> ^^ ^ o^l
vO' s*^-''^ "^
The need of a magazine devoted to the history of our South
Georgia and its families is too well known to require further men-
tion. The field ahead is rich and the task is big. The South Geo-
gia Historical and Genealogical Quarterly makes its first appear-
ance in a little pamphlet form; its beginning is rather obscure,
but we confidently look for it to grow in size and importance. Our
next number will appear in April.
The object of this magazine will be to preserve and publish
South Georgia history and genealogy. As for the undertaking
being for financial gain, any on© at all familiar with such under-
takings knows how absurd such an idea would be.
We want every one interested in history and genealogy, espec-
ially in South Georgia history and genealogy, to become a member
and help in the task of compiling and publishing the history and
traditions and genealogy of the growing part of the grand old
State of Georgia. Only with such assistance can it be done. We
therefore solicit your membership and subscription, and want every
member to contribute anything they may have for publication, in
the line of our endeavors.
To those who have so generously and patriotically extended
their assistance, by advance subscriptions, is due the credit for the
magazine being published. The following is a list of those so
Hon. W. G. Brantley, Washington, D. C.
Hon. Seward M. Smith, Atlanta, Ga.
Hon. Robert C. Alston, Atlanta, Ga.
Carnegie Library, Atlanta.
Hon. Robert M. Butler, Savannah, Ga.
Hon. M. S. Baker, Savannah, Ga.
Mrs. E. D. Dimm,ock, Waycross, Ga.
Judge R. C. Ellis, Tifton, Ga.
Judge Samuel B. Adams, Savannah, Ga.
Hon. James T. Vocelle, St. Marys, Ga.
Mrs, J. L. Walker, Waycross, Ga.
Judge D. A. R. Crum, Cordele, Ga.
Besides a number of Homerville people.
R. A. BRINSON, ,
FLEM C. DAME, FOLKS HUXFORD, Editor.
J. O. RODGERS,
Magnolia, One of the Dead To-wns of South Georgia 1
General John Floyd 8
A Sketch of the Early History of Ware County 14
Early Settlers of South Georgia — Capt. John C. Lamb 21
MagnoUa^ One of the Dead Toiuns of
By FOLKS HUXFORD
Among the historic places of Clinch county is what is now an
old field and a vacant run-down house or two, about seven miles
southwest of Homerville. To the average passer-by, this old di-
lapidated place presents no other appearance than that of an aban-
doned farm. But in fact, on this very land once stood a quiet
little town or rural village which in the days of its glory was the
only town in the county. Its importance amounted to being the
county site of Clinch county and it was known as the Town of
Magnolia. Around the hearthfires in this little village gathered
in those days happy, contented families, undisturbed by the events
of the rest of the woi*ld; there were no telegraph wires, telephone
connections or fast trains, much less the wireless system of to-
day, and Magnolia was a little community to itself. But to-day
there is little, nay nothing, to remind one of all these things.
Magnolia is no more; it lives only in our memories, and the remi-
niscences of those old veteraans of the gray who are yet spared
to be with us, charm us most when speaking of this old town of
which there is no official record except a few old deeds. In the
same quiet way as a village, the vacant houses and abandoneKi
fields stand and lie out there just as quiet and undisturbed. The
sighing of the pines and the singing of the mocking-bird and the
chirping of the meadow-lark are interrupted only by the occa-
sional fast-moving lautomobile as it skirts the old field, on the
public road to the west of the old site.
Magnolia is no more, and the records of the court house while
it was there are all burned, and the records of its town commis-
sioners while it was an incorporated town are all gone, but it still
in our memories exists, while the militia district in which it is
situated now bears the old name of "Magnolia," a silent reminder
of what we may call a dead town. As sweet as the magnolia itself
are the reminiscences of the past.
When the new county of Clinch was created in 1850, the act
creating the county provided that the county-site should be called
"Polk," and the commissioners named in the act were empowered
to decide on the location of the county site, to buy the necessary
land and to lay the town out into town lots and sell off the lots
o.n such terms as they deemed best. The commissioners so named
\i^ere Benjamin iSirmans, Elijah Mattox, Simon W. Nichols, John
J. Johnson and Timothy Kirkland. Th-y proceeded about their
duties soon after the a-ct was passed, which Vas approved Feb. 14th,
1850. They decided to locate the county site at the most central
and convenient point, having reference to the population, etc., and
in so doing decided upon lot of land 420 in the 12th district. This
lot had been granted by the State to the late John Forsyth, former
governor of the state and secretary of state in Van Buren's cab-
Simon W. Nichols, one of the commissioners, was land agent
in this Section for the Forsyth estate lands, which embraced many
thousands of acres in the original county of Appling, of -v^-hicli
Clinch was a part. Mr. Nichols deeded about 125 acres, or the
southeast quarter of this lot 420, to the new county through its
commissioners, for the purpose of locating the county-site thereon.
This old deed is not on record, but the writer has seen it one
time, which was about nine years ago. It was then in the posses-
sion of a gentleman from Atlanta who was representing the estate
of Henry Bell, who was also a big land Owner in this county in
those days. How it was that Bell got possession of the deed we
The county commissioners proceeded to lay out the town on
this lot of land, and the task of surveying the town lots was given
to Col. Elijah Mattox, one of the commissioners, who was not only
a vei'y intelligent and honorable man, but a skilled surveyor as
well. He was the first surveyor of Clinch county, and the map he
made of the town bears the following notation in the handwriting
of the surveyor: "A map or plan of the Town of Polk, made and
returned by Col. Elijah Mattox, for the year 1850." This map
also bears ' the fiirther notation as follows: "Re-surveyed :and i-e-
corded in the County Surveyor's office on the 8th day of April,
1852. D. J. Blackburn, C. S."
This map has recently been recorded on the land records of
the county, and shows the town to have had twenty-four half-acre
Ibts and twenty-six one-acre lots. In addition to these there were
a number of larger lots making up what may be called the edge
of town. Of these lots there were two lots of four acres each, one
of six acres, one of five acres, one of ten acres, one of fourteen
acres, one of eight acres, two of thirteen acres each, two of twenty-
tthree acres each, one of thirty-two acres and one of forty-two
The court house square is indicated on the map by the words
"Court House Square," but its acreage is not shown. In the deed
made to it by the county authorities when they sold it after the
court house was removed to Homerville, it is described as contain-
ing three acres, more or less.
There were four streets running from the court house — one in
each direction. There were four other streets runing parallel with
the first four, there being eight street intersections. The names
of the streets are not given on the map, but from an old deed the
name of Morgan street is obtained as being one of the streets of
the town. What the other streets were named we do not know.
All the deeds to town lots went by lot number, no boundaries
All the deeds made by the commissioners to town lots were
dated Dec. 30th, 1850, except two, which were dated the follow-^'
ing months. This indicates that there was a delay in selling the
lots and thus settling up the town, or either a delay in executing
the deeds, the latter being the more probable, as it was customary
in selling off town lots in new towns and county sites in those
days for the county authorities to give terms.
The following is a list of town lot purchasers in the new town,
it then being named Polk:
Jesse Smith 3 lots for $101.00
Manning Smith 3 " " 103.00
Jacob Lightsey 1 " " 22.50
Thomas B. Whitfield 5 " " 137.00
Benjamin Sirmans 3 " " 37.50
James M. Smith 3 " " 114.00
Lawrence Smith 5 " " 181.00
D. J. Sirmans 2 " " 41.00
Guilford Lastinger 2 " " 63.00
Charles Cowart 1 " " 100.00
David O'Quin 1 " " 30.25
Total 29 lots, $930.25
In addition to the foregoing the county authorities sold another
lot in 1854 to James C. Smith for $22.00 and the court house
square was sold to David O'Quin in 18 63 at public outcry, bringing
$13.00, thus miaking the total amount of $965.25 which the county
received from the sale of town lots in the town. It is said that
the land was given to the county in consideration of the county-
site being located thereon, and so it will be seen that the county
derived sufficient funds to build the court house and jail, or at
least to make a payment thereon.
There were probably other lots sold, but the deeds are not
on record and we have no way of ascertaining how much they
Of those named in the foregoing list, none are known to have
lived at Magnolia except Thomas B. Whitfield and David O'Quin.
By mesne conveyances the lots sold by the commissioners were
deeded through various other owners to David O'Quin, who event-
ually bought the land whereon the town stood, and thus became
the owner of Magnolia. Mr. O'Quin was a resident of Magnolia
until his death in 1884. He was clerk of the superior court and
of the inferior court from 1856 to 1868.
The building of the court house was delayed until the winter
of 1852. Mr. J. R. Dickerson, one of Clinch's old and honored
citizens, is authority for this statement, he remembering when it
was built. The court house was built by John Moore and Elias
Moore, brothers, to whom the inferior court awarded the contract.
There are no records showing how much it cost. However, it was
a small building and met the requirements of the county at the
time. This building was burned in 1856, the fire being supposed
to be of incendiary origin. It was replaced by another, which was
removed a few years later to Homerville, where it was burned in
1867. Thus it will be seen that the Clinch county records have
been destroyed twice. Both times the fires occurred at night and
the records were totally destroyed.
Magnolia for the first two years of its existence was named
"Polk." Just how it came to be named Polk we do not know.
From the census records for 18 50 it is observed that there was a
family of Polks living in that part of Clinch county cut off from
Lowndes, by the name of William Polk, age 60, and his son, James
F. Polk, age 23, both born in South Carolina. Both were married.
However, it is probable that the town was so named for President
James K. Polk.
For some reason the name did not seem to suit, and conse-
quently an act was passed by the legislature, having been intro-
duced by Representative James W. Staten, changing the name of
the town from "Polk" to "Magnolia." This act was approved
Jan. 15, 1852.
Magnolia was well situated, being almost in the center of the
county. At that time the county embraced all of what is now
Echols county east of the Allapaha river, also all of what was
Coffee but now Atkinson county as far up as where Reedy creek
empties into the Satilla river. The Allapaha river was the line
between Clinch and Lowndes down to the Florida state line.
ThroughjOut this territory Magnolia was the only town.
There was a road from Magnolia to Blount's Ferry on the
Florida line. Blount's Ferry was the place where Col. Elijah Mat-
tox lived and where he died in 18 5 6. A road led from Waresboro
Into Clinch, one prong running by where Homerville now is, down
to Magnolia and the other prong running by where A. J. Lockliear
now lives into the Mud Creek district of Lanier county, thence to
old Troupville, the old county site of Lowndes. The road going
to Magnolia continued from Magnolia by where DuPont now is and
intersected with the other road. This route, leading from Wares-
boro, was a stage route and in those days, the mails were carried
over these stage routes.
There was also a road leading eastward from Magnolia, prob-
ably to the Ware county line. This passed by Peter Smith's place
and on to Lawrence Smith's on the eastern side of the county.
Magnolia was incorporated by an act of the legislature ap-
proved February 20, 18 54. Five commissioners were provided in
the act, who were to govern the town, and the corporate limits
embraced eighty acres. The act did not appoint the commission-
ers, but provided that they were to be elected. As there are no
records of the town government, it is not known who served as
The first Masonic lodge in the county was organized at Mag-
nolia in 1858. This is the same lodge, No. 224, now at Homerville
and known as Cassia Lodge. The first worshipful master was
Archibald Hodges, who died in 1862. Other charter members
were: David O'Quin, George W. Newbern, Robert F. Lanier and
Thomas Aldridge. At the time of its organizaztion the lodge was
named "Magnolia Lodge, No. 22 4," but was changed to "Cassia
Lodge" when it was moved to Homerville in 1860.
Among the first to move to Magnolia was Judge John L. Morgan,
long ordinary of Clinch county. Judge Morgan moved from Lowndes
county. He lived at Magnolia until about 1861, when he bought
a place a few miles south of Homerville, where he lived until his
death in 18 88. He is buried at Homerville.
David O'Quin was another early settler at Magnolia. He moved
there in 1853 and put up a small store and built a roomy house,
where he accommodated people during court. Mr. O'Quin served
as clerk of the superior court from 1856 to 1868 and as sheriff
1854-1856. Mr. O'Quin gradually bought up the town lots after
the county site was moved to Homerville until he owned all the
land whereon the town stood. He continued to live there until
his death in 1884. His old home is still standing to-day, and its
big, open fireplace, big rooms, the attic and all reminds one as he
walks over its creaky old floors that within its walls have been
some very enjoyable occasions where mirth and song held sway
while it was host to the towns-people or perhaps to the "court
John Williams lived at Magnolia a few years after his marriage.
He was married at Magnolia, to Nancy, a daughter of Judge John
L. Morgan, about 1854. Mr. Williams was killed July 20, 1864,
by a deserter, near Homerville, while attempting to arrest the
deserter. He was acting as a recruiting officer for the Confederate
Another of the old citizens of Magnolia was Robert F. White,
known as "Bob" White. He had a boarding house and store, and
lived at Magnolia a few years, after which he left the county; it
is not known where he removed. Mr. White's store was a favorite
gathering place during political fights.
William Wade Smith, a native of Ware county, lived a short
while at Magnolia, where he also had a store. He moved about
1860 to Stockton, where he served as justice of the peace through
Lewis Levi represented the Semitic race in the town. He was
in the mercantile business, and after Magnolia began to decline he
also went to Stockton. He returned to Savannah in 1865.
William Higgs became a citizen of the town in the latter 50's.
He was the father of Mrs. David O'Quin. He owned a number of
town lots during the Civil war, and his sons, Robert, Elisha and
N. J. Higgs, were also real estate owners in the town about the
The following is a list of owners of town lots in Magnolia be-
tween 1850 and 1860:
Jesse Smith Charles Cowart
Manning Smith Thomas B. Whitfiefild
David O'Quin Jacob Lightsey
Benjamin Sirmans Robert F. White
Harrison Jones John Williams, Jr.
Abraham Bennett Guilford Lastinger
George W. Newborn Lawrence Smith
John Adams James C. Smith
W. J. & W. M. Nichols Thomas Aldridge
Duncan Henderson Silas Overstreet
Ziba King Elias H. Tyler
John Brack William W. Smith
A. D. Laslie N. J. Higgs
W. J. Rives Robert Higgs
James M. Smith Washington Dyal & Co.
Solomon Wilkes R. G. Dickerson
Joseph R. Nail Cornelius Joyce
Lewis Levi David J. Sirmans
Silas A. O'Quin John R. Langdale
Among those who lived at Magnolia might be mentioned, in
passing, Solomon Wilkes, Joseph R. Nail, Thomas Aldridge and
Elias H. Tyler. Very little is known of these old citizens, except
Thomas Aldridge, who was a Missionary Baptist preacher. He
served the old Baptist church at the ford of Cane Creek as its
pastor from about 1852 to 1856. Solomon Wilkes served a year
or so as a justice of the old inferior court, while Elias H. Tyler
was elected county surveyor in 1858.
Among the celebrities who once lived at Magnolia were old Judge
Martin L. Mershon and his father, H. M. Mershon. Judge Mershon
was judge of the superior court of the Brunswick circuit from 1879
to 18 86, living at Brunswick at that time.
The court house building was removed, but the old jail was
not, and it is to-day standing at the old county-site bearing a re-
semblance to an old corn-crib. It was built of hewn logs, hewn
square, while the floor was of split pine logs. It was about ten by
ten feet in size, there being two cells originally. The old building
is still standing and the logs it was built of are still sound. It
has been used as a corn-crib many years.
After the removal of the court, house to Homerville, Magnolia
began to decay; its few inhabitants gradually moved to other places
and finally when the Civil war ended no one were living there
except David O'Quin and William Higgs and their families.
To-day the lot of land whereon the town stood is owned by
Mr. B. E. Blitch of Homerville, who owns the entire lot of 49
acres. He has recently had the title to the land registered under
the provisions of the land registration act.
Magnolia is to-day one of the "dead towns" of Georgia, living
only in our memories, and its old-time glory and importance takes
its place by the side of Troupville, the old county-site of Lowndes;
Jeffersonton, the old county-seat of Camden; Holmesville, the orig-
inal county-town of Appling, and other dead towns of Georgia.
General John Floyd.
By Mrs. J. L. WALKER.
John Floyd was born in Beaufort, S. C, October 3, 1769, six
years before the memorable June 5, 1775. He came into the world
at the time when the marked displeasure of the British was cen-
tered upon Massachusetts. The mother-country and the colonies
had reached the point of open rebellion and the cruel hand of
Tarleton was felt by Sumpter's men.
Gen. Charles Floyd, the father of John Floyd, was a planter,
whose agricultural pursuits would have been crowned with suc-
cess had not the Revolutionary war with its annihilating effects
diverted his efforts. He enrolled himself in a volunteer company
known as the "Liberty Boys," ^nd while Savannah was in posses-
sion of the British he was captured and carried on board an En-
glish vessel. The commander of the ship thought from the pris-
oner's appearance that he was a fellow-countryman and asked him:
"Mr. Floyd, are you not an Englishman?" "No sir, I am an Amer-
ican by birth, a native of the State of Virginia and an enemy of
King Gt«orge." The commander said: "I see that you are a, good
seaman; renounce your country, receive your bounty money that I
offer j^ou and you shall be put in immediate command of a sixteen-
gun ship-of-war." Mr. Floyd replied fearlessly: "Sir, were I in
command of this vessel I would instantly pull down the colors now
flying at her mast, nail those of the United States flog in their
place, and turn her guns against you."
