UNIVERSITY OF ILLINOIS LIBRARY AT URBANA-CHAMPAIGN BOOKSTACKS The person charging this material is re- sponsible for its return to the library from which it was withdrawn on or before the Latest Date stamped below. Theft, mutilation, and underlining of books aro re for disciplinary action and may result In dismissal from the University. To renew call Telephone Center, 333-S40O UNIVERSITY OF ILLINOIS LIBRARY AT URBANA-CHAMPAIGN 6 MAY ( 1 3 1 JAN 6 199 DEC 1 * APR 20 1938 JAN 20 JAN 2 2 1999 92000 L161 O-1096 SOUVLNIR OF THE NAPERVILLE HOME COMING NAPERVILLE, ILL. MAY 29th TO JUNE 1st 1917 NAPERVILLE Prof. H. H. Rassweiler To wKom tKis Souvenir is respectfully dedicated by tke citizens of Naperville in recognition of Kis effort and enthusiasm for a successful Home Coming Of-'-' JOSEPH NAPEK FOUNDER OF NAPERVILLE 1857 1 025 i 00 THE JOHN KAPER HOME FIRST FRAME HOUSE BUILT ix NAPERVILLE, 1830 NAPERVILLE NAPERVILLE HISTORIC SKETCH By D. B. GIVLER God made the country, man made the town with all conveniences, al- lurements and imperfections. The Pilgrim immigrant landed on a rock-bound coast ; the pioneer set- tler followed the star of empire west- ward over almost insurmountable mountains, through deep swamps and trailless forests until he emerged therefrom and stood amazed at a sight unsur- passed for grandeur, vast in extent the en- chanting prairies of northern Illinois. Having rested a night in Chicago, he pushed his way westward along a trail leading to the Naper Settlement. This trail in time became known as the Oswego road, and that part pass- ing through Naperville as Chicago Avenue. This lone horseman arrived here on a perfect summer evening. Riding horseback all day, communing with nature and getting a firmer grip on the meaning of the word "boundless," his attention was attracted to the sun passing slowly toward the western horizon. To quote his own language in substance: "I stopped, looked long at this indescribable manifestation of Nature in its golden glory, and then and there praised my Maker." This was, in a greatly modified form, a dupli- cation of Moses' experience as from Pisgha's heights he viewed afar the Promised Land, for have not the fertile prairies of DuPage and sur- rounding counties proven a land of promise in bountiful harvests to past and present gener- ations, and been verified in the experience of one of our distinguished citizens? The first settlers in this locality became resi- dents of an organized state with well defined boundaries. Illinois was admitted into the Union by act of Congress in the year 1818. Du Page County was created out of Cook County with its present boundary lines on February 9, 1839. Naperville is the oldest town in the county. The village of Xaperville was incorporated by act of Legislature in the winter of 1857. Although Captain Joseph Naper was the founder of the village of Naperville, he was not the first settler in the county, nor of this im- mediate vicinity. In the year 1825, Stephen J. Scott removed from Maryland to this State and settled near Gros Point, Cook County, which 7| embraced at that time the county of DuPage. While on a hunting- tour, in the month of August, 1830, with his son Willard, he dis- covered the DuPage river near Plainfield. He qj came up the river to "The Forks" and resolved to make this region his future home. A log cabin was built on what is now known as the Sheldon farm, which was occupied by Mr. Scott and family in the fall of 1830. Other families soon settled in the vicinity. This "settlement" was in Will County, the line being but a short distance south of Naperville. The first actual settler on the soil of DuPage County was Bailey Hobson who established a permanent home within half a mile of the present southern limit of this city. In June, 1831, Captain Joseph Naper and family took possession of their new home near the site of the old grist mill, around which cluster pleasant memories and from which pro- ceeded influences that were potent factors in the development of the garden spot of the greatest state in the Union. A brief review by decades will suffice. A full account would be intensely interesting. 1830-1840. History reveals the fact that in the settlement of this part of the State, former resi- dents of the New England States took the lead. Their opportunity for securing information from the far-away west was ample and the source so trustworthy that they made the venture. In a list of forty men who came here prior to 1838, the name of but one German ap- pears, that of George Strubler, father of the four Strubler brothers, all deceased, and he didn't come direct from Germany, but from Pennsyl- vania. These pioneers endured the usual hardships common among a people poorly fortified against the rigors of severe winters. Scarcity of food, discouragement on account of the gloomy pros- pect and an occasional Indian scare were not calculated to make them rejoice evermore and in all things give thanks. But there were also seasons of rejoicing and social functions which made life worth living, and which many looked back to with pleasure, their experiences having taught them lessons in endurance and thrift which proved to be valu- able legacies for their descendants to this day. They were a noble, brave, persevering people. 1840-1850. This decade is replete with marvelous activity in the "settlements." Goodly I NAPE.RVILLE HOME OF WILLAK1) SCOTT NAPERVILLE \1 MHWHNHHHMMMiV- reports had crossed the ocean, inducing thou- sands to sever home-ties and assume the risks incident to a voyage across the stormy Atlantic in sailing vessels, a few enjoying first cabin com- forts, but most of them confined to very incon- venient, unsanitary steerage accommodations, a goodly number of which became permanent residents of Naperville and immediate vicinity. A great stir had taken place among residents of Lancaster, Berks, Schuylkill and other coun- ties in Pennsylvania, beyond the Alleghany mountains. The more courageous banded to- gether and set their faces westward in spite of protests, tears and warnings of friends. Some came by canal and lake boats, but most of them covered the distance by means of horse-drawn wagons. Other groups followed in rapid suc- cession until at the close of the decade, the Ger- mans, English, Scotch, Pennsylvania Dutch equaled the number of New England settlers. During this time the village of Naperville was increasing in population. The most serious obstacles had been surmounted. Town and country were interdependent. Adjacent timber tracts furnished fuel for warmth and lumber for addition to log cabins. Saw-mills were kept busy and grist-mills provided flour for daily bread. The DuPage river was an important factor in the development of the settlements. But the mills, dams and ponds have disappeared, and its waters flow untrammeled toward the fathomless deep. All classes of people brought some sort of re- ligion with them and soon felt the need of united effort in promoting spiritual matters, and from this impulse societies were formed which worshiped in private homes, halls, and school houses until churches could be built, so that at the close of the decade, the Baptists, Congre- gationalists, Methodists, Evangelicals and Catholics worshiped in dedicated buildings. The Lutherans and Episcopalians were provided for later. Education was not neglected, and from the arrival of the first settlers this important matter received deserved attention in the way of pri- vate instruction, and later through the medium of the public school, by means of which some of the scholars became men of usefulness and in- fluence in their clay and generation. The resi- dents of the village were especially active in pro- viding school buildings and teachers, of which fact our Academy building, unchanged as to ex- terior, bears convincing testimony and may con- tinue so to do for another century. Surplus grain was hauled to Chicago by farm- ers living far west and southwest from Naper- NAPERVILLE ville. The Pre-Emption House and barns afforded ample accommodations for man and beast. It served as a half-way stopping place for many years. A railroad was talked about and efforts made to secure one, all of which failed. Merchandise for local sale came as re- turn loads. Several men made this a special business for many years, using the plank road, minus the planks. Farmers kept pace with the spirit of the day. The horse-drawn reaper and mower superseded the grain cradle and scythe. Ox-teams were few. The plow that scoured was an appreciated blessing. It was a modifier of temper, a puri- fier of thoughts, removed temptation and made plowing a pleasant past-time. The village also was abreast with the needs of the day. There were stores and groceries carry- ing a great variety of goods. Butter and eggs were exchanged for luxuries and necessities. Money was scarce and credit popular. Profes- sional men put out signs, ready, willing and able to heal the sick, cause the lame to walk and ad- minister liberal doses of ipecac and calomel at reduced prices. Lawyers, not a few, stood ready to give safe advice, write deeds and mortgages, or defend one in court whether innocent or guilty. The old court house stood near the site of the soldiers monument. It was built in the year 1839. For thirty years Naperville was the county seat of DuPage, by virtue of which it at- 'tracted a goodly number of citizens from other parts of the County who became leading citi- zens. Court sessions brought the Honorable Judge and many legal lights having cases in court. Important trials, with weighty verdicts, were disposed of to the entire satisfaction of winners. Failing to be forewarned by attempts to remove the county seat, Naperville was not forearmed when the last test of voting strength was made in 1867. The election was contested, but after much litigation, sharp controversy and expenditure of large sums of money the con- test ended, the removal effected and harmony restored by a resolution of the Board of Super- visors which donated the public square to the village of Naperville for park purposes. Ac- cording to tradition, removal would have been prevented if an early-day election, held in the towns of DuPage and Wheatland, had received attention. The matter to be decided was: "Are the voters of these two towns willing to be de- tached from Will County and be joined to Du- Page County"? One vote in the negative de- cided that question. Truthfully, or otherwise, JE 1 ! 7 NAPERVILLE HOME OF FRANCIS A. KENDALL HOME OF FRANCIS GRANGER ^P%^^ .jlLwswsssss^^ ^^PN^^ ^ it was claimed many years afterward that John Barleycorn cast the deciding vote. 1850-1860. The writer stands on familiar ground, as sixty-six years ago he first caught a glimpse of Naperville, snugly located on a low tract of ground, crowding timber on the west, several houses over the river, later swept away; unpaved streets; sidewalks few and meander- ing; residences small, unpretentious and un- painted ; wooden bridge ; cows running at large ; no street lamps candles and kerosene lamps in general use, and matches almost a marvelous discovery or invention. Into this decade is crowded the bulk of pioneer history. Immigration had practically ceased. Land all pre-empted and most of it owned by actual settlers. Within a radius of seven miles resided a sturdy lot of men and wo- men, engaged in agricultural pursuits and in- terested in religion, education and politics. Not much wealth, but a strong purpose to succeed and make the prairie a real paradise. The hum of the prairie fowl greeted the ears of early risers; from the undrained sloughs came mo- notonous croakings of myriads of frogs; the barking night prowler the prairie wolf, had disappeared, and the last deer converted into venison. The people had settled down into quiet, compact, contented neighborhoods, and few re- movals or changes took place, although a visi- tation of cholera and typhoid fever claimed some victims. Prairie fires were dreaded, but no great losses were sustained thereby. The sight was grand from a distance. The burning of straw was sus- pended after farmers discovered that even the black prairie soil was not exhaustless. Early in the decade, two nurseries were estab- lished which furnished shade, fruit and orna- mental trees for prairie homes, for, be it remem- bered that, outside the timber tracts, not a tree appeared to obstruct the vision of the earliest settlers. The manufacture of the famous Jones plows began as early as 1840 and became so popular that in the year 1856 two thousand five hundred were turned out and sold at $15.00 each. The Bank of Naperville went into operation in 1854. The breweries afforded a local market for barley and enjoyed a prosperous existence until crowded out by grasping trusts. The I. O. of O. F. was organized in 1850, the Masonic Lodge established in 1848, lodge of Good Templars instituted 1857. An artillery company was organized in 1856, to which belonged a number of men who rendered service in the civil war. Independence day was observed en masse. HOME OF C. M. KUHN The Declaration was read, followed by an ad- dress and dinner in an adjacent grove, punctu- ated by salvos of artillery produced by anvils properly charged and discharged. High water in the river raised the ice, and the two combined caused a destructive freshet throughout