(navigation image)
Home American Libraries | Canadian Libraries | Universal Library | Community Texts | Project Gutenberg | Children's Library | Biodiversity Heritage Library | Additional Collections
Search: Advanced Search
Anonymous User (login or join us)
Upload
See other formats

Full text of "Successful Vermonters; a modern gazetteer of Lamoille, Franklin and Grand Isle counties, containing an historical review of the several towns and a series of biographical sketches .."

1. 



LI 



^^"i?:.;^^ 



'^Si 



\NAA^ 



SUCCESSFUL VERMONTERS 

A MODERN GAZETTEER 

OF 

Lamoille, Franklin and Grand Isle 

Counties 



CONTAINING 



AN HISTORICAL REVIEW OF THE SEVERAL TOWNS 



A SERIES OF BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES OF THE MEN OF MARK WHO HAVE 

WON DISTINCTION IN THEIR SEVERAL CALLINGS, AND WHO HAVE 

BECOME CONSPICUOUS IN THE PROFESSIONAL, 

BUSINESS AND POLITICAL WORLD 

ILLUSTRATED BY NUMEROUS STEEL AND HALF=TONE ENGRAVINGS 



WILLIAM H; JEFFREY . 

OF THE VERMONT HISTORICAL SOCIETY 

AUTHOR OF 

Vermont. Its Government 1902-19Q3; Vermont, Its Government 1904-1905; Vermont, Its Government 

1906-1907; The City of Granite. Barre, Vermont; The Town of Slate. Northfield, 

Vermont; Successful Vermonters, A Modern Gazetteer of Caledonia, 

Essex and Orleans Counties; Richmond Prisons 1861-1862; 

and Various Other Historical Publications 



\ ■/ EAST BURKE, VERMONT 



J 



THE HISTORICAL PUBLISHING COMPANY 
19 7 



.*iJa999A 



ENGRAVED, PRINTED, AND BOUND BY 

THE RUMFORD PRINTING CO. 

CONCORD, N. H. 




7vilo'"^lXj-^l^.'' 




TO 

ALL THE SONS AND DAUGHTERS OF 

VERMONT 

BY BIRTH OR ADOPTION 

Who Love Her Institutions. Her History and Her 
Traditions, this Book is Dedicated 



1 ^ i 




* * " ^N the year 1878 three American gentlemen 
I were visiting Prince Bismarck at his resi- 
I dence of Friedrichsruhe. In the course 
of conversation, Bismarck said to them : 
It " T I " 1 would like to give you my idea of a 
' * * * republic. 1 think you will grant that 1 

am somewhat of a student of political 
history. My idea of a republic is a little 
state in the north of your great country — one of the 
smallest of the New England states— VERMONT." 
One of the Americans said, " Not Massachusetts? " 
"Ah, no," he answered, " Vermont is small in area, of 
slow growth, has a larger percentage of school attend- 
ance than any other state, is not devoted to manufac- 
tures nor so much to farming as to make its interests 
political, owes nothing to the general government, but 
on the contrary is a creditor of the general government 
for Civil War expenses, and aims primarily and purely 
at the educational and religious evolution of each indi- 
vidual." "Is it not true," he added, "that this 
little state keeps its senators and representatives in 
office term after term until they die? " And he pro- 
ceeded to speak of Collamer and Morrill and Edmunds. 
One of the Americans rose and said, " Your excel- 
lency, two of us are graduates of the University of 
Vermont, and one of us claims that state as his 
birthplace." 

Bismarck rose and said : " Gentlemen, you should 
be most proud of your inheritance. To be a son of 
yermont is glory enough for the greatest citizen." 



'i'H£ 



P\3BUC 



UB' 






VERMONT 

By JOHN H. FLfiGG 

Tliy rianqe dott^ synqbolize 

Tiny verdant peaKs tY\at proudly rise, 

fls if to buttress wit]:! ti^eir r]qigl:|t 

Tine uripropped donqe of l^eaverily ligl^t. 

Tl^e beauty of tl^y riqatclnless l^ills 
Tl^e ravislned eye ^Ajir]\ rapture fills, 
Wl|ile tiny fair fields arid fertile plains 
Bear flocks ar\d l)erds and bounteous grains. 

Tiny l)illside Inonnes and l^arnlets all 
Proclairn content and tl^rift withjal ; — 
No servile lines yet rnarK tl^e face 
Of tl)y courageous, sturdy race, 

No trenqbling slave yet breatlned tiny "^ir 
Wlno felt liis sl^acKles bind Iniin tlnere. 
For by tliy ancient Bill of Rigl]ts* 
All nqen stood equal on tiny Ineiglnts. 

Such land is tl)ine, sons of tiny birtln, 
Wlnose sires, "Witln blood, paid freedorn's worth) ; 
Wl|o vanqUislned eacY\ invading foe 
And swept Inirn back or laid liirn low. 

liappy land, by Heaven caressed, 
Wlnere all are free and none oppressed, 
Tlnank well tfiose sires wif\ose nqaster Inand 
Built frorn ttiy rock and not tiny sand. 

* Verrqorit iq July, 1777 — fourteeq years ar\terior to admissioq irito tt|e Uqiori — was 
first ori th^is coqtirierit to prot^ibit slavery by coqstitutioqal provision. 



LAMOILLE COUNTY 



Population, Census of 1900, 12,289 



iSBS 



AMOILLE County was in- 
corporated October 26, 
1835, and as organized 
contained 12 to w n s : 
Eden, Hyde Park, IMorris- 
toAvn and Wolcott, from Orleans 
County ; Belvidere, Canibridjie, 
Johnson, Stirling- and Waterville, 
from Franklin County; Elmore 
and Stowe, from Washington 
County, and ^lansfield, from Chit- 
tenden County. 

1828. — Two s(|uare miles of the 
town of Stirling was annexed to 
the town of Cambridge; this was 
a mountainous part of the town, 
and included "Smugglers' Notch." 

1839.— One third of the town 
of ]\Iansfield was set off and an- 
nexed to Underliill and Chittendeu 
County. 

184:1.— All that part of the town 
of Fletcher that lay on the south 
side of the Lamoille Eiver, being 
9,184 acres, was aiuiexed to Cam- 
bridge. 

1818. — The Ijegislature i)assed 
an act annexing the town of ^Nlans- 
field to Stowe; the constitutionality 
of this act was bitterly fought, but 
the act was sustained by the courts. 

1855. — The inhabitants of the 
town of Stirling grew tired of sep- 
arate town organization and was 
divided and annexed to the towns 
of Johnson, Stowe and ^Forristown. 
all its records being left in the 
archives of Morristown. 

1898.— A small part of Morri.s- 
town was annexed to Hyde Park. 

A-2 



It was in 1834 that Nathan 
Smilie, and others, petitioned the 
General Assembly for a new 
county. A bill was introduced, 
and passed the House, during the 
session of that year, but was laid 
over in the council. The next year 
it passed both houses. The act pro- 
vided that when some town should 
erect a suitable courthouse and 
jail, then the county should be 
deemed organized; then came the 
struggle. The lower end of the 
county wanted the shire at John- 
son, while the upper end wanted 
^lorristown. Finally it was left 
to a committee to settle, and Joshua 
Sawyer, a member of the bar who 
had great sway in public matters, 
secured the county seat for Hyde 
Park, and the Iniildings were 
erected there by the town and the 
first term of the county court held 
there in 1837. 

The first county officers Avere : 
Judges, Jonathan Bridges, JMorris- 
town ; Joseph Waterman, Johnson ; 
state's attorney, O. W. Butler, 
Stowe; judge of probate, Daniel 
Dodge, Johnson ; sheriff', Almerin 
Tinker, ^Morristown ; bailiff, Luther 
H. Brown, Eden; clerk, Philo G. 
Camp, Hyde Park. 

The Lamoille County grannnar 
school was incorporated by legis- 
lative act November 15, 1836. This 
school had been established for 
some six years before its incorpo- 
ration, and was located at John- 
son. For a time the school flour- 



SUCCESSFUL VEUMONTEKS. 



ished. but finally became run down 
and after several years of a strng- 
fi'ling- existence, surrendered its 
charter, and, in February, 1866, 
became the State Normal School, 
an extended sketch of which will 
be found in Johnson. 

T^amoille County has the finest 
scenery in the state ; ]\Ionut ]\Ians- 
field, that towering- old giant of 
ages, is within its limits. Mans- 



listless beanty, with its fair isles 
kissing the bright waves, and 
drinking in the snnbeams, is old 
Champlain : and beyond, as if 
wedged between its waters and the 
deep sky, and drowmed in misty 
beauty, peers the Essex mountains 
of New York. 

It may be said that the early bar 
of Lamoille County sprang into ex- 
istence like Athene fi-om the head 











r 




jyiji 




H 



Lamoille Coixty Coukt Holj^k. 



field, so called from its contour re- 
semblance to the face of human- 
ity, is the highest land in Vermont. 
To the northeast woody hills, 
l)anked upon hills, loom far away 
to the hidden sources of the Con- 
necticut. To the southeast beau- 
tiful clearings are visible, gardens 
in the wilderness, the largest con- 
taining the beautiful village of 
Stowe. To the west, sleeping in 



of Zeus, fully armed and equipped. 
The count}^ having been carved out 
of several old counties, the busi- 
ness which was pending from the 
towns in the old counties of which 
Lamoille was composed, being 
transferred to this county for com- 
l)]etion, necessarily brought the 
counsel engaged with it. Hence, 
the early bar was a remarkably 
able and picturesque one. From 



LAMOILLE COUNTY. 



Washinfjtoii County eaine Paul 
Dillinijham, 0. W." Butler, A. C. 
Burk, W. H. IT. Binoham, Oramel 
Smith, William Upliam, T. P. Red- 
field and Jackson Vail ; from 
Franklin, W. C. Wilson, W. W. 
White. Harmon and Jackson 
Beards] ey. Homer E. Royce, Ho- 
mer Ilubbell and others; from 
Chittenden, Jacob ]\leack, AVilliam 
P. Bripo-s, L. E. Chittenden, David 
A. Smalley. E. R. Herd and JMay- 
nard & Edmonds ; from the east 
came James Bell, John Mattocks 
and John R. Skinner; within the 
limits of the county were Joshua 
Sawyer. Henry Stowell, Solomon 
Wires, Samuel A. Willard, Luke 
P. Poland, Stillman Churchill and 
S. S. Pike. They were all trial 
lawyers. Clients in those days, 
when they cot into court, expected 
to fight. The issues were promptly 
joined and the combatants ready 
for the fi-ay, and a right .jolly one 
it usually ju'oved to be. They 
were nearly all men of large, ro- 
bust physique, fine, old-school man- 
ners and thoroughly equipped in 
the profession. 

Out of court they were mostly a 
convivial lot and passed much of 
their leisure time when attending 
court here, and awaiting their turn 
in court, in rather rougher sports 
than are now in vogue. The open 
bars were liberally patronized, and 
the toast and song went round. 
The utmost good fellowship and 
fraternal feeling marked all their 
social intercourse, but when pitted 
in the forum the sparks flew. In 
the court room there Avas a more 
stately air than now. 

The old sheritfs and assistant 
judges were men of great dignity 
and were always on "dress pa- 
rade" in court. The sheriffs es- 
corted the judges to and from the 



courthouse with a pompous state 
that would now be looked upon as 
almost ridiculous. 

Cradually these men from out 
the county dropped out of prac- 
tice here, and their places were 
filled by a set native to the soil, 
Wilkins, Small, Hendee, H. P. 
Smith, W. H. IMiller, Waldo Brig- 
ham, Gr. L. Waterman, the deeds, 
John A. Child, H. H. Powers, R. 
C. Benton, M. 0. Heath, Thorp & 
Page, E. B. Sawyer, Charles Rob- 
inson, Ira Blaisdell, R. F. Parker, 
Charles Lewas, H. C. Fisk and V. 
P. Macutchan. Only a few of the 
second generation now remain in 
practice. The third generation is 
in evidence. George M. Powers, 
Plulburd, ]\Ioody, Fleetwood, Hunt, 
Thompson, Parker, INIcFarland, 
Bicknell, Tracy, Cheney and Mon- 
tieth form a vigorous and well- 
equipped school of young practi- 
tioners and, with the old stock 
still remaining, constitute a bar of 
which the county may well be 
proud. It would be an exhibition 
worth beholding if one could look 
in at the opening of our court and 
see it as it was in the 40s, with 
Stephen Royce presiding, sup- 
ported by such associates as Isaac 
Pennock, David P. Noyes, Joseph 
Waterman and Gardner Gates, 
with Riverius Camp, George W. 
Bailey, Joseph Doane or Horace 
Powers in the sheriff's box, and the 
rotund, highly-polished Philo G. 
Camp at the clerk's desk and 
Joshua Sawyer, Paul Dillingham. 
0. W. Butler, W. II. H. Bingham, 
the Beardsleys, David A. Smalley, 
Luke P. Poland, Samuel A. Wil- 
lard, Henry Stowell, John R. Skin- 
ner, James Bell and a dozen oth- 
ers of the like, grouped around the 
bar and standing with bowed 
heads as blessing was invoked. 



SUCCESSFUL VERMONTERS. 



Then to hear the clerk adminis- 
ter the oath to the jurors and offi- 
cers in a manner of gravity that 
seemed to impress the recipients 
with a sense of its obligation. 

HYDE PARK. 

Population, Cen.sus of 1900, 1,472. 

The town of Hyde Park was 
granted November 6, 1780, and 
chartered to Jedediah Hyde and 
64 others, August 27, 1781. The 
original grantees were mostly resi- 
dents of Norwich, Connecticut, and 
not a few had won distinction 
in the land and naval service of 
the Revolutionary War. Fii'st 
came John McDaniel, July 4. 1787, 
his nearest neighbor being then at 
Johnson on the west and Cabot on 
the east. He was joined that same 
season by William Norton, and, to- 
grether with their families, they 
passed that winter in their new 
home. Next year came Captain Jed- 
ediah Hyde, Peter Martin, Jabez 
Fitch and sons, and Ephraim Gar- 
vin. Within the next few years 
these were joined by Aaron Keeler 
and his family, Trueman Sawyer 
and Hon. N. P. Sawyer. Prior 
to 1800 came Oliver Noyes, who 
kept the first store, and w^hose son, 
Breed Noyes, was for many years 
the only merchant of any conse- 
((uence, in town. 

Among the incidents of particu- 
lar note we find the first birth in 
town was Diadana Hyde, born 
June 17, 1789, to Captain Hyde. 
The first death was that of David 
Pai-ker, who was killed by a log 
rolling on him, in 1806. The first 
preaching in town was by Lorenzo 
Dow, a noted missionary of that 
day. Finding on the fresh leaves 
of our early history the tracks of 
this eccentric Dow, everywhere, it 



has lieen thought well to give the 
reader a brief account of his life 
and character. He Avas born of 
Puritan parents in Connecticut, 
October 18, 1777 ; he early began 
to preach the gospel, and was 
a Methodist, not a conference 
preacher, exactly, but one whose 
circuit extended all over Vermont, 
the Canadas, the South, Ireland, 
Scotland, and wherever he chose to 
go ; who came and went as the 
"wind that blowetli wherever it 
listeth." 

A man Avho must be his own 
leader, Avho could never restrain 
himself to circuit rules, he had 
joined the ^lethodist conference in 
his youth, had been appointed to a 
circuit; it could not hold him; re- 
monstrated with, reappointed, shot 
of¥ on a fervent tangent. Confer- 
ence dropped him. could not keep 
a man it could neither rule nor 
guide. Every minister seemed 
against him — Calvinistic divine, 
regular Methodist circuit preacher 
as well, — decried by all, he pre- 
vailed. He thickened his appoint- 
ments, the multitude hung on the 
words from his lips, his oddities 
attracted, his eccentricities were 
his great charm. He was called 
"Crazy Dow," which name seemed 
to please him very well. From his 
home in Connecticut, he had his 
yearly line of preaching places 
all up through into Canada. On 
his annual visit to Vermont, he al- 
ways visited Washington County. 
We hear of him before he enters at 
Danville ; when entered, in Cabot, 
Calais, Plainfield, Barre and Mont- 
pelier. He never took a collection 
for his preaching. He preached 
with great power and zeal, never 
remaining- long in a place, but con- 
stantly going from place to place. 
A sino'le incident will serve to show 



LAMOILLE COUNTY. 



the unique means sometimes taken 
by this remarkable man to accom- 
plish his pnrpose. 

In passing throngh a dense 
woods to fill one of his Vermont ap- 
pointments, he saw a man in great 
distress looking for something. 
Dow inquired what the matter was 
The man replied that he was poor, 
and that someone had stolen his 
axe, and that he felt the loss yevy 




much. Dow told him that if he 
would go to the meeting he would 
find his axe. Dow picked up a 
.stone and put it in his pocket, and 
after the delivery of a powerful 
sermon, he said: "There is a man 
here who has had his axe stolen, 
and the thief is here in this audi- 
ence, and I am going to throw this 
stone right to his head" — drawing 
back his hand as though in the act 



of throwing the stone. One man 
ducked his head. Lorenzo went to 
him and said: "You have got this 
man's axe!" And so he had, and 
went and got it and l)rought it to 
him. 

He died in the city of Washing- 
ton, February 2, 1834. 

The first school in Hyde Park 
kept by a woman was by Elizabeth 
Hyde in Judge N. P. Sawyer's 
barn about the year 1800. 

The organization of the town 
was coeval with the admission of 
the state in 1791, and its growth 
duiing the next thirty years was 
very rapid. 

During the first score of years 
of its early history, Captain Hyde, 
John ]\IcDaniel, Lieutenant Aai'on 
Keeler and Captain Jabez Fitch 
seem to have figured as the "big 
four" of the town, but the Saw- 
yers soon became an important 
factor in shaping the destinies of 
the growing community. 

The first town house was erected 
near the center of the town, and it 
does not appear to have been an- 
ticipated that the principal busi- 
ness of the town would ever be 
located at the present site, in the 
southwest corner of the town. In 
1807 Nathaniel P. Sawyer erected 
the first frame house in the vil- 
lage, an imposing structure for the 
times, and commanding a superb 
view of the Lamoille Valley and 
the mountain panorama. It' is the 
oldest dwelling house now in the 
village. The next house was the 
Aaron Keeler house, long occu- 
pied by his descendants. A hotel 
was kept at this time at the farm 
of John ]\IcDaniel, and another on 
Tiie road to Cady's Falls in 
^forristown. 

The erection of the courthouse 
and jail, in 1836, was a great 



(1 



SUCCESSFUL VERMOXTETJS. 



event, and permanently changed 
the business center of the town. 

For a few years after the organ- 
ization of the town the election of 
officers comprised all of the busi- 
ness ti'ansacted at the town meet- 
ings, and this list was short, con- 
sisting of moderator, clerk, three 
selectmen and a constable. The 
meetings were held in private 
dwellings, the houses of Jabez 
Fitch, Darius Fitch, John Searle 
and Oliver Noyes serving as town 
halls, the latter being the usual 
resort from 1804 until 1818, when 
school houses were used for the 
purpose. 

In 1798 the selectmen were di- 
rected "to erect a sign post in 
some public place near the present 
dwelling house of Captain Jede- 
diah Hyde, in said town, and that 
for the future all warnings for 
town meetings for said town shall 
be set on said sign post." 

In 1827, at a special meeting 
September 4, "Voted unanimously 
to unite with the several towns in 
the vicinity to petition the General 
Asseml)ly for a new county." 

The town house was first occu- 
pied at a special meeting held De- 
cember 7, 1835, at which it was 
voted "To see what action the 
town will take to raise funds by 
tax or otherwise to build and erect 
buildings for the new County of 
Lamoille, located at Hyde Park, to 
wit: A court house, jail and the 
appendages appertaining thereto." 

March 3, 1857: "Resolved— 
That the inhabitants do remove the 
holding of town and freemen's 
meetings hereafter to Hyde Park 
street ; that the town vote to build 
a suitable building as town hall 
for the same." 

Prol)ably the coming of the 
railroad marked the most impor- 



tant period in the history of the 
town, as it made possible and 
profitable an immense development 
of the lumber business and the 
calf skin trade. 

A history of Hyde Park would 
be incomplete without some refer- 
ence to the calfskin business of 
Carroll S. Page. 

Curtis Guild, the father of the 
present governor of ]\Iassachu- 
setts, after a trip to Europe, re- 
ferring to Mv. Page's business in 
his paper, the Boston Commercial 
Bulletin, said: 

"Governor Carroll S. Page is 
as well known in Europe as in the 
United States as one of the greatest 
hide and skin factors of the 
world." 

For many years the trade in 
this country has been inclined to 
grant to his business the position 
of supremacy, and there is not a 
ti-ade paper in the United States in 
the hide and leather line that has 
not so stated. 

Hide and Leather, the leading 
hide journal of this country, says: 

"He is the largest dealer in raw 
calfskins in the world." 

Just how or why the little out- 
of-the-way village of Hyde Park 
should be the seat and center of 
such an extensive business is the 
surprise of business men every- 
where, but there is no continent on 
the face of the globe where the lit- 
tle hamlet of Hyde Park is not 
known by reason of Mr. Page 's bus- 
iness in calfskins. 

THE Second Congregational 
Church was organized March 5, 
1863, with six meinbers. Reverend 
E. Wheelock was the moderator 
at that meeting, and Reverend 
J. T. Ford preached the sermon. 
February 11, 1864, a call was ex- 
tended to Reverend J. G. Bailey, 



SUCCESSFUL VERMONTERS. 



who had acted as pastor for several 
months, to become the first pastor 
of the church. The call was ac- 
cepted and on Fe])rnai'y 28 he was 
installed. Oilman i\I. Sherwin was 
elected deacon at the time of or- 
ganization of the chnrch and filled 
that position some thirty years, or 
until his death in 1893. 

Services were held jointly with 
the IMethodists in Union Church 
until 1869, when the Congregation- 
alists went to the Court House, 
where they held services until 
1872, at which time the pastor, 



tinued until his resignation, June 
1, 1902. His long pastorate of 
nearly eleven years was exceed- 
ingly fruitful. Under his wise 
guidance and the inspiration of his 
character, the i-esident membership 
of the church was more than 
trebled, self support assumed, a 
parsonage secured, a new church 
building erected and paid for, and 
the moral tone of the community 
raised. 

Cliarles S. Hager was called to 
be the fourth pastor of the church, 
June 5, 1902, and was ordained to 



^A> fA^S^S^LCDK- 




1^ jLjl iiai r 'iiriMjr 




CCVi?/. CHURCH. 



Reverend Mr. Bailey, resigned. 
From that time until 1885, the so- 
ciety was in a dormant state, the 
entire field l)eing given to the 
IMethodists. In 1885 the Metho- 
dists notified the Congregational- 
ists that they would not ask Con- 
ference to send a minister and the 
field was again taken up by the 
Congregationalists. 

Reverend Earl J. Ward was 
called to the pastorate and filled 
that position imtil his resignation 
March 22, 1891. September 18, of 
that year, Revei'end Frederick C. 
Taylor i-eceived a call and was in- 
stalled as pastor, December 10, 
1891. Mr. Taylor's pastorate con- 



the ministry and installed July 31, 
1902. After a short, though very 
successful, pastorate, he resigned, 
May 1, 1905, to accept a call ex- 
tended him by the First Congre- 
gational Church of Albanv, New 
York. 

William R. Hamlin accepted a 
call given him by the church, Sep- 
tember 25. 1905, and was ordained 
and installed as pastor, October 
26, following. 

The church was incorporated 
January 28, 1893, as provided by 
an act of the Oeneral Assembly of 
Vermont in 1898. 

In 1871, by the will of iMrs. ]\Tar- 
garet Cobleigh, the church received 



LAMOILLE COUNTi. 



9 



$500. Three hundred of this 
amount was invested in a lot on 
the corner of Main Street and 
Prospect Avenue, on which a very 
beautiful and commodious church 
edifice was erected, in 1899, cost- 
ing, including furnishings, up- 
wards of eight thousand dollars. 

The society is in a very prosper- 
ous condition. It has no indebt- 
edness. There is a good member- 
ship and pastor and people are in 
entire accord, working harmo- 
niously for the benefit of the 
church and connnunity. 

LAMOILLE County National 
Bank. It may, perhaps, be said 
with propriety that the two insti- 
tutions which have contributed as 
much to the growth of Hyde Park 
as any other, are the Lamoille 
County Bank and the hide and 
skin business of Carroll S. I'age, 
both of which were started in 
1855. 

Mr. Page commenced handling 
calfskins on the twenty-first day of 
April and just one month later the 
Lamoille Count}^ Bank was organ- 
ized, and for 50 years they have 
been important factors in the 
growth of Hyde Park; indeed, the 
bank has been a most important 
factor in the development of al- 
most every enterprise in Lamoille 
County, as until 1889, it was the 
only bank in the county. 

The founders of the Lamoille 
County Bank have all passed to 
their final account, the Hon. 
George Wilkins, who died in 
1902, being the last of the original 
board of directors to join the 
silent majority. Hon. Lucius H. 
Noyes was the first president, 
and continued to occupy that po- 
sition until his death in 1877. Car- 
los S. Noyes was the first cashier, 
and also a member of the board of 



directors until 1892 during which 
time he was for several years its 
president. Hon. George Wilkins, 
Hon. fSamuel Merriam, Hon. Whit- 
man G. Ferrin — afterwards treas- 
urer of the Montpelier Savings 
Bank and Trust Company — Hon. 
Amasa Paine of Lowell, Hon. Rus- 
sell S. Page and Hon. Horace 
Powers — the venerable father of 
former Congressman Powers, and 
grandfather of Hon. George M. 
Powers, now one of the judges of 
the Supreme Court, were with 
Lucius H. and Carlos S. Noyes, 
the first board of directors. 

Judge Lucius II. Noyes was suc- 
ceeded by his brother, Carlos S. 
Noyes, as president, while Carlos 
S. Noyes, the first cashier, was suc- 
ceeded by Albert L. Noyes, son of 
the president, Lucius H., Avho in 
turn was succeeded by Edward L. 
Noyes, his brother. Thus it has 
been that for 51 years the cashier- 
ship has been filled by one of Hyde 
Park's strong families, the Noyes, 
and today the son of one of its 
founders, Hon. Carroll S. Page, is 
the president of the bank, while 
the grandson of the first president, 
Harry A. Noyes, is today one of 
the board of directors. 

No industry in Lamoille County 
has for a generation applied in 
vain for financial assistance to this 
stanch old institution. It has been 
the pride of its management that 
the Lamoille County National 
Bank existed to care for the finan- 
cial interests of Lamoille County, 
and no panic or monetary strin- 
gency has been sufficiently severe 
to cripple its strength or deprive 
it of the ability to care for the le- 
gitimate financial interests of the 
county. 

After 50 years' experience in 
catering to the financial wants of 



10 



SUCCKSSFUL VKK^n )NTEi;S. 



Lamoille County, it starts upon its 
second half century stronger than 
ever, and better than ever prepared 
to stand as the pillar of financial 
strength upon Avhich all legitimate 
enteri^rises of Lamoille County can 
safely lean. It offers the public 
within its legitimate sphere of busi- 
ness every facility, every advan- 
tage and every accommodation 
which can be offered consistent 



K. Gleed of jNIorrisville, John B. 
Page of Cambridge and C. W. Bry- 
ant of Westfield. 

The present board of officers is 
as follows : President, Carroll S. 
Page ; vice-president, Henry ]\I. 
McFarland ; cashier, Edward L. 
Noyes. 

The president and vice-president, 
with the following gentlemen, con- 
stitute the present board of direct- 




Lamoili-e County National Bank and Lamoille County Savings Bank 
AND Trust Company Building. 



with safety and the rules of good 
banking. 

Among the well-known names — 
familiar to all the older citizens of 
Lamoille County — which have been 
upon the board of directors, 
may be mentioned lion. Columbus 
C. Chadwick of Johnson ; Orlo 
Cady, Esq., of ]\Iorrisville ; for- 
mer Congressman Powers, Judge 
Edward P. Mudgett of Cambridge, 
Phineas S. Benjamin of Wolcott, 
Henry Smilie of Cambridge, Philip 



ors, to wit : Isaac L. Pearl, John- 
son; Herbert P. Brigham, Bakers- 
field; Clarence A. Knight, Hyde 
Park ; Harry A. Noyes, Hyde Park ; 
Levi V. Smilie, Cambridge. 

The Lamou.le County Savings 
Bank and Trust Company. This 
institution was organized and be- 
gan business January 21, 1889. 
The growth of the bank has been 
steady from the date of its begin- 
ning business to the present time. 
Despite the panics of 1893 and 



LAMOILLE COUNTY. 



11 



1896, each 3'ear has shown a sub- 
stantial gain until now the depos- 
its amount to $688,728.71, while 
the present assets of the bank are 
$833,950.93. Besides the capital 
stock, $50,000, there is an accuniu- 
lation of surplus and undivided 
profits, amounting' to $56,119.18, 
which, together with the lial)ility 
of the stockholders, makes a guar- 
anty fund of $156,119.18 that 
every depositor in this bank will re- 
ceive his money with interest, when 
called for. This showing places 
the bank in the front rank of Ver- 
mont's strong financial institutions. 
The position of this bank on the 
question of investments is unique 
in the history of Vermont Savings 
Banks. It has never loaned a dol- 
lar outside of A^ermont. The di- 
rectors believe that this is not only 
the safest but the most loyal course 
to Vermont. They believe that a 
Vermont savings bank owes a duty 
to Vermont, and, so long as Ver- 
mont's money is sent out of the 
state for investment, and Ver- 
mont's young men go after it, just 
so long will Vermont continue to 
fail to take her rightful position 
in the march of progress. They 
believe that the first allegiance of 
a bank is to the people from whom 
it derives its support and that the 
money deposited by the people 
should be used for their advance- 
ment and for the building up of 
their commercial and industrial in- 
terests. Such a course, honestly 
pursued l)y the savings banks of 
Vermont, would do much to give 
Vermont a high rank among the 
most prosperous of her sister 
states, whether they be East or 
West. The great trouble is Ver- 
mont has not been true to herself, 
but happily the people are begin- 
ning to realize it and to appreciate 



the loyalty of such a course as the 
Lamoille County Savings Bank and 
Trust Company has ever pursued, 
as is evidenced by the favor with 
which this bank has come to be re- 
garded throughout the state. 

Such an institution is both a 
credit and an aid to any com- 
numity. It is at once not only a 
safe depository of the people's 
money, the savings of youth and 
the accumulations of old age, but 
it is a worthy and powerful pro- 
moter of all legitimate enterprises. 
A community that can boast such 
an institution is to be congrat- 
ulated. 

The present directors of the bank 
are Carroll S. Page, president; 
Henry M. McFarland, vice-presi- 
dent; Seth A. Fife, Arba A. Pike, 
Roger W. Hulburd, and Russell S. 
Page. 

PAGE, Former Governor Car- 
roll Smalley of Hyde Park, and 
son of Russell S. and Martha Mal- 
vina (Smalley) Page, was born in 
Westfield, January 10, 1813. 

His ancestors on the Page side 
were from Londonderry, New 
Hampshire, his grandfather, James 
Page, removing from that town 
about 1785. He was one of the 
first settlers of Hyde Park. 

On the mother's side ]\Ir. Page is 
a direct descendant of AVilliam 
Hyde, one of the 35 oi'iginal found- 
ers of the town of Norwich, Con- 
necticut. 

Captain Jedediah Hyde, Mr. 
Page's great-grandfather, was an 
officer in the Revolutionary War. 
At the close of the war he came to 
northern Vermont, then practi- 
cally an unbroken wiklerness, se- 
lected for himself and other Nor- 
wich, Connecticut, friends the site 
of the town, secured a charter for 
it and it was named in his honor, 



12 



SUCCESSFUL VP]RMONTEKS. 



"Hyde Park," and it was here that 
Mr. Page's father and mother were 
bom. 

Governor Page married, April 
11, 1865. Ellen Frances, daughter 
of Theophikis Hull and Desde- 
mona (Jackson) Patch. Three 
children have been born to them, 
namelv : Theophihis Hull, born 
December 22, 1871 ; Russell Smith, 
born April 19, 1877, and Alice, 
born June 5, 1879. The eldest son 
died in 1898. The younger son. 
Russell, is with his father in 
business. 

The eldest son, Theophilus, mar- 
ried Emeroy, daughter of Aman- 
dus L. Goddard of Hyde Park, and 
from that union Governor Page has 
two grandsons, Carroll G., born 
May 8, 1894, and Proctor Hull, 
born February 12, 1896. 

For nearly forty years Governor 
Page has been closely identitied 
with public affairs in Vermont. At 
the age of 26 he was elected to the 
General Assembly and re-elected in 
1870. In 1872 he was made a 
member of the Republican state 
committee, an office which he held 
until 1888, at which time, being a 
candidate for the office of governor, 
he declined a re-election. He was 
for several years its secretary and 
treasurer and during the last years 
of his incumbency of that office, 
was its chairman. In 1874 he was 
elected to the state senate. For 
about ten years he was register of 
probate for the district of Lamoille 
and in 1880 was a delegate to the 
Republican national convention at 
Chicago which nominated James A. 
Garfield for president. In 1884 he 
Avas appointed inspector of finance, 
an office having direct supervision 
of the savings banks of Vermont, 
and it was in this position that he 
became especially known as the 



champion of Vermont investments 
for A'ermont savings banks. Up to 
1884 the law had placed no limit 
upon the amount which could be 
loaned by Vermont savings banks 
on mortgages in the West but in 
that year, after a somewhat stren- 
uous contest, the limit was by law 
made 58 per cent, and that limit 
was still further reduced to 50 per 
cent, in 1886. Mr. Page was re- 
appointed inspector in 1886 and 
held the office until 1888, when in 
antici]iation of his candidacy for 
the governorship, he declined a re- 
appointment. In 1890 lie was 
elected governor. 

As a banker he is known as the 
])resident of the two l)anks at Hyde 
Pai-k, the Lamoille County Na- 
tional and the Lamoille County 
Savings Bank and Trust Company. 
He is also the largest stockholder 
in the Swanton Savings Bank and 
Trust Company of Swanton. ]\Ir. 
Page's motto has ever been, "Ver- 
mont's money should be kept in 
Vermont to foster Vermont indus- 
tries and to develop Vermont en- 
terprises," and no applicant for 
loans outside of Vermont has ever 
been successful in securing funds 
at any of the three banks which 
Mr. Page c<mtrols. 

It is as a dealer in green calf- 
skins, in which line his business has 
been regarded as the foremost in 
the United States, that Governor 
Page is best known to the business 
world. Commencing in this iine 
when a mere boy, in 1855, he has 
persistently pushed the business 
until his trade reaches the larger 
part of the United States and the 
more important nations of Europe. 

BRIGIIA:\r. Hon. Waldo, came 
of Puritan ancestry, tracing his 
genealogical line to Thomas Brig- 
ham, who came from England and 




Waldo Brigham. 



14 



SUC'CKSSFUT. VEKMONTHIIS. 



located at Cainbrid<ie, Massachu- 
setts, about 163-4. He was bom 
at Bakersfield, June 10, 1829, the 
youngest child, in a family of 
10, of Asa and Sally Hardy Brig- 
ham, and died after a long and 
painful illness at Hyde Park, April 
2, 1900. His early education was 
obtained in the district school and 
at Bakersfield Academy. After 
comi)]eting his course at the acad- 
emy, he entered the University of 
Vermont, from which he gradu- 
ated with honor in the class of 
1854. Among his classmates were 
Eeuben Clark Benton, until his 
death in 1895, a prominent lawyer 
of ]\Iinneapolis ; Charles H. Heath, 
late of the "Washington County bar, 
and Charles INTerritt Gay, at one 
time editor and pulilisher of the 
Living Age. 

After one year spent in teaching 
at Potsdam, New York, he took up 
the study of law, first in the office 
of Hon. W. C. Wilson in Bakers- 
field and afterwards in the office 
of John A. Child and Whitman 
Cr. Ferrin at Hyde Park. He was 
admitted to the bar of Lamoille 
County at the IMay term, 1857, 
and shortly thereafter entered the 
office of Hon. Homer E. Eoyce, 
then a member of Congress from 
Vermont, at East Bei-kshire. Ke- 
maining there in the practice of 
his profession four years, he re- 
turned to Hyde Park in 1862, 
when he formed a partnership 
with George L. Waterman. This 
partnership continued until dis- 
solved by reason of the failing 
health of Mr.. Waterman, in 1884, 
covering the period of the greatest 
activity in Mr. Brigham's legal ca- 
reer. During this time, spanning 
almost a quarter of a century, there 
was hardly a case of any promi- 
nence on the Lamoille County 



docket in which did not appear 
Brigham & Waterman, and in the 
lists against them, Hon. H. Henry 
Powers and Hon. Philip K. Gleed 
of the firm of Powers & Gleed, or 
Hon. George W. Hendee. In 1884 
]\rr. Brigham formed a partnership 
with Henry ]\1. ]\leFarland, which 
continued for three years. ITis re- 
tirement from this partnership by 
reason of ill health, the seeds of 
which were sown in the care and 
overwork of more than a decade 
before in the semi-public service, 
given to the building of Avliat is 
now known as the St. Johnsbury 
& Lake Champlain Railroad, of 
which he was the first president, 
practically marked the close of Mr. 
Brigham 's professional labors. 

His strength as a lawyer lay 
chiefly in a thorough knowledge of 
legal principles, grounded in com- 
mon sense. He was not a ease law- 
yer. The reports were for him an 
immense storehouse of legal princi- 
ples,- clothed with facts, individ- 
ualized, never a compendium of 
decisions simply. The bench and 
bar of our state, as well as a client- 
age extending over almost a quar- 
ter of a century, testify to the 
ability and integrity which Mr. 
Brigham brought to the practice of 
his chosen profession. 

Mr. Brigham was more than a 
lawyer. He was an unselfish and 
high-minded citizen, always plac- 
ing above private interests the in- 
terest of his town, his county and 
his state. His years after reach- 
ing maturity were filled to the full 
with business and professional ac- 
tivities, activities not self-cen- 
tered, but self-sacrificing, public 
spirited, altruistic. His was a life 
that looked out and beyond self for 
its motives, its aim, its highest en- 



LAMOILLE rOUNTY. 



15 



joyment. He lived to serve, not 
to be served. 

Always a Democrat in a state 
where there was no hope of pnblie 
preferment, ]\Ir. Briftham held few 
offices. He represented Hyde Park 
in the Legislatnre in 1866-'67-'68, 
serving: Avith credit on important 
committees. Though his party 
could elect him to no comity or 
state office, it signally honored him 
by naming him at various times for 
the offices of state's attorney, 
county senator, lieutenant-gov- 
ernor, member of Congress and 
senator of the United States. He 
also represented his party as a del- 
egate to the national convention 
which named GoA'ernor Seymour 
for the presidency. 

In 1858, shortly after his admis- 
sion to the bar, he married Lucia 
Ellen, eldest daughter of Hon. 
Lucius Noyes of Hyde Park. 
From this union were born three 
daughters, all of whom are now 
living. Julia, the eldest, mari-ied 
Henry M. McFarland of Hyde 
Park. INIary is the wife of James 
Buckham, eldest son of President 
M. H. Buckham, and resides in 
Melrose. ^Massachusetts. Blanche, 
the youngest, late preceptress of 
the high school at The Dalles, Ore- 
gon, is unmarried. INfary and 
Blanche are graduates of the L^ui- 
versity of Vermont. 

Such, bi'iefly told, was the life 
of Waldo Brigham. While it was 
not perfect, its motives were right. 
and, as said Antony over the dead 
body of Brutus at Philippi, so 
may it be said of him : 

"His life was gentle; and tlie elements 
So mixed in him, that Nature might 

stand up 
And say to all the world, 'This was a 
man.' " 



]\IcFARLAND, Henry M., of 
Hyde Park, traces his genealogical 
line to the Clan MacFarlane in the 
Highlands of Scotland. The an- 
cestor of the MacFarlanes was Gil- 
christ, brother of Malduin, third 
earl of Lenox, proof of which is 
found in a charter still extant by 
which the earl gave to his brother 
a grant of "Arrochar," which es- 
tate continued in the possession of 
the clan for 600 .years. 

A great-grandson of Gilchrist 
was named Partholan, Gaelic for 
Bartholomew, which soon came to 
be written Pharlan and Pharlane, 
then, pretixing Mac, meaning the 
son of, became MacPharlan and 
INFacPharlane, which was aspirated 
or softened into IMacFarlan and 
jMacFarlane, and was adopted as 
the patronyniical surname of the 
clan, notwithstanding the fact that 
for three generations before this 
they had been known as ^TacGil- 
christs. 

In l(i08, when the clan INIacFar- 
lane Avas decreed rebels by law, 
many of them Avent to the north of 
Ireland, settling in the County 
Londonderry and thenceforth, Avith 
others AAdio Avent from Scotland to 
Ireland about that time Avere called 
Scotch-Irish. From a peculiarity 
of the Scotch pronunciation the 
final "e" Avas changed to "d," 
giving us MacFarland. 

Among the Scotch-Irish innni- 
grants who landed in Boston in 
1718, was Nathan McFarland. 
His son, Moses McFarland, great- 
grandfather of the subject of this 
sketch, Avas born in Loiulon- 
derry, Ncav Hampshire, Febi-uarv 
19, 1738, and died April 7, 1802. ' 

He was a veteran of two wars, 
having serA^ed in the French and 



16 



SrOCE.SSFUL VER MONTERS. 



Indian War and in tlie struggle for 
independence. Ilis services won 
for him the rank of major, as well 
as the personal fi-iendship of Gen- 
eral Washington. September 3, 
1765, he married Eunice Clark, a 
descendant of James Clark, one 
of the original 16 settlers of Lon- 
donderry. She was l)orn Septem- 
l)er 23, 1748, and died January 13, 
1820. Osgood McFarland, son of 
]\Ioses jMcFarland, was born Au- 
gust 8, 1781, and died at Water- 
ville, July 21, 1865. He married 
INIarv Bartlett of Haverhill, Massa- 
chusetts. September 14. 1806. She 
was born March 9. 1786, and died 
June 5, 1861. Moses McFarland, 
son of Osgood ^McFarland, see 
Waterville, was born at Marietta, 
Ohio, June 25, 1821, and now re- 
sides in Waterville. October 22, 
1849, he married Livonia A. Leach, 
who was born in Waterville. I\Iav 
29, 1820, and died :\ray 22, 1889. ' 
Henrv M. McFarland, second 
child of Moses and Livonia A. J\Ic- 
Farland, was born at Waterville, 
August 5, 1852: graduated from 
the People's Academy and Mor- 
risville Graded School in 1875, and 
from the University of Vermont as 
valedictorian in 1878 : was princi- 
pal of the Lamoille Central Acad- 
emy at Hyde Park for the three 
succeeding years, and is one of 
its trustees, as he has been for 
many years; studied law with 
Brigham & Waterman and was ad- 
mitted to the bar of Lamoille 
County in 1881 ; was elected state 's 
attorney for Lamoille County in 
1884, holding the office for two 
years, and was a delegate from 
Vermont to the National Republi- 
can Anti-Saloon Convention which 
met in Chicago in 1886. In 1888 
he was made a director of the La- 
moille County National Bank, and 



later its vice-president, in which 
position he still serves. He was 
one of the incorporators of the La- 
moille County Savings Bank & 
Trust Company in 1889 and its 
first vice-president, which office he 
now holds. He was secretary of 
civil and military affairs under 
Governor Carroll S. Page from 
1890 to 1892. In 1891^ he was 
elected a director of the Union 
^Mutual Fire Insurance Company, 
and has served in that capacity 
since that time. About twenty 
years ago, as an incident of his 
law business, he started the La- 
moille County Insurance Agency, 
which under his management has 
developed into one of the leading 
agencies in this part of the state. 
Since his coming to Hyde Park, in 
1878, he has been actively inter- 
ested in various industrial enter- 
prises, and is now secretary and 
director of the Hyde Park Lumber 
Company, and of the Morse Manu- 
facturing Company. He is now 
filling out the sixth year of service 
on the board of trustees of the vil- 
lage of Hyde Park. During his 
service as chairman of the board, 
the nuuiicipal light and power 
plant. costing nearly twenty 
thousand dollars, was installed and 
the village sewer system put in. 
He has served his town as super- 
intendent of schools, as well as in 
various other capacities, and has 
always been keenly alive to all mat- 
ters of public interest. He is a 
member of the Second Congrega- 
tional Church of Hyde Park, and 
is active in its support, ha\ang 
served as chairman of the build- 
ing committee, under whose super- 
vision a new church, costing up- 
wards of eight thousand dollars, 
was erected in 1899. He is a mem- 
ber of the ^lasonie Fraternity, hav- 



TjAimoille county. 



17 



ing taken the Knight Templar de- 
grees. He is also an Odd Fellow, 
having served the order as grand 
master of the state in 1897, and as 
grand representative in 1898- '99. 
He is a member of the Vermont So- 
ciety of the Sons of the American 
Revolntion, tracing his connection 
to the strnggle for independence 
through his great-grandfather, 
Major Moses McFarland. 

^Ir. McFarland mai-ried Julia, 
eldest daughter of Hon. Waldo 
Brigham, a graduate of the Uni- 
versity of Vermont, class of 1854, 
eight years president of the St. 
Johnsbury & Lake Cham])lain Rail- 
road, and in his lifetime a lead- 
ing attoriiev of Northern Ver- 
mont, December 22, 1881. See 
page 12. They have three chil- 
dren : Helen Marion, born Novem- 
ber 27, 1885, now a sophomore at 
Wellesley College ; Clrace Brigham, 
born September 24:, 1888, now a 
student at St. Johnsbury Acad- 
emv. and Bi'iiiham Wheeler, born 
Aprils, 1891. 

HULBURD, Hon. Roger Wii.l- 
lAM, a son of Benjamin and Juli- 
ana ( stiller) Ilulbui'd was l)()i'u 
October 22, 1856. 

The Hulburd family is one of 
the oldest in America. History 
tells us that AA^illiam Hulburd 
came fi-om England and settled 
in Doi'chester in 1630, moving to 
Windsor, Connecticut, five years 
later. In 1655 he helped to settle 
Northampton and died there in 
1694. His son, AVilliam 2d, was 
born in 1654, lived in Enfield and 
New Haven, Connecticut. Oba- 
diah, son of William, was born in 
1703 and in 1729 married Love 
Parsons. William, 3d, son of Oba- 
diah, was born in 1730 and mar- 
ried Tiliitba Warner in 1750. 
Their son, William, 4th, was born 

A— 3 



in 1752, and in 1773 married a 
Miss Phelps. William, 5th, son of 
William, 4th, was born in 1774. 
No authentic record of whom he 
married has been found. His son, 
Benjamin F., father of Hon. Roger 
William, subject of this sketch, 
was born at Milton in 1822 and in 
1851 married Juliana jMiller of 
Johnson. 

Tradition says that William 1st 
or 2d was given 400 acres for 
services in Indian wars. William 
4th 's name appears as one of 
Ethan Allen's famous "Green 
^Mountain Boys," in "New York 
and the Revolution," published by 
New York state, on page 49, edition 
of 1900. The name, even in Ver- 
mont, wfis sometimes spelled Hul- 
])ui't, which sometimes causes con- 
fusion in looking up facts con- 
nected with the family hi.stoi-y in 
Vermont. Helen II. Brown was 
a granddaughter of Ebenezej', a 
bi-other of William 4th. 

These eight genei-ations of Hul- 
burds have been sturdy, stanch 
and true, original and thinking 
men who have lived their convic- 
tions and hewed to the line. 

Benjamin F. Hulburd enlisted 
in the ill-fated Seventh Vermont, 
and, enduring the malaria of the 
swamps of Louisiana, Avas dis- 
charged for physical disability. As 
soon as his health permitted he re- 
enlisted in the Second Vermont, 
went through Gettysburg cam- 
paign, the last grand advance on 
Richmond and was killed in the 
battle of Cedar Creek, Octolier 19, 
1864. 

Roger AV. was born at Water- 
ville, receiving his eai'ly school 
training in that town. He at- 
tended the Montpelier Seminary, 
graduated from the People's Acad- 
emy at Morrisville in 1877 and 




ROUEK W. HULBUKD. 



LAMOILLE COUNTY. 



19 



from the classical course of the 
University of Vermont, class of 
1882. In the fall of that year he 
became principal of the Lamoille 
Central Academy at Hyde Park, 
and continued for three years, 
meanwhile piirsTiin<i' his legal stud- 
ies in the office of Brio-ham & Mc- 
Farland. He attended the Al- 
bany Law School, 1886- '87, was 
admitted to the bar in 1887 and 
at once entered upon the prac- 
tice of the law at Hyde Park. By 
close attention to his profession, he 
rapidly pushed forward and is now 
ranked among the leaders at the 
Vermont bar. 

In politics, Mr. Hulburd is a 
Republican. In 1894 he was 
elected state's attorney for La- 
moille County and administered 
that office for two years with 
marked ability. In 1896 he was 
nominated, without opposition by 
the Republican county convention, 
for state senator, and was elected 
by one of the largest majorities 
ever given in the county. In this 
body he easily became leader and 
his work was such as to bring great 
ci-edit and public praise. In the 
fall of 1896 he was appointed by 
Governor Grout chairman of the 
board of trustees of the State In- 
dustrial School to till the vacancy 
occasioned by the resignation of 
Lieutenant-Governor Fisk. By 
successive re-appointment he still 
holds this important office. Here 
his sound judgment and splendid 
executive ability has made him a 
most desirable public servant. He 
has filled the vai'ious town offices 
and was postmaster of Hyde Park 
during the Harrison administra- 
tion. He has for several years 
been a trustee of the Lamoille 
County Savings Bank; is president 
of the Hyde Park Warehouse Com- 



pany and is now serving as a mem- 
ber of the state board of examiners 
for admission to the bar. 

All in all, Mr. Hulburd is a 
strong, clean, able man, with high 
ideals of professional accomplish- 
ments. Socially, he is decidedly 
genial, full of wit and quick at 
repartee. 

In 1884 he was united in mar- 
riage to Mabel J., a daughter of 
Hon. Lucius H. Noyes of Hyde 
Park, a lady of refinement, whose 
devotion to home and family is her 
greatest delight. Four children 
have been born of this happy 
union : three girls and a boy. 

SMALL, Leander S.— George 
Small, father of Leander S. Small, 
was born at Amherst, New Hamp- 
shire, July 1, 1789, removing to 
]\forristown in 1818, where he re- 
sided in the same neighborhood 
until his death. He married Or- 
pha Wilkins of Amherst and they 
had five sons and five daughters : 
Lucinda (1), Leander S. (2), 
George F. (3), Joseph B. (4), Ly- 
dia (5), Hiram M. (6), Harriet 
(7), Vernon W. (8), Nancy (9), 
Mary (10). 

Mr. Small was a strictly honest 
man, always conscientious, but 
ever active, genial and social, and 
had the respect and esteem of all 
who knew him. To illustrate one 
trait of his character, his father, a 
soldier in the Revolutionary War, 
and the father of 14 children, 
found it rather hard to keep even 
with the world, and had accumu- 
lated debts before his death. 
George, as a matter of course, went 
to work to pay up his father's 
creditors, which he did to the last 
penny. 

After coming to Morristown, he 
engaged in farming, and was hon- 
ored by various public offices, hav- 



20 



SUCCESSFUL VERMONTERS. 



ing served two terms in the Legis- 
latnre, and many times as justice 
of the peace, selectman and lister. 
Although conservative and a Dem- 
ocrat, he was an admirer and fol- 
lower of Lincoln and his adminis- 
tration, and an advocate of the 
conduct of the war. He died JNIav 
27, 1875. 

Hon. Leander S. Small was born 
in IMorristown, December 3, 1820. 
He was reared on the farm and 
educated in the common schools. 
At 21 he took up the study of 
law in the office of Butler & Wil- 
kins. at Stowe, and was admitted 
to the bar in 1845. He then, as 
partner, entered the office of the 
late Hon. George AVilkins of Stowe. 
where he remained for three years, 
when, owing to ill health, he gave 
up for a time the practice of law 
and devoted his attention to teach- 
ing. In 1852 he came to Hyde 
Park, opened a law office and there 
practiced his profession for many 
years. In 1853 he married (Cor- 
nelia M., daughter of Almond 
Boardman of IMorristown. In 
1861 he was elected county clerk 
and served for seven years. In 
1878 he was elected second assist- 
ant judge, and in 1880, first assist- 
ant. He Avas a successful practi- 
tioner, well versed in the law, of 
which he was always a close stu- 
dent, and his knowledge of ele- 
mentary law was considered re- 
markable. He was, too, an untir- 
ing worker in behalf of his clients, 
and would labor as faithfully to 
effect an amicable settlement when 
he believed it for their interests 
as in his preparation for trial. He 
was frequently called upon to act 
as referee, which position his im- 
partial judgment and sound legal 
training enal)led him always to fill 
verv satisfactorilv. He began the 



practice of law in ill health, and at 
a time when he was obliged to com- 
pete with some of the strongest 
legal talent in the state, but soon 
]iroved himself a good lawyer, and 
at the time of his death was the 
oldest member of the bar in the 
county, l)oth in years of service 
and age, except his former part- 
ner, ]\Tr. Wilkins. 

Judge Small was a man of cheer- 
ful disposition, kind and neigh- 
borly to all, and a decided humor- 
ist. He enjoyed a good story, usu- 
ally had one appropi-iate to the oc- 
casion, and delighted in telling it, 
in which ai't he was a master. His 
stock of wit and anecdotes was in- 
exhaustible. During the last few 
years of his life, when, through pa- 
i-alysis of the limbs, he was con- 
fined to his chair, this trait of char- 
acter did not desert him. His sto- 
ries were not forgotten, and he was 
alwavs cheerful and hopeful. He 
died'i\Iarch 22, 1896. 

NOYES, Lucius Hubbelt., the 
second son of Breed and Sarah 
Noyes, was l^orn in Hyde Park, 
April 24, 1811. His education was 
obtained in the disti'ict school of 
his native town, with the exception 
of a few months' attendance at 
the ^NFontpeliei- Academy. At the 
age of 16 he went into his father's 
store (then the only one in the 
town), which was situated on the 
Noyes farm, about one mile easi; 
of the present location of Hyde 
Pai-k village. A few years latei-, 
his father dying, Lucius, who was 
the oldest son living, continued 
the luisiness in his own name, and 
for a time materially aided his 
mother in caring for his father's 
family. In 1840 he left the store 
on the farm and moved to Hyde 
Park A'illage. l)ui]ding a large store 
there, which is still standing. Here 



LAMOILLK COtTNTV. 



21 



he successfully followed the mer- 
cantile business for nearly thirty 
years. From being the proprietor 
of the country store, which in the 
early days served lai'gely as the 
financial institution of the commu- 
nity, ]\Ir. Noyes naturally turned 
his attention to banking, and was 



aging, if not organizing, every un- 
dertaking which promised to be 
of benefit to his native town. His 
public spirit and liberality will 
long be remembered. Esteemed 
and respected for his absolute hon- 
esty and ability, his services were 
eontinualh^ souuht for in behalf 




IjUcius H. Noyes. 



the chief promotor of the Lamoille 
County Bank, organized in 1855. 
He was elected its first President, 
a position he still held at the time 
of his death. 

Mr. Noyes early became one of 
the representative citizens of Hyde 
Park, active in all its business af- 
fairs, always substantially encour- 



of both private and public enter- 
prises. It is said that seldom a 
year passed without his holding 
some town office of trust and re- 
sponsibility. 

In 1836, Mr. Noyes married Dia- 
damia J. Smalley, who was born 
August 1, 1816. She was the 
daughter of Francis and Martha P. 



i)a 



SUCCESSFUL vei::montei;s. 



(Hyde) Smalley. and the grand- 
daugliter of Jedediah H.yde, the 
early settler and Revolutionary 
soldier from whom the town takes 
its name. 

In January, 1877, Mr. Noyes 
suffered a severe stroke of apo- 
plexy — a disease he had for a long 



(Hyde Park). Later he attended 
for short periods of time the acad- 
emies of Bakersfield and Morris- 
ville and the normal school at 
Johnson. 

His business career began with 
the organization of the Lamoille 
Connty National Bank in 1865, 




Albert L. Noyes. 



time feared — and although living 
some days after, he never regained 
consciousness. His death occurred 
February 4, 1877. 

NOYES, Albert Leigh, the eld- 
est son of Lucius H. and Diadamia 
J. Noyes, was born January 18, 
1840. His early education was in 
the schools of his native town 



when ]Mr. No.yes. then a young 
man of 25 years, was elected 
its first cashier. He at once 
devoted all his energies to the 
upbuilding of the new bank. 
He was made a director and early 
assumed nearly the entire control 
of the institution, and for more 
than twenty years was i)ractically 



LAMOILLE COUNTY. 



23 



its head. This long term of ser- 
vice in this responsible position was 
characterized throughout with the 
utmost fare and abilit}'. lie pos- 
sessed a fine discriminating judg- 
ment and almost never erred in 
his estimate of a man's financial 
strength. To his wise management 
may be attributed in a great meas- 
ure the good name of this financial 
institution of Lamoille County, the 
record of which has not been sur- 
passed, if equaled, by any other 
bank in the state. 

In addition to his duties at the 
bank, Mr. Noyes was associated 
with former Governor Carroll S. 
Page in an extensive lumber busi- 
ness. Under the firm name 
of Page & Noyes, they operated 
at one time as many as 35 
mills throughout Lamoille County. 
They were a well-known firm 
throughout New England and a 
prominent factor in the lumber in- 
terests of Northern Vermont. 

In politics Mr. Noyes was a Dem- 
ocrat. He was a member of the 
state committee and took an active 
interest in the politics of the coun- 
try, but was never an aspirant for 
political office. 

He was liberal and public spir- 
ited; always ready freely to give 
for any worthy enterprise, and act- 
ive to forward the interests of his 
native town. 

In 1866 Mr. Noyes was united in 
marriage to Ellen C. Boardman, 
daughter of Almond Boardman of 
Morristown. She was a woman of 
ability, always well-informed and 
interested in the events of the 
times. She was active in charita- 
ble work and her kindness to the 
sick and afflicted was well known. 

In January, 1887, Mr. Noyes, 
who had for a number of years 
been a sufferer from asthma, un- 



dertook a journey to southern Cal- 
ifornia, in hopes that the climate 
there might be of benefit to him. 
The journey proved too much for 
him. He had overestimated his 
strength, and, after reaching his 
destination, lived only a few days. 
He died at Pasadena, California, 
February 16, 1887, at the age of 
47 years. His wife, Ellen C. 
Noyes, survived him about ten 
years, clving October 7, 1897, at 
Hyde Park.^ 

NOYES, Edwakd L., a son of 
Hon. Lucius H. and Diadamia J. 
(Smalley) Noyes, was born in 
Hyde Park, March 22, 1819. Dia- 
damia J. (Hyde) Smalley was 
born in Hyde Park August 1. 
1816, and was a granddaughter of 
Captain Jedediah Hyde. Lucius 
H. Noyes was a son of Breed Noyes, 
who was born in Hyde Park, April 
24, 1811 ; he was the first store- 
keeper of any account in town, and 
was a son of Oliver and Sarah 
(Keeler) Noyes. 

Edward L. Noyes was educated 
in the public schools of Hyde Park, 
Lamoille Central Academy and 
graduated from Eastman's Busi- 
ness College at Poughkeepsie, 
New York, in 1868. Completing 
his education he entered the mer- 
cantile business in company with 
his brother, Henry M., and contin- 
ued for three years. In 1875 he 
went to Nevada and later to Cali- 
fornia. While in Elko, Nevada, 
was in the employ of the Free- 
man's Bank. In 1878 he returned 
to Hyde Park and entered the em- 
ploy of Carroll S. Page and the 
following year became assistant 
cashier of the Lamoille County Na- 
tional Bank, in which position he 
continued until the death of his 
brother. Cashier Albert L., when 
he became cashier of that institu- 



24 



SUCCESSFUL VERMONTKRS. 



tion, which position lie still holds. 

Mr. Noyes has served as village 
trustee and was postmaster of 
Hyde Park under the first Cleve- 
land administi'ation. 

In 1873 he married Josett F. 
Blanehard of iMansonville, Quebec; 
three children liave lieen horn to 



until 1891. Mr. White completed 
his education at Johnson Academy 
and was for several years a suc- 
cessful teacher. He was engaged 
for many years in the manufac- 
ture of potato starch, being at one 
time a partner in four different 
mills in this section. The price 




EnwARD L. Noyes. 



them: Grace A. (Mrs. Doctor J. M. 
Stevens), born July 4, 1874; Isa- 
dore D. (Mrs. W. W. Thorp), 
born May 26, 1881; Albert L., 
born February 18, 1887. He is a 
student at Norwich Universitv. 

WHITE, Hon. Edwin C," was 
l)()rn in Eden in 1833, where boy- 
hood and manhood were passed 



paid for potatoes was at first ten 
cents per Imshel, but the maximum 
price after the war was thirty-five 
cents, and many thousand bushels 
Avere handled. 

The decline and termination of 
the business, in the early 80^, was 
due to the introduction of Western 
corn starch at a nmch lowei' price. 



LAMOILLE (BOUNTY 



9A 



Later Judge White did tlie insur- 
ance business of that town, was 
town clerk, treasurer, superinten- 
dent of schools and trial justice 
about fifteen years. He held nearly 
every ofifice in his native town, and 
represented Eden in 1869 and at 
the first biennial term of 1870. 
After the death of Hon. W. II. H. 
Kenfield, in 1891, Judge White 



Life Insurance Company. Three 
years later E. C. White married 
Miss Lizzie A. Sargent of Eden, 
who for several years has been a 
most efficient and painstaking reg- 
ister of prol)ate for the district of 
Lamoille. 

Judge AVhite was a member of 
the first board of village trustees 
and bore an active part in insti- 




Edwin C. White. 



was appointed to fill the unex- 
pired term of judge of probate of 
Lamoille County, and still holds 
that position by successive re- 
elections. 

Mr. White married Susan W. 
Kennan, who died in 1875, leaving 
one son, George E. White, now, of 
Montpelier, where he holds the re- 
sponsible and exacting position of 
head bookkeeper for the National 



tuting the electric light system. 
He has been a Mason nearly fifty 
years, one of the oldest in this ju- 
risdiction, and has passed all of 
the chairs of both JMount Norris 
Lodge and Tucker Chapter. 

BUTTS, L. Porter, a son of 
Prosper and Mary J\I. (Luce) 
Butts, was born in Stowe, January 
23, 1844; received his education in 
the common and hiyh scliools of 



26 



SUCCESSFUL VEinrONTERS. 



Stowe. Young" Butts did not 
graduate with his class, for the 
martial spirit of '62 fired his soul 
and the call for duty found him 
with a ready respous-.'. He en- 
listed with Company E, Thirteenth 
Regiment, Vermont Infantry, and 
served ten months, being mustered 



the next 24 years was proprie- 
tor of the hotel, retiring in June, 
1896, since which time he has car- 
ried on a small village farm. He 
has be(m postmaster of North Hyde 
Park since 1897. 

September 20, 1866, :\Ir. Butts 
married Lurana A. Munn of Stowe. 




L. PoRTEi! Butts. 



out with his regiment. He re-en- 
listed in Company D, Fifth Regi- 
ment, Vermont Infantry, and 
served until mustered out at the 
close of the war. 

Returning from the war, Mr. 
Butts fai'med for five years in 
Johnson. January, 1872, he moved 
to North Hyde Park and for 



Mr. Butts has always taken a 
keen interest in public and social 
matters and has frequently been 
called to public places, discharging 
every obligation to the entire satis- 
faction of his people. He has 
served three years as selectman, 
lister, grand juror, for 25 years, 
has been a deputy sheriff, for 



LAlSrOILLE COUNTY. 



27 



many years second constable of the 
town, and in 1896 represented 
Hyde Park in the General Assem- 
bly, serving on joint committee on 
state and conrt expenses. For 
many years Mr. Butts has been an 
active member of the Republican 
town committee. 

He is a member of Watei-man 



A. and Almira M. (Lewis) Ste- 
vens. Prince A. Stevens was born 
in Barnard, Deceml)er 25, 1819, 
and was the son of Lenuiel and 
Reliance (Stevens) Stevens, and 

grandson of Andrew and ( 

Collins) Stevens. Prince A. Stevens 
was one of a family of 12 children, 
and on account (if the death of his 




HowAKD L. Stevens. 



Lodge, A. F. & A. M. of Johnson, 
Tucker Chapter, No. 15, of ]\Ior- 
risville, Aaron Keeler Post, 91, 
G. A. R. In 1890 he was its com- 
mandei* and for the ]Kist 15 years 
has been its adjutant. 

STEVENS, Howard L., was 
born in Wolcott, May 4, 1857, being 
the second son of Hon. Prince 



father while he was quite young, he 
went to live with a sister in Royal- 
ton, where his youth was spent. 
INIr. Stevens' early education was 
obtained in the district schools, but 
his aptness for books soon put him 
on a level with his instructors, and 
he began teaching at an early age. 
Prince A. Stevens was married 



28 



SUCCESSFUL VERMONTEIJS. 



to Almira M. Lewis, at Williams- 
town, November 4, 1846, and soon 
after his marriage moved to Hard- 
wick, Avhere he kept hotel and also 
lived on a farm, and in Xovembei', 
1846, moved to Woleott, where he 
purchased the farm on which he 
has resided most of the time since. 
Mr. Stevens has held many town 
offices, having been moderator of 
the town meetings for 20 years in 
succession, and was assistant .judge 
of the county court in 1870- '72. 

Eugene, eldest son of Prince A. 
and Almira, was born ]\Iay, 1850, 
and died Febrnary, 1872; Almira 
Stevens died at Woleott, July 25, 
1898. 

Howard L. Stevens received his 
early education in the common 
schools of Woleott, People's Acad- 
emy at Morrisville and the Hard- 
wick Academy at Hardwick; after 
completing his course of study he 
devoted his summers to carrying on 
the farm, and winters spent in 
teaching. 

On the 22d day of December, 
1883, he was married to Abbie 
Griswold, youngest daughter of 
John and Chastina (Fish) Gris- 
wold. After marriage Mr. Stevens 
continued to live on the old home- 
stead and assist not only in carry- 
ing on the farm, but in conduct- 
ing quite a large insurance busi- 
ness, in which Hon. Prince A. Ste- 
vens was engaged. In January, 
1885, he was appointed one of the 
deput.y sheriffs, which position he 
held continuously , wdth the excep- 
tion of about eighteen months, un- 
til his election to the office of sheriff 
of Lamoille County, September, 
1904, and in November of the same 
year moved to Hyde Park, where 
he now resides. Howard (as he 
is familiarly called) has held many 
town offices in Woleott, having 



been lister, one of the school direct- 
ors, etc. He is a member of Min- 
eral Lodge, No. 93, A. F. & A. M., 
was always very popular with his 
associates, an efficient officer, and 
a man who bore the respect of the 
conununity in which he lived. 

WAITP], Hon. Horace, son of 
Smith and Lucinda (Goodenough) 
Waite, was born in Fairfield, May 
16, 1826. He married Lovisa J. 
Leach, eldest daughter of Benja- 
min H. and Lydia (McAllister) 
Leach. In May, 1855, they moved 
to Eden, where four children were 
boi-n: Smith B., June 17, 1856; 
Abbie M., January 6, 1858 ; Evvah 
B., Januarv 29, 1864, and IMartin 
B., November 3, 1866. 

Hon. Horace Waite was always 
held in very high esteem by his 
townsmen and served in nearly all 
the principal town offices, repre- 
senting the town of Eden in the 
Legislature in 1865 and was one of 
the assistant judges of Lamoille 
Countv for the terms 1882- '84, 
1884- '86. 

Smith B. Waite of Hyde Park 
received but limited schooling 
until the age of 16 years, when 
he entered the People's Academy 
at Morrisville. After attending 
school four terms he began teach- 
ing winters, the first term being 
taught at Centerville in Hyde 
Park. He graduated from the 
academy in 1887 in the classical 
course and entered the U. V. M. 
class of 1881. On account of poor 
health he was compelled to leave 
at the end of his sophomore year, 
and returned to Eden, where he 
engaged in farming, which occupa- 
tion, with teaching a part of the 
year, he followed for four years, 
being principal of the high school 
at Enosburg Falls two years. 

In September, 1885, Mr. Waite 



LAMOILLE COUXTV. 



29 



moved to Hyde Park and begaii 
the study of law with W. H. H. 
Kenfield, and was appointed 
county clerk of Lamoille County 
March 28, 1886, which position he 
now holds. He has held several 
town offices, being moderator sev- 
eral times, collector of taxes, lister 
and a justice of the peace. In 



He is a member of INIount Ver- 
non Lodge, A. F. & A. M. ; Tucker 
Chapter, R. A. M. ; Burlington 
Commandery, K. T. ; JNIount Sinai 
Temple Mystic Shrine ; Sterling 
Lodge, I. 0. 0. F. ; Green Mountain 
Encampment, Crescent Canton and 
Eathbone Lodge, K. of P. Mr. 
Waite has served as master of 




Smith B. Waite. 



lOO-J: he \\'as elected to the Legis- 
lature by one of the largest ma- 
jorities given to any man for many 
years, where he served on the rail- 
road committee and on the special 
caucus committee. The same year 
he was elected as a member of the 
Republican state committee from 
Lamoille County. 



IMount Vernon Lodge, high priest 
of Tucker Chapter, C. H. of the 
Grand Royal Arch Chapter, noble 
grand of Sterling Lodge, grand 
master of the Grand Lodge of Ver- 
mont, I. 0. 0. F., for the term 
1901- '02, and grand representa- 
tive to the Sovereign Grand Lodge 
for the two years following. 



30 



SUCCESSFUL YERMONTEKS. 



Mr. Waite was married to Lettie 
A. Spaiilding', to whom three chil- 
dren were born: Harold P., Lilah 
F. and Thad, who died when three 
years of age. Harold i.s a drng- 
gist in Worcester, IMassachnsetts, 
and Lilah is a teacher and resides 
at home. 

"Smith," as he is known among 



The Wedge family is among the 
oldest in America, its progenitor 
coming to America as early as 
1623 and locating in Boston, com- 
ing to Massachnsetts Bay only 
three years after the landing of the 
Pilgrims at the now historic town 
of Plymonth, the Wedge family 
mingled in and became a part of 




Edgar A. Wedge. 



his atMjuaiiitanees, is very popu- 
lar, a genial companion, liberal in 
public enterprises and ever ready 
to assist the fellow who is in bad 
luck. 

WEDGE, Edgar A., a son of 
Ammi and INlarietta (Powers) 
Wedge, was born in the town of 
Lowell. 



the sturdy pioneers, who did so 
nuich for laying the solid founda- 
tion of religious institutions, and 
the building of our country. This 
was a time which has left its deep 
impress foi- good upon the succeed- 
ing generations. 

From Boston they moved to Con- 
necticut, and from there Eastman 



LAMOILLE COUNTY, 



31 



Wedge and his father went to 
Enosbnrg and later Eastman re- 
moved to Bakersfiekl, at which 
place Ammi was born, March 22, 
1827. Later Ammi located at 
Lowell and here Edgar A., the 
subject of this sketch, was born 
March 22, 1857. Four years later 
Ammi Wedge and his family took 
up residence in Bolton, Quebec, 
and Edgar A. received his educa- 
tion in the public schools. After 
completing his schooling he en- 
tered the lumber business there and 
continued until 1886, when he re- 
moved to Bolton, and i-e-eutered 
the same business, in company with 
C. P. and G. W. Stevens, and con- 
tinued for two and a half years, 
when he disposed of his interest to 
his partners and located at North 
Hyde Park, where he continued iu 
the lunil)er trade, adding a grist- 
mill. 

In Deceml)er, 1881, ]\Ir. Wedge 
married Hattie Harrington of 
Hyde Park; one child, a son, was 
born to them : he was killed by the 
cars at Bolton, when 12 years of 
age. 

IMr. Wedge served in Canada as 
a school commissioner, and since 
locating at Hyde Park has served 
five years as a selectman. ■ 

LILLE Y, Henry J., was born in 
Hyde Park, May 25, 1837; a son of 
Luther and INlary (Kinney) Lilley. 
He was educated in the schools of 
Hyde Park aiul iMorristown. 

Luthei- Lilley, father of Henry 
J., was born in Calais, in 1800. He 
was a son of Captain Joshua 



Lilley, who was 
settlers of that 
ther) moved to 



one of the first 
town. He (Lu- 
Plainfield about 



In 1860 Henry J. Lilley com- 
menced the manufacture of the 
now famous "Lilley" farm wag- 
ons, which have long been recog- 
nized as the acme of farm wagons. 
He continued as a manufacturer 
until 1902. In 1862 Mr. Lilley 
engaged in the vuidertaking busi- 
ness, and has continued in this line 
until the present time. Carroll 
Lilley. the eldest son. was asso- 
ciated with his father initil his la- 
mented death in 1892. Fred Lil- 




the year 1830, where he remained 
only a few years. From Plain- 
field he moved to Hyde Park, in 
the vear 1835. 



Henky J. Lilley. 

ley, a younger brother, was later 
admitted to the business. 

In 1861 "Sir. Lilley married An- 
nette V. Bailey of IMoretown; 
seven children were born of this 
union : Carroll, Preston, Fred, Er- 
win, Anna, Bert and Benjamin ; 
Carroll, Preston and Bert are de- 
ceased. 

]Mr. Lilley has held the office of 
constable, collector, lister, grand 
juror, and in 1902 represented 



32 



SUCCESSFUL VKRMONTKRS. 



Hyde Park in the General 
Assembly. 

ALLEN, George B., was born at 
Johnson, May 13, 186-4, a son of 
Leonard F. and Cynthia B. (Bas- 
sett) Allen. He came with his 
parents to Hyde Park when a year 
old; he received his education in 
the public schools and at the La- 



there to the present time. He has 
liandled all the varions farm ma- 
chines and gasoline engines of the 
International Farm Machinery 
Company and probably sells more 
machines than any other man in 
Lamoille County. 

Politically, Mi-. Allen is a Re- 
pu])lican and he has held the offices 




George B. Allen. 



moille Central Academy. After 
completing his education he ac- 
cepted a position as a traveling 
salesman with C. E. Webb & Co. of 
Jackson, ^lichigan, selling drugs, 
and remained with them for two 
years. He then located at North 
Hyde Park and opened his feed 
and grain store and has continued 



of lister, justice of the peace, school 
director, selectman and is, and has 
been for the past five years, su- 
perintendent of schools and is now 
constable. In 1898 he was chosen 
to represent Hyde Park in the Gen- 
eral Assembly of Vermont and was 
an important member of the com- 
mittee on claims. 



LA:\rf)rLLE oorNTV 



33 



Mr. Allen is a member of the 
Odd Fellows, Modern Woodmen 
and the Masonic Fraternity. lie 
was united in marriage, Febrnary 
3, 1890, to Lona Mower of Eden, 
a niece of Hon. Leslie M. Shaw, 
secretary of the treasnry in Presi- 
dent Roosevelt's cabinet. Two 



interest in anything that is of a 
pnblic nature that will benefit his 
town. 

GODDARD, Amandus LeRoy, a 
son of Anthony and Eunice (Al- 
ger) Goddard, was born in West 
Berkshire, December 12, 18-47. He 
was educated in the public schools 



#-^ 




^^_r^ 0^^m:m 


( 


M ^v^^^^^H 


k 


'^^^^H^^^E^ H^H 






% 



Amandus L. Goddard. 



children have come to bless this 
union : Leo ]\Iower, born Febru- 
ary 8, 1891, and Nathan Leonard, 
born October 17, 1894. 

Mr. Allen is a popular, ener- 
getic and hustling citizen, who en- 
joys a large circle of friends and 
is one who has always taken a lively 

A-4 



of his native town, Franklin Acad- 
emy and the Green Mountain In- 
stitute, South Woodstock. After 
completing his education Mr. God- 
dard entered the employ of his 
father, who owned and operated a 
tannery at St. Armand, Quebec. 
He learned the tanner's and cur- 



34 



SUCCESSFUL VERMONT ERS. 



I'ier's trade and continued at that 
work until 1883, when he located 
at Hyde Park and entered the em- 
ploy of former Governor Carroll S. 
Page. The following- year he was 
made foreman of the hide depart- 
ment, which i'esi)onsili]e position he 
has continued to hold to the pres- 
ent time. 

January 1, 1866, Mr. Goddard 
"was united in marriage to Kebecca 
Burr ^Marvin of Faii-field. Four 
children have been born to tlieui : 
Charles C, born January 11. 
1867 ; Emeroy H., born November 
13, 1870; Anthony :\I., born :\lav 
26, 1873 ; Alice L.', born February 
28, 1879. Charles C. marri( d 
Stella, daughter of the late George 
L. Waterman ; Emeroy II. married 
T. Hull Page (now deceased), son 
of former Governor Carroll S. 
Page; two sons have been boi-n to 
them: Carroll Goddard and Proc- 
tor Hull. Dr. Anthony M. mar- 
ried Grace Darling of Albany : 
they have three children: Glendon 
Alice and Wendell. Alice married 
Joseph Young, and has one child : 
Charles. Amandus L. Goddard is 
a member of Steiling Lodge, No. 
44, I. O. 0. F.. and IMount Verncm 
Lodge of Morrisville, A. F. & A. jNI. 

LEWIS, L. Halsey. a native of 
Orange County, New York, a son 
of David and Julia (Smith) Lewis, 
was born December 2, 1853 ; re- 
ceived his education in the com- 
mon schools of New York City and 
^Michigan. He early decided on a 
journalistic career, learned the 
printer's trade at Middletown, 
New York, and worked in New- 
burg and Peekskill, New York. 

In 1878 Mr. Lewis came to 
Hyde Park and for the next 
three years was connected with the 
Lamoille News. In 1881 the Ver- 
mont Citizen and Lamoille News 



were consolidated, and from that 
time to the present he has been the 
head of the News and Citizen. 

The paper is closely identified 
with the various public and busi- 
ness interests of Lamoille County 
and is the special exponent of the 
same, presenting a weekly review 
of current events in all of the 
towns in a fresh, interesting and 
reliable manner. 




L. Halsey Lewis. 

The News and Citizen is un- 
swerving in its advocacy of Eepub- 
lican principles, and mider its 
present management its influence 
is strongly felt throughout the 
state. 

!Mr. Lewis is a member of Mount 
Vernon Lodge, A. F. & A. M., 
Tucker Chapter, R. A. ]M. of Mor- 
risville, Burlington Commandery, 
Knights Templar, of Burlington, 
Mount Sinai Temple, A. A. O. N. 
M. S. of Montpelier, Sterling 
Lodge, I. 0. 0. F., Hvde Park, and 



LAMOILLE COUNTY 



35 



Rathbone Lodge, K. of P., Mor- 
risville. 

He was married, in 1880, to 
Alice D. Page, a daughter of the 
late Hon. Russell S. Page, and a 
sister of former Governor Carroll 
S. Page. Mr. Lewis' father was 
killed in the Civil War, leaving 
him at the age of eight years to 
"paddle his own canoe," which he 
has done with a marked degree of 
success. 



1857, and adopted the name, La- 
moille Central Academy. A sys- 
tem of by-laws was enacted and a 
board of 12 trustees elected, a i)art 
of whom were residents of Stowe 
and Morristown. 

H. Henry Powers was the tirst 
principal and the first term com- 
menced in September, 1857. There 
were four terms taught, the first 
year ending November 17, 1858. 
For about fifteen years the acad- 




Lamoille Centkal Academy. 



Mr. Lewis ranks among the old- 
est editoi's in years of service in 
the state. 

LAMOILLE Central Academy. 
In the summer of 1857 24 of the 
then principal inhabitants of Hyde 
Park village and immediate vicin- 
ity, who had children to educate, 
formed an association under the 
statute, to have the powers of a 
corporation, and held the first meet- 
ing in the court house, August 14, 



emy was supported by tuitions and 
assessments upon members of the 
corpoi-ation, when tuitions were in- 
sufficient, and afterwards the acad- 
emy was supported by the town 
and tuitions are now free to every 
scholar in town. 

Among its former teachers, some 
of whom have become prominent in 
other walks of life, we name Hon. 
H. II. Powers, Ilollis S. Wilson, 
Es(j., now a prominent attorney at 



36 



SUCCESSFUL VERMONTKRS. 



The Dalles, Oregon, Henry M. 
IMcFai-land, Esq., Hon. Eoger W. 
Hiilburd, Hon. John W. Redmond 
of Newport, Professor H. B. Chit- 
tenden and M. S. Vilas, Esq., of 
Bnrliniiton and E. L. Ingalls, at 
present the snperintendent of the 
Industrial School at Vergennes. 

In 1897 the school outgrew its old 
quarters over the town hall and the 
town built that year a new five- 
room school building, at the ex- 
pense of $10,000. The new build- 
ing is situated on what is known 
as the Keeler Hat, with a splendid 
campus of about four acres, over- 
looking the valley of the Lamoille. 
The location is an ideal one for an 
institution of learning. 

The academy, which is now also 
a graded school, has four courses 
of study: Classical, Latin-Scien- 
tific, English and the Normal 
Course. The school fits for college 
and as a rule for many years has 
furnished its share of students to 
the LTniversity of Vermont, to 
which institution the academy has 
always been loyal. 

The present corps of teachers is 
made up as follows : Professor C. E. 
Junkins. principal ; ]\Irs. Grace ^I. 
Stevens, preceptress; Miss INlary 
INIaurice and IMisses Rose and Win- 
nie Rooney, assistants. 

JUNKINS, C. Edson, a son of 
Charles W. and Annie E. (Meln- 
tire) Junkins, was born at York 
Corner, York County, Maine, Jan- 
nary 23, 1878. He was edu- 
cated in the public and high 
schools of his native town, grad- 
uated from the South Berwick 
Academy, class of 1898, taught 
school in the towns of York and 
Eliot for three years and in 1901 
entered Bates College at Lewiston, 
]\Iaine, and Graduated in the class 
of 1905 with the degree of A. B., 



and received chiss honors in ath- 
letics and debate. During his col- 
lege course Mr. Junkins taught 
school at Hancock, New Hamp- 
shire. 

September 6. 1905, he came to 
Hyde Park as principal of Lamoille 
Central Academy. He is a care- 
ful, painstaking and industrious 
teacher, who takes a deep interest 
in educational matters and has de- 
veloped a singulai' aptitude for his 




C. Edson Juxkins. 

chosen profession, to which lie has 
brought a genuine and lasting 
enthusiasm. 

SAWYER, CoLONEi. Edward B., 
was born in Hyde Park, April 16, 
1828. a son of Joshua and iNIary 
(Keeler) Sawyer. Was educated 
in the public schools of his native 
town : June, 1849, was admitted 
to the bar, and in December of that 
year was appointed clerk of the 
court: served two years, was re- 
appointed in 1852; resigned in 



LA^SrOILLE COUNTY 



37 



1861 to enter the ai'iiiy: raised 
Company D, Fifth Vermont In- 
fantry ; raised Company I, Cav- 
ahy, of which he was unanimonsly 
elected captain ; raised the Sixth 
S(inadron Vermont Cavalry ; was 
promoted to major, April 25, 1862, 
colonel, September 16, 1862, and 
resigned April 28, 1861. lie was a 
member of the convention that 
formed the Eepublican party in 
Vermont, a membei' of the iiational 



emy. In 1880 Mr. Robbins located 
in Eden and took up farming. By 
a lot of hard work and an unusual 
amount of time being devoted to 
his own business, Mr. Robbins has 
gained a host of warm personal 
friends and a comfortable property. 
In 1892 Mr. Robbins built the 
always popular Hotel Johnson and 
for eight years was a most genial 
landlord. August 15, 1905, he 
bought Hotel Phoenix. For 20 




Hotel Phcenix. 



convention of 1860, was an advo- 
cate of the nomination of Lincoln, 
and attended both his inaugura- 
tions. Since the war. Colonel 
Sawyer has devoted himself 
largely to newspaper work and the 
practice of the law. 

ROBBIXS, Augustus D., was 
born in Craftsbury, July 19, 1850, 
a son of Water num A. and Julia 
(Eldredge) Robbins. He attended 
the district school and completed 
his education at Craftsbury Acad- 



years he has been a deputy sheriff 
and for four years sheriff of the 
county. 

December 22, 1876, Mr. Robbins 
made a most fortunate and happy 
contract by which he was united 
in marriage to Delia M. Fulton, a 
lady of rare worth, kindly disposi- 
tion and splendid .judgment, to 
whose painstaking care much t)f 
the comfort and homelikeness of 
Hotel Phcenix is due. 



38 



succp:ssful vermonteks. 



HOTEL Phoenix. Not the 
least of the many advantages of 
the village and town of Hyde Park 
is the possession of an elegant, 
eonnnodious, well-kept hotel. A 
good hotel emphasizes and gives 
full effect to many other local at- 
tractions, among which we may 
mention the semi-annual sessions 
of the county court. 

Hotel Phoenix was built in 1891 
by a stock company, at an expense 




Augustus D. Roubins. 

of about $13,000, and is a credit to 
its builders and the town. It has 
a frontage of 75 feet and is a model 
of architecture. The interior is 
conveniently arranged and com- 
plete in every appointment. The 
house is heated throughout with 
steam and the cozy fireplace in the 
office throws off a cheerful glow. 
An abundant supply of cold 
spring water, electric lights, call 
bells, hot and cold baths, well-fur- 
nished and pleasant rooms for the 



accommodation of 50 guests, are 
provided. There is a large and 
attractive dancing hall on the sec- 
ond floor. A first-class barber 
shop and good livery are connected. 

The dining room is large, cozy, 
and wxll lighted, and the table ser- 
vice is unsurpassed. After 10 
years Landlord Eol)bins certainly 
knows how to put up a menu 
suited to the gastronomical appa- 
ratus of the commercial traveler. 
The humblest traveler is received 
and entertained with that kindly 
courtesy so natural to Mr. Rob- 
bins, and every want of the guests 
is promptly anticipated and 
supplied. 

CAaiPBELL, Late Calvin. His- 
tory tells us that about 1828 Rob- 
ert Campbell, a native of Bradford, 
New Hampshire, came and settled 
near Centerville on the place now 
occupied by his grandson, Oscar N. 
Campbell. 

Calvin Campbell, son of Robert 
and Judith, was born in Bradford, 
New Hampshire, February 27, 
1823, and came with his father to 
Hyde Park. He married for his 
first wife, ]\Iary Jane Herrick, who 
died childless. He then married 
Lucy A. Herrick, a sister of his 
first Avife, who bore him seven chil- 
dren: Cora L., deceased; Flora A. 
(Mrs. H. H. Hyde of Barton) ; 
Charles H., who resides at Barre; 
Arthur E., also residing at Barre; 
Everett H., a successful merchant 
at Hardwick ; Oscar N., a merchant 
at Centerville, Hyde Park; and 
Herman L., now of Barre. A 
peculiar fact is that the five sons 
are all affiliated with the Knights 
of Pythias, Arthur E. and Oscar N. 
both being past chancellors. 

In 1849 Calvin Campbell, in 
company with his brother, Jackson 
Campbell, started for California 



LAMOILLE COUNTY. 



39 



and became two of tlie now noted 
"forty-niners." They were gone 
abont a year, but with all the delay 
and hardship incident to a trans- 
continental trip in those pioneer 
days, Calvin Campbell returned 
with sufficient virgin gold to have 
$1,500 minted into $20 gold pieces 



years. For a considerable time 
Mr. Campbell, in company with 
his brother, Robert, conducted an 
extensive saw and gristmill busi- 
ness, but the flood of July 2, 1880, 
swept the mill away and the busi- 
ness was not resumed. In 1882 he 
built the store where his son, Oscar 




Calvin Campbell. 



upon his arrival at New York. 
Upon his arrival home he settled 
on his farm near Centerville and 
built a house, remaining there until 
1865, when he moved to Center- 
ville, buying of the Luther Camp- 
bell estate the house he owned at 
the time of his death. Here he 
conducted a general store for many 



N., is now located. Here he con- 
tinued a careful, energetic and suc- 
cessful mercantile career until Jan- 
uary, 1905, when he retired, dis- 
posing of his business to his son. 

Calvin Campbell was a sturdy 
old school gentleman, a man of the 
highest ideals, who had no patience 
with intrigue or subterfuge. He 



40 



SUCCESSFUL VEKMONTKIJS. 



said what he meant and desired 
that others do likewise. He died 
on his eighty-second birthday, Feb- 
ruary 27, 1905. 

Oscar N. Campbell, son of Cal- 
vin, was born January 24, 1874. 
He married, March 1, 1905, Demis 
M. Town. A sad and peculiar in- 
cident occurred that unites these 
two families in a strong tie of sym- 
pathy. Samuel Town, father of 
Demis M., died February 27, 1905, 
the same day as Calvin Campbell, 
and on the day of the funeral the 
families were united by the mar- 
riage of Oscar N., son of Calvin, 
and Demis M., daughter of Samuel. 

WHITCOMB, Albert M., a 
grandson of Simeon Whiteomb, a 
native of the Province of Quebec, 
was born in 1781, married Betsey 
Youngman and came to IMorris- 
town about 1820. He resided in 
that town for a few years and re- 
moved to Hyde Park, where he 
died, March 31, 1861. He had 
three sons and three daughters, who 
grew to maturity. One of the 
sons, Sylvester G., was born in St. 
Armand, Province of Quebec, Feb- 
ruary 12, 1815. He was educated 
in the public schools of his time 
and married Harriet C, a daugh- 
ter of Lyman and Betsey (Gray) 
Fisher, who was born at Hyde 
Park, April 26, 1823. Ten chil- 
dren were born to them : Mary E., 
Lyman L., Solon S., Albert M., 
Charles E., Willard M., Hattie A., 
and three others who died in 
infancy. 

Sylvester G. Whiteomb located 
in Hyde Park with his father, be- 
came a successful farmer and fol- 
lowed that occupation until his 
death, which occurred December 
26, 1882. He was a sturdy, sub- 
stantial and highly-esteemed citi- 
zen. Harriet C, his wife, died at 



Claremont, New Hampshire, Octo- 
ber 13, 1904, at the age of 81 
years. 

Albert ]\I. Whiteomb was born, 
December 7, 1848, at Hyde Park; 
was educated in the public schools, 
and being possessed of sound mind 
and a good physique he early de- 
cided to live close to nature and 
has always followed farming along 
progressive and successful lines 
and now owns one of the best up- 
land farms of 200 acres in Lamoille 
County, carrying 30 cows, 125 
sheep and 10 head of horses and 
young stock. 

Mr. Whiteomb married, Janu- 
ary 1, 1871, Silveria E., a daughter 
of David B. and Lucinda (Luce) 
Keed. She was born, July 19, 
1849, at Morristown. To this 
happy union there were born nine 
childi-en : Ethel S., December 14, 
1871; Herbert M., July 27, 1874; 
Mabel E., September 4, 1875 ; My- 
ron J., January 1, 1878 ; Bessie F., 
May 8, 1880 ; Harold J., February 
10, 1883; Beulah V., August 3, 
1884; Rossie L. and Flossie L., 
December 8, 1889. 

Harold J. died September 23, 
1883 ; Rossie L. died September 23, 
1890, and Silveria E. Whiteomb 
died January 20, 1892. 

Albert JNI. Whitcoml) married, 
May 2, 1897, for his second wife, 
Luc3^ A., daughter of John P. and 
Mary (Brown) Burbank. She was 
born in Warren, New Plampshire, 
August 22, 1875. To Mr. and Mi-s. 
Whiteomb there have been born 
three children : Albert S., Novem- 
ber 14, 1899; ^larv H., February 
19, 1900; Helen E., October 11, 
1904. 

Mr. Whiteomb has always en- 
joyed the entire confidence of his 
townsmen. He has been frequently 
selected to administer estates and 





K 3 « t. t- 
t, J o a, >, 

S PQ fa W S 



CC O ^ <N CO 



H tL( 



a ::: " - 



< W ^ ffl 



s <j s a 



42 



SUCCESSFUL YERMONTERS. 



as a guardian for minors, and has 
served Hyde Park as a lister for 
17 years, selectman several years 
and as auditor two years. In all 
these positions of trust and confi- 
dence he has proved shrewd, capa- 
ble and honest and is today re- 
garded as an ideal citizen, whose 
deepest interest is in the building 
and bettering of his town and 
county. 

MORRISTOWN. 

Population, Census of 1900, 2,583. 

The early history of ]\Iorristown 
contains few features of thrilling 
and distinctive interest as the town 
was not one of the earliest settled 
of this section. The charter was 
granted in 1780, to Moses Morse 
and 64 associates, but the settle- 
ment in 1790- '91, was contempo- 
raneous with the birth of the state. 

The first permanent settler, Ja- 
cob AValker, erected a rough log 
house, roofed with bark, in the 
sunnner of 1790. In the spring of 
1791, with his bride. Phillipa 
Story, his brother, William, his 
wife and two children, and two 
hired men, he returned to the scene 
of his former labors to build a 
home in the primeval wilderness. 

The winter was spent in their 
former home. Comfort Olds, with 
his wife and two children, shai'ed 
the hospitality of the Walkers dur- 
ing the summer of 1792, and alone 
passed the winter of 1792- '93 in 
the rude cabin. In the spring of 
1793 Jacob Walker and his wife 
returned to their cabin and their 
second child, Lemira Walker, was 
the first child born in town. 

The town was organized in 
March, 1796, with Comfort Olds as 
town clerk, and Nathaniel Goodell, 
Crispus Shaw and Elisha Board- 
man, selectmen. The latter was a 



leading spirit in town, the first ho- 
tel keeper, the first representative, 
and several years town clerk. His 
hotel served for the town house. 
He was also justice of the peace 
and tied most of the bridal knots 
of the period. 

In 1815 this little community 
was able to erect a town house, a 
rough board, one-story structure, 
which was the place of public wor- 
ship until the brick church was 
erected at the Corners in 1823, af- 
ter which for many years the Con- 
gregational ists and Baptists occu- 
pied this church on alternate 
Sabbaths. 

Doctor Ralph Tinker, the first 
physician, settled at the old Cen- 
ter in 1802, and Deacon Walker 
erected a sawmill and oil mill 
there on Cook's brook, expecting 
to make that point the town's 
business center. Doctor James 
Tinker settled at the Corners in 
1809, and in a few years Joseph 
Sears opened a tavern, Charles 
]\leigs a law office, John Cole set up 
a tannery, Robert Kimball started 
a dry goods store, Giles Rood built 
a sawmill, and the little village 
easily led the procession. But the 
Corners was not long to enjoy the 
primacy in town affairs. The open- 
ing up of the Laport road direct 
from Stowe to Morrisville, and the 
settlement on the Randolph road, 
gave a preponderating voting and 
business strength to jNIorrisville, 
which in 1838 permanently secured 
the town clerk's office. Two years 
later the mail route from Water- 
bury to Hyde Park via the Cor- 
ners, was changed to run by way of 
Morrisville. 

The record of the First Baptist 
church, organized in 1811, shows 
that Jacob Walker and John Hub- 
bard were the first deacons, and 



LAMOILLE COUNTY. 



43 



also turns on a ray of side light 
that illuminates the times and 
photographs its characters. We 
have the excellent authority of 
Honorable 11. Henry Powers for 
the fact that the church, one Sat- 
urday in each month, sat in solemn 
inquisition and stern judgment 
"upon all matters affecting the 
members, of whatever kind or char- 



to whatever judgment was imposed 
and nearly every member of the 
church, minister and all, were at 
some time brought ])efoi'e it upon 
accusation of misdoings." 

J. C. Noyes' opened a grocery 
store at Morrisville in 1815, and 
David P. Noyes a general store 
soon afterwards. The transforma- 
tion from the materials and meth- 




People's Academy and Morrisville Graded School. 



acter. " "Having bedbugs in the 
house, getting drunk on special oc- 
casions, gossiping by the ladies, 
voting taxes upon unwilling tax- 
payers, etc., were subjects that the 
church undertook to regulate." 
And what is more remarkable, 
"every member of the church rec- 
ognized the jurisdiction over these 
matters and gracefully submitted 



ods of the early traders to the ex- 
tensive and well-assorted stocks of 
today is something wonderful. 
Liquid refreshments were then in 
great demand, and were openly 
sold, both retail and in quantity, 
by all traders, un vexed by statutes 
and licenses. It took a pound of 
butter to buy a pound of nails and 
calico was 50 cents per yard. The 



44 



srCCESt^FUL VERMONTERS. 



early doctors were able and consci- 
entious men, as a rule, and exerted 
an important social as well as pro- 
fessional influence. 

The earliest lawyers were 



Poland, Charles Robinson and 
Thomas Gleed. 

Morrisville has always contained 
a strong- bar and an unusual num- 
ber of law stud(Mits have read here 




Charles Meigs at the Corners and 
George M. Mason at ]\Iorrisville. 
The latter was followed succes- 
sively by S. A. Willard, Levi P. 
Vilas, E. L. Slayo, the late Judge 



M'ho have attained distinction in 
the profession and in politics, 
among others, Chief Justice Uixon 
of Wrsconsin, ex-Governor Click of 
Kansas, Levi Underwood, Hon. 



LAMOILLE COUNTY. 



45 



L. B. Vilas, ami the eminent local 
attorneys. 

It is interesting to glance at the 
horizon of ]\Iorristown in 1840, 
throngh the field glass of Zadock 
Thompson, as this date is the half- 
way station of its progress. The 
Gazetteer gives four physicians, 
two attorneys, ten sawmills, two 
gristmills, two tanneries, two card- 
ing machines, one woolen factory, 
four stores and two taverns. Pop- 
ulation, 1,502. 

The population of the town has 
doubled, the increase being mainly 
during the last two decades. 

Morristown is the leading and 
central town in the beautiful La- 
moille Valley. Nature has here 
allotted the bounteous gifts of a 
quick, easy, fertile soil, bracing 
mountain air, excellent water and 
water power, and charming scen- 
ery. The location here of the 
People's Academy soon after 1840, 
marks distinctly an advance step 
and neutralized other causes which 
tended toward retrogression. This 
was also an era of church ])uilding. 

In connnon with other Vermont 
towns, this was depleted in pop- 
ulation by the California gold 
fever of 1849, the subsequent tide 
of western emigration, the sharp 
competition of broad, fertile west- 
ern acres, and by the loss of some 
of its choicest spirits on southern 
battlefields. In 1870- '72 the pro- 
jection and building of the then 
Portland & Ogdensluirg Railroad 
sent an electric thrill through the 
town, and aroused a sense of its 
latent resources. Portland Street 
was laid out and many new build- 
ings erected : INForrisville became 
the central distributing point and 
restaurant station on this line of 
i-ailroad, being midway from Bur- 
lington or S wanton to St. Johns- 



bury, also the most convenient rail- 
road point to the grandest scenery 
of the Green Mountains. 

The village crowns a broad, 
handsome plateau, and is sur- 
rounded by a glorious ampitheatre 
of hills and mountains. Off to the 
southeast the "Chin" of Mount 
Mansfield is just visible resting on 
the shoulder of old Sterling, while 
in the near background towers the 
rock-ribbed form of Mount Elmore, 
and just beyond is beautiful Lake 
Elmore, a liquid gem of the hills, 
set in the emerald of field and 
forest. 

From the building of the rail- 
road the career of village improve- 
ment set in. Centennial block, a 
magnificent structure, and other 
fine buildings, were erected, the 
fibre board industry, the tannery, 
the granite sheds, the machine shop 
and foundry were secured and es- 
tablished, and the village Avas vocal 
with the myriad-voiced hum of 
industry. 

The best products of Morristown 
are her men and women ; her 
proudest boast the ability, intelli- 
gence and character of her citizen- 
shi]i. Thanks to her homes, her 
institutions, her academy and her 
churches, there have come forth 
here for every emergency men of 
full stature, sound scholarship, lib- 
eral spirit and proved integrity, 
whose influence has been potent 
and pervasive in refining, crys- 
tallizing and uplifting public 
sentiment. 

SHAW, Hon. Leslie M., of 
Iowa, was born in IMorristown, La- 
moille County, November 2, 1848. 
When four years of age his people 
moved to Stowe, where he received 
a common-school education, with a 
few terms in the village high school 
and in People's Academy at jNIor- 



46 



SUCCESSFUL VERMONTEES. 



risville. Wheu 21 years of age he 
went to Iowa, graduated from Cor- 
nell College in 1874, and from the 
Iowa College of Law in 1876. hav- 
ing earned the means with which to 
educate himself. After gradua- 
tion he located in Denison, the 
county seat of Crawford County, 
Iowa, and engaged in the practice 
of law. He was led by the de- 
mands of the community into the 
negotiation of farm loans, and 
from that into general banking at 
Denison. at Manilla and at Char- 
ter Oak in the same county. 
"While keeping the practice of law 
in the foreground, he was thus kept 
in touch with financial matters, 
both East and West. Until 1896 
he took no active part in politics, 
excepting in national campaigns, 
when he frequently made speeches 
in defense of the principles of the 
Republican party, in which he was 
a firm believer. In 1896, at the 
request of the state central com- 
mittee, he placed his entire time at 
its disposal. This led to his nom- 
ination for governor and election 
in 1897. and his reelection in 1899. 
in which he doubled his previous 
plurality and quadrupled his pre- 
%ious majority. He peremptorily 
declined a third term and planned 
to return to his law practice and 
business interests. A few days be- 
fore the close of his term, however, 
without solicitation or suggestion 
from himself or friends, he was 
tendered the position of secretary 
of the treasury and assumed the 
duties of the office on Februarv 1, 
1902. 

POWERS. Hon. H. Henry.— 
By permission, the sketch of Judge 
Powers is. Avith some amendments 
and additions, taken from the 
"Men of Vermont." 

Horace Henry, son of Horace 



and Love E. (Gilman) Powers, was 
born May 29, 1835, at ]Morristown, 
a descendant of Walter Powers, 
who emigrated to this country in 
the early part of the seventeenth 
century. He prepared for his 
college course by study in the Peo- 
ple's Academy at ]\Iorrisville. en- 
tered the University of Vermont, 
and graduated therefrom in 1855. 

Two years immediately following 
his graduation were passed in 
teaching school at Huntingdon, 
Canada, and at Hyde Park. Dur- 
ing this period he began the study 
of law under the direction of 
Thomas Gleed of ^lorristown and 
subsequentlv continued under that 
of Child &"Ferrin at Hyde Park. 
Admitted to the bar of Lamoille 
County in 1858, he settled in Hyde 
Park and there practiced his pro- 
fession until ]\Iarch. 1862. He 
then formed a law partnership with 
Philip K. Gleed at ]\Iorrisville and 
continued with him until Decem- 
ber, 1874, when he was elected to 
the bench of the Supreme Court. 

Throughout the whole of these 
years the firm enjoyed a large and 
comparatively lucrative practice 
in the Counties of Lamoille, Or- 
leans, Caledonia and Franklin. 
His professional standing was fully 
ecpial to that of the best in North- 
ern Vermont. Independently of 
his high judicial position. Judge 
Powers has worthily and satisfac- 
torily filled many other public of- 
fices. He represented Hyde Park 
in the Vermont Legislature of 
1858 and had the distinction of be- 
ing the youngest member of the 
House. 

In the session of 1872 he repre- 
sented Lamoille County in the Sen- 
ate, .served on the judiciary com- 
mittee and officiated as chairman of 
the committee on railroads. In the 




H. Henry Powers. 



48 



SUCCESSFUL VEKMONTEKS. 



years of 1861-'62, he was state's 
attorney for Lamoille County. In 
1869 he was a member of the last 
council of censors, and in 1870 
made his influence powerfully felt 
in the State Constitutional Con- 
vention, which effected the change 
from annual to biennial sessions of 
the Legislature. He acted as chair- 
man in committee of the whole. 

Judge Powers was married in 
1858 to Caroline E., daughter of 
V. "W. and Adeline Waterman of 
Morristown. Their two children 
are Carrie L. and George M. 
Powers. 

Judge Powers has been promi- 
nently identified with the banking 
interests of this section, 25 years 
as a director of the Lamoille 
County National Bank, also as a 
director of the ^Merchant 's National 
Bank of St. Johnsbury several 
years, and of the Union Savings 
Bank and Trust Company of Mor- 
risville since its organization. He 
has often been appointed adminis- 
trator of estates, and as executor 
has had the principal charge of the 
large Judevine estate, a very com- 
plicated and difficult trust, which 
he has discharged with signal 
ability. 

He has always found time to 
take an active and conspicuous 
part in the local interests of his 
native town. In 1874 he repre- 
sented Morristown, was chosen 
speaker, and received his first 
election to the bench, which posi- 
tion he filled with distinction until 
his election in 1890 to the fifty- 
second Congress from the first Ver- 
mont district. In Congress his 
high rank is attested not only in 
debate, but l\v conspicuous posi- 
tion on the most important 
committees. 

He served on the judiciary com- 



mittee in the fifty-second and fifty- 
third Congresses, and as chairman 
of the committee on Pacific Eail- 
roads in the fifty-fourth and fifty- 
fifth Congresses. He reported and 
favorably advocated a very impor- 
tant bill, which attracted wide at- 
tention, and met with strong oppo- 
sition, for the refunding and ex- 
tension of the liabilities of the Pa- 
cific Railroads. In 1892 Judge 
Powers was chairman of the Ver- 
mont delegation at the Republican 
National Convention at ^linneapo- 
lis. A forceful and original per- 
sonality, of wide experience and 
ripe scholarship, naturally liberal 
and optimistic in his religious and 
political views. Judge Powers, as 
a lawyer, legislator, or jurist, has 
always commanded the respect and 
admiration of his fellow citizens. 

Judge Powers was unanimously 
nominated to represent this dis- 
trict in the fifty-sixth Congress. 
This was his fifth term in that 
body. 

POWERS. Hon. Ge()R(;e :\r., son 
of Hon. II. Henry and Caroline E. 
(Waterman) Powers, was born in 
Hyde Park, December 19, 1861. 
He was educated in the public 
schools and graduated from the 
People's Academy, ]Morrisville, in 
the class of 1879, and from the 
ITniversity of Vermont, class of 

1883. He then read law with 
Hon. Philip K. deed of Morris- 
ville, and was admitted to the bar 
in 1886 and practiced his profes- 
sion continuously until June. 1904. 

He was chosen state's attorney 
for Lamoille County in 1888 and 
served two years. He served as 
messenger in the state Senate, 
1872, 1874 and 1876, assistant 
clerk, House of Representatives, 

1884, 1886 and 1888. secretary of 
the Senate, 1890, 1892, 1894, and 




A-5 



George M. Poavers, 



50 



SUCCESSFUL VERMONTERS. 



was chosen to represent Morristown 
in the General Assembly of 1896. 

In July, 1900, when Hon. Wen- 
dell P. Stafiford, then reporter of 
decisions of the Supreme Court, 
was promoted to the Supreme 
Court bench, Mr. Powers was ap- 
pointed to fill the vacancy, contin- 



F. Woodbury. They have three 
children : Horace Henry, born July 
18, 1895; Mildred Dorothy, born 
December 8, 1897; Elizabeth Lil- 
lian, born September 17, 1899. 

GLEED, Hon. Philip King of 
Morrisville, was one of the most 
distinguished lawyers of the state. 




Philii' K. Glekd. 



uing until 1901:, and as such edited 
the seventy-fourth and seventy- 
fifth volumes of Vermont Reports. 
June 7, 1904, he was appointed by 
Governor McCullough to be judge 
of the Supreme Court, which posi- 
tion he still occupies. 

April 19, 1893, Judge Powers 
was united in marriage to Gertrude 



He was a native of Canada, born 
in Granby, September 10, 1834. 
His parents were the Reverend 
John and Elizabeth (Prettyjohn) 
Gleed, his father being a native of 
Lyme Regis, Dorsetshire, England, 
and belonging to that class called 
Dissenters. 

Philip K. Gleed was the young- 



LAMOILLE COUNTY. 



51 



est of a large family of children. 
One sister survives him, who lives 
at the present time in Evanston, 
Illinois. His early life was one of 
toil and industry. He came in his 
youth to Morrisville, where his 
brother, Thomas Gleed, Avas a pros- 
perous lawyer, and there he became 
a student in People's Academy. 
He continued his education in Ba- 
kersfield Academy and Troy Con- 
ference Academy at Poultney, 
from which he was graduated with 
honor in 1855. He then engaged 
in teaching and various other oc- 
cupations, entering Union College, 
Schenectady, New York, graduat- 
ing in 1859. He had pursued the 
study of law during his college 
course, and in one year after his 
graduation was admitted to the bar 
and practiced law until his death 
in 1897. 

Mr. Gleed was called to many 
positions of honor and trust, all 
of which he filled with scrupu- 
lous integrity and conscientious- 
ness. He was state's attorney for 
Lamoille County in 1867- '68, again 
in 1880 and 1882, was elected to 
the Legislature, 1868- '69, was trus- 
tee of state reform school in 1869, 
assessor of internal revenue, 1870- 
'74, state senator and president 
pro tern, of the Senate in 1880- '81, 
and state commissioner of taxes in 
1890- '92. He was a member of the 
committee on revision of statutes 
in 1893- '94. He occupied many 
positions of trust in his town and 
was devoted to its best interests. 

Mr. Gleed was a liberal man, 
often assisting young men and 
women to obtain an education. 
Honest effort always appealed to 
him. He was superintendent of 
the Congregational Sunday School 
for 26 years, and on the occasion of 
the twenty-fifth anniversary re- 



ceived a gold headed cane from the 
members, which was always alluded 
to with the keenest pleasure. His 
tastes were simple and his habits 
studious. With his Bible and 
Shakespeare he often remarked 
that a man was well equipped. 

Mr. Gleed was twice married. 
His first wife was Ellen Fuller of 
Moira, New York. Two children 
were born of this union, both hav- 
ing died young. In May, 1885, he 
married Mrs. Henry Fleetwood of 
St. Johnsbury, whose son he 
adopted into his heart and during 
their association together for 12 
years, they were as brothers. 

Mr. Gleed died on June 29, 1897, 
after a five days' illness, of pneu- 
monia. At the time of his funeral 
all business was suspended and the 
entire community in mourning for 
a man beloved by all. The La- 
moille County bar testified to their 
respect to the deceased by attend- 
ing in a body, Judge Stafford of 
St. Johnsbury, pronouncing a 
warm eulogy. 

FLEETWOOD, Hon. Freder- 
ick Gleed, of IMorrisville, was born 
in St. Johnsbury, September 27, 
1869. His grandfather, Thomas 
Fleetwood, was an English gentle- 
man, who came to the United 
States on a pleasure voyage and 
who subsequently settled in Barnet. 
He then married and reared two 
sons, Thomas and Henry W. The 
last named married Miss Laura 
Kenney of St. Johnsbury. They 
were the parents of Frederick G. 

Frederick G. Fleetwood was pre- 
pared for college at St. .Johnsbury 
Academy; entered the University 
of Vermont in 1886, and in 1888 
he matriculated in Harvard Col- 
lege, from which he graduated in 
1891, just after attaining his ma- 
jority. In the same year h^ 




^A^^^-^^^M^Q^ ^^^e^^^WT^s^ 



LAMOILLE COUNTY. 



53 



entered the law office of his step- 
father, Hon. Philip K. Gleecl. Mr. 
Fleetwood was admitted to the bar 
in October, 189-1, and in the fol- 
lowing year he became the law 
partner of Mr. Gleed. This asso- 
ciation was maintained until the 
death of Mr. (Heed in 1897, when 
Mr. Fleetwood succeeded to the 



elected state's attorney for La- 
moille County. He was a presiden- 
tial elector in the second ]\IcKinley 
election, in 19(30, and was chosen 
messenger of that body to carry the 
electoral vote to AVashington. 

At the state election, on the first 
Tuesday of September, 1902, Mr. 
Fleetwood was elected secretary of 



■•'■'***. 




WiM.TAM S. Cheney. 



business of the firm, continuing in 
the same office. 

He was appointed clerk of the 
committee on the revision of the 
laws in 189-t. In 189(3 he was 
elected town clerk and treasurer of 
Morristown and was re-elected at 
the three succeeding elections. 

In 1896 ]\Ir. Fleetwood was 



state and was unanimously renom- 
inated by the Republican state con- 
vention of 1904 and re-elected at 
the state election. 

CHENEY, WujJAM S., son of 
Thomas and Sarah (Stevens) Che- 
ney, was born in Morristown, Au- 
gust 28', 1837. Thomas Cheney 
was a lifelong, prosperous and 



54 



StrCCESSFUL vermonters. 



liiglily respected farmer, and 
reared a family of seven children. 

William's boyhood and youth 
was passed amid the cares, the la- 
bors and the wholesome recrea- 
tions of the farm and in attend- 
ance at the district schools and 
People's Academy. 

He married, in 1865, JNIary E., 
daughter of S. L. and Lydia (Fer- 
rin) Gates of JNIorrisville, a de- 
scendant of one of the earliest fam- 
ilies of the town. He was engaged 
in farming for several years, but 
moved to jMorrisville some thirty 
years ago, where he has since re- 
sided. Possessed of active and 
versatile temperament and sound 
practical judgment, Mr. Cheney 
has entered heartily into the busi- 
ness and public activities of the 
\dllage and town. He has become 
widely known in this section as 
a dealer in real estate and a 
popular salesman of farm imple- 
ments and machinery, buggies, 
sleighs and harnesses. He has fre- 
quently been called to the discharge 
of town office, and served as lister 
nearly a decade. As a Repub- 
lican he represented ]\Iorristown in 
the Legislature in 1892, being 
elected by the largest majority 
that any representative from this 
town had received at that time. 
He served on the important com- 
mittee on elections. 

He has labored strenuously to 
promote the prosperity of Morris- 
ville, and is highly esteemed in 
every relation of life. 

William S. and Mary Gates Che- 
ney have two children : Thomas C, 
the well-known lawyer, and Wini- 
fred, who resides with her parents. 

CHENEY, Thomas Charles, a 
son of William S. and Mary E. 
(Gates) Cheney, was born in ^lor- 
ristown, October 10, 1868, edu- 



cated in the public schools of his 
native town, graduated from the 
People 's Academj', jMorrisville, 
class of 1886, and from the Univer- 
sity of Vermont, class of 1891. 
While in college Mr. Cheney be- 
came a member of the Vermont 
Alpha of Phi Delta Theta, one of 
the largest and most prominent col- 
lege fraternities in the world, in 
which he has always taken a very 
active interest. 

In the winter of 1892 Mr. Che- 
ney determined upon a legal career 
and entered the law office of Hon. 
George M. Powers and began the 
study of law. While thus en- 
gaged he formed a partnership 
with Mr. Powers in the fire insur- 
ance business, and now has the 
leading fire insurance agency in 
Lamoille County. In October, 

1895, Mr. Cheney was admitted to 
the bar, and practiced law with 
]\Ir. Powers under the firm name of 
Powers & Cheney, until June, 
1904, when ]\Ir. Powers was pro- 
moted to the Supreme Court bench. 

!Mr. Chenej' has a fine law li- 
brary and one of the best appointed 
law offices in Vermont ; he is a 
thorough and systematic student, 
and possesses a keen analysis 
which seizes and illuminates the 
salient points of his case; tireless 
energy and persistence in trial, 
united with a clear and original 
presentation of both the law and 
evidence, have won for him a lead- 
ing place at the state bar. 

He was chosen state's attorney 
for Lamoille County in 1902, and 
served two years. He was mes- 
senger in the secretary of state's 
office in 1892; second assistant 
clerk of the House of Representa- 
tives, 1894; first assistant clerk in 

1896, and clerk from 1898 to the 
present time. For five years he 



LAMOILLE COUNTY', 



has been a director in the Ver- 
mont Fire Insurance Company. A 
thorough Vermonter, an ideal cit- 
izen, a man of wide experience and 
almost limitless acquaintance, 
"Tom Cheney," as his warmest 
friends love to call him, has passed 
from a messenger boy, step by step. 



a deep interest in educational mat- 
ters and from 1897 to 1903, when 
he declined a re-election, he was 
chairman of the board of school di- 
rectors of Morristown, and it was 
largely through his etforts while he 
held that position, that the very 
substantial new graded school 




Thomas C. Chexev. 



and in each place has received a 
hearty "well done." 

Recognizing that many of the 
leading men of our state have won 
their high place through the clerk- 
ship of the House of Representa- 
tives, Mr. Cheney's friends hardly 
believe that in this he will prove 
an exception to the rule. 

Mr. Cheney has always taken 



was erected in Mor- 



biiildin^ 
risville. 

He is a member of Mount Ver- 
non Lodge, No. 8, A. F. & A. M., 
Tucker Chapter, No. 15, R. A. M. ; 
in the latter organization he has 
taken an active part, and for the 
past few years has been a leading 
official. 

January 15, 1896, Mr. Cheney 



56 



SUCCESSFUL VERMONTERS. 



was united in marriage to May L., 
youngest child of Hon. Moses W. 
and Almira 0. Terrill of Middle- 
town, Connecticut. 

BOYNTON, Hon. Ai Noaii, son 
of Noah and Abagail (Clifton) 
Boynton, was born in Amherst, 
New Hampshire, November 3, 1845. 



schooling, where he remained three 
years, when he was called home by 
the enlistment of his father in the 
Eighth Vermont Regiment, and 
for thi-ee years carried on the farm 
of ')() acres, a hard but wholesome 
experience, which developed the 
(nudities of self-reliance and ex- 




Ai N. Boynton. 



He was the oldest son of a family 
of 11 children. His parents were 
in straitened circumstances and the 
opportunities for education were 
very limited. 

The family moved to Vermont in 
1854. At the age of 13 he was 
bound out to a farmer in Walden 
for $36 a year and three months' 



ecutive ability. The next three 
years was devoted to work on 
farms, and one term of winter 
school, living at the "Belfry." All 
of his wages, up to the time of his 
majority, went to his father. 

At the age of 22 he married Per- 
melia, daughter of B. W. Camjjbell 
of Hyde Park. In March, 1868, 



LAMOILLE COUNTY. 



57 



he bought a sawmill in North Wol- 
cott and engaged successfully in 
the lumber business there for 35 
years, during the last 20 conduct- 
ing a large farm in connection 
therewith. In 1902 he sold the 
Wolcott property and removed to 
^[orrisville, where he has since re- 
sided. The Boyntons began house- 
keeping with a table, a half dozen 
chairs, and two beds, in a house 
18 feet square, containing two 
rooms. Their present home in 
Morrisville is liberally and ele- 
gantly furnished. 

Mr. Boynton has been a strenu- 
ous and successful business man. 
His mill at first contained an up- 
right saw with a capacity of 2,500 
feet of lumber per day. During 
the later years the mill turned out 
from half a million to a million 
feet annually. During his long 
residence in Wolcott his ability and 
judgment were recognized by his 
election as selectman 10 years, 16 
years as justice of the peace and 
other responsible town offices. He 
also assisted in the settlement of 
estates. In 1898, Mr. Boynton was 
elected to the Legislature, and 
served on the grand list commit- 
tee. In 1902 he was elected an as- 
sistant judge of Lamoille County. 
In April, 1905, Judge Boynton was 
elected chairman of the board of 
trustees of Morrisville, and under 
his direction during the past year 
more than five miles of concrete 
has been laid in the streets 
and other important improvements 
have been made. 

Mr. and Mrs. Boynton buried 
their only child, Effie, in 1887. 

For 20 years Mr. Boynton has 
been a member of Mineral Lodge, 
No. 93, of Wolcott, and is an 
esteemed member of Lamoille 
Grange, where he has held the 



office of master. He has won and 
retained to an unusual degree the 
esteem and confidence of his asso- 
ciates, by his sterling worth, good 
judgment and perseverance. 

DOTY, Colonel George W., is 
one of the most original and inter- 
esting personalities of the town, an 
excellent type of the soldier citizen 
of Vermont. He was born at 
Montpelier, February 16, 1838, but 
in infancy was adopted by 0. L. 




Geokge W. Doty. 

Metcalf, a farmer of JMorristown. 
]\Tr. Doty was educated in the com- 
mon schools and the People's Acad- 
emy. At 19 years of age, inspired 
by the spirit of the times, he went 
to the Territory of Kansas and 
joined a colony of 40 young men 
from Vermont, who started the set- 
tlement of Mapleton, on the Little 
Osage River, near the Missouri line. 
As soon as the township was organ- 
ized he was elected first constable, 



58 



SUCCESSFUL VERMONTERS. 



and became a leading spirit in the 
exciting scenes of that remarkable 
period. He joined the Free Soil 
forces of Captain Bain and Colonel 
jMontgomery, and was also a mem- 
ber of the force of "Colonel Jim 
Lane ' ' that dispersed the bogus Le- 
compton Legislature. Later, as a 
Free State man, he was driven out 
of Columbus, ^Missouri, at mid- 
night, in peril of his life. 

Keturning to his Vermont home 
in 1860, he was the first man to en- 
list from Lamoille County in the 
"War for the Union. In conjunc- 
tion with U. A. Woodbury, he re- 
cruited 60 men, who later joined 
Company E, Third Vermont Eegi- 
nient. Mr. Doty was mustered in 
as a private of Companj- F, Second 
Vermont, the senior regiment of 
the "Old Brigade," and shared the 
fortunes of that gallant command 
on many a bloody field, including 
first and second Bull Run, the 
seven days' fight and the Maryland 
campaign of 1862. A member of 
the Second Vermont color guard, 
he was not absent from duty a 
single day, though suffering from 
malaria, until he was severely 
wounded at Fredericksburg by a 
minie ball, which he still carries 
in his right knee. 

