Skip to main content

Full text of "A series of picturesque views of seats of the noblemen and gentlemen of Great Britain and Ireland. With descriptive and historical letterpress"

See other formats





VOL. V. 

1,0 N DON: 












VOL. V. 






A NOBLE deed is a fitting foundation for a noble family. 

The following is the account given by Sir Bernard Burke in his very interesting 
book, "The Rise of Great Families," of the advancement of the one with which 
the present volume commences: "The Dukedom of Leeds is another strong case 
in point. Sir William Hewitt, Lord Mayor of London, 1559, was possessed of a 
considerable estate, and had only one daughter to inherit it. It chanced during the 
time her father resided on London Bridge, that the child, through carelessness of 
her nurse, fell into the river, whereupon a young gentleman, named Edward Osborne, 
one of Sir William Hewitt's apprentices, plunged in and rescued the infant. 'In 
memory of which deliverance/ says an old writer, 'and in gratitudo, her father 
afterwards bestowed her in marriage on the said Mr. Osborne with a very great 
dowry.' " 

RICHARD OSBORNE, married Elizabeth Fyldene, and their son, 

RICHARD OSBORNE, was father, by his wife Jane, daughter of John Broughton, Esq.^ 
of (the above mentioned) 

SIR EDWARD OSBORNE, Knight, Lord Mayor of London in 1582, who married Anna, 
daughter of Sir William Hewitt, one of the most considerable merchants of London, 
and had several children, of whom the eldest son, 

SIR HEWITT OSBOKNE, Knight, married Joice, daughter of Thomas Fleetwood, Esq., 
of the Vache, Buckinghamshire, Master of the Mint, and had an only son, his 

SIR EDWARD OSBORNE, Knight, of Kiveton, Yorkshire, who was created a Baronet 

July 13th., 1620. He married, first, Margaret, eldest daughter of Thomas, Viscount 

Fauconberg, and had a son, Edward, who was killed by the fall of a chimney of 

the house, and secondly, Anne, daughter of Thomas Walmesley, Esq., of Dunken- 

v. B 


halgh, Lancashire, widow of William Middleton, of Stockeld, Yorkshire, and had an 

only son, 

SIR THOMAS OSBORNE, Baronet, who became Lord High Treasurer ot England, an 
was raised to the Peerage August 16th, 1673, as BARON OSBORNE of Kiveton,. and 
VISCOUNT LATIMER of Danby. He was further advanced to the dignity of an Earldom 
June 27th, 1674, as EARL OF DANBY, and next created MARQUIS OP CARMARTHEN, 
April 20th ' 1689, and finally DUKE OP LEEDS May 4th, 1694. Ho had been installed 
a Knight of the Garter, June 19th, 1675. He married Bridget, daughter of Montagu 
Bertie, Earl of Lindsay, Lord Great Chamberlain of England, and was succeeded 
lit his' death, July 26th, 1712, by his only surviving son, 

PEREGRINE OSBORNE, second Duke, who had been summoned to the House ot Lords 
in his father's lifetime as BARON OSBORNE of Kiveton, and created VISCOUNT DUMBLANE, 
in the Peerage of Scotland, July 19th, 1675. His Grace married Bridget, daughter 
and heiress of Sir Thomas Hyde, Baronet, and was father of 

PEREGRINE HYDE OSBORNE, third Duke, who married, first, Elizabeth, daughter of 
Robert, Earl of Oxford, and secondly, Anne, daughter of Charles, Duke of Somerset; 
also, thirdly, in' 1725, Juliana, daughter and coheiress of Roger Hele, Esq., of 
Holwell, Devonshire. He died March 9th, 1731, and was succeeded by his firstborn 


THOMAS OSBORNE, K.G, fourth Duke, who married, in 1740, Mary, second daugh 
and eventually sole heiress of Francis, Earl of Godolphin. His only surviving son, 

FRANCIS GODOLPHIN OSBORNE, fifth Duke, born January 29th, 1751, who had been 
summoned to Parliament vita patris as BARON OSBORNE. He married, while Marquis 
of Carmarthen, in 1773, Amelia, only daughter and heiress of Robert D'Arcy, Earl 
of Holderness, and Baroness Conyers. Their eldest son was 

GEORGE WILLIAM FREDERICK OSBORNE, sixth Duke, K.G, P.C, born July 21st, 1775, 
Lord Lieutenant of the North Riding of Yorkshire, Governor of the Scilly Islands, 
Constable of Middleton Castle, Ranger of Richmond Forest in Yorkshire, and Master 
of the Horse. He became Baron Conyers, at the death of his mother in 1784, and 
married, August 17th, 1797, Charlotte, daughter of George, first Marquis of Townshend. 
He died July 10th, 1838. His Grace's only surviving son, 

FRANCIS GODOLPHIN D'ARCY OSBORNE, seventh Duke, born May 21st, 1798, married 
April 24th, 1828, Louisa Catherine, third daughter of Richard Caton, Esq., of 
Maryland, in the United States, and widow of Sir Felton Bathurst Harvey, Baronet. 
He was succeeded by his kinsman, Lord Godolphin, in all his honours, except the 
Barony of Conyers, which devolved on Sackville George Lane-Fox, Esq., namely, 

GEORGE GODOLPHIN OSBORNE, eighth Duke, who married, October 21st, 1824, Miss 
Harriette Arundel Stewart. He died August 9th, 1872, and left by her, who died 
in 1852, 

GEORGE GODOLPHIN OSBORNE, ninth Duke, born August llth, 1828, married January 
16th, 1861, Fanny Georgiana, second daughter of George, fourth Baron Rivers, and 
Lady of the Bedchamber to H.R.H. the Princess of Wales, and had, with other 
surviving issue, 





BOWOOD was anciently part of a very extensive forest, which extended for many 

In Cromwell's time it was forfeited to the use of the Commonwealth. 

It next was granted by King Charles the Second to Sir Orlando Bridgeman, but 
he having died insolvent, it was purchased of his creditors by the Earl of Shelborne, 
and in his family it has since continued. 

WALTER FITZ OTHO, Castellan of Windsor in the eleventh century, was father of 

GERALD FITZ WALTER, who married Nesta, daughter of Eees Gruffydd (Griffith), 
Prince of South Wales, and had three sons. The second son, 

WILLIAM FITZGERALD, married Catherine, daughter of Sir Adam de Kingsley, of 
Cheshire, and died in the year 1173. He had seven sons, of whom the eldest, 

REYMOND FITZGERALD, surnamed Le Gros, accompanied Strongbow into Ireland, 
married his sister Baselia, and acquired large possessions in the county of Kerry. 
His eldest son, 

MAURICE FITZ-REYMOND, married, for his first wife, Johanna, daughter of Milnes 
Fitz-Henry, Chief Governor of Ireland, by whom he had a son, 

THOMAS FITZ-MAURICE, who became Lord of Kerry and Lixnaw. He married Grace, 
daughter of Domhual Caombhnagh (Cavenagh), son of Dermoid, King of Leiuster, and 
dying in 1280, was succeeded by his eldest son, 

MAURICE FITZMAURICE, second Lord of Kerry, who sat in the Parliament of Dublin, 
1295, and served in Scotland under Edward I. He married Mary, daughter and 
heiress of Sir John Mc'Leod, of Galway, and died in 1303. His eldest son, 

NICHOLAS FITZMAURICE, third Lord of Kerry, was followed by 

MAURICE FITZMAURICE, fourth Lord of Kerry, whose brother and successor was 

JOHN FITZMAURICE, fifth Lord of Kerry. He was followed by fifteen successive 
Lords of Kerry, the latest of whom, 

WILLIAM FITZMAURICE, twentieth Lord of Kerry and Lixnaw, bora in 1633, married 
Constance, daughter of William Long, Esq., and died in 1697, his eldest son being 

THOMAS FITZMAURICE, twenty-first Lord of Kerry, created, January 17th., 1722, 
VISCOUNT CLANMAURICE, and EARL OF KERRY. He married, in 1692, Anne, only 
daughter and heiress of Sir William Petty, by whom he left 


1. WILLIAM FITZMAURICE, second Earl of Kerry, who, by his second wife, Gertrude, 
only daughter of Richard, fourth Earl of Cavan, had, with a daughter, married to 
Maurice Fitzgerald, Knight of Kerry, an only son, FRANCIS THOMAS FITZMAURICB, third 
Earl of Kerry, married Anastasia, daughter and coheiress of Peter Daly, Esq., but 
dying childless, July 4th., 1818, his honours devolved on his cousin, Henry, third 
Marquis of Lansdowne, (as hereafter stated). 


THE HON. JOHN FITZMAURICE, having inherited the estates of his maternal uncle, 
Henry Petty, Earl of Shelburne, in April, 1751, (when that Earldom expired), assumed 
the additional surname and arms of PETTY, and was advanced to the Peerage of Ireland 
October 7th., 1751, as BARON DUNKERRON and VISCOUNT FITZMAURICE, and further 
advanced June 26th., 1753, to the EARLDOM OF SHELBURNE. He married, in 1734, his 
cousin Mary, daughter of the Hon. William Fitzmaurice, of Gallane, Kerry, and was 
created a Peer of Great Britain, May 17th., 1760, as BARON WTCOMBE, and dying 
May 10th., 1761, was succeeded by his eldest son, 

WILLIAM PETTY FITZMAUEICE, second Earl of Shelburne, a General in the Army, 
and a distinguished statesman in the reign of George the Third, Secretary of State, 
and appointed Prime Minister in 1782. He was advanced, December 6th., 1784, to 
LANSDOWNE. He married, first, in 1765, Sophia, daughter of John, Earl Granville, 
by whom he left one son, his successor; and, secondly, in 1779, Louisa, daughter of 
John Fitzpatrick, Earl of Upper Ossory, by whom he had another son, Henry, third 
Marquis. The elder, 

JOHN PETTY FITZMAURICE, second Marquis, married, May 27th., 1805, Lady Gifford, 
widow of Sir Duke Gifford, of Castle Jordan, Ireland, but died without issue, November 
15th., 1809, when tee honours devolved on his half brother, 

LOED HENRY PETTY FITZMAURICE, third Marquis, born July 2nd., 1780, who succeeded 
also, July 4th., 1818, to the titles of the House of Kerry, on the demise of his 
cousin. He married, March 30th., 1808, Louisa Emma, fifth daughter of Henry 
Thomas, second Earl of Ilchester, and had two sons, the second of whom, 

HENRY PETTY FITZMAUEICE, fourth Marquis, born January 5th., 1816, M.P. for Calne 
from 1847 to 1856, was appointed a Lord of the Treasury in 1847. He was summoned 
to the House of Lords, July llth., 1856, as BARON WYCOMBE. He was Under 
Secretary of State for Foreign Affairs from 1856 to 1858, and was made a K.G. in 
1864. He married, first, August 18th., 1840, Lady Georgiana Herbert, daughter of 
George Augustus, eleventh Earl of Pembroke, which lady died February 28th., 1841, 
and, secondly, November 1st., 1843, Emily Jane Mercer Elphinstone De Flahault, 
BARONESS NAIRNE AND KEITH, and had an elder son, 

the Treasury, Under Secretary of War from 1872 to 1874. He married, November 
8th., 1869, Lady Maud Evelyn Hamilton, youngest daughter of James, Duke of 
Abercorn, K.G., and had, with other children, 




ASTLEY HALL is picturesquely situated by a small piece of water, but it is stated 
that much of its beauty was destroyed by the cutting down of some fine timber, 
which is always so great an ornament. The drawing room has a richly ornamented 
ceiling, and is fitted up with antique furniture. One of the apartments is still 
called Oliver Cromwell's Room, from his having slept there after the battle of Preston 
in 1648. The hall is spacious. 

The house stands on the bank of the river Chor, from which the town of Chorley, 
about a mile distant, derives its name. The date of 1600 is carved on the oak timber 
in one of the walls, but part was much more ancient. 

The estate at first belonged to the family of Charnock of Charnock, whose heiress 
brought it into that of Brooke, and from them it came, through their heiress, to the 
family of Townley Parker, as stated presently. 

ROBERT CHARNOCK, ESQ., of Charnock, in the couuty of Lancaster, (the representative 
of a very ancient family, descended from Adam de Chernoc, of Chernoc and Astley, 
temp. Richard I.) married, in 1649, Alice, daughter of William Ffaringtou, Esq., of 
Worden, and had an only daughter and heiress, 

MARGARET CHARNOCK, of Astley, who married Richard Brooke, Esq., second son of 
Sir Peter Brooke, of Mere, and was mother of 

THOMAS BEOOKE, ESQ., of Astley, who married, 1716, Margaret, daughter of Thomas 
Wharton, and had two sons, Richard Wharton Brooke, of Astley and Charnock, who 
died sine prole, and 

PETER BEOOKE, of Astley and Charnock, who married Susanna, daughter of James 
Crookhall, and was father of 

SUSANNA BEOOKE, heiress of Charnock and Astley. She married, first, in 1787, 
Thomas Townley Parker, Esq., of Cuerden, in the county of Lancaster, by whom 
(High Sheriff of that shire in 1793) she had, besides two daughters, one son, 
Robert Townley Parker, Esq., of Cuerden. She married, secondly, in 1797, Sir 



Henry Philip Hoghton, Bart., by whom she had a son, SIP Henry Bold Hoghton, 
Bart. She died December 2nd., 1852. Her son, by her first Carnage, as above, 

ROBERT TOWNLEY PARKER, ESQ., of Cuerden, Lancaslnre, born 1793 married in 
1816, Harriet, youngest daughter of Thomas Brooke, Esq., (second son of Sir 
Brooke, Bart.,) and had, with other issue, 

THOMAS TOWNLEY PARKER, ESQ., of Cuerden, and Charnock Hall Lancashire, J P. 
aud D.L. for that county, born 1822, married, 1846, Katherme Margaret, daughter 
of the Rev. T. Blackburne, Rector of Prestwich. 




BENINGBROUGH HALL stands on the site of a former mansion, the residence of the 
old family of Bourchier, now believed to be extinct, at least in that branch of it. 
The estate was left by the last proprietress to the Honourable and Rev. William 
Henry Dawnay, Rector of S essay and Thormanby, who succeeded his brother as sixth 
Viscount Downe, as presently stated. 

The house, which is of brick, with stone quoins, was built by Sir John Vanbrugh. 
The country around is flat, but the park is well timbered with oak, beech, chestnut, 
lime, and some fine old elm trees, the latter the remains of the avenues which the 
architect had planted. The river Nidd and the Ouse flow near it, and join their 
waters about half a mile from the Hall. It was perhaps as well that they did not 
do so a little higher up in eai-lier times, for Sir John Bourchier, who lived on one 
side of the Ouse, was not only a Parliamentarian, but one of the regicides who 
signed the death-warrant of King Charles the Martyr, while his neighbour, Sir Thomas 
Slingsby, who was a devoted Royalist and Cavalier, lived on the other, so that they 
could not so readily come to blows. 

This is one of the numerous families, not a few of them still existent, whose names 
are inscribed on the Roll of Battle Abbey. It has preserved an unbroken male descent 
from that day to this, as follows: 

SIR PAYN D'AuNAY, of Aunay Castle, Normandy, was ancestor of 

SIR WILLIAM D' AUNAY, who fought under RICHARD, "C(EUR-DE-LiON," and having 
slain a Saracen Prince, and afterwards a lion, he cut off the paw of the latter and 
presented it to the king, who at once gave him a ring from his own finger, and 
commanded that his cognisance should henceforth be a demi-Saracen holding in one 
hand a lion's paw, and in the other a ring, and so it has been borne by the family 
ever since, and is still. After him, 

SIR NICHOLAS DAWNAY, who also fought in the holy war against the Infidels, was 
summoned to Parliament by Edward the Third. The younger of his two sons, 

THOMAS DAWNAY, married Elizabeth, daughter and heiress of John Newton, Esq., 
of Snaith, Yorkshire, and was progenitor of 

SIR GUY DAWNAY, of Cowick, Snaith, tempore Henry the Seventh and Henry the 
Eighth, and died there in 1552. He married Joan, sister and heiress of John Darrell, 
of Sessay, near York, and their son succeeded, 


SIR JOHN DAWNAY, of Cowick, High Sheriff of Yorkshire in the thirty-fifth year 
of the reign of King Henry the Eighth. His wife was Dorothy, daughter of Richard, 
Lord Latimer, and at his death, March 2nd., 1553, he was succeeded by his eldest son, 

SIE THOMAS DAWNAY, of Cowick and Sessay, who married Edith, daughter of George, 
Lord D'Arcy, of Aston, and at his decease, September 3rd., 1556, his elder son, 

SIR JOHN DAWNAY, of Cowick and Sessay, succeeded. He married Elizabeth, 
daughter of Sir Marmaduke Tunstall, and their eldest son, 

SIR THOMAS DAWNAY, of Cowick and Sessay, married Faith, daughter of Sir Richard 
Legard, of Ryse. The eldest son, 

JOHN DAWNAY, ESQ., of Cowick and Sessay, married Elizabeth, daughter of Sir 
Richard Hutton, one of the Justices of the Court of King's Bench, and had two sons, 
the elder of whom, 

SIR CHRISTOPHER DAWNAY, of Cowick and Sessay, was created a Baronet by King 
Charles the First, May 19th., 1642, with remainder to his brother, 

SIR JOHN DAWNAY, Baronet, of Cowick and Sessay, M.P. for the County of York 
in 1660, and raised to the Peerage of Ireland as Viscount Downe, February 19th., 
1680. He also had sat in King James's Irish Parliament in 1689. He married, first, 
Eliza, daughter of J. Melton, and was succeeded by his only son, 

SIR HENRY DAWNAY, second Viscount, M.P. for Yorkshire in the reigns of William 
the Third, Queen Anne, and George the First. His Lordship married Mildred, 
daughter of William Godfrey, Esq., of Thunock, in Lincolnshire, and his son, 

JOHN DAWNAY, married, August 10th., 1724, Charlotte Lucy, daughter and coheiress 
of Robert Pleydell, Esq., of Ampney Crucis, Gloucestershire, and died in the lifetime 
of his father, leaving a son, whose grandfather having died in May, 1741, he succeeded 
the latter as 

HENRY PLEYDELL DAWNAY, third Viscount, F.R.S., bora April 8th., 1727, M.P. for 
the County of York in 1749 and 1751, Lord of the Bedchamber to H.R.H. the Prince 
of Wales, and Colonel of the 25th. Regiment of Foot, which he commanded at the 
battle of Minden, as also at the battle of Campen, near Wesel, October 16th., 1760, 
when he received a wound of which he died December 9th. of the same year. His 
brother succeeded him, 

JOHN DAWNAY, fourth Viscount Downe, who married, May 20th., 1763, Laura, only 
daughter of William Burton, Esq., of Luffenham, Rutlandshire. He died December 
21st., 1780, and was succeeded by his elder son, namely, 

JOHN CHRISTOPHER BURTON DAWNAY, fifth Viscount, born November 15th., 1764, 
created a Peer of Great Britain, June 9th., 179G, as BARON DAWNAY, of Cowick, in 
the County of York. He married, December 31st,, 1815, Louisa Maria, daughter of 
George Welsted, Esq., of Apsley, but dying without children, February 18th., 1832, 
he was succeeded in the title by his next brother, 

THE REV. WILLIAM HENRY DAWNAY, sixth Viscount Downe, Rector of Sessay and 
Thormanby, Yorkshire, born August 20th., 1772, who married, June 4th., 1811, Lydia, 
only daughter of John Heathcote, Esq., of Conningtou Castle, and had three children, 
of whom the second was (the eldest succeeding as seventh Lord Downe) 

THE HONOURABLE PAYAN DAWNAY (of Beningbrough Hall.) 



THE manor of Donington, which occupies the site of what in Domesday Book is 
called "a great wood of oak," was anciently held by Thomas Plantagenet, Earl of 
Lancaster, Leicester, and Derby, and was bought in the year 1594 by George, Earl 
of Huntingdon, who pulled down the old castle, and built a new residence. "The 
Gothic entrance-hall is twenty-four feet square, the dining-room forty-eight feet by 
twenty-four, and the drawing-room forty by twenty-four. The library is seventy-two 
feet by twenty-six, and contains towards twenty-five thousand volumes, besides many 
rare manuscripts." 

The place is situated near the small country town of the name, from which it is 
called, about ten miles from Loughborough and eighteen from Leicester. It was 
formerly annexed to the Castle at Castle Donington, the favourite residence of John 
of Gaunt. 

The scenery all around is very attractive, the house being at the junction of three 
small valleys, well adorned with noble trees of ancient growth, venerable oaks, which 
undoubtedly date from the Conquest, and others. There is a tradition that Chaucer 
the poet constantly sat under the shade of one of the oaks, still standing as of yore, 
forty-four feet in girth. On one side is seen Donington Cliff, which abuts on the 
silver Trent, and here also the church of Weston-on-Trent with its tapering spire 
comes into view. In the distance are to be seen the Peak of Derbyshire, and nearly 
the whole of Nottinghamshire, a truly magnificent panorama. 

