Skip to main content

Full text of "The University of New Haven, 75th Anniversary: a Celebration of Learning"

See other formats

Marvin K. Peterson 

University of New Haven 

West Haven, Connecticut 

Gift of 

Dr. Joseph Chepaitis 




4' K-*..9^rr..'fjK 

.*,.!* ■?». .* * r«T vt. * 'J* '* 

M. \ 


4 *»---SKrH • J^fKi 

The University of 
New Haven 

Joseph B. Chepaitis, PhD 

A Celebration of Learning 

». 7..- r^ :» ::•!.■ :^ :^v«- -'f-'' '^ 





^ •.««■ 

■J" .J '^»> 


^•^..."•PJ*!! ■•■. 











Written by Joseph Chepaitis, PhD, University Historian 

In celebration of the University of New Haven's 

Diamond Anniversary 

The author wishes to thank his wife, Dr. Elia V. Chepaitis, for her work in editing the text; her 
skills as editor added clarity, conciseness, and smoothness to the original text. Thanks also go to 
Cynthia Avery, Director of Marketing and Public Relations and Patricia J. Rooney, R.S.M., 
Alumni Director, for their help in bringing this text to a timely completion. Thanks go as well to 
Sharon Reynolds and Elaine Wegiel for their critical, secretarial support, and to the Public 
Relations staff and Library staff for their difficult work in finding and selecting the photographs, 
which hopefully will bring back memories to our alumni and alumnae. 

Printed in USA by Taylor Publishing Company Dallas, TX and Malvern, PA 

Publishing Consultant Dwight M. Ackerman 

Copyright© 1995 by Carleton Graphics, PO. Box 570, South Bend, IN 46624-0570 
For additional copies of this book call 800-433-0090. 

All rights reserved. 

No part of this book may be reproduced in any form without written permission from the publisher 
For information contact Carleton Graphics. 

■.;. ■*•, 'h '«i ".iv "^ "•it i '** -3' 4» '-^i *> ^' 

Table of Contents 

Letter from the President 


Letter from the Chairman of the Board 
of Governors 

UNH Milestones 



First Quarter Century 1920-1945 
Our Founding Years 

Second Quarter Century 1946-1970 
The Move to University Hill 



Last Quarter Century 1971-1995 
Years of D\/namic Growth 

A Photographic Miscellany 


K •: f: U :» f^- ^' ^ "w^ '^ ^« '^ <-^. -^ ' 

, 1* .». ;* *> »■■ 

i^ .-^ ». »£ <»> -W 


University of New Haven 

University Hill 
West Haven. Connecticut 06516 

October 14, 1995 

Dear Friends: 

The University of New Haven has been an integral part of life in this 
region for seventy-five years. From our modest beginnings we have evolved 
into a center of educational excellence. Today, we can boast exceptional 
faculty, a diverse student base, and an alumni population of over 28,000 that 
reaches to all corners of the globe. 

What we celebrate tonight is a sense of achievement; a spirit of hard 
work, dedication and fellowship ■ a common bond that brings us together. 

Our rich history bears witness to the fact that we have accomplished 
much and persevered. We are a guiding light for many individuals searching 
for a way to improve their overall quality of life through education. I am proud 
to say that for the past seventy-five years we have been here to answer the 
call. I have no doubt that, the University of New Haven will continue to go 
forward and prosper after each of us has passed the torch on to others. 

It is fitting that our 75th Anniversary Celebration should be marked with 
great pride and satisfaction, for much has been and will be accomplished 
within our walls. 

I salute everyone who has helped to make the University of New Haven 
what it is today • a cornerstone of learning in higher education. 


Lawrence J. DeNardis 



,aV>on o^. 



University of New Haven 

To The Many Friends of The University of New Haven: 

Thank you for joining us in celebrating our 75th anniversary. As we do 
so together, we should remember that The University of New Haven was 
created because it was needed. It has endured and grown strong over the last 
75 years for the same reason. 

At the beginning in 1920, there was a clear and articulate need for an 
evening school where engineers in the community could strengthen their 
skills, or acquire basic knowledge necessary to compete in the workplace. 
Yale opened its doors to that community, and the expanding and popular 
program developed under the banner of a separate college. That enterprise 
has become The University of New Haven. 

Our history is rooted in pragmatism. Our roots are deep within the 
economic fabric of New Haven and now, within more distant communities. 
Our purpose has been to train and to teach our students not only to be wise, 
but to be productive. We have responded to community need and student 
interest as well as to the arduous requirements of our academic disciplines. 
We did so in the belief that an education must be useful as well as 
intellectually enriching. We did so in the belief that pragmatism in addition 
to enlightenment, is a lofty educational achievement. 

Our mission, therefore has been service. It will always be. In the years 
ahead, we hope to strengthen our hand so as to ensure that our service will 
continue to build strength in our students where strength is needed; to build 
strength in the community where competence, awareness and compassion are 
needed; to build strength in our community's homes, where committed people 
with a strong sense of values, undertake the imposing tasks of parenthood 
and citizenship, every day. 

I am pleased to welcome this University to its next 75 years as a 
partner of our students and their families and communities. 


Cheever Tyler 
Chairman of the Board of Governors of UNH 



t $ 4 * $ 4 * 

'... ..: •. •-- ■'--;•*..'> 


UNH Milestones 

1920 New Haven YMCA Junior College founded as a branch of Northeastern 

1923 First associate degrees awarded 

1926 Received state charter as "New Haven College" 

1948 Received accreditation by the New England Association of Colleges and 

Secondary Schools 
1952 First class in the School of Executive Development, forerunner to today's 

Executive Master of Business Administration (E.M.B.A.) program 
1958 Received authorization to offer bachelor of science degrees in business and 

I960 Moved to West Haven to site of former county orphanage. Three buildings on 

site: the main administration building named Ellis C. Maxcy Hall in 1987; 

Gatehouse and Student Services & Admissions 

1965 Constructed Student Center 

1966 Received accreditation for baccalaureate programs 

1968 Constructed engineering building, named Jacob F. Buckman Hall of 
Engineering and Applied Science in 1987 

Inaugurated arts & science programs 

1969 Opened Graduate School program 
Constructed first residence hall 

1970 Renamed "University of New Haven" 
Constructed Graduate School 

1971 Added athletic complex on 28 additional acres, north campus 
Constructed Campus Bookstore 

1974 Constructed Marvin K. Peterson Library 
Initiated off-campus center in Groton 

1975 Purchased Harugari Hall, now home of School of Hotel, Restaurant & 
Tourism Administration 

1980 Constructed Psychology Building 

Dedicated Robert B. Dodds athletic field 

1983 Acquired John Echlin Hall, home of the computer center and E.M.B.A. center 
Constructed $5.2 million new School of Business building, named Robert B. 
Dodds Hall in 1985 

1984 Acquired two adjacent apartment buildings for residential facilities 
Inaugurated School of Hotel, Restaurant & Tourism Administration 

1985 Inaugurated first doctoral program in management systems 
Acquired additional adjacent apartment building as residential facility 
Acquired Arbeiter Maenner Chor 

1986 Acquired Special Studies Building 

1987 Dedicated Vieira Field, named for UNH's baseball coach 

1990 Constructed wing of Buckman Hall of Engineering and Applied Science 

1991 Constructed new building for Admissions Services 
Constructed formal brick entrance to main campus 

1994 Alumni and Friends "Walkway to Success" is completed as part of campus 

Dental Hygiene program and Dental Center dedicated in October 

1995 Relocation of Southeastern Branch to Mitchell College, New London 
Dedication of "Kayo" Rodriguez Sports Fields, named for the father of UNH football 



The 75-year history of the University of 
New Haven has paralleled twentieth-century 
American history, a century of unpredictable 
and accelerating change. The years since 1920 
have presented a series of challenges and 
opportunities for the United States and the 
university. Whether faced by economic pros- 
perity or depression, by wars or peace, by 
social and political upheavals, by changing 
patterns of job opportunities and require- 
ments, by regional upsurge or decline, or by 
the internationalization of American life and 
its economy, the University of New Haven 
managed to adapt, survive, and prosper. 

Four major factors accounted for its abil- 
ity to survive: its appeal to students; its ser- 
vice to business, industry, and society; a 
capacity for flexibility to meet the changing 
demands of the American economy and soci- 
ety; and management and faculty teams. The 
school acquired the singular title of "the 
Second-Chance College" in its early years 
because its programs and caring attitude 
offered many students a second chance to go 
to college later in life. These students fell into 
two categories in the first 50 years of the uni- 
versity's history: those who were not eco- 
nomically able to go to college or to a 
better-known school early in their productive 
lives, and those who lacked motivation at 17 
or 18 to attend college. While the university 
often gave many a second chance, records also 
show that these same students were the first 
in their families to attend college. In the uni- 
versity's later years, older, first-generation. 

mainly part-time college students continued 
to comprise a significant proportion of the 
total student body, even when the University 
matured and attracted traditional young, full- 
time college students by the 1960s. 

The University prospered also because it 
recognized the necessity to serve first, the 
needs of business and industry by preparing 
engineers and business men and women, and 
second, evolving social needs for forensic sci- 
entists, criminal justice officials and officers, 
environmental scientists, hotel and tourism 
administrators, or music and sound recording 
specialists. Throughout its 75 years, the 
University exhibited an uncanny ability to be 
on the cutting-edge of trends in the emerging 
service industries. The school always 
searched for these trends and recognized that 
survival depended upon the ability to predict 
the next area of employment. The University, 
unlike Yale or MIT, was seldom on the frontier 
of the latest research areas. Research was not 
its mission, although in the last few decades it 
has achieved national and also international 
prominence in research in a few disciplines. 
The mission has been throughout most of 
UNH's history to prepare people for jobs, not 
vocationally but academically; whether in its 
early or later history, it has stressed the need 
to educate well-rounded and professionally- 
trained students for work and life in regional, 
national, and eventually global society and 

The fourth success factor has been the 
university's good fortune to have dedicated 


■>.>■ f # f * 4 

■,i t, }y V, i- 
.-?» iji, »?J (*'■ -f* 

^ i^ (V * if 


and capable leaders and faculty. Without the 
YMCA's leadership and commitment the 
junior college established after the First World 
War might not have survived. The college's 
first twenty-five years coincided with the 
Great Depression and the Second World War. 
The University of New Haven also owes a sig- 
nificant debt to Yale University's leaders, 
especially to its presidents and the Dean of the 
Sheffield Scientific School. As the university 
grew, first the YMCA's Board of Trustees and 
later the university's Board of Governors 
included dedicated leaders who worked 
proactively to promote the well being of the 
school. The Boards made the final selection of 

the directors /presidents who were to guide 
the university, and these presidents emerged 
as innovators and academic entrepreneurs, 
alert to emerging educational opportunities. 
Finally, the University's history shows that its 
faculty cherished the chance to teach. The fac- 
ulty has always been broad-based: junior Yale 
professors or graduate students in the early 
decades, adjuncts drawn from the profession- 
al and the business and industrial manage- 
ment ranks throughout the seventy-five years, 
and doctorally-qualified professionals in 
numerous disciplines in the university's 

-»* *♦ . -^Tj. ' 


:; m 





The First Quarter Century 

Our Founding Years 

The University of New Haven's first 25 
years were the most uncertain and traumatic 
in its history. The university, originally a 
branch campus of Northeastern University, 
gained independent status, expanded, and 
proved remarkably durable through the 
Roaring 20s, the Great Depression, and the 
Second World War. From 1920 to 1926 the 
future University of New Haven embarked on 
its initial course under the direction and influ- 
ence of the New Haven Young Men's 
Christian Association (Y.M.C.A.) and 
Northeastern University of Boston. Its early 
history, therefore, provides a case study of 
attempts by the Y.M.C.A., a religiously-orient- 
ed philanthropic association, to redefine part 
of its mission after World War I, and a rela- 
tionship between a new private college and an 
Ivy League institution, Yale University, and 
the New Haven community. 

The entry of the United States into World 
War I created the need for further education 
for returning veterans because industry 
required greater technological and manageri- 
al skills. One organization in New Haven 
became particularly responsive to this 
demand— the Y.M.C.A. The New Haven 
Y.M.C.A. had offered some unit courses 

before the American entrance into the War in 
1917, but due to financial difficulties, it had 
suspended the work during the War (1917- 
18). When the War ended, the "Y" moved to 
serve the interests and needs of veterans 
through a series of vocational courses 
designed to facilitate the reentry and rehabili- 
tation of the veterans. The postwar program 
at the "Y" (in New Haven) attracted 260 stu- 
dents by March, 1920. This success led the 
Y.M.C.A. Executive Committee, in April and 
May of 1920, to concur with the Educational 
Committee that the "Y's" evening school 
should become affiliated with Northeastern 
College. During a meeting of nine Y.M.C.A. 
associations in Worcester, Massachusetts, on 
May 5, the affiliation of the New Haven 
YM.C.A.'s evening school with Northeastern 
College was approved. The New Haven 
Y.M.C.A. advanced funds to Northeastern for 
organizational overhead ($432.33) and offered 
courses in engineering, college preparatory 
work, and special subjects such as 
Salesmanship, Factory Management, and 
Public Speaking. 

The "Y" Educational Committee pro- 
nounced the first year of the school's work as 
"surprisingly successful". The school enrolled 



•> >..>.>.■#• ♦■■#f- 

274 students in three main departments or 
schools: the School of Commerce and Finance, 
the School of Engineering, and the 
Preparatory School. Twenty-seven different 
subjects were taught. In 1922-23 women were 
acimitted for the first time. 

