eossie, younger brother of that first Earl of 
Craufurd who settled in Dundee circa 1390, and founded the chapel of S. Nicholas on the 
Craig (vide page 12). The branch of the family to which he belonged was that of the LINDSAY'S 
of Dowhill, his great-grandfather being the famous WiLLiAM Lindsay, Bishop of Dunkeld, who 
died in 1679. James Lindsay, the son of the Bishop, succeeded to Dowhill on the death of his 
uncle, but was compelled through misfortune (caused principall}' by his loyalty to the Stuart 
family) to disjjose of the greater portion of his ancestral estate, and was the last Linds.ay Laird of 
Dowhill. The two sons of James Lindsay were plunged into still deeper distress by their 
adherence to the ancient dynasty. Martin Lindsay, the elder son — the father of Provost 
Lindsay — sold the last remnant of his patrimony and joined Prince Charles Edward in the 
unfortunate Rebellion of 1745, with the result that he was captured and tried with the other rebel 
prisoners at Carlisle in September, 1746, and acquitted. In the arraignment he is described as a 
" writer," aud after his release he seems to have settled in Edinburgh, where he was employed in 
the Record Office. James Lindsay', the younger son, was not so fortunate as his brother. He was 
found guilty of treason and condemned to death, but a reprieve was granted to him at the moment 
he was stepping ujion the sledge which was to take him to the place of execution (vide Scots 
Magazine, Vol. viii., page S^-i)- The mental anxiety, however, which he had undergone had 
unhinged his rniud, and the remainder of his life was overclouded thereby. 

After his settlement in Edinburgh, Martin Lindsay was married to Miss Smytiie of 
Methven Castle, aud William Lindsay, the Provost of Dundee, was the youngest of his three- 
sons. He was born at Edinburgh in 1767, entered the High School there in 1778, and afterwards 
studied for the purpose of practising as a Writer to the Signet, in which Society he was enrolled 
in 17S9. After serving seven 3'ears he abandoned his intention. He came to Dundee in 1792, aud 
entered into commercial life in company with his brother-in-law, Mr A. J. Mackenzie. They estab- 
lished themselves as corn-merchants in the High Street, and gradually extended the business until 
they were ranked amongst tlie largest exporters of grain in the Burgh. His first house was at Sea 
Wynd (126 Nethergate), but the ground at Carolina Port, near the old " Bottlehonse" or Glass- 
work, was acquired by him in 1801, and he repaired and utilized tlie uld pier there for loading 
and unloading the trading ships engaged in this traffic. The exporting of grain had long been 



WILLIAM LINDSAY. 235 

regarded with disfavour by the inhabitants of Dundee, as they attributed tlie high price of 
victual to the demand for bread-stuffs outside of the Kingdom, and tliey thought to reduce the 
markets by forcibly interdicting exportation. A notable instance of their action in this matter 
has already been referred to (vide page 218) ; and when the dearth occurred after the close of 
the Continental War, Mr LlNDSAY was regarded as one of the chief enemies of the people. A 
great corn-riot took place in Dundee in 181 G, and the mob not only seized the grain which Mr 
Lindsay had in store, but also attacked and ransacked his house at Carolina Port, exactly as they 
had done to Mr Dempster's a hundred years befoi-e. Despite the serious loss thus incurred, Mr 
Lindsay prosecuted his vocation, and succeeded in making his enterprises remtinerative. In 
1819 he was elected Convener of the Nine Incorporated Trades of Dundee, and was especially 
jictive in support of the right of the Guildry to participate in civic govei-nmeut. At this 
time he was the principal partner in the Pleasance Brewery, now carried on by Provost 
Ballingall. He was elected Dean of Guild in 1827 and 1828, and in the latter year was 
appointed a Justice of the Peace and Commissioner of Supply for Forfarshire. In 1830 he first 
appeared at the Town Council as Councillor for the Guildry, and in this capacity he lodged a 
long protest against the Constitution of the Council, engrossed in the Minute of 30th September. 
During this year he served as Harbour Commissioner for the Guildry, and also as a member of 
the Committee of the Chamber of Commerce, which had not tlien been incorporated. He was 
placed in the Provost's chair as successor of Robert Jobson in 1831 and 1832, and was the first 
to occupy this post after the passing of the Reform Bill. In the agitation for political reform he 
had ever taken an active part ; and he was the first Provost of Dundee that administered the 
Reform Bill. 

Apart from his municipal career, Provost Lindsay had taken a deep interest in the 
establishment of the Dundee Seminaries, and had devoted much time and energy to the 
improvement of education in the Burgh, a work which he left at his decease in a very forward 
state. His portrait was painted by Mr Andrews, the first Drawing-Master of the High School, 
for the jDurpose of being presented to the Town as a memorial of his labours in this matter ; but 
this intention was frustrated, and it is now in the possession of his grand-daughters, the Misses 
Lindsay, Dundee. 

At the time of the threatened invasion of 1803, a regiment of volunteers was raised in 
Dundee, of which Mr Lindsay was appointed Captain. 

When the Dundee and Arbroath Railway was projected. Provost Lindsay found himself 
involved in serious litigation. The line which had been sui'veyed ran through his property at 
Carolina Port, and practically cut him oft" from access to the pier which had proved so useful to 
him. He claimed compensation for this infringement, to which the Railway Company demurred, 
and after pursuing his case to the House of Lords, he found that the sum offered (£1,000) would 
not nearly liquidate the expenses which had accumulated upon him, and he was forced to hand 
over his property at Carolina Port to his creditors. His advanced age precluded him from 
attempting to repair his dilapidated fortune — the produce of long years of labour — and from this 
blow he never quite recovered. Ho died on 17th April, 1849, having completed the patriarchal 
term of eighty-two years, and was buried in the churchyard of St Andrews in the Cowgait of 
Dundee, where his tombstone bears the following inscription : — 



2.'J6 THOMAS IVORY. 

" Sacred to the memory of William Lindsay of Carolina Port, 
of the Family of Dowhill, Kinross-sliire. 
Born 30* March, 1767 ; died 1751' April, 1849. 
Also of 
Alison ^lackeiizie, his wife, Jlmii lltj} June, 17G7; died I'l'l' .Inly, 1.^44. 
They were married 20'J} February, 1792, and lived happily together 5.3 years. 
They had twelve children, two of whom, Donald William and Marion, 
Having died in Infancy, lie buried here. 



This stone is erected by their surviving children : — Four sons and six ilaughters." 

At the time of the formation of a uew street running north from the Nethergait on the west 
side of the Old Steejjle of Dundee, it was decided to commemorate the work of Pkovost 
Lindsay for the Burgh bj' naming this thoroughfare " Lindsay Street" after him, and it still bears 
this designation. 

William Lindsay was married in 1792, before he settled in Dundee, to Alison Mackenzie, 
of Stirling, and had a numerous family. His four sons were — Martin William Lindsay, 
a Burgess of Dundee, who wrote the Memoirs of the Lindsays of DoivhUl, quoted from MS. by 
the late Earl of Craufurd in his Lives of the Lindsays; John Mackenzie Lindsay, 
who became partner with his father, and whose two sons and five daughters are now resident in 
Dundee ; Major William Lindsay, 10th Native Infantry, who with his wife, widowed sister and 
her whole family (three daughters and a son), were massacred at Cawupore, 1857 ; and James 
Charles Lindsay, banker, Broughty Ferry, who died there suddenly in 1S80. John Mackenzie 
Lindsay, the second son, was admitted Burgess on 18th October, 1820, and was for many years 
an Assessor to the Guildry. He was actively engaged in public affairs, was a Governor of the 
Infirmary, Director of the Dundee Lunatic Asylum, Police Commissioner, and Convener of 
Finance Committee ; and for a long time was Manager of the Savings Bank in Dundee. 
It is related by Martin William Lindsay in his " Memoirs" that his father. Provost 
Lindsay, in the summer of 1846, " had the enjoyment of seeing under his own roof at one time 
thirty-seven of his descendants, consisting of children and grandchildren, sous-iu-law and 
daughters-in-law — to which number, when we add his sou in India and two absent grandchildren, 
he was able to reckon forty-one persons of his own descendants, all in health, filling their places in 
society respectably, according to their rank and years" (Lives of the Lindsays, Vol. II., page 
287). One of Provost Lindsay's daughters was married to Mr Charles W. Boase, banker, 
Dundee, whose name was entered on the Burgess-Roll on 1st September, 1831. 



1795. July 6th. 
THOMAS IVORY, Watchmaker, Dundee, was admitted Burgess by the 

PRIVILEGE OF THE DECEASED JaMES IvORY, HIS FATHER. 

Thomas Ivory was the third son of James Ivory, watchmaker, who was admitted Burgess on 
22nd September, 1767 (vide page 223), and for a considerable time followed the same occupation 



ADMIRAL LORD VISCOUNT DUNCAN. 237 

as his father. His talent as a draughtsman led him to abandon this calling early in the present 
century, and to take up the art of engraving ; and he is believed to have been the first native 
engraver in Dundee. He executed illustrations for an edition of Rollin's Ancient History, 
published in Dundee by Francis Ray, in 1800 ; and he was also employed to furnish numerous 
maps of the Town and Harbour to accompany the various reports of eminent engineers as to 
proposed extensions of the harbour and the establishment of the Tay Ferries. His best- 
known work was a set of copy-lines prepared for teaching handwriting, published in 1811, 
and long used as a model in the Dundee Schools. In 1815 he was elected by the Nine Trades as 
Commissioner anent the Harbour Bill ; and though he did not take an active part in civic govern- 
ment, he was regarded as a severe and intelligent critic of the " self-elected " Council of the time. 
He made the education of the youth of Dundee his sjiecial study, and it was largely owing to his 
trenchant letters, signed " Parens," in the newspapers of the period, that important reforms were 
accomplished in the scholastic system within the Burgh. His literarjf abilities were analytical 
rather than constructive, and several of his criticisms upon popular literary works were piiblished 
in pamphlet form, and are evidently the productions of a refined and cultivated mind. He died 
circa 1825. His son. Lord Ivory of Session, was admitted Burgess on 21st November, 1810, 
and another son, William Ivory, writer, Dundee, was enrolled on 6th April, 1818. 



17!)7. October 26th. 

ADMIRAL LORD VISCOUNT DUNCAN of Camperdown. 

For the reason already specified (ride page 231) the name of Admiral Duncan has not been 
entered beside that of other Burgesses of the time. He was made a freeman of the principal 
Crafts on Sth January, 1798, and the Minute of Council for 2Gth October, 1797, contains 
the following entry : — 

" The Council luianiniou.sly resolve to present Admiral Lord Viscount Duncan with a piece of plate 
value One Hundred Guineas, witli a .suitable inscription, as a mark of their esteem for his Lordship, and 
of their high sense of the signal and splendid victory obtained by his Lordship over tlie Dutch Fleet on the 
Eleventh day of October last, of so much consequence to the prosperity of CIreat Lritain." 

Adam Duncan, first Viscount Duncan, was the second son of Provost Alexander 
Duncan of Lundie {vide page 211), and of Helen Haldane, daughter of John Haldane 
of Gleneagles. The proclamation of the marriage of his parents is thus recorded in the Parish 
Register of Fowlis Easter : — 

" flfebruary "ind, 1724. — Proclaimed Alexander Duncan of Lundie and MU Helen Haldane, daughter 
of the late Laird of Glenea<'les, in Llackfcjrd Parish." 



238 ADMIRAL LORD VISCOUNT DUNCAN. 

Alexander Duncan, the eldest sou of this marriage, became a Lieut. -Colonel iu tlie army, 
and died without issue, when the estate fell to the Admiral. The birth of Adam Duncan, the 
second son, which took place iu his father's house in the Seagait of Dundee, is entered in the 
Register of Baptisms for Dundee iu these terms : — 

"1731, -Tuly 1?' — Alex'.' Duncan of Lundie and Helen Haklaiie liad :i .sou baptised Adam." 

The house in which Adam Duncan was born had been the town mansion of the Stewarts 
of Grandtully, and was afterwards occupied as the Blue Bell Inn. It was demolished about 
twenty years ago (August, 186S), and its site was beside that now occupied by S. Paul's Episcopal 
Church. 

When about fifteen years of age Adam Duncan entered the Royal Navy as midshipman under 
Captain Robert Haldane, and served with him on board the " Shoreham" frigate for three 
years. Iu 1749 he entered as midshipman the " Centurion," of 50 guns, which was fitting 
out as fiag-ship for Admiral Keppel ; and he remained with this ship for six years. He was 
promoted to the rank of Lieutenant on 10th January, 1755, and accompanied Keppel to North 
America with the British forces under General Braddock that were sent against the French 
troops in that (juarter. On his returu to England, Admiral Keppel transferred his flag to the 
" Torbay," and DuNCAN accompanied him as Second Lieutenant. For nearly three years he was 
retained on the home-station, and was not in active service until his ship was sent on an expedi- 
tion against the French settlement at Goree, on the African coast, and he returued thence 
slightly wounded, with the rank of First Lieutenant. From this period his promotion was rapid. 
On 21st September, 1759, he was gazetted Commander, and on 25th February, 1761, was made 
Post-Captain, and appointed to the " Valiant," of 74 guns, serving again under his steadfast 
friend. Admiral Keppel. When the latter conducted the famous expedition against Belleisle he 
hoisted his broad pennant on board the " Valiant," and Duncan was honourably distinguished for 
his bravery on this occasion. His next important service was in the protracted hostilities against 
the Sjjaniards in the West Indies, and after performing several brilliant exploits here, he 
remained with Keppel on the Jamaica Station till the conclusion of the war. Britain was 
at peace for several years, and Captain Duncan was not actively employed until the war was 
renewed by the combination of the French and Spanish fleets in 1778, and he was appointed to 
the command of the " Monarch," under Admiral Sir Charles Hardy. During this and 
the following year the British fleet was compelled to act on the defensive, as their opponents 
were too powerful for them to attack with much prospect of success ; but when British ships of 
war that were then in different parts of the world were ordered home, a powerful flotilla was 
organized under Admiral Rodney, and despatched to the relief of Gibraltar at the close of 1779. 
Here Captain Duncan again won distinction by his daring bravery, and was honourably noticed 
in the official reports of the expedition. After a brief period of inaction, he returued to Gibraltar 
in 1782 under Admirai. Howe, and was specially mentioned for his bravery in the conflict which 
took place oft' the Straits in October of that year. On the termination of hostilities in 1783, he 
was transferred to the " Edgar," of 74 guns, one of the guardships stationed at Portsmouth, and 
here he remained for the usual period of three years. On 14th September he was promoted to 
the rank of Rear- Admiral of the Blue, and three years afterwards he was made Rear- Admiral of 



ADMIRAL LORD VISCOUNT DIINCAN. 239 

the White. He was raised to be Vice- Admiral of the Blue on 1st February, 1793 ; Vice-Admiral 
of the White on 12th April, 1794; and Admiral of the Blue on 1st June, 1795. This rapid 
promotion seems to indicate that his services were highly appreciated, yet it is stated that 
he considered himself as under-valued. " He frequently solicited a command, but his request 
was not complied with, and in consequence, it is said that he had it in contemplation to retire 
altogether from the service, and to accept a civil appointment connected with the Navy." But 
in April, 1795, he was placed in a position which enabled him to show his capacity and to win 
immortal renown. He was then appointed Commander-in-Chief iu the North Seas, and hoisted 
his flag on board the " Venerable," of 74 guns — a vessel afterwards made memorable in connection 
with his name. After a short but successful cruise in the North Sea he returned to England iu 
1797 with several French and Dutch prizes, and whilst his fleet was lying in Yarmouth Roads, 
he managed by his intrepid conduct to quell the first symptoms of disaffection amongst the men 
under his command, who had been encouraged to revolt after the incident of the Mutiny at the 
Nore. 

On 28th May, 1797, he received orders to blockade the Dutch fleet umler Admiral De 
Winter in the Texel, and though the ships under his command were quite inadequate to 
warrant him in risking an engagement, he succeeded in keeping his opponents within the harbour 
for more than eighteen weeks. Finding that his provisions were running short, he was compelled 
to return to Yarmouth to refit, and though no time was lost in accomplishing this movement, he 
found the Dutch Admiral had taken the opportunity of his absence to venture into the open sea. 
He returned with all expedition to his former cruising ground, and on 11th October he 
encountered De Winter off the coast between the villages of Egmont and Camperdown. An 
engagement of the most sant;uiuary and brilliant character ensued. Admiral Duncan formed 
his line of battle so as to get the principal Dutch ships betwixt him and the shore, but in such a 
position as enabled him to send a portion of his own fleet to leeward to prevent them receiving 
support from the coast. The Dutch maintained the contest with great bravery for five hours, but 
they were so closely engaged, and their loss was so excessive, that De Winter was at last 
compelled to surrender, and gave up his sword to Admiral Duncan on board the " Venerable." 
The despatch in which DuNCAN announced this most important victory has been often printed, 
and need not be quoted here. The following letter, however, has not been published, and is of 
special interest, having been written by Admiral Duncan to his brother-in-law, Robert Dundas 
of Arniston, Lord Advocate of Scotland, before the Admiral had landed: — 

" My dear Advocate, 

As I am sure no friend will rejoice nKiro at any good fortune that attends mr 
than you will, I write you these few lines to say 1 hope the action 1 have had with tlic Dutch, wlio fought 
with their usual gallantry, is not exceeded by any this war. We have suffered nuieh ; tlie returns 1 have 
had, and have not had lialf, exeeed 191 killed and 565 wounded. P'roni only two Dutch ships 250 killed 
and 300 wounded. We was obliged from Leiug so near the land to be rather rash in our attack, by which 
we suffered more. Had we been ten leagues at sea none would have escajied. ]\[any had surrendered, but 
got otf in the night. AVe were nuich galled by their frigates when we could not act; in short, I 
feel perfectly satisfied all was done that could be, nor have any fault to find. I have now in my possession 
three Admirals, Dutch : an ^Vdniiral De Winter, Vice-Admiral Beyntjes, and Rear-^Vdmiral Therises. The 
Admiral is on boanl with me, and a most agreeable man he is, speaks English well, and seems much 



240 ADMIRAL LORn VISCOUNT DUNCAN. 

jileascd wilh his treatment. I have assured him, and with justice, nothing could exceed his gallantry ; ho 
says nothing hurts him hut that he is the first Dutch Admiral who ever surrendered — so much more 
credit to me. He tells that the troops that were embarked in the summer were 25,000 .Dutch, all 
designed for Ireland, but after August this expedition was given up. The Government in Holland, much 
against his opinion, insisted on his going to sea to show they had done so, and he was just going to return 
when I saw him. I am sure I have every reason to be thankful to God Almighty for his kindness to me 
on this occasion and all others. I believe the pilot and myself were the only two unhurt on the quarter- 
deck, and De "Winter, who is as tall and big as I am, was the only one on his quarter-deck left alive. 
After all my fatigue I am in perfect health and in my usual spirits. . . . God bless you, my 
dear friend, and believe me most faitlifully yours, 

"ADAM DUNCAN. 

" ^'enerable, getting up to Sheerness, 
October 15th, 1797." 

This interesting letter is of historical importance, as it shows that the plan of the French 
Directorate had been to send a Dutch expedition to invade Ireland whilst their own forces were 
eniplojaug the British Fleet off the Peninsular coast, and but for the courage and promptitude of 
Admiral Duncan this design might have been successful, as the Mutiny at the Nore had to some 
extent demoralized the Channel Fleet that should have protected our shores. The importance of 
the victory at Camperdown was at once acknowledged. On I7th October, 1797,* he was created 
Viscount Duncan of Camperdown and Baron Duncan of Lundie. Three days afterwards 
the City of London conferred the freedom of the city upon him, and presented him with a sword 
valued at 200 guineas ; and on 25th October the Lord Mayor, Aldermen, and Common 
Council of London waited upon His Majesty with an address of congratulation "on the 
splendid naval victory achieved by Admiral Duncan." He received the thanks of both Houses 
of Parliament, and the Crown bestowed upon him a pension of £2,000 per annum, to be continued 
to himself and the next two holders of the title. The KiNG set out from Greenwich on 
;50th October, intending to visit Admiral Duncan on board the "Venerable" at Sheerness, but 
was prevented by stress of weathei". A special thanksgiving service was held in S. Paul's 
Cathedral on 10th December, 1797, at which the King and the Royal Family, with the Houses 
of Parliament, were present, Lord Duncan carrpng in the procession the Dutch Admiral's flag, 
which he had won at Camperdown. Early in the following year the Admiral visited Dundee, and 
was received with special honours. His portrait was subscribed for and placed in the Town Hall 
of Dundee with a suitable inscription, detailing the particulars of the battle of Camperdown, and 
he was presented with the service of plate voted by the Town Council. The name of the family 
estate was changed from Lundie to Camperdown, and the memory of the victory was perpetuated 
by the institution of several convivial Clubs bearing the name of Camperdown, and even by the 
invention of a new tartan so designated, w^iich was for some time fashionable in Edinburgh. Long 
after the Admiral's death the Harbour Commissioners of Dundee, on 4th April, 1859, agreed to 
discontinue the name of the Tidal Harbour of Victoria Dock, and to call it thenceforward the 
Camperdown Dock, by which title it is now known. 

Lord Duncan was raised to the rank of Admiral of the White on 14th February, 1799. He 

* The patent is dated 30th October, but the Gazette notice is 17th October. This explains why tliis entry in the 
Burgess-PvoU, dated '2Gtli October, describes him as " Viscount Duncan." 



DAVID BROWN. 241 

retained his appointment as Commander-in-Chief in the North Seas until the spring oi' 1800, but 
there being then no appearance of a naval conflict he retired into private life. When war again broke 
out in 1804 he went to London, intending to offer his services to the Government, but whilst 
attending at the Adjuiralty he was struck down with apoplexy, and was obliged to return home to 
Scotland. Whilst on the way he was seized with a second apoplectic fit, and died at Cornhill, 
Berwickshire, on 4th August, 1804, in his seventy-third year. He was buried in the churchyard of 
Lundie, where a simple marble slab with a modest inscription, partly written by himself, marks 
his last resting-place. His character has been thus tersely described : — 

"It would perhaps be difficult to find in inodeni history another man in whdui, with so niuuli meek- 
ness, modesty, and uiiiiflected dignity of mind, were uiiit(Ml so much geiuiine spirit, so mucdi nf the skill 
and fire of jirofessional genius, such vigorous and active wisdom, such alacrity and ability for great 
achievements, with such entire indifference to their success, except so far as they might contribute to the 
good of lii.s country" (Ndcal Hi^fanj, -page Jfli4)- 

Lord Duncan was married in 1777 to Henrietta, daughter of the Lord President, Robert 
DuNDA.S of Arniston. The marriage is thus recorded in the Register of JVlarriages in Dundee : — 

"1777, May 30. Capt. Adam Duncan of the Navy and Miss Henrietta Dundass, second daughter of 
the Right Hon'l''- Eobert Dundass of Arniston, Esq'Jf.-- President of the Court of Session." 

They had two sons and five daughters. Tlie eldest son, Robert Dundas-Duncan-Haldane, 
succeeded his father as second ViscouNT Duncan in 1804, was elevated in the Peerage by the 
title of Earl of Camperdown, presented with the freedom of the Burgh, 2Gth August, 1831, and 
died in 1859. His son was enrolled as a Burgess of Dundee on 12th November, 1851, and the 
name of his grandson, the present (third) Earl of Camperdown, was inscribed on the Burgess- 
Roll on 7th August, 1883. 

It may be mentioned as an interesting fact that Admiral Duncan was descended — partly in 
the female line--from Malcolm, fifth Earl of Lennox, the compatriot of King Robert Bruce. 
The "Lennox Roses" are still shown in the Camperdown Arms, though the old eagle supporters 
were replaced by a sea-nymph and a sailor on the elevation of Admiral Duncan to the 
Peerage. 



1799. August Sth. 
DAVID BROWN, Merchant in Dundee, was admitted Burgess by the 

PRIVILEGE OF MaRGARET PeDDIE, HIS SpOUSE, LAWFUL DAUGHTER OF 

Bailie Andrew Peddie, Merchant, Burgess of Dundee. 

Andrew Peddie, through whose daughter Margaret, David Brown claims his freedom, was 
for a long time Bailie in Dundee, as was also his son Andrew Peddie of Bankhead. The former 
died in 1810, and the latter in 1837. It was probably through the influence of his father-in-law 
that David Brown was introduced to public life. He entered the Council in 1801, and continued 
to serve in it without intermission for twenty-five years. During this long period he was frequently 
Bailie, was four times elected Provost (1820-21-24-25), and also held the offices of Dean of Guild, 

2 G 



242 PATRICK ANDERSON — JAMES CHALMERS. 

Kirk-master, Treasurer, and Harbour Commissioner. After the Council had been reconstituted by 
the Municiijal Act, he re-entered the Council in 1832 and IH'AS, but his age precluded him from 
taking much interest in public affairs. He died on 21st June, 184.5, and was buried in the 
Howft' (No. 592) beside his wife's family. The inscription on his tombstone is as follows : — 

"In memory of David "Brown, merchant in Dundee, who died 21 June, 1845, aged 76 years. He 
was long a member of the Town Council, and for several year.'^ Chief ^Magistrate of Dundee, and he took an 
active part in the management of the ijublic and charitable Institutions of the town. In private life his 
conduct drew around him a large circle of friends by whom he was much esteemed. This stone is erected 
by his famil}'. Also in remembrance of Margaret Peddie, wife of the said Daviil Urown, who dieil 27 
March, 18.50, aged 74." 



1804. September 25th. 
PATRICK ANDERSON, Merchant in Dundee, was admitted Burgess for 

HAVING BEEN A FrEE APPRENTICE TO DaVID CoOK, MERCHANT, DuNDEE, 
AND HAVING PAID FoRTY PoUNDS ScOTS TO WiLLIAM SmALL, PRESENT 

Treasurer, in full of his Freedom. 

At the date of his enrolment Patrick Anderson entered the Council, and served almost 
continuously from 1804 till 182.3. In 1806 he was elected Bailie, in 1817 was Dean of Guild, 
and was Provost for four terms (1818-19-22-23). It was whilst he occupied this position that 
the agitation for Municipal Reform began, and the Select Committee of the House of Commons 
for examining into the condition of the Scottish Burghs considered the case of Dundee during his 
term of office. Provost Anderson proposed two different Setts for the Burgh, the principal 
points in which were afterwards adopted. In the Charter granted to the Infirmary and Lunatic 
Asylum of Dundee on 27th May, 1819, Provost Anderson was specially named as an 
Extraordinary Director, and for many years he contributed liberally to its funds. During the 
epidemic of typhus fever in 1820, Dr William Dick of Dundee proposed a method of checking 
its progress, and suggested in a volume addressed to Provost Anderson the establishment of a 
Board of Health in Dundee, and towards this idea the Provost directed his attention. He died 
on 12th March, 1839, in the fifty-sixth year of his age. 



1807. August 11th. 

JAMES CHALMERS, Bookseller in Dundee, was admitted Burgess by the 
PRIVILEGE of William Chalmers, Manufacturer, his Father. 

James Chalmers, second son of William Chalmers, manufacturer, Arbroath, was born in 
that town on the 2nd February, 1782. In early life he left Arbroath and nugrated to Dundee, 
where he joined his elder brother William, who had for some time been established there as a 
bookseller. About the year 1822, and after a lengthened period of correspondence with thi' 



JAMES CHALMERS. 243 

iiuthuiities, he effected a marked acceleration of the mail-coacli system north of London, whereby 
a saving of two days on the double journey betwixt London and the chief towns of the North was 
brought about. In 1830 he added to his busines.s the printing and publishing of a newspaper, 
Tlie Dundee Chronicle, an undertaking soon rendered unsuccessful through the heavy ta.xation 
to which the press was then subject, generally known as the " Taxes on Knowledge," the repeal of 
which Mr Chalmers consequently did his best to advocate. From 1832 onwards this subject, 
conjointly with that of Post Office reform, was one of the leading topics of the day, and in both 
Mr Chalmers was now able to take a prominent part by intercourse with such leading 
reformers as Mr Joseph Hume, Mr Wallace of Kelly, and others. In the month of August, 1834, 
he invented and produced in his promises the adhesive stamp for postage purposes, printed on 
sheets of paper, afterwards gtnnmed over by an adhesive substance, precisely on the principle now 
in use. On the appointment of the Select Committee of the House of Commons in November, 
1837, upon the proposed uniform penny postage scheme of Mr Rowland Hill, Mr Chalmers 
laid his plan of the adhesive stamp before the Committee, the plan of Mr HiLL being that of an 
impressed stamped wrapper or cover. Again, in a communication of some length, under 
date, "Dundee, 8th February, 1838," he further laid his plan before the Mercantile Committee 
ijf the City of Loudon charged with the support of the proposed reformed scheme. This 
document, now of historical interest, was bequeathed to the Library of the South Kensington 
Museiun by the late Sir Hexrv Cole, who was, at the period of its receipt from Mr Chalmers, 
Secretary to the Committee. The plan of the impressed stamp, as introduced by Mr 
Rowland Hill, not meeting the approval either of the House of Commons Committees or 
the Government, that of the adhesive stamp was brought forward by its advocates in Parliament 
to solve the difficulty, and was ultimately adopted by Treasury Minute, of date 26th December, 
1839. The Mulready envelope proved a failure, but the adhesive stamp saved the penn}^ postage 
scheme, and has gradually been adopted by all countries. The credit due to James Chalmers 
in this matter having been claimed for SiR Rowland Hill, much difficulty has been experienced 
in vindicating the title of the Dundee bookseller, but at length the leading biographical works in 
this country have acknowledged that title ; while abroad, more especially in the United States of 
America, the name of James Chalmers is accepted as that of the original inventor. 

On the 1st January, 1846, Mr Chalmers was presented in the Town Hall of Dundee with a 
public testimonial in recognition of his services in improving the postal system, and as the 
originator of the adhesive postage stamp. On the 3rd March, 1883, the Town Council of Dundee 
formally passed the following resolution ; — 

" That, JKiving had under cunsidenitiou thu. puuiphlot lately published on the .subject of the adhesive 
stamp, the Council are of opinion that it has been conclu.sively shown that the late James Chalmers, book- 
seller, Dundee, was the originator of tlii.s indi.sponsable feature in the success of tlie reformed penny postage 
scheme, atul that such be entered ui«in tlie Minutes." 

In the course of his career, Mr Chalmers served in many positions of importance in the Town 
Council of Dundee, and in the piiblic in.stitutions of the town. Early in life he married Barbara 
Dickson, eldest daughter of Bailie Dickson, Montrose. He died in August, 1853, aged 71 years, 
and lies buried in the Howff. His son, Charles Dickson Chalmers, merchant, Dundee, was 
admitted Burge.ss on I7th December, 1840. 



244 ROBERT JOBSON. 



1807. September 22nd. 
EGBERT JOBSON, Merchant in Dundee, was admitted Burgess by the 

PRIVILEGE OF THE DECEASED BaILIE JoHN JoBSON, MERCHANT, BuRGESS 

OF Dundee, his Father. 

Bailie John Jobson, merchant, Dundee, was born in 1698, and died 1788, having reached 
the age of ninety years. He was admitted Burgess on 30th April, 1723, was elected Treasurer 
in 1730 when he entered the Council, and Bailie in 1734. Robert Jobson, whose name is 
entered here, was the son of Bailie Jobson, by Elizabeth Brown, his third wife, who was a 
sister of Bailie Brown of West-Thorn. He was elected Dean of Guild in 1S18, and thus was 
the first Dean to hold office after that Incorporation had recovered their lost privileges. He 
entered the Town Council as Dean, but was not in office more than one year until he was called 
upon in 1831 to act as Chief Magistrate after the disfranchisement of the town. At that time 
he superintended the poll-election ordered by the Privy Council, and acted as Returning Officer 
for the Council. In 1832 he re-entered the Council, but held no office therein. His death took 
place in 1836. Between the birth of John Jobson and the death of his son Robert, the excep- 
tional period of 138 years elapsed. 

[The following reference to the Abolition of the Burgess Oath is entered in the Lockit Book 
in its proper chronological place, amongst the names on the Roll : — 

At Dundee, the first day of September, 1819, which day the Provost, Magistrates, and 
remanent Members of the Town Council of Dundee, having met and conveeued in Council 
consulting about the ordinary affairs of this Burgh, — The Provost produced cojDy of an Act of 
the last Convention of Royal Burghs of the following tenor: — "Edinburgh, 14th July, 1819. — 
The same day the Commissioner for Montrose, in pursuance of the notice given by him yesterday, 
moved — That this Convention, viewing the imposition of any Oath upon an entrant Burgess as 
unnecessary and inexpedient in the present state of society, direct the Magistrates of the several 
Royal Burghs of Scotland to forbear in future exacting the same, aud recommend that in lieu 
thereof the Magistrates cause a clause to be inserted in the ticket of admis.sion declaring that by 
the acceptance of his privilege the entrant becomes solemnly bound to discharge every civil duty 
incumbent by law oq a true aud faithful Burgess of the Burgh into which he is admitted — which 
motion, having been seconded, was unanimously agreed to, and the Agent was instructed to 
communicate the same to the Burghs at large :" — Which having been considered by the Council, 
and it being also considered that although in this Burgh the Acts of Council admitting Burge.sses 
and the Burgess Tickets bear that the persons admitted Burgesses have taken the Burgal Oath, 
yet in practice the Oath has not been actually administered past memory of man, tlie Council 
ordain that in future no person admitted as a Burgess shall be required to take or swear the 
Burgal Oath, which is hereby totally abolished, and the Council direct that in time coming that 
part of the Acts of Council admitting Burgesses, and of the Extracts thereof, or Burgess Tickets, 



GEOIir.E DUNCAN. 245 

which mentions that the persons admitted Burgesses have taken the Burgal Oath shall be 
omitted, and also that to all Acts of Council admitting Burgesses either by privilege or purchase, 
and to the Extracts thei-eof or Burgess Tickets, there shall be added the following words, or others 
to the same purport, viz. : — " Declaring that by acceptance of his privileges the said 

becomes solemnly bound to discharge every civil duty incumbent by law on a true 
and faithful Burgess of the said Burgh."] 



1812. September -tth. 
GEORGE DUNCAN, Merchant, was admitted Burgess of Dundee fob having 

PAID £10 IN FULL OF HIS FREEDOM. 

George Duncan, who occupied a leading place in the civic history of Dundee for more than 
half a century, was born in the Burgh in March, 1791. His father was a maltman in the Nether- 
gait, and some interesting particulars as to his parentage and family are afforded by the tombstone 
that marks their resting-place in the Howff (No. 265), which bears the following inscription : — 

" Hora Rii'it. 
[The Hour hastens.] 
Erected by George Duncan, merchant in Dundee, and 
dedicated to the memory of his father, William Duncan, 
who was born in 1741, and died in 1799 ; of his 
brother, David, who was born in 1781, and died in 1802 ; 
and of his mother, Amelia Guthrie, who was born in 1754, 
and died in 1817." 

From this inscription it appears that George Duncan was left fatherless at a very early age, 
the only support of his widowed mother. He was educated at the Dundee Academy, and began 
business in 1813 as a haberdasher, in company with Mr Johnstone, the designation of the tirm 
being Johnstone & Duncan. While the long struggle between the Town Council and the 
Guildry, which was only terminated by the Burgh Reform Act, was in progress, he took a lively 
interest in Burgh affairs, and his public life began in 1825, at which time he entered the Council 
as Merchant Councillor. Three years afterwards he was elected Councillor of the Guild, and held 
the office of Dean of Guild from 1833 till 1S3G. During this time his attention had been specially 
directed towards the reform of Scottish Prisons, both as to their internal arrangements and as to 
the means adopted for their maintenance. His eff(jrts in carrying forward the Prisons Bill, which 
necessitated frequent visits to London at a time when such a journey was both expensive 
and dangerous, were gracefully acknowledged by the authorities ; and on 5th July, 1839, he 
received a vote of thanks from the Town Council for his exertions in this matter. Gn 16th April, 
1841, he was elected First Bailie of Dundee, and on the retirement of Sir Henry Parnell from 
the representation of the Burgh in the same year, Mr Duncan was returned as Member of 
Parliament for Dundee. This position he continued to occupy without intermission for sixteen 



246 Sm DAVID WEDDERBURN. 

years, aud though his introduction to this honourable place was at first regarded with dubiety by 
some of the extreme Radical party in the Burgh, his conduct during his term of office convinced 
the most doubtful of his single-minded philanthropy and devotion to the interests of the country. 
He was the first Scottish Bailie who sat in the House of Commons, and his support was consistently 
given to the Liberal party both in and out of office. He voted in favour of free trade in corn, he 
opposed monopolies, he proposed an increase of the Education Grant, and advocated an extension 
of the Franchise. On 20th May, 1842, he obtained a grant from the Treasury of £300 for the 
improvement of Magdalene Green, and again received the thanks of the Council for his successful 
efforts in this affair. The Seamen Fraternity of Dundee presented him with a silver salver "as a 
mark of respect for public services," in August, 1845, and on 8th January, 1847, shortly before the 
dissolution of Parliament, he was entertained to a public dinner in Dundee, and received the 
unqualified approbation of his actions in the House of Commons from his constituents. At the 
General Election in 1847 he was again returned as Member for Dundee, and after the dissolution 
on 1st July, 1852, it was proposed to present him with a testimonial by public subscription. On 
1.3th October, 1852, he received the gift of a piece of plate and 1,000 guineas; and in that 
philanthropic spirit which had marked his career, he devoted .£1,000 of this money towards the 
founding of an Industrial School in Ward Road, which was opened in December, 1856, under the 
name of the " Duncan Testimonial." He entered Parliament for the last time in 1852, but after 
the dissolution in 1857 he did not seek re-election. The remainder of his life was spent in 
seclusion from public affairs at his house of " The Viue," near Magdalene Green, though he still took 
an active part in the promotion and support of the charitable institutions which he had founded 
and fostered. He died on 6th January, 1878, in the eighty-seventh year of his age. As 
his father was born in 1741, these two lives comprehended the very unusual period of 137 years. 
Mr Duncan's wife, Hester Eliza Wheeler, a lady possessed of considerable literary ability, pre- 
deceased him on 27th May, 1834, and he left no children. Portraits of himself his mother, and 
his wife are now preserved in the Baldovan Industrial School, towards the foundation of which 
he largely contributed. 



1813. September 21.st. 

SIR DAVID WEDDERBURN of Balindean, Bart., was admitted Burgess 
OF Dundee, having paid £10 in full of his Freedom. 