This park was held by lease from the Crown by William, Lord Hastings, Edward 
the Fourth's celebrated Chamberlain, who was afterwards beheaded by Eichard the 
Third. It continued to be so held by his descendants, the Lords Hastings, Earls of 
Huntingdon, until the reign of Elizabeth, when it was purchased from the Sovereign. 

After the destruction of Ashby-de-la-Zouch Castle by the Roundheads, the Hastings 
family retired to this spot, where up to that time there had only been a keeper's 
lodge, and after making additions to it, established themselves there until the death 
of Francis, tenth Earl of Huntingdon and twelfth Baron Hastings. He was the last 
Earl of the direct line, and at his death in 1789, unmarried, his titles, except the 
Earldom supposed to be then extinct passed to his nephew, Francis, Earl of Moira, 
the well-known Governor- General of India, 1813 to 1823, subsequently created 
Marquis of Hastings. 

This nobleman built the present house in the year 1793, incorporating with it the 
v. c 


walls of the older one, which was rendered interesting as having been dwelt in by 
the saintly Selina, Countess of Huntingdon, the patroness of Wesley and Whitfield. 
It was also the resort of men who were celebrated in art, literature, and politics, 
among whom was Moore the poet, who lived here for two years, and thus described 

the scene 

"Where silvery Trent his mazy colours pours, 
And Donington's old oaks to every breeze 
Whisper the tale of bygone centuries." 

Here, too, lived Lady Flora Hastings, whose poems and whose sad history need no 
comment/ and here also during the French emigration resided Charles X. and his 
sons, as guests of Lord Moira, whose magnificent hospitality is said to have extended 
to leaving cheque-books signed in the rooms of his royal guests, to be filled up at 

their pleasure! 

Wood and water, the flowing river, the church, gently swelling hills, and retired 
valleys, form together a thoroughly English scene, such as indeed our land abounds 
with, but at the same time each possessing a beauty of its own. 

"Paintings by the old masters adorn every room, and the series of portraits of the 
Plantagenet kings, from which the family of Hastings descends, is very valuable." 
Many of these family pictures, from the time of Edward IV. to the present day, are 
of great interest, among them being works by Holbein, Eubens, Vandyke, Jansen, 
Gainsborough, Eomney, Reynolds, etc.; as also busts of Charles X, and his sons, 
presented by them to Lord Moira. 

A private chapel, nearly sixty feet in length by twenty wide, completes the fair 

CHARLES FREDERICK CLIFTON, ESQ., third son of Thomas Clifton, Esq., of Clifton 
aud Lytham, Lancashire, married, April 30th., 1853, Lady Edith Maud Raw don- 
Hastings, and assumed the name and arms of Abney-Hastings only, in compliance 
with the conditions of a settlement of his estate on her Ladyship by Sir Charles 
Abney-Hastings, Bart., in 1844. Lady Edith Abney-Hastings became, on the death 
of her brother, the fourth Marquis of Hastings aud Earl of Loudoun, November 
10th., 1868, tenth Countess of Loudoun, Baroness Farrinyean, Mauchline, and Campbell 
of Loudoun, in the Peerage of Scotland; and in 1871 Her Majesty was graciously 
pleased to call out of abeyance in the Countess' favour the Baronies of Botreaux, 
Hungerford, De Moleyns, and Hastings, in the Peerage of England. The Countess 
died January 23rd., 1874. 

The above-named 




DUNMOEE HOUSE, a handsome structure in the Italian style, stands in the midst of 
a finely timbered park, looking out upon the Frith of Forth, opposite Alloa. The 
scenery is varied, and the views beautiful, including the range of the Ochil hills in 
one direction, and Stirling Castle in another, with the mountains round Loch Katrine 
and Loch Lomond. The Duumore woods are celebrated for their noble pines and 
beeches. The silver firs are remarkably fine. 

Within the circle of the park, which is well stocked with deer, is a pretty Episcopal 
Church, erected in memory of the late Earl, and containing a stained cast window, 
presented by the late Lord Herbert of Lea. Leading to the Church is an avenue 
of Wellingtonias, the seeds of which were brought by Lord Duumore from Sierra 

There are some interesting old pictures in the house. 

This family derives from a branch of that of the Duke of Atholl, as thus 

JOHN MUBRAY, first Marquis of Atholl, by his marriage with the Honourable 
Ameliaua Sophia, daughter of James Stanley, seventh Earl of Derby, had for his 
second son, 

LORD CHARLES MURRAY, Master of the Horso to Queen -Mary, who was raised to 
the Peerage of Scotland August 16th., 1686, under the titles of LOKD MURRAY OF 
married Katherine, daughter of Robert Watts, Esq., and had several children, of 
whom the second and elder son to survive was 

JOHN MURRAY, second Earl, a General in the Army, Governor of Plymouth, and 
one of the Representative Peers of Scotland in 1713. He died unmarried April 
18th., 1752, and was succeeded by his brother, 

WILLIAM MURRAY, third Earl. This nobleman married Catherine, daughter of his 
uncle Lord William Murray, and having become involved in the rebellion of 1745, 
was arraigned for high treason, and pleaded guilty, but obtained the king's most 
gracious pardon. He died in December, 1756, and was followed in the title by his 
eldest son, 


JOHN MURRAY, fourth Earl, one of the Representative Peers of Scotland from 1761 
to 1784. He married, February 21st., 1759, Lady Charlotte Stewart, daughter of 
Alexander Stewart, sixth Earl of Galloway, by whom, who deceased November llth., 
1818, he had a large family, the eldest son being 

GEORGE M0RRAY, fifth Earl, born April 30th., 1762, created a Peer of the United 
Kingdom in 1831, as BAKON DUNMORE OF DUNMORE. He married, August 3rd., 1803, 
Susan, daughter of Archibald Hamilton, ninth Duke of Hamilton. The Earl died 
November llth., 1836, and was succeeded by his eldest son, 

ALEXANDER EDWARD MURRAY, sixth Earl, born June 1st., 1804, who espoused, 
September 27th., 1836, Catherine, daughter of George Augustus Herbert, eleventh 
Earl of Pembroke. He died July 15th., 1845, having had, with three daughters, a 

CHARLES ADOLPHUS MURRAY, born March 24th., 1841. He married, April 5th., 1866, 
Gertrude, third daughter of Thomas William Coke, second Earl of Leicester, and 
had, besides daughters, a son, 

AUGUSTUS EDWARD MURRAY, VISCOUNT FINCASTLE, born April 22nd., 1871, to whom 
His Royal Highness the Prince of Wales was Godfather. 





THIS estate passed from the family of Fastolf, by whom it had before been 
possessed, to that of Wodohouse, in the reign of Henry IV., by the marriage of the 
heiress with Sir John Wodehouse, Knight. 

The old house, which had the honour of a visit from Queen Elizabeth, in one of 
her Royal progresses, was pulled down in the year 1659 by the then proprietor, Sir 
Philip Wodehouso, and the present mansion built on its site. 

Among many objects of interest in the house is a throne erected for the said Queen 
in the great hall. It is covered with crimson velvet, richly embroidered with gold, 
and has the arms, quarterings, and supporters of the family very curiously worked. 

The park is large and beautifully wooded, and has the additional ornament of a 
fine sheet of water of twenty-five acres in extent, and bounded on two sides by a 
small stream. 

Lord Kimberley is a staunch protector of our native birds, and in a letter to me 
from his Lordship some time since he sent me a list of no fewer than one hundred 
and forty-two species which have found a safe home within the bounds of the estate, 
if so we may say of one of them, the Little Auk, which there came to its last resting- 

SIR JOHN WODEHOUSE, Knight, by his marriage with Margaret Fastolf, daughter 
and heiress of Sir Thomas Falstolf, of Kimberley, was father of 

SIR JOHN DE WODEHOCSE, of Kirnborley, M.P. for Norfolk four times in the reigns 
of Henry IV. and Henry V., married Alice Furneaux, and, dying in 1430, left a son, 

HENRY WODEHOUSE, of Kimberley, to whom King Henry V. had stood sponsor. 
He died the year after his father, and was followed by his brother 1 , 

JOHN WODEHOUSE, ESQ., of Kimberley, who was fined for refusing the offer of 
knighthood. He married Constance, daughter and coheiress of Thomas Geddinge, 
Esq., of Icklingham, and widow, first, of Henry Pooley, Esq., and, secondly, of John 
Aleyne, a Baron of the Exchequer. He died in 1465, leaving a son and heir, 

SIK EDWARD WODEHOUSE, of Kimberley, who, by his wife Jane, daughter and heiress 
of Edmund Swathyng, had a son, 

SIR THOMAS WODEHOUSE, of Kimberley. He married for his second wife, Thomasine, 
daughter of Sir Roger Townshend, Knight, of Raynham, and his son was 

SIR ROGER WODEHOUSE, of Kimberley, knighted by Edward VI. in 1548. He 


married, first, Elizabeth, daughter and coheiress of Sir Robert Ratcliffe, Knight, and 
secondly, Elizabeth, daughter of John Drury, Esq., of Besthorpe, and by the former 
had four sons, of whom the eldest, 

THOMAS WODEHOUSE, of Kimberley, M.P., married Margaret, daughter of Sir John 
Shelton, Knight, and by her, who, at his death, in the lifetime of his father, was 
given the dignity of a knight's wife, had a son, 

ROGER WODEHOUSE, of Kimberley, successor to his grandfather, M.P. for Aldborough, 
knighted by Queen Elizabeth, married Mary, daughter of John Corbet, Esq., of 
Sprouston, Norfolk, and left a son and successor, 

SIR PHILIP WODEHOUSE, BART., of Kimberley, Knighted by the Earl of Essex for 
his bravery at the battle of Cadiz, and created a Baronet June 29th., 1611. He 
married Grizell, daughter of William Yelverton, Esq., of Rougham, and widow of 
Hamon L'Estrange, Esq., of Hunstanton, and was succeeded by his son, 

SIR THOMAS WODEHOUSE, BART., of Kimberley, M.P. in the Long Parliament in 
1639-40, who married Blanche, daughter of John, Lord Hunsdon, and left an heir, 
SIR PHILIP WODEHOUSE, BART., of Kimberley, M.P. for Thetford at the Restoration, 
married to Lucy, daughter of Sir Thomas Cotton, Bart., and had an elder son, 

SIR THOMAS WODEHOUSE, knighted by Charles II. in 1666, who married Anne, 
daughter and coheiress of Sir William Armine, Bart., of Osgodby, and dying in 1671, 
in the lifetime of his father, was followed by his son, 

SIE JOHN WODEHOUSE, BART., of Kimberley, heir to his grandfather. He married, 
first, Elizabeth, sister of John, Lord Bingley, and secondly, Mary, daughter of William, 
Lord Lempster, and by the latter had one son, 

SIB ARMINE WODEHOUSE, BART., of Kimberley, M.P. for Norfolk, born in 1714, who 
married, in 1738, Letitia, eldest daughter and coheiress of Sir Edmund Bacon, Bart., 
of Garboldisham Hall. Their eldest son he died in 1759 

SIR JOHN WODEHOUSE, BART., of Kimberley, born in 1741, was elevated to the 
Peerage, October 26th., 1797, as BAKON WODEHOUSE, of Kimberley. He married, in 
1769, Sophia, only child and heiress of the Honourable Charles Berkerley, of Bruton 
Abbey, Somersetshire, and by her, left at his decease, May 29th., 1834, an eldest son, 
JOHN WODEHOUSE, second Baron, born January llth., 1771, who married, November 
17th., 1796, Charlotte Laura, only daughter and heiress of John Norris, Esq., of 
Witton Park and Witchingham, Norfolk, and their eldest son, 

HENRY WODEHOUSE, born in 1799, Lord Lieutenant and Vice Admiral of Norfolk, 
Colonel of the East Norfolk Militia, and High Steward of Norwich Cathedra], married, 
in 1825, Anne, only daughter of Theophihis Thornhaugh Gordon, Esq., of Letton, 
Norfolk, and died April 29th., 1834, having had, successor to his grandfather, who 
died May 29th., 1846, 

JOHN WODEHOUSE, third Baron, born January 7th., 1826, High Steward of Norwich 
Cathedral, married, August 16th., 1847, Lady Florence Fitzgibbon, eldest daughter 
and co-heiress of Richard, third and last Earl of Clare. He was raised to the 
EARLDOM OP KIMBERLEY, June 1st., 1866. The eldest son, 

JOHN WODEHOUSE, LORD WODEHOUSE, born December 10th., 1848, married, June 
22nd., 1875, Isabella Geraldine, daughter of Sir Henry J. Stracey, Bart. 



THE situation of Sandbeck Park is very pleasant, quiet, and retired, and the "tout 
ensemble" of a thoroughly English character. A large herd of deer roam through a 
spacious park adorned with stately trees of ancient growth, while on one side is a 
Large lake, and on another the elegant spire of Laughton-en-le-Morthen Church at 
no great distance comes into view. A handsome private chapel adjoins the house. 

OSBERT DE LUMLET, of Lumley, in the Bishopric of Durham, was father of 

LIULPH DE LUMLET, who married Algetha, daughter of Alfred, Earl of Northumberland. 
Their son was 

UCHTRED DE LUMLEY, from whom descended 

ROGER DE LUMLEY, who married Sybill, daughter and coheiress of Hugh de Morewic* 
a feudal Baron of Northumberland, and was succeeded by his sou, 

SIR ROBERT DE LUMLEY, who married Lucia, one of the three sisters and coheiresses 
of William, Robert, and Thomas de Thweng, Barons Thweng, and his son, 

SIR MARMADUKE DE LUMLEY, Knight, was father of 

ROBERT DE LUMLEY, who died unmarried and a minor in the forty-eighth year of 
the reign of Edward III., and was accordingly followed by his brother, 

SIR RALPH DE LUMLEY, Knight, Deputy-Governor of Borwick-on-T\veed in the fifteenth 
year of Richard II., and summoned to Parliament from 1384 to 1399. He however 
joined in the rebellion of Thomas de Holland, Earl of Kent, was attainted, and died 
on the field of battle. He had married Eleanor, daughter of John, Lord Nevil of 
Raby, and the eldest of his four sons, 

THOMAS DE LUMLEY, who died in 1404, was succeeded by his brother, 

SIR JOHN DE LUMLEY, Lord Lumley, who was actively engaged in the French wars 
of Henry IV. and Henry V., and was slain at the battle of Beauge, in Anjou, April 
13th., 1421, and his only son, 

THOMAS DE LUMLEY, obtained from Parliament in 1461 a reversal of the attainder, 
and was summoned as a Baron from 1461 to 1497, in which year he is supposed to 
have died. He married Margaret, daughter of Sir James Harrington. Their only son, 

SIR GEORGE LUMLEY, Sheriff of Northumberland in the second year of Edward IV., 
married Elizabeth, daughter and heiress of Roger Thornton, Esq., the wealthy merchant 
of Newcastle-on-Tyne. His lordship's eldest son, THOMAS LUMLEY, predeceasing him, 
he was succeeded, in the twenty-third year of Henry VII., by his grandson, 

RICHARD LUMLEY, LORD LUMLEY, who married Anne, daughter of Sir John Conyers, 


K.G., of Hornby Castle, Yorkshire. He died in 1510, and his elder son, 

JOHN LUMLEY, LORD LUMLEY, married Joan, daughter of Henry, Lord Scroope, of 
Bolton, and left an 'only son, 

GEORGE LUMLEY, LORD LUMLEY, who being implicated in the treason of Lord Darcy, 
Sir Thomas Percy, and others, was committed to the Tower, and executed. He 
married Jane, coheiress of Sir Richard Knightley, and his successor, 

JOHN LUMLEY, LORD LUMLEY, was restored in blood by Act of Parliament in 1547. 
He married twice, but having no children, and the reversal of the attainder not 
having applied to his father, the Barony expired, but the estates went to his kinsman, 
SIR RICHARD LUMLEY, Knight, who was raised to the Peerage of Ireland, July 
12th., 1628, as VISCOUNT LUMLEY, of Waterford. He fought under Prince Rupert for 
Charles I., and married Frances, daughter of Henry Shelley, Esq., of Worminghurst 
Park, in Sussex, and having had a son, the HONOURABLE JOHN LUMLEY, who died vita 
patris, was succeeded by his grandson, 

RICHARD LUMLEY, second VISCOUNT LUMLEY, who was ennobled in the Peerage of 
England, May 31st., 1681, as BARON LUMLEY, of Lumley Castle, and further, April 
10th., 1689, VISCOUNT LUMLEY, and, April 15th., 1690, EARL OP SCARBOROUGH. He 
was in command at the Battle of Sedgemoor, when the unfortunate Duke of Monmouth 
was defeated. His Lordship married Frances, only daughter and heiress of Sir Henry 
Jones, of Aston, Oxfordshire, and dying in 1721, was succeeded by his eldest son, 

RICHARD LUMLEY, second EARL OF SCARBOROUGH, K.G., at whose decease, unmarried, 
in 1740, the honours devolved on his brother, 

THOMAS LUMLEY, third EARL OP SCARBOROUGH, who assumed the additional surname 
of Saunderson, by Act of Parliament, in 1723. He married Frances, daughter of 
George, Earl of Orkney, and dying in 1752, was succeeded by his eldest son, 

RICHARD LUMLEY, fourth EARL OP SCARBOROUGH, Deputy Earl Marshal of England, 
who married, December 12th., 1752, Barbara, sister and heiress of Sir George Savile, 
Bart., of Rufford Hall, Nottinghamshire, and left, with other issue, an eldest sou, 

GEORGE AUGUSTA LUMLEY, fifth EARL OP SCARBOROUGH, born September 22nd., 1753, 

who dying unmarried, September 5th., 1807, the succession devolved on his brother, 

RICHARD LUMLEY, sixth EARL OP SCARBOROUGH, born April 16th., 1757, who married, 

May 25th., 1787, Harriett, daughter of Henry, fifth Lord Middleton, and he also 

dying without children, was succeeded by his next brother, 

THE REV. JOHN LUMLEY, seventh EARL OF SCARBOROUGH, Prebendary of York, born 
in 1761. He assumed, under the will of his maternal uncle, the surname of Savile, 
and married, in 1785, Anna Maria, daughter of Julian Herring, Esq., and left at his 
death, February 25th., 1835, with other children, 

JOHN LUMLEY, eighth EARL OP SCARBOROUGH, Lord Lieutenant and Gustos Rotulorum 
of Nottinghamshire, born July 18th., 1788, who died unmarried October 29th., 1856, 
when the inheritance devolved on his cousin (grandnephew of the fourth Earl), 

married, October 8th., 1846, to Mary Adeliza, second daughter of Andrew Robert 
Drummond, Esq., and had several children, the second and surviving son being 





THIS ancient castle derives its name, as is supposed, either from the place having 
been in the old times a home of the raven, or from the Danish standard, which 
bore a figure of the bird, having floated over its walls. 

"When Denmark's ravens o'er the seas 

Their boding black wings spread, 
And o'er the Northumbrian lands and leas 
The gloomy squadrons sped." 

It was well known as early as the year 1080, for here we are told one Eardulf rose 
from the dead to foretell the death of Bishop Walcher and the punishment of his 

A hundred years later Bishop Ranulf granted the manor to his nephew Richard, 
who belonged to the family of the Barons of Fitz-Marmaduke, the last of whom was 
murdered on the old bridge at Durham, and having no children, his sister Eleanor 
conveyed the estate by marriage to a cadet of the Lumleys of Lumley Castle. In 
like manner it went to the Boyntons; next to the Gascoignes; and in the year 1607 
Sir William Gascoigne alienated the property to Thomas Liddell, Esq., ancestor of the 
present family. 

The park contains a fine heronry. 

In 1808 nearly the whole of the old house was pulled down and the present 
mansion begun. 

THOMAS DE LIDDEL, or LYDDALE, married Margaret, daughter of John de Layburne, 
and his eldest son was 

THOMAS LIDDEL, ESQ., an Alderman of Newcastle-on-Tyne. He married Barbara, 
daughter and heiress of Richard Strangeways, Esq., and purchased Ravensworth 
Castle in 1607, in which he was succeeded by his eldest son, 

THOMAS LIDDEL, ESQ., of Ravensworth Castle, who died in 1619, and was followed 
by his eldest son, 

THOMAS LIDDEL, ESQ., of Ravensworth Castle, a zealous supporter of Charles the 
V. D 


First, who was created a Baronet, November 2nd., 1642, for his gallant defence of 
Newcastle against. the Scots. He married Isabel, daughter of Henry Anderson, Esq., 
and had a large family, of whom the eldest son, 

SIB THOMAS LIDDEL, Knight, married Bridget, daughter of Edward Woodward, Esq., 
of Lee, a Maid of Honour to the Queen of Bohemia. He died before his father, who 
deceased in 1650, and the only son, 

SIR THOMAS LIDDEL, BART., of Ravensworth Castle, married Anna, daughter of Sir 
Henry Yane the elder, of Raby Castle, Durham. He died in 1697, and his eldest 
son succeeded him, namely, 

SIR HENRY LIDDEL, BART., of Ravensworth Castle, who married Catherine, daughter 
and heiress of Sir John Bright, Bart., of Carbrook, Derbyshire. His eldest son, 

THOMAS LIDDEL, ESQ., married, in 1707, Jane, eldest daughter of James Clavering, 
Esq., of Greencroft, Durham, and predeceased his father, who died September 9th., 
1723, leaving two sons 

1. Henry Liddel. 

2. Thomas Liddel, whose son, by Margaret, daughter of Sir William Bowes, 
of Gibside, 

HENRY LIDDEL, succeeded as fifth Baronet. 