the length of the usually placid Du- Page. It came in the month of March, 1857. Huge cakes of ice, borne along by a rapid cur- rent, beat down dams, swept away bridges, de- molished houses. Water and ice covered the lower part of town, as well as the river's banks many miles southward. It was an interesting spectacle. Some of the mammoth cubes resisted the sun's rays for several months. The first history of DuPage County was pub- lished in the year 1857. It contains a reliable account of the varied activities of the residents of the county from the arrival of the first pioneer up to this date. It is a meritorious little volume and every owner should highly prize it. The first three newspapers arrived and de- parted in 1850. The next attempt was made in 1851, and survived about three years. The next failure occurred in 1857. Two other abortive efforts were made, but finally The Press, estab- lished in 1863, was purchased by the writer who changed the name to The Clarion. The failure of a newspaper man is usually credited to mis- management; that of a banker to circumstances over which he had no control. The local journalist had a small bonus to work with and soon failed ; the banker's deposits were larger and held out longer. Political affairs during this decade received strict attention. The village majority was usually captured by the Democrats, but the county at large in 1856 polled 1,387 votes for Fremont and 542 for Buchanan; 1860, Lincoln, 1,790; Douglas, 803. Even township elections were vigorously contested and village elections even more so. Candidates for constable and Justice of the Peace put up a strong fight to win and made use of every legitimate argument to induce friends to vote early, if not often. Several homicides and suicides might be re- corded, but the writer prefers to pass them by. Tragic events were few in number and are mostly forgotten. A general cry went up for a railroad. Chi- cago was the nearest market. Cattle and sheep were driven thither in droves. The city could be reached by stage direct or by way of Winfield the nearest railroad station. The local news- NAPERVILLE K 5 32 O IS o d K h> B S 32 O a a M o d h9 W paper contained few local items and depended on exchanges and New York papers for matter to fill its columns. One publisher got married and delayed publication three days. An apology was accepted as the paper was not missed. The editor put in his best licks to secure a railway. It came long after his removal to an- other city. The village could communicate with the outside world by telegraph, a daguerreotype gallery was installed, and the happiest days of the writer's life were when he could wear a but- toned shirt and Hapless trousers and exhibit his "likeness" fresh from the camera obscura. It would be an unpardonable oversight if mention were not made of the many brave men who went from here to California during this decade. The lure of gold became universal and irresistible all over the country. Parties, in- cluding women and children, were formed in other parts of the State, and overland, in "prairie schooners," they ventured forth, some to suc- ceed, others to perish by the way, and not a few to spend a winter in the mountains and finally be rescued by searching parties. The less venturesome men went by way of the isthmus of Panama, while others followed the overland trails. Some of them returned with enough "color" to start in business or buy a farm, land being cheaper then than it is now. Two weeks were required to transport a letter. The "pony express" cut down the time; the rail- road made it from 3 to 4 days. The returned California!! was looked up to as a near hero with dead-loads of coin, dust and nuggets. Every- body had a right to guess, but nobody was wiser for gruessing. Several men from Naperville died on the way, but most of them returned safe and found. Farmers were somewhat discouraged. Prices for grain were very low. Taxes were regularly collected. The state levy must be paid in silver. Bank bills were of doubtful value. "Wild cat" currency predominated. "Detectives" were issued, but their estimates were unreliable, grain must be hauled to Chicago, potatoes also. One farmer, it was reported, failed to find a pur- chaser. He backed his wagon to the river's bank and dumped his potatoes into the water. Arrested and fined a larger sum than team, waeron and 'taters were worth. This happened so long ago that it may not be a true story. The years 1858, '59 and '60 were crowded with great events, affecting every State in the Union, the slavery question being at the bottom of the prevailing unrest. Kansas was the western storm center. Here and then John Brown first came into prominence. A cable was laid be- tween the United States and England. Senator Douglas and Abraham Lincoln debated the po- litical issues of the day; both became presi- dential candidates; Lincoln was elected, and the year 1860 closed with the secession movement under full headway. 1861-1871. The climax of many years of agi- tation came at last. A call for volunteers re- ceived a hearty response, and Naperville was not slow in responding. A complete record of the part taken by the county is contained in a his- tory published in 1876. A war of any kind brings great changes. The old order of things are disturbed. Family ties are severed; solicitude for the fate of the boys intensified, and moral restraints weakened if not entirely removed, last. However, the end came at After all hope of regaining the county seat had been abandoned, internal improvements re- ceived attention. The public square was planted with trees. Streets and sidewalks were graded. A fire company and hand engine superseded the bucket-brigade. A steamer followed. The fire cisterns went into disuse. They still exist, but are forgotten. A brick and tile factory was established, and the location of North-Western College secured. A new iron and also a stone bridge were built across the river. Village streets and public highways were macadamized and our apparent loss proved to be a real and permanent blessing in disguise. J BUILT BY GEORGE LAIRD 1835 *#&$8*!iK8fc8#*88S2##^^ jgjSH&| NAPERVILLE. \f NAPERVILLE STONE QUARRY J THE NAPERVILLE OF TODAY Bj) W. R. GOODWIN, Oakhurst Farm, Naperville Managing Editor The Breeder's Gazette, Chicago FOREWORD This materialistic age seeks a sign the dollar sign. This sign is measurably accurate, nor is it a merely sordid index. Xot all achievement is adequately valued in cash, yet when the accumulations of business thrift give form to those aspirations which lift human life to higher levels, and substance to the dreams of beauty of an awakened soul, such ex- penditure becomes the fixed reflection of the de- velopment of the individual and the progress of I lie community. It is the exact and indisputable measure of that growth, the absence of which inexorably spells decay. The apparel oft and almost always proclaims the man. When thrift fails to beget tidiness; when affuence lacks outward expression in the modern forms which visualize the apex of our civilization ; when accumulation wants those evi- dences which conspicuously mark individual culture and civic ideals, a community is dead in its indifference, recreant to its obligations to the advancing world, and a blighting influence on its young life pressing eagerly on toward the goals of achieving endeavor. Culture in the individual is essential to the highest expression of community development. The paths our fathers trod, resolute conquerors of pioneer conditions, were circumscribed by natural obstacles which yielded stubbornly and slowly to the determined efforts of those courageous men impelled by the Adamic com- mand to dress and keep the garden. Their heroic exploits will never be sufficiently cele- brated in stirring song or eloquent story. They served well their day and generation to the glory of God and the gain of posterity. But it was a wise philosopher of a former age who thanked God that we were better than our fathers. Xot greater in courage, devotion and sacrifice, but richer in ideals, means and oppor- tunities. The cultural influences of the past half century, the marvelous mastery of elemental forces for greater comfort and higher efficien- cy, have produced in Naperville, from our herit- age from the fathers, a twentieth century people measurably advanced in the arts of civilization and its cultural manifestations; insistent on the immunity afforded by sanitation ; demanding avenues of comfortable transportation for that easy intermingling which promotes fellowship and lofty community ideals ; seeking the vision of higher education ; and desiring the solace and sustenance of worship in temples adequately ex- pressive of man's fundamental beliefs and holiest aspirations. These betterments in community life ma- terial, educational and religious keeping pace with the forward movements of the age, are based on an underlying industry and thrift in business, and a manufacturing enterprise which has made the name of Xaperville a matter of national knowledge. This is the Naperville of Today. To home-comers, familiar with the Xaperville of Yesterday, we offer the sign, the unimpeach- able proof an exposition of community book- keeping in its approximate footings. MUNICIPAL IMPROVEMENTS. The introduction of public utilities about fif- teen years ago affords sharp demarcation be- tween the city of yesterday and today. The dawning of the new morning came when electric light banished the gloom of night. Naperville's municipal light plant, now modern and supply- ing night and day current for illumination and power, was followed in the transition period by the waterworks system, and these improve- ments, with their common power plant, total in cost around $150,000. To this is added $50,000 for sewers essential to the utilization of water- works and a sanitary civic life. That the culture and taste of a community no less than its pros- perity find expression in the embellishment of its utilities is revealed in the ornamental iron boule- vard lights erected at a cost of $5,500, and the cement posts in the park which cost $350. The gas mains of the Western United Gas and Electric Co. were laid through Xaperville streets a few years ago, giving service both as luminant and fuel, and adding the last of metropolitan con- veniences to suburban life. Stores and homes have been largely equipped at considerable ex- pense for the utilization of this service. Streets have already been paved at an expendi- ture of nearly $187,000. Oiled macadam streets NAPERVILLE "HEATHERTON" HOME OF .T. S. GOODWIN HOME OF W. TCOKERT JOHNSTON NAPERVILLE in the east residential districts account for nearly $100,000 of this amount, brick paving in the busi- ness center for nearly $74,000, and the begin- ning of concrete paving in the west residential section over $13,000. Plans contemplate the ex- tension of the west side concrete paving and drainage in 1917 at a cost of $117,000. The foundation work has begun. A Naperville lifted out of the mud, watered and washed with an inexhaustible deep well sup- ply, storm-drained and sewered into a septic tank, and brilliantly lighted within and ablaze without, invites with modest pride its former residents to rejoice with it over accomplishments which conclusively entitle Naperville to rank as a modern city of the third class under the Illinois statutes. Logically conjoined with this company of modern improvements stand the contributions of the Chicago, Burlington & Quincy Railway to the new city. A commodious station, of brick and tile and impressive design, has replaced t! 1 " depot of civil war vintage at a cost of $35,000. A subway at the west end of town eliminates a very dangerous grade crossing and leads north- west traffic safely from the city. The cost was $30,000. Plans are drawn for a subway under the tracks in Washington Street at a cost of $60,000. The railroad company has agreed to move the freight house (the old depot) west of Center Street, and to retire further in the back- ground the unsightly elevator buildings on the road's right of way. These changes will work substantial improvement about the handsome station on the north. Supplementing it on the south side Burlington Square, the gift to Naperville from the railroad, will charm with its restful greenery of sward and shrub and tree, provided by popular subscription, and proclaim impressively to passers-by that the Naperville of Today seeks outwardly to exemplify the beauty- loving instincts of its cultured citizens. Counting as certainties improvements now in the making and in the maturity in plan, Naper- ville challenges attention to a total of ap- proximately $635,000 expended in the past fifteen years in the way of modern community better- ments, and Naperville has not one cent of bonded indebtedness. And Naperville has not one cent of bonded in- debtedness. In these substantial ways has the spirit of the new Naperville taken form. However, it is a dull student of community life who would not look further, and deeper, and looking here he would find : SCHOOLS AND COLLEGES. In the betterment of educational facilities in recent years $232,000 has been spent in Naper- "KUMMEELOOS" HOME OF CHARLES ALBERT NADELHOFFEK ville. The main item of around $105,000 pro- vides a high school dedicated last fall