Sir David Wedderbukn was a descendant of the Wedderburns of Kingennie, Town-Clerks 
of Dundee, being the eldest surviving son of Sir John Wedderburn of Balindean, and of Lady 
Margaret Ogilvy, eldest daughter of David (attainted). Earl of Airlie. He was born on 10th 
March, 1775, and succeeded to the baronetcy (of Scotland) on the death of his father in June, 
1803. Two months afterwards he was created a Baronet of the United Kingdom, with remainder, 
failing his own issue, to the heirs-male of his great-grandfather. Sir Alexander. Sir David was 
a member of the Town Council of Dundee, aud represented the Perth Burghs (Perth, Dundee, 
Forfar, Cupar, and St Andrews) in Parliament continuously from 1805 till 1818, and held the 



JAMES BROWN. 247 

office of Posttnastcr-Gcneral for Scotland from 1823 till 1831. By his wife, Margaret, daughter 
of George Brown of Elliston, he had two sons, who predeceased him ; and at his death on 7th 
April, 1858, he was succeeded in the title by his half-brother, the late SiR John Wedderburn 
of Balindean. One of the finest monuments in the Howft" (No. 811) — a column, decorated with 
a sculptured tablet in bas-relief by SCHUMACHER, the tutor of NoLLEKENS — was erected by Sir 
John Wedderburn in memory of his wife, the mother of Sir David, and bears the following 

inscription : — 

Memon'a; S'icriaii Dominit' 3Iarr/ai'i'fi:r Oijilvie, spousoi 
Dominus Joanncf! Weihlerhurn de Balimlean, Militts Baronefti, 
(ihiif die 23 Martii anno 1775 tvtatin siue 37. 

[Sacred to the iiRMuorj- nf Lady Margaret Ogilvy, wife of Sir John AVeddoiburn of Balindean, Bart., 
whii died 23rd jMarrli, 1775, aged 27.] 

Sir John was the last member of this family buried in the Howff. He was interred near the 
grave of his wife in a brick vault erected there, and covered by a slab bearing this inscription : — 

Joannes Wedderburn de Balimlean, sextus Miles Baro. de Blachiiess, 
sum gentis Ornamentum ei non degener* Prineeps. 
Nat. 2] Feb. 1729. Ob. 13 Jumi 1803. 

[Sir John \^'edderbul■n of Balindean, sixth Baron of Blackness, the ornament of his fannly and an 
imdegenerate cliief. Born 21 Feb., 1729. Died 13 June, 1803.] 



181G. June Sth. 

JAMES BEOWN, Merchant in Dundee, was admitted Burgess by the 
privilege of James Brown, Flaxspinner, Burgess of Dundee, his 
Father. 

James Brown, senior, of Conousyth, through whom this Burgess claims his freedom, was 
enrolled on Sth February, 1809. He was one of the earliest flaxspiuners by steam-power, and 
built the Bell Mill in the West Wards of Dundee in 1806. He died in 1811, in the fifty-eighth 
year of his age. His son, James Brown, wdio is here enrolled, was born in 1787, and succeeded to 
the business and carried it on in conjunction with his brother, William, for many years after- 
wards. He was elected Dean of Guild in 1.S21', and served in the Council almost continuously till 
1832, holding the position of Bailie for three years (1828-29-32). In September, 1841, he was chosen 
Councillor to supply the vacancy caused by the resignation of Bailie Boyack, and continued to 
act in that capacity until the close of 1843. He was made Provost in 1844, and filled that office 
for the full term, retiring in 1847. Some time afterwards he acquired the estate of Lochton, and 
handed over the flaxspinning bu.siness to his son, Andrew. Provost Brown took much 
interest in literary affairs, and was the first President of the Watt Institute. He died on 
6th January, 1869, being then eighty-two years of age. 

* The phrase non deycner forms one of the mottoes of the family of Wedderburn of Balindean. 



248 EDWARD BAXTER. 



1816. November 21st. 
EDWARD BAXTER, Merchant in Dundee, was admitted Burgess by the 

PRIVILEGE OF HIS FaTHER, WiLLIAM BaXTER, MERCHANT IN DuNDEE. 

Edward Baxter belonged to a fomily the names of the members of wliich are recorded in the 
Lockit Book for four generations before his time. John Baxter, merchant, was admitted 
Burgess by the privilege of his father, JoHN Baxter, weaver, on 13th August, 1777 ; William 
Baxter, son of the former, was enrolled on 20th May, 1790 ; and Williaji Baxter of Balgavies, 
son of the latter and father of Edward Baxter, became a Burgess on 2nd July, 1807. Edward 
was his eldest son, and was born on .3rd April, 1791. In 1813 he entered into partnership with 
his father as an export merchant, and shortly afterwards he introduced an important alteration in 
the system of trading pursued in the Burgh. Up till his time exportation was managed entirely 
from Liverpool and London by factors stationed there ; but Mr Baxter opened communications 
directly with the foreign houses to whom his goods were sent, and thus not only secured 
the factors' profits, but materially increased the commerce of Dundee. Having assumed his four 
sons, Edward, David, John, and William, as partners, Mr William Baxter, senior, established a 
flax-spinning mill at Glamis, which was really the first foundation of the extensive concern of 
Baxter Brothers, a firm that has attained world-wide celebrity. The success which attended this 
venture induced the firm of William Baxter & Son to erect a spinning-mill of fifteen horse- 
power at the Lower Dens in Dundee, which was not only one of the first mills of the kind in the 
locality, but formed the nucleus of what has since become one of the largest fiax-spinning mills 
possessed by one firm in the country. Edward Baxter retired from the firm on 31st August, 
1831, and devoted his attention entirely to the export trade. He afterwards took his son, now the 
Right Hon. W. E. Baxter of Kincaldrum, into jiartnership, and he conducted this business up 
till the close of his life in 1870. 

Though engrossed in a business which demanded the closest attention, Mr Baxter found time 
to perform his share of public duties. After the reform of the municipal constitution of the Burgh 
was accomplished he served the town in the capacity of Councillor and Bailie, and was for some 
time Dean of Ciuild, and member of the Harbour, Parochial, and Infirmary Boards. In Parliamentary 
contests ho took a prominent part, advocating an advanced policy on the great questions of Free 
Trade and Education. It was principally through his exertions that the High School was 
established, for the pm-pose of providing higher education than had been possible whilst the 
Urammar School and the Dundee Academy were under the control oi the Town Council. Every 
movement for the amelioration of the working classes was indebted to him for counsel and for 
practical aid ; and he was not less energetic in agitating for the abolition of monopolies and for 
Burgh reform. His public benefactions were widely-spread and liberal. He subscribed £200 
towards the Public Seminaries in 1857, and on 4th January, 1867, ho presented the Guildry witli 
railway stock of the value of £2,000, directing that the interest should be devoted towards supple- 



JAMES IVORY. 249 

menting the grants to poor pensioners on the funds of that incorporation. When the Albert 
Institute was proposed, he offered to erect the grand western staircase, at a cost of £1,200, and 
accomplished his purpose. He remained in active attendance upon business until a few weeks 
before his death, which took place at his mansion of Kincaldrum on 26th July, 1870, when he 
had reached his eighty-first year. 

Mr Baxter was thrice married, the only children of his first marriage being the Right Hon. 
William Edward Baxter, Member of Parliament for the Montrose Burghs continuously from 
1855 till his retirement in 1885; and two daughters, married respectively to Mr George 
Armitstead, late Member of Parliament for Dundee, and to Mr James Ramsay, Jun., merchant, 
Dundee. 



1816. November 21st. 

JAMES IVORY, Esq"?:: Advocate, was admitted Burgess by the privilege 
OF HIS Father, Thomas Ivory, Watchmaker, now Engraver. 

James Ivory, afterwards Lord Ivory of Session, was the son of Thomas Ivory, who was 
admitted Burgess on 6th July, 1795 (v'ule page 2:56). He was born in Dundee in 1792, and 
received the rudiments of his education at the Dundee Academy, completing his studies for 
the legal profession at Edinburgh. In 181 G he passed as a member of the Faculty of Advocates, 
by which designation his name appears on the Burgess-Roll. When the Select Committee of the 
House of Commons was engaged in 1819 making inquiries as to the state of the Scottish Burghs, 
Mr Ivory happened to be in Loudon, and his intimate acquaintance with the civic condition of 
Dundee led the Committee to examine him as a witness on this jjoint. His evidence was entirely 
in favour of a reform in the established system of self-election. The first appointment which Mr 
Ivory received was that of Advocate-Depute under Francis Jeffrey in 1830, and this was 
followed by the Sheriffship of Caithness in 1832, and that of Bute in 1833. He succeeded 
Andrew Rutherford as Solicitor-General in 1839, and was made a Lord-Ordinary of Session in 
the following year, and sat as judge in the Court of Exchequer. He was appointed a Lord of 
Justiciary in 1849, and served both in the Court of Session and the High Court of Justiciary until 
his retirement in October, 1862. Lord Ivory died on 18th October, 1SG6, being then in his 
seventy-fifth year. His eldest son, WiLLIAM IvORY, was admitted Advocate in 1849, and has 
long been Sheriff of Inverness-shire. 



2 H 



2o0 ANDREW CURR — WILLIAM CURR — PATRICK HUNTER THOMS. 



1817. September 18th. 

ANDREW CURR, Servant to William Sandieman at Douglas Bleach- 
field, WAS ADMITTED BuEGESS IN RIGHT OF MaRY StEILL, HIS SpOUSE, 

Lawful Daughter of the deceased John Steill, Weaver, Burgess 
OF Dundee. 



WILLIAM CURR, Lawful Son of the above Andrew Curr, presently 
residing in Dundee, was admitted Burgess in right of his said 
Father. 

The name of William Curr is made memorable in Dinidee through the munificent 
bequests which he and his widow made to the poor in the Burgh. He was born in 1790, and 
settled in Dundee, where he established himself in business as a grocer in the Overgait, and, by 
prudence and frugality, made a considerable fortune. For a long time he took an interest in the 
Guildry, and held the office of Dean of Guild from 1846 till 1849. Ten years after the latter 
(late he died, and his widow, who long survived him, left about £40,000 under trustees to be 
applied to various charitable institutions in Dundee. One of the objects which the Trustees 
deemed most likely to serve the purpose intended was the foundation of the institution known as 
the " Curr Night Refuge," which was opened in 1882. The tombstone which is in the HowfF to 
mark the grave of the family bears the following inscription : — 

" Erected by William Curr, merchant, Dmidee, and Christian Eobson, his spoii.S(_', in memory of 
Andrew Curr, their only child, who died March 2nd, 1847, in the nineteenth year of his age. Also in 
memory of Elizabeth Curr, si.ster of Wilham Curr, who died March 17th, 1812, aged 24 years. Andrew 
Curr, his father, who died Feby. 16th, 1821, aged 70 years. And Mary Steill, his mother, who died Jfarcli 
27th, 1836, aged 79 years. Also in memory of Wdliam Curr, merchant, Dundee, who died 26th June, 
1859, aged 69 years. And of Christian Eobson, his spouse, who died 28th Deer. 1878, aged 81 years." 



1817. October 7th. 

PATRICK HUNTER THOMS, Merchant, was admitted Burgess in right of 
Bailie George Thoms, Merchant, Burgess of Dundee, his Father. 

George Thoms, through whom Patrick Hunter Thoms claimed his freedom, was admitted 
Burgess in 1794 " by the privilege of his wife, ELIZABETH Hunter, daughter of Patrick 
Hunter." He was for a long time Town Councillor and Bailie of Dundee, and also held the 
office of Kirk-master. Patrick Hunter Thoms was born in 1796, and was named after his 
maternal grandfather. He was educated at the Grammar School of Dundee and University 
of St Andrews, and would have been trained for the ministry had not delicate health forbidden 



THOMAS NEISH. 251 

excessive study. Immediately after his admission as a Burgess the office of Kirk-master, which 
had previously been held by a Couucillor, was combined with that of Town Chamberlain, and he 
was ajipointed to execute the duties of the double office at a salary of £100 per annum. The 
skill with which Mr P. H. Thom.S unravelled the maze into which the Town's accounts had fallen 
and made them intelligible, fully vindicated his appointment. He held the office of Town 
Chamberlain for fourteen years, and when he resigned it on 14th March, 1833, in consequence of 
the increase of his private business, the Council recorded in the Minutes their approbation of the 
manner in which ho had fulfilled the duties of the Chamberlainship. In 1838 his name was added 
to the roll of Justices of the Peace for the Dundee district of Forfarshire. He was elected a Town 
Councillor in 1843, and four years afterwards (Nov., 1847) was made Provost of Dundee. This 
honourable position ho retained until October, 18.53, at which time he retired from the Council. 
After this date he did not interfere with municiiml affairs, though he remained on the Harbour 
Board as representative of thcGuildry till November, 18.55 ; but his decided opinion against the 
extension of the Harbour that was proposed at that jDeriod being unsupioorted by any of 
his fellow-Trustees, he deemed it expedient to retire from this post. Ten years later (November, 
1865) he was sent back to the Board as representative for the County, and his ideas had been so 
altered in the interim that he was prepared to assist the work of necessary extension, and 
to support the Dundee Harbour Bill, which became law in 1875. For a number of years he was 
Danish Consul in Dundee, was appointed a Deputy-Lieutenant of Forfarshire in 1875, was 
first and only Chairman of the Parochial Board of Liff and Benvie, and was Convener of 
the Finance Committee of the County of Forfar for several years. From these, as from his other 
offices, he retired with respect and esteem. He took a leading part in the action whereby the 
Morgan Hospital Fund was secured to the Burgh. In his later years he returned to the literary 
pursuits which had occupied his early days ; and his long and honourable career was terminated 
on 17th June, 1 882, when he had reached his eighty-seventh year. The names of his sons apj^ear 
on the Burgess-Roll — Mr George Hunter Thojis, advocate, having been admitted on 23rd 
August, 1855, and Mr Thomas Watt Thoms in 1858. 



1817. October 27th. 

THOMAS NEISH, Merchant in Dundee, was admitted Burgess in right of 
Thomas Neish, Maltman, Burgess of Dundee, his Father. 

Thomas Neish deserves to be remembered as having been one of the first to introduce the 
manufacture of jute to Dundee. He was born in 1789, and entered into business early in the 
present century. In common with many Dundee merchants, he suffered severely by the com- 
mercial crisis of 1826 ; but he succeeded in weathering the storm, and managed to establish a 
remunerative business as a dealer in flax and Russian produce, which he conducted personally 
till his death in 1864. Several bales of jute had been sent to Dundee in 1824 to be experimented 



252 DAVID BAXTER. 

upon by some of the flax-spinners, and their decision was that the material was unsuitable for 
weaving purposes. About this time Mr Neish had ordered some sample bales, but could not at 
first induce any of the spinners to make a thorough trial of its utility for textile fabrics. At 
length, in 1832, he caused fresh experiments to be made with it, which were ultimately crowned 
with .success, and the new material became the basis of the staple trade of the Burgh. 

Mr Neish entered the Town Council in 1832, but only held office for one year. He was 
appointed one of the representatives of the Guildry at the Harbour Board, and for a long time 
took an active interest in its proceedings, and was also a j^rominent member of the Chamber of 
Commerce, and survived to see its incorporation. He died on 25th April, 1SG4, being then in his 
seventy-fifth year. 



1817. OCTOBEK 27th. 

DAVID BAXTER, Merchant in Dundee, was admitted Burgess in right of 
William Baxter, Merchant, Burgess of Dundee, his Father. 

David Baxter, afterwards Sir David Baxter of Kilmarou, Bart., was the second son 
of William Baxter, and the younger brother of Edward Baxter, who was admitted Burgess on 
21st November, 1816 (vide page 248). He was born in Dundee on ISth February, 1793, and 
educated at the Academy there. His first business experience was as manager of the Dundee 
Sugar Refining Company, and he afterwards entered into the flax-spinning company which his 
father and brothers had established in 1825, and which ultimately became one of the largest 
industries of this kind in the kingdom. David Baxter was latterly the head of the firm, and its 
prosperity was largely owing to his prudence, foresight, and business capacity. 

The only public offices which David Baxter held were those of Police Commissioner in 1825, 
Harbour Trustee and Guild Councillor in 1828, and Chairman of the Chamber of Commerce. In 
public affairs, however, he took an active part, and was especially interested in the Parliamentary 
elections, affording his support to candidates professing advanced Liberal opinions. Out of the 
immense fortune which he had acquired in his manufacturing business he made many munificent 
donations to the Burgh, one of these gifts being a field of thirty-five acres on the estate of 
Craigie, which was purchased by him and his two sisters and handed over to the inhabitants of 
Dundee on 9th September, 1863, as a recreation ground, to be known in all time coming as the 
Baxter Park. In recognition of the donors, a marble statue of Sir David Baxter, executed by 
Sir John Steell, R.S.A., and subscribed for by 17,731 persons, was erected in the pavilion of the 
Park, with a suitable inscription, commemorating the Misses Baxter and their deceased father, 
William Baxter of Balgavies. In the beginning of that year (18G3) a Baronetcy was conferred 
upon Sir David Baxter by Her Majesty, on the recommendation of Lord Palmerston, for his 
services in the advancement of commerce and industry. He subscribed £7,000 towards the erection 
of the Albert Institute, and at his death left a sum of £30,000 for the erection and endowment of 
the Convalescent Home at Barnhill. The University of Edinburgh was also made the recipient 



JOHN SYMERS. 253 

of his bounty. In 1863 he founded the Baxter Mathematical Scholarship and the Baxter 
Philosophical Scholarship, each of the annual value of £60 for four years. Two years later 
he founded the Baxter Physical Science Scholarship and the Baxter Natural Science Scholarship, 
of the same annual value, and each tenable for two years. The Chair of Engineering in this 
University was founded by him in 1868 by an endowment gift of £.5,000, supplemented by an 
annual Parliamentary vote of £200. By his will, Sir David Baxter bequeathed £20,000 for the 
purpose of acquiring ground, erecting necessary buildings, and endowing a Mechanics' Institution 
in Dundee or immediate neighbourhood, "for the education of boys or young men in those 
branches of learning necessary or useful for working mechanics and other craftsmen." The 
Technical Institute is now (1887) being built on a site acquired by Sir David Baxter's Trustees 
from University College. This latter Institution was founded in 1880, mainly through the 
munificence of Miss Mary Ann Baxter, a sister of Sir David (v'uJe page 262). Through an 
arrangement which has been entered into between the Trustees of Sir David Baxter and the 
College, these two Institutions are to be managed so as to be of mutual assistance to each other. 
Sir David acquired the estate of Kilmaron, near Cupar, Fife, in 18.56, and in 1863 he added 
to it the neighbouring property of Balgarvie, and his principal residence for some time before his 
death was at Kilmaron Castle. Whilst at Edinburgh in March, 1872, he had a stroke of paraly.sis, 
from which he only partially recovered ; and he died at Kilmaron on 13th October in that year, 
aged seventy-nine. He was married in 1833 to Elizabeth, daughter of Robert Montgomery of 
Barnahill, Ayrshire, but had no children. The heritable and personal property left by Sir David 
Baxter is said to have amounted to £1 ,200,000. 



1817. October 28th. 

JOHN SYMERS, Merchant, Dundee, was admitted a Burgess in right of 
THE Eev. Colin Symers, late Minister of the Gospel at Alyth, 
Burgess of Dundee, his Father. 

The Rev. Colin Symers, through whom John Symers claimed his freedom, was admitted a 
Burgess on 2.5th Sejitember, 1804, at which time also the name of Colin Symers, his eldest son, 
was enrolled. The father was minister of Alyth irom 1773 till his death in January, 1817, and 
was connected with Dundee through his marriage with Helen, daughter of the Rev. John 
Haliburton, minister of Kettins, a scion of the family of Haliburton of Pitcur. Colin 
Symers {nat. 1783, ob. 1860) was long a member of the Town Council and a Bailie in Dundee, 
but retired shortly after his appointment as Collector of Customs at that port, which office he 
occupied with approbation for many years. John Symers, the younger brother, was born at 
Alyth in 1795, and began his education in the Parish School there. He came to Dundee in 
1811, and entered commercial life in the office uf Provost Patrick Anderson. His brother 
Colin was then one of the partners of the firm of Symers & Anderson, agents for the British 



254 LIEUT.-COLONEL WILLIAM CHALMERS. 

Linen Company Bank, and after spending a short time as a clerk in their employment he was 
assumed as a partner on the retirement of Mr Anderson in 1817, and continued to manage the 
Bank with great success till 1857, his brother having left the full control of the concern to him. 
John Symers was member of the Town Council from 1817 to 1829, and was made a Bailie in 
1825. He was for many years actively interested in the welfare of the Infirmary ; and was one 
of the promoters of the Albert Institute, towards which undertaking he contributed £1,500. 
His death took place on 1st May, 1866, when he had reached his seventj^-first year. His only 
surviving daughter is Miss Helen Haliburton Symers of St Helens, Dundee. 



1818. February 4th. 

LIEUT. -COLONEL WILLIAM CHALMERS, residing in Dundee, was admitted 
Burgess in right of the deceased William Chalmers, Esq2£' Town- 
Clerk, Burgess of Dundee, his Father. 

William Chalmers, the father of Colonel Chalmers, was born in 1742, and when thii-ty 
years of age he was apf)ointed successor to Robert Speid, writer in Dundee, as Town-Clerk, which 
office he held for forty-five years. He died on 2ud August, 1817, in his seveut3'-fifth year. Mrs 
Chalmers was descended from Andrew Wardroper, who was Provost of Dundee in 1738 and 
1750. Their son, whose name is here enrolled, was born in Dundee within his father's house at the 
north-east corner of Castle Street, in 1785. When only eighteen years of age he entered the 
army, and his fearless bravery soon gained him distinction. He was engaged in active 
service throughout the whole of the Peninsular War, and as his courage had attracted the notice 
of the Duke of Wellington, he was raised to the position of aide-de-cam^j, and frequently 
employed upon dangerous missions. On the memorable 18th of June, 1815, he was stationed at 
Antwerp as aide-de-camp to his cousin, General Mackenzie, and hearing the cannonading at 
Waterloo, he asked leave to join the troops then in action as a volunteer. He arrived at the scene 
of conflict and offered his services to his former commander, the Duke of Wellington, and was 
at once appointed to the command of a regiment which had suffered severely in the engagement. 
His conduct during the battle fully justified this appointment, and when he retired after the peace 
of 1815 he held the rank of Lieut.-Colonel, by which title he is designated in the Burgess-Roll. 
For the remainder of his life he resided principally at his estate of Glenericht, in Perthshire, 
and was not again employed on active duty. His military services were acknowledged in 1844 
by his receiving the honour of Knighthood as Commander of the Bath and Knight Commander 
of the Hanoverian Guelphic Order. In October, 1853, he was gazetted Colonel of the 78th (Ross- 
shire) Highlanders, vacant by the death of Sir Neil Douglas ; and in June of the following 
year he was promoted to the brevet rank of Lieut.-General. He died on 21st June, 1860, having 
reached his seventy-fifth year. 



ARCHIBALD CAMPBELL — THE HON. HUGH LINDSAY. 255 

1818. May 15th. 
ARCHIBALD CAMPBELL, Esq!!1 of Blythswood, was admitted Burgess in 

TERMS OF THE MiNUTE OF CoUNCIL OF THIS DATE. 

In the Council Minute for 11th May, 1818, there is engrossed the copy of a letter from Sir 
David Wedderburn of Balindean {vide page 246) announcing his intention not to offer himself 
for re-election as Member of Parliament for the Perth Burghs ; and there is also a transcript of 
another letter received by Provost Riddoch from Archibald Campbell of Blythswood, asking 
the support of the Council in his candidature for the position which Sir David was about 
to resign. At the next meeting of Council, on loth May, ISIS, the members resolved to support 
Mr Campbell, and also passed the following Act : — • 

" The (Jouncil, as u mark of their respect for Archibald Campbell, Esq^ of Blythswood, unanimously 
admit the said Archibald Campbell as a Burgess of Dundee, with all the privileges and immunities, and 
autlioi'ize the Provost an'l Magistrates to present him with a Burgess Ticket." 

Archibald Campbell of Blythswood was the second son of James Douglas of Mains, 
Dunbartonshii-e, who had changed his name to Campbell on succeeding to the estate of Blyths- 
wood, in Renfrewshire. He was born in 1763, and, like his elder and younger brothers, entered the 
army at an early age, and latterlj' held a commission as Major in the 1st Royals. He became 
proprietor of Blythswood as heir of his elder brother, Lieut.-Colonel John Campbell, who fell 
at Martinique in February, 1794 ; and he represented the Glasgow Burghs in Parliament from 
1806 till 1809, and the Elgin Burghs from 1812 till 1818. At the General Election in the latter 
year he was returned as Member for the Perth Burghs (Dundee, Perth, Forfar, Cupar, and St 
Andrews), and continued as their representative until the dissolution caused by the death of 
George III. in 1820. In the first Parliament of George IV. he was again elected as Member for 
the Glasgow Burghs, which position he held till 1831. He died unmarried in 1838, aged seventy- 
five, and was succeeded by his kinsman, Archibald Douglas Campbell, father of the present 
Sir Archibald Campbell Campbell, Bart., of Blythswood. 



1820. February 23rd. 

The Hon. HUGH LINDSAY, of the City of London, and one of the Directors 
OF THE United Company of Merchants of England trading to the 
East Indies, was admitted an Honorary Burgess as a mark of the 
respect of the Magistrates and Town Council. 

The Hon. Hugh Lindsay was the eighth sou of James, fifth Earl of Balcarres, and was 
bom on 30th October, 1765. He served in the navy under Lord Rodney and Lord St Vincent, 
and rose to the rank of Commander in the East India Company's service. He was appointed a 



256 WILLIAM JOHNSTONK— REV. DR FRANCIS NICOLL. 

Director of the Company in 1814, and continued to act in that capacity for thirty years. For 
some time he held the post of Marshal of the Court of Admiralty, and was also a Commissioner 
for Lieutenancy of London. At the time of his enrolment as Burgess he had offered himself as 
a Parliamentary candidate for the Perth Burghs, vacant bj' the retirement of Archibald 
Campbell of Blythswood (vide page 255), and at the general election in 1820 he was returned 
as Member, and continued to represent these Burghs till 1830. He died on 23rd April, 1844, in 
his seventy-ninth year. By his marriage in 1799 with Jane, second daughter of Lord Rockville 
of Session, he had a son and daughter, the latter of whom, Lady Antrobus, still survives. 



1820. June 7th. 
WILLIAM JOHNSTONE, Merchant in Dundee, was admitted Burgess for 

HAVING PAID £10 StG. TO PatKICK HuNTER ThOMS, PRESENT ChAMBERLAIN, 
IN FULL OF HIS FREEDOM. 

William Johnstone was the son of the Rev. William Johnstone, minister of Rattray, and 
latterly of Chapelshade Church, Dundee. He was born at Blairgowrie on 15th August, 1798, and 
began business in Dundee as flaxspinner, in company with Mr Wyllie, the firm being Wyllie & 
Johnstone. In 1837 he entered the Town Council, and served as Bailie from 1838 till 1841. On 
14th April of that year Provost Hackney resigned his ofHce, and Bailie Johnstone was chosen 
to administer it ad interim until the regular election in November. He had taken up the 
manufacture of jute at an early date, and had expended much capital in the erection of mills and 
machinery, anticipating a great future for this material ; but his speculations were unsuccessful, 
and he felt constrained to retire from the Provostship on 14th September, 1841. The place was 
then filled by Ex-Provost Kay, and in the following November Alexander Lawson was elected 
to the Provost's chair. After his retirement, Mr JoHNSTONE took no part in public affairs, and he 
died in 1867, in his sixty-ninth year. 



1820. September 21st. 

The Kev? D? FRANCIS NICOLL, Principal of the United Colleges of St 
Leonard's and St Salvador's in St Andrews, was admitted Burgess 
AS A Mark of Respect for Public Services rendered to this part of 
THE Country during his Residence in the Neighbourhood. 

Francis Nicoll was the third son of John Nicoll, merchant, Lossiemouth, and was born 
there in 1770. He studied at King's College, Aberdeen, and took his degree as Master of Arts 
there in 1789. He was licensed in 1793 by the Presb}i.ery of Elgin, and, after spending several 



THOMAS DUNCAN. 257 

years as tutor in the family of Sir James Grant of Grant, Bart., he was presented by the Earl 
<iF Moray to the parish of Auchtertool, in Fife, and ordained 21st September, 1797. Two years 
afterwards he was translated to the united parishes of Mains and Strathmartine, whicli had then 
been conjoined, and was admitted to his new charge on 19th September, 1799. The Church of 
Mains was built for him in 1800, ami the degree of D.D. was conferred upon him in 1S07. He 
held a high position in the Church, and was elected Moderator of the General Assembly of 1809. 
In 1819 he was presented by the Prince Regent to the parish of St Leonard's, which he held 
in conjunction with the Principalship of the United Colleges of St Leonard's and St Salvador's, 
and was admitted on 20th July, 1820. He was elected Rector of the University in March, 1822, 
resigned his parochial charge in 1824, and died on 8th October 1835, in the sixty-fifth year of 
his aofe. 



1820. October 18th. 

THOMAS DUNCAN, Professor of Mathematics in the University of St 
Andrews, was admitted Burgess as a mark of the Town Council's 
approbation of the indefatigable zeal and attention with which 
he uniformly discharged the duties of his office while he was 
Rector of the Dundee Academy ; and as a testimony of the Eminent 
Services he has rendered to the Town of Dundee. 



Thomas Duncan's father was a farmer in the parish of Cameron, Fifeshire, and he was born 
there in October, 1777. He studied at St Andrews, was laureated in 1796, and completed his 
Theological curriculum, intending to become a minister of the Established Church of Scotland ; 
but on 2nd December, 1801, he was appointed the first Rector of the Dundee Academy by the 
Town Council, and entered at once on his duties. This important post he filled with great 
acceptance for over eighteen years, resigning it in October, 1820, when he received the appoint- 
ment to the Chair of Mathematics in St Andrews University. In the latter jjosition he remained 
for the rest of his life, continuing in active duty until a short time before his death on 23rd March, 
1858, when he had attained his eighty-first year. His reputation as a teacher still survives as a 
tradition in Dundee, though few of his pupils now remain. 



2 I 



258 ALEXANDER LAWSON— GEORGE ROUGH, JUNIOR. 



1821. November 7th. 

ALEXANDER LAWSON, Merchant in Dundee, was admitted Burgess for 
HAVING PAID £10 Sterling to Mr Patrick Whitson, late Town 
Chamberlain, in full of his Freedom. 

Alexander Lawson was bom at Glenisla in November, 1790, aud was educated at Auchter- 
house Parish School. He served his apprenticeship as ironmonger in Dundee, and after the 
completion of his indenture he began business for himself in the High Street. From 1882 till 
1837 he was a member of the Town Council, occupying the position of Bailie in 1835 and 
the succeeding year. He was elected in September, 1841, to supply a vacancy in the Council, 
and was chosen Provost in November follo%\-ing, and served in that capacity until November, 1844. 
Though himself an advocate of political reform, he felt himself compelled by his public office as 
Provost to resist the action of the populace during the Chartist agitation of 1842. Several 
mass meetings were held in Magdalen Green in August of that year, and the Provost issued a 
warning proclamation at that time, intimating that such assemblages were illegal, and advising 
the Chartists to desist from the form of agitation which they had adopted. The famous march to 
Forfar took place at this time, but by the Provost's discretion a conflict with the military was 
avoided. In 1844 it was his privilege to receive Her Majesty Queen Victoria at Dundee. He 
retired from public life on the expiry of his term of office, and died on 13th November, 1S68, 
having reached the seventy-eighth year of his age. 



1822. October 14th. 

GEOEGE ROUGH, Junior, Glover, Dundee, was admitted Burgess by the 
privilege of George Rough, Burgess of Dundee, his Father. 

George Eough, senior, was admitted Burgess on 27th September, 179G. He established 
himself in business as a glover in the High Street of Dundee, at the corner of Tindall's Wynd, 
and was long actively engaged in public affairs. He was a member of the old " self-elected" 
Council before the Burgh Reform Act, and was appointed a Police Commissioner under the Act 
of 1825. The first appearance of his son, George Rough, junior, in public life was in the 
capacity of Deacon of the Glover Trade, which office he held in 182G, when only twenty-five 
years of age. In 1849 he was elected Councillor, was appointed Bailie in 1851, and two years 



WILLIAM HACKNEY. 259 

afterwards (^th Nov., 1853) was voted into the Provost's chair. His leisure was largely devoted 
towards the encouragement of projects for the amelioration of the working-classes, and he was for 
many years one of the most active promoters and fosterers of the Royal Infirmary. To this 
institution he gave a donation of £1,000 in 1882 ; and in August of the same year he was 
presented with his portrait, painted by R. Herdman, R.S.A., bearing the following in.scription : — 

" Presented to Guorge Rough, Esq'^i' fonnevly Provost of Dundee, by a large number iif L'riend.s and 
Fellow-Citizens, in recognition of the many public and pbilanthropie services rendered by him during a 
long, honourable, and useful career." 

This portrait was handed over by Mr Rough to the town, and is now in the permanent 
collection of pictures within the Albert Institute. 

As Mr Rough has ever been an enthusiastic advocate of temperance, he endeavoured when 
in office to amend the administration of the licensing system, and his efforts iu this direction 
were fairly successful. He has also been deeply interested in the welfare of the Industrial Schools 
iu Dundee, and has rendered these institutions most valuable assistance. From the beginning of 
his public career he has been a consistent advocate of Liberal principles in politics. Mr Rough 
is now (1887) in his eighty-sixth year, and still takes an interest in public affairs, though he has 
long retired from active service. He is the oldest surviving Burgess on the Roll. 



1822. November Gth. 
WILLIAM HACKNEY, Merchant in Dundee, was admitted Burgess for 

HAVING PAID £10 TO P. H. ThOMS, PRESENT ToWN ChAMBERLAIN, IN FULL 

or HIS Freedom. 

William Hackney was a tlaxspinner in the Wellgait, Dundee. His first appearance in 
public life was as Dean of Guild in 1829, and to this office he was re-elected in the following year. 
He entered the Tow'n Council as a Common Councillor in 1837, and was appointed Harbour 
Trustee. In 1839 and 1840 he was chosen Provost of Dundee, but iu consequence of his 
indifferent health he resigned this office on 14th April, 1841. Whilst he was iu power the Water 
Scheme was brought under discussion, and he succeeded in postponing precipitate action in this 
matter. At the date of his retirement from office, the Council recorded in the minutes of 17th 
April, 1841, " their thanks for his zealous attention to the duties of his office while he has been in 
the Council as Provost."" 



260 JAMES CARMICHAEL — CHARLES CARMICHAEL. 



1822. December 23rd. 

JAMES CARMICHAEL, Mill- Wright and Engineer in Dundee, was admitted 
Burgess for having paid £10 Stg. to P. H. Thoms, Chamberlain, in 
FULL OF HIS Freedom. 



The same day CHARLES CARMICHAEL, Mill- Wright and Engineer, was 

ADMITTED BuRGESS FOR THE SAME REASON. 

James Carmichael and his brother Charles may be regarded as the pioneers of engineering 
enterprise in Dundee ; but they have a wider claim to recognition, since some of their most 
important inventions, developed and perfected in the Burgh, served to revolutionize the tardy 
processes of iron-manufacture in existence before their time, and to foreshadow many recent 
advances in theii- own special department of Mechanics. Tb.e Carmichaels were natives of 
Glasgow, their father, George Carmichael, having been long a Merchant Councillor and a Bailie 
in that city, and also one of the original partners in the famous Glasgow Arms Bank. James 
Carmichael was born in 1776 and Charles in 1782. Their father died about four years after the 
birth of the latter, and their widowed mother having realized her husband's share in the co-partnery 
which existed between him and his brother, retired to her native place of Pentland, in Midlothian, 
taking her two sons with her. James was apprenticed as a mill-wright with his mother's brother, 
Mr Umpherston, in that remote locality ; and under the strict and enlightened training of his 
relative his latent capacities for engineering were thoroughly developed. On the completion of 
his term of service James Carmichael obtained a situation as superintending mechanic at the 
Adelphi Spinning Works, Glasgow, then carried on by Messrs Thomson & Buchanan, and was 
for some time one of their most valued employes. Charles Carmichael, the younger brother, 
served his apjDrenticeship to the engineering trade at Loanhead, and whilst yet a young journey- 
man he came to Dundee in 1805, and entered into partnershijD with Mr Taylor as a mill-wright, 
the designation of the firm being "Taylor & Co." This co-partnery expired in 1810, and at 
that time Charles induced his brother James to remove to Dundee, and to begin business with 
him as an engineer. The spinning of iiax was then the staple trade of Dundee, and as it was 
increasing with great rapidity at this time, there was ample scope for the developmetat of con- 
structive engineering. The application of steam as a motive power had revolutionized applied 
mechanics, and the Carmichaels soon made their firm famous as makers of steam-driven 
machinery for .spinning purposes. A new industry was introduced by them in 1S21 by theii' 
construction of the steam-engine fitted up by them to drive the ferry-boat between Dundee and 
Woodhaven. The success which attended this experiment was so great that two years afterwards 
they were commissioned to supply a similar engine for another ferry-boat on the .same station, in 
which many improvements in marine steam-engines — especially that of the reversing gear — were 
anticif)ated, and have since been perfected. 

To the Carmichaels the honour belongs of having constructed the first Scottish locomotive:- 
for the traffic on the Dundee and Newtyle Railway. These were made in 1832-33, am 



:S 



JOHN BOYD BAXTER. 261 

were used continuously on this line for over thirty years, but were finally displaced by the more 
elaborate locomotives of the present day. They were also the inventors of the Fan-blast, by which 
the manufacture of iron was greatly accelerated, and the cost of its production much reduced. 
The C.\RMICHAELS did not take any steps to protect their new methods of operation, with the 
result that their inventions thus became public property. Their ingenuity, however, did not pass 
nnnoticed, for in April, 1841, James Carmichael was presented at Glasgow with a handsome 
silver service, subscribed for amongst the members of the iron trade, " in testimony of their deep 
sense of the liberal manner in which he and his brother have permitted the unrestricted use of 
their valuable invention of the Fan-Blowing Machine." 

Charles Carmichael, who was for several years a member of the Town Council, died on 13th 
May, 1S4;1 His eldest brother survived till 14th August, 1853, at which time he expired in his 
house at Fleuchar Craig. A bronze statue of James Carmichael, executed by John 
Hutchison, RS.A., was erected in Albert Square, Dundee, in 1873. James Carmichael, son of 
Charles Carmichael, was admitted Burgess of Dundee on 19th March, 1835, and the 
engineering firm established by his father and uncle is still carried on by him and his cousin. 



