F532 /R95 A3 VIW' .<<? ^^ °^yiw.' ^* ,S^ vP, 4 o < o 4 o SKETCHES OF RUSH COUNTY INDIANA EDITED BY MARY M. ALEXANDER A GRAND-DAUGHTER OF THE REVOLUTION AND CAPITOLA GUFFIN DILL Printed by THE JACKSONIAN PUBLISHING COMPANY RUSHFILLE, INDIANA 1915 .1^9 6- A 3 COPYRIGHT 1915 BY THE RUSHVILLE CHAPTER OF THE Daughters of the American Revolution // £21 NOV -4 J9I5 i)Cl.A414441 To the RUSHVILLE CHAPIER of the Daughters of the American Revolution MARY M. (THOMAS) ALEXANDER EC =][D Published Under the Auspices of the RUSHVILLE CHAPTER, D. A. R. SARAH CRAWFORD GUFFIN, Regent. SALUTATION These sketches are principallj^ written about people who played the heroic part in the experiences of every day life. They died unsung and unappreci- ated and we, their children, have come into the rich heritage they left us. I have long wished some other hand than mine had told of them. Yielding to the impulse, I have written for the retrospection of the aged, and for the information of the young regarding some of the incidents in the history of our county. In sending them out, I wish to acknowledge my indebtedness to the two countj^ Atlases for much of the early history of the county. The remainder has been drawn from tradition and reminiscence. Imperfect as these brief sketches may be, I trust the reader may find something of interest in them. M. M. A. PART I. BEGINNINGS OF THE COUNTY About the year 1744 the powerful aud warlike Delaware* tribe of Indians were driven from the Atlantic seaboard and passing the Alleghany moun- tains they built their wigwams on the river Mahon- ing in Western Pennsylvania. In the year 1784 they were again compelled to move farther West. They stopped in Western Ohio and Eastern and Central Indiana. Here they remained until by treaties, made from time to time, they relinquished their title to all their rich domain and agreed to go beyond the Mis- sissippi River. At a final treaty made Oct. 26, 1818, at St Mary's, in the State of Ohio, between United States Com- missioners and the Delaware nation of Indians, the latter ceded to the United States Government all their claim to land in the State of Indiana. This tract of land was known as ''The New Purchase," but was later named Delaware County and included, in whole or in part, what are Morgan, Shelby, De- catur, Henry, Bartholomew, Rush, Johnson and Allen counties. * It was the Delaware Indians that William Penn made treaties with in Pennsylvania. SKETCHES OF RUSH COUNTY Their principal village in this county was in Union Township, on what is known as ''Arnold's Home" farm. Here they named the stream nearby "Mahoning," in memory of their former home. Later white men called it Ben Davis, that being the name of the Chief of the Delawares. Ben Davis re- turned, in 1820, to visit his old hunting grounds. AVhile drinking at a tavern in Brookville, where he had visited often before, he boasted how his band had murdered a family, except a fleet-footed boy, who escaped. That boy, now a man, listened to the recital. The next day Ben Davis was found dead in his temporary camp, a bullet hole in his head. No effort was made to find out who fired the shot. First Land Office. A Government Land Office was opened at Brook- ville in 1820. The Legislature of 1821 authorized the formation of a new county, west of Franklin and Fayette. The same year the land was surveyed and named Rush County, in honor of Dr. Benjamin Rush, of Phila- delphia, by his friend and former pupil, Wm. B. Laughlin, one of the Government surveyors, but now a member of the Legislature. The land was rapidly taken up. In three months after the land was surveyed one hundred and sixty- eight persons had entered land in the county and in 1821 two hundred and seventy-eight. Yet, when Indiana was admitted to the Union in 1816, no white man had pitched his tent in what is now Rush County. Early in 1819 many squatters, principally from Kentucky, had built their cabins and made some im- SKETCHES OF RUSH COUNTY provements on a part of the public domain. Some of these squatters hastened back to Kentucky to tell their friends that the country was now opened for settlement, and to insist on their coming to the ' ' New Purchase." They gave such glowing accounts of the fertility of the soil, fine timber, abundance of wild game and the level surface of the country that they were deemed, by some who heard them, as extremely visionary. Many of their listeners were Pennsyl- vania Dutch who had always lived in a mountainous region. These were especially incredulous. After listening to what they regarded as exaggerations, they would turn away and say to others, "Well, he is a hoosher, " (meaning a husher, or silencer). This epithet became proverbial until all who returned from Indiana were facetiously called "hooshers.." This, my Kentucky parents told me, was the origin of the name ''Hoosier," as it was pronounced later. Many of these squatters bought their land and became not only the pioneers of the county, but were the means of bringing in a great many permanent settlers. These began the building of homes and the clearing away the dense forests. In the construction of these cabin homes neither nails nor hardware were used. The logs were cut the required length, hewn on two sides and notched near the ends, and fitted together at the corners, as they were placed one above another. Small logs were laid lengthwise on these for the upper joists, on which long hand-riven clapboards were laid. Graded lengths formed the gables. Small logs were placed on these, from one end of the building to the other, on which the board roof was placed. Other SKETCHES OF RUSH COUNTY logs were laid on the boards to hold them in place while wooden braces kept them apart. The floor was made from large logs split in two, and made smooth with a broad-axe. These were called puncheons and were laid on log sills. The doors were made from long boards fastened to long wooden hinges with wooden pins, and hung on a wooden pivot. A leather string was attached to a wooden latch and passed through a small hole in the door. When this "latch string was out" the inmates were at home to all who called. When the latch string was pulled in the door was "locked," but this seldom occurred. A place was cut in a side wall for a window. When glass could not be obtained this space was covered with greased paper in winter. For the fire-place an opening was cut out at one end of the cabin several feet wide and the chimney built on the outside. A heavy framework of slabs was fastened to the house and mortar and large rocks placed inside of it five feet high. The upper part was finished with square sticks and mortar. A crane was fastened in one of the side walls of the fire place on which dinner pots and kettles were hung over the fire. In these fireplaces great, cheer- ful fires burned in winter. A fire once kindled on the hearth (emblem of undying love) was seldom permitted to die out : a sentiment almost universal. Iron skillets and ovens, with short iron legs, and lids of the same material, were used for cooking on the hearth by placing live coals under and over them. Pies were made on a table, carried on the hands and laid, and cooked, in a skillet. There were no pie pans. SKETCHES OF RUSH COUNTY The dishes, usually, were of pewter, and required much scouring to keep them bright. The hunter's rifle was laid on two forked sticks over the door, ready for use if game of any kind appeared. Candles were made by putting candle wick on sticks three feet long, then dipping and cooling alternately in a deep kettle filled with melted tal- low. The furniture and the woodwork of the farming implements were usually made by the owner, with the exception of the spinning wheels. These were made by wheelwrights. These beginnings were primitive, but they had their compensations. The settlers were on a com- mon level. Neighbors were helpful in their work and in every time of need. They assisted each other in building, wood-chopping and log-rolling, where fine timber was burned that would bring fabulous prices today. Later wheat was sown broadcast by hand and dragged under by a horse attached to brush. It was reaped with a sickle, then tramped out on a puncheon floor, or on hard ground, with horses and cleaned by winnowing. Corn was planted by hand, covered and cultivated with a hoe. Women often assisted the men with their work, kept house, picked, carded, spun and colored the wool, then wove the wool and flax into cloth and made it into garments and household needs. They planted and cultivated the garden, gathered medicin- al herbs, prescribed and cared for the sick. The washing was done on the hands. All the sewing was done by hand. SKETCHES OF RUSH COUNTY Brides were married in a bridal cap and wore caps ever after. When older they wore large, white kerchiefs about their shoulders. In the midst of their activities hospitality was universally practiced. Neighbors often spent the evening with each other. The family all went together and had "supper" with the hostess. Cooking was done on the crane and in front of the open fireplace. A few women had "re- flectors" made of tin, with a shelf or two on the inside, with an open front. In these delicious bis- cuits were baked in front of the fire ; Johny-cake, made of corn meal, was baked on a board set on edge before the fire ; ash-cake was biscuit dough baked in hot embers; squashes, potatoes and eggs were often cooked the same way. Plums, wild grapes, gooseberries, raspberries, blackberries, dew- berries grew in the woods. These were gathered, dried, and stored away for winter. Honey was found in bee trees. The first settlers were usually young married people seeking to build up homes. Later the young people had corn huskings, wood choppings, quiltings, singing schools and spelling bees, where fun and in- nocent pastimes were enjoyed. Sometimes there was a dance, but it was the stately minuet, cotillion and Virginia reel. The life of the pioneers, while mainly quiet and uneventful, cannot all be painted in roseate hues, for life everywhere has its sorrows and its tragedies. Now and then a man, while felling trees, would be killed by a tree falling upon him. Both men and boys occasionally shot themselves, accidentally, while hunting. Sometimes a boy Avould get lost while hunting the cows in the dense woods, where mos- SKETCHES OF RUSH COUNTY quitoes swarmed. These happenings called forth the strongest sympathies and ready help of neighbors. Money was scarce and interest was sometimes as high as twenty percent. This caused people to resort to barter in exchange for commodities and for work. A man's wages was estimated at thirty-seven and a half cents per day. Housework from two to three "bits" per week. Hogs, cattle and turkeys were driven to market in Cincinnati. Wheat and all kinds of country pro- duce were hauled to the same market. Wheat sold for thirty-seven and a half cents a bushel, corn ten cents per bushel. Hogs sold for from one dollar to one dollar and a half per head. Eggs brought from two to three cents per dozen, butter three cents per pound, hens fifty cents per dozen. Good cows sold for from eight to ten dollars. Horses sold for from twenty to thirty dollars. Postage on a letter from one state to another was a "bit" (121/2 cents), more according to distance. The recipient paid the postage. Much time was spent in hunting. The bullets used were made, one at a time, in hand molds. Squirrels were so numerous they were a menace to the corn crop from the time it was planted until used. Often a score or more were shot on one tree and left on the ground. These were the gray squirrel and were migratory. In the Fall they moved southward in droves, eating the "mast" (beech and other nuts) and the corn, from the hogs. They swam the creeks and rivers in swarms. Farm- ers organized and often shot as many as a thousand a day. They are almost extinct now. No fox squir- rels were seen in the county prior to 1842. Several bears were killed in the western part of 8 SKETCHES OF RUSH COUNTY the county in 1830. Bradford Norris shot one in 1834. Isom Webb shot one from his door. George Thomas killed two. For many years the passenger, or wild pigeons, were so numerous they darkened the sky, when flying, for long distances. When they were on the ground feeding on beech nuts, the earth seemed to be moving for more than an acre at a time. Where they gathered to roost at night their weight broke the limbs off the trees. They are now extinct. The last one, named Martha, died in the Cincinnati Zoo recently. But few natural springs were found in the county and well digging was a necessity. Many thrilling stories were told of narrow escapes from death on account of the "damps" (carbonic acid gas) found in some wells. Live coals and fire-brands were thrown in to drive out the gas. Itinerants. There were no churches, but itinerant ministers followed Indian trails and visited different localities. When one of these arrived at a home a boy was dispatched immediately to notify the neighbors that there would be services in the home that evening. These itinerants carried all the library they owned with them, which was a well-worn Bible and some- times a hymn book. If the people were not familiar with the hymn the preacher "gave out" two lines; when these were sung he pronounced two more lines. They received little or nothing for their services. Often, on Sunday, there would be a prayer meeting and song service in some home, when the "congre- gation" would remain for the noonday meal. On SKETCHES OF RUSH COUNTY these occasions the fellowship was beautiful. All evening services were announced to begin at "early candle light." There was a general handshaking and much fervor while singing the final song. In the absence of a minister and an undertaker Christian burial was not neglected. In every com- munity there was some man who acted in the ca- pacity of the former, while sympathetic hearts and friendly hands supplied the place of the latter. Reg- ular funeral sermons were preached months after burial when a minister came around. Singing. Singing seemed to be a habit with the people. They sang at their work and at social gatherings. While traveling through the wilderness they sang whether it was day or night. Yet few children were taught to sing. A beautiful custom prevailed in some neighborhoods, that of singing a hymn for the com- fort of the dying. Many souls were wafted upward on the wings of sacred song. The sentiment ex- pressed in the following lines explains this custom : ''When one was called to leave us And fly away to God, We cheered him with our voices While crossing Jordan's flood. Then, with our friend departed We seemed the earth to leave And soaring up like seraphs Forgot to weep and grieve." There were no public burying grounds and the dead were, usually, buried on farms. Unfortunately nearly all these graves have become obliterated. 10 SKETCHES OE RUSH COUNTY When more settlers arrived the need of a place for public worship became necessary. A platform, and plank seats, were provided on some generous man's farm where services were held in summer. Thus in Rush county, also, "the groves were God's first temples." Taverns. The highways were new and unimproved, which made traveling difficult and slow. This required many stopping places for emigrants and others. These usually were the homes of the pioneers and were called "Taverns." These taverns were regu- lated by license. Many amusing, sometimes sad, incidents were experienced by both proprietor and guest. One of these taverns was kept by a Mr. Beckner in Burlington, now Arlington. One evening, a covered wagon, with emigrants, stopped for the night. The wife kept crying all evening because she was leaving her "good neighbors back in Ohio." To comfort her, Mr. Beckner said, "Never mind, you will find just such neighbors where you are going." The next evening another emigrant family called for entertainment. This wife kept up a tirade of abuse about her ''mean neighbors she was leaving back in Ohio." "Never mind," said Mr. Beckner, "you will find just such neighbors where you are going." When the public roads were somewhat improved toll gates, with a pole across the road, were erected where toll was charged to pay the expenses of the road. These tolls were very annoying and later were dispensed with and public taxation substituted. Later there were guide posts at the forks of roads. SKETCHES OF RUSH COUNTY Poor Farm. A county "Poor Farm" was maintained for sev- eral years seven miles northwest of Rushville, for which one hundred and seventy acres had been pur- chased in 1839. The dependent poor, it has been said, were treated badly at this place. A new County Asylum was located one and a half miles east of Rushville in 1855 or 1856. Rushville 's Beginning. In December, 1820, William B. Laughlin built the first dwelling on the north bank of Flatrock, a block east of what was later the Carmichael mill site. lii 1821 he built a gristmill near by. A few more cabins, a blacksmith shop and a chair factory formed a nucleus for a town. On June 17, 1822, the County Commissioners selected a site for the county seat. They were Amaziah Morgan, Jehu Perkins and John Julian. William B. Laughlin had donated twenty- five acres and Zachariah Hodges forty-five acres to secure the location. Conrad Sailors was appointed County Agent and ordered to survey the land donated, and lay off not less than one hundred and fifty nor more than two hundred lots, not including a central square on which public buildings were to be built. On July 29, 1822, lots were offered for sale. John Smith bought the first lot just east of what is now the Red Men's Hall. The streets were called India- napolis, Connersville, Brookville and Knightstown roads. The town was not incorporated until 1842. In the town the houses were built flush with the sidewalk, as it was called. This left room on the lot, in the rear of the home, for a cow (that wore a 12 SKETCHES OF RUSH COUNTY COW bell and browsed in the woods through the day) a garden and chickens. The latter often caused trouble among neighbors. Tea parties were enjoyed by the young girls, later a ride in the omnibus about town was a treat for them with their gentlemen friends. The arrival of the stagecoach from Cincinnati attracted much attention. During the cholera panic of 1833, when people were fleeing from the cities, the arrival of the stage, with its load of refugees, was greatly feared by the people. Newspapers. The first paper published in Rush County was the "Dog Fennel Gazette," about ten by twelve inches in size. Its editor and proprietor was Wil- liam D. M. Wicksham, an original genius. It was printed on the top of a large sycamore stump. A pole inserted in a mortise in a tree was used for a lever. The first number was issued late in 1822, or early in 1823. When his press was improved, he called it "Wickham's Velocity Press." The next paper was called "The Rushville Her- ald" and was edited by Samuel Davis and Thomas Wallace. This was followed by the "Rushville Whig." The latter published "Rip Van Winkle" as a serial. Three papers, the Republican, Jack- sonian and American, now supply the local news. Other papers are published in the county. Stores. A general store was kept by Joseph Hamil- ton, in what is now the Grand Hotel. Harvey W. Carr had a store, saddle and harness shop and dwell- SKETCHES OF RUSH COUNTY 13 ing in a brick building on the corner where the -Peoples' Bank now stands. Thomas Worster had a store and dwelling next door north. Hibben and Flinn, Carmiehael and Rush also had stores. All of them sold goods on Christmas time. Henry McCom- us, Jack Stevens clerk, had a store at Marcellus. The greatest curiosities in town were a wolf, a lone negro and a hairless Mexican dog. Physicians. Dr. Kipper was the first physician to locate in the county. Dr. H. G. Sexton came in 1822. Dr. Frame came soon after. "Fever and ague" was the principal disease they had to contend with. It was caused by malaria induced by the swampy condi- tion of the country, or swamp mosquito. A medical society was organized in 1846, com- posed of doctors H. G. Sexton, William H. Martin, William Frame, William Bracken, John Howland and Jefferson Helm. Attorneys. Some of the prominent lawyers were Wick, Mor- ris, Eggleston, Test and others. Later George Brown Tingley, a very brilliant man, was admitted to the bar. He removed to California in 1849. Soon after his arrival in Sacramento, he was nominated and later elected to the Legislature, where he formu- lated nearly all the early laws of that state. The first dispatch sent over the first telegraph line to the Pacific coast announced his death. Courts. Circuit court was organized April 4, 1822, at the 14 SKETCHES OF RUS H COUNTY home of Stephen Sims, on what is known as the Henry Giiffin, later the Aaron Frazee farm, in Circle- ville — Hon. William W. Wick presiding judge ; John Hays, sheriff. The latter became insane soon after, wandered to Hancock county, was placed in jail, set fire to the jail, and was consumed with it. For a term of court the prosecutor received five dollars, the constable one dollar and fifty cents, grand jurors seventy-five cents per day. Benjamin Sailors was allowed $25 for listing the property, which was the first allowance made out of the treas- ury of Rush county. Eyland T, Brown took the first census. Peter Looney served on the first grand jury. The second term of court was held October, 1822. Edward I. Swanson was foreman of this grand jury. Eleven years later he was executed for murder. April 24, 1823. The first man naturalized in the county was Aaron Anderson, an Irishman. Isaac Arnold applied five years later. At the November term of court, 1822, the con- tract w^as let for a jail. It was the first public build- ing erected in the county. It was two stories high, built of large hewn logs. The upper story had two rooms, one for women, the other for debtors. There was a trap door in this floor through which prisoners were sent down into the room on the first floor. An outside stairway led to the upper floor. The first court house was built in 1823. It was a two story brick, forty