(navigation image)
Home American Libraries | Canadian Libraries | Universal Library | Community Texts | Project Gutenberg | Biodiversity Heritage Library | Children's Library | Additional Collections
Search: Advanced Search
Anonymous User (login or join us)
Upload
See other formats

Full text of "Short biographies of the worthies of Worcestershire"

5geneal_cgy OOULECTION 



v-' 



f, 



/ 





UJ 




^ 




O 




CC 




QQ 




S 




UJ 




D- 


^ 




Lc 


U, 


^ 


o 


OJ 




V 


c/i 


" 


UJ 


o 


H 




z 


-0 


O 


» 


u 


1) 
OQ 


>■' 


« 


UJ 




2 


c 


Q 


o 






c« 




>- 




Di 




< 





SHORT BIOGRAPHIES 



WORTHIES 



OF 



WORCESTERSHIRE 



EDITED BY 



EDITH OPHELIA BROWNE 



JOHN RICHARD BURTON, B.A., 

Rector of Biiterley, 
and Pvebmdavy of Hereford Cathedral ; 

Author of "Bibliography of Worcestershire," S-c. 



Jor tbe Sutbors: 

E. G. Humphreys, College Street, Worcester. 
Wilson & Phillips, Printers, Hereford. 

1916. 



FOREWORD. 

It was originally intended that short notices of " Persons 
Eminent in Art, Literature, and Science" should forna part of the 
Victoria History of Worcestershire ; but in its progress this splendid 
work attained such large dimensions that the biographical section 
had to be eliminated, and the materials already collected have been 
used partly for this present volume. 

The Dictionary of National Biography has set up for all our 
eminent men and women a monument more durable than marble. 
The aim of this little book is to do the same on a small scale 
for Worcestershire ; to satisfy the commemorative instinct of 
humanity, and to serve as a book of reference. The majority of 
the names are already dealt with at some length in the sixty-five 
volumes of the D.N.B., which should be found on the shelves of 
every Public Library. An asterisk prefixed to a name refers the 
reader to this wonderful work ; and only such facts, chiefly local, 
are given here, as will make the outline complete in itself. 
Other sources of information to which we are largely indebted are 
J. Chambers' Biography of Worcester (1820), W. E. Williams' Members 
for Worcestershire (1897), Smith and Onslow's Diocesan History of 
Worcester (1883), the Victoria History, Nash's Worcestershire, 
T. C. Tuberville's Worcestershire in the 19th Century, Complete 
Peerage, by G.E.C., Berrow's Worcester Journal, Worcester Herald, &c. 

The Editors desire also to acknowledge the assistance and 
information given by Mr. John Amphlett, M.A., F.S.A., Mr. T. A. C. 
Attwood, M.A., Mr. W. F. Baillie, Mrs. Baldwyn-Childe, Mr. E. A. B. 
Barnard, Lieut. Chas. Saville Broome, E.N., Mr. John S. Bumpus, M.A., 
Mr. John Cotton, F.R.I.B.A., Rev, James Davenport, M.A., Rev. 
T. G. Dixon, M.A., Canon E. R.* Dowdeswell, M.A., Mr. Thomas 
Duckworth, Miss Ethel Gabb, Rev. R. G. Griffiths, M.A., Mr. L. W. 
Hadley, Major J. H. Hanbury, Prebendary F. W. Joyce, M.A., 
Mrs. Alice Parker, Mr. T. H. G. Pearson, M.A., Canon David 
Robertson, M.A., Mr. A. A. Rollason, Rev. G. A. K. Simpson, M.A., 
Major Edmund W. Tennant, Mr. J. Willis-Bund, M.A., F.S.A., and 
others. An anonymous contributor ("A Reader") to the Worcester 
Journal deserves our special acknowledgments. The Editors of the 
County newspapers also rendered much help by printing the 
preliminary list of names. 



iv. Foreivord. 

For the portrait of Mr. S. Allcock we are indebted to Mrs. 
J. W. Shrimpton, and for those of Samuel Pytts and his wife, 
Lady Bellamont, to Mrs. Baldwyn-Childe. The block of Sir Frederick 
Ouseley was lent by Precentor Hampton. " Miles Smith" is reproduced 
from a History of Hereford School by Mr. W. T. Carless, Eegistrar 
of Hereford County Court, who volunteered for service at the 
beginning of the War, but has now been missing for more than a 
year. Our tribute of thanks, alas ! can only be offered to his heroic 
memory. We owe the loan of the block to the kindness of his 
printers, Messrs. Wilson & Phillips, Hereford. 

The work had been partly printed when the War began. It 
was then delayed for a time in the hope that Peace would soon 
be restored, and that a Eoll of Honour of Worcestershire heroes 
could be appended. But the end is still uncertain, and our original 
Subscribers are passing away. So it seems necessary to send 
out the book even in these troublous times. 

The selection of names suitable for commemoration is by no 
means an easy one. " The collective biographer," says Sir Sidney 
Lee, " has to forswear the measuring rods of the family hearth, of 
the hospitable board, of journalistic advertisement. The fact that 
a man is a devoted husband and father, an efficient schoolmaster, 
an exemplary parish priest, gives him in itself no claim to biographic 
commemoration, because his actions, although meritorious, are 
practically indistinguishable from those of thousands of his felloius." 
Working on the principle laid down by this greatest living authority 
our aim has been to include only those whose personality, attain^ 
ments, or actions, have had something distinctly marking them out 
from the great mass of their fellow-men. Collective biography must 
also avoid rhetoric, emotion, and sentiment ; its aim is " to comprise 
as much knowledge as possible in the smallest compass." 

There must still be many other names that deserve a place 
among our Worthies. The Librarian of the Victoria Institute 
at Worcester will gladly receive any additional biographies sent 
to him, and place them in a County Portfolio to be handed 
down to posterity. Some blank pages are also appended to this 
volume which will serve for newspaper cuttings or notes concerning 
those in whom the readers are interested. 



List of Illustrations. 



V. 



LIST OF ILLUSTRATIONS. 



PAGE 



Countess of Pembroke (Mark Gerards) 

Countess of Pembroke (Simon Passe) - - - 

Samuel ALFiCocK ....... 

John Beddob - - . - 

Sir Eowland Hill 

EiCHARD Morton (B. Orchard) .... 

Title Page of first Worcestershire Book 

Sir Frederick A. Gore Ouseley .... 

Samuel Pytts ....... 

Catherine Pytts (Naofan), Countess of Bellamont 
Miles Smith .-.-.... 

John Somers (Sir Godfrey Kneller) . . - . 



frontispiece 

facing 3 
15 



75 
106 
115 
116 

136 

152 
153 



Short Biogvapbies 



OF THE 



XlXHortbies of Morceeteisbire. 



-ADAM DE EVESHAM (d. 1191). Monk of Notre Dame de 
la Charite-sur-Loire. Prior of Bermondsey, 1157. Abbot of Evesham, 
1161. Finished cloister and St. Egwine's shrine ; made aqueduct. 
First Abbot who was allowed to wear the mitre. Wrote three 
religious books. 

^ADELAIDE, Queen of William IV. (1792-1849), daughter of 
George, Duke of Saxe-Coburg-Meiningen : married 1818. Eesided at 
Witley Court for three years (1843-1846) during her widowhood. 
Her chaplain was the Rev. John Ryle Wood, Canon of Worcester. 

^GELWIG (d. 1077). Abbot of Evesham. Supported 
William I. in crushing the rebellion of Roger, Earl of Hereford, 
1073. Entrusted also with the abbey of Winchcombe, and made 
justiciary of seven western counties. Had a long lawsuit with 
St. Wulfstan concerning service due from Evesham abbey for lands 
in Oswaldslow hundred. The judge was Bishop Remigius, who 
built Lincoln Cathedral, 

*^LFRIC (d. 1051). Archbishop of York, 1023. Bishop of 
Worcester, 1040, but rejected by the people ; consequently King 
Harthacnut laid waste the county and burned the Cathedral. The 
citizens fled for refuge to Beverey on the Severn. Bishop Lyfing 
was restored in 1041. -3j]lfric helped to crown Edward the 
Confessor, 1043, and was buried at Peterborough, 1051. 

*iELFWEARD (d. 1044). Monk of Ramsey; made Abbot of 
Evesham, 1014. Recovered the plundered Abbey estates ; added 
guest-house and enriched library. Bishop of London, 1035, but 



Short Biographies of the 



remained Abbot of Evesham. Became a leper, and was expelled 
from Evesham. Welcomed at Eamsey, whither he took many- 
relics, and where he died. 

^LHUNE (d. 872). Bishop of Worcester, 844. Built chapel 
of St. Andrew at Kempsey, 868. Purchased protection from the 
Danes by giving up some church lands. 

-ALCOCK, JOHN (1430-1500). Born at Beverley; LL.D., 
Cambridge, 1461. Eector of St. Margaret's, Fish Street, London; 
Master of the EoUs, 1462 ; Prebendary of St. Paul's, London, and 
of Salisbury, 1468 ; Privy Councillor, 1470, and employed in 
important diplomatic service. Bishop of Eochester, 1472 ; trans- 
lated to Worcester, 1476. In 1474 held the Lord Chancellorship 
conjointly with the Bishop of Lincoln. Lord President (first) of 
the Marches of Wales, 1476. Tutor to King Edward V. Baptized 
Prince Arthur. Eebuilt the church at Little Malvern, where his 
portrait remains in the east window, and regulated the convent 
there. Built the collegiate church at Westbury. Endowed Peter- 
house and founded Jesus college, Cambridge. Bishop of Ely, 1486. 
Died at Wisbeach, 1500 ; buried in Ely Cathedral. 

*ALDEED (d. 1069). Monk of Winchester. Abbot of Tavistock 
ch'ca 1027. Bishop of Worcester, 1044. Politician, traveller, 
ambassador, soldier. Arranged a peace with Gruffydd, of North 
Wales, but was defeated by Gruffydd, of S. Wales, and Irish 
pirates, 1049. Brought back Sweyn, the son of Godwine, from 
exile, 1050. x\bbot of Winchcombe, 1053. Ambassador to the 
Emperor Henry III., 1054. Stayed some time with x\rchbishop 
Hermann at Cologne, and studied improved methods of church 
services and discipline. In 1056 administered the dioceses of 
Hereford and Eamsbury, in addition to Worcester. Eebuilt and 
consecrated St. Peter's church at Gloucester, 1058. Went on 
Pilgrimage to Jerusalem. Elected Archbishop of York, 1060, but 
still retained Worcester. Went to Eome with Earl Tostie. 
Found guilty of simony there and deprived. Eobbed of everything 
but his clothes on his way home, and had to return to Eome, 
where he was reinstated to York. Eesigned Worcester, but kept 
back twelve manors from his successor. Worked hard in his 
diocese. After the battle of Hastings, he at first supported Edwin 
and Morcar, but submitted to the Normans and crowned William 




SAMUEL ALLCOCK, 
of Redditch (1820-1910). 



Worthies of Worcestershire. 



the Conqueror and his Queen Matilda. Aldred was a firm and 
courageous ruler, and resisted oppression. When the Norman 
Sheriff of Worcester encroached on church property, the Bishop 
met him with a bold reproof : — 

" Hightest thou Urse, 
Have thou God's curse." 
Aldred died in 1069, and was buried in York Minster. 

-ALDULF (d. 1002). Abbot of Medeshamstead (Peterborough). 
Perhaps Chancellor to King Edgar. Bishop of Worcester and 
Archbishop of York, 992. As reprisals for the massacre of the 
Danes on St. Brice's Day, 1002, the church plate and lands 
were confiscated. He translated the bones of St. Oswald, his 
predecessor, from his tomb to a shrine in the Cathedral. Was 
also buried at Worcester. 

ALDWIN [Give. 1100). Hermic of Malvern Chase. When 
Urse (q.v.) founded the priory of Great Malvern as a dependency 
of Westminster, Aldwin, by the advice of St. Wulfstan, was made 
the first prior, and ruled with great success. 

ALLCOCK, SAMUEL (1829-1910), son of Mr. Polycarp Allcock, 
was born at Eedditch. When 20 years of age he took over his 
father's industry of fish-hooks, and from small foundations developed 
it into a world-wide business. He helped very largely in raising 
Eedditch from the position of an insignificant village of 500 people 
to an important industrial centre of 15,000. At the Great Exhibi- 
tion of 1851, when 22 years old, he received honourable mention 
for a modest display of fishing tackle worth about £5. With 
immense energy he then developed the " Standard Works " at home, 
and travelled through Europe and N. America building up a 
business which now employs about 700 workpeople, and is the 
largest fish-hook and fishing tackle manufactory in the world. He 
received gold medals or "highest awards" at the Great Exhibitions 
of London, S. Africa, Paris, Sydney, Melbourne, Toronto, Berlin, 
Wurzburg, Norwich, Adelaide, Murcia, Calcutta, &c. Besides taking 
an untiringly active part in his own business he was chairman of 
other important industrial companies ; and he also filled many 
public offices, being elected in 1888 the first County Councillor 
for East Eedditch. When the Volunteer movement started in 
1860 he joined the Eedditch Company and served for several 



Short Biographies of the 



years. For 25 years he acted as Superintendent of the Wesleyan 
Sunday School. To every charitable institution in his native tow^n 
he was a generous contributor, and he also built a^ his own 
cost a Nurses' Home with an endowment of £40 a year. He 
died at "The Cedars," Redditch, 10th October, 1910, in his 82nd 
year. He was twice married, and left three daughters, Mrs. A. 
WilHams, Mrs. J. W. Shrimpton, and Miss F. M. Allcock. 

ALLCROFT, JOHN DERBY (1822-1893), only son of Jeremiah 
Macklin Allcroft, of Worcester, by Hannah, only daughter of 
Thomas Derby. Re married (1) 1854, Mary Annette, daughter of 
the Rev. Thomas Martin, who died 1857, and (2) 1864, Mary, 
elder daughter of John Blundell, of Timsbury Manor, Hants. 
Mr. Allcroft was eminent as a philanthropist, and was Treasurer 
of Christ's Hospital, London. In 1869 he purchased a large 
estate in Shropshire, including Stokesay Castle, an almost unique 
specimen of an ancient foi-tified mansion of the 13th century, 
which, though not inhabited, he completely restored, and it is 
still kept up exactly in its pristine condition — an object of great 
interest. He was a Commissioner of Lieutenancy for the City of 
London, and was also M.P. for Worcester, 1878-1880. 

ALLFN, THOMAS (1573-1638). Born in Worcestershire. 
Educated at the King's School, Worcester, and Brasenose College, 
Oxford. Fellow of Merton, 1593. Ordained, but devoted himself 
to abstruse philosophy. Assisted Sir Henry Saville (by whose 
influence he was made Fellow of Eton College, 1604) in his 
History of S. Chrysostom. Benefactor to the libraries of Brasenose 
and Merton. Buried in Eton College chapel. 

*ALLIES, JABEZ (1787-1856), antiquary and writer on folk- 
lore, born at Lusby, Worcestershire. Practised as a solicitor in 
London. F.S.A. 1840. Married Catherine, daughter of Wilham 
Hartshorne, of Clipstone, Northants, and came to live at the 
Lower Wick, Worcester, where he took up eagerly researches 
into the Roman occupation of the county. He died 1886, at 
Cheltenham, and was buried in Leckhampton churchyard. His 
chief works were " Observations on certain curious Indentations in 
the old Bed Sandstone of Worcestershire and Herefordshire con- 
sidered as the Tracks of Antedihcvian Animals," 1835 ; " On the 
Causes of Planetary Motion," 1838 ; " On the Ancient British, 



Worthies of Worcestershire. 



Boman, and Saxon Antiquities of Worcestershire," 1840 (86 pp.) ; 
" The Jovial Htmter of Bromsgrove, Home the Hunter, and Bohin 
Hood," 1845 ; " The Ignis Fatuus, or Will o' the Wisp and the 
Fairies," 1846 ; " The Seven Whistlers," " The Antiquities," 2nd 
edition enlarged fco 500 pp. ^valuable for field-names. Also con- 
tributed papers to Archceological Journal, Literary/ Gazette, &c. 

ALLSOPP, HENRY (1811-1887), Lord Hindlip, of Hindlip 
Hall, third son of Samuel Allsopp, of Burton-on-Trent, married 
1839 Elizabeth, daughter of WiUiam Tongue, of Comberford Hall, 
Tamworth (d. 1887). "Was head of the great firm of Allsopp and 
Sons, brewers, Burton-on-Trent. M.P. for E. Worcestershire (C), 
1874-1880, and raised to the peerage as Baron Hindlip, 1886. 
He left six sons, of whom three served with distinction in Afghan- 
istan, Egypt, and Burmah, and another was Mayor of Worcester, 
1892-3. 

-AMPHLETT, Right Hon. SIR RICHARD PAUL (1809-1883). 
Lord Justice of Appeal. Son of the Rev. Richard Holmden 
Amphlett, of Hadzor, by his wife, Sarah Paul ; born 24th May, 
1809. Educated at Brewood School and St. Peter's College, 
Cambridge; B.A., 6th Wrangler, 1831; M.A., 1834. Called to the 
Bar at Lincoln's Inn, 1834 ; appointed Q.C., and a Bencher of his 
Inn, 1858. J. P. and D.L. for Worcestershire ; Vice-Chairman 
of Quarter Sessions, Michaelmas, 1866. M.P. for East Worcester- 
shire, 1868-1874. Baron of the Exchequer, January, 1874; Lord 
Justice of Appeal, October, 1876. Privy Councillor, November, 
1876. He died 7th December, 1883, and was buried at Hadzor. 
He married (1) Frances, daughter and sole heir of Edward 
Ferrand, of St. Ives and Hurden Grange, co. York; and (2), 
Sarah Amelia, daughter of C. W. Martin, of Latimer, co. Southants. 
He left no surviving issue. 

^ANDREWS, MILES PETER (1742-1814), son of a London 
merchant. Educated in Holland as a preparation for trade in the 
Levant. Inherited a share in Pigou, Andrews and Wilkes, of the 
great Gunpowder Mills at Dartford, but took to the drama, and 
brought out The Election, Belphegor, and other successful pieces. 
He died 18th July, 1814, leaving over £100,000. He was Member 
for Bewdley from 30th May, 1796, till his death, and was never 
opposed, The Corporation accounts, however, show that he paid 



6 SJiort Biogj'aphies of the 

over to the borough large sums of money after each election. In 
1801, £3,000 was given by him towards the building of Bewdley 
Bridge, which cost £11,000. He was a particular friend of Thomas, 
" the wicked '" Lord Lyttelton, who left him £2,000, and, according 
to the strange story of the Warning Vision, appeared to him at 
the moment of his death. 

ANSON, Hon. AUGUSTUS HENEY ARCHIBALD, V.C. 

(1835-1877), third son of Thomas, first Earl of Lichfield, married, 
1863, Amelia Maria, daughter of the Rev. Thomas Legh Claughton, 
Vicar of Kidderminster, and afterwards Bishop of Rochester and 
first Bishop of St. Albans. He served in the Rifle Brigade, 1853- 
1856, and later in the 10th and 7th Dragoons, retiring as Major 
in February, 1861. He fought with distinction at Sebastopol, 1853, 
was wounded at the capture of Delhi, and again at the famous 
relief of Lucknow, where for conspicuous bravery he was awarded 
the Victoria Cross. He was thanked by the Governor-General of 
India in Council, and was often mentioned in despatches. In the 
Chinese expedition of 1860 he was aide-de-camp to General Sir 
Hope Grant, and took part in the capture of Pekin. After sitting 
as M.P. for Lichfield from 1859 to 1868, he contested Bewdley in 
the Liberal interest. At the General Election, 11th March, 1869, 
he was defeated by Mr. J. C. P. Cunliffe by 14 votes, but after 
a scrutiny in April, was awarded the seat, and sat till 1874. He 
died without issue, and his widow in 1881 was married to George, 
eighth Duke of Argyll. 

^ARTHUR, Prince of Wales (1486-1502), eldest son of Henry 
VII. and Elizabeth, daughter of Edward IV. Born at Winchester, 
and baptized by Bishop Alcock of Worcester. Being of delicate 
health, the Prince was brought by his father to Malvern, w^here 
his kneeling figure may still be seen in the Priory Church window^ 
At the age of 15, Prince Arthur was married to Catherine of 
Arragon, first by proxy at Ticknell Palace, Bewdley, 18th May, 
1499, and later in person at St. Paul's Cathedral, 14th November. 
After the marriage the Prince and Princess kept their Court at 
Ludlow Castle. The Prince died at Ludlow, 2nd April, 1502. The 
body was embalmed, and removed from Ludlow on S. Mark's 
Day, 25th April, over the rough roads of the Clee Hill to Bewdley 
Chapel, where a funeral service was held ; and the procession again 



Worthies of Worcestershire. 



went forward to Worcester. King Henry VII. erected a beautiful 
chantry chapel over the grave of his son in the choir of Worcester 
which still retains much of its sculpture. 

=^ASGILL, JOHN (1659-1738), born at Hanley Castle; entered 
Middle Temple, 1686 ; called to Bar 1692. Executor and heir of 
Dr. Nicholas Barbon, who directed that none of his debts should 
be paid ! In 1698 he published a pamphlet advocating a registry 
of titles of land. Next " An Argument proving that according to 
the covenant of eternal life revealed in the Scriptures, man may he 
translated from hence into that eternal life ivithout passing through 
death, although the human nature of Christ himself could not be so 
translated U7itil he had passed through death "; London, 1700. For 
writing this book he was expelled from the Irish House of Com- 
mons as member for Enniscorthy, in 1703, and from the English 
House of Commons as member for Bramber in 1707. He had 
practised his profession in Ireland, and married the eldest daughter 
of Lord Kenmare ; but got into money troubles, and after his 
expulsion from Parliament spent the rest of his life in confine- 
ment in the Fleet. Here he wrote " Mr. Asgill's Defence upoii his 
Eximlsion from the House of Commons of Great Britain in 1701,'' 
London, 1712 ; " The Metamorphosis of Man by the Death and 
Besurrection of .Testis Clirist from the Dead," London, 1727 : " De 
Jure Divino," 1710; " Asgill upon Woolston," 1780. "Translated 
Asgill," as he was called, died in his 80th year in 1738. 

ASHWIN, JAMES COLLINS (1833-1855), eldest son of 
James Ash win of Bretforton. Lieutenant in the 57th Regiment. 
Killed before Sebastopol in the assault on the Great Redan, 18th 
June, 1855, aged 21. A public memorial was placed in Bretforton 
church to this gallant young man, of whom' his commanding 
officer wrote : " His high abilities and soldierlike bearing won the 
esteem of all who knew him : and among the brave fellows who 
have fallen few have more nobly won for themselves a soldier's 
grave or died more lamented than Lieutenant Ashwin." 

*ATTWOOD, THOMAS (1783-1856), "The Founder of Pohtical 
Unions," and the " King Tom " of Cobbett's Begister, was born at 
Hawne House, Halesowen, the third son of Matthias Attwood, of 
Hawne and the Leasowes, J. P. and D.L., one of the founders 
of the bank of Spooner, Attwoods & Co., by his wife Ann Adams, 



Short Biographies of the 



of Cakemore House. He was educated at the Grammar Schools of 
Halesowen and Wolverhampton. Entered his father's bank in 
Birmingham, and was appointed a Captain in the Birmingham 
Volunteer Infantry, 1803. In October, 1811, at the age of 28, he 
was elected High Bailiff of Birmingham, and began his struggles 
against the Commercial monopoly of the East Indian Company, 
and the "Orders in Council"; in April, 1812, he headed a deputa- 
tion to the House of Commons on those subjects. In 1813, a 
silver cup, valued at £300, was presented to him by the arlizans of 
Birmingham. From 1815 onwards he was writing his series of 
articles and pamphlets on the currency, afterwards embodied in his 
book " The Scotch Banker." In 1829, a public meeting was held, 
at which Attwood made a speech of three hours' duration, and 
the petition adopted at the meeting in favour of the Reform 
of the Currency was signed by 40,000 persons. A private 
meeting of 16 gentlemen at the Eoyal Hotel, Birmingham, with 
Mr. Attwood as president, founded " The Political Union for the 
Protection of Public Eights." In May, 1832, what was said to be 
the "largest public meeting ever convened in England" met at 
New Hall Hill, Birmingham. In 1830, Attwood received from the 
Birmingham Political Union, a gold medal and chain, and, in 1832, 
he w^as also the recipient of the Honorary Freedom of the City of 
London, enclosed in a box made " of the Heart of British Oak," 
finely adorned with gold. Attwood's speech on that occasion will 
be found in ''London's Boll of Fame," 1757-1885 (pp. 153-5). As 
soon as Birmingham was invested with the franchise, Thomas 
Attwood became its first representative, with Joshua Scholefield as 
his colleague, and he continued to represent that constituency till 
December 9th, 1839. His letter, tendering his resignation, frequently 
printed, shows the man's utter disinterestedness and loyalty. He 
died in retirement at "Ellerslie," Great Malvern, and was buried at 
Hanley Castle, beside his second wife, Elizabeth, daughter of Mr. 
Joseph Grice, of Handsworth Hall. By his first wife, EUzabeth, 
daughter of William Carless, of Harborne, he had issue four sons 
and two daughters: she died at Samares Manor, Jersey, 1840. 
Thomas Attwood's statue still stands in Birmingham in front of 
New Street Station. His "Life" has been written by one of his 
grandchildren, the late Chas. M. Wakefield, and his grandson 
and male representative is Thomas A. C. Attwood, M.A., F.S.A., of 
Sion Hill, near Kidderminster. 



Worthies of Worcestershire. 



-BABINGTON, GERVASE (1550-1610), born in Nottingham- 
shire. A member of the family of Sir W. Babington of Broadway. 
Fellow of Trinity College, Cambridge ; tutor to the Earl of Pem- 
broke's children ; Prebendary of Wellington in Hereford Cathedral, 
1588 ; Treasurer of Llandaff, 1590 ; Bishop of Exeter, 1595 ; Bishop 
of Worcester, 1597 ; Queen's Counsel for the Marches of Wales ; 
Member of the Hampton Court Conference, 1604. Died 17th May, 
1610 ; buried in Worcester Cathedral. Bequeathed all his books 
to the Cathedral Library. Wrote many sermons and religious 
works in small quartos. The folio edition of his works, edited 
by Miles Smith and T.C., was published in 1615, and re-issued 
in 1622 and 1637. The paternal arms of this Bishop were the 
very same as those of the See. 

-BACHE, SAEAH (1771 ?— 1844), born at Bromsgrove, brought 
up at Worcester. Kept the Islington School at Birmingham ; 
friend of Dr. Priestley ; wrote the hymn, " See how He loved," 
in Exeter collection, compiled by Dr. Carpenter, 1812. Died at 
Birmingham, 1844. 

-BADBY, JOHN (d. 1410), a Worcestershire blacksmith (or 
tailor) ; denied Transubstantiation, and was condemned, first, by 
the diocesan Court held in the " carnarie chapel" at Worcester, 
and then by Archbishop Arundel. Burnt to death at Smithfield, 
March 1st, 1410. 

« 

BADLAND, THOMAS (1634-1698). Nonconformist; ejected 
from Willenhall, and became Pastor of the Presbyterian congre- 
gation at Worcester for 35 years. Drew up Declaration of its 
doctrines, 1687. Buried in St. Martin's Church. 

^BALDWIN (d. 1190). Cistercian monk, became abbot of Ford, 
Devon. Bishop of Worcester, 1180. Saved the life of a knight 
who was being led to the gallows on a Sunday. Translated to 
Canterbury, 1185. Visited Wales, 1187, and preached for the 
Crusades. Crowned Richard I., 1189. Died in the Holy Land. 

BALDWIN, ALFRED (1841-1908), son of George Baldwin, 
of Stourport. Married, 1866, Louisa, daughter of Rev. G. B. 
Macdonald, Wesleyan Minister, and sister of Mrs. Lockwood 
Kipling, Lady Poynter, and Lady Burne-Jones, authoress of " The 
Story of a Marriage," " Where Toimi and Country Meet" &c. Mr. 



10 ShoJ't Biographies of the 

Baldwin was Chairman of Baldwins Ltd., ironmasters and coal- 
owners, Chairman of the Great Western Eailway Company, &c. ; 
M.P. for West Worcestershire (Bewdley Division) from 1892 till 
his death, when his son, Mr. Stanley Baldwin, was elected in 
his place. Mr. Baldwin was conspicuous as a philanthropist, and 
an earnest supporter of Friendly Societies. He also built the 
Church of All Saints, at Wilden, in 1880, with churchyard, 
parsonage, and schools attached, and subsequently provided an 
endowment, so that it was constituted a separate parish, taken 
from Havtlebury and Lower Mitton. 

BALDWIN, THOMAS (d. 1693). Came from Cambridge to 
Kidderminster, where he acted as schoolmaster and assistant to 
Eichard Baxter. Married, 1660, to Elizabeth Soley. Became 
minister of Chaddesley Corbet, whence he was ejected in 1662. 
Went to Dudley, but afterwards returned to Kidderminster. 
Euneral sermon preached and printed by Eev. Eichard White, 
B.D., the Vicar, from S. James i. 12, and entitled "The Eeward 
of Christian Patience." 

BAENESLEY, WILLIAM, born at Barnesley Hall, near 
Bromsgrove, established himself in Eussia at the close of the 
sixteenth century, and earned the distinction of being the first 
Englishman to be exiled to Siberia by Ivan the Terrible. His 
exile was procured at the instigation of Boris Gudonov, who 
suspected him of over-familiarity with his wife. After an exile of 
twenty years, he returned hale and hearty, joined the Eussian 
Church, and made a rich marriage. 

-BAENET, JOHN (d. 1373). Prebendary of S. Paul's, 1347, 
and of Lichfield, 1354. Bishop of Worcester by Papal nomination, 
1362. Translated to Bath and Wells, 1363, and to Ely, 1366. 
Treasurer of England from 1363 to 1370. 

BAEE, ALFEED ((1758-1813), china manufacturer; in 1793 
came into partnership with Joseph Flight. 

BAEEY, ALFEED (1826-1910), son of Sir Charles Barry, 
E.A., architect of the Houses of Parliament. Fellow of Trinity 
College, Cambridge ; 4th Wrangler, 7th Classic, and Smith's 
Prizeman, 1848 ; D.D., 1865 ; Sub- Warden of Trinity College, 
Glenalmond, 1850-54, Married, 1851, a daughter of Eev. T. 



Worthies of Worcestershire. 11 

S. Hughes, Canon of Peterborough. Head ]\Iaster of Leeds 
Grammar School, 1854-62 ; Principal of Cheltenham College, 1862- 
68. Canon of Worcester, 1871-81 ; zealously promoted the higher 
education of the city, and gave popular lectures on Church History. 
Principal of King's College, London, 1868-83. Bishop of Sydney 
and Primate of Australia, 1884-89. Canon of Windsor, 1891- 
1910. Bampton Lecturer, 1892. Author of many books, including 
" The Teachers' Prayer Book," and " Sermons for Passion-tide and 
Easter, preached in Worcester Cathedral, 1881." He died April 1, 
1910, at Windsor, where he was buried. 

-■=BASKEEVILLE, JOHN (1706-1775), son of John and Sara, 
born at Sion Hill, Wolverley, near Kidderminster. Settled in 
Birmingham at the age of 20, and taught writing and book- 
keeping. In 1740 began to make superior japanned goods in Moor 
Street, and became rich. In 1745 took a lease of a small estate 
near Birmingham, " which he converted into a little Eden." In 
1750 he started type-founding; and in 1757 appeared the famous 
quarto "Virgil," "the first of those magnificent editions which went 
forth to astonish all the librarians of Europe " (Macaulay). Then 
appeared " Milton," 1758 and (2nd edition) 1759. In 1758, he under- 
took to supply the University of Oxford with a complete alphabet 
of Greek types of the great primer size. He was also elected 
printer to the University of Cambridge for ten years. In 1760 he 
is described as " living in a handsome house, manufacturing his 
own paper, types, and ink, and carrying on a great trade in the 
japan way." This year he issued four editions of the Prayer Book. 
In 1761, "Juvenal." " Congreve," "Addison," and two 8vo. Prayer 
Books. In 1762 two more Prayer Books, and " the lovely I2mo. 
' Horace.' " la 1763 appeared his Bible, " one of the finest ever 
produced," and quarto and octavo Greek New Testaments. During 
the next four years he printed Barclay's " Apology," Andrews' 
"Virgil," and a small 8vo. " Virgil." He was losing money by the 
work, and in 1768 Eobert Martin, his journeyman, took over the 
type, &c., and produced " The Christian's Usefzil Companion," 1767, 
Svo; Somervile's " C/tace," 1767, 8vo. ; "Shakespeare," 1768, 9 vols., 
12mo. ; Bible, 1789, 4to. ; and the Abbe d'Aucourt's " Lady's 
Preceptor." In 1769, Baskerville retook possession, and brought out 
Jackson's " Beauties of Nature," and Old Testament, folio, with 
plates and annotations. In 1770, " Horace," 4to. In 1772, the 
Bible, and 4to. editions of " Catullus," " Tihulhis," " Propertius," 



12 Short Biographies of the 

"Lucretius," "Terence," and (1773) " Sallust" and " Florus " — 
incorrect as to the texts, but magnificent in press work. Basker- 
ville also published many of these Latin authors in 12mo. 
Also, in 1773, he printed " Ariosto," 8vo. and 4to., for the two 
Molinis. After Baskerville's death most of his type was purchased 
by Beaumarchais for an edition of Voltaire's works, printed at 
Kehl in 92 vols., J2mo, 1785. Baskerville's type was clear and 
elegant, though the narrow strokes are somewhat trying to the eye. 
Baskerville left £12,000, chiefly to his wife, by whom he had a son 
and daughter He directed by his will that his body should be 
buried in his garden. In 1826, when the land was built upon, 
the cofdn was removed and placed in the vaults of Christ Church, 
Nev7 Street, since pulled down. The " Dictionary of National 
Biography " gives a full list of about 60 works printed by Basker- 
ville. Two or three portraits of him have been engraved, one of 
them in Hansard's " Typographia." 

-BAXTER, RICHARD (1613-1691), born at Eaton Constantine, 
Shropshire. Educated at Wroxeter School, and under the Rev. 
R. Wickstead, Chaplain to the Council of the Marches at Ludlow 
Castle. In 1663 lived for a short time at Whitehall with Sir 
Henry Herbert, of Ribbesford, Master of the Revels. In 1638 was 
appointed first Head Master of Dudley Grammar School, and was 
ordained by Bishop Thornborough ; Curate of Bridgnorth, 1639 ; 
Lecturer at Kidderminster Parish Church, 1641. Acted as Chaplain 
to the Parliamentary Army, 1642-47. Resided with Sir Thomas 
Rouse, of Rouse Lench, during a serious illness, where he began 
his greatest book, " The Saints' Everlasting Best," which he com- 
pleted at Kidderminster in the house in High Street, still 
standing. Devoted himself zealously to pastoral work at Kidder- 
minster, whence he also issued about 60 of his 168 published 
works. At the Restoration of Charles II. he became one of the 
King's chaplains, and was offered the Bishopric of Hereford, 
which he declined. For the " Savoy Conference " he drew up a 
Reformed Liturgy; but in 1662 he refused to comply with the Act 
of Uniformity and retired to Acton, in Middlesex, where he married 
Margaret Charlton, who died in 1681. He wrote many books, 
■ and was grossly insulted by Judge Jefferies during a trial for so- 
called sedition. He was buried in Christ Church, London, 1691. 
His statue by Brock, in the Kidderminster Bull Ring, was unveiled 
by Mrs. Philpott, 26th July, 1875, when addresses were delivered 



Worthies of Worcestershire. 13 

by Dean Stanley and the Eev. Dr. Stoughton. Besides his own 
narrative, his life has been written by Calamy, Orme, Sylvester, 
Long, Bates, Fawcett, Davies, Dean Boyle, Bradley, &c. 

-BAXTER, THOMAS (1782-1821), born in Worcester; instructed 
by his father in painting and gilding Worcester china. Painted a 
rich dessert service for Lord Nelson. Introduced figures from 
Reynolds, West, &c., upon china. Started Art School in London, 
1814 ; joined Dillv^yn's factory at Swansea, 1816 ; returned to 
Worcester, 1819, and worked with Messrs. Flight and Barr, and 
Messrs. Charoberlain. Died in London, 1821. Made some drawings 
for Button's "Salisbury Cathedral." 

-BAYLIES, WILLIAM (1724-1787), born in Worcestershire ; 
married daughter of Thomas Cooke, attorney, of Evesham. M.D. 
Aberdeen, 1748; F.R.C.P. Edinburgh, 1757. Practised at Bath, 
and wrote " Reflections on the Use and Abuse of Bath Waters." 
Removed to London, 1764. Contested Evesham, 1761. Settled in 
Berlin, and was appointed physician to Frederick the Great ; died 
at Berlin 2nd March, 1789, and left his Library to the King of 
Prussia. Wrote "Remarks on Perry's Analysis of the Stratford 
Mineral Water" 1745 ; " A History of the General Hospital at 
Bath" 1758 ; " Facts and Observations relative to Inoculation at 
Berlin," Edinburgh, 1781. 

-BEARCROFT, PHILIP (1697-1761), born at Worcester; edu- 
cated at the Charterhouse : Fellow of Merton College, Oxford ; 
D.D., 1730; preacher to the Charterhouse, 1724; secretary to S.P.G., 
1739 ; Master of the Charterhouse, 1753 ; Prebendary of Wells, 
1755. Published" An Historical Account of Thomas Sutton, Esqiare, 
and of his foundation of the Charterhouse," Sermons, and antiquarian 
writings. 

BEAUCHAMP, EARLS. [See Lygon, William, 1st Earl, 
1747-1816; Lygon, Frederick, 6th Earl, 1830-1891]. 

-BEAUCHAMP, HENRY DE, Duke of Warwick (1425-1445), 
born at Hanley Castle ; succeeded his father, 1439 ; created premier 
earl, 1444, and Duke of Warwick. Leland says that Henry VI. 
crowned him King of the Isle of Wight. Died at Hanley, 1445, 
and was buried at Tewkesbury. 



14 Short Biographies of the 

-BEAQCHAMP, EICHARD DE, Earl of Warwick (1382-1439), 
born at Salwarp ; son of Thomas, Earl of Warwick, by his wife, 
Margaret, daughter of WilHam, Lord Ferrars of Groby. Made 
Knight of the Bath at coronation of Henry IV. Succeeded as 
Earl of Warwick in 1401. Defeated Owen Glendower ; fought 
against the Percys at Shrewsbury, 1403. Made Knight of the 
Garter before 1416. Went in great state to the Holy Land, Venice, 
Poland, Germany, &c., 1408-1410. Lord High Steward at the 
coronation of Henry V., 1413; suppressed the Lollard rising, 1414; 
represented England at the Council of Constance. Joined in the 
invasion of France, but was sent home with prisoners and spoil 
after the capture of Harfleur. In 1419 received the capitulation 
of Rouen, and arranged the truce before the Treaty of Troyes. 
Henry V. bequeathed to him the care of his infant son, Henry 
VI. Captain of Calais. Arranged a truce with Scotland, 1430. 
Appointed Lieutenant-Governor of Fi-ance and Normandy, 1437. 
Died at Rouen, 1439. Buried in the famous chapel at Warwick, 
built by his ancestors. His first wife was Elizabeth, daughter of 
Lord Berkley ; his second was Isabella, widow of Richard Beau- 
champ, Earl of Worcester, by whom he had a son, Henry, (q.v.) 
created Duke of Warwick in recognition of his father's great 
merits. 

-BEAUCHAMP, SIR JOHN DE (1319-1388), son of Richard 
Beauchamp, of Holt. Fought in the French and Scotch wars. 
Justice of North Wales. M.P. for Worcestershire 1352, 1355, 
1377, 1380. Steward of the King's Household, and created by 
patent (being the first instance of the kind) Lord de Beauchamp, 
Baron of Kidderminster, 1387. But he never took his seat ; for 
a few months after his elevation to the Peerage he was attainted 
by the " Wonderful " Parliament and beheaded on Tower Hill, and 
buried in Worcester Cathedral. By his wife Joane, daughter of 
Robert Le Fitzwith, he became possessed of Sir Walter Romsey's 
estate in Kidderminster, and left a young son, John de Beauchamp, 
who was restored to his father's honours in 1398, but forfeited 
them again on the accession of Henry IV. He acted, however, 
as Escheator for Worcestershire (1406-07), and died s.p.m. in 
1420. 

-BEAUCHAMP, SIR JOHN DE (d. 1475), son of Sir WiUiam 
de Beauchamp of Powyk and Alcester, by Catherine, daughter of 




JOHN BEDDOE. M.D., F.R.S. 

President of the Anthropological Society. 

Born at Bewdley. 



Worthies of Worcestershire. 15 

Sir Gerard de Ufflete. Succeeded his father before 1438, when 
he became guardian of the lauds of his cousin Henry, Earl of 
Warwick. Installed K.G., 1-445. Created Baron Beauchamp of 
Powyk, 1447. Justice of South Wales. Lord Treasurer, 1450-52. 
Married Margaret, sister of Richard Ferrars, who was buried beside 
her husband in the Church of the Dominican Friars at Worcester. 

-BEAUCHAMP, WALTER DE (d. 1236). Keeper of Worcester 
Castle and Sheriff of the County, 1216. Took up arms for Louis 
of France. Afterwards restored to office by Henry III., and made 
an itinerant justice, 1226. 

BEDDOE, JOHN, M.D., LL.D., F.R.S., (1826-1911), born at 
Bewdley ; second son of John Beddoe and Emma, daughter of 
Henry Barrar Child, of Northwood. Being a delicate boy he was 
not taught to read till his eighth year. Educated first by Rev. C. 
Wharton, of Stourport, and later at Bridgnorth Grammar School 
under Rev. Thomas Rowley, a pupil of Arnold. Entered a 
solicitor's office at Ledbury, 1845, but broke down in health. 
Studied physiological chemistry, and entered at University College, 
London, 1848. B.A., London, 1848; M.B., 1852. Graduated as 
M.D. at Edinburgh, 1853, and published his first paper on 
Anthropology — " A Contrihutioii to Scottish Ethnology." Served on 
the Hospital Staff at Scutari, 1854-56. Studied at Vienna, 1857, 
and then settled as a physician at Clifton, Bristol, where for a 
long period he was one of the leaders of his profession. Married 
Agnes Montgomerie Cbristison, niece of Sir Robert Christison, 
1858. In 1868 he gained the prize of 250 guineas offered by the 
Welsh National Eisteddfod for the best Essay on " The Origin of 
the English Nation.'' President of the Anthropological Society, 

1869. Published " Stature and Bulk of Man in the British Isles," 

1870. F.R.S., 1873, when Darwin, Jenner, and Galton were among 
his sponsors. For more than 20 years he spent his vacations in 
Scotland in anthropometry, thus earning the Gaelic name of 
Doktor iian'ceati, i.e., "Doctor of the heads." His papers in the 
Journals of the Anthropological Institute brought him world-wide 
reputation, and he was elected an hon. member of kindred societies 
at Washington, Brussels, Moscow, Bei'lin, Paris, Sweden, Rome, 
&G. He assiduously collected Ethnological material from almost 
every part of the United Kingdom, as well as from Brittany, until 
in 1885 he published the results under the title " The Baces of 



16 Short Biographies of the 



Britain : a contribution to the Anthropology of Western Eu7-ove," 
described as " undoubtedly the most elaborate and comprehensive 
work of the kind in any language," and it remains the standard 
authority on the subject. He visited Australia and New Zealand in 
1885. President of the Anthropological Institute, 1889-90. On 
his retirement from practice at Bristol in 1891 he was pre- 
sented with an address from the citizens -including the heads of 
sixty organisations; and in 1907 his portrait was placed by sub- 
scription in the Municipal Art Gallery of the same city. Latterly 
he resided at Bradford-on-Avon. In 1905 he delivered the Huxley 
Lecture on " Coloiir and Bace in Europe " ; and in 1910 appeared 
his autobiography, entitled " Memories of Eighty Years," telling 
the story of his strenuous life and his friendship with many 
notable persons. He was buried in Dean Cemetery, Edinburgh, 
July 23rd, 1911. His only son died from an accident at Lake 
N'gami while on an exploring expedition with Sir Frederick Lugard. 
His daughter is married to Captain Tothill, E.N. 

His elder brother, HENKY CHILD BEDDOE, also born 
at Bewdley (1824-1912), was Secretary, Proctor, or Eegistrar, to 
successive Bishops of Hereford for sixty-five years, and during 
that period held all the highest civic offices with such reputation 
that he was regarded as the " Grand Old Man " of Hereford. 
He was married in 1857 to Caroline Brindley at Llanbadarn 
Church, and left sons and daughters. 

-BELL FEANCIS (1590-1643), born at Temple Broughton, 
Hanbury, Worcestershire, son of William Bell and his wife, 
Dorothy Daniel, of Suffollt. Entered the College of English 
Jesuits at St. Omer, 1618 ; went to the English College at 
Valladolid, 1615 ; ordained priest and took the habit of St. Francis 
in the Convent of Segovia, 1618. Entered English College at 
Douay ; appointed Confessor to the nuns at Gravelines and Brussels. 
In 1630 appointed Superior to St. Bonaventure's College at Douay ; 
sent as first Provincial to Scotland. Began his English mission 
in 1634 ; apprehended as a spy by the Parliamentary soldiers at 
Stevanage in 1643. Tried in London, and hanged at Tyburn, 
December 11th, 1643. Portrait in Mason's " Certamen Seraphicum 
ProvincicB Anglice." He wrote several religious books. 

-■'BELL, JOHN (d. 1556), born in Worcestershire; educated at 
Balliol College, Oxford, and Cambridge; LL.B., 1504. As "Master 



Worthies of Worcestershire. 17 

Bell, now dean of the Arches," attended Bishop Gygles to Rome. 
Made Vicar-General and Chancellor of the diocese of Worcester, 
1518. Rector of Weston-sub-Edge, Warden of the Church of 
Stratford-on-Avon, Archdeacon of Gloucester, &c. Made Chaplain 
to Henry VIII., and much employed by him in matters touching 
his divorce from Katharine. One of the composers of the Bishops' 
Book, and Bishop of Worcester, 1537. Translated the Epistles to 
the Thessalonians in the Bishops' Bible, 1542. Resigned his 
Bishopric and retired to Clerkenwell, London, 1543. Died 1556, 
and buried in S. James' Church. Provided in his will for the 
maintenance at Oxford of two scholars born in the diocese of 
Worcester. 

BELLOMONT, EARL OF. [See Coote, Richard, d. 1700.] 

-BENSON, CHRISTOPHER (1789-1868). M.A. Trinity Col- 
lege, Cambridge, 1815. Hulsean Lecturer (first), 1820. Canon of 
Worcester, 1825 ; a very popular preacher. Master of the Temple. 
Author of religious works. 

*BENTLEY, RICHARD (1662-1742), born in Yorkshire. B.A. 
St. John's College, Cambridge, 1680 ; Master of Spalding School, 
1682 ; Chaplain to Bishop Stillingfleet and Tutor to his son James, 
1690; Prebendary of Worcester, 1692; F.R.S. 1694; Rector of 
Hartlebury, 1695-98. Proved the " Letters of Phalaris " to be 
forgeries, 1697, and became renowned as a critic. Master of 
Trinity College, Cambridge, 1700-42. Edited many classical works. 

-BERKELEY, SIR ROBERT (1584-1656), born in St. Martin's, 
Worcester ; second son of Rowland Berkeley, M.P. for Worcester, 
1598-1604, a wealthy clothier who purchased Spetchley. Entered 
Middle Temple, 1600 ; called to the Bar, 1608. Inherited Spetchley, 
1611. High Sheriff, 1613. Recorder of W^orcester, 1621, and M.P. 
1620-2, 1624-5. King's Serjeant, 1627. Justice of the King's 
Bench, 1632. Supported the King's prerogative concerning ship- 
money, 1635. Gave judgment against Hampden, 1637. Bound 
in £10,000 to answer the charges made against him and other 
Judges by the House of Commons. Impeached and imprisoned 
for " endeavouring to subvert the fundamental laws, and introduce 
arbitrary and tyrannical government against law," 1640. Appeared 
at the bar of the House of Lords 20th October, 1641. Released 



18 Short Biographies of the 

to carry on the business of the King's Bench for the Michaelmas 
term. Sentenced to fine of £20,000 and deprived of his office of 
judge. After immediate payment of £10,000, he retired to 
Spetchley. Before the battle of Worcester his mansion was burnt 
to the ground by the Scotch Presbyterians. Berkeley then con- 
verted the stables into a dwelling-house. Buried in Spetchley 
Church, where is a figure of the Judge in his robes. Engraved 
portraits by Hollar and Powle. Married Elizabeth Conyers, and 
loft one son, Thomas. His grandson founded Berkeley's Hospital in 
Worcestei-. The Judge gave 23 timber trees towards the rebuild- 
ing of Spetchley Church. 

*BEEKELEY, EGBERT (1713-1804), son of Thomas Berkeley, 
of Spetchley. Published "Considerations on the Oath of Supremacy" 
and "Considerations on the Declaration against Transuhstantiation." 
The Rev. Thomas Phillips, his resident chaplain, wrote the "Life 
of Cardinal Pole." He was thrice married, but died without 
issue, and was succeeded in the estates by his nepliew, Robert 
Berkeley. 

BERKELEY, SIR ROWLAND (1613-1696), only son of 
William Berkeley, of Cotheridge Court, and his wife Margaret, 
daughter of Thomas Chettle, of Worcester. Was knighted in 1641, 
and was Sheriff of the county. One of the Commissioners .of 
Array appointed to call out the Militia in June, 1642 ; the muster 
rolls are at Cotheridge. A graphic description of the Royalist 
knight's adventures at the time of the Battle of Worcester is 
to be found in two letters to his father-in-law, Sir Thomas Cave, 
published in Noake's " Nuggets." On the surrender of Worcester, 
Sir Rowland was fined £2,030, the third largest fine amongst 
Worcestershire gentlemen. At the Restoration he was nominated 
a Knight of the Royal Oak. 

BERNARDI, JOHN (1657-1736), born at Evesham, son of a 
Genoese Count who resided there and set the example of gardening. 
Being treated harshly by his father, he left home at the age of 
13, and afterwards enlisted as a soldier under the Prince of Orange, 
where he rose to be captain. Lost an eye, was shot through the 
arm, and left for dead at the siege of Maestricht. 1678. Followed 
James II. to Ireland, and afterwards retired to Holland. Arrested 
in London, 1695, and committed to Newgate on suspicion of 



Worthies of Worcestershire. 19 

plotting to assassinate William III. Continued in prison by 
special decree of six successive parliaments for 40 years, without 
legal condemnation. Major Bernardi married a second wife during 
his confinement, and had 10 children. He published his romantic 
career in his 74th year, with portrait in armour, painted by 
Cooper and engraved by Vandergutcht. 

-BIDDULPH, THOMAS TREGENNA (1763-1838), born at 
Claines, son of Eev. Thomas Biddulph by his first wife, Martha, 
daughter of Eev. Thomas Tregenna, Eector of Mawgan, Cornwall. 
Educated at Truro and Queen's College, Oxford ; B.A., 1784. 
Incumbent of Bengeworth, near Evesham, 1793-1803, and of St. 
James', Bristol, 1799-1838. Became famous as a preacher and 
parish priest. Wrote many theological books in support of evan- 
gelical doctrines. Started a periodical in 1798, " Zion's Trumpet,'' 
afterwards called " The Christian Guardian." Married Eachel 
Shrapnel, and died at Bristol, 1838. 

-BILSON, THOMAS (1547-1616).. Educated at Winchester 
and New College, Oxford; M.A., 1570. Warden of Winchester 
College, 1576. Bishop of Worcester, 1596. Translated to Win- 
chester, 1597. 

BINNS, EICHAED WILLIAM (1819-1900), born in Dublin. 
Left for London in 1844, where he acquired a complete knowledge 
of pottery, and studied the masterpieces of antique art in Museums 
and Art Schools.- Went to Worcester in 1851 at the invitation of 
Mr. W. H. Kerr, and became part proprietor of the Eoyal Porcelain 
Works. Infused new life into the system, raised the manufactory 
to the highest level, and extended the roll of employes almost 
tenfold. Ac the Vienna Exhibition in 1873 the unrivalled pair of 
vases, painted by T. Bott in the style of old Limoges enamels, 
were first shown, and the firm received the Diploma of Honour. 
The enamel was introduced by Mr. Binns in 1854. At the Paris 
Exhibition of 1878 Worcester was placed first, and received the 
Gold Medal, Mr. Binns being elected a Chevalier of the Legion 
of Honour. Investigation of the previous history of his craft 
resulted in his book, " A Century of Potting in the City of 
Worcester," 1865 (2nd ed. 1877). In 1897 he published an auto- 
biographical work illustrating the later triumphs of the W^orcester 
ware, entitled — " Worcester China : A Becorcl of the Work of Forty- 
five Years, 1852-1897," edited by his son, Charles F. Binns. In 



20 Short Biographies of the 

1897 he abandoned active work, and died at Diglis House, 28th 
December, 1900. Mr. Binns married, in 1846, Elizabeth Frances, 
daughter of Edward Ferrar, M.D., of Dubhn, by whom he had 
ten children. He was F.S.A., Hon. Sec. of the great Worcester- 
shire Exhibition of 1882 (in conjunction with Mr. Charles M. 
Downes), President of the Worcester Chamber of Commerce, Hon. 
Sec. of the School of Art, etc. 

*BLANDFORD, WALTER (1619-1675). Fellow of Wadham 
College, Oxford, 1644; Warden, 1659; Vice-Ch£wicellor, 1663; 
Bishop of Oxford, 1665 ; Bishop of Worcester, 1671. A MS. 
account of the Cathedral by him is extant, and he left books value 
£50 to the Cathedral Library. 

BLOIS, WILLIAM DE (d. 1236). Archdeacon of Bucking- 
ham, Bishop of Worcester, 1218. Enforced discipline. Successfully 
concluded litigation with the Abbot of Westminster about Great 
Malvern Priory. Excommunicated all who took part in a grand 
tournament at Worcester, 1225. Built new west front and charnel- 
house to the Cathedral. Entertained Henry III. in 1^232 and 
1234. Died at Alvechurch. 

-BLOUNT, THOMAS (1618-1679), born at Bordesley, Wor- 
cestershire, son of Myles Blount, of Orleton, Herefordshire. 
Studied at the Inner Temple, and was called to the Bar,- but, 
being a Eoman Catholic, did not practise in public. He inherited 
considerable property. His chief studies were directed to the 
interpretation of archaic and obscure words in law and other 
sciences. His wife was Anne Church, of Maldon, Essex, who set 
up a monument over his grave in Orleton Church. His chief 
works are : " The Art of Making Devises, treating of Hieroglyphics, 
Symboles, etc.", translated from the French of Henry Estienne, 
Lord of Tossez, 1640. " The Acaclemie of Eloquence " — a letter- 
writer for the young, 1654. " Glossographia, or a Dictionary inter- 
preting hard words noio used in our refitted English tongue, dx.," 
1656, 1670, 1671, 1679, 1691, all 8vo., 1717, fol. " The Lamps of 
the LaiD and Lights of the Gospel,'' 1658. " Boscobel, or the 
History of His Sacred Majestic s most viiraculous preservation at the 
Battle of Worcester, 1651," London, 1660. Dr. Nash (Supplement, 
p. 90) quotes a letter from Blount denying the authorship of this 
famous book, though the preface of the first edition has a preface 



Worthies of Worcestershire. 21 

signed by Thomas Blount. "A Laxv Dictiofiary, interpreting siich 
difficult and obscure Words and Terms as are found either in our 
Common or Statute, Ancient or Foreign Laivs," 1670. " Fragmenta 
Antiquitatis , Ancient Tenures of Land, and Jocular Customs of some 
Manors, dc", 1679 ; new edition by Joseph Beckwith, 1784 ; by 
H. M. Beckwith, 1815. "A Catalogue of the Catholics loho lost 
their lives in the King's Cause during the Civil Wars." "Boscobel 
(part II.) and Glaustrum regale reseratum," published by Mrs. 
Anne Windham, 1681. 

-BONNOR, EDMUND (1500 ?-1569), born at Hanley Castle, 
Worcestershire, son of Edmund Bonnor, a sawyer. Some say 
that his father was George Savage, Rector of Daveuham, Cheshire. 
B.C.L., Oxford, 1519; D.C.L., 1525. Chaplain to Cardinal Wolsey, 
1529. Sent to Rome by Henry VIII. in 1532 to protest against 
the King's being cited to appear before the Pope's Court. Made 
Rector of Cherry Burton, Yorl<s., and Ripple, Worcs. At Bologna, 
1533, and at Marseilles, where he personally conveyed to Pope 
Clement King Henry's appeal to a General Council against the 
sentence of excommunication. Made Rector of East Dereham, 
Norfolk, 1534, and Archdeacon of Leicester, 1535. Sent to super- 
sede Bishop Gardiner as Ambassador at the French Court, where 
he acted in an insolent manner, 1538. Was elected Bishop of 
Hereford, but translated to London without taking possession. 
Consecrated at St. Paul's, 4th April, 1540. In 1541 he opened a 
Court at the Guildhall to put in force the Act of the Six Articles, 
when the London prisons were filled, and some people were 
burned to death. Ambassador to the Emperor 1542 and 1543. 
At the accession of Edward VI. he protested against the authority 
of the Privy Council, and was sent to the Fleet. In 1549 he was 
reprimanded for neglecting to enforce the use of the new Prayer 
Book, and at length was deprived and sent to the Marshalsea prison. 
At Queen Mary's accession he was restored to his See, 1553 ; and 
after the Queen's marriage with Philip of Spain began the great 
persecution with which Bonnor's name has been so infamously 
associated. Bonnor sat in Parliament and Convocation for some 
months after the accession of Elizabeth, but having refused to take 
the oath of Supremacy, he was again deprived of his bishopric and 
committed to the Marshalsea, where he died 5th September, 1569, 
and was buried at midnight in St. George's Church, Southwark. 



22 Short Biographies of the 

-BONNOE, THOAIAS (fl. 1763-1807), bom in Gloucestershire. 
Most distinguished topographical artist of his time. Many of the 
plates of mansions, churches, and monuments in Nash's " History 
of Worcestershire " were drawn and engi-aved by him. He also did 
much for CoUinson's Sovierset, Bigland's Gloucestershire, and Pole- 
whele's Devonshire. Illustrations to Eichardson, Smollett, and 
Fielding were designed by him. He exhibited at the Eoyal 
Academy in 1807, and died before 1812. 

*BOOKEE, LUKE, LL.D. (1762-1835), born at Nottingham, 
son of a schoolmaster. Ordained 1785. Eector of Tedstone Dela- 
mere, 1806 ; Vicar of Dudley, 1812. A noted preacher of charity 
sermons, and an industrious poet. Was four times married. Wrote 
" Descriptive and Historical Account of Dudley Castle," 1825 ; 
" Malvern, a Descriptive and Historical Poem," 1798 ; " The Springs 
of Plynlimmon," 1834, and various other poetical and religious 
works. 

BOETHWICK, ALGEENON (1830-1908), Lord Glenesk, son 
of Peter Borthwick, M.P. for Evesham, 1835-47, and Editor of the 
Morning Post, 1850-52. Educated at King's College, London. 
Unsuccessfully contested Evesham, 1880 ; M.P. for S. Kensington, 
1885-95. K.B., 1880 ; a Baronet, 1887. Proprietor of the Morning 
Post. Created Baron Glenesk, 1895. 

BOSEL (fl. 680). Brought up in S. Hilda's Monastery at 
Streaneshalh (Whitby). Consecrated by Theodore, Archbishop of 
Canterbury, as first Bishop of Worcester, 680. Eesigned through 
infirmity, 691. 

-BOTT, THOMAS (1829-1870), born near Kidderminster. Gave 
up his father's trade of making spade handles to study drawing. 
Spent a few years in Birmingham as a portrait painter, and in 
1852 became one of the principal artists of the Worcester Eoyal 
Porcelain Works. In that year Mr. Binns introduced what is 
known as the Worcester enamel. Mr. Bott made the first trials, 
and ultimately succeeded in giving the enamel its important 
character. The late Queen and Prince Consort were great patrons 
of his work, which also was selected for presentation to the 
Princess of Wales, the Countess of Dudley, and Countess Beau- 
champ on their marriages. A pair of his vases is valued at 
£1,500. He died from paralysis, 1870. 



Worthies of Worcestershire. 23 



*BOUECHIER, THOMAS (1404-1486), brother of Henry 
Bourchier, Earl of Essex. Chancellor of Oxford University, 1434 ; 
Bishop of Worcester, 1435-44 ; Ely, 1444 ; Archbishop of Canter- 
bury, 1454 ; Lord Chancellor, 1455-6 ; crowned Edward IV., 1461, 
and Richard III., 1483 ; married Henry VII. to Elizabeth of 
York, 1486 ; nominated Cardinal, 1467. When Bishop of Wor- 
cester made ordinances for St. Wulfstan's Hospital. 

-BOURNE, GILBERT (d. 1569), son of Philip Bourne, of 
Worcestershire. Fellow of All Souls, Oxford, 1581. Prebendary 
of Worcester, 1541; Prebendary of St. Paul's, 1548; Rector of 
High Ongar, Essex, and Archdeacon of Bedford, 1549. Chaplain 
to Bishop Bonnor. Bishop of Bath and Wells, 1554. Warden 
of the Welsh Marches. Immediately after his consecration he 
expelled eighty-two married clergy from their benefices. In 1544 
he disputed with Cranmer, Ridley, and Latimer at Oxford, but 
did not put any to death for their opinions in his own diocese. 
Refused to take the oaths of allegiance and supremacy to Queen 
Elizabeth, and was committed to the Tower. In 1562 placed 
in charge of Bullingham, Bishop of Lincoln. Died at Silverton, 
Devon, 1569, and buried in the church there. 

BOURNE, SIR JOHN (d. 1563), of Holt and Battenhall, 
Worcestershire, knighted 1553. One of the two Secretaries of 
State under Queen Mary (1553-58). Member for Worcester, 1553; 
Worcestershire, 1554-58. Received grants of Battenhall, Upton- 
on-Severn, and other Crown manors, and a lease of Ombersley. 
Quarrelled with Bishop Edwin Sandys, and was committed to the 
Marshalsea. Cousin of Bishop Gilbert Bourne (q.v.). 

-BOURNE, ROBERT, M.D. (1761-1829), born at Shrawley, 
educated at Bromsgrove. Scholar and Fellow of Worcester College, 
Oxford. Elected Physician of the Radcliffe Infirmary, Oxford, 
1787, Reader of Chemistry, 1794; Professor of Physic, 1803; 
of Chnical Medicine, 1824. He died at Oxford, 1829. His pub- 
lished works are " An Introductory Lecture to a Course of Chemistnj,'" 
1797," and " Cases of Pulmonary Cons7ivivtion treated with Uva 
ursi," 1805. 