John Floyd having parents who knew no fear and whose pa-
triotism was deep and genuine, it is little wonder that he became
a successful leader of men. At the early age of fourteen years
he served one year in the Continental army. After the close of
the Revolution he, although a mere lad, felt the necessity of pro-
viding for his own wants and at this period of his life he laid the
foundation for his greatness by persistent and invincible determi-
nation to succeed in doing well whatever task was assigned him.
Amid the forests of the pioneers his perseverance laid the founda-
tion of power, learning, bravery and progression.
His educational advantages were limited to the old field schools.
Later he was much aided in the acquirement of some necessary
branches of education which he could not acquire in his school
days, by Mr. Barnard Elliott, who kindly gave him instruction at
night, when his day's task was .ended, in arithmetic, plane geom-
etry and other useful knowledge. He embraced every opportunity
to improve himself and his efforts were crowned with success.
After the close of the Revolutionary war John Floyd's parents
were ruined in fortune, and he felt the necessity of providing for
his own wants; and at the age of sixteen he, "with the approbation
of his father, aprenticed himself to a house-carpenter for the
period of five years. Having served four, his employer offered to
release the services of the fifth year; but the apprentice gave proof
of that conscientious estimate of moral obligations and high-toned
self-denial which shone so conspicuously through the subsequent
scenes of his life. When a boy he had promised the service of five
years and nothing short of a plenary fulfillment could satisfy the
requirements of his own buoyant and honest heart."
The ancestral home of John Floyd was burned with a torch in
the hands of the Tories, and he and his mother, Mary Fendin Floyd,
barely escaped with their lives. They fle-d to the woods, where
they remained for several days, and while there were fed by a
faithful servant, "Old Hazzard," who' displayed wonderful bravery
protecting them in those perilous times.
He married Miss Isabella Marie Hazzard of Beaufort, S. C,
December 12th, 1793, and in 1795 they, with his father and mother,
Charles and Mary Floyd, moved to Mcintosh county, Georgia, and
settled on adjoining farms. In 1800 they moved to Camden county
and acquired a large estate. They built their homes in sight of
each other's. John Floyd's home was called "Fairfield" and his
father's "Bellevue." John Floyd was surrounded with the usual
difficulties of an early pioneer settler of Georgia, but hardships
inspired him, to triumph over difficulties. He accumulated a for-
tune as a planter and he worked for the wealth that he enjoyed
and was not dependent upon the sagacity of others to keep it from
His slaves cleared many acres of fine land in Camden county
and the wonderful cotton producing quality of the soil made "Fair-
field" one of the most progressive plantations in the "Lower
In the course of the Revolutionary war, Georgia received rough
treatment from the British, and although peace had been declared,
the conflict continued not only in this state but throughout the
union. The military companies were almost continuously on duty
to I'epel the incursions of the Indians. Massacres frequently oc-
curred on the frontiers, and especially in the southern part of the
state, and predatory bands of Indians became more aggressive.
The United States government was slow to act in furnishing the
necessary protection to the people on the frontiers and one of John
Floyd's letters, yellow mtli the age of a hundred years, tells of
conditions that existed at that time. "Instead of offering a reward
for live Indians the Government should have inserted the strong
clause 'dead or alive,' and then three months would have been
sufficient to clear the country of them. There are many poor wire-
grass fellows in Camden who own but one wife, twelve children,
six acres of cleared pine land, a rifle, a racoon skin pouch and a
powder horn. Their whole 'crap' seldom does mor.^ than to give
bread to their little ones. They depend lai'gely on their rifles to
add an occasional turkey or haunch of venison to their bill of fare.
These poor fellows regard an Indian as occupying the same scale
in humanity that a wolf does, and they go about their daily labor
in the fear of their lives."
When the War of 1812 was declared between the United States
and Great Britain, John Floyd was put in cominaad of six hundred
men. The troops were first stationed at Point Peter, five miles
from St. Marys, but were later ordered to rendezvous at Camp
Hope, near Fort Hawkins. The forces consisted of one company
of artillery, one squadron of dragoons, one battalion and two reg-
iments of infantry, a majority of whom were v :)lunteers. Floyd's
men constructed a line of forts and block houses extending from
the Ocmulgee river to the waters of the .A.labau'a.
The Indians were never reconciled to the cession of their lanas
to the white settlers. They were continuously on the war-path
and soon war raged among the Indians and the white settlers of
Georgia. The war with Great Britain for a time was forgottten
by Floyd and his men, but fortunately, the British did not attempt
an invasion of the state, and so his military activities were devoted
almost exclusively to quelling the Indians. The Indians at Au-
tossee and Callibee were especially aggressive and two decisive
battles of the War of 1812 were fought at these two Indian towns.
Floyd's attack on Autossee was made at daylight and few re-
alized that a great battle was fought by the gallant commander
and that a great victory was won on that cold morning, the 28th
day of November, 1814. The fierce volume of musketry was turned
loose on the town, but the Indians returned the charge and seemed
for awhile quite ready for battle. With equal defiance they not
only used firearms, but sent a flight of deadly arrows through the
opposing lines. The battle lasted for over an hour. General
Floyd and his men won a complete victory, but not without great
loss to the detachment. The town was burned and the women and
children vanished like withered leaves before an autumn gale. The
Indians who were not killed or wounded fled in terror through the
woods, leaving their unfortunate brothers on the battlefield.
At Callibee, Floyd's last battle with the Indians, he received
a wound in his knee in the early part of the fight, but though en-
during much pain, he never left his saddle until the battlle was
over. The ball in his knee was never extracted and he was threat-
ened with lockjaw. Major Joel Crawford's horse was shot under
him and killed in this battle.
"Within a few days after the battle of Callibee the term for
which the army had been called into service expired, and the sev-
eral corps, after due inspection, received an honorable discharge.
But the war continuing, new levies were made and another brigade
was placed under command of General Floyd for the purpose of
repelling an apprehended assault on Savannah. This, however,
turned out to be a bloodless campaign. The British troops never
appeared in that vicinity until the President's proclamation an-
nounced the treaty of peace."
John Floyd repi'esented Camden county in the Georgia legisla-
ture for two terms and in 1826 he was elected a representative in
Congress. A few months prior to his election to Congress he re-
ceived a commission as Brigadier-General in the militia service of
Georgia, and on the occurrence of a vacancy he was advanced to
the grade of Major-General of the first division. While in com-
mand of troops at Savannah he and his family occupied the Telfair
House on the west corner of Bay street. They received "much
kindness and attention from the people of Savannah and distin-
guished politeness from the Jewish branch of the population."
In some of General Floyd's old letters he tells of having seen
"Nat" (Nathaniel) Green on the streets of Savannah, and writes
also in a quaint way of Captain DuBignon and his ship load of
foreign slaves who were never seen to land. He also tells of
having the pleasure of meeting George Washington in Savannah
in 17 91. In 1802 he was one of the committee appointed to wel-
come Aaron Burr to the city. The fifth president, James Monroe,
together with Secretary of War John C. Calhoun, were guests of
the Savannah people and at a dinner given on this occasion Gen.
Floyd made a toast — ^"Our Country, may its prosperity be as lasting
as the government is free."
The boundary line of Georgia and Florida was long in dispute.
Some contended that they were not run agreeable to the true in-
tent of the treaty. Generals Floyd, Blackshear and Thompson were
appointed by Governor Troupe to look into the matter. The engi-
neers made a careful reconnoissance of the country through which
the state line passed. The straight line prescribed in the treaties
had its beginning at the head of the St. Marys river at the point
where it issues from the Okefinokee swamp. They found the head
of the river to agree with the report made by Mr. Ellicott, who
had built a mound of earth to mark the place. The result of the
investigation was reported to the Executive Committee at Wash-
ington and the report ma/de by Gen. Floyd as chairman of the com-
mittee ended for a time the claim on the part of Georgia to have
the eastern terminus of the boundary line changed.
John Floyd was not only a civil engineer, but a ship builder
by trade, and many Georgia boats were constructed by him. - Some
time before Robert Fulton had perfected his steam vessel, John
Floyd's sail boats were plying the streams of Southern Georgia and
supplying the modes of travel and transportation to the pioneers
who lived along the river fronts. In 1838 Savannah had her first
boat race and Gen. Floyd was the inspiration of the races. He
gives the following account of the approaching occasion in a letter
to his wife:
"Much excitements exists as to a pending boat race to take
place in Savannah about the last part of this month or the early
part of next. I presume you will be anxious to know the result,
as some near and I hope dear to you are deeply concerned, namely,
myself. You may recall the Aquatic Club of Camden had given
a general challenge to the Ragattas of Savannah, New York and
elsewhere. A boat has been rapidly built in New York — a speci-
men of their best workmanship — to beat the Lizzard of Camden.
Five hundred dollars a side, boat against boat. Half interest in
the Lizzard has been sold for three hundred and fifty dollar", and
they are to be rowed by white men entirely. The Star of NeT
York by the Pilots of Savannah and the Lizzard by the Marivehans
of St. Augustine, Georgia against New York. May the Devil take
the hindmost. Tell my grand-son to be there. It will be one of
the greatest boat races that has or perhaps ever will be in the
South. Thousand of people will be there and thousands of dollars
will exchange pockets.
"April 6th, 1828. JOHN FLOYD."
The quaintly, written will of John Floyd is recorded in the
clerk's office of Camdeii county. He directed that his estate, which
consisted of a large tract of lan-d and many negroes, be divided
between his wife and children. He also bequeaths "To my driver,
Ansel, for^ his faithful services and fidelity during the late war,
from the proceeds of my estate an extra suit of cheap broadcloth,
a hat, and a pair of shoes and ten dollars per annum and >his pro-
vision so long as he lives." His will was recorded August 5th,
1839, and his executors were two of his distinguished sons, Charles
Rinaldo Floyd (the father of the brilliant and accomplished Mary
Faith Floyd McAdoo) and Richard Floyd (who with great bravery
and courage served on the "AlAbama" with Admiral Semmes). Oth-
ers of his children were: Mary Hazzard Floyd (Hamilton), Sarah
Catherine Floyd (deLaRoche), John Fender Floyd, Susan Dixon
Lodoraka Floyd (Hopkins), Caroline Eliza Louisa Floyd (Black-
shear), Malina Isabella Floyd (Hopkins), Samuel Augusta Floyd
and Henry Hamilton Floyd.
Rich in romance and picturesque beauty there are few places
throughout the Southland with which nature has been more lavish
than "Fairfield," the home of G-eneral Floyd. It has an historic
past that dates back to the Colonial period. The "mansion" was
a typical Southern home whose latch string hung outside and
around whose festive 'bode often gathered the Greens, Shaws, But-
lers, Pages, Mclntoshes and many other people of note. The stately
live oaks that were planted by the Floyds are still standing with
a distinction of age, but the "mansion," like many Southern homes,
was burned in the early part of the nineteenth century. A sin-
gular coincidence is connected with Fairfield. It was not only
General Floyd's abiding place in life, but his remains were interred
on the site where his old home stood — a privilege that is not often
The sound of the rippling waters of the Satilla (St. Ilia) river,
that once filled the air with music for the living, flows by this old
place as of yore, and the summer sun shines just as softly through
the trees, casting the same mosaic shadows as when life, not death,
guarded the portal. Beneath the trees of his beloved home, the
hero of the Autossee is sleeping.
A Sketch of the Early History of Ware
By FOLKS HUXFORD.
(NOTE. — Ware County, created in 1824 and named for United
States Senator Nicholas Ware, from this State, was carved out of
Appling County. It is now one of the leading and most progres-
sive counties of South Georgia. The county-site, formerly at
Waresboro, was moved about forty years ago to Waycross, which
in the last twenty years has grown from a small town of about
1,000 to a city of nearly 20,000 people. It embraces a good part
of the Okefinokee Swamp in the southern part of the county, from
which the famous Suwannee river rises, flowing southward through
Clinch County into Florida. The Satilla river, the old Spanish
name of which was St. Ilia, is the dividing line between Ware and
Ware county was created by legislative act approved December
15th, 1824. It was created out of original Appling county, which
in turn was created in 1818 from territory ceded by the Indians
at the Treaty of Fort Jackson, August 9th, 1814. The original
county of Ware included most of the present counties of Clinch,
Echols, Bacon, Pierce, Coffee and Atkinson counties.
Waresboro was named as the county-site and the town was
located on lot of land 76 in the eighth district. It is situated in
the 451st militia district, vrhich is the oldest one in the county.
The territory around Waresboro was the first to be settled up by
white men in the new county of Ware. To-day Waresboro is a
pretty little village some six or eight miles west of Waycross, the
present county site.
The 451st district was originally locally known as Hooker's
District, although it was known officially as the 451st. Districts
were and are numbered consecutively, thus the first district is in
Savannah, the oldest part of the state, and so on. The 451st dis-
trict was created about 1821, as the first justices in this district
were elected that year and commissioned March 12, 1821. They
were Joseph Dyall and Davis Bryan. Four years later James Ful-
wood and Samuel T. Henderson were elected justices and commis-
sioned July 6, 1825.
The old name "Hooker's District" was probably in honor of
William B. Hooker, who it seems, served as captain of the militia
of this district at this early day. Hooker was elected sheriff of
Ware county in 1828. It was a custom in that day to name the
districts locally after the name of the captain of that -district.
Each district when created was supposed to contain one hun-
dred white men subject to military duty, and each district was al-
lowed two justices of the peace. On certain days of the year each
district had its muster-day, so called from the fact that all the
men of the district were required to meet at the county-site for a
general muster and going through the usual routine of military
training for two or three days. Militai'y training, though in a way
compulsory, was more of a necessity than anything else, and every
settler realized the grave danger of the lurking Indians who were
in great numbers in this section at that time. Muster days, of
course, drew all, or nearly all, of the inhabitants of the district,
and usually ail the districts had the same muster day and all met
at the county-site in one big meeting. Many athletic contests and
other attractions were provided. Incidentally there were many
drunks and fights, although the people as a whole enjoyed the
The state relied upon the militia of the different counties for
its military protection, and the governor was the commander-in-
chief, and could order them out at any time for the purpose of
quelling insurrections and riots and Indian troubles at any point
in the state. However, of late years the militia aspect of each
district has disappeared and while the districts are still known
and officially designated as "militia districts" it is primarily for
the purpose of indicating a justice of the peace district or election
precinct. In Florida the districts are known as "Justice district
The original settlers of Ware county were of a sturdy stock,
necessarily so to brave the dangers of new forests and Indians.
They were God-fearing men who went forth to explore, subdue,
inhabit, civilize and upbuild territory at that time only a wilder-
ness of forests, ponds and creeks, giant pine and cypress trees
reaching it seemed to the skies and to which an ax had never been
applied. Roaming Indians, treacherous and crafty, and many dan-
gerous animals were the settler's constant dread. The settlers
lived in the most frugal and primitive way, thereby inculcating
into their children and descendants the hardiness and thriftiness
and honesty which have characterized them ever since. Supplies
were hard to get and communication with more populous sections
was difficult. Their relations with each other were mutual and
harmonious and each settlement was a little home in itself. In-
deed, it should be a source of much satisfaction and a distinction
to be a descendant of these men.
The first election was held early in 18 25 for five justices of
the inferior court, a court which in those days exercised the powers
of the present Board of County Commissioners, Court of Ordinary,
Board of Education and the old County Court. From the nature
of its duties and the broad scope of them and its jurisdiction this
court was the most important office or tribunal in the county, and
as a rule only the most intelligent and upright men were elected
as such justices.
Sitting as a court for county purposes, the Inferior Court ex-
ercised full control over all county matters, such as public roads,
taxation, paupers and the like. Sitting as a Court of Ordinary they
exercised full control over estates of -deceased persons, minors, and
also exercised the powers of the present Board of Education,
although at that time schools were very few, and only the poor
children were educated at the expense of the state. Parents finan-
cially able to educate their children were required to do so with
private tutors. The Inferior Court, sitting as a County Court,
exercised jurisdiction in all civil suits arising ex contractu where
the amount did not exceed five hundred dollars, and had jurisdic-
tion over all misdemeanor cases on the criminal side of court. The
Inferior Court was allowed to select its own clerk, one for county
purposes and one for Ordinary purposes. The clerk (county pur-
poses) was ex-officio county treasurer. (Note — ThiS plan of
county government was afterwards considerably modified and other
offices created to take over some of the duties, and in 18 68 the
Inferior Court was abolished.
The first justices of the Inferior Court in Ware county were
William Smith, Solomon Hall, John L. Stewart, Jr., Philemon
Bryan and Absalom Thomas, all of whom were commissioned March
2, 1825. They served until 1829, when the following citizens were
elected and commissioned April 20, 1829: Mark Addison, John
O'Steen, William G. Henderson, John J. H. Davis and Thomas I.
Henderson. The latter resigned April 28, 1830, and was succeeded
by Thomas Newborn.
At the same time that the justices of the Inferior Court were
elected in 1825, the election for a state senator and a representa-
tive from Ware county in the legislature was had, which resulted
in the election of Philemon Bryan as state senator and John L.