He then served until the close 
of the war in the "Veteran Re- 
serve Corps," as commissary ser- 
geant, under Colonel William Aus- 
tine, U. S. A., at Brattleboro. Af- 
ter regaining a measure of his 
health he was appointed deputy 
sheriff and later elected sheriff, 
holding that position three years. 

During 12 years Mr. Doty was 
station and express agent, and 
telegrapher at Morrisville. For 22 
years he has been successfully en- 
gaged as a furniture dealer and 
undertaker in Morrisville. His 



store is one of the historic land- 
marks of the town, the original 
building being erected and the 
business started as the first furni- 
ture store in town, as early as 
1828, by Daniel Gilbert. Colonel 
Doty now conducts the leading fur- 
niture, crockery and undertaking 
establishment of Lamoille County. 
As a member of the board of trus- 
tees he was first to make the mo- 
tion that the village own its own 
water, and also, later, that it own 
its own electric light power, and 
both motions prevailecl. He was 
a member of a committee of five 
to locate a new cemetery and has 
had virtual charge of the cem- 
etery until the present time. 

He married, April 30, 1863, at 
Brattleboro, Flora A. Bundy. 
Their only son died in infancy, and 
two daughters survive : Anna G., 
widow of the late L. M. Jones of 
Johnson, and Alice C, wife of Wal- 
ter D. Grout of Worcester, Massa- 
chusetts. In politics a stanch Re- 
publican, Colonel Doty has borne 
an efficient and honorable part in 
the civic life of !\Iorristown. 

For 14 years he was a member 
and chairman of the prudential 
committee of People's Academy 
and Morrisville Graded School, and 
for nearly thirty years he has been 
chief of the Morrisville Fire De- 
partment. For 40 years he has 
been a member of Blount Vernon 
Lodge, A. F. & A. M., and has 
passed all of the chairs in that 
body, also in Tucker Chapter ; a 
charter member of J. M. Warner 
Post, G. A. R.. he served as its com- 
mander for seven consecutive 
years. He also acted as aide of 
Commanders-in-Chief Earnshaw 
and Alger. G. A. R., and in 1893 
was luianimously elected com- 
mander. Department of Vermont, 



LAMOILLE COUNTY. 



59 



In 189-1 he served on the staff of 
Governor U. A. Woodbury, and in 
1896 became chief of stafll: of Gov- 
ernor Grout. Emphatically a self- 
made man, Colonel Doty has borne 
an active and honorable part dur- 
ing the most interesting period of 
the history of the republic. 



alwut 1820, bought a 100-acre lot 
near Cady's Falls, cleared up the 
primeval forest and soon added an- 
other 100 acres to his farm. New- 
ton A Terrill, one of his five sons, 
a substantial and worthy citizen, 
remained on the home farm dur- 
ing his life, and it redounds to the 




George H. Tekkill, 



TERRILL, George H., son of 
Newton A., and Mary S. (Cheney) 
Terrill, was born at Morristown, on 
the paternal farm, October 1, 1863. 
Four generations of the Terrill 
family have resided in ^Morristown 
during more than three fourths 
of a century. ]\Ioses Terrill came 
here as a young man with his father 



credit of himself and wife that 
their seven children were well edu- 
cated, three being collegians and 
successful teachers. 

George 11. Terrill attended the 
People's Academy and one year at 
Vermont Methodist Seminary, and 
later enjoyed three years of mer- 
cantile experience with C. Denny & 



60 



SUCCESSFUL VERMONTEUS. 



Co., Northfield. In 1888 he returned 
and assumed the management of 
the home farm. Seven small barns 
were torn down at the homestead, 
and the present large and commo- 
dious three-story barn was erected 
and two silos installed. Improved 
thoroughbred Jersey stock was 
purchased and at present 25 or 
more cows are kept, and a large 
output of butter is sold at the 
best creamery prices. The home 
farm contains about two hundred 
and twenty acres, including some 
rich bottom lands, very productive 
of grass and corn, and the various 
operations are conducted with 
modern farm machinery. Mr. 
Terrill is well known as both a sci- 
entific and a practical farmer, 
alert to inform himself on the lat- 
est researches, original in adapting 
and applying them in various ways 
to the special needs of his soil and 
crops. The products and receipts 
on his home farm have much more 
than doubled, and he also rents an 
adjoining farm of 100 acres. He 
is one of the most successful fruit 
growers in the state, has been pres- 
ident of the State Horticultural 
Society, and is now one of the vice- 
presidents. He is an up-to-date 
sugar maker. His specialties in 
stock breeding are Jersey cattle, 
Morgan horses, Southdown sheep 
and Berkshire pigs, and he is rec- 
ognized as a careful breeder. 

He has found time to serve the 
town as lister, nine years as school 
director, and is one of the select- 
men. He was elected representa- 
tive in 1898. At its organization 
he was elected secretary and treas- 
'irer of the Lamoille Grange, P. of 
H., later was master, and is now 
district deputy of Harmona Po- 
mona District. He has been audi- 
tor of the State Dairymen's Asso- 



ciation, and is now one of its vice- 
presidents. Mr. Terrill recently 
represented Vermont as a delegate 
to the convention of the National 
Civic Federation, held in New 
York. Governor Bell recently ap- 
pointed Mr. Terrill secretary of the 
state board of cattle commissioners. 
He is widely recognized as an in- 
telligent, public-spirited citizen, 
and a progressive, successful 
farmer. He is a member and 
stanch supporter of the ^Methodist 
Church, also of Mount Vernon 
Lodge, A. F. & A. M. 

PECK, Wn.LiE Wallace, son of 
Seth H. and I\Iary Ann (Palmer) 
Peck, was born in Wolcott, August 
13, 1853. He left home at 16 
years of age, learned the carpenter 
and joiner's trade and worked at it 
and in sawmills until he became of 
age. He married Ida C. Trow of 
Morrisville, in 1876. 

He invested his well-saved earn- 
ings in the mill at Wolcott, in com- 
pany with his father, but within a 
year the mill burned and he lost 
everything but health and courage. 
He commenced again at his trade 
and two years later bought the old 
water mill beyond INIorristown 
Corners, and almost witho\it finan- 
cial resources started again in the 
lumber business. Success crowned 
his strenuous efforts, and after 
three years ho erected a large 
steam mill three miles beyond his 
old mill, near Sterling ^Mountain. 
He jobl)ed the di'awiiig of both the 
logs and the lumber, and handled 
a large output for two years, when 
the fire fiend again devoured his 
mill and left him penniless. 

With grim determination he re- 
tired to the old water mill and 
commenced again in a small way 
at lumbering and farming. In 
1885 he went to Elmoi-e and con- 



LAMOILLE COUXTY. 



61 



tracted with Fife & Peck to saw 
and deliver at the station at IMor- 
risville tlie tinil)er on a hiri^e tract, 
and for eight years snccessfnlly 
handled about a million and a half 
feet per annum. ]\Ieanwhile he 
had operated his old water mill 
near the Corners and in 1888 con- 



bought farm and timber lands to 
the enormous aggregate of 3,500 
acres, from which his annual out- 
put was three million feet of fin- 
ished lumber. 

In 1902 jNIr. Peck acquired a 
large tract of timber lands in the 
town of Somerset, where he has 




Willie W. Peck. 



nected steam power thereto, also 
adding a clapboard mill and in- 
creased the annual output to a 
million and a half feet. In 1892 
he consolidated the two steam mills 
near Sterling Mountain, where the 
bulk of his business was done, still 
operating in a small way at the 
water mill. Later, Mr. Peck 



conducted a very large lumber 
business, which he has recently 
closed out by a fortunate sale, and 
he has now practically retired in 
the enjoyment of a handsome and 
well-earned competence. 

The successful career of Mr. 
Peck illustrates the conquest of 
mind over matter, the power of pa- 



62 



SUCCESSFUL VERMONTERS. 



tient industry and invincible cour- 
age to overcome the most adverse 
conditions, and contains a lesson 
to our young men. Since 1890 he 
has resided in Morrisville. 

The son, Fred C. Peck, born Au- 
gust 19, 1877, was formerly station 
agent at Morrisville and later iden- 
tified with the lumber business. 
The daughter, Blanche, a gradu- 
ate of People's Academy, remains 
in the home. Mrs. Ida (Trow) 
Peck died in October. 1903. 

Mr. Peck has been too much en- 
grossed in business to accept pub- 
lic office, but has served as village 
trustee. He is an esteemed mem- 
ber of Mount Vernon Lodge, 
Tucker Chapter, Palestine Com- 
mandery, and Mount Sinai Tem- 
ple, A. F. & A. M. 

SLAYTON, Henry Albert. 
The sub.ject of this sketch is the 
senior business man of Morris- 
ville, and has long been a potent 
factor in the commercial and civic 
life of that thriving community. 
He comes of stanch New England 
stock. He was born in Calais, 
July 23, 1851, a son of George J. 
and Fanny A. (Andrews) Slayton. 
A farm bred boy, he completed his 
education at ]Morrisville Cxraded 
School and People's Academy. At 
the age of 16 he began his mercan- 
tile career as a clerk for George W. 
Scott & Co. of Montpelier, and 
later enjoyed a helpful experience 
of three years in a wholesale gro- 
cery house in Boston. 

Returning to Morrisville, he was 
for five years engaged in general 
merchandise at the brick store on 
Main Street. In 1878 Mr. Slayton 
purchased the original store near 
the depot and installed a small 
stock of flour and feed. This 
small building has been repeatedly 
enlarged to accommodate the de- 



mands of a constantly increasing 
business, and the entire building 
refurnished in modern style. He 
has added the features of sugar, 
oil, lime, cement and seeds; in fact 
everything included in this com- 
mercial line, at both wholesale and 
retail, and the volume of business 
has doubled several times. 

]Mr. Slayton has traveled and 
taken orders from St. Johnsbury 
to Swanton and is recognized as a 
reliable salesman and courteous 
gentleman. 

Always actively interested in the 
prosperity of Morrisville, his latest 
achievement is the purchase of the 
alnnidant water power at Morris- 
ville and the installment of an 
extensive electric light plant, which 
is connected with his grain store 
and there grinds and elevates large 
quantities of grain, his shipments 
being the largest in this valley. He 
has a large reserve electric power 
which he will sell or rent at ad- 
vantageous terms to any new 
enterprise. 

Mr. Slayton 's first wife, Edna R. 
Hathaway of Moretown, died in 
1879, leaving a son and a daughter. 
Allie H. Slayton, a graduate of 
People's Academy and of a Boston 
Commercial School, is his father's 
able assistant. Miss Josephine M. 
Slayton was a former student at 
Wellesley. 

He married, in 1886, Lillia, 
daughter of Hon. Carlos S. Noyes 
of this town, who died in Janu- 
ary, 1897, leaving three children. 

Mr. Slayton was one of the lead- 
ing projectors of the Union Sav- 
ings Bank and Trust Company, 
and since its incorporation has 
been a director. He has also 
served as auditor and on the in- 
vestment counnittee. He was a 
member of the special committee to 



LAMOILLE COUNTV. 



63 



institute the electric lis'ht and wa- 
ter systems and subse(]nently for 
two years as one of the village light 
and water commissioners, acting as 



man of the building committee of 
the new Congregational Church. 
He has acceptably served both town 
and village many years as chair- 




Henry a. Slayton. 



secretary and treasurer of the 
board, and was re-elected to the 
same position for a term of five 
years. He was the efficient chair- 



man of the board of auditors. His 
excellent judgment, mastery of de- 
tails and rare executive ability 
have been generously devoted to 



64 



SUOrESSFUL VERMONTEHS. 



the well l)einp' of liis coninuinity 
and town. 

CLARK, George W., son of 
Chester and Alvira (Crosl)y) 
Clark, was born in Hyde Park. 
His father was a prominent 
farmer, on the large farm later 
sold to the towns of Stowe, John- 
son and Morristown as a combined 
town poorfai'm. 

Georo-e W. Clark attended the 
People's Academy and the Stowe 




Geokge W. Clakk. 

High School, and taught district 
school three successive winters after 
he was 18 years old. He resided 
at Stowe from 1866 to 1876, and 
was a well-kncnvn dealer in live- 
stock, for a time in partnership 
with Hon. Amory Davison of 
Craftsbiuy, in an extensive busi- 
ness. They once drove 1,215 head 
of store cattle to Connecticut in a 
single drove. Since his return to 
INIorrisville, in 1876, Mr. Clark has 



been an extensive owner and ope- 
rator in real estate and timber 
lands. At the present time he has 
4,500 acres of village, farm and 
timber lands, and is undoubtedly 
the largest real estate owner in 
Lamoille County. He has dealt 
finite largely in farm produce. Mr. 
Clark owns considerable land in 
and about the village of Morris- 
ville, and has promoted village 
growth by selling sites and furnish- 
ing building materials. He is a 
skillful connoisseur of horses, and 
has been successful in several cases 
in developing speed and selling at 
good prices. He owns the Burke 
farm, near the village, a desirable 
in-operty of 400 acres. His vari- 
ous enterprises receive his careful 
attention, his office being in Gleed 
Block, opposite "The Randall." 
Mr. Clark is a stockholder in sev- 
eral of the semi-public enterprises 
of Morrisville. He has served 
three terms as village trustee, but 
has seldom accepted public office. 

He married i\Iay, daughter of 
Joseph and Abbie (Merriam) 
Noyes of Morrisville, in 1889, who 
died two years later. Li June, 
1905, he married Blanche May, a 
daughter of Stephen and Mary 
(Town) At wood of Stowe. Mr. 
Clark is genial in his social rela- 
tions, a successful financier and a 
methodical and reliable business 
man. He is a member of Mount 
Vernon Lodge, A. F. & A. M., 
and Tucker Chapter, R. A. M., of 
]\Iorrisville. 

FITCH, CoRDUj.A Walker, son 
of Jabez D. and Eleanor (Wells) 
Fitch, was born in Hyde Park. 
:\ray 13, 1831. Mr. Fitch is a lin- 
eal descendant of James Fitch, the 
first settled minister of Norwich, 
Connecticut, also Elder William 
Brewster of the Mayflower, and 



LAMOILLE COUNTV. 



65 



he is a member of the Society 
of 3Ia>j flower Descendants of INIas- 
sachusetts. His grandfather, Ja- 
bez Fitch, was a soldier of the 
Revohition. The Fitches were 
among' the earliest and most prom- 
inent pioneers of the town of 
Hyde Park. Mr. Fitch's father 
and mother died in 1836, when he 
was but tive years okl, and "he 
early learned the power to pay his 
cheerful, self-reliant way." A 
farm bred boy, at the age of 16, he 
came to Morrisville, then a strag- 
gling hamlet, and soon learned the 
builder's trade of Thomas Tracey. 
He helped build the old People's 
Academy, and later attended 
school there. 

Having learned the carriage 
maker's trade at the well-known 
Abbot-Downing works at Con- 
cord, New Hampshire, he took 
charge as foreman of Thomas Tra- 
cey 's carriage shop at Morrisville 
and later followed that trade at 
Montpelier, Stowe and other towns. 
Taking up the trade of architect 
and builder, he designed and su- 
perintended the construction of 
many of the finest public build- 
ings and pinvate residences in 
Morrisville and vicinity, includ- 
ing Woodbury and Centennial 
Blocks in ]\lorrisville, Averill 
Block at Barre, Phrenix Hotel 
at Hyde Park and Brigham 
Academy at Bakersfield, all of 
which are enduring monuments of 
his professional skill and industry. 
Mr. Fitch was a member of the 
Vermont party that located the 
town of Mapleton, Kansas. He 
.joined a company of Sharpens Ei- 
flemen in Lawrence and served un- 
der "Colonel Jim Lane" during 
the red-hot border ruffian times 
and was with him at one of the Le- 
compton sieges. Returning to Ver- 

A— 6 



mont in 1857, he married Esther 
A. French of Morrisville. They 
have four children, viz. : Mrs. Nellie 
Belle Crane, Mrs. Minnie May 
Steele, Willie and Walter Fitch, 
all of Morrisville. Mr. Fitch is a 
stanch temperance man in theory 
and practice, and in politics a 
strong Eepublican. He has filled 
all of the chairs in Mount Vernon 
Lodge, A. F. & A. M. ; is a member 
of Tucker Chapter and has taken 




CoKDiLLA VV. Fitch. 

the council degrees. He is one of 
the oldest members of the Masonic 
Veterans' Association and was ten- 
dered an ovation in November, 
1904, l)v Mount Vernon Lodge at 
the fiftieth anniversary of the day 
of his joining the lodge. 

He inherits in a rare degree the 
sturdy and worthy qualities of his 
stanch Puritan ancestry, has taken 
a loyal and liberal interest in pub- 
lic enterprises and is universally 



66 



SUCCESSFUL VEHMONTEHS. 



esteemed. Active and well pre- 
served in his seventy-fifth year, he 
has bnilt several summer cottages 
on the shores of Caspian Lake of 
Greensboro, where he and Mrs. 
Fitch spend their summers. 

DODGE, Harrison, son of Hi- 
ram and Harriet (Penniman) 
Dodge, was born in iNIorristown, 
April 4, 18-49. Mr. Dodge is a 
good type of the successful rural 
Vermonter. John Dodge, his 




Harrison Dodge. 

grandfather, was an early settler of 
Barre, and one of the old-time 
teamsters to Boston. Hiram Dodge 
settled in town more than sixty- 
five years ago. on a portion of the 
home farm. He was energetic, a 
good horse breeder and farm man- 
ager and enlarged the home farm 
to 200 acres. 

The 60 acres of tillage varies 
from light sandy soil adapted to 
corn to heavy clay bottom grass 
land. ^Ir. Dodge successfully con- 
ducted the "Alamo Dairy Farm" 



as a milk farm with a large patron- 
age, at iMorrisville. For many 
years he was an extensive and suc- 
cessful breeder of Shropshire 
sheep. ]\Ir. Dodge rebuilt the 
farm barns, nearly two hundred 
feet in length and installed a silo 
of nearly two hundred tons' ca- 
pacity. He adopts progressive 
methods and labor-saving macliin- 
erj' and is an active, successful 
farmer and a genial, companionable 
man. In 1893 he erected his pres- 
ent fine residence, equipped with 
all the modern improvements, on 
Congress Street, using timber 
grown on the home farm. He has 
rented the home farm for a term 
of years. 

Both ]\Ir. and ]\Irs. Dodge are 
loyally devoted to the best inter- 
ests of the comnnuiity, and espe- 
cially- farm interests and are prom- 
inent and esteemed members of the 
(irange. Mr. Dodge is now master 
of Harmony Pomona Grange. 

The Dodges are also members of 
the State Dairymen's Association, 
and Mrs. Dodge, a lady of unusual 
executive and social faculties, was 
secretary of the Woman's Auxili- 
ary, and one of the few charter 
mem])ers. 

Harrison Dodge married, in 
1877, Anna, daughter of William 
(4i]l)ert of this town, and three 
children were born to them : Edith 
S., Harold H., and Kenneth G. 

Edith S. has recently married 
Mr. Percy R. Davis of the firm of 
Mould & Davis of this village. 
Harold H. is employed with T. B. 
Ellis of this village and Kenneth 
G. is with his parents. 

SMALL, Levi S. The name of 
Small represents exemplary char- 
acter, good citizenship, successful 
farming and long residence in ]Mor- 
ristown. 



LAMOILLE COUNTY, 



67 



William Small, the progenitor 
of the family in America, came to 
Salem, Massachusetts, from Eng- 
land, prior to 1675, and partici- 
pated in King Philip's War, re- 
ceiving therefor a grant of land in 
Amherst, New Hampshire. Since 
that time six generations of the 
family in direct descent have 
borne the name of William Small. 

William Small, the second, re- 
ceived the title to this land in 1756, 



500. They reared a family of 
three children : William Milo, Levi 
S. and Viola L., widow of the late 
J. M. Campbell, all of whom are 
living, and have families in the 
Small neighborhood. William 
Small died in 1862, and the farm 
was divided bv William JM. and 
Levi S. 

Levi S. Small was born April 
26, 1842, and in 1863 married 
INlartha N., daughter of Rev. H. W. 





Kesidence of Levi S. Small. 



and located there; William, third, 
was a Revolutionary soldier and 
died at Morristown at the age of 
91. 

William, fourth, father of L. S., 
came to Morristown in 1810, lo- 
cated on the farm now owned by 
his son, William ^lilo Small, and 
in 1826 chose Lucy Churchill as a 
helpmeet. The couple were fru- 
gal, thrifty and energetic and as 
opportunity offered, the original 
50-acre farm was extended to 



Harris. Levi S. Small is one of 
the energetic and successful farm- 
ers of this section. His farm is 
located on the Randolph Road, 
five miles from ]\Iorrisville, con- 
tains 225 acres and is one of the 
most desirable in Lamoille County. 
The farm operations are conducted 
by machinery. The 60 acres of 
mowing and tillage is rich clay 
loam, level and very productive 
of hay, corn and oats. The 
farm carries 40 head of cattle, in- 



68 



SUCCESSFUL vermo>;teks. 



eluding about twenty-five excellent 
high-grade Jersey cows, 40 sheep 
and four horses. Mr. Small is us- 
ing the silo and a separator, and 
making his own butter, which sells 
at good prices, the dairy being the 
leading farm resource. There is 
a good sugar place of 500 trees. Mr. 
Small has built, or rebuilt, all of 
the farm buildings, and they are 
models. The house, built in 1896, 
and finished in home-grown woods, 
is commodious and elegant. Mr. 
Small is a Uuiversalist and a Re- 
publican in politics. A man of ex- 
cellent judgment and sterling in- 
tegrity, he has repeatedly served 
the town as justice of the peace, 
lister and selectman. He is a 
member and past master of La- 
moille Grange. The children of 
Levi S. and Martha (Harris) 
Small are: Walter L., a druggist 
at Dorchester, ]Massachusetts, born 
in 1866; Henry H., born in 1872; 
Frank E., born in 1875, employed 
with Lewis & Co., Boston, ^lassa- 
chusetts; Allen B.. born in 1878, 
is a farmer in jNlorristown. The 
four sons w^ere educated at Peo- 
ple's Academy. 

Henry H. Small married, in 
1895, Katie L., daughter of D. A. 
Gilbert of Morristown. He in- 
herits the sterling qualities of a 
stanch ancestry, is a progressive 
farmer, a scientific butter maker 
and an esteemed citizen, one of the 
town selectmen. He appreciates 
and enjoys the solid advantages of 
rural life on the ancestral home- 
stead, hallowed by the time-hon- 
ored associations of three genera- 
tions. 

S:\IITH, Hon. Allen B. and 
George I. A. Allen B., son of Ze- 
dock and Sarah (Russ) Smith, was 
born in Waitsfield, May 5, 1832. 
Zedock Smith was born in 1803, 



and in youth resided at "Quaker 
Smith Point," Shelburne, on a part 
of the estate now owned by Colonel 
W. Seward Webb. He married, in 
1827, and for many years, as a 
farmer, resided in Waitsfield. 

Allen B. Smith came here from 
Waitsfield in 1856, and for 10 
years resided on a farm on the 
Laporte road. In 1867 he pur- 
chased the Doctor James Tinker 
farm at Morristown Corners, 
which has since been the fam- 
ily home. This house is one of 
the historic landmarks of this 
early village, a grand old ancestral 
brick house, with majestic maples 
in the foreground and mountain 
peaks guarding the horizon. Mr. 
Smith erected the large barn the 
first year of his occupation, and us- 
ing a silo, has doubled the produc- 
tions of the farm. It is located a 
mile and a half from JMorrisville, 
an excellent hill farm of 150 acres, 
including 60 in mowing and til- 
lage and the balance pasture and 
woodland. There was a splendid 
sugar place of 600 trees, with all 
of the modern improvements, 
which was destroyed by the inva- 
sion of forest worms in 1898. In 
recent years the farm is conducted 
as a dairy farm. Mr. Smith uses 
the United States separator and 
makes the butter at home, which is 
sold at Boston. The farm contains 
a rich sub-stratum of clay and 
marl and is a splendid grass farm, 
and with intensive cultivation 
about ten acres of rank corn and 
foddei' corn are annually produced. 
The farm now carries 45 head of 
cattle, including 25 grade Jersey 
cows and five horses. 

Allen B. Smith married Roxana 
P. Jackson of Duxbury, who died 
in 1889, lea\ang two sons, Zerah 
and George I. A. Zerah died in 



LAMOILLE COUNTY, 



69 



1901. In 1891 ]\Ir. Smith married 
Mary Flanders. 

Allen B. Smith has served the 
town many years as lister and se- 
lectman and was assistant .judge of 
Lamoille County. Both father and 
son are highly respected as men 
and citizens. 



neer of Concord. George I. A. 
and Leone E. Smith have two 
children : Charles H., and Lorna C. 
MORSE, Hon. George A., son of 
Ira and Ilulda (Ainsworth) Morse, 
was born in Plainfield, October 22, 
1848. The venerable parents of 
Judge ]\Iorse are still living in this 




Ira Morsk. 



George I. A. Smith was born in 
1861, and since his majority has 
owned an interest in, and borne a 
part in the management of the 
farm. He married Leone E., 
daughter of Daniel and Eliza Ann 
(Bingham) Russ. Mrs. Smith's 
maternal great-grandfather was 
Warner Elisha Bingham, a pio- 



town, active and well preserved. 
With their descendants, they cele- 
brated the sixtieth anniversary of 
their marriage in October, 1903. 

Ira was one of the 12 children of 
Joseph and Sally (Ainsworth) 
]\Iorse, all but one of whom lived 
to maturity. Joseph Morse was a 
soldier of the War of 1812. Ira 



70 



SUCCESSFUL TERMONTERS. 



Morse and his good wife resided 35 
years in Woodbury, on a farm; 
later in Wolcott and came to Mor- 
risville in 1899. Their two eldest 
sons were Union soldiers, viz. : 
Franklin B., in the Eighth Ver- 
mont, and Orlando J., in the Ninth 
Vermont, who died in hospital. 



pleting his education at Hardwick 
Academy for several winters he en- 
joyed the helpful experience of 
teachingr school. 

Two years later he bought a saw- 
mill at East Elmore and engaged 
in manufacturing- lumber. Begin- 
ning with a very limited capital, 




Geokge a. Morse. 



George A. ]\Iorse is best known as 
as extensive and successful lum- 
ber manufacturer, but he has made 
an excellent record in local and 
public affairs. Reared among the 
wholesome environments of the 
farm, he developed a good phy- 
sique and habits of industry, econ- 
omy and perseverance. After com- 



by energy, good judgment and 
strict attention to business, he ex- 
tended his business until he pos- 
sessed 2,000 acres of timber land 
and manufactured two million or 
more feet of lumber annually. He 
has invested his capital largely in 
productive industries, which he 
manages. He is president of the 



LAMOILLE COUNTY. 



71 



Morse Manufacturing Company of 
Wolcott and a large stock owner. 
In 1893 Mr. Morse sold his mill at 
East Elmore and purchased his 
present sightly and handsome resi- 
dence at Morrisville. At present 
he is stocking several mills and 
selling their product, having his 
office in Drowne's Block. He is a 
director of the Hardwick Savings 
Bank and Trust Company. 

While at Elmore, at some time 
he filled nearlv all of the town of- 



chairman of the grand list com- 
mittee. He was elected associate 
judge of the county in 1898 and 
served two terms. He is a member 
of IMineral Lodge, A. F. & A. M., 
also a member and liberal sup- 
porter of the Methodist Episcopal 
Church. 

Mr. ]\Iorse married, in 1874, 
Alice, daughter of William Sil- 
loway of Elmore. Two children 
have blessed their union : George 
(t. and Ethel Glee, who has re- 




Residence of William M. Small & Son. 



fices and was representative in 
1882. He was appointed post- 
master under General Grant and 
filled that office a score of years. 
For five years he was a trustee of 
the village of IMorrisville and for 
a decade or more has been on the 
board of water and light commis- 
sioners. He has acceptably filled 
important fiduciary trusts in the 
settlement of estates. As a Repub- 
lican, he was chosen senator for 
Lamoille County in 1890 and was 



cently married Charles H. Raymore 
of Cambridge. George G. Morse 
was educated at U. V. IM., and is an 
electrical engineer. 

Judge Morse has achieved a 
handsome competence and an ex- 
cellent standing. A man of un- 
assuming manners but of strong 
convictions, he is highly esteemed 
for his sterling qualities of mind 
and heart. 

SIMALL, WiLLLVM M. & Son. 
William Milo, son of William and 



i-1 



SUCCESSFUL VERMONTEKS. 



Lucy (Churchill) Small, was born 
on his present farm, February 6, 
1829. He married in 1862, Hattie 
Bennett of Stowe. Their children 
were William H., a promising- 
young man, who died in 189-1:, at 
the ao-e of 29, and Fred M., born 
in 1870. 

The home farm of 300 acres is 
one of the best in the county and 
is conducted on scientific princi- 
ples, with modern machinery. W. 
M. Small has erected excellent 
farm buildings, is a thorough 
farmer and financially successful. 
He is a social, kindly man, a great 
reader and a prominent member 
and past master of the Grange. 

The family have lived on this 
farm nearly a century. 

Fred M. Small is a graduate of 
People's Academy and was a stu- 
dent at U. V. ]\I. He is an en- 
thusiastic member of the Kappa 
Sigma Fraternity and was a chap- 
ter delegate to the National Con- 
clave at Indianapolis in 1896, also 
at Philadelphia in 1900. He is 
a Royal Arch ]Mason and master of 
Lamoille Grange, P. of H. Mr. 
Small is one of the rising and pro- 
gressive young men of the town and 
highly esteemed. He married Lula, 
daughter of Eben Douglass, a grad- 
uate of People's Academy and a 
talented musician. Their home is 
enriched by the charms of art, lit- 
erature and music, and by a cordial 
hospitalitv. 

NO YES, Hon. Carlos S.— The 
subject of this sketch was a gen- 
tleman of the old school, a con- 
necting link of the past with the 
present generation. He was born 
in Hyde Park in 1816. His father 
was Breed Noyes, the first merchant 
of that town. Both his paternal 
grandfather Oliver Noyes, and 
his maternal grandfather, Aaron 



Keeler, were Revolutionary sol- 
diers and early settlers. He was 
formerly a merchant in his native 
town, but was the first cashier of 
the National Bank of Hyde Park, 
chartered in 1851. After the 




Carlos S. Noyes. 

death of his brother. Lucius Noyes, 
president of the bank, Carlos S. 
succeeded him until he resigned, 
about 1892. In 1875 he moved to 
Morrisville. During his residence 
at Hyde Park Mr. Noyes held many 
important town offices, was town 
clerk, selectman, a member of the 
Legislature in 1848 and 1849, and 
again in 1862 and 1863. He was 
elected president of the Union Sav- 
ings Bank and Trust Company in 
1891, and held that position until 
his death, in October, 1897. He is 
appropriately styled the father of 
Lamoille County Banks. 

Mr. Noyes married Louisa Kit- 



LAMOILLE COUNTY. 



78 



terbiish of Eden, who died March 
12, 1898. 

Arthur C. Noyes is the sole sur- 
vivor of a family of four children, 
and resides in the nolile brick man- 
sion built by Jedediah Stafford at 
the foot of Main Street. Mr. 
Noyes was a man much loved by 
his entire family and greatly re- 
spected by all his large number of 
acquaintances, for his sterling in- 
tegrity and pleasing manner. His 
systematic, conservative methods 
have long been influential among 
business associates. 

SMITH, Clement F. The sub- 
ject of this sketch is one of the most 
progressive and energetic farmers 
of the Green Mountain State, and 
has exerted an active and lasting 
influence in uplifting farming to 
a higher plane in his town, county 
and state. His career shows the 
possibility of scientific and practi- 
cal farming. 

Clement F., son of Daniel and 
Betsey (Pike) Smith, was born in 
Morristown, July 29, 1856, and is 
a lifelong resident. Having com- 
pleted his education at People's 
Academy, at the age of 22 he mar- 
ried Mary A. Burnham, and soon 
after purchased his father's 175- 
acre farm and stock for $10,500, 
with only $500 to pay down. La- 
porte Farm is pleasantly located 
on the Stowe road, three miles from 
Morrisville, and now contains 325 
acres, of which 70 are in tillage 
and meadow and the remainder 
in pasture and woodland. All 
the operations of the farm are 
performed with farm machinery, 
and Mr. Smith was the pioneer 
in this section in its introduc- 
tion and use. Having demon- 
strated its utility, he became a suc- 
cessful salesman of farm machin- 
ery. He has the independence and 



courage to take the initiative and 
w^as the third man in the state to 
erect a silo. He has a circular silo 
of more than three hundred tons' 
capacity. His meadows average to 
cut four tons of hay per acre 
annually. By intensive farming, 
a .iudicious rotation of crops and 
added acreage, he has increased the 
productions of the farm until he 
now keeps more than one hundred 
head of cattle and horses. 

His dairy, probably the largest 
in the county, now contains 60 head 
of thoroughbred and high grade 
Jersey cows and heifers. Each 
cow's milk is weighed twice a day 
and frequently tested and cow 




Clement F. Smith. 

l)oarders do not remain long in 
his stables. His cows look finely, 
are free from tuberculosis and av- 
erage to produce from 325 to 350 
pounds of gilt-edge butter annu- 
ally, which finds a ready market 



74 



SUCCESSFUL VEKMONTEUS. 



at lucrative prices in INIassachii- 
setts cities. In brief, Mr. Smith 
conducts a private experiment sta- 
tion, which is distinctively a public 
benefit to the farmers of his section. 

A boarding house has been 
erected to accommodate the help ; 
the residence and barns have been 
fitted up with the modern improve- 
ments; an artificial lake and fish 
pond with boat house, has been laid 
out ; the capacity of the barns has 
been extended; in short, Laporte 
Farm has become a model, one of 
the most attractive and profitable 
farm estates in the state. 

He was the first master of La- 
moille Grange, P. of II., and has 
always been a potent factor in the 
Granges of his town and section, 
and the Vermont State Grange, of 
which he has been overseer eight 
years. He is a prominent mem- 
ber of the State Dairymen's Asso- 
ciation and was two years its pres- 
ident. Mr. Smith has an excellent 
local standing, an unblemished 
record. He is an esteemed meml)ei' 
of Mount Vernon Lodge, A. F. & 
A. M., and of the IMethodist Epis- 
copal Church, of which he has been 
steward since his majority, and 
is now Sunday School Superin- 
tendent. 

]\Ir. Smith represented Morris- 
town in the Legislature in 1894, 
served on the committee on agricul- 
ture and as chairman of the special 
committee on tuberculosis, drafted 
the first bill to become a law. 

Mrs. Mary Burnham Smith has 
rare social and mental gifts and 
has a state reputation as a speaker 
at state gatherings. Six of their 
seven children have been educated 
at People's Academy, of which Mr. 
Smith, is a trustee. Mabel C, Mrs. 
E. H. Gregg, and Lilly A., are 
residents of Colorado; Grace B. 



is a graduate of the Oread In- 
stitute and Ruhamah j\I., are in Los 
Angeles, California, where the lat- 
ter is attending college. Alice B., 
i\Iark B., and Frances W., are with 
their parents. 

BLAIR, Noel B., son of Charles 
and Amira (Beach) Blair, was 
born in Fletcher, November 18, 
1845. Elias Blair, his grand- 
fathei", came to Fletcher as one of 
the first settlers, bi'inging in his 




NoEi, 13. Blair. 

family with an ox team from Ben- 
nington, and here opened up a 
farm from the i)rimeval wilder- 
ness. He reared a family of seven 
children. Charles, the youngest 
son, remained on the farm and 
cared for his parents during their 
declining years until the death of 
his father. 

Charles Blair died at the early 
age of 45, and the cares of a 200 
acre farm devolved upon Noel B., 



LAMOILLE COUNTY. 



75 



then a youth of 19 years, and he 
furnished a home for his four sis- 
ters until their marriage. 

He remained upon the farm un- 
til he was 45 years of age, when he 
came to Morrisville, but still con- 
tinues to own the old homestead, 
which has been in possession of the 
family for nearly a century. The 
farm contained a fine sugar place 
of 1,300 trees, well set up with an 
evaporator, Mr. Blair being among 
the first to use this improvement. 
He became an expert sugar maker 
as well as a successful dairyman. 
In March, 1891, he came to Mor- 
risville, and in company with C. H. 
Slocum and H. C. Fiske, engaged 
extensively in the purchase and 
sale of maple goods. He bought in 
January, 1900, the boot and shoe 
stocks of C. H. Slocum and M. A. 
Stone & Co., and consolidated them 
in his present store on Portland 
Street, which has since been the 
well-recognized headquartei-s of the 
trade. His capable assistant is 
D. C. Spaulding, who for 30 years 
has been a popular clerk in town, 
also four years postmaster. ]\Ir. 
Blair's ready wit and cheerful op- 
timism sheds sunbeams of happi- 
ness upon his customers, and he is 
a reliable as well as a popular 
salesman. 

He married Ellen iMcIntyie in 
1869, who died in 1884, leaving one 
son, Charles Francis Blair, a grad- 
uate of the University of Vermont 
and Harvard Law School, now in 
the law office of Lewis & Lewis of 
Buffalo, New York. He married, 
in 1886, Elizabeth Mclntyre Foote 
of St. Albans. 

Mr. Blair is serving his second 
term as selectman and is chairman 
of the board. He became a mem- 
ber of Lamoille Lodge No. 6, A. F. 
& A. M., of Fairfax, nearly forty 



years ago, was two years worthy 
master and is a member of Tucker 
Chapter of Morrisville. Mr. Blair 
has a wide personal acquaintance 
in this section, and a host of 
friends. 

HENDEE, Hon. George W. By 
permission we quote the following 
from the ' ' Men of Vermont ' ' : 

George Whitman, son of Jehial 
P. and Rebecca (Ferrin) Hendee, 
was born in Stowe, November 30, 
1832. He was educated in the 
public schools and at the People's 
Academy at Morrisville.' His par- 
ents were poor and all of his edu- 
cational advantages were obtained 
by his own strenuous and unaided 
exertions. At the age of 20 he 
commenced the study of law in the 
office of W. G. Ferrin of Johnson. 
He was admitted to the Lamoille 
County bar in 1855. It was an era 
of frequent justice and jury trials. 
The industry, pleasing address and 
clear insight of the young advocate 
were soon rewarded with an ample 
and constantly increasing practice. 
A large proportion of the more im- 
portant cases were soon committed 
to his charge, but nearly all of his 
recent practice has been in the state 
courts. During the last 45 years the 
discharge of important political 
duties and the management of 
great business enterprises, have at 
times withdrawn the attention of 
Governor Hendee from his profes- 
sional labors. He Avas one of the 
pioneers in the construction of the 
Portland & Ogdensburg Railroad, 
and gave his entire time to it for 
a period of seven years, and is now 
the only director who has given the 
original road continuous service 
since the organization of the cor- 
poration. He was for three years 
president of the Montreal, Port- 
land & Boston Railroad of Canada. 



re 



SUCCESSFUL VER.^IONTERS. 



His connection with banking inter- 
ests has been varied and extensive. 
He is a director and president of 
the Union SavinjO's Bank and Trust 
Company of IMorrisville. He was 
receiver of the National Bank of 
Poultney and of the Vermont Na- 
tional Bank of St. Albans, and was 
national bank examiner from 1879 
to 1885. r4overnor Hendee is, 



House of Eepresentatives for ]\Ior- 
ristown two sessions, 1861- '62, 
state's attorney for Lamoille 
County in 1858- '59, deputy pro- 
vost marshal during the war, sen- 
ator for Lamoille County in 1866, 
'67 and '68, and lieutenant-gov- 
ernor in 1869. 

Sworn in as governor by Judge 
Steele on the death of Governor 




Geokge W. Hendee. 



and always has been, a Eepublican. 
When he was 21 years old he was 
elected superintendent of schools, 
and during the nearly half century 
since that time, there has been no 
year in which he has not been 
called by the public to discharge 
some official trust. He has many 
times acted by order of court as 
auditor, trustee and special master. 
He was a member of the Vermont 



Peter T. Washburn, he .served the 
remainder of the term. He was 
a member of the forty-third, for- 
ty-fourth and forty-fifth Con- 
gresses and there served on the 
committee on private land claims. 
and on the District of Columbia. 
He was largely instrumental in 
drafting and securing the pas- 
sage of the law Avhich made an 
entire chanae of the form of 



LAMOILLE COUNTY 



77 



goveriiineut of the district, under 
which it has since existed and 
which has placed it on an entirely 
sound financial basis. During' his 
long public career Governor Ilen- 
dee has served his town in many 
and varied capacities, and the 
grateful appreciation in which his 
services, both public and private, 
are held, is well known. 

He has served three terms as 
president of the board of village 
trustees. He was six years presi- 
dent and treasurer of the IMorris- 
ville Foundry Company. He was 
20 years president of the Lamoille 
Valley Fair Ground Company. 
Some 40 years ago he formed a law 
partnership with Hon. Henry C. 
Fi.sk, which still exists. He has 
been active in securing village de- 
velopment by buying and improv- 
ing land and selling the same for 
building lots at reasonable rates, 
and by the erection of fine liuild- 
ings. During the past 25 yeai's he 
has sought relaxation in agricul- 
tural pursuits. ■ He has been 
largely interested in the breeding 
and development of first-class light 
carriage horses of the INIorgan type 
and blood. He is a member of the 
Masonic fraternity. He married, 
in 1855, ]\lelissa, daughter of 
Stephen and Caroline (Johnson) 
Eedding. Their only child was 
Lillian Frances, now deceased. 
His wife died in 1861, and he mar- 
ried, in 1863, Viola L., daughter 
of Loren Bundy, now deceased. 
Governor Hendee married ]\Iary L. 
Watts of Stowe for his third wife, 
January 10, 1906. She is a daugh- 
ter of Hon. Chandler Watts of 
Stowe. Governor Hendee carries 
the weight of advancing years with 
erect form and elastic step. 

NILES, Albert A., son of Sal- 
mon and Anna (Cooke) Niles, was 



born in Morristown, jNIay 28, 1845. 
In 1862, at the age of 17, he re- 
sponded with boyish enthusiasm to 
his country's call, and enlisted as 
a private in Company H, Ninth 
Vermont Regiment. He shared 
the various fortunes of that regi- 
ment, was surrendered at Har- 
per's Ferry by General Miles, was 
soon paroled and sent to guard 
Confederate prisoners for three 
months at Chicago, and then ex- 
changed. Later the regiment was 
attached to the Eighteenth and the 
Twenty-Fourth Corps, and served 
in Virginia and North Carolina. 
When young Nil'es was discharged 
with the regiment, in June, 1865, 
he had won his way by merit from 
the i-anks to first lieutenant. He 
was an invalid for two years after 
his return from the service. He 
graduated from People's Academy 
in 1869 and began the study of law 
with Powers & Gleed. In the fall 
of 1869 he entered the Law School 
at Ann Arbor, Michigan, was ad- 
mitted to the bar in May, 1870. 
For nearly five years he occupied 
the office of Governor Hendee 
while the latter was in Congress. 
In 1872 he was elected state's at- 
torney of Lamoille County. In 
1880 he was elected county commis- 
sioner, and received two successive 
biennial terms. He has repre- 
sented fire insurance, and has given 
special and successful attention to 
collections and securing pensions. 

Mr. Niles has been trial justice 
since 1891, was town grand juror 
and president of the village corpo- 
ration. He was secretary of the 
Lamoille Valley Fair Ground Com- 
pany 28 years, and for nearly thirty 
has been secretary and collector of 
the board of trustees of People's 
Academy, and has held other cleri- 
cal positions. He served as village 



78 



SLKJCESSFUL VEKMONTERS. 



president, trustee and clerk of the 
board. During 17 years he was 
steward of the Methodist Episco- 
pal Church and is a member of 
the board at the present time, and 
for a dozen years superintendent 



promptness and integrity is like an 
open book. 

Mr. Niles married Clara M. 
Bradley of Johnson in 1872. j\Irs. 
Niles has been both secretary and 
president of the Woman's Relief 




Albert A. Niles. 



of Sunday School, and has been its 
secretary for the past ten years and 
is at the present time. He has 
served as town clerk and treasurer 
since 1900 and also village clerk 
and treasurer. 

His record for accuracy and 



Corps, Department of Vermont, 
and also an aide on both the de- 
partment and national staffs and 
an active worker in the ^Methodist 
Episcopal Church. Their children 
are : Lula A. and Ha ^Nlay, young 
ladies of musical tastes and accom- 



LAMOILLE COUNTY. 



79 



plishmeiits, and Logan Albert, born 
May 30, 1889. Esqnire Niles has 
found health, profit and recreation 
in the eondnet of a farm of 50 acres 
near the village. For nine years 
he was commander of J. M. Warner 
Post, G. A. R. He has been as- 
sistant adjutant and judge ad- 



Mr. Niles has been constantly 
identified with varied local inter- 
ests and his career has been marked 
by industry, usefulness and con- 
scientious fidelity to every trust. 

BILLINGS, James Jackson, son 
of Count De Estang and Almina 
M. (Royce) Billings, was born in 




James J. Bii.linus. 



vocate of the Department of Ver- 
mont, also senior vice-commander, 
and served on the staff of General 
Palmer in 1892 and General Law- 
ler in 1894, national commanders. 
A Mason of more than thirty-five 
years' standing, he is P. II. P. of 
Tucker Chapter. 



Warren, November 6, 18-45. The 
family is of ancient and noble lin- 
eage and dates in direct line to the 
reign of King Henry III of Eng- 
land. Sir Thomas Billings, knight, 
was law adviser to Edward IV, 
and in 1-468 was lord chief justice 
of the king's bench. Four broth- 



80 



SUCCESSFUL VERMONTEliS. 



ers, Roger, AVilliani, Nathaniel and 
Richard, came to this country at, or 
nearly at, the same time. 

Richard, the first American an- 
cestor of James J. Billings, was 
a citizen of Hartford, Connecticut, 
as early as 1640. Joseph Billings, 
great-great-grandfather of the sub- 



A¥arren with his father, Rufus 
Billings, and engaged in the lum- 
ber business there and at Fayston 
many years. 

James J. Billings spent his boy- 
hood and early manhood in the 
town of Fayston, and his early 
training was obtained in the "little 




Eknest J. Billings. 



ject of this sketch, and his son, 
Joseph, with others, were original 
grantees of the town of Swanton, 
receiving their charter of Governor 
Benning Wentworth of New 
Hampshire. Count De Estang, 
the seventh generation from Rich- 
ard, in early childhood came to 



red schoolhouse" and in his 
father 's sawmill. 

He married, in 1870, Jeanette, 
daughter of William Wyman Mc- 
Koy, a successful merchant of Chi- 
cago, who died at Denver in ISG-l. 
In 1875 :\Ir. Billings moved to Mid- 
dlesex, where he was engaged in 



LAIMOILLE COUNTY. 



81 



the lumber business seven years, 
locating in Morrisville in 1882. 
He manufactured a million and a 
quarter or more feet of lumber an- 
nually. In 1901 he moved his 
steam mill to Belvidere, where 



In March, 1903, James J. Bill- 
ings bought a tract of land on the 
Stowe Forks road, three and a half 
miles from Stowe village, and 
there erected a sawmill plant 
which, under the management of 




Harold W. Billings. 



2,000,000 feet per annum is manu- 
factured. 

His eldest son, Ernest J. Bill- 
ings, a graduate of the Methodist 
Episcopal Seminary, successfully 
conducted this extensive business 
for five years until his untimely 
death at the mill in March. 

A-7 



his son Harold William, turns 
out 1,000,000 feet of logs annually, 
largely spruce, which is manufac- 
tured into clapboards. Mr. Bill- 
ings, starting from humble begin- 
nings, by hard work, good judg- 
ment and excellent executive abil- 
ity, has developed a lumber busi- 



82 



SUCCESSFUL VERMONTERS. 



ness in magnitude second to no 
other in this section if not in 
the state. A gentleman of genial 
and unassuming manners and do- 
mestic tastes, in the full meridian 
of his mental and physical powers 
at 60, he devolved upon his capable 
sons the active management of 
this business, in which they are 
his partners. 

Ernest J. Billings married Fran- 
cena May Jackman of Nashua, 
New Hampshire, and four children 



Three generations of this family 
have been engaged in the lumber 
business and the name of Billings 
has become a synonym for the 
qualities of energy, perseverance 
and stanch integrity. 

E AND ALL, Carroll F., is best 
known as the genial proprietor of 
"The Randall," the attractive and 
deservedly popular hotel of Morris- 
ville. He was born in Eden in 
1856, only son of Doctor David 
and Marcia (Adams) Randall. 




"The Randall." 



Cakroll F. Randall. 



came to cheer their home : Sumner 
L., Raymond McKoy, Florence F. 
and Reginald J. 

Harold W. married Edna L. 
Cutting of Morrisville. They have 
two children. Florence Lovina, 
the only daughter, a graduate of 
the People's Academy, and a for- 
mer successful teacher, is the wife 
of Charles McFarland, a merchant 
at Johnson. Mrs. Jeanette McKoy 
Billings is a lady of cultivated 
social and mental attainments. 



Doctor Randall was for 40 years an 
esteemed physician of the village 
of Hyde Park, where he Avas also 
proprietor of the American House. 
Carroll's literary education was 
obtained at the Lamoille Central 
Academy, Hyde Park, and Peo- 
ple's Academy at Morrisville. He 
read law with Brigham & Water- 
man, was admitted to the bar, and 
represented Hyde Park in the Leg- 
islature of 1882, being the young- 
est member. He opened "The Ran- 



LAMOILLE COUNTY. 



83 



dall" at Morrisville in April, 
1892. It is a modern, three-story 
structure, situated in the business 
center of this thriving village, its 
lofty tower commanding a delight- 
ful urban and rural scenic picture, 
bounded by a magnificent amphi- 
theatre of verdure clad hills. 

Morrisville, the great central 
station of Northern Vermont, is 
within hailing distance of Mount 
Mansfield, Moss Glen Falls, Lake 
Elmore and other objective points. 
The hotel is elegant and modern 
in every appointment. The office 
floor is of variegated marble, the 
ceiling of ornamental steel sheath- 
ing and the public rooms are fin- 
ished in ornamental woods and 
handsomely furnished. The rooms 
are pleasant and well lighted, with 
facilities for the entertainment of 
about seventy-five guests. The 
house is provided with cold, pure 
spring water, electric lights, 
steam heat, baths and electric bells, 
with a first-class tonsorium and 
livery connected. The dining 
room has a seating capacity of 75 
persons. The bill of fare is ex- 
cellent, varied and abundant, and 
the service in every department en- 
tirely satisfactory. Guests are 
made to feel perfectly at home and 
the commercial and general patron- 
age is extensive. C. F. Randall 
possesses the essential gifts of the 
successful landlord. A genial and 
courteous gentleman and man of 
affairs, intelligent on matters of 
local and general interest, he is 
well fitted by education and expe- 
rience to successfully administer 
this popular hostelry. 

LAMBERTON, David Hu.liard, 
editor of the several newspapers 
published by the Messenger-Senti- 
nel Company of Morrisville, is a 
native of New Hampshire and was 



born at Cornish, in that state, April 
20, 1861. His ancestry is Scotch- 
Irish and the family name first 
appears prominently in the person 
of William de Lamberton, bishop 
of St. Andrews, who was closely 
associated with William Wallace 
and other Scottish chieftains 
against the aggressions of the first 
and second Edwards of England, 
and who later had important part 
in the securing of the throne of 
Scotland for Robert Bruce, A. D. 
1306. 

The family estates were in Ayr- 
shire and about the middle of the 
seventeenth century, like many 
other Scotch families of strong 
Covenanter adherence during the 
efforts of Charles I to root out 
Presbyterianism in Scotland, the 
Lambertons of Ayrshire migrated 
to Ulster County in the north of 
Ireland, then the resort for the op- 
pressed of that faith. Within a 
half century of this removal repre- 
sentatives of the family appeared 
in America to settle here in two 
branches, one in the Wyoming Val- 
ley of Pennsylvania and the other 
in New Haven and other towns in 
Connecticut as far north as "Old 
Windsor." An early representa- 
tive of the latter branch was that 
Captain George Lamberton, master 
of the ill-fated phantom ship re- 
corded in Mather's "JMagnalia 
Christi," and which was made the 
subject of a poem by Longfellow. 

The subject of this sketch comes 
of the Connecticut branch of the 
family and his great-grandfather 
was one of that numerous body of 
pioneers, which at the close of the 
Revolution emigrated northward to 
settle the middle and upper reaches 
of the Connecticut Valley and be- 
stow the names of their home 
towns on new ones both sides of the 



84 



SUCCESSFUL VERMONTEltS. 



river. This pioneer ancestor first 
settled at a point in the town of 
Hartland near the montli of tlie 
Ottaqnechee River. ])ut afterwards 
made permanent residence in 
Plainfield, New Hampshire, just 
opposite to Hartland. He was a 
cooper by trade, but the most of 
his descendants have been farmers. 
David Hilliard Lamberton, son 
of Joseph L. and Helen (Smith) 
Lamberton, was liorn on a farm 
and his youth was spent in fai-m 




David Hillard Lambekton. 

employment with such educational 
advantages as the district • schools 
afforded. At the age of fifteen he 
was thrown upon his own resources 
and chose to educate himself as far 
as possible for some profession. 
By working at farming during the 
spring and summer months and by 
attending a high school or an acad- 
emy as opportunity afforded, he 
fitted himself for college by a final 
year at Stevens High School, Clare- 
mont, New Hampshire. At that 



time an opportunity to teach was 
taken advantage of, with the result 
that he continued in that line of 
work for nearly sixteen years, hold- 
ing positions in New Hampshire, 
Rhode Island and ^Massachusetts, 
rano'ing from grannnar-school mas- 
tership in the beginning to profes- 
sional superintendence under the 
district system of the last named 
state. During 10 years of this 
period he occupied one position, 
that of principal of Washington 
Academy at Wickford. Rhode 
Island. 

"While engaged in educational 
work Mr. Lamberton became a con- 
tributor on both professional and 
miscellaneous subjects to some of 
the leading journals and acquired 
a taste for newspaper work that 
was ultimately provided for in his 
present connection. To the Mes- 
srnger-Sentinel business in Morris- 
ville he succeeded Mr. L. P. Thayer, 
June 1, 1902. first as lessee of the 
business and later as managing 
partner. Last year the business 
was incorporated, J\lr. Lamberton 
lieing principal stockholder and 
president of the corporation. Eight 
papers are published by the com- 
pany, local to^as many different 
towns, with a large circulation in 
Lamoille County and adjacent ter- 
ritory and editorially they rank 
among the strongest weekly period- 
icals in the state. 

Mr. Lamberton is identified with 
all progressive movements in INIor- 
risville and in Lamoille County and 
is president of the Morrisville 
board of trade, a large and aggres- 
sive organization of business men. 
He is a Blue Lodge Mason and 
served as master of his lodge, 
Washington, No. 5, of Wickford, 
Rhode Island, in its centennial 
year, 1898. 




Charles H. A. Staffoud. 



86 



SUCCESSFUL VERMONTEHS. 



Mr. Lamberton was married in 
January, 1883, to Miss Florence B. 
Davis of Bradford, New Hamp- 
shire, who died in September, 
1890. To the union three children 
were born : John Vinton, a student 
at the University of Vermont; 
Ruth George, deceased ; and Lam- 
bert, recently named by Congress- 
man Foster of the First District as 
a midshipman at the United States 
Naval Academy. 

STAFFORD, Charles H. A., a 
son of John A. and Lucia M. (Rob- 
inson) Stafford, was born at De- 
catur, Michigan, November 6, 
1859, came to Vermont when but a 
child, locating at Stowe, where he 
received his education in the public 
schools and from the age of 14 to 
22 years was employed in a drug 
store ; for a year he was in the meat 
business at Stowe and from 1886 
to 1900 was engaged in the tannery 
business at Stowe and Morrisville, 
since which time he has conducted 
an extensive business in real estate 
and loans. 

Mr. Stafford located in Morris- 
ville in 1889. For several years 
he was chairman of the village 
trustees and is now a member of 
the board of water and light com- 
missioners and its treasurer. He 
has served as town auditor and in 
1902 was chosen to represent Mor- 
ristown in the General Assembly 
of Vermont, serving as chairman 
of the committee on corporations. 

May 2, 1882, Mr. Stafford was 
united in marriage to Grace E., a 
daughter of Charles R. and M. 
Jane Churchill of Stowe. To 
them three children have been 
born : Roy C, November 29, 1888 ; 
Guy C, April 22, 1890, and Eloise, 
July 12, 1896. 

Mr. Stafford is affiliated with 



Union Lodge, No. 2, F. & A. M., of 
Middlebury. 

ELMORE. 

Population, Census of 1900, 550. 

The town of Elmore was granted 
to Samuel Elmore and 64 others, 
November 7, 1880, but the charter 
was not formally issued until the 
following August. 

The settlement of the town was 
commenced in July, 1790, by Mar- 
tin and Jesse Elmore, James and 
Seth Olmstead, Aaron Keeler and 
others, mostly from Sharon and 
Norwalk, Connecticut. The census 
of 1791 reported 12 persons in 
town. At the first town meeting, 
held July 23, 1792, Joseph Leach 
was chosen town clerk and con- 
stable ; Joe Gibbs, Joseph Leach 
and James Olmstead, selectmen. 

Martin Elmore, for whom the 
town was named, was its first rep- 
resentative, several times re- 
elected, and first justice of the 
peace. The latter office he held 
18 consecutive years, and was also 
town clerk 41 years, from 1797 to 
1838. Jonathan Bridge, who came 
to Elmore in 1810, was a justice 29 
years and also an associate judge 
of the county court. Seth Olm- 
stead, one of the pioneers of 1790, 
built and kept the first hotel in 
town. George W. Bailey located 
in town from Berlin in 1821. Mr. 
Bailey held most of the town of- 
fices, including that of representa- 
tive, two terms, was sheriff and 
twice elected to the state Senate. 
Obel Camp, who came from Orange 
in 1801, was a prominent towns- 
man, three times representative, 
postmaster 17 years, justice of the 
peace 15 years, and town clerk 26 
years. Elmore contains some sec- 



LAMOILLE COUNTY, 



87 



tions of excellent farm lands in 
the vicinity of Elmore Lake and at 
the foot of the mountain slopes, but 
nuich of the surface, especially in 
the western part, is mountainous 
and broken and unfit for farming. 
A considerable lumber business has 
been carried on in town since the 
advent of the Portland & Ogdens- 
burg Railroad in 1870, although 
the town is not on the line of the 
railroad. 

During the early 80s there were 
seven sawmills, but at present the 
principal lumber business is lo- 
cated at Elmore and East Elmore. 

Elmore, a post village pleasantly 
located in the northern part of the 
town, contains a church, store, ho- 
tel, the lumber mills of the Stowe 
Lumber Company and about a 
dozen dwellings. 

During the late Civil War El- 
more furnished 64 soldiers, includ- 
ing two commissioned officers, 
Major Luman M. Grout of the 
Eighth Vermont Infantry, and 
Captain U. A. Woodl)ury. 

PARKER, Hon. Henry C, was 
born in Elmore, March 7, 1854, a 
son of Hon. Charles S. and Eliza 
A. (Town) Parker. 

Hon. Charles S. Parker was one 
of the substantial men of Ver- 
mont ; served as sheriff of Lamoille 
County, was assistant judge of the 
county, representative of Elmore 
in the General Assembly, and held 
nearly every town office in Elmore. 

Henry C. Parker was educated 
in the public schools, Montpelier 
Seminary and at Eastman's Busi- 
ness College ; taught school several 
winters at Elmore and after com- 
pleting his education he entered 
the employ of his brother, Hon. 
Carlos S. Parker, at Montgomery; 
here he clerked for a while, and 



taught the Montgomery village 
school. 

In 1879 Mr. Parker ])(night a 
stock of goods and located at Enos- 
burg; here he remained for 10 
years: during this time he served 
as postmaster. 

In 1889, owing to the advanced 
years of his parents, he returned 
to Elmore and located on the old 
Parker homestead, which came into 
the family nearly seventy years 
ago. This place is one of the finest 
in Lamoille County and maintains 
one of the finest dairies in this 
locality. Hon. Charles S. Parker 
was a noted breeder and was gen- 
erally regarded as the pioneer 
breeder of Jersey stock in Lamoille 
County. The Parker homestead 
contains 450 acres and carries 60 
head of cattle, six horses and has 
500 sugar trees. 

Henry C. Parker is a consistent 
and uncompromising Republican 
in politics. He has served as lister, 
selectman, school director, justice, 
superintendent of schools and trus- 
tee of public money. In 1876 he 
represented Elmore in the Legisla- 
ture of the state and in 1904 was 
chosen assistant judge of the La- 
moille County Court, a position 
that he fills with becoming dignity, 
sound judgment and good sense. 

He married, May 1, 1883, Stella, 
a daughter of the late Charles An- 
derson of Enosburg. He was an 
engineer during the war and was 
shot on his engine while making his 
run near Memphis, Tennessee, by 
the guerillas, prior to the birth of 
his daughter, Stella. Three chil- 
dren have been born to Judge and 
Mrs. Parker: Ruth, born April 28, 
1884; Ben, born June 4, 1893, and 
Hugh Henry, born in May, 1899. 

The grandfather of Judge Par- 



SUCCESSFUL VERMONTERS. 



ker, Henry C, was born in New 
Hampshire, December 12, 1796 ; 
moved to Barre with his parents 
when young. Henry, Sr., mar- 
ried Mary Batchelder of Plainfield, 
November 5, 1819, and in 1830 re- 
moved to Ehnore. 

Hon. Charles S., father of Henry 



Jane W. (Allen) Bacon. At 20 
years of age Mr. Bacon completed 
his education, after attending the 
public schools of Williamstown, 
Elmore and the People's Academy 
of Morrisville; he then worked out 
for a while and assisted in the 
building of a house in Elmore. 




Henhy C. Parker. 



C, the subject of this sketch, was 
born in Barre, November 2, 1820; 
educated in the public schools and 
academies and October 17, 1842, 
married Eliza A. Town. 

BACON, Oliver D., was born in 
Washington, Orange County, Octo- 
ber 9, 1842, a son of Vine N. and 



He learned the carpenter's trade, 
and for a few years was employed 
by his father on the farm in El- 
more, and continued this work in 
Morrisville, Peacham and Barnet. 
He then worked on public build- 
ings in St. Albans, Randolph, 
Barre and Montpelier. In Janu- 



LAMOILLE COUNTr. 



89 



aiy, 1873, Mr. Bacon located on 
the home farm in Elmore and has 
remained here ever since. Here 
he has by indnstry, care and rare 
intelliiience, surrounded himself 
with all the uecessarj^ comforts of 
life, and won the place of a highly 



children bless this happy union : 
Ethan A. and M. Esther. 

The Bacon homestead is among 
the finest in Lamoille County, and 
faces the beautiful Elmore Pond. 
Twenty years ago Mr. Bacon, rec- 
ognized the possibilities of this lo- 




Olivkr D. Bacon. 



respected citizen in the hearts of 
his fellow townsmen. 

In public affairs, he is a stanch 
Republican; in town he has 
served as lister, selectman, and in 
1904 represented the town in the 
General Assemljly. 

April 24, 1886, Mr. Bacon was 
married to Phoebe Ililibard ; two 



cation for camping purposes, and 
commenced to build cottages and 
boats; he now has three modern 
cottages and 12 good boats, which 
during the summer season are in 
almost constant demand ; truly this 
is an ideal spot. 

Nearly sixty years ago Vine N. 
Bacon and his family located in 



90 



SUCCESSFUL VEKMONTERS, 



Elmore, coming when the town was 
but little more than a wilderness, 
and for the first five years resided 
in a log house. The Bacons are de- 
scendants of Edmund Bacon, a sol- 
dier of the American Revolution, 
whose father was a son of Lord Ba- 
con of England. Oliver D. has in 



ble reputation for his care and ac- 
curacv in this work. 

CHURCHILL, William J., son 
of William and Adeline H. (Dar- 
ling) Churchill, was born in Stowe, 
February 2, 1835. He was the eld- 
est son of a family of four chil- 
dren, two of whom are now living: 




WiLMAM J. ChUUCHILL. 



his possession a powder horn of 
Edmund Bacon and a four dollar 
bill, which was part pay for his 
services in the Revolution. 

Ethan A. Bacon, a brother of 
Oliver D., was a civil engineer, and 
after his death Oliver D. took line 
tracing, and has gained considera- 



Elizabeth J., widow of the late 
Frank Wolstenholm, resides at 
Lowell, Massachusetts. 

Hon. Henry H. Churchill was one 
of the most esteemed and prominent 
citizens of Elmore. He repeatedly 
held nearly all of the town offices, 
including that of representative, 



LAMOILLE COUNTY. 



91 



and was associate judge of La- 
moille County. He married Miss 
Wealthy Hatch, and died in 1901, 
leaving the widow, two sons and 
four daughters, the youngest son 
residing on the home farm. Na- 
than Churchill died some ten years 
ago. 

W. J. Churchill came to Elmore 
with his father's family when he 
was 16 years old. His educational 
advantages were limited to the 
common schools, but he has been 
a keen observer and constant 
reader. He married Ellen L. 
Hatch, March 13, 1862, and soon 
moved to a portion of the home 
farm. This fine hill farm of 450 
acres is located in the southwest 
part of the town and is conducted 
as a stock and dairy farm. Mr. 
Churchill conducts a dairy of 25 
grade Jerseys, and with modern 
apparatus makes and markets his 
own butter. For 40 years he has 
been a successful shepherd, and 
now keeps 40 grade Shropshires, 
whose average clip last year was 
eight pounds. The farm supports 
nearly fifty head of cattle, and 
half a dozen horses. Mr. Churchill 
has built the present farm build- 
ings, and by judicious culture and 
the use of the silo has quadrupled 
the productions. The two sugar 
places contain some fifteen hundred 
maples and there is an extensive 
soft wood timber resource. 

Mr. Churchill is a good type of 
the energetic, successful elderly 
Vermont farmer. During a score 
of years he served continuously as 
selectman or lister, and represented 
Elmore in 1874. 

Mr. and Mrs. Churchill have two 
sons and two daughters : Gertrude, 
Mrs E. G. Foss, resides in Morris- 
ville ; William Maro is located in 
Graniteville ; F. Elwin is associated 



with his father on the farm and 
Elizabeth J. resides with her 
parents. 

WATERVILLE. 

Population, Census of 1900, 529. 

The town of Waterville was 
chartered October 26, 1788, to 
James Whitelaw, James Savage 
and William Coit. At that time 
its area consisted of 11,000 acres. 
To the town has since been an- 
nexed what was originally the 
southeastern corner of Bakers- 
field, and also that part of Belvi- 
dere known as Belvidere "Leg." 

November 15, 1824, an act was 
passed by the Legislature forming 
the town of Waterville, as follows : 

"Whereas, It appears to this 
Assembly that it is inconvenient 
for the inhabitants of the south- 
east corner of Bakersfield, and that 
part of Belvidere called the 
'Leg,' to attend town meetings 
and transact town business in their 
respective towns, and that Coit's 
Gore ought to be incorporated and 
form a new town, etc." 

Then follows the boundary lines 
as now established. 

When Waterville was chartered 
the population did not exceed a 
dozen souls, but by 1824 nearly 
350 lived within the now limits of 
the town. 

E. Henry Willey, in his history 
of Waterville in Miss Hemenway's 
Historical Gazetteer, says: "I can- 
not tell who the first settler in town 
was." I find that a Timothy 
Brown and M. Ward came to Wa- 
terville as early as 1797, bringing 
their families; and there does not 
appear to be any record of an ear- 
lier settlement ; they came from 
New Hampshire. Childs tells us 



92 



SUCCESSFUL VERMONTEIiS. 



that Amos Page built a log house 
iu town as early as 1796, but there 
is no record of its being occupied 
for several years and as persons, 
not unoccupied log houses, consti- 
tute settlement, I am inclined to 
call Timothy Brown of Westmore- 
land, New Hampshire, the first 
settler of the town. In 1798 came 
Abiathar Wetherell from West- 
moreland, and these three families 
seem to have constituted the en- 
tire population until 1803, when 
several families located in town. 

Two weeks after the incorpora- 
ting of the town the first town 
meeting was called, and on Decem- 
ber 13, 1824, was held in a school 
house near the "mills." 

In 1828, the first freeman's meet- 
ing was held, and Luther Poland, 
father of the late Hon. Luke P. 
Poland, was elected as the town's 
first representative. 

In civil and military life Water- 
ville has given her full share to 
the building, making and preserv- 
ing of both the state and the na- 
tion. Nearly a hundred men went 
from her hills to battle for the 
life of the nation, while the names 
of Poland, Gleed and Hendee will 
forever keep her name fresh in the 
memory of those who love their 
native land. 

IMcFARLAND, Captain Moses 
of Waterville, son of Osgood Mc- 
Farland and I\lary (Bartlett) Mc- 
Farland, eighth child in a family 
of 12, was born at Marietta, Ohio, 
June 25, 1821. 

He is of Scotch-Irish descent, 
tracing his genealogical line to the 
Clan IMacFarlane which Sir Wal- 
ter Scott refers to in ' ' Cadvow Cas- 
tle" as "The wild MacFarlane's 
plaided Clan." Their ancestral 
estate, ' ' Arrochar, ' ' dating back to 
early in the thirteenth century, re- 



mained in the possession of the 
clan until its sale in 1784. 

When three years of age Mr. 
McFarland removed with the fam- 
ily to Waterville, making the jour- 
ney by ox team conveyance. Since 
coming to Vermont in 1824, he has 
resided continuously in Waterville, 
giving him the unique distinction 
of the longest residence in town of 
anyone since its settlement. He is 
also the oldest man in town, and, 
although nearly eighty-five years 
of age, is still unusually vigorous 
and active. 

October 22, 1849, he married Li- 
vonia A. Leach, who was born in 
Waterville, May 29, 1820, and 
died May 22, 1889. The issue of 
this marriage were five children : 
Lewis, born March 21, 1851, died 
August 7, 1851 ; Henry Moses (see 
page 15), born August 5, 1852; 
Fred Harley, born March 9, 1854; 
Burton, born June 23, 1856, died 
July 14, 1856 ; Cora Livonia, born 
May 25, 1858, died October 9, 
1862. For his second wife he mar- 
ried Julia Howard, with whom he 
now resides in Waterville. From 
this marriage there has been no 
issue, but in 1905 they adopted a 
bright little girl, Ha May, born 
May 4, 1900. 

Mr. McFarland is a member of 
Warner Lodge, No. 50, F. & A. 
M., and, though advanced in years, 
still takes an active interest in the 
affairs of the lodge. He was the 
first member to be received after 
the lodge received its charter. 

In religious belief, he is a Uni- 
versalist and about fifty years 
ago he aided largely by personal 
means and effort in the erection of 
a church in Waterville for the use 
of the society to which he belonged. 

Politically, he has always been a 
Democrat of the true Jacksonian 




Moses McFarland. 



94 



SUCCESSFUL VERMONTEKS. 



type. This made him a war Dem- 
ocrat supportino: Lincoln in 1861, 
as well as a gold, or sound money 
Democrat in more recent years. 

As the grandfather, ]\Ia.jor Moses 
McFarland, fought with General 
Wolfe at Quebec and gave his 
services to the creation of the 
republic in the terrible struggle of 
the Revolution, so the grandson, 
Captain Moses McFarland, re- 
sponded to the call to arms when 
the life of the republic was threat- 
ened. He enlisted in the War of 
the Rebellion in September, 1861, 
serving as a line officer in the 
Eighth Vermont Regiment until 
the close of the war. being mustered 
out of the service in June, 1865. 
His regiment was assigned to the 
Gulf Department, under General 
Benjamin F. Butler. He was at 
the taking of New Orleans and par- 
ticipated in the forty-three-days' 
siege of Port Hudson. On the 
8th of January, 1863, Captain 
IMcFarland Avith 35 men drove a 
force of Confederates consisting of 
85 men and two pieces of artillery, 
from their rifle-pits, taking 28 
prisoners, including their com- 
mander, who surrendered to Cap- 
tain McFarland his sword and pis- 
tols. After the engagement he 
gave the weapons to his superior 
officer, who looked them over with 
curiosity and returned them to 
Captain McFarland, saying, "I 
think your conduct today has 
shown that you are quite as capa- 
ble of taking care of them as any- 
one." This action and the strat- 
egy made use of that night, in 
lighting long lines of fires, indicat- 
ing the encampment of a large 
army, caused the Confederates to 
desert their fortifications and burn 
the gunboat Cotton, the last of 
their fleet in these waters, giving 



the Union forces a victory of no 
small significance. 

In July, 1864, after the return 
of the regiment to New Orleans 
from furlough granted on re- 
enlistment, it was ordered to report 
for service under General Philip 
H. Sheridan in the Shenandoah 
Valley in Virginia, and partici- 
pated in every battle in the follow- 
ing campaign in the valley. At 
the battle of Winchester Captain 
McFarland was carried to the 
field in an ambulance, and, against 
the orders of General Thomas, 
fought all day and marched 20 
miles after the battle, pursuing the 
enemy fleeing up the valley. On 
October 19, 1864, was fought the 
battle of Cedar Creek, 20 miles 
from Winchester, Virginia, one of 
the most noted of the war, during 
a part of which battle, after the 
wounding of INIajor ]Mead, Captain 
McFarland commanded the regi- 
ment. The experience of the 
Eighth Vermont in this battle was 
one of the most sanguinary of the 
war. Out of a total of 164 men en- 
gaged, in less than an hour of the 
early morning of that terrible day, 
the regiment lost 110 men killed, 
wounded or prisoners, and 13 out 
of 16 commissioned officers. This 
percentage of loss was but once 
equalled by any Vermont regiment 
during the war. 

Captain McFarland has always 
been a very active man. Before 
the war and until recent years he 
has been occupied with various in- 
dustrial enterprises, to the accom- 
j)lishment of which he has brought 
a strong purpose and great energy. 
He has always been very public 
spirited, contributing willingly and 
largely, both in time and money, 
to the advancement of his town 
and villau:e. He is a man of 



LAlSrOILLE COUNTY. 



95 



strong personality, independent in 
thought and deed, forceful and re- 
sourceful, who has made his im- 
print on the community in which 



Jackson, was born in IMontgomery, 
November 9, 1846. 

James Jackson, grandfather of 
Heber A., was born in Chesterfield, 




he has lived so long, In a way not 
soon to be effaced. 

JACKSON, Hon. Heber A., a 
son of Horace and Maria (Barber) 



New Hampshire. He came to Ver- 
mont in middle life and settled in 
Swanton. Here he married and 
three children were born to him. 



96 



SUCCESSFUL VERMONTERS. 



Horace Jackson, son of James, 
was born in Swantou, in October, 
1801 ; was reared upon the farm 
and chose that occupation for his 
life work. Subsequently he moved 
to ^Montgomery and devoted his 
time and attention to the cultiva- 
tion and improvement of his farm. 

Heber A. Jackson was educated 
in the public schools of his native 
town. September 10, 1864, beino- 
a mere boy of 17 years, he enlisted 
in Company A, Ninth Regiment, 
Vermont Volunteers: after five 
months' service with this regiment, 
he was transferred to Company G, 
Fifth Vermont Volunteer Infantry, 
and Avas discharged, July 2, 1865. 
lie joined his regiment at Chapin^s 
farm : he participated in the bat- 
tle of Sailor's Creek, the two bat- 
tles in front of Petersburg and va- 
rious minor engagements. After 
returning: from the war he engaged 
in business in Eden and later at 
North Hyde Park. He then dealt 
extensively in timber and has con- 
tinued being: thus engaged. In 
connection with his various enter- 
prises he has dealt largely in 
horses and carriages, purchasing in 
the Boston market and disposing- 
of them to the farm trade. He re- 
sides on a splendid farm in Water- 
ville, formerly owned by Judge 
Luke Poland. 

Mr. Jackson is, in politics, a Re- 
publican; he represented Water- 
ville in the General Assembly in 
1892, was returned to that body 
again in 1898 and in 1902 repre- 
sented Lamoille County in the 
state Senate. At each of these 
sessions Senator Jackson was a 
hard and intelligent worker for not 
only his constituency but the state 
as well, and he has left his impress 
on much of the important legisla- 
tion of the three sessions. 



He is an ex-commander of Car- 
penter Post, 100, G. A. R., and a 
member of AVarner Lodge, A. F. 
& A. M. 

On January 1, 1867, Senator 
Jackson married Bathsheba Stone. 
Three children have been born to 
them, all of whom are deceased. 
Mrs. Jackson died in 1875, at the 
age of 30 years. Mr. Jackson mar- 
ried for his second wife Electa 
Wheeler, and two children have 
been liorn to this union : Olga (Mrs. 
Rollo Thomas of Johnson) and 
Cassie, a student at Bakersfield 
Academy. 

WOODWARD, Homer C, was 
liorn in Enosl)urg in 1870 ; was lo- 
cated in Waterville in 1882. He 
was married in 1891. He resided 
in Fletcher for three years, but re- 
turned again to Waterville, where 
he was a successfid farmer for 
eight years. He was a representa- 
tive to the General Assembly in 
1902 and has held the offices of 
first selectman and school director. 
He moved to Enosburg in 1906. 
In politics Mr. Woodward is a 
Republican. 

KELLEY, JoHX. Among the 
substantial and influential names 
prominently connected Avith the 
early history of Vermont is found 
that of John Kelley, a sturdy, sub- 
stantial New York patriot. 

On March 5, 1787, Governor 
Chittenden and his council granted 
to Kelley two townships, one the 
present town of Lowell, in Orleans 
County. This town for 41 years 
was known as Kelley vale. The 
other grant composed the present 
town of Belvidere, that portion of 
Waterville known as "Belvidere 
Leg," and 21 square miles of the 
present town of Eden. 

Kelley Avas a man of unusual 



LAMOILLE COUNTY. 



97 



ability, strong' minded and for 
many years was a leading factor in 
the land deals of this section. 
August 28, 1781, when Governor 
Chittenden and the council granted 
the town of Eden to Colonel Seth 
Warner, the intrepid leader of the 
' * Green Mountain Boys, ' ' the grant 



then given in the schools of that 
day. June, 1854, he married Man- 
dana P. Ober of Eden. Seven 
children were born to them, one of 
whom, Omer G., now resides at 
AVaterville. 

John A. Kelley was a man of 
strong opinions, a devoted church 




Homer C. Woodwakd. 



contained but 36 square miles, but 
was later added to by an arrange- 
ment with John Kelley whereby 
the town grant was nearly doubled. 
John Kelley located in Water- 
ville and while residing here one of 
his children, John A., was born, 
November 3, 1829. John A. Kel- 
ley received the limited education 

A— 8 



man and useful citizen. He held 
many of the town offices, was a 
strong temperance advocate and a 
consistent member of the ]\Iethodist 
church and for many years was its 
valued superintendent of the Sun- 
day school department. He was a 
member of Company I, First Ver- 
mont Cavalry, under Colonel E. B, 



98 



SUCCESSFUL VERMONTERS. 



Sawyer, now of Hyde Park. He 
enlisted in 18(31 and was discharged 
for disability in the fall of 1862. 
He died July 8, 1884. 

Omer G. Kelley, a son of John 
A. and Mandana T. (Ober) Kelley, 
was born in Eden, June 11, 1855, 
and was educated in the district 



LARAWAY, Frank. Few names 
are better known in Lamoille 
County than that of Laraway, 
father and son, of Waterville. 

Frank Laraway was born in 
Canada in 1836 and came with his 
parents to Johnson in 18-14; here 
he worked on the farm and later in 




Frank Lakaway. 



schools of Eden, the graded schools 
of Milton and at the Fairfax Insti- 
tute. For the past 20 years J\Ir. 
Kelley has been carpenter, black- 
smith and wheelwright at Water- 
ville. August 16, 1879, he was 
united in marriage to Frances Ste- 
vens. Mr. Kelley has served his 
town as a lister and selectman. 



the woods. Born with a perfect 
physique, an indomitable will and 
unusual capacity for work, suc- 
cess was his natural reward. In 
1855 ]Mr. Laraway married Me- 
linda Jacobs of Franklin ; 13 
children came to this happy union, 
six of whom are living. In 
1885 the family located at Water- 



LAMOILLE COUNTY, 



99 



ville, bought the saw and grist- 
mill of the Lyman Holmes estate; 
the mill was thoroughly repaired, 
and in the fall of 1886 Abraham 
L., a son, came and joined in the 
business and here was laid the 
foundation of a business that was 
soon destined to be the chiefest in- 



to 30 men the year round and do- 
ing a business of upwards of $50,- 
000 a year. The firm owns 3,000 
acres of farm and timber lands and 
since coming to Waterville have 
built and remodeled a dozen or 
more of houses, remodeled the 
store property until they have one 




Abraham L. Laraway. 



dustry of the town. In the fall of 
1886 Abraham L. opened a gen- 
eral store, which is now a part of 
the Laraway property. The firm 
handles from a million to a million 
and a half of dressed lumber an- 
nually, cutting the most of it on 
their own land, giving employment 



of the finest general stores in La- 
moille County. 

Abraham L. Laraway, the active 
managing head of the Laraway in- 
dustries, was born at Johnson, in 
1860, attended the public schools 
of that place and graduated from 
the State Normal School in 1881. 



a9^> 



3'^ 



100 



SUCCESSFUL VERMONTERS. 




5 o 

5) 



After completing his education he 
went to St. Albans and entered the 
auditing department of the Central 
Vermont Railroad, remaining until 
the fall of 1886, when he entered 
into business with his father at 
Waterville. 

January 16, 1887, ]Mr. Laraway 
was united in marriage to Olive 
( Greene) Anderson, a lady of rare 
Avorth. Mr. Laraway has served 
Waterville six years as a school 
director, as lister and town audi- 
tor. He is affiliated Avith the 
Knights of Pythias and Odd Fel- 
lows. Mr. Laraway is a good ex- 
ample of what energy and hustle 
will do. when coupled with a keen 
judgment and a splendid faculty 
for business organization. 

EDEX. 

Population, Census of 1900, 738. 

The town was granted Novem- 
ber 7, 1780, and chartered August 
28, 1781, the charter deed reading 
as follows : 

"The Governor, Council, and 
General Assembly of the Freemen 
of the State of Vermont : To all 
people to whom these presents shall 
come. Greeting: Know ye, that 
whereas Colonel Seth Warner and 
his associates, our worthy friends, 
viz. : The Officers and Soldiers of 
his regiment in the line of the 
Continental Army, have, by peti- 
tion, requested a grant of unappro- 
priated land within the State, in 
order for settling a new planta- 
tion, to be converted into a town- 
ship : We have therefore thought 
fit, for the encouragement of their 
laudable designs, and as a consid- 
eration, in part, for their past 
meritorious services to their coun- 
try; And do, by these presents, in 
the name and by the authority of 
the Freemen of the State of Ver- 




Kj/y-Cy^y-y-^L 



102 



SUCCESSFUL VEEMONTERS. 



mont, ^ive and grant the tract of 
land unto the said Seth Warner, 
Lieutenant-Colonel Samuel Saf- 
ford, and the several persons here- 
after named, in equal rights or 
shares. ' ' 

Then follows the names of AVar- 
ner and those who served in his 
regiment, 72 in all, and the shares 
each should possess, the document 
being signed by Thomas Chitten- 
den, governor of the state. Until 
1828, the town had an area of only 
23,040 acres, but on the 30th day 
of October, of that year, 13,140 
acres were annexed from Belvidere. 

Settlement was commenced in 
1800, and the town was organized 
March 31, 1802. In 1803 Thomas 
H. Parker was chosen as the tirst 
representative to the Legislature. 
Doctor Eliphoz Eaton, father of 
Governor Horace Eaton, was the 
first physician. The first child to 
be born in town was Eden Brown, 
a son of Isaac and Lydia Brown. 

Seventy -three of Eden's sons 
went from her peaceful hillside 
homes to defend our country in 
her hour of great need. 

On the page of fame 

Does the soldier's valor bloom 
Brighter than the roses 

Cast upon his tomb. 

Few of the small towns of our 
state have sent out more strong 
men than Eden. Four county 
judges, a probate judge, three 
high sheriffs, the chief judge of 
the court of claims and a host of 
sturdy sons who have had a mighty 
part in the social, fraternal, reli- 
gious, political and business build- 
ing of the county and state. 

PLUJklLEY, Hon. Frank, a 
brilliant lawyer, an orator of na- 
tional reputation and a statesman 
of international fame, was born in 
Eden, December 17, 1844, was 



reared on the farm, educated in 
the public schools and at People's 
Academy of Morrisville, taught 
school for a time, entered the law 
office of Powers & deed at ]\Iorris- 
ville and a year later entered the 
law department of the University 
of Michigan. He was admitted to 
the Lamoille County bar in 1869 
and located at Northfield that year. 
In the practice of his profession he 
has won signal recognition ; has 
served Washington County for 
four years as state's attorney. In 
1889 he was appointed by Presi- 
dent Harrison L^nited States attor- 
ney for the district of Vermont. 
In 1888 he was a delegate to the 
national Republican convention 
and was a member of the commit- 
tee that drafted the platform for 
that campaign. He served 21 
years on Northfield 's board of edu- 
cation. In 1882 he represented 
Northfield in the General Assembly 
and in 1894 was elected a state 
senator for Washington County ; at 
the organization of the Senate he 
was chosen as president pro tern. 
He is now serving as chief judge 
of the Vermont court of claims. 

BLAKE, Captain Charles 
AVesley. It is not for us to se- 
lect our birthplace nor to make 
choice of our ancestry, but satisfied 
ought we to be, if we number 
among them those who have been 
patriots, tried and true ; that 
whether sailors, soldiers or citi- 
zens, they acted well their part. 

Captain Charles Wesley Blake 
was born in Hyde Park, February 
11, 1839 ; Avas the youngest of four 
sons of Caleb and Charlotte 
(West) Blake. His father, born 
in Alaine, belonged to a sturdy race 
of sea-faring men ; was by trade 
a carpenter; lived in Johnson, Wa- 
terville and Cambridge, working 




Charles W. and Mrs. Blake. 



104 



SUCCESSFUL VERMONTERS. 



on the bridges across the Lamoille. 
At Cambridge, the third son, 
Thomas West, was drowned in the 
river while bathing. Charles at- 
tended the district schools in each 
town. In 1855 the family moved 
to Eden, purchasing a farm in the 
west part of the town. 

When the Civil War broke out 
the three sons enlisted: Joseph S. 
in a Wisconsin regiment, Orwell 
and Charles in the Eighth Vermont 
Regiment. They each came out of 
the conflict broken in health; at 
this date, 1906, all have gone. 
Charles was appointed third ser- 
geant at the organization of the 
company, November 15, 1861 ; July 
7, 1862, he was appointed orderly 
sergeant, which jjosition he filled 
until September, 1862 ; receiving- 
orders from General Benjamin F. 
Butler to recruit for a new regi- 
ment, to be known as Third L. 
N. G., he set about the work; No- 
vember 26, 1862, this regiment was 
tilled, mustered and organized; 
Charles was commissioned captain 
of Company A, and his brother, 
Orville, was quartermaster with 
this regiment ; they were at Baton 
Rouge, and later at Port Hudson ; 
Charles was for several months in 
command of the regiment. 

Captain Blake was ever proud 
of his military record, yet never 
boasted of his achievements. His 
detestation of office seeking, and 
the prevailing political methods, 
had much to do with his unassum- 
ing life. He loved companionship 
of chosen friends and was ever 
true. He belonged to but one or- 
ganization, the Grand Army of the 
Republic, hence this sketch can pre- 
sent no long list of offices with de- 
tails and dates. During the last 
weeks of his life he spoke of ap- 
proaching death with the same 



calm, philosophical way in which 
he had ever lived. He had no fear 
of death, yet was too unassuming to 
boast of self-righteousness. With 
conscience clear, not at enmity 
with himself or the world, he 
calmly faced the "Great Beyond." 

June 15, 1861, he married Julia 
S. Darling, daughter of Norris M. 
and Mary (McClary) Darling. 
Seven children were born to them: 
Charles 0. Blake, superintendent 
of department of woodwork in the 
shops at Southbriclge, Massachu- 
setts; Ben Butler Blake of Eden, 
see page 105 ; James C. Blake, 
member of council chamber, 
Worcester, Massachusetts ; Norris 
D., president V. B.C., Burlington; 
Mrs. Kate B. Parkhurst of Eden; 
Mary C, died in infancy, and 
Leon H. of East Barre. Twelve 
grandchildren are found in the 
circle. 

Mrs. Charles W. Blake is a de- 
scendant of the McClary family, 
who made an enviable record in 
Revolutionary times. Her father, 
Norris M. Darling, was one of the 
pioneers of the Republican party; 
lectured many times during the 
John C. Fremont campaign ; was 
agent for Vermont Mutual Fire 
Insurance Company for 30 consec- 
utive years; was justice of the 
peace and notary 40 years. He 
was born in 1816 ; died, 1888. 

BLAKE, Ben Butler, was born 
in Eden, Lamoille County, Novem- 
ber 10, 1864; was the second son 
of Captain Charles W. and Julia 
(Darling) Blake. He was a 
farmer boy; attended the district 
school until 16 years of age, when 
he entered the New Hampton In- 
stitute at Fairfax, working for his 
board and lodging; here he made 
fine progress until trouble with his 
eyes compelled a halt. 




Ben B. Blake. 



106 



SUCCESSFUL VERMONTEUS. 



Early in life he longed to get 
possession of some of the timber 
sections in town and vicinity. He 
bonght one lot after another nntil 
he owned quite an area. In 1891 
he, with his family, moved to Mor- 
risville, where he built two houses, 
and engaged in the manufacture 
of butter tubs. 

After five years' residence in Mor- 
risville he returned to his native 
town and in 1896 commenced the 
manufacture of five-pound butter 
boxes. He purchased the shop of 



England Asbestos Mining and 
Milling Company, of which he was 
a director, their mines. He is now 
owner of the entire plant of that 
company. 

In 1902 he bought the home 
place of Judge Edwin C. White 
on the Guihon Branch ; also the 
farm across the river, formerly 
owned by his wife's mother. The 
next year he came in possession of 
a farm on the west shore of Lake 
Eden; has built a few cottages at 
the place ; has a fair prospect of 













. 




^1^^ 




m 


^fT ^aCT^jr-rwj| 


^^^^^ 


mi 




■ 


^^H 


HI 




■■ *• -'J^l>^. 'Mwr^ 


-^ 



Asbestos Mines at Eden, Owned bv Ben B. I^lake. 



Lieutenant-Governor Charles H. 
Stearns, and soon built a large saw- 
mill in addition. Keeping up the 
box business, he is also extensively 
engaged in the manufacture of 
lumber of all kinds. 

He represented his town in the 
Legislature in 1902; was three 
times elected one of the board of 
selectmen, twice the chairman of 
the board ; is also town grand juror. 

Ben B. Blake has perhaps been 
more widely known in the asbestos 
business, having sold to the New 



becoming a favorite summer re- 
sort. 

In June, 1884, Ben B. Blake 
married Clara Metta Buxton, 
daughter of Simeon and Esther 
(Atwell) Buxton. Her father was 
inventor and manufacturer of the 
famous Buxton water-wheel, his 
shop being on the same site as the 
Lane INIanufacturing Plant of 
Montpelier. Her mother was 
daughter of Doctor Atwell, late of 
Eden, and widow of Doctoi- New- 
comb of Hyde Park. 



LAMOILLE COUNTY. 



107 



Mr. Blake and family are mem- 
bers of the Congregational Chnrch, 
he being superintendent of the 
Sunday school for a numlier of 
years; is an active worker in the 
Christian Endeavor Society ; is a 
member of the Masonic order, Mt. 
Norris Lodge, No. 69 ; also of the 
American Woodmen. 



happy union : Myra Minnetta, 
born at Eden, in February, 1888, 
is undergraduate of ]\Iorrisville 
Academy, class of 1906; INIarion 
Esther, born in October, 1891; 
Roger Norris, born in November, 
1893 ; Ruth Julia, born in April, 
1895 — the last three were born in 
Morrisville. 




William J. Atweli-. 



Mrs. Blake was born at Hyde 
Park; was educated in the schools 
at Worcester, Massachusetts; was a 
successful teacher and Sunday 
school teacher ; is county president 
of Lamoille County Woman's 
Christian Temperance Union. 

Four children were born of this 



AT WELL, William J., born in 
Eden, January 7, 1869, a son of 
James and Mary (Hadley) Atwell, 
and a grandson of William C. At- 
well, who came from Wentworth, 
Mass., in 1814, and settled in Eden 
on the farm where William J. now 
resides, and built the first frame 



108 



SUCCESSFUL VEKMONTERS. 



barn in town. This barn is still 
standing on the premises. 

William C. Atwell was a physi- 
cian by profession and was the 
first to locate in the town. He 
held the various town offices and 
represented the town in 1859, and 
was noted for the painstaking and 
faithful manner in which he dis- 
charged all his duties, both public 
and professional. He died in 
1867, aged 77 years. 

James, a son of Doctor William 
C. Atwell, was born August 15, 
1831; was educated in the district 
schools of Eden, has always fol- 
lowed farming along thoroughly 
progressive lines, has served the 
town as lister, treasurer, selectman, 
justice of the peace, road commis- 
sioner, and in 1894 was elected to 
represent the town in the General 
Assembly. He married ]\Iary 
Hadley of Eden. Two children 
were born to them: Etta M. (Mrs. 
Frank L. Whittemore of Eden) 
and William J. 

William J. Atwell was educated 
in the public schools of Eden, 
People's Academy of Morrisville, 
and at the Albany Business Col- 
lege. He has always followed 
farming and resides on one of the 
best farms in Lamoille County, 
consisting of 137 acres; 26 head of 
cattle, 20 sheep and five horses are 
kept on the place. This is one of 
the finest herds of Jersey cattle 
in the state, having been bred from 
the noted Walker herd of Worces- 
ter, Massachusetts. 

]Mr. Atwell married, July 3, 
1893, Hattie M. Hodges of Eden. 
They have two children : INIerrill 
H., born May 31, 1897, and Irene 
M.. born INfay 8, 1902. 

Although a young man, JMr. At- 
well has frequently been called to 
public places by his townsmen, and 



has served them as selectman, lister 
and town clerk ; this latter office he 
still holds. He is known as a 
young man of high ideals, sterling 
integritv and worth. 

WHITTEMORE, Frank L., a 
son of Ira and Sarah (Hinds) 
Whittemore, was born in Eden 
October 18, 1861. 

Charles Whittemore, father of 
Ira and grandfather of Frank L., 
was a man of note in his day. He 
came to Eden about the year 1800 
and located on a farm near the 
eastern shore of North Pond, w^here 
he resided most of the remaining 
years of his life, rearing a family 
of eight children, one of whom was 
Ira. ^Ir. Whittemore was a sturdy 
man and much respected citizen. 
He held nearly all the town offices 
and his death was the occasion of 
profound sorrow to his townsmen. 

jNIr. Whittemore 's great-grand- 
father entered the American army 
in 1778, when only 16 years old. 
He was one of the men who were 
sold to the British by the traitor 
Arnold. He came to Eden in 1802 
and erected the first mills in town. 
In March, 1802, he was elected 
treasurer and constable and held 
other important offices. He was 
an active, interesting business man. 
He died in Eden in 1837. 

Ira AVhittemore, son of Charles, 
was born June 12, 1827. He was 
educated in the common schools 
and followed farming and mill 
work. He married, February 18, 
1853, Sarah Hines, a daughter of 
Abel S. and Maria Hines. The 
Hines family were among the first 
settlers of Eden and long bore a 
leading and important part in the 
building and developing of the 
town. 

Frank L. Whittemore was edu- 
cated in the district schools of his 



LAMOILLE COUNTY. 



109 



native town. After leaving school 
he took up mill work and later 
learned the carpenter's trade, 
which he followed until four years 
ago, when he l^ecanie proprietor of 
his present general store at Eden 
Mills. 

He has served Eden as lister, 



THE SHATTUCK FAMILY. 
Captain Moody Shattuck, a native 
of Athens, settled in the north- 
western part of Belvidere in 1807. 
He filled many of the town offices, 
represented the town several times 
in the State Legislature and was a 
captain in the battle of Plattsburg. 




Frank L. Whittemore. 



grand juror, auditor, school di- 
rector, assistant postmaster, and in 
1900 represented the town in the 
General Assembly. 

July 7, 1883, ' Mr. Whittemore 
was united in marriage to Etta M., 
a daughter of James and Mary 
(Hadley) Atwell of Eden. They 
have one child, Freda, born March 
6, 1897. 



Randall Shattuck, youngest son 
of Captain Moody Shattuck, was 
born in Belvidere, April 4, 1811. 
For half a century he continued to 
live in his native town. He mar- 
ried Mary A. Thomas, and eight 
children blessed their happy union. 
In 1864 he located in Waterville, 
but two years later removed to 
Eden. Here he lived a life of ac- 



110 



SUCCESSFUL VERMONTERS. 



tivity until 1896, when he moved 
to the home of his eldest son, Mar- 
tin; here he and his devoted wife 
received the tender care and atten- 
tion due them. December 6, 1898, 




Maktin Siiattuck. 

Mrs. Shattiick departed this life, 
and December 30, 1902, he re- 
sponded to the summons of the 
Great Father. He was a man uni- 
versally loved and esteemed and 
held many positions of honor and 
trust. 

Martin Shattuck, son of Randall 
and Mary A. (Thomas) Shattuck, 
was born in Belvidere, February 5, 
1842 ; educated in the common 
schools of his native town ; he re- 
mained on the farm until he was 
22, and then entered his cousin's 
store at Waterville as a clerk. Two 
years later he married Meribah E. 
H. Wilbur and returned to the 
home farm. In May, 1871, he 
moved to Eden, and with a decid- 



edly limited capital, entered trade, 
which for 35 years has annually 
increased in volume. He has 
been one of the foremost citizens 
of the town and has been noted as 
a safe and successful financier and 
a liberal donor to all worthy causes 
Two sons have been born to Mr. 
and Mrs. Shattuck. For 22 years 
he served as postmaster of Eden. 
He has held the various town offices 
and in 1880 he represented Eden in 
the General Assembly. He is a 
member of the Masonic fraternity 
and Tucker Chapter, R, A. M. 




Harlan W. Shattuck. 

Marshall R. Shattuck, son of 
Randall and Mary A. (Thomas) 
Shattuck, was born in Belvidere, 
August 9, 1847. He received his 
education in the public schools of 
his native town and after complet- 
ing his education, devoted his time 
to farm work in Belvidere, Water- 
ville and Eden until his majority. 
He then went to Lebanon, New 
Hampshire, where he was several 
years engaged ii\ tllQ fiirniturebusi.-. 



LAMOILLE COUNTS. 



Ill 



ness with J. C. Sturtevant & Co. 
He was then engaged in the same 
line in Boston for two years, when 
he returned to Eden and remained 
with his father three years, and in 
1879 he located in Worcester, Mas- 
sachusetts, and engaged in the 
produce business and has so re- 
mained to the present time. He is 
a member of the Odd Fellows and 
Knights of Pythias. 

Harlan W.'Shattuck, son of Mar- 
tin and Meriliah E. H. (Wilbur) 
Shattuck, was born in Waterville, 
May 24, 1870. A year later his 
parents removed to Eden ; here he 
received his early schooling and 




Marshall E. Shattuck. 

graduated from the People's Acad- 
emy of Morrisville in the class of 
1888. He then took up railroad 
telegraphy and was located at 
Cambridge Junction nearly two 



years, at which time he returned 
to Eden and entered his father's 
store where he has continued ever 
since. 

In 1891 he was united in mar- 
riage to Susie Dodge of Morris- 
town. Three children have been 
born to them: Koy L., Blanch Z. 
and Vivian J. 

Mr. Shattuck has held several 
town offices and in 1904 was chosen 
to represent Eden in the Cleneral 
Assembly. He was appointed 
postmaster in December, 1897, and 
still holds that position. 

BACON, Doctor Henry W., a 
son of Eben W. and Mary Jane 
(Thorn) Bacon, w^as born in Chel- 
sea, July 15, 1849 ; received his 
earlyschoolingin the public schools 
of Chelsea and Washington Select 
School, and graduated from Barre 
Academy, J. S. Spaulding, princi- 
pal, in the class of 1869 ; studied 
medicine with Doctor A. E. Fields 
of Washington and Doctor H. 0. 
Worthen of Barre, and at the Uni- 
versity of Vermont and IMontreal 
hospitals. 

Doctor Bacon located at John- 
son in 1871 and remained for a 
year, removing to Eden in 1872, 
where he has remained ever since, 
meeting with that degree of suc- 
cess which ever rewards the care- 
ful, painstaking and conscientious 
physician. 

April 23, 1873, Doctor Bacon 
was united in marriage to Harriet 
A. Dickerman. Two children have 
been born to them: Minnie E. (IMrs. 
Timothy Chandler Arbuckle of 
Wolcott) and Lillian M. Kimball, 
Hyde Park. 

For three and a half years Doc- 
tor Bacon served Eden as a school 
director and 10 years as health 
officer. He is affiliated with the 
Masonic fraternity and is a mem- 



112 



SUCCESSFUL VERMONTEHS. 



ber of the New Enoland Eclectic 
Medical Society; also registered 
January 9, 1906, as required by 
section "9 of Act No. 133, Public 
Acts of 1904, and recorded in the 
office of the secretary of state, 
February 27, 1906. 

STONE, Elbridge H., born in 
Eden, May 30, 1847, a son of 



for a year and a half, returning to 
Eden. At the end of that time he 
re-entered school for a short period 
of time and then spent a year and 
a half at his trade at Cady's Palls. 
In 1871 Mr. Stone bought his pres- 
ent shop in Eden and has ever since 
served the public faithfully and 
well. 




Elbridge H/ Stone. 



Henry IT. and Diana (Richards) 
Stone. He was educated in the 
district schools of his native town 
and at 18 years of age went to 
Waterbury and remained a year, 
working as a blacksmith. He then 
went to Worcester, Massachusetts, 
and followed the same line of work 



In 1872 Mr. Stone was united in 
marriage to Elizabeth M. Scott of 
Eden. One child has been the fruit 
of their happy union, Orill B., 
born April 19, 1880. Mrs. Stone 
was a daughter of Sabin Scott, who 
for 40 years was a merchant of 
Eden. He was a man of great 



LAMOILLE COUNTY. 



113 



worth, sound ,jiid<i'nient and sturdy 
qualities, which made him a lead- 
ing man of his day. He lived to 
be 94 years of age and died in 1902. 
Ell)ridge H. )Stone has always 
taken a keen interest in the affairs 
of his town and has sei-ved as school 
director eight years, selectman two 
years, lister, collector of taxes, jus- 
tice of the peace twelve years. In 
1881: Mr. Stone was elected to the 
General Assembly of Vermont from 
Eden. He is a member of Mount 
Norris Lodge, No. 69, A. F. and 
A. M., Tucker Chapter, No. 15, and 
Mount Zion Connnandery, No. 9, 
of Montpelier. 

J(3HNS0N. 

Population, Cen.sus of 1900, 1,391. 

The Lamoille A^alley was from 
the earliest times one of the war 
trails of the French and Indians 
in their foi-ays from Lake Cham- 
plain upon the pioneer settlemeuts 
along the Connecticut River. 

The town of Johnson was settled 
after the Revolution, and its his- 
tory cannot present as much of 
stirring incident and heroic ven- 
tures as the early settled towns. 
There is a story, however, relating 
to the first grantee, that illustrates 
the dangers and hardships of the 
times. As early as 1780 a Timothy 
Brown, an early settler of Jer- 
icho, secured a grant of the town, 
and caused the outlines to be run, 
and commenced the allotment in 
the eastern part of the town and 
gave to it the name of Brownville, 
or Brownington. In the mean- 
time the northern tribe of Indians 
residing upon the Canadian fron- 
tier had begun to pour in upon the 
wilderness territory of Northern 
Vermont, destroying property and 
carrying away pioneers into cap- 
tivity. 

In 1771 Mr. Brown and his fam- 

A— 9 



ily, consisting of his wife, a daugh- 
ter and two sons, made the diffi- 
cult journey from Massachusetts to 
Jericho, and considerably im- 
proved their lot. In 1780, the year 
the town was granted to him, the 
family was surprised and made 
prisoners by a party of Indians, 
who killed their domestic animals, 
set fire to their buildings and hur- 
ried them to Montreal. The pris- 
oners suffered much on their jour- 
ney from fatigue and hunger, their 
principal food being raw bear's 
meat. On arriving at St. Johns 
they were turned over to the Brit- 
ish officers and their captors re- 
ceived the bounty due them, $8 
per head, for their prisoners. For 
three years they were retained as 
nominal prisoners, though they 
were in reality slaves, being obliged 
to serve their exacting masters, 
and receiving in return nothing but 
insults and the poorest fare. 

During the years of Mr. Brown's 
captivity the charter fees for his 
town grant remained unpaid, and 
his continued absence led to the be- 
lief that he was dead. 

So another grant of the terri- 
tory was made to Samuel William 
Johnson and his associates, bearing 
date February 27, 1782. Upon 
the return of ^Ir. Brown a dispute 
arose between him and Mr. John- 
son relative to the right of the 
township. This difficulty was com- 
promised by a new grant being 
made to Mr. Brown of the present 
town of Brownington, in Orleans 
County. The charter verifying 
]\Ir. Johnson's grant was not ob- 
tained until June 2, 1792, issued 
by the governor to the grantee and 
bearing the name of the grantee, 
Johnson. 

The first settlement was made in 
1781: by Samuel Eaton, who came 
from Piermont, New Hampshire. 



114 



SUCCESSFUL VERMONTERS. 



He was a soldier of both the 
French and Revohitionary wars. 
He moved from Connecticut River, 
and carrying his whole effects upon 
a pack horse for more than sixty 
miles, principally through an en- 
tire wilderness, half of the dis- 
tance by spotted trees, which he 
and his companions had previously 
marked v/hile on scouting parties 



from the government for Revolu- 
tionary services. 

The next year a number from 
the same vicinity in New England 
made beginnings in the town, two 
by the name of IMcConnell. The 
allotment of the town was made in 
1788 or 1789. The survey, how- 
ever, was very incorrect. 

The first town meeting was held 




The State Normal School at Johnson. 



in the French or Revolutionary 
War. He located in the westerly 
part of the town, on the right bank 
of Lamoille River, on a beautiful 
bow of alluvial flats, where he had 
frequently encamped when on his 
scouting excursions to Lake Cham- 
plain. Mr. Eaton lived to a good 
old age, much respected, and in his 
latter years received a pension 



i\larch 4, 1789. Thomas McCon- 
nell, Jonathan IMcConnell and 
George Gregg were elected select- 
men, with Jonathan McConnell, 
town clerk. 

The first physician was Doctor 
William Coit. 

In the spring and fall of 1801, 
and between that and 1805, a new 
class of settlers arrived in town, 



LAMOILI.E COUNTY. 



115 



taking the places of many early 
settlers who had left for other 
parts. The names of Griswold, 
Ober, Moroan, Burnham, Pei'kins, 
Patch, Waters, Nichols and that of 
Arannah Waterman appear. 

The first mail was carried 
through town in 1802- '03 by John 
Skeeles of Peacham, on horseback, 
to St. Albans and back, once a 
week, and Arannah Waterman, Jr., 
was first postmaster. 

The first settled minister was El- 
der Joel P. Hayford, who very 
generously surrendered his claim 
to the right of land as the first set- 
tled minister, to the selectmen, to 
be leased in perpetuity for the sup- 
port of the gospel. 

During the War of 1812 the 
town furnished a fidl company of 
volunteers, who served upon the 
frontier lines at Champlain in 
1813, and at the battle of Platts- 
burg in 1814. 

The town of Johnson bonded 
heavily for the St. Johnsbury and 
Lake Champlain Railroad, and the 
rather high taxation required to 
pay the interest on the principal 
of the bonds, for a time depressed 
the public desire for town improve- 
ments. The bonds are now paid, 
and Johnson compares favoralJy 
with the thoroughly modern vil- 
lages of the state. The town has a 
splendid school system and the 
State Normal School affords unus- 
ual opportunities for the youth of 
this locality. 

S. II. Pearl, the last principal of 
the Academy and the first of the 
Normal School, was a "man of 
mark." He came in the fall of 
1863, bringing into the school a 
fund of enthusiasm, of new ideas 
and methods, which made a pro- 
found impression not only upon his 



special pupils but upon the public 
as well. It was largely through 
his influence that the Normal 
School was located here and the 
building fitted to receive it. He 
graduated nine classes from the 
Normal School and strongly im- 
pressed his personality upon his 
pupils, and made them feel the 
greatness of their responsibility in 
their chosen vocation. 

C. D. Mead filled the position of 
principal acceptably during 1871. 
H. S. Perrigo, A. M., a graduate of 
]\Iiddlebury College, conducted the 
school with thorough instruction 
and excellent discipline from 1872 
to 1875. William C. Crippen was 
principal from 1875 to 1881. Re- 
lying wholly on his own exertions 
and resources he graduated from 
the second course of the Randolph 
Normal School in January, 1875, 
and immediately accepted the po- 
sition as principal of this school. 
Mr. Crippen was a genius as a 
teacher and an enthusiastic worker 
in his profession. While he was 
principal the school hummed with 
activity and its number of stu- 
dents was trebled. 

Edward Conant was principal 
from 1881 to 188-1. This veteran 
instructor is too well and favora- 
bly known in Vermont, to whose 
educational interests he has de- 
voted his life, to require extended 
notice. His six years' service as 
state superintendent of education 
gave him an opportunity to learn 
the condition of the schools of the 
state, which he could have obtained 
in no other way. 

A. H. Campbell became princi- 
pal in the summer of 1884. He 
brought to the school considerable 
experience and great energy and 
earnestness of purpose, and during 



116 



SUCCESSFUL VEUMONTERS, 



his long period of service carried 
the school to a still higher plane of 
aehievement. 

Hon. Walter E. Ranger became 
principal in 1896 and remained 
four years, resigning in 1900 to 
become state superintendent of ed- 
ucation; here the masterly ability 
and genius for organization of that 
splendid educator was felt hy both 
student and parent and the fame of 
the Johnson School grew to I)e that 
of first importance in the state. 
The highest standards were estab- 
lished and the whole spirit of the 
work was charged with enthusiasm. 

In the winter of 1900 Professor 
Ranger was succeeded by John L. 
Alger, who was later succeeded by 
Edward D. Collins, an educator 
and historian of note. 

The buildings were built, re- 
paired, rebuilt, and have been 
largely maintained by gratuitous 
contributions of the citizens, and 
they feel a laudable pride and in- 
terest in the school, and a well- 
grounded hope that a still more 
useful future is before it. 

STEARNS, Hon. Charles H. 
of Johnson, lieutenant-governor, 
second son of the late Otis W. 
and Mary A. (Carpenter) Stearns, 
was born in Johnson, February 7, 
1851. His ancestors were of ster- 
ling English stock, propagated for 
generations in New England. 

]\lr. Stearns was educated in the 
schools of his native town, includ- 
ing the Johnson State Normal 
School, and for a short time was a 
student at ]\Iontpelier Seminary. 

Manifesting in his boyhood 
marked business ability and me- 
chanical skill, Mr. Stearns entered, 
at the age of 20, into partnership 
with his father in the manufacture 
of butter tubs and boxes. He 



soon mastered every detail of the 
process and in a few years assumed 
the entire control of the large es- 
talilishment, which, under his in- 
telligent management, has become 
one of the most successful l)usiness 
enterprises in the county. 

Mr. Stearns is closely identified 
with the educational interests of 
the state, having held the position 
of local commissioner of the State 
Normal School under Governor 
Smith and Governor IMcCullough. 
He is a stanch advocate of higher 
education and has made it possible 
for a number of worthy and aspir- 
ing youths to obtain the benefits 
of a university training. 

For a long period of years ]\Ir. 
Stearns has been a prominent fac- 
tor in the political life of his town 
and county, where he has filled 
many positions of trust and honor. 
In 1886 he represented the town of 
Johnson in the state Legislature, 
and was elected to the state Senate 
in 1898. In 1901 he was elected 
lieutenant-governor of the state 
on the ticket with Hon. Charles 
J. Bell as governor. In all of 
these positions he is a fair-minded, 
forceful and faithful worker. His 
record of public service has al- 
ways been characterized by hon- 
esty, sincerity, good judgment, and 
a generous consideration for the 
opinions and rights of others. 

Mv. Stearns is a devoted sup- 
porter of Republican principles 
and policies. He has served his 
party in a variety of capacities, 
having been chairman of county 
committee, president of the State 
Republican League, and on several 
occasions a delegate to county and 
state conventions, always working 
loyally for the best interests of his 
party and state. 



LAMOII.LE COUKtV, 



117 



Mr. Stearns is vice-president and 
ated with the Masonic fraternity. 
September, 1901, he received the 
thirty-tln'rd and last degree of the 
order. 



director in various other finaneia] 
oroanizations. 

PARKER, Harry C, was born 
in Johnson, April 5, 1864, a son of 
Cyrns H. and Rebecca E. (Brown) 




Charles H. Stearns, 



Mr. Stearns is vice-president and 
a director of the Union Savings 
Bank and Trnst Company of Mor- 
risville. lie is also president and 



Parker, and received his education 
in the public schools and at the 
State Normal School. 

In 1881 Mr. Parker went to Min- 



118 



SUCCESSFUL VER^rONTEns. 



neapolis and entered the employ 
of S. G. Palmer & Co., wholesale 
fruit dealers, as a clerk; later he 
clerked for about two years' time 
in a grocery establishment. In 
1887 he formed a partnership with 
E. W. Wing in the grocery busi- 
ness, under the firm name of Wing 



l)rother-in-]aw, and continued the 
William Ober sawmill at Eden. 
Three years later, in 1894, the mill 
was burned ; it was rebuilt and Mr. 
Parker bought Mr. Ober's interest 
and continued the business alone 
until 1900, when the mill burned a 
second time, with very little insur- 




Harhy C. Pakker. 



& Parker. At the end of a year 
Mr. Parker sold out and came East 
and married Mamie E. Ober, a 
daughter of William and Lizzie E. 
(Vigent) Ober. By this union five 
girls have been born : Ruth, Ruby, 
Rachel, Rena and Rebecca. 

In 1891 Mr. Parker formed a 
partnership with Fred Ober, his 



ance. The mill was again rebuilt 
the same year. 

In 1900 he located in Johnson 
and bought the old Leland starch 
factory and converted it into a 
sawmill and soon after formed a 
partnership with Hon. Charles H. 
Stearns, under the firm name of 
Parker & Stearns. In 1904 they 



LAlSIOlLLE COUXTY. 



119 



purchased mills at Greenfield and 
Hyde Park. In the summer of 
1905 the flooring' mill at Hyde Park 
was removed to St. Johnsbury and 
installed in the plant of the North- 
ern Lumber Co. Parkei- & Stearns 
are now handling annually 3,500,- 
000 feet of dressed lumber. 



Lodge, A. F. & A. M., and the 
Modern Woodmen. 

PEARL, Jed A., was born in 
Johnson, March 21, 1860, a son of 
Hon. Isaac L. and Hattie N. 
(Tracy) Pearl. 

Isaac L. Pearl was a son of 
Zimri A. and Eliza (Blake) Pearl. 




Jed a. Peakl. 



For 12 years Mr. Parker was a 
resident of the town of Eden and 
during this time served several 
years as a selectman. Since relo- 
cating in Johnson he has served 
two years as first selectman and 
was re-elected but declined to serve. 
He is a member of Waterman 



He was born November 17, 1832, 
in Milton, and educated in the pub- 
lic schools and Vinton Academy. 
In early life he became interested 
in woolen manufacturing, com- 
mencing in the Winooski woolen 
mills. Here he became thoroughly 
familiar with every feature of the 



120 



SUCCESSFUL VERMONTEKS, 



business. He then entered the firm 
of S. & D. M. Dow, of Johnson. 
Upon the death of D. M. Dow he 
became a half owner in the business 
and, in April, 1871, the mill was 
totally destroyed by fire, but was 
immediately rebuilt and since that 
date the firm name has been I. L. 
Pearl & Co., and have enjoyed an 
ever-increasing" volume of business. 
Mr. Pearl is a director of the La- 
moille County National Bank of 
Hyde Park and has served for a 
number of years as president and 
secretary of the boai'd of trustees 
of the State Normal School. 

In public life ]\Ir. Pearl is a 
stanch Republican and has fre- 
quently been elected to public of- 
fice. He has served as judge of 
probate for Lamoille Count}^ held 
the various town and village offices 
and, in 1888, was elected to repre- 
sent Johnson in the General As- 
sembly. 

March 11, 1858, he was united 
in marriage to Hattie N. Tracy. 
Four children have been born to 
them : Jed A., Flora A., Morton I. 
(deceased), and Lizzie H. 

Jed A. Pearl was educated in the 
public schools of Johnson and at 
the State Normal School. After 
completing his education he en- 
tered his father's employ and in 
1883 he entered the firm. April 
7, 1905, D. A. Barrows bought the 
I. L. Pearl interest in the business 
and with Jed A. Pearl continues 
under the old firm name of I. L. 
Pearl & Co. 

]\rarch 15, 1882, Jed A. Pearl 
married Hattie Elkins of North 
Troy. Two children have blessed 
the union : I. Leonard and Lloyd. 

Mr. Pearl, like his father, is a 
Republican of the sturdy type and 
has always taken a deep interest in 
public matters. He served as se- 



lectman several years ; chairman of 
the village trustees, and in 1902 
represented Johnson in the Gen- 
eral Assembly, serving as chairman 
of the committee on manufactures. 
He is a member of the Masonic fra- 
ternity and has served as master of 
his lodge. 

During the past year great en- 
ergy has been put into the manu- 
facturing business by this hustling 
firm and an average of 4,000 pairs 
of pants per month have been 
turned out, giving employment to 
60 persons. During the year the 
business has more than doubled, 
thus making the manufacture of 
the celebrated "Johnson" and 
"Sampson" pants easily the lead- 
ing industry of the town. 

FULLER, Reverend Jonathan 
KiNGSLEY, son of Samuel Freeman 
and Elizabeth (Kingsley) Fuller, 
was l)orn in JMontgomery, May 13, 
1848. His ancestry on his father's 
side runs back to Doctor Samuel 
Fuller of the Mmjflower and on his 
mother's side to the Kingslej^s who 
came from Woodstock, Connecticut, 
to Woodstock, in the early settle- 
ment of the latter town. Although 
born and reared in humble condi- 
tion, and limited in opportunities, 
he succeeded in securing a common 
school education, and entered 
upon the study of law at the age of 
22. This he pursued for two 
years, when he decided to make the 
ministry his life work. With this 
end in view he took up the course 
of theological studies prescribed by 
the jMethodist Episcopal church, 
and on April 23, 1873, was or- 
dained at St. Jolmsbury by Bishop 
Ames. 

Receiving the appointment to 
the INIethodist Church at Richford, 
he served the people there the 
maximum of three vears and then 



LAMOILLE COUNTY. 



121 



resigned his membership in the 
Vermont Conference. 

Uniting- with the Congregational 
Chnreh, he immediately received a 
call to the pastorate of that denom- 
ination at Bakersfield. Here he 
labored 12 years, caring also for 
the church at Fairfield and preach- 



10 years the finances of the church 
more than doubled, and the mem- 
bership was largely increased. Be- 
sides the work in his own parish, he 
preached at times at Westmore, 
where a Congregational church was 
oi'ganized in 1893 as a result of his 
effort. 




Jonathan K. Fullek. 



ing at East Fairfield, where, as a 
result of his labors, a Congrega- 
tional church was organized in 
1888. 

In 1889 he resigned his work in 
this field and received and ac- 
cepted a call to the church at 
Brownington and Barton Land- 
ing. During a pastorate here of 



From Barton Landing Mr. Ful- 
ler was called to the pastorate of 
the Old South Church at Windsor, 
and to the chaplaincy of the state 
prison there. For four years he 
performed a double service, as in 
his former pastorates, but becom- 
ing greatly interested in prison 
work, he resigned his pai-ish and 



122 



SUCCESSFUL VERMONTEKS. 



chose the less remunerative service 
to which he devoted his entire ef- 
fort for two years. The remunera- 
tion for this service, however, be- 
ing only nominal, Mr. Fuller was 
compelled to give it np and return 
to church work, and of two calls 
tendered to him, he accepted one at 
Johnson in the ^;pring' of 1905. In 
his various fields of labor Mr. Ful- 
ler has received into the church 
between three and four hundi'ed 
persons. 

Besides his pastoral duties he has 
taken a deep interest in agricultu- 
ral, educational and philanthropic 
matters, and has been a freciuent 
contributor to the newspapers and 
magazines. Among his popular 
lectures are the following : ' ' Na- 
tional Perils and Safeguards," 
"The Farmer's Occupation," 
"Ghosts," "Crime and Crimi- 
nals," and "Capital Punishment." 
The last two named are the result 
of his experience as chaplain at 
the state prison. 