There were a number of reasons for the 
initial and subsequent success of the New 
Haven branch of Northeastern College. The 
ability to earn a college degree or an engineer- 
ing certificate, or credentials for entrance to 
Northeastern College and other colleges and 
universities, attracted students. The range of 
opportunities meant that a student could 
receive an education in the New Haven area 
rather than away from home or employment. 
Another attraction was the fact that students 
could attend in the evening after work or col- 
lege or other day-time education. This, in 
turn, enabled the college to employ Yale 
instructors and professors, practicing engi- 
neers, lawyers, accountants, and managers as 
instructors after the regular workday ended. 
The College of Commerce and Finance offered 
a four-year course leading to a Bachelor of 
Commercial Science in accounting, finance, 
management, marketing, or production. It 
also gave shorter courses in special subjects 
such as advertising, business analysis, busi- 
ness law, principles of business, public speak- 
ing, and salesmanship. The Engineering 
School had a three-year certificate program, 
and also offered shorter courses such as archi- 
tectural drawing, factory organization, fore- 
manship, logarithms and slide rule, machine 
designing, mathematics, and mechanical 
drawing. To aid those preparing for college, 
the Preparatory School courses included 
bookkeeping, commercial arithmetic, eco- 
nomics, English, French, fundamental busi- 
ness English, mathematics, penmanship, and 

From its first year, the college attracted a 
wide variety of students (225)~in age, experi- 
ence, and education. Their ages ranged from 
16 to 62; 69 were less than 21 years old, and 
the vast majority (172) were between the ages 
of 21 and 30, the key years when careers are 
begun or strengthened. They came from 102 
different companies or employers and repre- 
sented 75 occupations including shop and fac- 

tory workers, mail carriers, clerks, business- 
men, professional men, and Yale students. The 
greatest number worked in commercial or 
manufacturing offices and the next largest 
block in industrial production. 

Permeating the "Y's" and Northeastern's 
entire effort was the desire to spread 
Protestant Christianity through their new 
educational mission. The New Haven "Y" 
leaders hoped to serve the community and 
fulfill their Christian goals. 

Y.M.C.A. General Secretary Judson 
McKim continued his unflagging support of 
the New Haven Division of Northeastern 
College, even during difficult times. The 
Y.M.C.A. carried a deficit of $4,360 in the first 
year of operation of Northeastern in the city, 
and a much larger one in the second year 
($7,590). However, New Haven community 
industrial and business leaders perceived the 
college " an aid to them in their daily 
work..." because the college was willing to 
teach subjects most needed by industrialists. 
The New Haven Y.M.C.A. and Northeastern 
College began the pattern of close cooperation 
with business and industry which the univer- 
sity utilized throughout its history. 

Until 1926, during the final years of the 
"Y's" affiliation with Northeastern College, the 
New Haven branch prospered. Thirteen stu- 
dents graduated from the New Haven branch 
on June 12, 1924. Frederick F. Fischer, Sr, one 
of these graduates and the first president of 
the Student Council, recounted that classes 
were small, and the students possessed an 
"esprit de corps". The graduating class dis- 
played their spirit at graduation. The male 
members stepped aside to allow the only 
woman in the class, Bella Cohen, to be the first 
to graduate. 

Yale University assisted individual stu- 
dents like Fred Fischer, the "Y", and 
Northeastern during the early years. Not only 
were many of the teachers Yale professors, but 
Yale generously placed numerous buildings at 
the disposal of the evening university. During 
the final year of affiliation with Northeastern 
(1925-26), almost all classes were held at Yale. 

On May 12, 1926, the New Haven 
YM.C.A.'s educational enterprise dissociated 
itself from Northeastern University and 


became New Haven College, an independent 
academic institution. Northeastern was con- 
centrating its efforts in Boston, many of the 
branches developed their own identity, and 
Northeastern gradually withdrew responsi- 
bility for its branches beginning with 
Bridgeport in 1924 and ending with 
Springfield in 1951. 

Thus on May 12, 1926, the first phase of 
the University of New Haven's history was 
completed— the Northeastern years. During 
these years, the New Haven division grew 
because it filled an educational vacuum: the 
absence in New Haven of an academically 

sound evening college emphasizing business 
and engineering courses-the technical and 
practical aspects of education and career- 
building. The United States in the 1920s repre- 
sented an opportune moment for the birth of 
such an educational institution. It was an age 
of technology, and the future university 
stressed engineering. It was an age of busi- 
ness, and the New Haven division of 
Northeastern accented commerce and finance. 
It was an age of economic and social mobility, 
and the "Y" college provided evening educa- 
tion to young men and a handful of women to 
advance their careers. 

View of the Yale building 
on Prospect Street xvhere 
classes were lieldfor nearly 
40 years until 1960. 


> '•#••*.•♦■•>■>■•>■■;•••> 

Students of Neiv Haven College were permitted to use the libraries of Yale University. Pictured above is the library in 
Winchester Hall. 

The last crucial element in explaining the 
growth of the evening college was the New 
Haven Y.M.C.A. and its philosophy, and espe- 
cially such "Y" officials as General Secretaries 
Judson McKim and Ralph Cheney and 
Educational Secretary John Brodhead who 
were dedicated to the idea of evening educa- 
tion and to the spread of "Y" ideals through 
such education. 

The first year of independence from 
Northeastern is particularly significant 
because many characteristics which became 
fixed features of the college became firmly 
established. The adaptability and fiscal con- 
servatism of the leadership, the high qualifi- 
cations and talent of its faculty, and the 
diversity of its ambitious student body-all 
were evident in this first academic year. The 
Board of Governors began its gradual emer- 

gence to power, and the founders clearly 
enunciated the educational philosophy of the 
College. It was not to "finish" young gentle- 
men from around the country by educating 
them in the classical tradition, but to provide 
a blend of the old and the new. New Haven 
College was to train students in business, 
engineering, and other services, to offer a 
timely opportunity for social and occupation- 
al mobility to young men and women who 
would not be able to receive a college educa- 
tion otherwise. New Haven College emerged 
with the recognition that it was to provide a 
definite service to the community. It was most 
fortunate that the college was able to establish 
its independence within the dynamic twen- 
ties: in view of the ensuing Depression, both 
the swift tempo with which the school became 
established and the direction taken in the first 


year in particular, were fortuitous. 

The college did attract a qualified faculty. 
Two-thirds were Yale faculty. Yale faculty 
taught most of the engineering courses in 
Dunham Laboratory and Winchester Hall of 
the Sheffield School. The most popular engi- 
neering courses taught by them were first, 
those on mechanical drawing and secondly, 
those in architectural drawing, followed by 
those in elementary and advanced electrical 
and mechanical engineering. A few Yale facul- 
ty lectured on business topics, but the busi- 
ness courses were taught mostly by local 

Both the student body and the courses 
offered by the college were diverse. The aver- 
age age of the first class of the new school was 
23, and students worked in 189 different 
industries and businesses, and came from 
diverse Connecticut towns and communities. 
Students, after working 9-10 hours each day, 
and 1/2 day on Saturday, would come one to 
three times a week to the Sheffield School 
buildings at Yale, attend class for two to three 
hours, and then return home. Home was 
often quite distant: Bridgeport, Meriden, 
Waterbury, Ansonia, Southington, Beacon 
Falls, Branford, Milford, and other locations. 
Transportation from school to some of these 
distant cities and towns was arduous, despite 
the automobile. Even those with cars found 
no modern highways by which to return 
home because until 1945 the majority of roads 
in the United States were unimproved or 

Despite these transportation difficulties, 
students came to evening classes in increasing 
numbers in the academic year 1926-27. The 
college tried to accommodate th^h through an 
Extension Department, which offered short- 
term or specialized courses on business, tech- 
nical, or cultural subjects to businesses, clubs, 
churches, industrial organizations, or individ- 
uals at convenient times and locations. 

The college continued to respond to the 
educational needs of New Haven in its second 
and third years of independence. The years 
1927-1929 were characterized by course 
expansion, the search for an improved physi- 
cal plant, and strict financial accountability. 
New courses, both in the degree programs 

in business and engineering and through the 
Extension Department, proved successful. An 
Interior Decorating course taught by the pres- 
ident of a large local furniture store (The 
Chamberlain Company) proved popular and 
had to be limited to 40 students. A series of 
specialized short-term evening courses for 
industrial foremen, assistant foremen, and 
supervisors was sponsored by the Foremen's 
Club of New Haven under the name of the 
Industrial Institute of New Haven College. 
These short courses included Electricity for 
Foremen, Rubber Technology, Industrial 
Electricity, Slide Rule, Practical Foremanship 
and Shop Management, and Effective 

The college budget was a matter of ongo- 
ing concern. The unexpected size of the deficit 
in 1927-28 was worrisome, and the Board of 
Governors of the college began to exercise 
tighter control over the educational budget 
for the next year In May, 1928, they appoint- 
ed their own Finance Committee. 

While organization and governance, per- 
sonnel problems, and the budget absorbed a 
significant amount of the governors' time and 
attention during 1927-1928, they also were 
concerned about more space for the college. 
The college apparently decided to accept the 
space limitations in offices rather than trans- 
fer classes from the Yale buildings to the cen- 
tral "Y". Perhaps the need for space lessened 
when Yale allowed three more buildings to be 
used by the evening preparatory and college 
students of New Haven College during the 
following academic year, 1928-1929. 

During the last academic year before the 
Great Depression, the college received recog- 
nition for its work from the National Society 
for the Promotion of Engineering Education, 
Yale officials, and the New Haven Register. 

As New Haven College began its tenth 
year of operation, the school faced a unique 
challenge. Less than a month after the open- 
ing of the first semester on September 30, 
1929, the Wall Street Stock Market Crash trig- 
gered the Great Depression, the worst eco- 
nomic calamity in American History. 
Connecticut and the Greater New Haven area 
suffered massive unemployment, which 
inevitably affected the college through declin- 


Early engineering students of the New Haven College are shozun here on an inspection trip. 

ing enrollments. The Y.M.C.A. and the college 
attempted to cope with the deteriorating 
national and local economic climate. They 
survived some of the worst years of the 
Depression (1929-1932) through key adminis- 
trative appointments, a flexible curriculum, 
revised budget management, and a successful 
campaign for a new Y.M.C.A. building. 

New Haven College had begun 1929, its 
tenth year, optimistically, unaware of the 
impending economic disaster. There was opti- 
mism because the college seemed to have 
recovered from the personnel disputes 
between the college director, John Brodhead, 
and the dean of the Department of Commerce 
and Finance, Samuel Tator, during the 1928-29 
academic year. Tater was fired and took a size- 
able percentage of the student body with him 
when he left to found the New Haven School 
of Business, the future Quinnipiac College of 
Hamden, Connecticut. To replace Tator, the 
college hired Ellis C. Maxcy as Head of the 
Department of Commerce. Maxcy had 
received his Bachelor of Business 
Administration degree from Northeastern 

University and had served as a faculty mem- 
ber there. 

In addition to new administrators, there 
were new faculty and new courses for the stu- 
dents in Metallurgy, Industrial Chemistry, 
Aviation, and liberal arts courses in English 
and Chemistry. The new courses and person- 
nel helped the college to survive the first year 
of the Depression, although weakened eco- 
nomically. Its enrollment slipped, and its 
deficit was the highest in its history, an 
increase from $7,840 in 1928-1929 to $20,513 
for the year ending April 30, 1930, largely 
because of the drastic decrease in tuition rev- 
enues from the Department of Commerce and 
Finance (a decrease of $12,460). 

The next two years (1930-1932) of the 
Depression affected the college adversely. 
During 1930 national unemployment rose to 
8.8%, then to 16.1% in 1931, and by the end of 
1932 to 24%. In the face of this adversity, the 
college adapted and survived on a smaller 
scale. The student newspaper. New Haven 
College News, in its first issue before the 
beginning of classes in late September, 1939, 


,-. \ .r, * ♦ 


published an exhortatory editorial, "Have 
Faith". The paper also mentioned the forma- 
tion of an alumni association formed by New 
Haven College graduates on September 15, 
1930. In contrast with the national gloom, the 
tone of the entire paper was optimistic. 

The college's deficit was reduced to 
$14,317 because of a significant decline of 
$8,037 in its expenses, led by declines in 
salaries, advertising, and rent. It appears that 
the college administration learned to adjust to 
Depression conditions. 

Fiscal success coincided with the comple- 
tion and opening of the Y.M.C.A.'s new, mod- 
ern brick and stone building on Howe Street 
in 1932. The benefits to New Haven College 
from the new building included new adminis- 
trative offices, class and club rooms, assembly 
rooms for lectures, and a reading room for 
technical and other literature. The college 
acquired these modern and adequate faciUties 
toward the end of the third year of the Great 
Depression. The college survived three of the 
Depression's worst four years, from 1929 to 
the abrupt end of the Brodhead administra- 
tion in the summer of 1932, for several rea- 
sons. These included judicious appointments, 
the demanding but continuous support of the 
parent Y.M.C.A., rigorous tightening of the 
college's budgets, the cooperation of Yale 
University, local industrial and business 
enthusiasm for the college's preparation of its 
industrial and business workforce, and the 
New Haven community's appreciation of the 
work of the college and the Y.M.C.A. itself, as 
seen in the successful Building Campaign of 
May 1930. 

For the United States, the years 1932 to 
1940 included the end of the worst of the 
Depression and the Hoover presidency, the 
beginnings of the New Deal, the Franklin D. 
Roosevelt administration, economic recovery, 
and a slow movement towards involvement 
in the Second World War. New Haven College 
experienced several transitions in these years. 
Major administrative changes were made in 
the Directorship of the college, the school 
received legislative authorization for the 
Associate in Science degree, and enrollments 

John Brodhead also resigned as Director 

of the college. The most likely replacement for 
Brodhead was the acting director, William 
Mandrey, who had just received his Ph.D. 
from Yale. However, the thirty-five year-old 
Mandrey became the President of Arnold 
College for Hygiene and Physical Education. 