feet square, with walls twentj^-two inches thick. The first floor was also of brick. It cost about $2,500. The second court house was built in 1847-48. It was also of brick, fifty by eighty feet, two stories high, and cost $12,000. The SKETCHES OF RUSH COUNTY 15 present court house was completed and accepted February 2, 1898. The final cost, $257,385.38. Trials. The first murder trial was that of Alexander Young for the murder of John Points, who was elop- ing with Young's daughter. It is said that Young never smiled again. Some authorities say he was acquitted, others that he was sentenced for one year and then pardoned. Young's daughter was insane for thirty years, oblivious to everything but the memory of July, 1827. The second trial was that of Edward I. Swanson for the murder of Elisha Clark, on October 4th, 1828, at a militia muster on the farm of Dr. John Arnold, four miles east of Rushville. At this muster an elec- tion was held for captain of militia. Clark and Swanson were opposing candidates for the place. The former was elected. As usual, the successful candidate treated the voters to a drink of whiskey. Swanson drank from the bottle as it was passed around and the men all departed for their homes, except a few. A feud had existed between Clark and Swanson for some time and while the latter Avas smarting under his defeat he heard Clark's friends congratu- lating him on his "large majority," and also heard Clark's reply, "I have but one enemy." This angered Swanson, and he raised his gun, behind the men, and shot Clark. Louis Clark and Richard Blacklidge sprang upon Swanson, but in an instant Mrs. Swanson (a woman of Herculean strength) her daughter, and a Mrs. Crusan rushed to his rescue and Swanson fled. 16 SKETCHES OF RUSH COUNTY Three weeks later he was discovered by a Mr. Washam asleep behind a big log in his clearing near Williams Creek, on the Connersville road. Wash- am and two other men procured a rope and stealing up on the sleeping man they secured his gun and then him. Swanson merely remarked, "I've slept too long." Mr. Washam brought the captured man to Rush- ville and received the reward of fifty dollars which had been offered for his capture. Swanson lay in jail five months. On April 9, 1829, he was brought out for trial, which was begun and finished on the first day. The prosecution was conducted by William W. Wick and James Whitcomb, and the defense by Charles H. Test. William Bussell was sheriff. The next day, April 10th, the jury was charged and sent out to deliberate. They shortly returned with a verdict of "guilty" and Judge Bethr.el Mor- ris sentenced him to be hanged May 11, 1829, just thirty days after sentence had been passed. Swanson became despondent and desired to hear a sermon preached. Rev. James Havens, of the M. E. church, granted his wish and preached to him, using the words of Job in Jiis affliction, "I know that my Redeemer liveth, and that he shall stand at the latter day upon the earth." Swanson had a morbid dread of his body falling into the hands of doctors for dissection. Therefore he requested his neighbor, David Looney, to take charge of it, and bury it in what should always be an unknown grave. On the appointed day, Mr. Looney drove to town. After putting the rude coffin in his wagon, he drove SKETCHES OF RUSH COUNTY 17 to the jail for the condemned man and from there to the scaffold, which stood on the hill, in the alley between Main and Morgan streets, in the rear of the residence of the late Dr. Pugh. The county mounted militia, with muffled drum, marched from the jail to the scaffold. Swanson saw no sympathetic face in the throng about him and no one to sing to comfort him in his last hour. Sitting on his coffin, in the wagon, he began singing for himself what was afterward known as Swanson 's Death Song. There is a land of pleasure. Where streams of joy forever roll, 'Tis there I have my treasure And there I hope to rest my soul. Long darkness dwelt around me. With scarcely once a cheering ray. But since my Savior found me A light has shown along my way. My way is full of danger, But 'tis the path that leads to God, And like a faithful soldier I'll bravely march along the road. Jordan's waves shall not affright me, 'Tho they're deeper than the grave, If Jesus stand beside me I'll rise upon the rolling wave. Swanson claimed to be converted and believed if he gave his life for the life he had taken, that would atone for his rash act and he Avould be for- SKETCHES OF EUSH COUNTY given. His last words were, "I know my Redeemer liveth." William Pearsey, a member of the light horse- men (mounted militia on white horses, whose duty was to attend all public hangings and form a hollow square around the scaffold) believed he expressed the feeling, at the last moment, of the members of the militia that they would gladly have fallen back, if they could have done so, and permitted Swanson to escape. He had been respected and had filled several minor offices of trust. Mrs. Susan M. Tingley, widow of the late B. Frank Tingley, and step-daughter of William Pear- sey, is perhaps the only one now living who remem- bers seeing Swanson as he was brought down the jail steps on the day of his execution, although there was an immense crowd present. All executions were public in those days, on a hill where they could be seen, and attracted all classes. Two men walked barefoot from Clarksburg, Decatur county, to see Swanson hung. Parents brought their children to see what they conceived to be an impressive object lesson. This was the only l^ublic execution in Rush county. When the execution was over the body was placed in the rude coffin and given into the care of David Looney, who drove with it to his home on the south side of the Connersville pike, just east of what is now Farmington. His brother, John Looney, lived on the corner of what is now Farmington, and his brother-in-law, James Wiley, lived east of him (David Looney). These men took the coffin out of the wagon and placed it on a sled and hid it. In the night they went to a clearing east of David SKETCHES OF RUSH COUNTY 19 Looney's house, where a large, forked tree had fallen. They parted the branches between the forks, raked the leaves away and in the fallen top of the tree they dug the grave, then hitched a horse to the sled and noiselessly drove to the grave. When the grave was almost filled they placed a large number of small sticks in it and larger ones at each end, then filled up the grave and brushed the leaves back over it, thus concealing it. A few years later, the brothers, Looney, went secretly and dug down until they found the sticks as they had placed them and were assured that they had successfully carried out a sacred trust, and that the remains of a former friend and neighbor were undisturbed and there in that field, somewhere, still lies all that is mortal of Edward I. Swanson, and no man knows the place of his sepulture, for those men carried the secret with them to their graves. David and John Looney now sleep in the Alger graveyard northeast, and in sight of, the unknown grave of Swanson. James Wiley moved to Zions- ville, Ind., where he died and was buried. The cost for the hanging of Swanson was : Bev- erly R. Ward, five dollars for making a coffin ; Wil- liam Bupelt, for rope, cap, shroud and gallows, ten dollars, and David Looney two dollars for burying him. Total cost for the execution and burial, seven- teen dollars. Mrs. John Looney spun the flax thread of which the rope was made that hung Swanson. The true history of the burial of Edward I. Swan- son, and the name of the three men who buried him, also the circumstances of the same (but not the place) are here given to the public for the first time. 20 SKETCHES OF RUSH COUNTY George Looney, Sr., is the only survivor of those three men, or their families. His father, John Loon- ey, before his death, confided to him the circum- stances connected with the burial (but not the place) and who did it. From him the writer obtained the facts. The attitude of Swanson, in his last moments, was regarded by some as that of indifference, by others as that of resignation. Indeed, the whole tragedy was viewed by different persons in different ways. Elections. The annual election was held on the second Tues- day in August. All voters came to the county seat to vote. Several men would get drunk on this occas- ion and fights were frequent, and were seldom interfered with. One of these fighters was John Pentecost, a large, pugilistic man who lived in the western part of the county. He was careful, when drinking, to select some man who was physically weaker than himself. On one occasion he whipped a good, unoffensive neighbor of his. The next Sun- day, the circuit rider filled his appointment near them. As he usually did the minister called on this good brother to pray, which he did. In it he ex- claimed, ''0 Lord, send us a pentecost," then re- membering his bruises he added "but not John Pentecost." Whiskey was used freely in those days at mus- ters, elections, horse races, shooting matches, etc. It was thought to be indispensable in the harvest field, and was used by all who had wheat to cut. George Thomas, of Walker Township, was the first man in SKETCHES OF EUSH COUNTY 21 the county to banish it from the harvest field and substitute a lunch. Alfred Thompson, of Blue Ridge, was the next. His neighbors refused to help him cut his wheat. His daughter left the summer school in Brookville College, came home and drove her father's reaper. Schools. Isaac Phipps taught a school in what is now Noble Township, in 1829-21, before the county was organized. Dr. William B. Laughlin taught the first school in Eushville, in 1822, in a log cabin where the Red Men's Hall is now located. Among the pupils at that school were David A. Crawford, Matthias Par- sons and James "Hog" Walker. In 1828, Dr. Laughlin opened a classical academy in his own building for teaching the higher branches of education, which he taught for several years. John Arnold was a pupil. B. F. Reeve and his pupil, Elijah Hackleman, were among the earliest teachers in the eastern part of the county. The former taught for sixteen years. In the country districts neighbors volunteered to build the first school houses. They were built of logs, like the cabins, with a very large fireplace. The furniture was, often, rail benches placed around the wall. The schoolmaster was frequently illiter- ate and cruel. These were the times of ''lickin' and larnin'." There were summer and winter schools, with eight hours a day for study, with no intermis- sion, except the noon hour. Boys and girls recited in separate classes, or more frequently alone, as there were seldom two books alike in the school, 22 SKETCHES OF RUSH COUNTY except the spelling book. They also played on sep- arate playgrounds. Some of these schools were called "loud" schools, because the pupils studied some of their lessons aloud. (The louder the bet- ter.) Poor children sometimes brought a wooden pad- dle to school with the alphabet pasted on it. A pro- gressive teacher would make small wooden blocks and paste the letters on them and have the children hunt them out. Spelling was thoroughly taught from Webster's spelling book. The first reader had selections from Percival, Barbould and like authors. They were more difficult to read, and harder to understand than the fourth and fifth readers of the present time. The teacher wrote sentences in copy books for pupils to imitate with a goose quill pen, which the teacher made. Arithmetic was taught by some teachers, stating a problem on a slate for the pupil to solve. In the country, schoolhouses were few and far between. Children followed *blazed trees through the wilderness, mud and swamps from their homes to school. The first school in Walker township was taught by Reuben Heflin, in the old log Baptist church southeast of what is now Homer. Enoch Goodwin taught in the same house when Joseph Cotton and M. B. Hopkins attended. It is related of these boys that when the teacher went home to dinner they would mount the pulpit and declare their tongues * White men learned to "blaze" trees from the Indians. This consisted in cutting some bark from each side of the trees for guides through the woods. SKETCHES OF RUSH COUNTY 23 should make them a living or they would dispense with them. The former became a prominent minis- ter in the Methodist Episcopal church, while the lat- ter became equally prominent as a minister in the Christian church. James Remington was among the earliest teach- ers in this township. He was a terror to evil doers. The usual contract was made with James Alex- ander April 8, 1842, to teach a school in this town- ship, for which he was to receive $1.50 per scholar for three months or "its equivalent in corn, wheat, oats, flax, goose feathers or other merchandise to be delivered." A ]Mr. Rawlings taught in Union township in an early day. The first morning he asked the children their names, also what the five senses were. When none could answer the question, he whipped all of them, then told them they were "seeing" etc., then assured them they would never forget them. It is said they never did. A Miss Lazure was the first female teacher in Rush- ville. Her pupils had to sit, like statues, eight hours a day. Miss Lydia Rawlings, whose father taught in Union township, followed her a few years later. Afterwards she taught in Walker township. At Christmas time, in' the country, the boys would repair to the school house very early to bar out the teacher until he would agree to treat the school to apples and candy. It is related of B. F. Reeve that he went, one Christmas morning, to his school house before day- light. When the bovs came a little later he told 24 SKETCHES OF RUSH COUNTY them he was glad to see them so early and they might take their seats and begin studying at once. In the summer of 1842, Edgar Eden taught in Walker township, east of the old log Baptist church. He was succeeded the next winter by his brother, John R., who afterward removed to Illinois and was a member of Congress from Sullivan county for six- teen years. Woman's Sphere. AYoman's sphere was very limited. She seldom engaged in business, and many years elapsed before she taught school. She was not supposed to own any property in her own name. All she inherited was claimed, and often sold, by her husband or guardian, because she would "not know what to do with it." Fathers willed their land to their sons for the same reason. Men sat on one side of the church and the women on the other. Women, being the "weaker sex," were not sup- posed to be mentally capable of acquiring an edu- cation, therefore girls were not admitted to schools of higher learning. A half-century has scarcely elapsed since the barriers have been removed and both sexes have been admitted on equal terms. Sarah Morrison was the first woman to gradu- ate from what is now our state university. Jennie Laughlin was the first to receive a diploma from what is now Butler College. These girls braved the opposition of both students and professors. They had to answer the hardest questions and solve the hardest problems. In 1844, Rev. D. M. Stewart secured female teach- SKETCHES OF RUSH COUNTY 25 ers from the East. The Misses Carrie and Lydia Warner came and taught in the basement of tlie Presbyterian church, now Red Men's Hall. The lat- ter became the wife of Leonidas Sexton. The Landon sisters succeeded the Misses Warner. Nelle became the wife of Dr. W. M. Martin. Jennie married Norval Cox. The Moreley sisters taught in the seminary. Harriet became the wife of Wil- liam H. Smith. The Cramer sisters followed. Lu- cretia became the second wife of Dr. H. G. Sexton. All of these were eastern ladies. William Thrasher taught in the basement of the Christian church, cor. Second and Morgan Sts. Later he was Professor of Mathematics in Butler College. He was succeeded by Amzi Atwater, who soon after became a professor in our state university. Academies. An academy was conducted at Richland, under the direction of the United Presbyterians. At Carthage, a school was managed by the Friends. Flatrock Seminary, in Noble township, was founded by members of the Christian church. In 1847, George Campbell, one of the best edu- cated pioneer ministers of the Christian church, tried to establish a school for higher learning in Rush- ville. Meeting with little encouragement from the citizens of the town, he rented what had been a tavern in Marcellus (now Farmington, and owned by George Looney, Sr.) The first pupils to enroll were W. W. Thomas and Cyrus Mull, of Walker township. These were followed by W. W. Arnold, Alice and Lizzie Helm, Louis Wiles, P. W. Rush, and others. Ho conducted this school verv success- 26 SKETCHES OF RUSH COUNTY fully for two years. So many students were apply- ing for admission that he again turned to his friend, George Thomas, for advice and was told to ''tear down and build greater," and being given financial aid and encouragement he began, at once, to canvass Rush and Fayette counties for funds, assisted by Henry Pritchard and others, to build an academy at Fairview, on the line between the two counties. The building was completed and school opened December 1, 1849. Allen R. Benton, a recent gradu- ate of Bethany College, Va., Avas chosen President ; S. K. Hoshour, a scholarly man, versed in seven languages, from Philadelphia, first assistant, and George Campbell second assistant. These men were all ministers in the Christian church. After a few years of phenomenal success, the school became in- adequate to meet the demands made upon it. Then its successor, the N. W. C. University, (now Butler College) was established at Indianapolis. In 1854, Profs. Benton and Hoshour were transferred there. Among the first provisions of the new state was the setting aside of one section in sixteen for school purposes. Several years seem to have elapsed before an income from this source was available. Yet this was the foundation from which has come our present public school system, which is equalled by few and surpassed by none. In 1841, the County Commissioners appointed school trustees who purchased two lots on the south- west corner of Third and Julian streets and erected thereon a brick building thirty-three by fifty-three feet, two stories high. At first, only the common school branches were taught for which tuition was paid. The building and ground were paid for by SKETCHES OF RUSH COUNTY 27 money derived from sale of school lands, fines, etc. In 1852, the legislature directed the sale of all seminar}^ property (which foreshadowed the present school system). The one in Rushville was bought, in 1853, by the school trustees for the town corpora- tion, for $2,500. *In the fall of 1853,'^ George A. Chase, an eastern man, was employed to teach in this building. This was the first public, also the first graded school taught in Rushville. Thomas A. Gelpin, Mrs. George A. Chase, and Mrs. Mary A. Looney taught in the grades. This school was well attended. Of the forty girls in the high school, ''who upon the playground met," the writer only remains in Rushville. Gertrude (Robinson) Hibben, of Indianapolis, and Laura A. (Wolfe) Oglesby, of Lebanon, 0., are the other sur- vivors. The next year the school board returned to the old method of the subscription schools. In Sep- tember, 1866, the seminary was sold to Thomas Pugh for $1,950. Then began the era of our public school system. Milton B. Hopkins returned from Cincinnati and organized a graded school, assisted by his wife, at Pleasant Ridge (Goddards) Walker township, in 1857-8. This is supposed to have been the first grad- ed school taught in the country. Professor David Graham began teaching in Rush- ville in what was then the new school building, October 4, 1869. He continued to be superintendent until 1882, when he resigned. Rebecca A. Moffett was principal until her death, June 20, 1886. This * In this same year the free school was opened in In- dianapolis. 