^BRADLEY, EDWARD (1827-1889), more widely known as 
" Cuthbert Bede," son of a surgeon, and born at Kidderminster. 



24 Short Biographies of the 

Educated at Kidderminster Grammar School and Durham Univer- 
sity. Thorpe Scholar and B.A., 1848. Ordained in 1850, and held 
successively the benefices of Bobbington, Denton, Stretton, and 
Lenton. His most famous book, " The Adventiires of Mr. Verdant 
Green, an Oxford Freshman " (1853-6), vpas illustrated by himself. 
His other works were " Photographic Pleasures," " Nearer and 
Dearer," "Fairy Tales," "Happy Hours," " Glencreggan," " Humour, 
Wit, and Satire," " Curate of Cranston," " Tour in Tartan Land," 
" The White Wife," " The Rook's Garden," " Matins and Muttons." 
" Little Mr. Bouncer," " Fotheringhay and Mary Queen of Scots." 
As a school boy he contributed many original contributions in 
prose and verse, with pen-and-ink sketches, to the " Manuscript 
Magazine" of the local Athenceimi, a.nd described his earlier literary 
efforts in " A71 Old Boy's Work loith Pen and Pencil," contributed 
to the Kidderminster Grammar School Magazine, 1887. Several 
of his local sketches are preserved in the Kidderminster Museum. 
He married a daughter of William Hancocks, of Blakeshall House, 
Wolverley, by whom he left several children. His brother, 
WALDEON BEADLEY, was a well-known Worcestershire writer 
under the non de plume of " Shelsley Beauchamp." 

-BEADLEY, THOMAS, M.D. (1751-1813), born at Worcester, 
where in his earlier years he taught a school. Studied at Edin- 
burgh and became M.D. in 1791. From 1794 to 1811 was 
Physician to the Westminster Hospital, London. For many years 
he edited the " Medical and Physical Journal." Published revised 
edition of Fox's "Medical Dictionary," 1803, and a ''Treatise on 
Worms," 1813. Died in London, 1813. 

BEANSFOED, WULSTAN (d. 1350). Bishop of Worcester, 
1339-50. Ordered thanksgiving for Edv^ard III.'s naval victory at 
Sluys. Built a bridge over the Teme at Bransford, his native 
place. Ordered the dead in the time of the Black Death to be 
taken to the burying-ground of St. Oswald's Hospital, and forbade 
interments near the Cathedral. 

-BEAY, SIE EEGINALD, K.G. (d. 1503), born in the parish 
of St. John, Bredwardine, Worcester, second son of Sir Eichard 
Bray, one of Henry VI. 's Privy Council, of Eaton-Bray, Beds. 
Steward of the household to Sir Henry Stafford, second husband 
of Margaret, Countess of Eichmond (mother of Henry VIL). Had 



Worthies of Worcestershire. 25 

a considerable share in the arrangement of the marriage of the 
Earl of Eichmond with the Princess Elizabeth, and the defeat 
of Richard III. Created K.B. at Henry's coronation, and rewarded 
with various estates and offices. In 1495 he had a grant for 
life of the Isle of Wight, Carisbrook Castle, &c. High Steward 
of Oxford University, 1494. Was at the Battle of Blackheath, 
1497, and received some large estates after the execution of Lord 
Audley. Built the Bray Chapel in St. George's Chapel, Windsor ; 
and is said to have designed Henry VII. 's Chapel at Westminster, 
the first stone of which was laid by him 24th January, 1503. 
Bray's portrait was in a window of the Priory Church of Great 
Malvern. He died 5th August, 1503, and was buried in his 
chapel at Windsor. 

BRIAN, REGINALD (d. 1361). Bishop of St. David's, 1349. 
Appointed Bishop of Worcester by Papal Bull, 1352. Friend of 
the Black Prince. Died of the plague at Alvecburch, 1361, after 
being nominated to Ely. 

BRIGHT, HENRY (d. 1626), born at Worcester. Baliol 
College, Oxford, M.A. 1586. For 40 years Master of the King's 
School, Worcester, where he earned a great reputation, and is 
praised by Fuller, Wood (Fasti), and Dr. Nash. Prebendary, 1619. 
Owned an estate at Brockbury, Herefordshire. Buried in Wor- 
cester Cathedral : his epitaph was composed by Dr. Joseph Hall, 
then Dean of Worcester. 

BRIGHTEAG (d. 1038), nephew of Bishop Wulstan I., (The 
Reprobate), born in Berkshire. Abbot of Pershore. A favourite of 
Canute, who sent him to escort the Princess Gunhilda to Germany, 
to be married to the Emperor Conrad II. Bishop of Worcester, 
1033-38. 

-BRINTON, WILLIAM, M.D. (1823-1867), born at Kidder- 
minster, son of a carpet manufacturer. Studied at King's College, 
London ; M.D., 1848. Member of the College of Physicians, 1854. 
Lecturer on Forensic Medicine and on Physiology at St. Thomas's 
Hospital, as well as physician there. He had a large private 
practice in Brook Street, Grosvenor Square, and was an eminent 
specialist in cases of intestinal obstruction and diseases of the 
alimentary canal. He wrote many books and papers, of which 



26 Short Biographies of the 



« The Pathology, Symptoms, and Treatment of Ulcer in the Stomach," 
1857, "deserves a place among the best English monographs." Dr. 
Brinton was a man of untiring industry, and died 26th January, 
1867, leaving six children. 

*BRISTOW, RICHARD, D.D. (1538-1581), born at Worcester. 
Studied at Oxford; B.A., 1559; renowned for oratory, and chosen 
with Edmund Campion to entertain Queen Elizabeth with a 
pubhc disputation on the occasion of her visit to Oxford. Elected 
Pellow of Exeter College, 1567. In 1569 he joined the Roman 
Church, and was appointed the first prefect of studies at Douay 
College, and afterwards head of the seminary at Rheims. Here 
his life was passed in reading, teaching, and publishing books of 
controversy. Owing to ill-health he paid a visit to England, and 
died at Harrow-on-the-Hill, 1581. He wrote many theological 
books, but is chiefly memorable- as the reviser of the " Douay 
Bible." 

BRITTEN, RICHARD FREDERICK (1843-1910), Admiral, 
was born in London, being the second son of Daniel Britten, of 
Kenswick, Worcestershire, by his wife Emma, daughter of Mr. 
George Green, of Blackwall. He entered the Navy as a mid- 
shipman at the age of 13, and the following year saw service in 
the China War of 1858, and was present at the bombardment of 
Nankin, for which he received the China medal. He served as 
Lieutenant on board the Royal yacht, and as Commander and 
Flag Captain to the Duke of Edinburgh in the Mediterranean. 
He retired with the rank of Captain in 1892, the year after he 
succeeded to the Kenswick estate, and was made Rear-Admiral on 
the retired list, but devoted himself thenceforward to county work. 
In 1890 he married Blanche Cecile, only daughter of the eleventh 
Baron and first Viscount Colville of Culross, by whom he had 
three children. He died at Kenswick. 

BROMLEY, HENRIETTA (1800-1885), daughter of Colonel 
Henry Bromley, of Abberley Lodge (M.P. for Worcester, 1806-7), 
and his wife, Elizabeth Ann, daughter of Edward Sacheverell 
Chandos Pole, of Radborne Hall, Derbyshire. The old families of 
Bromley and Walsh ended in the male line in this generation. 
Of the six daughters the eldest, Frances Mercy, married 1829, 
the Rev. Henry Somers-Cocks (grandson of first Lord Somers). 



Worthies of Worcestershire. 27 

After the sale of Abberley Hall in 1836 the other daughters 
retired to Bewdley, where they spent their lives and fortunes in 
unbounded charity and deeds of mercy. The saintly life of 
Henrietta Bromley is commemorated in the font erected in 
Eibbesford Church by many who blessed her memory, and revered 
the noble example she quietly set of utter forgetfulness of self 
in service for others. Mary Bromley, the youngest sister, wrote 
a small volume of sacred poems, published by Grainger of 
Worcester in 1861. The sisters were buried at Abberley. 

*BEOMLEY, SIE THOMAS (1530-1587), of Holt Castle. 
B.C.L., Oxford, 1560 ; Autumn Eeader at Middle Temple, and 
Eecorder of London, 1566 ; Solicitor-General, 1569, and Counsel 
for the Crown on the trial of the Duke of Norfolk for High 
Treason, 1572 ; Treasurer of the Inner Temple, 1574 ; Lord 
Chancellor, 1579 ; presided at the trial of Mary, Queen of Scots, 
1586. Buried in Westminster Abbey. His eldest son, SIE 
HENEY, of Holt Castle and Upton-on-Severn, purchased Ham 
Castle, and was M.P. for Worcestershire, 1593, 1604-11. Being 
concerned in Essex's rebellion, 1602, he was sent to the Tower, 
but in gratitude to James I., who restored his estates in 1603, 
he was active in the arrest of the Gunpowder Conspirators when 
High Sheriff in 1606. The grandson, SIE THOMAS, M.P. for 
Worcestershire, 1614, 1628-9, married Anne, daughter of Sir 
Eichard Walsh, through whom Abberley passed to this family. 

-BEOMSGEOVE, EICHAED (d. 1435), born at Bromsgrove. 
Elected Abbot of Evesham, 1418, and held the office for 17 
years. Buried in St. Mary's Chapel in the Abbey Church. 
Wrote a tract, De fraterna correctione canonice exercenda. 

*BEOOM HEEBEET (1815-1882), born at Kidderminster. 
Educated at Trinity College, Cambridge. Wrangler, 1837. LL.D., 
1864. Barrister, 1840. Eeader of Common Law at the Inner 
Temple, and practised on the Home Circuit. Author of many 
law books. " Legal Maxims," 1845 (fifth edition, 1870), etc. He 
also wrote two novels : " The Missing Will," 1877, and " The 
Unjust Steivard," 1879. 

BEOOM, JOHN (d. 1777), a man of enterprise who set up 
the first loom for Brussels carpets at Kidderminster in 1749, 



28 Short Biographies of the 

and restored the fortunes of the town, which were sinking to a 
low ebb through the competition of the weavers of Wilton, 
introduced from France by the Earl of Pembroke. Broom went 
to Tournay, studied the " mystery " of Brussels carpeting, and 
brought back a skilled Belgian, with whose aid he set up a 
loom on Mount Skipet. Other firms followed, and the trade 
rapidly expanded. John Broom or Broome was descended from 
a Shropshire family; he erected " Broomfield " (now the Vicarage) 
about 1732 ; was a large contributor to the building of " The 
Old Meeting House," 1753 ; and is buried in Kidderminster 
churchyard. His son John (b. 1735) married Elizabeth Parkes, 
of Bewdley, and died at the " Spennels " in 1811. Their eldest 
son, Samuel, married in 1800 Sarah Neville (of Abergavenny) and 
left a large family : Herbert, the second, was father of Dr. 
Herbert Broom (q.v.) ; and John, the youngest (d. 1850), married 
Ann, daughter of William Saville, of Balham Hall, Clapham, 
whose descendants have filled distinguished positions in the 
Army, the Navy, the Church, and the Civil Service. 

-BROOME, SIR FREDERICK NAPIER, K.C.M.B. (1842- 
1896), eldest son of Rev. Frederick Broome (great-grandson of 
John Broom, of Kidderminster, q.v.) and his wife Catherine, 
daughter of Colonel D. C. Napier. Born at Montreal. Married 
1865, Mary, daughter of W. G. Stewart, Island Secretary of 
Jamaica, and widow of Colonel Sir G. R. Barker, K.C.B. (authoress 
of "Station Life in N. Zealand," etc.) Emigrated to N. Zealand, 
1857, and was engaged in sheep farming ; returned to England, 
1869 ; employed on staff of Times newspaper, 1869-75 ; was 
Secretary to St. Paul's Cathedral Completion Fund, 1870-72, and 
to Royal Commission on Unseaworthy Ships, 1873-4 ; accompanied 
Sir Garnet Wolseley on a special mission to Natal, 1875 ; was 
Colonial Secretary of Natal, 1875-7, and of Mauritius, 1878-9, 
and was Lieut. -Governor and Commander-in-Chief of Trinidad, 
1891. A younger brother, Charles Saville Broome, Lieut., R.N., 
is author of " A Boiling Stone," being his life and experiences 
in S. Africa. The third, the Hon. William Napier Broome, is 
Chief Justice of Natal. 

BRYAN, STEPHEN (d. 1748). Apprenticed as a printer in 
London ; freeman June 3rd, 1706. Started the Worcester Postman, 
June, 1709. Title changed in 1722 to Worcester Post or Western 



Worthies of Worcestershire. 29 

Journal. This claims to be " The Oldest English Newspaper " 
next to the London Gazette. Bryan occupied a house on the 
south side of the Cross Keys, Sidbury. Three months before 
his death in 1748 he had assigned the paper to Mr. H. Berrow, 
who then gave it the now familiar name of Berroio's Worcester 
Journal. He was buried at St. Michael's Church. 

BUCKNALL, RUPEET THOMAS HAMPDEN, M.D. (1873- 
1913). Born at Kidderminster; son of Thomas Silvester Bucknall 
and Jane Alicia, his wife. Educated at King Charles I. School, 
Kidderminster. Matriculated at London University at the age of 
16. Student of Birmingham University, and of University College, 
London. M.B. (First Class Honours), 1896 ; M.D. Lond. Gold 
Medal, 1897; B.S. (First Class Honours), 1898; F.R.C.S., 1899; 
M.S. Lond., 1900. Assistant Professor of Clinical Surgery, Univer- 
sity College Hospital ; Consulting Surgeon, Victoria Hospital for 
Children ; Fellow of University College Hospital ; Author (Trier 
Prize, R.C.S., Eiig.) of Pathological Conditions that arrive on 
Imperfect Closure of Visceral Cleft ; University College Hospital 
Surgical Reports, 1900-01 ; contributed with Sir J. R. Godlee on 
a Case of Pharyngeal Pouch, Med. Chir. Trans., 1901, etc. In 
1904, Dr. Bucknall married Violet, daughter of Rev. G. Vallings, 
and had a successful practice in Harley Street ; but a very 
bright and promising career was brought to an untimely end 
by a motor accident as he was returning from St. Leonards-on- 
Sea. He is buried in the cemetery at Bexhill. 

-BULLINGHAM, JOHN (d. 1598). Born at Gloucester. 
Fellow of Magdalen College, Oxford, 1550. Chaplain to Bishop 
Gardiner, 1554 ; Prebendary of St. Paul's, 1565 ; Canon of 
Worcester, 1570 ; Bishop of Gloucester, 1581-98, holding the See 
of Bristol in commend am, 1581-9. Wrote the story of Julius 
Palmer the Martyr for John Fox. Attacked by Martin Marprelate. 

-BULLINGHAM, NICHOLAS (1512 ?-1576), born at Worcester, 
probably son of Thomas Bullingham, one of the Bailiffs of the 
City, 1528. Fellow of All Souls', Oxford, 1536. Chaplain to 
Cranmer, 1547. Prebendary and Archdeacon of Lincoln, 1549. 
Being married, he was deprived of his preferments by Queen 
Mary and went into exile, 1554. Returned in 1558 ; was made 
Chaplain to Parker and assisted at his consecration in Lambeth 



30 Short Biographies of the 

Chapel, 1559. LL.D. Cambridge, 1559. Bishop of Lincohi, 1560. 
Joined with three other Bishops in drawing up the famous 
" advertisements " prescribing the minimum of ritual that would 
be tolerated, 1565. Bishop of Worcester, 1571. Translated the 
Canonical Epistles and the Apocalypse for the "Bishops' Bible." 
Buried in the Jesus Chapel of Worcester Cathedral. He was 
twice married. 

*BUENET, ELIZABETH (1661-1709), born at Earontoun, 
near Southampton, daughter of Sir Richard Blake. Bishop Fell, 
a friend of her family, was guardian to Robert Berkeley, of 
Spetchley, whom she married, 1678. In 1684, Mr. and Mrs. 
Berkeley settled at the Hague, and became warm adherents of 
the Prince of Orange. After William III.'s Accession they returned 
to Spetchley. Her husband died in 1693, and she then fulfilled 
his wish to build a Hospital at Worcester. During her seven 
years' widowhood she wrote her most noted book, " A Method of 
Devotion" In 1700 she became third wife of the famous Gilbert 
Burnet, Bishop of Salisbury. Her fortune was left to her own 
disposal and she kept one-fifth for herself and bestowed the 
other four-fifths on charities. She died 3rd February, 1709, and 
was buried at Spetchley. 

-BURY, EDWARD (1616-1700), born in Worcestershire. 
Educated at Coventry School and at Oxford. Received Presby- 
terian ordination and took the place of the deprived Rector of 
Great Bolas, Shropshire, before 1654. Ejected in 1662, and 
suffered great privations. Calamy gives a list of eight of his 
works, including " The Soul's Looking-glass," " The Husbandman s 
Companion," "England's Bane," etc. 

-BUTLER, SAMUEL (1612-1680), fifth child of Samuel Butler, 
Farmer and Churchwarden of Strensham. Educated at Worcester 
School under Henry Bright (q.v.). Page to the Countess of Kent at 
Wrest, Bedfordshire, 1628, where he met with Selden who trained 
his mind. Became clerk to Thomas Jeffereys, a J. P. at Earl's 
Croome, Worcestershire, afterwards to Sir Samuel Luke, of Caple 
Hoo, Bedfordshire, a Presbyterian, one of Cromwell's generals, 
who was the original of " Hudibras." Spent some time in France 
and Holland. His first work was an anonymous prose tract, 
" Mola Asinaria," in favour of the Stuarts, which perhaps led to 



Worthies of Worcestershire. 31 

his appointment as Secretary to the Earl of Carbery, Lord 
President of the Marches of Wales, 1660. He was also made 
Steward of Ludlow Castle but resigned his .office after marriage 
with Miss Herbert or Widow Morgan, whose fortune was soon 
lost or spent. Butler became suddenly famous at the age of 
fifty by the publication of a small anonymous volume, " Hudibras : 
the first part luritten in the time of the late Wars " : licensed 
11th November, 1662 ; published 1663. Part second appeared in 
1664 ; part third in 1678. There were pirated editions of each 
part. Charles II. and his Court were delighted with the book, 
but did nothing for the author. His gift of matchless satire 
offended his friends. He lived in poverty and obscurity till his 
death on 25th September, 1680. His friend, William Longueville, 
buried him in the churchyard of St. Paul's, Covent Garden. 
John Barber, Lord Mayor of London, put up a monument to 
him in Westminster Abbey, 1721. A collection of Butler's manu- 
script works is now in the British Museum. In 1759, two 
volumes were published entitled " The Genuine Bemains in Verse 
and Prose of Mr. Samuel Butler." Other works published during 
the writer's lifetime are the " Geneva Ballad" 1674 ; " Ode to 
the Memory of Du-Val," 1671; "Two Letters," 1672. 

-■=BUTLEE, WILLIAM JOHN, D.D. (1818-1894), son of J. L. 
Butler, of Southgate, Scholar of Trin. Coll., Cambridge ; B.A., 
1840 ; D.D., 1885. Curate of Dogmersfield, 1841 ; Puttenham, 
1843 ; Wareside, 1844 ; Vicar of Wantage, 1846-80. Canon of 
Worcester, 1880-85. Founder (1850) and Warden till death of 
the Sisterhood of St. Mary's, Wantage; Founder (1888) of the 
Girls' High School (now " Alice Ottley ") at Worcester. Dean 
of Lincoln, 1885. His " Life and Letters " was published in 1897. 

-BUTT, GEOEGE, D.D. (1741-1795), son of Dr. Carey Butt, 
physician, of Lichfield. Educated at Stafford, Westminster, 
and Christ Church, Oxford. B.A., 1765 ; D.D., 1793. Curate 
of Leigh, 1765 ; Eector of Stanford and Vicar of Clifton-on- 
Teme, 1771. Married in 1773 Martha Sherwood. Chaplain-in- 
Ordinary to the King, 1783. Vicar of Kidderminster, 1787. 
Father of Eev. John Martin Butt, author of various books on 
Prophecy, of Lucy Lyttelton Cameron (q.v.), and of Mary Martha 
Sherwood (q.v.) Dr. Butt published Isaiah Verified, 1784; several 
sermons on special occasions ; in 1791, Sermons in 2 vols, with 



32 Short Biographies of the 

his portrait ; in 1793, Poems in two vols, dedicated to Lord 
Valentia, one of his former pupils. 

-CALDICOTT, ALFRED JAMES (1842-1897), son of a Worcester 
hop merchant and amateur musician; leading chorister; sang at the 
Three Choirs Music Meeting at Worcester; studied music at Leipzig 
under Mescheles, Reinecke, Richter, and others, then returned and 
was appointed organist of St. Stephen's Church, Worcester, in 1865. 
Mus. Bac, Cambridge, 1878; gained a special prize offered by the 
Huddersfield Glee and Madrigal Union, with a humorous glee 
entitled " Humpty Dumpty." Conducted his own composition, " The 
Widow of Nain," at the Worcester Festival. Settled in London, 
where he composed operettas for German Reed, and conducted at 
the Prince of Wales' Theatre. Visited America as conductor to 
Miss Huntingdon's Light Opera Company, 1890. Professor at the 
Royal College of Music and the Guildhall School, but resigned on 
being appointed Principal of the London College of Music. Also 
conducted at the Comedy Theatre. Composed part songs and 
operettas. Died at Barnwood, near Gloucester. 

*CALVERLEY, CHARLES STUART (1831-1884), born at 
Martley, son of the Rev. Henry Blayds, who resumed the old 
Yorkshire family name of Calverley. At Harrow, 1846-50. Won 
Balliol Scholarship, 1850. Chancellor's Prize for Latin Poem, 1851. 
Boyish recklessness caused his removal from Oxford, 1852, and he 
entered at Christ's College, Cambridge. Craven Scholar, &c., 1854; 
Second in the Classical Tripos, 1856; Fellow of Christ's College, 
1868. Called to the Bar, 1865, and joined the Northern Circuit. 
Married Ellen Calverley, of Oulton, Yorkshire. Had a fall while 
skating, 1867, and the injury obliged him to give up his profession. 
He died 17th Febi'uary, 1884, and is buried in Folkestone Cemetery, 
He was naturally indolent, but endowed with great intellectual 
power and keen wit, and has written the best parodies in the 
language. His examination prizes on " Pickivick," 1857, were won 
by Sir Walter Besant and Professor Skeat. His works are " Verses 
and Translations," 1862; '^Translations into English and Latin," 1866; 
" Theocritus translated into English verse," 1869 ; " Fly Leaves," 1872. 

CAMERON. CHARLES M.B. (1748-1818), born at Worcester, 
son of Thomas Cameron (q.v.). Educated at Eton, Balliol College, 
and Edinburgh. For 40 years physician to Worcester Infirmary. 
Eulogistic obituary notice in Worcester Herald. 



Worthies of Worcestershire. 33 

-CAMERON, LUCY LYTTELTON (1781-1858), born at Stanford- 
on-Teme, daughter of Dr. George Butt, vicar, and his wife Martha 
Sherwood. A clever child brought up in cultivated and intellectual 
surroundings. In 1806, married the Rev. C. E. Cameron, eldest son 
of Dr. Cameron, of Worcester. Worked with her husband among 
the colliers in his district of Donnington Wood, Shropshire, for 
25 years. Moved to Louth, Lincolnshire, 1836, and to Swaby 
Rectory, 1839. Wrote many rehgious tales and allegories warmly 
praised by Dr. Arnold, such as "Amelia," the " Tzvo Lambs," the 
"Floiver Pot." Sister of Mrs. Sherwood (q.v.). Buried at Swaby. 
Life written by her son, Rev. G. T. Cameron (second edition, 
1873). 

CAMERON, THOMAS (1704-1777), born at Edinburgh. 
Exhibitioner at Balliol College, Oxford; M.D. Settled as physician 
at Worcester, 1727. Promoted the establishment of the Infirmary, 
1745. Married (1) Miss Severn ; (2) Barbara Ann, daughter of 
Wm. Plowden, of Plowden, Salop, 1774. Wrote many medical 
papers. 

^CAMPBELL, JOHN, Lord Campbell (1779-1861), son of Rev. 
G. Campbell, D.D., minister at Cupar, N.B. Bencher and Treasurer 
of Lincoln's Inn; K.C., 1827; MP. for Dudley, 1832-34; Solicitor- 
General, 1832; Attorney-General, 1834; Lord Chancellor of Ireland, 
1841; created Baron Campbell, 1841; Lord Chancellor, 1859. Wrote 
the " Lives of the Lord Chancellors and Lord Chief Justices of 
England," &c. 

-CANTELUPE, WALTER DE (d. 1266). Second son of 
William, first Baron Cantelupe. At Roman Court in 1229 ; sent 
by Pope Gregory IX. to carry the pall to Archbishop Richard. 
One of seven itinerant Justices, 1231; elected Bishop of Worcester, 
1236 ; consecrated at Viterbo by the Pope ; enthroned at Worcester 
in presence of King Henry III., Queen Eleanor, the Queen of 
Scotland, &c., 1237. A most vigorous and beneficent ruler of his 
diocese. One of three arbitrators in the dispute between Bishop 
Grosseteste and his Chapter, 1239; at Lyons to defend the rights 
of his See against William Beauchamp, 1250 ; supported Grosseteste 
in resisting the Pope's demand of a tenth for the King, 1252 ; 
excommunicated those who had disregarded Magna Charta, 1253 ; 
accompanied the King and Queen to Gascony, and was sent as 



34 Short Biographies of the 

Ambassador to arrange for the marriage of Eleanor, sister of 
Alfonso X., of Castile, with his son Edward; resisted encroach- 
ments on the Church by Pope and King, 1255 ; elected one of the 
24 Provisors to help the King in the Government, 1257 ; at the 
outbreak of the Civil War he took part with Simon de Montfort ; 
attempted to mediate between the King and Barons before the 
battle of Lewes, 1264. Simon de Montfort slept at his Manor of 
Kempsey the night before the battle of Evesham, 1265. Suspended 
and summoned to Eome. Died at Blockley, 12th February, 1266, 
and buried in Worcester Cathedral, where his effigy remains. Next 
to Grosseteste, the greatest Bishop of his time. Founded the 
Nunnery of Whiston, Worcester, and began the fortifications of 
Hartlebury Castle. 

*CAED, HENEY (1779-1844), born in Surrey. Educated at 
Westminster and Oxford. Presented, 1815, to the liviiig of Great 
Malvern; 1832, to that at Donnington, Herefordshire; F.E.S. and 
F.S.A. He wrote on historical, religious and recreative subjects. 
Died at Great Malvern. 

*CAEDALE, PAUL (1705-1775). Probably son of Samuel 
Cardale, of Dudley. Educated at the Dissenting Academy of 
Ebenezer Latham, M.D., from 1720. Assistant Presbyterian 
Minister at Kidderminster, 1726; Minister at Evesham, 1733. 
Adopted Socinian views and wrote many theological books, 
including, " The True Doctrines of the Netv Testament concerning 
Jesus Christ," 1771. Buried in All Saints' Church, Evesham ; 
epitaph written by Eev. John Eawlings, Perpetual Curate of 
Badsey. 

-CAEPENTEE, JOHN (d. 1476), born at Westbury, Glouces- 
tershire. Educated at Oriel College, Oxford. Master of St. 
Antony's Hospital and School, London, 1420; Eector of St. 
Benet Fink, 1440; Provost of Oriel, 1430; Chancellor of Oxford 
University, 1437 ; Bishop of Worcester, 1443 ; rebuilt and richly 
endowed the College of Priests in Westbury Church ; built the 
Gatehouse at Hartlebury Castle ; promoted the building of bridges, 
&c., in the diocese. Died at Northwick and buried at Westbury, 
1476. 

*CAEPENTEE, LANT (1780-1840), born at Kidderminster, 
third son of George Carpenter, carpet manufacturer, by his wife 



Worthies of Worcestershire. 35 

Mary Hooke. Adopted by his mother's guardian, Nicholas Pearsall, 
a benevolent Unitarian who founded a Grammar School at Kidder- 
minster. In 1797, entered the Dissenting Academy at Northampton, 
which was closed in 1798; Cai'penter then entered Glasgow College, 
studied science and theology ; became assistant in the Eev. John 
Corrie's School, near Birmingham, 1801; preacher at the New 
Meeting, Birmingham, 1802 ; Librarian at Liverpool Athenaeum, 
1802-1805; Co-Pastor with James Manning, of St. George's Meeting, 
Exeter, 1805-1817; also conducted a Boarding School, founded a 
Public Library, &c. ; made LL.D of Glasgow, 1806 ; removed to 
Lewin's Mead Chapel, Bristol, 1817; took a leading part in politics, 
in public life, and in scientific education. His health broke down 
in 1839, and he was drowned 5th April, 1840, while going by 
steamer from Leghorn to Marseilles. The body was buried at 
Porto d'Anzio where it was cast ashore. Dr. Carpenter married 
Anna Penn, of Kidderminster, and left a family of six children, all 
of whom were distinguished. His eldest child was Miss Mary 
Carpenter, the Philanthropist. The chief of his 38 works were : 
(1) " Unitarianism the Doctrine of the Gospel," 8vo. 1809; (2) 
"Systematic Education," 2 vols.; (3) "An Exanmiation of the 
Charges made against Unitarians by the Bight Bev. Dr. Magee" 
1820; "A Harmony of the Gospels," &c. .. ,-, L.-.J--., 

-CARE, ROBEET JAMES (1774-1841), born at Twickenham, 
son of Eev. Colston Carr, a schoolmaster. Educated at Worcester 
College, Oxford. Married Nancy Wilkinson, of Eoehampton, 1797. 
Became Vicar of Brighton, and a friend of Prince Eegent ; Dean 
of Hereford, 1820; Bishop of Chichester, 1824; Clerk to the Closet 
till 1837 ; Bishop of Worcester, 1831. Attended George IV. during 
his last illness. Died at Hartlebury Castle, and is buried in the 
churchyard. 

-CASLON, WILLIAM (1692-1766), born at Cradley, Worcester- 
shire. Apprenticed to an ornamental engraver of gun locks and 
barrels. In 1716, started this business in London, and added to it 
a type foundry, 1720. Employed by S.P.C.K. to cut the fount of 
"English Arabic" for the New Testament. In course of time his 
work became renowned over Europe and gained him and his pupil 
Jackson the title of the "English Elzevirs." He died at his 
"country housq " in Bethnal Green, and was buried in St. Luke's 



36 Short Biographies of the 

churchyard. This famous firm still continues, after two centuries, 
under the name of Messrs. H. W. Caslon, Ltd., 82, Chiswell 
Street, London. 

CAWOOD, JOHN (1775-1852), born at Matlock. St. Edmund 
Hall, Oxford, 1797. B.A. 1801. Ordained in 1800 to the Curacy with 
sole charge of Ribbesford, Bewdley, and Dovvles; a zealous pioneer 
of Evangelical work in the district. He founded what was probably 
the first Sunday School in the county, held Cottage Lectures, 
and started a Mission in a remote and lawless part of the 
Wyre Forest, which led thereafter to the founding of a Parish, 
with Church, Schools, Clubs, &c. To his Parochial work he added 
the Mastership of Bewdley Grammar School, where he trained 
and inspired many men who became distinguished workers in 
the Church, e.g., Bishop Feild (Newfoundland), Bishop Medley 
(Predericton), Canon Hugh Stowell, Prebendary John Venn, Rev. 
J. G. Breay, &c. He preached patriotic sermons to the old Bewdley 
"Volunteers of 1802, and started a flourishing branch of the C.M.S. 
in 1816. He published two volumes of Sermons, and " TJie Church 
of England and Dissent," in reply to the Rev. J. Angell James. 
He was twice married, and left a son, Rev. John Cawood, Vicar of 
Pensax, and Rector of Bayton and Mamble. Mr. Cawood completed 
50 years ministry at Bewdley, and was buried in Dowles churchyard. 

-CECIL, JOHN, alias SNOWDEN (1558-1626), born in 
Worcester, and educated at Trinity College, Oxford; joined the 
Roman Catholic Seminary at Rheims in 1583. Ordained at Rome, 
1584. After being Secretary to Cardinal Allen, he joined Parsons 
at Valladolid. Sent to England, 1591, in company with Fixer, but 
was captured at sea and brought prisoner to London. When 
examined he pretended that he had always intended to give up his 
treasonable correspondence, and so was suffered to enter the service 
of Burghley, as a spy in Scotland. For ten years he combined 
the roles of zealous missionary, political agent to Scottish Roman 
Catholic Earls, and spy in the pay of England. The Earls sent 
him to Spain, but he maintained correspondence all the while with 
Cecil and Drake, and told the Earl of Essex that he had disclosed 
Roman Catholic plots by sending the letters of his Scotch masters 
to Burghley. He was thus employed, journeying to Spain and 
Rome, travelling as priest or as soldier, ever pretending to be 
betraying the other side, until 1601, when he was aj)pointed one of 



Worthies of Worcestershire. 37 

the four deputies of the English priests who went to Rome to lay 
before the Pope their grievances against the Jesuits. Parsons, his 
old superior, denounced him as " swindler, forger, spy, friend of 
heretics and betrayer of his brethren." He ended his life in peace 
and prosperity at Paris, as chaplain to Margaret de Valois. 

*CHAMBERLAIN, ROBERT, established, in 1786, a porcelain 
manufactory near to Diglis, in Worcester, on the site of the 
present Royal Porcelain Works. He had served his apprenticeship 
to the well-known firm of Flight and Barr, and worked for them 
from 1751 to 1783, and then set up the rival business of Chamberlain 
and Son. The firms were re-united, 1840. He made a dinner 
service for the East India Co., price £2,170, and a dinner and 
breakfast service for the Prince Regent, for £1,047. 

^CHAMBERS, JOHN (1780-1839), born in London. Educated 
as architect, but devoted himself to literature. Married, 1814, 
Mary, daughter of Peter Le Neve Foster, of Wymondham, Norfolk. 
In 1815, settled at Worcester; in 1823 removed to Norfolk, and 
died at Norwich, 1839. Author of (1) "A General History of 
Malvern," 8vo., Worcester, 1817 ; 2nd edition, 1820. (2) " A General 
History of Worcester," 8vo., 1819. (3) " Biographical Illustrations 
of Worcestershire," 8vo , 1820. (4) " History of County of Norfolk," 
2 vols., 8vo., Norwich, 1829. 

-CHAMBERS, JOHN CHARLES (1817-1874), born in the 
Tything, Worcester, 23rd November, 1817, son of John Chambers 
the biographer. Educated at Norwich School and Emmanuel 
College, Cambridge. B.A. 1840. While an undergraduate founded 
the first Sunday Schools in Cambridge. In 1842, Curate of 
Sedbergh ; In 1846, settled at Perth and founded St. Ninian's 
Cathedral ; in 1855, Vicar of St. Mary Magdalene's at Harlow ; 
1856, Perpetual Curate of St Mary's, Crown Street, Soho, London, 
and Warden of the " House of Charity," Sobo. Most earnest and 
successful as a parish priest. Died 21st May, 1874. Wrote 
"Sermons," " Beformation not Deformation," and other lectures. 

-CHIPPENDALE, THOMAS (fl. 1760), born in Worcestershire. 
In 1752, was cabinet maker and upholsterer of St. Martin's Lane, 
London. Famous for his mahogany furniture of elaborate and 
delicate design. Published, in 1752, " Book of Designs for Furnittire," 



38 Short Biographies of the 

drawn by himself; 2nd edition, 1759; 3rd edition, 1762. In 1858-9, 
" Chippendale's Designs for Sconces, Chimney and Looking Glass 
Frames in the Old French Style," was published by Weale. 

*CLAEE, SIE EALPH (1587-1670), eldest son of Sir Francis 
Clare, of Caldwell, Kidderminster, descended from the d'Abitots. 
Zealous Eoyalist and Churchman. Fought at Worcester, 1642 and 
1651. Objected to Eichard Baxter's retention of the Vicarage of 
Kidderminster. Portrait in Nash's " Worcestershire." 

-CLAEIDGE, EICHARD (1649-1723), born in Yorkshire. B.A., 
Oxford, 1670; Rector of Peopleton, 1673-91; became Baptist 
preacher, and afterwards joined the Society of Friends; School- 
master at Barking, 1700. Life and works, by John Bisse, 1726. 

*CLARK, JEREMIAH (died, 1809), son of Charles Clark, a 
lay-vicar of Worcester Cathedral. Chorister. Settled in Birmingham 
as organist and teacher of music, where he took a leading part in 
concerts and festivals, In 1806, organist of Worcester Cathedral. 
Published songs, sonatas, glees, and canzonets. Patronised by 
Lord Dudley and Ward. 

*CLAUGHTON, THOMAS LEGH (1808-1892). Educated at 
Eugby; B.A. (First Class) 1831; Fellow of Trinity College, Oxford, 
1832-42; Public Examiner, 1835-6; Professor of Poetry, 1852-57; 
Vicar of Kidderminster, 1841-67, where he carried on his work 
most successfully, and drew to his side a band of earnest curates, 
many of whom afterwards attained distinction in the Church — e.g.. 
Bishops Walsham How. A. Blomfield, A. G. Douglas, Deans Boyle 
and Herbert, Archdeacon Seymour, W. E. Churion, etc. In 1867, 
Dr. Claughton was consecrated Bishop of Eochester, and when, in 
1877, the new See of St. Albans was formed, he became its first 
Bishop. He married the Hon. Julia Ward, sister of the Earl of 
Dudley. 

-CLIFFORD, RICHARD (died, 1421). Dean of York, 1398; 
Bishop of Worcester, 1401. Sent to Germany by Henry IV. to 
treat about a marriage between the son of the King of the 
Romans and the Princess Blanche. Translated to London, 1407, 
and presided at the trial of Sir John Oldcastle, 1413 ; attended the 
Council of Constance, 1416. 



Worthies of Worcestershire. 39 

*CLIVB, CAEOLINE (1801-1873), daughter and co-heir of 
Edmund Meysey-Wigley, of Shakenhursfc, Worcestershire. Born in 
London. Married, 1840, the Eev. Archer Clive, Chancellor of 
Hereford Cathedral. Published poems and novels chiefly under the 
signature of "V," of which the most famous was "Paul FerroU" 
(1855), a powerful, sensational novel. She was accidentally burnt 
to death. 

-COBHAM, THOMAS (d. 1327). Educated at Paris, Oxford, 
and Cambridge. Appointed Bishop of Worcester by the Pope, 
1317. Founded a Library at Oxford. 

COCKERBLL, SIR CHARLES (1755-1837). Served the East 
India Company, 1776-1800; Postmaster-General in India, 1804-6; 
Returned to England as India Agent and Banker; Mayor of 
Evesham, 1810 and 1833; M.P. for Evesham, 1818-37. Married, 
(1) Mary Tryphena, daughter of Sir C. W. Blunt, Bart., and (2) 
Hon, Harriett Rushout, daughter of John, 1st Lord Northwick. 
Portrait at Evesham. 

-COCKS, ARTHUR HERBERT (1819-1881), Indian civilian, 
grandson of the first Lord Somers. Educated at Haileybury ; 
entered the Bengal Civil Service in 1837. After a brilliant service, 
both in peace and war, during which he acted as political officer 
with Lord Gough's army, 1848-9, and gained the esteem and 
friendship of Sir Charles Napier, Edwardes, and Nicholson, and 
received the C.B., 1860, he retired 1863, returned to England and 
settled at Dunley Hall in Worcestershire, where he took part in 
the county administration. Married, in 1847, Anna, daughter of 
Lieutenant-General John Eckford, C.B. Died in London. 

*COLBATCH, SIR JOHN (d. 1729), physician, native of 
Worcester ; became Licentiate of the Royal College of Physicians 
in 1696; knighted, 1716. Published many medical tracts. 

-COLLIER, GILES (1622-1678), author, born at Pershore. 
Educated at New Inn Hall, Oxford ; M.A., 1648. Took the Covenant 
in the same year, and in 1654 assisted the Commissioners for the 
ejection of " scandalous, ignorant, and insufficient schoolmasters 
and ministers." At the Restoration he complied with the Act of 
Uniformity, and thus held the living of Blockley, which had been 
given him in 1648, until his death. Author of many tracts. 



40 Short Biographies of the 

*COLLIS, JOHN DAY (1816-1879), born in Ireland. Educated 
at Eugby and Oxford; M.A., 1841; D.D., 1860. Headmaster of 
Bromsgrove School, 1842. Under his direction the school flourished 
in every way, and new buildings were erected. Honorary Canon 
of Worcester, 1854; Vicar of Stratford-on-Avon, 1867; Founder 
and first Warden of Trinity College School, Stratford, 1872. Died 
at Shottery Hall. He was twice married. Published many 
educational books. 

COMPTON, LORD ALWYNE FREDERICK (1825-1906), 
fourth son of the second Marquis of Northampton. Educated at 
Eton and Cambridge; 14th wrangler, 1848. Ordained, 1850; 
Rector of Castle Ashby, 1852-79; Archdeacon of Oakham, 1875-79; 
Dean of Worcester, 1879-86. Married, 1850, Florence, eldest 
daughter of the Rev. Robert Anderson. At Worcester, Lord and 
Lady Alwyne Compton did much for the good of the city, improving 
the conduct of the musical festivals, and interesting themselves in 
every phase of life in the city and county. Appointed Bishop of 
Ely, 1886; resigned 1905. Died at Canterbury. 

*COOKES, SIR THOMAS, Baronet (d. 1701), of Bentley 
Pauncefot, Worcestershire, was a benefactor of Bromsgrove and 
Feckenham Schools. Dying in 1701, he left £10,000 to Oxford 
University, whereby Gloucester Hall was converted into Worcester 
College. 

COOKSEY, HOLLAND (d. 1792), son of Richard Cooksey, of 
the White Ladies, Worcester. Educated at Merton College, Oxford, 
and the Temple. Chairman of Worcestershire Quarter Sessions. 
Married Miss Tart. Published " A Charge to the Grand Jury of 
Worcester," " Essays on the Lives and Characters of the Lord 
Chancellors Somers and Hardiuicke," 1791 (this work bears the 
name of his son Richard on the title-page). See pedigree in 
Nash II. 50, also "Chambers" p. 541. 

-COOPER, ROBERT (fl. 1681), son of Robert Cooper, Kidder- 
minster, servitor of Pembroke College, Oxford, 1666, and became a 
Fellow. 1681, Rector of Harlington, Middlesex. Wrote "A Gejieral 
Litrodtcction to Geography," 1680, etc. 

-COOTE, RICHARD, Earl of Bellomont (d. 1700). Son of 
Richard, first Lord Coote, of Coloony, by Mary, daughter of Sir 
George St. George, Bart. Succeeded his father, 1683 ; M.P. for 



Worthies of Worcestershire. 41 

Droitwich, 1688-95. Attainted by the Irish Parliament of James II. 
in 1689; but appointed Governor of Leitrim, Treasurer to the 
Queen, and created Earl of Bellomont by William III. In 1695 
he was made Governor of New York, where he died in 1700, 
greatly lamented, a fast being held for his death. He married, in 
1676, Catherine, daughter and heiress of Bridges Nanfan, of 
Birtsmorton, a bride of 11 years old. The widow married 
successively Admiral "William Caldwall, Samuel Pytts, of Kyre, 
and Alderman William Bridgen. After the death of his two sons, 
Nanfan and Eichard, his nephew Charles Coote, of Birtsmorton 
and Berrow, was created Earl of Bellomont, but the peerage again 
died with him. 

CORBETT, JOHN (1817-1901), son of Joseph Corbett, a 
Shropshire farmer and canal boat-owner. Entered the salt trade; 
acquired the derelict Salt and Alkali Works at Stoke Prior and 
made them prosperous ; purchased lands and other salt works at 
Droitwich, which placed him at the head of the trade, and 
gained him the the title of the "Salt King"; later he disposed of 
his interest in the Salt Union, and lived at the mansion he built 
at Impney, near Droitwich. M.P. for Droitwich, 1874-85. In 
1876 Mr. Corbett married Anne Eliza, daughter of John O'Meara, 
of Tipperary. He abolished the employment of women and girls 
in his works, restored Stoke Prior Church, and devoted much 
money to charitable uses. 

-CORNEWALL, FOLLIOTT HERBERT WALKER (1754-1831). 
St John's College, Cambridge, M.A., and Chaplain to the House of 
Commons, 1780; Canon of Windsor and D.D., 1784; Dean of 
Canterbury, 1792; Bishop of Bristol, 1797; Hereford, 1802; and 
Worcester, 1808-31. Lived in considerable state. 

COTTON, WILLIAM ALERED (1852-89), born at Bromsgrove, 
son of William Cotton an Auctioneer and Estate Agent. Educated 
at Worcester by Mr. Marcus, and succeeded to his father's business 
in 1874. His tastes were for numismatics and local antiquities. 
He acquired a valuable collection of old coins and medals, especially 
rich in Worcestershire tradesmen's tokens. His chief work was 
"The Coins, Tokens, mid Medals of Worcestershire," 1885; he was 
a contributor to Boyne's ''Trade Tokens," 1891; and was a member 
of the Numismatic Society ; he wrote many books and pamphlets 



42 Short Biographies of the 

on the church and antiquities of Bromsgrove. About 200 rare old 
county pamphlets were presented by him to the Worcester Eeference 
Library; and his elder brother and legatee, Mr. John Cotton, 
architect, afterwards gave a large part of his "Worcestershire coins 
to the Victoria Institute Museum. He died at Ventnor, unmarried, 
at the early age of 37, and left by will £800 towards the erection 
of an " Institute " at Bromsgrove. He is buried in Bromsgrove 
Cemetery. 

-COVENTEY, ANNE, COUNTESS OF (1673-1763), daughter 
of Henry Somerset, first Duke of Beaufort. Married Thomas, 
second Earl of Coventry, 1691. She was left a widow 1710. Wrote 
"Meditations a7id Reflexions, Moral and Divine." Buried at Bad- 
minton, after 53 years widowhood, aged 90. 

GOVENTEY, GEOEGE WILLIAM, EAEL OF COVENTEY 
(1722-1809), son of fifth Earl. Educated at Winchester and Oxford. 
M.P. for Worcestershire, 1747-51; Lord-Lieutenant, 1751-1808; 
Lord of the Bedchamber to George II. ; Eecorder of Coventry and 
of Worcester. Married, 1752, Maria, daughter of John Gunning, 
of Castle Coote, the most lovely of the three sisters so famed for 
their beauty; she died of consumption, 1760; and in 1764 he 
married Barbara, daughter of the tenth Baron St. John of Bletsoe. 
Buried in Croome Church which had been built at his expense. 

-COVENTEY, HENEY (1618-1687), fourth son of Lord Keeper 
Coventry (q.v.). Fellow of All Souls, Oxford ; Groom of the Bed- 
chamber to Charles II., whom he attended in exile; M.P. for 
Droitwich, 1661-81; Envoy to Sweden, 1664-66 and 1671-2; 
Ambassador to the Congress at Breda, 1667; one of the two 
principal Secretaries of State, 1672-80 ; a Lord of the Admiralty, 
1673-7. Buried in the Church of St. Martin in the Fields, London. 
By his will he left his estate at Hampton Lovett to erect and 
endow a Hospital at Droitwich for 24 poor people. 

-COVENTEY, THOMAS, LOED COVENTEY (1578-1640), born 
at Earl's Croome, son of Sir Thomas Coventry, judge, by his wife 
Margaret Jeffreys of Earl's Croome. Entered Balliol College Oxford, 
1592; Inner Temple, 1594; Bencher, 1614; Treasurer, 1617-1623; 
friend of Coke; Eecorder of London and Solicitor-General, 1617; 
M.P. for Droitwich, 1621-22; Attorney-General, 1621; Lord Keeper 
of the Great Seal, 1625 ; created Baron Coventry, of Aylesborough, 



Worthies of Worcestershire. 43 

Worcestershire, 1628 ; advised conciliatory measures in the King's 

disputes with his Parliaments; lent the King £10,000, December, 

1639. Died in London. Buried at Croome d'Abitot. He married 

(1) Sarah, daughter of John Sebright, of Besford ; (2) Elizabeth, 

daughter of John Aldersley, of Spurston, Cheshire. His eldest son 

Thomas, second Baron Coventry, married Mary, daughter of Sir 

Wm. Craven; the second, John, v^as father of Sir John Coventry, 

M.P. for Weymouth, v?ho had his nose slit by ruffians for an 

allusion in a debate to the King and Nell Gwyn. This led to the 

passing of the " Coventry Act." His daughters all married into 

distinguished families: Anne, wife of Sir W. Savile and mother of 

George Savile, Marquis of Halifax ; Mary, wife of Henry Thynne, 

of Longleat ; Margaret, wife of Anthony Ashley Cooper, first Earl 

of Shaftesbury; and Dorothy, wife of Sir John Pakington. Portraits 

at Croome Court, and at Grove Park, Watford (by Jansen). 

Engraved portraits by Droeshout, Elstracke, Houbraken, and 
Vandergucht. 

COVENTEY, THOMAS, EARL OE COVENTRY (1629-1699), 
second son of Thomas, second Baron Coventry, by Mary, daughter 
of Sir William Craven. M.P. for Droitwich, 1660-70; and for 
Warwick, 1681-87. Created Viscount Deerhurst and Earl of 
Coventry, 1697; High Steward of Worcester and of Evesham. 
Buried at Croome Dabitot. 

-COVENTRY, SIR WILLIAM (1628?-1686), son of Thomas, 
Lord Coventry. Entered Queen's College, Oxford, 1642. Commanded 
a company in the Civil War, Went to the Hague, 1660, and 
was appointed Private Secretary to James, Duke of York; M.P. 
for Yarmouth, 1661 ; Commissioner of the Navy, 1662 ; Com- 
missioner for Government of Tangier, 1662 ; Privy Councillor, 
1665. " The best speaker in the House of Commons." Supported 
Bennet (Earl of Arlington), and helped to overthrow Clarendon. 
Committed to the tower for sending a challenge to the Duke' of 
Buckingham, but soon released, March, 1668. Retired into private 
life at Minster Lovell, Oxfordshire. Died unmarried, 23rd June, 
1686. Buried at Penshurst. " 27ie Character of a Trimmer," 
attributed to him was partly written by his nephew, the Marquis 
of Halifax; he also wrote "England's Ajjpeal from the Cabal," 1673; 
and an " Accoimt of Cardinal Pool's Secret Papers," He is 
constantly referred to in Pepys' Diary. 



44 Short Biographies of the 



CRANE, JOHN (b. 1750?), bora at Bromsgrove; clock-maker, 
bookseller, and dealer in fancy goods." Wrote many topical rhymes 
in a racy vein, which were first issued in pamphlet form, and 
afterwards in a volume entitled " Poems dedicated to John Bull, by 
a Bird of Bromsgrove." This reached its seventh edition, and is 
of additional interest as being printed by George Nicholson, of 
Stourport (q.v.). He lived to be more than 70, and in his later 
years suffered from loss of sight. 

-CREIGHTON, MANDELL (1843-1901), born at Carlisle. 
Educated at Durham and Oxford; Fellow of Merton, 1866; 
Ordained, 1871; Canon of Worcester, 1885-1891; during his tenure 
of the Canonry he worked hard for the religious and social life of 
the city, inaugurating the Worcester Charity Organization Society, 
lecturing on historical subjects and local history. Wrote the 
" History of the Papacy " (1882-94), and many other works. Bishop 
of Peterborough, 1885; London, 1896. 

-CRUSIUS, LEWIS (1701-1775). M.A. Cantab, 1737; Head- 
master of the Charterhouse, 1748 ; Prebendary of Worcester, 1751 ; 
E.R.S., 1754; Rector of Stoke Prior, 1754, and of St. John's in 
Bedwardine, 1764 ; with these he held the Headmastership of 
Charterhouse until 1769, and when he died was buried in the 
chapel. Wrote " The Lives of the Roman Poets." 

CURTLER, THOMAS GALE (1797-1885). Purchased Bevere 
Estate, Claines, 1837, and for half-a-century devoted himself 
zealously to the public service of the city aud county. From 1845 
to 1866, he was Vice-chairman of Worcestershire Quarter Sessions, 
and on his retirement received from the county his portrait and a 
service of plate in recognition of his work. He was also a keen 
agriculturist and raised a noted herd of Shorthorns. 

*DARBY, ABRAHAM (1677-1717), born probably at Wren's 
Nest, Dudley. ^Apprenticed to a malt-mill maker in Birmingham. 
"Visited Holland and brought back some Dutch brass-founders. He 
founded the Baptist Mills Brass Works, near Bristol, and in 1708 
took out a patent for " a new way of casting iron pots and other 
iron-bodied ware in sand only without loam or clay." The utensils 
were thus considerably cheapened, and from having been hitherto 
imported, were now manufactured in England. He left the Bristol 
Works in the following year to lease the Coalbrookdale Works, in 



Worthies of Worcestershire. 45 

Shropshire. His wife, Mary, was buried afc the Friends' Meeting- 
house, at Bewdley, 1718. His son, Abraham, who was born 1710, 
in due course succeeded to the management, and is said to have 
been the first to use coke instead of charcoal in smelting iron ore. 
The third Abraham Darby (1750-1791), built the first iron bridge 
in Great Britain. 

DAVIES, HENRY FANSHAWE (1837-1914), son of General 
F. J. Davies, of Danehurst, Sussex. As a Naval Officer he served 
in Burmese War, 1852-3, and in the Baltic, 1854 ; joined Grenadier 
Guards, 1854 ; commanded the troops at the wreck of the Clyde, 
and fought in Zululand, 1879 ; Lieut. -Colonel commanding 1st 
Battalion Grenadier Guards, 1880-85 ; Major-General, 1886 ; 
commanded the troops in Cork district, 1889-93 ; Lieut. -General, 
1893. Married, 1863, Ellen Christine, daughter of J. A. Hankey, 
Balcombe Place, Sussex. After retiring from the Army in 1898, he 
was active as a county administrator iti Worcestershire, residing at 
Elmley Castle, which he inherited from his uncle, Col. T. H. H. 
Davies (q.v.). In 1908, he was made Hon. Colonel of the Lincoln- 
shire Regiment. 

*DAVIES, MILES (1652-1715?), born in Flintshire. Joined the 
English College at Rome and Ordained. 1688; acted as Missioner 
in Worcestershire, and as Confessor at Blackmore Park ; publicly 
recanted his Romanism, 1705, and thenceforward tried to earn his 
living as author and lawyer. His chief work was " Athenae 
Britamiicae," a critical history of literature ; he also published a 
history of his recantation, under the title of " The Recantation of 
Mr. Pallet, a Roman Priest, late Missioner and Popish Emissary 
in Worcestershire, etc' 

DAVIES, THOMAS HENRY HASTINGS (1789-1846), elder 
son of Thomas Davies, Advocate-General of Calcutta. Named after 
his godfather Warren Hastings. Ensign 52nd Regiment; fought at 
Vimiera, Sabrugal, Fuentes d'Onoro, Nivelle, and Nive; he exchanged 
into the 1st Foot Guards (now Grenadiers), 1809, and fought with 
them in all his later battles in the Peninsula, as well as at Waterloo, 
1815, being promoted to Lieut-Colonel in that year. He purchased 
Elmley Castle in 1822, and retired from the Army in 1839. He 
was M.P. for Worcester, 1818-41 (except 1835-37); supported Hume 
in his efforts for economy, and acquired the soubriquet of " Smollett." 



46 Short Biographies of the 

His elections are said to have cost between £30,000 and £40,000. 
His supporters presented him with a handsome dinner service made 
by Grainger of Worcester. He married, 1824, Augusta, only child 
of Thomas Champion de Crespigny, M.P., of Sudbury, Suffolk, but 
left no children. 

*DAVIS, EDWAED (1833-1867), subject painter, was born at 
"Worcester; studied drawing under J. Kyd, at Birmingham and 
Worcester ; exhibited in the Eoyal Academy, 1854, when he was 
living in Worcester. Died in Rome. 

*DAVISON, JOHN (1777-1834), born at Morpeth. Educated 
at Durham and Oxford ; Craven Scholar and Fellow of Oriel. 
Vicar of Upton-on-Severn and Prebendary of Worcester, 1826. 
Died at Cheltenham, and was buried in the Worcester Cathedral 
Choir. He published many theological works, the chief being 
" Discourses on Prophecy." 

DEACLE, JOHN (1660-1709), born at Bengeworth. Acquired 
a fortune as a wool-stapler, and was made an Alderman of London. 
Endowed a Charity School in his native place for the education 
and clothing of 30 poor boys. He was buried in old St. Peter's, 
Bengeworth, pulled down in 1872, but his monument was replaced 
in the new church. 

-DEE, JOHN (1527-1608), born in London. St. John's College, 
Cambridge, B.A., 1545 ; Fellow of Trinity, 1546 ; Eector of Upton- 
on-Severn, 1553. Studied astronomy, astrology, and chemistry, and 
gained the reputation of possessing supernatural powers. Imprisoned 
by Bonner, 1553. Patronised by Queen Elizabeth in the hope that 
he would discover the Elixir Vitse and the Philosopher's Stone. 
Collected a valuable library of 4,000 volumes, whereof 700 were 
MSS. in Greek, Latin, and Hebrew. Formed a friendship with 
Edward Kelly (q.v.) and dabbled in magical arts. Went to Poland 
with Count Laski, and then to Prague. Returned to Mortlake, and 
was made Warden of the College at Manchester, 1595. He wrote 
many books, including a " Treatise of the Bosie Crucian Secrets." 
He married Jane Fromonds and had several children. His private 
Journal has been edited by Mr. J. 0. Halliwell-Phillipps. 

DENEBERHT (d. 822), Bishop of Worcester, 798. Attended 
the Council of Clovesho, in 803, where it was decided that Lichfield 



Worthies of Worcestershire. 47 

was no longer an Archbishopric. At Council of Chalchythe 
(Chelsea?), 806, under King Kenwulf, father of the child St. 
Kenelm, who is said to have been treacherously murdered near the 
Clent Hills. 

-DEEHAM, WILLIAM (1657-1735), born at Stoulton. Ordained, 
1682 ; Vicar of Wargrave, and then of Upminister, Essex ; elected 
E.E.S., 1702. Dehvered the Boyle lectures, 1711, 1712, and 
published many books and papers on theology, natural history, 
astronomy, clock-making, etc. Canon of Windsor, 1716. His 
scientific knowledge enabled him to act as medical as well as 
spiritual adviser to his parishioners. He married Anne Scott, by 
whom he had many children. 

-DODD, CHAELES (HUGH TOOTEL), 1672-1743. Studied 
at Douay, and Paris. Eoman Priest in charge of Harvington, 
Chaddesley Corbet, 1726-43. Wrote there his " Church History of 
England," in 3 vols., 1737-39-42. The "Catholicon" gives a list of 
64 other works. 

-DOOLITTLB, THOMAS (1630-1717), born at Kidderminster. 
Left an attorney's office for Pembroke Hall, Cambridge; M.A. ; 
became Pastor of St. Alphage, London Wall. 1653 ; ejected in 1662, 
and opened a Boarding School at Moorfields ; projected the first 
Meeting-house in Bunhill Fields; licensed, in 1672, to a Meeting- 
house in Mugwell Street, and also educated young men for the 
Nonconformist ministry. His name is associated with that of his 
friend, Eichard Baxter, on an old chair in Kidderminster Parish 
Church. He published several theological works. 

-DOUGHAETY, JOHN (1677-1755), an Irishman; kept a 
writing and arithmetic school, at Worcester for 55 years. His 
mathematical works were highly popular. The " General Ganger," 
12 mo., London, 1750, went through six editions in the year. 
He also wrote " Mathematical Digests, containing the Elements and 
Application of Geometry and plane Trigonometry, ivith Tables for 
finding the Mean Times of the Moons Phases and Eclipses." Buried 
within the Cloisters of Worcester Cathedral. His son Joseph 
published a plan of the Cathedral (in Thomas's "Survey," 1736). 
John has left a plan of Worcester, 1742, a drawing of the Guild- 
hall, and plan of Kidderminster, 1753. 



48 Short Biographies of the 

-DOUGHTY, JOHN (1598-1672), born at Hartley. Educated 
at Worcester under Mr. Bright (q.v.), and at Oxford ; Fellow of 
Merton, 1619; M.A., 1622; Eector of Lapworth, 1633. Joined 
King Charles I. at Oxford. Lecturer at St. Edmund's, Salisbury. 
Eetired to London during the Commonwealth. Prebendary of 
Westminster and Eector of Cheam, 1662. Author of theological 
books. Buried in Westminster Abbey, 

DOUGLAS, AETHUE JEFFEEYS (1871-1911), born at 
Salwarpe Eectory, son of Canon William Douglas, and nephew of 
Dr. Walsham How, Bishop of Wakefield. Educated at Hartford 
House and Marlborough. Lincoln College Oxford, B.A., 1894. 
Ely Theological College, 1895. Curate of St. Edmund's, Salisbury, 
1895. Eector of Salwarpe, 1898. Eesigned his living and joined 
the Universities' Mission to Central Africa, 1901 ; settled first at 
Kota Kota, on Lake Nyasa, and then at Likoma, where he assisted 
to build the Cathedral, 1905; invalided home, 1907; returned in 
1908 as Head of St. Michael's College ; after very successful work, 
he was shot dead by a Portuguese official, November 10th, 1911. 
"His death was a real martyrdom: the only 'offence' which he 
committed was that of protecting some native girls from the unruly 
lust of another white man." "Life," by Canon Eandolph (U.M.C.A.). 

DOWDESWELL, JOHN EDMUND (1772-1851), youngest son 
of the 15 children of the Eight Hon. W. Dowdeswell (q.v.). 
Educated at W^estminster, Christchurch, and the Inner Temple. 
Called to the Bar in 1796, and obtained considerable eminence in 
his profession in the Court of Chancery. He was made a 
Commissioner in Bankruptcy, and a Master in Chancery in 1820 
by Lord Eldon. Eecorder of Tewkesbury, 1798-1833. MP. for 
Tewkesbury, 1812-32. He inherited Pull Court from his brother, 
General W. Dowdeswell (q.v.) ; and the Lincolnshire estates 
devolved upon the Eev. Dr. G. C. Dowdeswell, Canon of Christ- 
church. He married, . in 1800, Carolina, daughter of Charles 
Brietzcke, and left two sons and a daughter. 