The Board of Governors appointed Ellis 
Maxcy as Director. Maxcy's directorship 
(1932-1937) began in the worst year of the 
Depression. Nevertheless, he maintained a 
positive tone when he noted that all of his 
instructors accepted the ten per cent salary cut 
cheerfully because they were committed to 
teach the evening students. Some Yale faculty 
said that they were better teachers in their 
evening classes than in their day classes. The 
precious opportunity for supplementary 
income in those hard years undoubtedly 
aided faculty morale. 

However, by 1933 and 1934, enrollment 
dropped appreciably from the 1928-1929 high 
of 991 students to 272 in 1933-1934 and 277 in 
1934-1935. Engineering continued to be the 
strongest and most reliable department. 
Maxcy recalled that the college made a con- 
scious effort to keep tuition low and classes 
small during these difficult years. He would 
occasionally drop into a class at random for 
about a half hour to observe different teaching 
methods so that he could improve his own 
teaching and to meet and see students. What 
also attracted students to the college was not 
only the concern of the staff and faculty, the 
small classes, practical curriculum, realistic 
tuition, and concern for quality, but also the 
aura of Yale. Maxcy believed the college's stu- 
dents enjoyed attending classes in Yale build- 
ings, taught mainly by Yale professors. "That 
put a little glamour into it, a little polish on 
the institution", Maxcy recalled. Ultimately, 
the Maxcy administration was able to operate 
with decreasing budgets and to post smaller 
and smaller deficits. 

Among the unique challenges which the 
young New Haven College faced was the cre- 
ation of a government-supported community 
college, an F.E.R.A. (Federal Emergency Relief 
Administration) Community College, in New 
Haven in the midst of the difficult Depression 
years. Because this community college offered 
free tuition, received free classroom space 



Ellis C. Maxcy, 
Director 1932-1937 

from the "Y", and drew most students from 
the same local pool, it would appear on the 
surface that its potential to cripple New 
Haven College was overwhelming. However, 
the federally-funded institution existed for 
only 2 years (1934-36), and New Haven 
College enciured. Several reasons explain the 
outcome. At no time would commercial 
courses, which might compete with those 
offered at private institutions such as New 
Haven College, be given. Some of the class- 
rooms at the community college contrasted 
sharply with the impressive Yale lecture halls 

and laboratories used by New Haven College 

New Haven College experienced a signif- 
icant change in 1935. The Connecticut General 
Assembly passed a new law in early 1935 
which regulated institutions of higher educa- 
tion. Colleges offering Associate degrees had 
to apply for authorization to the state legisla- 
ture. The college received General Assembly 
approval on April 10, 1935, and a new name: 
"New Haven Y.M.C.A. junior College". The 
college soon also obtained State Board of 
Education sanctioning of its Associate 




During the period from 1935 to 1940, the 
college evolved, expanded, and recovered 
from the Depression. In addition to the 
improving national economy and student 
enrollments, the distribution of students 
among programs was noteworthy. 
Approximately two-thirds of the students 
belonged in the degree programs of the 
departments of business administration and 
engineering, and the remainder in single 
courses and the Practical Arts or Extension 
Department, which offered such new courses 
as Foreign Trade, Commercial Art, and Air 
Conditioning. Fourteen scholarships, award- 
ed by the New Haven Rotary Club, the 
Foremen's Club of New Haven, and the col- 
lege's Board of Governors, helped the more 
needy, bright students who could not pay for 
tuition or books. 

Administrative changes were also ger- 
mane. Director Maxcy completed his Master's 
degree at Yale in June, 1936, and in 1937, 
Maxcy surprised the Y.M.C.A. by announcing 
his resignation. Southern New England 
Telephone (SNET) had created the position of 
Supervisor of Education for him. The Board of 
Governors and Cheney recommended 
Lawrence L. Bethel as Maxcy's replacement as 
Director. Born in Warrensburg, Missouri in 
1906, he had received his B.S. degree from 
Central Missouri State Teacher's College in 
1928. Bethel received his Master's degree from 
Teacher's College in 1935, and moved to the 
new Hamden High School as supervisor of 
commercial education and an administrative 
assistant. During the next two years, follow- 
ing the pattern set by previous administrators 
at New Haven College, he entered Yale 
Graduate School and began work at New 
Haven College; he completed his require- 
ments for the Ph.D. in June, 1940. 

The claims made about the improving 
quality of the students during the Maxcy 
administration seemed to have been con- 
firmed during the early Bethel years. All the 
students took the Thurston Scholastic 
Aptitude Test early in the 1937-1938 academic 
year. The tests showed that the "Y's" college 
group scored better than the national average 
for Junior College students, and "equal to the 

national average of freshman and sophomore 
in day colleges and universities". 

The college's fiscal position also 
improved from September, 1935, to December, 
1940. The budget deficit for the college in 1935 
had been $3,124; in 1940, it declined to 
$999.08, despite nearly a doubling of expens- 
es, from $23,670 to $40,255. Each year, the 
Maxcy and Bethel administrations succeeded 
in bringing the deficit below the subsidy 
granted by the "Y". Throughout the rest of the 
pre- World War II period, the Bethel adminis- 
tration was able to keep the deficits low, often 
at the insistence of the fiscally conservative 
New Haven Y.M.C.A. Junior College Board of 
Trustees, which was also the Y.M.C.A. Board 
of Directors. 

While the Junior College managed its 
budgets tightly from 1935 to 1940, enrollments 
improved also. Enrollment increased from 338 
in 1935-1936 to 536 by the end of the school 
year in May 1940. The figure for 1936-1937, 
353 students, was gratifying to the "Y" 
because only 50 of the students were in the 
Extension Department and only taking one 
course each; the remainder were enrolled in 
the regular program, which made the college 
"more substantial and stable". 

A May 1940 booklet about the college 
gives detailed information about the student 
body. The 104 students who had graduated 
since 1935 had become upper-level execu- 
tives, department heads, office managers, 
public and industrial accountants, salesmen, 
supervisors, engineers, and office and indus- 
trial employees. 

In the first half of the 1940s-the Worid 
War II period— New Haven Junior College 
built upon the habits of survival which it had 
acquired in the twenties and thirties: financial 
conservatism, remarkable adaptability to cri- 
sis, and a carefully nurtured, vigorous work- 
ing relationship with area businesses, as well 
as with Yale and the Y.M.C.A. The College, 
like the generation which came of age after 
the Crash of '29, had grown up quickly, and 
had developed several striking characteristics, 
such as paternalism towards students, 
marked by forceful investigations into their 
academic, employment, and even draft status. 
The school's concerns were closely tied to 



Lazorcncc L. Bethel, Director 1937-1953 

national events: curriculum changes, the 
increased enrollment of women, the search for 
adequate personnel— all were related to 
national priorities and preparation for war. In 
addition to improvements in enrollment and 
academic standards the forties are notable 
because they show that the College had mas- 
tered the art of anticipating and exploiting 
change, of landing on its feet in crisis. 

Under Bethel's leadership, the school 
responded successfully to the demands of 
industry and business students as well as the 
government from 1940 to the end of the war in 
August 1945. The College put into effect a 
new scholarship and loan policy: scholarship 
aid was not to exceed more than half of a stu- 
dent's tuition; furthermore, a student received 
an award for one semester only, with the 
understanding that it could be renewed 
depending on the student's performance. Just 

as the school aided students through scholar- 
ships and loans, it also sought to help them 
and Connecticut industries through job place- 
ments. A new placement program went into 
effect in the 1940-1941 year. 

The symbiotic relationship between the 
college and business and industry was appar- 
ent as well in the revised Business 
Administration major, additional engineering 
courses in Sales Engineering and Industrial 
Administration, and the "Work Study" pro- 
gram instituted in 1940-41. Aggressive 
attempts by the College to integrate their edu- 
cational work with industry and business 
were part of what Director Bethel called 
"Work Study." Work Study was intended to 
provide the technical expertise and theoretical 
framework necessary for professional work to 
complement the students' practical work 
experience to integrate the students' program 
of study with work. 

The "Work Study" concept led in the fol- 
lowing months to an experiment with acceler- 
ated degree programs, especially after the 
formal declaration of war against Japan, 
Germany, and Italy in early December 1941. 
Programs were shortened from their regular 
four years to a minimum of two and a half 
years for freshmen beginning in February 
(and graduating in September 1944). The 
establishment of a summer term made the 
acceleration possible. 

The war not only led to the development 
of an accelerated degree but also to the 
College's involvement in a "Work Study" pro- 
ject for the Army Air Corps. The program, 
approved in May 1942, allowed New Haven 
Junior College students to enlist as aviation 
cadets in the U.S. Army Air Corps Reserve. 
Students received a deferment until they com- 
pleted their A.S. degree, or until the Air Corps 
needed them. 

The war began directly to affect many 
other students during the 1941-42 academic 
year. Students in greater numbers had been 
inducted into the armed forces since the 
bombing of Pearl Harbor. In addition to the 
loss of students the war was beginning to 
affect the College because of tire and gasoline 
rationing by the Federal Government. The 
College developed a campaign to enroll 


women in order to compensate for a possible 
decline in male enrollment. As enrollments 
plummeted in 1942 and throughout the 
remainder of the war years, the College was 
subsidized by the Y.M.C.A., fed engineering 
courses for the military by Yale, and aided by 
the entrance of more women into the work- 

Special war training programs for more 
than 7,000 students, in engineering, science, 
and management had been established in 
1940 under federal sponsorship, and were 
conducted until August, 1944, through Yale 
University. Early in the summer of 1942, the 
Enlisted Reserve Corps of the U.S. Army 
requested that the College expand their Army 
Air Forces program to include pre-induction 
training for the general branches of the Army 
as well. Also, the College succeeded in devel- 
oping an Aeronautical Engineering wartime 
program specifically for the Chance Vought 
Aircraft Company, a division of United 
Aircraft Corporation in 1944. The new pro- 
gram was an extension of the "Work-Study" 
concept. Since the curriculum had been 
planned for men employed in an aeronautical 
industry, the College was restricting advanced 
courses to the group; furthermore, the 
advanced courses were to " offered only at 
the Chance Vought plant in Stratford". 

Although the College had avoided the 
enrollment decline experienced by other insti- 
tutions or one year, it could not withstand 
wartime mobilization. By October 1942 it was 
apparent that the College was being affected 
gravely. Regular Junior College enrollment 
dropped about forty percent in October, due 
to the draft. 

Director Bethel, the College staff, and the 
Board of Governors reacted swiftly to the 
ensuring financial emergency. They organized 
a skeletal program for 1942-1944 which 
addressed the possibility of an additional fifty 
percent reduction in enrollment. The College 
completely reorganized programs, concen- 
trating on fewer subjects for a shorter period 
of time. From March 27, 1943 and until 
September 17, 1945, the College initiated four 
ten-week academic semesters (fall, winter, 
spring, and summer): a three-week vacation 
period followed each semester. The school 

maintained the same three-day evening class 
schedule and time periods as before the 
enrollment decline. 

Perhaps what is most noteworthy about 
the war years is the eager anticipation of post- 
war growth, and the recognition that acceler- 
ating social changes could benefit the college 
immeasurably once peace was won. Under 
the personable leadership of Bethel, the 
College continued to act as a partner to the 
local business community and a patron to 
ambitious students eager for greater personal 
mobility. The experiences of the Depression 
and World War II encouraged the school to re- 
evaluate continuously its resources and its 
goals, to meet challenges head-on, and to 
anticipate change. 

Although the date of the armistice was 
unknown, the College began specific plan- 
ning for the return of the veterans as early as 
August 1943. The College foresaw the need to 
serve two groups in the "not-too-distant 
future": to provide vocational rehabilitation 
for disabled soldiers, and to offer veterans 
"training for vocational adjustment following 
the war". The first veteran of World War II 
enrolled at the College in July 1944. The num- 
ber increased and by the spring term of 1945 
there were sixty veterans at the College. The 
surge in veterans' enrollments was due large- 
ly to Public Law 346 or "CI Bill", passed by 
Congress and signed by President Roosevelt 
in June 1944. 

The last wartime academic year (1944- 
1945) foreshadowed the College's post-war 
revival. Enrollment increased slightly in the 
1944 fall term to 270 students. There was an 
eighty percent increase in enrollment in the 
business division. This increase was interpret- 
ed as a sign that business and industry were 
shifting their emphasis from the more techni- 
cal engineering areas to management, 
accounting, and marketing because these 
fields offered more opportunity in the post- 
war era. 

As New Fiaven Junior College prepared 
for peace. Bethel won recognition for the 
College in March 1945 when he was elected 
president of the American Association of 
Junior Colleges for 1945- 1946. Meanwhile, the 
College was gratified when a former 


,^ i <? ^ .^; •* *^ «'^ f ; 

'.: I' /i' ,1' .i*' .4' .■»■ tV '•*»■ 


Engineering student. Private William A. 
Soderman, won the Congressional Medal of 
Honor, the nation's highest military award for 
heroism. His actions during December 17 and 
18, 1944, in the German Ardennes counter 
offensive earned him the honor. 

New Haven Junior College had earned a 
measure of satisfaction as it approached its 
twenty-fifth anniversary at the end of the war. 
Since 1920, approximately 8,000 students had 
attended the College, and an additional 7- 
8,000 participated in the EDT, ESMDT, and 

ESMWT war-training programs. Yale 
President Charles Seymour wrote of Yale's 
pleasure with the College: 

'Yale University is especially proud of the 
Junior College since, through it, the 
University has been able to enlarge its contri- 
bution to the community. The University has 
realized that a community service of this sort 
is most effective when administered coopera- 
tively to meet the existing needs'. 