which is without equal in any city near Naperville's rank in the state. The equipment of Northwestern College, the educational home of the Evangelical Church, has been extended by the addition of a Carnegie Library and a Science Hall, each at a cost of $30,000, and a heating plant at a cost of $15,000. The new home of the Evangelical Theological Seminary, maintained in affiliation with the college, cost $32,000. Fire badly damaged the parochial school of the Ss. Peter and Paul Catholic church, and it was rebuilt at a cost of $27,000. HOUSES OF WORSHIP. Rising yet higher in our survey we reach the most significant clothing of a community spirit its church building. A total of $133,000, spent within ten years, measures the abiding faith of our God-fearing people in the power of the Gospel in life and in death. It embodies their militant Christian spirit in erecting church homes which typify in their architecture the ecclesiastic ideals of the centuries; it emphasizes their wisdom in equipping them for the utili- zation of modern methods of church and Sunday School work. The German Evangelical Congre- gational Peoples Church cost $3,500. The First Congregational Church was built and equipped at a cost of over $27,000. The Grace United Evangelical Church, with which the Salem Evangelical Church joined, built a new edifice which cost with the grounds $35,000. The Zion Evangelical Church (the "old Brick Church") drew unto itself the College Chapel Church, and the twain became one under the name of the First Evangelical Church with a new home that cost $56,000. The Methodist Episcopal Church was remodeled at an expenditure of about $4,500, and the Church of the Brethren has been built at a cost of about $3,000. Improvements on the Ss. Peter and Paul Catholic Church have amounted to at least $5,000. Conspicuous among the evidences of modern- ization, and most crucially revealing the soul of the city, because of the object and union of effort required for its accomplishment, stands the Young Men's Christian Association building, which cost with the grounds $43,000. Without equal in its size and equipment among the cities of the state materially exceeding Naperville in population, it typifies an abiding and illuminat- ing interest in the physical and spiritual welfare of its young men. NAPERVILLE BUSINESS ACTIVITIES. All this superstructure of Naperville's im- provements rests solidly on its commercial activities and prosperity. Its barometers are the banks. The First National Bank purchased the Phillips building, and remodeled it at an expendi- ture of $35,000. Some years ago the front of the Reuss State Bank was rebuilt at a cost of $3,000, and another room and a new vault have been added at a cost of $10,000. The deposits in these two banks total around $850,000. The history of the Naperville Lounge Factory reads like a romance in manufacturing. Its operation gives basis to the business prosperity of Naperville. Established in 1881 in Fred Long's little furniture shop, it finally came as an incorporated company to the occupancy of the old skating rink in 1893. The capital stock was $4,000. P. E. Kroehler entered the service of the company at that time as secretary, and finally be- came the president, and the company was rein- corporated in 1915 as the Kroehler Manufactur- ing Co., with a capital of $1,150,000. Branch factories are now maintained at Kankakee, 111., Binghamton, N. Y., and Cleveland, O. This company also operates the Kimbell Bed Co., with factories at Grand Rapids, Mich., New York City, and Stratford, Ont. About 20 years ago a small frame building costing around $3,000 was erected near the depot for the factory, and now a brick building 666 feet long and 120 feet wide, covering two city blocks, is utilized for the manu- facture of davenports and chairs, the largest factory in the world devoted to the production of such furniture. The cost of its present plant probably exceeds $250,000, including the equip- ment of machinery. Full-handed the factory gives occupation to 362 men and women, and its pay roll distributes about $25,000 in Naperville each month. Its annual output runs close around $1,000,000 from the home plant. The co-operative creamery of an earlier day has given place to the butter-making, ice cream- making and ice-making plant of the Naperville Consumer's Co., which is capitalized at $27,000. Five garages afford service to an ever-increas- ing number of motor cars, and bring autos from miles around for repairs and replenishments. One was erected at a cost of $15,000 for building and grounds, another at a cost of about $5,000. A brick livery stable has been converted into a garage, two store rooms have been remodeled for similar use, and a fifth small garage is open. New store buildings have been erected, and many stores have been remodeled and made modern in their exteriors and interiors, and the cost of these betterments will easily reach NAPERVILLE HOME OF DR. AND MRS. JOHN A. BELL . HOME OP E. J. T. MOYEK $45,000. The postoffice has found home in a new building, especially constructed for it. The Masonic Fraternity has completed a new temple at a cost of $35,000, not included in the estimate mentioned. Store rooms and a film theatre oc- cupy the lower floor. The stone quarries rest unworked, but strik- ing growth in commercial specialities is evi- denced in the material expansion of the Naper- ville Nurseries, and the continued output of the Martin and von Oven tile and brick yard. On the site of the plow factory is a manufacturing plant producing flynets, cotton gloves, woven rugs and pillows, and leather ankle supports. The old cheese factory is now devoted to the ex- traction of casein from curd. Linking the past with the present are the six green houses which supply the ever-growing cut flower and potted plant demand. From a small house near the cemetery in olden times these glass-enclosed plant propagation enterprises have somewhat recently grown to six in number, and the total investment runs to at least $35,000. Among them is a house devoted exclusively to the production of the rare and costly orchids. THE CITY AND ITS GOVERNMENT. The former home of the First National Bank was erected jointly by the bank and the Masons at a cost of over $8,000. It has been purchased by the corporation as a City Office, and its sub- stantial, dignified architecture and its con- veniences of arrangement and location serve the city much more adequately than the old hall, over the fire engine house and jail. Having di- vested itself in 1913 of the antiquated mode of city government by substituting the more satis- factory commission for the common council, the city was well entitled to commemorate its ac- quisition of more economical and effective ma- chinery by the purchase of a City Office which distinctly breathes the atmosphere of modern type and equipment. Lest home-comers fail to catch glimpses of ob- jects of old-time familiarity the engine house will send into the parade the famous old Joe Napier hand-pump fire engine, survivor of the years of the city's younger age, and reminiscent of the period when the Naperville volunteer firemen re- turned victorious from tournaments and hose- coupling contests. As guardians against the fire fiend stand water plugs on all corners of the city streets, with a hose reel in the engine house, along with an auto- mobile chemical engine, the most effective of modern fire-fighting apparatus. Three additional hose reel stations are also maintained one at the lounge factory, and one in the residential sections on the east and on the west side. The original city included a little over 19 blocks. Additions taken into the city limits now count up 16 blocks, and lying just adjacent on the north is a subdivision of 9 blocks toward which the city is growing. Naperville's population was returned by the 1900 census as 2,600. In a decade it had reached 3,400, a gain of about one-third. A recent school census indicates that the population at present is about 4,300, to which may be added the college enrollment of around 500 students. The modern spirit of co-operation is best typi- fied in the work of the Xaperville Association of Commerce which has drawn together the busi- ness men of the city in team-work as never be- fore. With systematic division of effort a num- ber of committees constantly strive to "Do It For Naperville." No more significant exponent of the spirit of the modern Naperville can be found than in the Committee on the City Beauti- ful. The home-coming celebration is the child of the Naperville Association of Commerce. Among the cultural influences which seek pub- lic as well as private benefits the Naperville Wo- man's Club stands conspicuous. Its active in- terest in the public schools and in the Nichols Library has annually found tangible expression in substantial gifts. School rooms have been embellished by pictures and mural decorations, and over $500 has been pledged, and more than half paid, for the equipment of the domestic science department of the new high school. An- nually the shelves of the public library have been enriched by volumes from the club's treasury. Aside from the financial assistance rendered, the Naperville Woman's Club has proved itself a vital influence in every movement, for the better- ment of the community life in its material and educational aspects. The new high school has been the especial object of its endeavor. HOME BUILDING AND THE SANITORIUM. If exact figures were available of the cost of the new homes and remodeled residences in the past fifteen years, they would total a sum which, superimposed upon the startling figures gathered from the books, would amaze those who have not closely followed the swift course of present-day improvement. A partial census, made by a block-to-block count in a motor car, finds at least 185 new homes erected at a cost ranging NAPBRVILLE '. HOME OF G. H. DTJNLAP NAPERVILLE. HOME OF E. E. MILLEK NAPERVILLE from $2,000 to $35,000, and conservatively total- ing- $750,000. Add to this a most moderate esti- mate of $150,000 for repairs and remodeling and we reach a total of $900,000. The cost of the many blocks of cement side- walks and parkways, garages and incidental im- provements, and the liberal expenditures on country places adjacent to the city, bring this total considerably above the million mark. Outside the city but an important part of it, materially and in sympathetic support, is the Edward Tuberculosis Sanitorium, one of the most effective in the country. Its grounds and buildings run in total close to $100,000. "IS IT ANSWERED YET?" Is this sign sufficient this total of $2,561,000? Have Naperville people proved their faith by their works? Have those who remained in the old home, citizens of no mean city, met the obli- gations of latter-day life, held pace with pro- gress, fought the good fight, kept the faith? These mile-stones of improvement mark the evolution of Naperville, the country village, to Naperville, the city suburb the Naperville of Today. THE SUM IN ADDITION. Let us assemble this sum in addition, this ex- position of a community's bookkeeping, striking- ly on the page : City and railroad improvements. ..-...$ 635,000 Educational buildings 232,000 Churches 134,000 Banks and business houses 175,000 Green houses 35,000 Lounge factory 250,000 Residences 1,000,000 Edward Sanitorium 100,000 $2,561,000 NAPBRVILLE. CENTRAL PARK L Mtt&S&&i&&&8MMNI^^ ml NAPERVILLE ^N Jssssssemssssss^^ DU PAGE RIVER '^ HOME OP A. BAUMGARTNEK HOME OF BERNARD RECKMAN NAPERVILLE HOME OF VALENTINE A. DIETER BRIEF STORY OF NAPERVILLE HOME COMING MOVEMENT ITS ORIGIN, ITS OCCASION, ITS OBJECT, ITS HEARTY APPROVAL BY THE CITIZENS AND ITS PLANS AND MEASURES FOR SUCCESSFUL EXECUTION B>> PROF. H. H. RASSWEILER The movement to appoint and pro- mote a civic event of welcome to our friends abroad, under the suggestive name of a "Home Coming Cele- bration," had its birth in the deliber- ations of the Naperville Association of Commerce. At the annual meet- ing of that organization held October 15, 1915, one of its members moved the adoption of the following resolution: Resolved, that we appoint the first week in June, 1917, for a Naperville Home Coming Cele- bration, and that the Board of Directors of this association are hereby requested to devise all necessary plans and measures in preparation for this undertaking. The motion having been duly seconded, the mover thereof presented in its behalf the follow- ing facts and considerations: Within recent years, the progressive trans- formation of our city, along the various lines of civic improvement, has been such as to warrant the feeling of pride among the peo- ple within and to challenge the attention and admiration of the people without. This new area of general municipal advance- ment has developed scenes, conditions and achievements in striking contrast with the Naperville of its comparatively non-progres- sive and self-satisfied earlier years. Naperville, as a residence community of long career, has given to the outside world hundreds of its sons and daughters and former residents, all of whom, who are liv- ing, are still affectionately thoughtful of the old home town and are watching with friendly interest its growth and improve- ment. NAPERVILLE "THREE ELMS" HOME OK HENRY H. RASSWEILEK NAPERVILLE \! mmwmwimiiimiimi*iiiti*Hiiietoii***fc 4. These facts of contrast between the old Naperville and the new, as well as the ap- propriateness of providing a public occasion which will bring many of our outside friends face to face with the evidences of 'our pro- gress, suggest the fitness of an event such as is proposed in the pending resolution. The motion being put to vote was unani- mously carried. The Clarion, in reporting this annual meeting of the Association of Commerce, contained the following paragraph: "One of the special fea- tures mentioned was a 'Home Coming Week' for Naperville. This idea met with a hearty re- sponse from the members present and a tenta- tive date was fixed for the occasion, the first week in June, 1917. It is expected that a work- ing plan will be evolved shortly for a prelimin- ary publicity campaign, and when our citizens get a vision of the possibilities of such a Home Coming, it is confidently believed that everyone will enter heartily into the spirit of the idea." The Board of Directors, without delay, as- sumed the duty assigned them with reference to the Home Coming event, the first preparatory step taken being the appointment of a General or Executive Committee to have general charge of the celebration, with power to appoint all special and sub-committees necessary for plan- ning in detail and successfully promoting the important undertaking. The following persons were appointed as such General Committee, namely: F. A. Kendall, G. E. Flemming, W. M. Givler, George Keller, C. A. Nadelhoffer, H. H. Rassweiler, J. A. Reuss, J. A. Schmidt, C. L. Schwartz, Willard Scott, Theo. W. Smith and Fred von Oven. The organization of this com- mittee resulted in the appointment of Mayor F. A. Kendall as Chairman, Theo. W. Smith, Secretary, and C. L. Schwartz, Treasurer. It was now in order to make a formal, initial announcement of the undertaking to the people of Naperville through the columns of the Clarion. This was done by the Publicity Com- mittee in the Clarion issue of January 5, 1916. This announcement was met with hearty public approval and such general commendation of the provisional plan which it outlined as to appear prophetic of general co-operation and conse- quent success of the important event. The anticipated query: Why project this in- teresting community event so far in the future? was wisely answered in the published "Fore- word" as follows: To undertake it with a degree of care and deliberation in keeping with its im- portance; to proceed on the principle that thorough organization and preparation are essential to thorough execution; to give the project a fair chance to grip the thought and in- terest of our people; to give plenty of oppor- tunity for the designing of all sorts of festival plans and features; to let generous schemes of welcome and hospitality grow in the hearts and minds of our citizens; to bring within the period of preparation the completion of important building construction and other important decorative enterprises now in plan or in process ; and, by no means least, to have ample time to give the anticipated event the fullest possible publicity, both at home and abroad. In fixing the precise calendar dates for the celebration, on finding that the College Com- mencement would occur in the first week of June, and it being decidedly advantageous to bring the two important events to consecutive occurrence, the three last days of May and the first day of June, 1917, were named by the General Committee as the four festival days of the Home Coming week. To insure a pleasing variety in the events of the four days' program, it was decided to make each celebration day distinct from the others as to the nature of its festival plans and features; in other words, to assign to each day some repre- sentative element of our city life and interests as hosts and entertainers. In accordance with this purpose, the four days were denominated as follows : 1. OLD CITIZENS' DAY. The sentiment of this day and all its entertainment features to be made to contribute to the honor and pleasure of the "old folks" within and from without our city gates. 2. PATRIOTIC DAY. This being Decor- ation day, Naperville, with its visitors and guests from without, to go to the limit of its resources to honor our war time heroes. Added to the usual memorial ceremonies of the day, special patriotic events to be pro- vided, making the day replete with scenes appropriate and inspiring. 3. SCHOOL AND CHURCH DAY. Follow- ing the first day of events "rapt in reminis- cent reverie," and the second day of patriotic sentiment and entertainment, this third day was designed to bring to the fore the genius of our schools and the spirit of our churches in a program of events charged with the re- sults and influences of "Education and Re- ligion the two factors of a community's life which underlie and make possible all true progress." NAPERVILLE HOME OF THEODORE W. SMITH / NAPBRVILLE. w O g O O2 H *d W W O Q m t 9 11 NAPERVILLE 4. COMMUNITY DAY. The last great day of the feast, planned to include, in the fore- noon, a complimentary automobile tour through the delightful June dressed streets and avenues of our city; in the afternoon, one of the most elaborately planned pag- eants that Naperville has ever produced ; in the evening, fireworks, music and five minute addresses by men and women from at home and abroad all for Naperville as an appropriate "round up" of the festival events. Quite early among the interesting features planned for the occasion was the elegant . souvenir volume, a few of whose pages are oc-"| cupied by this "Brief Story." The preparation of this charming memento, which, while costing many hundreds of dollars, would prove to thou- sands "a thing of beauty and a joy forever," was committed to a strong committee representing literary ability, typographical experience and artistic skill. It is in the hands of the reader and speaks for itself. In the construction of a judicious line up of special committees, the General Committee aimed to combine breadth of representation, variety of judgment, taste and experience, and such numerical strength as would permit distri- bution of duty to sub-committee service. As showing with what care the manifold phases of preparatory work have been differentiated, and in justice to the faithful men and women who re- sponded to the call to service, it is deemed proper to give place herein to the following complete roster of special committees. The first named of each committee is its chairman. PUBLICITY. H. H. Rassweiler, Rev. A. E. Randell, E. H. Stevens, Rev. F. W. Umbreit, John W. Collins, J. A. Reuss and W. M. Givler. INVITATION. B. J. Slick, Mrs. Ada B. Collins, Mrs. W. C. Simpson, Mrs. Ralph Ballou, Mrs. Idelle Rass- weiler, Mrs. Calvin Steck, Miss Mary Yender, W. W. Wickel, Prof. A. C. Gegenheimer and Fred von Oven. RECEPTION AND HOSPITALITY. Willard Scott, Mrs. J. S. Goodwin, Mrs. W. C. Simpson, Mrs. M. W. Coultrap, Mrs. Geo. Wunder, Mrs. S. A. Ballou, Mrs. W. R. Good- win, Mrs. Willard Scott, Mrs. J. A. Schmidt, Mrs. J. A. Bell, Miss Emma Muerner, Carl Broeker, E. F. Stark, Alexander Crush, Wm. Knoch, H. J. Durran, Francis Granger, Jos. Kochly and H. C. Williams. NAPELRVILLE. EE l_cl\J(_LL(L/L/ I ^L J LLINOI5 CA.MADELHOFFER GEORGE KELLER JA.SCHAMDT (SE.FLEMMIK6 NAPBRVILLE HISTORICAL EXHIBIT AND REST ROOM. Mrs. W. B. Martin, Mrs. Alvin Scott, Mrs. Francis Granger, Miss Matie Egermann, T. W. Smith and H. H. Rassweiler. FINANCE. Alvin Scott, Y. A. Dieter, Prof. Nonnemaker, H. H. Peaslee and George Keller. PUBLIC DECORATION. J. W. Egermann, Mrs. Allen Hoopes, Mrs. Noel Alspaugh, W. W. Spiegler, Prof. G. B. Kimmel, Samuel Mather, Herman Boecker, S. F. Baumgartner, Julian Voss and Wilbur Lehman. PRIVATE DECORATION. John A. Hertel, Mrs. B. C. Beckman, Mrs. J. W. Bauer, Mrs. C. B. Bowman, Theo. W. Smith, R. N. Givler and Noel Alspaugh. SOUVENIR BOOK AND COLORS. Prof. C. B. Bowman, Mrs. T- A. Hertel, Mrs. J. A. Reuss, C. H. Koretke and R. N. Givler. HISTORY. D. B. Givler, Mrs. John Alspaugh and Mrs. H. H. Peaslee. REGISTRATION. Miss Mamie Thompson, Miss Ida Mottinger and Miss Mary Vender. COMPLIMENTARY AUTOMOBILE TOUR. V. A. Dieter, W. J. Truitt, Alvin Scott, J. W. Egermann and F. A. Kendall. MESSENGER BOYS' SERVICE. E. H. Stevens, Albert R. Morgan, Irwin P. Cainan, Wm. R. Friedrich, Dore Ester and Winfred Knoch. PAGEANT. W. M. Givler, Mrs. J. H. Clancy, Mrs. E. E. Miller, Mrs. R. N. Givler, Mrs. T- G. Marshall, Mrs. E. C. Mitchell, Miss Emma Keller, F. L. Biester, Dr. E. S. Fry, C. E. Heydon, C. A. Nadelhoffer, A. K. Spielberger, M. C. Van Nor- man, B. C. Beckman, T. F. Boecker, Pr'of. M. W. Coultrap, A. D. Miller, H. H. Peaslee, Dan Stiefbold, Arthur Beidelman, W. C. Bomberger, Julian Dieter, Arthur Green, E. J. T. Moyer, Julian Royce, C. E. Stoos, O. H. Reiche, E. B. Heaton, Wm. Sigmund, H. C. Litgens, Ed. T. Kearns, Wm. Knoch, Carl Broeker and Philip Corel. NAPERVILLE TUESDAY COMMITTEE. (Old Citizens' Day.) John A. Schmidt, Mrs. B. Egermann, Mrs. Ida Simpson, Mrs. Geo. Frost, Mrs. E. J. Kneip, Mrs. Mamie Webster, Mrs. Josephine Kroehler, Miss Emma von Oven, Miss Bertha Hammer- schmidt, Francis Granger, W. C. Hiltenbrand. C. W. Leffler, John Babel, B. H. Myers, Oliver Strubler, B. C. Beckman, Irving Goodrich, O. E. Higgins, Geo. Turner and Michael Schwartz. WEDNESDAY COMMITTEE. (Patriotic Day.) Dr. J. A. Bell, Mrs. Phil Hammerschmidt, Mrs. J. H. Clancy, Mrs. M. C. Andrus, Mrs. E. C. Rickert, Mrs. Truman Myers, Mrs. A. W. Glines, Mrs. H. Skelton, Mrs. W. M. Givler, Mrs. Hattie Wagner, Mrs. E. Rariden, Willard Scott, John Alspaugh, Levi Shafer, E. C. Rickert, Monroe Christ, Jos. Weismantel, Walter Rick- ert, Ralph Ballou and E. C. Shafer. THURSDAY COMMITTEE. (School and Church Day.) Rev. A. E. Randell, Mrs. D. Stark, Miss Lena Egermann, Miss Edith Neitz, Mrs. Gertrude Mowry, Miss Edna Wunder, Dr. E. E. Rail, Prof. Kirn, Prof. Waterman, Holt Sieber, W. M. Givler, E. E. Miller, C. L. Schwartz, Prof. H. C. Smith, W. H. Unger, Bernard Dieter, J. A. Hertel, Truman Myers, Rev. A. J. Boelter, Ira Sollenberger and George Unger. FRIDAY COMMITTEE. (Community Day.) THE GENERAL COMMITTEE. On July 21, 1916, the committee working ma- chinery having been constructed and publicly announced, a grand meeting of all the commit- tees was held in the Y. M. C. A. Auditorium. In the call for this meeting it had been forecast as a "ginger meeting," which prediction came fully true, both in the "ginger talks" which ani- mated the proceedings and in the manifest high tension of purpose to make the proposed Home Coming the most notable civic event in the his- tory of Naperville. Under such a spell of en- thusiasm the meeting adjourned. At the date of this writing, each committee is at work, in pleasant rivalry with all the others, determined to perform its specially delegated committee function faithfully and well. NAPERVILLE "MIDDLETON HOUSE" HOME OF CHARLES E. HEYDON M&iilMIIIIIHtllWIS&IIW^ jjk NAPBRVILLE. \1 HOME OF 1)K. P:. GRANT SIMPSON PH ij so O u p' 4 GEORGE MARTIN TRUSTEE COUNCIL OF THE J05PH NAPER PRE5. XAVICR EGERMANN TRUSTEE C.M.CASTLE CLERK /AICHAEL HINE5 TRUSTEE. -> - H.H.CODY TRUSTEE 9 NAPERVILLE PROEC.B. BOWMAN COM'R ACCT5. A FINANCES C. F. ROHR COM'R. PUBLIC PROPERTY W.M.GIVLCR COM'R STREETS & PUB. IMPROVEMENTS A. R.BEJDELMAN COM'R. PUB. HEALTH & SAFETY NAPERVILLE CITY ADMINISTRATION Naperville became an incorporated Village in the winter of 1857. In May 1858 at the first elec- tion, the following officers were elected: Presi- dent: Joseph Naper. Trustees: H. H. Cody, George Martin, M. Hines and X. Egermann. Police Justice: H. F. Vallete. Constable: A. C. Graves. Assessor: A. W. Colt. Clerk: C. M. Castle. One hundred and seventy four votes were cast. A petition, dated November 14, 1889, and signed by 52 voters, the required one eighth of the total number of voters, was presented to the President and Trustees of the Village of Naper- ville praying that the privilege be accorded the citizens to vote on the question of the incorpora- tion of the Village into a City according to Act of Legislature. A vote of 338 for and 61 against, taken March 17, 1890, established the City of Naperville. The following April 15, 1890 the city officers were elected: Mayor: J. J. Hunt, Clerk: T. W. Saylor, Treas.: Alvin Scott, Jr., Attorney: H. H. Goodrich. Aldermen, 1st Ward: Levi S. Shafer, John Collins, 2nd Ward: Joseph Bapst, J. A. Bell, 3rd Ward: F. S. Goetsch, Holt Sieber. By order of County Judge C. W. Clark the question of Commission form of Government was voted upon August 28, 1912, and carried by 260 for and 193 against. At the next general election, April 15, 1913, the following were elected : Mayor : F. A. Kendall, Commissioners : C. B. Bowman, W. M. Givler, W. . Hiltenbrand and C. L. Schwartz. The City officers at present are the following: Francis A. Kendall, Mayor; Charles B. Bowman, Com'r. Accounts and Finances; Walter M. Givler, Com'r. Streets and Public Improvements ; Arthur R. Beidelman, Com'r. Public Health and Safety; Charles F. Rohr, Com'r. Public Property; Albert J. Ory, City Clerk; Joseph A. Reuss, City Attorney; Loren W. Myers, City Treasurer; Oliver W. Strubler, City Collector; George G. Anderson, Chief of Police; Otto H. Reiche, Fire Marshal; A. K. Spielberger, Plumbing Inspector; Fred