(navigation image)
Home American Libraries | Canadian Libraries | Universal Library | Community Texts | Project Gutenberg | Children's Library | Biodiversity Heritage Library | Additional Collections
Search: Advanced Search
Anonymous User (login or join us)
Upload
See other formats

Full text of "Sixteen years at the University of Illinois; a statistical study of the administration of President Edmund J. James"

This is a digital copy of a book that was preserved for generations on library shelves before it was carefully scanned by Google as part of a project 
to make the world's books discoverable online. 

It has survived long enough for the copyright to expire and the book to enter the public domain. A public domain book is one that was never subject 
to copyright or whose legal copyright term has expired. Whether a book is in the public domain may vary country to country. Public domain books 
are our gateways to the past, representing a wealth of history, culture and knowledge that's often difficult to discover. 

Marks, notations and other marginalia present in the original volume will appear in this file - a reminder of this book's long journey from the 
publisher to a library and finally to you. 

Usage guidelines 

Google is proud to partner with libraries to digitize public domain materials and make them widely accessible. Public domain books belong to the 
public and we are merely their custodians. Nevertheless, this work is expensive, so in order to keep providing this resource, we have taken steps to 
prevent abuse by commercial parties, including placing technical restrictions on automated querying. 

We also ask that you: 

+ Make non-commercial use of the files We designed Google Book Search for use by individuals, and we request that you use these files for 
personal, non-commercial purposes. 

+ Refrain from automated querying Do not send automated queries of any sort to Google's system: If you are conducting research on machine 
translation, optical character recognition or other areas where access to a large amount of text is helpful, please contact us. We encourage the 
use of public domain materials for these purposes and may be able to help. 

+ Maintain attribution The Google "watermark" you see on each file is essential for informing people about this project and helping them find 
additional materials through Google Book Search. Please do not remove it. 

+ Keep it legal Whatever your use, remember that you are responsible for ensuring that what you are doing is legal. Do not assume that just 
because we believe a book is in the public domain for users in the United States, that the work is also in the public domain for users in other 
countries. Whether a book is still in copyright varies from country to country, and we can't offer guidance on whether any specific use of 
any specific book is allowed. Please do not assume that a book's appearance in Google Book Search means it can be used in any manner 
anywhere in the world. Copyright infringement liability can be quite severe. 

About Google Book Search 

Google's mission is to organize the world's information and to make it universally accessible and useful. Google Book Search helps readers 
discover the world's books while helping authors and publishers reach new audiences. You can search through the full text of this book on the web 

at http : //books . google . com/| 



Digitized by 



Google 



^; 



EXCHANGE 





oogle 



»• « •• ' / 



Digitized by 



Google 



Digitized by 



Google 



.•••-• • • :• 



• • • • • . 
• -• • • •• 

• •••••• 



• • • • • 



Digitized by 



Google 



Digitized by 



Google 



SIXTEEN YEARS 

AT 
4. UNIVERSITY OF ILLINoIn 



« al Study of the Adojin "-a'-, n 

J'RESIDENT EDMt. ^ L J TA%}. ■ 



PUBUftHEO BY 
M rNIVERSITY or ILUNOI8 PRESS 
1920 



Digitized by 



Google 






• • • •.- • 



Digitized by 



Google 



SIXTEEN YEARS 

AT 
THE UNIVERSITY OF ILLINOIS 



A Statistical Study of the Administration 

of 
PRESIDENT EDMUND J. JAMES 



PUBUSHED BY 

THE UNIVERSITY OF ILUN0I8 PRESS 

1920 



Digitized by 



Google 



I • • •" • • • 



• • • • • 



V 



^ 



•^ 



^ 



r\ 



^ 



-5'' 



Digitized by 



Google 



TABLE OP CONTENTS 

Chapter I The Income of the University 7 

Chapter II Land 41 

Chapter III Buildings and Equipment 77 

Chapter IV Libraries and Museums 100 

Chapter V The Faculty 128 

Chapter VI The Student Body 154 

Chapter VII Student Organizations and Activities 178 

Chapter VIII Campus Plans 193 

Chapter IX Colleges and Schools 199 

Chapter X Summary and Conclusion 256 



427752 



Digitized by 



Google 



ILLUSTRATIONS 

President Edmund Janes James Frontispiece 

(to pace page) 

Administration and Commerce Buildings 16 

Natural History and Lincoln Hall 32 

The Campus in 1870 44 

Agricultural Buildings 48 

Agricultural Experiment Fields 53 

Agricultural Buildings 64 

Chemistry Laboratory 80 

Scientific Laboratories 96 

Physics, Ceramics, and Transportation Buildings 112 

Engineering Laboratories 128 

Power House and other buildings 144 

Education and Music Buildings 160 

Woman's Building and Residence Hall 176 

Campus and Farms, 1920 192 

The Campus in 1920 194 

A Plan for Campus Development 196 

Medicine, Dentistry, and Pharmacy Buildings 208 

Auditorium, Armory, and other buildings 224 

(All the buildings shown were erected, remodelled, or acquired 
in the period from 1904 to 1920.) 



Digitized by 



Google 



PEEPACE 

The text of the following study was prepared by my sec- 
retaries beginning with Dr. E. J. Filbey and ending with Mr. 
Gterald D. Stopp. Dr. V. V. Phelps worked over portions of it 
very carefully and aside from those already mentioned I am 
under deep obligations to Mr. L. J. Heath and to Miss Anna 
V. Whitson for their unwearied attention to detail and their 
care for accuracy in the figures given. 

After all, there will be found many inaccuracies and incon- 
sistencies. In many cases, the university figures do not har- 
monize and there is no method of making them agree, which 
shows the necessity of a closer supervision of university accounts. 
The figures of attendance as kept by the different authorities and 
even the accounts of moneys expended do not harmonize. It is 
believed that the present method of accounting will secure sub- 
stantial agreement. 

This book will serve as the starting point of a new and better 
system of keeping accounts of all sorts relating to the University 
and it is to be hoped that the next statistical volume will be a 
marked improvement over this one. 

Edmxtnd J. James. 
April 2, 1920. 



Digitized by 



Google 



INTRODUCTION 

The following pages contain a brief account of the progress 
of the University of Illinois during the period from 1904 to 
1920 — ^the years of the administration of its fourth president, 
Dr. Edmund Janes James. 

The general plan of the Report will be dear from an exam- 
ination of the Table of Contents. In the first six chapters an 
account is given of the growth of the University in financial 
resources, land, buildings, equipment, libraries, museums, fac- 
ulty, and students. The seventh chapter summarizes the increase 
in student organizations and activities. A chapter is added 
outlining the plans at present under consideration for the future 
development of the campus; and a brief statement is presented 
regarding the changes which have taken place during this period 
in each of the various colleges and schools which constitute the 
University. Finally a brief summary is appended, recapitu- 
lating the outstanding facts contained in the preceding chapters. 

In an endeavor to attain some degree of conciseness, facts 
have been presented through the medium of statistics whenever 
possible, and comment upon the tables has been reduced to a 
minimum. 

It will of course be recognized that the progress which is 
after all the most vital in the life of an institution, cannot be 
expressed in mathematical terms. The real life of a university 
is something too intangible to grasp and portray. It can be 
felt rather than seen. We see the manifestations of life as 
we note changes in the material elements which form the flesh 
and bones of a living being, and we know that life is there. 

It will be observed that in the majority of chapters the ac- 
count of the period under consideration has been prefaced with 
a brief statement of the events pertaining to the earlier years 
of the University, from 1867 to 1904. Essentially, however, the 
Report is limited to the sixteen years from 1904 to 1920. 



Digitized by 



Google 



CHAPTER I 
THE INCOME OP THE UNIVEESITT 

The Income of the University of Illinois is derived chiefly 
from three sources : various appropriations made by the United 
States Oovemm^it ; appropriations made biennially by the State 
of Illinois; and the fees paid by students of the University. 
Within recent years considerable sums have been received also 
from miscellaneous sources, the most important of which are 
sales of various products resulting from the regular work of 
the University, either of experimentation or of instruction. 
Then, too, several noteworthy gifts have recently been made to 
the University. 

The various appropriations which have been made to the 
University are as follows: 

i. Appropriations by tJie Federal Oovemment 

By the Morrill Land Grant Act of 1862 the national govern- 
ment donated to the State of Illinois scrip for 480,000 acres of 
public land for the endowment and support of a College of 
Agriculture and the Mechanic Arts — 30,000 acres for each of 
its senators and representatives in Congress. The sale of this 
land has brought to the University an endowment fund of ap- 
proximately $650,000. 

The Hatch Act, approved March 2, 1887, provided for an 
appropriation of $15,000 per annum to each state for the pur- 
pose of establishing and maintaining agricultural experiment 
stations in connection with the colleges founded under the act 
of 1862. 

In 1890 a second Morrill Act was passed by Congress, by 
which there was appropriated for the support of each of the 
land-grant colleges the sum of $15,000 for the year ending 
June 30, 1890, and in each succeeding year a sum larger by 
$1000 than the amount of the preceding year until the amount 
should reach $25,000 a year. Thereafter $25,000 was to be paid 
annually. The sum of $25,000 has been received by the Uni- 
versity each year since 1900. 



Digitized by 



Google 



8 Sixteen Years at the University of lUinois 

The Adams Act, approved March 16, 1906, provided for 
an increased annual appropriation for agricultural experiment 
stations. Under its provisions the University received $5000 
for the year ending June 30, 1906, and for each of the next 
five years an increase of $2000 over the amount of the preceding 
year. Since 1911 the University has received under this Act 
$15,000 annually. 

In 1907 Congress provided for the more complete endow- 
ment and maintenance of the agricultural colleges by appro- 
priating for their support the sum of $5000 for the year end- 
ing June 30, 1908, and for each succeeding year for four years 
a sum larger by $5000 than the amount of the preceding year. 
Thereafter $25,000 was to be paid annually under the provisions 
of this law — ^known as the Nelson Act. The sum of $25,000 
has been received by the University annually since 1912. 

The Smith-Lever Act, approved May 8, 1914, provides for 
cooperative agricultural extension work by the land-grant col- 
leges and the United States Department of Agriculture. By this 
act $480,000 was appropriated by the Federal Government for 
the year 1914-15, $1,080,000 for the succeeding year, and for 
each year thereafter for seven years a sum exceeding by $500,- 
000 the sum appropriated for each preceding year. There- 
after the appropriation is to be $4,580,000 a year. Of the 
first $480,000 appropriated annually, each of the 48 States re- 
ceives an equal share or $10,000. The additional sums appro- 
priated are to be allotted to each State in the proportion which 
the rural population of each State bears to the total rural popu- 
lation of all the States as determined by the next preceding 
Federal census. The act provides further that no payment out 
of the additional sums shall be made in any year to any State 
until an equal sum has been appropriated for that year by 
the legislature of such State, or provided by State, county, 
college, local authority or individual contributions from within 
the State, for the maintenance of this cooperative agricultural 
extension work. 

The legislature of the State of Illinois, by house joint reso- 
lution, assented to the provisions of the Smith-Lever Act March 
4, 1915, and the first instalment, $10,000, was received by the 



Digitized by 



Google 



The Income of the University 9 

University of Illinois during the fiscal year 1914-15. Of the 
sums appropriated in excess of $480,000, the State of Illinois 
will receive 4.38% each year until the figures for the fourteenth 
United States census are available. For the year 1915-16 the 
total sum payable to this State under the act was $36,282.20, 
for 1916-17 $58,184.03, and for 1917-18 $80,085.86. The ''equal 
sum" to be provided by some organization within the State 
of Illinois is at present furnished by individual subscriptions 
amounting to nearly $60,000 and by twenty-three county organ- 
izations which together contribute annually to this work a total 
of about $26,000. Also the University is spending each year 
between $20,000 and $30,000 in the work of agricultural ex- 
tension. 

The Smith-Hughes Act approved February 23, 1917, pro- 
vides for the promotion of vocational education and the prepara- 
tion of teachers of vocational subjects. By this act the Federal 
Government appropriated for the year ending June 30, 1918^ 
the sum of $500,000 and for each succeeding year up to and 
including that ending June 30, 1925, a sum exceeding by 
$250,000 the appropriation of the next preceding year. Be- 
ginning July 1, 1925, the sum is to be fixed at $3,000,000 per 
annum. These appropriations will be allotted to each state in 
the proportion which its rural population bears to the total 
rural population in the United States according to the last pre- 
ceding United States census, on the condition that the allotment 
of funds to any state shall not be less than a minimum of $5,000 
for any fiscal year up to and including that ending June 30, 1923, 
nor less than $10,000 for any fiscal year thereafter, and that 
for each Federal dollar so expended for the maintenance of such 
vocational training, the State or local community or both shall 
expend an equal amount for the same purpose. 

The General Assembly of Illinois having adjourned before 
these funds were made available. Governor Lowden on Novem- 
ber 14, 1917, accepted the provisions of the Smith-Hughes Act, 
appointed the State Treasurer custodian of such money as 
should be received therefrom, and created a State Board for 
Vocational Education, consisting of the Director of Registra- 
tion and Education, Chairman, the Superintendent of Public 



Digitized by 



Google 



10 Sixteen Years at the University of lUinois 

Instruction, the Director of Agriculture, the Director of Labor, 
and the Director of Trade and Commerce. Since the Board 
had no State appropriation with which to undertake its work, 
it requested the University of Illinois to advance sufiBcient 
funds for the training of teachers in vocational branches. This 
the Board of Trustees agreed to do, and accordingly the Uni- 
versity proceeded with the work. Of the $11,290.96 expended 
thereon during the year 1917-18, $5,645.48 of Federal money 
was refunded by the State Board for Vocational Education. 

The sums received as a result of the Morrill, the Nelson, 
and the Smith-Hughes acts are paid annually by the Treasurer 
of the United States to the State Treasurer. Each Gkneral 
Assembly enacts a law providing that the sums so received 
by the State Treasurer shall immediately be payable into the 
Treasury of the University upon the order of its Board of 
Trustees. The income from the Hatch, the Adams, and the 
Smith-Lever acts is paid directly to the University Treasurer 
by the Treasurer of the United States. 

The income of the University of Illinois from each of the 
federal grants may be seen in the following table. 

It is worthy of note that the first of these federal appro- 
priations for the support of the land-grant colleges was brought 
about largely as a result of the efforts of a citizen of this state — 
Professor Jonathan Baldwin Turner of the Illinois College at 
Jacksonville ; and that although a similar bill had been vetoed 
by President Buchanan in 1859,^ a president from Illinois, 
Abraham Lincoln, afi^ed his signature to the bill of 1862. 

The fact should be added, that the appropriation of 1862 
to the land-grant colleges was not the first appropriation made 
by the Federal government for the support of higher educa- 
tion in Illinois. By an act of Congress dated March 26, 1804, 
the Secretary of the Treasury was directed to locate in each 
of three districts in the Indiana Territory one entire township 
for the use of a seminary of learning. This gave Indiana, 
Illinois and Michigan each one seminary township.* By the 



*IU. School EepoTt 1881-2, p. cxU 
in. Sdiool Beport 1881-2, p. exzxi 



Digitized by 



Google 



The Income of the University 



11 



oSo pooot^ SS§Sp ppiHpt^ pSt«pio 
ousQ p^oorH o»ad^o9 oiot^o^r o^eod^D 



lo^aa r-ia»QOrHeQ e^coAt^o «diq^io» eo^_ 

oT'^oo ocr©rwr<xr'^oricrcir»^crotrbirbroi oTd^'^p't^ 

rH^H OIMOIOIOI IdOOIOlO) OJfHfHrHrH 01G4G<I^IO 






i 













o e 



OOP pp'^'-"'^ 



o o t« 



o '^ g o iH 

iH O) 00 iH CO 



O lO — — - _ 

>c}u3»o^ «Ho>oOiHeo 
e«r^90 ocTnicTocT 



"as 









ss§§§ 


§ S E5 § g 


§SS8S 


3. « S. n « 


20,960. 
18,255 
17,247 
17,750 
19,167 


23,230 
26,064 
24,713 
25,490 
27,316 




tS 



00 o» o 

^ ^ b* 

ti. 00 g 

00 00 00 



»H ©J eo Tt« » 

tj. fc* tj. t«- !>. 

O iH CQ CO -^ 

fc- t* t* t- t- 

00 00 00 00 00 



Qd t^ 00 O) C^ 

t- !>. tj. fc^ op 

10 CO b^ 00 ^ 

!>. t- !>• t- t* 

00 00 00 00 00 



s 



1-1 01 CO "^ 

00 00 00 00 

O iH OQ CO :j 

00 00 00 00 00 

00 00 00 00 00 



CO t« 00 O) o 

00 00 00 00 O) 

10 CO t^ 00 A 

00 00 00 00 00 

00 00 00 00 00 



-it'!- J 

J^ S s ^ 
o . 



Digitized by 



Google 



12 



Sixteen Years at the University of Illinois 



o 



I 

9 

n 






o>^ o^ os^ 



CO lO ^ 

0» 04 GO 

oa "*»< o 



feS 


SSSS9 


CO O 


g 1 2 § ^ 

c»r ^ co" of p" 

t^ 00 00 o» o 



00 CO CO ^ ^ 

CO eo lo oi o 

t^ 04 «d CO Ol 

fc^ of ©r ©r ©r 

© ^ iH iH ©4 



■^ 0> O -^ 00 

i6 CO o 1-1 ^ 



-- OJ lO 
00 lO o 
iH rH CO 



00 O 00 Oft o 
'^ t« A ©4 lO 



k) o M 

9 04 CO 

«l 'x ®i 



I 



s 

o 

§ 



CO «p 

>4 O 00 ^ 

Q £ 00 00 

4^ iH G>^ 0>^ 



04 

WW 00 

0» 00 



o' cd' od" cT i-T CO 

iH CO lO 00 O 04 



I 



o§f 
o d o 



O Q O O 

o o o o 



o o o o o 
O O 9 o o 



*o O lO lO lO lO 
rH 04 ©4 ©1 ©4 ©I 



iH 



^ 



Oft rtS 

^ 1 

S a 
Si 



g 



04 



^ 



S 



•S 




< 






o o o o o 


a 


o q o o o 


11111' 


"C 


»-i 


o 


co" t-^ otT oT cT 


iH rH 1-1 1-1 04 



q q ©I ©] q Q 

o © d fc^ i>^ © © 

© © © 00 00 © © 

oo©o ©aod©© 



g© © © © 

^ G c> G Q 

d © © © © 

© © © © © 



*^ *^ *=^ "^ ^ 
©foo'i-Tof wf'^'^io'io »cr»o^io*«5 lo 



© © © © © 
© © © q © 

d © d d d 
© © © © © 
q^ q^ q^ q^ q^ 
rH* ©f of -^ wT 

04 04 04 ©] 04 



g§g§8 


§ § § g § 


ggggg 


25,000. 
25,000. 
25,000. 
25,000. 
25,000. 


25,000, 
25,000. 
25,000. 
25,000. 
25,000. 


25,000. 
25,000. 
25,000. 
25,000. 
25,000. 



© © 

© © 

d d 

© © 

<=> q 



^gg 



© 

© 
_ © 



§ 



©4 04 



n 



© © © © © © 

q © q © q © 

<6 <6 ^ G S d 

© © © o © © 

q^ q^ q^ ©^ q^ © cp 

to ui to to to tci to 



©o©© ©©©©© ©©©©© ©©io©o ©©©o© 

©q©© o©©©© q©©©© ©ooo»q© ©©©q© 

-'-—'-' "' - - <o <:i G <6 <:i <6 <6 g c^ ^ c^ g dddo© 

«=5© ©©©©© 5>U5«0©© ©©©O© 

~ ~ - — - — ^ ai^ui^c>^^^ ^^c>^^^a>^c>^ 



© © © © 
© © © © 
- ©^ © © 



© © © 
© © © 
^ ^ ^ 
icT icT icT irT icT 



© © © © © 
© © © © © 
q^ q^ q^ q^ q^ 
icT wT icT icT wf 



00 
00 



2 *: 



© » 

© «H 

§-.3 

©4 

n 






o 



11 



o 
a 



lO © Kd © 04 

CO "^ q -^ iH 

icJ "^ d d ©4* 
^O t- lo CO CO eo 
fl "^ o>^ "^ 00, q, 
P -^ cd^ t>r tT eT 

Ix^ ©4 04 04 ©4 04 



rH © »0 "^ CO 

rH «H q q ©^ 

« iH d r-i © 

CO "^ CO CO © 

00 ©4^ co^ q^ ©4^ 

00 CO ^ ^ ^ 

©4 rH ©4 "^ 



00 rH © r« CO 
q "^^ -^ CO ©4 

d w -^ CO* d 

a> ©4 00 ©4 © 

q^ -^ q^ ©4^ © 
i>r ^ ©T -^ CO 

©4 CO CO CO CO 



lO ©4 
~ CO 
04 



^ CO CO » 
CO CO CO CO 



4 qco©400'^ qcoco©4q eococoqq 

i oidiod"^ t^'TjJ-^co©4 q <6 c£ <^ <6 

> r«©IO00iH COCOCOCOCO lOIOlOU^IA 

5^ q,^*'^,'^'^ "^"^"^^^ '^^'^'^^ 

^ 0A ^1 ^vi A.1 A.1 A1 A1 ^1 ^1 A.-1 ro fvt A.1 fla Aa 



CO ©4 ©1 ©4 ©4 

CO CO CO CO CO 



©r©f©f©r©f ©r©r©f©f©f 

cococococo cococococo 



9. 


sgsss 




00 00 00 00 00 



^ t« 00 o> g 
Cft O) 0> Cft rH 

MdCOtAoOA ©iH04CO^ 

Sa>a>o»a) ©©©©© 
0000000000 ©&0)©a> 



iH ©4 CO -^ lO 

© © © © © 



COt^OOO)© i-H©4C0'^lO COb»00^© 

©©©^rH iHiHiHiHrH ^ ^ ^ ^ ^ 

iocoi>oo^ ©^c4co^ lAcotAooe^ 

©©©©© iHiHiHiHiH iHiHiH»HiH 

o>oiO)0)0) 00)0)0)0^ o> o> o> q o> 



'^ o 

35 a 



■s 

•c 



^ 



g 6* 



Digitized by 



Google 



The Income of the University 13 

act of Congress of April 18, 1818, by which the people of 
Illinois Territory were allowed to form a constitution and state 
government, one-half of one per cent of the net proceeds of 
the lands lying within the state, which should be sold by Con- 
gress after January 1, 1819, was to be ** exclusively bestowed 
on a college or university." By the same act it was provided 
*'That thirty-six sections, or one entire township, which shall 
be designated by the President of the United States, together 
with the one heretofore reserved for that purpose, shall be 
reserved for the use of a seminary of learning, and vested 
in the legislature of said State, to be appropriated solely to 
the use of such seminary by the said legislature."* 

The income from the college and seminary funds was an- 
nually borrowed by the state government from 1829 until 1857. 
Sometimes this money was used for the support of the common 
school system, but it appears to have been placed frequently 
in the general fund of the state to obviate a levy of the neces- 
sary taxes for the operation of the state government.* 

When the establishment of the Illinois State Normal Uni- 
versity was authorized in 1857 the interest on the college and 
seminary funds was appropriated to the support of that in- 
stitution. This income has been shared equally with the 
Southern Illinois Normal University since the establishment 
of the latter in 1869.*^ The income of the seminary funds which 
had been borrowed up to 1857 was never returned by the 
state, but the borrowed income of the college fund was re- 
stored by an act passed in 1861.^ 

No part of the proceeds of either the college or the sem- 
inary funds has ever been received by the University of Illinois. 

It is to be noticed that in the case of each of the various 
federal grants made from 1862 on, it was the purpose of the 
general government to require the states to cooperate in the 
maintenance of the work of the institution established as a 



•ni. School Beport, 1881-2, p. cxxiii 

*IU. School Beport, 1881-2, pp. czxziii and cxxxiv 

lU. School Beport, 1881-2, p. cxxxv 

*IU. School Beport, 1881-2, p. cxxxvii 



Digitized by 



Google 



14 Sixteen Tears at the University of Illinois 

result of these grants. This is evident in the first place from 
the fact that the appropriations made by the Federal govern- 
ment to the University were made primarily for the support 
of instruction in agriculture and the mechanic arts and of 
agricultural investigation, although ''other scientific and classi- 
cal studies" were not to be excluded from the curriculum, and 
military tactics was specifically included. If the institution 
in any state was to become a university, offering courses in 
every field of study, the money for the greater part of its 
support must come from the state itself. In the second place, 
a considerable measure of support on the part of the state 
was demanded for carrying on even the work of the agricul- 
tural and the engineering departments, for every bill granting 
federal support for this work included a provision to the 
effect that the state must furnish such facilities as would 
make the work possible. Thus in the original grant of 1862 
not more than 10% of the fund might be used for the pur- 
chase of land for a site or for farms; no part of the fund 
or of the interest on the fund might be used for the purchase, 
erection or repair of buildings. The state, then, must pro- 
vide and maintain the buildings required by the college. In 
the Act of 1887 by which the agricultural experiment sta- 
tions were established it was stipulated that not over 20% 
of the first annual appropriation of $15,000 might be used 
for buildings, and not more than 5% of subsequent appro- 
priations. The Morrill Act of 1890 provided that no part 
of the money then appropriated should be used for buildings — 
directly or indirectly, while the Adams Act of 1906 permitted 
the use of not over 5% of the appropriation for this purpose. 
The Nelson amendment of 1907 and the Smith-Hughes Act 
of 1917 fixed the same limitations as the acts of 1862 and 1890. 
It became necessary, therefore, for the citizens of each state 
to provide a due proportion of the equipment and mainte- 
nance of these institutions. Illinois was slow to accept this 
obligation, but beginning with small annual appropriations 
it has contributed more generously as the years have passed 
until it has made possible the establishment and maintenance 



Digitized by 



Google 



The Indome of iTie University 



15 



of the varions necessary colleges and schools of a true uni- 
versity. 

2, Appropriations hy the State of Illinois 

The various sums which have been appropriated by the 
State to the University of Illinois from the establishment of 
the University to the present time are shown in the following 
table : 



APPEOPEIATIONS OP THE STATE TO THE UNIVEBSITT 



Bienninm 
1869-71 
1871-73 
1873-75 
1876-77 
1877-79 
1879-81 
1881-83 
1883-85 
1885-87 



OP ILLINOIS 
1869-1920 

60,000.00 
130,600.00 
62,060.00 
11,600.00 
69,000.00 
24,600.00 
41,300.00 
54,600.00 
63,500.00 



1887-89 


64,600.00 


1889-91 


68,660.00 


1891-93 


135,200.00 


1893-95 


296,700.00 


1895-97 


427,000.00 


1897-99 


449,164.31 


1899-1901 


494,400.00 


1901-03 


804,330.01 


1903-05 


1,152,400.00 


1905-07 


1,414,635.00 


1907-09 


2,222,790.00 


1909-11 


2,313,600.00 


1911-13 


3^399,300.00 


1913-15 


4,500,000.00 


1915-17 


5,000,000.00 


1917-19 


4,800,000.00 


1919-21 


6,348,000.00 



% 496,850.00 



3,881,344.32 



Total 1869-1921 



23,650,126.00 
28,998,126.00 

$33,376,319.32 



Digitized by 



Google 



16 Sixteen Years at tTie University of Illinois 

The legislature of 1867, which authorized the establishment 
of the University and fixed its site at Urbana, made no appro- 
priation for its support. The legislature of 1869, however, 
made an appropriation of $60,000 to the University, and each 
succeeding legislature has accepted the obligation of con- 
tributing to its maintenance. The appropriations may be 
grouped in three periods : 

For the first eighteen years of the life of the University, 
or until 1885, the appropriations were quite irregular. There 
was no uniformity of increase or of decrease from one bien- 
nium to the next. The sum of all appropriations for this period 
was $496,850 — an average of $55,206 per biennium, or $27,603 
per annum. The sums ranged from $11,500 in 1875 to $130,- 
500 in 1871. 

For the next eighteen years, from 1886 to 1904, the total 
sum appropriated by the State to the University was $3,881,- 
344.32, an average of $431,260 per biennium, or $215,630 per 
annum. There was a steady biennial increase from $54,500, 
appropriated in 1887, to $1,152,400, appropriated in 1903. 

For the next fifteen years, from 1904 to 1919, the total 
sum appropriated by the State of Illinois to the University 
was $28,998,125, an average of $3,624,765.62 per biennium, or 
$1,812,382.81 per annum. There was again a steady biennial 
increase in the appropriations, the sums advancing from 
$1,414,535, appropriated in 1905, to $5,000,000, appropriated in 
1915, falling however to $4,800,000 in 1917. It is noteworthy 
that the sum appropriated in 1913 — $4,500,000 — ^was over 
$120,000 greater than the entire sum of all the appropriations 
made by the State of Illinois to the University during the 
thirty-six years from its foundation in 1867 to 1903 — $4,378,- 
194.32; and that the sums appropriated in 1915 and 1917, 
namely $5,000,000 and $4,800,000, exceeded by $620,000 and 
$420,000 respectively, the sum total of all the appropriations 
made by the State to the University during the first thirty- 
six years of the latter 's existence. 

The increase in the successive appropriations made during 
the past fifteen years is seen in the next table. 



Digitized by 



Google 



Digitized by 



Google 



Digitized by 



Google 



The Income of the University 17 

APPEOPEIATIONS OP THE STATE TO THE UNTVEBSITY 
OP ILLINOIS 

1005-10 

Inerease over 

appropriation 

of preeeding Bate of 

Bienninin Appropriation bienniom Inerease 

1005-07 $1,414,535.00 « 262,135.00 23% 

1007-00 2,222,700.00 808,255.00 57% 

1000-11 2,313,500.00 00,710.00 4% 

1011-13 3,300,300.00 1,085,800.00 47% 

1013-15 4,500,000.00 1,100,700.00 32% 

1015-17 5,000,000.00 500,000.00 11% 

1017-10 4,800,000.00 (-200,000.00) » (4%)» 

1010-21 5,348,000.00 548,000.00 11% 

Average rate of increase over each preceding biennium 24% 

Increase of appropriation of 1017 over that of 1003 316% 

Total appropriations by state 1005-1010 $28,008,125.00 

Total appropriations by state 1860-1003 4,378,104.32 

Excess of appropriations 1005-10 over 1860-1003 24,610,030.68 

The preceding tables do not include certain sums appro- 
priated by the legislature to various organizations connected 
more or less closely with the University, although the funds 
of such organizations were for a time administered by the 
Board of Trustees of the University. 

The State Laboratory of Natural History was removed to 
the campus of the University of Illinois in 1885. Prom that 
time until 1899 the sums appropriated for its work were pay- 
able **upon the order of the president of the Board of Trustees 
of the University of Illinois, attested by its secretary and with 
the corporate seal of the University." During this period the 
following sums were appropriated to the Laboratory : 



^Deereaae 



Digitized by 



Google 



18 Sixteen Tears ai tJie University of Illinois 

APPEOPBIATIONS TO THE STATE LABOEATOEY OP 
NATUEAL mSTOEY 
1885-1899 
Bienniam Appropriation 

1885-1887 $ 18,000.00 

1887-1889 15,100.00 

1889-1891 11,500.00 

1891-1893 12,000.00 

1893-1895 14,100.00 

1895-1897 19,800.00 

1897-1899 22,000.00 



Total $112,500.00 

In like manner the sum of $50,000 appropriated for the 
work of the State Entomologist was administered by the Uni- 
versity for the biennium 1907-1909. 

In 1911 additional duties were assigned by the Gteneral 
Assembly to the State Water Survey, which had been estab- 
lished at the University of Illinois in 1899. The sum of $30,- 
000 was appropriated in 1911 for carrying on the work of 
investigation then proposed. This amount was increased to 
$43,000 in 1913 and to $52,000 in 1915, making a total of $125,- 
000 thus far appropriated for regular and additional work. 
The trustees of the University were charged with the admin- 
istration of these funds, likewise. (To carry on the original 
work of water analysis for which the Survey was created at 
the University, a total of $65,000 was appropriated to the Uni- 
versity itself during the period from 1899 to 1913. This sum 
is included in the table showing the appropriations of the State 
to the University, but the $125,000 thus far appropriated di- 
rectly to the State Water Survey has not been so included.)® 

The Illinois Miners' and Mechanics' Institutes were author- 
ized by the General Assembly in 1911. No appropriation for 
this work was made, however, until 1913, when $15,000 per 
annum was appropriated for the next two years. The Board 
of Trustees of the University was charged with the adminis- 
tration of this fund. 



*Tbe State Water Survey was in 1917 made a dlyiBion of the State 
Department of Begistration and Education by the Fiftieth General 
Assembly 



Digitized by 



Google 



The Income of the University 19 

The federal land-grant act of 1862 provided that if any 
portion of the fund created by that act, or of the interest 
thereon, should be diminished or lost, it must be replaced by 
the state to which it had belonged. Accordingly, upon the 
defalcation of the treasurer of the University in 1897, the State 
assumed the liability for the endowment fund and has since 
paid interest thereon semi-annually at the rate of 5% per 
annum. The appropriation of this interest could properly be 
classed either as a State or a Federal appropriation, but has 
been considered in this chapter as an item of the income from 
the Federal government — the original source of this fund. It 
was therefore not included in the table of state appropriations, 
although two special appropriations, $92,949.38 and $5,000, re- 
spectively, necessitated by the loss of the working income in 
1897 through the defalcation already mentioned, were so in- 
cluded. 

The sums thus far appropriated by the State as interest on 
the endowment fund are as follows :• 

INTEBEST ON OEIGINAL ENDOWMENT FUND— 1897-1917 

1897 $24,250.03 

1899 53,013.51 

1901 49,921.44 

1903 60,149.16 

1905 62,091.16 

1907 63,580.42 

1909 64,661.23 

1911 64,880.36 

1913 64,841.28 

1915 64,901.00 

1917 64,901.32 

1919 64,901.32 



Total $702,092.23 



*The phrase "or as much thereof as may be necessary" is regu- 
larly included in the act by which the appropriation is made. The 
sums actuaUy received by the University have usnaUy been somewhat 
less than those represented by the above figures. 



Digitized by 



Google 



20 Sixteen Years at tTie University of Illinois 

The various purposes for which appropriations have been 

made by the State to the University since the organization 
of the University are indicated in the following table: 

STATE APPBOPEIATIONS TO THE UNIVEBSITY OP ILLINOIS 

1867-1921 

Appropriation Total 

For 1867-1903 1905-1921 1867-1921 

Administrative Offices $ 157,000.00 $ 157,000.00 

Agricultural BuUding $ 162,830.01 162,830.01 

Agriculture 132,500.00 715,800.00 848,300.00 

Animal Husbandry Building.. 80,000.00 80,000.00 

Armory 10,000.00 100,000.00 110,000.00 

Auditorium 100,000.00 100,000.00 

Biological Station 5,500.00 5,500.00 

Buildings 700,000.00 700,000.00 

Buildings and Grounds, Main- 
tenance 79,500.00 423,690.00 503,190.00 

Buildings, Minor 8,500.00 33,000.00 41,500.00 

Cabinets and Collections 28,500.00 20,000.00 48,500.00 

Ceramics 80,000.00 80,000.00 

Ceramics Building 21,000.00 21,000.00 

Chemistry 33,000.00 80,000.00 113,000.00 

Chemistry Laboratory 154,714.93 154,714.93 

Commerce, Instruction in 26,400.00 166,000.00 192,400.00 

Commerce Building 125,000.00 125,000.00 

Crop Experiments 40,000.00 120,000.00 160,000.00 

Dairy Barn 10,000.00 10,000.00 

Dairy Investigations 40,000.00 120,000.00 160,000.00 

Defalcation Fund 92,949.38 92,949.38 

Drains, Fences and Bepairs... 18,000.00 25,000.00 43,000.00 
Electrical Laboratory and Heat- 
ing Plant 51,000.00 51,000.00 

Engineering College and Sta- 
tion 240,000.00 640,000.00 880,000.00 

Engineering HaU 165,000.00 165,000.00 

Equipment 600,000.00 600,000.00 

Farm Lands 31,600.00 31,600.00 

Feeding Experiments (See Live 
Stock Investigations) 

Fire Protection 11,000.00 12,000.00 23,000.00 

Floriculture 47,000.00 47,000.00 

General and Contingent Ex- 
penses 950,000.00 950,000.00 



Digitized by 



Google 



The Income of the Uwiversity 21 

Appropriation Total 

For 1867-1903 1905-1921 1867-1921 

General Departments 230,000.00 230,000.00 

Graduate School 300,000.00 300,000.00 

Giasahouae, rebuilt 30,000.00 30,000.00 

Gymnasiam, Men's 3,000.00 13,000.00 16,000.00 

Gymnasinm, Wood Shop, etc... 91,000.00 91,000.00 

Heating Plant 20,500.00 115,035.00 135,535.00 

Horticulture 63,500.00 120,000.00 183,500.00 

Household Science 30,000.00 30,000.00 

Instructional Work 2,563,000.00 2,563,000.00 

Laboratories, General 41,600.00 26,000.00 67,600.00 

Land (City Lots) 8,500.00 15,000.00 23,500.00 

Land, Buildings and Equip- 
ment 2,500,000.00 2,500,000.00 

Law Building and Stacks 10,500.00 25,000.00 35,500.00 

Law, CoUege of 123,000.00 123,000.00 

Legal Proceedings 5,000.00 5,000.00 

Library and Apparatus 129,800.00 175,000.00 304,800.00 

Library Building 160,000.00 160,000.00 

Lincoln Hall 250,000.00 250,000.00 

Live Stock Investigations 82,000.00 200,000.00 282,000.00 

Live Stock Specimens 22,500.00 22,500.00 

Maintenance and Operation... 1,815,400.00 7,000,000.00 8,815,400.00 

Military Barns 25,000.00 25,000.00 

Mining Building 25,000.00 25,000.00 

Mining Engineering 4,000.00 45,000.00 49,000.00 

Mines Investigation 10,000.00 10,000.00 

Music, School of 10,000.00 18,000.00 28,000.00 

Natural History Hall 76,000.00 150,000.00 226,000.00 

Observatory 15,000.00 15,000.00 

Office Expenses, Departmental.. 250,000.00 250,000.00 

Operating 600,000.00 600,000.00 

Operating Supplies and Ex- 
penses 175,000.00 175y000.00 

Pavements and Walks 37,300.00 13,000.00 50,300.00 

Pharmacy, School of 50,000.00 50,000.00 

Physical Plant 450,000.00 450,000.00 

Physics 6,000.00 6,000.00 

Physics Building 250,000.00 250,000.00 

Printing Office, Equipment.... 500.00 500.00 

Bepairs 200,000.00 200,000.00 

Besearch and Scientific Depts.. 200,000.00 200,000.00 

Salaries and Wages 6,250^000.00 6,250,000.00 

School Supplies 865,000.00 865,000.00 

Shop Practise 51,000.00 42,000.00 93,000.01 

Shops and Drill Hall 26,250.00 26,250.00 



Digitized by 



Google 



22 Sixteen Years at the University of lUinois 

Appropriation Total 

For 1867-1903 1905-1921 1867-1921 
Social and Political Science 
(See Commerce, Instraction 
in) 

Soil Investigations 70,000.00 350,000.00 420,000.00 

Sou Maps 50,000.00 60,000.00 

Sugar Beet Investigations.... 6,000.00 6,000.00 
Taxes on Nebraska and Minne- 
sota Lands 63,100.00 63,100.00 

Teachers (additional) and In- 
straction at Institute 24,000.00 24,000.00 48,000.00 

Telephone Exchange 3,000.00 7,500.00 10,500.00 

Engineering ( Transporta t i o n ) 

Building and Grounds 200,000.00 200,000.00 

Traveling Expenses 100,000.00 100,000.00 

University Hall 121,050.00 121,050.00 

Vaccine Laboratory 12,800.00 12,800.00 

Veterinary Biological Lab. Oper- 

tion 23,000.00 23,000.00 

Veterinary Science 2,000.00 30,000.00 32,000.00 

Water Station 20,000.00 16,000.00 36,000.00 

Water Survey 20,000.00 45,000.00 65,000.00 

Woman 's Building 80,000.00 140,000.00 220,000.00 



TOTAL $4,378,194.32 $29,448,125.00 $33,826,319.32 

The appropriations by the State to the University from 
1905 to 1920 are given in detail in the seven tables which 
follow : 

STATE APPBOPBIATIONS FOB 1905-07 

Purpose Amount 

Agricultural College $ 100,000.00 

Auditorium 100,000.00 

Cabinets and Collections 4,000.00 

Ceramics 10,000.00 

Chemistry 20,000.00 

Commerce, Instruction in 16,000.00 

Crop Experiments 30,000.00 

Dairy Investigation 30,000.00 

Drains, Fences and Bepairs 10,000.00 

Engineering College and Station 150,000.00 

Fire Protection 3,000.00 

Heating Plant 35.00 



Digitized by 



Google 



The Income of the University 23 

Purpose Amount 

Horticulture 80,000.00 

Laboratories ((General) 6,000.00 

Law, College of 10,000.00 

Library 25,000.00 

Live Stoek Investigation 50,000.00 

Music, School of 6,000.00 

Operating Expense 700,000.00 

Shop Practise 10,000.00 

Soil Investigation 50,000.00 

Teachers (additional) and Instruction at Institutes 12,000.00 

Telephone Exchange 1,500.00 

Water Station 3,000.00 

Water Survey 8,000.00 

Woman's Building 15,000.00 

Purchase of City Lots 15,000.00 

Total $1,414,635.00 

STATE APPBOPBIATIONS FOB 1907-09 

Purpose Amount 

Agricultural College $ 100,000.00 

Buildings and Grounds 28,690.00 

Cabinets and Collections 4,000.00 

Ceramics 15,000.00 

Chemistry 20,000.00 

Commerce, Instruction in 50,000.00 

Crop Experiments 30,000.00 

Dairy Investigation 80,000.00 

Drains, Fences and Repairs 10,000.00 

Engineering College and Station 150,000.00 

Farm Land 11,600.00 

Fire Protection 3,000.00 

Floriculture 15,000.00 

Graduate School 100,000.00 

Heating Plant 35,000.00 

Horticulture 30,000.00 

Household Science 20,000.00 

Laboratories (General) 6,000.00 

Law, CoUege of 30,000.00 

Library 50,000,00 

Live Stock Investigation 50,000.00 

Music, School of 6,000.00 

Natural History BuUding (addition) 150,000.00 

Operating Expense ^ 900,000.00 



Digitized by 



Google 



24 Sixteen Tears at the University of Illinois 

Purpose Amount 

Pharmacy, Sehool of 10,000.00 

PhywcB HaU 250,000.00 

Shop Practise 10,000.00 

Soil Investigation 50,000.00 

Teachers (additional) and Instruction at Institutes 12,000.00 

Veterinary Science 30,000.00 

Telephone Exchange 1,500.00 

Water Station 3,000.00 

Water Survey 12,000.00 

Total $2,222,790.00 

STATE APPROPRIATIONS FOR 1909-11 

Purpose Amount 

Agricultural College t 100,000.00 

Buildings and Grounds 35,000.00 

Cabinets and Collections 4,000.00 

Ceramics 26,000.00 

Chemistry 20,000.00 

Crop Experiments 30,000.00 

Dairy Investigation 30,000.00 

Drains, Fences and Repairs 5,000.00 

Engineering College and Station 160,000.00 

Fire Protection 3,000.00 

Floriculture 16,000.00 

Graduate School 100,000.00 

Gymnasium 8,000.00 

Heating and yghting Plant 50,000.00 

Horticulture 30,000.00 

Household Science 5,000.00 

Laboratories, General 6,000.00 

Law, CoUege of 33,000.00 

Law Library Stacks 10,000.00 

Library 50,000.00 

Lincoln Hall 250,000.00 

Mining Engineering 15,000.00 

Music, School of 6,000.00 

Operating Expense 1,050,000.00 

Pavements and Walks 5,000.00 

Pharmacy, School of 20,000.00 

Shop Practise 10,000.00 

Social and PoUtical Science 50,000.00 

Soil Investigation 120,000.00 

Stock Investigation 50,000.00 



Digitized by 



Google 



The Income of the University 25 

PorpoBe Amount 

Telephone Exchange 1,500.00 

Water Station 6,000.00 

Water Survey 10,000.00 

Total $2,313,500.00 

STATE APPEOPBIATIONS FOE 1911-13 

Purpose Amount 

Agricultural College $ 415,800.00 

Agronomy Greenhouse 9,000.00 

Animal Husbandry Building 80,000.00 

Armory 100,000.00 

Buildings and Grounds 50,000.00 

Cabinets 8,000.00 

Ceramics 30,000.00 

Ceramics Building 21,000.00 

Chemistry 20,000.00 

Clinic Building 5,000.00 

Cold Storage 9,000,00 

Commerce Building 125,000.00 

Crop Experiments 30,000.00 

Dairy Barn 10,000.00 

Dairy Investigations 30,000.00 

Engineering Building and Grounds 200,000.00 

Engineering College and Station 180,000.00 

Farm Mechanics Building 8,000.00 

Fire Protection 3,000.00 

Floriculture 16,000.00 

Glass House 30,000.00 

Graduate School 100,000.00 

Gymnasium 5,000.00 

Heating and Lighting Plant 30,000.00 

Horticulture 30,000.00 

Household Science 5,000.00 

Laboratories, General 8,000.00 

Law Building 15,000.00 

Law, College of 50,000.00 

Library 50,000.00 

Live Stock Specimens 22,500.00 

Mining Building (additional equipment) 25,000.00 

Mining Engineering 30,000.00 

Mines Investigation 10,000.00 

Operating Expenses 1,150,000.00 

Pavements and Walks 8,000.00 

Pharmacy, School of 20,000.00 



Digitized by 



Google 



26 Sixteen Tears at the University of lUinois 

Purpose Amount 

Porehase of Farm Lands 20,000.00 

Sheep Building 2,000.00 

Shop Practise 12,000.00 

Social and Political Science 50,000.00 

Soil Investigations 130,000.00 

Boil Maps 50,000.00 

Btock Investigations 50,000.00 

Telephone Exchange 3,000.00 

T'^ater Station 4,000.00 

Water Survey 15,000.00 

Woman's Building, Addition 125,000.00 

Total $3,399,300.00 

STATE APPBOPBIATIONS FOB 1913-15 
Purpose Amount 

Ifaintenance, Equipment and (General Operating Expenses. .$3,200,000.00 
XAnd, Buildings and Equipment 1,300,000.00 

Total . . . . ; $4,500,000.00 

STATE APPBOPBIATIONS FOB 1915-17 

Purpose Amount 

Land, Buildings and Equipment t 900,000.00 

Expenses of Administrative Offices 157,000.00 

Expenses of General Departments 230,000.00 

Expense of Instructional Work 2,563,000.00 

Expense of Besearch and Scientific Departments 200,000.00 

Maintenance and Operation of Physical Plant 450,000.00 

Oeneral and Contingent Fund 500,000.00 



Total $5,000,000.00 

STATE APPBOPBIATIONS FOB 1917-19 

Purpose Amount 

Salaries and Wages $2,950,000.00 

Departmental Office Expenses 100,000.00 

Traveling Expenses 50,000.00 

Operating Supplies and Expenses 125,000.00 

School Supplies 415,000.00 

Bepairs on Buildings, Grounds and Equipment 110,000.00 

Equipment 300,000.00 

Buildings 500,000.00 

Beserve and Contingencies 250,000.00 



Total $4,800,000.00 



Digitized by 



Google 



The Income of the University 27 

STATE APPEOPBIATIONS FOB 1919-21 

A. From BecdpU from the 
University MUl Tax 

1. Salaries and Wages $3,300,000.00 

2. OfBoe Expense 150,000.00 

3. Traveling Expense 60,000.00 

4. Operating 600,000.00 

5. Bepairs 200,000.00 

6. Equipment 300,000.00 

7. Buildings 200,000.00 

8. Contingent 200,000.00 

Total MiU Tax $5,000/)00.00 

B. From (General Bevenue of the State 

1. Land and Buildings t 300,000.00 

2. Veterinary Biological Laboratory Operation 23,000.00 

3. Military Bams 25,000.00 

Total Appropriations $5,348,000.00 

It should be noted that the appropriations for 1913-15, for 
1915-17, for 1917-19, and for 1919-21, totaling $4,500,000, 
$5,000^00, $4,800,000, and $5,348,000 respectively, represented 
the estimated proceeds of the one-mill tax for the University 
first collected in 1912. 

The progress of a State University is to be judged not 
so much by the size of the appropriations made to it by suc- 
cessive legislatures as by the manner in which such appropria- 
tions are utilized. Nevertheless a steady increase in the bien- 
nial appropriations, obtained as these are from groups of men 
the personnel of which is constantly changing, affords reason- 
ably certain evidence that the University has won the confi- 
dence of the greater number of the citizens of the State, that 
it is developing in accordance with their desires, and that it 
is meeting the various obligations which in increasing numbers 
are being laid upon it year after year. The voting by the 
legislature of 1911 of an annual mill tax for the support of 
the University of Illinois is a further unmistakable expression 
of this confidence. The act in full is as follows : 

AN ACT to Provide by State Tax for a Fund for the Sup- 
port and Maintenance of the University of Illinois. 



Digitized by 



Google 



28 Sixteen Years at the University of Illinois 

Section 1. Be it enacted by the People of the State of 
Illinois represented in the General Assembly : That there shall 
be levied and collected for the year 1912 and annually there- 
after at the same time and in the same manner that State 
taxes are collected, a one mill tax for each dollar of the 
assessed valuation of the taxable property of this State to 
be paid into the treasury of the State and set apart as a fund 
for the use and maintenance of the University of Illinois. 

Section 2. Such fund when so collected, paid in and set 
apart, shall remain in the treasury of the State until appro- 
priated to the use of the said University of Illinois by act of 
the General Assembly in accordance with section 18, article 4, 
of the Constitution of this State. 

Approved June 10, 1911.i« 

The passage of this Act makes it possible for the author- 
ities of the University to adopt and carry out a definite admin- 
istrative and educational policy. It has, however, become evi- 
dent that with the rapid growth of the University and with 
the increasing demands made upon it, the mill tax will not 
alone yield a sufficient sum to provide both for the ordinary 
operating expenses and for the erection of the buildings now 
urgently needed by the several colleges of the University. 

The lower estimate of the receipts from this tax and the 
consequently lower appropriation for the biennium 1917-19 
was due mainly to the fact that the equalized assessment of 
all taxable property in Illinois for the year 1916 was arbitrarily 
reduced to $2,502,086,976, a sum $54,571,224 less than the cor- 
responding amount for W15. This was a decrease of over 
two per cent, whereas for the preceding six years there had 
been an average increase of nearly three per cent. Because of 
this reduction and in view of the fact that for the biennium 
1915-17 the receipts from the mill tax had fallen below the 
$5,000,000 appropriated in 1915 for that period, the Board 
of Trustees of the University asked of the legislature for the 
biennium 1917-19 a sum from the mill tax $200,000 less than 
the amount appropriated for the preceding biennium. An 
additional sum of $2,000,000 for the biennium 1917-J9, re- 

>*l.aw8 of lUinois 1911, pp. 484-5 



Digitized by 



Google 



TTie Income of the University 29 

quired for the inauguration of a comprehensive building plan 
for the next ten yeai:s, was not granted by the legislature. 

3. Total Income of (he University 

The total receipts of the University from all sources for 
each year from 1904 to 1917 are shown in the following table. 
It should be noted that in this table the sums received from 
the State of Illinois represent not only all sums appropriated 
directly to the University for University purposes, but also 
all other funds with the administration of which the Trustees 
of the University were charged. 

It will be observed that the income of the University and 
related departments from each of the various sources — United 
States Government, State of Illinois, and fees, sales, etc., — 
showed a marked increase during the sixteen years irom 1904 
to 1920. The income proper of the University exceeded $1,000,- 
000 for the first time in the year 1905-06. Six years later it 
went beyond $2,000,000 and for the years 1915-16, and following 
it has exceeded $3,000,000. The total available income for 
1903-04, the year immediately preceding this period, was $956,- 
472.80. The total sum available for 1919-20, including the bal- 
ance at the beginning of the year, was $3,967,848.20, an increase 
of $3,011,375.40 over the income for 1903-04, or about 314 per 
cent. 

QlFTS TO THE UNIVERSITY 

The University has, at various times, been the recipient 
of important gifts. These have consisted of land, buildings, 
scientific collections, libraries, machinery, miscellaneous items, 
and sums of money. Usually any money received has been 
given for a definite purpose designated by the donor, such as 
a fellowship, a scholarship, a loan fund, a prize, or books of 
a special character. 

The first gifts to the University were made in 1867 in order 
to secure its location in Champaign County. At that time 
the county, through a committee of its board of supervisors, 
offered the Urbana and Champaign Institute buildings and 
grounds, about 970 acres of farm land, one hundred thousand 
dollars in Champaign County ten per cent bonds, fifty thousand 



Digitized by 



Google 



30 



Sixteen Tears at t\e University of Illinois 



5 3* 

GD I © 
<-» T o 



S< 






' ^" ' «0 CO 

CO «>^ 
«o o oT of -^ 
t« t« CO t« a 

b ^ H H *^ ^ 

^ fH" »-r fH* f-T »-r 



oqoi090ieooieococoeoeo 



00 
CO 



00^ 
04 

o 



s 



^ ® 



ot^t^ooqoioo 
.2 S w » iH !>: 

« s s g s g 



»COMO$0«>IOf-Jt«0 

ioi>a>'^coojadddi>oj 

o»ioaeoAoot«fH«DO 

0»00fHOS00t«CD0)rH 



iS. '3S*«u»HfHCO«5oO'^»Ot*0005©ieOrH-^ 
^ 5^S0«*H05fHC0IO'^0««0i 1HOICOCO04 



iz; 
Q 



d o 



OAOiHfHCDOO^HlaOCOCOOOOOO 

i>oioiq»oe9<^<^oieoQi5fHa^rHrH 
-' - - " 00 oi d fH CO "^ 05 lo 00 ■ -■ —• 



'3 2 S ooort>ooc«forcr©rcrcrooe(f-^ 

"5 gp* oo»H^o^»«oo3»t>^ooo 
H o i-T fH* fH fH i-T i-T of f-T oi" o?" CO 



Q »H* of eo" 

^ 00 iH ©J 

oi^ o^ co^ fc«^ 

CO CO CO CO 



to 

1 



CO 

00 



B i 



O-^OOttvHOqOOOvH'^A'^COOqAO 

'^oqc^ooiHcocoottp^c^coeoiHo 

t^«pO>t>COI>©JOid»Hd©5'^C>«?fH 

■^©«oco»ooiooofHO|^eo^t*^o<oc<i^«>^ 
oT'^d lo •^o^'iooToTr' S oT-^oI «> 



CO CO CO CO CO CO 



t« o» -^ A -^ ^ 
CO CO ^ ^ 2 t« 



s 



d lo 

© g 

«b 05* 



§IO O 00 
. » O lO 



s 



oooooooo 
oooooooo 

s ^ s § § § § § s g a s s § 

^»«'Kro'co"s5S 

— o CO 

CO^ 00^ 

i-ri-ri-riH'»H*»-r«ro5'o«*©roi*ofl*«r 



^ a «o 05* of «o lo » i> Q oo" 50 » "^ o co" 

da O9O>0qQCDrHO)^CO0Qa0Mt«C0 

g" iot*«005«oooiooi<>i"5'weo 
g ^ T' - - r' •» -^ ^, ^, ^-^ ^- ^ -^ 

m o 



g 



i 



® s 

I § 

® ,2 



«OIOOQ050'^00<OCO:S^'^»0:*J5 

050<o<ooq'^<oc«^iq050iq<oo'^*^ 
doiddd-^fc^oidEOSoi-^oiSIS 

Ot*Q»H00fH^0O»-l22e0C000»2S 

c»feo*'^«rc(rd*t>*ofof2 S otTd'oo'S S 

t*t*OOaOO»OOfHiH^£2'^^«SJS 



iSO ♦ 



01 
09 






^2" 



•^ o _ _ 

^^g ^ \a to t^ <x> d^ 

9 So»SSo>o>aiddkA^biaiak^a 

H^ iH»H»H»HiHfH»H»H»H»HiHr-liH»H»HfH 



iO(Ot«aoAO«Hoqco^^cDt«aoAo 

OpOOOiHiH»HiH»HiH,-|iHfH*H0jl 
fHMCO'^l&Ot^OOO) 



g 



Digitized by 



Google 



The Income of the University 31 

dollars worth of freight donated by the Illinois Central Rail- 
road Company, and two thousand dollars worth of trees and 
shrubs from the nursery of M. L. Dunlap of Savoy. The total 
value of these gifts has been variously estimated at from 
$325,000 to $450,000. The former figure is probably more 
nearly correct.^ ^ 

At the third meeting of the Board of Trustees of the Uni- 
versity, held in November, 1867, the committee on the agricul- 
tural department reported as follows: 

''The committee are of the opinion that upon proper appli- 
cation to the manufacturers of agricultural implements, one 
at least of each kind may be secured to the Institution free 
of charge. It will be manifestly to the interest of manufac- 
turers to send their machines of different kinds here to be 
tested, as an indorsement by the officers of the Institution 
would be highly beneficial to the manufacturers, in making^ 
sales. The committee recommend the passage of the follow- 
ing resolution: 

"Resolved, That Thomas Quick be instructed to correspond 
with the various manufacturers of agricultural implements,, 
inviting them to donate to the University one at least of the 
various implements or machines, to be tested and used by the 
Institution, or placed in an exhibition hall, as the Board may 
elect, to form a permanent museum of agricultural imple- 
ments. *'i« 

At the next meeting of the Board Mr. Quick reported that 
machinery valued at approximately $400 had been promised 
the University by various donors and two-thirds of it. had 
already been received.^* Several of the leading manufacturers 
had indicated also their willingness to furnish any of the more 
expensive implements manufactured by them to the University 
at half price. 

Numerous donations of the same character have been made 
to the University during the subsequent years of its existence. 
Nor has the College of Agriculture been the only department 

"The value of the Tarions tracts of land acquired by the University 
is given in detail in Chapter n. 
*«Eept., Univ. of HL, 1868, p. 96 
**Ibid, pp. 109-110 



Digitized by 



Google 



32 Sixteen Tears at the University of lUinois 

benefited in this manner. Several of the most important of 
the recent gifts of machinery to the University have been re- 
ceived by the College of Engineering. Among these may be 
mentioned a set of four axles and four pairs of supporting 
wheels valued at $2,700 for the new Locomotive Testing La- 
boratory, given in 1912 by the Midvale Steel Company of 
Philadelphia;** an automatic controller for electric motors, by 
the Electric Controller and Manufacturing Co. of Cleveland, 
Ohio;*^ and a six-hundred horse power vertical triple-expan- 
sion engine for the Engineering Museum, donated in 1915 by 
the Commonwealth Edison Co. of Chicago.*® 

The B. T. Crane Company of Chicago presented to the 
department of mechanical engineering in 1916 a complete ex- 
hibit of sectional valves, steam taps, etc., the value of which 
was estimated at $500. The Babcock and Wilcox Company of 
Bayonne, New Jersey, presented to the same department in 
1916 a test drill for experimental purposes, of an estimated 
value of $150.17 

Books, singly and in the form of entire libraries, have been 
donated to the University at frequent intervals. Among the 
most important gifts of this character are the following: The 
Palmer Chemistry Library of about 360 volumes and 450 
pamphlets, the library of the late Professor Arthur "William 
Palmer of the University, was presented to the University in 
1904 by Mrs. Anna Shattuck Palmer. The Karsten Collection, 
principally of French and German Philology and Literature, 
the library of the late Professor Qustaf E. Karsten of the 
University, was presented by Mrs. Eleanor G. Karsten in 1908. 
The B'nai B'rith Library of Jewish Literature was established 
in 1912 in consequence of a gift of $500 for this purpose by 
District Number 6 of the Independent Order of B'nai B'rith, 
and is supported by a gift of fifty dollars annually from the 
same source. The D. C. Greene Collection, consisting of 219 
volumes of books and newspapers relating to Japan, a part 
of the library of Rev. D. C. Greene, of Japan, was presented to 



**Bept., Univ. of lU., 1914, p. 146 
"Bept., Univ. of DL, 1914, p. 175 
^•Bept., Univ. of DL, 1916, p. 879 
*1bid., p. 939 



Digitized by 



Google 



Digitized by 



Google 



Digitized by 



Google 



The Income of the University 33 

the University in 1915 by his son, Professor Evarts B. Greene. 
The Constance Barlow-Smith Collection, consisting of musical 
scores, manuscripts, books and portraits, was presented to the 
University by Mrs. Smith in 1916 upon her retirement from 
the assistant professorship of sight singing and ear training 
after thirteen years' teaching in the School of Music of the 
University. The Carl Martin James Collection, 1030 volumes 
relating to statistics and similar subjects, and the Amanda K. 
Casad Collection, 1732 volumes relating to history, economics, 
politics, and education, were presented to the University in 1915 
and 1916, respectively, by President Edmund J. James. In 
1919, Mr. Samuel Insull presented to the University a collection 
of U. S. (Jovemment reports, nearly complete. 

The Quine Library of the College of Medicine had its be- 
ginning in a collection of books presented to the College in 
1892 by Mrs. A. Reeves Jackson after the death of Doctor 
Jackson, the first president of the College of Physicians and 
Surgeons. Soon afterward Dr. William E. Quine gave a thou- 
sand volumes to the library and for a considerable period made 
an annual donation of $300 for its maintenance. 