1823. October 25th. 

JOHN BOYD BAXTER, Writer, was admitted Burgess by the privilege 
ov William Baxter, Merchant, Burgess of Dundee, his Father. 

John Boyd Baxter was the son of William W. Baxter, a cousin of William Baxter, the 
founder of the eminent firm of Baxter Brothers (vide page 248). He was born in Dundee on 
19th February, 1796, was educated at the Grammar School of the Burgh, and was apprenticed to 
a legal jwactitioner with the intention of becoming a solicitor. After his term was completed he 
removed in 1815 to Edinburgh, and prosecuted his studies both at the Law Classes in the 
University and in the office of a legal firm there. On his return to Dundee he passed as 
Procurator before the Sheriff Court of Forfarshire, and settled to the practice of law in his 
native town in 1821. The civic affairs of the Burgh were then in a state of turmoil. The 
Guildry had been successful to some extent in breaking up the ring that for a long period had 
ruled by self-election; but an attempt at reaction was made in October, 1823, by some of 
the members of the old party, who brought forward Mr J. BoYD Baxter as a candidate for the 
office of Clerk to the Guildry in opposition to Mr James Saunders, who had held that post for 
several years in the interest of the party of progress. Strenuous efforts were made to procure the 
election of Mr Baxter, but he was defeated by a majority of one, the votes for Saunders being 
54 and for Baxter 53. The latter was enrolled as a Burgess immediately after his defeat. In 
May, 1824, he was appointed one of the Procurators- Fiscal for the Dundee district of Forforshire. 
This important office he administered for the very long tern^ of fifty-seven years, his resignation of 
it taking effect in March, 1881. His official duties were so extensive and absorbing that he had 
little time to devote to the political or civic questions agitated in the Burgh, and though 



262 JAMES l'amy. 

his advice on these matters was frequently sought and freely given, his name did not appear 
prominentl}^ in public. In 1874 the University of St Andrews conferred upon him the degree of 
LL.D., "iu consideration of his high legal status and literary gifts," and he was appointed 
a member of the Royal Commission on the Law Courts of Scotland. As his fiftieth year of office 
as Procurator-Fiscal was completed in May, 1874, he was presented on that occasion with 
an address signed by many leading citizens of Dundee, in which his long and faithful services to 
the public were duly acknowledged, and a marble bust of him, executed by William Brodie, 
R.S.A., was unveiled and placed in the Library of the Faculty of Procurators. In Dr Baxter's 
speech iu reply to this address, the desirability of establishing a College in Dundee was referred 
to ; and afterwards, with the sanction of Miss Baxter of Balgavies, he laid before the Town 
Council a scheme for the foundation of such an institution, and asked their co-operation 
in realizing the idea. The sum of £150,000, which he considered necessary for this purpose, 
seemed to the Council too great for them to expect readily to obtain by public subscription, and 
the project was abandoned for a time. Six years after the idea liad been mooted, ]^r Baxter 
came forward with a most munificent proposal. Miss Baxter, he announced, was willing to hand 
over £130,000 towards this object, in the hope that others would follow her example. Shortly 
afterwards Dr Baxter added to it a further contribution of £10,000, making the whole sum 
amount to £140,000. No time was lost in applying this princely donation to the purpose 
intended, and the University College thus established will long form a striking memorial of the 
generous founders. 

In acknowledgment of his services to the Burgh, a movement was originated by the Free 
Library Committee to have Dr Baxter's portrait painted by SiB Daniel Macnee, P.R.S.A., and 
presented to him. On 9th September, 18S1, the presentation was made, and Dr Baxter handed 
over the portrait to the Provost, that it might be placed in the permanent collection of pictures 
belonging to the town. Dr BAXTER died at his residence, Craigtay, Bronghty Ferry Road, on 4th 
August, 1882. 



1825. October 4th. 

JAMES L'AMY, EsQiil-- of Dunkenny, Sheriff-Depute of Forfarshire, was 
admitted burgess as a mark op the respect of the council and a 
testimony of their sense of the attention which he has always 
given to the interests of the town while he was assessor of the 
Burgh, and since he became Chief Magistrate of the County, and 
OF the valuable Services he has rendered to the Council generally. 

James L'Amy was the only son of John Ramsay L'Amy of Dunkenny, who was admitted 
Burgess on 26th September, 1780 {vide page 229), and was born on 8th July, 1772. He studied 
for the profession of the law, and passed as Advocate in 1794. He filled the office of Town's 
Advocate for Dundee— a post which had been occupied by SiR GEORGE Mackenzie, Sir 



CAPTAIN BASIL HALL. 263 

William Nairne, Lord Dunsinane, and mauy other eminent lawyers — but his appointment as 
Sheriff-Depute of Forfarshire forced him to resign this place, and his letter of resignation is 
engrossed in the Council Minute of 11th August, 1S19. He retained his Sheriffship till 1853, 
and only survived his demission of that office a few months, as he died on loth January, 1854. 
He was married in 1811 to Mary, daughter <jf Joseph Carson, M.D., of Philadelphia, and the 
eldest son of this marriage is John Ramsay L'Amy, Esq'Z;' the present proprietor of Dunkenny. 



1826. February oth. 

CAPTAIN BASIL HALL of the Royal Navy was admitted Burgess of 
Dundee, and that as a Mark of the Respect which the Council enter- 
tain FOR his Eminent Talents and Enterprise, and of their sense of 
THE Obligations the said Burgh and the surrounding District are 
under to him for his admirable Account of the Ferries on the Tay, 
AND his Exertions for the Improvement of the Public Ferries. 

Captain Basil Hall was the second son of Sir John Hall of Dunglass, Bart., and of Lady 
Helen Douglas, daughter of the fourth Earl of Selkirk. He was boi-n at Edinburgh in 1788, 
was educated at the High School there, and entered the Navy as a midshipman in 1802. Six years 
afterwards he was advanced to the rank of Lieutenant, became Commander in 1814, and Post- 
Captain in 1817. He accompanied Lord Amherst to China on a diplomatic mission in 1810, having 
then the command of the small gun-brig Lyra, and whilst waiting for the return of the ambassador 
from his inland journey to Pekin, Hall employed his leisure examining the coast of Corea, which 
was then hardly known in this country. The results of this exploration were published by him 
in 1817 on his return to England, and attracted very much attention at the time. Having been 
afterwards sent to the Pacific seaboard of America, he wrote an account of his travels under the 
title " Extracts from a Journal written on the Coast of Chili, Peru, and Mexico, in the years 1820, 
1821, and 1822," which also was very well received. In 1825 he left the Royal Navy, and 
occupied his time in examining the Ferries of the Forth and Tay, suggesting mauy improvements 
in the method of conducting them, and describing in a monograph on the Tay Ferries the marine 
steam-engine which had been constructed for the traffic at Dundee by James Carmichael (vide 
page 260). For this service he was enrolled as a Burgess on 5th February, 1826. He married 
Margaret, daughter of Sir James Hunter, Consul-General in Spain, in 1825, and two years 
afterwards he set out with his wife and child on a tour through the United States, traversing by 
land and water nearly nine thousand miles in little more than twelve months. The account 
which he wrote of the state of society there gave great offence to those whom he criticised, and his 
work called " Travels in North America" was severely assailed by the Transatlantic press, but 
became extremely popular in this country. His records of travels in Italy and Styria at a later 
date were also very well received in Great Britain; and his last book, called "Patchwork," 



264 ALEXANDER KAY. 

published in 1841, and consisting of recollections of travels iu various parts of the world, was one 
of the most successful works of the time. The severe experiences he had undergone had injured 
his constitution, and his excessive literar}- labours ultimately caused premature mental decay. 
His mind gave way, and having been placed in confinement at Portsmouth Royal Hospital, he 
died there on 11th September, 1844, in his fifty-sixth year. 



1828. August 21st. 

ALEXANDER KAY, Grocer and Spirit Dealer in Dundee, was admitted 
Burgess for having paid to the Town Treasurer during the Year 
FROM Martinmas, 1805, to Martinmas, 1806, the Sum of £2 15s. 6^d. 

FOR THE PRIVILEGE OF TRADING WITHIN THE BURGH DURING HIS LIFE- 
TIME, AND FOR HAVING NOW PAID .£'10 StG. TO PATRICK HuNTER ThOMS, 

Town Chamberlain, Dundee. 

This entry has a very special interest, since it gave rise to the litigation which ultimately 
resulted in the disfranchisement of the Burgh of Dundee. In 1827, two parties, Alexander Kay 
and William Lindsay, were proposed for the office of Dean of Giiild. On examination of the 
votes it was found that a large majority had voted for Kay, but the post was claimed for Lindsay 
on the ground that his opponent was not a Burgess of the First Class, as he had only paid the 
dues for his lifetime, and was not therefore eligible for the office of Dean. The Town Council on 
this representation accepted Lindsay. A protest was lodged by Kay, and the case was finally 
carried to the Court of Session, where a judgment was given in favour of Kay ou 80th March, 
1830, by which it was declared that the Burgh was disfranchised in consequence of his 
illegal exclusion from the Council. The Council was superseded by managers ajjpointed by the 
Court of Session to attend to municipal affairs, but the matter was not adjusted until the issue of an 
Order in Council (May, 18.31), whereby the election was settled according to law. Both Mr Kay 
and Mr Lindsay were elected to serve on the first Council appointed after this date, and both at 
a later time filled the Provost's chair. 

Alexander Kay was born at Meigle on 12th May, 1779, and came to Dundee in 1806, where 
he began business as a spirit merchant in tlie Overgait. His place was at the corner of Tally Street. 
The old building which he acquired was removed bj' him in opening up the street, and he built the 
Albion Hotel on the site. He was elected as Merchant Councillor under the Poll Warrant of 1831, 
and was continued in the following year. In 1833 he was chosen Provost, and was re-elected 
and held office until 1839. He was returned as Common Councillor at the election in 1839, and 
when Provost Johnstone resigned his office in September, 1841, Mr Kay was again appointed 
to act as Provost until the November election of that year. When the Water Scheme was under 
discussion. Provost Kay proposed a general assessment as the best means of defraying its cost, 
but this method was not adopted for more than thirty years after this proposal. Mr Kay died on 
7th August, 186], in the eighty-third year of his age. 



JAMES NEISH — DAVID JOBSON. 265 



1829. November 4th. 

JAMES NEISH, Merchant, was admitted Burgess of Dundee by the 
PRIVILEGE OF William Neish, Merchant, Burgess of Dundee, his 
Father. 

James Neish was bom in Dundee in 1812, and began business with liis father as a merchant 
there. He was one of the first to recognise the value of jute as a material for the manufacture 
of textile fabrics, and he was the founder of the jute carpet trade. His earliest attempts at the 
production of carpeting were not very successful, but by dauntless perseverance he was at length 
able to produce a fabric which foiuid a market both in this country and in America. His business 
advanced rapidly, and he soon attained a considerable fortune. In 18.51 he purchased the estate 
of Laws, near Dundee, and shortly afterwards added to it the neighbouring property of Omachie. 
He retired from active business in 1857, and resided constantly at Laws, where he employed his 
leisure in cultivating his antiquarian tastes, and made many interesting discoveries of pre-historic 
remains in Forfarshire. He sat as one of the representatives of the County in the Harbour 
Commission for several years, and was also a member of the principal County Boards. His death 
took place very suddenly, on 22nd May, 1882. 



1831. August 13th. 

DAVID JOBSON, Baker, Dundee, was admitted Burgess for having 
paid Twenty Pounds Stg. to PATEICK HUNTER THOMS, Town 
Chamberlain, in full of his Freedom. 

David Jobson entered the Town Council in 1849, and served as Councillor till 1854. In that 
year he was made Bailie, and held that office for two years. He was elected Councillor again in 
1856 and the following year ; and in 1858 was chosen Provost, and acted in that capacity for 
the usual term of three years (1858-59-60). At the termination of his Provostship he re-entered 
the Council as a Common Councillor, but only remained in that position for a few months. He 
died on 7th February, 1879. His son, David Jobson, junior, was admitted Burgess on 7th 
November, 1873, and was a member of the Town Council for three years, but did not return to it 
after his term had expired. He lost his life in the melancholy disaster which destroyed the first 
Tay Bridge, on 28th December, 1879. 
2 K 



266 VISCOUNT DUNCAN — WILLIAM MAULE— JOSEPH HUME. 



1831. August 26th. 

The Eight Hon. ROBERT DUNDAS HALDANE-DUNCAN of Campeedown 
AND Gleneagles, VISCOUNT DUNCAN, was admitted an Honorary 
Burgess for his Lordship's zeal in forwarding and carrying through 
THE Dundee Municipal Bill, and his Lordship's valuable Services 
thereanent. 



The Hon. WILLIAM MAULE of Panmure, Member of Parliament, for the 
like zealous Exertions and Services. 



JOSEPH HUME, EsqUI' of London, M.P. for the County of Middlesex, for 
the like zealous Exertions and Services. 

EoBERT DuNDAS Haldane-Duncan was the elder son of Admiral Lord Duncan, and of 
Henrietta Dltndas (vide page 2-37), and was born on 21st March, 17S5. He succeeded 
his father as second Viscount in 1804, and a few days after his enrolment as Burgess of Dundee 
(12th Sept., 1831) he was created Earl of Camperdown by letters-patent. The special services 
which he and the others whose names are entered beside his own had rendered to the Burgh are 
indicated in the entry. The Dundee Municipal Bill had the effect of settling the constitution of 
the Burgh, and placing the election of the Council in the hands of the ratepayers. In acknow- 
ledging receipt of his Burgess Ticket, Lord Duncan wrote as follows : — 

" London, 2nd September, LS.3L 
" Sir, 

j\Iay I request of you to convey to the IMagistrates and Town Council of Dundee my most humble 
thanks for the flattering compliment conferred on me by them in creating me an Honorary Burgess 
of the town. If any circumstance could add to my satisfaction it is the Eecord which lias been entered on 
the occasion. I trust I shall be always ready to forward, as far as my limited powers permit, any measure 
calculated to promote the welfare of the Inhabitants of Dundee ; Ijut in supporting the Municipal Bill I 
acted on much broader grounds. T consider it more a national than a local Bill, and taking it for 
a precedent I trust every Burgh -will seek for and obtain a similar one ; that thus the self-election of 
Magistrates, so false in its principle and so corrupt in its practice, AviU be annihilated, and Scotland be at 
length freed from a system so disgraceful and prejudicial to any country. T remain, witli every sentiment 
(if respect, your faithful very obedt. servt,, 

■ DUNCAN. 
" 'Will. Barrie, Esq., Town-Clerk, Dundee." 

The Earl of Camperdown died on 22nd December, 1S59, and was succeeded by his eldest 
son, Adam, Viscount Duncan, who was admitted Burgess on 12th November, 18.51. 



WILLIAM MAULE — JOSEPH HUME. 267 

William Maule of Panmure was the representative of the two families of Ramsay of Dalhousie 
and Maule of Panmure, both of which had been long connected with Dundee, and arc frequently 
mentioned in the preceding pages. He was the second son of George Ramsay, eighth Earl of 
Dalhousie, and of Elizabeth Glen of Longcroft, and was born on 27th October, 1771. His 
lather succeeded to the life-rent of the extensive Panmure estates on the death of his maternal 
uncle, William Maule, Earl of Panmure, with remainder to the second son ; and, accordingly, 
at the Earl of Dalhousie's death in 1787, William Ramsay assumed the name and designa- 
tion of Maule of Panmure, by which title he was afterwards known. He entered Parliament 
when quite a young man, and was Member for Forfarshire in 1796, and then uninterruptedly 
from 1805 till 1831. He was created Baron Panmure of Brechin andNavar on 10th September, 
1831. Thus, by a curious coincidence. Lord Panmure and the Earl of Camperdown, who 
were entered as Burgesses of Dundee on the same day, had an increased dignity conferred upon 
them at the same time, the occasion being the Coronation of WiLLiAM IV. The death of Lord 
Panmure took place on 13th April, 18.52. By his first wife, Patricia Heron Gordon (oh. 
1821), daughter of Gilbert Gordon of Halleaths, ho had three sons and sis daughters. Fox 
Maule, the eldest son, succeeded him, and was admitted Burgess of Dundee on 19th September, 
1850. Lauderdale Maule, the second son (nat. 25th March, 1807, oh. 1st August, 1854), was 
Lieutenant-Colonel of the 79tli Highlanders, and Member of Parliament for Forfarshire from 
1852 till his death at Constantinople, during the Crimean War. 

The distinguished career of Joseph Hume, the great advocate of Financial and Political 
Reform, is so well known that it is not necessary to do more than allude briefly to the principal 
events in his long life. He was born at Montrose in January, 1777, his father being a shipmaster 
and owner of two vessels belonging to that port. The father died when HuME was only five years 
of age. The rudiments of his education were imparted at the Grammar School of Montrose, and 
lie was apprenticed to a surgeon in that Burgh, having chosen the medical profession. His 
studies were completed at Edinburgh University with so mucia success that he was admitted a 
member of the College of Surgeons there in 1795. Two years later he obtained a similar distinc- 
tion from the London College of Surgeons, and then entered as an assistant-surgeon in the service 
of the East India Company. Immediately afterwards he set out for India, and having employed 
his leisure in the study of Persian and Hindostani, and made himself familiar with the forms of 
official accounting, he was appointed Postmaster and Paymaster of the division to which he was 
attached, and was frequently engaged as interpreter, be.sides acting as medical superintendent, 
during the Mahratta War. He remained in this position till 1808, and returned to Britain in 
possession of a fortune of nearly £40,000. During the next few years he travelled over the principal 
countries of the European Continent, and on his return in January, 1812, he entered Parliament 
as member for Weymouth, a vacancy having occurred through the death of SiR John Johnstone. 
His first recorded speech in the Hou.se of Commons was in favour of popular education, a subject 
then regarded with considerable suspicion by the majority of the legislature ; and he advocated 
the principles of Free Trade at a time when they were looked upon as impracticable. These 
views did not meet the approval of the trustees of SiR John Johnstone, and he was not returned 
by them for Weymouth at the General Election in March, 1S12. Six years afterwards he was 
chosen Member for the Aberdeen (now Montrose) Burghs, and continued to represent them till 



268 CHARLES WILLIAM BOASE. 

1830. He was Member for Middlesex from 1S30 till 1837, and is described as such in the entry 
on the Burgess-EoU. From 1837 to 1841 he represented Kilkenny, and in 1842 he was returned 
as Member for the Montrose Burghs, in which post he continued till his death in 1855. Through- 
out the long contest upon the extension of the Franchise which raged during the greater part of 
his political career Mr Hume advocated Radical Reform, and survived to see many of his ideas 
put into practice. He died at his seat of Burnley Hall, Norfolk, on 20th February, 1855, in his 
seventy-eighth year. 



1831. September 1st. 
CHARLES "WILLIAM BOASE, Banker, Dundee, was admitted Burgess, and 

THAT AS SOME RETURN FOR HIS ZEALOUS ExERTIONS IN AIDING TO PROCURE 

A Liberal Constitution for the Burgh of Dundee, in consideration 
OF WHICH Exertions all and sundry Liberties, &c., were conferred 

UPON HIM. 

Charles William Boase was the son of Henry Boase, banker, of Penzance, and was born 
at Chelsea in 1804. The family removed from Chelsea to Penzance in 1810, and here Charles 
received the elements of his education. His father having established, in company with some of 
his partners, the " New Bank" in Dundee, Charles Boase came to assume his place here in 1821, 
and seven years afterwards was appointed Manager. In 1838 the New Bank was amalgamated with 
the Dundee Banking Company, which had been founded in 1763 by George Dempster of 
Dunnichen {vide page 217), and Mr Boase undertook the management of tlie latter concern 
until after its union with the Royal Bank of Scotland. He retired from business in 1868 
and shortly afterwards took up his residence in Edinburgh. Whilst on a visit at Albury, Surrey 
he had an apoplectic stroke which entirely prostrated liim, and he died on 7th June, 1872, in the 
sixty-eighth year of his age. 

Though never employed in any public office, Mr Boase took a great interest in the affairs 
of the burgh. It was mainly through his exertions that the Watt Institute was founded, and he 
acted as Secretary and Treasurer of it from its beginning in 1824 till 1836. In the agitation for 
political reform, he was one of the leading spirits ; and, as the entry on the Bui'gess-Roll shows, 
was zealous in his exertions to procure a reform in the municipal constitution of Dundee. After 
the election of Sir Henry Parxell as member of Parliament for the burgh, he took no further 
share in political affairs, devoting all his energy to the extension of the Catholic Apostolic 
(Irvingite) Church, of which he became a conspicuous and energetic member. He was married to 
Margaret Lindsay, daughter of Provost William Lindsay (vide page 234), and had two sons 
and two daughters. 



WILLIAM HARRIS, JUNIOR. 269 



1831. September Gth. 
WILLIAM HAKEIS, Junior, Baker, Dundee, was admitted Burgess by the 

PRIVILEGE OF WiLLIAM HARRIS, BaKER, BurGESS OF DuNDEE, HIS FATHER. 

William Harris, senior, was admitted Burgess oq 11th January, 1819, through the privilege 
of his father (also called William), whoaiDpears to have settled as a master baker in Dundee in the 
preceding year. William Harris, junior, whose name is entered here, was born in Dundee in 1806, 
and educated at the Grammar School ; but the death of his father in 1822 compelled him to adopt 
a trade for his own support, and he chose the craft of baker, which had been followed by his father 
and grandfather. Having completed his apprenticeship he went to London, where he was 
employed for .several years; and he returned to his native town to begin business on his own 
account. To the trade of baker he added the occupations of miller and corn merchant, and by 
diligence and discretion he was soon in po.s.session of a competence. In 1836 he was elected 
a Police Commissioner for the Third Ward ; and in 1842 he represented the Nine Trades at the 
Harbour Board, and entered the Town Council. He was appointed Kirk-master in the following 
year, and in 1847 was chosen Second Bailie. In this position he remained till 1851, when he 
retired from the Council. He was sent as representative of the Guildry to the Harbour Board in 
1852, and again in 1801 ; but after that date took no part in public affairs. About this time ho 
retired from active business, and devoted the whole of his attention to operations in stocks and 
shares, by which he amassed the large fortune that he afterwards bestowed upon his fellow-townsmen. 
His first benefaction to Dundee was the setting aside by a deed of trust, dated 13th March, 1874. 
certain bonds and annuities amounting to £10,000, the interest from which was to be applied by 
trustees to the relief of distressed persons in the burgh. Mr Harris had always taken a 
deep interest in the welfare of the High School, where he had been educated, and saw with regret 
that its identity was likely to be effaced if it were transformed under the Education Act into a 
mere School Board Seminary. A claim was made by the Dundee School Board in 18S0 to 
the fabric and endowments of this Institution, which the Directors of the High School felt 
themselves justified in resisting as unwarranted by law ; and a long litigation upon this matter 
seemed imminent. At this crisis Mr Harris came forward, and after protracted negotiations he 
presented the Directors of the High School with £20,000 to enable them to extend the 
usefulness of that establishment, and gave £10,000 to the School Board of Dundee on 
condition that they would relinquish all claims upon the High School, and build a secondary 
school to be entirely under the control of the Board. A special Act of Parliament, entitled the 
" William Harris Endowment and Dundee Education Bill" was passed on 19th June, 1882, and 
resulted in the erection of the Board School known as the " Harris Academy." Shortly 
afterwards Mr Harris made a further donation of £1,500 to the High School to assist in 
defraying the cost of the introduction of heating apparatus. As a recognition of these and other 
munificent gifts which Mr Harris had made to Dundee, he was presented on 3rd October 
1881, with his portrait, painted by John Pettie, R.A., which was handed over by him to 
the town, and is now placed in the permanent collection of pictures in the Albert Institute. 



270 GEORGE KINLOCH. 

Mr Harris died on 17th March, 1SS3, having attained his seventy-seventh year. He 
was never married, but resided witli liis two sisters, one of whom survives him, and has 
emulated the munificence of her brother by granting £1G,000 to the High School for the purpose 
of erecting a Girls' School in connection with that institution, a portion of which has already 
been completed and partly occupied. 



1832. December 17th. 

GEOEGE KINLOCH, Esquire of Kinloch, was admitted Burgess for having 
PAID £20 Stg. to p. H. THOMS, present Chamberlain. 

George Kinloch was the younger son of Captain George Oliphant Kinloch of 
Rosemouut, and of Ann, daughter of John Balneaves of Carnbaddie. He was born at Bellevue 
(afterwards called Airlie Lodge), Dundee, on 30th April, 1775, and claimed descent from Dr 
David Kinloch of Aberbothrie, who was admitted Burgess on 17th February, 1602 (vide page 
92). His father acquired the estate of Aberbothrie from his cousin, Dr John Kinloch, and it is 
still in the possession of George Kinloch's grandson, Sir John G. S. Kinloch, Bart. George 
Kinloch spent some time in France during the year 1793, and, like many of the statesmen of his 
time, he regarded the French Revolution as the beginning of a new era in the history of mankind. 
The impressions he then received were never effaced, and affected all his after-life. His 
first public appearance in Dundee was made in 1814, in connection with the extension of 
the Harbour, Avhich was carried through mainly by Mr Kinloch's exertions. His services were 
acknowledged by the Guildry, and he was presented with a piece of plate, valued at 100 guineas, 
by that Incorporation, on 13th October, 1815. His sympathy with the demand made at this time 
for the reform of Parliamentary institutions led Mr Kinloch to take part in two mass meetings 
held on Magdalene Green, 2Gth February, 1S17, and 10th November, 1819, and as some of the 
sentiments which he uttered at the latter of these assemblies were distasteful to the authorities, 
steps were taken to have him tried for sedition. As party feeling then ran very high, he 
was advised not to appear at the High Court of Justiciary, to which he had been summoned, and 
he was consequently outlawed for non-ajipearance. He took refuge in France, and remained 
there till 1822 as an outlaw ; but in that year his daughter was presented to George IV., when 
that monarch was in Edinburgh, and she interceded so successfully for her father that the 
sentence of outlawry was cancelled, and he returned to Dundee. 

By the Reform Bill of 1832, Dundee obtained the right to send one representative to 
Parliament. On I7th December — the day of his admission as Burgess — Mr Kinloch was 
nominated and returned to the Reformed Parliament as the fiist member for Dundee elected by 
the vote of the people. His public career, however, was suddenly terminated. Parliament 
assembled on 29th January, 1833, and Mr Kinloch was most ftiithful in the performance of hii- 
duties, but on the 28th of March he died after a brief illness, being then in his fifty-eighth year. 
His body was brought to Scotland, and buried in the Kinloch Chapel at Meigle. A bronze 
statue of Mr Kinloch, executed by Sir John Steell,R.S.A., was erected on 3rd February, 1872, 
within the orounds of the Albert Institute. 



s 



CHARLES, EARL GREY — HENRY, LORD BROUGHAM AND YAUX. 271 



1834. September 8th. 

The PtiGFiT Hon. CHARLES, EAEL GREY, was admitted a Free Honorary 
Burgess of the Royal Burgh of Dundee, in respect of his Meritorious 
AND Distinguished Public Services. 



The Right Hon. HENRY, LORD BROUGHAM and VAUX, Lord High 
Chancellor of Great Britain, was admitted a Free Honorary Burgess 

IN RESPECT OF HIS MerITOEIOUS AND DISTINGUISHED PuBLIC SERVICES. 



The enrohnent of Earl Grey and of Lord Brougham as Burgesses of Dundee is a 
conspicuous testimony to the feelings with which the triumphant success of the Reform movement 
had been witnessed by the inhabitants of the burgh. Two years before this date a new Dock had 
been founded in Dundee and called the " Earl Grey Dock" in honour of that statesman, so that 
his name was already flimiliar in this locality. Only the merest sketch of the careers of these two 
eminent men is necessary here, as their lives may be read in any history of the times in 
which they flourished. 

Charles Grey', second Earl Grey', was the son of Sir Charles Grey, a renowned 
military commander, who w^as raised to the Peerage with the title of Lord Howick in 1801, and 
advanced to the dignity of Earl Grey' in 1806. He was born at Falloden, near Alnwick, on 
13th irarch, ITBi, and entered political life in 178G as member for the County of Northumberland, 
before he had completed his twenty-first year. Though all his relatives were connected with 
the Tory party, then under the leadership of William Pitt, Grey at the outset declared himself 
an adherent of the AVhigs who followed Charles Fox, and to this first profession he remained 
true throughout his long life. He was one of the founders of the famous " Society of Friends of 
the People," which was constituted in 1792 for the purpose of obtaining, b}- constitutional means, 
a reform of Parliamentary representation ; and he advocated the claims of the jjeojale to a share in 
their own government at a time when such a course was unpopular with nearly all in his own rank 
of life. For many years he maintained the struggle with the dominant party as a member of the 
Opposition; and it was not until the death of Pitt, in January, 1806, that he held office as First 
Lord of the Admiralty in the Ministry of Fox. The latter statesman did not long survive 
his great rival, and at his death, in October of the same year, Mr Grey' (then LoRD 
Howick) became his successor as Foreign Secretary and leader of the House of Commons. His 
Ministry only retained power for a few months, but during that time he succeeded in carrj'ing the 
important measure for the Abolition of the Slave Trade ; and was thrown out of office whilst 
attempting to bring in a Bill for the removal of Catholic Disabilities. The death of his father in 
1807 carried him to the House of Lords as Earl Grey', and for the succeeding twenty-three 
years he continued to be recognised as the chief of the Whig party, and the leader of a vigorous 



272 CHARLES, EARL GREY — HENRY, LORD liROUGHAM AND VAUX. 

Opposition. After the fall ui the WELLINGTON Ministry in 1S30, he was summoned by William 
IV. to form a new Cabinet, which included all the most prominent men of his party. He had 
not been idle during the long period which he had spent out of office, and he now found 
the country sufficiently enlightened for him to attempt the realisation of his favourite project of 
Parliamentary reform. His first efforts to introduce a measure of reform in representation were 
temporarily defeated ; lint he was at length privileged to carry into effect the Keform Bill 
of lSo2, which historians of every shade of political opinion agree in regarding as forming 
an epoch in the annals of the nation. In the brief period that his Ministry held power, 
they succeeded in effecting the abolition of slavery in the British Colonies, the overthrow of the 
monopoly established by tlie East India Company, and the reform of the Irish Church and 
of the English Poor Law. The Government was weakened, however, by the secession of Lord 
Stanley (the late Eabl of Derby), Sir James Graham, the Duke of Richmond, and 
Lord Ripon (Viscount Goderich), caused by their division upon the question of Irish Coercion; 
and Earl Grey resigned his office on 9th July, 1834. He visited Scotland immediately after his 
resignation, and was received enthusiastically as " the Father of Reform" wherever he appeared. 
It was whilst he was at a great national festival, held in his honour at Edinburgh on 15th 
September, that the Town Council presented him with the freedom of the Burgh of Dundee "in 
respect of his meritorious and distinguished public services." The remainder of his life was spent 
in retirement, and he died at Howick Hall, Northumberland, on 17th July, 1S4.5, when in the 
eighty-second year of his age. 

HenrY" Brougham was the eldest son of Henry Brougham, Esquire of Brougham, and 
(if Eleonora Syme, niece of Principal Robertson, the historian, and was born in Edinburgh on 
19th September, 1778. He was educated at the High School and University of Edinbtn-gh, and 
early showed a predilection for studies in natural philosophy, making several important 
contributions to science on the nature of light and on the remoter phenomena of optics. In 1800 
he was admitted as Advocate at the Scottish Bar, and was one of the earliest and most 
valued contributors to the Edinburgh Review. He removed to England in 1S08 to practise 
in the Court of King's Bench, and soon became a prominent member of the English Bar. 
He entered Parliament as member for Camelford in 1809, and was ere long recognised as one of 
the most powerful debaters in the House of Commons, and the principal opponent of George 
Canning. He was defeated by the latter in the contest for the representation of Liverpool 
in 1812; but in 1816 he was returned for the burgh of Winchilsea, and continued to represent 
that place till 1830. For a short time he held a seat as member for Knaresborough, and in the 
first Parliament of William IV. he was chosen as representative for the County of York, 
and retained that position until he was elevated to the Lord Chancellorship in the Ministry 
of Earl Grey in 1830. His fame as a pleader had been established by his conducting of 
the defence of QuEEN Caroline in 1820, but some dissatisfaction was occasioned by his 
appointment as Lord Chancellor without having held any of the minor legal offices by which that 
eminent post \vas usually reached. He had been a consistent advocate of Reform during all the 
preceding portion of his career, and he rendered important service to the reformers when the Bill 
of 1832 was carried to the House of Lords. Still more valuable were his persistent and 
successful efforts to spread education amongst the poorer classes, and to nullify the theological 



RIGHT HON. THE EARL OF DURHAM. 273 

and political tests by which the Universities were then hampered. To this point the late 
Sir David Brewster referred when he wrote thus of Lord Brougham : — 

"As the duly Britisli Minister wliu devoted hi,s powers and used lii.s influence in the promotion 
of national and general education — in the instruction of the working-classes — in the establi.slimenfc 
of unfettered Universities — in the diffusion of useful knowledge by popular publications — in the 
iuiproveinent of the patent laws — and in obtaining for the higher classes of literary and scientific men the 
honours and emoluments so long and so unjustly withheld from them, his name will shine in the future 
history of learning with a brighter lustre; tlian that of the Richelieus and Colberts of fcn-mer days." 

The Whig Ministry, of which Lord Brougham formed a part, retired from office in 1834, and 
it was at this time that he was presented at a public meeting with tlie freedom of Dundee. For 
a few months SiR Robert Peel was in power ; and when the Whigs returned in the following 
year under the leadership of Viscount Melbourne, Lord Brougham was excluded from 
the Cabinet. From this period he reniained an independent politician, criticising both parties 
with ecpial severity, and censured — somewhat unjustly — as being faithful to neither. He did not 
again take office, but retired to an estate which he had purchased near Cannes, in Provence, and 
passed the remainder of his life in literary and scientific recreations. He died thei'e on 7tli May 
1868, when in his ninetieth year. By his wife, Mary, daughter of Thomas Eden, Esquire, he had 
two daughters, who botli predeceased him ; and as he had obtained a new patent of nobility 
in 1860 giving the reversion of his title to his youngest brother, Thomas, he was succeeded by 
him at his death, and the latter is now Lord Brougham and Vaux. 



1834. October 4th. 

The Right Hox. The EAPtL of DURHAM was admitted a Free Bukgess of 
THE Royal Burgh of Dundee, as a testimony of the respect of the 
Council for his Character as a Senator, and as a mark of their 
appreciation of his successful exertions in the cause of reform. 

John George Lambton, first Earl of Durham, was the son of William Henrv Lambton, 
Esquire of Lambton Castle, and of Anne, daughter of the fourth Earl of Jersey. He was born 
on 13th April, 1792, and was trained in the midst of ultra-Radicalism, his father having 
been the Chairman of the Society of the Friends of the People, w'hich had been founded 
by Earl Grey. In 1813 he was returned to Parliament as member for the County of 
Durham, and at once took a leading position in the extreme section of the Whig party. He 
advocated more sweeping reforms in representation than any of his colleagues, and in 1821 
he suggested a scheme of equal electoral districts, which is in advance even of our own day. His 
marriage with a daughter of Earl Grey (his second wife) linked him more closely with 
that nobleman's party; and he joined the Ministry of his father-in-law as Lord Privy Seal 



ii74 RIGHT HON. SIR HENRY TARNELL. 

ill 1830, and was one of the Committee of the Cabinet that drew up the Reform Bill of 
1832. He had been raised to the Peerage as Baron Durham in 1828, and was consequently in 
the House of Lords when that important measure wafs brought up, and gave it most effective 
support. In 1833 he was compelled through ill-health to resign his office, and he was then 
created Earl of Durham. During the summer of that year he was sent on a special mission to 
the Emperor of Russia, returning from that country in the following year. He was present at 
the National Festival held in Edinburgh on 15th September, 1834, in honour of Earl Grey, and 
delivered a speech of remarkable power, which seemed to mark him out as the probable successor 
of the veteran " Father of Reform" in the leadership of the advanced Whig party. But his 
indifferent health precluded him from facing the arduous labour which such a position would 
have necessitated. On 4th October he visited Dundee, and received his burgess ticket and 
an address from the Town Council in the presence of a large assembly of the inhabitants that met 
in front of the Town House, there being then no public hall of sufficient capacity in the burgh to 
. accommodate them. In 1837 he returned to Russia upon another embassy, and shortly 
afterwards was sent to Canada as Governor-General, being invested with extraordinary powers to 
enable him to quell the rebellion which then raged in that quarter. The Ministry of ViSCOUNT 
Melbourne did not afford him the support which he rei[uired, and he resigned his appointment 
after holding it for a few months, and came back to England. The breach thus caused between 
himself and the Whig party seemed again to point him out as the coming leader of the Radicals, 
but his continued illness prevented him from engaging in political life. He started for the 
Continent in search of health in the summer of 1840, fell ill at Dover, was carried to the Isle of 
Wight, and died at Cowes on 28th July of that year. His eldest surviving son, George 
Frederick D'Arcy Lambton, succeeded him, and the son of the latter is now third Earl 
OF Durham. 



1837. July 2.5th. 
The PiiGHT Hon. SIR HENRY PARNELL, Bart., was admitted Burgess for 

THE PRE-EMINENT SERVICES RENDERED BY HIM IN FORMER PARLIAMENTS, 
THE RESULT OF HIS PROFOUND KNOWLEDGE OF THE COMMERCE AND FINANCES 

OF THE Empire ; and for his zealous and faithful Services as 
Representative of the Burgh during the late Session of Parliament ; 
and his uniform attention to the interests of this Town and 
Community. 

When George Kinloch, M.P. for Dundee, died suddenly in March, 1833 {vide page 270), 
Sir Henry Parnell came forward to solicit the suffrages of the electors, and was placed 
by them in the vacant seat at that period. Parliament was dissolved on 30th December, 1834, 
and Sir Henry was re-elected in the succeeding February. A dissolution again took place on 
17th July, 1837, after the death of William IV., and the Town Council then adopted the method 



JOHN GLADSTONE. 275 

of recording the satisfaction with which Sir Henry's services had been regarded by the burgri, 
by placing him on the Burgess-Roll. On the date of this entry he was nominated again 
as a candidate, Mr John Gladstone of Fasijue, father of the ex-Premier, standing in opposition 
to him in the Tory interest. At the General Election of that year he was once more returned as 
member for Dundee, and continued to represent the burgh until the dissolution on 23rd 
June, 1841, when he was raised to the Peerage, and entered the House of Lords as Baron 
Congleton of Cungleton. 