28 SKETCHES OF RUSH COUNTY school building burned and a new one was built and named in honor of Professor David Graham. Professor Andrew Graham taught in the Rush- ville Academy in 1891-92, when he resigned to become superintendent of the Soldiers' and Sailors' Orphans' Home, at Knightstown Springs. The Academy burned in 1894. William S. Hall, father of our Ex-Lieutenant Governor, Frank J. Hall, was the first school official in the United States to consolidate the township schools. He abandoned five school houses and erect- ed a central school building at Raleigh, in which a graded school was opened in 1877. Rush county now has eleven graded high school buildings, three com- missioned and five certified schools. Few of the early settlers used the dialect lan- guage attributed to them. There were many men and women of refined natures and high ideals who represented the best things in human life. Many of them came from good families in older states and were ambitious and enterprising and laid the founda- tion for our present prosperity. They left influences on their generation that have lived after them. Churches. We will now go back to the early days and tell of the erection of church buildings and the organiz- ing of congregations in the county. The first to preach to the pioneers were the Methodist and Bap- tist itinerants. The latter built the first church in the county at Little Flatrock, also the first brick church in Rushville, southeast of the court house. A claim has been made that a Christian church was organized at the home of John Morris, in Noble SKETCHES OF RUSH COUNTY 29 township, in 1820, and then transferred to Orange, Fayette County. Elder John P. Thompson organ- ized the Baptist church in April, 1821, at Little Flat- rock. Soon after he became identified with the Dis- ciple, or Christian church, and nearly all of his con- gregation went with him. This is claimed to be the first permanently organized Christian church in the slate. There are now seventeen in this county. John 'Kane organized the first Christian church in Rushville in August, 1841. The country churches at Concord and Pisgah united with the church in Rush- ville at that time. J. F. Crowe organized a Presbyterian church in Rushville, January 25, 1825. The first regular pas- tor, Thomas Barr, lived in a hewed log house on a knoll west of the J. D. Case planing mill. He died in 1835 and was buried in the lower graveyard. Years afterward, his remains were removed to East Hill Cemetery and buried near those of the Rev. G. B. Brittain. The United Presbyterian church was organized at Bethseda, now Milroy, November 18, 1828. J. N. Presley was pastor from 1838-51. N. C. McDill was ordained and installed pastor of Richland and Mil- roy Nov. 23, '52. He resigned the latter in '59 and retained the former until his death, March 1, 1903. The church at Vienna, now Glenwood, was organ- ized September 11, 1847; the one in Rushville, Octo- ber 1, 1879. In 1824, Rev. John Strange was assigned to the Madison circuit of the M. E. church, which included the southern half of the state, to which Rush county belonged. He visited this county several times. It is related of him that his name was Strange and that 30 SKETCHES OF RUSH COUNTY he Avas a strange man. When riding through the forest he liked to sing, "No foot of land do I pos- sess; no cottage in the wilderness." When leaving a wealthy friend near Vincennes, the friend present- ed him with a deed to eighty acres of land. Rev. Strange started away on his horse, but soon began singing, "No foot of land — " then remembering the deed he returned to his friend saying, "Here, take back this deed, I would rather sing my favorite song than to own all the land you possess." The friend, later, gave the deed to Mrs. Strange. His zeal knew no bounds. Now and then an admirer of his unselfish life seeks for his grave in a neglected graveyard to lay a tribute of flowers on it Rev. James Havens, when a circuit rider, preached in Rushville as early as 1821. He removed to Rushville in 1824, at the age of thirty-three years, where he lived until his death, Nov. 4, 1864. His motto was, "Let brotherly love continue." About 1821 or 1822, a company of North Caro- lina Friends came to the county. They erected a log church at Walnut Ridge, near Carthage. They op- posed slavery and were staunch advocates of educa- tion. Father Henry Peters organized a Catholic church in Rushville in 1853, with eight families. They now have a large church, a beautiful residence for the priest, and a parochial school and a home for the Sisters. There is a Wesleyan church at Carthage, Methodist Protestant church at New Salem, a Chris- tian Union at Homer, and one at Blue Ridge. The United Brethren have a church at Hopewell. There are three colored churches in the countv. Nearlv all SKETCHES OF RUSH COUNTY 31 these churches have Sunday schools, missionary and aid societies. Moscow and vicinity has sent more native sons into the ministry than any other locality in the county. The Methodist church has been represented from there by the Eevis's, Sculls, Robert McDuffey, Joseph Cotton, M. B. Hyde and the Machlins; the Christian church by three. M. B. Hopkins became prominent as a preacher and lawyer and was twice elected State Superintendent of Public Instruction. Knowles Shaw became the most noted evangelist of his time. He had but little instruction in either vocal or instrumental music, yet he could sing and play a piece of music at sight. He composed words and music for many songs. One of the best known is ''Bringing in the Sheaves" which is now sung in several languages. His last words were: "It is a grand thing to rally people to the cross." Austin Hudson went to Illinois, where he did a good work in the ministry. The three last mentioned were poor orphan boys who made their way to prominence and usefulness. There are now fifty-six church buildings in the county. Sunday Schools. Judith Henly is supposed to have organized, at Carthage, the first Sunday school in the county. Early in the 40 's. Rev. D. M. Stewart organized the first Sunday school in Rushville. George Thomas, of Homer, organized, and for many years superintend- ed, the first Sunday school in the country. The early Sunday schools were supplied with Sunday school libraries. SKETCHES OF RUSH COUNTY There were four ministers in the former days of Rush county who left impressions on the lives of the people that will never die. They were the Revs. N. C. McDill, of the United Presbyterian church ; James Havens, of the Methodist church ; John 'Kane, of the Christian church, and D. M. Stewart, of the Presbyterian church. They were zealous and sincere in what they believed and labored unceasingly for the upbuilding of the community. They were digni- fied in manner and their preaching was of a high order. We have listened to all of them and felt benefited by what they said. One sultry Saturday evening, Father Havens, as he was called in his later days, preached in the northwest room in the basement of the then unfin- ished, but now the old M. E. church, to a small audi- ence. He seemed to forget the heat and the few people before him. His pioneer camp-meeting days were past and he was now in the beautiful calm of life's evening. As he preached on "The Church Militant and the Church Triumphant, or the Church Military and the Church Victorious," he seemed inspired. Orphans' Home. A county orphanage was maintained for a few years where the Moore greenhouses are now. On Feb. 7, 1888, the county commissioners pur- chased a site for a County Orphans' Home from John F. Moses, one mile north of Rushville, and erected suitable buildings. In 1890 the Commissioners decided to consolidate the Rush County Home with that of Henry County at Spiceland and the children were removed there. SKETCHES OF RUSH COUNTY 33 On July 13, 1901, the Commissioners sold the site to Amos Blacklidge, who remodeled the residence. It is now known as Hill View Farm. Politics. Politics caused intense partisanship and many friendships were broken in the radical discussions of the time. Candidates for minor offices usually nomi- nated themselves. The Gen. William Henry Harrison campaign, of 1840, excelled all others in enthusiasm and excite- ment. His success in subduing the Indians, at the battle of Tippecanoe, had stirred the whole nation. Indiana was the storm center of political activity during the canvass. Long processions drove from one town to another, for rallies, in which the whole Whig population seemed to join. Glee Clubs sang songs about "Tip- pecanoe and Tyler, too" until they made the welkin ring. Young ladies, dressed in white, with evergreen wreaths on their heads and flags in their hands, rode in great canoes. Gen. Harrison was called "Old Tip" and the name "canoe" was an abbreviation of Tip-e-canoe. These canoes were made from large trees and were sometimes forty feet long, made from logs, put on log wagon wheels, in which a "Goddess of Liberty" stood under an arch of cedar boughs. They were almost as dem- onstrative as the young men. There were one or more log cabins in the processions, also on wheels, (like the canoes) in which a woman sat at a small spinning wheel while strips of dried pumpkin and strings of dried apple hung overhead. Several 'coon 34 SKETCHES OF RUSH COUNTY skins ornamented the outside walls. There was a pole on the top of the cabin with a racoon tied at the base while a live (Democrat) rooster was tied on a small platform at the top. I am sorry to say that when the speaking was over the hungry 'coon was permitted to climb the pole and make the feath- ers fly. P. A. Hackleman was editor of the Rushville "Whig and John L. Robinson of the Rushville Jack- sonian. They were radical and forceful writers. Uriah Thomas and Sanford H. Hilligoss, of Walk- er Township, cast the first Freesoil votes in the county. They were severely criticized and roundly abused by their Whig neighbors for ''losing" their votes. They would reply, "No, we have planted them and they will grow." This was the beginning of the Abolition movement in the county. These two men were good singers and went about singing their Abolition songs and making converts until they saw the ushering in of the Republican party in 1856. These two men lived to see, also, the final abolition of slavery. A great change had taken place in regard to slav- ery. When Indiana was admitted to the Union, in 1816, the census showed there were 1,090 colored slaves in the state. In 1830, there yet remained three of these, two of them in Rush county. Mrs. William Wilson (grandmother of Rich and Dick Wilson) had purchased them at her father's sale in Kentucky. She brought them with her to this county. They were called Lee and Jess. She paid $500 for one and $700 for the other. In 1816, the owners of these numerous slaves, and their sympathizers, came near causing Indiana to be admitted to the Union as a SKETCHES OF RUSH COUNTY 35 slave state. The excitement at the time was intense. Banks. State, or what were called "wild cat" banks, were so unreliable in 1847 that they greatly inter- fered with the business of the country on account of their numerous failures. Ofttimes bank notes sup- posed to be good one day would prove worthless the next. This caused a financial panic. The first State Bank was established January 28, 1834. The first bank in the county was the Rushville branch of the State Bank organized in 1857, with George Hibben, president ; W. C. McReynolds, cash- ier; Joseph M. Oglesby, teller. It was reorganized February 22, 1865, as a National Bank, with George C. Clark, president; John B. Reeve, cashier. The Rush County Bank was organized in 1857 as a pri- vate bank, Leonidas Sexton, president. In 1871, it became a National Bank. Leonidas Link has been its president since 1884. The Farmers Bank opened its doors for business August 19, 1891. Arthur B. Irvin is president. The People's Bank was organ- ized as a private bank in 1900 by the late Edwin Payne. It was reorganized as a National bank in 1904. Earl H. Payne is president. Rush county has four National banks, six State banks, two trust companies, two building and loan associations, with total assets of about $4,000,000. When Reu Pugh was county treasurer in 1854, he was sent to Shelbyville to borrow $2,000 for the county. When he had secured the money, he placed it in saddle bags, which he threw across his saddle. The roads were almost impassable and night came on when he was west of Manilla. For some time he 36 SKETCHES OF RUSH COUNTY had realized that two highwaymen, also on horse- back, were pursuing him. When near Goddard's tav- ern, just east of Pleasant Ridge (Goddard's) church, he urged his jaded horse to still greater speed. At the tavern gate he turned in, where in the darkness the men missed him. A few minutes later he was relieved by hearing them pass on. Mr. Reu Pugh, was one of the most enterprising citizens of Rush- ville, always in the forefront of everything that would advance the interests of the town. Military History. Rush Qounty had a large number of soldiers of the xVmerican Revolution within her borders. The following is a list of persons drawing Revolutionary pensions in Rush county, 1835. John Aldridge, buried on Aldridge farm in Orange Tp. ; Aaron Car- son, Samuel Caswell, Ebenezer Clark, Isaac Cox, Ben- jamin Cruzan, Henry David, Isaac Duncan, Leonard Edleman, Matthew Gregg, Daniel Grant, Jacob Hite, John Hardy, Thomas James, James Lane, John Le- gore, John Lewis, buried near Flatrock; William Mauzy, buried at East Hill ; Henry Mezer, John Pollock, Aaron Redman, John Riley, Henry Smith, Michael Smith, William Smith (the Smiths were buried at Pleasant Run graveyard) John Yarbrough, John Finney, John Watson. The following list drew pensions in Rush county in 1840 : Joel Berry, John Carson, Michael Smith (these three lived in Noble township), Henry Smith, Rich- land township ; James Fardice, Orange Township ; John Robinson, Rushville township ; Mary Collins, Posey township ; James Hunt, Jackson township ; SKETCHES OF RUSH COUNTY 37 Henry David, Jackson township ; George Ishaw, Cen- ter township; John Wyatt, Anderson township; George Brown, Richland township, (grave marked with government marker) ; Robert Caldwell, Concord graveyard, grave marked with government marker; Zephaniah Posey, Hopewell graveyard, Richland township, (grave has government marker). James Bromlee, John Lewis and Patrick Logan were buried in Flatrock cemetery. David Peters was buried in Goddard's graveyard. David Fleener, buried in Hannegan graveyard. Thomas Cassady, buried in Lower (Kelly) graveyard. Many survivors of the war of 1812-14 located in Rush county. Among the number were Benjamin Norris, Cornelius W. Anderson, William Wilson, Gabriel C. McDuffey and Daniel Thomas, who were in the battle of the Thames, in Canada, October 5, 1813, where the famous Indian chief, Tecumseh, was killed. William Wilson helped bury the chief. In the Black Hawk War four men volunteered from this county. They enlisted July 23, 1832. The county was not in sympathy with the call for troops for service in the Mexican war of 1846-47, and were so slow in getting up a company that they were not needed. Hon. George B. Tingley, Representative from Rush county in the Legislature, and Capt. Nehemiah Hayden, a Clerk of the House, decided that the county should be represented in that war. They resigned their positions and hastened to join the troops rendezvoused near New Albany and were soon on the way to the border. Mr. Tingley became a Commissary, but went into the battle of Buena Vista, fought February 23, 1847. The man on his right was killed, the one on his left fell mortally 38 SKETCHES OF RUSH COUNTY wounded, a bullet passed through his beard while the rod of his muzzle-loading gun was shot in tv/o. In this battle, the Mexicans, under Gen. Santa Ana, numbered 23,000, while Gen. Taylor had but 4,759 men. When the Civil War of 1861 broke out, the state had only 500 stand of small arms, and eight pieces of cannon, which were practically useless, and not a dollar available for war purposes. George Thomas, of Homer, Representative in the General Assembly, donated $2,000 to assist in providing blankets, etc., for the volunteers. Rush county furnished for the war 2,395 soldiers, more than enough for two full regiments. The county spent over a quarter million dollars for bounties, etc., during the war. The 22nd Battery (Captain, B. F. Denning) had several Rush county men in it. It was mustered December 15th, 1862. It threw the first shell into Atlanta, was mustered out June 7, 1865, Capt. Den- ning fell July 4, 1864, at the battle of Kanesaw Mountain. The 52nd Regt., Col. E. H. Wolfe, had many Rush county men in it. Co. D, 68th Ind. Regt., (Captain J. H. Mauzy) was composed principally of Rush county volunteers, was accepted for service August 19, 1862, was cap- tured at Munfordsville, Ky., soon after, was paroled, exchanged and returned to the front. This regiment was regarded by Gen. Rosecrans as one of the best in the service and he had it lead the march from Mur- freesboro to Chickamauga. It participated in many of the hardest battles. Edward A. King, of the regular army, was its Colonel. He was well liked by his men. He was killed while acting as Brigadier SKETCHES OF RUSH COUNTY 39 in the second day's fight at Chickamauga. Johnny Carr, son of Harvey W. Carr, of the 16th Ind. Bat- tery, saw Col. King fall. He ran back when the Union forces were temporarily retreating. Calling for help, he secured the Colonel's body and brought it out on a caisson in his own battery. This circum- stance is recorded on the battery 's state monument, at Chickamauga. When Gen. Grant ordered the valley around Chat- anooga cleared of rebels, he went up on Orchard Knob, within the city limits, with Generals Thomas and Sherman, to observe the fight. The order was successfully carried out. Then Samuel Bodine, (color bearer and brother of the late Charles Bo- dine) of Co. D, 68th Ind. Regt., called out ''Boys, while we have them on the run let us keep them going." Then giving a shout which was taken up along the entire line, he sprang forward up the steep ridge, when he was shot, Nov. 5, 1863. His remains were sent home and were interred in East Hill cem- etery. The army rushed on up the long ridge and thus the battle of Mission Ridge was fought "with- out orders." When Gen. Grant saw the army rush forward, he turned to the other Generals and said, "Nothing but victor j/ will save the leaders in this from court martial. The 16th Ind. Regt., Col. P. A. Hackleman, was organized for one year's service, was mustered out at Washington, D. C, May 14, 1862. It was re-organized May 17, 1862, for three years service. After participating in many engagements in the war, it was mustered out at New Orleans in June, 1865. Rush county had three companies in this regiment. 40 SKETCHES OF RUSH COUNTY Col. P. A. Hackleman was promoted to Brigadier General. He was the only officer of the line from our state to fall in the conflict. He was mortally wounded at the battle of Corinth, Miss., Oct. 3, 1862. His last words were: "I am dying, but 'tis for my country." Lieut.-Col. Joel Wolfe fell at the battle of Rich- mond, Ky., Aug. 30, 1862. Company M. of the 121st Regiment was entirely from Rush county. In the explosion of the steamer Sultana, April 26, 1865, the company lost fifty-five men. Others were made invalids for life by injuries received and by remaining in the cold water for hours before being rescued. Company E, 123rd Regt., was wholly from Rush county and w^as organized January 13, 1864. Wm. A. Cullen was Lieut. Col. and Dr. J. H. Spurrier surgeon. In July, 1863, Governor Morton was notified that a rebel force estimated at six thousand men, under General John H. Morgan, had crossed the Ohio River and were marching on Corydon, Indiana. The Gov- ernor immediately issued a call for volunteers to pursue the invaders. Within forty-eight hours, sixty thousand men had tendered their services and were accepted. The Rushville Home Guards were among the number. The Homer Home Guards, (Elias T. Hilligoss, Captain) drilled almost night and day during the raid, expecting hourly to be called into service. Rushville and Rush county were completely iso- lated during the raid — getting no news by either mail or railroad train, the authorities having taken possession of both. Telegraph lines that were not SKETCHES OF RUSH COUNTY 4] cut by Morgan's men were used by the pursuers. The Rushville Home Guards were not heard from during their absence. The 104th Regt., under Col. James Gavin, num- bered 714 men from Rush, Marion and Madison counties. It was organized within forty hours after Gov- ernor Morton's call for minute men to repel Mor- gan's raid. It was mustered out July 18, 1863. The Indiana Legion was composed of Home Guards during the Civil War. The drilling they did fitted many for service in the field. The Civil War was a great leveler in many ways, especially among the different denominations. There was a breaking up of the faith in old traditions of religion. The people worked together in Soldiers' Aid Societies, and in other ways that brought them close together, which mutual sympathy intensified. There were so many funeral services in memory of those who fell in camp and on the battlefield that people who had only attended the church to which they belonged went to other churches in sympathy with the sorrowing. At these services, near the close of the war, more than half the women were arrayed in ''the trappings and the suits of woe." During the four years of the Civil War, Indiana supplied nearly a quarter million soldiers. Knightstown Springs are located near the north- ern boundary of the county. For several years, a hotel and bath houses were maintained there. The fine mineral water attracted many visitors. Prof. John Hare used the buildings in winter for a girls' boarding school. During the session of the Legislature in 1867 an 42 SKETCHES OF RUSH COUNTY act was passed- making an appropriation for the establishment of a Soldiers' and Sailors' Orphans' Home. The Knightstown Springs, with several acres of ground, were selected by the state for this pur- pose. The buildings were then on the west side of the turnpike. A temporary hospital was built near there to which the state brought (in June, 1867) a number of sick and wounded soldiers. The corner stone for the main building was laid on the east side of the road on July 4, 1867, with appropriate ceremonies. Acting Governor Conrad Baker and many other civil and military officers were present. The people in attendance that day were estimated at five thousand. Lincoln Hall is used for Sunday school, church, lecture and school purposes. A two story hospital is located on the opposite side of the grounds. Rush county sent one hundred and sixty men to the Spanish-Cuban war, June 30, 1898. They became Co. H, 161st Indiana, James M. Gwinn, Capt. ; Geo. H. Caldwell, Lieut. Many of them went to the Phil- ippines, where they saw service. General Assembly. Thomas A. Hendricks, Sr., was the first Repre- sentative from what is now Rush county, in the State Legislature, when it met in the Marion county court house. A few others names follow: Amaziah Mor- gan, Charles H. Test, Adam Conde, Samuel Bigger, Dr. William Frame, B. F. Reeve, Alfred Posey, George B. Tingley, Thomas Worster, Dr. Jefferson Helm, P. A. Hackleman, R. S. Cox, George Clark and D. M. Stewart. In 1861, E. H. M. Berry, Senator, and George SKETCHES OF RUSH COUNTY 43 Thomas, Representative, in the General Assembly, shared in the exciting scenes caused by the firing on Ft. Sumpter. The following incident will illustrate the intense excitement that prevailed. Horace Heff- ron was a large, overbearing Democrat. Moody was a small, black-eyed, firey Republican. They held radically different views about voting appropriations for the prosecution of the war and became bitter enemies. The former challenged the latter to fight a duel, which was promptly accepted. They repaired, with their seconds, to a secluded place back of Cov- ington, Kentucky, where their friends prevailed on them to agree to a truce. Both these men later became colonels in the Union army. At the close of the called session of the Legisla- ture, in April, '61, Mr. Thomas