^DOWDESWELL, WILLIAM, EIGHT HON. (1721-1775), 
eldest son of William Dowdeswell, of Pull Court, Bushley, by his 
second wife, Amie, daughter of Anthony Hamond, of Somersham. 
Educated at Westminster, Christchurch, and Leyden. In 1747, 
he married Bridget, daughter of Sir W. Codrington. M.P. for 



Worthies of Worcestershire. 49 

Tewkesbury, 1747-54; and for Worcestershire, 1761-75; made a 
Privy Councillor and Chancellor of the Exchequer in the Eockingham 
Ministry, 1765 ; declined the offer by Lord Chatham of the 
Presidency of the Board of Trade, 1766 ; was leader of the Whigs 
in the House of Commons, 1765-75 ; and voted for W^ilkes, 1769. 
He died at Nice and was buried in Bushley Church. The eulogistic 
epitaph was written by his friend Edmund Burke, who declared 
that "it was so perfectly true that every word of it may be 
deposed upon oath." 

*DOWDESWELL, WILLIAM (1761-1828), third son of Right 
Hon. W. Dowdeswell, of Pull Court (q.v.). Ensign in the Grenadier 
Guards, 1780; A.D.C. to the Duke of Portland as Lord Lieutenant 
of Ireland; Captain, 1785; M.P. for Tewkesbury, 1792; served 
with the Guards in the Netherlands, 1792-3; Lieut.-Colonel, 1794; 
went to India as Secretary to Lord William Bentinck, Governor of 
Madras ; Major-General, 1803, and commanded a Division under 
Lord Lake in his campaign against Holkar till peace was made in 
1805 ; in 1807, he temporarily succeeded Lake as Commander-in- 
Chief in India; on account of his health he retired from the Army 
as General with full rank in 1810, and received the thanks of the 
Government and of the East India Company. In 1811 he succeeded 
to the family estate at Bushley, and devoted himself to collecting 
prints, especially those by old English engravers, and was one of 
the first collectors who made a hobby of " Grangerising." 

-DOWLEY, RICHARD (1622-1702), Demy of Magdalen, Oxford. 
B.A., 1643; Chaplain to Sir Thomas Rouse, at Rouse Lench, 1648; 
Minister of Stoke Prior, 1656 ; and after the Restoration retired to 
Staffordshire. Refused to submit to the Act of Uniformity. Kept 
a school and preached in London, where he died. 

^'-DUDLEY, DUD (1599-1684), fourth natural son of Edward 
Sutton, fifth Baron Dudley, by Elizabeth Tomlinson, of Dudley. 
Left Balliol College to superintend his father's ironworks at Pensnet, 
Worcestershire, 1619; the furnace and forges were then all worked 
with charcoal, which caused the rapid destruction of timber in 
Surrey, Sussex, and Kent ; Dudley invented a method of smelting 
by the use of pit coal, and his father obtained a patent for him 
for this process from King James I. for 31 years; the May-day 
flood of 1620 "ruinated the ironworks," to the joy of his rivals; 



50 Short Biographies of the 

he erected furnaces at Himley and Askew Bridge, but was much 
molested; htigation ensued, and he was imprisoned in London for 
a debt of several thousand pounds ; in 1639, he obtained a new 
patent. In the Civil Wars he was Colonel in the Army of Charles I. 
and General of Ordnance to Prince Maurice ; captured in 1648, but 
his life was spared. In 1651 he began to erect a new furnace near 
Bristol, and again suffered from law-suits. He married, 1626, 
Elinor Heaton, and was buried in St. Helen's Church, Worcester. 
He published his " Metallum Martis," in 1665. 

DUDLEY, EAEL OF. [See Ward, William, first Earl, 1817- 
1885] . 

*DUGAED, WILLIAM (1606-1662), born at Bromsgrove, son of 
Eev. Henry Dugard. Educated at Worcester under Bright (q.v.), and 
at Sidney- Sussex College, Cambridge. B.A., 1626. Master of Stamford 
School, 1630 ; of Colchester, 1637-43 ; of Merchant Taylors', 1644-50. 
Deprived and imprisoned in Newgate for printing Salmasius's 
"Defe7ice of Charles I." He was released; but Milton's " Defeiisio," 
in reply to Salmasius, was printed " Typis Dugardianis " at his own 
confiscated press. Restored to Merchant Taylors' 1650, but again 
dismissed in 1661. His chief works were a " Greek Grammar," 
and a ''Lexicon of the Greek Testament." 

*DUNSTAN, SAINT (924-988). Educated at Glastonbury. 
Encouraged by King Athelstan. Councillor of King Edmund. 
Abbot of Glastonbury, where he founded a famous school. Rebuked 
King Edwy, 956. Appointed by Edgar to Bishopric of Worcester, 
957, and to London, 959-61 (still retaining Worcester) ; Archbishop 
of Canterbury, 961. A famous statesman and administrator. 

EADBERHT (d. 848). Bishop of Worcester, 822-848. Granted 
away Church lands to purchase protection from the Danes. 

-EARLE, JOHN (1601?-1665). Fellow of Merton College, 
Oxford, 1619 ; tutor to Charles II. when Prince of Wales, and 
afterwards his Chaplain in France ; Dean of Westminster, 1660 ; 
Bishop of Worcester, 1662-3 ; of Salisbury, 1663-5. Author of a 
clever book of "Characters," entitled " Microcosmographia," 1628, 
and " Hortus Mortonensis" 



Worthies of Worcestershire. 51 

*EDES, RICHAED (1555-1604). Educated at Westminster; 
Student of Christchurch, 1571, and Canon, 1586 ; Prebendary of 
Hereford, 1590, and Treasurer, 1596; Dean of Worcester, 1597, and 
Chaplain to James I. Selected as a Translator of the Bible. In 
his earlier years he composed tragedies. His widow married 
Humphrey Lyttelton, of Studley. (See Wood's " Athence"). 

*EEDES, EICHAED (d. 1686), born at Feckenham; Clerk or 
Chorister at Corpus Christi College, Oxford, 1626; Curate of Bishop's 
Cleeve, Gloucestershire, 1634. He subscribed to the Covenant, and 
was made Vicar of Beckford in 1647, but after eleven years he 
returned to his cure and became a Eoyalist. His attempt to 
conciliate the Court party was vain, however, and he left Bishop's 
Cleeve in 1662. He wrote several " Homilies." 

-EGINTON, FEANCIS (1737-1805), born at Eckington. Began 
as an enameller at Bilston; joined Matthew Boulton, at Handsworth; 
invented a process for copying oil pictures in colour, afterwards 
revived and improved by Baxter. In 1784, he had workshops near 
Soho, where, during the next 20 years, he produced a large number 
of windows in "stained glass" — his work was really painted on 
glass, and not with the "leading" used in mediaeval glass for "pot 
metal"; his first work was the Arms of Knights in St. George's 
Chapel, Windsor, followed by commissions in many cathedrals and 
mansions ; at Beckford's " Fonthill Abbey," his works cost £12,000. 
He was buried at Handsworth. His son W. E. Egington continued 
the glass works for many years, and his nephew Francis became 
famous as an engraver in " stipple " and an illustrator of books. 

EGWINE, SAINT (d. 717). Of Wiccian birth. Third Bishop 
of Worcester, 693-717. An eloquent preacher and great Bishop. 
Mobbed by the miners at Alcester. Founder and first Abbot of 
Evesham, for which he obtained special privileges and immunities. 
Canonised, and the reputed worker of several miracles. 

-ELLIS, SIE HENEY WALTON (1783-1815), born at Kempsey, 
son of Major-General Joyner Ellis Entered the army as Ensign 
in the 89th Eegiment; in 1795 went to St. Domingo as Lieutenant 
in the 41st; in 1799 with the 23rd, was wounded at the Helder 
in Holland; embarked in 1800 for Ferrol, Cadiz, and Egypt; at 
the landing at Aboukir, Captain Ellis was the first officer who 



52 Short Biographies of the 

gained the beach; in 1808, as Lieufc. -Colonel, he wenfc with the 
23rd to Halifax, Nova Scotia, and was praised for his conduct at 
the capture of Martinique ; in 1810 he went to the Peninsula and 
was engaged in almost every battle and siege which occurred, 
Albuera, Ciudad Rodrigo, Badajos, Salamanca, Burgos, Vittoria, 
Pyrenees, Bidassoa, Nive, Orthes, and Toulouse ; he was often 
wounded, but returned home in 1814 with the rank of Colonel, 
and was made K.C.B. ; the county of Worcester presented him with 
a splendid vase ; at Waterloo he received a fatal vv^ound whilst 
charging with his regiment, and was buried on the field ; a 
monument by Bacon was erected by his regiment in the nave of 
Worcester Cathedral, in which Colonel Ellis is represented falling 
from his horse, while Victory is crowning him with laurel. He 
died at the early age of 32. 

*ELSTOB, ELIZABETH (1683-1756), born at Newcastle. 
Resided at Evesham. Became a famous Anglo-Saxon scholar. 
Published " English-Saxon Homily on the Nativity of St. Gregory," 
Aelfric's "Homilies," and an Anglo-Saxon Grammar. At Evesham 
she endured hardship from poverty, but was befriended by Queen 
Caroline, and died in the service of the Duchess of Portland. 
Buried at St. Margaret's, Westminster. 

*ELY, NICHOLAS OF (d. 1280). Archdeacon of Ely 1249; 
held successively the offices of Keeper of the Great Seal, Chancellor, 
and Treasurer of England ; Bishop of Worcester, 1266-8 ; gave 60 
marks for the construction of the cathedral tower; Bishop of 
Winchester, 1268-80. 

-EVANSON, EDWARD (1731-1805), born at Warrington. 
Emmanuel College, Cambridge, M.A., 1753; Vicar of Longdon, 
1770; prosecuted in Consistory Court for Unitarianism, 1771; 
attacked the doctrine of the Trinity in a letter to Dr. Hurd, 1777 ; 
resigned Longdon, and started a School at Mitcham, 1778. 

*EVESHAM, HUGH DE (d. 1287), probably born at Evesham, 
where he was also a monk, and was accounted the first physician 
of his age. Studied at Oxford, Cambridge, France, and Italy. 
Created a Cardinal and physician to Pope Martin IV., 1280; 
Archdeacon of Worcester, 1275. Author of " Canones Medicmales," 
and other works. Buried at Rome. 



Worthies of Worcestershire. 53 

-FABER, ARTHUR HENRY (1831-1910). Educated at 
Winchester, and New College, Oxford. B.A. (first class), 1852, and 
Fellow. First Headmaster of Malvern College, 1865-80; at its 
opening the four Assistant Masters "formed a hollow square round 
one boy"; as a devoted Wykehamist he inoculated the spirit of 
the original Founder of the English Public School on this new 
foundation, and watched over its early development with unwearied 
attention and skill ; in January, 1875, there were 200 boys on the 
roll. The loss of his wife in December of that year was a great 
blow to him, and in 1880, when the College numbers had risen to 
273, he accepted the Rectory of Sprotborough near Doncaster. He 
became a Prebendary of York in 1887. A few years before his 
death he resigned his living and retired to Wadsworth where he 
is buried. He published in 1873, " Sermons at a neiv School." 

-FACCIO, NICHOLAS (1664-1753), of DuiUier and Geneva. 
Eminent as a mathematician ;' invented a method of using a ship's 
motion for grinding corn, &c. ; made known a conspiracy to kidnap 
William of Orange, 1686; F.R.S. ; helped by Sir Isaac Newton; 
became connected with the " French prophets " and stood in the 
pillory at Charing Cross as an imposter, 1707 ; travelled in Asia, 
and about 1720 retired to Worcester, where he died at the age of 
90. His burial was recorded in the Register of St. Nicholas. 
Wrote " Ejnstola de mari cenea Salomonis," 1688, and "Navigation 
Improv'd," 1728. 

*FALKNER, THOMAS (1707-1784), son of a surgeon of 
Manchester. Studied at St. Thomas's Hospital ; went as a surgeon 
on a Guinea slave ship ; fell ill at Buenos Ayres, and was nursed 
with great kindness by the Jesuits ; he afterwards joined their 
Order and became a missionary among the Indians of Paraguay 
and the Straits of Magellan ; his surgical skill helped to make his 
mission wonderfully successful ; he also surveyed the coast for the 
Spanish Government; after 38 years work, the Society was dissolved, 
and Falkner retired to Spetchley as Chaplain to Mr. Robert 
Berkeley. Here he wrote an account of Patagonia with a map 
corrected by his own observations. 

*FECKENHAM, JOHN DE (1518-1585), born in Feckenham 
Forest, Worcestershire, the son of poor peasants named Howman. 
The parish priest obtained his admission into Evesham Abbey, from 



54 Short Biographies of the 

which he entered Gloucester Hall, Oxford. B.D., 1539; returned 
to Evesham as teacher; when the Monastery was dissolved he 
returned to Oxford; Eector of SoHhuU, 1544 (?); Domestic Chaplain 
to Dr. Bell, Bishop of Worcester, and then to Bonner, Bishop of 
London ; sent to the Tower, 1549 ; took the Eoman side in 
theological disputations; in 1553 released and made private Chaplain 
and Confessor to Queen Mary; Prebendary of St. Paul's, Dean of 
St. Paul's, Eector of Finchley and of Greenford Magna, 1554; 
preached much at St. Paul's Cross ; attempted to change the 
religious views of Lady Jane Grey and Eidley, before their execution ; 
when Mary refounded St. Peter's Monastery, at Westminster, 
Feckenham was chosen as Mitred Abbot, 1556 ; deposed, 1559, and 
sent to the Tower; released, 1574. Wrote sermons, orations, and 
pamphlets. 

*FEILD, EDWAED (1801-1876), born at Worcester, third son 
of James Field. Educated at Bewdley under John Cawood (q.v.), 
and Eugby. Wadham College, Oxford, 1819; Michel Scholar of 
Queen's; B.A., 1823; Fellow of Queen's, 1825-33; Curate of 
Kidlington, Oxford, 1827-34; Incumbent of English Bicknor, 1834; 
became famous as an expert in village schools, and was chosen 
first Inspector of Schools under the National Society, 1840; 
consecrated Bishop of Newfoundland, 1844 (D.D., Oxford), spent 
the rest of his life in this island, suffering great hardships while 
visiting his diocese in a small schooner; the Church made great 
progress under his rule, in clergy, churches, schools, a college, and 
cathedral. He married, in 1867, Sophia, daughter of Eobert Bevan, 
and widow of Eev. Jacob G. Mountain, Principal of St. John's 
College, Newfoundland. Died in Bermuda, and is buried there. 
He wrote addresses to the inhabitants of Kidlington, sermons, 
charges, and Journals of Visitations to Missions on the Coasts of 
Newfoundland and Labrador, His "Life" has been written by 
Tucker (1877), with portrait. 

*FELL, JOHN (1625-1686), son of Dr. Samuel Fell, Prebendary 
of Worcester and Dean of Christchurch, 1660. Built the tower 
over the principal gateway for " Great Tom." Bishop of Oxford, 
1675; held the Mastership of St. Oswald's Hospital, Worcester, 
which he rebuilt at his own expense. Is said to have corrected 
the MS. of Lady Dorothy Pakington's " Whole Duty of Man." 
Famous by the epigram, "I do not like you, Dr. Fell." 



Worthies of Worcestershire. 55 

-FLAVEL, JOHN (1630?-1691), son of Rev. Richard Flavel, 
incumbent of Bromsgrove. He did well at University College, 
Oxford, and in 1650 was sent to Depford-on-Avon, in Devon, where 
he took Presbyterian orders as assistant to Mr. Walplate, whom he 
succeeded ; in 1656 he removed to Dartmouth, but was ejected 
under the Act of Uniformity ; he continued to minister there 
secretly, and in 1671 was granted an indulgence to return, but this 
was afterwards withdrawn and he went to London, and did no 
more openly in Dartmouth until the penal laws were repealed. 
In 1669 he published "Husbandry Spiritualised," and later on 
"Navigation Spiritualised. Selections from his writings were 
published in 1823 (ed. Bradley). He married four times. 

^FLEETWOOD, JAMES (1603-1683). Educated at Eton and 
King's Colleges. After Edgehill carried off the young princes to a 
place of safety. D.D. 1642; Rector of Sutton Coldfield, but ejected; 
Provost of King's College, 1660; Bishop of Worcester, 1675. 

-FLETCHER, RICHARD (d. 1516). Trinity College, Cambridge. 
Chaplain to Queen Elizabeth, 1581 ; Dean of Peterborough, 1583 ; 
present at the execution of Mary Queen of Scots at Fotheringhay ; 
Bishop of Bristol, 1589, of Worcester, 1593, and London, 1594. 

FLIGHT, JOSEPH (d. 1829), was the London agent of the 
Worcester Porcelain Company, with his office in Bread Street, until, 
in 1783, he and his brother bought the business for £3,000. In 
1793 they were joined by Martin Barr. It was during his manage- 
ment that the Company received King George III. and the Royal 
Family on their visit to Worcester in 1788, when the King and 
Queen inspected the Company's new premises in homely fashion, 
climbing ladders till they were breathless, heedless of dirt and 
sawdust, so that they might see the new works that were being 
built. The King gave them the additional title of Boyal Porcelain 
Company, and advised the opening of an establishment in London, 
which was patronised by the Royal Family. These royal favours 
did not escape the lampoonist. 

" With china vessels, cups and saucers, free, 
Be ready, Flight, to catch the Royal tea; 
On every dish let fancied Cupids play, 
But yet their fingers on their lips, I pray ; 
To show how silence on the throne should sit 
And Love itself conceal the schemes of Pitt." 



56 Short Biographies of the 

When Flight died in London in 1829, the business passed to 
his sons and to Martin Barr. 

*FLOEENCE (d. 1118), a monk of Worcester; wrote one of 
the most valuable books on early English history. The "Chro7iicon 
ex Chronicis" is based on a general chronicle of events from the 
creation to his own time, drawn up by Marianus, an Irish monk. 
Florence added the references to English affairs — taken from the 
"Anglo-Saxon Chronicle," "Venerable Bede," Asser's "Life of 
Alfred the Great,'" "Lives of Saints," &c. Other monks continued 
the work, especially John of Worcester. There are nine ancient 
MSS. of the "Chronicle" at Christchurch, Oxford, Lambeth, 
Bodleian, Corpus Christi College (Cambridge), Trinity College 
(Dublin), &c. First printed at London (4to), 1592 : edited by B. 
Thorpe, for English Historical Society, 2 vols., 1849. In Bohn's 
^^ Historical Library," (8vo.) 1847, and Stevenson's "Church 
Historians," vol. ii., pt. i., 1853. 

-FOLEY, PAUL (1644?-1699), second son of Thomas Foley, of 
Witley Court. Purchased Stoke Edith, 1670, and built the new 
house there 1699. M.P. for Hereford, 1679, and for seven parlia- 
ments. Elected Speaker of the House of Commons, 14th March, 
1695 ; was a Tory without any Jacobite leanings ; collected a 
valuable library at Stoke Edith, where he died. Married Mary, 
daughter of Alderman Lane, of London. His great-grandson, 
Thomas, was made Baron Foley of Kidderminster, (a new creation), 
20th May, 1776. 

FOLEY, EICHAKD (1590-1657), ironmaster of Stourbridge; 
laid the foundation of the family fortune by his enterprise in the 
iion industry. Under the guise of a fiddler he discovered (accord- 
ing to Smiles), the secret of the machinery used in Sweden for 
splitting iron, and introduced it at Stourbridge. He married Alice, 
daughter of William Brindley, of Hyde, Staffs. Buried in the 
chancel of Oldswinford Church. 

*FOLEY, THOMAS, LORD FOLEY (d. 1733), son of Thomas 
Foley, of Witley and Kidderminster. M.P. for Stafford, 1694-1711 ; 
created Baron Foley, 1712 — one of the tivelve Tory peers; married 
Mary, daughter of Thomas Strode, serjeant-at-law ; buried at 
Witley. By the death of his son Thomas, sine prole, the Barony 



Worthies of Worcestershire. 57 

became extinct in 1766, but was newly created, 1776, in the person 
of his kinsman Thomas Foley, of Stoke Edith, M.P. for Droitwich 
1741-7 and 1754-6, who married Grace, daughter of George 
Granville, Lord Lansdowne. 

-FOLEY, THOMAS (1617-1677), son of Kichard Foley, of 
Stourbridge ; amassed a large fortune by the iron industry ; 
purchased much landed property at Kidderminster, Stourbridge, and 
Great Witley. M.P. for Worcestershire, 1659. and for Bewdley, 
1660. Friend of Baxter, and founder of Oldswinford Hospital, 
which has now a yearly income of £5,500, and feeds, clothes, 
educates, and apprentices 160 boys. Married Anne, daughter of 
George Brown, of Spelmonden, Kent, and left four sons, Thomas, 
Nathaniel, Paul, and Phihp, and two daughters. He died 1st Oct., 
1677, and is buried in Witley Church. Portrait at Oldswinford 
Hospital (engraved for "Nash"). 

FOLLIOTT, HENEY, BAEON FOLLIOTT (d. 1622), son 
of Thomas Folliott, of Pirton, by liis second wife, Katherine, daughter 
of William Lygon, of Madresfield. Served in the wars in Ireland 
and was knighted by the Lord Lieutenant, 1599. Fought at 
the victory of Kingsale, 1620. Eaised to the Peerage of Ireland 
in 1619 as Baron Folliott of Ballyshannon. The title became 
extinct in 1716, leaving five sisters as co-heiresses. 

FOSTER, REGINALD ERSKINE (1878-1914), third son of 
Rev. H. Foster, House-master of Malvern College, and perhaps the 
greatest of that marvellous Foster brotherhood whose prowess in 
the cricket field caused Worcestershire to be nicknamed " Fostershire." 
Playing in the Oxford University eleven against Cambridge in 1900 
he made a " three-figure " innings, and was at once given a place 
in the Gentlemen's XI. to oppose the Players; in each innings he 
made a score of more than 100 runs — a result without precedent. 
In 1903-4, under Mr. Warner's captaincy, he went with the M.C.C. 
team to Australia and beat all Test match records by scoring 287. 
In first-class county cricket on three occasions he scored two 
separate hundreds in one match. "Tip" Foster, as he was known 
to his friends, was a wonderfully fine all-round athlete. He was 
at one time the best racquets player in the kingdom, and at football 
he received his international cap against Wales, Ireland, and Scotland. 



68 Short Biographies of the 

Attacked by consumption, he took a trip to S. Africa for the good 
of his health, but died at the early age of 36. On the day of his 
funeral the flags at Lord's were flown half-mast high. 

*FOWNS, RICHAED (1560?-1625), "a Minister's son and a 
Worcestershire man born." M.A., Christ Church, Oxford, 1589, and 
D.D. in 1605, when he was Eector of Severn Stoke and Chaplain 
to Henry, Prince of Wales. In 1619 he published " Trisagion, or 
the Three Holy Offices of Jesus Christ," and was author of various 
other theological works. 

*FREAKE, EDMUND (1516?-1591). As Bishop of Rochester 
(1572) attended Queen Elizabeth on her visit to Worcester. Bishop 
of Norwich, 1575, and of Worcester, 1584. Reformed the lax 
administration of the Church services, and corrected the careless 
management of the Episcopal and Capitular revenues. 

-FREWEN, JOHN (1558-1628), came of an old Worcestershire 
family which owned property near Croome. Ordained in 1582, and 
presented by his father to the living of Northiam, Sussex. His 
puritan views brought him into conflict with his parishioners, who 
in 1611 vainly preferred a Bill of Nonconformity against him, whilst 
one Cresswell was excommunicated for openly insulting him, calling 
him " old fool, old ass, old cockscombe." He published his first 
work, " Certaine Fruitfull Instructions and necessary doctrines meet 
to edify in the fear of God" in 1587, and dedicated it to Thomas 
Coventry, brother of the Lord Keeper. A series of sermons on 
Romans xi. were re-preached in his church 250 years later by 
Octavius Lord, the rector, a descendant in the female line. He 
was thrice married, and named his eldest son Accepted and his 
second Thankful. The latter became purse bearer and secretary to 
the Lord Keeper Coventry. 

FRYER, JAMES (1769-1856), an eminent physician of Bewdley. 
Bequeathed £2000 to the Bewdley National Schools, £4000 to the 
Worcester Infirmary, £900 for the Far Forest Church, besides 
substantial sums to the Worcester Museum and other useful objects. 

^GAINSBOROUGH, WILLIAM (d. 1307). A Franciscan Friar, 
Lecturer at Oxford ; member of an embassy sent by Edward 1. to 
Pope Boniface VIII. Selected by the King for the Bishopric of 



Worthies of Worcestershire. 59 

Worcester, 1302, but induced to resign his office at Eome and 
accept it again on the nomination of the Pope. The King withheld 
his temporalities until he renounced in writing the Pope's authority 
in this see. On his arrival in Worcester he was met by the Grey 
Friars at the door of St. Wulstan's Hospital, whence he walked 
barefoot to the Cathedral, where he was enthroned. Sent on an 
embassy to Clement V., 1305, and again in 1307 to arrange for the 
marriage of Edward, the King's son, with Isabella of France. He 
is said to have been poisoned at Beauvais as he was returning. 
His Begister has been edited by Mr. Willis-Bund for the Worcester- 
shire Historical Society. 

*GALTON, SIE DOUGLAS STRUTT (1822-1899), son of John 
Howard Galton, of Hadzor House, near Droitwich. Educated at 
Rugby and Woolwich. Captain R.E., 1855 ; served in Ordnance 
Survey, 1846-7 : Secretary of Royal Commission on application of 
iron to railway structures, 1848 ; Inspector of Railways, 1851 ; 
Chairman of Commission on Submarine Cables, 1857; Assistant 
Inspector-General of Fortifications, 1859; Assistant Under-Secretary 
of State for War, 1862; C.B., 1865; Director of PubHc Works and 
Buildings, 1870-75; President of British Association, 1895; Judge 
at Philadelphia Exhibition, 1876, and at Paris Exhibition, 1878; 
Hon. D.C.L., Oxford, 1875; F.R.S., 1859; K.C.B., 1887; County 
Councillor for Worcestershire (Hanbury). Married Marianne, daughter 
of George Thomas Nicholson, of Waverley Abbey, Farnham. Resided 
at Himbleton Manor, Droitwich. Published works on Sanitation 
and Education. His cousin, SIR FRANCIS GALTON, was eminent 
as a scientist, and the chief promoter of the study of Eugenics in 
England. 

-GAUDEN, JOHN (1605-1662), son of John Gauden, Vicar of 
Mayfield, Essex. Educated at St. John's College, Cambridge; M.A., 
1626 ; Vicar of Chippenham and Chaplain to Robert Rich, Earl 
of Warwick, 1640. At first he sided with the Parliament, and was 
presented by the House of Commons with a silver tankard, and 
given the Deanery of Becking. He protested against the execution 
of the King, and wrote in defence of the Church of England, 
"EcclesicB AjiglicancB Suspiria," 1659. Bishop of Exeter, 1660-2, 
and Bishop of Worcester, 1662. Edited Hooker's "Ecclesiastical 
Polity," 1662. His chief claim to fame is that of being the real 
author of the famous " Eikon Basilihe ; the Portraicture of His 
Sacred Majestic in His Solititdes and Suffering." 



60 Short Biographies of the 

GHINUCCII, JEEOME DE. An Italian Bishop of Worcester 
(1522-35). Deprived of his see as a foreigner, 1535. 

GIBBONS, BENJAMIN (1824-1912), son of John Gibbons, of 
Corbyn's Hall, Staffs. Educated at Eton, and Wadham College, 
Oxford; B.A., 1846; M.A., 1850. Ordained 1849 to St. Stephen's, 
Portland Town, London. Curate of Kidderminster, 1850-61. Vicar 
of Lower Mitton, Stourport, 1861-94. Erected schools at Kidder- 
minster and Stourport, chiefly at his own expense. In 1881 were 
laid the foundations of the new Church at Stourport from the 
design of J. O. Scott, which, when completed, will be one of the 
finest in the County. Mr. Gibbons may be regarded as practically 
the Founder of this noble building. He wrote a short History of 
Kidderminster (1859), and edited the Stourport Chiirch Chronicle. 
He married in 1851 Charlotte, daughter of George Skipworth, of 
Moorton House, Lines., and in his later years resided at Waresley 
House, Hartlebury. 

-GIFFAED, GODFEEY (1235 9-1302), son of Hugh Giffard, and 
brother of Walter, Archbishop of York. Archdeacon of Barnstaple, 
1265, and of York, 1267. Sided with the King against the Barons, 
and was Chancellor of England, 1266-70. Bishop of Worcester, 
1268-1302. A man of strong will in troublous times, he maintained 
the Eoyal and Episcopal authority through many harassing disputes 
with Gilbert de Clare, ArchbishopPeckham, the Abbot of Westminster, 
and the Prior of Worcester. He fortified Hartlebury Castle and 
built mansions at Wick, Kempsey, and Worcester. His armorial 
bearings were adopted as the arms of the See. His Register (the 
first still remaining) was edited with a very comprehensive 
Introduction for the W.H.S. by Mr. Willis-Bund, 1902. 

*GIGLIS, JOHN DE (d. 1498). An Italian who held many 
preferments in England ; Archdeacon of London and of Gloucester ; 
Dean of Wells ; collector in England for Pope Sextus IV. ; seller 
of Papal Indulgences, 1489. Bishop of Worcester, 1497. 

*GIGLIS, SILVESTEE DE (1463-1521), nephew of John de 
Giglis (q.v.). Ambassador of Henry VII. at Eome. Envoy of Pope 
Julius II. to England, 1504, and of Henry VIII. to the Lateran 
Council, 1512. Bishop of Worcester, 1499-1521. Agent at Eome 
for Wolsey. 



Worthies of Worcestershire. 61 

*GILES, NATHANIEL (d. 1634). Born at Worcester. Organist 
of St. George's, Windsor, 1595. Mus. Doc, Oxford, 1622. Composed 
Hymns, Services, and Anthems. 

*GOEDON, ADAM LINDSAY (1833-1870). Lived at Worcester 
with an uncle, 1852-3, and was a pupil under Canon Temple at the 
Eoyal Grammar School. His company was mostly that of sporting 
men and ostlers, and the chief exploit of his Worcester life was 
the stealing of a horse from the stable of the Plough Inn to ride 
in the Crowle steeplechases. He also made love to the daughter 
of Mr. Bridges, a gentleman farmer at Broughton Hackett, and had 
she accepted him, he would not have gone to Australia. His 
Worcester friends and associations influenced many of his poems. 
Member for Victoria in House of Assembly, 1865. Committed 
suicide. His poems, in 3 vols., were edited by Marcus Clarke, 1880. 

-G03SE, PHILIP HENRY (1810-1888), zoologist, was born in 
Worcester and made his literary debut at the age of sixteen in 
" Youth's Magazine.'' From 1827 to 1839 he was in America, working 
first in a whaler's office in Newfoundland, where he began to study 
natural history. Returning home, he opened a school in London, 
and also wrote two books, " The Canadian Naturalist," and an 
"Introduction to Zoology.'' In 1844 he went to Jamaica, having 
been recommended by the British Museum to undertake the 
collection of undescribed birds and insects in the Tropics. His 
work produced two more books, "^4 Naturalist's Sojourn in Jamaica," 
1851, and "Birds of Jamaica," 1847. On his return home he settled 
in Devon, and continued his naturalist researches and writings, 
working as well for the S.P.C.K. He was made an F.R.S. in 1856, 
and published his last book, "Land and Sea," nine years later. 
His first wife was Miss Emily Bower, whom he married in 1848, 
and who died in 1857. Three years later he married Miss Eliza 
Brightwen . 

GRAINGER, THOMAS (d. 1839), nephew of Robert Chamberlain, 
of the Chamberlain Porcelain Works. In 1801 he founded China 
Works in S. Martin's, Worcester. He was succeeded by his son 
George Grainger, who died in 1888, and he was succeeded by his 
son Frank Grainger, who carried on the business until 1889, when 
it was acquired by the Porcelain Company; in 1902 it was 
transferred to the Royal Porcelain Works. George Grainger, with 



62 Short Biographies of the 

the assistance of his brother Henry, invented the " Semi-Porcelain," 
a very excellent and durable ware. They also made ordinary and 
perforated china and ornamental tiles. 

GEAZEBROOK, HENRY SYDNEY (1836-1896), son of George 
Grazebrook, of Pedmore. Educated at Bromsgrove and the Inner 
Temple. Called to the Bar, 1869. Held a clerkship at the Treasury 
from 1887 until his death. In 1860 he printed (Hemming, 
Stourbridge) " Carminarium Lati7ium," whereby anyone though he 
understands not one word of Latin may be taught to make 
590,490 Hexameters and Pentameters, true Latin and true verse. 
In 1870 (J. Russell Smith) appeared " The Heraldry of Smith " — an 
attempt to classify into groups, by their heraldic bearings, together 
with genealogical research, the many armigerous families who have 
this wide-spread name. In 1873 Mr. J. Russell Smith published 
" The Heraldry of Worcestershire" — a roll of the arms of those who 
have been Landowners or Residents from the earliest period to the 
present time, with short genealogical memoirs. This work in 2 vols, 
treats of over 2000 famihes. In 1877 (Ford, Stourbridge) appeared 
" Collections for a genealogy of the noble families of Henzey, Tytterey, 
and Tyzack ' gentilshommes verriers ' from Lorraine." In 1879 he 
was appointed one of the original Trustees of the William Salt 
Library at Stafford. As one of the Editorial Committee he contributed 
many valuable papers. In vol. II., " Obligatory Knighthood in 
Staffordshire temp. Charles I."; vol. III., " Visitation of Co. Stafford 
in 1583 " ; vol. V., " Visitations of Co. Stafford in 1614 and 1663-4 "— 
" a marvel of industry and patient research " ; vol. IX., " Account 
of the Barons of Dtidley "; vol. X., " The younger branches of Sutton 
alias Dudley "; vol. XVII., contains the " Shenstone Charters " which 
he was editing at the time of his death ; vol. XVI. contains an 
obituary notice to his memory. He also contributed largely to 
The Herald and Genealogist, Notes and Queries, The Midland 
Antiquary, &c. His work is eminent for strict accuracy; courteous 
manners, abundant friends, and a strange trust-inspiring influence 
opened for him many private muniment rooms, and enabled him to 
carry on his unwearying research. He died at Chiswick, and was 
buried at Oldswinford. 



Worthies of Worcestershire. 63 

-GREEN, AMOS (1735-1807), printer, was born at Halesowen 
of a family which owned property there, and was apprenticed to 
Baskerville, the Birmingham printer. He developed a taste for 
painting and drawing, chiefly flowers and fruit, and, later on, 
landscapes. Three of his water-colour landscapes are in the print- 
room at the British Museum. He was also a good landscape 
gardener and friend of Shenstone. He died at York. 

-GREEN, BENJAMIN (1736-1800), a mezzotint engraver, was 
probably a brother of Amos (q.v.). He was drawing master at 
Christ's Hospital, and illustrated Morant's History of Essex. He 
published several plates engraved from his own drawings and 
etchings of antiquities. 

-GREEN, VALENTINE (1739-1813), born at Salford, near 
Chipping Norton, son of a dancing-master. Articled to William 
Phillips, town clerk of Evesham. In 1760 became pupil of Robert 
Hancock, a line engraver, of Worcester. Went to London in 1765 
and began engraving in mezzo-tint, in which he soon achieved a 
brilliant success. Exhibited at the Royal Academy in 1774, and 
in 1775 was appointed mezzo-engraver to King George III. The 
Elector of Bavaria granted him the exclusive right of engraving and 
printing prints from the pictures in the Dusseldorf gallery, 1789. 
The destruction of the gallery by the French in 1792 caused him 
very serious loss. He engraved about 400 plates, after Reynolds, 
Romney, Gainsborough, Rembrandt, Vandyck, West, Rubens, 
Murillo, &c. Many of them now bring very high prices. His 
books are "A Survey of the City of Worcester," 8vo., 1764; "The 
History and Antiquities of the City and Suburbs of Worcester," 
2 vols., 4to., 1796; ''Acta Historica Beginarum Anglice," from twelve 
original drawings by J. E. Huck, of Dusseldorf, 4to., 1786. "An 
Account of the Discovery of the Body of King John in the Cathedral 
Church of Worcester, July 17th, 1797," 4to., 1797. His portrait is 
prefixed to the History of Worcester. 

-GREY, WALTER (d. 1255). Chancellor of England, 1205-14; 
Bishop of Worcester, 1214-16. Supported King John at Runnymede. 
Archbishop of York, 1215-55. Built South Transept of York 
Minster. 



64 Short Biographies of the 

GRIFFITH, GEORGE (d. 1883). Corn merchant at Bewdley. 
Quite early in life he became possessed with two ruling passions — 
verse making, and the reformation of grammar schools. His writings 
were chiefly in " history, history-romance, drama, satire, and a 
miscellaneous worship of the muse " — The Free Schools of Worcester- 
shire, Life of George Wilson, Going to Markets and Grammar 
Schools, Becords in the Midland Counties, &c. He was buried at 
Ribbesford. 

GROSVENOR, GEORGE HERBERT (1880-1912), eldest son 
of G. W. Grosvenor, J. P., D.L., of Kidderminster. Educated at 
Mr. Hawtrey's, Westgate-on-Sea, Harrow (Classical Scholar), and 
New College, Oxford (Natural Science Exhibitioner). B.A. in 1903 
with 1st Class Honours in Natural Science. Awarded the Oxford 
Table at Naples Aquarium, where he prepared two papers; one of 
these gained him the Rolleston Prize of 1904, and he had the 
honour of reading it before the Royal Society when he was only 
24 years of age. In 1908 he was appointed Lecturer in Economic 
Entomology at Oxford. A career of brilliant promise was cut short 
by drowning at Polzeath, "Wadebridge, Cornwall, whilst he was 
endeavouring to assist Mr. R. W. Evers, a Haileybury master, who 
was also drowned. 

*GUEST, EDWIN (1800-1880), came of an old family settled 
at Row Heath, King's Norton. Caius College, Cambridge, 11th 
Wrangler and Fellow, 1824. He was called to the bar, but took 
up literature as his profession, and during his travels made the 
acquaintance of Goethe. In conjunction with Bishop Thirlwall, 
Dr. Arnold, Dr. Key, and Mr. Wedgwood, he founded the Philological 
Society, in 1842. Three years previous, he had been elected an 
F.R.S., and during his life received many honorary degrees. His 
literary work was concerned with Roman-British history and the 
formation of the English language, on which he wrote largely. He 
was Master of Caius, 1852-80, and Vice-Chancellor in 1854. 
He died at his estate, Sandford St. Martin. 

GULLY, WILLIAM COURT, VISCOUNT SELBY (1835- 
1909), second son of J. M. Gully, M.D., of The Priory, Great Malvern. 
Barrister of Inner Temple, 1860; Q.C., 1877; Bencher, 1879; 
Recorder of Wigan, 1886; M.P., Carlisle, 1886-1905; Speaker of 
the House of Commons, 1895-1905. Married in 1865 Elizabeth, 
daughter of Thomas Selby, of Wimbish, Essex. Created Viscount 
Selby, 1905. 



Worthies of Worcestershire. 65 

-HABINGTON, EDWAED (1553-1586), eldest son of John 
Habington, of Hindlip, cofferer to Queen Elizabeth. Exeter College, 
Oxford; B.A., 1574. Zealous Eomanist. Joined in Anthony 
Babington's plot to murder Elizabeth, 1586. Discovered in hiding 
at Hindlip, sent to the Tower, hanged and quartered, 20th 
September, 1586. 

*HABINGTON, THOMAS (1560-1647), born at Thorpe, near 
Chertsey, younger son of John Habington. Studied at Lincoln 
College, Oxford, at Paris, and Eheims. Became Eomanist and 
joined in plots for Mary Queen of Scots. Committed to the Tower 
for 6 years, and then allowed to retire to Hindlip, where he gave 
himself up to antiquarian research, and made his collections for 
the history of Worcestershire. At Hindlip he constructed eleven 
secret chambers for the concealment of priests. After the Gunpowder 
Plot, Garnett the Jesuit was hidden there, but with twelve days' 
search the hiding-place was discovered. Habington was arrested, 
but released by the influence of Lord Monteagle, to whom Mrs. 
Habington (probably) had written the famous letter of warning. 
He was however confined to the county, and continued his 
antiquarian work till his death at Hindlip, 8th October, 1647, aged 
87 years. His wife was Mary daughter of Lord Morley, by Elizabeth 
daughter of Lord Monteagle. Habington, while in the Tower, 
translated Gildas's " De exidio et conquestu Britannice," published 
at London, 1638. His " Historie of Edioard IV." was published by 
his son William, 1640. His MSS. collections for the history of 
Worcestershire are most valuable, and have been exhaustively edited 
for the Worcestershire Historical Society by Mr. John Amphlett, 
of Clent. The originals are in the possession of Viscount Cobham, 
The Society of Antiquaries, and the British Museum. " The Antiquities 
of the Cathedral Church of Worcester ; to ivhich are added Antiquities 
of the Cathedral Churches of Chichester and Lichfield," was published 
at London, 1717; 2nd edition, 1723. There is a MS. of this at 
Thirlestaine House, Cheltenham. Portraits of himself, his wife, and 
his father are in "Nash" and "Amphlett." 

*HABINGTON, WILLIAM (1605-1654), born at Hindlip, son 
of Thomas Habington, the Worcestershire historian (q.v.). Educated 
at St. Omer's and at Paris. Eefused to become a Jesuit and 
returned to England where he married Lucy daughter of William 
Herbert, first Baron Powis. In her praise he printed anonymously 



66 Short Biographies of the 

a collection of poems, " Gastara," 4to, 2 parts, 1634. Second edition 
enlarged, 1635, 12mo. In 1640, 8rd edition, 12mo., with additions 
and the character of " The Holy Man." He wrote a play, the 
"Queen of Aragon," 1640, folio, referred to in Samuel Butler's 
" Bemaiiis," I., 185. He also published his father's "History of 
Edioard IV.," 1640, folio, and " Observations ujJon Historie" 1641, 8vo. 
"The Queen of Aragon" appears in Dodsley's "Old Plays"; and 
" Castara " was reproduced at Bristol, 1816, and in Mr. Arber's 
"English Eeprints," 1870. Habington left a son Thomas, and was 
buried in the family vault at Hindlip. 

HADLEY, JAMES (1837-1903). An artist potter of great 
distinction, whose models and designs created what is known as 
the "Worcester school" in modern ceramic art. His principal work 
was executed for the Worcester Eoyal Porcelain Co., and it was to 
Messrs. Kerr and Binns (qv.) that he was apprenticed. In 1875 
he established himself in Worcester as an independent designer and 
modeller, but until 1894 the entire output from his studio was 
absorbed by the Royal Porcelain Co., and it was during that period 
that perhaps his finest work was produced. In 1897 Mr. Hadley 
started in business on his own account, and, in conjunction with 
three of his sons, produced what is known as the " Hadley ware," 
a distinctive production having characteristics of its own which 
were highly appraised by connoisseurs. He continued in the 
production of this ware until his death in 1903. The business 
was acquired by the Royal Porcelain Co. in 1905. The charm of 
Mr. Hadley's work lay in the extreme delicacy of his modelling — 
the refinement of which stamped any production of his as the 
outcome of his genius; added to this he possessed the true artist's 
gift of portraying a sentiment in his figure modelling, and it is in 
this branch of his work that his highest gifts showed themselves. 
The restrictions involved in the after process of reproduction which 
usually dwarf ceramic artists' conceptions, and impel them to pure 
sculpture or canvas as a means of expression, seemed to give an 
added zest to his work; this was perhaps the underlj-ing cause of 
his great loyalty to an art in which no one since Elaxman so 
greatly excelled. Mr. Hadley was a contemporary student at the 
Worcester School of Art with both Mr. B. W. Leader, R.A., and 
Sir Thomas Brock, E.A., and it was a trio of which any city might 
well be proud. It is interesting to record that the presentation 
"casket" given to Mr. B. W. Leader, in June, 1914, in connection 



Worthies of Worcestershire. 67 

with his enrolment as a Freeman of the City of Worcester, took 
the form of one of Mr. Hadley's most charming models executed 
by him for the Worcester Eoyal Porcelain Co., an inkstand conceived 
in the Cinque cento Italian style, most elaborately modelled and 
with the ink vases upheld by beautifully modelled amorini. This 
was first produced for the Chicago exhibition of 1893, and was 
spoken of as being a model " worthy of Benvenuto Cellini," owing 
to its great delicacy of conception and workmanship. Mr. Hadley 
was an enthusiastic amateur musician, and in this way was thrown 
intimately into touch with Sir Edward Elgar and others. They 
used to dehght in frequenting his quiet studio in the High Street, 
and, while discussing the art matters they had so much in common, 
take interest in the gradual evolving of this master-craftsman's 
imageries. Mr. Hadley married in 1860 Louisa Helen Wilks, a 
member of an old Worcester family. 

-HALL, JOHN VINE (1779-1860), born at Diss, Norfolk. After 
a disastrous and drunken youth, he was converted by Porteous' 
"Evidences of Christianity," and settled in Worcester as bookseller, 
struggling the while with intemperance, which he vanquished 
by total abstinence. His latter years were spent in Maidstone, 
devoted to philanthropic and religious work, and to the writing of 
a much read religious book, " The Sinner's Friend " (1821). His 
wife was Mary Teverill, of Worcester, and their son was the Eev. 
Newman Hall. 

*HALL, EDMUND (1620?-1687) was the son of a Worcester 
clothier, and was educated at the King's School. He was at Oxford 
when the Civil War broke out, but left without a degree in order 
to take up arms for the Parliament, and did not return until 1647, 
when he was made Fellow of Pembroke, and graduated M.A. By 
that time his political views had changed, and for writing in favour 
of monarchy he was committed to prison in 1651. Later on he 
became chaplain to Sir Edmund Bray, of Great Eisington, Gloucester- 
shire, and after the Eestoration was presented to Chipping Norton. 
In 1680 he returned to Great Eisington as Eector, and " took to 
him in elderly years a fair and comely wife." He was the author 
oi " A Scriptural Disco2crse of the Apostasy and Antichrist," published 
in 1653. 

*HALL, JOHN (1633-1710), born at Bromsgrove, the son of 
the vicar, who was brother to Edmund Hall (q.v.). Placed under 



68 Short Biographies of the 

his uncle's charge at Oxford, he also became M.A. and Fellow of 
Pembroke in 1653, Master of the College in 1664, and incumbent 
of St. Aldate's, Oxford, which he held to his death, and "by his 
edifying way of preaching " drew large congregations of " the precise 
people and scholars of the University." He became chaplain to 
Charles II.; D.D., 1669; and Bishop of Bristol in 1691. He 
continued, however, to reside chiefly in Oxford, where he died in 
the Master's lodgings, which he had himself built. He was buried 
at Bromsgrove. He left charities for the poor of Bromsgrove and 
for Bibles. 

HALLEN, ARTHUR WASHINGTON CORNELIUS (1834- 
1899), son of Rev. Washington Hallen, and nephew and ward of 
Rev. WiUiam Hallen, Vicar of Wribbenhall (1836-50), descended from 
the Van Ilalens of Malines, who settled at Stourbridge, temp. 
Charles I. St. John's College, Cambridge, B.A., 1858. Curate of 
Redmarley d'Abitot, 1858; Leith, 1861-2; F.S.A. (Scot.); Incumbent 
of St. John's, Alloa, 1862. Married Catherine Hatton. An ardent 
student of genealogy. Editor of Parish Registers: — St. Mary 
Woolnoth and St. Mary Woolchurch ; St. Botolph, Bishopsgate ; and 
The Hallen Family. Editor of the Scottish Antiquary. 

-HAMBURY, HENRY DE (fl. 1380), son of Geoffrey de Hambury, 
in Worcestershire; followed Thomas of Lancaster in the rising 
against Edward II., but received a pardon for all felonies, and in 
1324 was appointed justice of common pleas in Ireland, and later 
on judge and chief justice. In 1328 he returned to England, being 
appointed judge on the King's Bench, an office from which he had 
retired before 1338. Before he went to Ireland he had become 
possessed of the Abbey of Borden, in Worcestershire, and in 1346 
he founded a chantry at Hambury. 

-HAMMOND, HENRY (1605-1660), born at Chertsey. Educated 
at Eton and Magdalen College, Oxford. Fellow, 1625; D.D., 1639. 
Archdeacon of Chichester, 1643 ; Canon of Christchurch and Public 
Orator, 1645. Chaplain to Charles I. at Oxford. Felt deeply the 
King's death and was imprisoned. In 1649 he was released, and 
spent the rest of his life at Westwood as a friend of Sir John 
Pakington. He wrote several theological books of which the best 
known is " A Paraphrase and Commentary on the Bible.'' In 1660 
he was designed for the Bishopric of W^orcester, but died as he 



Worthies of Worcestershire. 69 

was preparing to go to London, and is buried at Hampton Lovett, 
where a monument in Latin and Greek tells of his learning and 
virtues. 

^HANCOCK, EOBEKT (1730-1817), born in Staffordshire. 
Copper-plate engraver in Sir Stephen Janssen's Battersea Enamel 
Works, 1750. Settled at Worcester as chief engraver to the Porcelain 
Company, 1756. Executed the design for the famous King of Prussia 
mug. Instructed pupils, including V. Green (q.v.) and John Ross (q.v.), 
and with them executed the delicate Worcester transfer ware, which 
contributed largely to the success of the Company. After becoming 
a partner he disagreed with his co-proprietors, withdrew from the 
firm, and settled as a printer in Staffs. Here he lost all his savings 
in a bank failure, and after a short residence as a portrait painter 
at Oldbury he finally settled at Bristol. For Joseph Cottle, the 
bookseller, he drew portraits of Coleridge, Southey, Wordsworth, 
and Lamb (1798). His best known portrait is that of Shakespeare. 
His Life and Works, by A. R. Ballantyne, was printed at the 
Chiswick Press, 1885. 

-HARPER, THOMAS (1787-1853), trumpet player, was born in 
Worcester, and after studying the trumpet and horn under Eley 
in London, joined the East India Volunteer Band. He was appointed 
inspector of musical instruments to the company, but in 1806 was 
engaged as principal trumpet at the Drury Lane and Lyceum Opera 
houses. He distinguished himself at the Birmingham Festival of 
1820, and next year succeeded Hyde at the Ancient Concerts and 
Italian Opera. Thenceforward he took part in all important musical 
events, and was first trumpet at the Philharmonic Concerts till 
1851. He was taken ill at an Exeter Hall rehearsal in 1853, and 
died in a few hours. 

*HANBURY, JOHN (1664-1734), son of Capel Hanbury, of 
Hoarstone, Kidderminster, and of Gloucester, who purchased iron 
works at Pontypool, and was buried at Kidderminster, 1704. The 
son gave up his law studies to devote himself to the management 
of the Pontypool works. He improved the machinery, and was the 
first to adopt the method of rolling iron plates by means of 
revolving cyhnders, thereby superseding the cumbrous process of 
hammering. His most notable achievement was the introduction 
of tin-plating into this country (1720), which has since expanded 
enormously in S. Wales. His second wife was a friend of Sarah, 



70 Short Biographies of the 

Duchess of Marlborough, and the great Duke appointed Major John 
Hanbury as one of his executors, 1722. He was M.P. for Gloucester, 
1701-15, and for Monmouthshire, 1720-34. His son Charles was 
godson of Mr. "Williams, of Caerleon, a friend, who had been obliged 
to flee the country after killing his adversary in a duel, and 
inherited from him £70,000. This legatee, Sir Charles Hanbury- 
Williams, K.B., of Coldbrook Park, was M.P. for Monmouth, and 
died in 1759. Major John Hanbury's great-grandson Charles 
Hanbury, of Toddington, Lord Lieutenant of Montgomeryshire, was 
created first Baron Sudeley in 1838. 

*HASTINGS, SIR CHARLES (1794-1866), sixth son of Rev. 
James Hastings, Rector of Bitterley, near Ludlow, and afterwards 
Rector of Martley. Studied under two surgeons at Stourport, and 
after a few months in London was elected at the age of 18 house 
surgeon to the "Worcester County Infirmary. Here he made 
experiments on the nervous system, under the direction of Dr. "Wilson 
Philip. In 1815 be continued his study of experimental physiology 
and microscopy at Edinburgh "University, being the only student 
at that time who used the microscope in medical research. M.D., 
1818. Physician to the "Worcester Infirmary, and for many years 
the leading practitioner in the county. Founded in 1828 the 
" Midland Medical and Surgical Beporter," to which he sent many 
reports. In 1832 he formed the " Provincial Medical and Surgical 
Association" to which he delivered the inaugural address. In 1856 
this Society became " The British Medical Association," of which 
Sir Charles was permanent President of the Council and Treasurer. 
He started the "Medical Journal" in 1840; was knighted in 1850; 
and made Hon. D.C.L. of Oxford. Sanitary questions interested 
him ; he became the pioneer of health statistics for the County, 
and was President of the Public Health section of the Social Science 
Association at the York meeting. His enthusiasm attracted round 
him a circle of scientific workers, and led to the foundation of the 
Worcestershire Natural History Society and its splendid Museum, 
which has passed into the hands of the Corporation to be used 
in connexion with the Public Library, and in recognition of Sir 
Charles Hastings' service it has been designated for all time the 
" Hastings Museum." His portrait is in the Museum, painted by 
Solomon Cole. He wrote many papers and addresses for the 
Lancet, British Medical Journal, &c., and in 1834 published 
" Illustrations of the Natural History of Worcestershire." He married 



Worthies of Worcestershire. 71 

in 1825 the eldest daughter of George Woodyatfe, M.D., by whom 
he had an only son G. W. Hastings, M.P. for Worcestershire, 
1880-92, and two daughters. In 1882 a marble bust of Sir Charles 
by Sir Thomas Brock, E.A., was presented to Worcester and placed 
in the Public Library. The British Medical Association honoured 
his memory by the foundation of an annual " Hastings " Medal 
and Prize. 

-HASTINGS, SIR THOMAS (1790-1870), son of Eev. James 
Hastings, Rector of Bitterley, and afterwards of Martley. He entered 
the Navy in 1803, commanded a gunboat in the disastrous Walcheren 
expedition, and was First Lieutenant on the Undaunted when she 
took Napoleon to Elba. In 1832 he was made captain of the 
Excellent, the school of gunnery at Portsmouth, and superintendent 
of the Royal Naval College, but retired from these posts in 1843, 
when he was appointed store-keeper of Ordnance. He had been 
knighted in 1839, and was given the civil C.B. in 1850, and the 
civil K.C.B. nine years later. Placed on the retired list as rear- 
admiral in 1855, he received in due course the rank of vice-admiral 
with his K.C.B., and of Admiral of the Fleet in 1866. He married 
in 1827 Louisa Elizabeth, daughter of Humphrey Lowe, of 
Bromsgrove. 

-HASTINGS, RIGHT HON. WARREN (1732-1818), born at 
Daylesford, son of Rev. Penystone Hastings, Rector of Daylesford 
and Churchill. Educated at Westminster School. Entered the 
service of the East India Company, 1750. Imprisoned by Surajah 
Dowlah at Moorshedabad, 1756. Member of the Council at Calcutta, 
1761. Returned to England, 1765, and returned as second in the 
Council at Madras, 1769. Governor of Bengal, 1772. Supported 
the Nawab of Oude against the Rohillas. Created Governor-General 
1773, but found himself in a minority on the Council, where he 
was bitterly opposed by Sir Phihp Francis. An accusation of 
corruption by Nuncomar (or Nand Kumar) was followed by a 
countercharge of conspiracy and forgery, and the hanging of his 
accuser. He extended widely the English rule in India by defeating 
Haider Ali in the Carnatic, checking the Mahrattas, and taking 
Pondicherry from the French. He was accused of permitting the 
extortion of large sums of money from the Begums of Oude 
and Cheyte Sing, Rajah of Benares. He left India in 1785, and 
was impeached for corruption and cruelty in his administration. 



72 Short Biographies of the 

The trial began in 1788, and continued at intervals for seven 
years, v^hen, in spite of the eloquence of Burke, Sheridan, and 
Fox, Hastings v^as acquitted by a large majority on all the charges, 
but had spent about £70,000 in costs. The East India Company 
helped him, and he was enabled to purchase the old family estate 
at Daylesford where he passed his later years. He amused himself 
with embellishing his grounds, riding fine Arab horses, fattening prize 
cattle, and trying to rear Indian animals and vegetables in England. 
In his 82nd year he was made Privy Councillor, treated with honour 
by the Prince Regent, and applauded by the people. The poor 
orphan who had retrieved the fallen fortunes of his line, who had 
preserved and extended an empire, was buried in Daylesford Church 
beside the remains of his ancestors. "In peace, after so many 
troubles, in honour, after so much obloquy" (Macaulay). 

*HAVERGAL, FRANCES RIDLEY (1836-1879), born at Astley 
Rectory, Stourport, youngest child of Rev. Wm. Henry Havergal (q.v.). 
Showed in childhood exceptional intellectual power, and wrote verses 
at the age of 7. Was partly educated in Germany where she studied 
music. Her life and powers were consecrated to religious and 
philanthropic work ; and her poems and devotional books met with 
a wide popularity. The chief were " The Ministry of Song," 1870; 
" Under the Surface," 1874 ; "Loyal Responses," 1878; "Life Chords," 
1880; "Life Echoes," 1883; "Coming to the King," 1886. Some 
of these were published by her sister Maria V. G. Havergal, who 
also collected them together in two vols, of " Poetical Works," 1884. 
Frances Havergal died at the Mumbles, near Swansea, and is buried 
in Astley Churchyard. The " Memorials " by her sister Maria have 
had a large circulation. 

*HAVERGAL, FRANCIS TEBBS (1829-1890), born at Astley 
Rectory, son of Rev. W. H. Havergal. Educated at New College, 
Oxford ; B.A., 1852 ; Vicar-Choral in Hereford Cathedral, 1853-74 ; 
Vicar of Pipe with Lyde, 1861-74, Upton Bishop, 1874-90 ; Prebendary 
of Hereford, 1877-90. Died at Upton 27th July, 1890. He was 
an accomplished antiquary, and wrote " Visitors Hand Guide to 
Hereford Cathedral," 1869; " Fasti Her efordenses," 1869; "Momimental 
Inscriptions in Hereford Cathedral," 1881 ; " Becords of Upton Bishop," 
1883; "Herefordshire Words and Phrases," 1887; "Memorials of 
Sir F. A. Gore Ouseley," 1889. 



Worthies of Worcestershire. 73 

*HAVERGAL, WILLIAM HENRY (1793-1870), born at 
Chipping Wycombe, Bucks. Educated at Merchant Taylors' and 
St. Edmund's Hall, Oxford; B.A., 1816; Curate at Bristol, 1816, 
Coaley, 1820, and Astley, Worcestershire, 1822 ; Rector of Astley, 
1825, and St. Nicholas, Worcester, 1845 ; Vicar of Shareshill, 1860. 
He died at Leamington, and was buried at Astley. He married 
(1) Jane, daughter of William Head, of East Grinstead, who was the 
mother of five children, d. 1848, (2) Caroline Ann, daughter of John 
Cooke, of Gloucester. Mr. Havergal, in 1829, was thrown from his 
carriage, and had to keep quiet for some years. This enforced leisure 
turned his attention to his favourite subject of music. Services, 
hymn tunes, cliants, and anthems flowed from his pen, and met 
with a welcome reception. He also wrote many sacred songs and 
carols which he set to music. His children inherited his musical 
and literary talents. 

*HAYES, WILLIAM (1706-1777), musician, was born at Han- 
bury, and after studying music as chorister and organ pupil at 
Gloucester and as organist at St. Mary's, Shrewsbury, ho was 
appointed organist at Worcester Cathedral in 1731. In 1731 he 
was steward at the Three Choirs Musical Meeting at Worcester, 
and in the same year exchanged his work at the Cathedral for 
that of Magdalen College, Oxford. The following year he took the 
degree of Mus. Bac, and became a member of the Royal Society 
of Musicians. In 1742 he was made Professor of Music to the 
University of Oxford ; created Mus. Doc. 1749. He composed 
much, and was especially successful in part-writing for the voice. 

*HEATH, NICHOLAS (1501-1578), Fellow of Christ's College, 
Cambridge, 1521. Bishop of Rochester, 1539; Bishop of Worcester, 
1543. Much church property was plundered in his time by the 
greedy counsellors of Edward VI. Heath opposed the marriage of 
the clergy, and the new Ordinal of 1551, and was deprived. Queen 
Mary restored, him and made him President of Wales, 1553, and 
promoted him to York, 1555. He was Lord Chancellor, 1556-8, 
but in 1559 was again deprived of his dignities. 

HELMORE, THOMAS (1811-1890), born at Kidderminster, 
son of Rev. T. Helmore, minister of the New Meeting. Educated 
at Magdalen College, Oxford ; B.A., 1840. Priest-Vicar of Lichfield 
Cathedral, 1840. Vice-Principal (1842) and Precentor (1846) of 



74 Short Biographies of the 

Sfc. Mark's College, Chelsea. Master of the Choristers and Priest- 
in-Ordinary of the Chapel Eoyal, St. James's, 18-i7. Eeceived 
pension from National Society in 1877, after 35 yeai's' service at 
St. Mark's. Died at London. Author of " The Psalter Noted," 1849; 
"The Manual of Plain Song," 1850; Papers on "Church Music," 
1867 and 1879 ; " The Hymnal Noted," and many other musical 
works. 

HEMENHALE, THOMAS (d. J 338). A monk of Norwich; 
elected Bishop by his Chapter, but prevented from accepting the 
See by Pope Benedict XII., and was consoled with Worcester, 1337. 

* HEM MING (fl. 1096) was sub-prior of Worcester. Bishop 
Wulstan asked him to compile the chartulary of the Church of 
Worcester which still remains in Hemming's own handwriting in 
MS., Cotton. Tiberius A. 13. " De Ecclesice Vigorniensis dotatione 
privilegiis et possessionibus" Hemming's Life of Bishop Wtdstan 
was printed in Wharton's " Anglia Sacra," I. 541, and reprinted in 
Migne's " Patrologia," cl. 1489-94. The Chartulary was edited by 
Hearne. " Hemingi Chartularium Ecclesice Wigorniensis," Oxford, 
1723. 

*HEEBEET, SIE HENEY (1595-1673), 6th son of Eichard 
Herbert, of Montgomery Castle, and brother of Edward Lord Herbert, 
of Chirbury, and of George Herbert the saintly poet. Knighted, 
and acted as master of the Eevels from 1623. Bought Eibbesford 
Manor from Sir Henry Mildmay, 1627, and presented to the Church 
the flagons and chalices still in use there. Joined the expedition 
against the Scots, 1639. M.P. for Bewdley, 1640, but disabled in 
1642 for joining the King. Heavily fined by the Sequestrators, 
1646. Eestored to the mastership of the Eevels, 1660, and again 
M.P. for Bewdley from 1661 till his death. He introduced Eichard 
Baxter at Court, and was a friend of Evelyn. 