The elder succeeded his grandfather as 

SIR HENRY LIDDEL, BAET., of Ravensworth Castle, M.P., who was raised to the 
Peerage, June 29th., 1747, by the title of BARON RAVENSWORTH, of Ravensworth Castle. 
His Lordship married, in 1735, Anne, only daughter of Sir Peter Delme, Knight, 
Alderman and Lord Mayor of London, but having no sons, the Barony expired, while 
the Baronetcy went to his nephew, as above mentioned, 

SIR HENRY GEORGE LIDDEL, BART., of Ravensworth Castle, born November 25th., 
1749, who married, in April, 1773, Elizabeth, daughter of Thomas Steele, Esq., of 
Hampsnet, Sussex, and died November 26th., 1796. His elder son, 

SIR THOMAS HENRY LIDDEL, BART., of Ravensworth Castle, born February 8th., 
1775, married, March 26th., 1796, Susannah, daughter of John Simpson, Esq., of 
Bradley, by whom, who died November 22nd., 1845, he had sixteen children, eight 
sons and eight daughters. He was elevated to the renewed title of BARON RAVENSWORTH, 
July 14th., 1821. He died March 7th., 1855, and was succeeded by his son, 

HENRY THOMAS LIDDEL, second BARON RAVENSWORTH, previously M.P. for Northum- 
berland, Durham, and Liverpool, successively, born March 10th., 1797. He was further 
raised in the Peerage as EARL OF RAVENSWORTH and BARON ESLINQTON, March, 1874, 
and married, November 9th., 1820, Isabella Horatia, eldest daughter of Lord George 
Seymour, and their eldest sou, 

HENRY GKORGE LIDDEL, second EARL RAVENSWORTH, Lieutenant-Colonel of the 
Northumberland Yeomanry Cavalry, and M.P. for South Northumberland, born 
October 8th., 1821, married, December 8th., 1852, Mary Diana, only child of Orlando 
Gunning Button, Esq. 



THIS ancient seat was in the olden time the property of the Bromhale family, from 
whom it passed to that of the present owner by the marriage of Alice, daughter 
and heiress of Geoffrey de Bromhale, with John, the second son of Thomas Davenport, 
Esq., of Wheltrough, in the twenty-second year of the reign of Edward the Third. 

With one of his descendants, Peter Davenport, it fared but ill in the time of the 
Civil War. He suffered at the hands both of the Royalists and Parliamentarians. 
The former plundered his household goods to the extent of a hundred pounds, 
consumed his provisions, damaged the house, and, he adds, in a long account of his 
misfortunes which has come down in his own words, "Ate me threescore bushells of 
oates." On the other hand the Roundheads sequestered his property to the extent 
of five hundred pounds, his only offence being the delinquency he had been guilty 
of in allowing himself to be plundered by Prince Rupert's soldiery. He piously 
concludes by saying, "I have already sufficient tryall, referring my future successe to 
the protection of the mighty God of Heaven, who will right me, as I hope, in His 
good time." 

He had good blood in his veins, in the best sense of the word, as appears from 
the following godly remarks worked in tapestry in the "Paradise Room" with her 
own hands, by Dame Dorothy Davenport, wife of Sir William Davenport, whose 
name is inscribed under a carving of the family arms over the fireplace in the Great 
Hall a noble room with the date 1609. 

"Feare God, and sleepe in peace, that thou in Chryste mayoste reste, to passe 
these dayes of sinne, and raigne with him in blisse where angels do remayne, and 
blesse and prayse his name with songs of joy and hapiues, and live with him for 
over. Therefore Lord in thee is my full hope and trust, that thou wilt nice defend 
from sin, the world, and divile, who goethe about to catch poor sinners in their snare, 
and bringe them to that place where greefe and sorrows are. So now I end my 
lynes and worke that hath beene longe to those that doe them reade, in hope they 
will be pleased by me. DOKOTHY DAVENPORT, 1636." 

This fine old mansion stands on a considerable elevation, between two deep valleys 
near the banks of a branch of the Mersey. The first appearance of the building is 
very striking, presenting a long and lofty line of irregular buildings, chiefly of 
timber and plaster, erected about the time of Richard the Third, or the early part 
of the reign of Henry the Seventh, a strong proof of the durability of the materials 


of which it is constructed. It was originally quadrangular, but its western side has 

been removed. . ,, , 

The Great Hall is the oldest part of the house, and a hne specimen of 
decorations and furniture of the Elizabethan age. Prom it a spiral staircase, made 
of solid oak blocks, leads up to the drawing-room, wainscotted nearly to the ceiling, 
beneath which are the armorial bearings of the successive intermarriages with the 
family, the mantelpiece having those of Queen Elizabeth, who is said 
presented it to the Davenports. 

Another room is in the eastern style introduced by the Crusaders, and bears the 
date of 1599. Here we are brought back to the time of the "Fine Old English 

" His hall so old was hung about with swords and guns and bows. 
With pikes and good old bucklers that had stood against old foes,"- 

to wit buff coats, chain armour, etc., etc, and a large piece of tapestry, the work 
of the' good Dame Dorothy. In the centre is an antique bedstead, and here too 
stands an ancient and heavy, but richly carved, cradle, in which the forelders of the 
race have slept the sweet sleep of innocence generation after generation. Also three 
spindles now so out of date, and a venerable clock which has told the inmates ot 
the flight of time. The roof of this room is paneled, the floor of solid oak, and 
the walls laid with the same old English wood. The chairs, drawers, and cabinets 
are all elaborately carved, and the walls are adorned with ancient embroidery-work. 

The banquetting room, forty-two feet long by twenty-one wide, is also lined with 
oak the roof held up by arches, which are decorated with foliage, quatrefoils, and 
rosettes, the windows Gothic, and in the centre of the room is a table of knotted 
maple wood eighteen feet long, and at the end an exquisitely-carved oaken sideboard. 

While some repairs were being made in the building two small rooms were dis- 
covered, supposed to have been intended, as there need be no doubt they were, for 
a hiding-place for the family in the troubles of the Civil War. 

The family crest, "a felon's head, with a knotted halter round the neck/' is accounted 
for as having been borne in tcrrorem on the helmets of those wlio scoured the Peak 
and the Forest to hunt down the numerous gangs of banditti who therein harboured. 

Among the numerous portraits is one of Sir Urian Legh, supposed to be the knight 
of whom I have often read in "Percy's Reliques of Ancient British Poetry,"- 

" Would you hear of a Spanish ladye 

How she wooed an Englishman, 
Garments gay as rich as may be 
Decked with jewels she had on." 

Last, but not least, a private chapel adjoins the house, having over the entrance a 
summary of the Ten Commandments in black letter, and on either side quotations 
from the Fathers. In the east window is a painting of the Crucifixion, and in other 
parts some antique chairs, a curious oak carving, with the rose and the fetterlock, 
the bear and ragged staff, the plume of feathers, and other old remains. 



THIS ancient castle is one of the most venerable edifices in Scotland. 

The central tower is ascended by a staircase of one hundred and forty-three steps; 
on the left of it is a vaulted stone hall, seventy feet in length and twenty-five in 
breadth. At the sides of the windows are curious little rooms, cut out of the thick 
walls. Adjoining the stone hall is the library, and beyond it a room forty-five feet 
long, and two stories high, intended for a drawing-room. Over the stone hall is the 
great hall of the castle, the arched ceiling thirty feet high, and ornamented with 
heraldic blazonry. The date is 1621. By the side of the hall is the Chapel, fitted 
up with dark oak, on which are hung curious paintings of the Apostles and scenes 
from Holy Scripture. The great drawing-room is sixty feet in length by thirty 
wide and twenty-four feet high. Many of the bed-rooms are fitted up with antique 
beds, with velvet hangings, and in some of them the massive chairs are carved and 
gilded. The great kitchen is sixty feet by thirty, and thirty feet high. 

Great alterations were made in this grand old building by Patrick, first Earl of 
Kinghorne, in 1606. 

The Pretender slept here in 1715, and had eighty beds made up for himself and 
his followers. 

JOHN DE LYON, feudal Baron of Forteviot, secretary to Eobert II., had, from the 
king, a grant of the lordship of Glamis in 1371. His son, 

SIK JOHN DE LYON, Great Chamberlain of Scotland, married Lady Jane Stewart, 
second daughter of King Robert II., with whom he acquired the Barony of King- 
horne. He was slain by Sir James Lindsay in 1388, and their son, 

SIR JOHN LYON, of Glamis, married Lady Elizabeth Graham, second daughter of 
Patrick, Earl of Strathern, and dying in 1435, was succeeded by his eldest sou, 

PATRICK LYON, of Glamis, P.C., created a Peer of Parliament, as LORD GLAMIS, in 
1445. He married Isabel, daughter of Alexander Ogilvy, of Auchtorhouse, and was 
followed in succession by the two elder of his three sons, first, 

ALEXANDER LYON, second LORD GLAMIS, at whose decease without children in 1485, 
his next brother succeeded, namely, 

JOHN LYON, third LORD GLAMIS, P.C. His Lordship married Elizabeth, daughter 
of Sir John Scrymgeour, of Dudhope, and died in 1497. His eldest son, 


JOHN LYON, fourth LORD GLAMIS, man-ied Elizabeth, daughter of Andrew, Lord 
Gray, and was succeeded in 1500 by his eldest son. In direct descent after him, 

PATRICK LYON, ninth LORD GLAMIS, Captain of the Guard and of the P.C. to King 
James VI., was created EARL OF KINGHORNE, July 10th., 1606. 

PATRICK LYON, third EARL OP KINGHORNE, P.C., obtained a new charter, making the 
TANNADYCE, SIDLAW, and STKATHICTIE. He married Helen, daughter of John, Earl of 
Middleton, and was succeeded by his sou, 

Elizabeth Stanhope, daughter of Philip, second Earl of Chesterfield, and dying in 
1712, his successor was 

JOHN LYON, fifth EARL OF STRATHMORE AND KINGHORNE, who was slain in rebellion 
in 1715, at the battle of Sheriffmuir. 

THOMAS LYON, eighth EARL OF STRATHMORE AND KINGHORNE, mai-ried in July, 1736, 
Jean, daughter and heiress of James Nicholson, Esq., of West Rainton, Durham, and 
had, with other issue he died in 1753 

JOHN LYON, ninth EARL OF STRATHMORE AND KINGHORNE, married, in 1767, to Mary 
Eleanor, only daughter and heiress of George Bowes, Esq., of Streatlam Castle and 
Gibside, Durham, and assumed in consequence the additional name of BOWES. He 
died in 1776. His son and successor, 

1769, was raised to the Peerage of the United Kingdom as BARON BOWES OF 
STREATLAM CASTLE, July 18th., 1815. He married, July 2nd., 1820, Mary, daughter 
of J. Milner, Esq., of Staindrop, Durham, but died the following day. At his death 
the English Barony expired, and the Scotch Peerage devolved on his brother, 

1773, married thrice, first, January 1st., 1800, to Mary Elizabeth, only daughter and 
heiress of George Carpenter, Esq., of Redbourne, Hertfordshire, and had he died 
August 27th., 1846 a son, 

GEORGE BOWES LYON, LOED GLAMIS, born February 6th., 1801, married, December 
21st., 1820, Charlotte, daughter of Joseph Valentine Grinstead, Esq., and died, in 
his father's lifetime, January 27th., 1834, leaving, with daughters, two sons, who 
succeeded him, namely, 

September 20th., 1822, an officer in the First Life Guards, and a Representative 
Peer. He married, April 30th., 1850, Charlotte Maria, eldest daughter of William 
Keppel, sixth Viscount Barrington, but dying without children, his brother succeeded 

21st., 1824, an officer in the Second Life Guards, married, September 28th., 1853, 
Frances Dora, daughter of Oswald Smith, Esq., of Blendon Hall, Kent, and had a 
large family, of whom the eldest sou, 

CLAUDE BOWES LYON, LORD GLAMIS, D.L. for Forfarshire, Lieutenant in the Second 
Life Guards, was born March 14th., 1855. 

f I 




THE title of "The Garden of England" is, in my opinion, claimed of right by 
the county of Worcester, far more justly than either by Kent or Herefordshire. 
They, no doubt, abound in lovely pastoral scenes, especially the latter, and in richly- 
wooded districts, always so attractive to the eye that loves the country; and no 
doubt also Yorkshire has many a fair prospect and views of a noble character which 
neither of those just mentioned can at all approach, but "take it for all in all," 
Worcestershire must hold the first place for beauty before them or any other 
county. I do not write without the book, for having been for nearly five years at 
Bromsgrove School, I know it well, and in fact it was far more beautiful then than 
even now, for the vast quantity of hedgerow timber, especially of the elm, the tree 
which more than any other gives richness to the landscape, and its fallen leaves fertility 
to the soil, has since then been grievously thinned or entirely removed for the sake 
of better farming, the sad process just begiiming soon after I went from York to 
pass under the loyal motto over the old doorway of the Grammar School of King 
Edward the Sixth, DEO, REGI, VICING, 'for GOD, my King, and my Neighbour.' 
" Florcat semper." 

The Rhydd Court derives its name from a ford across the Severn, the latter, 
perhaps, as I think I have heard, so called from the red colour of the earth on the 
bank of the river. It is a modem building, the old family residence, now unused, 
and called, I believe, Sevenoaks, being about two or three miles away. 

The private chapel, which appears in the view, and is most beautifully fitted up, 
was built by Sir Edmund Lechmere in memory of his first son that died. 

The ancient family of Lechmere is stated to have come originally from the Low 
Countries, and to have had a grant of land from William the Conqueror at Hanley, 
in Worcestershire. 

EDMUND LECHMERE, ESQ., by his wife Margaret, sister of Sir Thomas Overbury, who 
was poisoned in the Tower, was father of 

SIR NICHOLAS LECHMERE, Knight, M.P. for Bewdley, a Baron of the Exchequer at 
the Revolution, who married Penelope, daughter of Sir Edwin Sandys, of Northborne, 
in Kent, and dying in 1701, was succeeded by his elder son, 


EDMUND LECHMERE, ESQ., of Hanley Castle, who married Lucy, daughter of Sir 
Anthony Hungerford, of Farley Castle, in Somersetshire. He died in 1703, having 
had three sons, of whom the eldest, 

ANTHONY LECHMIEE, ESQ., M.P., of Hanley Castle, married Anne, daughter of 
Thomas Foley, Esq., of Stoke Edith, in the county of Hereford, and dying in 1720, 
aged forty-six, left a son, 

EDMUND LECHMERE, ESQ., of Severn End, M.P. for Worcestershire, married, first, 
to Elizabeth, daughter of Sir Blundel Charlton, Bart., of Ludford, (whose son, 
Nicholas Lechmere, born in 1733, inherited the Charlton estate, and assumed that 
additional surname), and, secondly, Elizabeth, daughter of the Rev. John Whitmore, 
of Fenny Compton, Warwickshire, and by her left at his decease, in 1805, a son, 

SIR ANTHONY LECHMERE, born November 2nd., 1766, created a Baronet October 
2nd., 1828. He married, first, May 15th., 1787, Mary, daughter and heiress of Joseph 
Berwick, Esq., of Hallow Park, Worcestershire, and had, with other childi-en, an 
elder son, 

SIR EDMUND HUNGERFORD LECHMERE, BART., born May 25th., 1792, who married, 
in 1819, Maria Clara, daughter of the Honourable David Murray, and Maid of Honour 
to the Queen, and had, with two daughters he died April 2nd., 1856 a son, 

SIR EDMUND ANTHONY HARLEY LECHMERE, BART., born December 8th., 1826, of the 
Rhydd, Worcestershire, High Sheriff of the County in 1862, Knight Commander of 
the Order of St. John of Jerusalem, and of the Medjidie, married, September 30th., 
1858, to Louisa Rosamond, only surviving child and heiress of John Haigh, Esq., 
of Whitwell Hall, Yorkshire, a house the hospitalities of which I have often received, 
and had, with other children, an eldest son to survive, 

EDMUND ARTHUR LECHMERE, born September 21st., 1865. 



ASKE HALL, about two miles from Richmond, in Yorkshire, is beautifully situated 
on rising ground, with a large extent of wood behind it, and overlooking a beautiful 
and fertile vale, with the Cleveland and Hambledon hills in the far distance. 

The house is built of stone and much covered with ivy. It consists of a centre 
and two long wings, with a court-yard behind. From one of the wings rises a 
handsome old Border Tower. 

The estate was purchased by Sir Lawrence Dundas from the last Earl of Holderness 
in the year 1760. 

Of the family of Dundas of Dundas, Lord Woodhouselee wrote that it is one "to 
which the historian and the genealogist have assigned an origin of high antiquity 
and splendour, but which has been still more remarkable for producing a series of 
men eminently distinguished for their public services in the highest offices of 

JAMES DUNDAS, of Dundas, by Christian, his wife, daughter of John, Lord Inner- 
meath and Lorn, was father of 

ALEXANDER DUNDAS, of Fingask, who married Eupham, daughter of Sir Alexander 
Livingston, of Callendar, and died in 1451, in prison at Dumbarton Castle, where 
he had been confined by the hostility of the Earl of Douglas. His son, 

ALEXANDER DUNDAS, of Fingask, married Isabel, daughter of Laurence, Lord 
Oliphant. He fell on the fatal field of Flodden, in 1513, and was succeeded by his 
eldest son, 

ALEXANDER DUNDAS, of Fingask, who married Elizabeth, daughter of Sir David 
Bruce, of Clackmannan, and was slain at the battle of Pinkie. His eldest son, 

ARCHIBALD DUNDAS, of Fingask, living in the time of James VI., and of much 
influence, was followed by his son, 

WILLIAM DUNDAS, of Fingask, who married, in 1582, Margaret, eldest daughter and 
coheiress of Sir David Carnegie, of Clouthie, but having no children, his brother 
succeeded him, namely, 

ARCHIBALD DUNDAS, of Fingask, who married for his first wife, Jane, daughter of 
Sir David Carnegie, by his second wife Eupham, and his eldest son and heir was 

SIR JOHN DUNDAS, of Fingask, a devoted Royalist, knighted by King Charles the 
v. E 


First, at Dunferrnline, in 1633. He married, first, Anne, daughter of Sir John 
Moncrief, of that ilk, but had no children. He married, secondly, Margaret, daughter 
of James Dundas, of Dundas, by whom he had an only son, who succeeded him in 
1670, as 

JOHN DUNDAS, of Pingask, who married Magdalen, daughter of Thomas Allardice, 
of Allardice, and was followed in 1724 by his son, 

THOMAS DUNDAS, of Fingask. He married Berthea, daughter of John Baillie, of 
Castlecarry, and had two sons, 

THOMAS, the elder, his heir, and the younger, 
The second son, 

LAWRENCE DUNDAS, ESQ., of Kerse, Commissary-General and Contractor to the Army 
from 1748 to 1759, was created a Baronet November 16th., 1762. He married 
Margaret, daughter of Major Alexander Bruce, of Kennet, and left, at his decease in 
1781, an only son, 

SIR THOMAS DUNDAS, born in 1741, who was raised to the Peerage, August 13th., 
1794, as BARON DUNDAS, of Aske, in the county of York. He married, May 24th., 
1 764, Lady Charlotte Fitzwilliam, second daughter of William, third Earl Fitzwilliam, 
and had, with nine other children, an eldest son, 

LAWRENCE DUNDAS, second BARON DUNDAS, born April 10th., 1766, who was further 
created EARL OF ZETLAND in 1838. His Lordship, Lord Lieutenant and Vice Admiral 
of Orkney and Zetland, and an Alderman of the City of York, married, April 21st., 
1794, Harriot, daughter of General John Hale, of King's Walden, Hertfordshire, and 
had twelve children, of whom were he died February 19th., 1839 
Thomas Dundas. 

Lawrence Dundas, born in 1799, died in 1818. 
William Dundas, born in 1806, died in 1815. 

John Charles Dundas, M.P. for Richmond, Lord Lieutenant of Orkney and 
Zetland, born August 21st., 1808, married, March 27th., 1843, to Margaret 
Matilda, daughter of James Talbot, Esq., of Maryville, Wexford, Ireland, 
and died February 14th., 1866, having had, with other children, an eldest 
The eldest son, 

THOMAS DUNDAS, second EARL OF ZETLAND, K.T., Lord Lieutenant of the North 
Riding of Yorkshire, and Grand Master of the Freemasons of England, born February 
5th., 1795, married, September 6th., 1823, Sophia Jane, youngest daughter of Sir 
Hedworth Williamson, Bart. She died May 21st., 1865, and his Lordship May 6th., 
1873, without children, when the title and estates went to his nephew, 

LAWRENCE DUNDAS, third EARL OF ZETLAND, of the Royal Horse Guards Blue, D.L. 
of Stirlingshire, born August 16th., 1844, married, August 3rd., 1871, Lady Lilian 
Lumley, third daughter of the Earl of Scarborough, and had, with other children, 

1. THOMAS DUNDAS, LORD DUNDAS, born January 19th., 1874, and died 

February llth., 1875. 




