(navigation image)
Home American Libraries | Canadian Libraries | Universal Library | Community Texts | Project Gutenberg | Children's Library | Biodiversity Heritage Library | Additional Collections
Search: Advanced Search
Anonymous User (login or join us)
Upload
See other formats

Full text of "Warsop Parish Registers, with Notes and Illustrations"

Google 



This is a digital copy of a book that was preserved for generations on Hbrary shelves before it was carefully scanned by Google as part of a project 

to make the world's books discoverable online. 

It has survived long enough for the copyright to expire and the book to enter the public domain. A public domain book is one that was never subject 

to copyright or whose legal copyright term has expired. Whether a book is in the public domain may vary country to country. Public domain books 

are our gateways to the past, representing a wealth of history, culture and knowledge that's often difficult to discover. 

Marks, notations and other maiginalia present in the original volume will appear in this file - a reminder of this book's long journey from the 

publisher to a library and finally to you. 

Usage guidelines 

Google is proud to partner with libraries to digitize public domain materials and make them widely accessible. Public domain books belong to the 
public and we are merely their custodians. Nevertheless, this work is expensive, so in order to keep providing this resource, we liave taken steps to 
prevent abuse by commercial parties, including placing technical restrictions on automated querying. 
We also ask that you: 

+ Make non-commercial use of the files We designed Google Book Search for use by individuals, and we request that you use these files for 
personal, non-commercial purposes. 

+ Refrain fivm automated querying Do not send automated queries of any sort to Google's system: If you are conducting research on machine 
translation, optical character recognition or other areas where access to a large amount of text is helpful, please contact us. We encourage the 
use of public domain materials for these purposes and may be able to help. 

+ Maintain attributionTht GoogXt "watermark" you see on each file is essential for informing people about this project and helping them find 
additional materials through Google Book Search. Please do not remove it. 

+ Keep it legal Whatever your use, remember that you are responsible for ensuring that what you are doing is legal. Do not assume that just 
because we believe a book is in the public domain for users in the United States, that the work is also in the public domain for users in other 
countries. Whether a book is still in copyright varies from country to country, and we can't offer guidance on whether any specific use of 
any specific book is allowed. Please do not assume that a book's appearance in Google Book Search means it can be used in any manner 
anywhere in the world. Copyright infringement liabili^ can be quite severe. 

About Google Book Search 

Google's mission is to organize the world's information and to make it universally accessible and useful. Google Book Search helps readers 
discover the world's books while helping authors and publishers reach new audiences. You can search through the full text of this book on the web 

at |http : //books . google . com/| 



JO 





I 



'. c^ 



mi 

( 



- \ 



1 



1\ 



. ) * / 

' ■ I 

I 






/f /^ 



5Kaar»op ^attsjj Megisteti 



THIS LITTLE BOOK 

UK DeDtcateD to tfye 

Ee&^ E. jFitj'f^erlrfrt, Eector of JBHarjsop, 

not from any wish to make liim responsible for the state- 
ments contained in it, but as a simple aeknowleclgment of the 
great interest he has taken in its preparation and publication. 



F 



U/arsop Rectory. 

|aN8FIEU>. 









WARSOP 
PARISH REGISTERS, 



WITfi 



^tti^j jtttb pfjtti^dbttSt 



BT 



RICHARD J. KING, 



Curate of Warsop and Diocesan Inspector, 



>i« 



MANSFIELD : 

PRINTED BY WILLIAM GOUK, 8, WESTGATB. 

1884. 



/ 



It " - " 



^^f 






i'^^/^% 



■■'^ 



S^. 



WARSOP PARISH REGISTERS, 



WITH 



NOTES AND ILLUSTRATIONS. 



}|ati»jj legisters. 



From the earliest times public registers as well as private 
registers have been kept by various nations of the world. 
They were common among the Jews, Greeks, and Eromans ; 
and long before the Reformation most of the religious houses 
in England kept registers of public as well as of private 
transactions. Marriages and burials were often recorded too 
in the Missals and Psalters of parish churches. But it was 
not till the year 1638 that Parish Registers were ordered by 
law to be kept in this country. The monks had been the 
principal registrars, and therefore upon their dispersion after 
the suppression of the lesser monasteries in 1536, it was 
highly necessary that the State should take steps to enrol and 
preserve the parish records. Accordingly Thomas Lord 
Cromwell, in the year 1538, issued an injunction to the clergy 
that Parish Registers should be kept in every parish through- 
out the land. It runs thus : — 