*HICKBS, GEOEGE (1642-1715), son of a Yorkshire farmer. 
Educated at St. John's and Magdalen Colleges, Oxford. Fellow 
of Lincoln, 1664. Accompanied Sir George Wheeler on a foreign 
tour, 1673. Eector of St. Ebbe's, Oxford; Chaplain to the Duke 
of Lauderdale ; Prebendary of Worcester, 1680 ; Dean and Eector 
of Alvechurch, 1686. Made improvements in the Cathedral services 
and the King's School. In 1689, being a non-juror, he was deprived. 
For some years he lived in concealment, part of the time at Westwood 




SIR ROWLAND HILL, K.C.B.. DC L , F.RS , &c. 

Born at Kidderminster, December 3rd, 1795. 



Worthies of Worcestershire. 75 

under the hospitality of Lady Pakington, to whom he assigns 
the authorship of the " Whole Duty of Man." In 1694 he* was 
consecrated Suffragan Bishop of Thetford by the non-juring Bishops 
Lloyd, White, and Turner, He published " Linguariim veterum 
septentrionalium Thesauriis," 1703-5, and several religious books. 

*HICKMAN, HENEY (d. 1692), controversialist, was a Worcester- 
shire man, who, after taking his B.A. degree at Cambridge, was 
made a Fellow at Magdalen, Oxford, and took his M.A. degree 
there in 1649, in which year he was also licensed as preacher at 
St. Aldate's. At the Eestoration, having lost his Fellowship, he 
retired to Holbeach, but after a while returned, and taught at 
Stourbridge. Then he went to the English Church of Leyden, 
where he died in 1692. He wrote in defence of Nonconformity. 

HILL, LOED AETHUE MAECUS CECIL, BAEON SANDYS 
(1798-1863), third son of Arthur Marquis of Downshire, by Mary 
Baroness Sandys (in her own right). Served in the diplomatic 
service at Madrid, Verona, Paris, Florence, Lisbon, and Eio Janeiro. 
Secretary to the Special Embassy at St. Petersburg, 1827. M.P. 
for Newry, 1835-4, and for Evesham, 1838-52. Comptroller of the 
Queen's Household, 1841 and 1846-7. Treasurer of the Household, 
1847-52. Acted as one of the Liberal whips, 1841-52. Became a 
Knight of the Tower and Sword of Portugal, 1825, and succeeded 
his brother Arthur as third Lord Sandys, 1860. 

-HILL, JAMES (d. 1817?), born at Kidderminster; educated 
by an uncle and apprenticed to a painter. In 1796 he appeared 
at the Bath Theatre as Belville in " Eosina," a comic opera, by 
Mrs. Brooke. His success, after further study, led to his engage- 
ment in the comic operas at Covent Garden. He left the stage 
in 1806, and is supposed to have died in 1817 in Jamaica. 

-HILL, SIE EOWLAND (1795-1879), born in Blackwell Street, 
Kidderminster, in a house that belonged to at least three generations 
of his family. In the time of Edward I., John Hill {de Monte) held 
land in Comberton. The name appears in the Eegisters in 1539, and in 
1628 there was baptized " Marryan, daughter of Eowland Hill and 
Mary." His father, Thomas Wright Hill (q.v.), was remarkable for 
the largeness and originality of his conceptions ; his mother [nee Sarah 
Lea) belonged to a family which for generations had taken a leading 
part in the intellectual, municipal, and business life of the town. Her 



76 Short Biographies of the 

character was marked by firmness and shrewdness, patience and 
prudence. When Rowland was five years old the French war ruined 
his father's manufacture, and in 1802 the school was started at Hill 
Top, where in his twelfth year he became an assistant master. 
Straightened circumstances developed the quality of self-help. He 
was an ardent student; and in 1822, in conjunction with his elder 
brother Matthew, brought out a work on Public Education which 
aroused much attention. Bentham, Hume, Grote, Brougham, 
De Quincey, Malthus, Dr. Gilchrist, and other Philosophers came 
to examine the working of the scheme. This success led to the 
opening of the Bruce Castle School in 1826 under Rowland's manage- 
ment. Here he married Caroline Pearson, and lived for six years. 
In 1833 he gave up teaching, and became Secretary in England for 
the new Colony of South Australia. In 1837 he drew up the famous 
pamphlet on Post-office Beform, and suggested the use of adhesive 
stamps. After much opposition and many difficulties the Bill for 
Penny Postage was passed on 17th August, 1839, and Mr. Hill 
received a salary of £1,500 to enable him to carry it out. In 1842 he was 
dismissed from office and became Chairman of the Brighton Railway 
Company ; here he instituted express trains and excursion trains, 
and raised the £50 shares from £35 to £75. In 1846, as a national 
benefactor, he was presented with £13,000 and reinstated as Secretary 
to the Postmaster-General. Elected E.R.S., 1857; K.C.B., 1860; 
D.C.L., Oxford, 1864. In 1864 owing to ill-health he retired. 
Parliament granted him £20,000 and an annual pension of £2,000, 
" not merely as a meritorious public servant, but as a benefactor of his 
race." He was buried in Westminister Abbey, 27th August, 1879. 
His nephew, George Birkbeck Hill, D.C.L., published his ''Life" in 
1880. Birmingham set up his statue ; and 200,000 people contributed 
stamps for a statue in his native town, executed by SirT. Brock, R.A., 
and unveiled in June, 1881, when an eulogy was pronounced by Sir 
Rupert Kettle. A charity for the relief of the widows and orphans 
of the servants of the Post-office will also keep green the memory of 
a world-wide benefactor. 

*HILL, THOMAS FORD (d. 1795), antiquary, was the son of 
a Worcester glove maker and Quaker. He left his father's business 
for literature and archaeology, and from 1780 onwards made 
antiquarian tours in Scotland, Switzerland, Savoy, Italy, and 
Germany. Collected ''Ancient Erse Songs," 1784. F.S.A., 1792. 
He died at Ariano on his second visit to Italy. 



Worthies of Worcestershire. 77 

HILL, THOMAS ROWLEY (1816-1896), born at Stourport, 
son of William Hill, F.R.A.S., of Worcester. Educated at University 
College, London. Married (1) Esther, only child of Richard 
Evans, J. P., of Worcester, 1838, and (2) Mary Hilditch, daughter 
of Edward Evans, of Worcester. Sheriff of Worcester City, 1858, 
and Mayor, 1859. High Sheriff of County, 1870. M.P., Worcester, 
1874-85. Mr. Hill was eminent for his philanthropy, and founded 
and endowed almshouses in Worcester. His son EDWARD HENRY 
HILL (1849-1911) left £5000 to the Royal Albert Orphan Asylum, 
Worcester, £3000 each to the Knightwick Sanatorium and the 
Worcester Ophthalmic Hospital ; also £4000 for the upkeep of the 
Suckley Parish Room and Working Men's Club, and Nurses' 
Home. 

*HILL, THOMAS WRIGHT (1763-1851), born at Kidderminster. 
Apprenticed to a brassfounder in Birmingham, and was influenced by 
Dr. Priestley. Established first the Hill Top School in Birmingham, 
and afterwards the Hazlewood School at Edgbaston, where many 
eminent men received their training. He had a remarkable power of 
interesting boys, and made his school a small republic where the boys 
were trained for the work of life. He encouraged manual labour, and 
carried on a magazine printed and illustrated by the boys themselves. 
His five sons trained by him had most successful careers. Matthew 
Davenport was an eminent jurist : Edwin, of the stamp office, made 
many inventions ; Frederick was an inspector of prisons ; Arthur 
carried on the famous school at Bruce Castle, Tottenham; and Sir 
Rowland (q.v.) was the inventor of penny postage. His " Bemains," 
1859, and ''Papers," 1860 show his system of shorthand, and his 
scheme of minority representation. 

HOLE, HARVEY BUCHANAN (1821-1886), son of William 
HoU, proprietor and conductor of the Worcester Herald, and grandson 
of its founder. Qua ified as M.D., and acted as an Army doctor 
during the Crimean War. Afterwards he resided at Worcester, but 
devoted himself to study, especially in geology, and contributed to 
scientific periodicals. He was an enthusiastic member of the 
Worcestershire Naturalists' Field Club, and of the Woolhope Club, 
and often gave addresses at their meetings. In 1862 he exhibited 
some fragments of a highly ornamented Pteraspis obtained by him 
from a new fish-bed in the "Old Red" deposits near the Teme, in 
a lower stratum than fish remains had been found before, at least 



78 Short Biographies of the 

in that vicinity. In 1863, on the Malvern Hills, he drew attention 
to an exposure of Aymestry limestone in " Evendine Street," a 
calcareous band between the Upper and Ludlow deposits, which in 
the Malvern district shows itself in a long narrow ridge. At the 
Giant's Cave Dr. Holl explained discoveries which showed that all 
the eastern side of the Herefordshire Beacon was metamorphosed 
sedimentary rock, and not syenite, as had been hitherto supposed. 
At the Wind's Point he considered a remarkable exposure of 
crystalline rocks to be the representatives of the Laurentian system 
of North America. In 1864 he gave reasons for the belief that the 
Malvern igneous rocks were above the surface of the great Northern 
ocean, and that the Malvern rocks were the earliest dry land of 
what now constituted this island. He also elucidated the geology 
of the Lickey and Clent Hills, and was for some years Secretary 
of the Field Club. After his father's death. Dr. Holl became joint 
proprietor of the Herald with his brother, Mr. Holl, Q.C., County 
Court Judge for Northampton, and conducted the journal until 
1882. He was an earnest advocate of bee-culture, but took no 
active part in public matters. He died, unmarried, at Cheltenham, 
much respected for his kindness of heart and the culture of his 
mind. His chief publications were on the Geology of the Malvern 
Hills. The dates and titles of his various papers are given by 
Mr. Gerald Mills in the " Bibliography of Worcestershire" pp. 180 
et seq. 

^HOLLAND. SETH (d. 1561). M.A., Oxford, 1539 ; Fellow of 
All Souls, and Warden in 1555. He was chaplain to Cardinal 
Pole, whose dying message to Queen Mary was, " Give credit to 
whatever he shall say on my behalf." He was also Eector of 
Fladbury and Prebendary of Worcester, and installed Dean in 1557, 
in place of Ballard, alias Hawford, the last Abbot of Evesham. 
But Deanery and Wardenship were both forfeited under Elizabeth. 
He died in the Marshalsea prison, but was buried in St. George's, 
Southwark, " some three-score gentlemen of the Inns of Court 
attending." 

*HOOPEE, GEOEGE (1640-1727), born at Grimley. Educated 
at Westminster and at Christchurch, Oxford, where he lived as 
college tutor till 1672, in repute as a classical and mathematical 
scholar, to which he added a knowledge of Arabic and Hebrew. 
Chaplain to Archbishop Sheldon, and then Almoner to Princess 



Worthies of Worcestershire. 79 

Mary when she went to Holland, where he offended William by 
keeping her faithful to the English Church. By the desire of 
James II. he attended the Duke of Monmouth on the scaffold. 
Queen Mary made him Dean of Canterbury in 1691, and he was 
elected Prolocutor of the Lower House of Convocation in 1701. 
In the two following years he became successively Bishop of St. 
Asaph and Bath and Wells. His collected works were published 
in 1757. 

-HOOPEE, JOHN (d. 1555), a Cistercian monk who adopted 
Protestant views and fled to Switzerland to escape persecution, 
1539. Eeturned as Chaplain to Somerset, and became Bishop of 
Gloucester in 1550, and also of Worcester in 1552 — to reside six 
months in each. He was a man of holy life and great liberality 
to the poor, but under Queen Mary he was burnt to death at 
Gloucester for heresy. 

HOPKINS, WILLIAM (1647-1700), born at Evesham; son of 
George Hopkins, Eector of All Saints, and grandson of William 
Hopkins, M.P. of Bewdley, 1647. Sent to Trinity College, Oxford, 
at 13 years old. In 1671 he went as chaplain with Henry 
Coventry, ambassador to Sweden, and then began the study of 
northern antiquities. Prebendary of Worcester, 1675 ; Curate of 
Mortlake, 1678 ; Vicar of Lindridge, 1686 ; Afternoon Preacher 
of St. Lawrence, Jewry, 1680 ; Master of St. Oswald's Hospital, 
Worcester, 1697. Added many books to the Cathedral Library. 
Erom 1686 lived at Worcester, and is buried in the Cathedral. 
Married (1) Averill Martin, (2) Elizabeth Whitehouse. He published 
" The Book of Bertram or Batramnus coneerning the Body and Blood 
of the Lord,'' 1686 and 1688 ; "Animadversions on Mr. Johnson's 
Answer to Jovian," 1691 ; " Sermons " published by Dr. Hickes, 1708. 

*HOUGH, JOHN (1651-1743). Prebendary of Worcester, 1685. 
Fellow of Magdalen College, Oxford; elected President, 1687, but 
ejected unlawfully by James II. Eestored 1688 ; Bishop of Oxford, 
1690-9; Bishop of Lichfield and Coventry, 1699-1717; Bishop of 
Worcester, 1717-43. His firm defence of the rights of his University 
is renowned in English history. He rebuilt the front of the Bishop's 
Palace at Worcester, and contributed £1000 in 1741 towards 
building All Saints' Church. He died in his 93rd year, and his 
fine monument by Eoubilliac is in the Cathedral, the words thereon 
being attributed to Archdeacon Tottie and the "good" Lord 
Lyttelton. 



80 Sho7-t Biographies of the 

HOUSMAN, HENRY (d. 1912) Educated at King's College, 
London, St. John's College, Cambridge, and University of Durham ; 
B.D., 1887 ; Ordained 1857. A great spiritual force as Tutor and 
Lecturer in Greek and Hebrew at Chichester Theological College, 
1879-98. Eector of Bradley, Worcestershire, 1898-1912. Author 
of Readings on the Psalms, Dignity of Service, Sermon Stories, Hints 
to Theological Students, John Ellerton, Poems, St. Ethelbert, etc. 

*HUGHBS, WILLIAM (d. 1798), possibly the son of a minor 
Canon of Worcester, was in 1741 himself appointed to that office, 
which he held for forty years. In 1757 he resigned the livings of 
Bredicot and St. Clement's for that of St. Peter's, Worcester. He 
left his property to the Worcester Infirmary. His publications 
dealt with Church music. 

-HULLAH, JOHN PYKE (1812-1884), born at Worcester, the 
son of a Yorkshireman supposed to be of Huguenot origin. He 
was mainly educated at the Royal Academy of Music. In 1836 
he produced an opera " Village Coquettes," for which Dickens wrote 
the words. He established singing classes on the tonic sol-fa 
method first at Battersea, then at Manchester, and in 1849 at 
St. Martin's Hall, Long Acre, in a building especially erected for 
the purpose. The building was burnt to the ground and he was 
ruined, and took to lecturing and conducting high-class concerts. 
In 1867 he received a medal at the Paris Exhibition, and in 1876 
was honoured with the Edinburgh LL.D. Thenceforward held 
many remunerative musical appointments. He published several 
manuals on the sol-fa system, and some lectures on music and 
musical history. 

*HURD, RICHARD (1720-1808), son of a farmer at Penkridge, 
Staffs. Educated at Brewood; Fellow of Emmanuel College, Cam- 
bridge ; M.A., 1742 ; Ordained 1744. Preacher of Lincoln's Inn, 
1765 ; Archdeacon of Gloucester, 1767 ; Warburtonian Lecturer on 
the Prophecies; Bishop of Lichfield and Coventry, 1774-81. Tutor 
to the Prince of Wales and his brother Frederick, 1776. Bishop 
of Worcester, 1781-1808. He repaired Hartlebury Castle and built 
the Library, to which he presented Dr. Warburton's books. Johnson 
said of him, " Hurd, sir, is a man whose acquaintance is a valuable 
acquisition." He died in his 88th year, and is buried in Hartlebury 
churchyard. George III. visited him at Hartlebury, and went to 
the Worcester Music Meeting in 1788. 



Worthies of Worcestershire. 81 

-HUSKISSON, WILLIAM (1770-1830), born at Birtsmorton. 
Under-Secretary at War, 1795. Eepresented Morpeth, 1796, and 
afterwards Liskeard, Harwich, Chichester, and Liverpool. Secretary 
to Treasury under Pitt, 1804-5 ; President of the Board of Trade, 
1823-7 ; attacked for his free-trade opinions ; Colonial Secretary 
and leader of the House of Commons under Lord Goderich and 
afterwards under the Duke of Wellington. He took much interest 
in India. Was accidently killed by a locomotive engine at the 
opening of the Liverpool and Manchester Eailway. " An able 
debater, deservedly admired for his simplicity, kindness, and 
integrity" [Spectator). 

INGRAM, ARTHUR HENRY WINNINGTON (1818-1887), 
born at Ribbesford ; grandson of Sir Edward Winnington, second 
baronet, by Mary daughter of John Ingram, of Ribbesford, and 
brother of Col. T. O. W. Ingram (q.v.). Educated at Rugby and 
Christchurch ; B.A., 1841. Rector of Clifton-on-Teme and of 
Harvington, 1845-87. Hon. Canon of Worcester, 1854. Was an 
inspector of schools for some years, and chairman of the Evesham 
bench of magistrates. He was a man of much culture and varied 
attainments — traveller, antiquary, astronomer, geologist, and poet. 
He wrote two volumes of poetry, " The Doom of the Gods of Hellas," 
1867, and " The Brides of Dinan " (a Tale of the Baron's War), 
published by his widow in 1888. In 1879 Mr. Ingram founded the 
Bonaker Convalescent Charity to benefit the poor by sending invalids 
to Sanatoria, for which purpose he invested in Consols £6,364 awarded 
him by the Court of Chancery for his sole use under the will of the 
Eev. William Baldwin Bonaker. He married, 1849, Sophia Mary 
daughter of Lieut. -Col. George Arnold, and has left a son, the Rev. 
A. G. Winnington-Ingram, Rector of Lassington. 

INGRAM, THOMAS ONSLOW WINNINGTON (1816-1858), 
third son of Rev. E. Winnington-Ingram, Canon of Worcester and 
Rector of Ribbesford, and his wife Jane, daughter of Dr. Arthur 
Onslow, Dean of Worcester (q.v.) ; Lieut. -Colonel ; killed at Lucknow, 
March 14th, 1858, when in command of his regiment at the capture 
of the Kaiserbagh. 

JEFFRIES, EDWARD (d. 1725), third son of Sir Francis 
Winnington, M.P. of Stanford. Middle Temple, 1687. Married 
Jane daughter of William Bloome, of Normanton, Yorks, and niece 
of Henry Jeffries, of Ham Castle, Clifton-on-Teme, who left her 



82 Short Biographies of the 

his estates conditionally on this marriage. Edward Winnington 
then assumed the name of Jeffries and was made Q.C., 1710; 
Honorary Freeman of Worcester, 1719 ; M.P. for Droitwich, 1708-25; 
Justice of Carmarthen, Cardigan, and Pembroke, 1711-12; Justice 
of Chester, 1714-25. He left no surviving issue, and devised his 
estates to his eldest brother Salwey Winnington. 

JEFFRIES, JOYCE (d. 1649?), daughter of Henry Jeffries, of 
Homme [or Hamj Castle, Clifton-on-Teme, and Anne, daughter 
of Thomas Barnaby, of the Hill, widow of John Coningsby, of 
Neen Sollers. She wrote a Diary which gives a good description 
of the life of a gentlewoman in the Civil Wars. Portions of this, 
of which the MS. is in the possession of Sir Francis Winnington, Bart., 
have been published in Archceologia. As a Eoyalist she suffered 
great privations at the hands of the Parliamentarians, her house in 
Widemarsh Street, Hereford, being burnt. She then came to Homme 
Castle, where she died. 

JELF, SIR JAMES (1763-1849), eldest son of Michael Jelf, a 
substantial farmer in Bushley. Became a Banker at Gloucester, and 
was elected Mayor of the City. Knighted by George III. Father 
of RICHARD WILLIAM JELF, D.D. (1798-1871), Principal of 
King's College, London, Canon of Christchurch, and Bampton 
Lecturer. He married the Countess Schilppenbach, and was father 
of (1) Rev. GEORGE EDWARD JELF, Canon of Rochester, and 
author of many books, who died master of the Charterhouse in 
1908; (2) SIR ARTHUR JELF, one of His Majesty's Judges; 
(3) Colonel R. H. JELF, R.E. Sir James had another distinguished 
son WILLIAM EDWARD JELF (1811-1875) ; Bampton Lecturer, 
and author of the well-known " Greek Gramviar.'" 

-JENKS, SYLVESTER (1656?-1714), a village lad, born at 
Chaddesley Corbett, and sent by Lady Yate of Harvington to Douay, 
where he afterwards became Professor of Philosophy. In 1686 he 
returned to Harvington as missionary priest, and was made preacher 
in ordinary to James II. A " Protestant mob " from Kidderminster 
attacked the Hall in 1688, but were kept back by the moat. He 
was elected Vicar-Apostolic of the Northern District in 1713. 
Published ''Practical Discourses on the Morality of the Gospel" and 
" Blind Obedience of a H^mible Penitent," 1699, Both have been 
reprinted. 



Worthies of Worcestershire. 83 

-JOHNSON, JAMES (1705-1774), son of Eev. James Johnson, 
Eector of Milford, Suffolk. Educated at Westnainster and Christ- 
church; M.A., 1731. In 1748 he attended George II. to Hanover 
as his chaplain, and was made Canon of St. Paul's. Bishop of 
Gloucester, 1752-59, and of Worcester, 1759-74. Embellished 
Hartlebury Castle and Worcester Palace. Died at Bath owing to 
a fall from his horse. Buried at Laycock, Wilts ; monument in 
Worcester Cathedral erected by his sister. 

JOHNSON, SIR CHARLES COOPER (1827-1905), son of Sir 
Henry A. W. Johnson, fourth Bart. Entered Bengal Army, 1844; 
Lieut.-Col., 1869 ; Major-Gen., 1866 ; General, 1894. Served in Sutlej 
campaign (medal), in Indian Mutiny, 1858 (medal), and with Hazara 
Field Force, 1868 (medal, mentioned in despatches, and thanked 
by Government) ; K.C.B., 1881. Married, 1860, Jemima A. F., daughter 
of Rev. George Martin, Chancellor of Diocese of Exeter, and has left 
several sons who are also in the Army. Sir Charles latterly resided 
at The Hill, Upton-on- Severn, was elected County Alderman for 
Worcestershire, and took an active part in local administration. 

*JOHNSTONE, EDWARD (1757-1851), born at Kidderminster, 
third son of Dr. James Johnstone (q.v.). M.D., Edinburgh, 1799. 
Became leading physician at Birmingham, and served the General 
Hospital for 22 years. Was first Principal of Queen's College, 
Birmingham. Wrote on puerperal fever and hydrophobia. Died 
at Edgbaston Hall, aged 94 years. 

*JOHNSTONE, JAMES (1730-1802), born at Annandale. M.D., 
Edinburgh, 1750. Settled as a physician at Kidderminster, 1751. 
Published a Dissertation on the Malignant Epidemic Fever of 1756. 
Wrote on the uses of the Ganglions of the Nerves, Angina, Scarlet 
Fever, The Slave Trade, Hydrophobia, &c., for which he was voted 
the honorary medal of the Medical Society. He attended George 
the " good " Lord Lyttelton in his last illness, and " was not only his 
physician but his confessor." Buried at Kidderminster ; monument 
in Worcester Cathedral. 

*JOHNSTONE, JAMES (1754-1783), son of James Johnstone 
(q.v.) and Hannah, daughter of Henry Crane, of " Kidderminster. 
M.D., Edinburgh, 1773. Physician to Worcester Infirmary, 1774. 
Died from the gaol fever caught in his zealous visits to the prisons. 



84 Short Biographies of the 

His premature and heroic death incited John Howard the philan- 
thropist in his untiring work for Prison Keformation. Buried in 
Worcester Cathedral. 

*JOHNSTONE, JOHN (1767-1836), brother of James Johnstone 
the younger (q.v.), born at Kidderminster. Merton College, Oxford ; 
M.A., 1792 ; M.D., 1800. Friend of Dr. Samuel Parr, whose life and 
works he wrote and edited 1828. Harveian orator, 1819. Physician 
to Birmingham Hospital, 1801-33. Wrote on Mineral Poisons, 
Medical Jurisprudence, and on Madness. Died near Birmingham. 

JORDEN, GEORGE (1783-1871), born on the Clee Hills, in 
the parish of Earlow, where his father was a labourer and his 
mother a herb-doctress. He came to Bewdley as an errand boy, 
taught himself to read and write, and soon after went as servant 
to James Fryer (q.v.), with whom he lived for 50 years. Being 
favoured with a sympathetic and cultured master, he was able to 
follow his keen bent for the study of nature with unwearied 
assiduity ; and he became known as the curator of the Wyre 
Forest, and guide to the famous Sorb Tree, the only apparently 
wild tree of the species in Britain. Rising before daylight, he spent 
some hours among his flowers in the Forest, and came back loaded 
with specimens for his herbarium, in time to begin his day's work 
at home. His " Flora Bellus Locus " is now in the Worcester 
Museum, and he is specially mentioned by Mr. W. A. Leighton in 
his Flora of Shropshire, and by Mr. Edwin Lees, F.L.S., in his 
Botany of Worcestershire, as having rendered them most effectual 
aid. He bequeathed a mass of local antiquarian lore, including old 
ballads and electioneering songs, to the Worcester Museum. 

*JUKES, FRANCIS (1745-1812), aquatint engraver, was born 
at Martley. He brought his art to perfection, but suffered in health 
from the fumes of aquafortis. 

-JUXON, WILLIAM (1582-1663), Merchant Taylors' School, 
and St. John's, Oxford. President, 1621-33. Dean of Worcester, 
1627-33. Bishop of London, 1633-49. Attended King Charles I. on 
the scaffold and received his last words. Archbishop of Canterbury, 
1660-63. Buried at Oxford, 

KECK, ANTHONY (d. 1797), architect of St. Martin's Church, 
Worcester, Worcester Infirmary, the cupola of Upton-on-Severn 
old Church, and Dr. Nash's house at Bevere. 



Worthies of Worcestershire. 85 

^KELLEY, EDWAED (1555-1595), born at Worcester and 
educated at the King's School. Studied at Oxford under an alias; 
had his ears cropped in the Lancaster pillory in 1580 for fraud or 
coining. Also accused of digging up a corpse to question the dead. 
In 1582 he made the acquaintance of Dr. Dee (q.v.), sometime 
rector of Upton-on-Severn, and as his " skryer," or interpreter of 
the wishes of the spirits by means of a crystal given by the angel 
Gabriel, he accompanied him to the court of Eudolph II. at Prague. 
For six years they carried on a scandalous imposture in Germany 
and Poland, until in 1588 Kelley's conduct was such that Dee 
dismissed him, with a written discharge and an elixir claiming the 
virtues of the philosopher's stone, which Kelley said he had found 
at Glastonbury. He remained in Germany, but was imprisoned by 
Eudolph, 1589-93, and again in 1595, when he lost his life in an 
attempt to escape. He left various writings and poems, and on 
the title page takes to himself the title of " Sir," so possibly the 
Emperor knighted him in his days of prosperity. 

KENELM, SAINT, KING, AND MAETYE (d. 819). A child 
King of Mercia, son of Kenulph. His sister Quendreda wishing 
to be queen, persuaded her lover, Ascobert, to take the child into 
the woods at Clent, slay him, and bury him under a thorn tree. 
But a dove flew to St. Peter's at Eome, and dropped a scroll upon 
the high altar there, on which were the words ; 

" In Clentho vaccte valli Kenelmus regius natus, 
Jacet sub spino, capite truncatus." 

Messengers sent to England by the Pope found the body under a 
thorn-tree, to which they were directed by the lowing of a cow. 
They buried it at the Abbey of Winchcombe. On the spot from 
which they raised the body a spring of water gushed out, over 
which men built St. Kenelm's Chapel. The Legend is fully set 
forth from the original MSS. by Mr. John Amphlett in his History 
of Clent (1890). 

KINEWOLD (d. 957), predecessor of S. Dunstan in the see 
of Worcester (929-957). Eestored Evesham Abbey which had been 
ravaged by the Danes. Sent by King Ethelstan to bear greetings 
and gifts to the monastery of St. Gall in Switzerland. 

KNIGHT, SIE FEEDEEICK WINN (1812-1897), eldest son 
of John Knight, of Wolverley House, a descendant of Eichard 



86 Short Biographies of the 

Knight (q.v.), by the Hon. Jane Winn, daughter of the first Lord 
Headley. Educated at the Charterhouse. Married in 1850 Maria 
L. C, daughter of F. Gibbs. He was M.P. for West Worcestershire 
1841-85, and ParHamentary Secretary to the Poor Law Board, 
February to December, 1852, and February, 1858, to June, 1859. 
He was very energetic in the pronaotion of the Volunteer move- 
ment in 1860, and was the first member enrolled in the County. 
Lieut. -Colonel 1st Worcestershire Eifle Volunteers, 1860-91 ; Lieut.- 
Colonel Queen's Own Worcestershire Hussars (Yeomanry), 1866-78. 
He was made C.B., 1881 and K.C.B., 1886. As representative of 
E. Payne Knight (q.v.), he was a Family Trustee of the British 
Museum. In Devonshire, where Sir Frederick had an estate in 
the Doone country, he improved the breed of Exmoor ponies. 

KNIGHT, EICHAED (1658-1745), second son of Eichard 
Knight, of Madeley. Developed the iron trade at Coalbrookdale, 
Downton under Bringewood, and Wolverley. Bought a large estate 
at Wolverley about 1721. He married a daughter of Andrew 
Payne, of Shawbury, near Moreton Corbet ; his second son was the 
Eev. Thomas Knight, Eector of Eibbesford (1730-65), who rebuilt 
the tower of Bewdley Church in 1745. 

*KNIGHT, EICHAED PAYNE (1750-1824), son of Eev. Thomas 
Knight, Eector of Eibbesford, and grandson of Eichard Knight (q.v.). 
Inherited the Downton estate, near Ludlow. Travelled in Italy 
when young, and developed taste for ancient art ; his Diary was 
translated and published by Goethe in his Biography of the German 
painter, Hackert. In 1776 he built Downton Castle, and laid out 
the grounds so widely known for their beauty. His views on 
landscape gardening were set forth in " The Landscape : a Didactic 
Poem, in three Books," 1794. He defended his principles in further 
poems: "The Progress of Civil Society," 1796, and "An Analytical 
Inquiry into the Principles of Taste," 1805. He was M.P. for 
Leominster, 1780, and for Ludlow, 1784-1806. He was considered 
the best Greek scholar of his time ; was one of the Trustees of 
the British Museum, to which he left a magnificent collection of 
antiquities valued at £50,000. 

*KNIGHT, THOMAS ANDEEW (1759-1838), brother of 
Eichard Payne Knight (q.v.). Educated at Ludlow School and 
Balliol College, Oxford. Friend of Sir Joseph Banks and Sir 



Worthies of Worcestershire. 87 

Humphrey Davy. F.R.S., 1805, and Copley Medallist, 1806. As 
a pomologist his experiments helped largely in making Herefordshire 
pre-eminent for its cider. His " Treatise on the Culttire of the Apple 
and Pear, a'nd on the Manufacture of Cider and Perry,'' 1797, passed 
through many editions. He was elected F.L.S., 1807; President 
of the Horticultural Society, 1811-38; and was awarded the first 
Knightian medal founded in his -honour, 1836. His '^Pomona 
Herefordiensis," appeared in 1811, and a selection of his papers was 
published in 1841. His daughter Charlotte married Sir William 
Rouse-Boughton, Bart., of Downton Hall, Shropshire, and Eouse 
Lencb, Worcestershire, and was mother of Sir Charles Henry Rouse- 
Boughton, eleventh Baronet, and of Andrew Johnes Rouse-Boughton 
who assumed by royal licence the name of Knight on inheriting 
the Downton Castle estate. 

-KYDERMINSTRE, RICHARD (d. 1531), born at Kidderminster. 
Admitted at 15 into Benedictine Monastery of Winchcombe, whence 
at 19 he was sent to Gloucester College, Oxford. In 1487 was 
elected Lord Abbot. In 1500 made a journey to Rome ; afterwards 
had much influence at the English Court. Was sent to the Lateran 
Council in 1512. In 1515 preached at St. Paul's Cross in defence 
of " benefit of clergy " for the minor orders. He wrote " Tractatus 
contra doctrinam M. Lutheri," 1521. "4 Compendium of the Bule 
of S. Benedict." "A Begister of Winchcombe Abbey," 1523 ; of this 
a transcript made by Dodsworth is in the Bodleian Library. The 
British Museum has his autograph letter to Wolsey. Buried in 
Winchcombe Abbey. 

*LAMBE, JOHN (d. 1628), probably born in Worcestershire; 
practised astrology at Tardebigge. In 1607 he was found guilty of 
execrable acts directed against Lord Windsor, but he was released, 
and settled at Hindlip. He was again imprisoned " for entertaiaing 
evil and impious spirits," and removed to the King's Bench prison 
in London. His confinement lasted fifteen years, but owing to the 
favour of the Duke of Buckingham, it was made easy. The Duke's 
favour however served him ill, for the populace held him to have 
bewitched his patron, and therefore to be responsible for his evil 
deeds. In 1628 a mob of apprentices dealt with " the duke's 
devil" with such effect that he died next day. The Corporation 
were fined £6000 for the outrage. 



88 Short Biographies of the 

*LANDOE, EOBEET EYKES (1781-1869). Fellow of Worcester 
College, Oxford, and brother of Walter Savage Landor. Eector of 
Birlingham, from which he was never absent for a single Sunday 
during 40 years. He wrote several Tragedies, of which " Count 
Arezzi " was in demand so long as it was believed to have been 
written by Byron. Birlingham Church was rebuilt in 1871 at a 
cost of £4000 derived from Mr* Landor's estate. 

LANE, SIE EICHAED 1667-1756), son of a sugar-baker at 
Worcester. Mayor, 1709. As Sheriff of the City checked the 
triumphal progress of Dr. Sacheverell. Knighted, 1714. MP. for 
Minehead, 1720, and for Worcester, 1727-34. Sir Eichard is chiefly 
memorable for his order to sink through the tale underlying the 
brine pits at Droitwich, 1725. The result was that the lower 
stronger brine broke out with such violence that two men who 
were at work in the pits were thrown to the surface and killed. 
Soon everyone sunk his pit through the talc, and obtained such a 
profusion of brine that most of it ran to waste. The old pit, 
formerly valued at £5000 per annum, and in which many charities 
and fortunes were invested, became valueless, causing great distress. 
Sir Eichard seems to have suffered in the debacle, for he died one 
of the Poor Knights of Windsor, aged 89 years. His son Henry 
was made a Commissioner for licensing Hawkers and Pedlars, 1753. 

*LANGLAND, WILLIAM (1330 9-1400?). Perhaps born at 
Cleobury Mortimer, and educated at the Priory of Great Malvern. 
Went to London, and wrote three versions of his famous poem, 
*' The Vision of Piers the Ploughman," 1362-77-92, in the alliterative 
old English metre. 

LASLETT, WILLIAM (1801-1884), son of Thomas Emerson 
Laslett, born at Worcester. Middle Temple, 1825. Practised as 
a solicitor at Worcester till 1846. Barrister, 1856. Married Maria 
daughter of Bishop Carr, 1842. M.P. for Worcester, 1852-60 and 
1868-74. Founded the " Laslett Hospital " in Worcester for 33 married 
couples, with a chapel and resident chaplain. Founder of the 
Hinton Charitable Endowment for educational and benevolent uses, 
to which an estate of the value of £90,000 is appropriated. Donor 
of the City Cemetery and contributor to many other City and County 
charities. He resided at Abberton Hall, and his presentation 
portrait is in the Worcester Guildhall. 



Worthies of Worcestershire. 89 

^LATIMER, HUGH (1485 9-1555). Fellow of Clare Hall, Cam- 
bridge, 1510. Preached before Henry VIII. at Windsor, 1530; 
accused of heresy, 1532. Bishop of Worcester, 1535. Pleaded for 
the continuance of Malvern Priory for teaching, preaching, study 
with prayer, and liberal hospitality. Issued injunctions for the 
removal of superstitious practices and the setting up of the Bible 
in Worcester Cathedral, 1537. Eetired from the Bishopric on 
account of the Six Articles, 1539. Committed to the Tower by 
Queen Mary, 1553, and burnt as a heretic at Oxford with Bishop 
Eidley, 1555. 

*LAYAMON (fl. 1200), son of Leovenath, was priest at Areley 
Kings, near Eedstone. He resolved to write the history of the 
first men who came to England after the flood, and " travelled far 
and wide over the country and procured the noble books which he 
took for his model." These were Bede, Albin, and Wace. Hitherto 
books written since the Conquest were in Latin or French. Layamon 
wrote in English ; and as a monument of the language of his time 
the book is beyond price. There are two MSS. of the "Brut" in 
the British Museum, both of which were printed by Sir Frederick 
Madden in 1847. In 1885, during the Restoration of Areley Cliurch, 
a broken font was discovered under the floor, bearing the inscription : 
" Tempore Layavianni Santi." This has been again set up for use. 
A memorial tablet erected in the Church by the Rev. J. P. Hastings, 
and a window by Mr. John Brinton, also keep alive his connection 
with the parish. 

LEA, SIR THOMAS (1841-1902), son of George Butcher Lea, 
of The Larches, Kidderminster. Married Louey, daughter of William 
Birch, of Needwood. Chairman of Lea Limited, of Kidderminster, 
and Chairman of the Metropolitan Bank. M.P. for Kidderminster, 
1868-74, and for S. Londonderry, 1886. Created a Baronet, 1892. 
Brother of George Harris Lea, County Court Judge of Herefordshire 
and Salop. 

LEA, WILLIAM (1819-1889), born at Stone House, near 
Kidderminster. Educated at Rugby and Brasenose College, Oxford; 
B.A., 1842. Vicar of St. Peter's, Droitwich, 1849-87. Archdeacon 
of Worcester, 1881. As Secretary of the Worcester Board of 
Education, he zealously promoted intellectual progress. He was 
also a great authority upon fruit-growing, recommending it especially 



90 Short Biographies of the 



to cottagers. He established a large experimental garden at 
" Orchardlea," where he tested the suitability of nearly every variety 
of apple, pear, and plum to the Worcestershire soil and climate. 
Carefully tabulated results were kept of every tree, and the results 
and profits were made known in many village lectures. In addition 
to his published Charges he wrote " Catechisings on the Boole of 
Covwion Prayer," " On the Life of our Lord," " Sermons on the 
Prayer Booh Preached in Borne," "Small Farms," and ''Church 
Plate in the Archdeaconry of Worcester." 

LECHMERE, SIR EDMQND ANTHONY HARLEY (1826- 
1894) only son of Sir E. H. L. Lechmere, Bart., of Rhydd Court. 
Educated at the Charterhouse, and Christ Church, Oxford ; M. A., 1852. 
Married in 1858 Louisa R., daughter of John Haigh, of Whitwell 
Hal], Yorks. He was senior partner in the Worcester Old Bank, but 
zealously took up the cause of the Christians in the Balkan wars. 
Was made Commander of the Servian Order of the Takova, Knight 
of the Holy Sepulchre, Knight Commander of the Order of St. John 
of Jerusalem, Knight of Malta, &c. M.P. for West Worcestershire, 
1876-92, and for S. Worcestershire, 1892-94. He gave the site for 
the Church of St. Gabriel, at Hanley Green, built at the cost of 
Samuel Martin, 1874; and also erected a beautiful Chapel adjoining 
Ehydd Court. I 

-LECHMERE, SIR NICHOLAS (1613-1701), born at Hanley 
Castle, son of Edmund Lechmere by Margaret sister of Sir Thomas 
Overbury. Wadham College, Oxford ; Middle Temple, 1634 ; called 
to the bar, 1641; bencher, 1655. Sided with the Parliament in the 
Civil War; present at the siege of Worcester, 1646. M.P. for 
Bewdley, 1648. Member of Special Commission for trial of Welsh 
insurgents, 1651. M.P. for County of Worcester, 1654, 1656, 1658-9. 
Attorney-General for Duchy of Lancaster, 1654. Walked in Oliver 
Cromwell's funeral procession. Obtained full pardon from Charles II. 
at Breda. Reader of his Inn, 1669; Serjeant-at-law, Judge, aud 
Knight, 1689. Died at Hanley Castle. Was one of the Founders 
of Greenwich Hospital. Married Penelope, daughter of Sir Edwin 
Sandys, of Northbourne, Kent, and left two sons. Portrait in Nash's 
Worcestershire I., 560. 

*LECHMERE, NICHOLAS (1675-1727), born at Hanley Castle, 
son of Edmund Lechmere and Lucy daughter of Sir Anthony 
Hungerford, of Farley Castle, Somerset. Merton College, Oxford. 



Worthies of Worcestershire. 91 

Called to the bar at the Middle Temple, 1698. M.P. (whig) for 
Appleby, Cockermouth, and for Tewkesbury from 1708 to 1750. 
Helped Swift in "The Crisis," 1714; Q.C., 1708; Solicitor-General, 
1714-1718 ; Attorney-General, Privy Councillor, and Chancellor of 
the Duchy of Lancaster, 1718. One of the managers appointed 
to impeach Dr. Sacheverell, 1710 ; engaged in the trial of Lord 
Derwentwater, &c., 1715. Created Lord Lechmere of Evesham, 
172L Married Lady Elizabeth How^ard daughter of Earl of Carlisle. 
Died at Kensington, and was buried at Hanley Castle. Portraits 
at the Ehydd and at Steeple Aston. 

*LEE, SAMUEL, D.D. (1783-1852). A Worcestershire carpenter, 
whose tools were burnt in a fire at Glasshampton, in the parish 
of Astley. He had taught himself Greek, Hebrew, Persian, and 
other oriental languages, and entered Queens' College, Cambridge, 
1813. He became Professor of Arabic, 1819-31 ; Eegius Professor 
of Hebrew, 1831-48. He edited the New Testament in Syriac, 
1816, the Old Testament, 1823, and other works. 

-LEES, EDWIN, E.L.S. (1800-1887), born at Worcester. Started 
as a printer at 87, High Street. In 1828 he published his " Strangers' 
G^iide to Worcester," under the i^seudonyrti of "Ambrose Florence.' 
Next year he started " The Worcestershire Miscellany." In 1831 he 
founded the " Worcestershire Literary and Scientific Society " of 
which he became the chief authority in botanical research. In 
later years he gave up business and devoted himself to study. His 
chief work, " The Botany of Worcestershire," 1867, has been analyzed 
by Mr. William Mathews in vols. x. to xvi. of the Midland Naturalist. 
He was a prolific writer, and a complete list of his many papers and 
addresses will be found in the Bibliography of Worcestershire, 
Part III., compiled by l\Ir. John Humphreys, F.L.S., 1907. 

LEIGHTON, SIR THOMAS (d. 1611), younger son of John 
Leighton, of Wattlesborough, Salop, by Joyce, daughter of Sutton, 
Lord Dudley. Knighted, 1579. M.P. for Northumberland, 1571- 
1583, and for Worcestershire, 1601-04. Constable of the Tower. 
He received from the Queen a grant of Feckenham Park, Worcester- 
shire. He was a distinguished soldier, and held high military office 
in Queen Elizabeth's reign, and was one of the general officers 
summoned to consult together to repel the Spanish Armada in 
1588. His wife Elizabeth was a daughter of Sir Francis KnoUys 
by Catherine daughter of Mary Carey, sister of Queen Anne Boleyn. 



92 Short Biographies of the 

LINES, HENRY HARRIS (1800-1899), eldest son of Samuel 
Lines, who established a Drawing Academy, and helped to found 
the Birmingham School of Art in 1821. His mbther, nee Elizabeth 
Ashcroft, was a native of the Rock, near Bewdley. In 1832 H. H. 
Lines came to Worcester. He was an exhibitor at the Royal 
Academy, and the Art Galleries at Birmingham, Manchester, &c. In 
Yorkshire he made a sketching tour with David Cox who makes a 
friendly reference to him in his Diary. He became also an earnest 
archaeologist, and his chief claim to remembrance will be his studies 
with plans of the old Camps of Worcestershire and the Border 
Counties. These were purchased at his death for the Worcester 
Free Library. Several of his antiquarian papers were published after 
his death by his daughter. His notes and plans of the '' Titter stone 
Camp and others " have been printed by the Shropshire Archaeological 
Society. 

LICHFIELD, CLEMENT (d. 1546), Abbot of Evesham. Built 
St. Clement's Chapel in St. Laurence's Church, and is buried in 
the Lichfield Chapel of All Saints. To his munificence is owing 
the beautiful clock tower and gateway at Evesham. The Towns- 
people had the spirit to preserve this architectural treasure by 
purchasing it from Sir Philip Hoby, who was about to pull it 
down for the sake of the materials. Abbot Lichfield had refused 
to surrender the monastery, but was driven out by oppressive 
burdens laid upon him. 

^LITTLETON, ADAM (1627-1694), born at Halesowen, son of 
Thomas Littleton the Rector. Educated at Westminster and 
Christchurch. Second master of Westminster School, 1658. Started 
a school at Chelsea, and in 1669 was appointed Rector of Chelsea. 
Chaplain to Charles II. and D.D , 1670. Prebendary of Westminster, 
1674; Rector of Overton, Hampshire, 1683; Rector of St. Botolph, 
Aldersgate, 1685. Chaplain to the Prince Palatine. He was styled 
the " Great Dictator of Learning." His chief work was the " Lingua 
LatincB Liber Dictionarius Quadripartitus," published at London 
in 1673. This went through many editions, and was the standard 
Latin Dictionary until superseded by " Ainsworth " in 1735. He 
also published Sermons and other theological and classical works. 
He is buried in Chelsea Church. 



Worthies of Worcestershire. 93 

-LITTLETON, SIE THOMAS (1402-1481), born at Frankley, 
the eldest son of Thomas Westcote of Westcote, but as the heir of 
his mother Elizabeth, daughter and heir of Thomas de Littleton 
of Frankley, he bore her name. In 1445 he was appointed escheator 
of Worcestershire. Through the degrees of serjeant-at-law, king's 
Serjeant, and judge of assize, he became in 1466 Justice of the 
Common Pleas, and was made a K.B. in 1475. He obtained a 
pardon under the great seal from King Edward IV., from whom 
he also received special marks of favour, such as furred robes at 
Christmas and linen ones at Pentecost. He died at Frankley and 
was buried in the south aisle of the nave of Worcester Cathedral. 
His fame rests on his treatise on " Temires," written in law French, 
and described by Sir Edward Coke, who wrote a commentary on 
it, as " the most perfect and absolute work that was ever written 
in any human science." Treatise and comment together long 
remained the principal authority on English real property law. 
He married Joan, widow of Sir Philip Chetwynd, and daughter 
of Sir W. Burley of Bromscroft, Salop, who brought him large 
estates. From their eldest son descended the family of Lyttelton 
of Hagley. 

^LIVING (d. 1046). Abbot of Tavistock. Went to Rome with 
Canute. Bishop of Ciediton, 1027, and of Worcester (in plurality), 
1038. An eloquent preacher ; accused as an accomplice in the 
murder of Prince Alfred, and deprived, but restored on payment of 
a fine. The citizens in 1041 murdered the housecarls of King 
Hardicanute, who took vengeance by sacking the City and burning 
the Cathedral. The citizens fled to the Isle of Beavers on the Severn. 

*LLOYD, WILLIAM (1627-1717), son of Eichard Lloyd, rector 
of Tilehurst, near Eeading, a devoted Eoyalist, who had suffered 
much for the King. Oriel College, Oxford, 1639 ; Fellow of Jesus 
College, and M.A., 1646. Deacon, 1648; chaplain and tutor in the 
family of Sir William Backhouse, of Swallowfield, Berks. After 
the Eestoration he held many preferments, including the Deanery 
of Bangor, 1672. In 1677 he was appointed to accompany Princess 
Mary to Holland as her first chaplain. In 1680 he was made Bishop 
of St. Asaph ; and was one of the famous " Seven Bishops " sent to 
the Tower by James II. in 1688. He was translated to Lichfield 
and Coventry in 1692, and to Worcester in 1700. He was a staunch 
supporter of the Revolution, and in politics somewhat violent, as 



94 Short Biographies of the 

witnessed by his quarrel witii Sir John Pakington (q.v.). But in 
spiritual matters be was careful, just and considerate, a determined 
opponent of tbe Papacy, but anxious for the fair treatment of 
Roman Catholics and other nonconformists, and he wrote a treatise 
wherein he distinguished between " Church Catholics " and the 
"Jesuitical party," and pleaded for toleration for the former. He 
was unusually careful as to the character and attainments of 
candidates for Holy Orders, and he dealt strictly with defaulting 
clergymen. Of education he was a great advocate, and offered to 
add a tenth to all school subscriptions in the diocese. Also he 
founded " Bishop Lloyd's school " for boys and girls of the poorer 
class in Worcester out of the estate which escheated to him on 
the murder of Mrs. Palmer, of Upton Snodsbury. In a circular 
letter to his clergy, he reminds them of the supreme importance 
of religious education, adding: — "How great a Public Blessing it 
would be, if there were in every parish in this Church and Kingdom, 
a sufficient number of good Masters and Dames maintained by 
publick salaries, for the teaching of Male and Female Children." 
His own learning was very great. Bishop Burnet writes that to 
his friendship and to that of x\rchbishop Tillotson he owed " a great 
part of the consideration that has been had for me." His interest 
in Hebrew prophecy led him to put interpretations thereon which 
in his extreme old age brought his credit somewhat into disrepute. 
Owing to his influence. Sir T. Cookes (q.v.) founded Worcester 
College, Oxford ; and he presented the existing Communion Plate 
to Hartlebury Church. He died and was buried at Fladbury, where 
his son, Chancellor Lloyd, was Rector. His wife was Anne, daughter 
of Walter Jones, D.D., Prebendary of Westminster. 

-LOVETT, RICHAED (1692-1780), Lay Clerk of Worcester 
Cathedral, born at Chalfont S. Giles, Bucks. Applied electricity 
as a remedy for sore throats, 1758. Died in St. Swithin's, Worcester. 
He wrote ^'Philosophical Essays in 8 parts," 8vo., 1766; ''The 
Electrical Philosopher : containing a new system of Physics, founded 
upon the principle of an universal Plenum of Elementary Fire," 
Svo. plates, 1775. 

-LYGON, WILLIAM, EARL BEAUCHAMP (1747-1816), only 
son of Reginald Pyndar, who took the name of Lygon on becoming 
heir to Madresfield Court through his mother Margaret Lygon. 



Worthies of Worcestershire. 95. 

Educated at Christ Church, Oxford. M.P. for Worcestershire, 1775- 
1806. Created Baron Beauchamp of Powyk, 1806, and Viscount 
Elmley and Earl Beauchamp, 1815. 

LYGON, HENRY BEAUCHAMP, EARL BEAUCHAMP 
(1784-1863), 3rd son of first Earl. Cornet, 13th Light Dragoons, 
1803; Major, 16th Dragoons, 1812. Served in the Peninsula, 
1809-10. Fought at Talavera, and was severely wounded at Busaco. 
Lieut.-Col. in the 1st Life Guards, 1821-37; Major-General, 1837; 
General, 1854. Colonel of the 2nd Life Guards, and Gold Stick 
in Waiting to the Queen, 1863. M.P. for Worcestershire, 1816-31; 
and for W. Worcestershire, 1832-53. Member of the Court of 
Inquiry into the Administration of the British Array in the Crimea, 
1856. Succeeded his brother John as 4th Earl Beauchamp, 1858. 
Married, 1824, Susan Caroline, daughter of William Eliot, 2nd Earl 
of St. Germans. 

*LYGON, FREDERICK, EARL BEAUCHAMP (1830-1891), 
younger son of 4th Earl (q-v.). Educated at Eton and Christ 
Church. Fellow of All Souls, 1852. D.C.L., 1870. M.P. for 
Tewkesbury, 1857-63, and for W. Worcestershire, 1863-66. One of 
the Founders and Council of Keble College, 1871-82. Civil Lord 
of the Admiralty, 1859 ; Lord Lieutenant of Worcestershire, 1876 ; 
Lord Steward of the Household, 1874-80; Paymaster-General, 
1885-6, February, and August 1886-7 ; Captain, Worcestershire 
Yeomanry, 1854-59. An official Trustee of the British Museum; 
F.S.A. Married (1) Lady Mary Stanhope, 1868 (d. 1876) and (2) 
Lady Emily Pierrepont, daughter of Sydney, 3rd Earl Manvers. 
Succeeded his brother Henry as 6th Earl, 1866. 

LYTTELTON, ALFRED (1857-1913), 8th son of G. W., 4th 
Baron Lyttelton (q.v.). Educated at Eton and Trinity College, 
Cambridge ; B.A., 1878. Barrister, Inner Temple, 1881 ; Q.C., 1891. 
Recorder of Hereford, 1893, and of Oxford, 1894. M.P. for Warwick, 
1895-1906, and for St. George's, Hanover Square, 1906-13. He 
married in 1885, Laura (died 1886), daughter of Sir Charles 
Tennant, and 2ndly (1892), Edith, daughter of Archibald Balfour. 
He had a very successful legal career, and held a brief as Counsel 
for the Warden of Merton in the great Parnell case. His services 
were often in request in important arbitration matters. He was 
arbitrator in Newfoundland on the Raid claims in 1902. Chairman 



96 Short Biographies of the 

of the Transvaal Concessions Commission in 1900-01, and travelled 
throughout the country compiling the historic report. Entered the 
Cabinet as Colonial Secretary, 1902. Initiated the idea of forming 
a permanent Imperial Council with representatives from all the 
self-governing oversea Dominions. In 1905 he drafted a Constitution 
for the Transvaal. Mr. Lyttelton will also be remembered as one 
of the great cricketers of a great cricket family — a fine bat, and 
the best amateur wicket-keeper in England. He was captain of 
the Eton and Cambridge Elevens ; was wicket-keeper for the 
Gentlemen against the Players, and for England against the 
Australians four times. As an earnest Churchman he took a 
brilliant part in the defence of the Welsh Church, and was one of 
the chief speakers at the great demonstration in Hyde Park only 
a fortnight before his death. He was buried at Hagley. 

LYTTELTON, ARTHUK TEMPLE, D.D. (1852-1903), 5th 
son of 4th Baron Lyttelton. Educated at Eton and Trinity. First- 
class Moral Science Tripos, and B.A., 1873. Formerly a Page of 
Honour to Queen Victoria. Master of Selwyn College, Cambridge, 
1882-93. Vicar of Eccles, 1893-98. Bishop- suffragan of Southampton, 
1898-1903. Married, 1880, Mary Kathleen, daughter of George Clive. 
Author of " The Atonement " in L^lx Mundi, 1890. 

*LYTTELTON, SIR CHARLES (1629-1716), 2nd son of Sir 
T. Lyttelton, of Frankley, 1st Baronet (q v.). Defended Colchester 
for the King, 1648 ; sent prisoner to the Tower by Cromwell ; 
escaped to France, and was made Cupbearer to Charles II., 1650. 
Took part in Sir George Booth's rising, 1659 ; surrendered at Chirk 
Castle. Prepared for the Restoration of 1660. Knighted, 1662. 
Lieut.-Governor and Governor of Jamaica, 1662-64. Founded Port 
Royal and summoned the first Legislative Assembly. Governor of 
Harwich, 1667-72. Colonel of the " Maritime " Regiment (afterwards 
Marines), 1684. M.P. for Bewdley, 1685-89. Married (1) Catherine 
Fairfax (d. 1663), and (2) Anne Temple. Succeeded his elder brother 
Henry (q.v.) as 3rd Baronet, 1693. Died at Hagley, and was 
buried at Upper Arley. 

*LYTTELTON, CHARLES, D.D. (1714-1768), 3rd son of Sir 
Thomas Lyttelton, Bart., M.P., and younger brother of George, 
first Baron Lyttelton (q.v.). Educated at Eton and University 
College, Oxford. Called to the Bar at the Middle Temple, 1738, 



Worthies of Worcestershire. 97 

but was ordained in 1742. Became Dean of Exeter in 1747 and 
Bishop of Carlisle in 1762. Assisted Dr. Nash in his Worcestershire, 
was a voluminous contributor to the '^ Philosophical Transactions" 
(1748) and to " ArchcBologia," and was elected President of the 
Society of Antiquaries, 1765. 

*LYTTELTON, GEOEGE, BAEON LYTTELTON (1709-1773), 
eldest son of Sir Thomas Lyttelton, Bart., M.P., for Worcester, and 
Lord of the Admiralty in 1727, by Christian, daughter of Sir Eichard 
Temple, Bart., of Stowe. Educated at Eton and Christchurch. 
M.P. for Okehampton, 1735-56. Secretary to the Prince of Wales, 
1737 ; a Lord of the Treasury, 1744-54 ; Cofferer to the Household, 
1754; formed the " Cobhamite party" in conjunction with Pitt and 
the Grenvilles ; Chancellor of the Exchequer, 1755. High Steward 
of Bewdley, 1753-73. Created Lord Lyttelton, Baron of Frankley, 
1757. Was a friend of Pope, Sheustone, and Thomson, and a 
generous patron of literature. Lord Lyttelton was a speaker and 
writer of eminence, and finds a place in Dr. Johnson's " Lives of 
the English Poets." His best poems are "Advice to Belinda," and on 
the death of his wife. His chief prose writings are the "Persian 
Letters," "Dialogues of the Dead," 1760, and "Life of Henry IL," 
1767. As a young man he had entertained doubts of the truth 
of Christianity, but serious study led to firm belief, which was 
shown in his " Observations on the Conversion of St. Paul," 1747. 
His collected Works by his nephew George Edward Ayscough, 
were published (2nd ed.) by J. Dodsley in 1775, with portrait 
after West. He married (1) Lucy daughter of Hugh Fortescue 
(d. 1747), and (2) Ehzabeth daughter of Sir Eobert Eich, Bart. 
The present Hagley Hall was erected in 1760 from the designs 
of Sanderson Miller. 

-LYTTELTON, GEOEGE WILLIAM, 4th Baron (1817-1876), 
son of W. H., 3rd Baron (q.v.). Educated at Eton and Trinity. 
Bracketed with C. J. Vaughan (afterwards Master of the Temple) 
as Senior Classic and Chancellor's Medallist, 1831. LL.D., 1862. 
Took a prominent part in educational life in the county, and was 
Principal of Queen's College, Birmingham, 1845. He became 
Under-Secretary of State for the Colonies in 1846, and promoted 
the foundation of the Province of Canterbury in New Zealand, of 
which the port was called Lyttelton in his honour, 1850. Elected 
first President of the Birmingham and Midland Institute, 1853. He 



98 Short Biographies of the 

zealously supported the creation of additional Bishoprics ; and as 
Chief Commissioner of Endowed Schools (1869-74) he gave new 
life to Secondary Education. Lord Lieutenant of Worcestershire. 
P.C, K.C.M.G., F.E.S. He married (1) in 1839 Mary (d. 1857) 
daughter of Sir Stephen Glynne, 8th Bart., and (2) in 1869, Sybella 
daughter of George Clive and widow of Humphrey E. Mildmay. 
In recognition of Lord Lyttelton's great pubhc services Hagley 
Church was rebuilt and enlarged in 1858; and after his death in 
1876 the County erected an altar-tomb of marble and alabaster in 
Worcester Cathedral, bearing his full length recumbent effigy in 
peer's robes; designed by Sir G. Gilbert Scott, E.A., and executed 
by J. Forsyth. He was a great Greek scholar, and published 
some Translations in conjunction with his famous brother-in-law, 
Mr. W. E. Gladstone. 

*LYTTELTON, SIR THOMAS (1596-1650), eldest son of John 
Lyttelton, of Erankley (q-v.). Educated at Balliol College, Oxford. 
Inner Temple, 1613. Created a Baronet, 1618. M.P. for Worcester- 
shire, 1620-2, 1624-26, 1640. Married Catherine, daughter of Sir 
Thomas Crompton, of Driffield, Yorks. Colonel of the Worcestershire 
Horse and Foot for the King, 1642. Taken prisoner by "Tinker 
Fox " at Bewdley, 1644, and imprisoned in the Tower. See The 
Civil War in Worcestershire, by Willis-Bund (1905). Fined £4000 
in 1645. Buried in Worcester Cathedral. 

-LYTTELTON, WILLIAM HENRY, BARON WESTCOTE 
and BARON LYTTELTON (1724-1808), 6th son of Sir Thomas 
Lyttelton, of Hagley, 4th Bart. Educated at Eton and St. Mary 
Hall, Oxford. Inner Temple, 1748. M.P. for Bewdley, 1748-65 
and 1774-90. Deputy Cofferer of the Household, 1754-5; Governor 
of St. Carolina, 1765-9 ; Governor of Jamaica, 1759-66 ; Envoy 
Extraordinary and Minister Plenipotentiary to Portugal, 1766-71; 
a Lord of the Treasury, 1777-82. Succeeded his nephew Thomas, 
2nd Lord Lyttelton (q.v.), as 7th Bart., 1779. Created Baron 
Westcote in the peerage of Ireland, 1776, and Baron Lyttelton of 
Frankley (second creation) in 1794. High Steward of Bewdley, 
1779-1808, and Recorder, 1780-1808. Helped in the rebuilding of 
Bewdley Bridge, 1801. Author of " An Historical Account of the 
Constitution of Jamaica," 1792. He married- (1) Mary Macartney, 
of Longford (d. 1765), and (2) Caroline Bristow. 



Worthies of Worcestershire. 99 



*LYTTELTON, WILLIAM HENRY, BARON LYTTELTON 
(1782-1837), son of W. H., 1st Lord Lyttelton of second creation (q.v.) 
Educated at Christ Church. Student till 1812. D.C.L., 1810. 
M.P. for Worcestershire, 1806-20. An eloquent speaker. Succeeded 
his half-brother George Fulke as 3rd Lord Lyttelton, 1828. Lord 
Lieutenant of Worcestershire, 1833-37. Married, 1813, Lady Sarah 
Spencer (Lady of the Bedchamber to Queen Victoria, 1838, and 
afterwards governess to the royal children), daughter of George 
John, 2nd Earl Spencer. A volume of bright and charming letters 
written by this gifted lady has been edited by her great-grand- 
daughter, the Hon. Mrs. Hugh Wyndham (John Murray). It is 
entitled " The Gorresijondence of Sarah Spencer, Lady Lyttelton, 
1787-1870." 