Henry Brooke Parxell was the second son of Sir John Parnell, Bart., and of Letitia 
Charlotte, daughter of Sir Arthur Brooke of Coalbrook. He was born on ovd July, 177G, 
and entered public life at an early age, being member for Maryborough in the last Irish 
Parliament, 179S-1S00. He was married in 1801 to a daughter of the Earl OF Portarlington, 
and that nobleman sent him to the British Parliament of 1S02 as representative of his 
pocket-burgh of Portarlington. In the new Parliament which assembled in November of 
that year he represented Queen's County, and continued to do so almost uninterruptedh^ until 
1832. He then became member for Dundee in the circumstances already related. During his 
Parliamentarj' career of forty-three years he held the offices of Lord of the Treasury (Ireland), 
Secretary-at-War, Paymaster-General of the Forces, and Treasurer of the Nav}' and Ordnance, 
and displa^'ed conspicuous administrative capacity. The sudden cessation from active duty 
which was caused by his removal to the Upper House seems to have affected his miad, and 
he gave way to fits of melancholy, and in one of these depressed moods he died in his own house 
at Chelsea on 8th June, 184'2. He was very popular with his Dundee constituents for a long 
time, but some dissatisfaction had been expressed latterly regarding his conduct; and though 
it had been intended to name one of the new streets off the Bucklemaker Wynd after him, the 
Police Commissioners decided, in March, 18-i2, to alter its designation, and to call the new 
thoroughfare Nelson Street, instead of Parnell Street. SiR Henry's eldest son is the present 
Baron Congleton. 



1837. July 25th. 
JOHN C4LADST0NE, Esquire of Fasque, was admitted a Burgess of Dundee 

FOR HAVING PAID THE ORDINARY DUES OF ADMISSION. 

The first Parliament of Queen Victoria assembled on 15th November, 1837, and the 
election of the member for Dundee took place on 27th July of that year. SiR Henry Parnell 
had represented that burgh from the date of George Kinloch's death in 1833, but at this time 
Mr Gladstone of Fasque came forward to contest the seat in the Tory interest. Out of a 
constituency of 1044 Sir Henry' had a large majority over his opponent. Two days before the 
election the Town Council entered the name of Sir Henry Parnell on the Burgess-Roll 
{vide page 274), and immediately after it that of his rival aj^peaxs as quoted above. 

Sir John Gladstone of Fasque was the son of Thomas Gladstones, grain merchant, Leith, 
and of Helen, daughter of Walter Neilson, Esquire of Springfield. As the name of 



276 JOHN GLADSTONE. 

Gladstone has acquired great renown, it may be interesting to note that the Gladstones of 
Fasqne are descended from the Gladstones of Arthurshiel, in the County of lianark. Arthur- 
shiel has been traced as the property of the Gladstones from the days of Queen Mary, when 
William Gledstanes was the laird. His descendant and representative in the time of King 
Charles II. was William Gledstanes, who sold Arthurshiel in the year 1G79. He then 
became a burgess of the neighbouring town of Biggar, where several of his descendants still 
remain. He was the great-great-grandfather of Sir Thomas Gladstone now of Fasque, and of 
his brother, the Right Hon. William Ewart Gladstone, M.P., of Hawarden, the two surviving 
sons of our burgess. On 10th February', 183.5, two years before the admission of Mr John 
Gladstone as a burgess of Dundee, he had obtained a Royal License to drop the final letter " s " 
in his surname. Arthurshiel is situated near the old Castle of Gledstanes, in the County of 
Lanark, and there is reason to believe that the Gledstanes of Gledstanes and the Gledstanes 
of Arthurshiel had a common ancestor in Herbert of Gledstanes, who figured prominently in 
the County of Lanark in the year 129ti. 

John Gladstone was born at Leith on 11th December, 1764, and entered into his father's 
business at an early age. In 178.5 he went to Liverpool as clerk to a firm of corn merchants 
there, and afterwards became a partner in the concern. By his sagacity and commercial enter- 
prise he realised a considerable fortune. The estate of Fasque, in Kincardineshire, was acquired 
by him about the year 1827 from Sir Alexander Ramsay of Balmain, and he built and 
endowed S. Andrew's Epi.scopal Church at Fasque, in close proximity to his new seat. He also 
erected and endowed in his native town of Leith the Presbyterian Church known as " S. Thomas." 
He entered Parliament as a member for Lancaster in 1819. In the Parliament of 1820-26 he 
represented Woodstock, and in that of 1827 he was member for Berwick. His long experience 
in commercial affairs caused his opinion to be highly valued b}* the leading statesmen of the 
period, although his sentiments in favour of Protection and against the repeal of the Corn Laws 
rendered him unpopular with a constituency so Radical as Dundee had long been before his 
appearance as a candidate. But his non-success at Dundee apparently prevented him from 
attempting again to enter Parliament. His high personal character, his great success in life, and 
the general esteem in which he was held, all led to his being created a Baronet by Her Majesty 
by Patent dated 27th June, 1846. The later years of his long and active life were spent 
principally at his mansion of Fasque, where he died on 7th December, 1851, aged eighty-seven 
years. 

Sir John Gladstone was twice married. His first wife died without issue ; and by his 
second — Ann, daughter of Andrew Robertson, Provost of Dingwall — he had four sons 
and two daughters. His eldest son is Sir Thomas Gladstone, Bart., present proprietor of 
Fasque and Balfour ; and the youngest and only other surviving son is the Right Hon. William 
Ewart Gladstone, the eminent statesman and author. The white marble monument erected 
in the interior of S. Andrew's Episcopal Church at Fasque to the memory of Sir John and his 
wife bears the following inscription : — 

"Sacred to the memory of Sir John Gladstone cif Fu.sque and Balfour, iJanmet : born lltli December, 
1764; died 7th December, 1851. And uf liis wife Ann Robertson: born 4th August, 1772; died 
23rd September, 1835." 



FRANCIS MOLISON — RICHARD COBDEN. 277 



1S41. January 28th. 
FEANCIS MOLISON, Merchant, was admitted Burgess of Dundee by the 

PRIVILEGE OF HIS WiFE, ELIZABETH BaXTER, DAUGHTER OF WiLLIAM 

Baxter, Merchant, Burgess of Dundee. 

Francis Moi.ISON, whose uaiuo is familiar as that of a public benefactor of Dundee, was boru 
at Forfar in 1793, of which town his father was Provost, and settled in Dundee early in the 
present century, where he established himself in business as an export merchant. He was elected 
Chairman of the Dundee Parochial Board in 18.5G, and continued to hold that office until he 
retired in 1872. His interest in the work on which he was thus engaged led him to erect, at 
his own expense, in 1861, the Molison Hospital in the East Poorhouso, at a cost of over £800. In 
1861! the esteem with which he was regarded prompted the Town Council to offer to place him 
in the position of Provost, though he had never held the post of Councillor, but this honour 
he declined. Three years afterwards (1867) he purchased Dalltield House, and fitted it up as an 
Institution for the Blind, at a cost of over £1,500 ; and at a later date, when the accommodation 
thus provided was found inadequate, he bequeathed a sum of about £10,000 for the purpose of 
acquiring the site and erecting the building at Magdalene Green which now forms the Asylum for 
the Blind. As an acknowledgment of his philanthropic services, his portrait was painted by Sir 
Francis Grant, President of the Royal Academy, in 1867, and presented to the town, and is 
now hung on the wall of the Council Chamber. The Mars Training Ship was brought to the Tay 
chiefly through his exertions ; and throughout his life he took a deep interest in the welfare ot 
the boys who were trained in it. The estate of Errol was purchased by him in 1873, and shortly 
afterwards he built the mansion house there ; but he was not privileged long to enjoy his 
retirement, as he died at Errol on 1st September, 1877. Mr Molison was married in 1833 to 
Eliza, youngest daughter of Williaji Baxter of Balgavies and Ellengowan {vide page 248), 
■who survived him, and died on 2nd October, 1883. 



1843. January 16th. 

EICHAED COBDEN, M.P., was admitted Burgess of Dundee as a testimony 
OF the respect of the Magistrates and Council for him as a sincere 
AND zealous Advocate of the principles of Free Trade, and for 
his unwearied Exertions, both in and out of Parliament, to do away 
the Eestrictions which at present affect the Commerce of these 
Kingdoms. 

Richard Cobden, whose name will ever be associated with the establishment of Free Trade 
principles in this kingdom, was born at Dunford, Midhurst, Sussex, on 3rd June, 1804. His 



278 RICHARD COBDEN. 

ancestors had lived in that locality for many generations, one of them, Adaji de Coppedone 
having been returned as member of Parliament for Chichester in 1313. Before his birth, 
however, the family had fallen into poor circumstances, and on the death of his grandfather 
in 1S09, the estate of Dunford was sold, and his father removed to a small farm in the 
neighbourhood. Here the father struggled for some time to support his largo family, but 
at length was ruined by the stagnation that ensued after the cessation of the war; and the 
children were cast upon the care of their relations. KiCHARD CoBDEN was sent to a Yorkshire 
school, where he was educated at the expense of an uncle, and when fifteen yeai's of age he 
was taken into the London warehouse of that relative, where he was employed first as a clerk and 
afterwards as a traveller. The firm in which he was engaged succumbed during the commercial 
crisis of 182.5-20, and young Cobden was thrown out of employment. In 1828 he began selling 
goods on commission, and was soon in a prosperous condition. The repeal of the excise duty on 
printed calicoes in 1831 induced him to enter into business as a calico-printer, and, in company 
with several partners, he established a factory at Sabden, in Lancashire, and thus laid the 
foundation of a prosperous concern. The extension of his business caused him to travel frequently 
on the Continent, and he learned from actual contact with the world that knowledge of affau-s 
which others obtain imperfectly from literature. His first important pamphlet appeared in 1835, 
and was entitled " England, Ireland, and America." In this work he openly advocated the repeal 
of the Corn Laws as the first necessity for the welfare of the nation ; and from this time forward 
he spared no effort to bring about that result. In 1836 an Anti-Corn Law League was formed in 
London, and two years afterwards a similar institution was founded in Manchester, and of the latter 
Mr CoBDEN became the moving spirit. Of the dauntless struggles of these agitators, with Richard 
CoBDEN and JoHX Bright at their head, it is unnecessary to speak in detail. It is sufficient to 
state that SiR Robert Peel, who had been the most determined opponent of theii- theories, at 
last frankly announced his conversion, and in 1846 granted that free trade in corn which he had 
formerly characterized as a fanatical delusion. It is worthy of notice that the Town Council 
of Dundee had recognized and officially acknowledged the value of Mr Cobden's services thi-ee 
years before this time. 

Mr CoBDEN entered Parliament as member for Stockport in 1841, and in 1847 he was 
simultaneously elected by that constituency and by the much more important one of the West 
Riding of Yorkshire, which latter he chose to represent. Throughout his public career he 
had advocated non-intervention in foreign politics, and he made a bold but unpopular stand 
against the Crimean War. His attitude on this question, and on the similar one relating to the 
Chinese imbroglio of 1857, had altered the feelings of his constituents towards him, and he not 
only lost his seat, but was unsuccessful in two subsequent attempts to obtain the suffrages of the 
electors in smaller constituencies. It was not until 1859 that he again found a seat in the House 
of Commons as member for Rochdale, which position he held until his death. His principal 
work in this last Parliament in which he sat was the completion of a Commercial Treaty with 
France, and the abolition of the Passport System which prevented free intercourse betwixt 
France and this nation. On 2nd April, 1865, he expired in his house at London, having reached 
his sixty-first year. 



HIS ROYAL HIGHNESS PRIN'CE ALBERT. 279 



lS-14. September Gth. 
His Royal Highness PRINCE ALBERT was admitted Burgess of Dundee 

AS A MARK OF ReSPECT. 

At a ineetiug of the Town Council, hold in the Council Chamber, on Srd September, 1844, 
ic was resolved unanimously : — 

" Tliat loyal and dutiful Addresses to Her INIajesty Queen Victoria and to Ills Royal Highness 
Prince Albert, her Consort, be presented on the occasion of tlieir approaching visit to 
Dundee ; and that His Eoyal Highness Prince Albert he made a Freeman of tlie Burgh." 

The Royal party arrived at Dundee on 11th September, 1844, on board the steam-yacht 
" Victoria and Albert,", and were received by the Earl of Airlie, Lord-Lieutenant of Forfarshire, 
and his suite, the Deputy- Lieutenants, Sheriff L'Amy, George Duncan, Esq., M.P. for Dundee, 
Provost Lawson and the Magistrates and Council of Dundee, etc. Mr Duncan, M.P., introduced 
Provost Lawson to Her Majesty, who addressed him in these words : — 

" My Lord Provost, 

" I have to tliank you for the very kind welcome with wliicli I have been received, and 
for the very admirable arrangements made to facilitate my landing." 

The following Addresses were then delivered by Provost Lawson to their Royal 
Highnesses : — 

" Unto the Queen's most excellent Majesty. 

" May it please your IMajesty, 

" AVe, your ^Majesty's loyal and dutiful sulijects, the Provost, IMagistrates, and Town Council 
of Dundee, beg leave humbly to approach your ]\Iajesty, to tender our lieartfelt and sincere sentiments 
of attachment to your ^Majesty's person and government, and on this your Majesty's second and 
j'racious visit to this portion of your ^Majesty's dominions, to tender our respectful and heartfelt con- 
gratulations to your Majesty, and to express our siucerest gratitude for the blessings which we enjoy, 
and which we attribute, under Divine Providence, to the wisdom of your Majesty's government ; and 
we humbly and sincerely trust that your ]\Iajesty, in this your visit to your ancient Kuigdom, may 
enjoy pleasure and satisfaction e(iual to that which your presence has conferred on your IMajesty's 
loyal and faithfid subjects of Scotland, and more especially on the counnunity of this your IMajesty's 
ancient Burgh, alike honoured and gratified by the presence of your Majesty. 

" Signed in name and by the authority of the Magistrates and Town Council of 
the Eoyal Burgh of Dundee, in Council assembled, and the Common 
Seal of said Burgh hereto affixed, at Dundee, the lOtli day of 
September, 1844. 

(Signed) "ALEXANDER. LAWSON, 

" Procost and Chief Maijisirafe of Dundee." 



" To His Royal Highness Prince Albert. 
" We, the Provost, Magistrates, and Town Council of the Royal Burgh of Dundee, humbly beg leave 
to tender our respectfid congratulations to your Royal Highness on the occasion of this your gracious 
visit to Scotland — an event which, we beg to assure your Royal Highness, has afforded the most 



280 HIS ROYAL HIGHNESS PRINCE ALliEllT. 

immingled pleasure and satisfaction to all classes in Scotland, and more especially to the conununit}' of 
this ancient Bnrgli, which we have the honour to represent. 

" Signed in name and by authority of the Magistrates and Town Council of 
the Royal Burgh of Dundee, in Council assembled, and the Common 
Seal of said Burgh hereto aflixed, at Dundee, the 10th day of 
September, 18i4. 

(Signed) "ALEXANDER LAWSON, 

" Proviid and Cliicf Magistrate of Dundep." 



These Addresses were received by the Right Hod. the Earl of Aberdeen,* Secretary of 

State for Foreign Affairs, who was the Lord-in-Waiting, aod Her Majesty was graciously pleased 

to direct that Nobleman to acknowledge the devotion expressed therein in the following 

terms : — 

"Blair Castle, Sept. 16, 184i. 
" Sir, 

" I have had the honour of laying before the Queen the loyal and dutiful Address of the 
Provost, ■Magistrates, and Town Council of the Royal Burgh of Dundee, and I have the satisfaction to 
inform you that Her ]\Ia.jestv received it very graciouslj-. 

" I have the honour to be, 
" Sir, 
" Your most obedient humble Servant, 

"ABERDEEN. 

" The Provost ov Dundee." 



Intimation having been sent to His Royal Highness Prince Albert that the Town 

Council had caused his name to be enrolled as a Free Burgess of Dundee, the Prince instructed 

George Edward Anson, Esq., Treasurer of the Royal Household, to reply to that communication, 

which he did in these terms : — 

" Blaii! Castle, Sept. Uth, 1844. 
" Sir, 

" His Royal Highness Puince Albert returns you his thanks for the honour which you 
and the Magistrates and Council of Dundee conferred upon him by electing him to the freedom of j'our 
ancient town; but he is anxious to express to you, and to them, and lie has commanded me to convey it 
to you, the distinct expression of his best thanks for the honour which lias lieen accorded to him. 

" I have the honour to be, 
" Sir, 
" Your faithful and obedient Servant, 

"G. E. ANSON.i 
" To the Provost of Dundee." 



These letters were read at a meeting of Council, held in the Council Chamber on lOth 
September, 1844, and ordered to be engrossed in the Minutes. 

* George Hamilton Gordon, fourth Earl of Aberdeen, K.G., K.T.— born, 1784 ; died, 1860. 

t George Edward Anson, C.B. , second son of the Dean of Chester, and cousin of the first Earl of 
Lichfield ; Keeper of the Privy Purse and Treasurer to H.R. H. the Prince of Wales— born, 1812 ; died, 1849. 



JOHN EWAN — JAMES YEAMAN. 281 



1845. February 27th. 

JOHN EWAN, Merchant, Dundee, was admitted Burgess for having paid 
Ten Pounds Stg. to William Boyd Baxter, Town Chamberlain. 

John Ewan is the sou of Tho.mas Ewan, manufacturer, and was born in Dundee on 22nd 
June, 1805. He entered the Council at the election in November, 1854, and served as Councillor 
in that and the succeeding year. He was raised to the Provost's chair in 1856, and occupied it 
till December, 1857, at which time he resigned the office, and was succeeded by Provost David 
ROLLO. In 1860 he acquired the estate of Cononsyth, which had formerly belonged to James 
Brown, father of Provost James Brown (vide page 247), and he still retains it. He has taken 
no part in public affairs since his retirement in 1857. 



1847. July 15th. 

JAMES YEAMAN, Merchant, Dundee, was admitted Burgess in right of his 
wife, Jane Tullo, Daughter of Henry Tullo, Merchant, Burgess of 
Dundee. 

James Yeaman was the youngest son of James Yeaman, of Old Rattray, and was born on 
SOth March, 1816. He was educated at the Public Schools of Old Rattray, Blairgowrie, and 
Dundee, and came to the latter burgh about 1836, when he entered the office of Mr James 
Davidson, fishcurer; and ultimately acquired the business in partnership with the manager, Mr 
Tait. He entered the Council in 1859. and was appointed Bailie in 1860, holding that position 
until his retirement in 1865. At the municipal election of 1866 he again entered the Council, 
and when a vacancy was caused in the Provostship through the resignation of Mr William Hay, 
in July, 1869, he was elected ad interim to the Provost's chair. This place he filled until 1872, 
and he did not again enter the Council. Mr Armitstead, who was then Member of Parliament 
for Dundee, was compelled to resign through ill-health, and Mr Yeaman was elected to that 
honourable position on 5th August, 1873. As a dissolution of Parliament took place on January 
26th, 1874, he was compelled to pass through the ordeal of a second election before he could take 
his seat in the House of Commons ; and he was returned by a large majority at the election of 5th 
February, 1874. His attitude towards the Liberal party in this Parliament, however, did not 
satisfy his constituents ; and he was defeated in the election of 2nd April, 1880. After this date 
he retired into private life, and died at his house of Craigie Cliff on 11th April, 1885, being then 
in his seventy-first year. His portrait was presented to the town in 1872, and is now hung on 
the wall of the Council Chambei-. Many important events took place during the term of 
his municijial service. The Stipend Case was concluded, the Lintrathen Water Scheme was 
adopted, the Albert Institute was founded, the first Tay Bridge was begun, and the Dundee 
Improvement Act, whereby many ruinous houses were removed and new streets opened up, was 
put into operation. 

2 M 



282 RIGHT HON. FOX MAULE — RIGHT HON. ADAM, VISCJOUNT DUNCAN. 



1850. September 19th. 

The Right Hon. FOX MAULE, M.P., Secretary-at-War, and Lord-Lieutenant 
OF THE County of Forfar, was created a Burgess of this Burgh as 
A mark of respect for his Character and Public Services. 

Fox Maule, afterwards eleventh Earl of Dalhousie, was the son of William Maule 
Lord Panmure, who was admitted Burgess on 26th August, 1831 {vide page 266), and was born 
on 22nd April, 1801. He represented Perthshire in the Parliament of 1835-7, was member 
for the Elgin Burghs from 1838 to 1841, and was returned for the city of Perth in 1841, and 
continued to represent it till 1852. In the latter year he succeeded his father as second Baron 
Panmure, and on 19th December, 1860, he became Earl of Dalhousie, on the death of 
his cousin, James Andrew. Ramsay. His first official appointment was that of Under-Secretary 
of State in the Home Department, which he held from 1835 till 1S41. He was Vice-President 
of the Board of Trade in 1841, Secretary-at-War from 1846 to 1852, and again from 1855 till 
1858, and was thus in office during the greater part of the Crimean War, the Chinese Campaign, 
and the Indian Mutiny. The degree of Grand Commander of the Bath was conferred upon him 
as an acknowledgment of his eminent public services, and he was also made a Knight of the 
Thistle. He took no share in political affairs after his retirement in 1858, though he survived 
till 6th July, 1874. He was married on 4th April, 1831, to the Hon. Montagu Abercromby, 
eldest daughter of George, second Lord Abercromby, who died on 11th November, 1853. As 
Lord Dalhousie had no children, he was succeeded in the title by his cousin, the late Rear- 
Admiral George Ramsay ; and the son of the latter is the present Earl of Dalhousie, who 
was admitted Burgess of Dundee on 7th August, 1883. 



1851. November 12th. 

The Eight Hon. ADAM, VISCOUNT DUNCAN, was created a Burgess of 
this Burgh for his Successful. Opposition to a Continuation of the 
Window Tax, and generally for his Public Services. 

Adam Duncan, Viscount Duncan, and afterwards second Earl of Camperdown, was the son 
of Robert Dundas, first Earl of Camperdown, and the grandson of the famous Admiral, 
Viscount Duncan {vide pp. 237 and 206). He was thus the direct lineal descendant of the 
Duncans of Lundie, who were Provosts of Dundee for many years. He was born on 25th March, 
1812, and entered the first Parliament of QuEEN VICTORIA as Member for Southampton in 1837. 
At the General Election in 1841 he was returned for Bath, and continued to represent that city 
until 1854. The death of the Hon. Lauderdale Maule, in August, 1854, caused a vacancy in 
the representation of Forfarshire, and ViSCOUNT DuNCAN was elected in his place, and remained 



GEORGE AEMITSTEAD. 283 

member for the County till he succeeded to the Earldom of Camperdown, at the death of his 
father, on 22nd December, 18.59. Viscount Duncan held office as a Lord of the Treasury in the 
Ministry of Lord Palmerston, from 18.5-5 till 1858 ; and for many years he sat as one of 
the County representatives at the Harbour Board of Dundee. The interest which he took in the 
progress of the Harbour led his colleagues to name the new dock, which was opened in 18G.5, the 
" Camperdown Dock," thus commemorating the local and national services of the Earl and his 
illustrious grandfather, the Admiral. The record of Viscount Duncan's admission as Burgess 
alludes to his successful efforts in procuring the abolition of the Window Tax, which had been 
imposed by Pitt during the War in 1803, and the evasion of which, by limiting light and 
ventilation, was believed to have seriously affected public health. Lord Duncan was presented 
with the freedom of the burgh at this time in the presence of a large meeting of the inhabitants, 
who regarded the repeal of the Window Tax as a national benefit. The Earl died on 30th 
January, 1807, in the fifty-fifth year of his age. He was married on 23rd March, 1839, to 
Juliana Cavendish Philips, eldest daughter of Sir George Richard Philips, Bart., and left 
two sons and a daughter. The latter was married to Lord Abercrombie in 1858, and the elder 
son, Robert Adam Philips Duncan- Haldane, is the present Earl of Camperdown, who was 
admitted Burgess of Dundee on 7th August, 1883. 



1854. February 23rd. 
(lEORGE AKMITSTEAD, Merchant, was admitted Burgess of Dundee in 

RIGHT OF HIS WiFE, JaNE BaXTER, DAUGHTER OF EdWARD BaXTER, 

Merchant, Burgess of Dundee. 

George Armitstead, formerly Member of Parliament for Dundee, is the son of George 
Armitstead, Esquire of Easingwold, Yorkshire, and of Riga. He was born in February, 1824, 
and was early settled in business at Dundee as a merchant trading to Russia. He claims 
his freedom as a Burgess through his wife, a daughter of Edward Baxter of Kiucaldrum, 
who was admitted Burgess on 21st November, 1816 {ulde page 248). Mr Armitstead 
entered Parliament as member for Dundee in 1868 ; but as his health gave wa}' and 
precluded him from attending to his duties in the House of Commons in the manner which 
he considered due to his constituency, he accepted the Chiltern Hundreds, in July, 1873, and 
resigned his Parliamentary connection with Dundee. He was succeeded at this time by 
the late Provost James Yeaman {vule page 281), who represented Dundee for six years. 
Having regained his health, Mr Armitstead acceded to the request of a large number of 
the electors, and again contested the burgh at the General Election of 1880, and was returned 
as senior Member, with Mr Frank Henderson as his coadjutor. At the dissolution in 1885, 
Mr Armitstead retired from Parliament, and did not offer himself for re-election. He has 
been a munificent benefactor of the principal charitable institutions in Dundee, and founded the 
Armitstead Lectures, whereby eminent scientific and literary men are brought to the burgh 
every year to deliver lectures upon special subjects. 



284 SIR JOHN OGILVy. 



1855. January 11th. 



SIR JOHN OGILVY of lNVERQaHA.RiTY, Bart., was created a Burgess for the 
interest which he has invariably manifested in the welfare of the 
Community, and particularly for the great trouble taken by him in 

THE ERECTION OF THE NeW InFIRMARY. 

The first Infirmary in Dundee stood in King Street, was founded in 1793, and opened for the 
reception of patients in 1798. The original building was only constructed to accommodate fifty- 
six patients, but additional wings were gradually erected until it contained one hundred and four 
beds. For many years this was the utmost limit to which its accommodation could be extended, 
and it was found to be quite inadequate for the requirements of a town whose population 
increased so rapidly as Dundee did during the first half of the present century. Sir John 
Ogilvy, in concert with several other philanthropic townsmen, took an especial interest in this 
institution, and a fund having been originated by a bequest of £8,000 from IMiss Soutar, 
strenuous efforts were made to have a proper building erected, of a size commensurate with the 
necessities of a large and increasing working population. The foundation stone of the Infirmary, 
erected on rising ground to the north of the town, belonging to the burgh, was laid by the DuKE 
OF Athol on 22nd July, 1852, and the place was formally opened on 7th February, 1855. SiR 
John's name was inscribed on the Burgess-Roll as an acknowledgment of his services to the 
community in this matter. 

Sir John Ogilvy is descended from the same stock as the Ogilvies, Earls of Airlie, 
many of whose names are entered on the Burgess-Roll of Dundee. John Ogilvy, the first 
Baron of Inverquharity, was the son of Sir Walter Ogilvy of Auchterhouse, and the 
brother of Sir Walter Ogilvy of Liutrathen, Lord High Treasurer of Scotland to James I. in 
1425. The lands of Inverquharity were granted by the Lord High Treasurer to his brother, SiR 
John, in 1420 (Crawford's Officers of State, 'page 357), and remained in the possession of the 
family for fourteen generations, having been alienated at the close of the last century. The 
present Baronet of Inverquharity is the direct descendant of that SiR John Ogilvy, and can 
claim descent in an unbroken line from GiLCHRiST, Earl of Angus, in the time of Malcolm 
Ceanmohr. The Baronetcy was conferred on the head of the family on 26th September, 1626. 
Sir John Ogilvy, the present holder of the title, was born on 17th March, 1808, and succeeded 
his father in 1823. He is the son of Rear-Admiral Sir William Ogilvy, eighth Baronet of 
Inverquharity, and of Sarah, daughter of James Morley, Esquire of Kempshot, Hants. Sir 
John for some years held a commission in the 2nd Regiment of Life Guards ; and he is 
Lieutenant-General of the Royal Company of Archers, which forms the Queen's Body-guard in 
Scotland. He entered Parliament as member for Dundee in 1857, and continued to represent 
the burgh till 1874. He has long been actively engaged in local affairs, has been Convener 
of the County of Forfar since 1855, and was appointed Vice-Lieutenant of Forfarshire in 1860. 
For a long period he was a member of the Harbour Board ; was Chairman of the Prison 
Board for over twenty years ; and was mainly instrumental in bringing the Circuit Court 



DAVID ROLLO — ALEXANDER HAY MONCUR. 285 

to Dundee. He has been couuected with the Volunteer force from the commencoineat 
of the movement, was for some time Colonel of the 1st Forfarshire Rifle Volunteers, and 
is still Honorary Colonel of that regiment. SiR John married, firstly, Juliana Barbara^ 
youngest daughter of Lord Henry Howard, the brother of Bernard Edward, twelfth 
Duke of Norfolk; and, secondly, Lady Jane Elizabeth Howard, daughter of Thomas, 
sixteenth Earl of Suffolk and Berkshire. A portrait of Sir John Ogilvy, painted 
by George Reid, R.S.A., was presented to him and handed over to the town in 1884, and is 
now in the permanent collection of pictures in the Albert Institute. 



1855. November 9th. 

DAVID ROLLO, Writer in Dundee, was .admitted Burgess eok having paid 
THE SUM OF Ten Pounds Stg. to the Town Chamberlain. 

David Rollo was the son of David Rollo of Hairfield, Liff {oh. 1810), and was born at 
Lochee, on 28th July, 1808. He established himself as a solicitor in Dundee, and after conducting 
business for a considerable time he assumed a partner, and the firm was designated RoLLO & 
Hendry. At the date of his admission as Burgess he entered the Council, and served as Councillor 
in 1855-56-57. After the resignation of Provost John Ewan in December, 1857 (yi(?e page 281), 
he was chosen Provost ad interim, and completed the term of office at November, 1858. He 
returned to the Council on the expiry of this period, and remained till 1865. Mr Rollo was 
Clerk to the Nine Trades for thirty-one years, and rendered valuable service in the case of the 
Morgan Hospital Bequest, which had been taken up by the Trades, was carried on appeal to the 
House of Lords, and was ultimately secured to the town. His death took place on oOth March, 
1880. 



1855. November 15th. 

ALEXANDER HAY MONCUR, Manufacturer, Dundee, was admitted 
Burgess in right of Alexander Moncur, Manufacturer in Dundee, 
and Burgess thereof. 

Alexander Moncur, senior, was admitted Burgess on 17th September, 1825, and was a 
Common Councillor continuously from 1843 till 1853. La 1854 he was raised to the office 
of Bailie, and retired from the Council in the succeeding year. At that date the name of his sou, 
Alexander Hay Moncur (born 1830), was inscribed on the Roll, but he did not enter the 
Council till 1868. He was chosen Bailie in 1872, and was Provost of Dundee from 1881 till 
November, 1884. Whilst in this position it was his duty to preside at a meeting of the 
Convention of Royal Burghs, which was held at Dundee in April, 1884. The Convention had 
not met in Dundee from the year 1692 till that time — an interval of nearly two hundred years. 
Mr Moncur was elected Chairman of the Dundee School Board in 1879, and still (1887) occupies 



286 KEV. DAVID LIVINGSTONE. 

that onerous post. As Provost of Dundee, he presided at the opening of the University College 
on 5th October, 1883. At the General Election of 1885 he contested the burgh in the Liberal 
interest, but as there were three Liberal candidates the vote was divided, and Mr MoNGUR was 
unsuccessful. His public services have since been confined exclusively to the School Board, and 
have been highly appreciated. His portrait, painted by George Reid, R.S.A., was presented to 
him on 21st January, 1887, and is now amongst the pictures in the Albert Institute. 



1857. September 24th. 
The Rev. DAVID LIVINGSTONE, LL.D., avas admitted Burgess of Dundee 

IN ADMIRATION OF THE ENERGY AND PERSEVERANCE MANIFESTED BY HIM AS 

A Traveller and Missionary in Africa. 

David Livingstone, the eminent explorer of Africa, was born at Blantyre in 1817, and was 
reared as a worker in a cotton-factory there. Having a strong desire for the acquisition 
of knowledge, and being of a religious turn of mind, he early determined to devote himself to 
missionary labours ; and with this purpose in view he succeeded in maintaining himself by his 
own indu.stry until he had passed the ordinary Medical curriculum at Glasgow University. He 
was admitted a Licentiate of the Faculty of Physicians and Surgeons of Gla.sgow, and offered his 
services to the London Missionary Society. In 1840 he left Britain for Cape To^vn, Africa, and 
settled as a medical missionary at Bechuana, seven hundred miles from Cape Town, where he 
remained till 1845. The next four years were spent in the duties of his office at Choruane and 
Kolobeng, and in 1849 he set out on an exploring expedition, in company with Messrs Oswald 
and Murray, and succeeded in reaching the shores of Lake Ngami, a point which had not 
hitherto been reached by any European. In the following year he started from Capo Town with 
Mr Oswald, and discovered the great river Zambesi flowing through the centre of Africa, an 
important geographical fact which had not been suspected. His principal journey was begun in 
June, 1852, and lasted for four years. During that time he travelled from Cape Town to St Paul 
de Loanda, the capital of Angola, through a coiuitry which was almost entirely unknown, and 
returned to Quilimane, on the eastern coast of Africa, by a route which had never before been 
attempted. Dr Livingstone returned to Britain in December, 185G, for the purpose of 
announcing his great discoveries, and it was whilst making the tour of the country that he visited 
Dundee, and was specially honoured by the Town Council. In February, 1858, he went back to 
Africa, having a steamer placed at his disposal by the Government that he might ascend the 
Zambesi and complete his exploration of that unknown region. His brilliant discoveries in that 
quarter need not here be particularized. He continued in his laborious and dangerous task until 
February, 1872, at which time he .set forth on an expedition from which he never returned. He 
died on 1st May, 1873, as appears from the fragments of his journals which were recovered. 
His body was brought to Zanzibar, and shipped thence to Britain, where it was interred in 
Westminster Abbey on 18th April, 1874. Dr Livingstone will ever be regarded as the pioneer 
of the exploration of Southern Central Africa. 



CHARLES PARKER — RIGHT HON. JOHN, EARL RUSSELL. 287 



1S57. November Gth. 

CHARLES PARKER, Machinemaker in Dundee, was admitted Burgess for 
HAVING PAID Three Pounds Stg., being the ordinary dues of admission, 
TO THE Chamberlain, in full of his Freedom. 

Charles Parker, who was twice Provost of Dundee, was a native of Bentham, Yorkshire, 
and was born on 30th April, 179G. He spent his early years at Darlington, and was in the prime 
of life before he came to Dundee iu 1S49, and started an engineering work and iron foundry. He 
became a Councillor at the time of his admission as Burgess (November, 1857), was elected 
Treasurer in 1859, and chosen Provost iu 18G1. On the expiry of his term of office as Provost, 
he was re-elected to that position — an honour that had only once been conferred since the 
municipal constitution had been reformed. He did not survive to complete this second term, as 
he died very suddenly on ISth April, 1867, in the seventy-first year of his age. During his 
Provostship the Stipend Case, which had for many years perplexed the authorities, and involved 
the burgh in expensive litigation, was brought to a successful tci'mination ; and at the time of his 
decease Provost Parker was engaged making preparations for the reception of the British 
Association in Dundee, an event which he did not survive to witness. He was succeeded iu the 
Provostship by Mr William Hay. 



1863. September 3rd. 

The Right Hon. JOHN, EARL RUSSELL, one of Her Majesty's Principal 
Secretaries of State, was admitted Burgess of Dundee (on the 
occasion of his Lordship's presence in Dundee at the Opening of the 
Baxter Park, 9th September current) as a mark of the high Respect 
and Esteem of the Council and the Community towards his Lordship ; 
especially for the consistent and liberal views at all times 
advocated by him in regard to representative institutions of the 
Country, and for the general good of the People in these Realms, 

John, first Earl Russell, the distinguished statesman, was the third son of the sLxth Duke 
OF Bedford, and was born in London on 18th August, 1792. He began his education at 
Sunbury and Westminster School, and was sent to complete his course at Edinburgh University, 



2S8 



RIGHT HON. JOHN, EARL RUSSELL. 



in which city he resided for several years with the late Professor Playfair. He had barely 
attained his majority when he entered Parliament as member for Tavistock, which was then a 
pocket-borough of the Duke of Bedford, and at the outset of his career declared himself a 
supporter of the Liberal party, with whose varied fortunes his name was afterwards identified. 
So early as December, 1S19, he proposed a very moderate measure of Parliamentary Reform, iu 
which he advocated the transference of representation then allotted to corrupt small boi'oughs to 
the larger towns that were then inadequately represented ; but his proposal met with very 
little support. Undiscouraged by his non-success, he repeatedly returned to this subject, in 
conjunction with Earl Grey, then the leader of the Opposition ; and his services were so highly 
appreciated by Lord Grey that when that nobleman at length obtained a position as leader of a 
Liberal Ministry, Lord Russell was employed as a member of the Committee engaged upon 
the drafting of the Reform Bill which became law in 1832. By his tact and skill he contributed 
not a little to the siiccessful passing of that Bill through the House of Commons, where the 
removal of Earl Grey to the House of Lords had left him the leader of his party. When 
Viscount Melbourne formed his Ministry in April, 183.5, Lord John Russell was appointed 
Secretary of State for the Home Department, an ofiice which he afterwards exchanged for that of 
Colonial Secretary. On the resignation of Melbourne iu 1841, he was entrusted with the 
leadership of the Opposition to the Ministry of SiR Robert Peel, and when that great statesman 
resigned his office iu 184.5, after his conversion on the svibject of the Corn Laws, Lord John 
Russell was summoned to form a Cabinet. The dissension amongst the Whig leaders prevented 
him from performing this task, and SiR Robert Peel returned to office, and at once showed the 
reality of his convictions by repealing the offensive Corn Laws, which had so long oppressed the 
nation. The Government was defeated on the Irish Coercion Bill, and resigned in July, 1846 ; 
and Lord John Russell was more successful in his second attempt at forming a Whig 
Ministry, which remained in power till 20th February, 1851. The fluctuations in the 
Government for the next ten years need not here be detailed. Though Lord John Russell 
held several important offices during that time, he did not return to power as Premier till 
1865, and then only held tliat place for eight months. He had been removed from the House of 
Commons — the scene of his former triumphs — by his elevation to the title of Earl Russell on 
30th July, 1861, and at the time of his visit to Dundee in September, 1863, for the purpose of 
opening the Baxter Park, he was Foreign Secretary. His last great Parliamentary effort was his 
speech against the Reform Bill introduced and triumphantly carried by Earl Derby and 
Disraeli in 1868. After that time he took little part in politics, though he survived till 2Sth 
May, 1878. Though .so actively engaged during his long life iu public affairs. Earl Russell 
was a voluminous writer upon historical, political, and literary subjects, and was the autlior of a 
five-act tragedy (Don Carlos) and of a romantic novel. Earl Russell was twice married ; and 
the present holder of the title is the son of the late ViscouNT Amberley, eldest .son of LoKD 
Russell's second wife. Lady Frances Elliot, daughter of the second Earl of Minto. 



