(navigation image)
Home American Libraries | Canadian Libraries | Universal Library | Community Texts | Project Gutenberg | Biodiversity Heritage Library | Children's Library | Additional Collections
Search: Advanced Search
Anonymous User (login or join us)
Upload
See other formats

Full text of "A short history of the First Presbyterian Church of Greer, South Carolina, 1841-1941"

PRESBYTERIAN COLLEGE LIBRARY 
JSC 285.175 74 M17 SBTA 

A .. s .. l ?.?.r.. t .!?.f..V!°rV.°f the First Presbyteria 




3 5197 00078697 3 






OUT OF INTEREST IN 
THE HISTORY OF 
SOUTH CAROLINA 



PRESENTED 

AND 

FOSTEEED 

BY 



DUDLEY JONES 



TO THE 



PRESBYTERIAN COLLEGE 



2«5m~74 



Z/443 



u 



**v++%+»»»»+*%%»\+»»»++»»%++*»*»%++w6+%+»»++%»»%+%»»»»»++»»»+»ww: 



M**%+%M 



A Short History 



of the 



First Presbyterian Church 




PICTURE OF PRESENT CHURCH BUILDING 




Greer, South Carolina 
1841-1941 



> ^***»»+»»»**»»»»vvvv*»%++v*v*+*»*»***»v»**v*v+*»v»*vvv»%**v*v+%»*»v 



Zn 




Sirdscpe Vjew 



esbytenas; Ctartjs asd GtateJ School, Gr«ers, S.C 



PICTURE OF OLD MT. TABOR BUILDING 




-n 



Digitized by the Internet Archive 

in 2010 with funding from 

Lyrasis Members and Sloan Foundation 



http://www.archive.org/details/shorthistoryoffiOOmcgi 



A SHORT HISTORY 

—OF 

THE FIRST PRESYBTERIAN CHURCH 

Greer, South Carolina 
1841 to 1941 



WRITTEN BY 

By The Rev. F. T. McGill, Pastor 

THE DATA COLLECTED BY 

Maude Stewart Buford, Church Historian 



Prepared for the Celebration of the 
One Hundreth Anniversary 
Held At 

Greer, South Carolina 
1 94 1 



ACKNOWLEDGEMENTS 

The Author of this little booklet wishes to acknowledge the 
most valuable assistance given him by Mrs. J. G. Buford, official 
historian of Greer First Presbyterian Church. First, Mrs. Buford has 
had all the original Sessional Minutes type-written and bound by 
the free services of The Federal Works Administration, State-wide 
Historical Project, sponsored by The University of South Carolina, 
under the direction of Dr. R. L. Meriwether and by the work of the 
National Youth Administration Students of the University. Second- 
ly, Mrs. Buford has collected all the historical data in connection with 
this historical sketch, and placed the same in the hands of the author. 
Without this valuable aid it would have been impossible for a busy 
pastor to undertake this work in such a limited time. Also, the author 
wishes to express in a public way his appreciation for the constant 
assistance given him by his life-companion and help-meet, in the 
way of valuable advice and suggestions in phraseology. The Ex- 
tracts of the original deeds herewith contained were graciously sup- 
plied by Mr. L. E. Wood. 



rn'7 



HISTORY 

of the 

First Presbyterian Church 



THE NAME 

The First Presbyterian Church of Greer was originaly organized 
as "Mt. Tabor Presbyterian Church." Inasmuch as this church was 
organized by the Rev. E. T. Buist in the year 1841, it is rather sin- 
gular that another Presbyterian church should be organized by the 
same minister, in the then same South Carolina Presbytery, and in 
the same year 1841. The latter "Mt. Tabor" still lives and serves un- 
der the original name, and at the same location, some ten miles from 
"Tnion. The name of this sketch was changed from "Mt. Tabor" to 
"Greer's Presbyterian Church" in the year 1910, to avoid confusion 
with the other "Mt. Tabor." Then, again when the present building 
was erected, the name was changed to the present form of "The 
First Presbyterian Church of Greer, S. C." 

ORIGIN AND ORGANIZATION 

The first, full minutes of the first Session Book of Mt. Tabor 
Church furnish us the following important information: 

"The first steps to the organization of this church were taken 
6th Sept.r 1840 and the 5.th Sept.r 1841 it was fully organized. 

"Hugh Bailey, Nathaniel Smith, John Smith, and James K. 
Dickson were chosen Elders and all ordained to the office except 
IVJr. Bailey who was removed by death before the time appointed 
for his ordination. 

"The Trustees were Hugh Bailey, Josiah Kilgore, M. Hudson. 

"W.m Dickson was afterwards chosen in the place of Mr. 
Ba ; ley deceased. 

The Church was collected and organized by the Rev.d E. T. 
Buist, and the lollowing are its members: 



((CHARTER MEMBERS) 

Mrs. Elizabeth Bailey John Montgomery 

Mrs. Emma Buist Mrs. John Montgomery 

Mrs. Sarah Butler Mr. Francis McLeod 

Mr. Bradshaw Mrs. Francis McLeod 

Amanda Elizabeth Burnett Miss McLeod 

Hugh Bailey Miss Mellin 

John L. Coan William Reid 

Margaret Coan Matthias Rush 

Miss Campbell Mrs. Rush 

James K. Dickson William Smith 

William Dickson Mrs. William Smith 

William Grisham John T. Smith 

Mrs. William Grisham Mrs. John T. Smith 

Rebecca Gilreath John Smith 

Mrs. Harrison Mrs. John Smith 

Ann Hudson Henry D. Smith 

M. Hudson Mrs. Henry D. Smith 

Ann B. Ingram Samuel D. Smith 

Josiah Kilgore Nathaniel Smith 

Mrs. Kilgore Elizabeth Smith 

Mrs. McBee Mrs. Sara Stone 

John P. McClimmons Ann B. Juhan 

LOCATION AND BUILDING 

Mt. Tabor was originally located at Bailey's Cross Roads, about 
two miles South of Greer. Extracts of titles, deeds, and transactions 
of said property are attached near the end of the book. Deeds of 
Uvo acres of land each from Hugh Bailey and William Grisham were 
given Dec. 5th, 1840, and a deed for the use of the spring on the 
land was given by Mr. Daniel Woods on the same date. These deeds 
were executed Dec. 5th, 1840, and recorded Aug. 30, 1841. The build- 
ing wa& thus erected during the year 1841, and before the date of 
the organization, Sept. 5th, 1841. No mention is made in the min- 
utes about the dedication of this building; however, it is presumed 
that it was duly dedicated soon after its erection, as there is no 
reference to a debt or mortgage on the building. 

INTERESTING ITEMS 

While the church was still standing at Bailey's Cross Roads, there 
^re seveial interesting items that should be recorded in this connec- 
tion. In 1848 this church made her first contribution to any benevo- 
lent cause; the collection was given to the fund to prepare young 
men for the ministry, and the amount was $3.50. In the year 1859 
tne Session voted the sum of $3.50 for the cause of Home Missions, 
which was the first contribution to this worthy cause. In the year 
1871, during the pastorate of the Rev. T. W. White, the Sabbath 
School was organized under the control of the Session. During the 



period of Slavery it is interesting to note that no colored members 
appear on the roll of the church. 

RE.LOCATION AT GREERS 

During the year 1880 the location of the church was changed, 
and the church building of wooden structure was moved, from Bailey's 
Cross Roads to the Greers Station, and to the same site of the pres- 
ent plant. It is a notable fact that this change was made while the 
congregation was without a pastor. At this time Greers was still 
j small village, and the Southern Railroad had just recently been 
b'nlt through this place. Mr. W. T. Shumate, having a foresight for 
*.he future of Greers, in the year 1872 had bought up most of the 
land lying near the Southern Depot, and then cut it up into lots 
of various sizes. Being a devout Christian, and appreciating the in- 
valuable influence of Christian churches in a community, this 
worthy citizen donated a building lot to each of the three surround- 
ing churches, Baptist, Methodist, and Presbyterian. The Presbyter- 
ians were the first of the three to build a church in the Village of 
Greers; i-nd they are the only ones who are still using the original 
lot donated by Mr. Shumate. While the Baptist, the Methodist, and 
the Episcopalians were without a place of worship at various times, 
tne Presbyterians offered their building to them for services; and the 
Methodists worshipped in the Mt. Tabor Church for three or more 
years before they built. The first building was faced on Mills 
Street, now School Street. 

DEDICATION 

The account of the dedication of this building is not contained 
in the Minutes of the Sessional Records, but the following facts were 
obtained from the diary of the Rev. Clark Berry Stewart, who was 
at that time pastor of famous Fairview Presbyterian church, and who 
participated on the dedicatory services. The building was dedicated on 
Saturday, May 28, 1881; and the dedicatory sermon was preached by 
the Rev. R. H. Reid, Pastor of the Reidville Church, from Lev. 26:2. 
The Rev. E. T. Craig preached at 3 P. M., and the Rev. C. B. Stewart 
preached at the night service. Then, on Sabbath, May 29, Mr. Stew- 
art preached at the morning service, and Mr. Craig at the night ser- 
vice. The Rev. C. B. Stewart was the father of Elder T. C. Stewart 
of our present congregation, and the grandfather of Mrs. J. G. Buford 
and Miss Mary Dell Stewart. 

DAUGHTER CHURCHES 

Just seven years after the organization of Mt. Tabor, nine mem- 
bers withdrew, and together with nine other members organized 
"I he Washington Street Presbyterian Church" in Greenville, which 
is now "The First Presbyterian Church of Greenville." The nine 
members from Mt. Tabor were as follows: Mr. and Mrs. McLeod, 
Miss McLeod, Miss Mellin, Mrs. Stone, Mrs. Butler, Mr. and Mrs. 



Montgomery, and Mrs. Harrison. The records also show that two 
01 Mt. Tabor's pastors, the Rev. S. S. Gaillard and the Rev. E. T. 
Buist, became pastors of the said new Greenville First Presbyterian 
Church. Thus the old mother church has watched with a great deal 
of pride her daughter church rise to even greater prominence than 
herself in the service of our Lord and Head of the Church. 

In the year 1889 a small number of members were dismissed 
from Mt. Tabor to organize a church at Duncan, which has been 
since dibsolved. Then, in the year 1900, April 1, the following twenty- 
six members were dismissed to be organized into the Fulton Pres- 
byterian Church, about five miles Southeast of Greer, and about two 
miles East of the old Bailey's Cross Roads site: G. M. Dillard, W. L. 
Dillard, Samuel S. Dillard, Geo. Oliver Dillard, Lou Ella Dillard, 
Eridie L. Dillard Lula Dillard, John Oliver Jones, B. F. McClimmons, 
El'zabeth Ann Mayfield, LaFayette Henry Mayfield, Wm. Pinkney 
Mayfield, C. Perry Mayfield, Mittie N. Mayfield, J. E. Palmer Mc- 
Climmons, William N. Poole, Oscar N. Poole, John Smith, Jane 
Smith, Mary Elizabeth Smith, Sara Toliver Smith. Margaret Ann 
Smith, Laura Ann Smith, Nancy Porter Smith, Miss Sarah Smith, 
Peiry L. Smith. The Rev. Newton Smith, former Clerk of Mt. Tabor 
Session, donated three acres of land to the Fulton Church for a 
building site and a cemetery. This church was organized because 
ol the distance and inconvenience to the city church in those horse- 
and-buggy days. The churches have always maintained the closest 
connections and the most harmonious relations, being served gener- 
ally by the same pastor. 

THE NEW BUILDING 

In the year 1922 the old frame structure was torn away, and the 
present brick edifice was erected on the same site, but facing Victoria 
Stieet. This building, beautiful in it sappointments and commodious 
in size, is still sufficient in every way for the needs of the congre- 
gation. The cost of the building, including furniture and fixtures, 
was around $4u.000. The Building Committee was composed of the 
following members: E. H. Shanklin, Chairman, J. B. Mendenhall, 
John A. Robinson, Sr., B. P. Dillard, and H. W. Link. The finance 
Cc mmittee wa: composed of E. C. Bailey, Chairman, T. E. Smith, J. 
B. Mendenhall. E. H. Shanklin. The first services were held in the 
Mew church on Feb. 11th, 1923. This was a Union Service in which 
all the denominations of the city took part. The Pastors of "The First 
Baptist Church" and "Memorial Methodist Church" brought greet- 
ing from their respective bodies. Dr. A. G Wardlaw, Pastor of Greer 
First, preached the sermon from Joshua 4:6, "What mean ye by these 
six.nes?" and the sermon made a profound and lasting impression 
upon the congregation. 

FINANCIAL DIFFICULTIES 

At the completion of the new church building there was a debt 
of $10,000, covered by a note in The Planter's Saving Bank. In the 

6 



year 1927 the membership of the Church subscribed to one 
hundred shares of building and loan whereby this note was to be 
paid. This building and loan, after being refinanced in 1932, was 
matured in the year, 1940. 

Wher "The People's State Bank of South Carolina," of which 
th^ local 'Greer Bank and Trust Company" had become an associate 
member, and with which the membership of the First Presbyterian 
Cimrch of Greer had thereby become so closely connected, was 
closed, a crisis developed in the financial affairs of Greer First Pres- 
byterian Church. In the general settlement of the closed bank, in 
which a First Presbyterian Church street pavement note was in- 
volved, members of the church endeavored to off-set their personal 
accounts against the church note; and when the receivers of the 
bank refused to cooperate in this step, suit was brought and judg- 
ment was ente" ed against six members of the church. As there had 
never been any previous court decisions in reference to suits against 
individual members of an un-incorporated institution, it was decided 
by the church to carry the case to the Supreme Court as a test case. 
The Cnurch lost the case, and judgments were served on the six 
sued members of the Church for the note. A special committee, com- 
posed of the following members, Dr. J. G. Buford, Mr. C. T. Kendrick, 
and Mr. W. B. Smith, was appointed to handle this hard and delicate 
business of the church. Under the able leadership of this committee 
a new note was made at the bank to cover the old note and the 
court costs, amounting to $2600, and endorsed by twenty-five mem- 
bers of the Church. This note was made for one year, and was fully 
p-i.id by the end of the year. As a result of the above case in the courts 
churches and church institutions of all denominations hastened to 
Incorporate themselves under the laws of the State to protect their 
membership against similar court actions in the future. The First 
Presbyterian Church of Greer was granted a Charter on Aug. 3, 
1937, by the Secretary of the State, and issued to Mr. F. L. Still and 
Mr. C. T. Kendrick as corporators. 

DEDICATION 

The church being free of debt in the early fall of 194u, arrange- 
ments were made to dedicate the church to the glory of God on 
Nov. 11, 1940. Dr. Donald W. Richardson, former Pastor of Greer 
First, and now Professor of Missions in Union Theological Seminary 
in Richmond, Va., preached the dedicatory sermon. Taking his text 
iiom Matt. 16:13-20, and using as his subject, "Loyalty to Christ," 
D~ Richardson preached a very able sermon, which made a pro- 
found and lasting impression upon his congregation. Mr. John A. 
Robinson, Sr., member of the Building Committee and present Clerk 
of the Session, read a brief historical sketch of the church building. 
The dedicatory prayer was offered by the pastor, the Rev. F. T. 
McGill. The Choir under the direction of Mrs. W. B, Smith sang a 
beautiful anthem. In the afternoon from 3 to 5 o'clock, Dr. Richardson 
led in a Presbytery-wide Conference on Evangelism. At the morning 



dedicatory service the auditorium was filled to capacity by members 
and friends; and this will be a day long remembered by all present. 

PRESENT CONGREGATION 

At the present time this congregation is in a splendid condition 
in every way, and every prospect pleases for future progress and 
greater service for our Lord. The active roll of the church is 275, with 
an additional number of 55 non-resident and in-active members. The 
congregation is composed of an un-usually large number of young 
families and small children, facts which make bright the future 
°f the cnurch The congregation has never been split by quarrels; 
and today this body is united, harmonious and happy. Yet, we pray 
for the fulness of the Holy Spirit, that every member may be quick- 
ened and empowered for a greater service for our Lord and Master. 