*LYTTELTON,' THOMAS, BARON LYTTELTON (1744-1779), 
only son of George, 1st Baron Lyttelton (q.v.). Educated at Eton 
and Christ Church. M.P. for Bewdley, 1768, till unseated January, 
1769. He succeeded his father the "good" Lord Lyttelton in 1773, 
and became known as the "wicked" Lord Lyttelton. In many 
respects he was one of the most remarkable characters of his 
century. Accomplished, witty, clever, a brilliant orator, a good 
debater, he shone like a meteor in politics and society for a few 
years. He died suddenly in his 35th year ; there are many versions 
of the warning of his death given to him by the apparition of a 
bird, which suddenly changed into that of a woman dressed in 
white, who bade him prepare to die within three days. A small 
volume of Poems was published soon after his death ; but Lord 
Lyttelton's Letters," which passed through several editions, are 
generally believed to be the spurious productions of William Combe, 
author of "Dr. Syntax." "Life" by Thomas Frost (1876). He 
married Apphia, second daughter of Broome Witts, of Chipping 
Norton, Oxon., and widow of Joseph Peach, Governor of Calcutta. 
Lady Lyttelton on her return from India had purchased the 
Leasowes, not far from Hagley, once the property of William 
Shenstone. After her second husband's death she resided at 
Malvern, where she devoted herself to philanthropic work, and 
founded a Sunday School, a School of Industry, &c. She lived till 
1840, and her memory is still preserved by the "Lyttelton Rooms" 
rebuilt in 1887. 



100 Short Biographies of the 

-LYTTELTON, JOHN (1561-1601), son of Gilbert Lyttelton, M.P., 
of Frankley. Magdalen College, Oxford, 1576, and Inner Temple, 
1579. M.P. for Worcestershire, 1584-7 and 1597-8. As a Eomaa 
Catholic he was implicated in the Essex rebellion against Queen 
Elizabeth, and was convicted of high treason, 1601. Sir Walter 
Ealeigh's interest saved him from execution, but he died in prison 
within a few months. This conviction entailed the forfeiture of 
the Lyttelton estates and the ruin of this ancient family. But the 
widow was a lady of great wisdom and prudence, who may be 
regarded as its second founder. Mr. Lyttelton had married 
MUEIEL, daughter of Sir Thomas Bromley, Lord Chancellor, and 
upon the accession of James I. in 1603, she threw herself at his 
feet at Doncaster, and pleaded her children's cause so ably that 
the attainder was reversed. She freed the estate from debt, and 
brought up her young children in the English Church. 

^LYTTELTON, HON. WILLIAM HENEY (1820-1884), 3rd 
son of 3rd Baron Lyttelton. Educated at Winchester, and Trinity 
College, Cambridge, M.A., 1841. Eector of Hagley, 1847. Canon of 
Gloucester, 1880. Married (1) in 1854 Emily daughter of Dr. Pepys, 
Bishop of Worcester, and (2) Constance, daughter of Very Eev. the 
Hon. Grantham Yorke, Dean of Worcester. Published ''Scripture 
Bevelations of the Life of Man after Death, ivith Beviarks upon 
Cremation and upon Christian Burial," 1876; ''Lectures in Defence 
of the Christian FaitJi" 1881; "Egypt, Palestine, and Phenicia," 
1882 ; and many short papers. 

-•-■MADDOX, ISAAC (1697-1757). M.A., Edinburgh, 1723; B.A., 
Oxford, 1724; M.A., Cambridge, 1728. Clerk of the Closet to Queen 
CaroHne. Dean of Wells, 1784; Bishop of St. Asaph, 1736; and 
of Worcester, 1743. A zealous promoter of hospitals, and Founder 
of the Worcester Infirmary. He restored the Chapel at Hartlebury 
Castle, and planted the cedars and mulberry trees. Published his 
"Vindication of the Ch^irch of England" — a vigorous reply to 
Neal's " History of the P^irita^is " in 1733. 

MAIDSTONE, WALTEE (d. 1317). Agent of Edward 11. 
at Eome. Bishop of Worcester, 1313, by papal provision. 

-^MALINS, SIE EICHAED (1805-1882), born at Evesham, son 
of Wm. Malins, of Ailstor, Warwickshire, and Mary daughter of 
Thomas Hunter, of Pershore. Educated at Caius College, Cambridge, 



Worthies of Worcestershire. 101 

and called to the bar, 1830. By hard work he obtained a good 
practice, and was made a Q.C. in 1849. M.P. (Conservative) for 
Wallingford from 1852-1865, when he was defeated by Sir Charles 
Dilke. He carried the Infants' Marriage Act (1855) and the Married 
Women's Reversionary Property Act (1857) ; opposed the Divorce 
Bill. Chancellor and knighted in 1867. In 1881 he retired, and 
was made P.C. Died in London. His wife was Susannah Farwell, 
daughter of the rector of St. Martin's, Cornwall. 

*MALVERNE, JOHN (d. 1414 ?). Sacrist and Prior of Worcester 
in 1395. Wrote the continuation of Higden's " Polychronicon." He 
was present at the trial of the Lollard John Badby in 1410. 

*MARLEBERGE, THOMAS DE (d. 1236). Educated at Paris 
under Stephen Langton. Taught at Oxford. Monk of Evesham, 
1199; brought with him many books on canon and civil law and 
medicine. Acted as spokesman of the monks who claimed exemption 
from the visitation of Bishop Mauger in 1202, and after an appeal 
to Rome he won the day. Prior of Evesham, 1218. Abbot, 1229. 
Rebuilt the Tower; added stained glass windows; dedicated new 
Infirmary Chapel. Abbreviated the " Life of St. Egiuin " and wrote 
the "Life of St. Wistan," and " Ghronicoii Abbatiae de Eveshajn" 
from the foundation to 1214 (Rolls Series). 

*MARTIALL or MARSHALL, JOHN (1534-1597), born at 
Daylesford. Fellow of New College, Oxford, 1551 ; and became 
second master at Winchester School in 1556, but was obliged to 
resign and go abroad on the accession of Elizabeth. He was one 
of the founders of the English College at Douay, and was made 
Canon of St. Peter at Lille, where he died. He wrote theological 
books. 

-MASON, SIR JOSIAH (1795-1881), born in Mill Street, 
Kidderminster. Began life with an up-hill struggle, and at 
the age of eight sold cakes and vegetables in the streets. 
Afterwards he became carpenter, shoemaker, blacksmith, and house- 
painter in turns. He removed to Birmingham at the age of 21, 
and was engaged to superintend a manufactory for split rings. 
This business he purchased for £500. His employer, Samuel 
Harrison, had made for Dr. Priestly the first steel pens recordtid. 
Mason saw that these pens could be made by machinery, and 
joined Mr. James Perry in the new industry which prospered 



102 Short Biographies of the 

wonderfully and laid the foundations of his great wealth. About 
1840 he joined the Elkingtons in their famous electro-plate works. 
He married Annie Griffiths, but as they were childless they resolved 
that orphans should be heirs to part of their accumulations. In 
1858 he estabhshed at Erdington an almshouse for 30 women and 
an orphanage for 60 girls. Soon after he erected a new building 
at a cost of £60,000, and endowed it with property worth £200,000. 
In 1874 it was enlarged to accommodate 300 girls, 150 boys, and 
50 infants. The original orphanage was devoted to an almshouse, 
combined with a home for orphan girls who had been in domestic 
service and were temporarily out of a situation. The " Mason 
Science College " in Birmingham was opened 23rd February, 1880. 
Sir Josiah Mason (he was knighted in 1872) spent £60,000 on the 
building and £250,000 on the endowment. Later, chiefly through 
the exertions of the Eight Hon. Joseph Chamberlain, this foundation 
became the nucleus of the Birmingham University. He was buried 
by the side of his wife in the orphanage grounds at Erdington. 
A marble statue stands near his College in Birmingham. 

*MAUGER (d. 1212). Physician to Richard I., and Dean of 
York ; elected Bishop of Worcester in 1199. Owing to illegitimate 
birth, his election was annulled by Innocent III., whereupon 
Mauger made a personal appeal to the Pope, who conceived so 
high an opinion of him that he consecrated him. It was during 
his episcopate that miracles began to be numerous at Wulstan's 
tomb, and the canonization was obtained ; while from the pilgrims' 
offerings it was possible to repair the damage made by a recent 
fire. Mauger attempted to visit the exempt Abbey of Evesham, to 
the wrath of the monks, who obtained the support of Innocent III. 
against his claim. Before the matter could be finally settled, the 
interdict of 1208 had been pronounced by Mauger and the Bishops 
of Ely and Lincoln. To escape the King's wrath, Mauger fled 
overseas, and forfeited his possessions. He came back the following 
year and attempted to make terms, but John would not allow him 
to return to his diocese, so he retired to the Abbey of Pontigny, 
where he died. 

*MAUND, BENJAMIN (1790-1863), born at Tenbury; chemist, 
bookseller, printer at Bromsgrove. E.L.S., 1827. In 1852 he retired 
from business and resided at Folkestone and Sandown (I. of W.). 
Lover of flowers. Started a monthly publication — The Botanic 



Worthies of Worcestershire. 103 

Garden (4to Lond.), 1825. With it were issued in parts, " The 
Auctarium of the Botanic Garden" " The Floral Register," " The 
Fruitist," and " A Dictionary of English and Latin Terms used in 
Botanical Descriptions," by J. S. Henslow. 13 vols, finished in 1850. 
In part these were reissued as " The Botanic Garden and Fruitist," 
3 vols., 4to Lond., 1851-4 ; and another edition in 12 vols, edited 
by J. C. Niven, 1878. " The Botanist," conducted by B. Maund, 
4to Lond., 1837-46. In 1837 vol. I. of "The Naturalist" (in con- 
junction with W. Holl). The original drawings of "The Botanic 
Garden " are in the British Museum. He also wrote papers for 
the Worcs. Nat. Hist. Society's publications. 

*MAUEICE (or MOREIS), THOMAS (1660-1748), born at 
Upton-on-Severn. King's College, Cambridge; B.A., 1683. Minor 
Canon of Worcester and Vicar of Claines, 1688. Eefused the oath 
of allegiance to Wilham III., 1689, and was deprived. Disappointment 
at the failure of the last attempt of the Stuarts' Eestoration in 
1745 led him to direct that the one word " miserrimus " should be 
placed over him on a flat stone at the west end of the north aisle 
of the cloisters. The brief pathos of this epitaph has inspired 
sonnets by Wordsworth, 1828; Lees, 1828; and H. Martin, 1830. 
In 1832 F. M. Eeynolds wrote a novel, " Miserrimus " (2nd edition, 
1838), but it has no reference to the real facts, which are fully set 
out in the " History of Upton-on-Severn " by Mrs. E. M. Lawson, 
chapter III. 

MAY, GEOEGE (1803-1871), born at Bristol, and took over 
the printing and bookselling business of Mr. Agg at Evesham in 
1828. Studied the historical records of the town, and pubhshed 
his " History of Evesham" in 1834, and a fuller and more sumptuous 
volume on the same subject in 1845. In 1850 he disposed of his 
business and went with his family to America, but returned 
in 1854. In 1862 a street accident in London crippled him, and 
he spent the remainder of his life in the Charter House, with 
summer visits to cathedral towns, and a last one to Evesham 
in 1870. 

-MEADOWCOUET, EICHAED (1695-1760), divine and writer, 
was the son of a Worcester citizen. He graduated M.A., and was 
made Fellow of Merton, Oxford, in 1718, and after holding the 
living of Oakley for some years was, in 1734, made Canon of 



104 Short Biographies of the 

Worcester. He was also successively Eector of St. Martin's, of 
QuintoD, Gloucestershire, and Lindridge, Worcestershire. He pub- 
lished " Sermons " and a " Critique of Paradise Begained " in 1732. 

MEDICI, JULIUS DE (d. 1534), nephew of Pope Leo X. 
Bishop of Worcester, 1521, but resigned within a year owing to 
the outcry against the pluralities which he held. In 1523 he was 
elected Pope under the title of Clement VII. 

*MILDEED or MILEET (d. 775), succeeded Wilfrith as Bishop 
of Worcester in 743. He visited Boniface and Lullus in Germany 
in 754. 

-•■MILWAED, EDWAED (1712 ?-1757), born probably at Lind- 
ridge. Left Cambridge without graduating, and obtained a foreign 
medical degree in 1733, and the Cambridge M.D. when he was 
living in London in 1741. F.E.S. ; Fellow of the College of 
Physicians, 1741. He died at Worcester and was buried at 
Lindridge. A diligent student of classical medical literature, his 
chief work was an essay, written at the age of 21, on Alexander 
Trallianus, a Greek physician of the sixth century, whom he 
sought to rescue from unmerited oblivion. He wrote and collected 
materials on other medical subjects. 

*MONTACUTE, SIMON (d. 1845), son of William de Montacute, 
seneschal of Aquitaine and Gascony. Educated at Oxford. Arch- 
deacon of Canterbury ; Bishop of Worcester, 1334-37. Translated 
to Ely, 1337. 

*MOOEE, FEANCIS (fl. 1744), born at Worcester. Entered 
the service of the Eoyal African Company as a writer at James 
Fort, Eiver Gambia, in 1730, and in two years was promoted to be 
factor at Joar. He travelled 500 miles inland, making careful 
calculations and drawings, and subsequently wrote accounts of his 
travels. He helped to establish the colony of Georgia from 1735 
to 1742. 

MOOEE, JOSEPH (1766-1851), a Birmingham benefactor, was 
born at Shelsley Walsh or Shelsley Beauchamp, educated at 
Worcester, and in 1781 sent to Birmingham to learn die-sinking. 
He entered the button trade, in which he acquired sufficient wealth 
to devote himself to charity and music. He planned and virtually 
took charge of the triennial festival, and in 1808 established the 



Worthies of Worcestershire. 105 

Birmingham Oratorio Choral Society. Thanks to him, Birmingham 
was persuaded to build a room worthy of the music — the present 
Town Hall — and "St. Paul" and "Elijah" were composed by 
Mendelssohn for the festivals of 1837 and 1846 at his request. He 
died and was buried in Birmingham. 

*MOOEE, EICHARD (1619-1683), born at Alvechurch; B.A., 
Oxford, 1640; and under the Commonwealth was "a preacher of 
God's word" at Worcester, preaching sometimes in the Cathedral. 
In 1658 he was intruded into the living of Alvechurch, which he 
resigned at the Restoration. He obtained a license to preach at 
Witall, and was buried at King's Norton. One of his published 
sermons was entitled " A Pearl in on Oyster Shell, or Precious 
Treasure intt into Perishing Vessels." 

-MORE, WILLIAM (1472-1559?), the son of Richard and Ann 
Peers or Peres, entered Worcester Priory in 1488, and after filling 
the offices of kitchener and sub-prior, became prior in 1518. In 
this capacity he appears rather as the county magnate, visiting his 
manors, lavishly entertaining Princess Mary and other distinguished 
visitors, advancing the interest of his friends and kindred, and 
adorning his own person, as well as making costly additions to the 
church and library. Meanwhile the discipline of the convent 
suffered, for during his frequent absences quarrels became rife, and 
Musard, one of the monks, described him as an " untrue master." 
From his own journal the charge would seem to be true. In 1532 
he served in the Commission of the Peace, and three years later, 
foreseeing the Dissolution, he resigned the priory, obtaining a good 
pension, exemption from a debt of £100, and the repair of his house 
at Crowle, where he died some time after 1558. 

*MORGAN, PHILIP (d. 1435). Chancellor of Normandy. 
Consecrated Bishop of Worcester in Rouen Cathedral, 1419. 
Employed much in state affairs. Translated to Ely, 1426. 

*MORLEY, GEORGE (1597-1684). Educated at Westminster 
and Christchurch. M.A., 1621. Canon of Christchurch, 1641; 
ejected 1648, and ministered to the royalists abroad. Dean of 
Christchurch after the Restoration, and Bishop of Worcester, 1660. 
Preached the sermon at the Coronation of Charles II., 1661. He 
was received at Worcester with great joy, and escorted into the 



106 Short Biographies of the 

city by troops of volunteers under Sir John Pakington and Lord 
Windsor. The unsettlement of the Church under the Common- 
wealth made the Bishop's task one of difficulty, and it must have 
been a painful trial to him to refuse a licence to Eichard Baxter 
as Vicar of Kidderminster. In 1662 he was translated to Winchester. 

*MOETON, EICHAED, M.D. (1637-1698), son of Eobert Morton, 
Minister of St. Anne's, Bewdley. Baptised at Eibbesford. Educated 
at Magdalen Hall and New College, Oxford. B.A., 1657. Chaplain 
in the family of Philip Foley, of Prestwood, and Vicar of Kinver. 
Ejected in 1662, and took up the study of medicine. M.D., Oxford, 
1670, and Cambridge, 1680. James II. omitted his name in the 
Charter of the College of Physicians, 1686, but he was restored in 
1689, and became Physician-in-ordinary to King William III. 
Censor in 1690, 1691, and 1697. Eesided in London, and was 
buried in the nave of Christchurch, Newgate Street. He was a 
friend of Eichard Baxter. He left a son Eichard, M.D., Cantab., 
E.E.C.P., Physician of Greenwich Hospital, and two daughters, 
Sarah and Marcia. He pubhshed two medical works in Latin 
which were widely read throughout Europe, editions of them being 
printed at Frankfort, Ulm, Berne, Geneva, Lyons, Amsterdam, 
Venice, and Leyden. These 'weve " Phthisiologia" on Consumption, 
and " Pyretologia" on Fevers. Dr. Morton was one of the first 
physicians in England who prepared Peruvian bark. His portrait 
by B. Orchard has often been engraved. 

*MOETON, EOBEET (d. 1497), nephew of Cardinal John 
Morton, Archbishop of Canterbury. Master of the EoUs, 1479. 
Canon of Windsor, 1481-6. Bishop of Worcester, 1487. Obtained 
a charter of pardon, 1496. Buried in St. Paul's. 

*MOETON, SIE WILLIAM (1605-1672), son of James Morton, 
of Clifton, Worcestershire. M.A., Cantab, 1625. Called to the 
bar, 1630. Took arms in the royal cause. Knighted, and served 
Lieut. -Colonel in Lord Chandos' Horse. Governor of Sudeley 
Castle when it surrendered to Waller. Imprisoned in the Tower 
some years. Eeturned to the bar after the war. Serjeant-at-law, 
1660; Eecorder of Gloucester, and Counsel to Dean and Chapter of 
Worcester 1662; King's Serjeant, 1663; succeeded Sir J. Kilynge 
on King's bench. Prevented pardoning of Claude Duval, by 
threatening to resign his judgeship if that were done. Buried in 
Temple Church. 




RICHARD MORTON. M.D.. 

Born at Bewdley. 

(1637-1698). 



Worthies of Worcestershire. 107 

*MOSS, JOSEPH WILLIAM (1808-1862), born at Dudley. 
M.A., Magdalen, Oxford, 1827; M.B., 1829; F.R.S., 1830. He 
practised medicine at Dudley, and lived successively at Lichfield, 
Eoss, and Wells, where he died, leaving behind him the character 
of an eccentric recluse. His chief work, published before he was 
twenty, was a large, closely printed "Manual of Classical Biography," 
for which he claimed to have consulted 3000 volumes, as distinct 
from commentaries and different editions. In spite of gross 
blunders and other blemishes, it still remains a standard work 
of reference. 

*MOSS, THOMAS (d. 1808), educated at Emmanuel College, 
Cambridge, was a clergyman, working in Worcestershire and 
Staffordshire. He wrote " The Beggar's Petition," the poem beginning 
'"Pity the sorroivs of a poor old man." 

MYATT, JAMES (1804-1879), born at Loughborough. Married 
Sarah Phyllis Martin, and had several sons and daughters. A 
market gardener at Camberwell for some years, and in 1852 took 
a farm at Offenham. Here he began growing market garden 
crops on a large scale, especially asparagus, rhubarb, and strawberries. 
Gave attention to producing new varieties, some of which are still 
of note for their excellence, as " British Queen " strawberry — never 
surpassed for flavour — " Early Offenham " cabbage, and " Myatt's 
Early Ash-leaf " potato. He began planting apple trees in bush 
form on the Paradise stock, applying to them the system of 
grease-banding, as a preventative against the winter moth. In 
these, and many other points, he was the pioneer of that improved 
market-gardening which to-day fills so much of the fertile vale of 
Evesham. A quiet, patient man, persevering, far-seeing, and of 
remarkable shrewdness ; in nature just, honourable, kind, and 
possessed of a quiet humour which found vent in sayings long 
remembered by his friends ; a really religious man, and for many 
years a Churchwarden of Offenham. 

JOSEPH MASTERS is also worthy of mention in connection 
with this industry. He began on a small scale at the old Abbey 
gardens. He helped to found the Evesham Market Gardeners' 
Association, and to frame the Market Gardeners' Compensation Act. 

*NABBES, THOMAS (1605-1645), sprung from a humble 
Worcestershire family ; matriculated at Oxford, but left without a 
degree, and entered the household of a Worcestershire nobleman. 



108 Short Biographies of the 

In 1630 he settled in London as, a dramatist. He wrote fair 
comedies, unattractive tragedies, and ingenious masques. His 
first comedy, " Covent Garden," ridiculing the middle classes, 
was acted by the Queen's servants in 1632, and he w^rote an 
" Encomi^ivi of the Leaden Steeple at Worcester, repayred in 1628," 
wherein he expressed a wish to be buried in the Cathedral. He 
was however probably buried in the Temple church. 

*NANFAN or NANPHANT, SIR EICHAED (d. 1507), came 
of a Cornish family which had settled at Birtsmorton, where Richard 
was born. In 1485 he was in the commission of peace for Cornwall, 
and in 1488 was sent with two others on a mission to Spain and 
Portugal, and received knighthood before he started. He was 
Sheriff of Cornwall, 1489, and then had "great room" in Calais 
as Deputy. Thomas Wolsey was his chaplain, but it is hardly 
likely that the future Cardinal ever came to Birtsmorton. Nanfan 
returned thither early in the sixteenth century, and died there, 
leaving no children by his wife, so that his estates passed to his 
natural son. His great-great-grandson, JOHN NANFAN, was 
grandfather to CAPTAIN JOHN NANFAN (d. 1716), of Birts- 
morton, who was captain in Sir J. Jacob's Regiment of Foot, and 
Lieutenant-Governor of New York from 1697-1705. He died at 
Greenwich. 

NASH, JOHN (1590-1662), son of James Nash, of Worcester. 
Mayor, 1633. M.P. for Worcester, March to May, 1640, and 
October 1640 to 1648. Commanded a troop of Horse for Parliament. 
He was a wealthy clothier and founded Nash's Hospital, and left 
legacies for clothing apprentices, and setting up young men in 
business. Buried at St. Helen's. 

*NASn, THOMAS (1588-1648), second son of Thomas Nash, of 
Tappenhall, Worcestershire. St. Edmund Hall, Oxford, 1605 ; Inner 
Temple, 1607. Owned property at Claines, but as a Royalist was 
deprived of his possessions. Buried in the Temple church. He 
published " Quaternio, or a fourfold Way to a Happy Life, set forth 
in a Dialogue betiveen a Countryman and a Citizen, a Divine and 
a Laivyer," dedicated to Lord Coventry, London, 1633; new editions, 
1636 and 1639. 

*NASH, TREADWAY RUSSELL (1725-1811), born at Clerken- 
leap, Kempsey, son of Richard Nash by Elizabeth, daughter of 
George Treadway. Educated at King's School, Worcester, and 



Worthies of Worcestershire. 109 

Worcester College, Oxford; B.A., 1744. D.D., 1758. Made the 
"grand tour," 1749-1751. Vicar of Eyusham and Tutor of Worcester 
College. In 1758 he married Margaret, daughter of John Martin, 
of Overbury, and purchased an estate at Bevere, in the parish of 
Claiues. F.S.A., 1773. Vicar of Leigh, near Malvern, 1792 ; Eector 
of Strensham, 1797; Proctor for the Clergy, 1802. He died at 
Bevere. Was buried in the family vault at St. Peter's, Droitwich. 
His only child Margaret married (1785) John Somers-Cocks, who 
in 1806 became Lord Somers. He is chiefly memorable for his 
great work, " Collections for the History of Worcestershire,'" vol. I., 
1781; vol. II., 1782; supplement, 1799. To some copies a new 
title page was affixed with date 1799. Eichard Gough, the 
antiquary, superintended the publication. A complete Index of 
these volumes by John Amphlett was issued to members of the 
Worcestershire Historical Society in 1894, with a very full account 
of the author. Dr. Nash published in 1793 an edition of Butler's 
"Hiidibras" with notes in 3 vols.; engravings by Hogarth & Skipp. 
EepubHshed in 2 vols., London, 1885-40 and 1847. 

^NICHOLAS (d. 1124), was an Englishman of good birth, 
whose parents were friends of St. Wulstan (q.v.) The Saint 
baptized him, and sent him to Canterbury to be taught by 
Lanfranc ; and 1133 he returned to be Prior of Worcester. Under 
his rule the monastery acquired a good reputation for learning, and 
the prior himself corresponded much with the historian Eadmer. 
He was always quoting Wulstan, and it is related by William of 
Malmesbury that the bishop miraculously arrested the tendency 
of William's hair to fall out, and that within a week of Wulstan's 
death Nicholas was bald ! 

-NICHOLSON, GEOEGB (1760-1825), son of John Nicholson, 
of Keighley, who set up the first printing press at Bradford in 
1781. The father of his friend, Thomas Wright, F.S.A., the Historian 
of Ludlow, subsequently bought this business. George Nicholson 
also became a printer, first at Bradford, then at Manchester, Ludlow, 
Poughnill (Caynham), and lastly and chiefly at Stourport. Though 
only a country bookseller he effected a complete revolution in the 
style and appearance of pocket volumes, and gave a taste for 
choicely-printed handy editions of favourite authors. He secured 
the best artists and engravers for frontispieces and portraits, such 
as Bewick, Stothard, Corbould, Craig, Eomney, and Bromley. His 



110 Short Biographies of the 

refined work was soon imitated by the principal London booksellers. 
Sonoe of his first publications were ehapbooks, and penny cards of 
favourite pieces. In 1797 he commenced his ''Literary Miscellany" 
which extended to 20 volumes and is now very scarce. He was 
not merely a printer, but the author and producer of books and 
tracts calculated to improve the morals and add to the comforts 
of the poorer classes. While at Poughnill he printed the Eules 
of the " Glee Hill Provident Society " instituted in 1783, in which 
he took great interest, and which provided Old Age Pensions for 
its members. " The Cavihrian Guide " was first published at Stour- 
port in 1808 ; second edition, 1813 ; and a third edition was revised 
by his son, the Eev. Emilius Nicholson, Vicar of Minsterley, 
Shropshire. Other works were "On the Conduct of Man to Inferior 
Animals," Manchester, 1797, 4 editions; "On the Primeval Food 
of Man," Poughnill, 1801 ; " The Advocate and Friend of Woman " ; 
" Stenography " ; " The British Orpheus " ; " Songs and Ballads " ; 
'^ Poems by John Tihhits," Stourport, 1811 ; Mary Southall's "Malvern," 
1822, second edition, 1825 ; " Poems by a Bird at Bromsgrove," seven 
editions at least. Mary Nicholson printed a book of "Poems" by 
R. Gardner, the poet of the Teme, in 1828, after his death. His 
tomb may still be seen in Stourport churchyard. 

*NICOLL, WHITLOCK (1786-1838), son of the Rev. Iltyd 
Nicoll, of Tredington, Worcestershire. He studied at St. George's 
Hospital; M.R.C.S., 1809; M.D. of Aberdeen in 1816; F.R.S., 1830. 
He practised until 1835, when he retired and settled at Wimbledon. 
He wrote many medical books and also left several theological 
works in MS. 

*NOAKB, JOHN (1816-1894), born at Sherborne, son of a 
builder and surveyor. Came to Worcester as a journalist, and spent 
seven years in the office of Berroivs' Worcester Journal, seven years 
on the staff of the Worcester Herald, and then seven years on the 
Worcester Netus. His painstaking and accurate work was much 
appreciated. During a long life he was indefatigable in research 
connected with the history of Worcestershire, and was for many 
years Secretary of the Worcester Architectural and Archaeological 
Society. On his resignation in July, 1892, owing to increased 
deafness, he was presented with a silver salver and gold watch. 
He held the offices of Sheriff and Alderman of Worcester, and was 
Mayor in 1880 when the Guildhall was restored at a cost of £22,000. 



Worthies of Worcestershire. Ill 

He had opposed the erection of a new Hall, and was mainly 
instrumental in preserving the old historical building. He married 
(1) Miss Woodyatt, of Ashperton ; (2) Miss Brown, of Shrewsbury ; 
and (3) Mrs, Stephens, of Worcester. His published works were : — 
" The Bambler in Worcestershire, or Stray Notes on Churches and 
Congregations," 1848-51-54; "Worcester in Olden Times," 1849; 
"St. Mary's, Ahherley," 1852; "Notes and Queries for Worcester- 
shire," 1856 ; " Worcester Sects : a History of its Roman Catholics 
and Dissenters," 1861 ; " The Monastery and Cathedral of Worcester," 
1866; "Guide to Worcestershire," 1868; "Worcestershire Relics," 
1877; "The Fort Royal at Worcester," 1879; and "Worcestershire 
Nuggets " (with portrait), 1891. He also wrote many papers for 
the Archaeological Society's Transactions, and edited some old 
documents found in a chest at St, Swithin's Church. 

NOEEIS, WILLIAM (1821-1904), youngest son of the Eev. 
Thomas Norris, Eector of Harby, Leicestershire. Educated at 
Grantham School. Admitted a Solicitor in 1842, and joined the 
firm of Messrs. Sewell, Bscourt and Norris, of Newport, Isle of 
Wight. In 1849 he took over the practice of Mr, William Adams, 
of Tenbury, and held various official appointments. But it was in 
public and social service of a more voluntary character that his 
energies found their full scope. He became one of the leading 
spirits not only in Tenbury itself, but in its whole neighbourhood' 
for all good works of a public nature, more especially religious and 
philanthropic works. The Tenbury Dispensary, the Cottage Hospital, 
the Benefit Societies, the Social Club, the Cricket and Football 
Clubs, all found in him a generous and active supporter. He was 
one of the chief pioneers in the Volunteer movement in 1859, in 
the building of the Corn Exchange, the founding of the Tenbury 
Agricultural Society, and especially in the promotion of the Tenbury, 
Bewdley, and Woofferton Eailway, 1858. It was largely due to 
the tact and perseverance of Mr. Norris that many initial difficulties 
were overcome and the Eailway completed. He acted as Secretary 
until the Line was taken over jointly by the L. & N.W.E. and 
the G.W.E. It was however in voluntary work for the Church 
of England that his keenest interest and the most devoted energies 
of his life were spent. He was a typical layman of the best type, 
earnest, single-hearted, and self-sacrificing. With his whole heart 
he threw himself into the great causes of the Church, defending her 



112 Short Biographies of the 

when attacked, and seeking to supply her needs where she was in 
want. He took a leading part under the Vicar in the Restoration 
of Tenbury Church, and served the ofiQce of Churchwarden for 
32 years. He was a life-long Sunday School Teacher. Chiefly 
through his exertions the fine National Schools at Tenbury were 
built in 1855, and as Correspondent of these Schools it was his 
ambition, successfully achieved, that they should stand as models 
of efficiency alike from the secular and religious points of view. 
From the first start in 1852 to the end of his life, Mr. Norris was 
intimately connected with St, Michael's Church and College, the 
splendid foundation of the Rev. Sir P. A. G. Ouseley, both as Bursar 
of the College, and friend and legal adviser of the Founder. On a 
still wider field of action he was well-known throughout the 
Hereford Diocese as a leading Churchman. He was Hon. Secretary 
to the Diocesan Conference and the Finance Association. He took 
a leading part in the work of Archbishop Benson's first Church 
Defence and Instruction Committee, and was a member of the 
first House of Laymen of the Canterbury Province. He died 
very suddenly of heart disease at the age of 83 — a happy ending 
for a man of his busy mind and energy. " I was taught when a 
boy to be useful to my fellow men, and I have tried to act on 
that principle." This was a motto of his life, and in conjunction 
with his natural power of concentration, it was the key to his 
life-work. A memorial window in Tenbury Church, and an alabaster 
plaque underneath, were put up to his memory by many friends. 

*NORTH, BROWNLOW (1741-1820), son of Francis North, 
first Earl of Guildford. Educated at Eton, and Trinity College, 
Oxford. Fellow of All Souls, 1763; Canon of Christchurch, 1768; 
Dean of Canterbury, 1770 ; Bishop of Coventry, 1771 ; Bishop of 
Worcester, 1774. The Diocese owes to him the founding in 1778 
of the " Society for the Relief of Distressed Widows and Orphans 
of Clergymen " in connection wath the music meetings of the " Three 
Choirs." He was translated to Winchester in 1781. 

*NORTHALL or NORHALE, WILLIAM DE (d. 1190). After 
holding the offices of Canon of St. Paul's, Archdeacon of Gloucester, 
Custodian of the temporalities of the sees of Rochester and 
Worcester, he was appointed Bishop of the latter Diocese in 
1185. 



Worthies of Worcestershire. 113 

*NOTT, JOHN (1751-1825), born at Worcester ; studied surgery 
in Birmingham, London, and Paris. In 1783 he travelled to China 
as surgeon to an East Indian vessel, and after 1793 settled at 
Bristol for the rest of his life. He was a classical scholar, and 
wrote many books. 

*NYB, NATHANIEL (b. 1624), pubhshed "A Neiu Almanack" 
in 1643, and in 1670 "The Art of Gunnery, for the help of all such 
gunners ajid others that have charge of artillery, and are not ivell 
versed in arithmetic and geometry." The book, which deals with 
every branch of gunnery and sieges down to the curing of gunshot 
wounds, was published at Bromsgrove, and the author is therein 
styled "master gunner of Worcester," an office he held under the 
Parliament. 

-OASLAND, HENRY (1625-1703), born at Eock. Educated 
at Bewdley and Trinity College, Cambridge; M.A., 1653. He was 
assistant to the Incumbent of Sheriff-hales, Staffs., and in 1650 
was elected Minister of Bewdley, where he was a friend of Eichard 
Baxter and made one of his itinerant preachers. A quaint auto- 
biography left by him containing his religious experiences, with 
additions by his son, the Eev. Edward Oasland, Pastor of the 
Presbyterian Chapel at Bewdley, has been printed in the Bewdley 
Parish Magazine (1878). After the Eestoration he was arrested on 
suspicion of being implicated in Pakington's plot, but was soon 
released. In 1662 he was ejected from Bewdley. After the 
Toleration Act he preached regularly till his death. In 1660 he 
married Miss Maxwell, of Bewdley, and had two sons Edward and 
Henry. His printed works were " The Dead Pastor yet Speaking," 
and " The Christian's Daily Walk." 

*0D0 or ODDA, EAEL (d. 1056), born in Worcestershire. His 
baptismal name was Odwin or Othelwine. Was heir of Alphere 
who had despoiled Pershore Abbey of both Deerhurst and Longdon. 
Odo was a good man, and intended to restore them, but dying 
without heirs King Edward the Confessor took over all his possessions 
and gave them to Westminster, thus accounting for Pershore being 
robbed to enrich Westminster. 

-ONSLOW, AETHUE (1746-1817), third son of Lieut.-General 
Eichard Onslow and Tooley daughter of William Walton, of Wanstead. 
Educated at Eton, and Exeter College, Oxford. Fellow of All Souls. 



114 Short Biographies of the 

Married Frances Phipps. Vicar of St. James's, Garlick Hithe; 
Chaplain to the House of Commons, 1775; Canon of Christchurch, 
1779 ; Curate of Maidenhead, 1782 ; Archdeacon of Berks, 1785 ; 
Dean of Worcester, 1795 ; Vicar of Kidderminster, 1795 ; Vicar of 
Wolverley, 1795; Vicar of Lindridge, 1811; Master of St. Oswald's 
Hospital, Worcester, 1813. Died at Lindridge and was buried in 
Crypt of W^orcester Cathedral. Author of Sermon preached before 
the House of Commons, March 12th, 1800; Visitation Sermons at 
Reading, 1805, 1807 ; " The Advantages of National Schools," 1812. 

*ORLETON, ADAM DB (d. 1355), probably born at Orleton, 
in Herefordshire, a manor of the Mortimers. Employed as King's 
agent at the Court of Pope Clement V. at Avignon, 1308. Canon 
of Hereford, 1310; Bishop of Hereford, 1317, in spite of the King's 
opposition. Joined the confederacy against the Despensers, 1321. 
Tried for high treason before a civil tribunal and deprived of his 
revenues, but supported by the Bishops, 1324. Contrived the escape 
of the younger Mortimer from the Tovrer. The question of the 
part that Orleton took in the deposition and murder of Edward II. 
has been fully treated by Canon Bannister in the "Introduction" 
to the Hereford Register (Cantilupe Society, 1907). In 1327 he 
was translated to Worcester, and in 1333 to Winchester. 

^■•ORTON, JOB (1717-1783), Minister of a united congregation 
of Presbyterians and Independents at Shrewsbury, 1741-66. He 
wrote a life of Baxter, and another of Dr. Doddridge to whom he 
had acted as assistant at Northampton, 1739-41. He retired to 
Kidderminster, where he spent the last 17 years of his life in 
literary work and correspondence. 

*OSBORN, JOHN (1584 ?-1634?), worker in pressed horn and 
whalebone, was born in Worcestershire, and settled in Amsterdam 
in 1600. His medallion portraits in pressed horn of the Prince of 
Orange and his wife are in the British Museum, and that of 
Henry VIII. in the Ryks Museum in Amsterdam. He married 
Frances Cotton, of Berkshire, and left a son who carried on his 
business. 

^OSWALD, SAINT (d. 992), nephew of Archbishop Odo, and 
friend of St, Dunstan, whom he succeeded as Bishop of Worcester, 
961. About 952 he resigned the Deanery of Winchester, and entered 
the Benedictine Abbey of Meury in France. He came back an 




^ Con(ulto 



vi^odgoDIp anD emeai^toar^ 
!npngalpeople>to be^DareleaO; 
i tl[)tv beate tl^e tiame of cij^t^ | 
I Utan^mt^ai^ne. i^oiu 

huv of Jmmm. 

Cumpriuihgio RtgtBadim^ 
frimmdtm Jbttm, 

Fafcpienmimu 



TITLE PAGE OF THE FIRST BOOK 

Printed in Worcestershire, 30th January, 1 549, 

By JOHN OSWEN. 



By kind permission of the Libniriiin of Cambridge University. 



Worthies of Worcestershire. 115 

■ ardent champion of monasticism, and by gentle persuasion he 
replaced secular clergy by regulars at Worcester, Evesham, Winch- 
combe, Deerhurst, and Pershore. He also founded monasteries at 
Westbury and Eamsey. The old Cathedral of St. Peter at Worcester 
was served by secular priests ; but by building the new monastic 
church of St. Mary close by it, within ten years the old foundation 
was absorbed and the canons became monks. The famous charter 
Altitonantis in 964 purported to give the Bishop full rights, civil 
as well as ecclesiastical, within the hundred of Oswaldslow, comprising 
300 hides. In 972 Oswald became Archbishop of York, but still 
retained Worcester, where he died and was buried. He enforced 
necessary reforms without incurring hatred, and was canonised 
after his death. King John arranged that his body should be laid 
between the graves of St, Oswald and St. Wulfstan. 

*OSWEN, JOHN (fl. 1549-1553). The earliest Worcestershire 
printer. First established at Ipswich in 1548, but came to Worcester 
in 1549 as official printer for the marches of Wales. From his 
printing office in the High Street on January 30th, 1547, was 
issued " A Consultorie for all Christians. At Worceter, by John 
Oswen." Black letter A — H4 in eights — the first book printed 
IN Worcestershire. Only three copies are known to be in existence, 
two of which are in the Cambridge University Library, and the 
third in the Huth Library. In " Early Worcestershire Printers and 
Books" (Worcester Archseological Society's Transactions, 1898) is a 
list of 20 Books issued by Oswen at Worcester, including Cranmer's 
New Testament 1550, and the Book of Common Prayer, 1552. He 
was zealous for the Eeformation, and after the accession of Queen 
Mary in July, 1553, the Worcester Press suddenly ceased to exist, 
and its printer had to take refuge in Holland or Switzerland. All 
his books were to be burnt and their owners treated as rebels. 
Consequently these volumes are now very scarce and valuable. 
Copies still remaining in the County are in the possession of the 
Dean and Chapter, Earl Beauchamp, Mr. C. W. Dyson Perrins, and 
Mr. Michael Tomkinson. 

OTTLEY, ALICE (1840-1912), the third of twelve children of 
the Eev. Laurence Ottley, Canon of Eipon and Eector of Eichmond, 
Yorkshire. Her mother was the sister of Bishop Bickersteth, of 
Eipon. On her father's death in 1861 the family moved to Hamp- 
stead, and there Mrs. Ottley with the help of her daughters started 



116 Short Biographies of the 

a school for girls. Alice assisted in teaching the younger girls 
and accompanied the elder ones to various classes in London. 
She possessed great ability and obtained brilliant honours. 
Thus the family were able to educate the brothers, many of 
whom now hold distinguished positions. After further experience 
under Miss Margaret Clarke in her famous school at Brondesbury, 
she was chosen (1883) to start the High School at Worcester just 
founded by the Dean, " Butler of Wantage," in conjunction with 
Lord Lyttelton, Lord Alwyne Compton, Mrs. Wheeley Lea, and 
others. The record of the school is one of unbroken success. The 
numbers rose from eleven to over 200. And during her 29 years' 
work there she exercised a strong influence on the public and 
private life of Worcester. She awoke in all around her a quickened 
sense of their own responsibility, and of the unworthiness of all 
but the highest motives and standards. The spirit of the school 
was one of happy industry, keenness in work and play, loyal 
comradeship, and very practical and unobtrusive religious feeling 
and Churchmanship. In 1912 she resigned owing to ill health, and 
died on the very day that the school assembled for the first time 
under her successor. She was buried at Worcester after a service 
in the Cathedral. The Canon-in-residence expressed the general 
feeling when he said : — " I do not hesitate to say that no other 
person has during the last thirty years contributed so much to the 
highest spiritual good of this City. Her name is honoured and 
loved, her example and spirit treasured in hundreds of homes, and 
for generations yet to come her influence will be felt in the faith, 
the wisdom, and the goodness of her pupils and their children. 
We thank God for the blessing He conferred on this City when he 
gave us Alice Ottley." As their highest token of regard, the Council 
of the High School have changed its name for all time to the 
"Alice Ottley School." Her "Life" has been written by Miss Mary 
James who was for many years one of the members of her staff. 

-OUSELEY, SIR FREDERICK ARTHUR (1825-1889), only 
son of Sir Gore Ouseley, G.C.B., F.R.S., who was successively 
Ambassador and Minister Plenipotentiary to Persia and Russia, by 
Harriet Georgina, daughter of Mr. John Whitelocke. The great 
Duke of Wellington was one of his Godfathers ; the other was 
the Duke of York. From his earliest years his extraordinary genius 
for music was evinced unmistakably ; and Queen Victoria herself, 
it is said, took the warmest interest in one who shared her own 




THE REV. SIR FREDERICK ARTHUR GORE OUSELEY, Bart. 

Mus. Doc. ; 

Canon and Precentor of Hereford Cathedral ; 

Founder of St. Micfiael's College. Tenbury ; 

(1825-1889). 



Worthies of Worcestershire. 117 

refined appreciation of the highest art. He could play almost 
before he could talk, John Ella, of "Musical Union" fame, used 
to relate that when the boy was five years of age he sat on 
his knees at the pianoforte, played some pieces by Mozart and 
Beethoven, and a little composition of his own in a wonderful way. 
At the age of seven he wrote a waltz which was published in the 
Harmonicon, and at eight composed a little opera entitled "L'Isola 
dishabitata," which, together with many of his juvenile effusions, is 
preserved at S. Michael's College, Teubury. He possessed an 
extraordinarily acute ear, and a wonderful perception of musical 
pitch, and soon distinguished himself by his great gift of improving 
on a given theme, and playing extempore fugues and other pieces. 
He was educated privately under the Rev. James Joyce, Vicar of 
Dorking. His boyhood must have been well spent, for he went 
up to Christ Church, Oxford, the superior of his contemporaries in 
respect to scholarship, and withal a consummate musician. Ruskin, 
like Ouseley, was a gentleman commoner of Christ Church. Sir 
Herbert Oakeley, for many years Professor of Music in the University 
of Edinburgh, was also a member of the same College ; while Dr. 
C. W. Corfe presided at its organ. With such surroundings it was 
but natural that an ardent enthusiast should assimilate the spirit 
of the place. Sir Frederick, who went to Christ Church, a musician 
with a strong predilection for art in its every form, left it emphatically 
a Church musician. Shortly after he had taken up his residence 
at Oxford his father died, and he accordingly, in 1844, succeeded 
to the title as second baronet. B.A., 1846. Ordained, 1849, to 
the curacy of S. Paul's, Knightsbridge, under the Eev. W, J. E. 
Bennett, in the choir of which church he had previously, with 
Sir John Harington, sung as a layman. In the following year 
S. Barnabas, Pimlico, was consecrated as a chapelry to S. Paul's. 
Sir. Frederick then principally served that church, living in the 
adjoining clergy-house, with his fellow curates, the Eevs. Henry 
Fyffe, Laurence Tuttiett, and G. F. de Gex. Soon after the consecra- 
tion of S. Barnabas' on June 11th, 1850, ritual troubles ensued, and 
in the following November the beautiful church was desecrated 
by the notorious anti-Puseyite riots. Matters terminated in the 
resignation of Mr. Bennett and his staff of curates. When, in 
March, 185], the final break-up came, the idea occurred to Sir 
Frederick that the boys of the choir fared hardly in being thus 
again thrown upon their own resources, and it was at this time 



118 Short Biographies of the 

that he began to form the plan which resulted in a movement 
from which many have subsequently benefited. Securing the 
Eev. H. Fyffe, as master of the school, he collected the scattered boys 
and established this little colony at Lovehill House, Langley Marish, 
near Windsor. Here a private chapel was fitted up, in which choral 
service was performed twice daily, until the collegiate buildings 
which Sir Frederick had determined to erect at his own cost near 
Tenbury were ready for the reception of their inmates. During 
his curacy at S. Barnabas', Sir Frederick Ouseley generously defrayed 
all expenses connected with the choir and music. The organ was 
also his gift. During 1851, Ouseley, in company with the Eev. 
G. F. de Gex, made a lengthy continental tour, visiting Spain, Italy, 
Germany, Switzerland, France, and Holland, examining organs and 
collecting rare church music. At Eome he met the venerable 
Abbate Fortunate Santini, who had an almost unrivalled library of 
music of the Palestrina School, from which Sir Frederick was 
enabled to make copious transcriptions. During his tour he wrote 
several short anthems which subsequently (in 1853) he printed in 
a volume, together with five complete Cathedral Services. Among 
the anthems was one which has since become a great favourite — 
"How goodly are thy tents, Jacob." It was composed at Milan, 
on viewing the cathedral by moonlight. This volume was eagerly 
welcomed, and formed a valuable addition to the music library of 
every cathedral in England. In the same year he published a 
volume of Cathedral Services by English composers of the 16th, 
17th, and 18th centuries, which had hitherto remained in manuscript. 
Foreign travel confirjned his attachment to the English Church. 
On his return he settled down at Langley, and began to be busied 
with plans for his permanent choral college. In 1852 he bought 
an estate known as the Old Wood, situated on a high table land 
in the midst of most picturesque scenery, two miles from the little 
Worcestershire town of Tenbury. On May 3rd, 1854, the first 
stone of the Church of S. Michael and All Angels was laid, and 
on Michaelmas Day, 1856, the buildings were consecrated by Dr. 
Hampden, Bishop of Hereford. Sir Frederick's friends had implored 
him to select Oxford for the site of his new foundation, instead 
of Tenbury; but there were cogent reasons in favour of the rural 
as against .the academical site, and they prevailed. Henry Woodyer, 
a pupil of Butterfield, supplied Ouseley with an architectural design, 
and S. Michael's was built reverently and with painstaking care 



Worthies of Worcestershire. 119 

for the smallest detail. The church — a cathedral in miniature — is 
cruciform in plan, of goodly proportions, and noble height. It is 
rich in carving in wood and stone, and also in stained glass. The 
organ, by Henry Willis, is an instrument of great sweetness and 
power. A picturesque cloister connects the church with the college, 
whose buildings comprise the Warden's lodgings, a dining hall, a 
magnificent library, rooms for the masters, school and class-rooms, 
and a spacious dormitory. The object of this foundation, as set 
forth in the printed statutes, is "to prepare a course of training, 
and to form a model for the choral service in these realms, and 
for the furtherance of this object to receive, educate, and train 
boys in such religious, secular, and musical knowledge as shall be 
most conducive thereto." It was Ouseley's primary desire to train 
up boys for Holy Orders by a sound public school preparatory 
education, combined with thorough Church teaching, and who would 
add to this course such musical knowledge as would extend and 
improve the tone of Church music throughout the land. Stress, 
however, must be laid upon the fact that many boys on leaving 
the school have gained scholarships at the great public schools, and 
have proceeded thence to the Universities, and are now filling 
responsible positions not only in the Church, but also in the Army 
ane Navy, and many other departments of life. The ecclesiastical 
part of Sir Frederick's scheme comprises a foundation for eight 
choristers (the sons of gentlemen), to which boys are admitted as 
vacancies occur, after having served as probationers. On their 
election the choristers receive their education, board, and lodging 
gratuitously in all respects. Certain boys called Commoners are 
admitted to be educated on considerably higher terms. These boys 
are subject to the same rules as the choristers, saving only in the 
matter of musical education. Ever since February, 1857, full choral 
service has been held in the church twice daily in term time. 
There is an endowment for lay clerks, and the music is performed 
according to the best cathedral traditions. The Church of S. Michael 
and All Angels is parochial as well as collegiate, for Sir Frederick 
Ouseley not only endowed the college but also the living, providing 
a good vicarage house and parochial school, and in 1856 he became 
first Warden of the college and Vicar of the parish. The parochial 
district assigned included portions of the parishes of Leysters, 
Tenbury, and Middleton-on-the-Hill. In 1854 Sir Frederick took 
the degree of Doctor in Music at Oxford. His exercise was a short 



120 Short Biographies of the 

oratorio, " The Martyrdom of S. Polycarp,'' which was published in 
full score. In 1855 he was appointed Professor of Music in the 
University of Oxford, and in the same year Bishop Hampden 
appointed him to the Precentorship of Hereford Cathedral. No 
more fitting appointment could have been made; but whereas the 
oflQce had, up to this time, been endowed with a sum of £500 a 
year, it was now, under the operation of the Cathedral Act of 1810, 
to present the edifying spectacle of an entirely disendowed stall, 
just when, for the first time perhaps from its foundation, it was 
occupied by a man not only anxious, but in every way qualified to 
make such a post a reality. These two appointments placed Sir 
Frederick Ouseley at the head of Church music in England, and 
few people are aware of how largely the Church is indebted to his 
influence for the regeneration of Cathedral choirs. He was the 
staunch friend of every organist and chorister throughout the 
kingdom. He never ceased to urge the Chapters to abandon a 
policy of stinginess, and to devote the funds held in trust for the 
choirs to the purpose for which they were intended, instead of on 
big dinners and their wives' and daughters' wardrobes. Moreover, 
he insisted on character being an essential for admission to any 
cathedral ofiice. As Professor of Music at Oxford his influence 
gradually worked a change as to the regard in which music was 
held. Hitherto, anyone seeking the Mus. D. degree had only to 
inscribe his name as a nominal member of some college, send in a 
choral or an orchestral thesis, pay a band for its performance, and 
take rank as an Oxford Doctor. Ouseley instituted a public 
examination in historical and critical knowledge of music, and in 
elementary classics and mathematics, demanding also, from each 
candidate, a lengthy written composition to be submitted to himself. 
Throughout his life Sir Frederick Ouseley had given to the Church ; 
he had sunk £10,000 in his College, and had spent £2,000 a year 
on its sustenance. In the last three years of his life he received 
the one acknowledgment of his self-sacrifice in the canonry of 
Hereford, to which he was appointed in 1886. Sir Frederick 
received the degree of Doctor in Music {ad eimdem) at Durham in 
1856 ; at Cambridge in 1862 ; and at Dublin in 1888. He received 
the honorary degree of LL.D. at Cambridge in 1883, and the same 
at Edinburgh in the following year. For some time he was proctor 
for the Chapter of Hereford in the Lower House of Convocation. 
His sudden death at Hereford on April 6th, 1889, from an affection 



Worthies of Worcestershire. 121 

of the heart, caused deep and widespread regret. His remains 
were taken to Tenbury and interred beneath the east window of 
S. Michael's in the beautiful graveyard surrounding the church. 
As a musician, Sir Frederick Ouseley was endowed with extraordinary 
abihties. His tastes were simple, his love for literature deep and 
wide, and simple and unaffected piety was one of his chief 
characteristics. He had a considerable gift for mathematics, and 
he was an excellent linguist. Next to music, he took the greatest 
delight in preaching, in which he was both animated and eloquent. 
Busy as he was, he was always ready to preach sermons at choral 
festivals and organ openings. His hospitality was boundless, and 
all wlio had any interest in music, architecture, literature, or 
education were welcome at S. Michael's College. Having been 
brought up in his early days in the very highest society in the 
land, he was a very charming companion. His schoolboys idolized 
him, as did all who were associated with him in his college work. 
The musical library which be formed at S. Michael's is said to be 
one of the most valuable and extensive private collections in the 
kingdom, numbering over 2,000 volumes. The general library 
which he formed at the same place is worthy to rank beside many 
of those at Oxford and Cambridge. Sir Frederick always felt keen 
delight in showing the treasures of his two libraries, and in 
discoursing upon them. Like Dean Burgon, his bright, quick eye 
took in, at a glance, the real or the pretended listener. Sir Frederick 
Ouseley was a voluminous writer for the Church. His published 
Services number eleven, and Anthevis amount to over seventy. His 
great Service in G major, for a double choir throughout, was a 
remarkable feat. It contains every canticle at matins and evensong, 
together with a complete setting of the Office of the Holy Communion. 
It was composed in 1856, and remains unpublished. Only four 
copies of the score are known to exist. His Festival Service in F, 
for eight-part chorus, solo voices, organ and orchestra, was published 
in full score in 1884. His anthem, "It came even to pass," written 
for the reopening of Lichfield Cathedral in 1861, is one of the most 
popular of his longer compositions. He also wrote anthems for 
the Choral Festival at Peterborough in 1863; for the reopeningof 
Hereford Cathedral in the same year; for the Norfolk and Suffolk 
Church Choral Association in 1865; for the Choral Festival at 
Tewkesbury in 1884; and for that at Salisbury in 1889. In 1861 
he edited a collection of anthems by living composers, appropriate 



122 Sho7-t Biographies of the 

to the special Seasons and Festivals of the Church. This was 
followed in 1866 by a second volume. In 1874 he edited a selection 
from the sacred compositions of Orlando Gibbons. His second 
oratorio, Hagar, was produced at the Hereford Festival of 1873. 
His Psalter-, printed for chanting, with a collection of chants, edited 
in conjunction with Dr. E. G. Monk, has gone through several 
editions since its original issue in 1862. He contributed several 
tunes to Hymns, Ancient and Modern (1861), besides revising the 
harmonies. He also contributed to the Rev. Dr. Maurice's Choral 
Harmony (1854); to the musical edition of Bishop Christopher 
Wordsworth's Holy Year (1868); to the Rev. R. R. Chope's Hymn 
and Tune Booh (1863) ; to Dean Alford's Year of Praise (1867) ; 
to Dr. Steggall's Hymns for the Church of England; to The Anglican 
Hymn Booh (1871); to The Hymnary (1872); to The Children's 
Hymn Booh (1877), and various other collections. His published 
organ music includes four sets of preludes and fugues, two sonatas, 
a set of three andantes, and two voluntaries. Among his instrumental 
works are three overtures for a full orchestra ; two concori"i marches ; 
three string quartetts ; a minuet and trio ; and a fugue in 4 parts 
for strings. Among his miscellaneous vocal works are several 
glees, madrigals, and part songs ; some Christmas carols ; a set of 
six songs for Sunday use (words by the Rev. Richard Wilton), and 
other songs published singly. His treatises on harmony ; counter- 
point, canon, and fugua ; and musical form and composition have 
taken their places as standard works. He contributed several 
articles to Groves' Dictionary of Music and Musicians ; and the 
papers read before the Musical Association — of which, in 1874, he 
became the first President — have been printed. One of his later 
literary undertakings was an edition of Praeger's translation of 
Naumann's History of Music, to which he added some chapters 
on English music. He published a few of his Sermons preached 
at choral festivals and elsewhere. His essay on " The Education 
of Cathedral Choristers " formed part of the volume, " Essays on 
Cathedrals," published, under the editorship of Dean Howson of 
Chester, in 1872. Several of his unpublished compositions exist 
in his autograph at S. Michael's College, Tenbury. These include 
his Exercise for the Degree of Mus. B. ; an Ode on the Death of 
the Duke of Wellington (1852) ; a Peace Ode, after the Crimean 
War (1853) ; an Ode on the Installation of the Marquis of Salisbury 
as Chancellor of the University of Oxford (1869) ; Cathedral Services', 



Worthies of Worcestershire. 123 

settings of the Benedicite Omnia Opera, and of the Ordination 
Hymn, Veni Creator ; together with several anthems and instrumental 
pieces. His Life has been pubUshed by Prebendary E. W. Joyce, 
Vicar of Harrow. [John S. Bumpus.] 

*PADDOCK, TOM (1824-1863), born at Eedditch, whence his 
pugihstic soubriquet of the " Needle-pointer." Beat Parsons at 
Sutton Coldfield, 1844, and Nobby Clarke at Coleshill, 1846; but 
was beaten by Bendigo (foul blow) in 1850. Was Champion of 
England in 1855, but lost to Bill Perry, the "Tipton Slasher," in 
1856. Beaten again by Tom Sayers, 1858. Died of heart disease, 
leaving a reputation for straightforward conduct, real gameuess, and 
determined perseverance against difficulties. 

PADMOEB, EICHARD (1790-1881), son of Thomas Padmore, 
of the Ketley Ironworks, Salop. Married, 1823, Emma only daughter 
of John Jones, of Worcester. An eminent ironfounder. Chairman of 
the City and County Banking Company. M.P. for Worcester, 1860-8. 
Twice Mayor. Portrait in the Guildhall. 

*PAGANELL or PAINEL, GERVASE (fl. 1187), Lord of 
Dudley Castle, and implicated in the rebellion of Prince Henry, 
1173. 

*PAGEHAM or PAGHAM, JOHN DE (d. 1158), Bishop of 
Worcester, 1151 ; assisted at the coronation of Henry II., and 
died in Rome. 

-PAKINGTON, SIR JOHN (d. 1560), the first of his family 
to attain distinction, was the eldest son of John Pakiugton by 
Elizabeth, daughter and heir of Thomas Washbourne, of Stanford, 
Worcestershire. In 1529 he was Treasurer of the Inner Temple, 
and received a grant from King Henry VIII. that he might wear 
his hat in his presence and in the presence of his successors. 
Serjeant-at-Law, 1531. In 1532 he was made a Justice for North 
Wales, and thenceforward his work lay mainly in the Principality, 
though he lived chiefly at Hampton Lovett, He was also Recorder 
of Worcester, Knighted in 1545, he received Westwood, near 
Droitwich, from Henry VIII., and at his death was seised of 31 
manors, and of other lands that he had purchased of 70 different 
persons. Buried at Hampton Lovett. His wife Anne was daughter 



124 Short Biographies of the 

of Henry Dacres, Sheriff of London, but she had been twice 
widowed before she married him. Tiiey had two daughters, one 
of whom married Sir John Lytteltou. 

*PAKTNGTON, SIR JOHN (1549-1625), great-nephew of Sir 
John, d. 1560 (q-v.), being grandson of his brother Robert, M.P., 
a London Mercer, who was murdered in London in 1537. Robert's 
son Thomas was knighted by Queen Mai-y in 1553, was Sheriff of 
Worcestershire, and married Dorothy, daughter of Sir Thomas 
Kitson, of Hengrove, in Suffolk. Their son John, B.A., Christ 
Church, Oxford, 1569, studied at Lincohi's Inn, 1570. Wben in 
1575 Queen Eh'zabeth visited Worcestershire, she was attracted by 
his remarkable wit and beauty, invited him to court, and gave 
him the nickname of " Lusty Pakington," as well as the honour 
of knighthood. When he had outrun his fortune by splendid living 
in London, she made him "bow-bearer" of Malvern Chase, and 
also offered him an estate in Suffolk to relieve his debts. But he, 
going down to see it, was so moved by the distress of the widow 
of the late owner that he begged that it might be bestowed upon 
her instead. Eventually carefulness and a wealthy marriage in 
1592 restored his fortunes, his wife being Dorothy, daughter of 
Humphrey Smith, the Queen's silkman. He devoted much time 
to the improvement of Westwood, of which he built the central 
portion. He also formed the lake in the park, at which his 
neighbours remonstrated, for in doing so he had altered the 
boundaries of the road. Annoyed at their questioning his right 
to do so, he immediately destroyed the dykes that kept in the 
water and flooded the country for miles round. The Pakingtons 
also had property at Aylesbury, and there he entertained James I. 
in 1603. There also he died and was buried. 

*PAKINGTON, SIR JOHN (1600-1624), only son of Sir John, 
d. 1625 (q.v.), was created a baronet in 1620; M.P. for Aylesbury, 
1623-4. By his wife Frances, daughter of Sir John Ferrers, of 
Tamworth, he left a daughter Elizabeth, married to (1) Colonel 
Washington, and (2) Samuel Sandys, of Ombersley ; and a son 
John who succeeded his father ere he was four years old. 

*PAKINGTON, SIR JOHN (1620-1680), second baronet. Was 
carefully educated by the Lord Keeper, Coventry. In 1639, before 
he was nineteen years old, he was elected member of Parliament for 



Worthies of Worcestershire. 125 

the County of Worcester and the Borough of Aylesbury. He took 
the King's side in politics, and was present at the battle of Kineton 
in 1642, but three years later voluntarily surrendered to the Speaker, 
and was ordered to compound for his estate, which was sequestered. 
His house in Bucks was levelled with the ground, and his losses 
amounted to £20,348. After long negociations, he redeemed the 
estate for £5000 in 1648-9, only to lose it again after the battle 
of Worcester, when, having brought a reinforcement of horse to 
Charles II., he was taken prisoner, and tried on that charge. After 
two years he was acquitted, but he was in constant trouble under 
the Commonwealth, was committed to the Tower, and lost his 
lands for the third time. With the Eestoration came better days, 
for Charles IT. rewarded him for his loyalty. He was M.P. for 
Worcestershire, 1661-79, and may have employed his leisure in 
inventing a Presbyterian plot which involved Richard Baxter (q.v.), 
but the charge was never proved. Buried at Hampton Lovett. 
His wife was Lady Dorothy Pakington (q.v.). 