The college began specific planning for the return of veterans as early as August 1943. 




The Second Quarter Century 

The Move to University Hill 

In the second quarter century of its histo- 
ry, the University retained many of the 
characteristics of the previous period, but 
fortunately was spared the uncertainties 
associated with economic depression and 
worldwide war. Indeed, the university bene- 
fitted from unprecedented postwar prosperity 
which extended into the 1970s (punctuated 
only by a few recessions). As a result, the 
university grew physically from space within 
Yale buildings and a projected new campus 
on Cold Spring Street in New Haven to the 
surprising acquisition of a wholly new ready- 
made campus in West Haven, its present site. 
The school also grew programmatically and 
academically as it expanded into baccalaure- 
ate degree programs, received accreditation 
from the New England Association of Schools 
and Colleges (the accrediting agency for 
schools in the region) first for its Associate 
degrees in 1948 and ultimately for its 
Bachelor's programs in 1966. At the very end 
of the second quarter, the college became a 
University in 1970 when it began offering 
graduate degrees. During this period of enor- 
mous change the university preserved its 
sense of responsible, responsive, flexible, and 

fiscally cautious leadership, retained quality 
and qualified faculty, adapted to the changing 
region economy, and built upon a symbiotic 
and synergistic relationship with business 
and industry. The college maintained a bene- 
ficial relationship with the Y.M.C.A. and Yale 
through most of the period until 1963. 

Just after the war ended in August 1945, 
the New Haven Y.M.C.A. Junior College reor- 
ganized into four major instructional divisions: 
Business, Engineering, Management, and 
General Studies in order to respond more 
quickly to the evolving employment needs of 
the postwar American economy. The two new 
divisions. Management and General Studies, 
were expected to provide, respectively, the 
managerial skills for the industries which 
expanded in the Second World War and the 
associated writing, mathematical, and social 
skills for the burgeoning middle class, espe- 
cially for the millions of veterans who were 
entering college for the first time under the 
G.I. Bill. By 1947, veterans whose average age 
was 28 constituted 69% of the registrations at 
the university and enrollments soared. The 
growth in enrollment was permanent; even 
after the returning veterans had completed 


*" ^W' / ■<, 

■ ^ 4^ t^; 4; (« -:*■ 4; '^ f . f ■. 

their education, enrollments remained high 
mainly because the concept of higher educa- 
tion had gained currency among the 
American public. 

A further response to the needs of the 
regional economy was the expansion of a 
program begun by Director Bethel in 1944: the 
five-year Employee Training Agreements 
with companies. By 1948, 13 companies 
contributed financially to the program's 
development; in return the college gave 
special courses to meet the specific needs of 
each company, established special programs 
of a long-term nature, and reorganized and 
adapted existing programs to serve the patron 
companies. The college also worked with the 
student- employees in extraordinary ways to 
select and counsel them, to plan and coordi- 
nate their work and study, and to provide 
placement service, to the company and the 
student. The college's achievements, especial- 
ly its academic quality, was recognized in 
1948 when the New England Association of 
Schools and Colleges (NEASC), granted full 
accreditation for ten years, the maximum 

Building upon its creativity and flexibility, 
the college embarked upon a Cooperative 
Program of Education in 1949. Under this 
type of program, students alternated 4 
months of study with a similar period of full- 
time work. This work-study plan, originated 
by the University of Cincinnati in 1906 and 
since then adopted by many other colleges 
and universities, was a natural outgrowth of 
the college's long experience with the New 
Haven area's business and industry. 

Yale allowed buildings in 1949 to be used 
by the college for early afternoon classes as 
well as evening students. This accommoda- 
tion intended to help two groups of students: 
those who worked in the evening and "grave- 
yard" shifts and those who were enrolled in 
the evening Cooperative Education program. 
Two years later, however, Yale notified the 
college that it needed the Winchester Hall 
space for its expanding quota of Army Air 
Force Reserve Officers Training Unit students. 
After a year's search, Yale found space in the 
Sheffield Engineering Mechanics Hall at 51 
Prospect Street for the junior college's offices. 

Although New Haven College did build a 
branch building in 1958 at College Woods, it 
continued to need the use of Yale buildings 
and their laboratories until spring 1963. 

New Haven College undertook a unique 
venture in 1952, when the college accepted its 
first class in the School of Executive 
Development. This school (known as SED) 
was a four-year program for middle-level 
executives to broaden their expertise beyond 
their own specialized areas promotion to 
upper management. The college received 
valuable assistance from college officials and 
industrialists from Worcester, Massachusetts, 
where a similar program operated successful- 
ly at Worcester Polytechnic Institute. The pro- 
gram was structured as follows: 

Year 1: Effective Self-Expression and 

Speed Reading; 
Year 2: Human Relations in Industry 

and the Economy; 
Year 3: The Economics of the Firm; 

Production Management; and 

Buying and Selling Practices; 
Year 4: Personnel Administration; and 

Report and Policy Formation. 

The first class of 25 began in January 1953 and 
the program lasted until 1969; subsequently, it 
evolved into an Executive MBA program in 
1977 in the graduate school. 

Other changes occurred in 1953 to alter 
the image of the school. In the spring of 1953 
the university changed its name from the 
New Haven Y.M.C.A. Junior College to New 
Haven College; this description demonstrated 
its unusual parentage and mission: "A 
Subsidiary of the New Haven Y.M.C.A. 
Operating in Yale University as Independent 
Community College...." A key administrative 
change was the appointment of Marvin K. 
Peterson, Dean of the College, as Acting 
Director, when Dr. Lawrence L. Bethel asked 
for and received a year's leave of absence to 
become President of the Fashion Institute of 
Technology of the State University of New 
York in New York City. A year later Dr Bethel 
resigned as "Director-on-leave of absence" 
and the Board of Governors of the college 
appointed M.K. Peterson as the school's first 
President. President Peterson, a graduate of 



♦ ,,♦ ♦■> >:^'»;^ 

Aerial view of the Neic Haven Couniy Temporary Home for Children aeqmred in 1960 and renamed Maxey Hall. 

the Wharton School of Finance of the 
University of Pennsylvania (B.S.) and of 
Rutgers University (M.A. in Education), 
joined the college in 1945 as chairman of the 
Business Division. He had served as a major 
in the Army Air Corps during World War II. 
He was fondly referred to as "Pete" by friends 
and colleagues throughout his career. 

President Peterson focused the college's 
attention on the vocational needs of residents 
of the New Haven area. In addition to the 
Employee Training Agreements, the Co- 
operative Education program, and the School 
of Executive Development, the college 
embarked on a new venture, a program to 
develop engineering aides for the Olin 
Mathieson Chemical Corporation. This pro- 
gram was extended to the field of electrical 
engineering for Pratt, Read, and Company in 
the Essex, Connecticut, area. The Peterson 
administration was encouraged by studies 
which showed that the New Haven area had a 
need for full-time engineering programs and 
bachelor degree programs in business and 

The college's long-term analyses and 
planning culminated in three directional 
shifts in 1958. First, in that year the College 
began its first new program for full-time 
students, a two-year Daytime Engineering 
program. Completion of the program enabled 
graduates to enter the last two years of a B.S. 
in Engineering program at a 4-5-year 
Engineering College. Second, in 1958 the 
College received provisional state authoriza- 
tion to offer programs leading to its first series 
of bachelor degree programs, the B.S. in 
Business, Accounting, Industrial Management, 
and Industrial Engineering. These programs 
provided the basis for other programs within 
a few years. In the following year, the college 
received full state authorization to offer the 
programs. At the same time, the college also 
received full re-accreditation from NEASC. 

And lastly, in September 1958, the college 
moved daytime engineering operations to a 
newly constructed modern campus building 
on 100 Cold Spring Street at College Woods, 
in New Haven near East Rock Park; evening 
classes continued in Yale buildings. This move 


,V f ^ fc- r 

reflected the college's decision to separate 
from the Y.M.C.A. and Yale. The school had 
been searching for its own property since 
President Peterson was appointed as Acting 
Director in 1953. The original need for space 
at that time was the college's desire to create a 
student center and Co-Op School facilities, as 
the college moved into planning for new day- 
time engineering programs. Yale needed all 
buildings for its day classes. This develop- 
ment led to a five-year quest for property 
which culminated in the new College Woods 
building; the process was lengthy because of 
opposition by local residents in the Cold 
Spring Street area. 

Even this building could not satisfy the 
growing space needs of the college, which 
had 1555 students enrolled in December 1959. 
College officials, especially President 
Peterson, pressed the Board of Governors to 
consider the purchase of property on the 
periphery of New Haven, perhaps the New 
Haven County Home for Orphans in West 
Haven. Together with Roland Bixler, the 
Chairman of the Board of Governors, 
President Peterson convinced the rest of the 
Board that the acquisition of the New Haven 
County Home was the best solution to the 
college's space and property needs, that the 
purchase would solidify the future of the 
college, and that the purchase was financial- 
ly feasible; the college staff had prepared a 
brochure, and Chairman Bixler stated that 
college staff furthermore would transport the 
board to the Home for an inspection. The 
college requested a $300,000 loan from the 
Yale Corporation, which was granted. This 
loan enabled the college to purchase the 
University's present campus on Campbell 
Heights (or now University Hill) for $350,000 
on July 15, 1960. The legal separation of the 
college and the Y.M.C.A. had occurred earlier 
on July 1, 1960. The College Woods property 
was sold in 1961 for $130,000 to the Leila Day 
Nursery. In March, 1962 the college acquired 
an additional 28 acres three blocks north of 
the Orange Avenue main campus for $31,500. 

The college continued to use Yale build- 
ings such as Engineering Mechanics (51 
Prospect Street), North Sheffield, South 
Sheffield, and Hammond Laboratory until the 

end of the 1962-1963 academic year, as well as 
the Y.M.C.A. building on 52 Howe Street in 
New Haven. The college thus ended a long 
physical relationship with Yale and the 
Y.M.C.A. Both had been generous to the 
evolving college, and both would continue to 
be helpful, offering advice and support. Yale's 
own 1961-1962 catalogue promoted the wel- 
fare of New Haven College: 

"No extension or evening classes are 
offered by Yale University either in termtime 
or during the summer. 

Individuals interested in late afternoon 
or evening work are referred to New Haven 
College, and independent community institu- 
tion chartered by the Connecticut legislature, 
which is operated in ten buildings contributed 
by Yale without charge as part of its service to 
the Community." 

The physical use of the Y.M.C.A. and Yale 
buildings made the existence and continua- 
tion of the college possible. The college had 
held classes for the first five years solely in the 
Y.M.C.A. headquarters at 50-52 Howe Street. 
In 1925 the Sheffield Scientific School of Yale 
University offered the use of three buildings— 
- Winchester Hall (15 Prospect Street), North 
Shefiield Hall (45 Prospect Street), and 
Dunham Laboratory of Electrical Engineering 
on Hillhouse Avenue— to the thriving evening 
school. The college's early catalogues describe 
the classrooms an "commodious," and the 
buildings as large and well-equipped. 
Subsequently during the next 35 years the 
college used seven other buildings belonging 
to the Sheffield Scientific School: South 
Sheffield (presently Strathcona Hall) at the 
corner of Grove and Prospect Streets, and the 
North Sheffield Engineering Mechanics, 
Sloane Physics, and Sterling Chemistry labo- 
ratory buildings on Prospect Street, the Leet 
Oliver Memorial Hall and Mason Mechanical 
Engineering Laboratory buildings on 
Hillhouse Avenue, and the Hammond 
Metallurgical Laboratory at 14 Mansfield 

In addition to the use of Yale's buildings 
and equipment, by the beginning of the 1940s 
New Haven Y.M.C.A. Junior College students 
were allowed to use certain technical libraries 
of Yale University: the School of Engineering 


♦ :,> ♦■,.♦ .♦^^■♦^ 

Library, and the Department of Applied 
Economics and Industrial Administration 
Library; with special permission they could 
also have access to Sterling Memorial Library. 
While the main administrative offices 
remained at the Y.M.C.A. on Howe Street 
until September 1942, Winchester Hall gradu- 
ally became headquarters for the offices of the 
junior college at the Sheffield School location. 
In 1928 "well-Ughted rooms" became available 
for study purposes from 6:30 p.m. until 10:00 
p.m., and officers of the college came to a 
designated office (later Room 114) in 
Winchester for five evenings each week to 
handle student needs and problems. By 1938 a 
reference library was also housed in Room 
114, the evening office of the college. This 
room was a very large room on the first floor, 
just to the left of the central entrance stairs. In 
1942, the Director (or President), Registrar, 
and Admissions officers and staff moved from 
the Y.M.C.A. building to Winchester HaU, 

while the Financial and Alumni offices 
remained at the "Y". 

New Haven College moved to the new 
West Haven campus (consisting of the present 
Maxcy Hall, the Gatehouse, and the Student 
Services Building), and embarked on a build- 
ing program throughout the Sixties. In 1965 
the first building to be constructed was the 
Student Center, the fulfillment of a decades- 
long desire of both the administration and the 
students. The Engineering Science Building 
(presently Buckman Hall) was built in 1968. 
The completion of the Freshman Dormitory in 
1969 marked a notable departure from the 
past because the college housed resident full- 
time students for the first time. 

Academic programs expanded markedly 
in the early 1960s. The needs of industry and 
business grew and general prosperity 
returned after the recessions of the 1950s, 
developing into one of the most significant 
periods of economic prosperity the United 

The Gatehouse, part of the original West Haven campus in 1960 when the University purchased the former Neiv Haven County 
Temporary Home for Children. 