resigned, came home and recruited volunteers for the 52nd Regiment, of which E. H. Wolfe became Colonel. On account of his age and ill health, Mr. Thomas returned from camp. Gov. Morton always passed him to the front whenever there was trouble there. When his son, D. L. Thomas, was badly wounded at the battle of Chickamauga, he hastened to Chattanooga and telegraphed the Governor to have the Indiana wounded transferred to their own state. The re- quest was granted. Railroads. The first railroad in the state was built in 1846, between Madison and Indianapolis. Soon after this time, George Thomas, of Walker township, took a wagon load of peaches to Madison. When he arrived there, the market master ordered him to dump the 44 SKETCHES OF RUSH COUNTY entire load into the river, because of the damaged condition of a part of the fruit. On his way back he crossed the tracks of the aforesaid railroad, whose charter had been secured by his uncle. Col. John M. Lee, Representative from Bartholomew county. He then and there resolved to have a railroad to Rush- ville. For three years, he labored for that end, meet- ing with strong opposition on all sides. Mer- chants said they had always "wagoned" their goods from Cincinnati and that way was cheaper than building a railroad. Doctors and lawyers feared a great influx of professional men if we had a railroad. Old Mr. N — thought the riff-raff of the cities would be dumped on the town to demoralize the place. Farmers said the train would kill their live stock, which ran at large, and the locomotive would set fire to their farms, which proved no myth, as the fuel used in the engines was wood and the large, funnel- shaped smokestacks had no wire screens over the top to catch the sparks. By continued persistence, and by donating the right of way through two farms, subscribing $1,000, also gratuitously grading a mile of the road, and sup- plying oak ties and stringers for the same, Mr. Thom- as finally succeeded in getting the railroad. He and Jacob Mull, of Manilla, and Roland Carr, of Rush- ville, gave their individual notes for $18,000 apiece, to buy flat bar rails for the road when land was worth only $20 and $25 per acre. The first train on the road ran in from Shelby- ville on September 10, 1850. A great crowd came to town to see it arrive. One old lady exclaimed, look- ing at the flat iron bars of the track, "Why, I thought the cars would come in on runners." SKETCHES OF RUSH COUNTY 45 These flat bars on oak stringers were not satis- factory because the train ran off the track too fre- quently. The road bed was raised and the ''T" rails were laid in the spring of 1860. Mr. George Thomas board- ed seventeen men, free, three weeks during the re- construction of the road. An amusing incident occurred while the road was being rebuilt. An Irishman, late from the "Green Isle," was water carrier. While he was gone to a neighboring house for water, the workmen stirred up a very large yellowjackets nest. They hurried on farther and were raising the old ties when Pat came back and ran into the infuriated insects. He put the bucket of water down and began picking them off, saying, "Och, how the flies in Ameriky bite." Pres- ently, he was saying, "Och, Och, Och," and making scores of rapid gyrations. The other men, amid roars of laughter, called to him to "come away." He ran towards them and the "jackets" went too. It took an hour to collect the men from the woods. That part of the road bed was finished by starlight. David C. Branam, of Madison, was General Su- perintendent and a Mr. Robinson was construction supervisor. On May 12, 1860, a free excursion and hotel ac- commodations, were given to three hundred invited guests from Rushville and vicinity by the people of Madison. The train was run in two sections, one in charge of David C. Branam and the other of his brother, Hickman Branam. On June 14, of the same year, Rushville returned the compliment by entertaining a number of promin- ent citizens of Madison. 46 SKETCHES OF RUSH COUNTY When the train arrived in Rushville, Mr. Branam invited other officials of the road to mount the engine and tender (which was filled with wood for fuel) and accompany him back to the home of Mr. Thomas to honor him for his heroic and sacrificing interest in securing the road. Frank Ringel was the first conductor for several years. T. J. Carr was his immediate successor. Other railroads have been completed to Rushville in the following order, viz., C. H. & D., Dec. 25, 1867 ; Cambridge City, July 4, 1868; Greensburg, Sept., 1881 ; New Castle, 1882 ; Anderson, 1887. A line of the "underground" railroad for fugitive slaves ran through this county in the days of slavery. The I. & C. traction line was completed to Rush- Fire Protection. ville, June 29, 1905. The power house for this line is located in East Rushville. It runs cars to India- napolis, Shelbyville, Greensburg and Connersville. Electricians from several foreign countries, as well as from other parts of our own, have visited the plant to study its construction and operation. Prior to 1881 Rushville depended on a "bucket brigade." In that year a steam fire engine was purchased at a cost of $4,300. A Gamewell fire alarm was contracted for Nov. 9, 1891. Natural Gas. Natural gas was discovered at Carthage in Sep- tember, 1887. Later, it was piped to Rushville. Since then, the Rushville Natural Gas Company, the People's, the Central Fuel, and the Rushville Supply Company have tapped different fields and their pipe SKETCHES OF RUSH COUNTY 47 lines furnish an ample supply for domestic use. There are scores of producing private wells in the county. Rushville has an automatic telephone system that has attracted investigation from other countries as well as from many parts of our own. The down town district has cluster, or pedestal, electric lights. County Fairs. The first county fair was held September, 1851, in a woods pasture where the Greensburg (Big 4) railroad station is located. But little stock or any- thing else was entered. A buffalo, several deer, a few horses and other live stock were the principal attractions. P. A. Hackleman was secretary. The two next years, 1852-3, the fairs were held northwest of the J. D. Case planing mills. A permanent organization was formed and land bought east of Rushville, in 1854, where some of the best county fairs in the state are held. Horses. John Gray was among the earliest breeders. In 1835, he brought "Old Alec" from Kentucky. His son, William Gray, continued to keep fine horses. He bought ''Tom Hal" from John Shawhan, a famous horse. His son, John T. Gray, introduced the Hambletonian horses. Rush county is indebted to James AVilson for the introduction of the "Blue Bull" horses. These horses have been at the head of all trotting horses — without a noted ancestral line they have become famous. The fame of the sire of these horses was 48 SKETCHES OF RUSH COUNlx known in several states. When he died, Mr. Wilson had a fine marble monument erected over him. Samp Wilson, son of James Wilson, was one of the greatest drivers in the country. Blue Bull horses sold for high prices. Mila C. sold for $10,000 (record 2,261/2). W. A. Jones was the owner of Elgin Boy and Raven Boy. J. M. Amos owned Legal Tender, a noted race horse. John Shawhan, William S. Hall, and others brought other fine horses to the county for which the county is now famous. John T. McMillin imported Norman horses from France for several years. Cattle. From 1854 to 1856, Garrett Wycof¥, James and Jonathan Caldwell, Isaac B, Loder and William S. Hall imported high grade cattk from Kentucky. In 1868, E. S. Frazee, George W. Thomas and Thomas A. Cotton began to establish show herds of Short Horn cattle. Others followed until the cattle of the county were greatly improved. Woodson ^Y. Thrasher, E. S. Frazee, George W. Thomas, R. H. Phillips and Thomas A, Cotton assist- ed in organizing the first Short Horn Breeder's As- sociation. This was the first live stock association organized in America. In 1870, E. S. Frazee and George W. Thomas col- lected individual herds that were prize winneirs. The latter bred and sold the highest priced Short Horn cow ever produced in the county, also realized the highest average price in a public sale. These men assisted in organizing the National Short Horn As- SKETCHES OF RUSH COUNTY 49 sociation. In 1890, they assisted in getting out the Short Horn Herd Book. Mr. Thomas suggested the special judge for fairs and was the first man to act in that capacity. The original registered Jersey cattle men were E. W. Shrader and George W. Reeve, A. P. Walker and John P. Boyd. Jersey cattle are numerous now in the county. Sheep. Leonidas McDaniel and G. W. Mauzy introduced Cotswold, South Down and Merino sheep. Hogs. Jeremiah Smith brought the first Poland China hogs to the county. He was followed in the business by Weir Cassady, George W. and D. L. Thomas and John H. Bebout. Geo. W. Thomas bred ''Fred Doug- lass," the hog that took grand sweepstakes at a St. Louis Fair, the highest prize ever given to a hog. This hog was the grand sire of ''Geo. Wilks" that was at the head of John H. Bebout 's herd and made it famous. Many other breeds of hogs are now owned in the county. Corn and hogs are making the county at- tractive to farmers and are bringing prosperity to all lines of business. James Walker was among the early drovers. He often had as many as two thou- sand hogs in one drove. He became known as "Hog" Walker. James Wilson, John Shawhan, Oli- ver brothers and Jonathan Caldwell were prominent drovers. The hogs were driven to Cincinnati, one driver for each 100 hogs. Fred A. Capp was the best known auctioneer of 50 SKETCHES OF RUSH COUNTY Rush county. He was genial and energetic. His voice never failed or became hoarse. He was suc- cessful in selling live stock, farming implements and household goods. Libraries. When the State's first Constitution was adopted under the old elm at Corydon in 1816, provision was made for libraries. When a new county was laid off 10 per cent was to be reserved from the sale of lots for the foundation and maintenance of public librar- ies. These libraries were to be kept in the seats of justice and controlled by a library commission. When the Capitol was removed to Indianapolis in 1821, the Legislature made the library laws still more confusing, resulting in little progress being made. In the late 40 's Rushville had a small library, presumably supported by the 10 per cent, levy afore- said. If so, it was the first money derived from that source. About 1850 the Legislature passed a law provid- ing for Township Libraries. Prof. W. C. Larabee, of Greencastle, went East and purchased books for every township in the state. The books were uni- formly in sheep binding, although but few of them were regarded as standard works. These books were placed in local stores in the various townships. The proprietor received little instruction or adequate pay for the care of the books and they were soon dissipated. Later there was a small library in Rushville known as the Mechanics' Library. SKETCHES OF RUSH COUNTY Burial Grounds. The first graveyards were small and were made on farms and were used for the family and near friends. The first neighborhood burial ground was, probably the Lower later called the Kelly graveyard south of Rushville. These were succeeded by others usually located near a church. The upper and lower graveyards were used by citizens of Rushville and vicinity until 1859, when nineteen acres were pur- chased east of Rushville, platted and named East Hill Cemetery. In one generation the lots have been sold and twenty more acres have been added. An archway, chapel and receiving vaults have been built. Joel Wolfe G. A. R. Post has erected a monument in this cemetery to the memory of their deceased comrades at a cost of $1,350 and it is the only sol- diers' monument in the state erected by a Grand Army Post. Calvary Cemetery, northeast of town, is owned by Catholics and is being improved each year. Miscellaneous. Mound Builders once occupied the county. One mound is west of the ''Arnold Home." There are remains of others northwest of Rushville (one cov- ered about ten acres) and in other places in the county as well. A small stream on the Alexander farm northwest of Rushville is called "Moccasin" because so many Indian moccasins, or shoes, were found along its once marshy borders where the Indians had been trapping. Many Indian flint arrow heads have been 52 SKETCHES OF RUSH COUNTY found in the same locality. Arrow heads have been found all over the county. This indicates that In- dians were once numerous in the county. Three-fourths of the state was held by Indians when the Constitution was adopted, but none of them were building mounds, thus proving a pre- existent race. The first public roads in the county had many stumps in them. Logs and brush were piled up on either side of the road. Small logs and brush were laid across the road in marshy places. This was called "corduroy." The first carriages brought to the county had high wheels, so they could be driven over the numer- ous stumps in the road and through the unbridged streams. Folding steps were placed on one side of the body of the carriage that could be unfolded when people wished to mount or alight. The stage coach was built for service. The in- side seats were similar to those of the modern cab, while the side seats were much like those in auto- mobiles. The stages were usually painted in vari- ous colors and drawn by six horses. The baggage was placed inside a railing around the top. There were relay stations along the road where the tired teams would be exchanged for fresh ones. The coaches were driven at a fast rate where possible. The approach to a tavern, and departure, was an- nounced by the blowing of a bugle. Thomas Cassady, great-grandfather of Mrs. Sar- ah Crawford Guffin (J. P.), built the third house in Rushville. The first postmaster was Charles Veeder, in 1822. SKETCHES OF RUSH COUNTY 53 George C. Clark was operator in the first tele- graph office in Rushville. In 1831, William Arnold, only brother of the late Mrs. D. M.' Stewart, had a tanyard where the glove factory is now located. Several years later, a stave and barrel factory oc- cupied the site of the tanyard. Here two mischievous boys repaired (who expected a whipping at the semi- nary south of there) to tie shavings on their backs and arms, under their coats, before returning to the teacher, Mr. Louis Thomas, a genial Kentucky law- yer The boys yelled lustily, but the teacher soon realized he was hitting padded backs and secretly enjoyed whipping them. Each party supposed the other was being deceived. A doctor Runnels (Reynolds) was an early physi- cian in Wilmington, now Manilla. He often imbibed too freely of the cup that inebriates but never cheers. One evening, as he was returning from a professional visit, he rode into a flock of ducks that were roost- ing in the road. They ran about quacking, as ducks do. The doctor dismounted and began to belabor them with his riding whip when the owner appeared and inquired what the trouble was. The doctor said, 'Hhese pesky things are calling me a quack, and I will take that from no living thing." He was persuaded to ride on. Soon he heard a frog, in the creek near by, calling, ''R-runnels, R-run- nels." Thinking it some person calling him, he an- swered "Here." Snakes of many kinds were very numerous m pioneer days and continued so until hogs became plentiful. They ate even the venomous species with- out injury. 54 SKETCHES OF RUSH COUNTY The first settlers found a large tract of densely fallen timber in the southern part of what is now Rush county. They believed a severe cyclone had passed over that section at some previous time. They called a stream that flowed through it '' Hurricane Creek." The early settlers had little use for law, judges, prisons or sheriffs. Differences and injuries were usually settled by force or arbitration. The first license issued to retail intoxicants was granted to John Perry on November 1, 1824. The fee was $7.50. Judges and lawyers rode the circuit, holding court, for several years. They carried their papers and law books in saddle bags. From 1822 poor and homeless orphan children were apprenticed, males until twenty-one and fe- males until eighteen. Indigent men and women were farmed out on contract by overseers of the poor until a poor farm was bought and equipped. Rushville was governed by a town board until 1842. Among the last Presidents were John P. Guffin and John H. Bebout. A city council was organized Sept. 6, 1883. The first councilmen were Leonidas Link, Absalom Pavey, John J. Touts, John A. Readle, Martin Bohanon arid John B. Reeve; George Puntenney, mayor; Joseph A. Armstrong, clerk; W. E. Havens, treasurer, and Samuel Vance, marshal. The leech, lancet and blister were used externally and large, sickening powders, that often had to be dissolved in a tablespoon, were administered by the doctors. SKETCHES OF RUSH COUNTY 55 The pioneers buried the dead — men, women and children — in long, white robes, called shrouds. A small, white kerchief was laid over the face. The coffin was made narrow at each end and un- lined. Not until in the 50 's were the dead buried in clothing such as they wore while living. Every neighborhood had a shoemaker and a man who extracted teeth with a "pulliken" or turnkey. Itinerant ministers traveled and preached to the people for two generations. Rev. Asbury, it is said, traveled as many miles as would take him twelve times around the world. People often rode, on horseback, ten or twelve miles to "meeting" to hear these itinerants preach. Six per cent, was allowed on collections when settling up an estate. This was all the remuneration they received — a mere pittance in many cases. Rush county shared in the gold craze of '49 and several young men went with emigrant wagon trains across the plains to California in search of the pre- cious metal. Much of the geography was taught, in the '50 's by singing the names of the states and their capitals, also the names of counties and county seats and the names of rivers and their length. Sometime in the late '40 's, a converted Indian passed through the county preaching to the white people, entreating them to lead Christian lives. He sang in the Indian and the English language and at- tracted much attention. In the '40 's and '50 's peddlers carrying Irish linen tablecloths, peddlers with boxes of jewelry, peddlers with leather straps attached to swing over the shoul- der ; Italians with plaster of Paris toys, peddlers with 56 SKETCHES OF RUSH COUNTY notions, small wagons with all kinds of merchandise, and agents of various kinds, literally swarmed over the country. In 1847-8, the spirit rappings caused much excite- ment. A few persons became insane because of the manifestations they claimed to have experienced. In the same year the people of this county con- tributed, with other sections, to the supplies which were being sent to the starving people of Ireland, caused by the total failure of the potato crop there. In July, 1854, a cyclone destroyed much timber and fencing, also a large barn on the farm of Landon Gardner, six miles west of Rushville. The barn was carried high in the air, broken into fragments and scattered for long distances. Horses were killed, chickens were stripped of their feathers and all their bones broken ; wheat was scattered over a neighbor- ing farm. In the spring of 1850, Alexander Campbell held a meeting at Fairview, assisted by the faculty of Fairview Academy. He returned to the county and preached in the old Rushville Christian church in 1859. In 1850, P. T. Barnum brought Jennie Lind, the "Swedish Nightingale," to this country. One of the places visited was Madison, Indiana. A number of music lovers from Rushville went to hear her. The whole continent was enraptured with her melodies. In the fall of 1861, Stephen Duncan organized a singing class in the old Christian church, now Pythi- an Hall. He used the ''Diapason" and accompanied the singing with a violin. John H. Spurrier used the same book and a violin in singing classes in several places. In 1903, he gath- SKETCHES OF RUSH COUNTY 57 ered the surviving members of the old Diapason sing- ers into a class that meets annually in Rushville. This class is similar to the old "Missouri Har- mony" class which was organized at Morristown in 1836 and re-organized by survivors several years later. The members of the two last mentioned of these classes are now singing in the "Choir Invis- ible" and an old re-organized Diapason class has taken their places. Fred Douglass, the noted ex-slave and orator, made a long speech in behalf of his race on a plat- form at the northwest corner of the court house yard, during the early years of the Civil War. His head was almost white, but his voice was strong as he plead for those who were yet in bondage. What is remembered as the "cold New Year's Day" occurred January 1, 1864. In 1872, A. N. Norris invented a wheat drill, which his brother, D. C. Norris, patented. It was manufactured by the Norris brothers northeast of Rushville, and was regarded as one of the best drills on the market. It was sold and shipped all over the United States and to other countries. The evolution experienced in reaping, threshing and cleaning wheat has been marvelous. The pio- neers cut the wheat with a sickle, tramped it out on a floor, or hard ground, with horses, and cleaned it by winnowing it with a strong home-made linen sheet. Later, the wheat was cut with a w^heat cradle and threshed by a slow horse-power machine. Next, a crude steam engine threshed it and a hand-power wheat fan was used to separate the grain from the chaff. 