*PAKINGTON, SIR JOHN (1649-1688), third baronet, son of 
the second baronet (q.v.) and Lady Dorothy (q.v.). Christ Church, 
Oxford, 1662. M.P., Worcestershire, 1685-87. He lived very quietly 
at Westwood, studying Anglo-Saxon under George Hickes, the 
non-juring Dean of Worcester, until he became one of the finest 
scholars of his day. The presence of Hickes would shew that 
Westwood retained its character for befriending clergy in distress. 
He married Margaret, third daughter of Sir John Keyt, of Ebrington, 
Gloucestershire. 

-PAKINGTON, SIR JOHN (1671-1727), fourth baronet, only 
son of the third baronet. In 1690 he followed the example of his 
forefathers by being returned to Parliament for Worcestershire 
before he was twenty years old, and by sitting for the County until 
his death, save for the Parhament of 1695-98, for which he declined 
to stand. He was a strong tory, and in 1699 proposed an address 
to the King, that Bishop Burnet should be removed from his 
position of tutor to the Duke of Gloucester, because he had hinted 
that William III. had come in by conquest ; but the matter 
proceeded no further. He frequently expounded his High Church 
views in the House, and in 1707 spoke against the Union, denouncing 
it as " a measure conducted by bribery and corruption within 
doors, and by force and violence without." In 1715 he was 



126 Short Biographies of the 

arrested for supposed coroplicity in the Stuart rising, but he managed 
to prove his innocence, and was honourably acquitted. In Worcester- 
shire he made his chief mark by his quarrel with the Bishop, 
William Lloyd (q.v.), who had interfered in his election, and tried 
to defame him, in 1702. He got very much the better of the 
Bishop in the quarrel, but that they made friends again subsequently 
is proved by an entry in the diary of Francis Evans, the Bishop's 
Secretary, to the effect that on Sunday, September 15th, 1706, 
" Sir John Pakington and his Lady visited my Lord at Hartlebury, 
and brought his daughters to be confirmed by his Lordship." His 
" Lady " was Hester, sole heir of Sir Herbert Perrott, of Haroldstone, 
Pembrokeshire, whom he married in 1700, and who died fifteen 
years later. But the daughters were the children of his first wife, 
Frances, daughter of Sir Henry Parker, Bart., of Honington, 
Warwickshire, whom he married in 1691. One of the daughters, 
Margaret, became Mrs. Dowdeswell, the other, Frances, Lady 
Tracey. The succession passed to his son by his second wife, 
Herbert Perrott Pakington, M.P. for Worcestershire, whose two 
sons, John and Herbert, were the sixth and seventh baronets. 
The title became extinct on the death of the eighth baronet, but 
was revived in favour of John Somerset Russell, his nephew. Sir 
John Pakington was buried at Hampton Lovett. His chief title 
to fame rests upon the long-established tradition that he was the 
original of Addison's Worcestershire baronet, " Sir Eoger de Coverley." 

*PAKINGTON, SIR JOHN SOMERSET, FIRST BARON 
HAMPTON (1799-1880), son of William Russell, of Powick Court, 
Worcestershire, and his wife Elizabeth, daughter of Sir Herbert 
Perrott Pakington, of Westwood, the fifth baronet. Educated at 
Eton, and Oriel College, Oxford. On succeeding in 1831 to the 
estate of his mother's brother, Sir John Pakington, he took the old 
name, and in 1846 was created a baronet, He devoted himself to 
a Parliamentary career, and after several unsuccessful contests, was 
returned for Droitwich in 1837, and held the seat till 1874. He 
forthwith made himself felt, and trade, the Colonies, juvenile 
offenders, and the prevention of corruption, all received their meed 
of attention. In 1852 he became a Privy Councillor, and was made 
Secretary of State for War and for the Colonies in Lord Derby's 
first ministry. In that capacity it was his lot to grant a representative 
constitution to New Zealand. He was on the Committee of Inquiry 



Worthies of Worcestershire. 127 

into the state of the army before Sebastopol, and in the same 
year introduced into Parliament a bill containing the germ of the 
subsequent School Board Education. In 1858, becoming First Lord 
of the Admiralty, he announced to the House that it was proposed 
to try the experiment of building two iron-cased ships. The 
following year, when Lord Derby was defeated, he resigned, and 
was made a G.C.B. When Derby came back in 1866, Pakington 
was given the same office, but in the following year was made 
War Secretary. In the election of 1874, he was defeated in his 
contest for Droitwich, but as he was at once made a peer, by the 
title of Baron Hampton of Hampton Lovett and Westwood, he 
continued his political life in the House of Lords. He died in Loudon 
in 1880, at the age of 81, and was buried at Hampton Lovett. 
By his first wife, Mary, daughter of Moreton Aglionby Slaney, of 
Shifnal, Shropshire, he had one son, who succeeded him. lu 1814 
he married Augusta Anne Murray, daughter of the Bishop of 
Eochester, and their son, Herbert Perrott Murray, succeeded his 
half-brother in 1893. By his third wife, Augusta Champion de 
Crespigny, who was the widow of Colonel T. H. Davies, of Elmley 
Park, he had no children. He was a staunch Churchman, though 
he held advanced views on the subject of undenominational 
education. He served his County, as Chairman of Quarter Sessions, 
from 1834 to 1858. 

-PAKINGTON, LADY DOROTHY (d. 1679), youngest daughter 
of Thomas, first Lord Coventry (q.v.), by Elizabeth, daughter of 
John Aldersley, of Spurstow, Cheshire, and wife of Sir John 
Pakington, second baronet (q.v.). She was a woman of great 
learning and piety, the friend and protector of many of the ejected 
clergy, who sheltered at Westwood under the Commonwealth, so 
that the seat of the Pakingtons became the centre of the old High 
Church party. Her association with divines, her reputation for 
wide reading and deep thought, caused the authorship of " The Whole 
Duty of Man," published anonymously in 1658, to be ascribed to 
her. But though she was far more highly educated than most of 
the women of her day, the book disclosed a knowledge of foreign 
countries, of "popery," and of Hebrew, Syriac, and Arabic, which 
she could hardly have possessed. In 1687 was published from the 
Oxford Press a very beautiful edition in folio of " The Works of 
the Author of the Whole Duty of Man," the preface of which was 
written by Bishop Fell. The D.N.B. concludes that Lady Dorothy 



128 Short Biographies of the 

was only a copyist of the " Duty," and that it was really written 
by Dr. Eichard Allestree, Provost of Eton College. The Eev. W. B. 
Hawkins, in the introduction to the edition of 1842, quotes the 
statement of one of her daughters who showed the original MS., so 
that, like the "Letters of Junius," the authorship may still be 
considered an open question. Lady Pakington died in the same 
year as her husband, and was buried with him at Hampton Lovett. 

*PAEKBR, GEOEGE (1651-1743), born at Shipston-on-Stour. 
He was himself a Quaker, but married a zealous Churchwoman ; 
naturally eager for each other's eternal welfare, they laboured hard 
to convince each other, with the satisfactory result that Parker 
ended as a High Churchman, and his wife as a rigid Quaker ! 
After becoming bankrupt, he opened a tavern in London in 1698, 
and then established himself as almanack maker, astrologist, and 
quack doctor, at the Ball and Star, Salisbury Court, Strand, to the 
disgust of one Partridge, who carried on the same trade at the 
Blue Bell in the same court. There were in consequence frequent 
and violent quarrels. In one of his almanacks Parker had the 
boldness to describe the Chevalier de St. George as one of the 
sovereigns of Europe, for which he was fined £50. He died at 
the age of 92. 

*PAEKEE, SIE HYDE (1714-1782), born at Tredington, the 
younger son of the Eector, the Eev. Hyde Parker. Entered the 
navy at the age of 24, and served in the Antelope as an able seaman. 
In 1744 he served in the East Indies as lieutenant, and three years 
later was made captain, and returned to home service. In 1759 
he commissioned the Norfolk, and sailed again for the East Indies. 
Active service against Pondicherry and Manilla was followed by 
a long period of unemployment, but in 1776 he was appointed to 
the Invincible, and two years later was promoted rear-admiral, and 
sent to North America to serve as second-in-command to Admiral 
Byron. "When Byron returned home in the following year, the 
command of the Leeward Isle squadron fell to Parker, who watched 
the French at Martinique with success. In 1780 Parker was made 
vice-admiral, and given the command of the North Sea squadron. 
He fought the Dutch on the Dogger Bank, with no definite result 
to the battle, but he accused Lord Sandwich of treachery in not 
coming to his help, and in spite of the King's effort to pacify him, 
he insisted on resigning his command. In 1782 he succeeded to 



Worthies of WorceUei shire. 129 

the family baronetcy, through the death of his elder brother, and 
was in the same year appointed Commander-in-Chief in the East 
Indies. He sailed in the Cato, and was never beard of again after 
leaving Eio de Janeiro on December 12th, nor was the fate of the 
ship ever known. In 1734 he married Sarah, daughter of Hugh 
Smithson, and left two sons, Harry, who succeeded to the baronetcy, 
and Hyde, the admiral, who was Nelson's commander-in-chief at 
Copenhagen. 

-PARKES, SAMUEL (1761-1825), born at Stourbridge. Settled 
in London as a manufacturing chemist. Eeceived many honours 
from learned Societies in recognition of his excellent books on 
Chemistry. 

-PARKES, DAVID (1763-1833), son of John Parkes, born at 
Cakemore, near Halesowen. Apprenticed to japanner at Birmingliam, 
but set up school. Cultivated art. Eemoved to Shrewsbury ; 
established a school at '-The Franciscan Friars," which flourished, 
and removed to Castle Street. Spent his leisure in travelling about 
Shropshire making drawings of antiquities. Accumulated books and 
prints of the county. Contributed to "Gentleman's Magazine." 
Married Elizabeth Morris, of Hadnall, and had three sons and 
several daughters. 

*PARRY, HENRY (1561-1616), Fellow of Corpus Christi College, 
Oxford, 1586. Chaplain to Queen Elizabeth, for whom he read 
prayers on her death bed. Bishop of Gloucester, 1607, and of 
Worcester, 1610. The King of Deimiark gave him a valuable ring 
in appreciation of a sermon preached by him in 1606 Buried in 
the Cathedral. 

-PATES, RICHARD (d. 1565). B.A., Corpus Christi College, 
Oxford, 1523. Archdeacon of Worcester, 1526; Ambassador to 
Charles V., 1533-6. Attended the Council of Trent, 1547. Bishop 
of Worcester, 1554. Deprived 1559 ; imprisoned for a short time, 
then went abroad and died at Louvain. 

-PEARSALL, RICHARD (1698-1762), born at Kidderminster. 
Educated at Tewkesbury; independent minister at Bromyard for 
ten years, at Warminster, 1731-47, and at Taunton, 1747-62. He 
edited the Diary of his sister Hannah (Mrs. Housman), and wrote 
" Conttmplations on the Ocean " in imitation of James Hervey. 
Two volumes of Beliquice Sacrce of Mr. Pearsall were edited by 
Thomas Gibbons, D.D. 



130 Short Biographies of the 



PEAESON, THOMAS (1774-1857), Eector of Stockton-on-Teme, 
1808-28; and of Witley, 1828-57. Chaplain to Queen Adelaide. 
A very active County Magistrate and Administrator. Chaiinian of 
the Hall and House Committee, and identified with the building of 
the Shire Hall at Worcester. Founder, and for many years Secretary, 
of the Worcestershire Prisoners' Aid Society. A zealous supporter 
of the Worcestershire Friendly Society and of the Worcester Infirmary. 
Was the first to establish the Allotment system in the County. 
His brother, the Rev. JOHN PEARSON (1804-82), was Rector of 
Suckley, 1838-82, and Hon. Canon of Worcester. He was also 
eminent in public duties ; Chairman of the County Lunatic Asylum 
and County Prison ; Hon. Secretary of the Church Extension Society. 
The two brothers were joint authors of " Fasciculus I. — Parish 
of Great Witleij " — of the Statistical History of Worcestershire, 
published by the Natural History Society in 1837. 

-PENNETHORN, SIR JAMES (1801-1871), son of Thomas 
Pennethorn, of Worcester. He received his professional education 
in the office of John Nash, who placed him in 1822 under Pugin 
for the special study of Gothic architecture. After travelling 
abroad, he became Nash's principal assistant. He devoted himself 
to street architecture, and with modifications due to economy. New 
Oxford Street and Endell Street were built by him. From 1845 
onwards he did nothing but Government work, the most successful 
of which was Burlington House. In 1843 he was appointed 
architect and surveyor of the Office of Woods, and several of the 
London parks, as well as many London public buildings and 
streets, are from his plans. He was knighted in 1870, and died 
suddenly the following year from heart disease. 

^PENNETHORN, JOHN (1808-1888), younger brother of 
James (qv.), also entered Nash's office, and became his favourite 
pupil. In 1830 he started on a five years' professional tour in 
Europe and Egypt, in the course of which he made observations 
in the Parthenon which led to the reversal of the theory that Greek 
architecture was absolutely rectilinear. This discovery was firist 
published by Heffer and Schauber, whose observations were, how- 
ever, made subsequently to those of Pennethorn. In 1844 he 
published, for private circulation, " The Elements and Matheviatical 
FrinciiAes of the Greek Architects and Artists," in which, by the 
help of his researches in Athens, he was able to throw light on 



Worthies of Worcestershire. 131 

obscure points in Plato and Aristotle. For some time illness 
interrupted his work, but in 1878 he published a folio volume on 
" The Geometry and Optics of Ancient Architecture," illustrated by 
examples from Thebes, Athens, and Rome. He died at his residence 
in the Isle of Wight. 

-PEPYS, HENRY (1783-1860), third son of Sir W. W. Pepys, 
Bart., one of the Masters in Chancery, by Elizabeth daughter of 
the Right Hon. William Dowdeswell, sometime Chancellor of the 
Exchequer, and brother of Sir Charles C. Pepys, Lord Chancellor, 
created Earl of Cottenham, 1850. Trinity College, Cambridge. 
B.A., 1804. Fellow of St. John's, 1807. Bishop of Sodor and 
Man, 1840, and of Worcester, 1841. He gave up the Bishop's 
Palace at Worcester to the Dean, and is buried at Hartlebury. 
His s')n Herbert George married Louisa, daughter of John Whitmore 
Isaac, of Broughton House, Worcester, and was Vicar of Hallow. 
His daughter Maria Louisa was wife of the Rev. E. Winnington- 
Ingrara, Rector of Ribbesford and Stanford-on-Teme. Their children 
include the Ven. E. H. W. Ingram, Archdeacon of Hereford, and 
the Right Hon. A. F. W. Ingiam, Bishop of London. 

-PEROWNE, JOHN JAMES STEWART (1823-1904). Corpus 
Christi College, Cambridge, B.A., 1845. Bell, Crosse, and Tyrwhitt's 
Schobirships. Vice-Principal of Lampeter, 1862-72. Hulsean 
Lecturer, 1868. Fellow of Trinity, 1873-75. Hulsean Professor 
of Divinity, 1875-78. Dean of Peterborough, 1878-91. Member 
of the Old Testament Company for the Revision of the Authorised 
Version of the English Bible, 1870-84. Bishop of Worcester, 
1891-1902. Buried at Hartlebury. Author of ''The Booh of 
Psalms," 2 vols.; ''Bishop ThirlioalV s Remains," 3 vols.; "The 
Cambridge Bible for Schools," "Al Adjrumiieh " (an Arabic Grammar), 
and other works. 

*PERROT, SIR JOHN (1527?-1592). Reputed to be the son 
of Henry VIII. and Mary Berkeley, who a,fterwards married Thomas 
Perrot. Made KB. at the coronation of Edward VI. President of 
Munster, 1570; subdued the rebel Fitzmaurice. Lord-Deputy of 
Ireland, 1584. Came back in disgrace, 1588, found guilty of high 
treason, and died in the Tower of London. His estate descended 
in the female line to the Pakingtons. His portrait was at West- 
wood, and is given in Nash I., 350, from a mezzo tint by Val. Green. 



132 Short Biographies of the 

*PESHALL or PECHELL, SIE JOHN (1718-1778), was the 
eldest son of Sii- Thomas Peshall, of Eccleshall, hy x^nne, daughter 
of Samuel Saunders, of Omhersley. He was Rector of Stoke Bliss, 
Herefordshire, but lived chiefly at Oxford. In 1772 he published 
" The Historij of the University of Oxford to the Death of William 
the Conqueror." He died at Oxford, but was buried at his birth- 
place, Hawn. 

-PEVERELL, THOMAS (d. 1419), Educated at Oxford, and 
then became a Carmelite ; consecrated Bishop of Ossory in 1397. 
Translated to Llandaff, and thence to Worcester in 1407, when he 
made himself remarkable by his activity against the Lollards. 

-PHILLIPPS, SIR THOMAS (L792-1872), born at Manchester. 
Son of Thomas Phillipps, of Broadway, High Sheriff for Worcester- 
shire, 1801. Educated at Rugby, and University College, Oxford ; 
B.A., 1815. When a young man began the collection of manuscripts 
"of all ages, countries, languages, and subjects." Between 1820 
and 1825 he visited Belgium, Holland, France, Germany, and 
Switzerland, acquiring the Meerman collection at the Hague, the 
collection of Van Ess at Darmstadt, &c., &c., charters, chronicles, 
chartularies, household books of kings, queens, and nobles, early 
English poetry, ancient Greek and oriental manuscripts, old Irish 
and Welsh collections, and many treasures coming from the 
libraries of famous monasteries. " His illuminated MSS. were of 
rare beauty — some of them had been executed for the Medici, 
Charles VIII. of France, Pope Nicholas V., Ferdinand and Isabella 
of Spain, Mathias Gorvinus, King of Hungary." These MSS. ultimately 
reached 60,000. Printed books, coins, and George Catlin's pictures 
of the North American Indians made an important part of this 
collection. Sir Thomas was an untiring student of his manuscripts 
and books, and filled hundreds of note books with his own 
topographical, historical, and genealogical notes. In 1819 he printed 
at Salisbury " Collections for Wiltshire." In 1820 at Evesham, 
''Account of the Family of Sir Thomas Molyneux" In 1822 he set 
up a private printing press on the Broadway Tower at Middle Hill. 
His Worcestershire house became so overcrowded with books that 
in 1862 he purchased Thirlestaine House at Cheltenham from Lord 
Northwick. A complete list of the books printed at the Middle 
Hill Press (Tyins Medio-Montanis) would fill many pages. Phillipps 
was elected F.R.S., 1819; made a Baronet, 1821; was High Sheriff 



Worthies of Worcestershire. 133 

for Worcestershire, 1825. Trustee of British Museum. He married 
(1) 1819, Harriet, daughter of Lieut. -General Sir Thomas Molyneux, 
Bart., of Castle Dillon, hy whom he had three daughters : Henrietta 
Elizabeth, who married J. Orchard Halliwell, F.E.S.,the Shakespearean 
scholar ; Mary Sophia Bampfylde Foster, married Eev. John Walcot, 
of Bitterley Court, Shropshire ; and Katharine Somerset Wyttenbach, 
married Eev. J. E. A. Fenwick, Vicar of Needwood ; (2) 1842, 
Elizabeth, daughter of the Eev. W. J. Mansel. The old landed 
property was entailed on Mrs. Halliwell. The books, MSS., &c., with 
Thirlestaine House, were left to Mrs. Fenwick, who has since 
dispersed a portion of them by public auction. Thirteen sales, 
comprising 16,000 lots, have realised £50,000, besides sales by private 
treaty. The sales will continue for at least another generation. 

■+PHILLIPS, THOMAS (1770-1845), born at Dudley ; began his 
career as a glass painter. In 1790 he went to London, and was 
employed on tbe painted windows of St. George's Chapel. He 
soon began to exhibit at the Eoyal Academy; E.A., 1808; and from 
1825 to 1832 was Professor of Painting at the School. Early in 
his career he had found that his real strength lay in portrait 
painting, and he painted, amongst others, George Prince of Wales, 
Byron, Scott, Crabbe, Southey, Coleridge, and Sir Thomas Phillipps, 
Bart. He published "Principles of Painting" in 1832. Married 
Elizabeth Frazer, and left two daughters and a sou, who was also 
a painter, 

-PHILLIPS, CATHEEINE (1727-1794), daughter of Henry 
Payton, of Dudley, by Ann, daughter of Henry Fowler, of Evesham, 
Owing to her gift of oratory she entered the Quaker ministry in 
1748, and went on annual preaching tours in Great Britain and 
Ireland, and also made a three years' tour in the New England 
Colonies, and then visited Holland. In 1772 she married William 
Phillips, of Bewdley. Her ''Memoirs" were published after her 
death. 

*PHILPOTT, HENEY (1807-1892). Senior Wrangler, 1829; 
Fellow of St. Catharine's College, 1829; and Master, 1845-60. 
Bishop of Worcester, 1860-90. Chaplain to the Prince Consort. 
Built the Mission Church of St. Mary at Bishop's Wood, Hartlebury, 
where he is buried. A wise, generous, and saintly Bishop. 



134 Short Biographies of the 

POHER, MARGAEET LE (d. 1454), heiress of Wichenford 
Court. During one of the Welsh raids a party of Welshmen, 
reinforced by some French soldiers of fortune under the " Bastard 
of France," who were encamped on Woodbury Hill, made a descent 
upon the Court. By some means Margaret lured their chief into 
the house, and while he was being conducted to the great pannelled 
chamber, stabbed him with her own hand, and his followers were 
repulsed. A dark stain on the floor is still shown as the mark 
of his blood, and his ghost is supposed to haunt the scene of the 
murder. Margaret married John Washbourne, of Gloucestershire, 
and the estate passed with her into the Washbourne family. A 
tomb with their effigies formerly existed in Wichenford Church, 
dated 1454. 

"POLTON, THOMAS (d. 1433), as Prebendary of Sarum attended 
the Council of Constance, 1414-18, where he acted as papal 
prothonotary and head of the English " nation." Bishop of Hereford, 
1420 ; of Chichester, 1421 ; and of Worcester, 1426. Died and was 
buried at Basle, where he was a member of the Council. 

PEATTINTON, PETER (1776-1845), son of William Prattinton, 
of Bewdley. Educated at Christ Church, Oxford, where he took 
the degree of M.B. Being possessed of ample means, he gave up 
the practice of medicine, and devoted himself with indefatigable 
assiduity to antiquarian pursuits. His researches were chiefly made 
to elucidate the history of his native county, and his MS. collections 
for Worcestershire, which fill many volumes, were bequeathed to 
the Society of Antiquaries. The roll of " Household Expenses " of 
Bishop Swinfield (1289) was discovered by Dr. Prattinton among 
the muniments of Sir T. Winnington at Stanford Court, and it was 
pubUshed in 1853. He was buried at Ribbesford. 

*PRATT, JOSIAH (1768-1844), son of a Birmingham manufacturer. 
St. Edmunds Hall, Oxford. B.A., 1792. Ordained as assistant 
Curate to Wm. Jesse, Rector of Dowles. In 1795 became assistant 
Minister under Rd. Cecil, St. John's Chapel, Bedford Row. Helped 
to found the C.M.S., and became its Secretary, 1802-27. Also British 
and Foreign Bible Society, 1804 — its first Church of England 
Secretary. Assistant of John Newton at St. Mary, Woolnoth, 
1804. Incumbent of St. Stephen's, Coleman Street, 1826. Edited 
works of Bishop Hall (10 vols.), 1808, "Cecil's Remains" and 
"Cecil's Works" (4 vols.), "Psalms and Hymns." 



Worthies of Worcestershire. 135 



*PEICE, WILLIAM (1780-1830), born at Worcester. Assistant 
secretary and interpreter to Sir Gore Ouseley in Persia, 1810. 
Taught oriental languages in the seminary of his friend, Humphreys, 
at Netherstone House, near Worcester, and also published Persian 
books and translations. 

-PRIDE AUX, JOHN (1578-1650). Fellow and afterwards Eector 
of Exeter College, Oxford, 1612-42. Regius Professor of Divinity, 
1615-41. Bishop of Worcester, 1641. Driven out in 1646, and 
retired to the house of his son-in-law, Henry Sutton, Rector of 
Bredon, where he passed the rest of his days in cheerful poverty, 
and is buried in the chancel of the Church. The only known 
perfect copy of the Prayer Book of 1552, as printed by John 
Oswen (q.v.), is now in the Cathedral Library, and has the 
autograph of John Prideaux on the title page. 

PYTTS, SIR EDWARD (1541-1618), son of Wilham Pytts, of 
the Perrie in Sroke Bliss. An eminent lawyer in Fleet Street, 
London. Was Filacer of London, Middlesex, Huntingdon, and 
Kent, 1563 — a lucrative office now extinct. Knighted at the 
coronation of James I., 1603. Built up the Kyre Park estate by 
various purchases, and added an Elizabethan wing to the ruinous 
fortress of the Wyards and Mortimers. A detailed account of the 
work (1588-1618) in his own MS. is still in existence (Antiquary, 
1890). He made a fine collection of early books which are still 
at Kyre, and had considerable skill in heraldry. Sheriff of 
Worcestershire, 1612. Married Elizabeth, sister of Thomas Wilford, 
Citizen and Merchant Taylor of London, and had three sons and 
three daughters. 

PYTTS, EDWARD (1606-1672), son of Sir James Pytts, of 
Kyre, by Mary, daughter of Sir Arthur Heveningham, of Norfolk, 
and grandson of Sir Edward (q.v.). M.P. for Worcestershire, 1654 ; 
for Bewdley, 1658-9 ; for Leominster, 1660. Was a Royalist at 
heart, though forced by circumstances to hold office under the 
Commonwealth. The House of Commons, 22nd May, 1648, ordered 
his plate to be sold ; yet in the same year he was a Sequestration 
Commissioner for Worcestershire. In 1653 he approved the appoint- 
ment of John Boraston, Rector of Ribbesford, to keep the Register 
Book of the Parish. In 1660 he was made a Commissioner for 
disbanding and paying off the forces of the kingdom both by land 
and sea. Married Elizabeth, daughter of Sir Samuel Sandys, of 
Qmbersley, and left two sous and two daughters. 



136 Short Biographies of the 



PYTTS, SAMUEL (1674-1729), son of James Pytts, of Wick 
and Cotheridge. Succeeded his cousin, James Pytts, M.P., in the 
Kyre estates, 1715. New College, Oxford, 1689. M.P. for Hereford, 
1699-1700; for Worcestershire, 1710-15. A Lord Commissioner of 
Trade and Foreign Plantations, 1713-14. Hon. Ereeman of Worcester, 
1714. Married (1) Frances, daughter of Samuel Sandys; (2) 
Catherine, daughter of Sir James Eushout, Bart. ; and (3) Catherine, 
daughter of Bridges Nanfan, of Birtsmorton, and widow of the 
first Earl of Bellamont. Samuel Pytts left an only son Edmund, 
M.P. for Worcestershire, 1741-53, and an only daughter Catherine, 
whose great-grandson, W^illiam Lacon Childe, M.P., of Kinlet, 
succeeded to the Kyre estates in 1832. 

=:=EABAN, EDWARD (d. 1658), born in Worcestershire ; joined 
the Netherlands army in 1600 with " bankroute merchants and 
ruQ-away 'prentices," and. after much fighting and travelling, settled 
in Aberdeen in 1662 as a printer. He issued many academic 
productions, and also some very interesting Scottish books. The 
last was published in 1649, in which year he retired. Bishop 
Forbes was his firm friend throughout his career. 

*EAINSBOEOUGH, THOMAS (d. 1648), son of Admiral William 
Rainsborough. Brought up at sea. Fought for the Parliament at 
Hull and Naseby. Succeeded Colonel Edward Whalley in the siege 
of Worcester, and received the surrender of the City, 19th July, 
1646. Commander-in-Chief of the Fleet, 1647. M.P. for Droitwich, 
1646-8. Surprised in his bed by the Eoyalists at Doncaster, 1648, 
and afterwards killed to prevent his escape. 

EALPH or EANDULPH OP EVESHAM (d. 1229), born at 
Evesham, and was a monk of both the Evesham and Worcester 
monasteries. In 1213 he was elected Bishop of Worcester, but 
resigned at King John's request, and was elected as Prior instead. 
A month later, on the Legate's recommendation, he was elected 
Abbot of Evesham, and in that capacity he attended the Lateran 
Council of 1215, where he obtained the confirmation of the Evesham 
constitution, of which a full account is given in the Victoria County 
History, Vol. II. The other striking event of his abbacy seems 
to have been a quarrel with the Bishop of Worcester over the 
wearing of his mitre in synod. The Evesham historian greatly 
commends him for his munificence and financial skill in orilering 
the affairs of the house. 




< 

-J d 
_; cN 

CO 




Q- 



Worthies of Worcestershire. 137 

*EALPH THE TIMID (d. 1057), came to England from 
Normandy in 1041, with his uncle Edward the Confessor, and was 
made Earl of Worcester, 1042. Opposed Godwin, and received 
Sweyn's Earldom of Herefordshire. Defeated at Hereford in 1055 
by Elfgar, sou of Leofric, Earl of Mercia, assisted by Griffith, 
Prince of Wales. 

EALPH, EOBEET FITZ (d. 1193), Archdeacon of Nottingham. 
Bishop of Worcester, 1191. The Bishops of London and Eochester 
each claimed the right of consecrating him. The Pope set them 
both aside, and appointed the Bishop of Ely to do this. 

*EEYNOLDS, WALTEE (d. 1327); Canon of St. Paul's, Chaplain 
to Edward I. and Preceptor to Prince Edward. Bishop of Worcester, 
1307, and Lord Chancellor, 1310. Archbishop of Canterbury, 1313. 
Supported Queen Isabella, and crowned Edward III. 

*EIGHAED DE WYCHE (1197 ?-l253), born at Droitwich, the 
son of well-to-do parents; but sinking into poverty after the death 
of his father, he was obliged to go to Oxford as a poor scholar. 
He became Chancellor of the University, then Chancellor of the 
Diocese of Canterbury under Edmund Eich. The Chancellor 
accompanied the Archbishop into his retirement, and the two holy 
men were compared to " two cherubim in glory. After Edmund's 
death, Eichard studied theology at a Dominican house in Orleans, 
where he was ordained priest, and he then returned to England 
and was made Eector of Charing Cross. In 1245, at the request 
of Boniface of Savoy, he resumed the duties of Chancellor of 
Canterbury, and in the same year he was consecrated by Innocent IV. 
to the see of Chichester, greatly to the wrath of Henry III., who 
refused the temporalities of the see. For two years Eichard was 
consequently in great difficulties in his diocese, and then the Pope 
compelled Henry to resign the temporalities to their lawful holder. 
Eichard meddled but little with politics, but he enforced strict 
discipline on the clergy, and was earnest in his support of the 
Crusades, for which he was preaching at Dover in 1253 when he 
died. He was buried at Chichester, and received the honours of 
sanctity from the moment of his death. His canonization took 
place in 1262, at the hands of Urban IV., and thenceforth his 
tomb was a favourite resort for pilgrims until the Eeformation. 
His festival was held on April 3rd. 



138 Short Biographies of the 

-EICHAEDS, ALFRED BATE (1820-1876), born at Baskerville 
House, Worcestershire, where his father was then residing. He was 
the eldest son of John Richards, of Wassail Grove, near Stourbridge, 
M.P. for Knaresborough (1832-37). Educated at Edinburgh High 
School, Westminster School, and Exeter College, Oxford. Student at 
Lincoln's Inn, 1839. B.A., 1841. Issued a pamphlet called " Oxford 
Unmasked," showing up abuses in the organisation of the University, 
which were afterwards removed by Parliament. This pamphlet 
rapidly passed through five editions. On its authorship becoming 
known, Richards thought it prudent to close his academic career 
and move to London. He was called to the Bar, 1845, and for a 
short time went on circuit, but soon devoted himself entirely to 
literature. In 1850 he started a weekly paper, "The Mirror of the 
Time," but it only lived a year, and in 1851 he became editor of 
the Daily Telegraph. Richards had advocated at every opportutiity 
the enrolling of volunteers during the years of the Crimean War. 
When the Government adopted these views, Richards took rooms 
in the City and soon enlisted 1000 working men as volunteers, 
who afterwards formed the 3rd City of London Rifle Corps. 
Richards was appointed Major and afterwards Colonel of tliis 
battalion. He held his commission till 1869, when a testimonial 
vpas presented to him for his services. Richards wrote five dramas, 
and left four unpublished. He died in London, and was buried 
at St. Peter's, Croydon. 

-ROBERTS, GEORGE EDWARD (1831-1865), born at 
Birmingham and brought up at Kidderminster. Devoted himself 
to the study of local geology. His first publication (anonymously) 
was on the " Kidderminster Deposits " in the Edinburgh New Phil. 
Journal, Vol. V., 1857. Thenceforward until his death at the early 
age of 34 he contributed several papers yearly to the " Geologist " 
[see Bibliography of Worcestershire, Part III. (a)] . His chief work 
was " The Bocks of Worcestershire" 1860. He also published 
" Habberley ValUy and the Hill of Trimpley." Died at Kidderminster. 

-ROGER (d. 1179), son of Robert, Earl of Gloucester, and 
grandson of Henry I. Bishop of Worcester, 1164. An excellent 
Bishop, called by Pope Alexander III., " one of the two lights of 
England." One of the great western towers of St. Peter's, Gloucester, 
fell while Bishop Roger was officiating there at mass, but he quietly 
proceeded to the end of the service. He settled a dispute about 



Worthies of Worcestershire. 139 

St. Cleinenb's Church, Worcester, and another as to the election of 
a Prior for (Glreat Malvern. A partisan of Becket, but retained 
the King's favour. Sent to Eome to express the King's remorse 
for Becket's murder, 1171, and again in 1178. Died at Tours during 
his journey home. 

EOUSE, SIR THOMAS (1608-1676), son of Sir John Rouse, 
M.P. for Worcestershire, 1626, of Rouse Lench. Brasenose College, 
Oxford, 1626; Middle Temple, 1628. Created a Baronet, 1641. 
Member of the Committee for Worcestershire, 1645, and an Assess- 
ment Commissioner, 1656. M.P. for the County, 1654-5 and 
1656-8; for Evesham, 1660. The greater part of Baxter's ''Saints' 
Everlasting Best " was written in retirement at Rouse Lench, where 
he was nursed ty Lady Rouse during a serious illness, 1647. The 
Epistle Dedicatory of the "First Part" is made to "The Right 
Worshipful Sir Thomas Rous, Baronet, with the Lady Jane Rous, 
his wife." Sir Thomas married (1) Jane, daughter of Sir John 
Ferrers, of Tamworth Castle ; (2) Frances (d. 1667), daughter of 
David Murray ; and (3) Anne. 

. ROUSB-BOUGHTON, SIR CHARLES WILLIAM (d. 1821), 
sixth son of Shuckburgh Boughton, of Poston Court, Herefordshire; 
spent some years of his early life in India. Under the will of 
Thomas (Phillips) Rouse, descendant of Sir Thomas Rouse (q.v.), 
he succeeded to the Rouse Lench estate in 1768, and assumed the 
name of Rouse. M.P. for Evesham, 1780-90, and for Bramber, 
1796-1800. He was Secretary to the Board of Control, 1784-91, 
and for his public services was created a Baronet, 2 1st June, 1791, 
and became entitled by royal licence to quarter the arms of Rouse 
of Rouse Lench with the arms of Boughton of Lawford. In 1794 
he succeeded his brother, Sir Edward Boughton, of Lawford Hall, 
as ninth Baronet, and resumed his paternal surname. From 1800 
to his death he was an Audit Commissioner. He married, 1782, 
Caroline, only daughter and heiress of William Pearce Hall, of 
Downton Hall, near Ludlow, which has since become the principal 
residence of the family. His only son, SIR WILLIAM EDWARD 
EOUSE-BOUGHTON, tenth and second Bart., of Downton Hall 
and Rouse Lench (1788-1856), was elected F.R.S., and was M.P. for 
Evesham, 1818-19 and 1820-26. He married Charlotte, daughter 
of Thomas Andrew Knight (q.v.). 



140 Short Biographies of the 

*EOUTH, MES. MAETHA (1743-1817), quakeress, was born at 
Sfcourbriclge, the youngest child of Henry and Jane Winter. She 
became head of the Friends' boarding-school in Nottingham, and 
in 1773 was " acknowledged a minister." On her marriage to 
Eichard Eouth, of Manchester, in 1776, she relinquished her school 
and devoted herself to the ministry, travelling throughout the 
British Isles and the United States. In three years she travelled 
11,000 miles, and never failed at a single appointed meeting, what- 
ever the difficulty of the roads. At the age of 70 she began to 
write her ''Journal," which was in part published in 1822. 

EUDGB, EDWAED (1630-1696), son of Wilham Eudge, Mayor 
of Evesham, 1661. Married Susanna, daughter of Sir John Dethick; 
became a successful London merchant, and purchased the manor 
and site of the abbey lands of Evesham, 1664. M.P. for Evesham, 
1681, 1690-5. His son, JOHN EUDGE (1669-1740), was a merchant 
in Mark Lane, a Director of the Bank of England, 1699, and Deputy 
Governor of the South Sea Company, 1731-40. M.P. for Evesham, 
1698-1701, and 1702-34. 

-EUDGE, EDWAED (1763-1846), son of Edward Eudge, a 
merchant and alderman of Salisbury, who purchased a large portion 
of the Abbey estate at Evesham. Queen's College, Oxford, 1781, 
but took no degree. His attention was early turned to botany 
through the influence of his uncle, Samuel Eudge (d. 1817), a 
retired barrister, who formed a herbarium which passed to his 
nephew. His uncle's encoura,gement and the purchase of a fine 
series of plants from Guiana, collected by M. Martin, led Eudge to 
study the flora of tha.t country, at:d to publish between 1805 and 
1807, a volume of selections entitled " P/a.7itor?t?7i Guiana rariorum 
icones et dcscriptiones hactenus ineditae," fol., London. Between 
1811 and 1834 he conducted a series of excavations in those portions 
of the Evesham Abbey estate under his control, and communicated 
the results to the Society of Antiquaries who figured the ruins and 
relics discovered in their " Vetusta Mommienta.'" In 1842 he erected 
an octagon tower on the battlefield of Evesham, commemorative of 
Simon de Montfort, Earl of Leicester. Eudge was elected F.S.A., 
F.L.S., 1802, and F.E.S., 1805. In 1829 he was Sheriff of 
Worcestershire. He married twice. A genus of the botanical 
order RuhiacecB was named Budgea in his honour in 1806 (Trans, 
of Linn. Soc. viii., 326). Besides the work above named, Eudge 



Worthies of Worcestershire. 141 

was author of seven botanical papers in the Eoyal and Linnsean 
Societies' publications, and of several papers in " Archceologia." 
His son, EDWAED JOHN EUDGE, M.A. (1792-1861), of Caius 
College, Cambridge, and barrister-at-law, was also F.S.A., and author 
of "Some Acco^mt of the History and Antiquities of Evesham," 1820, 
and "Illustrated and Historical Account of Buckden Palace," 1839. 

*EUSHOUT, SIE JOHN (1684-1775), son of Sir James 
Eushout, M.P. for Worcestershire, 1689, and grandson of John 
Eushout, a native of France, lineally descended from Mareschal de 
Gamaces, grand master of the horse to Louis XI., who settled in 
London in the reign of Charles I. Succeeded as fourtli Baronet, 
1711. Married, 1729, Lady Anne Compton. M.P. for Malemsbury, 
1713-22, and for Evesham, 1722-68. "Father of the House of 
Commons." Was a Whig, but opposed the Excise Bill, 1733, and 
Septennial Act, 1734. A Lord of the Treasury, 1742-3 ; Treasurer 
of the Navy, 1743-4; Privy Councillor, 1744. Second to Lord 
Harvey in his duel with William Pulteney, afterwards Earl of Bath, 
in St. James' Park, 25th January, 1731. Dr. Nash said of him 
that " at 91 his memory, good humour, and politeness were then 
in their full bloom." 

EUSHOUT, SIE JOHN, BAEON NOETHWICK (1739-1800), 
only son of Sir John, d. 1775 (q.v.). Christchurch, Oxford. M.P. 
for Evesham, 1761-96. Married Eebecca, daughter of Humphrey 
Bowles, of Wanstead, Essex, and Burford House, Tenbury. Created 
Baron Northwick, 1797. 

EUSSELL, SIE WILLIAM (1602-1669), son of Sir Thomas 
Eussell, of Strensham. Wadham College, 1620; Middle Temple, 
1621. M.P. for Worcestershire, 1643. Fought under Prince Eupert 
at Worcester, 1642. In 1643 he was Governor of the City. When 
the City was surrendered by Colonel Henry Washington, July, 
3646, Colonel Eaynesborough insisted that Sir W. Eussell should 
be exempted from the benefit of the treaty. Sir William refused 
to escape in disguise, but offered willingly to surrender for the 
public good. Sir Thomas Fairfax acceded to the request of the 
gentlemen of the county that he should be treated as a prisoner. 
He was assessed in a fine of £3000 in 1644, but discharged on 
payment of £500. In 1649 his estate was again sequestered for 
£2071, to be £1800 if he settles the Eectory upon the parish of 



142 Short Biographies of the 

Birlingham. Sir William, who was an intended Knight of the 
Royal Oak, 1660 (when his estates were put down at £3000 a year), 
signed the Worcestershire address to the King, 8th May, 1660, 
declaring that they would forgive and live peaceably with the 
Roundheads. He married Frances, daughter of Sir Thomas Reade, 
of Barton, Berks, and was buried at Strensham. 

*RUSSBLL, SIR WILLIAM OLDNALL (1785-1833), son of 
Samuel Oldnall, Rector of St. Nicholas, Worcester, and of North 
Piddle, and of Mary, daughter of William Russell, of Powick, in 
accordance with whose will he took the name of Russell in 1816. 
He was educated at Christchurch, Oxford ; M.A., 1807 ; called to 
the Bar, 1809 ; Serjeant-at-law, 1827. In 1832 he was appointed 
Chief Justice of Bengal, and was knighted. He wrote a " Treatise 
on Crimes," published in 1819, and pronounced by Warren " the 
best treatise on Criminal Law." He married in 1825 Louisa Maria, 
daughter of J. Lloyd Williams, and lefc issue, the Oldnall-Russells, 
of Sion, near Kidderminster. 

*S^WULF (fl. 1102), a native of Worcester, mentioned by 
William of Malmesbury as a merchant, who was often advised by 
St. Wulstan to enter the monastic life, and who in old age did 
become a monk at Malmesbury. Went on pilgrimage to Syria, and 
left an account of his journey and the places which he visited. 
The only existing MS. of his travels is in the library of Corpus 
College, Cambridge, and it stops abruptly after describing the return 
voyage to the Dardanelles. 

*SALWEY, HUMPHREY (1575?-1652), son of Arthur Salwey, 
of Stanford-on-Teme. Brasenose College, 1590, and Inner Temple, 
1594. M.P. for Worcestershire during the Long Parliament; tried 
to prevent execution of the King's Commission of Array in the 
county. Sequestration Commissioner, 1643 ; on Navy Committee, 
1649 ; King's Remembrancer of the Exchequer, 1644-52. Refused 
to sit as one of the King's judges. Married Anne, daughter of Sir 
Edward Lyttelton, of Pillaton Hall. Buried in Westminster Abbey, 
but his body was one of those exhumed at the Restoration. 

•-SALWEY, RICHARD (1615-1685), fourth son of Humphrey 
Salwey (q.v.). M.P. for Appleby, 1645-53 ; and for Worcester, 1653. 
Major in the Parliamentary Army, and member of the Committees 
for exacting Martial Law in London, August 1644, of Assessment 



Worthies of Worcestershire. 143 

for Worcestershire, October, 1644, of Scandalous Offences, June, 
1646, for Irish Affairs, April, 1647, of the Navy, 1648, and for 
Regulating the Universities, September, 1650. Sent on a Commission 
to Ireland, 1646. Mayor of Worcester, 1654. Member of many 
Parliamentary Committees, 1651-9. President of the Council of 
State, September, 1659. One of the Council of Ten appointed by 
the Army, 28th October, 1659. Imprisoned in Shrewsbury Castle, 
1662, for a short time. Again sent to the Tower of London, 
October, 1663. Released on security, 1664. Married Anne, daughter 
of Richard Waring, Alderman of London. His chief residence was 
at Richard's Castle, near Ludlow, where the family is still seated. 

*SAMSON (d. 1112), born near Caen, and Canon of Bayeux, 
was Bishop of Worcester, 1096-1112, being St. Wulstan's successor. 
He was only in minor orders when appointed, and a married man, 
for his son Thomas was made Archbishop of York in 1108. Samson 
was a favourite at court, and was thus able to make rich grants 
to the Worcester Priory. He was buried in the Cathedral before 
the rood loft. 

^SANDERS, alias BAINES, FRANCIS (1648-1710), born in 
Worcestershire, and educated at St. Omer, and the English College 
in Rome. In 1672 he was ordained a secular priest, but joined 
the Jesuits in 1674. He was confessor to James II. at St. Germains, 
where he died. His writings include a "Life of the King," which 
was translated into English and Italian. 

-SANDERS, HENRY (1728-1785), born at Dudley. Oriel 
College, Oxford; B.A., 1750. Curate of Wednesbury, and afterwards 
of Sheustone. Assistant master at King Edward's School, Birming- 
ham ; Headmaster of Halesowen School, 1771. Wrote n " History 
of Shenstone," 4to., published in 1794. His only son, JOHN 
BUTLER SANDERS, M.A., Fellow of Worcester College; was 
chaplain at Gottenburgh; Lecturer at St. Olave, Jewry; and master 
of St. Olave's School. 

-SANDYS, SIR EDWIN (1561-1629), born in Worcestershire, 
second son of Edwin Sandys, Bishop of Worcester and Archbishop 
of York, by Cicely, sister of Sir Thomas Wilford. Educated at 
Merchant Taylor's and Corpus Christi College, Oxford; B.A., 1579; 
Fellow of Corpus, 1580. Friend and executor of Richard Hooker. 



144 Short Biographies of the 

Entered Middle Temple, 1589. M.P. for Andover, 1586 ; for Plympton, 
1588-9, 1592-3; travelled on the Continent, 1593-9. "Wrote" Eitropcs 
Specuhim," which was printed from a stolen copy of the manuscript, 
1605, and burnt by the author's wish. Printed at the Hague in 
1629, 4to., and again in 1632, 1637, 1638, 1673, and 1687, besides 
French, Dutch, and Italian translations. Knighted by James I., 
1603. M.P. for Stockbridge, 1604. Appointed head of Commons' 
Committee for abolishing feudal tenures, etc. Carried a motion for 
the regular keeping of the "Journals" of the House of Commons, 
1609. One of the Committee to consider the " Great Contract," 1610. 
Spoke against the "divine right of kings," 1614, and was ordered to 
give bonds for his appearance before the Council when called upon. 
Member of the East India Company, 1614, served on the Committee, 
1619-25 and 1625-29. Member of the Somers Islands Committee, 
1615, and from him the " Sandys Group " is named. In 1617 
Assistant Treasurer of the Virginia Company; in 1619 elected 
Treasurer, " a date to be remembered in the history of English 
colonisation." Sandys settled a form of government for the colony, 
and by his counsel the first representative assembly summoned 
in America met in Jamestown, 30th July, 1619. The Company wished 
to re-elect their Treasurer next year, but King James refused to 
sanction it — " Choose the devil if you will, but not Sir Edwin Sandys." 
In 1621 Sandys was sent to the Tower, but was soon released, 
and in 1624 the Crown assumed the government of Virginia. Buried 
in Northbourne Church. His engraved portrait is in Nash's Worcester- 
shire. He had four wives, and left seven sons and five daughters. 

SANDYS, EDWIN (1613?-1642), second son of Sir Edwin 
Sandys (q.v.), by Catherine, daughter of Sir Eichard Bulkeley, of 
Anglesea. Matriculated at Wadham College, Oxford, at the age 
of 9. Colonel in ParHamentary Army ; wounded in battle at 
Worcester, 23rd September, 1642, and died soon after. Buried in 
Worcester Cathedral. Married Catherine Champneys, of Bexley, 
Kent. His younger brother, EICHARD SANDYS, was also Colonel 
in the Parliamentary Army. He was made Governor of the Bermuda 
Company, 1647. Purchased Down Hall, Kent, where he settled. 

*SANDYS, SAMUEL, BARON SANDYS (1695-1770), born at 
Ombersley, elder son of Edwin Sandys, M.P. for Worcestershire, by 
Alice, daughter of Sir James Rushout, Baronet, of Northwick. New 
College, Oxford, 1711. M.P. for Worcester, 1718-1743. Opposed 



Worthies of Worcestershire. 145 

Walpole with much vigour, and was called the " Motion-maker." In 
1742 appointed Chancellor of the Exchequer and Privy Counsellor. 
Created Lord Sandys, Baron of Ombersley, 20th December, 1743 ; 
Cofferer of the Household, 1743 ; Treasurer of the Chamber, 1747-55; 
Warden and Chief Justice in Eyre of the King's Forests south of 
the Trent, 1756 ; Speaker of the House of Lords, 1756 ; first Lord 
of Trade and Plantations, 1761-3. He married (1724) Letitia, 
daughter of Sir Thomas Tipping, Bart., of Wheatfield, Oxfordshire, 
by wliom he had seven sons and three daughters. He died in 
London, and is buried at Ombersley. 

*SARGANT, WILLIAM LUCAS (1809-1899), born at King's 
Norton. Educated at Edgbaston, under Thomas Hill, and at Trinity 
College, Cambridge ; returned home to enter his father's business 
of manufacturing military equipment in Birmingham. He took part 
ill the life of the city, especially in education. He helped in the 
reconstruction of King Edward's School, and founded the National 
Education League. As a Churchman, he advocated religious education, 
and held his own in spite of opposition, but his fairness was generally 
admitted. He also wrote on economical subjects. 

-SAVAGE, HENEY, D.D. (1604 ?-I672), born at Eldersfield, and 
educated at Balliol, of which he was elected a Fellow in 1628. la 
1640 he travelled in France with Lord Sandys, and thereby shook 
off " his academic morosity and rusticity." On his return to Oxford, 
he submitted to the Parliamentary visitors ; was made Eector of 
Sherborne, and succeeded Dr. Bradshaw as Master of Balliol in 
1651, when he took his D.D. degree. At the Eestoration he was 
appointed Chaplain to Charles II. In 1665 he married Mary, sister 
of Lord Sandys, by whom he had seven children. He was buried 
in Balliol Chapel. Besides his writings in Church defence, he 
compiled a history of Balliol College, which is of value, in spite of 
inaccuracies, as being the first attempt at a collego history. 

SCOTT, WILLIAM (1760-1834), eldest son of John Scott, of 
Stourbridge. Educated under the Eev. Noah Jones, of Walsall, 
and the Eev. Eadcliffe Scholefield, of Birmingham. In conjunction 
with his brother John he conducted very successfully the cloth 
manufactory in Stourbridge, from which they retired in 1808. 
Married in 1795 Alicia Pynock, of Tewkesbury. He was a leader 
of the Presbyterian (now Unitarian) body in Stourbridge, and 



146 Short Biographies of the 

zealous and generous in good works. He transcribed the Eegister 
of Baptisms from 1709, and also wrote the " Becords of the 
Congregation" from 1662, and other local subjects. His chief work 
was the " History of Stourbridge and its Vicinity," published 1832. 

■-;=SEBEIGHT, SIR JOHN SAUNDERS (1767-1846), seventh 
baronet, of Besford, Worcestershire, and Beechwood, Herts. His 
mother was Sarah, daughter of Edward Knight, of Wolverley, and 
he came of a family settled in the county since the 14th century, 
of whom Edward Sebright had been High Sheriff in 1662, and created 
first baronet in 1626. Sir John Sebright sat in Parlia'.nent for 
Hertfordshire from 1807 till the end of the first reformed Parliament. 
He seconded the motion for leave to bring in the first Reform Bill, 
and supported the later ones. He refused to be considered a party 
man, but his views on free trade, game laws, and usury laws, were 
those of an advanced whig. 

SEBRIGHT, WILLIAM (d. 1620), born at Blakeshall,Wolverley, 
the representative of a family seated there temp. Henry III. M.P. 
for Droitwich, 1572-84. He V7as Town Clerk of London, 1574, and 
about that time purchased Besford from the Harewells. He left 
an estate for Wolverley Grammar School, for repairing the Church 
and four bridges, and for the poor of Kidderminster, Bewdley, 
Ribbesford, Chaddesley, &c. He left no children, but was styled 
" the living father of the poor of Wolverley." The charity estate 
was chiefly situated in London, and has increased immensely of 
late through the expiration of the old leases. He bestowed Besford 
on his nephew Edward, who was made a baronet 1626. 

-SEWARD, THOMAS (1708-1790), son of John Seward, of 
Badsey, was educated at Cambridge; M.A., 1734. Rector of Eyam, 
Derbyshire, and of Kingsley, Staffs. ; obtained prebends in Lichfield 
and Salisbury Cathedrals, 1755. At Lichfield he made the 
acquaintance of Dr. Johnson, and is described by Boswell as a 
" genteel, well-bred dignified clergyman, who had lived much in 
the world." He married Elizabeth, daughter of John Hunter, 
headmaster of Lichfield Grammar school, and his daughter was 
ANNE SEWARD, the authoress. He edited ''Beaumont and 
Fletcher." 



Worthies of Worcestershire. 147 

*SHELDON, EALPH (1623-1684), born at Beoley, the son of 
William Sheldon. He formed a fine library at Weston, Warwick- 
shire, collected curios, and was learned in the history and antiquities 
of his county. He suffered for king and faith during the Civil 
War, and at the EestoraiJon was named by Charles II. as one of 
the contemplated Order of the Royal Oak. He was a man "of 
such remarkable integrity, charity, and hospitality as gained him 
the univer.sal esteem of all the gentlemen of the county; insomuch 
that he usually went by the name of The Great Sheldon." His 
chief work was "J. Catalogue of the Nobility of England since the 
Norman Conquest.'' 

*SHELTON, THOMAS (fl. 1612-1620), the first translator of 
''Don Quixote" mto English, 1612. Possibly he is identical with 
Thomas Shelton, a Worcestershire gentleman who matriculated 
from Oriel College, Oxford. 

*SHENSTONE, WILLIAM (1714-1763), born at Halesowen, 
son of Thomas Shenstone, by Ann, daughter of William Penn, of 
Harborough Hall, Hagley. Educated at Halesowen School and 
Pembroke College, Oxford. When 19, he wrote a mock heroic 
poem, " The Diamond " ; in 1737 printed a small volume of "Poems "; 
in 1741 "The Judgment of Hercules" ; 1742 " The Schoolmistress" 
(revised from his "Poems"). Robert Dodsley issued his "Collection 
of Poems" in five volumes, 1748-1758, and in 1764-9 sent to the 
press in 3 vols, his collected writings, letters, essays, &c. Shenstone's 
fame rests more on his taste in landscape gardening. In 1745 he 
took his estate, the Leasowes, into his own hands, and spent the 
rest of his life, and more of his money than was wise, in beautifying 
the grounds, until they were, says Dr. Johnson, "a place to be 
visited by travellers, and copied by designers." He is buried in 
Halesowen Churchyard. 

SHEPPARD, JOHN GEORGE (1818-1869), Fellow of Wadham 
College, Oxford ; B.A., 1839. Select Preacher, 1856-7 ; and author 
of St. Paul at Athens (Prize Poem), Christian Citizenship, Thucydides, 
Fall of the Roman Empire and Bise of the New Nationalities, and 
(in conjunction with Dr. Dawson Turner) Aids to Classical Study. 
Head Master of King Charles I. School, Kidderminster, 1851-69. 
Buried in St. John's Churchyard. 



148 Short Biographies of the 

SHEEIFF, ALEXANDBE CLQNES (1816-1878), son of 
Alexander Sheriff, of Perdiswell Hall. An eminent iron-master. 
Chairman of Eoyal Porcelain Co., and of the Worcester Engine 
Works Co., a Director of the Metropolitan Eailway, &c., and of 
the Eussian Vyksounsky Iron Works Co. Twice Mayor of Worcester 
and M.P., 1865-78. 

*SHEEWOOD, MAEY MAETHA (1775-1851), born at Stanford- 
on-Teme, the elder daughter of Dr. G. Butt, Vicar of Kidderminster 
and Eector of Stanford. In 1790 she went to the Abbey School 
at Eeading. Published her first tale, " The Traditions," in 1794. 
Her father died in 1795, and the family went to live at Bridgnorth; 
here she wrote "Margarita" and "Susan Gray," printed in 1802. 
In 1803 she married her cousin, Captain Henry Sherwood, of the 
53rd foot. Mrs. Sherwood went with her husband to India, and 
devoted herself to charitable work, especially for soldiers' orphans. 
"Little Henry and his bearer" was written in 1814, and has gone 
through a hundred editions including translations in French, German, 
Hindustani, Chinese, and Cingalese. She wrote over 95 stories 
chiefly for the young. The first part of " The Fairchild Family " 
appeared in 1818, and has gone through many editions. All her 
books were popular in America. 16 vols, of her " Works " were 
published at New York in 1855. 

*SIDDONS, SAEAH (1755-1831), born at Brecon, daughter of 
Eoger Kemble, of Hereford, and his wife Sarah [Ward] , of Leominster. 
Mr. Kemble was manager of a company of players who went on 
circuit in the western midlands between Coventry, Worcester, 
Droitwich, Bewdley, Stourbridge, Shrewsbury, Ludlow, and Brecon. 
Mrs. Kemble was a good sensible mother who brought up her 
children carefully, and taught her daughter singing and elocution. 
Her early education was imparted at Thornlea House, Worcester, 
by Mrs. Harris. At the age of eleven she made her first recorded 
Shakespearean appearance at Worcester in the Tempest as Ariel. 
A play-bill of King Charles the First at the Worcester "Theatre" — a 
stable in the backyard of the King's Head Inn, opposite the Town 
Hall — contains the line 

" Duke of Bichmond : Mr. Siddons." 
To this William Siddons Sarah Kemble engaged herself when she 
was sixteen. Her parents refused their consent, and for two years 
she lived in retirement at Guy's Cliffe, Warwick, as companion 



Worthies of Worcestershire. 149 

and reader to Lady Mary Greatheed. But on November 26th, 1773, 
William and Sarah were married at Trinity Church, Coventry, and 
resumed work on the Kemble circuit. She was for the first time 
announced as " Mrs. Siddons " on a Worcester play-bill, Dec. 13th, 
1773. In 1774 she gained attention at Cheltenham, and was 
engaged by David Garrick to play at Drury Lane, London. Here 
her reception was cold, and then for five years she went to the 
country, and met with brilliant successes at Manchester, Bath, and 
Bristol. In 1782 she was re-engaged at Drury Lane, and achieved 
the triumphs which won for her the title of the "Incomparable 
Siddons." She retired from the stage in 1812. She is buried in 
Paddington Churchyard, and her bust by Chantrey is in Westminster 
Abbey. Her portrait, by Reynolds, as The Tragic Muse, was 
pronounced by Sir T. Lawrence as " indisputably the finest female 
portrait in the world." She was also painted by Romney, Gains- 
borough, Harlow, and Lawrence. 

*SIDNEY, MARY, COUNTESS OF PEMBROKE (1561-1621), 
daughter of Sir Henry Sidney, K.G., President of the Marches of 
Wales, and Lord Lieutenant of Ireland, by Mary, daughter of John 
Dudley, Duke of Northumberland. Lady Sidney's brothers were 
the Earls of Warwick and Leicester (of " Kenilworth ") and Lord 
Guildford Dudley, husband of Lady Jane Grey, the nine days' 
Queen of England. Mary Sidney was born at Ticknell, Bewdley. 
Biographers have hitherto overlooked the fact that this distinguished 
lady belonged to Worcestershire, but the proof is indisputable. 
In Gloucestershire Notes and Queries, part xii., is some account of 
the Rev. Walter Sweeper who was buried at Stroud, June 9th, 
1636. He published a discourse on Proverbs xii., 16, with a preface 
in which he says : " I intended to dedicate this to your truly noble 
sister, the late deceased Countesse of Pembrock, in token of my 
thankfultiesse for her continuall favours shewed ever since she and 
my Lord, her husband, placed me in Bewdley, where she first 
drew her happie breath ; which place of her birth is styled by an 
ancient Poet, Dclitium rerum bellus locus." The Chapel and 
Bridgewardens' Accounts {History of Beiudley, p. xii.) show (1596) 
payments to the Ringers at the entry of Lord Pembroke ixd., and 
" for things given to the Countess by the townswomen, £X. 15." 
Also " 1597, the 3rd Aprill, Mr. Sweeper's wages the first payment 
£1." George Southall, the previous Curate, had been inducted to 



150 Short Biogravhies of the 

the Eectory of Eibbesford, 19th January, 1597. In 1598 the 
" townswomen " made a further gift to the lady whom they had 
seen grow up from childhood of a sugar loaf, two boxes of comfits, 
and four boxes of marmalade. Her only brother, Sir Philip Sidney, 
was about six years of age when his father came to live at Bewdley 
and Ludlow, and he was her constant companion in childhood. 
Mary Sidney was carefully educated, acquiring a knowledge of 
Latin, Greek, and Hebrew. Her last surviving sister Ambrosia 
died at Ludlow in 1575, and then Queen Elizabeth invited her to 
reside in the Eoyal household. In 1577 she was married to Henry 
Herbert, Earl of Pembroke. In 1580 her brother Philip stayed for 
some months at Wilton, and at his sister's suggestion began his 
Arcadia, printed in 1590. Lady Pembroke was a generous patron 
of poets and men of letters. Spenser dedicated to her his " Buines 
of Time," and in " Colin Clout's Come Home Again " describes her 
under the name of " Urania, sister unto Astrofell," as " the ornament 
of womankind." Fraunce, Daniel, and Breton dedicated their works 
to her. Moffat, Nashe, Harvey, Donne, Ben Jonson, and John 
Taylor were other 'proteges. Her eldest son William was a great 
friend and patron of William Shakespeare, and to him Shakespeare's 
Sonnets were dedicated. The Countess herself holds no mean place 
in the literature of her age. She wrote a " Version of the Psalms," 
the poem of " Antonius,'' and a " Disco^irse of Life and Death," 
translated from the French of Philip Morney. In 1615 James I. 
granted her for life the Eoyal manor of Houghton Conquest. She 
died at Crosby Hall, London, and is buried beside her husband in 
Salisbury Cathedral. Her epitaph as "Sidney's sister, Pembroke's 
mother," is universally known. 