(( 
(( 



2 WABSOP PABISH BBQISTEBS. 

'* In the name of God, Amen. By the authority and commis- 
" sion of the excellent Prince Henry, by the grace of God, 
" King of England and France, Defensor of the Faith, Lord 
of Ireland, and in Earth Supream Head imder Christ of the 
Church of England. I Thomas Lord Cromwell, Privy Seal 
"and Vicegerent to the King's said Highness for all his 
'* jurisdiction ecclesiastical within this realm, do for the 
" adyancement of the true honour of Almighty God, increase 
" of vertue, and the discharge of the King's Majesty, give and 
" exhibit unto you these Injunctions following, to be kept, 
'' observed, and fulfilled, upon the pains hereafter declared : 
'< First, That you shall truly observe and keep all and 
'' singular the King's Highness Injunctions given unto you 

''heretofore in my name Item, 

"That you and every parson, vicar, or curate, for every 
" church keep one Book or Register wherein he shall write 
"the day and year of every Wedding, Christening, and 
" Burial, made within your parish for your time, and so every 
" man succeeding you likewise, and also there insert every 
"person's name that shall be so wedded, christened, and 
" buried. And for the safe keeping of the same Book, the 
" parish shall be bound to provide of their common charges 
" one sure coffer with two locks and keys, whereof the one to 
"remain with you, and the other with the Wardens of every 
" parish, wherein the said Book shall be laid up, which Book 
" ye shall every Sunday take forth, and in the presence of the 
" said Wardens or one of them, write and record in the same 
"all the Weddings, Christenings, and Burials, made the 
" whole week afore, and that done to lay up the Book in the 
" said coffer as afore ; and for every time that the same shall 
" be omitted, the party that shall be in the fault thereof 
" shall forfeit to the said Church iij^- iiijd. * to be employed 
" on the reparation of the said Church." 

* 3s. 4d. 



WABSOP PARISH BEOISTEBS. 3 

In consequence of this injunction parish registers began 
to be kept very generally ; and there are still some eight 
hundred parish registers which date from this period. Of 
these about forty, however, contain entries prior to 1538. 
The Eegisters of the neighbouring parishes of Perlethorpe 
and Carburton, for instance, begin in 1528, and contain one 
or two entries for each succeeding year down to 1538. 

The injunction was repeated in more vigorous terms on the 
accession of Queen Elizabeth, in 1558 ; but not being regularly 
observed, it was ordained in the following year that parch- 
ment register books should be purchased at the expense of 
every parish, and that all names should be transcribed in 
them from the older books which were mostly of paper. 
Hence it happens that so many parish registers, like those of 
Mansfield, begin with the year 1559. 

The Warsop Parish Registers, however, date from the 
earlier period. They are five in number and are all 
save one in good preservation. With the exception of a 
few imrecorded years, they contain presumably a list of all 
baptisms, marriages, and burials, which have taken place 
in Warsop and Sokeholme from that year down to the present 
time. Register A, the oldest, consists of one parchment 
volume, and contains the baptisms from 1539 to 1637 at one 
end, and the burials and marriages from 1538 to 1637 at the 
other. There are no baptisms, however, recorded in 1555 ; 
no burials from 1551 to 1556 inclusive ; and no marriages 
from 1543 to 1578 inclusive. In size it is about 15^in x 7in. ; 
and it is bound with a single sheet of parchment with the 
edges turned in. Register B consists also of one parchment 
volume, and contains the baptisms from 1638 to 1742 at one 
end, and the burials and marriages for the same period at the 
other. No entry of any kind, however, is made for the year 
1645. The binding is similar to that of Register A, with a 
lining of coarse brown paper. Its size is 20|in. x 8in. 
Register C consists of two parchment volumes. Vol. I., 



4 WABSOP PABI8H BEGISTBRB. 

20in. X lOin., contains the baptisms from 1743 to 1812 at one 
end, and the burials for the same period and marriages from 
1743 to 1776, at the other. Vol. 11., 13^ x 7in., contains the 
marriages with banns from 1754 to 1812. They are both 
strongly bound in caK. Register D consists of three paper 
volumes adapted to the Forms prescribed in the Act of 
Parliament of 1812, which will be referred to later on. 
Vol. I. contains the baptisms from 1813 to 1856 ; Vol. II., 
the burials from 1813 to 1875 ; Vol. in., the marriages from 
1813 to 1837. Register E consists also of three volumes : 
Vol. I. contains the baptisms from 1855 to present time ; 
Vol. II., the burials from 1875 to present time ; Vol. HI., 
with duplicate, the marriages from 1837 to present time. 



■**■'.■ 













legisUt ^» 



The greater part of this volume is a transcript from old 
paper registers. TMs is evident from the former of the two 
following memoranda which appear on the fly leaf before the 
baptisms : — 

JHemoranUum !♦ — "Warsoppe. a Register book con- 
tayneing all christenings, marriages, and burialls, since 
1539 (sic) as they were trewlie copied out of old paper 
books. Written or copied Anno 1612. 