Stewart, Sr., as representative. Mr. Bryan was succeeded next
year by Joseph Dyall, while two years later John J. H. Davis was
elected repi'esentative, succeeding Mr. Stewart,
The election for other ctunty officers does not seem to have
been held until the regular election 'for state and county officers
held in January following (1826). At this election William G.
Henderson was elected sheriff, Joseph Bryan clerk of the Superior
Court, Zachariah Davis surveyor, and Joshua Sharpe as coroner.
They were commissioned February 11, 1826, serving two years. In
1828 William B. Hooker was elected sheriff, Thomas Hilliard clerk
of the Superior Court, Thomas Newborn surveyor, and Elisha Green
In a few years after the creation of the 451st district, the 584th
district was created. This district was created about 1825. Elisha
Green was elected the first justice of the peace and commissioned
July 6, 18 25. The district was locally known as Holland's district.
Later, on September 24, 1825, Thomas Newborn was elected the
other justice of the peace. Daniel J. Blackburn was commissioned
justice in this district April 16, 1827, and Jacob Godwin, March
The 586th district was also created in 1825 and the first jus-
ticts in this district were Archibald Miller and Shadrach Sutton.
This district is now in the new county of Lanier, this
district comprising the entire territory now known as the
Mud Creek district. In those days it comprised a large
territory extending into the present counties of Coffee, At-
kinson, Ware and probably Echols. From the "History of
Clinch County" it is observed that the first settlers of what is now
Clinch county settled in this district. They were Benjamin Sir-
mans (b. 1791) and his father Josiah Sirmans, David Johnson, and
John, William and Moses Tomlinson. These settled here in 1822.
This district was locally known for a time as Griffis' District. The
following Griff ises lived in chis district about this time (1825):
Charles Griffis, Sr., Joel Griffis, Berry Grrffis and Samuel Griffis,
Sr. William Smith also settled in this district shortly after the
Sirmans and Tomlinsons came. He settled on Red Bluff creek in
what is now Atkinson county. He was one of the first justices of
the Inferior Court of Ware county. He also was a Primitive Bap-
tist minister; he died about 1841.
Josiah Sirmans (mentioned above) was born about 1765 and
•died in 1820 and is buried at the Fender graveyard on the Alap-
aha river, in the present county of Clinch. This is probably the
oldest marked grave in the county.
The 59 0th district was the next one created in Ware county.
Jeremiah Jones and William Dowling were commissioned justices
in this district August 10, 1825.
The next district was and is now in the present county of Ech-
ols, and was the 719th distric ,. It tO(5k in the eastern end of Ech-
ols county and the present ^^aigo or 1219th district in Clinch
county. It was created about IS 2 8. Dempsey Daugherty and
Stephen E. Tucker were commissioned Justices in this district No-
vember 11, 1828. Absalom E. Thomas and Joseph L. Rodgers
were their successors and elected in 1830.
The 970th district was created in 1839. This district is now
wholly in Clinch county and known as the Magnolia district, as it
was in this district that Magnolia, the first county-site of Clinch,
was situated. Before the Civil war Magnolia was the only village
in the county (of Clinch) ; to-day it is only a small farm, while the
old remains of the little log jail that used to be the county jail
before the war, stands to-day as a silent reminder of the old county-
David Register and Cornelius Joyce were elected justices of the
peace in this district and commissioned November 18, 1839. Tv/o
years later David Register was re-elected, and Benjamin Cornelius
elected, succeeding Joyce. Other old settlers in this district were
Felix Bennett, Simon W. Nichols, William Register, Lawrence
Smith and Hiram Kight.
The above embraces all the older districts of original Ware
county. The reader will get a good idea of the growth of the
county for the reason that districts were never created until in-
creasing population justified if.
The first tax collector and receiver of tax returns of Ware
county were appointed in 1828. In those days these officers were
appointed by the Inferior Court and a certificate of their appoint-
ment sent to the Governor, who commissioned them. Thus, Daniel
J. Blackburn qualified as tax receiver March 17, 1828, and Edwin
Henderson as tax collector the same date.
Edwin Henderson served as tax collector until 18 3 2. He served
in the Indian wars under Capt. Levi J. Knight and was mortally
wounded in a skirmish near Brushy Creek in Lowndes county in
1836 and died on the battlefield. Daniel J. Blackburn emigrated
from Bulloch county, where he was first elected justice of the
peace in the 44th district and commissioned February 21st, 1818.
He was re-elected as such justice February 2, 1821, serving until
May 21, 1822. In Ware county he served as tax receiver continu-
ously until 1840. This old citizen held many other offices of trust
in Ware county; the last county office that he held was that of
clerk of the Superior Court, to which he was elected in 18 73 for
a term of two years.
The first official bond given by Tax Collector Henderson was
dated March 17, 1828, and signed by William Smith and Thomas
Hilliard as sureties for $4,000. The bond for collection of state
taxes was dated July 4, 1828, and signed by Duncan Henderson and
Thomas Hilliard in the amount of $2,000.
Tax Receiver Blackburn's first bond was dated March 17, 18 28,
ished the whip over the 'leader's' back; the open-mouthed wonder
for $2,000, and signed by Thomas Newborn and Benj. Milton. The
State's bond for the same amount, dated July 4, 1828, was signed
by Lewis Greer.
Waresboro was for many years the only town or village in the
county. The fact that it was the county-site was sufficient reason
for its importance. It was the county-site from 1825 until about
1875, when it was removed to Waycross, The court house, for
years, is described as a big one-story log house with two small
side rooms as offices; and often during court the jury in a case
would retire to the woods nearby in charge of a bailiff to make up
There were no other towns or villages near and there were no
public roads. Settlement roads were few. Most of the traveling
was done on horse-back. The old stage road from Milledgeville to
St. Marys led by Waresboro, the distance of this road being 237
miles. The fare from Milledgeville to St. Marys was about $25.00.
For some time this was the only stage road running through the
county, but subsequently and evidently during the forties, the old
Train Road was established. This road was quite a lengthy one,
running from Jeffersonton, the county site of Camden county,
through the present counties of Charlton, Ware, Clinch, Lowndes,
Brooks and Thomas, and intersecting with the road from
Milledgeville, then the state capital, to Tallahassee, Florida. It is
quite probable that both of these first mentioned roads united at
Waresboro. The old road led through the southern part or limits
of the present city of Waycross. Various other roads were opened
up from time to time, but the above were the main ones.
Captain Elijah Blackshear with a detachment of militia opened
up a military road, probably used later as a stage road, from the
Big Bend of the Ocmulgee river, presumably where Jacksonville
(town) stands in Telfair county, to Camp Pinckney on the St.
Marys river. This was in 1814. There were no white settlers in
this section then. It is thought that this road crossed the Satilla
river a few miles from Waycross at a point where a ferry was
operated many years, and that the road continued southward, run-
ning through the lot of land whereon the A. C. L. railroad shops
at Waycross are now located. The original plat of this lot of land
made in 1818 indicates the route of this road through the lot and
designates it as "Blackshear's Trail."
From a pamphlet written by Mrs. J. L. Walker on Georgia's
Old Stage Roads, the following is copied: "Few men are now liv-
ing who are old enough to remember the old coaching days in
all their glory; the sound of the horn to announce the arrival of
the stage; the sharp crack of the driver's whip as he proudly flour-
of the small boy as the lumbering vehicle drew up at the station;
the quick change of horses, putting in fresh horses for the next
stage; the interchange of mail and passengers; another blast of the
horn, another crack of the whip and the glory of the village was
departed until the next coach."
In 1824 and 1825, when Ware county was cut off from Appling
county, Joseph G. Jenkins exercised the duties of the office of sher-
iff, to which he was elected in 18 24. His jurisdiction extended
over Ware county until Ware was created, of course. It is noted
from the executive records that the governor offered a reward of
$200 for Jenkins, he having been indicted by the grand jury of
Appling, now county, at the June term, 1825, for the murder of
Daniel Stamper, and having fled the state. No particulars are ob-
tainable as to the murder, although it is presumed the homicide
was maliciously done under color of his office as sheriff.
William Sweat, Sr., of Ware county was appointed by the Gov-
ernor in 1841 as one of the State's Commissioners for the Im-
provement of Rivers. It is probable that these commissioners had
charge of the improvement of rivers, the regulation of ferries, etc.
His bond, dated July 15, 1841, was signed by George B. William-
son, G. W. Waldron, James Robertson, Thomas Hilliard, Randal
McDonald, Ebenezer Harris and Jacob Highsmith as sureties;
James Fulwood, long a figure in Ware county political life, was
appointed by the Governor as one of the Quartermasters of the
State Militia. His bond as such, dated April 23, 1842, is signed
by Banner Thomas and Randal McDonald as sureties, in amount
As stated, James Fulwood was long a political figure of Ware
county. He held many offices of public trust artd became an ex-
tensive land owner in the original county of Appling. This land
was bought from the State through the land lotteries operated by
the State at Milledgeville. His name has therefore become widely
known through this section, along with the names of other great
land-owners, such as Thomas Hilliard, Elijah Mattox and Simon
W. Nichols. Mr. Fulwood was bom in North Carolina in 17 87.
His wife's name was Mary, and they had no children, most of his
property going to his nephews, the sons of his sister, Pollie Hen-
derson, and her husband, John S. Henderson. These nephews were
William, John and Randal Henderson. Mr. Fulwood served as rep-
resentative from Ware county in the legislature, 1827 to 1835,
1836 to 1839 and 1841 to 1843. He was also elected a justice of
the Inferior Court in 1833, 1837, 1841, 1849 and 1853. He also
served several years as a justice of the peace. He died about 1874,
survived by his widow.
Early Settlers of South Georgia*
CAPT. JOHN C. LAMB, C. S. A., AND HIS FAMILY.
Among the early settlers of Mllltown and what is now Lanier
county, were William Lamb and his family. He was a native of
North Carolina, where his family lived near Raleigh. Coming here
they settled and lived until the death of the elder Lamh, on the
present farm of Nathan Lavejoy, near Milltown.
Mr. Lamb was twice married. By his first wife, whose name is
unknown to the writer at present, were born the following children:
Aaron, who remained in North Carolina; Julia, who married a Dr.
Hale and who likewise remained in her native state; and Cath-
erine, who married John Carroll of this section.
It seems that the first Mrs. Lamb died in North Carolina, and
before leaving there, Mr. Lamb married his second wife, Margaret
Carroll, who was a sister to Jesse and James Carroll, early citizens
of this county. To this union were born:
John C. Lamb, who married Satira Lovejoy.
Edward Lamb, who married Henrietta Griffin, a sister of the late
William H. Griffin of Valdosta.
William Lamb, Jr., who married Mrs. Mary Knight, a widow, and
daughter of Jesse Carroll.
Ann Lamb, who married Dougal McDonald.
Lizzie Lamb, who married Daniel McDonald. These two McDon-
alds were twin brothers
The Carrolls were likewise from North Carolina, near Wilming-
John C. Lamb, as stated above, married Satira Lovejoy, a
daughter of James L. Lovejoy of Clinch county. Mr. Lamb owned
and ran a store in Milltown previous to the Civil war, and when
the war came on he was one of the first to volunteer for the con-
flict, joining a company which was raised and organized at Mill-
town in 1861. This company was designated as Company "K,"
29th Georgia Regiment, and Mr. Lamb was elected its first captain.
At a re-organization of thecompany, held a few months later, Capt.
Lamb was promoted to major of his regiment, and Thomas S. Wiley
succeeded him, as captain. This company took part in all the bat-
tles of the western wing of the Confederate army, which suffered
much in the Mississippi campaign of 1864. In the battle at or near
Jackson, Miss., Major Lamb was killed.
During the war, Mrs. Lamb stayed with her parents, at their
home in the Stockton district of Clinch county. To Major and Mrs.
Lamb were born only one child, who was Lillian Eugenia, who
married the late Hampton Howell of Milltown and who now re-
sides in Milltown. Among Mr. and Mrs. Howell's children are
Will H. Howell, clerk of the superior court of Lanier county, and
Hamp Howell, Jr., who is postmaster at Milltown.
A few years after the close of the Civil war Mrs. Lamb married
Robert Stafford Holzendorf, who had emigrated to Clinch county
with his father, Alexander Holzendorf, and located at Stockton du-
ring the war. The Holzendorfs were members of an old Camden
county family, who had lived there since the days of the Revolu-
tion. Alexander Holzendorf and his family "refugeed" as it was
known, from Camden to Clinch on account of the exposed danger
of Camden county to the enemy during the war.
To Mr. and Mrs. Holzendorf were born four children, viz.:
James A. Holzendorf, who married Hattie Phillips, daughter of
Wm. S. Phillips of Stockton. Mr. Holzendorf is and has been
railroad agent at Stockton a number of years.
Robert Holzendorf, Jr., who married Elizabeth Williams of Green-
wood, S. C, and who at present lives at Norfolk, Va.
A. M. Holzendorf of Waycross, who first married Mamie Penland,
and she died, leaving a son, Algeron; and the second wife was
Lula, a daughter of Jasper Roberts of Echols county.
John L. Holzendorf, who married Stella Carter, daughter of Irving
Carter, and who died in Milltown about ten years ago.
The elder William Lamb and his wife died near Milltown du-
ring the. latter part of the Civil war and are buried in Milltown in
the old cemetery.
INDEX TO CONTENTS
Sketch of the Pearly Hitsory of Lowndes County 1
Marriage Licenses, Wayne County, 1809 to 1850 8
Graves, Burnt Churcli Cemetery, Lanier County 19
Early Settlers oT South Georgia Gleaned from Grand Juries 21
Some Ware County History 24
Irwin County History 27
Historical and Genealogical Notes and Queries 33
Graves, Old Town Cemetery, Milltown, Ga 38
Early Settlers of Clinch County _ 39
A Sketch of the Early History of
Loiundes County, Georgia
(We are indebted chiefly to Mrs. Hortense W. Baker, of Valdosta,
for the data given below. Her interesting sketches on the early-
history of Lowndes county iJublished in a recent issue of the "Val-
dosta Times" are valuable.)
The lands v/hich now comprise Lowndes county were originally
a part of Irwin county and Avere ceded by the Indians through a
treaty made at Fort Jackson, August 9th, 1814. This was the
same treaty whereby the lands now comprising Ware county (men-
tioned in the last iosue of this magazine) were ceded.
Irwin county was created by the same legislature which created
Appling county, the particular act being approved Dec. 15, 1818.
Appling and Irwin counties are the parent counties of practically
all Southeast Georgia,
In 1821, four settlers moved to what is nov*^ Lowndes county. It
was then a v/ilderness and they were the first settlers of the present
county of Lowndes. These settlers were James Rountree, Lawrence
Folsom, Drew Vickers and Alfred Belote and their families.
Numbers of other settlers soon followed these, and by 1825 it
had beco.iG sufficiently populated to petition the legislature for
the creation of a new county. By an act approved Dec. 23rd, 1825,
Lowndes county was created and carved out of Irwin county.
As is well known, the county was named for Hon. William
Lowndes, a distinguished state.sman of South Carolina.
At the time of its creation, the county was sixty-two miles long,
north and south, and forty miles wide, east and west. It contained
2080 miles, and was bounded on the north by Irwin county, on the
east by Ware, en the South by the State of Florida and on the
v/est by Thomas county.
After the creation of the new county, the matter of holding court
and having elections was to be decided. For the first few times,
court and elections v/ere held at the home of Sion Hall, one of the
well known residents of the county. The first court held in the
county was on a log in a section which is now in Brooks county.
This was early in the year 18 26. The next year court was held
at the home of Franklin Rountree, and in 18 2 8 tho village of Frank-
linville was founded and made county-site.
The first officers of the county v/ere not elected until May, 1826,
at which time the following were elected and commissioned on May,
29lh, 1826; William Hancock, sheriff; Samuel M. Clyatt, sur-
veyor; Henry Blair, clerk of the Superior and Inferior courts, and
Malachi Monk, coroner. The first state senator from Lowndes was
William A. Knight and the first representative was Jonathan Knight.
In 18 28 Malachi Monk was elected sheriff, William Smith clerk
of the Superior and Inferior courts, Samuel M. Clyatt re-elected
surveyor, William Blair state senator and Jesse Carter representa-
tive. Randal Folsom succeeded William Blair as senator the fol-
lowing year while Benjamin Simians was elected representative.
As stated above, the first town was named Pranklinville and was
made the county -site in 18 28. It was located a few miles east of
the present town of Hahira, and was made up of only a few small
houses and a store or two where the settlers came together to do
a bit of exchanging goods and where they met and talked of matters
in general. However, they v/ere forced to do most of their trading
at Tallahassee, Fla., St. Marks and Newport. The county-site re-
mained at Franklinville until 1833, when it was changed to
Lowndesville, a small settlement about a mile above the junction
of the Little and Withlacoochee rivers. The town's name was a
few years later changed to Troupeville and as such continued until
1859, when the court house and most of the other buildings there
were removed to the new county-seat, Valdosta, on the railroad.
Troupville grew rapidly and soon became a prosperous little vil-
lage. Stores, residences, mechanics' shops, churches and a court
house were soon built, and the town soon came to be the principal
trading center of this section. In 1842 there were about 500 people
inhabitants of the town, and there were two churches, the Metho-
dist and the Baptist. The Baptist church was constituted June 21st,
1840, with James O. Goldwire, Rev. Alexander Mosely, Marion C.