WILLIAM HAY. 289 



1863. November Gth. 
WILLIAM HAY, Writer, Dundee, was admitted Burgess for having paid 

THE USUAL DUES OF ADMISSION. 

William Hay, formerly Provost of Dundee, and now Towu-Clerk of the burgh, is a native 
of Elgin, Morayshire, and was born in May, 1S18. He was educated at Elgin Academy, and 
having served his apprenticeship in the office of the Sheriff-Clerk of Elgin, he removed to Edin- 
burgh, and attended the law classes at the University. Whilst in Edinburgh, Mr Hay received 
the appointment of Depute Sheriff-Clerk of Forfarshire, and entered on his duties at Dundee in 
August, 1840. About three years afterwards he was admitted as a solicitor, and on the appoint- 
ment of Bailie Anderson as Town-Clerk of Dundee, Mr Hay succeeded him as law agent of 
the Parochial Board, which office ho held until his appointment as Town-Clerk. 

At the time of his enrolment as a Burgess, in 1863, Mr Hay entered the Town Council. 
For many years before his entrance, the town had been involved in the action known as the 
Stipend Case, and serious attempts were renewed to have this wasteful process terminated. 
Mr Hay assisted materiallj- in bringing this case to a satisfactory conclusion, and the property of 
the town, thus relieved from the burden of litigation, was utilizetl so that Provost Parker and 
the Council were thereby able to pay off the creditors of the town. The services which Mr Hay 
had rendered in this affair were appropriately acknowledged by the presentation of a service 
of plate by the inhabitants in 1864. At the election in the following year Mr Hay was 
appointed first Bailie, and when Provost Parker died in office in April, 1867 (vide page 287), 
Mr Hay was chosen to hll his place as Provost until the November term. Provost Parker had 
been engaged, in conjunction with some influential members of the community, in making 
arrangements for the reception of the British Association for the Advancement of Science, which 
had agreed to visit Dundee in 1867. The sudden death of the Provost seemed likely to 
disarrange all that had been settled, as it could hardly be expected that a new Provost would be 
in a position to carry out all Provost Parker's intentions. Provost Hay, however, was able to 
receive the members of that distinguished Association in a manner befitting the position of an 
important burgh like Dundee. He presented the freedom of the town to the Duke of 
BuccLEUGH, Chairman of the Association, and to Sir Charles Lyell, and other eminent 
scientists ; and when referring to their reception Sir Roderick Murchison made the following 
allusion to Provost Hay's services, in his speech acknowledging his acceptance of his Burgess 
Ticket :— 

" You, sir, have so completely embodied all the appropriate sentiments that ought to fall from 
the Magistrate of a great town in connection with a great Association for the Advancement of Science, 
that I nnist say that of all the meetings I have attended of the British Association, no Magistrate of any 
town where we have assembled has so completely developed in a telling manner the advantages which we 
humbly think we can procure for society at large in connection with the cities and towns we visit." 

The meetings of the Association in Dundee were eminently successful. 

2 n 



290 WILLIAil HAY. 

During Provost Hat's term of office there were many great public undertakings commenced 
or carried out. In the time of Provost Parker, negotiations were begun for the transference of 
the Gas and Water Companies to the Corporation, and these were completed during Mr Hay's 
Provostship. At the election in 1 868 ho was again unanimously chosen as Provost, and entered 
on a new term of office. So early as 28th January, 1864, Mr Hay had moved in the Council 
that a Special Committee should communicate with the Scottish Central (now Caledonian) 
Railway Company to ascertain whether the Directors would co-operate with the Council in 
providing a jjromenade for the inhabitants, on the south side of the railway, next the river. The 
proposal was not adopted by the Company at that time ; but when the Tay Bridge was proposed 
the Council succeeded iu making arrangements whereby the idea of the Esplanade was realized 
and carried out. He had also the privilege of opening the Morgan Hospital, as Chairman of the 
Governors of that institution, in 1868. Eighteen years before (October, 1850), whilst the Morgan 
Beqxxest was still regarded by the public authorities as hopelessly lost to the town, Mr Hay 
published an opinion upon the validity of Morgan's mutilated wills, asserting that these 
constituted a valid bequest. The House of Lords, on appeal, reversed the decision of the Court 
of Session, and ultimately supported the wills, and by a strange coincidence Provost Hay', 
acting officially, saw his own opinion fully vindicated by opening the Morgan Hospital. The 
Free Library in Dundee — the earliest institution of the kind in Scotland under the new Act — was 
opened by Provost Hay, on 1st July, 1869, and he took out the first volume in presence 
of a large audience. 

The office of Town-Clerk had been held by Mr Christopher Kerr for forty-seven years, and 
at his death in June, 1869, Mr Hay resigned the Provostship and became a candidate for the 
vacant place. To this post he was ultimately appointed on 19th August, 1869, and still holds the 
position of Town-Clerk of Dundee. His predecessor, Mr Kerr, had begun some time before his 
death to have the documents and records of the town revised and arranged by an expert, and the 
work, which had been interrupted by his decease, was completed under Mr Hay's supervision. 
When the papers had been arranged, a selection of charters, writs, and documents, dating from 
1292 to 1880, was prepared by Mr Hay, and published by authority of the Town Council at the 
latter date. The volume affords a complete documentary history of the burgh. Mr Hay is a 
Justice of Peace and a Commissioner of Supply for the County, and he also holds a commission 
as an Honorary SheriET-Substitute for Forfarshire. 



WILLIAM BROWNLEE. 291 



1866. November 9th. 
WILLIAM BROWNLEE, Builder, was admitted Burgess, having paid the 

USUAL DUES OF ADMISSION. 



William Brownlee, Provost of Dundee, is the son of Mr James Brownlee, proprietor of 
the lands of Headlesscross and Headlesscross Mains, parish of Cambusnethan, and County of 
Lanark. He was born at Headlesscross on the 12th March, 1836, and came to Dundee in 1859, 
where he commenced business in the following year as a builder. Having early taken an interest 
in public questions and municipal affairs, he was in 1866 elected a member of the Town Council, 
and continued to serve the burgh as Councillor, Bailie, and Provost for a period of fifteen years. 
In 1878 he was elected Provost, as successor to Provost William Robertson, which office he 
filled till his retirement in ISSI. 

During his public career Provost Brownlee has been Chairman of almost every important 
Committee in connection with the numerous departments of the Corjjoration service, and his 
extensive knowledge of works and his administrative ability were in constant requisition in the 
consideration, designing, and carrying out of the many lai-ge undertakings in which the town was 
concerned during his term of office. His assistance and advice were specially valuable in 
connection with such works as the construction of the present Esplanade ; the Improvement 
Scheme for the opening up of new streets through the over-crowded and unsanitary parts of the 
town ; the transfer of the Gas and Water supplies from the Companies to the Corporation, and 
their improvement and extension ; the negotiation and completion of the Tramway agreements, 
and the execution of the Tramway system ; the Public Baths, Markets and Slaughter-Houses, 
erected from designs prepared under liis personal supervision. As a sanitarian, Provost 
Brownlee had many changes and improvements introduced in the drainage and cleansing of 
Dundee and Lochec, which have tended much to the amelioration of the health of the 
community. 

Appointed by Miss Baxter a Governor of University College, he acted as Chairman of the 
Committee having direction of the alterations uj^ou the buildings acquired for that institution, 
and in the erection of the new laboratories and class-rooms connected therewith. The Baxter 
Technical Institute, now in course of erection, is arranged on a plan designed under his 
supervision, after visiting many of the most important technical schools in England and 
elsewhere. The Albert Institute was also acquired by the town during his term of office; 
and when QuEEN Victoria pa.ssed along the Tay Bridge on 20th June, 1879, Provost 
Brownlee met Her Majesty at the station and presented an address of welcome on behalf 
of the town. 



292 DUKE OF BUCCLEUGH — SIR C. LYELL — SIR R. MURCHISON — SIR W. ARMSTRONG. 



1867. September 5th. 

His Grace the Most Noble WALTER FRANCIS MONTAGU DOUGLAS 
SCOTT, DUKE of BUCCLEUGH and QUEENSBERRY, K.G., E.R.S., 
THE President of the British Association for the Advancement of 
Science, now assembled in Dundee, a Nobleman distinguished by all 
virtues and noble qualities, fearing god, exemplary in every 
character, loyal and patriotic, a wise and valued counsellor of his 
Sovereign, the warm supporter of the Elementary and Industrial 
Education of the humbler classes, as well as the supporter of Science 
AND Art in their highest degree, and of all things promising Good to 
his Country, was admitted a Burgess of Dundee as a mark of the 
respect in which he is held by this large Community, and to do 
honour to the burgh itself by having his name enrolled in its 
Book of Burgesses, he having graciously consented. 



SIR CHARLES LYELL of Kinnordy, Bart. ; SIR RODERICK IMPEY 
MURCHISON, Bart. ; and SIR WILLIAM ARMSTRONG, Knt., were 

ALL admitted BuRGESSES, AS MARKS OF THE GRATITUDE OF THIS LARGE 

Community to the Science of Modern Times, which has done and 
IS constantly doing so much for the Elevation of the Public Mind 
AND THE Prosperity of the People ; and recognizing in them especial 
promoters of Science and the Public Good, deserving of all public 
honour. 



Walter Scott, fifth Duke of Buccleugh and seveuth Duke of Queensberry, was the son 
of Charles, fourth Duke, and of Harriet, daughter of the first Viscount Sydney. He was born 
on 25th November, 1806, and as his father died in 1819, whilst he was a minor, the estates were 
long under guardians. The young Duke was educated at S. John's College, Cambridge, and 
graduated there as Master of Arts in 1827. His early accession to the Dukedom prevented him 
from appearing in the House of Commons ; but in the Upper House he was regarded as one of 
the staunchest upholders of Conservative principles. He held the offices of Lord Privy Seal and 
Lord President of the Council during Sir Robert Peel's second administration — 1842 to 1846 
— and though he seldom took part in important debates, his influence was very extensive, and 
was exercised with prudence and discretion. From his youth he was a munificent patron of 



DUKE OF BUCCLEUGH — SIR C. LYELL — SIR R. MURCHISON — SIR W. ARMSTRONG. 293 

literature, aucl it was largely owing to his encouragemeut that James Hogg, the Ettrick 
Shepherd, made his apf)earance in the world of letters. In 1834 the University of Oxford 
conferred the honorary degree of D.C.L. upon him ; and forty years later (22nd April, 187-1) he 
received the degree of LL.D. from Edinburgh University. On the death of the late SiK 
William Stirling Maxwell of Keu- and PoUok in 1878, he was elected Chancellor of the 
University of Glasgow. When the British Association visited Dundee in 1867 he was President, 
and performed the duties of that office most admirably. He was a Knight of the Garter and a 
Knight of the Thistle, and was Lord-Lieutenant of Midlothian and Roxburghshire. He died on 
16th April, 18S4, in his seventy-eighth year. 

Sir Charles Lyell was born at Kinnordy, Forfarshire, on 14th November, 1797. His 
father, who bore the same name, won some distinction by his works on botany and entomology, 
and was also a I'ecoguized authority uiJon the poetical productions of Dante. When quite an 
infant, Charles Lyell was transferred from his birth-place to a small estate which his father 
had acquired in the New Forest, Hampshire, and his early education was received at the schools 
of Ringwood, Salisbury, and Midhurst. At the age of seventeen he was entered at Exeter 
College, Oxford, and though he did not greatly distinguish himself there, he 'ultimately obtained 
a second class in classics, and took his degree in 1819. It was intended to train him for the 
profession of the law, and for this purpose he was entered at Lincoln's Inn, but he was compelled 
to abandon this intention, as the weakness of his eyesight precluded severe study at that time. 
In 1825 he was called to the Bar, and attended the Western Circuit for some time, though it was 
made evident before this time that his tastes lay in the direction of Science. Whilst at Oxford 
his attention had been drawn to geology by the lectures of Dr Buckland, and he had become 
one of the most enthusiastic members of the Geological Society, and contributed several valuable 
papers on the geology of Forfarshire to some of the scientific journals. He was elected a Fellow 
of the Royal Society in 1826, and two years afterwards set out on a tour in Auvergne and the 
north of Italy, in company with Sir Roderick Murchison. This excursion may be regarded as 
forming the foundation of his reputation as a geologist, since the observations which he made 
enabled him to complete his great work on " The Principles of Geology." His examination of 
natural phenomena had led him to reject the accepted Huttonian theory as to the formation of 
the earth, and in this work he first proposed an intelligible system of geology which later 
discoveries have triumphantly confirmed, but which then had the effect of totally revolutionizing 
the science of that time. Lyell's system was not readily accepted in this country, as it eutii-ely 
overthrew the Mosaic cosmogony, and accounted for phenomena by the operati<ju of natural and 
existing laws; but on the Continent it was received enthusiastically by Cuvier, Humboldt, 
and Agassiz — men in the foremost ranks of philosophy, and gradually supplanted the effete 
theories which had formerly prevailed. In 1831 Mr Lyell was appointed Professor of Geology 
in King's College, London, whicli office he resigned two years afterwards, as ho found it interfered 
with the pursuit of his own special studies. The freedom which he thus obtained was employed 
in scientific tours to various parts of Europe, and it was whilst in Denmark that he developed 
the Glacial theory, upon which all modern systems of geology and physiography are founded. In 
1845 he published " Travels in America," giving the results of elaborate investigations made by 
him into the geology of that Continent during a protracted visit which he made to it. He 



294 SIR C. LYELL — SIR R. MURCHISON — SIR \V. ARMSTRONG. 

received the honour of KuighthooJ at Bahnoral iu 1848, and whilst there formed an 
acquaintanceship with the late Prince Consort, of whose scientific attainments he wrote with 
respect. The University of Oxford in 1855 conferred the honorary degres of D.C.L. on him. In 
1863 he put forth the second work upon which his f;ime rests, " The Antiquity of Man," which had 
occupied his leisure for more than thirteen years, and in which he embodied the results of the 
most recent discoveries of Darwin and Bouchet de la Perthes. He was created a Baronet 
in 1864, and in 1867 — the year of liis visit with the British Association to Dundee — he issued 
liis last literary work, the tenth edition of his " Principles of Geology," altered and amended by 
the light of important discoveries that had been made since its first issue. His advanced age 
prevented him from attempting the extensive journeys which had formerly occupied so much of 
his life ; but in 1874 he made an elaborate final tour through Forfarshire, and was then able to 
verify the observations he had made fifty years before. This was his last practical work. On 
21st February, 1875, he expired at London, having then reached his seventy-eighth year. At 
the request of a large number of eminent men of science, he was interred in Westminster Abbey. 
His character was thus comprehensively summed up immediately after his death : — " For upwards 
of half a century he exercised a most important influence on the progress of geological science, 
and for the last twenty-five years of his life he was the most prominent geologist in the world, 
equally eminent for the extent of his labours and for the breadth of his philosophical view.s." 

The name of SiR KODERICK Imi'EY Murchison is inseparably associated with that of Sir 
Charles Lyell in the annals of geology, for whilst the latter devoted his attention principally to 
the alluvial formations and glacial alterations on the surface of the globe, the chosen task of the 
former was to determine the character and history of the lower strata. From their separate 
works, therefore, a full system of geology may be constructed. Roderick Murchison was born 
at Tan-adale, in Ross-shire, in 1792, and was the eldest son of Kenneth Murchison, Esquire of 
Tarradale. He was educated at Durham Grammar School, and afterwards at the Military 
College at Midhurst, where James Ivory, of Dundee, was long a Professor. He entered the 
Army in 1807, passed through the Peninsular Campaign attached to the staff of his uncle, 
General Sir Alexander Mackenzie, and held a commission as Captain in the Cth Dragoons. 
He abandoned military life in 1816, and devoted himself to the study of geology, a science that 
was then in its infancy, and the remainder of his long life was entirely given up to the 
advancement of this fascinating subject. Possessed of energy and perseverance, and with a 
constitution inured to fatiguing exertion, he was able to make personal investigations into the 
phenomena of geology which would have been impossible to the merely literary student. His 
studies were at first confined to the older British strata, and he was the first to classify these upon 
an intelligible principle derived from his own examinations of them. Many of his papers on this 
subject were communicated to the Geological Society whilst he was Secretary and President of 
that institution — 1826 to 1831 — and in these he announced his identification of the Cambrian 
series of fossils with the Silurian system, which had formerly been reckoned as a distinct class. 
His great work on this point, entitled "The Silurian System," was published in 1839, and served 
at once to open up a wide field of research throughout the world. The attention which his book 
received led to his being invited in 1840 by the Russian Government to undertake the geological 
survey of Russia, which occupied him for the succeeding four years. Whilst engaged in the 



SIR K. MURCHISON — SIR W. ARMSTRONG. 295 

inspection of the formation of the Ural Mountains, he was struck with tlie apparent similarity 
which the range exhibited to that of the vast chain of mountains which stretches across South 
Australia ; and he suggested the theory that gold would be found in Australia long before any 
discovery of that metal had been made there. He was so convinced of the accuracy of his 
reasoning that in 1848 ho addressed the Government of Earl Grey on the subject, but received 
no encouragement from the Ministry, though his ideas were fully and practically confirmed very 
shortly afterwards. The geological survey of Great Britain was then proceeding under the 
superintendence of Sir Henry de la Beche, and on his death in 1855 Sir Roderick was 
appointed to this important post, and remained in it during his life. He was created a Knight 
Bachelor in 1846, and a Baronet on 22nd January, 1866 ; and also received decorations from the 
Sovereigns of Russia, Sweden, and Denmark. Whilst President of the Geographical Society, 
he advocated and superintended the dispatch of many of the exploring expeditions which were 
organized in the fourth and fifth decades of this century ; and was especially interested in 
the numerous discovery-parties sent by the Society in search of Slii John Franklin. He 
founded a Chair of Geology and Mineralogy in Edinburgh University. Sir Roderick died on 
21st October, 1871. 

Sir William Armstrong is the son of William Armstrong, merchant, and formerly Mayor of 
Newcastle-on-Tync. He was born in 1810, and studied for the law, but his tastes led him to abandon 
this profession, and to confine his attention to natural philosophy. Whilst yet quite a young 
man he was attracted towards the study of the phenomena of electricity — then little understood 
— and he devised the hydro-electric machine, which was the original of the powerful dynamo- 
electric engines that have lately been constructed. The importance of this invention was 
recognized by his being elected a Fellow of the Royal Society at an exceptionally early age. His 
numerous inventions for the application of water as a motive-power in elevating heavy weights 
served to introduce hydraulics as a new branch of applied mechanics ; and vast engineering 
operations, such as the railway bridges over the Forth and Tay, have been made possible thereby. 
For the purpose of manufacturing the machinery which he designed, the extensive factory at 
Elswick was founded; and it was here that he constructed the model of the gun which was 
adopted in 1858 by the Government for special service in the field. The Armstrong rifled gun 
is still regarded as the most serviceable weapon of warfare ever produced, and the inventor's 
skill was rew-arded by his being Kuighted, made a Commander of the Bath, and appointed 
to superintend the manufacture of the ordnance. In the latter capacity SiR William acted till 
February, 18G3, when he resigned the appointment, and returned to Elswick, where he still 
is actively engaged. He was President of the British Association in 1863, was made LL.D. 
of Cambridge in 1862, and D.C.L. of Oxford in 1870. He also holds the rank of Knight in 
Denmark, Austria, Italy, and Brazil. In 1887 he was raised to the Peerage -svith the title 
of Baron Armstrong. 



296 JAMES cox. 



1868. December 4th. 

JAMES COX, Merchant, Lociiee, was made a Burgess in right of his Father, 
James Cock, Merchant, Burgess of Dundee. 

James Cock or Cox, through whom the late Provost Cox claimed his freedom, was admitted 
Burgess on Cth August, 1817. He was the grandson of James Cock, who carried on business 
as a linen manufacturer at Lochee in the early part of the eighteenth century, and who died in 
1741. The eldest son of the latter, David Cock, continued the concern until his death in 1793, 
when it came into the hands of his younger brother, James, who is described as having been 
a man of remarkable enterprise, and one of the founders, in conjunction with GEORGE Dempster 
of Dunnichen (vide page 217), of the banking firm afterwards known as the Dundee Banking 
Company. He resigned the business in 1810 to his son, James Cock, whose name appears in the 
above entry, and by him the manufacturing of linen was prosecuted for some time with success. 
A disastrous fire which occurred at the bleachfield in September, 1816, seriously affected him for 
several yeai's ; but he at length managed to overcome this misfortune, and at his retirement in 
1827 he left the business to his son, the late Provost. He died in 184S. 

James Cox was born in 1807, was educated at the Grammar School of Dundee, and was 
engaged for a short time in the office of Mr Christopher Kerr, the late Town-Clerk. A few 
years before his father retii'ed, experiments had been made in the manufacture of jute at the 
factory, and James Cox, who was thoroughly fiimiliar with the whole process of manufacturing, 
took up this new industry, and by dint of perseverance ultimately made it profitable. In 1841 he 
assumed his three brothers, William, Thomas, and George, as partners, and founded the firm of 
Cox Brothers, which has now attained a world-wide celebrity. Power-looms were introduced to 
their factory in 184.5, and the works at Lochee have been gradually extended until they now 
cover over 25 acres of ground. The name given to this extensive factory was the Camperdown 
Linen Works, now Camperdown Jute Works, in compliment to the neighbouring proprietor, the 
Earl of Camperdown. 

Mr Cox entered the Town Coimcil at the date of his enrolment as Burgess (1SG8), and was 
elected at once to the office of Bailie, which post he held for three years. In 1872 he was chosen 
Provost, and remained in that position for the usual term, but did not offer himself for re-election 
to the Council in November, 1875. He had ever taken a deep interest in the progress of 
railway enterprise, and when the proposal to erect a railway bridge across the Tay at Dundee 
was made, he entered into the .scheme enthusiastically, and his firm subscribed £10,000 towards 
the defraying of the cost of this important structure. The catastrophe by which that bridge 
was destroyed on 28th December, 1879, though serious in its results to ex-Provost Cox in 
many ways, did not discourage him ; and it was chiefly through his exertions as a Director of the 
North British Railway Company that the undertaking was again taken up on a more extensive 
scale. Unfortunately, he did not survive to see the completion of the new Tay Bridge, as he died 
on 1st December, 1885, in his seventy-eighth year. Mr Cox was married to Clementina, 
daughter of Mr James Carmichael (vide page 260), who survives him, and left one son and four 
dausrhters. 



FKANK HENDERSON — WILLIAM ROBERTSON. 297 



1868. December 4th. 

FRANK HENDERSON, Leather Merchant, was admitted Burgess in right 
OF HIS Father, Henry Henderson, Leather Merchant, Burgess of 
Dundee. 

Frank Henderson, formerly Member of Parliament for Dundee, was born in the burgh in 
1836, and succeeded to the business which his father, the late Henry Henderson, had 
established. In 1868 he entered the Town Council, and he served as Councillor with great 
acceptance for over eleven years. During this period the principal work upon which he was 
engaged was the arrangement and execution of the Improvement Scheme for the opening up of 
new streets and the erection of elegant buildings within the burgh, by which the appearance of 
the town has been much improved. A large portion of this work was carried out under Mr 
Henderson's supervision. On Gth May, 1880, a meeting of the Town Council was held, at 
which a letter from Mr Henderson was read, intimating his resignation as a Councillor in 
consequence of his election as Member of Parliament for Dundee. He continued to represent 
the burgh in Parliament till the dissolution in 1885, at which time he did not offer himself for 
re-election. Since then he has not been engaged in any public office. 



1869. August 12th. 

WILLIAM ROBERTSON, Engineer, was admitted Burgess, having paid the 

usual dues of admission. 

William Robertson, Provost of Dundee, was born at Crathie, Aberdeenshire, in 1825, and 
came to Dundee in early youth, and entered as an apprentice mechanic in the mills of Messrs 
Baxter Brothers. The manner in which he discharged his duties there led to his being 
ultimately appointed manager of that department. In 1856 he started in business as an engineer 
in company with Mr J. G. Orchar, and they established the Wallace Foundry, and soon made 
a reputation throughout the country. A vacancy was caused in the Town Council through the 
death of Mr Foggie on 31st July, 18G9, and Mr Robertson was elected to fill the place, having 
been recommended to the Council by a largely signed requisition of the electors of the burgh. 
His term as interim Councillor expired in November of the same year, and he was then 
re-elected. His second term of office expired in 1872, when he was again elected, and chosen 
Bailie. The latter position he retained till 1875, when he was appointed to the Provostsliip ;is 
successor to the late Provost James Cox. Immediately before his election, Baille Robertson 
was presented, on 1st November, 1875, with silver-plate of the value of £600, in recoguition of 

2 o 



298 HUGH BALLINGALL. 

his public services generally, aud particularl}- his successful efforts to procure an abundant water 
supply for the burgh, during a period of great scarcity. On this subject protracted discussions 
subseijuently took place, various methods having been suggested for bringing a permanent 
supply of water to Dundee. The plan which Provost Robertson advocated was not finally 
adopted ; but he magnanimously took up and assisted in carrying out the scheme which had 
been sanctioned by Parliament, and brought it into operation. It was his privilege as Provost 
to be present at the opening of the first railway bridge across the Tay at Dundee, to complete 
the purchase of the Law Hill as a recreation ground in 1878, aud to witness a large extension 
of the Municipal Boundaries of the burgh. His term of office as Provost expired in November, 
1878, and he did not offer himself for re-election. He was Bailie Harris's principal adviser 
in the munificent gift which he made to the Coqooration of the High School of Dundee, and it 
was through him that the negotiations were effected which ended in the payment of £10,000 to 
the School Board of Dundee for the establishment of the Harris Academy. Provost Robertson 
has himself been a liberal benefactor to the High School, the new gymnasium and workshop 
having been fitted up by him in 188G, at a very considerable expense. Since his retirement from 
the Provostship, Mr Robertson has taken no active share in the affairs of the Town Council. 



1870. November 4th. 
HUGH BALLINGALL, Brewer, was admitted Bitrc4ess, having paid the 

USUAL DUES OF ADMISSION. 

Hugh Ballingall, Provost of Dundee, was born in the city of Perth, on 2Gth May, 1840, and 
came to Dundee at a very early age. He was educated at the High School, and entered 
into business as a brewer in the Pleasance Brewery Company, of which Provost William 
Lindsay had at one time been the principal partner (vide page 235), but which was afterwards 
conducted under the firm of Ballingall & Son. He became a Councillor at the date of 
his admission as Burgess (4th November, 1870), and has served in the Council continuously 
during the intervening seventeen years. In 1872 the Finance of the Water Commission was 
placed in his charge, and he continued to act as Convener of the Finance Committee till 1884. 
Whilst in this position it became necessary to provide funds for the very extensive works 
constructed for the purpose of bringing the water supply from Lintrathen, and for the streets 
aud the improvements of the burgh carried out under the Imiwovement (1870) Act ; and it was at 
his suggestion that loans were taken in small sums, thus enabling the working classes to obtain 
such a rate of interest for their savings as had formerly been reserved for capitalists. This scheme 
was eminently successful, aud funds of large amount were forthcoming without necessitating 
the borrowing of money at an increased rate. This method has since been adopted by the other 
local Public Boards, as well as by other burghs, with most beneficial results. Mr BALLINGALL 



HUGH BALLINGALL. 299 

was a Harbour Trustee from 1-S74 to 1878, and the practical kuowledge which he thus obtained 
of the internal affairs of the Harbour Board enabled him to assist in bringing about the amicable 
termination of a protracted dispute betwixt the Police Commissioners and the Harbour Trustees, 
which had lasted over twenty years. From 1879 till 1883 Mr Ballingall was Treasurer of the 
Burgh, and managed the finances with conspicuous success. He was elected to the Provostship 
in 1884, and his term of office expires in November, 1887. During these three years several 
important events have occurred, in which he has taken part. The Endowed Schools Commis- 
sioners have examined into the Educational Bequests in the burgh, and as one of the Governors 
of the Morgan Hospital for years, and as Chairman of the Board, Provost Ballingall has seen 
that proposal \mt in form, whereby that institution will be popularized, and its usefulness much 
increased by the providing of secondary education. The necessity for providing adequate defences 
for the Tay had been often pointed out to the Government, and as often postponed ; but under 
his Provostshij^, antl by his persistent efforts at the Admiralty, a system of submarine defences 
has been introduced which will secure the estutuy from invasion. As the Jubilee of Her 
Majesty Queex Victor i as Ai'cession occurred in the last year of his office, it was his pri\dlege 
to arrange for the due celebration of that event in the burgh, and also to initiate the movement 
for the erection of suitable memorials, which have taken the form of Victoria Art Galleries, and 
the proposed establishment of a School of Medicine. Through the exertions of the Provost and 
some of his friends, a contribution was sent to the funds of the Imperial Institute in London, 
without which Dundee would have been almost unrepresented in this national work ; and he was 
present in his official capacity at the Thanksgiving Service in Westminster Abbey, on 22nd June, 
1887. At his suggestion, the representatives of several of the past Provosts of Dundee agreed 
with himself to provide stained glass windows for the Council Chamber, to be executed by E. 
Burne Jones, A.RA., and Willia.m Morris, M.A., and similar windows are also to be jDrovided 
for the Guild Hall. The subjects selected for this double series of windows have been chosen from 
characters connected with the history of Dundee. The preparation of this '' Roll of Eminent 
Burgesses" was also undertaken at his suggestion, and has been carried out under his supervision 
and with his assistance. Tiie latest work upon which he has been engaged is the extension of the 
Esplanade from Magdalene Green westward to Will's Braes, by reclaiming land from the river 
which, when completed, will provide a public park of about loO acres ; and the first section of 
this work is now to be undertaken. 

The great scheme with which Provost Ballingall's name will always be identified is that 
of the Lintrathen water supply. When the rapid increase of the population made it necessary to 
obtain a larger supply than that drawn from Monikie, the Loch of Lintrathen was unanimously 
selected as the source. Two methods of bringing the water to Dundee were proposed — one 
taking a circuitous course and bringing several adjacent burghs into the area of supply, and the 
other following a more direct route from Lintrathen to Dundee. The latter method was 
advocated by Provost Ballingall, partly on the score of economy, but p-incipally because it 
admitted of supplying the upper portions of the town by gravitation, and preserved Monikie as an 
independent supply. The direct route was ultimately adopted, and is now in oi)eration ; and 
an additional pipe from Lintrathen to Dundee is now being laid, so as to increase the supply 
still further. 



300 RIGHT HON. CLAUDE, EARL OF STRATHMORE AND KTNCHORNE. 

Provost Ballingall is a Deputy-Lieutenant and Justice of the Peace for Forfarshire, and 
has been on the Commission of Supply for the County since 1873. He was appointed to 
a similar position as Commissioner of Supply for Perthshire in 1878, as representing the Water 
Commissioners of Dundee. As one of the Northern Lights Commissioners, he was instmmeutal 
in procuring the placing of a lightship at the North Carr Rock, where many disastrous wrecks 
have occurred in former times. 

In the course of the .seventeen years that Provost Ballingall has been in the Town 
Council, many important changes have been made in the burgh. An adequate system of water 
supply has been introduced ; many spacious streets have been carried through parts of the town 
formerly covered with dilapidated and overcrowded tenements ; the Harbour has been extended ; 
Public Baths have been erected, and extensive accommodation also provided for out-door bathing ; 
Public Markets and Slaughter-houses have been built to replace the shambles of the oldeu time ; 
and a network of Tramways now connects the various parts of the town. In all these improve- 
ments Provost Ballingall took an active share as member of the various Public Boards of 
Dundee. 

During his time University College has been endowed, and a Medical School was projected as 
an addition to the other departments. The Albert Institute, containing Free Lending and 
Reference Libraries, had a large wing added to it, affording accommodation for a Museum and 
a Gallery for the permanent collection of works of art belonging to the burgh ; and in the 
last year of his office he had the pleasure of seeing the heavy debt of £10,000, which hampered 
the operations of this useful institution, cleared off, as a Jubilee gift by a generous and cultured 
citizen. Provost Ballingall was also Chairman of the Committee charged with the task of 
completing the Albert Institute by adding a wing for the puqioses of the annual Fine Art 
Exhibitions — to be appropriately named the " Victoria Galleries" — and the success of the scheme 
was largely due to his exertions. 



1874. October 1st. 

The Right Hon. CLAUDE, EARL of STRATHMORE and KINGHORNE, 
Lord-Lieutenant of the County of Forfar, was admitted Burgess 
IN testimony of the respect entertained by the Council for his 
Character and Public Services. 

By the death of Fox Maule, Earl of Dalhousie, on Gth July, 1874 (vide page 282), the 
Lord-Lieutenancy of Forfarshire became vacant, and the present Earl of Strathmore was 
appointed to that important office, which he still administers. Shortly after his Lordship's 
appomtment, the Town Council jJresented him with the freedom of the burgh, at a meeting held 
on 26th October, 1874, in the Hall of the Albert Institute, the Burgess Ticket being enclosed in 
a silver casket bearing an inscription similar to that entered on the Burgess-Roll. 



HON. ALEXANDER MACKENZIE. 301 

Claude Bowes-Lyon, thirteenth Earl of Strathmore and Kinghorne, is the second son 
of George, Lord Glamis {nat. 1801, oh. 1834), and the grandson of Thomas, eleventh Earl of 
Strathmore. He was born on 21st July, 1824, and was educated at Winchester and at Christ 
Church, Oxford. In 1S4S he was gazetted Lieutenant in the 2nd Life Guards, and retired from 
the Army in 1854. On the death of his elder brother, without issue, on 13th September, 1865, 
he succeeded to the title of Earl of Strathmore and Kinghorne. He was elected a 
Representative Peer for Scotland in 1870, and has been re-elected at every Parliament since that 
time. As his title was a Scottish one, the Earl had no seat in the House of Lords except 
by election ; but at the recent distribution of honours in commemoration of the Jubilee of 
Queen Victoria he was made a Peer of the United Kingdom, under the style and title of 
Baron Bowe.s of Streatlam, in the County of Durham, and Lunedale, in the County of York, 
and his seat in the Upper House is now hereditary. Lord Strathmore has ever taken an active 
interest in the afifairs of the County, and in the commercial progress of Dundee, and has long been 
a member of the Harbour Board. He is the direct descendant of Patrick, third Earl of 
Kinghorne, who was made a Burgess on 19th July, 1660 {vide page 164), and the names of 
many of his kinsmen may be found inscribed upon the Burgess-Roll. 

Lord Strathmore was married in 1853 to Frances Dora, daughter of Oswald Smith, 
Esquire of Blendon Hall, Kent, and has seven sons and three daughters. 



1875. June 23rd. 
The Hon. ALEXANDER MACKENZIE, Premier of the Dominion of Canada, 

WAS ADMITTED BuRGESS OF DuNDEE, IN RESPECT OF HIS EMINENT POSITION 
AND distinguished PuBLlC SERVICES. 

Alexander Mackenzie was born at Logierait, on 28th January, 1822, and educated at 
Perth and Dunkeld. He emigrated to Canada and established himself as a contractor and 
builder, first at Kingston and latterly at Sarnia, Ontario. Having considerable literary ability, 
he luidertook the editing of the Lambton Shield, and advocated the reform of the Canadian 
Parliament so vigorously that he was returned as Member for Lambton in 1S62, and continued 
in that post until the Confederation was effected. He was elected Member for West 
Middlesex to the Legislature of Ontario, in 1871, and held office as Provincial Secretary, and 
afterwards as Provincial Treasurer. In 1873 he became Premier of the Dominion of Canada, and 
Minister of Public Works. He visited Scotland in 1875, and whilst passing through Dundee at 
this time the Town Council took the ojiportunity of recognizing the ability of a native of 
this locality, who had risen to such eminence in a distant country. A similar compliment was 
paid to him by the burghs of Perth and Irvine. He held the office of Premier till 1878, and 
when he returned to Scotland in 1881 he was made a freeman of Inverness, to which (piarter his 
ancestors belonged. He is still a member of the Dominion Parliament, and resides at Toronto. 



302 EARL OF AIRLIE AND LINTRATHEN. 



1875. September 2nd. 

The IIight Hon. DAVID GRAHAM-DRUMMOND-OGILVY, EAEL of AIRLIE 
AND LINTRATHEN, K.T., in respect of his eminent position and 

PUBLIC SekVICES, and IN TESTIMONY OF THE CoUNCIL's APPROBATION OF THE 
CORDIAL AND EQUITABLE MANNER IN WHICH HE GRANTED A SUPPLY OF WaTER 
FROM LiNTRATHEN TO THE ToWN OF DuNDEE. 

The occasion of the presentation of the freedom of Dundee to the hxte Earl of Airlie is 
sufficiently indicated by the terms of the entry on the Burgess-Roll. The uece.ssity of an 
increased water-supply was clamant, and the Loch of Lintratheu, the propertj' of the Earl, was 
the only source found available. With characteristic urbanity he placed that source at the 
disposal of the community, reserving his rights over it by the payment of an annual rent. 

David Graham-Drummond-Ogilvy, ninth Earl of Airlie, was the son of David, eighth 
Earl, and of Clementina, daughter of Gavin Drummond, Esquire of Keltie, who was herself 
one of the rei^resentatives of John Graham, Viscount Dundee. He was born on 4th May, 
1826, and succeeded his father on 20th August, 1849. He was educated at Christ Church, 
Oxford, aud from early youth displayed a predilection for literary studies. He was elected one of 
the Scottish Representative Peers in 1850, and retained that position by re-election in every 
Parliament until his death. When the Royal Commission upon Historical Documents was 
constituted in 1869 he was one of the first appointed to serve upon it, and rendered valuable 
service to the country by his action in this capacity. In 1872 he was Lord High Commissioner 
to the Church of Scotland, and remained in that post for several years. He had taken much 
interest in the formation and conducting of cattle ranches in North America, and whilst on a 
visit to that country for the purpose of inspecting some of these establishments he was suddenly 
seized with severe sickness, and died at Denver, Colorado, on 25th September, 1881, when in his 
fifty-fifth year. His body was brought home to this country and buried at Cortachy, where 
a magnificent monument has been erected to his memory. The Earl was married in 1851 to 
the Hon. Henrietta Blanche Stanley, daughter of Lord Stanley of Alderley; and his 
eldest son is the present Earl of Airlie. Many of his ancestors were intimately connected with 
Dundee, and their names have been frequently entered on the Burgess-Roll, and are referred to 
on preceding pages. 