Per Thomam Lions, pedegogus. 
Churchwardens then { ^J^!^,^-*^«. .. 

ffitVXOXWX^UVX II* — "An agreement made betwixt the 
Inhabitants of Warsoppe and Soukeholme concerning 
Church levys. November the tenth, Anno Domini 1626. 
Whereas heretofore there have been divers differences 
betwixt the Inhabitants of Warsoppe and Soukeholme 
concerning the payements of Soukeholme men to the 
Church levys, it is now agreed betwixt them as followeth: 
That Soukeholme men shall paye to the Church- wardens 
of Warsoppe the fourth part of all charges to wind and 
weather, and to the keeping of the bells in repayre, and 
to the charges at the visitations : And in lieu of all 
other charges Soukeholme men do allow to Warsoppe 
men the benefitte of all burialls within the Church: And 



b WARSOP PABISH REGISTERS. 

upon the agi*eement there is a seat appoynted for Souke- 
holme hall above the long seates for woemen, on the North 
side before the pulpitte, vearging to the crosse alley by 
the hall seates of Warsoppe. And this is entered in this 
booke by the consent of William Spnrr, Rector of 
Warsoppe, James Clarke and William Deane, Church- 
wardens then being, and with the consent of the In- 
habitants of Warsoppe, as also by the consent of Henrie 
Lukin, gentleman, Henrie Wode, and the Inhabitants of 

Soukeholme. 

William Spurr, Clk. 

James Clarke, ) Church 
Willm. Deane ) Wardens. 

The latter of these two memoranda is almost illegible. 
The agreement mentioned therein together with the " divers 
differences," alas ! continued to exist down to the abolition 
of Church-rates, in 1868. By "wind and weather" was 
meant any injury which might happen to the fabric by the 
action of those elements. 

It would be interesting to know the history and character 
of the old church bells of Warsop, but unfortunately they 
are no longer in existence. Those in present use are four 
in number and of the following pitch : — D, C, B, A. 
Bell D, the weight of which is about 4J cwt., bears the 
maker's name and the date of its casting, " S. Midworth, 
Mansfield. 1812." Bell C, the weight of which is about 
4| cwt., bears the legend, " God be our speed. 1747." 
Bell B, the weight of which is about 6 cwt., bears the legend, 
" irt tuba sic sonitu Domini conduco cohortes. 1615," which 
may be translated. As by a trumpet so by my sound I 
assemble the hosts of the Lord. This bell has upon it the 
trade mark of Henry Oldfield, who had a well-known foundry 
at Nottingham, established there for many centuries, at the 



WABSOF FABISH BBGISTBBS. 7 

back of the Long Row, where the name of Bell Founders* 
Yard still appears. The mark in question is a Calvary Cross 
with the letter h on the left hand side of the upright branch 
of the cross and a crescent over it ; and o on the right hand 
side with a star over it. The crescent and star are part of 
the arms of Nottingham. Bell A, the weight of which is 
about 7 cwt., bears the date, " October 14 1737," and the 
following legend : — 

*' Yoa that hear my doleful sound 
Bepent before you're laid in ground." 

Sokeholme Hall Pew is still remembered by some of the 
oldest inhabitants of Warsop. The hall itself stood on the site 
of the farm-house which is commonly called " Eyre's Farm," 
or more correctly Hall Farm. At the beginning of the 
present century part of the old hall was still in existence, 
and one of the upper rooms went by the name of " Lukin's 
Garret," and was said to be haunted by the ghost of a certain 
member of the Lukin family, who, according to tradition, 
committed suicide there. A brass tablet to the memory of 
Henry Lukin, of Sokeholme Hall, may be seen in Warsop 
Church, from which tablet we learn that he was bom at 
Great Baddow, Essex, in 1586, and died at Sokeholme, 
in 1630. 

Henry Wood, the other person who signed the agreement 
on behaK of Sokeholme, was a miller and farmer of that 
place. His descendants continued to reside in the parish 
down to the middle of last century, when they appear 
to have died out. The old mill was pulled down some 
thirty or forty years ago. It stood on the site of the farm- 
stead which still bears the name of Mill Farm, although 
nothing now remains to mark its history of centuries save a 
few boulders, with hollowed holes in which the spindles used 
to turn, and a broken millstone. Mr. Johnson, whose 
father was the last miller of Sokeholme, has a water colour 



O WAR80P PARISH BEGISTEBS. 

painting of it, and we have no hesitation in saying that it was 
of the most primitive structure, and probably one of the 
oldest mills of the kind in England. 

The fly-leaf before the burials and marriages contains the 
following memorandum of an allotment of seats to the 
several families living in Warsop and Sokeholme, in 1615. 