J. Postel, Electrical Engineer; Clifton A. Ashley, Public Engineer; Winfred B. Martin, M. D. Health Officer. NAPERVILLE E.J.T. MOVER . C.E.HEYDON BOARD OF HEALTH C. A. ASHLEY PUB. ENGINEER OFFICERS CAPTG&ANDERSON EDWARD FAIRBANKS- CHIEF-OF-POLiCE POLICEMAN a i* WE.RICKERT CHIEF ELECTRICIAN WB.MARTIN /A.D HEALTH OFFICER LEE. CLARK CHIEF ENGINEER MI5S F BAUMGARTNER DEfTY CITY COLLECTOR O.W 5TRUBLER A K SPIEL6ERGER CITY COLLECTOR PLUMBING INSPECTOR M6R. WATER ALIGHT DEFT. CHA5 LUEBCKE ASST SUP^TREETS NAPERYILLE E.d ULRICH FCRt : A55T FORE'N. GERMANX r.L GRIMES TREA5. & FORE'IX A5S'T. FORE 1 H.E.5AYLOR PRES.iFORE'N. No.l. C.BOETTGER A55T MARSHALL O.W STRUBLER V-PRE5.i.FORE'N JW LEHMAN . A55T. FORE'N NAPERVILLE FIRE DEPARTMENT After the fire of July 6, 1874, when the New York House burned, the need of some kind of fire protection was recognized and on August 8, of that year the village council appointed C. W. Richmond, Willarcl Scott, Jr., and Nicholas Yack as "a committee to purchase a fire engine and equipments for the use of the corporation," and on December 12, this committee reported to the council that they had purchased one hand engine, one hose cart, 700 feet of hose and other equipment at a cost of $1,752.50. Volunteer companies had previously been organized to operate the apparatus and on November 21st, Willard Scott, Jr., was appointed fire marshal by the council. Then came the memorable fire of the early morning of Friday, December 18, 1874, when the post office, express office and other buildings burned. The department did noble service at this, its first fire, for which it was given a vote of thanks by the village council at a special meeting held the next day. On December 26, B. B. Boecker was ap- pointed assistant fire marshal. January 2, 1875, an ordinance providing for the government of the fire department was passed by the village council and on February 13, the following named persons were duly accepted by the coun- cil as members of the department: Engine Company No. 1 ("J e Naper"). Daniel Garst, Foreman. Nicholas Yack, 1st Ass't. Foreman. Robert W. Sheldon, 2d Ass't. Foreman. M. Weismantel, Secretary. Xavier Adams, Theodore Beckman, Louis Bapst, Sebastian Bauer, Benj. L. Beidelman, John Beirsh, Adam Conrad, Geo. Daniels, Walter Daniels, Jos. Egermann, John Fisher, Fred Fuchs, Geo. Fortman, Henry Heim, Jacob Heim, Jos. Hiltenbrand, Xavier Kreyder, John Kreger, Christ Koepley, John Kropp, Martin Lehman, D. F. Long, Daniel Miley, Ferdinand Miller, Chas. Nadelhoffer, Horace Peaslee, John Pfister, Louis Reich, Geo. Reuss, Samuel Yundt, Sylvester Beidelman. Hose Company No. 1 ("Naperville"). A. McS. S. Riddler, Foreman. Peter Bapst, Ass't. Foreman. NAPERVILLE O P fe H K O i-s O. J. Wright, Secretary. Geo. Potter, Treasurer. Lewis Ellsworth, Jr., Jacob Keller, Jr., Geo. Ehrhardt, Jr., Henry Germann, John Collins, Augustus Schwein, Hoi. Sieber, Albert Yost, W. G. Anthony, James Kenclig, Samuel Kendig, Thos. Costello, Wm. Riddler. September 17, 1875, the village council authorized the purchase of a hook and ladder truck and on September 29, an organization was formed under the name of "Rescue" Hook and Ladder Co. No. 1, the following named per- sons being accepted by the council as members of the same on October 1st: Wm. Naper, Foreman. V. A. Dieter, Assistant Foreman. J. H. Alexander, Secretary. M. B. Hosier, Treasurer. Chas. Boettger, Danl. Strubler, Levi Gerberich, Jos. Kochly, D. B. Givler, Ed. Stover, E. W. Krimbal, Wm. Barber, Eli H. Ditzler. October 22, additional members were ac- cepted by the council as follows: Thos. W. Saylor, Mathias Stevens, Alfred Shafer, Fred Long, Al. J. Strouse, Frank Hunt, Henry Youngheim. D. B. Givler, E. W. Krimbal and M. Stevens having resigned, Ed. Arter, Dr. J. H. Chew and Wm. P. Wright were accepted in their stead by the council, January 5, 1876. September, 1881, the Joe Naper Engine Co. No. 1 was disbanded by the village council and a new company organized, which in turn was disbanded by the council in May, 1882, when a company was formed which served until the vil- lage purchased a steam engine in 1887. A com- pany known as Enterprise Engine Co. No. 2 was then organized to operate the steam engine and another "Joe Naper Engine Co. No. 1" was formed, but disbanded a year or two later. After the city water system was installed in 1904, the steam fire-engine was disposed of, Enterprise Engine Co. No. 2 and Hose Co. No. 1 disbanded, and four hose companies organized in their stead with stations located in different parts of the city, the companies being suitably equipped. Rescue Hook and Ladder Co. No. 1 is the only company that has kept its organization intact since the early days of the department and is now known officially as Company No. 5. The authorized number of members of the various companies of the department as now con- stituted is as follows: Co. No. 1, Central Station, 10 men; Co. No. 2, West Side Station, 4 men; Co. No. 3, East Side Station, 4 men; Co. No. 4, North Side Station, 7 men; Co. No. 5, Central Station, 10 men. In 1916, Company No. 1 was equipped with an up-to-date combination hose and chemical auto truck. The department is able and competent and many of its members have been long in the service, thus showing their devotion to the cause and making for efficiency. In the early nineties the department joined the Illinois State Firemen's Association and pro- ceeded to participate in the state tournaments held under the auspices of that organization which eventually resulted in the winning of the state championship for hose team, single coupl- ing (by C. Boettger), and novelty coupling (by C. Boettger and W. Willis). The hose champion- ship was won at Decatur in 1898, at Pekin in 1899 and at LaSalle in 1900. Among those who have served as fire marshals are the following: Willard Scott, B. B. Boecker, James J. Hunt, A. McS. S. Riddler, Joseph Eger- mann, Joseph Kochly, Wm. G. Sieber, Frank S. Goetsch, Charles Boettger and Henry E. Saylor. The present incumbent, Otto H. Reiche, has held the office since 1907. NAPERVILLE AUTO FIRE TRUCK NAPBRVILLE. DIE D ODD TEH? D OD WASHINGTON ST. LH LH I hi lio FRONT _ CD I lr, I - 1^1 - BRAJNARD ST. BB P NAPERVILLE METHODIST EPISCOPAL CHURCH METHODIST EPISCOPAL CHURCH REV. W. W. DIEHL, Pastor Stephen R. Beggs was the first Methodist preacher officially sta- tioned at Naperville. He was ap- pointed in the fall of 1833. His circuit had twelve preaching places and extended as far south as Joliet and as far west as Ottawa. In 1836, the DuPage Circuit, embrac- ing Naperville, was in charge of one preacher. This circuit was bounded on the north by the Wisconsin state line, on the east by Lake Michigan, excepting .Chicago, on the south by the DuPage River and on the west by the Fox River. In 1846, a board of trustees was appointed in Naperville. The members of this board were Joel Ellis, John Rahm, Hamilton Daniels, Alexander Under- wood, Eli Rich, Samuel Anderson, Aylmer Keith, Joseph Granger, and Hiram Bristol. The same year the site of the present church structure was bought at one hundred and twenty dol- lars. A small frame structure was completed be- fore fall. The Methodist Church Society has been served by fifty-seven different pastors. Two dif- ferent church structures and two different par- sonages have been erected. GRACE UNITED EVANGELICAL CHURCH REV. J. H. KEAGEL, Pastor Grace Church was organized in 1890. Scott's Hall served as its temporary place of worship until the completion of its first church building, at Loomis Street and Benton Avenue, in March, 1891. Flourishing from the beginnig, the congregation outgrew its modest first church home, and, under the pastorate of Rev. E. S. Woodring, planned and prepared for the erection of a more commodious structure. In 1909, under the oastorate of Rev. John Divan, the new edifice was built at a site and building cost of $35,000. A beautiful pipe organ was installed in 1916 at a cost of $2,500. Grace Church is advantageously situated in the center of the city, near Central Park on the corner of Front and Liberty streets. Its equipment for modern church work in all de- partments is thoroughly up to date. The Sun- day School is noted as a model in organization and efficiency. Pastors who have served Grace Church to date are: E. K. Yeakel, J. I- Klopp, William Caton, S. F. Entorf, W. H. Fouke, E. S. Woodring, John Divan, L. C. Schmidt, C. G. Unangst and J. H. Keagle. GRACE UNITED EVANGELICAL CHUECH / NAPE.RVILLE. ^^^^ ^^^^ ^ ^- m _... % ' FIKST CONGREGATIONAL CHUKCH FIRST CONGREGATIONAL CHURCH REV. ALFRED E. RANDELL, Pastor This Church, the second oldest Congregational Church organized in Illinois, came into being on July 13, 1833, under the leadership of Rev. N. C. Clark. The minutes of those early meetings disclose the use of Presbyterian nomenclature regarding polity, but in the second year of its history, the Church com- mitted itself to Congregationalism. The first building, erected upon lots which were the gift of Morris Sleight, was begun in 1846, completed in January 1847, and re- modelled and enlarged in 1896. During the pastorate of Dr. Peebles, this frame building was replaced by the present stone structure of Gothic architecture, erected in 1906 at a cost of $27,000. The equipment is modern and com- plete. The Austin pipe-organ was the gift of Mr. T. P. Phillips. A new steam heating plant was installed in 1916. Rev. Alfred E. Randell is the twentieth Pastor to serve this Church. To Rev. Hope Brown be- longs the honor of the longest pastorate. Rev. J. C. Myers comes next with nine years, Rev. H. V. Tull, eight, and Rev. George Peebles, seven. FIRST EVANGELICAL CHURCH REV. A.'J. BOELTER, Pastor The First Church, for many years, known as Zion Evangelical Church, is nearly if not quite the oldest church in Naperville, having been organized early in 1837. Rev. Jacob Boas, from Ohio, preached the first Evangelical sermon in Naperville in June, 1837. In 1841, the first church building was erected on a lot donated by Captain Naper. In 1845, the congregation had grown so large that they had to build a larger church. In 1858-59, the famous "Brick Church" was erected and dedicated by Rev. (afterwards Bishop) J. J. Esher. In 1870, when North-Western College was located in Naperville, a second congregation worshipping in the College building was or- ganized. These two congregations were amal- gamated in 1910, when the old "Brick" made way for the present stately and commodious struc- ture, erected at a cost of $56,000 under the pastorate of the Rev. W. A. Schutte, and dedi- cated in February, 1912, by Bishop S. P. Spreng, D.D., assisted by President, now Bishop, L. H. Seager, D.D. NAPBRVILLE , FIRST EVANGELICAL CHURCH o B O o A P ! PH H / MA PBR V I L LE S.S. PETER & PAUL CATHOLIC CHURCH REV. B. J. SCHUETTE, Pastor This congregation had its in- ception in the early thirties of the last century, when the spiritual needs of the few scattered Catholic families in this vicinity were at- tended to at intervals by traveling missionaries, sent by the Bishops of St. Louis, Mo., and Vincennes, Ind. Services during these early times were held in the house of some Catholic family. In 1846 it was found necessary to build a church and a permanent congregation with a resident priest was established, the Rev. Raphael Rainaldi being its first pastor. It is the oldest Catholic parish in DuPage County. The present church edifice was begun in 1864 under the pastorate of the Rev. Father Fischer and was re-constructed to its present condition in 1876 while the Rev. William De la Porte was pastor. The total cost of the church, both origi- nal and for its re-construction, was about $40,000, exclusive of the cost of the organ, altars and in- terior furnishings and decoration. During the time the late Rev. August Wenker was pastor from 1878 to his death in 1911, many noticeable improvements were made in the church and its property. The present altars and alter rail were installed and the church received its first stained glass windows. The magnificent rectory was also added at a cost of $12.000. The parish has besides its church edifice and rectory, a Parochial school and a cemetery, (briefly mentioned elsewhere herein), and a brick residence occupied by the Sisters who act as teachers in the school. In 1911 the present pastor, the Rev. Bernard J. Schuette, was appointed and the growth of the parish made necessary the appointment of an assistant in 1912. The Rev. Herman J. Ezell is assistant at the present time. The parish has a membership of about 330 families. About half of these live on farms in the vicinity of the City; the others, residents of Naperville, are merchants, artisans, professional men, etc. NAPERVILLE SISTRRS' RESIDENCE 8.S. PETER AND PAUL PARSONAGE NAPERVILLE. ST. JOHNS EPISCOPAL CHURCH REV. A. E. COLE, Pastor The first services of this church were held in Naperville, on Friday, November 16, 1838, when the Rev. Andrew H. Cornish, rector of Christ Church, Joliet, said evening prayer and preached. The first Episcopal visitation was made by the Rt. Rev. Philander Chase, D. D., Bishop of the diocese, May 27, 1839. A parish organization was officially effected on January 22, 1850, under the name and title of the Parish of St. John's Church. Capt. Morris Sleight presented ground for a church building in 1864; on June 1, of that year, the corner stone was laid ; on January 1, 1865, the church was open for the first service, and on April 24, of the same year, the consecration services were held, Bishop Whitehouse officiating. In 1867 Mrs. Delcar Sleight donated a lot for a rectory, which was built in 1870. The church was enlarged in 1878 to its present proportions. The women of the parish at present maintain two societies, the Women's Auxiliary and St. John's Guild. Rev. W. H. Hyham is priest in charge and Rev. A. Ellison Cole, assistant. 