'1 1 1 

States had experienced. The college swiftly 
seized new opportunities to serve the region. 
The popularity of the college's engineering 
programs in the New Haven region led to an 
expanded curriculum. In 1960 the B.S. in 
Industrial Engineering included four options 
in the program; General, Electrical, 
Mechanical, and Metallurgical. Two years 
later, the Electrical Engineering option 
expanded to a full bachelor's degree program 
(B.S.). In 1963 the B.S. in Mechanical 
Engineering was inaugurated. 

In the 1960s, the college developed 
programs in other areas also, particularly in 
business and in the arts and sciences. The B.S. 
in Business and the B.S. in Accounting served 
as umbrellas under which other business 
programs could be offered. New majors in 
1963 included Finance, Industrial 
Administration with General and Computer 
options, and Public Administration. In 1961 
the college offered its first Associate degrees 
in Arts and Sciences' programs in General 
Studies, Commercial and Advertising Art, 
Journalism, Public Relations, Laboratory 
Techniques, and Office and Personnel 

These programmatic expansions 
enhanced the college's academic standing and 
the college with the new bachelor's degree 
programs was re-accredited by the New 
England Association of Schools and Colleges 
in 1966. Building on NEASC's analysis of the 
baccalaureate programs and the move to a 
new campus, the college in 1967 decided to go 
beyond the four-year bachelor programs in 
engineering and business. New Haven 
College began to offer the B.A. degree in Arts 
and Sciences in the following fields: American 
Studies, Chemistry, Economics, English, 
History, Mathematics, and Physics; the insti- 
tution also decided to offer the B.S. in 
Chemistry, Mathematics, and Physics to 

appeal to more scientifically minded students. 
Within another year, by 1968, the college, 
through its School of Business 
Administration, began a major in Law 
Enforcement in response to the pressing prob- 
lem of Crime in America. 

In 1969 the college established a 
Graduate School in order to grant its first 
graduate degrees — the MBA and an M.S. in 
Industrial Engineering. The person most 
responsible for the implementation of these 
graduate programs was the first dean of the 
new school. Dr. Phillip Kaplan. The programs 
were immediately licensed by the State of 
Connecticut Commission for Higher 
Education. A year later, on the school's 50th 
Anniversary, New Haven College became a 
university, able to offer graduate programs to 
meet the increasing demand for them in 
Southern New England. 

In 25 years the University evolved from a 
junior college offering Associate degrees to a 
full four-year college to a university. The 
school had also moved physically from Yale 
buildings to the extensive campus in West 
Haven, where a burgeoning building pro- 
gram began. Moreover, during these changes 
the administration had addressed the issue of 
cjuality by buttressing its library and embark- 
ing on a sustained campaign to hire faculty 
with doctoral and terminal degrees. The insti- 
tution had served formal relations with its 
parent organization, the Y.M.C.A., and with 
its informal supporter, Yale University, and 
become an independent, urban university. 
The University benefitted us from its previous 
experiences to survive the social and political 
tumult within the county in the early 1970s, to 
recover from the turbulence, and to face the 
challenges of the third quarter of its history. 

Concurrent with a period of nationwide 
student unrest occasioned by the Vietnam 


The Last Quarter Century 

Years of Dynamic Growth 

»«T ■%' t 1 '> •< •' 

War, the University entered the period of its 
greatest expansion and diversification. 
During the last twenty-five years, the 
University expanded programs at the under- 
graduate and graduate levels and ultimately 
became a doctoral-granting institution; an 
ongoing and energetic physical building 
program also changed the appearance of the 
campus significantly. The university spread 
its operations and programs throughout the 
state of Connecticut, establishing off-campus 
centers throughout the state, including a 
major branch campus in Southeastern 
Connecticut. The number of constituent acad- 
emic schools rose from four to six to meet new 
areas of student and economic demand. 
Beyond purely academic areas, highly suc- 
cessful baseball and football teams brought 
renown to the campus throughout the United 
States. Joining in one higher education acade- 
mic trend— mergers and partnerships, the 
school investigated partnerships with other 
colleges. Across three complete administra- 
tive changes at the highest levels (president, 
provost, and Chairman of the Board of 
Governors) during this twenty-five year 
period, the pattern of innovation and acade- 
mic entrepreneurialism continued. The period 

was not without difficulties, and the universi- 
ty confronted numerous challenges affecting 
other colleges and universities; demographic 
change and consequent enrollment declines, 
dramatic fluctuations in the national and 
especially regional economies, and labor ten- 
sion and strife. At the end of seventy-five 
years, the university strove to anticipate the 
projected demands of the twenty-first century, 
to position itself financially and academically 
to survive to celebrate a centenary of history 
in 2020. 

New Haven College exuberantly changed 
its name to the University of New Haven in 
the fall of 1970, but the decade began on a 
somber note because of student unrest 
sparked by the Vietnam War. In early 1970, 
college students throughout the country were 
protesting the war, the trial of the Chicago 
Seven, the scheduled arraignment of Bobby 
Seale of the Black Panthers, and the hints by 
Secretary of State Henry Kissinger of a possi- 
ble invasion of Cambodia. New Haven 
College students had been actively involved 
in earlier antiwar demonstrations. When 
President Peterson announced a 12% tuition 
increase (from $1250 to $1400) in late January 
1970, students' antiwar feelings blended with 


.it <»' J^- i»; ^; <* <^ f^; fi 
,: ,V .4" 4' -lit' .*' /»■ »-!.' cS' 

dismay over the tuition hike, and the students 
began a spring semester of protest. The tuition 
increase was not unexpected; President 
Peterson had broached the subject in mid- 
September, 1969, at the Freshman Orientation 
Assembly, had discussed the topic at each of 
his Fireside Chats with the students through- 
out the fall semester and at a Day Student 
Council meeting, and had kept the faculty 
informed. The Board of Governors postponed 
a decision about the size of a tuition increase 
from November 20, 1969, until official student 
reaction was received through the Day 
Student Council, in an 18-page analysis or 
"Report" on January 6, 1970. The Council 
opposed the tuition hike because the college 
had already increased tuition by 25% in the 
previous year and the proposed increase 
totalled 40% over two years, 1969-71. The 
Council charged that promised physical 
improvements had not been undertaken with 
the increased revenue from the 1969 tuition 
increase from $1000 to $1250, and that New 
Haven College students did not receive 
comparable quality in faculty, housing, build- 
ings, and services to other "sister" institutions 
(such as Quinnipiac College, the University of 
Bridgeport, and Fairfield University). The 
Board of Governors and the Peterson admin- 
istration rejected the students' position and 
voted on January 15, 1970, to raise tuition by 

One month later, on February 19, 1970, the 
students reacted to the announcement. 
Approximately 100 students met with 
President Peterson at noon to protest the 
tuition hike and to present a rough list of 
student demands; afterward they began a 10- 
day walkout or "strike" in the Student Center, 
students were bussed in from other universi- 
ties, a band was hired, and a Political 
Awareness session on local and national 
issues was held, as were workshops and 
"teach-ins" on the war. The Day Student 
Council formalized its protest into 10 
Demands which they gave the administration 
on the following morning of February 20th; 
the demands concerned the following: tuition 
increases, student representation on the 
Board, health insurance, control of student 
activities' fees, parking conditions, reserve 

registration fees, control of the book store, 
physical conditions in the dormitory, the 
administration of the housing department, 
and the discipline of students or faculty dur- 
ing the strike. 

The college authorities took the protest 
seriously; the Executive Committee of the 
Board of Governors held a special session at 
3 p.m., only hours after the students left 
President Peterson's office; these Board "were 
expecting to attend a regular session of the 
Executive Committee, but learned upon their 
arrival of the criticality of events; in view of 
the gravity of the situation, the Board agreed 
to meet with the students on February 23, the 
following Monday. During the interval 
President Peterson met with the students in 
Fireside Chats in the Student Center Lounge 
to exchange views. Fie urged them to suspend 
their protest, but they refused. 

Prior to the meeting of the entire Board 
and the students, the President had worked to 
defuse two of the student petitions of 
February 19th; he had obtained telephone 
approval from the Executive and Personnel 
Committees of the Board to waive a tenure 
requirement for Professor Ralf Carriuolo and 
to promote Professor William Scholl to 
Associate Professor. The meeting itself lasted 
more than four hours and culminated in an 
agreement that an Ad Hoc Committee of an 
equal number of students and Board mem- 
bers meet the following afternoon to address 
the students' 10 Demands. The Board ulti- 
mately approved the committee's compro- 
mise recommendations. Students as well as 
the faculty gained representation on the 
Board; the students also secured control of the 
activities' fees, a promise to pave the parking 
lots, and the lack of any academic penalties 
for the class boycott. The issues of future 
tuition increases, health insurance, registra- 
tion fees, control of the book store, and the 
problems with housing and the dormitories 
were unresolved, pending further discus- 
sions. The most serious period of student 
unrest ended by early April 1970. The stu- 
dents' and faculty's positions on the Board 
remained in place, as did the students' victory 
of control of their own student activities' fees. 
One enduring result of the student strike was 


* * ^-J 

New staff and faculty 1969-1970. 

that university administrators became more 
attentive to the climate of student opinion. 

The New Haven College campus quieted 
briefly, until the deaths of four Kent State 
University students happened on May 4, 
1970. The college's students failed to secure a 
majority vote for participation in the nation- 
wide student strike protesting the U.S. inva- 
sion of Cambodia and the Kent State killings; 
the college therefore did not close, although 
President Peterson authorized payment for 
one busload of students to attend an antiwar 
rally in Washington. In addition, the campus 
was affected by racial tensions exacerbated by 
the trial of the Black Panthers in New Haven 
and by social and economic conditions affect- 
ing America's black population. President 
Peterson and his administration condemned 
racism and discrimination, tried to lessen ani- 
mosities between the Day Student Council 
and the Black Student Union, and granted 
demands for lectures and teach-ins about race 

In the midst of this unrest, on March 12, 
1970, President Peterson announced his inten- 
tion to resign no later than June 30, 1971. He 
stated that he had accomplished much during 
his 17 years as president, that New Haven 

College had grown from fewer than 200 full- 
time equivalent (FTP) students in 1960 to 
more than 2000 FTP in 1970. He added that 
the position had become too complex for 
one person to handle both the executive and 
financial areas as he did, and that a new posi- 
tion of Vice-President for Finance and 
Administration should be created. Peterson 
said that he would like to be considered for 
that position, but that it was time for a 
younger person to take over as President. As 
the Board began establishing a committee to 
choose a new president. Professor William 
Scholl announced his candidacy in April 1970; 
concurrently the deans of the Schools of Arts 
and Sciences, Business, Engineering, and 
Graduate Studies wrote a letter supporting 
Dr. Allan Hutchinson, the Academic Vice- 
President. However, the Board avoided 
precipitate action and appointed a search 
committee headed by Professor Gwendolyn 
Jensen of the History Department. Learning 
from their most recent history, the Board 
recruited representatives of the Board of 
Governors, the faculty, students, alumni, and 
staff to screen candidates. Meanwhile, the 
search lengthened and the Board renewed 
President Peterson's contract twice so that he 


r.->..-,#.>->>-1f > 


'?, f . t 

could serve until September 1973. He agreed 
to continue after the university had appointed 
Frank Hull to the new position of financial 
officer; also, student government was restruc- 
tured, and a campus self-study task force 
guided by Board member Robert Metcalf was 
preparing to propose changes. 

The university implemented some of the 
Metcalf committee's suggestions in March 
1972. The new position of Vice-President for 
Academic Affairs and Provost was filled by 
Dr. Phillip Kaplan and Dr Hutchinson was 
named to another newly-created job, the 
Director of the Office of Academic 
Development. Hutchinson had resigned as 
Vice-President of the University because he 
had earlier disagreed with President 
Peterson's and the Board's actions following 
the spring 1970 student strike; now, two years 
later, he refused to remain as Vice-President 
because "We do not see eye to eye on how to 
run a college." In April 1972 he published an 
article in the student newspaper. The News, 
entitled "What Will Your UNH Degree Be 
Worth;" the article called for strengthening the 
Board of Governors and for appointing better 
administrators. President Peterson responded 
in the next issue of the paper sharply criticiz- 

ing Dr Hutchinson and his views, and the fact 
that he had made his personal and ideological 
disagreements public rather than utilizing the 
Board and the Metcalf Self-Study Group. In 
the summer of 1972 Dr Hutchinson left the 

These public disagreements occurred just 
before the next wave of anti-Vietnam War 
protests hit the nation and affected the 
university. In late April and May 1972 some 
students called for a strike of classes. On April 
26 some 13-15 students locked themselves in 
the Engineering Building for three and a half 
hours. There was a mixed response from 
students and the faculty as some supported 
the call for the strike and others, especially 
engineering students who wanted to attend 
their classes, did not. A General Faculty 
Meeting, however, passed resolutions sympa- 
thetic to the protest against the re-escalation 
of the war, and agreed to consider such 
antiwar activities as abnormal class absences, 
urging the university to remain open and to 
adopt generous grading procedures for anti- 
war students; the faculty also voted to close 
the university on May 4th in deference to the 
nationwide strike scheduled for that day. The 
Board of Governors also signed an antiwar 

Students relaxinj^ on the lawn of Buckman Hall - 1978. 


" /V E C T ^ 

]immy Carter campaigns ad UNH in 1976. 

resolution asking for an end to the war. 