JHemOranlmm III* — " The 22nd of January. 1615. By 
a Q-eneral Consent of the parishioners of Warsope, it was 
agreed that Mr. Willm. Spurre parson there with the 
two churchwardens then beeinge with the assistance of 
Robt. Remington, John Whitehead, Or. Cove and Willm. 
Barker, by the said parishioners men indiferently therein 
chosen, should sett forth and appoint to the Inhabitants 
of the said parishe their seats and places in the Church 
both for the men and wifes, and how much every seat 
and place shall paie towards every single levy or 
assessmt. for the use of the Church so proportionally to 
be increased and diminished as need shall require. . . ." 

We wish we could give the names and places of the several 
persons mentioned, but after many fruitless attempts we 
have been obliged to give up the task as hopeless, owing to 
the indistinctness of the writing. It will be seen, however, 
from the accompanying diagram which represents a plan 
of the arrangement of seats according to this allotment, 
that, with four exceptions, the men and women sat in 
different parts of the Church. This was the usual custom 
in English Churches at that time, although it is not very 
clear how the custom originated. Some persons have held 
that it is in accordance with primitive practice, and that the 
early Christians adopted it on Biblical grounds, after the 
pattern of the Temple arrangements at Jerusalem. Certain 
it is that a separation of the sexes was made in the Temple 
arrangements ; and even at the present day Jewish men and 



XT' 



/J/z/y/" 



^ 



<^ 



^ 



>i 



a> 



a/ 



H' 



CL 



€i^ 



ay 



o 



€1^ 



€1/ 



HI/ 



€t^ 



Hy 







■^ 



<i 



o 



«- 



O' 



ct^ 



Cty 



6 



01 



•5 



I 



ay 



. a^ 



Oy 



€1/ 



a^ 



I 







flan of the allotment oF|eats in Warsop Church, 

I61S. ^ 



/ 



$9 
tf 



WAB80P PARISH REaiSTEBB. 9 

women are not allowed to sit together in their places of 
worship. Others think that it is a comparatiyely modem 
custom, and that it was adopted simply because it was thought 
to be convenient and conducive to order and reverence. But, 
be this at it may, there is no questioning the fact that a 
separation of the sexes was made in the allotment of seats in 
Warsop Church in 1615. For the sake of convenience, we 
have lettered the seats set apart for men, a ; those for 
women, b; leaving the unappropriated seats unmarked. The 
seats next the chancel on the south side, numbered 1, 2, 3, 
were those allotted to " Mr. IHgby, Jarvis Wilde, and their 
wives," to " Mr. Pfoster, Robt. Remington, and their wives, 
and to " John Whitehead, Pfra. Kitchen, and their wives, 
respectively; whilst the seat, numbered 4, near the tower, or, 
as it is called in the memorandum, the " Belhouse," was 
allotted to Warsop Hall. 

The Mr. Digby, whose name is here mentioned, was the 
owner of Park Hall, and, therefore, a parishioner of Warsop 
as well as of Mansfield Woodhouse. He was high sheriff 
for the county of Notts, in 1622. A Sir John Digby, another 
member of this family, commanded a regiment of foot- 
soldiers under Prince Rupert and took part in the reHef of 
Newark in 1644. Park Hall continued in the hands of the 
Digby family down to the year 1736, when it was bought of 
the co-heiresses of another Sir John Digby by Mr. John Hall, 
ancestor of the present owner. Monumental effigies of Sir 
John Digby and his lady may be seen in the Digby Chapel 
in Mansfield Woodhouse Church. 

Jarvis Wilde or Q-ervase Wylde, as the name is more 
commonly spelt, was a man of great note in his day. In 
early life he had been a merchant and resided in Andalusia 
in Spain. When England was threatened by the Spanish 
Armada he was living at Nettleworth, and at once hastened 
to place his services at the disposal of his sovereign. At his 
own cost he fitted out a ship and joined the English Fleet, 



10 WAB80P FABISH BEGI8TBB8. 

and in the engagement that followed he is said to have made 
use of arrows tipped with iron heads, which he shot at the 
enemy out of muskets. After the defeat of the Spaniards 
which took place in 1588, he conducted a certain " barbarian 
ambassador " home at his own charge. Upon his return to 
Nettleworth he married Margaret, widow of Anthony Burgess 
of Nottingham, and by her had a large family — six sons and 
three daughters. In the State Papers of the reign of 
James I., there is a petition from Gervase Wylde to the 
Coiincil for continuance in his oflBlce as Muster Master for 
the counties of Notts, and Derbyshire, in which he refers to 
his previous services. It appears that the appointment, as 
far as concerned Derbyshire, had been given to some other 
person on the ground that it was not desirable that one man 
should hold the oflBlce for both counties. The Lord Lieutenant 
and the Commissioners, however, favoured his petition, stating 
that he had well ** discharged his place,*' and his appoint- 
ment was accordingly renewed. In another petition he asks 
to have his rights to a fee deer and a fee tree restored to 
him, from which it would seem that he was also at one time 
a verderer of Sherwood Forest. He died at Nettleworth at 
the advanced age of 93 years. 