THOMAS BOUCH. 303 



1878. May 31st. 



THOMAS BOUCH, Esquire, Civil Engineer, Edinburgh, Engineer of the 
Tay Bridge, was made a Burgess in respect of his meritorious services 
AS Engineer of the Bridge, and in testimony of the Council's high 
appreciation of the Engineering talent and ability by which he has 
designed the bridge, and by whose direction that great work has 
now been successfully completed. 



Thomas Bouch, the designer of the first railway viaduct between Fifeshire and Forfiirshire, 
was born at Thiirsby, Cumberland, on 22nd February, 1822. He studied his profession as civil 
engineer at Carlisle, and was appointed, whilst quite a young man, as manager of the Edinburgh 
and Northern Railway, which is now absorbed in the system of the North British Railway 
Companv. In this capacity he designed the loading-slips in connection with the floating railway 
by which loaded waggons are conveyed from Burntisland to Granton. The Kinross-shire and 
Leven lines of railway were surveyed and constructed by him in 1854, the Peebles branch in 
1855, and the Crieff Junction line in 1856. Several of the important branch lines in the North 
of England were also laid out and completed by him ; whilst in this neighbourhood the most 
recent lines constructed by him were the Newport (Fife) Branch, and the North British line 
between Arbroath and Montrose via Lunan Bay. His greatest undertaking was the Tay railway 
viaduct between Dundee and Wormit, Fife, which was begun on 22nd July, 1871, and opened 
for traffic on :31st May, 1878. The importance of this great work to Dundee, as affording direct 
communication with the South, was fully appreciated by the Town Council, and they gave 
expression to this feeling when they inscribed Mr Bouch's name on the Burgess-Roll. Her 
Majesty Queen Victoria passed along the Bridge on 20th June, 1879, when on her way 
North, and at that time she conferred the honour of Knighthood upon SiR Thomas Bouch, 
as an acknowledgment of his ability as an engineer. During the fearful storm of Sunday, 29th 
December, 1879, the central girders of the Bridge were destroyed, and a passing train with its 
living freight was engulfed in the waters of the Tay. This melancholy catastrophe preyed upon 
the mind of SiR Thomas Bouch, and he never recovered from the shock which it occasioned 
to him. He died on 80th October, 1880, being then in the fifty-eighth year of his age. 



304 JOHN STIRLING. 



1878. May 31st. 

JOHN STIRLING, Esquike of Kippendavie, Chairman of the North British 
Railway Company, was admitted Burgess of Dundee by the Town 
Council, in testimony of their high appreciation of the ability and 
perseverance by which he has for years promoted the erection of 
THE Railway Bridge across the Tay, and for his Important Services 
IN developing a system of railway communication calculated to 

BE OF vast importance, NOT ONLY TO THE TrADE AND MANUFACTURES 

OF Dundee, but to the benefit of the Northern District op Scotland, 

AND the through TRAFFIC OF THE COUNTRY GENERALLY. 

John Stirling of Kippendavie was the lineal descendant of Sir Archibald Striveling 
of Keir, who was admitted Burgess on 1.5th April, 1589 (vide page 70). He was also connected 
with Dundee through his mother, who was a great-granddaughter of SiR Alexander 
Wedderburn, sixth Baronet of Blackness. He was born on 19th August, 1811, and 
succeeded to the estates of Kippendavie and Kippcnross on the death of his grandfather, on 
7th June, 1816, his own father having died three months before that date. For over thirty 
years he was intimately connected with one or other of our leading lines ; and for many years he 
was Chairman of the North British Railway Company. Under his direction and through his 
enterprise the railway system of that Company was developed to a large extent, and has now 
become one of the most important systems in the kingdom. The bridging of the rivers Forth 
and Tay by gigantic railway viaducts formed one of his favourite projects, and in the erection of 
the Tay Bridge he took a very special interest. His name was inscribed on the Burgess-Roll 
beside that of Sir Thomas Bouch, the engineer, when that great undertaking was brought to a 
successful completion ; and he had examined the plans for the Forth Bridge, designed by 
Sir Thomas, and was prepared to proceed with that other structure when the Tay Bridge 
disaster temporarily shelved the proposal. Since that time another Tay Bridge, with double 
rails, erected upon more secure lines, has been finished, and was opened for traflSc in June, 1887; 
and a more elaborate bridge over the Forth than that which Sir Thomas Bouch designed is now 
(1887) in course of construction. Mr Stirling, however, did not survive to see either of them 
begun, as he died on 25th July, 1882, in the seventy-first year of his age. 



EARL OF ROSEBERY — EARL OF CAMPERDOWN— EARL OF DALHOUSIE. 305 



1883. August 7tli. 

The Eight Hon. ARCHIBALD PHILIP PPtlMROSE, EARL or ROSEBERY ; 
THE Right Hon. ROBERT ADAM PHILIPS-DUNCAN-HALDANE, 
EARL OF CAMPERDOWN ; and the Right Hon. JOHN WILLIAM 
RAMSAY, EARL of DALHOUSIE, K.T., were all admitted Burgesses 
OF Dundee, in respect op their high character, eminent positions, and 
public Services. 

The occasion upon which the names of these three noblemen were inscribed on the Burgess- 
Roll was the opening of University College, Dundee, with the erection and constitution of w'hich 
the Earl of Camperdown and the Earl of Dalhousie had been closely associated. Both 
these noble Earls wei-e present at the opening ceremony, and acknowledged the honour which 
had thus been conferred upon them. LORD RosEBERY was then absent on a tour through the 
Australian colonies, but at a later date (1.5th April, lS8-i) he appeared in Dundee, and delivered 
an address on the occasiQu of receiving his Burgess Ticket. 

Archibald Philip Primrose, fifth Earl of Rosebery, is the son of the late Lord 
Dalmeny (o6. 1851), and of Lady Wilhelmine Stanhope, sister of Earl Stanhope, the 
historian, afterwards DucHESS of Cleveland. The names of several of his ancestors 
and kinsmen may be found inscribed on the Burgess-Roll of Dundee in the seventeenth 
century, notably David Primrose of Whitehouse and Robert Bruce, Lord Broomhall, 
who were admitted on I7th May, 1627; and Gilbert Primrose, who was made a freeman 
of the Burgh on 17th September, 1633 (vide pp. 136, 137, and 1,50). Lord Rosebery 
was born on 7th May, 18-i7, and succeeded to the title on the death of his grandfather on 
4th March, 1868. He was educated at Eton and at Christ Church, Oxford, and took his seat 
in the House of Lords on his accession to the Earldom. His first appearance as a public speaker 
was made in 1871, when he seconded the Address in reply to the Queen's Speech, and at once 
commanded attention as an orator of no mean ability. In Parliament Lord Rosebery has 
consistently advocated Liberalism of an advanced type. During the acrimonious debates upon 
the religious questions raised by the introduction of the Education Acts ho supported the 
proposal for the exclusion of compulsory teaching of Catechisms, maintaining that this would 
prevent the revival of one of the worst forms of religious tests. He was one of the Commis- 
sioners upon Scottish Endowments, and in 1873 he became Chairman of his own Committee of 
Inquiry as to the Supply of Horses, through whose recommendation the inconvenient tax upon 
horses was latterly remitted. When the Social Science Congress met in Glasgow, on 1st October, 
1874, Lord Rosebery was chosen President, an office which had formerly been held by the 
Prince Consort and Lord Brougham, and had never been entrusted to so youthful a 

2 P 



306 EARL OF ROSEBERY — EARL OF CAMPERDOWN— EARL OF DALHOUSIE. 

nobleman before. The address which he delivered on that occasion fully justified the 
choice which had been made, and showed that he possessed full knowledge of the great social 
questions of the day, and could discuss them with wisdom and discretion. In 1878 he was 
elected Lord Kector of Aberdeen Uuiverslty, and before his term of office was completed he was 
chosen in November, 1880, to fill the same honourable post in the University of Edinburgh. On 
both occasions he delivered Kectorial addresses, admirable alike for their subject-matter, the 
originality displayed in their treatment, and the eloquence with which they were delivered. 
Lord Eosebert was appointed Under-Secretary of State fur the Home Department in August, 
1881, and continued in office till June, 1883, when he resigned the place. Before this time 
ho had strongly advocated the revival of the office of Secretary for Scotland, which had not been 
administered since 1746, and shortly afterwards the proposal was carried out. His political 
influence in Midlothian enabled him to render valuable service to Mr Gladstone when that 
veteran statesman successfully contested the shire in 1880. He is a Member of the Committee 
of the Privy Council on Education, is an LL.D. of Aberdeen, Edinburgh, Glasgow, and St 
Andrews, and is Lord-Lieutenant of Mid and West Lothian. In J 88.5 he was Privy Seal and 
First Commissioner of Works, and in 1886 Secretary for Foreign Affairs. LoRD RoSEBERY was 
married in 1878 to Hannah, daughter of the late Baron Mayer de Rothschild, and has two 
sons and two daughters. 

Robert Adam Haldane Philips-Duncan-Haldane, third Earl of Camperdown, is the 
elder son of Adam, Vlscount Duncan, and second Earl of Camperdown, who was admitted 
Burgess on 12th November, 18.51 (t;icZepage 282), and is the descendant and representative of the 
Duncans of Lundie, whose names appear frequently on preceding pages of this volume. He was 
bom on 28th May, 1841, and was educated at Eton and at Balliol College, Oxford, where he took 
his degree as B.A., with Fu-st Class in Classics in 1861. He was Lord-iu-Waiting to Her 
Majesty from 1868 till 1870, and was a Civil Lord of the Admiralty from 1870 to 1874. Like 
his father, the late Earl, Lord Camperdown has ever taken a deep interest in the progress of 
the Harbour of Dundee, and has long sat as one of the Harbour Trustees representing the 
County. He is one of the members of the Council of University College, and his name has been 
associated with that institution from the time of its first proposal. 

John William Ramsay, thirteenth Earl of Dalhousie, is the son of the late Admiral 
George Ramsay, twelfth Earl of Dalhousie, and of Sarah Frances, daughter of Willlam 
Robertson of Logan House, and was born on 29th January, 1847. He entered the Royal Navy 
in 1861, and rose to the rank of Commander in 1S74. He was then appointed Equerry to 
H.R.H. the Duke of Edinburgh, and held that post till 1880. In April of the latter year he 
was returned as Member of Parliament for Liverpool, but on the death of his father in July, 
1880, he resigned his seat and took his place in the House of Lords, where he sits as Baeon 
Ramsay of Glenmark. He holds oflSce as a member of the Council of University College, and 
has taken much interest in its development. He was married in 1877 to Lady Louisa Bennet, 
daughter of the Earl of Tankerville, and has three sous. He is now the representative of 
the families of Maule of Panmure and Ramsay of Dalhousie, and the names of many of his 
ancestors will be found inscribed on the Burgess-Roll of Dundee from 1515 to the present time. 



RIGHT HON. JOHN BRIGHT — BUKE OF ARGYLL. 307 



1884. September 27th. 

The Right Hon. JOHN BRIGHT, M.P. for Birmingham, was admitted Burgess 
IN respect of the prominent place he has so long occupied as a public 
MAN AND Member of the Government, and for the important Services 

HE has rendered TO THE StATE. 

John Bright is the son of Jacob Bright of Greenbank, near Rochdale, and was born there 
on 16th November, 1811. His father had an extensive cotton-factory at Rochdale, and John 
Bright entered into the co-partnery at an early age. He took part in the Reform Agitation of 
1831-2 ; but he first distinguished himself in 1839 as an eloquent advocate of the abolition of 
the Corn-Law.s, and was one of the earliest members of the Anti-Corn-Law League. In April, 
1843, he contested the city of Durham at a bye-election, but was defeated by Lord Dunga.nnon ; 
and as the successful candidate was unseated on petition, Mr Bright was returned as member in 
July of that year, and sat as representative till 1847, when he became member for Manchester. 
His reputation as a statesman and orator was first made by his speeches in support of Free Trade, 
and in conjunction with Mr Richard Cobden and Mr Joseph Hume (^vide pp. 277 and 267) he 
endeavoured to bring about the reform of national finance. When the Crimean War seemed 
imminent Mr Bright strenuously opposed the warlike policy of Lord Palmerston, but without 
avail ; and when at a later date he denounced the conduct of that statesman in the Canton 
imbroglio he found himself luipopular with his constituents, and lost his seat at the General 
Election of 1857. The death of Mr Muntz, a few months afterwards, caused a vacancy at 
Birmingham, and Mr Bright was returned for that borough in August, 1857, and has continued 
to represent it ever since. His principal work in Parliament has been directed towards the 
lowering of the electoral franchise, and though entirely in accord with the Liberal party he 
refused for a long time to take ofKce under a Liberal Government. He was at length prevailed 
upon by Mr Gladstone to become President of the Board of Trade, in December, 1868, and held 
that office for two years. Mr Bright has twice been appointed Chancellor of the Duchy of 
Lancaster, and was made a Privy Councillor in 1868. 



1885. October 8th. 

His Grace GEORGE DOUGLAS CAMPBELL, DUKE of ARGYLL, K.T, K.G., 
was admitted burgess in respect of his high character, eminent 
position, and public Services. 

The connection of the Campbell family, to which the Duke of Argyll belongs, with Dundee 
and the neighbouring district extends backwards for over four hundred years. Thomas Campbell, 
the younger son of Colin, second Lord Campbell, and afterwards (1457) first Earl of Argyll, 



308 DUKE OF ARGYLL. 

was the foamier of the branch of the Campbells of Lundie, a race long powerful in this locality. 
Sir Colin Campbell of Lundie, Bart., was the uncle of the Marquess of Argyll, who was 
admitted Burgess of Dundee on 10th April, 1622 (vide page 121). A large portion of the land 
on which the town of Dundee is built was at one time in the possession of one of the ladies of 
the Argyll family. Richard Maitland, son of Charles, Lord Haltoun (vide page 194), 
was married in 1678 to Anxa, daughter of Archibald, ninth Earl of Argyll, and from the 
Register of Sasines in the Charter-room of Dundee it appears that the dowry granted to her and 
her husband consisted of the lauds of Benvie and Balruthrie, the dominical lands of Dudhope, 
and the lands of Chapelfield and of the Blackness Acres. All these lands, with the exception of 
Benvie and Balruthrie, are included within the municipal boundaries. They passed into the 
hands of Yiscount Dundee in the manner already related (vide i^age 194). The first Duke of 
Argyll played an imjiortant part in the history of Dundee at the time of Mar's Rebellion in 
1715. After his victory at SherifFmuir he advanced to Dundee, which was then one of the 
centres of Jacobite disaffection, and finding that the principal civic rulers had fled at his approach 
he appointed Commissioners to govern the Burgh imtil a new Council had been elected willing 
to supjjort the Hanoverian dynasty. 

George Douglas Campbell, eighth Duke of Argyll, is the second and only surviving son 
of John, seventh Duke of Argyll, and of Joan, daughter of John Glassel, Esquire of Long 
Niddry, and was born at Ardincaple Castle, Dunbartonshire, on .30th April, 1823. He succeeded 
to the title on the death of his father, on 26th April, 1847, but before that time he had won 
some literary reputation whilst ILiRQUESS OF LORNE as a writer upon Church Polity in relation 
to the Established Church of Scotland. Li Parliament his sympathies and his votes were with 
the Free Trade cause and party known as Peelite, but he separated himself from them in their- 
opposition to the Ecclesiastical Titles Bill, which in principle he supported, although he moved 
an amendment and thought it inefficient. He was elected Chancellor of the University of St 
Andrews in 1851, and still holds that position. In the following year he accepted the office of 
Lord Privy Seal in the Ministry of Lord Aberdeen, and after the breaking up of the Government 
in 1855 he retained that post for a short time under Lord Palmerston. In doing so, he 
separated himself finally from the Peelite group of statesmen — thinking that they had no longer 
any good reason for holding themselves aloof from the Liberal party under the leadership 
of Lord Palmerston. He resigned the Seal in 1855, and was appointed Postmaster-General, 
and these two offices he held in succession several times until 1860, when he once more became 
Lord Privy Seal in the Palmerston Cabinet, and continued till 1S66. When the Gladstone 
Ministry was formed in December, 1868, he took office as Secretary of State for India, and 
remained in that post till the defeat of the Government in February, 1874. As the Duke 
OF Richmond's Bill for the Abolition of Church Patronage in Scotland in 1874 was completely 
in accordance with the ideas which he had promulgated in 1842 he gave it his hearty 
support, and his powerful advocacy of the measure greatly contributed towards its success. 
In 1.S77-S he took an active part in opposition to the policy of Lord Beaconsfield's 
Government on the Eastern Question, and in favour of the subject population of the 
Turkish Empire. He joined the new Government of Mr Gladstone in 1880. He had been 
.a party to the Irish Land Act of 1870 ; but the more sweeping changes proposed by Mr 



DUKE OF ARGYLL. 309 

Gladstone in the Irish Laud Bill of 1881 seemed to the Duke to be unsound in principle, and 
likely to fail in practice ; on this ground he resigned office. He has since taken a strong part 
against the setting up of a separate Parliament for Ireland. His position now is stated to 
be that of a Constitutional Liberal. He is an eloquent orator and a practised debater, fluent and 
impassioned in speech, yet prudent and sagacious in coirnsel. When the DuKE OF ARGYLL was 
admitted Burgess in 1885, he delivered an address on 12th November in the Albert Hall, after 
hax'ing opened the course of Armitstead Lectures. 

The literary labours of the Duke of Argyll have been numerous and diversified. In 1842, 
at the age of nineteen, he published a parajohlet, " Letter to the Peers from a Peer's S(m," on 
the Free Church controversy, urging on the Government the policy of conceding the claims of 
the General Assembly on the subject of Patronage, and supporting the constitutional claims 
of the Established Church to spiritual independence. In 1848 he published " Presbytery 
Examined," which is an elaborate essay on the History of the Reformation in Scotland, and on 
the constitutional peculiarities of the Scottish Presbyterian Church. He is the author of " The 
Reign of Law," a work first published in 18C6, and which has gone through many editions 
both at home and in the United States. In 1868 he issued a volume, entitled " Primeval Man," 
devoted to the consideration of clamant questions in science and archaeology. In Januarj*, 1879, 
he published a work, in two volumes, on the " Eastern Question," which is a careful examination 
of the history of that great subject, both in its Turkish and Indian branches ; and gives an 
elaborate analysis of the diplomatic treatment of it by the Beaconsfield Administration. In 
1881 he published a work on " The Unity of Nature," which pursues the subjects previously 
dealt with in "The Reign of Law." It is directed mainly against Agnosticism. In 1878 
appeared a small volume descriptive of the history and architectural remains and scenery 
of the Island of lona. His most recent production is an extensive work, entitled " Scotland 
as it Was and as it Is," which was issued in 1887. It traces especially the economic and 
political progress of the nation from the earliest times. He has been, and still is, a 
frequent contributor to the periodical press on science and on politics. He was President 
of the British Association at their meeting in Glasgow in September, 1855, and was ajroointed 
President of the Royal Society of Edinburgh in 1861. He is a Knight of the Thistle and a 
Knight of the Garter, was created a Privy Councillor in 1853, and is Hereditary Alaster of 
the Queen's Household in Scotland. 

The Duke of Argyll was man-ied in 1844 to Lady Elizabeth Leveson-Gower, daughter 
of the second Duke of Sutherland, and has by this marriage five sons and seven daughters 
living. His Grace married, secondly, in. 1881, Amelia Maria, daughter of the Right Rev. 
Thomas Legh Claughton, D.D., Bishop of St Albans. His eldest son, the Marquess of 
LoRNE, was married in 1871 to the Princess Louise Caroline Alberta, fourth daughter of 
Her Majesty Queen Victoria. 



LIST OF PROVOSTS, DEANS OF GUILD, AND TREASURERS 
OF THE BURGH OF DUNDEE. 



The Minutes of the Town Council of Dundee which are still in existence do not bear an 
earlier date than 1553 ; but as the names of the Provost, Dean of Guild, and Treasurer for 
the time being were usually entered in the Lockit-Book over every name of an admitted 
Burgess, we are thus able to obtain a more complete list from it than the regular Minute Books 
afford. To make this list still more comprehensive, elaborate research has been made amongst 
contemporary charters and documents, and by these means the blanks which formerly existed in 
this jKirtion of the history of Dundee have been largely filled up. The following names may be 
found in the Lockit-Book, Hay's " Charters and Writs of Dundee," " Documents illustrative 
of Scottish History," "The Exchequer Eolls of Scotland," Registrum Magni Sigilli Eegum 
Scotoriim, Regidmm Be Panmure, Registrum Nigrum Dc Aberhrothoc, Registmvi Vetus De 
Aberbrothoc, Libr'i De Balmorinach et Lmuloris, Reglstru.m Episcxypatus BrcchinensU, 
" Charters and Documents of the Weaver Trade of Dundee," " Register of the Privy Council 
of Scotland," Acta Parlmmentorum, &c., &c. Where no Provost's name has been found in the 
earlier portion of the list, the cames of the principal Bailies who presented the accounts of the 
burgh to the King'.S Exchequer have been inserted. 



PROVOSTS OF DUNDEE, i286-i887. 



1286. Eadiilfo, Magi.ster dc Dundee. 

1330. Fordoun, Eicliard de, senior, 

1341. Balmossy, Alan de, 

1341. Haia, Peter de, . 

1341. Both, William de, 

1341. Fordoun, Eichard de, junior, 

1342. Both, Nicholas de, 

1342. Scralyu, Alexander de, 

1343. Forhour, Steplien, 
1360. Parker, Patrick, . 
1362. Harden, William de, 
1362. Angus, ThOmas of, 

1364. Harden, William de, 

1365. Parker, Andrew, . 

1365. Clerk, John, 

1366. Skyrmechour, Alex., Constable, 

1366. Inverpefre, William de, 

1367. Parker, Andrew, . 





1369. 


Harden, William de, . 


Provost 


Provost. 


137.5. 


Ayre, Galfrid, 


Bailie. 


Bailie. 


1376. 


Spalding, Eichard, 


1) 


)) 


1377. 


Brow, Laurence, . 


T> 


J) 


1377. 


Bell, Eobert, 


)) 


)? 


1379. 


Clerk, Thomas, . 


M 


Provost. 


1380. 


Templeman, Eobert, 


)> 


Eailie. 


1381. 


BeU, Eobert, 


5) 


13 


1382. 


Jedwortli, Hugh de, 


>> 


)J 


1383. 


Bell, Eobert, 


)J 


TJ 


1384. 


Templeman, Eobert, . 


9J 


?J 


1384. 


Aberkirdor, David de, . 


?) 


Provost. 


1384. 


Mortuo Marl. .John de, 


)> 


Bailie. 


1387. 


Scott, Eichard, . 


)» 


jj 


1388. 


Templeman, Eubert, 


)J 


Provost. 


1389. 


Jedwortli, Hugh de. 


f} 


Bailie. 


1390. 


Templeman, Eobert, . 


>) 


?) 


1391. 


Inverpefre, Patrick de. 


3) 



312 



PROVOSTS. 



1392. Scott, Riohard, . 

1393. Clerk, William, . 
1393. Young, John, 

1395. Scott, Richard, . 

1396. Templeman, Robert, 

1397. Scott, Richard, . 

1398. Guthry, Robert de, 

1401. Lyndesei, John de, 

1402. Scott, Richard, . 

1402. Baldovy, Michael de, 

1403. *Guthry, Robert de, 

1404. Templeman, Robert, 

1405. Scott, Richard, . 
1406-7. Clerk, Adam, 

1409. Scott, Richard, . 

1410. Mortuo Mari. John, 
1410. Andre wson, John, 
1412-14. Scott, Richard, Bailie and 
1415-18. Elgy, James, 

1420. DLsart, Galfrid de, 

1421. Parcare, Duncan, 
1421. Clerk, Thomas, . 
1421. Blare, William de, 
1422-24. Parcare, Duncan, 
1425-28. Disart, Galfrid de, 
1429. Strathechyn, William de, 
1429. Plater, William, . 
1431. Playfair, William, 

1434. Feme, Simon de, 

1435. Blare, Alexander de, 
1435. Abirkirdor, David de, 
1435. Spalding, David de, 
1438. Feriie, Simon de, 

1442. Spalding, David, 

1443. Straithain, William de, 
1444-5. Grynlaw, Walter, 
1446. Straithain, William de, 
1447-8. Fothringhame, James de, 

1449. Balmanach, Robert de, 

1450. Fothringhame, James de, 

1451. Gronelaw, Walter, 

1453. Fothringhame, James de, 

1454. Deuchre, Robert, 

1454. Fothringhame, Henry, of 

1455. Deuchre, Malcolm de, . 



Clerk of Coquet. 
Bailie. 



Bailie. 



Provost. 
Bailie. 



Provost. 
Bailie. 



Pourie, Provost. 
Bailie. 



1456. 

1457. 

1459. 

1459. 

1460. 

1461. 

1462. 

146.3. 

1463- 

1464 

1466. 

1467. 

1468. 

1469. 

1469- 

1470. 

1472 

1476 

1477 

1478 

1480, 

1481, 

1482 

1483 

1483 

148.5, 

1492 

1497 

1504, 

1509, 

151.3, 

1513, 

1513 

1514 

1516 

1520 

1523 

1525 

1526 

1528 

1531 

1543 

1544 

1550 

1551 



5. 



-9. 



Guthrie, David, . 

(Jrinlaw, Walter, 

Spalding, David, . 

Spalding, Thomas, 

Strathaiichtyne, ^'illiam de, 

Scrymgeour, John, 

Denchir, Robert de, 

Abirkirdor, David, 
4. Blare, James, 
66. Fothringhame, James de, 

Graham, Robert, . 

Guthrie, ^Malcolm, 

Abirkirdor, David, 

Moncurr, Andrew, 
70. Hay, John, . 

Guthrie, ^Malcolm, 

Guthrie, Malcolm, 

Fullerton, James, 

Rollok, David, 

Graham, Robert, of Fintry, 

Guthrie, Malcolm, 

Fothringhame, James, . 
f Rollok, David, . 

Graham, Robert, of Fintry. 

Abirkirdor, David. 

Rollok, James. 

Scrymgeour, James, Constable of 

Graham, Robert, of Fintry. 

Rollok, James. 

Ugilvie, Alexander. 

Gray, Lord. 

Abercrombie, Andrew. 
14. Cranford, Earl of. 
16. Rollok, -James. 

20. Scrymgeour, .James, Constaljle of 
23. Ogilvie, Alexander. 
-25. Scrymgeour, James, Constable of 
26. Carmichael, William, of Carpow. 
28. Scrymgeour, John, of Glaister. 
30. Scrymgeour, James, Constable of 
-32. Barrie, John. 

-44. Scrymgeour, AValter, of Glaswell. 
45. Myln, Robert. 

Dog, .Tames of Dunrobbene. 
65. Halyburton, James. 



Bailie. 



Provost. 



Bailie. 

Provost. 

J) 
Bailie. 

Provost. 
BaUie. 



Provost. 

?) 
Bailie. 
Provost. 
Bailie. 
Provost. 
Bailie. 

)) 
Provost. 



Dundee. 



Dundee. 
Dundee. 

Dundee. 



In the Excheijuer Roll, where Robert de Giitlny's name is entered, the interesting remark is made ex- 
planatory of his beuig tlie sole Bailie present, " the other Bailies having died of the Plague." 

+ After this entry the names ai'e those of Provosts only. 



PROVOSTS. 



SIS 



1565-GG. Craufonl, Ivirl nf. 
1566-8G. Halylnirtou, Jaiuos. 
1586-90. Scryiugouur, James, of Diulhop. 
1590-92. Forrester, James. 
1592-9.3. Auchinlek, James. 
1593-09. Scrymgeour, Sir James. 
1609-14. Duncan, William. 
1614-26. Auchinlek, William. 
1626-31. Halyburton, Thomas. 
1631-33. Auchinlek, Thomas. 
1633-37. Davidson, Thomas. 
1637-43. Fletcher, James. 
1643-46. Piersoun, James. 
Sept. 1646-50. Kinneris, ^Villiam. 
„ 1650-58. Mndy, Thomas. 

1658-59. Mudy, Sir Thomas. 
,, 1659-66. Wedderlmrn, Alexander. 

„ 1666-67. Fletcher, George. 

,, 1667-69. Drown, George. 

1669-70. Tarbet, John. 
1670-72. Watson, Alexander. 
,, 1672-77. Brown, (leorge. 

„ 1677-81. Wedderhurn, Alex., of Easter 

Powrie. 
„ 1681-85. Duncan, Alexander. 

,, 1685-86. Fletcher, Jame.s. 

,, 168G. Election of Magistrates pro- 

hibited by the King. 
Deer. 1686-87. Graham, Alajor-General John, of 
Claverhouso, appointed b}' 
Koynl AVavrant. 
Sept. 1687-88. Fletcher, .James. 
„ 1688-89. Graham, Major-General. 

1689-98. Fletcher, James. 
„ 1698-1700. Blair, Alexander. 
,, 1700-02. Scrymgeour, Jiflm. 

1702-04. Duncan, John. 
„ 1704-06. Blair, Alexander. 

„ 1706-08. Yeaman, George. 

1708-10. Blair, Alexander. 
„ 1710-12. Yeaman, (reorge. 

„ 1712-14. Guthrie, Magr. Henrj'. 

„ 1714-16. Ballingall, Alexander. 
,, 1716-17. Scrymgeour, John. 
„ 1717-19. Duncan, Magr. Alex., of Lundie. 
„ 1719-21. Scrymgeour, John. 
,, 1721-23. Bower, Thomas. 
1723-25. Maxwell, David. 
,, 1725-27. Eamsay, George. 

2 Q 



Sept. 1727-28. Ferrier, Alexander. 

,, 1728-31. Fairweather, James. 

,, 1731-32. Robertson, Alexander. 

„ 1732-35. Fairweather, James. 

1735-36. Maxwell, I'atrick. 

„ 1736-38. Wardropper, Andrew. 

„ 1738-41. Donaldson, John. 

„ 1741-42. Eobertson, Alexander. 

1742-44. Ycanjan, Patrick, of ]!]acklaw. 

„ 1744-47. Duncan, Alexander, of Lundie. 

1747-48. Yeaman, Patrick, of Blacklaw. 

,, 1748-50. Yeaman, George, of Balbeuchly. 

1750-53. Yeaman, Patrick, of Blacklaw. 

„ 1753-54. Wardropper, Andrew. 

,, 1754-57. Yeaman, Patrick. 

„ 1757-58. Wardropper, Andrew. 

1758-61. Yeaman, George. 

,, 1761-62. Yeaman, Patrick. 

,, 1762-64. Halyliurton, .fohu. 

,, 1764-66. Barclay, John. 

1766-68. Maxwell, Patrick. 

1768-70. Maxwell, George. 

1770-72. Maxwell, Patrick. 

1772-74. Geekie, Henry. 

1774-76. Maxwell, Patrick. 

1776-78. Maxwell, George, of Balmyle. 

1778-80. Geekie, Henry. 

1780-82. Maxwell, Patrick. 

1782-84. Pitcairn, Jolin. 

1784-86. Maxwell, Patrick. 

1786-88. Pitcairn, John. 

1788-90. Riddoch, Alexander. 

,, 1790-92. Jolmston, James. 

„ 1792-94. Riddoch, Alexander. 

„ 1794-96. Thorns, Alexander. 

1796-98. Riddoch, Alexander. 

„ 1798-1800. Thouis, Alexander. 

1800-02. Riddoch, Alexander. 

1802-04. Guild, John. 

1804-07. Riddoch, Alexander. 

1807-08. Guild, John. 

1808-10. Riddoch, Alexamler. 

1810-12. Guild, John. 

1812-14. Riddoch, Alexander. 

1814-16. Guild, John. 

1816-18. Riddoch, Alexander. 

1818-20. Anderson, Patrick. 

1820-22. Brown, David. 

1822-24. Anderson, Patrick. 



:?14 



PROVOSTS — DEANS OF GUILD. 



Sept. 


1824-2G. 


Brown, David. 


Nov. 


1856-58. 


;j 


1826-28. 


Balfour, Alexander. 


Jan. 


1858. 


5J 


1828-30. 


Bell, Thomas. 


Xov. 


1858-61. 


July 


1831. 


Jobson, Robert. 


„ 


1861-67. 


Sept. 


1831-33 


Lindsay, AVilliam. 


:i 


1867-69. 


Nov. 


183.3-39. 


E-ay, .;\,Iexander. 


July 


1869-72. 


if 


1839-41. 


Hackney, William. (April, 1841 .) 


ISTov. 


1872-7.5. 


J) 


1841. 


Johnstone, William. 


n 


1875-78. 


)? 


1841-44. 


Law.son, Alexander. 


jj 


1878-81. 


jj 


1844-47. 


Brown, James. 


)? 


1881-84. 


JJ 


1847-53. 


Thorns, Patrick Hunter. 


)) 


1884-87. 


)J 


1853-56. 


Rough, George. 







Ewan, John. 
Rollo, David. 
.Tobson, David. 
Parker, Charles. 
Haj", AVilliam. 
Yeaman, -James. 
Cox, James. 
Robertson, William. 
Brownlee, William. 
Monrur, Alexander Hay. 
Ballingall, Hugh. 



LIST OF DEANS OF GUILD, i5i9-i887. 



Aug. 


1519. 


Lovell, Alexander. Se 


pt. 1578-79. 


Sept. 


1519. 


]\Iyhi, Robert. , 


1579-80. 


)J 


152.5. 


Rouch, George. , 


1580-81. 


)J 


152.5-26. 


Straitoun, David. , 


1581-82. 


» 


1529-30. 


Ogilvie, Alexander. , 


1582-83. 


>» 


1530-31. 


WeJderburn, David. , 


1583-85. 


J» 


1531. 


Carnegie, David (Master of , 


1585-86. 






Works). 


1586-87. 


)) 


1532-33. 


Barrie, Andrew. , 


1587-88. 


)) 


1533-34. 


Rollok, David. 


1588-89. 


JJ 


1534. 


RoUiik, George. , 


1589-90. 


U 


1534-35. 


Richardson, Henry. , 


1590-91. 


3> 


153.5. 


Myhi, Robert. 


1591-93. 


IJ 


153.5-36. 


Forrester, Thomas. , 


159.3-91. 


)J 


1536-37. 


Flescheour, John. , 


1594-95. 


?) 


1537-38. 


Rollok, George. , 


159.5-96. 


3J 


1538-39. 


Barrie, Andrew, senior. , 


1596-97. 


ti 


1539-40. 


Annaud, James. 1 , 


1597-98. 


3) 


1540-41. 


Wedderburn, James. , 


1598-99. 


3) 


1541-43. 


Maxwell, Thomas. , 


, 1.599-1600. 


33 


1546. 


Dean of Guild vacant. , 


1600-01. 


53 


1551-54. 


Annand, Andrew. , 


1601-02. 


3) 


1554-56. 


Lovell, George. , 


1602-03. 


3) 


1556-57. 


Annand, Andrew. , 


1603-05. 


33 


1557-59. 


Lovell, .James. , 


1605-06. 


33 


1562-66. 


Kyd, Robert. , 


1606-08. 


33 


1566-70. 


Lovell, James. , 


1608-10. 


5) 


1570-76. 


Scrymgeour, Alexander. , 


1610-11. 


33 


1577. 


Annand, Alexander. , 


1611-12. 


33 


1577-78. 


Forrester, James. , 


1612-1.3. 



Clayhills, Peter. 
Scrymgeour, Alexander. 
Clayhilb, Peter. 
Forrester, William. 
Annand, Alexander. 
Scrymgeour, Alexander. 
Duncan, William. 
Ramsay, Alexander. 
ClayhiUs, Peter. 
Flescheour, Robert. 
Man, William. 
Duncan, William. 
Flescheour, Robert. 
Findlason, John. 
Ramsay, Alexander. 
Fletclier, Robert. 
Findlayson, .John. 
Man, William. 
Flescheour, Robert. 
Man, William. 
Fletcher, Robert. 
^Man, William. 
Findlason, .John. 
Auchinleck, William. 
L)untan, William. 
Findlason, John. 
Goldman, William. 
Rollok, Walter. 
Clayhills, Robert. 
Aurhinlei'k, William. 



DEANS OF GUILD. 



315 



ept. 1G13-14. 


Findlason, John. 


Sept 1664-65. 


1614-15. 


Fergussoii, William. 


1665-66. 


1G15-16. 


Haliburton, Tlioma.';. 


1666-67. 


Ifil6-17. 


Fergussoii, William. 


1667-68. 


1617-18. 


Clayhills, Robert. 


1668-69. 


1618-19. 


FerguR.'ion, William. 


1669-70. 


1619-20. 


Clayhills, EoLert. 


1670-71. 


1620-21. 


Kyil, Patrick. 


1671-72. 


1621-22. 


Clayhills, Robert. 


1672-73. 


1622-23. 


Haliburton, Thomas. 


1673-74. 


1623-24. 


WeiUlerburn, Alexander, yr. 


1674-76. 


1624-25. 


Haliburton, Thomas. 


1676-77. 


1625-26. 


Guthrie, John. 


1677-78. 


1626-27. 


"\^'ellderburn, Magr. Alexander. 


1678-79. 


1627-28. 


Piersoun, James. 


1679-80. 


1628-29. 


Baxter, James. 


16a0-81. 


1629-30. 


Piersoun, James. 


1681-82. 


1630-31. 


Wedderburn, James. 


1682-83. 


1631-32. 


Piersoun, James. 


1683-84. 


1632-33. 


Kinneris, William. 


1684-85. 


163.3-34. 


Fletcher, James. 


1685-86. 


1634-35. 


Simmer, Alexander. 


1686-87. 


1635-36. 


Fletcher, James. 


1687-88. 


1636-37. 


Simpsoun, James. 


1688-89. 


1637-38. 


Davidsoun, Robert. 


1689-90. 


1638-39. 


Simpsoun, James. 


1690-92. 


1639-40. 


j\ludy, Tliomas. 