An important series of gifts to the University is repre- 
sented by twenty-seven tracts of land in various portions of 
the State, which have been donated for use as experiment fields. 
These have a total area of over 500 acres and a total estimated 
value of from $75,000 to $100,000.18 

In February, 1917, the Trustees of the University were noti- 
fied by the executors of the estate of the late Alfred B. Jenkins 
of "West Orange, New Jersey, that the University of Illinois 
was one of twelve institutions named in Mr. Jenkins' will as 
residuary legatees of his estate. The principal of the gift when 
received is to be held as a part of the endowment fund of 
the University and to be known as the *' Alfred B. Jenkins 
Endowment. "i» 

The largest individual gift in the history of the University 
was received in 1914 when Captain Thomas J. Smith of Cham- 
paign, a former trustee, donated four farms having a total area 



"Details regarding these fields are g^ven in Chap, n 
"Min., Bd. of Trustees, Univ. of 111., 1916-18, p. 240 



Digitized by 



Google 



34 Sixteen Years at the University of Illinois 

of about 770 acres and a total value of approximately $215,000, 
to provide funds for the erection of a building for the School 
of Music as a memorial to his wife, Tina Weedon Smith.^ 

Another noteworthy gift to the University was the pre- 
sentation in 1913, by the Alumni of the College of Medicine 
and other friends of medical education, of the property of 
the College of Physicians and Surgeons of Chicago. This gift 
comprised the entire capital stock of the corporation, 2170 
shares, having a par value of $100 a share. The value of the 
real estate, library, apparatus, equipment and other personal 
property which had belonged to the corporation and which 
thus became the property of the University has been variously 
estimated at from $300,000 to $400,000.21 This was, however, 
subject to an indebtedness of $245,000, which was not assumed 
by the University.22 

Still another very important gift was made in January, 
1917, by Honorable WiUiam B. McKinley of Champaign, who 
offered to transfer to the University securities of the par value 
of $120,000 to provide funds for the erection of an infirmary 
for students and faculty. The Board of Trustees accepted the 
gift and voted to give the name ''McKinley Hospital" to the 
infirmary to be erected.^^ This was in addition to Mr. Mc- 
Kinley 's gifts to the University Y. M. C. A. and Y. W. C. A., 
which were really for the use and benefit of students of the 
University of Illinois. 

A considerable number of gifts have been made to the 
University in the form of materials for the museums and 
collections. 

The first important gift of this character was made in 1874 
as a result of the labors of the Regent, Dr. J. M. Gregory, in 
soliciting funds among the residents of Urbana and Champaign 
for the purpose of establishing an art collection. About $2,000 
was subscribed and the Art Museum established in University 
Hall during the same year. 



"Turther details regarding this gift wiU be found in Chapter n 
«Cf. Eept., Univ. of HI., 1912, pp. 469-470; 1914, p. 189 
Tor a f uU statement of this transfer see Chapter IX 
*Min., Bd. of Trustees, Univ. of HI., 1916-18, p. 194 



Digitized by 



Google 



The Income of the University 35 

A bust of Professor Edward Snyder in marble, the work 
of Mr. Lorado Taft of the class of 1879, was presented to 
the University by Mr. Taft in 1915. 

A considerable part of the paleontology collection is made 
up of specimens donated to the University. In 1876 Mr. Emory 
Cobb, a trustee, purchased and presented to the University the 
full series of casts of fossils made by Professor H. A. Ward 
of Rochester, N. Y. This collection, valued at $2,500, repre- 
sented the rarest and most valuable fossils of the British 
Museum, and of other great European collections, as well as 
those of the leading collections in America. The private col- 
lection of fossils made by Mr. Tyler McWhorter and valued 
at approximately $1,000 was presented to the University by 
Mr. McWhorter in 1888. In 1913 a collection of marine and 
fresh water shells comprising about 3,000 specimens collected 
by the late A. H. Worthen was given to the University by Mrs. 
Thomas A. Worthen. 

Many objects from the finds of the Egypt Exploration fund 
have been donated to the Museum of Classical Archeology and 
Art by Mr. W. G. Hibbard, Jr., of Chicago, at various intervals 
since 1911. These include about 117 pieces of pottery and terra 
cottas and about 195 other objects of stone, metal, wood, bone 
and leather. Professor W. N. Stearns of Fargo College, North 
Dakota, has also donated to this museum about twenty-eight 
pieces of pottery and fragmentary inscribed ostraka from 
Egypt. 

Mr. Hibbard was the donor also, in 1916, of a collection 
of 300 valuable coins of various countries. Of these, forty, 
of ancient Greek and Roman coinage, have been placed in 
the Classical Museum, and the others in the Museum of Eu- 
ropean Culture. 

A collection of birds' eggs was given to the University in 
1913 by Messrs. M. K. and M. H. Barnum. A large part of 
this material was collected in the Southwestern States years 
ago before the inroads of civilization had altered the country 
and its native fauna. Species to the number of 248 are repre- 
sented by 1,483 specimens. 

An excellent collection of corals was presented to the Uni- 
versity in 1915 by the Peabody Academy of Science of Salem, 



Digitized by 



Google 



36 Sixteen Years at the University of Illinois 

Massachusetts. The collection comprises 23 specimens of 22 
species, from Florida, the Hawaiian Islands, East India and 
Africa. 

The entomology collections of the University were enlarged 
in 1897 by the acquisition of the Bolter collection, which was 
donated to the University by the executors of the estate of the 
late Andreas Bolter of Chicago. About 120,000 specimens are 
included, representing over 16,000 species, chiefly from North 
America. 

In 1912 the department of botany was the recipient of a 
gift of the personal herbarium of Mrs. Agnes Chase of Wash- 
ington, D. C. This collection represents chiefly the flora of 
Illinois, but also that of the Eastern and Southeastern states. 
There are about 10,000 specimens in the collection, which has 
a value of from $1,500 to $2,000. 

Another recent gift to the same department was a set of 
the Phycotheca Boreali-Americana, donated by Mrs. Mary S. 
Snyder in 1914. This collection includes about nine-tenths of 
all the marine algae found on the coasts of the United States. 
Over 2,000 species are represented. 

In 1916, the Herbarium was greatly enriched by the Stevens 
Collection of Porto Bican Fungi, 14,000 numbers presented by 
Professor F. L. Stevens. 

In 1915 a valuable collection consisting of 226 microscope 
slides was presented to the University by B. Halsted Ward, 
M. D., of Troy, New York. The slides represent a great 
variety of objects in the fields of botany, mineralogy, zoology, 
embryology and histology, prepared by experts of this country 
and abroad. 

A large collection of the materials of commerce was pre- 
sented to the University in 1905 by the Philadelphia Commer- 
cial Museum. The collection includes minerals, dyes, drugs, 
grasses, roots, woods, nuts, seeds, etc. Several private manu- 
facturing and mercantile establishments have contributed ma- 
terials of the same general character. 

Of the various gifts to the University several of the most 
important have been for the purpose of establishing funds from 
which loans might be made to worthy students. 



Digitized by 



Google 



The Income of tJie University 37 

A fund of $100 was established by the class of 1895, only 
$50 of which was to be lent in any one year. The benefit of 
this fund is open only to students who at the time of their ap- 
plication are members of the freshman class. 

The Edward Snyder Loan Fund was established in 1899 
by the gift of $12,000 to the University by Edward Snyder, 
formerly professor of the Gterman Language and Literature. 
Juniors, seniors and graduate students are eligible to share 
in the benefits of this fund. 

A fund of $75 for the benefit of graduate students was estab- 
lished in 1907-08 by the members of the Graduate Club of the 
University. 

In 1911 the sum of $409.44 was given by the Woman's 
League of the University of Illinois as a trust fund to be known 
as the Woman's League Loan Fund, to be available to any 
woman properly matriculated in the University, on certain con- 
ditions stipulated in the deed of gift. 

In 1912 Honorable William B. McKinley of Champaign, Illi- 
nois, established a loan fund for undergraduate men by trans- 
ferring to the University notes aggregating about $12,000 
which represented personal loans made by himself to students 
in previous years. It was stipulated that a preference should 
be shown to upper classmen in making loans from this fund. 

In 1912 Mr. Henry Strong of Chicago provided in his will 
for the establishment of an educational fund for the help 
of self-supporting students of ability and enterprise. An allot- 
ment of this fund to certain state universities is made annually 
by the trustees of the fund. Since 1912-13 the University of 
Illinois has received an allotment each year, amounting to 
$500 for each of the first four years and $250 for the year 
1916-17. These sums are lent to students in accordance with 
certain regulations approved by the trustees of the fund. 

In December, 1914, the sum of $5,000 was donated as the 
nucleus of a loan fund for students of high character, intel- 
lectual capacity and physical vigor, who have completed not 
less than two full years of work in the University. The loans 
from this fund, which is known as the Margaret Lange James 
Student Loan Fund, are made preferably to women students. 
Subsequent donations — among them a gift of $500 by Mr. 



Digitized by 



Google 



38 Sixteen Years at the University of Illinois 

Homer A. StiUwell of Chicago — ^have increased the fund to 
about $5,630. 

A loan fund for the benefit of women students in the School 
of Pharmacy was established in May, 1917, by the Women's 
Organization of the Chicago Betail Druggists Association. The 
initial sum constituting the principal of the fund was $115.^* 

Several donations to the University have been in the form 
either of annual prizes offered to the student body or of a 
sum of money, the income from which was to be offered each 
year as a prize. 

Captain W. C. Hazelton provided a medal in 1890 which 
is awarded annually, at a competitive drill held in May, to 
the best drilled student. The winner may wear the medal 
until the fifteenth day of the following May, when he must 
return it for the next competition. 

In 1898 Mr. William Jennings Bryan gave to the University 
the sum of $250, from the interest on which a prize of $25 
is offered biennially for the best essay on the science of gov- 
ernment. 

The Champaign and Urbana lodge of the Independent Order 
of B*nai B'rith has donated to the University the sum of $50 
annually since 1912 to be awarded in prizes to students in 
the University for essays on Jewish subjects. 

Since 1913 the American Law Book Company of New York 
and Callaghan and Company of Chicago have each offered 
an annual prize of certain of their publications to students 
making the highest averages in the senior and second year 
classes respectively in the College of Law. 

The local chapter of Phi Beta Eappa offers annually a prize 
of $25 to that member of the chapter who at his graduation 
from the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences gives evidence 
of the greatest promise as a scholar in the domain of liberal 
arts. 

In 1913 Mr. Joseph C. Llewellyn of Chicago, a graduate 
of the University of the class of 1877, established for a period 
of four years a prize of $50 per annum for a problem in de- 
sign, the competition being limited to students in architectural 
engineering. 

••Min., Bd. of Trustees, Univ. of lU., 1916-18, p. 297 



Digitized by 



Google 



The Income of the University 39 

For two years, 1912-13 and 1913-14, the Northwestern Terra 
Cotta Company of Chicago offered a prize of $50 to be awarded 
in a competition in architectural design involving the decora- 
tive use of terra cotta. 

Beginning with the class of 1915, the American Institute 
of Architects has offered a medal annually to the senior in 
the department of architecture whose development during the 
four years' course is the most consistent and best. 

The Scarab Society of the department of architecture has 
offered a bronze medal annually since 1915 to be awarded 
during the second semester to a student in architecture for the 
best solution of a problem in architectural design. 

The sum of $50 was received by the University in 1916 
as a gift from Division One of the Ancient Order of Hiberians, 
to be awarded as a prize for the best essay written by an 
undergraduate or graduate student in the University on a 
subject connected with ancient Irish literature, history or 
archeology. It is hoped by the donors that a fund of $1000 
may be established, from the interest of which the prize may 
be made permanent. 

At various times sums of money have been donated to the 
University for the purpose of establishing annual scholarships. 

In 1902 Professor B. L. Bea of the College of Medicine be- 
queathed $5,000 to the College for the establishment of four 
scholarships for the aid of needy students. The net amount 
received by the College after the payment of the inheritance 
tax and other fees was $4,800. This sum has been invested in 
mortgage bonds, the income from which is received by four 
students annually. 

The Northwestern Branch of the Woman's Foreign Mis- 
sionary Society of the Methodist Episcopal Church paid over 
to the College of Medicine in 1902 the sum of $2,000 for the 
establishment of two scholarships. In return the college agreed 
to allow the Society to appoint one student to each scholarship 
so long as the College continued to provide complete educa- 
tion for women. In case this condition should at any time 
cease to be maintained, the sum given was to be returned to 
the Society. Students appointed to these scholarships are 
exempt from the payment of tuition and similar fees. 



Digitized by 



Google 



40 Sixteen Tears at the University of TUiTiois 

In 1910 Mr. Francis J. Plym of Niles, Michigan, a graduate 
of the University of Illinois of the class of 1897, offered to 
the University the sum of $1,000 a year for the period of 
five years for the establishment of a fellowship for the ad- 
vanced study of architecture. The holder of the annual fel- 
lowship established in consequence of this gift is expected 
to spend the year in study and travel abroad. Although the 
proposed term of five years expired in 1914, Mr. Plym has con- 
tinued to contribute $1,000 annually for the maintenance of 
the fellowship. From the accumulated interest on two an- 
nual contributions which could not be used immediately be- 
cause of the European war, three prizes amounting to a total 
of $50 were offered in 1916-17, in accordance with the desire 
of Mr. Plym, for the best solutions to a problem in architec- 
tural design which might be presented by members of the 
junior class in architectural engineering. 

The gift of certain farm lands by Captain Thomas J. Smith 
of Champaign, already referred to, to provide funds from which 
a building might be erected for the School of Music, was 
accompanied by a request that four free scholarships in the 
School of Music should be granted annually to young women 
who might seek a musical education but who might be unable 
to pay the customary charges for instruction in music. Ac- 
cordingly, four such scholarships were established by the 
Board of Trustees and became available first in the fall of 
the year 1916. 

The Board of Trustees of the University were notified in 
June, 1916, that the Irish Fellowship Foundation of Chicago 
would guarantee a fund of $1200 for Oaelic research work 
in the University of Illinois for the year 1916-17. In conse- 
quence of this gift a Fellowship in Oaelic was established and 
an appointment made for that year. 

In 1919, Mr. Robert F. Carr, President of the Board of 
Trustees, gave the University securities worth $10,000 to endow 
the Robert F. Carr Fellowship in Chemistry. 

For the years 1918-19 and 1919-20, the E. I. Du Pont de 
Nemours Company have given an annual stipendium of $750 for 
the Du Pont Fellowship in Chemistry. 



Digitized by 



Google 



CHAPTER n 

LAND 

I. In 1867 

Early in the legislative session of 1867 the General Assem- 
bly of Illinois passed an act in relation to the location of the 
Illinois Industrial University, a part of which act was as 
follows : 

"Whereas, Each portion of the state is alike interested in 
the proper location of said University, and it is desirable to 
enable the public spirit of each community or section to fully 
compete for such location; therefore 

"Section 1. Be it enacted by the people of the State of 
Illinois, represented in the General Assembly, That any county, 
city, township, or incorporated town of said state, may, by 
taxation, as well as by voluntary subscription of its citizens, 
raise a fund to secure the location of said University at any 
point whatever; and any other corporation in this state may 
make bids and subscriptions for the purpose of securing said 
location at any point whatever.^ 

This act was approved January 25, 1867. Within a month 
the contest for the location of the University, which had nar- 
rowed to four counties, — Champaign, Logan, McLean and 
Morgan — ^was decided in favor of Champaign county; and 
on the 28th of Febuary an act was approved authorizing the 
appointment of a board of trustees and the permanent loca- 
tion of the University in that county so soon as the terms of 
the offer made to the state should be fulfilled. 

Section 12 of this act was afi follows: 

"It shall be the duty of the board of trustees to permanently 
locate said University at Urbana in Champaign County, Illi- 
nois, whenever the county of Champaign shall, according to 
the proper forms of law, convey or cause to be conveyed to 
said trustees, in fee simple, and free from all incumbrances, 
the Urbana and Champaign Institute buildings, grounds, and 



*Law8 of Ulinois, 1867, p. 122 

41 



Digitized by 



Google 



42 Sixteen Years at the University of TUiTiois 

lands, together with the appurtenances thereto belonging, as 
set forth in the following offer in behalf of said county, to-wit : 

''The undersigned, a committee appointed by the board of 
supervisors of Champaign County, are instructed to make the 
following offer to the State of Illinois, in consideration of the 
permanent location of the Illinois Industrial University at 
Urbana, Champaign County, viz: We offer the Urbana and 
Champaign Institute buildings and grounds, containing about 
ten acres ; also one hundred and sixty acres of land adjacent 
thereto; also, four hundred acres of land, it being part of 
section No. twenty-one, in township No. nineteen, north, range 
No. nine east, distant not exceeding one mile from the corpor- 
ate limits of the city of Urbana. 

''Also, four hundred and ten (410) acres of land, it being 
part of section No. nineteen, township No. nineteen north, 
range No. nine east, within one mile of the buildings herein 
offered. 

"Also, the donation offered by the Illinois Central Railroad 
Company of fifty thousand dollars' worth of freight over said 
road for the benefit of said University. 

"Also, one hundred thousand dollars in Champaign county 
bonds, due and payable in ten years, and bearing interest at 
the rate of ten per cent, per annum, and two thousand dollars 
in fruit, shade, and ornamental trees and shrubbery, to be 
selected from the nursery of M. L. Dunlap, and furnished 
at the lowest catalogue rates, making an estimated valuation 
of four hundred and fifty thousand dollars ($450,000). Titles 
to be perfect, and conveyances to the state to be made or 
caused to be made by the county of Champaign, upon the 
permanent location of the Illinois Industrial University upon 
the said grounds, so to be conveyed as aforesaid, and we hereby 
in our official capacity guarantee the payment of the said 
bonds and the faithful execution of the deeds of conveyance, 
free from all incumbrances, as herein set forth. 

W. D. SOMEBS, 
T. A. COSGEOVE, 
C. B. MOORHOUSE, 

Committee. ''2 



•Session Laws of lU., 1867, p. 123 



Digitized by 



Google 



Land 43 

It wiU be noticed that the land donated by Champaign 
County consisted of four separate tracts, amounting in all 
to about 980 acres. One of the first acts® of the Board of 
Trustees was to purchase additional land adjoining that given 
by the county, thereby enlarging the campus, straightening 
the boundary lines, and joining the 160 acre tract to the plot 
on which the chief building of the University stood. By the 
end of the year 1867 the majority of the various purchases 
called for by this plan had been consummated. The ''Urbana 
and Champaign Institute grounds containing about ten acres," 
specified in the ofl!er of the county to the legislature, were 
found to contain somewhat less than seven and a half acres. 
At a meeting of the executive committee of the Trustees of 
the University held June 14, 1867, it was "Resolved, That 
it is the opinion of this committee that Champaign county 
should make good its offer to the State by conveying sufScient 
grounds contiguous to the University to make up the size of 
the ground to ten acres.'** On the same day a committee from 
the Board of Supervisors of the county reported to the execu- 
tive committee of the Trustees that the Supervisors had author- 
ized the conveyance to the University of ten lots adjacent to 
the campus and owned by the county.® 

The program of campus enlargement included also the pur- 
chase of a tier of lots to the west of the Institute grounds, and 
the moving of Wright Street about sixty-six feet westward. 
The land formerly occupied by Wright Street thus became part 
of the campus.® The west fourteen feet of this land, however, 
was added to Wright Street, giving that street a width of 
eighty feet. 

In all, during the year 1867, twenty-two lots were pur- 
chased, as well as nearly all of a forty-acre tract of land*^ 
forty rods in width from east to west extending one hundred 
sixty rods southward from Springfield Avenue to the 160 acre 



•Eept. Univ. of 111., 1868, p. 42 
*Bept Univ. of 111., 1868, p. 136 
•Bept. Univ. of lU., 1868, p. 139 

•Rept. Univ. of HI., 1868, p. 98; also Controller's Eept., Univ. of ID., 
Sept. 2, 1913, pp. 86-7 

*Rept. Univ. of HL, 1868, pp. 140-2 



Digitized by 



Google 



44 Sixteen Tears at the University of Illinois 



The Campus in 1870 



Digitized by 



Google 



Land 45 

tract already owned by the University. Among the lots pur- 
chased at this time were those lying between the Institute 
grounds and Springfield Avenue.® So much of White and 
Stoughton Streets as crossed this portion of the campus was 
vacated by the city of Urbana, as also were the alleys run- 
ning thru blocks 52 and 53, in accordance with a special Act 
of the General Assembly.® The city of Urbana was permitted 
however, to extend Green Street across the campus. ^^ By 
the end of the year 1867, therefore, the University property 
extended continuously — except as it was crossed by Spring- 
field Avenue, and by Green Street — from University Avenue to 
the south line of the 160 acre farm.^^ South of this farm was 
the Mount Hope Cemetery, and beyond the cemetery was the 
so-called South Farm of the University, comprising 410 acres. 
The 400 acre tract, known as the Griggs farm, was a mile east 
of the South Farm. The total amount of land possessed by the 
University at this time amounted to about 1017.97 acres, ^^ ^nd 
was valued at approximately $123,270. 

The accompanying map of the University grounds, re- 
printed from the University Trustees' Eeport for 1870-71,** 
p. 17, shows the grounds practically as they were at the end 
of the first year of the University's existence — only three addi- 
tional lots having been purchased between the years 1867 and 
1871. The Griggs farm of 400 acres does not appear upon 
the map. 

The detailed legal description of the lands acquired by 
the University at various times will be found at the end of 
this chapter. The following is a summary of the lands acquired 
during the year 1867. The figures in the column headed 
*'Item" refer to the legal description of the property at the 
end of the chapter. 



•Bept. Univ. of III., 1868, pp. 117-19 

•Eept Univ. of lU., 1868, p. 138; Private Laws of lU., 1869, Vol. H, 
300 
"Eept Univ. of HI., 1868, pp. 138-42 

"ComptroUer's Eept., Univ. of lU., Sept. 22, 1913, pp. 86-7 
*«Cf. Eept., Univ. of HI., 1870-71, pp. 16-18 
"Ibid 



Digitized by 



Google 



46 Sixteen Tears at the University of lUinois 

LANDS ACQUIBED IN 1867 



City Property 


in 


Urbana and Champaign 


Item 


Aeres | 


Cost* 


1 


7.4 


$40,000 


8 


5.2 


5,100 


9 


.2 


300 


10 


.2 


300 


11 


.2 


150 


12 


\2 


560 


13 


.2 


300 


14 


.4 


500 


15 


36.6 


7,500 


16 


.2 


750 


17 


.4 


600 


Total 


51.2 


$56,060 



Farm Land* at 


Urbana and Champaign 


Item 


Acres 


Cost* 


2 


53.65 


$ 5,300 


3 


21 


2,210 


4 


7 


1.000 


5 


80 


6,000 


6 


405.12 


28,700 


7 
Total 


400 


24,000 


966.77 


$67,210 



SUMMARY 








Acres 


Cost* 


City Property Acquired in 1867 
Farm Property " " *' 

Total Property '* " *' 


51.2 
966.77 


$ 56,060 
67,210 


1017.97 


$123,270 



II. From 1868 TO 1904 

During the thirty-seven years from 1868 to 1904 no large 
additions were made to the campus proper, and no additions 
were made to the acreage of the farm lands. 

The most important acquisition was that of nearly the en- 
tire tier of lots, 198 feet deep (from east to west), lying east 
of that portion of the campus which extended from Springfield 
Avenue to the north line of the ''160 acre farm.'* Mathews 
Avenue was opened as far south as this line and thus became 



'Estimated value if donated 

HDf the farm land, items numbered 3, 4 and 5 are now within the cor- 
porate limits of the city of Urbana, and the north 80 rods of item 2, 
embracing 40 acres, are within the limits of the City of Champaign. 



Digitized by 



Google 



Land 47 

the eastern border of the campus for approximately 160 rods. 
These lots amounted in all to about 11 acres. Of these, 41^ 
acres were purchased in 1886, 6% acres in 1894, and about a 
fourth of an acre in 1903.^* 

About 20 lots near the right of way of the railroad com- 
pany, which had not been secured when the 40 acre tract was 
purchased in 1867, were acquired at intervals during the years 
from 1869 to 1904. These amounted to about four acres.^** 

The sale of the Griggs farm of 400 acres was considered 
by the Trustees of the University as early as 1867. At a meet- 
ing of the executive committee held June 14 of that year a 
motion was carried providing that a committee be instructed 
''to obtain offers for the Griggs farm, or some part thereof, 
and report at the next meeting of the executive committee. "^^ 
The proposition to sell the farm was voted down on two oc- 
casions by the Board as a whole — November 27, 1867, and 
March 11, 1868^'^— but in 1872 eighty acres of the farm were 
sold;^® in 1878, one hundred and sixty acres ;^® and the remain- 
ing one hundred and sixty acres were sold in 1896.20 

In 1896 the transfer of the Chicago College of Pharmacy 
to the University resulted in the acquisition by the University 
of three parcels of land in Chicago, having an aggregate area 
of between two and three acres.^o 

By 1904, therefore, the domain of the University comprised 
about 635 acres. The general outline of the campus had 
changed very little from its form in 1867, the most noticeable 
change being the increase of 198 feet in the width of the main 
campus as already described. But the sale of the "Griggs 
farm" had reduced the farm lands belonging to the University 
by 400 acres. 



>X:Jomptroller 's Kept., Univ. of 111., Sept. 22, 1913, pp. 87-88 

^•Bept., Univ. of HI., 1868, p. 141 
»1bid, pp. 102, 133 
»R€pt., Univ. of lU., 1872-3, p. 136 
"From Becords of Champaign County 

•"Kept. Univ. of 111., 1896, p. 241; Comptroller's Beport, Univ. of 111.^ 
September 22, 1913, p. 92 



Digitized by 



Google 



48 Sixteen Tears at the University of TUinois 

LAND AOQUntED FBOM 1868 TO 1904 



City Property 


in 


Urbana and Champaign 


Item 


Acres | 


Cost* 


18 


.4 


$ 400 


19 


.2 


200 


20 


.2 


150 


21 


.89 


450 


22 


.2 


150 


23 


2.2 


830 


24 


6.3 


4,500 


25 


.38 


8,700 


26 


.3 


4,800 


27 


LI 


7,000 


28 


.27 


5,500 


29 


.81 




Total 


13.28 


$27,680 





City Property 
Chicago 


in 


Item 


1 Acres 


Cost* 


30 


2«64 


$2,300 



SUMMABY 



Acres 


Cost* 


City property acquired in 1867 

'' " 1868-1904 
Farm property acquired in 1867 
'' '* *' '* 1868-1904 

Total 

Less Sales 

Net Total— 1904 


51.2 

15.92 

966.77 


$ 56,060 
29,980 
67,210 


1,033.89 
400.2 


$153,250 
24,200 


633.69 


$129,050 



^Estimated value, if donated 
"Comptroller's Eeport, U. of HI., 1913, p. 88 

m. From 1904 TO 1920 

During the sixteen years from 1904 to 1920 substantial 
additions were made both to the campus proper and to the 
farm lands occupied by the University. 

In 1905 two lots on the west side of Mathews Avenue and 
north of Green Street were purchased.^* Three lots at the 



Digitized by 



Google 



Digitized by 



Google 



Digitized by 



Google 



Land 49 

southwest comer of Mathews and Springfield Avenues were 
purchased in 1916. These two purchases completed the owner- 
ship by the University of the entire block of land bounded 
by Mathews, Springfield and Burrill Avenues and Green 
Street." 

In 1911 and 1912 eight lots east of Mathews Avenue were 
purchased,^^ comprising a tract of land extending from 
Mathews Avenue thru to Gtoodwin Avenue and from the street 
railway south to the creek. Nearly three acres were included 
in this purchase. In 1913-14 thirteen lots lying east of the last 
mentioned tract were purchased, comprising about three 
acres.^^ Three additional lots adjacent to these thirteen were 
purchased in 1915.^* The land embraced in these two tracts 
was acquired for the use of various departments of the College 
of Engineering. 

During the year 1913-14 the University purchased also six 
lots in the block bounded by Mathews, Stoughton, Goodwin 
and Springfield Avenues.^* Upon this land a building for the 
School of Education has been erected. 

During the same year a tract of ten acres within the limits 
of the City of Champaign, extending from First Street to the 
Illinois Central Railroad, was purchased and assigned to the 
Department of Botany.^^ Two lots also were purchased in 
1914 at the southeast comer of Springfield and Mathews 
Avenues as a site for the botany greenhouses.*^ Another block 
in Champaign, adjoining the campus and bounded by Wright, 
Healy and Sixth Streets and the interurban right of way, was 
purchased in 1914 as a site for a laboratory, a pond and an 
insectary for the Department of Zoology.*^ The Vivarium has 
already been erected upon this tract. In 1914-15 three lots 
on Nevada Street in Urbana were purchased as a site for a 
Women's Residence Hall.*^ 



"Min. of Bd. of Trustees, U. of lU., 1916-18, pp. 124, 136 
•Eept., U. of HI., 1916, p. 768 
■HUomptroller's Beport, 1914, pp. 51-51^ 
•CJomptroUer's Beport, Univ. of HI., 1914, pp. 51-52 
"ComptroUer's Beport, Univ. of lU., 1915, p. 76 
"Bept, Univ. of HL, 1914, p. 753 



Digitized by 



Google 



50 Sixteen Tears at the University of lUinois 

In 1917, three lots having a total frontage of 180 feet on 
Nevada Street between (Joodwin and Mathews Avenues, 
Urbana, were purchased, and a residence upon one of these 
lots was assigned temporarily as the President's House, the 
former official residence of the President having been given 
over to other uses. It is the intention to use these lots in the 
future as a site for another residence hall for women students.*® 

A lot on Sixth Street, Champaign, directly west of the Ad- 
ministration Building was purchased in 1917 to serve as a site 
for a University Press building which should house the courses 
in Journalism, the print shop, the office of the University pub- 
lications, and the University Press.*^ 

In 1907 a farm of 40 acres was purchased and another 
of 40 acres in ISll.^^^ These two purchases gave the University 
possession of all of section 19 except the south half of the two 
south quarters. In 1913-14 five tracts of farm land were pur- 
chased, containing respectively 13, 160, 40, 80 and 40 acres — 
a total of 333 acres.®^ The 13 acre tract lies east of the ceme- 
tery and therefore unites the so-called South Farm with the 
160 acre tract given the University in 1867. The other four 
purchases constitute the west half of Section 20 and therefore 
are east of and contiguous to the South Farm. 

Between September, 1917, and April, 1918, the University 
purchased as a site for the new McEinley student hospital a 
group of six lots which include the entire frontage on Armory 
Avenue between Third and Arbor Streets to a depth of 174 
feet. Also a lot on Stoughton Street was added to the Educa- 
tion Building site, and two pieces of tenant property on Har- 
vey Street were purchased.®^ 

In 1915 three tracts of farm land comprising a total of 
thirty-two and a half acres lying south of the City of Cham- 
paign, west of Fourth Street, were purchased by the Univer- 
sity .^^ The University purchased in 1916 a farm of 84 acres 
directly west of the original "South Farm.'*®* 



"Mill., Bd. of Trustees, U. of lU., 1916-18, pp. 239, 252, 340, 345 

"Min., Bd. of Trustees, U. of HI., 1916-18, pp. 333, 512 

"^Comptroller's Keport, U. of HL, 1914, pp. 51-52 

"Comptroller's Report, U. of HI., 1918, pp. 91-92 

"Kept., Univ. of HI., 1916, p. 779 

"Mill, of Bd. of Trustees, U. of HI., 1916-18, pp. 137, 180 



Digitized by 



Google 



Land 51 

In the summer of 1917 forty acres of woodland three and a 
half miles northeast of Urbana were purchased l)y the Univer- 
sity, to serve as a natural history preserve for the especial use 
of the departments of botany, entomology and zoology.^* In 
1919, 20 acres immediately north of this tract were purchased 
and added to it. 

The total cost of the 48 city lots in Urbana and the two un- 
divided blocks in Champaign purchased during the sixteen 
years, amounting in all to about 23.17 acres, was $227,722.33. 
The cost of the 569.35 acres of farm land amounted to a total 
of $404,555.46. 

In 1913, alumni of the Medical School of the University, 
together with other friends of medical education, secured and 
donated to the University the entire stock of the College of 
Physicians and Surgeons of Chicago. The acceptance of this 
stock brought to the University the property of that College, 
including the land occupied, amounting to a total of about 
1.3 acres.35 The value of this land was estimated at $60,000 
by a committee of the Chicago Real Estate Board in June, 
1913.8« 

In 1914-15 the so-called ''acre property" in Chicago, a part 
of the land acquired with the School of Pharmacy in 1896, was 
sold. This tract contained about two and a half acres.*'' 

In 1915 three adjoining pieces of property in Chicago in 
the vicinity of the Colleges of Medicine and Dentistry of the 
University of Illinois, were purchased as a site for the School 
of Pharmacy .5® 

In 1917 four lots near those of the School of Pharmacy were 
purchased as an addition to the Chicago campus.*^ 

In addition to the lands occupied by the University at 
Urbana and in its vicinity, a large number of tracts of farm 
land in various parts of the state are used by the Agricultural 



••Ibid. pp. 95, 333, 412 
■Eept., Univ. of lU., 1914, pp. 172-4, 204 
•Ttept., Univ. of Dl., 1914, p. 257 
•Ttept., Univ. of m., 1916, p. 190 
"Ibid, p. 861 

"ComptroUer'B Beport, Univ. of lU., 1918, p. 92-93, Tract No. 105, 106 
Min., Bd, of Tnwtees, Univ. of lU., 1916-18, p. 240 



Digitized by 



Google 



52 



Sixteen Tears at the UniversUy of Illinois 



Experiment Station of the University as experiment fields. The 
General Assembly of 1901 appropriated $20,000 for soil investi- 
gation. This amount has been increased by subsequent legis- 
latures. Fifty thousand dollars was appropriated in 1903, in 
1905, and in 1907 ; $120,000 in 1909 and $130,000 in 1911. Sev- 
eral experiment fields were established in 1901, and within 
six years twenty fields were occupied. At first such tracts 
of land were rented for a term of years ; but since 1905 many 
fields have come into the possession of the University by gift 
or by purchase, chiefiy by the former method. 

At the present time thirty fields are owned by the Uni- 
versity. Two of these, comprising a total of 105.33 acres, have 
been purchased. The cost of the two fields was $6,675, an 
average of $63.37 per acre. Twenty-eight fields with a total 
area of 608.39 acres have been donated to the University. The 
approximate value of this land is $87,772, or about $145 an acre. 

During the past sixteen years, therefore, the University has 
acquired for experiment fields, outside of its holdings at Urbana, 
thirty tracts of land containing 713.72 acres and a total value 
of $94,447.*o 

Twenty leased fields are still occupied also, having a com- 
bined area of 349.95 acres. The sum paid as rental for these 
tracts amounts to $2,683.10 a year. The list of the leased fields 
is as follows :^i 



LOCATION 

Anna 

Antioch 

Bloomington 

Oarlinville 

Gentralia 

LOCATION 

Champaign 
Cutler 
De Kalb 
Dubois 
Fairfield 



ACRES 


ANNUAL RENTAL 


2 


$20.00 


1.7 


8.50 


4.4 


60.00 


20 


00.00 


16 


• 


ACRES 


ANNUAL RENTAL 


80 


$1,000.00 


18.5 


117.60 


36.25 


290.00 


5 


25.00 


20 


100.00 



«»ComptroUer'8 Beport, Univ. of HI., 1913, pp. 89flP, 1914, pp. 52-53; 
Corrected 1920 

**Rept., Univ. of Ol., 1914, p. 742 (list corrected 1920) 
*0n a half -crop basis 



Digitized by 



Google 



Land 



63 




1 1 — -r,i — >" 

I «.o a L t 



w«iNUf| ^eoria/ vvooofomo 





ifr 8«IL ANO CMP PiCbDS 

• Oncmamds 

■ Vc«KTAftuc Gauocm* 



AGRicui;ruRAL Experiment Fields, 1920 



Digitized by 



Google 



64 Sixteen Years at tJie University of Illinois 



Fairfield 


20 


100.00 


Flora 


15 


60.00 


Qalesbarg 


25 


200.00 


LouisviUe 


15 


75.00 


McNabb 


6 


36X)0 


Odin 


20 


100.00 


Bockford 


10 


120.00 


Union Grove 


20 


200.00 


Urbana 


4 


60.00 


Virginia 


ILl 


IILOO 



Total 349.95 $2,683.10 

Various crops are grown on each of the soil experiment 
fields, and in several cases for the special purpose of crop 
experiments. Some of the experiment fields are operated pri- 
marily for crop investigation. Six others are under the direc- 
tion of the Department of Horticulture. One field, in addi- 
tion to those already mentioned, is operated by the department 
of Horticulture under a cooperative agreement. This is an 
orchard at Neoga, containing 40 acres, which has been under 
the direction of the department since 1911. 

On June 8, W14, Captain Thomas J. Smith of Champaign, 
a former trustee of the University, announced to the Board of 
Trustees his intention to donate four farms containing an ag- 
gregate of 768.19 acres and valued at approximately $215,000 
to the University for the purpose of providing funds for the 
erection of a building for the School of Music as a memorial 
to his wife. In the course of the next three months the transfer 
of this property to the University was completed. The trustees 
assigned a site immediately east of the Auditorium for the 
building, which is known as the Tina Weedon Smith Memorial 
Building, plans were prepared for the structure, and work was 
commenced in the fall of 1916 and completed in 1920. This 
gift represents the largest single donation thus far made by an 
individual to the University.*^ One of the four farms, contain- 
ing 214 acres, was sold in August, 1917. The other three farms 
have since been sold.*^ 



«Rept., Univ. of lU., 1914, p. 755; 1916, pp. 120-123, 137-141 
«Min. of Bd. of Trustees, Univ. of HI., 1916-18, pp. 123, 136, 512; 
1918-20, pp. 86, 214, 292, 294, 408. 



Digitized by 



Google 



Land 



55 



LAND ACQUIRED BY THE UNTVEBSITY, 1904-20 



City Property in 


Urbana and Champaign 


Item 


Acres 


Cost* 


31 


1.1 


$15,000.00 


34 


.3 


2,500.00 


35 


.19 


5,600.00 


36 


JS 


1,800.00 


37 


2 


4,350.00 


38 


.4 


4,450.00 


39 


.27 


6,450.00 


40 


.78 


10.800.00 


41 


.4 


5,000.00 


42 


.4 


11,000.00 


43 


.2 


3/JOO.OO 


44 


.2 


2,600.00 


45 


.15 


3,000.00 


46 


.85 


4,450.00 


47 


.12 


1,500.00 


48 


.2 


3,500.00 


49 


.2 


1,450.00 


50 


.2 


1,800.00 


51 


.15 


5,000.00 


52 


.15 


6,800 jOO 


53 


.15 


4,800.00 


54 


.15 


2,500.00 


55 


.15 


2,850.00 


56 


.15 


2,600.00 


57 


1.16 


14,000.00 


63 


10 


7,705.81 


64 


.4 


10,000.00 


65 


.22 


3,601.59 


66 


.22 


3,601.59 


67 


.22 


3,601.60 


68 


.6 


10,116.88 


70 


.6 


12,000.00 


72 


.12 


1,400.00 


73 


.24 


16,500.00 


74 


.24 


3,869.00 


76 


.34 


6,500.00 


77 


.28 


3,639.14 


78 


.31 


6,005.38 


79 


.31 


6,231.34 


80 


.15 


3,250.00 


81 
Total 


.2 
23.17 


2,400.00 


$227,722.33 





Farm Land at 


Urbana and Champaign 


Item 


Acres Cost* 


32 


40 $12,000.00 


33 


40 20,000.00 


58 


13 20,481.33 


59 


160 160,000.00 


60 


40 24,000.00 


61 


80 48,000.00 


62 


40 24,074.13 


69 


32.35 50/)00.00 


71 


84 34,000.00 


75 


40 12,000.00 


75a 
ToUl 


20 6,000.00 


589.35 $410,555.46 



City Property in 




Chicago 


Item 


Acres 


Cost* 


82 


1.16 


$60,000.00 


83 


.21 


16,100.00 


84 


.14 


9,000.00 


85 


.21 


10,000.00 


86 


.17 


16,676.67 


87 


.13 


14,248.33 


87a 


.07 


1,337.50 


87b 
Total 


.07 
2.16 


1,800.00 


$129,162.50 



^Estimated value, if donated 



Digitized by 



Google 



56 



Sixteen Years at the University of Illinois 



Experiment 


Fields 


Thrnoat niinoiB 


Item 


Acres 


Cost* 


88 


16 


$ 320 


89 


15 


750 


90 


20 


l/)00 


91 


86 


4,875 


92 


15 


3,000 


93 


20 


4,000 


94 


20 


6,500 


95 


20 


3,500 


96 


20 


4,000 


97 


19.33 


1,800 


98 


21.41 


4,282 


99 


20 


4,000 


100 


20 


3,000 


101 


25 


1,800 


102 


20 


1,500 


103 


30 


1,800 


104 


29.31 


3,000 


105 


20 


4,500 


106 


20 


1,500 


107 


24 


1,920 


108 


20 


6,500 


109 


17 


1,600 


110 


20 


500 


111 


17.09 


4,000 


112 


31 


8,000 


113 


20 


5,000 


114 


20 


3,000 


115 


32.58 


1,300 


116 


40 


6,000 


116a 
Total 


15 


1,500 


713.72 


$94,447 



Lands donated by 

Captain Thomas J. Smith 

to provide funds for 

Musie Building 


Item 


Acres 


Estimated 
Value 


117 
118 
119 
120 


240 $54,000 

214 53,000 

234.19 72,000 

80 36,000 


Total 


768.19 $215,000 



^Estimated value, if donated 



Digitized by 



Google 



Land 57 

Summary op Land Acquired by the University Durinq the 
. Past Fifty Tears: 

(1) About 981 acres valued at $110,710 were donated to 
the University by Champaign County to secure its location 
in that county in 1867. During the year 1867 the Board of 
Trustees purchased sufficient land to bring the total up to about 
1017.97 acres. For this purpose $16,060 was expended. The 
total value of the land owned by the University by the end 
of the year 1867 was therefore approximately $123,270. 

(2) During the thirty-seven years from 1868 to 1904 the 
University acquired about 16 acres of city property, of which 
it sold .2 acres, as well as 400 acres of farm land. Its domain, 
therefore, comprised about 633.19 acres in 1904. Twenty-nine 
thousand, nine hundred and eighty dollars had been expended 
for land, and land originally valued at $24,200 had been sold. 
The net increase in the value of the University holdings on 
the basis of their original cost was, therefore, $5,780; and 
the total value of the University lands in 1904 on this basis 
was $129,050. 

(3) During the sixteen years from 1904 to 1920, the Uni- 
versity bought 23.17 acres of city property in Urbana and 
Champaign at a total cost of $227,722.33, and 589.35 acres of 
farm land in the vicinity of the two cities at a cost of $410,- 
555.46— a total of 592.52 acres at a cost of $638,277.79. In addi- 
tion, thirty experiment fields located in various sections of 
the state were acquired by gift or by purchase, containing 
a total area of 713.72 acres, and having a combined value of 
$94,447. Two and a half acres of city property in Chicago, 
originally valued at about $1,900, were sold; but other prop- 
erty in that city, amounting to 2.02 acres and having a value 
of approximately $129,162.50 was acquired. In 1914 four farms 
having a total area of about 768.19 acres and valued at ap- 
proximately $215,000 were donated to the University, from the 
sale of which funds should be provided for a building for the 
School of Music. 

The total net area added to the domain of the University 
during this period (excluding the T. J. Smith land to be sold) 
was 1,328.26 acres — an increase of 217 per cent over the num- 



Digitized by 



Google 



58 Sixteen Years at the University of lUinois 

ber of acres owned by the University in 1904. The value of 
the land so added was $861,887.29, or nearly six and a half 
times the original cost of all the land owned by the University 
in 1904. On June 30, 1920, the University possessed land 
amounting to 1,959.45 acres and having a value, on the basis 
of its original cost, of $987,437.29. The actual value at that 
date was, of course, much greater. 

SUMMABY OP PBOPEETY 
1867-1920 
1867 Aerea Cost 

City property 

Urbana-Champaign 51.2 $ 56,060 

Farm property 966.77 67,210 

Total 1017.97 $ 123,270 

1868-1904 

City property 

Urbana-Champaign 13.28 $ 27,680 

Chicago 2.64 2,300 

Farm property 

Total 15.92 $ 89,980 

1904-1920 
City property 

Urbana-Champaign 23.17 $ 227,722.33 

Chicago 2.02 129,162.50 

Farm property 

Urbana-Champaign 589.35 410,555.46 

Experiment fields 713.72 94,447.00 

Total 1,328.26 $ 861,887.29 

TOTAL 2,362.15 $1,015,137.29 

Less Sales 402.7 27,700.00 

NET TOTAL— 1920 U,959.45 $ 987,437.29 

*By deducting 1.6 acres of Urbana-Champaign property which has 
been converted into streets the total acreage in 1920 becomes 1,957.85. 
<See Comptroller's Beport, Univ. of BL, 1918, p. 92) 



Digitized by 



Google 



Land 59 

SUMMABY OP PEOPEETY SALES 



Acres I Price 



1867 • • • • • • • 

1868-1904 

City Property 

Item 14, Lot 206 2 $ 200 

Farm Property 
Item 7, Griggs Farm 400.0 24,000 



Total 400.2 $24,200 

1904-1920 
City Property 

Item 30, Part of Sec. 12 2.5 $ 3,500 

Farm Property* .... 



Total 2.5 $ 3,500 

TOTAL 402.7 $27,700 



LIST AND DESCRIPTION OP LANDS ACQUIRED BY 
THE UNIVERSITY 

I. At Ubbana and Champaign in 1867 

1. (13)** 1867. Commencing at the N W comer of the 
S W l^ of S E l^ of Sec 7, Twp. 19 N R 9 #., at a stone 
placed at the intersection of E Main Street and Wright Street 
as shown by the plat of the Seminary Addition to Urbana re- 
corded in Book *'G'' page 208 of the records remaining in the 
Recorder's Office of said Champaign County, running thence 
E 462 ft; thence S 700 ft.; thence W 462 ft.; and thence N 
700 ft. to the place of beginning, the said property being known 
as the Seminary Grounds in the City of Urbana. 7.4 acres, 
$40,000. 

2. (7) 1867. Beginning at the N E comer of the S W 1/4 
of Sec. 18, Twp. 19, R 9 E, 3d P. M., thence W 80 rods to 
the centre of the north and south road known as the "Ceme- 
tery Road'' then S along the centre of said road 107.30 rods, 



*See note on page 54 

^Numbers in parenthesis indicate the order in which the items 
appear in the Comptroller's Bept., June 30, 1918, p. 64 



Digitized by 



Google 



60 Sixteen Tears at the University of Illinois 

thence E 80 rods, thence N on the half section line to the place 
of beginning, containing 53-13/20 acres, more or less, the same 
being so much of the shares of George and Joel Hormel in 
the real estate of Joseph Hormel, deceased, as lays east of said 
Cemetery Road. 53.65 acres, $5,300. 

3. (2) 1867. Beginning at N W comer of S y2 of S E 14 
of Sec 18, Twp 19 N, R 9 E of 3d P. M., running thence S 28 
rods, thence E 120 rods, thence N 28 rods, thence W 120 rods 
to the place of beginning, containing 21 acres, situated in Urbana 
in the County of Champaign and State of Illinois. 21 acres, 
$2,210.« 

4. (3) 1867. Beginning at N E comer of S J^ of S E 14 
of Sec 18, Twp 19 N., R 9 E of 3d P. M., running thence S 28 
rods, thence W 40 rods, thence N 28 rods, thence E 40 rods 
to the place of beginning, containing 7 acres, situated in Urbana, 
in the County of Champaign and State of Illinois. 7 acres, 
$l,000.-»3 

5. (5) 1867. N V2 of S E 14 of Sec 18, Twp. 19 N, R 9 E 
of 3d P. M., 80 acres, $6,000.*^ 

6. (4) 1867. NWi/4;NV2SWi4;SV20fNEi4;NW 
14 of S E l^; and N E 14 of N E 14 all in Sec 19, Twp 19 N, 
R 9 E of 3d P. M., containing 410 acres. It being understood 
that a strip 4 rods and 20 links wide off the W side of S V^ 
of Lot 2 of N W 14 and a strip of like width off the W side of 
Ny2 of Lot 2 of the S W 14 of said Sec. 19, containing 4.88, is 
excepted from this conveyance. 405.12 acres, $28,700."*^ 

7. 1867. SV2;andSy2NEi4;bothinSec21,Twpl9N, 
R 9 E, 3d P. M. 400 acres, $24,000.^^ 

8. (6) 1867. Lots No 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11 in block 
53, Seminary addition to Urbana.^® Also Lots No 1, 2, 3, 5, 6, 
8, 9, 10, 11, 12 in block 52, and Lots 1 and 12 in block 53, 
Seminary addition to Urbana. 5.2 acres, $5,100. 

9. (1) 1867. Lot 139 of a Subdivision of the S part of 
Lot 1 of S W 14 of Sec 7 in Twp 19 N, R 9 E of 3d P. M., 
City of Champaign, County of Champaign, and State of Illinois. 
.2 acres (Street), $300. 



•Donated by Champaign County; estimated valne 
*T)onated by Champaign County; estimated value 



Digitized by 



Google 



Land 61 

10. (8) 1867. Lot 174 of a Subdivision of the S part of 
Lot 1 of the S W 1^ of Sec 7, Twp 19 N, R 9 E. .2 acres 
(Street), $300. 

11. (9) 1867. Lot 208 of a Subdivision of the S part of 
Lot 1 of the S W 1^ of Sec 7, Twp 19 N, R 9 E, of 3d P. M. 
.2 acres (Street), $150. 

12. (10) 1867. Lot 7 in Block 52 of the Seminary addition 
to Urbana, as per plot of said addition recorded in said County 
of Champaign. .2 acres, $560. 

13. (11) 1867. Lot 173 of a Subdivision of the S part of 
Lot 1 of the S W l^ of Sec 7, Twp 19 N, R 9 E, now comprising 
a portion of the City of Champaign. .2 acres (Street), $300. 

14. (12) 1867. Lots 206 and 207 of Subdivision of S part 
of Lot 1, S W ^ of Sec 7, Twp 19 N, R 9 E, 3d P. M. .4 acres 
(Lot 207 street), $500. 

15. (14-A) 1867. The W Vg of the W Vg of the N E i^ 
of Sec 18 in Twp 19 N, R 9 E of 3d P. M., save and except 
the following tracts or pieces of land, to-wit: Commencing at 
a point 1 chain and 78 links E of the N W comer of above 
described tract, thence E 2 chains; thence S 2 chains and 50 
links; thence W 2 chains; thence N 2 chains and 50 links to a 
point of beginning; also Lots 1, 2 and W V^ of 3 in block 10; 
also Lots 1, 5, and 6 in block 11 ; also Lots 1, 5 and 6 in block 
12 — ^also the Right of Way of the Urbana Railroad Company 
across the N end of tract of land first above described as per plat 
of Urbana Railroad Company duly surveyed and recorded in 
ofSce of Recorder of Deeds in the County of Champaign and 
State aforesaid; said exceptions aforesaid comprising a part or 
portion of land off the N end of said forty acres first above 
described. 36.6 acres, $7,500. 

16. (15) 1867. Lot 4 of block 52 of the Seminary addition 
to Urbana. .2 acres, $750. 

17. (16) 1867. Lots 105 and 106 of a Subdivision of Lot 
1, S W 14 of Sec 7, Twp 19 N, R 9 E of the 3d P. M. .4 acres 
(Street) $600. 

18. (17) 1869. Lots 5 and 6 in Block 11 in the ''Urbana 
Railroad Company's Addition*' to the City of Urbana, as ap- 
pears from the Record of said plat or addition in Record "R" 



Digitized by 



Google 



62 Sixteen Tears at tJie University of TUinois 

of Deeds at page 800 of the Records of said County, the said 
lots being on the N end of the W y2 of the N W 14 of the N E ^ 
of Sec 18, Twp 19 N, R 9 E, 3d P. M. Said Lots 5 and 6 being 
bounded on the N by the Springfield road, on the S by the 
Urbana Street Railroad, and on the E and W by University 
Land. .4 acres, $400. 

19. (18) 1871. Lot 140 of a Subdivision of Lot 1 in the 
S W 14 of Sec 7, Twp 19 N, R 9 E, of 3d P. M. 2 acres 
(Street) $200. 

20. (19) 1880. 34 ft. off the W side of Lot 5 in Block 12 
in Urbana Railroad Addition to the City of Urbana, Illinois. 
Also the W y2 of Lot 3 in Block 10 in the Urbana Railroad 
Addition to the City of Urbana, Illinois. .2 acres, $150. 

21. (20) 1883. E 1/2 of Lot 5 and all of Lot 6, Block 12, 
and Lots 1 and 2 in Block 10 and a strip of land 66 ft. E and 
W by 132 ft. N and S, formerly reserved for a street between 
said blocks 10 and 12, described as follows: Beginning at the 
N E comer said Lot 6 in block 12; thence E 66 ft; thence 
S 132 ft.; thence W 66 ft. and thence N 132 ft. to place of 
beginning; all said lots and tracts of land being in what is 
sometimes called the Urbana Railroad Addition to the City of 
Urbana, as the same is recorded in Book ''R," page 800, of the 
Record of Champaign County, Illinois. .89 acres, $450. 

22. (21) 1885. Beginning 310 links S and 75 links E of 
the N W comer of the N W 1^ of the N E l^ of Sec 18, Twp 
19 N, R 9 E of 3d P. M. and running S 2 chains; thence E 1 
chain ; thence N 2 chains ; thence W 1 chain to the place of be- 
ginning. .2 acres, $150. 

23. (22) 1886. Lots 12, 13, 18 and 19 of Joseph Nelson's 
addition to the City of Urbana. 2.2 acres, $830. 

24. (23) 1894. Commencing at a stone at the S W comer 
of the E 1/2 of S W 1^ of N E ^A of Sec 18, Twp 19 N, R 9 E 
of 3d P. M., running thence N to a stone at the N W comer 
of the E 1/2 of S W lA of N E l^, Sec 18, Twp 19 N, R 9 E 
of 3d P. M., running thence E 201 ft. and 6 in. to a point 
which would be on the W line of Mathews Ave (formerly 
Nelson Avenue) extended S from the point where said Avenue 
is now open to the point of the S line of said E V^ of S W l^ of 



Digitized by 



Google 



Land 63 

N E l^ of said Sec 18, Twp 19 N, R 9 E of 3d P. M., running 
thence S along the said extended W line of Mathews Avenue to 
the S line of E Vg of S W i^ of N E i^ of Sec 18, Twp 19 N, 
R 9 E of 3d P. M., thence W to the place of beginning, being 
6-1/3 acres, more or less, being situated in the County of Cham- 
paign in the State of Illinois. 6.33 + acres, $4,500. 

25. (24) 1901. Beginning 1471/2 ft. E of N W comer of 
N W 1/4 of N E 1^ of Sec 18, Twp 19 N, R 9 E of 3d P. M., 
and running thence E 100 ft. ; thence S 165 ft. ; thence W 100 
ft. ; thence N 165 ft. to a place of beginning. .38 acres, $3,700. 

26. (25) 1901. Beginning at a point 66 ft. E of the N W 
comer of the N W l^ of the N E l^ of Sec 18, Twp 19 N, 
R 9 E of 3d P. M., and mnning thence E 8iy2 ft. ; thence S 
165 ft. ; thence W 8iy2 ft. ; thence N 165 ft. to a place of be- 
ginning. .3 acres, $4,800. 

27. (26) 1903. Commencing at a point 205 ft. S of the 
N W comer of the E 1/2 of N W l^, N E l^ Sec 18, Twp 19 N, 
R 9 E of 3d P. M., thence E 198 ft., thence S 268.80 ft., thence 
W along the creek to a point in the W line of said Ei^ of 
N W V4 of N E 34 of said Sec 18, 249 ft. S of place of beginning, 
thence N on said line to beginning excepting a piece of land de- 
scribed as follows: Commencing at a point 344 ft. S of N W 
comer of said E y2 of N W 14 of N E 1/4 of said Sec 18, Twp 
19 N, R 9 E, thence E 198 ft., thence S 60 ft., thence W 198 ft., 
thence N to a place of beginning, with right of way 10 ft. wide 
oflp S side of property on N adjoining. Said land above described 
being Lot 3 of Subdivision of said E 1/2 of N W lA of N E i^, 
as shown by a plat recorded in Book 10, of Deeds, at page 642 
(Gk)odwin's 2d Addition to Urbana). 1.1 acres, $7,000. 

28. (28) 1903. Commencing 344 ft. S of N W comer of 
E y2 of N W lA of N E 14 of Sec 18, Twp 19 N, R 9 E of 
3d P. M., thence E 198 ft., thence S 60 ft., thence W 198 ft, 
thence N to the point of commencing, with right of way 10 ft. 
wide oflP S side of property on the N adjoining. .27 acres, $5,500. 

29. (14-B) 1903. A strip of ground forty feet wide and 
extending from Wright Street in Champaign E to what is known 
as Nelson or Mathews Avenue in Urbana and located in the 
N W l^ of the N E 1^ of Sec 18, Twp 19 N, R 9 E of 3d P. M, 
.81 acres, Gift. 



Digitized by 



Google 



64 Sixteen Years at the University of Illinois 

II. In Chicago, 1868-1904 

30. (36) 1896. W Va of E 1/2 of N W 14 of N E 14 of Sec 
12, Twp 38 N, R 13 E of 3d P. M.; also lots 4 and 5 in block 5 
of McBride, Spencer and Underwood's Subdivision E of Archer 
Avenue, in Ei/g of N W 14 of Sec 1, Twp 38 N, R 13 E of 3d 
P. M. 2.64 acres, $2,300.*^ 

in. Lands Acqttired at Urbana and Champaign 
From 1904-20 

31. (27) 1905. Lots 4 and 5 of Joseph Nelson's Addition 
to the City of Urbana in the County of Champaign, State of Illi- 
nois. 1.1 acres, $15,000. 

32. (30) 1907. The N W i^ of the N E ^ of Sec 19, Twp 
19 N, R 9 E of the 3d P. M. 40 acres, $12,000. 

33. (46) 1911. N E 1^ of S E 1^ of Sec 19, Twp 19 N, 
R '9 E of 3d P. M., containing 40 acres more or less. 40 acres, 
^0,000. 

34. (51) 1911. Beginning 8 rods S of N E comer of Lot 1 
of Wm. M. (Joodwin's Second Addition to Urbana, thence W 
8 rods, thence S 100 ft, thence E 8 rods, thence N 100 ft. to 
the place of beginning. .3 acres, $2,500. 

35. (52) 1911. Commencing at a point 232 ft. S of N E 
eomer of Lot 1 of Wm. M. (Goodwin's Second Addition to Ur- 
bana, thence W 8 rods, thence S 65 ft., thence E 8 rods, thence 
N 65 ft. to the place of beginning. .19 acres, $5,600. 

36. (47) 1911. Beginning at a point 8 rods S and 8 rods 
W of N E comer of Lot 1 of Wm. M. Goodwin's Second Addi- 
tion to the town (now city) of Urbana and running along W 8 
rods, thence S 10 rods, thence E 8 rods, thence N 10 rods to 
the place of beginning, containing ^ acre more or less. .50 
acres, $1,800. 

37. (48) 1911. Beginning 126 ft. S of N W comer of Lot 2 
in Wm. M. Goodwin's Second Addition to the City of Urbana, 
thence E 2 chains, thence S 66 ft., thence W 2 chains, thence 
N 66 ft. to the place of beginning, situated in the City of Urbana 
and County of Champaign. .2 acres, $4,350. 



'Estimated value. See GomptroUer's Beport, 191.^, p. 92 



Digitized by 



Google 



Digitized by 



Google 



Digitized by 



Google 



Land 65 

38. (49) 1911. Beginning at the N E corner of Lot 1 
of Wm. M. (Joodwin's Second Addition to Urbana, running 
thence S 8 rods, thence W 8 rods, thence N 8 rods, thence E 8 
rods to the place of beginning, situated in the City of Urbana 
and County of Champaign. .4 acres, $4,450. 

39. (50) 1911. Beginning 192 ft. S of N W comer of 
Lot 2 in W. M. (Joodwin's Second Addition to the City of 
Urbana, thence E 2 chains, thence S 95.76 ft., thence W 2 chains, 
and from thence N 82.56 ft. to the place of beginning, situated 
in the City of Urbana, in the County of Champaign and in the 
State of Illinois. Also all right and title to 7 ft. and 2 inches 
off the E side of Mathews Ave. contiguous upon the W to the 
above described premises as released by ordinance adopted by 
the City Council of the City of Urbana, May 2, 1910, and ap- 
proved by the Mayor of the said City, May 3, 1910. .27 acres, 
$6,450. 

40. (56) 1912. The N 8 rods of the W 8 rods of Lot 1, 
and the N 126 ft of Lot 2, and 7 ft. and 2 inches off the E side 
of Mathews Ave. where the said Ave. is contiguous to said above 
described premises, all in William M. Goodwin's Second Addi- 
tion to Urbana, Illinois. .78 acres, $10,800. 

41. (62) 1913. Lot 4 in William M. €k)odwin's Addition 
to the City of Urbana, Illinois, situated in the City of Urbana, 
Illinois, County of Champaign, State of Illinois. .4 acres, $5,000. 

42. (65) 1913. Lot 3 and the W y2 of Lot 2 in WiUiam 
M. Goodwin's Addition to the City of Urbana, Illinois. .4 acres, 
$11,000. 

43. (63) 1913. Lot 4 in Block 6 in the Urbana Railroad 
Company's Addition to Urbana. .2 acres, $3,500. 

44. (64) 1913. AU.of lot 5 in Block 6 in the Urbana RaU- 
road Company's Addition to Urbana except by the E 1 foot 
thereof. .2 acres, $2,600. 

45. (76) 1913. The N 115 ft. of Lot 6 and the E 1 foot of 
Lot 5 in Block 6 in the Urbana Railroad Company's Addition 
to Urbana. .15 acres, $3,000. 

46. (66) 1913. The E Vg of the S 60 ft. of the N 1241/2 
ft. of Lot 2 of William M. Ck)odwin's 1st Addition to Urbana. 