Goldwire and "Old Monday," a slave of James O. Goldwire, as its
charter members. In 1861 this church was moved to Valdosta.
The only newspaper published at that time in this section of the
rtate was "The South Georgia Watchman." It became the official
organ of not only Lowndes but of Ware, Clinch and other counties.
Col. Leonoreon de Lyon was the able editor of the paper. It was
decidedly Whig in its politics and played no small part in the
campaigns of its day.
Troupville was incorporated by an act of the legislature approved
December 14th, 1837, and the following commissioners were named
to govern the town until an election could be had: Jonathan
Knight, Sr., Jared Johnson, K. Jameson, Francis H. McCall and
In "White's Statistics," published by Dr. White in 1849, the
statement is made that there were still standing near Troupville
at that time, the ruins of an old town whose oirgin probably dated
back to prehistoric times. Large live oaks were flourishing and
the idea of spontaneous growth was precluded by the straight and
uniform rows in which the trees were planted, but who could have
set them out is a mystery. No one in Troupville at that time could
Near Troupville, was a sparkling spring called "Morgan's Spring."
It was only a short distance from the public road and near the
bridge which the stage crossed in going over the Withlacoochee
river. As the Morgans lived near the spring, it was called Morgan's
Spring, and it was famed far and wide for its purity and refresh-
ing qualities. The passengers on the old stage coaches always
wanted to get out and see the noted spring and many refreshed
themselves with its cooling waters.
In 1845 the first census of the county was taken and it was
found to have 4,475 white people and 1662 slaves. There were
also several saw mills run by water-power, rice mills, grist mills
and a good many stores. The taxable property was well over two
As above stated, the county seat remained at Troupville until
1859, when it was removed to the present town or city of Valdosta.
It was on July 4th of that year that the first train over the new
railroad and the first train ever in that station, came over the new
road to the then terminus of the road now known as Valdosta. The
event had been announced weeks in advance and monstrous prepa-
rations had been made to make the date a gala occasion. A bar-
becue dinner was prepared and crowds gathered from the entire
section to take part in the demonstration. As the crowds watched
and waited, the train came putting down the track and many a spec-
tator felt his or her knees give way and an almost irresistible desire
to run seized many of them, for this was the first train most of
them had ever seen.
When the people of Troupville saw that the railroad was going
to miss their town by some three or four miles, they began discus-
sion about the removal of the county-seat to a point on the new
road. There had been some discussion when the building of the
road was first commenced out of Savannah, but when it was defi-
nitely seen that it would miss Troupville, residents of the town
voted to move the town to the railroad, always keeping before them
the progress of their town and the good of the county.
The railroad was in process of building when residents of Troup-
ville began to move. William Smith, one of the pioneers, and
known as "Uncle Billy" Smith, the day the deed was signed by Mr.
Wisenbaker giving the railroad six acres of land on which to build
the first station, tore off the Vv^ing of his hotel at Troupville and
moved it to Valdosta, where he operated his hotel several years.
The first house moved to the new town was owned by Judge Pee-
ples and it was rolled from Troupville to Valdosta, being placed on
pillars on the lot on Troup street where it now stands. Several
other houses were also moved bodily and some few of them are yet
standing. In a few weeks time Troupville as a town was no more.
As is generally known, Valdosta received its name from the plan-
tation of Governor George M. Troup in Laurens county. In select-
ing the name, the residents of the new town still remembered the
old General, and it was decided not to name the new town Troup-
ville, as that would take away some of the sentiment attached to
the old town. Several names were suggested, but it remained for
Col. de Lyon, the editor of the "Watchman," to have the honor of
suggesting the name which was definitely adopted. The name
"Valdosta" was acceptable from a standpoint of euphony as well
Valdosta Vv'as selected as the county-site by four commissioners
who were appointed for that purpose by an act of the legislature
assented to Nov. 21st, 1859. These commissioners were James
Harrell, Dennis Worthington, John R. Stapler and William H.
Goldwire. The town was subsequently incorporated by an act of
the legislature approved Dec. 7th, 1860, and was located on 140
acres of lot of land 62 in the 11th district of Lowndes county.
The Indians were a source of constant dread and trouble to the
white settlers. The last war with the Indians in this section was
in 183 6-183 8 when the Indians were removed west. Part of them
chose to go to Florida, where they joined the Seminoles. The last
battle of any consequence occurred at Brushy Creek in the south-
west part of the county, July 10th, 1936. The following narrative
of an engagement with the Indians is given by Bryan J. Roberts,
a wealthy pioneer citizen of the county:
"Sometime in the fall of 1836 a squad of Indians raided the
home of Mr. William Parker, not far from where Milltown now is.
They carried his feather beds out in the yard, cut them open, emptied
the feathers and appropriated the ticks. They also robbed him of
provisions, clothing and money in the sum of $308. Capt. Levi J.
Knight, in whose command Mr. Roberts was, was scon en trail of
the squad and overtook them near the Allapaha river, not far from
the Gaskins mill-pond. The sun was just rising when the gallant
company opened fire on the savages. A lively fight ensued, soon
terminating in the utter rout of the Indians, who threw their guns
and plunder into the river and jumped in after them. A few were
killed and a number wounded. One Indian was armed with a fine
shotgun. This he threw into the river. He also tried to throw a
shot-bag into the stream, but it caught in the limb of a tree and
suspended over the water. Strange to say, it contained Mr. Par-
keer's money, every cent of which was recovered. The fine shot-
guu was fished out of the river and later sold for $40, a tremendous
price for a gun ia those days.
"Having driven the Indians from the dense swamp beyond the
river, Capt. Knight marched his company as rapidly as possible in
the direction of Brushy Creek in the southwest part of the county.
In the distance they heard a volley of small arms. On arrival they
found that a battle had already been fought and the volley was
only a last tribute of respect over the grave of a comrade-in-arms,
Pennywell Folson. Mr. Robert Parrish, who later became quite
prominent and lived near Adel, had his arm broken in this fight.
Edwin Henderson was mortally wounded and died near the battle-
field, and there were two others killed. The battle was fought in
a swamp, where Indian cunning was pitted against Anglo-Saxon
courage, and in five minutes after the engagement opened, there
was not a live redskin to be seeen."*
Capt. Levi J. Knight commanded the troops in this section as
major and colonel.** The company mentioned above to which Mr.
Roberts belonged was on duty 105 days, and was engaged in two
bloody fights with the Indians.
♦Georgia Landmarks, by Knight, Vol. 1. p. 596.
** History of Clinch County, by Huxford, p. 13.
Dr. White mentions in his White's Statistics, in 18 50, the fol-
lowing original settlers of Lowndes: Rev. William A. Knight,
Benjamin Sirmans, Bani Boyd, William Smith, John Bryan, Jacob
Bryan, John J. Underwood, Henry Parrish, Fisher Gaskins, Jesse
Carter, .H. Colson, J. Jemison, J. Hall, S. Hall, G. Hall, John Hill,
Rev. Mr. Alberton, James D. Shanks, James Matthews, Samuel E.
Swilly, Major Simmons, William Dias, John Dias, William McMul-
lin, Francis Rountree, Jesse Goodman, Captain Burnett, L. Roberts,
Captain Bell and Jesse Lee.
In addition to these might be mentioned William Peters, who was
a soldier of the Revolution, and who was granted a Federal pen-
sion in 1846 while a resident of Lowndes. His descendants are to-
day to be found in this county.
Rev. William A. Knight, mentioned above, was the ancestor of
the Knights of this section, most of his -descendants of that name
now living in Berrien and Lanier counties. He came to Lowndes
from Wayne county. He was born Feb. 8th, 1778, and died Dec.
8, 1859, and together with his wife, is buried at Burnt Church on
the Alapaha river, in Lanier county.
Jesse Lee, mentioned above, together with his brother Joshua
Lee, settled in this section about 1820. Jesse Lee was born in 1780
In South Carolina, and had a large family, and to-day his de-
scendants are very numerous in Lanier and Berrien counties.
Joshua Lee, his brother, settled where Milltown now is, and began
the construction of the now famous Banks Pond, in 1821. He
employed a big number of slaves besides free labor on the job.
After he sold it in 1848 to William Lastinger, the new owner con-
siderably enlarged the pond. Joshua Lee was born in 1782 and
his wife's name was Martha Ford, a native of North Carolina. They
had several children, whose descendants are to-day numerous in
Clinch, Lanier and Berrien counties. Joshua Lee moved to Clinch
from Milltown in 1848, and died at his home near Prospect church
in that county in 1856.
John Mathis was another old settler of the county, and was born
in North Carolina in 177 4. Together with his brothers, Edmund
Mathis (b. 1776) and James Mathis (b. 1778) they settled first
in this state in Bulloch county, and after living there a few years
they came to Lowndes about the some time the Lee brothers did.
They settled in that part of the county now in Berrien and Lanier
counties. Edmund Mathis later moved to Clinch county, where he
Griffin Mizell, another old citizen of the county, died at his home
in Lowndes, Nov. 23rd, 1846. He was born in 1767.
Barzilla Staten, an old settler of the county, is the progenitor of
the Statens in this county. He fought in the Indian wars and
was wounded. He owned a good deal of land in the section around
Stockton, then in Lowndes but now in Lanier county. He also
owned lands in Florida, where he had big droves of cattle. He was
born in 177 6, and his wife, who was Catherine Watson, was born
in 1801. They had eleven children. The elder Staten died about
1846, and three of his sons-in-law, Jesse W. Carter, William S.
Roberts and Jonathan Knight, were the administrators of his vast
estate. An old legal advertisement of some of the property of the
estate, published in December, 18 46, advertises three lots of land
near the present town of Stockton for sale, and describes them as
"well improved," and "fourteen likely negroes" are also advertised
Ashley Lawson moved into the county about 1827 and settled
near the present town of Hahira. Around him settled several other
families, and in the course of time the town of Hahira sprang up.
When the G. S. & F. railroad came through, years later, the little
town was moved about a half mile, so as to be on the railroad.
Benjamin Sirmans, one of the earlier representatives from the
county in the legislative halls, was the son of Josiah Sirmans and
his VAfe, Artie Hardeman, and was born in Emanuel county Feb.
6th, 170 2. The elder Sirmans was born in 1767 and died Jan.
6th, 1830, at his home in what was then Lowndes, but now Lanier
county. Josiah Sirmans had four sons and three daughters and
their descendants are to-day very numerous in Clinch, Lanier and
The Sirmans' settled the place novvr the home place of Mr. J. B.
Strickland in the Mud Creek district of Lanier county, on Dec. 22,
1822, and the place has ever since remained in the family. Benj.
Sirmans died May 1st, 1863, leaving a valuable estate, which was
divided among his heirs without any administration.
Malachi Monk, elected coroner of the county in 18 26, and sheriff
in 1828, was born April 22, 1805, and died in Clinch county, near
DuPont, in 18 86. His wife, Mehala, was born in 1814 and pre-
ceded her husband to the grave only a few months.
The following early settlers of the county were elected justices
of the peace in their respective districts in 1829, which was the
regular election year for justices of the peace: James Robinson
and David Mathis in the 658th district; Levi J. Knight and Abner
Sirmans in the 664th district; John S. Whitfield and Cornelius Eng-
lish in the 659th district; Jarvis J. Frier and Wm. Dowling in the
6 3rd district; William Hall and John Blackshear in the 660th dis-
trict, and James Walker and David Gillett in the 661st district.
Jared Johnson was later in the year elected a justice in the 659th
district, succeeding Cornelius English.
Other early justices of the peace were James M. Bates, Samuel
E. Swilly, Samuel M. Clyatt, Roderick Morrison, John Lindsey,
Nicebud Raulerson, Samuel Paulk, Isaac B. Calton, Seaborn Rainey,
Joseph Yates, Simeon Strickland, John Dean, William Stone. Dur-
ham Hancock, Benjamin Cornelius, Benj. Grantham, John Knight,
John Mathis, Jr., Edwin M. Henderson, Nathan Gornto, Samuel G.
Norman, Bryan J. Roberts, John J. Underwood, John Edmondson,
Benj. Miller, Joshua Sikes, Daniel Humphreys, H. W. Sharpe, Randol
Folsom and William G. Henderson.
Marriage Licenses Wayne County, Ga.
COPIED FR03I BOOK "C" OF TRANSCRIBED RECORDS, PAGES
176 TO 204, COVERING YEARS 1809 TO 1850.
1. Stephen Browning to Mrs. Mary Johnson, Oct. 26, 1809, by
2. Richard Liverett to Mrs. Elizabeth Jones, Sept. 1, 1809, A.
3. Thomas Altman to Lucy Leigh, Oct. 12, 1809, by James
Jones, J. P.
4. Dolphin Fairchild to Mary Grantham, May 17, 1810, 4 p. m.,
Allen B. Powell.
5. Sherod Sheffield to Miss Elizabeth Kemp, Nov. 22, 1810. Jos.
Joyner, J. P.
6. Even Jones to Delitha Amnions. No date. Moses Morri-
son, J. P.
N. B. — License issued Oct. 25, 1810. Recorded Feb. 10. 1811.
7. William Wallace to Lydia Parrott, Nov. 20, 1810, Moses Har-
rison, J. P.
8. Matthew Carter to Naomi Tison, Aug. 4, 1811. Moses Har-
rison, J. P.
9. John Moore to MaiT (Nancy in return) O'Steen, Nov. 20,
1811. Moses Harrison, J. P.
10. Anguish McDonald to Sarah Grantham, Nov. 12, 1812. Benj.
Dulany, M. E. C. M. G.
11. James Leigh to Nancy Harper, July 25, 1811, William Staf-
ford, J. P.
12. William Walker to Ann Kernals (Nancy Cornels), Nov. 20,
1811, Wm. Stafford.
13. John (James) Harper to Mrs. Mary Smith, Nov. 3, 1811.
Wm. Stafford, J. P.
14. Robert Smith to Susannah Rozicr, Dec. 20, 1810. Wm. Staf-
ford, J. P.
15. Elijah Tucker to Martha O'Neal in December, 1810. Wm.
Stafford, J. P.
16. Joseph Rumph to Rutha Harper, Aug. 5, 1812. Wm. Staf-
ford, J. P.
17. Alexander Stapleton to Elizabeth Pilcher, Sept. 24, 1812.
Wm. Stafford, J. P.
18. Aaron Rozier to Maryann King, Oct. 14, 1812. Wm. Staf-
ford. J. P.
19. John Atkinson to Elizabeth Alizer, March 0, 1813. A. Mc-
Donald, M. G.
20. John R. Kemp to Rebecca Pilcher, March 26, 1813. Wm.
Stafford, J. P.
21. Ignatius Grantham to Catherine Sheffield, Oct, 9, 1810. Moses
Harrison, J. P.
22. John Hendrix to Elizabeth Hollen, Aug. 2, 1813. Anguish
McDonald, M. G.
23. William Munden to Sarah Howell, Sept. 2, 1813. Wm. Staf-
ford, J. P.
24. Samuel Eigle to Dorcas Pilcher, Feb. 26, 1814. Louis My-
ers, M. G.
25. John Jacobs to Kisiah Walker, April 29, 1815. E. Morgan,
26. James M. White to Sarah Dryden, July, 1815. James Hutto,
27. John J. North to Mary Crows, March 8, 1816. James D. Pre-
vatt, J. P.
2 8. Solomon Roberson to Nancy Herrin, Sept. 6, 1818. Pliney
Sheffield, J. P.
29. Wm. T. Douglas to Jemima Stewart, Oct. 2, 1818. Shadrach
Jacobs, J. P.
30. Rev. James Hutto to Nancy Fort, Nov. 22, 1818. Anguish
McDonald, M. G.
31. Sampson Altraan to Sarah Jay (.or Joy), April 9, 1819. Shad-
rach Jacobs, J. P.
32. Benj. Moody and Sarah Freeman, Nov. 13, 1820. A. Mc-
Donald, J. I. C.
33. Sampson Altman to Fannie Liveritt, Nov. 6, 1819. Fre-derick
Bryan, J. P.
3 4. James Yate to Anna Priggin, Nov. 2, 18 20. L. Bryan, J. P.
35. John Sandel to Nancy Gibson, June 29, 1820. John Kemp,
J. I. C.
3G. Wm. Underwood to Martha Mobley, July 26, 1820. Richard
Liveritt, J. P.
37. Malachi Harper to Elizabeth Smith, Aug. 21, 1820. Richard
Liverett, J. P.
38. John Hatcher to Jane Amanda Stafford, Jan. 23, 1821. James
Hutto, M. G.
39. Elijah R. Tucker to Mary Ann Bryant, Sept. 6, 1821. F.
Bryan, J. P.
40. Aaron Strickland to Martha Harper, March 27, 1822. E. R.
Tucker. J. I. C.
41. John Cason to Sarah Gillet, Jan. 19, 1822. Pliney Sheffield,
42. Thomas Cribbs to Frances Townsend, March 24, 1822. Pli-
ney Sheffield, J. P.
43. John Gillet to Elizabeth Stewart, Nov. 25, 1822. P. Shef-
field, J. P.