1692-93. 


1640-41. 


Kinneris, William. 


1693-95. 


1641-42. 


iMudy, Thomas. 


1695-96. 


1642-43. 


Siiiipsiiun, .lames. 


1696-97. 


1643-44. 


Halyburton, Thomas. 


1697-98. 


1644-45. 


Mudy, Thomas. 


1698-99. 


1645-47. 


Halyburton, Thomas. 


„ 1699-1700. 


1647-48. 


Mudy, Thomas. 


1700-01. 


1648-49. 


Brown, George. 


1701-03. 


1649-50. 


Bower, Alexander, yr. 


1703-04. 


1650-51. 


Bultie, Robert. 


1704-05. 


1651-52. 


Halyburton, Thomas. 


1705-06. 


1652-54. 


Scrymgeonr, John. 


1706-07. 


1654-55. 


Bower, Alexander, yr. 


1707-08. 


1655-56. 


Duncan, William. 


1708-09. 


1650-57. 


Davidson, Robert. 


1709-10. 


1657-58. 


Watson, Alexander. 


1710-11. 


1658-59. 


Halyburton, Alexander. 


1711-12. 


1659-60. 


Yeanian, David. 


1712-13. 


1660-61. 


Kinloch, John. 


1713-14. 


1661-62. 


Fletcher, John. 


1714-15. 


1662-63. 


Guthrie, William. 


1715-16. 


1663-64. 


Fletcher, George. 


1716-17. 



Kinloch-, John. 
Rankin, Walter. 
Kinloch, John. 
Rankin, Walter. 
Kinloch, John. 
Yeaman, David. 
:\lelvill, John. 
F(jrrester, George. 
Watson, Thomas. 
Forrester, George. 
Scott, John. 
Scrymgeonr, John. 
Scott, John. 
Scrymgeour, John. 
Watson, Thomas. 
Scrymgeour, John. 
Mudy, Thomas. 
Scrymgeour, John. 
'V\'atson, Thomas. 
Scott, John. 
Mudy, Thomas. 
Melvill, John. 
Mudy, Thomas. 
Scott, John. 
Mudy, Thomas. 
Blair, Alexander. 
Scott, John. 
Stewart, James. 
Blair, Alexander. 
Mudy, Thomas. 
Blair, Alexander. 
Mudy, Thomas. 
Read, Alexander. 
Duncan, John. 
ISlaxwell, David. 
Alison, James. 
Maxwell, David. 
Scott, Thomas. 
Maxwell, David. 
Scott, Thomas. 
Abercrombie, Thomas. 
Wardropper, Robert. 
Oliphant, John. 
Wardropper, Robert. 
Uliphant, John. 
Balvaird, David. 
Alison, James. 
Maxwell, David. 
Alison, James. 



310 



UEANS OF GUILD. 



Sviii. 1717-18. 

1718-19. 

1719-20. 

1720-21. 

1721-22. 

1722-23. 

1723-25. 

1725-26. 

1726-27. 

1727-28. 

1728-29. 

1729-30. 

1730-31. 

1731-32. 

1732-33. 

1733-34. 

1734-35. 

1735-36. 

1736-37. 

1737-38. 

1738-40. 

1740-41. 

1741-42. 

1742-43. 

1743-44. 

1744-45. 

1745-46. 

1746-47. 

1747-48. 

1748-49. 

1749-50. 

1750-51. 

1751-52. 

1752-5.3. 

1753-54. 
,, 1754-55. 
,, 1755-56. 

„ 1756-57. 

„ 1757-58. 

1758-59. 

1759-60. 

1760-61. 

1761-62. 

1762-63. 

1763-64. 

1764-65. 

1765-66. 
„ 1766-67. 

1767-68. 



Maxwell, David. 
Bower, Ale.Kandor. 
AVarJropper, Thomas. 
Paton, George. 
Fairweather, James. 
Yearaan, James. 
Ferrier, Alexander. 
Yeaman, James. 
Fairweather, James. 
Maxwell, .\lexander. 
Kiuloch, (lenrge. 
Read, Tliomas, junior. 
Maxwell, Patrick. 
Hay, Patrick. 
^Maxwell, Patrick. 
Read, Thomas, junior. 
Donaldson, John. 
Hay, Patrick. 
Donaldson, Jolm. 
Murray, J(jlin. 
Lyon, George. 
Yeaman, Patrick. 
Lyon, George. 
Murray, John. 
Lyon, George. 
Yeaman, George. 
Lj'on, George. 
Yeaman, George. 
Lyon, George. 
Yeaman, George. 
Ivinloch, George. 
Crichton, John. 
r>allingall, John. 
Kinlouh, George. 
Alison, William. 
Barclay, John. 
Alison, William. 
Barclay, John, 
irorison, William. 
Barclay, Jolm. 
Ballingall, John. 
Barclay, John. 
Morison, William. 
Barclay, John. 
Ramsay, Robert. 
Cay, David. 
Ramsay, Robert. 
Maxwell, William. 
Clialmer.s, William. 



Sept. 1768-6:1. 
1769-70. 
1770-71. 
1771-72. 
1772-73. 
1773-74. 
1774-75. 
1775-76. 
1776-77. 
1777-78. 
1778-79. 
1779-80. 
1780-81. 
1781-82. 
1782-83. 
1783-84. 
1784-85. 
1785-86. 
1786-87. 
1787-88. 
1788-89. 
1789-90. 
1790-91. 
1791-92. 
1792-93. 
1793-94. 
1794-95. 
1795-96. 
1796-97. 
1797-98. 
1798-99. 
„ 1799-1800. 
1800-01. 
1801-02. 
1802-03. 
1803-04. 
1804-05. 
1805-06. 
1806-07. 
1807-08. 
1808-09. 
1809-10. 
1810-11. 
1811-12. 
1812-13. 
1813-14. 
1814-15. 
1815-16. 
1816-17. 



Maxwell, William. 
Chalmer.s, William. 
Maxwell, William. 
Chalmers, William. 
Haliburton, James. 
Crichton, Tliomas. 
Maxwell, William. 
Crichton, Thomas. 
Maxwell, William. 
Crichton, Thomas. 
Maxwell, William. 
Crichton, Thomas. 
Maxwell, William. 
Haliburton, James. 
Johnston, James. 
Haliburton, James. 
Johnston, James. 
Haliburton, James. 
John.ston, James. 
Haliburton, James. 
Johnston, James. 
Haliburton, James. 
Guild, John. 
Haliburton, James. 
Guild, John. 
Thorns, Alexander. 
Guild, John. 
Balfour, Alexander. 
Guild, Jnlm. 
Balfour, Alexander. 
Guild, John. 
Balfour, Alexander. 
Guild, John. 
Balfour, Alexander. 
iSmith, Patrick. 
Balfour, Alexander. 
Smith, Patrick. 
Whitson, Patrick. 
Smith, Patrick. 
Whitson, Patrick. 
Smith, Patrick. 
Whitson, Patrick. 
Smith, Patrick. 
Whitson, Patrick. 
Brown, David. 
Whitson, Patrick. 
Brown, David. 
Peddie, Andrew. 
Anderson, Patrick. 



DEANS OF GUILD — TREASURERS. 



317 



Sept. 1817-18. 

1818-19. 

1819-20. 

1820-21. 

1821-22. 

1822-23. 

1823-24. 

1824-2.5. 

1825-26. 

1826-27. 

1827-28. 

1828-31. 
Aug. 1831. 
Oct. 1831-33. 
Nov. 1833-35. 

1835-36. 



Wliiison, Patrick-. 
.Tolisoii, Rolieit. 
Dkiir, David, junior. 
Roberts, William. 
Sturrock, John, 
^lorton, John. 
.job.son, David. 
Brown, James. 
Sturrock, John. 
Bell, William, senior. 
Lindsay, William. 
Hackney, William. 
Baxter, Eilvvard. 
Keay, Alexander. 
Duncan, George. 
Adamson, Robert. 



Nov. 1836-38. 

1838-42. 

1842-46. 

1846-49. 

1849-51. 

1851-55. 

185.5-57. 

1857-61. 

1 80 1-65. 

180.5-68. 

1868-73. 
„ 1873-77. 

1877-81. 
„ 1S81-85. 

188.5-87. 



Thoms, Jame.s. 
Adamson, Robert. 
Thoms, William. 
Curr, William. 
Keay, Alexander. 
Smith, Charles. 
Smith, Thomas, 
llean, I'eter. 
Kennedy, Jame.s. 
Niooll, Thomas. 
M'Naughton, Robert. 
Luke, James. 
Edward, Charles. 
Hendcrs<jn, Alexander. 
Mathewson, Alexander. 



LIST OF TREASURERS, i5i3-i887. 



Sept. 151.3-15. 

151.5. 

1520-21. 

1521. 

1521. 

1522. 

1525-26. 

1526-28. 

1528-29. 

1529-30. 

1532-38. 

1544. 

1546. 

15.50-63. 

1563-04. 

1564-66. 

1566-69. 

1569-70. 

1580-81. 

1581-82. 

1582-83. 

1583-84. 

1584-86. 
May 1586. 
Jan. 1586. 



Hay, James. 
Kynloch, James. 
Rollok, George. 
Myhi, Robert. 
Carraill, Alexander. 
Rollok, George. 
:\Iyln, Robert. 
Rollok, David. 
Wedderliurn, David. 
Myln, K.ibert. 
Carnegie, David. 
Annand, Andrew. 
Strathauchine, John. 
Lovell, James. 
Carnegie, Alexander. 
Fyndlawson, James. 
Spenss, George. 
Peblis, Robert. 
Fyndlawson, James. 
I'.irsie, John. 
Yeaman, David. 
Man, William. 
Traill, John. 
Fyndlawson, John. 
JI.ui, William. 



Sept. 


1580-87. 


n 


1587-88. 


jj 


1588-89. 


jj 


1589-91. 


Jan. 


1591. 


Sept. 


1591-93. 


7) 


1593-95. 


n 


1595-90. 


>J 


1596-97. 


J) 


1597-99. 


)» 


1599-1600. 


?J 


1000-02. 


)J 


1002-03. 


7J 


1003-05. 


J) 


160.5-06. 


Feb. 


1000. 


Sept. 


1006-08. 


?) 


1608-09. 


n 


1609-10. 


)» 


1010-11. 


tt 


1011-12. 


ii 


1612-1.3. 


)> 


1613-14. 


)J 


1614-15. 


a 


161.5-16. 



Yeaman, David. 
Piersoun, John. 
Smith, Robert. 
Kyd, Archibald. 
Traill, John. 
Birsic, John. 
Traill, John. 
Yeaman, Patrick. 
Hunter, William. 
Bultie, Robert. 
Schcwan, Joliu. 
Flescheour, Andrew. 
Goldman, William. 
Ferguson, Magr. William. 
Boyok, James. 
Ramsay, Alexander. 
Yeaman, Patrick. 
Aucbinleck, Thomas. 
Hunter, David. 
Smairt, David. 
Halyburton, Thomas. 
FuUarton, John. 
Guthrie, William. 
Davidsoun, William. 
(iutbrie, William. 



318 



Sept. 


1616. 


T)ecr. 


1616-18. 


J:in. 


1618. 


Sept. 


1618-19. 


>) 


1619-20. 


» 


1620-21. 


J1 


1621-22. 


it 


1622-23. 


)» 


1623-24. 


>> 


1624-25. 


)) 


162.5-26. 


)) 


1626-28. 


Jan. 


1628. 


Sept. 


1628-30. 


91 


1630-31. 


)I 


1631-32. 


7t 


1632-33. 


»» 


1633-34. 


M 


1634-35. 


)» 


163.5-36. 


T) 


1636-37. 


Felx 


1637. 


Mi.r. 


1637. 


Sept. 


1637-38. 


J» 


1638-39. 


)? 


1639-43. 


J) 


1643-45. 


)) 


164.5-46. 


June 


1646. 


Sept. 


1046-47. 


)j 


1647-52. 


jj 


1652-53. 


jj 


1653-54. 


)) 


1654. 


n 


165S-G0. 


j» 


1660-61. 


)T 


1663-64. 


J» 


1667-08. 


>> 


1668-G9. 


J» 


1070-71. 


» 


1071-72. 


JJ 


1674-75. 


JJ 


1675-76. 


)) 


1676-78. 


rj 


1678-79. 


)i 


1679-80. 


»» 


1680-82. 


51 


1682-83. 


JJ 


1683-84. 



Raiikyne, Walter. 
Goldman, Cliarlcs. 
Davidsoun, Tho'.na.s. 
Man, James. 
Ycaman, John. 
Ramsay, Johu. 
Wright, William. 
Edward, Alexander. 
Goldman, John. 
Goldman, John. 
Gnthrie, John. 
Myln, Alexander. 
Forrester, James. 
Edward, Alexander, 
Watsone, Alexander. 
Simsone, James. 
Baxter, Alexander. 
Jak, Alexander. 
Cochrane, James. 
Mndy, Thomas. 
Cochrane, James. 
Weymes, William. 
Blyth, James. 
Ijlyth, John. 
Scott, Thomas. 
Weymes, David. 
Haliburton, James. 
Hidiburton, Thomas. 
Roger, William. 
A\ichinleck, Magr. Archil 
liultie, Robert. 
Feithie, John. 
Duncan, William. 
Davidsoun, Robert. 
Walshe, Thomas, 
liutchart, Andrew. 
Kinloch, James. 
Kinloch, .Tohn. 
Smith, William. 
AVatson, Alexander. 
Adamsone, Andrew. 
Rodger, John. 
Man, James. 
Gardyne, George, 
(rraham, John. 
Crawford, Henry. 
Raitt, William. 
Arbuthnot, Alexander, 
l-ialnaves, Patrick. 





TREASURERS. 










Sept. 


1684-85. 


Watson, William. 






)J 


1685-88. 
1688-89. 


Maxwell, David. 
Ramsay, David. 






)? 


1689-92. 


Brown, James. 






April 


1092. 


Crokat, George. 






Oct. 


1692-93. 


Read, Alexander. 






J) 


1693-94. 


Scott, Thomas. 






JJ 


1694-95. 


Reid, William. 






JJ 


1695-97. 


Ferrier, .John. 






)j 


1697-98. 


Todd, Patrick. 






JJ 


1698-99. 


Gardyne, Robert. 






Sept. 


1699-1700. 


Cowane, Alexander. 






Jan. 


1700. 


Smith, John. 


senior. 




Sept. 


1700-01. 


Scott, John. 






J) 


1701-02. 


Watson, George. 






)J 


1702-03. 
1703-04. 


Hunter, David. 
Dowie, John. 






JJ 


1704-05. 


Abererombie, 'J'homa 






JJ 


1705-06. 


Guthry, James. 






JJ 


1706-07. 


BaUingall, John. 






JJ 


1707-08. 


Yeaman, James. 






JJ 


1708-09. 


Wardrojiper, Thomas 






JJ 


1709-10. 


Read, Thomas. 






JJ 


1710-12. 


Stiven, William. 






J) 


1712-13. 


Smith, Henry. 






JJ 


1713-1.5. 


Ramsay, William. 






JJ 


1715-17. 


Lyon, William. 






Jan. 


1717. 


Dowie, Thomas. 






Sept. 


1717-18. 


Paterson, James. 


rchibald 




JJ 


1718-19. 


Jameson, David. 






JJ 


1719-21. 


^lorison, William. 






JJ 


1721-22. 


Ferrier, .Uexander. 






J) 


1722-23. 


Maxwell, Patrick. 






JJ 


1723-24. 


Henderson, AVilliaui. 






JJ 


1724-25. 


Yeaman, I'atrick. 






Feb. 


1725. 


Yeaman, James. 






Sept. 


1725-27. 


Ivinlocb, George. 






Jan. 


1727. 


Donalilson, John. 






Sept. 


1727-29. 


Hay, James. 






)J 


1729-30. 


Johnstone, Samuel. 






)J 


1730-31. 


Cook, David. 






Sept. 


1731-32. 


Crichton, David. 






JJ 


1732-34. 


Ramsay, John. 






JJ 


1734-35. 


E'erguson, John. 






JJ 


1735-36. 


Doig, Archibald. 






Mai. 


1736. 


Little, William. 


■. 




Sept. 
JJ 
JJ 


1736-37. 
1737-38. 
1738-39. 


Millar, William. 
Fairweather, Robert. 
Jobson, Charles. 







TREASUEERS. 




Sept. 


1739-40. 


Cook, Amlivw. 


Sept. 


1787-88 


)) 


1740-41. 


Cook, John. 


J1 


1788-89. 


jj 


1741-43. 


]\relvill, William. 


,j 


1789-90. 


Mar. 


1743. 


Milne, James. 


JJ 


1790-91. 


Sept, 


1743-44. 


Lnnily, Tliomas. 


JJ 


1791-92. 


)) 


1744-4G. 


Ballin-ull, John. 


JJ 


1792-93. 


)) 


1746-47. 


Morison, William, of Naughton. 


JJ 


1793-94. 


n 


1747-48. 


Haliburton, John. 


,, 


1794-95. 


Feb. 


1748. 


Pitcairn, Kobert. 


J) 


179.5-96. 


Sept. 


1748-49. 


Crichton, Thomas. 


JJ 


1796-97. 


j\rar. 


1749. 


Lundy, Thomas. 


J) 


1797-98. 


Sept. 


1749-50. 


Miln, William. 


JJ 


1798-99. 


)5 


1750-51. 


Marshall, Williaui._ 


JJ 


1799-1801. 


)» 


1751-53. 


Pihnour, ( Jrorge. 


JJ 


1801-02. 


)? 


1753-54. 


Chahuer.s, William. 


Aug. 


1802. 


Jan. 


1754. 


Haliburton, Joliii. 


Sept. 


1802-03. 


Sept. 


1754-56. 


Yeaman, Patriek, junior. 


)j 


1803-04. 


») 


1756-57. 


Ramsay, David. 


ji 


1804-06. 


'» 


1757-58. 


Ramsay, Robert. 


JJ 


1806-07. 


)» 


1758-60. 


Tod, Andrew. 


Deer, 


1807-08. 


)» 


1760-61. 


Dick, .James. 


Sept. 


1808-12. 


7» 


1761-62. 


Yeaman, James. 


J) 


1812. 


)J 


1762-63. 


Diek, James. 


Oct. 


1812-13. 


JJ 


1763-64. 


Rollo, John. 


Sept. 


1813-14. 


>J 


1764-65. 


Haliburton, James. 


J) 


1814-15. 


Jan. 


1765. 


Geekie, Henry. 


»J 


181.5-16. 


Sept. 


176.5-66. 


Roll, .John. 


JJ 


1816-17. 


I) 


1766-67. 


Dempster, John. 


JJ 


1817-18. 


>) 


1767-68. 


Cristall, John. 


JJ 


1818-19. 


)> 


1768-69. 


Willison, Dr Jol)n. 


JJ 


1819-20. 


J) 


1769-70. 


SpeiJ, George. 


JJ 


1820-21. 


)) 


1770-71. 


Wilkie, Andrew. 


J) 


1821-22. 


)T 


1771-72. 


Thomson, James. 


JJ 


1822-23. 


)> 


1772-73. 


Fairweather, Oliver. 


JJ 


1823-24. 


5) 


1773-74. 


Johnston, James. 


>) 


1824-25. 


J) 


1774-75. 


Guild, John. 


JJ 


182.5-26. 


J) 


1775-76. 


Ford, David. 


J) 


1820-27. 


1) 


1776-77. 


Riddoeh, Alexandei'. 


JJ 


1827-28. 


)) 


1777-78. 


Webster, Thomas. 


JJ 


1828-29. 


JJ 


1778-79. 


Riddoeh, Alexander. 


)J 


1829-30. 


)) 


1779-80. 


Blair, David. 


JJ 


1830-31. 


■n 


1780-81. 


Thoms, John. 


J) 


1831-32. 


)) 


1781-82. 


Ridiloch, ^Vlexauder. 


JJ 


1832-37. 


J7 


1782-8.3. 


Ford, David. 


Mar. 


1837. 


)> 


1783. 


Riddoeh, Alexander. 


Nov. 


1837-40. 


Oct. 


1783-84. 


Pitcairn, Alexander 


)» 


1840-44. 


Sept. 


1784-85. 


Jobson, John, junior. 


)) 


1844-47. 


n 


1785-86. 


Anderson, William. 


April 


1847. 


ji 


1786-87. 


Pitc:airn, Alexaniler. | 


Nov. 


1847-51. 



319 



Kid, Peter. 
Smitli, Patrick. 
Peddie, Andrew. 
Cairncross, John. 
Alison, John. 
Webster, Thomas, junior. 
iUison, John. 
Pell, Thomas. 
]Marr, James. 
Websti'v, Thomas, junior. 
Pe(ldie, Andrew, junior. 
Alisun, John. 
Brown, David. 
Whitson, Patrick. 
Crichton, .John. 
Small, William. 
Guild, John, junior. 
Symers, Colin. 
Thcims, Alexander. 
Ogilvie, Archibald. 
Symers, Colin. 
Hazeel, David. 
Webster, Thomas, junior. 
Keay, Alexander. 
Small, William. 
Webster, Thomas. 
Gray, James. 
Colman, John. 
Ogilvie, Archibald. 
Smith, James. 
Blair, David. 
Martin, David. 
Blair, David. 
Brown, David. 
Blair, David. 
Anderson, Patriek. 
Blair, David. 
Miln, David. 
Blair, David. 
Anderson, Patrick. 
Baxter, Edward. 
Christie, William. 
Adamson, Robert. 
Keith, David. 
Chalmers, James. 
Young, William. 
Cutlibert, Thomas. 
Rattray, John liouer. 
Ncwall, George Hair. 



,320 



TREASURERS — MEMBERS Oi" TOWN COl'.NX'lL. 



Nov. 



1851-53. 
1853-56. 
1856-59. 
1859-60. 
1860-62. 
1862-65. 
186.5-66. 
1866-68. 



Kennedy, James. 
iVimer, George. 
Steel, Niel. 
Nicoll, Thomas. 
Parker, Charles. 
Foggie, William. 
Greig, Andrew. 
Stronner, David. 



Nov. 1868-71. M'Farlane, George. 

1871-73. M'Lean, John. 

1873-75. M'Farlaue, John. 

1875-78. Robertson, John. 

1878-80. Ogilvie, WUHam M'DougaU. 

1880-85. Ballingall, Hugh. 

1885-87. Nicoll, James. 



MEMBERS OF TOWN COUNCIL, i886-87. 



Hugh Ballingall, 

James Gentle, 

James Perrik, 

William M'Dougall Ogilvie, 

Alexander M'Culloch, 

Wilua.ii Whyte, . 

John Tulloch, 

Alexander Mathewson. 

James Nicoll, 

Peter Adamson, . 

James Robertson, 

Alexander Speed, 

George Willsher, 

John Hamilton, . 



Provost. 
Bailie. 



Dean of Guild. 

Treasurer. 

Councillor. 



Peter Craig Storrie, 
William Doig, 
James Cowan, . 
James Foggie, . 
William Hunter, 
John Samuel Bradford, 
John Maclarbn, 
William Philip, 
James Low, 
Robert Taylor, 
William Stephenson, 
Duncan Macdonald, 
John Craig, 
John Ormond Black, 



Councillor. 



William Hay, Town-Clerk. 

David Bannerman, Town-Chamberlain. 



INDEX. 



Abbey of Ccuipar destroyed by Mob 

(1559). V2S. 
Abbot, George, Archbishop of Canter- 
bury (162S). U7. 
Aberbothrie, Estate of. 94, 270. 
Aberbrothock, Abbey of. 62, 63, 12S. 
,, Church of, Pastor of 

the. 28, 82. 
Aberoairuey, Estate of (1594). 120. 
Abercrombie, Andrew, Provost (1513). 
11. 
,, Elizabeth n6e Barry 

(1520). 12. 
,, George, Second Lord 

(1853). 282. 
,, James, Second Lord 

(1681). 152. 
„ Lord (1647). 152. 

Aberorombies of tliat Ilk. 1 1 . 
Aberdeen, Kisliopric of (1682). 206. 
City of. 97. 

Earl of (1083). 194, 308. 
,, Grammar School of, Master 

ofthe(lG02). 142. 
,, King's College of. 172. 

Old. 48. 
,, See of. 52. 

,, Town Council of. 142. 

University of (1598). 79. 
Aboyiie, Charles, Earl of (1660). 182, 
187, 201. 
Earl of (1836). 91. 
Ada Caulioiii". 75. 

,, Parliameiitorvm. 205. 
" Act of Grace and Pardon." 156. 
,, Parliament anent Schoolmasters 
(1665). 208. 
Adair, John (1698). 190, 205. 
Address to George II. by Magistrates 

of Dundee (1746). 213. 
Adelphi Spinning Works, Glasgow. 

260. 
Adhesive Stamp, its Invention. 243. 
Adjournal, Books of. 84. 
Admiral, Lord Higli, of Scotland. 56. 
Admission of Burgesses, Charges for. 2. 
Adolphus, Gustavus. 191. 
Advocates, Facidty of (1723). 188, 
200, 218, 224, 249. 
,, Library, Edinburgli. 66, 

174, 188, 193, 204, 205. 

2 R 



Ainslio, Barbara, or Foulis. 196. 
Airlie, the Bonnie House of. 185. 
„ Castle of. 185, 186. 
„ Camp at (1640). 186. 
,, Earls of. IS, 76, 128, 129, 182, 
185, 187, 188, 191, 198, 225, 
246, 279, 284, 302. 
,, Lodge. 270. 
Aitkinheid, David, of Edinburgh. 37. 
Albany, Jolui, Duke of (1516). 16, 
17. 
Robeit, Duke of (1408). 16, 111. 
Albert, His lioyal Higliness Prince 
(1844). 279, 280. 
Institute, the. 252, 259, 269, 
270, 281, 285, 286, 291, .300. 
Albion Hotel, the. 264. 
Aldmonros, Lauds of (1430). 111. 
Alexander Dr John. 174. 
L 10. 

II., Court of. 102. 
Mrs .lean (1085). 168. 
Altrie, Lord (1593). 66. 
Amberley, Viscount. 288. 
Amherst, Lord (1816). 263. 
Aimkcta Scotka. 188, 113. 
Anderson, Bailie, Town-Clerk of Dun- 
dee. 289. 
,, James, Autlior of Diplomata 
Scotia'. 205. 
Provost Patrick (1811). 242, 
253, 254. 
Angus, Braes of (16.")4). 104. 

„ Earls of, 17, 141), 57, 63, 111, 

116, 284. 
,, Sarah, daughter of the Nuith 

Earl of. 140. 
,, and Mearns, Memorials of. 39, 
45. 
Anne, Queen of James VI. 50, 66, 71, 
79, 80, 81, 119, 120. 
,, Queen of Great Britain. 172. 
Anstruther, John. 80. 

,, Margaret, nde Clephane. 

80. 
,, Sir James, Eiar of that 

Ilk (1590). 80. 
Sir James (1606). 81. 
,, Sir Wyndhara, Bart. 81. 

Anti-Corn Law League. 278, 307. 
Autrobua, Lady (1887). 256. 
Arbroath, Lord. 63. 



Arbuthnot, Alexander (1575). 47, 48. 
,, James, of Lentusche (1576). 

47. 
,, Margaret, or Carnegie. 140. 

Arbutlinott, Viscounts of. 140, 200, 

201. 
Arcot, The Nabob of. 220. 
Ai-dblair, Families of. 134. 
Areskyne, Sir Thomas, of (Jogar (1600). 

85. 
Argyll, Dukes of. 124, 210, 307, 308, 
309. 
„ Earls of. 25, 121, 124, 170, 185, 

180, 187, 228, 308. 
„ Marquess of. 122, 123, 124, 
129, 172, 187, 308. 
Argyll's Rebellion (1085). 190. 
Argyllis-gait, Properties in. 12, 36, 

00. 
Armada, the Spanish. 50. 
Armitstead, George, M.P. 249, 281, 
283. 
,, Jane, Kt-'e Baxter (1854). 

283. 

Lectures, the. 283, 309. 
Armstrong, Baron (1887). 292, 295. 
Array, Collector-General and Treasurer 

of the (1043). 162. 
Arnot, Anna, or Auchinleck. 141. 
Arran, Earls of. 19, 62, 89, 139. 
Artillery Company, Captain of the 

(1090). 204. 
Assembly of Glasgow (1638). 6. 
Assessors for the City of Edinburgh 

(1751). 224. 
"Assurance, tlie " (1693). 209. 
Athol, Duke of (1704). 199,284. 

„ Earl of. 11, 59, 08, 139, 177, 

185, 198, 199. 
,, Earl of. Inscription on Monu- 
ment at Dunkeld Cathedral. 
199. 
,, John, First Marquess of. 198, 

199. 
Aubigny, Lord. 139. 
Auchiidock, Andro, I'arsou of Dundee 
(1647). 134. 
,, Anna, iiiir Arnot. 141. 

Ai-cliibald(1643). 141, 142. 
Gilbert, of that Ilk (1575). 

48. 
Janet (1621). 141. 



822 



INDEX. 



Aiichiuleck, Magister Alexander (1G31). 
140. 
of that Ilk, Family of. 48, 
140. 
,, Sir George, of Balmaiino 

(1631). 140. 
Sir William (1G4S). 140, 
141. 
., William, of Woodhill, 

Provost of Duutlee (1019). 
141. 
Aucliuilecks or Afflecks. 48. 

,, of Balmamio. 140. 

Auchmoutye, Lord (16S0). 185. 
Auchmuty, Sir Ale.xander (lOoS). 16.3. 
Auchterhouse, Castle of. 117. 

,, Parish School of. 258. 

Auclitertool, Parish of, in Fife. 257. 
Austria, Court of. 176. 
Autobiograpliy, Ijy Sir Robert Sibbald. 
188, 190. 

i; 

Balbeguo, Lauds of. 176. 

Balcarres, James, Fifth Earl of (1765). 

255. 
Balcomie, Estate of (1526). 1 15. 
Baldovan, Estate of, near Dundee. 127. 

,, Industrial School. 246. 
Baldovie, Lands of. 20. 
Balfour, Alexander (1791). 2.30, 233. 
Alexander (1S2S). 231. 
,, Andrew, of Monquhany 
(1565). 41, 42, 67. 
David (1592). 42. 
,, David, Esq. of Balfour and 
Trenabie. 59. 
(Jeorge. 42, 67, 68, 88. 
Gabert,ofWestray(1572). 68. 
,, Heury, Son of Alexander Bal- 
four, Merchant in Dundee 
(1818). 233. 
,, James, of HallhUl. 27. 
,, Janet, nee Bruce (1565). 41, 
,, John, "Maister of Burlie " 
(1651). 195. 
John (1592). 42. 
,, Lords, of Burleigh. 42. 
„ Lords, of (ilenawley. 42. 
,, Margaret, of Burleigh. 42. 
,, Marjoi-y, nie Durie. 41. 

Mich,iel (1493). 41. 
,, .. of Monquhany (1583). 

59. 
„ ,, Younger, Laird of 

Monquhany (1592). 
41. 
„ Eobert (1565). 41. 



Balfour, Robert (1592). 42. 

,, ,, Burgess of Dundee 

(1572). 68. 
Sir Andrew. 190. 
,, Sir .lames, of Denmyln. 102. 
,, .Sir James, of Pittendreich. 

41, 67, 68, 69, 88. 
,, Sir Michael, of Deumiln. 190. 
Balfoure, Andrew, Younger (1565). 41, 

42. 
Balfours of Grange (1592). 42. 
Balgarvie, Lands of. 253. 
Balgillo, Lairds of. 44. 
Ballathrone, Lands of (1579). 43. 
Balliubreich, Marquess of. 185. 
Balliugall, Andrew, Strathmiglo. 217. 
Provost (1887). 235, 298, 
299, 300. 
,, P^ev. James, Minister of 

Dundee (1760). 217. 
Balliol College, Oxford. 306. 
Ballumby, Castle and Lauds of. 31. 
Babnauno, Sir George Auchinleek, 

Lord (1600). 141. 
Balmeriuo, Abbey of. 128. 
Balmarinocli, Lords. 128, 129, 130, 158, 

159, 160. 
Balmoial (1848). 294. 
Balmyle, Estate of, in Perthshire. 94. 
Baluamoue, Lauds of. 45. 
Balueaves, Ann, or Kinloch (1775). 270. 
„ .John, of Carnbaddie. 270. 

Balruthrie, Lauds of. 308. 
Balvaird, Andrew, Lord. 131, 201. 
Banff, George, First Lord. 187. 
" Banking, Century of, in Dundee," 

Boase's. 219. 
Banuerman, Standard Bearer to Alex- 
ander I. 10. 
Baptisms, Register of, in Dundee. 134, 
135, 144, 101, 165, 168, 169, 192, 195, 
197, 208, 238. 
Barbadoes, Commander - in - Chief of. 

232. 
"Baronage of Scotland," Sir R. Douglas'. 

131. 
" Baronis, Band of the, in the North" 

(1574). 32. 
Barrack Street. 12, 60. 
Barrie, William, Town-Clerk (1831). 

266. 
Barric's, Andrew, Jleadow. 38. 
Barry, Elizabeth, or Abercrombie ( 1520). 
12. 
, , Magister, Robert, Vicar of Dun- 
dee. 21. 
Basle, University of. 97. 
Bassinden, Thomas (1587). 47, 48. 



Bath, Countess of (1803). 225. 
„ Earl of (1767). 224. 
„ See of. 147. 
Baxter Brothers. 248, 297. 

,, David, Merchant in Dundee 

(1817). 248, 2.52. 
,, Dr Boyd, Bust of, executed by 
William Brodie, R.S.A. 262. 
„ Edward, Merchant (1816). 248, 

252, 283. 
„ Elizabeth, vn ilontgomery 
(183.3.) 25.3. 
■ ,, Elizabeth, or .Molison (1841). 
277. 
,, .Lane, or Armitstead (18.54). 

283. 
,, John Boyd, Writer (1823). 261. 
,, John, Weaver (1777). 248. 
,, Mathematical Scholarship (1863) 
253. 
Miss, of Balgavies. 262, 291. 
,, Jlisses, the. 252. 
,, Natural Science Scholarship 

(1865). 253. 
„ Park, the. 252, 287, 288. 
, , Philosopliical Scholarship (1863. ) 

253. 
,, Physical Science Scholarship 
(1865). 253 

Right Hon. W. E., of Kincal- 
drum. 248. 
,, Sir David, JNIarble Statue of, by 

Sir John Steell, R.S.A. 252. 
,, Sir David, of Kilmaron, Bart., 

252, 253. 
,, Teclmical Institute. 291. 
,, William, Merchant, of Bal- 
gavies (1807). 248, 252, 277. 
,, William, the Founder of the 
firm of Baxter Brothers. 261, 
277. 
,, William, junior. 248. 
Beaconsfield Administration, the. 309. 
Beatie, John (1070). 188. 
Beaton, Johu, of Balfour. 112. 

„ Katherine, or Graham. 112. 
Beatoun, Archibald (1601). 53. 
„ Cardinal. 43,53, 112. 

,, David, of Melgum. 43. 

John (1601). 53. 
Magister Alexander (1382). 
53. 
,, Margaret, or Lindsay (1546). 

43. 

,, Margaret, or Lindsay. 57. 

Marion, net Ogilvy (1582). 

.53. 
Walter. 53. 



INDEX. 



323 



Beaufort, Joiinna, Queen of James I. 

9. 
Beche, Sir Henry De La (1S55), 295. 
Bedford, Duke of. 287, 288. 
Bell& Balfour (1780), Merchants and 

Flaxspinners in Dundee. 230, 233. 
Bell, John, of Kilduncau and Bonny- 
town, Fife (1759). 230. 
,, Mill, Dundee. 247. 
,, Street. 38. 

,, Thomas, Merchant in Dundee 
(1782). 230, 233. 
Bellenden, Bisliop (1036). 52. 
Beijuet, Lady Louisa, daughter of tlie 

Earl of Tankerville. 306. 
Benvie, Lands of. 308. 
Berry, John, of Tayfield. 127. 
Berwick, Governor of (IG-IS). 191. 
Bethnne. John Trotter, Earl of Lind.say. 

54. 
Bethunes of Tarvit. 54. 
Beveridge's " Culross and Tulliallan." 

137, 193. 
Beyntjes, A'ice-Admiral (1797). 239. 
Beza, Theodore (1570). 35, 65, 79. 
Billeting. Act of . 158, 171. 
Binning, Lord (1603). 103. 
Blackfriars, Monastery of. 12, 68. 
Black, Katherine, wife of John Glas. 

216. 
Black, Thomas, Minister of Pertli 

(1733). 215. 
Blackford, Parish of (1724). 237. 
Blackness, Acres, Lands of the. 308. 
Castle of. 70. 
,, Family of. 67. 

Blair, Dr Patrick, Physician (1625). 
134. 
„ Eupham. 134. 
,, George, of Glasclune. 134. 
,, John, Heir- Apparent of Balgillo 

(156S). 44. 
„ Sii-John, of Balgillo (1G27). 125. 
„ Sir Thomas, of Baltliayock. 133. 
„ William, of Balgillo (1570). 44. 
Blairs of Balthayock. 44. 
Blcau, Margaret, of Castlehiil. 136. 
Blue Bell Inn. 238. 
Blyth, Da™l (16a5). 83. 
Blythswood, Estate of, in Renfrewshire. 

255. 
Boase, Charles ^Yilliam, Banker, Dun- 
dee. 268. 
„ Henry, Banker, of Penzance 

(1804). 268. 
,, Margaret, »icc Lindsay. 268. 
Boswell, James. 188,219. 

Janet, or Balfour (1583). 41. 



Borthwick, William, of Brigamh (1600). 

91. 
Bothwell, Adam, Bishop of Orkney. 
114. 
Bridge. 116,166. 
,, Earl of. 56, 114. 
„ Francis, Earl of (1583). 55, 

57. 
„ Henry, of Glencorse (1735). 
114. 
James, Earl of (1567). 26. 
„ Jean, or Sandilands (1572). 

115. 
,, John, of Alhammer. 114. 
,, Jolm, Second Lord Holy- 
rood House (1620). 114. 
„ John of (1620). 116. 
,, William, third son of the 
Bisliop of Orkney. 114. 
" Bottlehouse," the Old. or Glasswork 

(1801). 234. 
Bouch, Sir Thomas. 303, 304. 
Bourges, University of, in France. 34. 

172. 
Bower, James. 36. 
Bowes, Sir Robert (1583). 58. 

,, Baron of Streatlani. 301. 
Boyack, Bailie. 247. 
Boyd, Margaret, or Sibbald (1041). 
188. 