'b ST. JOHNS EPISCOPAL CHURCH NAPERVILLE i. CHURCH OF THE BRETHREN ST. JOHN'S EVANGELICAL LUTHERAN CHURCH GERMAN EVANGELICAL PEOPLE'S CHURCH NAPERVILLE. ST. JOHN'S EV. LUTHERAN CHURCH REV. F. KLINGEBERGER, Pastor Organized in 1858 with twenty members this church has been maintaining a flourishing congre- gation, adding to its members and usefullness. The original church building was enlarged and im- proved in 1871. It is located on Van Buren Avenue. GERMAN EVANGELICAL PEOPLE'S CHURCH REV. A. HUELSTER, Pastor Located on Washington Street near Franklin Avenue, this church was founded and organized Janu- ary 3, 1898, the first pastor having been Rev. Wm. Klar. Adjoining the church edifice is the parsonage, the entire property being worth $10,000. The membership has been well sustained. Baptism, faith in the Holy Scriptures, acceptance of the creed and the interpretation according to Luther's Catechism, the Augustana confesssion and the Heidelberg Catechism are the require- ments for membership. A Pastor is called by the congregation and serves an indefinite length of time. A board of trustees, also deacons, assist the administration. THE CHURCH OF THE BRETHREN <Dunkark> C. C. KINDY. Pastor Organized about 1856 with some fifteen members, the first church was built on John Erb's farm lY? miles north of Naperville. In 1908 the church on Benton Avenue was built. Some of the ministers were Samuel Lehman, C. F. Martin, Jacob Sollenberger, John Hollin- ger, Simon Yundt, Doris Voorman and Harvey Barkdoll. Since the church has been located in Naperville, Aaron Sollenberger, I. C. Snavely, and I. R. Beery have served. The present pastor assumed charge Sept. 1915 and is assisted by Elder H. B. Barkdoll and Rev. Ira Sollenberger. NAPERVILLE YOUNG MEN'S CHRISTIAN ASSOCIATION NAPERVILLE. HIL JID THE NICHOLS LIBEAKY YOUNG MEN'S CHRISTIAN ASSOCIATION E. H. STEVEMS, General Secretar? A representative group of men from all denominations met at Scott's Hall on March 27, 1909 and resolved to make provision for the social, physical, mental and spirit- ual needs of its young men and boys and to furnish an interdenomina- tional field of service by organizing a Y. M. C. A. and erecting a perma- nent building. The corner stone for the $40,000 modern city association building, which now houses a membership of 571, was laid on May 30, 1910 and the dedication service held Sunday, March 26, 1911. The officers of the Association are: E. J. T. Moyer, president; T. W. Smith, secretary; F. A. Kendall, treasurer, and the following directors : A. H. Beidelman, Prof. C. B. Bowman, W. M. Givler, Irving Goodrich, Dr. G. J. Kirn, Dr. W. B. Martin, B. J. Slick, and H. H. Strubler. O. W. Foberg, the first general secretary, served for two years, W. C. Taylor served for four years and the present incumbent, E. H. Stevens, came to Naperville in May 1916. Trwin P. Cainan is the physical director. THE NICHOLS LIBRARY MARY BARBARA EGERMANN, Librarian and Secretary The Nichols Library, one of the finest public libraries in DuPage County, was made possible by the beneficence of one of our towns-men, the late Prof. J. L. Nichols. The bequest, amount- ing to $10,000, was paid to the City of Naper- ville, August, 1897. An appropriation from the city secured the site, centrally located, with spacious lawns, on Washington St., adjoining the Y. M. C. A. and Central Park. The building is constructed of Naperville stone for basement and trimmings, with super- structure of (yellow) pressed brick, and a slate roof. Interior and furnishings in first grade light oak. It comprises a reading room, lobby, library with nineteen bookstacks and balcony, one committee room, one reference room, two lavatories, and a museum on the second floor. The dedicatory exercises were held June 29, 1898. About September 1st, the building was completed, and formally opened to the public on Thursday evening, September 22nd. About 500 volumes had been purchased and 200 donated. These, with a number of periodicals, formed the nucleus of our public library, which today num- bers 5,500 volumes, and 60 of the best periodicals on its tables, and has an annual circulation of more than 15,000 books. fl NAPBRVILLE. 'm//jmmmm. In October, 1912, the librarian, Miss M. B. Egermann, opened the museum department, which, today, exhibits rare old treasures of Naperville's pioneers and other specimens of his- torical and general interest. The library is maintained by public tax. The management is vested in a Board of nine Direct- ors, three being appointed each year by the City Council. The first Board was appointed May 21, 1897: Pres. Dr. J. A. Bell, Vice-Pres., Mrs. Eliza- beth Nichols Simpson, Sec'y- D. C. Wallace, Prof. H. H. Rassweiler, H. H. Goodrich, Sam'l. E. Ranck, Holt. L. Sieber, C. L. Schwartz, Peter Butler. Others who have served as di- rectors: Jos. Bapst, V. A. Dieter, W. W. Wickel, Thos. Betts, Sr., Prof. R. F. Bunnel, Mrs. Alice Gibson, Prof. G. Nauman, Prof. F. A. Kendall, Mrs. J. Niederhauser, S. E. Ranck, Prof. G. C. Butler and Prof. F. W. Cole. The present board: B. J. Slick. Pres., Mrs. Elizabeth Nichols Simp- son, Vice-Pres., Miss M. B. Egermann, Sec'y. and Librarian, Olive Kendall, Ass't., Willard Scott, H. J. Durran, Theo. F. Boecker, Sr., Mrs. Ruth Sheldon, Miss V. B. Graham, Prof. G. J. Kirn and Prof. O. A. Watermann. Miss E. Goss, of Morgan Park, as temporary librarian, catalogued the first books according to the Dewey system, with Mrs. H. D. Alspaugh, as librarian, who served until August, 1905, to be succeeded by Mrs. J. Niederhauser, who re- signed in October, 1907, when Miss R. Barnard took the place as secretary and librarian. Upon her resignation, Miss M. B. Egermann received the appointment, May 1, 1909, continuing in the service since that date. The beautiful building, bearing over its portals the title in gold letters, "THE NICHOLS LIBRARY," stands as a monument to the donor, keeping his name and fame in perpetual remembrance, adding honor to "our Naperville" and prestige to DuPage County. BOARD ^DIRECTORS MAI W. SCOTT HENRY J.DURRAN MRS. NICHOL5-5IMPSON VICE-PRESIDENT PROF: G.IKIRN T.F. BOECKER MISS M. B. EGERMANN SEC'Y & LIBRARIAN MISS OLIVE KENDALL ASS'T LIBRARIAN MRS, RUTH SHELDON NAPERVILLE. OFFICERS FRED VON OVEN PRES W.M.GIVLER TREAS. ALVIN SCOTT SECY. VADIETER V.PRES. FREDERICK W. vonOVEN, President VALENTINE A. DIETER, Vice President ALVIN SCOTT, Secretary WALTER M. GIVLER, Treasurer NAPERVILLE ASSOCIATION OF COMMERCE DIRECTORS. John A. Schmidt ................... Chairman Theodore W. Smith ........ Francis A. Kendall Joseph A. Reuss ............. George A. Keller Henry H. Rassweiler ____ Charles A Nadelhoffer George E. Flemming ...... Charles L. Schwartz CHAIRMEN OF COMMITTEES. Railroad .................. Francis A. Kendall Streets and Highways. .Frederick W. von Oven Location . .... ................... Alvin Scott Employment ............... E. Harold Stevens Advertising .............. Valentine A. Dieter Statistics ............... . .Charles B. Bowman Public Improvement ...... Bernard C. Beckman Entertainment ............... Julian M. Dieter Membership ................... Henry Litgins City Beautiful ............ John W. Egermann The Naperville Association of Commerce, with barely fifty members, was formed July, 1913 for the express purpose of encouraging enterprises, resources and growth of Naperville. During the past four years through its active contact with the necessities of our community, and co-oper- ation with the city and county authorities the following notable results have been accom- plished: The location and development of state aid roads and good roads movement in general; The construction of sub-ways under the Chi- cago Burlington & Qumcy Railroad tracks at Mill and Washington streets ; Procuring the site for Burlington Square as a station park as well as other property for park purposes and the beautification of same; Extensions in permanent ornamental post street lighting systems; better telephone, mail anc j train service and improvements for indus- trial developments ; Originators and backers of the 1917 Home Coming. MILL STHIOET SUWVAY BURLINGTON SQUARE WOMAN'S CHRISTIAN TEMPERANCE UNION THE EVANGELICAL THEOLOGICAL SEMINARY On September the 20th 1883, at a Convention of the temperance workers of Du Page County held in the Congregational Church, the Naper- ville Union was organized. This organization is "a body of Christian women, pledged total abstainers, banded to- gether for the protection of the home, the pro- motion of purity, the destruction of the liquor traffic, and the final triumph of the principles of Christ in the world. Among its foremost activities have been the Demerest Temperance Medal Contests; quarter- ly union gospel temperance services addressed by Francis E. Willard, Col. George G. Bain, and others of national fame ; participation in the "Temperance Parade" of 500 women and chil- dren for a dry Naperville, April 20, 1908; a $250.00 memorial room in the Y. M. C. A. to Mrs. Nancy Knickerbocker; and a drinking foun- tain in the city park. Acting upon a statement of the General Con- ference of the Evangelical Association in 1867 favorable to theological training, the Board of Trustees of North-Western College in 1873 formally organized and incorporated Union Bibical Institute and planned for an endowment of $100,000.00. Bishop J. J. Esher the first Principal was suc- ceeded by Bishop Reuben Yeakel, who also oc- cupied the chair of Doctrinal Theology. Fol- lowing Bishop Yeakel, Bishop Thomas Bowman was placed at the head of the institution for 17 years, while Prof. S. L. Unibach served as active Principal. In 1909 the Board of Trustees changed the name to The Evangelical Theological Seminary, and in 1912 created the title of President, calling Rev. S. J. Gamertsfelder, D.D., Ph.D., to this position. In 1912 a beautiful and substantial building was erected at a cost of $32,000. The benefits to the kingdom of Christ from this institution extend far and wide. Annually a goodly number of young men graduate and go forth to preach the Gospel of the Son of God. EVANGELICAL THEOLOGICAL SEMINARY NORTHWESTERN COLLEGE Founded in 1861 W Inspired by a desire to provide a higher Christ- ian education for their youth, four conferences of the Evangelical Association, Illinois, Wisconsin, Indiana and Iowa, established Plainfield College at Plainfield, Illinois, in April, 1861. In 1864, the name was changed to North-Western College and an endowment fund of $50,000 was com- pleted. The first class graduated in 1867. In 1870, the college moved to Naperville on ac- count of better railroad facilities and the very generous donation of an 8-acre campus and $25,000 in cash. An excellent building (part of the present Main Building) was erected. The first year the enrollment was 256, the fifth year, 416. ^ The first president of North-Western College, Augustine A. Smith, served from 1862-1884, a notable administration of over 22 years. He was followed by President H. H. Rassweiler, who served very efficiently from 1884-1888. His suc- cessor, Professor H. J. Kiekhoefer, was made president in 1891. During his able administration of 22 years, over $100,000 was spent in buildings, including the south wing of the Main Building in 1890, the Gymnasium, in 1901, the gift of an honored alumnus, Professor J. L. Nichols, the Carnegie Library in 1908, and Goldspohn Science Hall in the same year, named after the donor, the generous and distinguished alumnus, Dr. Albert Goldspohn. President Kiekhoefer re- signed in 1910 and after an interregnum of a year and a half, ably filled by Bishop Thomas Bowman and Acting-President L. M. Umbach, the Rev. Lawrence H. Seager was called who served with marked success from 1911-1916, when he resigned to accept a Bishopric in his Church, and the present incumbent, Dr. Edward E. Rail was called to fill his place. For 1916-17, North-Western College has en- rolled over 440 from 20 states and 2 foreign countries. About 300 are in the College, the re- mainder in the Academy, Schools of Music, Com- merce, and Art. The present faculty numbers 28. The college has productive funds of over $250,000. NAPBRVILLE i ^^P I if NAPERVILLE \1 JLfmHmmmmmmmmmmmimiiimmmmmimmmmmaiM. J NAPEBVILLE HIGH SCHOOL I/ NAPBRVILLE t% NAPERVILLE ^^. -~^ ~ -m ^ w-v ^ T I. MYERS JAME5 SIGNER NOEL ALSPAUGH W^H.UNGER 3:B.KLINE,5EC'Y. W= 5IGMUND IT" N ; A PERVIL LE || '.I^_<^H,,- !>, WI ^.. ,,,. .,.!:.