I MAY repeat hore the remark I made in preceding volumes of this work, in writing 1 
of Balmoral and afterwards of Sandringhara, as to how little their names were formerly 
known in comparison with the world-wide fame they since have gained. Once not 
heard of at all beyond their immediate neighbourhood, now they are universally 
household words with every one wherever the English language is spoken, and even 
far more widely. 

So with Hughenden. Had it not been for its illustrious owner, it might have 

remained as "unnoticed and unknown" as the forelders of the parish themselves who 


"Each in his narrow cell for ever laid," 

aleop in. the quiet retirement of the "Country Churchyard'' of the place in which 
they lived and died. 

"The breezy call of incense-breathing morn, 

The swallow twittering from the straw-built shed, 
The cock's shrill clarion or the echoing horn, 

No more shall ronse them from their lowly bed." 

They are gone, but "the earth abideth for ever," and their place, though it knows 
them no more, has itself become indissolubly united with the name of its owner, 
who has made it famous, the home of an English Country Gentleman, as one of the 
most distinguished statesmen that has ever been at the head of the Government of 
England to guide the affairs of the nation. 

I take the following particulars from Burke's "Peerage and Baronetage:" 

"The family of Disraeli settled first in Spain and then in Venice. 

"BENJAMIN DISUAELI came to England in the year 1746. He married in 1765, 
Sarah Villareal de Seproot, a family branch of the Villareals of Portugal, by whom 
he had an only child, 

"IsAAC DISRAELI, ESQ., D.C.L., of Bradenham Manor, Buckinghamshire, the well-known 


author of the "Curiosities of Literature/' who married Maria, daughter of George 
Basevi, Esq., of Brighton, originally of a Venetian family, and had four children, 

RALPH DISRAELI, Deputy Clerk of Parliament, married Katherine, daughter 
of Charles Trevor, Esq., and had a son, 

CONINGSBY DISRAELI, born in 1862. 
JAMES DISRAELI, Commissioner of Her Majesty's Inland Revenue, died in 

December, 1868. 

SAKAH DISRAELI, died unmarried-. 
"The eldest son, 

Hugheuden, in the County of Buckingham, K.G., P.C., LL.D., D.C.L., FIRST LORD 
OF THE TREASURY, and LORD PRIVY SEAL, a Commissioner of Education for Scotland, 
a Member of the Committee of Council on Education, an Elected Trustee of the 
British Museum, and an Elder Brother of the Trinity House, married, August 28th., 
1839, Mary Anne, widow of Wyndham Lewis, Esq., M.P., of Greenmeadow, in the 
county of Glamorgan, only daughter of Captain John Viney Evans, R.N., of Bampford 
Speke, Devonshire, and niece, and eventual heiress, of General Sir James Viney, K.C.H., 
of Taignton Manor, in the county of Gloucester. This Lady was created, November 
30th., 1868, VISCOUNTESS BEACONSFIELD, of Beaconsfield, Buckinghamshire, but died 
without issue, December 15th., 1872, when the title became extinct. 

"Author, orator, and statesman, the Earl of Beaconsfiold is pre-eminently distinguished 
in literature and politics. He was M.P. for Maidstone from 1837 to 1841; for 
Shrewsbury from 1841 to 1847; and for Buckinghamshire from 1847 to 1876. He 
held office as Chancellor of the Exchequer from March to December, 1852; from 
February, 1858, to June, 1859; and from June, 1866, to February, 1868. He was 
FIRST LOKD OF THE TREASURY from February to December, 1868, and from February, 
1874, till now. He was elevated to the Peerage, having previously declined the 
honour, August 21st., 1876, and made a Knight of the Garter, in July, 1878." 



IN very old times this most beautiful place was the seat of the family of Tregoth 
a Cornish one, we may be sure, for 


" By Pol, and Tre, and Pen, 
You may know the Cornish men " 

They held it till the middle of the fourteenth century, when it was conveyed by 
Johan, the heiress of John de Tregothnan, the last of this ancient house, to John 
de Boscawen, ancestor of the present noble owner, himself descended from the family 
of Boscawen, of Boscawen-Rose, a manor and lordship possessed by them in the 
reign of King John. 

The park, which is well stocked with deer, extends over a range of fertile hills, 
rising rather abruptly from the eastern side of the river Fal, and, as may well be 
supposed, a series of charming views extends from it in all directions. 

The house is a very fine one. The great staircase, which is forty-two feet high, 
occupies the large central tower. Around it are the drawing-room, fifty-four feet 
long by twenty-eight feet wide, the breakfast room, dining room, billiard room, and 
study. The library opens to the drawing-room and the last-named. 

From the above-named 

BOSCAWEN OP BOSCAWEN-ROSE, Cornwall, in the reign of King John, descended 

JOHN DE BOSCAWEN, in 1334, who married, as already stated, Johan, daughter and 
heiress of John de Tregothnan, of Tregothnan, with whom he acquired the estate, 
and, dying in 1357, was succeeded by his elder son, 

JOHN DE BOSCAWEN, of Tregothnan, who married Johan, daughter and heiress of 
Otho de Abalanda. His descendant, 

HUGH BOSCAWEN, of Tregothnan, paid a fine of four marks for not attending the 
coronation of Queen Mary, October 1st., 1553. He married Philippa, daughter and 
coheiress of Nicholas Carminau, of Carminau, and their third son eventually continued 
the line, namely. 


NICHOLAS BOSCAWEN, of Tregothnan, who married Alice, daughter and heiress of 
John Trevanion, Esq., of Trevanion, and dying in 1626, was succeeded by his only 

HUGH BOSCAWEN, ESQ., of Tregothnan, M.P. for the county of Cornwall, married to 
Margaret, daughter of Eobert Eolle, Esq., of Heanton Satchville, Devonshire, and 
had eleven children, of whom the eldest son, 

NICHOLAS BOSCAWEN, of Tregothnan, a Parliamentarian, died sine prole, and was 
followed by his next brother, 

HUGH BOSCAWEN, ESQ., of Tregothnan, who married Margaret, daughter and coheiress 
of Theophilus Clinton, Earl of Lincoln, and had eight sons, who all died childless, 
and two daughters, so that the representation of the family thus devolved on the 
fifth surviving brother, 

EDWARD BOSCAWAN, ESQ., of Tregothnan, a Member of the Restoration Parliament. 
He married Jael, daughter of Sir Francis Godolphin, K.B., and his eldest son was 

HUGH BOSCAWAN, ESQ., of Tregothnan, Warden of the Stanneries, Comptroller of 
the Household, and a P.C. in 1714, created, June 9th., 1720, VISCOUNT FALMOUTH, 
and BARON OF BoscAWEN-RosE. He married, April 23rd., 1700, Charlotte, elder 
daughter and coheiress of Charles Godfrey, Esq., and dying October 25th., 1734, 
their eldest son succeeded, 

HUGH BOSCAWEN, second VISCOUNT FALMOUTH, a General Officer in the Army, and 
Captain of the Yeoman of the Guard. He married, May 6th., 1736, Hannah Catherine 
Maria, widow of Richard Russell, Esq., and daughter of Thomas Smith, Esq., of 
Worplesden, but having no children, was followed, February 4th., 1782, by his 

GEORGE EVELYN BOSCAWEN, third VISCOUNT FALMOUTH, married, in 1784, to Elizabeth 
Anne, only daughter and heiress of John Crewe, Esq., of Bolesworth Castle, Cheshire, 
and had, with other issue, 

EDWARD BOSCAWEN, fourth VISCOUNT FALMOUTH, born May 10th., 1787, created EARL 
or FALMOUTH, July 14th., 1821. He married, August 27th., 1810, Frances, elder 
daughter of Henry Bankcs, Esq., of Kingston House, Dorsetshire, and was succeeded 
at his death, December 29th., 1841, by his son, 

Steward of Wallingford, at whose decease, unmarried, August 29th., 1852, the Earldom 
became extinct, and the other honours went to his cousin, 

EVELYN BOSCAWEN, born March 18th., 1819, married, July 29th., 1845, to Mary 
Frances Elizabeth Stapleton, in her own right BARONESS LE DESPENCER, the eldest 
of their children being 

EVELYN EDWAED THOMAS BOSCAWEN, born July 24th., 1847, Lieutenant-Colonel of the 
Coldstream Guards, Assistant Military Secretary to the Commander-in-Chief in Ireland. 



THIS is yet another of those places whose celebrity is entirely owing to the owner, 
whose own fame made it famous. We may, in truth, rather say, its maker, or its 
founder, than its owner, for time was when it scarce had an existence, a mere farm 
house being all that then was of what now is ABBOTSFORD. The wand of the 
Enchanter of the North called it into being, and a fair spot indeed it is, as I can 
truly say, having seen it myself. 

Now, well wooded on all sides, it was, when he first bought it, a mere moor "sae 
black and bare," the only "thing of beauty" about it being the noble river Tweed, 
which flows adown in front of the house: 

Labitur et labetur in omne volubilis aavum, 

and its waters carry, and will carry, to the sea, to be then borne to every quarter 
of the earth, the never-to-be-forgotten and worthy name of WALTER SCOTT. 

SIB WALTER SCOTT, of an ancient Scotch family of that name, the author of 
Waverley and of Ivanhoe, born August 15th., 1771, married, December 21th., 1797, 
Margaret Charlotte, daughter of Jean Charpentier, of Lyons, a devoted Royalist 
daring the French Revolution, and by her, who died May 14th., 1826, had 

1. WALTER, his heir. 

2. CHARLES, of Brasenose College, Oxford, attached to the British Embassy 

in Persia, died unmarried at Teheran, in 1841. 

3. CHARLOTTE SOPHIA, married, April 28th., 1820, to John Gibson Lockhart, 

Esq., Editor of the Quarterly Review, son of the Rev. John Lockhart, D.D., 
and died May 17th., 1837, having had 

1. A son, died young. 

2. WALTER LOCKHART, who took the name of SCOTT. 


4. ANNE LOCKHART, died unmarried, June 25th., 1833. 
Sir Walter Scott died September 21st., 1832. 

The eldest son to. survive, 


SIK WALTER SCOTT, second Baronet, of Abbotsford, Lieutenant-Colonel in tho 
Fifteenth Hussars, born October 28th., 1801, married, February 3rd., 1825, Jane, 
daughter and heiress of John Jobson, Esq., of Lochone, Fifeshire, and died at the 
Cape of Good Hope, February 8th., 1847, when the Baronetcy became extinct, and 
the estate devolved on his nephew, 

WALTEK SCOTT LOCKHAET-SCOTT, ESQ., of Abbotsford, a Cornet of Dragoons, born 
in 1827, died unmarried, January 10th., 1853, aged twenty-six, when he was succeeded 
by his sister, 

CHARLOTTE HARRIET JANE LOCKHART, of Abbotsford, who married, August 19th., 
1847, James Robert Hope, Esq., Q.C., who took the additional name of SCOTT, and 

WALTER MICHAEL, born June 2nd., 1857, died December llth., 1858. 
MART MONICA, next representative of the family. 
MARGARET ANNK, died unmarried. 
The elder daughter, 

MART MONICA HOPE-SCOTT, of Abbotsford, married, July 21st., 1874, the Honourable) 
Joseph Constable- Maxwell, Lieutenant in the Rifle Brigade, born January 16th., 
1847, third son of William, Lord Herries, and had, with other children, a son, 
WALTER JOSEPH HOPE-SCOTT, born April 10th., 1875. 



THIS family, of French origin, has been of knightly degree ever since the time of 
the Norman Conquest, when it came in with William, in the person of 


SIR JOHN D' WYVILL, Knight, had a son, who married a daughter of Sir John 
Fnlthorpe, Knight, and had 

OLIVER D' WYVILL, father of 

SIR EGBERT D' WYVILL, Knight, whose son, 

SIR MARMADUKE WYVILL, Knight, married, in the reign of Edward I., a daughter 
of Sir John Elton, Knight, and had a son, 

ROBERT D' WYVILL, followed by 

SIR THOMAS WYVILL, Knight, whose successor, 

SIR THOMAS WYVILL, Knight, married a daughter of Sir Randulf Palmer, Knight, 
and was succeeded by his son, 

SIR MARMADUKE WYVILL, Knight, father of 

ROBERT WYVILL, ESQ., whose son, 

SIR RICHARD WYVILL, Knight, was slain at Towton in 1461, fighting on the sido 
of Henry VI., and his estate was forfeited to Edward IV. His son, 

CHRISTOPHER WYVILL, married a daughter of Richard Lassels, Esq., and left a son, 

ROBERT WYVILL, ESQ., father of 

ROBERT WYVILL, ESQ., who married Anne, daughter of Sir John Norton, Kuiglit, 
and was followed by his son, 

SIR MARMADUKE WYVILL, Knight, M.P. for Ripon in 1553, by whose first wife, of 
three, Agues, daughter and heiress of Sir Ralph Fitz-Randolph, Knight, of Speuni- 
thorue, he left a son, 

CHRISTOPHER WYVILL, ESQ., tempore Queen Mary, married Margaret, daughter of 
the Hon. John Scroope, younger son of Henry, Lord Scroope of Bolton, and had ;i 
son and heir, 

MARMADUKE WYVILL, ESQ., Knighted by Queen PJlizabeth, and created a Baronet 
by King James I., November 25th., 1611. His wife was Magdalen, daughter of Sir 
Christopher Danby, Knight, of Thorpe, in Yorkshire, and their oldest son, 

CHRISTOPHER WYVILL, aged fifty in 1612, married Jane, daughter of Sir Robert 
Stapleton, Knight, of Wighill, near York, but dying in the lifetime of his father, his 
elder son succeeded to the Baronetcy, ns 

v. v 


SIR MARMADUKE WYVILL, of Constable Burton, High Sheriff of Yorkshire in the 
9th. of Charles I. He was a zealous Royalist, and was twice plundered by Cromwell, 
and then compelled to pay 1,343 as composition for his estates. He married Isabel, 
daughter and heiress of Sir William Gascoigne, Knight, of Sedberg, Yorkshire, and 
had, with several other sons and eight daughters, he died in 1648, a successor, 

SIR CHRISTOPHER WTVILL, of Constable Burton, M.P. for Richmond, Yorkshire, at 
the Restoration. He married Ursula, eldest daughter of Conyers, Lord Darcy, created 
Earl of Holderness, and had, with other issue, an heir, 

SIR WILLIAM WTVILL, of Constable Burton, born in 1645, who married Anne, only 
daughter of James Brooke, Esq., of Ellingthorpe, in Yorkshire, and had two sons 
and two daughters. 

1. MARMADUKB WYVILL, his heir. 

2. D'ARCT WYVILL, who died at Derby, January 5th., 1734, leaving three 


1. WILLIAM WYVILL, who settled in America, and died there about the 

year 1750, leaving a son, 

MARMADUKE WYVILL, whose existing representative, if any, would 
be heir to the Baronetcy, if it is not barred by alienage. 

2. EDWARD WYVILL, who married, December 18th., 1737, Christian 

Catherine, daughter of William Clifton, Esq., of Edinburgh, and 
died March 12th., 1791, leaving an only son, 
CHRISTOPHER WYVILL (of whom hereafter). 

3. HALE WYVILL, of York, married, and had issue. 

SIR MARMADUKE WYVILL, of Constable Burton, M.P. for Richmond, 7, William III. 
arid 1, Queen Anne, became a Commissioner of Excise. He married Henrietta Maria, 
daughter of Sir Thomas Yarburgh, Knight, of Balne Hall and Snaith, and their eldest 
sou, he died in October, 1772 

SIR MARMADUKE WYVILL, of Constable Burton, born in 1692, married Carey, daughter 
of Edward Coke, Esq., of Holkham, Norfolk, but having 110 children, was succeeded, 
1753-4, by his nephew, 

SIR MARMADUKE ASTY WYVILL, of Constable Burton, who died unmarried, at Bath, 
February 23rd., 1774, and was succeeded in the estates by his distant cousin, 

THE REV. CHRISTOPHER WYVILL, grand-nephew of the fifth Baronet. He married, 
first, Elizabeth, sister of Sir Marmaduke, just named, and had no issue to survive, 
but by his second wife he had 

MARMADUKE WYVILL, ESQ., of Constable Burton, J.P. and D.L., twice M.P. for York, 
born February 14th., 1791, married, December 13th., 1813, Rachel, daughter of Richard 
Slater Milnes, Esq., of Fryston Hall, M.P. for York, and had, with other children, 

MARMADUKE WYVILL, ESQ., of Constable Burton, M.P. for Richmond, Yorkshire, 
and D.L. for the North Riding, married, in 1845, Laura, daughter and heiress of 
Sir Charles Ibbetson, Bart., of Denton Park, which he thus acquired, and had, besides 
other issue, 

MAUMADUKE D'ARCY WYVILL, J.P. and D.L. for the East Riding, who married, in 
1871, Isabella, eldest daughter of J. B. Price, Esq. 



HERE was anciently a small Priory of Black Canons of the Order of St. Augustine, 
and at the dissolution of the monasteries by King Henry the Eighth, the site and 
lands were granted by the Crown to Sir John Horsey, of Clifton, in Dorsetshire, 
and to the then Earl of Hertford, from whom it was purchased a few months after- 
wards by Sir John Thynne, in whose family it has since continued. 

The house is two hundred and twenty feet long, by one hundred and eighty wide, 
and sixty feet in height. 

The library, besides a good collection of books, contains some rare and curious 

The principal portraits are those of Camden, Sir Philip Sidney, Lord Bacon, the 
Prince de Conde, Cardinal Richelieu, Gustavus Adolphus, "the Lion of the North," 
whom one can scarcely help connecting now with Sir Walter Scott's Captain Dalgetty, 
Lord Falkland, Philip Earl of Pembroke, Lady Arabella Stuart, Bishop Ken, Charles 
the First, Charles the Second, Mary Queen of Scots, Father Paul, Chaucer, Shakespeare, 
Ben Jonson, Dryden, Petrarch, Dr. Harvey, Sir Kenelm Digby, Viscount Dundee, 
a Duke of Buckingham, and Martin Luther, with others. 

The original name of the Thynnes was Bouteville, or Boteville, one of whom, 
John Bouteville, living in the time of the wars of the Roses, from his residing in one 
of the Inns of Court, came to be called John of the Inn, or Ynne, from whence the 
transition to Thynne. 

In 1575 Queen Elizabeth visited Sir John Thynue at Longleat. In 1663 King 
Charles the Second was magnificently entertained here; and in 1789 George tho 
Third and Queen Charlotte honoured the host with a visit. 

SIR GEOFFRY BOTEVILLE was ancestor of 

SIR WILLIAM BOTEVILLE, who died in 1256. Seventh in descent after him was 

JOHN BOTEVILLE, or THYNNE, as above stated, who nourished in the reign of King 
Edward IV. His eldest son, 

RALPH BOTEVILLE, or THYNNE, married Joan, daughter of John Higgons, of Stretton, 
and had two sons, the elder of whom. 


THOMAS THYNNE, of Stretton, married Margaret, daughter of Thomas Bynes, Esq., 
of Stretton, arid was succeeded by his eldest son, 

SIK JOHN THYNNE, who began the building of Longleat in January, 1567. He 
married, first, Christian, daughter of Sir Richard Gresham, Knight, and secondly, 
Dorothy, daughter of Sir William Wroughton, of Broad Hinton, Wiltshire. His 
eldest son was he died May 21st., 1580 

SIB JOHN THYNNE, of Longleat, married to Joan, yonngest daughter of Sir Rowland 
llayward, Knight, Lord Mayor of London, and left a son, 

SIB JOHN THYNNE, Knight, of Longleat, who married, first, Maria, daughter of 
George, Lord Audley, and secondly, Catherine, daughter of Charles Howard, Esq. 
Their eldest son to survive, 

SIR HENRY FREDERICK THYNNE, of Kempsford, was created a Baronet June 15th., 
1641. He married Mary, daughter of Thomas, first Lord Coventry, and had three 
sons?, the youngest of whom, 

HENRY FREDERICK THYNNE, married Dorothy, daughter and coheiress of 
Francis Phillips, Esq., of the Inner Temple, and dying in 1705, left a son, 
THOMAS THYNNE, who married Lady Mary Villiers, daughter of Edward, 
first Earl of Jersey, and died in 1710, leaving a posthumous son, 
THOMAS THYNNE, who succeeded as second Viscount Weymouth. 