Mr. Foster, who was allotted part of the second seat, was 
a gentleman living at Sokeholme Hall before Mr. Lukin 
resided there. The three others who were allowed the 
privilege of having their wives in the same seats with them- 
selves were all yeomen of Warsop and men of good position. 

©Ill <St2l0« It is interesting to note that during the period 
comprised in this register, and indeed down to the year 1751, 
the common year instead of beginning as now on January 1st 
began on March 25th. This was in accordance with the 
Julian method of calculating the length of the year, or the 
Old Style as it is called. • The alteration was made in 1751 
because it had been proved by astronomers that this 



WABSOF PARISH BBGISTBBS. 11 

method was defective — the error aorising therefrom having at 
that time amounted to eleven days. An Act of Parliament 
was therefore passed to amend the calendar; and by this 
Act it was enjoined that the year henceforward should 
commence on January 1st, and that eleven days in September, 
1752, should be nominally suppressed in order to bring the 
calendar into unison with the true solar year. The great 
body of the English people, however, regarded the change 
with distrust, whilst most of the lower classes throughout 
the land thought that they had been cheated out of eleven 
days and eleven days' wages, and in London and several of 
the large towns crowds assembled and marched in procession 
through the streets with banners bearing the words, " Give 
us back our eleven days." 

IExttECtjS« Among many curious and interesting entries 
made in this register, the following are perhaps the 
most noteworthy. They are nearly all in Latin, but for 
the convenience of our readers we give them in English. 

1538. — " Buried Miles Baynebrigg who was found killed." 
1546.—" Buried two youths." 

It would be utterly impossible to convey to others the 
sense of sadness which we ourselves experienced on the first 
perusal of this simple record among the long list of persons 
who lived and died some three hundred years ago, and of 
whom, if we know but little, we do know at least their name 
and place of residence. Of these two youths however we 
know nothing — not even their name ; and it would seem that 
nothing was known of them by the registrar of that day. 
Probably they were strangers in the parish; but whether 
brothers, or mere chance acquaintances of the road, we have 
no means of ascertaining. We have not even the melancholy 
satisfaction of knowing the cause of their death — whether 

b2 



1^ WAbSOP PABIBfi &BGI8TEBB. 

they were cut off by some sudden accident, or by one of those 
terrible plagues with which Warsop, like other parts of 
England, used to be so frequently visited : all that we know 
about them is that they died and were buried. 

1547, — "Joan Massie was bom, baptized, and buried, on 

the same day." 
1656.— " Baptized Simon Barker whose godfathers were 

George Pettingar and George Barker, Elizabeth 

Ffretwell being co-mother." 

In the following year, 1557, there are seven other entries 

of baptisms in which the godparents are mentioned — the 

godfathers being called " co-fathers " and the godmothers, 

"co-mothers;" and the number in every case agrees with the 

requirements of the rubric in the Baptismal Service in the 

Prayer Book. In no other place throughout the whole set of 

register* are godparents mentioned except during the short 

incumbency of the Rev. Alleyne Fitz-Herbert in 1869 and 
1860. 

1663.—" September •22nd. Henry earl of Rutland is dead." 

In olden time it was not an unusual thing to enter in the 
register of burials the death of any remarkable man connected 
with the parish or county, even if he were not buried there. 
The earl of Rutland whose death is here recorded was lord of 
the manor of Warsop and patron of the living. He was also 
a man of considerable importance. He was the great grand- 
son of the sister of King Edward IV., Constable of Nottingham 
Castle, and Chief Justice in Eyre of Sherwood Forest. His 
death took place on September 17th, 1563 ; but owing to the 
means of commimication between distant places being so 
difficult in those days, it was probably not till the twenty- 
second of that month that news of his death was received 



WAitSOP PABiem BBaiKTEBe. 18 

at Warsop. He was buried at Bottesf ord, where a handfiome 
monument to liis memory may still be seen. 