The last three years of the Peterson admin- 
istration saw not only antiwar and internal 
administrative strife but also the continued 
growth of undergraduate and graduate pro- 
grams, the establishment of the university's 
own radio station— WNHU, and a continuing 
building program. Responding to emerging 
needs, the university offered undergraduate 
programs in the fields of fire science, commu- 
nication, international business, and industrial 
technology; among the new market-driven 
graduate programs offered was the M.S. in 
Criminal Justice and the M.A. in Community 
Psychology. Undergraduate and graduate 
courses, primarily in business, engineering, 
and criminal justice, began to be offered in 
Southeastern Connecticut at local junior and 
senior high schools. This modest presence in 
the Groton-New London area would evolve 
during the next three decades into the univer- 
sity's main branch campus. In the spring of 
1973 another vision was fulfilled when the 
tower for UNH's radio station was erected. By 
the time of President Peterson's retirement in 
September 1973, the campus had three new 
additional buildings: the Gymnasium- 
Auditorium on the North Campus, the 
Graduate School, and a modern Bookstore, all 
having been completed in 1971. The ground- 
breaking for the university Library occurred 
on a mild February 5th; the Library was the 
first new campus building designed as the 
result of an architectural competition. 

Dr. Phillip S. Kaplan was chosen in May 
1973 to succeed President Peterson. Dr. 

Kaplan earned his B.A. at the University of 
Massachusetts, his M.A. in Economics at 
Columbia University, and his Ph.D. in 
Political Economy at The Johns Hopkins 
University. He had come to the university in 
1959 and rose rapidly in faculty and adminis- 
trative ranks, serving as Assistant Chairman 
of the Department (future School) of Business 
Administration, Director of the Division of 
Continuing Education, Chairman of the 
Department of Social Sciences, Chairman of 
the Department of Economics, Dean of the 
School of Business, and Dean of the Graduate 
School prior to his appointment as provost. 
Dr. Alexis A. Sommers, a Purdue University 
Ph.D. in Industrial Engineering was chosen to 
serve as provost for the eighteen years of the 
Kaplan administration. 

The Kaplan administration (1973-1991) 
can be characterized as aggressive, entrepre- 
neurial, and expansionist; the team initially 
benefited from sound enrollments in the mid- 
1970s, but by the end of the 1970s and the 
beginning of the 1980s confronted the stark 
realities of a declining college-age population 
and the consequent scramble by both private 
and public colleges and universities for funds 

C. Cordon Liddy at UNH -wluk o)i his speaking tour. 


■♦.•,#.#.•♦•#••> 4 

and students amid a beleaguered New 
England and northeastern economy. President 
Kaplan and Provost Sommers shared the 
objectives of the new Chairman of the Board 
of Governors, Norman I. Botwinik: new pro- 
grams to stabilize enrollments, a dynamic 
expansion, the containment of the state col- 
leges, improved faculty quality, cooperation 
with other institutions, and state and federal 
legislation favorable to the university. 

Throughout his administration President 
Kaplan encouraged administrators and facul- 
ty to create new programs in emerging areas 
such as occupational safety and health, fire 
science, health care administration, environ- 
mental engineering, financial services, avia- 
tion, dietetics, hotel and restaurant 
administration, and tourism. The university 
established two new professional schools to 
provide focus to several of these new pro- 
grams: the School of Hotel, Restaurant, and 
Tourism Administration (1984) and the School 
of Professional Studies and Continuing 
Education (1978). Earlier, in 1975, the Faculty 
Senate rejected the request of the Department 
of Criminal Justice to be upgraded to school 
status in spite of large enrollments and 
numbers of majors, 28.7% of the Day Division. 
President Kaplan also sought to buttress older 
fields, particularly engineering, business, and 
the traditional liberal arts and sciences 
through applied programs such as environ- 
mental science, industrial and organizational 
psychology, music and sound recording, 
music industry, management of sports indus- 
tries, chemical engineering, and logistics. The 
School of Business established the university's 
first doctoral program, the Doctor of Science 
in Management Systems, and developed a 
highly successful Executive MBA program in 
1976 which offered courses in Stamford and 
West Haven for mid-level and higher execu- 
tives. By 1995 the program had over 1000 
graduates, of which 100 were owners, chief 
executives, officers, or presidents of their 
organizations. Another unorthodox approach 
to meeting students' needs was the re-inaugu- 
ration in 1981 of the co-op program, which 
assisted students simultaneously to hold 
meaningful job assignments for part of the 
year and go to school during the remainder; 

they would complete their bachelor's degree 
in five years relevant job experiences and con- 

The university also improved its quality 
during the Kaplan administration. The school 
received continued 10-year accreditations 
from the New England Association of Schools 
and Colleges in 1980 and 1990, as well as 
accreditation of its engineering programs 
every three years by the Engineers' Council 
for Professional Development and its succes- 
sor body, the Accreditation Board for 
Engineering and Technology (ABET). The 
University Board of Governors approved 
President Kaplan's policy in May 1974 gov- 
erning appointments to the faculty and staff; 
this policy advocated that newly hired faculty 
should possess the terminal degree in their 
field and that permanent faculty without the 
Ph.D. should rarely be promoted above the 
rank of Assistant Professor. To meet the need 
for students to graduate with a common body 
of knowledge, he established a series of task 
forces beginning in 1978 to formulate a 
university-wide core curriculum; eventually, 
after five years, the present core curriculum, 
designed by a faculty and academic adminis- 
trator team led by Arts and Sciences Dean 
Joseph B. Chepaitis, was accepted by the 
Faculty Senate in 1983 and has stood the test 
of time and academic politics. 

What President Kaplan called "the dynam- 
ics of expansion" was expressed through more 
campus buildings and the extension of under- 
graduate and graduate programs throughout 
the state of Connecticut. The Library was 
completed during the early Kaplan years and 
dedicated in 1974 to former President 
Peterson. Taking advantage of available 
contiguous property, the university in 1975 
acciuired the former dormitory of the Brothers 
from Notre Dame High School, Harugari 
Hall; Harugari eventually became a classroom 
and faculty office building. To fund the physical 
and academic expansion of the university, 
Kaplan undertook a large fund-raising 
campaign in November, 1975, the Campaign 
for Excellence, with the purpose of raising 
SlO-12,000,000. By the end of the campaign in 
April 1978 the university had secured pledges 
of $4,497,416. 


In 1982 the university purchased the 
AT&T Long-Lines Building on Orange 
Avenue for $422,000 through the generosity of 
John E. and Beryl G. Echlin; after renovation 
costing $730,000, Echlin Hall opened in the 
fall of 1984 as the home of the Computer 
Center, the Executive-MBA program, and the 
Department of Industrial Engineering and 
Computer Science. 

The next campus construction was a class- 
room and faculty office building originally 
built to house science, music, and art pro- 
grams of the School of Arts and Sciences and 
also the Forensic Science department's labora- 
tories and offices. When Dodds Hall was com- 
pleted in 1983, the Kaplan administration 
decided to use the building for the School of 
Business; at that time the university was fac- 
ing intense competition for students from the 
Schools of Business of nearby colleges and 
universities and wished to give prominence 

and increased status to its own Business 

In the next year, 1984, the university was 
able to add more dormitory space and change 
the direction of the university toward becom- 
ing a more residential institution through 
acquisition of the adjacent Pare Vendome 
Apartments, with 71 apartments for $1.2 
million; the 12-year old building soon housed 
an additional 230 full-time students. Also in 
1984, the 22-unit Helen Anne Apartments 
were bought for $375,000. To complete the 
residential complex, the university purchased 
another 72-unit apartment building, Olympic 
Heights, for an additional $1.6 million. 
Together with the original Freshman 
Dormitory completed in 1969, the university 
now had residential capacity for 700 students. 
In 1985, the school purchased the property 
known as the Arbeiter Maenner Chor for 
$290,000; this property gave it significant new 

John E. Echlin Hall 1984 
The former AT&T Long-Lines building. 



<«> <i -J- «■ V 

acreage and frontage on the Boston Post Road 
for future development. Arbeiter Maenner 
Chor was the last in the Kaplan administra- 
tion, although the university did begin a 
campus beautification program in 1982 with 
the brick walk and the planting of dogwood 
trees in front of Maxcy Hall, and the place- 
ment of new signs throughout the campus. 

In addition to physical expansion, the 
university took its courses and programs to 
markets throughout the state. The school's 
faculty taught graduate courses in 
Middlebury, Torrington, Danbury, 

Greenwich, Madison /Clinton, Wallingford, 
and Middletown. The university continues to 
offer graduate courses in Waterbury, 
Trumbull, Stamford, Newtown, Newington, 
and Groton/New London. Southeastern 
Connecticut remained the university's main 
branch campus, with a substantial graduate 
and undergraduate student population. The 
university used local junior and senior high 
schools, especially Fitch Senior High, Grasso 
Southeastern Regional Technical High, 
Mitchell College (1975-82, 1995- ), space at a 
small office building in Groton at Trails 
Corner, and particularly Electric Boat, with 
whom the university had had a long relation- 
ship since 1978. Electric Boat needed more 
degreed supervisors and the university there- 
fore developed an accelerated degree pro- 
gram in business administration, called the 
Cornerstone program. The university also 
developed a special bachelor's program for 
Electric Boat in Marine and Shipbuilding 
Technology in 1980. The mainstay programs 
in Southeastern Connecticut have been in 
business and engineering, and more recently, 
in public safety and hotel, restaurant, and 
tourism administration. 

The Kaplan administration sought to 
ensure the survival of the university through 
a variety of tactics. The university intensely 
lobbied the Connecticut Assembly and the 
Governor for state monies for Connecticut 
students in private colleges. President Kaplan 
also attempted to persuade private or inde- 
pendent Connecticut colleges to act in concert, 
to resist expansion of the state colleges or 
universities into programs which duplicated 
those offered by the independent colleges. 

and to join in cooperative arrangements with 
each other. The cooperative approach had 
begrm in the fall of 1972 when the university, 
Quinnipiac College, and Albertus Magnus 
College opened their libraries to each other's 
students and faculties, applying the philoso- 
phy that private colleges only could survive 
in tight economic times through pooling 
resources to cut costs. In September 1973, the 
three schools inaugurated a cross registration 
program for each other's students. Although 
the administrations tried to emulate the very 
successful Amherst Consortium of five 
schools in Western Massachusetts, not many 
students from any of the three New Haven 
area schools cross-registered for courses and 
the program failed; however, shared library 
resources did attract students and faculty. 

A serious attempt at intra-university coop- 
eration occurred in 1980-1982 when the 
University of New Haven and the University 
of Bridgeport investigated a possible merger 
of the two schools. The impetus for the pro- 
posed merger grew after a meeting between 
President Kaplan, President Leland Miles of 
the University of Bridgeport, and other 
administrators from both schools on March 7, 
1977. Both schools were disgruntled about the 
ineffectiveness of the Connecticut Conference 
of Independent Colleges, the lobbying organi- 
zation of the private colleges. The strategy 
discussed at the meeting was the creation of a 
Third Force consisting of the two universities, 
and hopefully, the University of Hartford; this 
third force would counterbalance the force of 
the state schools and the force of the Ivy 
League schools in the state. The three urban 
universities planned to coordinate requests 
for effective and meaningful state aid for their 
institutions and to avoid program duplication 
within their "natural territories." The idea did 
not generate much enthusiasm until 
November 29, 1979, when the University of 
Bridgeport proposed that it become a "state- 
related" institution and merge with 
Housatonic State Community College and the 
Stamford branch of the University of 
Connecticut to form the "University of 
Southwestern Connecticut." Meetings 

between Presidents Kaplan and Miles and 
selected trustees from both schools occurred 


Coiiitruction of Dodds Hall begins in 1981. 



, .4 ■:*■ ■•■'■* ■< 

through the summer of 1980, spurred by the 
UB proposal and the wish to create a Third 
Force. In November 1980 President Miles sent 
a proposed merger model to UNH with the 
object of creating a University of Southern 
New England, with or without the University 
of Hartford, and a suggestion that they apply 
for a Ford Foundation grant. 

By February 27, 1981, the two presidents 
and the two Executive Committees of the 
respective school's trustees had formally 
approved a merger, which would unite the 
two schools under a single administration and 
faculty within five years. Both presidents then 
began the artful task of soliciting assistance 
from the Ford, Exxon, and Carnegie 
Foundations through trips to the foundations 
in New York City and a proposed feasibility 
study to be conducted by national panel of 
consultants. The University of Bridgeport had 
received grants from both the Ford and Exxon 
Foundations to conduct in-depth studies of 
five institutions which had cooperative rela- 
tionships involving public and independent 
education; the results of the study were 
published in Fall 1981. During August both 
schools received the good news that the Ford 
Foundation had awarded a $50,000 grant and 
the Exxon Foundation a $75,000 one for the 
first comprehensive case study of the dynam- 
ics of the merger process. The Study 
Commission was named the Benezet 
Commission after its director. Dr. Louis 
Benezet, Professor of Human Development 
and Educational Policy at the State University 
of New York at Stony Brook. The commission 
consisted of three college presidents, from the 
University of Massachusetts-Boston, Mercy 
College of New York, and Norwich University 
of Vermont, and three CEOs from large corpo- 
rations, and staff specialists. 