ECCLESESIASTICAL CONNECTIONS 

Fortunately for the historians, the ecclesiastical connections of 
Greer First have never been very complicated. Mt. Tabor was or- 
ganized under the jurisdiction of, and as a member of South Caro- 
lina Presbytery. Then, when Enoree Presbytery was organized in 
-879, Mt. Tabor became a charter member of the new presbytery, 
of which she is still a loyal and faithful member. During her entire 
history this church has been a member of the Synod of South Caro- 
lina. However, she has been a member of three different General 
Assemblies. First, before the War Between the States she was a 
member of "The General Assembly of the United States of Ameri- 
ca." Then, during the War Between the States she was a member of 
:r lne General Assembly of the Confederate States." And then in 
1665 she became a member of the present supreme court of our 
Ciiurch, "The General Assembly of the United States." 

THE PASTORS 

During the one hundred years of life and serve this church 
has been served by seventeen pastors and nine supply pastors. Some 
of these have been able theologians, some especially good pastors, 
ard all have been faithful servants of Christ. Largely because of the 
wise and faithful leadership of these servants the church has made 
a steady progress, and has always been free from serious disturbances 
and divisions. Below is given in order of succession the pastors and 
'applies of this church, with any special items of interest concerning 
mem or the church during their ministries. 

The Rev. E. T. Buist was the founder and first Pastor of Mt. 
Tabor. He served as supply from Sept. 5, 1841 to May, 1843; as pastor 
from April, 1846 to Mar. 1848; and again as supply from August 1854 
to Jan 1858. These irregular relations were due to Dr. Buist's bad 
health. Dr. Buist served as pastor of Greenville First Presbyterian 
from Dec. 1861 to Nov. 1877. His father was a Presbyterian minister 
of: Edinburg, who became pastor of First Presbyterian church of Char- 
leston, S. C. Dr. Buist was a graduate of Princeton Seminary. After 

8 



leaving Mt. Tabor Dr. Buist became President of The Laurens ville 
Female College. He died Nov. 10, 1877, aged 68 years. 

The Rev. John McKittrick served this church as Supply from 
June 22, 1844, to April 1846; and again from Aug. 1848 to Sept. 1853. 

The Rev. T. E. Davis served as Supply from March, 1858 to 
March, 1860. 

The Rev. S S. Gaillard served as Supply from Sept. 1860 to 1861. 
He became the first pastor of Washington Street Presbyterian church, 
Greenville, S. C, later GreenviUe First, 1848 to 1860. In 1863 Mr. 
Gaillard did a notable service among the Confederate soldiers in the 
cp.mps a^ong the South Carolina coast and in Charleston. 

The Rev. R H. Reid served as Pastor from April, 1861 to May, 
1863; and again from March 1866 to 1869; and as Supply from July 
1380 to June 1881, and again from Oct. 1888 to Oct. 1889. 

The Rev. Theo. Smith served as Supply from April, 1664 to 
August, 1865. 

The Rev. W. T. Pearson served as Supply from Oct., 1865 to 
1366. 

The Rev. T. W. White served as Supply from Aug., 1871 to Aug., 
18774. The first Sabbath School was started during the pastorate of 
Mr. White. 

The Rev. J R. Jacobs served as Pastor from Feb., 1875 to 1877. 

The Rev. T. B. Craig served as pastor from July, 1881 to Sept., 
1881. Mr Craig was the first Pastor to serve the church after the 
removal to Greers. 

The Rev. S. E. Bishop served as Supply from Nov., 1881 to 
March, 1882. 

The Rev. Wm. M. McWhorter served as Pastor from May, 1882 
to Sept., 1883. During this time Mr. McWhorter reorganized the Re- 
treat Church, near Westminster, S. C. 

The Rev. J. W. Querry served as Supply from Nov., 1883 to Nov., 
1884. 

The Rev. B. P. Reid served as Pastor from Aug., 1885 to Aug., 
1886. The Rev. B. P. Reid was the son of R. H. Reid, the former 
pastor. 

The Rev. Luther Link served as Pastor from Mar., 1887 to 
Sept., 1888. 

The Rev. W. L. Boggs served as Pastor from Mar., 1890 to July, 
1897. 

The Rev. D. B. Simpson served as Pastor from May, 1898 to 
Mar., 1900. Mr. Simpson was a Scotchman, and besides serving as 
pastor of the Presbyterian Church he was Supt. of the Greers 
School. 

The Rev. T. C. Potter served as Pastor from May, 1900 to Mar., 
1905. Mt. Potter had just retired as Chaplain of Sing Sing Prison 
when he came to the Greer church. 

The Rev. W. R. Potter served as Supply from June, 1905 to 
April, 1906. Mi. Potter gave half time to the Greer Church, and 
half time as Evangelist of Enoree Presbytery. Mt. Tabor was still 



a small church in those days, and therefore was unable to support a 
pastor for full time. According to Dr. Howe, in his "History of The 
Presbyterian Church in South Carolina," it was a rule of the pres- 
bytery in those days for young men to give two years of their min- 
istry to the small mission churches immediately after graduating 
from the seminaries. This accounts for the fact that the small Mt. 
Tabor changed pastors so frequently during this period. 

The Rev. Jonas Barclay served as Pastor from Sept., 1906 to 
Sept., 1907. He also served half-time as Evangelist of Enoree Presby- 
tery, and half-time as Pastor of Mt. Tabor 

Dr. Donald W. Richardson served as Pastor from Oct., 1907 to 
Oct., 1910, coming directly from the seminary to this church as his 
first pastorate. Dr. Richardson's pastorate marks a new mile-stone 
in the history (f the Greer church; for during his ministry here this 
cnurch made great progress in her growth. As a man of deep spiritual 
iidture this young minister made a remarkable impression upon the 
congregation and the entire community. At the suggestion of Dr. 
Richardson the Session adopted a prayer program for the entire 
church; with meetings each Sabbath afternoon; The first Sabbath for 
ihe men, the second Sabbath for the young people, the third Sabbath 
for the women, and the fourth Sabbath for the entire congregation. 
In 1908 Dr. Richardson was married to Miss Virginia Mcllwain, music 
teacher in the Greer School; and at that time the manse was built 
on the church grounds. During this short pastorate eighty-eight 
numbers were received into the church, thirty-two of these being on 
confession of faith in Christ. This happy pastorate was brought to an 
end when Dr. and Mrs. Richardson felt the call to go as missionaries 
to China. Dr. J. R. Wilkinson of Soochow, China, came to the Greer 
Church in the fall of 1910 and spoke in behalf of Missions; and that 
afternoon as these consecrated servants of Christ sat on the porch 
oi the manse, Dr. Richardson said, "Let's go to China," and Mrs. 
Richardson replied, "All right." In November of the same year they 
left Greer for China, together with their two small children. There 
they labored in the Lord's vineyard until Dr. Richardson's health 
broke in 1928. During this time Mrs. Richardson retained her church 
membership in the Greer Church. 

Dr. A. G. Wardlaw served as Pastor from Feb., 1911 to Oct., 1923, 
nearly thirteen years, the longest pastorate in the history of the 
church. Coming to this church in his matured ministry and ripened 
experience, Dr. Wardlaw made a profound impression upon this 
church and community as a great theologian and eloquent preacher 
of the Gospel. During Dr. Wardlaw's ministry here this church grew 
in numbers, in gifts, and in general service. It was during the latter 
part of Dr. Wardlaw's ministry that the present church building was 
erected. 

The Rev. F. H. Wardlaw served as Pastor from April, 1924 to 
May, 1926. This was the second time that a pastor had succeeded 
another oy the same name in this church. During this pastorate Mr. 

10 



W-rdlaw started a mission church at Lyman, and held two success- 
iui Schools of Missions in the Greer Church. 

The Rev. W. H. Hamilton served as Pastor from Jan., 1927 to 
May, 1934. This was the second longest pastorate in the history of 
the church. The latter part of Mr. Hamilton's pastorate was dur- 
ing the economic depression, which was sorely felt by all churches. 
Mr. Hamilton also served as Supply Pastor for the Renfrew Church 
for some time while he was at Greer. 

The Rev. Ti.omas M. Johnston served as Pastor from July, 1934 
to Oct., 1938. This was Mr. Johnston's first pastorate, and he was 
popular in the congregation and the community. Mr. Johnston was 
married lo Miss Genevieve Scott, teacher in the Greer Schools, while 
he was pastor of the Greer Church. Mr. Johnston has accepted the 
invitation to deliver the Centenial Celebration sermon. 

The Rev. F. T. McGill has served as Pastor since March 5, 1939. 
After graduating from The Princeton Theological Seminary in 1920, 
Mr. McGill was married to Miss Pearle Johnston of Davidson, N. C; 
and in the late fall of the same year they sailed to India as missionar- 
ies. Due to the ill health of Mrs. McGill, the McGills returned to Am- 
erica in 1922; and before coming to Greer, Mr. McGill held pastorates 
at Greenwood and Cross Hill. 

SONS AND DAUGHTERS OF GREER FIRST 

In 1892 Elder Newton Smith was called away from the service 
in the local church to the larger service in the Christian ministry. 
Mr. Smith spent mest of his minstry in the Synod of Virginia. 

As already noted, Dr. and Mrs. D. W. Richardson went away 
from this church to the China Mission Field; and Greer First has 
always regarded them as their own. They left Greer in the fall of 
1010. 

Then, in the same year, 1910, Dr. R. M. Stevenson, M.D., was 
married to Miss Ailien Guinn, teacher in the Victor schools, both of 
whom were members of Greer First Presbyterian church. Under the 
influence of Dr. Richardson the Stevensons were led to go as mis- 
sionaries to China; and the Richardsons and Stevensons sailed to- 
gether to the foreign field. Mrs. Stevenson died at Chinkiang, China; 
and Dr. Stevenson returned to America after two years, and located 
in Lexington, Miss. 

THE SESSION 

Fortunately the church has in its possession the complete Ses- 
sional Records from the beginning to the present, in five books; 
and these minutes have been copied in type-written form, and neatly 
bound in separate volumes. There were no minutes during the inter- 
im of 1877 to 1880, at which time the church was without a pastor, 
and it is not likely that any thing of importance took place during 
that short time. These minutes have been carefully and neatly kept 
by the eight Clerks of the Session: J. K. Dickson, J. M. Dickson, J. 

11 



W. Kennedy, Newton Smith, J. P. Smith, W. D. McCorkle, Sr., H. F. 
Moody, and John A. Robinson, Sr. Below is a list of the elders who 
have served on the succeeding sessions. The church has been fortunate 
in having the very highest type of men for her elders, having always 
the complete confidence of the church; so that both collectively and 
individually the elders have exercised a continual, steady and up- 
lifting influence over the membership of the church. As a result of 
the able and wise leadership of the Session, the congregation 
has been free from any serious schism and internal strife. Until with- 
in recent years church discipline was an important function of the 
Session; and fnra time to time, as the records show, various mem- 
bers were cited before the Session for serious offenses and minor 
grievances 

THE ROLL OF ELDERS 

Hugh Bailey 1841-1841 (died) 

Nathaniel Snv.th 1841.1877 (dis) 

John Smith 1841-1871 (died) 

Jas. K. Dickson 1841-1876 (dis) 

William Dickson 1841 (dis) 

W. C. Bailey 1861-1882 (died) 

J. P. McClimmons 1861-1865 (dis) 

Samuel G. Smith 1876-1909 (died) 

John M. Dickson 1876-1884 (inac.) 

Newton Smith 1879-1892 (Minister) 

John P. Smith 1879-1905 (died) 

J. W. Kennedy 1881-1886 (dis.) 

Wm. D. Smith 1892-1934 (died) 

W. D. McCorkle, Sr. 1892-1904 (died) 

T. M. Hill 1902-1907 (dis.) 

H. F. Moody 1902-1920 (dis.) 

W. N. Johnson _ 1908-1927 (died) 

0. P. Smith 1909-1927 (died) 

John A. Robinson, Sr.. 1909 

W L. Dillard 1915-1924 (died) 

W. D. McCorkle, Jr. 1920-1937 (died) 

J V. Smith 1920-1933 (died) 

E. C. Bailey 1926 

T. E. Smith 1926-1934 (died) 

S. W. Rabb 1933-1935 (dis.) 

1. O. Robinson _ 1933 

B. P. Dillard 1934 

J. C. Stewart 1934-1937 (dis.) 

R. Kirkwood 1936 

W. B. Smith 1937 . 

W. R. Gillespie 1938 

DEACONS AND FINANCES 

It is to be noted that the Office of Deacon was not set up in 

12 



the early Presbyterian congregations at the time of the organiza- 
tion of said churches, but only when the need arose. From the Ses- 
sional Records we find the first reference to deacons in 1869, and 
it is presumed that this is the origin of the office in the Mt. Tabor 
Cnurch: "The following persons were ordained deacons of Mt. Ta- 
bor Church: John M. Dickson, J. T. Dillard, Samuel G. Smith; ap- 
proved in Presbytery at Smyrna Church, April 10, 1369". Unfor- 
tunately the Board of Deacons did not keep minutes of meetings and 
pioceedings until recently, and it is therefore impossible to obtain 
and record any substantial facts about the services of this important 
body of the church during the earlier period. However, a gleaning 
of the Financial Reports to Presbytery from year to year shows a 
steady progress and increased efficiency of this organization. Dur- 
ing the ministry of Dr. Richardson this phase of the church was 
greatly improved, and the gifts to the church were greatly increased. 
For the first time the congregation engaged a pastor for full-time, 
?rd at an increase in salary from $350 to $1,000 per annum. During 
the ministry of Dr. Wardlaw the pastor's salary was increased to 
$$1,800; and at one time later, during the pastorate of Mr. Hamilton, 
The salary was S2,700. 

When the General Assembly made the Rotary System the law in 
Tne Presbyterian Church of the United States, both for elders and 
deacons, Greer First elected to adopt the Rotary System for the Dia- 
conate in 1936. and the system has brought very satisfactory results 
to this church. The present Board of Deacons are doing an unusually 
fine work in their field of service; and at the end of the past church 
year the Session highly commended the Deacons for their excellent 
service to the church. Through the leadership of the Deacons the 
Envelope System has been adopted, and is generally used by the 
membership of the church. The Every Member Canvass is made at 
. tie beginning of the church year, and the budget is sufficiently sub- 
scribed for the church year. During the past two years the church 
ouilding debt has been completed, the church has been painted in- 
s'de and outside, basement leaks have been stopped and repairs 
have been done; while the manse has been covered, painted and 
papered. Also, the pastor's salary has been increased by $200 for 
two successive years, the Minister's Annuity Fund was adopted in 
1940; and all bills and dues are paid promptly. The names of the 
present Board of Deacons are found in the Church Directory page at 
the back of the book. 

ROLL OF DEACONS 

John M. Dickson 1869 (Elder) 

John T. Dillard 1869 (Dis.) 

S.muel G. Smith 1869 (Elder) 

John P. Smith ... 1876 (Elder) 

William D. Smith 1876 (Elder) 

Newton Smith 1876 (Elder, Minister) 

Walter C. Stewart 1881 (Dis.) 

13 



B. F. McClimmons 1881 (Resigned) 

G. M. DiHard 1886 (Dis.) 

E. B. Smith 1886 (Dis.) 

Thomas Jones 1892 (Dis.) 

O. P. Smith 1897 (Elder) 

W E. Dendy 1897 (Dis.) 

E. C. Bailey 1902 (Elder) 

W N. Johnson 1902 (Elder) 

John A. Robinson, Sr. 1907 (Elder) 

T. E. Smith 1907 (Elder) 

J. B. Mendenhall 1907 (Died) 

S. H. Mayfield 1907 (Dis.) 

J. E. McQuown 1910 (Dis.) 

Norris Smith 1915 (Dis.) 