44. David Jarret to Milly Dryden. No date. P. Sheffield, J. P.
License issued Oct. 25, 1821. Recorded Aug. 1st, 1822.
45. Thomas Owens to Mary Cooper, May 7, 1820. P. Sheffield,
46. John Moseley to Nancy Stewart. No date. P. Sheffield, J. P.
License issued Oct. 26, 1820. Recorded — no date.
47. Charles McKennie to Elizabeth Kelly, June 15, 1822. P.
Sheffield, J. P.
48. Lemue IBurroughs to Ann Altman, July 25, 1822. P. Shef-
field, J. P.
49. John O'Neal to Margaret Joyner, July 19, 1822. William
Stafford, J. P.
50. Stephen C. King to Mary E. G. Fort, Jan. 1st, 1823. A.
McDonald, M. G.
51. Williba Minchew to Anu Hogans, May 7, 18 23. F. Bryan, J. P.
52. Frederick Robson (Robeson) to Margaret Hopps, Dec. 1st,
1823. John Fort, J. L C.
53. Wm. B. Munden to Abslcy Cooper, Feb. 26, 1824. Sherod
Sheffield, J. P.
53. Anderson Gillett to Sarah Morgan, May 13, 1824. Shadrach
Jacobs, J. P.
54. Wm. P. Denison to Anna Fullwood, Aug. 12, 1824. Lemuel
Burroughs, J. P.
55. Samuel B. Morgan to Kesiali Jacobs, Aug. 19, 1824. Jabez
Dowling, J. P.
56. Elias Walker to Elizabeth Morgan, Aug. 19, 1824. Jabez
Dowling, J. P.
57. James Ratcliff to Mary Helveston, Nov. 2, 1824. Chas. Mc-
Clellau, L. D., M. E. C.
58. James Snowdon to Frances Townsend, Nov. 4, 1824. No of-
ficiating officer named.
59. Joseph Manning to Dolly Rozier, Feb. 3, 1825. Chas. Mc-
Clellan, L. D. M. E. C.
60. William Hare to Rutha Etheridge, Dec. 5, 1824. L. Bur-
roughs, J. P.
61. Archibald Hogan to Elizabeth Roberts, July 30, 1832. Jas.
Strickland, J. P.
62. Job Freeman to Rebecca Rawls, Oct. 8, 1823. James Strick-
land, J. P.
63. Elisha Walker to Elizabeth Rawls, June 14, 1823. James
Strickland, J. P.
64. Henry R. Russell to Caroline C. H. Hardee, Jan. 20, 1825.
Horace S. Pratt, M. G.
65. Warren Moore to Rebecca Johns, Feb. 27, 1825. John Stew-
art, J. P.
66. William Stafford to Alep Walker, Feb. 9, 182 5. Jesse Moody,
J. I. C.
67. Vincent Tanner to Winnie Gardner, March 20, 1825. F.
Bryan, J. P.
68. Thomas Fulwood to Mary Harrigan, Sept. 4, 1825. Wm.
Drawdy, J. P.
69. George Gillett to Tempy Hull (or Hall), Dec. 15, 1825. No
officiating officer -named.
70. Stephen Bugg to Martha Revells, Nov. 26, 1825. Wm. Draw-
dy, J. P.
71. Henry Raulerson to Nancy Gibson, Feb. 20, 1826. James
Robson, J. P.
72. Jacob Highsmith, Jr., to Elizabeth Ammons , March 27, 182 6.
Jesse Lewis, J. I. C.
73. Allen Geiger to Abagail Riggs, June 17, 18,26. Wm. Drawdy,
74. Wm. Hare to Mary Ivey, Oct. 7, 1826. C. Burnett, J. P.
75. Samuel Pearson to Sidney Raulerson, Jan. 14, 1827. Wm.
H. Keen, J. I. C.
76. John W. Turner to Mary Ann Kemp (Mrs.), Feb. 4, 1827.
James Robson, J. P.
77. George W. McDonald of Mcintosh Co. to Mary Stafford. No
date.. James Roberson, J. P. Issued March 28, 1827.
78. Joseph Mills of Camden Co. to Elizabeth McClellan, Dec. 28,
1826. Pliny Sheffield, J. P.
79. Elijah Townsend to Louisa Harris, May 10, 1827. Warren
Moore, J. P.
80. James Herrin to Mary Rooks, June 10, 1827. P. Sheffield,
J. I. C.
81. Ebenezer Harris to Martha Purdom, Aug. 8. 1827. Jas.
Robson, J. P.
82. Seaborn Harris to Miss Mary Harris, July 17, 1827. Jona-
than Knight, J. P.
83. Levi J. Knight to Ann D. Herirn, Nov. 14, 1827. Jonathan
Knight, J. P.
84. Edmund Liles to Hester Sallens, Dec. 20, 18 27. Jesse Lewis,
J. I. C.
85. James Hogans to Susan Chancey, Jan. 2, 1828. R. B. Wil-
son, Clerk C. O.
86. John Kelly to Nancy Ammons, Jan. 21, 1828. Jesse Lewis,
J. I. C.
87. Boling Boon to Mary E. Kemp, Jan. 10, 1828. Wm. Staf-
ford, J. P.
88. James A. Strickland to Luvina Harper, April 3, 18 2 8. Wm.
Stafford, J. P.
89. John Thompson to Polly Townsend, April 2 7, 1828. Jesse
Lewis, J. I. C.
90. James Johns to Keslah Kelly, May 17, 18 2 8. Epriam Mor-
gan, J. P.
91. Jacob Raulerson to Mrs. Catherine (Courtney) Stewart, Sept.
8, 1828, by Robert Howe, J. P.
92. William Cason to Susan Smith, Dec. 11, 1828. Wm. Draw-
dy, J. P.
93. Joel Griffis to Elizabeth Carter, June 5, 1828. Abraham
Knight, J. P.
94. Jeremiah Moody to Catherine Gardner, July 5, 1829. James
Strickland, J. I. C.
95. Wm. Highsmith to Chloe Robson (Mrs. Robeson), Nov. 26,
182 9. J as. Highsmith, J. P. ^
96. James Thomas Robson to Sarah Gibson, Nov. 23, 1829. Thos.
J Knight, J. P.
97. John Brown to Mrs. Margaret Robson, Dec. 23, 1829. Abr.
Knight, J. P.
98. Allen Highsmith to Elizabeth Knox, Jan. 14 1830. James
Highsmith, J. P.
99. Milliiigton Smith to Ella Raulerson, March 31, 1830. John
Fort. Jr., J. I. C.
100. James Smith to Mary Metes, July 28, 1830. William Draw-
dy, J. P.
101. Samuel Bryan to Georgia Ann Monden, Aug. 5, 1830. F.
Bryan, J. P.
102. Janit's Harper, Jr., to Elinor Strickland, Aug. 8, 1830. Jas.
Strickland, J I. C.
103. Joseph McClellan to Martha Broadwurg, Sept. 21, 1830. Wm.
H. Mabry, M. G.
104. Robert Stafford to Martha Ratcliff, Dec. 24, 1830. Jos. Wig-
gins, J. I. C.
105. Whitten Cain to Ann Burney, March 10, 1831. Robt. Moody,
106. Lewis Pendarvis to Ann Strickland. No date. James Strick-
land, J. I. C. Issued April 11, 1831. Recorded May 30, 1831.
107. Moses Hatcher to Rachel Knight, May 5, 1831. Jos. Wig-
gins, J. I. C.
108. Jacob Ligghtsey to Mary Hires, Nov. 26 (March), 1831. Jas.
Strickland, J. I. C.
109. John Gibson, Jr., to Martha Parrott, Oct. 6, 1831. F. Bryan,
110. Uriah Joyner to Hester Ann Pendarvis, Oct. 11, 1831. Thos.
J. Knight, J. P.
111. John Davis to Sabra Taylor, Dec. 17, 1831. Ephriam Mor-
gan. J. P.
112. Jobn Summerlin to Rebecca Thomas, Dec. 26, 1831. Wm.
Drawdy, J. P.
113. Martin Manning to Elizabeth Flowers, Jan. 5, 183 2. John
Fort, Jr., J. I. C.
114. Caleb Pendarvis to Elizabeth Joyner, Jan. 11, 1832. Wm.
Drawdy, J. P.
115. George Kelly to Rebecca Altman, Feb. 2, 1832. Harley Jones,
116. Thomas D. Liles to Deborah Gardner, March 19, 1832. F.
Bryan, J. P.
117. Nathaniel Nobles to Celia Walker, April 30, 1832. E. Mor-
gan, J. P.
118. Wiley Bennett to Matilda Robeson, July 8, 1832. John
Brown, J. P.
119. John Cooper to Nancy Manning, July 5, 1832. John Fort,
Jr., J. I. C.
120. Mordacai Jones to Lydia Wainwright, July 23, 1832. Joa.
Wiggins, J. I. C.
121. Shadrack Newmans to Polly Nobles, Aug. 23, 1832. Jos.
Wiggins, J. I. C.
122. Reubin Strickland to Ann Joyner, Sept. 19, 1832. Benj. Leg-
gett, J. I. C. A. C.
123. Luke Summerlin to Rebecca Summerlin, Nov. 12, 1832. Wm.
Drawdy, J. P.
124. John Knox to Mary Purdom, Jan. 24, 1833. Jos. Wiggins,
J. I. C.
125. Latnez Parrott to Jane Gibson, April 25, 1833. Moses S.
Harris, J. I. C.
126. Braxton Bennett to Martha Hopps, May 27, 1833. Moses S.
Harris, J. I. C.
127. Shadrach Newmans to Ann Matthews, 1st Aug., 1833. John
Fort, Jr., J. I. C. "^
128 Daniel Herrin to Mahala Kelly, 17th Aug., 1833. Willoby
Cooper, J. P. 335 Dist.
12 9. Edward Sholer to Mrs. Mary Smith, Aug. 15, 1833. Wm.
Drawdy, J. P.
130. Lemuel Burroughs to Margaret Elizabeth Smith, 8-25, 1833.
Wm. Drawdy, J. P.
131. Lewis Ryals to Mrs. Susan Burney, Oct. 2, 1833. James
Strickland, J. P.
132. Daniel Summerlin to Elsoy Tatuni, Sept. 19, 18 3 3. Wm.
Drawdy, J. P.
133. James Drawdy to Elizabeth Harper, Oct. 3, 1833. Moses S.
Harris, J. I. C.
134. Lewis Cherrytree Pendarvis to Sarah Ann Leverett, Nov. 15,
1833, by James Strickland, J. P.
135. Jame:^ Stafford to Martha Bryant, Nov. 19, 1833. Moses S.
Harris, J. L C.
136. Isaac Highsmith to Elizabeth Purdom, Dec. 26, 1833. Jesse
Lewis, J. P.
137. Nathan Gardner to Mary Tanner, Dec. 12, 1833. M. S.
Harris, J. I. C.
138. John Brown to Mary E. Lyles, Feb. 20, 1834. M. S. Harris,
J. L C.
139. John Manning to Mary A. Burney, May 8, 1834. Francis
Harrison, J. P.
140. Wm. Summerlin to Maria Summerlin, Aug. 23, 1834. Wil-
liam Drawdy, J. P.
141. Hiram Rooks to Mary Head, Dec. 25, 1834. Jesse Lewis, J. P.
142. John Parrott to Fatima Gibson, Jan. 15, 1835. Francis Har-
rison, J. P.
143. Henry W. Turner to Martha O'Neal, Feb. 18, 1835. Hardy
Wooly, M. G.
144. Sherod S. Akins to Elizabeth Kemp, June 24, 1835. John
C. Carter, M. G.
145. Wm. Manning to Elizabeth Beasley, Aug. 15, 1835. Francis
Harrison, J. P.
146. Frederick Youmans to Mrs. Sarah Summerlin, Jan. 7, 1836.
M. S. Harris, J. I. C.
147. Ferderick Bryant to Mildred Liles, 4th Feb., 1830. Moses
S. Harris, J. I. C.
148. Benj. Merritt to Unity Bugg, July 3, 1836. Robert Howe,
Clerk C. O.
149. John Amnions, Jr., to Eudicy Lewis, Sept. 1, 1836. James
Highsmith, J. P.
150. John Patrick to Eliza Robertson, Aug. 2, 1836. John Brown,
151. William Riley Causey to Harriet Roberson, March 1, 1837.
Francis Harrison, J. P.
152. John Cooper to Louisa Wainwright, Dec. 19, 1839. Allen
Highsmith, J. P.
153. Burwell Stokes to Lovey Altman. No date. Thomas Albrit-
ton, J. P. Issued Sept. 22, 1838.
15 4. Thomas R. Ellis to Martha Harper, Dec. 23, 1841. Joel
Hutson, J. I. C.
155. James Harper to Sarah Ellis, Dec. 23, 1841. Joel Hutson,
J. I. C.
156. William Cason to Patience Ryals, Dec. 25, 1841. Joel Hut-
son, J. L C.
157. Absalom Causey to Jemima Ammons, April 7, 1842. R.
Hair, J. P.
158. Jonathan Williams to Mary Manning, March 3, 1843.
159. William C. Liles to Eliza Tuten, Dec. 4, 1841. Joel Hut-
son, J. I. C.
160. Lewis Crews to Jency Rose, Dec. 25, 1843. James Dow-
ling, J. P.
161. William Manning to Mariah Head, Dec. 26, 1844. Francis
Harrison, J. P.
162. James Keen to Martha Campbell, Oct. 15, 1846. James
Highsmith, J. P.
163. Christopher Chancey to Nancy Raulerson, Jan. 21, 1846. Wm.
Drawdy, J. P.
164. Henry W. Ratcliff to Ann M. Holden, Aug. 5, 1847. James
Highsmith, J. P.
165. Joseph Manning to Mrs. Rebecca Rumph, March 2, 1849.
Francis Harrison, J. P.
166. John B. Stewart to Mary Causey. Date not given. James
Highsmith, J. P. Issued Nov. 24, 1847.
167. William H. Lewis to Elizabeth Harris, Dec. 22. 1847. Thos.
Greene, M. G.
168. John Matthews to Elizabeth Hickox, Jan. 30, 1847. Thomas
Greene, M. G.
169. Simon Smith to Dorcas Warner, Jan. 29, 1846. Allen High-
smith, J. P.
170. John Gill to Maria Purdom, Feb. 29, 1848. James High-
smith, J. P.
171. James Grantham to Menidia Ann Judson, May 6, 1849.
James Drawdy, J. P.
172. Isaac Odum to Elizabeth Warner, Sept. 13, 1849. Thomas
Greene, Baptist M. G.
1'73. John Crews to Sabra Dowling, Nov. 29, 1849. William
Brown, J. P.
174. John Harris to Lucinda Lewis, Dec. 13, 1849. Thomas
Greene, M. G.
175. Samuel Highsmith to Mary Jane Willis, Dec. 27, 1849.
Thomas Greene, M. G.
176. William Lewis to Francis Barber, Dec. 27, 1849. Walter
Youles, J. P.
177. Claiborn Harrold to Lucretia Highsmith, Feb. 14, 1850. Willy
Knox, J. P.
178. John Ashley Wainwright to Bethsheba McClellan, Feb. 24,
1850. Willy Knox, J. P.
179. Allen Roberson to Elizabeth Kelly, July 4, 1850. James B.
Lewis, J. L C.
180. Frances Crews to Sarah Ann Johns, Oct. 3, 1850. Allen
Highsmith, J. P.
181. Bartley Crews to Mary Elizabeth Johns, Oct. 3, 1850. Allen
Highsmith, J. P.
18 2. William Roberts to Needone Roddenberry. No date. Benj.
Dulony, M. E. C. M. G. Issued Sept. 4, 1812.
(EDITOR'S NOTE. — The foregoing list is valuable for reseach
work in not only Wayne county, but in adjoining counties as well.
The importance is emphasized by the fact that the old records for
the same period of Ware, Appling and other adjoining counl.es
have been destroyed.
(No attempt was made to arrange them alphabetically, but they
are given in their order as recorded. The groom's name comes first,
next the bride, then the date of the marriage, and the name of the
minister or officiating officer. "J. P." means "Justice of Peace;"
"M. G." is "Minister of the Gospel;" "J. I. C," "Justice of Inferior
Court;" "L. D., M. E. C." means "Local Deacon, Methodist Episco-
pal Church." Where the date of the marriage is not given, the
date of the issuance of the license is shown.
(The following list of 63 licenses is given, although no return
was made. But it must be borne in mind that the country was
wild in those days, lurking Indians and no roads made traveling
to the county-site dangerous and difficult, and it is very probable
that practically all of the following licenses were executed and the
parties married, but no returns wei'e made. It is known to be a fact
that some of those named below were married, which leads to the
conclusion that others were duly married.
(All women's names in these licenses bore the prefix "Miss,"
unless otherwise stated).
Licenses Issued from Court Ordinary Wayne Co.
!«09 TO 1850, FOR WTHICH NO RETUKX OF OFFICIATING OF-
FICER OR MINISTER APPEARS.