SILVESTER OF EVESHAM (d. 1218). Consecrated as 
Bishop of Worcester at Perugia, 1216. Ee-dedicated the Cathedral 
in honour of St. Mary, St. Peter, St. Oswald, and St. Wulstan. 
King Henry III. was present at the ceremony. 

SIMCOX, WILLIAM HENEY (1841-1889), son of George 
Price Simcox, of Kidderminster. Educated at King Charles I. 
School under Dr. Sheppard. Scholar of Balliol, 1860 ; First-class 
Lit. Hum., 1864. Craven Scholar; Gaisford Greek Prose Prize; 
Theological Scholar and English Essay; Arnold Historical Essay. 
Fellow of Queen's College. 1864-70. Eector of Weyhill, Hants, 
1869-85, and of Harlaxton, Lines., 1885-87, He v^Tote " Beginnings 



Worthies of Worcestershire. 151 

of the Christian Church," 1881, and edited " The Orations of 
Demosthenes and JEschines on the Crotvn," 1872, and " Tacitus' 
Histories," 1875. His elder brother, GEOEGE AUGUSTUS 
SIMCOX, was also educated at Kidderminster School, and had a 
brilliant career at Oxford. Scholar of Corpus Christi, 1858 ; Eirst 
Class Moderations, 1860 ; Ireland University Scholar, 1861 ; Craven 
Scholar, 1862 ; Eellow of Queen's, and Latin Essay Prize, 1864. 
His chief publication was a " History of Latin Literature," 2 vols., 
1883. He fell from a cliff on the Giants' Causeway when on a 
tour in Ireland, and his body was never found. 

SIMON (d. 1151), Chaplain to Queen Adeliza. Bishop of 
Worcester, 1125. During the Civil War in 1139 King Stephen 
was welcomed by the Citizens. The City was burnt soon after by 
the troops of the Empress Maud, but the Cathedral was spared. 
Bishop Simon consecrated the Prioiy of Llantony and St. Augustine's 
Monastery at Bristol. The interior of the Chapter-house was 
rebuilt, and two western bays were added to the nave. 

*SKEY, EEEDERIC CAEPENTER (1798-1879), born at 
Upton-oii-Severn, second son of George Skey, a Russian merchant. 
Studied under Dr. Abernethy, and became Lecturer on Anatomy 
at St. Bartholomew's Hospital, 1843-65. F.R.S., 1837. Professor 
of Human Anatomy, and afterwards President of the Royal College 
of Surgeons. For his able services as Chairman of the Committee 
on contagious diseases he was made C.B. He wrote " Operative 
Surgery," 1851, and "Hysteria," 1867. 

*SKINNER, ROBERT (1591-1670), Fellow of Trinity College, 
Oxford, 1613. Bishop of Bristol, 1636-41; of Oxford, 1641-63; 
and of Worcester, 1663-70. Imprisoned in the Tower, 1641. 

SLEATH, ROBERT (d. 1805), was known as "the man who 
stopped the King," because he refused to allow George III. to pass 
his turnpike gate without paying toll, when the King was on his 
way to visit Bishop Hurd at Hartlebury. At his death the following 
lines appeared in the Annual Begister : — 

" On Wednesday last old Robert Sleath 
Passed through the turnpike gate of death ; 
To him would Death no toll abate. 
Who stopped the King at Worcester gate." 



152 Short Biogra.'phies of the 

*SMITH, EDMUND (1672-1710), born either at Hanley Castle 
or Tenbury, son of Edmund Neale, a London merchant, by Margaret 
daughter of Sir Nicholas Lechmere. The boy was left an orphan, 
and was adopted by an uncle, Mathew Smith. Educated at 
Westminster and Christchurch. Wrote excellent Latin verses, but 
was expelled in 1705 for riotous conduct. Went to London, and 
was helped by Addison. In 1707 his tragedy of " Phcedrus and 
HippoUtus " was acted at the Haymarket Theatre, but met with 
more favour when printed than it received on the stage. His elegy 
on John Philips (1708) is in Dr. Johnson's opinion " among the 
best elegies which our language can show." Buried at Hartham. 

*SMITH, MILES (d. 1624), eon of a flechier, born at Hereford. 
Corpus Christi and Brasenose Colleges, Oxford. D.D., 1594. A 
great Latiu and Greek scholar, and unsurpassed in Hebrew. Eector 
of Hartlebury, 1589-1624, and of Upton-on-Severn, 1604-24. One 
of the leading translators of our Authorised Version of the Bible, to 
which he also wrote the Preface. Bishop of Gloucester, 1612-24. 
Author of an Assize Sermon preached at Worcester, and editor of 
Bishop Babington s Works. 

*SMITH, RICHARD (1500-1563), born in Worcestershire. 
Merton College, Oxford; B.A., 1527. Registrar of the University, 
1532; first Regius Professor of Divinity, and D.D., 1536. Master 
of Whittington College, London, 1537. One of the divines selected 
to write "The Instittition of a Christian Man''; Rector of St. 
Dunstan's-in-the-East; Rector of Cuxham, Oxfordshire ; and Principal 
of St. Alban Hall. In 1547, at St. Paul's Cross, he declared that 
the authority of the Bishop of Rome had been justly abolished in 
this realm. In 1549 had a public disputation with Peter Martyr 
at Oxford, and was imprisoned. When released, fled abroad and 
was appointed Professor of Divinity in Louvain University, 1549. 
Queen Mary restored to him his professorship at Oxford, and made 
him her Chaplain and Canon of Christchurch. He was witness 
against Cranmer, and disputed with Ridley and Latimer at Oxford, 
1554. Before these Bishops were burnt Smith preached the sermon. 
Under Elizabeth he was deprived of his preferments, and became 
Professor and Chancellor of the new University of Douai, 1562. 
He wrote more than 20 books, chiefly controversial theology. 




MILES SMITH, D.D., 

Rector of Hartlebury. 1589-1624; 

Bishop of Gloucester, 1612-1624. 

One of the Translators of the Bible, to which he also wrote 

the Preface, 161 1. 




KiidlUr piiixit 



JOHN SOMERS (1631-1716) 

Lord Chancellor of England, 1697-1700. 

Born at Worcester. 



Worthies of Worcestershire. 153 

*SMITH, SAMUEL (1584-1662?), son of William Smith, Vicar 
of Dudley. St. Mary Hall, Oxford. Vicar of Prittlewell, Essex. 
Curate of Cound and Cressage, 1648. Became a Presbyterian 
preacher, and an Assistant to the Commissioners for the ejection 
of " scandalous ministers." At the Eestoratiori he was deprived of 
his benefice. His religious works were popular. " The Great Assize" 
and "^ Fold of Christ's Sheep" each went through 40 editions. 

-SMITH, WILLIAM (1711-1787), born at Worcester, his father 
being rector of All Saints. He was educated at Queen Elizabeth's 
School and at New College, Oxford. M.A., 1737; D.D. and Dean 
of Chester, 1758. He spoke Latin fluently, and was an excellent 
Greek and Hebrew scholar. He made many translations, much 
thought of in their day, but is best known by his translation of 
"Longinus on the Sublime." He also published Sermons, and after 
his death his Poems appeared. 

*SNELL, HANNAH (1723-1792), born in Friar Street, Worcester; 
in 1745 enlisted in the name of John Gray, and served both as 
soldier and sailor for five years. She was present at the siege of 
Pondicherry, and was wounded, but her sex was undiscovered until 
she made oath thereof before the Lord Mayor of London in 1750. 
The King granted her a pension of 1/- per day for life. She 
married three times, and died in Bedlam. A chap-book history of 
her adventures was printed in 1750. 

SOILLI, HENEY DE (d. 1195), Prior of Bermondsey ; Abbot 
of Glastonbury ; Bishop of Worcester (1193-95). 

*SOMERS, JOHN (1651-1716), born at Whiteladies, in the 
parish of Claines, son of John Somers, an attorney, by Catherine, 
youngest daughter of John Severne, of Powick. Educated at King's 
School, and Trinity College, Oxford; Middle Temple, 1669; called 
to the bar, 1676; bencher, 1689. Among his patrons and friends 
were Sir Francis Winnington, Solicitor-General, 1675-9, Charles 
Talbot, Earl of Shrewsbury, Lord William Russell, and Algernon 
Sidney. Somers was an earnest student of English law, and 
appeared as Junior Counsel for the Seven Bishops in the famous 
trial, June, 1688. His powerful appeal to the jury virtually decided 
the case. As M.P. for Worcester, 1689, he took the lead in the 
debates which settled the new relations of the monarchy, and 



154 Short Biographies of the 

presided over the Committee which drew up the " Declaration of 
Rights." Solicitor-General, and Knight, 1689. He conducted the 
prosecution of Lord Preston ; and as Attorney-General, 1692, he 
prosecuted Lord Mohun for murder. In 1693 Somers was made 
a Privy Counsellor and Lord Keeper of the Great Seal. In 1697 
he became Lord Chancellor of England, and was created Baron 
Sommers of Evesham, receiving grants of the royal manors of 
Ryegate and Howlegh, Surrey, and a pension of £2,100. He 
encouraged literature and art, promoted Bishop Burnet's Scheme, 
now known as Queen Anne's Bounty, granted a pension to Addison, 
and gave great help to the antiquaries, Rymer and Madox. Swift's 
"Tale of a Tub" was dedicated to him (1704). In 1699 he was 
elected President of the Royal Society. In 1694 he supported 
the King in his refusal to renew the Licensing Act, thus securing 
the " liberty of the press." In 1695 he was one of the lords 
justices who formed the Council of Regency while the King was 
leading his army abroad. His favour with the King led to loss 
of popularity in 1698 ; and in 1700 Somers surrendered the great 
seal. In 1701 he was impeached before the House of Lords but 
acquitted. In the early part of Queen Anne's reign Somers was 
the head of the Whig Junto while the Tories were in power, but 
from 1708-10 he was President of the Council. Under George I. 
he accepted a place in the cabinet without office, was voted a 
pension of £2,000, and appointed Custos Rotulorum of Worcester- 
shire and Commissioner of Coronation Claims, 1714. His health 
was shattered, and he died 26th April, 1716, at North Minims, 
Hertfordshire. He was unmarried, and his title became extinct. 
His library went to Sir William Jekyll, his brother-in-law ; from 
it were derived the "Somers' Tracts," 16 vols. 4to, London, 1809-13. 
His MSS. came to the Hon. C. Yorke, and were mostly burnt in 
a fire, 1752. Portraits are in the National Portrait Gallery and at 
the Middle Temple. Kneller's went to Lord Hardwicke and the 
Kit-Cat to Mr. Baker, of Bayfordbury. Mary Somers, his elder 
sister, married Charles Cocks, M.P. for Worcester, 1659, whose 
grandson, Sir Charles Cocks, Bart., was created 17th May, 1784, 
Baron Somers of Evesham. Elizabeth married Sir Joseph Jekyll, 
Master of the Rolls. 

STAFFORD, SIR HUMPHREY (d. 1450), son of Sir Humphrey 
Stafford, of Grafton. He and his brother William were slain 
by the rebels under Jack Cade. They figure as characters in 



Worthies of Worcestershire. 155 

Shakespeare's Henry VI., parfc ii. Sir Humphrey married Eleanor, 
daughter of Sir Thomas Aylesbury, of Blatherwick, Northants, and 
is buried at Bromsgrove. 

STEYNOR, EGBERT (fl. 1690), sank two salt pits upon his 
own freehold land at Droitwich, 1690. After various expensive 
suits in Chancery it was finally decided that he had the right to 
sink the pits in spite of King John's grant of the town and salt- 
works. The monopoly being thus broken up, the salt trade rapidly 
extended, and the price of salt was reduced from 2/- per bushel to 
fourpence. Owing to his lawsuits, Steynor, who had originally 
an estate of £1000 a year, was obliged to accept a pension of 17s. 
a week from the parishes of St. Andrew and St. Nicholas, Droitwich. 
[See Lane, Sir Richard] . 

*STILLINGPLEET, EDWARD (1635-1699), a Dorset man. 
Fellow of St. John's College, Cambridge, 1653. Dean of St. Paul's, 
1675 ; Bishop of Worcester, 1689. He was a popular preacher, a 
theologian of latitudinarian views, and a scholar, whose " Origines 
Britanniae " still is held for a sound book. He did much work 
for William III., but he was a tolerant man, and met the dissenters 
in his diocese more by paper controversies than by any other 
means. His " Works" were edited by Bentley in 1710. The great 
master of Trinity, Richard Bentley, was his Chaplain, and he 
appointed him Rector of Hartlebury. He planted the lime avenue 
at the Castle. His son James and his grandson Edward (q.v.) 
became Rectors of Hartlebury. His great-grandson JAMES 
STILLINGFLEET (1729-1817) was an eminent Hebrew scholar. 
Fellow of Wadham, and afterwards of Merton College, Oxford. 
Rector of St. Martin's and of St. John's, Worcester, and also of 
Knightwick and Doddenham. Prebendary of Worcester for 45 
years. Died at Malvern; buried in the Cathedral. Published 
several Sermons. 

*STREET, SIR THOMAS (1626-1696), son of George Street, 
of Worcester. Went to Oxford, but left without a degree. Inner 
Temple, 1646; bencher, 1669. From 1658-80 he was M.P. for 
Worcester, in spite of an early effort to unseat him on the grounds 
that he used profane language and had borne arms for the King. 
He was also Sub-secretary and Counsel to the Dean and Chapter. 
Justice for South Wales in 1677, a Serjeant-at-law and King's 



156 Short Biographies of the 

Serjeant. In 1681 he was raised to the Exchequer bench and 
knighted, and was one of the Judges of the Eye House Plot in 
1683. In 1681 he was moved to the Court of Comnaon Pieas, and 
his patent was renewed by James II., but under William III. he 
retired, and went back to Worcester. Buried in the South Cloister 
of the Cathedral; his monument is in the north transept. His 
wife was Penelope, daughter of Sir Eowland Berkeley, of Cotheridge 
(q v.), by whom he had one daughter. 

*STEICKLAND, HUGH EDWIN (1811-1853), son of H. E. 
Strickland, of Apperley, Glos., by Mary, daughter of Edmund 
Cartwright, D.D., inventor of the power loom; born at Eighton, 
Yorks. Collected fossils when a boy and invented wind gauge. 
Educated at Laleham School under the great Dr. Arnold ; and 
afterwards at Oriel College, Oxford, where he attended Buckland's 
lectures on geology. B,A., 1832. His parents now resided at 
Cracombe House, Evesham, and his vacations were spent in the 
railway cuttings then being begun. He had a talent for rapidly 
grasping the geological features of a district, and joined with 
E Lees (q.v.) in making the first geological map of Worcestershire 
for Sir Charles Hastings' (qv.) "Illustrations," 1834. In 1835 
Hastings introduced him to Sir Eoderick Murchison, wliotn he 
assisted with the geological ordnance map. Murchison came to 
Evesham with W. J. Hamiiton, Secretary of the Geological Society 
(1832-54), and this introduction led to a joint scientific tour through 
the Levant, described in Hamilton's " Researches iu Asia Minor, 
Pontus, and Armenia,'" 1842. The results were given by Strickland 
in six papers read before the Geological Society. Later he resided 
at Apperley Green, near Worcester, and in conjunction with 
Murchison worked out the New Eed Sandstone formation of 
Gloucestershire, Worcestershire, and Warwickshire. Deputy Eeader 
in Geology at Oxford, 1849. F.E.S., 1852. Killed while examining 
a railway cutting between Eetford and Gainsborough. Married 
Catherine, daughter of Sir William Jardine. For list of his local 
papers see Mills' "Bibliography," pp. 159-168; a,nd " Memoirs " hy 
Sir W. Jardine, 1858. 

STUEGE, CHAELES (1802-1888), son of Joseph Sturge, of 
Elverton, Gloucestershire, and younger brother of Joseph Sturge, 
the eminent Quaker philanthropist, and Alderman, of Birmingham. 
He resided for many years as a cornfactor at Wribbenhall and 



Worthies of Worcestershire. 157 

EdgbastoD, and persuaded John Bright to stand for Birnaingham 
in 1858. He was one of the guests on the first train which ran 
between Manchester and Liverpool when Huskisson (q-V.) was 
killeii. The Duke of WelHngton was on the same car, an open 
one ; and being then unpopular on account of the corn laws, was 
assailed with stones and mud by an angry mob. Sturge and other 
men crowded in front of the ladies on the car to protect them 
and their gala dresses. Joseph and Charles Sturge went on an 
embassy of peace to the Tsar Nicholas before the Crimean War, 
and were kindly received. On their return, Queen Victoria gave 
them an audience to hear about their mission. When C. Sturge 
was asked whether, as a Quaker, he minded kissing the Queen's 
hand, he replied that she was a comely young woman, 

*SWADLIN, THOMAS (1600-1670), born in Worcestershire. 
B.A., St. John's College, Oxford, 1619 ; D.D., 1646. Minister of 
St. Botolph's, Aldgate, where he gained celebrity as a preacher; 
but as a friend of Bishop Laud he suffered persecution, and was 
imprisoned in Newgate. When released he retired to Oxford. At the 
Eestoration he again received preferment, and in 1664 became 
Rector of All Saints, Stamford, where he died and was buried. 
He published many religious and Eoyalist books. 

*SYMONDS, WILLIAM SAMUEL (1818-1887), son of WiUiam 
Symonds, of Elsdon Hall, Herefordshire. Educated at Cheltenham 
and Christ's College, Cambridge. B.A., 1842. Curate of Welland, 
and afterwards Eector of Pendock. A keen student of local 
geology, and published many papers from 1855 onwards. [See 
Bihliography of Worcestershire, II., pp. 169-203] . His chief works 
were "Old Stones," 1855, 2nd ed., 1880; "Stones of the Valley," 
1857; " Old Bones," 1860, 2nd ed., 1864; " Becords of the Bocks," 
1872; "The Severn Straits," 1884. He also wrote two historical 
novels which have passed through several editions, viz., " Malvern 
Chase" (the Wars of the Eoses), and " Hanley Castle" (the 
Parliamentary Wars). He was buried at Pendock. His son Powell, 
14th Eegiment, served in the last Maori War where he was wounded. 
Henry Francis was Vice-Consul of the Eriendly Islands and Deputy 
Commissioner of The Western Pacific. His daughter Hyacinth 
married (1) Sir William Jardine, Bart., and (2) Sir Joseph Hooker, 
O.M., K.C.S.L, P.E.S. 



158 Short Biographies of the 

TALBOT, SIR GILBERT, E.G. (d. 1516), third son of John, 
second Earl of Shrewsbury, by Elizabeth, daughter of James 
Butler, Earl of Ormond. Commanded the right wing of the Earl 
of Richmond's army at Bosworth, 1485, and was rewarded with 
the manor of Grafton and other lands in Worcestershire forfeited 
by the attainder of Humphrey Stafford. Was one of the com- 
manders at the battle of Stoke, 1487. Steward of Feckenham 
Park, 1493. K.G. and Governor of Calais, 1495. Buried at 
Whitchurch in Shropshire. On the death of Edward, eighth Earl 
of Shrewsbury, 1618, the Earldom came to a descendent of this 
Sir Gilbert. CHARLES, twelfth Earl and only Duke of Shrewsbury 
(1660-1718), supported William of Orange. Lord Lieutenant of 
Worcestershire, 1690. Principal Secretary of State, Duke, and K.G., 
1694. As Treasurer, Lord Justice, and Lord Lieutenant of Ireland at 
the death of Queen Anne he was chiefly instrumental in securing 
the peaceable Hanoverian succession. 

-TALBOT, WILLIAM (1659?-1730). Bishop of Durham, 
1721-30 ; was Dean of Worcester, 1691-1715, and Bishop of Oxford, 
1699-1715. Erected the external spires of the Cathedral in 1712. 
His eldest son CHARLES was Lord Chancellor, 1733-37, and was 
created Lord Talbot. 

TANGYE, JOSEPH (1826-1902), son of Joseph Tangye, of 
Camborne, Cornwall. Developed great mechanical ability, and went 
to Birmingham in 1855, where he started, in conjunction with his 
brothers, the well-known Cornwall Works, which developed many 
patented inventions, especially gas-engines. They also set up 
Cleopatra's needle on the Thames Embankment. In 1873 he 
purchased the old Ticknell Palace at Bewdley from the Crown. His 
study was fitted up with a lathe worked by electricity, and here he 
spent several hours daily in working out new mechanical inventions. 
He was a member of the Society of Friends, and was encouraged 
in his early efforts by Joseph and Charles Sturge (q.v.). 

*TATWIN (d. 734), a monk of Bredon, became Archbishop 
of Canterbury, 731. Successfully maintained the supremacy of 
Canterbury over York, and received as metropolitan the pallium from 
Pope Gregory III. Wrote Aenigmata in Latin hexameters, and 
other poems. 



Worthies of Worcestershire. 159 

*TAYLOE, ISAAC (1730-1807), bora in the parish of St. Michael 
in Bedwardine, Worcester, son of William and Ann Taylor. Helped 
his father as brassfounder, silversmith, and engraver. Engraved 
in 1747 Triumphal Arch to commemorate the return of Mr. Tracy 
as M.P. for Worcester. Left his home for London in 1752, and 
executed plates for " Gentleman's Magazine " with Thomas Jeffreys. 
Illustrated Owen's " Dictionary " and Tooke's '^Pantheon," " The Fool 
of Quality," " Sir Charles Grandison," Chambers' " Cyclopoedta," &c. 
Bewick says : " Not many plates have been superior to these." 
Among Taylor's personal friends were Bartolozzi, Goldsmith, Garrick, 
Smith, and Fuseli. His wife was Sarah H. Jeffreys, by whom he 
had several distinguished children. 

His brother JAMES TAYLOR (1745-1797), also born in 
Worcester, attained distinction as a china-painter and magazine- 
illustrator in London. There were five artists in this family, engravers. 

This family is referred to in Sir Erancis Galton's " Hereditary 
Geniusr The second ISAAC TAYLOR (1759-1829) was an engraver 
and nonconformist pastor at Ongar, whose daughters Anne and 
Jane were writers of " Hymns for Infant minds" including " Tioinkle, 
tioinhle, littla star" and " il% Mother." The third ISAAC (1787- 
1865) was the author of " The Natural History of Enthusiasm." 
The fourth ISAAC was Canon of York, best known by his " Words 
and Places" the standard work on the origin of place-names. 

TEMPLE, SIR RICHARD (1828-1902), son of Richard Temple, 
of The Nash, Kempsey. Educated at Rugby and at Haileybury. 
Entered Indian Civil Service, ]847. Was Resident at Court of 
Nizam of the Deccan at Hyderabad ; Foreign Secretary to the 
Government of India, and Secretary to the Order of the Star of 
India ; Financial Member, 1868-74 ; Lieut.-Governor of Bengal, 
1874-7 ; Governor of Bombay, 1877-80 ; thanked by Governor- 
General in Council for services rendered during Afghan Wars, 
1878-80. During the famine in Bengal (1874) he organised the 
relief operations with immense energy and skill. M.P. for Evesham, 
1885-92; Vice-Chairman of London School Board, 1885-88. M.P. 
for Kingston, 1892-95. C.S.L, 1867; K.C.S.I., 1868; G.C.S.L 
and CLE., 1879 ; Hon. D.C.L., Oxford, 1880 ; Hon. LL.D., Camb., 
1883. Created a Baronet, 1876. Married (1) Charlotte F. Martindale, 
1849, and (2) Mary Augusta Lindsay. Author of " Men and Events 
of my time in India." His son Sir Richard, second Bart., has had 
a distinguished military, diplomatic, and literary career. 



160 Short Biographies of the 

*THACKWELL, SIE JOSEPH (1781-1859), fourth son of John 
Thackwell, of Birtsmorton Court. Comet 15th Light Dragoons, 
1800; Captain, 1807. Was in the retreat to Corunna, 1808. 
Fought at Vittoria and the Pyrenees, 1813. Had two horses shot 
under him and lost his left arm at Waterloo, and was promoted 
Major on that day. Lieut. -Colonel, 1817, and commanded his 
regiment for 12 years. Went to India, 1830, in command of 3rd 
Light Dragoons; K.C.B., 1839. Served under Sir Hugh Gough 
in first and second Sikh wars. Eeceived the thanks of Parliament 
for the third time, and G.C.B., 1849, In 1854 he was appointed 
Inspector-General of Cavalry and Lieut.-General. Died at Aghada 
Hall, Co. Cork. 

His son OSBEET DABITOT THACKWELL (1837-1858), 
Lieutenant, 1856, was killed at Lucknow. 

THEULF (d. 1125), Canon of Bayeux and Chaplain to Adeliza, 
Queen of Henry I. Bishop of Worcester, 1115-25. Assisted by 
Bishops from Wales and Ireland in the consecration of Tewkesbury 
Abbey Church. 

*THOMAS, WILLIAM (1613-1689). Jesus College, Oxford; 
M.A,, 1635. Bishop of Worcester, was translated from St. David's 
in 1683. Dean of Worcester, 1665. Eector of Hampton Lovett, 
1670. Eeformed the Cathedral services. He was known for his 
hospitality and charity, and entertained James II., but refused to 
distribute the Declaration of Indulgence among his clergy. He 
also refused to take the oaths to William III., but died before he 
was deprived, and was buried in the south cloister. 

-THOMAS, WILLIAM (1670-1738), grandson of Bishop 
Thomas (q.v.) and of William Bagnall, who provided a horse ready 
saddled for Charles II. after the battle of Worcester. Educated 
at Westminster and at Trinity College, Cambridge. D.D., 1729. 
Eector of St. Nicholas, Worcester, 1723. PubHshed " Antiquitates 
Prioratus Majoris Malverne," 1725 ; " Dugdale's Warwickshire," 1730 ; 
" Survey of the Cathedral Church of Worcester," 1736. He collected 
materials for a history of Worcestershire, for which Dr. Nash 
owned himself indebted. Much of the painted glass which he 
described has since perished. 



Worthies of Worcestershire. 161 

-THORESBY, JOHN (d. 1373). A trusted diplomatist of 
Edward III. Bishop of St. David's, 1347 ; and of Worcester, 1349. 
Chancellor, 1349-56. Archbishop of York, 1351. Settled the dispute 
as to precedency of the two Archbishops which had lasted for 
200 years. 

*TnORNBOROUGH, JOHN (1551-1641). Magdalen College, 
Oxford. Bisiiop of Limerick, 1593; of Bristol, 1603: and of 
Worcester, 1616. The usurpation of the Crown in the presentation 
to all the Cathedral dignities led to abuses which the Bishop was 
unable to remedy. Puritan Lectureships, founded in the towns, 
also caused him trouble. He studied alchemy, and devised for 
himself a fantastic epitaph. 

^THROCKMORTON, orTHROGMORTON, SIR JOHN (d.l445), 
son of Thomas Throgmorton, of Fladbury, and ancestor of Francis 
(q.v.). He became a treasury cleik, and was given lands in 
Fladbury. In 1417-8, he attended the Earl of Warwick at Caen, 
and in 1431 was appointed one of the Earl's attorneys. He was 
M.P. for Worcestershire in 1414, 1420, 1422, and 1432. In 1439 
he was appointed one of Warwick's executors, joint custodian of 
his castles and estates during his son's minority. At his death 
he was Under-Treasurer of England. His wife was a coheiress 
of Sir Guy Spiney, of Coughton, Warwickshire, whereby the family 
acquired its Warwickshire property. 

^THROCKMORTON, FRANCIS (1554-1584), son of Sir John 
Throckmorton, of Feckenham, Worcestersliire. After studying at 
the Inner Temple, he went on a foreign tour, during which he 
visited all the chief English Roman Catholic exiles, and thus learnt 
the various plans for restoring Romanism in England. In 1583 he 
settled at Paul's Wharf, in London, to organize correspondence 
between the Queen of Scots and her friends, including Mendoza, 
the Spanish Ambassador, but he was arrested the same year. 
Incriminating papers were found at his house, and he was racked 
to force a confession. In 1584, on his trial at the Guildhall, he 
revoked his confession, and was sentenced to death. Time was 
allowed him to make another confession, which also he recanted 
on the scaffold. 

TILHERE (d. 781). Abbot of Berkeley. Bishop of Worcester, 
778. In 780 made a great feast for King Offa at Fladbury where 
the King presented to the Church of Worcester a very choice Bible 
with golden clasps. 



162 Short Biographies of the 



*TINDAL, WILLIAM (1756-1804), son of Captain James 
Tindal and grandson of Nicholas, the translator and continuator 
of Eapin's " History." Born at Chelmsford. Chorister at Oxford. 
M.A. and Fellow of Trinity College, 1778. Eector of Kington, 
Worcestershire, 1792. In 1794 he published " The History and 
Antiquities of the Abbey and Borough of Evesham," 4to. He was 
also Chaplain of the Tower of London. He was of a pensive, 
melancholy disposition, and committed suicide. 

*TOMBES, JOHN (1603-1676), born at Bewdley, and educated 
at the Grammar School. Entered Magdalen Hall, Oxford, at the 
early age of 15, and was chosen public catechetical lecturer when 
only 21. M.A., 1624. Vicar of Leominster. In 1641 he fled to 
Bristol, and was appointed to All Saints by General Piennes, the 
Parliamentary Governor. When Bristol was taken by the Eoyalists, 
Toiubes escaped to London, where he became Minister of Fenchurch. 
His scruples as to Infant Baptism lost him the good will of his 
people, and he was deprived of his stipend. He was then chosen 
preacher of the Temple, but after four years was dismissed for 
publishing his first treatise on Infant Baptism. He then returned 
to Bewdley, and was chosen Minister of St. Anne's Chapel. His 
love of argument followed him here, and on January 7th, 1649, he 
had a famous dispute in the Chapel with Eichard Baxter, of 
Kidderminster. The Church was crowded with hearers from the 
Universities and distant places, and from 9 a.m. till 5 p.m. the 
arguments were continued in turn. A quart of sack was given to 
Mr. Tombes and a quart to "another minister." Also 5s. was spent 
" for mending the seats and other worke done in the Chapell at 
tlie dispute." The "Arguments" were published in a small 4to vol. 
of 415 pages, small print, which in 1656 had reached its fourth 
edition. Tombes in 1649 was presented to the Parsonage of Eoss; 
and this he resigned upon having the mastership of the Hospital 
at Ledbury. He soon alienated the people, and returned to 
Leominster. In 1653 he was appointed to be one of the " Triers " 
of ministers. After the Eestoration he married a rich widow, and 
went to reside at Salisbury, where he conformed to the Church as 
a lay-communicant, but would not again accept any benefice. 

*TOY, JOHN (1611-1663), born in Worcester, the son of John 
Toy. Educated at Pembroke, Oxford ; M.A., 1634. Chaplain to 
the Bishop of Hereford. Headmaster of the Worcester Free School; 



Worthies of Worcestershire. 163 

and thence transferred to the King's School, 1643. He held that 
office, together with the living of Stoke Prior, until his death, when 
he was buried in the Cathedral. He wrote " Worcester's Elegie 
and Eulogie," 1638, a poem describing the plague which raged in 
the City in 1637-8. 

" A sweeping plague, which from a flowing state 
Brought Wor'ster to the lowest ebbe of fate." 

He also wrote " Quisqiiilics Poeticce," 1662. The Toy or Toye family 
were long settled at Kidderminster. 

-TEAPP, JOHN (1601-1669), son of Nicholas Trapp.of Kerapsey, 
born at Croome Dabitot, and educated as king's scholar at Worcester 
under Mr. Bright. Christ Church, Oxford; M.A., 1624. Head- 
master of Stratford-on-Avon School. He was presented to the 
Eectory of Weston-on-Avon, 1636 ; and, as he sided with Parliament 
during the war, was given that of Welford in Gloucestershire, 1646. 
This he held until, at the Eestoration, Dr. Brown, the ejected 
Eoyalist, was reinstated. He therefore retired to Weston, where 
he died. He was esteemed a great preacher and scholar, and wrote 
many commentaries on the Bible. [See Wood's Athence, vol. iii. 
p. 843] . 

-TUENEE, EICHAED (1724-1791), son of Thomas Turner, of 
Great Webley, Worcestershire. Vicar of Elmley Castle and Eector 
of Little Comberton, 1754. Honorary LL.D. of Glasgow, 1785. 
Author of educational books. Buried at Norton-juxta-Kempsey. 
Married Sarah Greene, of Burford, Salop. His son EICHAED 
TUENEE (1753-1788) in 1778 published '^ An Heretical History 
collected from the original authors,'' a volume dealing with the 
heresies of the early Church. 

-TUENEE, THOMAS (1749-1809), another son of Eichard 
Turner, LL.D. (q.v.), was connected with the Worcester China 
Works, and thoroughly mastered all the processes of manufacture. 
He married Dorothy Gallimore, whose father iiad pottery works 
at Caughley, Salop, to which Turner succeeded, and which he 
enlarged and improved, introducing Parisian workmen and patterns, 
including the "willow pattern." He was a Freeman of Worcester, 
Much Wenlock, and Bridgnorth. 



164 Short Biographies of the 

*UNDERHILL, EDWARD (fl. 1539-1561), came of a" worshipful 
house of Worcestershire." His grandfather, a Wolverhampton man, 
had two sons of whom the younger, Thomas, married Anne, daughter 
of Robert Winter, of Huddington. In 1539 Edward was made a 
gentleman pensioner by Henry VIII., and served as man-at-arms 
in Hainault and France. Under Edv/ard VI. he earned the nick- 
name of "hot gospeller" by his zeal in hunting out papists, and 
in rebuking worldlings and gamesters. In 1549 he was made 
Controller of the Ordnance at Boulogne. He supported Bishop 
Hooper and Lady Jane Grey, and was imprisoned for a lampoon 
on Queen Mary, but his release was effected by the influence of 
his kinsman, John Throckmorton. He defended the Queen in 
Wyatt's rebellion, but had not changed his convictions, and found 
it necessary to wall up his books during the ensuing persecution. 
There is no trace of him after 1562, but he left twelve children 
by his wife, the daughter of a London merchant. 

*URSE D'ABITOT (fl. 1086), a Norman on whom William 
the Conqueror bestowed 40 hides in Worcestershire, and appointed 
him Sheriff of the County and Constable of the Castle. He found 
pretences for plundering the monasteries. When he encroached on 
the Cathedral bounds to enlarge the Castle moat he was vigorously 
opposed by Archbishop Aldred (q.v.). On the other hand he 
assisted in the foundation of a hermitage at Great Malvern. 

*VAUGHAN, ROBERT ALFRED (1823-1857), eldest son of 
Robert Vaughan, Congregational Pastor at Worcester, 1819-25, and 
afterwards President of the Lancashire Independent ('ollege, 
Manchester, and Editor of the "British Quarterly," J 845-65. 
B.A., London, 1842. Studied at Halle. Congregational Minister 
at Bath, and afterwards at Birmingham. Published Poems, 1844, 
and " Hours with the Mystics," 1856. 

VELLERS, ROBERT (1743-1815), born at Worcester, where 
he acquired a fortune as silk mercer. Bequeathed £6000 to the 
Worcester Infirmary, and money for the poor of St. Michael in 
Bedwardine. Buried in the Cloister Green. 

*VERNON, THOMAS (1654-1721), eldest son of Richard Vernon, 
of Hanbury, and grandson of Edward who purchased the manor 
from the Leightons, Called at the Middle Temple, 1679. Practised 
in the Court of Chancery for 40 \ears, and was reputed the ablest 



Worthies of Worcestershire. 165 

man in his profession. He resided iu Lincoln's Inn Fields, and 
made much money by the law. About 1710 he rebuilt Hanbury 
Hall, and added to the family estate. His " Beports of Cases '' were 
printed by order of the Court of Chancery iu 2 vols., folio, 1726, 
1728; and another edition, 2 vols., 8 vo., was edited by Mr. Eathby 
in 1806, 1807. Mr. Vernon married, 1679, Mary, daughter of Sir 
Anthony Keck, but had no children. His memory is perpetuated 
by a large marble monument with a recumbent effigy in the Vernon 
Chapel of Hanbury Church. He left the manor to Bowater 
Vernon, son of his cousin William Vernon, of Caldwell, Kidderminster, 
whose maternal grandfather the 'guileless' Kev. Samuel Bowater is 
buried in Astley Church with a rhyming epitaph by the Sir Harry 
Coningsby commemorated by the Lithologema in Areley Churchyard. 

WADLEY, THOMAS PKOCTER (1826-1895), second son of 
William Wadley, of Bidford, by his wife Mary Procter, of Temple 
Grafton. Scholar of Queen's College, Cambridge ; B.A., 1851 ; 
M.A., 1857; Ordained in 1853 to Curacy of Chiliington, Somerset. 
After other Curacies, including Cleeve Prior and the Littletons, he 
was presented to the Eectory of Naunton Beauchamp, 1874. His 
first hobby was Botany ; but later on his studies were concerned 
with the Genealogy and local history of Worcestershire and 
Gloucestershire. His chief work was " Notes or Abstracts of the 
Wills in The Great Orphan Book and Book of Wills in the Council 
House at Bristol," 1886. Tliis covers the period 1381-1595, and 
contains particulars of 448 Wills. In the " Genealogist " (1882 
onwards) he printed the Worcester Marriage Licences, with Notes, 
from 1660. Another most useful work carried out by him in 
conjunction with Mr. John x\mphlett, of Clent, was the sorting 
of the huge bundle of Transcripts at Edgar Tower, Worcester, for 
the period 1600-1700, and the placing of those for each parish in 
a bundle of its own. The list of transcripts for each year appears 
in the " Digest of the Parish Registers," 1899. Mr. Wadley was a 
frequent contributor to " Notes and Queries," the " Gloxtcestershire 
Notes and Queries," and the " Transactions of the Bristol aiid 
Gloucestershire ArchcBological Society." At the time of his death 
he was engaged on a Lexicon of Mediaeval Latin terms. He was 
something of a poet, and collected historical prints connected with 
the life of Shakespeare. [See memoir in the " Index Library," 
part 61, for September, 1895] . 



166 Short Biographies of the 

WAKEFIELD, HENEY (d. 1394), Treasurer of England. 
Bishop of Worcester, 1375-94. Issued orders in 1387 that no one 
suspected of Lollardy should be allowed to preach, especially Ashton, 
Hereford, Perney, Parker, and E. Swyuderby. Settled a controversy 
with the Prior of Worcester, who had assumed the right to use 
mitre, ring, and pastoral staff ; the naatter ended, in a conapromise. 

*WAKEMAN or WICHE, JOHN (d. 1549), son of William 
Wakeman, of Drayton, Worcestershire. Benedictine monk. B.D., 
Oxford, 1511. Elected Abbot of Tewkesbury, 1534. In July, 1535, 
King Henry VIII. and Thomas Cromwell were staying at the 
Abbey. In 1539 he surrendered the monastery and received an 
annuity of 400 marks. Consecrated first Bishop of Gloucester, 
1541, by Cranmer, Bonner, and Thirlby. While Abbot of Tewkesbury 
he set up the splendid tomb for himself on the north east side of 
the high altar, but his place of burial is not known. 

*WALCOT, SIE THOMAS (1629-1685), second son of Humphrey 
Walcot, of Walcot, Shropshire. Middle Temple, 1647. Eecorder 
of Bewdley, 1671-85. Bencher, 1671, and Lent Eeader, 1677. 
Serjeant-at-Law, 1680. Knighted 1681. M.P. for Ludlow, 1679-81. 
One of the Council of the Marches, and Chief Justice of the 
Anglesea Circuit, 1681-83. Justice of the King's Bench, 1683. One 
of the Judges before whom Titus Oates was tried for perjury. 
Married Mary, daughter of Sir Adam Lytteltoii, of Stoke St. 
Milborough. Buried at Bitterley. 

WALKEE, JOHN SEVEEN (d. 1875), resided at Malvern 
Wells, and earnestly promoted the study of ecclesiology and 
architecture in the County. It was mainly owing to his exertions 
that the Worcester Architectural Society was formed, of which he 
was for many years Treasurer and Hon. Secretary. He acted as 
guide at the excursions, and roused a deep interest in the old 
buildings which had too often been neglected. He published 
" A Guide to the Churches of Bredon, Kemerton, and Overhury" 
1835 ; and '* Architectural Sketches, ecclesiastical, secular, and domestic, 
in Worcestershire and its borders," 1862-3. 

WALL, JOHN (d. 1679), Priest-in-charge of Lady Yate's (q.v.) 
Chapel at Harvington, Chaddesley Corbett, for 12 years. During 
the panic caused by the Popish Plot, invented by Oates and Bedloe, 
he was arrested at Eushock, tried at Worcester for high treason 



Worthies of Worcestershire. 167 

by Judge Atkins, and suffered death 22nd August, 1679. His body 
was buried in St. Oswald's churchyard ; his head is kept at Douay 
in the cloister of the English Eriars. In 1879 a memorial crucifix 
was erected in the grave-yard at Harvington. 

*WALL, JOHN (1708-1776), born at Powick. Educated at 
Worcester School and at Worcester College, Oxford. B.A., 1730. 
Fellow of Merton, 1735. M.D., 1759. In 1736 he began to practise 
as a physician in Worcester. He sent a paper to the Royal 
Society in 1717, " O71 the use of Bark in Squall Pox." In 1751 in 
the ''Gentleman's Magazine" he published an essay on the cure of 
putrid sore throat. " Experiments and Observations on the Malvern 
Waters" 1756. " Letter on Angina Pectoris," Yllb. His son Martin 
Wall published his collected works in one volume, " Medical Tracts" 
1780, Oxford. The Worcester Porcelain Works were first established 
in 1751 at Warmstry House by Dr. Wall. Worcester had neither 
coals nor clay, nor skilled hands, but this talented physician, who 
was also a clever chemist and an accomplished artist, by his 
scientific skill was successful in producing one of the most beautiful 
soft porcelains in Europe. The crescent, the true Worcester mark, 
was taken from one of the quarterings of the Warmstry arms. 
Successive pioprietors were Flight, Eobert Chamberlain, Barr, Lily, 
Thomas Kerr, Grainger, and E. W. Binns. Dr. Wall married 
Catherine, daughter of Martin Sandys. His portrait is in the 
Board-room of Worcester Infirmary. 

-WALL, MARTIN (1747-1824), born at Worcester, son of Dr. 
John Wall (q.v.). Educated at Winchester, and at New College, 
Oxford. B.A., 1767. M.D., 1773. Fellow of his College, 1763-78. 
Studied medicine at St. Bartholomew's Hospital. Practised at 
Oxford, 1774. Reader in Chemistry, 1771. Wrote on " The Antiquitij 
and Use of Symbols in Astronomy and Chemistry ," 1783. Lichfield 
Professor of Clinical Medicine, 1785. F.E.C.P., 1787; Harveian 
Orator, and F.R.S., 1788. His son MARTIN SANDYS WALL 
was Chaplain in Ordinary to the Prince Regent and to the British 
Embassy at Vienna. 

^WALLACE, ROBERT (1791-1850), born at Dudley, son of 
Robert Wallace, pawnbroker. Entered Manchester College, then 
at York, under Charles Wellbeloved and John Kenrick, 1810. Became 
a Unitarian Minister at Elder Yard, 1815, where he also kept a 



168 Short Biographies of the 

private school. Theological Professor at Manchester College, ] 840-46. 
Minister of Trim Street Chapel, Bath, 1846. Completed his 
"Antitrinitarian Biography," 1850, 3 vols, 

* WALLER, EDMUND (1605-1687), the famous poet, courtier, 
and wit, was the owner of The Hall, a handsome brick house near 
Kidderminster Church, together with the hamlets of Hurcott and 
Comberton. In 1635 he sold the Hall to Daniel Dobbins, a London 
merchant, one of the Parliamentary Committee for Worcestershire, 
1646, and M.P. for Bewdley, 1647. Hurcott was sold in 1643 to 
George Evelyn, and resold in 1648 to his brother John, of Sayes 
Court, one of the Founders of the Royal Society, whose Diary 
is so well known. Waller was fined £10,000 and banished for 
complicity in a plot against the Parliament, 1645. After the 
Restoration he entered Parliament again, and became the delight 
of the House by his lively sayings. 

"^WALSH, JOHN HENRY (1810-1888), qualified as a surgeon, 
and practised for some years at Worcester. In 1852 he settled 
in London, and carried on his profession ; but in 1855 he began 
his " Manual of British Bural Sports " under the pseudonym of 
Stonehrnge, and what had before been his relaxation became the 
business of his life. In 1857 he edited "The Field," and took first 
rank as an authority on horses, dogs, guns, and everything connected 
with sport. His portrait forms the frontispiece of " British Bural 
Sports," 12th edition. 

-WALSH, WILLIAM (1663-1708), born at Abberley, son of 
Joseph Walsh. Educated at Wadham College, Oxford. M.P. for 
Worcester, 1698-1705, and for Richmond, Yorkshire, 1705-08. A 
man of fashion, a poet, and critic, and friend of Pope, who visited 
him at Abberley, August, 1707. His chief works are " Dialogiie 
concerning Women," "Aesculapius," ^' Poems," 1691, "Pastoral 
Eclogues." He is buried at Abberley. His portrait by Kneller was 
engraved by Faber. See also Nash, Vol. 1. 5. 

*WALTON, ELIJAH (1832-1880), born near Birmingham 
(D.N.B.) or at Manchester {Bryan). Studied art at Birmingham 
and London. He resided first at Staines, and then settled at the 
Forelands near Bromsgrove. An eminent painter of mountain 



Worthies of Worcestershire. 169 

scenery, ch'efly from sketches made in Switzerland, Norway, Egypt, 
Syria, and Greece. The death of his wife in 1872 seriously injured 
his health, and he died at his residence on Bromsgrove Lickey 
in 1880, leaving three sons. 

WALCOT, JOHN COTTERELL PHILLIPPS (1849-1901). 
Born at Kerapsey, second sou of Rev. John Walcot, afterwards 
Rector of Ribbesford, by Mary Sophia, second daughter of Sir 
Thomas Phillipps, Bart, (q.v.), of Middle Hill, Broadway. Passed 
into the Britannia as Naval Cadet, 1863. Mis first sea service 
was on H.M.S. Victoria, under Capt. Goodenough, the noble sailor 
who died in 1875 from a poisoned arrow at Santa Cruz. In 1867 
he served for five months as midshipman on Nelson's Victory. After 
varied experience on the Hornet, Rinaldo, and Crocodile, including 
the stamping out of piracy in the East Indian Archipelago, he joined 
the Baleigh, which was then under the command of Capt. Tryon, 
afterwards Admiral Sir George Tryon, Secretary of the Admiralty, 
1882-4, whose loss in the Victoria in 1893 caused such a thrill of 
pain throughout the Empire. The Baleigh acted as an escort to 
the Prince of Wales on his journey to India, and afterwards was 
cruising in the Aegean and off the coast of Asia Minor in the critical 
period before the Treaty of Berlin, 1878. As Senior Lieutenant of 
the Egeria, 1878-81, he was on the China station, and took the 
Secretary of Legation from Japan to Corea on a diplomatic mission. 
" His zeal, and power of maintaining good discipline without worry" 
gained him high commendation from Admiral Robert Coote, G.B., 
the Commander-in-Chief, who several times used the Egeria as his 
flag-ship. On his marriage in 1882 with his cousin, Katherine E. 
Halliwell-Phillipps, Lieut. Walcot letired from the service with the 
rank of Commander. But the allurement of the sea was strong, 
and early in 1884 he accepted the post of Commandant of the 
South Australian Naval Forces offered to him by the Admiralty on 
the recommendation of his former captain. Admiral Tryon, who 
then commanded on the Australian station, and who formulated 
the new scheme of Colonial Defence which has borne such good 
fruit in the present war. In June, 1884, Commander Walcot took 
out the first war-ship, The Protector, from Newcastle to S. Australia, 
and received a warm welcome at Adelaide in September. In 1885 
he was made a Justice of the Peace for the Province. At the 
Adelaide Jubilee International Exhibition of 1887 lie was Juror on 



170 Short Biographies of the 

Naval and Military Armaments and Ship Models, and received a 
signed acknowledgment from the President, H.R.H. The Duke 
of Cambridge. In the same year he gave evidence on matters 
connected with Naval Defence before the Select Committee of the 
House of Assembly. Being elected Commodore of the S. Australian 
Yacht Club, he obtained permission for it to style itself " Royal " 
and to fly the white ensign. In 1891 he was gazetted Captain in 
the S. Australian Naval Brigade ; and in 1893, having discharged 
his task of founding an important part of the Colonial Navy, he 
resigned his oflice and returned to England. The Commander-in- 
Chief reported in high terms to the Admiralty of the efficiency of 
his work ; and the Governor, Lord Kintore, and the S. Australian 
Government, publicly expressed their great appreciation of his 
services, and their regret at his resignation. The later years of his 
life were spent at Pirton Court, Worcestershire. He died in 1901, 
and is buried at Bitterley. 

*WALWYN, WILLIAM (1600?-1649?), born at Newland, 
Worcestershire, and started life as apprentice to a silk merchant 
in London, where he afterwards set up in the trade himself. A 
free-thinking Puritan, he espoused first the cause of the Parliament, 
then that of the Levellers. His efforts on their behalf lodged 
him, with Lilburne and others, in the Tower, whence they published 
pamphlets to assert their innocence. He was released in 1649. 

*WARD, JOHN WILLIAM, EARL OF DUDLEY (1781-1833), 
only son of William, third Viscount Dudley and Ward. Oriel and 
Corpus Christi Colleges, Oxford; M.A., 1813. Commanded the 
Dudley Volunteers in 1806. M.P., Downton, 1802-3, and for 
Worcestershire, 1803-6; Wareham, 1807-12; Ilchester, 1812-18; 
Bossiney, 1820-3. Succeeded his father as fourth Viscount Dudley, 
1823; Secretary of State for Foreign Affairs, April, 1827, to May, 
1828. Recorder of Kidderminster, 1823-33. F.R.S. Created Earl 
of Dudley, 1827, and died unmarried. 

WARD, WILLIAM, EARL OF DUDLEY (1817-1885), son of 
Rev. William Humble, tenth Baron Ward. Married (1) Selina 
Constance daughter of Hubert de Burgh, (2) Georgiana Elizabeth 
daughter of Sir Thomas Moncrieffe. In 1838 his Trustees purchased 
the Worcestershire estates of the Foley family. As Lord Ward he 
enlarged and beautified Witley Court by an expenditure of £250,000. 



Worthies of Worcestershire. 171 

At Kidderminster he helped to rescue the carpet industry froni 
destruction by erecting " Lord Ward's Shed," provided with steam 
power, when the old hand-looms were being superseded. A cloister 
in the Parish Church of tiie town which owed so much to his 
beneficence was erected to his memory. In 1860 he was created 
Earl of Dudley. Worcester Cathedral owes its restoration largely 
to his generosity, and a marble recumbent effigy in the Lady 
Cliapel, subscribed for by the County of Worcester, records the fact. 

*WARMESTRY, GERVASE (1604-1641), came of an old 
Worcester family whose name is still preserved in the City by 
means of " Warmestry Slip." a narrow street leading down to the 
river. His father was William Warmestry, Chief Registrar of 
the City. Educated at Worcester Grammar School, then at West- 
minster and Oxford; M.A., 1628; Middle Temple, 1628. In 1630 
he succeeded his father as Registrar, the office having been held 
by a Warmestry since 1544. Buried in the Cathedral. His only 
poem of note was of a political nature, and entitled " Virescit 
vuhiere virttis : England's luouncl aud mire," 1628. 

*WARMESTRY, THOMAS (1610-1665), the younger brother 
of Gervase (q.v.). M.A., Oxford, 1631; D.D., 1642. Rector of 
Whitchurch, Warwickshire (1635-46) ; and acted as Clerk to the 
Diocese in both Convocations of 1640. He was a Royalist, with 
Puritan tendencies, and in 1646 he was appointed by the City 
of Worcester to discuss terms of surrender with the Parliamentary 
army. He fled to London and Oxford, and was deprived of all his 
Church preferments; but as he compounded for the lands which 
he held at Blockley, Worcestershire, the sequestration was removed 
in 1653, and four years later he was made lecturer at St. Margaret's, 
Westminster. At the Restoration he was made Master of the 
Savoy, and Dean of Worcester, 1661. The Townsend MSS. say : 
" Nov. 27th, 1661, Thos. Warmstry was bro't into Worcester as 
Dean by above 100 horse; a clergy band stood ready to receive 
him in the City ; the King's Scholars at the College gate ; he 
alighted at the Deanery, put on his robes, and the prebends and 
choir met him in the Cloister, sung Te Deum, then came into 
the choir, then read his letters patent and took the oath of 
allegiance, supremacy, and against simony. The Sub-Dean, Mr. 
Giles Thornborough, installed him ; choir service finished, everyone 
went to his own place, and in the evening the Dean read service 



172 Short BiograpJiies of the 

himself." His chief work as Dean was the erection of a " great 
organ," over which he experienced many difficulties and shewed an 
utter ignorance of music. In 1662 he was appointed Vicar of 
Bromsgrove, and held both offices until his death. He published 
some religious and controversial tracts; and was buried in the 
Cathedral. 

*WAEWICK AND SALISBURY, EARL OF (1428-1471). 
Richard Neville, "the King-maker," son of Richard Neville, first 
Earl of Sahsbury. Betrothed before 1439 to Anne, only daughter 
of Richard Beauchamp, Earl of Warwick (q.v.). Succeeded in 1449 
in right of his wife to the title and estates of the Earldom, which 
included Castles at Worcester, Elmley, Warwick, Cardiff, Glamorgan, 
and Barnard Castle, and many manors in Worcestershire. He 
supported Richard, Duke of York, in his claim to the Regency, and 
was distinguished in the first Battle of St. Albans, 1455. He was 
made Captain of Calais, and defeated the Spanish at sea, 1458. 
He won the Battle of Northampton, and brought Henry VI. captive 
to London, 1460. His father, the Earl of Salisbury, was killed 
together with Richard of York, at Wakefield, 1460, and he then 
became also Earl of Salisbury and KG. His support of Edward IV. 
seated the young king on the throne, and for a few years Warwick 
was the real ruler of the kingdom. Edward's marriage with 
Elizabeth Woodville in 1464 led to an estrangement, and in 1467 
he withdrew from Court. His daughter Isabel married the ill-fated 
Duke of Clarence in 1469. He then joined Queen Margaret, 
advanced on London, and restored Henry VI. Edward IV., how- 
ever soon returned with an army, and the king-maker was defeated 
and slain at Barnet, 1471. He was buried at Bisham Abbey. 

-WATSON, JOHN (1520-1584), born at Bengeworth. Educated 
at Oxford ; Fellow of All Souls, 1540. He took the degree of 
Doctor of Medicine, but after practising for awhile renounced the 
profession and received Holy Orders. Prebendary of Winchester, 
1551, and Rector of Winchfield, 1554. Under Elizabeth he became 
Chancellor of St. Paul's, Archdeacon of Surrey, Master of St. Cross, 
Winchester, and in 1570 Dean of Winchester. He subscribed to 
the XXXIX Articles, but refused the six which were aimed at 
the ritual of the Church. In 1580 he was made Bishop of 
Winchester, and was buried in the Cathedral. He left, among 
other legacies for educational purposes, benefactions to scholars 
at Evesham. 



Worthies of Worcestershire. 173 

^WEAVER, THOMAS (1616-1663), born in Worcester, of a family 
mucli connected with London publishers. Christ Church, Oxford ; 
M.A., 1640. Chaplain at the Cathedral, 1641. He was ejected 
from this office by the Parliament, and for some years " lived by 
his wits," and by various political skits, some of which brought 
him into trouble with the government. One, called " Zeal Over- 
heated," procured him a charge of treason, but he was acquitted 
by the judge, who, after reading the verses, was loth " to condemn 
a scholar and a man of wit." At the Restoration he was put on 
the Excise at Liverpool, where he died. 

*WERBERID (d. 915), Bishop of Worcester in 873. He had 
been trained at Worcester, and was one of the scholars of King 
Alfred's court. In 875 he fled to France to escape the ravages 
of the Danes. At Alfred's request, he translated the Pastoral of 
St. Gregory from Latin into English, and the King sent a copy of 
the book, to which he wrote a preface, to every diocese. 

*WHITE, JAMES (1775-1820), boni at Bewdley, and educated 
at Christ's Hospital with Charles Lamb, who became his life-long 
friend. He founded in Fleet street an advertising agency which 
is still carried on in the same name. He was a man of infinite 
humour, and when he died Elia recorded that " he carried away 
half the fun of the world." His admiration for Falstaff brought 
forth his one great work, " The Original Letters, etc., of Sir John 
Falstaff and his Friends,'' published in 1796, but though Lamb 
delighted in them, they brought him but little wealth of fame. 
Elia's essay, " In Praise of Chimney -Siveepers," closes with a minute 
account of White's annual feast to the sweepers' boys. 

-WHITE, alias BRADSHAW, JOHN (1576-1618), born probably 
at Hen wick, near Worcester. Educated at the Jesuit Colleges at 
St. Omer and Valladolid, but during an illness vowed to become 
a Benedictine monk if he recovered, and accordingly he went over 
to the neighbouring monastery of San Benito, 1600. In 1603 he 
came to England as a missionary, and worked in Worcestershire. 
The Jesuits regarded his missionary enterprise with great jealousy, 
but in their despite he established a monastery at Douai for the 
training of English Benedictines. His negociations with the English 
government for toleration were also more successful than had been 
those of the Jesuits; for Cecil, won by his openness and loyalty, 



174 Short Biographies of the 

promised that no Benedictine should suffer for ministering in 
England. He was appointed Chaplain-General to Lord Wardour 
of Arundell, in the service of Spain, but Jesuitical intrigues contrived 
to drive the v?hole of the English company from the army, in order 
to ruin the one Benedictine. His great work was the establishing 
of all English Benedictines in one congregation. He was also asked 
to assist in the reformation of several French houses, a task in 
which he proved successful, and he died at Longueville, when he 
was about to visit a monastery in that town. His frank and open 
character won him affection and esteem wherever he went. 

WHITE, THOMAS (d. 1738), born at Worcester. Served an 
apprenticeship to a statuary and stone-cutter in Piccadilly, London, 
and studied art. Sir Christopher Wren took him to Eome where 
he carried on his sculpture, and also made measurements of 
St. Peter's. He is said to have assisted Wren with the model of 
St. Paul's Cathedral, and was offered the post of superintendent 
of the building ; but he preferred to return to Worcester, where 
he had property, and to practise as an architect. The Guildhall 
was probably his first work in the City, and the Corporation 
appreciated it so much that they conferred on him a pension of 
£30 a year for life. The Britannia House (now the Alice Ottley 
School) and the entrance wing for the Deanery were among his 
local works. St. Nicholas Church, with its finely conceived west 
front, was begun by White in 1726. St. Swithin's (except the 
old tower) was rebuilt in 1736, and still remains internally as 
White left it ; the pulpit is a splendid example of its kind. The 
statues of Queen Anne and the two Charles's at the Guildhall 
are of his design, and partly of his execution. He died unmarried, 
and, with his Wren traditions, has left a distinguished mark on 
the present architectural appearance of the City. 

*WHITGIFT, JOHN (1530 9-1604), Pembroke College, Cam- 
bridge; B.x\., 1554; Fellow of Peterhouse, 1535. Lady Margaret 
Professor of Divinity, 1563-7. Master of Trinity College, 1567-77. 
Dean of Lincoln, 1571. Bishop of Worcester, 1577-83, and Vice- 
President of the Marches of Wales, 1577-80. Held Calvinistic 
opinions,- but vigorously supported the Church, and zealously 
discharged his duties as a bishop. Keconciled the rival factions 



Worthies of Worcestershire. 175 

of Sir John Russell and Sir Henry Berkeley at Worcester. Crowned 
King James I., 1603, and attended Hampton Court Conference, 
1604. Buried at Croydon. 

-WHITTLESEY, WILLIAM (d. 1374), nephew of Archbishop 
Islip. LL.D., Oxford. A learned canonist. Bishop of Rochester, 
1360-4, of Worcester, 1364-8, and Archbishop of Canterbury, 
1368-74. 

WILFRID (d. 743), Chaplain to St. Egwine (q.v.), whom he 
succeeded as Bishop of Worcester, 717. 

-■-WILLIAMS, SIR EDWARD LEADER (1828-1910), born at 
Worcester, was eldest of the eleven children of Edward Leader 
Williams. Benjamin Williams Leader, R.A., is a brother, who in 
view of the large number of artists named Williams, felt it advisable 
to transpose his name to the B. Williams Leader by which he is 
known all over the world. Sir Edward was Engineer to the 
River Weaver Trust, and to the Bridgewater Navigation Co., but 
his chief distinction was as Designer of the great Manchester Ship 
Canal, for which he was knighted in 1894. He died at Altrincham. 
He inherited his engineering talent from his father, EDWARD 
LEADER WILLIAMS, who was originally an ironmonger in High 
Street, Worcester, on the site of one of the present committee 
rooms of the Guildhall. The Worcester Journal of November 12th, 
1835, records the first meeting to consider the details of a plan by 
Mr. Williams to make the Severn navigable as far as Worcester 
for ships drawing 12 feet of water, at the estimated cost of £180,000. 
Lord Coventry supported the scheme, and Mr. J. W. Lea became 
Chairman of a Company to promote the undertaking. Mr. Thomas 
Rhodes was appointed as the chief, and Mr. E. L. Williams the 
resident Engineer. Much opposition was met with from Gloucester- 
shire, and the plans were modified, but on 13th May, 1842, the 
Severn Commission was constituted by law. Under Mr. William 
Cubitt as engiiieer-in-chief and Mr. E. L. Williams as resident 
engineer, the trial weir at Lincombe was opened successfully on 
23rd December, 1843. The work then proceeded rapidly. 

*WILLIS, RICHARD (1664-1734), born at Bewdley, son of 
WiUiam Willis, a tanner, by his wife Susanna Inett. Educated 
at Bewdley School and Wadham College, Oxford ; B.A., 1688. 
Fellow of All Souls. Lecturer of St. Clement's, Strand, 1692. Went 



176 Short Biographies of the 

to Holland with William III., as Chaplain, 1694. Prebendary of 
Westminster, 1695. One of the original founders of the S.P.C.K., 
1699. Dean of Lincoln, 1701. Preached before the Queen on the 
day of thanksgiving for the success of the Duke of Marlborough, 
23rd August, 1705. Opposed the Schism Bill, 1714. Bishop of 
Gloucester, 1715. Lord Almoner, 1717. Bishop of Sahsbury, 1721. 
Bishop of Winchester, 1723. This preferment followed his speech 
against Atterbury published in 1723. He left two sons — John who 
married 1733 the only daughter of Colonel Fielding, and William 
married 1744 " Miss Read, of Bedford Row, with £40,000." The 
Bishop died at Winchester House, Chelsea, and is buried in the 
south aisle of Winchester Cathedral under a recumbent effigy. 
There is a portrait by Dahl in the Palace at Salisbury, which has 
been engraved in mezzo tint by J. Simon. 