W. D. McCorkle, Jr 1915 (Elder) 

B. P. Dillard 1920 (Elder) 

E. H. Shanklin 1920 (Died) 

Roy Wakefield 1926 (Ret.) 

J. L. Gourley 1926 (Dis.) 

vV. B. Smith 1926 (Elder) 

W. S. McKnight 1926 (Dis.) 

Jon. A. Robinson, Jr. 1932 (Ret.) 

S. W. Raob 1932 (Elder) 

Dr. J. G. Bufoid 1932, 1939 

J. G. Hayes 1932, 1938 (Ret.) 

F. L. Still 1933 (Dis.) 

J C. Stewart 1933 (Elder) 

A. R. Allison 1933 (Dis.) 

B. B. Waters _ 1933 (Ret.) 

Manning Boozei 1934 (Ret.) 

Jc-mes McHugh 1934 (Ret.) 

~r. D. M. Frierson 1934 (Ret.) 

J. M. Cannon 1934 (Dis.) 

Grady Dillard 1936 (Ret.) 

Jas. A. Bailey 1936 (Ret.) 

C. T. Kendrick 1936, 1940 

W. R. Gillespie 1937 (Elder) 

L. M. McClimmons 1937 (Dis.) 

R. A. McClimmons 1937, 1941 

W. Paul Brannon 1938 (Ret.) 

H. D. Hawkins 1938 (Ret.) 

Gordon T. Smith 1938 (Ret.) 

J E. Montgomery 1939 

Palmer Dillard 1939 

E. G. Greer 1939 

Dan Boozer 1939 (Ret.) 

T M. Patrick _ _ 1939 

CJaude Smith 1939 (Ret.) 

Jas. B. Anderson _ 1940 (Dis.) 

14 



D. A. Goley 1940 

T. F. Boozer 1941 

B. W. Burnett 1941 

THE SUNDAY SCHOOL 

No record is found in the minutes of the first organization of 
the Sunday School. However, in a report to Presbytery, September 
10, 1871, we read this item: "A Sabbath School is carried on every 
Sabbath, the Shorter Catechism is studied by all scholars far enough 
advanced to study it". Then, in the Minutes of the Session, March 
13, 1886, the following facts are found: "It was resolved that a Sun- 
day School under the control of the Session be commenced on the 
2r>d Sunday of April, and that our people be urged to attend said 
semi-monthly school on each 2nd and 4th Sundays at 10 o'clock 
a. m." On March 27, 1886, the following officers were elected by the 
Session: Rev. B. P. Smith, Supt. J. W. Kennedy, Assistant Superin- 
tendent and B. C. Stewart, Secretary. From time to time the Session 
made efforts to increase the attendance of the Sunday School, and 
to improve the general work of the School. Bible Classes were org- 
anized as early as 1888. A Cradle Roll and a Home Department were 
established in 1910. Thus, the place and the importance of the Sun- 
day School gradually grew down through the years; and today this 
branch of the church is recognized as absolutely essential to the 
general welfare of the church. Through the interest and activities of 
tne Sunday School, the hearts of the children are tied to the church 
from babyhood. A list of the present officers will be found in the 
Church Directory at the end of the book 

As far as the records show, the following men have served as 
Superintendent of the Sunday School: Rev. B. P. Reid, Newton 
Smith, W. D. Smith, W. E. Dendy, Thomas Hill, E. C. Bailey, B. P. 
DiJlard, J. G. Hayes, and W. R. Gillespie. Mr. Bailey was the efficient 
Superintendent for some twenty-five years. 

THE YOUNG PEOPLE 

The young people of the church were first organized in 1908 as 
"The Sun-Beams", which was composed of the small children of the 
church. Then, during the World War period the older young people 
were organized as a "Christian Endeavor Society." For a number of 
years the Wakefield boys were very active in this group, while Mr. 
Roy Wakefield, Misses Mattie Belle and Minnie Mendenhall (Mrs. C. 
T. Kendrick), Miss Alice Shanklin (Mrs. J. G. Hayes), and Mrs. W. 
R. Gillespie have rendered especial service as leaders of the young 
people. In recent years the name of this organization has been 
changed to "The Young People's League of the Presbyterian 
Courch." Down through the years this organization has held the 
young people close to the church, and at the same time trained them 
to be active workers in the church. At the present there is not a 
iarge number of the "teen age" young people; but the League meets 
regularly each Sunday night, and an interesting program is pre- 

15 



sented. The Young People have an organized Junior Choir, which 
ieads the music in the Sunday night services. A list of the present 
officers will he found in the Church Directory at the end of 
'he book. 

THE MEN.OF-THE-CHURCH 

The jast of the various organizations to be set up in Greer First 
is "The Men-of-the-Church." This organization was effected on Oct. 
)2. 1939, with the following officers: H. Phelps Brooks, President, 
John L. McMurray, vice president, W. B. Smith, secretary-treasurer. 
II was decided at the beginning to have quarterly meetings. These 
meetings have been well attended, and so far the meetings have been 
inspirational and social. The present officers are listed in the Church 
Directory at the end of the boook. 

THE MUSIC 

The music constitutes a very important part of the Divine Wor- 
ship in the Church. The first record concerning the music in old 
Mt. Tabor Church is the following minute from the Sessional Re- 
cords: '-Oct. 21, 1882, Elder (Prof.) J. W. Kennedy was appointed 
Leader, Wm. Smith, Assistant in music and instructed to organize 
a choir." At that time there was no musical instrument in the church, 
and the old tuning fork was used to pitch the tune. Even before the 
above record, in "the sixties," Elder John P. McClimmons and W. C. 
Bailey led in the music, or "lined the hymns." Probably because of 
the scarcity of hymn books, and also much illiteracy in those days, 
the leaders of the music read out a couple of lines of the hymn, and 
then the congregation sang them; and this was called "lining the 
^ymns." About the year 1890 the first musical instrument, a small 
reed organ, was purchased, and Miss Fanny Bailey was the first or- 
ganist, which position she filled for many years. The following min- 
ute is taken from the Sessional Records: "Mar. 9, 1903. On motion 
ox Bro. Bill, Mrs. T. E. Smith (Mrs. Fanny Bailey Smith) was elec- 
ted Organist, and as an appreciation of her services and for the as- 
siduous work that she has contributed to the church, the elders gave 
expression of a vote of thanks." From the Sessional Records it is 
found that the following members have served as Directors of the 
Cnoir: Mrs. T. E. Smith, (Mrs. Fanny B. Smith, Mrs. E. H. Shanklin, 
Miss Maiy Del'. Stewart, Mrs. Jas. McHugh, and Mrs. W. B. Smith. 
AJso, tne following have served under the appointment of the Ses- 
sion as Organist: Mrs. T. E. Smith, (Mrs. Fanny B. Smith), Miss 
FJerence Moody, Mrs. E. H. Shanklin, Mr. Herman Wakefield, Miss 
Mary Holtzclaw (first pipe organist), Mrs. W. H. Hamilton, Mrs. 
Daisy Lanford. Miss Mary Dell Stewart organized the first Junior 
Choir.. The two-manual Estey Organ was purchased and installed 
when the present edifice was erected in 1922. Under the faithful 
leadership of Mrs. W. B. Smith as Director and Mrs. Daisy Lanford, 
as Organist, the Choir meets one night each week for practice, and 

16 



the good music furnished by the Choir is greatly appreciated by the 
congregation. 

GREER FIRST STATISTICAL REPORT. 1941 

To Enoree Presbytery Meeting at Fourth Church, Greenville, S. C, 
on April 15, 1941: 
Elders, 7; Deacons, 9; added on Confession, 2; added on Certi- 
ficate, 8; lost by death and dismissals, 8; whole number of Commu- 
nicants, 271; adults baptized, 1; infants baptized, 2; total Sunday 
School enrollment, 140; number Family Altars, 31. 
To Denominational Benevolences 

I— Foreign Missions $ 172.00 

2— Assem. Home Miss. 49.00 

3— Chris. Ed. & Min. Rel. 43.00 

4— Assem. Rel. Ed. & Pub. - 5.00 

5— Training School _ — 30.00 

0— Bible Cause 2.00 

7— Synod's Home Miss , 6.00 

8— S. & P. Rel. Ed 2.00 

9— Homes 150.00 

1 0— Ed. Institutions 65.00 

11— Pres. Home Miss. 50.00 



Total to Benevolences $ 574.00 

Local Church 

12— Pastor's Salary $2,000.00 

13— Current Expenses 1,384.00 

14— Sunday School 66.00 

15 — Woman's Auxiliary 65.00 

n C— Building Expenses 903.00 

Total to Local Church $4,418.00 

Grand Total ... $4,992.00 

CHURCH DIRECTORY. 1941 

Rev. F. T. McGiil Pastor 

SESSION 

John A Robirson Clerk 

E. C. Bailey R. Kirk wood 

I. O. Robinson W. B. Smith 

B. P. Dillard W. R. Gillespie 

BOARD OF DECONS 

Dr. J. G. Buford, Chairman Wm. Palmer Dillard 

C. T. Kendrick, Secretary T. M. Patrick 
T. F. Boozer, Treasurer D. I. Goley 
J. E. Montgomery B. W. Burnett 
E. G. Greer R. A. McClimmons 

17 



SUNDAY SCHOOL 

W. R. Gillespie ~ _ _ - Superintendent 

John L. McMurray.. Assistant Superintendent 

Mrs. Billy Mendenhall Primary Dept. Superintendent 

Billy Reid Secretary & Treasurer 

WOMAN'S AUXILIARY 

Mrs. C. T Kendrick. President 

Mrs. S. B. Hayes Vice President 

Mrs. Jas. A. Bailey __ Secretary 

Mrs. J. E. Montgomery _. ...Treasurer 

MEN-OF-THE-CHURCH 

Dr. R. C. Alvcrson President 

W. Paul Brannon Vice President 

E. C. miley, Jr Secretary & Treasurer 

YOUNG PEOPLE'S LEAGUE 

Verne Smith President 

lorn Smith ..Vice President 

William Gillespie Secretary & Treasurer 

Mrs. W. R. Gillespie Director 

CHOIR 

Mrs. William Bailey Smith Director 

Mrs. Daisy Lanford _ ..Organist 

TRUSTEES 

Mr. L. E. Wood Chairman 

Mis. E. H. Shanklin Dr. D. M. Frierson 

INCORPORATION 

E. C. Railey President 

Mrs. J. V. Smith Vice President 

Dr. J. G. Buford.. Secretary 

C. T. Kendrick..... Treasurer 

Historian Mrs. J. G. Buford 

DEED 

Dated Dec. 5th, 1840, recorded Vol. T., Page 551: Consideration: 
Love and affection. Hugh Bailey to Josiah Kilgore, Mathew P. Hud- 
son and Hugh Bailey, a Committee in Trust of a Presbyterian church. 

Conveys: Two acres of land in Greenville District, said State, be- 
bmning on the Greenville Road, and running on William Grisham's 
line to Daniel Woods' line near a spring; then with Woods' line to 
the beginning: 

"To the said Committee and their successors in Trust of a Pres- 

18 



byterian Church, x x x so long as the said premises may be used for 
a Presbyterian Church x x " 

DEED 

Dated December 5th, 1840; recorded in Vol. T, Page 552; Consid- 
eration: Love and affection. William Grisham to Josiah Kilgore, 
Mathew P. Hudson and Hugh Bailey, a Committee In Trust for a 
Presbyterian Church. 

Conveys: Two acres of land situate in Greenville District, be- 
ginning on the Greenville Road, and running on Hugh Bailey's line 
to Daniel Woods' line to near a spring on said Woods' line; thence to 
a small Post Oak bush on the Greenville Road; thence with the said 
road to the beginning. 

"To x x the said Committee and their Successors in Trust for a 
Presbyterian Church, x x x x so long as the said premises may be 
used for a Presbyterian Church." 

DEED 

Dated Dec. 5th, 1840; Recorded Augu. 30th, 1841, in Vol. T, 
Page 553. No consideration stated: Daniel Woods to Josiah Kilgore, 
Mathew Hudson and Hugh Bailey, a Committee (and their Succes- 
sors) In Trust for a Presbyterian Church. 

Conveys: "Free privilege to improve as they may think proper, 

"My spring near Hugh Bailey's and William Grisham's corner 
as referred to in the annexed deeds, and when repaired for the said 
Congregation on days of public worship, to have free privilege to 
use the said Spring so long as the place is or may be used for a 
Presbyterian Church." 

The three deeds attached are probated in one probate as to all 
1 hree grantors Hugh Bailey, William Grisham and Daniel Woods, 
and signed by the two witnesses, Jesse Foster and William Cun- 
ningham, on the 17th day of July, 1841. 

DEED 

Dated November 16th, 1880; Recorded November 30th, 1880, in 
Vol. LL, page 21. Consideration: "Of the love I bear for the Cause of 
Christ, and from the desire to promote His Kingdom on Earth" and 
$1.00. W. T. Shumate to John Dillard, William D. Smith, and Ben- 
jamin F. McClimons, Deacons of Mt. Tabor Presbyterian Church, 
in the State aforesaid. 

Conveys tc the said Deacons of the aforesaid Mt. Tabor Presby- 
terian Church, and their successors in office. 

"All that iot of land in the County and State aforesaid, in the 
T own of Greer, on the Air Line Railroad, and being a part of lot 
No. 23 of the original Map, beginning x x on Mill Street (now School 
Street), and (giving courses and distances), containing one acre, more 
or less ' The following clause if noted thereon; as part of the Har- 
endum. 

"TO HAVE AND TO HOLD all and singular the said premises 

19 



before mentioned unto the said John T. Dillard, William D. Smith 
and Benjamin F. McClimon, Deacons of said Church, and their suc- 
cessors in office forever, for the use and benefit of the said Mt. 
Tabor Presbyterian Church, to be used only for religious purposes 
under the control of the Enoree Presbytery of the Synod of South 
Carolina." 

"Provided Always, and it is understood by and between the 
parties to these Presents, that in the event the said Presbyterian 
Church fails to use the said premises for religious purposes, then said 
lot herein granted to revert to the said W. T. Shumate, his heirs and 
rssigns forever, anything herein to the contrary notwithstanding; but 
should the said premises so revert, then and in that event, the said 
Deacons and their successors in office shall have full compensation 
xor all improvements that may have been erected on said lot, or, if 
they prefer, the power and privilege to remove from said lot all of 
such improvements." 

DEED 

Date 1937, Recorded March 8th, 1938, 

in Vol. 202, page 254. Consideration: Transfer of property to the Cor- 
poration: C. T. Kendrick, James A. Bailey, S. G. Dillard, Marvin 
McClimon, W. R. Gillespie, F. L. Still, James McHugh, R. A. Mc- 
Climon, Manning Boozer, Deacons of the First Presbyterian Church 
of Greer, to The First Presbyterian Church, of Greer, S. C, a Cor- 
poration. 

Conveys: Lot at corner of Victoria and School Streets, Greer, S. 
C, containing 41,557 square feet, and being the same conveyed to 
John Dillard, William D. Smith and Benjamin F. McClimon, Dea- 
cons of the Mt. Tabor Presbyterian Church, of Greer, by deed re- 
corded in Vol. L L, page 21. 

On August 3rd, 1937, the Secretary of State issued to F. L. Still 
and C. T. Kendrick, as corporators, a Charter to The First Presby- 
terian Church of Greer, S. C, and in which the following officers 
were listed as having been elected: 

E. C. Bailey, President; Mrs. J. V. Smith, Vice President; J. G. 
Buford, Secretary; C. T. Kendrick, Treasurer and L. E. Wood, Mrs. 
E. H. Shanklin and D. M. Frierson, Trustees. 