1. Michael Clements to Miss Ann Munden, Aug. 31, 1809.
2. John Summerlin to Susannah Hogan, Dec. 21, 1809.
3. Thomas Purdom to Marian Pearson, Sept. 15, 1810.
4. James Harper to Mary Smith, Oct. 31, 1811.
5. John Lyons to Mary Whitten, Jan. 29, 1812.
6. John O'Neal to Hester Collier, March 31, 1812.
7. Mo;:es Eurgess to Mary Mixon, April 30, 1812.
8. John Wiley to Elizabeth Driggers, May 14, 1812.
9. Henry Branch to Ann O'Steen, Sept. 9, 1812.
10. Wia. Hunter to Catherine Roberts, Sept. 23, 1812.
11. Richard Hopps to Margaret Gibson, Nov. 30, 1812.
12. Di'vid Burr.ey to Susannah Gibnon, July 4, 1813.
13. Moses Harris of Glynn Co. to Mildred Sarrone, Oct. 4, 1813.
14. Joseph Stafford to Argent O'Steen, Oct. 4, 1813.
15. Stephen Bugg to Elizabeth Nunds, March 29. 1814.
16. Mashak Burney 'to Harriet Pilcher, July, 1815.
17. Wm. O'Neal to Mary Joyner, Dec. 6, 1815.
18. Jamc3 B. Stewart to Courtney Keightly, June 19, 1816.
19. Ezekiel O'Steen to Leah Prevatt, Dec. 24, 1816.
20. James Strickland to Elender Smith, Jan. 8, 1817.
21. Willoby Cooper to Polly Walter Jan. 28, 1817.
22. Andrew N. Johnson to Mary Rawls, Sept. 6, 1817.
23. Capt. Thomas O'Neal to Sibbiah Stafford, Sept. 23, 1817.
24. Chesley Boatright to Rachel Geiger, July 16, 1818.
25. John Hogans to Penelope Roberts, Oct. 4, 1818.
26. James C. Lewis to Rebecca Woodcock, Feb. 2, 1819.
27. Isbin Giddens to Kesiah Knight, April 7, 1819.
28. David E. Kemp to Elizabeth Mondon, April 20, 1819.
29. William Warner to Sarah Amnions, July 5, 1819.
30. Nimrod Raulerson to Sarah Dukes, April 22, 1820.
31. Thomas Owens to Mary Cooper, May 5, 1820.
32. Peter McKellar to Jane Gibson, July 3, 1820.
33. Richard Bennett to Rebe<;ca Boatright, July 20, 18 20.
'3'^. John Moseley to Nancy Stewart. No date.
35. John L. Stewart to Lenora Bryan of Appling Co., Jan. 11, 1821.
3 6. Thomas Vickery to Mary Cooper, April 20, 1821.
37. Jabez Dowling to Honor Eliza Davis, April 8, 1822.
38. George W. Walthour to Mary Ann Amelia Russell, Jan. 7, 1823.
3 9. Elisha W^alker to Elizabeth Rawls, June 11, 1823.
40. Archibald Hogan to Zilpha Roberts, July 28, 18 24.
41. Joel Freeman to Mrs. Elizabeth Gillett. No date.
42. Samuel Pearson to Elizabeth Cooper, Dec. 24, 1823.
43. Edward W. Russell to Miss May, April 22, 1824.
44. George Gillett to Elizabeth Morgan, June 19, 1824. "There
being an objection, the above named George Gillett and Miss
Elizabeth Morgan were not joined in their nuptials and said
license was returned. This 19th August, 1824."
45. Jeremiah Johns to Maiyann McClellan, Oct. 4, 1824.
48. Coatsy R. Deunison to Mary Mobley, Nov. 23, 1824.
47. Charles Smith to Eliza Strickland, Dec. 27, 1824.
48. John M. Geiger to Amy Joyner, Jan. 4, 182 5.
49. Aaron Tison of Glynn Co. to Louisa J. Dell, Jan. 16, 1825.
50. Jacob Carter to Elizabeth Chancey, Feb. 25, 1825.
51. John Smith to Mary Carter, Nov. 28, 182 5.
52. Richard Liverett to Fannie Hagans, Feb. 4, 18 25.
53. Millington Smith to Ellender Roberson, Dec. 15, 1827.
54. Job Manning to Maridy Hair, Aug. 14, 1828.
55. State Lewis to Ann Franklin, Dec. 16, 1831.
56. John Thomas to Mrs. Sarah Franklin, Nov. 5, 183 6.
57. James B. Lewis to Lettie McCool, no date.
58. James Manning to Rebecca Harper, Jan. 8, 1838.
59. Daniel Herrin to Jemima Amnions, January, 183 8.
60. Aboalom Causey to Lovey Kelly, 1838.
61. Albert Clark to Jane A. Hatcher, October, 1840.
63. Levas W. Bryan to Mrs. Mary T. Harris, Dec. 26, 1842.
64. Seaborn J. Childs to Martha Wiggins, Dec. 26, 1842.
65. John Hull to Martha King, Nov. 22, 1849.
^Burnt Church" Cemetery, Lanier County, Ga.
This church is about two miles south of Milltown, Lanier county,
and is Primitive Baptist in denomination. It is one of the oldest
churches in this section, and the following list of marked graves
contains only those of the older citizens buried there.
Some additional data or remarks are given with most of the
names given below, so as to enable genealogists in research work.
Quarterman B. Staten. Born Aug. 26, 1831. Died Oct. 15, 1876.
Son of Barzilla Staten, Sr., and Catherine (Watson) Staten. Lived
near Stockton in Clinch county. Captain Company "G," 50th Geor-
gia regiment C. S. A. Justice Inferior Court, Clinch county, 1865-
Catherine (Watson) Staten, widow of Barzilla Staten, Sr. Born
in 1801. Died Oct. 23, 1885.
John Knight. Born March 14, 1828. Died July 26, 1904. Lived
near Stockton, Clinch county. County commissioner. Clinch county,
Dicy (Staten) Knight, wife of John Knight, and daughter of Bar-
zilla and Catherine Staten. Born in 1826. Died 1907.
Levi Drawdy. Born in Barnwell district, S. C,. Oct. 15, 1803.
Died .uly 16, 13S ..
William I'. Uo'oerts. Born Oct. 11, 1804. Died Dec. 2, 1852.
Ann D. Knight. Born Aug. 6, 1802. Died Oct. 14, 1857.
Rev. William A. Knight, pioneer of this section. Came from
Wayne county to Lowndes. Died in what is now Berrien county.
Born Feb. 8, 1778. Died Dec. 8th, 1859. First state senator from
Mrs. Sarah Knight, wife of William A. Knight. Born Feb. 16,
1780. Died Nov. 28th, 1859.
William C. Knight, son of William A. and Sarah Knight. Born
Oct. 8, 1805. Died Feb. 8th, 1870. Lived in Berrien county.
John Register, Jr., son of Emanuel and Elizabeth (Skinner) Reg-
ister. Born 1823. Died April 8, 1907. Married Elizabeth Cowart.
Samuel E. R.egister, son of Samuel and Elizabeth (Skinner) Reg-
ister. Born Sept. 16, 1826. Died May 29, 1903. Liver in Berrien
Mrs. Mary E. Register, wife of Samuel E., died May 5, 1892.
Moses C. Lee, son of Jesse Lee. Born 1814. Died Aug. 2, 1886.
Jincy, wife of M. C. Lee. Born 1824. Died Sept. 13, 1898.
John Lee, son of Jesse Lee, born March 5, 1808. Died March 1,
Fleauor (Wetherington) Lee, wife of John Lee. Born April 23,
1813. Died May 19 1889.
Jeremiah Shav/, born March 20, 1800, died April 7, 18 83.
Rachel, wife of Jeremiah Shaw, born 1808, died 1877.
James Walker, born Feb. 3, 1800, died June 15, 18 91.
Rebecca, wife of James Walker, born March 1, 1806, died July
John R. V.'alker, sou of James Walker, born 18 25, died 19 00.
Mary E., wife of John R. Walker, born 1831. Died 1902.
Merrit H. Johnson, son of Wiley and Winnie Johnson ,born 1815.
John F. Clements, born Oct. 7, 1810. Died Sept. 23, 1864.
Mrs. Nancy Clements, wife of John F. Clements, and daughter of
James Patten and his wife, Elizabeth Lee. Born Oct. 7, 1822. Died
Oct. 30, 1887.
Rev. Isaac D. Hutto, born in South Carolina, March 15, 1818.
Died March 24, 1881. Married Sarah, daughter of Joshua lee.
Lived in Clinch county. Primitive Baptist ministers.
Mrs. Elizabeth (Lee) Patten, widow of James Patten, Sr., and
•daughter of Joshua Lee. Born Oct. 7, 1801. Died July 1, 1884.
Her husband, James Patten, died about 1845, but grave is un-
loarKad. Lived in Berrien county.
William Patten, oldest son of James and Elizabeth (Lee) Patten.
Born Nov. 3, 1820. Died Sept. 16, 1907. Married Elizabeth Reg-
James Patten, Jr., son of James and Elizabeth Patten, born Sept.
24, 1832. Died Dec. 20, 1907.
Phoebe Patten, wife of James Patten, Jr., born May 20, 183 8,
died Oct. 19th, 189 8.
Jehu Patten, son of James and Elizabeth (Lee) Patten, born Aug.
15, 1839. Died July 24, 1907.
Mrs. Martha (Williams) Patten, wife of Matthew E. Patten. Born
1847. Died 1897. Married Nov. 15, 1865.
G. W. x^. Patten, son of William, born April 21, 1852. Died Aug.
L. C. Pat en, son of William, born Oct. 10, 1847. Died Sept. 18,
Mrs. Sarah E. Patten, wife of W. C. Patten, born Aug. 10, 1839.
Died Jan. 27, 1909.
John P. Patten, born June 20, 1876. Died Sept. 21, 1911.
Early Settlers of South Georgia
AS GLEANED FROM GRAND JURIES
Below appears a list of the members of the grand juries of a few
South Georgia counties, same being the earliest record found on
the court minutes. In Wayne county (created in 1803) the earliest
record is of the March term, 18 22, of Wayne superior court. In
Appling county (created 1818) the earliest record is of the April
term, 1868, the records having been burned. In Clinch county the
earlit&t record is September, 1867, the records- halving been de-
Wayne County — March Term, 1822, Convened March 14, 182^^.
1. James Fort, Foreman.
2. Fliney Sheffield
3. Sherod Sheffield
4. Randol Sheffield
5. Robert Leach
6. John Fort, Sr.
7. James Harper
8. Thomas Purdom
9. William Stafford, Sr.
10. William A. Knight
11. James D. Prevatt
12. Wiley Rozier
13. John R. Kemp
14. John Fort, Jr.
3 5. John Stewart, Sr.
16. James Helverson
17. James B. Stewart
15. Benjamin Davis
Vj. James May
20 Jesse Mrody
?.l. Moses S. Harris
23. James Wainwright
23. James Hutto (excused)
Wayne County — Petit Jury Serving at Same Term
1. Leighton Dowling
2. Jacob Gigor
3. Benj. Melton
4. Aaron Rozier
5. Moses Turner
6. Solomon Walker
7. King Douglas
' 8. Henry Summerlin
9. William Munden
10. William Hare
11. William Flowers
12. Stephen Pilcher
Appling County — Grand Jury, Ajjril Term, 1868
1. Jacob H. Moody, Foreman
2. Lemuel Johnson
3. John B. Thornton
4. George W. O'Quin
5. Patrick McLean
6. John Miles
7. David Reddish
8. John McLelland
9. Jeremiah McDonald
10. Joshua Clarey
11. Thomas Harrison
12. Isaac Higgs
13. James A. Thornton
14. James T. Eason
15. John W. Dukes
16. John Hutto
17. James M. Johnson
18. Richard Bennett, Jr.
19. Elias Crummey
20. W. H. Sapp
21. David Carter, Sr.
22. John F. White
23. George Eason, Sr.
24. George Moody, Sr.
Grand Jurors Drawn But Not Serving at This Tenn
1. Stockner R. Harris
2. James Williams, Sr.
3. James S. Bennett
4. Isham Bennett
5. Joseph G. Horton
6. Isham Robinson
7. Daniel W. Johnson
8. Burrill Taylor
9. David Carter, Jr.
Burrel Taylor, Bailiff.
Term, 1867 — Grand Jiu'ors
J. C. Kirkland,
John L. Courson
David C. Lancaster
D. H. Johnson
Harris Tomlinson ,
William B. North
Ellas D. McLendon
10. Enoch Griffin
Irwin Coiuity — Grand Juror,s, December Term, 1833.
1. Ludd Mobley, foreman.
2. Elijah Beasley
3. Emanuel Knowles
4. Daniel Luke
5. Redding Hunter
6. James Wallace
7. Willis King
8. Thomas Bennett
9. James Eurnett
10. T)aniel Drawdy
11. Williai'. Kail
12. George Eesters
13. Jiles P.'astersr
11. Nathaniel Statham
15. David Calloway
16. Thomas Gibbs
17. David Williams
18. John Henderson
19. Daniel Burnett
20. John Sutton
21. Kicher Wiggins
Lowndes County — Grand Jurors, June Term, 1858.
1. John F. Scruggs, Foreman 11.
2. William P. Murdock 12.
3. William Wisenbaker 13.
4. Aaron W. Copeiand 14.
5. Malachi Jones 15.
6. James jVI. Baskius 16.
7. Christia.i Lineberger 17.
8. James Walker 18.
9. William F. Speight 19.
10. D. R. Ncvvsom 20.
William S. Peters
John C. Spell
Jesse M. Collier
Jacob J. Zeigler
Petit Jiu'ors Serving at Same Term
1. Shadrack Bradford
2. Jacob Wiley
3. A. J. Westberry
4. Bazziel Komegay
5. Daniel Blanton
6. M. A. Mathis
7. Thomas Harp
8. Green B. Blanton
9. William J. Patrick
10. Jesse A. Gaulden
11. Mitchell McCall
12. Aulden D. Boon
1. William H. Burton
2. William Rentz
H. Henry Hughes
4. David McCall
5. Henry Holland
6. John D. Joyce
7. John Belote
8. Daniel Mclntyre
9. William D. Barfield
10. Bryant A. Edmondson
11. Willian C. Wethington
12. William A. Knight
Ware County History
A little light is thrown on some of the earlier settlers of Ware
by the following extracts from the deed records, relative to Lots
155, 154, 156 and 157 of the 8th district. All witnesses and parties
lived in Ware county unless otherwise stated.
This lot is now situated within the corporate limits of Waycross
and embraces most of "Riverside" sub-division. The Lott cemetery
almost touches the southwest corner, while the A. C. L. railroad
barely runs inside the southeast corner.
1. Granted by the State to Thomas Newmans of Tattnall county,
but can find no deed from him.
2. Deed to one-half of the lot from John Spikes to George Mc-
Clellan, both of Ware county, dated Sept. 15, 1826. Witnessed by
Thomas Hawkins and Philemon Bryan, Justice Inferior Court. Con-
veys one-half of said lot or so as to include the improvements of
the said John Spikes."
3. Deed to same half from George McClellan to Abner Jones,
both of Ware county. Witnessed by Hopkins Howell and John L.
Stewart, Justice of Inferior Court. Dated Jan. 15, 182 7.
4. Deed to same half dated Nov. 12, 1827, from Abner Jones to
Silas Hilliard. Witnessed by David J. Miller and John Jones, Jus-
tice of Inferior Court.
5. Deed to same half, dated Aug. 30th, 1848, from Silas Hilliard
to William R. Dilkinson, both of Ware county. Witnessed by Cuy-
ler W. Hilliard and Austin Smith, Justice of Inferior Court.
6. Deed to same half, dated Sept. 1st, 1848, from William R.
Wilkinson to Thomas Riggins, both of Ware county. Witnessed by
R. G. Dickerson and John E. Dickerson, and probated before John
T. Clough, J. P.
7. Deed to same half, dated Nov. 1st, 1852, from Thomas Rig-
gins to John B. Riggins; witnessed by William G. Riggins and James
Fulwood, Justice of Inferior Court.
8. Deed to same half, dated Jan. 2, 1855, from John B. Riggins
to John T. Clough, both of Charlton county.
Thus it will be seen that this lot had improvements on it, prob-
ably a home, as early as 182 6, as John Spikes mentioned in his
•deed to George McClellan that he conveys all his improvements
upon the lot. It is probable that all the parties named to the fore-
going deeds lived upon this land in the order given.
This lot was granted to James Harpei' of Newton county, June
lOtli, 1826, and by him conveyed to James Cobb of Tatnall county
two days later. The lot is situated mostly within the corporate lim-
its of Waycross, the B. & W. (now A. C. L.) railroad running
through the southwest corner of the lot. Most of the Deenwood
sub-division is on this lot, as is "Winona Park."
James Cobb of Tattnall county deeded this lot to Ander Boyd of
Ware county, July 11th, 1826. Witnessed by John Jones, Sr., and
Thomas Newborn, J. P.
Ander Boyd of Ware county deeded it to Jeremiah Walker, Sept.
4th, 1827. Witnessed by John Jones and Wm. P. Fowler, J. P.
No deed found from Jeremiah Walker.
Later, this lot was sold by Richard Bourn, sheriff of Ware county,
to Elijah Mattox, as property of James Cobb of Ware county. Deed
dated Jan. 4th, 1840. Sold under an execution issued from Ware
Superior Court in favor of Abr. Hargraves.