With respect to the manor of Warsop, we may mention 
here that before the Norman Conquest it belonged to three 
Saxon thanes named G-odric, Lemot, and Ulchel. After that 
event it was for the most part of the fee of one Boger 
de Busli, a Norman baron, to whom the Conqueror gave 
no fewer than one hundred and seventy-four manors in 
Nottinghamshire. By some means it fell later on into the 
hands of King Henry III., whose queen Eleanor was for a 
short period lady of the manor of Warsop. In 1233 Henry 
m. made a grant of the manor of Warsop to Bobert de 
Lexington, an ecclesiastic of great dignity, who bequeathed it 
to his brother John de Lexington. John de Lexington 
married Margery de Merley, and dying without issue left it 
to hi9 widow during her lifetime, and after her death to his 
QephQw, Bobert de Sutton, between whom and the king there 
was a great dispute concerning the right of presentation to 
the living. It was probably whilst this family was in 
possession of Warsop that the North aisle of the church -was 
built. The Lexington coat of arms — ^Argent a cross patonce 
azure — formed part of the old East window; but at the 
restoration of the church in 1877 it was removed, and has 
since been placed for better preservation in one of the vestry 
windows. It is said to be one of the finest pieces of heraldic 
glass in the whole county of Nottinghamshire. In 1329 
John Nunnes, of London, acquired possession of the manor 
of Warsop and claimed the right of holding a market every 
Tuesday, " with toll and stallage and other things belonging 
to a market." The following year the manor, together with 
the advowson of the church, passed into the hands of John 
de Boos, but whether by gift or bequest seems uncertain. In 
1379 King Bichard II. granted a confirmation of the right to 
hold a market and a fair. In 1508 Edmund de Boos having 
died without lawful issue, the manor with the advowson 



14 WABSOP PARISH BEGISTBBB, 

passed into the female line of the family and so came into the 
possession of the earls of Entland. In 1675 it was bought by 
Sir Ealph Knight of the trustees of the late Lord Willoughby 
of Parham, who had inherited it from his maternal uncle, 
G-eorge seventh earl of Rutland; and it continued in the 
possession of the Knight family down to 1846, when Mr. 
Henry Gktlly Knight left it by will to Sir Henry Fitz-Herbert 
of Tissington, father of the present lord of the manor. 

1686. — " Richard Clifton, Minister, married Anna. Stuffin." 

There is nothing to show who this Richard Clifton was; but 
the Stuflfins, or Stuffyns, were a Warsop family of yeomen, 
and probably aMn to the Pleasley family of that name, one 
of whom, a cavalier who afterwards "yielded up his loyal 
life " fighting for Charles I., planted a wood which was called 
" Stuffyn's Wood ; " from which name the word " Stuffyn- 
wood is derived." 

1587. — "Buried John Parker a helpless old man who was 
found dead in a place called Nether Breck." 

" Buried a certain beggar boy who died in the house 
of William Coo." 

" Buried Ellen Jonson who had been a prostitute." 

The field called Nether Breck in which John Parker was 
found dead, was one of the fields belonging to Brook Farm, 
and was not far from the old forest boundary. 

1591. — " Buried William Kitchen of the Mill houses who was 
killed by the kick of a mare." 

The Kitchens, of Warsop, were yeomen, and probably 
owners of the Warsop Mill. Thoroton, in his History of 



WAB80P PARISH BEGISTEBS. 15 

NoUinghamshirey gives the name of a William Sitchen as one 
of the landed proprietors of Warsop in 1612. 

It is recorded in Doomsday Book that at the time of the 
Norman Conquest, Warsop contained "a priest, a church, 
and a mill," and we are inclined to think that the mill has a 
history older even than that of the church. The very name 
Warsop seems to point to some connection with a mill. It 
was anciently spelt Warechip, Wareshop, Waresope, and 
Waresoppe, the derivation of which is from two Anglo-Saxon 
words — weare, a weir or dam, and sceop, a storehouse. So 
that Warsop would mean the storehouse by, or near the weir. 

1596. — " Thomas Woomwell slayne with a wayne." 

This so very quaint entry is recorded in English just as 
here given. 

1600.— « Buried : Oct. 30, John Cham. Nov. 1, Margery 
Cham. Nov. 28, William son of John. Nov. 30, 
Eobert Cham son of the same John, and Anna daughter 
of Henry Woode and servant of the same John Cham 
— on the same day and in the same grave ; also 
Margaret daughter of the same John Cham on the 
same day." 

Warsop it would seem has never been a very healthy 
place. The recognised average duration of life is, we believe, 
forty years. But the average duration of life in Warsop — 
deduced from the recorded ages at death-^has been for the 
last twenty years only thirty-five years. At the end of last 
century, 1784 to 1804, it was but thirty years. Prior to this 
period the ages are not given, so it is impossible to make any 
definite calculation ; but we think it probable that the average 
duration of life in early times must have been pretty much 
the same as it was at the end of last century. In 1558 and 



16 WABSOP PARISH BBGISTEBS. 

1669 the mortality in Warsop was extraordinarily great — 
above a hundred deaths, or more than one-seventh of the 
entire population. Since that time there has been only one 
other period when the number of deaths was so great, namely, 
in 1591 and 1592, — ^the number in both cases being, by a 
strange coincidence, the same. We find from Bailey's 
Annals of Nottinghamshire that a great plague was prevalent 
throughout England, in 1558, especially during harvest, when 
much com was lost simply for want of labourers to gather it 
in; and from Dr. Short, who published in 1767 a Comparative 
History of the increase and decrease of mankind in England^ 
we learn that the years 1558 and 1559 were noted for a con- 
tinued endemic with hot burning fevers and agues, whilst 
those of 1590 and 1591 were noted for a great plague in 
London, and throughout the whole of England a great 
drought attended with plague. 