CHURCH ROLL AFTER ORGANIZATION 

1841— Mrs. Ann Hill 
Robert Bailey T. B. Collins 
Elizabeth Bailey J. N. Gaston 

A. M. Smith Mr. Donald Frazer 

Elizabeth Smith 1843— 

Mrs. Charlotte Smith Miss Charlotte Paine 

Mr. Samuel B. Hill 1844— 

Mrs. Laticia Hill Mrs. Permelia Dickson 

1842— 1847— 

Mr. Joseph Hill Miss Mary Ann Hill 

20 



Miss Eliza Williams Earle 

1848— 

David Clary 

Mrs. Eliza Clary 

Mrs. Louisa Grisham 

1850— 

Mr. James T. Blakeley 

Mrs. Rosanna Blakeley 

Miss Martha Jane Smith 

Mr. Tandy W. Jones 

1855— 

David Bettis 

Mrs. Nancy Bettis 

Sarah Bettis 

Eleanor C. Smith 

Mary W. Smith 

1856— 

Mr. Thos Clugston 

Mrs. Margaret Clugston 

1857— 

Miss Matilda Jane Smith 

Mr. Jesse W. Grisham 

Miss Margaret Bettis 

Edward S. Buist 

1858— 

Nancy Carolina Smith 

Emily Frances Smith 

Margaret Smith 

John McElrath 

1859— 

Mrs. Martha Smith 

Mr. J. A. Allen 

Elizabeth Ann Grisham 

Sarah Gaston 

Eliza Margaret Smith 

1860— 

Thomas Jefferson Smith 

Joseph Hill 

Mrs. Laura Hill 

James McKittrick 

William C. Bailey 

Jane Smith 

Matthew T. Hudson 

John T. Smith 

James B. Hill 

William Smith 

1863— 

Miss Mary A. Smith 

1864— 



John W. Smith 
Henrietta D. Smith 
Alfred S. Smith 
Tandy W. Smith 
1865— 

W. D. Dickey 
Mary Jane McClimon 
Mary Ann Smith 
Elizabeth J. Dickson 
James M. Dickson 
Sarah Jane Smith 
John Williams 
Hugh Smith 
1 See- 
Sarah Toliver Smith 
Nancy Porter Smith 
Modelia Smith 
John T. Dillard 
John M. Dickson 
M. Reid Dickson 
1868— 

Miss Lottie Martin Smith 
William Smith 
Newton Smith 
1869— 

Miss Laura Ann Smith 
Miss Marthan Jane Grisham 
Elizabeth Evins 
Mrs. Allen Lewis 
J. Wakefield 
1871— 

Talitha Eleanor Smith 
Amanda Eliza Smith 
1872— 

Mrs. Elizabeth Jones 
Miss Martha C. Smith 
Wickliff Stokes Smith 
Mrs. Mary Jane Smith 
1873— 

James B. Pearson 
1875— 

Miss Mary Elizabeth Smith 
Miss Agnes Smith 
Miss Annie C. Dickson 
Miss Mary R. Dickson 
Mrs. Isabel J. Smith 
Mr. Buist Smith 
Frances Elizabeth McClimon 
1877— 



21 



W. D. Gaston 
Mary E. Gaston 
William Thomas 

C. L. Thomas 
1880— 

J J. Hannon 
Ida P. Hannon 
Viola Hannon 
E. Dickson 
Dennis A. Dillard 
Miss Victoria E. Bailey- 
Miss Etta Bailey 
Miss Rosanah Dickson 
B. J. Hannon 
1881 — 

Walter C. Stewart 
Mrs. Walter S. Stewart 
Mrs. Ann Burnett 
A. L. N. Johnson 
J. W. Kennedy 
Mrs. J. W. Kennedy 
1883— 

Mrs. Eliza A. Ferguson 
Miss Ann Elizabeth Smith 
Elizabeth Ann Mayfield 
Mrs. M. J. Thomas (dismissed) 
Mary Alice Jones 
Mrs. S. R. Poole (dismissed) 
Mrs. E. M. Gibbs 
1885— 

D. C. Stewart 
Nannie Stewart 
Mrs. N. J. Hawkins 
Walter Stewart, Jr. 
G. M. Dillard 
Isham O. Robinson 
James P. Dillard 
Palmer League Mayfield 
Hattie Ann Dillard 
William Lemuel Dillard 
Charles Whitner Moon 
Edgar W. Bailey 
Thomas E. Smith 
1866— 

Miss E. A. Keels 
Samuel Dillard 
LaFayette Henry Mayfield 
Lanham Ducan 
Mary E. Ducan 



Berry Hillard Ducan 

Mr. J. K. Robinson 

Mrs. J. K. Robinson 

1887— 

Nathaniel Smith 

Martha C. Farrow 

Mrs. Nathaniel Smith 

Miss Sarah J. Ferguson 

Miss Laura Ann Ferguson 

1888— 

Edwin C. Bailey 

1889— 

Mr. W. D. McCorkle 

Mrs. W. D. McCorkle 

Miss Belle McCorkle 

Douglass McCorkle 

Mr. W. B. Smith 

Mr. J. M. Moore 

Mrs. Mary Ann Moore 

Hugh Smith 

Maggie J. Smith 

Mamie Elizabeth Smith 

Newton Smith 

Pearl Smith 

Buren Smith 

Fannie Gertrude Bailey 

Hattie Elizabeth Stewart 

George Oliver Dillard 

Jefferson Verne Smith 

William Pinckney Mayfield 

1890— 

Bettie Bailey 

1891 — 

J. R. Blake (dismissed) 

Mrs. J. R. Blake (dismissed) 

Edna McClury 

Aurelia McClury 

Ida Dillard 

1893— 

C. P. Mayfield 

Mittie N. Mayfield 

Perry L. Smith 

J. E. P. McClimmons 

Eddie L. Dillard 

S. Lelia Dillard 

Sarah Elma Johnson 

Irene Annie Johnson 

Oscar N. Pool 

Mr. A. R. Wood 



22 



Mrs. Eliza Wood 

Mattie C. Wood 

Delia T. Wood 

Mr. Wyatt Johnson 

1894— 

Mr. Jas. B. Duncan 

Mrs. Ida E. Johnson 

Miss Julia Eliz. Ferguson 

1895— 

Mrs. W. J. Pate 

Mr. W. J. Pate 

Mr. W. E. Dendy 

1897— 

Mr. G. W. Hughes 

Mrs. G. W. Hughes 

Annie Robinson 

W. W. Burgiss 

Norris Smith 

Lillie Smith 

Clara Johnson 

Alice Johnson 

T. Whitner Smith 

Mr. A. C. Black 

Thos. Chalmers Wakefield 

Ernest A. Wakefield 

1900— 

Mrs. B. P. Allen 

J. T. Smith 

E. B. Smith 

J. R. Smith 

Addie Smith 

Mrs. T. C. Potter 

Mrs. Bertha A. Allen 

1901 — 

Mr. T. M. Hill 

Mrs. M S. Hadden (dismissed) 

Mrs. T. M. Hill 

Mr. A. A. McCarter 

Mrs. Agnes Belle Marchant 

Mr. Pearson 

Mrs. Pearson 

Mr. H. F. Moody 

Mrs. H. F. Moody 

Miss Florence Moody 

Miss Hattie Lee Ward 

Mr. G. W. Ward 

Mrs. G. W. Ward 

Mrs. Mollie Brown 

Mrs. Ida Wham 



Mrs. Mamie C. McCarter 

1902— 

Miss Cora Ethel Ward 

Mrs. Ola Robinson 

Mr. John Robinson 

W. F. Andrews 

Mrs. D. W. Anderson 

1903— 

Mrs. G. H. Waters 

Mr. J. H. Lovette 

1904— 

Mrs. Ida Johnson 

Mrs. H. J. McCutcheon 

Miss Hattie B. McCutcheon 

Miss Nanett McCutcheon 

Miss Laura E. McCutcheon 

1905— 

Miss Lillian Holtzclaw 

Mrs. W. R. Potter 

James Potter 

Mrs. T. D. Baker 

Miss Beulah Baker 

S. P. Clark 

Miss Eva Smith 

Mrs. J. H. James 

Mr. Ben Terrell Smith 

Miss Mary Julia Johnson 

Miss Mary Lillian Wood 

Thomas Key 

Mrs. Thomas Key 

Mr. F. A. Noblet 
Mrs. Noblet 
Herman Wakefield 
Roy Wakefield 
1906— 

Mrs. E. C. Bailey 
Miss Elizabeth Ashmore 
Mrs. Mamie Wakefield 
Mr. P. L. Gavan 
Nathaniel Franks Holtzclaw 
N. D. Franks 
Mrs. N. D. Franks 
Mr. William Holtzclaw 
Mrs. Lutia Holtzclaw 
Alberta E. Hendrix 
Elizabeth A. Allen 
Thos. Hill, Jr. 
1907— 
J. B. Mendenhall 



23 



Mrs. McDonald 
Miss Susan Craig 
Mr. J. L. McCarter 
Mrs. J. L. McCarter 
Una McCarter 
J. E. McQuown 
Mr. Whistnant 
Mrs. Whistnant 
Mrs. H. P. Clark 
Mr. T. H. Hill 
Mrs. T. H. Hill 
T. H. Hill, Jr. 
Mr. W. E. Burgiss 
Mrs. W. E. Burgiss 
Mrs. W. A. Ross 
Mrs. Dora Atwood 
Mrs. Minnie Burnett 
Mr. J. W. Hammett 
Mr. Oscar H. Hammett 
Mrs. Atlanta Hammett 
Mr. H. P. Miller 
Mrs. S. P. Miller 
Mrs. D. B. Anderson 
Mrs. Elizabeth James 
Mr. A. H. Cooper 
Mrs. A. H. Cooper 
Miss Virginia Mcllwain 
Mrs. J. E. McQuown 
S. H. Mayfield 

Mrs. W. H. Cheney 
1908— 

Mr. F. A. Noblet 

Mrs. F. A. Noblet 

William Smith 

Robert Moore 

Mrs. Sara T. Hendrix 

Miss Ida Hendrix 

G. M. Harrison 

Charlie Hendrix 

Geneva Hendrix 

Bulord B. Waters 

Miss Emily Smith 

Louise Hill 

Mrs. J. V. Smith 

1908— 

Mrs. R. A. Ware 

D. S. Bray 

Mrs. A. L. Few- 
Miss Mary McMillen 



Mr. S. A. Caldwell 

W. H. Stone 

Joshua Cox 

Walter M. Harrison 

Albert Harrison 

Nettie McCarter 

Earle Middleton 

Myrtle Johnson 

J. Victor Smith 

J. J. Wilson 

Millsa Wilson 

Miss Sallie Keith 

Mrs. John Burns 

W. S. Moore 

Mrs. J. B. Mendenhall 

Benjamin Burnett 

John Burns 

Miss Janie Gordon 

Miss Audrey D. Wood 

1909— 

W. S. Cudd 

R. R. Blakeley 

Dr. R. M. Stevenson 

C. W. Jones 

Meek McCarter 

R. E. McCaslan 

Mrs. L. A. Mayfield 

Mrs. F. T. Clark 

Mrs. C. W. Jones 

Mildred Johnson 

1910 — 

Floyd Snyder 
Frank Snyder 
Daisy Snyder 
Mrs. Rosa Ballenger 
Mr. S. C. Dendy 
Mrs. S. C. Dendy 
Mrs. Hampton Hamby 
David Wood 
Miss Ailien Quinn 
Mrs. J. V. Smith 
Mrs. David Wood 
Grace Wood 
Maggie Smith 
Rion Wood 
Troy Smith 
Mr. L. D. Bray 
Mrs. L. D. Bray 
Mr. N. A. Collins 



24 



Mrs. N. A. Collins 

A. E. Hendly 
1911— 

R. R. Woodside 

R. E. Hatch 

Mrs. Russell Strickland 

Marie Caskey 

Mrs. R. R. Woodside 

1912— 

W. L. Dillard 

Robert Dillard 

Mrs. Tweedy Smith 

Mrs. W. S. Cudd 

E. L. Dillard 

Mrs. Myra Elizabeth Brody 

Mrs. Gladys Hendley 

Miss Mable Lee Johnson 

Miss Katherine Holtzclaw 

Thomas Chalmers Wakefield 

Miss Daisy Crisp 

Pauline Hendrix 

Esther Helen Robinson 

1913 — 

Gordon Carlyle Smith 

Miss Belle Waters 

B. P. Dillard 
James Brice Moore 
Othelia Fisher Moore 
1914— 

Miss Cornelia King 
Mrs. T. W. Presson 
Mrs. P R. Barton 

1915 — 

Mrs. T. E. Dean 
Mr. Joseph Elmer Torrence 
Miss Helen Major Wilson 
Mrs. Lee Field Wardlaw 
John B. Wardlaw 
J. Field Wardlaw 
Albert L. Wardlaw 
Mrs. J. V. Smith 
Mr. J. J. Wham 

1916 — 

Miss Margarite Shieb 
Prof. W. L. Kerns 
Mrs. Pinkney Houston 
Mr. E. H. Shanklin 
Mrs. E. H. Shanklin 
Miss Alice Shanklin 



Mr. R. B. McCall 
Mrs. R. B. McCall 
Mrs. C. D. Reynolds 
Lewis F. Robinson 
James A. Bailey 
J. B. Mendenhall, Jr. 
Mattie Belle Mendenhall 
Minnie Mendenhal 
Mrs. Eula Dillard 

1917 — 

Dorcas Holtzclaw 
Mary L. Holtzclaw 
Mr. J. E. Bost 
Mrs. J. E. Bost 
Mrs. J. E. Torrence 
Roy Suddeth 