The N 59y2 ft. of the S 1191/2 ft of Lot 1 in William M. 
Goodwin's Addition to Urbana. 



Digitized by 



Google 



66 Sixteen Tears at the UniverHty of lUinois 

The E 77 ft to Lot 2 in Block 2 in Porpee, Cortifls and 
Somers Addition of onMots to the City of Urbana. .85 acres, 
H450. 

47. (67) 1913. The S 55 ft. of the E 1/2 of Lot 2 of William 
M. (Goodwin's Addition to the City of Urbana, situated in the 
City of Urbana, County of Champaign, and State of Illinois. 
.12 acres, $1,500. 

48. (68) 1913. The N V2 of Lots 1 and 2 in Block 4 in 
the Urbana Railroad Company's Addition to Urbana, situated 
in the City of Urbana, County of Champaign, and State of 
Illinois. .2 acres, $3,500. 

49. (69) 1913. The N 60 ft. of Lot 1 of William M. Good- 
win's Addition to the CSty of Urbana. .2 acres, $1,450. 

50. (70) 1913. The S 60 ft of Lot 1 of WiUiam M. Ck>od- 
win's Addition to Urbana, Illinois, situated in the City of 
Urbana, County of Champaign and State of Illinois. .2 acres, 
$1,800. 

51. (71) 1913. Lot 7 in Block 55 in the Seminary Addi- 
tion to the City of Urbana, Illinois. .15 acres, $5,000. 

52. (72) 1913. Lot 8 in Block 55 in the Seminary Addi- 
tion to Urbana, situated in the City of Urbana, CJounty of Cham- 
paign and State of Illinois. .15 acres, $6,800. 

53. (73) 1913. Lot 9 in Block 55 in the Seminary Addi- 
tion to Urbana, Illinois. .15 acres, $4,800. 

54. (74) 1913. Lot 5 in Block 55 in the Seminary Addi- 
tion to Urbana, Illinois. .15 acres, $2,500. 

55. (75) 1914. Lot 6 in Block 55 in the Seminary Addi- 
tion to the City of Urbana, Illinois. .15 acres, $2,850. 

56. (78) 1914. Lot 3 in Block 55 in the Seminary Addi- 
tion to the City of Urbana, Illinois. .15 acres, $2,600. 

57. (79) 1914. Block 6 of J. S. Wright's Addition to the 
City of Champaign, except the N 14 ft. thereof. 1.16 acres, 
$14,000. 

58. (80) 1913. Beginning at the S E corner of Sec 18, 
Twp 19 N, R 9 E of 3d P. M., thence N 52 rods, thence W 40 
rods, thence S 52 rods, thence E 40 rods to the place of begin- 
ning, and containing 13 acres more or less. 13 acres, $20,481.33. 

59. (81) 1913. N W lA of Sec 20, Twp 19 N, R 9 E of 
3d P. M., situated in County of Champaign, State of Illinois. 
160 acres, $160,000. 



Digitized by 



Google 



Land 67 

60. (84) 1913. N W ^ of S W l^ of Sec 20, Twp 19 N, 
R 9 E of 3d P. M. 40 acres, $24,000. 

61. (83) 1913. The S V2 of the S W 14 of Sec 20, Twp 
19 N, R 9 E of 3d P. M. 80 acres, $48,000. 

62. (82) 1913. The N E l^ of the S W 14 of Sec 20, Twp 
19 N, R 9 E of the 3d P. M., containing 40 acres. 40 acres, 
$24,074.13. 

63. (85) 1913. Lot 2 of a Subdivision of the S 1^ of Sec 13, 
Twp 19 N, R 8 E of the 3d P. M. 10 acres, $7,705,81. 

64. (90) 1914. Lots 5 and 6 in Block 1, in Joseph Nelson's 
Addition to Urbana, described as commencing at a point on Sec 
line 16 rods W of the N E comer of the N W 14 of the N E 14 
of Sec 18, Twp 19 N, R 9 E of the 3d P. M., thence W 8 rods, 
thence S 10 rods, thence E 8 rods, thence N 10 rods to be- 
ginning. .4 acres, $10,000. 

65. (87) 1914. Lot 23 in the Forestry Heights Addition 
to the C!ity of Urbana. .22 acres, $3,601.59. 

66. (88) 1914. Lot 24 of the Forestry Heights Addition to 
Urbana, Illinois. .22 acres, $3,601.59. 

67. (89) 1914. Lot 25 in the Forestry Heights Addition 
to Urbana, Illinois. .22 acres, $3,601.60. 

68. (93) 1915. Lots 1, 2 and 3, Block 6 in the Urbana Rail- 
road Company's Addition to the City of Urbana, Illinois; being 
a part of the N E 14 of the N E 14 of Sec 18, Twp 19 N, R 9 E 
of 3d P. M. .6 acres, $10,116.88. 

69. (94) 1915. S 5 acres of Lot 9, also the S 3.73 acres of 
Lot 10, also all of Lot 12 in William Williamson's Subdivision 
of the W y2 of the S W l^ of Sec 18, Twp 19 N, R 9 E of 3d 
P. M. Also beginning at a point 6.22 chains N of the S W 
comer said Sec 18, running thence N 7.08 chains to a stone, 
thence E 9.35 chains to a stone, thence S 7.08 chains to a stone, 
thence W 9.35 chains to place of beginning. 32.35 acres, $50,000. 

70. (110) 1916. Lots 1, 2 and 3 of Joseph Nelson's Addi- 
tion to Urbana, as shown by plat dated May 1, 1869, and re- 
corded in Book 18, page 224 of the Records of Champaign 
County, Illinois, in the City of Urbana. .6 acres, $12,000. 

71. (101) 1916. The S E i/4 of N E 1/4 and the N E % 
of S E 14 of Sec 24, Twp 19 N, R 8 E of 3d P. M., and all that 



Digitized by 



Google 



68 Sixteen Tears at the University of Illinois 

part of the S W 14 of the N W ^4 and all that part of the 
N W 14 of the S W 14 of Sec 19, Twp 19 N, R 9 E of 3d P. M., 
lying W of the public highway known as the 1st Street Boad, 
sJl of said premises being otherwise described as, beginning at 
the N W comer of the S E 14 of the N E 14 of Sec 24, thence 
S 160 rods, thence E 84 rods and 20 links, to the public high- 
way, thence N along the line of said highway 160 rods to the 
highway running E and W, thence W to the place of beginning, 
all of said premises lying and being in the County of Champaign 
and State of Illinois, together with all the appurtenances and 
hereditaments thereto belonging. 84 acres, $34,000. 

72. (97) 1917. E 35 ft. of Lots 4 and 5 in Block 4 of 
Nina B. Bronson's Subdivision of part of the E 1^ of S W % 
of N E 14 of Sec 18, Twp 19 N, R 9 E of the 3d P M. .12 
acres, $1,400. 

73. (98) 1917. Lot 2 in Block 4 of Nina B. Bronson's 
Subdivision of a part of the E 1/2 of the S W ^4 of the N E 14 
of Sec 18, Twp 19 N, R 9 E of the 3d P. M. in the City of 
Urbana. .24 acres, $16,500. 

74. (99) 1917. Lot 3 in Block 4 in Nina B. Bronson's 
Subdivision of a part of the E % of the S W 14 of the N E 14 
of Sec 18, Twp 19 N, R 9 E of the 3d P. M., situated in the 
City of Urbana. .24 acres, $3,869. 

75. (100) 1917. The S Vg of the N W ^4 of the S W ^ 
of the N 1/2 of the S W 34 of the S W 14 of Sec 1, Twp 19 N, 
R 9 E of the 3d P. M., in the County of Champaign and State 
of Illinois. 40 acres, $12,000. 

75a. (115)* 1918. The N 1/2 of the N W 14 of the S W ^ 
of Sec 1, Twp 19 N, B 9 E of the 3d P. M. (Adjoins and com- 
pletes the previous item; used for research in natural science.) 
20 acres, $6,000. 

76. (102) 1917. The N 1/2 of S W Va of Block 13 of J. S. 
Wright's Addition to the City of Champaign. .34 acres, $6,500. 

77. (103) 1917. Lots 70 and 75 in College Place, an Addi- 
tion to the City of Champaign, being a part of the N W frac- 
tional quarter of the S W 14 of Sec 18, Twp 19 N, R 9 E, of 
the 3d P. M. .28 acres, $3,639.14. 

78. (104) 1917. Lots 71 and 72 in College Place, an Addi- 
tion to the City of Champaign, being a part of the N W frac- 



*Comptroller'8 Report, 1919, p. 48 



Digitized by 



Google 



Land 69 

tional quarter of the S W 14 of Sec 18, Twp 19 N, R 9 B of 
the 3d P. M. .31 acres, $6,005.58. 

79. (108) 1918. Lots 73 and 74 in CoUege Place Addi- 
tion to the City of Champaign, Illinois. .31 acres, $6,231.34. 

80. (Ill) 1918. Lot Four (4) in Block 55 in the Seminary 
Addition to the City of Urbana, Illinois. .15 acres, $3,250. 

81. (112) 1918. The S V2 of Lots 1 and 2 in Block 4 of the 
Urbana Railroad Company's Addition to Urbana, Illinois. J2 
acres, $2,400. 

IV. Land Acquired Outstoe Urbana and Champaign 

1904 TO 1920 : 

■' « 

1. In Chicago 

82. (96) 1913. Lots 15 and 16, 17, 18 in Balestier's 
Subdivision of Block 23 in Ashland 2nd Addition to Chicago 
according to the plat entitled ''Balestier's subdivision of Blocks 
11, part of 14, 18, E V2 of 19, 22 and all of 23 in Ashland 2nd 
Addition to Chicago, recorded in the Recorder's Office of Cook: 
County, in the State of Illinois in Book 166 of Maps, pages 70^ 
and 71, and recorded in the same office in Book 14 of Plats;, 
page 85: Also Lots 1 to 7 inclusive, in Block 23, also sublots 
1 to 7 inclusive of Lots 19 to 25 inclusive, in Block 23 and the 
vacated alley running N and S through said Block 23 in the 
Ashland 2nd Addition to Chicago, in the W ^^ of the N E 14 
of Sec 18, Twp 39 N, B 14 E of the 3d P M, including the build- 
ings thereon, together with the furniture, fixtures and apparatus 
therein, and all the right of way over any alleys adjacent to 
said buildings now held by the grantor. 1.16 acres, $60,000. 

83. (95) 1915. Lots 14, 15 and 16 in Carpenter's Re-sub- 
division of the W half of Block 5 in Assessor's Division of the 
E half of the S E l^ of Sec 18, Twp 39 N, R 14 E of the 
3d P. M. .21 acres, $16,000. 

84. (95-A) 1915. Lots 12 and 13 and the S 1 and 3-12 ft. 
of Lot 14 in the Re-subdivision of the W ^ of Block 5 in the 
Assessor's Division of the E 1^ of the S E l^ of Sec 18, Twp 
39 N, R 14 E of the 3d P. M. .14 acres, $9,000. 

85. (95-B) 1915. Lots 9, 10, 11 in Carpenter's Re-sub- 
division of W 1/^ of Block 5 in Hadduck's Subdivision into 



Digitized by 



Google 



70 Sixteen Tears at the University of Illinois 

Blocks 4, 5 and 17 of that part of E % of S E 14 of Sec 18, 
Twp 39 N, R 14 E of the 3d P. M., set oflP to said Hadduck in 
partition of said tract by order of Superior Court of Chicago, 
July 7, 1859, Cook County. .21 acres, $10,000. 

86. (105) 1917. Lots 7 and 8 and the N 10 ft. of Lot 6, 
with the improvements situate thereon, known as numbers 721 
and 725 S. Wood Street, Chicago, Illinois, in the Be-subdivision 
of the W 1^ of Block 5 in the Assessor's Division of the E y^ 
of the S E 14 of Sec 18, Twp 39 N, R 14 E of the 3d P. M. .17 
acres, $16,676.67. 

87. (106)1917. Lots 4 and 5 in Eisenstein's Be-subdivision 
of Lots 1, 2, 3 and 4 and S 15 ft. of Lot 5 in Carpenter's Be- 
subdivision of the W ^ of Block 5 in Assessor's Division of 
E Va of S E l^ of Sec 18, Twp 39 N, B 14 E of the 3d P. M. .13 
acres, $14,248.33. 

87a. (113)^ 1918. Lot 9 in the E Vg of Block 5, in Had- 
duck 's subdivision of Blocks 4, 5, and 17, in the Assessor's Di- 
vision of the E 1/2 of the S E ^ of Sec 18, Twp 39 N, B 14 E 
of the 3d P. M. (Located at 720 S. Hermitage Ave., Chicago.) 
.07 acres, $1,337.50. 

87b. (114)* 1918. The N 10 feet of Lot 5 and the S 15 
feet of Lot 6 in the Be-subdivision of the W % of Block 5 in 
the Assessor's Division of the E V^ of the S E l^ of Sec 18, 
Twp 39 N, B 14 E of the 3d P. M. (Located at 727-729 S. 
Wood St., Chicago.) .07 acres, $1,800. 

2. Experiment Fields 

88. (29) 1905. Beginning at a point 20 ft. E of the N W 
comer of the N W l^ of the N E i/4 of Sec 9, run thence S 
350 ft., thence E 1062 ft. to the W line of the right-of-way of 
the Cleveland, Cincinnati, Chicago & St. Louis Bailway Com- 
pany, thence run along the said line of right-of-way in a north- 
westerly direction 1173 ft., thence run in a southwesterly direc- 
tion in the S W % of the S E 14 of Sec 4, 868 ft. to the place 
of beginning, containing 16 acres more or less. All of said 



*ComptroUer'8 Beport, 1919, page 48 



Digitized by 



Google 



Land 71 

land is situated in Twp 13 S of the base line, B 3 E of 3d P M. 
16 acres, $320.*« 

89. (31) 1909. The S 15 acres ofNEViNW34Sec22, 
Twp 8 S, R 6 E, 3d P. M. 15 acres, $750.*8 

90. (32) 1909. The E i/g of the S E 14 of the S W 14 of 
Sec 11, Twp 5 S and R 3 E of 3d P. M. 20 acres, $1,000.^8 

91. (33) 1909. W 1^ S W l^ Sec 36 (except 10 acres ont 
of N E comer) also tract commencing at point 12 chains S of 
N W comer ofEy^SWy^ Sec 36, Twp 4 N, R 10 E, thence 
running S 28 chains and 19 links, thence E 4 chains and 26 links, 
thence N 28 chains and 19 links, then W 4 chains and 26 links 
to the beginning; contains 12 acres more or less; also another 
tract commencing at the N E comer S E 14 S^ 35, Twp 4 N, 
R 10 E, thence S 40 chains to the Twp line (Twp 4), thence 
W 1 chain, thence N 40 chains, thence E 1 chain to beginning 
(except 11 acres at N W comer). 86 acres, $4,875. 

92. (34) 1909. 15 acres of land in N E comer of the N E 14 
of Sec 11, Twp 28 N, R 1 E of the 3d P. M., said tract of land 
being more particularly described as follows : Beginning at the 
N E comer of the said N E 1/4 of Sec 11, running thence W 
along the N line of said N E l^ 80 rods, thence S parallel with 
the E line of said Sec 11 30 rods, thence E parallel with the N 
line of said Sec 11, 80 rods to the E line of said Sec 11, thence 
N along the E line of said N E 14 of Sec 11, 30 rods to the 
place of beginning. 15 acres, $3,000.*® 

93. (35) 1909. Commencing at the N E comer of the N W 
14 of Sec 36, Twp 18 N, R 10 E of 4th P. M., County of Bureau 
and State of Illinois, thence W along the N line of said ^ section 
60 rods, thence S 53-1/3 rods, thence E 60 rods, thence N along 
the E line of said 14 section 53-1/3 rods to a point of beginning 
comprising a tract of 20 acres. 20 acres, $4,000.*® 

94. (37) 1910. 20 acres out of the S E part of Sec 18, 
Twp 14 N, R 3 W, 4th P. M., beginning at the tile set 2 chains 
and 5 links N of S E comer of said Sec 18 and on the N boundary 
of the highway, thence N along the E line of said Sec 18, 9 chains 
and 89 links to tile set in the ground, thence W 19 chains and 
22 links to tile set in the ground, thence S 10 chains and 89 



donated for Agricultural Experiment ileld; estimated value 



Digitized by 



Google 



72 Sixteen Tears at tJie University of lUinois 

links to tile set in the ground on N boundary of public highway, 
thence in an easterly direction along N boundary of highway 

19 chains and 31 links to place of beginning. 20 acres, $6,500>® 

95. (38) 1910. A part of the N Vg N W 14 Sec 35 Twp 
24 N, B 9 E 4th P. M., described as follows: Commencing at a 
point on N line of said section, 12^4 chains W of N E comer 
N W 14 of said Section and running thence W on Sec line 15 
chains, thence S 13-1/3 chains, thence E parallel to the section 
line 15 chains, thence N 13-1/3 chains to the place of beginning. 

20 acres, $3,500.*» 

96. (39) 1910. Lot 4 in the subdivision of the W % of the 
S W 14 of Sec 19 in Twp 5 N, R 6 W of the 4th P. M., accord- 
ing to a survey and plat thereof made by Gteorge W. Payne, 
Surveyor, and recorded in Plat Book 5, page 18, in the Re- 
corder's office of Hancock Co., Illinois, said lot containing 20 
acres situated in the County of Hancock and State of Illinois. 
20 acres, $4,000.*<> 

97. (40) 1910. Commencing 13 chains and 50 links W 
of the N E comer of Sec 2, Twp 3 N, B 10 E, thence running 
W 5 chains and 92 links to the N W comer of N E 14 of N E 14 
of Sec 2, Twp 3 N, Bange 10 E, thence running S 22 chains 
and 60 links to the S W comer of a 44 acre tract, thence run- 
ning E 9 chains and 91 links, thence running N 14 chains and 
36 links; thence W 4 chains, N 8 chains and 25 links to the 
place of beginning. Containing 19-1/3 acres off of the W side 
of the N E l^ of the N E l^. 19.33 acres, $1,800. 

98. (41) 1910. A part of the E V2 of the S E ^ of Sec 26, 
Twp 22 N, B 8 E of 4th P. M., bounded as follows, to-wit: Com- 
mencing at a point on the E line of the aforesaid section, at the 
intersection of said section line with north boundary line of 
public highway known as the Dixon and Sterling road, the said 
starting point being located at a distance of 331 ft. N of S E 
comer of said section; thence running N upon E line of said 
section 1506 ft., thence W at right angles with E line of said 
section 660 ft., thence S parallel with E line of said section 
1320 ft., to the N boundary of above mentioned highway, and 
thence in an easterly direction along the N boundary of said 



^■Donated for Agrieultural Experiment Field; estimated value 



Digitized by 



Google 



Land 73 

public highway 685.25 ft. to place of beginning, containing 21.41 
acres, more or less, also conye3ring all right and title to land 
l3dng N of center of said public highway and S of premises 
above described, all of said premises being situated in County 
of Lee and State of Illinois. 21.41 acres, $4,282.«> 

99. (42) 1910. 20 acres oflP the W end of the N Vg S W % 
of Sec 35, Twp 1 N, R 5 W, of 4th P. M., situated in County of 
Adams and State of Illinois. 20 acres, $4,000.«> 

100. (43) 1910. Parts of lots 43^ in S W l^ Sec 19, Twp 
2 N, R 6 W of 3d P. M., described as follows : Beginning 325 ft. 
S of intersection of S line of Second S. Street and E line of 
right-of-way of E. St. Louis and Suburban R. R. Company, 
thence S along E line of said railway 743.03 ft, thence E parallel 
with S line of Second S. Street 1172.5 ft., thence N parallel with 
E line of said railway 743.03 ft., thence W 1172.5 ft. to place 
of beginning. 20 acres, $3,000.«> 

101. (44) 1910. All of the N % of the S W % of the 
N W 14 of Sec 15, Twp 16 S, R 6 E, also five acres on the S 
side of the S Vg of the N W lA of the N W l^ of Sec 15, Twp 
16 S, R 6 E. 25 acres, $1,800.«> 

102. (45) 1911. Twenty acres off the S side of the N E 14 
of the N E ^ of Sec 1, Twp 6 N, R 14 W of the 2d P. M., sit- 
uated in the County of Crawford and State of Illinois. 20 
acres, $1,500.«> 

103. (53)1911. TheE30acresoftheNWi4oftheNE^ 
of Sec 3, Twp 6 N, R 9 E of 3d P. M., situated in the County of 
Jasper. 30 acres, $1,800.«> 

104. (54) 1911. Commencing at a point on the N line of 
Sec 15, Twp 11 N, R 1 E of 3d P. M., 1718 ft W of the N E 
comer of the N W 1/4 of said Sec 15, thence easterly along said 
N line of said section (on or near the centre line of the public 
highway) 1652 ft. thence southerly 33 ft. more or less to the 
S line of said public highway, thence southerly on a line parallel 
with the E line of said N W l^ of said Section 740 ft., thence 
westerly on a line parallel with the said N line of said section 
1652 ft more or less to the E line of the public highway laid 
out and dedicated to the public by Baldwin & Baldwin, thence 



"Donated for Agricaltural Experiment Field; estimated value 



Digitized by 



Google 



74 Sixteen Tears at the University of lUinois 

N along the E line of said last mentioned highway 740 ft., to 
the S line of said public highway along the N line of said Sec- 
tion, thence N 33 ft. more or less, to the place of beginning; 
containing in all 29.31 acres more or less, situated in the County 
of Christian and State of Illinois. 29.31 acres, $3,000.«i 

105. (55) 1911. The S 1/2 of the S W 14 of the S W 14 of 
Sec 22, Twp 21 N, R 3 W of the 3d P. M., in Logan County, 
State of Illinois, being 20 acres more or less, for the purpose 
of an experiment farm or field. 20 acres, $4,500.*^^ 

106. (57) 1912. The E Vg of the N E 14 of the S E ^ 
of Sec 9, Twp 5 S, R 8 E of the 3d P. M., White County, Illinois, 
20 acres, $l,500.«^i 

107. (58) 1912. Twenty-four (24) acres off the W end 
of the S y2 of the N E l^ of Section 18, Twp 1 N, R 11 E. 
24 acres, $l,920.«^i 

108. (59) 1912. A part of the E y2 of the S E ^ of 
Sec 22, Twp 17 N, R 13 W of the 2d P. M., beginning at the 
S W comer of said E 1^ of said S E ^, thence E on the S line 
thereof 30.3 rods, thence N parallel to the W line of said E % 
to the S boundary line of the right-of-way of the Chicago & 
Eastern Illinois R. R. as the same is now located across said 
E y^, thence southwesterly along said S boundary line of said 
right-of-way to the W line of said E 1^ of said S E 1^, thence 
S with the W line of said E 1^ to the place of beginning, situ- 
ated in the County of Vermilion in the State of Illinois, hereby 
releasing and waiving all rights under and by virtue of the 
Homestead Exemption Laws of this State. 20 acres, $6,500.^^ 

109. (60) 1913. 17 acres of even width off the S side of 
the N E l^ of the S W 1^ of Sec 31, Twp 10, R 9 E, of 3d 
P. M., situated in the County of Cumberland. 17 acres, $1,600.'^ 

110. (61) 1913. Commencing at a point 1193.5 ft. W of 
the S E comer of the N W 1^ of Sec 23, Twp 11 N, R 5 W 
of the 4th P. M., and mnning thence W 907.5 ft., thence N 962.5 
ft., thence E 907.5 ft., thence S 962.5 ft. to the place of begin- 
ning, containing twenty acres more or less. 20 acres, $500.'* 

111. (77) 1914. A part of the W half of the S W ^ of 
Sec 34, Twp 16 N, R 11 E of 4th P. M., described as follows. 



^Donated for Agrieultural Experiment Field; estimated value 



Digitized by 



Google 



Land 75 

to- wit: Commencing at a point on the E line of the W i^ 
S W 14 of said Sec 34, 150 ft. S of the N E corner of the said 
W 1/2 of said S W 14 Section, and running thence W 435.92 
ft., thence S 177.52 ft., thence W 133 ft., to a point which is 
327.52 ft. S of the N W comer of Lot 2 in the S W 14 of 
said Sec 34, and thence S 1180.61 ft., thence E 562.92 ft., and 
thence N to the point of beginning containing 17.093 acres 
more or less. 17.093 acres, $4,000.«^2 

112. (86) 1913. Commencing at the S W comer of the 
N W 34 of Sec 31, Twp 36 N, R 10 E of the 3d P. M., thence 
B on the S line of said i/i section, 2,050 ft., thence N on a line 
parallel with the W line of said ^ section 658.75 ft. ; thence 
W on a line parallel with the S line of said ^ section, 2,050 ft. 
to the W line thereof, and thence S on the W line of said % 
section 658.75 ft. to the place of beginning; also commencing 
at the N E comer of the 31 acre tract above described, and 
running thence W on the N line thereof 3 rods, thence N to 
the center of the Plainfield Road, thence southeasterly in the 
center of said road to a point directly N of the place of be- 
ginning and thence S 100.75 ft. to the place of beginning. 31 
acres, $8,000.«^2 

113. (91) 1914. The N 20 acres of the W Vg of the N W 14 
of Sec 18, Twp 14 N, R 5 B of the 4th P. M. 20 acres, $5,000.'^2 

114. (92) 1915. A tract of land in the S E 14 of S E 14 
of Sec 36, Twp 4 S, R 6 W, Randolph County, Illinois, more 
particularly described as : Beginning at a stone at N W comer 
of S E 14 of the S E 14 of Sec 36, thence running E along the 
N line of said S E 14 of the S E i^ of Sec 36 for a distance 
of 1177.5 ft., thence S parallel to and 147.5 ft. W of E line of 
Sec 36 for a distance of 727.5 ft., thence W parallel to and 
692.5 ft. N of the S line of Sec 36 for a distance of 1181 ft. 
to the W line of said S E i^ of S E 14 of Sec 36, thence N 
along said W line of the S E 14 of S E 14 of Sec 36 for a 
distance of 727.5 ft. to the point of beginning. 20 acres, 
$3,000." 

115. (107) 1917. The W part of the E Vg of the S E i^ 
of Sec 14, Twp 12 S, R 8 E, and more particularly described 



'^Donated for Agrieoltaral Experiment iHeld; estimated valae 



Digitized by 



Google 



76 Sixteen Years at the University of Illinois 

by metes and bounds as follows: Beginning at the S W cor- 
ner of the S E 14 of S E 14 of above Sec, thence running 
N 79 degrees, E 4.00 chains, thence N 58 degrees, E 7.70 chains, 
thence N 21.00 chains, thence W .40 chains, thence N 14.70 
chains, thence W 9.93 chains, thence S 40.55 chains to the place 
of beginning, containing 32.58 acres more or less. 32.58 acres^ 
$l,300.w 

116. (109) 1917. The E Vg of the S Vg of the S E 14 of Sec 
14, Twp 5 N, R 6 W of the 3d P. M., containing 40 acres, 
$6,000.w 

116a. (116)* 1919. Beginning at a point 13% rods N and 
287.6 ft. W of the S E comer of the S W 14 of Sec 34, Twp 7 N, 
R 11 W of the 2d P. M., running thence W 229.4 ft., thence N 
397.25 ft., thence W 62% rods, thence S 620 ft., thence E 76/57 
rods, thence N 222% ft. to place of beginning. (Located near 
Palestine, Crawford County, Illinois.) 15 acres, $1,500. ^ 

3. Land Acquired bt Gift fob Spbcial Purpose 

117. 1914. TheSWi4andWy2ofSEi4ofSec26,Twp 
20 N, R 10 E of 3d P. M., Champaign County, (near St. Joseph, 
Illinois). 240 acres, $54,000." 

118. 1914. Champaign County— All that part of N % of 
Sec 23, Twp 22 N, R 9 E of 3d P. M., which lies west of the 
Illinois Central right-of-way. 214 acres, $53,000.^* 

119. 1914. The N W 34 and S 1/2 of N E l^ Sec 31, Twp 
22 N, R 8 E of 3d P. M., less Illinois Central right-of-way, Cham- 
paign County. (Adjoining Fisher, Illinois.) 234.19 acres,. 
$72,000." 

120. 1914. The E 1/2 of S W 14 of Sec 14, Twp 19 N, R 8 E 
of 3d P. M., Champaign County. (Adjoining Champaign, Illi- 
nois.) 80 acres, $36,000." 



•ComptroUer'g Beport, 1919, p. 48 

^n^onated for Agricultural Experiment Field; estimated value 

^Donated by Captain T. J. Smith of Champaign to provide funds 

for the erection of a Memorial Music Building; estimated value. Bee 

Comptroller's Beport, 1918, p. 104 



Digitized by 



Google 



CHAPTER III 
BUILDINGS AND EQUIPMENT 

One of the items contained in the offer of Champaign County 
in 1867 to secure the location of the University was **the Urbana 
and Champaign Institute buildings and grounds." There was 
however but one building — a brick structure one hundred 
twenty-five feet in length and five stories in height. According 
to the early catalogs of the University, the public rooms of this 
building were sufScient for the accommodation of over four 
hundred students and it had private study and sleeping rooms 
for one hundred thirty. 

The first legislature which met after the organization of the 
University appropriated $25,000 for bams, tools, etc., for the 
agricultural department, and $20,000 for a greenhouse, bams, 
trees, etc., for the horticultural department. The next legisla- 
ture, meeting in 1871, appropriated $25,000 for a building to 
be used as a drill hall for the military department and as a 
shop for the department of mechanical science and engineering. 
It appropriated also the first $75,000 for a main building to 
cost $150,000.* The next legislature, however, appropriated only 
$41,550 for the completion and equipment of the latter building.^ 

Succeeding legislatures appropriated funds from time to time 
for the erection of minor buildings, but with the exception 
of a chemical laboratory in 1878 costing $40,000 no large build- 
ing was provided for during the sixteen years from 1873 to 1889. 
In the latter year $10,000 was appropriated for an armory, and 
scarcely a legislature since that time has failed to provide funds 
for one or more University buildings. 

A complete list of the principal buildings which have been 
erected by the University and which are still in use is here 
given. 

It should be added that besides the buildings enumerated in 
the following lists certain others no longer in existence have 
been occupied by the University for various periods of time. 



*Eept., Univ. of HL, 1870-71, pp. 15-16 
*Bept., Univ. of HI., 1872-3, p. 148 

77 



Digitized by 



Google 



78 Sixteen Tears at the University of Illinois 

Thus the original ''Champaign and Urbana Institute building '^ 
was used from 1868 until 1880, but was so badly damaged by 
storms during the spring of the latter year* that it could not 
longer be occupied and was soon afterward razed. 

In 1899 the building which had been erected in 1872 at a cost 
of $25,000 to accommodate the wood shops and to serve as a 
drill hall was totally destroyed by fire.* 

Fire destroyed also the Experiment Station bam in 1889*^ 
and the Animal Husbandry bam in 1910.^ 

In August of 1890 the Chemical Laboratory was damaged to 
the extent of $40,000 by fire caused by lightning, and in the 
following June the University suffered a loss of $75,000 by the 
partial destruction of the Natural History building by fire orig- 
inating in the same manner.'' 

It should be noted that, although the University is not per- 
mitted to insure its buildings, on the theory that "the state is 
carrying its own insurance," no fund is provided for replacing 
automatically any building that has been burned, nor can the 
necessary funds be taken from the state treasury for this pur- 
pose except by specific appropriation at some subsequent legis- 
lative session. 

UNIVEBSITY BUILDINGS ERECTED FBOM 1867 TO 1904 
Date of Original 

Erection CoBt 

1873 University Hall $ 150,000 

1878 Law Building (formerly Ghemiatry Laboratory) 40,000 

1890 Men's Gymnasium Annex (formerly Armory) 16,000 

1890 Implement Shed (South Farm) 500 

1890 Animal Husbandry House (South Farm) . . ; 1,500 

1892 Natural History Building 70,000 

1893 Dairy Bam (Pure Bred Cattle) 7,500 

1894 Engineering HaU 160,000 

1895 Metal Shops 20,000 

1895 Horse Bam (General) 3,090 

1896 Observatory 16,000 

1896 President's House (old) 16,000 



«Bept., Univ. of lU., 1880, p. 17 

*Rept., Univ. of HI., 1900, p. 301 

•Kept., Univ. of HI., 1890, p. 95 

•Kept., Univ. of HI., 1912, p. 506 

^Alumni Becord, Univ. of 111., 1913, pp. 46, 47 



Digitized by 



Google 



Buildings and Equipment 79 

Date of Original 

Erection Cost 

1897,1902 Old Power Plant 20,000 

1897 Greenhouse (University) 7,800 

1897 library 100,000 

1898 Electrical Laboratory 40,000 

1900 Agricultural Building 165,000 

1901 Gymnasium, Men's 50,000 

1901 Pumping Station 8,000 

1902 Chemistry Laboratory 130,000 

1902 Laboratory of Applied Mechanics 30,000 

1902, 1904 Wood Shop and Foundry 42,000 

1903 Swine Sheds 2,000 

Total oost of buildings, 1867 to 1904 $1,153,890 

BUILDINGS EBBCTED FBOM 1905 TO 1920 
Date of Original 

Erection Cwt 

1905 Agronomy Field Laboratory $ 17,000 

1905 Beef Oftttie Bam 28,000 

1905 Entomology Building (State) 8,850 

1905 Horticultural Field Laboratory 18,000 

1905 Mechanical Engineering Laboratory (See be- 
low) 86,000 

1905 Woman's Building (See below) 80,000 

1907 Farm Mechanics Building 33,000 

1907-13 Dairy Buildings 21,500 

1908 Auditorium 185,787.78 

1908, '14, '17 Isolation Hospital (formerly Horticultural ser- 
vice building) 3,500 

1908, '12, '16 Agricultural Building (addition) 25,325.09 

1909 Natural History Building (addition) 165,000 

1909 Physics Laboratory 220,000 

1910 Power Plant (new) 46,780 

1911 Lincoln Hall 234,225 

1911 Work Horse Barn 1,500 

1911-16 Animal Husbandry Bams 8,850 

1912 Poultry Plant 2,000 

1912 Agronomy Greenhouse 12,000 

1912 Mining and Ceramics Laboratory 25,000 

1912 Commerce Building 101,326.03 

1912, 1914 Locomotive Testing Laboratory and Beservoir. 34,270 

1912 Transportation Building 86,000 

1912 Woman 's Building (addition) 136,308.27 

1913 Floriculture, Plant Breeding and Vegetable 

Gardening Group 88,000 



Digitized by 



Google 



80 Sixteen Years at the University of Illinois 

Date of Original 

Ereetioii Oort 

1913 Stock Judging Pavilion 111,652.06 

1913 Law Building (reconstruction) 2,460.16 

1913 Medical Building (Chicago) 155,000 

1913 Dental Building (Chicago) 30,000 

1913,1916 Qjmnasium, Men's (reconstruction) 30,554.18 

1914 Armory (new) 229,119.17 

1914 Storehouse v 1,990 

1914 Observatories (addition) 2,461.20 

1914 Library (addition) 34,739.84 

1914,1916 Gymnasium Annex (reconstruction) 7,947.82 

1914 Administration Building 146,118.90 

1914 Botany Laboratory and Greenhouse 22,607.85 

1915 Chemistry Laboratory (addition) 354,326.77 

1915 Battery F Bam 1,381.43 

1915 Pharmacy Buildings 61,022.27 

1916 Engineering Building (reconstruction) 1,737.40 

1916 Ceramics Laboratory 130,998.79 

1916 Vivarium 76,244.25 

1916 Genetics Building 10,231.30 

1916 Soil Bins 9,941.22 

1916 Agronomy Bam 3,056.32 

1917 Mechanical Engineering Laboratory (recon- 

stmction) 44,736.16 

1917 Women's Besidence Hall 180,247.32 

1917 Oittle Feeding Plant 29,625.86 

Total $3,246,421.44 

INVENTOBY OF BUILDINGS 
June 30, 1918' 

Estimated 

Date of Erection Original Present 

(or acquisition) Cost Value 
Liberal Arts and Scienoss Group 

1896.1914 Astronomical Observatories $ 17,461.20 $ 11,056.12 

1914 Botany Laboratory and Greenhouse 22,607.85 21,272.86 

1902.1915 Chemistry Building 484,747.53 407,008.84 

1905 Entomology Building 8,850.00 6,674.78 

1911 Lincoln Hall 234,225.00 211,648.15 

1892,1909 Natural History Building 240,286.62 178,447.87 

1873 University Hall 150,000.00 22,569.40 

1916 Vivarium 76,244.25 74,719.36 

. Totals $1,234,422.45 $ 933,397.38 

^t Comptroller's Sept., Univ. of HI., 1918, p. 94 



Digitized by 



Googk 



Digitized by 



Google 



Digitized by 



Google 



Buildings and Equipment 81 

Estimated 

Date of Erection Original Present 

(or acquisition) Cost Value 

ENGiNsiRiNe Gboxtp 

1916 Ceramics Laboratory 130,998.79 128,878.81 

1898 Electrical Engineering Laboratory. 40,000.00 19,760.23 

1894 Engineering Hall 162,278.40 90,566.39 

1902 Laboratory of Applied Mechanics. . 30,000.00 22,593.41 
1912 Locomotive Laboratory and Beser- 

voir 34,270.00 31,606.76 

1905, 1917 Mechanical Engineering Laboratory 85,671.90 75,425.38 

1895 Metal Shops 20,000.00 11,476.78 

1912 Mining and Ceramics Laboratory. 25,000.00 18,535.72 

1909 Physics Laboratory 220,000.00 180,050.99 

1912 Transportation Building 86,000.00 75,775.56 

1902,1904 Wood Shops 42,000.00 29,460.27 

Totals $ 876,219.09 $ 683,630.30 

AGBicmmmAL Gbottp 

1900 Agricultural Building 191,407.15 122,972.19 

1905 Agronomy Building 17,000.00 13,445.60 

1912 Agronomy Greenhouse 12,000.00 5,821.12 

1907 Farm Mechanics Building 33,000.00 25,114.46 

1913 Floriculture Service Buildings and 

Gieenhouse 88,000.00 80,366.27 

1916 Genetics Building 10,231.30 9,826.14 

1906 Horticulture BuUding 18,000.00 7,887.85 

1913 Stock Judging Pavilion 111,652.06 103,872.16 

1895 Horse Bam (General) 3,090.00 1,241.99 

1893 Dairy Bam (Pure Bred) 7,500.00 3,575.42 

1905 Beef Cattle Bam 28,000.00 21,176.82 

1907 Dairy Farm House 3,000.00 2,256.94 

1907 20 Acre Dairy Bam 3,200.00 2,497.04 

1912 Dairy Horse Bam 2,000.00 1,728.72 

1913 Dfdry House and Shop 2,300.00 2,064.86 

1913 Dairy Experiment Bam 11,000.00 9,930.54 

1912 Sheep Bams 3,000.00 2,631.50 

1912 Brood Marie Bam 3,300.00 2,871.60 

1912 Tool Shed 1,750.00 1,551.05 

1911 Feed Barn 300.00 294.00 

1912 StalUon Bam 500XK) 490.00 

1911 Work Horse Bam 1,500.00 1,267.73 

1903 Swine Sheds 2,000.00 1,238.92 



Digitized by 



Google 



82 



Sixteen Years at the University of Illinois 



Date of Erection Original 

(or aequiBition) Cost 

191« Soil Bins 9,941^2 

1890 Implement Shed 500^ 

1890 Animal Husbandry House 1,500.00 

1916 Agronomy Bam 8,056.82 

1912 Poultry Plant 2,000.00 

1917 Cattle Feeding Plant 29,625.86 

Totals $ 600,358.41 

1878 Law Builoing 48,001.16 

1912 CoHicxacB BuiLDiNO 101,826.08 

General Univibsitt Use 

1914 Armory 229,119.17 

1915 Battery "P'' Bam 1,721.68 

1908 Auditorium 135,787.78 

1897 Library 194,739.84 

1901 Gymnasium (Men's) 80,554.18 

1890 Gymnasium Annex 39,161.11 

1905, 1908, 

1912, 1914 Woman 's Building 217,232.98 

1917 University Isolation Hospital 16,758.80 

1913 1210 Springfield Avenue, Demon- 

stration Serviee, ete 1,487.50 

Totals $ 916,507.54 

1914 Adhinistbation Buildinq 146,118.90 

1896 Presidbnt 's House (Old) 15,000.00 

1917 President's House (Nevada 

Street) 17,152.25 

1917 WoHAN 's Besidence Hall 180,247.32 

Service Buildings 

1897 Greenhouse 7,800.00 

1910 New Power Plant 46,780.00 

1897,1902 Old Power Plant 20,000.00 

1901 Pumping Station 8,000.00 

1914 Wareliouse 1,990.00 

Totals $ 84,570.00 

Tenant Houses, Urbana-Champaign 

1911-1916 

806 South Sixth Street 2,275.00 

1011 Bailroad Street 478.93 



Estimated 
Present 
Value 
9,547.55 
490.00 
1,455.00 
2,935.29 
1,940.00 
29,625.36 

$ 470,116.12 

23,088.87 
91,646.17 

215,643.41 

1,687.25 

107,096.87 

127,156.96 

52,556.14 

80,278.46 

183,400.71 
15,816.40 

1,282.13 

$ 734,918.33 

140,332.59 
5,565.42 

16,898.57 
180,247.82 

4,898.04 

41,470.07 

12,422.77 

6,233.00 

1,872.78 

$ 66,896.66 



2,229.50 
427.38 



Digitized by 



Google 



Buildings and Equipment 83 

Estimated 

Date of Erection Original Present 

(or acquisition) Cost Value 

502 South Goodwin Avenue 2,700.00 2,646.00 

502% South Goodwin Avenue 2,500.00 2,450.00 

504 South Goodwin Avenue 1,683.79 1,505.91 

506 South Goodwin Avenue 1,236.83 1,105.90 

504 South Harvey Street 288.00 288.00 

506 South Harvey Street 679.48 606.97 

510 South Harvey Street 1,100.00 658.83 

1207 West Stoughton Street 940.00 940.00 

Totals $ 13,882.03 $ 12,858.49 

Totals, Urbana 4,228,800.18 3,359,546.72 

Chicago Depabtmsnts 

1913 Medical Building 155,000.00 151,900.00 

1913 Dental Building 30,000.00 29,400.00 

1915 Pharmacy Building 61,022.27 59,801.82 

Tenant Buildinqs, Chicago 

1917 1756-1758 West Polk Street 10,248.33 10,248.33 

1917 721-725 South Wood Street 13,076.67 13,076.67 

totals, Chicago $ 269,347.27 $ 264,426.82 

Grand Totals $4,498,147.45 $3,623,972.54 

In addition to the buildings actually completed by the sum- 
mer of 1918, there were various structures upon which work 
had already been commenced. The following table indicated 
that the sum of $253,959.78 had already been spent upon such 
projects up to June 30, 1918. 

INYENTOBY OP CONSTBUCTION IN PR0GBBS8 

June 30, 1918* 

Addition to Library $ 244J27 

Athletic Field 61.63 

Chemistrj Laboratory Addition 10,527.18 

Clinical Building 514.55 

Education Building 127,751.75 

Horticulture Field Laboratory ". ... 2,221.17 

HDf. Comptroller's Eeport, Univ. of HI., 1918, p. 96. Of the buiidinge 
listed above, the Education Building, Music Building, and the Artillery 
Bams have been completed (1920). The total expended at the end of the 
fiscal year 1919-20 is approximately $5,000,000 



Digitized by 



Google 



84 Sixteen Years at the University of lUinois 

McEinley Hospital 475.60 

New library 819.90 

Tina Weedon Smith Memorial Music Hall 111,126.10 

Natural History Addition 217.67 

Total $253^9.78 

tTp to the end of the fiscal year 1917-18 approximately $4,498,- 
147.45 had been spent for the buildings at present occupied by 
the University. Of this sum, $1,153,390, or about 26 per cent 
was expended for buildings erected during the 37 years from 
1867 to 1904, and $3,344,757.45, or about 74 per cent, for build- 
ings constructed during' the fourteen year period from 1904 
to 1918. 

Of the buildings erected during the past twelve years, six 
were constructed in 1905, at a total expense of $187,000, with 
funds secured in 1903. If this sum is added to the $1,153,390 
spent prior to 1905, the total becomes $1,340,390 for the first 37 
years of the life of the University. But this is offset by the fact 
that $500,000 was secured from the Legislature in 1917, to be 
Bpent during the biennium beginning July 1, 1917. 

It will be observed that during the past sixteen years, six- 
teen important buildings have been erected. Of this number, 
three are buildings of general university use, the Auditorium, 
costing $136,000; the new Armory, $230,000; and the Admin- 
istration building, $146,000. Two are designed to serve the in- 
terests of the Women students — the Woman's building, cost- 
ing $217,000, and the Women's Residence Hall erected at a cost 
of approximately $180,000. The study of the humanities was 
first adequately provided for by the erection of Lincoln Hall 
in 1911, at a cost of $235,000. The scientific interests of the 
university were given support in the erection of substantial 
additions to the Natural History building and the Chemistry 
laboratory, costing $165,000 and $365,000 respectively, and a 
Vivarium costing $76,000. To the engineering group there were 
added a Physics laboratory costing $220,000; a Transportation 
building, $86,000 and a Ceramics laboratory, $131,000. The 
agricultural group was enlarged by the erection of many minor 
buildings and two major structures — a Floriculture, Plant 



Digitized by 



Google 



Buildings and Equipment 85 

Breeding, and Vegetable Gardening group of buildings and 
greenhouses, costing $88,000, and the Stock Judging Pavilion 
erected at a cost of $112,000. The School of Music and the 
College of Education are greatly strengthened by the addition 
of the. Smith Memorial Music Building and the Education 
Building respectively. 

During this period also the Medical, Dental, and Pharmacy 
buildings in Chicago were acquired by the University. The 
value of the Medical and Dental buildings has been estimated 
conservatively at $155,000 and $30,000, respectively. The total 
cost of the Pharmacy buildings, which were purchased in 1915 
and reconstructed to meet the needs of the School of Pharmacy, 
was approximately $61,000. 

The following pages contain a description® of the principal 
University buildings erected during the years from 1904 to 1920. 

The Agronomy Building (erected 1904-5) is 50 by 100 feet 
in size, of brick and slate, trimmed with stone. It contains 
a field laboratory for crop work in which yields of experimental 
plats are studied, sample seeds stored, and specimens preserved. 

The Beef Cattle Building (erected 1904-5) is a one-story 
structure of brick and slate, trimmed with stone, 217 feet across 
the front, with a wing at either end 33 by 49 feet; the central 
portion rises two stories and is used for the storage of feed. 
Other portions of the building are used as quarters for the breed- 
ing herd, and will accommodate about 100 head of cattle. 

The Entomology Building (erected 1905) for the use of the 
State Entomologist and his staff, is a two-story building 48 by 20 
feet, with basement storerooms, and with two insectary wings 
of greenhouse construction, each 25 by 20 feet. It contains the 
oflSce of horticultural inspection, a stenographer's room, rooms 
for the assistant inspectors and insectary assistants, and a large 
fireproof vault. The glass-covered wings are equipped for ex- 
perimental entomology and life-history studies. 

The Horticulture Building (erected 1904-5) is a structure of 
brick and slate trimmed with stone, approximately 50 by 100 
feet in size. It was designed as a field laboratory for horticul- 
tural tests, and contains sorting rooms, storage rooms, and a 



•Cf. Univ. of HI. Annual Registers, 1913-1917 



Digitized by 



Google 



86 Sixteen Years at the University of lUinois 

laboratory for the mixing of spraying materials and other opera- 
tions in connection with the horticultural work. 

The Mechanical Engineering Laboratory (erected 1905) is a 
brick building with a frontage of 120 feet and a total depth 
of 182 feet, which during the year 1916-17 was changed in the 
interior to provide for a basement with an elevated or mezza- 
nine operating floor, giving a floor area for laboratory purposes of 
28,000 square feet. On the mezzanine floor is mounted all of the 
principal equipment in the laboratory ; in the basement auxiliary 
apparatus is housed. The front section is two stories high and 
together with the two-story addition to the south contains offices, 
lecture and computation rooms, a lavatory, and an instrument 
room. The main laboratory is divided into three bays, each 
approximately 40 feet wide. The middle bay is provided with 
a ten-ton, three-motor traveling crane, and the north bay with 
a five-ton hand-operated traveling crane. In the basement two 
flumes, each three feet deep by four feet wide and 120 feet long, 
together with a storage reser\'oir having a capacity of 7,000 gal- 
lons, provide for the measurement and storage of water. 

The Woman's Building (erected 1905) is in the New Eng- 
land colonial style of architecture, of reddish brown brick, with 
white stone trimmings. The central part of the structure is 
the woman's gymnasium. On the lower floor there are the office 
of the Director of Physical Education for Women, a swimming 
tank, lockers, dressing rooms and baths. The upper floor is 
devoted to the main gymnasium, which is 92 by 50 feet. The 
north wing of the building is given to the department of house- 
hold science, and the south wing provides rooms for the social 
life of the women students. 

The addition to the Woman's building (erected 1912) is a 
three-story fireproof building with basement. It is 200 feet long 
on the front and 83 feet on each connecting wing, having 43,000 
square feet of floor area. It has a large colonnade with towers 
on the front and two smaller colonnades on the north and south 
of the inner court. The addition is similar to the old building 
in finish and supplements the working space of the departments 
using it. It has two halls for literary societies and a modem 
flat on the upper floor, and an institutional kitchen and large 



Digitized by 



Google 



Buildings and Equipment 87 

dining room on the second floor. There are also ofSees for 
the Dean of Women and the Director of the Courses in House- 
hold Science, laboratories, social rooms, and space for the ex- 
pansion of gymnasium work. 

The Farm Mechanics Building (erected 1906-7) is a three- 
story brick structure containing class rooms, offices, lecture 
rooms, drafting room, library, laboratories, and tool and storage 
rooms. The third floor, which is reached by an elevator, furn- 
ishes storage room for the greater part of $16,000 worth of farm 
machinery loaned the College by various manufacturing com- 
panies and used for laboratory work. The facilities afforded 
by this building, with its equipment, make possible the assem- 
bling, testing and adjusting of all the important machines used 
in farm operations. 

The Auditorium (erected 1907-08) is a brick and stone build- 
ing for general meeting purposes. It contains an auditorium 
seating about 2,200 and a memorial vestibule. All general 
University exercises, including convocations, are held in this 
building. 

The Experimental Dairy Bams (erected 1912-13) comprise 
a round bam 70 feet in diameter with a reinforced concrete silo 
in the center, a semi-detached rectangular structure 40 by 70 
feet with a Grout silo adjacent, and a small dairy house and 
shop 26 by 32 feet. The bams are of frame construction of 
brick walls with solid floors of the mill type of construction and 
contain feed rooms, hay lofts and other accommodations for the 
experimental dairy herd. The dairy house is of frame con- 
struction, two stories in height, and contains office, shop, coal 
room, dairy room and four sleeping rooms for employees. 

Natural History Hall (old part erected 1892; addition 1909) 
covers a ground area 135 feet by 275 feet. It is occupied by the 
departments of botany, entomology, zoology, physiology, geology 
and mathematics, together with the office and equipment of the 
State Natural History Survey, and the office of the State Ento- 
mologist. A fireproof museum 51 feet by 63 feet in size, 
equipped with fireproof and dustproof cases, occupies the center 
of the building. 



Digitized by 



Google 



88 Sixteen Years at the University of IJUnois 

The Laboratory of Physics (erected 1909) is a three-story 
fireproof brick building trimmed with Bedford limestone. The 
length is 178 feet and the depth of the wings is 125 feet The 
large lecture room has a seating capacity of two hundred sixty- 
two. A one-story annex, 78 by 28 feet, contains the ventilating 
and heating fans and the machine shop of the department The 
total available floor area, exclusive of the basement, is about 
60,000 square feet The majority of the large laboratories and 
the recitation rooms are in the west wing. The east wing is 
of heavy construction and contains about 30 smaller laboratories 
for advanced experimental work. The blue print and photo- 
graphic laboratory of the University occupies rooms on the 
top floor of the building. Gas, distilled water, compressed air 
and vacuum, and direct and alternating electric currents of a 
wide range in amperes and in volts are available in all parts 
of the building. 

The Central Heat and Power Plant (erected 1902; addition 
1910) contains boilers aggregating 2,500 horsepower. The two 
stations furnish steam for heating and power to all buildings 
on the campus. A power plant containing a 250-kilowatt Allis- 
Chalmers direct connected steam engine and dynamo, a 125-kilo- 
watt direct connected Westinghouse engine and generator, and 
a 100-kilowatt Curtiss turbo-generator, together with the acces- 
sories necessary to a complete power station, supplies current 
for light and power to all parts of the grounds. The pipe-lines 
of the heating system and the circuits for distributing electricity 
are carried from the central plant to the several buildings 
through brick and concrete tunnels and clay tile and concrete 
conduits. Altogether there are now 6,213 feet of tunnels and 
9,876 feet of conduit for the distribution of steam and 48,850 
feet of single cell telephone and electric conduit. The new boiler 
and power plant provides temporary quarters for the electric 
test car of the department of railway engineering. 

Lincoln Hall (erected 1911) is four stories in height and 
has a frontage of 230 feet with two wings running back 127 
feet. The exterior is brick, stone and terra cotta. This build- 
ing provides for the advanced work of the departments of the 
classics, English, Romance languages, Gtermanic languages, his- 



Digitized by 



Google 



BuUdings and Equipment 89 

tory, economics, education, political science, sociology and 
philosophy. The first three floors provide, in addition to the 
ordinary class and consultation rooms, seminar libraries and con- 
ference rooms. On the fourth floor are research rooms and two 
museums, the Museum of Classical Art and Archeology and the 
Museum of European Culture. 

The Sheep Bam (erected 1913) is a wooden structure con- 
sisting of a main bam 36 by 90 feet, and a shed, opening to the 
south, 25 by 100 feet in size. A 6-foot aisle, lined by pens on 
each side, runs through the center of the bam. This building 
besides accommodating the University flock is used for experi- 
mental work. Its location and construction insures dry footing 
and ample light and ventilation thruout the year. 

The Ceramic Engineering Eiln House (erected 1912) con- 
nects with the Ceramic Engineering Building. It has a floor 
area of 11,200 square feet, and contains the kilns, furnaces and 
heavy machines for working days. 

The Mining Engineering Laboratory (erected 1912) is a one- 
story building having a floor area of 3,600 square feet. It con- 
tains a chemical laboratory for the department of mining en- 
gineering, and a Mine Rescue Station equipped and arranged for 
training men in the methods of mine rescue work. 

The Commerce Building (erected 1912) is a fireproof build- 
ing three stories high, 153 feet on the front and 60 feet deep, 
with a one-story annex containing a lecture room 48 feet square. 
The building has a total fioor area of about 29,000 square feet 
and houses the work in business administration with its various 
class rooms, offices and laboratories. The exterior first story 
finish is buff Bedford stone ; the second and third stories are of 
brick with carved stone trimmings and cornice. The roof is of 
tile, and the interior trim is of dark oak. 

The Locomotive Testing Laboratory (erected 1912) is a fire- 
proof building, with brick walls, 117 feet long and 42 feet wide, 
connected by a spur with the Illinois Traction System tracks. 
It houses a locomotive testing plant which consists of support- 
ing wheels on which rest the drivers of the locomotive to be 
tested, a dynamometer to which the locomotive drawbar is at- 
tached, and which measures the tractive force exerted by the 



Digitized by 



Google 



90 Sixteen Tears at the University of Illinois 

locomotive, water brakes for absorbing the power developed by 
the locomotive, and other auxiliary apparatus. The exhaust 
gases pass through a ''transite'' (or asbestos board) duct to a 
large fan which forces them through a reinforced concrete cinder 
separator; the separator removes the cinders and discharges 
the gases into the air thru a brick stack eighty feet in height. 

The Transportation Building (erected 1912) is a three-story 
fireproof building of brick trimmed with stone. The general 
dimensions of the building are 65 by 189 feet and the total 
floor area is 34,225 square feet. The first and second fioors of 
the building are occupied by the departments of railway and 
mixiing engineering, and the third fioor is occupied by the de- 
partment of general engineering drawing. 

The Horticulture Greenhouse Group (erected 1912-13) in- 
cludes (1) a floricultural group and (2) a vegetable and plant 
breeding group. 

(1) The Floriculture Greenhouse Group (erected 1912-13) 
consists of a two-story and basement service building 93 by 37 
feet, and the following glass structures: four houses each 105 
by 28 feet, three houses each 105 by 35 feet, one corridor house 
139 by 10 feet, one storage house 50 by 12 feet, and a palm house 
80 by 40 feet. The service building is of hollow tile and cement 
construction, and contains laboratories, lecture room, herbarium 
room, offices, and seminar room, as well as potting, storage and 
work rooms. 

(2) The Vegetable and Plant Breeding Greenhouse Group 
(erected 1912-13) consists of a glass house for vegetable grow- 
ing, 105 by 28 feet, two houses for plant breeding each approxi- 
mately 80 by 30 feet, a wire house 80 by 30 feet, and a two- 
story and basement service building 82 by 36 feet, containing 
laboratories, work rooms, class rooms, offices and storage rooms. 
The type of construction of this building is the same as that of 
the floriculture service building. 

The Stock Pavilion (erected 1913) is a flreproof building 54 
feet high on the front and 148 feet deep with circular ends 92 
feet in diameter and 20 feet high. The total ground area is 
30,000 square feet, and the show arena is 216 feet long and 65 
feet wide. Seats of concrete provide accommodations for 2,000. 



Digitized by 



Google 



Buildings and Equipment 91 

Arrangements are to be made providing for a division of the 
arena into three parts giving three separate judging rooms for 
instructional purposes. The building also contains dass rooms 
and offices. Stabling will be provided in a separate structure. 
The exterior is of brick and terra cotta, renaissance in design, 
the frieze being enriched with medallions of animal heads. 

The College of Medicine Building (acquired in 1913) in 
which are housed all the departments except that of anatomy, 
is a brick and stone structure two hundred feet long by one hun- 
dred and ten feet deep and five stories high, fronting on three 
streets. The building contains three lecture rooms with a seating 
capacity of two hundred each; a clinical amphitheater with a 
seating capacity of over three hundred ; an assembly hall with 
a seating capacity of seven hundred; besides recitation rooms. 
It also contains laboratories for physiology, chemistry, materia 
medica, therapeutics, and microscopical and chemical diagnosis, 
each accommodating from fifty to one hundred students at a 
time. 

A three-story annex to the main building contains the labora- 
tories used by the departments of pathology, bacteriology and 
chemistry. All of these laboratories have outside light and are 
furnished with work tables, desks, lockers and the necessary 
apparatus. There is a supply of microscopes, lenses and oil im- 
mersions and a projection apparatus for the illustration of lec- 
tures by means of stereoptican views. 

The College of Dentistry is housed in a six-story building, 
(acquired in 1913) containing three amphitheaters, recitation 
rooms and lecture rooms, laboratories, dissecting rooms, a clini- 
cal operating room and an infirmary. A parlor is provided for 
the use of the women students. The building adjoins that of 
the College of Medicine. 

The New Armory (erected 1914-15) comprises a drill room 
with a clear area 200 by 400 feet and a height of 98 feet at the 
center, the roof being carried by fourteen three-hinged arches. 
The sides are of hollow tile, and the ends, supported by columns, 
are of steel, glass, tile and concrete, with wood frame and sashes. 
The drill floor is of sufficient area to permit the maneuvering 
of an entire battalion of the cadet regiment. Provision has been 



Digitized by 



Google 



92 Sixteen Tears at the University of Illinois 

made for the addition of a balcony aronnd the drill floor with 
seats for 3,000 and for the addition of three story facades along 
the sides, flanked by towers at each end. This will provide space 
for company rooms, locker rooms, shooting tubes and class rooms. 

The Isolation Hospital (erected 1908, reconstructed 1914 and 
1917) has been used for its present purpose since 1914. It is 
a substantial one-story stucco building 27 feet by 103. The 
basement as reconstructed, contains a supply room, laboratory 
and a complete disinfecting suite, consisting of a formaldehyde 
room, a septic room, a sterilizing room, and a physicians' wash 
room, locker room and sterile room. The flrst floor is divided 
into three wards entirely unconnected with one another. Each 
ward has a capacity for seven beds. In connection with each 
ward is a nurse's room with bath, a diet kitchen, a linen closet, 
and a bath roouL Opening from each ward is a private room 
for use as an observation room or for serious cases. The build- 
ing is provided with all necessary sterilizing and antiseptic de- 
vices in connection with the wards, in addition to the equipment 
in the basement 

The Administration Building (erected 1914-15) is a three- 
story and basement flreproof building of brick and stone. It 
is 153 feet long and 66^4 f^t deep with a one-story annex, 48 
feet by 42 feet, with a total floor area of 36,000 square feet It 
contains the rooms of the Board of Trustees and the offices of 
the President, the Registrar, the Comptroller, the Secretary, the 
Supervising Architect, the Dean of Men, the High School Visitor, 
the Adviser to Foreign Students, the Alumni Association, the 
University Press, and the Information and Stenographic Bureau. 
This building is the second unit of the Commerce Building, and 
will eventually be occupied by that College. 

The Chemistry Laboratory (original structure erected 
1901-2; addition 1914-15) is a brick building. The original 
structure is of slow burning construction, and the addition, 
which will have five stories available, fireproof. The total avail- 
able floor area is about 164,000 square feet. The ground plan 
is a hollow square, the extreme dimensions of which are 230 feet 
along the front, and 200 feet along the sides. The center court 
contains the lecture amphitheatre, which seats 390. The side 



Digitized by 



Google 



Buildings and Equipment 93 

wings of the building contain the general student laboratories, 
while the center portions of both old and new structures are 
occupied by offices, class and seminar rooms, library, museums, 
supply rooms, and graduate research laboratories. The main 
store room is in the basement under the lecture room. In this 
building are located also the offices and laboratories of the State 
Water Survey and the department of bacteriology. 