The eldest son, 

SIR THOMAS THYNNE, having sat in Parliament for several years, was raised to the 
Peerage, December llth., 1682, as BARON THYNNE, of Warminster, in Wiltshire, 
and VISCOUNT WEYMOUTH, with remainder to his brother in case of his dying without 
an heir. He married the Honourable Frances Finch, daughter of Heneage, second 
Earl of Winchilsea, and had an only son, who however having died without male 
issue, his father was succeeded at his death, July 28th., 1714, by his grandnephew, 

THOMAS THYNNE, second VISCOUNT WEYMOUTH, who married for his second wife, in 
1733, Lady Louisa Cartaret, daughter of John, Earl Granville. The elder of his sons, 

THOMAS THYNNE, K.G., third VISCOUNT WEYMOUTH, born 1734, was elevated, August 
18th., 1779, to the MARQUESATE OP BATH. He married, May 22nd., 1759, Lady 
Elizabeth Cavendish Beutinck, eldest daughter of William, second Duke of Portland, 
by whom he left at his death, November 10th., 1796, an eldest son, 

THOMAS THYNNE, K.G., second MARQUIS OF BATH, born January 25th., 1765, Lord 
Lieutenant of Somerset, F.S.A., and F.L.S., married, April 24th., 1794, Isabella 
Elizabeth, third daughter of George, Viscount Torringtou, by whom he had a large 
family, of whom the eldest son to survive, 

HENRY FREDERICK THYNNE, Captain R.N., and third MARQUIS OP BATH, born May 
24th., 1797, married, April 19th., 1830, Harriet, daughter of Alexander Baring, first 
Lord Ashburton. He died June 24th., 1837, leaving an elder son, 

JOHN ALEXANDER THYNNE, fourth MARQUIS OF BATH, born March 1st., 1831, married, 
August 20th., 1861, the Honourable Frances Isabella Catherine, eldest daughter of 
Thomas, third Viscount de Vesci, and had, with other children, 




AT an early period this estate belonged to the Lords of Glynde, from whom it 
passed, by the marriage of their heiress, to the family of Walley. With them it 
remained for five generations, till it was carried, by a coheiress, to Morley, of Win- 
nington, in Lancashire, and yet again, about the year 1680, by the marriage of the 
widow of John Morley, to John Trevor, eldest son of Sir John Trevor, Secretary 
of State to King Charles the Second. In 1745, John Trevor, dying without issue, 
bequeathed the place to his first cousin, who afterwards became Bishop of Durham. 
From this family it passed to Major-General the Honourable Henry Otway Brand. 

Glynde is built in the Elizabethan style, and commands an extensive view of the 
Weald of Kent. The date of 1569 is inscribed under a coat of arms over the gate- 
way of the western front, but the house was greatly improved by Mr. Trevor when 
residing there, before he became Bishop of Durham. 

THOMAS BRAND, ESQ., of The Hoo, in the county of Hertford, married, April 20th., 
1771, the Honourable Gertrude Roper, sister and heiress of Charles Trevor-Roper, 
eighteenth Lord Dacre, and had by her, who died October 3rd., 1819 -he died 
nineteenth Lord Dacre, February 24th., 1794 


The elder sou, 

THOMAS BKANU, twentieth LORD DACRE, born March 24th., 1774, married, December 
4th., 1819, Barberina, widow of Valentine Wilmot, Esq., of Farnborough, Hampshire, 
and daughter of Admiral Sir Chaloner Ogle, Bart., but died without children, March 
21st., 1851, when he was succeeded by his brother, 

HENRY OTWAY BRAND, C.B., twenty-first LORD DACRE, a Lieuteuant-General in the 
army, and Colonel of the Thirty-first Regiment, distinguished in the Peninsular War, 
born July 27th., 1777, married, July 24th., 1806, to Pyne, eldest daughter of the 
Honourable and Reverend Dean Crosbie, and sister of Lord Brandon, by whom he 




Sussex, P.C., M.P. for the County of Cambridge, and SPEAKER or THE 
HOI'SK or COMMONS, born December 24th., 1814, married, April 16th., 
1838, Eliza, daughter of General Robert ElKce, and had ten children, 
of whom the eldest son, 

HEN BY ROBERT BKANP, D.L. for Sussex, Captain in the Cokbtreani 
Guards, M.P. for Hertfonlshire, born in 1841, married, first, January 
_M#t.. 18&4, Victoria Alexandrina Leopoldine, daughter of his 
Excellency Silrain Van de Weyer, Belgian Minister of State, Enroy 
Extraordinary and Minister Plenipotentiary at the Court of St. 
James's, which lady died July 20th., 1865. He married, secondly, 
April 14th., 18t>8, Susan Henrietta, younger daughter of Lord George 
Cavendish, s>n of the fourth Duke of Devonshire, and had with 
other children, 

THOJUS WALTEK BKASD, born January i>th., 1869. 



THE vale oE Lankydrock is remarkably beautiful. The house, which derives its 
name from it, stands in a fine park, which is approached by an avenue of ancient 
sycamores, nearly half a mile in length. A gallery, one hundred and sixteen feet 
long, occupies the north side of the mansion. 

The manor in the olden time belonged to the Glynns, and after remaining with 
them for some descents, devolved, by the marriage of the heiress of the family, to 
the Lyttletons. In the like manner it next went, in default of a male heir to the 
house of Trenance. The next change of hands was in 1620, when the estate was 
bought by Sir Richard Robartes, Knight, who became a Baronet in 1621, and was 
advanced to the Peerage in 1624, by the title of BARON ROBARTES, of Truro. "This 
last dignity," says Sir Bernard Burke, iu his Visitation of Seats and Arms, "is 
stated to have been forced upon him by the favourite, Buckingham, who compelled 
him to purchase the unsought honour at an expense of ten thousand pounds. The 
story, however, rests on no better or more solid foundation than the general evil 
character of Buckingham iu all such matters." 

His son, John, Lord Robartes, was a general on the side of the Parliament iu 
the great Civil War, and garrisoned the house for a few days in the summer of 1644. 

The Royal cause then coming for a time into the ascendant, it was taken by Sir 
Richard Grauville, oil whom the king bestowed it; but in the year 1646 the wheel of 
fortune went round again, and the Parliament restored it to Lord Robartes. He, 
however, now warmly espoused the cause of Charles the Second, and came into such 
high favour with His Majesty, that he advanced him to the several dignities of 
Lord Privy Seal, Lord Lieutenant of Ireland, and President of the Council, and in 
1679 he was made Viscount Bodmin and Earl of Radnor. 

The sister of the third Earl of Radnor, the Honourable Mary Vere Robartes, married 
Thomas Hunt, Esq., of Mollington, and the place thus passed to the Honourable Mrs. 
Agar, grand-daughter of the Earl, from whom it descended to the present family. 

Among the family pictures is one of the first Earl of Radnor. 

CHARLES A OAR, ESQ., of Yorkshire, married Ellis, daughter of Peter Blanchville, 


Esq., of the county of Kilkenny, in Ireland, and settling at Gowran, in that county, 
died there, February 14th., 1696, and was succeeded by his son, 

JAMES AGAR, ESQ., of Gowran Castle. By his second wife, Mary, dnugVer of Sir 
Henry Wemyss, Knight, of Danesfort, Kilkenny she died in 1771, aged 106 he 
had, with other children, (one, a son, George Agar, created, June 6th., 1790, LORD 
CALLAN, and a daughter, Ellis Agar, created, August 1st., 1758, COUNTESS OF BRANDON,) 
an elder son, 

HENEY AGAR, ESQ., M.P., in 1727, for the Borough of Gowran, who married, in 
May, 1733, Anne, only daughter of the Right Honourable Welbore Ellis, Bishop of 
Meath, and had, with other children, (the third sou, Charles Agar, Archbishop of 
Dublin, was created EARL OP NORMANTON in 1806,) an eldest son, 

JAMES AGAR, ESQ., of Gowran Castle, many years M.P. for Kilkenny, created BARON 
CLIFDEN, July 27th., 1776, and VISCOUNT CLIFDEN, January 12th., 1781. He married 
Lucia, eldest daughter of John Martin, Esq., and widow of the Honourable Henry 
Boyle Walsingham, second son of Henry, Earl of Shannon, and had, besides his heir 
to the title, a third son, 

THE HONOURABLE CHARLES BAGENAL AGAR, who married, as above stated, in 1804, 
Anna Maria, only daughter and heiress of Thomas Hunt, Esq., of Mollington Hall, 
Cheshire, and sole heiress of her great uncle. Henry Robartes, third Earl of Radnor, 
by whom he left at his decease, June 16th., 1811, 

THOMAS JAMES AGAR.ROBARTES, M.P. for East Cornwall, born March 18th., 1808, 
married, January 8th., 1839, to Juliana, daughter of the Right Honourable Reginald 
Pole-Carew, of Antony, in Cornwall. He assumed the additional surname of ROBARTES, 
and was created a Peer of the United Kingdom, December 13th., 1869. He had, 
by his marriage, an only child, 

and married, April 24th., 1878, to Mary, daughter of Francis Henry 
Dickenson, Esq., of Kingsweston, Somersetshire. 



WILLIAM ROBINSON, Lord Mayor of York in 1581 and 1594, and twice M.P. for 
that city, namely, in 1584 and 1588, was father of he died in 1616, aged ninety-four 

WILLIAM ROBINSON, Lord Mayor of York in 1619. He died before October 20th., 
1626. His son, 

SIK WILLIAM ROBINSON, Knight, served the office of High Sheriff of the County in 
1638. He married, first, Mary, one of the coheiresses of Sir William Bamborough, 
of Howsham, Yorkshire, but by her had no surviving issue. He married, secondly, 
Frances, daughter of Sir Thomas Metcalfe, Knight, of Nappa, in the same county, 
and their eldest son, 

METCALFE ROBINSON, ESQ., was created a Baronet, July 30th., 1660, and was Member 
for York in several successive Parliaments. He married Margaret, daughter of Sir 
William D'Arcy, of Witton Castle, Yorkshire, but dying sine prole in 1689, the title 
expired, and the estates went to his nephew, 

WILLIAM ROBINSON, ESQ., who had the Baronetcy revived in 1689, in which year 
also he was Sheriff of Yorkshire. He was Lord Mayor of York in 1700, and M.P. 
for that city from 1697 to 1722. He married Mary, daughter of George Aislabie, 
Esq., of Studley Royal, and was succeeded, in 1736, by his eldest sou, 

SIR METCALFE ROBINSON, BART., who died a few days afterwards, and the title 
devolved on his brother, 

SIR TANCRED ROBINSON, BART., an officer in the Royal Navy, and who attained the 
rauk of Rear- Admiral of the White. He was twice Lord Mayor of York, in 1718 
and 1738. He married Mary, only daughter and heiress of William Norton, Esq., 
of Dishforth, Yorkshire, and had nine children. The eldest son, 

SIR WILLIAM ROBINSON, BART., married Dorothy, daughter of John Thoruhill, Esq., 
of Stanton, but died without children, March 4th., 1770, when he was followed by 
his brother, 

SIR THOMAS ROBINSON, BART., Secretary to the Embassy to Paris, and afterwards 
employed in various diplomatic capacities, sworn of the Privy Council in 1750, and 
in 1754 constituted one of the principal Secretaries of State, which office ho held till 
1755. He was raised to the Peerage as BARON GRANTHAM, April 7th., 1761, and 
afterwards appointed one of the Postmasters-General of Great Britain and Ireland. 
He married Frances, daughter of Thomas Worsley, Esq., of Hovingham, in the 
v. o 


county of York, and dying, September 30th., 1770, was succeeded by his elder son, 
SIR THOMAS ROBINSON, second BARON GRANTHAM, born November 30th., 1738. He 
was, successively, Ambassador to the Court of Spain in 1771, First Lord-of- Trade in 
1770, and Secretary of State for Foreign Affairs in 1782. He married, August 17th., 
1780, Mary Jemima, second daughter and coheiress of Philip, second Earl of Hard- 
wk-ke, by Jemima, Marchioness de Grey, by whom he had two sons, 

He first took the name of Weddell in lieu of that of Robinson, and afterwards, on 
succeeding to his aunt, assumed the name and arms of DE GREY. 

2. FREDERICK JOHN ROBINSON, born November 1st., 1782, First Lord of the Treasury, 
1827 to 1828, created VISCOUNT GODERICH, April 28th., 1827, and afterwards Secretary 
of State for the Colonies, and Lord Privy Seal, was further advanced to the EARLDOM 
OF RIPON, April 13th., 1833. He married, September 1st., 1814, the Honourable 
Sarah Albinia Louisa Hobart, only daughter, and eventually coheiress, of Robert, 
fourth Earl of Buckinghamshire, and left at his death, January 28th., 1859, with a 
daughter, Eleanor Henrietta Victoria, deceased, October 31st., 1826, a son, 

EAKL DE GREY, and created MARQUIS OF RIPON, June 23rd., 1871; High Steward of 
Hull, Honorary D.C.L. of Oxford, and for some time President of the Council. He 
married, April 8th., 1851, Henrietta Ann Theodosia, eldest daughter of Captain and 
Lady Mary Vyner, and granddaughter of Earl de Grey, and had, with a daughter, 
Mary Sarah, died an infant, a son, 

FREDERICK OLIVER ROBINSON, EARL DE GREY, born January 29th., 1852, M.P. for 




"THE mansion stands on a gentle eminence, and is a very spacious and elegant 
building; its south, or principal front is about three hundred feet long. 

"The grounds are extensive, and contain a variety of sylvan beauties; but the 
most prominent feature in the landscape is the lake, which spreads its waters over 
an extensive surface, and is adorned with several islands, planted with fine forest 
trees, spreading their immense branches in a wild and luxuriant manner. 

"The various prospects are extremely picturesque, embracing among other objects 
the town and church of High Wycombe, the mausoleum near the Church of West 
Wycombe, and the meandering river, with the delightful vale, in which the former 
are situated." 

The family of Dashwood is stated to have been originally seated in Dorsetshire, 
and to have migrated thence into Somersetshire. 

SAMUEL DASHWOOD, ESQ., of Rowdon, in the parish of Stogmnber, Somersetshire, 
married twice, first, September 2nd., 1600, Elizabeth Sweetinge. Their second son, 

FRANCIS DASHWOOD, ESQ., was a Turkey Merchant, and an Alderman of London. 
He married Alice Sleigh, and had, with six daughters, two sons, of whom the 

FRANCIS DASHWOOD, ESQ., was created a Baronet, June 28th., 1707, and was Member 
for Winchelsea, in Parliament. He was married four times, his second wife being 
Mary, daughter of Vere, fourth Earl of Westmoreland, and eventually one of the 
coheiresses of the Barony of Le Despencer, and had a son, FRANCIS, second Baronet. 
His third wife was Mary, daughter of Major King, and by that lady he had a son, 
JOHN, who became third Baronet, and assumed the name of King. Sir Francis died 
November 4th., 1724, and was buried at Wycombe. His eldest son, 

SIR FRANCIS DASHWOOD, second Baronet, born in December, 1708, succeeded to the 
Baronry of Le Despencer, in right of his mother, in 1762, and was summoned to 
Parliament, April 19th., 1763. He was at one time at the head of the War Office, 
and afterwards Master of the Wardrobe, and filled the office of Chancellor of the 
Exchequer from May 29th., 1762, to April 16th., 1763. He married Sarah, daughter 
and heiress of Thomas Gould, Esq., and widow of Sir Richard Ellys, Bart., but having 


no children, the Barony fell into abeyance at his death, December llth., 1781, and 
the Baronetcy devolved on his half-brother, 

SIR JOHN DASHWOOD-KING, third Baronet, born in August, 1716, who assumed the 
additional surname by Act of Parliament in 1742. He married Sarah, daughter of 
Blundell Moore, Esq., and had, with three other children, an elder son he died 
December 6th., 1793 

SIK JOHN DASHWOOD, fourth Baronet, who married, in 1789, Mary Anne, daughter 
of Theodore Henry Broadhead, Esq. He was succeeded at his demise, October 22nd., 
1849, by his eldest son, 

SIR GEORGE HENRY DASHWOOD, fifth Baronet, born in 1790, married, but had no 
issue. He was followed by his next surviving brother, 

SIR JOHN RICHARD DASHWOOD, sixth Baronet, who was born in 1792, and dying 
unmarried, September 24th., 1863, was succeeded by his nephew, (son of the next 
brother, Edwin Dashwood, of the Royal Horse Guards, married, in 1821, to Emily, 
daughter of the Rev. Robert Hare, of Hurstmonceaux, Sussex, and died in 1846,) 

SIR EDWIN HARE DASHWOOD, seventh Baronet, of West Wycombe, Buckinghamshire, 
of the Tenth Regiment, born September 27th., 1825, married, October 25th., 1853, 
to Roberta Henrietta, daughter of Sir Robert Abercromby, Bart., of Birkenbog, and 
had, with other children, an eldest son, 

EDWIN ABEECROMBY DASHWOOD, born at Nelson, New Zealand, October 28th., 



THE present mansion of Mershaui-le-Hatch was begun by Sir Wyndham Knatchbull, 
the sixth Baronet, and finished by his uncle, Sir Edward, the seventh Baronet. It 
is stated that three million bricks were used in its erection, and yet that it cost only 

The estate was purchased in the reign of King Henry the Seventh, the family 
having previously lived for a long period at Leinne, in Kent. 

JOHN KNATCHBULL was living tomporo Edward III., and from him descended 

RICHARD KNATCHBULL, ESQ., who married Agnes, daughter of Robert Brent, and 
died in 1523. His great-great-grandson was 

SIR NORTON KNATCHBULL, Knight, M.P. for Kent, High Sheriff of the county in 
the fifth year of James I., and M.P. for Hythe. He married three times, but having 
no children, was succeeded by his nephew, 

NORTON KNATCHBULL, ESQ., (son of Thomas Knatchbull, Esq., by his wife Eleanor, 
daughter and coheiress of John Astley, Esq., of Maidstone,) who was created a 
Baronet, August 4th., 1641. His first wife was Dorothy, daughter of Thomas 
Westrow, Esq., Citizen and Sheriff of London. He died in 1G84, and was succeeded 
by his eldest son, 

SIR JOHN KNATCHBULL, second Baronet, married Jane, daughter and heiress of Sir 
Edward Monins, Baronet, of Waldershare, and had twelve children, three of them 
sons, who all died issueless before himself. He died in 1696, and was succeeded by 
his brother, 

SIR THOMAS KNATCHBULL, third Baronet, who married Mary, daughter of Sir Edward 
Bering, Bart., and left a son and successor, 

SIR EDWARD KNATCHBULL, fourth Baronet, M.P. for the County of Kent. His wife 
was Alice, daughter of John Wyndham, Esq., of Nonington, Wiltshire, and they 
had, with other children, an elder son, who, at his death, 1730, succeeded him as 

SIR WYNDHAM KNATCHBULL, fifth Baronet, who married Catherine, daughter of James 
Harris, Esq., of Salisbury, and dying in 1749, was followed by 


SIB WYNDHAM KNATCHBULL, sixth Baronet, who also died unmarried, in 1763, when 
the title reverted to his uncle, 

SIB EDWAKD KNATCHBULL, seventh Baronet. This gentleman married Grace, second 
daughter of William Legge, Esq., and had several children, of whom the only 
surviving son, 

SIR EDWARD KNATCHBCLL, eighth Baronet, M.P. for Kent for several years, married, 
first, in 1780, to Mary, daughter and coheiress of William Weston Hugessen, Esq., 
of Provenders, Kent, and had a son himself dying September 21st., 1819 

20th., 1781, married, first, August 25th., 1806, to Aunabella Christiana, daughter of 
Sir John Honywood, Baronet, and had several children. He died May 24th., 1849, 
his eldest son being 

SIR NORTON JOSEPH KNATCHBULL, tenth Baronet, born July 10th., 1808. He married, 
May 31st., 1831, Mary, eldest daughter of Jesse Watts-Russell, Esq., of Ham Hall, 
Staffordshire, and by her had issue, with five daughters, two sons, both of whom 
succeeded to the title. The elder at his death, February 2nd., 1868, became 

SIR EDWARD KNATCHBULL, eleventh Baronet, a Barrister-at-Law. He was born 
April 26th., 1838, and dying unmarried, May 30th., 1871, was succeeded by his 

SIR WYNDHAM KNATCHBULL, twelfth Baronet, also a Barrister, M.P. for East Kent, 
born August 9th., 1844. 



THE mansion of Aldby Park is a fine building in the early Italian style, built in 
the reign of George the First, after designs by Sir John Vanbrugh, and completed 
in 1726. The wings were added to by the then proprietor about the year 1855. It 
stands in a deer park of moderate size, and is very pleasantly situated on the bank 
of the river Derwent. It has two fronts of the same general appearance, the material 
being brick with white quoin stones. There are many remarkably fine beech trees 
in the park, such as Tityrus might have reposed under on a fine summer's day, 
besides a great variety of others, such as the chesnut, poplar, sycamore, oak, pine, 
and elm, the avenue leading to one front of the house being of the last-named, and 
of ancient growth. There is also another long avenue of fine old wide-spreading 
beech trees, some of those spoken of above, leading to one of the entrances. 

About a couple of miles away, on another side and part of the property, is 
Buttercrambe Moor, a natural wildness of wood and water, of several hundred acres 
extent, well known as to botanists and others, and where I have often myself passed 
a few hours, in days gone by, in looking after natural objects, in the quiet enjoyment 
of so thoroughly retired a place. 