58 SKETCHES OF RUSH COUNTY This was improved upon until a steam engine threshed and separated the wheat and chaff. This way required thirt}^ to forty men to haul in the shocks, run the machinery and stack the straw. All the help had to have dinner and supper with the owner of the wheat ; the horses had to be fed also. Now an engine runs the separator, measures the grain and stacks the straw. The men provide their own dinner and horse feed and the old-time tired farmer's wife of the harvest time is no more. The "Grangers," or "Patrons of Husbandry," was a secret organization founded at Washington, December 4, 1867, for the promotion of farmers' in- terests, women as well as men being members. In six years the membership reached 1,500,000. There were three or four Granges in Rush county. The one at Homer erected a two-story building. The upper one was used for the transaction of business and as a civic center for the members. The lower one was used for a community store. G. W. Thomas was either Purchasing Agent or President during its existence. When musical instruments began to be used in the homes, some of the young people began to clamor for their use in the churches. Others believed their use in public worship would be sacrilege and were de- cidedly opposed to their introduction. The conten- tion came near disrupting some churches. The frame siding, rafters, ceiling, flooring, doors, window sashes and shingles of the first frame houses in the county were all hand-made. These houses are very substantial. An Old Settlers' Association was formed on Aug. 19, 1869, which met at the county fair grounds and SKETCHES OF RUSH COUNTY 59 was largely attended. For several years, D. M. Stew- art was the first President and Dr. John Arnold was secretary. Old relics of various kinds were exhibited. Har- mony Laughlin had a calico bed comfort, with a light background and small, purple flowers on it. There were no two flowers alike on either side of it. It had been brought from Holland. There were mold board plows, hackles, hand cards for carding wool, and making rolls for spinning, reels for winding the yarn, which was spun on the big wheels ; flax sewing thread, which was spun on the little wheels; old- fashioned dishes and watches, some of them a hun- dred years old; hand-knit lace, samplers (alphabet worked on home-made linen), old books, quaint shoes, round brooms, home-made rugs, papers of round-headed brass pins, silhouette pictures, linen table cloths, counterpanes which women had spun and woven, etc. Prominent men came from many places to be present. Among the number was Gov. Conrad Baker. They and the early settlers pro- vided interesting programs until the curtain of time fell on the actors. A Building and Loan Association was incorpor- ated June 2, 1877, with D. M. Stewart, President; Leonidas Link, Vice President, and J. Q. Thomas, Secretary and Treasurer. Eleven similar associa- tions have been formed since. These associations have made it possible for many persons to buy lots and build comfortable homes who otherwise might never have had a permanent place in which to live. A Ladies' Musicale was organized at the home of A. G. Mauzy on Dec. 13, 1886, by his daughter, 60 SKETCHES OF RUSH COUNTY Mrs. Siddie Cole-Mowers. The first officers were Mrs. Mowers, President; Mrs. Theo. Abercrombie, Vice President; Mrs. Ella Pugh, Secretary; Mrs. C. H. Gilbert, Treasurer. It is next to the oldest musical organization in the state, the Matinee Musicale, of Indianapolis, hav- ing precedence. The ladies have purchased two violins and have given a musical education to a talented young musi- cian. They have held many receptions for their friends that have been very enjoyable. At one of these Mrs. C. H. Gilbert read a history of the society on its twentieth anniversary and is planning to con- tinue its history until December 13, 1916, when they expect to celebrate the thirtieth anniversary of its continuous organization. The Monday Circle is a literary society composed of twenty-five ladies. It was organized in 1893 by Mrs. Hannah Cullen Sexton and has done work of a high order continuously since. The Shakespeare Club was organized in 1910, with Miss Anna Marlatt as President. The work is along the line of the drama. The membership is limited to seventeen. Kathryn Petry is President at this time. The Coterie, a miscellaneous literary club, was organized by Mrs. Mary Holmes, and she was the first Secretary. The membership is limited to seven- teen. Mrs. J. T. Paxton is now President. Carthage, Glenwood and Milroy have women's study classes. The Social Club was organized March 13, 1896. Melodeon Hall was purchased and converted into suitable rooms for convenience of members. SKETCHES OF RUSH COUNTY 61 Francis Murphy, noted temperance lecturer, held a series of meetings in Rushville in 1879 (in what was then Melodeon Hall) that stirred the town. A great many people signed the pledge. W. J. Munhall held the first large union revival in Rushville, in the old Christian church, in the spring of 1885. The services were characterized by good singing and earnest preaching. Dr. Orr held a union meeting in June, 1911. Dr. Biederwolf held one in the fall of 1912. Both these meetings were held in a temporary tabernacle. Mrs. May W. Donnan, of Indianapolis, lectured on literary subjects most acceptably to Women's Study Classes from 1905 until her death in 1913. She had a fine personality and a remarkable memory. During the eight years of her work in Rushville, she endeared herself to her classes. For several years good lecture courses have been held in winter. Mrs. Demarchus C. Brown, of India- napolis, gave a series of popular lectures in the Graham school building in the winter of 1914-15. She also gave lectures before the Monday Circle that were thoroughly enjoyed. The Grand Army of the Republic was organized in 1866 as a political order. There was a Post in nearly every township. Later it became a patriotic organization and continues so. Its membership is composed of the ex-soldiers of the Civil War who were honorably discharged. As they annually march with music and ''Old Glory" on Decoration Day to lay a tribute of flow- ers on the graves of departed comrades, the old sol- diers become fewer while the graves become more numerous. It is pathetic to see the faltering step 62 SKETCHES OF RUSH COUNTY and depleted ranks as they enter the city of the dead. A Woman's Relief Corps was organized August 20, 1887. Much relief work has been done for sol- diers and their families. A Woman's Christian Temperance Union was organized April 21, 1888, by Mrs. Louise M. Thomp- son, of Greensburg. The ladies worked along tem- perance, evangelistic and charitable lines. Religious services were held at the county asylum and county orphanage. Holiday gifts were given to the inmates of both. An industrial school, a Sunday school for poor children and a reading room were sustained for a time. They induced the churches to banish manufactured wine from the communion table and substitute the juice of the grape. Secret societies were opposed by many of the early settlers and few men became identified with them. The following fraternal societies now have lodges in the county : Masons, Odd Fellows, Knights of Pythias, Red Men, Maccabees, Modern Wood- men, Elks, Ancient Order of United Workmen, Patriotic Sons of America, G. A. R., W. R. C, and Knights of Columbus. The Hilligoss family of this county have an an- cestral record which throws much light on the early history of this country. As it deals, indirectly, with some of the county's history, it is inserted. Michael Hilligas, a German nobleman of Alsace, then a province of France, removed to Germany on account of the Huguenot persecutions. From there he emi- grated to Philadelphia. His son, Michael, was made Provincial Treasurer in 1765 and held the office SKETCHES OF RUSH COUNTY 63 until 1789, having been Provincial, Colonial and United States Treasurer. He died in 1804. See ''Financial History of the United States," by Albert S. Belles, Vol. 1; ''Journal of Congress," Vols. 1 and 2. Michael Hilligas had contributed lib- erally to the calls for financial help during the Revo- lution, but owing to the depressed condition of "finance afterward he was never reimbursed. His portrait is on the $10 gold certificates of the United States. George Peter Hilligas, a nephew of Michael Hilli- gas, was drum major under Washington during the war of the American Revolution and was with him at the surrender of Saratoga. He came to Kentucky, after the war, where he died. Some of his family came to Rush county where they helped to clear away the wilderness. In remov- ing westward the name broadened into Hilligoss. A summer Chautauqua was instituted in 1901. It was held under a tent until the present Coliseum was built. Good programs have been given by some of the best talent obtainable. Such men as W. J. Bryan and others of note. The 1915 Chautauqua had on its program Hon. Champ Clark, Speaker of the U. S. House of Repre- sentatives; Helen Keller, the deaf and blind girl, who is well educated and has learned to talk; the Royal Welsh Male Singers (three of their sixteen members went down, May 7, 1915, when the Lusi- tania was torpedoed) ; Rabbi Stephen S. Wise, of New York City; Grace Hall-Riheldaffer, famous singer ; Dr. Carolyn E. Geisel, of Battle Creek, Michi- gan, and others. Three of Rushville's citizens have been Repre- 64 SKETCHES OF RUSH COUNTY sentatives in the United States Congress. John L. Robinson was a member in 1844. He was an inti- mate friend of Jefferson Davis, who was also a mem- ber at that time. Leonidas Sexton was Lieut. Governor in 1873 and a member of Congress in 1876. James E. Watson was elected to Congress in 1894, 1898, 1900, 1902, 1904 and was nominated for Gov- ernor of Indiana in 1908. John K. Gowdy left Rushville as United States Consul to Paris, France, on April 20, 1897 ; returned to Rushville October 21, 1905. He received his ap- pointment from President William McKinley. Judge Douglas Morris is one of the Supreme Court Judges of Indiana. In three years death claimed three of Rushville 's ablest lawyers, Leonidas Sexton, George B. Sleeth and Jesse J. Spann. Pleasant A. Hackleman was a candidate for Con- gress on a Temperance platform in 1860. He was also a delegate to the Peace Congress held in Wash- ington, in February, 1861, for the purpose of adjust- ing the differences between the North and the South. The effort was a failure. Admiral George Brown, who for three years was at the head of the United States Navy, was a native of Rushville. Dr. James Thomson, the late noted oculist, of In- dianapolis, was once a shoemaker in Moscow. For several years, pupils had to deliver orations at their graduation. A prominent man is now select- ed to deliver an address instead. On March 25, 1913, occurred the greatest flood Rushville ever experienced. The water ran in tor- SKETCHES OF RUSH COUNTY 65 rents down Perkins street, south of the C, H. & D. Railroad, flooding many houses. The water in Main street was more than a foot deep between Second and Fourth streets. Business blocks in that section were also flooded. The grades east and south of town were overflowed and badly damaged. One life was lost. Rushville and vicinity sent a car load of flour to the starving Belgians in the spring of 1915. A light snow fell in Rushville August 5, 1915. The weather was colder than January 17, 1914. This month will be remembered as the coldest and rainiest within the memory of the oldest settler. Rush county has an area of twenty-three miles north and south and eighteen miles east and west. It has no large city, yet its per capita is second to but one in the state. Rushville is located near the center of the county. It is a beautiful little city, noted for its flne resi- dences, well kept lawns, maple shade trees, asphalt pavements and straight streets. Its water supply is drawn from artesian wells. Its streets are elec- trically lighted. Good roads lead into it. Main and Second streets were paved with brick in 1910; Perkins street in 1912. Towns. Carthage is located on the east bank of Big Blue River, in Ripley township. It was laid out by John Clark and Henry Henley, August 18, 1838. It is a thriving place on the Big Four Railroad. It has one of the largest strawboard plants in the state, a fine library building, a commissioned high school, a bank and a local newspaper. 68 SKETCHES OF RUSH COUNTY Milroy. Milroy is situated near the southern boundary of the county on the bank of Little Flat- rock River. It is in a fine agricultural district and does a large amount of shipping and other business. It is on the Big Four Railroad and has a bank. In 1830, Nathan Julian and Nathan Tompkins laid out the town. Manilla. Manilla is located in Walker township, on the Pennsylvania Railroad. It was laid out Jan. 4th, 1836, by Jacob Mull, Elias Murphy, Jonathan Murphy and Jonathan Edwards. The place was sur- rounded by North Carolinians, who named the place Wilmington in honor of their former home. The name was changed later to Manilla. Jacob Mull had the first dry goods store. It has a bank. Arlington (Burlington) was laid out April 12th, 1832, by James Collins and Levin Burt. Dr. James W. Green and Jacob Beckner were prominent citi- zens. It is located on the C. H. & D. railroad and the I. & C. traction line. It also has a state bank. Glenwood (formerly Vienna) is on the C. H. & D. railroad and the I. & C. traction line. It was laid out by Dr. Jefferson Helm, June 23rd, 1882. Mr. Steele was the first tavern keeper and first postmaster. New Salem. Moses Thompson had the town plat- ted in February, 1831. The place is surrounded by a good farming section and an enterprising com- munity. Dr. Anthony was the second inhabitant, fol- lowed by Reuben Runion, who built a blacksmith shop, and Israel Knapp, a wagon maker. Falmouth. A trading post was located here early. That part located in Fayette county was probably laid out in 1824. The part in Rush county was SKETCHES OF RUSH COUNTY 67 platted in July, 1832. In 1835 several Kentuckians settled in and around Falmouth, Among them were John David, Daniel Baker and Joseph Piper. It is on the Pennsylvania railroad. Richland. This place is in a country of unusual fertility. The Richland Academy was one of the early schools of note in the state. The town was laid out December 14, 1854, by A. P. Butler, T. L. Stewart, H. C. Robinson, J. R. Hood, S, H. Caskey, N. H. Gwinup, G. Butler and Jacob Hite. Homer is located on the Pennsylvania railroad lines two miles east of Manilla. James Andrews and Jesse Jarrett built an upright saw mill here in 1850. They had a well dug under the mill to supply a large stationary boiler with water. When about twenty feet down, the men left their shovels and picks in the excavation over night. The next morning they found the bottom of the well had fallen out and a large stream of clear, cold Calybeate water was flowing out, which continues to flow. The shovels and picks were never recovered. Benjamin Wyman and Alex Bridges were the flrst merchants. Raleigh is a flourishing village in Washington township. It was laid out in 1841 and was called McCanns. In 1847 it was recorded under the name of Raleigh. It has the first consolidated school in the United States. The names of small towns in the county are : Henderson, Farmington, Sumner, Blue Ridge, Mos- cow, Gowdy, Williamstown, Fairview, Sexton, Mays, Gings and Mauzy. At a Republican barbecue held at Rushville, Sept. 16th, 1915, James E. Watson formally announced SKETCHES OF RUSH COUNTY himself a candidate for United States Senator. The attendance was estimated at eight or ten thousand people. Conclusion. Since the squatters began to build homes in Rush county a great transformation has taken place. The log cabin has given place to comfortable, even pala- tial homes. The forests and rail fences have almost disappeared. Farmers now ride when they plow, or reap their grain. Automobiles and thoroughbred horses, steam and interurban cars furnish transpor- tation. Natural gas, telephones, daily mails and graded schools give to town and county the same advantages. Then here is a health to Rush county, the fairest among a thousand. No lakes, no mountains, bogs or large rivers break the surface of the country. There is no waste land, no barrens. Her sons and daugh- ters travel to distant parts, but return to what they believe to be the garden spot on earth. When they pass away they may rest in the most beautiful ceme- tery that any county town can claim. Be a Booster. (Written for Sketches of Rush County.) Do you know there's lots of fellers Settin' 'round in every town, 0, so grouchy an' a kickin', Knockin' every good thing down? We'd not have jiou be this feller 'Cause your town is best on earth, So just be a Rushville booster. Praise and boost for all vou're worth SKETCHES OF RUSH COUNTY 69 If what people do don't suit you And the town seems kinder wrong Why don't you commence a boostin' Just to help yourself along? 'Cause if things should stop a going You'd be in a sorry plight; Keep that Rushville horn a blowin', Boost her up with all your might. If your town's worth boostin' — boost her Don't hold back and wait to see If some other feller's willin'; You be first — the country's free. No one holds a mortgage on you, It's your town as much as his, And if Rushville 's shy on boosters You get in the boostin' biz. — Anna Clark Urmston. Indianapolis. 70 SKETCHES OF RUSH COUNTY PART II. HISTORY OF COMPANY M, 121 ST REGIMENT, 9TH INDIANA VOL. CAVALRY. (Written by Capitola Giiffin Dill.) Company M, 121 Regiment 9th Indiana Volun- teer Cavalry, was recruited by Captain James Henry Frazee, Lieutenant James B. Jones and Nathan J. Leisure, in Rush county, Indiana. Mustered one-half of the company in U. S. service 31st of December by Captain J. H. Farquhar, 19 U. S. A. and the com- pany was completed March 4, 1864. Went into camp Carrington, Indianapolis, December 16, 1863 ; moved to Camp Shanks, Indianapolis, February 12, 1864. Organized March 4, 1864, at Camp Shanks, India- napolis. The words, "My Country, Right or Wrong" in large letters are to be found on the sol- diers discharge of the company. Privates in this company were : Allentharp, William; served 11 months in 52nd Regiment. SKETCHES OF RUSH COUNTY 71 Armstrong, William. Battersby, Charles. Begley, Patrick. Bradburn, James, was in the battle of Munfords- ville, Ky., Company D, 68th Ind, Brown, Henry. Benjman, Theodore, was in battle of Phillipi, Laurel Hill and Cheat River, in 3 months service. Company F, 6th Regiment, Indiana Vol. Blake, George W. Bormer, Alexander. Chance, George W. Chance, William H. Creed, Homer. Conklin, Levi ; served twelve months in 16th In- diana Regiment. Cox, Jonathan. Damern, George W. Belong, Chancy. Dogget, William P. ; served six months in Com- pany F, 16th Ind. Regt. Edwards, Wesley. English, Samuel ; in skirmish at Gurrill 's Hill, Tennessee, Company C, 8th Regiment Kentucky Vol, Fletcher Barton. Flowers, William. Forester, David; died March 8 at home. Frazee, Joseph. Frazier, Andrew. Garner, John. Guffin, John P. ; served six months in Company G, 52nd Ind. Gruel, Nathan E. Halliway, Enos. 72 SKETCHES OF RUSH COUNTY Haney, Patrick. Hoye, Martin. Hunnycut, Tilman. Hutchinson, Robert. Harvey, Robert. Huffman, William. Isentrager, William L. ; was in battle of Fort Donelson, Company G, 52nd Ind. Istentrager, James M. Jessup, Columbus. James, Joseph. James, Daniel; was in battles at Richmond, Ky., and Arkansas Post, Company H, 16th Ind. King, Samuel. Lautherer, Charles ; was in two battles before Vicksburg and two at Jackson, Miss., in Company B, 72nd Ohio Regiment. Louks, John; deserted. Linville, George. Madison, William. Maple, Ephraim B. ; served fourteen months, Company I, 37th Regiment, Ind. Vol. Maple, John J. ; was in battle of Fort Donelson, Company F, 52nd Ind. Regiment. Maple, Levi. McMichael, Thomas. McGinness, Samuel S. McGee, George H. Milhard, Theodore. Miller, Daniel. Moore, Gardner. Moore, Robert. Orcutt, George S. ; was in the battle of Clinch Mountain, Tenn., Company I, 117 Ind. SKETCHES OF RUSH COUNTY 73 Pickering, Lewis. Pea, Ute; was in the battle of Donelson, Com- pany H, 52nd Ind. Regiment. Poston, Ira. Raymond, Samuel L. Ralston, Meshig. Ridley, Franklin. Ryon, John A. Shephard, Thomas. Smith, Milton. Smith, Lorenzo. Stevens, Amos W. Stevens, Henry J. ; was in battle of Fort Donel- son, Company G, 52nd Ind. Regiment. Story, Isham. Spacy, Oscar F. ; was in battle of Donelson and siege of Corinth, Company G, 52nd Ind. Scoolcraft, Jacob ; deserted. Thrasher, Samuel K. Tuttle, James. Taylor, David F. Walker, Augustus. Wright, Jonathan. Woods, Robert E. Company Officers. COMMISSIONED. James H. Frazee, Captain, enlisted as private in 52nd Ind. Promoted to Lieutenant. Was in the bat- tle of Fort Donelson and in charge on the left at the siege of Corinth, and in numerous skirmishes. Served twenty-six months. James B. Jones, 1st Lieutenant, was in battle of Bowling Green and Chattanooga. Wounded at 74 SKETCHES OF RUSH COUNTY Stone River in the mouth and right lung; IVo oz. ball extracted from right side seven days after wound was received. Nathan J. Leisure, 2nd Lieutenant, served six months as Sergeant in 52nd Indiana Regiraent. Was in the battle of Fort Donelson. NON-COMMISSIONED. Sergeants — Jacob B. McGinness, orderly, served six months in Company F, 16th Ind. John H. Bonnett, Q. M. William L. Peckham, Com., served twenty-six months in Company F, 16th Regiment, Indiana Vol. Was taken prisoner in battle of Richmond, Ky., August 30, 1862. Was in Arkansas Post and in all the battles that occasioned the fall of Vicksburg. In several skirmishes with forces under Dick Tay- lor, was promoted from 4th Sergeant to 2nd Lieu- tenant April 1, 1863. Thomas Frazee, 1st. Leonidas Thrasher, 2nd. Alexander Abernathy, 3rd. Was in the battle of Baton Rouge, La., Company G, 21st Ind. Vol, David Gaskill, 4th, was in the battle of Boon- ville, Carthage and Springfield, Mo. John W. Moore, 5th. Corporals — John M. Armstrong, 1st. John B. Moore, 2nd. Joseph Alexander, 3rd. Milton Hunt, 4th. John L. LaBarr, 5th. Russell Keeler, 6th. SKETCHES OF RUSH COUNTY 75 Peter B. Cramer, 7th. William Bragg, 8th. Buglers — Oliver G. Hunt, served six months in Company I, 115th Regiment. Lucius B. Williams. Farrier — Isom Griffin. Blacksmith — Josiah Watson. Saddler — David S. Mason. Wagoner — David R. Crawford ; was in the battle of Corinth on detached service, under Gen. Hackleman, Arkan- sas Fort, Company