While the Benezet Commission conduct- 
ed the feasibility study, both institutions 
continued the merger process. Throughout 
the 1981-82 academic year, provosts, assistant 
provosts, deans, and chairpersons from both 
schools met to coordinate calendars, class 
schedules, and programs so that cross-regis- 
tration of students could occur in September, 

Finally on April 16, 1982 the Benezet 

Commission released a report, recommending 
that the two schools merge. The Commission 
found that the odds for survival were more 
favorable through a merger than through 
independence. The Commission's report 
projected that the initial costs of the merger 
would be $500,000, subsequent costs would 
be $1,000,000 to enhance the image of the 
proposed new university, and yearly trans- 
portation and communication costs would 
total about $300,000. The commission suggest- 
ed that the schools move swiftly to merge, 
reduce the number of adjunct professors and 
try to retain as many full-time faculty as 
economically possible. They further recom- 
mended the formation of a "holding compa- 
ny" composed of seven members of both 
schools' Boards of Governors, and several 
neutral members. Benezet, in response to 
concerns of some University of Bridgeport 
students about the lessening of academic 
standards, asserted that the commission 
found the two schools academically similar. 

President Kaplan continued to be enthu- 
siastic about the merger, but the Board of 
Trustees at Bridgeport voted not to endorse 
the Benezet Commission's recommendation 
for a merger at that time; they wanted their 
administration to do a comparative study of 
the strengths and weaknesses of the two insti- 
tutions by October and the president to 
submit his final recommendations by 
December 1982. They were perhaps con- 
cerned by the news that UNH had a deficit 
that year. President Miles sent a detailed 43- 
page, single-spaced study to his Board and to 
the UB campus leadership on September 13 
after receiving more data from UNH and his 
own staff over the summer. He also sent a 
copy to President Kaplan and Chairman 
Botwinik. President Kaplan was upset by the 
negative tone of the report; Chairman Benezet 
also drew the same conclusion, which he 
noted in a letter to President Miles on 
September 15. As a further result of the Miles 
report, the Executive Committee of the UNH 
Board of Governors voted on September 22, 
1982, to discontinue merger discussions. The 
Executive Committee reasoned that the two 
universities had differing visions of the new 
university, that the Miles report did not reflect 


Fine Arts class in session - 1978. 

the "strong position of UNH" and overstated 
UB's strengths, and that further discussions 
would not be productive. Another factor may 
have been a suggestion in the Miles report 
that all resources be moved to the Bridgeport 
campus and the West Haven campus be 
closed, a plan which conflicted with the 
Benezet Commission model of a two-campus 
university. President Miles responded that he 
regretted UNH's unilateral decision to termi- 
nate the feasibility study and merger process. 
One decade later, under different presidents, 
both universities again explored the merger 
idea briefly , with UNH concluding that a 
merger was impossible; UB subsequently 
solved its financial and enrollment crisis in 
the 1990s by accepting over $50 million 
from the Unification Church. 

Throughout the Kaplan years, the univer- 
sity faced a series of similar difficult decisions. 
One of these was the issue of labor-manage- 
ment relations, affecting faculty, staff, clerical, 
and maintenance workers. Relations between 
the faculty and the administration had been 
strained since the political unrest of the early 
1970s. A group of disaffected faculty were 
dissatisfied with the faculty's traditional in- 
house bargaining group, the Board of Faculty 
Welfare (BFW), and organized an American 
Federation of Teachers (AFT) chapter in 1971. 
By the fall term 1975 sufficient faculty peti- 
tioned the NLRB for an election to determine 

Admi>sn»i> ^tatt - i''7^». 




whether there would be a NLRB-certified 
union or no union. Votes were cast on 
November 14, and most faculty voted for 
either the AFT and the BFW; the vote for " no 
union" was third, and was eliminated for the 
run-off election held on December 15. In that 
election the BFW won, 69-46; eventually, how- 
ever, the faculty voted to affiliate with the 
AFT. The university now bargained collective- 
ly with a NLRB-certified union, the BFW, 
which enjoyed the protection of American 
labor law. The first negotiations were ardu- 
ous, but in late 1976 the first contract, a three- 
year agreement, was signed. 

Both parties dragged out negotiations for 
the next contract. The negotiations for the 
1979-80 contract did not begin until August 
1979 and meetings between the administra- 
tion and faculty were held intermittently. The 
situation was complicated by the Yeshiva 
decision of the Supreme Court in February 

1980. The Yeshiva decision stated that private 
universities are not compelled by the National 
Labor Relations Act to bargain with faculty 
who have substantial managerial authority 
exercised through recommendations concern- 
ing the selection of deans, courses and the 
curriculum, texts, grades, the academic calen- 
dar and class schedules, and tenure and pro- 
motion. The university administration 
invoked the Yeshiva decision in March and 
refused to bargain with the BFW, with the 
result that the BFW-AFT filed an unfair labor 
practice complaint with the NLRB in the 
spring of 1980. The administration asserted its 
willingness to discuss welfare matters with 
representatives of the faculty, but not the 
union. NLRB lawyers determined after an 
investigation that the university had violated 
the National Labor Relations Act. NLRB hear- 
ings were held in April, June, and October 

1981, with the Connecticut State Federation of 
Teachers paying the BFW's legal expenses. 
While the NLRB judge deliberated into 1982, 
the university experienced a $1.4 million 
deficit for the year; the Board of Governors 
decided that this deficit would be repayed 
over the next three years through a wage 
freeze, staff reductions, and program elimina- 
tions for the 1982-83 academic year. Faculty 
positions were eliminated in Art, 

Occupational Safety and Health, Criminal 
Justice, and Physical Education. Finally, in 
July 1982, after these turbulent times, the 
NLRB administrative judge ruled against the 
faculty union's right to exist as the faculty's 
collective bargaining agent. The Hartford 
office of the NLRB appealed his decision to 
the national NLRB, which in September 1983 
ruled that the faculty had no collective bar- 
gaining rights under the protection of the 
National Labor Relations Act. The BFW-AFT 
was effectively decertified. The university 
administration announced that it would 
discuss welfare issues with the faculty collec- 
tively or in small groups. President Kaplan 
concluded that the decision reaffirmed the 
importance of strong faculty governance. 

Labor problems also surfaced within other 
units of the university. The Board of 
Administrative Welfare (BAW), comprised of 
professional staff who had no teaching assign- 
ments, had been recognized through two 
three-year contracts with the university since 
1976. However, in October 1982, the BAW 
filed charges of unfair labor practices against 
the university; the NLRB ruled in the BAW's 
favor. The university in turn filed its own 
counter charges of unfair labor practices. 
Within a few weeks both parties settled their 
contract disagreements and ratified the new 

Other labor groups, maintenance and the 
clerical staff, successfully unionized during 
the 1980s. The Maintenance Workers received 
NLRB certification more easily than the cleri- 
cal workers. Union organizers from the Office 
and Professional Employees International 
Union had tried unsuccessfully to organize 
the clerical workers since 1979. However, in 
the spring of 1982, the university's announce- 
ment of its $1.4 million deficit and the 
prospective merger of UNH and the 
University of Bridgeport increased the cleri- 
cals' uncertainty about their job security. 
Secretaries and clerical employees who 
favored a union failed to convince a majority 
of their colleagues during a NLRB election 
held on April 23, 1982. However, nearly two 
and a half years later on September 14, 1984, 
they unionized through a successful vote (50- 
35) and became members of District 925 


Service Employees International Union, AFL- 
CIO. The clerical staff signed a three- year 
contract in September 1985; the expiration 
date of this contract was timed to coincide 
with the start of the academic year to bring 
pressure on management since September 
was a critical time of the academic year. 
District 925 used this weapon in 1988 when 
they failed to secure a contract by September 
1st, and the university experienced the first 
strike in its history, for six days. The issues 
were resolved and the university was back in 
business within a week. 

After seventeen years of directing the 
university. Dr. Kaplan announced in the fall of 
1990 his intention to resign from the presiden- 
cy on August 31, 1991, and return to the facul- 
ty after a year's sabbatical. After a national 
search, the Board of Governors selected Dr. 
Lawrence J. DeNardis as the next president of 
the university. 

President DeNardis, a New York 
University Ph.D. in Government, had a 
distinguished career in academia and public 
service. He was both a state and a federal 
legislator, serving as a State Senator in the 
Connecticut Assembly and as a U.S. 
Representative for Connecticut's Third 
Congressional District. He was also an 
Assistant Secretary of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services in the Reagan 
administration. His academic experience 
included 16 years as Associate Professor and 
Chairman of Political Science at Albertus 
Magnus College, 11 years as an Adjunct 
Professor at UNH, Visiting Professor of 
Government at Connecticut College, and a 
seminar instructor at Yale. Lastly he had been 
President and CEO of the Connecticut 
Conference of Independent Colleges and 
President and CEO of the Connecticut Policy 
and Economic Council. As his Vice-President 

This photo rqyresents several decades of academic leadership at UNH. Pictured left to right are Ellis Maxcy, Mrs. Lawrence Bethel (the wife of 
deceased President Lawrence Bethel), Mannn K. Peterson and then President Phillip Kaplan. The photo was taken at the kick off of the Fund for 
Engineering Campaign. 


>■ 4 f 

for Academic Affairs and Provost he selected 
Dr. James Uebelacker, a Ph.D. in Mathematics 
from Syracuse University, who had been serv- 
ing as Vice-Provost in the Kaplan /Sommers 

The first four years of the DeNardis 
administration have been eventful. Stressing 
his theme of "Students First" President 
DeNardis has worked tirelessly for students, 
and maintained an open office as well as 
weekly Fireside Chats to keep alert to their 
needs. He explored a merger with the 
University of Bridgeport, but rejected it after 
the University of New Haven saw that 
Bridgeport was too financially weak. 
However, the process of negotiating had 
shown that some of their programs would 
complement UNH's well. President DeNardis 
attracted the chief academic architects of 
Bridgeport programs to UNH to establish 
new programs in education, dental hygiene, 
and human nutrition. These programs have 
had a significant impact in offsetting student 
enrollment declines in more traditional areas 
of UNH's strength, business and engineering, 
once they were approved and offered. Also in 
response to the region's need for graduate 
educated professionals in the rapidly expand- 
ing field of biotechnology, the university 
developed a new program in molecular and 
cellular biology. 

Another innovative approach was the 
proposed development of a campus in Israel 
on the border of the West Bank in late 1992. 
Named the HaSharon campus, the university 
administration envisioned offering career- 
oriented programs unavailable in Israel to 
both the Jewish and Arab populations. While 
the plan for a campus has not materialized, 
the university has nevertheless been able to 
offer accelerated degree programs in aviation 
management, occupational safety, and fire sci- 
ence to a select group of middle management 
Israelis both in Israel proper and on the West 
Haven campus. The university is planning to 
expand the programs in Israel. 

To meet the long-desired need for long- 
range planning. President DeNardis selected 
three Working Groups in December 1992 to 
study academic affairs, student life, and insti- 
tutional governance. These groups evolved 

into the next level of planning, the Strategic 
Issues Committee. Some of the recommenda- 
tions of the committee included a review of 
every administrative process, enhancement of 
an Enrollment Management Office, the 
appointment of a Chief Information Officer at 
the senior level to oversee the complex 
computer operations and needs, the beautifi- 
cation of the campus, and the implemention 
of a collaborative marketing /advertising 
strategy. A re-engineering consulting firm. 
Introspect, Inc., was engaged to help the 
university restructure its administrative func- 
tions, services, and processes more efficiently 
and cost-effectively. With the consulting firm's 
guidance, the university identified the areas 
of the university which need the most 
improvement: management, budgeting and 
the reallocation of funds, computing and 
information systems, maintenance and facili- 
ties, revenue development, communication, 
training, registration and scheduling, and 
reward/ recognition. The president saw the 
process of re-engineering as a perpetual drive 
to achieve total quality management. 

Within the last four years, the university's 
physical plant expanded with the completion 
of a new Georgian-style Admissions Building 
in 1992, a Dental Hygiene Clinic (converted 
from a former office /warehouse on Orange 
Avenue) in 1994, and a new practice field 
carved from the Arbeiter Maener Chor prop- 
erty in 1995. In 1995-1996, ground will be 
broken for a new dormitory. The university 
also continued to take care of space needs in 
Southeastern Connecticut through a new rela- 
tionship with Mitchell College in New 
London called the Southeastern Connecticut 
Area Partnership for Academic Collaboration, 
begun in Fall 1995. The university had had a 
working relationship with Mitchell College 
from 1974 to 1982, but Mitchell College with- 
drew from fear of UNH dominance. President 
DeNardis and the new Dean of Southeastern, 
Dr. Jerry Lamb, were able to assuage this fear 
and re-establish ties; the goals of the partner- 
ship include program integration; dormitory, 
library, and computer facilities for UNH stu- 
dents; and an infusion of money for Mitchell 

It was also during the last four years that 



■M .-* •« y. ; 

the university became more widely known 
because of the success of its athletic program, 
for men and women. The university's base- 
ball teams are synonymous with its head 
coach of thirty-three years, Frank "Porky" 
Vieira, who founded the team in 1962. The 
Charger baseball program has become one of 
the premier programs in the country. New 
Haven has received 20 NCAA tournament 
bids, captured 13 NCAA Regional 
Championships, two NAIA Regional Titles, 
and has posted a 61.4 winning percentage in 
the NCAA tournament, the second best per- 
centage in NCAA history. Under Vieira's tute- 
lage, the university's baseball teams have 
posted a 824-196-3 record, an .808 winning 
percentage. UNH has sent fifty-three 
Chargers to the professional leagues (includ- 
ing ten to the major leagues); the best known 
is Steve Bedrosian, the 1987 Cy Young Award 
winner and pitcher for the 1991 World 
Champion Minnesota Twins. 