- J NAPERVILLE PUBLIC SCHOOLS DISTRICT NO. 78 The Naperville Public Schools are housed in three buildings. The modern new high school building on Washington Street has 193 students and twelve teachers including drawing and music teachers, who teach in the grades also. The grade building on Sleight Street has the first eight grades with an enrollment of 255 pupils and eight teachers. The grade building on Eagle Street has six grades with an enrollment of 193 pupils and six teachers. Total number of pupils enrolled to date, 641. Superintendent and teachers, 27. Teachers are to be State normal school gradu- ates for the grades and college or university graduates for the high school. The course of study and quality of the teaching force are recognized, the high school being on the list of schools approved by the North Central Asso- ciation and by the University of Illinois, also re- cently accredited for a period of three years, end- ing June 30, 1920. The Board of Education demonstrates its efficiency by the splendidly equipped new high school building and by the constantly improved school conditions. Mr. O. A. Waterman is su- perintendent. SOCIETIES S.S. PETER AND PAUL CHURCH. S. S. Peter & Paul Catholic Parish has main- tained a Parochial school since about 1850. The present school building was erected in 1911 at a cost of about $30,000. The average attendance is 250 pupils and its course comprises eight grades, taught by Sisters of the Order of St. Francis. It is a free school and is maintained by the parishoners out of the funds of the church. HOLY NAME SOCIETY. KNIGHTS O.F COLUMBUS, NAPERVILLE COUNCIL No. 1369. WESTERN CATHOLIC UNION. CATHOLIC ORDER OF FORESTERS, ST. JOSEPH'S COURT No. 291. CAROLUS GUARDS. ST, ALOYSIUS YOUNG MEN'S JUNIOR HOLY NAME SOCIETY. SOCIETY OF CHRISTIAN MOTHERS. WOMEN'S CATHOLIC ORDER OF FOR- ESTERS, ST. MARY'S COURT No. 295. ST. MARY'S YOUNG LADIES SODALITY. WESTERN CATHOLIC UNION, ST. CLARA BRANCH No. 198. S.S. PETER AND PAUL PAROCHIAL SCHOOL * I HOME OF DE. W. B. MARTIN NAPBRVILLE. WALTER BLANCHARD POST GRAND ARMY OF THE REPUBLIC Walter Blanchard Post G. A. R. of Naperville was mustered as a Post in Scott's Hall, January 7, 1884, with twenty-two members. Willard Scott, Commander. The Post received its name from Captain Walter Blanchard of Downers Grove, of the 13th Illinois Infantry, who received his death wound at Ringold Gap, Georgia, November 27, 1863. The Post and its friends erected the monu- ment to the Soldiers and Sailors which graces the City Park, and, assisted by the Ladies Auxil- iary and the Sons of Veterans, has done much to foster the spirit of loyalty to the flag, and devo- tion to the country's cause. The officers for the year 1917 are: Commander E. C. Rickert Senior Vice H. C. Skelton Junior Vice G. K. Turner Surgeon J. A. Bell Chaplain I). B. Givler Quarter-Master M. L. Houser Officer of the day Jos. Kochly Officer of the Guard E. V. Powell Adjutant L. S. Shafer Patriotic Instructor J. I. Vogelsang NAPERVILLE WOMAN'S CLUB EUCLID LODGE NO. 65, A. F. & A. M. Dating its origin from 1898, the Woman's Club looks back to the gathering of women at the home of Mrs. Willard Scott when the organiza- tion was effected, and Mrs. A. R. FYeeman was elected President. In connection with its purely literary study, the Club has become one of the foremost sup- porters of the Nichols Library, and through its committees is active in public school matters, having pledged, in 1916, over $500.00 to equip the Domestic Science Department of the new High School. The aim of the Club is to be a helping hand wherever possible to Naperville in civic, social and educational matters, to its high-minded, strictly modern commissioners, its enterprising Association of Commerce, its remarkable Y. M. C. A., its excellent schools and churches; in all working harmoniously for a better, cleaner, safer and more beautiful city. NIaperville, Illinois Euclid Lodge No. 65 Ancient, Free and Ac- cepted Masons, was chartered October 9, 1849, by the Grand Lodge of the State of Illinois. The charter members were Lewis Ellsworth, John Kimball, Nathan Loring, C. C. Barnes, Aylmer Keith, Joseph Naper, and Nathan Allen. Joseph Naper, founder of Naperville, was the second Worshipful Master of Euclid Lodge. The Lodge now has a membership of 175 and is growing rapidly, having doubled its member- ship within the last five years. There has been completed this year the new Masonic Temple costing $30,000.00. The new building is located' on Jefferson Avenue near Main Street. Coan H. Wright is its present Worshipful Master. C. A. Ashley, Secretary. NAPBRVILLE. rf MASONIC TEMPLE THE NAPERVILLE BAND NAPE.RVILLE. THE NAPERVILLE BAND THE CAROLUS GUARDS Naperville's musical birth dates back to the forming of her first band, the old Light Guard Band, in which William Knoch, Joseph Kochly and George Keller were the star performers. This charter organization was dissolved early in 1900. The Lounge Factory Band became its suc- cessor in 1906 under the management of Frank Hawbecker, Frank Babel, and Harry Emmel. Mr. Charles Horn, of Chicago, was the first di- rector of the Lounge Factory Band. His suc- cessors were Mr. Holmes, Mr. J. Arden Waters and Mr. W. M. Givler. This organization en- joyed the co-operation of Mr. P. E. Kroehler who furnished uniforms and gave financial assistance. Mr. J. Fred Fehr, the present director, re- ceived his musical education in the. School of Music of North-Western College and the Ameri- can Violin School. Under his able leadership the Band is producing most excellent results. There are 22 members, and the name now is The Naper- ville Band. Sixteen Saturday evening concerts in the business section last summer were enjoyed and financed by many friends and admirers. The Carolus Guards, a military body affiliated with St. Joseph's Court No. 291 C. O. F., was or- ganized March 25, 1906, with Julian Dieter, Albert. Ory, George Dieter, Leo Rechenmacher, and Edward Getz as its officers. Capt. Edw. Getz, a veteran of the Spanish- American War, through his firm belief in disci- pline and his unwearied enthusiasm, has been largely responsible for the rapid advancement of the Guards to their present state of efficiency. The executive ability of the first president and present lieutenant, Julian Dieter, has also been a strong factor in the upbuilding of the organiz- ation. Unlike most private military organizations, the Carolus Guards have not been trained merely for dress parades, but have expressed their will- ingness through a petition to the governor to fight for their country's honor, should it ever be placed in jeopardy. To the delight of our citizens and for their own military development, the guards have al- ways taken an active part in all civic demon- strations and on numerous occasions have par- ticipated in military maneuvers and exibition drills in other cities, Ottawa, Elgin, and Chicago. HOME OF J. A. HERTEL H Q ffi O ffi E OT I ffi / NAPE R v i L L E. w o M O W <-l 02 HH o '*> W K THE VON OVEN HOME "PINE CRAIG," 1833-1917 HOME OF EDWARD G. MITCHELL THE GEORGE MARTIN ESTATE HOME OF JOSEPH A. EEUSS \P HOME OF EALPH BALLOU OFFICERS Wm. FRIEDERICH JUSTICE '/the PEACE ADAM KOHLEY SUPERVISOR. GEORGE TURNER ASSESSOR JULIANA. ROYCE CLERK &.WSTEININGER HIGHWAY COtfR. FLOYD A. FEY CONSTABLE MONROE E.CHRI5T DEPUTY COLLECTOR PHILIP COREL HIGHWAY COM'R ID. ROYER HIGHWAY COM'R OFFIC ERS C.E. 5T005 JUSTICE "Ahc PEACE JOSEPH LAUER SR. A55E550R. OW. STRUBLER TOWN CLERK fr JU5TICE%..PCACC D.C.5CHWARTZ HIGHWAY COM'R. JJBOOK HIGHWAY COM'R. J5CHELLIN6 TR HIGHWAY COM'R. ITHE EDWARD SANATORIUM The Edward Sanatorium at Naperville, Illi- nois, opened January 15, 1907. (Possible by the munificence of Mrs. Keith Spaulding). Under the direction of Dr. Theodore B. Sachs, the Edward Sanatorium grew from an institution of 14 beds to its present capacity of 100 beds. The approximate present cost of the plant is about $100,000. The Sanatorium is a department of the Chi- cago Tuberculosis Institute. It is an institution for people in moderate circumstances, most of the patients being of the clerical and professional class. The institution has an adequate medical and nursing personnel, the medical department being under the supervision of Dr. O. W. McMichael. . LE ST. PROCOPIUS COLLEGE St. Procopius College was founded by the Rt. Rev. Abbot Nepomucene Jaeger, O. S. B., of St. Procopius Abbey of Chicago, in the year 1886. By an Act of the State Legislature the Institu- tion was incorporated and empowered to confer all Academic Degrees. The first building was at Chicago, and was used only as a day-school. When the question of providing more adequate buildings for the in- creasing number of students became pressing, the Fathers determined to remove the Institution from the turmoil of city life and seek out a quiet place in the country. Such a place was found two miles east of Naperville, on the Burlington Route. What with the handsomeness of its buildings, the thoroughness of its equipment and modern accommodations, the healthy and pleasing locali- ty, the College stands second to none of its kind. With the Abbey is connected the Bohemian Benedictine Press of Chicago, publishing a daily, semi-weekly, weekly, and a monthly paper. ST. JOSEPH'S BOHEMIAN ORPHANAGE This Institution was built in the year 1910- 1911 on a forty acre tract of land, bought from Mr. Ferdinand Schwartz, in Lisle Township, near Naperville, on the C. B. & Q. R. R. It has been built by the Bohemian Catholic people chiefly from Cook County, at the expense of $100,000.00. The furnishing of the institution cost over $15,000.00. Two hundred orphaned or dependent children can be comfortably housed within its spacious rooms and dormitories. The institution is intended not only to give a good, warm home to children, but also education schooling and practical training in every line of work that awaits the inmates after they leave. The Sisters of the Order of St. Benedict from the neighboring convent take the place of mothers, nurses and teachers at the same time and take general care of the Institution. Besides this, regular licensed industrial and manual training teachers come from the City of Chicago once every week to instruct the larger children in manual and industrial work. Very Rev. Procopius Neuzil, O.S.B., is the superintendent of the Institution. ST. PEOCOPIUS COLLEGE NAPERVILLE ST. JOSEPH'S BOHEMIAN ORPHANAGE Views of NaiDerville NAPERVILLE sss&ssssssssls-- ^&Sf^^^ \.tas;W S. S. PETER & PAUL CATHOLIC CEME- TERY is the last resting place of the remains of the ancestors of many who read this. It dates back to 1846 when the first land for it was pur- chased, containing about an acre. At present it comprises seven acres. Handsome ornamental monuments adorn the burial plots and an im- posing statuary group, representing the crucific- tion of Our Lord, imbues an air of sanctity and reverence and instills into the sorrowing mourner that Hope which can be his only consolation. It is maintained most beautifully. S. S. Peter & Paul Cemetry Association, an incorporated as- sociation, has charge of its care, and by virtue of its charter may receive bequests and donations for the perpetual care of lots. Through this as- sociation the continued beautification of the cemetery is assured. The cemetry is inclosed by an ornamental iron fence. It is located just ad- joining the east end of the .city. NAPERVILLE CEMETERY. The Naperville Cemetery is under the care of a Board of Trustees of three members, one of whom is elected annually at an election held on the first Monday in April. The first trustees, elected March 12, 1843, were Joseph Naper, Lewis Ellsworth and John Granger. At this time Mr. George Martin donated 2 acres of land, and the old cemetery at Washington Street and Benton Avenue was moved to its present loca- tion. Among the names that are conspicuous on the records of the Association are especially Lewis Ellsworth and Moses B. Hosier. Mr. Ellsworth's name occurs as Trustee the greater part of the time between the years 1843 until 1885. Mr. Hosier was elected as Trustee in 1881 and served continuously as Secretary up to the time of his death in 1915. The present Board of Trustees of Naperville cemetery are: G. A. Yost, Pres. ; B. J. Slick, Treas.; L. M. Umbach, Sec. Located on the western slopes of the DuPage River, the cemetery has one of the most beauti- ful sites to be found in the State. ELECTKIC LIGHT AND WATER PLANT _____ ^ ^ ^_ jLNMMMKMWNMMNMMMMN^^ KKUSS STATE BANK ESTABLISHED 1S8G CAPITAL AND SURPLUS, $125,000.00 .r FIRST NATIONAL HANK OF NAPEKVI LLIO -(\\IMTAL AND SURPLUS $100,000.00 REUSS STATE BANK Ruess State Bank was founded in 1866 when George Reuss opened a private bank on May 1st of that year. The private bank became merged in a corporation April 12, 1897 under the above title with a capital stock of $25,000 with George Reuss as its President and V. A. Dieter, Cashier. The capital stock was raised from time to time to meet the growing condition of its business and the bank now has a capital of $100,000 and a sur- plus of $25,000 with deposits of about $400,000. A modern steel lined burglar proof vault has re- cently been completed and safetly deposit boxes installed for the security of the bank's patrons. The officers and directors are: Joseph A. Reuss President Charles L. Schwartz Vice- President Valentine A. Dieter Cashier Albert J. Ory Ass't. Cashier Loren W. Myers Ass't. Cashier DIRECTORS: Andrew A. Schwartz, George J. Zahringer, Monroe E. Christ, Alvin Scott, Charles L. Schwartz, Valentine A Dieter and Joseph A. Reuss. THE FIRST NAT'L BANK OF NAPERVILLE The First National Bank of Naperville was in- corporated in April, 1891, with a capital stock of $50,000.00. The first Board of Directors was composed of Thomas P. Phillips, Martin Brown, William King, Charles F. Rassweiler and Francis Granger. Officers: T. P. Phillips, President; Martin Brown, Vice-President; A. McS. S. Riddler, Cashier; Walter M. Givler, Assistant Cashier. James L. Nichols, George W. Sindlinger and H. H. Goodrich served as di- rectors, the latter also as President, until their demise. Assistant Cashiers were Ralph N. Ballou, Frank G. Keller and Earl E. Leffler. The present capital, surplus and undivided profits aggregate $115,000.00 and deposits over $500,000.00. The bank is now occupying its modernly equipped quarters, corner Washington Street and Jefferson Avenue. The present Directors are: Francis Granger, Ezra E. Miller, Irving Goodrich, John A. Schmidt, Calvin Steck, Francis A. Kendall and Bernard C. Beckman. Officers: President, Francis Granger; Vice-President, Ezra E. Miller; Cashier, Walter M. Givler; Assistant Cashiers, Elbert H. Kailer and Edward L. Steck. K O O *J pc !