C, 16th Regiment, Indiana Vol. While on their way north from New Orleans, with the Company under Col. Eli Lily, of Indianapo- lis, Jonathan G. Wright, John P. Guffin, Robert Hutchinson and Daniel James, Rush county boys, were captured by the Confederates across the river from Memphis, Tenn., January 11, 1865, and held prisoners for two months and a half in the bushes, being fed on corn meal mixed with water, baked on a chip of wood. This bread and water was all they had to eat. Their clothes were all taken from them, except their pants and shirt. After the date had been set for their execution, the four of them escaped, hiding during the day in the swamp bushes, part of the time standing in water up to their necks, and walking all night for three days and three nights, when they were overtaken, ordered to halt, and throw up their hands. The first three obeyed and 76 SKETCHES OF RUSH COUNTY Daniel James was shot through the head; leaving him lay, the three were taken back. Jonathan Wright said John P. Guffin worried so, knowing they were soon to be shot; he was only about nineteen years old at this time. They were exchanged about a week before the date set for their execution and were soon dis- charged from service. They went to the wharf early in the morning to take the Sultana, a steamboat running between New Orleans and St. Louis and found she had unloaded her freight and sailed at two o'clock that Wednes- day morning. The passenger list of over 2,300 almost entirely of Union soldiers. Of these 2,031 put on at Vicksburg were ghastly skeletons called "paroled prisoners" from Andersonville and Cahaba prisons eagerly counting the hours until they should be home with wife and mother. When the Sultana was seven miles above Mem- phis, her boilers exploded, tearing out the entire cen- ter of the boat, and she burned to the water's edge April 27, 1865. Some were scalded to death immediately ; those who were not injured were jumping overboard. The river for a mile around was full of floating people. The cry of the women ; the groans of those who were wounded and thrown from the boat by the explosion ; the cries for help when none were there to assist. The burning boat soon attracted attention and the steamer Bostona, only a mile above, hurried to the scene. Everything that could float was thrown into the river. Every effort was made by the officers of the Bostona to render aid to the drowning jnulti- tude. Ten of this company perished. SKETCHES OF RUSH COUNTY 77 Oscar Spacy jumped from the burning b:)af and clung to part of a stairway, floated and swam nine miles down the river ahead of the burning oil from the Sultana, which flowed on the water. He was taken from the river at daylight, wrapped in flannel and cared for by the "Sisters of Charity." He was one of the "paroled prisoners," having just been re- leased from the Cahaba prison of Alabama, where he had endured all kinds of hardships for six months. Over fourteen hundred lost their lives at the time of the explosion and nearly three hundred died in the hospitals at Memphis. For days following the destruction of the Sul- tana, the people of Memphis, impoverished by the war, which was just closing, forgot sectional feeling and laid aside the memories of their own dead upon a hundred battlefields to give themselves and all that was theirs to procuring the comfort of the survivors. Homes were thrown open to the wrecked soldiers as to brothers. The pall of horror which lowered above the charred timbers of the Sultana blotted out, for the time at least, the animosities of warfare. Jonathan Wright, John P. Guflin, and Robert Hutchinson went back to the soldiers home in Mem- phis until they were able to get transportation to the North. They arrived in Indianapolis about May 9th, coming by way of Shelbyville to Rushville. They were in twenty-two or twenty-three battles, among which was the one at Palaska, the Nashville fight and the one at Franklin National Pike, where there were nine hundred men in the morning and only one hundred and forty-eight at night — this being one of the hardest fought small battles of the Civil War. SKETCHES OF RUSH COUNTY HISTORY OF NATIONAL SOCIETY D. A. R. By MARY M. ALEXANDER. Origin and Aims of the Daughters of the American Revolution. On the evening of July 11, 1890, the Sons of the American Revolution gave a banquet in Wash- ington. Senator John Sherman, of Ohio, was the speaker. The speech was printed in the Washington Post on July 12. Mrs. Mary S. Lockwood read the speech and assisted by Mrs. Ellen Hardin Walworth, Miss Eugenia Washington and Miss Mary Desha, began the D. A. R. movement. On October 11, 1890, seven- teen women in Washington organized the society of the Daughters of the American Revolution. The first woman to apply for membership was Mrs. Benjamin Harrison, who was made first Presi- dent General. Act of Incorporation. Fifty-fourth Congress of the United States of America. At its first session, begun and held in the city of Washington on the second day of December, one thousand eight hundred and ninety-five. Be it enacted by the Senate and House of Rep- resentatives of the United States of America in Con- gress assembled, that the founders, associates and successors of the Daughters of the American Revo- lution are hereby created a body corporate and politic for patriotic, historical and educational pur- poses. SKETCHES OF RUSH COUNTY 79 Said society shall report annually to the Secre- tary of the Smithsonian Institution, who shall com- municate to Congress anything of national interest or importance. (Signed) GROVER CLEVELAND, President. A. E. STEVENSON, Vice President. Eligibility. Any woman, eighteen years of age or more, is eligible to membership, provided she be descended from a man or woman who, with unfailing loyalty rendered material aid to the cause of Ameri- can independence. The society now numbers 177,132 and has an or- ganization in every state in the Union, as well as Chapters in England, France, China, Mexico, Cuba, Hawaii, Porto Rico and the Philippines. Their motto is ''Home and Country." 80 SKETCHES OF RUSH COUNTY HISTORY OF RUSHVILLE CHAPTER D. A. R. ■Written by MRS. MARY M. ALEXANDER And MRS .CAPITOLA GUFFIN DILL The Rushville Chapter of the Daughters of the American Revolution was organized with 109 char- ter members in Rushville, September, 1909, by Mrs. J. W. Moore. She was unanimously elected its first Regent. At a reception given in honor of Mrs. John W. Dinwiddle, State Regent, of Fowler, Ind., the writer suggested a book shower as a nucleus for a city library, which was given February 22, 1911, at which time over six hundred books were donated. The county commissioners granted two rooms in the court house for the use of the library, also one room for a ladies' rest room. After the requirements of the law in reference to public libraries had been complied with, the Chap- ter surrendered it to the city of Rushville, which now maintains it very successfully. There are now approximately four thousand volumes on its shelves. Miss Mary Sleeth has been librarian continuously up to the present time. The Chapter has planted trees in the City Park, held contests among the public school pupils for best essays on patriotic subjects, for which prizes were given, and done other work of an educational nature. The Chapter solicits information in regard to the location of graves of soldiers of the Revolution so SKETCHES OF RUSH COUNTY 81 that government markers may be placed on them, also any other items of interest pertaining to the early history of our country. Sarah Crawford Guf- fin (J. P.) is Regent at present. Our emblem is a golden wheel Banded with deepest blue Each shining spoke tipped with a star The distaff showing through The only jewel in the world That money can not buy VVithout such proof of ancestry As no one can deny. SKETCHES OF RUSH COUNTY THE LINEAGE OF THE DAUGHTERS OF THE AMERICAN REVOLUTION OF THE RUSHVILLE CHAPTER. Capitola Guffin Dill, Registrar. ABBOTT, JOHN, a soldier in the Revolutionary War, from New Jersey. Reference, D. A, R. Nat. No. 78289. Decendant — Mrs. Inez Craig (T. A.). ALDRIDGE, JOHN, served as private in Rev. War, b. Mar. 1759, d. Nov. 17, 1843, in Indiana. He was in battle of Brandywine and York. Ref. Ind. pen. rolls, p. 30. Census of Penna. 1840, p. 185. Decendant — Melissa Aldridge Wagner (Hayden). AT LEE, JUDGE WM. AUGUSTUS, b. July 1, 1735, in Philadelphia, Pa., d. Sept. 9, 1793, Lancaster, Pa. Rev. soldier, chairman of Committee of Safety and Commissary, and Supt. of arsenal barracks and British prisoners then at Lancaster, Pa. Ref. Genealogical Rec. of At Lee family by Edwin At Lee Barbour, A.M. Nat. No. D. A. R. 46613. He m. Aug. 31, 1763, Esther Bowes Sayre b. 1748, d. July 6, 1790. Children— Eliza- beth Amelia, b. Jan. 19, 1765, m. Maj. Mores White; Mary Rachel, b. April 16, 1766, m. Edward Victor James; Esther Jane, b. Sept. 11, 1776; Jane, b. July 14, 1769, m. Rev. Elisha S. Rigg; Wm. Pitt, b. Dec. 27, 1770, d. 1772; Wm. Pitt, b. Sept. 24, 1772, m. Sarah Light; John Sayre, b. Mar. 27, 1774, m. Elizabeth ; Edwin Augustus, b. Nov. 16, 1776, m. Margaret Snyder; Esther Bowes, b. Feb. 8, 1778, m. Rev. Wm. Wliite; Sarah Ann, b. June 5, 1780, m. Thomas Vickrey; Charlotte Hazen, b. July 13, 1782, m. Nathanial Hazen White and Rev. Joshua Rowe. Descendant — Emma L. Browne Lam- bert, Rev. I. D. BALL, ZOPHER, b. Frederick, Va., d. 1803. Rev. soldier in Capt. Eleazer Williamson's Co. of rangers in Penna. 1778 to 1783. Ref. Penna Archives, Vol. 23; Third Series p. 331; Vol. 4 p. 757, and Vol. 14 p. 716. Ch. were Caleb, b. 1755. He m. Phebe Walton. Dennis, Henry, Isaiah, Abel and John. Decendants— Rhoda Gary Green (T.B.), Emily Gary Wilson (M.R.), Caro- line Gary Hubbart (F. B.), Jennie Gary Van Osdol (D. D.), Eva Ball. SKETCHES OF RUSH COUNTY BAILEY, THOMAS, b. April, 1757, Va., d. 1820 in Ky Rev. soldier, served as private in Capt. Thos. Ridley's Co., formerly Capt. John Holcome Co., 4th Va. Reg., commanded by Col. Thos. Elliott. Ref. Adjutant Gen. Office, War Dep Pay roll, Apr. 1777. His children were — Wm., b. Dec. 1789; Isaac b. Apr. 1791, m. Phoeba Budd; Jackson b. Oct. 1793, m. Mary Russell; Alfred b. Jan. 1796, m. Ladosha La Follette; Elizabeth b. Jan. 1799, Chas. Lord; Henry b. Feb. 1802, un- married; Ruth b. Dec. 1809, unmarried; Thomas M. b. Aug. 14 1811, m. Susan Harlow. Decendant — Alberta Mahan Walker (A. P.). BANTA, ABRAHAM, b. Hackensack, July 7, 1745, d. Ky after 1781. Rev. sol. pri. in Capt. Hugh Campbell's Co. 2nd Battalion of York Co. Pa. under Col. Robt. McPherson. Ref. Frisian Family p. 88, by Theo. M. Banta. Nat. D. A. R. No. 66990. He m. Margrieta Manfort. Children — Rachel b. Oct. 23, 1768, m. Peter Banta; Hendrick, b. May 31, 1771, m. Wil- mutte Combs; Johanna b. July 4, 1773, m. Demott; Marrieta b. Aug. 31, 1777; Peter b. Oct. 24, 1782, m. Mary Vorhies; Christiana, m. Andrew Shuck. Decendant — Mary Helen Wal- den (C. E.). BLACKLIDGE, ICHOBUD, Rev. soldier, a private in Capt. Henman's Co. N. J., Class No. 13, was b. in Elizabethtown, N. J., Jan. 1, 1745, d. Pulaski Co., Ky. Ref. Record of N. J. troops convened May 11, 1778. Nat. D. A. R. No. 59727. He m. Susan Woodruff. Decendants — Grace Blacklidge Spivey (A. v.), Emma Blacklidge, India Blacklidge Alexander (W. A.). BROCKWAY, EDWARD, b. Lyma, Conn., 1736, d. Hart- ford, 0., Mar. 4, 1813. First enlisten a p. in Capt. Josiah Fowler's Co. from Branford, Conn., 1775; 2nd enlisted as ser- geant in Capt. Jonathan Colkin's Co. Aug. 24, 1777. Dis- charged Oct. 1777. Third enlisted from Hartford, Conn., in Col. Martin Smith's Reg. Ref. Connecticut Men in the Rev. p. 6; p. 505 appears the 2nd enlistment; p. 562 3rd enlistment. Children — Edward Brock way b. 1760, m. Rachel Selby. De- scendant, Mildred Moore Amos (W. M.). BROWN, GEORGE, b. Hardy Co., Va., June 22, 1760, d. Milroy, Rush Co., Ind., Sept. 21, 1825. Served as sergeant in Rev. War in Capt. J. Valentine's Co. 1st Va. Reg. Command- ed Col. Geo. Gibson. Ref. Nat. D. A. R.. No. 5213. He m. 84 SKETCHES OF RUSH COUNTY Sept. 8, 1788, to Rebecca Conrad. Descendant — Mate Power Jay (Wm.) CALDWELL, ROBERT, b. Fayette Co., Penn., June 1, 1757, d. Rush Co., July 31, 1845. Enlisted 1776, served three years Capt. Windell Onry, Capt. Swearinger, Capt. John Finley, Col Enos McCoy, Col. Daniel Broadhead, Col. Morgan, Penn. troops. Was in the Saratoga campaign and capture of Burgoyne's army. Ref. Pension Bureau Dept. of Interior, Pen. Rolls from Nichols Co., Ky., Nat. No. 3580, S. A. R. He m. Sarah Ann Fryer. Children — Nancy m. Smith. William m. Rebecca Havner, Elizabeth m. Scott, Robert, James, Mary (Polly) m. Howe, Joseph David, Jane m. Ploughe, Sallie m. Foster, Tabitha m. McVey. Descendants — Uina Ford Black (Earnest), Lenora Alexander Blacklidge (Amos). CARR, WILLIAM, b. in Penn. in 1745, d. Redbank, Lewis Co., Ky., in 1814. Rev. soldier served as private in Virginia Reg. Ref. D. A. R. Nat. No. 73459. First wife, Rebecca Whir- ley. Children — Harvey Werley m. E. W. Walker, Jane Petit; ley. Children — Harvey Worley Carr, m. E. Walker and Jane petit; Roland T., Isaac, Abraham and William. Second wife, Susan Brandenburg. Children — Moses, Jacob, and John m. Alcestis Laughlin. Descendants — Jessie Spann Gary (A.L.), Lillie M. Mauzy (C. A.). Hypatia Carr Marshall (S. M.), Ruth Carr Poe (W. B.), Rena Poe Warner (F.). CARROLL, WILLIAM, b. Ireland before 1763, d. Alliganig Co., N, Y., August, 1824. Was a private in Capt. Thomas As- key's Co. 1st Battalion Cumberland Co. Militia, 1782, James Dunlap, Col. Ref. p. 131, Vol. 6, Penn. Archives, 5th series. He m. Phebe Wortman, of N. J. Children — John, Louis Wortman, Richard, James b. 1789 m. Lucy Gregory; Phoebe b. 1801, m. Peter Gregory. Descendant — Edessa Carroll Innis (H. T.). CASS AD Y, THOMAS, born before 1757 in Virginia, died in Rush county, Indiana, September 6, 1825, b. in the Kelly grave- yard, in Rush county. Ref. War Dept., Adjutant Gen. office. House of Delegates of Virginia, 1834, Doc. No. 44. House of Delegates, 1834; War Department Adj. office, ''A List of Sol- diers of Virginia." He married Mrs. Margaret McGruff Hale, who died 1823. Children— Weir, b. 1780, d. 1833, m. in 1811 to Elizabeth (Getsy) Gruell, b. Jan. 6, 1791, d. Sept. 25, 1886; Thomas, m. Rachel Crawford; William, m. Sarah SKETCHES OF RUSH COUNTY 85 Webb; Simon, m. twice, Jermina McCray and Dilly . Simon and Elizabeth were twins, born October 25, 1787. Elizabeth m. Isom Webb. Eleanor (Nellie) married Thomas Douglas. Sampson, born Sept. 15, 1791, married Cornelia Webb. Descend- ants — *Sarah Crawford Guffin (J.P.), *Margaret Crawford Friend (Theo.), *Rachel Crawford Jones, married twice, Clay King, David Jones; Margaret Crawford (D.A.), Rachel Hop- kins (George), Anna F. Ridenbaugh (Benjamin), Nellie Riden- baugh McVay (W.G.), Alma Cassady Winship (J.T.), Eliza- beth Cassady Caldwell (J.E.), Emma Cassady, Laura Mere- dith, Dove C. Meredith, Eleanor McCann Carlisle (P.C), Capi- tola Gufiin Dill (Wm.), Mable Cassady Beaver (Samuel), Jes- sie Cassady Green (Hal), Mary Cassady Cotton (Frank W.). CLAYPOOL, BETSEY ROSS, b. Philadelphia, Pa., Jan. 1, 1752, d. Philadelphia, Pa., Jan. 30, 1836. She was considered the finest needle worker in America; this, and Gen. Geo. Wash- ington's high regard for her, led the committee to consult her about the flag. Mrs. Ross suggested that the stars have but five points instead of six. She made the first American flag and it was first used at Saratoga and on its first battle led to victory. Ref. U. S. A. history. Descendant — Emma Merrill Havens (Wm. E.). CORTELYOU, HENRY, b. New Brenwick, N. J., July 1, 1760, d. Keording, Hamilton Co., 0., Jan., 1825. He was a minute man — private in the Somerset Co. N. J. militia. Ref., "The Berglen Family," by L. G. Berglen, of N. Y., foot notes p. 228-308-264. Certificate of service of Henry Cortelyou by Hon. W. Stryker, Adj. Gen. of N. J. Descendant — Mary Eliza- beth Lawrence Jones (F.P.). CONE, RUFUS, b. East Haddam, Oct. 10, 1737, was taken prisoner in 1776 and never heard from. He enlisted in 8th Co. of 7th Reg. of Connecticut Continentals under Col. Charles Webb, July 10, 1775. He enlisted in Capt. Jewett's Com- pany, 17th Continental Reg., Col. Huntington. Was in the battle of Long Island, August 27, 1776. Half this regi- ment were taken prisoners and he was missing. Ref. Cone family in America, by W. W. Cone, of Bradsville, Md. *Granddaughters of Weir Cassady, a soldier in the War of 1812. SKETCHES OF RUSH COUNTY Com. Minn, the Rec. pp. 83, 102. He m. Dec. 1760, Esther Stewart, b. Sept. 1743, d. Sept. 1826. Children— Philena b. Jan. 8, 1762; Azel, b. June 8, 1763, m. Kesiah ; Grace C. b. April 14, 1765, m. Phineas Smith; Clarissa b. Dec. 9, 1767; Esther b. Sept. 10, 1770; Huldal b. July 5, 1772 m. Howard; Charles b. May 15, 1773, m. Jane Harvey. Descendant — Emma Buell Sexton. CAMPBELL, THOMAS, b. Scotland, July 10, 1737, d. Maine, Oct. 18, 1803. He was a private in Capt. Geo. Reid's Co., Col. John Starks Reg. of N. H. militia. Ref. D. A. R., Nat. No. 18437. His w., Margaret Dunning, b. Nov. 25, 1740, d. Sept., 1814, m. Jan. 1, 1760. Children— Daniel, b. Jan. 19, 1762, m. Elizabeth Thomas; Mary, b. May 10, 1764, m. Levi Bradley; Thomas, b. Oct. 10, 1766, m. Sahara Knapp; James, b, Sept. 23, 1768, m. Margaret Boyd; Robert, b. Sept. 6, 1770, m. Bet- sey Knapp; Elizabeth, b. Jan. 3, 1773, m. Elisha Crane; Mar- garet, b. Sept. 23, 1774; Eleanor, b. April 9, 1776, m. Samuel Eastman; Susanna, b. April 18, 1778, m. William Hammond; Martha, b. Feb. 18, 1781, m. Edwin Sweet; Jane, b. May 18, 1783, m. Daniel Dudley; Margaret, b. Feb. 25, 1785, m. John Smith. Descendant — Helen Campbell Havens (Walter). DAVIS, WILLIAM, b. Ireland, May 15, 1730, d. Crawford Co., Pa., Sept. 20, 1824. He served three years enlisting for Groten, Mar. 17, 1777. He exchanged with a man named Geo. Walton, March 26, 1777, and later was in the Georgia Battalion. Ref. Genealogy of Davis family by T. K. Davis, D. D., Wooster, 0. See Nat. No. 26556 and 11311, D. A. R. He m. Mary Means, 1757. Children — Daughter, d. in infancy; James, Joseph, b. 1762, m. Sarah Shoch; William m. Kir- by; daughter, d. in infancy; John, 1764-1837, m. Mary McGon- negel; Patrick, daughter, Henry, Samuel. Descendants — Frances Sarah Cullen (Judge Wm. A.), Hannah Cullen Sex- ton (J.C), Frances E. Sexton Green (D.C.). DIXON, THOMAS, b. Conn. March 14, 1732, d. Sterling, Conn, March 13, 1802. He was a minute man at Lexington alarm, also a sergeant. Ref. D. A. R. Nat. No. 27194. He m. Lydia A. Parks, 1760, at Plainfield, Conn. Children — James, b. June 11, 1760, killed in accident; John, b. August 30, 1761; Mary b. Dec. 25, 1762; Eunice, b. Apr. 22, 1764; Nancy, b. Jan. 22, 1766; William, b. Sept. 4, 1767; Charles, b. Nov. 2, SKETCHES OF RUSH COUNTY 87 1768; Lydia, b. Sept. 19, 1771; Fernum, b. May 12, 1774. Descendant — Mary Alice Reeve (deceased) (J. B.). ELLIS, John, a Rev. soldier. Ref., Nat. D. A. R. 75845. Descendant — Frances Davis CuUen (W.A.) FRAZEE, SAMUEL, b. Penn., Nov. 5, 1753, d. Mason Co., Ky,, Nov. 12, 1848. He fought under Col. Bowman, also in Capt. Williams Harrod's Co. in Western Dep. Ref. Nat. D. A. R., No. 29858. He m. 1777 Rebecca Jacobs, b. 1761, d. 1836. Children— Hannah, b. 1789, m. Joseph Pollock; Ephriam, b. 1792, m. Susan M. Domphan; Joseph, b. 1794, m. Mary Ann Cobwrin; Jacob, b. 1796, m. Ann Frazee; Rebecca, b. 1799, m. Thomas Domphan; Lewis, b. 1802. Descendant— Helen Camp- bell Havens (Walter). FINLEY, JOSEPH LEWIS b. near Greensburg, Pa., Feb. 20, 1753, d. Ohio, May 23, 1839. He served as Captain and First Lieutenant Major in 13th Penn Reg., was commissioned as 1st Lieutenant, Oct. 24, 1776, promoted to Captain Oct. 20, 1777, resigned July 10, 1778. Ref. Penn. S^ate Library Division of Public Records, p. 512, Vol. 2, Penn. Archives, 5th Series, Nat. D. A. R., No. 72075. He m. July 4, 1782, Jane Blair, d. July 1, 1840. Children— Hannah, b. m. Col. John Lodwick; Juliet, Michael, Elizabeth, Nancy, John, b. , m. Rebecca Plumm; Joseph, Ebenezer, Mary, m. Joseph (John) Patterson; Samuel, Margaret, m. Simon Chipps; James, m. Eliza Rothmel. Descendant — Frances Fin- ley Oneal (L. A.). GILPIN, ISRAEL, b. Delaware, Oct. 4, 1740, d. Boon Co., Ky., July 4, 1834. He served as Capt. under Col. John Mc- Kinley, Delaware troops. Later served as Colonel and Pur- chasing Commissary. Battle of Brandywine was fought on his farm and house used for Gen. Howe's headquarters. Ref., Dept. of Interior, Bureau of Pensions, I. S. C, and S. File 4297, Rev. War. He m. Giles. Children— Nancy, b. 1778, m. W. Perkins. Descendant — Alice Perkins Caldwell (Fred). GRAY ROBERT, b. Ireland, 1743, d. . He took oath of allegiance to U. S. A., served under Gen. Putnam and Gen. Watta. He served under Capt. Swilertt and Captain Jonathan Robinson. Ref. Nat. N. D. A. R., 41556. He m. Agnes . Robert Gray had ten sons and one daughter. Descendants — Agnes Daily Spurrier (J.A.); Ida SKETCHES OF RUSH COUNTY Miriam Spurrier McDaniel (M.R.) ; Hazel D. Spurrier Swihart (J.W.). GREEN, THOMAS, b. Rhode Island, 1760, d. near Brook- ville, Ind., 1822. He enlisted in R. I. Regt. under his cousin, Gen. Nat. Green, and made the trip between the North and South army overland, passing through the British lines with- out detection or capture 85 times. He served as Captain two years 1st Lieutenant two years 2nd Lieutenant two years, sergeant two years. He was made Judge Advocate and Land Commissioner of Ter. of Ind. and located at Ft. Brookville, Ind. He was accidentally drowned. Ref. Nat. D. A. R., No. 69498. He m. Elizabeth Matthews. Children were — Daniel, b. Oct. 17, 1783, m. Nancy Vardaman and Peggy Bell Lair; Eliza- beth, b. Feb. 11, 1785, m. John Wagoner; Susanna, b. Mar. 7, 1787, m. John Scott; Agnes, b. August 13, 1788, m. Henry Har- mon; Nancy, b. April 11, 1790, m. Thomas Hill, and Wm. Whit- sett; Ransbird, b. Feb. 25, 1792, m. Ruth Morgan; Drusilla, b. Nov. 25, 1793, m. Levi Cooper; James, b. April 11, 1795, m. Mary Ewing, Martha Ewing; Samuel, b. Feb. 5, 1797, m. Betsy Hittle; Lot, b. April 15, 1799, m. Anna Cooper and Sarah Huston; Ascena, b. May 15, 1801, m. Thomas Wolverton, and Stephen