The Chargers football team, begun as 
a club football team in 1965 by the father 
of New Haven football, Arcadio "Kayo" 

Rodriguez, became a varsity sport in 1973. 
Within the last decade it achieved national 
rankings in Division II, as well as playoff 
berths for the national championship in 1992 
and 1993. Some UNH Chargers have played 
in the NFL, including Harry Boatswain who 
became the first UNH player to receive an 
invitation to play in an All-Star Game and the 
first to be on a Super Bowl Championship 
team, the San Francisco 49ers, in 1994. Roger 
Graham, the 1993 Harlon Hill Trophy winner 
as the nation's best Division II football player, 
became the most recent professional football 
player when he signed a free-agent contract 
with the Dallas Cowboys. Athletics, an integral 
part of most schools, has similarly comple- 
mented the academic and administrative 
expansion of the University of New Haven. 

Success and athletics go hand-in-hand at 
UNH for our women athletes. The women's 
basketball team achieved the ultimate, win- 
ning the 1987 National Championship. In 
addition, the women's volleyball team has 
made the NCAA tournament nine times. The 
spikers have won eight NECC titles and have 

Engineering students gain valuable experience in the university's laboratories. 



not lost a conference match in that streak. 
Three volleyball players have received All- 
American Status. 

Women's tennis is becoming yet another 
successful program at UNH. The squad plays 
a competitive 10-game schedule during the 

The women's soccer program is the 
newest addition to UNH athletics, celebrating 
its inaugural season in the fall of 1993. 

As the University celebrates seventy-five 
years of history, President DeNardis follows 

in a distinguished line of leaders of the 
University of New Haven. Below the admin- 
istration a stream of talented and dedicated 
people also have worked for the university 
throughout its history. This combination of 
farsighted and practical leaders and devoted 
personnel have enabled 27,000 students to 
graduate and benefit their communities. The 
phrase which best describes the University of 
New Haven through its three decades is pos- 
sibly: "The Best Kept Secret in Connecticut." 



The purpose of the award is to publicly recog- 
nize alumni who have achieved noteworthy 
distinction in their chosen profession, demon- 
strated commitment to civic or charitable activ- 
ities and provided service to UNH. 

1984 Joseph F. Duplinsky, AS'41 

1985 Orest T. Dubno, BS'68, MPA'75 

1986 William S. Webb, BS'72 

1987 Lester J. Forst, BS'76 

1988 Roland M. Bixler, EMB'78 

1989 Biagio DiLieto, AS'63 

1990 Edward J. Drew, Sr, BS'82 

1991 William C. Bruce, BA'74 

1992 Elizabeth G. Curren, AS'68 
1992 Richard J. Grossi, EMB'81 

1992 Francis A. Schneiders, AS'54 

1993 Marcial Cuevas, MPA'87 

1993 Helmer N. Ekstrom, BA'68, EMB'83 

1993 Kathi McDonnell-Bissell, BA'67, MPA'82 

1993 Dennis R. McGough, MA'81 

1994 Frederick W. Farnsworth, EMB'79 
1994 Mary M. Hart, BS'75 

1994 Thomas K. Lewis, Jr. BS'74, MS'76 

1994 Ronald T Urquhart, BS'81, EMB'90 

1995 Patricia M. Avallone, BS'69 

1995 Colonel Joseph A. Perry Jr, BS'72 
1995 Raymond J. Margiano, BS'69 

1930-34 Frederick H. Taylor AS'27 

1934-36 * Frank C. Spargo AS'30 

1936-38 * Robert R. Baker AS'35 

1938-40 * Lester L. Burr AS'34 

1940-42 * Harold W. Sheldon AS'30 

1942-46 No officers elected 

during war years. 

1946-48 * Eugene J. Rosazza AS'39 

1948-50 * H. Roland Frickenhaus AS'45 

1950-52 * Walter A. Weirsman AS'44 

1952-54 * Harold W. Sheldon AS'30 

1954-56 Quentin E. Hoyt AS'50 

1956-58 John N. Deming AS'48,AS'52 

1958-60 * Frederick J. Wilson Jr., AS'54 

1960-62 Carmine A. Angeloni BS'65 

1962-64 Carmine A. Angeloni BS'65 

1964-66 George I. Mordecai AS'55 

1966-68 George 1. Mordecai AS'55 

1968-70 John Perun BS'62 

1970-72 Charles E. Woods AS'51 

1972-74 Joseph F. Duplinsky AS'41 

1974-76 John A. Frey AS'44 

1976-78 Elizabeth G. Curren AS'68 

1978-80 John Duffy MBA'73 

1980-82 Alexander Nicholson AS'63, BS'65, 


1982-84 William C. Bruce BA'74 

1984-86 Edward Horehlad BS'79,MBA'86 

Carolyn Bruce BS'74 

1986-88 Orest T Dubno BS'68,MPA'75 

1988-90 Francis A. Schneiders AS'54 

1990-92 Stanley A. Gniazdowski BS'72 

1992-94 Edward J. Drew BS'75,MS'86 

1994-96 Steven T. Klemenz BS'78 

* Deceased 


i*-> ^',^ ■>'-'* 

^ %J:%-'^ 

A Photographic 



Homecoming weekend - celebration of the Reunion sixties. 

New Haven junior and senior high school students participate in the Connecticut Pre-F.ngineering (CPEP) at UNH. 


^. S'. 4l Ki.\ :f' * 

■.r:'■^ .v^ ■>■-.' 

Reunion sixties - Dean Bill Gere of the Graduate School (left) and Ed Drew (center) and Dean joe Chepaitis (n^lit). 


Honuroiniii^; l^/ b. 


■■■*■:*-■* J 

a« >'? ■^; v", '* <' i 

,i:r ,|»,"- ,.i,' .i*' vV' 4»' 

Our aviation programs provide you with both technical 
and management skills in their highly specialized areas. 
UNH has an office and resource center at Tiveed-Neiv 
Haven Airport. 

Epicurean Dining Room pro- 
vides a training ground for 
some students in the Hotel, 
Restaurant and Tourism 


'.;^- *;',v^',;* ^'^■..: 


The faculty at UNH is of the highest 
caliber. Faculty, not graduate assistants, 
teach all the classes here. 



Forensic Science students perform tests during class in the Forensic laboratory. 


V- ♦" • %'- %' 

State-of-thc art computer equipment at UNH. 

Opportunities in Computer Science 
include positions such as Software 
Engineer, System Designer, Free-Lance 
Software Consultant, Programming 
Manager, and Applications Programmer 


>.>.;#->..>^ * 


The recently completed Dental Hygiene Center is equipped with state-of-thc art treatment areas, x-ray stations and dental labs. 
Students get hands-on trainitig in treating the dental needs of the general public. 


•;v ^„*-/»-^,r^r^^;^ 

The University's Fire Science programs 
are designed for newcomers as well as 
for seasoned professionals who xvish to 
advance their careers. 

As the business world has become 
increasingly complex, the need for 
sophisticated managerial skills has 
grown. Today's managers must direct 
their energies to the major functions of 
management. Our business administra- 
tion program provides the knowledge 
and skills to achieve success. 


■#■■#'•♦-> ♦ 

Management of Sport Industries - one of the fastest grozving professions today. Our R.S. degree m the Management of Sports 
Industries :s one of the few programs nationwide offered within a School of Business. 


Faculty involved in academic disciplines runs deep at UNH. 


fF<.;# i'- 

The International Students Festival offers an opportunity to enjoy the focnl and culture of n variety of iountne 


Part of the umi'cr^ity'^ cosmopolitan flavor stems from the cultural diversity of its student body at both undergraduate 
and •graduate levels. Students, representing^ more than 50 countries, brin^ a valuable international dimension to LINtl. 

UNH offers a ivide variety of creative and performing arts experiences. Music majors may select from tivo 
options in music and sound recordin;^, involving; either a technical approach or a more philosophical base. 


The CluU'^cr fi\Jtl',ill tciiiii /j(7s II /(i//y liistori) nf s/urcss. 
M Siij;;i- /;/v;/;/(y/;/s nicliulr: rcccn<ai hi\;lic>t l^ntioiiiil 
Riitiii'^ lit iiumhcr two in 199.^. In 1992, thr taiin 
tnnslh-d ll-l aiui fivjs ii>tcd a> liii-oiii\; the hi->t otlrnsf 
III nil liri'isions by Sports Illustrated. 


Char\^cr C\/iiiihi!iiiini - Uoinc of tlic nthlftii.-s dcpurtnicnt on the North Caitipiis 


"* ' ■ .f. ■'> "* ■.*:■ '■ 


University of New Have?! men's 
basketball team earned NCAA bids 
tn 1987, 1988, and 1990 m addition 
to winning the NECC regular sea- 
son in 1988. 

The Cliargcrs have captured seven 
regional titles in the past seven 
years and have the second best play- 
ing percentage in the country. More 
than 50 UNH players have signed 
professional baseball contracts, 
including Cy Young award witiner 
Steve Bcdrosian. 


.•♦*♦■> "* •♦ 

UNH Women's Soccer Team, the newest addition to UNH athletics, celebrated its inaugural season in the fall of 1993. 

UNH Women's Volleyball 
Team at Charger Gymnasium. 










UNH Men's Soccer Team. 

Support from the friends of UNH is outstanding. 


Athletioi plni/a a major part m the University of Neii' 
Haven community. 

kJ0 %. % 


li:.0- If 

^.^/♦-^••♦'♦.•■^-^ * 

J." .v' «!► '■ '.*' '!*■ '■f <? ^ '■?■_ f: f . '? 

■?P3fttat j'@:j,>^ 

Prfsniriit DcNnnli^ proudly i/is/i/oi/s (/ic I'rcsiilcntinl Collar coiijcrrcd at the 7!>tli Aiiunxr^ani 
Convocation on Scptcnihfr /'), /'M'i. A \;ift from the Alumni Association, the collar contains st/in- 
()()/s ofsi^^nijicancc to the institution. The collar is generally conjrrrcit upon the president at the tune 
of inau;furntion and is u^orn at all events reijiiirin^; formal academii re\^alia. 


Dr. Don Smith s/iurcs /ii.s "Ode" to the Unwert^ity at the 75th Aiuiiivr^ian./ Convocation - September 19,1995. 

Lrou'd (If U!\H friends listen to speaker at /'jth AiuiU'erfiary Coni^ocation. 




-t' ■ yTW^': 

u .'if' 'y .*' -^ <^ <? «!?'' '-?>_ f: f . 'r, «. f ; 't 

OhI fnci;.;.s - /);. Dui'/i/ Morris (/<■//) U);,/ / )r He/' Du^^an (n;^hl) .flrhnitr the 7r^th Anim'C!,.iiry Coiivoailioii. 

I acuity, stcitt, anil imntcd '^uc^l^ ^^atlirr lor the start i>/ thr 7[it]t Aiiiiiv<rsar\i C(>ir<'iHiitu<n. 


y^^/Tla/^ i- 

Tliivii\;li Ilk- \;riirrosit\/ of Bnirrtt ^i_\;n Cd, our billlHwrtl oiii he seen on /-''.') in the ^milcr Nni> I Imrii nrai. 




■ .^'*^'i^:0M 

^^> f^ 



' ■ . ^'^^vl 





r ^. 

— • 

■ ^' 

H<i//J //,.i/,sr ,1/1 ///,■ Mthhrll Collr^r auni'iis. Tlir new home oj 
t^l'CT bnuhli oi the University of New Haven. 

The Uinversiti/'s first independent campus: Cold Sprini^ 
Street. In September 1958, the coIle;^e imwed part of it's 
operations to it's neidy constructed modern campus 
buihlin^; on 100 Coht Sprin;^ Street at Collesie Woods in 
Neiv I lax'en near I'.ast Rock Park. 


iilr.i*- i' 

t ■■#.'-#'^#'#. 

*■■■' u U U ' 
*.• ti' *: *:■*■: 

.*• .!.' ..^ if- «'* 

f' *L '*'.'*'■. ^, '^^. 

T/it' Admissions Building at UNH. An atmosphere 
of warmth and friendliness greets all who enter 

Responding to the need of 
the hospitality, dietetics 
and tourism industries, the 
Unii^crsity formed the 
School of Hotel, Restaurant 
and Tourism Administration 
in 1984. 

« 4 « « < 









.Trr^Ti..^.:^'"-' ■"■ ..J 

■ '..; ■ • - '*»••■ 


--^ 1 n.. -*- ^- 

1 V 

^i*' •» *"- 


-!: JLaj It 1? Ii'l 
. -J U IJ .i 











.. r Pp 


WW m^ 

1 ■mv^^So'^SP^^^iIIp^v 

^^^J^^ !« jsi^^^^L 

^ ^^'r'?>-T 

.-/--aJC-', ■^^"■^^-^^^^^^^^i^^ 

■-♦^^^T' ' * 



Dodds Hall - home of the School of Business, auditorium 
and gallery. 

Dodds Hall lounge. The 
University offered business 
courses from its very begin- 
nings in 1920; these cours- 
es led to an Associates 
degree. In 1958 Bachelors 
degree programs in 
Accounting, Business, and 
Management luere started. 
The success of the business 
program led to a school of 
Business in 1967 with it's 
own dean. Additional 
undergraduate business 
programs developed along 
wit)i the MBA, the EMBA 
and eight other business 
graduate degrees, and a 
doctoral program in 
Management Systems. 

,'■</ •> <? t^' .?!> ». *l (»• 4 


L.A.S.A. - Latin American Student Association, winners of the best float - Diamond Jubilee Homecoming. 

Diamond Jubilee Homecoming loelcomes new member to the Class of 2016. 


>'^■^'^ ,V^ ■:.>>*♦. ^■•^♦- 

Homecoming activities bring out the best in school spirit. 

Graduates of the class of 1995. 


- 4 ♦•.♦■♦-.♦•* 

qIV-:?' 4^ 

»;i *» n> •*'■ ;-P ,:"-■♦ ;'*,» , / /"'■' /!' .■, 


3 5380 002021918 


Do Not Take From This Room