The Botany Annex (erected 1914) is a greenhouse laboratory 
covering 5,000 square feet, divided into compartments that are 
severally provided with devices for controlling humidity and 
temperature within close limits for exact experimentation in the 
fields of plant physiology and pathology. To this laboratory is 
attached a reconstructed two-story dwelling, giving working and 
dass rooms for use in connection with the experiments conducted 
under glass. 

Pharmacy Buildings. — In December, 1915, the University 
purchased for the School the property located at the comer of 
Wood and Floumoy Streets and comprising eight city lots with 
two large brick buildings, connected by a fireproof central stair- 
way tower. The new quarters were occupied in June, 1916. 

The Ceramic Engineering Building (erected 1915-16) is a 
three-story structure, 188 by 65 feet, of fireproof construction, 
built of texture brick and polychrome terra cotta. The front of 
the building is decorated with colored tile panels. The roof is of 
Spanish tile, and the floor of the halls and the corridors of clay 
tile. The structure is intended to present modem achievement 
in the use of ceramic structural materials. The third floor is 
occupied by the State Geological Survey and about one-third of 
the first floor by the department of applied mechanics. The main 
portion of the building is utilized by the recitation rooms, labora- 
tories, and offices of the department of ceramic engineering. 

The Vivarium (erected 1915-16) occupies the block south 
of the Illinois Traction System tracks, between Wright and 
Sixth Streets, the main facade of the building being toward 
Healy Street. The scheme involves a main building containing 
eight laboratories, one office, and store rooms, with supplemen- 
tary greenhouses at each end, and a head house serving two 
greenhouses together with two screened houses. The main build- 



Digitized by 



Google 



94 Sixteen Years at the University of lUinois 

ing is a brick structure, two stories high, connected to the head 
house by a one story passage from the main corridor. The build- 
ing is occupied by the departments of zoology and entomology. 

The Genetics Building (erected 1915-16) is a one-story brick 
structure (located on Farm Lane and Mathews Avenue) housing 
the laboratories, offices and animal rooms of the genetics de- 
partment of the Agricultural College. The work carried on 
in this building is done principally by graduate students. 

The Cattle Feeding Plant (erected 1917) is of brick and 
wood construction, located on the axis of Fourth Street, south 
of the "Farm Lane." The lower part is a fireproof structure, 
300 feet long, open to the south. The feeding lots are paved 
with brick and extend out some 30 feet from the building line. 
The plant is used as a storage place for feed for the animal 
husbandry department, and the upper stories are constructed 
as an elevator with large grain bins, where several tons of grain 
can be elevated, preparatory to grinding, shipping, or feeding. 
In connection with the plant is a com crib of the capacity of 
12,000 bushels. The four silos to the north are 16 by 70 feet 
and open into the feed room of the plant. They are of three 
different materials: tile, concrete, and brick. 

The President's House (acquired in 1917) is located at 1103 
West Nevada Street, Urbana. It is a two-story stucco building 
in the modem English style. It contains the usual living and 
service rooms of a ten-room house, and is featured by a large 
living-porch opening into an old fashioned trellis-walled garden. 

The Women's Residence Hall (erected 1917) is located on 
Nevada Street north of and adjacent to the new athletic field 
for women. 

It is a three-story fireproof building of colonial design, with 
a total frontage of 167 feet and two wings running back 101 
feet. It will accommodate 98 girls. There are both double 
and single rooms, a suite for the matron, an emergency hospital, 
and rooms for servants. 

The basement contains the kitchen and two large dining 
rooms. There are also locker and shower accommodations in 
the basement for non-resident girls who use the adjacent ath- 
letic field. 



Digitized by 



Google 



BuUdings and Equipment 95 

In the center of the first floor there is a large living room 
with adjoining parlors. The wings on each side of the first fioor 
are at a higher line and are occupied by student rooms. There 
is a large sleeping porch at the south end of each wing on each 
fioor. 

The ground plan is a U, with the opening toward the south. 
In the enclosure there is a sunken garden. 

The Education Building, finished in 1919, is located on the 
block bounded by Mathews, Springfield, and Goodwin Avenues 
and Stoughton Street, in Urbana. The portion first erected of 
the group is 180 feet long and 56 feet wide, without the bays, 
and will front on Mathews Avenue. It is three stories high 
above grade and of fireproof construction. The exterior is of 
Bedford limestone of collegiate (Gothic design. 

The building is intended to perform the functions of a model 
high school building for 200 pupils. The plans provide for five 
standard dass rooms, rooms for manual training and for com- 
mercial branches and chemistry, physics and other science 
laboratories. There are also two small lecture rooms, thirteen 
recitation rooms, a library, several conference rooms and the 
faculty offices. 

The east member of the group will be of the same size and 
shape as the member recently constructed. The center struc- 
ture will measure 125 feet from east to west and 85 feet from 
north to south and will be connected with the east and west 
members by towers. 

The Tina Weedon Smith Memorial Music Building (com- 
pleted 1920) is of fireproof construction, with the public part 
of the interior richly detailed in the style of the Italian 
Renaissance. The entrance vestibule and foyer fon^ a part of 
the corridor system, permitting entrances and exits on three 
sides of the Becital Hall, which has a seating capacity of six 
hundred and fifty persons on the main fioor, and four hun- 
dred and fifty in the balcony. This room is designed acoustically 
so as to have a period of reverberation of 1.75 seconds when 
fully occupied. Provision has also been made for reducing the 
period of reverberation when there is no audience. On the 
second floor is the balcony with its foyer and a memorial room. 



Digitized by 



Google 



96 



Sixteen Tears at the University of Illinois 



housing the portraits of Captain Thomas J. Smith of Champaign, 
whose generous donation to the building fund made so beauti- 
ful a building possible, and his wife, to whom the building is 
dedicated. 

The working quarters for the School of Music comprise on 
the first floor a suite for the Director, seven studios, and two 
class rooms, and on the second floor eleven studios and a large 
library. In the attic, the balcony exits open directly into the 
stair halls on either side, and there are in addition, forty-nine 
practise rooms and a lecture room seating about one hundred. 
The estimated cost of the building is $450,000. 

The Artillery Bams were constructed in 1919-20 to provide 
for horses sent to the University by the Federal Government 
in connection with the instruction in Military Science. A special 
State appropriation of $25,000 was made in 1919 to construct 
these bams. 

Furniture, Fixtures and Equipment 

In the two tables which follow, a statement is presented 
of the value of the furniture and flxtures, and of the depart- 
mental equipment owned by the University in 1904 and in 1917. 

INVENTORY OF FUBNITUBE AND FIXTUBES AT JUNE 80, 1904 
AND AT JUNE 30, 1918 

»1904 «1918 

Liberal Arts and Sciences Group $27,022.95 $ 99,882.21 

Engineering Group 15,028.65 68,503.96 

Agricultural Group 77.80 48,971.27 

Law Bmlding 2,785.65 9,790.59 

Commerce Building 9,241.26 

General and MisceUaneous 24,032.10 55,587.90 

Administration 15,569.97 

Medical and Dental Buildings 8,181.87 27,452.30 

Pharmacy Bmldings 4,213.53 3,441.99 

Totals $81,342.55 $338,441.45 

*Cf . Bept., Univ. of lU., 1906, p. 36. 

«Cf. Comptroller's Beport, Univ. of HI., 1918, p. 97, ff. 



Digitized by 



Google 



Digitized by 



Google 



Digitized by 



Google 



BuUdings and Equipment 



97 



INVENTORY OP DEPABTMENTAL EQUIPMENT AT JUNE 30, 1904 
AND AT JUNE 30, 1918 

»1904 '1918 

Administrative Offices $ 7,917.42 

College of Liberal Arts and Scienees. 

General Office $ 188.50 445.45 

Art and Design 4,508.12 3,152.92 

Astronomy 9,267.00 14,727.64 

Bacteriology 6,403.97 

Botany 6,746.80 22,064.89 

Chemistry 15,030.28 55,931.26 

Classics 417.08 1,432JJ9 

Education 26.20 2,504.93 

English 30.00 2,034.42 

Entomology 8,367.02 

Geology 20,597.42 19,157.74 

Germanic Languages 14.00 869.43 

History 97.90 1,184.38 

Mathematics 332.33 3,100.98 

Philosophy 107.98 

Physiology 4,764.98 3,309JJ6 

Political Science 46.75 20.00 

Psychology 1,350.78 10,812.23 

Bomance Languages 12.00 419.85 

Sociology 747.91 

Zoology 6,479.45 21,558.12 

Classical Museum 2,839.37 11,143.20 

Museum of European Culture 11,132.56 

Museum of Natural History 10,000.00 10,429.95 

Oriental Museum 3,185.00 

Totals, Liberal Arts and Sciences $ 82,748.96 $ 214,243.98 

College of Agriculture and Agricultural Ex- 
periment Station 60,425.37 291,948.69 

College of EngineeYing and Engineering Ex- 
periment Station 

General Office 1,724.94 2,434.93 

Architecture •. 5,558.18 8,003.82 

Ceramic Engineering 18,580.49 

Civil Engineering 8,110.00 21,941.20 

Electrical Engineering 17,959.03 68,022.99 

General Engineering Drawing 1,082.19 

Mechanical Engineering 31,358.72 75,318.70 

*Cf . Bept., Univ. of lU., 1904, p. 35 

*Cf. Comptroller's Report, Univ. of HL, 1918, p. 98 



Digitized by 



Google 



98 Sixteen Years at the University of Illinois 

Minixig Engineering 25^07^8 

Municipal and Sanitary Engineering and 

Theoretical and Applied Mechanics. . . 9,902.60 55,087.60 

Physics 19,777.55 80,531.23 

Bailway Engineering 69,072.31 

Totals, Engineering $ 94,391.02 $ 425,383.44 

Colleges of Medicine and Dentistry 17,956.24 141,039.94 

School of Pharmacy 8,182.60 13,821.11 

College of Commerce and Business Adminis- 
tration •153.42 4,241.03 

College of Law 222.75 

School of Library Science 250.00 569.40 

School of Music 2,568.30 4,525.67 

Graduate School 576.24 

Academy 776J51 

Illinois Historical Survey 580.95 

General Departments 

Library 103,970.47 659,225.31 

Physical Education for Men 2,250.25 ^55.09 

Physical Education for W(mien 558.95 2,022.14 

Military 23,640.62 ^14,282.01 

MiUtary Band 439.50 10,097.43 

Health Service 846.44 

Other Departments 63.00 25,585.44 

Totals, General Departments $130,922.79 $ 716,213.86 

Physical Plant (Urbana) 88,741.95 159,237.82 

Totals fob Univbbsitt $487,117.16 "$1,972,554.88 

Although the distinction between equipment, on one hand, 
and furniture and fixtures, on the other was made less exactly 
in 1904 than in 1918, the comparison indicated* in the foregoing 
tables represents with reasonable accuracy the increase in the 
value of these items during the last fourteen years. 

For the University as a whole the value of furniture and 
fixtures rose from $81,342.55 in 1904 to $338,441.45 in 1918— a 
gain of $257,098.90 or over 310 per cent. Of the Colleges, Agri- 
culture shows the most remarkable increase, having furniture 

"Department of Economics only 

^nclades equipment loaned by U. S. Government valued at |10,- 
112.65. 

*The total on June 30, 1919, was $2,402,108.64 



Digitized by 



Google 



Buildings a/nd Equipment 09 

and fixtures valued at $48,971.27 in 1918 as against only $77.80 
in 1904. 

The total value of departmental equipment, exclusive of de- 
partmental furniture and fixtures, was $487,117.16 in 1904, 
and $1,972,554.88 in 1918. This indicates a gain of $1,485,437.72 
or nearly 305 per cent for the period. Of the various divisions 
of the University, the College of Agriculture, the Colleges of 
Medicine and Dentistry, the Library, the Military Band; the 
department of Theoretical and Applied Mechanics of the Col- 
lege of Engineering, and the departments of Education, English, 
Qermanic Languages, History, Mathematics, Psychology and 
Romance Languages, of the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences, 
all show an increase considerably above the general average for 
the University. Of the divisions for which no departmental 
equipment was reported in 1904, the College of Commerce and 
Business Administration; the departments of Ceramic, Mining 
and Railway Engineering ; and the departments of Bacteriology, 
Entomology and Sociology of the College of Liberal Arts and 
Sciences, are shown to have acquired the largest amount of equip- 
ment during the period. 



Digitized by 



Google 



CHAPTER IV 

LffiRABIES AND MUSEUMS 

The importance to a university of adequate library and 
museum facilities can scarcely be overestimated. Unless a uni- 
versity is willing to cut loose from the past with its accumulated 
knowledge, and from the outside world of the present day with 
its incredibly rapid progress in the fields of science and in- 
dustry, means must be provided for making a knowledge of the 
activities of other men readily accessible to the investigator, be 
he student or professor. 

Apparently in the early years of the University the necessity 
of providing for the ordinary maintenance of the various de- 
partments, and later, for additional land and buildings urgently 
needed, as well, seemed to the trustees to preclude the possi- 
bility of making material annual additions to the University 
library or museums. As a result the University of Illinois was 
soon outstript in this respect by its sister institutions of learn- 
ing, and it is only by following a policy within recent years of 
making annual appropriations of considerable size for these pur- 
poses, that the University is beginning to make a respectable 
showing in this essential form of equipment of an institution 
of learning. 

"Among all the institutes or departments of a university, 
none is of more fundamental necessity than the university 
library. No scientific work can be done nowadays of any real 
value, aside from those extraordinary cases of genius which oc- 
cur now and then in human history and which seem to be inde- 
pendent of all conditions and exceptions to all rules, without the 
aid of an adequate library. 

**The library, of course, contains the result of the experi- 
ence of the human race up to the present time. It is of value 
from various points of view. First of all, it saves time, inas- 
much as men need not undertake to do again scientific work which 
has already been done. It provides the assistance which a scien- 
tific man needs by putting at his disposition the results of all 

100 



Digitized by 



Google 



Libraries and Museums 101 

previous work which bears upon his immediate problem, and 
without which he could not undertake to solve it. It acts further 
as a great stimulus to scientific work on the part of the mem- 
bers of an instructional staff, and on the part of the student 
body of the University. So important is this influence that it 
has been said that a great library will under favorable condi- 
tions become a great university. Books are not dead. They are 
alive to the man who comes in contact with them and knows 
how to use them. They are the sources of inspiration and power, 
and not merely of knowledge. 

''It is safe to say that the University of Illinois Library 
is most inadequate for the purposes which a university library 
ought to serve. No man in our faculty can today carry on a 
scientific investigation in any line without running up very soon 
against an absolutely impenetrable stone wall, because he has 
not access to the entire experience of the race and he is therefore 
groping blindly in whatever he is attempting to do ; duplicating 
work which other men have done ; attempting to do things which 
other men have demonstrated to be impossible; experimenting 
without the advantage of the experience of the men who have 
gone before him. 

"The people of this State, whether for weal or woe, located 
the University of Illinois in a village 125 miles from any im- 
portant collection of books. Speaking generally, therefore, the 
library which is to quicken and stimulate and fructify scholar- 
ship and investigation at the University of Illinois must be a 
library located upon the campus of the University. 

''We need, therefore, a much larger collection of books, other 
things being equal, than does the University of Chicago, or Har- 
vard, or Yale, or Columbia, or Pennsylvania, all of which insti- 
tutions are located within easy reach of collections which in the 
aggregate are two or three or four times their own collections. 

"The following list gives the number of volumes in twelve 
libraries of the universities of this country : 



Digitized by 



Google 



102 



Sixteen Tears at the University of Illinois 



Name 


Nomber of 

▼olumes in 

Ubnuy. 


Nomber of yolumea 

in other available 

libraries in the 

neighborhood. 


Cost 
of librarj 
Building. 


1 Harvard 


882,104 
600,000 
450,000 
395,209 
384,000 
357,411 
334,400 
372,300 
270,998 
210,000 
191,000 
188,000 


1,830,000 

109,000 

3,230,000 

30,000 

82,000 

1,393,000 

1,359,000 

5,000 

8,000 

37,000 

338,000 

34,000 




2 Tale 


$ 550,000.00 

1,100,000.00 

260,000.00 


3 Ck>lambia 

4 Cornell 


6 Wisconsin 

6 Chicago 


610,000.00 
(f)l/)00,000.00 


7 Pennajlyania 

8 Princeton 

9 Michigan 




800,000.00 


10 California 




11 Brown 




12 T1Htio« 


160,000.00 







''Harvard University has access to additional collections 
amounting to more than two millions of volumes. The New York 
collections of four millions of volumes are accessible to Yale 
within a two hours' ride. Pennsylvania has, of course, Johns 
Hopkins and Washington on one side, Princeton and New York 
on the other, within easy reach: while Princeton has Philadel- 
phia on one hand and New York on the other. 

''It will be seen that the collections of the University of 
Illinois are very far inferior to those of Harvard and Yale and 
Columbia and Chicago, although all these institutions are located 
in the midst of a very hotbed, so to speak, of other library col- 
lections. It will also be seen that the University of Illinois 
is inferior in actual number of books, to Cornell and Michigan 
and Wisconsin, though Michigan does not have an agricultural 
school in connection with it, and therefore does not need the 
great segment of a university library represented by the agri- 
cultural literature of the world. 

"It is plain that the University of Illinois cannot hope to 
take its place among the great institutions of the world as a 
real center of learning and investigation until it has much 
larger library facilities. 

"The University should look forward to the accumulation 
of a collection of at least a million of books as rapidly as is at 



Digitized by 



Google 



Libraries and Museums 103 

all possible and at all consistent with due regard for other in- 
terests. Roughly speaking, it wiU take about $1,000,000.00 to 
house a million books ; and either in the form of a new library 
building which might be put up in four $250,000.00 sections, 
or in the form of an addition to and an enlargement of the 
present library building, at a somewhat similar expense, we must 
make provision for such collection. 

''Speaking from an experience of eight years as your execu- 
tive officer, I think I may say that I have had more people whom 
I have approached to consider positions at the University of 
Illinois decline the proposition because of the lack of library 
facilities than for any other reason; even more than because 
of the inadequate salaries which we offer for many of our posi- 
tions as compared with the salaries which other institutions offer 
for similar positions. 

''I have asked the University librarian, in consultation with 
the Senate committee on the library, to prepare a statement 
showing the maximum sum of money which year in and year 
out can wisely be devoted by the University of Illinois to the 
purchase of books and the cataloging of the same. In view of 
this fundamental need of all departments alike, I think the 
trustees should accept this figure, after it has been properly 
checked up and tested, as the sum which the University ought 
to ask for in the form of a specific appropriation for the pur- 
chase of books in the permanent budget of the University, until 
our collection numbers at least one million volumes. 

' ' No one who has not actually attempted to answer the numer- 
ous questions arising in every library and seminary room, as 
to what is known about this, that or the other subject, can have 
any conception of how inadequate our facilities are. To give 
a slight instance of the imperative need of this material on the 
one hand and the absolute inability of the University to pro- 
vide it on the other, I may say that the Gtovemor of the State 
telegraphed to me one day saying that a bill had been passed 
by the Legislature and submitted to him for approval or for 
veto, providing that the milk which was shipped into cities of 
a certain size in this State should be limited to that which was 
obtained from tuberculin tested cows. He desired to know first 



Digitized by 



Google 



104 Sixteen Tears at the University of Illinois 

what similar laws existed in this and other states and this and 
other countries. He desired to know further what the experi- 
ence had been where similar attempts had been made. I found 
on inquiry that our University Library could not answer any 
of these questions involved in these simple and yet fundamental 
inquiries. There was no collection of the laws relating to the 
regulation of the milk industry either in this country or abroad. 
There was no way of finding out where this kind of experiment 
had been tried in this country or abroad, or how it had worked 
out. 

''One of the fundamental distinctions between our American 
universities as a whole and European universities, is to be found 
in this matter of library facilities, and I believe that one of the 
reasons why American scholarship has limped along at such 
a distance behind European scholarship is to be found in the 
lack of such inspiration and the lack of such assistance as are 
afforded by great collections of books, which contain in them- 
selves the recorded experience of the human race.*'^ 

Proqress from 1904 to 1918 

That the efforts made during the last decade or more to 
increase the library facilities of the University have resulted 
in substantial additions to the number of volumes owned, is 
indicated by the fact that whereas there were but 66,239 books 
on the shelves of the Library in 1904, the number had risen by 
June 30, 1918, to 387,999 volumes,^— an increase of over 485 
per cent for the fourteen year period. A very complete account 
of the development of the Library during this period is given 
in the following statement by Mr. P. K. W. Drury, Assistant 
Librarian of the University:' 

A ''third of a million volumes" sounds like a considerable 
number of items. They take considerable shelf room — seven 



^A memorandum on the needs of the Library presented to the Board 
of Tnistees by the President of the University at a meeting held June 7, 
1912.— Eept, Univ. of HL, 1912, p. 595 

1>oe8 not include the 22,576 volumes in the libraries of the Chicago 
Departments. 

*A revision by Mr. Drury, for this report, of an article contributed 
by him to the Alumni Quarterly in April, 1915. 



Digitized by 



Google 



Libraries and Museums 105 

miles or so— and 600,000 cards to index them. But when the 
wide range of subjects is considered and the varied lines of in- 
struction and research are divided into this collection, each de- 
partment seems to have only begun to collect the material which 
it needs. The library dwarfs by reason of the vastness of its 
field. 

All of agriculture, all of engineering, all of science and use- 
ful arts (except medicine, dentistry and pharmacy, which have 
a separate library of 22,576 volumes in Chicago), all of the 
literature and the humanities, all human knowledge in fact, save 
theology, must be represented in this library. 

This is a broad field to cover. Specialization and concentra- 
tion in thirty-five or fifty subjects makes a large collection 
necessary. Nor will it do to compare Illinois with institutions 
which have no colleges of agriculture or engineering. 

Neither has Illinois a group of large libraries close at hand 
upon whose resources the investigator may draw, as is the case 
with Chicago, Columbia, Harvard, Pennsylvania and others in 
or near large cities. Because of this wide range of interests 
and its isolation, the 387,999 volumes now at Illinois do not com- 
pare favorably with the equipment of other institutions nor 
with that needed for efficient instruction and research such as 
is expected of an institution offering much graduate work. 

The Library was established at the very beginning of the 
institution. In 1867 the trustees bought 644 volumes with $1000 
appropriated for that purpose, and so important did this pur- 
chase seem that Regent Gregory made personal selection of them. 
But the Library's marked growth has been only during the last 
seventeen years. Until 1897 no amount appropriated for books 
was higher than $1500 per annum. With the new building then 
erected the annual appropriation was made $10,000 and this 
has been enlarged year by year through $20,000 and $25,000 
appropriations until the serious and determined effort of the 
administration to make this an important library has consider- 
ably increased that amount. The result has been a rapid in- 
crease in the size of the Library. Numbering 70,000 volumes 
in 1904, in 1918 this has been increased fivefold; to be exact, 
to 387,999 volumes on June 30, 1918. The sums actually ex- 



Digitized by 



Google 



106 Sixteen Tears at the University of Illinois 

pended for books daring the last six years liave been approzi«> 
mately as follows: 

1912-13 $46,000 191516 $76,000 

1913-14 96,000 1916-17 85,000 

1914-15 58,000 1917-18 69,000 

An important phase of this increase is not alone in the ac- 
quisition of books by purchase, but also in the development of 
a department of exchanges and gifts. A special assistant was 
appointed in 1907 to arrange for exchanges with learned societies 
and other institutions. The marked result was to increase the 
number of exchange items received from 41 in 1907 to 405 in 
1908 after one year of work; to 1,478 in 1914, and to 2,441 in 
1915. But, owing to the war, the number of volumes added by 
exchange fell to 767 in 1916, 311 in 1918, and an important 
item here has been the exchange of doctor's dissertations, which 
in the case of (German universities has brought great returns. 
Gifts likewise have increased through the systematic activity 
by the same department from 1500 in 1907 to 5300 in 1914. In 
1917-18 the number was 3,322. 

Illinois has had no accumulation of past ages, few gifts of 
worthless or undesirable material, and, of course, has bought 
only the books that have been absolutely needed. Consequently 
its stock is alive and up to date; often indeed the historical 
aspects of a subject have been neglected while its technical and 
practical sides have been developed. Only time and continued 
active purchase can remedy such defects. 

The manner of the rather uneven growth of the Library can 
be easily understood when it is known that each department 
has had the selection of the books in its own subject Limited 
funds have caused limited purchasing, and the books bought 
have been along the line of the study and research pursued 
by each department. Unequal development has resulted, but 
Illinois has a practical working library bought with the needs 
of the departments in mind. 

Since the Graduate School was reorganized in 1906, a special 
effort has been made to develop certain fields for broad research, 
and appropriate library purchases have been encouraged by the 
administration. As a consequence of the use of Graduate School 



Digitized by 



Google 



Libraries and Mtiseums 107 

funds, a secondary method of development has been used which 
supplements the departmental method. Special appropriations 
have been made for purchases which cut across the main stream. 
Thus an appropriation for strengthening the library collection 
of biographies was supplementary to all departmental growth. 

With the building of Lincoln Hall in 1909, a new feature 
was developed which has given a marked impetus to the growth 
of special departments and subjects: the seminar and depart- 
ment library and librarian. In this building are housed six col- 
lections, selected from the general library, each in charge of a 
librarian trained in the special subject. At present these branch 
libraries contain deposits as follows: Education, philosophy 
and psychology, 15,500 volumes; dassics, 23,000 volumes; 
modem languages, 27,000 volumes; English, 16,400 volumes; 
history and political science, 20,000 volumes; economics and 
sociology, 24,000 volumes. As might be expected, these depart- 
mental libraries, and the others on the campus, like architecture, 
chemistry and so on, which have a librarian in charge who is 
also a trained bibliographer, have been making noticeable 
progress in building up collections and in starting to round out 
the libraries in these subjects. 

The architectural library reflects the personality of Professor 
N. C. Ricker, after whom it was formally named in January, 
1917. Thruout the years by careful selection and buying, he 
has built up a fine working library of 4700 volumes, strong 
in general architecture and construction, as might be expected 
from the man, but well developed also in history, decoration and 
ornament, and painting and sculpture. Mathematics has sim- 
ilarly been developed by successive members of the faculty, till 
the 5610 volumes cover all the main journals and a good pro- 
portion of the literature. Law has its separate library, with 
22,000 volumes. Here will be found the reports of last resort 
of all the states, statutes and session laws of all the states, all 
reports of the appellate courts, all the published case law of the 
United States, all the Canadian reports except Quebec and prac- 
tically complete sets of the English and Irish reports. There 
is also a good collection of legal treatises, digests and citations. 

Chemistry, with 10,500 volumes of standard works and sets 
of periodicals, has been developed in all fields — organic and in- 



Digitized by 



Google 



108 Sixteen Tears at the University of lUinois 

organic, analytical, physical, industrial and physiological. The 
departments of botany, geology and zoology have combined with 
the State Laboratory of Natural History to form one central li- 
brary in these subjects. The State Laboratory is especially strong 
in entomology, with much attention given to fresh water animals 
and oligochaetes. In this Zoology has also aided, though devoting 
itself mainly to the purchasing of the sets and journals which are 
so necessary. G^logy has developed a good collection of local 
paleontology. Botany has featured the morphologic, pathologic 
and physiologic sides, rather to the neglect of systematic botany, 
which has however received attention since the coming of Pro- 
fessor William Trelease in 1913, over $3,000 having been spent 
in this field. Physics, and railway and mining engineering, have 
selected libraries of 5,000 and 4,000 volumes, respectively. 
Library science, with 3,000 volumes, strengthened in 1905 with 
the Dziatzko* library of 500 items in library economy and 
paleography, features also its collection of library reports and 
bulletins. 

In 1915 a special reading room for the College of Agri- 
culture, with a librarian in charge, was opened, and here have 
been centered the varied interests of that college, making it more 
than a reading room — in fact a real departmental library, with 
9,000 volumes. 

In 1916 a similar reading room was opened for the College 
of Engineering, and it is rapidly developing into a departmental 
library for the departments which have no special seminar col- 
lection. There are now 5,000 volumes. 

The erection of the Commerce Building in 1912 resulted in 
the establishment of a special reading room in that building for 
students in the College of Commerce and Business Administra- 
tion, in addition to the departmental libraries of Economics and 
Political Science located in Lincoln Hall, The Commerce read- 
ing room contains at the present time about 2,000 volumes. 

Just as these branch libraries have divided into special groups, 
so the books ordered have been selected by the various depart- 
ments of instruction. Being thus roughly classified by subject, 
it has been possible in placing the orders to select dealers who 



*Karl Dziatzko, librarian of Gdttingen University 



Digitized by 



Google 



Libraries and Mtiseums 109 

have specialized in certain subjects, such as mathematics, natural 
science, philosophy, etc. Such special dealers have helped 
greatly in securing out-of-print books which are so essential in 
rounding out the literature of a subject. Of course, books have 
been bought in every sort of way as best they might be secured : 
through book stores, library agents, second-hand dealers, direct 
with publishers, and so on. Liarge selections have been made 
from catalogs of second-hand books, and frequently a successful 
long-distance bid at a New York or Boston auction will add a 
prize to the library. 

The book trade has been interrupted during the war, in com- 
mon with all other business, but it is only with (Germany and 
Austria that there has been anything more serious than mere 
delay. For a time it was possible to obtain books and periodicals 
from these countries by mail, after freight and express ship- 
ments had been stopped. But all imports from (Germany and 
its allies have ceased since May, 1916. Numerous periodicals 
in all countries, however, have kept up regular publication but 
often in a greatly reduced size for each issue. The English 
trade has suffered the least and shipments both by freight and 
mail have been about normaL 

An outstanding feature of the library as a whole is its collec- 
tion of serials, covering not only periodicals, but annuals and 
reports. In 1911 a list of these was printed which ran to over 
7,000 titles. This material is the result of systematic effort cov- 
ering a period of ten years made in the sound belief that no im- 
portant research in a subject can be carried on without access 
to its development as recorded in the accepted means of com- 
munication among scholars. It was in 1903 that the first money 
was definitely assigned for the purchase of ''sets," and these 
form a very significant part of the Library. 

The general Library has also featured its reference and 
bibliographical work, with the result of maintaining a working 
collection of the important tools in these two allied lines. 

The purchase of the Dittenberger^ library in 1907 and the 
Vahlen^ library in 1913, together with 13,250 dissertations 

•Wilhelm Dittenberger, professor of classical philology in Halle Uni- 
versity 

•Johannes Vahlen, professor in Berlin University 



Digitized by 



Google 



110 Sixteen Tears at the University of lUinois 

bought in 1914, has made the Classics library one of the best 
working classical libraries in the Middle West. It is especially 
strong in epigraphy, history and grammar, in editions of Greek 
and Latin authors, and in sets of classical journals. 

The Economics library has been built up along the lines of 
economics theory, history, labor, socialism, money and banking, 
public finance, commerce, transportation and insurance. Its 
strength is shown in that it was selected as one of fourteen 
libraries to be represented in a check list on the economics of 
railway transportation. Municipal documents have been col- 
lected with much energy and care. They comprise charters, 
council proceedings, ordinances and reports of all important 
cities in the United States and in foreign countries, as well as 
city journals, and the publications of municipal leagues and 
civic dubs. The items run to over 3,000 titles. 

In addition to this, the Political Science Department has 
developed a collection of the proceedings of constitutional con- 
ventions which is of more than ordinary importance. The library 
also has important collections of the United States government 
documents, the British ''blue books, 'V the Q^rman Reichstag 
proceedings, the Spanish parliamentary papers and other official 
documents. 

A foundation of the development of an educational library 
was laid when the Aron'' library, containing 5,000 volumes and 
10,000 pamphlets, was purchased in 1913. Features of this col- 
lection are the original and early editions of Comenius, and 
the fundamental treatises of Pestalozzi and Froebel. 

German language and literature was strengthened in 1908 
by the gift of the Karsten® library and in 1909 by the purchase 
of the Heyne^ library; while the romance languages were 
bolstered in 1912 by the purchase of the Grober^<> library. On 
the basis of these collections there is opportunity for work and 
study in philology and linguistics, which has been further 
enriched by the purchase of several hundred dictionaries of all 
languages, and special treatises. 



^Dr. B. Aron, professor in Berlin Uniyersity 
"Gustav E. Karsten, professor in the Univ. of lU. 
'Mortiz Heyne, professor in €k>ttingen Uniyersity 
^ustay Grdber, professor in Strassburg Uniyersity 



Digitized by 



Google 



Libraries and Museums 111 

A few representative groups in the Modem Liangaages are 
the nineteenth century German authors, the mystics typified by 
Jakob Boehme, and the medieval French epic. Nevertheless, 
only a beginning has been made in supplying the works in the 
airman and French literatures themselves, while in the collec- 
tion of the allied languages of Spanish, Italian and Scandinavian 
the first move was authorized but a few years ago. 

English literature covers a wide field, from the old English 
authors to those of the twentieth century. Concentration has 
been possible on the seventeenth and eighteenth century periodi- 
cals of which there are the original issues of the Spectator^ 
the Tatter and the London Gazette from 1665 to 1700; on 
English fiction prior to Sir Walter Scott-; on Elizabethan and 
post-restoration drama; and on folk-lore. 

History also has an extensive field with just a few periods 
represented to a reasonable degree, such as Prussian history. 
The systematic buying of serials has given this library a grati- 
fying proportion of the 2,000 in European history mentioned in 
the Richardson check list issued by the American historical asso- 
ciation. The possession of such sets as the Monumenta Ger- 
maniae Historica and the publications of the Bussian and French 
historical societies indicates some of the source material in con- 
tinental history. 

For English and medieval history, sources have also been 
sought, such as the parliamentary journals and debates, the 
papers or ''blue books" already mentioned, the various "Rolls 
series/' and the many publishing societies, as the Camden, the 
Selden, the Surtees. 

American history has been developed naturally for the West 
and Illinois, until there is now a representative collection of early 
western travel and rare eighteenth century items, including 
copies of manuscripts and original maps. Colonial history also 
has not been neglected. The purchase of the library of H. A. 
Rattermann of Cincinnati in 1915 gave to the Library an im- 
portant collection on the German-Americans of North and South 
America and on the influence of German culture in the New 
World. 

Recent purchases in Latin American history have secured 
many standard legislative sets, and this large and important 



Digitized by 



Google 



112 Sixteen Tears at the University of lUinois 

fidd in history and economics is being gleaned by systematic 
buying. Professor W. S. Robertson returned in the summer 
of 1917 from a year's tour of the South American republics, 
where he purchased for the Library sets and books to a value 
of $5,000. In addition he effected many important exchanges. 

In agricultural literature, the Library has made a good start 
in collecting serials and reports, as well as in featuring the 
publications of the agricultural experiment stations, and the 
herd, flock and stud registers of pedigreed stock. With the 
opening of an agricultural reading room in 1913 a systematic 
growth may be expected in all these subjects. So far especial 
attention has been given to the study of soils, animal nutrition, 
landscape gardening and horticulture. 

Music and art are represented by works on the technique of 
the subjects — such books as would help in the actual instruc- 
tion. At the present time a library of organ music is being 
collected. 

Mention should be made also of the collection of a repre- 
sentative file of newspapers. Back files such as the London 
Times, 1833 to date, and the New York Tribune from the begin- 
ning, are only part of a series starting with the first newspapers 
and forming a chronological conspectus which presents a copy 
of a newspaper for each year since that early date, save only 
a few years in the early eighteenth century. 

The collection of the publications of other colleges and uni- 
versities is also very representative and of great use and interest. 
Incunabula are very sparsely represented, and their presence 
being due more to accident in being found in the libraries bought 
than to any intent in purchasing them. Maps are also receiv- 
ing attention after long neglect, and with special facilities for 
storing them, the library desires to obtain large numbers. Of 
interest in the present collection are the maps showing the ex- 
plorations in the great northwest territory in the eighteenth 
century. 

Various outside agencies are helping the library to develop. 
The Order of B'nai B'rith has contributed money for the pur- 
chase of books of Jewish interest. The Irish and Celtic societies 
are interesting themselves in the study of Irish. The School 



Digitized by 



Google 



Digitized by 



Google 



Digitized by 



Google 



Libraries and Mv^eums 113 

of Military Aeronautics located here in 1917 has caused a notice- 
able purchase of books of flying and aircraft. Books on all 
phases of the World War have been gathered from all sources. 
The recent appointment of a professor of Oriental languages, 
literatures and archeology has resulted in a notable increase 
of books on these special subjects, while for the past two years 
the literature of Italy has been developed thru the appointment 
of a head of the Department of Romance Languages whose chief 
work has been in the field of Italian language and literature. 

Prom all this it is evident that there has been built a story 
or two of a well rounded scholarly library structure. The foun- 
dation has been laid upon which such a library can be erected. 
Even a half million volumes will not give a necessary equipment. 

A university is not rated as such by the size and number 
of its buildings, nor by the charter-given privilege of granting 
advanced degrees, nor by the range of its instruction, be it from 
Babylonian inscriptions to the virus of smallpox. A university 
is judged by the completeness of its equipment of laboratory, 
library and learned men. 

The field of absolute knowledge may well fall within the 
range of the college. The university accepts this and works 
from known facts to unknown facts ; until these new facts are 
either justified or denied by investigation and research. 

The investigator must first of all plow his way through the 
present knowledge of his special subject, must orientate him- 
self, and noting its tends and tendencies, must progress to the 
end he aims at. His tools for all this must be in the library, 
as it is through books, journals, digests, reports, bulletins, etc., 
that he picks his way; and woe to him who neglects to learn 
what others may have done before him. To a large university, 
therefore, a large library is something absolutely indispensable. 
The collection at the University of Illinois has been and still 
is inadequate; only in a few lines does it approximate more 
than a primal working group of books. Hence the growth must 
be rapid, more so than it is now, if the University of Illinois 
is ever to come abreast in library resources with other institu- 
tions of its class." 



Digitized by 



Google 



114 Sixteen Years at the University of Illinois 

The Quine Libraby of the College of Mediginb^^ 

The nudeus of the Qoine Library of the College of Medi- 
cine was a collection of books given to the College of Physi- 
cians and Surgeons of Chicago by Mrs. A. Beeve Jackson in 
1892 after the death of Dr. Jackson, the first president of the 
College. 

Although nnimportant in itself, this gift interested Dr. Qnine 
in libraries as a means of promoting medical education and 
prompted him to donate a thousand volumes for the establish- 
ment of a students' library at the College of Physicians and 
Surgeons. Dtiring the years when this library was trying to 
prove its usefulness and justify its right for support, Dr. Quine 
was its loyal friend, and made an annual donation of three 
hundred dollars toward its maintenance. 

For some time Dr. Bayard Holmes, who had made a study 
of library methods, performed the duties of librarian, but in 
1895 a regular librarian was employed to classify and organize 
the library, and a special room was set apart for library pur- 
poses. 

The library has been the recipient of many donations ranging 
from single pamphlets to over two thousand volumes. This large 
gift consisted of bound journals and formed the major part 
of the collection known as the ** Columbus Memorial Library. '* 
With the moving of the **Senn Collection '* to the Crerar Library 
there was no longer need for another medical library in the 
"Loop District" of Chicago, and the Columbus Memorial Collec- 
tion was added to the Quine Library. 

By the beginning of 1902, 5,000 volumes had been accumu- 
lated, a large proportion of the books having been given by mem- 
bers of the faculty, or secured by exchange with other libraries. 
At the beginning of 1910, the library had grown to 10,000 
volumes. The growth from that time is represented by the fol- 
lowing statistics: 

During 1910-11 the library inereaaed to 10,375 Tolames. 
" 191M2 " " *' '* 10,876 *' 

'* 1912-13 *' " *' " 11,161 *' 



""A special statement prepared by WiUiam H. Browne, Secretary of 
tbe College of Medicine. 



Digitized by 



Google 



Libraries and Museums 115 

During 1913-14 the library increased to 11,701 volumes 
" 1914-16 *' " " " 14,200 " 

'* 1916-16 " '* " " 16,901 " 

'* 1916-17 *' '* '* '* 17,668 *' 

" 1917-18 *' '* " '' 18,799 " 

The periodical subscription list now numbers some two hun- 
dred and fifty English, German, French and Italian journals 
of medicine, dentistry and the allied sciences. 

A Dental Department has been added to the library and a 
small but well selected collection of dental books and journals 
has been secured. Additions are constantly being made and a 
valuable working collection of dental books is rapidly being 
formed. 

In January, 1914, a library committee, consisting of Dr. 
Dreyer, Dr. D. J. Davis, Dr. A. C. Eydeshymer, Dr. C. A. Wood 
and Dr. Coolidge, was appointed. Since the College of Physi- 
cians and Surgeons became the College of Medicine of the Uni- 
versity of Illinois the library has grown very rapidly, much in 
the number of volumes and more in scientific importance. The 
aim of the library committee has been to complete the journal 
files, but the task has been unusually difficult, owing to the war 
conditions. 

After considering the books needed by the students, the de- 
partments conducting research work have been given first con- 
sideration in the purchase of journal sets, monographs and text- 
books. 

The library, situated as it is in the heart of the medical center 
of Chicago, has an opportunity to serve a large proportion of 
the medical interest of Chicago, as well as the students and fac- 
ulty of the college with which it is connected, and the hope is 
that it may grow to meet this opportunity. 

A New Library Buildino 

The crowded condition of the Library Building in the year 
1912 made it evident that it would be necessary to make prompt 
provision for additional room, both to accommodate the increas- 
ing number of volumes, and to render the facilities of the Library 
fully available to students and faculty. As it was felt by the 



Digitized by 



Google 



116 Sixteen Years ort the University of Illinois 

trustees that the erection of a building large enough to meet 
the present needs of the University and the demands of the 
immediate future was impossible at that time, a substantial addi- 
tion was made in 1914 to the structure erected in 1897. ^^ But 
as it was evident that only temporary relief would be afforded 
by this measure, plans for a larger and adequate building were 
given consideration at the same time, to be erected at the earliest 
date that the resources of the University would permit. ^^ On 
January 7, 1913, tentative plans were presented to the Board 
by the supervising architect for a structure to be erected south 
of the junction of Wright Street and Armory Avenue. The 
plan then presented, but as subsequently modified in certain 
respects, calls for a building having its north and south axis on 
the center of Wright Street prolonged, and its east and 
west axis coincident with the east and west axis of the 
Armory, prolonged. It is proposed to erect the building in 
sections, the later sections to be added as needed.^^ It has been 
estimated that the erection of the first unit will necessitate an 
expenditure of from $750,000 to $1,000,000.*'^ The first unit of 
the Library Building was one of four structures which it was 
the intention of the trustees to build from the special $2,000,000 
appropriation asked of the Legislature in 1917 for the inaugura- 
tion of a comprehensive building program. *• The decision of 
the Governor and the Gteneral Assembly to curtail the erection 
of all buildings by state institutions during the biennium 1917-19 
will necessitate the postponement of the erection of the new 
Library Building for at least two years. 

To tide over the time until the new library building could 
be erected the trustees decided to add to the present structure. 

' ■ Museums 

At the second meeting of the Board of Trustees of the Uni- 
versity, held May 8, 1867, Regent Gregory, chairman of the 



»Eept., Univ. of lU., 1914, pp. 191, 273, 704, 725, 727 

"Bept., Univ. of HI., 1914, pp. 136, 148, 160, 259, 264, 674, 698 

"Ibid, pp. 160, 725; 1916 pp. 299, 922, 933; Min. of Bd. of Trustees, 

Univ. of HI., 1916-18, p. 100 

"Bept., Univ. of lU., 1916, p. 934; Min. of Bd. of Trustees, Univ. of 

m., 1916-18, p. 100 

^•Min. of Bd. of Trustees, Univ. of lU., 1916-18, p. 262 



Digitized by 



Google 



Libraries and Museums 117 

committee on faculty and course of study, made a detailed re- 
port which was accepted by the trustees and ordered published 
"as embodying the aims and designs of the University." In 
this report the following paragraph appears :^^ . 

'*The department of Fine Arts will require casts, photo- 
graphs or engravings of the great masterpieces in art. These 
may be obtained at reasonable rates, and original drawings, 
paintings and sculptures will in due time be added. The health- 
ful, refining and stimulating influence of such collections on the 
minds of the young must be seen to be properly appreciated. ' ' 

The limited funds of the University were evidently thought 
by the Board insufficient to permit of an appropriation for ob- 
jects of art, and an art collection when finally started came as 
a result of a campaign instituted by Regent Gregory among the 
citizens of Urbana and Champaign. In the annual meeting in 
the spring of 1874 Dr. Gregory announced that about $2,000 
had been subscribed for this purpose, and requested that the 
large hall above the library (then in University Hall) be set 
apart for the art coUection.^® 

In December of the same year Dr. Gregory reported that 
the proposed plan had been consunmiated and that the Univer- 
sity was "now in possession of one of the best collections of 
casts of celebrated statuary, and other sculptures, to be found 
in this country."*^ 

The collection comprised also "a large number of fine en- 
gravings, and a hundred photographs taken directly from the 
original paintings in the great national galleries." 

The Art Museum remained in University Hall until 1897, 
and was then removed to the newly constructed Library Hall.*^ 
Eleven years later, when the growth of the Library and the 
Library School necessitated the use of the entire building by 
these interests, the art objects were again moved, this time to 
various University buildings. Of the objects contained in the 
oi'iginal collection nine heroic antique statues were placed in 
the foyer of the Auditorium, three in University Hall and one 



"Bept., Univ. of 111., 1878, p. 60 
"Kept., Univ. of Dl., 1873, pp. 91-92 
"Kept., Univ. of lU., 1876, p. 91 
"Kept., Univ. of HL, 1898, p. 193 



Digitized by 



Google 



118 Sixteen Tears at the University of lUinois 

in Lincoln Hall ; twenty reduced statues were placed in Univer- 
sity Hall, one in Lincoln Hall and four in Engineering Hall; 
thirty-three busts were placed in University Hall, sixty-six in 
Lincoln Hall and one in Engineering Hall. The various bas 
reliefs, vases, relief heads, medallions in plaster, engravings, 
lithographs, photographs and paintings were similarly dis- 
tributed. Upon the erection of a suitable building it is expected 
that these objects will be again assembled for display as a single 
collection. 

Since 1877 biennial appropriations have been made by the 
General Assembly for "cabinets" as follows:*^ 

STATE APPE0PBIATI0N8 FOB 1869-1911 
CABINETS AND OOLLECTIONS 

Biennium Amount 

1877-79 $ 6,500.00 

1879-81 1,000.00 

1881-83 1,000.00 

1883-86 2,000.00 

1885-87 2/)00.00 

1887-89 2,000.00 

1889-91 1,000.00 

1891-93 1,000.00 

1896-97 2,000.00 

1897-99 2,000.00 

1899-1901 2,000.00 

1901-03 2,000.00 

1903-05 4,000.00 

1906-07 4,000.00 

1907-09 4,000.00 

1909-11 4,000.00 

1911-13 8,000.00 



Total $48,500.00 

These sums have been expended in building up not only the 
Fine Arts Museum already described but also various depart- 
mental museums and collections to be mentioned later. Among 
the more important additions made to the fine arts collection 



''Special Beport by ComptroUeT, Univ. of HI., on State Appropriations, 
April 3, 1913, Schedule 211 



Digitized by 



Google 



Libraries and Museums 119 

within the last ten years is a series of 81 German and Japanese 
prints purchased from the St. Louis Exposition in 1905.^^ 

The most noteworthy change in the museum equipment of 
the University during the past decade was the creation of two 
new mxuseums in 1911 known respectively as the Museum of 
Classical Archeology and Art and the Museum of European 
Culture. These have been installed in rooms on the fourth floor 
of Lincoln Hall.^ A description of these museums by their re- 
spective curators follows. 

The Museum op Natubaij Histort** 

Previous to 1909, the collections of Natural History were 
-contained in a large room in University Hall. This room was 
poorly lighted and the collections were in constant danger of 
destruction by fire. In 1909, the material was removed to the 
fireproof hall in the new addition to the Natural History Build- 
ing. Since the new hall has but two-thirds as much floor space 
as the old room in University Hall, it has been necessary to 
utilize a room on the upper floor of the Physics Building to care 
for the surplus collections. A quantity of material not affected 
by dampness has also been stored in a large room in the base- 
ment of the Natural History Building. 

In 1913, the University cooperating with the American 
Museum of Natural History and the American Geographical So- 
ciety, participated in the Crocker Land Expedition to Greenland 
and adjacent parts of Arctic America. The collections brought 
back by the expedition, including upwards of 800 specimens of 
manmials, birds, mollusks and ethnological material, add very 
materially to the value of the Museum exhibits. 

Since the removal of the collections from the old hall, much 
valuable material has been acquired. Among this material are 
an excellent series of implements of the Indians of the New 
England states, many carefully prepared specimens from the 
Pacific coast and the Bermudas, collected by former students; 
the Bamum collection of 2,000 birds eggs, especially rich in the 



•Eegister, University of lUiiiois, 1916-17, p, 60 
*Bept., Univ. of HI., 1912, p. 434 
''By Frank CoUins Baker 



Digitized by 



Google 



120 Sixteen Years at the University of lUinois 

rarer species of the southwestern states; extensive collections 
of mollusks from North and South America, including a very 
complete collection of the river mussels (Unionidae) of the 
United States ; a large collection of Pleistocene fossils from Illi- 
nois; a large assortment of gems and precious stones; and a 
collection of the more common minerals. The Museum collec- 
tions now number upwards of 200,000 specimens. 

During the curatorship of Professor Frank Smith the old 
wooden cases were largely replaced by the modem bronze and 
glass cases, so that a greatly improved appearance in the exhibi- 
tion hall has been effected. The collections have also been cata- 
loged, both numerically in book form and indexed by cards, and 
it is possible for the first time in the history of the Museum 
to know what is in the possession of this department. 

The increase in the Museum collections and the demand for 
their proper display made it evident that sooner or later it would 
be necessary to appoint a trained museum man who could give 
his entire time to the development and care of the Museum. In 
January, 1918, this was done. 

The Museum is now being developed along two quite dis- 
tinct lines. First, the exhibit series which, being made distinc- 
tively educational, include a synoptic collection of the animal 
kingdom, embracing the living and the extinct groups arranged 
in their natural orders and showing their relationships. This 
is accomplished by the aid of models, diagrams, figures, speci- 
mens and descriptive labels. A case illustrating different kinds 
of variation in animal life is exhibited near this collection. 

For the agricultural student or the practical farmer, a model 
showing the twelve most injurious insects that infest the com 
plant has been prepared. The group contains wax models of the 
com plants with the insects in all stages of growth feeding upon 
them. 

For the interpretation of the out-of-doors (Ecology) a habitat 
group has been made showing the life in and about an old de- 
caying stump. The background is an enlarged, carefully colored 
photograph, 40 by 60 inches, of the Brownfield Woods. The 
plants and other life of such a place are shown. 



Digitized by 



Google 



Libraries and Museums 121 

An economic collection illustrating the manufacture of pearl 
and ivory buttons, the former from the pearl oyster, and the 
latter from the ivory nut, has been presented to the Museum 
by a large manufacturer. It shows the processes which are nec- 
essary to produce these articles from the raw material. 

The above collections and exhibits indicate the different 
groupings into which the exhibit series naturally form them- 
selves. These will be expanded and enlarged to include all sub- 
jects that permit of display. 

The second line of development is the research or study 
series. It includes large series of specimens which are used 
for research purposes and which form the basis for papers al- 
ready published or for papers in preparation. This line of 
development is of the highest value, since the accumulation of 
type or otherwise authentic material, draws men to the Uni- 
versity for its consultation, or brings requests for the loan of 
critical material for comparison. At the present time an effort 
is being made to accumulate as complete a collection as possible 
of the Mollusca of North America, as well as material from the 
Pleistocene deposits of America. 

The time is evidently not far distant when a Museum Build- 
ing will be a necessity on the campus and the arrangement of 
the exhibits and the accumulation of the research series are 
planned with this end in view. With comfortable rooms in which 
the research series may be made accessible to advanced workers, 
the museum will become a center of scientific study, where the 
botanist, the geologist, the zoologist and the ethnologist may 
come and find material upon which to base their papers and 
books. The undergraduate student, as well as the casual visitor, 
may visit the exhibit halls and supplement the information re- 
ceived in the lectures and in the texts. 

The Museum op Classical Abchaeologt and Art^^ 

A review of the growth of the Classical Museum during the 
six and one-half years in which it has been open to the public 
must begin with the year 1911, in which the formation of the 
collection was authorized by the Board of Trustees. In that 



"By Arthur Stanley Pease 



Digitized by 



Google 



122 Sixteen Years at the University of lUinois 

year Booms 402 and 404 Lincoln Hall were put at the disposal 
of the Museum, the former a large attic room of irregular shape 
but good lighting, the latter a small and rather dark room in- 
tended for unpacking and preparing specimens. 

The academic year 1911-12 was spent in the acquisition 
of such material as the modest initial appropriation permitted. 
It was from the beginning recognized that the museum should 
have two main functions; one scientific affording material for 
use by students in connection with courses in classics, ancient 
history, private life, the history of art, archaeology and related 
topics; the other more broadly artistic, as affording both to 
students and the visiting public an opportunity to inspect and 
enjoy objects typical of the best artistic work of antiquity. 

The old art collection of the University, made in 1876, parts 
of which are still here and there preserved, emphasized the 
period of Hellenistic and Roman sculpture. Not to duplicate 
these objects unnecessarily, it seemed desirable in the newly 
founded museum to lay especial stress upon (1) the beginnings 
of Greek art in the remains of the Aegaean Period and (2) the 
highest development of the art in the fifth and fourth centuries 
B. C. It was with a collection representing chiefiy these two 
aspects of ancient culture that the museum was finally opened 
to the public on November 8, 1912. On that occasion a formal 
address was delivered by Professor G. H. Chase of Harvard 
University upon "The Relation of Art Collections to the Uni- 
versity and the People of the State." 

Since that date the history of the Museum has been not so 
much one of definite epochs as one of gradual and constant de- 
velopment. Increasing appropriations and a few generous 
gifts^ and loans^^ have made it possible to represent, at first 
scantily, and latterly somewhat more fully, not only the field 
of sculpture but also those of ancient painting, architecture 
(chiefiy through the medium of photographs and diagrams), the 
smaller arts such as glass and metals, and, by means of originals 
and models, many features of ancient private life. 



^Among donors shoold be especiaUy mentioned Mr. W. G. Hibbard of 
Chicago 

"Bj Professor J. S. Kingsley, Mr. B. P. Peadro, Professor A. T. 01m- 
stead and others 



Digitized by 



Google 



Libraries and Museums 123 

For this constant growth in the collection, increasing space 
has been required. Boom 404 was early devoted to the display 
of models and other objects of historical rather than artistic 
interest. In 1914, Boom 406 was opened for the xuse of the 
Museum and into it were put the parts of the collection belong- 
ing to the Hellenistic and Boman periods. In 1917, a fourth 
room (410) was set aside to receive the Babylonian and Egyp- 
tian materials which had until then been included with the Greek 
objects. Each of these enlargements, in addition to the extra 
space which it has made available, has also permitted a more 
satisfactory classification of specimens and a corresponding 
diminution of the heterogeneous character which must neces- 
sarily be found in a small museum of this kind. 

A detailed catalog of the objects acquired by the Museum 
would here be out of place, but a few statistics may be of in- 
terest At the present time the Museum possesses 20 casts of 
statues in the round, 14 busts, 127 casts of reliefs, 195 framed 
pictures and about 2,190 photographs mounted on cards. Most 
of the other objects are too varied to lend themselves readily 
to such enumeration, yet there may be mentioned 29 original 
Greek Papyri, 35 ancient lamps, 86 pieces of ancient glass, and 
several hundred ancient coins. The proportion of originals se- 
cured has gradually increased and in 1913-14 half the amount 
expended upon specimens was for originals. Expense analyses 
for the fairly typical years 1912-14 show that of the total 
amounts expended a little more than 68% was for specimens; 
17% for cases and framing; 12% for freight; 2% for labor; 
and 1% for supplies. 

That the number of visitors has increased as the collection 
has been developed and become more widely known, is indi- 
cated by the following table: 

Nov., 1912-May, 1913 933 

Oct., 1913-June, 1914 3,762 

July, 1914-iJmie, 1915 5,883 

June, 1915-nJune, 1916 6,210 

July, 1916-June, 1917 6,887 

June, 1917^une, 1918 6,529 

Departments and individual students alike have also used 
more extensively the facilities of the Museum. Public museum 



Digitized by 



Google 



124 Sixteen Tears ort the University of Illinois 

lectures have been tried on several occasions, but the limited 
space in the rooms and the inconveniences and dangers to the 
specimens resulting from the crowded condition have greatly 
hampered this very important feature of the work and for the 
development of a system of museum docents we must wait till 
the completion of a museum building with adequate space for 
both collections and visitors. The rapid growth of the collection 
and the frequent changes necessary in its arrangement have thus 
far discouraged the publication of a printed catalog, but this 
lack has been in part obviated by the prompt and dear labeling 
of each object on exhibition. 

On the whole, the collection has been kept a representative 
one, containing some of the best and most typical work from 
many different fields. The ampler space of a new museum build- 
ing, however, will make it possible to develop the collection on 
the side of Greek sculpture, for additions to which our present 
quarters offer little opportunity. 

The Oriental Museum*® 

The Oriental Museum was formally organized by action of 
the Board in 1917 and was opened in temporary quarters at 
•110 Lincoln Hall the next year. In it were incorporated the 
various oriental objects hitherto preserved in the Museum of 
Classical Archaeology, and to these were added by loan and by 
purchase many other originals. Already it possesses a collection 
of material from the Near East which is of the greatest value in 
illustrating the various periods of its history. Especially note- 
worthy is the large amount which throws light upon the Bible 
and upon Biblical times. 

To the museum has now been transferred the collection from 
the excavations of the Egypt Exploration Fund which was pre- 
sented to the University by Mr. W. G. Hibbard, Jr. From 
Abydos comes a complete series of vases, from the prehistoric 
times to the twenty-sixth dynasty; eight slate palettes of pre- 
historic date; weights, an offering table, a Graeco-Roman grave 
stele, and Coptic CoflSns ; ostraka with hieroglyphic and demotic 

*By Oliver Ten Eyck Olmstead 



Digitized by 



Google 



Libraries and Miiseums 125 

writing; two mummified ibises and one hawk. Pottery comes 
from Ballabish and Sawama. A head piece and a foot piece 
were found at Atfieh and mummy cloths and necklaces at Taieba. 
A prehistoric flint knife is loaned by Professor J. S. Kingsbury, 
and two scarabs and a series of small statuettes by Mr. B. F. 
Peadro. By purchase has been secured a beautiful diorite head 
of the best period, a smaller head of marble, two inscribed 
statuettes, and a collection of alabaster vases. 

The Babylonian tablets in the Museum number nearly 1,700 
and are all unpublished. Over half come from the dynasty of 
Ur, 2480-2361 B. C, and include the archives of the national 
stockyards at Drehem, the business records of the city of Umma, 
vouchers for the expense of the royal messengers, and stamped 
clay tags for the parcel post. They are dated in the reigns 
of Dungi, Bur, Sin and Gimil Sin. From Larsa come four hun- 
dred from the end of the Nisin period and the age of Ham- 
murapi. Two hundred more represent the Chaldaean and Per- 
sian period and include dates in the reigns of Nabopolasser, 
Nebuchadnezzar, Evil Merodach, Nabunaid, Cyrus, Cambyses, 
Darius. Six cones and three tablets give the royal formulae 
of Singashid of Uruk, and two student exercise tablets may also 
be mentioned. By loan from the curator come the fragments 
of bricks of Assyrian kings and of Nebuchadnezzar, also frag- 
ments of colored bricks from Babylon. By recent purchase, 
the Museum has acquired a splendid collection of Babylonian 
seals which will be shortly published in a separate volume. The 
tablets are likewise in process of decipherment. 

Through the kindness of Dr. B. B. Charles of Philadelphia, 
to the Museum has been loaned a unique collection of squeezes 
or paper impressions of inscriptions, and these have been framed 
and hung as far as the limited space would allow. They include 
all the Hittite inscriptions discovered or newly collected by 
him and his colleagues and published in "Travels and Studies 
in the Nearer East," also a Hittite stele, the records of Tiglath 
Pileser I and Shalmaneser III at the Tigris source, and the 
Bavian inscription of Sennacherib. The curator has added 
squeezes of Phoenician, Carthaginian and Palmyrene inscrip- 
tions. 



Digitized by 



Google 



126 Sixteen Years at t\e University of lUinais 

By loan of the curator, the Musenm has the best collection in 
existence of pottery fragments from the Near East, the result 
of a pottery survey representing over two hundred sites in 
every part of the former Turkey in Asia. Especially to be men- 
tioned are the groups of the earliest ware from Asia Minor and 
Armenia, the Hittite ware of the best period, Assyrian ware, 
lamps, statuettes and other minor objects. 

From Palestine come a fragmentary roll of the Law, a roll 
of Esther, a Hebrew charm, pottery, fragments of mosaic work, 
glass prehistoric flints, models of modem furniture, used purple 
shells from Sidon, two inscribed Palmyrene tessarae, the loan 
of the curator. A medical work from the middle ages, Arabic 
in Hebrew characters, is loaned by Professor A. S. Pease. 
Finally, mention should be made of the many unpublished pho- 
tographs of the Near East. It is hoped that the Museum will 
soon be able to move into larger quarters which will permit ade- 
quate exhibition of the treasures already accumulated and of 
what may be secured in the future. 

Other New Collections 
A number of other collections have been established during 
the past fourteen years. 