*WILLIS, JOHN WALPOLE (1793-1877), younger son of 
William WilHs, Captain in the 13th Light Dragoons, and his wife 
Mary, only child of Robert Hamilton Smyth, of Dunsford, County 
Down. Born at Holyhead. His Godfather was Colonel Lambert 
Walpole, then an aide-de-camp at Dublin Castle, who was after- 
wards in 1798 defeated and killed by the rebels under Father 
Kearns when in command of a column of the army at Tuhberneering. 
After the Union his father's regiment was moved to England, and 
Willis was sent to school at Uppingham and then to Charterhouse. 
The Headmaster, Dr Raine, was a fine classical scholar; and his 
pupil retained such a knowledge of the classics that his personal 
quotations from Horace often got him into trouble. After he 
had been five years at Charterhouse he and another boy Wood 
took a leading part in a bchool rebellion for which both of them 
were expelled. It is an interesting coincidence that of all the boys 
of their time at Charterhouse only these two are to be found in 
the Dictionary of National Biography. After two years at Trinity 
Hall, Cambridge, Willis was called to the Bar at Gray's Inn, 1816, 
and began to practise on the Northern Circuit. He was fortunate 
in becoming well known to the first Baron Redesdale who did his 
best to help him ; this gave him a great start, so that within ten years 
of his call he had got into good practice. In 1826 he married Lady 
Mary Lyon-Bowes, daughter of the 11th Earl of Strathmore. In 
1828 he accepted the newly created post of Equity Judge in the 
Supreme Court of Upper Canada, but his stay there was brief. 



Worthies of Worcestershire. 177 

A question arose whether the jurisdiction to exercise certain of the 
powers of the High Court could be done by one Judge sitting alone 
or only by the full Court. Willis held the latter view. In this 
he was probably wrong, but he acted on it, and declared that 
certain political prisopers whom the Governor had arrested were 
illegally detained, and liberated them. The Governor, Sir Peregrine 
Maitland, was furious, and made an order removing Willis from his 
position as Judge. He at once left for England and secured a decision 
from the Judicial Committee of the Privy Council that he had been 
illegally dismissed. During his absence his wife eloped with an 
officer on the foreign staff, and the marriage was dissolved in 1833. 
The matters connected with this incident are utilized by Mrs. Henry 
Wood in " East Lynne." Willis was then appointed a Judge of 
the Supreme Court of Demerara. Here he again got into difficulties. 
The slaves had just been emancipated, and feeling ran very high. 
The Supreme Court sat with Assessors who were the slaves' late 
masters. Several cases occurred when masters whipped their 
slaves, as they had always done. Under the new law it was illegal, 
and the masters were tried for offences under the Emancipation 
Act. The Assessors habitually advised an acquittal. Willis always 
went against their advice and held the masters guilty. This 
caused a great deal of ill feeling against him, which came to a 
head in the case of a negro named Damon, one of the chief leaders 
in a rising of the blacks against the masters. Some half dozen of 
the negroes were brought up on a charge of riot, the penalty for 
which by English law was imprisonment. But under the Eoman- 
Dutch law which prevailed in the Colony the Court was empowered, 
if it considered a special example should be made, to pronounce 
sentence of death. Except Willis the Court all held that Damon's 
was such a case, and he was actually hanged. Willis protested most 
strongly against this action, with the result that the excitement 
brought on an attack of fever, and he went home on leave. While he 
was at home his first wife died, and he then married (1886) Ann the 
eldest daughter of Colonel Thomas Henry Bund, of Wick Episcopi, 
Worcestershire. After his marriage he accepted the office of Judge 
in Australia, and spent three years in Sydney. He did not get on 
with his colleagues, who administered a rough justice perhaps 
better adapted to a penal colony than the highly technical equity 
of Lincoln's Inn in which Willis was well versed. The result was 
constant difference of opinion on the Bench. Mr. Justice Willis in 
his dissenting judgments applied quotations from Horace to his 



178 Short Biographies of the 

colleagues which were far from flattering. In 1841 the Colony of 

Victoria was separated from New South Wales, and Willis was 

appointed the first resident Judge. His application, in those early 

days, of the forms and technicalities of the English Courts, to a 

somewhat lawless population, led to appeals to the Court at Sydney, 

and the Sydney Judges rather gloried in reversing every decision of 

Mr. Justice Willis which came before them. One point of conflict with 

the people was owing to the operation of a new and strict, though 

necessary, insolvent law. This made the Judge most unpopular, 

and produced a crop of libels in the local newspapers. The final 

cause of controversy arose from the difficult question of the relations 

between the white settlers and the black natives. Whether Willis 

was right or wrong is not at all easy to say, but the Sydney 

Judges said with a light heart he was wrong. Persons he had 

sentenced to death were released. Persons he said were not guilty 

were said to be so. Two parties were formed in the Colony, and 

his opponents asked that he might be removed from his office. 

The Sydney Judges eagerly seized their opportunity, and, supported 

by the Governor, Sir George Gipps, who was glad thus to end a 

troublesome controversy, revoked Willis' appointment as Judge, 

without affording him any chance of explanation. He immediately 

left the Colony and brought his case before the Judicial Committee 

of the Privy Council, who at once reversed the order revoking his 

appointment. Shortly afterwards, on the death of his father-in-law, 

he succeeded to the estate at Wick at which he resided until his 

death. Mr. Willis was J. P. and D.L. for Worcestershire, and for a 

time presided in the Second Court at the Worcestershire Sessions. 

He left by his first wife one son who married Frances daughter of 

Colonel Baker, of Worcester, had a numerous family, and settled in 

New Zealand. By his second wife he left a son, John William 

Willis, who by royal licence in 1864 was authorised to take the 

surname of Bund after Willis ; and who has made the name of 

Willis-Bund a household word in Worcestershire by his versatile 

genius as a County Administrator, Chairman of the Severn Fishery 

Board, a historian, an archasologist, and a keen observer of the 

habits of Birds and Fishes. 

WILSON, JOSEPH BOWSTEAD (1841-1911), born at Cracken- 
thorpe Hall, Cumberland, son of Joseph Wilson and his wife Ann 
(Bowstead). Educated at Giggleswick School and Pembroke College, 
Cambridge; B. A. ,1865; M. A., 1868. Assistant-master of Bromsgrove 



Worthies of Worcestershire. 179 

School, 1865-72. Eector of St. Helen's, Worcester, 1873-81. Eecfcor 
of Knightwick with Doddenham, 1881-1909. F.S.A., 1893. Endowed 
with quiet energy, great tact, and a genius for friendship, he rendered 
much service to the County in many capacities. As County Councillor, 
and President of the Farmers' Association, his genial presence 
and business capacity were greatly valued. The old-established 
Worcestershire Archery Society flourished with renewed vigour 
under his able guidance as co-Secretary, 1894-1900. At Cambridge 
he had been distinguished as an oarsman, and he rowed in the 
University Boat Eace, 1863 ; his interest in athletics was kept up all 
his life by his biographical records of the careers of old "Blues." In 
1893 he was one of the originators of the successful Worcestershire 
Historical Society which has done splendid work ; of this he was 
Hon. Secretary from its foundation till his death. Though he did 
not himself contribute to the publications, he was active in the 
search for valuable material, and indefatigable in the important 
matter of keeping up the full roll of membership. He accumulated 
what is probably the most complete collection of Worcestershire 
books in the County. In conjunction with Mrs. Wheeley Lea and 
Canon Eobertson he was largely instrumental in the foundation of 
the Church House at Worcester. In 1909 he resigned his parish 
work and went to reside at Oaktield, Claines, Worcester, where he 
died, but is buried at Knightwick. He pubHshed " The Parish 
Begisters of Knightioich and Doddenham, 1891 ; St. Alban's, Worcester, 
1896; St. Helen's, Worcester," 1900. He married in 1881 Catherine 
Eliza, daughter of Thomas Eowley Hill (q.v.), D.L., and M.P. for 
Worcester, 1874-85. His elder son, Eev. T. Bowstead Wilson, M.A., 
is Eector of Suckley ; Dr. Humphrey Wilson is also serving abroad 
with the E.A.M.C. ; and a daughter Muriel is engaged in the 
Universities' Mission at Zanzibar. 

WINCHCOMB, TIDEMAN DE (d. 1401). Said to have been 
Abbot of Beaulieu and Physician to Eichard II. Translated from 
the see of Llandaff to Worcester, 1395. Eemained steadfast to 
Eichard in his adversity. The last prelate buried in the Cathedral 
before the time of Elizabeth. 

WINDSOE, ANDEEWS, FIEST BAEON WINDSOE (d. 1543), 
eldest son of Thomas Windsor, of Stanwell, near Windsor, by 
Elizabeth Andrews, of Baylham, Suffolk. K.B., 1509. Fought afc 
the Battle of the Spurs, 1513, and at the capture of Tournai. 



180 Short Biographies of the 

Attended the Princess Mary on her marriage to Lewis XII. of 
France. Was with Henry VIII. at the Field of the Cloth of Gold 
in 1520. One of the Commanders under the Duke of ^Suffolk in 
the French War of 1524. Created Baron Windsor, 1529. He 
married Elizabeth, daughter of William Blount, Lord Montjoy, by 
whom he had four sons and four daughters. When the Monasteries 
were dissolved. Lord Windsor was obliged by Henry VIII., much 
against his will, to exchange his manor of Stan well for the 
possessions of Bordesley Abbey, including the manor of Tardebigge. 
Worcestershire may be grateful for the King's arbitrary act which 
thus settled a family of much distinction in its borders for many 
generations. 

WINDSOR, THOMAS, SIXTH LORD WINDSOR (d. 1642), 
only son of Henry, fifth Lord. K.B., 1610. Rear-Admiral of the 
Fleet sent in 1623 to bring Prince Charles from Spain, and is said 
to have spent £15,000 in entertainments on that occasion. Attended 
Charles I. at York in 1639. Married Catherine, daughter of Edward 
Earl of Worcester, but had no children. Buried at Tardebigge. 

*WINDSOR-HICKMAN, THOMAS, EARL OF PLYMOUTH 
(1627?-1687), son of Dixie Hickman, by Elizabeth, eldest daughter 
of Henry, fifth Lord Windsor. Sole heir to his uncle Thomas, 
sixth Lord Windsor (q.v.j. Raised a troop of horse for Charles I. 
and fought valiantly at Naseby, 1645. Raised the siege of High 
Ercall, in Shropshire. Fined and imprisoned by the Parliament. 
Restored as seventh Baron Windsor, and made Lord Lieutenant 
of Worcestershire, 1660. Governor of Jamaica, 1661-64; defeated 
the Spaniards in Cuba, but returned home through illhealth. Master 
of Horse to the Duke of York, 1676. Governor of Portsmouth, 
1681, and of Hull, 1682. Created Earl of Plymouth, 1682, and a 
Privy Councillor, 1685. He married (1) Anne, daughter of Sir 
William Savile and sister of George, Marquis of Halifax, by whom 
he had one son. Other, and a daughter, Lady Mary, who married 
Sir Thomas Cookes, of Bentley ; and (2) Urusala, daughter of Sir 
Thomas Widrington ; they had issue four sons and five daughters. 
The Earl and his Countesses were buried at Tardebigge. 

WINDSOR, THOMAS, LORD MOUNTJOY (1698-1738), second 
son of Thomas, first Earl of Plymouth. Page of Honour to James II. 
Cornet of his father's Troop of Horse, raised in Worcestershire, 
1685 ; Captain, 1687 ; Colonel, 1712. Captain of Sir John Fenwick's 



Worthies of Worcestershire. 181 

Regiment of Horse, 1687. Distinguished himself in the Irish and 
Flemish wars of William III. Colonel of Foot, 1693. Created 
Viscount Windsor in the Peerage of Ireland, 1699. Hon. Freeman 
of Worcester, 1685. Brigadier-General, 1702; Lieut. -General, 1709; 
Colonel, 3rd Dragoon Guards, 1712-38. Married in 1704 Charlotte, 
widow of John, second Lord Jeffreys of Wem, daughter of Philip 
Earl of Pembroke, and heiress of his Monmouthshire and Glamorgan 
estates. M.P. for Droitwich (aged 17), 1685-87 ; for Bramber, 
1705-8; Monmouthshire, 1708-11. Created a Peer of Great Britain 
as Lord Mountjoy (one of the 12), 1711. 

*WINNINGTON, THOMAS (1696-1746), born at Stanford-on- 
Teme, second son of Salwey Winnington, M.P. for Bewdley, by 
Anne, sister of Thomas Lord Foley. Educated at Westminster, 
Christchurch, and the Middle Temple. M.P. for Droitwich, 1726- 
1741, and for Worcester, 1741-1746. Became a whig and a chief 
supporter of Walpole. Lord of the Admiralty? 1730 ; Cofferer of 
the Household, 1741-1743 ; Paymaster-General of the Forces, 1743- 
1746. Made a Privy Councillor, 1741. He died through wrong 
medical treatment, and was buried in Stanford Church under a 
marble monument by Roubiliac. His portrait by Van Loo is in 
Worcester Guildhall, and one by Zincke is in the National Portrait 
Gallery. 

*WINNINGTON, SIR FRANCIS (1634-1700), born in Worcester, 
son of Major John Winnington, descended from Robert Winnington, 
of Winnington, Cheshire. Educated at Trinity College, Oxford, 
and Middle Temple. Called to the bar, 1660; Bencher, 1672; 
Autumn Reader, 1675 ; Treasurer, 1675. Went the Oxford Circuit. 
Standing Counsel to Prince Rupert. K.C. and Attorney-General 
to the Duke of York, and knighted 1672. His income from the 
law in 1675 exceeded £4000. Solicitor-General, 1674; M.P. for 
Windsor, 1677. Supported the Exclusion Bill, 1678, and was 
deprived of his office. M.P. for Worcester, 1678-1681 ; and for 
Tewkesbury, 1692-1698. Refused a judgeship, 1689 ; Chairman of 
Ways and Means in Parliament which ended October, 1695. 
Married (1) Elizabeth Herbert, of Powick, by whom he had a 
daughter married in 1676 to Richard Dowdeswell, M.P. ; (2) Elizabeth 
daughter of Edward Salwey, of Stanford Court, by whom he had 
four sons and two daughters. In 1674 he bought the leasehold 
interest of the Crown manor of Bewdley for 140 years. Sir Francis 
was buried in the old Church at Stanford-on-Teme. 



182 Short Biographies of the 

-WINSLOW, EDWAED (1595-1655), born at Droitwich, the 
grandson of Kenelm Winslow, of Kempsey. He^'left his salt boiling," 
and went to Leyden, where he married Elizabeth Barber, of Chetsum, 
and joined the Eoglish Church. With his wife and household he 
sailed in the "Mayflower" in 1620, and being the best born among 
the Pilgrim Fathers, the prefix of " Mr." is accorded to his name 
in the " Covenant " which the settlers drew up before they landed. 
His wife died very soon, and he married Susannah Fuller, widow 
of William White, and mother of the first child born in New 
England. He visited England thrice as agent for the Colony, and 
in 1623 published a history of the settlement, in which he warned 
all " idlers, beggars, and persons with a dainty tooth " against 
attempting colonial life. On his return he took with him thirteen 
heifers and a bull, the first neat cattle exported from the old country 
to the new. During his second absence, the following year, he was 
elected assistant Governor, and held that office until 1647, except 
for the three years, 1633, 1636, and 1644, in which he was elected 
Governor. During his third visit in 1635, a discontented colonist 
accused him to Laud of preaching and celebrating marriages in 
church as a layman ; and by Laud's orders he was committed to 
the Fleet, but soon obtained his release. More serious charges 
were brought against him and the Colony which he governed — charges 
of cruelty and intolerance, which he returned to meet in 1646, and 
he defended himself so ably, both personally and by pamphlet, that 
he won for himself many well paid places in the government, as 
well as the confidence of the ofificers of the Parliament. In 1650 
he was put on the Committee which dealt with the sequestration 
of estates, and in 1654 was appointed one of the three civil 
commissioners to accompany the fleet that sailed under Penn and 
Venables to the West Indies. He died of fever between Hispaniola 
and Jamaica, and was buried at sea. A good and popular Governor, 
the New Englanders had done well in sending him as their agent 
to England, for his birth and breeding enabled him to make his 
way at home, whilst the best tribute to his rule lay in the fact 
that the Barbadeans petitioned that he should be appointed their 
Governor instead of Lord Willoughby. 

^WINTER, or WINTOUR, THOMAS (1572-1606), of Huddington, 
son of George Winter by his first wife, Jane Ingleby. Served in 
the Netherlands ; Secretary .to Lord Monteagle ; bosom friend of 
Robert Catesby; visited Rome, 1600. Went to Spain, 1602, to 



Worthies of Worcestershire. 183 

induce Philip III. to invade England. Joined with Catesby in the 
plot against James I , and brought Guy Fawkes to England, 1605. 
Took a leading part in digging the mine under the Parliament 
House. Fled to Huddington (November 6th) and then to Stephen 
Littleton's, at Holbeche, where he was wounded by an arrow in 
the arm, while Catesby was shot dead. "Winter was taken to the 
Tower, where he wrote out a full confession, November 25th, 1605, 
and was executed 31st January, 1606. 

^WINTER, ROBERT (d. 1606), elder brother of Thomas (q.v.), 
married Gertrude, daughter of John Talbot, of Grafton. He was 
implicated in the Gunpowder Plot, and with Stephen Littleton hid 
for two months in barns, etc., till he was discovered at Hagley. 
He was executed 80th January, 1606. JOHN WINTER, half- 
brother of Thomas and George, was executed at Worcester with 
Father Oldcorn, 7th April, 1606. 

*WOOD, MRS. HENRY (1814-1887), was Ellen Price, the 
daughter of Thomas Price, of Worcester, who had inherited a large 
glove factory from his mother, Elizabeth Evans, of Grimley. Thomas 
Price, who is the original of Tashley in " Mrs. Haliburton's Troubles," 
had scholarly tastes, but Ellen was brought up by her maternal 
grandmother, and in her girlhood developed curvature of the spine, 
so that all her life she was an invalid. In 1836 she married Henry 
Wood, a banker and shipper, for some time in the consular service. 
For twenty years they lived abroad, mainly in Dauphine, and when 
they returned to England in 1866 Mr. Wood died. One of their 
children was Charles Wood, her biographer, and co-editor of the 
"Argosy." Her first literary efforts were short stories in " Bentley's 
Miscellany," in which "East Lynne " also appeared. When the time 
came for publishing in book form, she had great difficulty in finding 
a publisher, but eventually Bentley, who published all her succeeding 
books, took it, and thanks mainly to the Times review, at once it 
achieved a great success. The printers could scarcely keep pace 
with the demand, and it was freely translated and freely dramatized. 
In 1867 she became proprietor and conductor of the "Argosy," in 
which the better part of her work first appeared. "A Life's Secret" 
was published anonymously by the Religious Tract Society, and it 
so darkly shewed up one side of trade agitations that the Society 
was threatened by the mob if the name of the author were not 



184 Short Biographies of^ the 

revealed. The " Johnny Liidlow " tales were also published anony- 
mously in the '^Argosy" " Danesbury House " had an immense 
circulation and exerted great moral influence. Her other works 
were all melodramatic, and are still extremely popular ; the copies 
printed have reached millions. " The Channings " gives a minute 
description of Worcester and Worcester society under the name of 
" Helstonleigh." A memorial of Mrs. Henry Wood has lately been 
placed in the Cathedral which she loved so much. 

='^WOODWARD, THOMAS (1806-1852), born at Pershore, son 
of a solicitor. Placed at an early age in the studio of Mr. A. 
Cooper, E.A., he made rapid progress, and exhibited a picture at 
the age of 15 at the British Institution. He became a constant 
exhibitor at the Royal Academy from 1822 till his death. His 
subjects were chiefly animals, and earned for his work high praise 
from Landseer. His death from consumption prematurely closed 
a career of greatest promise. 

WOODWARD, HERBERT HALL (1847-1909), born at Arley 
Castle, near Bewdley, youngest son of Mr. Robert Woodward. 
Educated at Radley and Oxford. Mus. Bac, 1866 ; M.A., 1871. 
He took Holy Orders and was Curate for several years at Wantage. 
In 1881 he was appointed Minor Canon of Worcester Cathedral, 
and in 1890 Precentor, an office which he retained till his death. 
He was the composer of many well-known Services and Anthems 
and took a large share in the founding of the Cathedral Choir 
School. Under his training the Cathedral services became noted for 
their reverent and careful performance. 

*WORCESTER or BOTONER, WILLIAM (1415?-1482?), born 
at Bristol. Student of Hart Hall, Oxford, 1434. Secretary to Sir 
John Fastolf. Drew up notes of his travels in England, and wrote 
a history of the learned men of Oxford, " Polyandria Oxoniensis." 
His survey of the dimensions of many of our conventual churches 
is often quoted by Browne Willis. His "Annates rerum Anglicarum" 
is a valuable historical record. 

WDLFSTAN I. (d. 1023), surnaraed "Lupus." Became Bishop 
of Worcester and Archbishop of York in 1003. The monks looked 
upon him as a plunderer of the Church, and stigmatised him as 
" the Reprobate " — Nam nimis erravit, dum rebus nos spoliavit. When 



Worthies of Worcestershire. 185 

Wulfric married his sister she was endowed with monastic land at 
Eibbesford, Knightwick, &c., for three men's day. When the EngHsh 
were hard pressed by the Danes, Wulfstan roused them by a 
spirited address which is still extant. He enforced discipline at 
Evesham and Gloucester. The ravages of the Danes in his lifetime 
caused much distress ; also the revenues of the Bishop and of the 
Priory of Worcester were not kept distinct till after the Conquest. 

*WULFSTAN, SAINT (1007-1095), born at Long Itchington, 
Warwickshire, where his father was Vicar. Educated at the Monastic 
Schools of Evesham and Peterborough. Entered the household 
of the Bishop of Worcester, and became successively Master of the 
School, Precentor, and Prior. Repaired the Cathedral after the 
Danish devastations. Elected Bishop of Worcester four years before 
the death of Edward the Confessor. Supported Harold, but after 
his death counselled submission to the Normans, and took part in 
the consecration of William the Conqueror on Christmas Day, 1066. 
Saved the revenues of the see for the purpose of building a better 
Cathedral. In 1084 he erected the present Crypt, and completed 
the building in four years. Preached earnestly at Bristol against 
the slave traffic with Ireland which was gradually given up. Buried 
at Worcester. Canonised by Innocent III., 1203. Commemorated 
January 19th. 

WULSY, SAINT (d. 1097), an anchorite, who was led blind- 
fold from Croyland to Evesham, where he erected a chapel to 
St. Kenelm, atid in a cell attached to it, he Isd an anchorite's life 
for 75 years. At his death he was buried behind the High Altar 
in Evesham Abbey. 

*WYLDE, JOHN (1590-1669), son of George Wylde, of Kempsey, 
Serjeant-at-Law, M.P. for Droitwich, 1584, by Frances, daughter 
of Sir Edmund Huddleston. Balliol College, Oxford; M.A , 1610. 
Called to the Bar at Inner Temple, 1612 ; Bencher, 1628; Serjeant- 
at-Law, J 636. M.P. for Droitwich, 1624-26, 1628-9, 1640, and 
1659. M.P. for Worcestershire, 1640-8. Commissioner of the Great 
Seal, 1643-6; Member of Westminster Assembly, 1643; Recorder 
of Worcester, 1646 ; Chief Baron of the Exchequer, 1646-53, and 
January to June, 1660. Under Steward of Kidderminster by the 
new Charter, 4th August, 1636. An active supporter of the Long 
Parliament and Chairman of several Committees. One of the 



186 Short Biographies of the 

managers for the impeachment of Archbishop Laud, 1644. Sequestra- 
tion Commissioner for Worcestershire, 1643. A member of the first 
two Councils of State, 1649-51. Kemoved from the Exchequer by 
Oliver Cromwell, 1653 ; re-instated in 1660, but superseded at the 
Eestoration. He married Anne, daughter of Sir Tlioinas Hariis, 
Bart., M.P., of Tong Castle, Salop, and died at Hampstead. 

WYLDB, THOMAS (d. 1558?), son of Simon Wylde, of The 
Ford, Droitwich. Bought The Commandery at Worcester for £498, 
in 1544. He was a clothier (cloth-maker) at Worcester. Bailiff, 
1547 ; M.P., 1549-52 and 1558. He gave land in Pitchcroft to the 
Corporation on condition that they should erect a Free School in 
the City, " to bring up youthes in their a b.c, mattens, evensong, 
and other lernynge." Together with Eobert Yowle (q.v.) he refoutided 
the Old Trinity School. 

WYSHAM, SIE JOHN DE (d. 1333), member of a knightly 
family seated at Woodmanton, Clifton-on-Teme, acquired probably 
by the marriage of Sir W. Wysham with Margaret, daughter of 
Sir Adam Clifton. John de Wysham was a trusted soldier of 
Edward I., and, when holding the office of "King's Yeoman," was 
licenced in 1303 to marry Eleanor, widow of William de Ferrers, 
" if she so desires." Possibly the lady was not willing, as his wife 
at the time of his death was Avice. In 1311 Edward II. made a 
grant to him for life of the Castle of St. Briavel's, and the Forest 
of Dene. Shortly after the Battle of Bannockhurn, he was ordered 
to investigate a charge of maladministration of the conunisariat. 
A certain Ralph de Benton had received divers victuals of the King 
at Berwick-upon-Tweed, which he had caused to be carried to 
Newcastle-upon-Tyne, where he exchanged them for bad victuals. 
Two years later he had the custody of the Castle and town of 
Berwick, and received a grant of 200 marks a year. This money 
was to be paid to him by Edmund de Wodestoke, the King's 
brother, out of the revetmes of Knaresborough Castle and Borough- 
bridge. In 1320 he attended Thomas, Earl of Norfolk, who went 
with the King beyond the seas. In 1322 he was charged to survey 
the array of men between 16 and 60 in the West Riding of York. 
Next year he was to meet Edmund, Earl of Kent, at Carlisle, to 
degrade the Earl of Carlisle. In 1324 he went to Gascony on the 
King's service. Appointed one of the supervisors of array in the 
Counties of Worcester and Hereford, 1326. As Steward of the 



Worthies of Worcestershire. 187 

King's household in 1328 he secured a grant to the Bailiffs and 
good men of Worcester of pontage for three years to be taken by- 
John Lony and William de Martleye, Citizens of Worcester. In 
1330, perhaps by the influence of Roger Mortimer, Earl of March, 
he was appointed Justice of N. Wales. Later, in conjunction with 
Thomas, Earl of Warwick, he was made keeper of the County of 
Worcester. His widow, Aviee de Wysham, held five hides in Clifton 
and Herton in 1347. The family was also connected with Tedstone 
Delamere and Holt. 

-YARRANTON, AiSIDREW (1616-1681), born at Larford, Astley. 
Apprenticed to a Worcester linen draper. Joined the Parliamentary 
army, and rose to be captain. In 1652 he began manufacturing 
iron at Ashley, near Bewdley. Imprisoned for a time at the 
Restoration. Formed plans for improving inland navigation — 
(1) to deepen the Salwarpe and connect Droitwich with the Severn 
(not then carried out) ; (2) to make the Stour navigable, and join 
it by a canal with the Trent. Some progress was made with this 
undertaking — " Coales were brought by Boates to Kidderminster on 
ye 9th of March, 1665." Yarranton was in advance of his age, and 
the scheme then came to a standstill for want of money. James 
Brindley carried it out 100 years later at a cost of £105,000. 
Yarranton's fertile brain was always busy devising plans for the good 
of his country. He introduced clover seed, and supplied it largely 
to the farmers of the western counties, whence it soon became adopted 
throughout the country. He then went to Saxony and learnt the 
art of making tin plates, but some patent was " trumpt up," and 
he was not allowed to continue his operations. In 1677 he published 
his " England's Improvevient by Sea and Land ; to outdo the Dutch 
ivithout fighting, aud 2)ay debts loithout money," wherein " he chalks 
out the future course of Britain with as free a hand as if second- 
sight had revealed to him those expansions of its industrial career 
which never fail to surprise us, even when we behold them realised." 
Inland navigation, harbours, the extension of the iron and woollen 
trades, the linen manufacture, a public bank, fisheries, a land registry, 
employment of the poor, a plan for preventing fires in London, etc., 
all were well thought out by him ; but " his voice sounded among 
the people like that of one crying in the wilderness." Bishop 
Watson said that he ought to have had a statue erected to his 
memory because of his eminent public services. [See also Dr. Smiles' 
Industrial Biography, Chapter IV.]. 



188 Short Biographies of the 

YATB, MARY LADY (1610-1696), daughter of Humphrey 
Pakington, of Harvington Hall, Chaddesley Corbett, by his wife 
Abigail Sacheverel. As coheiress she inherited Harvington, now 
an interesting old ruin. She married Sir John Yate, Bart., of 
Buckland, Berks., but spent her latter years at Chaddesley, where 
she is buried in the Lady Chapel, with a quaint epitaph by her 
daughter Apollonia. She was a lady of great piety, benevolence, and 
spirit ; and a firm supporter of the Roman Catholic creed. She built 
and endowed three almshouses for widows. Sylvester Jenks (q.v.), 
a village lad, whom she sent to Douay, was made Chaplain to 
James II. The old Hall has many little secret rooms which 
provided refuges for the priests in times of persecution. Her son, 
Sir Charles Yate, had a daughter, and eventually sole heiress, Mary, 
who was married to Sir Robert Throckmorton, Bart. 

YOWLE, ROBERT (fl. temp. Eliz.), was a Worcester clothier, 
who gave £100 towards the foundation of a free school (Old Trinity 
foundation), and bouad the " maister and skoUers " to go yearly to 
the place where he was buried and pray for the souls of himself, 
his parents, his wife and children, and all Chrysten sowles." He 
bought the great hall, formerly belonging to the Trinity Guild, and 
presented it to the Company of "Weavers, Walkers (fullers) and 
Clothiers. He was M..P. for Worcester, 1547-52, 1554-5, 1558, 
and one of the two Bailififs of the City, 1548, 1552, 1559. 



Worthies of Worcestershire. 



189 



INDEX LOCORUM VIGORNIENSIUM. 



Abberley : 

Bromley, Henrietta 
Noake, John 
Walsh, William 

Abberton : 

Laslett, William 

Alcester : 

Beauchamp, Sir John de 
Egwine, Saint 

Alvechurch : 

Brian, Reginald 
Hickes, George 
Mocre, Richard 

Arley (Upper) : 

Woodward, Herbert Hall 

Areley Kings : 

Cocks, Arthur Herbert 

Layamon 

Vernon Thomas 

Astley : 

Havergal, Frances Ridley 
Havergal, Francis Tebbs 
Havergal, William Henry 
Lee, Samuel 
Vernon, Thomas 
Yarranton, Andrew 

Badsey : 

Seward, Thomas 

Bentley Pauncefot: 
Cookes, Sir Thomas 

Beoley : 

Sheldon, Ralph 

Besford: 

Sebright, Sir John Saunders 
Sebright, William 



Bewdley : 

Anson, Hon. A. H. A. 

Arthur, Prince 

Andrews, Miles, Peter 

Beddoe, John 

Beddoe, Henry Child 

Bromley, Henrietta 

Cawood, John 

Darby, Abraham 

Feild, Edward 

Fryer, James 

Griffith, George 

Hopkins, William 

Ingram, A. H. Winnington 

Ingram, T. O. Winnington 

Jorden, George 

Knight, Richard 

Knight, Richard Payne 

Knight, Thomas Audrew 

Lechmere, Sir Nicholas 

Lyttelton, Sir Charles 

Lyttelton, George 

Lyttelton, Sir Thomas 

Lyttelton. William H. 

Lyttelton, William H. (Canon) 

Lyttelton, Thomas 

Morton, Richard 

Oasland, Henry 

Phillips, Catherine 

Prattinton, Peter 

Pytts, Edward 
Siddons, Sarah 
Sidney, Mary 
Sturge, Charles 
Tangye, Joseph 
Tombes, John 
Walcot, Sir Thomas 
White, James 
Willis, Richard 
Winnington, Sir Francis 
Wulfstan I. 



190 



Short Biographies of the 



BiDFORD : 

Wadley, Thomas Procter 

BiRLINGHAM : 

Lander, Robert Eyres 
Russell, Sir William 

BiRTSMORTON : 

Coote, Richard 
Huskisson, William 
Nanfan, John 
Nanfan, Sir Richard 
Pytts, Samuel 
Thackvvell, Sir Joseph 

Blockley : 

Cantelupe, Walter de 
Collier, Giles 
Warmestry, Thomas 

BORDESLEY : 

Blount, Thomas 

Bradley : 

Housman, Henry 

Bransford : 

Bransford, Wulstan 

Bredon : 

Prideaux, John 
Tatwin 

Bretforton : 

Ashwin, James Collins 

Broadway : 

BabingtOD, Gervase 
Phillipps, Sir Thomas 

Bromsgrove : 

Bache, Sarah 
Barnesley, William 
Bourne, Robert 
Bromsgrove, Richard 
Collis, John Day 
Cookes, Sir Thomas 
Cotton, William Alfred 
Crane, John 
Dugard, William 
Flavel, John 
Grazebrook, Henry Sydney 



Bromsgrove : 
Hall, John 

Hastings, Sir Thomas 
Maund, Benjamin 
Nye, Nathaniel 
Walton, Elijah 
Warmestry, Thomas 
Wilson, Joseph Bowstead 

Bushley : 

Dowdeswell, John Edmund 
Dowdeswell, William 
Dowdeswell, William (General) 
Jelf, Sir James 

Chaddesley Corbett : 
Baldwin, Thomas 
Dodd, Charles 
Jenks, Sylvester 
Russell, Sir William Oldnall 
Wall, John 
Yate, Lady Mary 

Claines : 

Biddulph, Thomas Tregenna 

Curtler, Thomas Gale 

Maurice, Thomas 

Nash, Thomas 

Nash, Tread way Russell 

Somers, John 

Clent : 

Kenelm, Saint 

Clifton-on-Teme : 
Butt, George 

Ingram, Arthur H. Winnington 
Jeffries, Edward 
Jeffries, Joyce 
Morton, Sir William 
Wysham, Sir John de 

Cotheridge : 

Berkeley, Sir Rowland 
Pytts, Samuel 
Street, Sir Thomas 

Cradley : 

Caslon, William 



Worthies of Worcestershire. 



191 



Croome : 

Butler, Samuel 
Coventry, George William 
Coventry, Thomas 
Coventry, Sir John 
Frewen, John 
Trapp, John 

Crowle : 

More, Richard 

Daylesford : 

Hastings, Warren 
Martiall, John 

DowLES : 

Cawood, John 
Pratt, Josiah 

Drayton : 

Wakeman, John 

Droitwich : 

Coote, Richard 

Corbett, John 

Coventry, Henry 

Coventry, Thomas 

Galton, Sir Douglas 

Jeffries, Edward 

Lane, Sir Richard 

Lea, William 

Nash, Treadway Russell 

Pakington, Sir John 

Pakington, Sir John Somerset 

Rainsborough, Thomas 

St. Richard de Wyche 

Sebright, William 

Siddons, Sarah 

Steynor, Robert 

Windsor, Andrews 

Winnington, Thomas 

Winslow, Edward 

Wylde, John 

Wylde, Thomas 

Yarranton, Andrew 

Dudley : 

Baldwin, Thomas 
Baxter, Richard 
Booker, Luke 
Campbell, John 



Dudley : 

Cardale, Paul , 

Darby, Abraham 
Dudley, Dud 
Moss, Joseph William 
Paganell, Gervase 
Phillips, Thomas 
Phillips, Catherine 
Sanders, Henry 
Smith, Samuel 
Wallace, Robert 
Ward, John William 

ECKINGTON : 

Eginton, Francis 

Eldersfield : 

Savage, Henry 

Evesham : 

Adam de Evesham 

Aegelwig 

Aelfweard 

Baylies, William 

Bernard! , John 

Biddulph, Thomas Tregenna 

Borthwick, Algernon 

Bromsgrove, Richard 

Cardale, Paul 

Cockerel, Sir Charles 

Deacle, John 

Egwine, Saint 

Elstob, Elizabeth 

Evesham, Hugh de 

Feckenham, John de 

Hill, Lord Arthur 

Hopkins, William 

Ingram, A. H. Winnington 

Kinewold 

Lichfield, Clement 

Malins, Sir Richard 

Marleberge, Thomas de 

Mauger 

May, George 

Myatt, James 

Masters, Joseph 

Oswald. Saint 

Phillipps, Sir Thomas 

Phillips, Catherine 



192 



Short Biographies of the 



Evesham : 

Ralph of Evesham 

Rouse, Sir Thomas 

Rouse-Boughton, Sir C. W. 

Rudge, Edward (d. 1696) 

Rudge, Edward (d. 1846) 

Rudge, John 

Rudge, Edward John 

Rushout, Sir John 

Rushout, Sir John (Lord Northwick) 

Strickland, Hugh Edwin 

Temple, Sir Richard 

Tindal, William 

Watson, John 

Wulfstan I. 

Wulfstan, Saint 

Wulsy, Saint 

Feckenham : 

Cookes, Sir Thomas 
Eedes, Richard 
Feckenham, John de 
Leighton, Sir Thomas 
Talbot, Sir Gilbert 
Throckmorton, Francis 

Fladbury : 

Holland, Seth 
Lloyd, William 
Thrdckmorton, Sir John 
Tilhere 

Frankley : 

Littleton, Sir Thomas 
Lyttelton, Sir Charles 
Lyttelton, Sir Thomas 
Lyttelton, John 

Grafton : 

Stafford, Sir Humphrey 
Talbot, Sir Gilbert 

Grimley : 

Hooper, George 
Wood, Mrs. Henry 

Hadzor : 

Amphlett, Richard Paul 
Galton, Sir Douglas Strutt 



Hagley : 

Lyttelton, Alfred 

Lyttelton, Arthur Temple 

Lyttelton, Sir Charles 

Lyttelton, Charles, D.D. 

Lyttelton, George 

Lyttelton, George William 

Lyttelton, William Henry 

Lyttelton, Thomas 

Lyttelton, William Henry (Rev ) 

Shenstone, William 

Winter, Robert 

Hales Owen : 

Attwood, Thomas 
Green, Amos 
Green, Benjamin 
Littleton, Adam 
Parkes, David 
Sanders, Henry 
Sanders, John Butler 
Shenstone, William 

Hallow : 

Pepys, Henry 

Hampton Lovett : 
Hammond, Henry 
Pakiugton, Sir John 
Pakington, Sir John (d. 1680) 
Pakington, Sir John (d. 1727) 
Pakington, Sir John Somerset 
Pakington, Lady Dorothy 
Thomas, William 

Hanbury : 

Bell, Francis 
Hanbury, Henry de 
Hayes, William 
Vernon, Thomas 

Hanley Castle : 
Asgill, John 
Attwood, Thomas 
Beauchamp, Henry de 
Bonnor, Edmund 
Lechmere, Sir Edward A. H. 
Lechmere, Sir Nicholas 
Lechmere, Nicholas (Lord) 
Smith, Edmund 
Symonds, William Samuel 



Worthies of Worcestershire. 



193 



Hartlebury : 

Bentley, Richard 
Carpenter, Jolin 
Gibbons, Benjamin 
Giffard, Godfrey 
Hurd. Richard 
Lloyd, William 
Maddox, Isaac 
Pepys, Henry 
Perowne, John J. Stewart 
Philpott, Henry 
Sleath, Robert 
Smith, Miles 
Stillingfleet, Edward 

Harvington : 

Ingram, A H. Winnington 

HiNDLIP : 

Allsopp, Henry 
Habington, Edward 
Habingtoti, Edward 
Habington, William 
Lambe, John 

Holt: 

Beauchamp, Sir John de 
Bourne, Sir John 
Bromley, Sir Thomas 
Bromley, Sir Henry 

Huddington : 

Underbill, Edward 
Winter, Thomas 
Winter, Robert 

Kempsey : 
Aelhune 

Cantelupe, Walter de 
Ellis, Sir Henry Walton 
Giffard, Godfrey 
Nash, Treadway Russell 
Temple, Sir Richard 
Trapp, John 
Turner, Richard 
Walcot, John Cotterell P. 
Winslow, Edward 
Wylde, John 

Kenswick : 

Britten, Richard Frederick 



Kidderminster : 

Baldwin, Thomas 
Baxter, Richard 
Beauchamp, Sir John de 
Bott, Thomas 
Bradley, Edward 
Bradley, Waldron 
Brinton, William 
Broom, Herbert 
Broom, John 
Broome, Sir F. Napier 
Bucknall, Rupert T. H. 
Butt, George 
Clare, Sir Ralph 
Claughton, Thomas Legh 
Cooper. Robert 
Doolittle, Thomas 
Foley, Thomas 
Gibbons, Benjamin 
Grosvenor, George Herbert 
Hanbury, John 
Helmore, Thomas 
Hill, James 
Hill, Sir Rowland 
Hill, Thomas Wright 
Johnstone, Edward 
Johnstone, James 
Johnstone, John 
Kyderminster, Richard 
Lea, Sir Thomas 
Lea, William 
Mason, Sir Josiah 
Onslow, Arthur 
Orton, Job 
Pearsall, Richard 
Roberts, George Edward 
Sheppard, John George 
Sherwood, Mary Martha 
Simcox, William Henry 
Simcox, George Augustus 
Waller, Edmund 
Ward, John William 
Ward. William 
Wylde, John 
Yarranton, Andrew 

Kington : 

Tindal, William 



194 



Short Biographies of the 



King's Norton : 
Guest, Edwin 
Moore, Richard 
Sargant, William Lucas 

Knightwick: 

Hill. Edward Henry 
Stillingfleet, James 
Wilson, Joseph Bowstead 

Kyre Wyakd: 

Pytts, Sir Edward 
Pytts, Edward 
Pytts, Samuel 

Leigh : 

Bransford, Wulfstan 
Nash, Treadway Russell 

LiNDRIDGE : 

Hopkins, William 
Meadowcourt, Richard 
Milward, Edward 
Onslow, Arthur 

LONGDON : 

Evanson, Edward 

Madresfield : 

Lygon, William 
Lygon, Henry 

Lygon, Frederick 

Malvern : 

Alcock, John 

Aldwin 

Arthur, Prince 

Attwood, Thomas 

Booker, Luke 

Bray, Sir Reginald 

Card, Henry 

Faber, Arthur Henry 

Foster, Reginald E. 

Gully, William Court 

Holl, Harvey Buchanan 

Langland, William 

Latimer, Hugh 

Lyttelton, Thomas 

Roger 

Symonds, William Samuel 

Urse, d'Abitot 

Walker, John Severn 



Martley : 

Calverley, Charles Stuart 
Doughty, John 
Hastings, Sir Charles 
Hastings, Sir Thomas 
Jukes, Francis 

Naunton Beauchamp : 

Wadley, Thomas Procter 

Newland : 

Walwyn, William 

Offknham : 

Myatt, James 

Ombeksley : 

Hill, Lord Arthur Marcus 
Peshall, Sir John 
Pyits, Edward 
Sandys, Samuel 

OVEKBUKY : 

Nash, Treadway Russell 

Pedmore: 

Grazebrook, Henry Sydney 

Pendock : 

Symonds, William Samuel 

Peoplkton : 

Claridge, Richard 

Pershore : 
Brighteag 
Collier, Giles 
Malins, Sir Richard 
Odo 

Oswald, Saint 
Woodward, Thomas 

PiRTON : 

Folliott, Henry 

Walcot, John Cotterell P. 

PowicK : 

Beauchamp, Sir John de 
Russell, Sir William Oldnall 
Somers, John 

Redditch : 

Allcock, Samuel 
_ Paddock, Tom 



Worthies of Worcestershire. 



195 



Redmarley d'Abitot : 

Hallen, Arthur W. Cornelius 

RipPLH : 

Bonnor, Edmund 

Rock : 

Lines, Henry Harris 
Oasland, Henry 

Rouse Lench : 

Baxter, Richard 
Dowley, Richard 
Knight, Thomas Andrew 
Rouse, Sir Thomas 
Rouse-Boughton, Sir Charles W. 

Rushock: 

Wall, John 

Salwarpe : 

Beauchamp, Richard de 
Douglas, Arthur Jeffreys 

Severn Stoke : 

Fowns, Richard 

Shakenhurst: 

Clive, Caroline 

Shelsi,ky : 

Moore, Joseph 

Shipston-on-Stour : 
Parker, George 

Shrawley : 

Bourne, Robert 

Spetchley : 

Berkeley, Sir Robert 
Berkeley, Robert 
Burnet, Elizabeth 
Falkner, Thomas 

Stanford-on-Thme : 
Butt, George 
Cameron, Lucy Lyttelton 
JeiTiies, Edward 
Pakington, Sir John 
Prattinton, Peter ■' 

Salwey, Humphrey 
Sherwood, Mary Martha 
Winnington, Sir Francis 
Winnington, Thomas 



Stockton-on-Temk : 
Pearson, Thomas 

Stoke Prior : 

Corbett, John 
Crusius, Lewis 
Dowley, Richard 
Toy, John 

Stoulton : 

Derham, William 

Stourbridge : 

Foley, Richard 
Foley, Thomas 
Grazebrook, Henry Sydney 
Hallen, Arthur W. Cornelius 
Hickman, Henry 
Parkes, Samuel 
Richards, Alfred Bate 
Routh, Martha 
Scott, William 
Siddons, Sarah 

Stodrport : 

Baldwin, Alfred 
Gibbons, Benjamin 
Hill, Thomas Rowley 
Nicholson, George 

Strensham : 

Butler, Samuel 

Nash, Treadway Russell 

Russell, Sir William 

Studley : 

Edes, Richard 

Suckley : 

Hill, Edward Henry 
Pearson, John 

Tardebigge : 

Lambe, John 
Windsor, Andrews 
Windsor, Thomas 
Windsor-Hickman, Thomas 

Tenbury : 

Mannd, Benjamin 

Norris, William 

Ouseley, Sir Frederick A. G 

Smith, Edmund 



196 



Short Biographies of the 



Tredington : 

Nicoll, Whitlock 
Parker, Sir Hyde 

Upton-on-Severn : 

Bromley, Sir Henry 

Davison, John 

Dee, John 

Johnson, Sir Charles C. 

Keck, Anthony 

Kelley, Edward 

Maurice, Thomas 

Skey, Frederic Carpenter 

Smith, Miles 

Great Webley : 

Turner, Richard 

Westwood : 

Hickes, George 
Pakington, Sir John (d. 1560) 
Pakington, Sir John (d. 1625) 
Pakington, Sir John (d. 1688) 
Pakington, Lady Dorothy 
Perrot, Sir John 

WiCHENFORD : 

F'oher, Margaret le 

Wick : 

Giffard, Godfrey 
Pytts, Samuel 
Willis, John Walpole 

Wilden : 

Baldwin, Alfred 

WiTLEY : 

Adelaide, Queen 
Foley, Paul 
Foley, Thomas 
Pearson, Thomas 
Ward, William 

WOLVERLEY : 

Attwood, Thomas 

Baskerville, John 

Knight, Sir Frederick Winn 

Knight, Richard 

Onslow, Arthur 

Sebright, Sir John Saimders 

Sebright, William 



Worcester : 

Allcroft, John Derby 

Allies, Jabez * 

Arthur, Prince 

Badby, John 

Badland, Thomas 

Barr, Alfred 

Barry, Alfred 

Baxter, Thomas 

Bearcroft, Philip 

Beauchamp, Sir John de 

Beauchamp, Sir John de (d. 1475) 

Beauchamp, Walter de 

Berkeley, Sir F^obert 

Berkeley, Sir Rowland 

Binns, Richard William 

Blandford, Walter 

Blois, William de 

Bott, Thomas 

Bouchier, Thomas 

Bradley, Tliomas 

Cotton, William Alfred 

Creighton, Mandell 

Crusius, Lewis 

Davis, Edward 

Dougherty, John 

Dudley, Dud 

Ellis, Sir Henry Walton 

Faccio, Nicholas 

Feild, Edward 

p-ell, John 

Flight, Joseph 

Florence 

Fryer, James 

Gainsborough, William 

Giles, Nathaniel 

Gordon, Adam Lindsay 

Gosse, Philip Henry 

Grainger, Thomas 

Green, Valentine 

Hadley, James 

Hall, John Vine 

Hall, Edmund 

Hancock, Robert 

Harper, Thomas 

Havergal, William Henry 

Hayes, William 



Worthies of Worcestershire. 



197 



Worcester : 
Hemming 
Hickes, George 
Hill, Thomas Ford 
Hill, Thomas Rowley 
Hill, Edward Henry 
Holl, Harvey Buchanan 
Holland, Seth 
Hopkins, William 
Hough, John 
Hughes, William 
Hullah, John Pyke 
Hurd, Richard 
Johnson, James 
Johnstone, James 
Jorden, George 
Keck, Anthony 
Kelly, Edward 
Lane, Sir Richard 
Laslett, William 
Latimer, Hugh 
Lees, Edwin 
Lines, Hen y Harris 
Littelton, Sir Thomas 
Living 

Lloyd, William 
Lovett, Richard 
Lytteltou, George William 
Lyttelton, Sir Thomas 
iVladdox, Isaac 
Malverne, John 
Mauger 

Maurice, Thomas 
Meadowcourt, Richard 
Moore, Francis 
Moore, Joseph 
Moore, Richard 
More, William 
Morley, George 
Nabbes, Thomas 
Nash, John 

Nash, Tread way Russell 
Nicholas 
Noake, John 
North, Brownlow 
Nott, John 
Nye, Nathaniel 



WORCKSTER : 

Onslow, Arthur 
Oswald, Saint 
Oswen, John 
Ottley, Alice 
Padmore, Richard 
Pearson. Thomas 
Pearson, John 
Pennethorn, Sir James 
Pennethorn, John 
Pepys, Henry 
Price, William 
Prideaux, John 
Rainsborough, Thomas 
Ralph of Evesham 
Roger 

Russell, Sir John 
Russell, Sir William Oldnall 
Saewulf 

Salwey, Richard 
Samson 

Sandys', Sir Edwin 
Sheriff, Alexander Clunes 
Siddoiis. Sarah 
Silvester of Evesham 
Simon 

Sleath, Robert 
Smith, Miles 
Smiih, William 
Snell, Hannah 
Somers, John 
Stillingfieet, James 
Street, Sir Thomas 
Strickland, Hugh Edwin 
'I'albot, William 
Taylor, Isaac 
Taylor, James 
Thomas, William (Bishop) 
Thomas, William 
Thornborough, John 
Toy, John 
Trapp, John 
Turner, Thomas 
Urse d'Abitot 
Vaughan, Robert Alfred 
Vellers, Robert 
W;idley, Thomas Procter 



198 



Short Biogra,phies of the 



Worcester : 

Wakefield, Henry 

Wall, John 

Wall, John, M.D. 

Wall, Martin 

Walsh, John Henry 

Walsh. William 

Warmestry, Gervase 

Warmestry. Thomas 

Warwick, Earl of 

Weaver, Thomas 

Werefrid 

White, John 

Whitgift, John 

Williams, Sir Edward Leader 

Williams, Edward Leader 



Worcester : 

Willis, John Walpole 
Wilson, Joseph Bowstead 
Winchcomb, Tideman de 
Windsor, Andrews 
Winnington, Thomas 
Winnington, Sir Francis 
Winter, John 
Wood, Mrs. Henry 
Woodward, Herbert Hall 
Wulfstan, Saint 
Wylde, John 
Wylde, Thomas 
Wysham, Sir John 
Yarranton. Andrew 
Yowle. Robert 



Worthies of Worcestershire. 199 



LIST OF SUBSCRIBERS. 



Library Edition (30 copies printed). 



Alice Ottley School Library, Worcester. 

Blencowe, Rev. C. E., M.A., Marston House, near Banbury, 

BouGHTON, Sir William St. Andrew Rouse, Bart., Downton Hall, Ludlow. 

Browne, Mrs. Walter, College Green, Worcester. 

Burton, Rev. H. J. Chandos, M.A., Stoke St. Milburgh Vicarage, Ludlow. 

Burton, Rev. H. P. Walcot, M.A., C.F., Salonica. 

Burton, Miss Katharine, Bitterley Rectory, Ludlow. 

DowDESWELL (the late). Canon Edmund R., M.A., Pull Court, Tewkesbury. 

Kidderminster Public Library (Mr. W. F. Baillie). 

Knight, Major Eric A., M.P., Wolverley House, Kidderminster. 

Palfrey, Henry E., Woodcote, Stourbridge. 

Perrins, C. W. Dyson, F.R.A.S., Davenham, Malvern. 

Rust, Rev. Cyprian T., M.A., Frodingham Vicarage, Lines. 

Tomkinson, Michael, Franche Hall, Kidderminster. 

Vernon, Sir Harry Foley, Bart., M.A., Hanbury Hall, Droitwich. 

Walcot, Mrs. John, St. Leonard's-on-Sea (2 copies). 

Wilson (the late), Rev. Joseph Bowstead, M.A., F.S.A., Worcester. 

Wood, Mrs. John B., Henley Hall, Ludlow. 

Worcester Public Library (Mr. T. R. Duckworth). 



(250 copies printed). 



Addenbrooke, Bertram, M.D., Kidderminster. 

Allcroft, Mrs. H. J., Stokesay Court, Shropshire. 

Allen, E. G. & Son, 14, Grape Street, London. 

Amphlett, John, M.A., F.S.A., Clent Cottage, Stourbridge. 

Ashwin, James, Bretforton Manor, Evesham. 

Attwood, Thomas, A.C, M.A., F.S.A,, Sion Hill House, Wolverley. 

Ayscough, Rev. Prebendary T. A., M.A., Cradley Rectory, Malvern. 



200 Short Biographies of the 



Lloyd-Baker, Miss G., Hardwicke Court, Gloucester. 

Baldwin, Mrs Alfred, Wilden House, Stourport (2 copies). 

Baldwin, Stanley, M.A., M.P., Astley Hall, Stourport. 

Baldwyn-Childe, Mrs. F. C. Kyre Park," Tenbury. 

Beddoe, Charles B., Diocesan Registry, Hereford. 

Bigwood, Ernest J., Barnt Green, Worcestershire. 

Bland (the late), Capt., Alfred E, M.A., Public Record Office, London. 

Blencowe, Rev. Canon A. J., M.A., West Kirby Rectory, Cheshire. 

Brinton (the late), John, Moor Hall, Stourport. 

Broome, The Hon. Justice, Supreme Court, Natal. 

Broome, Mrs., Areley Court, Stourport. 

Browne, Major B. S., R.G.A., Gibraltar. 

Browne, Mrs. Walter, College Green, Worcester (2 copies). 

Browne, Rev. Prebendary W. Bevil, M.A., Shaldon, Teignmouth. 

Brown-Westhead, Miss, Lea Castle, Wolverley. 

BucKNALL, T. Sylvester, Kidderminster. 

Bucknall, Capt. W. Beverley, Buluwayo, Rhodesia. . 

Burton, John Walcot, Stoke St. Milburgh Vicarage. 

Burton, David Chandos, Stoke St. Milburgh Vicarage. 

Cardiff Central Library (Henry Farr, Librarian). 

Cawood, Miss B., Holland House, Hove, Sussex. 

Cawood, W. B. C, M.A., Holland House, Hove. 

Chamberlain, Mrs. T., 5, Priory Mansions, Drayton Gardens, S.W. 

Chappel, Rev. Canon W. H., M.A., King's School, Worcester. 

Cobham, Right Hon. Viscount, M.A., Hagley Park. 

Cornish Brothers, New Street, Birmingham (3 copies). 

Cotton, John, F.R.LB.A., Dryden Villa, Sparkbrook, Birmingham. 

Crane, John H., Oakhampton, Stourport. 

Davenport, Rev. James, M.A., F.S.A., Harvington Rectory, Evesham. 
Davis (the late), E. Amphlett, Emilthwaite, Great Malvern. 
Deerhurst, The Right Hon. Viscount, Pirton Court. 
Dixon, Rev. T. G., M.A., The Hall, Holton le Moor, Lincoln. 
DowDESWELL (the late) Canon E. R., M.A., Pull Court (2 copies). 
Downing, Miss, Normanhurst, Stourbridge. 
Dudley Public Library (Miss E. L. Southall). 
Dulau & Co., 37, Soho Square, London. 

Evans, E. Probert, Clifton House, Worcester. 

ffoLLiOTT, Miss M., Hollybrooke, Boyle, Ireland. 

Floyer, Rqv. J. Kestell, M.A., F.S.A., The Rectory, Esher. 

Freeman, Mrs., Thorn Bank, Malvern Wells. 

Gabb, J. Percy A., M.D., Guildford, Surrey. 

Gibbons (the late). Rev. Benjamin, M.A., Waresley House, Kidderminster. 

Grazebrook, F., Himley House, Dudley. 

Griffiths, Rev. R. G., M.A., Clifton-on-Teme Vicarage, Worcester. 



Worthies of Worcestershire. 201 

Hadley, L. W., West Dulwich (2 copies). 

Hadley, H. E., B.Sc, School of Science, Kidderminster (2 copies). 

Hadley, F. J., West Dulwich. 

Hampton, Rev. Precentor John, M.A., St. Michael's College, Tenbury. 

Hanbury, James A. S., Oxford Road, Moseley. 

Hastings, Charles T., M.A., Mayfield, Rugby. 

Hillard, F. a., M.A , Whiteladies, Worcester. 

Hopewell, Ernest W., B.A., Cranleigh, Surrey. 

Howard, Henry, Stone House, Kidderminster. 

Humphreys, E. G., Worcester (2 copies). 

Humphreys, John, F.S.A , 26, Clarendon Road, Edgbaston. 

Jackson, T. B., The Roselands, Port of Spain, Trinidad. 
Jones-Williams, T. J., Laugherne Hill, Wichenford, Worcester. 
Joyce, Rev. Prebendary F. Wayland, M.A., The Vicarage, Harrow. 

Knight, Mrs. Lewis, Eastnor House, Malvern Link. 

Lane, C. Pelham, M.A., Moundsley Hall, King's Norton, Birmingham. 

Lea, Rev. Ernest E., M.A., C.F., Eastham Rectory, Tenbury (2 copies). 

Lea, Rev. William, M.A., Overbury Rectory, Bredon. 

Lechmere, Captain A. H., Wolverton Hall, Pershore. 

Lees-Milne, Mrs., Ribbesford House, Bewdley. 

Leicester, H., The Whitstones, Worcester. 

Lycett, Jas. a.. Castle Hill, Wolverley. 

Lyttelton, General Sir Neville, The Royal Hospital, Chelsea. 

Mackay, John C, Hatterell, Hereford. 

Maitland, Rev. A. Grey, M.A., The Vicarage, Dudley. 

Malcolm, Mrs., Wribbenhall, Bewdley. 

Malvern Public Library (F. C. Morgan). 

Manby, Miss CoRDY, Wribbenhall (2 copies). 

Marchand, Isidore H. A., Orleans, New Barnet. 

Mark & Moody, Stourbridge (3 copies). 

Marling, Mrs., Clanna, Lydney, Glos. 

Marshall (the late), Isaac, Sarnesfield Court, Weobley. 

Marshall, Philip T., Zetland House, Cheniston Gardens, W. 

St. Michael's College Library, Tenbury. 

Mills, Gerald R., M.A. Sutton, Surrey (2 copies). 

MiLWARD, Charles F., The Leys, Alvechurch. 

Norris, Mrs. W., The Mount, Tenbury {2 copies). 

Oliver (the late), Mrs. Emma, 7, College Yard, Worcester. 

Pakington, Hon. Mary, Waresley Court, Hartlebury. 

Parker, Mrs. Alice, High Street, Bewdley. 

Pearson (the late), Lieut. -Col. Frank S., LL.B. , Avon Lodge, Selly Park 



202 Sho7't Biographies of the 

Pearson, T. H. G., M.A., Shakespeare Road, Bedford. 
Penley, R. H., Ferney Cottage, Dursley. 
Power, Miss Edrington, Pershore. 
Prescott, F. E., Bockleton Court, Tenbury. 

QuARRELL, T. R., St. Nicholas Street, Worcester. 

Robertson (the late). Rev. Canon David, M.A., Benholme, Malvern Wells. 

RoLLAsoN, Arthur A., Dixon's Green, Dudley. 

RousE-BouGHTON, Sir William St. A., Bart., Downton Hall, Ludlow. 

Sandys, Right Hon. Lord, Ombersley Court, Droitwich. 

Saywell, Samuel, M.A., The College, Bromsgrove. 

Shackle, Mrs. Rosamond, Harlington, Middlesex. 

Shakespeare Memorial Library, Stratford-on-Avon. 

Shaw, Rev. Alfred Havergal, Woodnorton, Carlton Road Malvern. 

Shrewsbury Public Library. 

Shrimpton, Mrs., Eversleigh, Redditch (2 copies). 

Smith, Rev. H. Maynard, M.A., Holy Trinity Vicarage, Malvern. 

Solly, A. John, West Heath, Congleton. 

Spurling, Miss, Alice Ottley School, Worcester (2 copies). 

Stevens & Brown, 4, Trafalgar Square, London (2 copies). 

Temple, Sir Richard C, Bart., The Nash, Kempsey. 
Toy, George J., F.C.A., Clarendon Road, Wallington. 

Urwick, Sir Henry, St. Quentin, Malvern. 

Wakeman, Lady, Yeaton-Peverey (2 copies). 
Wakeman-Newport, Mrs., Sandbourne, Bewdley. 
Weyman, Henry T., F.S.A., Fishmore Hall, Ludlow. 
Wheeler, Mrs. Littleton, 14, Lansdown Crescent, Bath. 
Whinfield, Arthur H., Severn Grange, Worcester. 
Wilson, Rev. Rowland A., M.A., Witley Rectory. 
Willis-Bund, J. W., M.A., F.S.A., Shirehall, Worcester (2 copies). 
Wilson & Phillips, Messrs., Eign Street, Hereford. 
Winnington-Ingram, Ven. E. H., M.A., Bridstow Vicarage, Ross. 
Woodward, Mrs. R., Arley Castle, Bewdley. 
Worcester Cathedral Library (Rev. Canon Wilson). 
Wykes-Finch, Rev. W., M.A., The Monks, Chaddesley Corbett. 
Wylde, Rev. Canon R., M.A., Newland, Malvern Link. 



Worthies of Worcestershire. 203 



ERRATA. 



Page 115, line 18, for 1547 read 1549. 
,, 130, ,, 9, ,, bi'Otlier ,, son.