1918 — 

Mrs. B. B. Waters 

1919 — 

Mr. R. Kirkwood 

Mrs. R. Kirkwood 

J. H. Simpson 

Mr. William Cunningham 

Mrs. William Cunningham 

Walton Shockley Wakefield 

Edward Carroll Bailey 

Odis Harrell McQuown 

Henry Elton Cathcart 

William Palmer Dillard 

May Cathcart 

Ola Robinson 

Dr. H. T. Cathcart 

Mrs. Nellie A. Cathcart 

Richard Cathcart 

J. L. Padgett 

Mrs. J. L. Padgett 

Walter Padgett 

Mr. J. S. Boozer 

Mrs. J. S. Boozer 

Homer Waters 

Belle Waters 

1920— 

Mr. G. W. Ward 

Mrs. G. W. Ward 

Fred Suddeth 

Thomas A. Richards 

Mrs. Theo T. Richards 

Mr. W. H. Link 

Mrs. W. H. Link 



25 



Katherine Link 

Harry Link 

Gail Link 

J. O. Vernon 

Mrs. J. O. Vernon 

G. W. Heosh 

Manning Boozer 

T. H. Black 

William C. James 

J. A. Robinson, Jr. 

M. C. Ruse 

Harold Ransom 

E. G. Greer 

Miss Freddie Clark 

Miss Hazel Clark 

Miss Sadie Mendenhall 

Miss Bonnie Lee Boozer 

Miss Margaret Smith 

1921 — 

Mr. Ralph Carson 

Mrs. Ralph Carson 

Mrs. Pearle Greer 

Mrs. Hunter Harriss 

Mr. R. C. Ligon 

Miss Ida L. Brownlee 

Miss Adelle Harriss 

Mrs. A. L. Suddeth 

Miss Sallie Levis 

T. E. Parsons 

Mrs. John Alexander Parsons 

Joseph Burgiss 

William Thomas Rhodes 

Mrs. Robbie Rhodes 

Miss Flossie Crisp 

1922— 

W. W. Fant, Jr. 

J. G. Buford 

Mrs. J. G. Buford 

Mrs. G. W. Hoesh 

W. D. Kennerly 

Mrs. W. D. Kennerly 

Mrs. Ellie Green Robinson 

William Thomas Smith 

Julian Heyward Bailey 

Charlie P. Mills 

Donald Waters 

Virginia Waters 

1923— 

Mr. Norman Harrison 



Mrs. Norman Harrison 

Mrs. Maggie Lee Mills 

Mrs. Emma Fowler 

Miss Ruth Holtzclaw 

J. L. Gourley 

Mrs. Nora B. Gourley 

Kate Dillard 

Louise Dillard 

Perry Dillard 

Mrs. J. C. Harrell 

Virginia Mendenhall 

Nelle Vernon Smith 

Iris Catherine Clark 

1924— 

Mrs. Louisa W. Fraser 

James Wardlaw Benton 

Barbery M. Benton 

Mrs. Margaret Wardlaw 

Ella Gaines Wardlaw 

Frank Wardlaw 

Mrs. Poebe Martin 

Miss Emma Martin 

Mr. F. C. Martin 

Mr. W. Lyle Black 

Mrs. Gertrude W. Black 

Miss Mamie Lee Holiday 

Mr. W. S. McKnight 

Mrs. Lizzie McKnight 

Mrs. J. Q. Adams 

Miss Louise Adams 

Ruby Lucile Wylie 

Mrs. Myrtle White 

Mr. W. V. White 

Miss Era Robinson 

Mrs. Cody Steadman 

James McKnight 

James Greer 

Marshall McKinney 

Henry White 

1925— 

Mr. Moody Smith 

Irma Mavourum A. Anderson 

Mary Evelyn Anderson 

Margarite Whitfield Wardlaw 

Walter William Dillard 

Gordon Thomas Smith 

Wardlaw William Smith 

Robbie Anderson Black 

Miss Ruth Benton 



26 



Mr. Milton Plexico 

N. A. Collins, Jr. 

Bentz Collins 

Woodrow Newson Smith 

Miss Harwood Whittock 

J. N. Benton 

Mrs. J. N. Benton 

Roscoe Smith 

Miss Ruby Smith 

William Lyle Black 

Janie Lyle Black 

J. D. McCarter 

L. E. Wood 

Mrs. Virginia Irby James 

R. F. Reid 

Mrs. R. F. Reid 

Miss Virginia Belle Reid 

Mrs. Janie Anderson Davenport 

Mr. E. C. Davenport 

Frances Farley Smith 

James Sullivan Clark 

William Brockman Clark 

Mrs. E. D. Wakefield 

Mr. J. W. Hogan 

Mrs. J. W. Hogan 

Mrs. Moody Smith 

Mr. Fred L. StiU 

Mrs. Fred L. Still 

1926— 

Morris Earl McHugh 

Miss Ollie Jeanette Ratchford 

Payson Sullivan 

Mr. James Clark Stewart 

Mrs. Jas. Clark Stewart 

Miss Katie Stewart 

Mrs. Mary J. McHugh 

Mrs. Melvin Reese 

Lilliam Verne Smith 

Donald Robert Vaughn 

Marion Thomas Vaughn 

Mrs. Ada M.Allison 

Miss Luia Allison 

Miss Margaret Allison 

Mrs. Terrell Smith 

Miss Nelle Smith 

James Willard Vaughn 

John William Vaughn 

Miss Martha Cureton 

Miss Mary Cureton 



Mr. S. B. Hayes (Elder) 

Mrs. S. B. Hayes 

Mr. James G. Hayes 

Mr. Banks Hayes, Jr. 

Miss W. Estelle Hayes 

Miss Eva Watt Ferguson 

Mrs. Roy Wakefield 

1927— 

Mr. A. R. Allison 

Mrs. A. R. Allison 

Mrs. W. H. Hamilton 

Mr. D. M. Frierson 

Mrs. Mary S. Frierson 

Mrs. W. W. Fant, Jr. 

Edwin M. Collins 

D. A. Pruitt 

H. T. Stewart 

Mrs. H. T. Stewart 

Edith Stewart 

Emma Cathrine Stewart 

Harry Stewart 

W. A. Hopkins 

Mrs. W. A. Hopkins 

Sarah Hopkins 

Sarah Adams 

Edward Adams 

B. B. White 

Mrs. Lucile Stroud Wakefield 

Lee Dillard 

James Hanes Smith 

1928— 

Mrs. Frank H. Gibson 

G. H. Waters, Jr. 

Mrs. M. N. Crawley 

Julia Crawley 

Mary Crawley 

Mr. Lorraine Leonard 

Miss Catherine Leonard 

William Hugh Hamilton 

Harold Leonard 

Miss Beatrice Allison 

William Allison 

Dan Boozer 

Angus Lee Vaughn 

Callis McKinney 

Francis Mills 

Charles Mills, Jr. 

Huberr Mills 

Prof. S. W. Rabb 



27 



Mrs. Mary Rabb 

Mr. J. Homer Taylor 

Mrs. J. Homer Taylor 

1929 — 

Mrs. Walton Wakefield 

Dr. L. B. Marion 

Mrs. L. B. Marion 

Mrs. Fred James 

Miss Barbara Stewart 

Wilton McKinney 

Miss Mary Dell Stewart 

1930— 

Mr. G H. Scruggs 

Mrs. Jean McDill Gibson 

Frances Bost 

Sarah Carrie Greer 

Nancy Nisbet Green 

Wilton Green 

Margaret Gourley 

Jimmie Gourley 

Catherine McCarter 

Dorothy McCarter 

Mrs. J. B. Mendenhall, Jr. 

Mrs. Alice Rollins Crain 

Mrs. Florence Hoesh 

1931 — 

Iris Leonard 

Mrs. Kate Leonard 

1932— 

Margaret Leonard 

Margarite Anderson 

Miriam Alice Waters 

Eleanor Cleo Boozer 

William H. Wham 

William C. Still 

Edward Richard Minus 

Lucy Dean Wham 

Mr. J. M. Cannon 

Mrs. J. M. Cannon 

1933— 

Mr. J. P. Adams 

Mrs. J. P. Adams 

Louise Adams 

Pauline Adams 

Gloria Patterson 

Mr. C. P. May field 

Mrs. C. P. Mayfield 

Miss Edna Mayfield 

Miss Maggie Mayfield 



Fred Mayfield 

Andrew Mayfield 

Forrest Mayfiled 

Mrs. W. C. Harrison 

Miss Maggie Harrison 

Mr. Theron Black 

Mrs. Maggie Black 

Mrs. Manning Boozer 

1934— 

Mr. Claude T. Smith 

Charlie T. Kendricks 

R. A. McClimmons 

Mrs. Nellie McClimmons 

Mr. Malcombe Holtzclaw 

Mrs. Emma Holtzclaw 

Thomas Dillard 

Grady Dillard 

Miles D. Garrett 

Buford Waters, Jr. 

Manmare Rogers 

Gennie Rogers 

Mary Stewart 

Marion Greer 

Virginia Greer 

Nancy Dillard 

Missouri Smith 

Edwin Stewart 

Mrs. Estill Waters 

1935 — 

Mr. Lewis D. Barryhill 

Mrs. Lewis D. Barryhill 

Mrs. E. G. Shuford 

Mrs. E. G. Shuford 

Thomas Arthur Wham 

Mr. T. M. Patrick 

Mrs. Miriam Marchant Minus 

Mr. W. R. Anderson 

Mrs. W. R. Anderson 

Evelyn Anderson 

Margarite Anderson 

Mr. A. J. Ranson, Jr. 

Mrs. Lillian R. Ranson 

Mrs. Kathrine W. Wright 

Mr. W. C. Wright 

Miss Emmie Roddy 

Mrs. James A. Bailey 

Mr. M. L. McClimmons 

1936— 

Mrs. Elizabeth Gheor McHugh 



28 



Harper Hawkins 
Mrs. J. P. Betterly 
Mr. J. D. Brooks 
Mr. W. R. Gillespie 
Mrs. W. R. Gillespie 
William Gillespie 
1937— 

Gkdys Ross 

Mrs. Ruth Sullivan Hawkins 
Mr. Paul Brannon 
J. Verne Smith, Jr. 
Mr. G. F. Norris 
Mrs. G. F. Norris 
Mrs. T. D. Johnson 
Frank Randolph Johnston 
Miss Elizabeth Johnston 
Mrs. C. R. Ballenger 
William R. Wallace 
Mrs. Mildred Thompson Boozer 
Mr. Paul Williams 
Mrs. Paul Wiliams 
E. G. Rodgers 
Mrs. Margaret Rodgers 
1938 — 

Mrs. T. M. Johnston 
Mr. J. E. Montgomery- 
Mrs. J. E. Montgomery- 
Louisa Montgomery 
Mrs. R. R. Smith 
Mr. W. Lee Jones 
Mrs. W. Lee Jones 
Mr. E. L. Crawley 
Mrs. Ollie Crawley 
Mr. Carlton Bryce Saunders 
Mrs. Carlton Bryce Saunnders 
Henry Phelps Brooks, Jr. 
Mrs. Robert S. Hughes 
Jane Frierson 
Mary Johnson Smith 
Naomi Pride Norris 
Mrs. Gordon T. Smith 
Mr. Howard Goley 
Mrs. Howard Goley 
Mrs. Thomas Patrick 
Mr. Thomas Patrick 
Mrs. Paul Brannon 
1939— 

Mrs. F. T. McGill 
Miss Frances McGill 



Miss Marie Elizabeth McGill 
Miss Mary Pearle McGill 
James Oliver Lydia 
Miss Frances Wideman 
Mrs. Margaret S. Walker 
Mr. J. L. McMurray 
Mrs. J. L. McMurray 
Mrs. J. R. Davis 
Mrs. Margaret Craig 
Mrs. W. H. Groce, Jr. 
G. A. Hamrick 
Mrs. G. A. Hamrick 
Wm. L. Hamrick 
Geo. A. Hamrick 
Miss Margaret Hambrick 
Richard Hamrick 
Doris Wakefield 
Thommie Wakefield 
Tommie Smith 
Miss Alyce Dendy 
David Goley 
Mrs. Janie Goley 
W. S. Nunnally 
Mrs. W. S. Nunnally 
John McLean 
Mrs. Ruth McLean 
C. S. McLean 
Norman McLean 
Mrs. Hugh Clayton 
Mr. C. D. Barry 
Mrs. C. D. Barry 
-vxiss Nina Barry 
Mr. Roy Leopard 
Mr. T. C. Stewart (Elder) 
Mr. A. T. Stewart 
Mr. W. H. Groce, Sr. 
ivirs. W. H. Groce 
Mr. W. Y. Ingram 
Mrs. W. Y. Ingram 
Mr. W. Y. Ingram, Jr. 
Mrs. W. Y. Ingram, Jr. 
Anna Marie Ingram 
Henry Hastings 
Mr. Curtis Fennell 
Mrs. J. C. Brawley 

Mrs. Curtis Fennell 
Mr. James B. Anderson 
Mrs. James B. Anderson 
Mrs. James Saunders 



29 



Mr. W. H. Groce, Jr. 
Mr. Tally Davis 
Miss Lena Armstrong 
Mrs. Walter Dillard 
Mrs. Wardlaw Smith 
Mr. T. Bernard Carlile 
Mrs. T. Bernard Carlisle 
R. C. Carlisle 
Louis Carlisle 
Gray E. Carlisle 
Mrs. Marion C. Wilkes 
Mrs. Gray E. Carlisle 
Mrs. R. C. Carlisle 
Robert W. Wilkes, Jr. 
Dr. D. L. Allen 
Mrs. Anne Ruth Allen 
James D. Duncan 
1940— 

Mr. Abram J. Briggs, III 
Rachel McGill 
Dr. R. C. Alverson 
Mrs. R. C. Alverson 
Mr. C. R. Roberts 
Mrs. C. R. Roberts 
Miss May Bell Roberts 



Miss Margaret Roberts 

Neil Vaughn 

Wilton Green 

Miss Genelle Vaughn 

Betty Lanford 

Mrs. Praelo Howell 

Mr. Marshall McKinney 

Mrs. Carolyn McKinney 

T. M. Gantt 

William Reid 

Mr. T. F. Boozer 

Mrs. T. F. Boozer 

Mrs. Orell Bryant 

Mrs. Margaret H. Strickland 

1941 — 

Carolyn Johnston McGill 

Mrs. Evie Waters 

Mrs. Ruth M. Johnston 

Mr. Hugh Clayton 

Mrs. Hazel A. Allison 

Mr. R. Harvey Stuart 

Mrs. T. J. Cash 

Mr. R. Harvey Stewart 

Mrs. T. J. Cash 



The W. P. A. and N. Y. A. type written copies of the Session 
records -1841-1939, Church Register— 1841-1923 and The Ladies Aid 
Society — 1901-1905, have been placed in Davenport Memorial Library, 
Greer, S. C, and University of South Carolina, Columbia, S. C. 



30 



WOMAN'S WORK 
1901-1941 

WRITTEN BY 
CAROLINE SPROUSE COLEMAN 
Material and Facts Collected 
—BY- 
MAUDE STEWART BUFORD 
Auxiliary Historian 

It always is a wise and proper thing to unroll the pages of his- 
tory and review the achievements of the past, if by so doing, we pur- 
pose to emulate the virtues — and seek inspiration from the courage 
— of those who have gone before. "God forbid that I should glory, 
save in ihe cross of our Lord Jesus Christ," wrote the Apostle Paul. 
And in setting forth the record of forty years as, "Laborers together 
with Goa" — the Woman's Auxiliary of the First Presbyterian church 
of Greer, woulc give all the glory to Him, alone. 

The nistory of this organization dates back to May 8, 1901, when 
a little «roup of consecrated women gathered together to constitute 
the first Missionary Society of their church — Yet, in reality, the 
foundation for this — and every Woman's Auxiliary of the Presbyter- 
ian church, was laid in the days of Colonial Cabin and little log 
meeting-house in the forest. The record of our pioneer women, rid- 
ing horseback, Bible in saddlebags, blazing the trail through the 
wilderness of America with the Gospel message; establishing Chris- 
tian homes on the site of Indian campfires; working shoulder to 
shoulder with husbands and sons in raising the first little Altars unto 
the Lord — braving the displeasure of old-fashioned Southern Gen- 
tlemen in organizing the first "Female Mite," or "Female Benevo- 
lent" Societies, in a day when woman's sphere was confined solely 
to the home — is one of the most glorious pages in the annuals of a 
people. 

"As is the mother, so is her daughter," saith the Prophet Ezekiel, 
and in the Golden age of the Old South, we find the daughter of the 
Pioneers, mistress of the Southern plantation concerned with the 
work of the little "Society for educating pious young men for the 
Gospel ministry," while at the same time looking after her large 
household, and solemnly assuming responsibility for the physical, 
moral and Spiritual welfare of her colored dependents. Spending long 
hours in the prayerful instruction of her slaves in Bible and Cate- 
chism, the plantation mistress became our first missionary to the 
Negroes of the South. 

Such is our goodly heritage as Southern Presbyterian women, 
and the mantk of generations of handmaidens of the Lord has come 
to rest today, upon the shoulders of their daughters who have pledged 

31 



their lives to witnessing unto Him unto the uttermost parts of the 
earth. 

Organized, September 5, 1841, the First Presbyterian church of 
Gieer, orginally known as "Mt. Tabor," had functioned as a church 
for nearly six!y years before there was any organization of the 
women of the church. This century-old church was, in it's early 
days the center of a widely scattered country community, and prob- 
lems of distance and transportation made it difficult for the women 
of rhe congregation to get together except for church attendance on 
Sabbaths. Yet, the Fruit of the Spirit was manifested in a large way 
in the home-life and prayer-life of the women of this church from 
the very beginning. In "Presbyterian Women of South Carolina," by 
l r rz. Gist, we find this statement concerning one of the women of 
ear]y days — "And if ever there are real pillars in a church, or 'Moth- 
ers in Israel,' surely Mrs. Elizabeth Victoria Bailey was all of that 
in 'he Greer church. She was one of the most earnest members, al- 
ways aoout her 'Father's business,' leaving a rich heritage to her 
S( ns and daughters." In 1848, eight women, members of Mt. Tabor 
were largely responsible for a movement which culminated in or- 
ganizing the First Presbyterian church of Greenville, this group be- 
ing included among the charter members of the latter church. Im- 
bueing the new organization with the spirit of the Mother church, 
ihe influence of these Godly women became as seed sown in "good 
so 1" — seed, which in the ever growing work of the Daughter church 
with her noble contribution of laborers in the vineyards of the Mas- 
ter — has grown and blossomed, and fruited for eternity. 