The Commerce Museum *» 
For its courses in industrial economics and commerce the 
University has had since 1905 a working collection of the ma- 
terials of commerce; lanterns and several hundred slides; 
political and industrial maps; and diagrams and stereoscopic 
views illustrating various phases of commerce and industry. 
Most of the articles constituting the commercial museum are 
the gift of the Philadelphia Commercial Museum, and of pri- 
vate manufacturing and mercantile establishments. 

Mmmo Engineering^^ 
This department has a complete exhibit of sized coal as 
prepared by typical Illinois washeries, the raw materials and 



"From Univ. of lU. Animal Begisters, 1913-14, pp. 75-76, and 1916-17^ 
p. 62. 

*^mv. of lU. Annual Begister, 1913-14, p. 79 



Digitized by 



Google 



Libraries and Miiseums 127 

the finished products illnstrating the briquetting of coal, models 
of a metalliferous mine and of timber and steel mine supports, 
a complete exhibit of explosive and blasting materials and appli- 
ances, the Braeger, Fleuss and Westphalia breathing apparatus, 
and all of the appliances necessary for mine rescue and first aid 
demonstration, a collection of safety-lamps and other mine light- 
ing devices, and working drawings and photographs of mine 
machinery. 

Railway Engineering^^ 

The department of Bailway Engineering has an unusually 
complete exhibit of photographs illustrating the development in 
transportation; an exhibit showing the progress in the design 
and manufacture of rails ; models of locomotive valve gears ; a 
full-sized model of the front end of a Richmond compound loco- 
motive ; and sets of working drawings of locomotives, cars and 
other railway equipment 

This collection was begun in 1906. During the past years 
1912-14 an especially large number of photographs of both 
American and foreign equipment, forms of bridge construction, 
etc., were added. 

Several other departments of the College of Engineering 
possess collections of historical materials drawn from their re- 
si)ective fields of practise. The department of mechanical 
engineering is the custodian of a 600 H. P. vertical triple-expan- 
sion engine, direct connected with an electric generator, a type 
of machine in common xuse for power station service twenty years 
ago. The departments of Civil Engineering and Theoretical and 
Applied Mechanics maintain exhibits of tested specimens and 
structures.** 



*XTiiiv. of m. Annual Register, 1913-14, p. 79. Cf. TJniv. of DL 
Begistera, 1903-04, pp. 47-52; 1916-17, pp. 60-62 

■H}f. Univ. of BL Annual Register, 1916-17, p. 62 



Digitized by 



Google 



CHAPTER V 
THE FACULTY 

The first president (or ''Regent'') of the University was 
elected March 12, 1867 and entered upon the duties of his office 
on the first day of the following month.* During thenext twelve 
months three additional members of the faculty were chosen, 
by whom, together with the Regent, instruction was given dur- 
ing the first term — extending from March 2, 1868 to June 13, 
1868.2 A year later the Regent reported that the instructional 
force had been increased to three professors and three assistant 
professors, representing the departments of History, English, 
Chemistry, Agriculture, Botany, Mathematics, Bookkeeping and 
Modem Languages. There were also two non-resident lec- 
turers—on Pomology and on English Literature, respectively.' 

For the first twenty years, the maximum number of mem- 
bers of the University faculty in any one year was thirty-three — 
in 1878-79. 

In 1887-88 there were only twenty-nine members, but for 
the next eight years there was a regular yearly increase and 
by 1895-6 there were eighty-four. The addition of the College 
of Medicine in 1897* increased the number of the instructional 
staflf to 170 for the year 1896-7. For the next six years there 
was again a steady annual increase, and by the year 1903-4 
the number had reached 351. 

During the sixteen years from 1904 to 1920 the number 
of members of the faculty rose from 351 to 943. This was an 
increase of 592, or 168 per cent. 

In the following table the size of the faculty is given for 
each year since the opening of the University. Members of the 
library staff are included in the enumeration, but clerks, stenog- 
raphers and miscellaneous employees of the University are not 
included. 



»Bept., Univ. of IlL, 1868, pp. 18, 81 
"Ibid, pp. 87, 94 
•Bept., Univ. of HI., 1869, p. 62 
*I11. Sch. Bept, 1910-12, p. 480 

128 



Digitized by 



Google 



Digitized by 



Google 



Digitized by 



Google 



The Faculty 



129 



SIZE OP FACULTY BY YEAES, 


1867-1920 


Year 


Facultj 


Year 


Facidtj 



1867-68 4 

1868-69 11 

1869-70 19 

1870-71 20 

1871-72 24 



1895-96 84 

1896-97 170 

1897-98 184 

1898-99 194 

1899-1900 229 



1872-73 25 

1878-74 25 

1874-75 80 

1875-76 27 

1876-77 25 



1900-01 242 

190W2 297 

1902-03 816 

1908-04 851 

1904-05 850 



1877-78 29 

1878-79 83 

1879-80 29 

1880-81 28 

1881-82 26 



1905-06 408 

1906-07 442 

1907-08 472 

1908-09 497 

1909-10 588 



1882-83 24 

1888-84 25 

1884-85 27 

1885-86 29 

1886-87 29 



1910-11 565 

1911-12 583 

1912-13 587 

1913-14 764 

1914-15 777 



1887-88 29 

1888-89 30 

1889-90 32 

1890-91 39 

1891-92 43 



1915-16 821 

1916-17 868 

1917-18 843» 

1918-19 800 

1919-20 943 



1892-93 48 

1893-94 67 

1894-95 80 

The increase from 1903-04 to 1919-20 was 592. 

In the next table the constitation of the faculty for 1903- 
04 and for 1919-20 according to rank is indicated. These figares 
do not include duplicates. As in the preceding table, members 
of the library staff are included in the enumeration, but not 



'Does not check with figure given in Begister, Univ. of lU., 1917-18, 
pp. 516-517 



Digitized by 



Google 



130 Sixteen Years at the University of TUinois 

clerks, stenographers and miscellaneous employees of the Uni- 
versity. 

FACULTT 190304 AND 1919-20 

ACCORDINO TO RANK 

1903-04 1919-20 

Bank Men Women Total Men Women Total 

Professors 103 4 107 164 2 166 

Associate Professors 13 1 14 38 .. 38 

Assistant Professors 62 3 65 107 3 110 

Associates 108 12 120 

Lecturers 2 .. 2 8 .. 8 

Instructors 112 28 140 112 36 148 

Assistants 13 2 15 148 60 208 

Graduate Assistants . . 31 5 36 

^Student Assistants 3 .. 8 55 2 57 

"Total 308 38 346 771 120 891 

"Officers of Administration 5 . . 5 16 36 52 

Total 313 38 351 787 156 943 

^Includes those in Military Science 
*Does not include administrative officers 

Includes library assistants of which there are 44 men and 6 women, 
duplicates excluded 

Additions to the Faculty, 1904 to 1920 
The following persons at present members of the University 
faculty (in 1919-20), were appointed during the sixteen years 
from 1904 to 1920. The list includes only persons of the rank 
of assistant professor or above.^ 

The Council op Administration 
1904 Edmund Janes James, Ph. D., LL.D., President. 
1907 William Freeman Myrick Goss,^ M.S., D.Eng., Professor 
of Railway Engineering, Dean of the College of En- 
gineering, Director of the Engineering Experiment 
Station and Director of the School of Railway En- 
gineering and Administration. 

•The date preceding each name is that on which the person became a 
member of the faculty of the University, but not necessarily that on which 
he was appointed to the position now occupied. The order is that of 
seniority 

'Eesigned March 1, 1917 



Digitized by 



Google 



The Faculty 131 

1913 Kendric Charles Babcock, B.Lit., Ph.D., LL.D., Dean of 
the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences. 

1906 Frederick Brown Moorehead, A.B., D.D.S., M.D., Pro- 

fessor of Oral Surgery, Pathology and Bacteriology, 
and Acting Dean of the College of Dentistry. 
1913 Albert Chauncey Eycleshymer, B.S., Ph.D., M.D., Pro- 
fessor of Anatomy, Head of the Department and Dean 
of the College of Medicine. 

1916 Henry Winthrop Ballantine, A.B., LL.D., Professor of 

Law and Dean of the College of Law. 
1911 Charles Buss Richards,^ M.E., M.M.E., Dean of the Col- 
lege of Engineering and Director of the Engineering 
Experiment Station. 

1918 Ruby Elizabeth Campbell Mason, A.M., Dean of Women. 

1917 Werret Wallace Charters,^ Ph.D., Professor of Educa- 

tion and Dean of the College of Education. 

1919 Charles Ernest Chadsey, Ph.D.,Litt.D., Professor of Edu- 

cation and Dean of the College of Education. 

1911 Charles Manfred Thompson, Ph.D., Professor of Econom- 
ics and Dean of the College of Commerce and Business 
Administration. 

1919 George Frederick Ney Dailey, Capt., Signal Corps, U.S.A., 
Professor of Military Science and Tactics and Com- 
mandant. 

The Senate^^ 

1904 Frederick Green, A.M., LL.B., Professor of Law. 

1904 James Wilford Gamer, Ph.D., Professor of Political 

Science. 

1905 Edward Bartow, Ph.D., Professor of Sanitary Chemistry, 

and Director of the State Water Survey. 

1907 William Albert Noyes, Ph.D., LL.D., Professor of Chem- 

istry and Director of the Chemical Laboratory. 



•Appointed as Dean and Director March 1, 1917 

•Resigned, August 31, 1919 

*The Senate is composed of all University oflScers of full professorial 
rank and all others in charge of independent departments of instruction. 
Members of the Council are therefore members of the Senate also, but 
their names are not repeated in the Senate list 



Digitized by 



Google 



132 Sixteen Tears at the University of Illinois 

1907 Emest Ritson Dewsnup,^ * A.M., Prof easor of Railway Ad- 
ministration. 

1906 George Abram Miller, PLD., Professor of Mathematics. 

1907 Edward Gary Hayes, Ph.D., Professor of Sociology. 

1908 Julius Ooebel, Ph.D., Professor of German. 

1909 Phineas Lawrence Windsor, Ph. B., Librarian and Direc- 

tor of the Library School. 
1909 Boyd Henry Bode, Ph.D., Professor of Philosophy. 
1909 Henry Baldwin Ward, Ph.D., Professor of Zoology. 
1909 Harry Harkness Stock, B.S., E.M., Professor of Mining 

Engineering. 
1907 Stuart Pratt Sherman, Ph.D., Professor of English and 

Chairman of the Committee of the Department of 

English. 
1912 Edward Harris Decker," A.B., LL.B., Professor of Law 

and Acting Librarian of the College of Law. 

1909 John Archibald Fairlie, Ph.D., Professor of Political 

Science. 

1910 John Norton Pomeroy, A.M., LL.B., Professor of Law. 

1911 Bruce Willet Benedict, B.S., Manager of Shop Labora- 

tories in the Department of Mechanical Engineering. 

1912 William Edward Burge, Ph.D., Assistant Professor of 

Physiology and Acting Head of the Department. 
1909 Emest Ludlow Bogart, Ph.D., Professor of Economics. 
1909 William Green Hale, B.S., LL.B., Professor of Law. 

1912 Madison Bentley, B.S., Ph.D., Professor of Psychology 

and Director of the Psychological Laboratory. 

1913 Harry Alexis Harding, Ph.D., Professor of Dairy Bac- 

teriology 
1913 William Trelease, D.Sc., LL.D., Professor of Botany and 

Acting Head of the Department 
1913 John Sterling Kingsley, D.Sc, Professor of Zoology. 
1906 William Shirley Bayley, Ph.D., Professor of Geology. 

1906 Walter Costella Coflfey, M.S., Professor of Sheep Hus- 

bandry. 

1907 Laurence Marcellus Larson, Ph.D., Professor of History. 
1907 Otto Eduard Lessing, Ph.D., Professor of German. 



^Besigned, 1920 



Digitized by 



Google 



The Faculty 133 

1907 Ellery Burton Paine, M.S., E.E., Associate Professor of 

Electrical Engineering and Acting Head of the De- 
partment. 

1908 Edward Wight Washbnm, Ph.D., Professor of Ceramic 

Chemistry and Head of the Department of Ceramic 
Engineering. 

1913 Loring Harvey Provine, B.S., A.E., Professor of Archi- 

tectural Engineering and Acting Head of the Depart- 
ment of Architecture. 

1914 Frank Lincoln Stevens, Ph.D., Professor of Plant Path- 

ology. 
1907 Herbert Fisher Moore, B.S., M.M.E., Research Professor 
of Engineering Materials. 

1914 John Lawrence Erb, F.A.G.O., Director of the School of 

Music and University Organist 

1915 Frederick Haynes Newell, B.S., D.Eng., Professor of Civil 

Engineering and Head of the Department. 
1915 Kenneth McEenzie, Ph.D., Professor of Romance Lan- 
guages and Head of the Department 

1909 William Abbott Oldfather, Ph.D., Professor of the 

Classics. 

1914 Charles Alton Ellis, A.B., Professor of Structural Engin- 

eering. 

1915 Louise Freer, B.S., Director of Physical Training for 

Women. 
1909 Arthur Stanley Pease, Ph.D., Professor of the Classics 

and Curator of the Museum of Classical Art and 

Archaeology. 
1909 Charles Zeleny, Ph.D., Professor of Zoology. 
1909 John DriscoU Fitz-Gerald II, Ph.D., Professor of Spanish. 
1913 Albert Howe Lybyer, Ph.D., Professor of History. 

1916 Ernest Bembaum, Ph.D., Professor of English. 

1916 Cullen Warner Parmelee, B.S., Professor of Ceramic 

Engineering. 
1911 Alexander Dyer MacQillivray, Ph.D., Professor of Syste- 
matic Entomology. 

1917 Albert Ten Eyck Olmstead, Ph.D., Professor of History 

and Curator of the Oriental Museum. 



Digitized by 



Google 



134 Sixteen Years at the University of lUinois 

1913 Arthur Cutts Willard, B.S., Professor of Heating and 
Ventilation, 

1916 Robert Graham, D.V.M., Professor of Animal Pathology. 

1918 Burdette Ross Buckingham, Ph.D., Professor of Educa- 
tion and Director of the Bureau of Educational Re- 
search. 

1912 William Leonidas Burlison, Ph.D., Professor of Crop 

Production. 
1910 Harrison Edward Cunningham, A. B., Director of the 
. University Press and Secretary of the Board of Trus- 

tees. 

1907 Bethel Stewart Pickett, M.S., Professor of Pomology. 

1908 Herman Bernard Domer, M.S., Professor of Floricul- 

ture. 

1910 James Lloyd Edmonds, B.S., Professor of Horse Hus- 

bandry. 
1915 Melvin Lorenius Enger, B.S., C.E., Professor of Theoreti- 
cal and Applied Mechanics. 

1911 Walter Frederick Handschin, B.S., Professor of Farm 

Organization and Management, State Leader of County 
Demonstration Work, and Acting Vice-Director of the 
Demonstration Service. 

1911 Harvey Herbert Jordan, B.S., Assistant Professor of 
General Engineering Drawing and Assistant Dean of 
College of Engineering. 

1918 Jerome Edward Readhimer, B.S., Professor of Soils (Ex- 
tension). 

1910 Henry Perly Rusk, M.S., Professor of Beef Cattle Hus- 
bandry. 

1913 Hiram Thomas Scovill, A.B., C.P.A., Professor of Ac- 

countancy. 

1910 James Byrnie Shaw, D.Sc, Professor of Mathematics. 

1915 Robert Stewart, Ph.D., Professor of Soil Fertility. 

1918 Arthur Byron Coble, Ph.D., Professor of Mathematics. 

1918 Everett Edgar King, A.B., M.C.E., Professor of Railway 
Civil Engineering. 

1918 James Therod Rood, Ph.D., Professor of Railway Elec- 
trical Engineering. 



Digitized by 



Google 



The 'Faculty 136 

1919 Ira Samuel Griffith, A.B., Professor of Industrial Edu- 
cation. 

1916 Roger Adams, Ph.D., Professor of Chemistry. 

1912 Joseph Howard Beard, M.D., Professor of Hygiene and 
University Health Officer. 

1912 John A. Detlefsen, D.Sc, Professor of Genetics. 

1909 George Tobias Flom, Ph.D., Professor of Scandinavian. 

1919 Walter Lee Gaines, Ph.D., Professor of Milk Production. 

1908 Simon Litman, Dr. Jur. Pub. et Rer. Cam., Professor of 

Economics. 

1919 Eric Keightley Rideal, Ph.D., Visiting Professor of Physi- 
cal Chemistry. 

1907 Thomas Edmund Savage, Ph.D., Professor of Strati- 
graphic Geology. 

1919 Lorado Taft, M.L., L.H.D., Non-Resident Professor of 
Art. 

1912 Harrison August Ruehe, M.S., Assistant Professor of 
Dairy Manufactures and Acting Head of the Depart- 
ment of Dairy Husbandry. 

1912 Albert Lemuel Whiting, Ph.D., Professor of Soil Biology. 

1919 Cliff Winfield Stone, Ph.D., Acting Professor of Educa- 
tional Psychology. 

1919 Terence Thomas Quirk, Ph. D., Associate Professor of 

Geology and Chairman of the Department. 

1920 Edwin Herbert Cameron, Ph.D., Professor of Educational 

Psychology. 

Associate Professors 

1909 Jacob Kunz, Ph.D., Associate Professor of Mathematical 

Physics. 

1909 Howard Vernon Canter, Ph.D., Associate Professor of 

the Classics and Assistant Dean of the College of Lib- 
eral Arts and Sciences. 

1910 David Ford McFarland, Ph.D., Associate Professor of 

Applied Chemistry. 



Digitized by 



Google 



136 Sixteen Tears at the University of Illinois 

1911 Jolm Mabry Mathews, Ph.D., Associate Professor of Po- 
litical Science. 

1917 Nathaniel Cortlandt Curtis, Ph.B., Associate Professor of 
Architectural Design* 

1915 Robert Daniel Carmichael, Ph.D., Associate Professor of 
Mathematics. 

1913 Martin John Prucha, Ph.D., Associate Professor of Dairy 
Bacteriology. 

1909 William Spence Robertson, Ph.D., Associate Professor of 
History. 

1911 Arnold Emch, Ph.D., Associate Professor of Mathematics. 
1915 Howard Bishop Lewis, Ph.D., Associate Professor of 

Physiological Chemistry. 

1919 Walter Scott Monroe, Ph.D., Associate Professor of Edu- 
cation and Assistant Director of the Bureau of Muni- 
cipal Research. 

1915 Christian Alban Ruckmick, Ph.D., Associate Professor of 
Psychology. 

1909 Fred B. Sedey, B.S., Associate Professor of Theoretical 
and Applied Mechanics. 

1913 Wilbur M. Wilson, M.M.E., Associate Professor of Struc- 
tural Engineering. 

1919 Robert Francis Seybolt, Ph.D., Associate Professor of 
History of Education. 

1919 Jay Courtiand Hadd^nan, A.M., Associate Professor of 
Crops Production. 

1912 B. Smith Hopkins, Ph.D., Associate Professor of Chem- 

istry. 

1919 Thomas James Camp, Capt. Inf., U.S.A., Associate Pro- 
fessor of Military Science and Executive Officer. 

1919 William Demson Alexander, Capt, Field Art, U.S.A., 
Associate Professor of Military Science. 

1919 Jesse Benjamin Eommers, B.S., Special Research Asso- 
ciate Professor of Engineering Materials. 

Assistant Professors 

1907 Edward Hardenbergh Waldo, A.B., M.S., M.E., Assistant 
Professor of Electrical Engineering. 



Digitized by 



Google 



The Faculty 137 

1911 Aretas WUbur Nolan, A3., M.S., Assistant Professor of 
Agricultural Extension. 

1906 Harrie Staart Yedder Jones, Ph.D., Assistant Professor 

of English. 

1910 Leonard Bloomfield, Ph.D., Assistant Professor of Com- 

parative Philology and German. 

1907 James Elmo Smith, C. E., Assistant Professor of Civil 

Engineering. 

1914 Victor Ernest Shelford, Ph.D., Assistant Professor of 

Zoology. 
1909 Earnest Winfield Bailey, M.S., Assistant Professor of 
Pomology. 

1915 (George Nelson Coflfey, Ph.D., Assistant State Leader of 

County Advisers. 
1907 Axel Ferdinand Gustafson, M.S., Assistant Professor of 
Soil Physics. 

1913 Albert Woodward Jamison, M.S., Assistant Professor of 

Agricultural Extension. 
1907 Ernest Van Alstine, B.S., Assistant Professor of 
Agronomy. 

1916 James Dater Bilsborrow, B.S., Assistant State Leader of 

County Advisers. 
1907 Arthur Robert Crathome, Ph.D., Assistant Professor of 
Mathematics. 

1911 Balph Kent Hursh, B.S., Assistant Professor of Ceramic 

Engineering. 

1907 Jacob Zeitlin, Ph.D., Assistant Professor of English. 

1915 Virgil R. Fleming, B.S., Assistant Professor of Theoreti- 
cal and Applied Mechanics. 

1912 Arthur Charles Cole, Ph.D., Assistant Professor of His- 

tory. 
1912 Walter Byron Gemert, Ph.D., Assistant Professor of 
Plant Breeding. 

1914 Frederick Nobel Evans, A.B., M.L.A., Assistant Professor 

of Landscape Gardening. 
1911 Harry Warren Anderson, Ph.D., Assistant Professor of 

Pomology. 
1911 Frederick Charles Bauer, M.S., Assistant Professor of 

Soil Fertility. 



Digitized by 



Google 



138 Sixteen Tears at the University of lUinois 

1911 George Denton Beal, PIlD., Pharm.D., Assistant Profes- 
sor of Chemistry. 

1908 Florence Rising Curtis, A.M., B.L.S., Assistant Professor 
of Library Economy. 

1908 Harrison Frederick Gonnerman, M.S., Research Assistant 
Professor of Theoretical and Applied Mechanics. 

1905 Albert Austin Harding, B.Mus., Assistant Professor of 
Music and Director of the Military Bands. 

1915 Harry Franklin Harrington, A.M., Assistant Professor of 
Journalism. 

1915 Oliver Kamm, Ph.D., Assistant Professor of Chemistry. 

1911 Aubrey John Kempner, Ph.D., Assistant Professor of 
Mathematics. 

1907 Alonzo Plumstead Kratz, M.S., Research Assistant Pro- 
fessor of Mechanical Engineering. 

1911 Philip Augustus Lehenbauer, Ph.D., Assistant Professor 

of Plant Physiology. 
1913 Walter Byron McDougall, Ph.D., Assistant Professor of 
Botany. 

1915 Harold Hanson Mitchell, Ph.D., Assistant Professor of 

Animal Nutrition. 
1918 Rexford Newcomb, M.Arch., Assistant Professor of Archi- 
tectural History. 

1918 John Henry Reedy, Ph.D., Assistant Professor of Chem- 

istry. 

1913 Gustaf Eric Wahlin, Ph.D., Assistant Professor of Mathe- 
matics. 

1910 Elmer Howard Williams, Ph.D., Assistant Professor of 
Experimental Physics. 

1913 Charles Henry Woolbert, Ph.D., Assistant Professor of 

Speech. 

1919 Morris M. Leighton, Ph.D., Assistant Professor of Ge- 

ology. 

1914 Russell McCulloch Story, Ph.D., Assistant Professor of 

Political Science. 

1912 Edward Joseph Filbey, Ph.D., C.P.A., Assistant Profes- 

sor of Accountancy. 

1916 Frederic Arthur Russell, Ph.D., Assistant Professor of 

Business Organization and Operation. 



Digitized by 



Google 



The Faculty 139 

1917 Donald Mahaney Allison, A.B., Assistant Professor of 

Architectural Design. 

1913 Harold Eaton Babbitt, M.S., Assistant Professor of Muni- 
cipal and Sanitary Engineering. 

1919 Paul Everette Belting, Ph.D., Assistant Professor of Sec- 
ondary Education. 

1918 Henry Blumberg, Ph.D., Assistant Professor of Mathe- 

matics. 
1916 William Everett Britton, A.M., J.D., Assistant Professor 

of Law and Librarian of the College of Law. 
1913 Ernest McChesney Clark, B.S., Assistant Professor of 

Dairy Production. 

1910 Herbert LeSourd Creek, Ph.D., Assistant Professor of 

English and Assistant Dean of Foreign Students. 

1919 John L. Griffith, A.B., Assistant Professor of Physical 

Education. 

1915 Gilbert Gusler, M.S., Assistant Professor of Animal Hus- 

bandry. 

1916 Merlin Harold Hunter, Ph.D., Assistant Professor of 

Economics. 

1912 Robert Taylor Jones, B.S., Assistant Professor of Archi- 
tecture. 

1919 James McKinney, Assistant Professor of Industrial Edu- 
cation and Director of the Chicago Center. 

1918 Jean Gilbert MacKinnon, A.M., Assistant Professor of 

Home Economics. 

1911 Lloyd Morey, A.B., B.Mus., C.P.A., Assistant Professor of 

Accountancy and Comptroller. 

1917 Oliver Ralph Overman, Ph.D., Assistant Professor of 

Dairy Chemistry. 
1916 Cyrus Edgar Palmer, M.S., Assistant Professor of Archi- 
tectural Engineering. 

1912 Prank Ashmore Pearson, B.S., Assistant Professor of 

Dairy Economics. 
1907 George Wellington Pickels, C.E., Assistant Professor of 

Civil Engineering. 
1911 Gustav Howard Radebaugh, Assistant Manager of Shop 

Laboratories. 

1919 John Bums Read, E.M., Assistant Professor of Mining 

Engineering. 



Digitized by 



Google 



140 Sixteen Years at the University of lUinois 

1919 Burke Shartel, S.J.D.y Assifiitant Professor of Law. 

1910 William Herschel Smith, M.S., Assistant Professor of 

Animal Hnsbandry. 
1916 Fred Wilbur Tanner, Ph.D., Assistant Professor of Bac- 
teriology. 

1911 Harley Jones VanCleave, Ph.D., Assistant Professor of 

Zoology. 
1913 Harry William Waterfall, B.S., Assistant Professor of 

Mechanical Engineering. 
1915 (Gordon Watkins, Ph.D., Assistant Professor of Economics. 
1906 Carroll Carson Wiley, C.E., Assistant Professor of High- 

way Engineering. 

1912 Robert Carl Zuppke, Ph.B., Assistant Professor of Physi- 

cal Education. 

1909 Warren Albert Ruth, Ph.D., Assistant Professor of 
Pomology. 

1919 Edwin Hardin Sutherland, Ph.D., Assistant Professor of 
Sociology. 

1919 Paul J. Kiefer, B.S., Assistant Professor of Steam En- 
gineering. 

1915 Roscoe Raymond Snapp, B.S., Assistant Professor of 
Animal Husbandry. 

1913 Charles Earl Bradbury, B.P., Assistant Professor of Art 

and Design. 

1919 Russell Dunn Barnes, 1st Lieut., Infantry, U.S.A., Assis- 
tant Professor of Military Science and Tactics. 

1919 Chauncey Aubrey Bennett, Captain, Field Artillery, U.S. 
A., Assistant Professor of Military Science and Tactics. 

1919 Robert W. Grow, Captain, Cavalry, U.S.A., Assistant 
Professor of Military Science and Tactics. 

College of Medicine 
professors 

1913 Casey A. Wood, A.M., M.D., Professor of Ophthalmology 

and Head of the Department. 
1913 Norval Pierce, M.D., Professor of Surgery (Laryngology, 

Rhinology and Otology) and Head of the Division. 



Digitized by 



Google 



The Faculty 141 

1913 Albert E. Halstead, M.D., Professor of Surgery and 
Clinical Surgery. 

1913 Albert Chauncey Eycleshymer.ioB.S., Ph.D., M.D., Pro- 
fessor of Anatomy, Head of the Department, and Dean. 

1913 David John Davis, Acting Professor of Pathology, Act- 
ing Head of the Department, and Director of the De- 
partment of Experimental Medicine. 

1913 Julius H. Hess, M.D., Professor of Pediatrics and Clinical 
Pediatrics and Head of the Division. 

1906 Lee Harrison Mettler, A.M., M.D., Professor of Neurology 
and Clinical Neurology and Head of the Division. 

1917 Hugh Alister McGuigan, Ph.D., M. D., Professor of Ma- 
teria Medica, Pharmacy and Therapeutics. 

1917 Edward Vail Lapham Browne, B.S., M.D., Professor of 
Ophthalmology and Head of the Department. 

1917 Edwin Warner Ryerson, M.D., Professor of Surgery 

(Orthopedic) and Head of the Division. 
1916 Harold Douglas Singer, M.D., M.R.C.P., Professor of 

Psychiatry and Head of the Division. 
1919 Herman M. Adler, A.B., M.D., Professor of Criminology 

and Head of the Department. 
1919 Henry Foster Lewis, A.B., M.D., Professor of Obstetrics 

and Clinical Obstetrics. 

1905 Charles Edward Humiston, M.D., Professor of Clinical 

Surgery. 

ASSOCIATE PBOFESSORS 

1908 Charles Mayer Jacobs, M.D., Associate Professor of Clini- 
cal Orthopedic Surgery. 

1906 Joseph C. Beck, M.D., Associate Professor of Surgery 

(Laryngology, Rhinology and Otology). 
1910 Nelson Mortimer Percy, M.D., Associate Professor of 
Clinical Surgery. 

1918 Frank Smithies, M.D., Associate Professor of Medicine. 
1905 Edward Louis Heintz, Ph.G., M.D., Associate Professor 

of Medicine and Clinical Medicine. 



^*Incladed flupra under the Council of Administration 



Digitized by 



Google 



142 Sixteen Years at the University of Illinois 

1910 Maurice Lewison, M.D., Associate Professor of Physical 
Diagnosis. 

1912 George Famsworth Thompson, B.S., M.D., Associate Pro- 

fessor of Surgery and Clinical Surgery. 

1917 Arthur Richard Elliott, M.D., Associate Professor of 

Medicine. 
1910 Otto Herman Rohrlack, Ph.G., M.D., Associate Professor 
of Obstetrics and Clinical Obstetrics. 

1913 William Henry Welker, A.C., Ph.D., Associate Professor 

of Chemistry. 

ASSISTANT PROFESSORS 

1908 Frederick George Dyas, M.D., Assistant Professor of 
Surgery and Clinical Surgery. 

1906 Frank Donald Moore, M.D., Assistant Professor of Sur- 
gery and Clinical Surgery. 

1915 Victor Emanuel Emmel, Ph.D., Assistant Professor of 

Anatomy. 
1913 Edward Franklin Leonard, M.D., Assistant Professor of 
Neurology. 

1913 Charles M. McKenna, M.D., Assistant Professor of Sur- 

gery (Genito-Urinary). 

1914 Roy Lee Moodie, A.B., Ph.D., Assistant Professor of 

Anatomy. 

1916 Jesse Elliot Royer, M.D., Assistant Professor of Neu- 

rology. 
1906 Cecil von Bachelle, M.S., M.D., Assistant Professor of 

Obstetrics. 
1906 John Michael Lang, M.D., Assistant Professor of Clinical 

Gynecology. 

1918 Benjamin Franklin Lounsbury, B.S., M.D., Assistant Pro- 

fessor of Operative Surgery. 
1918 Henry Bascom Thomas, B.S., M.D., Assistant Professor 

of Orthopedic Surgery. 
1918 Charles Francis Read, B.S., M.D., Assistant Professor of 

Psychiatry. 
1910 John Ross Harger, B.S., M.D., Assistant Professor of 

Surgery. 



Digitized by 



Google 



The Faculty 143 

1911 Frank Chauvet, M.D., Assistant Professor of Physical 

Diagnosis. 
1914 Karl Albert Meyer, M.D., Assistant Professor of Surgery 

and Clinical Surgery. 

1918 Cassius Clay Rogers, A.B., M.D., Assistant Professor of 

Surgery. 
1913 Josiah John Moore, B.S., M.D., Assistant Professor of 
Pathology and Bacteriology. 

1913 Ernest Sisson Moore, Ph.D., M.D., Assistant Professor of 

Clinical Medicine. 

1910 Henry Eugene Irish, M.D., Assistant Professor of Pedi- 

atrics. 

1911 Charles Herbert Phifer, M.D., Assistant Professor of Sur- 

gery. 
1906 Egan Walter Fischmann, M.D., Assistant Professor of 
Gynecology. 

1914 Morris Lamm Blatt, M.D., Assistant Professor of Pedi- 

atrics. 
1911 Adolph Hartung, M.D., Assistant Professor of Roentgen- 
ology. 

1919 Walter H. Meents, B.S., M.D., Assistant Professor of Sur- 

gery. 
1919 Ralph Chess Pumell Truitt, M.D., Assistant Professor of 
Neurology and Psychiatry. 

College op Dentistry 

PROFESSORS 

1906 Frederick Brown Moorehead," A. B., D.D.S., M.D., Pro- 
fessor of Oral Surgery, Pathology and Bacteriology and 
Dean of the College. 

1913 Frederick Bogue Noyes, B.S., D.D.S., Professor of Ortho- 
dontia and Histology and Secretary of the Faculty. 

1913 Edgar David Coolidge, D.D.S., Professor of Materia 
Medica and Therapeutics. 

1908 Louis Schultz, D.D.S., M.D., Professor of Oral Surgery 
and Pathology. 



'^Included supra under the Council of Administration 



Digitized by 



Google 



144 Sixteen Years at the University of lUinois 

1904 Louis E. Bake, D.D.S., Associate Professor of Operative 

Technics and Porcelain Art. 
1913 Solomon Perry Starr, D.D.S., Associate Professor of 
Prosthetic Technics* 

1913 Frank Joseph Bernard, D.D.S., Assistant Professor of 

Oral Surgery (Extracting). 

1914 John C. McOuire, D.D.S., Assistant Professor of Radiog- 

raphy and Superintendent of the Infirmary. 
1914 William Ira Williams, D.D.S., Assistant Professor of Op- 
erative Dentistry. 

SCHOCHi OF PhABMAOY 

1905 Albert Henry Qark, B.S., Ph.Q., Assistant Professor of 

Chemistry. 
1912 Bernard Fantus, M.D., Lecturer on Phsrsiology. 

BETmSMENT OF PROFESSORS BURRUiL AND ShATTUOK 

September 1, 1912, Professors T. J. BurriU and S. W. Shat- 
tuck, the last two members of the original faculty of the Uni- 
versity, became professors emeriti, and retired on Carnegie al- 
lowances from active service. Professor Burrill came to the Uni- 
versity in 1868 as instructor in algebra, but was soon appointed 
assistant professor of natural history. He served at various 
times as professor, vice-president, acting president, dean of the 
college of science and dean of the graduate schooL In spite 
of his many administrative duties Dr. Burrill was active as an 
investigator and made a number of scientific discoveries of the 
first importance. 

Professor Shattuck came to the University in 1868 as as- 
sistant professor of mathematics and instructor in military 
tactics. For the next forty-four years he was at various times 
professor and head of the department of mathematics, acting 
president, professor of civil engineering, business manager and 
comptroller. His careful, honest management of the Univer- 
sity's finances had no small part in bringing about the steady 
growth of the institution. 

Upon the retirement of Professors Burrill and Shattuck the 
University Senate presented to each a specially designed gold 



Digitized by 



Google 



Digitized by 



Google 



Digitized by 



Google 



The Faculty 145 

medal. The formal presentation of the medals occurred at a 
special University convocation held in honor of the two retiring 
professors October 16, 1912. 

Professor Shattuck died at Urbana, February 13, 1915. Dr. 
Burrill died at Urbana on the 14th of April, 1916. 

Retirement of Professors McIntosh, Bicker, and Bolfe 

September 1, 1915, marked the retirement of Professor 
Donald Mcintosh, for nearly thirty years Professor of Veterin- 
ary Science at the University of Illinois, and at the time of his 
withdrawal from active work, the oldest member of the College 
of Agriculture in point of service. He came to the institution 
in 1885 to give a course of lectures in Veterinary Science. During 
the following year he was promoted to the grade of Professor 
and thereafter served as the only instructor in Veterinary 
Science. His death occurred upon September 5, 1915, just five 
days after his retirement from active work, and the courses to 
which he had devoted himself so faithfully during the last thirty 
years were temporarily withdrawn. 

On September 1, 1916, Professor N. C. Bicker was elected 
professor emeritus and retired upon a Carnegie allowance. Pro- 
fessor Bicker came to the University as a student in 1870. Three 
years later he was appointed instructor in Architecture and 
given charge of the department. For the next thirty-seven years 
he served the University in a number of increasingly important 
ofSces; one year instructor in Architecture, one year assistant 
professor of Architecture, thirty-five years professor of Archi- 
tecture, and beginning in 1878 for twenty-seven years Dean 
of the College of Engineering. To this pioneer the University 
of Illinois owes much, for it was his patient and persistent 
labor that developed here a Department of Architecture in which 
the State may take an honest pride. 

Entering the University two years earlier and retiring from 
active service one year later than Professor Bicker, Professor 
C. W. Bolfe became professor emeritus on September 1, 1917. 
"He was graduated from the University of Illinois with the de- 
gree of B.S. with the class of 1872, having entered in 1868. 
Beginning as instructor in Mathematics and Botany, he has been 



Digitized by 



Google 



146 Sixteen Years crt the University of Illinois 

instmctor, assistant professor, and professor in the University 
since 1881. His continuous service has extended over thirty- 
six years.'*** Today the Department of Ceramic Engineering 
stands as a monument to the faithful and devoted services of 
this man, for he, more than any one else, was responsible for 
initiating and establishing upon a firm foundation the work 
of this department. 

In the Matter of Qualtfy 

No other feature of the equipment of a university will so 
largely determine its strength as will the men who are charged 
with the direct conduct of its various activities. Abundance 
of land, numerous and spacious buildings, well equipped labora- 
tories and libraries and large revenues will not singly or all 
combined insure for a university either strength or progress. In 
the final analysis it is the personnel of the faculty that will 
chiefiy determine the value of the university to the common- 
wealth and its rank among its sister institutions of learning. 

The increase in the number of the instructional and admin- 
istrative staff of the University during the past twelve years has 
been a matter of necessity, in response to a steadily increasing 
enrolment of students. An increase in the actual strength of 
the faculty, from the standpoint of scholarship and teaching 
ability, could, however, come only as a result of the exercise of 
the greatest care in the selection of individual instructors. 
Throughout the sixteen years from 1904 to 1920, whether a 
candidate was to occupy an important or a minor position, 
thorough consideration has been given to his scholarship, his 
ability to impart information and to inspire active efforts 
on the part of his students, his personal character and his own 
activity as a thinker and a producer of that which would add 
to the world's store of knowledge. One college of the Univer- 
sity after another has been thus strengthened, until at the 
present time there is probably no department in which the work 
done is not of a distinctiy high grade and no department in 
which a student may not come under the instruction of one or 
more of the country's leading scholars in that field of study. 



"Mmutes of Bd. of Trustees, Univ. of HI., July 17, 1917, p. 414 



Digitized by 



Google 



The Faculty 147 

This policy of selecting only the best men has inydyed as 
a necessary prerequisite the willingness to pay somewhat higher 
salaries than were formerly paid to those occupying similar 
positions. That the purpose of the governing board of the 
University to strengthen the faculty by this means has been 
fully approved by the people of the state is well shown by a 
joint resolution adopted in 1909 by the Forty-Sixth General 
Assembly, reading as follows :^^ • 

"Whereas, It is the evident will of the people of this com- 
monwealth that the University of Illinois shall be made so com- 
plete in its organization and equipment that no son or daughter 
of this State shall be obliged to seek in other states or other 
countries those advantages of higher education which are neces- 
sary to the greatest efficiency of social service either in public 
or private station; and 

''Whereas, the State of Illinois has imposed upon this in- 
stitution, in its agricultural and engineering experiment sta- 
tions, and in its graduate school, the duty of carrying on 
extensive and important investigations of vital interest to the 
agricultural industry and education of the State, and the con- 
duct of these investigations calls for the very highest ability 
and the most thorough training on the part of those entrusted 
with their supervision; and 

"Whereas, the great progress of this institution in the last 
five years has attracted the attention of the whole country, and 
made other institutions desirous of drawing away the members 
of the faculties in said university; and 

"Whereas, the present schedule of salaries is not sufficient 
to enable the institution to compete on equal grounds with other 
state and private universities in the United States; there- 
fore be it 

"Resolved, By the Senate, the House of Representatives con- 
curring herein. That it is the s^ise of this General Assembly 
that the Board of Trustees of the University of Illinois should 
adopt such a policy as will in their judgment attract to, and 
retain in, the service of the University and the State, the best 
available ability of this and other countries." 



""Laws of HL, 1909, p. 496 



Digitized by 



Google 



148 Sixteen Years at the University of Illinois 

The following tables show the number of persons reoeiving 
salaries of various amounts in 1903-04, and the number of those 
receiving similar salaries in 1919-20. It will be noted that 
whereas in the earlier year only the president of the University 
received a salary of more than $3,800, and only five persons 
other than he received as much as $3,000 ; in 1919-20 one hun- 
dred and five persons were receiving $3,000 or more a year, of 
whom nine received $4,000, three $4,500, sixteen $5,000, five 
$5,500 and five $6,000 or more. It may be further noted that 
in 1917-18 approximately 29 per cent of the faculty were re- 
ceiving salaries of $2,500 or more, as against 10.3 per cent in 
1903-04 ; 68 per cent were receiving $1,500 or over, as against 
40 per cent in 1903-04; 98 per cent were receiving $1,000 or 
more ; and 1.6 per cent were receiving less than $1,000 as against 
30 per cent in 1903-4. 

SALARIES OF FACULTY 1903-04 AND 1919-20* 
Presideiit 
Yiee President 
Deans, Professors Associates 

Associate Professors Instructors 

Assistant Professors Assistants 

Salary 1903-04 1919-20 1903-04 1919-20 

Over $6000 1 2 

♦6000 8 

6500 6 

6000 18 

4500 8 

4250 1 

4000 24 

3500-3800 1 35 

3400 3 

3000-3300 4 49 1 

2600-2900 4 81 

2500 8 15 

2250-2400 2 20 24 

2000-2200 20 10 2 52 

1500-1900 25 2 109 

1200-1400 11 10 61 

1000-1100 2 30 5 

Less than $1000 52 1 

^he table includes only full-time members of the faculty. Of the 
library staflf only those persons who gave instruction in the Library School 
are included. Clerks, stenographers and miscellaneous employees of the 
Umversity are not included. 



Digitized by 



Google 



The Faculty 149 

SUMMABY OF SALABIES 1903-04 AND 1919-20 

1903-04 1919-20 

Salaries Number Per Cent Number Per Cent 

$6000 or over 1 0.6 10 2.0 

5900 or over 1 0.6 16 3.2 

5000 or over 1 0.6 29 5.8 

4500 or over 1 0.6 37 7.4 

4000 or over 1 0.6 62 12.5 

3500 or over 2 1.1 97 19.5 

3000 or over 6 3.4 130 28.2 

2500 or over 18 10.3 176 35.4 

2000 or over 42 39.7 282 56.8 

1500 or over 69 39.7 416 83.8 

1000 or over 122 70.1 495 99.8 

Less than $1000 52 29.9 1 ^ 

The following table shows the average salaries received by 
members of the faculty of 'each rank in 1903-04 and in 1919-20. 
The average increase was 83 per cent. 

AYEBAOE SALABIES OF FULL-TIME MEMBEBS 

%of 

1903-04 1919-20 Increase Increase 

Average for Instructional Staff $1,321 $2,419 $1,098 83 

• • • • 

Deans*. 2,871 5,195 2,324 80 

Professors 2,166 3,847 1,681 77 

Associate Professors 1,867 2,910 1,043 55 

Assistant Professors 1,475 2,544 • 1,069 72 

Associates 2,066 .... 

Instructors 978 1,614 978 65 

Assistants 778 1,306 528 67 

Scholarship, teaching ability and personality are elements 
that cannot easily be represented by statistics. These qualities, 
however, together with the activity evidenced as an investigator 
and a writer, form the basis of the judgment passed upon a 
teacher by his professional brethren in other institutions and by 
the world at large. Thus, one indication of the growth in 



*No administrative officers of the University other than deans are in- 
cluded in the table 



Digitized by 



Google 



150 Sixteen Years at the University of lUinds 

strength in the faculty of the University of Illinois may be seen 
in the fact that in 1903-05 edition of Who's Who in America 
thirty-four names of members of the faculty of the University 
were given, and that in the 1918-19 edition of this publication 
the number had increased to 124 — a gain of 90, or 265 per cent 
for the past sixteen years. 

In the first edition of the American Men of Science, pub- 
lished in 1906, the names of six members of the faculty of the 
University of Illinois were starred as being among "the thou- 
sand students of the natural and exact sciences in the United 
States, whose work is supposed to be the most important" In 
the four years from 1906 to 1910 the number increased to 17, 
a gain of nearly 200 per cent. ' In commenting upon this fact 
the editor says:** 

"As has been already indicated. Harvard, the Massachusetts 
Institute of Technology and Yale, in New England, and Chicago, 
Illinois and Wisconsin, in the north central region have been 
particularly fortunate in the possession of younger men who 
have acquired scientific reputation in the course of recent years. 
The same institutions have been equally happy in not having 
many men who have lost their positions on the thousand. This 
double success cannot be attributed to chance, but must indi- 
cate skill in the selection of men, or an environment favorable 
to good work.'* 

In this connection an extract from the report of the Presi- 
dent of the University of Illinois to the State Superintendent 
of Public Instruction in 1906 will be of interest:**^ 

"I think it will be generally agreed that the average scholar- 
ship, and the experience and efSciency of the younger ap- 
pointees in all the various faculties have been materially ele- 
vated. There is general agreement that we have never had an 
abler, better trained, or more experienced body of young instruc- 
tors than are now at work in the University of Illinois. Condi- 
tions, of course, are becoming more and more favorable for 
bringing about such results. With the increase of the student 
body it becomes necessary to enlarge the instructing corps, and 



"American Men of Science, 2nd Edition, 1910, p. 572 
""lU. School Beport, 1904-06, pp. 390-391 



Digitized by 



Google 



The Faculty 151 

with this increasing number of instructors, it becomes possible 
to secure a wider range of ability and preparation. This makes 
the University a more interesting place to work, and young men 
who are looking forward to a scientific career are more willing 
to come into it and remain a part of the staff for a longer 
time than would otherwise be the case. As our equipment is in- 
creased and as our libraries increase, the University becomes to 
an increasing extent a center of scientific research and investi- 
gation; and life in the University is increasingly attractive to 
the best type of aspiring, progressive, highly trained scientists. 

**Thus, if we have only one or two instructors in the depart- 
ment of mathematics, it is scarcely possible to have more than 
one or two specialties or lines of investigation represented; but 
when we have fifteen or twenty, it is possible not only to get 
men who can do well the elementary and required work in our 
various courses, but each one of these men can be specially 
trained in some particular line ; so that when we take the whole 
body of instructors into consideration, all branches of mathe- 
matical investigation may be fairly represented. The impor- 
tance of this possibility in the development of a truly scientific 
spirit and a truly scientific advance within the institution can 
scarcely be overestimated. In the same way, if we have only 
one or two instructors in the field of modem languages, we can 
hardly have more than one or two lines of work represented by 
adequately trained scholars, but when we have ten or twelve, 
it becomes feasible to obtain, in selecting the personnel of such 
a force, representatives for every line of investigation within 
the great field of modem philology and literature. 

*'No institution can lay any daim to the title, * university,' 
unless it is a center of scientific activity which is spontaneous 
in the members of its instructing corps—self activity prompted 
by a divine thirst for increasing our knowledge. 

"I have urged upon the faculties and upon the trustees with 
all the earnestness of which I am capable that in the selection 
of young men for the position of instructor, that is, the lowest 
grade of our faculty positions, only those young men should 
be selected who have it in them to be good teachers, capable 
instructors and at the same time who have had the proper 



Digitized by 



Google 



152 Sixteen Years at the University of Illinois 

training and have within themsdves the ambition to become 
investigators, research men, productive scholars, in the varioos 
lines in which they are at work. 

''There is no doubt that if this plan is adhered to closely, 
systematically, continuously, for a generation, the Universily 
of Illinois, if the State equips it properly with libraries and 
apparatus, will become one of the great centers of learning in 
the world, a credit to the people of the commonwealth, a source 
of untold advantage to the culture and industry of this great 
state. 

The editor of the American Men of Science adds also:^^ 

^'Wisconsin and Illinois are the state universities which have 
made the most notable progress .... The gain of almost 
200 per cent at Illinois is in the main due to the departments 
of chemistry and mathematics, to the heads of which the Uni- 
versity was so wise as to call men of high scientific standing. '' 

In 1917, the names of 82 members of the faculty of the 
University of Illinois were found in the last edition (1910) of 
that publication, and of these 25 were designated among the 
thousand ''leading men of science." There has been, therefore, 
within the last eleven years a gain of 19 names in the representa* 
tion of the University among the first thousand — an increase of 
317 per cent. 

Books and Articles Published by the Cobfq of Instruction 

During the fifteen years from May 1, 1904 to April 30, 
1919, 6,768 books and articles were published by members of 
the instructional and administrative staff of the University. The 
table which follows will indicate the number published in each 
year.*^ 

During recent years the publications have been listed under 
four heads, namely: (1) Books; (2) Articles; (3) Book re- 
views which are essentially original articles or contributions to 
the subject matter of the book or article reviewed; (4) Book 
reviews which are of the character of book notices. During the 
greater part of the period, however, little distinction was made 



"American Men of Science, 1910 ed., p. 58S 
"Univ. Studies, Univ. of HL, 1904-1917 



Digitized by 



Google 



The Faculty 



153 



between the various kinds of publications, and for those years 
the flgares given in the ^'Total'' column are the ones of chief 
importance. During the earlier years ''book notices" were gen- 
erally omitted. 

It should be noted that the difference between a ''book" 
and an "article" is in many cases very slight — ^the distinction 
resting upon the form in which the contribution appears rather 
than upon any essential difference in the nature of the subject- 
matter, in the treatment of the subject, or in the size of the 
publication. 

BOOKS AND AJEtTIOLES PUBLXSHED BY MEMBEB8 OF THE 
TACULTY 1904-1919 



Year 

(May 1-April 80) Books Artielee 

1904-05 20 158 

1905-06 16 175 

1906-07 21 221 

1907-08 20 242 

1908-09 18 280 

1909-10 83 857 

1910-11 88 881 

1911-12 22 841 

1912-18 15 287 

191814 80 848 

1914-15 89 475 

1915-16 69 669 

1916-17 51 498 

1917-18 59 564 

1918-19 39 542 

Total 490 5,478 



Book Book 
Beviews Notices 



Total 







178 






191 


8 




250 


8 




265 
298 


9 




899 


10 




879 


9 




872 


15 




817 


17 




890 


86 


106 


656 


51 


167 


956 


45 


87 


676 


62 


79 


764 


45 


51 


677 



310 



490 



6,768 



Digitized by 



Google 



CHAPTEB YI. 
THE STUDENT BODY 

When the University was first opened for the reception of 
students, March 2, 1868, about fifty^ persons were enrolled. 
During the term the number increased to 77. The first full 
school year, beginning in the fall of 1868, showed a total of 
128 students. For the next three years there was a large an- 
nual increase in the number of students enrolled, but for the 
two succeeding years the increase was very slight. A period 
of fifteen years followed in which the number of students re- 
mained practically stationary at about 400, although in 1883-4 
as few as 330 were in attendance. In 1888-9 the number enrolled 
was once more over 400, and from that time there has been 
almost no year in which the number of students failed to exceed 
that of the preceding year. 

The following table^ gives the enrolment for each year since 
the organization of the University. It will be noted that women 
were first admitted in 1870-71, and that they have each year 
represented about one-fifth of the total number of students en- 
rolled. 

TOTAL ENBOLMENT 1868-1920 

Year Men Women Total 

1868 (spring) 77 .. 77 

1868-69 128 .. 128 

1869-70 180 .. 180 

1870-71 254 24 278 

1871-72 828 53 381 

1872-73, 326 74 400 

1873-74 316 90 406 

1874-75 ;... 285 , 88 373 

1875-76 303 83 386 

1876-77* 296 92 388 

^Extract from Diary of President Gregory, p. 1 
■Registrar's Beport, Univ. of HI., September 29, 1913, p. 24; supple- 
mented by the statistics for the years 1914-17 

'Figures from 1876-77 to 1910-11 include the preparatory department 

154 



Digitized by 



Google 



The Student Body 165 

Year Men Women Total 

1877-78 291 86 877 

1878-79 318 98 416 

1879-80 322 112 434 

1880-81 299 80 379 

1881-82 276 76 352 

1882-83 290 92 882 

1883-84 261 69 880 

1884-85 292 70 862 

1885-86 269 63 332 

1886-87 289 54 348 

1887-88 805 72 377 

1888-89 346 72 418 

1889-90 392 77 469 

1890-91 444 75 519 

1891-92 494 89 583 

1892-93 610 104 714 

1893-94 609 109 718 

1894-95 673 187 810 

1895-96 672 183 855 

1896-97 865 194 1059 

1897-98 1335 247 1582 

1898-99 1492 332 1824 

1899-1900 1747 478 2225 

1900-01 2038 467 2505 

190102 2884 598 2932 

1902-03 2560 729 3289 

1903-04 2872 720 8592 

1904-05 3012 722 3734 

1905-06 3266 825 4091 

1906-07 3402 916 4318 

1907-08 8752 994 4746 

1908-09 4013 966 4979 

1909-10 4118 1000 5118 

1910-11* 4222 995 5217 

1911-12 4194 1006 5200 



'Figures from 1876-77 to 1910-11 include the preparatory department 



Digitized by 



Google 



166 Sixteen Years at the University of IJUnais 

Tear Men Women Total 

1912-13 4061 1026 5087 

191314 4347 1192 6689 

1914-15 4659 1297 5956 

1915-16 4980 1457 6487 

1916-17 5187 1641 6828 

1917-18 3909 1681 5590 

1918-19 5372 1785 7157 

1919-20 6947 2261 9208 

Two principal causes have been responsible for the large in- 
crease in enrolment daring the past twenty years. These are, 
first, the natural growth of the departments already in existence, 
as the facilities of the University for offering a high grade of 
instruction have become better known, and as the number and 
quality of the high schools of the state advanced; and in the 
second place, the acquisition of additional colleges and schools 
and the organization of new departments by the University. 

Thus, in May, 1896, the Chicago College of Pharmacy, 
founded in 1859, became the School of Pharmacy of the Uni- 
versity of Illinois.* In 1897 arrangements were concluded for 
the affiliation of the College of Physicians and Surgeons of Chi- 
cago with the University, and the former institution became 
known as the College of Medicine of the University of Illinois.^ 
In 1901 the property and good will of the Illinois School of 
Dentistry in Chicago were transferred to the College of Medi- 
cine and a School of Dentistry was organized by the University 
as a department of the College of Medicine.^ In 1905 the School 
of Dentistry became a separate college. The Colleges of Medicine 
and Dentistry were discontinued on June 30, 1912, but were re- 
opened in 1913 in February and October respectively. In 1897 
the School of Library Economy which had been established in 
1893 at the Armour Institute of Technology in Chicago was 
transferred to the University and the Library School of the Uni- 
versity was opened.^ The first summer session of the University 



•Eept., Univ. of HI., 1896, p. 240 
*Bept, Univ. of HI., 1898, p. 74; 1900, p. 247 
■Eept, Univ. of HI., 1902, pp. 54-56 

•Bept, Univ. of HI., 1898, pp. Ill, 192; Univ. of HI. Bui. VoL L No. 4. 
Oct. 18, 1903, p. 3. 



Digitized by 



Google 



The Student Body 157 

was opened in June, 1894J In 1897 the department of music 
was reorganized and made the School of Music with a separate 
faculty and organization.® The School of Law was organized 
in 1897. It became the College of Law in 1900.® In 1901 the 
General Assembly made an appropriation of $6,000 per annum 
for the establishment of ^'a school of social and political science 
and industrial economics," and in accordance with this action 
the Courses in Business Administration were organized. In 
1915 these were erected into a separate College of Commerce 
and Business Administration.*^ The School of Education was 
established in 1905. In 1906 a department of railway engineer- 
ing was created. In the following year it was reorganized as 
the School of Railway Engineering and Administration. Grad- 
uate work was undertaken as early as 1892. In 1907 the legis- 
lature appropriated $50,000 for each of the next two years for 
the support of the Graduate School, and the school was definitely 
organized immediately, with an executive faculty. The College 
of Literature and Arts and the College of Science were united 
in 1913 to form the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences.** 

It will be noticed that there is a slight decrease in the number 
of students enrolled in 1911-12, and a larger decrease for 1912-13. 
The Academy connected with the University was discontinued in 
June, 1911. During the preceding year 304 students had at- 
tended the Academy. This loss more than offset the gain of 287 
college students in the year 1911-12. The discontinuance of the 
College of Dentistry during the year 1912-13, and the conse- 
quent loss of the 125 students enrolled in that college, was re- 
sponsible for the decrease of 113 in the total enrolment of the 
University for 1912-13. 

The enrolment was greatly affected by the entrance of the 
country into the war, in 1917. The attendance fell from 6,828 
in 1916-17 to 5,590 in 1917-18. This loss was offset in 1918-19 
by the organization of the Students' Army Training Corps, and 
the enrolment passed the 7,000 mark for the first time, making a 

Tlept., Univ. of 111., 1894, pp. 198, 214, 234, 271. 

•Sept., Univ. of lU., 1898, p. 125 

•Eept., Univ. of lU., 1898, pp. 44, 72; Univ. of Dl. Begister, 1899-1900 

**Eopt., Univ. of HI., 1916, p. 244; Laws of Ulinoia, 1901, p. 40 

"Eept., Univ. of 111., 1914, p. 71 



Digitized by 



Google 



158 Sixteen Years at the University of Illinois 

gain of 28 per cent. This large increase, however, was only the 
first wave of the flood, for in 1919-20 the total enrolment was 
9,249, a gain of 2,092, or over 29 per cent, over the preceding 
year, and of over 65 per cent over 1917-18. The increase dur- 
ing the sixteen years from 1904 to 1920 was 5,515, or more than 
157 per cent. The largest annual increase previous to 1919-20 
was 10 per cent, made in 1907-08. 

The following table exhibits the growth of each college and 
school of the University from year to year for the fourteen years 
from 1904 to 1920, as measured by the enrolment of students 
in each.^* 



>H7f. Begistrar'B Beport, Uniy. of Bl., September 29, 1913, pp. 28-31, 
and subsequent Annual Begistera, Univ. of 111. 



Digitized by 



Google 



The Student Body 



159 









<6 



-a 






^ rH 
A rH 

is 

is 



Is 



1 
I 
I 



8 5; 

CQ CO 

09 lO 



goo 



a 



3 S 



CO 00 A 

fr- O CO 

rH rH b- 



s as 



s ss 



<D CO 
00 A 



ss 

A CO 



Si 

00 S 09 



O fc» CO 

SCfe o 
09 CO 



09 O 

00 00 



O 00 
t« 00 



00 09 
«H 00 
00 



as 



S 09 



gS 



t^ «D S 
fc» 09 rH 



<0 iH fc» 
« S O 



"^ « ^ 
09 O CO 
CO iH 



o -^ -^ o 

00 iH iH O 



09 lO 
lO 

CO ^ lO 



CO 00 O) Cfe 
^ 09 '^ 



ud CO o CO 

b* CO CO o 
CO OO CO lO 



s 

to 00 CO ^ 00 
|00^|| 



fc* fc* rH «0 



00 t^ iH 
09 0» CO 
O CO « 



9 



<D 00 



I 



gs^ 



O 09 CO 

CO 

M 09 O 



I- 

rH Ud iH 

00 lO <^ 

09 rH 
CO 

A CO fH 

<D O CO 



fH CO 00 lO 
CO iH O iH 

CO fc* 09 -^ 



A O CO fc* 
CO ^ fr- «D 
CO to 09 CO 



CO S 09 S 



«D t* CO '^ 
iH t* b- O 
CO fO CO CO 



SrH « CO 
CO iH iH 
09 « CO CO 



^ 9 S 

t^ 00 CO 



t^ S S CO 
09 «D CO CO 



S 00 «D 0» 
CO o o> O 
CO iH 09 



S 



09 iH CO iH 
O 00 «D iH 
S 09 iH iH 



t^ CO CO t« 
O » b- "^ 
O 09 rH iH 



00 Ud 09 iH 
fr- iH 00 «D 
09 09 iH fH 



iH 09 09 

A 09 iH r-l 
lO 

0:4(0 

O C» 00 O 

CO M 09 

to 



O lO 

00 lO 

09 



s 



t^ IQ 00 
CO ^ A 

lO rH rH 



Q lO rH rH 



00 09 

CO 



09 O ^ A 

O 09 O 09 

00 lO rH 09 
CO 




CO 

!§ 



00 



i 



s 

00 



lO 



I 



SS 



I 

I 



o • 
o 



i 



09 lO 
-^ 09 



CO fc* 
fc* rH 

S 



S : 



SS I 5 



IS|ii|p|i 



s 



O "^ 



iH I «D 09 

CO 

CO 



If 



i § 
I 

S 1 



00 

• 1 



flS 



!S 



09 

lO 






i 

00 
rH 

9 



CO 



i 



il 

in 

H 
II 






OR G» 

fl, " rH 

pCO ro 



lift! 




Digitized by 



Google 



160 



Sixteen Years crt the University of lUinais 



The following table presents a comparison between the en- 
rolment in the various colleges, schools and cnrricolams in 
1903-04 and 1919-20. 