Elijah Mattox deeds the lot to Abr. Hargraves, April 15, 18 42,
for $250. Witnesses, Patrick M. Brady and Thomas Hilliard, J. P.
Granted to Wm. Lord, Dec. 4, 1826. This lot was deeded by
William Lord to John Moore, both of Wilkinson county, Dec. 4th,
1826. Deed signed in Wilkinson county. This lot lies immediately
west of Lot 155, and the B. & W. branch railroad runs through it,
as also does Kettle creek.
John Moore seems to immediately have moved to Ware county,
as in his deed to this lot, dated Sept. 13, 1827, he says he is "of
Ware county;" He sold it to Absalom Cassy of Ware county. Deed
witnessed by Jamesi Bryan and William R. Fowler, J. P.
No deed found of record from Absalom Cassy.
The next deed seems to be that of Salena Taylor of Wayne
county to Jeremiah Underbill of Ware county, dated July 29, 1831.
Witnessed by Jabez L. Dowling and Mark Addison, Justice Inferior
Deeded by Jeremiah Underbill to Thomas Newborn, Sept. 15th;
1831. Witnessed by Jacob Godwin and D. J. Blackburn, J. P.
Deeded by Thomas Newborn to James Gillan, Oct. 3, 1832. Con-
veys all northwest of Kettle creek of this lot. Witnessed by Elijah
Mattox and D. J. Blackburn, J. P.
All of the lot southeast of Kettle creek deed by Thos. Newborn
to John Rowell, Aug. 22, 1832. Witnessed by Elijah Mattox and
D. J. Blackburn, J. P.
John Powell conveys his part to James Gillan, Aug. 5, 1833.
Witnes.sed by Elijah Mattox and Thomas Newborn, J. P.
James Gillan conveys the entire lot to Hugh Booth, Feb. 9, 1837.
Witnessed by James Cobb and G. B. Williamson.
Hugh Booth conveys the entire lot to Mark Addison, March 2nd,
183 8. Witnessed by Martin T. Miller and Thomas Hilliard, Justice
of Inferior Court.
Elizabeth Addison (presumably the widow of Mark Addison)
conveys the entire lot to Abraham Hargraves, Nov. 12th, 183 9, for
$225. Witnessed by Silas Hilliard and R. McDonald, Justice of
Thomas Hilliard, administrator estate of Mark Addison, deceas-
ed, conveys this lot to Abraham Hargraves, Sept. 3, 1845. Witnessed
by John T. Clough and D. J. Miller, J. P.
This lot is located in northern part of Waycross and embraces
most of Riverside Pr.ik, Ai^iuIoK;^ i..u., vjollege Park sub-divisions.
Granted to Littleberry Watts of Morgan county, Dec. 7, 1833.
Deeded by L. Berry Watts of Campbell county to John Newborn
of Ware county, April 4, 18 3 8. Deed signed in Campbell county.
Deeded by John Newborn to Silas Hilliard, Jan. 21st, 1841.
Witnessed by Onslow G. Keith and Banner Thomas, J. P.
Deeded by Silas Hilliard to David Cason, March 29, 1941. Con-
sideration, $150. Witnessed by Eurydice Jeffords and Plarmon V.
Jeffords, Justice Inferior Court.
Deeded by David Cason to Hillery Cason, April 30, 1847. Wit-
nessed by Cuyler W. Hilliard and John T. Clough, J. I. C.
Deeded by Hillery W. Cason to Josiah Peeples of Ware county,
Nov. 4, 1852. Witnessed by Berry Walker and W. B. Folks, J. I. C.
Deeded by Josiah Peeples to William S. Bailey, Nov, 3rd, 1857.
Consideration, $450. Witnessed by David Rowell and Banner
Thomas, J. P.
Irtuin County History
The following is a copy of the minutes of the first meeting of
th(> Justices of the Inferior Court of Irwin County, Georgia.
"GEORGIA — IRWIN COUNTY. Met agreeable to law at the
house ot David Williams in the county aforesaid, and then formed
the first Inferior Court for said county, on the third day of July,
182f'. Present, their honors: Ludd Mobley, John Sutton, David
Calloway, David Williams, J. I. C. The court then being opened
agreeable to law-, then proceeded to business. On motion it is or-
dered that the clerk of this court do issue license to tavern keepers
and retailors of spirituous liquors when the Court is not setting.
The court then adjourned until court in course.
"DAVID CALLOWAY, J. I. C.
"LUDD MOBLEY, J. I. C.
"DAVID WILLIAMS, J. I. C.
"JOHN SUTTON, J. I. C.
•WILLIAM SLONE, Clerk I. C."
The next term was held Januaiy 1st, 1821, at v/hich time it ap-
pears that the business transacted was that the suit of Richard
Wiggins vs. Daniel Grantham was called and dismissed at plaintiff's
Al the July Term, 1821, the following grand jurors were drawn
by the Inferior Court judges to serve at the next term of Superior
1. Jeptha Durham 6. Mathew Fane or Lane
2. John Durham 7. Noah Griffin
3. James Wallis 8. William Folsom
4. Murdock McDuffie 9. Giles Easters
5. Jacob L. Durham 10. William Bradford
The following were drawn at the same time on the petit jury:
1. Hatcher Vickers 10. David Spring
2. William Brown 11. Jacob Braswell
3. Isaac Boyd 12. John Henderson
4. Christopher Pear 13. Thomas Simpson
5. Thomas Drawdy 14. Aaron Jurnigan
6. Joseph Watts 15. Richard Brown
7. Merten Mims 16. James Mussellwhite
8. Daniel McDuffie 17. Plesent Statam
9. Nathaniel Durham.
On January 7, 1823, the court passed the following order: "By
order of the Court there shall be a new district laid out and be-
gining at the Alapaha (river), running the old trail by the
breastworks now to the Wiggigns called Daniel Wiggins and Rich-
ard Wiggins, including them and the Appling (county) line incUKl-
ing thern, in the 3rd district."
On Jan. 3rd, 18 25, the court granted this order: "By order of
this Court there shall be a district laid out which shall be called
the 4th district, to include all the territory southwest of the Lapa-
haw (Alapaha) river in said county."
On July 4th, 1825, the following order was granted: "On mo-
tion it is ordered that John Smith, Moses St and Daniel Under-
vrood be appointed to examine the road to the Lapahav/ (Alapaha)
river, to Little river, and report the practicability of stating the
same. On motion it is ordered that Asa Townsend, John J. Under-
v.^ood and John Smith be appoicted commissioners of the road in
iu the 4th district, Irv/in county."
The following is a list of administrator and other bonds recorded
in Book "D" of the ordinary's office of Irwin county, Ga. All the
bonds are made payable to the Inferior Court, which had jursidic-
tion of such matters at that time, and embrace the period 1820-1830.
John Sutton, Jr., guardian of William Reily Adams, orphan of
Ezekiel Adams. Dated Oct. 2, 18 20. Surety, David Calloway.
William Williams, son of William Slone and Mary Ann Slone.
was born Jan. 3 0th, 1822. (This is merely a note made by the
clerk of the birth of a son of his).
x\bagail McDuffie and John C. Love, administrators of Murdock
McDuffie. Dated March 3, 1823. Amount, $30,000. Sureties, Na-
thaniel R. Mitchell, John Sutton and John Wilcox.
Daniel McDuffie, sheriff of Irv/in county, dated Oct. 2 2, 18 23.
Sureties, John J. Underwood and Ludd Mobley. Amount, $20,000.
David Calloway, guardiaan of Mary Taylor, orphan of Elender
Taylor, dated July 2, 1821. Amount, $500. Surety, William Taylor.
John Sutton, Jr., administrator of Amos Sutton, dated Oct. 1st,
1821. Amount, $4,000. Surety, Murdock McDuffie.
John S. Gilder, sheriff of Irwin county, dated Jan. 7, 18 23.
Amount, $20,000. Surety, Ludd Mobley.
Last will and testam.ent of Charles James, formerly of Bullock
county, Ga., but died a n sident of Irwin. Dated Nov. 8, 1810. Be-
queaths all property unto Barbara James, his wife, who is ap-
pointed executrix to dispose of the estate in her discretion. Wit-
nesses: Da\id Williams, Frederick Williams and Nancy V/illiams.
Admitted to lecord March 6, 1822.
Murdock IJcDuffie, administrator of Jacob Braswell, dated Dec.
8, 1S21. Amount, $2,000. Sureties: James Allen and John S.
Bai"bara James, administratrix with will annexed of Charles
Jamej. dated March 4, 1822. Amount, $2,000. Surety, David Wil-
P.tdding Hunter, guardian of William Taylor, orphan of Jonathan
Taylor. Amount, $5,000. March 4, 1822. Surety, Robt. H. Dixon.-
John Sutton, Jr., guardiaan of Sary Sutton, Ben. Sutton and
Irwin Sutton, orphans of Amos Sutton. Dated July 1, 1822.
Amount, $6,000. Surety, Murdock McDuffie.
Robert H. Dixon, administrator of Moses Jurnigan dated March
4, lPi;2. Surety, Elijah Beasley. Amount, $4,000.
Ashley Cathorn and Daniel McDuffie, administrators of Murdock
McDuffie, dated Oct. 28, 1822. Amount, $50,000. Sureties: David
Williams and Redding Hunter.
John C. Love and Abagail McDuffie, administrators of Jacob
Braswell, dated Jan. 6, 1823. Amount, $30,000. Sureties: Ash-
ley Cathron and John Sutton, Jr.
Abagail McDuffie and John C. Love, administrators of Murdock
McDuffie, dated March 6, 1823. Amount, $50,000. Sureties:
Charles McKinnon and Ludd Mobley.
Mary Fulwood, administratrix of Andrew Fulwood, dated Sept.
18, 1822. Amount, $3,000. Sureties: Daniel Wiggins and Elisha
Bill of sale from Samuel Story, John Story, Abram Nipper, Mica-
jah Owens of Irwin county and Richard Stoi'y of Pulaski county, to
Willis King. No date. Conveys one negro woman and three negi'o
children. Recorded Dec. 15, 1823.
Emanuel Knowles, administrator of Abram Blanton (or Clanton),
dated Jan. 29, 1824. Amount, $200. William Fussell, surety.
James Allen, sheriff of Ii-win county, dated May 6, 1824. Amount,
$20,000. Sureties: William Slone, Emanuel Knowles and Red-
John Henderson and Sarah Henderson, administrators of Daniel
Henderson, dated July 5, 1825. Amount, $1,000. Sureties: Jas.
Allen and Ludd Mobley.
Abel Chester, guardian of David and Rachie Fulwood, orphans
of Andrew^ Fulwood, dated Jan. 6, 1823. Amount, $1,000. Sure-
ties: Daniel Wiggins and Elisha Winslow.
William Fussell, sheriff of Irwin county, dated March 5, 1827.
Amount, $20,000. Sureties: William Slone and Ludd Mobley.
Bill of sale from John Parramore to Wiley Vickers, dated Dec.
14, 1826, for negro girl. Witnesses: Jason Brinson and Thomas
S. Swain, J. I. C.
Beniamin Willis, Jr., administrator of Ben. Willis, Sr., late of
Telfair conntj-. Dated Sept. 30, 1825. Amount, $110. Robert
11. Dixon, surety.
Benjamin Williams, Jr., administrator of Flory Morrison, late of
Laurens county, dated Jan. 3, 1826. Amount, $1,000. David Cal-
Charity Jurnigan, guardian of Susan Jurnigan, orphan of Moses
Jui-nigan, dated March 6, 1826; $200. Surety, John S. Love.
Sileway McCall, guardian of Martha Ann Barton (illegitimate".,
c'ated Sept. 1, 1828; $250. Surety, James Statham.
Jesse Hobby, guardian of Susanna Henderson (illegitimate), dated
Sept. 1, 1828; $250. Jacob Paulk, surety.
Thomas Young, guardian of Susan Jurnigan, orphan of Moses
Jurnigan; $200. Dated Sept. 1st, 1828. John B. F. Dixon, surety.
William Fussell, administrator of Lewis Wagoner, late of Mcin-
tosh county; $800. Dated July 5, 1830. James L. Wilcox, surety.
Daniel McDuffie, sheriff of Irwin county, dated April 22, 1830.
Amount, $10,000. Sureties: Joseph Fletcher and Ludd Mobley.
THE SOUTH GEORQIA HISTORICAL
JND GENEALOGICAL QUARTERLY
A quarterly publication devoted to the history of South Georgia,
Published by the South Georgia Historical Society,
Flem C. Dame, Folks Huxfoi-d and R. A. Brinson, Committee in
Folks Huxford, Secretary and Editor.
Tvlen bership dues, including subscription to the Quarterly, $2.00
rer year. When single copies of magazine are desired, seventy-five
cents per copy, except to members.
Vol. 1. APRIL, 19 22. No. 2
THE EDITOR'S DESK
Since the publication of our first number in January, a number
of congratulatory letters have been received. The magazine seems
to be meeting a longfelt need in our state for a magazine in which
can be found local or county history and genealogy. We desire to
thank every one who has assisted by joining, for extending their
support and good wishes.
We must continue to get more subscribers, however, as a publi-
cation of this kind is dependent entirely upon the subscriptions to
"keep it going." We are publishing herewith a list of subscribers,
or members, and while the membership is yet small, still all the
prospects point to a steadily increasing membership and a conse-
quent enlargement of the magazine. On the strength of this, this
issue of the Quarterly is larger than the first.
The Editor will greatly appreciate any contributions, whether by
members or others. In fact, it is necessary that you cooperate by
sending in any information or data you may have, whether con-
cerning that of your own family or that of others cr of local or
state history. It is manifestly impossible for the Editor to be
away from home all the time getting up matter for the magazine.
A copy of "The County Court Note-Book," an every-other-month
publication, published by Milnor Ljungstedt, Bethesda, Md., has
been received. Like our own Quartei'ly, it appears to be a new
publication. It is full of genealogical matter, notes and queries,
etc. The subscription is one dollar per year.
The state society of the Daughters of the American Revolution
held their annual convention in Valdosta the first week in this
month and was largely attended.
The annual meeting of the Georgia Historical Society was held
at Savannah, April 12th. Only business of a routine nature was
transacted. The members were treated to a visit to Mr. W. W. De-
Renne's valuable library at his home, "Wormsloe," near Savannah.
PAID UP MEMBERS, SOUTH GEORGIA HISTORICAL SOCIETY.
1. W. G. Brantley Washington, D. C.
2. Seward M. Smith : Atlanta, Ga.
3. Robert C. Alston Atlanta, Ga.
4. Robert M. Butler Savannah, Ga.
5. M. S. Baker Savannah, Ga.
6. Mrs. E. D. Dimmock Waycross, Ga.
7. R. C. Ellis Tifton, Ga.
8. Samuel B. Adams Savannah, Ga.
9. William R. Smith Nashville, Ga.
10. George A. Dame Jacksonville, Fla.
11. D. A. R. Crum Cordele, Ga.
12. Mrs. J. L. Walker Waycross, Ga.
13. Carnegie Library Atlanta, Ga.
14. R. C. McAndrews Homerville, Ga.
15. B. T. Allen Pearson, Ga.
16. M. L. Reese Augusta, Ga.
17. W. L. Miller Milltown, Ga.
18. Leland H. Dame Council, Ga.
19. James T. Vocelle St. Marys, Ga.
20. Dan Cowart Fairfax, Ga.
21. R. G. Dickerson Homerville, Ga.
22. Miss Kate S. Curry Washington, D. C.
2 3. H. J. Dame Okechobee, Fla.
24. H. L. Croinartie Homerville, Ga.
25. Bruce Douglas Homerville, Ga.
26. Thomas Gamble Savannah, Ga.
27. Louis S. Moore Thomasville, Ga.
28. Mrs. John L. Davidson QuiLman, Ga.
29. J. D. Lovett Nashville, Ga.
30. W. P. Ward Douglas, Ga.
31. Wiley M. Sumner Pearson, Ga.
32. J. D. Blalock Waycross, Ga.
33. Harry D. Reed Waycross, Ga.
34. Henry C. Morgan Homerville, Ga.
35. 1^. A. Gibbs Homerville, Ga.
3G. Gord(>n O. Carroll Homerville, Ga.
:n. H. M Peagler Homerville, Ga.
3 8. B. E. Blitch Homerville, Ga.
39. Flem C. Dame Homerville, Ga.
40. W. V. Musgrove Homerville, Ga.
41. W. S. Mclntyre Thomasville, Ga.
42. University of Georgia Athens, Ga.
HISTORICAL AND GENEALOGICAL NOTES AND QUERIES
A copy of an old application made in 1872 for pension on ac-
count of soldier's service in the war of 1812, was recently found in
the court house at Homerville, Clinch county. It does not appear
whether the pension was granted or not. The application is made
by Mrs. Mary White, widow of James White of Clinch county, and
sets forth the following facts of interest to genealogists: Her
maiden name was Mary Garrott and she and James White were
married March 5th, 1818, in Union district, S. C, by Rev. Thomas
Ray; that her husband died in Clinch county Oct. 19, 1855; that
she was born 179 7 and that her husband v/a sdrafted and served
"the full period" of sixty days in the war of 1812 in Capt. James
Wara's company of South Carolina troops, being drafted in Lau-
rens district, S. C, in 1811 or 1812. She furthermore states: "I
think my husband served as a private and stationed at or near
Charleslon and Georgetown and Beaufort Island, S. C. The colonel
of his regiment I do not remember to have heard his name, but
do reiiiciiiber having heard the name of a Mr. Meadows as major.