Sparks. Descendants — Florence Green Moore (J. W.), Alpha Green Eads (J.B.), Stella Green Rucker (J.M.), Patience Rucker, Lottie Green Tatman, (C.E.), Nellie Green Schrader (Conrad), Mary Brann Smith (A.P.). HACKLEMAN, JACOB, b. Maryland, July 16, 1752, d. Rush Co., Ind., Jan. 16, 1829. He lived in Lincoln Co., N. C, dur- ing Rev. War; served as Rev. soldier; was wounded in right arm and hired John Gant to serve the rest of his time. Ref., Family Record, Vol. 1, by Brig. Gen. Pleasant A. Hackleman. Nat. D. A. R., No. 73985. He m. Mary Osborne, b. 1754, d 1824, m. 1773. Children— Elizabeth, b. July 20, 1774, m. Wm. Tyner; Abraham, b. Sept. 25, 1775, m. Margaret Tyner; Sarah, b. Dec. 24, 1776, m. Wm. Millner; Katherine, b. August 8, 1778, m. Conrad Sailors; Isaac, b. March 26, 1730, m. Elizabeth Hawkins, and Rachel Cotton; Mary, b. Nov. 17, 1781, m. Green B. Lines; Margaret, b. Nov. 17, 1781, m. Henry Lines; Jacob, b. Jan. 14, 1784, m. Riller Robeson; John, b. Dec. 16, 1785, m. Sarah Adams; Susan, b. Sept. 9, 1787, m. Samuel Williams and William Smith; Michael, b. April 12, 1789, m. Katherine Webb; SKETCHES OF RUSH COUNTY 83 Thomas, b. 1790, m. Katherine Alensworth; Fanny, b. May 12, 1793, m. Jesse Webb; Riller, b. June 11, 1799, m. James Davis. Descendants — Fanny Hackleman Ayres (I.W.), Josephine Hackleman Conner (S.C.) deceased, Adelia Megee Mcintosh (D.R.), Sallie Monroe Henley, Minnie Mills Elliott (H.A.), Fanny Armstrong Ames (J.J.), Ruby Amos Strong (E.A. Ja.), Stella Downey Cofield (E.D.), Bertha Nelle Lyons Tittsworth (John). HAMILTON, JOHN, b. England, d. . A Rev. soldier, served as sergeant under Captain Isaac Seelys Co., 5th Penn. Reg., commanded by Captain Francis Johnson. Ref., D. A. R. Nat. No. 16140. Children — John, Samuel, m. Dilly Donovan; Edward, m. Mary Hutchinson. Descendant — Beulah Hamilton Frazee (L.A.). HENDRICKS, ABRAM, b. Penn., Nov. 5, 1749, d. Penn., 1819. Served as private under Capt Matthew Griers, Com. of Buck Co. militia, 1780. Later he served in the ranging force of Westmoreland Co. Ref. Nat. D. A. R., No. 28072. The Life and Speeches of T. A. Hendrick, page 41-42. He m. Anna Jamieson, b. 1754, d. 1835. Children — Abram Jr. m. Miss Hen- derson; Jamison, Daniel, William, b. August 17, 1776, m. Miss Paul; John, b. Jan. 29, 1778, m. Miss Thompson; Thomas, b. Jan. 28, 1773, m. Elizabeth Timble; Ann, m. William Hen- derson; Rachel, m. Judge Pullock; Mary, b. Nov. 12, 1789, m. John McHargh. Descendant — Mary Nesbitt Cowan (S. E.). HALLETT, JOSEPH, b. Barnstable, Mass., Sept. 21, 1736, d. Barnstable, Mass., March 29, 1809. Was corporal in Capt. Joshua Gray's Company, also private under Captain Elisha Nye's Company, stationed at Elizabeth Islands, and private under Captain Elisha Hedge's Company, Col. Freeman's Reg. Ref., Swift Old Barnstable Families, Vol. 1, p. 518; Mass. Soldiers and Sailors, Rev. War., Vol. VII, p. 125; Barnstable Death Rec, p. 8, Marriage Rec, page 4'5, and Church Rec, p. 150-157. Lewisana, New York, Gen. p. 91, Vol. 7, p. 28, Vol 6. He m. Thankful Baxter, m. Apr. 12, 1760. Children— Jane, Mary, m. Smith; Hannah, m. Lewis; triplets baptized Sept. 27, 1767; Desire, b. July 14, 1771; Joseph, b. Sept. 8, 1776; Richard, b. June 27, 1779. Descendants — Frances Davis Cullen (W.A.), Hannah Cullen Sexton (J.C), Angeline M. Yeagf?r 90 SKETCHES OF RUSH COUNTY Lewis (L.B.), Mary Lewis Hovey, (F.H.), Frances Sexton Green (D.C.). INNIS, JAMES, b. Montreal, Canada, between 1756-1762, d. Jumata Co., Pa., Oct. 21, 1826. Was a private. His first wife Avas Ann Arbuckle. Ref. Rec. from Pension Dept. Children by first wife — Francis, William, Samuel, James, John, Elizabeth, Nathaniel, Alexander, b. Sept. 2, 1794, m. Christian Kirkpatriek; Joseph, Ann, Children by second wife — Sarah, Mary, Isabella, Robert, Jane, Ebenezer, Nancy. Descendants — Elizabeth Innis Boys (G.B.), Orma Archer Innis Smith (J.L.). ISBELL, THOMAS, b. Albermarle Co. Va., Jan. 27, 1753, d. Wilkes Co., N. C, Oct. 27, 1819. Was a private in Capt. Thos. Walker's Company 9th Va. Reg., commanded by Thos. Fleming, Esq., also designated as Capt. Wm. Henderson's Co., 9th Va. Reg., commanded by Col. Geo. Matthews. Ref. War Dept. record Nat. D. A. R., No. 59724. He m. Discretion How- ard, b. 1764, d. 1848, and m. 1782. Descendant— Mary I. Cole- man (T.A.). JAMESON, DAVID, b. 1757 in N. J., d. 1833, in Ky. A Rev. soldier, served as a private in the 5th Co., 2nd New Jersey Regt., commanded by Lieut Col. F. Barber. Was a private under Lievit J. Cummings, also a private in Washington's com- mand to close of war. Record and Pension Of., War Dept., Washington, D. C. Rec. in Of. of Adjutant Gen., Trenton, N, J.; Stryker's officers and men of N. J. in the Rev., page 219. His wife, Hannah Richards, d. August 19, 1814. Chil- dren — Samuel, in war of 1812, m. Woods; John, m. Lucy Monfort; W^esley, m. Mary Reed; Thomas, m. Lucinda Cartmel; Rebecca, b. in fort to be safe from Indians, m. John Cotton, Hester Ann, m. James Heming; Elizabeth, m. James Mauzy; Margaret, m. James Culton; Sarah, m. John Lore. Descendants — Mary Francis Payne (Edwin); Sarah Mauzy Mowers (Rev.), Lucia Wilson Beher (Carl). JACQUES, JONATHAN, a private in a New Jersey regi- ment in the Revolutionary War. Ref. and Rec, Nat. D. A. R., No. 61919. Descendant — Ada B. Jacquess. LEE, THOMAS, b. Cortlandt Manor, N. J., July 1, 1728, d. Morristown, N. J., Jan. 7, 1805. His name will be found in 1st Battalion Somerset Co., also state troops and Contin- ental Army. The name Thos. Lee, also Militia Strykus, offi- SKETCHES OF RUSH COUNTY 91 eers and men of N. J. Ref. D. A. R. Nat. No. 75856. He m. Dinah Perrine, b. 1731, d. 1791, m. 1775. Children— Peter, Paul, Israel, Philip. Thomas, William, Dinah b. 1775, m. Abija Cul- ter. Descendants — Bessie Ann Lee Van Osdal (Harry) ; Luna Marie Lee. LEE, PETER PERRINE, b. Woodbridge, N. Y., Mar. 10, 1756, d. North Bend, 0., Sept. 22, 1844. Private soldier New Jersey troops. Ref. Nat. D. A. R., No. 25197-31396. He m. Ruth Huntington Gard, b. 1764, d. 1819. Children— Elsy Cul- pepper Lee. b. 1795, m. Sarah Ann Murphy; 1st ch. Malinda m. Jonathan Lyon; 7th ch. Rodney Jefferson, 8th ch. Monroe Wells. There were nine ch., three girls and six boys. Descendants — Bessie Ann Lee Van Osdol (Harry) ; Lura INIarie Lee. LEWIS, JOHN, b. Lowder Co., Va., 1749, d. Rush Co., Ind., 1841. He served as a private in a Va. Reg., 1777, under Col. Abraham Shepherd, from Lowder Co., Va., later he enlisted at Washington Co., Pa., served as Sergeant. Ref. D. A. R. Nat. No. 31392 and 31393; Bureau of Pensions. He m. Mary Power. Descendants — Capitola Guffin Dill (Wm.) ; Comma GufRn Gray (Morton) ; Bertha Carney Logan (H.V.) ; Grace Wilson Carney (Seneca); Auda Wilson Alexander (George). LEWIS, LEMUEL, b. Mass., May 23, 1725, d. New York about 1816. Served as private in Capt. Jothan Hoguhton's Co. of Col. Samuel Denny's Reg. Ref. Mass. Soldiers and Sailors in Rec. Vol. 9, p. 750. Rec. from Adj. Gen. office of War Dep., Washington, D. C. Family Rec. by Mark W. Lewis, Superior, Wis. He m. Temperance Bearce, b. Mar. 17, 1732, d. May 1776, m. March 7, 1750. Children— Jonathan, b. 1766; George, b. 1754; Richard, b. 1751; Temperance, b. 1757; Lydia, b. 1759; Lemuel, b. 1761; Bethia, b. 1764; Jean, b. 1754; Anna, b. 1768; Rachel, b. 1761. Descendants — Frances Davis Cullen (Jud. W. A.); Hannah C. Sexton (Dr. J. C.) ; Frances E. Sexton Green (D. C). MAUZY, WILLIAM, b. in Virginia 27th Dec, 1755, d. in Ind., 6th Apr., 1837. A private — served in Girard's Virginia Regt., Rev. War, from 1776 to 1780. He was a pensioner, was at the surrender of Cornwallis, at Yorktown, Va., Oct. 17, 1781. Rec. and Pen. office War Dept., Washington, D. C; Rec. in office of Adjutant Gen., Trenton, N. J.; D. A. R. Nos. 16643, 92 SKETCHES OF RUSH COUNTY Married Ursulla Arnold, b. Feb. 22, 1753, d. May 8, 1823. Children — Nancy, m. Chas. Jones; Elizabeth, m. Roland Grant; James, m. Elizabeth Jameson; George, m. Lillian Gren- stard; Sallie, m. Wra. Jones; John A., m. Polly Gooding; Silas, m. Nancy Gooding; Peter Wm., m. Sallie Gooding; Henry, unmarried. Descendants — Sarah Mauzy Mowers, Mary Francis Payne (Edwin), Marian Mauzy Jones (H.O.), Anna Mauzy Moore (H.W.), Sallie Bell Case (J.D.), Martha Bell Grindle (Wilford), Eva Francis Bell Hires (Elmo). MILLER, JOHN, b. Pennsylvania, 1752, d. Rush Co., Ind., 1836. Enlisted August, 1776, for three years as private under Capts. Montgomery, Swearinger and Finley, Cols. Marckey and Broadhead, in 8th Pa. One year Morgan Rifle Co. Was in battle of Borgune and others. Application for pension Sept. 15, 1818. Res. Fleming Co., Ky., and allowed. Ref. Dept. of Interior, Bureau of Pensions, Rolls p. 92. Children — Mary, m. James Hillis; Sarah, m. James Kitchen; Oliver, m. ; William, m. Jane Curry; John, m. Ellen Beckett; Alexander, m. Hannah Morrison; Josiah, m. Lucinda Jones. Descendants — Nannie H. Ross (S), Margaret Miller English. McGEE, JOHN, b. Middlesex Co., N. J., Mar. 20, 1761, d. Ky., 1833. Enlisted in 1776; served as private under Capt. David Chambers and B. Smock, and Col. Wm. Scudder in N. J. Was in battle of Monmouth. Ref. Dept. of Interior, Bureau of Pensions. Rec. Div. V. L. M., File 1230, Rev. War. He m. Miss Ellison. Children — James m. Mary Kenning; John, Rob- ert, Seth, William, Jesse, Samuel, Ellison. Descendant — Mae Bebout Stiers (Wilber). McDANIEL, WILLIAM, SR., b. in Terre Haute, Ind., 1732, d. Vigo Co., Ind., 1817. He served as private in the 3rd Troop, 1st Regiment Light Dragoons, Continental Troops, Revolution- ary War. Ref. Adj. Gen. Office, War Department, No. 1578829. Children— William McDaniel, b. 1753 and m. Elizabeth . Descendant — Alberta Maline Walker. McDANIEL, WM., b. in Scotland, 1753, son of Wm. McDan- iel, Sr., d. in 1844. Private in Captain Joseph Spencer's Co., 7th Reg. Va., com. by Col. Alexander McClenachan ; discharged April 10, 1778. Ref. Adjutant Gen. office War Dept.. Albert ]\IcDaniel. Verified by certificate from War Dept., L. B. He SKETCHES OF RUSH COUNTY 93 m. Elizabeth , b. 1709, m. 1783, d. 1844. Children- Elizabeth, b. 1785, m. Richard Bucker; Harriett, b. 1788, m. Daniel Stinet; George, b. 1790, m. Arzelda Bucket; Alimara, b. 1800, unmarried; Aaron, b. 1803, m. Mary Fields. Descend- ant — Alberta Mahin Walker. McQueen, THOMAS, b. Baltimore, Md., December, 1701, d. in Ind., 1838. Rev. soldier. Taken prisoner by Indians and escaped from them at two different times. Last time was sold to the British, put in irons and kept three months. He refused to join British army. At close of war, returned home, after an absence of two years. Acted in the capacity of patriot and private. Ref. Dept. of Interior of Pensions. File 33080; Indiana Pension Rolls, p. 38. Pen- sioner, Washington, D. C. Was m., 1785, to Sarah Vaughn, d. 1839. Children— Mary, b. 1780, m. Daniel Thomas; Uriah, m. Elizabeth Tanner; Joshua, m. Elizabeth Brown; Elizabeth, m. John Staughton; Nancy, m. Moses Joiner; Jennie, m. Thos. Green Lee; Sallie, m. James Love; Debora, m. Wm. Brown; Benjamin, m. Lydia Dixon; Joseph, m. Nancy Stoughton; John, m. Marcelia Beaty; Thomas. Descendants — Mrs. Mary M. Thomas Alexander, Mrs. Lenora Alexander Blacklidge. NICHOLS, FRANCIS, b. in New Hampshire, Jan. 10, 1705, d. Ohio, Sept. 30, 1808. He served in Rev. War from July 10, 1781, to Dec. 11, 1781. Ref. Adj. Gen. office of New Hamp- shire, Vol. Ill, page 254. Nat. I). A. R., No. 20020. Descend- ant — Sadie D. Allen. NORRIS, AQUILA, b. before 1750, Va. or Md., d. in Brown Co., Ohio, Feb. 6, 1812. Served as Captain in Rev. War, from Harford Co., Md. Index to Maryland militia, 1778-79 p. 49. Aquila Norris and Captain Joseph Norris were brothers; their children married Benjamin and Priscilla. See National No. 89402. Aquila Norris, m. Hannah . Children — Eliza- beth, m. cousin, James Norris; Martha, m. Whitfield Hyatt; William; Temperance, m. Wm. Miller; Elisha, m. Elizabeth Bush; James, m. Nancy Gates; Aquila, m. Sarah Sargent; Nathan, m. Mary Walton; Ruth and Naomi, twins, m. Armstrong brothers; Priscilla B., m. Capt. Benjamin Nor- ris, 1814. Descendants — Leila Norris Gilbert (Dr. C. H.), Leo- nora Norris, Zenith Alice Norris. POSEY, ZEPHANIAH, b. Va. Dec. 1753, d. Hamilton Co., 94 SKETCHES OF RUSH COUNTY Ohio, 21st Oct., 1826, buried in Hopewell cemetery, Rush Co. Ind. Private soldier, promoted to sergeant. Served three years in a Va. regiment commanded by Col. Daniel Mor- gan and Lieut. Col. John Cropper. Was transferred to Capt. Geo. Rice's Co., 11th and 15th Va. Regt., and sub- sequently to Capt. Philip Slaughter's Co., known as Lieut. James Wright's Co., 7th Va. Reg. Discharged Nov. 1, 1779. Ref. Adjutant Gen. War Dept.; Ohio Year Book, S. A. R. 1898, p. 195. Pensioned June 23, 1819. Sergeant of Va. Continentals Co. in Hamilton Co., Ohio, under act of Congress, 1818. He m. Mary Jackson, b. 1760, d. 1839. Children— Nancy, b. 1782, m. Marshall; William, b. 1784; Frances, b. 1786, m. Marshall, and Deeters; Sallie, b. 1788, m. Jacob Miller; Arnsted, b. 1793, m. Kathern Miller; Alfred, b. 1796, m. Stathem; Cecelia, b. 1799, m. Sherman; Louisa, b. 1801, m. Jameson; Albert, b. 1805. Descend- ants — Sallie E. Adams, Charlotte Callaghan, Nellie Gantner Havens (H.S.), Fannie Posey Hugo (Chas.), Nellie Adams Leach (Will), Sarah Moore (Alvin), Luella Posey Yakey (A.L.), Minnie Posey Moffett, Anna Posey Deming (Albert). SEXTON, OLIVER CHAPIN, b. Wellbraham, Mass., 1759, d. Lambertville, Mich., 1845. Was a private from Hampshire Co., Mass., under Capt. Woodbridge in Col. Tyler's Regt., also served in Capt. John Morgan Co. Company detached from militia of Hampshire and Worcester counties to guard stores and magazines at Brookfield and Springfield. Ref. from State Sec. of Mass. for Noah Sexton and his son, Oliver Sexton, ser- vice in Rev. War. Noah Sexton, Vol. 9, p. 421. Oliver Sexton, Vol. 23, p. 194; Vol. 24, p. 140; Vol. 25, p. 194. He m. Jerusha West. Children — Oliver, m. 1st wife Harriet Bliss; David, Jerusha West, m. Benjamin Munsel and Harris Winslow; Earl, m. Esther Preston; Horotis Gates, b. Jan. 21, 1796, m. Hannah Pugh and Lucretia Cramer; Ruby. m. Zelotus Lambard; Ori- mel. Descendants — Lou Sexton Havens (G. H.) ; Sallie Sex- ton Parsons (Dr. C. H.) ; Frances E. Sexton Green (D. C). SHIPLEY, HENRY, b. Maryland, 1759, d. Fayette Co., Pen., Feb. 28, 1828. Enlisted 1776, served different times, until 1783, under Capt. Joseph Burgess, Striker, Bergers, Chas. Ham- mond, Woodward, Richard Oorcry, and Col. John Edward Howard, Levin Lawrence and Dorcey. Was in the SKETCHES OF RUSH COUNTY 95 battles of Long Island, Paoli, Germantown and Cumden. Ref. Rev. War Recs. I. S. C. W. File 6046; Dep. Interior, Bureau of Pensions, Washington, D. C. m. Ruth Howard Aug. 1782, Baltimore, Md. Children — Amely, b. June 10, 1783; Amon, b. Sept. 24, 1784; Henry, b. March 24, 1789; Ruth, b. March 30, 1791; Mary, b. Nov. 24, 1793; Benedict, b. Oct. 13, 1795; Betsey, b. Sept. 26, 1797, m. Abigail Randolf; Nancy, b. June 10, 1820; Aman Massene, b. Oct. 15, 1806. Descendant— Ethel Conaway Peters (W. W.). SMALLEY, John, b. Middlesex Co., N. J., 1747, d. Butler Co., 0., 1838. Was a private in Middlesex Co., N. J. Militia; also private under Capt. Marming's Company, 1st Reg., Mid- dlesex Co., N. J., militia. Col. John Webster, 1780, at Battle Springfield, N. J. Ref. Adj. Gen. office, N. J. Nat. D. A. R., 22668. He m. Amy Sutton. Children— Mary, b. 1770, m. Moses Vail. Descendant — Sarah E. Pugh (D.). SMILEY, THOMAS, b. 1748, d. 1802. He was a private in Capt. Wm. Campbell's Co., 1780-1781. The 7th Battalion of Cumberland Co. militia were called to perform a tour of duties. He was in the 6th class. Ref. p. 475-486-500, Vol. 6, 5th series Pa. archives. He m. Margaret Ross, d. 1828, m. between 1775-1780. Children— Ross, b. Feb. 18, 1788, m. May Abernathy; Thomas, William, m. Miss Groves; Margaret, m. Mr. Douglis; Elizabeth, m. Mr. Parker; Mary m. Jacob Ash- paugh; Rebecca, m. John Gabrell; John m. (his cousin) Jane Smiley. Descendant — Ruby 0. Smiley. SMILEY, JOHN, Cumberland Co., Pa., 1745, d. Hamilton, 0., 1806. The war record of John Smiley is the same as his brother, Thomas Smiley. He m. Christiana Robertson, b. about 1750, d. about 1840; m. 1778, at Mifflin Co., Pa. Children- Thomas, b. 1780, m. Miss Hall; Nancy, b. Oct.11, 1782, m. Philip Gordon; Alexander, b. 1784; Jane, b. 1785, m. her cousin, John Smiley; Margaret, b. 1787, m. Mr. Cohen and Mr. Nixon; James, b. 1789, m. Lucinda Wycolf, and Dorcas Dickey. Descendant — Ruby 0. Smiley. VOHEES, ABRAHAM, b. Neshanic, N. J., Sept. 16, 1730, d. Reading, O., 1812. He was a private in Capt. Jacob Ten- eyck's Co., 1st Battalion N. J. militia and in N. J. Contin- ental line. Ref. Adj. Gen. office N. J. Gen. of Van Voorhees SKETCHES OF RUSH COUNTY family by E. W. VaiiVoorhees. Descendant — Mary S. Law- rence .Jones (F.P.). WALLACE, SAMUEL, b. County Tyrone, Ireland, 1730 or 173(), d. Cumberland Co., Pa., Sept., 1798. He was a private of Capt. Robt. Chugage's Co., 1st Reg. Continental Troops, Pa. He was Capt. 5th Co., 3rd Bat.. Cumberland Co. Associations and Militia. Ref. War Dept., Adj. Gen. office, D. A. R., Nat. No. 62579. m. Margaret Wallace, b. 1740, d. 1782. Children- John, b. Nov. 14, 1763; Mary, b. Sept. 8, 1765; Sarah, b. Oct. 8, 1767; Joseph, b. June 30, 1769; Samuel, b. June 20, 1771; Mar- tha, b. April 23, 1773; William, b. August 31, 1775; Eliza, b. Oct. 17, 1777; Mary, b. August 15, 1780. Descendant — Jennie Wallace Payne (Ralph). WINSHIP, JABEZ LATHROP, b. Norwich, Conn., 1752, d. Brookville, Ind., 1827. He served as private in Capt. Latti- mir's Company, Col. Samuel H. Parson's Regt. State Militia, New London, Conn. Ref. D. A. R. Nat. No. 68012; Page 163, Rush Co. Ind. history, pub. by Brant and Fuller, 1888. Page 320, Cole and Winship Genealogy. He m. Hannah Forsythe, d. 1836. Descendants— Sarah Winship Riley (B.W.); Ruby Riley Crist (C.S.) ; Alice R. Winship, Nell Winship, Cora Winship. WYATT, JOHN, b. June 4, 1748, London, Eng., d. Milroy, Ind., June 17, 1833. He enlisted, 1778, Capt. Joseph Crockett's Co., Col. Abraham Bowman's Reg. Was in battle of Mon- mouth. Enlisted again, 1778, in Capt. Steed's Co., Col. Wm. Heth's Reg. Captured at Charlestown, S. C, held six months. Volunteered under Col. Campbell, in militia, served two months at Yorktown. Ref. Nat. No. D. A. R., 74788; Dept. of Interior, Bureau of Pensions, Washington, D. C; Pen. claim file 16303. He m. Susan Summitt. Children — Mary, b. Oct. 23. 1784, m. Nathan Tompkins; Sarah, m. Lingenfelter; Elizabeth, m. Lingenfelter; James, m. Mary S. Campbell; John (Jack) m. Howard; Jessie, Samuel, William, George m. Elizabeth Utt, or Ott; Nancy, m. Bowling, and Price; Priscilla, m. Rise and Glore. Descendants — Lillian Barton, Nelle Bosley Parsons (J. P.), Georgia Wyatt Moore (Earl), Louise Tompkins, Nellie T. Betker (T. W.), Alta Wyatt Long (F.B.) deceased, Catherine S. Barton Crane (Claud R.). YOUNG, PHILIP, of New Jersey, a private in Revolution- SKETCHES OF RUSH COUNTY 97 ary War. Record and Ref. Nat. D, A. R. No. 76866 and 76867. Descendants — Estella Armstrong, Myrtle Armstrong. NOTE — Abbreviations used in the lineages: b., born; Capt., Captain; d., died; Gen., Genealogical; Lieut., Lieutenant; m., married; Nat., National; No., niunber; p., page; p., private; Ref., Reference; Rec, Record; Rev., Revolution; Vol., Volume; of., office; w., widow. RUSH COUNTY OFFICIALS 1915 A. R. Holden, Auditor Arie M. Taylor, Clerk Newton Newbold, Supt. of County Home Charles Brooks, Recorder Voorhees Cavitt, Sheriff Adolph Cameron, Surveyor John 0. Williams, Treasurer Henry Schrader, Assessor Will M. Sparks, Judge A. C. Stevens, Prosecuting Attorney. RUSHVILLE CITY OFFICIALS 1915 Clate Bebout, Mayor Carl L. Gunning, Clerk J. P. Stech, Treasurer Geston P. Hunt, Post Master Post Office, Masonic Bldg. PROFESSIONAL DIRECTORY OF RUSHVILLE, 1915 Arranged by Capitola Guffin Dill. ATTORNEYS JAMES T. ARBUCKLE ATTORNEY AT LAW Rooms 7—8, I. 0. 0. F. Bldg. HOWARD E. BARRETT ATTORNEY AT LAW Rooms 9—10, I. 0. 0. F. Bldg. CLAUD CAMBERN ATTORNEY. CHAUNCEY W. DUNCAN ATTORNEY Peoples Bank Bldg. Phone 1758 A. L. GARY ATTORNEY AT LAW Peoples National Bank LOUIS C. LAMBERT ATTORNEY AT LAW Abstracts, Loans and Real Estate. 1091/2 N. Main St. Phone 1237. DIRECTORY ATTORNEYS— (Continued) FRANK J. HALL GEORGE W. CAMPBELL HALL & CAMPBELL ATTORNEYS AT LAW SAMUEL L. INNIS ATTORNEY AT LAW Peoples National Bank. JOHN H. KIPLINGER DONALD L. SMITH KIPLINGER & SMITH ATTORNEYS AT LAW Smith & Cambern Bldg. JOHN D. MEGEE A. J. ROSS MEGEE & ROSS ATTORNEYS AT LAW Miller Law Bldg. BENJAMIN F. MILLER ATTORNEY AT LAW Miller Law Bldg. WALLACE MORGAN ATTORNEY AT LAW Cutter Bldg. T. M. OFFUT LAW AND ABSTRACT Phone 3268 245 N. Main st. DIRECTORY ATTORNEYS— (Continued) WALTER E. SMITH ATTORNEY AT LAW LOANS INSURANCE Rushville National Bank Bldg. Phone 1318 A. C. STEVENS ATTORNEY 132 N. Main Street. JOHN Q. THOMAS ATTORNEYS AT LAW INSURANCE. Phone 1215. JOHN A. TITSWORTH ATTORNEY AT LAW Miller Law Bldg. SAMUEL L. TRABUE ATTORNEY AT LAW Cutter Bldg. JAMES E. WATSON ATTORNEY AT LAW Miller Law Bldg. iv DIRECTORY ATTORNEYS— (Continued) GEO. W. YOUNG VINCENT YOUNG YOUNG & YOUNG Peoples National Bank Bldg. DENTISTS VERL A. BEBOUT DENTAL SURGEON Cor. Fourth and Main Streets. Phones: Office 2016, Residence 1525. DR. CARL F. BEHER DENTIST Phone 1411. 116 West Third St. P. H. CHAD WICK DENTIST Phone 1488. 203 West Third St. CHARLES S. GREEN DENTIST 134 E. 2nd St. Phones: Office 1102, Residence 1598. FRANCIS R. McCLANAHAN, D.D.S. 118 West 3rd Street. Phone 1196. DIRECTORY DENTISTS— (Continued) DR. HALE H. PEARSEY DENTIST 103 East Third St. Phones: Office 1798, Residence 1510. DR. FRANK SMITH DENTIST 229 N. Morgan St. Phones: Office 1496, Residence 1297. DR. FRANK SPARKS DENTIST 310 N. Main St. Phone 1233. ENGINEERS WILLIAM DILL CONSULTING ENGINEER Designing, Surveying and Landscaping. Patent-right Drawings. Phone 1201. ARVEL R. HERKLESS CONTRACTOR AND ENGINEER 1005 N. Main St. Phone 1492. ELECTRIC ENGINEER A. T. MAHIN SUPERINTENDENT City Water, Light and Power Plant. DIRECTORY MINISTERS REV. A. D. BATCHELOR ST. PAUL'S METHOD] ST CHURCH REV. S. G. HUNTINGTON FIRST BAPTIST CHURCH REV. IRA D. LAMBERT FIRST PRESBYTERIAN CHURCH REV. M. W. LYONS ST. MARY'S CATHOLIC CHURCH REV. W. A. JAMIESON UNITED PRESBYTERIAN CHURCH REV. VIRGIL W. TEVIS DISTRICT SUPT. OF M. E. CHURCH. REV. C. M. YOCUM MAIN STREET CHRISTIAN CHURCH TEACHERS OF PIANO CO-OPERATIVE STUDIOS OF MUSIC Miss Olive Biiell, Primary, 1st and 2nd Years. DUNNING SYSTEM FOR BEGINNERS IN CLASS WORK Phone 3106 Miss Jessie Kitchen, Intermediate and Advanced. EFFA ELLIS PERFIELD SYSTEM OF KEYBOARD HARMONY IN CLASS WORK. Phone 1021. MISS JENNIE G. MADDEN TEACHER OF PIANO Easy Terms. 