Mr. Fuller has served for many 
years as superintendent of schools, 
and has represented his denomina- 
tion in national councils and before 
other religious bodies. He has been 
elected a member of various organ- 
izations, such as the A. B. C. F. M., 
the Academy of Political and So- 
cial Science in Philadelphia, and 
the Orleans Historical Society. 
In 1890 he received the appoint- 
ment of examiner in the American 
Institute of Sacred Literature, un- 
der the late President Harper of 
Chicago University. 

In 1894 the town of Barton 
elected Mr. Fuller to represent it 
in the lower branch of the Ver- 
mont Legislature, and in 1898 he 
was chosen chaplain of the House. 

Mr. Fuller was married, Septem- 
ber 16, 1875, to Gertrude Florence 



Smith of Richford. Of this union 
there have been born : John Har- 
old, Ilawley Leigh (deceased), 
Raymond Garfield and Robert 
Samuel. The first named has 
graduated from Yale and is now 
engaged in teaching; Raymond has 
been a student at the University of 
Vermont and is now doing journal- 
istic woi'k, and Robert, the young- 
est, is still at home with his 
parents. 

WILSON, Orville H. Few men 
in Lamoille County are better or 
more favoi-ably known than Orville 
II. Wilson of Johnson, born in 
Johnson July 18, 1857, a son of 
Sanuiel and Lucy A. (Powers) 
Wilson, who settled on the farm 
now occupied by Orville, more than 
sixty years ago. 

Orville H. Wilson received his 
education in the district schools of 
his native town, at the State Nor- 
mal School and at the Morrisville 
Academy. After completing his 
education he decided on farming 
along progressive lines as a life 
work, and settled on the home jilace. 
Here he has led an active and in- 
dustrious career, and met with more 
than an average reward for well- 
directed efforts in his chosen field 
of usefulness. 

February 20, 1879, Mr. Wilson 
was united in marriage to Nellie 
B. Austin, a daughter of Postmas- 
ter B. L. Austin, a substantia] 
business man and highly respected 
citizen of Johnson. Mr. and Mrs. 
Wilson have had two children : 
Max A., assistant postmaster at 
Johnson, and Winnie Blinn, now a 
young miss of 14, attending school. 

Politically, Mr. Wilson is a 
sturdy Republican, taking a lively 
interest in all public matters and 
is a familiar figure at the county 
and state conventions of his party. 



LAMOILLE COUKTY. 



123 



He always keeps up with the best 
thought of the times, and his coun- 
sel is frequently soiioht on impor- 
tant public matters. He has served 
many years on the board of select- 
men, being- for several years the 
ranking member of that important 



MAXFIELD, Harry M., mer- 
chant, is a son of Harry and Han- 
nah (Prindle) Maxfield of Fair- 
fax, where he was born October 13, 
1862. He was orphaned when two 
months old by the death of his 
father. Four years later the fam- 




Orville H. Wilson. 



body. Mr. Wilson has been for 
six years chairman of the Lamoille 
County Republican committee, and 
has served a term as county com- 
missioner. For the past 10 years 
he has been overseer of the poor, 
and in 1894 was elected to the Gen- 
eral Assembly to represent John- 
son, and served on the general com- 
mittee. 



ily removed to Johnson, where his 
mother died in 1883. 

His education was obtained in 
the village and normal schools of 
the town, from which he gradu- 
ated in 1881, under Principal W. 
C. Crippen. He taught school 
three terms, then contracted a 
matrimonial alliance with Enna, 
daughter of George P. and Lu- 



124 



succp:s.sful vermonters. 



sina Phillips of Johnson, and 
bought a farm a mile below the vil- 
lage. In April, 1890, he moved 
to Johnson village and entered the 
mercantile trade, in which he has 
continued to the present time. 

Mr. JNIaxiield takes an active in- 
terest in educational and religious 
affairs. He is one of the trustees 
of the Johnson Normal School, and 
one of tlie school directors; also a 
member of the Congregational 




Hakky M. Maxfieli>. 

church and chairman of the execu- 
tive committee. He has been su- 
perintendent of the poor for the 
association of the three towns of 
Johnson, Stowe and ]\Iorristown. 
He has served as selectman, school 
director and justice of the peace, 
and in 1904 was elected to repre- 
sent Johnson in the General As- 
sembly, and served on the educa- 
tional connnittee. Two children 
have come to brighten the home : 
]\Iay Phillips and Jennie Ella. 



STEARXS, William H., born 
in Jolmson, in the house in which 
he now resides, January 12, 1856, 
a son of John H. and Elmira 
(Hines) Stearns. After complet- 
ing his education in the public 
schools of Johnson, he succeeded 
his father as a manufacturer of 
hand rakes, at the works estab- 
lished by John H. Stearns, the 
father, in 1855. The plant is lo- 
cated a mile from Johnson village, 
and under the energetic manage- 
ment of William H. Stearns, as 
many as 4,000 dozen rakes have 
been manufactured in a single 
seasoiL 

In 1895 ^[r. Stearns established 
the Bell Brook Creamery, and the 
following year established the Cam- 
l)ridge Creamery at Cambridge; 
both these properties were run 
under the firm name of W. H. 
Stearns & Co. In 1900 the Bell 
Brook Creamery was sold to Hay- 
ford Bi'others, and in 1903 he sold 
his interest in the Cambridge 
Creamery to E. H. Hines. In 
1900 he purchased the Gardner 
^Murphy Creamery at Swanton, 
and for two years conducted the 
business with marked success, sell- 
ing out at the end of that time to 
the Franklin County Creamery 
Association of St. Albans. 

In July, 1903, Mr. Stearns pur- 
chased the O. B. Landon gristmill 
and creamery in Johnson village, 
which he still conducts; he also 
owns one of the best 140-acre farms 
in town, having 1,000 sugar trees, 
and carries 25 head of stock. 

September 9, 1877, Mr. Stearns 
was united in marriage to Florence 
A. nines of Eden, a daughter of 
Sylvanus and Eliza Hines. Six 
children Avere born to them : Har- 
old v., :\Iyra A., John L., Bert, 
Lvnn and Kav. Mrs. Stearns died 



LAMOILLE COUNTY. 



125 



February 9, 1888, and Mr. Stearns 
married for his second wife Nellie 
A. Knowles, who lived for seven 
years. To this union two chil- 
dren were liorn : Forrest, who died 
in infancy, and Gladys L. For 
his third wife ]\Ir. Stearns was, on 
March 21, 1896, united to Birdena 



and for foiu' years as selectman. 
In 1900 he was elected to repre- 
sent Johnson in the General As- 
sembly of the state. 

WATERMAN, Norman A., was 
born September 26, 1853, in that 
part of Sterlinfi' which was an- 
nexed to the town of Johnson, a 





Willi Asi H. Steakns. 



V. Rand of Brockton, INlassaehu- 
setts. One child, Wilma II., has 
come to bless them. 

Few men of Johnson have led 
a busier or more useful life than 
William H. Stearns, and yet he 
has found time to respond to the 
frequent call of his townsmen to 
accept public place, serving them 
as lister, justice, school director, 



sou of D. Sanford and Drusilla 
II. (Bingham) Waterman, and a 
ii'reat-o'randson of Araunah Water- 
man, one of the early settlers of the 
town. His mother was a descend- 
ant of the first settlers of Morris- 
town, and thus by l)irth, education 
and association he is a Lamoille 
County man. Educated in the 
public schools and at the People's 



126 



SUCCf:SSFUL VERMONTEUS. 



Academy of JMorrisville, he was 
well fitted for the affairs of life, 
which in i\Ir. Waterman's case 
have been both many and suc- 
cessfnl. 

October 17, 1894, Mr. AVaterman 
married Ella E. Magoon of John- 
son ; three children have been born 
to them : Ada D., born Jannary 2, 
1896 ; Lawrence B., born October 
19, 1897, who died in infancy, and 
Helen, born Anenst 1, 1900. 




Norman A. Watehman. 

In politics ^Ir. Waterman is a 
Republican. He has served his 
town nine years as chairman of 
the board of school directors, many 
years a selectman and in 1890- '91, 
he represented Johnson in the 
General Assembly. 

He is now, with his In'other, 
Thomas, engaged in farming and 
manufacturing of timber on the 
old home farm where both were 
born. 

The Waterman familv is of mihl 



Welsh and Scotch descent. Arau- 
nah Waterman came to Johnson in 
the first year of the century, 
purchased 1,200 acres of land 
where the village now stands, and 
paid 4,000 Spanish silver dollars 
for the property. Araunah served 
in the Revolutionary War, was an 
intimate associate of the Chitten- 
dens and for many years repre- 
sented Johnson in the General As- 
sembly. He had four sons, one 
of whom was Asa, who married 
Anna McConnell and settled on a 
portion of the old Waterman farm 
north of the village. By his sec- 
ond wife, Anna Dodge, there were 
two sons, Levi A. and D. Sanford. 
Levi A. died in September, 1905. 
D. Sanford pursued the double 
avocation of farmer and lumber- 
man, was" a resident of what was 
old Sterling and was a town officer 
who was efficient in securing the 
division of that town and its an- 
nexation to Johnson, Stowe and 
Morristown. 

He was many years lister, select- 
man and justice, and took an ac- 
tive interest in town affairs. He 
married Drusilla H., daughter of 
John Bingham of iNIorristown, and 
their family consisted of four sons : 
Norman A., Thomas. Homer and 
John A. D. Sanford Waterman 
died in 1890. 

HOTEL JOHNSON, Everett E. 
Wells, proprietor. ]Mr. Wells was 
born in Quebec in 1852, was edu- 
cated in the common schools of Fre- 
lighsburg, Quebec, and in 1868 lo- 
cated in Burlington and clerked 
for two years, at the end of which 
time he entered the employ of Wet- 
land Vale Manufacturing Com- 
pany as a traveling salesman, re- 
maining with this house for 22 
years, having a very wide and 
interesting experience traveling 



LAlvrOILLE COUNTY. 



127 



through Canada, British Isles, Nor- 
way and Sweden. lie came to 
Johnson in 1903 and bought Hotel 
Johnson. Few men know better 
than Landlord Wells just what the 
traveling public require, and cer- 
tain it is that none supply those 
wants in a more thorough or up-to- 
the-minute style than ]\Ir. Wells. 

Hotel Johnson is a new house, 
46 X 42, three stories, besides an an- 



Rutland and Georgia W., a student 
in the high school. 

HUNT, Bertron A., a son of 
Jason S. and Clarissa M. Hunt, 
was born in Johnson, July 16, 
1857; was educated in the public 
schools of the town and graduated 
from the State Normal School, 
first course 1875, and second course 
in 1877 ; read law with Hon. P. 
K. Gleed of INIorrisville and later 




Hotel Johnson. 



nex in the rear, is steam heated, 
has electric lights and baths, hot 
and cold water, and cost upwards 
of $10,000. A first-class livery is 
run in connection with the house. 
Here the weary traveler is made to 
feel that he has got home, where 
every reasonable want is provided 
for. 

Mr. Wells married, in 1878, Mary 
E. Linus; two children have been 
born to them : Dr. Fred L. Wells of 



Avith M. 0. Heath of Johnson, and 
was admitted to the bar in the 
spring of 1883. He continued 
reading law after his admission to 
the bar, which would indicate that 
it was a hunt for knowledge and 
not practice which first concerned 
this energetic young man. In 
1885 he opened an office, where for 
18 years he has furnished good 
advice. In 1890 he commenced 
lumber operations and has contin- 



128 



SUCCESSFUL VETIISrONTERS. 



iially increased his tinil)ei' hold- 
ings until he now controls 7,300 
acres, three sawmills and a thor- 
oughly modern hardwood flooring 
plant, excelled by none. 

]\Ir. Hunt has continued in the 
practice of the law, hut has devoted 
as little attention as possible to it. 



buna! where his client had judg- 
ment against him, in the court be- 
low for 25 cents. The Hon. T. P. 
Redfield, who was chief presiding, 
at the close of the reading of the 
exceptions by young Hunt, whose 
knees were quaking — thundered, 
"Young man, what do you suppose 




Bektkon a. Hunt. 



owing to the ever-increasing and 
exacting calls upon his time by his 
other interests. 

INIr. Hunt has been a most suc- 
cessful practitioner in our courts, 
particularly in the Supreme 
Court, owing, no doubt, to his early 
introduction to that august body. 
He was defending before that tri- 



we sit here for, to fool with 25-cent 
judgments?" "I suppose your 
honor sits here to adjust the rights 
of parties whether it is 25 cents or 
.^2,500, " was the ready reply, — 
shaking more than ever. Picking 
up the papers again, Judge Red- 
field dryly said: "Well, you meas- 
ure your speech by the size of your 



LAMOILLE COUNTY, 



129 



judgment." This was but little 
encouragement to the young attor- 
ney; however, he won his case, 
which was some satisfaction for the 
uncalled for rebuke of the judge. 

]\Ir. Hunt is, in politics, a sturdy, 
consistent Democrat, and naturally 
has not been given to office seek- 
ing', but rather to the buildiug and 



March 14, 1885, Mr. Hunt en- 
tered into a most fortunate and 
highly successful contract; he was 
united in marriage with Miss Net- 
tie B. ]\Iorse of Waterbury, a grad- 
uate of the State Normal School 
and a lady of unusual worth, who 
has proven a great help to her hus- 
band in his numerous fields of en- 




WlLLIAM E. TkACY. 



making a better town through 
large transactions in a professional 
and commercial way. 

He is a member of the ]\Iasonic 
fratei'nity, was a charter member 
of Johnson Lodge, K. of P., and its 
first Chancellor Commander. He 
was postmaster of Johnson under 
Cleveland. 

A-IO 



deavor. Seven bright children 
have come to gladden the Hunt 
household, five girls and two boys. 
In speaking of his life work, ]\[r. 
Hunt said to the writer, "If suc- 
cess ever be attained, give my Avife 
due share therein." 

TRACY, Wn.LLm B., a son of 
William H. and Lucinda (Brown) 



130 



STJCCESSFITL, VERMONTEES. 



Tracy, Avas boru in Belvidere, No- 
vember 6, 1874. 

AYilliam H. Tracy, father of the 
su1)ject of this sketch, is of Eno-- 
lish descent, and came to Belvi- 
dere from Franklin County, from 
which place he moved to Johnson. 
He served two years and eight 
months in Company A, Fifth Ver- 
mont Infantry, and was wounded 
in the left hand while in the 
service. 

William E. Tracy received his 
early education in the public 
schools of Belvidere and at 15 
years of age he entered the State 
Normal School at Johnson, grad- 
uating with his class in 1893. He 
then taught school for five years, 
teaching in iMontgomery, Johnson 
and Hyde Park. 

In 1898, ]\Ir. Tracy entered the 
law office of Bertron A. Hunt of 
Johnson, as a student, and pursued 
his studies with both diligence and 
ability, and Avas admitted to the 
bar in 1901, when he opened an 
olBce; he has gained a reputation 
as a careful and painstaking young 
attorney, Avho handles his cases 
with vigor, thoroughness and 
al)ility. 

Ml'. Tracy is a member of the 
Sons of Veterans, the jMasonic 
l)ody and the Knights of Pythias, 
and takes a lively interest in all 
public matters. He Avas united in 
marriage, in 1903, to Miss Lillian 
Hannn of ]\Iahone, Nova Scotia. 

BICKNELL, Fred G., a son of 
John S. and Anna (Bean) Bick- 
nell, AA^as born in Johnson, Decem- 
ber 22, 1872. He received his ed- 
ucation in the public schools of his 
native town and graduated from 
the State Normal School, class of 
1893. He taught the Cambridge 
High School for tAvo years and 
then commenced the study of laAA' 



in the office of Bertron A. Hunt, 
being admitted to the bar in 1900. 
As an attorney INIr. Bicknell has 
dcA'eloped unusual powers of con- 
centration, application and a com- 
prehensive knowledge of the law, 
Avhich, for a young attorney, have 
Avon him a high place among his 
professional brethren. 

In politics he is a sound Repub- 
lican and as such Avas elected 
state's attorney for Lamoille 
County in 1902 and receiA^ed the 
unusual distinction of being re- 
elected in 1904. In this important 
office ]\rr. Bicknell has made a 
clean, strong record that he may 
Avell be proud of. In 1897 he Avas 
elected toAvn clerk of Johnson and 
the next year Avas elected tOAvn 
treasurer, both of AAliich offices he 
still continues to hold. 

December 18, 1900, I\Ir. Bick- 
nell was united in marriage to Miss 
Henrietta E. Dorr of Keene, Ncav 
Hamp.shire, a graduate of the 
State Normal School at Johnson, 
class of 1893. One child has been 
born to this happy union : Ernest 
Dorr Bicknell, liorn June 22, 1905. 

]\lr. Bicknell is affiliated Avith the 
^Masonic fraternity and is master 
of Waterman Lodge. He also con- 
ducts a A'cry large fire insurance 
luisiness in connection with his le- 
ual practice. 

SHERWIX, Exos H., a son of 
Lyman B. and Hannah K. (Baker) 
Sherwin, was born in Hyde Park, 
June 8, 1850; receiA^ed his educa- 
tion in the public schools of Hyde 
Park, ]\Iorrisville, Johnson and 
took a course at Eastman's Busi- 
ness College at Poughkeepsie, New 
York. After completing his edu- 
cation he worked on the farm and 
in the sawmills until he had gained 
his majority and then entered the 
construction department of the 



LAMOILLE COUNTY. 



131 



Western Union and International 
Telegraph companies, eonstraetiny 
lines. In 1878 ]\Ir. Sherwin en- 
tered the employ of the St. Johns- 
bury and Lake Cham])lain Rail- 
road and for the past 28 years has 
continuously held the responsible 
position of station agent, and for 



second year as chairman of the 
board of selectmen and in 1896 
he represented Johnson in the 
General Assembly of Vermont, 
serving on the committee on claims. 
Socially, Mv. Sherwin has long 
enjoyed a marked degree of popu- 
larit}^ He is a member of Wa- 




Fked G. Bicknell. 



20 years has been located at 
Johnson. 

While the dnties of Mv. Sherwin 
have been of a nature peculiarly 
exacting, he has found time to re- 
spond to the frequent call of his 
townsmen to till pnblic office. He 
is now serving on his eighth year 
on the board of village trustees, 



terman Lodge, F. & A. M., of 
which he was secretary for 12 
years, member of Tucker Chapter, 
R. A. M., of which he was high 
priest for two years, and D. D. 
G. II. P. of District Number 1 for 
one year; member of Burlington 
Council, R. & S. ]\I. ; member of 
JNlt. Zion Commandery, K. T. ; 



132 



SUCCKSSFUL VEKMONTEKS. 



member of ]\It. Sinai Temple, N. 
]M. S. ; member of Sterling Lodge, 
No. 44, I. 0. O. F. ; W. P. of John- 
son Chapter, O. E. S. ; prelate of 
Johnson Lodge, K. P. : meml^er of 
Johnson Grange, P. of H. 

December 25, 1878, Mr. Sherwin 



PRINDLE, Fred D. Among the 
most progressive farmers of La- 
moille Comity Ave find Fred D. 
Prindle of Johnson, a son of Amos 
and I\laria H. (Wilson) Prindle. 
The Prindle family is among the 
oldest of onr state, and has long 




Exos II. Shekwin. 



was united in marriage to Flora 
A. Hogaboom of Highgate. 

Mr. Sherwin is, and has l)een 
long engaged in farming, manufac- 
turing lumber and makes a spe- 
cialty of high grade maple sugar 
and syrup, having a splendid ma- 
ple orchard of 1,400 trees. 



]>een well and favorably known for 
its splendid energy and manhood. 
Martin Prindle, grandfather of 
the subject of this sketch was 
among the early settlers of Fair- 
field and is remembered as a man 
of splendid character and sound 
worth. Amos, his son, settled at 



l.AMori.I.E COtTNTV. 



133 



Fairfax, and it was here that Fred 
D. was born, November 21, 1863. 
He was educated in the public 
schools of St. Albans and at the 
State Normal School at Johnson. 

In 1883 Mr. Prindle married 
Adelia Chase of Jay and located in 
Johnson. Four children have been 
the fruit of this union: Ralph W., 
Wilmer C, Ray W. and Helen B. 

Mr. Prindle has never sought or 
accepted public office, but has rather 
directed his energies along the line 
of home Jniil ding, with the result 
that he has a model farm of -400 
acres, cutting 125 tons of hay and 
keepiiig 90 head of stock. Two 
thousand sugar trees annually 
3'ield a large amount of maple 
products. Here one may find in- 
dustry, energy and intelligence so 
blended as to produce a high order 
of successful citizenship. Mi-. 
Prindle has for a numlier of years 
been an extensive dealer in cattle, 
both buying and selling-, making a 
specialty of new milch cows. He 
is affiliated with the IMasonic 
fraternity. 



STOAVE. 

Population, Census of 1900, 1,926. 

A graphic writer describes the 
original appeai-ance of the town 
as that of an unbrolcen, heavily 
wooded forest, somewhat hilly, in- 
terspersed with rich, level tracts 
of land of alluvial formation. The 
surrounding hills, though some- 
what rough and stony, were sus- 
ceptible of cultivation and en- 
hanced the scenic beauty of the 
town. 

The town was originally char- 
tered in June, 1763, by Governor 
Benning Wentworth, to 64 propi'i- 



etors and contained 23,041 acres. 
In 1848 the Legislature passed an 
act annexing' the town of Mansfield 
to the town of Stowe, provided 
that both towns should satisfy the 
l)rovisions of the act, which they 
accordingly did. Ivory Luce, an 
early and prominent citizen of 
iMansfield, determined to test the 
constitutionality of the act, was 
elected representative from Mans- 
field and claimed his seat. The 
decision of the Assembly, and later 
of the courts reaffirmed the legal- 
ity of the annexation. A portion 
of the territory of Sterling was 
conditionally annexed to Stowe by 
the Legislature of 1855, the act 
^vas adopted with these additions. 
The town records afford no facts 
of especial interest. 

The first settlement was com- 
menced by Oliver Luce in 1794. 
The first log house was built by him 
aljout one mile from the Center 
village. Captain Clement Moody 
moved in with his family the next 
day and soon after Mr. Kimball 
and Joel Harris arrived, and the 
following year, Noah Seribner. ]\Ir. 
Luce and his wife, Susannah, were 
the parents of Harry Luce, the 
first child born in town. Mr. Luce 
was the first to open a house of 
entertainment to the public, his 
sign being a large white ball. At 
the first town meeting, held at the 
house of Lowdon Case, the follow- 
ing officers were elected: Lowdon 
Case, moderator; Josiah Ilurlburt, 
town clerk; Clement IMoody, treas- 
urer ; Joel Harris. Ebenezer Wake- 
field, selectmen ; Lowdon Case, first 
constable; Clement Moody, Joel 
Harris, Ebenezer Wakefield, list- 
ers. The town was first repre- 
sented in the Legislature by Na- 
than Robinson, in 1801, and for 13 



1.34 



SUCCESSFUL VERIsrONTEUS. 



successive years afterwards. Na- 
than Eobinson was one of the nota- 
bles of the town ; he bnilt and for 
many yeai's kept the leading hotel. 
It was built of logs, 20x40 feet, one 
story, floor made of split logs. 
There were two rooms, one a 
kitchen with one bed in it, the 



and guests and whilcd away the 
winter evenings wutli joke and song 
and story. 

In 1798 there were about twenty 
families in town, and five years 
later, ninety resident families. 
The first settkmient was made upon 
a handsome tract of land a mile or 




Summit of Mt. Mansfield. 



other "the square room," was sup- 
plied with three beds. In the loft, 
reached by a ladder, were three 
beds, where one might trace the 
constellations at leisure. The 
house was warmed by an inmiense 
stone fireplace, radiating warmth, 
and at night a brilliant light, 
around which gathered the family 



more north of Stowe village. Here 
also was the first hotel and the first 
stores. Two potasheries and one 
tannery were here established. 
The first school was taught here by 
Thomas R. Downes, in his dwelling 
house. It was the intention of the 
settlers to locate the village here, 
but water power was lacking and 



LAMOILLE COUNTY. 



135 



the business gradually centered at 
the water courses. Josiah Hurl- 
burt started the nucleus of the 
Lower Village by erecting a saw 
and gristmill there on the Water- 
bury Kiver in 1796. About the 
year 1806 Ira and Elisha Cody 
engaged in the tannery business 
here. Daniel Fiske soon after lo- 
cated a carding machine and chith- 
ier's works; P. G. Camp and Abial 
Stiles opened a dry goods store here 
about 1812, and three years later 
Calvin Sartel built the hotel. In 
the year 1811 Sanuiel Dutton built 
a tavern at the Center, near the 
site of Green IMountain Inn. In 
1814 there were only four small 
dwellings in what is now Stowe vil- 
lage, but occupying the* central lo- 
cation, the little hamlet outgrew 
its rivals and in 1837 the town 
clerk's office came here, and four 
years later the post office followed. 

The military record of Stowe was 
not settled until after the Kevolu- 
tion, but the following Revolution- 
ary soldiers resided here and re- 
ceived pensions : Moses Thomp- 
son, Paul Sanlioi'u, Daniel Fuller, 
James Town, Elisha Tawn, Will- 
iam Pettingill, Asa Kimball, Jo- 
seph Bennett and Adam Alden. 

THOMAS, Henry C, commis- 
sioner of fisheries and game, came 
of honored Revolutionary ances- 
try in both paternal lines. 

His paternal great-grandfather, 
Andrew Thomas, was a brother of 
David Thomas, who was among the 
Mohawks of the Boston Tea Party 
fame in Revolutionary days. About 
1810 Andi'ew removed from INIid- 
dlebury, Massachusetts, to Wood- 
stock, where he passed the remain- 
der of his life. Lemuel (2), son 
of Andrew Thomas, was born in 
Middlebury, INIassachusetts. He 
remoA^ed from AVoodstock to Stowe 



about 1815, where he built a 
woolen mill and sawmill, which he 
operated for many years. He was. 
a leading business man of his day 
and filled many town offices. He 
was a Whig in politics. He was 
twice married. His first wife was 
Miss Rhoda INIendell of Bridgewa- 
ter, who bore him children : Jones, 
Weston L., Rhoda, who married Je- 
rome B. Slayton, both of whom are 
deceased, and Henr}^, who died, 
aged 21 years. Lenuiel Thomas 
married for his second wife, Betsey 
Butler, a daughter of former Gov- 
ernor Ezra Butler. Of this mar- 
riage was born a son, Abijah, who 
married and became the father of 
five children. 

Isaac Jones (3), eldest child of 
Lemuel Thomas, was born, June 5, 
1815, in Woodstock. He received 
a eonnnon school education. For 
several years after the death of his 
mother he lived with his grand- 
father, Andrew Thomas, in Wood- 
stock. When seven years of age 
he went to his father's home in 
Stowe. He was originally a Whig, 
and ])ecame a Republican at the 
organization of that party. He 
married Julia Ann Harris, daugh- 
ter of Captain Joel Harris, Jr., 
son of Joel Harris, Sr., who moved 
to Stowe April 17, 1794, the second 
family that settled in the town. 
He was a minister of the Gospel 
and the first that ever preached a 
sermon in Stowe. 

To Isaac Jones Thomas and Julia 
Ann Harris, his wife, were born: 
Milton, who was accidentally 
drowned when two and one-half 
years old; Henry George, who ap- 
pears later in this narrative, and 
Julia Ann. The latter married 
Henry B. Oakes, now deceased, who 
was a merchant and farmer at 
Stowe. Jones Thomas died, IMarcli 



186 



StrCCERSFtrL VEKMONTERS. 



3, 1904, aged 89. His wife died in breakino- out of the Civil War. On 



1885, aged 66 years. 

Henry George Thomas (-i), sec- 
ond chikl and only surviving son 
of Jones and Jnlia Ann (Harris) 



the 1st day of June, 1861, at the 
age of 17, he was enrolled as a 
drnmnier ])()y. to serve for three 
years, oi- during the war ; was 




Henry G. Thomas. 



Thomas, was born in Stowe, JMarch 
6, 1841. He was reared on the pa- 
ternal farm and received his edu- 
cation in the common and high 
schools, up to the time of the 



sworn into the United States ser- 
vice on the 16th day of July, 1861, 
in Company E, Third Regiment, 
A^ermont Volunteer Infantry. He 
performed other duties than drum- 



LAMOILLE COUNTY. 



1>S7 



mer, and shared in all the hard- 
ships of his regiment and partici- 
pated in all the campaigns of his 
regiment in whatever capacity he 
was detailed. He was honorably 
discharged with his regiment, at 
Burlington, on the 27th day of 
July, 1864, therefore serving three 
years and two months. After at- 
tending the high school in the fall 
of 1864, he entered the employ of 
Asa R. Camp, the leading general 
merchant in his native town. In 
1868 he took (Ireeley's advice, 



joined H. II. Smith Post, No. 19, 
of Stowe, and is commander of this 
post at the present time. He was 
also commander in 1901, 1902 and 
1903, refusing to serve longer. 

In 1900 Mr. Thomas organized 
the Stowe Soldiers' IMemorial As- 
sociation for the puri)ose of raising 
funds to build a soldiers' monu- 
ment. Was elected its president, 
and still holds this office. Through 
the efforts of this organization 
about $1,000 was raised. In 1901 
Mr. Ilealey C. Akeley, a wealthy 




Soldiers' Memouial Building. 



living in the West more than 
twenty years; most of the time be- 
ing in the mercantile business ; also 
identified with other business inter- 
ests — Dakota lands and Minneapo- 
lis real estate. 

Mr. Thomas has l)een a member 
of Mystic Lodge, F. & A. M., No. 
56 for 34 years; a member of xVrk 
Chapter, Minneapolis. When liv- 
ing in Minneapolis, was a mem- 
ber of Morgan Post, G. A. R., 
one of the largest in the United 
States, but when he returned to 
his native home he took his dis- 
charge from Morgan Post and 



lumberman of Minneapolis, a na- 
tive of Stowe, who served as lieu- 
tenant in the Second Michigan 
Cavalry, was visiting Mr. Thomas. 
When the subject of building a 
soldiers' monument came up, Mr. 
Akeley was much interested, and 
suggested that a building of some 
kind would be a most appropriate 
and fitting memorial to the soldiers 
of the Civil War, and a benefit to 
the living, and authorized JMr. 
Thomas to carry out his suggestion, 
which should be a free gift. Mr. 
Thomas made all contracts, pur- 
chased the site and superintended 



138 



SUCCESSFUL VERMONTEKS. 



the constnietion of the bnikiing. 
Oil May 30, 1902, Mr. Thomas had 
the honor of laying the corner- 
stone in the presence of a large con- 
course of people. A bronze tab- 
let is placed in the main corridor 
of the building, with the following 
inscription : 

"In recognition of the munifi- 
cent gift of this luiilding hy Healey 
C. Akeley, and in appi-eciation of 
the efforts of Henry G. Thomas in 
its accomplishment, this tablet is 
placed in commemoration by the 
citizens of Stowe. " 

In carrying out the object of 
building a soldiers' monument, as 
proposed in the beginning, it 
seemed commendable to increase 
and add to the funds already 
raised for this purpose, which was 
done, and instead of building a 
marble or granite shaft (the usual 
custom), marble tablets, with the 
names of 216 soldiers inscribed on 
the same, who served in the Civil 
War and entitled to recognition, 
all being either natives of Stowe 
or credited to her quota, were 
placed in INIemorial Hall through 
the efforts of Mr. Thomas. The 
building is old Colonial style of 
architecture throughout, Avith solid 
red brick walls and light Barre 
granite trimmings. It is 88 feet 
front on the main lousiness street, 
and 18 feet in depth, with two sto- 
ries and basement. 

Through the courtesy of Senator 
Redfield Proctor, two three-inch 
cannon, Rodman pattern, were 
presented to the building, and are 
mounted on the lawn at each side 
of the porch. These cannon saw 
service in the Civil War. A large 
granite tablet over the main en- 
trance has a wreath design, hang- 
ing in the folds. Above the folds 
are inscribed the words: "Soldiers' 



Memorial. Presented by H. C. 
Akelev." 

January 12, 1868, Mr. Thomas 
married Alice G. Raymond, daugh- 
ter of the Hon. Asa Raymond and 
sister to Captain Albert Raymond, 
who served conspicuously in both 
the Thirteenth and Seventeenth 
Vermont regiments in the Civil 
War. Three children have been 
born of their marriage, one dying 
in infancy ; two daughters now liv- 
ing: Mrs. J. S. Whitcomb of 
Fargo, North Dakota, the second 
daughter, ]\Irs. William P. Cooper 
of Salt Lake City. 

AKELEY, Hon. Healey C, 
whose name will be held in honor 
in Stowe through the coming gen- 
erations for his splendid liberality 
in the founding of the Soldiers' 
Memorial Building, is a native of 
the village named, born ]\Iarch 16, 
1836. His father, George Akeley, 
an industrious farmer and honor- 
able man, died when the son was 
only nine years old, and the youth 
was thus early thrown on his own 
resources. Taking up a man's 
burden, he aided to earn a liveli- 
hood for the family hy his labors 
on the farm, and also worked his 
way through the ]iublic school and 
an academy at Barre. He then 
spent two summers with a survey- 
ing corps, and also read law. He 
completed his professional studies 
in the Poughkeepsie, New York, 
Law School, and was admitted to 
the bar in 1857, the year of his at- 
taining his majority. 

In 1858 Mr. Akeley went to 
INIichigan and engaged in the prac- 
tice of law in Grand Haven. At 
the outbreak of the Rebellion he 
sought to enter the army, l)ut was 
rejected on account of an asth- 
matic affection, but later, in Octo- 
ber, 1863, he was accepted and 



LAMOILLE COUNTY, 



139 



mustered into the service in the 
Second Regiment, Michigan Cav- 
alry, with which he served with 
fidelity and gallantry until the 
close of the war. 

Returning to Grand Haven, ]\Ir. 
Akeley resumed the practice of his 
profession and lieeame prominently 
identified with pul)lie affairs. The 
year after his coming he was ap- 
pointed collector of customs for the 
district of Michigan hy President 
Grant, hy whom he was reap- 
pointed, and nlso hy President 
Hayes, his official term heing 
thus extended to the long term of 
15 years. Mr. Akeley was also 
twice elected to the mayoralty of 
the city. 

In 1871 Mr. Akeley entered upon 
tluit larger career which event- 
ually made him a dominating fig- 
ure in tli<' v;isl luiiilxM- interests of 
the ceuti-al North. A natural out- 
growth of pi'evious operations, 
was the organizntion of the H. C. 
Akeley Tjum])ei' Company of INIin- 
neapolis, with Mr. Akeley at its 
head, and their mill came to be 
known as the "fastest" in the 
world, its out|uit during the seven 
months' sawing season each year 
heing the enormous quantity of 
110,()()0,0()0 feet. This was the first 
mill in which the double cutting- 
band was introduced. Mv. Akeley 
was the executive head of this great 
company, as well as of the Itasca 
Lumber Company, with its annual 
output of 75,000,000 feet. Feb- 
ruary 1, 1903, IMr. Akeley retired 
from his active lumber operations 
in order to properly oversee his 
other large interests. In all his 
large concerns, Mr. Akeley has 
shown all the resourcefulness and 
ability of a master mind, and he 
has conducted all his extensive op- 
erations with singular ease and 



skill, and is, withal, mild-man- 
nered and modest. 

Amid all the exactions of his ex- 
tremely active business cai'eer, he 
never allowed his affectiou for his 
native village to grow cold. The 
munificent gift of Mr. Akeley has 
forever endeared him to the people 
of fStowe, and his name will be 
honored by its people so long as 
the splendid edifice which was his 
gift, shall endnre. 

The i)liilaiithropy of Mr. Akeley 
has moved him 1o various other 
good works, and he is known as a 
liberal and fi-erpient contributor to 
charitable organizations. One of 
his largest gifts, aside from that to 
his native village of Stowe, was his 
former residence in Grand Haven, 
Michigan, which he made the home 
of the Blanche Hall Akeley Insti- 
tute for Girls, vesting the title and 
management in the Protestant 
Episcopal Church. This institu- 
tion has performed a highly use- 
ful work, and has steadily grown 
in favor with the parents who wish 
their daughters to be trained for 
the practical duties of life. Among 
other generous benefactions made 
by I\Ir. Akeley was -1^20,000 to the 
Salvation Army in ^linneapolis. 

JNIr. Akeley was married, in 1869, 
to Miss Hattie E. Smith of Grand 
Haven, INIichigan. Two children 
were born to them, of whom Flor- 
ence H. Akeley is living. The 
name of the one deceased is perpet- 
uated in the Blanche Hall Akeley 
Institute for Girls. 

PIKE, Hon. Paphro D., a son 
of William and Nancy (Hitch- 
cock) Pike, was born, December 1, 
1835, in Morristown. He is a 
great-grandson of Jonathan Pike, 
whose son, Seth, was a native of 
Windham, Connecticut, but who 
came to Brookfield, later removing 




Paphro D. Pike. 



LAMOILLE COUNTY'. 



•141 



to Sterlino' and finally settled in 
IMorristown. He married Mary 
Flint and 10 children were born to 
them. 

AVilliam Pike, son of Seth and 
Mary (Flint) Pike, was born Feb- 
ruary 20, 1799, at Brookfield. He 
married Nancy Hitchcock of West- 
field, a danghter of Caleb and 
Nancy (P]aton) Hitchcock. To 
Mr. and ]\Irs. IMke four children 
were born: Lucy, Paphro D., 
Lydia B. and Einily. Mr. Pike 
died in January, 1871, at the aye 
of 75 years. Mrs. Pike died Octo- 
ber 31, 1884, at the age of 76 years.' 

Hon. Paphro D. Pike was edu- 
cated in the district schools and at 
Johnson Academy ; for a time he 
taught school in Stowe. Being 
possessed of a natural taste for 
things mechanical, he began work 
in mills before becoming of age, 
and soon became the owner of a 
considera])le sawmill, which he 
abandoned soon after the outbreak 
of the Civil War. August 9, 1862, 
he enlisted, at Stowe, in Company 
D, Eleventh Regiment, Vermont 
Infantry. The regiment was sent 
to AVashington for the defense of 
the capitol, during which time it 
was made a heavy artillery regi- 
ment. ]\Ir. Pike remained with the 
regiment during its entire service, 
with the exception of two months 
he spent in the hospital. He was 
honorably discharged, July, 1865. 

After his return from the war 
he was variously engaged as car- 
penter and millwright until 1871, 
when he commenced the manufac- 
ture of butter tubs. 

In 1885 he sold out and located 
in Brooklyn, New York, where he 
was emplo>'ed in the Hatters "Fur 
Cutting Company. In 1899 he re- 
tui'ued to Stowe, purchased the old 
mill and resumed the manufacture 



of butter tubs, round boxes and 
veneer packages. Gradually this 
business has given way to the man- 
ufacture of hard and soft wood 
lumber. In 1890 JNIr. Pike and his 
sons, Lewis A. and Arba A., 
formed a partnership under the 
firm name of P. D. Pike & Sons. 
The firm is doing a very extensive 
business, giving employment to 25 
men the year round and handling 
nearly one and one-half million 
feet of lumber. 

Politically, ]\Ir. Pike is a sturdy 
Republican, and although the de- 
mand of his time is great, he has 
found little time for public office. 
His townsmen have testified to 
their confidence in him by electing 
him to the Legislature in 1880, 
when he served on the committee 
on manufactures. In 1900 he was 
chosen state senator for Lamoille 
County, and here he served on the 
committees on temperance, military 
affairs and general and manufac- 
tuj'es. 

In 1865, Mr. Pike was united in 
marriage to Abigail, daughter of 
Luke J. and Eunice (Camp) 
Towne. Three sons have been 
born to them : Arba A., Lewis A. 
and Fred M. 

PIKE, Arba A., was born in 
Stowe, November 14, 1861. He re- 
ceived his education in the dis- 
trict and graded schools, and at 21 
years of age entered the employ of 
his father, remaining two years; 
at the end of this period he entered 
the firm and for the next two years 
had charge of the business. He 
then bought a grocery and general 
store, which for two years he con- 
ducted alone; then taldng in B. E. 
Wallace of Waterbury, conducted 
the l)usiness under the firm name 
of Pike & Wallace. Two years 
later Mr. Pike's father and brother 




Area A. Pike. 



LAMOILLE COUNTY. 



143 



bought in, and the present mill 
property was purchased and the 
entire business was conducted un- 
der the firm name of P. D. Pike & 
Sons; later, the store was sold to 
Oakes & Benson ; then Mr. Pike 
bought out the Oakes interest and 
came back into the store under the 
firm name of Pike & Benson. The 
lum])er industry has continued to 
the present time, with an annual 
increase in the amount of business 
done. The firm own a large tract 
of timber land in Waterbiiry, and 
operate a steam mill at Waterbury 
Center, in which branch of the busi- 
ness Mr. Pike's son, Harry E., has 
an interest. 

June 13, 1883, Mr. Pike man-ied 
Carrie L., a daughter of Erastus 
and INIary Edgerton of Stowe. One 
child was born to them: Harry E., 
born June 27, 1884. Mrs. >ike 
died, September 30, 1889. No- 
vember 10, 1891, Mr. Pike married 
for his second wife Anna B., a 
daughter of G. Munroe and Ida K. 
Culver of Stowe. To them three 
children have been born : Marion, 
September 3, 1893 ; Muriel, born 
May 29, 1898, and Beatrice, born 
February 20, 1902. 

Mv. Pike is vice-president aiul 
treasurer of the Stowe Lumber 
Company, manufacturers of hard 
and soft wood lumber, with mills 
at Elmore ; was for five years a 
leading factor in the Citizens' Tel- 
ephone Company, which was sold 
to the New England Telephone 
Company a year ago. He is a 
trustee of the Lamoille County 
Savings Bank and Trust Company 
and has served his town as select- 
man, auditor, school director and 
in 1896 repi'esented Stowe in the 
General Assembly of Vermont. 

WILKINS, lioN. George, the 
jiestor of the Lamoille County bar, 



who lived to the venerable age of 
85 years, was, during a long and 
active career, the most striking 
figure of his day, and his death has 
removed the last of an old and 
wonderful race of men, who 
moulded the destinies of the com- 
monwealth during a most im- 
portant epoch. He was born in 
Stowe, December 6, 1817, son of 
Uriah and Nancy (Kittridge) Wil- 
kins. In 1841 he was admited to 
the bar at the age of 24 years. He 
was unusually able as a trial law- 
yer and an earnest and resolute 
advocate. Many of his cases in- 
volved large values and intricate 
questions of law and he was noted 
for his success in gaining his 
points. His counsel was much 
sought by the people about him and 
his advice and aid were freely 
given. When upAvards of eighty, 
he bore himself erectly, with firm 
and elastic step. His manners 
were courtly and dignified and he 
was in all things the personification 
of the real gentleman of the old 
school. He maintained to the last 
his splendid mental powers, his 
soundness of judgment, his inti- 
mate knowledge of affairs and 
deep-seated loyalty to the commu- 
nity. 

IMany of the foremost men in 
the state paid high tribute to Mr. 
Wilkins' excellences and useful- 
ness. Only a few days before his 
death his counsel was sought with 
reference to an important measure 
then pending in Congress. Sena- 
tor Dillingham said of him soon 
after his decease : ' ' Mr. Wilkins 
was a man of marked ability, 
strong individuality and pro- 
nounced traits of character;" and 
Senator Redfield Proctor, in a let- 
ter written with reference to this 
sketch of Mr. Wilkins' life, said: 



144 



SUCCESSFUL VER.MOXTERS. 



"The people of Vermont nni- 
versally felt, I am sure, as I did, 
great sorrow to learn of the death 
of Mr. Wilkins. Through his long 
life he had been a very useful man, 
stanch and strong and true to his 
political principles, and always 
standing up fearlessly for what he 
believed to be right. His standing 
was such as to give him not only 
great influence in his own county, 
but throughout the state, for peo- 
ple felt generally that George Wil- 
kins of Stowe, must be on the 
right side. Though on account of 
residing so far apart we did not 
often meet. I was glad to count him 
always as a steadfast friend, for 
loyalty to his friends and his prin- 
ciples was inherent in his nature. 
He was a natural born guide and 
leader, and his advice Avas often 
sought in political and party mat- 
ters and always respected. He 
had filled a prominent place in 
Vermont atfairs for a long time, 
and his death was a public loss." 

Mr. AVilkins was one of the 
founders of the- Lamoille County 
National Bank, in which he was a 
director from the first. Former 
Governor Page, who was a brother 
director with Mr. AVilkins in this 
bank for more than a quarter of 
a century, gave expression to the 
following language in a letter 
written subse((uent to his death. It 
was not designed for publication, 
but it so well expresses some of 
the strong characteristics of i\Ir. 
Wilkins that we deem it worthy a 
place in this article. Governor 
Page said : 

"For more than a quarter of a 
century I was an associate with ]\Ir. 
AYilkins on the board of directors 
of the Lamoille County National 
Bank and presume I knew him as 
few men did. It was our custom 



at each directors' meeting of our 
bank to bring forward a record of 
every note discounted during the 
preceding month and discuss the 
merits and demerits of the ditfer- 
ent individual signers. I came to 
respect not only his sound busi- 
ness judgment, his correctness in 
weighing men and matters, but his 
kindness of heart as well, because 
in discussing the ditferent men pri- 
vately, as we did, I was enabled to 
gauge the natural characteristics 
and idiosyncrasies of my brother 
director, not only with reference 
to his excellent business judgment, 
but as to his kindly regard for 
his lu'other fellow men." 

^Ir. AYilkins' public service was 
frequent and highly useful. In 
1852- '53 he served as state's attor- 
ney: in 1859 he was elected state 
senator from Lamoille Comity; in 
that important place he displayed 
all the qualities of the wise and con- 
scientious legislator, and his con- 
stituents would have gladly ad- 
vanced him had he manifested any 
partiality for a political career. 
He was an ardent admirer of Lin- 
coln and was a delegate to the Na- 
tional Union Convention in 1864, 
which renominated that eminent 
statesman to the presidency. In 
1868 he was a presidential elector, 
and cast his vote for General 
Grant. In 1872 he was a delegate 
to the National Republican Con- 
vention which renominated that 
distinguished soldier. Pie exerted 
a strong influence in behalf of the 
Republican party, to whose princi- 
ples he was deeply attached, and 
which he eloquently maintained on 
many occasions before large assem- 
blages. He had a remarkably fine 
voice, of deep and rich tones. 

During a greater part of his 
later years he devoted much of his 



LAMOILLE COUNTY. 



145 



time to caring' for his large proper- 
ties. He was ever interested in 
educational afiPairs. In 1870 he 
gave to each one of the 18 school 
districts in Stowe a copy of Web- 
ster's Unabridged Dictionary, and 
subsequently to each a good sized 
globe. In token of his admiration 
of the soldiers who defended their 
country during the Civil War, he 
presented to N. II. Smith Post a 
beautiful soldiers' memorial vol- 
ume, which volume as a soldiers' 
record, has a place with the sol- 
diers' tablets in ^Memorial Hall. 

Mr. Wilkins was married, July 
12, 1816, to Maria N. Wilson of 
Hopkinton, New York, who, dur- 
ing the summer and fall of the pre- 
vious year, taught the village school 
in Stowe. In 1875 she was ap- 
pointed delegate from the Third 
District of Vermont to the AVo- 
man's National Temperance Con- 
vention in Cincinnati, Ohio. Her 
zeal and ability in educational af- 
fairs led to her election as super- 
intendent of schools for three con- 
secutive years, 1881, '82, '83— the 
first woman to hold that office in 
Stowe, and to prepare and read 
reports on the condition of the 
schools in town meeting. She is an 
easy, fluent writer, and has made 
many meritorious contributions to 
the press, one of the most impor- 
tant being her "History of Stowe," 
published in the "Vermont His- 
torical Gazetteer. ' ' 

Mr. Wilkins died, IMarch 22, 
1902, and since then INIrs. Wilkins 
has shown remarkable ability for 
a woman of her age (in her 84th 
year), in taking upon herself the 
entire management of her prop- 
erty since its control has passed 
into her hands. 

]Mr. and "Mrs. Wilkins brought 
into their homo three orphans: 
A— u 



Charles B. Swift and his sisters, 
Maude M. and Elizabeth M. Swift, 
the children of Captain J. H. 
Swift, a former sea captain of New 
Bedford, IMassachusetts, and later 
a resident of Washington. Upon 
these Mr. and Mrs. Wilkins be- 
stowed a really parental affection. 
Charles B. Swift was the son of 
Captain Swift and Louise (But- 
ler) Swift, daughter of Captain 
Butler of New Bedford, IMassachu- 
setts. She died at the age of 28. 
Later, Captain Swift married Em- 
ily C. Wilson of Vallejo, Califor- 
nia, sister of ]\Irs. Wilkins. 

Charles B. Swift was educated at 
the Bryant & Stratton Business 
College in Boston, IMassachusetts, 
and is now an extensive lumber 
dealer in (larfield. He married 
Jennie Hastings of Wolcott and 
has two children : Louise M. and 
George W. Swift. :Maude Swift 
was educated at Stowe High 
School, later at the People's Acad- 
emy in IMorrisville and the Normal 
School in Johnson. She married 
Mr. Harry C. Fullington of John- 
son and to them were born two 
children: Mary W. and Birney 
Swift Fullington. Elizabeth M. 
Swift also attended the Normal 
School in Johnson and now has a 
home with Airs. AVilkins in Stowe. 

EDDY. Charles F., was born in 
Huntington in 1857, was educated 
in the district schools and at the 
State Normal School at Johnson, 
working his way through this 
school by teaching winters. 

Jaiuiary 4, 1882, Mr. Eddy was 
united in marriage to Miss Dora 
Stoddard of Fayston, and for the 
next nine years devoted himself to 
farming and buying farm produce. 
In 1891 Mr. Eddy Ijegan his career 
in the creamery business, which 
has been both marked and success- 



LAMOILLK COUNTY^ 



147 



fill, until the i^resent time he is eon- 
ductiii<i' seven successful creameries, 
the output of these creameries for 
1905 being' 1,149,021 pounds of 
butter. At Waitstield he has con- 
ducted a large hardware, grocery 
and feed lousiness and, in 1903, 
bought a half interest in the gen- 
eral store of Pike & Benson of 
Stowe, which carries a stock of 
about $18,000. Mr. Eddy also has 
a half interest in a livery stable, 
and two farms. 

Charles F. Eddy is the typical 
Vermont hustler, filled with energy, 
grit and stick-to-itiveness, sound 
judgment and one whose word is 
as good as a l)()nd; decided in his 
opinions, not easily changed when 
satisfied that he is right, and yet 
always genial, courteous and a 
patient listener, Mv. Elddy has won 
high place in the business circles 
of his town, county and state. 

While residing in AVaitsfield he 
served that town as selectman, lis- 
ter and constable, lie located in 
Stowe in 1900 and in 1904 he was 
chosen to represent the town in the 
General Assembly, serving with 
credit on the connnittee on insane 
and the agricultural committee; in 
both these places he won the dis- 
tinction of being a working mcm- 
IxM-. Mr. Eddy has the distinction 
of being the only Eepublican 
chosen to represent Stowe since 
18i)(i. 

BURT, Ciiari.es E., son of 
Charles and Edna (Town) Burt, 
was born in Waterbury, January 
5, 1841. lie is widely and favora- 
bly known, not only as one of the 
leading lumber manufacturers of 
Vermont and a highly esteemed 
and influential citizen of Stowe, 
but as a veteran deputy sheriff. 

Mr. Burt received only the ordi- 
nary common school education, but 



had a valuable training in the 
practical affairs of life, and early 
learned the lessons of industry, per- 
severance and economy. He came 
to Stowe in 1864 and engaged in 
the livery and freighting business, 
which he continued to conduct to 
a considerable extent until the ad- 
vent of the electric i-oad. 

In 1888, in company with his 
brother, the late Fi'au'k 0. Burt, 
he purchased about one thousand 
acres of timber land and built a 
steammill in the eastern i)art of the 
town, known as Stowe Hollow, and 
conducted the lumber business 
there some ten years, until the mill 
bui'ued. They also bought a water 
mill and 2,000 acies of land in the 
southwest part of the town, known 
as Nebraska, and annually handled 
at both mills a million feet of lum- 
ber and three fourths of a million 
of clapboards. After operating a 
mill at Moss Glen Falls for two 
years, Burt Brotheis moved the 
machinery to a mill in this village 
which they had erected, where they 
have consolidated the bulk of their 
business. Their logging is mainly 
done by joljbers on conti'act. Dur- 
ing the logging season some sixty 
teams, emi)loying 75 men, are kept 
busy; also 25 men are employed in 
and about the mill. A large por- 
tion of their help are i)ermanent 
residents of the town anil their pay 
roll is the largest in town. The 
bulk of their fimlxn- is mountain 
spruce of unusually good quality 
and size. They leave the small 
timber to mature. After the 
burning of Mount IMansfield House 
in 1889, its site, including about 
fifty acres of land, was unoccupied 
until the fall of 1898, wlien Burt 
Brothers bought it, also the water 
supply, consisting of three cold 
mountain springs. Dui'ing the fol- 



148 



SUCCESSFUL VEIIMONT E I ; S. 



lowing summer they dug and built 
a large reservoir on the hill and 
conducted a main to the village, 
where some seventy-five families 
are supplied with this excellent 
water. They also laid out the old 
hotel site into building lots, on 
which three fine residences have 
been erected. These two enter- 
prises alone entitle Burt Brothers 
to the enduring gratitude of the 
citizens of Stowe. 

Frank 0. Burt was an esteemed 
member of the Legislature in 1900. 
He died in 1903, leaving a widow 
and five children. The eldest son, 
Mr. Craig 0. Burt, fills a sphere 
of usefulness as foreman of the 
mill and timekeeper. INIiss Bar- 
bara Burt, the eldest daughter, is 
the efficient bookkeeper of the 
firm. 

This enterprising firm controls 
practically 8,000 acres of tim- 
ber land and the successful opera- 
tion of their innnense business, 
a potential factor in the prosperity 
of the town, devolves upon Charles 
E. Burt. During the past 35 
years he has filled a large sphere 
of business activity and enjoys the 
implicit confidence of the people.. 
During much of that time he has 
been constable or deputy sheriff. 
The busiest of men, his unfailing- 
good nature and courtesy are mani- 
fested to all, and he deservedly has 
a wide circle of friends. 

Mr. Burt married ]\Iiss Vera 
Raymond of Stowe, in July, 1882. 
He is a member of Mvstic Lodge, 
No. 56, A. F. & A. "m., also of 
Tucker Chapter. 

BARROWS, Doctor Harry W., 
son of Samuel W. and Sibyl 
(Chase) Barrows, was born in Leb- 
anon, New Hampshire, January 6, 
1866. His father moved to a farm 
in Bethel in 1868, and here Harry 



spent his youth, graduating from 
the Bethel High School in 1887. 
He resolved to adopt the medical 
profession as his future life work 
and attended three years at the 
iMedical Department of the Uni- 
versity of Vermont, from which 
he graduated in 1890. His first 
settlement was at Norwich, where 
he remained only one year. He 
then came to Stowe, ])ought the 
practice of Doctor Burnet and is 
pursuing an excellent and increas- 
ing business. 

Doctor Barrows has served as sec- 
retary of the pension board and is 
a member of both the Lamoille 
County and the State IMedical So- 
ciety. Doctor Barrows possesses 
those qualities of mind and heart 
that always command respect and 
esteem. In manner quiet and un- 
obtrusive he is social and kindly, 
and faithful and exemplary in 
every relation of life. 

He has entered heartily into the 
social, religious, and public activi- 
ties of the town. He has served 
as a member of the executive com- 
mittee of Unity Church, and as a 
member of the board of school di- 
rectors. He is now one of the vil- 
lage trustees. He is affiliated with 
IMystic Lodge, No. 56, A. F. & A. 
M., with Tucker Chapter and 
IMoiuit Zion Commandery of Mont- 
pelier. Doctor Barrows married, in 
1900, Lille C, daughter of A. E. 
Douglass of Stowe. They have 
two children: Douglass W., born 
in 1902, and Dorothy S., born in 
1904. 

SMITH, Fred Elisha, son of 
Lemuel B. and Nancy E. (Towne) 
Smith, was born in Stowe, Sep- 
tember 18, 1869. Lemuel Smith 
was born in 1809 and at the time 
of his lamented death, in 1899, was 
the oldest man in town. He Avas 



LAMOILLE COUNTY. 



149 



a millwright and carpenter and 
joiner by trade, and possessed con- 
siderable mechanical ingennity. 
He built the first starch factory in 
town, also the present sawmill at 
Moscow, which he purchased in 
1836 and conducted for more than 
half a century. He also erected 



nership with his father, under the 
firm style of L. B. Smith & Son, 
which continued until 1896. After 
renting the mill for four years, he 
purchased it. His present abun- 
dant prosperity is due largely to his 
invention of a scientific parchment- 
lined butter box. The box is 




Fred E. Smith. 



a sash and blind factory, which was 
burned in 1877 with heavy loss. 
Soon after he erected a planing 
mill, which in 1891 was i-efitted for 
a butter box factory. 

After completing his education 
at People's Academy, Fred E. 
Smith returned to his native vil- 
lage, and soon after formed a part- 



square, having dove-tailed corners, 
largest at the top, and is lined with 
a single piece of parchment paper, 
folded so as to make a perfectly 
water tight lining, also doing away 
with the use of glue. Mr. Smith, 
after many experiments, devised 
the machinery for the manufacture 
of these boxes and his factory now 



150 



SUCCESSFUL VERMOKTERS. 



has a daily capacity of 2,000 boxes. 
It is a convenient and popular 
paeka<»e and finds an extensive and 
ready sale. 

INIr. Smitli employs from 15 to 
30 men in his various operations, 
and his pay roll is the lifeblood of 
Moscow. This year he will manu- 
facture a million feet of dressed 
lumber. During' the past six 
years he has acquired some eighteen 
hundred acres of land, largely tim- 
ber land, including two farms. He 
has erected two houses in the vil- 
lage. He is too busy to accept 
town office, although he acts as 
justice of the peace. ^Ir. Smith is 
emphatically a self-made man. 
He possesses that rare combination 
of mechanical ingenuity and practi- 
cal good sense and executive abil- 
ity that commands success. He is 
a member of Mystic Lodge and 
Tucker Chapter, A. F. & A. M. 

I\Ir. Smith married, in 1892. :\lar- 
tha, daughter of Fi-ankliu J. and 
Sarah (Atkins) Waite. Their 
beautiful home is a pleasant social 
center and is brightened by thre(^ 
children: Veuila Ann, born 1894; 
Isabel le Chaiitv, 1895, and Waite 
L. B., 1901. 

LOVE JOY, M. C, the well- 
known proprietor of Green INIoun- 
tain Inn, has kept this popular ho- 
tel since 1892, and being a native 
of Stowe, is familiar with ail i)oints 
of local scenery. The house has 
recently been repaired and refur- 
nished, and under the present able 
management commands an excel- 
lent patronage. A good livery is 
connected, with turnouts adapted 
to large or small parties and moun- 
tain work, with expeiienced driv- 
ers, is made a specialty. 

Green INIountain Inn is the most 
available hotel, Stowe being only 
five miles from the foot of ]\Iount 



^lansfield, the monarch of the 
Green Mountains. The spotted 
trout aboiuid in the cool mountain 
brooks in this vicinity, and small 
game is found in the black timber 
on the mountam slopes. Its ele- 
vated situation makes Stowe a nat- 
ural sanitarium, and severe cases 
of asthma and hay fever are 
greatly alleviated by brief resi- 
dence in this bracing mountain air. 
Green ]\Iountain Inn is distant 10 
miles fioni Waterbury, eight miles 
from ]\Iorrisville by tri-daily stage, 
and three miles from ]\Ioss Glen 
Falls. 

jNIr. Lovejoy owns a half interest 
in a fine 300-acie dairy farm, well 
stocked with thoroughbred Ayr- 
shires. 

CAMBRIDGE. 

Population, Census of 1900, l,fi06. 

This town was granted Novem- 
ber 7, 1780, the same day that the 
town of Eden was granted to Seth 
Warner and his associates. Cam- 
bridge was chartered August 13, 
1781, to Samuel Kobinson and 66 
others. Two years later, the same 
year that saw the treaty of peace 
signed between Great Britain and 
the United States, saw John Spaf- 
ford, a Revolutionary soldier, build 
bis log cabin in town. 25 miles from 
the nearest habitation. He win- 
tered here in 1783- '81. Conant, in 
his historical reader, relates how he 
lived in a log house beside the La- 
moille River. One day in winter 
he took a bag of corn on a hand- 
sled and drew it on the ice of the 
river, where he could, to the near- 
est mill to be ground. The mill 
was at Colchester Falls, 25 miles 
ofie. 

On the way home he became very 
tired and hungry. So he stopped, 



LAMOILLE COUNTY, 



151 



made a fire, wet np sdine of the 
meal in the mouth of his bag and 
baked a cake. Then he went on 
again. His wife Sarah waited a 
k)ng time for him that evening, but 
as he did not come she lay down 
and slept and dreamed that Mr. 
Spaft'ord was calling her. 

She awoke and looked and lis- 
tened, but she could not see" nor 
hear anything of him. Soon she 
slept again and dreamed a second 
time that he was calling. Then she 
rose and ^^'ith a lighted torch went 
to the river bank, wdiere she found 
him, unable to get up the bank with 
his load. 

The sunniier of 1784 John and 
David Saft'ord, Samuel INIontague, 
John and Jonathan Fassett, Daniel 
and Stephen Kinsley, soldiers of 
the Revolution, came to town and 
settled near Mr. Spafford. 

John Saft'ord was a man of great 
force and energy. He taught the 
first school and exei'ted a command- 
ing influence in the town for 70 
years. 

The town was organized March 
29, 1785. John Fassett was the 
first town clerk, and that fall 
David Safford was chosen the first 
representative. 

No litigation or angry lawsuits 
evei' disturbed the harmony of the 
neighborhood. By living in peace 
with each other they saved both 
their money and tempers. Such 
was the character of the men who 
laid the foundation of this splendid 
town. 

The first settlers of the town, 
being many of them soldiers of the 
Revolution, brought the military 
and patriotic spirit with them and 
infused it into the public sentiment 
of the people. The June trainings 
were more than mere pastimes. 

In the War of 1812 the town 



sent a company of 60 men, under 
Captain John Wires, afterwards 
General Wires, to Plattslnirg, and 
some thirty other citizens enlisted 
during the wai-. 

In the Civil War the town fur- 
nished 170 men ; 37 of these died 
in the service. The town paid 
^33,000 in bounties. 

In 1805 the first church building 
was built. The first settlers lived 
in rude dwellings of logs. The for- 
est echoed for miles around with 
the axman's blow and crash of 
sturdy trees. The settler's wife 
spun flax, while her daughters s])un 
tow for summer clothing, and Avhen 
this was finished the wool was next 
spun for the winter's w%ardrobe ; 
and summer and winter they wore 
their durable homespun and were 
not dependent upon factories and 
stores. The schoolhouses, too, were 
well filled with a robust lot of boys 
and girls. On the Sabbath the 
meeting-house was filled with hear- 
ers and all were kind and tender. 

The old schoolhouses that had 
forty or fifty scholars are gone ; you 
will find better ones in their stead, 
but only from five to fifteen schol- 
ars there now, and these in im- 
ported fabric and thin shoes, less 
robust than of old. The church 
slips, too, are nearly all vacant. 
The old fathers have answered 
their last call, and as we look back 
to those pioneer days we almost 
feel that the sturdy type of man- 
hood and wMimanhood that built this 
great country has departed, never 
again to return. But such is not 
the case, for today our fair state is 
peopled by the best, the purest and 
noblest people that ever lived in 
anv state in any age. 

FITLLINGTON, John T., was a 
son of Ephraim and Sarah Foster 
Fullington, who came from Ray- 



152 



StrCCESSFUL vermonters. 



mond, New Hampshire, to Cam- 
bridge, in 1795, which has been the 
home of the family for 111 years. 

John T. Fnllington was born 
here in 1808 and here he lived 
out his 91 years of an honoral)le 
and nsefnl life. His education 
was in the public school of this dis- 



Ile early learned and carried into 
his practical and lonsf, useful life, 
the sentiment of doing to others as 
he would have them do to him, and 
giving to them as he would have 
them give to him. This kind feel- 
ing was ever in his house, ga^iding 
it. His home was full of good 




John T. Fui.lixgton. 



trict and from the instruction of 
his elder brother, Moses. He in- 
herited a kind heart and a mild dis- 
position, which were drawn out and 
educated by a wise mother and a 
noble elder brother. So well 
trained were these qualities that 
he had no animosities in his inter- 
course with men. 



cheer to all of its inmates and to all 
who came to it to share its welcome 
hospitality. 

]Mr. Fullington, though in mod- 
est circumstances and living all his 
life in this quiet neighborhood, kept 
himself well informed by good 
reading of important movements 
and changes going on in the polit- 



LAMOILLE COUNTY. 



153 



ical, religions and educational 
world, and enjoyed all the changes 
that elevated all conditions of men, 
making them wiser, freer and hap- 
pier. He was firm in his opin- 
ions and beliefs, and courageous in 
holding to them. He was a con- 
servative optimist in relation to the 



hearted and reverent, and loved 
by all with whom he associated. In 
all his long life no scandal, dishon- 
esty or meanness touched with 
its slim finger his character. In 
his modest and narrow place, by 
diligent and honest effort, he 
grew into a wise, active, useful, no- 




Frederick H. Fullington. 



popular questions of the progress 
of his times. He was a firm be- 
liever in the all-wise God, who ulti- 
mately guides and directs the af- 
fairs of men. He was industrious, 
benevolent, evenly governed, hap- 
pily self-controlled, intelligent, de- 
vout, and an honest man. His 
character was true and just, frank- 



ble man. Reverend Edwin Whee- 
lock, in his memoi-ial remarks, said: 
"His life's work is done. He has 
finished the task given him to do 
in this world. We shall miss him 
in the town which has been the field 
of his activities for so many useful 
years — we shall miss his sedate 
walk and cheerful face and calm, 



154 



SUCCESSFUL VERMONTERS. 



wise words of counsel — but his 
work is not done — it never ends. 
The life of influence is as fixed as 
the ocean, or as the beams of the 
light of the sun which fills the 
earth with flowers and golden har- 
vests. The influence of a good 
man never dies, but brightens the 
pages of humanity as the ages come 
and go. It goes on stretching out 
wider and deeper like the sea, unit- 
ing with other holy influences until 
the final closing up of the pages 
of human history. The Avork of 
the truly good man never dies. It 
is a sweet and active force in the 
universe of God forever. Such a 
life is an example and an inspira- 
tion to young men for the highest 
and nol)lest work given men to do 
on this earth, when they heed the 
instruction of Him, who is the way 
and the truth and the life — 'oc- 
cupy till I come' — and we do well 
here today to drop a tear of sincere 
sorrow and respect over the bier 
of this good, upright and exem- 
plary man.'' 

Mr. Fullingtou died at his home, 
February 23, 1899, in his ninety- 
first vear. 

FULLINGTON, Hon. Freder- 
ick H., a son of the late John T. 
and Sylvia (Carpenter) Fulling- 
tou, was born in Cambridge, on 
the old home farm, December 9, 
1851. He was educated in the 
public schools and at the State 
Normal School at Johnson. "When 
he attained his majority duty 
seemed to direct him to stay 
on the old farm, and while his 
tastes, desires and capabilities 
might have directed otherwise, like 
a true FuUington he chose to re- 
main. Here he has met with that 
splendid degree of success that us- 
ually comes to persistent eft'ort and 
real worth. Modest, miassuming, 



but keen, well posted and able, ^Ir. 
Fullingtou has always been re- 
garded as a leading son of Cam- 
bridge. He has held the offices of 
selectman, school director, superin- 
tendent of schools, county board of 
road commissioners. He was chosen 
to represent Caml)ridge in the Gen- 
eral Assemlily of 1888, and in 1904 
was elected state senator for La- 
moille County; here he served on 
the senate committee on education, 
the general committee, the grand 
list committee and the .joint stand- 
ing connnittee on immigration and 
industrial interests. On all of these 
important committees Senator FuU- 
ington was a working member, 
never leaving for his colleagues du- 
ties that he should properly 
perfoi'm. 

iMarcli 1(), 1875, Senator Full- 
ingtou married Emma, daughter of 
James F. and Clara (Davis) Tay- 
lor of Barton ; two children have 
been born to them: Fred p]arl. and 
Stella Blanch. 

LKAVEXS. Hon. Linus, was 
born in Berkshire. September 2, 
1859, a son of Jonathan W. and 
]\raria (Holmes) Leavens. He was 
educated in the public schools of 
Bei'kshire and at the Bryant and 
Stratton Business College at ]Man- 
chester. New Hampshire. After 
completing his education he went to 
Cowansville, Quebec, and clerked 
for eight years; he then entered the 
grocery and hardware trade with 
G. W. Boright. under the firm 
name of Boright & Leavens, and 
c(mtinued for two years; he then 
disposed of his interest and located 
at Enosburg Falls; here he entered 
the emploj' of W. H. Billado, as 
head clerk in a general store and 
remained thus employed for four 
vears. at which time he entered the 
employ of M. P. Perly & Co., and 



LAMOILLE COUNTY. 



1.55 



for three years was manager of 
their business. 

In 1895 he and Mr. Perly 
formed a partnership under the 
firm name of Perly & Leavens, 
and opened their general store at 
Cambridge. Mr. Leavens becoming' 
the resident partner. Here he has 



that would advance the well being 
of the connnunity. lie has served 
his town as moderator, auditor, 
school director and, in 1901, was 
elected to represent the town of 
Cambridge in the General Assem- 
bl.v. Here his integrity and keen 
business discernment were recogr- 




LiNUS Leavens. 



remained to the present time, and 
by following- the old and safe policy 
of a square deal to everyone, has 
built up a splendid trade and won 
a large circle of warm friends. 

JMr. Leavens has always taken a 
lively interest in public matters 
and has given freely of his aid in 
both time and means to any project 



nized and he was given the chair- 
manship of the committee on 
claims, one of the most important 
committees of the General Assem- 
bly ; he also served on the connnit- 
tee on temperance that formulated 
the new license bill. When the 
bill reorganizing the court of 
claims was passed. Chairman Lea- 



156 



SUCCESSFUL VERMONTERS. 



vens' able and painstaking lal)ors 
on his important committee made 
his selection as a judge of that 
court both wise and certain. He 
also served with marked ability as 
chairman of the sub-committee on 
claims, which investigated the state 
anditoi' 's department. 



fraternity and has ascended seven 
rungs of that mystic ladder. 

WHEELOCK, Reverend Ed- 
win, was born in Cambridge, No- 
vember 17, 1822, a son of fSamuel 
and Patty (Adams) Wheelock. He 
is a descendant of good old New 
England stock, as his grandfather 




Rev. Edwin Wheelock, D. D. 



December 25, 1883, Jndge Lea- 
vens was married to Carrie I., 
daughter of Joel G. Gaines of 
Berkshire. Five children have 
been born to them: Linns C, John 
Burton, Harlow Gr., Donald and 
Dorothy C. 

He is affiliated with the Masonic 



Adams was a near relative of John 
Adams, second president of the 
United States. 

His early life was passed on the 
farm. When 18 he entei-ed the old 
Burlington Academy and prepared 
for college. He graduated with 
honor from the University of Ver- 



LAMOILLE COUNTY. 



157 



moiit ill 1849 and was principal of 
the IMountain Academy in Tipton 
County, Tennessee, during' the 
next four years. 

Eeturniiirt' to Vermont in 1853, 
he studied theology with Reverend 
James Dougherty, D. D., of John- 
son, with whom he afterwards 
united in organizing the Lamoille 
County Association of Congrega- 
tional ministers. In 1855 he was 
called to the pastorate of the 
church at Cambridge, and the 
happy relations then assumed re- 
mained unbroken for more than 
half a century, until advancing age 
compelled the laying down of the 
cares of the active ministry. 

He has always taken a deep in- 
terest in educational matters. He 
was town superintendent of schools 
from 1856 to 1870 and repi*esented 
Cambridge in the General Assem- 
bly in 1866 and 1867 ; Lamoille 
County in the state Senate in 1876, 
and was chaplain of the Senate in 
1880. 

He became a Mason Feliruary 2, 
1860; was first appointed assistant 
grand chaplain of the grand lodge 
in 1866 and was reappointed the 
next year; in 1868 he was ap- 
pointed grand chaplain and has 
served continuously to the present 
time. He is rarely absent from the 
annual communications and his 
fidelity to this trust is a beautiful 
memorial to his attachment for that 
great fraternity with which his 
name has been so long interwoven 
by his brethren in golden threads 
of love and friendship. 

Jiuie 19, 1902, the TTniversity of 
Vermont conferred the degree of 
doctor of divinity upon ]Mr. Whee- 
lock. 

July 30, 1851, I\Ir. Wheelock was 
united in marriage to Laura, 
daughter of Daniel and Lucy 



J^ierce of Eden. Six children were 
born to them, four of whom are 
still living. Mrs. Wheelock de- 
parted this life September 23, 
1886, and, October 20, 1887, he 
married for his second wife Mrs. 
Lucv Pavne Eaton of Fairfield. 

REYNOLDS, Orange Wires, a 
son of Harry and Mary (Wires) 
Reynolds, was born in Bakers- 
field in 1831. He received his 
education in the public schools of 
his native town and at Bakersfield 
Academy. When 20 years of age 
he entered his father's store at 
Cambridge Center; five years 
later, at the death of his father, he 
and his uncle, Hon. IMartin Wires, 
settled the estate and continued the 
business until 1860, when he sold 
out the business and located at the 
"Boro, " where he gave tender and 
devoted care and attention to his 
two invalid sisters, until their de- 
cease, in 1864 and 1865, when he 
liegan business in the Ellenwood 
store; later he bought the Homer 
Weatherbee store on the opposite 
side of the street and continued in 
trade until his death, being in the 
mercantile business in Cambridge 
for half a century. 

He early became a large owner 
of farms, which he let on shares, 
and this interest grew on his hands 
and occupied his utmost attention 
in his later years. 

In 1867 he was united in mar- 
riage to May Louise IMorgan, a lady 
of rare worth and unusual ability, 
whose loving- character and devo- 
tion to her husband and family, 
contributed much to the splendid 
success of Mr. Reynolds. 

Orange Wires Reynolds was a 
conspicuously successful merchant 
and gentleman of the old school ; 
he toiled early and late, had a place 
for everything and had everything 



158 



SUCCESSFUL VEItM(JNTEKS. 



in its place; he knew no rule of 
conduct save that of absolute 
honor. He persistently declined 
public office, seekin<>' rather to be 
a useful citizen and a successful 
business man than to gain the tem- 
porary applause of the public in 
public place. 



financial support. No appeal to 
his intelligent sympathy and char- 
ity was ever denied. Thus he la- 
bored on, doing with force, energy 
and care all his duties as he saw 
them. Dying as he had lived, a 
conscientious Christian gentleman, 
his last consciously uttered words 




Okangk \V. Keynulus. 



He early joined the Congrega- 
tional Church and to this he gave 
deep interest and unstinted aid 
during all the years of his vigorous 
manhood. For many years he 
managed its finances, sang in its 
choir, taught in its Sunday school 
and contributed generously to its 



were, "Come unto me, and I will 
give you rest. ' ' On Sunday morn- 
ing, April 24, when the new spring 
was bringing its warmer life, he 
opened his eyes, saw the familiar 
faces about him, then closed them 
and passed on into the springtime 
of the unseen life, and was at rest. 



LAMOILLE CC)UNTY. 



159 



His life was gentle, and 
The elements so mixed in him 
That nature might stand 
Up and say to all the world, 
"This is a man." 

To Mr. and ]\Irs. Reynolds five 
children were born : Ilalsey, born 
Jannary 6, 1872, deceased; Frank 



(Downer) ]\Iacoy. Daniel Macoy 
was a long- time resident of the 
town, and when a boy of 12 years 
paddled the Vermont Volunteers 
bound for the seat of war at Platts- 
burti' across the Lamoille River a1 
Jeffersonville in a log- canoe. 
Byron G. Macov received his ed 




Bykon G. Macoy. 



]\I., born July 2, 1878, married 
July 27, 190r/, to Bhmch H. Bar- 
rows of Littleton, New Hampshire ; 
Harry H., born March 18, 1877; 
Mary W., born April 24, 1880, and 
Rollo G., born March 31, 1886. 

MACOY, Byron Grafton, was 
born in Cambridge, January 8, 
18-14, a son of Daniel and Laura 



ucation in the public schools of his 
native town and when a lad of 14 
years went to live with his brother, 
H. N. Macoy, then a lumber opera- 
tor in Cambridge, but later a noted 
architect. 

INIr. Macoy developed great nat- 
ural skill and taste for matters 
mechanical and at 20 years of age 



160 



SUCCESSFUL VERMONTERS. 



rented a sawmill of his brother, 
who in the meantime had gone to 
Iowa. After condnctino- the mill 
for a year, he had the Western 
fever and joined his brother at 
Ottnmwa, Iowa ; bnt in 1866 re- 
turned to Cambridoe, when, in 
company with his brother, W. D. 
]\Iacoy, he built a large steam 
sawmill. 

Poor health soon caused him to 
relinquish this undertaking, and 
since that time he has devoted his 
time to the furniture and under- 
taking business, turning his nat- 
ural skill to manufacturing some 
very tasty furniture, for which he 
finds a ready market. 

:May 16, 1871, Mr. I\Iacoy was 
married to Emma Eiley, a lady of 
refinement. She died in Julv, 
1900. 

He has always taken a lively in- 
terest in public matters and in Sep- 
tember, 1890, was chosen to repre- 
sent Cambridge in the General 
Assembly of Vermont, serving on 
the important committee of manu- 
factures. He introduced a bill to 
regulate the fares on railways so 
that no road could charge more 
than two cents per mile, the fare 
having been from three to four and 
a half cents per mile. On the in- 
troduction of the bill the railway 
companies innnediately reduced the 
fare to three cents and placed on 
sale 1,000 mile tickets at $20. 

Mv. Llacoy is a devoted Mason. 
He is a member of Warner Lodge, 
No. 50,- F. & A. M., of Cambridge, 
and has been honored with all the 
offices of his lodge, which he has 
filled with fi'aternal fidelity. 

For 33 years ]\Ir. ]\Iacoy has oc- 
cupied his present place of busi- 
ness, and by close attention to the 
wants of his trade and an un- 
questioned integrity he has won a 



high place in the regard of his 
townspeople. 

CHAPMAN, Don H., son of 
Horace and Anna Lovica (Boyn- 
ton) Chapman, was born in 
Fletcher, September 19, 1852. He 




Don H. Chapman. 

comes of stanchest New England 
stock. Daniel Chapman, his great- 
grandfather, was a soldier of 
the Revolution, a member of the 
bodyguard of General Washing- 
ton, and a pensioner. He came to 
Fletcher with his son, Lemuel, as 
an early settler. The latter mar- 
ried Permelia Hubbard, and lived 
on a farm near the Cambridge 
line. Of their family of five chil- 
dren who lived to maturity, only 
one survives, Mrs. Ellsworth of 
Cambridge. 

Horace, the eldest of this family, 
born in 1821, came to Fletcher as 
an infant with his father's family, 
where he lived a highly respected 
farmer until his decease, December 



LAMOILLE COUNTY. 



161 



6, 1891. His home farm was his- 
toric, the first town center where 
was held the first town meeting and 
the first school. Anna Boynton 
Chapman is a lady of rare gifts. 
The genealogy of the Boyntons can 
be traced to a Norman knight, who 
came over to England with Will- 
iam the Conqneror, in 1060. John 
and Williiim, the first American 
progenitors, came to Rowley, Mas- 
sachusetts, in 1638. 

Abial Boynton, grandfather of 
Anna Boynton Chapman, and 
seven of his brothers, fought in 
the Revolution in rank ranging 
from colonel to high private. The 
Boynton family, two sons and six 



Blodah of Chico, California, and 
Delia, i\lrs. Leslie Church of Cam- 
bridge. 

Don H. completed his education 
at New Hampton Institute. He 
taught school during the 10 suc- 
ceeding winters. At the age of 23 
he was elected constable and col- 
lector, and several times re-elected. 
He served as deputy sheriff nearly 
a score of years. He was conspic- 
uous in school matters for many 
years, as director or superintencl- 
ent, and in fact held nearly every 
town office in the town of Fletcher. 
The family moved from the Scott 
farm in Fletcher to their present 
homestead, one mile from Cam- 




Residence of Don H. Chapman. 



daughters, came to Fletcher about 
1820, and took a prominent part in 
the early history. The four chil- 
dren of Horace and Anna Boyn- 
ton Chapman are : Don H., Agnes 
L., wife of II. Q. Wilkins of Fair- 
iax, Indiana, wife of L, A. 

A— 12 



bridgeboro, January 2, 1901. They 
still own and rent the Scott farm. 
The Cambridge farm contains 2-40 
acres, with a fine meadow and in- 
cludes a sugar place of 700 trees. 

Mr. Chapman has built or re- 
bijjlt all of the buildings, which are 



162 



SUCCESSFUL VERMONTERS. 



modern and spaeions. Don H. 
Chapman married Effie I., dangh- 
ter of H. Osgood Merrill, Jannary 
2, 1905. Mr. Chapman is a char- 
ter member of Lamoille Lodge, No. 
12, Knights of Pythias, and a mem- 
ber of the Grand Lodge. He has 
been chairman of board of man- 



Smith, was born in Chateaugay, 
New York, June 14, 1856 ; was edu- 
cated in the public schools of 
Burke, New York, and Cambridge, 
coming to Cambridge when 14 
years of age. After completing 
his education he went to Essex 
Junction and learned the granite 




WiLFOKD M. Smith. 



agers and treasurer for several 
years of the Vermont State Spirit- 
ualist Society, and ]\Irs. Chapman 
is first vice-president. He is also 
vice-president, treasurer and col- 
lector of Queen City Park Associa- 
tion, South Burlington. He has 
lived the "strenuous life." 

SINIITH, WiLFORD M., a son of 
James and Ophelia (Furman) 



and marble trade, remaining^ three 
years. He then returned to Cam- 
bridge and opened a shop and has 
been engaged in monumental work 
of all kinds ever since. Mr. Smith 
is a hustling and highly esteemed 
man of his town ; for the past 13 
years he has served as a deputy 
sheriff and for three years as a 
constable. 



LAMOILLE COUNTY. 



163 



He is affiliated with the Knights 
of Pythias and has served his lodge 
in all its chairs, passing the chan- 
cellor commander's station in 1905. 

In August, 1880, Mr. Smith was 
united in marriage to Miss Effie 
Story of Cambridge. To them 



of a whip and cigar team, and con- 
tinued for seven years. He mar- 
ried Rebecca C. Parker of Elmore, 
in March, 1812, and the same day 
came to Wolcott and engaged in 
farming, and later for 13 years was 
in trade in company with Jacob 




William S. Notes, 



have been born four children ; two 
died in infancy; the other two are 
Nellie 0., born September, 1882, 
and Karl B., born October, 1883. 

NOYES, WiLLLVM S., sou of 
William and Mary (Sargent) 
Noyes, was born in Barre, January 
17, 1819. His boyhood and school 
days were spent in Barre, but at 
the age of 17 he became the driver 



Robbins, who married Isabel, Mr. 
Noyes' only daughter. 

The family continued to reside 
in Wolcott for nearly half a cen- 
tury, until the removal to Cam- 
bridge in 1891. Meanwhile Mr. 
Noyes was engaged for many years 
in the manufacture of fork, hoe 
and rake handles, first at AVolcott, 
then at Waterville, Underhill, and 



164 



SUCCESSFUL VEKINIONTERS. 



for tlie past 15 years, at Cam- 
bridge. During the past 10 years 
Mr. Noyes has been using a large 
amount of maple timber for bicy- 
cle rims, and beech, Ijircli and ma- 
ple for chair stock. His factory 
is the only manufactory in Cam- 
bridgeboro, and employs some fif- 
teen hands about the factory, with 
a considerable force of men and 
teams in transporting the logs. His 
pay roll is a great factor in the lit- 
tle village. He has a 10-year con- 
tract for the manufacture of bicy- 
cle rims, aggregating $111,000.00. 
At the age of 87 he is vigorous and 
well preserved in mind and body, 
and is actively interested in his 
business and in public affairs. He 
has always been a teetotaler. He 
is probably the eldest active busi- 
ness man in the state. 

Carlton P. Bobbins, his grand- 
son, an energetic and progressive 
young man, is the ff)reman in the 
factory. Ned W. Robbins, brother 
of Carlton P., is the engineer. 

Mr. Noyes is an excellent type 
of the old-school Vermonter, and 
is a connecting link between the 
past and the present generation. 
Both himself and wife are highly 
esteemed, and their wedded life of 
63 years has been a happy one. 

WALKER, Daniel C, son of 
Lyman and Adeline (Chase) 
Walker, was born in Cambridge, 
December 11, 1841. Mr. Walker 
enlisted as a private in Company 
D, First Vermont Cavalry, was 
constantly on duty, except six 
weeks when confined to the hos- 
pital by sickness, was thrice 
wounded, was promoted sergeant, 
and honorably discharged in June, 
1865. He is a successful farmer 
and prominent citizen of North 
Cambridge, resident on the ances- 



tral farm, which has been the fam- 
ily home since 1805. 

Mr. Walker married, in 1867, 
Kate M., daughter of Josiah Con- 
verse of Bakersfield. He pos- 
sesses a fine library and is a man 
of sterling character and unusual 
ability. He has held many town 
offices and represented Cambridge 
in the Legislature in 1892. 

RAYIMORE, Willis W., was 
born in Eden, August 12, 1849, a 
son of Truman A. and Lorenza 
(Perry) Raymore. He received 
his education in the public schools 
of Eden and Cambridge, coming 
to the latter place with his parents 
in 1863, when a boy of 14 years. 

INIr. Raymore early determined 
on a farm life and by energy and 
thrift has acquired a comfortable 
property and built a reputation as 
a careful, painstaking and reliable 
citizen. ]\Ir. Raymore has never 
been an office seeker, but his towns- 
men, recognizing his worth as a 
man and having confidence in his 
splendid judgment, elected him to 
represent Cambridge in the Gen- 
eral Assembly of Vermont at the 
September election in 1900. 

February 27, 1877, I\Ir. Raymore 
was married to Louise M., a daugh- 
ter of Hiram and Betsey J. 
(Wheelock) Wood of Cambridge. 
Her paternal great-grandfather, 
John Wood, was one of the first 
settlers of the town and is num- 
bered among the sturdy and hardy 
pioneers wlio gave us this splendid 
country as an inheritance. 

To Mr. and Mrs. Raymore four 
children have been born : Leslie T., 
born September 14, 1877, died Feb- 
ruary 14. 1882; Charles H., born 
June 26, 1881 ; Bessie L., born July 
23, 1885, died April 13, 1886 ; John 
B., born November 16, 1888. 



LAMOILLE COUNTY, 



165 



Among the early settlers of what 
is now Lamoille County we find 
Abel Raymore, who came from 
Massachusetts and settled in Eden. 
Here he became one of the substan- 
tial citizens of his town. Truman 
A. Raymore, his son, was born in 



MORSE, Leroy S., a son of Ira 
and Hulda (Ainsworth) Morse, 
see pages 68 and 173, was born in 
Woodbury, November 16, 1858. He 
received his early education in the 
public schools of Woodbury and 
Elmore. He early decided on a 




Willis W. Raymore. 



Eden, May 30, 1823, and gained 
an education in the log schoolhouse 
of that day. He always was a 
tiller of the soil and in 1863 re- 
moved to Cambridge, where he died 
in 1899, at the ripe old age of 76 
years. 



career as a lumber operator and 
the marked success of Mr. Morse 
along these lines amply demon- 
strates the soundness of his early 
judgment. For a time he was en- 
gaged in jobbing lumber, and in 
1886 he organized the Morse Man- 



166 



StJCCfiSSFUL VERMONTERS. 



ufacturing Company, with three 
mills, one at Wolcott, one at East 
Hardwick, and a third at Wood- 
bnry. These he successfully con- 
ducted from 1886 to 1891. 

In 1896 Mr. ]\Iorse bought the 
business and mills of the Cam- 



and at present owns 7,000 acres of 
timber land on Sterling ]\Iountain, 
located in the towns of Stowe, Mor- 
ristown, Johnson and Cambridge. 

i\Ir. ]Morse averages to furnish 
employment the year round for 50 
men, 25 horses and a dozen oxen. 




Leroy S. Morse. 



bridge Lumber Company at Jeffer- 
sonville and operates mills at that 
place and at the "Notch." In 
1902 he sold out his interests in the 
Morse Manufacturing Company 
and purchased the entire stock of 
the Cambridge Lumber Company', 



Something over three million feet 
of lumber is the annual product of 
this splendid enterprise. In con- 
nection with this vast business Mr. 
Morse conducts a farm cutting 100 
tons of hay and raising 800 bushels 
of potatoes, all of which is con- 



LAMOILLE COUNTY. 



167 



sumed in his various lumber camps. 

January 9, 1880, Mr. Morse was 
united in marriage to Miss Alice 
LeBarron of Montpelier. To them 
two children have been born, Pearl 
(Mrs. Melvill A. Shaver) and 
Ira L. 

Leroy S. Morse is a splendid type 
of the energetic native Vermonter, 
possessed of a splendid physique, 
tremendous energy and unf[ues- 
tioned integrity. He has come to 
be one of the substantial men, not 
only of Lamoille County but of the 
Green Mountain state. His grand- 
father, Joseph Morse, was a soldier 
in the War of 1812. 

In 1898 Mr. Morse built his pres- 
ent charming residence at Jeffer- 
sonville. Here, surrounded by an 
ideal family and large business 
cares, he is enjoying in a large de- 
gree the fruits of his splendid 
early training, in industry, econ- 
omy and perseverance. 

He is affiliated with the Masonic 
fraternity and has always taken a 
lively and substantial interest in 
anything of a progressive or public 
nature that would benefit his town 
or people. 



WOLCOTT. 

Population, Census of 1900, 1,066. 

In 1780, to be exact, November 
7, the state granted to Joshua Stan- 
ton, Major-General Oliver Wolcott 
and 60 others, the town of Wol- 
cott, and August 22, 1781, the 
town was chartered. Its name was 
given in honor of General 
Wolcott. 

The first settlement of the town 
was made by Seth Hubbell and 
Thomas Taylor in 1789. Both of 
these families suffered great hard- 



ship. About 1820 Mr. Hubbell 
wrote what he termed "A Narra- 
tive," in which he detailed the 
hardships which he endured in 
founding the town. We have 
thought a brief extract from this 
"Narrative" would prove of in- 
terest, not only to show what the 
early conditions were in Wolcott, 
but in many of our northern 
towns : 

"In the latter part of Febru- 
ary, 1789, I set out from the town 
of Norwalk, in Connecticut, on my 
journey for Wolcott, to commence 
a settlement and make that my res- 
idence; family consisting of my 
wife and five children, they all be- 
ing girls, the eldest nine or ten 
years old. My team w^as a yoke 
of oxen and a horse. After I had 
proceeded on my journey to within 
about one hundred miles of Wol- 
cott, one of my oxen failed; but I 
however kept him yoked with the 
other till about noon each day, 
then turned him before, and took 
his end of the yoke myself, and 
proceeded on in that manner with 
my load to about fourteen miles of 
my journey's end, when I could 
get the sick ox no fiirther and was 
forced to leave him with Thomas 
McConnell, in Johnson ; but he had 
neither hay nor grain for him. I 
then proceeded on with some help 
to Esquire McDaniel's in Hyde- 
park : this brought me to about 
eight miles of Wolcott, and to the 
end of the road. It was now 
about the 20th of March ; the snow 
was not far from four feet deep ; 
no hay to be had for my team, and 
no w^ay for them to subsist but by 
browse. As my sick ox at IMcCon- 
nell's could not be kept on browse, 
I interceded wdth a man in Cam- 
bridge for a little hay to keep him 



168 



SDCCESSFtTL VERMONTERS. 



alive, which I backed, a bundle at 
a time, five miles, for about ten 
days, when the ox died. On the 
9th of April I set out from Es- 
quire McDaniel's, his being the 
last house, for my intended resi- 
dence in AVolcott, with my wife 
and two eldest children. We had 
eight miles to travel on snow shoes, 
by marked trees — no road being 
cut : mj^ wife had to try this new 
mode of traveling, and she per- 
formed the journej" remarkably 
well. The path had been so trod- 
den by snowshoes as to bear up the 
children. Esquire Taylor, with 
his wife and two small children, 
who moved on with me, had gone 
on the day before. We were the 
first families in Wolcott : in Hyde- 
park there had two families win- 
tered the year before. To the east 
of us it was 18 miles to inhabitants, 
and no road but marked trees : to 
the south about twenty, where 
there Avere infant settlements, but 
no communication with us; and to 
the north, it was almost indefinite, 
or to the regions of Canada. 

"I had now reached the end of 
my journey, and I may say almost 
to the end of my property, for I 
had not a mouthful of meat or ker- 
nel of grain for my family, nor 
had I a cent of money to buy with, 
or property that I could apply to 
that pui'pose. I however had the 
good luck to catch a sable. The 
skin I carried 50 miles, and ex- 
changed it for half a bushel of 
wheat, and backed it home. We 
had now lived three weeks without 
bread : though in the time I had 
bought a moose of an Indian, 
which I paid for by selling the 
shirt off my back, and backed the 
meat five miles, which answered to 
subsist upon. I would here re- 
mark that it was mj' fate to move 



on my family at that memorable 
time called the 'scare season,' 
which was generally felt through 
the state, especially in the northern 
parts in the infant settlements. 
No grain or provisions of any kind, 
of consequence, was to be had on 
the river Lamoille. I had to go 
into New Hampshire, 60 miles, for 
the little I had for my family, till 
harvest, and this was so scanty a 
pittance that we were under the 
painful necessity of allowancing 
the children till we had a supply. 
The three remaining children that 
I left in Hydepark, I brought 
one at a time on my back 
on snoAvshoes, as also the whole of 
my goods. When I came into 
Wolcott my farming tools con- 
sisted of one axe and an old hoe. 
The first year I cleared about two 
acres, wholly without any team, 
and being short of provisions, was 
obliged to work the chief of the 
time till harvest, with scarce a suffi- 
ciency to support nature. My 
work was chiefly by the river. 
When too faint to labor for want of 
food, I used to take a fish from the 
river, broil it on the coals, and eat 
it without bread or salt, and then 
to my work again. This was my 
common practice the first year till 
harvest. I could not get a single 
potato to plant the first season, so 
scarce was this article. I then 
thought if I could but get enough 
of this valuable production to eat, 
I would never complain. I rarely 
see this article cooked, but the 
thought strikes my mind; in fact, 
to this day I have a great venera- 
tion for this precious root. I 
planted that which I cleared in sea- 
son, with corn : and an early frost 
ruined the crop, so that I raised 
nothing the first year ; had again to 
buy my provisions." 



LAMOILLE COUNTY. 



160 



The story of Mr. Hubbell is quite 
long and certified to by four jus- 
tices of the peace, who personally 
were knowing to the truth of much 
of his story. Many of the descend- 
ants of J\Ir. Hubbell still reside in 
the town. 

The earliest town meeting of 
which there is a record, was held 
in the house of Thomas Taylor, 
March 31, 1791. At this meeting 
Robert W. Taylor was elected clerk, 
and Hezekiah Whitney, Thomas 
Taylor and Seth Hubbell were 
chosen selectmen. It is recorded 
that every inhabitant of the town 
held an office at this time. We 
find no record of another town 
meeting for three years. Doubt- 
less they felt there was no neces- 
sity for one. In 1794 there were 
but four voters in town, and 
Thomas Taylor was elected town 
clerk, first selectman and constable, 
and for 20 years represented the 
town in the state Legislature. 

During the dark days of the re- 
public Wolcott nobly responded, 
and sent 134 of her hardy, patri- 
otic sons to the Southern battle- 
fields, 32 of whom not only gave 
their services but their lives, "that 
this nation, under God, shall have 
a new birth of freedom, and that 
government of the people, by the 
people, and for the people, shall 
not perish from the earth." 

FIFE, Seth Allen, a son of 
Almon and IMarinda (l*eck) Fife, 
was born in Chelsea, April 23, 
1842. When six months of age his 
parents moved to Elmore and here 
Seth A. received his early education 
in the common schools of the town. 
In 1867 the family moved to Wol- 
cott and Mr. Fife entered trade and 
has continued as a progressive and 
highly esteemed merchant to the 
present time. 



The Fife store is one of the larg- 
est in Lamoille County, being 100 x 
80 feet, and is really three stores, 
a thoroughly up-to-date grocery 
store, a modern clothing store and 




Seth A. Fife. 

a perfectly stocked and equipped 
dry goods and millinery store. In 
addition to his mercantile interest 
^Ir. Fife has been interested in sev- 
eral large lumber deals and has 
been an important factor in this 
industry for a number of years. 
He is also a director in the La- 
moille County Savings Bank and 
Trust Company of Hyde Park. 

Mr. Fife served " Wolcott 13 
years as town treasurer and in 
1892 was its representative in the 
General Assembly. 

February 16, 1876, Mr. Fife was 
married to Fannie Putnam of 
Johnson, a daughter of Abel and 
Mary (Parker) Putnam. They 
have one child, Gertrude M., born 



170 



SUCCESSFUL VEiniONTEIJS. 



November 3, 1879, a graduate of 
Morrisville High School, a special 
course of two years in Wellesley 
College and a graduate of the Carl 
Faelton Piano School of Boston. 

Marinda Peck, mother of Seth 
A. Fife, was a daughter of Eunice 
(Hubbell) Peck and a granddaugh- 
ter of Seth Hubbell, of whom there 
is an extended article in the his- 
torical review of Wolcott. See 
page 167. 

HUBBELL, Kalph M., was born 
in Wolcott, November 26, 1865, a 
son of Myron R. and ]Mary (^lar- 
tin) Hubbell. He was educated in 
the district schools of Wolcott. 
After completing his education, Mr. 
Hubbell learned the carpenter and 
millwright's trade, and for several 
years was sawyer for the JMorse 
^Manufacturing Company. For the 
past five years he has conducted a 
grocery store. He has held several 
town offices, and is now town 
treasurer. 

In 1893, he married Harriet R. 
Eaton of Hyde Park : three chil- 
dren have been born to them : Mary 
E., Bertrand E. and Carrie L. 

INIr. Hubbell is a member of Min- 
eral Lodge, No. 93, A. F. & A. M., 
of Wolcott, and the Woodmen. 

Ralph M. Hubbell is a great- 
grandson of Seth Hubbell, who 
was the first settler of Wolcott, and 
of whom there will be found an ex- 
tended article in the historical re- 
view of the town of Wolcott. See 
page 167. The generations from, 
and including Seth Hubbell, tbe pi- 
oneer, to Ralph ]M., are Seth Hub- 
bell, Seth Hubbell who married 
Sylvia Spaulding, ]\Iyron R. Hub- 
bell, who married ^lary jNIartin, 
and Ralph M., subject of this 
sketch. 

]Myron R. Hubbell is, and long 
has been, a man of unusual ability 



and talent; early in life he devel- 
oped rare genius for invention, and 
for more than twenty years di- 
rected his energies in that direc- 
tion. He constructed hi» own pat- 
terns and models, and secured 15 
useful patents. Among the most 
notable is the reversible plow; he 
devised and patented the shifting- 
clevis now so generally in use on 
reversible plows, and also patented 
the rod running leng-thwise of and 
swivel ed to the beam for the same 
purpose. 

j\Ivron R. Hubbell married, 
April 2, 1862, i\Iary IMartin of Wol- 
cott, their only surviving child be- 
ing Ralph M. Mr. Hubbell is a 
member of ^lineral Lodge, A. F. 
& A. :\r. of Wolcott. He is a 
sturdy Republican in politics, but 
never sought or would accept pub- 
lic office. 

SPALDING, Wallace W., was 
born in IMorristown, March 27, 
1850, a son of Isaac and Thankful 
A. (Foss) Spalding; he was edu- 
cated in the public schools of Mor- 
ristown. 

The Spalding family- is one of 
the oldest in America, and this 
branch dates its origin in this coun- 
try from the coming of Spalding of 
the Mayflower fame. The family 
has always been of the sturdy, 
hardy type, having little patience 
with the unreal and unsubstantial. 
Generation after generation of this 
splendid old American family have 
been noted for their integrity and 
worth, and have been highly es- 
teemed for their honorable lives. 

Wallace W. Spalding: was en- 
dowed with a sound head and 
splendid physique, and early de- 
termined to live close to nature and 
till the soil : in this he has been re- 
warded in a substantial manner. 

The Spalding home, of which we 



LAMOILLE COUNTY, 



171 



give a pretty view, is one of the 
cosiest home places in town ; it is 
located aliont two miles from Wol- 
cott, on the IMorrisville road. 

Mr. Spalding has two farms be- 
sides the home place, and owns the 
Maxfield block in Hyde Park. 

A sturdy Republican in politics, 
he has served AVolcott as road sur- 
veyor, lister, constable, collector, 
and deputy sheriff. He is a member 
of Mineral Lodge, No. 93, A. F. & 



ing was united in marriage to Ida 
A. Crowell of Hyde Park; seven 
children have been born to them, 
all of whom, but one, Beaula, a 
girl of 11 years, are deceased. 

Mr. Spalding believes in small 
farms, well cared for, as the visit- 
ors can attest from personal 
observation. 

RANDALL, Herbert I. Mason 
Randall was one of the early 
settlers of the town of Newbury, 




Rksidence of Wallace W. Spalding. 



A. M. For 31 years he has been 
affiliated with this great fraternity ; 
has served in the chair of the blue 
lodge, is now deputy grand master, 
is a member of Tucker Chapter, 
R. A. M. and is regarded as a wide- 
awake and progressive citizen. He 
was the organizer of the rural free 
delivery route for Wolcott, which 
was the second route established in 
Lamoille County. 

February 28,' 1875, Mr. Spald- 



in Orange County. He married 
Mary Pike Nelson and they settled 
and cleared Jefferson Hill and 
here dwelt in a log cabin, which for 
some years was their home. In 
1837 they built a substantial farm- 
house. They were the parents of 
11 children. 

Henry F. Randall, a son of Ma- 
son, was born in the "new house" 
on Jefferson Hill, Newbury, June 
9, 1846; educated in the "little 



172 



SUCCESSFUL VEItMONTERS. 



red schoolhonse " of his time and 
came to be one of the successful 
and highly respected farmers of his 
town. He married Clara R. (born 
October 4, 18-18), a dauohter of 
Samuel A. and Irena C. (Prescott) 
Tucker, January 1. 1872 ; three 
children were born to them : Iler- 



ceived in the common schools, at 
Newbury Seminary, and gradu- 
ated with honor from the i\Ic- 
Gaw Normal Institute at Mer- 
rimack, New Hampshire, in 1894. 
November, 1894, he entered the 
gristmill of Freeman Tucker at 
Boltonville and remained for six 




Herbert I. Randall. 



bert Ingalls, born February 9, 
1873 ; Emma Irena, born Septem- 
ber 30, 1875, and died in early 
girlhood, ]\Iay 28, 1891, and Henry 
Greeley, born April 19, 1884. 

Herbert I. Randall spent his 
boyhood assisting his father on 
the farm; his education he re- 



years. At this time Mr. Randall 
felt that he must estalilish a busi- 
ness for himself, so purchased the 
H. B. Bundy gristmill at Wolcott, 
where he located December 20, 
1900. Here, by close attention to 
business and S(piare dealing, he has 
attracted a host of friends and ac- 



LAMOILLE COUNTY. 



173 



quired a splendid patronage. Be- 
fore leaving Newbury, Mr. Ran- 
dall had served the town two years 
as lister and three years as audi- 
tor, and, in September, 1902, he 
was chosen to represent Wolcott 
in the General Assembly. Here 
his splendid training stood him in 



June 8, 1901, and died in infancy, 
August 11, 1901; Adlee Hattie, 
born March 25, 1903, and Aileen, 
l)()rn September 9, 1905. 

MORSE, Frank B., was born in 
Woodbury, July 20, 1844, a son 
of Ira and Hulda (Ainsworth) 
Morse ; received his education in 




Frank B. Morse. 



good stead, and he proved himself 
to be a useful member of that body 
and served on the committees on 
claims and temperance. 

December 19, 1900, Mr. Randall 
married Miss Hattie B. Morrison 
of Ryegate, who was born Septem- 
ber 16, 1873 ; they have had three 
children : Earl Morrison, born 



the district schools of Elmore, 
Barre and Cabot, and when a mere 
boy of 17 years enlisted from 
Woodbury in Company E, Eighth 
Vermont Infantry, which was com- 
manded by Colonel Stephen 
Thomas, who commanded a brigade 
at Cedar Creek. Young JMorse re- 
mained in the service of his coun- 



174 



SUCCESSFUL VERMONTERS. 



try until the close of the war, and 
was in many of the important en- 
gagements of that terrible period 
in onr nation's history, being at 
the capture of New Orleans, battles 
of Bisland Cotton, Louisiana, Seige 
of Port Hudson, Winchester, Cedar 
Creek and others. 



taken a prominent part in the af- 
fairs of the comnumity in which 
he has resided. He has held the 
various town oflEices in Elmore and 
Wolcott, and in 1902 was door- 
keeper of the state Senate. He is 
a member of Mineral Lodge, No. 
93, F. & A. M. of Wolcott and 




Chakles O. Morse. 



Returning from the war, he lo- 
cated at Woodbury and later, in 
company with his brother, Hon. 
George A. Morse, he bought a lum- 
ber mill at Bast Elmore. From 
that time to the present, Mr. Morse 
has been connected with the lumber 
industry. Possessed of a sound 
body and clear mind, he has always 



is serving as commander of George 
P. Foster Post, No. 55, G. A. R., 
Department of Vermont. 

June 19, 1866, Mr. Morse was 
married to Samantha A. Gale. 
Two children were born to them : 
Flora A. (Mrs. J. W. Rivers of 
Morrisville) and Charles 0., who 
is superintendent of the Morse 



LAMOILLE COUNTY. 



175 



Manufacturing Company at Wol- 
cott. Mrs. Morse died January 27, 
1892, and Mr. Morse married for 
his second wife Mrs. Georgia A. 
(Burrows) Pinnev, December 8, 
1892. 

Mr. Morse, by habits of industry 
and economy coupled with good 
judgment, has won an enviable 
place among his townsmen. 

MORSE,' Charles O., son of 
Frank B. and Samantha A. (Gale) 
Morse, was born in Wolcott, May 
2, 1870, a descendant of Revolu- 
tionary stock and one of the ener- 
getic young Vermonters of La- 
moille Comity. For many years 
the various l)ranches of this family 
have been leading factors in the 
lumber industry in the Lamoille 
valley and to their square dealing, 
energy and farsightedness much of 
the material prosperity of the 
county is due. 

Charles 0. Morse, subject of this 
brief sketch, was educated in the 
public schools of his native town 
and at the People's Academy at 
Morrisville. After completing his 
education he entered the general 
store of Seth A. Fife at Wolcott, 
as a clerk, remaining for two years. 
In 1897 he became superintendent 
and manager of the Morse Manu- 
facturing Company's large plant 
at Wolcott, which position he still 
fills. The plant manufactures 
from two to three million feet of 
lumber annually, giving steady em- 
ployment to from twenty to thirty 
men, thus becoming Wolcott 's chief 
industry. Under the efficient man- 
agement of ]\Ir. Morse the plant has 
materially increased its business 
and is regarded as one of the thor- 
oughly equipped, organized and 
well-managed plants of northern 
Vermont. 



Mr. Morse is public spirited and 
takes a lively interest in all mat- 
ters affecting the welfare of the 
community. He is affiliated with 
the Masonic fraternity. 

June 2, 1897, Mr. Morse was 
united in marriage to Philabelle 
M. Dexter of Wolcott, daughter of 
the late E. P. and Mary (Clough) 
Dexter. 

HASKELL, Charles E., a son 
of Edwin and Lorinda (Lyford) 
Haskell, was born in Woodbury, 
June 8, 1858. He was educated in 
the public schools of Calais and at 
Goddard Seminary at Barre. For 
the first three years after complet- 
ing his education, young Haskell 
was a commercial salesman and did 
a successful business. At the end 
of this time, with a. capital of $85 
and a splendid confidence both in 
himself and the public, he bought 
a stock of goods and opened a gen- 
eral store at Calais. 

During his most strenuous and 
eventful career Mr. Haskell has 
owned woolen mills at South Ac- 
worth and Newport, New Hamp- 
shire, spent 10 years looking after 
real estate in Massachusetts and in 
1882 returned to Calais, and for 
the next three years was associated 
with his father in the mercantile 
business. 

In 1885 he located in Wolcott 
and has the largest general stock 
of goods in Lamoille County. He 
is the embodiment of push, pluck, 
hustle, energy, courage and get- 
there-tive-ness and the writer has 
no doubt that his annual sales 
exceed that of any man in the 
county. Honesty, integrity and 
square dealing have made Mr. Has- 
kell a foremost factor in the mer- 
cantile life of his county and he 
furnishes the ambitious and willing 




Charles E. Haskell. 




Store of Charles E. Haskell at Wolcott. 



LAMOILLE COUNTY. 



177 



youth a splendid example of what 
"I can and I will" means to a 
boy who has quality and honesty. 

in September, 1890, I\Ir. Haskell 
was married to Jennie M. Quimby 
of Corinth. They have no chil- 
dren. 



PARKER, Herbert H., was 
born in Wolcott, August 10, 1851, 
a son of Henry P. and Martha 0. 
(Davenport) Parker. He was ed- 
ucated in the district schools of 
Wolcott and at the People's Acad- 
emy of Morrisville. Since leaving 




Herbert H. Parker. 



Mr. Haskell is among the most 
public-spirited and loses no oppor- 
tunity to do all in his power to 
benefit or beautify his adopted 
home. He has never sought public 
office, but has served as town audi- 
tor and for several years he has 
been an honored member of Min- 
eral Lodge, F. & A. M. 

A— 13 



school Mr. Parker has followed 
farming and sawmill work. 

He has always taken a lively 
interest in all public matters and 
has always given liberally of his 
time and means to anything that 
would aid his town. He has al- 
ways resided in Wolcott. 

Mr. Parker married Isabel M. 



178 



SUCCESSFUL VERMONTERS. 



Tillotson of Wolcott; they have 
two children: H. Alton and Henry 
B. 

He has served the town of Wol- 
cott as auditor, school director, se- 
lectman and in 1896 was chosen to 
represent the town in the General 
Assembly. 

BELVIDEEE. 

Population, Census of 1900, 428. 

The town of Belvidere was, on 
the 5th of March, 1781, gjranted to 
John Kelley. On the same day 
the town of Lowell was also 
granted to Mr. Kelley by Governor 
Chittenden, and originally named 
Kelleyville. 

Belvidere was chartered Novem- 
ber 4, 1791. The first settlement 
was made about the year 1800, by 
Captain Moody Shattuck (an ex- 
tended article on the Shattuck 
family will be found on page 109, 
in the town of Eden). The first 
town meeting was held iMarcli 21, 
1808, at which John Brown was 
chosen clerk, William Beal, John 
Ilodgkins and John Adams, were 
chosen selectmen. 



At a meeting held at the house 
of Enoch Dodge, on the first Tues- 
day in September, 1808, the first 
freeman's meeting was held, and 
a vote taken for representative in 
Congress. In 1822, John Brown 
was elected as the first town 
representative. 

The town house was built in 
1853. In the Civil War Belvidere, 
like her sister towns, did her full 
part, by sending 40 of her 
sons to Southern battlefields. 
Of this number several were either 
killed or died from disease in the 
service, notably Lieutenant Rich- 
ard T. Cull, who represented the 
town in 1861. 

The first preaching in Belvidere 
was in 1810, by Elder Morris, who 
came from Ilardwick and preached 
in the barn of Timothy Cai'penter. 
In 1851 a good church building 
w^as erected. 

The town originally contained 
30,100 acres, but November 15, 
1824, a part known as the "Leg" 
was annexed to Waterville, and Oc- 
tober 30, 1828, another portion was 
annexed to the town of Eden. 



FRANKLIN COUNTY 



Population, Census of 1900, 30,198 



'^S 1' wf)s doubtless Jacques Car- 
^ " tier, the French navigator, 
who was the first European 
to rest his eyes on the 
mountains of Vermont. On 
the 2d day of October, 1535, 
he arrived with a few volunteers 
at an Indian settlement called 
Hochelaga, which was afterwards 
called Mount Royal, whence the 
present name of Montreal. Doma- 
cona, an Algonquin chief, con- 
ducted him to the summit of Mount 
Royal, which towered above the 
settlement, and showed him, in 
that bright October sun, the coun- 
try for many miles south and east, 
and told him of the great rivers 
and inland seas and of smaller riv- 
ers and lakes penetrating a beauti- 
ful territory belonging to the war- 
like Iroquois. These Indians had 
settlements in the interior of the 
state now^ called Vermont, but 
whose earlier name was Iroquoisia. 
In that part of Iroquoisia, or 
Vermont, which is now called 
Franklin County, there were 
grants to M. de Bauvais and to M. 
Douville, comprising the territory 
now included in Swanton, St. Al- 
bans, Highgate and Georgia. This 
appears on inspection of a map of 
"Lake Champlain, from Fort 
Chambly to Crown Point," by An- 
ger, the king's surveyor, made in 
1732. This map was published in 
1748 and a reproduction may be 



found in the Documentary History 
of New York, volume I, page 358, 
and will be a source of great inter- 
est to the historical investigator. 

In a chronographical map of the 
province of New York, divided into 
counties, manors, patents and town- 
ships, compiled from actual survey 
by Claude Joseph Southier, Esq., 
and published in London in 1779, 
the territory now known as Frank- 
lin County forms a part of the 
County of Charlotte; the greater 
part of Swanton is called Platts- 
burg. 

The County of Franklin once 
formed a part of the original coun- 
ties of Albany, Addison, Benning- 
ton, Charlotte, Chittenden and 
Rutland. It was incorporated by 
the General Assembly by *'An Act 
for dividing the counties of Orange 
and Chittenden into six separate 
and distinct counties," passed No- 
vember 5, 1792. Franklin County 
w^as then comprised of the towns of 
Alburgh, Isle le Motte, North 
Hero, Highgate, Swanton, St. Al- 
bans, Georgia, Fairfax, Fairfield, 
Smithville, Sheldonvale, Hunts- 
burgh, Berkshire, Johnson, Enos- 
burgh, Bakersfield, Fletcher, Cam- 
bridge, Sterling, Belvidere, Mont- 
gomery and Richford. 

In 1802 the General Assembly 
passed an act establishing Grand 
Isle County, taking from Franklin 
County the towns of Alburgh, 



180 



SUCCESSFUL VERMONTEKS. 



North Hero and Isle le IMotte. In 
1835, Lamoille County was estab- 
lished and Franklin County lost 
Belvidere, Cambridoe, Jolmson and 
Sterling. The county now is com- 
posed of one city, 11 towns and 
Avery's Gore. 

St. Albans being- the shire town, 
the public buildings are located 
there. The first court house was 
of wood, and was used for some 
years as a place of public worship 
and as a town house. The first 
jail was "a lean-to on the east end 
of the Coit house," built in 1778 
by Barnabas Langdon. Up to 
1837, St. Albans had expended 
$23,000 on building and sustaining 
the county buildings. 

The "Franklin County Grammar 
School" was established in St. Al- 
bans by an act of the General As- 
sembly, passed November 9, 1799. 
In several of the town grants there 
were reservations for the support 
of a "County Grammar School." 
The first building erected at St. 
Albans for the use of the Franklin 
County Grammar School, was a 
large two-story wooden building. 
It was removed from its original 
site, and was burned in January, 
1865. In 1861 the original prem- 
ises of the school was leased to 
Union School District No. 4. 

FLETCHER. 

Population, Census of 1900, 750. 

The town of Fletcher was char- 
tered August 20, 1781, by Governor 
Thomas Chittenden to Nathaniel 
Bruch, David Avery, Rufus Mon- 
tague and others, but only the last 
named ever resided in town. 

In 1786 Benjamin Fassett sur- 
veyed the first division of lots, and 
in 1789 the second division was 
surveyed by John Safford. 



Fletcher was organized March 
16, 1790, with the^ following offi- 
cers : Elisha Woodworth, clerk ; 
Elijah Dal^y, constable; Peter 
Thurston, Lemuel Scott and Eli- 
jah Daly, selectmen. Levi Com- 
stock, chosen in 1795, was the 
first justice of the peace, and Dan- 
iel Bailey, elected in 1797, was the 
first representative. John Fulling- 
ton of Deerfield, New Hampshire, 
began the first clearing on the river 
farm owned by INIrs. Helen F. Lee, 
in 1787 or 1788. He put up a 
shanty and returned to Deerfield 
for his wife and four children. 
They had one horse to ride and one 
cow to drive, with marked trees as 
a guide. Two men from Fairfax 
were with them. They encamped 
for the night in Johnson, and find- 
ing a patch of turnips, Mr. Ful- 
lington imprudently ate some, 
which introduced bilious colic, 
which soon caused his death. He 
was buried by his companions in 
a coffin made from a hollow log. 

Lemuel Scott was the next set- 
tler. He came from Bennington 
in 1789, bringing his wife and one 
child on a sled drawn by a yoke of 
steers. From Burlington he found 
his way by marked trees. He set- 
tled on the farm now owned by 
D. H. Chapman. Deacon Peter 
Thurston, the next settler, located 
on the south side of Lamoille River, 
on what is known as the Bishop 
farm, which was later annexed to 
Cambridge. Elijah Daly came 
about the same time, and settled 
on the 0. G. Carpenter farm. 

Elias Blair, Reuben Armstrong, 
John Kinsley, Samuel Church, 
Samuel Church, Jr., Joseph 
and James Robinson and Dewey 
Nichols, all of Bennington, came 
here in 1795. Excepting Kins- 
ley and Armstrong, these men 



FRANKLIN COUNTiT. 



181 



all settled at or near the Center. 
Daniel Bailey came with his fam- 
ily from Weare, New Hampshire, 
in INIarch, 1795, and settled in the 
northern part of the town, where 
he reared a numerous family, his 
sons being prominent in town af- 
fairs. 

George King, Sr., Joseph and 
Nathan Holmes, IMichael and Jon- 
athan George, Daniel Gregory and 
Peter and Cyrus Danforth, were 
the first settlers of School District 
No. 4, in the western part of the 
town, near Buck Hollow. 

Jerah Willoughby opened the 
first store in town in 1820. It was 
kept in his dwelling house on the 
farm now owned by 0. G. Carpen- 
ter. He kept a tavern in the same 
house, known as the Willoughby 
House. 

The principal manufactures of 
the earlier time were the small saw- 
mills, a gristmill and about fifty 
years ago a starch factory, also a 
tannery, one mile east of the Cen- 
ter. ]\Ianufactures were limited 
by scarcity of water power. The 
first post office was located at the 
Center in 1832, Elias Blair, Sr., be- 
ing first postmaster. 

There are two farming villages, 
one mile apart, each with a church 
and store, known as the Center and 
Binghamville. The St. Johnsbury 
and Lake Champlain Railroad ex- 
tends across the eastern part of 
the town, with a station at East 
Fletcher. 

Fletcher is almost exclusively a 
farming town, the resources being 
dairying, stock raising and making 
maple sugar. There is probably 
no other equal area on this planet 
where the equipment and the quan- 
tity and the quality of maple sugar 
equals that of Fletcher. 



WELLS, Thaddeus Chase, son 
of Jonathan, Jr., and Prudence 
(Chase) Wells, was born in Flet- 
cher, January (3, 1836. 

His maternal grandfather, Thad- 
deus E. Chase, came to Fletcher 
from Grafton, Massachusetts, in 
1810, and settled on the large farm 
which has since been occupied by 
five generations of his posterity. 
He originally took up 100 acres, 
but the farm has been enlarged by 




Thaddeus C. Wells. 

successive purchases until it now 
contains nearly three hundred 
acres. Mr. Chase built the stone 
house in 1825, one of the interest- 
ing relics of the past generation. 
He was one of the Plattsburg vol- 
unteers. In 1805, at the age of 23, 
he went to England, carrying a 
certificate of American citizenship, 
so as to avoid impressment in the 
British navy. This is now in the 
family possession. He married 



182 



SUCCESSFUL VERMONTERS. 



Phebe Sibley, and their only 
daughter, Prudence, married Jon- 
athan Wells, Jr., in 1831, father of 
the subject of this sketch. 

Thaddeus C. Wells was the eld- 
est son of a family of six children, 
five of whom are living. Of an 
adventurous disposition, at the age 
of 16 he went to the Iowa frontier 
and drove a stage route, and in 
1857, helped drive a herd of cattle 
and 3,000 sheep overland to Cal- 
ifornia. For a dozen years he was 
chietly engaged in the milk business 
in San Francisco, but returned to 
Randolph in 1869, and farmed 
there for 10 years. He then re- 
turned to the old homestead to care 
for his aged parents, where he has 
since remained. Mr. Wells is one 
of the most energetic and success- 
ful farmers of Franklin County. 
The productions of the farm have 
trebled under his able management, 
and it now carries a stock of 100 
head of horses and cattle, includ- 
ing a herd of 50 cows. 