Buttercrambe Bridge crosses the Derwent just below the terraces which fall from 
the house on that side. 

In the female line the family descends from Jane Darley, who became the heiress 
of the estate on the death of her four brothers, two of whom died bachelors, and 
the other two were supposed to have been poisoned at Aleppo, in Syria. 

In the male line it derives from 

HENRY BREWSTER, ESQ., who by his marriage with the said heiress became the 
proprietor. Their son, 

HENRY BREWSTER DARLEY, ESQ., of Aldby Park, who took the latter additional 
surname, married, first, Elizabeth, elder daughter of Sir Charles Anderson, Bart., of 
Broughton, Lincolnshire, and had a sou, 
JOHN DAELEY, who died young. 
He married, secondly, a daughter of Henry Wilks, Esq., and their sou, 


HENRY DARLEY, ESQ., of Aldby Park, married Elizabeth, daughter of E. Lewis, 
Esq., of the county of Glamorgan, and dying in 1810, left 

HENRY DARLEY, ESQ., of Aldby Park, J.P. and D.L., High Sheriff of Yorkshire, 
1827, born August 17th., 1777, married, June 23rd., 1803, Mary Anne, daughter of 
T. Martin, Esq., of Newington, Surrey, and had issue 


2. CHARLES ALBERT DARLEY, of Burtonfield, near Stamford- Bridge, J.P., D.L., 

born June 17th., 1811, married, in August, 1836, Mary Anne, youngest 
daughter of the Rev. William Nesfield, Rector of Brancepeth, Durham, 
and had with other children (she died in 1879), 

3. ALFEED HOBATIO DARLEY, J.P., born January 23rd., 1813, married Elizabeth, 

third daughter of Colonel Clervaux Chaytor, of Spennithorne, Yorkshire, 
and had issue. 

4. HELEN DARLEY, married to Captain George Bridge, of the Third Foot. 

5. AEABELLA SOPHIA DAELEY, married, in 1839, to Christopher Chaytor, Esq., 

of Spenuithorne. 

The eldest son, 

HENRY BEEWSTEE DARLEY, ESQ., of Aldby Park, J.P V born November 26th., 1809, 
married, March 5th., 1832, Harriet Louisa, youngest daughter of Harrington Hudson, 
Esq., of Bessingby Hall, Yorkshire, by his wife, Lady Anne Townshend, daughter of 
George, fourth Viscount Townshend, and left, with other issue, an eldest son, 

HENBY DAELEY, ESQ., of Aldby Park, of the Fifth Dragoon Guards, who married 
first, in 1863, Charlotte, third daughter of James Atty, Esq., of Rugby, and secondly 
she died in 1864 Rosamond, daughter of Sir George (Strickland) Cholmley, Bart., 
and had, with other children, 




THIS magnificent seat stands on a knoll in view of the confluence, at about half a 
mile distant, of the rivers North Esk and South Esk, each of which gives a title to 
a nobleman of Scotland. 

In ancient times there was a castle here, the residence of the family of Morton. 

The park, of about eight hundred Scotch acres, surrounded by a wall, is adorned 
with a quantity of oak and other fine timber. 

The estate has been held by the family of the Dukes of Buccleuch since the year 

JAMES, DUKE OP MONMOUTH, K.G., illegitimate son of Charles II., by Lucy, daughter 
of Richard Walters, Esq., of Haverfordwest, Pembrokeshire, married, in 1663, ANNE, 
COUNTESS OP BUCCLEUCH, and assumed the name of Scott. He and his Countess were 

JAMES SCOTT, EARL OP DALKEITH, married Henrietta, second daughter of Laurence 
Hyde, Earl of Rochester, and was father of 

FRANCIS SCOTT, second DUKE OP BUCCLEUCH, who obtained a restoration of the 
Earldom of Doncaster, and Barony of Scott of Tynedale, held by his grandfather the 
Duke of Monmouth, and married, April 5th., 1720, Lady Jane Douglas, eldest daughter 
of James, second Duke of Queensberry, by whom he had 

FRANCIS SCOTT, EARL OP DALKEITH, who dying before him, the successor to the titles, 
at his decease, April 22nd., 1751, was his son, by his Countess, Caroline, eldest 
daughter and coheiress of John, second Duke of Argyll and Greenwich, 

HENRY SCOTT, third DUKE OP BUCCLEUCH, K.G., and K.T., born September 13th., 
1746. His Grace, at the decease of the Duke of Queeusberry without issue, December 
23rd., 1810, succeeded to that Dukedom, the Marquesate of Dumfriesshire, the 
Earldom of Drumlanrig and Sanquhar, the Viscountcy of Nith, Thortholwold, and 
Ross, the Lordship of Douglas, of Kinmont, Middlebie, and Dornock, with the Barony 
of Drumlanrig. He married, in 1767, Elizabeth, daughter of George, Duke of Mon- 
tagu, by whom he had, with five other children, 

v. H 


QUEENSBERRY, K.T., born May 24th., 1772, who had been summoned to Parliament 
as Baron Tynedale. He married, March 23rd., 1795, the Honourable Harriet Katheriue 
Sydney, youngest daughter of Thomas, first Viscount Sydney, and died April 20th., 
1819. His second surviving sou was 

K.G., P.C., D.C.L., A.D.C. to the Queen, Captain-General of the Royal Company of 
Archers, Lord Lieutenant and Sheriff Principal of Midlothian and Roxburghshire, 
Colonel of the Edinburgh Militia, High Steward of Westminster, born November 
25th., 1806, married, August 13th., 1829, Lady Charlotte Anne Thynne, youngest 
daughter of Thomas, second Marquis of Bath, K.G., and had, with other children, 
Lord Lieutenant of Dumfriesshire, born September 9th., 1831, married, 
November 22nd., 1859, Lady Louisa Jane Hamilton, third daughter of 
James, first Duke of Abercorn, K.G., their eldest son being 
WALTER HENRY SCOTT, LORD ESKDALE, born January 17th., 1861. 



DAVID PERCEVAL, Lord of the Manors of Tykenham, Rolleston, etc., in the county 
of Somerset, married Alice, daughter of Thomas Bythemore, of Overwere, and dying 
in 1534, his second son to survive, 

GEORGE PERCEVAL, ESQ., of Tykenham, etc., married Elizabeth, daughter of Sir Edward 
Bamfylde, of Poltimore, Devonshire, and dying about 1599, left, with one daughter, 
a son, 

RICHARD PERCEVAL, ESQ., married, for his second wife, Alice, daughter of John 
Sherman, Esq., of Ottery St. Mary, iu the county of Devon, and dying in 1620, 
was succeeded by their son, 

SIR PHILIP PERCEVAL, Knight, married to Catherine, daughter of Arthur Usher, Esq. 
The elder son succeeded him at his death, November 10th., 1647, namely, 

SIR JOHN PERCEVAL, Knight, who was created a Baronet of Ireland, September 9th., 
1661, by patent, with the following unique clause, that "The eldest son, or grand- 
son, shall exist a Baronet, after the ago of twenty-one years, at the same time with 
the father or grandfather." He married Catherine, daughter of Robert Southwell, 
Esq., of Kingsale, and died at the age of thirty-six, succeeded by his eldest son, 

SIR PHILIP PERCEVAL, second Baronet, who died unmarried September llth., 1680, 
when the title devolved on his brother, (the third son, the second having been 
assassinated, June 5th., 1677, in the Strand, London, by some unknown hand), as 

SIR JOHN PERCEVAL, third Baronet, who married Catherine, daughter of Sir Edward 
Dering, Bart., of Surrenden Dering, Kont, and was followed by his eldest son, he 
having died September llth., 1686, 

SIR EDWARD PERCEVAL, fourth BARONET, who died in his ninth year in 1691, when 
the title went to his brother, 

SIR JOHN PERCEVAL, fifth Baronet, a P.C. of Ireland, and M.P. for several years 
in the Irish House of Commons, when he was raised to the Peerage of Ireland, by 
patent dated April 21st., 1715, as BARON PERCEVAL, of Burton, in the county of 
Cork, and further was created VISCOUNT PERCEVAL, of Kanturk, in the same county, 
February 25th., 1722. In 1732 ho obtained a charter to colonise the province of 
Georgia, in America, and being nominated president of it, was advanced to the 
EARLUOM OP EGMONT in the Irish Peerage, November 6th., 1733. His Lordship 


married in 1710, Catherine, eldest daughter of Sir Philip Parker a Morley, Bart., 
of Erwarton, in Suffolk, by whom he left, at his death, May 1st., 1748, a successor, 

JOHN PERCEVAL, second EARL OF EOMONT, born February 24th., 1710-11. He 
married, first, February 15th., 1737, the Honourable Catherine Cecil, second daughter 
of James, fifth Earl of Salisbury, and secondly, January 26th., 1756, Catherine, 
daughter of the Honourable Charles Compton, who was created a Peeress of Ireland, 
May 19th., 1770, as BARONESS ARDEN, of Lohort Castle. By his first wife, he left 
at his death, December 20th., 1772, an eldest son, 

JOHN JAMES PEKCEVAL, third EARL OF EGMONT, born January 23rd., 1738, who married, 
June 4th., 1765, Isabella, only daughter and heiress of Lord Nassau Paulett, third 
son of Charles, second Duke of Bolton, and left, at his decease, February 25th., 
1822, an only son, 

JOHN PERCEVAL, fourth EARL OF EGMONT, born August 13th., 1767, who married, 
March 10th., 1792, Bridget, only daughter of Lieutenant- Colonel Glynne Wynne, 
and by her left, at his death, December 31st., 1835, an only son, 

23rd., 1841, when he was succeeded in the family honours by his cousin, (grandson 
of the second wife of the second Earl), 

GEORGE JAMES PERCEVAL, BARON ARDEN, an Admiral on the Retired List, born 
March 14th., 1794, who thus became sixth EARL OF EGMONT. He had married, July 
24th., 1819, Jane, eldest daughter of John Hornby, Esq., of The Hook, Hampshire. 
He died without children, August 2nd., 1874, when the honours devolved on his 

CHARLES GEORGE PERCEVAL, D.L. for Surrey, M.P. for Midhurst, (son of the Rev. 
Charles George Perceval, Rector of Calverton, in Buckinghamshire), who thus became 
LOVEL AND HOLLAND, born June loth., 1845, married, May 4th., 1869, to Lucy, 
daughter of Henry King, Esq. 

It is a curious fact which I have noticed in writing out the above account, that 
no fewer than six of the wives of successive representatives of this family bore the 
same Christian name of Catherine. 

I 1 , 



LATHOM belonged at the time of the Domesday Survey to Orm, a Saxon, from 
whom the parish of Ormskirk Orni's Church derived its name. 

His descendants took the name of Lathom from the place, and held it till the 
eventual heiress, Isabella de Lathom, married Sir John Stanley, in whose family it 
remained for several hundred years. In the end the daughter and coheiress of the 
ninth Earl of Derby, Henrietta, Lady Ashburnham, sold it to Henry Furness, Esq., 
from whom it was purchased, in 1724, by Sir Thomas Bootle, of Melling, Chancellor 
to the Prince of Wales, as stated below, by whom the present magnificent house 
was re-built. It stands in the centre of a noble park between three and four miles 
in circumference. 

SIR RICHARD DE WILBUEGHAM, Lord of Wymincham, was High Sheriff of Cheshire 
in the 43rd. of Henry III. His second wife was Letitia, second daughter and co- 
heiress of Sir William Venables, of Wymincham. He died in the 2nd. of Edward 
I. His son, 

WILLIAM DE WILBURGHAM, Lord of Radnor, also married twice, his first wife being 
Christiana, sister and coheiress of Richard Crosby. The eldest son, 

WILLIAM DE WILBURGHAM, died in the 26th. of Edward the Third, and was succeeded 
by his son, 

RALPH DE WILBURGHAM, of Radnor, who married to his firgt wife Felicia, daughter 
of John de Hulme, and had a son, his successor, 

THOMAS DE WILBURGHAM, of Radnor, aged twenty-two or upwards at the time of 
his father's decease in 1388. He married Margery, daughter of Thomas de Leighes, 
and dying in the llth. of Henry IV., was succeeded by his son, 

THOMAS DE WILBURGHAM, of Radnor, who married Margaret, daughter and heiress 
of John Golborne, Lord of Woodhey. By this lady he had six sons, of whom the 
second was 

RANDULPU WILBRAHAM, ESQ., who married Alice ? and dying, March 2nd., 

1548, was succeeded by his eldest son, 

RALPH WILBRAHAM, ESQ., living in the reign of King Henry the Eighth, who married 
Elizabeth, daughter of Sandford, of the county of Lancaster. The second of his 
three sons, 


RICHARD WILBEAHAM, ESQ., of Nantwich, born in 1528, was married, first, to Eliza, 
daughter of Thomas Maisterson, Esq., of that place, and secondly, to Margaret, widow 
of Alexander Elerch, Esq. He died in 1612. His eldest son, 

EICHAED WILBEAHAM, ESQ., Barrister at Law, and Common Sergeant of the City of 
London, married, in 1584, Elizabeth, daughter of Sir Thomas Puleston, Lord Mayor 
of London, and dying in the lifetime of his father, his son succeeded, 

THOMAS WILBEAHAM, ESQ., of Nantwich, who married, in 1619, Rachel, daughter 
and sole heiress of Joshua Clive, Esq., of Huxley, and had, with other issue, his 
successor at his decease, 

ROGER WILBEAHAM, ESQ., of Nantwich, born in 1623. He was one of the intended 
Knights of the Royal Oak. He married Alice, daughter of Roger Wilbraham, Esq., 
of Dorfold, by whom, who died of grief for the loss of her two eldest sons, he had 
among other children surviving, 

RANDLE WILBEAHAM, ESQ., of Nantwich, who served the office of High Sheriff of 
Cheshire in 1714. He married Mary, daughter of Sir Richard Brooke, Bart., of 
Norton. Their second son, 

RANDLE WILBEAHAM, ESQ., LL.D., of Rode Hall, Deputy High Steward of the 
University of Oxford, and M.P., married Dorothy, only daughter of Andrew Kenrick, 
Esq., of Chester, and was succeeded by his only surviving son, 

RICHARD WILBEAHAM, ESQ., of Rode Hall, M.P. for Chester, who married Mary, 
daughter and sole heiress of Robert Bootle, Esq., of Lathom House, and assumed 
that additional sirname, under the will of his wife's uncle, Sir Thomas Bootle, Knight, 
Chancellor to H.R.H. Frederick Prince of Wales. Of this marriage, the eldest son, 

EDWARD BOOTLE- WILBEAHAM, ESQ., of Lathom House, M.P., born March 7th., 1771, 
was created BAEON SKELMEESDALE January 30th., 1828. He married, April 19th., 
1796, Mary Elizabeth, daughter of the Rev. Edward Taylor, of Bifrous, Kent, and 
by her, who died June 2nd., 1840, left, with other children, he died April 3rd., 
1853, an eldest son, 

1801, married, May 22nd., 1832, Jessy, third daughter of Sir Richard Brooke, Bart., 
of Norton, and died May 5th., 1844, leaving, with other issue, 

EDWARD BOOTLE- WILBRAHAM, second LORD SKELMERSDALE, of Skelmersdale, in the 
County Palatine of Lancaster, P.C., and a Lord in Waiting on Queen Victoria, created 
EARL LATHOM in 1880, married Alice, second daughter of the Earl of Clarendon, and 
had, with other issue, 





THE situation of this place is very pleasant, among the Dorsetshire Downs, or 
Wolds as they would be called in Yorkshire, formerly all grass, but now mucli 
ploughed up in many parts of the former county, and almost entirely in the latter. 

There is a good view of it from the old coach road between Southampton and 
Dorchester, now however supplanted by the railroad, the change in its way as great 
as that between the Downs as they used to be, and as in so many parts they are 
now; the former scene certainly by far the most picturesque. 

ROBERT SMITH, ESQ., Mayor of Exeter in 1469, was ancestor of 

JOHN SMITH ESQ., (younger brother of Sir George Smithe, Knight, Sheriff of 
Exeter in 1583, and of Devonshire in 1615,) father of 

ROBERT SMITH, ESQ., of Ilminster, married Alice, daughter of . Their second 


GEORGE SMITH, ESQ., of Woolham, in Somersetshire, died in 1700, leaving, with 
other issue, a son and heir, 

JOHN SMITH, ESQ., of West Dawlish, Somersetshire, who left, with other children, 

HENRY SMITH, ESQ., of New Windsor, Berkshire, who married Mary, daughter of 
John Hill, Esq., and died January 31st., 1768, leaving an older son, 

JOHN SMITH, ESQ., born April 10th., 1744, who served the office of High Sheriff 
of Dorsetshire in 1772, and was created a Baronet June 1st., 1774. He married, 
first, Elizabeth, daughter and heiress of Robert Curtis, Esq., of Wilsthorpe, Lin- 
colnshire, by whom he had, 

SIR JOHN WYLDBORE SMITH, second Baronet, born May 19th., 1770, who married, 
May 13th., 1799, Elizabeth Ann, second daughter and co-heiress of the Rev. James 
Marriott, D.C.L., of Horsmonden, in Kent, and by her had issue, (he died September 
3rd., 1862,) with several other children, an eldest son, 

SIR JOHN JAMES SMITH, third Baronet, born April 10th., 1800, and married, 
November llth., 1828, to Frances, eldest daughter of John Frederick Pinney, Esq., 
of Somerton, Somersetshire, but had no issue. He died September 3rd., 1862, and 
was succeeded by his brother, 


THE EBV. SIR WILLIAM MARRIOTT SMITH, fourth Baronet, bom August 31st., 1801. 
He had assumed by sign manual, iu 1811, the additional sirname of Marriott. He 
married, first, December 29th., 1825, Julia Elizabeth, fourth daughter of Thomas Law 
Hodges, Esq., of Hemsted, Kent, and had, with other issue he died October 4th., 

SIB WILLIAM HENRY SMITH-MARRIOTT, fifth Baronet, born August 7th., 1835. He 
married, December 12th., 1868, Dorothea Eliza, daughter of the Honourable Richard 
Cavendish, of Thornton Hall, Buckinghamshire, his eldest son being 
WILLIAM JOHN SMITH, ESQ., born November 6th., 1870. 



ORME was father of 

GOSPATRIC, whose son, 

THOMAS, having had a grant of the Lordship of Culwen, his descendants assumed 
that name. It came first to be written as at present in the reign of King Henry 
VI. The family however became extinct in the male line by the death of 

HENRY CURWEN, ESQ., in the year 1778, whose daughter carried the estate to the 
family of Christian, as presently stated. 

The old mansion was built in the reign of William Rufus, by Patric de Culwen, 
and was castellated in 1379, pursuant to a Royal licence granted by King Richard 
II. to Sir Gilbert de Culwen. 

It has in times since been mainly rebuilt, the oldest portion being the gateway in 
the centre of the tower. 

The house stands on a finely-wooded eminence overlooking the river Derwent, and 
with fine views of the Solway and the opposite coast of Scotland. 

It was near to this that Queen Mary landed, in 1568, after her escape from 
Lochleven Castle, and the then defeat of her followers. Readers of Sir Walter Scott's 
Redgauntlet will well remember the stirring events in which Herries was engaged in 
her behalf, after his first appearance on tho scene, under the guise of leistering 
salmon on tho banks of the Firth. 

The family of Christian belonged to the Isle of Man. 

WILLIAM M' CHRISTEN, a member of the House of Keys in 1422, was ancestor of 

WILLIAM M J CHRISTEN, of Milntown, father of 

EWAN CHRISTIAN, ESQ., of Milntown, made Demster of the Isle of Man in 1605, 
whose son, 

JOHN CHRISTIAN, ESQ., of Milntown, living in 1643, was father of, by Margaret 
his wife, daughter of John Parker, Esq., of Bradkirk, Lancashire, 

EDWARD CHRISTIAN, ESQ., of Milntown, Demster of the Isle of Man, who married 
Dorothy, sister of Edward Wilson, Esq., of Dallam Tower, Westmoreland, and their 

v. I 


EWAN CHRISTIAN, ESQ., of Milntown, the first to settle in England, at Ewanrigg 
Hall, Cumberland, married, in 1677, Mary, eldest daughter of John Caine, Esq., and 
dying in 1719, was succeeded by his eldest surviving son, 

JOHN CHRISTIAN, ESQ., of Milntown and Ewanrigg Hall, born in 1688, married, 
May 14th., 1717, to Bridget, eldest daughter of Humphrey Senhouse, Esq., of Nether 
Hall, Cumberland. He died September 20th., 1745, and their son, 

JOHN CHRISTIAN, ESQ., of Milntown and Ewanrigg Hall, born October 5th., 1719, 
High Sheriff of Cumberland in 1766, married Jane, eldest daughter of Eldred Curwen, 
Esq., of Workington Hall. He was succeeded by his eldest son, 

JOHN CHRISTIAN (CURWEN), ESQ., of Milntown and Ewanrigg Hall, many years M.P. 
for Cumberland, married to his second wife, October 5th., 1782, Isabella, daughter 
and sole heiress of Henry Curwen, Esq., of Workington Hall, and thence assumed 
the name of CURWEN. He died December 13th., 1829, and was succeeded in the 
Workington Hall estate by their son, 

HENRY CURWEN, ESQ., of Workingtou Hall, J.P. and D.L., born December 5th., 
1783, married, October llth., 1804, to Jane, daughter of Edward Stanley, Esq., of 
Whitehaven. He died October 20th., 1860. Their second son, survivor of the eldest, 

EDWARD STANLEY CURWEN, ESQ., of Workington Hall, J.P. and D.L., Lieutenant 
in the Fourteenth Light Dragoon Guards, born July 3rd., 1810, married, January 
22nd., 1833, Frances Margaret, daughter of Edward Jesse, Esq., of Hampton Court, 
Middlesex. He died April 1st., 1876, and was succeeded by his eldest son, 

HENRY ERASER CURWEN, ESQ., born April 19th., 1834, of the Fifty-sixth Regiment, 
married, in 1863, Mary Anne Susan, daughter of Colonel Charles Johnson, Seigneur 
of Argenteuil, Canada, son of Sir John Johnson, Bart., and had a son, 
EDWARD D'ARCY CURWEN, born in August, 1864. 