The first record of any organization of women of the First 
Presbyterian Church of Greer, is that of May 8, 1901. It states sim- 
p.'\, "We, the ladies of the Presbyterian Church of Greers, met at the 
home of Mrs. Thomas Hill and organized ourselves into a Ladies' Aid 
Society io raise money for the church to be used as they deem nec- 
essary, a part to be devoted to our Home Missionary work." As pro- 
vided in the constitution adopted during the year, "Anyone can be- 
come a member by subscribing to the constitution and agreeing to 
pay, not less than 10 cents monthly." 

Mrs Thomas Hill was elected president of the society, and Mrs. 
W. W. Burgiss, secretary-treasurer, only two officers being consider- 
ed necessary forty years ago. A list of members of the society en- 
rolled in 1901, includes: Mesdames W. W. Burgiss, Thomas Hill, T. E. 
Smith, W. D. McCorkle, W. M. Marchant, T. C. Potter, H. F. Moody, 
Will Groce, Bertha P. Allen, and Misses Beulah Baker, Florence 
M« ody, and Delia Wood. The five who were marked "present" at that 
first meeting on May 8, were Mesdames W. W. Burgiss, Bertha P. 
Allen, T. E. Smith, Thomas Hill, and Miss Delia Wood. 

With the women of that period, "to know a duty was to do it," 
thus immediately after the election of officers, "It was decided that 
we go at once to work." Plans were promptly formulated for serving 
an ice cream supper "the 17th of May, at the home of Mrs. W. W. 
Purgiss." 

32 



The maiden effort of the society, their first ice cream supper 
netted $16.75, and thus encouraged, "another entertainment was 
planned for June 14th." Throughout the remainder of the year the 
little band busry served suppers and quilted quilts, the proceeds from 
which, together with their regular "dues," were used in paying bills 
for "lamps, paper, and carpeting for the church," bills doubtless 
passed on to the society by the men of the church. In searching dim 
records of numerous societies of other days, historians inevitably 
wonder now our churches ever could have been carpeted, painted 
or iurniohed, and how our pastors and families would have fared, 
without the helping hand of the energetic "Ladies Aids." 

In 1902 wi+h Mrs. W. W. Burgiss as president, Mrs. H. F. Moody, 
v ce-president, and Mrs. Bertha P. Allen, secretary-treasurer, seven 
honorary members were received; Rev. T. C. Potter, pastor; and 
Messrs. f. M. Hill, T. E. Smith, E. C. Bailey, J. W. Smith, W. W. 
Burgiss, and H F. Moody. Thes men did not attend meetings except 
when an occasional "entertainment" was planned in their honor, but 
they did pay annual dues of $1.00 each. The dues collected the first 
year from the honorary members were applied to the purchase of 
hymn books for the church. During this year it is recorded that the 
society purchased a Communion table for the church, $2.00 of the 
cost being "donated by Mrs. Thomas Hill." 

Before the little society was two years old, it had made notice- 
able growth in numbers and in faith. In Octobers 1902, the society 
voted to accept an invitation to join the Woman's Missionary Union 
of Enoree Presbytery," pledging the sum of $10.00 for missions, and 
in November they packed a box of clothing for Thornwell orphan- 
age, their first aid to other than local causes. 

Early in 1903 a letter was received from Mrs. C. E. Graham, pres- 
ident of the "Woman's Missionary Union of Enoree Presbytery, ask- 
ing that the women of Greer church organize a Missionary Society. 
And, although it had been stipulated in the constitution of the Ladies 
Aid Society, that "This society is organized for the purpose of en- 
gaging and uniting women of this congregation in raising funds for 
various Missionary Operations of the chuich, and creating funds for 
other causes," the members now determined to emphasize their mis- 
sionary eiforts. From henceforth the soceity is designated in the 
minutes as "The Ladies Aid and Missionarj' Society." In October, 
1903, the sum of $10.00, pledged for Home Missions, was sent to Dr. 
Chester, Home Mission Secretary — the first gift of the society to the 
cause oi missions. 

The Biblical injunction, "Be not weary in well doing," was lit- 
e-.illy obeyed by this group in the next few years, as we find the 
women assuming the support of a child at Thornwell Orphanage, 
contributing to the cause of Ministerial Relief, presenting their pas- 
toi. Rev. T. C. Potter a gift of $10.00, paying for fire insurance for 
the church building — while being continually occupied with ways 
and means for repleting the treasury. The end of the year invariably 
found the society with "all bills paid" and a gratifying "balance on 
hand." 

33 



During the early years there was little attempt toward present- 
■r.g Missionary programs at monthly meetings. The efforts of the 
gioup were naturaly directed toward local needs, gradually widening 
out to include orphanage, Ministerial Relief, and Home Mission work. 
But, by 1905 several members were subscribing for the Missionary 
which supplied material for augmenting the customary "Devotional 
readings." During this year is recorded, for the first time the reading 
of a "paper on our mission work in China," at one monthly meeting, 
and the sending of $10.00, to the Foreign Mission Committee, the first 
gift for Lie purpose of sowing the seed of the Gospel in foreign lands. 
The final record at the close of 1905, mentions a gift of $30.00 to the 
Hii Chow, Chnia Mission, the collective contents of Mite boxes pre- 
viously distributed for that purpose. 

In the fall of 1905 the Ladies Aid Society, for the first time, 
entertained the Woman's Missionary Union of Enoree Presbytery. In 
that day when the mtor car was still a novelty, delegates came by 
train, homes weie opened for their reception, and a season of genuine 
fchowship was enjoyed throughout the two days meetings. 

No records of the years between 1905 and 1913 are now avail- 
able, but during that time there had been organized "The Donald 
Richardson Missionary Society" as separate from the Ladies Aid 
Society. The firmer was named in honor of a beloved pastor, Rev. 
Donald Richardson who resigned the pastorate October, 1910, in order 
ihF.t he and Mrs. Richardson might go as missionaries to China. Gist's 
"Presbyterian Women of South Carolina," states, that during these 
years of which 'here are no records, "Mrs. W. W. Burgiss gave a hand- 
some Bible for- '.he pulpit in memory of her son, Walter W. Burgiss, 
and silver collection plates were given by Mrs. Burgiss and Mrs T. E. 
Smith. Mrs. Smith also supported a student at Nanking Seminary, 
China." Dr. R M. Stephenson and Mrs. Stephenson also went from 
this church to China, at the same time, Dr. Stephenson as a Medical 
Missionary. Naturally the society as well as the church was deeply 
interested in their mission work in China, and friends of other de- 
nominatk ns in Greer were also interested in their work. Mrs. Clara 
Davenport a member of the Methodist church of Greer, supported a 
student at Nanking Seminary during this period. 

LADIES AID SOCIETY NOW SEPARATE ORGANIZATION 

Althought their memberships rolls were practically identical, the 
Ladies Aid Society and the Donald Richardson Missionary Society 
now functioned as separate organizations. The women of Greer Pres- 
byterian church now occupied a dual role. In the role of "Martha," 
they continued to serve suppers and otherwise work with willing 
bands in order to care for the material needs of the church — repair- 
ing and painting church and Manse, helping the poor and needy, 
standing by to assist the pastor — while in the role of "Mary," they 
se-.dously studied the Scriptures, studied the needs of the fields, white 
unto the harvest, and through their efforts and prayers, scattered the 
Good News in the forgotten places of the earth. 

34 



At tne Degmning of 1913 the Ladies Aid Society numbered 17 
members. This group, sometimes at the close of the regular meeting 
of the Missionary Society, and on other occasions holding meetings 
in the homes, Kept in touch with the needs of the entire community. 
An interesting record is that of September, 1913. "Mrs. Smith gave 
a report from Ihe Charity Committee. The committees from the four 
churches havirg organized and all charity work of the town is to be 
reported to this committee, composed of Mrs. T. E. Smith, Misses 
Anna Greene, and Ellie Few." The Ladies Aid Society of this period, 
literally walked in the footsteps of the Master, "Who, went about do- 
ing good." 

In the fading pencilled records of the Aid Society is reflected 
much of the growth and changing customs of the nation. For— as the 
automobile was now displacing the horse and buggy, new ideas are 
slowly invading the realm of the Woman's Work. The ice cream sup- 
per and quilting bee are now outmoded, and the bazaar and Silver 
Tea in fashion, these engineered by an energetic band that never re- 
ported losses, but always incredible gains. A new church building 
was a crying need, and with characteristic determination the women 
were working toward that end. In December, 1913, the Aid Society 
made an initial gift of $100 to the "building fund," contributed $5.00 
toward a Christmas tree for the Sunday School, and $2.00 to the Char- 
itv committee for benevolent work. Expense accounts over a period 
ot several years list amounts "paid for extra music for the church." 

In 1914 th- society presented to the church a beautiful Indivi- 
dual Communion Service, and the following year is recorded the in- 
stalling of plumbing and fixtures for the Manse at a cost of $171.00. 
Lie records of these years are amazing. Checks for everything need- 
ed for church, Manse, or charity work were invariably forthcoming, 
arid in the treasury at the end of the year, remained a never-failing 
baJance. In one instance, when funds were running low, thewomen — 
ordered— and sold BROOMS, thereby adding $57.00 to the treasury. 
In 1915 tne sum of $50.00 was added to the building fund, the new 
edifice still several years in the future, was ever existent in the 
hopes and plans of the faithful "Marthas" of the church. 

At the nation's call to the World War, the society nobly rallied to 
carry on. An entry, October, 1916— "It was decided to abandon all 
plans for making money for the Aid Society and to devote all our 
attention to the interests of the Red Cross" Knitting, sewing, rolling 
bandages, the women did their bit wherever they could. Perhaps the 
greatest Christian service in the history of Woman's Work of this 
church, was that of the "grace of hospitality" which abounded in 
this period. Halfway between two great cantonments, Greenville and 
Spartanburg, where thousands of soldiers were in training, the town 
of Greei threv open her homes and churches to the boys. Every 
Sunday follow : ng church services many of the homesick lads were 
entertained in the Christian homes of the women of this church. 
None can ever estimate the far reaching consequences of thus wit- 
nessing to the strangers through the Christian grace of hospitality. 
During the year while there were practically no local expndi- 

35 



lures, the monthly dues were collected and added to the building 
fund. Al the close of the war, usual activities were resumed, the Aid 
Society beautifying the grounds about church and Manse, and for 
caring for charity cases. 

In November, 1921 the society held a special Thanksgiving ser- 
-■ ite in the home of Mrs. E. C. Bailey. The Thank-offering on this oc- 
casion amounted to $190.00. When the new church building was erec- 
ted in 1922, the Aid Society marshalled all funds. The sum of $50.00 
given that year to send a student to Nanking Seminary, China, was 
donated by free will offerings, not taken from the treasury. 

Upon the completion of the new edifice, the Ladies Aid Society 
contributed the following sums: $600.00 to be applied on the cost of 
pews, the remainder of the total cost of $1,000.00 the society paid in 
later installments; $85.00 for furnishing ladies' parlor; $79.50 to pur- 
chase table and chairs for use in front of pulpit; $506.60 for carpets 
and various ar 4 icles of furnishings for the church; more than $600.00 
toward the purchase of a new pipe organ. 

In April, 1923, the Ladies Aid Society ceased to function as a 
separate organization, and was formally combined with the Wom- 
an s Auxiliary. 

THE DONALD RICHARDSON MISSIONARY SOCIETY 

The earliest records of the Donald Richardson Missionary So- 
ciety, beginning April, 1913, picture the women of this church in the 
:ole "Mary," their meetings deeply Spiritual, centering in the cause 
of missions. Members pledgd to give sacrificially; pledges made at 
the first of the year, and much time was spent in Bible study, Mis- 
sion study, and prayer. Frequent letters and messages were received 
from Rev. Donald Richardson, and the work in China was very near 
1 o the heart of his namesake society. There were 18 members en- 
lolied in 1918. 

On the momentous Nov. 11, 1918, when history was in the mak- 
ing, the regular monthly meeting of the Donald Richardson Mis- 
sionary Society was held in the home of Mrs. Rhett Ballenger. In- 
stead of the scheduled program the meeting was converted into a 
season of prayer and thanksgiving. With full hearts the group united 
in singing the Doxology and repeating the 147th Psalm. Early that 
morning bells had rung out the glad tidings of peace — and inscribed 
ill the records of that historic occasion, this item: "November 11, 
1918, a day that will go down in history as one of eternal gratitude." 

Topical literature in greater variety is now available, interest in 
the mission fields increases with additional information; and from 
the the.ne of the gatherings, Spiritual growth is evident. The pastor, 
Rev. A. G. Wardlaw if often present at the meetings of the society 
encouroging the band by his talks, and fervent prayers. At the close 
of 1920. pledges collected for missions exceeded the expected goal. 

WOMAN'S AUXILIARY FORMED 

With the general movement toward forming Auxiliaries to su- 

36 



persede the customary Missionary Societies in Presbyterian cnurcnes, 
officers of Enoree Presbyterial urged the Donald Richardson Mis- 
sionary Society to organize an Auxiliary according to the General 
Assembly's plan. Many in the society doubted the possibility of their 
small Missionary Society being able to meet the requirements of a 
standard Auxiliary, but after a discussion of the matter in September, 
1&21, ''It was decided to invite Mrs. L. H. Irby, of Woodruff to meet 
with the society and give us an idea how a small society can under- 
take large work." 

The following month, October, 1921. Mrs. L. H. Irby, president 
of the Eroree Presbyterial, was present at the meeting and assisted 
in organizing the Woman's Auxiliary from the Missionary society it's 
former name being dropped. Officers of the Donald Richardson Mis- 
sionary Society automatically became efficers of the new Woman's 
Auxiliary. President, Mrs. W. F. Holtzclaw; 1st vice president, Mrs. 
H. W. L : nk; 2nd vice president, Mrs. J. B. Mendenhall; secretary- 
treasurer, Mrs. E. H. Shaklin. The first Secretaries of Causes of the 
first Auxiliary,, were elected to serve the remainder of the year: 

Foreign Missions, Mrs. A. G. Wardlaw; Home Missions, Mrs. J. V. 
Smith; Ministerial Relief, Mrs. E. C. Bailey; Bible Study, Mrs. T. E. 
Smith, Young People's Work, Miss Emily Smith. 

Mrs. Trby was accompanied by Mrs. Johnson, wife of the pastor 
of Woodruff Presbyterian church, who talked on "The Duties of 
Forming a Bible Study Class." A class was promptly organized in the 
Auxiliary, with Mrs. T. E. Smith as teacher. 

The Woman's Auxiliary entered seriously into the new work, 
the Standard of Excellence was discussed at the first meeting, and 
plans were formulated for holding a Mission Study class. The book. 
"Unfinished Tasks" was studied in class early in 1922, and through- 
out the year regular programs featured the interests of various causes 
represented in the Auxiliary. The sum of $50.00 was donated by the 
Auxiliary in 1922, to the Stuart Robinson School in Kentucky, the 
money to furnish a student's room in the dormitory. This year was 
marked by great rejoicing over the erection of the new church build- 
ing. Notes of thanks were written by the Auxiliary to both the build- 
er and the building committee. 

The years 1923-24 were momentous in the history of. Woman's 
work in Greer Presbyterian church. In May, 1923, upon the motion of 
Mis. A. G. Wardlaw the combination of the Woman's Auxiliary and 
Ladies Aid Society was effected, with Mrs. E. G. Greer, president; 
Mrc. Jack Wham, vice-president; Mrs. T. A. Richards, Treasurer; 
and Mrs. J. G. Buford, secretary. The first act of the combined or- 
ganization was the donating of $10.00 to "The Mexican Girl's School" 
in Texas. When the two organizations were combined, three circles 
were formed, but in July 1923, these were consolidated into one with 
Mrs. Ben P. Dillard, chairman. In September a committee was ap- 
pointed to "ra- r e the amount of $42.00 requested as the Auxiliary's 
quota for the Louise Mayes Baby Cottage to be erected at Thornwell 
Orphanage. 