Mr. Wells married Harriet A. 
Herren, who died, leaving one son, 
Fred A. Wells of Brandon. 
Thaddeus C. Wells married Cora 
E. Clark of Underbill, in 1893, and 
they have three children. He has 
served as selectman in both Ran- 
dolph and Fletcher. In politics 
Mr. Wells is a Democrat. He car- 
ries his threescore and ten years 
lightly, and with his varied and 
wide experience of life is an inter- 
esting and congenial personality. 

ELLINWOOD, Byron Moses, 
son of Eli and Avaline (Hook) El- 
linwood, was born in Fletcher, 
June 2, 1839. Eli Ellinwood was 
a well-known vocalist and singing 
school master, an enthusiastic, pop- 
ular and patriotic citizen, and long 
time resident of Fletcher. Soon 



after his marriage, in 1837, he lo- 
cated on the farm where Byron now 
resides. When the Second Ver- 
mont Regiment was raised, in 1861, 
Eli Ellinwood, although 46 years 
of age, enlisted in Company H, and 
after a year of faithful service died 
in hospital in New York, on his way 
home on furlough. 

B. M. Ellinwood is one of the 
most industrious and successful 
farmers in this section, and is 
warmly attached to his beautiful 
homestead l)y the hallowed associa- 
tions of life-long residence. The 
home farm of 222 acres is located 
a mile and a half from Cam- 
bridgeboro, is fitted for the opera- 
tions of farm machinery and is 
one of the most desirable and pro- 
ductive farms in Franklin County. 
It carries a dairy of 40 cows, some 
young stock, and the farm team. 
A fine sugar place of 1,500 trees is 
a source of pleasure and profit to 
the owner. 

Mr. Ellinwood has rebuilt and 
remodelled the farm buildings, 
which are handsome and commodi- 
ous, and command a magnificent 
panorama of Mount Mansfield, the 
Green Mountain Range and the 
Gore by Lamoille Valley. Mr. El- 
linwood is a modest man, who has 
avoided rather than sought town 
office, but is recognized as a suc- 
cessful financier, and as a citizen 
of integrity, good judgment and 
public spirit. 

He married Hersa, daughter of 
Orsemus Ellsworth of Fletcher. 
Their only son, Charles Eli Ellin- 
wood, is a successful farmer, dai- 
ryman and stock dealer, on the 
Colonel Gates farm in Cambridge. 
Nettie A., the only daughter, is the 
wife of Doctor S. G. Start of 
Cambridge. 



FKANKLIN COUNTY. 



183 



SHEPARDSON, Willie S., son 
of Samuel C. and Emily (Robin- 
son) Sliepardson, was born in 
Fletcher, March 11, 1861. The 
golden wedding' of his parents was 
celebrated October 3, 1900. 

Samuel C. Sheparclson, a prom- 
inent and successful farmer and 
long-time resident of Fletcher, was 
a man of strong physique and 
great energy, and active until a 
brief time before his death, July 
14, 1903. He is survived by the 




W. S. Shepardson. 

widow and two sons : Willie S. and 
H. D. Shepardson, the latter re- 
maining on the home farm. The 
youth and early manhood of the 
subject of this sketch was spent 
upon the paternal farm. In 1897 
he rented the Robinson store at 
Fletcher Center, which he pur- 
chased five years later. He re- 
paired and rebuilt the buildings, 
which are now models of neatness 
and convenience, and is securing a 



prosperous and increasing trade. 
Genial and accommodating in dis- 
position, a careful buyer and relia- 
ble salesman, Mr. Shepardson fills 
an important sphere of usefulness 
as the leading merchant in town. 
He is the local agent of the Ver- 
mont Mutual Fire Insurance Com- 
pany. He has been postmaster 
during the past eight years. He 
has acceptably served the town in 
the various capacities of justice, 
school director, lister and select- 
man, and as a Republican, repre- 
sented Fletcher in the Legislature 
of 1891. 

Willie S. Shepardson married, 
in 1902, Mary L., daughter of P. 
H. and Ellen (Flynn) Sloan of 
Fletcher. Their only child, Har- 
old Samuel, was born August 26, 
1904. 

CHURCH, Nelson W. Samuel 
Church, the great-grandfather of 
the subject of this sketch, was for- 
merly a resident of Bennington, 
and served nearly seven years as 
a soldier of the Revolution. 

Samuel, Jr., his son, came to 
Fletcher from Bennington in 1797 
and settled on the farm now owned 
by Nelson W. Church, which has 
been owned without encumbrance 
over a century, and occupied by 
six generations of the family. 
Four generations of the family 
were born here. Hiram, the eld- 
est of the two sons of Samuel 
Church, Jr., was a life-long resi- 
dent on the ancestral farm. 

Nelson W., son of Hiram and 
Lorinda (McClure) Church, was 
born here December 25, 1837. He 
married Eliza, daughter of Luther 
and Sarah (Ufford)' Wells, in 1860. 
Few men so fully appreciate and 
enjoy the solid advantages of the 
ancestral home as Mr. Church, and 
here he has resided as a prosperous 



184 



StTCCESSFUL VERMONTERS. 



farmer. He was bereaved by the 
death of his beloved wife in March, 
1902. 

Recently a great sufferer from 
rheumatism, he has made his home 
with his only son, Leslie, who re- 
sides on a fine farm near Cam- 
bridge. Leslie Church married 
Delia A., daughter of Horace and 
Lovica (Boynton) Chapman, in 
February, 1899, and the following 
March moved from Fletcher to the 
Salford farm. 

Mr. Church built a fine stock 
barn and horse barn in 1901. The 
farm now supports 30 cows and 
the farm team, and under Mr. 
Church's care has greatly in- 
creased in fertility. 

Cora, the only daughter of Nel- 
son W. Church, married Charles 
Bellows of Cambridge. 

The Church farm of 200 acres 
is pleasantly located near Fletcher 
Center, and contains an excellent 
sugar place of 1,600 trees, with 
modern equipment. The sugar 
place and a good dairy of 20 cows 
were the leading resources. 

Nelson W. Church has never 
sought ofifice or preferment, but has 
served as justice and selectman. 
He is strongly attached to his na- 
tive town by the time-hallowed as- 
sociations of residence and ances- 
try, and is universally esteemed as 
a man and citizen. 

S]\IITH, Fred L., son of George 
and Helen C. (Gage) Smith, was 
born in Westminster, September 
27, 1858. His boyhood was spent 
in attendance at the district schools 
and in the cares and labors of the 
farm. His parents removed to 
Athens when he was 11 years old, 
where he remained until be became 
of age. He married, in 1885, Mrs. 
Ella Swan Chase of Fletcher and 



settled on their present farm near 
Fletcher Center. 

The progress and improvements 
of the past 20 years illustrate what 
may be acompjished by energy. 




Fked L. Smith. 

economy and good judgment. The 
original farm of 200 acres has been 
increased to 300 by purchase. The 
productions of the farm have more 
than doubled during the past 20 
years and it now supports 70 head 
of cattle, including 50 cows, mostly 
grade Jerseys. Mr. Smith erected, 
in 1903, a model barn, 46 x 105 
feet, with gable driveway. 

Having provided the farm with 
a modern equipment for butter 
making some twelve years ago, Mr. 
Smith began taking milk of neigh- 
bors and, starting with a few 
patrons, he has now nearly ninety. 
Mr. Smith is recognized as a skill- 
ful and successful creameryman, 



FRANKLIN COUNTY. 



185 



and delivered an address before the 
1906 meeting of the Vermont Dai- 
rymen's Association which was 
highly commended. He conducts 
a feed store in connection with his 
creamery, and is one of the busi- 
est of men. His plant is the most 
important, if not the only manufac- 
tory of the town of Fletcher, and 
with the feed business, is an im- 
portant industrial factor. 

He is a member of the State Dai- 
rymen's Association, and also of 
the Methodist Church. A repre- 
sentative farmer and manufac- 
turer, Mr. Smith represented 
Fletcher in the Legislature in 1898. 

PARSONS, Charles Bingham, 
youngest son of Medad R. and 
Betsey (Bingham) Parsons, was 
born in the house where he now re- 
sides in Fletcher, December 14, 




Chaklks B. Parsons. 

1841. Medad R. Parsons came 
here from Fairfax in 1820, and 
cleared up this farm from the wil- 
derness. His wife was a daughter 
of Captain Elias Bingham, the pi- 
oneer of Binghamville. 



Charles B. Parsons received only 
the training of the district schools, 
and shared the usual experience of 
the farm boy of the period. He re- 
mained on the home farm as the 
solace of his parents' declining 
years. His mother died in 1881 
and his father five years later. He 
married, in 1862, Jane A. Wether- 
bee of Fletcher, who died in 1882. 
Three children were born of this 
marriage : Addie A., wife of A. J. 
Lamb, and Rollin C, both of 
Fletcher, and Jessie M. of Fairfax. 
Mr. Parsons married in 1884 Lu- 
cia C, daughter of Henry and Ann 
(West) Hooper. 

Mr. Parsons' farm now contains 
235 acres. Dairying, with a herd 
of 20 cows, is the main resource, 
the butter being made upon the 
farm. 

Mr. Parsons is past chancellor 
commander of Lamoille Lodge, No. 
12, Knights of Pythias, and a mem- 
ber of the Grand Lodge of Ver- 
mont. He is also a member of 
Modern Woodmen of America, No. 
10,127. Mr. Parsons is highly es- 
teemed for his good judgment and 
integrity and is prominent in town 
aft'airs. He has been lister six 
years, selectman seven years, school 
director three years, justice 30 
years and town clerk and treasurer 
for the past 10 years. A Demo- 
crat in politics, he represented 
Fletcher, a strongly Republican 
town, first in 1874, again in 1904. 

MAXFIELD, Hampton L., son 
of Harry and Abigail (Bishop) 
Maxfield, was born in Fairfax, 
September 2, 1836. His education 
was completed at the New Hamp- 
ton Institute. When the tocsin of 
war resounded 

"He left the plowshare in the mold, 
The flocks and herds without a fold." 



186 



SUCCESSFtTL VERMONTERS. 



to respond to liis coimtry's call. 
He was mustered into the United 
States service June 20, 1861, as a 
member of Compam' H, Second 
Vermont Reoinient. He shared 




Hampton L. Maxfiei.d. 

the fortunes of the senior regi- 
ment of the "Old Brigade" from 
the First Bull Run, including the 
Peninsular campaign and Grant's 
last advance on Richmond, and 
participated in a score of battles 
and skirmishes. He was wounded 
at the charge of jNlarye's Heights, 
and again at Wilderness, when for 
two months he was disabled and 
in the hospital. At the Wilder- 
ness he left his Spring-field musket 
on the field, which fell into the 
hands of the Confederates. The 
name, company and regiment of 
the owner was carved on the gun, 
which 11 months later was brought 



back to the regiment by a squad of 
deserters. 

Returning to his native town, 
j\Ir. Maxfield married, in October, 
1866, Ermina A. McClellan of 
Cambridge. They farmed in va- 
rious towns in this section until 
1899, when they located in their 
present home in Fletcher. 

They have three children : Lot- 
tie married 0. H. Gome of Fletch- 
er; Arthur A. Maxfield, an electri- 
cian, married Ida M. Rush, and re- 
sides in Somerville. Massachusetts, 
and with him resides Cora F., his 
youngest sister. 

Hampton L. ^laxfield is an es- 
teemed member of Cambridge Post, 
Xo. 10, G. A. R., and Mrs. I\Iax- 
field of Green IMountain Relief 
Corps, No. 53, Department of Ver- 
mont. ]Mr. INIaxfield was a brave 
and faithful soldier and is a good 
tvpe of the "Green Mountain 
Boys of '61." 

CARPENTER, Oliver G., son 
of Sumner and Hulda M. (Good- 
rich) Carpenter, was born in 
Fletcher, August 9, 1854. 

Jesse Carpenter, the grandfather 
of Oliver, came from Croydon, 
New Hampshire, about 1825, set- 
tled in the north part of Fletcher 
and cleared up a farm from the 
Avilderness. He married Eliza- 
beth Chase and they reared a large 
family: Calvin, Elmira, Emory, 
Sylva, Sumner, Cephas, Eli, Abi- 
gail, Addison B., and Marinda, of 
whom only two are now living — 
Cephas and Eli, both of Fletcher. 

Sumner Carpenter was born in 
1824, married Clarissa, daughter of 
Joseph Stickney in 1849, and their 
two sons are A. B. Carpenter of 
Fairfax and J. S. Carpenter of 
Morristown. 

The children of Sumner and 
Hulda (Goodrich) Carpenter 



TR AN KLIN COUNTY. 



187 



were: Oliver G., Ella M., of Lynn, 
Massachusetts; Effie A. of Cam- 
bridge, Elsie D. of Westford and 
Olney S. of Fletcher. 

Sumner Carpenter moved to the 
present farm, two miles from Cam- 
bridge, in 1867, and his aged 
parents resided with him. By his 
death, in 1877, the town of Fletcher 
lost a prominent and esteemed 
citizen. 

The Carpenter farm of 164 acres 
is one of the most productive and 
desirable in the county. The ma- 
jestic form of ]\It. ]\Iansfield, with 
a beautiful foreground of village, 
meadow and forest farms, is a scenic 
picture of surpassing beauty. Mr. 
Carpenter erected his commodious 
barns, including two silos, in 1894. 
The main barn is 46 x 100 feet, 
with gable driveway, and deep bays 



sold at 21.89 cents per pound, 
bringing $70.14 per cow. In 1905 
39 cows averaged 295 pounds each, 
which at 24% cents per pound, 
brought the owner $72.27 per cow. 
This is successful farming. The 
farm also contains a fine sugar 
place of 1,000 trees, with modern 
equipment. 

Oliver G. Carpenter completed 
his education at the New Hampton 
Institute, Fairfax. He married 
Alice M. Chase, daughter of Joseph 

B. and Irena (Drake) Chase, Feb- 
ruary 20, 1884. Mrs. Carpenter is 
a true home-maker, and the domes- 
tic circle is cheered and brightened 
by the presence of two daughters : 
Glee A., born in 1894, and Ruby 

C, born in 1899. 

Oliver G. Carpenter is an ex- 
cellent type of the enterprising, 




SuNNYSiDE Fakm, Olivek G. Carpentek, PuOPRIETOn. 



and the ell is 30 x 40. The barns 
contain 70 head of cattle, includ- 
ing 40 as fine grade Jersey and 
thoroughbred cows as the county 
contains. In 1904 40 cows aver- 
aged 325 pounds of butter, which 



progressive and hospitable Ver- 
mont farmer. His townsmen have 
recognized his sterling qualities by 
electing him to the most responsible 
offices in their gift, and by sending 
him to the Legislature in 1896. 



188 



SUCCESSFUL VERMONTERS. 



FAIRFAX. 

Population, Census of 1900, 1,338. 

The charter was granted by 
Benning Wentworth, governor of 
New Hampshire, August 18, 1763, 
to Edward Burling and 63 others. 
A village was laid out on the level 
tract known as the Plain, where 
there was formerl.y a store, tav- 
ern and the primitive industries of 
a pottery, still, potash and fulling 
mill, all of which have long passed 
away. 

The first proprietors' meeting of 
the town of Fairfax was held at 
Arlington, August 30, 1786, and 
action was taken for laying out the 
first division of lots, and for rais- 
ing money to defray the expense of 
the same. The first meeting of pro- 
prietors holden in town, was held 
June 9, 1791, at the house of 
Broadstreet Spafford. Captain 
8eth Ford was elected moderator 
and Nathan Spafford, proprietors' 
clerk. At this and subsequent 
meetings the balance of the lots 
were surveyed and drawn out. 
The final di\ading of the town was 
not completed until May 7, 1792. 
The first town meeting was held 
March 22, 1787, at the house of 
Captain Broadstreet Spafford, 
who was elected moderator. 
Thomas Russell was elected town 
clerk ; Nathan Spafford, constable ; 
Broadstreet Spafford, Robert Bar- 
net and Thomas Russell, selectmen. 

The first settlement in Fairfax 
was made by Broadstreet Spafford, 
who, with two sons, Nathan and 
Asa, came from New Hampshire in 
1783 and began to clear the farm 
owned by Mrs. David Shepardson, 
on the Lamoille River. Robert 
and Jose Barnet came the follow- 
ing year, and a short time after, 
Thomas Russell settled in town. 



None of their descendants are now 
living here. At that time the near- 
est settlers were at Cambridge, 
seven miles distant. 

The supplies were generally 
brought in from Burlington. Levi 
Farnsworth came in from Charles- 
town, New Hampshire, in the 
spring of 1787, with his dog, axe 
and gun, and built a log house on 
the Plain. In 1790 he returned 
with his family, and was followed 
soon after by his brothers, Jasper, 
Oliver and Joseph Farnsworth, 
who settled on the Plain. Gould 
Buck, the pioneer of this at one 
time numerous family, came to the 
locality called Buck Hollow in 
1790, and was soon followed by his 
brothers, George, Zadock, Nathan, 
Joseph and Jesse. Douglass Buck, 
the last representative of this once 
numerous family, has recently sold 
his 600-acre farm and moved to St. 
Albans. Abijah Hawley was a 
strong character and pioneer set- 
tler in the northern part of Buck 
Hollow, and came in 1789. His 
father was Jehial Hawley, a prom- 
inent citizen of Arlington, and his 
grandson, Hon. Charles A. Haw- 
ley, has recently sold the old home- 
stead and moved to Richford. 

The First Baptist Church of 
Fairfax was organized in 1792, 
and its first ordained minister was 
Reverend Elislia Andrew^s. In 
1821 the society, in association with 
the Congregationalists, built a 
meeting house. In 1818 and 1849, 
the society built the present 
church, the frame being furnished 
by Deacon Ansel Shepardson and 
Harry Safford. The church was 
thoroughly repaired in 1885. The 
present pastor is Reverend Frank 
Ufford, a native of Fairfax. 

The Methodists of Fairfax be- 
gan to hold class services early in 



FRANKLIN COUNTY. 



189 



the last century, but the society 
was not orji'anized here until 1832. 
The first meeting- house was built 
in 18-iO, and the present one in 
1851. 

The Roman Catholic Church at 
Fairfax was built in 1872, during 
the pastorate and under the direc- 



prosperity and population, the sum 
of $10,000 was raised, and with 
this sum the old union meeting 
house was remodeled into a well- 
arranged school building, and dur- 
ing the summer of 1853, the school 
was opened. It proved an excel- 
lent acquisition to the town, and 




Adelbebt B. Beeman. 



tion of Father M. Pigeon. The 
parish is small and the church is 
usually supplied from Milton or 
St. Albans. 

The New Hampton Institute was 
originally located at New Hamp- 
ton, New Hampshire. During the 
middle of the last century, when 
the town had attained its greatest 



for many years was a prosperous 
institution, but recently suffered a 
serious decline. 

BEEMAN, Hon. Adelbert B., 
son of James Munroe and Loraine 
(Lewis) Beeman, was born in Fair- 
fax, July 15, 1843. He is a de- 
scendant from Joseph Beeman, a 
pioneer of the county, and well 



190 



SUCCESSFUL VERMONTERS. 



known as an extensive landowner 
and surveyor. James M. Beeman 
was reared upon a farm and 
learned the trade of blacksmith and 
wheelwright. In 1856 he moved to 
Fairfax village and engaged in 
trade. For 13 years he was in the 
lumber and Ijutter tub business at 
Fairfax Falls. 

Adelbert B. Beeman was edu- 
cated at New Hampton Institute. 
He began clerking in 1860 in Bur- 
lington, and cast his first vote for 
Abraham Lincoln. He entered 
into mercantile partnership with 
his father in 1864, under the firm 
style of J. M. Beeman & Son. That 
was the time of greenback prices; 
cotton cloth at 45 cents per yard, 
kerosene $1.25 per gallon, butter 
51 cents per pound, dressed pork 
16 cents per pound, wool 90 cents 
to $1.00 per pound. The store was 
the leading general merchandise 
center in the village, with a large 
trade in butter and maple sugar. 
In 1892 Mr. Beeman sold the store 
to Francis 11. Shepardson. 

Since that time ]\Ir. Beeman has 
been extensively engaged in buying 
farm produce, the specialties being 
butter, eggs and maple sugar. His 
operations have extended all over 
Northern Vermont, where he is 
widely and favorably known. With 
an experience of 40 years, he ex- 
presses the opinion that as a rule 
the farms are more productive and 
the farmers better fixed than ever 
before, during that period. Mr. 
Beeman is a stalwart Republican, 
and as such represented Fairfax in 
1886 and was a senator from 
Franklin County in 1892. He was 
a member of the Republican Coun- 
ty Committee for four years. 

For a quarter of a century he 
has been town clerk and treasurer, 
and is recognized as an influential 



citizen and able business man. 
He is president of the Allen Bee- 
man Company, wholesale dealers 
and jobbers of fancy farm produce, 
at Norwich, Connecticut. He is 
vice-president of Franklin County 
Savings Bank and Trust Company 
of St. Albans. Mr. Beeman has 
been a member of the Masonic fra- 
ternity for 42 years. He was for 
many years secretary, and is a past 
master of Lamoille Lodge, A. F. & 
A. M. 

He married, in 1873, J. Agnes 
Allen of Westford, who died, in 
1884, leaving a son, Arthur Allen 
Beeman, who is a graduate of Sax- 
ton's River Academy, and is now 
associated with his father in busi- 
ness. Adelbert B. Beeman mar- 
ried for his second wife Mrs. Carrie 
Nash of New Haven. 

PETTY, Doctor Frank A., son 
of McKendree and Eliza J. 
(Truax) Petty, was born in Bur- 
lington, August 20, 1855. McKen- 
dree Petty was for 33 years profes- 
sor of mathematics in the Univer- 
sity of Vermont, and died in 1887. 
Frank A. was one of a family of 
five sons and five daughters, of 
whom three sons and three daugh- 
ters are now living. Of the four 
sons who lived to maturity, three 
were physicians. The eldest. Doc- 
tor Charles W. Petty, died at 
Keeler's Bay. Doctor John C. 
Petty is located in Wisconsin. The 
youngest son. Reverend Henry 
Curtis Petty, is a clergyman of the 
Troy Conference. 

The early environment of Frank 
A. Petty was stimulating and fa- 
vorable for the development of 
scholarly tastes. He was edu- 
cated in the excellent public schools 
of Burlington and at the Univer- 
sity of Vermont. He graduated 
from the Medical Department of 



FRANKLIN COUNTY. 



191 



U. V. M. in 1885. His first settle- 
ment was at Hyde Park, where he 
remained a year, and later located 
at Underhill Center. Doctor Petty 
came to Fairfax in 1890, where he 
has since resided, and acquired a 
successful practice in this and sur- 
rounding towns. He takes an 



one daughter, Lillian. Mrs. 
Petty is a graduate of the Johnson 
Normal School, a lady of refine- 
ment, and an active factor in the 
social and religious life of the com- 
munity. For many years she has 
had charge of the primary depart- 
ment of the ]\Iethodist Sabbath- 




Fkank a. Petty, M. D. 



active interest in the social and ed- 
ucational well-being of his adopted 
town, has served as superintend- 
ent of schools, and is a past master 
of Lamoille Lodge, No. 6, A. F. & 
A. M. He is a member of the Ver- 
mont State INIedical Society. 

Doctor Petty married, in 1894, 
Mary A., daughter of Daniel J. 
Norton of Fairfax. They have 



school. Doctor and Mrs. Petty are 
prominent members of that church. 
The home of Doctor Petty is a 
delightful social center, and his 
personal and professional influ- 
ence stands for morality and prog- 

SHEPARDSON, Francis Way- 
land, youngest son of Ansel, Jr., 
and Lu Ray (Story) Shepardson, 



192 



SUCCESSFUL VERMONTEES. 



was born at Fairfax, February 26, 
1836. 

Daniel Shepardson, the first 
American ancestor, came from 
England to Salem, Massachusetts, 
in 1628 or 1629, and soon after set- 
tled in Charlestown. Ansel, Jr., 
was born in Middletown, in 1793, 



built a pioneer flax machine, which 
he used extensively. He com- 
menced wool carding and cloth 
finishing in 1830. which was con- 
tinued 20 years, when a new mill 
was built and machinery installed 
for making woolen cloth and j^arn. 
He also erected a foundry and 




Fbancis W. Shepardsox. 



a son of Ansel, Sr., who came with 
his family to Fairfax about 1805, 
and located on a farm. Ansel, Jr.. 
was a good vocalist, and for many 
years taught singing school. An- 
sel, Jr., built a sawmill on the 
stream nearby and manufactured 
lumber. He also invented and 



blacksmith shop at what became 
known as Shepardson Hollow. He 
was a member of the Baptist 
Church, was for half a century 
one of its deacons and a man of 
most exemplary character. He 
died in 1875. at 'the age of 82. 
Francis W. Shepardson early 



FRANKLIN COUNTY. 



193 



evinced uniisnal mechanical abil- 
ity, and in 1857, at the age of 21, 
assumed entire management of the 
factory at the Hollow, and con- 
ducted it successfully for eight 
years. The volume of the business 
outgrew the facilities, and in 1865 
Mr. Shepardson formed a co-part- 
nership with S. N. Gaut, owner 
of the great falls of Fairfax, and 
the company purchased the most 
modern machinery and equipped 
"Lamoille mill." This factory 
was known far and near for the ex- 
cellent quality of its goods and for 
many years turned out yearly 
about $80,000 worth of fancy cas- 
simeres, flannels and yarn, which 
supplied the local ti'ade. 

In 1881 Mr. Shepardson sold his 
interest in the Lamoille mills, and 
purchased the Hiram Bellows 
place at the village, where he has 
since resided. He married, in 
1860, Miss Jeiniie Kinney of ]\Iil- 
ton, and two daughters were born 
to them : Fannie V., the youngest, 
is living, the wife of Nathan B. Al- 
fred of Fairfax. 

]\Ir. Shepardson east his first 
vote for Abraham Lincoln, and as 
a Eepublican represented Fairfax 
in the Legislature in 1890. He 
has served his townsmen in many 
capacities. For a cjuarter of a 
century he has been a trustee of 
the Bellows Free Academy fund, 
most of the time as secretary and 
treasurer, and under the general 
direction of the board has managed 
the investment of that fund in a 
most masterly and successful man- 
ner. He has made the realization 
of this great project, the great aim 
and ambition of his life. He had 
personal charge of the construction 
of that model school building, ' ' The 
Bellows Free Academy. ' " Mr. Shep- 
ardson has sung in the Baptist 
A— u 



choir here for 60 years and for 50 
years has been chorister of that 
church choir, and also a member of 
the church since the age of 14. 

BRUSH, S. Warner, son of 
Captain Charles H. and Sarah 
Jane (Roberts) Brush, was born in 
Fairfax, May 24, 1868. Charles 
H. Brush was born in Cambridge, 
in 1839, son of Silas Brush. The 
latter, and also his father, were 
well-known hotel keepers, and 
Silas was many years town clerk. 
Charles H. completed his schooling 
at New Hampton Institute. In the 
fall of 1862 he enlisted in the First 
Vermont Heavy Artillery, where 
he was successively promoted 
through every grade from private 
to captain, and served three years. 
He took part in several battles and 
was captured on the Weldon Rail- 
road, June 23, 1864, and was held 
a prisoner until November at Belle 
Isle, Andersonville and other pris- 
ons. He married in 1866, Sarah 
J. Roberts, and soon after bought 
and occupied the large farm now 
owned by S. Warner Brush. Cap- 
tain Charles H. Brush has been a 
trustee of Bellows Free Academy 
15 years, and a school director nine 
years. He took the initiative in 
the system of conveying town pu- 
pils in barges to the Bellows Free 
Academy and for years has given 
much time to school interests. 

S. AVarner Brush ranks as one of 
the leading farmers of Franklin 
County. 

After completing his education 
at New Hampton Institute and 
Vermont Academy, he married 
Ella, daughter of D. J. Norton, and 
settled on the home farm, which 
he helped carry on for several 
years. In 1903 he purchased the 
farm of his father. Containing 
more than five hundred acres and 



194 



SUCCESSFUL VERMONTERS. 



located on a broad swell of land 
two miles from Fairfax and three 
miles from CTeorgia station, it 
commands a fine view of Mount 
INIansfield. Nearly all of the mow- 
ing and tillage is available for the 
use of machinery, and the farm 
is steadily increasing in fertility. 
Mr. Brush keeps 75 head of cattle, 
including 60 Jersey and Ayrshire 
grade cows, and a dozen horses. He 
has recent! V erected a model barn 



vanized iron buckets, conducts the 
sap to camp through 60 rods of 
three-fourths-inch iron tu])ing, and 
boils rapidly with evaporators. He 
runs his syrup thin from evapora- 
tor allows it to settle fully and 
then renders it to the standard den- 
sity and draws it into a galvanized 
lined tank where all of the nitre is 
deposited. All of his product of 
from 700 to 1,000 gallons is made 
into maple syrup, which is largely 




SuciAii House of S. Warner Brush. 



for swine, and is engaging exten- 
sively in the rearing and sale of 
shoats of the Chester White breed. 
Mr. Brush has an excellent 
equipment for butter making, with 
a power separator and cold stor- 
age room and makes an excellent 
grade, which sells at remunerative 
prices. Perhaps the most notable 
feature of his farming is his sugar 
making resource. He sets up 2,600 
maples, mainly with tin and gal- 



sold in bulk to AVelch Brothers of 
Burlington. 

Mr. Brush is a careful student 
of modern methods and alert to 
adopt the latest improvements. 

Mi'H. Brush died in 1900, leav- 
ing one son, Wesley N., a student 
at Bellows Free Academy. In 
1903 Mr. Brush married Cora, 
daughter of H. S. and Maria Uf- 
ford of Fairfax and their home is 
cheered by the presence of a little 



FRANKLIN COUNTY. 



195 



daughter, Dorothy. S. Warner 
Brush is superintendent of the 
Methodist Episcopal Sabbath- 
school, a member of that church 
and a most exemplary young man 
in every relation in life. 

WHEELER, EoLLiN, son of Al- 
fred and Maria (Buck) Wheeler, 



ond husband, IMr. Thurston, and 
died at 96 years of age. 

Alfred Wheeler moved to the 
present homestead about 1814, and 
resided there until his death, in 
1850, at the age of 59. 

Rollin Wheeler was the youngest 
son of a family of four sons and 











^^^^^^^K^v^^^k ' 




^^^^^^^^H^^^HHjn^^ 


^^^^^HEHfet. 


i^^^^^K^^K 


' ^^rf- m 



KoLLiN Wheeler. 



was born in Fairfax, December 25, 
1833. His grandfather, Zalmon 
Wheeler, son of Joseph, the pio- 
neer, of Fairfield, also settled there 
about the same time. 

Hannah Butler was married to 
Zalmon Wheeler at 14 years of age, 
had a family of six children by 
him, and eight children by her sec- 



five daughters, of whom four are 
now living. He was born on this 
farm, and has always resided here. 
He was educated in the district 
school at Buck Hollow, then an ex- 
cellent school, with sometimes an 
attendance of 70 pupils. 

At the age of 17, by his father's 
death, the care of the farm de- 



196 



SUCCESSFUL YERMONTERS. 



volved upon liim. In 1863, at 30 
years of age, he married j\Iary 
Adelia Chittenden a great-grand- 
danghter of the Reverend Bethiiel 
Chittenden, the first Episcopal 
clergyman in the state. Six child- 
ren have been born to them. All 
are now living with the exception 
of the eldest son, Xenophen C, a 
teacher, who died in Portland, 
Oregon. Roll in Arthur, the sec- 
ond son, is a civil engineer in New 
York City, Frederick Albert is 
superintendent of schools of the 
towns of Munson and Brimfield, 
IVIassaehusetts. These three sons 
are graduates of U. V. ]M. Will- 
iam Alfred graduated from Al- 
bany Business College; Mary Cyn- 
thia, a graduate of the Boston Con- 
servatory of Music, is a music 
teacher in New York Cit}' ; Grace 
Chittenden, formerly a student at 
Burr and Burton Seminary, re- 
sides with her parents. 

The Wheeler homestead of 180 
acres, is located in Buck Hollow, 
four miles from Fairfax \dllage. 
The farm is conducted on dairy 
lines. He has a good sugar place 
of 1,000 maples and his maple 
syriip and sugar goes to all parts 
of the country. 

Since the formation of the party, 
Mr. Wheeler has been a Republi- 
can. He inherits the strong per- 
sonality of a stanch pioneer an- 
cestry. He is a first cousin of the 
late Vice-President William A. 
Wheeler of New York. 

LEACH, HoBART F., son of Cy- 
rus and Mary B. (Hawley) Leach, 
was born in Fairfield, October 25, 
1853. John Leach, his great- 
grandfather, was one of the earliest 
settlers of Fairfield, and his wife, 
Hannah (Page) Leach, was also 
of pioneer stock in that town. Of 
their 10 children, Willis married 



Betsey Danforth, by whom he had 
six children. Cyrus, the youngest 
son, married, in 1849, Mary B. 
Hawley of Fairfax, and five chil- 
dren were born to them : ]\Iyron B., 
who is a creamery man in Essex ; 
]\Iillard F., a farmer in St. Albans; 
Hobart F., Julia A. (deceased), 
and Hannah (]Mrs. L. B. Warner), 
of Swanton. 

In 1860 Cyrus Leach purchased 
and moved to the old Gale farm, 
three miles from Fairfax village. 
jNIr. Leach and his estimable wife 
are passing their declining years 
^nth their son, Hobart, on this ex- 
cellent farm. 

Hobart F. Leach completed his 
schooling at New Hampton Insti- 
tute. He nuirried, in 1877, Abbie 
]M., daughter of Calvin and Martha 
(Story) Howard of North Fairfax. 
They removed to Essex and resided 
on a farm there for seven years, af- 
ter which they returned to the old 
Gale farm, where they have since 
resided. This fine farm contains 
300 acres, suitably divided into 
mo^nng, pasture and woodland. 

There are nearly one hundred 
acres of mowing and tillage, in- 
cluding 22 acres of rich flowage 
meadow. This is one of the best 
grass farms in the state, every acre 
being fitted for machinery. For 
many years 60 head of cattle have 
been kept, besides the farm team, 
and the farm usually cuts 150 tons 
of hay. The stock is of grade Ayr- 
shires. 

Cyrus and Hobart F. Leach have 
rebuilt the barns, which are roomy 
and convenient. In 1873, Mr. 
Leach erected the elegant two- 
story farmhouse, a model home. 

In this beautiful home are gath- 
ered three generations, represent- 
ing the springtime, the full mid- 
summer and the winter of life. 



FRANKLIN COUNTY. 



197 



They are a society unto themselves. 
Hobai't and Abbie M. Leach have 
eig'ht children living: Eunice, 
wife of Charles B. Strait; Sarah 
M., Lyman Hawley, Cyrus A., Ed- 
mond F. Eunice was a student of 
Malone Business College, and Sarah 
M. is a graduate of Vermont Acad- 
emy. Five of the children are stu- 
dents of the Bellows Free Acad- 
emv. On this farm and in this 



as selectmen and are worthy and 
highly respected citizens. 

HOWARD, Clinton S., son of 
Guy W. and Effie E. (Spaulding) 
Howard, was born in Fairfax, Oc- 
tober 28, 1875. His grandparents 
were Daniel and Alvira (Max- 
field) Howard. Daniel was the 
son of Marshall Lovina Howard, 
who came to Fairfax about the be- 
ginning of the last century. Mar- 




Mk. and Mks. Houakt F. Leach and Family. 



home are found in a pre-eminent 
degree those conditions that make 
for the best citizenship. It is a 
Christian home and all of the envi- 
ronment is cheerful, kindly and 
prosperous. 

The Leach family are Baptists 
in religious belief and support. 
Hobart F. is a deacon of that 
church. 

Cja'us and Hobart F. Leach are 
Republicans in political action ; 
have served the town several terms 



shall Howard was quite a large 
landowner and farmer near San- 
derson Corners. The Maxfields 
were among the early settlers of 
the town. 

Clinton S. Howard completed 
his schooling at New Hampton In- 
stitute taking the business course. 
At 18 years of age he went to Mas- 
sachusetts and learned the paint- 
er's trade, which he followed there 
for three years. Returning to 
Fairfax, in 1897, he engaged as a 



198 



SUCCESSFUL VERMONTERS. 



clerk for E. D. Shepardson, re- 
maining in that capacity for two 
years. He then leased his store 
near the center of Fairfax village 
of A. B. Beeman, purchased 



tnres of grain, flour and feed, and 
does a lively business in barter of 
farm products. A large annex in 
the rear of his store contains a 
heavy stock of grain and feed. His 




Clinton S. Howard. 



a fresh stock of general mer- 
chandise and has since conducted 
a flourishing and steadily-in- 
creasing business. He carries ev- 
erything usually found in a gen- 
eral country store, also the fea- 



location is especially desirable and 
he conducts the leading general 
store of Fairfax. Mr. Howard 
gives his careful, personal atten- 
tion to the details of his business, 
is a genial and accommodating 



FRANKLIN COUNTY. 



199 



salesman and his acquaintances be- 
come customers and his customers, 
friends. He is a good type of the 
enterprising young business man 
who makes his own way in life. 
Mr. Howard married, in April, 
1899, Hattie, daughter of Samuel 
Austin of Fairfax. Their home is 
cheered by the presence of two 
children : Malcolm, five years of 
age, and Merle, three years. Mr. 
Howard is broad gauge in his so- 
cial affinities. He is a past master 
of Lamoille Lodge, No. 6, A. F. & 

A. M., and a Royal Arch Mason. 
He is also a member of Chittenden 
Lodge, Knights of Pythias, of 
Westford. 

At the JNIarch meeting, 1906, 
Mr. Howard was elected a trus- 
tee of the Bellows Free Academy. 

HUNT, Captain Luther B., 
son of Stratton Ball and Abigail 
C. (Parmelee) Hunt, was born in 
Fairfax, August 30, 1836. Strat- 
ton B. Hunt was born in Alstead, 
New Hampshire, in 1799, son of 
Caleb and Lydia (AValker) Hunt. 
Orphaned in infancy, he was 
reared by an aunt. At the age of 
21, he came from Charlestown, 
New Hampshire, to Fairfax on 
foot, and with a pack on his back, 
and here he resided until his 
death, in 1881. After clerking a 
few years for his brother, Luther 

B. Hunt, he settled on a farm near 
the village, and was an active fac- 
tor in the social and public affairs 
of the town, serving many years as 
constable and deputy sheriff. 

John Parmelia, the first Ameri- 
can ancestor of Luther B. Hunt, 
was of a noble Belgian family, and 
came to Connecticut in 1639. Jo- 
seph Parmelee, Mr. Hunt's mater- 
nal grandfather, was a son of Cap- 
tain Oliver Parmelee, who was a 
lieutenant in the Fourth Regiment 



of King George III, and in 1776 re- 
ceived a commission signed in the 
bold hand of John Hancock, as 
captain of the Seventh Company, 
First Regiment, Continental Vol- 
unteers. Mr. Hunt has this ven- 
erable document, also a commission 
from Jonathan Trumbull, captain- 
general of New England. 

Joseph Parmelee came to Fair- 
fax in 1802, one of six brothers, 
and engaged in the manufacture of 
cloths and as a cloth dyer and 
dresser, many years, and died at 
the age of 79. The four children 
of Stratton B. and Abigail P. Hunt 
were Joseph Parmelee, who died in 
1865 ; Luther Ball, Abigail J., who 
married Charles Halstead of New 
York City, and Clarissa Collins, 
who, with Luther B., lives at the 
old homestead. 

Luther B. Hunt was educated 
at New Hampton Institute. In 
1857 he went to Wataga, Illinois, 
and engaged as a clerk, and was ap- 
pointed postmaster under Presi- 
dent Buchanan. When the war 
broke out he enlisted a company of 
volunteers, was tendered the cap- 
taincy, but accepted the position 
of second lieutenant, and fought 
with his company at Foi'ts Henry 
and Donelson, and at Pittsburg 
Landing, where the company went 
in with 40 men and came out with 
16. On one occasion, in charge of 
prisoners, he reported personally 
to General Grant. On account of 
sickness, he resigned after the sur- 
render of Corinth, in the fall of 
1862. With health recuperated, 
he enlisted another company in 
1864, which became Company B, 
One Hundred and Thirty-eighth 
Illinois, and was elected its cap- 
tain. At the close of his service he 
returned to Wataga, but in 1866 
was called to Fairfax by the death 



200 



SUCCESSFUL VERMONTERS. 



of his brother, where he has since 
resided. He married Ella P. War- 
ren in 1877, who died in 1882. 

Mr. Hnnt is a Democrat in poli- 
ties, but voted for Lincohi in 1864. 
He has served the town as consta- 
ble, and during the past 25 years as 



jewels, and after the revival of La- 
moille Lodge as No. 6, in 1847, re- 
peatedly filled the chairs. Luther 
B. Hunt has been a Mason since 
1858, is a past master of Lamoille 
Lodge and many years its esteemed 
secretarv. 




Luther B. Hunt, 



town clerk. For nearly three 
quarters of a century the lo- 
cal business of the Vermont 'Mu- 
tual Fire Insurance Company has 
been conducted by Stratton B. 
Hunt and Luther B. Hunt, who is 
now one of the directors. 

S. B. Hunt became a Mason in 
1820, and during the anti-Masonic 
times took charge of the lodge 



LEARNED, Norris 0., son of 
Henry S. and Caroline (Sander- 
son) Learned, was born in Fairfax, 
January 14, 1852. William Learn- 
ed, the first American ancestor of 
this famil}", came to INIassachusetts 
as early as 1632. Joseph Learned, 
great-grandfather of Norris 0., em- 
igrated from Connecticut and set- 
tled in Bennington, afterwards in 



FIIANKLIN COUNTY. 



201 



Milton, and finally removed to 
Fairfax, where he died in 1836. 
The first seven of his children were 
born in Connecticut, five in Ben- 
nington, three in Milton, and the 
remainder of the 19 at Fairfax. In 
1851 there were 75 grandchildren. 
Jose])h. the grandfather of N. 0. 



and lived there the rest of his life. 
He was admitted to the bar of 
Franklin County in August, 1808, 
but did not practice law; was a 
member of the Legislature of 1833- 
'34, and in 1853- '54, and died in 
Fairfax in 1867, where all of his 
children had been born. 




NoRRis O. Leakned. 



Learned, came with his father 
from Connecticut, and was one of 
the early settlers of Fairfax, to 
which place he moved in 1809, tak- 
ing possession of a farm of 150 
acres which he had bought next to 
his father's. The place was then 
an almost unl)roken wilderness. He 
built a log house, cleared the farm 



Henry S. Learned was born May 
3, 1817, the fourth child of a fam- 
ily of four sons and three daugh- 
ters. He married Caroline San- 
derson in 1845 and settled on the 
farm in the east part of the town 
now owned and occupied l)y the 
subject of this sketch, and died 
there in January, 1866. 



202 



SUCCESSFUL VERMONTEKS. 



Thomas Stickney, the grand- 
father of Caroline (Sanderson) 
Learned, was a soldier of the Revo- 
lution, and with his comrades en- 
dured incredible privations and 
hardships of Arnold's expedition 
to Quebec through the ]\Iaine wil- 
derness. The eldest son of Henry 
S. Learned, Willis A., was born in 
1848, graduated from New Hamp- 
ton Institute, was a teacher 
there and elsewhere, and a mer- 
chant, and died in Fairfax in 1878. 
Norris 0. Learned completed his 
schooling at New Hampton Insti- 
tute, but not his education, for he 
has always been a student. 

Soon after leaving school, at the 
age of 18, owing to the death of his 
father, the care of the home farm 
devolved upon him. The farm, 
originally of 160 acres, has been in- 
creased to 280 acres. It is located 
about three miles from Fairfax, 
and is a well-conducted and pro- 
ductive farm. Mr. Learned has 
rebuilt the house, which is now a 
commodious and attractive farm 
home. He is a successful farmer 
and public-spirited citizen, a judi- 
cious and omniverous reader and 
a careful observer as well. He 
made the tour of the St. Louis 
Exposition, and of the Yosemite 
Park, Colorado Canyon, and other 
points of interest, in 1901, and 
gave a descriptive lecture at Fair- 
fax which was highly commended. 

Mr. Learned was elected select- 
man in 1891, and served two terms. 
In politics, an independent Dem- 
ocrat, he was elected to the Legis- 
lature in 1892, in this strongly Re- 
publican town. He married, in 
1875, Paulina C. Marvin of Fair- 
fax. Their three children are : 
Blanche M., Grace F. and Ralph 
H. Both Mr. and Mrs. Learned 
are members of the Methodist 



church of long standing, and the 
latter is chorister of the choir. Mr. 
Learned is greatly interested in 
the cause of education, and is now 
a school director. He represents 
the type of the practical farmer 
who is also a student of books and 
affairs. He has an excellent pri- 
vate library and for seven years 
has been president of the Fairfax 
free library. 

THE Bellows Free Academy. 
This unique institution, an expres- 
sion of the wisdom and benefi- 
cence of the late Hon. Hiram Bel- 
lows, a former resident of Fair- 
fax, is at once a prophecy and a 
realization of better educational 
advantages for Vermont. Mr. Bel- 
lows in his will devised four acres 
of land, situated at the corner of 
Hunt and Spring streets in Fair- 
fax village, to five citizens in trust 
as a site for the future erection of 
a free academy. The will was 
made July 5, 1876, and Mr. Bel- 
lows died October 18 of that year. 

"I give and beqeuath in trust to 
my native town of Fairfax two 
hundred and fifty shares in the 
Chicago, Rock Island and Pacific 
Railroad Company, the par value 
one hundred dollars each, the divi- 
dend thereon, as far as practicable, 
to be invested in said stock until 
the same amounts to two hundred 
and fifty thousand dollars, for the 
purpose of establishing a free 
school in the town of Fairfax ; said 
school to be located on the premises 
hereinafter mentioned and de- 
scribed; said school to be known 
and called The Bellows Free Acad- 
emy of Fairfax, Vermont, in which 
academy the primary and higher 
branches of learning shall be 
taught ; said academy shall be con- 
ducted in all respects in such man- 
ner as to further the education of 



FRANKLIK COtJNTY. 



203 



children and young men so as to 
fit them for usefulness. And so 
far as is practicable it is my wish 
that children of indigent parents 
receive the advantage of said school 
in preference to those who have 
ample means for the support and 



have accumulated to the sum of 
two hundred and fifty thousand 
dollars, the trustees are directed to 
proceed to erect on said premises 
suitable buildings for the purpose 
aforesaid, to expend in buildings, 
apparatus and library, a sum not 




Hiram Bellows, 

Donor Bellows Free Academy. 



education of their children. The 
design of this bequest is to furnish 
ample means and grounds for the 
erection of suitable buildings 
thereon, and to secure competent 
teachers and such means and fa- 
cilities for education as the times 
may demand. "When the funds 



to exceed fifty thousand dollars, 
leaving the sum of not less than 
two hundred thousand dollars as a 
permanent fund, the interest of 
which is to be expended in the best 
manner in procuring teachers and 
other incidental expenses of said 
Bellows Free Academy." 



204 



SUCCESSFUL VERMONTERS. 



The trustees adopted the policy 
recommended by Mr. Bellows and 
continued to invest the gains of 
the fund in Rock Island stock, 
buying M'hen the stock was below 
par, twice borrowing money for 
that purpose. The stock rose 
steadily until in 1902 it reached 
175 and it was evident that a sale 
at that price with, another com- 
paratively small investment would 
realize the required sum of $250,- 
000. A meeting of the town was 
called, which authorized the sale, 
and F. Wayland Shepardson 
through Morgan & Co. negotiated 
the sale at 176.5 per cent. 

The trustees advertised for bids 
to erect the building according to 
approved specifications and the 
contract was awarded to IMason & 
Co., who erected the building at an 
expense of about $-45,000. 

The following gentlemen were 
trustees w^hen the academy was for- 
mally presented to the town August 
31, i904: I. F. Wilcox, president; 
F. Wayland Shepardson, secre- 
tary and treasurer; Giles Rugg, 
C. H. Brush, Cyrus A. Hawley. 

The establishment of this benefi- 
cent institution opens a new era for 
education in Fairfax, perhaps for 
the entire state. The school is the 
model of the idea of the town cen- 
tral school, well graded and pro- 
viding equal advantages to all, 
from the primary to the academic 
grades. The abundance of means 
makes possible the adoption of four 
courses of study : Classical, Latin 
scientific, English and business. 
The scope of the work is broad and 
practical, as is indicated by the cur- 
riculum. Not only do those who 
desire special scientific training or 
preparation for college receive the 
best of advantages, but those whose 
education must be confined to a 



course in a secondary school will 
find the work admirably adapted 
to their needs. 

Bellows Free Academy is espe- 
cially fortunate in its equipment. 
The building is large and commo- 
dious, lighted throughout by elec- 
tricity, supplied with a telephone 
system, with a master clock and 
synchronizing clocks, heated with 
steam and has a modern and hygi- 
enic system of ventilation. The sec- 
ond floor entire is devoted to the 
academic department, there being 
a large general room, ample class 
rooms and laboratories well lighted 
and thoroughly equipped. On the 
third floor is a large assembly hall, 
where chapel exercises occur each 
morning and where music recitals, 
debates, public speakings, recep- 
tions, etc., are held. 

The building also contains a li- 
brary and reading room, llie 
reading room table is supplied with 
daily papers and current periodi- 
cals. The academy has an excel- 
lent preparatory department, so 
that a large number of pupils en- 
ter the high school well qualified to 
do good work. 

The system of conveyance of pu- 
pils from all parts of the town in 
routes traversed by covered barges 
is a unique feature in Fairfax, se- 
curing as it does the best instruc- 
tion, uniformity of grading and the 
enthusiasm of numbers. 

CHITTENDEN, Merritt D., 
son of Heman B. and Emma Har- 
riett Darrow, was born in Johnson, 
February 18, 1874. He is a lineal 
descendant of Reverend Bethuel 
Chittenden, the first settled Epis- 
copal clergyman of Vermont, and 
a brother of Governor Thomas 
Chittenden. Heman B. Chitten- 
den was well and favorably known 
as a teacher in Franklin County 



FRANKLIN COUNTY, 



205 



and at the University of Vermont. 
The subject of this sketch fitted for 
college at the Swanton High School 
and entered the University of Ver- 
mont in the fall of 1890. He pur- 
sued the classical course and grad- 
uated with the degree of A. B. in 
June, 3894. He was a member of 



While here he received an invita- 
tion to take charge of the public 
schools of Brandon, which he was 
compelled to refuse until the ex- 
piration of his engagement at Roch- 
ester. Meanwhile the place had 
been kept for him and in Septem- 
ber, 1898, he assumed the arduous 




Merkitt D. Chittenden. 



the Delta Psi college fraternity of 
his alma mater. His antecedents 
and inclinations led him to choose 
teaching as his future life work. 
His first experience was at Under- 
bill, where he remained a year and 
one term, when a better position 
opened for him at Rochester. 



but congenial duties of the princi- 
palship of a school of nearly ft)ur 
hundred pupils. 

While at Brandon he had an ef- 
ficient and congenial assistant, Miss 
Gertrude M. Cahee, daughter of 
James L. Cahee of that town. 
Their mutual esteem ripened into 



206 



SUCCESSFUL VERMONTERS. 



a more sacred and intimate relation 
and they were married August 14, 
1901. They have a little daughter, 
Elizabeth F. Mrs. Chittenden is a 
graduate of Smith College, of the 
class of 1895, is a lady of fine social 
and mental gifts and a most suc- 
cessful teacher. While at Brandon 
Mv. Chittenden was president of 
the Nature Club and a member of 
the local library board. 

Mr. Chittenden has utilized 
every opportunity to augment his 
scholarship and his capacity for 
usefulness, having taken courses at 
the INIartha's Vineyard and the 
Harvard summer schools. When 
the Bellows Free Academy was 
opened in September, 1904, he was 
unanimously elected to the princi- 
palship, an important position 
which he has since ably and accept- 
ably filled. He was elected presi- 
dent of the Vermont Schoolmas- 
ters' Club in October, 1905, and in 
December was appointed county 
examiner of Franklin County. 

Mr. Chittenden enjoys the im- 
plicit confidence and esteem of pu- 
pils, citizens and trustees and dis- 
charges his professional and civic 
duties with enthusiasm and effi- 
ciency. He is a member of La- 
moille Lodge, No. 6, F. & A. M., of 
Fairfax, and of Champlain Chap- 
ter, R. A. M., of St. Albans. 

BAKERSFIELD. 

Population, Census of 1900, 1,158. 

The town originally consisted of 
10,000 acres of land granted by 
the state to Luke Knowlton, Feb- 
ruary 28, 1787, and known as 
Knowlton 's Gore. This grant was 
deeded to Joseph Baker, January 
24, 1791. At an adjourned ses- 
sion of the General Assembly it 
was voted that the grant be called 



Bakersfield, after Joseph Baker, 
the first settler. By subsequent 
acts of the General Assembly, sev- 
eral additions were made from the 
adjoining towns of Smithfield and 
Fairfield. A part of Knight's 
Gore was annexed ; also, 1799, a 
part of Coit's Gore on the south- 
east. It is not known at what time 
Joseph Baker came to town, but 
it was prior to his taking the deed 
from Knowlton. There were only 
three other families before 1794, 
when three more families came. 
From 1794 to 1800, settlers con- 
tinued to arrive, so that at the tak- 
ing of the first census of the town, 
in 1800, the population was 222. 

The following were among those 
active in town affairs who came be- 
fore 1800 : Joseph Baker, Stephen 
Maynard, Jonas Brigham, Jere- 
miah Pratt, Luke Potter, Jonathan 
Farnsworth, Joshua Barnes, Oliver 
Houghton, William Perkins, Jo- 
seph Barrett, Moses Start, 
Ephraim INlaynard, Uriah Brig- 
ham, Amos Cutler, Solomon Davis, 
Samuel Cochran and Aaron Smith. 

The town was organized and the 
first town meeting held, March 30, 
1795. This meeting was called at 
the dwelling house of Joseph Ba- 
ker, the warning being signed by 
Jonas Fisk, a justice of the peace 
of Cambridge. ]\Ieetings contin- 
ued to be held at the same place 
until a schoolhouse was erected, 
after which they were held there. 
The first town officers were : Town 
clerk, Stephen IMaynard ; select- 
men, Jonas Brigham, Joseph Ba- 
ker, Stephen INIaynard; constable, 
Amos Cutler. The only other busi- 
ness done at this meeting, besides 
electing officers, was to vote to keep 
the swine shut up from the 20th of 
May to the 20th of October. 

The first freeman's meeting was 



FRANKLIN COUNTY. 



207 



held September 6, 1796. Votes 
were cast at this meeting for 
Thomas Chittenden for g^overnor. 
Jonas Brio-ham was elected town 
representative to the General As- 
sembly to be held at Rntland. 

During the time the embargo law 
was in force there was considerable 
feeling against the law and the 
way it was enforced by Captain 
Samnel Cochran, the depnty col- 
lector. A resolution was reported 
by a committee, and adopted by 
vote of the town, denouncing his 
conduct. 

The action of the town in regard 
to the War of 1812- '15, will be 
seen in the following copy of the 
record of a town meeting, held 
September 12, 1812. Article 2 of 
the warning was "to take into con- 
sideration the exposed situation of 
the town on account of the present 
state of war with the inhabitants 
of the province of Canada, and to 
adopt such measures for the de- 
fense of the to\\ai as may be 
thought best calculated for the 
purpose aforesaid." After due 
consideration it was voted that ev- 
ery person who would provide him- 
self with a good firearm should be 
furnished Avith one-fourth pound 
of powder, balls and tlints propor- 
tionate, from the town stock, to be 
done by and under the direction of 
a Committee of Safety. 

Voted to have a Committee of 
Safety consisting of six persons. 
The following persons were chosen 
a committee : Colonel Hazeltine, 
Major Parker, Captain Wilkinson, 
Jeremiah Pratt, Captain Billings, 
Uriah Brigham. At a subsequent 
meeting it was voted to appropri- 
ate $50 to purchase powder, balls 
and flints, to complete the town 
stock, agreeable to the requisition 
of the law of the state, and more if 



thought expedient; also to direct 
the selectmen to procure a suitable 
chest, with lock and key, to contain 
the town stock of amm\inition. 

Bakersfield furnished 22 volun- 
teers for the War of 1812-'15, who 
were at the battle of Plattsburg, 
September 1, 1814. 

The town furnished for the War 
of the Eebellion 145 men, three of 
whom were commissioned officers, 
viz : Merritt Williams, captain ; 
John S. Tupper, first lieutenant 
and Charles M. Start, first lieu- 
tenant. 

Bakersfield never was much of a 
manufacturing town being defi- 
cient in Avater power. Making 
ashes for potash was one of the 
principal ways by which the early 
settlers got any money, and at an 
early day there were several of 
these potash factories. The first 
gristmill, built in 1794, was owned 
by Elisha Boyce. There was a 
starch factory on the opposite side 
of the stream, owned by Joel 
Houghton. These industries, to- 
gether with the tanneries, a fulling 
mill and several small sawmills, 
constituted the manufactures of 
the town. Education and agri- 
culture are the leading features at 
the present time. 

The first action taken by the 
town regarding schools was at town 
meeting, November 21, 1796. It 
was then voted to divide the town 
into two districts, known as the 
North and South districts. The 
first schoolhouse was built of logs, 
and was located north of the vil- 
lage. Foster Paige taught the 
first school. In 1840 an academy 
was established under the auspices 
of the Methodists, of which the 
noted teacher, Jacob Spaulding, 
was principal for 12 years. 

Later another academy was es- 



208 



SUCCESSFUL VEKMONTEKS. 



tablished. but from 1852 to 1878, 
the interests of education declined. 
In 1877, Peter Bent Brigham, a 
native of this town and a resident 
of Boston, died, and left by will 
$30,000 to be invested in a perma- 
nent fund, known as the Brigham 
school fund, the income to be ex- 
pended for educational purposes, 
as the town might direct. Subse- 
quent donations amounting to 
more than ten thousand dollars, 
were made by other members of 
this family for building purposes. 
IMarch 5, 1878, the town voted to 
establish and forever maintain one 
central or high school for ad- 
vanced pupils from this and other 
towns. The building was finished 
the following Avinter, and was dedi- 
cated with appropriate exercises, 
August 13, 1879, as Brigham Acad- 
emy. It has always maintained a 
high standing among the higher 
institutions of learning of the 
state. 

The Congregational church was 
formed July -4, 1811, with 11 mem- 
bers. The first settled pastor was 
Reverend Elderkin Boardman, in 
1822. There was a :Methodist 
class formed about 1806. Services 
Avere held in the North Academy 
Chapel until 1854. Avhen the pres- 
ent church was erected. The 
Catholics purchased the old ]\Ieth- 
odist chapel in 1867. 

THE Brigham Academy. The 
town of Bakersfield has for two 
thirds of a century enjoyed excep- 
tional educational advantages. 
For a time two academies, with 
more than three hundred students, 
were located here and students 
from distant states came to attend 
them. 

About the time of the Civil War 
these declined, but in 1877 Peter 
Bent Brigham bequeathed $30,000 



to the town to be used as an educa- 
tional fund. J\Irs. Sarah B. Ja- 
cobs, a sister of ]Mr. Brigham, and 
three nieces, Mrs. Hankinson, Mrs. 
Kendall and Mrs. Northrup, gave 
more than twelve thousand dollars 
for the erection of a building, 
which Avas dedicated August 14, 
1879. INIrs. Jacobs further aided 
the school by adding $100,000, 
making the total eudoAvment $140,- 
000 and by proA^ding seven schol- 
arships at the Uni\'ersity of Ver- 
mont for the sole use of the grad- 
uates of Brigham Academy. As 
provided for in the Avill. the ach'an- 
tages of the school are free to resi- 
dents of Bakersfield and the tuition 
so loAv as to make it practically a 
free school to everybody. 

There are three buildings con- 
nected Avith the academy. The 
main school building contains an 
assembly hall, a study hall, scA^en 
recitation rooms, a library, a gym- 
nasium and tAA'o large laboratories 
equipped for chemistry and phy- 
sics. The Brigham House is a 
large three-story building, Avhich is 
utilized as a hotel. The other 
house on the grounds is occupied 
by the janitor as a dwelling house. 
It is proposed, in the near future, 
to erect or purchase a principal's 
house. 

The grounds are large, compris- 
ing OA'er thirty-three acres, and are 
suitably arranged AA-ith trees, 
shrubbery and plants on the large 
front campus, and a six-acre cam- 
pus for the use of the A^arious ath- 
letic teams, football, baseball, track 
and tennis. A quarter-mile run- 
ning track surrounds the main part 
of the field. 

The business affairs of the school 
are controlled by a committee of 
three local tru-stees, the present 
board being D. E. Giddings, 0. G. 



FRANKLIN COUNTY. 



209 



Start and Doctor W. B. Hyde. 

The following' is a complete list 
of all the principals of Brigham 
Academy, with the latest informa- 
tion concerning each : 

Frank L. Irish, A. B., 1879- '80, 
deceased. 

Otis S. Johnson, 1880-'85, de- 
ceased. 



The average number of gradu- 
ates for the last decade has been 
23, and of these over forty per 
cent, have either gone to college, 
technical school or are engaged in 
the professions. A larger percent- 
age have engaged in teaching for 
varying lengths of time. 

Brigham Academy is in a very 




Bkigham Academy, Bakeiisfield. 



Frank E. Parlin, A. B., 1885- 
'90, superintendent of schools, 
Quincv, IMassachusetts. 

Charles H. IMorriU, A. B., 1890- 
1903, principal of Eandolph Nor- 
mal School. 

William S. Spencer, A. B., 1903- 
'04, agent for D. C. Heath & Co., 
Mexico. 

Alvan A. Kempton, A. B., 1904-, 
present principal of Brigham 
Academy. 

A— 15 



prosperous condition financially 
and completely equipped with the 
very best facilities for education. 

KEMPTON, Alvan A., present 
principal of Brigham Academy, is 
descended from sturdy, patriotic 
Vermont stock, being a descendant 
of Ira Allen. Still further back 
he is in the direct line of descent 
on his mother's side from John Al- 
den of Pilgrim fame and from 
Ephraim Kempton, who came over 



210 



SUCCESSFUL VERMONTERS. 



in the ''s'ood ship JoJni," the third 
ship to follow the Mayflower. 

Mr. Kempton was born in New- 
port, New Hampshire, September 
8, 1872, his parents being Elisha 
M. and Lonisa E. (Alden) Kemp- 
ton. His early education was in 
the villaa'e schools of his native 



sides taldnp- active part in other 
forms of athletics. He was one of 
the charter members of Gamma 
J)elta Chapter of the A. T. O. fra- 
ternity and represented the local 
chapter at its congress held in 
Washington, District of Colnmbia, 
in December, 1891. During his 




Alvan a. Kempton. 



town, supplemented by a course of 
study at Colby Academy, New Lon- 
don, New Hampshire, where he 
graduated in 1892. He entered 
Brown University in the fall, took 
part in athletics, won a medal in 
the high hurdles, w^as a member of 
the fencing and single stick squad 
in the gymnasium exhibitions, be- 



college course he specialized in 
German and history, taking two 
post-graduate courses in the former 
while a senior. 

Mr. Kempton graduated with the 
A. B. degree in 1896 and since that 
time has devoted nearly all his time 
to his chosen calling, teaching. He 
taught four years in Massachusetts 



FRANKLIN COUNTY, 



211 



and one in Rhode Island before 
coming to Vermont. He recently 
declined a very flattering offer to 
return to Warren, Rhode Island, 
where he was principal of the high 
school, the offer being the siiperin- 
tendeney. His services in that 
place were highly appreciated, as 
was evidenced by the handsome 
gold watch which the pupils and 
teachers of the high school pre- 
sented to him at the conclusion of 
his prineipalship there. 

He appears to be no less appre- 
ciated in his present field of labor, 
judging from the respect and con- 
tidence in which he is held by 
teachers, pupils and townspeople. 

START, Hon. Henry R., son of 
Simeon (iould and IMary Sophia 
(Barnes) Start, was born in Ba- 
kersfield, December 28, 1845. His 
grandfather. Captain Moses Start, 
came to this state prior to 1800, 
and was a prominent figure in 
town affairs. 

Simeon Gould Start was in early 
and middle life a substantial 
farmer of Bakersfield, but in 1865 
moved into the village, where he 
was called to the discharge of many 
public duties, notably as the prin- 
cipal trial justice of the place for 
more than a quarter of a century. 
He represented Bakersfield in 
1872, as a Republican, but was al- 
ways a man of independent 
thought and action. 

The children of Simeon G. and 
Maria S. (Barnes) Start, were: 
Rolla N. of Worcester, ]\Iassachu- 
setts; Ozro G., assistant judge of 
Franklin County Court, of Bakers- 
field; Charles M., chief justice of 
IMinnesota ; Lorenzo B. of Worces- 
ter, Massachusetts; Merritt L. of 
Bakersfield, Henry R. and Ella S., 
deceased. 

Henry R. Start completed his lit- 



erary education in Bakersfield and 
Barre academies. He was a mem- 
ber of Company A, Third Vermont 
Regiment. 

After returning from the war he 
chose the legal profession as his 
life work, read law in the office of 
M. B. Tyler, and was admitted to 
the bar in April, 1867. He imme- 
diately opened an office in Bakers- 
field, which he maintained until he 
was elected to the bench. He 
formed a partnership in law with 
A. P. Cross of St. Albans, the firm 
also having an office at the county 
seat, which resulted in an extensive 
practice. The trial of the cases 
largely devolved upon Mr. Start, 
who then developed the habit of 
logical analysis and sound judg- 
ment which he later displayed as a 
presiding judge. 

In 1876 he was elected state's at- 
torney for Franklin County, and 
in 1880 he was elected a senator 
from Franklin County and served 
on the judiciary committee, and 
as chairman of the joint standing 
committee on the reform school. 
From 1880 to 1888 he was one of 
the trustees of the Vermont Reform 
School. He was one of the presi- 
dential electoi's who, in 1888, cast 
the vote of Vermont for Harrison 
and INIorton. He was soon recog- 
nized as one of the leaders of his 
party in the county and state. 

Elected representative from Ba- 
kersfield in 1890, he was chosen 
speaker of the House of Represen- 
tatives, and during the session, 
without opposition, was elected 
fifth assistant judge of the Su- 
])reme Court. It would be super- 
fluous to speak in detail of the em- 
inent judicial services of Judge 
Start. It is the universal testi- 
mony of his contemporaries of the 
bench and l)ar, that his conduct v,-as 



212 



SUCCESSFUL VERMONTERS. 



impartial and considerate, and his Court and to preside at the 
decisions based upon correct appli- county courts assigned. Judge 
cation of the principles of law, Start was so genial and kmd- 




Henry R. Start. 



were almost, without exception, sus- 
tained by the full bench. During 
his 14 years of service he never 
failed to be present at the Supreme 



hearted, so true and sound, and 
honorable in every fibre of his per- 
sonality, that he won the respect 
and the esteem and the admiration 



FRANKLIN COUNTY. 



21S 



of all of his associates in every 
walk of life. lie had no personal 
enemies; all of his acquaintances 
were his friends. 

Mr. Start married, June 10, 
1869, Ellen S., daughter of Still- 
man S. and Sarah E. Houghton. 
Their children are: S. Gould, Guy 
H., Mabel S. and Burdette H. 
Start. Mrs. Start deceased July 
12, 1890. The death of Judge 
Start occurred November 7, 1905. 
At the recent annual meeting of the 
Vermont Bar Associations in Jan- 
uary, 1906, most approi)riate and 
touching tributes were offered by 
members of the bar to his eminent 
services and honoral)le character. 

BRIGIIAM, CoLONP^ii Herbert 
F., son of Josiah F. and Jane 
(Fay) Brigham, was l)orn at 
Bakersfield, July 13, 1852. 

Josiah Brigham was an exten- 
sive farmer and an intelligent and 
public spirited citizen, of life-long 
residence. For three terms he rep- 
resented his town in the state Leg- 
islature. His family consisted of 
six children : A. G. Brigham of 
Bakersfield, Roxana B. llamlinson 
and Jane F. Kendall of Boston, 
Massachusetts, Mrs. Frances F. 
Brigham of New York City, Her- 
bert F. and Mary F., wife of A. 0. 
Weeks of St. Albans. 

Herbert F. Brigham spent his 
early years in his native town, later 
attended New Hampton Institute 
at Fairfax, and entered the law 
school of the University of Michi- 
gan at Ann Arbor, from which he 
graduated in 1875. Soon after- 
wards he began the practice of law 
in the office of Judge Messic of San 
Francisco and Virginia City, Ne- 
vada. Two years later he returned 
to Bakersfield, where he has since 
remained in the active, conscien- 
tious and successful practice of his 



profession. He is a special master 
in chancery and in this capacity 
has acceptably acted as referee in 
many important cases. 

Besides his professional duties. 
Colonel Brigham has discharged 
with rare fidelity and success many 
important functions in the business 
affairs of his section. He is one of 
the incorporators and vice-presi- 
dent of the Enosburg Falls Savings 
Bank and Investment Company, 
and he is a director of the Lamoille 
County National Bank of Hyde 
Park and vice-president of the 
Union Mutual Fire Insurance Com- 
pany of Montpelier. He is the 
judicious and friendly counsellor 
in business, as well as in legal mat- 
ters, of many acquaintances and 
friends, whose implicit confidence 
he enjoys. His unfailing courtesy, 
good fellowship and helpfulness 
have w^on the cordial esteem of all, 
irrespective of creed or party. 

In politics a zealous Democrat, 
he has served his town in many 
important capacities, as selectman, 
town agent and trustee of the pub- 
lic money, and as representative in 
1882 and 1884. He has been the 
party's candidate for state's attor- 
ney, also for state senator. In 1894 
he was a delegate to the national 
convention which nominated Gro- 
ver Cleveland for president, and 
received an appointment in the con- 
sular service at Stanbridge, Que- 
bec. In 1896 he was the Demo- 
cratic candidate for United States 
senator and in 1886 the nominee 
for secretary of state of Vermont. 
In 1890 was nominated for gover- 
nor of Vermont and received the 
hearty support of his party, greatly 
reducing the usual Republican ma- 
jority. 

Governor Page emphasized his 
personal esteem by appointing Mr. 



214 



SUCCESSFUL VERMONTERS. 



Brigham chief of staff. The con- 
fidence in his ability, integrity and 
good judgment has been evinced by 
his recent appointment by Gover- 
nor Bell as one of the committee 
of three to investigate the public 
institutions of the state. The key- 
note of Colonel Brigham 's private 



his first American ancestor, who 
came to Massachusetts prior to 
1637, the date of his marriage to 
IMercy Ilurd. Uriah Brigham, 
grandfather of Albert G., came to 
Bakersfield in 1796, and settled in 
the northern part of the town. He 
married Elizabeth Fay, and they 




Herbert F. Brigham. 



and public career is conscientious 
fidelity and rare judgment in the 
discharg-e of every responsibility. 

BRIGHAM, Albert G., son of 
Josiah F. and Sylvina (Hall) 
Brigham, was born in Bakersfield, 
March 12, 1836. He is the seventh 
generation from Thomas Brigham, 



reared a family of nine children, 
viz.: Mary, Elizabeth, Uriah, Rob- 
ert, Breck, Josiah Fay, Benjamin 
G., Peter Bent and Sarah. 

Josiah Fay Brigham was a stal- 
wart farmer and extensive land- 
owner, a capable and energetic cit- 
izen and life-long resident of Ba- 



FHANKLIN COUNTY. 



215 



kersfield. By his marriao-e with 
Miss Hall were three children : Sa- 
rah Jane, Albert G. and Roxana. 
Mrs. Sarah Jane Kendall and Mrs. 
Roxana Hankinson, and their aunt, 
Mrs. Sarah Brigham Jacobs, con- 
tributed .$10,000 for the Brigham 
Academy building, which was en- 
dowed by Peter Bent Brigham. 

Josiah F. Brigham married for 
his second wife, Jane Fay, and 
their three children are : Mrs. 
Frances G. Brigham, Colonel Her- 
bert F., and Mary, wife of Arthur 
Weeks. 

Albert G. Brigham is a worthy 
representative of a stanch ances- 
try, a good type of the substantial 
Vermont farmer. His education 
was limited to the district schools. 
At the age of seventeen he went to 
Boston, but liked Vermont better, 
and returned two years later. In 
1855 he married Marietta Hough- 
ton of Bakersfield, and settled on 
a farm. Two children were born 
of this marriage : Charles W. of 
Ashtabula, Ohio, and Fred H., of 
Bakersfield. In 1869 he married 
Celina Larabee of Berkshire. 
Their son, G. Fay Brigham, born 
in 1874, a progressive young man, 
is associated with his father. Jen- 
nie C, the daughter, born in 1876, 
married Hervey A. Churchill of 
Bakersfield. Six years ago Albert 
G. Brigham and his family located 
on his present homestead of 350 
acres, one mile from the village. 
The farm was the long-time home 
of Cheney Brigham, the first male 
child born in town. In 1901 Mr. 
Brigham built his fine residence, 
that commands a lovely view of 
forest, village and farm. He has 
also erected a new barn and trebled 
the productions of the farm in a 
half dozen years. 

The farm contains a splendid re- 



source of wood and timber, includ- 
ing a fine forest of sugar maples. 

Mr. Brigham is a Democrat in 
politics. He has repeatedly served 
the town as selectman and in other 
capacities, and in 1901 was the 
popular nominee of his party for 
representative. 

HALL, Ambrose L., son of 
Alvin and Caroline (Smith) Hall, 
was born in Berkshire, August 7, 




Albekt G. Brigham. 

1840. He comes of sturdy New 
England stock. His great, great- 
grandfather. Captain John Hall, 
was mortally wounded at the battle 
of Hubbardton, and his grand- 
father. Reverend Perley Hall, was 
a Baptist clergyman. Alvin Hall 
was a life-long resident and farmer 
of Berkshire. He was the eldest 
son of a family of 15 children, by 
three wives, and from early boy- 
hood bore his part in the support 



216 



SUCCESSFUL VERMONTERS. 



of the family. His education was 
largely limited to winter terms at 
the district school. He was mar- 
ried in 1860 to Malvina N., daugh- 
ter of James and Harriett (Shat- 
tuck) Maynard of Bakersfield. 
After renting a farm a few years, 
they moved to Bakersfield in 1866, 
where they have since resided. 
During the past 33 years Mr. Hall 
has lived on his present homestead, 
the first farm north of the village. 
The farm of 150 acres is pleasantly 
and conveniently located, and 
shows evidences of thrift and good 
husbandry. It supports a dairy of 
20 cows, also 15 young cattle and 
the farm team. 

]\1j'. Hall's eldest son, Morton 
L., a young man of great promise, 
was born in 1863, fitted for college 
at INIethodist Episcopal Seminary, 
Montpelier; graduated from Wes- 
leyan University in 1888, and 
three years later from the Boston 
Theological school, and died in 
January, 1893. 

Harry J. Hall graduated from 
Brigham Academy in 1895, studied 
pharmacy, but his health failing, 
he relinquished that calling and 
is now a resident of Boston. 

jMr. Hall has been a leading and 
progressive citizen in all of the pub- 
lic movements of the town, and is 
a man of strong practical judg- 
ment. During his 40 years' resi- 
dence in town, he was lister for 17 
consecutive years, and has been se- 
lectman for even a larger number 
of years. When the donation for 
a building for Brigham Academy 
was under consideration, he went 
to Boston as a town selectman, and 
by his suggestion the donation was 
increased to $10,000, an adequate 
amount. He was influential in se- 
curing a harmonious agreement 
for the location and was the active 



member of the building committee. 
His colleagues in this important 
work were Hon. Henry R. Start 
and Colonel Herbert F. Brigham. 

In 1896 Mr. Hall, always a Dem- 
ocrat, was elected representative in 
the presidential year, in this 
strongly Eepublican town, by 40 
majority, a most emphatic tribute 
of public confidence. 

DOANE, Henry Martin, son of 
Benjamin, Jr., and Precinda 
(Lawrence) Doane, was born on 
the ancestral farm in Bakersfield, 
December 28, 1840. He was the 
second child of a family of five 
sons and five daughters, all of 
whom were born on that home- 
stead, which has been the family 
home for more than a century, and 
is now occupied by A. L. Doane, 
the youngest brother of Henry. 

Benjamin Doane, grandfather 
of the subject of this sketch, came 
to Bakersfield as one of the pio- 
neers, prior to 1800, and cleared 
that farm from the primeval wil- 
derness. He reared a large fam- 
ily and Benjamin, Jr., the youngest 
son, remained on the home farm 
his entire life, and died highly re- 
spected, at the age of eighty-three. 

Henry ]\I. Doane spent his mi- 
nority here and attended Bakers- 
field Academy. In 1861 he en- 
listed in the First Vermont Cav- 
alry, and after serving one year 
was discharged for physical disa- 
bility. 

After regaining his health, he re- 
enlisted in the Seventeenth Ver- 
mont, the last of the state regi- 
ments, which lost 45 per cent, of its 
members killed in action during 
its year of service, and was dis- 
charged with his regiment. He 
married in 1864, Lucretia Kellogg, 
and in 1866 engaged in farming 
for several years in the town of 



TRANKLLN COUNTY, 



217 



Enosburg:. Bereaved by the death 
of his wife and only daughter, he 
went to Boston and for a time was 
in trade. Later he engaged in the 
hotel business and dealt in real es- 
tate, and amassed a handsome com- 
petence. In 1892 ill health com- 
pelled a change, and he returned to 



town, especially in the line of horse 
breeding and development, and se- 
lected and bought as a suckling, 
Harrison Wilkes (2.II14), who 
was afterwards sold for $12,000 to 
go to Austria. He is now the 
owner of two very fine stallions, 
and his efforts have been efficient 




Henry M. Doane. 



his native town, where he has since 
resided. 

Mr. Doane has large real estate 
interests in this and adjoining 
tow^ns, and finds health and recre- 
ation in the care of a small, but 
productive dairy farm in this vil- 
lage. He has taken an active in- 
terest in the affairs of his native 



in the improvement of horse stock. 
His only son, Lee, died in Boston 
just before his return to his native 
town. Mr. Doane married for his 
second wife, Mary Parlee. Mr. 
Doane was the nominee of the Dem- 
ocratic party for town representa- 
tive, but was defeated by one vote. 
For the past dozen years he has 



218 



SUCCESSFUL VERMONTERS. 



been one of the trustees of the J. 
K. IMaynard town funds, and is 
recognized as a citizen of keen ob- 
servation, trained judgment and 
financial ability. 




W. D. Hyde, M. D., of Bakeusfield. 

FARNSWORTH, Oren C, son 
of Joseph B. and Sophia (Eaton) 
Farnsworth, was born in Bakers- 
field, March 29, 1841. His father 
was the second male child born in 
town His great-grandfather was 
Jonathan Farnsworth. and his ma- 
ternal grandfather, Jairus Eaton. 

He enlisted in Company B, 
First Vermont Cavalry, in Au- 
giist, 1862, and served until the 
war closed, participating in many 
battles and engagements, and in 
the raids of Stoneman and of Kil- 
patrick around Richmond, and 
General Wilson's raid to North 
Carolina; also Sheridan's two fa- 
mous raids. He has the sword of 
a Confederate captain whom he 
captured. 

For many years after the war, 



]\lr. Farnsworth was engaged in 
farming in Bakersfield. During 
the past 17 years he has resided in 
the village, where he keeps a hotel 
and 'boarding house, and runs a 
livery, and has been, and now is, a 
deputy sheriff. Mr. Farnsworth 
has traveled extensively in nearly 
all parts of the Union, and being a 
jovial and original character, has 
a wide personal acquaintance and 
has enjoyed a varied and interest- 
ing experience. 

He married, in 1890, Eda H., 
daughter of Harvey Coburn, a 
lady highly esteemed and a popu- 
hir hostess. 

CHURCHILL, Hervey A., is 
best known in this section as the 
enterprising jiroprietor of an im- 
portant industry, Sunset Cream- 
ery. 

Hervey A. Churchill, son of 
Parker and Paulina (Larned) 
Churchill, was born in Fairfax, 
September 11, 1871. His educa- 
tion was completed at Georgia 
High School and New Hampton 
Institute, Fairfax. At 11 years 
of age he began to work in a 
creamery during the summer and 
at the early age of 16 he became 
manager of a creamery in Fairfax. 
For 11 years he was continuously 
in the employ of Gardner ^Murphy, 
an extensive owner of creameries. 
In 1894 he was employed by the 
Franklin County Creamery, re- 
maining three years ; was subse- 
quently butter maker three years 
at Cambridge and one year at Col- 
chester. In the spring of 1901, he 
purchased the North Hero Cream- 
ery, which he sold the following 
September. 

In the fall of 1901 he erected his 
present plant, Sunset Creamery, 
one of the most thoroughly 
equipped and modern in the state. 



FRANKLIN COUNTY. 



219 



The separator has a capacity of two 
tons of milk per hour. He com- 
menced operation in March, 1902, 
and during" eight montlis made 
102 tons of butter. During the 
same months of the following year, 
with extended routes, he made 138 
tons of butter. Mr. Churchill then 
decided to cut off some of the more 
distant and unremunerative routes 
and with these reductions, the busi- 
ness remains about equal to that 
of the first year. Three teams are 
employed during the best of the 



and successful salesman. He is a 
member of the Vermont Dairy- 
men's Association. 

He married, in 1891, Katie Ran- 
kin of Georgia, who died in 1896, 
leaving one child, Gladys. In 
1900 he married Jennie, daughter 
of Albert G. and Celina (Larabee) 
Brigham. Their only child is 
Brigham Winston Churchill. 

SINNOTT, John E., son of Moses 
and Eleanor (Roach) Sinnott, was 
born in Sheldon, September 11, 
1836. His father, who followed 




Sunset Creameky, IIkkvey A. Ciiuiicuill, rKoi'KiEXOR. 



season in gathering the cream, 
which is weighed and sampled at 
each patron's door. Mr. Churchill 
sends patrons' locked test jars to 
the experiment station at his own 
expense. The creamery has from 
seventy-five to one hundred pa- 
trons. During the winter season 
the creamery force is partly em- 
ployed in cutting and storing ice 
and, wood. ]\Ir. Churchill took the 
first premium for butter, at Bur- 
lington, in 1897, and at Montpelier 
in 1898. He has a good record as 
a citizen, a skillful butter maker 



the avocations of shoemaker and 
farmer, came to Bakersfield in the 
spring of 1853, and died in 1854, 
leaving a widow and a family of 
eight children in limited circum- 
stances. John Sinnott, at 18 years 
of age, assumed the arduous duty 
of carrying on the farm and car- 
ing for the family, consisting of 
his mother, three younger sisters 
and a brother. His school advan- 
tages had been very meagre, mainly 
winter terms, but he secured aca- 
demic training for the younger 
members of the family, was to 



220 



SUCCESSFUL VEUMONTERS. 



them a father and elder brother, 
and gave them a comfortal)]e 
outtit. 

Endowed witli a strong phy- 
sique, resolute will and good prac- 
tical judgment, he worked his way 
steadily through and over the ob- 



selectman and school director, and 
in 189-4 was elected, as a Demo- 
crat, to represent Bakerstield in 
the Legislature. 

i\Ir. Sinnott has always been a 
man of independent views, and as 
a member of the lioard of select- 




JoHN E. Sinnott. 



stacles that beset his path, and 
achieved financial success. By his 
sterling qualities of mind and 
heart he won in a rare degree the 
esteem and confidence of his fel- 
low townsmen and was by them 
elected to many joositions of re- 
sponsibility. He served repeat- 
edly as constable, auditor, lister, 



men refused to sign the town bonds 
until the stipulated location of the 
railroad was assured. 

He married, in 1870, ^largaret 
Howrigan of Fletcher, who died 
in 1874, leaving two daughters : 
Eleanor, wife of J. A. Farrell of 
Jericho, and Mary (deceased), wife 
of James O'Neal. 



FlIANKLIN COUNTY, 



221 



John E. Sinnott is the only male 
representative of his family in Ba- 
kersfield. lie still owns his dairy 
farm of 350 acres, but since 1893, 
has rented it, and makes his home 
for the most part at Bakersfield 
village, with an occasional sojourn 
with his daughter, Mrs. Farrell, 
and three grandchildren at Jericho. 
A frank, genial and outspoken 
man, ]\Ir. Sinnott has a host of ac- 
quaintances and friends. 

MONTGOMERY. 

Population, Census of 1900, 1,876. 

The town of Montgomery is sit- 
uated in the northeastern part of 
Franklin County. By the origi- 
nal ciiarter the town contained 36 
square miles, but to this was added, 
in 1858, by legislative enactment, 
7,000 acres from the town of 
Lowell, in Orleans County, and 
from Avery's Gore, making its 
present extent 30,010 acres. 

The town was granted, March 
13, 1780, to Stephen R. Bradley, 
Reverend Ezra Stiles, Reverend 
John Graham, Reverend Daniel 
Ferrand, Reverend Ammi R. Rob- 
bins, Reverend Judah Champion, 
Reverend Abel Newel, Peter Starr, 
Reverend Hezekiah Gould, Rever- 
end Noble Everett, Reverend Jon- 
athan Edwards, Reverend Buckley 
Olcott, Reverend David Perry, 
Reverend Joseph Strong, Plis 
Excellency Thomas Chittenden, 
Pierpont Edwards, Ira Allen and 
43 others, together with five equal 
shares for public uses. 

One share was granted for the 
benefit of a college, one share for 
county grammar schools, one share 
for the first settled minister, one 
for the support of the ministry, 
and one full share for the support 
of an English school or schools in 



town. There were the usual con- 
ditions of an actual settlement and 
cultivation of five acres of land 
within three years, by the grantee 
or his representative, or, failing, a 
forfeiture of the grant. 

The town was chartered in Oc- 
tober, 1789. When surveyed, the 
town was divided into three divi- 
sions, first, second and third, and 
each proprietor was given a lot in 
each division, a total of 357 acres 
to each. 

The first permanent settler in 
the town was Captain Joshua 
Clapp, a worthy Revolutionary 
officer who, with his family, 
moved from Worcester County, 
IMassachnsetts, in the spring of 
1793. He took up a large tract on 
both sides of the Trout River and 
built a log house, where the first 
white child in town was born and 
the first town meeting held. 

In 1795, this pioneer was joined 
by Hon. Samuel Barnard, Reuben 
Clapp and James Upham, and 
soon after by Stephen and Jona- 
than Gates, Seth, John and Jack- 
ton Goodspeed, Jonah and Zebulon 
Thomas and others. 

The first town meeting, held at 
the house of Joshua Clapp, Au- 
gust 12, 1802, chose the following 
officers : Jonathan James, moder- 
ator; Samuel Barnard, town clerk; 
James Upham, Elijah Earned and 
Stephen Gates, selectmen ; Joshua 
Clapp, town treasurer; Trajan 
Richmond, James Upham, Jackton 
Goodspeed, listers; Trajan Rich- 
mond, constable. 

The warning for the annual 
town meeting for March 13, 1809, 
contained the following article : 

Sixth — To inquire for what pur- 
pose a military force is stationed 
among us in time of peace, and by 
what authority armed men are al- 




a 


_a 


:: 


o 


» 


10 


< 


<D 


a 


iJ 


s 


b 


t^ 




O 




rt 




> 


^ 


® 






3 


« 


o 


'to 


H 


s> 




H 


> 


>■ 


a 


o 


01 

Si 


^ 


^ 


si 



o ^ a 

^ ^ a 

o o o 



FRANKLIN COUNTY. 



223 



lowed to parade the streets in the 
night time, to break open our 
houses, barns, etc., without consent 
of the owners, and without legal 
warrant ? 

A spirited and able resolution of 
protest was reported by a commit- 
tee. 

At the town meeting held De- 
cember 6, 1811, the town "Voted, 
that the one per cent, school .tax 
may be paid in good merchantable 
wheat or Indian corn, at the mar- 
ket price, which shall be regulated 
by the selectmen in case of dis- 
pute." 

The town, subsequently to 1820, 
provided for an alteration of the 
Hazens Road, which was then the 
main thoroughfare of travel used 
by the people of northeastern Ver- 
mont in transporting their produce 
to Montreal. 

The past dozen years have wit- 
nessed great improvements in the 
villages of Montgomery and INIont- 
gomery Center, especially the lat- 
ter. Modern residences have been 
erected and many former ones 
have been painted and remodelled 
with verandas; front yard fences 
have been removed, the shade trees 
have grown, and the Center is to- 
day one of the prettiest of Ver- 
mont's rural villages. 

The butter tub interests are the 
most extensive in New England. 
Hall & Blair have recently estab- 
lished a veneer mill at JNIontgom- 
ery that will be an important in- 
dustrial factor. 

The school buildings are modern 
and well equipped and the schools, 
prosperous. 

HATJj, Charles Taylor, son of 
Samuel S. and Martha M. (Taylor) 
Hall, was born in ]\Iontreal, Quebec, 
February 23, 1862. He was edu- 
cated in the public schools of Wal- 



tham, Massachusetts, and the high 
school at IMontreal. His father, a 
former manufacturer of wooden 
wai'e, a skillful and inventive me- 
chanic and patentee of the machine 
now used for turning lasts, is still 
a hale and active man at the age 
of 76. 

In December, 1888, I\Ir. Hall 
came to IMontgomery Center and 
became the junior partner with 
Hon. Asa B. Nelson of Derby Line, 
in the ownership of the extensive 
spruce butter tub factory, formerly 
owned by W. II. Stiles '& Co. He 
has since been the manager of this 
great and prosperous enterprise 
and has devoted to it that rare com- 
bination of energy, inventive genius 
and business sagacity that, in spite 
of two disastrous hres and other 
dit^culties, has placed it in the front 
rank as the largest manufactory of 
spruce wood butter packages in the 
United States. The company owns 
8,000 acres of timber lands, cuts 
and manufactures 2,500.000 feet of 
lumber annually and sells more 
than a million and a half of butter 
tubs and packages. The tub staves 
are loaded upon cars which are run 
into a room, where they are com- 
pletely seasoned and kiln dried in 
48 hours, without handling until 
they reach the lathes, a device em- 
ployed only in this factory. More 
than one hundred men are em- 
ployed in and about the factory, 
mostly permanent residents. They 
are paid every Wednesday and the 
company has never had a strike. In 
November, 1901, the company was 
incorporated as the Nelson & Hall 
Co., with a capital stock of $100,- 
000, at a premium of 20 per cent. 
Charles Taylor Hall is president 
and business manager; Colonel 
Charles E. Nelson of Derby Line, 
son of the late Hon. Asa B. Nel- 



224 



SUCCESSFUL VERMONTERS. 



son, is vice-president and treas- 
urer and Pliny White Hall, 
lirother of Charles T., who has heen 
connected with the business for 
eight years, is superintendent. 
The company has furnished the 
two villao-es with a svsteni of elec- 



Ann (Fogg) Foss of Franklin. 
Their two children, Mildred J. and 
Charles INIaurice Hall, are, respect- 
ively, 13 and five years of age. 

PAEKER, Hon. Carlos S., son 
of Charles S. and Eliza (Towne) 
Parker (see page 87), was born in 




Charles Taylok Hall. 



trie lights and the Center with a 
sanitary water system. 

In politics a stanch Republican, 
Mr. Hall has never sought nor held 
public office. He is a member of 
Lafayette Connnandery of St. Al- 
bans and of Cairo jNIvstic Shrine. 

Charles T. Hall married, in 1886, 
Etta L., daughter of H. P. and 



Elmore, April 18, 1850. His 
father, Hon. Charles S. Parker, 
was a prosperous farmer and prom- 
inent citizen, many years a sheriff, 
and also an assistant judge of La- 
moille County. Carlos was the eld- 
est son of a family of two daugh- 
ters and three sons, of whom four 
are living: Candace married Rev- 



FRANKLIN COUNTY. 



225 



erend D. B. IMcKenzie of Jones- 
ville, New York ; Ellen is deceased ; 
Hon. Henry C. remained on the pa- 
ternal farm and Natt S. is a mer- 
chant at IMontgomery. 

Carlos S. Parker completed his 
edncation at People's Academy, 
INTorrisville, and at Montpelier Sem- 
inary. In 1872, at the age of 22, 
he came to IMontgomery and en- 
gaged in general merchandise, and 
later bought his present store, 
where he has since remained in 
trade, with the exception of one 
year, when he traveled abroad for 
his health. Possessing industry, 
thrift and good judgment, Mr. 
Parker has been successful finan- 
cially. He has taken a very influ- 
ential part in the business and pub- 
lic affairs of ]\Iontgomery, where 
he was for nearly twenty years 
postmaster, and he is now serving 
his third term as selectman. He 
was a member of the Legislature in 
1898, and in 1904 was a senator 
from Franklin County. 

C. S. Parker married Eliza, 
daughter of Samuel and Susan 
(Goodspeed) Head of Montgom- 
ery. Their home has been blessed 
with four children : Caleb C, de- 
ceased; Howard H., who is foreman 
and clerk at the store; Mabel E. 
and Richard M. Parker. 

PARKER, Natt S., youngest 
son of Charles S. and Eliza 
(Towne) Parker, was born at El- 
more, March 8, 1862. His educa- 
tion was completed at Goddard 
Seminary, Bai-re. In 1882 he com- 
menced clerking in his brother's 
store at Montgomery, and contin- 
ued until 1896, when he became a 
partner. In 1898 he was appointed 
postmaster at Montgomery, and 
has acceptably filled that position 
until the present time. 

Natt S. Parker is a genial and 

A— 16 



popular salesman, and this general 
store, with its varied and extensive 
stock, is the business headquarters 
of the village of Montgomery. 

Mr. Parker is actively interested 
in public and educational improve- 
ments, and has served several terms 
as school director. His recently 
erected village residence is a model 
in location, design and finish. 

JMr. Parker married, in 1889, 
Clara, daughter of L. P. and Car- 
rie (Janes) Martin of Montgomery. 
Their beautiful home is brightened 




Caklos S. Pakkeu. 

]\y the presence of four children : 
Dorothy E., a student at IMontpe- 
lier Seminary; Lucy C. P., Charles 
S. and Robert C. Parker. 

BROWN, Doctor Edmund 
TowLE, son of Josiah and Sarah 
E. (Towle) Brown, was born at 
Bridgewater, New Hampshire, 
July 18, 1871. Doctor Brown is 
descended from a long line of 
sound and patriotic ancestry. He 
is a member of the Vermont So- 
ciety of Sons of the American Rev- 
olution. His grandfather and 



226 



SUCCESSFUL VERMONTERS. 



namesake, Edmund Brown, Avas 
widely and favorably known all 
over New England as a scientific 
and skillful veterinary surgeon, 
and served in that capacity in the 
Civil War, although of advanced 
age. His father served in the 
Twenty-first New York Battery of 



studies at New Hampton Literary 
Institution. After studying one 
year with Doctor A. R. Garey of 
Ashland he entered the medical de- 
partment of the University of Ver- 
mont, from which he graduated in 
1897. He chose the thriving town 
of Montgomery as his field of ef- 




Edmund Towle Buow.v, M. D. 



Light Artillery, and was dis- 
charged at the close of the war. 

Edmund T. Brown from early 
boyhood has lived "the strenuous 
life, ' ' and his success has been won 
by personal effort. He attended 
the public and high schools of his 
native village, Ashland, New 
Hampshire, and continued his 



fort and settled here soon after his 
graduation. 

Of an active, sympathetic tem- 
perament and cordial and pleasing 
address, studious and diligent in 
his profession and public spirited 
as a citizen. Doctor Brown has 
made a host of friends and built 
up a large and lucrative practice. 



FRANKLIN COUNTY, 



227 



For several years Doctor Brown 
has lieen health officer of the town. 
He is a member of the Vermont 
State Medical Society, an ex-presi- 
dent of the Franklin County Soci- 
ety and a member of the Amer- 
ican Medical Association. Doctor 
Brown is eminently social and is a 
Knight Templar of I./afayette 
Commandery of St. Albans and a 
prominent member of the subor- 
dinate bodies of Free Masonry. He 
is also a member of Cairo Temple 
of the Mystic Shrine. He is ac- 
tively interested in the cause of 
education and has been chairman 
of the board of school directors. 

Doctor Brown married, Septem- 
ber 5, 1899, Mary, daughter of 
William Hardacre of Winooski. 
Their beautiful home on Main 
Street is enriched by a valuable 
medical and private library and 
cheered by the presence of a daugh- 
ter, IMildred Brown, born April 28, 
1902. 

MARCY, Homer Hopkins, son 
of Horace and Emma L. (Hopkins) 
Marcy, was l)orn in Montgomery, 
September 4, 1865. Russell Marcy, 
his grandfather, was born in 1800, 
came to Montgomery at 17 years of 
age, married Nancy Fairbanks and 
settled on East Hill, where he 
cleared a farm and reared a family 
of six sons and one daughter. 
Three of the sons, Henry, Horace 
and David, and the daughter, El- 
len (Mrs. Edwin Tarbel), settled in 
this town as farmers. Heman Hop- 
kins, maternal grandfather of Ho- 
mer H. Marcy, was a leading 
farmer and highly esteemed citizen 
of Montgomery. 

Horace ]\Iarcy was born in 1832 
and in 1864 purchased an 80-acre 
farm in the south part of the town, 
which he increased by subsequent 
purchases until it contained 500 



acres, including a large tract of 
valuable timber land. In 1864 the 
farm supported three cows and a 
pair of steers. It is now one of the 
best farms in town and supports 
50 head of cattle, including a dairy 
of 40 cows and the farm team. The 
maple sugar industry is represented 
by a sugar place of 2,200 trees, the 
largest in town, well equipped with 
a Leader evaporator. 

The product is rendered into 
standard maple syrup, which is put 
up in gallon cans and largely 
sold to special customers. Horace 
Marcy retired from his f-arm in 
1896 and erected a residence in 
IMontgomery Center, where he re- 
sided until his death iji 1902, at the 
age of 68, a most exemplary and 
worthy citizen. He is survived by 
his widow and thi'ee sons. Guy F. 
]\Iarcy is the well-known creamery 
proprietor of East Berkshire and 
Benjamin D. is his foreman in the 
creamery and grocery business at 
Richford. 

Homer II. IMarcy, the eldest son, 
remained as his father's assistant 
on the paternal farm, which he 
purchased in 1902 and where he 
still resides. He married, in 1887, 
Hattie E., daughter of Albert and 
Lucinda Barnes of Montgomery. 
Homer H. Marcy is an energetic 
and progressive farmer, a worthy 
representative of an early and hon- 
ored family and is highly esteemed 
as a man and citizen. 

WRIGHT, William J., son of 
George W. and Mary J. (Williams) 
Wright, was born at IMontgomery, 
January 14, 1874. His grand- 
father, Joseph Wright, a miller at 
Enosburg, furnished flour for the 
Plattsburg volunteers in the War 
of 1812. 

George W. Wright, at twenty 
years of age, came to IMontgomery 



228 



SUCCESSFUL VERMONTERS. 



nearly sixty years ago, settled on 
East Hill and carved out a farm 
from the primeval wilderness. 
Here lie reared his two sons, Will- 
iam and Eugene, and remained un- 
til 1890, when he removed to J\Iont- 
gomery Center. 

The father of Mary (Williams) 



three years in the general store of 
Ezra T. Seaver of North Troy. 
In September, 1897, he opened his 
grocery and general store at Mont- 
gomery Center, Avhere he keeps a 
well-selected stock adapted to the 
needs of the eomnuinity. Mr. 
Wright is a good type of the rising 




William J. Wright. 



Wright, came from Wales and as 
a lad of twelve years Avorked his 
way from Philadelphia to Ohio. 

William J. Wright attended 
Brigham Academy and later Ver- 
mont Academy at Saxtons River. 
After clerking two years in his na- 
tive village^ he was employed 



young business man of Vermont. 
Possessing agreeable manners and 
an accommodating disposition, he 
is highly esteemed and is a hustling 
and successful salesman. He han- 
dles flour, feed and phosphate and 
at the East Berkshire depot has a 
building for storing agriciiltui'al 



FRANKLIN COUNTY. 



229 



implements and machinery, his 
leader being the Walter A. Wood 
machines. In politics, an active 
Eepublican, he was appointed post- 
master in 1897, and the next year 
was elected town treasurer, still 
holding- both positions, the latter 
by unanimous elections. Broad 
gauge in his social affinities, he is 
an esteemed member of Masonic 
Union Lodge, No. 16, of North 
Troy and a R. A. M. of Lafayette 
Chapter, No. 4, of Enosburg. He 
is also a member of Enosburg 
Lodge, No. 63, I. 0. 0. F., and of 
Camp Green Mountain, I. O. F., 
in which body he has passed all of 
the chairs. 

MARTIN, Charles L., was born 
in Montgomery, February 18, 
1861 ; educated in the common 




Chakles L. Maktin. 

schools, St. Johnsbury Academy, 
and graduated from Eastman's 
Business College, February 18, 
1880. He has been superintendent 
of schools six years, selectman three 



years, school director four years, 
justice of the peace two years and 
has been town clerk for six years. 
In 1902 and again in 1904 he rep- 
resented ]\Iontgomery in the Gen- 
eral Assembly. In politics Mr, 
Martin is a sturdy Republican. 




The Maktin House, Guy N. Rowley, 
Proprietor. 

ROWLEY, Horace O., son of 
A. A. and Minerva (Castle) Row- 
ley, was born in Bakersfield, April 
29, 1847. His early life was 
passed upon his father's farm at 
West Enosburg. After two years' 
experience in the West, he returned 
to Vermont and 30 years ago pur- 
chased the hotel at Montgomery 
Center of C. C. Martin. During 
his long experience as the village 
landlord, Mr. Rowley has formed a 
wide and interesting acquaintance 
with the business and public men 
of northern Vermont. An active, 
public-spirited man, of excellent 
common sense, he has served the 
town in various capacities; was 
constable 12 years and is now one 
of the selectmen. The Martin House 
under his management has become 
a popular social and business cen- 
ter, and is one of the local land- 
marks of the village. 

The Martin House is headquar- 
ters in this section for fishermen, as 
the "spotted beauties" are stiU 



230 



SUCCESSFUL YERMONTERS. 



abundant in the Tront Eiver and 
its monntain brooks. For 15 years 
Mr. Rowley ran the stage line to 
East Berkshire, and he has always 
conducted a livery stalile and a 
small farm in connection with the 
hotel. The house is provided with 
electric lights and is tidy and home- 
like. 

H. 0. Rowley married Margaret 
Parker, and three children have 
been born to them: Guy N., Grace 
A., Mrs. L. C. Bent of Dorchester, 
IMassachusetts, and Pauline jNIarga- 
ret, six years of age. 

Guy X. Rowley was born, Sep- 
tember 18, 1877. His education was 
completed at St. Johnsbury Acad- 
emy and Gushing Academy, Ash- 
burnham, ]\[assaehusetts. He went 
to Philadelphia and was engaged in 
the installation of electric plants 
one year, when he was called home 
by his father's illness. He has 
conducted the Martin House dur- 
ing the past year. Guy N. Rowley 
married in April, 1905, Belle, 
daughter of Charles L. Martin, at 
present town clerk and representa- 
tive of ]\Iontgomery. 

C A:\IPB ELL, Fred R., son of 
Lovell R. and Emma J. (Rowley) 
Campbell, was born in Montgom- 
ery, May 27, 1877. During his 
youth and boyhood he shared the 
labors and recreations of the farm 
and attended the district schools. 
He completed his schooling at 
Brigham Academy, Bakersfield, 
from Vhieh he graduated in 1897. 

Choosing the legal profession as 
the field of his future efforts, he 
entered the office of Kelton & INIau- 
rice and continued his studies until 
he was admitted to the bar in 1902. 
During the period of his legal 
study he successfully taught a 
dozen terms of school, including 



several terms as principal of the 
schools at Montgomery Center. He 
opened an office at that village in 
November, 1902, and has continued 
in practice until the present time, 
with an increasing clientage. 

In the spring of 1903 he was 
appointed assistant town clerk and 
still occupies that position. He 
was elected a school director and 
served as superintendent the same 
year and is now serving his second 
term as school director. He has 




Fhed R. Campbell. 

taken an active part in local af- 
fairs, especially in the improve- 
ment of the schools and school 
buildings and equipments, which 
are now in excellent condition. 
For three years he was chairman 
of the board of listers of his native 
town. 

Mr. Campbell married, in Au- 
gust, 1903, Annie O. Keefe of St. 
Johnsbury, a former teacher of this 
village. 



FRANKLIN COUNTY, 



231 



SHELDON. 

Population, Census of 1900, 1,341. 

The town of KSheldoii wa.s oranted 
by Governor Benniny' Wentworth 
to Samuel Hnngerford and 64 
others, August 18, 1763. The town 
was originally called Hungerford, 
but on November 8, 1792, it was 
changed to Sheldon. 

In 1782 Major Sam Sheldon first 
visited the town. There were three 
of the Sheldons, Major Sam, 
George and Elislia, Jr., all sons of 
Colonel EHsha. Early in 1790 
George Sheklon and two others 



dred men were employed at one 
time. The year 1803 saw the erec- 
tion of a carding mill and the 
establishing of a post office, Doc- 
tor Ilildreth, the first physician to 
locate in the town, being appointed 
postmaster. The first freemen's 
2neeting was held in 1793 at the 
house of Jedediah Tuttle and 
IMajor Samuel B. Sheldon was cho- 
sen to represent the town ; he was 
also the first town clerk. 

Being near the frontier, Sheldon 
has borne a conspicuous part in all 
the various wars and raids since 
the pioneer days, furnishing a 




Looking Down the Missistiuoi River fkom Sheldon. 



came with several negro servants 
and formed the first settlement of 
the town. 

The organization of the town 
took place in 1791, at the house of 
Elisha Sheldon, Jr., and Colonel 
Elisha Sheldon. Elisha Sheldon 
and James Ilawley are recorded as 
selectmen. During the next dec- 
ade the population rapidly in- 
creased. 

In 1792 Major Sheldon built the 
first sawmill in town. In 1797 a 
gristmill was built and in 1799 
Israel Keith built a furnace and 
forge, in which as many as a hun- 



goodly number of her brave sons 
whenever the nation has been 
threatened by enemies from within 
or without our borders. 

Hemenway 's ' ' Gazetteer, ' ' Vol. 
II, page 374, says: "The only ad- 
vance made upon Sheldon during 
the Rebellion was November 19, 
1864 (the Saint Alban's Raid, so 
called). On that day about a 
score of 'Rebel Raiders,' or 'rob- 
bers,' led by Captain Young, ren- 
dezvoused at Saint Albans, having 
their 'base' in Canada, but no very 
distinct lines of 'retreat.' After 
robbing the banks and shooting 



OQO 



SUCCESSFUL YERMONTEKS. 



some of the unarmed inhabitants, 
they passed through Sheldon on 
their return to Canada. Being 
closely pursued by Captain Con- 
ger's party, they set fire to the 
bridge that spans Black Creek at 
Sheldon, but the inhabitants extin- 
guished the fire before it had done 



of Eiiosburg. Here they crossed 
the river to Enosburg Falls and 
rode rapidly towards Canada." 

BROWN, Doctor Edwin I\Ier- 
RiMAN, was born in Sheldon, De- 
cember 5, 1855, a son of Doctor 
Amasa M. and Abby (Keith) 
Brown. He received his early ed- 




EuwiN M. Br.owN, M. D. 



any damage. The raiders at- 
tempted to enter the INIissisquoi 
Bank, but fortunately it was 
closed. Having appropriated to 
themselves horses and whatever 
they could find that they wished, 
they hurried on, passing along the 
road on the south side of the Mis- 
sisquoi until they entered the town 



ucation in the public schools of 
his native town, graduated from 
the Burr and Burton Seminary of 
JNIanchester in 1875, and from the 
medical department of the Uni- 
versity of Vermont in the class of 
1879." He located at East Berk- 
shire and remained until 1881, 
when he removed to Sheldon, where 



FRANKLIN COUNTY. 



233 



he has continued to the present 
time, enjoying an unusual and 
marked degree of success. 

October 6, 1881, Doctor Brown 
married Fannie L. Comings of 
East Berkshire. Four children 
have been born to them: Fred C, 
born May 9, 1881; Abby Mary, 
born November 7, 1886; Elizabeth, 
born June 29, 1889, and Ruth H., 
born April 19, 1901. 

In 1885 Doctor Brown succeeded 
his father as town clerk of Shel- 
don, the father having held the of- 
fice for more than forty years ; thus 
this most important town office has 
been held by father and son con- 
tinuously for more than sixty- 
three years. Doctor Brown has 
also served as superintendent of 
schools, library trustee, health offi- 
cer and in 1890 represented Shel- 
don in the General Assembly, serv- 
ing on the committees on education 
and insane; and in 1891 he was 
chosen as a senator from Franklin 
County, served as chairman of the 
Senate committee on claims, and 
was a member of the committee on 
state's prison and the joint com- 
mittee on pu):)lic health; was also 
a delegate to the national Repub- 
lican convention in 1900. 

Doctor Brown is a member of the 
county, state and national medi- 
cal associations, a member of the 
United States pension examiners' 
board for Franklin County, a di- 
rector of the St. Albans hospital 
and a member of the consulting 
staff. He is also a director of the 
Enosburg Savings Bank and Trust 
Company. 

Doctor Amasa M. Brown, father 
of the subject of this sketch, was 
one of the most successful men of 
his day; born in Essex in 1812, edu- 
cated in the log schoolhouse of that 
day, graduated from Dartmouth in 



1839 ; located at Sheldon the fol- 
lowing year, and for 45 years was 
a most successful physician and a 
highly esteemed citizen, whose life, 
character and work have left a 
deep impress on the community 
which he served so long and well. 
He married Abby Keith of Shel- 
don, a descendant of the old Keith 
family, who were among the first 
settlers of Sheldon. 

Dr. Amasa M. Brown was elected 
town clerk in 1843, represented 
Sheldon in the General Assemblj^ 
in 1854 and again in 1855, and at 
various times served as selectman 
and lister, and was one of the 
strong men of his day in Franklin 
County. He died June 5, 1885. 

NORTHROP, U. Brigham. Few 
names in Franklin County are 
more familiar or stand for more in 
the lines of progress, education and 
good citizenship than the family 
names of Brigham and Northrop. 
In the case of the subject of this 
sketch these two very substantial 
names are united. 

U. Brigham Northrop was born 
in Fairfield, August 1, 1865, a 
son of Jonathan and Deborah F. 
(Mitchell) Northrop. He was ed- 
ucated in the district schools of 
Sheldon and at Goddard Seminary 
at Barre. In 1890 he bought his 
present gristmill at Sheldon. The 
first five years it was conducted un- 
der a partnership, but since 1895 
I\Ir. Northrop has been sole propri- 
etor. 

U. Brigham Northrop is a man 
of unusual taste and intelligence, 
with a broad, tolerant, liberal and 
investigative mind, which accords 
to all the greatest freedom of 
thought and belief, ever ready to 
doff his hat in the presence of a ver- 
ified fact. He possesses one of the 
finest private libraries in Franklin 




|i^ 9 « 



< 




> 


<o 


M 


o 






H 


cS 






63 


a 


W 


B 



FRANKLIN COUNTY. 



235 



County, containing hundreds of 
rare and almost priceless volumes, 
gathered from nearly every coun- 
try on earth. A deep and careful 
student of historical and current 
events, and possessed of a sound 
and logical mind, gives to Mr. 
Northrop a rare and delightful so- 
cial side. He is a deep lover of 



communing with nature, the true 
god of the universe. 

STEBBINS, George E., a son 
of Ralph S. and Lucy (Chamber- 
lain) Stebbins, was born in Can- 
ada, July 23, 1848. When an in- 
fant of six months he came to 
Enosburg to live, and in 1852, on 
the death of his mother, he went to 




Geokge E. Steubins. 



nature and true art, and to his 
taste and refinement along these 
lines, is due the production of some 
of the most charming scenes along 
the famed Missisquoi Valley, two 
of which are reproduced herewith. 
He has never sought or accepted 
public office, preferring rather the 
company of good books and the 



live with Oscar Fish. He received 
his education in the district schools 
of Franklin and at the Franklin 
Academy. In December, 1866, he 
left school and located in the east 
part of the town of Sheldon and 
has always followed farming until 
1900, when he rented his farm and 
moved to Sheldon village, where 



236 



SUCCESSFUL VERMONTERS. 



he engaged in selling farm machin- 
ery, and entered the fire insnrance 
business as agent for the Vermont 
Mutual. Since Mr. Stebbins took 
hold of the business of the Mutual 
he has increased their collections 
from $900 to $1,500 per year. 

September 6, 1871, Mr. Stebbins 
married Charlotte Hurlbnrt of 



Enosburg and to them was born 
one son, Carroll S. Homer H. 
died in July, 1902. 

Mr. Stebbins has been frequently 
called to public place by his towns- 
men ; he served six years as lister ; 
selectman, nine years, seven of 
which as the first; many years as a 
justice of the peace and five years 




Robert McLeod. 



Sheldon. Five children have come 
to bless their union : Oscar F. 
born October 21, 1872; Homer H., 
born June 6, 1875 ; Edith M., born 
August 24, 1878; George O., born 
November 27, 1880; Erwin W., 
born February 15, 1886. Oscar F. 
died when two years of age; Ho- 
mer H. married Maud Martin of 



as trial justice. In 1888 he repre- 
sented Sheldon in the General As- 
sembly of Vermont, serving on the 
committee on highways, bridges 
and ferries. In 1892 he was se- 
lected as assistant doorkeeper of 
the House of Representatives and 
in 1894 as doorkeeper. 



FRANKLIN COUNTY. 



237 



McLEOD, Robert. Among the 
many stronp; men of Franklin 
County, who by pluck, energy and 
their own effort, have carved suc- 
cess out of our hills, is Robert Mc- 
Leod of Sheldon, born in Ireland, 
April 20, 1840, receiving his early 
education in the First National 
School, Limavady, Ireland, and 
coming to America in 1857 to seek 
a field of endeavor in our great 
country of opportunity. He lo- 
cated in Sheldon and remained for 
three years, when he decided to re- 
turn to his old home across the wa- 
ter. For seven years he stayed in 
the land of his nativity, when a 
restless desire possessed him to 
again journey to the green hills of 
Vermont. Coming direct to Shel- 
don, he farmed for the summer, but 
in the fall he located in St. Albans 
and followed painting for a year, 
and then re-located at Sheldon and 
did job painting, having a good 
contract with the Central Vermont 
Railroad. He resided several 
years in Frauklin, and while a res- 
ident of that town, served as school 
director and road commissioner. 

September 8, 1869, Mr. McLeod 
was united in marriage to Maggie 
A. Ferguson, a lady of rare worth, 
and to them were born two chil- 
dren : William Proctor and Marga- 
ret F. Mrs. McLeod died Decem- 
ber 23, 1877. January 1, 1881, Mr. 
McLeod married for his second 
wife, Mary II. Prouty. To this 
union four children were born : 
James R., George E., Minnie H. 
and Norman H. Mrs. McLeod 
died November 27, 1890, and May 
22, 1892, Mr. McLeod took for his 
third wife, Georgie E. Thompson, 
and to this happy union one child 
has been born : Clarence T., born 
August 19, 1895. 

In 1900 Mr. McLeod was chosen 



to represent Sheldon in the Gen- 
eral Assembly of Vermont. He 
has served his town as selectman, 
auditor, justice, moderator and 
lister. In June, 1906, he was 
nominated by acclamation in 
Franklin County Republican con- 
vention for second assistant county 
judge and was elected at the Free- 
men's meeting, September 4. 

In many ways Mr. McLeod has 
been a man of unusual success. 




Weston C. Marsh. 

Possessed of a sound body and 
clear head, he has by economy and 
strict attention to his own affairs, 
coupled with an unquestioned in- 
tegrity, won a high place in the es- 
teem of his fellow-townsmen and a 
considerable property. 

MARSH, Weston C, a leading 
merchant of Sheldon, was born in 
Sheldon April 19, 1866. He re- 
ceived his education in the public 
schools of his native town, was a 
school director from 1898 to 1901. 
In 1902 he represented Sheldon in 
the General Assembly of Vermont. 



238 



SUCCESSFUL VERMONTEKS. 



SHEPLEY, Joseph T., a lead- 
ing manufacturer of Franklin 
County, was born in Groton, ]\Ia.s- 
sachusetts, ]March 29, 18-46. He 
erected a pulp mill at Sheldon 




JOSEI'H T. .SlIEPLEY. 

Springs and developed 3.500 horse 
power on the Missis(juoi Eiver. In 
190-i he was elected to represent 
Sheldon in the General Assembly. 

FAIRFIELD. 

Population, Census of 1900, 1,830. 

Governor Benning Wentworth 
granted the three towns. Fairfield. 
Smithfield and Ilungerford, Au- 
gust 18. 1763. to Samuel Hunger- 
ford of New Fairfield. Connecticut. 
and his associates. The first meet- 
ing of the grantees was held at the 
house of Gershom Bradley, Fair- 
field, Connecticut. February 16, 
1774. At a meeting held the fol- 
lowing day, it was "Voted, to pro- 
ceed to survey and lay out the 
township. ' ' 

The tirst meeting of the propri- 
etors, held in Vermont, was at 
Pawlet, in September, 1783, when 



it was voted to lay out one divi- 
sion of land containing 160 acres, 
and a second division of 100 acres, 
to each proprietor. In April, 
1789, the proprietors, then meet- 
ing in Fairfield, made arrange- 
ments for laying out roads. In 
September of the same year there 
was a third division of 50 acres, 
a fourth division of 140 acres 
and a fifth division of four-acre 
lots in the cedar swamp, made to 
each proprietor. The small swamp 
lots were valuable for the cedar 
for fencing purposes. 

The first permanent settler was 
Joseph AVheeler, who came to Fair- 
field in ^larch. 1787. Soon after- 
wards John Sunderland, John 
]\Iitchell, James Hawley, William 
Beaden and Gabriel Sherwood, 
came in from Huntington, Con- 
necticut : Xathan and David Hoit 
and Ebenezer Lobdell came from 
Bridgefield. John Leach and Sam- 
uel Roberts, from New Fairfield, 
Connecticut ; Edmund Town and 
Joel Barber from Simsl)ury. Levi 
Wakeman from Xorwalk and Lu- 
cius Hull from New ^Milford. In 
1789. Hubbard Barlow. Andrew 
Bradley and Clark Burlingame 
came from New Fairfield, Con- 
necticut, and Jabez Burr came from 
Reading, Connecticut. In 1790 
Dimon Barlow, Samuel Gilbert, 
Samuel Hollister and Jehiel Smith, 
located here. 

Joseph Soule, the progenitor of a 
numerous family, came from Do- 
ver, New York, in 1791. His sons 
were Timothy, Isaac N., Salmon, 
Joseph, Hiram and Harry. 

March 13, 1791. Hubbard Bar- 
low, justice of the peace, issued a 
notice for a town meeting, which 
was held ]\Iarch 30, 1791, and town 
officers were elected, as follows: 
Joseph "Wheeler, moderator; Ed- 







< o 



240 



SUCCESSFUL VERMONT KHS. 



nmnd Town, town clerk; Edmund 
Town, Thomas Northrop and 
Ralph Gregory^ selectmen ; Levi 
Wakeman, first constable ; Joseph 
Wheeler, town treasurer; Salmon 
Wheeler, Abraham Northrop and 
David Hoit, listers; Nathan Lob- 
dell, collector; Joseph Soule, 
leather sealer; Nathaniel Beards- 
ley, grand juror; Pliilo Gregory, 
tithesman. 

The following weighty measure 
was enacted : ' ' Voted, that swine, 
being properly yoked and ringed, 
may run at large." 

Fairfield, as originally char- 
tered, contained 23,040 acres, but 
in 1792 the greater part of Smith- 
field was annexed by act of the 
Legislature. 

The first child born in Fairfield 
was Polly Hoit, born July 14, 

1788, daughter of David 'Hoit. 
Smithfield Beaden, born August 1, 

1789, in the then town of Smith- 
field, Avas the first male child, and 
received a land grant of 100 acres. 

The following is a suggestive in- 
cident of the times: Jabez Burr 
came to Fairfield, bringing his 
family, to the house of Mr. Hoit. 
The next morning the men started 
to locate Burr's lot, some three 
or four miles from Hoit's cabin. 
The lot was found, and the pio- 
neers proceeded to erect a cabin 
12 feet square, built of split bass- 
wood logs, notched at the ends, and 
about seven feet high to the roof, 
which was constructed by using 
poles covered with thin strips of 
basswood bark, stripped from the 
logs. The door was closed by hang- 
ing up a l)lanket and the windows 
Avere small holes later to be covered 
with greased paper. The house 
was completed that day, and the 
next day the Burr family moved 
in. 



Many and severe were the pri- 
vations and hardships cheerfully 
endured by the early pioneers of 
Fairfield. Their corn was pounded 
in a wooden mortar roughly fash- 
ioned from a log. Later it was 
carried on horseback to the lake, 
boated across to Plattsburg, there 
ground and brought back, a trip 
of several days. The erection of a 
gristmill at Fairfax was a great 
convenience to the settlers. 