THE very fine old oak and other timber in view, for a long distance here, of the 
traveller by the railway between Worcester and Oxford, cannot but be greatly admired. 

SIR HENRY LE DILLON accompanied the Earl of Morton, afterwards King John, 
into Ireland, in 1185. His great-grandson, 

SIR HENRY DILLON, Knight, of Drumrany, married Bridget, daughter of Meyler de 
Bermingham, Lord of Athenry, and had sons, the elder of whom, 

ROBERT DILLON, Lord of Drumrany, married Anne, daughter of Eustace Lo Poer, 
and had an eldest son, 

GERALD DILLON, Lord of Drumrany, married to Lady Emily Fitzgerald, daughter of 
the Earl of Desmond. Their eldest son, 

SIR MAURICE DILLON, Knight, Lord of Drumrany, married, first, Lady Anne Fitz- 
gerald, daughter of the Earl of Desmond, by whom he had a son, his heir, 

THOMAS DILLON, ESQ., of Drumrany, who married Jane, daughter of Sir Robert 
Dillon, Knight, Attorney-General to King Henry VIII., and had a son and heir, 

EDMOND DILLON, of Drumrany, who married a daughter of Sir Christopher Plunkett, 
Knight, and had by her a son, 

GERALD DILLON, of Drumrany, married to Ismay, daughter of Sir Edmund Tuite, 
of Tuitestown, Knight. Their second son, 

SIR JAMES DILLON, of Ballynakill, married a daughter of Sir Christopher Dalton, 
of Dalton's Country, and their eldest son, 

THOMAS DILLON, ESQ., married Margaret, daughter of Christopher Dillon, Esq., of 
Kilmore, and had several children. The third son, 

SIR THEOBALD DILLON, Knight, of Costello-Gallen, in the county of Sligo, commanded 
a volunteer troop in Queen Elizabeth's reign, and received the honour of Knighthood 
on the field of battle, 1559. He was created VISCOUNT DILLON, March 16th., 1621, 
and was afterwards Lord President of Connaught. He married Eleanora, daughter 
of Sir Edward Tuite, Knight, of Tuitestown, in the county of Westmoath, and 
widow of William Tuite, of Monilea. He died in 1624, leaving so numerous a progeny, 
that at one time a hundred of his descendants were assembled in his house at 
Killenfaghny. He was succeeded by his grandson, 

LUCAS DILLON, second VISCOUNT DILLON, who married in 1625, Lady Mary Mac- 


Donnell, third daughter of Randal Mac-Donnell, first Earl of Antrim, and left at his 
decease, in 1629, an only son, his successor, 

THEOBALD DILLON, third VISCOUNT DILLON, who died in infancy, in 1630, when the 
title reverted to his uncle, 

THOMAS DILLON, fourth VISCOUNT DILLON. This nobleman married Frances, daughter 
of Nicholas White, Esq., of Leixlip, and was succeeded at his death by his eldest 
surviving son, 

THOMAS DILLON, fifth VISCOUNT DILLON, who married Elizabeth, eldest daughter of 
Sir John Burke, Knight, of Derrymaclagtny, in the county of Galway, but had no 
children. His Lordship died in 1674, when the title went to his kinsman, the eldest 
son of Sir Theobald Dillon, Knight, third son of Sir Christopher Dillon, Knight, son 
of the first Lord, namely, 

LUCAS DILLON, who then became sixth VISCOUNT DILLON, and also dying sine prole, 
in 1682, the title devolved on the son of Eobert Dillon, son of Sir Lucas Dillon, 
second son of the said first Viscount, 

THEOBALD DILLON, ESQ., of Kilmore, who succeeded as seventh VISCOUNT DILLON. 
This nobleman attached himself to the falling fortunes of James II., and was outlawed 
in 1690. He married Mary, daughter of Sir Henry Talbot, of Temple- Oge, in the 
county of Dublin, and had, with other issue, a son and successor, 

HENRY DILLON, who became eighth VISCOUNT DILLON, on the outlawry being 
reversed in his favour. He married Frances, second daughter of George, Count 
Hamilton, and dying in 1713, was succeeded by his son, 

RICHARD DILLON, ninth VISCOUNT DILLON, who married Lady Bridget Burke, daughter 
of John, ninth Earl of Clanricarde, and was succeeded, at his decease in 1737, by 

CHARLES DILLON, tenth VISCOUNT DILLON, elder son of Arthur Dillon, second son of 
the seventh Viscount, who also dying without children, in 1741, was followed by his 
next brother, 

HENRY DILLON, eleventh VISCOUNT DILLON, a Colonel in the French service, married, 
October 26th., 1745, to Lady Charlotte Lee, eldest daughter and heiress of George- 
Henry Lee, second Earl of Lichfield, by whom he had, with others, an eldest son 
lie died November 3rd., 1787 

CHARLES DILLON, twelfth VISCOUNT DILLON, born November 6th., 1746, who con- 
formed to the Church of England in 1778. He married, first, August 19th., 1776, 
the Honourable Henrietta Maria Phipps, only daughter of Constantino Phipps, first 
Lord Mulgrave. Their son, 

HENRY AUGUSTUS DILLON, thirteenth VISCOUNT DILLON, born in 1777, married, in 
1807, Henrietta, eldest daughter of Dominick Geoffry Browne, M.P., sister of the 
first Lord Oranmore, and by her had, besides several other children, 

CHARLES HENRY DILLON, fourteenth VISCOUNT DILLON, born April 10th., 1810, and 
married, February 1st., 1833, to Lydia Sophia, daughter of Philip Lay cock Storey, 
Esq., but dying, November 18th., 1865, leaving only daughters, was succeeded by 
his next brother, 

1811, married, in 1856, to Sarah Augusta, daughter of Alexander Hanna, Esq. 



THIS place, originally called Putachie, is situated on the north bank of the river 
Don, which passes through the estate, as it winds "in and out," on its course to the 

The present building is of recent erection, having been built in modern times by 
the then Lord Forbes. 

JOHN DE FORBES was a man of rank and importance in the reign of William the 
Lion-hearted King. His son, 

FERGUS DE FORBES, was father of 

ALEXANDER DE FORBES, who lost his life in bravely defending the castle of Urquhart 
against Edward I. His wife was the sole survivor of the garrison, and after the 
oastle was taken she fled into Ireland, and there gave birth to a son, 

ALEXANDER FORBES, who fought for King Eobert Bruce. He fell at the battle of 
Dupplin, 1332, and was followed by his son, 

SIR JOHN FORBES, Knight, distinguished in the reigns of Robert II. and III. He 
married Elizabeth, daughter of Kennedy of Denure, and had, with other children, an 
eldest son, 

SIR ALEXANDER DE FORBES. He was raised to the Peerage of Scotland by James 
II. before 1436, by the title of BARON FORBES. He married Lady Elizabeth Douglas, 
daughter of George, Earl of Angus, and dying in 1448, was succeeded by his eldest 

JAMES FORBES, second BARON FORBES. This nobleman married Lady Egidia Keith, 
daughter of William, first Earl Marischal, by whom he had three sons. At his 
death, about 1460, his eldest sou succeeded, 

WILLIAM FORBES, third BARON FORBES. He married Christian, daughter of Alexander, 
first Earl of Huntley, and his eldest son followed him, 

ALEXANDER FORBES, fourth BARON FOKBES, at whoso decease without issue, the 
dignity devolved upon his brother, 

ARTHUR FORBES, fifth BARON FORBES, who also dying issueless, his next brother 
took the title, namely, 

JOHN FORBES, sixth BARON FORBES, married, first, to Catherine, daughter of John, 


Earl of Atholl, brother of James II. of Scotland; and secondly, Christian, daughter 
of Sir John Lundin, of Lundin, by whom he had, with four daughters, 

1. JOHN FORBES, MASTER OP FORBES, who was convicted of high treason, and 

executed at Edinburgh, July 17th., 1537, alleging his innocence of the 
charge, but acknowledging that he deserved death for the murder of the 
Laird of Meldrum. 

2. WILLIAM FORBES, who at his father's death in 1577, succeeded as 
WILLIAM FORBES, seventh BARON FORBES. He married Elizabeth, daughter and 

coheiress of Sir William Keith, of Innerugie, and their eldest son, 

JOHN FORBES, eighth BARON FORBES, married, for his second wife, Jane, daughter 
of James Seton, of Touch, and was succeeded by his son, 

ARTHUR FORBES, ninth BARON FORBES, who married Jane, daughter of Alexander,. 
Lord Elphinstone, and had issue, 

ALEXANDER FORBES, tenth BARON FORBES, who served under the renowned Gustavus 
Adolphus. He married, first, Anne, daughter of Sir John Forbes, of Pitsligo, and 
had an only son, his successor, 

WILLIAM FORBES, eleventh BARON FORBES, who was succeeded, in 1691, by his 
elder son, 

WILLIAM FORBES, twelfth BARON FORBES, P.C. under King William, and Lieutenant- 
Colonel of the Horse Guards, married, first, to Margaret, daughter of Alexander, 
Earl of Kelly; and secondly, to Anne, daughter of James Brodie, Esq., of Brodie, 
and dying in 1716, was succeeded by his elder son, 

WILLIAM FORBES, thirteenth BARON FORBES, who married, in 1720, Dorothy, daughter 
of William Dale, Esq., of Covent Garden, Westminster. He lost a fortune of 20,000 
by the South Sea Bubble. He died in 1 730, and was succeeded by his only son, 

FRANCIS FORBES, fourteenth BARON FORBES, at whose decease, while a minor, in 
1734, the dignity reverted to his uncle, 

JAMES FORBES, fifteenth BARON FORBES. His Lordship married Mary, widow of 
John Forbes, Esq., of Monymusk, and left an only son, at his death in 1761, 

JAMES FORBES, sixteenth BARON FORBES, Deputy-Governor of Fort William, who 
married in 1760, Catherine, only daughter of Sir Robert Innes, Bart., of Orton, and 
had, with other issue, he died July 29th., 1804 

JAMES OCHONCHAR FORBES, seventeenth BARON FORBES, a representative Peer of 
Scotland, born March 7th., 1765, a General in the Army, and Colonel of the First 
Fusiliers. He married, in 1792, Elizabeth, eldest daughter of Walter Hunter, Esq., 
of Polmood, in Peebleshire, and by her had issue a large family, of whom the second 
son, surviving at his death, May 4th., 1843, was 

WALTER FORBES, eighteenth BARON FORBES, who was born May 29th., 1798, and 
married, January 31st., 1825, Horatia, seventh daughter of Sir John Gregory Shaw, 
Bart., of the county of Kent. His Lordship was in the Coldstream Guards, and at 
the battle of Waterloo, and at his death, May 2nd., 1868, left, with other children, 
a second son to survive, 

D.L. for Aberdeenshire, born February 24th., 1829. 



IT would appear that there was a priory here in Saxon times, as there certainly 
was in the reign of William the Red. 

At the dissolution of the monasteries, Nostel fell to the share of Thomas Leigh, 
LL.D., one of the Royal Visitors, and was carried into the family of Blount by the 
marriage of his daughter Catherine with James Blount, Lord Mountjoy, by whom it 
was sold to Sir Thomas Gargrave, of Kingsley, Member of Parliament for Yorkshire, 
and Speaker of the House of Commons. He died March 28th., 1579. His wife was 
Anne Cotton, sister of the wife of the above-named Dr. Leigh, and their son was 
Sir Cotton G-argrave, who married twice, the first wife being Bridget, daughter of 
Sir William Fairfax, of Steeton, and the second, Agnes, daughter of Thomas Waterton, 
of Walton. Thomas Gargrave, the son of the former, was found guilty of the murder 
of a servant boy, and was executed, rightly or wrongly, at York. A manuscript, 
entitled "The Case of Prudence Gargrave, daughter to the unhappy convict," states 
that "Gardyner, who was supposed to be poisoned, was a poor man, Mr. Gargrave' s 
servant, and had all his meanes from him. He could gain nothing by his death. 
And it is to be proved by men yet living, that, by reports of chirurgeons, who sawo 
him, and had him in care, he died, not of poisoning, but of a disease." The son 
of the second wife, Sir Richard Gargrave, wasted the splendid estate he had inherited, 
by the most wanton extravagance, even still the subject of village tradition after the 
lapse of between two and three hundred years. In 1613 he sold the place to William 
Ireland, Esq., whose son, Sir Francis Ireland, conveyed the property, for the sum of 
10,000, to Sir John Wolstenholme, from whom it was next purchased by the Winn 

JOHN WILLIAMSON, ESQ., married Esther Winn, daughter of Sir Rowland Winn, 
Bart., of Nostel Priory, who, at the death of her brother, Sir Rowland Wiun, became 
the heiress of the estate. Her husband took with it the name of Winu, and was 
succeeded, at his death iu 1817, by his brother, 

CHARLES WINN, ESQ., of Nostel Priory, J.P., D.L., High Sheriff of Lincolnshire in 
1828, who married, June 16th., 1819, Priscilla, fifth daughter of Sir William Strick- 
land, Bart., of Boynton, Yorkshire, and had 


EOWLAND WINN, ESQ., M.P. for North Lincolnshire, J.P., and High Sheriff for the 
county of Lincoln in 1848, born February 19th., 1820, married, in 1854, Harriet 
Maria Amelia, daughter of Colonel Henry Dumaresque, by his wife, Lady Elizabeth 
Sophia Butler, granddaughter of the second, and sister of the fifth Earl of Lanes- 



I NEED not here repeat what I have said on another page in praise of the beauty 
of the county of Worcester, but I may say that even there there is no more engaging 
spot than Hanbury, I know it well and the view from Hanbury Mount is as lovely 
a one as the eye need wish to rest upon. 

On one side, three or four miles away, the fine old spire of Bromsgrove Parish 
Church towers over the fertile country around, and on the other the richly- wooded 
lands towards Warwickshire give one of the most charming scenes that can be 
conceived, at least to the eye of any one who loves our home scenery, and enjoys 
the tranquillity and quietness that reign on all sides. Close at hand you look down 
on a picture of extreme loveliness, the Church, the Hall, the Rectory, a farmstead, 
and a great variety of landscapes, coming each in turn attractively into sight. 


EDWARD VERNON, ESQ. purchased the manor of Hanbury. He died in 1666, aged 
eighty. His son, 

VERNON, was father of 

THOMAS VERNON, ESQ., of Hanbuiy Hall, M.P. for Worcester, the eminent lawyer, 
author of the Reports, married Mary, daughter of Sir Anthony Keck, Knight, and 
died without issue 1720-1, leaving the estate to his cousin, 

BOWATER VERNON, ESQ., of Hanbury Hall. He married Jane, daughter and coheiress 
of Thomas Cornwallis Esq., of Albemarles, Carmarthenshire. Their only son, 

THOMAS VERNON, ESQ., of Hanbury Hall, married Emma, daughter of Admiral James 
Cornwall, of Berington, Herefordshire, and had an only daughter, Emma Vernon, 
who married the Honourable Henry Cecil, afterwards Eai-1 and Marquis of Exeter, 
but had no children. At her death the estate became the property of her great- 

CAPTAIN THOMAS VERNON, of Hanbury Hall, who married Rachel, daughter of Colonel 
Jefferys, and had a son, 

THE REV. THOMAS VERNON, Rector of Hanbury, who by his wife Mary, daughter of 
- Wynter, of Brecon, had a son, 

v. K 


THOMAS SHRAWLEY VEKNON, ESQ., of Hanbury Hall, who had 


2. THE REV. WILLIAM VERNON, Rector of Hanbury, deceased. 

3. GEORGE CBOFT VEKNON, ESQ., also deceased, a much-valued friend of the 

author of these volumes. He married Mary Elizabeth, daughter of 
Hugh Carleton, Esq., then living in the county of Dublin, and their 
only child, Ellen Vernon, married Henry Bearcroft, Esq., of the family 
of Bearcroft of Meer Hall. 


5. THE REV. JOHN VERNON, Rector of Shrawley. 
The eldest son, 

THOMAS TAYLER VERNON, ESQ., of Hanbury Hall, born in 1792, married, in 1831, 
Jessie Anne Letitia, daughter of John Herbert Foley, Esq., of Ridgeway, Pembroke- 
shire. He died in 1835. 

THOMAS BOWATER VERNON, ESQ., of Hanbury Hall, born in 1832, dying unmarried 
in 1859, was succeeded by his brother, the only surviving son, 

HABRY FOLEY VERNON, ESQ., of Hanbury Hall, born April llth., 1834, M.A. of 
Magdalen College, Oxford, J.P., D.L., High Sheriff of Worcestershire, 1873, and 
M.P. for East Worcestershire from 1861 to 1868; married, October 17th., 1861, to 
Lady Georgina Sophia Baillie-Hamilton, youngest daughter of George, tenth Earl of 
Haddington, and had, with other children, 

BOWATER GEORGE HAMILTON VERNON, born September 12th., 1865. 



THIS place was anciently a house of Benedictines. 

It has at various times afforded a retreat for men of learning. Dr. Hammond, 
Bishop Morley, Bishop Fell, Bishop Gunning, and others, always met here with 
hospitable entertainment. 

The well-known book, "The Whole Duty of Man," which has been translated into 
Latin, French, and Welsh, is supposed to have been written by Dorothy, Lady 
Pakington, wife of Sir John Pakington, the second Baronet. 

The place is thus described by Dean Hickes: "Ibi porticus, atria, propylsea, horti, 
ambulacra clausa et subsidialia, recta, et sinuosa, omnia studiis commoda; ibi, luci, 
sylvae, nemora, prata, saltus, planities, pascua; et nihil non quod animum pene a 
literis abhorrentem ad legendum audiendumque, et quovis modo discendum, componere 
et conciliare potest." 

t WILLIAM RUSSELL, ESQ., of Powick, in the county of Worcester, married Elizabeth, 
eldest daughter of Sir Herbert Perrott Pakington, Bart., of Westwood Park, and 
at the death, without issue, January 6th., 1830, of his son, Sir John Pakington, 
Bart., D.C.L., she became joint heiress with her sisters of his estates. Their son, 

JOHN SOMERSET EUSSELL, ESQ., boru February 20th., 1799, assumed the name of 
Pakington, and was himself created a Baronet in 1846. He also became P.O. and 
G.C.B. He married, first, August 14th., 1822, Mary, only child of Moretou Aglionby 
Slaney, Esq., of Shifnal, and had by her, who died January 6th., 1843, a son, 

JOHN SLANEY PAKINGTON, ESQ., born July 13th., 1826, married, July 4th., 

1849, Lady Diana Boyle, daughter of George, fourth Earl of Glasgow. 
He married, secondly, Augusta, daughter of the Right Reverend George Murray, D.D., 
Bishop of Rochester, and by her, who died February 23rd., 1848, had, with a daughter, 
Edith, deceased April 7th., 1845, a sou, 

HERBERT PERROT MURRAY PAKINGTON, born February 12th., 1848, married, 

August 23rd., 1877, Evelyn, daughter of Sir George Baker, Bart. 
He married, thirdly, June 5th., 1851, Augusta Anne, daughter of T. C. De Crespigny, 
Esq., and widow of Colonel Davies, M.P., of Elmley Park, Worcestershire. Sir John 


Pakington was M.P. for Droitwich from 1837 to 1874, and Chairman of the Wor- 
cestershire Quarter Sessions from 1834 to 1868. In March, 1852, he was sworn of 
the Privy Council, and appointed Secretary' of State for the Colonies. In March, 

1858, he became First Lord of the Admiralty, and was appointed Secretary of State 
for War in 1867. He was created a Baronet in July, 1846, made G.C.B., June 30th., 

1859, and also became a First Civil Service Commissioner. He was raised to the 
Peerage, March 6th., 1874, as 

BARON HAMPTON, of Hampton Lovett, and of Westwood, in the county of Worcester. 



THIS ancient estate descended for upwards of seven hundred years in the male 
line, in regular succession, of the family of Tracy, when, as in so many other similar 
instances, an heiress brought it, as stated below, into a different one, that, namely, 
of Hanbury. 