833 N. Main St. Phone 3240. DIRECTORY TEACHERS OF PIANO THE DUNNING SYSTEM MRS. LUCY MEREDITH. 516 North Morgan St. Phone 1756. PHYSICIANS DR. W. S. COLEMAN 315 N. Main St. Phones: Office 1045, Residence 1444. DR. D. H. DEAN Corner Morgan and Third Sts. Phones: Office 1025, Residence 1100. FRANK H. GREEN, M.D. Office: 134 E. Second St. Phone, 1102. Residence: 314 N. Perkins St. Phone 1235. DR. LOWELL M. GREEN Office: Telephone Bldg. Phone, 1567. Residence: 329 E. Sixth St. Phone, 1129. C. H. GILBERT, M.D. EYE AND EAR SURGEON Ghisses furnished. 331 N. Main St. Phone 1058. DIRECTORY PHYSICIANS— (Continued) FRANK G. HACKLEMAN, M.D. EYE, EAR, NOSE AND THROAT Glasses furnished. Phones: Office 1119, Residence 1209. DR. JOS. B. KINSINGER OSTEOPATHIC PHYSICIAN Graduate of the American School of Osteopathy, at Kirksville, Mo. Kramer Bldg. Phones: Office 1587, Res. 1281. DR. H. V. LOGAN The Logan Bldg.. 333 N. Main St., Phone 1225. Residence, 520 N. Morgan St. Phone 1423. DR. CHAS. H. PARSON Office:: 410 N. Main St. Phone 1050. J. T. PAXTON, M.D. Office: Logan Building. Phone 1485. Residence: 333 W. 7th St. Phone 1199. DR. J. C. SEXTON SURGEON Office: West Fifth St. Phone 3212. DIRECTORY PHYSICIANS— (Continued) WILL G. SMITH PHYSICIAN Office Phone 1001. Residence Phone 1084. D. D. VAN OSDOL, M.D. Office: 229 N. Morgan St. Phones: Home 3214, Office 3114. E. I. WOODEN, M.D. Office: Poimdstone Bldg. Phones: Home 1683, Office 1394. DR. D. D. DRAGOO VETERINARY SURGEON Office: 125 S. Main St. Call day or night. Phones: Office 1062, Residence 1136. VETERINARIES— R. J. HALL, D.A.Se. SPECIAL ATTENTION TO IMMUNING HOGS. Phone 3308. DR. A. A. MULL VETERINARY 122 S. Main St. Phone 1668. DIRECTORY BUSINESS DIRECTORY OF RUSHVILLE, 1915 ABSTRACTOR CHARLES G. NEWKIRK Abstracts of Title. Fire and Tornado Insurance. 299 No. Main St. Phone 3252. AUCTIONEER AUCTIONEER That Knows the People, When and What to Sell CLEN MILLER AUTOMOBILES THE FORD KNECHT & GARTIN 136 East Second St. Phones: 1665, 1731. AUTO LIVERY AND TAXI LAKIN'S TAXI AND AUTO LIVERY CALLS MADE DAY OR NIGHT Day Phone 1338. Night Phone, Lakin 1719. BAK E Rl ES SANITARY BAKERY T. L. PHELPS, Prop. Phone 2060. 125 W. Second St. DIRECTORY BAKERIES— (Continued) A. F. TALBERT WHOLESALE AND RETAIL High Grade Bakery Goods Phone 1419. McLaren St. GUS WILKINSON QUALITY BAKE SHOP We buy our Flour from Rush County farmers. Kramer Bldg. BLACKSMITHS W. M. BROWN HORSE SHOEING Phone 1415. 135 East First St. J. J. GERAGHTY HORSE SHOEING Phone 1092. South Main Street. E. M. KELLEY HORSE SHOEING Phonel052. 119 East Third Street. BANKS A. B. IRVTN, Pres. W. E. WALLACE, Vice-PreB T. L. HEEP, Sec. FARMERS TRUST COMPANY Capital $50,000.00. Surplus $2,500.00. 240 N. Main St. DIRECTORY BANKS— (Continued) EVERY SERVICE That a Bank may ren- der its Customers is performed by us cheerfully, promptly, and on the very best terms. A CHECKING AC- COUNT INVITED We pay THREE per cent Interest on SAV- INGS ACCOUNTS and CERTIFICATES OF DEPOSIT. No Account too small to receive Prompt and Courteous Attention. A Share of Your Business Invited. THE PEOPLES LOAN AND TRUST CO. Rushville, Indiana. "The Home for Sav- ings." LON LINK, Pres. LEWIS SEXTON, Cashier. RUSH COUNTY NATIONAL BANK 3% INTEREST PAID ON TIME DEPOSITS. A. L. WINSHIP, Pres. WILBUR STIERS, Cashier. RUSHVILLE NATIONAL BANK Oldest Bank in Rush County. Capital $100,000.00. Surplus $75,000.00. Northeast Corner Main and Second Streets. BARBER CHARLIE MOORE BARBER A Full Line of Toilet Articles. 214 N. Main St. CANDIES AND ICE CREAM GREEK CANDY STORE 221 Main St. HOME 3kIADE CANDY AND ICE CREAM. DIRECTORY CANDIES AND ICE CREAM— (Continued) ___^ . , ^ CARON'S ICE CREAM For QUALITY Phone 1300. 212 N. Main Street. VISIT THE SANITARY ICE CREAM PARLOR 115 West Second Street. L. E. WALLACE CARRIAGE WADE SHERMAN Phone 1392 South Perkin St. Carriage Building and Repairing. Automobile Painting a Specialty. Refitting of Rubber Vehicle Tires. CHICKENS MRS. GEORGE W. THOMAS Breeder of Barred Plymouth Rock Chickens. 324 N. Perkins St. Phone 1609. CLOTHIERS BLISS & COWING CLOTHING SHOES WILL G. MULNO $10 and $15 SUITS AND OVERCOATS Phone 1312. 109 W. Second St. DIRECTORY CLOTHIERS— (Continued) KNECHT'S 0. P. C. H. Try Us 230 N. Main St. Phone 1397. FRANK WILSON CLOTHIER AND HATTER. COAL DANIEL F. MATLOCK Dealer In HARD AND SOFT COAL. Phone 3237. West Second, by J. M. & I. Station CONTRACTORS THOMAS CAULEY CEMENT CONTRACTOR ORNAMENTAL AND STUCCOING. JOHN CROWLEY BUILDER AND CONTRACTOR. E. V. BERGEN CONTRACTORS. Cement Work and Asphalt Street Paving. Franklin, Indiana. DIRECTORY CONTRACTORS— (Continued) WALTER REINHEIMER CONTRACTOR Road and Bridge Builder. Street and Road Oiling. DAIRY HALL GREEN DERBY GREEN GREEN & GREEN MILK THAT IS MILK Phone 3149. DECORATORS ED. CROSBY PAINTS AND WALL PAPER Interior and Exterior Decorator. 309 North Main Street. Phone 1035. THE G. P. McCARTY CO. WALL PAPER AND PAINT Phone 1572. 114 W. Third Street. DRUG STORES WE'HE IN BUSINESS FOR YOUR HEALTH COURT HOUSE DRUG STOFE THE PENSLAR STORE Decorating Department. COURT HOUSE STORE V. H. McCONNELL 109 N. Main St. Phone 1551, DIRECTORY DRUG STORES— (Continued) HARGROVE & MULLIN DRUGGIST 239 N. Main Street. Phone 1403. BUY DRUGS OF LYTLE HE HAS IT. F. E. WOLCOTT, Druggist KADAKS, PAINTS, OILS, VARNISHES Phone 1153. Main Street. DRY CLEANERS BxiLL & BEBOUT DRY CLEANERS. Phones: 1154 and 3276. DRY GOODS— CALLAGHAN CO. HOSIERY, CORSETS, HAVENS SHOES 116 East Second Street. E. R. CASADY 227 Main St. Phone 1143. DRY GOODS, NOTIONS, CARPETS, SUITS, CLOAKS, SKIRTS. DIRECTORY DRY GOODS (Continued) GUFFIN DRY GOODS CO. CLEANEST STOCK BEST SERVICE HOGSETTS STORE FOR EVERYTHING IN DRY GOODS, ETC. 112 East Second Street. The History of Rush County Would be incomplete without the mention of THE MAUZY COMPANY Rush County's Largest Dry Goods Store for 60 Years. STERN & CO. OUTFITTERS TO WOMEN 220 N. Main Street. FACTOR, Es^^^^ E. FRANCIS CO. Manufacturers of GLUE ROOM EQUIPIMENT WOODWORKING MFGY., FACTORY TRUCKS DARNELL AND BOYS ICE CREAM AND ICES Phone 1099. 221 N. Morgan Street DIKECTORY FACTORIES (Continued) INNIS PEARCE & CO. Manufacturer of FURNITURE. NATIONAL MANUFACTURING CO. Manufacturers of FARM GATES AND FIXTURES. Phone 1101. THE PARK FURNITURE COMPANY Manufacturers of PARLOR AND LIBRARY TABLES, PEDESTALS AND TABORETS Frank S. Reynolds, Manager. Anna B. Cox. REYNOLDS MFG. CO. MFGRS. LUMBER DEALERS IN LOGS, COAL AND WOOD. RUSHVILLE FURNITURE CO. Belmont. Manufacturer of BED ROOM FURNITURE CIRCAUSION WALNUT, MAHOGANY, OAK, AND BLACK WALNUT A. B. Irvin, Pres. J. Clias. Caldwell, Mgr. Theo. L. Heeb, Treas.-Sec. RUSHVILLE GLOVE COMPANY Manufacturers of COTTON GLOVES. DIRECTORY FACTORIES— (Continued) _ ___^ SMOKE WINGERTER FAIR PROMIS 5C CIGAR VEGA 17th IOC CIGAR FARM FEED BARN MARY POSTON THE PINES FARM GEO. P. SMALLEY LIVERY AND FEED BARN 301 E. 2iid St. Phone 1571. FERTILIZER ___ A. B. NORRIS DEALER IN ARMOUR'S HIGH GRADE ANIMAL MATTER FERTILIZER Office H. M. Cowing. V. W. NORRIS Dealer in HIGH GRADE FERTILIZERS Office: Polk's Hdw. Co. Phone: Res. 1631. FLORISTS ___ CITY GREEN HOUSES High Class Funeral and Wedding Designs Cut Flowers and Decorative Work a Specialty Low Prices and Fine Quality Our Strong Feature GEO. W. FLEENER, Prop. Phone 1639. DIRECTORY FLORISTS— (Continued) GLENN E. MOORE FLORIST Phone 1409. 359 East Sixth Street. A. L. SCHETGEN FLORIST Phone 2047. Belmont. FURNITURE DEALERS FRED A. CALDWELL FURNITURE DEALER FUNERAL DIRECTOR North Side Square Office Phone 1051. Residence Phone 1231. GEO. C. WYATT & CO. FURNITURE AND FUNERAL SUPPLIES Phones: 1019, 1081, 1261, 1733. GAS COMPANY WILL E. HAVENS, Pres. PEOPLES NATURAL GAS COMPANY GEO. W. OSBORN, Sec. GARAGES WILLIAM BOWEN AUTOMOBILES Repairing- Sundries Storage DIRECTORY GARAGES— (Continued) THE BUSSARD GARAGE 0. F. BUSSARD, Proprietor. Cor. Perkins and Second St. Phone 1425. NEWHOUSE GARAGE AUTO LIVERY, REPAIR WORK Phone 1067. Bewteen 2nd and 3rd off Perkins St. UWANTA GARAGE LONG & WINSHIP, Proprietors. AUTO REPAIRING DAY STORAGE FREE East Second St. GIFT STORE THE GIFT STORE Rushville, Ind. R. H. JONES. Greensburg, Ind. BOOKS AND STATIONERY CHINA AND FANCY GOODS GRAIN DEALERS BALL & ORME Dealers in GRAIN, SEEDS, FLOUR. FEED AND SALT Elevator on C, H. & D. R. R. RUSHVILLE CITY MILLS C. J. BICKHART, Proprietor MEAL AND ALL KINDS OF FEED GRINDING South Morgan St. DIRECTORY GRAIN DEALERS— (Continued) IF YOU WANT SANITARY FLOUR USE CLARK'S PURITY FOR SALE AT ALL GROCERIES THEO. H. REED & SON Dealers in GRAIN, FLOUR AND FEED Phone 1079. Elevator on West Second St. WINKLER GRAIN CO. GRAIN, SEEDS, FLOUR, FEED AND SALT Phone 1418 Elevator on Second and Cerro Gordo Sts. GROCERS A. L. ALDRIDGE GROCERS AND FRUITS Phone 1406. 106 East Second St. San Marts and Old Master Coffees ARE TWO THE BEST COFFEES SOLD ANYWHERE We have the exclusive sale of them in Rushville. L. L. ALLEN 327-329 Main St. Phone 1420. CHAS. R. BERRY FANCY AND STAPLE GROCERIES Phone 1156. 234 W. Second Street. B. A. BLACK GROCERIES AND NOTIONS 132 West Second Street. Phone 1133. DIRECTORY GROCERS— (Continued) BROWN BROS. GROCERIES BEST BRANDS OF COFFEE AND TEA Highest Price Paid for Country Produce Phone 1861. 103 East First Street W. E. CLARKSON & SON STAPLE AND FANCY GROCERIES Phone 1501 509 W. Third St. FRED COCHRAN THE HOME OF GOOD THINGS TO EAT 105 W. First St. Phone 1148. COURT HOUSE GROCERY For STAPLE AND FANCY GROCERIES JOHN W. COHEE, Prop. Phone 1150. L. H. HAVENS & CO. STAPLE AND FANCY GROCERIES Cor. 7th and Main. Phone 1176. HOMER HAVENS EXCLUSIVE AGENT FOR CHASE & SANBORN'S COFFEE AND TEA DIRECTORY GROCERS— (Continued) EDWIN KEATON DEALER IN STAPLE AND FANCY GROCERIES Cor. Sexton and Seventh Sts. Phone 1124. J. KELLY, JR. GROCER 227 Main St. Phone 1123. McKEE GROCERY CO. STAPLE AND FANCY GROCERIES West 5th St. Phone 1188. JOHN M. PERRY FRUITS, VEGETABLES, GROCERIES AND MEATS Phone 1624. West Seventh Street. HABERDASHER BETKER'S SHOP OUR FALL AND WINTER LINE OF 1500 IMPORTED AND DOMESTIC WOOLENS ARE OPEN TO YOUR INSTRUCTION 237 N. Main Street. HARDWARE GUNN A. HAYDON HARDWARE, STOVES AND CABINET MANTELS Most Complete Stock in Rush County. Prompt Delivery. Phone 1042. DIRECTORY HARDWARE— (Continued) E. E. POLK FOR UNEXCELLED HARDWARE Stoves and Nifty Sporting Goods. 119 W. 2d St. Phone 1340. JOHN B. MORRIS Hardware, New Process Gas Ranges, Coil Oil Stoves, Florence Hot Blast and Coal Stoves, Anker Halth Cream Sepa- rators, Oliver Plows, Rude Grain Drills and Belling. HOTELS WINDSOR HOTEL S. W. NICHOLAS, Prop. SELLS MEAL TICKETS. SCANLAN HOUSE 0. p. WAMSLEY, Prop. Phone 1120. 113 South Main Street P. A. MILLER, Prop. When in Rushville Visit THE GRAND HOTEL AMERICAN AND EUROPEAN Rooms 50 ets. Dining Room in Connection. BEERS COTTAGE HOTEL BOARD BY THE WEEK, DAY OR MEAL. 335 N. Morgan St. Phone 1168. THE ROSS HOUSE 325 NORTH MAIN STREET Phone 1524. DIRECTORY INSURANCE NIPP INSURANCE & REALTY CO. INSURANCE, LOANS AND REAL ESTATE Phone 2084. Rushville Nat. Bank. R. F. SCUDDER GENERAL INSURANCE I. 0. 0. F. Bldg. Phone 1179. IMPLEMENTS H. M. COWING HARNESS, BUGGIES, CARRIAGES AND IMPLEMENTS 113-117 W. First St. E. A. LEE SPECIALIZING IN IMPLEMENTS Phone 1010. South Jackson St. WE THANK YOU FOR YOUR PAST PATRONAGE AND TRUST THAT WE MAY, BY CLEAN METHODS, RETAIN IT. O'NEAL BROTHERS J. W. TOMPKINS East First Street. BUGGIES, HARNESS AND ALL KINDS OF FARM IMPLEMENTS. DIRECTORY xxvii IRON DEALER HYMAN SCHATZ IRON, METALS, RUBBER AND HIDES Phone 1516. 315 N. Sexton Street. JEWELERS ABERCOMBIE BROS. JEWELERS AND OPTICIANS Phone 1649. 233 N. Main St. KENNARDS DIAMONDS, WATCHES, JEWELRY, SILVERWARE Cor. Main and Third Streets. W. B. POE & SON JEWELERS AND OPTICIANS N. Main Street. LAUNDRY THE RUSHVILLE LAUNDRY Lee Pyle, Proprietor. SOFT WATER FOR WASHING. 320 N. Morgan St. Phone 1342. LOANS A. C. BROWN STOCKS — FARM LOANS — BONDS Phone 1296. Cutter Bldg. DIRECTORY LUMBER JOHN P. FRAZEE Dealer in LUMBER, COAL, SWIFT'S FERTILIZER, WIRE FENCE AND POSTS J. W. PINNELL R. C. TOMPKINS PINNELL-TOMPKINS LUMBER CO, MEAT MARKETS When you have Hogs to Sell, call on H. H. KRAMER PORK AND BEEF PACKER 220 Main St. Phone 1569. THE PEOPLE MEAT MARKET THE ONLY SANITARY MARKET IN THE CITY. Phone 2026. Davis & Lyons, Prop. L. C. SHARP Phone 1310. 715 West Second St. FRESH AND SALT MEATS TRY DOVE BRAND HAMS MILLINERY MRS. BELLE OLIVER COSAND MILLINERY Phone 1495. 118 West Second St. DIRECTORY MILLINERY— (Continued) MISS IDA DIXON MILLINERY AND HAIR GOODS 108 West Second St. Phone 1681. MONUMENTS J. B. SCHRICHTE Manu factors of ARTISTIC MONUMENTS AND MAUSLOEUMS 117-121 Main St. Established 1859. MOTOR CYCLES ELLMAN & SON Agents for EXCELSOR AND INDIANA MOTOR CYCLES Phone 2017. 121 East First St. NEWSPAPERS THE RUSHVILLE JACKSONIAN YOUR HOME PAPER. We Make Artistic Job Work a Specialty. PHOTOGRAPHER THE VOORHIS STUDIO Phone 1450. 122 W. 2nd St. FOR ANYTHING PHOTOGRAPHIC DOROTHY M. BOOTH, Prop. PIANOS BOXLEY'S PIANO STORE , Is Headquarters for the FAMOUS COLUMBIA GRAFOUSLAS AND RECORDS FOR ALL TALKING MACHINES. Visit the New Boxley Store on West Second Street. ADVERTISEMENTS PIANOS— (Continued) 1873 1915 JOHN A. SPURRIER PIANO DEALER A. P. WAGONER Dealer in PIANOS AND PLAYER PIANOS Phone 1336. 305 N. Main St. PLUMBING BEAL BROS. TINNERS, ROOFERS, AND PLUMBERS HEATING CONTRACTORS SANITARY PLUMBERS On tlie Square. Phone 1044. CAPP PLUMBING AND ELECTRICAL CO. SANITARY PLUMBING, HOT WATER HEATING ELECTRICAL WORK Masonic Bldg. Phone 1091. JAMES FOLEY PLUMBING AND HEATING MOTORCYCLES AND BICYCLES Phone 1521. 223 N. Morgan St. RUSHVILLE PLUMBING & HEATING CO. J. H. LAKIN, Manager 311 N. Main Street. Phone 1338. DIRECTORY POOL ROOMS- ARCADE POOL ROOM WALKER & HOSIER, Proprietors. 118 East Second St. Phone 1363. O'NEIL AND RYAN POOL ROOM AND BASE BALL HEADQUARTERS Cor. First and Main. Phone 2082. POULTRY ADAMS PRODUCE COMPANY POULTRY 203 South Main Street Phone 1258. REAL ESTATE HOMER W. COLE REAL ESTATE AND INSURANCE Phone 3252. N. Main Street. JOHN C. FRAZIER THE LEADING LAND SALESMAN OF INDIANA Office: 631 N. Morgan St., Rushville, Ind. Phone 1465. WARREN P. ELDER REAL ESTATE BOUGHT, SOLD AND TRADED. Phone 1395. 218 North Main Street. DIRECTORY REAL ESTATE— (Continued) W. E. INLOW REAL ESTATE Farm and City Loans at Lowest Rates. Phone 1395. North Main Street. MRS. ROBERT RETHERFORD REAL ESTATE PROPOSITIONS THAT PAY Farms, Modern Homes, Loans and Collection. Phone 1451. E. B. POUNDSTONE REAL ESTATE AND INSURANCE Phone 1688. 234 N. Main Street. RESTAURANTS CITY RESTAURANT JAMES WORSTER, Prop. GOOD EATS QUICK SERVICE 110 W. 3d St. Phone 1206. JOHN MADDEN RESTAURANT Phone 1068. 103 West First Street. SEED CORN WILLIAM A. ALEXANDER Originator of ALEXANDER'S GOLD STANDARD SEED CORN Rural Route No. 7. ADVERTISEMENTS SEWING MACHINES— L. E. GING SINGER SEWING MACHINE 233 N. Main St. Phone 1649. SHOE DEALERS BODINES THE SHOP FOR GOOD SHOES TRY THEM and be pleased. BEN A. COX THE SHOE MAN WE FIT YOU Main St. TAILORS E. M. OSBORNE MERCHANT TAILOR 232 N. Main St. TYNER, THE TAILOR 218 Main Street. TELEPHONE THE RUSHVILLE CO-OPERATIVE TELEPHONE COMPANY 321 North Main St. Automatic System. THEATRE PRINCESS THEATRE THE BEST IN PICTURES AND MUSIC xxxiv DIRECTORY TINSHOP 311 N. Main St. Phone 1635. E. W. ALBRIGHT FURNACES ROOFING REPAIRING VARIETY STORE DRAKIS, WELCOME VARIETY STORE FRESH CANDIES, PEANUTS, HOSIERY FANCY CHINA, DINNERWARE AND KITCHEN WARE. The Store Where You Are Always Welcome. Index d] Abercrombie, Mrs. T 60 Alexander, James 23 Amos, J. M 48 Andrews, J 67 Anderson, Aaron 14 Armstrong, Jos 54 Arnold, Isaac 14 Arnold, Dr. John 15 Arnold, John 21,59 Arnold, William 53 Arnold, W. W 25 Anthony, Dr 66 Atwater, Amzi 25 Baker, D 66 Barr, Thomas 29 Bebout, John 54 Bebout, J. H 49 Beckner, Mr 10 Benton, Prof 26 Benton, Allen 26 Berry, E 42 Bigger, Samuel 42 Blacklidge, Richard 15 Blacklidge, Amos 33 Bodine, Samuel 39 Bohannon, Martin 54 Boyd, J. F 49 Brackner, Wm 13 Branan, David 45 Bridges, A 67 Brittain, Rev. G. B 29 Brown, Admiral 58 Brown, Ryland 14 Bupelt, Wm 19 Burt, Levin 66 Bussell, William 16 Butler, A. P 67 Butler, G 67 Caldwell, Geo 42 Caldwell, Jonathan 48 Caldwell, James 48 Caldwell, Jas 49 Campbell, Alva 56 Campbell, Geo 25 Capp, Fred A 49 Carr, Harvey 12 Carr, Harvey W 39 Carr, Johnny 39 Carr, T. J 46 Carr, Roland 44 Caskey, S. H 67 Cassady, Thos 52 Cassady, Weir 49 Case, J. D 29 Chase, Mrs. Geo. A 27 Chase, Geo. A 27 Clark, George 35, 42,53 Clark, John 65 Clark, Elisha 15 Clark, Louis 15 Collins, James 66 Conde, Adam 42 Cotton, T. A 48 Cotton, Jos 31 Cotton, Joseph 22 Cox, Normal 25 Cox, R. S 42 Cramer, Lucretia 25 Crawford, David A 21 Crowe, J. F 29 Crusan, Mrs 15 Cullen. Wm 40 David, John 66 Davis, Ben 2 Davis, Sam 12 Denning, Capt. B. F 38 Desha. Miss Mary 78 Dinwiddle, Mrs. J. W 80 Duncan, Steph 56 Eden, Edgar 24 Eden, John R 24 Edwards, J 66 Eevis 31 Eggleston, Mr 13 Farquhar, Capt. J. H 70 Frame, Dr 13 INDEX Frame, William 42 Frazee, E. S 48 Frazee, Capt. J. H 70 Frazer, Aaron 14 Gardner, Landon 56 Gavin, Jas 41 Gelpin, Thos. A 27 Gilbert, Mrs. C. H 60 Goodwin, Enoch 22 Gowdy, J. K 64 Graham, David 27 Graham, Andrew 28 Gray, John 47 Gray, William 47 Green, J. W 66 Guffin, Henry 14 Guffin, John 54 Guffin, Mrs. Sarah C 80 Guffin, J. P 75 Gwinn, Jas 42 Gwinup, N. H 67 Hackleman, P. A 34, 39, 42, 47, 64 Hackleman, Elijah 21 Hall, W. S 28,48 Hall, Frank J 28 Hamilton, Jos 12 Hare, John 41 Harrison, Mrs. B 78 Haven, W. E 54 Havens, Jas 30 Havens, Rev. James 16 Havens, James 32 Havens, James 32 Hayden, Nehemiah 37 Hays, John 14 Helm, Jeff 13 Helm, Alice 25 Helm, Lizzie 25 Helm, Dr. J 60 Helm, Jeff 42 Hendricks, Thos 42 Henley, Henry 65 Henly, Judith 31 Hibben, Gertrude (Robin- son) 27 Hibben, Geo 35 Hiflin, Reuben 22 Hilligoss, Sanford 34 Hilligoss, Elias 40 Hite, J 67 Hodges, Zachariah 11 "Hog" Walker 49 Holmes, Mary 60 Hood, J. R 67 Hopkins, M. B 22,27,31 Hopkins, M. B 31 Hoshour, S. K 26 Hoshour, Prof 26 Howland, John 13 Hudson, Austin 31 Hutchinson, Robert 75 Hyde, M. B 31 Irwin, Arthur 35 James, Daniel 75 Jarrett, J 67 Jones, W. A 48 Jones, Lieut. J. B 70 Jones, J. B • 73 Julian, John 11 King, Edward A 38 King, Col 39 Kipper, Dr 13 Knapp, 1 66 Landon, Nelle 25 Landon. Jennie 25 Larabee, W. C 50 Laughlin, W. B 2, 21 Laughlin, Jennie 24 Laughlin, Harmony 59 Laughlin, William B 21 Lazure, Miss 23 Leisure, N. J 70,74 Link, L 35, 54, 59 Lockwood, Mrs. Mary S. . . 78 Loder, I. B 48 Looney, Peter 14 Looney, David 16, 18, 19 Looney, John 18 Looney, John 18, 19 Looney, Mrs. J 19 Looney, Geo 20 Looney, Mrs. Mary A 27 Machlins 31 Marlatt, Anna 60 Martin, Wm 13 Martin, Dr 25 Mauzy, Capt. J. H 38 Mauzy, A. G 59 Mauzy, G. W 49 INDEX Morgan Amaziah 11 McComus, Henry 13 McGinniss, J. B 74 McDaniel, L 49 McDill, N. C 29,32 McDiiffey, Robert 31 McMillin, John T 48 McReynolds, W. C 35 Moffett, Rebecca A 28 Moore, Mrs. J. W 80 Moreley, Harriet 25 Morgan, Amaziah 42 Morris, John 29 Morris, Mr 13 Morris, Judge Bethuel.... 16 Morris, Judge Douglas ... 64 Morrison, Sarah 24 Moses, John 32 Mowers, Siddie 60 Mull, Cyrus 25 Mull, Jacob 44, 66 Murphy, J 66 Norris, Bradford 8 Norris, A. N 57 Norris, D. C 57 Oglesby, Laura A. (Wolfe) 27 Oglesby, Jos 35 O'Kane, John 29, 32 Oliver Bros 49 Parsons, Matthias 21 Pavey, Absalom 54 Paxton, Mrs. T. J 60 Payne, Edwin 35 Payne, Earl 35 Pearsey, Wm 18 Peckham, W. L 74 Piper, J 67 Pensioners, 1835 36 Pensioners, 1840 36-37 Perkins. John 11 Perry, John 54 Petry, Kathryn 60 Peters, Henry 30 Phipps, Isaac 21 Phillips, R. H 48 Points, John 15 Posey, Alfred 42 Presley, J. N 29 Pritchard, Henry 26 Privates Civil War 70 Pugh, Ella 60 Pugh, Dr 17 Pugh, Thomas 27 Pugh, Ren 35 Puntenny, Geo 54 Rawlings, Mr 23 Rawlings, Lydia 23 Readle, John 54 Reeve, B. F 21,23,42 Reeve, John 35, 54 Reeve, Geo. W 49 Remington, James 23 Ringel, Frank 46 Robinson, J. T 64 Robinson, H. C 67 Robinson, John 34 Robinson, 45 Rosecrans, Gen 38 Runnels, Dr 53 Runion, R 66 Rush, Benjamin 2 Rush, P. W 25 Sailors, Benj 14 Sailors, Conrad 11 Santa Ana, Gen 38 Sculls 31 Sexton, H. G 13, 25 Sexton, L 35,64 Sexton, Leonidas 25, 64 Sexton, Mrs. H 60 Sexton, L 64 Shaw, Knowles 31. Shawhan, John 47, 48, 49 Shrader, E. W 49 Sims, Stephen 14 Sleeth, Geo. B 64 Sleeth, Miss Mary 80 Smith, Wm 25 Smith, John 11 Smith, Jeremiah 49 Spacy, Oscar 76 Spann, J. J 64 Spurrier, J. H 40 Spurrier, John 56 Steele, M 66 Stevens, Jack 13 Stewart, D. M 25 Strange, John 29 Stewart, D. M.. . .31, 32, 42, 59 INDEX Stewart, Mrs 53 Stewart, T. L 67 Swanson, Ed 14 Swanson, Edward 1 15 Taylor, Gen 38 Test, Mr 13 Test, Charles H 10 Test, Chas 42 Thomas, W. W 25 Thomas, Geo 8, 26, 31, 38, 42, 43, 45 Thomas, D. L 43,49 Thomas, J. Q 59 Thomas, Louis 53 Thomson, Jas 58 Thomas, Uriah 34 Thompson, Alfred 21 Thompson, J. P 29 Thompson, M 66 Thrasher, Wm 25 Thrasher, W. W 48 Tingley, Geo 13,42 Tingley, Susan 18 Tingley, Frank 18 Tingley, Hon. G. B 37 Touts, John 54 Vance, Sam 54 Veeder, Chas 52 Walker, A. P 49 Walker, "Hog" James ... 21 Wallace, Thos 12 Walworth, Mrs. Ellen 78 War 1812-14 37 War, Black Hawk 37 Ward, Beverly 19 Warner, Carrie 25 Warner, Lydia 25 Washam, Mr 16 Webb, Isom 8 Watson, Jas 64 Watson, Jas. E 67 Whitcomb, James 16 Wick, Mr 13 Wick, Wm 14 Wick, Wm. W 16 Wicksham, Wm 12 Wiles, Louis 25 Wiley, James 18,19 Wilson, James 47, 49 Wilson, Samp 48 Wilson, Mrs. Wm 34 Wilson, Dick 34 Wilson, Rich 34 Wolfe, Col. E. H 38 Wolfe, E. H 43 Wolfe, Joel 40 Worster, Thos 13 Worsten, Thos 42 Wright, Jonathan G 75 Wycoff, Garrett 48 Wyman, B 67 Young, Alexander 15 HK 2 79 ^';^% * b?" Sf ^^*'**'''''' "^'"S ^^® Bookkeeper process ^ ^^ Neutralizing Agent: Magnesium Oxide Treatment Date: ^yg ^^ PRESERVAf ION TECHNOLOGIES. L^ 1 1 1 Thomson Park Drive Cranberry Township, PA 16066 (724)779-2111 ' "V.^*^" ■'••^'^'^"