Gradually the forests melted 
away before the woodman's axe, 
and gave place to cultivated fields; 
sawmills were erected along the 
streams, frame houses took the 
place of the log cabins, and the 
manufacture of potash, sugar, 
starch and leather, employed labor 
and furnished cash to pay for the 
frugal wants of the settlers. New 
roads, in addition to those already 
laid out by the proprietors, re- 
ceived the attention of the citi- 
zens, and the division of the town 
into school districts in 1795, pre- 
pared the way for the establish- 
ment of schools. Farming was the 
principal industry, but small local 
manufactures were soon estab- 
lished. Salmon Soule was an ex- 
pert blacksmith, Joseph Soule was 
a carpenter, a manufacturer of 
starch and potash, and a distiller 
of liquor. Nathan Gil])ert built 
a gristmill on Fairfield River in 
1798. Rensselaer Read Imilt the 
first tannery in town about 1810, 
and conducted it many years. 
About 1818 Jesse Bush engaged in 
cloth dressing and in the manufac- 
ture of lumber. 

In 1795 the town was divided 
into 10 school districts by a com- 
mittee, and a trustee appointed for 
each district. The first district 
school taught in town was by 
Joshua Miller, in 1797. 



FRANKLIN COUNTY. 



241 



The Congregational Church of 
Fairfield Center was organized 
September 22, 1800, by Reverend 
Nathaniel Turner, a missionary 
from ]\Iassachusetts. Reverend 
Benjamin Wooster was installed 
pastor in 1805, and faithfully la- 
bored until his death in 1810, and 
during that time 125 members were 
added to the church. The society 
had no meeting house until 1810, 



until the present. The parish con- 
tains nearly one thousand people. 

The new church was built in 
1872 by Reverend M. McAuley, at 
a cost of about $25,000. This fine 
building and the parsonage were 
burned in 1905. 

Trinity Episcopal Church was 
organized by Reverend Russell 
Catlin, in 1803. Barzillai Buckley 
was the first rector of the parish, 




Pkes. Aktuuk's Biutuplace. Hon. Kobt. T. Lincoln. Hon. W. E. Chandler. 

Arthur Marker, Fairfield. 
Arthur's Tomh, Albany, N". Y. Governor McCollough. Governor Stickney. 



when a neat brick building was 
erected. The first Sabbath school 
was organized in 1818. There has 
been preaching occasionally during 
the past few years, but the society 
has been greatly weakened by 
deaths and removals. 

St. Patrick's Catholic first church 
edifice was built in 1847, under the 
direction of Reverend G. A. Ham- 
ilton. A resident priest has offi- 
ciated most of the time since then 

A-17 



closing his labors in 1803. The 
present Episcopal Church was 
erected in 1864. 

There was also a Baptist Church 
at North Fairfield, where for a few 
years subsequent to 1829, Rev- 
erend William Arthur preached, 
and during his pastorate his son, 
President Chester A. Arthur, was 
l)orn, and was named for Chester 
Abel, then a prominent physician 
of Fairfield. 



242 



SUCCESSFUL VERMONTERS. 



During the War of 1812, Cap- 
tain Wooster, the fighting' parson, 
led a company of men to Platts- 
burg, September 11, 1814. Gov- 
ernor Tompkins of New York pre- 
sented Captain Wooster with an 
elegant Bible as a token of appre- 
ciation of his gallant services. 



Fairfield has long been known 
as the^nursery of athletes, and has 
raised several noted wrestlers. 

Fairfield Center is very pleas- 
antly located near the center of 
the town, on the Fairfield River. 
Here are located the churches, 
Congregational and Episcopal, a 




Chester Alan Arthuk, 
Twenty-flrst President ot the United States. 



Captain George Kimball com- 
manded a guard of 55 volunteers, 
who were stationed at Swanton in 
1813, for the protection of the 
frontier. During the Civil War 
the town furnished four commis- 
sioned officers and 193 enlisted 
men for the Union cause. 



town house, school building, two 
stores, post office, saw and grist- 
mill and several fine residences. 

ARTHITR, Hon. Chester Alan, 
a son of Reverend AVilliam 
and Malvina (Stone) Arthur, was 
born in Fairfield, October 5, 1830. 
His father, a Baptist minister, was 



FKANKLIN COUNTY^. 



243 



born in Ireland. He graduated 
from Union College at the age of 
18, and went to Lansingburg, New 
York, where his father was lo- 
cated. In 1851 he was principal 
of an academy at North Pownal, 
Bennington County, Vermont. 
He was admitted to the bar in 
1853. 

He married, October 29, 1859, 
Ellen Lewis Plerndon of Freder- 
icksburg, Virginia. 

January 1, 1861, he was ap- 
pointed on Governor Edwin D. 
Morgan's staff as engineer-in- 
chief, with the rank of brigadier- 
general. When the Civil War be- 
gan, in April, 1861, he became act- 
ing quartermaster-general, and as 
such began in New York City the 
work of preparing and forwarding 
the state's quota of troops. He was 
appointed inspector-general, Feb- 
ruary 10, 1862, with the rank of 
brigadier-general, and in May in- 
spected the New York troops at 
Fredericksburg and the Chicka- 
hominy. He retired from mili- 
tary service, December 31, 1862, 
and for the next 10 years was act- 
ively engaged in the practice of the 
law. November 20, 1871, Presi- 
dent Grant appointed him col- 
lector of customs of the port of 
New York, and re-appointed him 
to the same office Deceml)er 17, 
1875. July 11, 1878, he was sus- 
pended from office by President 
Hayes. June 2, 1880, he was nom- 
inated for vice-president on the 
ticket with General Garfield. No- 
vember 2, 1880, he was elected, 
and INIarch 4, 1881, took the oath 
of office. Upon the death of Pres- 
ident Garfield, September 20, 1881, 
three years and two months after 
his suspension from the collector- 
ship of the port of New York, he 
took the oath of office as president 



of the United States. Thus the 
strange workings of fate, the petty 
jealousies and prejudices of a pres- 
ident, M^hose own title to office is 
one of the deep shadows in the po- 
litical history of our country, 
made the victim his almost immedi- 
ate successor to the most exalted 
political station on earth. 

President Arthur died at his 
residence in New York City, No- 
vember 18, 1886, and was buried 
in Rural Cemetery at Albany. 

ITpon the site where stood the 
humble parsonage of Preacher Ar- 
thur and the birthplace of Presi- 
dent Arthur, the State of Ver- 
mont has erected a suitable memo- 
rial tablet. The die and base 
weigh 20 tons. The monument is 
6x5x4 feet, and bears the follow- 
ing inscription : 



ON THIS SPOT STOOD THE 
COTTAGE WHERE WAS BORN 

CHESTER A. ARTHUR, 

the twenty-first president 

of the united states. 

erected by the 
State of Vermont. 



At the dedication, August 20, 
1903, Hon. William E. Chandler, 
who was secretary of the navy, and 
Hon. Robert T. Lincoln — son of 
President Lincoln — who was sec- 
retary of war in President Ar- 
thur's cabinet, were, with former 
Governor William W. Stickney 
and Governor John G. McCul- 
lough, the orators of that occasion. 

PAIRCHILD, Hon. Wkjjam 
H., son of P]li and Grace (Stur- 
gis) Fairchild, was born in Fair- 
field, January 31, 1853. Eli Fair- 
child came to Fairfield from Red- 
ding, Connecticut, in 1842, was 



244 



SUCCESSFUL VERMONTEES. 



many years a substantial farmer, 
and is still living at the advanced 
age of 85. 

William H. Faircliild graduated 
at Montpelier Seminary in 1873, 
and attended the Wesleyan Uni- 
versity of ]\Iiddletown, Connecti- 
cut. His tastes naturally led him 



He married, June 15, 1882, Ar- 
mida, daughter of Joseph A. and 
Sarah (Sherman) Soule of Fair- 
field. They have two sons : Har- 
old Francis, a junior at U. V. M., 
and Daniel Soule, a student at 
^lontpelier Seminary. 

^Ir. Fairchild is recognized as 




William H. Faikchild. 



to choose the legal profession and 
he took a course at the Law School 
of Elichigan University, from which 
he graduated in 1877. Meanwhile, 
during the intervals of the terms, 
he had read law in the office of 
Hon. C. P. Hogan of St. Albans. 
In 1878 he settled in practice in his 
native town of Fairfield, where he 
has since remained. 



excellent legal counsel, but his tal- 
ents are employed to settle rather 
than to promote litigation. 

He has for many years exerted 
a quiet, but potent and beneficent 
influence in town affairs. In ear- 
lier life he was identified with edu- 
cation as superintendent and mem- 
ber of school lioard, and his inter- 
est in this cause continues. He is 



FRANKLIK COUNTY. 



245 



the efficient agent of the Vermont 
Mutual Fire Insurance Company. 
He has largely assisted in the set- 
tlement of estates. His counsel 
and advice have been highly ap- 
preciated in the business alfairs 
of the citizens. He has been town 
clerk since 1883, and town treas- 
urer since 1884. 



exemplary character in every re- 
lation of life. 

THE Chase Family. Among 
the first settlers of Hampton, New 
Hampshire, we find Aquilla Chase, 
who came from Cornwall, Eng- 
land and settled in Hampton in 
1639. He was born in 1618, and 
in 1645 removed to Newbury, New 




Isaac N. Chase. 



He is Episcopalian in religious 
preference, a stanch Republican 
in political opinion and action ; he 
represented Fairfield in the Legis- 
lature in 1888 and in 1890 was a 
senator from Franklin County. 

A gentleman of quiet, scholarly 
tastes, and of absolute sincerity 
and integrity, Mr. Fairchild is an 



Hampshire, where he remained un- 
til his death, which occurred De- 
cember 27, 1670. He married 
Ann, a daughter of John Wheeler, 
who came from Salisbury, Eng- 
land, and had 11 children, among 
whom was Daniel, born December 
9, 1661 ; he married Martha Kim- 
ball, May 25, 1683, and to them 



246 



SUCCESSFUL, VEItMONTERS. 



were born 10 children, the fourth 
child being Isaac, who married 
Hannah Berry of Upton, and to 
them were born nine children, the 
eldest heing Ambrose, who married 
Thankful Bobbins; to this union 
seven children came; Abel, their 
sixth child, married Elizabeth El- 
liott, November 28, 1768, and to 



latter married, February 2, 1829, 
Fidelia V. Weatherbee, and had 
nine children ; the eldest Thaddeus 
P., married Nancy K. Bro^^^^, and 
had three children : Willis P., Isaac 
N. and Edward B. 

Isaac N. Chase was born in Bris- 
tol, Minnesota, May 2, 1861 ; re- 
ceived his education in the common 




Perry Chase. 



their union were born 13 children, 
their eldest being Abel, the grand- 
father of Perry Chase, now resid- 
ing in Fairfield. 

Ambrose Chase, third child of 
Abel and Elizabeth (Elliott) 
Chase, married Sarah Sherman, and 
to them were born three children : 
Charlotte, Ambrose and Isaac; the 



schools of his town and at Brigham 
Academy ; he taught school in Fair- 
field, Fletcher and Fairfax, read 
law with Captain George W. Burle- 
son, and was admitted to the prac- 
tice of the law in 1886, and has been 
admitted to practice in the United 
States District and Supreme 
courts. He was elected state's 



FRANKLTK COUNTY. 



247 



attorney for Franklin County in 
1894- '96. While reading law with 
Captain Burleson in St. Albans, 
Mr. Chase served as deputy county 
clerk, register of probate, justice of 
the peace and deputy sheriff. He 
was deputy collector and inspector, 
United States customs at Newport, 
1889- '91. He has served Fairfield 
as superintendent of schools, eight 
years as school director. Novem- 
ber 29, 1899, he was appointed post- 
master of East Fairfield, which po- 
sition he still fills. Since his ap- 
pointment he has secured three ru- 
ral routes and in many ways has 
improved the service of his office. 
Seven years ago Mr. Chase erected 
his present office building and has 
the distinction of being one of the 
three attorneys in Franklin County 
to own their own office building. 

October 21, 1885, Mr. Chase mar- 
ried Inez L. Hull of East Fairfield ; 
four exceptionally bright children 
have come to bless this happy un- 
ion: Leland G., Leo L., Irving I. 
and Chauncy II. 

Mr. Chase is a member and past 
master of Eagle Lodge, F. &. A. 
M., a member of Champlain Chap- 
ter, and of Lafayette Command- 
ery of St. Albans, and has served 
as district deputy grand master. 

CHASE, Perry, born in Flet- 
cher, March 21, 1838, was a son of 
Lyman and Betsey (Kinsley) 
Chase, grandson of James, and 
great-grandson of Abel Chase. 
( See Chase family, page 245 ) . This 
branch of the noted Chase family 
came from Croydon, New Hamp- 
shire, about a hundred years ago, 
and located at Fletcher. 

Perry Chase attended the com- 
mon schools of Fletcher, Cambridge 
and Fairfield, and located in Fair- 
field when 17 years of age. He has 
always followed modern farming 



and striven successfully "to make 
two blades of grass grow where 
only one grew before. ' ' Mr. Chase 
has 140 acres of land and about 
twelve hundred maple sugar trees, 
and is regarded as one of the best 
authorities on maple products in 
New England ; he served as presi- 
dent of the Vermont INIaple Sugar 
]\Iakers in 1903, and was re-elected 
in 1904. He carries 30 head of 
cattle and is a progressive farmer 
in the fullest meaning of that 
term. 

January 9, 1861, Mr. Chase mar- 
ried Mary J. Squares of Fairfield; 
to them were born seven children : 
Adin, born December 1, 1861 ; 
Nora, born December 4, 1863, de- 
ceased; Rolla, born November 17, 
1866 ; Ralph, born March 22, 1869 ; 
Viola, born October 12, 1871 ; Van 
Ness, born April 6, 1873 ; Stella, 
born December 20, 1876. Mrs. 
Chase died August 9, 1879, and 
November 8, 1883, Perry Chase 
married for his second wife, Maria 
Brown. 

Mr. Chase has served Fairfield 
as selectman, lister, grand juror 
and road commissioner; he is a 
member of the IMasonic body and of 
the Eastern Star; of this latter or- 
ganization he has been patron. 

SOULE, Hon. William S., a son 
of Joseph A. and Sarah E. (Sher- 
man) Soule, was born in Fairfield, 
May 26, 1850. 

History tells us that Joseph 
Soule, one of the first settlers of 
Fairfield, came from New Fair- 
field, Connecticut, and that he was 
a son of Timothy Soule, a de- 
scendant of George Soule, who 
came in the Mayfloiver. Salmon 
Soule, son of Joseph and grand- 
father of the subject of this 
sketch, was born December 13, 
1771, and died June 16, 1858. 



248 



SUCCESSFUL VERMONTBKS. 



William S. Soule was educated 
in the public schools of Fairfield 
and at St. Albans and Barre acad- 
emies, and at the Troy Business 
College. 

In 1875 Mr. Soule formed a part- 
nership with his uncle, A. G. Soule, 
at Fairfield Center, and for three 



In 189-i Mr. Soule represented 
Fairfield in the General Assembly 
of Vermont, serving- on the general 
committee. In 1898 he was chosen 
a senator from Franklin County 
and served with much credit on the 
committee on claims, military and 
highwavs. 




William S. Soule. 



years they conducted a successful 
general store. In 1878 he located 
at East Fairfield, under the firm 
name of W. S. Soule & Co., and 
continued until 1889, when he 
bought out the business and has 
continued to the present time, car- 
rying one of the largest general 
stocks in Franklin County. 



Mr. Soule is a member of Eagle 
Lodge, F. & A. M., and Champlain 
Chapter, of St. Albans. 

October 24, 1877, Mr. Soule was 
united in marriage to Adell C. 
Read. Two children were born to 
this union : Reuben Lee and Read 
Warren. April 15, 1883, Mrs. 
Soule died, and September 30, 



FRANKLIN COUNTY. 



249 



1884, Mr. Soiile married for his sec- 
ond wife, Anna S. Read, by whom 
two children were born : Hubert 
Joseph and Lillian Adell (de- 
ceased). Mrs. Sonle died Septem- 
ber 22, 1898. 




George H. Soule. 

SOULE, George H., youngest 
son of Joseph A. and Sarah 
(Sherman) Sonle, was born on the 
homestead in Fairfield, November 
23, 1865. He inherits the stalwart 
physique and strong mentality of 
his stanch Vermont ancestry. His 
grandfather, Solomon Soule, came 
from Connecticut to Fairfield, be- 
ing one of the early settlers in 
town. His son, Joseph, was the 
youngest of a family of seven sons 
and four daughters, was born on 
an adjoining farm, now a part of 
the homestead, and is a life-long 
and respected citizen of 84 years 
of age. The children of Joseph 
A. and Sarah (Sherman) Soule 



are : William S. Soule of East Fair- 
field, C. L. Soule of Burlington, 
Armida, wife of W. H. Fairchild, 
and George H. Soule. 

George H., after graduating from 
Goddard Seminary, Barre,. in 
1887, returned to the home farm, 
taking active management with his 
father. The farm contains 300 
acres, is located south two and one 
half miles from Fairfield Center. 
The farm buildings are commo 
dious and modern, the fields well 
cultivated and productive, sup- 
porting a dairy of 30 cows, some 
young stock, a flock of sheep and 
several horses. The principal re- 
source of the farm is maple sugar 
making, having a magnificent 
grove of more than eight thousand 
thrifty first-growth rock maples in 
one body, with 2,000 more in an ad- 




Residence of George H. Soule. 

joining grove. It was largely un- 
developed prior to 1890, since then, 
George H., with his father, has 
erected two modern sugar houses 
with capacity to accommodate 
9,000 trees, which were tapped 



250 



SUCCESSFUL VERMONTERS. 



in the spring of 1906, with the 
Grimm spout, and hung with 
nearly all tin and galvanized iron 
buckets. During the seasons of 
1904 and 1905 Mr. Soule averaged 
to make from 7,000 trees over 
23,000 pounds of maple honey and 
sugar per annum. Mr. Soule has 



SOULE, S. Allen, son of Sal- 
mon and Salina B. (Wheeler) 
Soule, w^as born in Fairfield, March 
20, 1855. His grandfather, Timo- 
thy Soule, came from Dutchess 
County, New York, with his fam- 
ily, in 1796, and located in the 
western part of Fairfield, where 




S. Allen Soule. 



well earned the distinction of be- 
ing maple sugar king of Vermont. 
He is a member of the Vermont 
Maple Sugar Makers' Market at 
Randolph, a member of Eagle 
Lodge, No. 67, A. F. & A. M., of 
East Fairfield and of Champlain 
Chapter, No. 1, R. A. M., of St. 
Albans. 



he cleared a farm from the un- 
broken wilderness. His son, Sal- 
mon, was born in 1795, one of a 
family of 10 children. 

When the distant booming of 
cannon from the shores of Lake 
Champlain startled the congrega- 
tion at Fairfield Church, Timothy 
and Salmon Soule were members of 



FRANKLIN COUNTY. 



251 



the company of parishioners that 
Elder Wooster led to the defense 
of Plattsbnrg in 1813. 

At the age of 19 Salmon Soule 
bought a farm in the west part of 
the town, where he resided during 
most of his active life, and which 
is still owned by S. Allen Soule. 
As a youth, Salmon Soule began 
the drover business by driving two 
yoke of steers to Montreal and sell- 



ive and cheerful at the age of 86, 
and draws a pension for her hus- 
band's service in the War of 1812. 

S. Allen Soule was educated at 
Bakersfield Academy and Johnson 
High School. He bought the Fair- 
field Center hotel, which he con- 
ducted for several years, and still 
owns. 

S. Allen Soule has continued in 
the drover business so auspiciously 




Kesidence of Ashton P. Soule. 



ing them hy dressed weight. He 
continued to increase his droves 
until they numbered three or four 
hundred head. Later he drove 
cattle to Brighton market, Boston, 
buying and selling on the route. 
During his middle life his prin- 
cipal business was the purchase 
and sale of livestock. A man of 
shrewdness, good judgment and in- 
tegrity, he accumulated a hand- 
some competence, and died at the 
great age of 91. His widow is act- 



begun by his father, has adapted 
his methods to present conditions, 
and has greatly extended the busi- 
ness, and is recognized as one of 
the most extensive dealers and 
shippers of cows and beef cattle in 
this section. He now owns five 
farms in this town, comprising 
1,600 acres of land, which support 
two hundred or more cows. There 
are 4,000 maples set up on these 
farms and Mr. Soule is in the front 
rank as a producer of maple sugar. 



252 



SDCCESSFUL YERMONTERS. 



He is the most extensive farmer in 
town, and probably in the county. 
He has a keen eye for good colts 
and horses, and has made some ex- 
ceptional sales. In temperament 
an optimist, a man of genial man- 
ners and obliging disposition, Mr. 
Soule exercises a potent but quiet 
influence in town affairs. He rep- 
resented Fairfield in 1892 as a 
Democrat. 



field in 1791. Ilis six sous were: 
Timothy, Isaac N., Salmon, Jo- 
seph, Hiram and Henry. Timo- 
thy settled on this farm more than 
a century ago, and erected the 
house which has been the ancestral 
home of three generations of his 
posterity until the present time. 
It is in excellent repair, and an ell 
has been added. Timothy lived 
the simple but strenuous life of the 




Bakn of Ashton p. Soule. 



S. Allen Soule married, in 1898, 
Eulia, daughter of Wallace and 
Asenath (Carleton) Parker of 
Cambridge. Their only child is 
Senath Soule. 

SOULE, AsHTON P., son of 
James ]Munson and jNIarietta 
(Payne) Soule, was born in Fair- 
field, October 19, 1862. 

George Soule, the first Ameri- 
can ancestor, came over in the 
May flower. Joseph, great-grand- 
father of Ashton P., came to Fair- 



times, and died at the ripe age of 
93. James M. was a substantial 
and esteemed farmer, and life-long 
citizen, represented Fairfield in the 
Legislature in 1869-70, and died, 
February 15, 1889, in his seventy- 
second year. 

Aaron Payne, the maternal 
grandfather of Ashton P. Soule, 
was a very able and successful 
farmer and resident of Cambridge. 

Ashton P. Soule completed his 
education at St. Albans Academy, 



FRANKLIN COUNTY. 



253 



He shared with his father the cares 
and lahors of the homestead, being 
tlie only son, and cared for the de- 
clining- years of his parents. It is 
a dairy farm of 160 acres, with 50 
acres of mowing and tillage, and a 
large resource of hard wood. One 
thousand maple trees are set np 
with modern appliances and a 
large share of the product goes into 
maple honey. Much of the land is 
moist, natural grass land, well 
suited, also, to fodder corn and 
oats. 

In 1897 Mr. Soule built his large 
and commodious barn, 45 x 108 
feet, which contains two silos. He 
keeps thirty or more Jersey cows, 
makes his own butter and sells it to 
special customers at St. Albans, 
four miles distant. He is a mem- 
ber of the Vermont Dairymen \s As- 
sociation, and is a tidy, thrifty and 
progi'essive farmer. He is a Uni- 
versalist in religious belief. Repub- 
lican in political opinion and ac- 
tion, and a worthy descendant of 
a stanch and notable ancestry. 

Mr. Soule married, in 1888," Ola, 
daughter of E. P. and Lydia 
Cleveland of Georgia. They have 
two children : Ernest M. and Ray- 
mond E. Soule. 

With the rural delivery, the tel- 
ephone, music, books, and maga- 
zines, this worthy family honors 
and enjoys the life of the inde- 
pendent farmer, with its time-hon- 
ored associations. 

MOREY, William H., was born 
in Fairfield, November 30, 1852, a 
son of William H. and Susan 
(Mitchell) Morey. He received 
his education in the district schools 
of his native town and in the high 
school of Bakersfield and Swanton. 

April 1, 1874, I\Ir. I\Iorey began 
his business career as a clerk in a 
grocery in St. Albans, where he re- 



mained for a year, and then re- 
turned to East Fairfield and 
opened a grocery for himself, con- 
ducting the business for seven 
years, and traded it for a farm in 
Bakersfield; here he remained for 
four years. 

In 1885 he was appointed deputy 
sheriff of Franklin County, and 
held his appointment for six years, 
during which time he entered the 
employ of Hon. William S. Soule 
at East Fairfield, remaining nearly 




AViLLIAM H. MOUEY. 

six years, when he was appointed 
postmaster by President Cleveland, 
and successfully conducted the of- 
fice four years. During the time 
]Mr. TMorey was postmaster he 
opened a drug store, which he has 
conducted to the present time, be- 
ing one of the largest, best stocked 
and appointed drug stores in 
northern Vermont. 

Mr. ]\Iorey has always taken a 
deep interest in Masonic matters. 



254 



SUCCESSFUL VERMONTEHS. 



and has served as master of Eagle 
Lodge five years, district deputy 
grand master of the Seventh Ma- 
sonic District two years and is an 
ofificer of Lafayette Chapter of 
Enosburg Falls. He has served 
Fairfield as justice of the peace 
fifteen years, as constable, and as 
school director, seven years. 

April 16, 1879, ]\Ir.' Morey was 
united in marriage to Ida ^I. Croft 
of Fairfield. Three children have 
been born to them: Harry W., a 
R. F. D. mail carrier; Wingola 
Mae, a talented teacher in the vil- 
lage schools, and Albert C. 

BRADLEY, Benjamin F., son 
of John and Polly (Sturgis) Brad- 
lev, was born at Faii'field in Au- 




Benjamin F. Bradley. 

gust, 1808. The Bradleys rank 
among the i)rominent early fami- 
lies of Fairfield, and John Brad- 
ley was a volunteer at the battle of 
Plattsburg. 



Benjamin F. Bradley shared the 
usual experience of the farm-bred 
boy of the period, in the labors of 
the farm and in attendance on the 
district schools. Possessing very 
marked mechanical genius, he 
learned the carriage maker's 
trade, and engaged in that business 
on the ancestral farm. His car- 
riages became noted for endurance 
and finish, his business was ex- 
tended and at one time he em- 
ployed from ten to fifteen hands. 
Owing to the severe competition of 
the large manufactories, he dis- 
continued his carriage business 
about 1861, and gave his entire at- 
tention to his farming. He was 
equally successful at this avoca- 
tion, and at the time of his death, 
in 1892, he had an excellent and 
well-appointed farm. 

]\Ir. Bradley was an able and 
conscientious citizen, exemplary in 
habit and his home was the abode 
of an ample and cordial hospital- 
ity. He was a man of fine tastes, 
a lover of good books, which he 
read with a keen relish as long as 
he lived. The conversation of in- 
telligent and scientific men was ea- 
gerly' sought and treasured up by 
him and gave a literary character 
to his home which was a constant 
stimulus to his children for nobler 
manhood and womanhood. In 
morals he was the soul of integ- 
rity and honor. In religion he 
was reverent of ('lod, sincere, and 
carried a large hope in his heart for 
man as the child of God. In his 
citizenship he was patriotic, just, 
and firm as a rock that the largest 
liberty under the restraints of 
law should be the free inheritance 
of all men. 

He married, February 20, 1833, 
Julia Ursula Little of Dunham, 
Province of Quebec. Their chil- 



FRANKLIN COUNTY. 



255 



dren : Daphne B., Cynthia S., 
Diantha S., Helen G., Jnlia U., 
W. Scott, who married Miss Mar- 
tha Sawyer of Dover, New Hamp- 
shire, where they now reside. 



tie, ladies of unusual intelligence, 
capacity and energy. It is a splen- 
did farm of 300 acres, very pleas- 
antly located two miles south of 
Fairfield Center. These estimable 




The Benjamin F. Bradley Homestead. 



Julia married A. S. Olmstead; 
Cynthia S. married Doctor Lyman 
Little, a native of Morristown, who 
became an eminent physician at 
Zanesville, Ohio, and at the time 
of his death, July 30, 1883, re- 
sided in Cleveland Ohio. Doc- 
tor Little was commissioned by 
Governor Todd of Ohio as a special 
surgeon, and he rendered most 
faithful and efficient service at 
Pittsburg Landing, Murfreesboro 
and other battles, and there en- 
dured hardships which ruined his 
health. 

Since the death of their father, 
in 1892, the farm has been con- 
ducted by the two sisters. Daphne 
and Mrs. Cynthia S. Bradley Lit- 



1 a dies have borne the burden of the 
care and labor incident to the suc- 
cessful management of this fine es- 
tate for the sake of home and its 
time-hallowed associations. 

NYE, John Weight, son of 
Benjamin and Mary (Weight) 
Nye, was born in Roxbury, New 
Hampshire, April 11, 1821. Ben- 
jamin Nye, the first American an- 
cestor of this family, came to 
Sandwich, Massachusetts, in 1637. 
He came to Fairfield with his 
father's family when he was four 
years old. He was the youngest of 
three sons and three daughters. 
His father was in straightened cir- 
cumstances, and his schooling was 
very limited, but being an om- 



256 



SUCCESSFUL YERMONTERS. 



niverous reader, with a receptive 
mind and a retentive memory, he 
ultimately became well informed 
on the leading topics of the day. 
An incident of his early life is 
very suggestive. AVhen he was 18 
years of age he worked out by the 
season, o'iviuii" all of his wases to 



who died in 1852, leaving one son, 
Alfred Nye, who died in Califor- 
nia, in 1883. He married, second, 
in 1856, Mary E., daughter of Har- 
mon Soule. By this marriage 
were four children : Edward J. of 
California. George W. of Fairfield, 
Willie, who died in infancy, and 



^H^^4H| 


1^ 




B 


^^^^^^Hj^PWk-. '"jjiiM^ 


IP' 


^^^^^^feAi 


F^ 


"^^ ^m 


.' 


'^^^^H^^ ^^k gi^ /, 


i 


^k'^'^B 


• 







John W. Nye. 



his father except one month's pay, 
Avhich he invested in young stock, 
which when grown became the nu- 
cleus of his future capital. He 
continued his farming, and with 
his older brother, cared for his 
aged parents. 

INIr. Nye married, in 1849, Mari- 
etta, daughter of Salmon Soule, 



Fanny P., who remained with her 
parents during their declining 
years, in the home at Fairfield 
Center, and still resides there. 

About 185-4, Mr. Nye bought a 
200-acre farm one mile from Fair- 
field Center, which by later pur- 
chase became 430 acres, and under 
his judicious care became one of 



FRANKLIN COUNTY. 



257 



the best farms in this section. He 
was a pioneer in adopting 
farm improvements and labor- 
saving machinery. He had a large 
sugar orchard, and made an excel- 
lent grade of maple sugar and sy- 
rup that was sold at remunerative 
prices in California. He con- 
ducted a good dairy of 50 cows, 
and was a good salesman as well as 
a producer of fine butter. Owing 
to advancing years and the diffi- 
culty of obtaining farm help, he 
moved from the farm to Fairfield 
Center in 1881, and rented it un- 
til his death, in 1901, when the 
farm was divided. Soon after- 
wards he located in the village, 
opened a store and dealt in general 
merchandise, flour and feed, until 
his retirement in 1890. IMrs. Nye 
died in 1887. "He who makes 
two blades of grass grow where one 
grew before, is a public benefac- 
tor." Mr. Nye's example in pro- 
gressive farming was followed by 
others, and was a public benefit. 
He was a Republican in politics, 
took an active interest in town af- 
fairs, though seldom holding of- 
fice, and was one of the most sub- 
stantial and esteemed citizens of 
Fairfield. 

GILBERT, Captain Hamilton 
S., son of Nathan and Cynthia 
(Smith) Gilbert, was born in Fair- 
field, September 13, 1829. He in- 
herits the native strength of the 
early pioneers. 

His grandfather, Nathan Gil- 
bert, was an early settler, built the 
first gristmill in town, but was 
drowned, while middle aged, Iw 
the bursting of a dam. His son, 
Nathan, was a life-long resident, 
and for many years conducted 
the local saw and gristmill, and 
was deacon of the Congregational 
Church. 

A— 18 



Joab Smith, maternal grand- 
father of Captain Gilbert, was a 
prominent citizen, and represented 
Fairfield in the Legislature several 
terms. The statement of the late 
Judge Luke P. Poland, that he 
"was educated in a sawmill," ap- 
plies to Captain Gilbert, yet in the 
winter terms he secured a fair 
schooling for the times. Imbued 
with a spirit of curiosity, in early 
life he traveled extensively in the 
West, paying his way by working 
in mills. The eldest of a family of 
four children, the care of the home- 
stead and his parents, devolved 
upon him, and Fairfield has always 
been his home. The farm, located 
near Fairfield Center, has been in- 
creased by successive purchases, 
until it now contains 350 acres. It 
supports a good dairy of 50 cows of 
the Jersey and Ayrshire grade, and 
the cream goes to Sheldon Cream- 
ery. The farm is well fitted for 
the operations of machinery, and 
has a sugar place of 1,000 trees. 

When the nation was called to 
arms, Hamilton S. Gilbert was one 
of the first to enlist, riding on 
horseback to St. Albans, with oth- 
ers, and enrolling in the Ransome 
Guards, Company C, First Vermont 
Regiment, which served at Newport 
News and Fortress Monroe for 
three months. Mr. Gilbert was 
wounded in the arm while on a 
scouting expedition, in June, 1861, 
prior to Big Bethel, probably the 
first Vermonter wounded in the 
Civil War. In September, 1862, 
he re-enlisted and helped organize 
Company E, Twelfth Vermont 
Regiment, Colonel A. P. Blunt, 
and was elected captain of his com- 
pany. He served in that capacity 
until the discharge of the regiment 
after the battle of Gettysburg. 

Returning from the South, he ex- 



258 



SUCCESSFUL VERMONTERS. 



changed the sword for the plow, 
and has been a useful and highly 
esteemed citizen, faithfully dis- 
charging several public offices in 
town. 

Captain Gilbert married, in 
1870, ]\Iartha B., daughter of Har- 
mon and Polly (Flint) Soule of 



MERRILL, Henry J., son of 
Maro J. and Aurelia (Wheeler) 
^Merrill, was born in Fairfield, De- 
cember 19, 1852. 

]\Iaro J. Merrill was born in 
1805, was a life-long resident and 
farmer in town, and died here in 
1897. Fifty-two vears ago he 




Hamilton S. Gilbert. 



Fairfield. They have two daugh- 
ters : Maude L., wife of Harry 
Doaue of Bakersfield, who, with 
her husband, resides with her 
parents, and Lou M., wife of 
George B. Utley, librarian of Car- 
negie Library, Jacksonville, Flor- 
ida. 



moved to the homestead now owned 
by Henry J. Merrill, and that has 
since been the family home. 

The farm contains 147 acres and 
lies between Fairfield Center and 
the station. There are about sixty 
acres of mowing and tillage, the 
soil a strong clay loam; the 



FRANKLIN COUNTY. 



259 



fields are in the highest state of 
cultivation, and are well fitted for 
farm machinery. In 1891, Mr. 
Merrill erected his large barn, 55 x 
113 feet, which in design and con- 
venience is a model. A water pipe 
line is connected with each stable 
and a movable water tank in 
front of the cow stanchions, also 
a stationary tank in the stable, 
which saves exposure during cold 



stances require, sometimes by the 
carload, and his herd ranges from 
forty to eighty head. ]\Ir. INIerrill 
is an excellent .judge and caretaker 
of colts and horses, and occasion- 
ally sells a good one. He has win- 
tered 60 head of cows and 60 
sheep. 

Formerly his herd was Jerseys, 
but recently he has made a spe- 
cialty of Holsteins, as they sell bet- 




Residence of Henry J. Merbill. 



weather. There is a large silo, 
of 180 tons' capacity, that opens 
in front of mangers. There are 
conveniences for 80 head of cat- 
tle. The special features of the 
farming are intensive cultivation, 
saving of labor and productive dai- 
rying. In 1900 Mr. Merrill pro- 
duced $3,000 worth of butter, and 
sold $1,000 worth of pork prod- 
ucts. During the year he pur- 
chased $1,100 worth of grain. He 
buys and sells cows as circum- 



ter in the market. The produc- 
tions of the farm have quadrupled 
during the past 40 years. In the 
fall of 1901, Mr. Merrill erected 
one of the most elegant and con- 
venient farmhouses that we have 
ever seen. It is covered with a 
slate roof, there is a capacious cel- 
lar, with a furnace, hot and cold 
water on both floors, and every 
modern appointment and conven- 
ience. It is a model farm home. 
Mr. Merrill is at once a farmer 



260 



SUCCESSFUL VERMONTERS. 



and business man. He is both an 
intensive and an extensive farmer. 
Mr. Merrill has the imagination 
and judgment to plan, and the en- 
ergy to execute the operations of 
successful farming, and his achieve- 
ments are an object lesson of the 
possibilities of Vermont farming. 
He buys largely of cottonseed and 
bran, and feeds his cows in the 
barn every day when in milk, turn- 



Lionel Willard remain with their 
parents on the homestead. 

NORTHROP, Peter Bent Brig- 
ham, was born in Fairfield, April 
22, 1856. He was educated in tlie 
common schools, and graduated at 
Goddard Seminary in the class of 
1883. He studied law in the of- 
fice of C. P. Hogan for a time, and 
also took a course in the Columbia 
Law School at Washington, D. C. 




Barn of Henry J. Merrill. 



ing them out nights in pasture, 
and makes it pay. 

He married, in 1879, Jennie S., 
daughter of A. W. and Calista 
(Adams) Palmer of Newport Cen- 
ter. Mrs. Merrill is a lady of en- 
ergy and ability. They have four 
sons : Charles Palmer Merrill is a 
graduate of U. V. M and is in the 
United States civil service as elec- 
trical engineer, with headquarters 
in New York City; Guy Adams 
Merrill, formerly a student in U. 
V. M., is a mechanical engineer in 
the electrical works at Bayonne, 
New Jersey; Howard Joseph and 



Owing to poor health, he gave up 
law and adopted the occupation of 
farming on a run-out farm, which 
he purchased in 1890. The farm 
at that time could scarcely keep 20 
cows and the farm team, but by 
clearing the land of stones, by a 
judicious rotation of crops and the 
use of a large silo for corn and clo- 
ver, he has brought the farm up to 
the capacity of keeping 120 head 
of cattle and 10 horses. Sixteen 
years ago he was a pioneer in con- 
structing the first piece of Telford 
road in this section, conducting the 
work largely at his own expense 



FRANKLIN COUNTY. 



261 



The farm contains 250 acres, and 
is located one mile from Sheldon 
village. Another of his farms con- 
tains about fifteen thousand ma- 
ples, located in Fletcher. Mr. 
Northrop has always enjoyed the 
marked confidence of his towns- 
men, manifested by his repeated 



bonded and more than half paid. 
Mr. Northrop was elected town rep- 
resentative in 1900 by an unprece- 
dented majority. In the Legisla- 
ture he took an active part in de- 
feating extravagant and unneces- 
sary legislation, especially the bill 
for an appropriation for the state 




Peter B. B. Northrop. 



election to important offices, both 
in Sheldon and Fairfield. After 
serving several years as auditor of 
Fairfield, he was elected chairman 
of the board of selectmen in 1898, 
which position he still holds in 
the same board by successive re- 
elections. During this period the 
floating town debt of $24,700 was 



building at the Pan-American Ex- 
position. He introduced and car- 
ried through the resolution making 
an appropriation for the erection 
of a tablet upon the site of the 
birthplace of the late President 
Chester A. Arthur, and purchased 
the site and donated it to the state. 
Mr. Northrop is a successful 



262 



SUCCESSFtJL VERMONTERS. 



farmer, and characteristically thor- 
ough and persistent in his busi- 
ness engagements. 

In 1891 he was married to Kath- 
arine Smith Fletcher of Jefferson- 
ville, and to them have been born 
three daughters : Mary Fletcher, 
Consuela Bentina and Frederica 
Brigham. 

McGinn, Owen, son of Hugh 
and Katherine McGinn, was born 
in Fairfield, July 8, 1858. His 
father was a farmer in this town, 
but in 1868 moved to Bakersfield. 




Owen McGinn. 

Owen jVIcGinn graduated from 
Bakersfield Academy in 1883, and 
taught several terms of school. In 
1886 he came to Fairfield Center 
and bought the gristmill and saw- 
mill site of the Gilbert estate, and 
erected the present sawmill and 
gristmill during the years 1887 
and 1888. These mills are an im- 
portant factor in the industrial 
economy of the town, being located 
near the center, and they are in 
fact the only locally owned mills 



in town. Mr. McGinn has stocked 
his sawmill every winter, taking all 
grades of hard and soft wood tim- 
ber, and has manufactured from 
two hundred to seven hundred and 
fifty thousand feet per annum, in- 
cluding custom sawing. In 1890 
he installed a steam power of 75 
horse-power capacity, and added a 
steel mill in the gristmill to accom- 
modate his increasing business. 
The gristmill is an important fea- 
ture, and the sale of flour and 
feed has reached large proportions. 
From July, 1903, during the ensu- 
ing year, more than $24,000 in 
flour and feed was sold here. Mr. 
McGinn has a storehouse at Fair- 
field station, and his trade with 
East Fairfield and Bakersfield is 
considerable. 

Mr. McGinn is a self-made man, 
a good type of the enterprising in- 
telligent Irish-American of Ver- 
mont. He has seldom accepted 
town office, but is the present rep- 
resentative of Fairfield in the Gen- 
eral Assembly. 

He married, in 1884, Rhoda, 
daughter of Patrick and ]\Iary 
(English) Brennan. They have 
two children : M. Florence, a grad- 
uate of St. Mary's High School, 
now a teacher, and J. Brennan 
McGinn, now attending St. Mich- 
ael's College at Winooski. 

SHATTUCK, IMerton C, a son 
of Martin and Meribah E. H. 
(Wilbur) Shattuck (see page 109), 
was born in Waterville, April 4, 
1868. He was educated in the dis- 
trict schools of Eden and gradu- 
ated from the People's Academy at 
Morrisville, class of 1888. For the 
next two years he taught school in 
Eden and then entered a partner- 
ship with his father under the firm 
style and name of M. Shattuck & 
Son. The next four years was de- 



FRANKLIN COUNTY. 



263 



voted to the exacting cares of the 
large general store at Eden Cor- 
ners. He then decided on a career 
of railroading and commenced at 
Morrisville as a telegraph operator, 
remaining one season, when he was 
transferred to Cambridge Junc- 
tion. Here he remained but a 



as a careful, painstaking and 
obliging official. 

October 22, 1890, Mr. Shattuck 
was united in marriage to Myrtie 
R., daughter of Julius and Emily 
Green of Cambridge. 

Mr. Shattuck became affiliated 
with the Masonic fraternity by 




Merton C. Shattuck, 



short time, when he was sent to 
Fairlee for the summer, and in the 
fall of 1895 he returned to Cam- 
bridge Junction and remained two 
and a half years, when he was 
given the station at East Fairfield. 
Here he has remained to the pres- 
ent time, winning an enviable place 



joining Mount Norris Lodge, No. 
69, F. & A. M., in 1891, at Eden; 
in 1903 he joined the Order of the 
Eastern Star at East Fairfield, 
being one of the charter members 
of Harmony Chapter, No. 60. His 
ambition for Masonic knowledge 
and its hidden mysteries prompted 



264 



StrCCESSFtTL VERMONTERS. 



him in 1906 to become united with 
Tucker Chapter, No. 15, R. A. M., 
at Morrisville. 

While a resident of Eden he was 
school director four years, super- 
intendent of schools one year and 
justice two years. 

Mr. Shattuck's spare time is de- 
voted to the highly successful cul- 
ture of small fruit, especially 
strawberries, having about three 
and a half acres devoted to this 
delicious berry. 

GEORGIA. 

Population, Census of 1900, 1,280. 

The charter of Georgia was 
granted by Governor Benning 
Wentworth, August 17, 1763, to 
Richard Emery and 64 associates, 
with the usual conditions and res- 
ervations of the New Hampshire 
grants. Ten years after the char- 
ter was issued, in the autumn of 
1773, Levi Allen of Salisbury, Con- 
necticut, bought the interests of 
most of the original grantees. Dur- 
ing the same, or the ensuing year, 
Heman Allen, Ethan Allen and 
Remember Baker, each bought a 
small interest. Ira Allen subse- 
quently became a principal propri- 
etor, buying a part of Levi's in- 
terest and all of Heman 's at pri- 
vate sale, and the remainder of 
Levi's at public sale for taxes. 
Meanwhile Ira Allen and Baker, 
with several men in their employ, 
were at the falls of the Winooski 
River in Colchester, making prep- 
arations for a grand immigration 
scheme which they hoped to inaug- 
urate the next year. A proprie- 
tors' meeting was called at Salis- 
bury, Connecticut, March 23,1774, 
at which Heman Allen was elected 
moderator and Ira Allen propri- 
etors' clerk, and it was voted to 



lay out the town, each proprietor 
laying out his own right at his own 
expense. It is believed that Ira 
Allen, who was a practical sur- 
veyor, either made the survey or 
directed it. ]\Ieanwhile events were 
steadily and surely marshalling the 
forces which brought forth the 
American Revolution. 

It was nearly twelve years after 
Allen began to boom the town of 
Georgia that the first settler, Will- 
iam Ferrand, erected his little 
cabin on the "governor's right," 
near the lake in the northwest cor- 
ner of the town. Only a few days 
later, Andrew Gilder came from 
Egremont, Massachusetts, and fol- 
lowing Allen's road from the Col- 
chester Falls across that town and 
]\Iilton,to the west bank of Lamoille 
River, near the north bow in Geor- 
gia, pitched his tent there. Near 
by, on the opposite side of the La- 
moille River, Andrew Glidden, Jr., 
built his cabin. These three fam- 
ilies remained in town through the 
winter of 1775- '76, the first fami- 
lies known to have wintered in 
town; but neither had yet pur- 
chased land. Frederick Bliss is 
believed to have been the first pur- 
chaser of land for personal occu- 
pation. He was personally ac- 
quainted with the Aliens, and 
came up in the autumn of 1784, 
and after examination, contracted 
for the purchase of 10 lots of land, 
one for himself, one for his brother 
Abner, and eight for his uncle, 
Captain Stephen Davis. 

The town of Georgia was organ- 
ized on the 31st of March, 1788. 
John White, assistant judge of 
Chittenden County, of which this 
town was then a part, warned the 
meeting and called it to order, 
James Evarts was chosen moder- 
ator; Reuben Evarts, clerk; 



FRANKLIN COUNTY. 



265 



Stephen Davis, Stephen Hohnes 
and Richard Sylvester, selectmen ; 
Frederick Bliss, constable. Un- 
til 1792 all town meetings and 
public gathering's were held at 
the house of Colonel Benjamin 
Holmes. After several annual 
propositions to build a town 
house had been voted down, Colo- 
nel Holmes and Esquire Frederick 
Bliss, with some help from the 
neighbors, erected a small log 
building on the land of Bliss, a 
few rods south of the present brick 
schoolhouse. A public building 
was urgently needed, and from the 
March meeting in 1791, until the 
second Monday in December, 1800, 
the subject of building a meeting 
house by the town had been annu- 
ally agitated, only to be defeated. 
The people who were then inter- 
ested in the matter then built the 
house, one of the finest in the 
state, on land freely donated by 
Colonel Benjamin Holmes, at an 
expense of nearly $8,000. Then 
with praiseworthy magnanimity, 
they tendered its use to the town 
for "town and other meetings," 
on condition that it should be kept 
in condition for use. 

A Congregational Church was 
organized in Georgia in 1793, 
and most of the inhabitants who 
had any religious preference, were 
adherents of this church. After 
10 years of most bitter strife over 
this vexed question of ministerial 
settlement, at the town meeting 
held in April, 1803, Reverend 
PubliusVirgilius Booge was called, 
with a salary of £75 for his first 
year, and stipulation that his sal- 
ary rise yearly as the grand list 
shall rise, to the sum of £100, one 
quarter of the sum in cash, the 
other three quarters in produce, 
such as corn, beef, pork and other 



articles. He was also to receive 
the 100-acre lot which was reserved 
in the charter for the first settled 
minister. 

Mr. Booge was duly called and 
settled, but it soon became evident 
that the voters did not feel under 
obligations to tax themselves to 
pay him. At length, through the 
mediation of Esquire Frederick 
Bliss, who had the confidence of all 
factions, a businesslike paper was 
drawn up and numerously signed, 
pledging- voluntary subscriptions 
on the pro rata basis of the grand 
list. 

Sawmills, potasheries, whiskey 
stills, tanneries, and every kind of 
mill, machine and shop common to 
the period, and to the necessities of 
the people, in a few years had 
sprung up like magic. The popu- 
lation during the nine years be- 
tween the census of 1791 and 
1800 had increased more than 
200 per cent., and had reached 
1,068, against 815, in Burlington, 
and 901 in St. Albans. 

CLARK, Reverend Charles 
Wallace, son of David P. and 
Mary (Baker) Clark, was born in 
Georgia, October 25, 1831. His 
grandfather, David Clark, was an 
early settler of the town. His 
father, David P., was a native and 
nearly lifelong resident on the 
farm where Charles W. was born. 
John White, a maternal great- 
grandfather of the subject of this 
sketch, was appropriately styled 
"The father of the town of 
Georgia." Charles W. was the 
eldest of three sons. George Henry 
Clark, his brother, next younger, 
was a Congregational clergyman, 
settled at St. Johnsbury Centre 
and died in early manhood. His 
youngest brother, Edward P. 
Clark, was a soldier in Company 



266 



StrCCESSFUL VERMONTERS. 



E, Twelfth Vermont Regiment, and 
is now a resident of Qnincy, Massa- 
chusetts. 

Reverend Charles W. Clark fitted 
for college at Georgia and Bakers- 
field academies, graduated from U. 
V. M. in the class of 1855, and 
three years later at Andover Theo- 



Georgia, October 23, 1861. Their 
only son and child. Reverend Will- 
iam Colton Clark, was born at Isl- 
and Pond October 15, 1862. He is 
a graduate of the U. V. M. and of 
Union Theological Seminary, New 
York City ; has had pastorates with 
the church at South Hero and 




Rev. Charles W. Clakk. 



logical Seminary. He was or- 
dained to the gospel ministry, June 
13, 1861, at Georgia, and soon after 
began work at Island Pond. His 
other pastorates were Hartland, 
Charlotte, Gaysville and Georgia. 

Mr. Clark married Harriet Lu- 
cretia, daughter of Harvey and 
Harriet (Fairchild) Colton of 



Grand Isle, also at Hardwiek and 
is now settled at Lyndon. 

Mrs. Charles W. Clark is also a 
native of Georgia, a granddaughter 
of Deacon Walter Colton, a native 
of Longmeadow, Massachusetts, 
who came to Georgia in 1798 and 
reared a family of nine sons and 
two daughters, all of whom at- 



FRANKLIN COUNTY. 



267 



tained maturity and reared fami- 
lies of their own. In 1878 Mr. and 
Mrs. Clark removed to her family 
home in Georgia and since 1879 he 
has ministered to the Congrega- 
tional church in his native town. 
At the present time he is the oldest 
minister in active service of his 
denomination in Vermont. 



tion, he has faithfully served as 
superintendent of schools during 
nearly each of his several pas- 
torates. 

POST, Lorenzo A., son of Curtis 
M. and Mary B. (Nichols) Post, 
was born in Georgia, December 7, 
1846. William Post, a soldier of 
the Revolution, came from Rutland 




LoKENzo A. Post. 



He was elected to the Legislature 
from Stockbridge in 1876. Mr. 
Clark is still active and well pre- 
served, now in the 75th year of his 
age, and is an excellent type of the 
old school Congregational minister, 
teacher and friend of his people. 
Deeply interested in sound educa- 



te Georgia Center in 1791, settled 
on a farm and kept a house of en- 
tertainment widely known as 
"William Post's Inn." His son. 
Major Post, served in the War of 
1812-14. 

Curtis M. Post was a small 
farmer, but was best known as the 



268 



SUCCESSFUL VERMONTEHS. 



long-time town clerk and treasurer 
of Georgia; elected in 1855, served 
until his death in 1877. His 
widow then held the office until 
her death in 1886, since which time 
Lorenzo A. Post has served. 

Abraham Hathaway, the mater- 
nal great-grandfather of Lorenzo 
A. Post, was a soldier of the Revo- 
lution,, and was a civil engineer 
and one of the early surveyors of 
Georgia. Abner B. Nichols, the 
father of Mary B. (Nichols) Post, 
was a soldier of the War of 1812, 
and one of the early residents of 
Georgia. 

Lorenzo A. Post was educated in 
the common schools and academy 
of Georgia. He went to St. Al- 
bans and became a clerk and book- 
keeper in several mercantile con- 
cerns; for some years was assistant 
postmaster, remaining nearly twen- 
ty-five years, but still maintaining 
his home in Georgia. He came 
home in 1883, shortly before his 
mother's death, and settled on the 
home farm one-half mile from 
Georgia Center. 

In the fall of 1890 he formed a 
mercantile partnership with Abner 
Bliss, under the firm style of Post 
& Bliss, and bought the old Center 
store of C. B. Pino, and they have 
continued in trade here until the 
present time, and are now the only 
storekeepers in Georgia Center. 
Their stock embraces a full line of 
general country merchandise, and 
the firm is the leading factor in the 
business of Georgia. 

Mr. Post was married in 1876, 
to Frances M. Towne, a great- 
granddaughter of Edmund Towne, 
an early town clerk of the town 
of Fairfield and afterwards a 
prominent citizen of Georgia. She 
died in 1887. Mr. Post married, 
in 1900, Mary G. Howard, widow 



of M;:--/^:,Macomber of Milton. 

Mr. Post was elected to the Leg- 
islature from Georgia in 1886, and 
served on the committee on educa- 
tion. The following March he was 
elected town clerk and treasurer. 
He had already acted many years 
as assistant. At the organization 
of Banner Grange in February, 
1906, the largest charter member 
Grange in the state, he was elected 
as master, an emphatic tribute of 
public confidence. Mr. Post has 
been for nearly forty years a mem- 
ber of Franklin Lodge, No. 4, A. 
F. & A. M., of St. Albans. A man 
of unassuming but genial manners, 
of sterling integrity and good prac- 
tical judgment, he is a worthy rep- 
resentative of the stanch and pa- 
triotic pioneers of Georgia. 

BLISS, Frederick W., son of 
Cornelius V. and INIiriam (New- 
man) Bliss, was born in Georgia, 
April 9, 1855. Cornelius Bliss 
died in 1872 at the early age of 47. 
He was a merchant in Georgia 
Center and erected the Post & Bliss 
store; was many years a constable 
and tax collector and a stirring 
character during the Civil War 
period. He was a lineal descend- 
ant of one of the earliest pioneers 
of the town. Captain Benjamin 
Newman, the maternal grand- 
father of Frederick W. Bliss, was 
commander of one of the Georgia 
militia companies and served at 
Plattsburg in 1814. The family of 
Cornelius V. and ]\Iiriam (New- 
man) Bliss consisted of three sons 
and one daughter: Betsey A. (de- 
ceased) ; Chlorus C, a farmer at 
Burlington ; William Y., a phy- 
sician located at Tully, New York; 
and Frederick W. 

Frederick W. Bliss was educated 
in the excellent common and select 
schools of Georgia. Orphaned at 



FRANKLIN COUNTY. 



269 



the age of 17 by his father's early 
death, the care of the home farm 
of 80 acres devolved upon him. 
He is an energetic and successful 
farmer and has added 70 acres by 
purchase to the original homestead 
and now has one of the most desir- 
able and well-located farms in 



tillage is under a high state of cul- 
tivation. 

Mr. Bliss has a sugar place of 
500 trees, and a productive apple 
orchard. The farm supports a 
dairy of twenty or more cows and 
the young stock sufficient to keep 
good the dairy. Mr. Bliss has al- 




FiiEDEiticK W. Bliss. 



Georgia Center. All of the build- 
ings on the farm have lieen built 
or remodeled hy him. In 1893 the 
present excellent farm house was 
erected and the same year the 
horse barn, a modern and well-fin- 
ished building with basement for 
swine. The barns are roomy and 
convenient and the mowing and 



ways been interested in horse 
breeding, and is rearing some good 
colts. During the past half dozen 
years he has been engaged in the 
collection of cream for the Frank- 
lin County Creamery Association. 
He is a typical, stalwart Vermont 
farmer, of jovial manners, a good 
neighbor and esteemed citizen. He 



270 



SUCCESSFUL YERMONTERS. 



served the town several j-ears as 
lister and for 15 years has been a 
justice of the peace. 

Mr. Bliss married, in 1884, Har- 
riet L., danghter of Ephraim L. 
and Fanny (Leonard) Ladd of 
Georgia. Mrs. Bliss died in 1893, 
leaving two children : Raymond 
Van Ness, a member of the Georgia 



family is brightened by the charms 
of music and social intercourse. 

CURTIS, James K., son of Eli- 
jah and Caroline (Beals) Curtis, 
was born in Burlington, February 
20. 1845. John Curtis, his grand- 
father, came from Stanstead, Prov- 
ince of Quebec, to St. Albans in 
1822. Elijah, the youngest of his 




James K. Curtis and Sons. 



Cornet Band, and a student at 
Bellows Free Academy, and ]\Iar- 
guerite, aged 15. 

Mr. Bliss married, in December, 
1896. Fannie L, daughter of Ro- 
dolpluis and Lovisa (Warner) 
"Wood of Georgia. They have a 
son, William Cornelius, born De- 
cember 31, 1899. The home life 
of this interesting and hospitable 



two sons, was a wheelwright by 
trade, at St. Albans and Burling- 
ton, and moved to the home farm 
in Georgia in 1851. His four 
children were: Joseph (deceased), 
James K.. Sarah G. (]\Irs. J. R. 
Holyoke), and Atherton (de- 
ceased). 

James K. Curtis was educated in 
the academies of Georgia and Wil- 



FRANKLIN COUNTY, 



271 



liston. Since 1851 this farm has 
been his home. The farm is lo- 
cated one mile from Oakland sta- 
tion and four miles from St. Al- 
bans. The original farm of 75 
acres was increased to 350, but at 
the death of Elijah Curtis, in 1896, 
100 acres were set off to Mrs. Hol- 
yoke. From 1860 to 1870, a large 
and excellent flock of high grade 
merino sheep were profitably kept. 
Later Mr. Curtis began to breed 
the Jerseys, and now has a herd of 
45 cows, one of the best dairies of 
Franklin County. He keeps 65 
head of cattle and five horses on 
his 250-acre farm and sells about 
fifty tons of hay this year. The 
meadow and tillage comprise about 
one hundred acres. Much of the 
meadow is low, natural grass land, 
which is kept up by liberal top 
dressing. All of the land is plowed 
and re-seeded as often as once in 
five years. The result is an abun- 
dant crop of clover, red top and 
timothy hay, ^^'hich is cut early, 
and with the ensilage, makes a 
great butter producer. There is a 
good sugar place of 800 trees, well 
set up with tin buckets and evapo- 
rator, and the maple syrup finds a 
ready market at $1.00 per gallon. 
Mr. Curtis has built or rebuilt all 
of the farm buildings, which are 
now commodious and convenient. 
He is widely known as one of the 
most progressive and prosperous 
farmers of Vermont, and as a citi- 
zen of genuine character. 

Mr. Curtis married in 1872, Mar- 
tha E., daughter of Asahel and 
Lydia (Evarts) Allen. The 
Evarts family was in the early 
times one of the most prominent 
in Georgia, and James Evarts was 
the first representative. 

Atherton T. Curtis, the eldest 



son of James K., married Hattie 
Meigs of St. Albans, and now man- 
ages the home farm. Helen L., a 
graduate of Johnson and Oswego 
Normal schools, is a teacher at 
New Rochelle, New York. Ed- 
ward A. is superintendent of the 
farm of Doctor T. R. Waugh of 
CTCorgia. Harry Beals Curtis is 
on the home farm. 

James K. Curtis has held most of 
the town offices, and was a member 
of the Legislature in 1880. He 
was appointed by Governor Grout 
on the board of agriculture in 
1896, served four years, and was 
secretary of the State Dairymen's 
Association three years. 

Mr. and Mrs. Curtis are es- 
teemed members of the Methodist 
Episcopal church at North Fair- 
fax, and are typical rural Ver- 
monters. 

COBURN, Charles, son of 
Royal and Catherine (Rice) Co- 
burn, was born in Fairfield, April 
16, 1839. His early life was spent 
upon a farm and in attendance 
at the district schools of his native 
town. He went to New York state 
with his father's family, and in 
1861 enlisted in the Twenty-second 
New York Infantry as a fifer, and 
served two years, when he re-en- 
listed in the Sixteenth New York 
Heavy Artillery and served until 
the close of the war. His entire 
service was with the Army of the 
Potomac. 

He returned to Milton at the 
close of the war, and engaged in 
farming. 

He married, July 15, 1866, Cor- 
nelia, daughter of Archibald and 
Rhoda (Wheeler) Perry, and they 
resided in Milton 14 years. Their 
only son, Frank C, was born there, 
June 9, 1867. ]\Ir. Coburn moved 



272 



SUCCESSFUL VERMONTEKS. 



to Georgia in 1879, to the village 
home now owned and occupied by 
the family. 

Charles Coburn was an esteemed 
member of I. B. Eiehardson Post, 
G. A. E., of Fairfax. Possessing 
rare musical gifts, by his long 
army practice he became one of the 
best fifers in the state, and was 
called upon far and near to render 
that music on memorial and anni- 
versary occasions. He died, uni- 
versallv lamented bv the entire 






i 




Charles Cobukn. 

community, June 12, 1905, leaving 
a widow and an only son. 

Frank C. Coburn attended the 
Georgia schools. He married, in 
1890, Anna, daughter of Thomas 
and Sarah (Webb) Harriott of 
Oxford, New Yoi-k. They had 
three children : Hazel, aged 15 ; 
Susan, 13, and Thomas Harriott, 
10 years of age. 

In 1891 Frank C. Coburn began 
an engagement as a butter and 
cheese maker for Gardner ]\Iur- 
phy, which lasted for 12 years. 
He has been, and now is, employed 



in the same capacity for J. H. 
White & Son of Boston. 

]\Ir. Coburn has inherited his 
father's musical tastes, and is a 
member of the Georgia Cornet 
Band. 

BALLARD. Joseph. The name 
of Ballard in Georgia is a synonym 
for stanch and long-time citizen- 
ship, sound character and success- 
ful attainment in varied fields. Jo- 
seph, son of Orris and Chloe P. 
(Jocelyn) Ballard, was born on 
the ancestral farm, July 8, 1838. 
His grandfather and namesake, Jo- 
seph Ballard, removed from Tin- 
mouth to Georgia and married 
Polly Loomis in 1793, reared a nu- 
merous and virile family, and died 
in 1836. He settled on the farm 
which his namesake now owns, then 
almost an unbroken ^^^lderness. 
His son, Orris succeeded to this es- 
tate, where he was born, and which 
has been the family home to the 
present time. He was a stanch 
Republican, as are all of his sons. 
He died in May, 1881. 

The children of Orris and Chloe 
(Jocelyn) Ballard Avere: Joseph, 
the sub.ject of this sketch; George 
A. (deceased), the well-known at- 
torney of Fairfax : Henry, an ex- 
tensive farmer in Oxford, Furnace 
County, Nebraska : Chloe P., wife 
of Judson Carr; Emily, wife of 
Stearns Boy den ; and Orris, an 
auctioneer and farmer, all of 
Georgia. 

Joseph Ballard inherits the stal- 
wart physique and strong mental- 
ity of a hardy Ncav England an- 
cestry. A good common school 
education has been supplemented 
by extensive reading, especially in 
agricultural lines. In 1864 Jo- 
seph Ballard married ]\I. Augusta, 
daughter of Chellis Kingsley of 



PTtANKLlN COUNTY. 



273 



Georgia, and four children have 
been born to them. Herbert W. is 
superintendent of streets at St. Al- 
bans; Jessie L., wife of C. C. Dyer 
of Sutton ; Julian F. and George 
D., who are associated with their 
father in farming. 
Mr. Ballard succeeded to the pa- 



year, his horse barn, 40 x 50, and 
basement. These barns are models 
of convenience, handsomely fin- 
ished and roofed with slate, and are 
second to none in the county. A 
roomy and well-lighted basement 
of the main barn is the home of 
one of the best and most carefully 




Joseph Ballard. 



ternal estate, paying off the other 
heirs, and has become one of the 
most thorough, successful and well- 
known farmers of Vermont. His 
farming is both intensive and ex- 
tensive. He is an all-round 
farmer and a specialist in each de- 
partment. In 1895 he erected his 
large barn, 48 x 108, and a large 
shed, 70 x 24, and the following 

A— 19 



selected flocks of middle wool 
sheep in the state. His mature 
ewes weigh about one hundred and 
seventy-five pounds each, and av- 
erage 10-pound clips of wool. The 
flock is from the celebrated stock 
of John Campbell of Woodville, 
Ontario, the noted Shropshire 
breeder. Mr. Ballard has usually 
taken first prizes as an exhibitor in 



274 



SUCCESSFUL VERMONTERS. 



the different classes. His dairy is 
selected with an eye to individual 
merit, contains about forty cows, 
his special pride and distinction 
being a score or more of very fine 
Holsteins, with the registered bull, 
De Kol Lilleth Beauty at the head. 
He has sold some famous members 



four generations for more than a 
century. 

Joseph Ballard has served his 
town repeatedly as lister and se- 
lectman, and is a leader in the pro- 
gressive movements of the times. 
'^ WOOD. Horace R., son of Ro- 
dolphus and Lo\dsa (Warner) 




Horace R. Wood. 



of this celebrated family, and 
breeders will do well to examine 
his stock. The farm has been in- 
creased by purchases to 360 acres, 
of which 90 are in mowing and 40 
in annual tillage. Mr. Ballard 
and his sons find enjoyment and 
profit in the care of their well- 
bred and well-kept flocks and herds 
on the old homestead, the home of 



Wood, was born in Georgia, Sep- 
tember 30, 1865. 

Ebenezer Wood, the pioneer, 
and great-grandfather of Horace 
R., came from Pelham, Massachu- 
setts, to Georgia, about 1795, with 
his wife, Sarah Williams, and his 
family. He took up a lot of land 
on Georgia Plain, which has been 
the family home until the present 



FRANKLIN COUNTY. 



275 



time, for three generations of his 
descendants. Asaph was the 
youngest son of his family of eight 
children, all of whom lived to ma- 
turity, but only Asaph and Sardis 
of the brothers, settled in town. 
Asaph married Lucy Witters, suc- 
ceeded to the home farm, where he 
resided his entire life, and reared 
a family of seven children. Ro- 
dolphus, his son, was the fourth of 
the family of seven children, only 
one of whom, Mrs. Matilda Hib- 
bard, is now living. 

Rodolphus, at 25 years of age, 
went to California, in 1852, one of 
a party of 20 from this town, who 
went by the isthmus route. He 
had an eventful experience, en- 
gaged in mining, and later in 
bringing in supplies with ox teams, 
and was financially successful. At 
his father's death, in 1856, he came 
home and l)ought the old home- 
stead and cared for his aged mother 
until her death, in 1887, at the age 
of 87. In 1860, he married Lovisa, 
daughter of William K. AVarner, 
a well-known merchant of West 
Georgia. Seven children were 
born to them : Jennie, who died at 
the age of 18 ; Mary wife of 0. A. 
Stanley; Horace R., Fanny (Mrs. 
F. W. Bliss), Luna (Mrs. F. E. 
Wilcox), Lucy and Alson W. 

Rodolphus Wood was a man of 
great energy and a successful 
farmer, and by successive pur- 
chases increased the original farm 
to 300 acres. In 1897 he built the 
present excellent farmhouse. For 
many years a large flock of sheep 
was kept and Rodolphus Wood was 
also much interested in horse 
breeding. In recent years a good 
dairy of 25 cows, and the usual 
number of young stock, together 
with a flock of 50 Shropshire sheep 



and the farm team, are supported 
on the farm. 

Rodolphus Wood died, December 
29, 1901, at the age of 75. 

Horace R. Wood was schooled in 
the public and select schools of 
Georgia. He has always been a 
student of affairs, as well as of 
books, and is a capable, intelligent 
citizen and successful farmer. He 
has served as a school director, and 
in 1900 was elected representative 
from Georgia. 

He resides on the home place 
with his mother, and has recently 
bought the Hotchkiss farm, adjoin- 
ing, of 90 acres. 

He is a member of Sencal Lodge, 
No. 40, A. F. & A. M., of Milton, 
and also a charter member of Ban- 
ner Grange of Georgia; also Chit- 
tenden Chapter, No. 59, 0. E. S., 
Alilton. 

WOOD, Oscar Bradford, son of 
Norman E. and Harriett A. (Hub- 
bard) Wood, was born in Georgia, 
April 1, 1874. He is a lineal de- 
scendant of Ebenezer Wood, the 
pioneer of the family in Georgia. 
Norman E., son of Asaph Wood, 
was born before 1822 in Georgia, 
and was a life-long resident of that 
town, and died in 1899. On his 
mother's side Oscar B. Wood is a 
lineal descendant of Solomon Bliss, 
an early pi(meer of the town and a 
descendant from the early English 
stock of Alassachusetts. The Hub- 
bards were an early family in the 
town of Swanton. 

Oscar B. Wood was educated in 
the schools of his native town, af- 
terwards at the St. Albans Acad- 
emy and the University of Ver- 
mont, graduating from the latter 
institution in the class of 1900. By 
his father's death the care of the 
farm devolved upon him and he 



276 



SUCCESSFUL VERMONTERS. 



continued in that capacity, caring 
for his mother until her death in 
1904, and still resides there. 

The home farm of 250 acres lies 
midwav between Georgia Center 




OscAB B. Wood. 

and Georgia Plain, is in a high 
state of cultivation and contains an 
excellent sugar orchard of 800 
maples. During the past three 
years ]\Ir. Wood has conducted the 
Green Mountain Cheese Factory, 
located on his farm. 

At present he is a registered law 
student in the office of V. A. Bul- 
lard of Burlington and he is man- 
aging his business in such a way as 
to be able to devote his entire atten- 
tion to his legal studies. In 1902 
he was elected to the Legislature 
from Georgia, being one of the 
youngest members of that body. 
He has taken a deep interest in the 
cause of education and has served 
as director, superintendent and 
principal of the village school. 

In 1904 Uv. AVood married Ber- 



tha Alay, youngest daughter of 
Daniel and Frances Isham, of 
Stowe. They have an infant son, 
Francis Isham Wood. 

WOOD, Burt Henry, son of 
Seth Rice and Eliza (Caldwell) 
Wood, was born in Georgia, July 
10. 1869. His grandfather, Ebe- 
nezer, was an early settler of the 
town. 

Seth Rice Wood was born in Mil- 
ton, but soon after his marriage 
moved to the farm in Georgia, 
where he resided until 1883, Avhen 
the family went to Alichigan where 
Mr. Wood died in a few months. 
Burt. H. was the second son of a 
family of five children, and was 
only 14 years of age at his father's 
death. 

From that time he "paddled his 
own canoe" in life. He returned 




Mill of Bukt H. Wood. 

to Georgia with his mother's fam- 
ily and Avas employed in the St. 
Albans creamery three years, and 
later .several years at Belleview 
Farm milk route. He then, with 



FltANKLlK COtJ^SlTY. 



277 



his mother, took charge of a farm 
at Georgia Plains owned by Susan 
Means, and cared for an elderly 
couple until their death. His 
mother now owns and resides on the 
farm, which he still carries on. He 
married, October 29, 1896, Mary C, 
daughter of Hon. C. A. Hotchkiss 
of Georgia Plains. They have six 
interesting children : Gladys, Flor- 
ence, Bertha, Emogene, George and 
Cordelia. Mrs. Wood was a grad- 
uate of Johnson Normal School, a 
popular teacher and a descendant 
of an early and prominent family. 

In March, 1902, Mr. Wood 
bought the Gordon sawmill, grist- 
mill and store at Georgia Plains. 
His business is the most important 
factor of the town, his mills being 
the only ones in active operation. 
He usually manufactures from a 
quarter to a half million feet of 
lumber annually, including quite a 
quantity of shingles. 

Mr. Wood has recently installed 
a modern steel grinder in his 
gristmill that has a capacity of a 
bushel per minute. He is about 
putting in a stock of feed, which, 
with the grocery, will be a great 
local convenience. 

Burt H. Wood is a school di- 
rector of Georgia, an active and 
energetic character, and emphati- 
cally a self-made man. 

HIGHGATE. 

Population, Census of 1900, 1,980. 

Highgate was granted by Gov- 
ernor Wentworth of New Hamp- 
shire, August 17, 1763. One pro- 
vision of the charter was that the 
town should be occupied and set- 
tled within a specified time, the 
penalty being a forfeiture of the 
charter, but in fact it was not set- 
tled for more than twenty years 



after the charter was granted. As 
the authority of the grantor ter- 
minated before the expiration of 
the time limit, there was no power 
to which the town could revert. 
The General Assembly of Vermont, 
on the 26th of October, 1781, 
granted to Major Theodore Wood- 
bridge and company, and Mr. Jo- 
seph Jones and company, to the 
number of 65, a township six miles 
square in some unoccupied lands 
within the state. Theodore Wood- 
bridge was a major in the Conti- 
nental service, a citizen of Rhode 
Island, and Jones was a member 
of the Congress from Virginia. 
The charter to Woodbridge of this 
town, named Woodbridge, was for- 
feited for non-payment of taxes. 
On account of his services as sur- 
veyor-general of the state, Ira Al- 
len became a creditor of the state 
to the amount of $15,000, for the 
collection and enforcement of 
which he brought suit and ob- 
tained judgment. This not being 
paid in some instances, the lands 
were sold and bid in by Allen. In 
1792 Caleb Henderson sold nearly 
the whole town of Highgate for 
taxes for the sum of £93, to Ira Al- 
len, and still later Sheriff Noah 
Chittenden sold the town for £9, 
the deeds of both sales being re- 
corded in 1803. 

The present outlines of the town 
do not nearly conform with the 
limitations of either charter, or of 
the Allen titles. 

The pioneers of the town were 
Joseph Reycard, who settled near 
the Canadian line, John Hilliker 
on the Missisquoi, north of Swan- 
ton; Jeremiah Brewer and 
Thomas Butterfield, on the west 
side of the Rock River. The above 
settlers came during the years 
1785 and 1786. 



278 



SUCCESSFUL VEKMONTERS. 



In 1787 John Saxe built the 
first gristmill in the northeast part 
of the town, which has since borne 
the name of Saxe's Mills. In 
1791 the first death occurred, Cath- 
erine, the wife of John Saxe. That 
year a school was established in 
a house near Saxe's mill, and was 
taught by Simeon Foster. 

In 1797 Andrew Potter built the 
first saw^mill at the falls, and soon 
after, a gristmill. 

In 1801 Matthew Godfrew and 
Peter Saxe built the first store and 
tavern, and the next year the first 
frame houses were built by Elijah 
Kood, Newcomb and Conrad Barr. 
Doctor Joseph B. Cutler, the first 
physician, settled in 1806, and re- 
mained in town until his death in 
1861. The first tannery was 
erected b}^ Jonathan Loudon in 
1811. 

In 1791 the population of High- 
gate numbered 103, and the town 
was duly organized by the election 
of town officers. Thus the organ- 
ization of the town and the admis- 
sion of the state to the Union were 
contemporaneous. 

John Waggoner was elected 
moderator; Johnathan Butterfield, 
town clerk; Isaac Asseltine and 
Manuel Teachout, constables ; John 
Waggoner, INIichael Lapman and 
John Hilliker, selectmen. The 
first representative, John Knicker- 
bocker, was elected in 1792. 

During the prevalence of the em- 
bargo act, the people of Highgate 
suffered much privation from the 
discontinuance of their trade with 
their special customers in Canada. 
Many of them came from Canada, 
and believing the law to be unjust, 
they naturally resorted to a con- 
tinuance of trade by smuggling 
goods across the line. Very few 
were arrested, but in 1808, three 



men of Highgate, William Noakes, 
Slocum Clark and Truman Mudg- 
ett, were caught with the smug- 
gling vessel. Black Snake, and in- 
dicted. Yet when the war actu- 
ally commenced, Highgate was 
loyal, and sent Captain Saxe and 
11 men to the defense of Platts- 
burg. 

During the so-called Papinean 
Rebellion a motley force of about 
two hundred men and boys passed 
through the town en route to Can- 
ada. Their raid speedily termin- 
ated in confusion and defeat. 
Two companies of militia from 
Highgate were called into service 
for several weeks during the 
spring of 1839, to insure neutral- 
ity on the border. 

During the Civil War Highgate 
is credited with having furnished 
222 men, 12 of whom were killed 
in battle, 22 died of wounds and 
disease contracted in the service, 
and 27 were discharged for disa- 
liility. 

TROIMBLEY, Jeremiah M., son 
of Thomas J. and Olive (Dashner) 
Trombley, was born in Highgate, 
January 21, 1874. His father was 
a life-long resident of this town. 
Jeremiah M. Trombley was the 
youngest son of a family of 17 
children, 10 of whom are living; 
the others died in childhood. A 
brother and sister are living in 
Highgate, Tuffield L. Trombley, a 
merchant and postmaster at lower 
village, and Emeline, wife of 
Charles M. Tatro. 

Jeremiah M. Trombley attended 
the public schools and six months 
at a commercial college, but after 
he was 12 years old paid his own 
way. He had a varied and prac- 
tical mercantile training. He 
worked in a woolen mill three years 
at Springfield, then four years for 



FRANKLIN COUNTY. 



279 



C. R. Lyon, and some four years 
for Burdick & Holmes of Highgate. 
Later he ran the gristmill one year 
and was in trade in Highgate in 
company with C. M. Tatro, trav- 
eled for the jNIead Manufacturing 
Company of Burlington one year 
and traded at the Lantman store 
at East Highgate. Meanwhile he 
accumulated a fund of useful ex- 
perience, which made good when he 
exchanged his store goods for C. 
E. Britch's farm and took stock in 




Jebemiah M. Tkombley. 

the Highgate Foundry Company. 
This business was established in 
1857 and incorporated in 1897 with 
a capital of $15,000; Jeremiah M. 
Trombley, president and manager; 
H. W. Baxter, secretary and treas- 
urer. The company manufactures 
stoves and ranges and job castings 
of all kinds. They employ twenty- 
five or thirty men, including team- 
sters, and are doing a flourishing 
business, with five months' orders 



on hand. Mr. Trombley 's energy 
and good judgment have won pub- 
lic confidence. 

He was elected selectman in 1904 
and the ensuing year was elected 
overseer of the poor, also poor 
house director, ofiices which he has 
since creditably held. He is a 
member of C. 0. F. 

He married, in 1894, Lena M. 
Derosia. They have three chil- 
dren living: Ruth Winifred, 
Chliele T. and Keith H. Trombley. 

PHELPS, Edwin James, son of 
Elkanah and Emily (Chappell) 
Phelps, was born in Stanbridge, 
Quebec, September 23, 1829. He 
came to Highgate in 1841 and was 
educated in the public schools. He 
learned the tanner's trade of Dar- 
win Hj^de and successfully engaged 
in the tanning business during all 
of his active life, the last in Ver- 
mont to continue the early method 
of using hemlock bark and cold 
liquors. ]\Ir. Phelps was the first 
to engage largely in the manufac- 
ture of wool boots for the general 
trade, continuing that feature for 
nearly a score of years. 

He was an expert in his specialty 
and an excellent type of the skill- 
ful, industrious mechanic of his 
time, at once a capitalist and a 
laborer. With the exception of 
two years spent in Burlington he 
was continuously a resident in East 
Highgate until his lamented death, 
April 11, 1906. 

For more than thirty years Mr. 
Phelps was actively interested in 
the municipal affairs of the town 
and village, repeatedly served as 
selectman and was justice of the 
peace many years until the time of 
his death. A Republican in poli- 
tics, he was elected to the Legis- 
lature from Highgate in 1888 and 
was a useful member of that body. 



280 



SUCCESSFUL VERMOKTERS. 



By steady industry, good judgment 
and sterling integrity he became 
successful financially and won the 
confidence and esteem of his asso- 
ciates. He was many years a mem- 
ber of the Masonic fraternity. 

Mr. Phelps married in Novem- 
ber, 1858, Miss Adeline Barnes of 



Mr. and Mrs. Phelps were benev- 
olent and adopted two children, 
George Phelps, a nephew, and Ber- 
tha Barnes, a niece of Mrs. Phelps. 

HERRICK, Elihu E., son of 
Daniel and Melinda Crossett 
(Brown) Herrick, was born in 
Highgate. November 12, 1845. 




Edwin J. Phelps. 



Kemptville, Province of Ontario. 
Four children were born to them: 
Beulah, wife of W. H. Cruikshank, 
of Essex, New York ; Mrs. Fannie 
E. Crowell of East Highgate : Wil- 
lie (deceased in infancy), and Leon 
M., a chemist in the employ of the 
American Dyewood Company at 
Philadelphia. 



Daniel Herrick was a farmer 
and business man, and for a time 
owned and conducted a sawmill 
and gristmill in Canada. Elihu 
was the only son by a second mar- 
riage, and the only daughter is 
Victoria, widow of the late J. H. 
Stimetz. 

Elihu 's boyhood was spent in 



fi;anklin county 



281 



Canada. After accumulating a 
modest sum, in 1880 he came to 
Highgate and bought the old Her- 
rick farm on which he was born, 
located about three miles from 
each village. The farm, contain- 
ing 267 acres of natural grass and 
grain land, then kept 16 cows and 
the team. Mr. Herrick possessed a 
clear mind, resolute will and vigor- 
ous body, and in a score of years 
more than doubled the farm pro- 
ductions. He installed a circular 




Elihu E. Herrick. 

silo of 300 tons' capacity, built or 
rebuilt all of the barns, repaired 
the house, plowed and reseeded the 
land, and increased his dairy to 45 
good grade Jersey cows. His busi- 
ness activities overleaped the farm, 
for he bought and sold farm 
produce extensively, and with J. 
B. Sanderson started and con- 
ducted Maplewood Creamery, the 
first in this town. He sold the 
farm in 1902, moved to Highgate 
Center, and devotes his entire at- 



tention to trade in country produce, 
hay, straw and potatoes a specialty. 

Elihu E. Herrick married, in 
1868, Martha, daughter of Alvin 
Hoskins of Highgate. They have 
one daughter, Mattie Malinda, 
wife of George W. Bates, a con- 
tractor at Springfield. Mr. Her- 
rick is a resolute and thorough 
business man, with excellent exec- 
utive ability, and is successful 
financially. He is a member of 
Highgate Lodge, No. 69, I. 0. 0. F. 
He has served as constable and col- 
lector, also as road commissioner, 
and repeatedly as selectman. In 
politics, a Republican, he repre- 
sented Highgate in 1904 and suc- 
ceeded in securing an appropria- 
tion for the town's permanent 
roads, which he economically ad- 
ministered. 

RIXFORD, Hon. Oscar S., son 
of Luther and Sarah Haskins Rix- 
ford, was born at Winchester, New 
Hampshire, March 2, 1828. His 
grandfather, William Rixford, was 
an early pioneer of that town. 

Luther Rixford came to High- 
gate in 1837 and engaged in the 
manufacture of scythes, later tak- 
ing in as partners his sons, Luther 
P. and Oscar S. Another son, 
Bradford, a graduate of U. V. M., 
was a lawyer and later in the pen- 
sion bureau at Washington. 

Oscar S. Rixford, after complet- 
ing his education at St. Albans and 
Bakersfield academies, returned to 
East Highgate and at his majority 
became a partner in the scythe fac- 
tory, then employing ten or twelve 
men. Some six years later, Mr. 
Rixford became sole proprietor and 
conducted a constantly increasing 
business, in 1880 adding the manu- 
facture of axes. In 1868 he in- 
stalled a large scythe factory at 
Bedford, Province of Quebec, and 



28-2 



SUCCESSFUL VERMONTERS. 



six years later added the feature of 
axe manufacture. In 1882 this 
business was incorporated as the 
O. S. Eixford ^Manufacturing Co., 
and the business was continued un- 
til 1888. 

The business at East Hieheate 



The business was incorporated in 
1900 as the Rixford Manufacturing 
Co., wdth a capital of $80,000 ; Os- 
car S. Rixford, president and man- 
ager; Oscar H. Rixford, vice-pres- 
ident and clerk. The payroll of 
this important business carries the 




OscAK S. Rixford. 



has been conducted with steadily 
increasing output until the present 
time, and the Rixford scythes and 
axes have a high and well-deserved 
standing as standard implements 
in the general markets of the coun- 
try. The annual output is about 
three thousand dozen scythes and 
four thousand dozen axes. 



names of 45 men, and is the indus- 
trial life-blood of East Highgate. 

0. S. Rixford has entered heart- 
ily into local improvements, is an 
extensive fruit farmer, with the 
largest orchard of Fameuse apple 
trees in the world. In politics, a 
stanch Republican ; on account of 
the demands of his business he has 



FRANKLIN COUNTY, 



283 



refused to accept town office, but 
represented Highoate in the Legis- 
lature in 1862 and 1863, and was a 
senator from Franklin County in 
1876. He is a Universalist in reli- 
gious belief, and a Mason of many 
years' standing. 

0. S. Rixford married, in 1858, 
Mary, niece of Reverend Henry P. 



Mary E., Mrs. Norman Knight of 
Ansonia, Connecticut, and Susan 
K., who remains with her parents. 
Mr. Rixford for nearly three 
score years has been a prominent 
figure in the business life of this 
section, and is highly esteemed as 
an energetic, benevolent and liberal 
minded citizen. 




Charles C. Sheldon. 



Cutting of Troy. Oscar H. Rix- 
ford M'as born in 1860, educated at 
Goddard Seminary, Barre, and is 
associated with his father in busi- 
ness. He married Elisabeth Leach 
of Fairfield, and they have one son, 
Oscar A. The other children of 
0. S. and Mary C. Rixford are 
Henry C, who died in infancy; 



SHELDON, Charles C, son of 
Deacon John and Honor Hitchcock 
(Adams) Sheldon, was born at 
Sheldon, November 10, 1845. 

Deacon Sheldon was born in 
Pittsford, and came to Sheldon in 
1825, was twice married and reared 
a large family, of which Charles 
was the youngest son by the last 



28-1 



SUCCESSFUL VEEMONTERS. 



marriage. He received a thorough 
practical education at Franklin 
Academy and at Eastman's Busi- 
ness College, and remained on the 
paternal farm until the death of 
Deacon Sheldon in 1872, at the age 
of 72. He then bought the farm, 
paid off the other heirs and con- 
tinued fanning until 1880, when 
he sold and moved his family to 
East Highgate. After making a 
tour of inspection in the West, Mr. 
Sheldon returned to East High- 
gate and formed a partnership 
with the late Edward J. Phelps in 
the business of tanning sheep 
pelts and making wool boots, then 
a new and successful enterprise. 
Mr. Sheldon is a ready talker and 
a clean-cut business man, with un- 
usual courage and initiative, — in 
fact, a natural pioneer. He dis- 
covered the superior keeping qual- 
ities of the western pelts and 
bought extensively at Kansas City, 
Omaha, Chicago and elsewhere, 
and with ]\Ir. Phelps developed a 
business of more than twelve thou- 
sand per annum. In 1886 he dis- 
posed of his interest in the tan- 
nery and bought the fine hill farm 
of his father-in-law, Edgar R. 
Frost, one of the earliest and most 
famous breeders of thoroughbred 
Jerseys in Vermont. 

Frost Hill stock farm is pleas- 
antly located three fourths of a 
mile from the railroad station and 
one and a fourth miles from East 
Highgate; originally 200 acres, 
now increased to 300; carries a 
splendid herd of 50 thoroughbred 
Jerseys and six horses. 

]\Ir. Sheldon is at once an ex- 
tensive and intensive farmer. He 
installed two large silos, bought 
improved farm machinery, rebuilt, 
remodelled and doubled the capac- 
ity of the barns, and in 1902 



erected an elegant and commodious 
residence. By use of the silos, 
thorough culture and judicious ro- 
tation of crops, he has more than 
doubled the farm productions. The 
farm contains a large sugar place 
and a fine orchard. 

Mr. Sheldon is chairman of the 
Republican town committee and a 
frequent and active delegate to 
county, district and state conven- 
tions. He has served several 
terms as school director and select- 
man, and in 1896 represented 
Highgate in the Legislature. 

He married, in 1871, Florence 
E., daughter of Edgar R. and Al- 
zina (Fillmore) Frost. Their six 
children have been educated at 
Brigham Academy. Leonard J. is 
a printer in Boston, Daniel F. is a 
dentist in Franklin, Jennie F. mar- 
ried V. H. Nye of Highgate, 
Charles Edgar is with his father. 
William P. died at 20 years of age 
and Ernest Hitchcock is at the 
home farm. 

ENOSBURG 

Population, Census of 1900. 2,054. 

The town of Enosburg was 
granted ]\Iarch 12, 1780, and was 
chartered on ]\Iay 15 of that year 
by Governor Chittenden to Roger 
Enos (for whom the town was 
named) and his 59 associates. The 
first proprietors' meeting was held 
September 8, 1795, at the house of 
Joseph Baker in Bakersfield. At 
this meeting Jedediah Hyde, Ste- 
phen House, Samuel D. Sheldon, 
Levi House, Amos Fassett, Joseph 
Baker and Martin D. Follett were 
chosen a committee to allot the 
town. 

The town was organized ]\Iarch 
19, 1798, at the house of Samuel 
Little in Enosburg, and the follow- 
ing of^cers were chosen : Jonas 



286 



SUCCESSFUL VERMONTERS. 



Brigham, moderator; Isaac B. Far- 
rer, town clerk; Charles Follett, 
Samuel Little and Martin Diin- 
niug, selectmen. 

The first business of this board 
was the following: 

"This may certify that we do 
approve of Mr. Lewis Sweatland 
entertaining and retailing liquors 
by small quantity, as an innkeeper 
at his house in Enosburgh, for one 
year from date." 

This was certainly local option 
and home rule, and doubtless 
worked quite as well as our pres- 
ent complicated and much broken 
law. 

The first freemen's meeting was 
held September 3, 1799, and chose 
William Barber to represent the 
town in the General Assembly. 

At a town meeting held March 
7, 1804, "to see if the town will 
raise money to compensate minis- 
ters of the gospel," it was "voted 
not to raise money to pay preach- 
ers. ' ' 

Enosburg, like other Vermont 
towns in the early days, showed 
marked military zeal, and her sons 
have ever proven their right and 
title to high place for loyalty to 
not only their town but their be- 
loved Green ^Mountain state and 
the nation. For the War of 1812 
a company of 23 was raised, with 
Martin D. Follett as captain. In 
1801 the town voted to raise a tax 
of $50 "to fill a magazine with 
powder and lead." In the Civil 
War Enosburg did her full share 
and 22 of her sons gave their lives 
either on battlefields, in prisons or 
hospitals "that this nation, under 
God, shall have a new birth of 
freedom. ' ' 

Enosburg gave to the state Hor- 
ace Eaton, a strong, sturdy char- 
acter of great worth. He served as 



state superintendent of schools, 
lieutenant-governor and governor 
of the state. 

The first school house to be 
erected in Enosburg was built of 
logs and was covered with bark 
and had a bark floor. Betsey Lit- 
tle was hired to teach the school. 

In 1812 Joseph Wright started 
a gristmill. Wright inaugurated 
a practice in his business which 
would be highly appreciated in 
this later day, but which has long 
since been discontinued : he used 
to measure every grist in his half 
bushel, stop the mill between each 
grist if bolted; after stopping the 
mill, he would turn the bolt by 
hand with a crank and clean it all 
out. thus giving each man his own 
grist and all of it. Mr. Wright 
was a very religious man and stren- 
uously practised what he preached. 

The Congregational Society was 
organized October 11, 1811. In 
1820 the society built its "meeting 
house," which was the second Con- 
gregational Church to be built in 
this country. The meeting house 
was remodelled in 1849. 

The Methodists commenced to 
preach in Enosburg as early as 
1812. In 1813 a class of about a 
dozen was formed. In 1839 a 
meeting house was built at West 
Enosburg, and a few years later a 
Union house was built at the Falls. 
The Protestant Episcopal Church 
was organized INIay 6, 1822, and the 
Baptists organized a church at the 
Falls in 1830. Prior to this, in 
1810, a Baptist Church was organ- 
ized at East Enosburg and a 
French Baptist Church was or- 
ganized in 1858. In 1863 Catholic 
services were first held in town 
and, December 10. 1865, a chapel 
was dedicated to the Almighty by 



i". 



I TILDE N FO 






rL~ 



FRANKLIN COUNTY. 



287 



the Right Reverend L. cle Goes- 
briand, bishop of Burlington. 

The recent history of this hust- 
ling town is best told in the 
sketches of her leading citizens 
which follow. 

MARSH, General Carmi L. 
Many of the incidents in the career 
of the subject of this sketch are fit 
to "point a moral and adorn a 
tale," and appeal to the best in- 
stincts and sympathies of our com- 
mon humanity. 

Carmi L., son of Lathrop and 
Lucy (Chadwick) Marsh, was born 
at Franklin, August 4, 1842. 

Lathrop ]\Iarsh was a farmer, a 
worthy type of the substantial ante 
bellum Vermont farmer. 

Carmi L. Marsh was reared amid 
the wholesome environments of 
rural life and his educational ad- 
vantages were limited to the com- 
mon schools. At 20 years of age 
he resigned the comforts and en- 
joyments of home and enlisted in 
Company K, Thirteenth A^ermont 
Regiment, Colonel F. V. Randall, 
and was soon promoted to the sec- 
ond lieutenancy of his company. 

In December, 1862, he was taken 
sick with pneumonia when in camp 
near Fairfax Court House, entered 
the hospital January 1, 1863, and 
later was marched to Wolf Run 
Shoals, w^here his condition be- 
came critical. His comrades tele- 
graphed his parents, who at once 
came to the front and found him in 
a hospital tent, hovering between 
life and death. Realizing that his 
recovery depended upon excellent 
nursing under more favorable con- 
ditions, his parents at last secured 
quarters in the home of a widow 
lady, Mrs. Wilcoxon. Though sym- 
pathizing warmly with the South- 
ern cause, with the genuine and 
proverbial hospitality of a true Vir- 



ginian, for five weeks she opened 
her home to the Northern soldier 
boy and freely placed at his dis- 
posal every comfort and kindness 
which she possessed. At last a 
vigorous constitution and youth 
triumphed over disease and, March 
18, young Marsh became strong 
enough to start on his homeward 
journey, where he arrived a living 
skeleton, weighing 75 pounds. He 
was soon afterwards discharged 
for physical disability, but grad- 
ually recuperated his health and 
strength. 

Two years after his return from 
the South and settlement on the 
ancestral farm, Mr. Marsh married 
Delia E. Pelton of Highgate. They 
spent 14 happy, prosperous years 
upon the farm, and two children 
were born to them : Lucy, now wife 
of F. W. Draper, a prosperous 
farmer and banker, and Lathrop 
L., both resident at Enosburg. 

In 1879 General Marsh formed 
a co-partnership with Dr. B. J. 
Kendall in the patent medicine 
business at Enosburg Falls, the 
principal article being the well- 
kno^\ai Kendall spavin cure. Soon 
afterwards they took in Hon. Olin 
Merrill as a partner, and within 
two years Hon. ]\Ioses P. Perley. 
The business increased by leaps 
and bounds and four years after 
the original partnership "vvas 
formed a stock company was or- 
ganized. 

Later, Doctor Kendall's quarter 
interest in the company was pur- 
chased by the other members for 
$100,000.^ This business is the life 
blood of the prosperity of Enos- 
burg Falls, and is one of the most 
reputable and widely known estab- 
lishments of its kind in New Eng- 
land. General Marsh has been and 
is its president, and is recognized 



288 



SUCCESSFUL vekmontp:rs. 



as a far sighted and able financier 
and a bnsiuess man of absolute in- 
tegrity. 

Thirty-five years after his almost 
miracnlons recovery, he resolved to 
seek out his benefactress and ex- 
press in a substantial way his grat- 
itude. After many inquiries he 
found her, 80 years of age, her 
property gone, living in penury at 
Manassas Junction, Virginia. The 
.joy of that reunion was mutual and 
heartfelt. -General Marsh show- 
ered upon her the bounties of his 
wealth and cheered her heart by 
placing her in pleasant and com- 
fortable circumstances, and every 
year has visited her in her South- 
ern home. "Cast thy bread upon 
the M-aters and after man.y days it 
shall return." 

Public honors have worthily 
come to the subject of this sketch. 
In 1878 he represented the town of 
Franklin in the Legislature and in 
1886 was a senator from Franklin 
County. He held the office of 
judge-advocate general of Vermont 
under Governors Barstow and Piu- 
gree, from 1882 to 1886. He has 
kept the ancestral farm and main- 
tained his interest in agriculture. 
He owns and conducts a large grist- 
mill and has probably the largest 
grain and feed business in this sec- 
tion. In all of his undertakings 
he exemplifies the qualities of 
sound judgment and steady perse- 
verance which finally win success. 
A well-preserved and active man 
at 64, he carries large responsibil- 
ities with a firm grasp and an easy 
confidence that eliminates the waste 
of nervous strain and worry. 

Genial and unpretending in man- 
ner, he has a wide circle of ac- 
quaintances and every accjuaint- 
ance is a friend. General ]\Iarsh 
has been peculiarly fortunate in his 



domestic relations and intensely 
enjoys and appreciates his home 
and kindred. 

Broad gauge in his social and in- 
tellectual affinities, he takes an ac- 
tive interest in the public move- 
ments of the time and is intensely 
loyal to his adopted town. He is 
a member of Lincoln Lodge, F. & 
A. ]\I., of Enosburg. He is also a 
member of Marsh Post, No. 80, of 
Franklin, and vice-president of the 
First Armv Corps Association of 
the Civil War. 

JEXXE, John G., a son of Na- 
thaniel and Huldah (Folsom) 
Jenne. was born in Berkshire, July 
14, 1833. He received a substan- 
tial education in the schools of his 
native town. Having early deter- 
mined on agriculture as an occu- 
pation, he farmed in Berkshire un- 
til 1867, when he located in Enos- 
burg Falls and opened a stove 
store. This soon grew to a general 
hardware business and by the ap- 
plication of Mr. Jenne 's well- 
known business principles of ab- 
solute integrity, no misrepresenta- 
tion and an absolute "square deal" 
to all, soon built up one of the 
largest and best general hardware 
trades in northern Vermont. Mr. 
Jenne continued in trade until 
1890, when he retired from active 
mercantile trade and since that 
time has been enjoying a well-de- 
served rest and giving his attention 
to the care of his real estate and 
doing a considerable fire insurance 
and pension business. 

In 1868 Mr. Jenne was elected 
as one of the justices of Enosburg, 
and since that time has been the 
principal trial justice of the 
town, his decisions being generally 
characterized by a soundness of 
mind and a broadness of thought 
that have won much praise. For 



FRANKLIN COUNTY. 



289 



six years he was town liquor agent 
under the prohibitory law, and his 
administration of this difficult of- 
fice was highly satisfactory to the 
best element of his town. Mr. 
Jenne has served Enosburg as 
lister, three years as selectman, 



21, 1859, a noted physician and 
surgeon, who has won high honors 
in not only his chosen profession, 
but in military affairs and the ser- 
vice of his country, having passed 
from the rank of lieutenant to 
brigadier-general; Cortiz E., born 




John G. Jenne. 



and represented the town in the 
Legislature in 1878-79. 

October 9, 1854, Mr. Jenne was 
united in marriage to Charlotte 
T. "Woodworth of Berkshire, who 
bore him seven children: Axah I., 
born March 14, 1856, deceased ; 
Ella A., born August 15, 1857, de- 
ceased; James N., born December 

A-20 



January 3, 1863, deceased; Charles 
S., born August 31, 1865, de- 
ceased; Minnie C, born May 14. 
1868, married Lothrop L., son of 
General Carmi L. Marsh, June 2, 
1897, and George H., born Octo- 
ber 31, 1872, deceased. Mrs. 
Jenne died November 8, 1872, and 
April 8, 1874, he married for his 



290 



SUCCESSFUL vp:rmontei:s. 



second ^^-ife, Mary D. Kimball of 
Enosburg. She died March 24, 
1893. 

HUTCHIXSOX, Doctor Will- 
iam Robert, a son of John and 
Eliza (Mitchell) Hutchinson, was 
born at North Hero, December 16, 
1824. He received his early edn- 



uated in 1848. He first located at 
Yergennes, but in a few months 
moved to Enosburg Center, where 
for more than a quarter of a cen- 
tury he successfully practiced his 
chosen profession. In September, 
1875 he moved to Enosburg Falls, 
and turned over his large practice 




William R. Hutchinson, M. D. 



cation in the district school and 
academy in the town of Monkton, 
and for some years was a successful 
school teacher. In 1845 he began 
the study of medicine with Doctor 
George E. Stowe of ]Monkton ; later 
he attended the Vermont Aca'demy 
of Medicine at Castleton and grad- 



to his son, Doctor William W. 
Hutchinson. His practice grew 
until it was very extensive. For 
more than fifty years Doctor 
Hutchinson always held himself in 
readiness to respond to everj^ call 
without regard to distance or the 
conditon of the weather. His edu- 



FHAXKLIN COUNTY. 



201 



cation and training for his great 
life-work was broad and thorough 
and he entered into its study and 
practice with a determination to 
acquire and equip himself in the 
best possible manner, to both de- 
serve and win success. And his 
great ability, knowledge and pains- 



townsmen to serve them in public 
capacity. For 20 years he was 
town clerk of Enosburg, five years 
postmaster, six years town super- 
intendent of schools, represented 
the town in the General Assembly 
in 1864r-'65, for years was a justice 
of the peace and health officer. In 




William \V. Hutchinson, M. D. 



taking care won for him a lasting 
place in the medical history of his 
county and state. 

Notwithstanding the great 
amount of professional labor that 
Doctor Hutchinson was called 
upon to do, he ever found time to 
respond to the frequent call of his 



1869 he was chosen to represent 
Franklin County in the state Sen- 
ate. In every public office he served 
with fidelity and care, discharging 
the duties he was called upon to 
perform with alulity and to the sat- 
isfaction of his people. He was 
for several years the vice-president 



292 



SUCCESSFUL VERMONTERS. 



of the Richford Savings Bank and 
Trust Company. 

Doctor William R. Hutchinson 
was a member of the county, state 
and national medical associations, 
and M^as in 1877 and 1892 a dele- 
gate from Vermont to the national 
body. For several years he was 



Doctor William W. Hutchinson, 
son of Doctor William R. and Ce- 
linda C. (Smith) Hutchinson, was 
born at Enosburg, February 15, 
1850; he was educated in the pub- 
lic schools, at the academy at Enos- 
burg Center, Montpelier Seminary 
and graduated from the medical 




Fkederick S. Hutchinson, M. U. 



assistant surgeon in connection with 
the military organizations of Ver- 
mont, having ben appointed by 
Governor Frederick Holbrook. 

April 26, 1849, Doctor Hutchin- 
son was married to Celinda C. 
Smith of Monkton. Two sons. 
Doctor William Watson Hutchin- 
son and Doctor Frederick S., were 
born to them. 



department. University of Ver- 
mont, in the class of 1874. He lo- 
cated at Enosburg Center and the 
following year succeeded to his 
father's practice, when he removed 
to Enosburg Falls in 1895. At 
this time he succeeded his father as 
town clerk and has held this place 
continuously to the present time, 
making more than fifty years that 



FRANKLIN COtJNTY. 



293 



this office has been held by father 
and son. Doctor Hutchinson re- 
mained at Enosburg Center until 
1896, when he located at the 
"Falls." He is a member of both 
the Franklin County and state 
medical societies, and besides serv- 
ing as town clerk, he has filled the 
office of town treasurer the past 
four years, justice of the peace 32 
years, school director, and in 1882 
represented Enosburg in the Legis- 
lature, serving on the committee on 
insane. 

October 28, 1874, Doctor Hutch- 
inson was united in marriage to 
Mary E. Stone. To them one child 
was born : William S., a civil engi- 
neer, now in the employ of the Cen- 
tral Vermont Railroad. Mrs. 
Hutchinson died June 12, 1905. 

Doctor Frederick S. Hutchinson, 
son of Doctor William R. and Ce- 
linda C. (Smith) Hutchinson, was 
born in Enosburg March 27, 1861 ; 
received his education in the public 
schools of his native town, gradu- 
ated from Montpelier Seminary in 
the class of 1877, when 16 years of 
age, and from the medical depart- 
ment of the University of Vermont 
in the class of 1882, when 21 years 
of age. He immediately located in 
his native town and has won an en- 
viable practice as both physician 
and surgeon. As a physician he is 
broad gauge, careful and success- 
ful ; as a surgeon, he has displayed 
exceptional skill in performing 
difficult operations with a delicacy 
of touch and steadiness of nerve 
which has won for him a flattering 
reputation. 

WOODWORTH, Hon. Arthur 
Wellington, a son of William S. 
and Patience S. (Stevens) Wood- 
worth, was born in Berkshire, May 
7, 1823. 

Among the strong and in many 



ways remarkable men of Vermont, 
is Hon. Arthur W. Woodworth, 
now in his eighty-fourth year, 
strong in both mind and body, 
keen, alert and active as most men 
of 50. Mr. Woodworth inherited 
a splendid physique and while he 
has always been an indefatigable 
worker, he has always taken proper 
care of the body. He received his 
education in the district schools of 
his early day and under the guid- 
ance of his father learned the car- 
penter trade and continued to fol- 
low that occupation until 1844. He 
then entered the employ of Judge 
Aldis and Lawrence Brainard of 
St. Albans as a farm hand, and his 
training and natural taste for pru- 
dence and care enabled him, upon 
his return to Enosburg, to purchase 
a farm, which for more than half 
a century received his careful at- 
tention. 

When the Central Vermont Rail- 
road was built as far as Enosburg, 
he became one of the directors of 
the road and furnished a very large 
amount of ties and wood to that 
corporation. He became a joint 
owner and manager in the lumber 
manufacturing company at Samp- 
sonville and continued until 1900, 
when he retired, and is devoting his 
time largely to buying and selling 
farms, timber lands, and banking. 
He has 1,400 acres of wild land 
and a sawmill in Westfield, owns 
500 acres in Sheldon and several 
farms, including one carrying 31 
cows, in Richford. He controls a 
splendid creamery at Enosburg 
Falls, and April 1, 1905, organized 
the First National Bank of Enos- 
burg, of which institution he is 
president and one of the directors, 
and although a young institution, 
under his energetic, yet conserva- 
tive management this bank is fast 




AlJTUUK W. WOODWOKTH. 



FRANKLIN COUNTY. 



295 



winning a firm hold upon the confi- 
dence and business of Enosburg 
Falls and vicinity. 

In politics, Mr. Woodworth is a 
sturdy Republican of the old 
school; above tricks and the cheap 
intrigues that are altogether too 
often practiced in public life today. 



November 15, 1848, Mr. Wood- 
worth was united in marriage to 
Adaline T., a daughter of Alpheus 
and Jane (French) Ladd of Enos- 
burg. To them was bom one 
daughter, Linnie R. (Mrs. Walter 
V. Phelps), who died October 26, 
1905. 




Waltek V. Phelps. 



He cast his first presidential vote 
for Henry Clay and has always 
taken a deep interest in public mat- 
ters. He represented Enosburg in 
the General Assembly of 1858 and 
again in 1859, and in 1880 served 
Franklin County as one of her 
senators. 



PHELPS, Walter V., was born 
in Stanbridge, Quebec, February 
26, 1860, a son of John W. and 
Harriet S. (Taylor) Phelps. He 
was educated in the public schools 
of his native town and at Stan- 
bridge Academy. He worked on 
the home farm until 1879, when 



296 



StrcCESSFUL vermonters. 



he went to Boston and entered the 
commission house of A. and 0. W. 
Mead & Co., remaining with them 
about twelve years. He located at 
Enosburg Falls in 1891, and for 
two years followed farming; then 
he established a feed store, which 
has met with a marked degree of 
success. He has dealt considerably 
in real estate and owns two splen- 
did farms. 

In 1901, in company with Hon. 
Arthur W. Woodworth, he built 
and organized the Enosburg Falls 
Creamery, which has had a sub- 
stantial and continual growth. 

Upon the organization of the 
First National Bank of Enosburg 
Falls, Mr. Phelps was elected one 
of the board of directors. He has 
held various town and village of- 
fices and in 1898 was elected to rep- 
resent Enosburg in the General 
Assembly of Vermont, being the 
first Democrat to represent the 
town in more than fifty years, 
which was a substantial public en- 
dorsement for ]\Ir. Phelps' well- 
known integrity and high public 
ideals. In the Legislature he was 
appointed to the agricultural com- 
mittee and was soon recognized as 
a working member of not only his 
committee but of the House. He 
received the nomination for state 
treasurer on the Democrat and in- 
dependent ticket in 1906. 

He was united in marriage, May 
20, 1889, to Linnie R., only daugh- 
ter of Hon. Arthur "W. and Adeline 
T. (Ladd) Woodworth, of Enos- 
burg. Mrs. Phelps died October 
26, 1905. 

McFEETERS, Emmet*, a lead- 
ing member of the Franklin County 
bar, son of "William and Ann 
(Todd) McFeeters, was born in 
Sheldon, April 22, 1855. His early 



education was obtained in the dis- 
trict schools of Sheldon and the 
Franklin and Bakersfield acade- 
mies. 

James McFeeters, grandfather of 
the subject of this sketch, came 
from the north part of Ireland to 
America in 1827, and located at 
Highgate, where he continued to 
reside until his death, Februarv 2, 
1869. 

Emmet McFeeters very early de- 
termined on a professional career, 
and the degree of success obtained 
amply demonstrates the soundness 
of this early determination. After 
completing his academic education 
he entered the law office of C. 6. 
Austin at Highgate and remained 
two years ; he then entered the Ann 
Arbor, (^Michigan) law school. 
February 25, 1880, he was admit- 
ted to practice in the Supreme 
Court of j\Iichigan and the follow- 
ing September, having returned to 
Vermont he was admitted to the 
Franklin County l)ar. November 
1881, he located at Enosburg Falls, 
where he has continued in his 
chosen profession, meeting with a 
marked degree of success. A 
fighter, and "a trier," wide awake, 
aggressive, yet accommodating, ap- 
proachable, genial and big-hearted, 
are the chief characteristics of 
this well-known and much-esteemed 
advocate. He served Franklin 
County as state's attorney from 
December, 1896, to December, 
1898 ; represented Enosburg in the 
General Assembly of Vermont in 
1900, and served on the committee 
of rules and Avas a member of the 
judiciary committee. In 1902 he 
received the very unusual distinc- 
tion of being re-elected to the Gen- 
eral Assembly and served as 
chairman of the judiciary commit- 



* Sketch bv William H. Jeffrey. 




Emmet McFeeters. 



298 



SUCCESSFUL ver:monters. 



tee and second member of the com- 
mittee on state and court expenses. 
On both of these most important 
committees he was an earnest and 
indefatigable worker, and it has 
often been stated that at no session 
of the General Assembly was there 
more important measures to be con- 
sidered bj^ these two committees 



as a school committee of the high 
and graded schools, and is the at- 
torney for the First National Bank 
of Enosburg Falls. 

In l^lay, 1882, I\Ir. ]\IcFeeters was 
united in marriage to Lucy M. Pel- 
ton. To them has been born one 
son, William K., who graduated 
from Dartmouth College in the 




Richard Smith. 



than the session of 1902. At this 
session he introduced the bill to 
abolish capital punishment and 
very ably defended the same. The 
bill passed the House and was de- 
feated in the Senate by a majority 
of only two votes. 

Mr. McFeeters served the village 
of Enosburg Falls for three years 



class of 1905, at the age of 20 years, 
and is now a law student at Har- 
vard Law School. 

SjNHTH, Hon. Kichard, was 
born in Montgomery, June 17, 
1841, a son of Richard and Eliza- 
beth (Boutelle) Smith. 

Richard Smith^, the great grand- 
father of the subject of this 



FlIAMKLrN COUNTY. 



299 



sketch, resided in Connecticut, and 
was a soldier in the American 
Revolution, having served in the 
Third Regiment from his native 
state. Richard'-, his son, who re- 
sided in Lyme, Connecticut, set- 
tled at Woodstock, Vermont, about 
the year 1880, and later located 
at Montgomery, where Richard 
Smith^, father of the subject of our 
sketch, was reared and married to 
Elizabeth Boutelle. 

Hon. Richard Smith*, was or- 
phaned while yet a mere child, his 
father dying when he was only 
three years of age and his mother 
10 years later. He attended the 
schools of Montgomery until the 
death of his mother, in 1854, when 
he went to Enosburg and continued 
going to school until he was 17 
years of age. The next four years 
he worked as a farm hand and July 
21, 1862, he entered the Union 
Army in Company F, Tenth Ver- 
mont Volunteer Infantry and 
served two and a half years, being 
mustered out February 5, 1865. 
The principal engagements in 
which Jvidge Smith took part were 
Wilderness, Spottsylvania and Cold 
Harbor. It was in the last named 
engagement, June 3, 1864, that he 
received a serious wound occa- 
sioned by a rifle ball passing 
through the left foot and lodging 
in the right ankle. 

Upon returning home he located 
at Richford and entered the drug 
business, and continued in that line 
of trade for 18 years, meeting with 
a very flattering degree of success. 
December 31, 1883, he located at 
West Enosburg, where he still re- 
sides, and engaged in farming. 

May 9, 1866, Mr. Smith was 
united in mariage to Jeannettie, a 
daughter of Charles S. and Abigail 
(Boutelle) McAllister. To them 



three children have been born: 
Abby B., born February 6, 1868, 
married Chester B. Ovitt; Richard 
F.^ born September 19, 1872, 
married Louisa Crossly, and has 
one son, Richard'' ; Fannie E., born 
April 6, 1879. 

Judge Smith has held the various 
town offices and represented Rich- 
ford in the General Assembly of 
1882. At the September election, 
1902, he was chosen one of the as- 
sistant judges for Franklin County 
and re-elected in 1904. 

He is a past commander of Pixley 
Post, G. A. R., and has served as 
adjutant of the post for many 
years. 

Judge Smith has been one of the 
trustees of the Richford Savings 
Bank and Trust Company for the 
past 20 years ; for two years he was 
its vice-president and is now its 
president. He is a member of the 
Methodist Church and is superin- 
tendent of the Sunday school and 
one of the stewards of the church. 

ASELTINE, AzRO M., a son of 
Alanson M. and Esther D. (Traver) 
Aseltine, was born in Morgan, 
March 7, 1869. He was educated 
in the public schools of Westfield, 
Lowell, and at Meriden, New 
Hampshire, completing his educa- 
tion at the age of 17 years; he 
then entered the employ of George 
C. Gilman, a dry goods merchant 
at Newport, remaining for three 
years and then located at Barre, 
where he was employed in a boot 
and shoe store for a year. His 
brother, Albert A. Aseltine, was at 
this time in general trade at Lowell 
and Mr. Aseltine entered his em- 
ploy, remaining until his brother 
bought of W. E. Tuck the Archam- 
])ault estate at Enosburg Falls, 
then he continued in the new store 
for a year. Accepting a position 



300 



SUCCESSFUL VERMONTEES. 



as a traveling salesman for B. F. 
Moore & Co., he continued with 
them for three years. His broad 
and general experience, coupled 
with an energetic, observing and 
yet conservative disposition, natu- 
rally brought ^Ir. Aseltine to make 
a careful survey of the field of in- 
surance, both fire and life. In this 
field he has displayed marked abil- 
ity and conducts the only general 
insurance agency in town. From 




AzKO M. Aseltine. 

childhood he has been a member of 
the Methodist Church; he is affili- 
ated '^•ith the Odd Fellows and is 
one of the village trustees. 

September 6, 1892, he married 
Anna B., daughter of James W. 
and Maria (Graves) Beatty. They 
have one child living: Kenneth M., 
born May 19, 1898. 

SPICER, Fred W., a son of 
Charles and Nancy E. (Rich) 
Spicer, was born in Enosburg, Sep- 



tember 29, 1860. Charles Spicer 
was a volunteer in the Civil War, 
and served for three years with 
Company K of the Sixth Vermont 
Volunteers. He married Xancy E., 
a daughter of Ichabod Rich of 
Plainfield. 

Fred W. Spicer received his ed- 
ucation in the district schools of 
Enosburg, and at 17 years of age 
commenced teaching school. After 
teaching for two years in the 
schools of Enosburg and Montgom- 
ery, he took Greeley's advice and 
' ' went West, ' ' and spent six years 
in Kansas and Texas. The year 
spent in Kansas was on a large 
sheep ranch. Then Mr. Spicer 
went to Texas and for a year was 
engaged in growing cotton "on 
shares," the next four being de- 
voted to theatrical business. 

In 1885 Mr. Spicer returned to 
Vermont. Upon his return to the 
scenes of his boyhood and youth, he 
engaged in farming, teaching 
school during the winter for several 
years. He now owns one of the 
best small farms in Enosburg, the 
productions from which, in the way 
of fancy maple sugar and syrup, 
thoroughbred poultry and small 
fruits, are quite widely accepted as 
the standard of excellence. Mr. 
Spicer enjoys the distinction of be- 
ing the pioneer small fruit grower 
in this locality, demonstrating as a 
successful certainty that small 
fruits could be profitalily grown 
in the northern part of Franklin 
County. He is not an extensive 
grower, his aim being always qual- 
ity rather than quantity, the 
amount produced usually ranging 
from one hundred and fifty to two 
hundred bushels. Strawberries 
are his specialty, and the reputa- 
tion " Spicer 's strawberries" have 
gained has led to a considerable 



FRANKLIN COUNTY 



301 



and growing trade in strawberry- 
plants. 

In 1890 Mr. Spicer was united 
in marriage to Harriet L. Phillips 
of Bakersfield. 

Mr. Spicer has been frequently 
called to hold public office, and has 
rendered his town 16 years of ser- 



ers' Association, was born in Fair- 
field, September 11, 1851, and with 
his parents came to Enosburg when 
he w^as about two years of age. 
Having been brought up on a farm, 
he chose farming as his occupation 
during the earlier part of his life. 
In 1892 he moved to the village of 




Fred W. Spicer. 



vice in some public place. He has 
served four years as selectman, 
three years as first selectman, and 
now holds that position ; he has also 
held the offices of school director, 
auditor, lister and superintendent 
of schools. 

CROFT, Arthur J., president 
of the Vermont Maple Sugar Mak- 



Enosburg Falls, where he now re- 
sides, and has been engaged in the 
produce business. 

He has always taken an active 
and aggressive part in local affairs, 
supporting all measures for public 
improvement, serving upon the 
board of village trustees, school 
committee and holding nearly all 



302 



SUCCESSFUL VEHMONTEHS. 



the offices in the gift of his town, 
and is now constable and collector 
of taxes and also deputy sheriff 
for the Conntv of Franklin. 

In the fall of 1892 he was elected 
representative to the Legislature of 
Vermont ; in 1897 he was appointed 
commissioner to the Naslmlle 
(Tennessee) Exposition by Gover- 



produet. In January, 1905, he 
was a delegate to the National For- 
estry Congress held at Washington, 
D. C. He was one of a few who, 
in 1893, organized the Vermont 
Maple Sugar Makers' Association, 
and held the office of secretary for 
13 consecutive years, and was then 
elected to his present office. 




Akthuk J. Choft. 



nor Josiah (in)ut, and was in 
charge of the Vermont exhibit of 
maple sugar and syrup during the 
six months of the exposition, dem- 
onstrating by the sale of maple 
products the superior quality of 
Vermont's maple sweets, much to 
the delight of the Southern people, 
who Imew but little about this 



^Ir. Croft's family consists of 
his wife, Addie M. (Adams) Croft, 
with whom he was united in mar- 
riage September 18, 1876, she 
being the only daughter of John 
Scott and Cordelia Maria (Ab- 
bott) Adams. The daughter, Jo- 
anna Dow Croft, is a graduate of 
the Bridgewater Normal School of 



FRANKLIN COUNTY. 



303 



the state of Massachusetts and is 
now a teacher in one of the large 
public schools of that state. 

DOW, Deacon Samuel Henry, 
was born in Hampton, New Hamp- 
shire, December 7, 1821, son of 
Lieutenant Samuel and Louisa 



Dow married, December 12, 1894, 
Harriet C. Stevens. 

He has always been a stanch Re- 
publican, and has held many im- 
portant offices in his town and 
county, representing the town in 
the Legislature in 1888- '90, has 




Samuel H. Dow. 



(Smith) Dow. He moved to Enos- 
burg in 1832, and has always re- 
sided on the same farm in East 
Enosburg upon which his parents 
first settled. He was married 
March 31, 1847, to Joanna K. 
Adams. Mrs. Dow died December 
27, 1891, leaving no children. Mr. 



held the office of county commis- 
sioner for a number of years, 
has been closely identified with 
church work, having held the of- 
fice of deacon in the First Congre- 
gational Church of Enosburg for 
a term of over forty years, in 
which office he still officiates. He 



304 



SUCCESSFUL VERMONTERS. 



is an ardent worker in Sunday 
school and missionary societies. He 
is a strong advocate of temperance 
and was one of the founders of the 
Young Men's Total Abstinence So- 
ciety, of which Governor Eaton 
was first president, an organiza- 
tion which has wielded more power 
for temperance than any other so- 



Gibson. Alurey Samson was a 
daughter of Alanson Samson, one 
of the early settlers of Franklin 
County. 