"It would be a tedious task to describe the whole of the splendid interior, room 
by room, and it is the less requisite, as this has already been done, with the utmost 
minuteness of detail, by Britton, in his Illustrations of Toddington." 

Here at one time rested the remains of Queen Catherine Parr, the fortunate 
survivor of King Henry the Eighth. 

GEOFFREY DE HANBURY, of Hanbnry, in Worcestershire, living in the time of King 
John, was father of 


HENRY DE HANBURY, was Lord Chief Justice of the Court of Common Pleas in 
Ireland, tempore Edward II. He died about the year 1358. His son was 

REGINALD DE HANBURY, M.P. for Worcestershire in the reign of Richard the Second, 
whose successor, 

JOHN DE HANBURY, A.D. 1400, married, and had issue, the third son being 


RICHARD HANBURY, ESQ., who married, first, Catherine Smyth, and by her had 

RICHARD HANBURY, ESQ., of Elmley Lovett, in the county of Worcester. His wife 
was a daughter of Bassett, and his son and heir, 

JOHN HANBURY, ESQ., also of Elmley Lovett, married twice, and by his second wife, 
a daughter of Bradley, was father of 

RICHARD HANBURY, ESQ., of Elmley Lovett, married to Marjory, daughter of Francis 
Bradley, Esq., and left a son and heir, 

JOHN HANBURY, ESQ., of Feckenham, Worcestershire, M.P. for the city of Gloucester, 
and Sheriff of Worcester in 1649-50. He married Anne, daughter of Christopher 
Capel, Esq., of Capel House, Herefordshire, Alderman and M.P. for Gloucester, and 
dying in 1659, left several children, of whom the youngest son, 


CAPEL HANBURY, ESQ., of Gloucester, and of Whoreston, in Worcestershire, died in 
1707, leaving, by bis first wife, a son and successor, 

JOHN HANBURY, ESQ., of Pontypool Park, in Monmouthshire, M.P. for that county, 
and a Major in the Army, who married, in 1 703, Bridget, eldest daughter and co- 
heiress of Sir Edward Ayscougb, of Stallingborough, in Lincolnshire, and died June 
13th., 1734, leaving, with other children, 

CAPEL HANBUEY, ESQ., of Pontypool Park, M.P. for Monmouthshire, born December 
2nd., 1707, married, October 7th., 1743, the Honourable Jane Tracy, daughter of 
Thomas Charles, fifth Viscount Tracy, and dying, December 7th., 1765, left one son, 

JOHN HANBDEY, ESQ., of Pontypool Park, M.P. for the County of Monmouth, born 
in 1744, married Jane, daughter of Morgan Lewis, Esq., of St. Pierre, in that 
shire, and had three sons, of whom the youngest (at his death, April 4th., 1 784,) 
succeeded, namely, 

CHARLES HANBURY, ESQ., of Toddington, in the county of Gloucester, Lord Lieu- 
tenant of Montgomeryshire, born December 28th., 1777, married, December 29th., 
1798, the Honourable Henrietta Susanna, only child and heiress of Henry, eighth 
Viscount Tracy, and assumed in consequence the sirname and arms of TRACY. He 
was raised to the Peerage as BARON SUDELEY, of Toddington, July 12th., 1838. He 
died February 10th., 1858, and was succeeded by his eldest son, 

THOMAS CHARLES HANBURY-TRACY, second BARON SUDELEY, born February 5th., 1801, 
;md married, August 25th., 1831, to Emma Elizabeth Alicia, daughter of George 
Hay Dawkius-Penuant, Esq., of Penrhyn Castle, Carnarvonshire. He died at Pau, 
February 19th., 1863, and was followed by his eldest son, 

1837, Lord Lieutenant of the county of Montgomery, and an officer in the Grenadier 
Guards. His Lordship died unmarried, April 28th., 1877, and was succeeded by his 
next brother, 

1840, Lieutenant in the Royal Navy, called to the Bar in January, 1866, and M.P. 
for Montgomeryshire from 1863 until his succession to the Peerage. He married, 
May 9th., 1868, Ada Maria Katherine Tollemache, daughter of the Honourable 
Frederick James Tollemacho, brother of Lord Dysart, and had, with other children, 



DOWNTON CASTLE was formerly held by the family of Hall, from whom it was brought 
by an heiress into the possession of that of the present owner, as shewn below. It 
is beautifully situated at a height of about a hundred feet above the valley of the 
river Teme. 

The dining-room is circular, and nearly thirty feet in diameter. The other rooms 
are large and elegant, and contain some valuable paintings by the old masters. 

EDWARD BOUGHTON, ESQ., who died in 'the first year of the reign of Edward the 
Sixth, married Elizabeth, daughter and coheiress of William Willington, of Barcheston, 
in Warwickshire, and was father of 

WILLIAM BOUGHTON, ESQ., who died 38th. Elizabeth. His wife was Jane, sister of 
Thomas Coningsby, and their son, 

EDWARD BOUGHTON, ESQ., by Elizabeth his wife, daughter and heiress of Edward 
Catesby, was father of 

WILLIAM BOUGHTON, ESQ., of Lawford, who was created a Baronet, August 4th., 
1641. He married Abigail, eldest daughter and coheiress of Henry Baker, Esq., 
and was succeeded at his decease by his elder son, 

SIR EDWARD BOUQHTON, who married twice, but having no children, was followed 
by his brother, 

SIR WILLIAM BOUGHTON, who married Mary, daughter of Hastings Ingram, Esq., 
of Woo'ford, Warwickshire, and dying, August 12th., 1683, left, with three daughters, 
an only son, 

SIR WILLIAM BOUGHTON, M.P. for Warwickshire in the reign of Queen Anne. By 
his first wife Mary, daughter of Mr. Alderman Ramsey, of London, he left a son, 
EDWARD BOUGHTON, his successor, and by his second wife Catherine, daughter of Sir 
Charles Shuckburgh, Bart., he left at his decease, July 22nd., 1716, 

SHUCKBURQH BOUGHTON, ESQ., who married Mary, elder daughter of Algernon Greville, 
Esq., and left 

EDWARD BOUGHTON (eighth Baronet). 

The eldest son, 


SIK EDWARD BOUGHTON, BART., married Grace, eldest daughter of Sir John Shuck- 
burgh, Bart., and was succeeded in February, 1731-2, by his only child, 

SIK EDWARD BOUGHTON, BART. This gentleman, by his wife Anna Maria, daughter 
of Beauchamp, an heiress, had a son, who succeeded him in 1772, as 

1780, the title and estates went to the above-named 

SIR EDWARD BOUGHTON, BART., who died unmarried in 1794, when his brother 
succeeded him, namely, 

SIR CHARLES WILLIAM BOUGHTON-ROUSE, BART., of Lawford Hall, who had taken 
that name, and been created a Baronet, July 28th., 1791. He then resumed his 
paternal surname of BOUGHTON. He had married, in 1782, Catherine, only daughter 
of William Pearce Hall, Esq., of Downton Hall, by whom he left issue, with two 
daughters, a son, who, at his death, February 26th., 1821, succeeded him as 

SIR WILLIAM EDWARD ROUSE-BOUGHTON, BART., of Downton Hall, Shropshire, and 
Lawford Hall, Warwickshire, born September 14th., 1788, married, March 24th., 1824, 
to Charlotte, youngest daughter of Thomas Andrew Knight, Esq., by whom he had, 
with several other children he died in 1856 

SIR CHARLES HENRY ROUSE-BOUGHTON, BART., of Downton Hall and Lawford Hall, 
born January 16th., 1825. He married, August 23rd., 1852, Mary Caroline, second 
daughter of John Michael Severne, Esq., of Thenford, Northamptonshire, and Wallop 
Hall, Shropshire, their eldest son, of several children, being 

WILLIAM ST. ANDREW ROUSE-BOUGHTON, born September 23rd., 1853, married, 
October 1st., 1878, to Eleanor Frances Hotham, eldest daughter of the 
Rev. Frederick Harry Hotham, R.D., Rector of Rushbury, Shropshire. 

The second son, 

ANDREW JOHNES ROUSE-BOUGHTON, ESQ., B.A., of Trinity College, Cambridge, J.P. 
for Herefordshire and Shropshire, D.L. for Herefordshire, and High Sheriff of the 
County in 1860, born May 26th., 1826, assumed by Royal licence, January 28th., 
1857, the additional surname of KNIGHT, and became of Downton Castle. He married, 
September 28th., 1858, Eliza, youngest daughter of John M. Severne, Esq., of 
Theuford Hall, Northamptonshire, and Wallop Hall, Shropshire, and had, with other 

CHARLES ANDREW ROUSE-BOUGHTON-KNIGHT, an officer of the Twenty-third 
Regiment of Foot, born November 17th., 1859. 



I QUOTE the following from one of the printed accounts of this place: 

"Rossie Castle stands on an elevated site about a mile from the town of Montrose. 
The house was built by Hercules Ross, Esq., from a design by Crichton, about the 
end of last century. 

"The elevation is certainly magnificent from the greatness of its features, and the 
arrangement of the interior is most admirable. The entrance hall is thirty feet by 
twenty, which opens to a great drawing-room thirty-three, small ditto twenty-seven, 
and dining-room thirty-seven feet. From the drawing-room, the library and museum 
are entered, from which there is a communication to a large and elegant conservatory, 
occupying the left colonnade represented in the view. There is a public and private 
staircase on each side of the hall, which lead to two extensive bedroom floors above. 

"The prospects from Rossie Castle are of the finest description. On one side there 
is a splendid view of the German Ocean, the town and bay of Montrose, and the 
magnificent bridge over the Esk; thriving and beautiful shrubberies are distributed 
with great taste in different parts of the lawn." 

Over the hall door of the castle are the words cut out in stone, 


a goodly and godly motto. 

ALEXANDER MACDONALD is mentioned (known by the name of Marcus) as living in 
the year 1630. His great great grandson, 

JAMES MACDONALD, of Ranathan, born in 1702, married, in 1731, Helen, daughter 
and heiress of Ludovic Grant, of Tullach, and left, with other children, he died in 

WILLIAM MACDONALD, of Ranathan and St. Martin's, born in 1732, who married 
Cecilia, daughter of Kinloch, of Kilrog and Logie, and left, at his death in 1814, a 

WILLIAM MACDONALD, married, in 1808, to Grizel, eldest daughter of Sir William 
v. L 


Miller, Bart., of Glenlee, Lord Glenlee, and dying in 1841, was succeeded by his 

F.R.S.E., of Rossie Castle, J.P., and D.L., Lieutenant -Colonel of the Perthshire 
Highland Rifle Volunteers, and Archer of Her Majesty's Scottish Body Guard, born 
May 26th., 1822, married, June 26th., 1849, to the Honourable Clara Anne Jane 
Brownlow, second daughter of Charles, first Lord Lurgan, and had, with other 

MONTAGU WILLIAM MACDONALD, Lieutenant of the Grenadier Guards, Lieutenant 

in the Forfarshire Militia, and Captain of the Perthshire Volunteers, born 

January 15th. , 1851. 



"HiGH CLIFFE, environed in a dense fir wood, presents a quaint combination of 
architecture. The interior contains some fine old carving brought from Normandy. 
Here are two good tapestries (subject, the Massacre of St. Bartholomew,) in the 

JOHN DE BERESFORD was seized of land in Beresford, Staff ordshii-e, in the ye;ir 
1087, his son being 

HUGH DE BERESFORD, from whom descended 

JOHN BERESFORD, Lord of Beresford and Enson, who married Elizabeth, daughter 
of William Basset, of Blore, Staffordshire, and had, with other issue, 

1. JOHN BERESFORD, his heir. 

The second son, 

THOMAS BERESFORD, seated himself at Newton Grange, Derbyshire, and served iu 
the French Wars of Henry VI. He married Agnes Hassal, daughter and heiress of 
Robert Hassal, Esq., of Arcluyd, in Cheshire, and had sixteen sons and five daughters, 
of whom the sixth son, 

HUMPHREY BERESFORD, ESQ., eventually became of Newton Grange, and inai-ricd 
Margery, daughter of Edmund Bordesley, or Beresley, Esq., and was succeeded by 
his second son, the eldest having only left a daughter, 

GEORGE BERESFORD, ESQ., whose eldest son, 

MICHAEL BERESFORD, ESQ., of Oxford, living in 1574, married Rose, daughter of 
John Knevitt, Esq., and had seven sous and four daughters, of whom the third son, 

TRISTRAM BERESFORD, settled at Colerame, in Ireland, in the veign of James I., 
and was succeeded by his elder son, 

SIR TRISTRAM BERESFORD, of Coleraiue, M.P. for Londonderry in 1661, created n 
BARONET OF IRELAND May 5th., 1665. He married first, Anne, eldest daughter of 
John Rowley, Esq., of Castleroe, in the county of Londonderry, and their eldest sou, 
of three, succeeded him at his death, January 15th., 1673, 


SIE RANDAL BERESFORD, M.P., who married Catherine, younger daughter of Francis 
Annesley, Viscount Valentia, and dying in October, 1681, was succeeded by his eldest 
surviving son, 

SIB TRISTRAM BERESFORD. This gentleman commanded a regiment of foot against 
James II., and was attainted by the Parliament of that monarch. He married, in 
1687, Nichola Sophia, youngest daughter and coheiress of Hugh Hamilton, Baron of 
Glenawley, and at his death, June 16th., 1701, his only son became 

SIR MARCUS BERESFORD, who married, July 16th., 1717, Catherine Poer, Baroness 
Le Poer, daughter and heiress of James, third Earl of Tyrone, and by that alliance 
was raised to the Peerage of Ireland, November 4th., 1720, as BARON BERESFORD, of 
Beresford, in the county of Cavan, and VISCOUNT TYRONE, and further created EARL 
OF TYRONE, July 18th., 1746. His Lordship died April 4th., 1763, and was succeeded 
by his eldest son, 

GEORGE DE LA POER BERESFORD, second EARL OF TYRONE, born January 8th., 1735, 
and married, in April, 1769, to Elizabeth, only daughter and heiress of Henry Monck, 
Esq., of Charleville. He inherited the Barony of De La Poer at the death of his 
mother, July 27th., 1769, and was enrolled among the Peers of Great Britain, August 
21st., 1786, as BARON TYRONE, of Haverfordwest, in the county of Pembroke, and 
created MARQUIS OF WATERFORD, in the Peerage of Ireland, August 19th., 1789. He 
died December 3rd., 1801, and was followed by his eldest son, 

of the county of Waterford, and Colonel of the Waterford Militia, born May 23rd., 
1772, married, August 29th., 1805, to Susanna, only daughter and heiress of George, 
Earl of Tyrconnel. He died July 16th., 1826, and was succeeded by his eldest son, 

26th., 1811, he married, June 8th., 1842, Louisa, second daughter and coheiress of 
Charles, Lord Stuart de Rothesay, but had no children. He was killed by a fall 
from his horse, March 29th., 1859, and was succeeded by his brother, (leaving by 
will Ford Castle, in Northumberland, to his widow for life, who also inherited High 
Cliffe, in Hampshire, from her mother,) 

was born April 27th., 1814, and married, February 20th., 1843, Christiana, daughter 
of Charles Nowell Leslie, Esq., M.P., and was succeeded, at his death, November 
6th., 1866, by his son, 

1844, K.P., M.P. for the county of Waterford before his accession to the title, Lord 
Lieutenant of the county of Waterford, Honorary Colonel of the Waterford Militia, 
and Captain in the First Life Guards. He married, first, Florence Grosvenor, second 
daughter of Major George Rowley, by whom he had no children. She died April 
4th., 1873. He married, secondly, July 21st., 1874, Lady Blanche Elizabeth Adelaide 
Somerset, only daughter of the Duke of Beaufort, and had, with other children, 



' * 



IT would appear that this place, popularly supposed to have had its name from 
having been in old times an encampment of the Danes, was not so in reality. 

There was formerly here the ruin of a strong building, believed to have been part 
of the original manor of Hugh de Bolebec, the founder of Woburn Abbey, in Bed- 

The house is beautifully situated on a bank that overhangs the river. 

It was at one time the property of the family of Morton, by the widow of the 
representative of which it was sold in the year 1786, to Eobert Scott, Esq., uncle 
of Charles Scott-Murray, Esq., of the family of Murray, of Philiphaugh, of which 
place an account has been given in a previous volume of this work. 

The mention of Philiphaugh may well bring up before the mind the ever-memorable 
"Legend of Montrose," the gallant and surpassing deeds of that noble man, so worthy 
of the noble title he bore, and the noble race of which he had come. "Among 
the devoted champions who, during the wildest and most stormy period of our 
history, maintained the cause of Church and King, the 'Great Marquis' undoubtedly 
is entitled to the foremost place." (Aytoun.) 

"They brought him to the water-gate, 

Hard bound with hempen-span, 
As though they held a lion there, 
And not a fenceless man. 

There was glory on his forehead, 

There was lustre in his eye, 
And he never walked to battle 

More proudly than to die." 

Care has been taken by the successive proprietors of these truly "Historic Lands" 
to preserve the various reliques of the battle in which at last Right was forced, but 
for the time only, to yield to Might. The old landmarks still remain to show where 


the figlit took place, and here and there are fields named after the generals who led 
their soldiers on. 

JOHN MUEEAY, ESQ., of Philiphaugh, Selkirkshire, M.P., married Eleanor, eldest 
daughter of Lord Basil Hamilton, of Baldoon, and had, with other issue, 

CHAELES MURRAY, ESQ., who married Eliza, sister of Robert Scott, Esq., of Danes- 
field, and had a son and successor, 

CHARLES SCOTT-MURRAY, ESQ., of Dauesfield, who married, May 17th., 1815, Augusta 
Eliza, daughter of John Nixon, Esq., and widow of John Buller, Esq., M.P. for East 
Looe, and dying, April 24th., 1837, left, with a daughter, Augusta Eliza Anne, a 
son, who succeeded him, as 

CHARLES ROBERT SCOTT-MURRAY, ESQ., of Danesfield, J.P., and some time M.P., born 
December 28th., 1818, married, September 17th., 1846, the Honourable Amelia Char- 
lotte Fraser, daughter of Thomas Alexander Fi-aser, Lord Lovat, and had, with other 

CHARLES ALOYSIUS SCOTT-MURRAY, born November 4th., 1847. 



THIS estate belonged to the family of Moray for nearly six centuries, when it passed 
to that of Home-Drummond, by marriage, as presently stated. 

"The mansion is an extensive modern building in the Gothic style of architecture. 
It is built of a light grey-coloured stone, combining durability with beauty, and being 
situated on a bank sloping to the south, and surrounded by extensive plantations, 
produces an imposing effect. The west end of the house commands a magnificent 
view of the Grampian Hills." 

SIR DAVID HOME, of Wedderburn, was father of, his third son, 

ALEXANDER HOME, ESQ., of Manderston, slain at Flodden. His second son, 

PATRICK HOME, married, in 1558, Janet, daughter and heiress of David Ellera, 
Esq., of Renton, and thereby acquired that property. Ho was father of 

ALEXANDER HOME, ESQ., of Rentou, whose son, 

JOHN HOME, ESQ., of Renton, had three sons, of whom the youngest, 

HENRY HOME, ESQ., of Kames, in Berwickshire, was father of 

GEORGE HOME, ESQ., of Kames, whose son was 

HENRY HOME, ESQ., of Kames, born in 1695, a Judge of Session in 1752, known 
as Lord Kames, and a celebrated author. He died in December, 1782, having 
married Agatha, daughter of James Drummoud, Esq., of Blair Drummond, and by 
her had a son and successor, 

GEORGE HOME- (-DRUMMOND), ESQ., of Blair Drummond, married, October llth., 
1782, to Janet, daughter of the Rev. John Jardine, D.D., and by her left, at his 
death, October 28th., 1819, a son, 

HENRY HOME-DRUMMOND, ESQ., of Blair Drummond, Vice-Lieutenant of and M.P. 
for the county of Perth, born July 28th., 1783. He married, April 14th., 1812, 
Christian, eldest daughter of Charles Moray, Esq., of Abercairny, and sister and 
heiress of William Moray-(-Stirling), Esq., of Abercairuy and Ardoch, and so became 
possessed of that estate. They had four children. 

* See View on the Title-page. 


1. GEOKGE HOME-DBDMMOND, of Blair Drummond. 

2. CHAELES HOME-DKUMMOND- (-MORAY), of Abercairny. 

3. ANNE HOME-DKUMMOND, married, in 1839, to George, Duke of Athole. 

4. MAEGAEET HOME-DKDMMOND, died, unmarried, in 1832. 
At her death in 1864, she was succeeded by her second son, 

CHAELES HOME-DRUMMOND-MORAY, ESQ., of Abercairny, an officer in the Second 
Life Guards, born April 17th., 1816. He married, December llth., 1845, Lady 
Anne Georgina Douglas, youngest daughter of Charles, fifth Duke of Queensberry, 
and had, with other children, an eldest son, 

HENRY EDWARD HOME-DBUMMOND, born September 15th., 1846. 



Morris, Francis Orpen (ed.) 

A series of picturesque