ENBOLMENT BY COLLEGES, SCHOOLS, AND CUBBXCULUMS, 
1903-4 AND 1919-20 

Enrolment Inerease Pereent 

College and Canieolam 1903-4 1919-20 1919-20 of increase 
Liberal Arts and Sciences 

General 492 1390 898 182 

Journalism 147 147 

Law Preparatory 131 131 

Medical Preparatory 40 179 139 347 

Household Science 25 284 259 1036 

Chemistry 33 160 127 384 

Chemical Engineering 23 256 233 . 1013 

Total 631 2547 1916 803 

Engineering 

Architecture 75 120 45 60 

Architectural Engineering 43 156 113 262 

Ceramic Engineering 46 46 

Civil Engineering 232 851 119 51 

Electrical Engineering 172 455 283 164 

Mechanical Engineering 219 528 309 141 

Mining Engineering 61 61 

Municipal and Sanitary Engineering 8 12 4 50 

Railway Civil Engineering 3 10 7 233 

Bailway Electrical Engineering 20 20 

Bailway Mechanical Engineering 6 6 

Gen. Begin. Physics 3 8 

Unspecified 34 . . (34)* 

Total 786 1768 982 124 

Agriculture 

General 291 1113 822 282 

Household Science 17 102 85 500 

Total 308 1215 907 294 

Music 101 119 18 17 

Commerce and Business Administration 41 1588 1547 8773 

Education 87 87 



Total, Undergraduates at Urbana.1849 7324 5475 



296 



Digitized by 



Google 



Digitized by 



Google 



Digitized by 



Google 



The Student Body 161 

Enrolment Inerease Per cent 

College and Curriealum 1903-04 1919-20 1919-20 of increase 

Law 142 109 (33)* (23)» 

Library School 79 34 (45)» (67)* 

Graduate School 118 380 262 222 

Total at Urbana, Winter Session.. 2188 7839* 5651 258 

Summer Session 229 1314 1085 473 

Total at Urbana during year 2417 9153 6736 278 

Medicine (Chicago) 694 308 (386)' (56)' 

Dentistry (Chicago) 163 196 33 20 

Pharmacy (Chicago) 185 209 24 14 

Total in Chicago 1042 713 (329) ' (32)' 

Preparatory 257 .. (257)' 

Total in University 3716 9866 6150 166 

DupUcates to be deducted 124 617 493 

Nkt Total FOB Ykab 3592 9249 5657 157 

Attention has already been called to the fact that the total 
gain in enrolment for the past sixteen years was over 157 
per cent. From the preceding table it may be observed that 
several divisions of the University show a much larger increase. 
Thns, in the business courses, administered under the College 
of Literature and Arts in 1903-04 but constituting a separate 
College of Commerce and Business Administration in 1919-20, 
there was a gain of 3,773 per cent. The enrolment in House- 
hold Science, divided between the College of Agriculture and 
the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences, shows a total gain of 
768 per cent. There was a gain of 1,013 per cent in the num- 
ber enrolled in the curriculum in Chemical Engineering. There 
was an increase of 473 per cent in the total enrolment in the 
Summer Session, of 222 per cent in the Graduate School and 
of 294 per cent in the College of Agriculture. 

The divisions showing a loss are the Library School, and the 
Colleges of Law and Medicine. In the majority of these divisions 



^Decrease 

'Deducting 8 duplicates 



Digitized by 



Google 



162 Sixteen Years at tJie TJniverHty of Illinois 

the loss may properly be attributed to an advancement of the 
standards required for admission and for graduation.^ ^ 

It should be noted that the enrolment for the summer session 
is not classified in the table according to the divisions of the 
University. The total figure for the enrolment in various di- 
visions would, of course, be considerably larger if such classifica- 
tion were made. Thus, while the table shows an enrolment of 
380 for the Graduate School for 1919-20 for the regular school 
year, there were 170 graduate students enrolled in the summer 
session, or a gross total of 550 for the year of 12 months, and 
a net total of 466, excluding duplicates. 

In the following table a summary is presented of the var- 
ious degrees granted by the University from 1905 to 1919. 



^A Btatement of the changes in standards is to be found later in this 
chapter 



Digitized by 



Google 



The Student Body 



163 



i 



t« CO p 03 



P ^ tH CD CO ^ ]J* 



a ^ 



M CO «H iH 
lO CO 



00 lO 



ss 



A 00 fH 

to ^ 



M Q «l 



s 
s 


SS : 


03 


5S : 




S3S : 


1 


SSS" 


1 

1-1 


SS" 


00 

s 


• •^ 



CO 



O lO lO rH 



S 






s I ^ 



09 



00 Ud -^ • iH 



s I s 



-^1 



rH 03 • lO 




I 




I 

I 

1 



CO CD 00 CD 09 09 iH 
09 



09 iH 00 lO O lO <0 
CO CO iH »0 CO 



09 
09 






00 
09 
09 



CO 04 



CO 



t^ 00 CO lO lO t* 
CO CO fc*" CO 



rH 00 fc* rH A CO 
CO CO rH 09 CO 



CO CO CO 00 le A 



lO CO o 
Oi CO *H 



iH rH 



00 



II I 



CO 

p 



^ C9 
09 iH 



iH o 
09 ?^ 



09 



il 



n 

£ S 

III 
fi -S^ .-e '3 

S^ o o 

J ^ PQ ^ 



S 



o» lO t^ 



§8" 



§8-^ 



SS 



2^ -I 



CO t* rH 
A rH 



ill 
illll'i 



O CO I CO 
09 09 



09 CO I le 
09 09 



I I " 



O P 



^ r ^ ^ :» o 
QQ n GQ GQ GQ S 

pq "^ m n pq PQ 



2 



Digitized by 



Google 



164 



A 
iH 

rH 

00 

11 

rH 

S 

11 

to 

11 



CO 

n 
n 



O 
i1 

n 

o» 

o 
o» 

n 

00 

s 

fl 

s 

CD 

S 

*« 

i 



M 



Sixteen Years < 


3 




i 


§ 


t* 

8 


S$ 


-^ 

a 




3 


38 


|S 


9 


1 


89 


s 


S 


rH 








§ 


ag 


1^ 


S 



cpt fhe University of Illinois 



8^ 



S 



g I § 

rH 



gMrHIOfc*iHrH IM 




i1 • 



00 



8 

s 
s 



a 
o 



I'll! 
l-ll I 



1 ^ 


II 


I 


1 ^ 


\i 


1 


1 • 


1 A 


H 


1 • 


1 E: 


S 


1 *^ 


l§ 


1 


1 M 




£ 




1 


fH 


1 ^ 


§ 





2 M rH 03 <0 rH rH 







II 



Digitized by 



Google 



The Student Body 165 

In the next table there is presented a comparison of the 
number of degrees granted in the various colleges and schools 
of the University in 1904 and in 1918. 

DEOBEES GONFEBBED IN 1904 AND IN 1918 

1904 1918 
Degrees in the Graduate School 

Master of Arts 10 52 

Master of Science 2 83 

Civil Engineer 2 

Master of Architecture 1 

Electrical Engineer 1 

Architectural Engineer 1 

Mechanical Engineer 2 

Doctor of Philosophy 83 

Total 14 128 

Baccalaureate Degrees 

A. B., College of Liberal Arts and Sciences 120 249 

B. S., College of Liberal Arts and Sciences 81 

B. L., College of Liberal Arts and Sciences 1 

A.B., College of Commerce and Business Administration.... 38 

B. S., College of Commerce and Business Administration. ... 17 

B. S., College of Engineering 99 121 

B. S., College of Agriculture 16 139 

B. Mus., School of Music 6 

Total 235 002 

Degrees in Law 

LL.B 89 5 

Degrees in Library Science 

B.L.S 80 12 

Total, Colleges and Schools at Urbana 818 742 

Degrees in Medicine 

B.S 68 

M.D 216 30 

Total 216 98 

Degrees in Dentistry 

D.D.S 56 46 



Digitized by 



Google 



166 Sixteen Tears at the University of lUinois 

DEGBEES CONFEBBED IN 1904 AND IN 1918 

Degrees in Phannacj 
PIlG 48 88 

PlLa 4 

Total 48 42 

Total, Departments in Chicago 815 186 

Total, All Departments 688 928 

The total number of degrees granted in tlie undergraduate 
colleges rose from 235 in 1904 to 602 (779)* in 1918, a gain of 
367 (571), or over 156 (243) per cent. The professional schools, 
on the other hand, all show a loss in the number of degrees con- 
ferred. In 1904, 384 degrees were granted in Law, Library 
Science, Medicine, Dentistry and Pharmacy — over 60 i)er cent 
of the entire number granted by the University. In that year 
the number granted in the Chicago Departments, 315, was only 
three less than the total number granted in all the departments 
at Urbana. In 1918 the number of degrees conferred in the 
professional schools was 203 (220), or less than 22 (18) per cent 
of the total number conferred by the University in that year. 
This decrease is due in part to the much higher entrance re- 
quirements prevailing during recent years, and in part to the 
economic fact that the supply of professionally trained men 
and women is likely to come in response to a demand — ^real or 
supposed — for persons so equipped ; whereas the student in the 
undergraduate college chooses his course largely with a view 
of acquiring a general education, leaving his final choice of a 
vocation to be made at a later time. 

There was a steady increase in the number of degrees granted 
in the Graduate School during the fourteen years from 1904 
to 1918. However, the number of degrees granted to graduate 
students dropped from 197 in 1917 to 123 in 1918, a loss of 74 
or nearly 38 per cent. During the fourteen year period from 
1904 to 1918, the total number increased from 14 in 1904 to 
123 (197) in 1918, a gain of more than 778 (1,307) per cent 
The degrees of Master of Arts and Master of Science were con- 

*The figures in parenthesis are those for 1916-17. 



Digitized by 



Google 



The Student Body 167 

ferred on 10 persons and 2 persons, respectively, in 1904, but 
in 1918 52 (87) persons were granted the degree of A. M. and 
33 (59) that of M. S. In 1904 no person was granted the de- 
gree of Doctor of Philosophy. In 1918 this degree was conferred 
on 33 (36) persons. The degree was granted to a total of 241 
persons during the fifteen years from 1905 to 1919. 

The number of persons receiving the degree of Bachelor of 
Arts was 249 (235) in 1918 as compared with 120 in 1904. The 
number of graduates of the College of Engineering increased 
from 99 to 121 (218), a gain of more than 22 (120) per cent 

A remarkable gain is shown in the number of persons who 
completed the curriculum of the College of Agriculture. One 
hundred and thirty-nine (235) persons received the degree of 
Bachelor of Science in Agriculture in 1918 as against only 16 
in 1904, an increase of over 768 (1,368) per cent. 

The newly organized College of Commerce and Business Ad- 
ministration presented 69 candidates for the Bachelor of Arts 
degree in 1916, and 38 (73) in 1918, together with 17 (3) candi- 
dates for the degree of Bachelor of Science in the latter year. 

The total number of degrees granted by the Univendly in- 
creased, with some degree of uniformity, from 633 in 1904, to 
928 (1,223) in 1918— « total gain of 295 (590), or about 47 
(93) per cent for the fourteen year period. The exceptionally 
large number of degrees conferred in 1914 is partly to be ac- 
counted for by the fact that at the 1914 commencement 45 
students of former years who had completed the required amount 
of work for a degree, but had failed to satisfy the technical re- 
quirements in force at that time, were granted the appropriate 
degrees. If this number be deducted from the total number 
of degrees conferred in 1914, the number of degrees granted to 
members of the dass of 1914 is 987. 

It is perhaps worthy of note that the ratio of the number 
of degrees granted in 1918 to the total number of persons in 
attendance during the year 1917-18 is nearly the same as the 
corresponding ratio in 1904 — 16.6 (17.9) per cent in 1918 as 
compared with 17.6 per cent in the earlier year. 

In December, 1916, the Board of Trustees approved a recom- 
mendation of the Univendly Senate to the effect that thereafter 



Digitized by 



Google 



168 Sixteen Tears erf the University of lUinois 

degrees should be conferred four times a year — ^in Angtust, Octo- 
ber and Febraary as well as in June. In consequence of tliis 
action a student who completes his work at the end of a sum- 
mer session or at the end of the first semester is not required 
to wait until the following June for his degree.^^ Thirteen de- 
grees were conferred in February, 1917, 11 in August and 37 
in October in accordance with this provision. Such graduates 
are ranked as members of the dass of the calendar year in 
which their degrees are conferred.^* 

In the four tables which follow, the distribution of degrees 
conferred in 1904 and in 1918, according to the place of resi- 
dence of the recipients is indicated. 

GBOGBAPHICAL DISTRIBUTION OP DEGEBES GRANTED IN 
1904 AND IN 1918 

Departments Departments 

in Urbana in Ghieago Total 

1904 1918 1904 1918 1904 1918 

niinolB 272 522 175 108 447 630 

States other than Dlinoifl 44 190 135 08 179 258 

Insular Possessions of the U. 8. . . 1 . . 1 

Foreign Ck>nntries 2 29 5 10 7 89 

Total 318 742 815 186 688 928 

PERCENTAGE OF DEGREES GRANTED TO STUDENTS FROM 

ILLINOIS AND FROM OTHER STATES OR COUNTRIES 

IN 1904 AND IN 1918 

DIPABTMINTS IN UBBANA 

1904 1918 

Illinois 85% 70% 

States other than IHinois 14 26 

Insular possessions of the U. S. 

Foreign Countries 1 4 

100 100 



*Min., Bd. of Trustees, Univ. of HL, 1916-18, p. 181 
'fPhe degrees granted in February, August and October, 1917 are in- 
cluded in the tables above with the other degrees conferred in that year 



Digitized by 



Google 



The Student Body 169 

lUEPABfniMNTS IN CHIOAQO 

1904 1918 

SHnoifl 55% 58% 

States other than Illinois i3 87 

Insalar possessioiiB of the U. S. 

Foreign Ckiuntries 2 5 

100 100 

ALL DEPABTMINT8 OF THE UNIVEB8ITY 

1904 1918 

Illinois 71% 68% 

States other than Illinois 28 28 

Insular possessions of the U. S. 

Foreign Ck>nntries 1 4 

100 100 

A number of facts of interest may be deduced from the 
preceding tables. There has been a noteworthy increase in the 
number of students from other states and countries who have 
received degrees in the Urbana departments of the Universily. 
In 1904, 85 per cent of the students graduating from the various 
departments at Urbana were from Illinois, only 14 per cent 
from outside states and 1 per cent from foreign countries. In 
1918, 26 (25) per cent of the graduates were from other states 
and 4 (4) per cent from foreign countries. Of degrees granted 
to graduates of Chicago departments in 1904, but 2 per cent 
were received by foreign students, while in 1918, 10 (9) degrees, 
or 5 (5) per cent were received by students from foreign coun- 
tries. Of the total number of degrees conferred by the Univer- 
sily in 1918, 298 (371), or 32 (31) per cent, were granted to 
students from other states or countries, as against 186, or 29 
per cent in 1904. 

The extent to which certain departments attracted and held 
students from other states and from foreign countries may be 
seen from the fact that in 1917, 16 out of 26 bachelor's degrees 
granted in architecture, 11 out of the 31 in architectural en- 
gineering, and 6 out of 10 in the Library School were conferred 
on students from states other than Illinois. Of 10 bachelors' 



Digitized by 



Google 



170 Sixteen Tears oA the University of Illinois 

degrees in railway engineering, four were granted to stadents 
of other states and two to stadents from foreign countries. In 
the College of Commerce, 17 of the 76 bachelors' degrees granted 
were conferred on stadents from other states, and 5 on stadents 
from foreign coantries. 

Of the 188 degrees granted by the Oradoate School in 1917, 
only 88 were received by stadents from Illinois, while 100 de- 
grees were given to stadents from other states, from our insalar 
possessions, or from foreign coantries. In the departments of 
botany, chemistry, classics, economics, mathematics, Gterman, 
political science, Romance languages, transportation, zoology, 
animal husbandry, dairy husbandry, civil engineering, theoreti- 
cal and applied mechanics and mechanical engineering, half or 
over half of the advanced degrees granted were conferred on 
students not living in Illinois. In entomology, philosophy, bac- 
teriology and railway engineering, all the higher degrees were 
received by students from other states or from foreign countries. 

It is evident from these figures that the work of the Uni- 
versity of Illinois has become favorably known b^ond the 
borders of the state during the past sixteen years. This fact 
is shown even more clearly by the total enrolment of students 
at the University during the year 1917-18, as presented in the 
following table : 

GEOGBAPmCAL DISTRIBUTION OF STUDENTS 
1917-18 

Urbana Chicago Total 

niinoifl 3,756 367 4,123 

States other than niinoifl 1,113 198 1,311 

Insular possessions of the U. S.. . . 12 8 15 

Foreign (Countries 126 15 Ul 

Total 5,007 583 6,590 

From the foregoing table it may be noted that 1,467 sta- 
dents, or over 26 per cent of the total enrolment in the Uni- 
versity for the year 1917-18, were from outside the state; and 



Digitized by 



Google 



The Student Body 



171 



that of these, 141 came to the institation from foreign comitries 
and 15 from the ingolar possessions of the United States. 

Thirty-one foreign countries and four of the insular posses- 
sions of the United States were represented at the Universily 
during the year 1917-18 by one or more students each. For 
several years the University of Illinois has provided an Adviser* 
to Foreign Students to assist them in the solution of their special 
problems and to facilitate the adjustment of their previous edu- 
cational work with the courses offered at the University. It is 
worthy of note, that the success which had attended this work 
at the University of Illinois has resulted in the adoption of 
the plan by a number of other leading universities. 

The following tables exhibit the attendance of foreign stu- 
dents at the University of Illinois. 

FOBEIGN COUNTRIES BEPBE8ENTED BY STUDENTS IN THE 

UNIVEBSITY OF ILLINOIS 

1917-18 



Ck>imti7 
China . .. 
Japan . .. 
Brazil . .. 



No. of 
Students 
.... 87 
.... 21 
... 13 



India 11 

Canada 10 

Mexico 

Greece 4 

Bulgaria 4 

Peru 4 

Spain 8 

Chile 8 

Bnssia 2 

Norway 2 

Caba 2 

Holland 2 



No. of 
Country Students 

Germany 2 

Nova Scotia 2 

Austria 

Jamaica 

San Domingo 

Italy 

Hungary 

Syria 

Trinidad. 

Argentina 

Burmah 

Denmark 

Colombia 

Servia 

Hayti 

Ireland 



Total from Foreign Countries 141 



*Title changed to Assistant Dean of Men for Foreign Students, 1918 



Digitized by 



Google 



172 Sixteen Tears at tTie University of lUinois 

INSULAB POSSESSIONS OP THE UNITED STATES 
(Including Canal Zone) 

BiFBBSBNTED BY StUDKNTS, 1917-18 

No. of No. of 

CJonntry Students Ckmntry Students 

Hawaii . 5 Porto Bieo 8 

Philippines 7 Canal Zone 1 

Total 15 

Attendance of Individual Students in Successive Ybabs 

The following table is of interest as indicating the extent to 
which students drop out of college before the completion of their 
courses.^*^ Although the figures shown are for but a single year, 
the number of students involved is sufficiently large to make it 
probable that the percentages found represent fairly the facts 
relating to the attendance of students in any two successive 
years. 

THE UNDEBGBADUATE COLLEGES, THE SCHOOL OF MUSIC 
AND THE COLLEGE OF LAW 

PXBOINTAQIS OF STUDENTS GkaDUATID, BBTUBNSD, NOT BBTUBNID 

(Students of 1911-12) 

Total Grad- June Betnrned Not Bet 'd 

1911- nated 1912 1912 1912 

Colleges and Schools 12 No. Pet. No. Pet No. Pet 

Literature and Arts 909 164 18.0 501 55.1 244 26.9 

Science 393 64 16.3 256 65.1 73 18.6 

Engineering 1,290 195 15.1 661 51.2 434 33.7 

Agriculture 818 68 8.3 485 59.2 265 32.5 

Music 82 2 2.5 47 57.3 33 40.2 

Law 122 26 21.3 84 68.8 12 9.» 

Totals 3,614 519 14.4 2,034 56.2 1,061" 29.4 

It will be noticed that there is a considerable difference in 
the case of the various colleges in the proportion of students 
who leave before completing their work, ranging from less than 
ten per cent for the College of Law to over forty per cent for 
the School of Music. 



'rFrom Beport of Begistrar, Univ. of HI., September 29, 1913, p. 22 



Digitized by 



Google 



The Student Body 



173 



Occupations op Parents op Students 

From the following table it will be seen that the student 
body of the University is composed of young men and young 
women whose parents are engaged in occupations of the most 
varied character.^® Here again the figures presented are for 
a single year, 1912-13, but it is not probable that the year 
upon which the study was made was exceptional in the facts 
pertaining to the occupations followed by the parents of the 
students of this Universily. 

OCCUPATIONS OP STUDENTS' PABENTS AND GUABDIANS— 
Undebqbaouati Students at Ukbana, 1912-13 

L.A. li- 

AS. Eng. Agr. Musie Law brary Total 
Professions (the minis trj, 
medicine, the law, teaching, 

the army and navy) 204 99 98 17 27 4 449 

Sdentifie Professions (ceram- 
ists, chemists, engineers, 

etc) 45 71 18 .. 4 2 140 

Artistic Professions (archi- 
tects, artists, authors, etc.) 9 23 8 . . . . 1 41 
(Government Service (United 

States, state, countj, citj) 41 37 18 1 4 1 108 

Business 

Manufacturing 53 57 12 1 6 . . 129 

Mercantile 300 228 117 17 15 3 680 

Business Managers 50 75 27 4 6 .. 102 

Financial and semi-legal 
(abstracter, banker, bro- 
ker, cashier, real estate 

dealer, etc) 87 88 58 10 11 2 251 

Bailroading 35 35 16 2 4 1 93 

Agriculturists 301 142 409 20 27 10 909 

Skilled Laborers 76 120 35 6 6 1 244 

Unskilled Laborers 27 43 14 1 6 1 92 

Miscellaneous 73 71 36 4 2 3 189 

Betired or "no occupation" 20 18 7 .. 2 2 49 

Occupation not given 53 58 6 5 6 5 133 

Total 1,374 1,160 879 88 126 36 3,668 

"Beport of Begistrar, Univ. of HL, September 29, 1913, p. 78 



Digitized by 



Google 



174 Sixteen Tears erf the University of Illinois 

It is perhaps worthy of note that the largest nnmber of 
young men and yonng women were from the farm, and that 
next in order are the sons and the daughters of men engaged 
in merchantile business, the professions, financial and semi- 
legal business, and as skilled laborers. The wide range of occu- 
pations makes it dear that the University is an institution of 
the whole state, serving all classes of its citizens. 

Entrance BsginKEifENTS 

In the course of the past sixteen years the requirements for 
admission have been raised in the case of each of the various 
colleges and schools of the University.^* The following table with 
the accompanying notes indicates the extent to which the re- 
quirements have been advanced in each instance. 

The changes made in the last sixteen years in the require- 
ments for entrance to the University may be summarized as 
follows : 

For admission to the colleges of Liberal Arts and Sciences, 
Engineering and Agriculture, and the School of Music fifteen 
units are now required, as against thirteen and one-third units 
required in 1904. 

The requirements for admission to the College of Commerce 
and Business Administration, organized as a separate college 
in 1915, have from the outset been 15 units. 

For admission to the College of Law 131^ units were re- 
quired in 1904. At the present time, in addition to 15 entrance 
units, two years of college work are required for entrance to 
the three-year course, and one year of college work for entrance 
to the four-year course. 

Three years of college work were required in 1904 and until 
1911 for admission to the Library School. Since 1911 the pos- 
session of a bachelor's degree has been necessary to secure ad- 
mission as a candidate for the degree in library science. 

In 1904, 13% units were required for entrance to the College 
of Medicine. For 1913-14, 15 entrance units and the completion 



*«Cf. Univ. of HI. Annual Register, ld04 to 1917; Repte., Univ. of HI., 
1904 to 1916; Min., Bd. of Trustees, Univ. of HI., 1916-18 



Digitized by 



Google 



The Stvdent Body 



175 



ENTBANCE BEQUIBEMENTS 1904-1920 

UNITB BlQUIBXD FOB ADMISSION TO THB VARIOUS Ck>LLBCT8 AND SCHOOLS 
OF THB UNIVBBSITY 





Music 

Ti.A.ftS. 

Eng'g 

Agile. 










Pharmacy 


Year 


Law 


Library 
School 


Medi- 
eine 


Dentistry 


Ph.G. 
Curricu- 


Ph. a 
Curri- 




Com.* 










lum 


culum 


1904-6 


13% 


13% 


98hr8. 
col. credits 


13% 


lyr.Ks. 


gram.8cb. 
course 


4 


1905-6 


14 


14 


98 bis. 
coL credits 


14 


2yrs.b.s. 


gram.scb. 
course 


• • 


1906-7 


14 


14 


98 bis. 
col. ciedits 


14 


b.B. 

course 


gram.sch. 
course 


• • 


1907-8 


14 


14* 


98 bis. 
col. ciedits 


14 


b.s. 
course 


gram.sch. 
course 


•• 


1908-9 


15 


15« 


98 bn. 
col. credits 


15 


15 


lyr.b.s. 


15 


1909-10 


15 


15« 


98 bis. 
col. credits 


15 


15 


lyr. b.8. 


15 


191011 


16 


15« 


98 bis. 
col. credits 


15 


15 


lyr. b.B. 


15 


1911-12 


15 


lyr. 
college 


Bach^or's 
degree 


15 


15 


1 yr. h. 8. 


15 


191213 


16 


lyr. 
college 


Bachelor's 
degree 


15 


"■* 


lyr.b.s. 


15 


1913-14 


16 


lyr. 
college 


Bachelor's 
degree 


lyr. 
coL 


15 


1 yr. b. 8. 


15 


1914-15 


15 


lyr. 


Bachelor's 


2 yrs. 


15 


2 yrs. ac 


15 






college 


degree 


coL 




b.8. 




191616 


15 


2 yrs. 


Bachelor's 


2 yrs. 


15 


2 yrs. ac 


15 






college 


degree 


coL 




b.8. 




1916-17 


15 


2 yrs. 
college 


Bachelor's 
degree 


2 yrs. 
coL 


15 


15 


15 


1917-18* 


16 


lor2y8. 
college* 


Bachelor's 
degree 


2 yrs. 
coL 


15 


15 


15 



^' After the first of September, 1907, the degree of LL.B. will be 
conferred only upon students, who, before the academic year in which they 
receive it, have satisfactorily completed a full year's work in the College 
of Literature and Arts or the College of Science, or in the corresponding 
department of another university or college of recognized standing, or 
to students who have attained in the course which they present for the 



Digitized by 



Google 



176 Sixteen Tears at the University of lUinois 

of one year of college work were required. Since 1914-15, two 
years of college work have been prerequisite. 

The entrance requirements for the College of Dentistry have 
advanced from one year of high school work to a credit of 
15 units. 

In 1904 only the completion of a grammar school course was 
required for admission to the School of Pharmacy. From 1908 
to 1913, one year of high school work was required for enrol- 
ment as a candidate for the degree of Graduate of Pharmacy. 
For 1914-15 the requirements for entrance to the curriculum 
leading to that degree were fixed as two years' work in an ac- 
credited high school. Since 1916, 15 units have been required. 
For admission to the curriculum leading to the degree of Phar- 
maceutical Chemist, 15 units have been required since the organ- 
ization of this curriculum in 1908. 

degree an average grade of 85 on the scale of 100." — Register, Univ. of 
HL, 1906-07, p. 167. 

The above paragraph (note 1) is stated more explicitly in the an- 
nouncements published the next year, as follows: "Candidates for tiie 
degree of Bachelor of Laws who register in the Ck>llege of Law after 
February 1, 1908, in addition to the above law credits, will be required to 
present credits for one full year's work in the Ck>llege of Literature and 
Arts or the College of Science, or the corresponding department of another 
University or college of recognized standing; or attain in the law courses 
which they present for the degree an average grade of 85 on the scale 
of 100. This rule does not apply to meml^rs of the Illinois Ba^ who 
are admitted to the third year class and may receive the degree of Bachelor 
of Laws ui>on satisfactory completion of the work of that year. ' ' — ^Register, 
Univ. of ni., 1907-08, p. 171. 

These provisions appear also in the Registers for 1908-09 (p. 177) and 
1909-10 (p. 206). 

*The requirements for 1919-20 were the same as for 1917-18. 

^On June 7, 1917, the Board of Trustees adopted a recommendation 
of the University Senate, that in addition to the present three-year curri- 
culum in law, with the admission requirement of sixty hours of college 
credit, a four-year curriculum in law be established: the admission require- 
ments of the four-year curriculum to be matriculation and thirty hours' 
credit in a college of this University, or the equivalent. On June 25, a 
second recommendation was adopted, that students transferring from other 
institutions who may fall short not to exceed five hours of credit by transfer 
may be admitted to the three-year curriculum as conditioned students; such 
conditions to be made up before the beginning of the student 's second year 
in the college. — ^Min. Board of Trustees, Univ. of HI., 1916-18, pp. 336, 390. 

"The College of Commerce was not organized as a separate college until 
1915. The curriculum leading to the degree of Pharmaceutical Chemist was 
not established until 1908. The College of Dentistry was not operated dur- 
ing the year 1912-13. 



Digitized by 



Google 



Digitized by 



Google 



Digitized by 



Google 



The Student Body 177 

The state law providing for the organization of the Univer- 
sity stipulated that no stadent should be admitted to instruction 
in any of the departments of the University who should not have 
attained to the age of 15 years.»> On March 13, 1894, in ao- 
cordance with a recommendation of the faculty, transmitted to 
the Board of Trustees by Acting President Burrill, and a favor- 
able recommendation of the Board's committee on instruction, 
the Board voted that no person under 16 years of age should 
thereafter be admitted to the University.^^ In addition to this 
regulation, which is still in effect^ further restrictions have been 
placed upon prospective matriculants in certain departments 
of the University. 

The College of Law, from its organization in 1897'* untU 
1911 admitted only students who were at least 18 years of age. 
Since 1911, when a year of college work was added to the re- 
quirements for admission to that college, the minimum age limit 
of 18 years has been removed. 

The College of Dentistry has since 1913 admitted only stu- 
dents 18 years of age or over. Thruout the period since its 
organization as a department of the University of Illinois; that 
is, since 1901, it has conferred the degree of D.D.S. only upon 
students who were at least 21 years of age. Inasmuch as the 
course in the College of Dentistry covers three years' woi*, this 
requirement is practically, though not absolutely, equivalent to 
a minimum of 18 years for admission. 

From 1897 to 1905 the College of Medicine required a mini- 
mum of 21 years for eligibility for a degree from that college, 
but this requirement has not since been made. 

From 1896 to 1906 a minimum of 16 years of age was required 
for entrance to the School of Pharmacy. In 1907 the minimum 
was raised to 17 years. The degree of Graduate in Pharmacy 
is given only to. candidates who have attained the age of 21 
years. Students who complete the curriculum leading to this 
degree at an earlier age are granted the degree upon their reach- 
ing the age required. 



"Eept, Univ. of lU., 1869, p. 7, see. 8 
*Eept., Univ. of lU., 1894, pp. 220, 229 
»Cf . Univ. of HL Begiflter 1897-98, p. 142 



Digitized by 



Google 



CHAPTER Vn 
STXJDENT ORGANIZATIONS AND ACTIVITIES 

Within recent years the growth in numbers of the student 
body has resulted in a wider range of interests and a marked 
increase in the number and variety of student organizations. 
A history of sixteen years of a university's existence would 
be incomplete without an attempt to enumerate at least a part 
of the many outside interests which add to the complexity of 
student life at a large institution. 

It should be observed that a considerable part of such activ- 
ities are closely related to the daily required work of the stu- 
dent. Thus athletic contests, whether between classes or be- 
tween different institutions, are in the nature of either a 
physical training drill or a test of the extent to which the 
competing athletes have developed by following the required 
rules of physical training. Inter-coUegiate debates and oratori- 
cal contests likewise give some evidence of the faithfulness with 
which the contestants have applied themselves to courses in 
public speaking, logic, English, sociology, political science, his- 
tory, and in other fields. 

Of the various organizations, some result from the desire 
of a number of persons having a common interest to unite 
for the purpose of informal discussion and study in a particu- 
lar field. Others, especially the fraternities and sororities, 
are a natural development from the earlier informal groups 
which boarded at the same table or found rooms under the 
same roof. 

Classes of Organizations 

The student organizations are of various kinds, societies of 
a social nature being perhaps the most numerous. Others 
may be classified as athletic, literary and scientific, dramatic, 
musical, religious, honorary and professional, national and sec- 
tional, general and miscellaneous. The purposes of many of 
these societies are, however, broader than this classification 
would suggest 

178 



Digitized by 



Google 



student Organizations and Activities 179 

LlTERABY AND SCIENTIFlO 

Of the organizations formed for literary purposes the most 
comprehensive are the Adelphie, Philomathean and Ionian soci- 
eties for men and the Alethenai, lUiola, Athenian, Gregorian 
and Jamesonian for women. These meet weekly for programs 
which include oratory, debates, declamations, extemporaneous 
speaking, and music. Each of the men's societies, in conjunction 
with one of the women's societies, presents a play annually. 
The Star Course, a series of entertainments including addresses, 
concerts and dramatic performances, is conducted under the 
direction of the Adelphic and Philomathean societies. Of the 
eight societies mentioned, four — ^the Ionian, Athenian, Oregor- 
ian and Jamesonian — ^were organized during the last sixteen 
years. 

Among the societies organized by students for literary and 
scientific purposes are to be included a considerable number 
which have been established in the different colleges of the Uni- 
versity to carry on outside work of a literary, scientific, or 
technical nature auxiliary to the work of various departments 
of that college. Among these are the following t^ 

In the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences : The Botanical 
Club, the Celtic Club, le Cerde Francois, el CircvUo Esponol, 
the Chemical Club, the University of Illinois Section of the 
American Chemical Society, the Classical Club, der DeutscJte 
Verein, the English Journal Club, the Geological Journal Club, 
Hexapoeda, the History Club, the Mathematical Club, the 
Oratorical Association, the Pen and Brush Club, the Philological 
Club, the Political Science Club, the Psychology Club, the Ro- 
mance Journal Club, Heimskringla (Scandinavian), the Zoology 
aub, the Ben Franklin Club. 

In the College of Commerce and Business Administration: 
The Commercial Club. 

In the College of Engineering: The Architectural Club, the 
Ceramics Engineering Society, the Student Branch of the Civil 
Engineering Society, the Electrical Engineering Society, the 
Urbana Section of the American Institute of Electrical 



nJniv. of HL Annual Begiater, 1919-20, p. 101 



Digitized by 



Google 



180 Sixteen Years at the University of lUinois 

Engineers, the Student Branch of the American Society of 
Mechanical Engineers, the Student Branch of the American 
Institute of Mining Engineers, the Physics Colloquium, the 
Railway Club. 

In the College of Agriculture: The Agricultural Club, the 
Horticultural Club, the Household Science Club, the Landscape 
Gardeners' Club, the Hoof and Horn Club, the Soils Research 
Club. 

In the College of Law : Inns of Court 

In the School of Music : The University Choral and Orches- 
tral Society, the University Qlee and Mandolin Club, the 
University Military Band, the University Women's Glee Club, 
the University Choristers. 

In the Graduate School : The Graduate Club. 

In the Library School : The Library Club. 

Of the organizations auxiliary to the courses of study, about 
half were formed prior to 1904 and the others since that year. 
Many of the organizations which were in existence in 1904 
have shown a marked growth during this period. Noteworthy 
among these is the Military Band, which consisted of 39 men 
in 1904. In 1917 the total enrolment of the First Regiment 
Band, the Second Regiment Band, the reserve band, and the 
trumpet corps was over 205. 

Reuoious 

Leadership in the religious activities of the University is 
taken by the Young Men's and the Young Women's Christian 
Associations. During the last sixteen years each has erected 
a substantial building with dormitories, parlors, game rooms, 
libraries, cafeteria and dining rooms, assembly rooms, etc. The 
membership of the Young Men's Christian Association showed 
a marked increase during this period, the maximum number 
of members being enrolled in 1913-14. In that year the Associa- 
tion had 1,066 members, said to be the largest paid membership 
of any Student Young Men's Christian Association in the world. 
During the same period the membership of the Young Women's 
Christian Association increased from 360 to 516. In 1916-17 



Digitized by 



Google 



student Organizations and Activities 181 

there were 473 young women enrolled in voluntary Bible study 
classes and 75 in the study of missions and social service. 

Within recent years ten leading religious denominations have 
made special efforts to provide facilities for the accommodation 
of the students of the University. The majority of these em- 
ploy one or more student pastors and have either already 
erected or are planning to erect student churches in the im- 
mediate vicinity of the University. In addition, the Episcopal, 
Presbyterian, Congregational and Christian Churches main- 
tain each a dormitory for the accommodation of young women. 
In connection with the Trinity Methodist Church a group of 
buildings to cost $500,000 is being erected by the Methodists 
of the state to serve as a social and religious center for all 
students of this denomination. 

The Bushnell Guild of the Congregational Church, the 
Bethany Circle of the Christian Church, the Christian Science 
Society, and the Seymour League (Episcopalian), all of recent 
origin, are four of a large number of young people's religious 
societies the membership of which is chiefly made up of students 
of the University. The Geneva Club is composed of those 
who have been in attendance at the Geneva T. W. C. A. Con- 
ferences. The Catholic Students' Association is made up of 
students of the Boman Catholic faith. The Student Volunteers 
at the University are regularly enrolled in the Student Volun- 
teer Band. The Menorah Society is a local branch of the 
National Menorah Society, an organization of Jewish students 
having for its aim the study of Hebrew ideals, history and 
culture. 

Drahatio 

Three student organizations now exist at the University for 
the purpose of fostering dramatic interests, namely the Mask 
and Bauble Club, the Pierrots, and the Illinois Drama Federa- 
tion. All of these have been founded during the last sixteen 
years. The first two named plan to present one or more plays 
annually. The third organization is active in promoting and 
correlating the various dramatic interests at the University, 
and seeks especially to bring about the ultimate erection of a 



Digitized by 



Google 



182 Sixteen Years at the University of lUinois 

campus theater. Also the literary societies for many years 
presented a play. Various programs are given by other organ- 
izations in the course of each year, such as the Post Exam 
Jubilee and the Oirls' Stunt Show, consisting of a series of 
farces or similarly improvised dramatic sketches. 

Athletio 

The athletic interests of the University are cared for by 
the Athletic Association, a mixed faculty and student organ- 
ization. The real power of the Association rests with its Board 
of Control, consisting of three members of the faculty, three 
alumni who are not members of the corps of instruction, the 
director of athletics, and the regular ofScers of the Association, 
namely, the president, secretary-treasurer, and the managers of 
the football, track and baseball teams. 

For the last few years vigorous attempts have been made 
to promote athletic activity among the entire student body. The 
movement has met with increasing success due to a greater 
interest in inter-class, inter-society and inter-fraternity contests, 
or briefly intra-mural athletics. However, the most notable 
progress was made in the spring of 1918, when the coaching 
staff of the University of Illinois introduced a new form of 
intercollegiate competition know as mass athletics. The first 
contest was held on May 25, and was participated in by Iowa, 
Wisconsin, Minnesota, Notre Dame and Illinois. Each school 
conducted its own athletic meet upon the home field and under 
the direction of local oflScials. All bona fide undergraduate 
students, regardless of academic standing, were eligible to com- 
pete in any or all events, and a system of scoring was devised 
whereby each competitor's efforts counted toward the mass 
score of the institution no matter how poor his performance 
might be. This new form of activity promises to develop in 
a more extensive way than ever before the competitive instinct 
and to insure a more universal participation in intercollegiate 
athletics by the entire student body. In the year 1919-20, regu- 
lar schedules were maintained in baseball, basket-ball, track, 
football, and swimming. The numbers taking part in these 



Digitized by 



Google 



student Organizations and Activities 183 

different sports were as follows: Basket-ball 530, baseball 500, 
track 400, football 75, and swimming 300. 

Intercollegiate competition is maintained with each of the 
other universities of the Western Conference, namely, Chicago, 
Indiana, Iowa, Michigan, Minnesota, Northwestern, Ohio, Pur- 
due and Wisconsin. Practise games are held annually with 
smaller colleges also. It is the general belief at the University 
of Illinois that intercollegiate athletics can be maintained with- 
out interference with the intellectual interests of the general 
student body; while so far as the contestants themselves are 
concerned, whatever has been acquired in the way of physical 
powers and moral training finds its surest test in the intercolle- 
giate game. 

Illinois athletes made an enviable record during the years 
from 1904 to 1920. Of 116 football games played, Illinois won 
82, lost 26 and tied in 8. In 1910 Illinois not only won every 
game played but was not scored on thruout the season. Illinois 
won the Conference football championship in 1910, 1914, 1918, 
and 1919, and tied for first place with Minnesota in 1915. From 
1905 to 1920, 221 games of baseball were played, of which Illinois 
won 161 and lost 55, while five games resulted in a tie. The Con- 
ference championship in baseball was won by Illinois in 1907, 
1908, 1910, 1911, 1914, 1915, and 1916, and in 1909 Illinois 
tied with Purdue for the championship. Of 214 games of bas- 
ket-ball played, Illinois won 128 and lost 86. In the season of 
1914-15 Illinois won the Conference championship in basket- 
ball, not losing a game. Illinois tied with Northwestern for 
second place in 1916, and with Minnesota for the Conference 
championship in 1917. Illinois track teams won 37 outdoor 
dual meets from 1905 to 1920, losing 7 and tying 1. They 
won 26 indoor dual meets, lost 6 and tied 1. They won the 
Conference outdoor meet four times, and in two other years 
led the Conference universities when an outside team won first 
place. Of 9 Conference indoor meets held, Illinois won 4 and 
lost another by one-fourth of a point. Illinois teams won the 
St. Louis annual meet in 1909, the one-mile championship of 
America in the Pennsylvania Belay Races in 1913, the two- 
mile championship of America in the same series in 1914, the 



Digitized by 



Google 



184 Sixteen Years ai the University of lUinois 

one-mile relay in the Missouri Valley Ck)nference in 1913, first 
place in the Drake Belay Meet in 1914, and the mile relay in 
the First Regiment Interscholastic Belay Baces in Chicago in 
1914. 

The activity of Illinois athletes in other branches of sports 
is deserving of mention. Swimming and water polo teams have 
been maintained for several years. In 1913 the Illinois swim- 
ming team defeated Chicago and Wisconsin in dual meets and 
also won the Conference championship. A gymnasium team, 
a wrestling team, a fencing team, a tennis team and a golf team 
are all maintained and all have won honors for Illinois in inter- 
collegiate contests. In the Conference fencing meet in 1914, 
Illinois not only won the championship, but won first place in 
every event 

A Women's Athletic Association exists at the Univendly, 
membership in which is secured by winning a certain number 
of points in physical training courses and athletic activities. 
The sports promoted by the Association include archery, tennis, 
hockey, basketball, volley ball, German ball, baseball, quoits 
and swimming. 

Fbatebnities and Sorobities 

In 1904, 12 national Greek letter social fraternities for men 
were represented by chapters in the Urbana departments of 
the University of Illinois. In 1920 the number had increased 
to 39. During the same period the number of national soror- 
ities increased from 5 to 14. In addition to these organizations 
there are several local fraternities and sororities and a number 
of professional and honorary Greek letter fraternities whose 
objects are to some extent social in nature. 

The various social organizations at the University of Illi- 
nois are as follows : 

National social fraternities: at Urbana-Champaign — ^Delta 
Tau Delta, Sigma Chi, Kappa Sigma, Phi Eappa Sigma, Phi 
Delta Theta, Alpha Tau Omega, Phi Gamma Delta, Sigma 
Alpha Epsilon, Beta Theta Pi, Sigma Nu, Phi Eappa Psi, Delta 
Eappa Epsilon, Delta Upsilon, Acacia, Theta Delta Chi, Sigma 
Pi, Alpha Sigma Phi, Zeta Psi, Phi Sigma Eappa, Psi Upsilon, 
Alpha Delta Phi, Tau Eappa Epsilon, Phi Eappa, Chi Phi, 



Digitized by 



Google 



student Organizations and Activities 185 

Chi Psi, Zeta Beta Tau, Lambda Chi Alpha, Beta Phi, Theta 
Chi, Alpha Chi Kho, Phi Eappa Tan, Eappa Alpha Psi, Pi 
Eappa Alpha, Sigma Phi Epsilon, Alpha Gamma Bho, Alpha 
Eappa Psi, Alpha Phi Alpha, Theta Delta Sigma, Phi Eappa 
Tan, Pi Eappa Alpha, Sigma Alpha Mu, Sigma Phi Epsilon, 
Sigma Phi Sigma, Delta Phi; at Chicago— Nn Sigma Nn, Phi 
Bho Sigma, Alpha Eappa Eappa, Phi Beta Pi, Eappa Psi, Delta 
Sigma Delta, Psi Omega, Xi Psi Phi. 

National sororities: E[appa Alpha Theta, Pi Beta Phi, 
Eappa Eappa Gamma, Alpha Chi Omega, Chi Omega, Alpha 
Xi Delta, Sigma Eappa, Delta Gamma, Alpha Omicron Pi, 
Achoth, Alpha Delta Pi, Gamma Phi Beta, Alpha Gamma 
Delta, Delta Alpha Omega. 

Local social fraternities: Chi Beta, Ilns, Acanthus, Beta 
Upsilon, Pi Pi Bho, Beta Pi, Annbis. 

Local social sororities: Chi Theta. 

Inter-fraternity organizations: Pan Hellenic Council (men), 
Pan Hellenic Association (women). Skull and Crescent (sopho- 
more men), Yo Ma (sophomore women), En Elnx Elan (junior 
men). 

Colored men's fraternities, national: Eappa Alpha Psi, 
Alpha Phi Alpha. 

Colored women's sorority, national: Alpha Eappa Alpha. 

Honorary and Professional 

A considerable number of Honorary and Professional Soci- 
eties exist at the University of Illinois, having for their object 
the recognition and encouragement of high scholarship. 

A certain number of the members standing highest in 
scholarship of the senior class and from four to six members 
of the junior class in the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences 
are each year elected to membership in Phi Beta Eappa. Sim- 
ilarly members of the senior class and graduate students who 
give promise of marked ability in scientific investigation are 
elected annually to membership in Sigma Xi. 

Other Honorary and Professional societies, more limited in 
scope than the two foregoing, are : Phi Lambda Upsilon, Chem- 
istry; Tau Beta Pi, Engineering; Phi Delta Phi, Law; Alpha 



Digitized by 



Google 



186 Sixteen Tears ai the University of Illinois 

Zeta, Agricnltore; Eta Eappa Na, Electrical Engineering; 
Order of Coif, Law; Phi Alpha Delta, Law; Delta Sigma Rho, 
Oratorical; Triangle, Civil Engineering; Alpha Oamma Rho, 
Agricnltore; Alpha Chi Sigma, Chemistry; Oamma Alpha, 
Scientific; Scarab, Architectural; Beta Oamma Sigma, Com- 
mercial; Sigma Delta Chi, Journalistic; Areas, Architectural; 
Mu Kappa Alpha, Musical; Alpha Eappa Psi, Commercial; 
Sigma Tau, Engineering; Alpha Delta Sigma, Advertising; 
Farm House, Agricultural; Omicron Nu, Household Science; 
Oraphomen, Journalistic; U. L. A. S., Landscape (hardening; 
Eeramos, Ceramics; Psi Mu, Architectural; Medui, pre-Medi- 
cal; Pi Tau Sigma, Mechanical Engineering; Phi Delta Eappa, 
Educational; Alpha Rho Chi, Architectural; (Gargoyle, Archi- 
tectural; Theta Tau, Engineering; Alpha Theta Chi, Chemis- 
try; Phi Eta, Oraduate; Matrix, Journalistic; Scabbard and 
Blade, Military; Eappa Delta Chi, EducationaL 

To this list should be added Alpha Omega Alpha, Sigma 
Mu Rho, Medical; Mawanda, men's honorary senior society; 
Phi Delta Psi, women's honorary senior society; Sachem, men's 
junior society; Tribe of Illini, **I" men; Comitatus, Demo- 
cratic Club; and Lambda Epsilon Phi, Republican Club. 

National and State 

Among clubs based upon national, state or sectional interests 
are to be included the Chinese Students' Club, Japanese, Latino- 
American, Polonia (Polish), Nalanda (Hindustani), Dixie, 
Easterners, Egyptian, Normal, Arkansas, Eansas, Culver, 
Shomeez (inter-fraternity Missouri Club), H. H. (Indiana), 
North Atlantic and the Cosmopolitan Club (an organization of 
foreign students of various nationalities). 

MiSCELLANBOXTB 

There remains a number of societies existing for various 
purposes.^ The Alumni Association maintains an ofSce at the 
University and publishes the Alumni Quarterly and Fortnightly 
Notes. The Students' Union, organized in 1909, has for its 
purpose the promotion of college spirit and the development 



Kt. Univ. of m. Annual Begister, 1917-18, p. 103 



Digitized by 



Google 



student Organizations and Activities 187 

of good fellowship among all the students of the University. 
The Union elects annually a Student Council, which takes 
charge of certain student activities. The Woman's League was 
organized to further the spirit of unity among the women of 
the University and to be a medium for the maintenance of high 
social standards. The League manages a loan fund, supports 
a room in the Bumham hospital and provides the magazines 
for the Woman's Building. 

The Students' Hospital Association is a voluntary mutual 
benefit organization whose purpose is to provide hospital care 
for its members in the event of illness. Other organizations 
are the Lincoln League, Ivrim, The Eomenian Society, Motor- 
cycle Club, Sewanee Circle, Scribbler's Club, Rifle Club, Coun- 
try Life Club, and Intercollegiate Prohibition Association. 

In addition to the organizations already mentioned there 
exist also the four class organizations, each of which has its 
ofScers and its committees to take charge of the various func- 
tions given by the class in the course of the year. 

Student AonvrnES 

A large number of meetings, entertainments and contests 
occur in the course of each year as a natural result of the ex- 
istence of the various student organizations. Some of these 
are of so general interest as to become at the time of their occur- 
rence the focus of attention of the entire student body. 

HOME-COHINa 

The annual fall Home-Coming was established in 1910. The 
idea met with great favor from the first both with alumni and 
with the students. The number and variety of events occur- 
ring during the two days of Home-Coming may be seen from 
the program of 1916, which was as follows: 

AI4UMNI HOME-COHINO, 1916 

Friday Afternoon and Evening, November 17 
1 :30 Parade of the Senior Hobo Band to Illinois Field. 
2:30 Class Championship Football Game, Illinois Field. 



Digitized by 



Google 



188 Sixteen Years ai the University of Illinois 

7 :00 Band Concert and Mass Meeting, Auditorium, Old **I" 

men to occupy seats on the platform at the mass 

meeting. 
8:15 Alumni Smoker. Showing of University film **Pro 

Patria," Gymnasium Annex. 
8:15 Mask and Bauble Play, "A Pair of Sixes,'' Illinois 

Theater. 
8 :45 All-Illinois Dance, given by Illinois Union, College HalL 

Saturday Morning, November 18 

8 :30 B[ite-flying Contest on Military Field, south of Armory. 

9:30 Belay Bace, teams representing various student organ- 
izations, Illinois Field. 
10:00 Cross-Country Bace, beginning and ending on Illinois 
Field. 

Saturday Afternoon and Evening 

2:00 Football, Illinois vs. Chicago, Illinois Field. 

4:30 Alumni Bound-up in Gymnasium Annex. 

4:30 Woman's League Tea, Woman's Building. 

8:15 Mask and Bauble Play, **A Pair of Sixes," Illinois 
Theater. 

8:15 All Illinois Dance, given by the Illinois Union, Gym- 
nasium Annex. 

Sunday Afternoon, November 19 

4:00 Organ Becital, Auditorium. Program by Director Erb 
of the School of Music. 

iNTEBSCHOLASnO 

In 1893 the high schools of the state were invited to send 
representatives to compete in a track and field meet. This 
was the beginning of the Interscholastic Meet, one of the most 
important of the year's series of sports. Other events have 
been added to the original contest until the festivities now con- 
tinue for a part of three days. A representative program, 
that of 1916, was as follows: 



Digitized by 



Google 



9:00 a.m. 


9 :30 A.M. 


1:30 p.m. 


3:30 p.m. 


3:30 p.m. 


4:30 p.m. 


5:00 p.m. 


6:45 p.m. 


7:30 p.m. 


8:30 p.m. 



Student Organizations and Activities 189 

Intebsgholastio Pbogram, 1916 
Thursday, May 11 
5:30 p.m. May Day Festival, Illinois Field. 
8:00 p.m. Girls' Stunt Show, Auditorium. 

Friday, May 12 
Interscholastic Gk)lf Preliminaries. 
Interscholastic Tennis Preliminaries. 
Baseball, Chicago vs. Illinois. 
Track Meet, Chicago vs. Illinois. 
Preliminary Track Events, Class B. 
Finals, Inter-fraternity Belay. 
Illinois Union Open House; inspection tour thru 

campus and buildings. 
Concert, University Military Band, South Campus. 
Interscholastic Oratorical Contest, Auditorium. 
Concert, University Glee Club, Illinois Theater. 

Saturday, May 13 
9:00 a.m. Interscholastic Track and Field Meet, Illinois 

Field. 
Interscholastic Qolt Finals. 
Interscholastic Tennis Finals. 
Parade of University Brigade, Military Field. 
Baseball, Indiana vs. Illinois. 
Presentation of Medals to Visiting Athletes, Tribe 

of Illini, Gymnasium Annex. 
Interscholastic Circus, Illinois Field. 
Cadet Hop, Gymnasium Annex. 

On each of the three days there were held also an Exhibit 
of Student Work of the Department of Art and Design, in 
University Hall, and a Public School Art Exhibit, in the Uni- 
versity Chapel, from 8 :00 a.m. to 6 :00 p.m. 

In 1916 about 675 athletes competed in the Interscholastic 
meet, representing 98 high schools and academies. To make 
competition on a fair basis possible, high schools are placed in 
Class A or Class B according as their enrolment exceeds or does 
not exceed 400 students. A third class, C, is made up of 



9:00 a.m. 


9:00a.h. 


1:30 p.m. 


3 :00 P,M. 


5:30 p.m. 


7:00p.m. 


9:00 p.m. 



Digitized by 



Google 



190 Sixteen Tears at the University of lUinois 

academies in Illinois, and of high schools and academies from 
outside the state. The contests of the three classes are held 
separately. 

Oratory and Debate 

As in the majority of our educational institutions, forensic 
activities have never been given the full support of the student 
body at Illinois. Within the past five years, however, the 
increasing success of Illinois orators and debators has created 
a much more general interest in the various public speaking 
contests in which students of the University have participated- 

Illinois has been a member of the Northern Oratorical 
League since 1909, in which it is associated with Michigan, Wis- 
consin, Iowa, Minnesota, Northwestern and Oberlin. The Uni- 
versity participates regularly also in the Annual Peace Oratori- 
cal Contest of the State of Illinois, the winner of which com- 
petes in an interstate contest with the representatives of the 
states of Michigan, Wisconsin, Ohio and Indiana. Illinois won 
first place in the Northern Oratorical League in 1914, and sec- 
ond in 1915. The Illinois representative ranked first in 191& 
in the State peace contest, and won second place in the Inter- 
state. 

Illinois is associated with two groups of state universities 
in debate. The Mid-West Debating League is composed of 
Michigan, Wisconsin and Illinois, while Iowa, Minnesota and 
Illinois constitute the I. M. I. Debating League. The contests 
conducted by the former organization are held in the spring of 
each year, the others occurring in December. 

For the last sixteen years as a whole, Illinois has been 
rather more successful in oratory than in debate. 

Illinois won second place in the Interstate Oratorical Con- 
test in 1905 and 1907, her competitors being Michigan, Wis- 
consin, Indiana, Iowa, Minnesota, Enox and Chicago. She won 
first place in the First State Equal Suffrage contest in 1908. 
She won third place in the Northern Oratorical League in 1911 
and 1917; second place in 1910, 1915, 1916, and 1918; and 
first place in 1914. In the Annual State Peace Contest, Illi- 
nois won second place in 1914 and 1917, and first place in 
1915 and 1916. 



Digitized by 



Google 



student Organizations and Activities 191 

Illinois' best years in debate during the sixteen-year period 
were in 1904-05, when she won both debates of the year, defeat- 
ing Indiana and Missouri; 1909-10, when Iowa, Ohio and 
Indiana were each defeated, Wisconsin alone registering a vic- 
tory over Illinois; in 1916-17, when Illinois debaters by 
defeating the representatives of Iowa, Minnesota and Wiscon- 
sin won the championship of the I. M. I. League and tied for 
the championship of the Mid-West League; and in 1917-18, 
when they won for the first time the championship of both 
Leagues in the same year. On the other hand, Illinois lost all 
of her four debates in 1912-13, and three out of four in 1906-7, 
1910-11 and 1914-15. In each of six years, Illinois won half 
of her debates. The last two years of the fourteen have each 
shown a gain, 3 debates having been won in 1916-17, and all 
four in 1917-18, as against a single victory in 1914-15. 

The Electrical Engineers' Show was first held in 1907, and 
has since become an annual event. The purpose of the Show 
is to exhibit the work of the students in the course of electrical 
engineering. It serves also to acquaint the general student body 
and the public at large with the latest developments in electri- 
cal engineering science. A high degree of ingenuity is dis- 
played by the students participating, who begin their prepara- 
tions several months in advance. The Show usually lasts three 
days. 

Publications 

Another form of student activity, entirely voluntary, but 
of great importance in its contribution to the intellectual ef- 
ficiency of those engaged in it, is the preparation and publi- 
cation of various papers, magazines and books dealing with 
university events or with matters related more or less closely 
to certain fields of study. 

The Daily Illini was established in 1871 as a monthly, then 
called the Student. It became the Illini in 1873. Its frequency 
of publication increased until in 1902 it was established as a 
daily with six issues a week. The editor, business manager and 
bookkeeper of the Illini are now chosen by the Illini Board of 
Trustees, composed of three members of the faculty appointed 
by the Council of Administration, and four students elected 



Digitized by 



Google 



192 Sixteen Years at the University of Illinois 

by the student body. The other members of the editorial and 
business staff are appointed by the editor and the business man- 
ager with the approval of the mini Board of Trustees.' 

The niio is a year book published near the close of each 
year by the junior class. The Illinois Magazine is a monthly 
literary journal which appeared first in 1902. It has been 
published with occasional interruptions, since that time. The 
Siren, a humorous magazine, appeared monthly from 1911 to 
1917. The Illinois Agriculturist is published monthly by the 
Agricultural Club. It is devoted to the various agricultural 
interests and regularly contains a number of articles of im- 
portance to present and prospective farmers. The Technograph 
is a technical journal published quarterly by a board chosen 
from the various student societies of the college of engineering. 
The Illinois Chemist is a quarterly journal published by the 
Department of Chemistry in the interests of its faculty, alumni 
and students. 



Tacts for Freshmen, 1914 ed., p. 61 



Digitized by 



Google 



Digitized by 



Google 



Digitized by 



Google 



CHAPTER Vm 

CAMPUS PLANS 

Very few universities are so fortunate as to begin their 
work upon a campus the details of which have been scientifi- 
cally worked out in advance. In the case of a majority, the 
choice of a site is largely determined by chance, and the sub- 
sequent growth is in the direction of least resistance. Every 
university, however, which has attained to a considerable size 
comes sooner or Jater to recognize the desirability of adopting 
and following a definite plan for its future expansion. In 
any such plan due regard must be had to considerations of 
necessity, convenience and beauty. 

As has already been indicated in an earlier chapter, the 
site of the University of Illinois was the gift of the people 
of Champaign County. From seven to ten acres constituted 
at first what might properly be called the campus, the remainder 
of the land being used for several years as a part of the Uni- 
versity farm. One building had already been erected. 

It is encouraging to note that one of the first matters given 
attention by the original Board of Trustees was the enlarge- 
ment of the campus by purchase of adjacent land, particu- 
larly that land which lay between the two principal parts of 
the University's holdings.^ The improvement of the grounds 
also received attention at an early date, and a plan of the 
campus published in the college catalog for 1871-72 (p. 16) 
shows a miniature forestry or arboretum occupying the tract 
between the street railway and Green Street. A few years 
later Burrill Avenue was laid out and trees were planted along 
it and upon a large part of the whole campus. 

It is certain that in the early years of the University's his- 
tory it was generally expected that buildings other than those 
connected with the operation of the University farm would be 
erected only on the extreme northern part of the grounds. The 
selection of a site for University Hall in 1871 was the occasion 



K/f. supra. Chapter II, p. 43. 

103 



Digitized by 



Google 



194 Sixteen Years at tJie University of Illinois 



UNIVBMmr OP ILL1NO0 

CAMPUS. uao. 




ftfccra 




ii i 



The Campus, 1920 



Digitized by 



Google 



Campus Plans 195 

of a vigorous discussion by the Board of Trustees. Five of 
the nineteen members present voted to erect the building upon 
the grounds north of Springfield Avenue.^ However, it was 
decided that ''the new University building shall be built on the 
crest of the ridge on which the gardener's house now stands, 
being that part of the University lands lying immediately south 
of Green Streets. ''^ 

The fact that this building was erected facing the north 
and midway between the east and west lines of the campus 
as it existed at that time, indicates that even the most far- 
sighted of those in authority did not anticipate a further growth 
toward the south. All the buildings erected during the suc- 
ceeding thirty years, except two, were placed north of the east 
and west axis of University Hall. So far as a plan was fol- 
lowed in the location of these buildings, there was a general 
grouping by departments, and the buildings were made to face 
three principal streets — Springfield Avenue, Burrill Avenue, 
and Qreen Street. The Armory and the Gymnasium were 
placed on Springfield Avenue near the athletic field and the 
parade grounds; the engineering buildings in close succession 
along Burrill Avenue, with Engineering Hall fronting on 
Green Street, the Natural History and Chemistry buildings and 
the Library facing Green Street from the south and the Presi- 
dent's house from the north. The Observatory was placed far 
to the south that it might be well removed from the other build- 
ings, and the Agricultural building was placed south of the 
general group in order that it might be accessible both from 
the farm and from the buildings housing related departments 
of study. A similar consideration determined the location of 
the Chemistry laboratory in 1902 between the Natural History 
Hall, University Hall and the Agricultural building. The 
Woman's building was placed to the south to insure a certain 
degree of privacy to the building and to the young women's 
athletic field adjacent. 