John A. Gibson received his edu- 
cation in the schools of Enosburg 
and Berkshire, and at 20 years of 
age took up painting, Avhich he fol- 
lowed for three years. Ttie next 




John A. Gibson. 



ciety of this town. Generous to a 
fault, charitable and uncomplain- 
ing, his life has been a model of 
right living and an inspiration and 
help to those with whom he asso- 
ciates. 

GIBSON, John A., was born in 
Enosburg, February 4, 1856, a son 
of John W. and Alurey (Samson) 



17 years he was a traveling sales- 
man. He then purchased Alfred 
Rublee's interest in the drug store 
of Rublee Brothers; later Herman 
W. Webster, now of East Burke, 
bought the interest of Andrew Ru- 
blee and the drug business was con- 
ducted under the firm name of Gib- 
son & Webster. This business was 



FRANKLIN COUNTY. 



305 



sold to C. L. Marsh & Co., and in 
April, 1896, Mr. Gibson entered the 
furniture store of his father, John 
W. Gibson, who died a month later 
(May 8, 1896). Mr. Gibson con- 
tinued the business until August, 
1904; he retained the undertaking 
branch of the business, and has con- 
tinued to the present time. 

February 4, 1879, Mr. Gibson 
married Florence Jeffords, a daugh- 



would accept public office. He is a 
member of the Masonic fraternity, 
having taken the Chapter degrees; 
is also affiliated with the Odd Fel- 
lows, Foresters and the Eastern 
Star. 

Q U I N C Y House. There are 
few better public houses in North- 
ern New England than the Quincy 
House at Enosburg Falls, a thor- 
oughly modern house, built in 1878 




ajggggMMBiaMMBifc 'MIT i f i i r i iii i i ii ii t iififcuni.' i i.. iii i II . um rwiiiiwiii 



Quincy House, Enosburg Falls. 



ter of Merrill Jeffords of Berk- 
shire; to them three children were 
born: William P]., born April 23, 
1884; Florence B., born November 
21, 1888, and one died when but a 
few days old. 

Mrs. Gibson died June 1, 1901, 
and Mr. Gibson married for his sec- 
ond wife Glenn a Rublee of Enos- 
burg. 

While Mr. Gibson is a wide- 
awake, enthusiastic and public spir- 
ited citizen, he has never sought or 

A— 21 



by the present proprietor, Fer- 
nando Cortez Kimball. The house 
has a 70-foot front and 29 elegant 
sleeping rooms, and sets a table 
second to none. The house is 
heated by steam, has electric lights 
and baths. 

Fernando Cortez Kimball was 
born in Enosburg, June 24, 1843, 
a son of Fernando Cortez Kimball. 
He received his education in the 
public schools of his native town, 
and farmed until 1875, when he 



306 



SUCCESSFUL VERMONTEKS. 



purchased the Eagle House and be- 
came its proprietor until 1878, 
when it was destroyed by fire. He 
then erected the Quincy House, and 
continued as its proprietor until 
1880, when he leased the house to 
Bert Dickenson, and removed to 
Lowell, where he bought a saw- 
mill and followed the lumber busi- 
ness for eight years. He then be- 
came proprietor for a short time of 
the Maple Park House at Hard- 
wick. In April, 1881, he entered a 
partnership with Augustus D. Rob- 
bins, as one of the proprietors of 
Hotel Johnson at Johnson, but soon 
returned to Enosburg and took up 
farming, continuing that work un- 
til 1889, when he purchased Hotel 
Johnson and remained its propri- 
etor for four years and eight 
months. In October, 1903, he lo- 
cated at Burlington and remained 
until December 1, 1905, Avhen he 
a sain became proprietor of the 
Quincy. 

In 1861 ]\Ir. Kimball married Lu- 
cenda "Woodworth of Berkshire. 
To this union three children were 
born: Cora (deceased); Martha 
]M. (Mrs. Dr. Henry E. Lewis of 
New York), and William H. Mrs. 
Kimball died in 1878, and Mr. Kim- 
ball married for his second wife 
Jennie F. Clark of Frelighsburg, 
Quebec. To this union one child 
has been born : Harriett. 

CITY OF ST. ALBANS. 

Population, Census of 1900, 6,239. 

The peaceful and fruitful val- 
leys of the Green ^Mountain State 
were for more than a century the 
war trails of dusky and savaue 
warriors and their allies, the 
French, in their dreaded incursions 
on the frontier settlements of New 
England. Vermont was the ''dark 



and bloody ground," the border 
land of that arena where the great 
nations of France and England 
each aided bj^ Indian allies, con- 
tended for supremacy. 

The Frenchman, alert and ad- 
venturous, an explorer, a fur 
trader, an evangelist among the In- 
dians, with incredible celerity sped 
his canoe to the head waters of the 
mishty northern rivers and lakes, 
and dotting their banks with mis- 
sions and stockades and trading 
posts, unfurled the banner of 
France over this imperial domain. 
From the advent of the chivalric 
Champlain, in 1608, on the noble 
lake that bears his name, the 
French, with their native tact and 
diplomacy, became the allies of the 
Algonquins in their wars with their 
hereditary enemies. The Six Na- 
tions of the Iroquois. 

The Englishman, a sturdy and 
resolute farmer, a refugee from 
political and relisious oppression, 
was a colonist and founded a home. 
He cleared the forest, built a rude 
log cabin, then a church and a 
schoolhouse, and with painful but 
steady effort laid the crude but 
sure foundations of civilization 
and freedom. The achievements 
of the English were less romantic 
and spectacular, but more solid and 
enduring, and the historic victc-ry 
of Wolfe at Quebec sealed the des- 
tiny of a vast region as an English 
province. Up to the close of the 
French and Indian War, in 1763, 
no permanent settlement had been 
made by French or English in 
what is now Franklin County. 
With the gathering up of the scat- 
tered remnants of the French 
troops and the cessation of hostili- 
ties, peaceful occupation of this 
beautiful region became possible. 

On the 17th day of August, 



FRANKLIN COUNTY. 



307 



1763, Benning Wentworth, provin- 
cial governor of New Hampshire, 
granted charters for the four 
neighboring towns, Georgia, St. 
Albans, Swanton and Highgate, all 
lake towns. By the original sur- 
vey, and according to the map 
marked out on the charter, St. Al- 
bans was practically six miles 
square. As usual, there were 64 
grantees, but the number of shares 
was 70, for that thrifty patriot. 
Governor Wentworth, had not for- 
gotten to reserve to himself a tract 
of 500 acres, accounted as two 
shares. The other public rights 
were one for the "Society for the 
Propasation of the Gospel in For- 
eign Parts," one share for a glebe 
for the Church of England, one 
share for the first settled minister, 
and one for the support of schools. 
There were the usual unique condi- 
tions and reservations of all white 
and other pine trees "fit for mast- 
ing our Royal Navy," the annual 
rent of one ear of Indian corn, and 
the shilling of proclamation money 
for every hundred acres owned. 
Unless one tenth of the land was 
improved or cultivated within five 
years, the right was forfeited. 

Governor Wentworth acted on 
the assumption that the granted 
lands were within the jurisdiction 
of the province of New Hampshire, 
and that he was duly authorized to 
convey them. This right was dis- 
puted by the governor of the royal 
province of New York, and in 
July, 176-1, both governors having 
sou^-ht the royal verdict, the king 
decided that the west bank of the 
Connecticut RiA^er was the eastern 
boundary of the province of New 
York. This decision cut o^ the ex- 
pected perquisite of the shilling of 
proclamation money, and also the 
reservation of 500 acres, which was 



finally vested in the proprietors. 

There are matters of record that 
show that a small portion of St. 
Albans, and all of the other lake 
towns in this county were granted 
by the French king to some of his 
sub.iects, and that the survey was 
made by the king's surveyor. Mon- 
sieur Anger, in 1732. It is well 
established that none of the 64 
grantees ever became residents of 
the town of St. Albans. Their 
meetins's were held elsewhere, and 
all of their records were destroyed 
or lost. 

About this time there appears 
upon the scene one of the most 
active, astute and dominating char- 
acters of his time, Ira Allen, the 
Alexander Hamilton of Vermont. 
He was familiar with this section, 
and his saofacious eye had not failed 
to note the excellence of the soil, 
the abundance and value of the 
timber, and the favorable location; 
with his elder brother, Levi, he ac- 
ouired large tracts in Georgia and 
St. i^lbans, at very nominal rates, 
which they held for speculation 
purposes. They and the other new 
proprietors caused a new snrvey to 
be made, with a co'-isiderable vr^i- 
ance from the original lines, with 
the apparent piu'pose of spcurincr 
the most desirable lands. IN^anv of 
the gores that were mad'^ in the new 
survey were acnuired bv the sur- 
veyors themselves, which confirms 
the id°a of collusion on their part. 
Ira Allen, as a prominent p'^rson- 
as'e in the councils of the o-overn- 
ment at that time, exercised a 
strong influence, sometimes to his 
own special advantage. He intro- 
duced and carried throa"h the 
Legislature acts directing the cut- 
tine of roads throuah towns in 
which he was interested. The ex- 
pense of these improvements fell 



308 



SUCCESSFUT. VERMONTERS. 



heavily upon the struggling pio- 
neers of St. Albans, and at the 
March meeting in 1789, the town 
expressed a vigorous protest com- 
plaining of the list of £800, the 
basis of assessment by the Legisla- 
ture. It would seem that Allen 
would have been held to pay his 
pro rata on his lands if he held 
the title. 

Jesse Welden, a native of Con- 
necticut, came from Sunderland as 
the first pioneer, prior to the Rev- 
olutionary War, and built his home 
at St. Albans Bay. but it is be- 
lieved that he later returned to his 
former home for a time, to avoid 
the hostilities of the Canadian 
Indians. Soon after the war he 
returned to his abode at the Bay, 
but subsequently built and occu- 
pied a log house west of what is 
now South Main Street. He was 
chosen a member of the first board 
of selectmen, was a leading per- 
sonage of the times, and his home 
was for years a rendezvous for 
public meetings, and his front 
door a sign post for the posting of 
public notices. In his honor was 
named the former well-kno\\Ti ho- 
tel, the Welden House; also Wel- 
den Street and the Welden Na- 
tional Bank of St. Albans. 

At the first town meeting, held 
at Welden 's house, July 12, 1788, 
Silas Hathaway was chosen mod- 
erator; Jonathan Hoit, town clerk; 
Jesse Welden, David Odel and An- 
drew Potter, selectmen ; Daniel 
Meigs, constable. 

At a meeting held June 12, 
1792, Colonel Robert Cochran, 
Captain Seth Ford, and Colonel 
Stephen Pearl, were appointed a 
committee for the purpose of set- 
ting "out a stake for the center of 
the town." At a meeting held 
May 22, 1794, the town '-'voted 



that the sign post stocks and 
pound be placed on the green, 
where is most convenient for the 
pound so as not to discommode 
the green for other buildings," and 
they were accordingly located near 
what is now the northwest corner 
of the park. 

In the year 1792 the County of 
Franklin was incorporated by act 
of the Legislature, and there at 
once arose a strong desire and riv- 
alry on the part of several towns 
to be chosen as the county seat, 
the principal aspirants being St. 
Albans, Enosburg, Sheldon and 
Fairfield. In 1793, St. Albans 
was chosen. September 4, 1800, 
the town voted a tax of eight cents 
on each acre of land in town, pub- 
lic rights excluded, to defray the 
expense of building a courthouse, 
and the amount realized for that 
purpose Avas nearly $1,750. The 
total cost of the building was 
$5,000. 

The town first took action in se- 
curing a preacher in 1796, when 
Jonathan Hoit, Levi House and 
David Nichols were appointed a 
committee for that purpose. Rev- 
erend Joel Foster proposed to ac- 
cept that position at a salary of 
$450 per annum, and at a meeting 
held July 2, 1803, his proposition 
was accepted by a vote of 31 to 
seven. While the clergyman was 
expected to minister to the people 
without regard to denomination, 
and he was paid by a tax on the 
grand list, any person could re- 
lieve himself of that tax by filing 
a certificate that he did not agree 
with the religious sentiment with 
the majority, and several asserted 
that right. 

The records show that the town 
of St. Albans contributed nearly 
one hundred and fifty men to the 



FRANKLIN COUNTY. 



309 



American service during the War 
of 1812, but none of the militia 
companies, as such, took part. 

The trade of St. Albans with the 
neighboring communities in Can- 
ada prior to this war was very im- 
portant, and the enforcement of 
the non-intercourse and embargo 
acts was a great hardship, and very 
unpopular. The result was smug- 
gling to a considerable extent, and 
an occasional and sometimes fatal 
collision with the officers of the 
government. 

Casual mention must be made of 
the Patriots' War, or Canadian Re- 
bellion, in 1838, as the village of 
St. Albans was made the rendez- 
vous or refuge of some of the lead- 
ing insurrectionists. The move- 
ment was in the interest of the 
French inhabitants of Canada, was 
wholly ineffective, but created con- 
siderable excitement, and later for 
several months required the pres- 
ence of the militia, commanded by 
General John Nason. 

When the news of the fall of 
Surripter was announced, the Ran- 
som Guards were mustered into the 
United States service as Company 
C, First Vermont Regiment. The 
population of St. Albans in 1860 
was 3,637, but the town is credited 
with 474 officers and men in the 
Union service, — one in eight of the 
population. Generous disburse- 
ments were made in bounties, and 
the town was intensely loyal in the 
hour of trial. 

On the 19th day of October, 
1864, occurred the St. Albans raid, 
the leading act in a plot to liberate 
Southern prisoners, assassinate gov- 
ernment officers, poison aqueducts, 
spread contagious diseases, burn 
and plunder villages, and create a 
diversion in the rear and return of 
some of the troops. On that mem- 



orable day, about the same hour 
that Sheridan was pursuing the 
rebels at Cedar Creek, a band of 
from twenty to fifty men, under 
the command of a Confederate 
officer. Lieutenant Bennett H. 
Young, and armed with large navy 
revolvers, concealed under loose 
coats, made a simultaneous en- 
trance and attack on each of the 
three banks, captured and bound 
the officials, looted the banks of 
$208,000, stole horses from the sta- 
bles, and made their escape into 
Canada. They were pursued, sev- 
eral of their number wounded and 
some captured. They killed one 
man, Elinas J. Morrison, wounded 
several and spread excitement and 
consternation among the border 
towns. 

S M I T H, Former Governor 
John Gregory. During nearly a 
century three generations of the 
Smith family have been prime fac- 
tors in laying the foundations and 
rearing the superstructure of the 
material prosperity of St. Albans. 
John Smith came to St. Albans 
with his parents in 1800 and was 
admitted to the bar in 1810, at the 
age of 21. 

He served six years as state's 
attorney, represented his town 10 
years in the Legislature, and his 
district one term in Congress. His 
greatest service to his state, how- 
ever, was in connection with the 
projection and completion of the 
Vermont & Canada Railroad, which 
has developed into the Central Ver- 
mont system, he with two others 
becoming personally responsible 
for a debt of half a million dollars 
before a dollar was realized by sale 
of stock. 

Hon. John Smith died in 1858, 
leaving a widow, Maria (Curtis) 
Smith, two sons, John Gregory and 



310 



SUCCESSFUL VEKMONTEES. 



"Worthington C. Smith, and three 
daiishters. 

John Gregory Smith, the "war 
governor," was born at St. Albans, 
July 22, 1S18. His education was 
completed at St. Albans Academy 
and the University of Vermont, 
from which institution he was 
graduated in 1838. He read law 
in his father's office and at Yale 
College and was admitted to the 
Franklin County bar in 1841. 

He practised his profession in 
company with his father until the 
death of the latter in 1858, serving 
during the greater part of this 
period as counsel for the Central 
Vermont Eailroad. After his 
father's death he was elected one 
of a beard of five trustees to man- 
age the road, to which he devoted 
his great abilities and energy and 
succeeded in bringing order out of 
chaos and placing the chief railroad 
interests of Vermont upon a secure 
basis. After the consolidation of 
the roads he became president also 
of the Northern Pacific for several 
years. 

He represented Franklin County 
in the Senate, was representative 
of St. Albans from 1860 to 1863, 
inclusive, and speaker of the House 
the last two terms : was elected gov- 
ernor in 1863 and for two years, 
during the stress of the darkest 
days of the Civil War, his energies 
were consecrated to the great duty 
of organizing, equipping and as far 
as possible maintaining in comfort 
and efficiency Vermont's quota in 
the field. His efforts were inde- 
fatigable in filling the ranks of the 
regiments depleted by battle and 
disease, and he was always and 
everywhere the soldier's friend. 
After retiring from office with a 
splendid record for dut}' well per- 
formed, he again assumed the re- 



sponsible duties of president of the 
railroad. 

Governor Smith died November 
6, 1891, after a brief illness. 

S:\IITH, Former Goverxor Ed- 
ward Curtis, was born at St. Al- 
bans, January 5, 1854. His ances- 
try is worthy and distinguished, of 
stanch New England stock. He 
graduated from Yale College in his 
twenty-first year, with an excellent 
recoi-d in scholarship and athletics. 
He then read law in his father "s of- 
fice, was admitted to the bar, and in 
1877 became junior partner in the 
law firm of Noble & Smith. His 
antecedents and interests naturally 
led him to devote his energies to the 
Central Vermont Railroad, and in 
1889 he was elected its second vice- 
president, with the duties of gen- 
eral manager, and at the death of 
his father in 1891 he was made 
president of the company. 

He is president of Wilder Na- 
tional Bank and the People's Trust 
Company of St. Albans. A Re- 
publican, in 1896 was a delegate-at- 
large from Vermont to the Repub- 
lican national convention that nom- 
inated William McKinley. 

In 1890 he received the unani- 
mous votes of his townsmen of both 
the Republican and Democratic 
parties for representative. In 1898 
he was elected governor of Ver- 
mont. 

FORBES, CoLoxEL Charles 
Spooxer, was born in Windsor, 
August 6, 1851, and is the young- 
est son of the late Abner and Kath- 
erine Tucker (Campbell) Forbes. 
His grandfather. General Abner 
Forbes of Windsor, was one of the 
distinguished and influential men 
of his day. 

Colonel Forbes removed with his 
parents to St. Albans in 1864. 

For 16 years Colonel Forbes was 



FRANKLIN COUNTY. 



311 



Vermont correspondent of the Bos- 
ton Journal; the founder, and for 
10 years editor and publisher of the 
Vermonter. He was colonel and 
aide-de-camp on the staff of Gov- 
ernor William P. Dillingham in 
18^8-'90; commissioner to the 
World's Columbian Exposition; 
state commissioner to the California 
Mid-Winter Exposition, 1894; sec- 
retary of the Vermont commission 
for the Pan-American Exposition ; 
president of the Vermont Press As- 
sociation. He was one of the 
founders and for 15 years secretary 
and two years vice-president and is 
now president of the Vermont Soci- 
ety of the Sons of the American 
Revolution ; one of the incorpora- 
tors and for 11 years treasurer of 
the Society of Colonial Wars in the 
state of Vermont ; a member of the 
New York Society of Mayflower de- 
scendants; a member of the Soci- 
ety of Descendants of Colonial 
Governors ; corresponding secre- 
tary of the Vermont Historical 
Society; secretary of the Vermont 
Branch of the American National 
Red Cross, and clerk of St. Luke's 
Episcopal Parish, St. Albans. He 
was appointed United States immi- 
grant inspector in 1897, which of- 
fice he still holds. 

Colonel Forbes has a distin- 
guished Revolutionary and colo- 
nial ancestry. 

GREENE, Frank Lester, son 
of Lester B. and Mary E. (Hoad- 
ley) Greene, was born in St. Al- 
bans, February 10, 1870. He was 
compelled to leave school and go 
to work when 13 years old on ac- 
count of his father's physical 
breakdown and consequent finan- 
cial straits. He was at first errand 
boy in the auditing department of 
the Central Vermont Railroad in 
St. Albans, studied shorthand in his 



leisure hours and became a stenog- 
rapher in the general freight de- 
partment in 1884, and was ap- 
pointed chief clerk of the general 
freight department March, 1887, 
which position he held until he 
left the railroad service. 

He began newspaper work in odd 
hours out of his regular employ- 
ment in 1888, soon became a regu- 
lar correspondent of the Boston 
Globe, and of other newspapers, 
and on March 1, 1891, entered the 
profession for permanent occupa- 
tion as local reporter of the St. Al- 
bans Daily Messenger. He was 
made assistant editor upon the re- 
organization of the publishing com- 
pany January 1, 1892, and Sep- 
tember 18, 1899, was made editor. 
He has been treasurer of the Ver- 
mont Press Association and for 
two terms its president. 

Mr. Greene has never sought or 
held political office of any kind. He 
served for several years as chair- 
man of the Republican Town Com- 
mittee of St. Albans before its or- 
ganization as a city, was secretary 
of the Young Men's Republican 
Club of Vermont and active in the 
political movement it conducted 
for several years, and was chosen 
an alternate-at-large to the Repub- 
lican National Convention of 1904. 

He enlisted in Company B, First 
Infantry, Vermont National Guard, 
October 4, 1888, and rose succes- 
sively through various grades from 
private to captain. Upon the call 
of President McKinley for volun- 
teers in the war with Spain, he of- 
fered his services to the govern- 
ment and raised and recruited 
Company B, First Infantry, Ver- 
mont Volunteers, being mustered 
into the United States service as its 
captain. During the war he served 
for some time as adjutant-general 



312 



SUCCESSFUL VERMONTERS. 



of the Third Brigade, First Divi- 
sion, Third Army Corps. Upon the 
muster-out of his regiment at the 
close of the war, while he was con- 
fined to his bed by a well-nigh fatal 
illness of typhoid fever contracted 
in the service, he was commissioned 
senior aide-de-camp with the rank 
of colonel on the staff of Governor 
Edward C. Smith. 

He is a member of various fra- 
ternal and patriotic societies, in- 
cluding the Masons and Elks, the 
Sons of the American Revolution, 
Sons of Veterans, U. S. A., United 
Spanish War Veterans and Mili- 
tary Order of Foreign Wars, in all 
of which he has held various offices, 
having twice served as commander 
of the Vermont Division, Sons of 
Veterans, U. S. A., and once as 
commander of the Vermont Com- 
mandery, Military Order of For- 
eign Wars. He has served as mas- 
ter of his Masonic Lodge, has been 
curator of the Vermont Historical 
Society, and for years has been 
secretary of the St. Albans board 
of trade. He has held various hon- 
orary appointments in the state at 
different times. 

He married Jessie Emma, daugh- 
ter of Ahira S. and Emma B. 
(Soule) Richardson, February 20, 
1895, and three children have been 
born to them. 

STRANAHAN, Hon. Farrand 
Stewart, the third son of the 
name of Farrand in three succes- 
sive generations, was born in New 
York City, February 3, 1842, son 
of Farrand Stewart and Caroline 
(Curtis) Stranahan. 

He was educated in the schools 
of his native city and came to St. 
Albans in 1859, at the age of 17, 
which was thenceforth his home 
until his lamented death, July 13, 
1904. 



In August, 1862, he enlisted in 
Company E, First Vermont Cav- 
alry, and in that famous regiment 
performed notable service. He 
was successively promoted from 
first sergeant to the rank of second 
and first lieutenant, and partici- 
pated in all of the battles of his 
regiment until the winter of 1864, 
when he was appointed aide-de- 
camp on the staff' of General 
George A. Custer, and served with 
that brilliant commander until the 
September following, when he was 
honorably discharged and returned 
home. 

His first important business po- 
sition was that of paymaster on 
the Vermont Central Railroad, to 
which he was assigned in 1865. 
From 1867 to 1871 he was a retail 
merchant at St. Albans, and at the 
latter date was appointed treasurer 
of the National Iron and Car Com- 
pany, later known as the National 
Car Company, which position he 
occupied at the time of his death. 
He became cashier of the Welden 
National Bank of St. Albans in 
1886, and was made its vice-presi- 
dent in 1892. He was also a di- 
rector of the Central Vermont 
Railroad, and of the Chicago, New 
York and Boston Refrigerator 
Company, and was vice-president 
of Missisquoi Railroad and of the 
St. Albans Messenger Company. 

Republican in politics. Colonel 
Stranahan served as trustee of the 
village of St. Albans, and repre- 
sented the town in the General As- 
sembl}^ of the state in 1884. Four 
years later he was elected to the 
state Senate. He was trustee of 
the state industrial school from 
1888 to 1892, when he was elected 
lieutenant-governor of Vermont, a 
position which he filled with fair- 
ness and efficiency. 



FRANKLIN COUNTY. 



313 



An able and trusted business 
man and public-spirited citizen, he 
promptly and faithfully dis- 
charged many local positions of 
trust and responsibility in his com- 
munity. In fact, he was a man of 
unusually varied gifts, accomplish- 
ments and interests, and his judg- 
ment and counsel were constantly 
sought and freely given. 



staff to Governor Ebenezer J. 
Ormsbee from 1886 to 1888. 

In 1862 Mr. Stranahan married 
Miranda Aldis, daughter of Law- 
rence and Fidelia B. (Gadcomb) 
Brainerd and the two children of 
this union were Mabel Fidelia, de- 
ceased, and Colonel Farrand Stew- 
art Stranahan, of Providence. 
Rhode Island. 




Fabrand S. Stkanahan. 



Possessing a rich bass voice, and 
musical tastes, he sang in the glee 
clubs and in the choir of the Con- 
gregational Church, of which or- 
ganization he was a member and 
for several years deacon. He main- 
tained his interest in the military 
affairs of the state, and was cap- 
tain of Company D, the well- 
known "Ransom Guards." He 
was aide-de-camp and chief of 



HALL, Hon. A-lfred Allen of 
St. Albans, one of the most widely 
known and influential men of Ver- 
mont, was born of Revolutionary 
stock in Athens, Windham County, 
December 31, 1848. His education 
in the common schools of his birth- 
place was supplemented by an aca- 
demic course at Leland and Gray 
Seminary, Townshend. He after- 
ward fitted for college, but was pre- 



314 



STJCCESSFUL VERMONTERS. 



vented by circumstances from at- 
tending. He taught school several 
terms and then entered the office 
of Davis & Adams at St. Albans, in 
September, 1870, and read law 
with them until he was admitted 
to the Franklin County bar at the 
April term, 1873. He was soon 
afterward admitted to the Supreme 
Court of Vermont and the Circuit 
Court of the United States. He re- 
mained in the employ of Davis & 
Adams, practicing law, from April, 
1873, until January, 1874. 

At this time ]\Ir. Hall formed a 
pai'tnership for the practice of his 
profession with William D. Wilson, 
which continued until Mr. Wilson 's 
death, covering a longer period of 
business association than any other 
law firm in the state at that time. 
As a lawyer, Mr. Hall stands 
among the leaders of the state bar ; 
he is an advocate of exceptional 
eloquence and a counselor who is 
well fortified by wide and ex- 
haustive reading, and a keen and 
logical mind. His arguments al- 
ways command the respectful at- 
tention and careful consideration 
of the Supreme Bench, and he has 
throughout his professional career 
been more than ordinarily success- 
ful in the conduct of the important 
and complicated cases committed 
to his charge. 

Upon the death of Judge Start 
he was prominently mentioned for 
the position of judge of the Su- 
preme Court, receiving the unani- 
mous endorsement of his own bar 
and that of Bennington County, 
and hundreds of endorsements 
from attorneys and prominent busi- 
ness men throughout the state. 

Colonel Hall has always been a 
working Republican and his fel- 
low citizens have called him to fill 
a number of responsible trusts of 



a civic character. He is a popular 
political orator and his services in 
this direction have been beneficial 
to his party. He has held the office 
of town grand juror and was mod- 
erator of the town of St. Albans 12 
years. He was president of the 
board of trustees of the village of 
St. Albans in 1880 and 1881; 
chairman of the school board three 
years; trustee and treasurer of the 
free library 30 years, and a trustee 
of the Franklin County Grammar 
School. He held the office of cor- 
poration counsel many years and 
was chosen the first city attorney 
for the City of St. Albans. He was 
state's attorney for Franklin 
County in 1882- '84, and state sen- 
ator for Franklin County, 1892- 
'94, serving as president pro ton. 
of the Senate during the term. In 
these many and varied positions, 
some of them involving arduous 
labor, legal ability and wise judg- 
ment. Colonel Hall has never failed 
to meet the highest expectations of 
his friends and fellow citizens. In 
1895 he was appointed by (lovernor 
Levi K. Fuller, chairman of the 
board of commissioners to revise 
the laws of Vermont, which re- 
sulted in the statutes of Vermont 
now in use, a compilation and codi- 
fication which has been warmly 
praised by the bench and bar. In 
1895 he was appointed by (lovernor 
Urban A. Woodbury, commissioner 
on uniformity of laws. He was 
chairman of the Republican State 
Convention in 1896, and in a wide 
range of stations of greater or less 
importance has always cheerfully 
given his time and talents toward 
the propagation of Republican doc- 
trine in the service of his state and 
community. 

Colonel Hall has found time dur- 
ing the busy years of his life to de- 



Alfked a. Hall. 



316 



SUCCESSFUL VERMONTERS. 



vote attentiou to military affairs, 
for which he has decided taste and 
fitness. He was a member of Com- 
pany D, First Regiment of In- 
fantry in the Vermont National 
Guard (the former Ransom 
Guards), serving upon the non- 
commissioned and commissioned 
staff of the regiment, and was ap- 
pointed colonel and aide-de-camp 
on the staff of Governor Samuel E. 
Pingree in 188-4. He served more 
than ten years in the state militia 
and is now borne on the retired 
list with the rank of colonel, from 
which fact he derived the familiar 
title by which he is known. He 
was among the first to join the Ver- 
mont Society of the Sons of the 
American Revolution, being eligi- 
ble thereto through the patriotic 
services of both his paternal and 
maternal ancestors in the great 
struggle for freedom. 

Colonel Hall is eminent in the 
]\Iasonic fraternity, his career in 
that ancient and honorable institu- 
tion being well known throughout 
the country. He became a member 
of Blazing Star Lodge, No. 23, at 
Townshend, in March, 1870. Upon 
his removal to St. Albans in 1871, 
he became a member of Franklin 
Lodge, No. 4, in which he subse- 
quently held the office of worship- 
ful master. He early became prom- 
inent in the Grand Lodge of the 
state, and was for two years 
its grand master. 

In February, 1871, he became 
a member of Champlain Chapter, 
No. 1, R. A. M., in which body he 
has held the offices up to and in- 
cluding that of high priest. In 
1879 he M'as elected grand high 
priest of the Grand Chapter, 
and re-elected in 1880. He re- 
ceived the degree of royal mas- 
ter and select master in Colum- 



bus Council, Royal and Select Mas- 
ters, in St. Albans, in 1872, and 
from 1882 to 1887 was thrice illus- 
trious master. In 1877 he re- 
ceived the Order of the Red Cross 
and of Knight Templar and Knight 
of Malta in Lafaj-ette Command- 
ery, No. 3, and afterwards held the 
office of eminent commander, and 
grand commander of the Grand 
Commandery of Vermont. He is 
also a prominent member of the 
other Masonic organizations, and 
was the first Mason in the state to 
hold the highest office in the three 
grand bodies. He organized the 
Masonic Veteran Association of 
Vermont in 1889 and was its first 
venerable president. He has been 
delegate to numerous important 
Masonic gatherings in various parts 
of the country, in which he has 
been a conspicuous figure. He has 
attained the 33d degree in the A. 
A. S. R. 

Colonel Hall was married on 
June 15, 1874, to Abbie L. Austin, 
daughter of John and Loantha Z. 
Austin. They have two sons : Har- 
rie Vaughn Hall, born February 
2, 1878, and LeRoy Austin Hall, 
born August 10, 1887. 

HALL, Harrie Vaughn, as- 
sistant treasurer of the Franklin 
County Savings Bank and Trust 
Company, is one of the brightest 
young banking men in Northern 
Vermont. 

The son of Colonel and Mrs. Al- 
fred A. Hall, he was born in St. 
Albans, February 2, 1878. He was 
educated in the public schools of 
St. Albans and afterwards took a 
course in the Bryant & Stratton 
Business College at Boston. 

He commenced active work in 
the fall of 1897 in the employ of 
the Central Vermont Railway Com- 
pany at New London, Connecticut, 



FRANKLIN COUNTY. 



817 



and in a few months was made as- 
sistant purser on one of the Central 
Vermont steamers running between 
New London and New York. 

He was early interested in military 
affairs and at the age of 16 entered 
the Vermont National Guard as a 
private in Company B. He served 
as a non-commissioned officer, but 



Company B, First Vermont Volun- 
teer Infantry, May 10, 1898; he 
served with his regiment at Chicka- 
mauga, returned with it, and was 
mustered out of the United States 
service November 5, 1898. Later 
he was tendered a commission in a 
volunteer regiment recruited for 
service in the Philippine Islands. 




Harrie V. Hali, 



on account of his removal from the 
state he was honorably discharged. 
When the Spanish-American 
War broke out and the call for 
troops embraced his old company, 
he immediately resigned his posi- 
tion at New London, returned, en- 
listed and was mustered into the 
United States service as sergeant of 



As soon as able after the war, he 
commenced a clerkship, and on the 
18th day of August, 1900, entered 
the employ of the Franklin County 
Savings Bank and Trust Company, 
then in its infancy, and has assisted 
in building up one of the most suc- 
sessful banking institutions in the 
state. In six years its resources 



318 



SUCCESSFUL YERMONTERS. 



have risen from a capital stock of 
$50,000 to over $600,000. 

In 1904 he was made assistant 
treasurer, a position which by na- 
ture, thorough application and 
training, he is especially adapted 
for and qualified to fill. 

He is a member of the Spanish- 



DANFORTH, Hon. Daniel S., 
son of Isaac H. and Laura (Aus- 
tin) Danforth, born in St. Albans, 
Vt., May 27, 1848. Nicholas Dan- 
forth, his first American ancestor, 
was a Puritan in religious faith 
and a man of high repute. He 
came from England to Cambridge, 




Daniel S. Daxforth. 



American War Veterans and the 
local ]Masonic bodies, at the present 
holding the office of senior warden 
of Franklin Lodge, No. 4. 

He is a Republican and a mem- 
ber of the ward committee. 

July 14, 1904, he married May 
E. Robertson, and they have one 
daughter, Dorothy May, born Feb- 
ruary 9, 1906. 



Massachusetts, in 1634, and the 
next year represented that town in 
the General Court. 

Isaac H. Danforth was born in 
Fletcher, but in early manhood re- 
moved from that town to St. Al- 
bans, where he reared his family 
of six children upon a farm. Silas 
H. Danforth, his youngest son, has 
been connected with the United 



FHANKLIN COUNTY. 



319 



States custom service many years 
and is now deputy in charge at St. 
Albans. 

Daniel S. Danforth was educated 
in the public schools and academy 
of Fairfax. His early life was 
spent upon the paternal farm. He 
married Eunice G. Wheeler of 
Fletcher in 1868, and several years 
later entered the employ of the Ver- 
mont Central Railroad and for a 
dozen years was a passenger con- 
ductor. For three years he was 
proprietor and manager of the Al- 
bion Hotel, Montreal, Quebec. Dur- 
ing the past 15 years he has practi- 
cally retired from active business. 

Mr. Danforth has served St. Al- 
bans three years as school director, 
two years as alderman from the 
fifth ward, and a dozen or more 
years as justice of the peace. He 
was elected one of the associate 
judges of Franklin County, Sep- 
tember 4, 1906. 

Mr. Danforth possesses many 
oualities which win and retain the 
friendship and esteem of his asso- 
ciates. He is widely and favor- 
ably known in Masonic circles. He 
has attained the 33d degree, is a 
past grand high priest of the 
Grand Chapter, past grand master 
of the Grand Council, and is grand 
junior warden of Grand Com- 
mandery and grand marshal of the 
Grand Lod^e of Vermont. 

TILLOTSON, Hon. Lee Ste- 
phen, at present judsre of the city 
court for the City of St. Albans, 
was born at Bakersfield, December 
8, 1874. His parents were Stephen 
0. Tillotson, a veteran of the Civil 
War and Mariett J. (Doane) Til- 
lotson, old residents of Bakersfield. 

He was educated in the common 
schools of his native town and at 
Brigham Academy, from which he 



graduated in the class of 1890 at 
the age of 15. 

He came to St. Albans in the fall 
of 1890 and entered the employ of 
the Central Vermont Railway Com- 
pany as a clerk and remained in 
such employment until the spring 
of 1898 when he enlisted in Com- 
pany B, First Vermont Volunteer 
Infantry, for service in the Span- 
ish-American War. Before the 
regiment was mustered into the 
United States service. May 16, 
1898, he was appointed upon the 
regimental non-commissioned staff 
as principal musician and served 
in that capacity until mustered out 
with his regiment in the fall of that 
year. Upon the reorganization of 
the National Guard he was again 
appointed principal musician and 
held that position until November 
26, 1901, when he was commis- 
sioned first lieutenant. On the 
13th day of January, 1903, he was 
commissioned captain, commanding 
Company B, Vermont National 
Guard, which commission he now 
holds, rankino- second in the line of 
captains. Under his command 
Company B has rapidly improvpd 
in personnel and knowledge of mili- 
tary science. A decided interest 
has been shown in marksmanship 
and in 1904 its team won the cen- 
tennial trophv in the state compe- 
tition. Captain Tillotson is him- 
self an excellent marksman, having 
qualified as "expert," a^id in the 
state competition in 1905 was 
awarded the medal of the National 
Rifle i^ssociation for the highest 
individi^al score in that competi- 
tion. The same year he was de- 
tailed upon the Vermont state team 
and took part with that organiza- 
tion in the national rifle competi- 
tion at Sea Girt, New Jersey. 




Lee S, Tillotson. 



FRANKLIN COUNTY. 



321 



Captain Tillotson is a charter 
member of Sergeant William H. 
Sullivan Camp, No. 7, United 
Spanish War Veterans. 

At the inang'uration of President 
Roosevelt at Washington in 1905 
he was detailed and served as aide 
to the grand marshal. 

On his return from the Spanish- 
American War, Captain Tillotson 
entered the office of Colonel Alfred 
A. Hall in St. Albans, read law 
with him and was admitted to the 
bar, October 31, 1902. He entered 
at once upon the practice of his 
profession and has already forg:ed 
his way well towards the front by 
his ability, industry and fair deal- 
ing with clients. Both in the 
county and supreme courts he is 
recognized as an able advocate and 
thorough trier of causes. 

On February 1, 1904, upon the 
resignation of Judge Thorne, he 
was appointed judire of the city 
court for the City of St. Albans by 
Governor INfcCullough, a position 
he now holds under appointment 
by Governor Bell. As a judge his 
knowledge of the law is supple- 
mented by a judicial temperament 
and a sincere desire to dispense 
even handed justice. These quali- 
fications have won for him an en- 
viable reputation. 

Judse Tillotson is a musician of 
recognized ability, and has always 
taken an active interest in musical 
matters. He is known as one of 
the best cornetists in the state, was 
at one time leader of the St. Albans 
Brigade Band and has been for sev- 
eral years the baritone in the choir 
of the First Congregational Church 
of St. Albans. 

He became interested in Free 
Masonry early in life, and has held 
the highest offices in Franklin 
Lodge, No. 4, F. & A. M., Cham- 

A— 22 



plain Chapter, No. 1, E. A. M., 
and Lafayette Commandery, No. 
3, K. T. in 1902 he was appointed 
grand lecturer of the grand lodge 
of Vermont ; in 1904 he was elected 
grand junior warden, and in 1905 
promoted to the office of grand se- 
nior warden. He is also a member 
of the committee on Masonic juris- 
prudence. 

His diversified talents have won 
for him a host of friends, who be- 
lieve an eminent career is before 
him. 

WHEELER, Hon. H. Et.mer, 
only son of Marshall S. and Hapa- 
lona (Ewins) Wheeler, was born 
in Berkshire, September 21, 1864. 
Josiah Wheeler, his sreat-srand- 
sire, came from Windsor County 
to Berkshire in 1806 and settled in 
the center of the town on the farm 
which has been owned by three gen- 
erations of his descendants to the 
present time. He died in 1854 and 
was succeeded by his youngest son, 
Lucius H., who, in 1822, married 
Mary Rowley of Enosbursr, who 
bore him eight children. He was 
a lifelong and zealous Methodist 
and meetings were often held at 
his house. 

His youngest son, Marshall S., 
remained on the farm and cared 
for his parents, and at his father's 
death in 1873 became the owner. 
He was an active business man and 
successful dealer in live stock. He 
died June 23, 1900, and his wife, 
November 17, 1905. 

H. Elmer Wheeler completed his 
education at Vermont Methodist 
Seminary, from which he gradu- 
ated in 1887. He taught school 
several years and was principal of 
the Enosburg Falls High School. 
He studied law with Cross & Start, 
was admitted to the bar in 1891 
and opened an office at St. Albans, 



322 



SUCCESSFUL VEKMOKTEllS. 



where he soou enjoyed a remunera- 
tive practice. During the past few 
years his attention has been given 
largely to his extensive real estate 
interests. He still owns the ances- 
tral farm, also the lake shore farm 
of 370 acres and two other farms, 
in all 1,000 acres, which are con- 
ducted as dairy farms. While in 



of an excellent business adminis- 
tration. 

Mayor Wheeler possesses an emi- 
nently practical mind and a ready 
and comprehensive grasp of details 
that have made him a successful 
executive in public and private 
affairs. 

INIayor Wheeler married in 1901, 




H. Ei,MEK Wheelek. 



Berkshire, Mr. Wheeler served as 
superintendent of schools and mem- 
ber of the county school board. He 
has held various positions in St. 
Albans, served as alderman of 
Ward Four in 1904 was elected 
mayor of St. Albans in 1905 and 
re-elected in 1906 by an increased 
majority, an emphatic recognition 



A. Ruth, daughter of Milo R. 
Fisher, and they are parents of an 
infant son, Robert Pj. Wheeler. 

JOHNSON, Elmer, son of Da- 
rius T. and Emma L. (Chaplin) 
Johnson, was born at Troy, Feb- 
ruary 22, 1873. His grandfather. 
David Johnson, was a native of 
Ludlow and moved to Jay in 1831, 



FRANKLIN COUNTY. 



323 



oue of the early settlers. Darius T. 
Johnson removed to Troy, engaged 
in farming and the manufacture 
of starch. 

Elmer Johnson received a good 
common school education and 
shared in the cares and labors of 
the paternal farm, which he has re- 
cently purchased. He graduated 



Johnson to enter the legal profes- 
sion. He began the study by him- 
self soon after his marriage ; later 
read in the office of Hon. Frederick 
W. Baldwin of Barton one year, 
then opened an insurance and col- 
lection office at Enosburg Falls in 
February, 1896, continued his 
studies and was admitted to the 




Elmek Johnson. 



from Eastman National Business 
College in 1892. 

On his twenty-first birthday he 
married Sarah, daughter of Giles 
and Lucretia (Weed) Reynolds of 
Lowell. The young couple found a 
congenial employment in teaching 
school and also a stepping-stone for 
the cherished ambition of young 



bar in October of that year. A 
Republican in politics, during his 
five years' residence and practice 
at Enosburg Falls he was elected 
to the positions of village trustee, 
grand juror and school committee. 
He removed to St. Albans in 
1901, where he has achieved excel- 
lent success as a trial lawver and 



324 



SUCCESSFUL VERMOKTEKS. 



has a good and increasing practice. 
Mr. Johnson was elected a member 
of the board of listers in 1905. 

Possessing an analytical mind, 
unusual energy and industry, Mr. 
Johnson is an interested and ear- 
nest student of historic and current 
literature, which extends and liber- 



son) Austin, was born at Highgate, 
November 12, 1877. Plis father, a 
well-known lawyer of this city, was 
born at Westford, Chittenden 
County, October 21, 1845, but the 
family removed to Fairfax seven 
years later. Mr. Austin graduated 
from the Xew Hampton Institute 




Warren R. Austin. 



alizes his professional usefulness. 
He was admitted to practice in the 
United States courts of Vermont in 
1900. 

Elmer and Sarah Reynolds John- 
son have one son, Philip, born in 
1897. 

AUSTIN, Warren R., son of 
Chauneey G. and Anna M. (Robin- 



of that town in 1867. He studied 
law with the late Hon. George A. 
Ballard and was admitted to the 
bar in April, 1870. Mr. Austin 
removed to Highgate soon after- 
wards, where he continued in suc- 
cessful practice 29 years. 

Chauneey G. Austin married 
Anna M., daughter of Warren Rob- 



FRANKLIN COUNTY. 



325 



inson, in 1874. Six children have 
been born of this union, three sons 
and three daughters, who died in 
childhood. The youngest son, Ros- 
well M., is a student at Phillips- 
Andover Academy, preparing for 
Yale College. 

Chauncey G. Austin came to St. 
Albans in 1899 and established the 
present law firm. He is a Repub- 
lican in politics and a member of 
Lafayette Commandery. 

Warren Robinson Austin was 
graduated from Brigham Academy 
of Bakersfield in the class of 1895, 
and from the University of Ver- 
mont in 1899 with the degree of 
Ph. B. He was admitted to the 
bar in October, 1902, and is a mem- 
ber of the firm of C. G. Austin & 
Sons. 

Mr. Austin is the Franklin 
County member of the state Repub- 
lican League. In September, 1901:, 
he was nominated without opposi- 
tion for the office of state's attor- 
ney, to which he was elected by an 
unparalleled majority, and which 
he has filled with marked efficiency. 

Warren R. Austin married Mil- 
dred M. Lucas, June 26, 1901, and 
they have a son, Warren R. Austin, 
Jr., born October 10, 1902. 

Chauncey G. Austin, Jr., the 
junior member of the law firm, 
was born in Highgate, February 6, 
1879. He graduated from Brig- 
ham Academy, Bakersfield, in the 
class of 1896 and from the law de- 
partment of the University of Wis- 
consin in the class of 1902. On the 
18th day of March, 1902, he was 
admitted to the Harlan Chapter 
of the honorary legal fraternity of 
Phi Delta Phi. He was admitted 
to the Vermont bar in 1901 and the 
bar of Wisconsin in 1902. 

Chauncey G. Austin, Jr., was 
married to Miss Olivia E. Simpson 



of Chicago in 1904. The follow- 
ing September he was elected jus- 
tice of the peace of St. Albans. 

KELTON, Hon. Otis N., son of 
Otis L. and Sarah L. (Newcomb) 
Kelton, was born at Montgomery, 
April 3, 1844. His grandfather, 
Lovell Kelton, was many years a 
citizen of Calais. 

Otis L. Kelton was born in 1805, 
a typical mechanic of the period 
and for several years owned and 
conducted a gristmill at Lowell. 
He moved to Montgomery in 1831 
and purchased a farm of 500 acres, 
where he resided until his death in 
1890. He also owned a mill in 
that town. A devoted adherent of 
the Democratic party, he held 
many prominent offices in town. 
He was the father of 11 children 
by three marriages. 

Otis N. Kelton was the eldest son 
by the last marriage, one of a fam- 
ily of nine children. He shared 
the labors of the farm and attended 
the district school and Brandon 
Academy, but even in boyhood be- 
came an interested student of poli- 
tics and a convert to the principles 
of the rising Republican party and 
the standard of "Fremont Free 
Speech and Free Men." 

During his minority he was an 
officer in political organizations 
and later has been a delegate to 
many county and state conventions. 
In 1865 he entered Eastman's Busi- 
ness College and after completing 
his course, two years later, he was 
elected town treasurer of Montgom- 
ery and held that position continu- 
ously 30 years. He was also town 
clerk from 1879 to 1899. He read 
law in the office of J. S. Tupper of 
Montgomery, was admitted to the 
bar in 1877, and settled in his na- 
tive town, where his ability and ab- 
solute integrity secured deserved 



326 



RUCOESSFIJL VERMONTEllS. 



recognition, both in professional 
and public life. He was elected 
town representative in 1874 and 
1876, and a senator in 1882. 
Elected state 's attorney in 1892, he 
acceptably filled that position and 
secured a conviction in the noted 



Chapter, R. A. M., of Enosburg, 
also of Lafayette Commaudery of 
St. Albans, and is a member of the 
^fystic Shrine. 

Mr. Kelton married, in 1871, 
Hattie B., daughter of Joshua 
Clapp, a granddaughter of Captain 




Otis X. Kelton. 



murder trial of the Keyser-Bailey 
case. Elected judge of probate of 
Franklin Countj^ in 1898, he re- 
moved to St. Albans, where he has 
since ably discharged the duties of 
that office. Judge Kelton is an 
esteemed member of Missisquoi 
Lodge, F. & A. M., and Lafayette 



Clapp, a Revolutionary officer and 
the pioneer settler of Montgomery. 
This union has been blessed by four 
children : Eva L., wife of John B. 
Keith ; Hallie, who is register of 
probate; Fanny C, wife of R. C. 
Martin of Boston, Massachusetts, 
and Frank C. Kelton, residing at 



FRANKLIN COUNTY. 



327 



Tucson, Arizona, a civil and min- 
ing engineer in the employ of the 
Arizona & Eastern Railroad. 

KELLEY, Barney F., son of 
Barney and Elizabeth Kelley, was 
born in Ireland, November 20, 
1847. Six months later his parents 
immigrated to America, landed in 
New York and, reaching St. Al- 
bans Bay by boat, his mother died 



and hard work enabled them to sur- 
vive the hungry days of childhood 
and reach manhood with a deter- 
mination to repay her. Living in 
the back woods, miles from the 
nearest schoolhouse, in the early 
days of youth the children were 
deprived of educational training. 

The subject of this sketch worked 
out summers and did chores winters 




r>Ai:NKY F. Kf.li.ky. 



two hours later by ship fever and 
was buried at once, on account of 
dread of the disease. A year later 
his father died from pneumonia, 
leaving homeless three children, the 
eldest about four and the young- 
est, the subject of this sketch, less 
than two years of age. Fortu- 
nate were they in having a loyal 
stepmother, who by heroic devotion 



for his board, until at the age of 
17 he entered New Hampton Insti- 
tute, Fairfax, where he remained 
three j^ears, doing chores for his 
board and teaching winter terms of 
school. 

While teaching a district school 
in the town of Fairfield, he ac- 
cepted the position of deputy sher- 
iff of the County of Franklin, 



328 



SUCCESSFUL VERMONTERS. 



March 1, 1867. Meanwhile he 
lived with the sheriff, A. J. Soule, 
in the old jail at St. Albans, until 
1868, when he was appointed in- 
spector of customs at the port of 
St. Albans by General George J. 
Stannard, the then collector of cus- 
toms for the district of Vermont. 
In 1878 he was promoted to the 
position of deputy collector of cus- 
toms by General William Wells, 
which position he held for one year 
after the Democratic party came 
into power in 1885. 

Believing' that "to the victors 
belong the spoils," he tendered his 
resignation in December, 1885, to 
take effect IMarch 1, 1886. On the 
following day he was elected con- 
stable and collector of taxes for the 
town of St. Albans and held that 
position until 1890, when he was 
elected sheriff' for the County of 
Franklin, which position he still 
holds. Sheriff Kelley possesses in 
an eminent degree those qualities 
of mind and heart that win and re- 
tain the confidence and esteem of 
his associates ; jovial and kindly in 
manner, helpful to those in need, 
he enjoys a most agreeable and ex- 
tensive personal acquaintance in 
this section and has a host of 
friends. He is a careful and com- 
petent official and the county jail 
is a model institution. 

Deeply interested in the welfare 
of the community, he is an active 
member of the board of trade, was 
a member of the school board of 
the old town of St. Albans and its 
chairman for three years; also for 
several years connected with the 
fire department and was chief en- 
gineer for two terms. 

Sheriff' Kelley is an active and 
influential Republican. In 1872 
he married Nancy McSorley, who 
died in 1879. He has two children, 



Mrs. Lizzie M. Sullivan and George 
Eaymond Kelley. 

DAVIS, Wilbur P., son of 
James and Esther (Palmer) Davis, 
was born at St. Albans, March 7, 
1832. He comes of stanch New 
England stock. His grandfather, 
Joshua Davis, was a gristmill 
owner and farmer at Davisville, 
near North Kingston, Rhode 
Island. 

James Davis was born in 1783, a 
man of scholarly tastes and attain- 
ments, a graduate of Union Col- 
lege, Schenectady, New York, in 
1809. A year later he came to St. 
Albans and studied law in the of- 
fice of Hon. Asa Aldis, and in 1812 
was admitted to the bar. After 
several years' practice at North 
Hero, Fairfield and Swanton, in 
January, 1819. he formed a copart- 
nership with Judge Aldis and took 
up his permanent residence in St. 
Albans. He prepared his cases 
with great thoroughness and abil- 
ity, was excellent counsel, but not 
a jury advocate. 

In 1828 he was elected a dele- 
gate to the constitutional conven- 
tion and in 1830 was a member of 
the executive council of the state. 
He was elected associate judge of 
Franklin County in 1813 and re- 
elected in 1811. In 1815 he was 
elected judge of probate and re- 
elected many years, until an acci- 
dent and failing health caused his 
retirement. His latest years were 
passed in reading, writing and 
study. He was a chaste and ele- 
gant writer, and a man of rare 
modesty and integrity. He was a 
Federalist and later a Republican 
in politics. 

His two sons were James P. and 
the subject of our sketch. Wilbur 
P. Davis attended St. Albans Acad- 
emy and graduated from the Uni- 



FRANKLIN COUNTY. 



329 



versity oi' Vermont in 1852. In- 
heriting the literary tastes of his 
father, he became editor of the Mes- 
senger. Later he was for several 
years editor and proprietor of the 
Woodstock Standard, and still later 
of the Vermont Transcript. After 
spending some time in the office as 



tured gentleman and has a very 
wide and interesting personal ac- 
quaintance with the public men of 
Vermont, especially of the legal 
fraternity. 

He has never married. He is 
one of the oldest members of St. 
Albans Lodge, I. 0. 0. F., and has 




WiLBUK p. Davis. 



assistant county clerk, at the resig- 
nation of J. H. Brainard in Au- 
gust, 1872, he was appointed 
county clerk and has continued to 
fill that office most acceptably until 
the present time, a period of 34 
years. 

Mr. Davis is a genial and cul- 



passed all of the chairs of that 
body. He is a Republican in poli- 
tics, maintains an active interest 
in current public affairs, both local 
and national, and is highly es- 
teemed as a man and citizen. 

NUTTER, Reverend Charles 
S., D. D., is a native of New Hamp- 



330 



SUCCES.'^FUL VERMONTET{S. 



shire. He was born in Tufton- 
boro, a town bordering on the 
beautiful Lake Winnepesaukee, 
September 19, 1842. He was a 
farmer's son. His father, Jacob 
Nutter, was well loiown as one of 
the most reliable men, and enter- 
prising farmers in that region. 



Scotch family. They were strong 
patriots, some of the men taking an 
active part in the Revolutionary 
War. 

The farmer's son prepared for 
college at Tilton Seminary. He 
was graduated at Boston Univer- 
sity School of Theology in 1871. 




Rev. Ciiaki.es S. Nuttek. 



The Nutters came from England 
to Portsmouth, New Hampshire, in 
the latter part of the seventeenth 
or the first part of the eighteenth 
century. They were said to have 
been in sympathy, politically, with 
the Tories during the War of the 
Revolution. His mother, Nancy 
Young, was a descendant of a 



This was the first class to receive 
the diploma of the new university, 
which was chartered in 1869. 

After his graduation he joined 
the New England Southern Con- 
ference, and was ordained an elder 
by Bishop Ames at Providence, 
Rhode Island, in 1872. He was 
married in the fall of the same 



P^RANKLTN fOUNTY. 



331 



year to Sarah L. Holt, daughter of 
Reuben L. Holt of Boston, Massa- 
chusetts. 

As a pastor, he has served 
churches at Winthrop, Scituate, 
Sandwich, New Bedford and Ha- 
verhill, Massachusetts ; Central 
Falls, Rhode Island; Tilton, Con- 
cord and Exeter, New Hampshire, 
and St. Albans. 

In 1899 he was appointed pre- 
siding elder of St. Albans district 
of the Vermont Conference. This 
district includes all of Grand Isle, 
Franklin and Lamoille counties, 
and parts of Chittenden and Wash- 
ington Counties. In this territory 
are fifty or more jMethodist 
churches, which were under his su- 
perintendence for a full term of 
six years, with headquarters at St. 
Albans, where the elderage is lo- 
cated. Doctor Nutter is widely 
known, not only as a man of high 
moral purposes, an earnest and 
able preacher and a lover of his 
fellow-men, but as a very progres- 
sive man. During his presiding 
eldership he established a circulat- 
ing library for the benefit of the 
pastors of his district. This was a 
new departure of great benefit to 
the preachers, and indirectly to the 
people they serve. Under his ad- 
ministration a beautiful grove of 30 
acres on the Missisquoi River was 
purchased. He was one of the 
original incorporators of the 
Camp Meeting Association, and the 
organizer and president of the Bi- 
ble-school which is held annually. 
This was the first institution of the 
kind organized in the state of Ver- 
mont. 

Mr. Nutter has been repeatedly 
honored by his denomination. For 
two successive years he was a mem- 
ber of the general missionary com- 
mittee of his church. He re- 



ceived the honorary degree of Doc- 
tor of Divinity from Taylor Uni- 
versity, Indiana, in 1895. He was 
chosen a member of the General 
Conference which met in May, 
1904, at Los Angeles, California. 
He was also a member of the com- 
mission to edit and prepare a new 
hymnal for the use of the Metho- 
dist Episcopal Church, and the 
Methodist Episcopal Church, 
South, a book which for a genera- 
tion will be the official hymnal of 
fifteen or twenty millions of the 
people of this country. 

Doctor Nutter has made a special 
study of hymnology and church 
music. He is the author of two 
books: Hymn Studies, New York, 
1884, and Historic Hjpnnists, Bos- 
ton, 1893. In preparing Hymn 
Studies, the author labored persist- 
ently for five years, making many 
original and interesting discover- 
ies, which caused it to be consid- 
ered as a standard work upon the 
subject at home and abroad. It 
reached the fourth edition in 1900. 

At present, 1906, Mr. Nutter is 
the pastor of the Methodist Epis- 
copal Church at St. Albans. This 
is the second time he has been the 
pastor of this strong church. 
The first was from September, 
1894, to April, 1899, when he was 
appointed presiding elder of the 
district. At the close of his elder- 
ship in 1905, he was again ap- 
pointed pastor of this church. 
Thus for 12 successive years he has 
been a resident of the City of St. 
Albans. 

MARVIN, Frank I., son of An- 
drew J. and Louisa (Royce) Mar- 
vin, was born in Sheldon, Septem- 
ber 6, 1858. His educational train- 
ing was limited to the common 
schools and one term at West 
Charleston Academy, In the la- 



382 



SUCCESSFUL VERMONTEi;S. 



bors and cares of farm life he 
formed a strong physique, habits 
of thrift and economy and of inde- 
pendent thought and action. He 
remained on the paternal farm dur- 
ing his minority and for the seven 
years following worked out on 
farms, during the last four years 



terested in the creamery business 
at West Holland. He foresaw the 
possibilities of the system and, in 
the spring of 1890, in connection 
with his brother, built the first 
creamery at Derby, operated it for 
five years and then sold to the 
Highland creamery, a cooperative 




Frank I. Marvin. 



for Mrs. Priscilla Dimon of Fair- 
field. 

In November, 1886, he married 
her only daughter, Gertrude Lu- 
ella Dimon, and later, for three 
years, continued to carry on the 
farm. 

In the fall of 1887 he became in- 



institution. Subsequently he was 
engaged in the business of drugs 
and medicines two years and then 
sold his interest to his partner, H. 
H. Wilder. 

In 1895 Mr. Marvin returned to 
the Dimon farm in Fairfield, where 
he remained five years, and then 



FRAiSIKLlN COUNTY. 



333 



entered the employ of the Franklin 
County Creamery Association in 
the capacity of solicitor. Since 
1903 he has been superintendent, 
a responsible position, for which he 
is eminently qualified by his ex- 
perience both as a farmer and 
patron and as creamery man. Mr. 
Marvin is also a director and man- 
ager of Eureka Creamery Company 
of North Troy and Newport. He 
also owns several dairy farms in 



riage three daughters were born : 
Laura Pearl, who died in child- 
hood. Hazel G. and Mildred Fran- 
ces, aged, respectively, six and 
three years. Mr. Marvin is a mem- 
ber of Hazwell Lodge, F. & A. M., 
Champlain Chapter, R. A. M., and 
Champlain Commandery, also a 
charter member of the Society of 
Elks. 

THE Franklin County Cream- 
ery Association. This institution 




The Franklin County Creamekv 



this vicinity and is recognized as a 
capable executive manager and suc- 
cessful financier. He is a Demo- 
crat in politics. 

Mrs. Marvin died in May, 1884, 
and December 29 following he mar- 
ried Laura Gertrude, daughter of 
William and Clara Bobbins of 
Derby. By the first marriage was 
one son, Guy D., now attending St. 
Albans High School, and several 
young ladies. By the second mar- 



is the parent and exemplar of its 
class, the largest in New England 
and one of the largest in the world, 
and for many years a potent factor 
in the industrial life of Franklin 
County. It was organized in 1890, 
being a consolidation of all of the 
small creameries in Franklin 
County, and a few in contiguous 
territory. The cream of 20,000 
cows, representing 1,200 dairies, is 
used and during the busy season 



334 



SUCCESSFUL VERMONTERS. 



about ten tons of splendid butter 
are produced daily. Nearly three 
million pounds of butter have been 
made in a single year. The cream- 
gathering- system has prevailed 
since 1900 and since January 1, 
1906, the patrons have enjoyed the 
benefits of the system of weekly 



MOTT, Hiram M., son of Nich- 
ols and Amanda M. (Chilton) 
Mott, was born in Alburgh, Jan- 
uary 4, 1853. His school attend- 
ance was limited to the common and 
select schools, but from earliest 
boyhood he has been an omniverou& 
reader and devoted student. 




Hiram M. Mott. 



payments. The company also owns 
an immense cold storage plant 
with the best modern equipment 
for refrigeration. 

The officers are : A. S. Kiehard- 
son, president; F. E. Chamber- 
lain, vice-president and treasurer ; 
George II. Claflin, manager ; Frank 
I. Marvin, superintendent. 



In early life, after enjoying the 
helpful experience of teaching 
school several terms, he became, in 
1873, editor and publisher of the 
Brandon Union, until 1880. He 
was also editor and publisher of 
the Champlain (New York) Coun- 
selor from 1883- '93, inclusive. He 
had previously an interest in the 



FRANKLIN COUNTY. 



335 



Ticonderoga Sentinel and the Lud- 
low Tribune. 

He has taken a deep interest in 
the cause of education, was school 
commissioner in supervision of the 
public schools of the district of 
seven towns in the northern part 
of Clinton County, New York, 
from 1888 to '90, inclusive, and 
frequently gave addresses on the 
educational, agricultural and pol it- 



adaptability and an initiative that 
eminently fits him for legal prac- 
tice. In 1898 he was appointed 
referee in bankruptcy, a position 
which he has since acceptably 
filled. 

Hiram M. ]\Iott was married in 
1874 to Ellen A. Towne of Stowe. 
Their only son, Walter T. Mott, 
born in 1875, is in the employ of 
the New York Life Insurance Com- 




Residknce of HiBAJt M. Mott. 



ical topics of the day. He was ad- 
mitted to the bar in October, 1894, 
and soon after l)ecame a permanent 
resident of St. Albans, where he 
has since successfully practiced his 
profession. He was superintend- 
ent of the city schools in 1894. 

During his varied experience as 
a teacher, superintendent of schools 
and editor of a country newspaper, 
Mr. Mott has gained a knowledge 
of affairs and of human nature, an 



pany at Syracuse, New York. The 
only daughter, Eva Stowell Mott, 
a lady of character and culture, 
wife of W. T. Clark, an extensive 
planter of Yazoo City, Mississippi, 
died March 22, 1905. 

L'ECUYER, Nelson E. The 
subject of this sketch, well and fa- 
vorably known as the treasurer and 
superintendent of the St. Albans 
Messenger Company, was born in 
St. Johns, Quebec, July 17, 1861, 



336 



SUCCESSFUL VERMONTERS. 



the oldest of the 11 children of 
N. H. and Christiana (Trahan) 
L'Ecnyer. He was educated at 
St. Johns Academy and graduated 
at the age of 14 at the head of his 
class. 

He entered the employ of the 
local superintendent of the Central 
Vermont Railroad at St. Johns in 
1877, as an errand boy, but his 
promptness and efficiency was rec- 
ognized and rewarded bv successive 




Nelson E. L'Ecuyer. 

promotions until in March, 1890, 
he became chief clerk of the general 
freight department, where he 
served three years. 

He then became cashier and 
bookkeeper of the St. Albans Mes- 
senger Company, January 1, 1896, 
was made treasurer and, eight 
years later, the office of superin- 
tendent was added. The mechan- 
ical department of the Messenger 



is an important business enterprise 
with one of the most extensive 
plants in the state and Mr. L'Ec- 
uyer has entire charge of all de- 
partments, except the editorial. 

In politics a zealous Republican, 
he has served as village trustee be- 
fore the city incorporation and has 
been an officer in several Republi- 
can local organizations. 

A man of his ability and social 
tendencies is naturally active and 
influential in fraternal organiza- 
tions. ]\Ir. L'Ecuyer was a char- 
ter member and, since its organiza- 
tion in 1894, treasurer of the Cath- 
olic Order of Foresters. He also 
affiliates with the ^Modern Wood- 
men of America and the St. John 
Baptist Society of America. 

]\lay 1. 1883. he was married to 
Azelie. daughter of Pierre Lang- 
lois and Florena (Richard) Lang- 
lois. and they are the parents of 11 
interesting children, all living: 
<Teorge Emery, a theological stu- 
dent in the Grand Seminary of 
Montreal. Marie Beatrice Emma, 
Thomas Henry, Marie Rose An- 
nette, Mareruerite-^NIarie Adrienne, 
Armand. Herve. Leo Eugene, Lo- 
rette Georgine, Reine Marie The- 
rese, Fernande Leona. 

STEVENS, Doctor AVilliam 
Stanford, son of Doctor Calvin 
and Sophia (Tappan) (Crocker) 
Stevens, was born in Boston, June 
13, 1859. During the first decade of 
the century his grandfather, Sam- 
uel Stevens, came from southern 
Vermont and hewed out a farm 
from the primeval wilderness in the 
town of Enosburg. 

Calvin Stevens was born in 1816 
and was reared here, and later was 
for half a century a successful phy- 
sician in Boston. 

William Stanford Stevens grad- 
uated from the Boston Latin School 



FRANKLIN COUNTY. 



337 



m 1876 and from Harvard College 
in 1880, in the same class with 
President Eoosevelt. Three years 
later he received the degree of M. 
D, at the Harvard Medical School 
and in 1884 his alma mater con- 
ferred on him the degree of A. M. 
Doctor Stevens was elected a 
member of the Boston common 
council in 1887 and served two 
years under Mayor Hart. In 1891 



sachusetts Emergency and Hygiene 
Association. He was correspond- 
ing secretary of the New England 
Historic Genealogical Society in 
1893 and 1894. From 1900 to 
1903 he devoted himself as super- 
intendent to building up and put- 
ting on a satisfactory basis the St. 
Albans hospital. 

Doctor Stevens married, Decem- 
ber 1, 1895, Emily Huntington, 





Kesidence of William S. Stevens, M. D. 



.^ 



he was one of Boston's representa- 
tives in the General Court of Mas- 
sachusetts. 

He gave up the practice of medi- 
cine in 1887 and devoted his time 
largely to the charitable and benefi- 
cent organizations. He was five 
years treasurer and three years 
president of the Mercantile Library 
Association of Boston, and also con- 
nected as organizer with the Marine 
Biological Laboratory and the Mas- 

A— 23 



daughter of Silas H. and Harriet 
(Safford) Lewis of St. Albans, and 
has since resided in this city. Their 
home, "Ingleside, " on Smith 
Street, is an ideal one, with expan- 
sive lawns and groves, and com- 
mands a beautiful view of Lake 
Champlain. Three children have 
been born to them. William Stan- 
ford, Jr., was born October 21, 
1896, and died October 31; Stan- 
ford Huntington was born October 



338 



SUCCESSFUL VERMONTEliS. 



5, 1897, and Philip Greeley, An- 
gnst 16, 1902. 

The splendid ancestral farm, 
located on the tops of the highest 
hills of Enosburg, nearly 2,000 feet 
above sea level, has remained con- 
tinuously in the ownership and 
possession of three generations of 
the Stevens family; they have 
added from time to time "the land 
on the other side of the fence," 
until now the farm, originally 280 
acres, consists of 900 acres, 200 
acres of meadows, about four hun- 
dred of open pastures, and the rest 
either sugar orchards or dense for- 
ests. More than three hundred 
tons of hay are annually stored in 
the capacious barns, 1,000 bushels 
of oats, 250 bushels of corn, besides 
filling the silos with ensilage and 
400 bushels of potatoes are raised. 
A fine dairy of 100 cows is sup- 
ported and an extensive flock of 
Shropshire sheep. The stock con- 
sists of thoroughbred and high 
grade Jerseys and Ayrshires. ]\Iaple 
sugar is one of the principal prod- 
ucts of "IMaple (rrange," hence its 
name. Doctor Stevens taps 7,000 
trees, which are set up with the 
best modern equipment, the sap 
boiled in two immense evaporators 
in one house and rendered largely 
as syrup, which is put up in gallon 
cans and goes to private customers. 

During the past 12 years Doctor 
Stevens has torn down all of the 
old buildings, except his grand- 
father 's house, which is surrounded 
by a broad verandah, and replaced 
them by modern, convenient struc- 
tures. The buildings command a 
magnificent panorama of lake and 
mountain scenery within a radius 
of 75 miles, including IMount ]\Ians- 
field, the Adirondacks, Lake Cham- 
plain and ]\rontreal mountain. The 
farm is conducted on business prin- 



ciples as a property investment, not 
as a fad of fancy farming. 

When Doctor Stevens first took 
possession of jNIaple Grange he was 
confronted with the fact that the 
farm was located eight miles from 
the nearest station and he at once 
resolved to introduce the telephone, 
which he successfully accomplished 
with characteristic energy and per- 
sistence. This incident eventuated 
in the establishment of rural lines. 
Doctor Stevens being the pioneer, 
and he is the president of the 
Northern Telephone Company and 
the Central Telephone Company, 
most valuable factors in rural life. 

He is a Knight Templar IMason. 
Doctor Stevens takes a loyal inter- 
est in his adopted town and has 
served as a member of the council. 

GREENE, Hon. Selden C, son 
of Orrin and Phoebe (Clarke) 
Greene, was born at St. Albans, 
July 25, 1844. Mr. Greene is a 
lifelong resident of St. Albans, a 
descendant of one of the earliest 
and most prominent families and 
in the best sense a representative 
citizen of his fown and state. 

Two brothers, Nathan and Job 
Greene, were early settlers here. 
Job, the grandfather of the sub- 
ject of this sketch, cleared up a 
farm from the primeval forest on 
what is now South IMain Street, 
and which is now occupied by his 
grandson, W. H. H. Greene. Job 
Greene married Freelove Potter 
and they were parents of four sons 
and three daughters. Orrin, one 
of the sons, remained on the pater- 
nal farm, married Phoebe Clarke 
and reared a family of 11 chil- 
dren, all but one of whom are now 
living. He was a soldier of the 
War of 1812. 

Selden C. Greene shared the 
usual experience of the farm bred 



FRANKLIN COUNTY. 



339 



boy of the period and was educated 
in the public schools and academy 
of his native town. At 16 years of 
age he began to learn the tinman's 
trade and after serving' the usual 
apprenticeship of four years fol- 
lowed his trade in St. Albans until 
1876, when he engaged in the tin- 
smith and hardware business in 



and plumbing with the various sys- 
tems of steam, hot air and hot 
water, has required the services of 
several skilled employes. 

Mr. Greene's store is the recog- 
nized headquarters for the supply 
of the multifurious utensils re- 
quired in the domestic equipment 
of modern housekeeping. 




Selden C. Greene. 



company with his older brother Ed- 
ward, until 1882. Later, a cousin 
became a partner, but since 1892 
Mr. Greene has been sole proprie- 
tor. He is probably the senior 
merchant in continuous business in 
this city. During recent years the 
sale of furnaces, stoves and ranges 



A business man of excellent 
judgment and proved executive 
ability, he has devoted his atten- 
tion closely to the successful con- 
duct of his business, and rarely ac- 
cepted public office. He was a vil- 
lage trustee five years and one year 
chairman of the board and for two 



340 



SUCCESSFUL VEEMONTERS. 



years had charge of the city streets 
and water. Mr. Greene was elected, 
September 4, 1906. one of the sen- 
ators of Franklin County, as a Ee- 
publican. In religious preference 
and support he is a Universalist. 
He is a member of St. Albans 
Lodge, No. 31, I. 0. 0. F., and of 
the Knights of Pythias. 

Selden C. Greene married, Sep- 
tember 4, 1872, Sarah L. Pease. 
Their two children are IMabel, de- 
ceased, and AA^inifred, wife of 
George M. AVood of Boston. 




Fred W. Mason, M. D. 

MASON, Doctor Fred AV., son 
of Isaac and Helen ]\I. (Green) 
Mason, was born at Brasher Falls, 
St. Lawrence County, New York, 
October 1, 1874. Doctor Mason 
comes of vigorous American stock. 
His father is a stalwart shoemaker 
and he is the youngest of a family 
of three sons and three daughters, 
all of whom are living. He grad- 
uated from the Brasher Falls 



Union free school in 1893. He 
early decided to adopt the medical 
profession and for several years 
had been studying in the office of 
his brother-in-law. Doctor George 
H. Dowsey. 

In the fall of 1894 lie entered the 
Iowa State Medical College and 
graduated in 1897. In the fall of 
that year he settled in practice at 
St. Albans Bay, Avhere he has since 
remained with a steadily increasing 
practice. He is the only practis- 
ing ph3^sician in the town of St. 
Albans, and having a fine physique 
and pleasing address has secured a 
good social and professional stand- 
ing. 

Doctor ]\Iason is a member of the 
Averment State INIedical Society and 
also of Franklin Lodge, No. 4, F. 
& A. M., of St. Albans. He mar- 
ried, in 1899, Miss Cora Brooks 
Greene of St. Albans, a lady of 
superior mental and social gifts, 
and a descendant of the stanch 
pioneers of the town. She was a 
daughter of AVarren AV. and Betsey 
(Brooks) Greene. Her grandfather, 
Nathan Greene, represented St. 
Albans in the Legislature in 1810, 
and her maternal grandfather, 
Smith A. Brooks, was a longtime 
and prominent citizen. The pleas- 
ant and hospitable home of Doc- 
tor and Mrs. Fred W. Mason is 
cheered by the presence of an at- 
tractive daughter, Bessie. 

CLAFLIN, George H., son of 
Albert and Lydia A. (Town) Claf- 
lin, was born in AVestville, Frank- 
lin Countj^ New York, July 25, 
1866. His mother was a former 
Vermonter. George was reared 
upon the farm, fitted for college at 
Franklin Academy, INIalone, New 
York, and graduated from the Uni- 
versity of Vermont in the class of 
1890, ranking third in his class. 



FEANKXIN COUNTY. 



341 



He worked his way largely by 
tutoring during his college course, 
won the first prize for proficiency 
in freshman mathematics and the 
senior thesis prize in the engineer- 
ing department. At his alma ma- 
ter he was a charter member and 
the first chief officer of the Alpha 



superintendent, which he occupied 
until he was appointed manager in 
April, 1904. In this capacity Mr. 
Claflin has achieved unusual suc- 
cess and has been a potent factor 
in placing this great institution 
upon its present basis of remunera- 
tive usefulness to both patrons and 




George H. Claflin. 



Tau Omega Greek letter society. 
Subsequently he was instructor of 
mathematics and engineering in the 
University of North Carolina. 

He entered the employ of the 
Franklin County Creamery Asso- 
ciation in June, 1891, in the capac- 
ity of chemist, and one year later 
was promoted to the position of 



stockholders. He possesses an 
alert, receptive mind, and a reso- 
lute, tenacious will and withal a 
pleasing address. 

He is well and favorably known 
in social and fraternal circles, has 
attained the 32d degree of Scottish 
Rite Masonry and has been at the 
head of all of the local subordinate 



342 



SUCCESSFtJL VERMONTERS. 



bodies up to and inclnding the com- 
mandery. In politics he is a Re- 
publican. He was a charter mem- 
ber and first exalted ruler of St. 
Albans Lodge, No. 904, Benevolent 
and Protective Order of Elks. 

George H. Claflin married, in 
December, 1890, Jessie M., daugh- 
ter of Seymour and Lucy D. Law- 
rence. Their only son, Lawrence 
H., is nine years of age. 




J. Clarke Parker, D.Y. S. 

PARKER, J. CL.VRKE, D. V. S., 
son of John and Eleanor Mary 
Parker, was born in Plymouth, 
England, August 24, 1863. He 
came to Montreal with his father's 
family at nine years of age and 
was educated in the public schools 
of that city. He pursued a three- 
years' course in the Faculty of 
Comparative Medicine at ]\IcGill 
University, IMontreal, and gradu- 
ated in 1897 with the degree of 
D. V. S. 

Soon afterwards, he located in 
St. Albans, where he has since suc- 
cessfully practised the veterinary 
profession. Doctor Parker is at 
present the only graduate veterin- 
ary practitioner between ]\Iorris- 
ville and Burlington and his prac- 



tice covers a wide range. He has 
tested many thousands of cases for 
tuberculosis for the cattle commis- 
sion. He is a careful student and 
recognized authority on horse 
breeding, a skillful connoisseur of 
good horses and an accomplished 
reinsman, and at the St. Albans 
Veterinary Hospital on Pearl 
Street he handles and fits for mar- 
ket many high-class horses, both 
single and in pairs, for fancy driv- 
ers and for speed. At his stable 
stands the famous Electioneer 
Wilkes stallion. Traffic Agent, 
16715, whose sire, Conductor, sold 
for $35,000 as a three-year-old, and 
his grand sire was the great Elec- 
tioneer, son of Hambletonian, 10. 
He traces again directly to Ham- 
bletonian from his dam and grand 
dam, through George Wilkes and 
Harold, and as an individual pos- 
sesses remarkable symmetry, style 
and speed. 

Doctor Parker married in 1888, 
Rebecca, daughter of John Thorne 




Traffic Agext, 1G715. 

of Mooers, New York. Their only 
child is Florence Thorne Parker, 
15 years of age. 

HOGAN, Hon. Charles P., son 
of Charles and Ann (Mclnulla) 
Hogan, Avas born in County Ty- 
rone, north of Ireland, August 27, 



FRANKLIN COUNTY. 



343 



1843, and is of Scotch-Irish descent. 
From an early age he was contin- 
uously under the tutelage of an old 
English master until he came to 
this country with his parents when 
he was 13 years old. He continued 
his studies in the common schools 
in Vermont and was a student in 
the academy at Morrisville in 1861 



of his service he pursued his studies 
further at the academies in John- 
son and ]\Iorrisville and taught 
school for six months at the village 
of Wolcott. He studied law about 
three years with Powers and Gleed 
in Morrisville, and was admitted to 
the bar in 1868. He was grad- 
uated from the law department of 




Charles P. Hog an. 



when he enlisted in Company E, 
Seventh Regiment Vermont Volun- 
teers, to serve in the War of the 
Eebellion for three years. During 
part of the last year he was en- 
gaged in procuring and conducting 
recruits to help fill the decimated 
ranks of the Seventh and Eighth 
Vermont regiments. At the close 



the University of Michigan. He 
took a special literary course at the 
same institution, and in connection 
therewith a full course in a business 
college at Ann Arbor, Michigan. 
]\Ir. Hogan began the practice of 
his profession at Sheldon in Jan- 
uary, 1870. In politics he has al- 
ways been a loyal Republican, 



344 



StJCCESSFtJL VEKMON'TEIlS. 



being state's attorney in 1878- '80, 
and a member of the Senate in 
1882- '84. In the Senate he served 
on the judiciary committee, on the 
committee on banks, and as chair- 
man of the general committee. He 
removed to St. Albans in 1889. In 
1902 he formed a partnership with 



nized reputation throughout the 
state as a conscientious, thorough 
and successful lawyer. Though 
not a candidate, he was prom- 
inently mentioned in connection 
with the vacancy on the bench of 
the Supreme Court when Judge 
Start was first elected, and again 




George M. Hogan. 



Hon, H. Charles Royce, under the 
firm name of Hogan & Royce, 
which continued until 1900, when 
Mr. Royce retired and the firm of 
Hogan & Hogan, consisting of 
Charles P and his son, George M. 
Hogan, was established. The sub- 
ject of this sketch has a well-recog- 



after the death of Judge Start. 
He was president of the Vermont 
Bar Association in 1897- '98 and as 
a result of his annual address on 
the grand jury system a substan- 
tial change in the law on that sub- 
ject has been made. He is a prom- 
inent member of the G. A. R. and 



FRAiSTKLIN COtJNTY. 



345 



has been commander of the post in 
St. Albans. 

The strength and character of 
the sujjport he received as a can- 
didate for commissioner of state 
taxes is a high testimonial of his 
excellent standing as a public man. 
He is a man of fine sensibilities, 
genial and social in his manner. 

In 1870 he married Thirza J., 
daughter of Charles and Cynthia 
(Adams) Maynard of Enosburg. 
Their two children are Minnie L. 
and George M. Hogan. 

HOGAN, George M., one of the 
prominent young attorneys of the 
Franklin County bar, was born in 
Sheldon, October 1, 1874. He was 
educated at the St. Albans Acad- 
emy, from which he was graduated 
in 1893, and at the University of 
Vermont, being valedictorian of 
the class of 1897. He was made a 
member of the Delta Psi fraternity 
while in college, and during his 
senior year he acted as manager of 
the football team on an extended 
Southern and New England tour. 

Naturally of a studious turn of 
mind, Mr. Hogan took up the study 
of the law at the close of his uni- 
versity course, and was admitted 
to the bar in October, 1899. May 
1, 1900, he formed a partnership 
with his father, becoming a mem- 
ber of the law firm of Hogan & 
Hogan. 

He was appointed secretary of 
civil and military affairs by Gov- 
ernor Edward C. Smith for the 
term of 1898-1900. In 1898 he 
served as principal of the Burling- 
ton High School, that place having 
been made vacant by the resigna- 
tion of Principal S. W. Landon. 
He has been a member of the board 
of school commissioners of St. Al- 
bans and for the year 1902- '03 was 
elected chairman of that body. In 



February, 1905, Mr. Hogan was 
tendered the office of assistant at- 
torney-general of the Philippines, 
with headquarters at Manila, but 
declined the appointment. He is 
a young man of courteous bearing 
and magnetic personality, a close 
student of the law whose cultivated 
tastes and scholarly attainments 
mark him with distinction. Mr. 
Hogan married Mary Van Norden 
Fonda of St. Albans on January 1, 
1902, and they have two sons, 
Philip Fonda and Charles Beecher 
Hogan. 

BERKLEY, Doctor George 
Carlton, whose portrait appears 
with this sketch, is today one of 
the leading physicians of St. Al- 
bans. He is a descendant of an 
ancestry who came from the town 
of Berkley, County of Gloucester, 
and from Newcastle-on-Tyne, 
Northumberland County, England 
Michael Berkley, great-grand- 
father of Doctor Berkley, came to 
this country about 1815, by the 
way of Quebec, Canada, and set- 
tled in IMilton, Chittenden County, 
where he successfully followed the 
trade of wheelwright for many 
years. He was a musician of con- 
siderable repute, an excellent vio- 
linist, and organized an orchestra 
that became quite celebrated and 
had a flourishing existence for 
many years in that county. He 
was united in marriage to Eliza 
Powell, a native of Chittenden 
County, and the following named 
children were born to them: 
George P., James, Thomas, Will- 
iam, Mary and Jacob Berkley. Mr. 
Berkley's death occurred in 1868. 

George P. Berkley, grandfather 
of Doctor Berkley, was born in 
Milton, Chittenden County, where 
his education was attained in the 
common schools. He chose the 



346 



StJCCESSFUL VERMOKTERS. 



profession of music for his life 
work, became a master violinist 
and composer under the excellent 
tutorship of his father, and at a 
very young age ranked first in the 
state. He subsequently removed 
to Burlington, where he spent the 
greater portion of his life in teach- 



Jane Hill, daughter of Roderick 
and Esther (Bradley) Hill, who 
were among the first settlers of 
Milton, and came from Cheshire, 
Connecticut. Esther Bradley, wife 
of Roderick Hill, was a daughter 
of Captain John Bradley, of Revo- 
lutionary fame, and a great-grand- 




George C. Berkley, M. D. 



ing music and dancing. He organ- 
ized and conducted an orchestra 
in Burlington, kno^vn as Berkley's 
Cotillion Band. This orchestra 
contained many fine musicians and 
was for more than twenty-five 
years the leading orchestra in the 
state. Mr. Berkley married ]Mary 



daughter of Captain John Bradley 
of the colonial wars. 

The children were : Roderick 
Hill and John Bradley, born De- 
cember 25, 1851, who was an archi- 
tect by profession and was killed 
in Boston, ^Massachusetts, August 
5, 1872, by a fall from a building 



Franklin county. 



347 



while engaged at work; Jennie G., 
bom March 22, 1849, and a resi- 
dent of Maiden, IMassachusetts. 

Roderick Hill Berkley, father of 
Doctor Berkley, was born in Mil- 
ton, December 31, 1844. He ac- 
quired his education in the Milton 
graded school and at the age of 
16 years left school and enlisted in 
Company D, Thirteenth Eegiment 
Vermont Volunteer Infantry, in 
the Civil War. He participated in 
many engagements, including the 
three days' siege at Gettysburg. 
After the termination of the first 
term of enlistment he re-enlisted 
in the Third Vermont Battery of 
Artillery, under Captain Start, 
and served until the termination 
of the war. While with the artil- 
lery he took part in the long and 
bloody bomljardment of Peters- 
burg and received special praise 
for his bravery in this engage- 
ment, being at one time the only 
man left at his gun and continued 
to operate it alone. At another 
time he volunteered to go to an 
icehouse on the bank of the river 
and in view of the rebels, for ice 
for the sick and wounded, when 
two men had already attempted it 
and were picked off by the sharp- 
shooters from the fort across the 
river. This he did and brought 
back his ice. 

In 1865, as soon as he was mus- 
tered out of the st^rvice, he mar- 
ried Hannah (3'Donnell of ]\Iilton, 
a descendant of the ancient family 
of O'Donnells of Donegal Castle, 
Ireland. To them two children 
were born, Frederick Hill, August 
1, 1866, and George Carlton. 

Doctor George Carlton Berkley, 
the second son of Roderick Hill 
and Hannah Berkley, was born in 
Westford, Chittenden Countv, 
July 10, 1870. His early educa- 
tion was obtained in the Milton 



graded school and Goddard Sem- 
inary, Barre, where he finished his 
preparation for college in 1890 
He left Goddarcl and entered the 
Mills Training School, Bellevue 
Hospital, New York City. After 
finishing a two-years' course there, 
he returned and entered the medi- 
cal department of the University 
of Vermont, and graduated with 
high standing in 1894. Doctor 
Berkley was fortunate in receiving 
the one appointment given his 
class as house surgeon to ]\Iary 
Fletcher Hospital, at Burlington, 
and during the 18 months of ser- 
vice there gained a wide and va- 
ried medical and surgical experi- 
ence. He then was ottered a part- 
nership with Doctor James N. 
Jenne, of St. Albans, professor of 
materia meclica and therapeutics 
in the University of Vermont. 
This he accepted and Avas associ- 
ated in practice with Doctor Jenne, 
for the next three years. These 
years of association with a man of 
such high professional attain- 
ments and business ability as Doc- 
tor Jenne could but inci'ease his 
fitness to become a leader among 
the members of his profession. At 
the breaking out of the Spanish 
War, Doctor Jenne, the surgeon- 
general of the state, was ap- 
pointed chief surgeon on the staff 
of General Wade at Chickamauga, 
Georgia, when the partnership was 
dissolved and Doctor Berkley re- 
sumed the practice of his profes- 
sion, making a specialty of dis- 
eases of the eye, ear, nose and 
throat, in the office formerly occu- 
pied by Doctor Jenne and him- 
self, where he is located at the 
present time. 

Doctor Berkley has enjoyed a 
long and varied medical and sur- 
gical practice and in the perform- 
ance of numerous difficult opera- 



348 



StJCCESSFtJL VEKMONTERS. 



tions lias met with marked suc- 
cess, one operation of an extraor- 
dinary nature, such as seldom oc- 
curs in a physician's practice, was 
the removal of the teniporosphe- 
noidal lol)e of the brain for abscess 
of that region, in which the patient 
made a complete recovery. This 
he reported before the State Medi- 
cal Society and was asked to re- 
port it before the Canadian Medi- 
cal Association at Montreal. In 
addition to his private practice, he 
is a member of the surgical staff 
and opthamologist, otologist and 
laryngologist in St. Albans Hospi- 
tal, and for the past four years has 
been president of the medical and 
surgical staff, and a member of the 
faculty of the training school for 
nurses of the above institution, 
where he lectures on gynecology. 

He holds the position of expert 
examiner for the United States 
pension bureau, in diseases of the 
eye, ear, nose and throat, was pres- 
ident of the Frankhn County Med- 
ical Society in 1899, secretary of 
the St. Albans Clinical Society 
since 1895, and member of the 
American Medical Association. 
Doctor Berkley was a member of 
the St. Albans school board in 
1898. He was elected captain of 
Company B, First Infantry, Ver- 
mont National Guard, in 1899, and 
the following year was promoted 
to major and surgeon of the above 
regiment, and is still surgeon of 
the regiment. He is a member of 
the Association of Military Sur- 
geons of the United States. He 
was chief of staff, with the rank of 
colonel, of the first civic division 
of the inaugural parade on the oc- 
casion of the inauguration of 
President JVIcKinley and Theodore 
Roosevelt, Congressman James T. 
McClary of Minnesota being mar- 
shal. He was also appointed of- 



ficial delegate of Vermont to the 
Association of Military Surgeons, 
which convened at Washington, 
District of Columbia, in 1890. 
Doctor Berkley has spent a great 
deal of time in study in New York 
and the large clinics of this coun- 
try in perfecting himself in his 
chosen specialty, and during the 
last year was tendered a place on 
the staff of teachers of the New 
York Post-Graduate School. 

On June 28, 1903, he was united 
in marriage to Ha Augusta Miller, 
of Kingston, Ontario, a daughter 
of William H. MiHer and a niece 
of Hon. A. B. Aylesworth, present 
minister of justice m the Canadian 
cabinet 

HOLMES, George C, son of 
Loren and Mary Jane (Hemphill) 
Holmes, was born in Highgate, 
November 11, 1860. His father 
was a small farmer in that town, 
where George C. received a fair 
education in the common schools. 

At 16 years of age he left home 
and engaged in the lumber woods 
at Eden, and until his majority 
was largely engaged in working 
out on farms. At the age of 22 
he married Eliza, daughter of 
Hiram Button, a well-to-do farmer 
of S wanton. 

Mr. Button bought a farm ad- 
joining INIr. Holmes' paternal 
farm, where the latter resided five 
years, until the death of his wife, 
when he purchased the farm. 
Later he went to Manchester, New 
Hampshire, and worked a year or 
more for the Amoskeag Company. 
Soon afterwards he acquired an 
interest in a meat market at High- 
gate Center, and later engaged in 
general merchandise, under the 
firm name of Burdick & Holmes, 
for seven years, and was postmas- 
ter four years of that time. 

In 1899 he was elected constable 



FEANKLIN COUNTY. 



349 



and collector, and in 1894 was 
elected overseer, and held both of- 
fices until he resigned, January 1, 
1905. He has been for half a 
dozen years, and now is, a deputy 
sheriff, and was elected in Septem- 
ber, 1906, sheriff of Franklin 
County. 

He has been, since his majority, 
a loyal Republican, and has a wide 
acquaintance with the leading men 




George C. Holmes. 

of the county. Mr. Hohnes is a 
self-made man of good practical 
judgment and an experienced offi- 
cer. Pie was for seven years pur- 
chasing agent of the Sheldon Poor 
House Association. 

He is a member of the Masonic, 
Odd Fellows and Woodmen fra- 
ternities. 

He married, in 1890, Grace, 
daughter of the late Lyman Pel- 
ton, Esq., of Highgate. They have 



one daughter, Kathryne, 11 years 
of age. 

BROOKS, Homer. The subject 
of this sketch inherits the sterling 
qualities of a stanch Revolutionary 
and pioneer ancestry, and is him- 
self an interesting and typical 
character, bearing a marked per- 
sonal resemblance to our honored 
president. 

Homer, eldest son of Julius H. 
and Elizabeth (Green) Brooks, was 
born in the town of St. Albans, 
March 29, 1844. 

Adonijah Brooks, his great- 
grandfather, was a soldier of the 
Revolution ; also his three eldest 
sons, one of whom wintered at Val- 
ley Forge and fought at Saratoga. 
Adonijah Brooks was the father of 
eight sons and four daughters, who 
lived to maturity. Achsel, the 
youngest son, was born in barracks 
during the Revolution and moved 
to St. Albans with his parents in 
1790. He married Polly Todd and 
they were parents of six sons and 
three daughters. 

Julius H., son of Achsel, was 
born here in 1813, engaged in farm- 
ing and lumbering near St. Al- 
bans Bay, accumulated a handsome 
competence for the times, was 
somewhat prominent in town af- 
fairs and died in his seventy-ninth 
year. He married Elizabeth, daugh- 
ter of Heman and granddaughter 
of Nathan Greene, in 1843. 

His father, Job Greene, a rela- 
tive of General Nathaniel Greene, 
was captured by the Indians at the 
battle of Bennington and only es- 
caped scalping by the timely inter- 
ference of a British officer and re- 
ceived a frightful gash on his fore- 
head. That night he escaped from 
his captors. 

Nathan Greene came to St. Al- 
bans Bay with an axe on his shoul- 



350 



SUCCESSFUL VERMONTERS. 



der and one dollar in his pocket in 
March, 1788. and with an elder 
brother bought adjoining- farms, 
which they hewed out from the wil- 
derness. There were then but 
three or four huts in town and no 
roads. Soon after, he married 



Homer Brooks completed his edu- 
cation at Fairfax Institute, was his 
father's assistant in the farming 
and lumber business and on attain- 
ing his majority became a partner. 
In 1865 he settled in Altona, Clin- 
ton County. New York, and en- 




HoMER Brooks. 



Susan Alford and they were pa- 
rents of 13 children, 12 of whom 
lived to maturity, Heman being the 
first white male child born in town. 
Nathan Greene was for nearly 
thirty years selectman, more than 
twenty years constable and deputy 
sheriff and twice representative. 



gaged in the lumber and real estate 
business. In 1888, in company 
with his younger brother, Walter 
Brooks, he engaged in the creamery 
business, having at one time five 
creameries and one skimming sta- 
tion, with an output of 300,000 
pounds of butter in a year. 



FEANKLtN COUNTY. 



351 



Mr. Brooks possesses both inde- 
pendence and initiative and became 
a potent factor in the business of 
his adopted town, at one time own- 
ing about three thousand, eight 
hundred acres of farming and tim- 
ber land, conducting a dairy of 200 
cows and an extensive business in 
general merchandise. 

In 1888 Homer Brooks married 
Emily S., daughter of L. L. and 
Sarah Dickinson Farwell of Bos- 
ton. Mrs. Brooks was a graduate 
of the New England Conservatory 
of Music and a teacher of music. 
Six interesting children have been 
born to them : Homer Harrington, 
Leonard Pycott, Gladys, Theodore, 
Francis A. and Lawrence R. 

In 1901 Mr. Brooks closed out 
his various interests in New York, 
and desiring better educational fa- 
cilities located on a fine tract of 
land, a portion of the original 
Brooks farm, on St. Albans Point, 
commanding a fine view of the bay, 
where he is spending the maturer 
years of an active and successful 
career in the care of his fine dairy 
farm. Mr. Brooks is well and 
widely inforiued, a stanch temper- 
ance man and a prominent Repub- 
lican. 

CHURCH, Dan T. During a 
period of half a century, three gen- 
erations of the Church family have 
given faithful and efficient service 
to the Central Vermont Railroad. 
Dan T., son of Jonathan and Maria 
(Mitchel) Church, was born in 
Broome, Quebec, February 7, 1845. 

Jonathan Church was a farmer, 
also a carpenter and joiner, and 
moved with his family to St. Al- 
bans in 1856 and entered the em- 
ploy of the Central Vermont Rail- 
road and remained working at his 
trade until failing health in 1886 
compelled his retirement. He died 



in 1891 in the eightieth year of his 
age. 

Dan T. was the eldest of a fam- 
ily of six children, four of whom 
are living; as is also his mother at 
the great age of 90. His education 
was completed in the city schools 
and St. Albans Academy. At 19 
years of age he entered the employ 
of the Central A^ermont Railroad 
as a shifter in the yard. Two years 
later he became a brakeman and 
served in that capacity two years. 
His promptness and efficiency at- 
tracted attention and he was made 
conductor of a drawing-room car 
then controlled by the railroad, one 
of the first used in the state with 
route from Montreal to Boston. 

In March, 1871, Mr. Church be- 
came a regular train passenger con- 
ductor and has held that respon- 
sible position until the present 
time, with one exception the long- 
est service of any conductor now 
employed on this road. He has 
passed through several accidents, 
but never suffered personal injury. 
A quiet and genial gentleman, Con- 
ductor Church has a wide personal 
acquaintance and is universally 
popular alike with his associates, 
employers and the public. He is 
serving his second term as chief 
conductor of Division 24, Order of 
Railway Conductors. For nearly 
forty years he has been a member 
of Franklin Lodge, No. 4, F. & 
A. M. He married, in 1869, Mary 
'Donnell of Peru, New York, who 
died in February, 1883, leaving one 
son, Ferd J., who married Ida Lee- 
van way and resides in St. Albans, 
and is an engineer on the Central 
Vermont Railroad. 

In 1885 Dan T. Church married 
Mrs. Emma (Johnson) Phillips of 
Enfield, New Hampshire, daughter 
of George W. and Arminda (An- 



352 



SUCCESSFUL VERMONTERS. 



drews) Johnson. Her father was 
a native of Peacham and a prom- 
inent manufacturer of Enfiokl. 



the charter, they would no doubt 
"set the stake" for the to%\Ti lot at 
St. Albans Bay, which would have 




Dan T. Chukch. 



ST. ALBANS TOWN. 

Population, Census of 1900, 1,715. 

The history of St. Albans quite 
fully includes the main features of 
interest pertaining to St. Albans 
town, and yet it seems appropriate 
to present some facts that espe- 
cially represent St. Albans Bay. 

Had the Avorthy commissioners, 
Robert Cochran, Stephen Pearl and 
Seth Ford not been constrained by 



given the town better advantages 
of lake commerce. 

As early as 1793, when the ques- 
tion of the shire was agitated, there 
Avas considerable hesitancy in de- 
ciding whether the county build- 
ings should be located there or in 
the village. The first clearing was 
a tract of land extending south of 
the meeting-house on the lake 
shore, including the Ralph Lasell 
and Buck places. There is evi- 
dence that several branches of busi- 



FRANKLIN COUNTY. 



353 



ness were carried on as early as 
1790, with a tanner, a shoemaker, 
carpenters and joiners, a pot ash- 
ery, etc. The potash was shipped 
into Canada in exehanj^e for inm- 
ber, nails, kettles, etc., on sloops 
which came into the bay f I'om Bur- 
linfiton. 

As early as 1800 there were mer- 
chants at the Bay and at that early 
date a petition for water works was 
presented to the Legislatnre. In 
1808, the connnerce was extensive 
enontih to call for two militai-y 
companies to protect it. In 1814 
and 1815 sloops were built there. 
In 1823 the vessel the Gleaner was 
built and was the first to sail 
through to New York. In 1827 a 
steamboat was built at the Bay and 
another in the year following. 

On ]\Iarch 27, 1828, the inhab- 
itants of St. Albans were requested 
to meet at Wilkins' Inn at the Bay 
on INIonday followino- for the pur- 
pose of selecting a suitable name 
for the village and port of St. Al- 
bans Bay. A committee of four 
was appointed, which reported the 
highly-favored name of Port 
Washington, which, however, was 
seldom used. The village flour- 
ished, had its banking house, stores, 
hotel and a number of fine resi- 
dences. During the present gener- 
ation the business has been mainly 
conducted by the mercantile houses 
of Greorge Younger and his sons 
and Nelson Cook. The electric line 
to the Bay, although a great conve- 
nience to the people of the town, 
probably diminishes the local trade 
and the Younger store is now the 
only one. 

The Methodist and Catholic 
churches, a good school building 
and the fine farm buildings of Gov- 
ernor Smith and Mr. Foss are the 
most notable features. 



FRANKLIN. 

Population, Census of 1900, 1,145. 

The town of Franklin was char- 
tered by Governor Chittenden to 
Jonathan Hunt and his associates. 
IMarch 19, 1789, by the name of 
Huntsburg. There were 69 equal 
shares, five of which were, as us- 
ual, reserved for public purposes. 
Jonathan Hunt received 31 shares; 
Samuel Hubbard, 18 ; Joseph Fay, 
seven; John Bridgman, Jr., four; 
Ebenezer Walbridge, three ; and 
Doctor Ebenezer IMarvin, one. 
Jonathan Hunt, Joseph Fay and 
Ebenezer Walbridge were promi- 
nent citizens of the state, but never 
resided in this town. 

The first settlement was made by 
Samuel Hubbard. He left North- 
field, Massachusetts, in March, 
1789, with three hired men, a yoke 
of oxen and one cow, and came in 
by way of Whitehall, New York, 
and down Lake Champlain. He 
cleared 10 acres of land on the 
farm long ow^ned by his son, Hon. 
J. H. Hubbard. He wintered in 
Northfield, but the following 
spring returned with his bride, ac- 
companied by John Webster and 
wife. Samuel Hubbard con- 
structed the first log house, frame 
barn, and grist and sawmills, and 
was a most important factor in the 
early settlement of the town. John 
Hubbard, his son, was the first 
child born in town. Ebenezer 
Marvin, Jr., was the first attorney 
in town. John Webster kept the 
first store. The first military com- 
pany was formed in 1808, Samuel 
Hubbard, captain. The first 
school was taught in 1795- '96, by 
Josiah Allen, in a log house near 
Samuel Hubbard's, a mile north 
of the Center; five years later the 
first schoolhouse was built at the 



354 



SUCCESSFUL VERMONTERS. 



Center. Doctor Enoch Pomeroy 
came to this town in 1794, taught 
school and practiced medicine. 
Doctor Ebenezer Marvin, proprie- 
tor, was the first physician, and a 
very prominent man. In 1810 
there were five districts in town, 
with 250 pupils; in 1880, 10 dis- 
tricts with 385 pupils. 

During the War of 1812, ex- 
tensive smuggling operations were 
carried on by adventurous per- 
sons. Hemenway's ''Historical 
Gazetteer." volume II. page 222, 
relates that many droves of cat- 
tle were taken across the lines, on 
which a good price was realized 
and that numerous loads of mer- 
chandise found their way to this 
side, notwithstanding soldiers were 
stationed along the Ijcrder to pre- 
relates the illegal traffic. This be- 
ing the case, there must have been 
numerous exciting adventures be- 
tween the government officials and 
the contraband dealers, some of 
which are still rememliered as re- 
lated ])y the participators. The 
smugglers' road, as it was termed, 
extended from a point on the ]\lis- 
sisquoi River, in Sheldon, through 
this town, on the east side of the 
pond, to the lines adjoining St. 
Armand. the whole distance was 
then an entire wilderness. 

Probably the most noted among 
those who took chances was Will- 
iam IMcKoy, a Scotchman, who 
came to Franklin from Clarendon, 
about 1800. He M^as noted as a 
shrewd, wide-awake man and the 
novel adventures with which he 
was connected would fill a large 
volume, with interesting side- 
lights on the early history of our 
frontier life. 

Reuben Towle, a Revolutionary 
soldier, came in 1815, and was the 
progenitor of a numerous family, 
in the eastern part of the town. 



The town was organized in 
1793, Ebenezer Sanderson, town 
clerk : Paul Gates, treasurer. Sam- 
uel Peckham was the first repre- 
sentative, in 1794. He repre- 
sented the town five terms in all. 
In 1795, Samuel Hubliard, who was 
the first settler in Franklin, w^as 
chosen to represent the town. He 
was a man of strong personality 
and unusual judgment and was 
chosen as the town's representative 
for 16 terms. 

In the General Assembly, in 
1817, Mr. Samuel Hubbard intro- 
duced a bill "althering the name 
of the town of Huntsburg to that 
of Franklin," which became a law 
October 25. 

Franklin Center, the business 
and local center of the town, con- 
tains three churches. Congrega- 
tional, ]\lethodist and Catholic; 
three general stores, post office, 
three blacksmith shops, also millin- 
ery, furniture and hardware 
stores, meat market, etc. Frank- 
lin Academy, organized in 1849, 
now a high school, is located here. 

East Franklin contains a 
church, store, post office and 
l)lacksmith shop, also the only tel- 
egraph office in town. The town 
has no railroad stations, although 
the Center is distant only four 
miles from North Sheldon, and 
South Franklin station is near the 
town line. 

There is a high average of thrift, 
prosperity and intelligence in 
Franklin, due in some degree to 
its excellent central school. 

GATES, Hon. Charles W., son 
of Harrison and L. Rebecca 
(Shedd) Gates, was born in Frank- 
lin, January 12, 1856. The Gates 
family originated in Thomas Gates, 
Esq., of Higheaster, Essex, Eng- 
land, who died in 1327. Stephen 
Gates, the first American ancestor. 



FRANKLIN COUNTY. 



355 



was born in Hingham, England, 
the second son of Thomas Gates of 
Norwich. He came to New Eng- 
land in the ship Diligent of Ips- 
wich, accompanied by his wife, 
Ann, and two children, in 1638 ; 
settled at Hingham, Massachusetts, 
was one of the founders of Lancas- 



Paul Gates served in Captain Whit- 
ney's company for the Rhode Is- 
land campaign in 1779, and the 
next year in Captain Grout's com- 
pany of the Continental Army. 
He came to Franklin in 1792, one 
of the first settlers, was the first 
treasurer of the town, and mar- 




CiiARLKS W. Gates. 



ter, Massachusetts, in 1654, and 
died in Cambridge in 1662. He 
performed important services, and 
was an active, fearless pioneer of 
early New England. 

Paul Gates, of the fourth gener- 
ation from Stephen, was born in 
1754 at Worcester, Massachusetts. 



ried, in 1792, Zerviah Spooner, this 
being the first marriage in town. 
Paul, Jr., was the third son of a 
family of seven sons and one daugh- 
ter, children of Paul and Zerviah 
Gates. He married Eunice Tem- 
ple, reared a family of two sons, 
Spooner and Harrison, and two 



356 



SUCCESSFUL VERMONTKltS. 



daughters. Elizabeth and ^Martha. 
and lived and died on the paternal 
farm. 

He wa.s a member of the Ver- 
mont militia and was connnis- 
sioned lieutenant by Governor 
Skinner in 1823 and as captain in 
1825 by Governor Van Ness. 

Harrison Gates was born and re- 
mained on the ancestral farm, mar- 
ried L. Rebecca Shedd, and they 
were parents of Charles W., Ar- 
thur H. and Elizabeth ( Mrs. C. W. 
Powell of Franklin). Harrison 
Gates was an active, successful 
bu.siness man. He died December 
6, 1899. 

Charles W. Gates graduated 
from St. Johnsbury Academy in 
1880, taught several terms of dis- 
trict school and four years in 
Franklin Academy with good suc- 
cess. He entered the mercantile 
business in 1884, at Franklin, 
where he has developed an exten- 
sive trade in general merchandise 
and country produce. The busi- 
ness was incorporated in January. 
1905, as the Farmers' Ex- 
change." 

Mr. Gates resides on the ances- 
tral farm, which has been the fam- 
ily home for 114 years. Since his 
youth he has borne an active part 
in the social, educational, reli- 
gious and business life of Frank- 
lin. Congregationalist in religious 
belief, he has been superintendent 
of the Sunday school, and for 25 
years chorister of the church choir. 
He has served as superintendent of 
schools, member of county board of 
education, selectman and road com- 
missioner. As a Republican he was 
elected to the Legislature in 1898, 
and served on the committee on 
highways and bridges. Two years 
later a senator from Franklin 
County, he was on that committee 



in the Senate, and also on claims. 
He was appointed state highway 
commissioner by Governor Bell, 
December. 1904. and reappointed 
in 1906 by Governor Proctor. 

He is a member of the Grange, 
a director in the Enosburg Falls 
Savings Bank and Trust Company, 
and the efficient president of the 
Fi-anklin County Fair Association. 

Charles W. Gates was married 
to Miss ]Maiy E. Hay den of Un- 
derhill. in 1890. Five children 
have been born to them, of whom 
three are living: Edith R., Paul H. 
and Winslow H. 

WELCH, Doctor Rodman E., 
son of Allen B. and Laurinda 
Welch, was born in Berkshire, Au- 
gu.st 2, 1845. His father's grand- 
parents came from Wales to Con- 
necticut, later by mistake settled 
for a time in Canada, just north of 
the state line, but afterwards lo- 
cated in Berkshire. 

His maternal ancestors were of 
English descent. In 1854 the 
family moved to Iowa, then an ex- 
treme frontier outpost, threatened 
by hostile Indians. At the out- 
break of the Civil War the family 
returned to Vermont. Young 
Welch, with 14 others, enlisted in 
October. 1863. as recruits of Com- 
pany A. Fifth Vermont Regiment. 
Only four returned; the others 
sleep in Virginia soil. Comrade 
Welch, leaving a sick bed, marched 
to the Rapidan with his company, 
a distance of 30 miles. The 
next day the captain, two lieuten- 
ants and 72 men, entered the fatal 
thickets of the "Wilderness." and 
in less than an hour all of the line 
officers and 42 men were either 
killed or wounded. Later in the 
day, while eari-ying to the front a 
supply of cartridges rolled in a 
rubber blanket, assisted bv Ser- 



P^RANKLIN COUNTY. 



357 



geant Edmund Reynolds, the lat- 
ter was instantly killed by the bul- 
let of a sharpshooter. 

At the close of the war Mr. 
Welch attended the Literary Insti- 
tute of Fairfax, studied medicine 
with Doctor Goodrich of West 



lin County Medical Society. He 
has served since 1890 on the Frank- 
lin County board of pension ex- 
aminers, and is its president. He 
was a charter member and first 
commander of Elarsh Post, No. 80, 
G. A. R., of Franklin, and filled 




Rodman E. Welch, M. D. 



Berkshire, graduated from Belle- 
vue Medical College, New York, 
in March, 1872, and settled in 
Franklin, where he has attained a 
successful practice. 

Doctor Welch is a member of the 
Vermont State IMedical Society, 
and an ex-president of the Frank- 



that position several terms. His 
high standing with the comrades 
is attested by the position of 
aide-de-camp on the staff of De- 
partment Commander Hugh 
Henry ; as such he attended the 
national encampment at Washing- 
ton, D. C. He was subsequently 



358 



STTCCESSPITL VERMONTERS. 



appointed on the staff of Ivan H. 
Walker, national commander-in- 
chief, vnth the rank of colonel, and 
attended the encampments in that 
capacity. He is worshipful master 
of Frontier Lodge, No. 74. F. & A. 
M., of Franklin. 

Doctor Welch married, ]May 2, 
1868, Emily P. Morrow of Enos- 
burg. Three daughters are the 
issue of this union : Lulu L., wife 
of Edson J. Wilder of Franklin; 
Euretta E., wife of Doctor C. A. 
Pratt of Enosburg Falls, and Ethel 
E., wife of J. M. Greene, deputy 
United States collector, Montreal, 
Quebec. 

WEBSTER, John, son of Will- 
iam and Lucy Bruce (Davis) Web- 
ster, was born on the ancestral 
farm at Franklin, January 23, 
1845. His grandfather and name- 
sake, John Webster, was born in 
Franklin, Ne%v Hampshire, in 1755, 
was a first cousin of the "ex- 
pounder of the Constitution." and 
was graduated at Dartmouth Col- 
lege in 1778. In the spring of 
1789. in company Avith Samuel 
Hubbard, he came to this town 
and settled on lands near the Cen- 
ter, that have since been owned 
and occupied by his descendants, 
nearly one hundred and eighteen 
years. He built a log cabin, roofed 
with bark, cleared several acres of 
land from the original forest, and 
sowed a nursery of apple seeds, 
from which, within seven years, 
he gathered fruit. He kept the 
first articles of merchandise for 
sale in town, consisting of grocer- 
ies, nails, etc., which he brought 
with him from Chester, New Hamp- 
shire. Always a farmer, and a 
man of retiring manners and dis- 
position, he was not active in town 
affairs. He was one of the princi- 
pal founders of the Congregational 



Church, and many years deacon, 
until the time of his death, in 1838, 
in the 84th year of his age. 

John and Lucretia (Swan) Web- 
ster reared a family of 11 children, 
few of whom, if any, married and 
reared families, except William, 
who remained on the paternal 
farm. He married late in life, and 
his children are John and William, 
who reside together on the home- 
stead, and Lucretia. ^Mrs. A. N. 
Gladding. 

William Webster. Sr., was an in- 
valid, and died at 62, when Jolm 
was 15 years old, and the care of 
the farm devolved upon him. Of 
sturdy frame and active, original 
mind, he completed his .studies at 
Franklin Academy at the age of 
18. with special proficiency in 
mathematics and surveying, which 
calling he has Jargely pursued un- 
til the present. He is a fine 
draughtsman and his work as an 
amateur painter is very excellent. 
As a Republican. John Webster 
was elected to the Legislature in 
1874, at the age of 29, and re- 
elected in 1876. Later, an inde- 
pendent in politics, he has credit- 
ably filled many town offices. He 
married, in 1875. Hannah C. Ful- 
ler of Franklin. Their union has 
been blessed with five stalwart 
sons, all well educated, useful and 
successful citizens. 

Frederick L. married Maud 
Hadley, and is a member of the 
law firm of Furman & Webster of 
Swanton. His infant son, John 
Hadley Webster, perpetuates the 
traditional name. 

Xoel Bruce is a naval architect 
of the bureau of construction and 
repairs, Washington, D. C. 

John Halsey was a Cuban War 
soldier of Company B, First Ver- 
mont Regiment, now employed on a 



FRANKLIN COUNTY. 



359 



stock farm at Beverly, Massachu- 
setts. 

Hugh Swan (deceased), was a 
naval architect. 

Urban Fuller assists his father 
in the care of the excellent ances- 
tral farm. 

Books, music and art lend their 
charms to the rural home, for all 



taining' a marked degree of suc- 
cess. He now has tw^o farms con- 
taining 500 acres; one carries 50 
cows, the other 35. His sugar or- 
chards have some fifteen hundred 
prime sugar trees and turn out a 
product excelled by but few. 

]\Ir. Hammond has always taken 
a keen interest in all matters that 




PiiiLO C. Hammond. 



of the sons were accomplished mu- 
sicians, and formed a home or- 
chestra. 

HAMMOND, Philo C, a son of 
Calvin and Gratia (Marsh) Ham- 
mond, was born in Franklin. He 
received his education in his na- 
tive town and at Enosburg. He 
has always followed farming, ob- 



would benefit his town and has fre- 
quently been called to public office, 
serving Franklin five years as a 
selectman, three years as school 
commissioner and grand juror for 
four years. In 1904 he was cho- 
sen as a Republican to represent 
the town in the General Assembly 
and served with abilitv and fidelitv 



360 



SUCCESSFUL TERMONTERS. 



on the very important connnittee 
on insane. 

February 22, 1883, Mr. Ham- 
mond was united in marriage to 
Lilla Potter of Sheldon. To this 
union two children have been born, 
John Calvin. January 23, 1884, 
and Gratia, December, 1894. 

BULLES, Charles W., son of 
Isaac and Catherine (Van Dyke) 
Bulles, was born in Highjiate, Oc- 
tober 13, 1828. He was the 
youngest of a family of five chil- 
dren, and as his father died when 
he was less than a year old. 

He early learned the power to pay 

His cheerful, self-reliant way. 

With his wife, Mary Stinehour, 
he moved from Highgate to Shel- 
don in 1861, and in 1863, bought 
his mill at West Franklin, better 
known as Brown's Corners. At 
that time there was an upright and 
circular saw, run by water power. 
Mr. Bulles put in steam power in 

, which took fire a year or two 

later and burned the mill. 

Nothing daunted, he rebuilt the 
mill, installed a new steam power, 
a shingle mill and a gristmill for 
custom work, and has since done a 
steadily-increasing business, manu- 
facturing on the average half a 
million feet annually. This is the 
principal manufactory in this 
thriving agricultural town, and 
an absolutely indispensable factor 
of its prosperity. Here the farmers 
obtain from their own timber the 
materials for rebuilding and re- 
pairing their premises, and few 
men have filled so great a measure 
of usefulness as J\Ir. Bulles. He 
is a worthy citizen and kind neigh- 
bor, and has reared a large fam- 
ily, all of whom are well settled in 
life, except Elizabeth, the eldest, 
who is deceased. 

Charles Bulles, the eldest son, is 



the proprietor of a water mill in the 
eastern part of the town, on the 
outlet of Silver Lake, also of a 
farm, and is one of the most enter- 
prising and energetic young men 
of the town. He manufactures 
nearly half a million feet of lum- 
ber annually. 

George Bulles, the second son, 
conducts a saw and gristmill at 
Sheldon Springs. Arthur is a suc- 
cessful farmer at East Swanton. 
^lina is the wife of C. R. Lyon of 
McCook, Nebraska : ^Merton and 
Cassius Bulles are firemen on the 
Central Vermont Railroad and re- 
side at St. Albans. 

Charles W. Bulles, at the age of 
78, and in infirm health, is still ac- 
tive and enterprising in business. 

TOWLE, Reuben, Sr., was born 
in the town of Chester, New Hamp- 
shire, October 24, 1762, where his 
early life was passed. 

He traces directly back to Philip 
Towle, a native of England, who 
came to this country in 1640 and 
with his family settled in Hamp- 
ton, New Hampshire. He was the 
ereat-great-srandfather of Reuben 
Towle, Sr. 

Reuben Towle, Sr., served in the 
War of the Revolution, enlisting at 
the early age of 16 years. Hje af- 
terwards married and removed to 
the town of Enfield, where he fol- 
lowed the occupation of a farmer. 
Here his children were born, three 
sons and four daughters, and for a 
time he held the office of town clerk. 
In 1814 he removed to South 
Franklin, then a new country, and 
settled on a farm, where his chil- 
dren married and occupied farms 
mostly immediately about him, and 
where their descendants still live. 
He was a man nuich esteemed by 
his townsmen, was a local magis- 
trate and represented the town in 



FIIANKLIN COtTNTr. 



361 



the state Legislature in 1822 and 
1823. 

He died after a long' and nsefnl 
life, in 1849. There are at this 
time several hundreds of the de- 
scendants of ^Ir. Towle and of 
those with whom they intermarried 
in this part of the state. 

TOWLE, Edwin E., son of Jon- 
athan and Lorena Towle, and 



cease with the schools, for his spare 
time was occupied in reading and 
study and while yet a boy he com- 
menced to write for the press, his 
first efforts appearing in the Boston 
CuUivafor, a literary and agricul- 
tural publication, more than half 
a century ago. 

February 14, 1856, he was mar- 
ried to Caroline E. Truax. Two 




Edwin R. Towi>e. 



grandson of Reuben Towle, Sr., 
was born August 1, 1833. He has 
always lived upon the farm where 
his father connnenced when the 
land was largely a wilderness. 

Along with others, his education 
was almost entirely confined to the 
district schools, which were pretty 
good at that early period. Being 
an only son, he was needed on the 
farm, but his education did not 



sons were born to them, Herman 
E. and Edwin J. The oldest was 
married in 1883 and has two sons 
and one daughter. They occupy 
the ancestral farm. The other son 
was married in 1905. and is in 
trade at Enosburg Falls. 

Mr. Towle has always been much 
interested in agricultural affairs 
and in his labors upon the farm 
sought to introduce better methods 



g62 



SDCCESSFtJL VERMONTERS. 



and institute improvements in va- 
rious ways. The son, who is now 
the active farmer, is proceeding 
along the same lines. 

July 25, 1901, the beloved wife, 
who had been his companion and 
helper for 45 years, after several 
years of suffering, passed peace- 
fully on to the better land, leaving 
the heritage of a precious life and 
memory to those left behind. 

Mr. Towle has been for nearly 
sixty years a member of the i\Ieth- 
odist Episcopal Church and for a 
large part of this time has sus- 
tained some official relation to the 
same. He has also been much in- 
tersted in educational matters in 
neighborhood and town and has 
spent nuieh time in the interest of 
the schools. 