Doubtless the several meiiibers of the Cham family whose 
burials are here recorded were swept away by some such 
plague, in 1600. It is hard to find in such a record as this 
anything bright or cheering, and yet the fact that Robert 
Cham and Anna "Wood, daughter of Henry Wood, miller of 
Sokeholm, were buried in one grave, whilst Margaret Cham, 
the sister, was buried apart by herself, seems to speak not only 
of love and faith here, but of love and hope hereafter when 
disease and death shall be done away, and the Tree of Life 
shall for ever put forth its fruit and fragrance for the healing 
of the nations. 

1602. — " Baptized a certain base-bom Elizabeth." 

Concerning the state of morality in Warsop for the last 
three hundred years it is impossible to speak as one would 
wish in terms of praise. At the beginning of the seventeenth 
century the proportion of illegitimate children baptized was 
edx per cent, of the whole; at the end of the eighteenth 



WABSOP PARISH BEOISTEB8. 17 

century the proportion was six and a half per cent. ; whilst 
during the last twenty years it has been nearly seven per cent. 
It wiU be seen, therefore, that in this respect Warsop stands 
in rather an unfavourable light. It is is true that it is no 
worse than the average of places in Nottinghamshire and is 
better than some, but compared with the rest of England it is 
much worse than the average — ^the proportion of illegitimate 
children bom in England being only something about five 
per cent of the whole. 

1605. — " Baptized Edmimd son of Edmund Claye of London." 

A record like this carries us back to the days when coaches 
were just beginning to be used in England, when travelling 
was mostly on horseback and ladies rode on pilhons behind 
their servants, and when a journey from London to Warsop 
was such a difficult, not to say ^ngerous, undertaking that 
very few persons would think of attempting it. Were it not 
for the fact that there was a Warsop family of yeomen 
named Claye living at this time, we should be at a loss to 
account for the presence of Edmund Claye in Warsop ; but 
such being the case we may fairly infer that he was a relative 
on a visit to some of his friends. 

The last representative of this family was one Hercules 
Clay, a farmer and miller of Sokeholme, who died in 1792. 
He was so called after a kinsman who was Mayor of Newark, 
in 1644, when that town was besieged by Prince Eupert. 
During the siege this Hercules Clay is said to have dreamt 
three successive nights that his house was on fire. On the 
third occasion he was so perturbed by his dream that on 
awaking he immediately got up and with his wife and family 
left the house. Before he had gone many steps, however, he 
was startied by the explosion of a bombshell and, turning 
round to see what had happened, found that it had fallen, 
strange to say, on the very house he had just quitted and had 



18 WABSOP PARISH BEOISTEBS. 

set it on fire. In commemoration of this wonderful preserva- 
tion lie left at his death a sum of money to be put out to 
interest, and directed that the interest should be given away 
for ever in part to the Vicar of Newark, for a sermon on the 
anniversary of his preservation, and in part to the poor of 
Newark on the same day. 

1609. — "Baptized William son of Thomas Bawdwin of 

London." 
1611. — "Buried James Hodgkinson School Master of Warsop." 
1617. — "Baptized John the son of an unknown woman." 
1620. — " Baptized Jane the daughter of an unknown man." 
1622. — "Buried Thomas son of Thomas Jepson who was 

killed by an axe." 
1623.—" Buried Mr. William Lonedale the Doctor." 
1626. — " Buried Elizabeth Ashmore an unknown girl." 
1629. — " Baptized Alice the daughter of a poor stranger." 
1630. — " Buried Leonard Silleot a centenarian." 
1631. — " Buried Joanna Byall a wandering beggar." 

Some of the foregoing entries are quaint enough to provoke a 
smile, but to a serious mind they supply ample food for sober 
meditation. Take the last entry for instance. It needs no great 
stretch of imagination to picture in one's mind the history of 
this poor woman ; — ^to see her in the first blush of womanhood 
leaving home for service full of trust and hope ; then, home and 
its lessons forgotten, a too fond victim of some heartless villain ; 
then, in some distance city, cast away like the orange peel when 
one has sucked its contents ; then, like the prodigal in the 
parable, coming to herself and resolving to return home if 
but to die ; then beting her way wearily, and sorrowfully, 
and painfully, imtil at length, amidst strangers and perhaps 
babbing of the scenes of her childhood, she is struck down 
by the hand of death. Strangers would then close her weary 
eyes to sleep; strange hands compose her weary limbs to 



WABSOP PARISH BEOISTBBS. 19 

rest ; strangers carry her to her burial ; and amidst strangers 
she would be laid in Q-od's Acre ; while over her silent dust a 
strange voice would give thanks to Q-od for having delivered 
a sister out of the miseries of this sinful world ; and when 
the priest's office was finished all that could be recorded in 
the parish register was simply this : — " Buried Joanna Ryall 
a wandering beggar." 