When the erection of an auditorium was under considera- 
tion in 1905, it became evident that this structure must be lo- 



"Eept., Univ. of Dl., 1870-71, pp. 112-3 
•Ibid 



Digitized by 



Google 



196 Sixteen Tears ai the University of Illinois 

eated with reference to the future growth of the University, 
in order that it might be readily accessible from all parts of 
the campus. It became necessary, therefore, to fix with some 
degree of definiteness upon a campus plan which should provide 
adequately for future enlargement. 

The result of much study and several conferences by Messrs. 
C. H. Blackall, Olmsted Brothers, and J. M. White, and later 
Mr. Bumham and Mr. Zimmerman, the state architect, was a 
decision to place the Auditorium on a north and south axis 
midway between Wright Street and Mathews Avenue. 

This plan assumes that the future growth of the University 
will be chiefly toward the south of University Hall. So far 
as buildings have been erected or planned within the past eleven 
years, with the exception of the Education building, the 
Vivarium and those of the engineering group, this assumption 
has been maintained. The Commerce building, Lincoln Hall, 
the new Armory, the Stock Pavilion, the Administration build- 
ing, the new Library, the Smith Memorial Music Hall, the 
Gregory Art Hall, the Women's Residence Hall, have been or 
will be built south of the old University building. There is 
seen in the location of the buildings at present under consid- 
eration the beginnings of an entirely new extension of the 
campus. The accompanying cut will make dear the plan which, 
though not formally adopted, is being quite closely followed at 
the present time. 

It will be seen that the new Armory is southwest of the 
Auditorium on the axis of Fifth Street, Champaign. Similarly, 
the new Library is to be erected east of the Armory on its 
east and west axis and on the axis of Wright Street. Directly 
south of the Auditorium will be a group of buildings for the 
College of Agriculture. To. the west of the Stock Pavilion 
is a series of buildings to be occupied by the same college. The 
present Agricultural Hall will be reconstructed, and the two 
buildings which will result will be used by the College of Lib- 
eral Arts and Sciences. West of the Agricultural group and 
south of the Armory extends the new parade ground, already 
in use, and still farther to the west along the Illinois Central 
tracks will be the golf links and the new Illinois Field. 



Digitized by 



Google 



A Plan for Campus Development 



Digitized by 



Google 



Digitized by 



Google 



Campus Plans 197 

The cut shows also a new building between the present 
Library and Natural History Hall, closing the rectangle which 
the Auditorium bounds on the south. University Hall and the 
Law building are represented as having been removed ; Burrill 
Avenue is extended in a direct line nearly to the Stock Judging 
Pavilion ; and a new avenue extends nearly parallel to it, verg- 
ing toward the west as it goes south from Green Street at the 
same rate at which Burrill avenue inclines toward the east. 

In this plan there are assigned for the Engineering build- 
ings, in addition to the block now fully occupied, the block west 
of Burrill Avenue and north of Green Street and nearly two 
blocks east of Mathews avenue. North of Springfield Avenue 
and east of Mathews Avenue is the building of the School of 
Education. Directly south of the latter is the Botanical 
laboratory. 

The plan represents also a series of women's residence halls 
south of Nevada Street and extending from Mathews Avenue 
to Lincoln Avenue. One such hall is now completed, but it is 
questionable whether this whole area will be thus occupied. 

An interesting feature of the plan at present followed at 
the University of Illinois is the extent to which a combination 
is brought about between the system of continuous buildings 
with courtyards and the open order system. Of the former 
system Olmsted Brothers, Landscape Architects, say:* 

"Undoubtedly the most convenient, the most economical 
and the most architecturally impressive plan for grouping the 
university working buildings would be that of continuous 
buildings in the border of each block of land with a court or 
courts in the middle forming a hollow square.'' 

The recommendation of Olmsted Brothers was, however, in 
the case of the University of Illinois, for the open order system, 
with room for trees between the buildings. The latter plan 
was that which had been followed during the early years of 
the University, but within the past ten years it has been modi- 
fied by the acceptance of the principle that there must be '*a 
general appearance of harmony among the various buildings, 
in architectural style, in kind and color of exterior materials, 



^Spedal report to the Uniyeraity of Ulinois, 1907, pp. 17-18 



Digitized by 



Google 



198 Sixteen Tears ai the University of Illinois 

in floor levels, cornice lines, pitch of roofs, alignment of corri- 
dors, symmetry and coincidence of axis lines, orientation and 
grades."* But the University has gone even a step farther, 
and while not constructing a series of buildings ccHitinuously 
about a court it has so planned the construction of each of the 
more important of the recent buildings as to provide for either 
one or two interior courts, the whole building when completed 
having thus somewhat the same appearance as would have re- 
sulted if a series of smaller buildings had been erected on 
the four borders of the same block. 

It will be noticed that at present, as in the past, buildings 
are being grouped according to departments. Much greater 
regard is now had, however, for the matter of convenience in 
the location of buildings of general use, and an attempt is 
being made to foresee in so far as possible the future needs 
of the University, and to place each new building in that loca- 
tion where it will meet not only the immediate requirements, 
but those of the future as welL 

In 1919, the Board of Trustees voted to employ as consulting 
architects the firm of Holabird and Roche, of Chicago, and in 
1920 the Board appointed a Commission consisting of the fol- 
lowing persons : Mrs. Margaret D. Blake, Chairman, Mrs. Mary 
B. Busey, Mr. William L. Abbott, Dean C. R. Richards, and 
Director Gteorge A. Huff. The purpose of this commission is to 
consider with the Consulting Architects and the Supervising 
Architect the development of the Campus Plan. 

How far those now in authority will be successful in this 
endeavor only time will show. But it is significant that the 
problem is receiving serious study ; and while it is probable that 
it will become evident in the course of time that errors have 
been committed, the likelihood of serious mistakes has been 
greatly decreased. 



'Special report to the Uniyersity of niinois, 1007, p. 20 



Digitized by 



Google 



CHAPTER IX 

THE COLLEGES AND SCHOOLS 

The various independent colleges and schools which together 
constitute the University of Illinois have almost without excep- 
tion exhibited a noteworthy development during the sixteen 
years from 1904 to 1920. The growth of these has been pre- 
sented in detached form in the preceding chapters. In the 
present chapter there have been assembled certain of the facts 
already given, and some of the outstanding features of the devel- 
opment of the individual colleges and schools are emphasized. 

1. The Graduate School 

Until 1907 the Graduate School, which had been formally 
organized in 1892, was maintained out of general University 
funds. The appropriation of $50,000 a year by the Legislature 
in 1907 for the support of graduate work was followed by the 
organization of an Executive Faculty of the Graduate School, 
and the adoption of more comprehensive plans for the work. It 
has been the endeavor of the Executive Faculty **to bring the 
Graduate School to the point where it shall offer instruction 
and equipment equal to that of any graduate school in the 
country. '** 

The Graduate School in 1919-20 offered more than six hun- 
dred courses, graduate work being made available in practically 
every department of the University. 

Sixteen years ago much less financial encouragement was 
given to prospective graduate students by the University of 
Illinois than at the present time. In 1903-04 eight fellowships 
were offered in the Graduate School, each with a stipend of 
$300 per annum. In the year 1919-20, $25,000 was appropri- 
ated for graduate fellowships with a stipend varying from $300 
to $500 a year and for graduate scholarships of the value of $250 
each. For that year 25 scholars and 25 fellows were appointed. 
In addition to these, 7 persons were able to spend one-half of 



»From the buUetm, "Why go to a Graduate School," Univ. of Dl., 
pp. 13-15 

199 



Digitized by 



Google 



200 Sixteen Years at the University of lUinois 

their time upon graduate work for a degree while holding re- 
search fellowships of the value of $500 each in the Engineering 
Experiment Station. 

There has also been offered annually since 1911 the Francis 
J. Plym Fellowship in Architecture with a stipend of $1,000. The 
holder of this fellowship is thus enabled to spend a year abroad 
in the advanced study of architecture. In 1916-17 a Celtic Fel- 
lowship of $1,000 was established by the Irish Fellowship Club 
of Chicago. 

The total number of students enrolled in the Graduate School 
in 1903-04 was 118. The number had increased to 380 in 1919-20, 
excluding the summer session — a gain of 262, or nearly 220 
per cent. If the summer session enrolment be taken into ac* 
count also, the gross total for 1919-20 was 550; and the net 
total, excluding persons who returned for the winter session, 
466— a gain of 348 or over 294 per cent for the sixteen years. 

In 1919-20 there were published under the auspices of the 
Graduate School the Journal of English and Germanic Philology, 
and three series of University Studies: Social Science Series, 
Language and Literature Series and Biological Monographs. 
The Illinois Historical Survey, an organization having for its 
purpose the prosecution of systematic studies in the history of 
Illinois, was established as a department of the Graduate School 
in 1910. 

The Graduate School of the University of Illinois was given 
formal recognition in 1908 by the admission of the University 
to the Association of American Universities, the chief require- 
ment for membership in which is "the existence of a strong 
graduate department."^ 

2. The College of Liberal Arts and Sciences' 

This college was formed in 1913 by the union of the College 
of Literature and Arts and the College of Science. Each of the 



'Report of Ninth Annual Conference, 1908, pp. 74-5 
*A considerable part of the data contained in this statement was furn- 
ished bj Prof. E. B. Greene, Dean of the CoUege of Literature and Arts 
from 1906 to 1913; bj Prof. E. J. Townsend, Dean of the College of 
Science from 1905 to 1913; and by Dean K. C. Babcock of the CoUege 
of Liberal Arts and Sciences. 



Digitized by 



Google 



The Colleges and Schools 201 

constituent colleges had shown a marked advance daring the 
years from 1904 to 1913, and this advance has continued with- 
out interruption since their amalgamation. 

In 1903-04 the faculty of the College of Literature and Arts 
numbered 38 persons; that of the College of Science, 35, a 
total of 73. In 1919-20 the number had risen to 324, a gain 
of over 343 per cent. The advance in the standards of scholar- 
ship has been even more important. In 1904 a large part 
of the instruction was in the hands of men who had themselves 
received no considerable amount of university training beyond 
that indicated by the possession of the bachelor's, or at best, 
the master's degree. For several years it has been the policy 
of this College to make the possession of the doctor's degree a 
prerequisite — except in rare cases — ^to promotion to the rank 
of instructor or above. This degree is not insisted upon as a 
mere fetish, but as a concrete evidence of intellectual ability, 
of capacity for sustained endeavor, and of general interest in 
the promotion of advanced scholarship. 

Prom 1903-04 to 1913 the enrolment of the College of Lit- 
erature and Arts increased from 483 to 926; of the College 
of Science, from 130 to 448. The total for the combined col- 
lege in 1919-20 was 2,547. In connection with this substantial 
evidence of growth there should be taken into account also the 
distinct advance in scholarship standards. The group of stu- 
dents who divided their time between the college and the acad- 
emy has been eliminated, and a conservative policy has been 
pursued with reference to the admission of special students. 

The growth of the University Library from 66,239 volumes 
in 1904 to about 428,000 in 1920, has meant much to all depart- 
ments of the University, but has been of special significance 
to the literary and scientific departments. The actual utiliza- 
tion of these resources has been greatly facilitated by the estab- 
lishment of the seminar rooms in Lincoln Hall and of the various 
other departmental libraries. 

The organization, likewise, of the Museum of Classical Art 
and Archaeology, the Museum of European Culture and the 
Oriental Museum involved an important addition not only to 
the material available for use in formal instruction, but to the 



Digitized by 



Google 



202 Sixteen Years at the University of lUinois 

factors which promote general culture in college life. The ap- 
pointment of a full-time Curator of the Museum of Natural 
History is significant of further growth in service. 

Important progress was made during the years from 1904 
to 1920 in the construction of buildings for this division of 
the University. The erection of Lincoln Hall, the Vivarium, 
the Botany Greenhouse and the additions to the Natural History 
Building and the Chemistry Laboratory, served to relieve con- 
ditions which were fast becoming insanitary through overcrowd- 
ing, and gave opportunity both for the expansion of the literary 
departments and for the more complete utilization of the scien- 
tific laboratories and equipment. 

The conduct of the Journal of English and Germanic 
Philology; the editing of the Yearbook of the German Ameri- 
can Historical Society of Illinois, the Illinois Historical Collec- 
tions, the Mississippi Valley Historical Review and the Journal 
of the American Chemical Society ; assistance rendered the State 
Tax Commission, the State Efficiency Commission and other 
state bodies, are some of the many activities outside the regu- 
lar field of University work which have been carried on by 
members of this college during a part of the last sixteen years 
in the interest of productive scholarship or of expert service to 
the State. 

Prom 1913 to 1920 * 

As previously mentioned tiie College of Liberal Arts and 
Sciences was created by the union of the College of Literature 
and Arts and the College of Science. The union became effective 
on the first of July, 1913 and the new College therefore com- 
pleted the first five years of its existence with the end of the 
last fiscal year. The requirements for admission and for a de- 
gree in the two colleges differed considerably and the reorgan- 
ization of curriculum and procedure has been a slow and some- 
times difficult process, but at the end of seven years, the com- 
plete unification of the College has been accomplished. 

The new curriculum for the A. B. degree was worked out 
by the faculty of the College and finally approved by the Board 



^A special statement by Dean K. C. Babcoek 



Digitized by 



Google 



The Colleges and Schools 203 

of Trustees in June, 1914. It is based upon the principle of 
minimum requirements in six groups of subjects and a larger 
requirement in one major subject, buttressed with a group of 
allied minor subjects. The principle of election is also observed 
in provisions by which students may have free election of about 
forty out of one hundred thirty hours, in subjects taken in 
departments of this College, or in a limited number of sub- 
jects in departments in other colleges of the University. 

Considerable expansion has been made in the plan of com- 
bined courses in Liberal Arts and Sciences on the one hand, 
and Law, Medicine and Dentistry on the other. By this, it is 
now possible for a student to get an A.B. degree upon the 
completion of three years' work in Liberal Arts and one year's 
work in Law, Medicine, or Dentistry, either in the University 
of Illinois or in another approved institution. 

By a process of division, the College of Commerce and Busi- 
ness Administration was created out of the College of Liberal 
Arts and Sciences, effective September first, 1915 and the work 
in ceramics and ceramic engineering was transferred to the 
College of Engineering. As a consequence of this division, the 
registration of the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences fell 
from 1,858 for 1914-15 to 1,552 in 1915-16, and rose to 1,784 
for 1916-17 and to 2,547 in 1919-20. 

The College of Liberal Arts and Sciences continues to be 
the great service college for the other colleges of the University, 
and departmental unity has been maintained with a remarkable 
consistency. All the instructional work in English, mathematics, 
chemistry, zoology and botany required by the curriculums in 
agriculture and in engineering is given by these departments 
in the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences. 

The service feature of the College is illustrated also by 
its complete co-operation with the Graduate School. "With minor 
exceptions, all salaries of persons giving instruction or conduct- 
ing research in the Graduate School in departments represented 
in this College, outside of stipends for graduate students, are 
paid out of the budget of the College, and allowance of time for 
research and productive scholarship is made in arranging the 
schedule of work for promising men on the faculty. In a few 



Digitized by 



Google 



204 Sixteen Tears at the University of lUinois 

cases, a professor is relieved of unders^duate teaching for a 
semester, in order to devote his time to investigation and writ- 
ing. In others, the burden of teaching is materially reduced 
for a period agreed upon with the Graduate School. The num- 
ber of research assistants has been increased in order to facili- 
tate the investigations of men of distinction and promise. Such 
assistants have been provided upon a more or less permanent 
basis in the departments of Botany, Chemistry, the Classics,. 
Mathematics and Zoology. This does not take into account 
the work of the Illinois Historical Survey, which is closely allied 
with the Department of History. 

Notable changes have occurred in several departments. A 
new professor and head of the department has been appointed 
in Botany, in Oeology and in Bomance Languages. The resig- 
nation of the chairman of the Department of English was fol- 
lowed by the promotion of another professor to the chairman* 
ship and the addition of a new full professor. An increased 
registration in the University led to large increases in the staff 
of the departments of English, Chemistry, Bomance Languages 
and History. In the College, a net total of twenty additional 
men of professorial rank, exclusive of added members of middle 
or lower ranks, marks the period of seven years. 

For seven years, the College has carried a system of special 
advisers for freshmen and sophomores, in order to give stu-^ 
dents coming for the first time to the University a helpful rela- 
tion with mature and sympathetic members of the faculty, over 
and above the necessary official relationship with administrative 
and instructional officers, and supplementary to the offices of 
the Dean of Men and the Dean of Women. By assigning to a 
single teacher small groups of students, usually not exceeding- 
twelve, and by selecting these students with reference to their 
personal qualities as developed by correspondence with previous 
high school teachers and instructors, the service rendered haa 
proved distinctly helpful and has been greatly appreciated. The 
co-operation of the high school principals and teachers has been 
generous and cordial. For the first three years, each adviser 
was paid a small sum to cover incidental expenses of this service. 



Digitized by 



Google 



The Colleges and Schools 205 

3. The College of Enoineerino, and the Enoineebino 
Experiment Station' 

In the development of the University of Illinois, the College 
of Engineering was early recognized as one of the strong tech- 
nical colleges of the country, and by the year 1904 its standing 
may be said to have been assured. During the past sixteen 
years there has been very significant progress made in the 
College of Engineering not only in the character of work done, 
in point of student attendance and in size of faculty, but more 
particularly through its contributions to engineering science. 

General Courses 

In 1904-05 the College of Engineering was composed of the 
following departments: Architecture, Civil Engineering, Elec- 
trical Engineering, Mechanical Engineering, Municipal and 
Sanitary Engineering and Physics. 

Pour year courses leading to the degree of Bachelor of Science 
were offered in Architecture, Architectural Engineering, Civil 
Engineering, Electrical Engineering, Mechanical Engineering, 
Railway Mechanical Engineering and Municipal and Sanitary 
Engineering. 

The importance of transportation problems led to the estab- 
lishment of a separate Department of Railway Engineering and 
the School of Railway Engineering and Administration on 
January 30, 1906. Prior to this time the course in Railway 
Mechanical Engineering was given by the Department of Me- 
chanical Engineering. The activities of the School of Railway 
Engineering and Administration included a series of courses in 
Railway Engineering administered by the College of Engineer- 
ing, and courses in Railway Traffic, Railway Accounting and 
Railway Administration administered by the College of Com- 
merce and Business Administration. Also it offered courses in 
Railway Civil Engineering, Railway Electrical Engineering, 
Railway Mechanical Engineering, Railway Traffic and Account- 
ing and Railway Transportation. ''In 1917 the activities of this 



"SynopsiB of a special report bj G. R. Bichardfl, Dean of the College 
and Director of the Station 



Digitized by 



Google 



206 Sixteen Tears at the University of lUinois 

school were suspended because the leading members of its fac- 
ulty were called away for war service. "• 

The Department of Mining Engineering was established on 
June 8, 1909, by an act of the Legislature in response to a de- 
mand for instruction in this subject on the part of the mining 
interests of the state. Prior to the organization of this De- 
partment a limited amount of instruction in mining engineer- 
ing had been given. The Department has shown much progress 
in the various lines of work under its direction. 

During the period under consideration, two departments of 
engineering, namely, Chemical Engineering and Ceramic En- 
gineering, were established in the College of Science, and a quasi- 
engineering department known as the Department of Farm 
Mechanics was established in the College of Agriculture. The 
Department of Ceramic Engineering was transferred to the Col- 
lege of Engineering in 1915. 

Special Activities AnMiNiSTEBza) by the Colleqe of 
Engineebino 

During recent years the College of Engineering has admin- 
istered certain special or extra activities of importance to the 
State. As a result of the Cherry Mine disaster, there was estab- 
lished at a special session of the Legislature during the winter 
of 1910 a Mine Rescue Service in Illinois under the control of 
the Mine Rescue Commission, consisting of two mine operators, 
two miners, one mine inspector, one representative of the United 
States Bureau of Mines and one representative of the Mining 
Engineering Department of the University of Illinois. The 
University may justly claim much of the credit for the estab- 
lishment of this service, as it was the direct outgrowth of the 
pioneer work of the Urbana Rescue Station. 

On July 1, 1911, an appropriation of $10,000.00 for two 
years, made by the Legislature for co-operative investigations 
in mining, became available. Under the arrangements entered 
into, the United States Bureau of Mines, the State Geological 
Survey and the Department of Mining Engineering of the Uni- 
versity have co-operated in the investigation of mining condi- 



•Univ. of 111., Annual Register, 1917-18, p. 50 



Digitized by 



Google 



The Colleges and Schools 207 

tions in Illinois. Much work of importance to the mine 
operators and miners of the State has been accomplished under 
this co-operative scheme. The University has continued to main- 
tain this co-operative work under the new arrangement of 
financial administration. 

In 1913 the Legislature appropriated the sum of $30,000.00 
for two years to establish and maintain Miners' and Mechanics' 
Institutes which were placed under the direction of the Depart- 
ment of Mining Engineering. The purpose of the Miners' and 
Mechanics' Institutes was somewhat similar to that of the Farm- 
ers' Institutes, but their specific purpose was to assist men who 
are preparing themselves to pass the tests required by the State 
before they can hold official positions about the mines. 

A short course in Highway Engineering was given for the 
first time from January 19 to 31, 1914, and this has become 
an annual event. The course was placed under the immediate 
supervision of the Department of Civil Engineering. It was 
planned primarily to aid the newly appointed County Super- 
intendents of Highways in preparing for their duties, and to 
help any other persons interested in highway construction. It 
is especially significant that of the 66 county superintendents of 
highways provided for in the 1913 law, no less than 63 appeared 
at the first session and remained thruout the entire course. 

The Enqikeerinq Experiment Station 

The Engineering Experiment Station was established by 
action of the Board of Trustees on December 8, 1903, in con- 
nection with the College of Engineering. The purpose of the 
Station is to carry on investigations along various lines of en- 
gineering, and to make studies of problems of importance to 
professional engineers and to the manufacturing, mining, rail- 
way and other industrial interests of the State. The first bulle- 
tin issued by the Station bears the date of September 1, 1904. 
There was, however, no Station organization until Professor 
L. P. Breckenridge was appointed Director of the Engineering 
Experiment Station on June 2, 1905. During the period which 
has since elapsed one hundred fifteen bulletins have been pub- 



Digitized by 



Google 



208 Sixteen Tears at tJie University of lUifuns 

lished, many of which are recognized as distinct and important 
contributions to the science of engineering. 

Probably none of the activities of the College of Engineering 
is of greater importance or has received more favorable and wide- 
spread attention than the Engineering Experiment Station. It 
was the first Engineering Experiment Station ever established 
in connection with an educational institution. The work of 
the Station is carried on under the Director, who since 1909 
has been the Dean of the College of Engineering, and an ad- 
ministrative staff composed of the heads of the several departs 
ments of the College. Much of the research work is conducted 
by investigators on full-time appointment, and by research fel- 
lows and assistants who give half-time to the investigations under 
way in the Station. 

Student Enbolment 

As has been indicated, up to the year 1904-05 the College 
of Engineering had attained considerable prominence, and as 
a result attendance had been stimulated to a degree which 
made the College one of the largest in the country in point of 
student enrolment, a position which it has since maintained. 
The attendance in the College of Engineering here and in tech- 
nical schools elsewhere reached a maximum in the year 1919-20, 
when the total enrolment of undergraduate engineering stu- 
dents at Illinois was 1,768. There are only two or possibly three 
institutions in the country which have a larger enrolment of 
engineering students than the University of Illinois. 

PAOUIiTY 

Perhaps the most important development in the College of 
Engineering during the past sixteen years has been in the num- 
ber of members of the regular staff of instruction. The College 
of Engineering was very badly undermanned sixteen years ago, 
as there were 20.9 students for each member of the staff of in- 
struction at that time, while at present there are 17 students for 
each member of the staff. 

Up to the appointment of Dr. W. F. M. Qoss to the dean- 
fihip of the College of Engineering in 1907, a large part of the 



Digitized by 



Google 



Buildings in Chicago 



Digitized by 



Google 



Digitized by 



Google 



The Colleges and Schools 209 

duties of the Dean of the College were clerical, including such 
work as the enrolment of students, the maintenance of student 
records, student discipline, etc. The new Dean at once made 
arrangements whereby one of the Professors in the College of 
Engineering should give a portion of his time as Assistant Dean 
to this work. Unquestionably, this arrangement has been of 
great value in the administration of student affairs, and the 
Dean has thereby been enabled to give his attention to the larger 
problems of administration. 

The Alumni of the College of Ekgineering 

From the establishment of the University up to and includ- 
ing the class of 1904, the College of Engineering had graduated 
820 persons, and up to and including the class of 1919, it has 
graduated 3,326 persons. It is thus evident that about 75 per 
cent of the graduates in engineering have completed their work 
during the past sixteen years. A recent investigation showed 
that 89.32 per cent of the alumni of the College are employed 
in some branch of technical work. 

One of the most important facts in connection with the grad- 
uates of the College of Engineering is that slightly over 50 per 
cent of the total number reside in the State of Illinois. It is 
self-evident that these technically trained men have had a dis- 
tinct influence upon the industrial development of the State. 

Buildings and Equipment 

Six important buildings for the use of the College of En- 
gineering were erected during the period from 1904 to 1920; 
namely, the Ceramics Laboratory, costing $130,998.79 ; the Loco- 
motive Laboratory and Beservoir, $34,270; the Mechanical 
Engineering Laboratory, $85,671.90 ; the Mining and Ceramics 
Laboratory, $25,000 ; the Physics Laboratory, $220,000, and the 
Transportation Building, $86,000. In spite of the expenditure 
of $581,940.69 for these structures, many departments of the 
College are still crowded for room. 

During the same period the value of engineering equipment, 
exclusive of furniture and fixtures, rose from $94,391.02 to 
$425,383.44, a gain of over 350 per cent. 



Digitized by 



Google 



210 Sixteen Years ai the University of Illinois 

Otheb Chakqeb 

Daring the past sixteen years there have been many changes 
in methods of instmction, in the administration of student af- 
fairs, in the development of scientific work and in the extension 
of the influence of the College through the outside activities 
of its professors. 

Since 1909 the College of Engineering has held a convocation 
for its freshmen students each Wednesday morning at 10 o'clock 
under the immediate supervision of the Assistant Dean of the 
College. At these convocations, lectures are given by members 
of the faculty and by visiting engineers. They also afford an 
opportunity for the Asisstant Dean to present to the freshmen 
such information as will be to their best intere^. 

During the past few years there have been several changes 
in the method of registering students and in the maintenance 
of student records. One of these involves photographing each 
new student and attaching the picture to the student's record 
card to permit of his identification. 

There has been developed also a file of graduate record 
cards which record the impressions of the graduate's instruc- 
tors regarding his general ability, appearance, etc. The grad- 
uate's photograph is pasted on the card, so that information 
regarding the record of graduates of the College of Engineering 
can be furnished with little difficulty. 

One of the most significant of the recent experiments under- 
taken by the College of Engineering is the method of shop in- 
struction. Up to 1912, practically all shop instruction in Ameri- 
can colleges was by methods similar to those used in manual 
training. It became evident that in a technical school, shop 
work could hardly be justified unless it had a distinct ^igineer- 
ing value ; that is, unless it emphasized the engineering rather 
than the manual features of such work. Eight years ago an ex- 
periment in shop instruction was begun in the Illinois labora- 
tories with the idea of using these laboratories to teach the en- 
gineering and economic principles of machine construction and 
the science of shop management rather than to attempt to give 
the students a smattering of manual skill. This method of in- 
struction has proven highly successful. 



Digitized by 



Google 



The Colleges and Schools 211 

4. The College of Agriculttire and the Agricultural 
ExPEBiMENT Station 

It is probable that no division of the University has exhibited 
a more striking growth daring the last sixteen years than the 
College of Agriculture. 

In 1903-04 the total number of students registered in this 
College was 308. For 1919-20, the enrolment was 1,215, a gain 
of 907, or 294 per cent for the sixteen years. In 1904, only 16 
graduates received the degree of Bachelor of Science in Agri- 
culture. This number grew to 235 in 1917, but dropped to 139 
in 1918 and to 65 in 1919 on account of the war. In April, 
1920, there were 150 members of the senior class in Agriculture 
in good standing. It will be noted that while the total registra- 
tion in the College multiplied nearly four times during the 
sixteen years, the senior class was fourteen times as large in 
1916, and nearly ten times as large in 1920 as in 1904, an indica- 
tion that the increase in quality of the students was even more 
marked than in numbers. This is further evidenced by the fact 
that whereas in 1904 there had not been a graduate student 
in agriculture for ten years, during the year 1919-20 there 
were 56 (66)* graduate students doing work in agriculture. 

Sixteen years ago there were 37 members on the agricul- 
tural faculty, including both College and Station. In 1919-20 
there were 119 members on full-time and 12 more devoting one- 
half or a larger part of their time to the work of instruction, 
a total of 131. The relative growth of the various departments 
is indicated in the following table : 

FACULTY OF COLLEGE OF AGBICULTUEE AND AGBICULTUBAL 

EXPERIMENT STATION, 1904 AND 1920 

Department 1903-04 1919-20 

Administration 2 2 

Agronomy 12 88 

Animal Husbandry 5 29 

Botany 8 (Discontinued) 

Dairy Husbandry 6 11 

Farm Organisation and Management 4 

Extension 1 5 

Horticulture 5 17 



'Figures in parenthesis are for the year 1916-17 



Digitized by 



Google 



212 Sixteen Years at the University of Illinois 

Home Economics 2 24 

Smith-Lever Service 10 

Veterinary Science 1 

Total 37 131 

The number of full professors in this College increased dur- 
ing the period from six to thirty-one, and the number of associate 
professors and assistant professors from three to twenty-one. 

In 1903-04 the College and Station were receiving a total 
of $189,000 annually from the Federal Gtovemment and the 
State of Illinois. For the year 1919-20 the total sum expended 
by the College and Station was $949,080. 

Rapid as the increase has been in the funds available for 
the College and Station, the income has not kept pace with the 
increasing demands as indicated by the number of students, 
the higher grade of work called for, and by the greatly increased 
demand for experimental investigation. Sixteen years ago 
nearly all the instructional work was elementary, as demanded 
by the large preponderance of lower classmen. Now with 150 
(235) seniors and 43 (66) graduate students, conditions have 
notably changed, and the call is primarily for highly differ- 
entiated instruction. The development has been no less im- 
portant in regard to research. The problems calling for solu- 
tion in the state are difficult ones requiring the most careful 
research by judicious and well-trained men. Numerous and ex- 
pensive publications are necessary. The regular mailing list 
has reached a total of 43,000, while a supplementary list con- 
tains approximately 60,000 names. Up to the summer of 1920, 
225 bulletins and 240 circulars had been issued by the Station. 

The value of agricultural equipment, exclusive of furniture 
and fixtures, has increased from $60,425.37 to $291,948.69. In 
1904 the College possessed only a small number of animals. The 
number now owned fluctuates greatly from year to year, but is 
approximately 1,100, consisting of about 150 dairy cattle, 500 
hogs, 70 horses, 204 sheep, and 175 beef cattle. Among the 
animals are many specimens that would distinguish any collec- 
tion. In addition there are about 2,500 chickens, turkeys and 
other kinds of poultry. 



Digitized by 



Google 



The CoUeges and Schools 213 

During this period the University purchased 570 acres of 
farm land in the vicinity of Urbana and Champaign, and ac- 
quired by gift or purchase 30 experiment fields located in various 
sections of the state, containing a total area of over 700 acres. 

The indoor laboratory equipment has practically aU been 
installed within the last sixteen years. It is entirely suitable 
for its purposes, so far as it is sufScient in quantity; and in 
respect to the work in soil fertility, soil physics, animal nutrition 
and plant breeding, it is unexcelled. 

Nearly all the buildings at present occupied by the College 
of Agriculture were erected during the last sixteen years. Of 
28 buildings now in use, the original cost of which was approxi- 
mately $570,000, only the main Agricultural Building and five 
minor structures, the total cost of which did not exceed $200,000, 
were in existence in 1904. No major buildings, however, with 
the exception of the Stock Judging Pavilion and the Horticul- 
tural group, were erected during this period, and the College 
has for some time been so handicapped by the lack of sufScient 
room as to impair seriously its efficiency. A new agricultural 
plant to cost not less than $2,000,000 was the first item of a 
ten-million-dollar building program proposed to the Legislature 
in 1917.'^ Of the $2,000,000 asked of the Legislature for the 
biennium 1917-19, it was planned to use $500,000 for the erection 
of the first unit of the Agricultural plant. The restriction im- 
posed by the Legislature in 1917 on aU building activities by 
state institutions led to the refusal of funds for the inaugura- 
tion of the projected building program. The College of Agri- 
culture has already felt the effects of the over-crowded condi- 
tions under which its work is conducted, having found it neces- 
sary to discontinue offering many advanced courses in highly 
important subjects and is likely to be forced to the necessity 
of turning away prospective students unless adequate space is 
provided in the immediate future. 

During the past sixteen years new lines of work have been 
developed in the fields of floriculture, landscape gardening, ani- 
mal nutrition, plant breeding and genetics. As has already 



'Cf. Senate BiU 366, 60th G. A. 



Digitized by 



Google 



214 Sixteen Years at tJie University of Illinois 

been indicated,® the College has co-operated actively since 1914 
with the Federal Gtovemment in the extension work provided 
for by the Smith-Lever Act of that year. There has recently 
been established also a system of extension schools in varions 
parts of the state. A complete system of student advisers for 
the npperdassmen has been established, as also a special com- 
mittee to deal with the freshman dass, shaping it into genuine 
university material. In order to assist in the social improve- 
ment of country life conditions, a community adviser has de- 
voted his time since 1914 to the study of the problems of country 
life, and to the development of methods for dealing with them. 

Two representatives are regularly sent to each of the hun- 
dred county institutes held annually, and technical information 
arising out of the investigative work carried on at the Station 
and College is thus brought directly to the farmers of the State. 
There is no doubt that the latter have within the past sixteen 
years developed a new attitude toward agriculture, a new knowl- 
edge of its requirements and a new consciousness of their op- 
portunities and their responsibilities. 

Of the many problems upon which untiring study has been 
devoted during the recent period, probably none is of greater 
importance to the people of Illinois than the determination of 
the methods by which the various soils of the state might be 
treated in order that they might not only produce the largest 
possible crops, but also maintain their fertility from year to 
year and even become more productive. This has involved the 
inauguration of a complete soil survey of the slate, including 
the chemical analysis of all the soils. As a result of this investi- 
gation, knowledge has been acquired that will enable the farm- 
ers of Illinois to arrest the gradual decline in the fertility of 
the soil, which was becoming more and more evident, and to 
restore those elements which insure the highest productivity. 

5. The College op Commerce and Business Administration® 

The movement for higher commercial education in the United 
States began about 1899, a year after the establishment of the 



•Cf . Chapter I 

•Summary of a special report by N. A. Weston, Acting Dean 



Digitized by 



Google 



The Colleges and Schools 215 

Commercial University (Handelshochschule) of Leipsig, Cter- 
many, which was the first institution of its kind in the world. 
To place the University of Illinois in line with this movement 
the Illinois Legislature was asked to make an appropriation in 
1901. This was done, and in 1902 the Courses in Business Ad- 
ministration, then known as **The Courses of Training for Busi- 
ness," but always popularly spoken of as the ** School of Com- 
merce'* were established with Professor David Kinley, at that 
time Dean of the College of Literature and Arts and head of 
the Department of Economics, as Director. The new work 
was included in the Department of Economics : two new pro- 
fessorships were created in the Department, one in commerce 
and the other in industry and transportation ; and new courses 
in commercial subjects, corporation finance, insurance and 
transportation were added to the work already being given. 

The success of the new undertaking was almost immediately 
assured. The new courses became popular at once and the reg- 
istration rapidly increased. A noteworthy incident of the 
establishment of the business curriculum, aside from the large 
number of students electing the four-year business courses, was 
the increased enrolment of general Liberal Arts and Science 
students, as well as engineering and agricultural students, in 
both the theoretical and practical subjects of economic study. 
The early success achieved by the courses led in 1907 to an 
increase in the appropriation by the Legislature which made 
possible a considerable expansion of the work, especially in 
accounting, industry and railway administration, and the addi- 
tion of new professorships. 

The progress of the work after 1907 was more marked. 
The enlarged staff of instructors and the increase in number 
of courses and students early brought into prominence the 
urgent need of special accommodations and equipment for the 
work in commerce. The business interests of Illinois soon real- 
ized that to secure full service from the courses a special build- 
ing was required. With their assistance, the Legislature was 
convinced of the necessity, and though the full amount re- 
quested was not granted, an appropriation of $125,000 was 
made in 1911 for the erection of the Commerce Building. The 



Digitized by 



Google 



216 Sixteen Years at the University of Illinois 

btiilding was completed and occupied in the spring of 1913 
and its anticipated advantages have been folly realized. The 
students in business administration have been made to feel 
an individuality previously unknown, the professional char- 
acter of their training has become more distinct and the in- 
structors have been brought into more intimate touch with 
one another and with students. With the new facilities and 
equipment the work in accounting, statistics, banking, rail- 
way administration, commerce and other subjects has been 
developed to a degree of practical efficiency unattainable in 
the past. It ought to be a matter of pride to the citizens of 
Illinois, as well as to the University administration, that, in 
developing its facilities to train men for useful careers in 
public and private business administration, the State has placed 
itself in the vanguard of educational progress. 

The most important step taken in the development of busi- 
ness education at the University of Illinois was the decision 
to erect the courses in Business Administration into a distinct 
and separate College. The University Senate at its meeting 
in June, 1914, voted to recommend the separation of the Busi- 
ness Courses from the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences 
in which they had hitherto been virtually an autonomous ad- 
ministrative department. This recommendation was adopted 
by the Board of Trustees and a resolution passed authorizing 
the establishment of an independent College of Commerce and 
Business Administration co-ordinate with the other principal 
colleges of the University. The College was formally organ- 
ized in 1915. This change led to important modifications in the 
business curriculum and allowed the introduction of a larger 
number of technical and semi-technical courses essential for 
efficient business training. 

In 1903-04 the business courses were conducted under the 
general direction of the Department of Economics. Upon the 
organization of the College of Commerce and Business Admin- 
istration in 1915 the work was placed under three separate 
departments, namely, economics, including finance and sta- 
tistics ; business organization and operation, including account- 
ing and business law; and transportation. 



Digitized by 



Google 



The Colleges and Schools 217 

For the year 1903-04 the enrolment in the business courses 
was 41. The number rose steadily from semester to semester 
with remarkable uniformity, until in 1919-20 a total of 1,588 
students were enrolled in the new college. For the six years 
previous to 1919-20 the annual increase ranged from 25 to 38 
per cent. 

Eighteen years' experience with the courses in Commerce 
and Business Administration seems to warrant fully the belief 
that university commercial education, though regarded in 
many quarters a dozen or sixteen years ago as a doubtful 
innovation if not an educational fad, is a social and economic 
service of the highest importance and promise. 

6. The College op Law^^ 

In 1904-05, the College of Law had hardly more than a 
rudimentary law library — a few text books and copies of the 
reports of courts of last resort in about one-fourth of the states. 
The number of books was considerably below the minimum 
of 5,000 which is now required for membership in the Asso- 
ciation of American Law Schools. It has today an excellent 
working library of over 22,000 books. It contains not only 
full sets of the courts of last resort of all the states of the 
Union, but also sets of the English, Irish and Canadian re- 
ports, and over 2,000 text-books upon almost every subject 
known to law. 

The faculty in 1904-05 consisted of six members including 
the Dean. There are now seven. They are, on the average, 
men of much stronger native ability, better legal training 
and of much greater experience in teaching. Courses have 
been added in Bankruptcy, Conflict of Laws, Conveyancing, 
Future Interests in Property, Insurance, Quasi-Contracts and 
Public Service Companies, and additional work is given in 
Constitutional Law. 

The requirements for admission have been raised from a 
certificate from an accredited high school to the completion 
of two years' college work. Students who enroll in the four- 



**Summary of a special report by Judge O. A. Harker, Dean of the 
College of Law from 1903 to 1916 



Digitized by 



Google 



218 Sixteen Tears at the University of Illinois 

year law course organized in 1917 will be admitted upon the 
completion of 30 hoars' college credit. 

The standard of scholarship in the College has been dis- 
tinctly raised. The students work more earnestly and grad- 
uate better equipped than formerly. The change is due in 
part to raising the entrance requirements, but chiefly to 
changes in administration and in the conduct of instruction. 

The success of graduates of this College in the examina- 
tions given by the State Board of Bar Examiners for admis- 
sion to the bar has been remarkable. It is probable that no 
law school in the country has a better record. Nor are the 
graduates of the College less successful in practise. Within 
the last sixteen years, twenty-eight have been elected to the 
office of State's Attorney; seven have served as Assistants to 
the Attorney General of the State ; three have been elected to 
the office of circuit judge, and one to the office of Supreme 
Judge of the State of North Dakota, while another has been 
appointed Associate Justice of the Supreme Court of China. 

Improvements that have been made in the Law Building 
include a five-story fire-proof book stack, with a capacity of 
22,000 volumes; remodeling and refurnishing class rooms; 
adding a reading room, a law club room, and a consultation 
room ; lockers and a coat room for students ; a reading room 
and two new offices for the faculty ; a remodeling of the base- 
ment and entrances, and new electric lighting. 

Recent Developments^^ 

In 1916 Prof. H. W. BaUantine of the University of Wis- 
consin was appointed Dean of the College of Law of the Uni- 
versity of Illinois. The new Dean has to his credit a long 
list of articles in legal periodicals, and two books, ''Problems 
in the Law of Contracts," and a revised and modernized edi- 
tion of Blackstone's Commentaries. He is recognized also as 
an expert in the field of Martial Law. 

Perhaps the most notable recent achievement of the Col- 
lege of Law was the establishment in 1917 of the Illinois Law 



"Extracts from a special article by Prof. J. N. Pomeroy of the Col- 
lege of Law 



Digitized by 



Google 



The Colleges and Schools 219 

Bulletin, a new publication which will appear three times a 
year. The primary function of the Bulletin is the discussion 
of Illinois law. Professor William G. Hale is the editor. 

The criticism frequently made, that students in law col- 
leges get no training in actual practise, is met at the Uni- 
versity of Illinois by rigorous practical work in moot court. 
For 1916-17 this work involved not only the argument of 
questions of law, but the actual trial of many cases on issues 
of fact, and the conduct of all the steps in legal procedure. 
Other practical work introduced during the year 1916-17 in- 
cluded new courses in brief -making for first year students, and 
in the examination of titles and drafting of documents for 
third year students. 

The decision of the Trustees in 1917 to remove the tuition 
fee previously charged students in the College of Law was 
a step which should prove distinctly favorable to the growth 
of this college. 

The College of Law of the University of Illinois is subject 
to unusually severe competition. It is not strange therefore 
that under the present pre-legal requirements its numbers have 
shrunk below what they were when the College required for 
admission no more than the completion of a high school course. 
This shrinkage in attendance is however more than compen- 
sated for by the increased efficiency and higher quality of the 
work. Under competent and enthusiastic leadership and with 
an adequate backing, there is no reason why the official law 
college of the state should not come to be recognized as equal 
to the best law schools in the country. 

7. The LroRARY School 1904-20*2 

Beginning with 1911 the entrance requirements to the Li- 
brary School, which had been three years of college work, were 
raised to four years of college work. In spite of the successive 
advance in the entrance requirements from two years of col- 
lege work, then to three years and finally in 1911 to four years, 
the attendance of the School has not materially decreased, and 



"A special report by P. L. Windsor, Director 



Digitized by 



Google 



220 Sixteen Tears at the University of Illinois 

is at the present time limited by the capacity of the School 
quarters to about 45 students. There is only one other Library 
School with entrance requirements as high as those of this school. 
Besides general improvement in the instruction, due in paH 
to greatly improved equipment and library resources, the prin- 
cipal changes in the curriculum have been: 

1. The development of the course in Public Documents 
to include municipal and foreign documents as well as federal 
This is now a 2-hour course extending over two semesters. 

2. Since 1905 Edna Lyman Scott has come to the School 
each year to give instruction in the selection of books for chil- 
dren and in the administration of children's libraries. Li the 
beginning her work extended over three weeks, but in recent 
years Mrs. Scott has given five weeks' work to both juniors and 
seniors in the second semester. 

3. Since 1907 senior students have been required to work 
a month in a public or other well organized library, under usual 
staff conditions as far as possible. This field work has been 
of marked value to the students and the plan has been fol- 
lowed by other library schools. 

4. Beginning in 1914, the faculty allowed senior library 
school students desiring to fit themselves for work in a special 
library, such as an agricultural or chemistry library, to sub- 
stitute those advanced courses in other colleges or schools of 
the University which would more definitely contribute to their 
preparation. 

In 1905-06 there were students registered from 6 states; 
in 1917-18 there were students from 16 states and 3 foreign 
countries. These figures are indicative of the enlarged ter- 
ritory from which the School now draws its registrants. Dur- 
ing recent years between twenty and twenty-five colleges and 
universities, well scattered thruout the country, have been rep- 
resented by their alumni who enrolled in the Library School 
of this institution. 

Alumni and former students of the School are now em- 
ployed in library work in 29 states, the District of Colum- 
bia and 2 foreign countries ; 121 in university or college libraries ; 
93 in public libraries; 13 in large reference libraries; 34 in 



Digitized by 



Google 



The CoUeges and Schools 221 

normal school or high school libraries; 20 in U. S. or state 
libraries ; 13 in business or corporation libraries, and 7 in state 
library commission oflSces. 

Since 1911 the Library School has conducted each summer, 
courses in library methods, intended primarily for librarians 
and library assistants in Illinois libraries, who are not pre- 
pared or cannot afford to spend a year in a regular library 
school. The great majority of students attending these courses 
are from Illinois libraries, and the help thus given by the 
University has been more and more appreciated by librarians 
and library trustees of the state. A total of 229 students, 165 
from Illinois libraries, have been enrolled since 1911. 

8. The School of Musio 

Instruction in music was provided almost from the time 
the University was established.^^ For many years, however, 
the instructors received no salary from the University, their 
only compensation being the fees collected from their pupils.^* 

A suggestion made to the Board of Trustees by Prof. T. J. 
Burrill in 1892, while Acting Regent of the University, that 
music be included in the regular system of instruction, i*^ re- 
sulted in an appropriation of $300 by the Board for the formal 
establishment of such a department. The suggestion was how- 
ever repeated by President Draper in his first annual report 
in 1895, and upon being invited by the Trustees to prepare 
plans for the inauguration of a department of music, he re- 
ported that the department could be established on a very 
satisfactory basis at an expense that would not exceed $1,600 
per annum.^® The department was accordingly established. 

In 1897, Captain Thomas J. Smith of Champaign, then a 
member of the Board of Trustees, began to urge upon his col- 
leagues the desirability of reorganizing the Department of 
Music; of putting it upon the basis of a distinct college of 
the University; of employing a dean with sufficient assistants; 



'*Cf. Catalogs, 1873, p. 48; 1876, p. 59; 1877, p. 64; etc. 
"Sept., Univ. of lU., 1878, p. 10: ibid, 1880, p. 252 
"Ibid, 1892, p. 205 
"Ibid, p. 96 



Digitized by 



Google 



222 Sixteen Tears at ike University of lUinois 

of charging no greater tuition to stadents in music than in 
other departments of the University ; and of granting degrees 
to graduates of that college.^^ His efforts bore froit in 1897 
when it was voted by the Board that the department of music 
should be made the School of Music, to be conducted on the 
same basis as the Schools of Law, Medicine, etc. ; and in 1900 
when it was voted that after September 1st of that year all 
matriculated students who were residents of Illinois should 
be entitled to instruction in all departments of the School 
of Music at no higher rates than the students in other divisions 
of the University were charged.^® 

The enrolment in the School of Music was 101 in 1903-04^ 
but this number fell to 80 in 1904-05, and did not again exceed 
100 until 1916-17 when 108 students were enrolled. The mini- 
mum reached during the sixteen years was 61 in 1909-10, at 
which time more rigid requirements were adopted, resulting 
in the elimination of certain classes of students. 

From 1904 to 1920 

Up to the year 1905 only one student had graduated from 
the School of Music. There was one graduate in that year, 
and this number was not exceeded in any year until 1910, 
when four persons received the degree of Bachelor of Music. 
The maximum was reached in 1915 with 10 graduates. In 1919 
there were 7. 

Fifty-one courses in music were offered in 1903-04. Of these 
a large number were elementary. By 1919-20 the number had 
increased to 160 and three years of preparatory study in Piano^ 
Voice or Violin were required for admission to the School. 

During this period there were various changes in the ad- 
ministration of the school which resulted in the establishment 
of a strengthened curriculum, in better methods for conduct- 
ing the work and in better relations with the student body. 
Entrance and semester examinations are now carried on more 
strictly, and a higher quality of work is becoming evident as 
a consequence. 



^Tlept., Univ. of lU., 1898, p. 107, 113; 1900, p. 212 
"Bept., Univ. of lU., 1898, pp. 124-5; ibid, 1900, p. 255 



Digitized by 



Google 



The Colleges and Schools 223 

An action resulting in especial benefit to the School of 
Music was taken in 1913 by the Board of Trustees, when pro- 
vision was made for a series of eight orchestral concerts to 
be given at the University annually by four of the leading 
orchestras of the country.!^ 

In 1913 also, an appropriation was made by the Trustees 
for the purchase and installation of an organ in the Audi- 
torium. The organ was formally dedicated on December 3, 
1914, with a concert by Professor Charles Heinroth of the 
Carnegie Institute of Pittsburg.^o 

The event of greatest significance to the School of Mudc 
during this period was the gift of approximately 768 acres of 
valuable farm land, in 1914, by Captain Thos. J. Smith of 
Champaign — ^whose interest in the School of Music as a Trus- 
tee has already been indicated — to provide funds for the erec- 
tion of a Music Hall as a memorial to his wife, Tina Weedon 
Smith. The gift was formally accepted by the Trustees, and the 
building, the cost of which is estimated at $450,000, was com- 
pleted in 1920.21 

The School of Mxtsio in 1920** 

The position of the School of Music in the University of 
Illinois is probably unique among similar institutions in this 
country. Its organization along strictly academic lines, as 
a part of the University, and without any outside relationships 
whatsoever, is different from that of any other of the schools 
which offer courses in practical music. 

The greatest accomplishment of the School of Music within 
the past five years has been in perfecting the organization, 
standardizing the work and, incidentally, raising standards 
so far as possible. In other words, the development has been 
intensive rather than extensive — the limitations of quarters and 
equipment making it impossible to increase the enrolment to 
any extent. Existing organizations have been built up and 

*Eept, Univ. of lU., 1914, pp. 264, 591 
"Eept, Univ. of HL, 1914, p. 655; ibid, 1916, p. 166 
'■See also Chapter II and HI 

'A special statement by J. Lawrence Erb, Director of the School of 
Mnsie since 1914 



Digitized by 



Google 



224 Sixteen Years at the University of lUinois 

their activities iacreased. Two new organizations, the Uni- 
versity Women's Glee Club and University Choristers, have 
come into existence, and various new courses have been organ- 
ized to make the work more efficient. 

The entire thought of the Faculty in this connection has 
been to a£Ford the utmost opportunity to all students of the 
University to acquire the most complete musical knowledge 
and experience possible, and to train young men and women 
who might become leaders of musical enterprises in their com- 
munities. On this account the degree of Bachelor of Music 
has been based upon a general culture with music as the nucleus 
rather than upon a specific professional course which should 
turn out concert artists. The aim has been to make teachers 
and leaders rather than concert performers, although there 
is no doubt that the standards of performance demanded of 
the graduates of the School are higher than they were three 
years ago. 

So far as the future is concerned, the past has pointed the 
way to what must now be attempted. To do more rather than 
less for the State of Illinois, is the present aim. Thruout the 
State there is an urgent demand for young men and women 
in the public schools who may work out the musical salvation 
of their communities. Accordingly, everything possible is 
being done to strengthen the Public School Music course and 
to direct the attention of the more serious students to the 
possibilities and demands of community music. As the facil- 
ities increase and the faculty becomes larger, it is hoped that 
there may be added some theoretical work which at present 
must be omitted, some of an advanced nature, and also some 
of an elementary kind to supply the deficiencies of those 
high school students who have come from the more backward 
communities. Eventually it may be possible to include grad- 
uate work, especially in the history of music and composi- 
tion, and to this end the library of the School is being built 
up. The strategic situation of the University of Illinois and 
the rapidly increasing importance of the Twin Cities as a 
music center will soon bring to the School a large number of 
the more desirable music students who will make its musical 



Digitized by 



Google 



Digitized by 



Google 



Digitized by 



Google 



TJie Colleges and Schools 225 

life more vigorous and more varied. To sacrifice the indi- 
vidual character of the School would be a most serious mis- 
take. Bather must it be developed along the lines of state 
service and inspirational leadership. Possibly at some time 
it may be wise to incorporate in the School of Music a depart- 
ment of community music with a vigorous and experienced 
leader. Such a department could be of use on the campus as 
well as elsewhere. 

9. The College of Education 

Courses in Education and Psychology have been oflEered 
at the University of Illinois, under various names, for nearly 
every year since the University was organized. The second 
catalog of the University announced a course in ''Mental Phil- 
osophy, three lectures a week," and a course in ''Science of Edu- 
cation, or Mental Philosophy applied to education, two lec- 
tures a week. ''23 **The Philosophy of Education'' was one 
of the topics listed in 1870-71 as comprising the work in 
"Philosophy and Logic" for that year.** With slight modi- 
fications the same announcements for the department of Mental 
and Moral Philosophy were repeated up to and including the 
year 1889-90. In 1890 a professor of Psychology was appointed, 
who served for one semester. An assistant professor of "Psychol- 
ogy and Pedagogics" was appointed in 1892, and for the follow- 
ing year rather extensive oflEerings in these subjects were 
announced. A full professorship in "Pedagogics" was estab- 
lished in 1893. Three years later a new appointee to an assis- 
tant professorship in "Pedagogy" was given also the title 
of High School Visitor and assigned the duties of that position. 

The word "Education" displaced "Pedagogy" in the an- 
nouncement of courses and in the title of appointees in 1900-01. 

From 1904 to 19182^ 
By 1905 the work in Education had become so important 
that early in that year the Board of Trustees sanctioned the 



"Catalog 1868-9, p. 13 

"•Ibid., 1870-71, pp. 58-9 

The data contained in the following paragraphs is chiefly summar- 
ized from a special statement prepared by W. C. Bagley, Director of the 
School from 1909 to 1917 



Digitized by 



Google 



226 Sixteen Years at ike University of IlUnais 

organization of a School of Education, with special reference 
to the prei>aration of teachers for secondary schools. A Sen- 
ate committee appointed by the President of the University 
to study the question rei>orted that in the judgment of the 
committee it was inadvisable to establish a school of educa- 
tion separate in administration from the existing colleges. It 
was recommended however that all members of the instruc- 
tional staff of the University offering courses primarily in- 
tended for the preparation of high school teachers should 
be organized as a group, to be known as the Faculty of the 
School of Education, and that such i>erson8 should constitute 
committees from their respective colleges to represent those 
colleges in the faculty of the school.** 

The general suggestions contained in this rei>ort were 
adopted as a basis for the organization of the School of Edu- 
cation, and the School was formally announced in the Uni- 
versity catalog of 1905-06. 

During the fifteen years since the School was established 
a number of educators of national prominence have served in 
the School as members of the administrative or instructional 
staff. The first director, Prof. Edwin Qrant Dexter, resigned 
in 1907 to accept the commissionership of education to Porto 
Rico. Dr. Edward 0. Sisson, after serving as assistant pro- 
fessor in the School of Education for the year 1905-6 resigned 
to become head of the Department of Education in the Uni- 
versity of Washington, later becoming Commissioner of Edu- 
cation of the State of Idaho. In 1908 Dr. William Chandler 
Bagley was appointed professor of education, and a year later 
was made director of the School. During his administration 
the School of Education of the University of Illinois assumed 
a place among the foremost schools of its class in the country. 
Dr. Bagley resigned in 1917 to join the Department of Edu- 
cation of Columbia University. Dr. Lewis Flint Anderson came 
to the School in 1909 as assistant professor of education. He 
resigned in 1914 to accept a professorship of education in the 
Ohio State University. While at the University of Illinois Pro- 
fessor Anderson had charge of the work in the history of 



"Tlept., Univ. of DL, 1906, pp. 40, 43, 62, 75 



Digitized by 



Google 



TTie Colleges and Schools 227 

education. The Aron library, comprising 5,000 volomes and 
10,000 pamphlets, and especially rich in materials concerning 
the. development of edncation in Europe during the sixteenth, 
seventeenth and eighteenth centuries, was purchased upon his 
recommendation. He also began the development of a text- 
book library and an educational museum. Dr. Lotus Delta 
Goffman served as lecturer in the School for the year 1911-12, 
and as professor of education from 1912 to 1915. In the latter 
year he resigned to become Dean of the College of Education 
of the University of Minnesota. 

In 1913 Dr. Charles Hughes Johnston, Dean of The School 
of Education of the University of Kansas, accepted a position 
as professor of secondary education at the University of Illi- 
nois. At the end of three years of distinguished service in this 
capacity. Professor Johnston met his death in an automobile 
accident in September, 1917. 

Upon the resignation of Professor Coffman in 1915, Pro- 
fessor Joseph Clifton Brown was appointed principal of the 
training school, and placed in charge of the work in admin- 
istration and supervision until the training school should be 
opened. He resigned his position at the University of Illinois, 
however, after one year of service, in order to become Presi- 
dent of the State Normal School at St. Cloud, Minnesota. 

In 1914 Dr. Guy Montrose Whipple was made associate pro- 
fessor of education and a year later was promoted to a profes- 
sorship. His especial field at the University of Illinois has been 
that of educational psychology, including the closely related 
fields of mental tests, school hygiene and auxiliary education. 
In 1914-15 he established the laboratory of educational psychol- 
ogy. Dr. Whipple was granted leave of absence in June 1917, 
for the first semester of 1917-18 to enable him to carry on cer- 
tain investigations at Pittsburgh in connection with the develop- 
ment of psychological tests. Dr. David Spence Hill, formerly 
director of the Newcomb School of Education and of the de- 
partment of educational research in the public school system 
of New Orleans, was appointed at this time as acting professor 
of education for the first semester of 1917-18. 



Digitized by 



Google 



228 Sixteen Years at the University of Illinois 

In March 1917 the Board of Trustees authorized the ap- 
pointment of Dr. Werrett Wallace Charters, then professor 
of the theory of teaching and dean of the faculty of educa- 
tion of the University of Missouri, to be professor of educa- 
tion at the University of Illinois from the beginning of the 
academic year 1917-18. 

On June 1, 1918, the Board of Trustees voted to erect the 
School of Education into a separate College of Education. Dr. 
Charters was appointed Dean, but he resigned this position to 
accept a research appointment at Carnegie Institute of Tech- 
nology. 

On June 21, 1919, Dr. Charles Ernest Chadsey, then Super- 
intendent of Schools in the City of Chicago, was appointed Dean 
of the College of Education. He entered on his duties as Dean 
in September, 1919, but resigned on November 17, to resume his 
duties as Superintendent of Schools, on the receipt of notice that 
a suit to compel the city authorities to permit him to exercise 
the duties of the office had been decided in his favor. On 
November 26, he returned to the University and withdrew his 
resignation. 

The chief emphasis during the fourteen years since the organ- 
ization of the School of Education has been upon the advanced 
undergraduate and graduate courses. These have been in- 
creased and strengthened, and have attracted an increasing 
number of graduate students. There were only three graduate 
students majoring in education in 1903-04, none in 1907-08 and 
only two in 1908-09. But this number was increased to 11 
in 1909-10, and the numbers since that date have been succes- 
sively 15, 18, 24, 35, 35, 27, 25, 22, 19, and 20. In the summer 
sessions of 1916, 1917, 1918, and 1919, there were 47, 43, 35, and 
35 graduate students enrolled, respectively, who were majoring 
in Education. The first doctor's degrees in Education were con- 
ferred in 1915, on two candidates. 

The following table indicates the growth of class regis- 
trations in the School (and College) of Education since its organ- 
ization : 



Digitized by 



Google 



The Colleges and Schools 



229 



CLASS BEGISTRATIONS IN THE SCHOOL OP EDUCATION 





Rrst 


Second 


Summer 




Year 


Semester 


Semester 


Session 


Total 


1905-06 


103 


128 




231 


1906-07 


95 


109 




204 


1907-08 


80 


79 




159 


1908-09 


74 


128 




202 


1909-10 


127 


167 




294 


1910-11 


163 


174 


201 


538 


1911-12 


149 


180 


190 


519 


1912-13 


154 


245 


238 


637 


1913-14 


291 


336 


348 


975 


1914-15 


280 


326 


865 


971 


1915-16 


412 


444 


457 


1313 


1916-17 


460 


479 


345 


1284 


1917-18 


393 


395 


295 


1083 


1918-19* 


254—248—222 


3761 


4485 


1919-20 


693 


656 


... 


1349 



Just prior to the legislative session of 1911, the School in- 
augurated a campaign for a building that would house a 
training school of secondary grade. The campaign was un- 
successful at this time, but the movement so clearly had the 
support of practically the entire body of public school teachers 
and administrators of the state, that, upon the appropriation 
by the Legislature in 1913 of the proceeds of the mill tax to 
the University, the Board of Trustees proceeded to acquire a 
site and to consider plans for such a structure. The erection 
of the building was repeatedly delayed, but actual construc- 
tion was finally begun in 1916 and completed in 1919. Unfor- 
tunately the lack of funds has prevented the opening of the 
model school. 27 

Since 1907 the School of Education has published a series 
of 19 bulletins comprising (1) reports of the annual high 
school conference and other meetings held at the University 
in the interest of education and (2) the results of special 
investigations and studies by members of the instructional staff 
and by students. 