*J td > a g O X a H O 32 "i f- , .^-.^.-V-.S-S;-; Ln^ *MWMINMMMHHK| NAPERVILLEV HOME OF JOHN ZAININGE1? f "ELMHOLM" HOMK OF ROLLO N. GlVLKU HOME OF WILLIAM BLAKE IP SLICK 86 KOCHLY, Dry Goods and Groceries, Cor. Main Street and Jefferson Avenue THE P. E. KKOEHLEH MAXrFACTTKIXG COMPANY QJ WM. C. HILTENBRAND Established 1891 DEALER IN DRY GOODS, GROCERIES LADIES' and GENTS' FURNISHINGS CROCKERY and GLASS WARE STARK'S FOR DRY GOODS, NOVELTIES AND NOTIONS STAPLE AND FANCY GROCERIES Both Phones Cor. Jefferson Ave. and Washington St. / Mm NAPERVILLE I c I Cfl I I 5 H 2 G D W CO G Ro w r CO HH 52 <: p co m o. w ?o pq ^1 5 d d 2 2 r tn " n s > r d i 50 (0 ^1 1 O 1 50 O z Q 1866 NAPERVILLE NURSERIES, Inc. Fruit, Shade and Ornamental Trees, Shrubs, Perennials, Etc. 1917 5APERVILLE "\ ^"""""'""""'"""""""^ CHAS. F. ROHR FLOEIST CUT FLOWERS AND BEDDING PLANTS 120 South Washington St. Naperville, 111. EDSON CROSBY PIANO TUNING 102 Columbia Avenue Naperville. 111. COLLEGE INN THOS. J. GREEN, Proprietor RESTAURANT AND LUNCH ROOM BEST THINGS TO EAT 17 Jefferson Avenue Naperville, 111. INSURANCE REAL ESTATE JOHN RICE ILLINOIS, MINNESOTA AND MICHIGAN LANDh 45 Washington St., Naperville, 111. THE MODEL VARIETY STORE Extends to You a Hearty Welcome THE PLACE WHERE YOUR DIMES DO DOUBLE DUTY Up-to-date 5 and lOc Department Store Pure Fresh Candies, lOc a Pound and up. E. A. KELLOGG, Prop. Naperville, Illinois C. B. MOORE LUMBER CO BUILDING MATERIAL. LUMBER, LATH, SHINGLES, ETC. Main and So. Water Sts. Naperville, 111. NAPBRVILLE Scott, Egermann & Royce, Reliable Real Estate and Insurance Agency, ;,:;';;:::,, l ,' h ;:,:,,:. 1 56 NAPBRVILLE MEN'S AND LADIES' OUTER GARMENTS Made to Your Individual Measure SATISFACTION GUARANTEED /. 8. Phone 4272 E. O. RIFE Naperville, Illinois. 153 North St. BOTH TELEPHONES G. J. KELLER Soft Coal of All Sizes POCAHONTAS ANTHRACITE COKE PROMPT ATTENTION GIVEN TO YOUR ORDER Yard Near Depot Naperville, 111. W. E. HAZEL WOOD POULTRY FEED Washington and Water Streets Naperville, 111. BOTH TELEPHONES M. L. HOWSER Groceries and Canned Goods Fresh Bread and Rolls Confectionery and Fruits 87 Sleight St. Naperville, 111. II II BUSINESS INTERESTS Auctioneer; William Eichman, F. E. Shimp. Bakery; Joseph Bapst, C. E. Heydon, Home Bakery. Barber; E. C. Shafer, R. F. High, H. J. Fuss, H. J. Gillhoover, O. W. Conner. Blacksmithing; G. C. Duel, Heim and Stoner, F. S. Goetsch & Son, A. Kochly, J. Hauser. Carpet Weaving; August Kersting. Cigars; William Knoch, Sanders & Plasterer. City Auto Service. Clothier; Yender & Brossman, Mickenbecker Store, H. J. Durran. Coal; G. J. Keller, H. H. Zaininger, Enck & Drendel, T. F. Boecker. Contractors; A. H. Beidelman, Oscar Goehring, John Bentz, Oliver Fry, Henry Miley, Sieber Bros., Walter Weigard, Lauer Bros., J. Schifferle, Charles Shiffler, Frank McCorkel, Frank Witt, A. R. Miller. Concrete; J. J. Arends, John Hedinger. Dairy; H. Otterpohl, E. O. Drendel, F. A. Fey, Ira Sollenberger, J. Wagner. Dentist; Thos. White, O. A. Getz, A. B. Slick, W. E. Becker, L. A. Brazelton. Druggist; L. W. Oswald, C. C. Coleman. Electric Supplies; Dieter & Getz, A. G. Herbert. Electric Theatre. Feed Store; W. E. Hazlewood. Feed Mill; T. F. Boecker, Enck & Drendel. Florist; C. Rohr, J. Falkenstein, W. Miller, J. A. Kenyon, John Bauer, Orchids-Charles Bond. Furniture and Undertaking; O. J. Beidelman, A. R. Beidelman, Yender & Kraushar. Garage, Auto Repairing; Naperville Garage, Fountain Garage, DuPage Garage, Cromer Bros., Nichols-Cadman, E. S. Fry, E. L. Perry. German Cheese Co. Groceries; W. C. Bomberger & Co., M. L. Houser, C. E. Heydon, Mrs. Anna B. Kreger, G. C. Kirchgasser, A. Felling, J. Bapst. Hardware; Hillegas Hardware Co., Reiche Bros., C. Sherer & Son. Hotels; Burlington Hotel, Preemption House. Harness; Flemming Harness Shop, J. Herbert. Insurance; H. H. Rassweiler & Son, W. S. Garman, G. A. Rapp, F. W. Umbreit. Illinois Pupils Reading Circle: F. A. Kendall. Insurance and Real Estate: Scott, Egermann & NAPERVILLE Royce, M. E. Christ, John Rice, R. M. Sheldon. Ice Cream and Conf. ; L. V. Kreger, H. C. Williams, F. Mistici, A. Felling, F. H. Latshaw, G. C. Kirchgasser. Jewelry; H. P. Fehrenkamp, A. D. Miller, H. J. Durran. Kroehler Mfg. Co. Ladies Furnishings; M. Herbert Co. Laundry ; Sam Lung. Lawyer: ]. A. Reuss, Benjamin & Reed, Bunge Harbour & Schmidt, J. S. Goodwin, Wm. Frederick, W. Knoch, J. R. Haight, B. Piper. Livery ; A. M. Sherwood. Lumber; C. L. Schwartz, C. B. Moore Lumber Co. Martin & von Oven Brick & Tile Works. Meat Market; Grush & Faulhaber, Boettger Bros., Banner Meat Market, A. Baum- gartner, W. H. Hartrunft. Merchandise; Slick & Kochly, Broeker & Spiegler, E. F. Stark, W. C." Hiltenbrand. Millinery; Mrs. W. E. Becker, Miss Lolla T. Allen, Meisinger Sisters. Model Variety Store. Monuments ; A. R. Beidelman, E. Wunderlich. Naperville Mushroom Farming Co. Naperville Nurseries. Osteopath; E. S. Moser, R. N. Bautsch. Painter; S. F. Baumgartner, R. A. Unger, F. Grimes, E. W. Hey, Saylor Bros., J. Widclers, W. Ross, H. Garman, A. Prignitz, Fritch & Knecht, Costello & Stoos. Photographer; C. H. Koretke. Phvsicians; W. [ Truitt, E. G. Simpson, A. B. ' Rikli, W. "B. Martin, R. Truitt, J. H. Clancey, W. L. Migley. Plumber; J. Kieserg, Dieter & Getz, T. J. Steffes. Printer; R. N. Givler. Publisher; J. L. Nichols Co. Restaurant ; College Inn, Fountain Lunch Room. Shoes; A. Muench. Shoe Repairing; Stanley's Electric Shoe Shop, Jacob Zimmerman. Surveyor; C. A. Ashley. Transfer and Hauling: Forest Harter, J. A. Schnibben, F. Kirk. Tailor; C. E. Rosenau, J. Vender Sr., H. Micken- becker Sr. Veterinary; [. E. Stiles, A. M. Sherwood. Wagon Shop; J. Hiltenbrand, A. W. Miller. NAPBRVILLE " WAR WOOD FARM." Home of Walter A. Rogers NAPBRVILLE DO 50 o /O R 1/1 2 s Q r o O) n> n tr CD n X O O DC S" en 3" 35' A Q. H^ 00 8 Joseph Yender, Jr. Jacob Brossman. 54-56 WASHINGTON STREET Yender and Brossman CLOTHING, FURNISHINGS FOOTWEAR NAPERVILLE, ILL. C. SCHERER & SON HARDWARE STOVES, RANGES, FURNACES, GRANITE WARK, CUTLERY AND ALUMINUM WARK REPAIRING A SPECIALTY Washington St. and Jefferson Ave. Naperville, 111. Irrii Job I'rintiiiy HotJt Tele THE NAPERVILLE CLARION ROLLO N. GIVLER, Publisher The Home I'ajter Issued Kadi Week for More Than Half a Century. 60 Washington St. Naperville, 111. NAPERVILLE Metropolitan Telephone Service For Naperville Naperville telephone service is to be made thoroughly Metropolitan and initial steps to this end will be taken about April 1, and the work pushed to completion as rapidly as possible. A new building of attractive design is to be erected on Van Buren Street, between Main and Washington Streets, for the sole occupancy of the Telephone Company. Upon completion of the structure, a common Battery Switchboard and appurtenances will be installed. This type of equipment obviates the method of turning a crank by the subscriber when signalling the operator; lifting the receiver from the hook causes a light to flash on the switchboard which attracts the operator's attention. This new system will be used in town only; the farmer line service will be of the Magneto type as heretofore. The new building will have modern lighting, plumbing and heating facilities and contain, in addition to commer- cial and operating rooms, a pleasant reading and rest room for the operators' use during rest periods. Xaperville's present and future telephone needs have been carefully studied and it is believed that the new and improved service will meet all requirements in a manner en- tirely satisfactory to the Company's patrons. Chicago Telephone Co. j/ NAPERVILLE Home of the Sittyton Grove Short Horn Herd THOMAS STANTON, Prop. NAPERVILLE, ILL. LISLE FARMS COMPANY Inc. Lisle, Illinois Maplecrest King De Kol 91584, a bull of excellent individ- uality and faultless breeding is at the head of our herd. He is a son of Friend Hengerveld De Kol Butter Boy, who sired Banostine Belle De Kol with 1322.92 pounds of butter (world's record when made.) He also produced four other cows exceeding the 1000 pound mark, three of them producing over 1200 pounds. His dam is a 24 pound daughter of Pontiac Aaggie Korndyke with 51 A.R.O. daughters, 12 of which are above 30 pounds, 17 above 25 pounds, and 37 above 20 pounds. She is out of High- lawn Hartog De Kol, a 30.91-pound daughter of Friend Hen- gerveld De Kol Butter Boy. Our herd combines individuality and production. The bulls we have to offer are the kind that will increase the production and improve the individuality of your herd. When you are wanting pure bred Duroc Jersey gilts or a boar, see us. Our herd has size and early maturity they are the kind that will make you money. I NAPblRVILLF. V'. v , THE NAPERVILLE CONSUMERS CO. HIGHLAND ICE CREAM AND PURE ICE Quality our Slogan Delivered to any part of our city SOCIETIES AND CLUBS A. F. and A. M. Euclid Lodge No. 65. Court of Honor. R. A. M. Euclid Chapter No. 13. F. R. L. A. Naperville Lodge No. 78. G. A. R., Walter Blanchard Post No. 386. I. O. O. F., Naperville Lodge No. 81. Ladies Auxiliary of Sons of Veterans. M. W. A., Napier Camp No. 908. Royal League, Naperville Council No. 261. Royal Neighbors, Martha Washington Camp. Womans Christian Temperance Union. Sons of Veterans, Naperville Camp No. 261. Mystic Workers of the World. Alphea Chapter, Order Eastern Star of 111. The Maccabbees Tent No. 90. Woodmen of World. Fraternal Reserve Life Ass'n., Esther Lodge. Association of Commerce. Naperville Business Men's Association. Community Club. Hi-Y Club. Womans Club. Fortnightly Club. Naperville Gun Club. Street Views N A ^ r R V i L L E: 01 a o U _ H ; 4 S , :| 3 I* , ., W ffi NAPERVILLE CHARLES L. SCHWARTZ LUMBER AND BUILDING MATERIAL Fine Interior Finish a Specialty Argotile Shingles Prepared Roofings Best Quality Lowest Prices Prompt Service We Solicit Your Patronage. HERMAN OTTERPOHL MILK DEPOT PURE MILK AND CREAM PASTEURIZED 86 Front St. Naperville, 111. H. C. WILLIAMS THE CANDY MAN ICE CREAM RETAIL AND WHOLESALE SODAS AND SOFT DRINKS QUENCH YOUR THIRST HERE 18 Jefferson Ave. Naperville, 111. JOSEPH KIESERG PLUMBER Heating Systems and Sanitary Plumbing Installed. Estimates Furnished. Fixtures and Supplies. Washington St. and Van Buren Ave., Naperville, 111. BOTH TELEPHONES CRUSH & FAULHABER FRESH AND SALT MEATS 23 Jefferson Avenue Naperville, 111. C. E. HEYDON BAKER AND GROCER Maker of HEYDON'S QUALITY BREAD. All Kinds of Baked Goods. Vegetables, Canned Goods and Groceries. 19 Jefferson Ave., Naperville, 111. Northwestern College Photoghapher Best Equipped Studio In Du Page County C. H. KORETKE PHOTOGRAPHER Staff Photographer of the Home Coming Book Best Photographs JL NAPELRVILLE V L MONUMENTS Eternal Cement Burial. Vaults Arthur R. Beidelman UNDERTAKING Funeral Director and Licensed Embalmer No. 3240 BOTH TELEPHONES W. C. Bomberger & Co. Staple and Fancy Groceries Crockery and Queensware Teas, Coffees and Spices 52 WASHINGTON STREET NAPERVILLE, ILL. The Naperville Garage H. P. THOMPSON, Proprietor The Famous "OVERLAND" Line of Automobiles EXPEKT REPAIK WORK VULCANIZING AND SUPPLIES 32 Washington Street Naperville, 111. THE BUSINESS GUIDE OR SAFE METHODS OF BUSINESS ENGLISH OR GERMAN By PROF. J. L. NICHOLS, A. M. Over three million copic sold ot former edition*. Whether or not you have one you cannot afford to be without the 1917 edition. Revised and corrected right up to date by J..L. Nichols. A. B. Containing over 500 lessons in Business. A complete Legal Adviser and Home Lawyer. A complete Hand-Book of Legal and Business Forms. "A volume for the home, the farm, the office and the shop. Wherever it has gone it has blessed mankind." Bishop L. H. Seager, former Pres. N. W. C. Sent postpaid upon receipt of only $1.25. We also own and publish many other good books for the home. "The Parents Guide" bv Rev. Ozora Davis and Dr. Emma F. Drake is our latest publication, price $1 25. Our books are sold on the guarantee of satisfaction or money refunded. Are you looking for profitable employment? We will pay you a liberal salary and bigtcommission to represent us. Call or write us for particulars. J. L. NICHOLS C& CO., Branch Office, Atlanta, Ga. Home Office, Naperville, 111. BOTH TELEPHONES KREGER'S GROCERY STAPLE AND FANCY GROCERIES FLOUR, FRUITS, CONFECTIONERY 71 Washington Street Naperville, 111. HAMMERSMITH KORTMEYER CO. ENGRAVERS - PRINTERS M I LWA U KE E. W I S .