In April,, 1924 the Auxiliary entertained the Enoree Presbyterial. 

37 



vim 44 churches represented, and a number of missionaries present; 
Rev. C. Darby Fulton and Mrs. Fulton, Okasaki, Japan; Dr. W. H. 
Hudson, Kashing, China; Mrs. J. R. Graham, Tsing Pu, China, in- 
cluded among those entertained in the Auxiliary's homes. 

ORGANIZE ON CIRCLE PLAN 

In September, 1924, Mrs. E. H. Shanklin, Auxiliary president 
cailed for a discussion of the possibility of organizing on the "Gen- 
eral Assembly Circle Plan,'* and "with much interest they voted to 
adept this plan " The names of every woman and girl over eighteen 
yerrs of age in the church were written on slips of paper and drawn 
for the three circles to be formed. The first circle leaders appointed 
after the adoption of the new plan, were: Mrs. E. C. Bailey, Mrs. J. 
R. Gouriey, and Mrs. J. A. Robinson, Jr. 

The following month four boxes of clothing valued at $200.00 
were sent to Nacooche Institute Georgia. 

GROWTH 

Expansion is now evident along all lines of work, the gradual 
tendency toward more efficient organization, and greater coopera- 
tion. 

The same spirit of zealous and loyal service which character- 
ized the tiny g'oup composing the tirst organized Woman's Work in 
the Presbyteririn church of Greer, is manifest as we follow the un- 
broken records which point to growth — in Grace — in knowledge, and 
in good works throughout the succeeding years. 

BIBLE STUDY AND PRAYER 

Beginning with the class organized by Mrs. Johnson of Woodruff 
in 1921, a regular Bible class has been an indispensable feature of 
e r ioh year,s program. In 1928 two classes were recorded during the 
ye^r. In 1930 s.x months spent in studying the Book oi Acts, and in 
1! ;■ 2 a six month's study of Romans brought great Spiritual blessings. 
Tii recent years the Auxiliary studies the portion of Scripture as- 
si fo ned by the Committee on Woman's Work of the General Assem- 
bly for Auxiliary Bible study. In September 1928, Mrs. Hamilton, the 
pastor's wife, returning from Montreat Woman's Auxiliary School 
of Missions, urged ■"more religion, more prayer and Bible study." In 
1936 the question included on report forms — "In what way has your 
society made progress during the year?" was answered thus — "Thru 
B.'ble reading and prayer calendars." Pledges for daily Bible reading 
and daily use of prayer calendars are now signed at the first of the 
year, also pledges for tithing, proportionate giving being considered 
an essential pari of the Scriptural plan for the individual Christian. 

MISSION STUDY 

It is a far cry from the first "paper on our missions work," in 
other years, to the store of material now available for information 
concerning every phase of mission work. Committees of women have 

38 



canvassed the church for subscriptions to church papers and the 
Missionary publications, and interest in missions has increased with 
krowlelge. A local secretary now cooperates with Presbyterial de- 
pa] tmental officers in providing topical literature and stressing it's 
use. Since the first Mission study class was held in 1922, it has be- 
come the custom to study annually, one book on the subject of Home 
Missions, and one on Foreign Missions. These studies have served to 
keep the Auxiliary in close contact with the missionaries and their 
fields, and have greatly enriched the lives of the students. Mission 
•study classes have been conducted in various ways. Sometimes sev- 
eral members each teach a chapter of the book; again, the book has 
been studied in circles, all meeting together to discuss the book and 
leview it's contents. On one occasion the Mission study was pre- 
sented as a part of the regular Sunday evening's church service, and 
information thus brought to the entire congregation. In October 1928, 
a banner year for Home Mission study, two all-day classes were held. 
Tne offering on Home Mission day amounted to $99.00, while on 
Foreign Mission day, $100.00 was collected. 

THE COLORED WOMEN 

Part of our heritage from the past is our duty to the colored 
people, and in order to reach the colored race with true Gospel 
teaching, a Bible class was organized by the Auxiliary in 1925, with 
Mrs. Frank H. Wardlaw, teacher. Mrs. Wardlaw has taught this class 
of 46 colored women for the past three months and they deeply ap- 
preciate the work of their teacher," states a record of March, 1925. 
Expense accounts list "cash for coal used by colored women's Bible 
class," and letrers are read in the Auxiliary thanking the women for 
this kindess. In May, 1928, members of this class sang "Spirituals" 
at the Auxiliary meeting, and in January, 1929, when the Christian 
Social Service Secretary called for volunteers to teach the colored 
women's Bible class, four women of the Auxiliary offered their ser- 
vices. The class had so grown by 1936-37 that it had to be divided 
into two class.st;. 

For the first time, in 1924, a colored woman of the community 
WSf- sent by the Auxiliary to the Conference of Christian Colored 
Women m Columbia, and one or two women have annually been 
given that opportunity, since that time. For this the colored women 
have been mo?t grateful. 

CHRISTIAN FELLOWSHIP AND HOSPITALITY 

By social hours after Auxiliary meetings, and by get-together 
meetings for the church, the Auxiliary has fostered a rare spirit of 
Christian fellowship which has bound both church and society to- 
gether as "one family." The custom of appointing committees to 
"speak to strangers at church, and to visit new people moving into 
town to invite them to church," was carried over from the Ladies 
Aid Society into the new Auxiliary. Visitors have found a warm wel- 
come in church and Auxiliary, due to witnessing of a band of women 
"given to hospitality." 

39 



In 1937, the Woman's Auxiliary again entertained the Enoree 
Presbyterial, both the Presbyterial and Auxiliary having made great 
strides in growth since their first meeting together in 1905. 

"INASMUCH" 

Visiting the sick with tokens of sympathy has been a regular 
feature of Woman's Work, since the custom was inaugurated by the 
Aid Society. Now the responsibility of the Secretary of Christian 
^ucial Service, this work has grown and widened to be coordinated 
with that of the Home Circle leader who is responsible for bringing 
( heer to shut ins on her list. 

WHITE CROSS WORK 

In January, 1925 is recorded the first White Cross work, when 
the Aux liary spent an afternoon in preparing surgical dressings for 
Ellen Graham Hospital, Hai Chow, China. This became an annual 
custom, it beh'g a privilege to cooperate with the departmental sec- 
retary in providing materials, or funds as requested. 

YOUNG PEOPLE 

Through programs planned in their interests; through pageants 
and programs presented by the young people themselves; through 
sponsoring Rally Days in the Sunday School, the Auxiliary has 
kept in touch with the young people of the church. The cause secre- 
tary now plans an annual picnic for the boys and girls about to leave 
home in the early fall. 

SUNSHINE AND SHADOW 

In 1928, a< the dark clouds of a financial depression were lower- 
ing. Mrs. Ramsay Allison, president opened the first Auxiliary meet- 
ing of Uie year, with a prayer of "thanksgiving to God that our of- 
fering heis not been cut," stressing also, the need for more family 
altars, and asking the circle leaders to stress this need with their 
^cups. At the end of the year, March 1929, the budget of $1320 had 
been paid, the Auxiliary had pounded the pastor and his wife, Mr. 
and Mrs. Hami.ton, and with the help of Mr. E. H. Shanklin, who do- 
nated the stove, had furnished the church kitchen. 

January, 1931 — Missionaries are being recalled from the fields, 
hospitals and schools closed, for lack of funds. The guiding motive of 
the Auxiliary is prayer and self-denial. January, 1932 — The banks 
of Greer failed this month, not only affecting individual members,, 
but freezing the Auxiliary deposits, $161.79. But the bank of Heaven 
carnot fail, and truly, the windows were opened to pour our blessings 
in those days. Inspired by the courageous example of their leader, 
Mrs. B. B. Waters, president of the Auxiliary, 1932 to 1936, the wom- 
en made up b->xes of food and clothing for the Georgia Home, and 
T^ornwell orphanage, made a quilt for Montreat Home, lacking 
rmney ti give, they gladly shared with others that which they had. 
Cne circle leader said to her group in this dark hour, "May our 

40 



motto be. 'More zeal for the Master'." Prayer bands in every circle 
were offering petitions for faith and courage, and it was said that the 
women of this Auxiliary in this period, "advanced on their knees." 
Instead of worrying about the future, the Auxiliary joined their pres- 
ident in "tharking God for His mercy and goodness toward them 
during the past, and never did the light of faith shine brighter than 
against a background of darkened skies. Cheerfully the Auxiliary 
d.,;pensed witli refreshments at meetings, curtailed all expenses, and 
at the end of the year reported the budget— PAID. A cash sum in the 
treasury at the time of the bank failure, was turned over to the 
church which had been left bare. 

Through a period of several years, the heart of Auxiliary was 
attuned .o the dire need existing everywhere. Sacrificially the women 
trave to 'nissions at home and abroad. In 1934 the offering realized 
at the annual birthday party went "for the relief of needy families 
of Home Mission workers, and for families of retired and deceased 
in-nisteri;." 

In 1938 the Auxiliary adopted changes in the budget-system 
p-ovided for increased efficiency in apportioning all funds according 
to the General Assembly plan. At the beginning of 1941 the finance 
committee is composed of the Auxiliary president, treasurer, and 
Circle leaders. This committee makes out the budget for the year and 
presents to the Auxiliary for approval, and adoption. 

In 1941, also a Recommendations Board to which any criticisms 
or suggestions could be referred, was appointed. Mrs. J. E. Mont- 
gomery, Mrs. James Anderson, Mrs. J. V. Smith, compose this board. 
There are many, many details which could be mentioned in a his- 
tory of Woman's Work in this church, if there were room for them 
all — the unselfishness; the sacrifices; the kindness noted in even the 
least detail of records down through the years. The gifts for erecting 
churches, one in Charleston, one at Willington, and another, the Fort 
Hdl Church, Clemson; the many gifts to poor families; to orphan- 
age; Red Red Cross; the Montreat Home; a quilt made by a shut-in 
to be sent to the orphanage to "some one named Ida." Not the least 
of their service was the placing of flowers each Sunday in church, 
to make beautiful the house of the Lord. The grounds around church 
and Manse, have been planted and kept with loving care. From time 
to time sums oi $100, or $50 was spent for shrubbery. In the lean 
years, when there was no cash, the women gave the labor of their 
hands tothis work of love. The variety and interest of monthly pro- 
grams in both Auxiliary and circles, tell a story of those who were 
full of zeal for the Master. One program on "Mountain Missions" 
wnen the ladies' parlor was transformed into a mountain cabin com- 
plete even to patchwork quilts; another depicted an Indian Mission 
School, tneir traditions, folklore and costumes; another program, a 
birthday party celebration, was in the form of a "foodless" banquet. 
M-mbers sat around a beautifully appointed table, while the story 
Wos told of those who are starving for the Bread of Life. On one 
occasion, when it was thought there would be little to give to the 
Stuart Robinson School in Kentucky, the women made tiny saddle- 

41 



bags of cloth in which to place their offerings, realizing $19.75. At 
f he beginning jf 1941, the pastor's wife, Mrs. F. T. McGill announced 
that throughout the year monthly devotionals will feature character 
studies of prominent women of the Bible. 

In 1940 two beautiful silver collection plates were donated to 
ihe church in memory of Mr. and Mrs. T. E. Smith, by their sons, 
W.lliam Bailey, and Gordon C. Smith. Mrs. Smith served the Aux- 
iliary faithfully for many years. 

As an incentive to greater endeavor, the Auxiliary chose for one 
year the motto "Go Forward," and a study of forty years of Woman's 
work reveals tne results of going forward under the leadership of the 
Lord. Highlights of the reports at the close of 1940-41 tell of faithful 
prayerful work being done; of renewed interest in Spiritual matters 
and a hearty cooperation in all departments of the Auxiliary. The 
•. o'ored Wome r s Bible class has been taught for the 16th consecutive 
yPrT by a representative from the Auxiliary. 

The White Cross work has included layettes for use in Chinese 
hospitals, outing gowns, 25, and diapers 3 dozen. 
Two programs, each in Auxiliary and circles on the subject of Re- 
ligious Education have been given, and Rally day in the Sunday 
School was sponsored by the Secretary of Religious Education. A 
Junior -.Loir has been organized, and interest fostered in Christian 
V.ndeavor. 

Mission Study books, topical literature and informational ma- 
terial have been made available through the year. A canvas made in 
the interests oi church papers reveals the fact, that 24 families read 
the Christian Observer, and three new subscribers secured; 13 fami- 
lies read the Missionary Survey, six new subscriptions for the year. 
Every woman in the Auxiliary has the devotional "Day by Day" 
booklet. 

A special Christmas program on "The Christian Home"' was pre- 
sented and offering devoted to Ministerial Relief. Another offering 
for this cause was realized when the young people presented a 
Christmas Pageant in December. 

The cause of Foreign Missions has been presented at regular 
intervals during the year, through circle and Auxiliary programs. A 
foieign Mission study class was held, during the week of Prayer and 
Self -Denial, using the book "Sent From God." Mrs. F. T. McGill, 
Foreign Mission Secretary calls upon the Auxiliary to be much in 
pi ayer, now that missionaries are being called home indefinitely be- 
cause of unsettled conditions, and schools and hospitals closed. 

Assemblies Home Missions held a Mission study class, contrib- 
uted a substantial offering and presented a pageant depicting scenes 
in an Indian Mission School. 

As a feature of the cause of Synodical and Presbyterial mis- 
sions, an offering was contributed to the Montreat Home, and boxes 
sent to the orphanage. 

The four circles, two general, one Business Women's and the 
Home Circle, each circle numbering more members than the ori- 

42 



ginal society of forty years ago, reported gratifying interest and a 
spirit of cooperation manifested throughout the year. 

The budget reported paid at the close of the fiscal year, March, 
1941, represented a total of $444.26 for all causes Under the present 
leadership, with Mrs. C. T. Kendrick as president, the Auxiliary has 
w'dened the scope of its work. 

Auxiliary officers now take advantage of training in efficiency 
o/fered in trailing schools heW at regular intervals at Montreat, and 
delegatps to schools of Missions at Montreat have returned to awak- 
en the Auxiliary to a new zeal for missions. 

For a number of years pastor's aid secretaries supplied by the 
Auxiliary have served to relieve the pastor of many details of his 
work, and to promote cooperation between pastor and Auxiliary. 

Forty years of Woman's Work — four decades of praying; hoping; 
rejoicing — courting no task too hard; no service too humble — "She 
haih done what she could." 

FOOTNOTE: 

(A number of records are missing and consequently there are 
lapses m the high lights of Woman's Work. Perhaps this regrettable 
circumstance will serve as a 'reminder to every member of the Auxi- 
liary, in present and future, of the importance of carefully preserving 
NOW, every fecord of your work for future reference.) 