My husband received land warrants for his services as above, but
don't know the numbers."
A certificate of the servivces and discharge of Solomon Lynn in
the United States army in the war of 1812, is recorded on the deed
records of Appling county, Georgia, in transcribed record A, B, C,
page 166, recorded May 18, 1838. It gives the following particu-
lars of the soldier: Born in South Carolina, 5 feet 8 inches high,
dark complexion, dark hair, by occupation a farmer. Enlisted in
army Aug. 15, 1812 ,for 18 months, inducted by Lieut. Henry
Slaughter of the Second Regiment artillery. Discharged Feb. 14,
1814, at Savannah. Signed by Henry Slaughter, first lieutenant
artillery, and P. Jack, colonel infantry, commanding.
Apportionment of slaves, etc., made between his children by
Stephen Rich of Appling county, by bills of sale, all dated Sept.
To daughter, Millie Carter, two slaves, feather bed and rifle.
To fon, Greenberry Rich, two slaves, horse, blacksmith tools, two
rifles, feath-r bed and twenty-one cattle
To son, 'ohn Rich, o'le slave, rifle, mare colt, shot gun, feather
bed and t'venty-one cuttle.
To daughter, Kachie, wife of Bartley Sapp, account on Isaac
Moody, Sr.. $283; execution against William Nettles, $137.40; John
Williamson's note, $85; fifij-live head cattle and feather bed.
To daughter, Jincy, wife oi Thomas B. Morgan, negro boy slave
and ninetyeight head of cattle and feather bed.
To daughter, Martha Rich, two negroes, feather bed, spinning
wheel and tv^enty-oue cattle.
To daughter, Ricy Rich, two negroes, one bed, spinning wheel
and ihirty-six cattle.
To daughter, Delilah Rich, two slaves, feather bed, spinning
wheel and twenty-one cattle.
To son, John Rich, lot of land 250 in 4th district Appling county,
household furniture, plantation tools, three horses, all hogs and the
crop on the land, he to take care of and manage the estate of his
mother, Sarah Rich, and three minor sisters, Ricey, Martha and
Delilah, until they become of age and marry.
Recorded Oct. 18, 1843, book ABC, transcribed records, pages
The Methodist church in Appling county known in ante-bellum
days as Philadelphia church, was granted a tract of two acres on
lot 59 2 in the second district of Appling county, whereon to build
the church, by Daniel D. Davis, by a deed dated Aug. 4, 1849. The
trustees named were Felix K. Eason, L. W. Church, Jonathan
Knight, Elijah Ogden, Samuel H. Morgan and John Miles as trus-
tees, Holmesville circuit, Florida conference, M. E. Church. South.
Isaac Boring resided in Caswell county, N. C, during the Revo-
lutionary war and served with the North Carolina troops. He was
married in 1780 and his family was identified with Georgia. His
wife was living in 1855 at the advanced age of 9 2 years in Jackson
county, Ga. The following record of marriage and births is copied
from the Bible with which the young couple probably started house-
"Isaac Boring, born 1762, March 8th.
Phoebe Browning, born 1762, September 19.
Isaac Boring and Phoebe Browning was married March 7, 1780.
David Boring, son of Isaac and Phebe, was born May 3, 1781.
(The same phraseology occurs in recording the following, but is
omitted here for brevity) :
John Boring, born Dec. 14, 1782.
Elizabeth Boring, born Oct. 29, 1784.
Susanna Boring, born Oct. 20, 1786.
Senah Boring, born Feb. 22, 1789.
Robert Boring, born April 24, 1791.
Rebecca Boring, born Aug. 26, 1793.
Isaac Boring, born March 30, 179 9. '
Phebe Boring, born May 7, 1801.
Thomas Boring Wafer, son of James and Senah Wafer, born Oct.
James Jackson Wafer, born Jan. 31st, 1815.
(Contributed and authenticated by Miss Kate S. Curry 1020 Mon-
roe St., N. W., Washington, D. C.)
Elisha Perryman Bolton, son of Matthew Bolton and Mary Chap-
man Matthews, was born in 1809 and lived at Griffin, Ga. Mat-
thew Bolton was born in 1763, supposedly in Virginia. Wanted — In-
formation concerning the ancestry of Matthew Bolton; when he
moved to Georgia and where married; also Revolutionary service
if any. Address the Editor.
Josiah Sirmans was born in this state in 1767 and married Artie
Hardeman, daughter of Thomas Hardeman, Sr. He settled in the
present county of Clinch, where he died January 6th, 1830. Want-
ed — Information concerning his parentage. He removed to Clinch
from Emanuel county, Georgia, in 1822. Address the Editor.
The following information concerning Jacob Braswell and Rich-
ard Braswell of North Carolina, is very kindly furnished by Miss
Kate S. Curry of Washington, D. C. :
Jacob Braswell was the son of William and Amy Braswell (orig-
inally spelled Bracewell). The place of birth is not given in the
record in the family Bible of Jacob and Penelope Braswell from
which this information is taken. Jacob Braswell was born March
7, 1763, in Edgecombe county, N. C, and died July 25, 1837. He
was married July 9, 1789, to Nancy Cotton, who was born Dec. 3,
1772. Their children were:
Elizabeth, born Dec. 22, 1791.
Micajah, born July 2 6, 179 3.
Jacob, born Dec. 6, 1795.
Priscilla Macon, born Nov. 18, 1797. .
Sally, bom March 6, 1800.
Willie, born Nov. 27, 1801.
P(^g?-;y, born Nov. 1, 1803.
Tempy (daughter), born Aug. 14, 1805.
Alexander Cotton (son) ,born Oct. 3, 180 7.
Nancy Mariah, born Sept. 29, 1810.
Micajah Thomas Cotton (son), born Oct. 12, 1811.
Rodia (daughter), born Nov. 20, 1813.
Richard Brasv/ell was born in Wayne county, N. C, in July,
J 755. and died Aug. 20, 1839. He was married in Oct., 1778, to
Penelope BIoav, who was born about 1761 and died Aug. 30, 1846.
Thif, couple removed to Anson county, N. C, about 1810. Their
fa^n ly Bible record gives the births of the children in the phrase-
ology appearing in the following record of the son, Richard, but
which is omitted in the remaining entries here for the sake of
"Richard Braswell, the son of Richard Braswell and Penelope,
his wife, was born the 2 7th of October, in the year of our Lord,
Delany Braswell (daughter), born May 14, 1782.
Elizabeth, born 22nd of July, 1784.
Buret Braswell, born 30 Nov., 1787.
Urvin Braswell, born 2nd March, 1790.
Patty Braswell, born Sept. 19th (year omitted).
Bryant Braswell, born Oct. 22-, 179 9.
Bullen Braswell, born April 18, 1801.
Jesse Lee and Joshua Lee, brothers, were among the original
s^ettlers of originally Irwin county in that portion now Clinch, La-
nier, Berrien and Lowndes counties, Ga. Jesse Lee was born in
1780 and Joshua in 1782, both in South Carolina. Joshua Lee
married Martha Ford, a native of North Carolina. Wanted — Infor-
mation concerning the ancestry of these brothers. The county of
their birth in South Carolina is at present unknown. Address the
John Lee v/as an early settler of originally Thomas county now
Brooks county, Ga., and was born in June, 1813. He married Eliza
Groover in October, 183 9. John Lee was the son of Jesse Lee.
This Jesse Lee does not seem to be the same as mentioned in the
last paragraph above. Any information concerning the ancestry
and marriage of Jesse Lee will be appreciated. Address the Editor.
A deed is found on record in Appling county, to the Methodist
church, for two acres of land whereon to be situated a church by
the name of Taylor-tov.^n church. The deed is dated Aug. 18, 1849,
and is made from Mary, Jincy and Viney Tanner, James Taylor and
Nancy Tanner to J. Q. Taylor, Samuel H. Morgan, L. W. Church,
Jonathan Knight and John Miles, trustees for the Holmesvtlle cir-
cuit, Florida conference, M. E. Church, South, and conveys two
acres of lot 20 in the second district of Appling county. Recorded
Oct. 23, 1849, in book ABC of transcribed records, page 468.
A deed to the court house site in the now dead town of Holmes-
ville, formerly the county site of Appling county, is found of record
in book ABC, page 120, from John Graham to the justices of the
in ferior court of Appling county, dated March 6, 1837. The deed
covers four acres of land in Holmesville, on lot of land 182 in the
second district, and includes "the court house which is built thereon,
to be applied to the use of the citizens of said county in performing
all and singular the public duties required of them by the laws
of said State." The grantor also "agrees and allows the county
the privilege of getting all timber on said lot 182 to build and
repair court house and jail whenever they think necessary." The
deed is witnessed by Solomon Canady and William Parker, J. P.
Old Toiun Cemetery, Milltotun, Ga.
Appended herewith is a list of marked graves in the old town
cemetery at Milltown, Lanier county. This cemetery is not now
used, and while there is a big number of graves in it, only a few
are marked, and some being old and most unreadable.
Moses Dunham Harris, born Jan. 2 2, 1823, died Dec. 15, 1863.
James Carroll, born in North Carolina, March 6, 1801, died
Sept. 25,' 1869.
Elizabeth, wife of James Carroll, boru in North Carolina, Dec.
25, 1806, died Nov. 10, 18G4.
Francis Huffman Ha.rrell, died Aug. 11, 189 8, age 51 years.
James W. Talley, born at Fayetteville, Ga., Feb. 22, 1826. Died
Nov. 2 5, 18 9 4. (By profession a medical doctor.)
Mississippi A., wife of Dr. J. W. Talley, born Aug. 18, 1834, died
Nov. 10, 1896.
Mary Jane Talley, born Feb. 5, 1836, died Feb. 9, 1869.
Willie R. Daw3on, "first born of J. and S. Dawspn," born Nov.
21, 1860, died Sept. 8, 1861.
Charity Maria, wife of A. J. Liles, born Kanansville, N. C, Nov.
11, 1837, died at Alapaha, Ga., Aug. 11, 1855.
Thomas L., son of J. T. Carroll, born Feb. 5, 18 54, died Sept.
O. U. Carroll, daughter of J. T. Carroll, born Aug. 18, 1852, died
Juno 7, 1854.
Jonathan D. Knight, born April 2, 1840, died March 9, 1884.
WHAT HAS BECOME OF THESE VALUABLE RECORDS?
(By Miss Kate S. Curry)
In the record of the Love family of Virginia, written by Mrs. E.
L. Connally, Atlanta, Ga., we find this reference to the records of
Tinkling Spring church, Virginia: "In August, 1901, the records
of this church from 1740 to 1777, Mr. Craig, pastor, were found
in the middle of the floor when the furniture was being moved out
of the rooms of the home of Mr. Guthrie, former clerk, who was
an uncle of Mrs. W. R. Hoyt of Atlanta; now owned by her mother,
Mrs. Brown Patterson, Barterbrock, Va. Records 1777 to 1840
Early Settlers of Clinch County
The following is a list of one hundred earlier settlers of that
portion formerly Ware and Lowndes counties now Clinch county,
and while not complete, will probably be of interest. Many of the
dates given concerning removing to this county are problematical,
but can be depended on to be reasonably correct.
Name Born Settled Came From Married
John Tomlinson 1784 1822 Bulloch Co. Never married
William Tomlinson 1781 1822 Bulloch Co. Nancy Register
Moses Tomlinson 1788 1822 Bulloch Co. Charlotte Monk
Josiah Simians 1767 1822 Emanuel Co. Artie Hardeman
Benjamin Sirmans 1792 1822 Emanuel Co. Martha Johnson
Joseph Sirmans 1808 1822 Emanuel Co. Rebecca Smith
Abner Sirmans 1793 1822 Emanuel Co. Betty Kirkland
Jonathan Sirmans 1800 1822 Emanuel Co. Martha Rouse
David Johnson 1802 1822 Emanuel Co. Nancy Burnett
William Smith 1763 1823 Tatnall Co. Piatt (1)
Neta Stephns ( 2 )
John Smith 1802 1823 Tatnall Co. Cassie Sirmans
Lawrence Smith 1780 1825 Tatnall Co. Nancy Eason
John Smith- 1810 1825 Tatnall Co. Elizbth Studstill
James C. Smith 1813 18 25 Tatnall Co. Margt. Strkland
Jeremiah Chancey 1782 1824 North Carolina Elsie O'Steen
James Pafford 1797 1830Tennessee Not known
Isham Corbitt 1775? 1830Tennessee Millie Stokes
Harbird Corbitt 1802 1830Tennessee Reinie Boyett
Marshal Corbitt 1805 1830Tennessee Martha Curry
Newsom Corbitt 1808 1830Tennessee Polly Smith
Martin Corbitt 1810 1830Tennessee Fannie Smith(l)
Lydia Curry (2)
William Corbitt 1818 ISSOTennessee Rhoda Griffis
I: aac Curry 1781 1830Tennessee Not known
Duncan Henderson 1802 1825 Appling Co. Belinda Stafford
John S. Henderson 1807 1825 Appling Co. PollyFulwood( 1)
Josiah Stafford 1790? 1825 Appling Co. Not known
John Tomlinson, Jr. 1804 1822 Bulloch Co. Zilpha Register
Dryden Newbern 1794 1824 South Carolina Elizth Sirmans
William C. Newbern 1805 1824 South Carolina Not known
John Newbern 1801 1824 South Carolina Argent O'Steen
Thomas Newbern 1778? 1824 South Carolina Not kno-yvTi
John J. North 1792 1826 Wayne Co. BaryCrews(l)
William B. North 1808 1826 Wayne Co. Not known
James O. White ^_1785 1820 South Carolina Mary
Joseph L. Rodgers 1799 1828 Tatnall Co. Rebecca Starling
William Starling 1782 1828 North Carolina Elizabeth
John Bennett 1771
Dixon Bennett 1810
Felix Bennett 1813
Abraham Bennett 182
Samuel Register 1786
William Register 1814
Guilford Register 1810
David Register 1813
Abraham Register 1801
Elijah Mattox 1798
John T. Roberts 1810
John Moore 1780?
Benjamin Cornelius 1801
David Stanford 1799
Juniper Griffis 1808
Samuel Griffis 1775
Samuel Griffis, Jr. 1794
Joel Griffis 1803
iierry Grih'is 1808
Charles Griffis 1755
Edmund Mathis 1786
John Mathis 1774
James Mathis 1788
John Mathis, Jr.. 1805
Tyre Mathis 1807
Thomas Mathis 1808
James Harvey Mizell — 1795?
George Harnage 1807
Isbin Giddens 1799?
Duncan Giddens 1810
Moses Giddens 1821
John G. Rice 1782
Hiram Right 1811
Isaac Minshew ._1807
Cornelius Joyce 1811
William Hughes 1812
William Lastinger 1804
Guilford Lastinger 1813
William Driggers 1796
John Williams 1798
Martin Fender 1816
David Fender 1786
John Stalvey 1776
Richard H. Burkhalter_1809
John E. Taylor 1818
Elihu Morgan 1795
Solomon W. Morgan 1799
Joseph L .Morgan 1804
Barzilla Staten 1776
1830 Tatnall Co.
1830 Wayne Co.
1830 Bulloch Co.
1833 Lowndes Co.
1833 -s'orth Carolina
1830 Appling Co.
1830 North Carolina
1830 South Carolina
1830 Appling Co.
1830 Appling Co.
1830 Appling Co.
1930 Bulloch Co.
1830 Bulloch Co.
1830 Bulloch Co.
1830 Bulloch Co.
1830 Bulloch Co.
1835 Bulloch Co.
1835 Liberty Co.
1830 Wayne Co.
183 Wayne Co.
1835 Appling Co.
1830 South Carolina
1831 North Carolina
1837 Tatnall Co.
1838 South Carolina
183 5 Effingham Co.
1835 Effingham Co.
John Brack 1800
George Kinard 1815?
Martin Nettles 1808
Joshua Lee 1782
Isaac D. Hutto 1818
John C. Kirkland 1824
Robert G. Dickerson 1817
Levi Herrin 1804
Charles Strickland 1822
John Cowart 1795
Wilkins Fulwood 1773
Henry Joyce 1780?
William W. Johnson 1810
Moses Jewell 1805
Simon W. Nichols 1801
1841 Lowndes Co.
1846 Lowndes Co.
1840 Appling Co.
1848 Lowndes Co.
1840 Wayne Co.
1840 Appling Co.
1841 Wayne Co.
18 40 South Carolina
1849 Pierce Co.
1845 Appling Co.
1840 Appling Co.
1840 Tatnall Co.
1845 Lowndes Co.
1846 South Carolina
1840 Jones Co.
VastiStaffrd ( 2 )
Fannie — -
m^\, ^ ^^^
V^ s***'. C
o - , „ o ' V, " • ' ^ * . V
'^^ 32084 <^