Robert, of Kipps, Advocate. 
188. 
Braddock, General (1755). 238. 
Branxholm, Estate of, in Barony of 

Hawick. 31. 
Breadalbane Family, the. 155. 
Breda, Treaty of (1667). 181. 
Brechin, Bishop of. 22, 82. 

See of. 95, 154, 197, 206. 
Baron Maide of (1646). 145. 
Brest, E.\pedition against (1694). 203. 
Brewster, Sir David. 273. 
Bridge of Dee, Battle of the. 118. 
Bright, Jacob, of Greenbank, near Roch- 
dale (1811). 307. 
,, John (1846). 278, 307. 
Brigton, Lands of (1622). 118. 
Brinth, in Moravia. 53. 
Britisli Association. 287, 289, 293, 294, 
295, 309. 
,, Colonies, Abolition of Slavery in 

the. 272. 
,, Parliament, the (1802). 275. 
Brittany, Elides, Duke of. 30. 
Brooke, Letitia Charlotte, or Parnell 

(1776). 275. 
Brougham, Eleonora, nee Syme (1778). 
272. 



Brougham, Henry, of Brougham (1778). 
272. 
Hem-}-, Lord. 224, 273. 
305. 
Brouglity, Castle of. 25, 75, 162. 
Broun, Elizabeth, or Jobson. 244. 
Broune, George, lait Provost (1682). 

208, 247, 
Brown, Andrew, 247. 

David, Provost. 241, 242, 
,, James, of Cononsyth, Provost. 

247. 
,, James, junior. 247. 
„ Margaret, n(?e Peddie. 242,247. 
,, Margaret, or Wedderbum. 

247. 
„ of West-Thorn, Bailie. 244. 
„ William. 247. 
Brownlee, William, Provost, 291. 
Bruce, Alexander (1627). 137. 

,, Alexander Hugh, Seventh Lord 

Balfour of Burleigli. 192. 
,, Christian. 193. 
„ David, of Keiinet (1671). 192. 
,, Elizabeth, or Mackenzie. 153, 

172. 
,, Helen, nie .Skene. 137. 
„ Janet, or Balfour (1565). 41. 
,, Magister Robert (1627). 137. 
,, Margaret, nee Primrose. 137. 
,, Margaret, vi'e Haliburton. 192. 
,, Marjory, H«e Young. 192. 
,, Maiy, n<!e Schaw. 192. 
,, Peter, D.D., Principal of St 
Andrews University (1648). 
153. 
,, Roliert, of Blairhall. 193. 
,, Robert, Lord Broomhall of 

Session. 137, 141, 192, 305. 
,, Robert, of Clackmannan. 192. 

„ of Rennet. 192. 
,, Sir Alexander (1702). 193. 
,, Sir Alexander, of Broomhall 

(1671). 138, 192. 
,, Sir Alexander, of Earlshall. 41. 
,, Sir George, of Carnock. 137. 
,, Sir Henry, of Clackmannan 
(1671). 164, 192. 
Brudenel, Lady Catherine (1743). 176. 
Bruno, Cbiioii, of tlie Cathedral of 

Rheims (lOSO). 68. 
Buccleugh, Dukes of. 289, 292, 293. 
Buchan, Countess of (1601). 117. 
„ Earldom of (1601). 117. 
Earls of. 70, 117. 
Buchanan, George (1550). 34, 35, 79, 97. 
,, House of. 167. 

Psalms of. 189. 



824 



INDEX. 



IJucklcraaker Wynd, the. 275. 

Bull, Stephen (1490). 72. 

Burgess Oath, .5, 6, 7, 20G, 207. 

,, Abolished (1819). 7,244. 

Buigess Roll. .31, 35, 40, 41, 45, 48, 
51, 53, 54, 58, 61, 64, 65, 69, 70, 71, 
72, 73, 75, SO, 85, 87, 91, 92, 93, 100, 
102, 103, 105, 109, 112, 113, 115, 117, 
lis, 121, 125, 127, 136, 137, 140, 142, 
144, 145, 146, 148, 1.50, 152, 153, 157, 
160, 162, 16.3, 164, 169, 181, 184, 188, 
197, 199, 204, 206, 224, 226, 228, 230, 
231, 236, 240, 249, 251, 254, 268, 275, 
284, 299, 300, 301, 302, 303, 304, 305, 
306. 

Burgh Court Books, Dundee. 2. 
,, Reform Act (1833). 245, 258. 

Burghs, Royal Convention of. 52. 

Burial Wynd. 60. 

Burke's "Extinct Peerage." 56, 86, 
143. 
,, " Landed Gentry. " 143. 

Burleigh, Master of. 195. 

Burnet, Bisliop. 182, 184. 

Burnhead, Seagate, Dundee. 171. 

Burnley Hall, Norfolk. 268. 

Burntisland Church. 82. 
Lord. 172. 
,, Minister of. 82. 

Burrington, General, East India Com- 
pany's Service. 222. 
,, Helen, nefe Dempster. 222. 

Bute, James, First Earl of. 219. 



Caithness, Crichtons, Earls of. 87. 

Robert, Bishop of (1577). 
49. 
Calderwood's " History of the Kii-k." 

21, 24. 
" Caledonian Mercury" (1722). 191. 
Callander, Earls of. 126, 170. 
Calvin, John. 35, 79. 
Canibusnethan, Parish of. 291. 
Campbell, Amelia Maria, nee Claughton 
(1881). 309. 
Archibald. 121, 124. 
>, ,, of Blythswood. 

255, 256. 
II ,, Douglas. 255. 

Colin. 109, 110, 186,207. 
,, David, Minister of Menmuir. 

110. 
,, Dugald, of In vera we. 186. 
,, George Douglas, Eighth 

Duke of Argyll. 308. 
, , James, Minister of S. Madoes. 
110. 



Campbell, James, son of the Earl of 

Argyll. 228. 

,, .Jean, or Murray. 146, 177, 

198, 199. 

Joan, »ee Glassel (1823). .308. 

,, John, Minister of Tealing. 

110. 
„ Lady Anne. 160, 187. 
Lord Neil. 123, 124. 
,, Margaret, nee Hay (1644). 

110. 
„ ofBoquhan. 228, 229. 
,, Sir Colin, of Lundie, Bart. 

308. 
,, Sir Duncan, of Glenurchy. 

177, 198. 
,, Sir .John, of Lawers (1620). 
155. 
Camperdown, Dock. 240, 28.3. 

Earls of. 29, 207, 241, 
266, 267, 282, 296, 305. 
Jute Works. 296. 
Campvere, Scots Privileges at. 37, 38, 

103, 135. 
Canning, George (1812). 272. 
Canterbury, Archbishop of. 52, 89, 

147, 148, 149. 
Cardigan, Robert, Earl of. 176. 
Carlisle, Earl of. 88. 

Siege of (1746). 213. 
Carlyle, Alexander, Minister of Inver- 
esk. 218. 
Lady, of Torthorwald (1.540). 
11. 
Carmanow, Walter, his Land. 28. 
Carmichael, Charles. 260, 261. 

,, Clementina, or Cox. 296. 

,, Elizabeth. 56. 

George (1776). 260. 
„ James. 200, 261, 263, 296. 

,, James, of Balmedie (1620). 

116. 
,, James, of Hyndford (1593). 

116. 
,, James, junior, of Meadow- 

flat. 116. 
,, Jean. 116. 

Sir David. 116. 
,, Sir James. 116. 

,, Sir James, Treasurer De- 

pute (16.39). 141. 
,, Sir John, Captain of Crau- 

furd. 56. 
„ Sir John of tliat Hk. 114. 

,, Wm., of Carpow, Provost 

of Dundee (1526). 116. 
Carnegie, Agnes, ?«.'e Wood (1572). 46. 
,, Alexander. 105, 140. 



Carnegie, Charles, Lord. 200, 202. 
David. 105, 140, 170, 175. 
,, Eupheme, nee Wemyss. 105. 

„ John. 45, 140. 

Lady Elizabeth. 201. 
,, ,, Magdalen. 175. 

,, ,, Marjory. 201. 

,, Magdalen, vte Haliburton. 

175. 
,, Margaret, ne'e Guthrie. 45. 
,, ,, or Kinnaird. 46. 

,, „ or Scrymgeour. 45, 

50. 
., ,, nee Arbuthnot. 140. 

Robert, of Dunnichen. 105. 
., Sir Alexander. 188. 
., ,, David, of Panbride. 105. 

,, ,, James, of Balnamoou. 

182, 188. 
,, John. 26, 45, 46, 105, 
140, 175, 188. 
,, ,, Robert, of Kinnaird. 45, 

50. 
" Carnegies of Southesk, History of." 

105. 
Carnegy, Lady Agnes. 152. 
Carolina Port. 234, 235. 
Caroline, Queen of George II. 212. 

,, Queen of George IV. 272. 
Carse, Lord (1683). 193. 
Carsegownie, Estate of. 53. 
CarsoH, Joseph, M.D., of Philadelphia 
(1811). 263. 

Mary, or L'Amy (1811). 263. 
Carstares, Catherine, or Sandiland 
(1613). 115. 
,, John, of Kilconquhar (1613). 
115. 
Carthusian Monastery. 68. 
Gary, Lady Martha. 158. 
Caskieberrie, Lord (1680). 185. 
Cassillis, Earl of (1647). 157. 
Castlehill, Lord (1665). 196. 
Castle Street. 226, 227, 254. 
Catholic Apostolic (Irvingite) Church. 
268. 
„ Disabilites, Removal of. 271. 
Cawdame Green, Dundee. 14. 
Chalmers, Barbara, ne'e Dickson, 243. 
,, James, Bookseller, 242, 243. 
John in Drumbolg (1601). 91. 
,, Lieutenant-Colonel William 
(1818). 254. 
Mrs (1785). 254. 
,, Patrick, of Auldbar. 78. 
, , William, Manufacturer. 242. 
„ William, Town-Clerk. 231, 
254. 



INDEX. 



325 



Chapelshade Church, Dundee. 256. 
Charles I. 44, 64, 82, 84, 90, 94, 95, 

107, 109, 110, 112, 115, 117, 119, 1-22, 
123, 125, 131, 132, 134, 141, 146, 147, 
14S, 149, 152, 1.54, 155, 157, 159, 100, 

162, 163, 164, 171, 170, 177, 182, 183, 
185, 187, 195. 

Charles II. 54, 112, 110, 119, 121, 122, 
123, 126, 132, 14.5, 1.53, 1,57, 160, 102, 

163, 164, 171, 173, 170, 180, 181, 182, 
185, 187, 190, 192, 194, 197, 199, 200, 
202, 204, 206. 

Charlton, Lauds of ( 1430). 111. 
Charterhouse, Prior of the, Perth. 42, 

07, 68, 69, S8. 
Charteris, Alisoue (1549). 19. 

,, John, of Cuthil-gurdy. 19. 
"Charters, Writs, and Documents of 

Dundee," Hay's. 214. 
Chartist Agitation of 1842. 258. 
Chatelherault, Duke of. 62. 
Clieajie, Alexander, of Lathockar, 
County Fife. 138. 
,, Charles, of Killundine, County 
Argyll. 138. 
Henry, of Mawhill. 1.38. 
,, James, of Ormistou. 138. 
,, Janet, wcV Durham. 138. 
Chester, Dean of (1844). 280. 
Chisliobn, Jean, or Stirling (1542). 70. 
Chrystesone, William, Minister of Dun- 
dee (1500). 61, 81, 92, 97, 108. 
Chrystesoun, Bessie, nee Keir (1608). 
61. 
MagisterJohn (1583). 61. 
Churches of Dundee destroyed by Fire. 

108, 110. 
Clackmannan, Lairds of. 192. 
Claughton, Amelia JIaria, or Campbell, 

Duchess of Argyll. 309. 
The Right Rev. Thomas 
Legh, D.D., Bishop of St 
Albans (1881). .309. 
Claverhouse, See Dundee undJ^Jraham. 
„ Town of Dundee Attacked 

by (1689). 167. 
Clayhillis, Chi-istian, n^e Ogilvy (1546). 
98. 
„ Magister Andrew (1002.) 20. 

96. 
Clayhills - Henderson of luvergowrie, 
Captain G. D. 20. 
,, Robert, Burgess (1543). 20, 
96. 
Peter, Bailie (1543). 20, 96. 
Thomas (1535). 20. 
Clephane, George, of Carslogie. 80. 
„ Margaret, or Austruther. 80. 



Clepington. 14. 
Clerk, John, of Eldiu. 233. 
Clermont, Lord (1663). 175, 170. 
Cleveland, Duchess of. 305. 
Clifton, Battle of (1745). 213. 
Cobden, Richard. 277, 278, 307. 
Cochrane, Lady Jean. 168. 

Mary (1705). 19.3. 
Cock, David (1793). 290. 

„ James. 296. 
Cole, Sir Henry, C.B. 243. 
Colgraiu, Dunbartonshire. 103. 
Colintoune, Lairds of. 113, 195. 
" Collection of Decisions of the Court 

of Session," by Lord Gosford. 163. 
College of Physicians and Surgeons in 

Edinburgli, Establisliment of. 19U. 
Coh-il, Samuel. 131. 
" Complaj'ut of Scotland." 22. 
Congleton, Baron, of Cougleton. 275. 
Constables of Dundee. 10, 45, 49, 50, 
75, 100, 109, 111, 113, 135, 166, 168, 
173, 195. 
Convention of Royal Burghs. 220, 285. 
Cope, Sir John, Defeat of. 212. 
Coppedone, Adam De, M.P. for 

Chichester (1313). 278. 
Corn Laws, tlie. 276, 278, 288, 307. 
Corn Riots in Dundee. 218, 235. 
Coronation in Holyrood (1033). 147. 
Cortachy, Castle of. 187. 

,, Vicarage of. 100. 
Coul, Laird of (1650). 153. 
Court of Session, Lord Presidents of the 

41, 135, 203. 
Coupar in Angus, Abbey of. 82, 128, 
200. 
„ Lords. 128, 129, 157, 187, 

191. 
,, Margaret, ne'e Haliburton. 129. 
Covenanters, the. 159, 160, 
Couttie's Wynd. 77, 93, 230. 
Cowgait, Properties in. 12. 
Cox Brothers (1841). 290. 
,, Clementina, niie Carmichael. 296. 
,, George (1841). 290. 
,, James, Provost. 290. 
„ Thomas (1841). 296. 
,, Wdliam (1841). 290. 
Craig, Margaret, or Gibson. 151. 
Craigie, Estate of. 20, 252, 281. 
Craigtoun, Lands of (1464). 111. 
Crail, Collegiate Kirk of. 12. 
Cranuiud's "Church and Churchyard 

of CuUen." 132. 
Crathie. Aberdeenshire. 297. 
Crauford, Patrick, son of Henry 
Crauford of Monorgau (1694). 105. 



Craufurd, Earls of. 12, 13, 14, 26, 42, 
43, 45, 50, 56, 57, 58, 59, 66, 70, 
113, 182, 184, 234, 230. 
Craufurd Priory, Fife. 67. 
Crawford, Hendrie, of Seatoun (1671). 

192. 
Crawford's " Officers of State." 284. 
Crichton, David Maitlaud MakGill, 
Esq. of Rankeilour. ^ 1 91. 
,, Elizabeth, or Ramsay. 46. 

,, Helen, nee Stewart. 171. 

,, James, of Ruthven. 34, 87. 

,, Lady .Janet (1665). 191. 

,, Mariota, or Scrymgeoure 

(1550). 34. 
of Ruthven. 40, 171. 
Sir Adam, of Rutliven (1578). 
87. 
,, ,, James, of Ruthven. 87. 

., Stephen, of Caii-ns. 87. 

Street. 22, 52, 226. 
Crystall, Bailie John. 224, 226. 
Cromarty, Earl of (1703). 172, 174. 
Cromwell, Oliver. 130, 145, 156, 157, 
162, 169, 182, 195. 
Richard. 122, 124. 
Cromwell's "Act of Grace and Pardon" 

(10.54). 151, 158, 165, 198. 
Cruvie, Estate of. 114. 
Cullen, Kirk of. 132. 
Culloden, Battle of (1740). 214. 
Culross, Estate of and Burgh. 137, 193. 
Cumberland, H.R.H. the Duke of. 212, 

213. 
Cupar (irammar School of (1050). 189. 

,, Muir, Battle of (1559). 25. 
Cunningham, Thomas, Conservator of 

the Privileges (1044). 136. 
Cunninghame, .John, of DrumquhassiL 
04. 
,, Lady Marion. 132. 

,, Robert (1580). 64. 

Curr, Christian, nee Robsou (1847). 
250. 
,, Night Refuge. 250. 
,, WiUiam. 250. 

D 
Daine, Dundee. 14. 
Daineaker, Dundee. 14. 
Dalhousie, Earls of. 143, 151, 152, 164, 

192, 267, 282, 305. 
Dalkeith, Robert, Lord of (1022). 121, 

175. 
Dalltield House. 277. 
Dalmeny, Lord (1851). 305. 
Dalrymple, Hew, Lord Drummore, of 

Session. 203. 



326 



INDEX. 



Dalrymple, Magister Hew, Advocate 
(1677). 20.3. 
„ Margaret, nee Ross (164'2). 

203. 
,, Sir David, Lord Hailes. 

203. 
„ Sir Hew Hamilton, Bart., 

of North Berwick. 203. 
Dabdel, General ( 1 0G6). 170. 
Danyelstouu, Sir Hew de (129G). 103. 
„ ,, Robert, of Montjoy 

(1612). 38,10.3,104, 
135, 136. 
Darnley, Henry Lord. 26, 42, 61. 
D'Aubignj-, .John, Lord. 61. 
David I. 15, 119. 
„ II. 33, 217. 
Davidson, James, rishcurer( 1836). 281. 
Robert, of Balgay (16S9). 
16S. 
De Anaiome, et Morlns Intcrnis. 94. 
Deans of Guild, Dundee. 229, 233, 

235, 250, 259, 264. 
Dee, Brig o'. 59. 
Deer, Abbey of, Lands of. 66. 
De ffomini^ Procrcatione. 94. 
Delitice Poetarian ScotoniM. 36,94, 143. 
Dempster, of Auchterless and Muresk. 
217. 
,, George, Merchant, of Dun- 

dee. 217, 218, 222. 
,, (Jeorge, of Dunnichen. 217, 

218, 219, 220, 221, 222, 
224, 225, 22S, 2.30, 231, 
232, 235, 268, 296. 
,. George Hawkins, of Dun- 

nichen. 222. 
George. Porti'ait of in Coun- 
cil Chamber. 220. 
,, Helen, or Burrington. 222. 

,, ,, or Hawkins. 222. 

,, Isabel, nee Ogihae. 218. 
John (1754). 218. 
John Hamilton (1765). 222. 
„ Lady Katheriue, of Dun- 

nichen. 222. 
„ Mrs, m-e Hamilton. 218. 

,, or Hawkins, Charlotte, of 

Skibo. 222. 
„ Rev. Jolm, Episcopal Minis- 

ter of Monifieth (1708). 
217. 
Denhead, Estate of, C'oupar Angus. 

206. 
Denmure, John, Solicitor in Dundee 

(1634). 159. 
Denniston, Christian, ne'e Gibson (1642). 
104. 



Denniston, Helen, 7u'e Myi-ton (1608), 

104. 
Derby, Earls of. 199, 288. 
D'Eresby, Baroness ^Villoughby. 73. 
Deskford, JIaster of (1617). 132. 
D'Etr^es, Defeat of Duke of Cumber- 
land by Monsieur (1757). 214. 
Be Sphcera (1586). 97. 
Dick, Dr Wii'iam. 242. 
,, James, Treasurer, Dundee (1767). 

223. 
„ Su- William (1651). 195. 
Dickson, Agnes, or Wedderburn. 163, 
197. 
,, Barbara, or Chalmers. 243. 
,, David, of Hartrie. 135. 
,, Elizabeth, or Mackenzie. 174. 
.John, of Hartrie (1649). 135, 
163, 174. 
Dingwall, Parish Church of. 172. 
Dirleton, Baron of (1603). 86. 
Douay, Scots College at. 88. 
Douglas, Archibald (1587). 48. 

,, Duke of. Constable of Dundee 

(1716). 210. 
, , George. 43. 
,, Jean, nee Lyon. 121. 
Lady Ann. 121. 
,, Elizabeth. 111. 
,, Helen (1788). 263. 
,, ,, Margaret. 57. 

,, Mary. 132, 140. 
Margaret. 124. 
,, ,, or Ramsay. 151. 

,, Martha, or Lockhart. 196. 
Mary (1601). 117. 
of Brigton (1789). 223. 
,, of Mams. 64, 255. 
Peerage. 131, 193. 
,, Robert, of Lochleven. 121. 
,, Sir George, of Helen Hill. 151. 
,, ,, ,, of Mordington. 

196. 
,, ,. James, of Smithfield 

(1681). 175. 
,, Neil (1853). 254. 
,, Rolrert. 84, 88, 131, 158, 
169. 
,, William, Burgess of Dundee 

(1663). 121. 
,, ,, Eighth Earl of 

Morton. 121. 
Doune, Castle of. 70. 

,, James, Lord. 139. 
Dowalie, Kirk of. 40. 
Dowhill, Family of, Kinross-shire 

(1849). 2.36. 
DrafiFen, Castle of. 63. 



Drumcairne, Lord (1687). 201. 
Drumclog, Covenanters at (1679). 166. 
Drunnnond, Adam, of Megginch (1682). 
2U8. 
,, Anne, or Erskine. 70. 

Anna (1695). 208. 
,, Clementina, or Graham- 

DrummondOgilvy (1826). 
302. 
David, Lord. 70, 71. 
Gavin of Keltic. 302. 
Hon. Jean (1644). 201. 
,, Hon Margaret. 202. 

,, John, of Logie-Almond. 

108. 
John, of Lundin (1680). 
204. 
,, John, Second Earlof Perth. 

IDS. 
,, Lilias, or Lindsay. 59. 

Lord of Stobhall. 59. 
,, Magister John, of Meg- 

ginch (1695). 208. 
Mary, or Stirling (1592). 

71. 
Patrick, Third Lord. 108. 
Sir Patrick (1625). 135, 
136. 
Dudhope, Barony of (1565). 28. 
Castle. 49, 167. 
Estate of. 10, 14, 166, 195, 
308. 
„ V^iscuunts of. 17, 50, 83, 109, 

112, 113, 128, 135, 14.3, 164. 
Duff, Adam, Apparent of Tullynessle 

(1601). 91. 
Dun, Estate of. 125, 145. 
„ Laird of. 125, 126. 
Dunbar, Earl of. 120. 
Dunbarton Castle. 63, 64. 

Earl of. 194. 
Dunblane, Bishops of. 52, 70. 
Duncan, Adam A., of Naughtou. 212. 
,, Admiral Viscount. 171, 211, 
237, 239, 240, 241, 2G6, 282, 
283. 
„ Alexander, of Lundie. 207, 

209, 210, 211, 213, 237, 238. 
,, Amelia, nee Guthrie. 245. 
,, Anna. 208. 
,, Anne, Wife of P. Murray, of 

Aytoun. 211. 
„ Bailie (1689). 207. 
,, Captain the Hon. Sir Henry, 
E.N. 212. 
Christian. 208. 
„ David (1802). 245. 
„ Finlay, Surgeon (1550). 29,207. 



INDEX. 



327 



UnnoaiiMieoige (1082). 208. 

„ M.P. 24.5, 279. 
,, Helen. 78. 
,, ,, )iA HaUliine. 237. 

,, Henrietta, nci'. Dundas. 241. 
,j Hester Eliza, nee Wheeler. 

246. 
,, Isabella, of Liindie, jje'e Murray 

(1702). 211. 
,, Jean, of Lnn<lie, Wife of .John 

Scrymgeour, junior. 211. 
„ John, Merchant (1608). 29, 61. 

„ (1690). 208. 
,, Katheriue, ndfi Wedderbnrn 

(1608). 29. 
,, Miss Morisou, of Naughton. 
212. 
Patrick. 208. 
,, Professor .Tames (1721). 211. 
,, Sir William, Pliysician to 

George II. (1754). 211. 
,, Thomas, Land of. 49. 
,, ,, Professor of Mathe- 

matics in the University of 
St Andrews (1820). 257. 
,, Viscounts. 241,206,282,283, 
306. 
William. 208. 

Maltman (1799). 245. 

,, ,, of vSeasyde, a Bailie of 

Dundee (1656). 207. 

,, ., Physician (1608). 29. 

Surgeon (1590). 207. 

Duncans, Laii-ds of Lundie. 29, 240, 

282, 306. 
Dimcansonc, Magister .Tulin (1625). 

133, 134. 
Dimdas of Arniston, Lord-President 
Robert. 241. 
,, Henrietta, or Duncan. 241. 
,, ,, or Haldaue-Duncan 

(1785). 266. 
Dundee, Academy of. 223, 248, 249, 
252. 
,, ,, James Ivory, As- 

sistant-Master in 
the (1786). 223. 
„ „ Rector of the (1801). 

257. 
Dmuhe. Adivrtiser. 227. 
Dundee and Arbroath Railway. 235. 
,, and Newtyle Railway. 260. 
Banking Company. 221,222, 
268, 290. 
" Dundee, Burgh Laws of." 60. 
Dundee, Burgli Library of (1618). 107. 
Dundee Chronicle. 243. 
Dundee, Churches of. 81, 95, 103, 177. 



Dundee, Constable of. 50, 83, 86, 167. 
Earls of. 17, 50, 109, 128, 
143, 164, 192. 
,, First Ordained Minister of. 

61. 
,, Free Library. 224. 
,, Grammar School of. 95, 102, 
172, 179. 
Harljour Bill (1875). 251. 
,, Improvement Act. 281. 
,, InKrmary. 254. 
' ,, Lunatic Asylum. 236. 
Municipal Bill. 200. 
,, Museum. 300. 

Parochial Board. 277. 
" Dundee Psalms. " 21. 
Dundee School Board. 269, 285. 

„ Schoolmasters of. 94, 95, 102, 

17.3. 
,, Schools. 235, 237. 
,, Sugar Refining Company. 252. 
,, Town's Advocate for. 202. 
,, Town-Clerks in. 51, 55, 96, 

103. 
,, Tramways. 300. 
,, Vicarage of (1596). 81,92. 
,, Viscounts of. 113, 161, 167, 
108, 169, 175, 308. 
Dundonald, William, Earl of. 168. 
Dunfermline, Minister of. 76, 77. 

,, Palace of. 71. 

Dunford, Estate of. 277. 
Dungannon, Lord (1843). 307. 
Dunkeld, Bishopric of. 101, 192. 

,, Cathedral of. 199. 
Dunkenny, Estate of. 95, 229. 
Dunmore, Cliarles, First Earl of. 

199. 
Dunnichen, House of. 222. 
Dunsinane, Lord. 263. 
Duntarvy, Lady (1744). 191. 
Duntroon, Laird of. 161, 109. 
Duppliu, Castle of. 88. 

„ Viscount of (1627). 88. 
Durham, Baron (1828). 274. 
Earl of. 273, 274. 
Eupham (1000). 101. 
,, Francis. 177. 
,, Grizel, ur Middleton. 158, 

170. 
„ Isobel, or Fergusson (1598). 

77. 
,, James, Minister of Glasgow. 
177. 
,, of Pitkerro (1500). 31. 
,, Janet, or Cheape. 1.38. 
,, John, of Largo. 138. 

Patrick, Laud of (1580). .30. 



Durham, Sir Alexander, Lord Lyon 
(1063). 175, 176, 177. 
,, Sir James, of Pitkerrow and 

Lufl'ness. 158, 176. 
,, William, of Grange of Moni- 
fieth (1666). 161. 
Diirie, Fifeshire, Estate of. 84, 131. 
,, George, of that Ilk. 41. 
„ Lord of Session. 84, 85, 131. 
„ Marjory, or Balfour. 41. 
" Durie's Practicks. " 84. 
Dutch, Fleet, the. 237, 239. 

War, the Fii-st (1664). 181. 
Dysart, Countess of 1655). 182, 200, 
202. 



"Earl Grey Dock." 271. 
" Earl's Lodging," Dundee. 12. 
Ea.stbarns, Barony of. 86. 
Easter Seatoun, Estate of. 79. 
East India Company. 219, 267, 272. 
Ecclesgreig, Church of. 28. 
Ecclesiastical Titles Bill. 308. 
Edinburgli, Bishops of (1034). 95. 

Castle of. 56, 65, 68, 86, 
90, 123, 159, 182, 225, 
228. 

High Church of (1622). 
149, 154. 
„ School of. 189, 272. 
,, Mercat Cross of. 57, 123. 

Edinhurr/h Reviev: 272. 
Edinburgh Tolbuith. 77, 187. 

,, University of. 54, 133, 

137, 1.54, 189, 190, 218, 223, 253, 261, 
267, 272, 287, 289, 293, .306. 
Eden, Mary, Wife of Loi'd Brougham. 

273. 
Education Act, the. 2C9, 305. 
Edward Alexander, Burgess of Dundee. 
178, 179. 
Charles (1679). 178. 
L of England. 1, 46, 48, 103. 
Magdalen (1656). 179. 
Martha (1660). 179. 
,, Rev. Robert, Minister of 
Murroes Pari.sh (1663). 177, 
178. 
Edzell, House of. 94. 
Eglismagirdill, Lands of. 32. 
Egmont and Camperdown, Villages of. 

239. 
Elgin, Earls of. 138,192,193. 

„ College Kirk of. 90. 
Elizabeth, Queen. 26. 33, 56, 58, 03, 

09, 72, 139. 
Elibank, Alexander, Fourth Lord. 224. 



328 



INDEX. 



Elliot, Lady Frances, Paughtcr of tliu 

Second Earl of Miuto. 288. 
Elphinstone, Lord. 194. 

Anne, ruk Ker ( 1623). 1 60. 
James. 128, 129. 
„ Jolin, Second Lord Bal- 

merinoch. 158. 
„ ,, Third Lord Balmer- 

inoch (162.3). IGO. 
,, Marjorie, niie Maxwell 

(1587). 129. 
,, Sarah, nee Mouteith. 1.58. 

Endowed Schools Commissioners, the 

299. 
Engineering, the Cliaii' of, in Edin- 
burgh University (1868). 253. 
" England, Ireland, and America," a 
Pamphlet by Richard Cobden (1835). 
278. 
English Episcopal Chapel, Dundee. 230. 
Engraver, first native, in Dundee. 237. 
Episcopacy, Abolition of. 95, 206. 

Establishment of (1606). 
109, 129, 130. 
Errol, Earls of. 56, 59, 65, 103. 

„ Estate of (1873). 277. 
Erskine, Alexander, of Dun. 86, 125, 
126, 145. 
„ Annabella, 7K''e Murray (1572). 

69. 
,, Anne, »2e'(? Drummond. 70. 

David. 1-25, 126. 
,, Francis Robert St Clair, Fourth 

Earl of Rosslyn. 197. 
,, Henry, Lord Cardross. 117. 
,, James, Earl of Buchan. 117. 
,, ,, Seventh Earl of Jlar. 

117. 
John, of Balgonie (1621), M.P. 
for Stirlingshire. 120. 
,, ,, of Dun, Sujierintendent 

of Angus and Mearns. 
25, 34, 70, 125, 144. 
„ ,, Seventh Earl of Mar 

(1689). 69. 
,, Lady Anne (1630). 182. 

„ Margaret (1639). 117. 
.> .. ,, orMaule. 144. 

.. .. ,, or Mackenzie. 

153, 171. 
,, ,, Mary, ne'e Stewart. 70. 

Robert (1613). 125. 
,, Sir George, of Innerteil. 153, 

171. 
,, Sir Thomas, of C4()gar. 85. 
,, Walter Henry, Eleventh Earl 
of Mar, and Tliirteenth Earl 
of Kellie. 86. 



Esplanade, the. 290, 291, 299. 
Estates, Convention of. 63, 65, 136, 

137, 162, 195, 199, 205. 
Ethie, Earl of (1639). 175. 
Ewan, John, Provost. 281, 285. 

,, Thomas, Manufacturer (1805). 
281. 
" Exchequer Rolls of Scotland." 1, 2, 

10, 77. 
Exeter College, Oxford. 293. 



Faculty, Dean of. 203. 
Faith, Confession of. 89. 
Falconer, Agnes, or Guthrie (1568). 34. 
,, Sir Alexander, of Halkerton. 
34. 
,, John (168.3). 194. 
Falkirk, Battle of. 213. 
Falkland, Palace of. 147. 
Fan-Blast, Invention of the. 261. 
FarJill, Estate of. 75. 

,, Family, Old Mansion of the. 75. 
Laird of (1594). 75. 
Fardle, Laird of, his House in Dundee. 

19. 
Farnell, Parish of. 206. 
Fasti Ecdesice Scoticamv. 30, 110. 
Fasque, Church at. 276. 

„ Estate of, in Kincardineshire. 
276. 
Mansion of. 276. 
Fentoun, Viscount (1606). 86. 
Fergnsou, David (1533). 76. 

,, Isobel, uee Durhame (1598). 

77. 
David, Muiister of Dunferm- 
line. 179. 
Magister William (1591). 76, 
77, 78. 
,, William, Inscription on 

Tombstone. 78. 
" Fergusone," David (1558). 77. 

Magister David (1063). 179. 
Fergusson, Professor Adam. 218. 
Feme, Alice, or Scrymgeonr, (1497). 19. 
Ferry-Boat between Dundee and Wood- 
haven (1821). 260. 
Fettercairn, Charles, Lord Clermont and. 

176. 
Ffodringhay, Henry de, of Ballunic 
(1337). 18. 
Thomas de (1377). 18. 
" Fife Adventurers," the. 115. 
Fife Barons, the (1608). 88. 
„ Committee of Warfor (1648-9). 39. 
,, East Neuk of. 115. 
,, Estates in. 84. 



Fife, Estates of Lord Broomhall in. 
1.37. 
,, Hereditary Sheriff of. 199. 
" Fife Lairds" (1595). 81. 
Fife, Lands in. 72, 92, 152. 
Finance Committee, Convener of the. 
298. 
,, Committee of the County of 
Forfar, Convener of the. 251. 
Findlater, Countess of. 132. 
Earl of (1638). 132. 
,, James, First Earl. 132. 
,, Lands of. 15. 
Lord. 132. 
Findlaysoun, James, Bailie (1582). 3. 
Fiutry, Barony of (1464). 111. 
Lairds of. 112,144. 
,, Lands of. 111. 
Fishings of Dundee. 9. 
Fithie, James, Master of the Reading 
School (1648). 160. 
John (1665). 109. 
,, Rev. James, A.M., Minister of 
the Parish of Mains (1663). 
160. 
Fittis, R. Scott. 68. 
Flanders, Army at. 194. 
Flax-Spinning Mill on Carbet- Water, 

near Forfar. 223. 
Fleeke Andro (1651). 134. 
Fleming, of Moyness. 139. 
Fletcher, Agnes, or Milne. 177, 178. 
Andrew, Lord Milton. 228. 
of Sal ton. 228, 229. 
Colonel Henry (1779). 228, 
229. 

John. 228. 
Henry, of Salton (1806). 229. 
Provost. 207. 
,, Sir John, Lord- Advocate 

(1763). 178. 
Fletchers .and Campbells. 229. 
Fleukcrgait, Properties in. 12, 46, 49. 
Flochlen Fiehl. 13, 15, 33. 
Fodderancc, Lord (1627). 134, 141. 
Foggie, Councillor (1S69). 297. 
Fontenoy, Battle of. 212. 
Forbes, AnnabeUa (1469). 9. 
,, First Lord (1469). 9. 
Forces, Commander of the, in Scotland. 
182. 
,, Paymaster-General of the. 275. 
Ford, David, Treasurer (1776). 226. 
Foreign Affairs, Secretary for (1886). 
306. 
Secretary, Lord Howick ( 1 806). 
271. 
Forfar, Barons of. 99. 



INDEX. 



:129 



Forfarshiie, Colonel of the Militia of. 
200. 
,, Deputy - Lieutenant of 

(1875). 251. 
., Estates in. 88. 

„ Honorary Sherift'- Substi- 

tute for. 290. 
„ Justice of tlie Peace for 

(161G). 99. 
Lands in. 48,. 87, HI, 113. 
,, Lord Lieutenancy of. 300. 

Forman, Adam (1546). G8. 
Forrester, David, in Nevay (I.'J14). 14. 
James, Bailie (LWl). 4. 
,, Janet,or Weddeiliurn (l.')14). 
14. 
John, of Millhill. 169. 
,, Marjory, nee, Graham. 169. 
William (1582), Bailie. 3, 5. 
Forte viot. Viscount of. 126. 
Forth Bridge, the. 295, 304. 

,, Earl of, and Brentford (1642). 23. 
Forther, Castle of. 185, 1S6, 187. 
Fort Royal Bay, Martinique. 233. 
Foster's " Scots M.P.'s." 163, 169. 
Fothringham, Cecilia, or Gibson. 131. 
,, 85. 

,, ,, Lady Carmichael. 

110. 

,, David, of Powrie. 144, 

171. 

Elizabeth. 43. 

,, Helen, ncV Lindsaj'. 43. 

,, Henry of, Provost (1454). 

18. 
, , Jean, nee Kinloeh. 113. 

John, of Powrie (1620). 
112, 113. 
,, Margaret, m'e Gibson. 

85, 113. 
„ Marjory, mk Stewart. 

171. 
„ Maria, or Graham. 96. 

ICl. 
Pom-ie. 85,113,114,116. 
,, Thomas, Younger of 

Powrie (1592). 44. 
Fothringliame, Powrie, in Angus (1652). 
113. 
,, Thomas, of Powrie. 18, 

19, 43, 44, 85, 94, 96, 
112, 113, 131, 161. 
Foulis, Barbara, nee Ainslie. 196. 
,, Elizabeth, ncc Hepburn. 195. 
,, Janet, or Primrose (1621). 150. 
,, Sir Alexander, of Colinton. 195. 
,, ,, James, of Collingtouu (1671). 
195. 



Foulis, Sir James, of Colinton, Lord- 
Clerk-Register. 195. 
Fountuinhall, Lord (1687). 173. 
Fowlis Easter, Parish Register of (1724). 
237. 
., House of (1506). 75. 
Fo.v, Charles (1786). 271. 

,, Ministry of (1806). 271. 
France, Court of. 34. 
Franciscans, Monasteries of the. 68. 
Franklin, Sir John, Search for. 295. 
Fraser, Catherine, nde Mackenzie. 139. 
Clan, the. 13S. 
Dr William. 122, 123, 140, 
159, 167. 
Hew