OFFICERS FOR 1941.1942 

President Mrs. C. T. Kendrick 

Vice President Mrs. S. B. Hayes 

Secretary __Mrs. James A. Bailey 

Treasurer Mrs. J. E. Montgomery 

Historian Mrs. J. G. Buford 

Sec. of Foreign Missions Mrs. J. V. Smith 

Sec. of Assembly's H. M Mrs. Jones Clement 

Si c. of Ch. Ed & M. R Mrs. John McMurray 

Sec. of Rel. Ed Mrs. Roy Gillespie 

Sec. of S. and P. Home Missions Mrs. B. T. Smith 

Sec. of Spiritual Life Mrs. E. G. Greer 

Sec. of Literature Mrs. Robert Hughes 

Sec. of Soc. Service... Mrs. C. R. Ballenger 

Pastor's Aid Mrs. E. H. Shanklin 

Sec. of Social Activities Mrs. .J G. Hayes 

White Cross _.Mrs. W. T. Rhodes 

Music ....Mrs. W. B. Smith and Mrs. F. T. McGill 

Circle Mo. 1 Mrs. R. C. Alverson 

Circle No. 2 . Mrs. M. C. Reese 

Business Woman's Circle Miss Dorcas Holtzclaw 

Home Circle Mrs. Ben Dillard 

LADIES AID SOCIETY 
1901 

President. Mrs. Thomas Hill 

Secretary-Treasurer Mrs. W. W. Burgiss 

43 



1902 

Prcsideri' Mrs. W. W. Burgiss 

Vice-President Mrs. H. F. Moody 

Sec. & Treas Mrs. Bertha Allen 

1903 

President Mrs. H. F. Moody 

Vice-President Mrs. T. E. Smith 

Sec. & Treas. Miss McCutcheon 

1904 

President Mrs. Thomas Hill 

V. : ce-President Mrs. T. E. Smith 

£t_c. & Treas Mrs. Agnes Marchant 

1905 

President Mrs. Thomas Hill 

Vice-President Miss Hattie McCutcheon 

Sec. & Treas Miss Florence Moody 

1913 
bee. & Treas Miss Florence Moody 

1914 

Piesident Mrs. E. C. Bailey 

Vice-President Mrs. H. F. Moody 

Sec. & Treas Miss Florence Moody 

1916 

Piesident-- Mrs. E. C. Bailey 

Si c. & Treas Mrs. Presson 

1917 

President Mrs. A. G. Wardlaw 

Sec. & Treas Mrs. Marguerite Sheib 

1918-1919 

President Mrs. A. G. Wardlaw 

Sec. & T eas Miss Grace Wood 

1920-1921 

President Mrs. E. C. Bailey 

Tec. & Treas.__. _ Mrs. B. B. Waters 

1922 

President Mrs. E. H Shanklin 

Vic e-President Mrs. J. V. Smith 

Sec. & Treas Mrs. E. G. Greer 

1923 

President Mrs. E. H. Shanklin 

Vice-President- Mrs. B. P. Dillard 

Sec. & Treas Mrs. J. G. Buford 

DONALD RICHARDSON SOCIETY 

1918-1919 

President Mrs. T. E. Smith 

Vice-President... _ Mrs. C. R. Ballenger 

Sec. & Treas Mrs. E. H. Shanklin 

1920 

President. - ....Mrs. T. E. Smith 

44 



S< c. & Treas... M rs. E. H. Shanklin 

1921 -Mar 

President Mrs. W. F. Holtzclaw 

Vice-President _ M rs. H. W. Link 

2nd Vice-President Mrs. J. B. MendenhaU 

S« c. & Tieas... _ M rs. E H shanklin 

WOMAN'S AUXILIARY 

1922 

President .... Mrs. W. F. Holtzclaw 

1st Vice-President Mrs. H. W. Link 

2nd Vice-President Mrs. J. B. Mendenhall 

Sec. & Treas Mrs. T. A. Richards 

1923 

President Mrs. E. G. Greer 

Vice-President Mrs. Jack Wham 

S'c. ......Mrs. J. G. Buford 

Treas-., Mrs. T. A. Richards 

1924 

Tresident Mrs. E. H. Shanklin 

Vice-President. Mrs. E. C. Bailey 

Sec Mrs. J. G. Buford 

rreas — - - Mrs. B. B. Waters 

1925 

President— __Mrg. Frank H. Wardlaw 

Vice-President Mrs. J. V. Smith 

v-cc Miss Minnie Mendenhall 

Treas Mrs. B. B. Waters 

1926 

President Mrs. J. V. Smith 

Vice-President .... Mrs. E. H. Shanklin 

Sec Mrs. Harold James 

Treas Mrs. T. E. Parsons 

1927 

P-esident Mrs. A. R. AUison 

Vice-President Mrs. Fred L. Still 

Sec. Mrs. Frank N. Gibson 

ireas... Mrs. J. C. Harrell 

1928 

President.. Mrs. A. R. Allison 

V.-ce-President '_ Mrs. F. L. Still 

Sec Mrs. Frank N. Gibson 

Treas Mrs. D. M. Frierson 

Historian ... Mrs. E. C. Bailey 

1929 

President Mrs. D. M. Frierson 

Vice-President .Mrs. F. L. Still 

Sec. ... Mrs. C. T. Kendrick 

'Leas Mrs. E. C. Bailey 

1930 
President Miss Annie Johnson 

45 



Vice-President 




Mrs. Eva S. Adams 


Sec. 




....Mrs. C. T. Kendrick 


Treas 

President 


1931 


Mrs. E. C. Bailey 

Miss Annie Johnson 


Vice-President 




Mrs. Eva S. Adams 


S< c . . 




.. — . Mrs. J. G. Buford 


Treas 




. _ Mrs. S. W. Rabb 


President 


1932 


Mrs. B. B. Waters 


Vice-President 




.... Mrs. Eva S. Adams 


Sec 




. Mrs. J. G. Buford 


Treas 




__Mrs. S. W. Rabb 


President 


1933 


-.Mrs. B. B. Waters 


\ : -e-President 

Sec. 




Mrs. J. V. Smith 

Miss Margaret Harrison 


• reas. 




Mrs. S. W. Rabb 


President 


1934 


...Mrs. B. B. Waters 


Vice-President 

Sec. 





.Mrs. J. P. Adams 

- Miss Margaret Harrison 


Treas 




. Miss Dorcas Holtzclaw 


President _. 


1935 


Mrs. B. B. Waters 



V.'ce-President ...Mrs. J. P. Adams 

Sec _. Mrs. C. T. Kendrick 

Treas Miss Dorcas Holtzclaw 

1936 

President 

Vice-President 

Sic 

ii t:as 



Mrs. J. V. Smith 

Mrs. B. B. Waters 

.....Miss Margaret Harrison 
. Miss Dorcas Holtzclaw 



1937 



President 

V'ce-President. 

Sec 

Treas 

H ; . c torian 



...Mrs. J. V. Smith 

Mrs. B. B. Waters 

.Miss Margaret Harrison 
.Miss Dorcas Holtzclaw 
Mrs. E. H. Shanklin 



1938 



f.esident 

Vice President _ 

Src 

Treas 

Historian 

A: st. Historian... 

President 

Vice President— 
Sec. 



Mrs. E. G. Greer 

-Mrs. J. V. Smith 

.Mrs. Harper Hawkins 

.Mrs. M. C. Reese 

Mrs. E. H Shanklin 

Mrs. J. G. Buford 



1939 



Mrs. E. G. Greer 

Mrs. J. V. Smith 

-Mrs. Harper Hawkins 



46 



Treas 

Historian 



Mrs. M. C. Reese 
Mrs. J. G. Buford 



1940 



President 



Mrs. C. T. Kendrick 

V^ce-Prcsident Mrs. E. G. Greer 

Stc -Mrs. James A. Bailey 

Treas.. _ Mrs. J. E. Montgomery 

Historian.. Mrs. J. G. Buford 



ROLL- 


-1901-1941 


Mrs. Bertha P. Allen 


Mrs. Dan Boozer 


Mrs. Eva Adams 


Mrs. C. D. Barry 


Mrs. W. T. Allison 


Miss Nina Barry 


Mrs. A. R. Allison 


Mrs. Fred Boozer 


Miss Lucia Allison 


Mrs. Wm. Cunningham 


Mrs. J. R. Anderson 


Mrs. N. A. Collins 


Miss Louise Adams 


Mrs. H. C. Cathcart 


Mrs. James B. Anderson 


Mrs. Ralph Carson 


Mrs. D. L. Allen 


Mrs. F. P. Clark 


Miss Sarah Adams 


Miss Freddie Clark 


Miss Beatrice Allison 


Miss Hazel Clark 


Miss Evelyn Anderson 


Miss Flossie Crisp 


Mrs. R. C. Alverson 


Mrs. Maude Crawley 


Mrs. B. D. Addy 


Mrs. J. M. Cannon 


Mis sLena Armstrong 


Miss Lelia Caldwell 


Mrs. I. W. Anderson 


Mrs. Alice Rollins Crain 


Miss Beulah Baker 


Mrs. Margaret Carlisle 


Mrs. W. W. Burgiss 


Mrs. T. E. Dean 


Mrs. E. C. Baile y 


Mrs. Ben Dillard 


Mrs. Mark Brodie 


Mrs. G. D. Dillard 


Mrs. C .R. Ballenger 


Mrs. deSaussure 


Mrs. J. S. Boozer 


Mrs. G. O. Dillard 


Mrs. Ben W. Burnett 


Mrs. E. C. Davenport 


Miss Brownlee 


Mrs. Tally Davis 


Mrs. J. G. Buford 


Mrs. Walter Dillard 


Mrs. T. H. Black 


Miss Alyce Dendy 


Mrs. J. C. Brawley 


Mrs. James Duncan 


Mrs. J. E. Bost 


Miss Virginia Edwards 


Mrs. J. N. Benton 


Mrs. J. C. Ferguson 


Mrs. W. L. Black 


Mrs. Louisia W. Frazer 


Miss Mary Ellison Brantly 


Mrs. Emma Fowler 


Mrs. Nell Smith Bomar 


Mrs. D. M. Frierson 


Mrs. Manning Boozer 


Mrs. W. W. Fant 


Miss Janie Lyle Black 


Mrs. Rosa Frank 


Miss Bonnie Lee Boozer 


Mrs. Will Groce 


Mrs. L. D. Berryhill 


Mrs. E. G. Greer 


Mrs. Jack Betterly 


Mrs. J. L. Gourley 


Mrs. Paul Brannon 


Miss Nelle Goode 


Mrs. M. A. Buie 


Mrs. I. H. Gibson 



47 



Mrs. W. R. Gillespie 

Mrs. Howard Goley 

Mrs. Dave Goley 

Mts. Henley 

Mrs. Thomas Hill 

Mrs. W. M. Holtzclaw 

Mrs. Hazel : 

Mrs. W. M. Hamilton 

Mrs. J. C. Harrell 

Miss Dorcas Holtzclaw 

Miss Kathleen Holtzclaw 

Miss Mary Holtzclaw 

Mrs. H. B. Holzclaw 

Mrs. N. A. Harrison 

Mrs. W. A. Hopkins 

Mrs. S. B. Hayes 

Mrs. W. C. Harrison 

Miss Margaret Harrison 

Miss Ruth Holtzclaw 

Mrs. G. W. Hoseh 

Mrs. Harper Hawkins 

Mrs. Robert Hughess 

Mrs. Malcolm Holtzclaw 

Mrs. Emery Holtzclaw 

Mrs. Albert Hamrick 

Mrs. H. L. Irby 

Mrs. Walter Ingram, Jr. 

Mrs. Pralo Howell 

Miss Inez Hay 

Mrs. W. N. Johnson 

Mrs. Belton Johnson 

Miss Amy Johnson 

Miss Mildred Johnson 

Miss Annie Johnson 

Mrs. Harold K. James 

Mrs. Nettie McCarter Jackson 

Airs. Fred G. James, Jr. 

Mrs. Ben Jones 

Mrs. T. D. Johnson 

Mrs. R. Kirkwood 

Mrs. W. D. Kennerly 

Mrs. C. T. Kendrick 

Mrs. B. Key 

Mrs. H. W. Link 

Mrs. Guy Landford 

Mrs. A. L. Leonard 

Miss Gerrvais Ligon 

Miss Sally Levis 

Miss Louisa Ligon 



Miss Margie Lee 
Miss Billie Livingston 
Miss Lenora Long 
Mrs. F. T. McGill 
Mrs. John McMurray 
Miss Maggie Mayfield 
Mrs. Julia McHugh 
Mrs. Morris McHugh 
Mrs. J. N. Moore 
Miss Euginia McCutcheon 
Miss Manette McCutcheon 
Mrs. H. C. McCutcheon 
Mrs. W. W. Marchant 
Mrs. H. F. Moody 
Miss Florence Moody 
Mrs. W. D. McCorkle 
Mrs. J. B. Mendenhall, Sr. 
Mrs. McGowan 
Mrs. B. B. McKinney 
Mrs. A. A. McCarter 
Mrs. C. P. Mills 
Mrs. L. B. Marion 
Mrs. Nelle McClimmons 
Miss Mattie B. Mendenhall 
Miss Minnie Mendenhall 
Mrs. Phoebe Martin 
Miss Emma Martin 
Mrs. S. W. McKnight 
Miss Lucille McCown 
Mrs. R. A. McClimmons 
Mrs. J. B. Mendenhall, Jr. 
Miss Sadie Mendenhall 
Mrs. J. M. McHugh 
Mrs. C. P. Mayfield 
Mrs. J E. Montgomery 
Mrs. C. Marks 
Mrs. James McHugh 
Mrs. Frank Norris 
Mrs. W. S. Nunnally 
Mrs. T. W. Presson 
Mrs. T. E. Parsons 
Mrs. Thomas Patrick 
Miss Anna Pomeroy 
Mrs. T. C. Potter 
Mrs. W. R. Potter 
Mrs. Donald Richardson 
Mrs. T. A. Richards 
Mrs. John A. Robinson, Jr. 
Mrs. Melvin Reese 



48 



Mrs. S. W. Rabb 


Mrs. Calvin Sanders 


Mrs. W. T. Rhodes 


Miss Lillian Smith 


Miss Ollie Ratchford 


Mrs. Matt Stricklin 


Miss Gladys Ross 


Mrs. Wardlaw Smith 


Mrs. Claude Rodgers 


Mrs. Joe Torrence 


Mrs. C. R. Roberts 


Mrs. Homer Taylor 


Miss Emmie Roddy 


Mrs. V. J. Thompson 


Mrs. Louise Ross 


Mrs. Ernest Vaughan 


Miss Margaret Roberts 


Miiss Delia Wood 


Miss Mary Belle Roberts 


Mrs. A. G. Wardlaw 


Mrs. Rhinehart 


Mrs. G. H. Waters 


Mrs. T. E. Smith 


Mrs. Jack Wham 


Mrs. E. H. Skanklin 


Miss Grace Wood 


Mrs. Marguerite Sheib 


Mrs. B. B. Waters 


Mrs. J. V. Smith 


Mrs. Frank H. Wardlaw 


Miss Ellen Sagar 


Miss Bell Waters 


Mrs. Roy Sudduth 


Mrs. T. C. Wakefield, Sr. 


Mrs. Fred Sudduth 


Mrs. B. V. White 


Miss Maggie Smith 


Mrs. Roy Wakefield 


Miss Emily Smith 


Mrs. T. C. Wakefield, Jr. 


Mrs. Fred L. Still 


Mrs. J. M. West 


Miss Evelyn Smith 


Miss Ruby Wylie 


Mrs. Clark Stewart 


Miss Virginia Waters 


Miss Katie Stewart 


Mrs. Herman Wakefield 


Mrs. B. T. Smith 


Miss Katherine Wyman 


Mrs. R. R. Smith 


Mrs. J. O. Wood 


Miss Alice Shanklin 


Mrs. Vannie Wright 


Mrs. H. T. Stewart 


Mrs. L. E. Wood 


Mrs. Norris Smith 


Mrs. Walton Wakefield 


Mrs. Abb Smith 


Mrs. Paul Williams 


Mrs. William Bailey Smith 


Miss Francis Wideman 


Miss Mary Dell Stewart 


Mrs. Don Waters 


Miss Genevieve Scott 


Mrs. Marion Walker 


Mrs. G. H. Scruggss 


Mrs. J. I. Wood 


Miss Nelle Smith 


Mrs. T. G. Cash 


Mrs. Gordon Smith 





49 






8RARY 
SBTA 

•J by ter, a 




3 5197 0007^07^ 





& 85. 17574 JSC 21443 

Ml 7 




McGill, F.T. 




Short hist, of the First Pres- 
byterian church, Greer, S.C. 




DATE ISSUED TO 


1 


185./7i,-7 4 JSC Zj 



225%175'Hj 
Mil