*Tear divided into 3 quarters 
''See also Chapters II and HI 



Digitized by 



Google 



230 Sixteen Tears at the University of lUinais 

Another important development in the School of Education 
has been the assumption and prosecution of the work of the 
University Committee on Appointment of Teachers, This Com- 
mittee ''recommends qualified graduates of the University for 
positions as teachers or supervisors in public schools, colleges 
and technical schools in response to requests from the school 
authorities.** 

Since 1914, the completion of certain specified courses in 
education, amounting to a total of seven hours, has been re- 
quired of all students who desire to obtain upon their gradua- 
tion the recommendation of the Committee on Api>ointment8. 
This is a smaller number of hours of professional work than 
is required at most state universities, but it has been the policy 
of this College not to stress heavily the strictly professional 
work, but rather to insist that the prospective teacher should 
have first of all a solid basis in academic scholarship. 

Bureau of Educational Research 

By authority of the Board of Trustees the Bureau of Edu- 
cational Research was organized in 1918, and Dr. Burdette R. 
Buckingham was appointed Director and Professor of Educa- 
tion.*^ The purpose of this Bureau is ''investigating the prob- 
lems of teaching and school administration, collecting informa- 
tion concerning the best educational practises of this and other 
countries, and placing the results obtained before the schools of 
this state.*' 

10. The College of Medicinb 

Perhaps no department of the University of Illinois has 
had so varied an experience during the past twelve years as the 
College of Medicine.*^ 

The University of Illinois did not organize a medical school 
at the beginning of its work in 1868. This was a great mis- 



*Univ. of m. Annual Register, 1917-18, p. 190 

**Minut68, Board of Trustees, 1916-18, p. 759 

"The following paragraphs are taken for the most part from a Memor- 
andum and a History of the College of Medicine prepaid by the Prendent 
of the Universitj in 1912 



Digitized by 



Google 



The Colleges and Schools 231 

take from the standpoint of the interests of the commonwealth. 
There is no doubt that the average level of medical education 
in the state of Illinois would be much higher than it is today 
and the public health would be much more adequately con- 
servedy if the College of Medicine had been established and 
properly supported at the time of the opening of the Uni- 
versity. 

During Governor Altgeld's administration, and largely 
upon his initiative, an attempt was made to incorporate medi- 
cal teaching in the general university scheme by annexing 
to the University an existing medical school 

Following the earnest suggestion of Qovemor Altgeld, who 
had insisted that the people of Illinois desired that the Uni- 
versity of Illinois should become a university in the fullest 
and completest sense of that term, the Trustees of the Uni- 
versity, after long and careful deliberation, made, with the 
College of Physicians and Surgeons of Chicago, a contract of 
affiliation April 1, 1897, to go into effect April 24th of the 
same year. 

Under this contract the College of Physicians and Surgeons 
turned over to the University the use of its plant in return 
for a specified rental. The University in co-operation with 
the faculty of the medical school which had been conducted 
by the College of Physicians and Surgeons took over the re- 
sponsibility of managing the school, making it, for practical 
purposes, the medical department of the University of Illinois. 

The trustees, however, did not assume any financial obli- 
gations for the conduct of this experiment beyond using the 
income from the fees of students and the gifts of private in- 
dividuals for the support of the medical school. They simply 
agreed to manage it and make as good a school as they could 
with the proceeds arisiug from the sources mentioned. 

The result was so satisfactory to both parties that a new 
contract of affiliation was made, to go into effect May 1, 1900. 
(It was modified in 1901.) Under this contract the College 
of Physicians and Surgeons as a corporation, with the con- 
sent of the Board of Trustees of the University, undertook 
to enlarge the plant, which had been used for the medical 



Digitized by 



Google 



232 Sixteen Years at the University of lUinois 

school and which at that time consisted of the so-called Old 
College Building at the comer of Honore and West Harrison 
Streets, by purchasing the West Side High School building 
from the city of Chicago at a cost of $186,000, and by remod- 
eling it for medical purposes at a cost of $60,000. 

The attendance at the medical school had risen so rapidly 
during the first contract of affiliation that the parties to the 
contract thought it would be a perfectly feasible thing to pay 
the interest on money borrowed for the enlargement of the 
plant, conduct a satisfactory medical school and accumulate 
through an annual surplus a sinking fund sufficient to pay 
off the debts which had been contracted for the original plant 
and its enlargement — ^thus presenting the property to the State 
free of encumbrance. 

Nothing can show in a more striking way the world-wide 
difference between the manner in which the American public 
viewed the subject of medical education sixteen years ago and 
that in which the public looks upon it today, than the conclusion 
of such a contract, made at that time with common consent and 
public approval. 

Scarcely had the contract been signed, when the attendance 
at medical schools, which had been running up very rapidly 
thruout the country, began to decline quite as rapidly, through 
circumstances over which the schools, as such, had no control. 

Two other things combined to make the plan which had 
been agreed upon by the University and the College of Physi- 
cians and Surgeons entirely untenable. The public in its own 
interest began to demand more rigorous requirements for ad- 
mission to medical schools on the one hand ; and on the other, 
a better grade of teaching and more adequate equipment in 
the schools themselves. Both of these worked against the possi- 
bility of continuing the contract of affiliation; for the require- 
ment of higher standards of admission diminished the number of 
students and therefore the income, while the demand for better 
teaching increased the expense. 

It became increasingly plain that without appropriations 
from the state legislature the University could not hope to 
conduct a medical school worthy of the name, and certainly 
it ought not to be connected with any other kind of school 



Digitized by 



Google 



The Colleges and Schools 233 

A request was therefore made of the legislature at the 
session of the 45th General Assembly, in 1905, for an appro- 
priation to enable the University of Illinois to purchase the 
plant which it had leased from the College of Physicians and 
Surgeons, or to construct or acquire some other plant. The 
legislature appropriated by a large majority (thirty against 
six in the Senate; eighty-nine against forty in the House), 
the sum of $386,000 for the purpose of acquiring by purchase 
or by construction, a medical plant. 

The Governor vetoed this appropriation bill, along with 
several others, on the ground that the legislature had exceeded 
the amount of money available for appropriations. 

Another attempt was made to carry on the medical de- 
partment on the basis previously accepted. But it was again 
made evident that this could not be done. 

In 1911, therefore, the University once more asked the legis- 
lature for an appropriation: this time an appropriation of 
$100,000 per annum for the maintenance, extension and de- 
velopment of the medical school. 

The legislature by a large majority (unanimous in the 
House and thirty to two in the Senate) granted sixty thou- 
sand dollars per annum, and the (Governor signed the bill. 
However, certain persons who were opposed to the idea of 
state support in medical education, brought suit to set aside 
the appropriation on the ground that the provision of the con- 
stitution in regard to the passage of bills had not been strictly 
observed. The court sustained the contention and the Uni- 
versity lost the money. 

It became evident to the College of Physicians and Sur- 
geons that the University would probably find it diflScult to 
carry out the financial obligations involved in the payment 
of the lease, and it therefore gave notice to the Trustees of 
the University of Illinois that it would no longer lease its medi- 
cal plant to the University of Illinois. Being thus deprived 
of the plant which it had been using for fifteen years and 
having no money with which to hire or construct another, the 
University was compelled to close its medical school; which 
it did on the 30th day of June, 1912. 



Digitized by 



Google 



234 Sixteen Years at the University of Illinois 

The College of PhysicianB and Snrgeong immediately 
opened a medical school in the same plant on the day after 
the University closed its medical school, and admitted the 
students of the University medical school to the new schooL 

This closing of the medical department of the University 
caused great consternation among the alumni of the medical 
department and in general among the friends of advanced 
medical education thruout the state. These latter immediately 
bestirred themselves in the matter, and finally, on August 23, 
1912, asked the Trustees of the University whether they would 
accept the property of the College of Physicians and Surgeons 
if the alumni and other friends of medical education would 
secure the stock of the corporation and present the property 
to the trustees. 

After mature deliberation, upon September 19, 1912, the 
trustees voted that they would accept the property if the stock 
should be delivered in a block on or before the first day of 
February, 1913. 

On January 31, 1913, the chairman of the committee which 
had been entrusted with this work, presented to the president 
of the Board of Trustees of the University of Illinois, the 
entire stock of the College of Ph3rsicians and Surgeons. It had 
been acquired by the committee, partly through donations from 
the persons owning the stock, and partly through purchase 
with funds raised by private subscription among the friends 
of medical education. 

Thus the conditions specified by the board were met and, 
therefore, at the meeting on February 12, 1913, the Trustees 
voted to accept the property of the College of Physicians and 
Surgeons, subject to the mortgage indebtedness resting upon 
the property amounting to $245,000 with an interest charge 
of $14,320, disclaiming at the same time all responsibility for 
the payment of such indebtedness. 

The Trustees at the same time directed the President of 
the University to reopen the medical school in the plant thus 
acquired, which was done Thursday, March 6, 1913. At this 
time the deeds and bill of sale to the property, real and i>er- 
sonal, and the stock, together with the charter belonging to 



Digitized by 



Google 



The Colleges and Schools 235 

the corporation, were turned over to the Trustees of the Uni- 
versity of Illinois and accepted by the President of the Board 
on their behalf. 

The University of Illinois admitted to the medical school, 
thus reopened, the students of that school which the College 
of Physicians and Surgeons had established in the plant the 
day after the University had closed its school. Since then 
the University has conducted the school as an integral part 
of its organization, under the name of the College of Medi- 
cine of the University of Illinois. 

In 1913 the faculty was reorganized and a considerable 
number of the most noted men in the profession were added 
to the instructional and the investigative staff. 

In 1913 the requirements for admission to the College of 
Medicine were advanced to include a year of college work 
in addition to the completion of a four-year high school course. 
For the year 1914-15 a second year of college work was added 
as a prerequisite for entrance. At the end of the first two 
years of the four-year curriculum in Medicine the degree of 
Bachelor of Science is conferred; and at the completion of 
the curriculum, the degree of Doctor of Medicine. 

The first year's work in Medicine may now be taken at 
Urbana. 

The urgent need of the College of Medicine for a clinical 
building is about to be met by virtue of an agreement between 
the University and the State Department of Public Welfare, 
approved July 12, 1919, whereby the Department agreed to 
purchase land and to erect a group of hospitals in Chicago, and 
the University agreed to supply the staff officers, research work- 
ers, and clinical faculty for the hospitals and to turn over to 
the department the sum of $300,000 specially appropriated by 
the General Assembly in 1919 for a clinical building.* 

The hospitals and units to be constructed include : 

The Illinois Charitable Eye and Ear Infirmary, to provide 
medical and surgical treatment for all indigent residents of 
Illinois who are afflicted with diseases of the eye, ear, nose, or 
throat. 



'Minutes, Board of Trustees, 1918-20, pp. 487-409 



Digitized by 



Google 



236 Sixteen Years at the University of Illinois 

The State Pflychiatric Institute, for the study of the nature 
and treatment of mental disorders. 

The Illinois Surgical Institute for Children, to furnish to 
indigent children, residents of Illinois, who are physically de- 
formed, treatment, training, and education. 

The State Institute for Juvenile Research, to provide for the 
study of the nature and treatment of behavior difficulties in 
minors. 

The University Clinical Institute, for the study of the causa- 
tion, prevention, alleviation, and cure of disease. 

The University, through its College of Medicine is to have 
the use of the clinical facilities of said hospitals for teaching 
purposes and research work. 

The University is to appoint and control the professional 
staff of the hospitals, physicians, surgeons, internes, laboratory 
technicians, librarians, and assistants for the treatment of pa- 
tients and for teaching and research purposes. It shall control 
the work of the nurses, ward attendants, and all others in so 
far as this work is strictly medical. 

The University is to provide courses of instruction in medical 
and allied subjects for workers in the Department, such as train- 
ing schools for nurses, occupational therapists, social workers, 
dietitians, and others as may from time to time be agreed upon 
between the contracting parties. 

The University is to consult with and advise the Department 
and the Department is to consult with the University as to the 
needs of the University for teaching and research facilities in 
the buildings erected or to be erected. 

The state and the nation are largely indebted to Director 
Charles H. Thome, of the Department of Public Welfare for 
the development of this plan, which will constitute one of the 
greatest endowments for medical education and research ever 
provided. 

11. The College op Dentistbt 

A School of Dentistry was organized by the University in 
1901 as a department of the College of Medicine.* ^ In 1905 



"Ecpt., Univ. of in., 1902, p. 54 



Digitized by 



Google 



The Colleges and Schools 237 

the name of the School was formally changed to the College 
of Dentistry.** 

During the year 1912-13 the College of Dentistry was closed, 
by reason of the failure of the Legislature to appropriate funds 
for its maintenance. Up to that year the College had been 
supported by the income derived from fees, but these were 
found to be no longer adequate to make it possible to conduct 
a college of high grade. A year later the College was reopened, 
its support being provided for upon the same basis as are the 
other departments of the University. 

The College of Dentistry occupies a six-story building on 
the corner of Harrison and Honore Streets in Chicago. 

In 1904 the completion of one year of high school work 
was required for admission to the College of Dentistry. Dur- 
ing the next sixteen years the requirements for entrance ad- 
vanced to include the completion of fifteen units of prepara- 
tory work in an accredited high school or academy or a state 
normal school. 

During the same period the course of study was revised 
and improved, additions were made to the equipment of the 
laboratories and the operating rooms, and the faculty strength- 
ened in numbers and in personnel. 

In spite of the general decrease in the number of students 
enrolled in medical and dental colleges within the past few 
years, the enrolment of the College of Dentistry of the Uni- 
versity of Illinois increased from 163 in 1906 to 196 in 1920, 
a gain of 33, or about 20 per cent. 

12. The School of Phabmaoy 

The School of Pharmacy was established in 1896. In that 
year the Chicago College of Pharmacy which had been founded 
in 1859 offered to turn over to the University all its property 
on the condition that the University would accept the gift and 
maintain the School as a branch of the University. The offer 
was accepted and the transfer accomplished May 2, 1896.^^ 

In 1904 the School was removed to the comer of Michigan 
Boulevard and Twelfth Street where it occupied the four upper 

"Ibid., 1906, p. 61 

"•Kept, Univ. of HL, 1896, pp. 238, 240 



Digitized by 



Google 



238 Sixteen Years at the University of UUnoia 

iBiooTs of a building having a frontage of 50 feet on the boule- 
vard and a depth of 170 feet, until June 1916. In that month 
it was removed to a building just previously purchased by 
the University at the comer of Wood and Floumoy Streets. 

To meet the demand for special training on the part of stu- 
dents desiring to pursue more extended courses in pharmaceuti- 
eal chemistry, applied microscopy and bacteriology, or to pre- 
pare themselves for positions under the Food and Drugs Act, 
a curriculum was established in 1908 leading to the degree of 
Pharmaceutical Chemist. This curriculum includes all the 
didactic instruction given in the shorter curriculum, but em- 
braces certain additional subjects and a considerably larger 
amount of laboratory work. 

For the year 1904-5 the entrance requirements for the School 
of Pharmacy consisted of the completion of a grammar school 
course. From 1908 to 1913, one year of high school work was 
required for enrolment as a candidate for the degree of Grad- 
uate in Pharmacy. This requirement was raised in 1914 to 
the completion of two years' work in an accredited high school, 
and since 1916 15 units have been required. For admission 
to the curriculum leading to the degree of Pharmaceutical 
Chemist 15 units have been required since the establishment 
of this curriculum in 1908. 

The enrolment in the School of Pharmacy for the year 
1896-7 was 181. In 1903-4 the number was 185. During the 
sixteen years from 1904 to 1920 the number varied consider- 
ably from year to year, ranging from 150 in 1904-05 to a 
maximum of 259 in 1907-8. In 1919-20 the total number of 
students enrolled was 209. 

13. The Suhmeb Session 

A summer session, as a part of the work of the University, 
was given consideration by the faculty and the Trustees as 
early as 1892,^* but the experiment was first tried in 1894. 
In that year thirty students were enrolled. For the following 
summer there were but twenty-seven students enrolled, and 



••Eept., Univ. of HI., 1892, p. 199 



Digitized by 



Google 



The CoUeges and Schools 239 

the Director of the session in his report to the Trustees, the 
following September, expressed doubt as to the advisability of 
its continuance.^^ 

It was not until 1899 that an attempt was again made to 
hold a session during the summer. Upon the receipt of resolu- 
tions of the Southern Illinois Educational Association and a 
petition from teachers in southern lUinois for vacation work 
at the University, the question of reestablishing a summer term 
was again given consideration, with the result that plans were 
made for a session of nine weeks for the summer of that year.'^ 
This session was distinctly successful, a total of 148 students 
being enrolled. 

The summer terms were continued and by the summer of 
1904 the number of students had reached 238. During the past 
sixteen years there has been an almost constant annual in- 
crease in the enrolment, the number in 1916 being 1,147, a gain 
of 909, or over 380 per cent for the period. For 1917, because 
of conditions arising from the War, the enrolment fell to 833. 
In 1919, the total rose to 1,314 students. 

The purpose of the summer session is thus stated in the 
bulletin for 1920 :»t 

''The iSummer Session is an organized integral part of the 
University year. Though its organization is not subdivided 
into colleges, numerous courses are offered by departments in 
the Colleges of Liberal Arts and Sciences, Commerce, Agricul- 
ture, Engineering, and in the School of Music and the Library 
School. All courses may be counted toward an A.B. or B.S. 
degree, or toward a master's degree, unless otherwise specified. 
By two Summer Sessions a regular student may reduce the 
eight semesters to seven, thus securing his degree a half year 
earlier than he would otherwise have done. 

''One of the primary purposes of the Summer Session is to 
meet the needs of the teachers in the public schools who wish 
to spend a part of the summer vacation in serious study or 
investigation. Numerous courses are designed particularly for 

•Ibid., 1896, p. 165 

"Ibid., 1900, pp. 28, 62 

•TJniv. of lU. Bulletin, Vol XVII, No. 20, p. 7 



Digitized by 



Google 



240 Sixteen Years at the University of lUinais 

high-school teachers, supervising officers, teachers of special 
subjects (agriculture, art, household science, manual training, 
music, etc.), and coaches of athletic teams; graduate courses 
are offered for college instructors, school supervisors and prin- 
cipals who are working for advanced degrees.'' 

A comparison of the foregoing statement with that con- 
tained in the summer session bulletin for 1904 reveals the 
fact that in 1904 a part of the courses offered were for stu- 
dents who were preparing to enter the University, or who 
wished to do work of a preparatory grade in order to remove 
entrance conditions; whereas in 1920 the work offered was 
with very few exceptions of a strictly collegiate or university 
grade. This fact is further indicated by a comparison of the 
requirements for admission at the two periods. The announce- 
ment of the 1904 session stated:^® *'No examinations or other 
conditions will be placed upon admission. All who can do 
the work are welcome to get what they can from it. Those 
who can meet the requirements may matriculate in the Univer- 
sity if they desire, and in that event, upon examination, may 
receive credits to apply upon regular University courses." 
For admission to the 1920 session the requirements were sub- 
stantially the same as those in force during the regular school 
year. 

The tuition fee for the summer session has remained the 
same throughout the sixteen years from 1904 to 1920. In 1904, 
however, no free scholarships were available to students. At 
a meeting of the Board of Trustees held January 17, 1905, the 
President presented a request from the Director of the Summer 
School, that a free scholarship in the summer session of 1905 
be offered each accredited high school in the state. It was 
voted that a free scholarship should be granted to some repre- 
sentative of as many high schools in the state as the President 
of the University should deem wise.^® A similar request for 
the summer session of 1906 was approved by the Trustees 
December 19, 1905.*^ At a meeting of the Trustees held June 
27, 1906,** it was recommended that in connection with the 

"Univ. of lU. Bulletin, April 1, 1904, p. 167 
"Kept., Univ. of lU., 1906, pp. 37-38 
*Tl>id., p. 295 
«Ibid., p. 886 



Digitized by 



Google 



The Colleges and Schools 241 

summer term to be held in 1907, **the University establish a 
free scholarship (a) for all persons who have taught during 
the year 1906-7 in the high schools of the State of Illinois; 
and (b) for all other persons who have taught in the schools 
of Illinois during the year 1906-7, and who may be able to 
qualify for full admission to the University in either of the 
Colleges, Literature and Arts, Science, or Engineering." The 
recommendation was approved by the Board, and the scholar- 
ships have up to the present time been granted annually on 
the same conditions. In addition, summer session scholarships 
have been granted since 1910*^ to those persons (otherwise 
qualified) who have contracts to teach during the following 
school year and to those who graduate from the various state 
normal schools in Illinois in June of the year in which the 
summer session is held. As a result of these endeavors of the 
University to promote the general educational interests of the 
state, about half of the total number annually enrolled in the 
summer session consists of high school and public school teach- 
ers of Illinois in active service. 

The summer sessions have grown in strength and value 
year by year. In 1904 the facidty consisted of thirty-three 
members; in 1919, of one hundred and fourteen. There were 
three visiting professors from other universities who gave regu- 
lar courses in 1904, and five in 1919. The relative strength 
of the faculty in these two years may be seen from the fol- 
lowing table : 

PACULTT IN SUMMEE SESSION 
1904 AND 1919 

1904 1919 

Vidting Professors 3 6 

Besident Professors 3 26 

Associate Professors 3 

Assistant Professors 10 19 

Associates 18 

Instructors 16 25 

Assistants 1 15 

Lecturers 3 

Total 33 114 

«Ibid., 1910, p. 545 



Digitized by 



Google 



242 Sixteen Years of the University of lUinais 

The number and variety of the conrses offered in the sum- 
mer session of 1919 showed a marked increase over those 
offered in 1904. Opportunity was given in 1904 for work in 
twenty different departments; and in the 1919 session, in thirty- 
seven departments. 

In addition to the regular courses of instruction offered 
in 1904, several general lectures were delivered by visiting 
educators. These comprised five on the Monroe Doctrine, five 
on English literature, and twenty-five on the principles of 
education. In 1917 the incidental exercises of general interest 
were of a varied nature. Forty-eight general lectures were 
given by members of the regular staff and by visiting educa- 
tors; sixteen on recent advances in physics; eleven on recent 
history, with special reference to the war; two on food con- 
servation; five on the teaching of English; three on stars, 
nebidae and eclipses; two on birds and bird music; one on the 
Near Bast; and the others on various topics. The Cobum 
players gave three open-air performances ; there were two con- 
vocations, five recitals, seven vesper services, seven ''campus 
sings," and several conferences of teachers, princiuals and su- 
perintendents. 

Graduate Work in the Summer Session 

A recent feature of the summer session work especially 
deserving of notice is the increased opportunity afforded stu- 
dents for pursuing graduate study and securing the degree 
of Master of Arts. Thus the announcement for the 1920 ses- 
sion*8 stated that: 

"In recent summer sessions the University has placed in- 
creasing emphasis upon graduate courses leading to the Mas- 
. ter's degree. The departments which are closely related to 
high-school teaching and to educational administration have been 
selected as the centers of this emphasis. An attempt is made 
to vary the graduate offerings from year to year so that advanced 
students who attend the University summer after summer may 
continue to find acceptable work in their chosen fields. 

"Graduate students in the Summer Session are subject to 
the same scholastic requirements as those in the regular Uni- 



*nJmv. of m. BuUetin, Vol. XVII, No. 20, p. 10 



Digitized by 



Google 



The Colleges and Schools 243 

verdty year. Their study lists must be approved by the Dean 
of the Oraduaie School, or his representative, in 109 Commerce 
Building. Attendance on four summer sessions, or one semester 
and two summer sessions, is considered the equivalent of one 
year in residence. If in these sessions the required amount of 
work is properly done a master's degree may be earned in 
this way. 

**No course offered in the Summer Session may be taken for 
credit towards a higher degree unless it is specially described in 
the Summer Session circular as accepted for that purpose. 

** Students working for their masters' degrees in the Summer 
Session must announce their thesis subjects not later than the 
beginning of their third session in residence. 

** Graduate courses in medical sciences are offered in the 
summer quarter between June and September at the College 
of Medicine of the University of Illinois in Chicago." 

Summer Courses in Library Training 

During the first six weeks of the summer session since 1911 
the Library School has offered a series of courses in Library 
training. These are not given in connection with the regular 
summer session of the University, but as an independent under- 
taking of the Library School. 

To this course are admitted ''only high school graduates 
actually employed as librarians, or library assistants, or 
teacher-librarians, or under definite appointment to serve in 
such position." The curriculum is planned to meet especially 
the needs of workers in public libraries and in high school 
libraries of Illinois and no tuition fee is charged students enter- 
ing from this State ; students entering from libraries in other 
states pay a tuition fee of $12. The work is under the gen- 
eral direction of the faculty of the Library School, and the 
instruction is given by members of the faculty, supplemented 
by lectures by neighboring librarians. No university credit 
is granted for this course. 

''The work is designed to occupy the whole time of the 
student. The number of lectures in each subject is approxi- 
mately as follows: cataloging, 20; classification and book 



Digitized by 



Google 



244 Sixteen Tears at the University of IJUnois 

numbers, 13; book selection, 14; administration of small 
libraries, 10; reference work, 10; work with children, 10; loan 
systems, order, accession and shelf work, binding and re- 
pair, 13."** 

Up to the present time 229 persons have availed themselves 
of the privileges afforded by the summer library courses, of 
whom 161 were from Illinois libraries. 

SUMliEB WOBK AT HAVANA 

In the summer of 1910 an interesting experiment was tried. 
It consisted of furnishing instruction in certain sciences at the 
Illinois Biological Station at Havana, Illinois. The students 
at the Station had as their field of observation **the banks 
and waters of the Illinois River itself, a series of lakes, streams 
and bayous of the vicinity, and the bottoms, bluffs and uplands 
adjacent, presenting a great variety of situations unusually 
rich in all plant and animal forms, and convenient of access 
from the station grounds."*** 

The work was carried on under the direction of a faculty 
of twelve members. Eight courses were offered in botany, three 
in education, one in microscopical technique, two in physical 
geography and six in zoology. About sixty students were in 
attendance during the session. 

The School for Athletic Coaches 

In connection with the summer session of the University, 
the department of physical training for men has since 1914 
held a School for Athletic Coaches. This School was designed 
primarily to give instruction in the best methods of coaching 
the most popular competitive sports in college and high 
school — baseball, football, basketball and track and field ath- 
letics. In addition a course of instruction on playgrounds and 
their direction is provided. 

The instruction in each course includes both theory and 
practical demonstration. The instructional staff is composed 
of the men in charge of the several athletic teams of the Uni- 



•*Umv. of lU. Buaiettn, Vol. XTV, No. 34, pp. 16-17 
•Univ. of HI. Bulletin, Vol. Vn, No. 12, Nov. 21, 1909 



Digitized by 



Google 



The Colleges and Schools 245 

versity. As many as two hundred fifty persons have been 
enrolled in one or more courses in a single year. 

14. The Military Department includinq also The Uni- 
versity's Part in the War 

In 1904-5 the military department of the University regis- 
tered a total of 844 men, of whom 41 were officers. There was 
one regiment of infantry, composed of field staff band^ and 
ten companies. There was also an artillery company. 

The military department of the University registered a 
total of 2,217 students in 1915-16, 2,279 in 1916-17, 1,285 
in 1917-18, 3,385, in 1918-19, and 1,407 in 1919-20. During 
1915-16 and the first semester of 1916-17 the military organiza- 
tion consisted of two regiments of infantry, composed of twelve 
companies each ; a foot battery of artillery, a signal company, 
an engineer company, a hospital company, two bands, a trumpet 
and drum corps, and a reserve band. 

At the beginning of the second semester of 1916-17 an 
infantry unit, a signal unit and an engineer unit of the Senior 
Division, Reserve Officers' Training Corps, were established 
in accordance with the National Defense Act of June 3, 1916. 
The present organization is therefore as follows : One infantry 
unit, Senior Division, B. 0. T. C, composed of two regiments 
of three battalions of four companies each, two headquarters 
companies, two supply companies and two machine gun com- 
panies; a band for each regiment and a reserve band; one 
signal unit, Senior Division, R. 0. T. C, consisting of one com- 
pany; and one engineer unit. Senior Division, R. 0. T. C, 
consisting of one company. 

Up to and including the year 1915-16 there was but one 
commissioned officer of the United States Army stationed at 
the University. In 1916-17 there were five commissioned offi- 
cers, three non-commissioned officers from the active list and 
four retired non-commissioned officers assigned to duty here. 
Shortly after the declaration of war all of these officers except 
those upon the retired list were ordered to various training 
camps. In addition to the enlarged personnel of United States 
officers the Military Department has found it necessary to em- 



Digitized by 



Google 



246 Sixteen Tears at the University of lUinais 

ploy the services of several cadet officers. In 1917-18 seventeen 
such officers were appointed assistants in Military Science as 
against three in 1904. 

Expenditures on account of military have greatly increased 
in the last sixteen years. During the biennium 1913-15 ap- 
proximately $227,920 was expended upon a new armory. To 
complete it will require at least $250,000 more. ''For inci- 
dental expenses, military scholarships, for the Armory and 
other buildings to be used by the military, an amount about equal 
to the original federal grant ($600,000) to the University has 
been expended by the state to build up the Military Depart- 
ment of its University. "*• 

In addition to this work in military tactics, which the 
Morrill Land Grant Act of 1862 expressly included as one 
of the subjects to be taught in the land grant colleges, the 
University contributed materially to the preparation under- 
taken by the federal government for active participation in 
the war. Upon the entrance of the United States into the 
War, the President of the University telegraphed to the Gov- 
ernor of the State offering the use of the scientific labora- 
tories and other equipment of the University to the Federal 
Government. This offer was promptly acknowledged by the 
President of the United States, and various demands were made 
on the resources of the University in consequence. 

Military Units and Courses 

Perhaps the University's most direct contribution toward 
this end has been in organizing units and courses specifically 
military in character. 

In 1915 a battery was organized among the faculty and 
students of the University which became known as Battery F 
of the First Regiment of Illinois Field Artillery. On June 
20, 1916, the battery was ordered to entrain for Springfield 
from whence it moved to Texas. Almost exactly a year later, 
June 29, 1917, it again received orders from the Central De- 
partment directing immediate mobilization for active service, 

^^esponse of the University to the Call of War by Dr. B. E. Powell, 
University of Illinois Bulletin No. 52 



Digitized by 



Google 



The Colleges and Schooh 247 

and on July 10 it left Champaign, this time to begin prepara- 
tion for overseas service. Pour months later it arrived in 
France. 

On July 2, 1917, ambulance units 109, 110 and 111, con- 
sisting of 36 men each, and recruited at the University in 
response to a call from the War Department, entrained for 
Allentown, Pennsylvania, to go into an army training camp 
prior to departure for France. Of the 108 men in these units 
88 were Illinois alumni or students. 

In the period from April 23 to June 28, the University 
offered special courses in Business Organization and Operation 
designed to prepare students for the Ordnance and the Quar- 
termaster Corps. These courses enrolled in all about 120 stu- 
dents, the majority of whom promptly enlisted in the Federal 
service after completing this work.**^ 

The most extensive military instruction undertaken up to 
June 30, 1918, was that given in the School of Military Aero- 
nautics, the organization of which was authorized by the Board 
of Trustees on May 1, 1917. The University had already begun 
work in this field, having established a chair of Aeronautics 
in 1916. Prom May 20, 1917, the Government sent to the School 
each week a group of men enlisted in the Aviation Corps. The 
course of study first prescribed for these men was of eight 
weeks duration, but in March, 1918, the Government extended 
this period of study by four weeks and doubled the weekly 
class enrolment. The curriculum at this time included such 
subjects as the construction and operation of machine guns 
and aircraft engines, the rigging of airplanes, artillery observa- 
tion, wireless telegraphy, map reading, reconnaissance, meteor- 
ology, astronomy, contact patrol, bombing, cross country fly- 
ing, theory of flight, types of machines, military law, mili- 
tary hygiene and sanitation, infantry drill regulations, army 
regulations, paper work, military organization, the latter sub- 
ject including the form of the present German, British, French 
and American armies. Upon completing this work cadets were 
trained in the actual use of the airplane at the various aviation 
flying fields. 



''Besponse of the Univeraity to the Call of War by Dr. B. E. Powell, 
University of Ulinois Bulletin No. 62 



Digitized by 



Google 



248 Sixteen Years at tTte University of Illinois 

Wlien the School opened, the Armory was placed at its 
disposal, and men were quartered as well as instructed there. 
Later, the Y. M. C. A. building was equipped for a permanent 
barracks, and when it would no longer accommodate all the 
cadets, the Women's Residence Hall was turned over to them. 
This was on November 15, just a few days after the building 
had been completed. 

On February 16, 1918, the President presented to the Board 
of Trustees a request from the Federal Board for Vocational 
Education, asking the University to undertake the education 
of conscripted men from the army of the United States, as 
mechanicians. The Trustees gave him authority to co-operate 
with the Federal Board in this matter, and it was immediately 
announced that the University would undertake to provide 
training in any mechanical line which the government desired, 
for five thousand men. This action on the part of the Uni- 
versity resulted in the establishment of the Students Army 
Training Corps in the autumn of 1918. 

In addition to the instruction already mentioned, several 
so-called war courses were introduced during the second semes- 
ter of 1917-18, and of these perhaps the largest was that given 
in Red Cross work. The course extended from April 23, to 
June 1, and enrolled 140 students. It was conducted by a 
registered Red Cross nurse, by members of the faculty, and 
by practising physicians, and included instruction in first aid, 
surgical supplies, home nursing, field problems and dietetics.*® 

Students' Army Training Corps*® 

The Students' Army Training Corps was organized by the 
Committee on Education and Special Training, a committee of 
the War Department, composed of army officers and civilian 
educators, created for the purpose of educating and training 
men for service in the United States Army. Units of the S. A. 
T. C. were established in five hundred and fifty universities, 
colleges, and schools throughout the United States. The mini- 



•Ttesponse of the University to the Call of War by Dr. B. E. Powell^ 
University of Illinois Bulletin No. 62 
•Annual Register, 1918-19, p. 425 



Digitized by 



Google 



The Colleges and Schools 249 

mum number of students required was two hundred, and the 
maximum thirty-five hundred. The corps was divided into two 
sections, class A, those who received an academic education, and 
class B, those who received instruction in mechanical trades. 
The necessary educational requirements for class A students 
was a certificate of graduation from some high school of merit 
and for class B students a completion of the eight grades in 
grammar school. 

The S. A. T. C. Unit established at the University of Illinois 
was class A entirely. It was organized October 1, 1918, and 
work started immediately. The induction of the men into the 
service began October 6, 1918. The Unit was organized into 
fifteen companies of two hundred men each, and eleven hours 
weekly were devoted to military drill and instruction. 

The men were fully equipped, and regularly enlisted in the 
United States Army. They were under strict military discipline 
at all times. The study was supervised by the military authori- 
ties and was made compulsory. 

In order to subsist and quarter such a large number of men, 
the University of Illinois went to great expense in completely 
flooring the Armory and installing a modern kitchen which con- 
tained the most improved equipment, such as steam tables, 
ranges, boilers, meat and bread slicers, and electric dish-washers. 
This work was delayed somewhat on account of embargoes at 
that time on the transportation of materials, but through per- 
sistence and untiring energy on the part of the University 
Executive Department every obstacle was overcome and this 
vast undertaking began to function in time to take care of the 
men as rapidly as they reported. 

There were twenty-six hundred students enrolled in the Army 
section, four hundred in the Navy section, in Urbana, and three 
hundred and eighty-five in the University of Illinois College of 
Medicine at Chicago. 

The academic courses were divided into groups and the cur- 
riculum arranged so as to cover subjects of value to the various 
arms of the service, and the men could elect the group or course 
of study desired. 

Those eligible for admission into the S. A. T. C. had to be 
over eighteen years of age and under twenty-one. Induction 



Digitized by 



Google 



260 Sixteen Years at tJte University of Illinois 

was made by the voluntary application of the man to his local 
board, and this was completed by the board of transfer after 
the man had passed a thoro physical examination by army 
surgeons. 

Organization had been completed and the men were rapidly 
developing into valuable material for the Army, and several 
hundred students had already been transferred to the various 
Central Officers' Training Schools when the armistice was 
signed, shortly after which orders were received to demobilize; 
and this was done December 21, 1918. 

Wab Service Beg(»d6 

Early in 1917 the University authorities were confronted 
with a difficult problem. Students had become restless and 
were manifesting a growing desire to participate actively in 
the war. During the spring 1,262 of them withdrew to engage 
in war work of one form or another. In the face of this situa- 
tion it became evident that some action would have to be taken 
in order to provide credit for those courses successfully pur- 
sued to the date of the student's withdrawal. Accordingly the 
Council of Administration pn April 17 passed these two im- 
portant rulings : 

(1) If any member of the senior class now in line for 
graduation enters upon specific service for the national de- 
fense, approved by a special committee of the Council of 
Administration, he shall be given credit for the full semester's 
work and shall be recommended for graduation. 

(2) Any other student who enters upon specific service 
for the national defense, approved by a special committee of 
the Council of Administration, shall be given full credit for 
the semester's work in all courses in which he has been doing 
passing work at the time of his leaving; in other courses he 
shall be marked "withdrawn." 

The following statement summarizes the participation of 
the University's graduates, students and faculty in the military 
and naval service to June 5, 1918.*^ 



••Report of University War Committee, Univ. of lU. Bulletin No. 49, 
p. 6. 



Digitized by 



Google 



The Colleges and Schools 251 

DISTBIBUTION THEUOUT THE DIPPBEBNT ABMS OF 
THE SEBYICE 

Abmt 8,699 90.1% 

Navy 850 8.8% 

MABIN18 48 1.1% 

DISTEIBUTION THBUOUT THE VAMOUS BRANCHES 
Abmy 

Ambulanee Corps 117 Machine Gnn Corps 89 

Ayiation Corps 522 Medical Corps 178 

Cavalry 18 Musicians 15 

Coast Artillery 160 Officers' Schools 207 

Engineering Corps 296 Ordnance Corps 175 

Field Artillerj 864 Quartermaster Corps 178 

Ghis Defense Service 24 Signal Corps 107 

Infantry 682 Branch Unknown 477 

Total 8,599 

Navy 

Badio Corps 48 

Other Branches 270 

Officers' Schools 82 

Total 850 

Marinis 48 

Grand Total 8,992 

How liberally IHinois faculty and students subscribed to 
the Qovemment Loans and the War Belief campaigns, may 
be judged from the following table which lists the most im- 
portant of those drives conducted in the University district 
between April, 1917 and June, 1919. 

It is interesting to note that the University of Illinois held 
third place among ten representative institutions thruout the 
country in its subscription to the Third Liberty Loan. In 
total subscriptions it was surpassed by Chicago and Yale. 
However, its faculty subscription not only doubled that of the 
Chicago faculty but exceeded the faculty subscription in each 
of the other institutions. 



Digitized by 



Google 



252 



Sixteen Years at the University of Illinois 



Dftte 



Appor- Amount Overgub- 

^^^V^fP^ tioned Subecribed scribed 

Belgian Children Belief Fund.. $ 6,000 $13,625.02 127% 

University Ambulance Fund... 10,000.00 

Second Liberty Loan 55,000X>0 

Y. M. C. A. Army Fund 20,000 28,960.88 44.8% 

Bed Cross Subscription 3,800.00 

American and Syrian Belief... 5,928.09 

War Savings Stamps 25,000.00 

Third Liberty Loan 100,000 220,000.00 120% 

Second Bed Cross Fund 4,000 10,581.23 164.5% 

Fourth Liberty Loan 314,000.00 

United War Work Fund 46,821.00 

Armenian and Syrian Belief 2,514.36 

Victory Loan 86,300.00 

Total subscribed $822,530.58 



April, 1917 
April, 1917 
October, 1917 
November, 1917 
To January 1, 1918 
1917-18 

February, 1918 
April, 1918 
May, 1918 
November, 1918 
November, 1918 
January, 1919 
April, 1919 



Since there was no apportionment of the University district 
for the First Liberty Loan this item does not appear in the 
above table. 

Mention should be made of the work carried on by the 
Woman's War Relief Committee, the most active and success- 
ful student organization canvassing the University for funds 
in connection with the war. From the money which this com- 
mittee collected during the year 1917-18, it made donations to 
the amount of $2,031.23. 

MlSCELLANEOXTS ACTIVITIES 

Aside from its organization of military units and courses, 
as well as its subscriptions to the various campaigns enum- 
erated above, the University made other contributions which, 
though less extensive and direct, were distinctly valuable in 
promoting the work of national defense. Of these perhaps the 
one most outstanding was the preparation of certain chemi- 
cals indispensable for the manufacture of munitions, nickel 
steels, etc. The stocks of many organic chemicals which were 
imported from Germany before the war had been completely 
exhausted, and during the year 1917-18, more than 100 dif- 
ferent chemicals were made. Among the most important of 



Digitized by 



Google 



The Colleges and Schools 253 

these may be mentioned dimethylgloxine, nitroso betanaphthol, 
cuperron, nitron and ninhydrin. At the outset it was thought 
that the business resulting from the sales of these products 
would amount to about $1,000, whereas during the summer 
of 1917 alone, the sales totaled approximately $5,000. 

On March 3, 1917, a branch of the Intercollegiate Intelli- 
gence Bureau was organized at the University of Illinois, with 
Assistant Dean H. W. Miller of the College of Engineering as 
Adjutant. The purpose of this Bureau was to create machinery 
which would operate to bring all the existing college and uni- 
versity agencies into direct contact with the proper Depart- 
ment of the National Government without duplication of ef- 
fort. Questionnaires were promptly sent to 13,500 alumni and 
students, and the information received from these was placed 
upon permanent record cards under 102 general heads. Within 
30 days after the U. S. declared war, 3,860 of these cards were 
upon file and ready for use. To the first emergency case from 
the United States Civil Service Commission, Illinois responded 
with a good list of names, and several men immediately began 
their work in the positions offered. Urgent calls then came 
from the Ordnance Department for trained inspectors, clerks 
And instrument men. On May 9, 1917, the Bureau was asked 
to recruit from the University two ambulance units, and on 
May 26, an additional unit was called for. It was about this 
time that the University organized its School of Military Aero- 
nautics, and since the undertaking demanded the services of 
those connected with the Intercollegiate Intelligence Bureau, 
the activities of the Bureau were greatly decreased during the 
summer months. However, in the latter part of August, the 
Government announced that it would increase its programs 
in aviation, shipbuilding, ordnance, chemistry and finance ; and 
430 during the winter of 1917-18 Adjutant H. H. Jordan, who 
in August replaced Professor Miller, found a renewed demand 
for the services of his Bureau. Registrants were supplied with 
information concerning the organization of the different Na- 
tional Departments and also the work which was being done 
at the officers' training schools. On March 15, 1918, the Uni- 
versity was notified of the merging of the Intercollegiate 



Digitized by 



Google 



264 Sixteen Years at the University of lUinais 

Bureau into the War Service Exchange which was then under 
the supervision of the Adjutant General's Office. Thereafter 
the co-operation of the University with the War Department 
consisted largely in classifying its graduates who intended to 
enter the service either as regular army or navy men or as 
civilians. 

The extension division of the Household Science Depart- 
ment organized for a food conservation campaign. During the 
year 1917-18 the division served 20 types of organizations thru- 
out the state reaching through them more than 70,000 house- 
keepers. The campaign which has been launched by this di- 
vision was carried on locally since January 1, 1918, by a sub- 
committee of the University War Committee.^^ 

On September 11, 1917, the Board of Trustees authorized 
the President to take out, on behalf of the University, a mem- 
bership in the American University Union. The object of 
this organization was to furnish social facilities to graduates 
of American universities connected with the military and naval 
forces in Europe. In March, 1917, the Union asked the Uni- 
versity of Illinois to contribute $1,000 towards the support of 
the Paris Branch Union. The Trustees requested that the 
Alumni be invited to subscribe this amount, and accordingly 
the matter was turned over to the Chairman of the University 
War Committee. The campaign which was conducted under 
his direction netted in all $1,506.50.^2 

As the University continued to participate in an ever in- 
creasing number of war activities, it became evident that there 
should be some centralization of effort as well as a general 
supervision over all University agencies seeking to promote 
war work among faculty and students. Therefore, the Board 
of Trustees in December, 1917, authorized the appointment 
of a University War Committee whose duty it should be to 
coordinate and energize University war activities, to endeavor 
to place students and alumni where they could best serve the 



•^tlesponse of the University to the CaU of War by Dr. B. E. PoweU, 
University of Illinois Bulletin No. 52 

■•Report of the War Ck>mmittee, University of Illinois Bulletin No» 
49, p. 9 



Digitized by 



Google 



The Colleges and Schools 255 

Qovernment and to give the proper publicity necessary to make 
the whole work efficient.*^ 

This committee, of which the Vice President of the Uni- 
versity was made Chairman, organized at once 17 divisional 
committees and began its work. Under its direction 14 war 
leaflets were published, most of them in editions of 50,000. 
Beginning April 24, 1918, news bulletins were sent out every 
Saturday to approximately 450 newspapers of Illinois and 
adjoining states. By May 9, a total of 182 war talks had been 
delivered before various student organizations. Under its su- 
pervision the University on February 18, dedicated a service 
flag in recognition of those among its alumni and students 
who had been called to the colors. In addition to these specific 
activities noteworthy service was rendered by the divisional 
committees on legal advice to drafted men, conservation and 
economy and University war employment. 

15. University op Illinois Press 

The University of Illinois Press was organized in 1918 to 
have charge of the work of editing, printing, and distributing 
the publications of the University.^* Mr. Harrison E. Cunning- 
ham was appointed Director. An editorial oflSce has been es- 
tablished and some printing machinery has been installed. 

The University publishes through its departments and allied 
scientific bureaus and experiment stations 18 series of bulletins 
and circulars, besides the publications of the Graduate School, 
which are listed in another place.^*^ Among the noteworthy 
books published by the University are : Eonungs Skuggsja, the 
main manuscript of, by Professor G. T. Flom; The Genus 
Phoradendron, by Professor William Trelease; The Life of the 
Pleistocene, by Mr. Frank C. Baker; The Life of Columcille, 
edited and translated by A. O'Kelleher and Q. Schepperle; 
The Power of a €k)d, by Thacher H. Guild; Semi-Centennial 
History of the University of Illinois, volume 1, by Dr. B. E* 
Powell. 



•T^iiL, Bd. of Trnstees, Univ. of HI., 1916-18, p. 636 
■•Min., Bd. of TrusteeB, 1916-18, p. 747 
*7age 200 (this book) 



Digitized by 



Google 



CHAPTER X 
SUMMARY AND CONCLUSION 

During the sixteen years from 1904 to 1920 the income of 
the University of Illinois from the Federal (Jovemment rose 
from $74,223.37 in 1903-4 to $218,154.44 in 1919-20. The ap- 
propriations of the State of Illinois to the University advanced 
from $1,152,400 to $5,348,000. The total available income of 
the University increased from $956,472.80 to $3,723,746.18. 

The University was the recipient of several important gifts 
during this period, the two most notable of which were received 
from Captain Thomas J. Smith and from Hon. William B. 
McKinley, both of Champaign. The former donated to the Uni- 
versity four farms in 1914, having a total area of about 770 
acres and a value of approximately $215,000, to provide funds 
for the erection of a building for the School of Music. Mr. 
McKinley in 1917 presented to the University securities of a 
par value of $120,000, from the sale of which funds should 
be provided for the erection of an infirmary for students and 
faculty. 

The land holdings of the University increased during this 
period from 633.69 acres in 1904 to 1,959.45^ acres in 1920. Of 
the 1,328.26 acres added, 713.72 acres were included in thirty 
experiment fields in various sections of the state which had been 
acquired by gift or by purchase. The total value of the land 
acquired during the period was $861,887.29. 

Sixteen important buildings were erected between 1904 
and 1920. The total number of buildings in use by the Uni- 
versity increased from 23 to 71. One million, one hundred 
fifty-three thousand, three hundred ninety dollars had been 
expended up to 1904 on buildings in use at that time. From 
1905 to 1920, $3,905,963.63 was spent for new buildings or for 
additions to old ones. 

The inventory of furniture and fixtures in 1904 amounted 
to a total of $81,342.55. In 1919 the value of these items was 



*See foot-note, Chapter II, p. 54 

256 



Digitized by 



Google 



Summary and ConcliLsion 257 

$367,649.35. The value of departmental equipment rose like- 
wise from $487,117.16 to $2,402,108.64. 

The number of books in the Library increased from 66,239 
in 1904 to approximately 420,000 in 1920. A considerable 
number of departmental libraries were established. Two new 
museums were established, and the other collections of the Uni- 
versity received substantial additions. 

The number of members in the faculty rose from 351 to 
943. The quality of the staff showed an increase no less marked. 
Salaries were so increased that in 1919-20 approximately 36 
per cent of the faculty were receiving $2,500 or more, as against 
10 per cent in 1903-04; while only .2 per cent were receiving 
less than $1,000, as against 29.9 per cent in 1903-04. Four 
hundred ninety books, 5,478 articles, 310 book reviews and 490 
book notices were published by members of the faculty during 
the sixteen years. 

The enrolment of the University increased from 3,592 to 
9,249, the number of degrees conferred, from 633 to 928 
(1,223). 2 The requirements for admission were advanced for 
all departments of the University. 

Student activities of every nature showed a lively growth 
during the period. Many organizations were formed to sup- 
plement the work in the class room, in addition to the large 
number devised chiefly for recreation. Illinois athletic teams 
were notably successful in inter-coUegiate contests. 

Of the various colleges and schools embraced in the organ- 
ization of the University, nearly all showed a substantial 
growth during the period. There was in nearly every instance 
an increase in the number of students and faculty, in buildings 
and equipment and in the number and variety of the courses 
offered. In every case there was a distinct advance in the 
quality of the work. 

During the sixteen years from 1904 to 1920 the University 
as a whole became recognized not only as an indispensable 
part of the great public school system of the State of Illinois, 
but as a most vital factor in the promotion of the agricultural, 
the industrial and the commercial interests of the common- 



"Figores in parenthesis are those for 1916-17 



Digitized by 



Google 



258 Sixteen Years at the University of Illinois 

wealth. It was repeatedly invited to assist in the solution of 
the most difficult problems which confronted the legislators 
of the State, and in every instance rendered ungrudging and 
efficient service. It cheerfully accepted whatever new duties 
were laid upon it. Its usefulness was limited only by its 
means. 

In spite of the impression that will be derived from the 
study of the statistics presented in the foregoing pages — 
namely that the University's growth for the sixteen years 
was chiefly material and physical — it can be asserted with 
confidence that the real growth of the University for this 
period was intellectual and spiritual. It rose to a higher plane 
of scholarship. It came to lay greater emphasis upon unsel- 
fish service. There was a setting up of high ideals, and these 
were kept consistently before both faculty and students. 

During this period the University was not content to serve 
only as a medium for handing down to its students the learn- 
ing of the past. It strove with unflagging zeal to do its part 
in pushing outward the bounds of the known world of science, 
literature, art, philosophy and medicine. This policy, con- 
sistently followed, resulted not only in the addition of some 
small amount to the sum of human knowledge, but also in 
greater inspiration in the teaching of the instructor, and a 
keener interest in his work on the part of the student. 

Difficult as the task is of securing the means for providing 
adequate land, buildings, libraries and laboratories, it is still 
more difficult to build up an able administrative and instruc- 
tional staff — ^men with genuine teaching ability, with high 
ideals of scholarship, capable of carrying on important investi- 
gations themselves and of giving efficient direction to the re- 
search of others. This task has been performed at the Uni- 
versity of Illinois during the past sixteen years with notable 
success. It is certain that no state university is ranked higher 
by its sister institutions at the present time than the Univer- 
sity of Illinois. If the present high ideals of scholarship and 
of service are maintained, there is no reason to doubt that 
the University of Illinois will establish clearly its right to be 
counted one of the great seats of learning of the world. 



Digitized by 



Google 



BIBLIOGRAPHY 

The principal sources from which the facts contained in this 
Report were collected are the following: 

Reports of the Illinois Industrial University and the Uni- 

versity of Illinois, 1868-1916. 
Minutes of the Board of Trustees of the University of Illi- 
nois, 1904-1920. 
University of Illinois Annual Registers, 1868-1920. 
Laws of Illinois, 1863-1918. 
Illinois School Reports, 1879-1906. 
The Alumni Quarterly, 1907-18. 
The Alumni Record, 1913-1918. 
Registrar's Report, 1913. 
Comptroller's Reports, 1913-19. 
The Daily lUini, 1904-20. 
The mio, 1904-19. 



259 



Digitized by 



Google 



INDEX 



Adams Act, 8, 11 

Administration boilding, picture, 16 
Agricultural CoUege and Experi- 
ment Station, 211 
Agricultural Experiment Fields, 
1920, picture, 63 

list, 70 
Agronomy Bam and Implement 

House, picture, 48 
Agronomy Greenhouse, picture, 48 
Animal Husbandry Feeding Barns, 

picture, 64 
Animal Husbandry Bilos, picture, 64 
Appropriations 

entomologist, state, 18 

federal, 7 

Miners' and Mechanics' Insti- 
tutes. 18 

Natural History Laboratory, 18 

state, 16, 17, 20 

Water Survey, 18 
Archaeology, Classical, Museum, 121 
Armory, picture, 224 
Artillery Bams, picture, 144 
Art Museum, 121 
Athletic coaches, school for, 244 
Athletic organizations, 182 
Auditorium, picture, 224 
Bibliography, 259 

Books and articles published by 
faculty, 152 

table, 163 
Botany Annex, picture, 96 
Buildings 

erected, 1867-1904, 78 

erected, 1904-20, 79 
description, 86 

inventory, 80 

under construction, 83 
Buildings and equipment, chapter 

on, 77 
Burrill, Professor, retirement, 144 
Cabinets and collections, appropria- 
tions, 1869-1911, 118 
Campus in 1870, picture, 44 
Campus, 1920, picture, 194 
Campus plans 

chapter on, 193 

chart, 196 
Ceramics Building, picture, 112 



Ceramics Kiln House, picture, 128 
Chemistry building, picture, 80 
Collections, 126 

Collections and cabinets, appropria- 
tions for, 1869-1911, 118 
Colleges and schools, chapter on, 199 
Commerce and Business Adnunis- 

tration. College of, 214 
Commerce building, picture, 16 
Commerce museum, 126 
Conclusion and summary, chapter 

on, 266 
Contents, table of, 3 
Council of Administration, 1904-20, 

130 
Dairy bams, picture, 64 
Debate and oratory, 190 
Degrees 

conferred, 1904 and 1918, table, 
166 

conferred, 1905-19, table, 163 

geographical distribution, table, 
170 
Dentistry, College of. 236 

building, picture, 208 

faculty, 143 
Departmental libraries, 107 
Dramatic organizations, 181 
Educational Besearch, Bureau of, 

230 
Education, College of, 226 

building, picture, 160 

1904-18, 226 
Education, School of, registration, 

229 
Endowment fund, interest, 19 
Engineering. College of 

alumni, 209 

changes, 210 

faculty, 208 

special activities, 206 

student enrolment, 208 
Engineering College and Experi- 
ment Station, 206 
Engineering Experiment Station, 

207 
Enrolment 

colleges, etc., table, 160 

student, 1868-1920, table, 154 

student, 1904-20, table, 159 



260 



Digitized by 



Google 



Index 



261 



Entomologist's Laboratory, picture, 

96 
Entomologist, State, appropriation, 

18 
Entrance requirements, 174 

table, 175 
Equipment and buildings, chapter 

on, 77 
Equipment, inventory, 97 
Experiment fields, list and descrip- 
tion, 70 
Experiment Station, Agricultural, 

211 
Experiment Station, Engineering, 

206,207 
Faculty 

additions, 1904-20, 130 

chapter on, 128 

salaries, 1903-04 and 1919-20, 148 

table, 129, 130 
Farm Mechanics Building, 40 
Floriculture Greenhouse, picture, 96 
Foreign students, table, 171 
Fraternities and sororities, 184 
Furniture and fixtures, inventory, 96 
Gas Engine Annex, picture, 128 
Genetics Laboratory, picture, 96 
Gift of land, 76 
Gifts to the University, 29 
Graduate School, 199 
Gymnasium for Men, picture, 224 
Hatch Act, 7, 11 
Havana, summer work, 244 
Home-coming, 1916 program, 187 
Honorary and professional socie- 
ties, 185 
Horse Bam, picture, 64 
Horticulture Field Laboratory, pic- 
ture, 64 
Horticulture Greenhouse, picture, 96 
Hospital Annex, picture, 144 
Hospital, picture. 144 
Illustrations, table, 4 
Income 

chapter on, 7 

sources, 7 

total, 29 

total, table, 30 
Income from Federal Government, 7 

summary, 11 
Income from State of Illinois, 15, 17 
Interscholastic, 1916 program, 189 
Introduction, 6 
James, President J. E., portrait, 

frontispiece 
Land 

chapter on, 41 



gift, 76 

table showing value, 46 

1867, 41 
Lands acquired, list and description 
of 

Chicago, 1868-190^ 64 

Chicaf^, 1904-20, 69 

experiment fields, 70 

1868-1904, 46 

1904-20, 48 

outside Urbana-Ohampaign, 1904- 
20, 64 

summary, 57 

table showing value, 48, 52, 55 

Urbana<lhampaign, 1867, 59 

Urbana-Champaign, 1904-20, 64 
Law, College of, 212 

building, picture, 224 

recent developments, 218 
Liberal Arts and Sciences, College 
of, 200 

1913-20, 202 
Libraries 

departmental, 107 

size in various universities, 102 
Libraries and museums, chapter on, 

100 
Library 

addition, picture, 224 

building, 115 

expenditure for books, 1912-18, 
106 

Quine, 114 

1904-18, 104 
Library School, 219 
Library training, summer courses, 

243 
Lincoln Hall, picture, 32 
Literary and scientific organiia- 

tions, 179 
Locomotive Testing Laboratory, pic- 
ture, 128 
Mcintosh, Professor, retirement, 145 
Mechanical Engineering Laboratory, 

picture, 128 
Medicine, College of, 230 

building, picture, 208 

faculty, 1904-20, 140 

library, 114 
Military department, 245 
Military units and courses, 246 
Miners' and Mechanics' ^stitutes, 

appropriation for, 18 
Mining Engineering Museum, 126 
Mining Laboratory, picture, 112, 
128 



Digitized by 



Google 



262 



Index 



MorrUl Land Grant, 7, 11 
MuaeamSy 116 

dassieal archaeology and art, 121 

commerce, 126 

mining engineering. 126 

natural history, 119 

Oriental, 124 

railway engineering, 127 

visitorg, 123 
MoBeums and libraries, chapter on, 

100 
Music, School of, 216 

building, picture, 160 

1004-20, 222 

1920, 223 
Natural History Building, picture, 

32 
Natural History Museum, 119 
Natural History, State Laboratory 
of, 17 

appropriations, 18 
Nelson Act, 8, 11 
Observatory, picture, 144 
Oratory and debate, 190 
Organizations 

athletic, 182 

classes, 178 

dramatic, 181 

honorary and professional, 185 

miscellaneous, 186 

national and state, 186 

religious, 180 
Organizations and activities of stu- 
dents, table, 178 
Oriental Museum, 124 
Pharmacy, School of, 236 

building, picture, 208 

faculty, 144 
Physics Laboratory, picture, 112 
Power House, picture, 144 
Preface, 6 

President's house, picture, 224 
Press, University, 255 
Professional and honorary societies, 

185 
Professors, 1904-20 

assistant, 136 

assistant, College of Medicine, 142 

associate, 135 

associate, College of Medicine, 141 

Dentistry, in College of, 143 

Medicine, in College of, 140 
Property 

sales of, table, 58 

summary, table, 58 
Publications 

faculty, 152 



faculty, table, 149 

studen^ 191 
Quine library of College of Medi- 
cine, 114 

growth, 114 
Bailway fenginesring Museum, 127 
Beligious organisations, 180 
Retirement of professors, 140, 145 
Bicker, Professor, retirement, 145 
Bolf e. Professor, retirement, 145 
Salaries 

average, of full-time member of 
fiusulty, 149 

faeulty, 1903-04, 1919-20, 148 

sunmiary, 149 
Schools and colleges, chapter on, 199 
Scientific and literary organizations, 

179 
Senate, 1904-20, 131 
Shattnck, Professor, retirement, 144 
Smith-Hughes Act, 9, 11 
Smith-Lever Act, 8, 11 
Smith Music Building, picture, 160 
Societies, see organizations 
Sororities and fraternities, 184 
State appropriations to University, 

15, 17. 20 
Stock Pavilion, picture, 48 
Store House, picture, 144 
Student body, chapter on, 154 
Students 

activities, 187 

enrolment of, 1868-1920, table, 
154 

enrolment of, 1904-20, table, 159 

foreign, table, 171 

geographical distribution, 170 

graduated, percentage, 172 

insular possessions of tJ. S., from, 
172 

organizations and activities, chap- 
ter on, 178 

parents of, occupations, 178 

publications, 191 
Students' Army Training Corps, 

248 
Summary and conclusion, chapter 

on, 256 
Summer courses in library training, 

243 
Summer Session, 238 

athletic coaches school, 244 

faculty, 241 

graduate work, 242 
Summer work at Havana, 244 
Table of contents, 3 
Tax for support of University, Act 
relative to, 27 



Digitized by 



Google 



Index 263 

TTmiin>ortation building, pieture, War service records, 250 

112 Water Survey, State, appropriation. 

Vivarium, picture, 96 18 

War activities, miscellaneous, 252 Woman's Building, picture, 176 

War relief campaigns, subscriptions, Women's Besidence Hall, picture, 
251 176 



Digitized by 



Google 



Digitized by 



Google 



Digitized by 



Google 



4 ...* 



Digitized by 



Google 



YD 00926 




Digitized by 



Google 



Digitized by 



Google