For five years, dating from 1881, 
he was a member of the state board 
of agriculture and performed much 
work in that capacity. During the 
past 50 years he has performed a 
large amount of literary work. 
For 27 years he was agricultural 
editor of the St. Albans Messenger 
and for three years of the Vermont 
Farmers' Advocate, then published 
by L. P. Thayer. At present he 
is contributing to several of the 
leading agricultural papers in this 
country. His work has been 
largely, but not entirely, in the 
agricultural field. 

He has written two separate his- 
tories of the town of Franklin for 
different publications. In 1892 he 
published a genealogy of the Towle 
family, along with an historical 
sketch of the INIethodist Episcopal 
Church in South Franklin. He is 
still active for one of his years and 
is much interested in the best wel- 
fare of those with whom he comes 
in contact. 



TOWLE, William Jay, was the 
youngest son of Reuben Towle, Jr., 
and Narcissus (Stanley) Towle 
and grandson of Reuben Towle, 
Sr., and was born in South Frank- 
lin, December 22, 1835, where he 
has always resided. 

Reuben Towle, 3d, an older 
brother, married and lived on an 
adjoining farm. He was a man 
well esteemed in town affairs and 
was elected representative to the 
state Legislature in 1884. He was 
a member of the INIethodist Church 
and held the office of steward for 
40 years, a record seldom exceeded. 
He died ^Nlarch 26, in the seventy- 
fifth year of his age. 

William J. Towle has followed 
the occupation of father and 
grandfather, occupying the ances- 
tral farm, and has succeeded in get- 
ting together a good estate. Like 
most others of his generation, his 
education was confined to the com- 
mon schools of the town. 

]\rarch 5, 1857, he was married 
to Caroline INI., daughter of the late 
Lathrop ]\Iarsh, a prominent citi- 
zen of the town. Three children 
were born to them: Reuben M., 
Julia L. and Carmi L. The only 
daughter, a most estimable and 
well-l)eloved young lady, died at 
the early age of 19 years. The 
youngest son, Carmi L., married 
Ellen Gertrude, daughter of Mr. 
and IMrs. W. A. Whitney of Ba- 
kersfield, December 19, 1895. They 
have one daughter, Ruth Marian, 
born January 26, 1900. 

Reuben M., the oldest son, mar- 
ried Miss Helen Sandiland, late of 
London, England, November 26, 
1905. At present they are all liv- 
ing together and father and sons 
are mutually interested in farming 
and other occupations. 



FRANKLIN COUNTY. 



ses 



December 20, 1904, the well-be- 
loved wife of Mr. Towle, after a 
long and painful illness, passed 
peacefully on to the better land, 
leaving' a great vacancy in the fam- 
ily and community, where she had 
so long lived, for she was a woman 
held in high esteem wherever 



is still holding responsible official 
relations. He has also acceptably 
filled various town offices and in 
1896 was elected representative to 
the state Legislature. During his 
life he has had much to do in the 
settling of estates and in caring for 
the property rights of others. 




William J. Towle. 



known. She died on her sixty- 
sixth birthday. 

Mr. Towle early became identi- 
fied with the Methodist Episcopal 
Church, of which he has long been 



He has always been a Republican 
in politics. In church, neighbor- 
hood and town affairs he has ever 
been an interested and liberal ad- 
viser and friend, and thus mav his 



a member and in which he has and record continue. 



364 



SUCCESSFUL VERMONTERS. 



BERKSHIRE. 

Population, Census of 1900, 1,326. 

The town of Berkshire was 
granted by the state in 1780, and 
while it was chartered to contain 
six miles square, its northern 
boundary extends nearly six and a 
half miles, and its southern bound- 
ary about seven miles. 

In 1789 the town was surveyed 
by Judge David Pay of Benning- 
ton. 



man, became the first settled min- 
ister in Berkshire, in 1807, al- 
though several ministers had 
preached in town prior to the 
coming of j\lr. Ware. The Episco- 
pal Church was dedicated in 1823 
and the same year Rev. Phineas 
Bailey, a Congregationalist, began 
his labors in town. 

In the wars of th(^ nation the 
sons of Berkshire have ever borne 
a loyal and conspicuous part. 

Someone has truly said that his- 




" Contentme;nt.'" 
A Typical Franklin County Scene. 



The first permanent settlement 
was made by Job L. Barber, who 
came with his wife and child in 
1792. Within a year two other 
families joined Barber in settling 
the town. In 1793 Captain Phin- 
eas Heath and Captain David Nut- 
ting, both Revolutionary army offi- 
cers, located in town. 

The formal and legal organiza- 
tion of the town took place in 1795, 
and was represented annually in 
the General Assembly of the state. 

Rev. Mr. Ware, a Baptist clergy- 



tory is substantially that of the 
leading men of the locality in ques- 
tion. Granting this to be true, 
Berkshire has a proud record in 
the lives and character of her sons. 
The families of Royce, Jewett, Ru- 
blee, Sampson, Chaffer, Stone and 
Foss, form a galaxy of names un- 
equalled by any other town. 

FOSS, Hon. George Edmund, 
was born in Berkshire, July 2, 1863. 
He is the youngest son of George 
E. and Marcia (Noble) Foss. When 
three years of age he nioved with 



FRANKLIN COUNTY. 



365 



his parents to St. Albans and lived 
there until the sprint- of 1888. 
he attended the St. Albans Iliyh 
School, o-radnatinii' in the class of 
1880. In the fall of 1881 he en- 
tered Harvard, where he spent fonr 
years, oradnating in June, 1885. 

Following his graduation he 
studied law for two years with his 
uncle, Hon. Guy C. Noble, and For- 
mer Governor E. C. Smith, then 
the law firm of Noble & Smith, at 
St. Albans. In the fall of 1887 
he entered the Columbia Law 
School, and also the School of Po- 
litical Science, where he studied a 
few months until compelled to 
leave on account of illness. In the 
spring of 1888 he went to Chicago 
to live. In the fall he entered the 
Union College of Law and grad- 
uated in the following summer, re- 
ceiving the first prize for oratory, 
and honorable mention for legal 
thesis. 

In March, 1889, he was admitted 
to the bar and at once began to 
practice his profession. He first 
attracted public attention by a 
speech made in April of that year 
at the celebration of Grant's liirth- 
day. 

The Chicago Journal, connnent- 
ing editorially upon his speech, 
said that in one night Mr. Foss 
rose "from comparative obscurity 
into instantly recognized eminence 
as a platform orator." Later, the 
same paper, referring again to his 
speech, said that the "speech of 
Mr. Foss electrified his hearers by 
its eloquence and power. It was a 
revelation to those present of the 
capacities possessed by a young 
man of this city, and was essen- 
tially the event of the evening's cel- 
ebration." He was soon offered 
the nomination for state senator, 
but declined it. He had never 
been a candidate for public office. 



The latter part of July, 1904, he 
was surprised one afternoon in his 
office by a committee of prominent 
men and party leaders, who offered 
him the nomination for Congress 
in the Seventh Congressional Dis- 
trict of Illinois, although he had 
lived in that district but 10 months 
at the time. At the congressional 
convention which followed he re- 
ceived the unanimous nomination. 

The Chicago Lifer Ocean, in its 
issue of October 31, 1894, says, 
"with advantages of youthful en- 
ergy and enthusiasm, he combines 
those of a brilliant scholar, a nat- 
ural orator, and an able lawyer. . 
With a wealth of natural 
and acquired gifts, Mr. Foss stands 
at the gateway of a very distin- 
guished career." 

After five years at the bar, when 
he was 81 years of age, Mr. Foss 
was elected to Congress. He was 
re-el ectiz-d in 1896, when he led the 
fight for McKinley in Illinois, his 
district being the first to instruct 
its delegates for him for president. 
The great issue of that fight was 
the people against the bosses, and 
Mr. Foss led the people. He was 
re-elected in 1898, 1900, 1902, 
1904, and again in 1906. 

Mr. Foss' career in Congress has 
meant much to the country at 
large, for he has labored indefati- 
gably for the upbuilding and im- 
provement of the American navy. 
In 1898 he passed the famous Per- 
sonnel Bill, reorganizing the per- 
sonnel of the navy, and in the 
same year visited the navies of 
England and Europe and made a 
study of foreign navies. 

During his stay in Europe Mr. 
Foss met the president of France, 
visited the emperor of Germany 
upon his private yacht; met the 
ministers of marine in various 
countries, was entertained by ad- 



366 



SUCCESSFUL VERMONTERS. 



mirals, rear-admirals, vice-admirals 
and, in short, was shown the cour- 
tesy due a worthy representative 
of our great nation, thus having 
every opportunity of studying the 
navies of the world. In the IMedi- 
terranean Admiral Dewey was sta- 
tioned at the head of the Adriatic 
Squadron, and he spent two or 
three days with him. 

Having thus accomplished some- 
thing for the personnel of the 
navy, Mr. Foss directed his atten- 
tion to improving the material. 

In the spring of 1900 President 
McKinley offered him the assistant 
secretarj'ship of the navy, which he 
declined. In 1900, in December, 
he was made chairman of the com- 
mittee on naval affairs, a position 
which he has held ever since. 

It may not be out of place to 
quote here from the speech deliv- 
ered by Mr. Foss when he defended 
the naval appropriation bill on the 
floor of the House, as he states in a 
concise way why the United States 
should become stronger as a naval 
power. Mr. Foss said : ' ' I would 
like to say a few words upon the 
general question. What are we 
building the navy for ? In the first 
place we are building a navy for 
peace ; not to provoke war, but to 
conserve international concord. 
That nation which is best fitted to 
fight is the least likely to enter 
upon fight. 

"The international peace confer- 
ence held at The Hague adopted 
a resolution that ' The peace confer- 
ence is of the opinion that the gov- 
ernments, taking into consideration 
the propositions made in this con- 
ference, should make a study of the 
possibility of and agreement con- 
cerning the limitation of armed 
forces on land and sea, and of na- 
val budgets.' 



"The German emperor was not 
far from right when he said, 'The 
best peace conference is a strong 
and efficient navy. ' And so we are 
building the navy for peace, we are 
building the navy also to maintain 
our foreign policy. We are build- 
ing the navy to maintain the Mon- 
roe Doctrine. We are building the 
navy for commerce. For a hun- 
dred years this country has lived 
largely within itself, and all our 
thought and purpose has been de- 
voted toward the building of our 
resources, but I say to you that the 
watchword of the coming century 
will be 'commerce.' 

"We are building the navy for 
commerce, for the maintenance of 
our foreign policy, and then we are 
building our navy for civilization. 
This country embarked in the war 
with Spain for the purpose of free- 
ing the suffering Cubans from the 
tyranny of Spanish rule. 

"Under the rules of war, to fight 
our enemy where she was most vul- 
nerable was one of the first princi- 
ples of successful warfare; and so, 
forced by the canons of interna- 
tional law to leave the harbor of 
Hong Kong, the fleet of Dewey 
made for the harbor of Manila 
and then in the memorable engage- 
ment with the Spanish fleet won 
the day, and the Spanish sover- 
eignty of the Philippines passed by 
the rules of war over to ourselves. 
This was later ratified ))y the treaty 
of peace. 

"Whether it would have been 
better for Dewey to have sailed 
away and left these islands and 
these peoples to the jarring of do- 
mestic tribes, to become eventually 
the spoils of other nations, it is 
now too late to discuss. What 
their future may be I do not know. 
But that I leave to destiny and the 




George Edmund Foss. 



368 



SUCCESSFUL VERMONTERS. 



future to reveal. This I know, 
that our duty is clear : our duty is 
to civilize those people, and toward 
that end, there will be 10,000 min- 
istering angels. The American 
schoolteacher with her spelling- 
book may enlighten the mind; the 
American missionary with his Bi- 
ble may soften the heart ; the 
American tourist and the Ameri- 
can traveller may teach them the 
rules of living and the laws of 
trade ; but I say to you that in the 
immediate years, while these people 
are barbarous, as they are today, 
and half civilized — when they rec- 
ognize no virtue that is not accom- 
panied by force — that the Ameri- 
can battleship, fashioned by Amer- 
ican hands, filled by American sea- 
men, answering to every call and 
command, with an American flag 
above it that never waved over any 
people but to bless and save : I say 
that the American battleship, that 
never bore a commission of duty 
but what it carried a message of 
hope, will do more to civilize these 
people than the 10,000 sweeter and 
gentler influences which mold the 
minds of more civilized people. It 
will teach them that liberty is not 
license, but that all true liberty is 
liberty under law, respect for or- 
der and reverence for justice." 

Upon Mr. Foss' return from 
Europe a great many of his friends 
came to him and were anxious he 
should be a candidate for governor 
of Illinois this year, but he refused 
to entertain the idea. He believes 
that his mission for the present, at 
least, is where he now is, in Con- 
gress furthering the interests of the 
American navy, and he thinks this 
will be his proper place for a few 
years at least — believing, as he 
does, that there is no more impor- 
tant work that any man can do 



than to luiild up a strong and 
splendid navy for our own .coun- 
try, which will do nuich to forward 
the interests of trade and commerce 
on the high seas, and at the same 
time establish the American name 
the world over. 

The friends of Mr. Foss predict 
for him a brilliant future. His 
high character, magnetic personal- 
ity and strong will, make him a 
natural leader of men, while his 
education and experience qualify 
him to be entrusted with large 
responsibilities. 

He has frequently been men- 
tioned for United States senator. 
He has lieen the orator on many 
great occasions in Illinois and was 
orator at great Home Week in St. 
Albans a few years ago. 

The congressman has been the 
legislative builder of the American 
navy. When he entered Congress 
there was but one first-class battle- 
ship in connnission : now our navy 
ranks third. 

He has carried through the 
House bills amounting to hundreds 
of millions of dollars, the last one 
being $102,000,000. No man in the 
country today is so closely identi- 
fied with the building up of the 
American navy as he. 

FOSS, Eugene Noble, is not 
only one of the most successful but 
at present is one of the most con- 
spicuous of the many Vermonters 
al)road. Within the past four 
years he has achieved even interna- 
tional note as a recognized leader 
of the powerful movement for reci- 
procity, or closer trade relations 
with foreign countries. His politi- 
cal activity within the Republican 
party and his fearless criticisms of 
the fiscal policy of his party, or 
some of its leaders, have made him 
a national figure, while his ad- 



FRANKLIN (H)UNTY. 



369 



dresses have attracted attention not 
only in this country but in the 
commercial centres of Europe. 

Mr. Foss was born on a farm in 
West Berkshire, Franklin County, 
September 24, 1858. His father, 
George Edmund Foss, and his 
mother, Marcia Cordelia, daughter 
of Sylvester Campbell and Nancy 
(Chaplin) Noble of Franklin, have 
just celebrated their golden wed- 
ding at theii" pleasant home in 
Jamaica Plain, INIassachusetts. His 
first paternal ancestor in America 
was Edward Bangs (1592-1678), 
who came to Plymouth in 1623 on 
the Anne, the third ship to arrive 
at the colony. Edward's descend- 
ant in the fourth generation, James 
Bangs, was a soldier in the Ameri- 
can Revolution, and Heman, son of 
James, was a colonel of luilitia in 
the War of 1812. 

In the business life of New Eng- 
land Mr. Foss is best known as 
treasurer and general manager of 
the B. F. Sturtevant Company, 
manufacturers of heating and ven- 
tilating apparatus, although this 
enterprise, large as it is, represents 
only a fraction of his business in- 
terests. Mr. Foss entered the em- 
ploy of B. F. Sturtevant in 1882, 
after two years in the University of 
Vermont. Since the death of Mr. 
Sturtevant, about sixteen years 
ago, the business has been wholly 
in the control of Mr. Foss, and he 
has developed it until now the 
product of the company goes all 
over the world. Tn 1904 the works 
were removed from Jamaica Plain 
to Hyde Park, Massachusetts, 
where buildings costing moi'e than 
a million dollars, occupying floor 
space of some twelve acres and hav- 
ing a capacity of 2.500 hands were 
erected. Mr. Foss is president and 
chief owner also of the Beeker- 

A— 25 



Brainard Milling Machine Com- 
pany of Hyde Park, one of the 
largest concerns of its class in the 
world. Of a third strictly indus- 
trial concern, the Mead-Morrison 
Manufacturing Company, makers 
of coal hoisting apparatus, Mr. 
Foss also is the head. 

Mr. Foss is one of the largest in- 
vestors in the countiy in steam and 
street railway properties. He holds 
directorships in some fourteen cor- 
porations, besides those already 
named, including the Adams Tru.st 
Company, American Loan and 
Trust Company, First National 
Bank, IMassachusetts Electric Com- 
panies, all of Boston ; Brooklyn 
Eapid Transit Company, Manhat- 
tan Railway Company, Mexican 
Central Railway Company, Amer- 
ican Pneuiuatic Service Company, 
Chicago Junction Railway and 
TTnion Stock Yards Company, 
United States Smeltinc, Refining 
and Alining Company, Greene Con- 
solidated Copper Company and 
others. He is heavily interested as 
a stockholder in many other trans- 
portation companies. 

The affiliations of Mr. Foss in 
educational, religious and charita- 
ble lines are of equal importance. 
These include trusteeships in the 
Newton Theolocical Institution. 
Colby College. Hebron Academy. 
Vermont Academy, Moody School 
at Northfield, Robert B. Brigham 
Hospital for Incurables, Boston 
Y. M. C. A.: and there might also 
be mentioned his luembership in 
the Boston Merchants' Association. 
Boston Chamber of Commerce, 
New England Shoe and Leather 
Association. Vermont Association, 
Sigma Phi, New Algonquin, Mas- 
sachusetts, Boston Art, Exchange 
and other clubs. 

Mr. Foss has conducted with in- 




EuGEi^E N. Foss, 



FRANKLIN COUNTY. 



371 



creasing' zeal his campaign for reci- 
procity and tariff revision since his 
memorable candidacy for Congress 
in 1902, when he bi'oke in npon 
IMassaehusetts politics with his 
I'inging cry for "free iron, free 
coal, free hides and reciprocity 
with Canada." lie was again a 
candidate for Congress in 1904, in 
the spring of which year he also 
went into the state convention as a 
candidate for delegate-at-large to 
the Repnblican National Conven- 
tion. His political campaigns al- 
ways have been condncted with a 
view to awakening interest in the 
issue he represents rather than be- 
cause of any personal desire for 
office. It is known to his friends 
that his political activity will con- 
tinue, regardless of personal conse- 
quences to himself, until definite 
action is taken by his party along 
the lines of tariff reduction. 

Hon. George Edmund Foss of 
Chicago, younger brother of Eu- 
gene N.. is serving his sixth term 
as a representative in Congress of 
the Tenth Illinois District. 

Since coming to Boston Mr. Foss 
has made his home in Jamaica 
Plain, where he has a spacious res- 
idence; and he also has a beautiful 
summer place at Cohasset. 

COMBS. Hon. Byron H.. son of 
Eeuben and Harriet (Farrar) 
Combs, was born at South Rich- 
ford, January 17, 1853. Reared 
upon his father's farm, he formed 
a strong, solid physique and hab- 
its of industry and economy. He 
completed his education at the 
schools of South Richford and 
Enosburg at the age of 18. and 
continued to remain on the pa- 
ternal farm until he was 27 years 
of age. He then began in a small 
way to deal in livestock, and has 
continued progressively and suc- 



cessfully in that line until the 
present time, having become the 
most extensive drover and farm 
nuinager in this section. 

He left South Richford in 188-1, 
and settled at East Berkshire, 
where he has acquired large farm- 
ing and business interests. For 
many years he bought horses in 
Canada and the West and shipped 
to Hartford, Connecticut, but re- 
cently his sales have been made at 
East Berkshire and vicinity. 

Possessing a prompt and accurate 
.iudgment of real and personal 
property, unusual energy, rare ex- 
ecutive ability, and withal a trans- 
parent honesty and reliability that 
has won the unreserved confidence 
of his associates. Mr. Combs has be- 
come a potent factor in the business 
affairs of his section. He owns 
six farms, embracing nearly seven- 
teen hundred acres, milks 230 cows 
at his various dairies, taps 11,000 
maples in his sugar places, and con- 
ducts an annual business of $200.- 
000 in livestock. He is manager of 
the Maple Hill Creamery, which 
handles the product of 1,000 cows, 
and which, during- the best of the 
season, ships more than two hun- 
dred quarts of sweet cream daily 
to Boston. 

B. H. Combs was mai"ried. Jan- 
uary 1, 1877. to Addie Chamberlain 
of Stowe. Mrs. Combs died, De- 
cember 20, 1886, leaving two chil- 
dren : Bionly F., born July 11, 
1879, and Addie R., born July 4, 
1886. Mr. Combs married again 
in March, 1898. 

Notwithstanding the extent and 
urgency of his varied enterprises, 
Mr. Combs has obeyed the call of 
public duty and of his constituents, 
whom he has served as selectman, 
as overseer of the poor, and as rep- 
resentative of Berkshire in the 



372 



surcp:ssFUL veiimontp:ks. 



General Assembly of 1898. In 
1902, he was a senator from Frank- 
lin Connty, and served on the com- 
mittees of agricnltnre, railroads 
and the grand list, where he won a 
large measure of the esteem and 



was educated at the Enosburg 
Falls Academy and settled in Berk- 
shire where he has been a success- 
ful farmer. Mr. Ladd is a man of 
high ideals, good taste and sound 
judgment. He has served Berk- 




Btkon H. Combs. 



confidence of his colleagues, by his 
courtesy, fairness and excellent 
judgment. 

LADD, N. Philo. Among the 
progressive men of Berkshire who 
by industry and energy have won 
an enviable place, we find N. Philo 
Ladd, who was born at Farnham, 
Quebec, January 14, 1860. He 



shire four years as a lister, two 
years as selectman and in 1904 rep- 
resented the town in the General 
Assembly, serving: on the commit- 
tee on grand list. He has always 
taken a lively interest in agricul- 
ture and is an active member of 
the Grange. 

December 30, 1880, he married 



FRANKLIN COUNTY. 



373 



Flora Noyes, a lad>' of rare cul- 
ture and intellect. The Laclds 
have a charming home just out of 
Richford over the Berkshire line, 
where hospitality and refinement 
are notable features. 

POND, Herbert A., son of Ad- 



early pioneer, was a soldier and 
pensioner of the Revolution, and is 
buried in Berkshire, having died at 
the remarkable age of 95 years. 

His son, Perkins Pond, settled in 
Berkshire, where Addison P. Pond 
was born, in April, 1831. The lat- 




N. Philo Ladd. 



dison P. and Sarah H. (Allen) 
Pond, was born at East Berkshire, 
November 29, 1858. Mr. Pond is a 
worthy representative of an early 
and highly esteemed family, long- 
time resident in Berkshire. His 
great-grandfather, Hezekiah Pond, 
came from Massachusetts as an 



ter was a substantial citizen, and 
represented Berkshire in the Legis- 
lature in 1882. After the death of 
his first wife, formerly Sarah H. 
Allen, he married Fannie James of 
Montgomery, and four of their 
children are living. 

Having completed his academic 



374 



SUCCESSFUL VERMONTERS. 



education at Montpelier Seminary, 
at the age of 19, Herbert A. Pond 
returned to his native town and 
opened a general store at his pres- 
ent place at East Berkshire. Pos- 
sessing an active, optimistic tem- 
perament and unusual enterprise. 



native town, which he has accepta- 
bly served as a lister and for six 
years as chairman of the board of 
school directors. He was a mem- 
l)er of the General Assembly in 
1902, and served on the general 
committee. 




Herbert A. Pond. 



Mr. Pond has expanded and diver- 
sified his business. He owns and 
manages four farms, comprising 
more than a thousand acres, being 
one of the largest agriculturists in 
the county. 

He is actively interested in the 
material and moral welfare of his 



Mr. Pond was married, Novem- 
ber 30, 1883, to Martha H., daugh- 
ter of Andrew J. Eichardson of 
Montgomery, and they are the par- 
ents of two children : Richard H., 
born September 18, 1884, who as- 
sists his father in business, and Sa- 
rah H., born October 9, 1889. 



FRANKLIN COUNTY. 



375 



RICHFORD. 

Population, Census of 1900, 2,421. 

The town of Ricliford contains 
36 square miles, and is situated on 
the Canadian border in the ex- 
treme northeastern part of Frank- 
lin Comity. 

Jonathan Wells, Esq., and 60 
associates received the grant from 
the governor, eonncil and Legisla- 
ture of Vermont of this tract of 
nnoccnpied land, which was incor- 
porated as the town of Richford, 
with the nsnal conditions and res- 
ervations. 

The earliest settlei's of the town 
were not grantees. In the spring 
of 1795, Hugh Miller, his wife, 
eight children, and three sons-in- 
law, Theophilus Hastings, Robert 
Kenedy and Benjamin Barnet, 
started from Brandon, wended 
their way through the wilderness, 
and settled about a mile and a half 
from the falls. Mrs. Miller was a 
woman of unusual energy and 
character, and often called to visit 
the sick and afflicted, and the Mil- 
ler house was the center for gather- 
ings of the pioneers. Soon the Mil- 
lers were joined by others, the Pow- 
ells from ]\Iassacliusetts, the Royces 
from Tinmouth, and the Carpen- 
ters from Rutland. 

The first town meeting was 
called by Stephen Royce of Berk- 
shire, in a warning dated March 
30, 1799, to be held^'at the house of 
Jonathan Janes. Stephen Royce 
was elected moderator ; Chester 
Wells, town clerk; Jonathan Janes, 
treasurer; Jonathan Janes, Daniel 
Janes and Robert Kenedy, select- 
men ; Theophilus Hastings, consta- 
ble. The grand list of 1799 was as 
follows : 

16 polls, $20 each $320.00 

25 acres of Improved land 61.25 

One horse 3.00 

Other property 800.00 



Jeremiah and Daniel Wads- 
worth, Timothy Seymour and oth- 
ers, landowners, resident at Hart- 
ford, Connecticut, conferred on 
Jonathan Janes power of attorney 
to vote, draw lots, divide and par- 
tition all lands owned by them in 
Richford, and he was for a time 
the agent of a majority of the non- 
resident landowners. A tax of 
$6.00 was assessed on each propri- 
etor's right, for paying the ex- 
penses attending the management 
of suits, etc., before the Circuit 
Court, and John Powell was ap- 
pointed collector to collect this tax. 
There was great inequality in the 
size of the lots, and omissions and 
irregularity in the records, and 
consequent dissatisfaction. To 
remedy these difficulties, agreeable 
to call, 57 proprietors met at the 
house of Jonathan Janes, June 21, 
1801, and "voted that all of the 
former doings of the said propri- 
etors, if any have been done, and 
also of the surveys, be considered 
void and of no effect, and all of the 
land be considered as common and 
undivided, until a division shall be 
made by voting to settlers the lots 
on which they live, or by drawing- 
for their lots as the law directs." 

Bradford and John Powell were 
appointed a committee to lay out 
and survey into lots of 105 
acres each, three lots to each pro- 
prietor, a right in said town, and to 
make an accurate plan and report 
the same as soon as completed. The 
report of the committee was re- 
ceived and accepted in 1806. Even 
this did not satisfy the conflicting 
interests, and in February, 1822, 
the proprietors appointed Asa Al- 
dis, Stephen Royce and John Pow- 
ell a committee to make a full and 
complete survey of the town, and a 
division among the proprietors, 



376 



SUCCESSFUL VERMONTEKS. 



either by draft or by voting to set- 
tlers the lots on which they were 
then located. 

At the first freeman's meeting, 
held on the first Tuesday in Sep- 
tember, 1799, the 11 votes of the 
town were all cast for Isaac Tiche- 
nor, governor, and Jonathan Janes, 
representative. 

The first bridge across the jNIis- 
sisqnoi was built at the mill pond, 
just above the dam, by Timothy 
Seymour of Hartford, Connecticut, 
in 1796. He also built a sawmill 
(a little later) near where the pres- 
ent mill now stands, and put into 
the mill a run of stones made from 
native granite, for the purpose of 
grinding corn. 

The first store in town was owned 
by Amhearst Willoughby, and was 
located near the falls. He also 
built a distillery near the dam. 
About this time Samuel Shepherd 
built a trip-hammer shop on the 
north side of the river, and during 
the earliest years of the century 
considerable prosperity prevailed. 
In the spring of 180-1 the high wa- 
ter took off the bridge and some of 
the shops and other buildings near 
the falls, inflicting great damage on 
the "infant industries," and this, 
together with difficulty regarding 
land titles, caused great depression, 
and resulted in the removal of sev- 
eral of the families. Following 
this came the non-intercourse or 
embargo act, the War of 1812" '15, 
and the cold seasons of 1815 and 
1816, when few farm crops were 
raised, and the settlers faced a pe- 
riod of extreme scarcity, almost ap- 
proaching starvation. 

In 1817 the third bridge across 
the ]\Iissisquoi was swept away, and 
the people crossed the river in 
boats until, in 1818. Ilezekiah GofP 
built a new bridge, which he war- 



ranted to stand for 15 years. In 
the year 1822 the Missisquoi again 
rose to a raging flood and carried 
away the sawmill, the gristmill, the 
cloth works, and also the bridge, 
thus completing a climax of disas- 
ters which had almost ruined the 
town. 

The new survey- was made, other 
settlers came in, and the town 
slowly but surely recovered and 
realized its normal growth. Knoch 
Carlton, with his son-in-law, Alden 
Sears, came about this time. Mr. 
Sears built and opened a store, 
later a hotel, and also a starch fac- 
tory on an adjacent brook, which 
for a time provided a cash market 
for potatoes. In 1870 the town of 
Richford bonded for $39,800 in aid 
of the two railroads, and the result 
has been a great development of the 
lumber interests and of manufac- 
turing. 

Eichford, with its large furni- 
ture factories, its veneer and gar- 
ment factories, its fovindry, lumber 
mills, savings bank, and excellent 
schools and churches, is one of the 
most lively and prosperous towns 
of northern A^erraont. It is the 
second largest port of entry in the 
state, the only direct entry port of 
oriental trade. It has a fine water 
system, electric lights, a grain ele- 
vator and excellent transportation 
facilities. 

GOFF, Gilbert L., is 71 years 
old, a veteran of the Seventh Ver- 
mont Regiment and the oldest sur- 
viving member of the Goft" family 
in Richford. Hezekiah Goff, his 
grandfather, a soldier of the Revo- 
lution, was with Washington at 
Valley Forge. William Goff, his 
father, was a soldier in the War of 
1812, and he served four years and 
four months in the Civil War. 

For many years William Goff 



FRANKLIN COUNTY, 



377 



was the owner of the mill sites at 
Richford. He married Abigail 
Blaisdel and nine children were 
born to them, of whom eight lived 
to matnrity. 

(Til])ert Goff married Mary Jane 
Corliss and they reared a family of 
three daughters and one son, Will- 
iam Corliss Goff, who has a family 
of five children, is a traveling sales- 
man, but resides on the old ances- 
tral farm of the Goff, Corliss, Pow- 
ell and Carpenter families. 

CARPENTER, Hon. Su.as 
Pratt. The subject of this sketch, 
during a period of half a century, 
occupied a foremost place in the 
business and public life of Rich- 
ford. He was born in Richford in 
1821, one of the eight children of 
Jonathan and Patience ^Rogers) 
Carpenter. His father was ac- 
tively engaged in multifarious busi- 
nesses, conducting a farm, store, 
sawmill, starch factory, potashery, 
tannery, etc., and Silas was his 
early and efficient assistant, and 
early formed the systematic and 
strenuous habits which character- 
ized his long and successful career. 

His mother was a daughter of 
Elder William Rogei's, the first set- 
tled minister of the town, with 47 
years' service, and who several 
terms was representative in the 
Legislature. 

]\Ir. Carpenter was a man of sin- 
gular modesty, and never sought 
public office, although it was fre- 
quently conferred upon him, which 
he always discharged with signal 
fidelity and ability. He held the 
office of town clerk 33 years and the 
office of town treasurer 55 years. 
He was town representative in 
1848- '49 and 1854, and county sen- 
ator in 1852- '53. In 1876 he was 
delegate to the Republican Na- 
tional Convention which nominated 



Rutherford B. Hayes. In 1861 he 
was appointed chief deputy col- 
lector of customs at Richford. and 
held that office until 1885. The 
same year he was appointed assist- 
ant judge of the county court to 
succeed Hon. George N. Goff', who 
had resigned. He was elected as- 
sistant judge in 1886, 1888 and 
1890. Mr. Carpenter was one of 
the organizers of the Richford Sav- 
ings Bank and Trust Company, 
and was treasurer from its incep- 
tion in 1875, until his death. He 
devoted the best energies of his 
riper years to the upbuilding of 
that institution, and other local 
business enterprises, which he aided 
with counsel and means. He as- 
sisted in the settlement of many es- 
tates, and his wise counsel and sym- 
pathetic advice were often sought 
and received in many emergencies. 

^Ir. Carpenter died, March 24, 
1900, survived by two sons : Defor- 
rest W. and John H., both of Rich- 
ford. 

ALL SAINTS Church, Rich- 
ford, was a mission attended from 
Enosburg Falls, until i\Iay, 1899. 
The first Mass was celebrated here 
by Father Lyonnet in 1840. In 
1865, Rt. Rev. L. De Goesbriand 
gave a mission here, aided by Fath- 
ers Caissy and Malo. 

The lot for the church was 
bought August 8, 1872, and in 
1873 Father :\Iailhot of Sutton, 
Canada, built a small church. The 
number of Catholics was then 120, 
comprising both Irish and French. 

In 1875 Richford was connected 
with Enosburg Falls as a mission, 
and remained so until 1899, when 
Rev. N. 0. H. Dorion was trans- 
fei'red from Orwell, and appointed 
its first pastor. Work on the pres- 
ent church was begun April 7, 1902. 
It was completed at an expense of 



378 



SUCCESSFUL VERMONTERS. 



nearly $40,000, one of the finest 
churches in the state, and dedicated 
October 11, 1903, by Rt. Rev. J. S. 
Michaud, Bishop of Burlington. 
The address was delivered by Rev. 
D. J. 'Sullivan. The Catholics 
here have a eemeterv, which was 
deeded May 20, 1889.' 




Rev. N. O. H. Doiuon. 



Father Doi-ion is recognized as 
an able preacher, a devoted pastor, 
and is endowed with such delight- 
ful social and personal attributes 
that he has ^ become universally 
popular and esteemed, not only 
among his own parishioners, but 
with all classes. 



The efficiency of his work is well 
attested by the fact that the parish 
now includes nearly six hundred 
Catholics. 

PELTON, Doctor Rollin M., 
son of Lyman E. and Julina Ware 
Pelton, was born in Highgate, Sep- 
tember 26, 1865. 

His father was a well-known 
lawyer of Franklin County, for 60 
years in practice in Highgate, and 
died at the great age of 95. Rollin 
was one of a family of seven chil- 
dren, of whom five are now living. 
He was educated in the public and 
select schools of Highgate, and at 
the age of 18 began reading medi- 
cine with Doctor E. A. Bates of 
Highgate. He graduated from the 
medical department of the Univer- 
sity of Vermont in 1888, and the 
next January located at Richford, 
where he has since resided, pursu- 
ing an extensive practice in this 
and adjoining towns. 

Doctor Pelton is a meml)er of the 
Franklin County Medical Society, 
of the Vermont Medical Society, 
and of the American Medical As- 
sociation. He is the local medical 
examiner of several fraternal and 
insurance organizations, and for 
several years was health officer of 
Richford. He owns and manages 
two farms in this town for profit 
and recreation. He has entered 
with hearty interest into local af- 
fairs and has achieved an excel- 
lent personal and professional 
standing. He has held various 
town offices and represented the 
town in the Legislature of 1900. 
In June, 1906, he received the nom- 
ination as senator for Franklin 
County, and was elected at the 
Freeman's meeting in September. 
He served as chairman of the com- 
mittee on highways and bridges 
and as a member of the committee 



380 



SUCOKSRFUL VEItMoNTP^KS. 



on education, the connnittee on 
printing- and the joint standing' 
committee on public health. No- 
vember 21 Governor Proctor ap- 
pointed him one of the supervisors 
of insane for six years from 
December 1. 1906. 



COMINGS, Herbert Calvin,* 
whose portrait is given herewith, is 
one of Richford's most energetic, 
progressive and successful young 
business men and has done much 
to build up her commercial and 
industrial prospei'ity. 




RoLi.iN M. ri:i/rox, M. D. 



Doctor Pelton married in 1898 
Susie C, daughter of Colonel L. C. 
Leavens of Richford, who died a 
year and a half later. He mar- 
ried for his second wife, Clara A., 
daughter of Captain A. J. Merrill 
of Richford. 



Mr. Comings was born in Berk- 
shire November 17, 1863. the son 
of William H. and Betsy (Ham- 
mond) Comings, and was educated 
in the common schools of his na- 
tive town and at Franklin Acad- 
emy. Until 20 vears of age he 



* Sketch by M. J. Maloney. 



FRANKLIN COU^'TY, 



381 



labored diligently on his father's 
farm, and in habits of persistent 
industry laid the sure foundation 
for his future success in the 
broader fields of trade and manu- 
facture. In 1883 he came to Rich- 
ford and found employment in 
Richard Smith's drug' store. A 



becoming- Powell & Comings, and 
so remains. The business of the 
firm is one of the largest of its 
kind in Franklin County. Much 
of the success is due to the fine 
business sagacity of the junior 
partner. 

In 1890 Mr. Comings saw a 




Herbert C. Comings. 



few months after Mr. Smith sold 
his business, and Mr. Comings se- 
cured employment in C. A. Powell 
& Co.'s hardware and furniture 
store. To his new work he applied 
himself so faithfully that on Jan- 
uary 1, 1887, he was admitted to 
the firm as a partner, the firm name 



chance to broaden the sphere of his 
business activity, and purchased an 
interest in the firm of I. J. Sweat 
& Co., furniture manufacturers, of 
Richford. To handle the increas- 
ing business more capital was 
needed, and in 1895 the firm was 
succeeded by a corporation entitled 



382 



SUCCESSFUL VERMONTERS. 



' ' The Sweat-Comings Company, ' ' 
with a capital of $24,000. and Mr. 
Comings was made its manager 
and treasurer, positions he has con- 
tinuously held. Although still re- 
taining his interest in the firm of 
Powell & Comings, Mr. Comings 
gave his best efforts to the devel- 
opment of the business of the 
Sweat-Comings Company, with the 
result that in 1904 the capital stock 
was increased to $80,000, the grist- 
mill and sawmill on the falls were 
added to the company's plant, and 
in 1905 the business of the com- 
pany had increased to more than 
four fold. During these years the 
company has distributed to its 
stockholders large and satisfactory 
dividends, and the corporation 
stands today a monument to the 
excellent business ability of its or- 
ganizer and manager. 

In 1900 Mr. Comings aided in 
organizing the Kichford ]Manufac- 
turing Company, successor to the 
Kichford Furniture Company, 
whose plant was destroyed by fire 
that year, and of which he is a 
director. In 1905 he became a 
stockholder in the Eichford Sav- 
ings Bank and Trust Company and 
the First National Bank of Enos- 
burg Falls, and is a director in 
both corporations. 

Notwithstanding his incessant 
business activities, Mr. Comings 
has found time to indulge some- 
what in politics. Besides holding 
various town and village offices, he 
represented Eichford in the Gen- 
eral Assembly of 1898. being 
elected as a Democrat from a 
strong Eepublican town. In 1900 
he was the candidate of his party 
for secretary of state: in 1904 he 
was a delegate from Vermont to 
the Democratic national conven- 
tion at St. Louis, and this year of 



1906 he was honored by the Demo- 
cratic county convention by a nom- 
ination for county senator, all of 
which testify to his high charac- 
ter as a citizen and to the esteem 
in which he is held by his fellow- 
Democrats. 

In 1887 Mr. Comings was mar- 
ried to Miss ]May Bo wen of Berk- 
shire, and of their happy union 
one son, Herbert Bowen Comings, 
was born February 26, 1889. 

In all his early life, in his long 
business career in Eichford, the 
breath of scandal, the suspicion of 
dishonesty, or selfishness, or mean- 
ness has never tinged or clouded 
his character. With but little ex- 
ternal help, from humble and cir- 
cumscribed beginnings, by self- 
directed. honest effort, he has 
grown and broadened into an ac- 
tive and prominent factor in the 
commercial and industrial life of 
his town and county. 

In his private relations of hus- 
band, father, friend, Mr. Comings 
is one of the most loyal and lovable 
of men. Pie is kind, courteous and 
genial, and he has never turned 
away from the poor and distressed : 
and if all those to whom he has 
done acts of kindness would but 
whisper their gratitude it would 
make an anthem sweeter than 
words can tell. 

HOPKINS. Etiiax Fay. son of 
Ethan Fay and Betsey (Gross) 
Hopldns, was born in Eichford. 
June 11. 1852. His father, a car- 
penter and joiner by trade, died 
when Fay was an infant, leaving 
the widowed mother with three 
small children, in destitute circum- 
stances. With his mother and 
two sisters he went to live with 
his grandfather, Joseph Gross, a 
farmer of Eichford. where he re- 
mained until he was 14 years of 



FKANKLIN COUNTY, 



383 



age. Residinjj: two miles from 
school, his educational advantages 
were very limited. After work- 
ing- out on farms in his native 
town four years, he went to Marl- 
borough, New Hampshire, and en- 
gaged in the wood-working factory 



Sweat Company, as a contractor 
and house builder. 

In 1890 he bought a one-sixth 
interest in the concern, and became 
foreman of the works, under a gen- 
eral manager. This move was not 
a success financially. Mr. Hopkins 




Ethan Fay Hopkins. 



of Levi Fuller, where he remained 
two years. lie then returned to 
Richford, where he has since re- 
sided, with the exception of one 
year at St. Albans. Naturally in- 
genius, he learned the joiner's 
trade, and followed it for about fif- 
teen years, during the last half of 
that period in the employ of I. J. 



argued repeatedly that it could be 
made to pay if run on the right 
principles, but not until the man- 
ager had decided to shut down the 
works as a failure could he get a 
chance to prove this to the com- 
pany. He then, in company with 
the present manager, Mr. H. C. 
Comings, agreed to make and de- 



384 



SUCCESSFUL V?:rvMONTEi:S. 



liver on board cars at Riehford, 
1,000 suites of furniture at a tixed 
price. Mr. Comings at that time 
was operating- a hardware store in 
company' with ]\Ir. C. A. Powell, 
and being a good financier was well 
qualified to look after the financial 
end of the job, in buying the sup- 
plies, keeping time, paying the 
help, etc., while ^Ir. Hopkins was 
looking after the manufacturing of 
the goods. His long experience in 
handling men and materials gave 
him explicit confidence in the suc- 
cess of the enterprise, so much so 
that they agreed to stand all losses 
that might occur. But at the end 
of three months instead of a loss 
they had a good profit left to them- 
selves. The.y also had demon- 
strated the fact that the business 
could be put on a paving basis. 
This was in the fall of "l894. The 
concern then became a stock com- 
pany, 'Mr. Hopkins liecoming a di- 
rector and superintendent and later 
vice-president, a position he has 
since held and for which he is am- 
ply qualified by long experience, 
good judgment, energy and un- 
questioned integrity. Since that 
time the manufacture of furniture 
has become the leading feature. 
The company has a capital stock 
of $100,000 ' and employs at the 
sa^ATnill, gristmill and factory a 
worldng force of thirty-five to 
forty men. Mr. Hopkins is the 
typical New England manufac- 
turer, a laborer who has become 
also a capitalist, but still retains his 
interest and sympathy with his em- 
ployees. 

Mr. Hopkins married in Novem- 
ber, 1874. Abbie, daughter of C. 
L. Bliss of Eichford, a true help- 
meet. They have an interesting 
family of thi'ee sons and one 
daughter. Clyde B. Hopkins is a 



foreman in the flour sheds of the 
Canadian Pacific Railroad at New- 
port; Clair H. is a bookkeeper in a 
live stock commission firm at South 
Omaha, Nebraska ; Bertha Kath- 
er.yne, a graduate of the Riehford 
High School, and Charlie remain 
with their parents. 

Mr. Hopkins furnished a home 
for the declining years of his 
mother and grandmother, and also 
for his father-in-law, ^Ir. Bliss. 
He is a member of ]Missisquoi 
Lodge, No. 9, F. & A. M., of Rieh- 
ford. In politics a Democrat, he 
was elected to the Legislature in 
1902 by a large majority in the 
strongly Republican town of Rich- 
ford, an emphatic tribute to his 
local standing. 

RUSTEDT, Henry E., was born 
in England, December 25, 1847. 
and was drowned at Riehford, 
March 27, 1904. 

He was the son of a Congi-ega- 
tional minister, and came to this 
eountiy with his parents in his 
youth. 

Mr. Rustedt was educated at 
Barre Academy and at the Univer- 
sity of Vermont, where he gradu- 
ated in 1871 with the degree of 
A. B. He taught several terms at 
Bakersfield South Academy, and 
while there read law with Judge 
Henry R. Start; was admitted to 
the Franklin County bar in April, 

1873, and formed a law partner- 
ship with Judge Start. Mr. 
Rustedt located in Riehford in 

1874, and the partnership was dis- 
solved. In 1889 he formed a part- 
nership with Wallace B. Lochlin, 
which continued until ]\lr. Rus- 
tedt 's death. He was state's at- 
torney of Franklin County. 1880- 
'82, supervisor of schools of the 
county, 1889- '90, and county ex- 
aminer until the time of his death. 



PEANKLIN COUNTY. 



385 



He was superintendent of schools 
of Richford for 12 years prior to 
his death, and was a prime factor 
in the educational system of the 
town and county. He held various 
town offices, including that of mod- 
erator, and was first clerk of the 
village corporation. As a Repub- 
lican, he represented Richford in 
the Legislature in 1894, was a mem- 
ber of the committee on education 




Henry E. Rustedt. 

and has been a member of the state 
library commission since its crea- 
tion that year, until 1903. 

Mr. Rustedt was a careful, thor- 
ough and efficient lawyer, consci- 
entious and reliable as counsel. He 
possessed the judicial temperament 
and was widely and favorably 
known as a special master in chan- 
cery and as a referee. In 1899 Mr. 
Rustedt was elected vice-president 
of the Richford Savings Bank and 
Trust Company, and held that po- 



sition until his lamented death. 
He had settled many estates and 
his judicious counsel was often 
sought by a wide circle of friends. 
In religious belief he was a Con- 
gregationalist. He was a good 
type of the upright man and Chris- 
tian gentleman. 

He is survived by his wife, for- 
merly Miss Laura Brigham of Ba- 
kersfield, and their three children : 
Marian B.. M. Elisabeth and 
Henry F., all of whom have been 
students at the University of Ver- 
mont. 

KINO. Addison H., the well- 
known deputy collector of the port 
of Richford, was born at Georgia, 
January 9, 1874. His education 
was obtained in the public schools 
and academy of Georgia, and at St. 
Albans Academy. He successfully 
taught several terms of school 
in St. Albans and Fairfax, a help- 
ful experience educationally and 
financially. Mr. King chose the 
legal profession as the most con- 
genial to his tastes and abilities, 
pursued his legal studies in the 
office of Wilson & Hall at St. Al- 
bans, and was admitted to the bar 
in October, 1898, and the following 
May admitted to practice in the 
United States courts. He opened 
an of^ce at Berkshire in October, 
1897, and soon became a potent 
factor in the affairs of that town. 
He was elected superintendent of 
schools, moderator and town grand 
juror, was appointed deputy col- 
lector of customs at West Berk- 
shire, and remained in that capac- 
ity until January, 1903, when he 
was appointed deputy collector of 
customs, in charge at Richford, a 
position which he has since dis- 
charged with rare fidelity and abil- 
ity. The amount of collections at 
Richford in 1897 was $54,000, but 




Addison H, King. 



FRANKLIN COUNO^Y. 



387 



they have more than quadrupled 
since that time. There is an ex- 
port business of about seven mil- 
lions annually at this port. It is 
the second largest port in Vermont, 
and the only port in the state 
which receives the oriental trade 
direct by steamship and the Cana- 
dian Pacific line, and is also a Chi- 
nese detention port. There is a 
force of 11 men regularly stationed 
here, with two more, a ganger and 
veterinary on call. A bill is pend- 
ing before Congress for the erec- 
tion of a new government build- 
ing here. The business is not only 
extensive, but very complicated, re- 
quiring the exercise of excellent 
legal and executive ability and dis- 
cretion. Mr. King has success- 
fully convicted in several import- 
tant smuggling cases, and effect- 
ually suppressed the practice. 

He has taken an active interest in 
local affairs and held various posi- 
tions, being at present supei'iii- 
tendent of schools. He married. 
April 18, 1900, Katherene Ladd 
Barnum of Boston. He is a char- 
ter member, and Avas the first chan- 
cellor commander of Richford 
Lodge, No. 25, Knights of Pythias : 
also first captain of the Uniform 
Rank of Richford. Mr. King is a 
member of Lincoln Lodge, No. 78, 
F. & A. M. of Enosburg. 

DOW, David T., son of Charles 
and Betsey (Stanhope) Dow, was 
born at East Richford, September 
5, 1845. Benjamin Dow, his 
grandfather, a soldier of the War 
of 1812, came from New York 
state and settled in Enosburg. The 
Stanhopes were among the earliest 
pioneers of Richford, and Mr. 
Dow's grandfather was Captain 
Stanhope, a well-known militia 
captain. His schooling was very 
limited. Mr. Dow learned the 



carpenter and joiner's trade of his 
uncle, and followed it nearly all of 
his active life. For nearly forty 
years he was a contractor and 
builder, and many buildings in this 
town and section show the finger- 
marks of his handiwork. He built 
nearly all of the houses at East 
Richford, which at the time of his 
birth contained only two buildings. 
Mr. Dow has been a lifelong 
resident and closely identified with 




David T. Dow. 

the local affairs of his native vil- 
lage. At 18 years of age he was 
serving as highway surveyor. At 
the age of 21 he was appointed jus- 
tice of the peace and held that 
office 16 consecutive years, and 
since that time. He also served 
many years as constable and col- 
lector of taxes, prudential commit- 
tee of schools, and town grand 
juror. He has faithfully filled 
various spheres of usefulness. He 
was a founder and builder of the 



388 



SUCCESSFUL VERMONTERS. 



Advent Churcli at East Kichford, 
has acted as lay reader, and has 
taken charge of 263 funerals. Af- 
ter the establishment of the port of 
East Richford, October, 1904, at 
the earnest solicitation of Deputy- 
Collector A. H. King, Mr. Dow 
was appointed the first deputy col- 
lector, and now acceptably tills 
that position. 

He married, in 1870, Laura J., 
daughter of Hamilton and Sabrina 
AYilson of Richford, who died 
April 13, 1903, at 50 years of age. 
They w^ere parents of 12 children: 
Erwin and Ervin, twins, deceased 
in infancy; Herman C, Avho mar- 
ried Maude McLucas, and Delbert 
N., who married Eva True, both re- 
siding at East Richford ; Gertrude, 
deceased wife of Louis E. Arnold; 
Olin, deceased in infancy: Tjcafy, 
deceased wife of Daniel Barnett : 
Frank C, of Worcester, ^Massachu- 
setts; Flossie C, who resides with 
her father: Von and Don, twins, 
deceased in infancy. 

Mr. Dow is a useful and exem- 
plary citizen in every relation of 
life."^ 

WHEELER, Frank W., son of 
Frederick P. and Mary Ann 
(Dowd) Wheeler, was born in Bris- 
tol, October 5, 1848. 

Captain Moses Wheeler, his 
grandfather, commanded a com- 
pany at the battle of Plattsbui-i;-. 
War of 1812. Doctor Frederick P. 
Wheeler practiced medicine 45 
years in Bristol. The subject of 
this sketch was educated in the 
Bristol public and high schools. 
At 18 years of age he went to Mid- 
dlebury and learned the art of pho- 
tography of A. J. Stiles. Later he 
was engaged one vear in the studio 
of T. G. Richardson of St. Albans. 
In 1872 he located in Richford and 
purchased a gallery of P. N. Bliss. 



For a third of a century he has de 
voted his attention to his art, keep- 
ing abreast of the times, and has 
seen every improvement, from the 




Fhank W. Wheelek. 

primitive daguerreotype to the am- 
brotype, the tintype and the ele- 
gant photograph of today. 

He helped build, in ' 1884, the 
Powell block, so-called, on Main 
Street, the location of the studio, 
and in which he owns a one-third 
interest. 

Since retiring, in 1903, from the 
active practice of his art, INIr. 
Wheeler has purchased a very pro- 
ductive farm, next outside the vil- 
lage limits, in the management of 
which he has found both health and 
pastime. He was originally a 
Democrat, but since 1888 has been 
a Prohibitionist. He is a member 
of the Methodist Church and su- 
perintendent of the junior work. 

Frank W. Wheeler married, in 
1872, Mary A. Griggs of Alburg, 



FRANKLIN ClOUNTY. 



389 



Two children have been born to 
them : Frederick C. and Arvilla C, 
wife of Doctor E. G. Livingstone 
of Lowell, Massachusetts. 

Frederick C. Wheeler was born 
January 3, 1875 ; was graduated at 
the Richford High School, and was 
also a student for four years 
at McGill College, Montreal. He 
chose the occupation so long and 
successfully followed by his father, 
and assumed the business in 1903. 
Frederick C. Wheeler has a well- 
deserved reputation as an artist, 
and many of the photographs of 
' ' Successful Vermonters ' ' repre- 
sents his skill. He married, in 1904, 
Miss Josie Garvin of Richford. 
Their beautiful home on Elm Ave- 
nue, occupied by both families, is 




Fkkderick C. Wheeler. 

tastefully adorned by choice and 
rare shrubs and plants on the ex- 
(iuisite lawn, and cheered by the 
presence of a little daughter, Ger- 
trude Arvilla Wheeler. 



LOGKLIN, Wallace Byron, 
son of David and Lydia (Stearns) 
Lockliu, was born at Fairfield, De- 
cember 21, 1854. He was one of a 
family of seven sons and four 
daughters, the members of which 
are now widely separated. He 
early learned the lessons of indus- 
try and self-denial as the means of 
making his own way in life. 

Mr. Locklin was educated in the 
public schools of Fairfield, at Ba- 
kersfield Academy, and at Barre 
Academy under Jacob Spaulding, 
from which he graduated in the 
class of 1876. He worked out on 
farms and taught district school, 
thereby paying his educational ex- 
penses. He read law in the office 
of the late Henry E. Rustedt, and 
was admitted to the bar of Frank- 
lin County at the September term, 
1880. In the spring of 1881 he 
located at Tower City, North Da- 
kota, and soon enjoyed an extensive 
and successful general practice. 

In 1883 he married Nellie, 
daughter of Harvey D. Farrar, one 
of the early and prominent settlers 
of Richford, and returned with his 
bride to his Western home, where 
she was stricken with consumption, 
and in 1886 they returned to Rich- 
ford, where she died two years 
later. In 1889 he resumed legal 
practice and soon formed a law 
partnership with Henry E. Rus- 
tedt, then recently elected county 
supervisor of schools, which contin- 
ued until Mr. Rustedt 's lamented 
death in March, 1904. Mr. Locklin 
is a sucessful practical lawyer, a 
man of affairs. His sound judg- 
ment and fairness are well recog- 
nized, and he has often acted as re- 
ceiver of estates under appoint- 
ment of the courts in chancery and 
a trustee in the settlement of es- 
tates. 



:90 



SUCCESSFDT. VERMONTERS. 



In Eiehford he owns and con- 
ducts a farm, is identified in several 
of the local manufactories, has 
served 10 years as a water commis- 
sioner and 15 years on the school 
board. He was state's attorney of 
Franklin County from 1902- '04. 

In 1891 Mr. Locklin married 
Anna, daughter of Joel and Lucy 
(Grant) Swan, a relative of Dan- 
iel Webster on the paternal line, 




Wallace B. Locklin. 

and of General U. S. Grant on the 
maternal. They have three sons 
and one daughter : Harold Grant, 
Merritt Swan, Anna Pauline and 
Philip David. ]\Ir. Locklin is a 
Republican in politics and a mem- 
ber and steward of the Methodist 
Church. 

BAKER, L., & Sons. There are 
very few firms that have exercised 
so lasting and beneficial an influ- 
ence in the business life of Rich- 
ford as the Bakers. 



Luther Baker was born in New- 
port, May 7, 1820, and represents 
the early and sturdy citizenship of 
that town. Reared upon a farm, 
with a fair education for the times, 
in early life he engaged in mercan- 
tile business at Newport. 

He married Melinda Green of 
Waterford, and three children were 
born to them: Ella, deceased, and 
Jasper C. and Homer L-, the active 
members of the firm. In 1874 L. 
Baker & Sons located in Richford, 
near the Canadian Pacific Rail- 
road station and engaged in trade, 
both wholesale and retail, handling 
flour, feed, coal and building mate- 
rials, the first in town to order 
goods by the carload. They dealt 
extensively in lumber, and owned 
and operated a dr. ssing and finish- 
ing mill. In 1877 their store and 
stock were destrc/ed by a disas- 
trous fire, but they promptly re- 
built, and continued an extensive 
business until 1893, when their es- 
tablishment was again burned. 
They erected their present large 
steam lumber mill at East Rich- 
ford in 1887, an extensive two- 
story building, lighted by electric- 
it}^ with a board saw of 25,000 feet 
capacity in 10 hours; clapboard 
mill with modern equipment for 
the manufacture of floor boards, 
box shooks, etc. The output of 
the mill is three or four million 
feet per annum, and the company 
owns a water mill at South Troy, 
which turns out two million feet. 

The company owns several thou- 
sand acres of wood and timber land 
and are extensive buyers of timber. 
The logging is jobbed, a large share 
of it being run down the river. 
Some fifty men are employed in 
and about the mill and the com- 
pany pay roll is the lifeblood of 
industry at East Richford, which 



FRANKLtN COTTNTY. 



391 



has largely grown up since the 
starting of the business. 

Luther Baker, now 86 years of 
age, with mental faculties still 
clear, has been one of the most 
prominent and able men of north- 
ern Vermont. A stalwart Repub- 
lican, he represented Newport in 
the Legislature, and was a senator 
for Orleans County. 



of Jehial Hawley, a prominent cit- 
izen of Arlington. His son, Abi- 
jah Hawley, was a strong charac- 
ter and a pioneer settler in the 
northern part of Buck Hollow in 
the town of Fairfax, where he set- 
tled in 1789, having come from 
Arlington. He came with his fam- 
ily on ox-sleds to the town and then 
transferred his goods to "the Hoi- 





ar'^MHHI 






4% 




^^^^^LSjffl^ 




-'^ 


^ '' ''Mn^^*H^^s^i%i^^_J— -!?^|^^H1 


i 




%^ 


■';^ 


I 



MriJ. OF L. Baker & Sons, at East RicnFORi). 



Jasper C. Baker manages the 
outside business, and is widely 
known as an able business man. AJs 
a Republican, he represented Rich- 
ford in 1888. 

H. L. Baker resides at East Rich- 
ford, where he is postmaster, and 
has charge of the store and the mill 
and lumber interests. 

HAWLEY, Hon. Cyrus A., was 
born in Fairfax December 26, 1848. 
He received his education in the 
public schools and at the New 
Hampton Institute. 

Cyrus A. Hawley is a grandson 



low" on hand-sleds. We find that 
as early as 1796 Abijah Hawley 
was elected a school committeeman 
in the town of Fairfax. 

Cyrus A. Hawley selected farm- 
ing for his life work and in his 
chosen calling he hewed out a 
marked degree of success. He has 
frequently been called to serve his 
townsmen in public office and has 
filled the town offices of selectman, 
school director, superintendent of 
schools, lister, trustee of the Bel- 
lows Free Academy, and in 1900 
represented Fairfax in the General 



392 



SUCCESSFUL VERMONTERS. 



Assembly, serving on the commit- 
tee on education. In 1904 Mr. 
Hawley was chosen to represent 
Franklin County in the state Sen- 




CvKus A. Hawi.ky. 

ate and served as chairman of the 
committee on education, a member 
of the committee on printing and 
the committee on federal relations, 
also as a member of the joint stand- 
ing committee under fourth joint 
rule. In all these important places 
Senator Hawley has discharged the 
duties of the position with pains- 
taking care and fidelity. 

MANUEL, George C, was born 
in North Troy, Orleans County, 
May 24, 1863, a son of C. C. Man- 
uel. He received his education in 
the public schools and at Richford 
Academy. Mr. Manuel is a mem- 
ber of the "irm of C. C. Manuel & 
Sons, of whom "Pictorial Eich- 
ford" says: "The veneer mill is 
operated by the C. C. Manuel & 
Sons Company, an old established 
firm. It employs 175 people and 



its mill has a capacity of nearly 
one half million veneer plates a 
day and enlargements now in the 
process of construction will double 
its capacity." This hustling firm 
is among the largest and most suc- 
cessful manufacturers of veneer in 
New England. 

George C. Manuel has always 
taken a deep interest in all mat- 
ters that were a benefit to the busi- 
ness and moral upbuilding in this 
community. In 1900 he was elected 
a village trustee and has served sev- 
eral terms in that capacity. In 
1904 he was chosen to represent 
Richford in the General Assembly, 




George C. Manuei.. 

where he served as chairman of the 
committee on highways, bridges 
and ferries. 

CORLISS, John Blaisdell, son 
of Hezekiah and Lj^dia (Rounds) 
Corliss, was born at Richford^ 
June 7, 1851. His father, the old- 
est citizen of Richford, a unique 
and original personality and an 
early and devoted Abolitionist, 



394 



SUCCESSFUL VERMONTERS. 



and several brothers and sisters, 
still reside in Richford. 

At the age of 14, Mr. Corliss was 
sent to the French Academy, in the 
Province of Quebec, to learn the 
French language. His education 
was continued in the Richford 
High School, Fairfax Academy, 
and Montpelier Methodist Episco- 
pal Seminary, from which he grad- 
uated in 1871. After spending 
three years in the law office of No- 
ble & Smith, at St. Albans, he 
passed the examinations and en- 
tered the senior class of the Colum- 
bian Law School of Washington, 
District of Columbia, graduating 
in 1875. It was his intention to 
settle in Vermont, and accord- 
ingly he located in Burling- 
ton, but after remaining six 
weeks, contrary to the advice of 
most of his friends, he decided to 
"go West," and at the suggestion 
of Hon. Levi Underwood of Bur- 
lington, settled at Detroit. He ar- 
rived at the ' ' City of the Straits, ' ' 
September 25, 1875, among total 
strangers, with but $35 of bor- 
rowed money in his pocket, but 
with a stout and true heart beat- 
ing under his vest. He entered 
the law firm of Hon. E. Y. Swift, 
a native of Vermont, and found 
four of the five Detroit judges were 
native Vermonters. He soon se- 
cured a growing practice, and in 
1876 returned to his native state 
and married Elizabeth N. Dan- 
forth, daughter of the late Hon. 
William C. Danforth of Barnard. 

Mr. Corliss soon won an excellent 
professional standing, and in 1881, 
after only six years' membership 
of the Detroit bar, was elected city 
attorney, and reelected in 1883. 
In this capacity he prepared a 
complete revision of the Detroit 
city charter, which, with only 



slight modifications, was passed 
by the Legislature. In 1886, the 
firm of Corliss, Andrus & Leete 
was formed, now Corliss, Leete & 
Joslyn, and he has been retained 
in some of the most important 
cases which have arisen in the 
state. He is also interested in 
railroad speculation and street 
railway construction, and is gen- 
eral counsel for the Detroit United 
Railway. He is also a stockholder 
and director in several other large 
business enterprises of his state. 

In 1894 Mr. Corliss was elected 
to Congress, as a Republican, in a 
district that had sent a Democrat 
during the 16 preceding years. 
During his first term he was a mem- 
ber of the important committee of 
interstate and foreign commerce; 
and was an earnest advocate of the 
Nicaragua Canal bill. He was 
recognized as an able exponent of 
the measure for restricting immi- 
gration and for amending the Con- 
stitution so that a state could elect 
its United States senators by direct 
vote of the people. 

During the second session of the 
Fifty-fifth Congress he successfully 
opposed the exclusive grant of a 
subsidy to the Pacific Cable Com- 
pany, a measure reported favorably 
by the committee, and substituted 
the plan of a direct appropriation 
and specific control by the govern- 
ment, which was warmly endorsed 
by President Roosevelt. Mr. Cor- 
liss was the father of the first bill 
introduced in Congress for railroad 
rate regulation, and during each of 
his four terms he was recognized 
as the vigilant and consistent cham- 
pion of the rights of the people, 
and an exponent of the idea of a 
fair and judicious regulation of 
corporations. The name of Corliss 
has become famous through the in- 



FEANKLIN COUNTY. 



395 



vention by George H. Corliss of the 
great engine that bears his name, 
and has been honored on the field 
of battle dnring snccessive wars of 
the republic, and at the bar ; but it 
was reserved for the Vermont farm- 
bred lawyer, John Blaisdell Cor- 
liss, as the first of the name to win 



and superb professional equip- 
ment. 

Hon. J. B. and Mrs. Corliss are 
the parents of four children. 

January, 1886, Mrs. Corliss died, 
leaving four little children of two 
weeks, two, four and eight years 
of age. The deep affection for the 



. 


m 


^ 


1 


0f 


ff 


iWk 




^^^^^^^^H 




\ 


1^ 



George E. Read. 



distinction in the legislative field 
as a member of Congress. 

Mr. Corliss owes the success 
which has invariably attended his 
efforts, to his conscientious thor- 
oughness and devotion to high 
ideals and to duty, no less than to a 
strong and well-balanced intellect 



beloved wife and mother may be 
appreciated by the fact that he 
remains a widower, devoted to his 
children. 

READ, George E., son of Ben- 
jamin C. and Mary E. (Murray) 
Read, was born at Providence, 
Rhode Island, July 30, 1847. He 



396 



SUCCESSFUL VERMONTERS. 



came of stanch New England stock. 
His father was a furniture manu- 
facturer, and later a car builder for 
the Providence & Worcester and 
Boston, Lowell & Nashua railroads. 
George E. Kead was educated in 
tlie public schools of Cambridge. 
iMassachusetts, learned the car 
building trade with his father, and 
for nine years was engaged with 
him. He married, in 1870. Abbie 



to a better location, at Boston, 
where for 20 years he was success- 
fully engaged in manufacturing, 
chamber furniture of medium 
grade being his leading product. 
In 1894 he removed his machinery 
and most of his employes to Man- 
chester, New Hampshire, where he 
became a member of the Josselyn & 
Read Company, a corporation with 
.$50,000 capital, and conducted the 



. n 1 I 

n D B i I 

D D B B IpS 



i ^ 



"Hi^RIH^HI 


1 ' i 



RiCHFOKI) -Mam KACTUUIXO CoMI'ANV. 



Louise, daughter of Francis Bur- 
rell of Weymouth, jNIassachusetts. 
In 1873 he erected a small fac- 
tory at Weymouth and engaged 
successfully in the manufacture of 
furniture for about three years, 
when his plant was destroyed by a 
disastrous fire and, being without 
insurance, he was penniless. He 
obtained financial aid and erected a 
new plant of double the size and 
capacity of the former one. After 
some years he removed his business 



furniture factory there for five 
years. In 1899, with H. C. Com- 
ings of Richford, he bought Mr. 
Josselyn 's interest, closed out that 
enterprise and settled at Richford, 
acquiring a large interest in the 
Richford Manufacturing Company, 
of which he has since been treas- 
urer and general manager. Mr. 
Read's inherited mechanical abil- 
ity, his more than thirty years' ex- 
perience, his good judgment and 
kindness with his men, his orderly 



FRANKLIN COUNTY. 



397 



and systematic methods, are fac-' 
tors which have combined in secur- 
ing the successful operation of the 
Richford Manufacturing Company. 
The leading feature is a medium 
grade of chainber furniture, and 
the stock has a well-established rep- 
utation and a ready sale in the 
eastern central states and in 
Maine, also in the foreign export 
trade. The business of the factory 



in this thriving town. Mr. Read is 
highly esteemed in Richford as an 
able business man and a loyal, pub- 
lic-spirited citizen. He is well- 
known in business circles and is a 
member of the Massachusetts Char- 
itable Mechanics' Association and 
other organizations, but has never 
taken an active part in local politics 
or public affairs, devoting his at- 
tention closely and successfully to 




Richford Manufactubing Company. 



has steadily and rapidly increased, 
and now exceeds $75,000 per an- 
num. Fifty people are employed 
in the factory, receiving weekly 
payment and seven traveling sales- 
men are on the road. Nearly a 
million and a half feet of lumber is 
annual].y worked up into furni- 
ture, which furnishes an excellent 
local market for native ash, elm and 
basswood. Under the present able 
management the business has be- 
come the largest single enterprise 



his large business and financial in- 
terests. 

He is a stanch temperance man 
in theory and practice and his in- 
fluence on this subject is a potent 
factor for sobriety and morality. 

Mrs. Read died in 1884, leaving 
three sons: Edward B. and Rob- 
ert M. are stockholders and em- 
ployes in the factory, and Arthur 
C. is engaged in the printing busi- 
ness at Worcester, Massachusetts. 

Mr. Read married, in 1886, Miss 



398 



SUCCESSFUL VERMONTERS. 



Alice E. Dunning of Chelsea, Mas- 
sachusetts. Ernest D., the eldest 
son by this marriage, is a student at 
Tufts College; IMarion E., George 
II., Ellen E. and Benjamin C. are 
with their parents in their beauti- 
ful home on High Street. 

SCOFIELD,^CoLrMBUS S., son 
of Edwin and Canzada Olin Sco- 
field, was born at Sutton, Prov- 
ince of Quebec, January 2, 1860 




COI-UMBUS S. SCOFIKLU, M. D. 

He was of worthy American !in- 
eage, a descendant of John Sco- 
field, the well-known pioneer and 
founder of Canaan, New Hamp 
shire. At four years of age he 
came to ^Massachusetts with his 
father's family, attended the Wes- 
leyan Academy of Wilbraham and 
graduated from Harvard ITnivei'- 
sity Medical College, Boston, in the 



class of 1883. He then practiced 
his profession in Boston for 10 
years, during that time connected 
for several years with the West 
End Children's Hospital and Low- 
ell Island Hospital. 

Doctor Scofield has taken a post- 
graduate course at IMcGill Uni- 
versity, ^lontreal, is a life member 
of St. Bartholomew's Hospital, 
England, and holds a certificate 
from Queen Charlotte Maternity 
Hospital, London, besides having 
studied in the hospitals of Rome 
and Paris, especially the Baude- 
locque of the latter city, where the 
confinements average seventeen 
daily the yeai' I'onnd — a wide and 
varied exi^ei'ienee and training. 

Doctor Scofield located in Rich- 
ford in 1898 and in 1904 estab- 
lished his sanatorium, which is 
pleasantly located on Town House 
liill, commanding a fine view of 
the beautiful village of Richford 
;ind of the suirounding hills and 
mountains. The sanntorium is fully 
equipped with electrical appliances 
— galvanic, faradic and static cur- 
rents — with X-ray machine, electric 
bath and heater for the treatment 
of all forms of nei-vous and chronic 
diseases. The X-ray treatment 
seems to promise better results in 
lupus and all forms of cancer than 
any other treatment. 

The most important part of the 
sanitarium is that set apart for 
women during confinement. IMany 
women hail as a boon the oppor- 
tunity of passing through this trj'-- 
ing period in a place where they 
will be free from all care and 
worry, and where quiet and re- 
tirement may be had and, if de- 
sired, good homes provided for the 
offspring if unable to properly 
care for them themselves. 

Doctor Scofield finds an efficient 



FRANKLIN COUNTY. 



399 



assistant in Mrs. Althea L. Sco- 
field, formerly of Newark, New Jer- 
sey. The consulting physicians are 
men of ability and experience : Doc- 
tor J. H. Hamilton was for 14 years 
secretary of the Vermont State 
Board of Health : Doctor E. M. Pel- 
ton is well known as a successful 
physician and public man. Doctor 
Scofield is president of the 
Franklin County Medical Society, 
and is a member of the Vermont 
State Medical Society, a gentleman 
of fine social and mental gifts. 



navigable from the lake to Swan- 
ton Falls, a distance of seven miles, 
this avenue being much used in 
early times for the shipment of 
logs and timber, and later of mar- 
ble, and for the excursions of boats 
and pleasure yachts. Naturally 
prolific in fish and game, the vicin- 
ity was an early and favorite dwell- 
ing place of the red men and many 
Indian relics have been found near 
Swanton Falls. 

The town of Swanton was char- 
tered in 1763 bv Governor Benninsf 




El. KIT RICA I. HooM. 



Dr. Scofieli>'s Sanitarium. 
Dining Room. 



Library 



SWAXTOX. 

Population, Censu.s of 1900, 3,745. 

Swanton Avas named in honor of 
C'aptain William Swanton, a Brit- 
ish officer who visited this section 
during the French and Indian 
War. 

The first sawmill in the state was 
l)uilt here by the French prior to 
the French and Indian War. The 
first dam was built here in 1789 by 
Thomas Butterfield, agent of Ira 
Allen. The Missisquoi Eiver is 



Wentworth to Isaiah Goodrich and 
63 associates, with the usual condi- 
tions and reservations. None of 
the original grantees ever settled in 
town and as late as 1786 it appears 
that 59 of the 64 original shares 
were owned by Ira Allen, who 
about this time caused a new sur- 
vey to be made and took measures 
to have the town settled and the 
water-power at Swanton Falls im- 
proved and used. 

It is an established fact that a 
concession of a large tract of land. 



400 



SUCCESSFUL VERMONTERS. 



includinj^ what is now the town of 
Swanton, was made by the French 
government in 1734, this part of 
Vermont being then included in 
the domains of New France. The 
first white settlements in this sec- 
tion were made by the French at 
least as early as 1740 and many 
indications establish a stron^ prob- 
ability that the first European set- 
tlement in Vermont was made at 
Swanton Falls. 

A French missi i '.w^as estab- 
lished by the Jesui ' f an early 
day on the north bt. k u the Mis- 
sisquoi River and ft stone church 
erected. Some impr^ vements had 
been made by Thomas Metcalf and 
James Robinson prior to the begin- 
ning of the American Revolution. 
The first permanent white settler 
in town was John Hilliker, who 
came with his family in 1779 and 
settled on the south bank of the 
Missisquoi River, about two miles 
fror the Falls, on the Vernon 
far II' 'The old stone chapel, sur- 
r< ic^d by a considerable Indian 
'^ .ge, stood just across the river 
1 the chapel bell rang daily for 
i-ning and evening worship. 
The English trading settlement, 
onducted by Thomas IMetcalf and 
James Robinson, existed between 
1765 and 1775, the principal busi- 
ness being lumbering, which was 
conducted by man labor, and trade 
with the Indians. The French had 
already taken their departure, but 
some of their improvements re- 
mained. Soon after the Revolu- 
tion the active settlement of the 
town commenced, the English hav- 
ing i-elinquished their claims to 
lands lying south of 45° north lati- 
tude. John Wagoner, the second 
settler, came in in 1787, and was 
soon followed by Adams ]\Iills, 
Orange Smith, Michael, Henry and 



Stephen Lapman, John Hoyle and 
Conrad Asseylstine, and others, all 
of whom came previous to 1790. 
Contemporaneous settlements were 
also made in other parts of the 
town. 

The early settlers of Swanton 
were of two classes, those settling 
in the best part of the town being 
of low Dutch descent, coming from 
Xew York and tinctured with 
Toryism, and those who settled 
about the Falls and the eastern sec- 
tion, who were mostly of the native 
Yankee s. ock, patriots and many 
of them Revolutionary soldiers. 

The first local proprietors' meet- 
ing was held at Fort Frederick in 

1774, and the second at the homo 
of Ethan Allen at Sunderland, in 

1775. The first recorded town 
meeting was held ]March 23. 1790. 
Jonathan Butterfield was chosen 
moderator : Thomas Butterfield, 
clerk: John Asselstine. constable: 
Conrad Asselstine, John Noakes 
and Jonathan Butterfield, select- 
men. 

Very soon after 1789 a gristmill 
was built at the Falls, to which set- 
tlers came from far and near with 
their grain. In the year 1800 
there were 160 names recorded on 
the guard list and the census taken 
that vear showed a population of 
858. 

The embargo and non-inter- 
course act, during the VTar of 1812, 
forbidding trade with England and 
its colonies, was quite unpopular 
at Swanton, which had long en- 
joyed a thriving trade with Cana- 
dian neighbors, and considerable 
smuggling was done, as the busi- 
ness was both lucrative and excit- 
ing, and it was followed to some 
extent as late as 1820. 

During the Civil War it was par- 



FRANKLIN COUNTY. 



401 



tially resumed for a time. Swan- 
ton, on account of its exposed sit- 
uation, was guarded by a regiment 
of militia during the years 1812 
and 1813. 

When Fort Sumter was fired 
upon the war spirit was fervent 
and constant, and "The Green 
Mountain Guards" at once offered 
its services to the governor and be- 
came Company A, First Regiment, 
the first company enrolled for the 
suppression of the rebellion in Ver- 
mont. The town subsequently fur- 
nished several men moi ; than its 
quota of soldiers. 

The Vermont and Canada rail- 
road was built through the town in 
1850- '51, and gave a new impetus 
to the village. During the later 
60 's, after a bitter contest, the town 
bonded for $75,000 in aid of the 
construction of the Lamoille Valley 
Railroad, of which enterprise Col- 
onel A. B. Jewett was the leading 
advocate and promoter. 

The first important business en- 
terprise in Swanton, besides agri- 
culture and the saw- and gristmills, 
was the manufacture of wrought 
iron from bog-iron ore, which was 
begun in 1799 by Captain Rufus 
and Elisha Barney, and continued - 
many years until wood became too 
costly and ore too scarce to be 
profitable. Lime was manufac- 
tured to a considerable extent be- 
fore 1800 and has continued to be 
a valuable resource until the pres- 
ent. Sawing marble at the Falls 
from the Swanton quarries has 
been a leading industry since the 
erection of the first mill in 1812. 

The Swanton marble, called Ly- 
onaise, is a beautiful variegated 
marble, with an almost infinite va- 
riety of shades and hues, and has 
been used for widely different pur- 
poses. The Bai-ney Marble Com- 

A— 27 



pany has been and is a leading fac- 
tor in the prosperity of Swanton. 

STONE, Hon. Henry Martyn, 
son of Hervey and Eliza (Smith) 
Stone, was born in Jericho, June 
10, 1828. His ancestors of Eng- 
lish and French extraction settled 
in pre-revolutionary days in 
Lanesboro, Massachusetts. His 
grandfather, David Tolman Stone, 
after marriage to Thankful Rog- 
ers, move*"" 1' an ox-cart to Jeri- 
cho in 178t . 

Hervey, i youngest of David's 
children, ) yj in 1800, at the age 
of 19 marri i Eliza Smith, a de- 
scendant of Nathan Smith, who 
emigrated from England to Con- 
necticut in 1700. From this union 
five children were born, of whom 
Henry Martyn was the youngest. 

It is interesting to note that Her- 
vey, commanding a company of 
cavalry, escorted General Lafay- 
ette from Essex to Burlington on 
his visit to Vermont in 1825 

In about 1842 the family i ved 
to Highgate, and 10 years L te to 
Swanton, where Hervey died a e 
age of 87, his wife, Eliza, dyinj ^ 
1896 at the advanced age of 
years. 

Henry Martin Stone receivt 
his early education in the commoi. 
schools and in Bakersfield Acad- 
emy, living on the farm with his 
father until he was twenty years 
of age. He embarked in the mer- 
cantile business in Tinmouth, 
Rutland County, in 1848. 

In 1851 he was united in mar- 
riage to Olive Barker, daughter of 
Noah Woodruff and Olive (Bar- 
ker) Sawyer of Tinmouth, and 
seventh in direct descent from 
Captain Miles Standish of Dux- 
bury Hall, Lancashire, England, 
captain of the Plymouth Colony. 

Soon after his marriage, Mr. 
Stone moyed his business to Swan- 



402 



SUCCESSFUL VERMONTERS. 



ton, where it was enlarged by the 
addition of marble and w^ood- 
working departments. 

In 1858 he began the lumber, 
coal and building material busi- 
ness, which Avas continued with 
marked success until 1890. Since 
that year he has been interested in 



election as state senator in 1896 he 
has not held political office. 

Charles Henry, eldest son of 
Hon. Henry M. and Olive (Saw- 
yer) Stone, was born in 1854, mar- 
ried Kate E. Hale of Stowe, was 
in lousiness with his father in 
Swanton, and later in Iowa and 




Henry M. Stone. 



various business enterprises with 
his eldest son in Western and 
Southern states. He has held 
most of the town and corporation 
offices and has taken a prominent 
part in the affairs of his commun- 
ity. He is a Republican in poli- 
tics, but with the exception of an 



Minneapolis. Emily Olive, born 
in 1858, married Gaylord W. 
Bebee and died in 1894. George 
Barker, born in 1862, was gradu- 
ated from the University of Ver- 
mont in 1885 and from the Gen- 
eral Theological Seminarv of New 
York City in 1889. He was for 



FRANKLIN COUNTY. 



403 



fifteen years vicar of St. Mary's 
and curate of i\It. Calvary Church, 
Baltimore, Maryland. He mar- 
ried Emily 0. Aleock in Florence, 
Italy, where for two years he has 
been curate of St. Mark's English 
Church. 

Edward Sawyer, born in 1864, 
took the same educational courses 
as his elder brother, George. He 
married Ellen Cornelia, daughter 
of Hon. Henry A. Burt of Swan- 
ton. He was seven years rector of 
St. Matthew's Church, Enosburg 
Falls. After spending seven years 
in the South for his health, for the 
most part engaged in ministerial 
work, he returned to Swanton and 
is rector of Holy Trinity of Swan- 
ton, and St. John's, Highgate. 

Walter Hervey. born in 1866, 
died in childhood. 

Arthur William, born in 1869, is 
a graduate of Columbia College, 
New York, and the General Theo- 
logical Seminary, was located in 
the ministry at Rutland and Lyn- 
donville and is now a chaplain in 
the Pacific Squadron of the United 
States navy. He married Cora 
Page Woodward of IMorrisville. 

Florence Mary, born in 1874, a 
student at St. Agnes, Albany, New 
York, married, in 1901, Doctor C. 
E. Strong of New York City. 

FURMAN, Daniel G., son of 
Warren S. and Mary Ann (Ware) 
Furman, was born in Elizabeth- 
town, Essex County, New York, 
August 22, 1855. His father, a 
millwright by trade, moved to 
Highgate four years later, where 
Daniel attended the district 
schools. After he was 12 years of 
age he had his own way to make 
in life and with a weight of 64 
pounds hired out for eight months 
to a farmer for .$64. He paid his 
own way several terms at the New 



Hampton Institute by performing 
the duties of janitor. He early 
chose the legal profession as the 
sphere most congenial to his tastes 
and abilities, and at 18 years of 
age began reading such law books 
as he could get, while pursuing his 
labors as a hired man on the farm. 
He subsequently read law in the 
offices of George Newton of St. Al- 
bans and Hon. Henry A. Burt of 
Swanton and was admitted to the 
bar of Franklin County at the 
September term, 1876. 

Mr. Furman first located at East 
Bei-kshire, but removed to Swan- 
ton, May 9, 1879, where he has 
since remained and built up a suc- 
cessful practice. Possessing a ner- 
vous temperament, a mind alert, 
aggressive and original, and a reso- 
lute will, Mr. Furman soon became 
a stirring figure in the legal and 
political arena. He was admitted 
to practice in the federal courts 
and in November, 1905, took in 
Fred L. Webster as a partner. 

Mr. Furman has held various 
local offices and twice has been sent 
to Washington, together with Hon. 
Henry A. Burt, to represent the 
local custom house before the 
United States treasury department. 
As a Democrat he was elected to 
the Legislature from Swanton in 
1888, and although one of the 
youngest members, was an active 
member of the judiciary committee, 
the Democratic candidate for 
speaker and the fioor leader of the 
minority. He is a ready and forc- 
ible debater. He has been a mem- 
ber of the Democratic county com- 
mittee and in 1900 was chairman 
of the Democratic state convention. 
While he is a Democrat, he is non- 
partisan and independent. 

Mr. Furman married, Septem- 
ber 8, 1880, Elizabeth M., daughter 



404 



SUCCESSFUL VERMONTERS. 



of Hiram and Elizabeth (Barr) 
Best of Highgate. They have had 
two children, Bernice M., who re- 
sides with her parents, and Willis 
Best, who died in infancy. They 
have an adopted son, Alan Foster 
Furman, eight years of age. 

Mr. Furman owns and manages 



gent members, drew and presented 
the resolution in the grand lodge, 
predicting that gifts would be 
made by the wealthy, which, after 
strenuous opposition, was adopted 
and he was made chairman of the 
committee to raise funds as a nu- 
cleus, and raised several thousand 




Daniel G. Furman. 



several farms, which he has greatly 
improved. He is a charter mem- 
ber of Missisquoi Lodge, No. 32, 
I. 0. 0. F., of Swanton, and has 
passed all of the chairs. He con- 
ceived the idea of a Vermont Odd 
Fellows' Home, for old and indi- 



dollars and reported at the next 
annual meeting. Subsequently, 
Mr. Gill of Ludlow presented the 
building known as the Gill Odd 
Fellows' Home, thus realizing and 
materializing Mr. Funnau's con- 
ception and prediction. 



FRANKLIN COUNTY. 



405 



FLETCHER, Carl Chitten- 
den, editor of the Swanton Courier, 
the eldest son of Colonel Truman 
Chittenden and Katherine (Brown) 
Fletcher, was born at St. Johns- 
bury, February 5, 1870. He comes 
of stanchest Vermont stock, be- 
ing a direct descendant, the fifth, 
from Thomas Chittenden, first gov- 
ernor of Vermont. 

His grandfather, Colonel Fred- 
erick Fletcher, was distinguished 
in military and civil life, especially 
as a financier. His father. Colo- 
nel Truman Chittenden Fletcher, 
is widely known as a public man, 
having represented St. Johnsbury 
in the Legislature, held important 
local offices, was aide-de-camp on 
the staff of Governor Stewart. He 
was a delegate to the National Re- 
publican Convention in Chicago in 
1884 and a presidential elector 
from Vermont in 1900. He was 
four years a member of the state 
board of railroad commissioners 
and a score of years a school direc- 
tor of St. Johnsbury. 

Edward F. Brown, maternal 
grandfather of Carl C. Fletcher, 
came to St. Johnsbury in 1841 and 
engaged in trade soon after, and 
his store was for nearly a decade 
the only one in St. Johnsbury vil- 
lage and himself one of its most 
esteemed citizens. 

Mr. Fletcher was educated in 
the public schools of his native 
town, St. Johnsbury Academy and 
Dartmouth College. Upon leav- 
ing college he at once entered upon 
newspaper work with the Rutland 
Herald. After a year's experience 
he was promoted to the position of 
city editor, which he held for five 
years. From the Rutlatid Herald 
he went to the New York World. 
Returning to Vermont he was en- 
gaged a short time with the Bur- 



lington Free Press, going from 
there to St. Albans, where he was 
on the staff of the Messenger five 
years. In 1899 Mr. Fletcher pur- 
chased the Swanton Courier. 

Mr. Fletcher has served three 
years as a member of the pruden- 
tial committee of the Swanton 
Falls Union School District and 
is the present chairman of the Re- 
publican town committee. 

During the legislative sessions of 
1892 and 1894 he served as official 
reporter of the Senate. 

He is a member and past master 
of Seventy-Six Lodge, No. 14, F. & 
A. M., and also a past master of 
Englesby Lodge, No. 84, of St. Al- 
bans, now amalgamated with 
Franklin Lodge of that place. He 
is also a member of Champlain 
Chapter, No. 1, R. A. M., Lafay- 
ette Commaudery, No. 4, K. T., 
both of St. Albans; Vermont 
Lodge, No. 1, Knights of Pythias 
of Rutland and the Vermont So- 
ciety of Sons of the American Rev- 
olution. 

In 1898 Mr. Fletcher married 
Lillian, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. 
Hiram Wells of Cabot. They have 
two sons, Hugh Chittenden and 
Frederick Wells. 

' BABCOCK, Joseph Weeks, of 
Necedah, Wisconsin, was born in 
Swanton, March 6, 1850; removed 
with his parents to Iowa in 1855, 
where he resided until 1881, when 
he removed to Necedah, Wisconsin, 
where he has since resided and for 
many years was engaged in the 
manufacture of lumber; was 
elected to the Wisconsin assembly 
in 1888 and reelected in 1890 ; was 
elected chairman national Republi- 
can congressional committee for 
the years of 1894, 1896, 1898 and 
1900; was elected to the Fifty- 
third, Fifty-fourth, Fifty-fifth, 




Joseph W. Babcock. 



FRANKLIN COUNTY. 



407 



Fifty-sixth, Fifty-seventh, Fifty- 
eighth and Fifty-ninth congresses; 
was appointed chairman of the 
committee on the District of Co- 
lumbia in the Fifty-fonrth, Fifty- 
fifth, Fifty-sixth Fifty-eighth arid 
Fifty-ninth congresses, and a mem- 
ber of the committee on ways and 
means in the Fifty-sixth and Fifty- 
seventh congresses. 

EDDY. RPJVEREND MiLO S., was 
born at Corinth, Angnst 15, 1865. 
The family soon afterwards re- 
moved to Brownington. Mile at- 
tended the district schools and 
completed his education at Derby 
Academy and the IMethodist Sem- 
inary at ^lontpelier. from which 




Rev. Milo S. Eddy. 

he graduated in 1891. During 
this period he taught several 
terms of school, thereby paying his 
educational expenses. The follow- 
ing year he joined the Vermont 
Conference and was appointed to 
the parish at Coventry, where he 
remained three years. His work 
was so satisfactory that he has been 



successively assigned to larger 
fields. He was four years at 
Waterbury Center, six years at 
Morrisville, and located in Swan- 
ton in April, 1904. A thorough 
student of biblical literature and 
of current topics, Mr. Eddy is also 
a persuasive and effective speaker 
and a faithful pastor. 

Mr. Eddv married, on April 28, 
1892, Nellie H., daughter of J. H. 
and Christiana Wolcott. Their 
home is brightened by two daugh- 
ters, Olive Imogene and Doris M. 

A Methodist church was organ- 
ized at Swanton in 1816, of which 
Elisha Barney was class leader. 
There was preaching once in four 
weeks, held at first at the school- 
house. The church now numbers 
about one hundred and fifty mem- 
bers. The Sunday-school contains 
175 members, with an average at- 
tendance of nearly one hundred. 

FOSTER, Ellis Willlvm, son 
of Araunah and Lucy S. (John- 
son) Foster, was born on the 
paternal farm at East Swanton, 
April 26, 1851. For a period of 
109 years, four generations of the 
Foster family have here enjoyed 
the simple pleasures, the whole- 
some labors and the solid ad- 
vantages of a rural home. Thomas 
and Rhoda (Hutchins) Foster, 
grandparents of the subject of this 
sketch, came to this place in 1797, 
carved cut an 80-acre farm from 
the primeval wilderness, and 
reared their family of 11 children, 
performing almost a miracle of 
prudence and energy. The long- 
drawn howl of hungry wolves 
often disturbed their nightly slum- 
bers, but danger, privation and 
hardship sharpened the wits, hard- 
ened the frames and prompted the 
ambition of these sturdy pioneers 
and their children. 

Araunah was one of the six sons 



408 



StrCCESSFUL VERMONTER8. 



who lived to maturity and on bini 
devolved the care of the small 
farm in the failing years of his 
parents. He was the typical farmer 
of his period, equal to any work 
that came to his hand, a mill 
Wright, his services were in great 
demand; a carpenter and joiner, 
he built all of the excellent farm 



fairs. The 80-acre homestead, un- 
der his able management, has been 
increased one half in area and 
trebled in production and for the 
past score of years has been con- 
ducted as a dairy farm, with 30 
grade Jerseys. It is a fine, level 
upland farm, in excellent cultiva- 
tion. 




Ellis W. Foster. 



buildings. Araunali Foster died 
here in 1893, at 90 years of age. 

The eldest son, Arthur H., and 
the youngest, Ellis W., are now citi- 
zens of Swanton. Ellis W. Foster 
enjoyed only the district school 
training, but he has always been a 
student of practical and public af- 



Ellis W. Foster married, in 1875. 
Etta Estelle, daughter of Harry 
and Lucia (Conger) Beales of St. 
Albans. A son died in infancy and 
the only daughter, Mabel Ann-i, 
after receiving a good education at 
St. Albans grammar school and 
Commercial College at Burlington, 



PRANKLIN COUNTY. 



409 



is express agent and assistant sta- 
tion agent at Green's Corners. 

Ellis W. Foster has for a score 
of years occupied a varied and im- 
portant sphere of usefulness in his 
town. Possessing a large fund of 
practical information on general 
and legal subjects, sound judgment 
and undoubted integrity, he has 
creditably filled nearly every office 
in the gift of his townsmen, has 
given his counsel and support for 
public improvement. 

CARR, Ambrose E., son of An- 
thony and Maria (Cavanaugh) 
Carr, was born in Swanton, June 
17, 1863. At the age of 18 he be- 
came an apprentice at the marble 
trade with George and R. L. Bar- 
ney. Possessing an active temper- 
ament and marked mechanical abil- 
ity, he was soon promoted to be 
foreman of the finishing depart- 
ment and later was a contractor on 
the finished work. Beginning at 
the foot of the ladder, he has 
worked his way by merit and by a 
thorough knowledge of every detail 
to his present responsible position 
of general foreman, which he has 
continuously occupied for 18 years. 
During the past 20 years Mr. Carr 
has devised and applied many im- 
provements in the mechanical ap- 
pliances of the marble business. 

In politics, an earnest Republi- 
can, Mr. Carr has ever taken an 
active part in local and public af- 
fairs and has repeatedly served the 
town as selectman, moderator and 
justice and also the village in va- 
rious capacities. _ 

He married Miss Theresa Tel- 
ford of Highgate in 1888 and they 
are parents of two children : Mary, 
w^ho died in 1900 and Frank J. 

BARNEY. MiLO W., son of Rev- 
erend Miles R. and Abigail (Lord) 



Barney, was born at East Brook- 
field, Massachusetts, January 14, 
1866. 

Reverend Miles R. Barney was 
a son of Horatio W. Barney and a 
native of Swanton and returned to 
that town in 1872. 

Milo W. Barney was educated in 
the public schools and academy of 
Swanton. After several years of 
mercantile training he engaged 
with the Barney Marble Company 
in August, 1888, and since that 
time has been continuously con- 
nected with the company. 

A Republican in politics, Mr. 
Barney has been actively identified 
with public affairs, is serving his 
third term as chairman of the 
board of selectmen and has been 
president of the village corpora- 
tion. He has been treasurer of the 
public funds and since its organiza- 
tion a director and treasurer of the 
Swanton Savings Bank and Trust 
Company, and in 1906 represented 
Swanton in the Legislature. 

Mr. Barney is an excellent type 
of the energetic, progressive and 
public-spirited Vermont business 
man of the period. 

He married, in 1893, Clara L., 
daughter of Reverend J. S. and 
Addie (Fassett) Tupper. 

THE Barney Marble Company. 
The name of Barney for more than 
a century has been honored in the 
annals of Swanton, as representing 
all the civic virtues, and later, dis- 
tinguished military service in the 
war for the Union. While there 
were many pioneers in Swanton in 
the marble business, the Barneys 
were among the earliest and the 
ablest, and to George Barney, man- 
ufacturer, patriot and historian, 
more than to any other of her sons, 
Swanton owes the development and 



410 



SUOCESSE'UL VERMONTERS. 



consolidation of that marble enter- 
prise which has been, and is now. 
the lifeblood of business and the 
exponent of her splendid mineral 
resources. Sawing of marble at 
Swanton Falls has been a leading 
business since the construction of 
the first mill, in 1812. 

Elisha Barney erected a marble 
mill in 1829, and the business of 
sawing the Swanton and Isle La 
Motte marbles continued to liour- 



was a fair demand for Isle La 
Motte dark marbles for hearths 
and mantels and a considerable de- 
mand for the variegated dove-col- 
ored marble for grave stones and 
monuments. 

After the death of George Bar- 
ney, in 1883, the business was con- 
ducted by R. Lester Barney. In 
1888 The Barney JNIarble Company 
was organized, which has carried 
on a steadilv increasing busniess. 




Plant of the Bauney Mabble Company. 



ish until the hard times of 1837, 
when the cheaper, light Italian 
marbles became fashionable. 

The year 1840 marked a new era 
in the marble business, when 
George Barney built a large mill 
near the site of the present mills 
and continued successfully, grad- 
ually absorbing and consolidating 
with other concerns until the time 
of his death, October. 1883. In 
1841, and prior to that date, there 



In 1900 the Vermont Marble Com- 
pany purchased a large interest in 
the stock, the mill has been greatly 
enlarged and modernized with the 
latest mechanical appliances, and 
under the present able management 
is doing the most extensive and 
prosperous marble business in the 
history of the town. For nearly a 
score of years Milo W. Barney has 
l)een superintendent and Ambrose 
E. Carr, foreman at the works, po- 



FRANKLIN COUNTY. 



411 



sitions which they still deservedly 
retain. 

The colored marbles of Swanton 
are unique, practically inexhausti- 
ble and easily accessible, being- lo- 
cated only a mile and a half, with 
an easy grade, from the plant. In 
beanty and variety of contrast it is 
nnequaled. 

Various shades of red dove color 
and chocolate are mottled with 
white, yellow and green, which fin- 
ishes with a beautiful polish. The 
Roxbury quarry furnishes a dark 
green clouded and streaked with 
white, which for interior decora- 
tive work is a universal favorite 
and the six standard varieties man- 
ufactured here are in excellent de- 
mand. 

BLISS, Sumner W., was born 
in Swanton, January 29, 1856. He 




Sumner W. Bliss. 

received his education in the pub- 
lic schools and has always taken a 
lively interest in all questions that 
affected the welfare of the people. 
He has held the various town offices 
and in 1906 was chosen to repre- 



sent his town in the General As- 
sembly and served on the joint 
standing committee on game and 
fisheries. 

ALLEN, Doctor Clarence E., 
son of Ileman and Mary Irene 
(ITutchins) Allen, was born in 
East Farnham, Quebec, January 
23, 1856. Doctor Allen comes of 
strong New England ancestry on 
both the paternal and maternal 
lines. His great-grandfather was 
Josiah Allen, who removed from 
Vermont to Frelighsburg, Quebec. 
His early boyhood up to 12 years of 
age was spent in his native village 
and his literary education was com- 
pleted at New Hampton Institute, 
Fairfax. He entered McGiU Med- 
ical College, Montreal, in 1879, and 
graduated in 1883. He soon after- 
wards settled in Swanton, where he 
secured an active, and later an ex- 
tensive and lucrative, practice. 
Resolved to keep abreast of the 
times, Doctor Allen, in 1886, took a 
l)ost-graduate course in the London 
hospitals and in 1894 took a post- 
graduate course in the New York 
Polyclinic. 

He is a member both of the Ver- 
mont State and of . the ' Franklin 
County Medical societies and for 
the past three years has been a 
member of the board of United 
States pension examiners. 

Doctor Allen married, in 1888, 
Minerva S., daughter of Zepheniah 
and Hannah (Saxe) Drury of 
Ilighgate. Their home is blessed 
with three children : Horace Eu- 
gene, Clarence Keith and Dorcas 
Irene Allen. 

Doctor Allen has entered heart- 
ily into the varied social and public 
activities of his town and section. 
He is financially successful and the 
owner of several business blocks in 
Merchants' Row. He is a charter 



4l2 



StJCCESSFtTL VERMONTERS. 



iiieiuber of Missisquoi Lodge, No. 
38, I. 0. 0. F., and has passed all 
the chairs. He is also a member of 
Seventy-Six Lodge, No. 14, F. & 
A. M. During the last three 
years he has served as a trustee 
of the village of Swanton, and is 
now president of the corporation. 
The organization of the Swan- 
ton Savings Bank and Trust Com- 
pany was completed in September, 



longs the distinction of having been 
the site of the first Catholic church 
in Vermont, which is elsewhere re- 
ferred to. In 1840 Swanton be- 
came a mission. In 1847 a brick 
church was erected, and in 1853 
Swanton was one of the 10 churches 
of the recently erected Diocese of 
Burlington. Eev. J. Lionnet, the 
first resident pastor in 1854, was 
succeeded bv Rev. L. Cam in 1857. 




Interior of Church of the Nativity. 



1904, with Doctor Clarence E 
Allen, president, and M. W. Bar- 
ney vice-president and treasurer. 
The capital is $50,000 and the 
deposits now amount to nearly 
$100,000. The other directors are 
Hon. Carroll S. Page of Hyde 
Park, E. D. Herrick of Highgate 
and H. W. Marvin of Alburgh. 

THE CHURCH of the Nativ- 
ity. To the town of Swanton be- 



The church took fire at the Christ- 
mas Mass of 1858, and was con- 
sumed. 

The corner stone of a new church 
was laid June 13, 1859, and the 
church was completed, free of debt, 
and consecrated September 8, 1869, 
by Bishop Louis de Goesbriand. 

This fine Gothic structure, 72 x 
40 feet, was handsomely restored 
and redecorated in 1895. 



FRANKLIN COUNTY. 



418 



At the time of the organization 
of the parish, there were about one 
hundred families, both Irish and 
French; today they number 300, 
nearly one half of the population 
of Swanton, a congregation which 
has vastly outgrown the size of the 



and remodeled in 1896, has capac- 
ity for 300 pupils. It is directed 
by the Sisters of the Holy Ghost, 
whose provincial house is in Hart- 
ford, Connecticut. 

The present rector of the parish 
is Reverend Father E. M. Salman, 




The Ojjlates House axd Apostolic School 



church. The Oblates House and 
Apostolic School, erected by Rev- 
erend Father Ansin in 1896, is a 
spacious three-story building, sur- 
mounted by belfry and cross, 
where young men are trained in 
preparation for the priesthood. 
St. Ann's School, erected in 1873, 



born in France in 1873 and ap- 
pointed parish priest in 1903. He 
is a member of Oblate of the Sacred 
Heart, whose mother house was in 
France and to whom the parish was 
given in charge when Reverend 
Father Cam resigned. 



GRAND ISLE COUNTY 



Population, Census of 1900, 4,462 




HERE is no slight analogy 
between the efforts of 
Vermont to secure admis- 
sion as a member of the 
sisterhood of states of the 
American Union and the long-de- 
layed but persistent efforts of the 
island towns to secure county au- 
tonomy. Franklin County was orig- 
inally a part of Chittenden, and 
was erected as a county in 1792. 
and then embraced all of the pres- 
ent area of Grand Isle County ex- 
cept the towns of South Hero and 
Grand Isle. It made no material 
difference to the people of the is- 
lands whether they were connected 
with Chittenden or Franklin coun- 
ties, but the partition of their ter- 
ritory between two large counties 
was very unsatisfactory, and the oc- 
casion of much criticism. The sub- 
ject of creating a new county from 
the island towns and Alburgh was 
agitated soon after the erection of 
Franklin County in 1792, but no 
definite action was taken until the 
month of September, 1794, when a 
petition was forwarded to the Leg- 
islature praying for the erection of 
a new county to be called Hero, 
and embracing all of the islands of 
the lake north of Colchester Point, 
and Alburgh. The petition was 
signed l)y 28 residents of Alburgh, 
29 from North Hero, 63 from 
South and ^Middle Hero and 8 
from Isle La JNIotte. The petition 
was duly presented and referred to 



a committee which, however, was 
discharged without making a re- 
port. In 1796 efforts were re- 
newed, but without success. 

In 1779 the records show "A pe- 
tition signed by the selectmen of 
South Hero, North Hero, Alburgh 
and Isle La Motte, in behalf of 
their respective towns, praying that 
a new county may be created out of 
said towns with the adjacent is- 
lands, with all of the privileges 
and innnunities of other counties 
except that all appeals that shall be 
carried from said county to the Su- 
preme Court of Judicature when 
sitting in the County of Frank- 
lin," was sent up from the House 
of Representatives with an appro- 
priate entry, but was shelved like 
its predecessors. The project was 
renewed in 1801, but without 
avail. 

In October, 1802, a decade after 
the organization of Franklin, the 
Legislature received and referred 
a petition which recited the dan- 
gers, inconveniences and delays 
consequent upon crossing the wide 
ferries during tempestuous weather. 
On the 9th of November, 1802, the 
General Assembly enacted : * ' That 
the towns of Alburgh, Isle La Motte 
and North Hero, in the County of 
Franklin, and the towns of South 
Hero and Middle Hero in the 
County of Chittenden, together 
with all such as lie in the state 
near the above-mentioned towns 



GRAND ISLE COUNTY. 



415 



and are more than a mile from the 
main land in the counties of Chit- 
tenden and Franklin be and they 
are hereby constituted a distinct 
county by the name of Grand 
Isle, ' ' and further, ' ' that at the ses- 
sion of the Legislature in October, 
1805, the said Grand Isle County 
shall be organized for the transac- 
tion of all legal public business as 
a county. ' ' 

In 1803 the county-seat was fixed 
at North Hero and the county 
buildings, when erected, were lo- 
cated at what is variously known 
as "the city" and "the bay." The 
hotel of the enterprising landlord, 
Jed P. Ladd, served as a court 
house until 1824, when the present 
substantial structure was built 
from the native marble of Isle La 
Motte. Quite recently the build- 
ing has been handsomely remodeled 
and refurnished, and is now one of 
the finest in the state. The town 
originally contributed $500 to its 
erection and was allowed the use 
of the court room as a place for 
public worship and other public 
gatherings. 

The island county has furnished 
one representative in Congress, 
Asa Lyon, 1815-'17 ; one presiden- 
tial elector, Samuel Adams, 1852 ; 
one auditor of accounts, Jed P. 
Ladd, 1876- '78; one councilor, 
Asa Lyon, 1808, and one lieuten- 
ant-governor. Nelson W. Fisk, in 
1896. 

The treaty of peace of 1783 fixed 
the 45th parallel of latitude as the 
boundjary line between the Province 
of Canada and the states, but the 
British government, under the pre- 
text that the people of the United 
States had frequently violated the 
treaty, continued to maintain an 
armed force along the frontier, and 
actually trespassed upon American 



soil by establishing an outpost at 
Dutchman 's Point, which naturally 
resulted in much friction and irri- 
tation which at one time threatened 
actual hostilities. The treaty ne- 
gotiated with Great Britain by 
John Jay provided for the with- 
drawal of the British troops from 
their quarters within American 
territory. 

Nature has lavished her most 
bounteous gifts in the island county 
and it soon became the home of a 
thrifty and self -centered agricul- 
ture. The islands were isolated 
from each other during certain sea- 
sons as well as from the outside 
world, until in 1882 state aid was 
granted and during the next dec- 
ade bridges were built connecting 
the several towns. 

The advent of the twentieth cen- 
tury was to usher in a momentous 
era of improvement for the county 
by the completion at great expense 
of the Rutland Railroad, thus form- 
ing a speedy connection with Bur- 
lington on the south and Swanton 
on the north. Prompt communica- 
tion and a ready market has given 
a mighty stimulus to every depart- 
ment of industry and business. 
Grand Isle County is the garden 
and the orchard of Vermont. The 
people possess in an eminent degree 
the thrift, industry, hospitality 
and patriotic qualities which seem 
indigenous in an intelligent rural 
community. 

SOUTH HERO. 

Population, Census of 1900, 917. 

The two beautiful islands, one 
of which was originally the present 
town, were named the Two Heros, 
in honor of the heroic brothers, 
Ethan and Ira Allen. They were 
chartered October 27, 1779, to 
Ethan Allen, Samuel Herrick and 



416 



SUCCESSFUL VERMONTERS. 



363 others. On October 21, 1788, 
they were divided into two sepa- 
rate towns, North and South Hero, 
and 10 years later South Hero was 
again divided, and the North town 
called Middle Hero until November 
5, 1810, when it was named Grand 
Isle. 

South Hero lies at the southern 
end of the county of Grand Isle, 
and is now bounded on the north 
bv the town of Grand Isle, but on 



limestone rock that frequently 
crops out above the surface. The 
farms produce splendid crops of 
hay and grain, and clover here at- 
tains a natural and luxurious 
growth. 

The islands were originally cov- 
ered with an immense growth of 
pine, cedar, beech, birch, maple, 
basswood and elm, but the surplus 
timber was cleared up many years 
as:o. In this town are several 




East Shoi;i:, Sittii Hki:< 



all other sides by the waters of 
Lake Champlain. It contains an 
area of 9.065 acres, a very large 
share of which is well adapted for 
tillage. The surface of the town 
is quite level, in places slightly 
rolling, but with no elevations of 
any considerable height, and con- 
sequently with no rivers. The soil 
is a rich gravelly loam, in many 
places with clay subsoil and toward 
the north part with a low ridge of 



small maple groves, but only one, 
that of yir. Livingstone, is utilized 
for sugar making. Here and there 
solitary elms of immense size rear 
their graceful crowns. The county 
and especially the town of South 
Hero, is the orchard and garden of 
the state. 

The first settler in South Hero 
was Colonel Ebenezer Allen, who 
located in the southern part of the 
town August 25, 1783. He was 



GRAND ISLE COUNTY. 



417 



born at Northampton, Massachu- 
setts, in 1743, married a Miss Rich- 
ards when he was 20 years of age 
and was one of the pioneers of 
Ponltney in 1771. Although not a 
relative of Ethan Allen, he was of 
the same bold fearless type, and 
played a conspicuous part in the 
exciting movements of the Revolu- 
tion. He was a captain in Colonel 
Herrick 's famous regiment of rang- 



capture of Mount Defiance, near 
Ticonderoga, in September, 1777, 
and rendered other important ser- 
vices during the war. The Legis- 
lature of October 27, 1799, granted 
the township of Fairhaven to him 
and his seventy-six associates, and 
on the same day the Legislature 
made him one of the grantees of 
the "Two Heros," comprising all 
the territory now embraced in the 




Sunset fi;o.m the ^miuke, South Hero. 



ers, a delegate to the Dorset Con- 
vention, that in 1776 declared the 
independence of Vermont, and 
to the convention that, in 1877, 
framed the state constitution. 
Commanding a squad of 80 men 
at the battle of Bennington, tak- 
ing advantage of a natural breast- 
work of rocks, he held the atten- 
tion and successfully defended his 
position against the main body of 
Colonel Baum's troops. He led 
the Americans in the successful 

A— 28 



towns of Grand Isle, North Hero 
and South Hero. 

Upon his arrival on the "Two 
Heros," he located on the south 
shore of South Hero, afterwards 
designated as Allen's Point, where 
he built a frame house. In 1787 
he enlarged his dwelling and 
opened a public house. It was at 
Colonel Allen's tavern that Prince 
Edward (afterwards Duke of Kent 
and grandfather of the present 
King Edward IV), with a large 



418 



SUCCESSFUL VERMONTERS. 



suite, stopped over night, in Feb- 
ruary, 1793, on his tour from Can- 
ada to Massachusetts. 

Here Colonel Allen resided un- 
til 1800, when he removed to Bur- 
lington, where he died in 1806. 
Enos Wood, who settled in North 
Hero, and Alexander Gordon, who 
settled in. the northern part of this 
town, came the same day that Al- 
len located here. 

Among the early settlers were 



don located here in 1790, and Kim- 
ball Kinney in 1774. Giles Har- 
rington came here before the War 
of 1812, and later practiced law in 
this county. The town was quite 
rapidly settled and in 1791, at the 
time of the admission of Vermont 
into the Union, had a population 
of 337. 

The first town meeting after 
North Hero was set off was held 
:\rarch 10, 1789. when Stephen 




Wkst .SiDi:, .SoLTii IIkko. 



the following soldiers of the Revo- 
lution: Alpheus Hall, Benjamin 
Adams, Captain Thomas Dixon 
and John Monte. Timothy and 
Joseph Pearl came to this town 
from Connecticut in 1785; Calvin 
Fletcher came here in 1786 ; Eben- 
ezer Kibbe settled at Kibbe's Point 
at an early date, also Daniel Wads- 
worth and Warren Corbin, both 
from Connecticut. Thaddeus Lan- 



Pearl was chosen moderator ; Eben- 
ezer Allen, town clerk; Alexander 
Gordon. Ephraim Duel, William 
Hazen, Stephen Pearl and Ebene- 
zer Allen, selectmen; Isaac Adams, 
first constable and collector; Reu- 
ben Clapp, second constable. 
Ebenezer Allen was the first jus- 
tice of the peace, chosen in 1786, 
and the first representative, in 
1788. 



GRAND ISLE COUNTS'. 



419 



The first marriage was that of 
Howe Graham and Mary Allen, 
performed by Ebenezer Allen, in 
1788. The first physician was 
Doctor Jacob Roebuck. 

Keeler's Bay is a thickly settled 
rural hamlet in the northeastern 
part of the town, where the Cath- 
olic Church is located. There 
were formerly two stores here. 
South Hero is located at the in- 
tersection of three roads, a pleas- 
ant rural village with two stores, 
two churches (Congregational and 
Methodist), a hotel, blacksmith 
shop and meat market. A street 
more than two miles in length, 
pleasantly shaded and studded 
with tasty farm houses and thrifty 
orchards leads southward, beauti- 
fied by occasional glimpses of the 
lake and the distant mountains. 
Formerly large flocks of sheep were 
kept, but during the past 30 years 
dairying and fruit culture are the 
principal lines of farming. 

The oldest man in town, "Uncle 
John Landon," 93 years young, 
says that during his lifelong recol- 
lection of town affairs "the golden 
age is now." Nearly all of the 
farms are unencumbered with 
mortgage and are tilled by ma- 
chine, the roads are good and the 
tax rate low. 

ROBINSON, Hon. Juan, son of 
Calvin F. and Lydia (Fletcher) 
Robinson, was born in South Hero, 
January 23, 1851. Franklin Rob- 
inson, grandfather of the subject 
of this sketch, came to South Hero 
about a century ago and as a young 
man carried the mail from Bur- 
lington, later was sheriff of the 
county, and died at the advanced 
age of 95 years. He reared a fam- 
ily of three sons and six daughters, 
who lived to maturity, four living 
in town. John B. Robinson now 



owns the paternal farm. Calvin 
F. was in early life a merchant at 
Keeler's Bay, but later a farmer 
and resided with his son Juan at 
the time of his death, in March, 
1905, at nearly eighty-four years 
of age. His widow and six chil- 
dren survive, Juan being the only 
one now residing in Vermont. 

Calvin Fletcher, maternal ances- 
tor of Mr. Robinson, was one of 
the earliest pioneers and settled in 
town in 1796. In 1875 Mr. Rob- 
inson married Sarah, daughter cf 
Seth and Julia (Hoag) Gordon, a 
descendant of Alexander Gordon, 
the pioneer of Grand Isle, and set- 
tled on the paternal farm of his 
bride, in the town of Grand Isle. 
He returned to his native town in 
1890 and conducted the paternal 
farm until 1903, when, having 
built his present spacious residence, 
he removed to the village of South 
Hero. As a farmer and stock 
breeder his methods were progres- 
sive and intelligent, especially in 
the breeding and sale of Morgan 
colts and carriage horses. He was 
engaged in general merchandise 
two years, when he sold to his cou- 
sins, Edson and Wallace Robinson. 
He was appointed postmaster at 
South Hero, March 5, 1901, and 
reappointed April 6, 1905, still 
holding the position. 

Mr. Robinson represented the 
town of Grand Isle in 1884 at the 
age of 33, and has served as lister 
and selectman both at Grand Isle 
and South Hero, and is now chair- 
man of the board of the latter 
town. 

Genial, courteous and obliging to 
all, public spirited, thoroughly well 
informed on local and public af- 
fairs, he possesses to an unusual 
degree the esteem and confidence 
of his associates, manifested in 



420 



SUCCESSFUL VERMONTERS. 



many ways. He has often assisted 
in the settlement of estates. For 
several years he was the county 
member of the Republican con- 
gressional district committee. He 
represented Grand Isle County as 
a senator in the General Assembly 
in 1904. 



father, came from Bennington to 
South Hero in 1802 and died there 
in 1885. Henry Robinson was 
born in 1820, married Abagail 
Wright in 1855, and they were the 
parents of three sons and two 
daughters, who lived to maturity: 
jVIrs. Emma H. (Robinson) Flet- 




Jl'AN KolJlN.S()X. 



Mr. and Mrs. Robinson have a 
beautiful, well-appointed and hos- 
pitable home. 

ROBINSON, Wallace, son of 
Henry and Abagail (Wright) Rob- 
inson, was born at South Hero, 
November 10, 1864. 

Franklin Robinson, his grand- 



C'her, Franklin, Edson, Mrs. Sarah 
(Robinson) Allen, and Wallace. 

Henry Robinson was a thrifty 
farmer and an esteemed citizen. 
For many years he was largely en- 
gaged in sheep raising. After his 
father's death in 1885 Wallace 
Robinson assumed the management 



GRAND ISLE COUNTY. 



421 



of the farm of nearly three hun- 
dred acres. He had received a 
good practical education and thor- 
ough training in farm manage- 
ment. He sold 100 acres of the 
farm and by a system of intensive 
culture, exclusivel}' by machinery, 
and a judicious rotation based 
largely on corn and clover, has 



including 35 cows, mainly Hol- 
steins. He deals in horses and 
usually has ten or a dozen of his 
own, beside an equal number that 
he winters for others. In 1894 he 
began the sale of agricultural im- 
plements and machinery. 

In 1898 he erected his warehouse, 
38 X 24, two floors, and later a large 




Wallace Robinson. 



greatly increased the farm reve- 
nues. This year he has more than 
twenty-five acres of Sanford sweet 
fodder corn in one field and in all 
30 acres of stalwart growth. He 
has one silo of 200 tons capacity 
and another of 40 tons, and will 
winter about fifty head of cattle. 



extension for storage of buggies 
and sleighs. The farm buildings 
are the largest in town and located 
one fourth mile from the station. 
He sells a carload of buggies and 
half a carload of sleighs annually, 
and does an extensive business in 
the sale of harnesses, farm wagons 



422 



SUCCESSFUL VERMONTERS. 



and machinery of all kinds, and 
repairs also stoves and ranges. 

In 1901, in company with his 
brother, Edson, he bought the store 
of the C. B. Irish estate and the 
Robinson Brothers are doing an ex- 
tensive business in general mer- 
chandise. 

In 1892 he married Bertha, 
daughter of Darius and Ursula 
(Griswold) Wilcox of Grand Isle. 
They have an interesting family of 




George Tracey. 

six children: Hazel M., Henry M., 
Catharine Lucretia, Roy John, 
George Wallace and Lois E. 

In 1894 Mr. Robinson repre- 
sented South Hero in the General 
Assembly, being the youngest mem- 
ber. He is a hustler, a potent fac- 
tor in the business and industrial 
life of his town and section. 

TRACEY, Hon. George, son of 
Gardner and Phoebe (Mott) Tra- 
cey, was born at South Hero, on 
the paternal farm, June 8, 1846. 

Gardner Tracey came to North 



Hero from Connecticut as a young 
man and saw service as a volun- 
teer at Plattsburg in 1814. He re- 
moved to South Hero in the early 
twenties, and later bought the ex- 
cellent farm, originally of 60 acres, 
one fourth of a mile from South 
Hero station. 

The children of Gardner and 
Phoebe (Mott) Tracey were Mary 
(deceased in 1875), Mrs. Daniel 
Prince of Pennsylvania, George, 
William, a United States mail 
agent resident at St. Albans, Clara, 
who resides with her brothers, 
Frank, and Charles, who died in 
Nevada in 1901. 

The Tracey farm contains an ex- 
cellent orchard of standard apples, 
from which from three to five hun- 
dred barrels are produced annu- 
ally. George, Frank and Clara 
Tracey reside on the home farm, 
one of the most desirable and pro- 
ductive in town, with excellent and 
commodious buildings. 

George Tracey was educated in 
the public and select schools of his 
native town. At the age of 17 he 
enlisted, December, 1863, in Com- 
pany E, Eighth Vermont Volun- 
teers, Colonel Stephen Thomas, and 
served until the close of the war. 
He participated in Sheridan's cam- 
paign in the Shenandoah valley. 
After his return from the service 
he attended Williston Academy one 
year. 

Mr. Tracey is a man of quiet 
tastes and unassuming manners 
but of excellent practical judg- 
ment, and is financially successful. 
He has held most of the town of- 
fices and was the representative of 
South Hero in 1876, being the 
youngest member of the House. 
He is a Democrat in politics and as 
such was elected to the state Sen- 
ate in 1902 from Grand Isle 



GRAND ISLE COUNTY. 



423 



County, the county being strongly 
Republican. 

WADSWORTH, Stephen P., 
son of Stephen P. and Mary (Tor- 
diff) Wads worth, was born in the 
Province of Quebec, January 15, 
1834. His grandfather, Daniel 
Wadsworth, a soldier of the Revo- 
lution, settled in the southern part 
of the town soon after the close of 
the war, coming from Connecticut. 
Locating near the sand bar, he fol- 
lowed the potter's trade until his 
death in 1806, aged 43. 

Horace, one of his five children, 
married a daughter of Abner 
Keeler, was a colonel of militia, 
a representative and a senator in 
the General Assembly, and died in 
1864. 

Stephen P. Wadsworth, Sr., born 
in 1792, reared a family of 10 
children and at the death of 
his brother Horace inherited the 
Keeler homestead and one third 
of the farm, and later bought an- 
other third, where he resided until 
his death in 1884, in his nineti- 
eth year. All of his children 
lived to maturity except Daniel, 
who as a soldier of the First Ver- 
mont Cavalry, was crippled for life 
and was cared for by the subject 
of this sketch. 

Stephen's school days were very 
few, as he began to work out at 
eight years of age, and continued 
until his marriage in 1854 to Han- 
nah D. Hammond of St. Lawrence 
County, New York. He assumed, 
in 1864, the conduct of the Keeler 
farm and the care of his aged 
parents, and later bought it, where 
he has since resided. Two broth- 
ers, William and Horace, and one 
sister, Mrs. Mary Rawson, are now 
living. 

Around the great brick mansion, 
the Keeler house, erected in 1829, 



clusters many historic and hal- 
lowed associations, for Keeler 's 
Bay at one time was an active busi- 
ness center, with two stores. 

Stephen P. and Hannah Wads- 
worth reared a family of seven chil- 
dren, of whom the four sons sur- 
vive. The eldest son, Henry H., 
is located at Lebanon, New Hamp- 
shire; Daniel T., John E, and 
Clark S. are associated with their 
father in the care of their excellent 
farm of 380 acres. The farm sup- 
ports 50 head of cattle, including 
from 35 to 40 Holstein cows and 
five horses, and the present year 
25 acres of fodder corn was har- 
vested. Mr. and Mrs. Wadsworth 
have nine grandchildren and three 
great-grandchildren, and, cherished 
by their kindred, carry their ad- 
vancing years bravely. 

He has served the town faith- 
fully many years as constable and 
collector ; also as selectman. He is 
a Mason of 42 years' standing, a 
P. W. M. of Isle of Patmos Lodge, 
No. 17, and a member of Albany 
Chapter, withal an excellent type 
of the veteran Vermont farmer. 

LANDON, Thomas B., son of 
Buel and Mirrian (Phelps) Lan- 
don, was born on the ancestral 
farm at South Hero, October 2, 
1862. His ancestry both paternal 
and material, was of the stanch 
pioneer stock. 

Thaddeus Landon located in the 
southeastern part of the town in 
1790, remaining here until his 
death in 1846, aged 79 years. He 
reared a family of 10 children, 
three of the sons, Jesse, John and 
Bird, becoming lifelong residents. 
Buel was born in 1821, one of the 
seven children of Bird Landon and 
upon him devolved the care of the 
ancestral homestead, by the early 
death of his father. Hon. Buel 



424 



StJCCESSFtJL VERMONTERS. 



Landon was a man of culturedpi- 
tastes and scientific attainments, 
for one year a medical student, and 
a devoted naturalist and collector 
of specimens. He was a progres- 
sive farmer, the pioneer in town 
of the system of tile draining, and 
in 1876 represented Grand Isle 
County in the state Senate. He 
became town clerk in 1850 and re- 
tained that office until his death in 
1882, and since that time the office 
has been filled by his capable wife, 



'in the state, carrying a stock of 20 
Holstein cows, and about seventy 
head of cattle, a result due to a 
judicious rotation, thorough drain- 
age and the use of the silo for the 
past dozen years. 

A fine orchard of standard win- 
ter apples conduces to the pleasure 
and profit of the owner. 

Thomas B. Landon is the eldest 
son of the four children of Buel 
and Mirrian Landon. Adelaide 
resides at the parental home, Janet 




Residence of Thomas B. Laxdox. 



Mrs. Mirrian (Phelps) Landon. 
With brief interruptions the office 
has been in this house since 1820. 

This grand old ancestral man- 
sion, erected in 1808, the oldest and 
most historic house in town, still 
in excellent repair, has been the 
family home for three quarters of 
a century. The western view of 
Lake Champlain and its mountain 
background is surpassingly beauti- 
ful. The farm of 180 acres, lo- 
cated a mile from South Hero sta- 
tion, is one of the most productive 



at Burlington and Robert R., a 
graduate electrician, is located at 
jNIanila. 

Thomas B. Landon is a typical 
progressive Vermont farmer. A 
social, energetic and reliable citi- 
zen, he possesses the unreserved 
confidence of his townsmen, re- 
cently manifested by his election 
as their representative to the Gen- 
eral Assembly, the candidate of the 
Republicans. 

THE Catholic Church of "St. 
Rose of Lima, ' ' at South Hero, for- 



GRAND ISLE COUNTY. 



425 



merly called Keeler's Bay, is lo- 
cated on South Hero Island, 
County of Grand Isle. The loca- 
tion of the old church, right by the 
hike shore, was bought July 8, 
1858. A house that stood on the 
lot was converted into a church and 
was used for worship by the small 
congregation till 1898, when it was 
consumed by fire. Only 20 fami- 
lies worshipped there at the start. 
This small flock has increased till 
it numbers now about one hundred 
and fifty families, scattered over 
both towns of South Hero and 
Grand Isle, into which this island 
is divided. 

Established in 1858, this mission 
church was attended l)y priests 
from Burlington, Milton, Platts- 
burg and St. Albans. This state of 
affairs lasted till 1890, when the 
Reverend Oblates of the Sacred 
Heart, from Swanton, sent two 
missionaries to settle here ; they 
\\'ere Fathers Milot and Videloup. 
They both ministered to the spirit- 
ual wants of our people till 1895, 
when Reverend Joseph Turcotte 
was sent here from Highgate. He 
it was who put up the present brick 
building at the price of untold 
hardships, difficulties and personal 
sacrifice. His health failing, he 
was replaced, in 1902, by the pres- 
ent rector, the Reverend L. H. 
Pepin-LaChance. 

The first missionary was Father 
Cardinal of St. Joseph's Church, 
Burlington. After him, in turn, 
came : in 1868, Father Pigeon from 
Milton; in 1869, Father Landry; 
in 1871, Father Gendreau; then 
there were also, in turn. Fathers 
Provost, Yvineck and Mathieu in 
1890, when the first residence was 
established. 

PEPIN-LaCHANCE, Reverend 
Louis-Honore, son of Jean Bap- 



listo and Marcelline (Lessard) 
LaChance, was born, January 14, 
1864, at St. Elzear, Beauce County, 
Province of Quebec. He was 
reared upon a farm and attended 
the district schools of his native 
town and for seven years the Chris- 
tian Brothers' School at Quebec. 
After two years' rest at home, he 
pursued his classical studies with 
the Fathers of the Holy Cross of St. 
Laurent College, Montreal, from 
which he graduated in 1899. He 




Kev. L. H. Pkpix-LaCiiance. 

then devoted six years to travel in 
the middle and western states, re- 
cuperating his health, perfecting 
his knowledge of the English lan- 
guage and gaining fruitful experi- 
ence of life, customs and human na- 
ture. In October, 1894, he resumed 
his studies in the Grand Seminary 
of Montreal. After two years he 
was called to teach in the Petit 
Seminaire of Chicoutimi, Quebec, 
where he remained three years, and 
in 1897, May 23, was ordained to 
the holy priesthood. After serving 
15 months as a curate at Murray 
Bay, Quebec, Father LaChance was 



426 



SUCCESSFUL VERMONTERS. 



appointed rector of St. Isidore's 
Church at Montgomery Center, 
where he remained until the fall of 
1902, since which time he has min- 
istered to the parish of St. Rose of 
Lima at South Hero. Genial and 
approachable, of earnest convic- 
tions and fluent address, Father 
LaChance is esteemed alike by his 
parishioners and the public. 

The church edifice is a substan- 
tial brick structure, erected in 
1897, as yet partially finished and 
is the religious home of some one 
hundred and fifty families. 

CONRO, Henry White, son of 
James and Arzelia (Pixley) Conro, 
was born at South Hero, January 
20, 1842. His father came from 
Dutchess County, New York, at 
nine years of age, and from that 
time made his own way in life ; was 
a farmer, and for a time kept the 
"Island House." Of the family 
of four children Henry is the only 
one residing in this town. He at- 
tended the public and select schools 
of his native town, and as a student 
of the University of Vermont; en- 
listed early in 1861 for three years, 
and was assigned to Captain John 
T. Drew's Company G of the Sec- 
ond Vermont Volunteers. 

He participated with his regi- 
ment in the first battle of Bull 
Run, in which he was captured and 
taken to Libby Prison at Rich- 
mond, where he endured many 
hardships and a severe run of ty- 
phoid fever. In November he was 
transferred to Tuscaloosa, Ala- 
bama, until ]\Iarch, and thence to 
Salisbury, North Carolina, where 
he w^as paroled in June, 1862. He 
returned to his home on parole, a 
mere skeleton, and was successively 
transferred to the marine hospital 
at Burlington, Vermont, the pa- 
role camp at xVnnapolis, Mary- 



land, and at Alexandria, and af- 
ter regaining his health rejoined 
his regiment, January 1, 1863. 
From that time forward he par- 
ticipated in every engagement, 18 
in number, in which his regiment 
fought, including the Wilderness, 
where he was wounded in the 
shoulder. He was honorably dis- 
charged, June 29, 1864. 

Returning to South Hero, he 
taught two terms at the academy, 
made an inspection tour in the 
West, returned and in February, 

1867, married Susan Robinson of 
South Hero, who died in May, 

1868. During this period he con- 
ducted the Z. G. Clark farm, and 
for a year or two a store at Keeler 's 
Bay. In March, 1873, Mr. Conro 
married Emeroy Hodgkins of 
Grand Isle, a daughter of C. T. 
Hodgkins and a granddaughter of 
William Hodgkins, a Revolution- 
ary soldier, and one of the early 
settlers. 

They soon removed to their pres- 
ent fine farm of 180 acres, located 
one mile from the village, and com- 
manding a beautiful and expansive 
view of Lake Champlain, with 
mountain sentinels on either hand. 
Although 65 years of age, Mr. 
Conro is still an energetic and suc- 
cessful farmer, with a good dairy 
of 25 Jersey cows, with young 
stock and sheep. 

An active Republican of inde- 
pendent opinions, he has served 
many years as moderator, also in 
most of the other town offices. He 
represented South Hero in the 
General Assembly in 1874, and was 
sheriff of the county four years; 
also four years a member of the 
Republican state committee. He 
is a member of Stannard Post, G. 
A. R., of Burlington, also a mem- 
ber and past master of Isle of Pat- 



GRAND ISLE COtJNTY. 



42T 



mas Lodge, No. 17, F. & A. M. He 
is an excellent type of Vermont's 
soldier citizens. Mr. and Mrs. 
Conro have an only daughter, 
May, a young lady of culture, and 
a graduate of the University of 
Vermont. 

PHELPS, Edward B., son of 
Orange and Maria Phelps, was 



consisted of 16 children, four of 
whom settled in this town. Tradi- 
tion says that his first grist was 
taken to Whitehall, a distance of 
80 miles. 

Orange, his second son, settled 
on the large farm near the lake 
shore, now owned by the subject of 
this sketch, reared a family of nine 




Henry W. Conro. 



born on the ancestral homestead at 
South Hero, June 6, 1845. Beni- 
jah Phelps, his grandfather, came 
from Connecticut, one of the pio- 
neers, and settled in the northern 
part of the town, and after several 
remcjvals, finally settled on Keeler's 
Bay, where he died in 1866, at the 
ripe age of 93 years. His family 



children who lived to maturity, and 
died in 1879, aged 73 years. 

The members of this family are 
now widely separated; two sisters, 
Mrs. Jane Gordon and Mrs. Flor- 
ence Landon, residing in Califor- 
nia ; Albert and Martha in Minne- 
apolis ; Edwin at Dover, New York, 
and Augusta, with Edwin B., on 



428 



SUCCESSFUL VERMONTERS 



the home farm. The care of the 
farm and of the aged parents de- 
volved upon Edward and Augusta, 
and right well did they fulfil the 
filial trust. AVith great prudence 
and energy P^dward Phelps 
achieved the task of raising the 
mortgage and paying off the other 
heirs, on the 300-acre farm. He 
has since conducted extensive im- 
provements in tile draining and 
with his system of mixed farming 
and three-year rotation of crops, 
the farm has become one of the 
most productive and profitable in 
town. His usual rotation is clover, 
corn and grain. The farm carries 
about forty head of cattle, includ- 
ing 20 dairy cows, 60 Shropshire 
sheep and a half dozen or more 
horse kind. There is an excellent 
orchard of standard fruit. 

Mr. Phelps has served the town 
acceptable in nearly every town 
office, and in 1888 was its represen- 
tative in the Legislature. He has 
achieved an ample competence, 
which he dispenses liberally in sup- 
port of education and religion. In 
politics he is a Republican and a 
Methodist in religious belief. 

He is highly esteemed as a pub- 
lic-spirited citizen of liberal views 
and excellent practical judgment. 
His fine homestead commands a 
lovely view of lake and mountain. 

ISLE LA MOTTE. 

Population, Cen.sus of 1900,508. 

This beautiful island town, one 
of the smallest territorially in the 
state, and the most westerly, is rich 
in historical associations. Here is 
located the first land of Vermont 
pressed by the foot of a white man. 
Samuel de Champlain, the adven- 
turous French navigator, landed 
here during his historic vovasre 



down the lake in 1609. He says 
that the islands were uninhabited. 

The Indian tribes came here to 
hunt and often landed here in their 
warlike expeditions. The Iroquois, 
then the most powerful and warlike 
of the aborigines, a confederacy of 
tribes called the Six Nations, came 
up from Lake George and at that 
time maintained possession of the 
islands. During the century of 
stern contention for the possession 
of the continent between the 
French and English, they were the 
allies of the latter. The Abena- 
quis, St. Francis and, in general, 
the Canadian Indians, were con- 
trolled by the French. As early 
as 1616 Father Jacques, a devoted 
Catholic priest, with two compan- 
ions and 20 Algonquins, were cap- 
tured by the Iroquois and suffered 
almost incredible tortures and 
hardships here. 

Fort St. Ann was erected upon 
the western point of the island in 
1666 by Captain LaMothe, from 
whom the island was named. From 
this fort, soon afterwards an im- 
portant expedition was sent out un- 
der De Tracey, a French officer, 
against the Mohawk Indians. The 
fort connnanded the western chan- 
nel and was held by the French 
and, later, by the English govern- 
ments, until nearly the close of the 
century. 

At the Shrine of St. Ann, erected 
on the site of the ancient fort, are 
to be seen many relics of beads, 
arrow-heads and utensils of peace 
and war, exhumed from that his- 
toric spot, mute witnesses of tlie 
tragic scenes of the wilderness. 

A grant of 8,000 acres, nearly 
double the actual size of the island, 
was made by the Assembly to Ben- 
jamin Wait and 95 associates, No- 
vember 11, 1779. It was further 




Ay Island Highavav. 



430 



SUCCESSFUL VERMONTERS. 



resolved "that the said grant be 
made out, on condition that the 
proprietors pay to the committee 
appointed for that purpose, on or 
before the 10th of January next, 
£36 on each grantee's right or 
share." The name of Isle La 
Motte, applied by the governor, 
council and General Assembly 
when the grant was made in 1799, 
was maintained until 1802. when, 
by legislative enactment, it was 
changed to Vineyard. This name, 
so suggestive and appropriate, was 
maintained until 1830, when, agree- 
able to a petition, the ancient name 
of Isle La Motte was restored, less 
the final "e". The survey was 
made during 1785 and the plan 
drawn and certified by John Clark, 
surveyor. 

In 1788, William Blanchard, one 
of the original proprietors, settled 
on the island, and resided there un- 
til his decease in 1824. About the 
same time came Enoch Hall and 
his two sons, Nathaniel and Elihu. 
The Halls became heads of families 
and left numerous descendants. 
Soon afterwards the settlement was 
augmented by Ebenezer Hyde. 
Ichabod E. Fisk, a graduate of 
Yale College, and Abraham Knapp, 
all worthy and influential pioneers 
and heads of large families. Abra- 
ham Knapp was compelled at one 
time, in order to sustain his large 
family, to use the buds and tender 
leaves of basswood trees, as a sort 
of mucilage, for food, and from the 
bark fibre to make a sort of cloth 
for garments. 

The nearest gristmills at first 
were at Whitehall, New York, dis- 
tant more than a hundred miles, or 
at Chambly, 30 miles by water and 
12 by land, the grain then to be 
carried on their backs. The mor- 
tar, dug or burned out of the top 



of a stump or log and the swinging 
pestle, was often used to coarsely 
grind the grain. 

In 1791, the date of the state's 
admission into the Union, Isle La 
Motte was organized. The town 
meeting was held March 24 at the 
house of Nathaniel Wales, and the 
following officers were elected : 
Moderator. Abraham Knapp ; town 
clerk, Abraham Knapp ; selectmen, 
Ebenezer Hyde, Enoch Hall, Na- 
thaniel Wales; treasurer. Ebenezer 
Hyde; listers, Nathaniel Wales, 
Enoch Hall, William Blanchard; 
grand .iuror, Ichabod Hyde ; tyth- 
ingmeii, Joseph Easey and Gardner 
Wait. The following September 
the town elected Gardner Wait the 
first representative to the General 
Assembly. The census of the same 
year showed a population of 47 pei-- 
sons. Nine years later the popula- 
tion had increased to 135, and at 
the present time it is approximately 
600. 

The settlers who served in the 
AVar of the Eevolution were Joseph 
Williams, who Avas wounded at 
Brandy wine battle, William Blan- 
chard, Ezra Pike. Daniel Bixby. 
Gardner Wait, Elihu E. Reynolds, 
Nathaniel Hall, William Wilsey, 
Seth Strong, John Fadden, Henry 
Scott and Caleb Hill. 

The first road was laid out from 
Fiske's quarry, around the island 
to near the terminus of the Isle La 
Motte bridge. In 1792 provision 
was made by the selectmen for a 
burying ground and a town plot. 

The first justice was William 
Utley, chosen that year. The first 
person born on the island was 
Laura, daughter of William Blan- 
chard, September 7, 1792. The 
first minister who preached here 
was Daniel Brumley, about the 
year 1800, and the first physician, 



GRAND ISLE COUNTY. 



431 



Luther Plymptom, date, 1800. The 
first lawyers were Seth Emmons, 
Solomon Morgan and Samuel Hol- 
ton, who came about the same year. 

In the War of 1812 a requisition 
was made for a sergeant and six 
men and about twenty volunteered. 
Those who served were Orlin Blan- 
ehard, sergeant; Ira Hill, Harry 
Wait, Minard Hilliard, Conrad 
Denio, Lewis Gordon and Amias 
Iloleomb. 

In 1814 Captain Pring, a Brit- 
ish officer, landed on the western 
shore of the island, erected a bat- 
tery, mounted six long eighteen- 
pounder guns commanding the lake 
and claimed jurisdiction over the 
island. From this point the Brit- 
ish flotilla started on the early 
morning of the memorable 11th 
of September, 1814. to battle with 
the hastily equipped fleet of Com- 
modore >McDonough in Plattsburg 
P>Hy. 

In the War of the Pebellioii the 
town furnished 78 recruits, all but 
four being vohmteers, more than 
one eighth of the entire population, 
of whom 18 never returned. In- 
cluded were two captains, one sur- 
geon, two lieutenants, 10 sergeants 
and three corporals. 

The quarries and the orchards 
are the principal financial re- 
sources. The land is unexcelled 
for general farming and there are 
many fine hay and grain farms. 
Probably no other equal space on 
this continent produces apples 
equal in quantity and quality. The 
village, pleasantly located near the 
center of the town on the highest 
land, contains the Methodist, 
Church, store and post-office, the 
large stone hotel of II. II. Hill, the 
new public library and a score of 
comfortable residences. 

The islanders are an enterpris- 



ing, industrious, hospitable people. 
We met and became agreeably ac- 
qviainted with many not specially 
represented in these pages, among 
others Mr. H. H. Hill, notable or- 
chardist and landlord, whose father 
was an 1812, and his grandfather, 
Caleb Hill, a Revolutionary sol- 
dier; the Holcombs, Andrew and 
Wyman, Mrs. Cornelia Scott Hill, 
granddaughter of Henry Scott, a 
Revolutionary soldier ; Captain 
William Montgomery, an enterpris- 
ing inland navigator, and last but 
not least. Ransom Hall, descendant 
of soldiers and pioneers, veteran 
town official, half a century town 
clerk and a living encyclopedia of 
local information. 

FISK. Hon. Nelson W. The 
subject of this sketch was Ijorn at 
the Fisk family lumiestead. Isle La 
Motte, August 5, 1854, son of 
Hiram C. and Cynthia (Clark) 
Fisk. His great-grandfather, Icha- 
bod Fisk, came to the island in 
1788, and settled on a farm in the 
southern part of the town, which 
has since been the family home. 
He wns among the first graduates 
of Yale College, was the first school 
teacher in the town, and at his 
death was president of the State 
University at Macon, Georgia. He 
opened the marble quarry, and was 
succeeded by his son, Samuel, and 
his grandson, Hiram C. The lat- 
ter developed the quarries success-" 
fully and was for many years an 
active factor in the business, politi- 
cal and religious life of the town, 
which he twice represented in the 
Legislature, and died in 1884, at 
the age of 66. 

Nelson W. Fisk received his aca- 
demical education at the Mont- 
pelier Seminary and at Fort Ed- 
ward Institute, and his business 
training at Eastman's Business 



432 



SUCCESSFUL VERMONTERS. 



College, Poughkeepsie. By the 
death of his father, in 1884, Gov- 
ernor Fisk became the sole propri- 
etor of the Fisk marble quarry, 
operated by the family for three 
generations, and has continued as 
such to the present time. Governor 
Fisk has the distinction of owning 
and operating the oldest quarry in 
Vermont, it having been opened as 
early as 1664, contemporaneous 
with the building of Fort St. Anne 
on Isle La Motte. In 1882 and 
1884 he served his townsmen as rep- 
resentative in the General Assem- 
l)!}'; and in 1888 he was elected 
state senator from Grand Isle 
County, and made a most credita- 
ble record. It was at this session 
that the Grand Isle Bridge Bill was 
enacted, which was the last of the 
three bridges connecting the island 
county, — the first being built in 
1882 'from Isle La :\Iotte to Al- 
burgh. It was largely through the 
influence and energy of ]Mr. Fisk 
that these appropriations .so con- 
ducive to the ,prosperity of Grand 
Isle County, were enacted. 

In 1894 he was appointed 
hy Governor "Woodbury chairman 
of the board of trustees of the 
State Industrial School at Yer- 
gennes, and for several years was 
a trustee of the State Normal 
School at Johnson, and since 1896 
has been a trustee of the L'niversity 
of Vermont at Burlington, having 
been reelected for a six years' 
term by the present General As- 
sembly. In 1888, he was a delegate 
to the National Republican Con- 
vention at Chicago that placed in 
nomination General Benjamin Har- 
i-ison ; also a delegate to the conven- 
tion of 1892. at ^Minneapolis, which 
renominated that eminent states- 
man. In 1896, when ]\Ir. Fisk was 
being urged by his friends as a 



candidate for the office of lieuten- 
ant-governor, the Burlington Free 
Press said, editorally : ' ' He has 
yielded to the wish of his warm 
friends throughout Vermont in 
that he will be a candidate for the 
second place on the ticket. The 
announcement will be gratifying to 
a large proportion of the Republi- 
cans of the state. Mr. Fisk is a 
staunch Republican. He is an 
honorable, genial and popular gen- 
tleman. As a representative in the 
House in 1882 and 1884, senator 
from Grand Isle County in 1888. 
trustee of the Vermont Industrial 
School and of the Johnson Normal 
School ; also as an active member 
of the Vermont Fish and Game 
League, and in other public capaci- 
ties, he has shown ability, sound 
judgment and large capacity for 
business. He has not asked for 
support, nor shown any eagerness 
to l^ecome a candidate for lieuten- 
ant-governor. His candidacy is 
thus an honorable one, and every 
way creditable to him. His name 
will add strength and popularity 
to the ticket and it will be a source 
of gratification to many in other 
sections of the state, that the good 
island county has at last been rec- 
ognized by the bestowal of an im- 
portant elective office." 

His businesslike methods, his 
strict adherence to parliamentary 
etiquette and his generous affabil- 
ity, made his term of service as 
president of the Senate a memora- 
ble one. In 1894, Mr. Fisk was 
appointed by Governor Levi K. 
Fuller one of the state commission- 
ers at the California Midwinter 
Exposition, and was the commis- 
sioner from Vermont at the Pan- 
American Exposition, held at Buf- 
falo in 1900. 

Governor Fisk was united in 




Nelson W. Fisk, 




« / 
J - 

Z — 



436 



SUCCESSFUL VERMONTERS. 



marriage, February 25, 1880, with 
Elizabeth Beckwith Hubbell, 
daughter of John Waleott Hubbell, 
an influential citizen of Chazy, 
New York. Mrs. Fisk is a lady of 
character and culture, and presides 
Avith becoming grace in this grand 
old family mansion, long known for 
its hospitality. At this beautiful 
estate, in the summer of 1897, at 
the invitation of Governor Fisk, 
while president of the Vermont 
Fish and Game League, it held its 
midsummer banquet, the largest 
function of the kind ever held in 
the state, at which time President 
jMcKinley and his cabinet were 
guests of honor. Again, in 1901, 
Vice-President Theodore Roosevelt, 
as the guest of the Vermont Fish 
and Game League, honored Grand 
Isle County and Vermont with his 
presence, and it was at this island 
home that Mr. Roosevelt received 
the sad news of the assassination 
of the revered McKinley. Ar- 
rangements were progressing for 
the reception on the lawn when the 
shocking intelligence came, at 5.30 
p. m., by telephone to Governor 
Fisk. He immediately called ilr. 
Roosevelt into his library and in- 
formed him of the awful tragedy. 
Then Senator Redtield Proctor, at 
whose invitation ^Ir. Roosevelt was 
present, made the sad announce- 
ment to the guests : ' ' Friends, a 
cloud has fallen over this happy 
event. It is my sad duty to inform 
you that President iMcKinley, while 
in the Temple of ]\Iusic at Buffalo, 
was this afternoon shot twice by an 
anarchist, two luillets liavinu' taken 
eft'ect." 

This grand, old, stone house, 
erected in 1800 by Governor Fisk's 
grandfather, possesses a rich herit- 
age of cherished associations and 
historic memories. It was in front 



of this house that the British fleet 
anchored the night l)efore the mem- 
orable battle of Plattsburg and the 
British officers took possession of 
and ocupied the house. 

HILL, Henry Waylaxd, was 
born at Isle La ]\Iotte, November 
13, 1853. His parents were Hon. 
Dyer Hill, who was a member of the 
Vermont Legislature in 1849- '50, 
and Martha P. Hill, daughter of 
Enoch Hall, Esq., and Hannah 
Hall, nee Scott. 

His paternal grandparents were 
]\Iercy Hill, nee Pike, and Calvin 
Hill, son of Captain Caleb Hill, 
who lived for a time at Granville, 
New York, and in 1803 purchased a 
large tract of land on Isle La ^Nlotte, 
portions of which are still owned 
))y his descendants, and where he 
organized his townsmen for de- 
fense into a company of militia in 
the War of 1812, and was after- 
wards surprised at night by Brit- 
ish soldiers, shot and killed in his 
home. 

The Hill family trace their an- 
cestry back to Sir Rowland Hill, 
the originator of the penny postal 
system of England and to Sir Row- 
land Hill, lord mayor of London in 
1492. 

Henry W. Hill was one of six 
children, five of whom are still liv- 
ing, and are ]\Irs. Charlotte A. 
Hall, wife of Hon. Ransom Hall of 
Isle La Motte: Wilbur F. Hill, who 
has been for many years keeper of 
the United States light on that 
Island ; Henrv W. Hill ; :\Irs. Alice 
B. Rockwell, wife of :\Ierritt B. 
Rockwell, a merchant of Alburgh 
Center, and Doctor Julian P. Hill, 
a practicing physician of Buffalo. 

Henry W. Hill passed his youth 
on the Island farm, now owned by 
him, attended public schools, en- 
tered the Universitv of Vermont in. 



GRAND ISLE COUNTY. 



437 



1872, became a member of the Phi 
Beta Kappa Society and was grad- 
uated from that University in 1876, 
with the degree of Bachelor of Arts. 
In 1881 he received his Master's 
degree, and in 1900 the honorary 
degree of Doctor of Laws from his 
ahna mater. 

He married Miss Harriet A. 
Smith, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. 
Francis Smith of Swanton, on 
August 11, 1880. 

He was principal of the Swanton 
Union School from 1877 to 1879, 
and of the Chateaugay (New York) 
Academy from 1879 to 1883. In 
these preparatory schools he fitted 
several classes for college and at 
the same time read law and was ad- 
mitted to the Bar at Albany, New 
York, on January 25, 1884. The 
following May he formed a law 
partnership at Buffalo, New York, 
with Edward W. Andrews, a na- 
tive of Shelburne, and an alum- 
nus of the University of Vermont, 
and that continued until the death 
of Mr. Andrews in May, 1896. 
Mr. Hill is still actively engaged 
in the practice of law at Buf- 
falo. In 1893 he was elected a del- 
egate from Buffalo to the New 
York Constitutional Convention of 
1894, which was presided over by 
Hon. Joseph H. Choate and of 
which Hon. Elihu Root was also a 
member. In that Convention he 
served on the Suffrage, Educational 
and Civil Service committees, and 
was selected as one of a Committee 
of five to map out its work. He 
formulated, introduced and se- 
cured the adoption of some amend- 
ments to the Constitution of New 
York. He advocated measures 
designated to provide home rule 
foi- cities, honest elections, the 
maintenance on a popular basis of 
secondary and higher education 



and the enlargement of the Erie, 
Champlain and Oswego canals, a 
work of far-reaching importance to 
the commercial interests of the 
state and Nation. 

Lincoln, the Constitutional His- 
torian, says: "The most elaborate 
and comprehensive speech on ca- 
nals in the Convention was deliv- 
ered by Henry W. Hill of Buffalo. 
Mr. Hill had given the subject 
long, patient and thorough study, 
and had, apparently, examined it 
from every point of view. The 
speech is replete with historical in- 
formation and with valuable sta- 
tistics showing the development of 
the canal policy in almost every 
age and country. It contained a 
general argument in favor of canal 
improvement and of such constitu- 
tional changes as would readily 
permit this improvement ; and he 
fortified his argument by numerous 
facts, figures and historical refer- 
ences to show the value and impor- 
tance of this canal as a factor in 
the development of the state, and 
of its probable continued useful- 
ness, if a liberal policy should be 
adopted. The student of economic 
relations of canals will find here 
the whole subject so carefully con- 
sidered and so clearly arranged 
that little need be sought else- 
where. ' ' 

His record was such in that Con- 
vention that he was the logical Re- 
publican candidate for the New 
York Assembly from Buffalo, 
whose commercial interests had 
been so ably championed by him, 
and he was unanimously nomi- 
nated five times in succession, 
elected thereto, and served in that 
body for the years 1896 to 1900, in- 
clusive, and then he was three 
times in succession unanimously 
nominated by the Republicans of 



438 



SUCCESSFUL VERMONTERS. 



the Forty-Seventh Senatorial Dis- 
trict for the New York state Sen- 
ate, elected thereto, and served in 
that body from Buffalo for the 
years 1901 to 1906, inclusive, and 
in 1906 was re-elected for the 
fourth term by a large plurality 
to represent the Forty-Eighth Dis- 
trict in the Senate of 1907- '08. 
This is the longest continued ser- 
vice ever accorded to a Buffalo 
legislator. During this time he in- 
troduced and secured the passage 
of many important laws, such as a 
primary election law, the barge 
canal survey law, the all-state 
pharmacy law, the general automo- 
bile law, the child labor laws, the 
barge canal ninety-nine million dol- 
lar bonding law and he, also, form- 
ulated and secured the legislative 
adoption of several proposed Con- 
stitutional amendments, such as 
that known as Section 11 of Article 
VII, providing for the application 
of surplus moneys in the treasury 
to the liquidation of the bonded in- 
debtedness of the state; Section -4 
of Article VII, extending the 
bonding period of the state from 18 
to 50 years, and Section 2 of Arti- 
cle VI, revising the judiciary arti- 
cle. In the Constitutional Conven- 
tion he formulated and introduced 
Section 5 of Article II, authorizing 
the use of voting machines at gen- 
eral elections and was one of the 
framers of Section 10 of Article 
VII, authorizing the Legislature to 
provide for canal improvements, 
all of which are now integral parts 
of the Constitution of the Empire 
State. 

He secured the large state appro- 
priation for the Seventy-fourth 
and Sixty-fifth Regiment armo- 
ries, the Historical Society build- 
ing and the McKinley monument, 
all in Buffalo, and was entrusted 



with its most important legislation, 
such as the free public library bill, 
its grade crossing abolition bills, 
the Pan-American Exposition bill, 
and others. He assisted in formu- 
lating the New York Canal refer- 
endum bill of 1903, in which, largely 
through his efforts, was included a 
provision for the enlargement of 
Champlain Canal, of such vast im- 
portance to the commerce of Lake 
Champlain, and his able advocacy 
of that measure in the Senate 
against strong and persistent op- 
position, and his masterly presen- 
tation of it to the electors of the 
state in a score or more of compre- 
hensive speeches, setting forth the 
project in all its phases, and the ad- 
vantages to accrue therefrom, did 
much to secure its enactment into 
law and its overwhelming popular 
approval. It was the most gigan- 
tic bonding proposition ever sub- 
mitted to popular vote in any state, 
and, as Senator Henry W. Hill said 
in his great speech at the canal 
dinner of the Chamber of Com- 
merce of Buffalo on May 8, 1903, in 
so doing "the state has again dem- 
onstrated its courage to cope with 
great questions and reaffirmed her 
prestige for imperial greatness in 
commerce and in wealth." In com- 
batting the blind and stolid inertia 
of conservatism then existing. Sen- 
ator Hill in that speech, also said : 
"The progressive spirit of the age, 
that bridges rivers and tunnels 
mountains, that waters deserts and 
fertilizes plains, that cables oceans 
and explores continents, that makes 
cataracts propel the wheels of in- 
dustry and utilizes the atmosphere 
as a vehicle for man's thoughts, 
and that transforms the thunder- 
bolt into controllable energy to 
serve man's purposes, will over- 
come all conservatism and sur- 



GRAND ISLE COUNTY. 



439 



mount all other barriers to a Na- 
tion's progress." 

Senator Hill's speeches aroused 
public sentiment wherever he ap- 
peared, and the enlargement of the 
Erie, Oswego and Champlain ca- 
nals is due to him as much as to 
any other man. 

In 1905 Senator and Mrs. Henry 



libraries, and attended the Italian, 
French and British parliaments in 
session. Mr. Hill made a study of 
European waterways and con- 
ferred with Doctor Jug Sympher 
of Berlin, the greatest living au- 
thority on "Waterways," in rela- 
tion to the German Canal and 
River improvement systems. 




Hknry W. TTii.r,. 



W. Hill made a European trip and 
traveled in Italy, Switzerland, Aus- 
tria, Germany, Belgium, France 
and the British Isles. In these 
countries they visited the cathe- 
drals, the art galleries and mu- 
seums, royal palaces, historic cas- 
tles, renowned Universities and 



Mr. Hill has done some literary 
work, which includes a paper enti- 
tled "The Development of Consti- 
tutional Law in the State of New 
York, ' ' the Introduction and Notes 
to one of the Odes of Horace, con- 
tained in the Bibliophile edition of 
the works of that poet, and an ar- 



440 



SDCCESSFUL VERMOKTERS. 



tide on "Waterways" in the Ency- 
clopedia Americana and several 
literary and historical addresses. 
He is Vice-President of the Buf- 
falo Historical Society, one of the 
managers of the State Normal 
School at Buffalo, a member of the 
Bibliophile Society of Boston and 



the three delegates to represent the 
New York Bar Association at the 
American Bar Association, held at 
St. Paul. 

He retains his old home on Isle 
La Motte, but resides at No. 471 
Linwood Avenue, Buffalo, New- 
York, where he has a pleasant 




Wilbur F. Hill. 



of the University Club of Buffalo, 
and of other professional, political 
and fraternal organizations, such 
as the Knights of Pythias, the Buf- 
falo Consistory, S. P. R. S. 32°, 
and Lake Erie Commandery of 
Knights Templar. 

In 1906 he was appointed by 
President Joseph H. Choate one of 



house and a valuable library, con- 
taining rare works of some of the 
world's greatest authors. He is 
one of the successful Vermonters, 
who has accomplished results 
worthy of permanent record. 

HILL, Wilbur Fisk, son of Dyer 
and Martha (Hall) Hill, was born 
in Isle La Motte, February 15, 



ORAND isle COtJNTY. 



441 



1843. He is descended from the 
early pioneers on both the paternal 
and maternal lines. Dyer Hill was 
a lifelong resident of the town on 
the same farm where he was born 
at the stone house, near the Isle 
La Motte bridge, and died in Jan- 
nary, 1906, at the age of 87. Dyer 
and Martha (Hall) Hill reared a 
family of five children, all of whom 
are living : Charlotte, wife of Ran- 
som Hall, Wilbur F., Hon. Henry 
W. of Buffalo, New York, Alice B., 
wife of Merritt Rockwell of Al- 
burgh, and Julian P. Hill, M. D., 
of Buffalo, New York. 

Wilbur F. Hill received only the 
training of the common and select 
schools, but being of a practical 
and deserving mind has become 
well informed on general topics. 
He was the eldest son, and in youth 
and in early boyhood assisted his 
father in the many cares and labors 
of the farm, then conducted en- 
tirely without machinery. 

He married, at the age of 19, 
Mary Elizabeth, daughter of 
Joshua Perry Tucker of Brooklyn, 
New York. Seven children were 
born of this marriage. Mrs. Hill 
died in 1883. Three children are 
living: Frank W., who is lo- 
cated as a machinist in Massachu- 
setts, Maud Lillian, wife of John 
Doolin of Isle La Motte, and Ed- 
ward W., now assistant lighthouse 
keeper at Navesink Station, New 
Jersey. 

Mr. Hill married (second), in 
1885, Estelle Witherill, grand- 
daughter of Reverend William 
Wait, formerly a noted minister. 
The fruit of this union is a son and 
a daughter, Clyde E. and Gladys 
M., both residing with their pa- 
rents. 

Since his first marriage he has 
been engaged in farming for the 



past 26 years on his present farm 
of 100 acres, which is one of the 
best and most productive in the 
county. The labor is practically 
all done by modern machinery. 
Besides keeping a good stock, Mr. 
Hill sells annually about one hun- 
dred tons of hay. He has set out 
a large and productive orchard. 
He has recently erected on a 
sightly point near the lighthouse 
one of the best and most modern 
farmhouses in this section. 

In 1857 a stone tower was built 
and a modern lighthouse in 1880. 
Mr. Hill was appointed lighthouse 
keeper in 1871 and has since held 
that responsible position. This has 
the reputation of being the best 
kept station in the district. 

Mr. Hill is a standi Republican, 
but has never sought nor accepted 
town office. His is a most vigorous 
and energetic personality. He is 
a man of prodigious industry and 
energy and has achieved a hand- 
some competence. Mr. and Mrs. 
Hill are members of the Methodist 
Church and are esteemed citizens. 

FLEURY, Hon. Edgar S., son 
of Peter and Christina (Scott) 
Fleury, was born where he now 
resides, at Isle La Motte, October 
3, 1857. His father, who was of 
French descent, was born in Can- 
ada in 1813, and as a child came 
to Isle La Motte with his parents, 
where he became an important fac- 
tor in business, reared a family of 
nine children, who lived to ma- 
turity, and died at the age of 65. 

The Scott family is an early and 
prominent one in Isle La Motte. 
Henry Scott, great-grandfather of 
Edgar S. Fleury, was a soldier of 
the Revolution. Peter Fleury set- 
tled upon the paternal farm of his 
wife, a fine homestead of 300 acres. 
which has since been the family 



442 



SUCCESSFUL VERMONTERS. 



home. His eldest son, Henry J.. 
is a deputy collector at Newport 
News, Virginia; Albert A. is a 
railway conductor in Mexico; Ed- 
win S. is in the oil business at Min- 
neapolis. 

Edgar S. Fleury was educated 



and the marble quarry devolved 
upon him before he had attained 
his majority, but he proved equal 
to the responsibility. He set out 
a large orchard, which is now bear- 
ing from eight to twelve hundred 
barrels of apples annually, with a 




Edgar S. Fleury. 



in the common and select schools 
of his native town and at Lacolle 
Academy, Quebec. He was the 
youngest son and remained on the 
home farm, and by his father's 
death the care of the large farm 



constantly increasing output. He 
is breeding and rearing fine colts 
of the Morgan and Hambletoniau 
lines and has a flock of 100 Shrop- 
shire and grade sheep, probably 
the largest flock in the county, and 



GRAND ISLE COUNTY. 



443 



meanwhile successfully conducts 
his quarry with a force varying 
from five to thirty-five employees. 

Possessing a splendid physique, 
bluff and genial manners, a prac- 
tical judgment at once decisive and 
accurate, and unusual executive 
ability, Mr. Fleury, since attaining 
his majority, has been in the con- 
stant service of his townsmen in 
many responsible positions. He 
was for several terms chairman of 
the board of school directors, and 
for nearly a decade was chairman 
of the board of selectmen. He has 
had charge of the post-office at Isle 
La Motte since 1891 and is at the 
present time postmaster. He was 
a member of the Legislature in 
1888, and again in 1890, serving 
on important committees. In 
1898 he was the senator from 
Grand Isle County, and is now 
serving his second term as asso- 
ciate judge. 

Edgar S. Fleury married, in 
1880, Coi'a, daughter of Captain 
William ^Eontgomery, of the lake 
service. They have a family of 
five sons: William is his father's 
assistant in business; Peter is a 
clerk of the Equitable Life Insur- 
ance Company at Chicago ; Edgar 
S. is manager of a schooner ; Theo- 
dore E. and Scott M. reside with 
their parents. All have been or 
are students at the Burlington 
High School 

Judge Fleury is a member of the 
Society of Sons of the American 
Revolution. For nine successive 
years he was worshipful master of 
isle La Motte Lodge, No. 81, F. & 
A. M., and is a past high priest of 
Hill Chapter, No. 14, a Knight 
Templar and a member of Mount 
Sinai Temple of the Mystic Shrine. 
In the best sense he is a type of 
the progressive, energetic Ver- 
monter of today. 



FORD, Frank H., was born in 
Ingraham, New York, April 18, 
1859. He received his education 
in the public schools of Chazy, New 
York. He located at Isle La Motte 
and took up farming and veterin- 
ary work, and in both has won that 
degree of success which always re- 
wards industry and persistence. 




Fkank H. Foiii). 

He has repeatedly been called to 
serve his townsmen in the various 
public offices, and so well has he 
discharged his duties that in 1904 
he was elected to represent this his- 
toric old town in the General As- 
sembly, and served on the commit- 
tee on highways, bridges and fer- 
ries. 

KING, Hon. James S., was born 
in Chateauguay, New York, No- 
vember, 1870. Doctor King grad- 
uated from the medical depart- 
ment of the University of Vermont 
and in 1893 located at Isle La 
IMotte, where he has had a highly 
successful practice. Doctor King- 
has always taken a keen interest in 
public matters and has ever 



444 



SUCCESSFUL VERMONTERS. 



been ready to aid any measure or 
movement that was for the better- 
ment of the Island County. He 
has frequently been called to pub- 
lic office and has served Isle L;i 
Motte as selectman, school director, 
town clerk, health officer and dep- 
uty sheriff. In 1898, he repre- 
sented his town in the General As- 
sembly and in 1906 received the 
unusual distinction of havinj? the 




James S. King, M. D. 

nomination of all three parties in 
their county convention for the of- 
fice of senator. Doctor King was 
elected without opposition at the 
Freeman's meeting in September. 
In the Senate he served the com- 
mittee on manufactures, on print- 
ing, and was chairman of the com- 
mittee on insane. He also was a 
member of the joint standing com- 
mittee on immigration and indus- 
trial matters and chairman joint 
standing committee on public 
health. In all these important 



places he won from his colleagues 
jtiid the public the high compli- 
ment of being a working member 
of the Senate. 

GRAND ISLE. 

Population, Cen.sus of 1900, 851. 

Xo one who has visited this fa- 
vored spot during the glorious 
days of early autumn and revelled 
in the magnificent panorama of 
mountain and lake spread out on 
either hand and seen the tidy farm- 
houses surrounded by luxurious or- 
chards, with boughs bending to the 
ground with luscious fruit, and in- 
haled the balnu' air, fragrant with 
the odor of clover blossoms and the 
evergreen leaves of the cedars lin- 
ing the shores of this wonderful 
and historic lake, can ever forget 
the rapt enjoyment and elation in- 
spired by the scene, nor question 
the fitness of the name. Grand Isle. 

No wonder the old family names 
are borne here by their descendants 
of the fourth and fifth generations. 
The wonder is that any natives 
should ever have left the island, 
hoping to find a lovelier view or 
more prolific soil. But for a time 
the islands were somewhat isolated 
from the busy marts of trade, and 
some have sought cheaper lands or 
a nearer market for economic rea- 
sons. Since the advent of the Rut- 
land Railroad, the island towns 
have enjoyed speedy transportation 
and better markets. 

Grand Isle, the northern town of 
the southern island, is surrounded 
on all sides by Lake Champlain, 
except on the south, where it is 
bounded by South Hero, of which 
it was originally a part. As is re- 
lated in the sketch of South Hero, 
it was a part of a grant of 25,002 
acres to Ethan Allen and 359 otb- 



GRAND ISLE COUNTY. 



445 



PI'S, all supposed to be Revolution- 
ary soldiers. The surface of the 
town is level or gently rolling, with 
occasional elevations of sufficient 
height to unroll the lovely pano- 
rama of mountain and lake, or- 
chard, farmhouse and forest. 

It is believed that the first set- 
tlers were Colonel Ebenezer Allen, 
Lambertine Allen and Alexander 
Gordon, who came during the year 
1783, During the two succeeding 
years the following persons became 
residents, most of them accom- 
panied by their families : Cyril 
Reed, William Hyde, Jonathan 
Griffith, Uzziel Clark, William 
Campbell, Jacob Vantyne, Abra- 
ham Vantyne, John Minckler, Will- 
iam Hazen, Barnabas Minckler, 
John Sawyer, Reuben Clapp, John 
Gibson and Ephraim Sawyer, Jr. 
Other settlers w^ere added from 
year to year, so that in 1791 the 
town had a population of 337, 
nearly one half of the present num- 
ber. But it must be remembered 
in this comparison that the propor- 
tion of children was much larger 
than at present. 

The first surveys were made in 
1783, and proprietors' meetings 
were occasionally held. John 
Knickerbocker was the first clerk 
and undoubtedly this meeting was 
held outside the town. Colonel 
Ebenezer Allen was elected clerk 
in 1784. The first deed on record 
was from William Williams to Cap- 
tain Jedediah Hyde, a lot of land 
for £12, dated January 18, 1783. 

After several fruitless efforts to 
divide the town, the object was ac- 
complished in 1798. The first 
town meeting was warned by Reu- 
ben Clapp, justice of the peace, 
and held at the dwelling of Isaac 
Atkins, March 1, 1799. Reuben 
Clapp was chosen moderator; 



James Brown, town clerk and 
treasurer; John Thomas, first con- 
stable; Abel Bristol, Thomas Coop- 
er, Sr., and Reuben Clapp, select- 
men; Thomas Cooper, Sr., James 
Tobias and William Hazen, listers.; 
James Tobias, Reuben Clapp and 
Jedediah Hyde, Jr., were ap- 
pointed commissioners to settle the 
claims of South Hero, which were 
subsequently paid. It was also 
voted at this meeting to raise a tax 
of one per cent, on the grand list 
of the town, said tax to be payable 
in wheat at 5s. 6d. per bushel, and 
corn at 3s. per bushel, for the sup- 
port of the poor and other inciden- 
tal expenses. The first justice of 
the peace was Alexander Gordon, 
elected in 1786. The first repre- 
sentative was Reverend Asa Lyon, 
in 1810, the first freemen's meeting 
being held in that year, with 31 
votes cast. 

The first sawmill was erected by 
Enoch Allen in 1822, also a grist- 
mill, built the previous year, which 
ceased running in 1831. The first 
tanner and currier was Lambertine 
Allen, and the first blacksmith was 
Samuel Davenport. The first high- 
way built north and south through 
the town was surveyed in 1790. 
Nearly all of the first settlers lo- 
cated on the shores of the lake. 

The first physician was Jacob 
Roebuck. The first tavern was 
kept by Alexander Gordon at Gor- 
don 's Ferry. The first post-office 
was established in 1810, with 
Ephraim Beardsley first postmas- 
ter. 

Early settlers were Ezra Kin- 
ney of Stonington, Connecticut, 
Ephraim Hatch, William Cham- 
berlain, who came in 1786, Daniel 
Samson from Norwich, Connecti- 
cut, the same year, also William 
Samson soon after, and Willard 



446 



SUCCESSFUL VERMONTERS. 



Gordon in 1788. Timothy and 
Stephen Pearl, Werson Macomber, 
a member of the Friends' Quakers, 
who came in 1789, and Daniel 
Hoag the same year, both from 
Dutchess County, New York, also 
Warren Corbin. James Tobias 
came from the same place in 1791, 
Joseph Adams from Pawlet in 
1792; Andrew Ladd from Norwich. 
(Connecticut, and settled where H. 
W. Ladd now lives; Dorastus Cen- 
ter came from Sunderland in 1794 
The Conareoational Chui'oh of 




Stephen P. Gordon. 

South Hero and Grand Isle wa.-, 
oi-oauized in 1795, the original 
membership consisting of seven 
persons. Reverend Asa Lyon was 
the first pastor and preached 45 
years; Reverend Orville G. 
Wheeler became pastor in 1840 and 
preached for half a century. This 
record is doubtless unprecedented 
in the history of the state. The 
present brick church was dedicated 
in September, 1854. The Metho- 
dist Episcopal Church was organ- 



ized by its first pastor, Reverend 
AVilliam Anson, in July, 1802, and 
the church edifice erected 20 years 
later. St. John's Episcopal Church 
was organized by Reverend Charles 
Fay of Chicago. 

Grand Isle Corners contains the 
Congregationalist and the Metho- 
dist churches, a school building, 
Harrington's store, the post-office, 
the telephone exchange and about a 
dozen residences. 

The area of Grand Isle is 10,234 
acres and nearly all of the land is 
susceptible of profitable cultiva- 
tion. In a single year more than 
$75, ()()() have been realized by the 
sale of apples by the people of the 
two towns of this island, with a 
population not exceeding seventeen 
iuuidfed. The corn crop is of stal- 
wart growth and usually ripens, 
aiul grain, clover, alfalfa and all 
crops of the tempei'ate zone flourish 
abundantlv and find a readv mar- 
ket. 

GORDON, Stephen Pearl, son 
of Sanniel and Eunice C. (Pearl) 
Goi-(lon. was l)orn January 23, 
1832. 

Alexander Gordon, a member of 
Clan (lordon, came from Scotland 
and settled in Salem, Alassachu- 
setts, in 1635. Alexander and his 
brother Samuel, sons of David Goi'- 
don of Craig, were the first Amer- 
ican ancestors of the (Jordons. Al- 
exander Gordon, a namesake of the 
former, was the first settler of 
Grand Isle, in August, 1783. and 
his brother, Willard. came in 1788. 
His son, Samuel, settled on the east 
shore and Avas a lifelong farmer. 
He was a well educated man for 
his time, in early life taught school, 
was many years justice of the 
peace, also town representative, 
and died in 1893 at the age of 93. 
Five of his seven children still sur- 



GRAND ISLE COUNTY. 



447 



vive, all living in Grand Isle : Clar- 
issa E. (Mrs. Darrow), Stephen P., 
Marietta H., who resides on the 
paternal farm, Cordelia (Mrs. Uf- 
ford), and Wyman, who lives on 
the original Alexander Cordon 
farm. 

Stephen P. Cordon attended only 
one term at Bakersfield Academy 
after leaving the common schools, 
bnt he has always been a student 
and is widely and well informed. 
He remained on the paternal farm 
until 1855. when he married Jns- 
tina Criffith and bought a part of 
his present farm, where he has 
since resided. Mr. Cordon has in- 
creased the far-m from 65 to 150 
acres, built or rebuilt the excellent 
farm buildings, laid miles of drain 
tile and set out about twelve hun- 
dred fruit trees, mianly Baldwins. 
(Jreenings and Spies. He began 
grafting apple trees at 12 years of 
age. has made a lifelong study of 
iruit culture and is a recognized 
authority and a contributoi* of 
special articles to the agricidtural 
l>i-ess. which have attracted wide 
attention. His orchard produces 
from five to twelve hundred bai-- 
M Is a'innally and is tli(^ largest in 
town. 

lie lias conducted a pi'ivate ex- 
j)eriment station, the results of 
which have been a public benefit 
in fiuit culture. He was the first 
president of the V^ermont State 
Horticultural Society and is a 
HUMubei- of Ci'and Isle Crange, 
Patrons of Husbandry. Nearly 
thirty years ago he was a pioneer 
experimenter with alfalfa with fa- 
vorable results. For many years, 
in connnon with most farmers on 
the island, Mr. Cordon kept a large 
flock of merino sheep, and at pres- 
ent has a flock of 75 Shropshires, 
also a dairy of 10 cows and young 



stock. Mr. Cordon is a connecting 
link of the past with the present 
generation, a genial and courteous 
gentleman, an excellent type of the 
elderly Vermont farmer. 

Liberal in his religious and po- 
litical opinions, he cast his first 
presidential vote for John C. Fre- 
mont and has always been a stead- 
fast Republican. During the war 
time he was influential as a select- 
man in raising the town's quota of 
soldiers and has since acceptably 
filled that office and most of the 
other town otfices. He represented 
Crand Isle in the Ceneral Assem- 
l)ly in 1868 and '69. 

Mrs. Gordon died in 1!M)2 and 
the only daughter, Ida C, three 
years later. The editor is indebted 
to Mr. Cordon for many interest- 
ing facts relating to the history of 
the island. 

(40RD0X, Edward, son of Nor- 
man and Electa (Wilcox) Cordon, 
was born at Grand Isle, June 1. 
]84(). His great-grandfather, Al- 
exander Gordon, a sturdy Scotch- 
man, settled in Crand Isle in Au- 
gust. 1783. Willard Gordon, his 
son, came from North Salem, New 
Hampshire, in 1788, and idtimateh' 
located on a farm in the southern 
part of Grand Isle. He reared a 
family of six sons and one daugh- 
ter, all of whom married and had 
families. Norman, his fourth son, 
married Electa Wilcox, and five 
of their eight children lived to ma- 
turity. Daniel died in Iowa ; Julia, 
(deceased), was Mrs. Calvin Mc- 
Bride of South Hero; Edward, 
Seth, reside at Chazy, New York; 
Jane is the wife of D. I. Center of 
Crand Isle. 

Edward Cordon was educated in 
the public schools of Crand Isle 
and at Plattsburg Academy. His 
youth and early manhood were 



448 



STTCCESSFUL VERMONTERS. 



passed upon the paternal farm. In 
1865 he married Frances Loveland 
of Lewis County, New York, and 
purchased a farm, and in 1870 
bought the fine farm on the lake 
shore, where he has since resided. 

Mrs. Gordon died in 1899, leav- 
ing two daughters : Jennie, wife of 



back lot of 100 acres. He con- 
ducts a Jei*sey dairy of about forty 
cows and a fine flock of sixty or 
more Shropshire sheep. He usu- 
ally raises 25 acres of ensilage corn 
and has made a success of raising 
alfalfa on tile-drained land. The 
farm produces from 200 to 600 




Edward Goudov. 



Doctor Styles of South Hero, and 
Ada, wife of A. J. Ladd, who reside 
with Mr. Gordon, lie is one of the 
most extensive, enterprising and 
successful farmers in the state. He 
has laid miles of drain tile on his 
home farm of 220 acres, has built 
the large modern barns and re- 
built the house and added a 



bushels of standard ai)ples annu- 
ally. 

Mr. Gordon has filled a wide and 
varied sphere of usefulness in his 
town, and is universally esteemed 
for his benevolence and public 
spirit, and respected for his energy 
and ability. He has held most of the 
town offices and in 1898, as a Re- 



GRAND ISLE COTJNTY. 



449 



publican, represented the town in 
the General Assembly and served 
on the committee on agriculture. 
For many years he has been a mem- 
ber of the State Dairymen's Asso- 
ciation, For 17 years he has been 
business manager of the Grand Isle 
Cooperative Creamery, a most re- 
sponsible position, which he has dis- 
charged with rare ability and suc- 
cess, the annual sales averaging 
now $50,000 per annum. 

Edward Gordon first settled on 
the east shore, sold, and bought 
on the west shore of Grand Isle. 

Seth Gordon settled in Beekman- 
town, New York, sold, and bought 
a large farm in Chazy, New York, 
where he now lives. Jane married 
D. I. Center and lives on the home 
farm, Gordon Landing. 

BRANCH, Doctor George Har- 
vey, son of Walter C. and Eunice 
(Monroe) Branch, was born at 
Potsdam, St. Lawrence County, 
New York, February 27, 1870. His 
father was a farmer, a native of 
Panton. 

George H. Branch completed his 
academic education at the Potsdam 
Normal School. Meanwhile, and 
later, he taught school three years, 
thereby gaining a valuable practi- 
cal experience, at the same time se- 
curing the means to complete his 
education. He read medicine with 
Doctor C. A. Barnett of Potsdam 
and graduated from the medical 
department of the University of 
Iowa in March, 1896. The same 
year he settled in Grand Isle, where 
he has since remained in the active 
and successful practice of his pro- 
fession in the two islands. 

Doctor Branch is a member of 
the Chittenden County Clinical 
Society of the Vermont State Med- 
ical Society, and of the American 
Medical Association, He is the 



medical examiner for all life insur- 
ance societies doing business here; 
for eight years has been health of- 
ficer of Grand Isle, and is also dis- 
trict surgeon for the Rutland Rail- 
road. 

Doctor Branch has entered with 
characteristic energy and enthu- 
siasm into various public activities. 
He has recently bought the Allen 
farm, a half mile from Grand Isle 
station. He is captain of the 
Grand Isle baseball nine, chairman 
of the Republican county commit- 




George H. Bkanch, M.D. 

tee, and an active member of the 
town committee. For several years 
he has been first town auditor. He 
is an esteemed member and senior 
deacon of Isle of Patmos Lodge, 
No. 17, F. & A. M., of South Hero. 
Doctor Branch married, in 1902, 
Mattie B., daughter of Hon. F. J. 
Hazen of North Hero, and their 
pleasant home is cheered by the 



450 



SUCCESSFUL VERMONTERS. 



presence of three children : Kath- 
erine S., George Walter and Ber- 
tha Hazen. 

Doctor Branch has a genial, so- 
cial temperament, and has won a 
host of friends. 

ALLEN, Henry Clay, son of 
Samuel and Nancy (Barnes) Al- 
len, was born at Grand Isle April 
20, 1838. He is the oldest repre- 
sentative of an early and at one 
time very active and numerous 
family on Grand Isle. His ances- 
tors came from Deerfield, Massa- 




Heney C. Allen. 

chusetts, and it is believed are col- 
lateral branches of the same fam- 
ily as Ethan and Ira Allen. 

Henry C. Allen, like many of 
the Aliens, possesses a stalwart 
frame, capable of great bodily en- 
ergy and endurance, although now 
nearly threescore and ten. Sam- 
uel Allen, the grandfather of the 
subject of this sketch, was an early 
settler at Grand Isle and cleared 
up the farm now owned by Doctor 
Branch, and there reared his fam- 



ily of seven children. Samuel, his 
eldest son, and Elnathan, his 
youngest, remained and spent their 
lives on the paternal farm. Samuel 
reared there a family of 11 chil- 
dren, of whom Henry C. was the 
youngest. Five members yet sur- 
vive, but only two, Henry C. and 
Jeremiah, reside on the island. 

Henrv C. Allen married, March 
4, 1861,' Charlotte Hayes of Platts- 
burg. New York, and for several 
years remained upon his father's 
farm, where all of his children but 
one were born, but later removed 
to his present farm, near Grand 
Isle station. His wife died sud- 
denly in 1867, leaving three small 
children: Etta May (Mrs. George 
Stratton), Edmund Clayton and 
Grant. 

In 1868 he married (second) 
^Fartha Minckler of Grand Isle, 
and five children were the fruit of 
this union : Arthur C, a lawyer of 
Bangor, Maine, Charles Herman of 
Barre, Nina E., Charles B. of South 
Burlington, Raymond and Harry 
Royce Allen. 

Mr. Allen has followed the lines 
of general farming, his main re- 
sources being the dairy, sheep and 
an excellent orchard of standard 
apples. For many years he was 
engaged in buying stock on the two 
islands, where he is widely ac- 
quainted and well known as an 
active, kind-hearted and jovial citi- 
zen, a connecting link of old times 
with the present. IMr. Allen is an 
interested member of Grand Isle 
Grange, P. of H. 

MARTELE, Fred A. The sub- 
ject of this sketch is best known to 
the general public as the popular 
proprietor of the Belmont House at 
Grand Isle station. He w^as the 
son of "William and Celia (Parott) 
INIartele, and was born in South 



GRAND ISLE COUNTY. 



451 



Hero, May 22, 1870. Leaving 
home at 13 years of age, he made 
his own way in life. He engaged 
with Solon S. Griswold, one of the 
most respected and substantial 
farmers of Grand Isle, and made 
his home there until his marriage. 
He received a fair, common school 
education, an excellent training in 
farm economy and management 
and learned the blacksmith trade. 
In 1898 he married Bessie, the 
daughter of Herbert Vaughn of 
Chazy, New York, and for two 
years or more conducted a black- 



tel he conducts a good livery of five 
horses. A practical blacksmith, 
with considerable experience in fit- 
ting and training colts and speed 
horses, he conducts the livery with 
pleasure and profit and deals in 
carriage horses. Mr. Martele runs 
a daily stage line to Plattsburg, 
New York, during the winter, and 
for 10 years has been mail carrier 
on Route No. 1, R. F. D., one of the 
first routes established. He rents 
a small farm which furnishes the 
hay and grain for his livery and 
the vegetables and fruit for his ex- 




Belmont Hotel, Grand Isle, Fred A. Martele, Proprietor. 



smith shop at Grand Isle Corners. 
When the Rutland Railroad began 
building their depot at Grand Isle, 
Mr. Martele saw his opportunity. 
He sold his house at Grand Isle 
Corners at a handsome advance and 
bought an acre of land near the 
station on which he erected a barn 
and the front portion of his pres- 
ent hotel. As this is the only com- 
mercial hotel in town, he soon re- 
ceived a substantial patronage. In 
1905, as business increased, he 
built an extension and the hotel has 
now eight well-furnished guest 
rooms. In connection with the ho- 



cellent table. The culinary depart- 
ment is well conducted by Mrs. 
Martele and guests are entertained 
in a most satisfactory manner. For 
several years Mr. Martele has been 
engaged in buying stock for F. "W. 
Lewis of Champlain, New York, 
and during the past four years has 
bought apples for Charles Webber 
of New York City. He also buys 
wool. He has recently established 
coal yards near the depot — a great 
convenience to the public. 

Commencing with very little 
capital, but with plenty of push 
and perseverance, Mr. Martele is 



452 



SUCCESSFUL VERMONTERS. 



today one of the most useful and 
enterprising citizens of Grand Isle, 
and is doing his full share to up- 
build the town. He is a member 
of Isle of Patmos Lodge, F. & A. 
M. Fred A., and Bessie Martele 
have two sons, Donald and How- 
ard. 

HARRINGTON, Giles, son of 
Judson and Lydia Ann (William- 
son) Harrington, was boru in Jef- 




GiLES Harrington. 

ferson County, New York, April 
18, 1862. His ■ great-grandfather, 
Caleb Harrington, was an early 
pioneer of North Hero and there 
reared a large family, of whom 
Caleb was the only son. Judson, 
his son, was many years a respected 
farmer and citizen of that town. 
Five sons were born to Judson and 
Lydia Harrington : George R., 
Giles, Roscoe J., Arthur W. and 
Homer, w^ho died in infancy. All 
of the Harrington brothers fol- 
lowed the famous advice of Horace 



Greeley: "Go West, young man," 
and three of them are now located 
at Jamestown, North Dakota. 

Giles had the wholesome training 
of the farm and the district school 
at North Hero. In 1881, in his 
19th year, he went to Jamestown, 
North Dakota, and was there ac- 
tively and variously engaged for 
two years as a dealer in wood and 
coal. 

He married, in 1887, Minnie L., 
daughter of John Dodds, a sub- 
stantial farmer of Scotch descent, 
at North Hero. Two years later 
Mr. Harrington returned to his na- 
tive town and engaged in farming 
on the paternal farm of his wife, 
and continued until 1895, when he 
i-emoved wdth his family to Grand 
Isle Corners and engaged in gen- 
eral merchandise. 

This village, country merchant is 
an all-round man, meeting and 
dealing with all classes of his com- 
111 unity and attending closely and 
successfully to his business. Mr. 
Harrington keeps everything ex- 
pected at the general country store, 
the staples being dry goods, gro- 
ceries, boots and shoes, and carries 
on a lively and increasing business. 

A Democrat in politics, he has 
never sought or accepted public 
office. 

Mr. and Mrs. Harrington have 
an interesting family of four chil- 
dren : Hulda, Effie, Maurice and 
Lenna, all pupils at school. 

PARKER, Edward J., son of 
Reverend Ammi and Eveline 
(Squire) Parker, was born at Dan- 
ville, Quebec, January 3, 1842. 
He comes of stanch American 
stock. His grandfather. Reverend 
James Parker, married Mary Peck 
of Woodbridge, Connecticut, and 
settled in Cornwall in 1789. Rev- 
erend Ammi Parker, also a Qopgre- 



GEAND ISLE COUNTY. 



453 



gationalist clergyman, one of a 
family of seven children, settled 
in Danville, Quebec, where he 
preached for nearly half a century. 
Edward J. was also one of a fam- 
ily of seven children, the only one 
now living in Vermont. The mem- 
bers of the family are widely sep- 
arated; a brother, Joseph Homer, 




Residence of Edward J. Parkek. 

resides in Oklahoma, a sister in the 
City of Mexico, one in Montreal, 
another in Edmonton, Northwest 
Canada. 

Edward J. Parker was educated 
in the schools and academy of Dan- 
ville, Quebec. At 21 years of age 
he entered the employment of the 
Central Vermont Railroad and for 
eight years was located at Windsor, 
Alburg and Georgia. For two years 
he traveled in Iowa and Vermont as 
a butter buyer, the representative 
of a Boston house. There the cream- 
eries were just beginning to ope- 
rate in the West. In 1873 he re- 
turned to East Georgia and there 
installed the first creamery located 
in the state of Vermont and suc- 
cessfully conducted it for 15 years, 
a valuable object lesson, resulting 
in a dairy revolution. He then 
sold the creamery to the Franklin 
County Creamery Association, of 



which he was a promotor and be- 
came a stockholder, and was for 
one year superintendent. Later he 
sold out his interest and bought, in 
1892, his present fine farm of 130 
acres on the east shore and soon 
after erected his fine farm build- 
ings thereon. Meanwhile, a new 
career opened for him as the trav- 
eling agent of the De Laval Sepa- 
rator Company and for seven 
years he traveled through the east- 
ern and central states, appointing 
local agents, — a most interesting 
experience. During the past six 
years his attention has been de- 
voted to his farming, and the super- 
intendence of the adjoining "Fay- 
wood Farms" of 600 acres, the 
property of Major Alexander Da- 
vis, a retired veteran of the Civil 
War, formerly of Syracuse, New 
York, now of London, England. 




Circular Barn, Faywood Farms, 
Edward J. Parker. 

This is the largest farm estate in 
Grand Isle County. Some sixty 
acres of corn is raised for fodder 
and husking. The husking ma- 
chine, run by a 10-horse power gas- 
oline engine, husks 40 bushels per 
hour. In 1902, Mr. Parker had 
erected the great circular barn at 
Faywood, 861/^ feet in diameter 



454 



SUCCESSFUL VERMONTERS. 



89 feet in height, and in the center 
a circular silo 20 feet in diameter 
and 85 feet in height, with a capac- 
ity of 650 tons. 

Edward J. Parker married, in 
1867, Julia, daughter of Nathan 
Adams, a soldier of the War of 
1812, who was a son of Joseph Ad- 
ams, a Revolutionary soldier. The 
children are: Caroline E. (Mrs. 
Frank Bullis), Mary L. (Mrs. Clin- 
ton Tobias), Henry Adams Parker 
and Bessie E. Parker. 

Edward J. Parker is a Republi- 
can in politics. 

NORTH HERO. 

Population, Census of 1900, 712. 

This island town, a narrow .strip 
of rich farming land, nearly fifteen 
miles in length, contains an area of 
6,272 acres. It is the shire town 
of Grand Isle County. Originally 
called by the French Isle Longue, 
it was granted by the governor of 
Canada in 1737 to M. Contrecour, 
a captain of infantry, and was for 
a long time a subject of dispute 
between the French and English. 
October 27, 1779, the two islands 
were chartered to General Ethan 
Allen and Colonel Ira Allen and 
363 associates, and in their honor 
named the Two Heros. Near the 
center of the island a bay on the 
western shore nearly cuts the town 
in half. 

During the continuance of the 
Embargo Act of 1807 smuggling 
became quite prevalent and smug- 
glers, when hard pressed by the 
government officials, often carried 
their boats and cargoes across this 
bar, only a few rods in width, while 
the larger government craft were 
compelled to sail around the island 
in order to continue the pursuit. 



Hence it was called the "Carrying 
Place." 

On the 27th of March, 1792, at 
a town meeting, John Martin, Ben- 
jamin Butler and John Hutchins, 
Jr., were appointed a committee to 
raise a subscription for building a 
canal across this "carrying place," 
but they w^ere unsuccessful and the 
scheme was abandoned. There was 
originally a dense growth of hard- 
wood, spruce, hemlock and cedar 
on the island, but nearly all of this 
was cut off many years since. 

The soil is a rich, alluvial deposit 
from the waters of the lake, which 
once submerged the island, resting 
on a clay subsoil, and is well 
adapted to hay and grain and all 
farm crops. Orcharding is not 
pursued as extensively as at South 
Hero. 

The settlement of the town was 
commenced in 1783, when Enos 
AVood, Ebenezer Allen and Alex- 
ander Gordon came to the two He- 
ros, traveling across the lake on 
snowshoes, and drew cuts for their 
choice in locating their claims. The 
third choice fell to Wood, who lo- 
cated on the south end of North 
Hero. Later, the same year, they 
brought their families and settled 
on the land. Mr. Wood and his 
cousin, Solomon Wood, with their 
families, were the only residents 
until they were joined by others 
the following spring. The English 
also had a blockhouse erected here 
at a place called "Dutchman's 
Point," which was garrisoned, and 
not given up until 1796. The first 
census of the town, taken in 1791, 
shows it to have had a population 
of only 125. 

The town was organized March 
17, 1789, the meeting being held at 
the residence of Benjamin Butler. 
Nathan Hazen was chosen modera- 




The Birches, West SiiortK, Noijtu Hero. 



456 



StJCCESSFUL VERMONTERS. 



tor; Nathan Hutchins, Jr., town 
clerk ; Nathan Hazen, John Knight 
and John Bronson, selectmen; Sol- 
omon Wood, Benjamin Butler and 
Asahel Trumbull, listers; Enos 
Wood, constable ; John Martin, col- 
lector; Nathan Hutchins, Jacob 
Ball and Jabez Bronson, highway 
surveyors. The first justice of the 
peace was Nathan Hutchins, Jr., 
who was also first representative in 
1791. 



hotel, which was built in 1803, the 
building being used for judicial 
purposes until the court house was 
built in 1825. 

At the time of the battle of 
Plattsburg, September 11, 1814, a 
volunteer company was organized 
here under Joseph Hazen. When 
the British fleet passed up the lake 
the inhabitants who were left in 
the town, mostly women and chil- 
dren, flocked to the western shore 




Near North Hero. 



The first birth was that of Adin, 
son of Enos Wood, November 4, 
1785. The first school was taught 
by Lois Hazen in a barn owned by 
John Knight. The first framed 
schoolhouse was built in 1803. The 
first division of the town into 
school districts was made in 1793. 

Jed P. Ladd established the first 
store in 1809 and was postmaster 
of the first mail route, laid out four 
years later. He also kept the first 



of the southern end of the island 
to watch its progress and attack, 
with breathless suspense and ex- 
citement. 

The presfnt population of the 
town is not far from seven hun- 
dred. Farming in its various lines 
is the prevailing industry. Since 
the establishment of the Coopera- 
tive Creamery in the southern part 
of the island the dairy interest has 
largely increased in that part of 



GRAND I ISLE COUNTY. 



457 



the town, while in the northern 
part general farming obtains. 

Elisha Hibbard, born in 1813, the 
oldest man in town and a grandson 
of Elisha Hibbard, a Revolutionary- 
soldier, still retains a clear recollec- 
tion of earlier events in town. He 
was by occupation a teacher and 
surveyor. In his opinion the gen- 



handsome stone structure with 
modern appointments. 

The highways in this town and 
in all of the island towns are ex- 
cellent and permanent roads. The 
connection of the several towns 
with each other by bridges and the 
construction of the extension of the 
Rutland Railroad from Alburgh 




William Haynes. 



eral average of comfort and well- 
being is higher in town than ever 
before. 

The village of North Hero is very 
pleasantly located on the east shore 
on City Bay. It contains the court 
house, two stores, a hotel, the Meth- 
odist Church and ten or a dozen 
dwellings. The court house is a 



and Burlington, with a station for 
each town, was an immense acquisi- 
tion and places the "Island coun- 
ty" in close touch with the great 
commercial centers. 

Haynes, Hon. William, son of 
Doctor Elijah and Polly A. (Dar- 
row) Haynes, was born at North 
Hero, January 22, 1850. His ances- 



458 



SUCCESSFUL VEKMONTERS. 



try was of the sturdy New Eng- 
land stock. ]\roses Haynes, his 
grandfather, came here from Con- 
necticut, one of the early settlers, 
and located on the farm near where 
Judge William Haynes now re- 
sides. He married Clara Kinsley, 
a scion of a somewhat famous fam- 
ily. Daniel Kinsley, the father of 
Clara, served in the Continental 
army three years. Moses and 
Clara Kinsley Haynes reared a 
large family, of whom none are 
now living except Lerah, who is 
ninety years of age. 

Doctor Elijah Haynes was a man 
of unusual alnlity. He was four- 
teen years of age when his father 
died, and was the oldest of the 
children. His mother died two 
years later. He cultivated the 
farm, and with the help of his old- 
est sister kept the family together. 
He devoted every spare moment to 
reading and study. As soon as he 
could leave the farm to the care of 
younger brothers, he devoted his 
time to study and completed the 
four-year classical course at U. V. 
M. in three years and then com- 
pleted his medical studies and 
graduated from the medical de- 
partment of the U. V. ]M. After 
graduating, he located on the pa- 
ternal farm and for many years 
was a leading physician on the 
islands. He never refused to an- 
swer a call from rich or poor alike, 
and died a martyr to his profes- 
sional duties at the age of sixty. 
He was judge of probate for the 
District of Grand Isle for eight 
years, December 1. 1852, to Decem- 
ber 1, 1860. He was a life-long 
student and could speak several 
languages. Four sons of Doctor 
Haynes are living. Doctor Benton 
Haynes of Grand Isle, Moses of 



Rideau, Ontario, William and Lu- 
man E. 

William Haynes was educated 
at the public schools of his native 
town and at a select school at Bed- 
ford, Province of Quebec. 

With the assistance of his mother 
and a younger brother, he man- 
aged the paternal farm for several 
years, finally becoming sole owner 
l)y buying his brother's, Luman E., 
interest, who is now located on a 
farm near Burlington. 

The farm contains about one 
hundred acres, located a half mile 
from the Grand Isle bridge, on the 
shores of Lake Champlain, and in 
recent years has been conducted on 
dairy lines, with a productive or- 
chard. In 1882, Mr. Haynes went 
to North Dakota, then a frontier, 
and took up a preemption claim of 
160 acres, government land, and 
remained there two years, enjoying 
some novel experiences. In 1886 
he returned and disposed of his 
land at good advantage. 

William Haynes married Miss 
Josie Miner in 1875. They have 
seven children : Grace, wife of Al- 
bert A. Hazen, who carries on the 
home farm; Jay F., butter maker 
at Underhill ; Chauncey W., an 
electrical engineer at Schenectady, 
New York; Fanny, residing at 
home; Guy K., telegraph operator 
at Vergennes ; Harry W. and Effie, 
who reside at home. Mr. Haynes 
served as clerk of the school board 
for ten years and has held several 
other town offices. He was a mem- 
ber of the General Assembly in 
1902. Since 1890 he has been 
judge of probate, unanimously re- 
elected as the candidate of both 
parties. He is a member of Isle 
of Patmos Lodge, F. and A. M., 
and of Hill Chapter, Royal Arch 
INIasons of Alburgh. 



GRANT) ISLE COUNTY. 



459 



HAZEN, Uriah H., son of Uriah 
and Mary S. (Honsinger) Hazen, 
was born on the ancestral home- 
stead at North Hero, September 21, 
18-15. Here four generations of 
the family, during a period of more 
than a century, have lived and 
loved and toiled. It is a produc- 
tive homestead of 118 acres, on the 



when his father came here, and al- 
ways lived upon the farm until his 
death in 1869, at 83 years of age. 
His widow died in 1883 at the age 
of 73. 

U. H. Hazen was his youngest 
son and after completing a good, 
practical education in the common 
and select schools, remained on the 




UuiAH H. Hazen. 



west shore, two miles south of 
North Hero station. Joseph Ha- 
zen came to this farm from Con- 
necticut in March, 1790, with a 
family of eight children. Six of 
his children located in the town, 
while the others removed to Ohio. 
Uriah, the youngest son of Jo- 
seph, was only four years of age 



paternal homestead and solaced the 
declining years of his aged parents. 

Mr. Hazen 's is a strong person- 
ality, possessing a splendid phy- 
sique and of such imposing stature, 
fine presence and genial address as 
to attract attention in any assem- 
blage. 

It has been his lot to serve his 



460 



SUCCESSFUL VERMONTERS. 



town, as he was elected upon the 
board of selectmen at the first 
March meeting after attaining his 
majority, serving many times 
since on the board, sometimes as 
first selectman. He has held the 
office of health officer ever since the 
statute was enacted creating that 
office, and also holds the office of 
town grand juror, justice of the 
peace, notary public and town 
agent, all oi which, except the last, 
he has held many terms. 

He is an independent Republi- 




Charles H. Tudhope. 

can in political opinion and action. 
Reading and travel have added 
breadth and culture to a naturally 
strong mind. 

Mr. Hazen married, in 1866, 
Mary J., daughter of Christopher 
and Abigail Pillow. There are six 
living children, three sons and 
three daughters, all of whom are 
married except the youngest 
daughter. Mrs. Hazen died in 



1902. Mr. Hazen married as his 
second wife Miss Annie M. Gate- 
house of Montreal, in 1904. 

Mr. Hazen is deeply interested 
in educational and religious move- 
ments; has served several years as 
town superintendent of schools and 
superintendent of the Methodist 
Episcopal Sunday-school; also 
holds a local preacher's license in 
the Methodist Episcopal Church. 

He is at present making a spec- 
ialty of dairying and is managing 
director of the North Hero Co- 
operative Creamery Company. 

TUDHOPE Family. In 1864 
James Tudhope, a sturdy citizen of 
Paisley, Scotland, came to North 
Hero and two years later he was 
joined by his wife, Mary, and their 
two children. He was by trade a 
blacksmith and started his shop 
with a scanty outfit, but the busi- 
ness was reinforced by a liberal 
stock of Scotch industry, shrewd- 
ness and perseverance. He pros- 
pered slowly but surely, reared a 
large family, all of whom are well 
settled in life, and after 30 years' 
uood service at the forge retired 
with a modest competence. He and 
his good wife are both living, blithe 
and hearty, at the age of 72. 

John Tudhope was the oldest son 
and assisted his father in the shop. 
Later he clerked for several years 
and obtained the means to take a 
commercial course at Eastman's 
Business College, and in 1882 en- 
gaged in trade at North Hero with 
a small stock of general merchan- 
dise. His enterprise was success- 
ful and in 1900 he built the present 
store, 26 by 65 feet, two stories. 

In 1903 his youngest brother, 
Charles H. Tudhope, became a 
partner in the business, which is 
now the leading mercantile house 
in town. The firm carries nearly 



GEAND ISLE COUNTY. 



461 



everything usually found in the 
country store, from a box of tooth- 
picks to a carload of flour and deals 
in farm produce of all kinds. 

John Tudhope was town repre- 
sentative in 1890, and is the post- 
master at North Hero. Charles H. 
Tudhope was educated at the 
Swanton High School. In 1904 he 
represented North Hero in the Gen- 
eral Assembly at the age of 28, one 
of the youngest members. James 
Tudhope, Jr., is engaged in the 
clothing trade in Minneapolis. Da- 
vid conducts the paternal black- 
smith shop. George is senior mem- 
ber of the produce commission firm 
of Tudhope & Borst of Boston. 
Anna is the wife of John Harricau, 
state's attorney of Grand Isle 
County. ]\Iartha Tudhope married 
C. W. D. Prouty, a merchant of 
Swanton. John, George and Charles 
H. Tudhope are esteemed members 
of the IMasonic fraternity. In po- 
litical opinion and action they are 
Republicans. 

FEFEE, Holland J., son of 
Judson and Mary Ann (Tatro) 
Fefee, was born in North Hero, No- 
vember 14, 1853. He was brought 
up on a farm and has followed that 
honorable occupation successfully 
all his life. He was a member of a 
family of eight children, of whom 
six are now living. His parents 
were poor and Holland left home 
at 14 years of age to make his own 
way in the world, and worked out 
with farmers in his native town. 

In 1879, he married Alice E., 
daughter of Amasa Hazen of North 
Hero. He then went on to the Ha- 
zen farm and has remained there 
until the present time. The farm 
contains 96 acres, suitably divided 
into tillage, pasture and woodland. 
There is an orchard of three acres, 
mainly of standard winter apples. 



For many years a specialty of Mr, 
Fefee 's farming has been the rais- 
ing of improved yellow-eyed beans, 
the seed being selected with great 
care, and his yield and quality is 
second to none. He raises from 
one hundred to two hundred and 
fifty bushels annually. He usually 
conducts a dairy of from six to ten 
cows. A special feature in recent 
years has been the breeding, rear- 
ing and training of colts of the 




Holland J, Fefee. 



best standard trotting lines, such as 
the Wilkes Almonts and Clay Al- 
monts. He reared and sold Sadie 
M., 2.243^, to Oscar Merrill. He 
usually keeps several fine brood 
mares and is making a success of 
horse breeding. 

He represented North Hero in 
the Legislature in 1880 and again 
in 1890. He was constable four 
years and for six years in succes 



462 



SUCCESSFUL VEEMONTERS. 



sioii chairman of the board of se- 
lectmen. 

His standing as a citizen and 
business man is sufficiently attested 
by the above facts. 

The farm is pleasantly located 
one mile north of the "Carrying 
Place." Holland and Alice Hazen 



his father, after an ocean voyage of 
14 weeks. His entire schooling 
consisted of two winter terms, but 
l)eing a man of strong will and ex- 
cellent natural ability, and a great 
reader, he became well informed on 
many subjects. With proverbial 
Scotch thrift and energy, he ac- 




Wakd B. Dodds. 



Fefee have an only child, AUie 
Bell, who resides with her parents. 
DODDS, Ward Beecher, son of 
John and Hulda (Hazen) Dodds, 
was born at North Hero, on the pa- 
ternal farm, March 12, 1867. 
John Dodds was born in Paisley, 
Scotland, in 1818, and came to this 
country at the age of 14 with 



quired a large and productive 
farm. He reared a family of nine 
children: Addison, Minnie (Mrs. 
Giles Harrington of Grand Isle), 
and W. Beecher being the only sur- 
viving members. 

He died in 1892, at the age of 
75. 

W. Beecher Dodds completed his 



GRAND ISLE COUNTY. 



468 



education at Spaulding Academy 
and graduated from the Burliiio- 
ton High School in 1885. He re- 
turned and assisted his father in 
the care of the splendid farm of 260 
acres. A judicious rotation on the 
lines of corn, grain and clover, has 
constantly increased the fertility 
of the farm. He conducts a dairy 
of from twenty-five to forty cows 
and is breeding along the most 
famous and productive Holstein 
lines, such as De Kol, 2d, Pauline 
Paul, Princess of Wayne, Cornuco- 
pia and Shadelands, and the off- 
spring of his herd has a ready and 
remunerative sale. Mr. Dodds is 
the type of the intelligent, pro- 
gressive and successful farmer. He 
is the representative of North Hero 
in the Legislature. Ward B. and 
Mary (Allen) Dodds have an in- 
teresting family of five children : 
John Allen, Ira Heman, Beulah, 
Irene and Elsie. 

In 1888, he married Mary, 
daughter of Heman Allen of 
North Hero, a descendant of an 
early and prominent family. 

After his father's death. Ward 
B. Dodds bought the shares of the 
other heirs and has since conducted 
a system of intensive and extensive 
farming. He has built, or re- 
built the fine farm buildings, laid 
long distances of drain tile, set out 
more than eight hundred apple 
trees of the best winter varieties, 
that are in splendid condition, with 
600 already in bearing. Believing 
that "it is only the best that pays, ' ' 
his motto is Excelsior. 

Mr. Dodds is a member of Isle of 
Patmos Lodge, No. 17, F. & A. M. 
of South Hero. 

CLARK, Hon. Warren, son of 
Ransom L. and Sarah A. (Hyde) 
Clark, was born in North Hero, Oc- 
tober 22, 1847. 



Ransom L. Clark was an exten- 
sive farmer, a well-known and act- 
ive citizen, several years sheriff of 
the county, and died in 1902 at the 
age of 82. He was a man of giant 
frame and strong mind, a self-made 
man, and the impress of his virile 
personality was strongly marked 
upon his children. He reared a 
family of eight children who lived 
to maturity : Clinton, who was a 
member of the Fifth Iowa Cavalry, 
and died in the army; Mary Ann, 
who now lives on the old home- 
stead; Warren, Alice (deceased); 
Martha, Mrs. Charles Wiley of 
St. Albans; Charles, an exten- 
sive ranch owner and cattle dealer 
in North Dakota ; Elroy N., general 
attorney of the Denver and Rio 
Grande Railroad system, of Den- 
ver, Colorado, and Clayton, a com- 
mercial traveler of Boston. 

Sarah Hyde Clark is living at 
North Hero, at the age of 87, still 
in full possession of her mental fac- 
ulties — a connecting link with the 
past generation. 

Stephen Clark, grandfather of 
Warren, married a daughter of 
Jedediali Ladd, one of the earliest 
pioneers of North Hero and a nota- 
ble man of his time. Warren 
Clark attended the excellent com- 
mon and select schools of his native 
town and St. Albans Academy. At 
the age of 21 he went to Alton, Illi- 
nois, and there spent several years, 
and soon after his return married 
Josephine E., daughter of Joseph 
Evarts, a well-known and prosper- 
ous citizen of Georgia and a grand- 
son of Levi Allen, brother of Ethan 
Allen. 

Warren Clark then bought the 
farm where he now resides, a splen- 
did grass and grain farm of 122 
acres, lying on the east shore. The 
house was built more than a een- 



464 



SUCCESSFUL VERMONTERS. 



tury ago by Daniel Hazen and still 
retains its original form. 

After farming there 14 years, he 
moved to Swanton and was there 
engaged in the boot and shoe bnsi- 




Kansom L. Clakk. 

ness some 10 years. While there his 
wife and two children died. His 
surviving son, Homer Jenuison 
Clark, is now a sophomore in the 
University of Vermont. 

In 1894, Mr. Clark married Ida 
iNI. Hogle, a teacher and a lady of 
rare mental and social endowments. 
During the past 10 years they have 
resided on the home farm. 

His specialty is the breeding of 
fine thoroughbred Shropshire sheep 
and of colts of the most famous 
trotting lines. As a farmer he 
seeks and produces the best, at 
whatever cost. 

Mr. Clark represented North 
Hero as a Republican, in 1882, and 



has filled most of the town offices. 
He was elected associate judge of 
Grand Isle County in 1902. 

Judge Clark is a thorough, hon- 
orable and energetic citizen, a mem- 
ber of the Methodist Church and 
of Isle of Patmos Lodge, F. & A. 
^I. His grand old rooftree has 
been a harbor of hospitality for 
many a thankful guest. 

DURHAM, John W., son of 
William and Jane (Pallister) Dur- 
ham, was born in Lacolle, Quebec, 
October 24, 1856. He is of Eng- 
lish descent, from both the paternal 
and maternal lines. His boyhood 
and youth were spent in Canada 
and Alburg, and he came to North 




Warken Clark. 

Hero in 1874 and worked out on 
farms for leading farmers of this 
town. 

He worked four years on the 
farm of James McBride, and in 



GKAND ISLE COUNTY. 



465 



March, 1882, married his daughter, 
Mary. The yoiyig couple then lo- 
cated on the Amasa Hazen farm, 
a splendid homestead of 75 acres, 
on the east shore, two miles and one 
half north of the "carrying place." 

James McBride was a native of 
Edinburgh, Scotland, and came to 
this island as a young man with 
James Dodds. He was a thrifty, 
energetic farmer and amassed a 
handsome property, including three 
good farms. His family consisted 
of 10 children, two sons and eight 
daughters, of whom only three 
daughters are now living. 

Mr. Durham proved an indus- 
trious, thrifty and successful 
farmer, and soon made great im- 
provements on the homestead. 
Some fourteen years ago he began 
setting out fruit trees and he now 
has 720 fine standard winter apple 
trees, a splendid growing orchard, 
all in bearing. In the spring of 
1896 he erected his large barn and 
during the season of 1904 his ele- 
gant residence, one of the best 
farmhouses in the county. It is 
provided with modern improve- 
ments, a furnace, bath room, hot 
and cold water on both floors. It 
is fronted l)y majestic trees, by the 
beautiful lake and the distant out- 
lines of the Green Mountain peaks. 

Mr. and Mrs. Durham have an 
interesting family of five children 
living. Herbert A. is a sophomore 
in the University of Vermont ; Ella 
M. died at nine years of age ; Edith 
E., Ernest J., Marion P., Arnold 
McBride are at home. 

Mr. Durham conducts an excel- 
lent flock of 80 grade Shropshire 
sheep and raises colts. He is a use- 
ful and successful citizen, takes an 
active interest in the cause of edu- 
cation, and has served six years as 
a school director. 

A— 31 



ALBURGH. 

Population, Census of 1900, 1,476. 

In the early days the French 
called the point of land upon 
which is located the town of Al- 
burgh, ' ' Point Algonquin ' ' ; later 
it was called "Missisco Leg." It 
was next known as "Missisco 
Tongue," from its peculiar shape; 
and still later it was known as 
"Caldwell's Upper Manor," but 
finally Alburgh, after Gen. Ira Al- 
len, it being abbreviated from Al- 
lensburgh. 

The earliest civilized settlement 
of which we have any authentic ac- 
count was made by the French in 
1731 at Windmill Point, in the 
west part of the town. This was 
under a charter from the French 
crown, issued to "Senator Fran- 
cois Foucault, councillor to the 
Supreme Council of Quebec." 
This was confirmed by another 
charter, bearing the date of April 
3, 1733, ratified by His Majesty the 
King of France, April 6, 1734. The 
earlier settlement was of short 
duration. Another was com- 
menced in 1741, only ten years 
later, and was soon abandoned. 
Senator Foucault transferred his 
grant to General Frederick Handi- 
mand, who was governor of Can- 
ada from 1778 to 1784. Handi- 
mand subseriuently conveyed the 
same to Henry Caldwell, Esq. 
This title subsequently descended 
to John Caldwell, his son, who sold 
it to Heman Allen of Highgate. 
About the year 1782, some emi- 
grants from St. Johns made a 
settlement within the present lim- 
its of the town. It was then 
known as "Caldwell's Upper 
Manor." The first male child 
born in town was William Sowles, 
in 1788. His grandson, William 



466 



SUCCESSFUL VERMONTERS. 



A. Soiile, is the present represent- 
ative of the town in the General 
Assembl}'. 

February 23, 1781, the General 
Assembly of Vermont, sitting at 
Windsor, gave to Ira Allen and 
sixty-four others a charter of the 
town by the name Alburgh. 

Previous to 1792, the settlers 
were destitute of all ci^dl govern- 
ment. At this time, acting under 
orders from Governor Chittenden, 
the inhabitants organized and 
chose to^A'n ofiScers. 

About 1800, Ephraim Mott built 
a windmill for flouring on the west 
shore. It was a circular, stone 
building, and while only coarse 
grains were floured, it proved a 
great aid to the settlers. 

In 1830 William L. Sowles, or 
Soules, and Hon. William H. Ly- 
man erected a sa^vmill in the west 
part of the town near the province 
line. Four years later this mill 
caught fire and was burned. Hon. 
William H. Lyman was a man of 
great worth and won distinction 
in the public service of both his 
toAvn and county. (See William 
L. Mott, page 468.) 

The quiet of the town was seri- 
ously disturbed by the proximity 
to the border in the Canadian Re- 
bellion of 1837- '38, an extended 
and highly interesting account of 
which may be found in Hemen- 
way's "Vermont Historical Gazet- 
teer," Vol. II, page 499. 

In 1850 the town received rail- 
road advantages, being connected 
with the mainland by two bridges, 
each nearly a mile in length — one 
across ]Missisquoi Bay to the east, 
the other from Windmill Point to 
Rouse's I^oint. 

Alburgh was first represented 
iu the General Assembly, under the 
name of "Missisco Leg," in 1786, 



by Thomas P. Lord. This was 
while Vermont was maintaining 
her independence, before being ad- 
mitted into the Union. 

The first town officers were : 
Clerk, Thomas Reynolds; con- 
stable, William Sowles: selectmen, 
Samuel Mott, Jacob Coit, Richard 
Mott and Joshua Planning. 

The first lawyer was S. Holton. 
in 1805. After him came True- 
man A. Barber, in about 1812. of 
whom old Lewis Brunson said, 
epitaphically : 

"Here lies T. A. Barber beneath this 
stone ; 
He shaved the people to the bone; 
And when his body filled this frrave. 
His soul went down to H — 1 to shave. 
All Beelzebub's infei'nal crew, — 
He shaved them all but one or two; 
Agast, these few were heard to say, 
'For God's sake, Barber, keep away.' " 

In 1869, William Brayton, the 
town clerk, made a list of the sons 
of Alburgh who took part in the 
great Civil War. This list is not 
entirely complete, yet it contains a 
hundred names of the patriotic 
sons of the town. It is to be re- 
gretted that no absolutely accurate 
list can be found. 

SOULE, WiLLi.ui A., a son of 
William T. Soule, was born in Al- 
burgh, September 7, 1852. He re- 
ceived his education in Isle La 
Motte, South Hero High School 
and at ]\Iontpelier Seminary. 

The Soule family is one of the 
oldest in America. George Soule, 
ancestor of the subject of this 
sketch, came in the Mayflower on 
her now famous trip to Plymouth 
in 1620. 

Mr. Soule 's grandfather. Will- 
iam, was the first white male child 
born in Alburgh. 

After Mr. Soule completed his 
education, he gave his attention 
for a time to the study of the law, 



GRAND ISLK COUNTY. 



467 



but later determined to live close 
to nature and consequently en- 
gaged in agriculture. He has al- 
ways taken a lively interest in pub- 
lie afiPairs that would aid his town 
or county, and while not an office- 
seeker he has frequently been 
called to public places. He has 
served Alliurgh as school director. 




William A. Soule. 

superintentlent of schools, lister, 
justice and in 1906 was chosen to 
represent his town in the General 
Assembly. Here he was assigned 
to the committee on elections, 
which had much important legis- 
lation and many perplexing ques- 
tions to pass upon. Here Mr. 
Soule won high ])lace as a working, 
conscientious legislator. Toward 
the close of the session, he won 
high rank by his masterly defence 
of the Soule seining bill. So 
clear, concise and forceable did Mr. 
Soule lay the merits of this meas- 
ure before the House of Repre- 



sentatives that it passed easily 
over an adverse report by the 
committee on game and fisheries. 

Mr. Soule was united in mar- 
riage to Ella A. Hall and three 
children have come to bless their 
union. 

LADD, Jed P., was born in Al- 
l)urgh, November 9, 1868. He re- 
ceived his early education in the 
public schools and later in the 
High School of St. Albans, Rock 
Point Institute and at Cornell Uni- 
versity Law School. 

Mr. Ladd has served his town in 
the usual town offices, and has had 
the unusual distinction of repre- 
senting Alburgh in the (leneral As- 
sembly two terms, 1902, and again 
ill 1904. In 1902 he served with 




Jed p. Laud. 

;il)ility and distinction as chairman 
of the committee on elections and 
a member of the judiciary commit- 
tee. In 1904 he served on the judi- 
ciary connnittee and on the special 
caucus committee. In all his leg- 
islative work he was regarded as a 
strong personality. 



468 



SUCCESSFUL VERMONTERS. 



BASTIEN, Reverend J. M. H. 
It was in January, 1871, that 
Bishop Rappe, animated with apos- 
tolic zeal, came to Alburgh and 
built a little church for the scat- 
tered Catholics of the town. He 
ministered with great success until 
the year 1877. He was succeeded by 
the Reverend Francis Yvenec, who 
cared for the parish until the close 
of the year 1881. The two follow- 
ing years the position was filled by 
Reverend Charles Prevost. Rever- 




Rev. J. M. H. Bastien. 

end G. Geaudeau, resident priest 
of Cl^renceville, Quebec, adminis- 
tered to the parish from 1884 to 
1886. Reverend J. M. Karlidou 
was appointed regular pastor of 
Alburgh in 1886 and held the posi- 
tion until he died in 1898. 

Reverend J. M. H. Bastien was 
then appointed by Bishop Michaud 
to succeed him, and entered this 
field May 19, 1899. Under his ef- 
ficient administration the parish 
has largely grown in numbers and 
interest. The church was exten- 



sively repaired and an elegant rec- 
tory was erected, which commands 
a fine view of the lake. 

Father Bastien was born 33 
years ago in Montreal, Quebec. He 
received his early education in the 
parochial schools, made his classics 
at St. Theresa College, his philoso- 
phy at Montreal Seminary, and 
theology at St. Mary's Seminary, 
Baltimore, ]\Iaryland. He was or- 
dained October 2, 1896, in the 
cathedral of Burlington, by the 
Right Reverend J. S. Michaud, D. 
D. His first appointment was 
at Norton Mills, where he remained 
three years. He then came to Al- 
l)urgh and for the last seven years 
has been devoting his energies to 
the spiritual interests of Alburgh 
and Isle La Motte, the church at 
the latter place being also under his 
care. Father Bastien possesses 
that enthusiasm, geniality and per- 
sistence which achieves success and 
wins the esteem of the people. 

MOTT, William Lyman, son of 
Sumner F. and Maria J. (Lyman) 
Mott, was born in Alburgli, March 
23, 1855. He is the oldest local 
representative of one of the oldest 
and most prominent families in 
town. Three brothers, Samuel, 
Benjamin and Jacob, came here as 
early pioneers. Samuel Mott was 
a justice of the peace when the con- 
flict of authority with Canada was 
pending, aiid Joseph ]\Iott was con- 
stable. Joseph M. ]\Iott, John M. 
Mott and Thomas Mott represented 
the town of Alburgh from 1822 to 
1828 and Sumner F. Mott was later 
a representative. 

Hon. William H. Lyman, the 
maternal grandfather and name- 
sake of William L. I\Iott, built the 
first steam sawmill in 1830 and rep- 
resented both his town and county 
in the General Assembly. Richard 



GRAND ISLE COUNTY. 



469 



Lyman, the first American ances- 
tor, came to this country in the 
Mayflower, or soon after, and died 
in Massachusetts in 1640. 

William L. Mott's educational 
advantages were limited to the 
common schools of his native town. 
He was brought up on his father's 
farm, the only son, but being nat- 
urally ingenious learned the wheel- 
wright's trade. At the age of 22 
he went to Kansas, where he re- 
mained two years, making a tour 
of inspection. He then returned 
to his native state, remained for a 
period of three years, and found a 
suitable helpmeet in Miss Helen 
Cronkrite of Clinton County, New 
York. 

Mr. Mott spent two years in Bat- 
tle Creek, Michigan, where he was 
engaged as a carpenter and joiner. 
At the earnest solicitations of his 
mother and only sister, he returned 



in 1889 to the old home and cared 
for them. 

He erected a wheelwright and 
carriage-repair shop and installed 
a six horse-power engine for grind- 
ing grain, which soon proved inade- 
quate to his increasing patronage. 
In 1899 he installed a 30 horse- 
power gasoline engine, and a large 
business of custom grinding within 
a radius of 10 miles centers here. 
About forty thousand bushels have 
been ground in a single year, and 
Mott's mill and repair shop is an 
important industrial factor for the 
farmers. 

Mr. Mott is a citizen of independ- 
ent and original opinions, a Repub- 
lican in politics, and for several 
years has officiated as trial justice 
of peace. 

The only child of William L. and 
Helen Mott is Laura, who resides 
with her parents. 




AUTHOR'S REMARKS. 



N 1903, when I conceived the idea — and began to carry it into 
operation — of publishing a series of volumes to cover Ver- 
inont historically and liiographically under the title of Suc- 
cessful Vermonters, to trace down through the long line of 
pioneers, patriots and soldiers, the lives, works and accomplishments 
of the sons of Vermont, many, better acquainted with the difficulties 
to be encountered than I, expressed grave doubts of the practicability 
of a work as exhaustive as my hopes and plans contemplated. Works 
of a somewhat similar nature had been undertaken and met with 
indifferent success or tinancial failure. My determination to include 
that great body of Vermonters — by birth or adoption — who are men of 
quality, honor, honesty, integrity and moral worth; men who have 
contributed materially to the development and progress of the state; 
men who love our institutions, our traditions and our people, without 
regard to the amount of their material acquirements or the number 
of high political offices held, for I am convinced that the acquirement 
of vast wealth or high politicial office is not of necessity standards of 
true worth or great success; to include so many who had contrib- 
uted to the building of the several communities and whose lives 
and characters had always been an inspiration to those who happily 
came in contact with them, was an ambition that I have long cher- 
ished, believing that each had justly won a place in the hearts of our 
people. 

Vermonters are a peculiar people. They have builded not upon 
sand but on the eternal hills a grand commonwealth. She has en- 
deared herself to her sons in a peculiar and lasting way. In this day 
we" often hear a crj^ for "a newer, a greater Vermont." Vermont is 
ever new, ever great, for she has met and solved problems that few of 
her sister states have grappled with. The voice of "Freedom and 
Unity" may be heard here as nowhere else. From the day (July, 
1777) when she led all the rest of the states and counties of this con- 
tinent in the abolishment of slavery, to the present time, there has 
been broadcast a distinctively Vermont spirit. There is a voice that 
calls, a voice that calls so that when once you have heard it, it will 
grip you with its melody until at last you answer, "Here I am!" 
A song of her eternal hills that comes down through whispering 
maples, lilting with the secrets of her mighty forests, her sun-kissed 
mountains and her dreamy valleys washed by the clamorous streams; 
it is a song of life that sets the alert heart beating in a new time to its 
melodies. There is a vivid inspiration that makes our people breath a 



472 author's remarks. 

deeper breath of living joy, that makes them live, all imknowing, the 
lives some poets sing of, and sends them at last, when their own day 
has come, to sleep contented under its high blue skies, willing enough 
to turn down the last page because the book of life has been such good 
reading. We grow prosperous as the years go by, but the mere dol- 
lar mark has never been rung on its coin of life, the scrapping hunt 
for money as the end of things has never sent it on the squalid trail 
of profit-hunting gain, the haggard straining face of the market place, 
white and drawn, has never marked the visages of our people. The 
proof of it is in the history of the state. It may be foiTnd, by those 
who care to search, in the lives of our people, who have made the state 
what she is today. 

Vermont has prospered because the genius for prosperity was in the 
blood and brain of her sturdy sons and noble daughters. Here the 
crops grow abundant, the trees grow rich with blossoms and red with 
fruit, and we know each from each as well as some gleaming miser 
laiows each dollar from another in his horde. There is something in 
the air, some instinctive knowledge of the mysteries of the unnum- 
bered ages that sleep, hidden behind the granite faces of these insol- 
uble hills; some breath that lifts you in spite of yourself beyond the 
range of sordid things and sends your nostrils tilting to sniff a breath 
from the horizon of creation. 

We do not build skyscrapers here or boast of them, for have we not 
Mount Mansfield, Jay Peak, Piscah and the Camel's Hump? We al- 
ready live too high in the clouds to measure success with a foot rule. 
The quiet and cultured air of our people is not the least of our minor 
charms, for we are the least boastful of any in America. Vermont 
stands high, the glorified mistress of them all, flanked by its green 
hills, the silvery waters of Memphremagog and Champlain, with the 
song of a deep light, swinging triumphantly through our beautiful 
meadows, deep forests and the clear blue sky above for a sunlit canopy. 
Truly, we need no new Vermont. 

It is to perpetuate the memory of those who have builded so well 
that I have labored. The first volume of the proposed series covering 
Caledonia, Essex and Orleans counties seems to have met with favor. 
I know of no more fitting words to bring these brief remarks to a close 
than repeating the closing paragraphs of my remarks in Volume I. I 
said: 

If I shall have added to the material for the future historian ; if I 
shall have preserved the biography and history of any of the families 
of those gracious, temperate, and valiant old state builders, whose 
works shall live throughout all time ; if I shall win the approval of the 
people of our beloved state, then, and only then, shall I not have 
labored in vain. 

The assembling of the large amount of material here used, the con- 
sulting of an almost innumerable number of authorities and records, 
is a task that one might well wish to avoid. The anxious care and 
watchfulness one must exercise to eliminate so far as possible errors, 
is great indeed, and yet I have found this a labor of love. Errors 



author's remarks. 



473 



there are, for perfection is stamped upon the works of God alone 
progression upon the works of man. In this I have labored towards 
progression, well knowing that perfection was unattainable. 

So with these few remarks I consign my labor to an ever kind and 
charitable public, trusting that it will in a measure prove both use- 
ful and helpful to those who love to learn more of men that thev 
may better know God. 




GENERAL INDEX. 



LAMOILLE COUNTY. 



HISTORICAL. 



Belvidere 

Cambridge 

Eden 

Elmore 
Hyde Park 
Johnson 

Lamoille County 
Morristown 

Stowe 

Waterville 



PAGE 

178 
150 
100 

86 

4 

113 

1 

42 

133 

91 

Wolcott 167 



ENGRAVINGS. 
Not included in Biographical Matter. 

Asbestos Mines at Eden 106 

Academy, Lamoille Central 35 

Academy, People's 43 

Congregational Church, Hyde Park 8 
Court House, Lamoille County 
Dow, Rev. Lorenzo 

Eden Corners 

Johnson Normal School 

Lamoille County National Bank 
Lamoille County Savings Bank and 

Trust Co 
Mt. Mansfield, Summit of 
Page, Carroll S., Hyde Park Plant of 
Stnwe, Soldiers' Memorial Building 



2 

5 

100 

114 

9 



10 

134 

7 

137 



BIOGRAPHICAL. 



Akeley, Hon. Henry C 138 

Allen, George B 32 

Atwell, William J 107 

Bacon, Oliver D 88 

Bacon, Dr. Hem-y W 111 

Barrows, Dr. Harry W 148 

Bicknell, Fred G 130 

Billings, James J 79 



PAGE 

Billings, Ernest J 80 

Billings, Harold W 81 

Blair, Noel B 74 

Blake, Captain Cliarles W 102 

Blake, Ben B 104 

Boynton, Hon. Ai N 56 

Brigham, Hon. Waldo 12 

Butts, L. Porter 25 

Burt, Charles E 147 

Campbell, Calvin 38 

Campbell, Oscar N 40 

Chapman, Don H ] 60 

Cheney, Hon. Thomas C — ■ — 54- 

Cheney, William S 53 

Churchill. William J 90 

Congregational Church, Hyde Park 8 

Clark, George W 64 

Dodge, Harrison 66 

Doty, Colonel George W 57 

Eddy, Charles F 145 

Fife, Seth A 169 

Fitch, Cordilla W 64 

Fleetwood, Hon. Frederick G 51 

Fuller, Rev. Jonathan K 120 

Fullington, John T 151 

Fullington, Hon. Frederick H 154 

Gleed, Hon. Philip K 50 

Goddard, Amandus L 33 

Haskell. Charles E 175 

Hendee, Governor George W. 75 

Hotel Phoenix 38 

Hotel Johnson 126 

Hubbell, Ralph M 170 

Hulburd, Hon. Roger W 17 

Hunt, Bertron A 127 

Jackson, Hon. Heber A 95 

Junkins, C. Edson 36 

Kelley, John 96 

Lamberton, David H 83 

Laraway. Frank 98 



476 



GENERAL INDEX. 



Laraway, Abraham L 

Leaveus, Hou. Linus 

Lewis, L. Halsey 

Lilk'Y, Henry J 

Lovejoy, M. C 

Macoy , Byron G 
Maxfield, Harry M 
Morse, Ira 
Morse, Hou. George A 

Morse, Leroy S 

Morse, Frank B 
Morse, Charles O 
McFarlaud, Captain Moses. 
McFarlaud, Heiuy M 

Niles, Albert A 

Noyes, Lucius H 

Noyes, "William S 
Noyes, Hon. Carlos S 
Noyes, Albert L. . 
Noyes, Edward L 
Page, Governor Carroll S. 
Parker, Hon. Henry C. 

Parker, Harry C 

Parker, Herbert H 

Pearl, Jed A 

Peck, Willie W 

Pike, Hon. Paphro D 
Pike, Arba A 

Plumley, Hon. Frank 

Powers, Hon. H. Heiuy 
Powers, Hon. George M 
Prindle, Fred D 
Randall, Carroll F 
Randall, Herbert I 
Rajnnore, Willis W 
ReAniold, Orange W 



99 

154 

34 

31 

150 

159 

123 

69 

69 

165 

173 

175 

92 

15 

77 

20 

163 

72 

22 

23 

11 

87 

117 

177 

119 

60 

139 

141 

102 

46 

48 

132 

82 

171 

164 

157 



Robbins, Augustus D 37 

Sawyer, Colonel Edward B . 36 

Shattuck Family. The 109 

Shaw, Hon. Leslie M 45^ 

Sherwin, Enos H 130 

Slay ton, Henry A 62 

Small, Levi S 66 

Small, Fred M 72 

Small, William M 71 

Small, Hon. Leander S 19 

Smith, Hon. Allen B 68 

Smith, Wilford M 162 

Smith, Clement F . . 73 

Smitli, Fred E 148 
Spalding, Wallace W .170 

Stafford, Hon. Charles H. A 86 

Stearns, Hou. Charles H 116 

Stearns, William H 124 

Stevens, Howard L 27 

Stone, Elbridge H 112 

TerrUl, George H 59 

Tliomas, Henry G 135 

Tracy, William E 129 

Waite, Hou. Horace 28 

Waite, Smith B 28 

Walker, Hon. Daniel C 164 

Waterman, Norman A 125 

Wedge, Edgar A 30 

Wells, Everett E 126 

Wheelock, Rev. Edwin 156 

White, Hon. Edwin C 24 

Wliittemore, Frank L 108 

Wlutcomb, Albert M 40 

Wilkins, Hou. George 143 

Wilson, OrviUe H 122 

Woodward, Homer C 96 



FRANKLIN COUNTY. 



HISTORICAL. 

PAGE 

Bakersfield 206 

Berkshire 364 

Enosburg 284 

Fairfax 188 

Fairfield 238 

Fletcher 180 

Franklin County 179 

Franklin 353 



Georgia 

Highgate 

Montgomery 

Richford 

Sheldon 

St. Albans City 
St. Albans Towti 
Swanton 



PAGE 

264 
277 
221 
375 
231 
306 
352 
399 



GENERAL INDEX. 



477 



ENGRAVINGS. 

Not Included in Biographical Matter. 

Arthur, Hou. Chester A., birth- 
place 241 

Arthur, Hon. Chester A., marker 241 

Artliur. Hon. Chester A., tomb 241 

Brigham Academy 209 

Chandler, Hou. William E 241 

Conteutment 364 

Dream Lake 239 

Jaj" Peak from Euosburg 285 

Liucoln, Hon. Robert T 241 

McCullough, Governor John G. 241 

Missisquoi River from Slieldon 231 

Montgomery Centre, village of 222 

Stickuey, Governor William W. 241 



F^ ;-i BIOGRAPHICAL. 




All Saints' Churcli, Richford 


. . 377 


Allen, Dr. Clarence E 


. 411 


Arthur, President Cliester Alan 


242 


Aseltine, Azro M 


299 


Austin, Wan-en R 


. 324 


Babcock, Hou. Josepli W 


405 


Baker, Hon. Luther 


390 


Baker, Jasper C 


391 


Baker, H. L 


391 


Baker, L. & Sons 


. 390 


Barney, Milo W 


409 


Barney Marble Company 


409 


Ballard. Joseph 


272 


Beeman, Hon. Adelbert B 


189 


Bellows Free Academy 


202 


Bellows, Hiram 


. 203 


Berkley, Dr. George C . . 


345 


Bliss, Frederick W 


268 


Bliss, Sumner W 


. 411 


Bradley, Benjamin F 


254 


Brigham Academy . 


208 


Brigham, Colouel Herbert F 


213 


Brigham, Albert G 


214 


Brown, Dr. Edwin M 


232 


Browni, Dr. Edmund Towle 


. 225 


Brooks, Homer 


. 349 


Brusli, S. Warner 


193 


BuUes, Cliaries W 


. 360 


Campbell, Fred R 


230 


Carpenter, Oliver G 


. 186 


Carpenter, Hon. Silas P 


. . 377 



Carr, Ambrose E 

Chase Family 

Chase, Isaac M 

Chase, Perry 

Cliase, Ambrose 

Chittenden, Merritt D 

ChiTrch of the Nativity, Swantou 

Church, Dan T 

Church, Nelson W 

Churchill, Hervey A 

Claflin, George H 

Clarke, Rev. Charles W 

Cob urn, Charles 
Coburn, Frank C 
Combs, Hon. Byron H 
Comings, Herbert C 
Corless, Hon. John B 
Croft, Arthur J 
Curtis, James K 
Danforth, Hon. Daniel S 
Davis, Wilbur P 
Doane, Hem-y M 
Do rion, R ^v^N. O. H 
Dow, David T . 

Dow, Deacon Samiiel H 
Eddy, Rev. Milo S 
Ellen wood, Byron M. 
Fairchild, Hon. William H 

Earns worth, Oren C 

Fletcher, Carl C 

Forbes, Colonel Cliarles S. 

Foss, Hon. George Edmund 

Foss, Eugene N 

Foster, Ellis W 

Franklin County Creamery 

Furman, Daniel G 

Gates, Hon. Charles W 

Gibson, John A 

Gilbert, Captain Hamilton S 
Goff, Gilbert L 
Greene, Frank L 

Greene, Hon. Selden C 

Hall, Ambrose L 

Hall, Charles Taylor 

Hall, Hon. Albert A 

Hall, HarrieV 

Hammond, Philo C 

Hawley, Hon. C\tus A 

Herrick, Elihu E 

Hogan, Hon. Charles P 



409 

245 

246 

247 

246 

204 

412 

351 

]83 

218 

340 

265 

271 

272 

371 

380 

392 

301 

270 

318 

328 

216 

378 

387 

:W3 

407 

182 

243 

218 

405 

310 

364 

368 

407 

333 

403 

354 

304 

257 

376 

311 

338 

215 

223 

313 

316 

359 

391 

280 

342 



478 



GENERAL INDEX. 



Hogau, George M 345 

Holmes, George C 348 

Hopkius. Ethau Fay 382 

Howard, Cliuton S 197 

Hunt, Captain Luther B. 199 

Hutchinson, Dr. William R 290 

Hutchinson, Dr. William W 292 

Hutchinson, Dr. Frederick S 293 

Hyde, Dr. W. B 218 

Jenne, John G 288 

Johnson, Elmer 322 

Kelley, Barney F 327 

Kelton, Hon. Otis N 325 

Kemptou, Alvan A 209 

Kimball, Cortez F 305 

King, Addison H 385 

Ladd, N. Philo 372 

Leach, Hobart F 196 

Learned, Norris O 200 

Loeklin, Wallace B 389 

L'Ecuyer, Nelson E 335 

McFeeters, Emmet 296 

McGinn, Oweu 262 

McLeod. Hon. Robert 237 

Manuel, George C 392 

Marcy, Homer H 227 

Marsli, General Carmi L . 287 

Marsh, Weston C 237 

Martin, Charles L .229 

Marvin. Frank I. 331 

Mason, Dr. Fred W 340 

Maxfield, Hampton L 185 

Merrill, Henry J 258 

Morey, William H 253 

Mott, Hiram M 334 

Nortlirop, U. Bingham 233 

Northrop, Peter B. B 260 

Nutter. Rev. Charles S 329 

Nye, John W 255 

Parker, Hon. Carlos S 224 

Parker, Natt. S 225 

Parker, J. Clark, D. V. S 342 

Parsons, Charles B 185 

Pelton, Dr. Rolliu M 378 

Petty, Dr. Frank A 190 

Phelps, Edwin J 279 

Phelps, Walter V . 295 



Pond, Herbert A 373 

Post, Lorenzo A 267 

Quincy House 305 

Read, George E 395 

Rexford, Hon. Oscar S 281 

Rowley, Horace O 229 

Rowley, Guy N 230 

Rustedt. Henry E 384 

Salmon, Rev. E. M 413 

Schofield, Dr. Columbus S 398 

Shattuck, Merton C 262 

Sheldon, Charles C 283 

Shepardson. Francis Wayland 191 

Shepardson, Willie S 183 

Shepley. Josepli T 238 

Sinnott, John E 219 

Smith, Governor J. Gregory 309 

Smith, Governor Edward C 310 

Smith, Fred L 184 

Smith, Hon. Richard 298 

Soule, Hon. William S 247 

Soule, George H 249 

Soule, S. Allen 250 

Soule, Ashton P 252 

Spicer, Fred W 300 

Start, Hon. Henry R 211 

Stebbins, George E 235 

Stevens, Dr. William S 336 

Stone, Hon. Hem-y M 401 

Stranahan, Hon. Farraud S 312 

Tillotson, Hon. Lee 8 319 

Towle, Reuben, Sr 360 

Towle, EdAvin R 361 

Towle, William J 362 

Trombly, Jeremiah M 278 

Webster, John 358 

Welch, Dr. Rodman E 356 

Wells, Thaddeus C 181 

Wheeler, Rollin 195 

Wheeler, Hon. H. Elmer 321 

Wheeler, Frank W 388 

Wheeler, Frederick C 389 

Wood worth, Hon. Arthur W 293 

Wood, Burt H 276 

Wood, Oscar B 275 

Wood, Horace R 274 

Wright. William J 227 



GENERAL INDEX. 



479 



GRAND ISLE COUNTY, 



HISTORICAL. 


PAGE 


Durham, John W. 


P.\GE 

464 


Albiirg 


4(i5 


Feffe, Holland J 


461 


Grand Isle 


444 


Fisk, Hon. Nelson W 


481 


Grand Isle County 


414 


Fleury, Hon. Edgar S 


441 


Isle La Motte 


428 


Ford, Frank H 


448 


North Hero 


454 


Gordon, Stephen P 


446 


South Hero 


415 


Gordon, Edward 
Harrington, Giles 


447 






452 


ENGRAVINGS. 




Haynes, Hon. William 
Hazen, Uriah H 


457 
459 


Not Included in Bioj^raphica 


1 Matter. 


Hill, Hon. Henry W 
Hill, Wilbur F 


486 
440 


An Island Highway- 


42i) 


King, Hon. James S 


448 


East Shore, South Hero 


416 


Ladd, Jed P 


467 


Near North Hero 


456 


Landon, Thomas B 


428 


Sunset from the Shore 


417 


Martele. Fred A 


450 


The Birches 


455 


Mott. William L 


468 


West Side, South Hero 


418 


Parker, Edward J 


. 452 






Pepin-LaChance, Rev. L.-H. 


. 425 


BIOGRAPHICAL. 




Phelps, Edward B . . . 
Rol)insou, Hon. Juan 


427 
419 


Allen, Henry C 


450 


Robinson, Wallace 


420 


Bastien, Rev. J. M. H 


468 


Soule, William A 


466 


Branch, Dr. George H 


. 449 


St. Rose of Lima Chureli 


424 


Clarke, Hon. Warren 


4(i3 


Tracy, Hon. George 


422 


Clark, Ransom L 


463 


Tudhope Family 


460 


Conro, Henr\' W 


426 


Tudhope, Charles H 


460 


Dodds, Ward B 


. 462 


Wards worth, Stephen P 


. 428 



The following blank pages are bound in for the convenience of the sub- 
scriber, to make corrections, additions and to keep family records. 






3 - 194d