Sunt&ttltS* The following well-knownWarsop and Sokeholme 
surnames appear in this register, and continue to appear 
at short intervals throughout the whole set of registers 
down to our own day. The dates prefixed to the names 
denote the time when they are first mentioned, and the 
various spellings, the forms under which they are found. 

1538.— Smith, Smithe, Smyth, ^ 

In an old Warsop terrier of 1722, the name of Widow 
Smith is mentioned as farming twenty acres of land, for 
which she paid a yearly rent of £6 10s. At the end of last 
century there were three distinct branches of this family 
living in Warsop. Their representatives were John Smith of 
Butt Lane, a wheelwright and parish undertaker; Samuel 
Smith of Bums Green, a labourer ; and John Smith of Low 
Street, a labourer likewise. John Smith, the wheelwright, 
had a brother called Thomas, who was the owner and land- 
lord of the White Lion Inn. He was a very short man and 
very spirited, and so got the nick-name of "Tommy Tit." 
A story is told of this Tommy Tit which is perhaps worth 
relating as it gave rise to a proverb in Warsop. It would 
seem that one Sunday morning a bond fide traveller called at 
his house for a pint of ale ; his wife waited upon him and 
showed him into the parlour where a pot was boiling on the 
hearth. Whilst her back was turned the man lifted the pot, 
abstracted a large dumpling, and quietly made off with it. 



20 WAB80P PARISH BEOISTBR8. 

The good housewife coining in to attend to her cooking, 
discovered to her amazement that the dumpling — her hus- 
band's tit-bit — ^was wanting. He, having been made ac- 
quainted with the state of affairs, immediately ran after the 
culprit and catching him up flew at him, like a little bantam 
cock, and knocked him down when the dumpling rolled out 
into the gutter. A neighbour who was passing at the time 
and was highly amused at the scene, asked "What's the 
matter, Thomas ? " " Matter enough," he replied pointing to 
the tit-bit, "its a poor dog that wont fight for his own 
dumpling." 

The Warsop families of Mekin and Slanej, are connected 
with this family by marriage. In 1821 William Mekin 
married Sarah Smith of the Bums, and in 1833 John Slaney 
married Sarah Smith of Butt Lane. 

1583.— Warde, Ward. 

In 1611 we have the death recorded of a William Warde, 
yeoman of Warsop. Coming down to more recent times we 
meet with several members of this family who have been 
engaged in husbandry and handicraft. About the middle of 
last century, one Samuel Ward, a shoemaker, married 
Elizabeth Fetherstone of Warsop, and had a family of four 
sons and two daughters : the sons were brought up to their 
father's trade ; William, the youngest, however, never cared 
for shoemaking, and after his marriage began life as a pig 
jobber. Not succeeding very well in this he made another 
change, and got together a gang of boys with whom he^used 
to weed fields, hoe turnips, and such like, for the neighbour- 
ing farmers. Like so many more of the old Warsop worthies, 
our friend William was rather too fond of his glass, and when 
excited would frequently start up and dance about the room, 
saying, " I'll show you some waxworks ;" from which he got to 
be called " Waxwork Ward." He was not other than a well- 



WABSOP PARISH BEOISTEBS. 21 

disposed, kindly man, and as such was mncli liked by Tiis 
neighbours. One of his great delights was to call a number 
of children around him and set them running races for sweets 
and pence. When quite an old man he was carried in a chair 
by four men, at the request of the members of the women's 
friendly society, in their annual procession to church on Whit- 
Tuesday. An excellent trait in his character was his respect 
for the Lord's Day. On that day, no matter what the 
temptation might be, he would never do a stroke of business 
or enter a public-house. 

1538.— Wilson, Willson. 

About the end of the seventeenth century there were two 
branches of this family — one living at Sokeholme and the 
other at Warsop. At the middle of last cdntury there was a 
Winiam Wilson of Sokeholme, and a WiUiam Wilson of 
Warsop. William Wilson of Sokeholme, was a farmer and 
the ancestor' of the present William Wilson, of Sokeholme. 
He had three sons, John, Thomas, and William. John and 
Thomas both left home and went to live at Skegby. Here 
John got into a lawsuit with a man about a blind horse of his 
which fell into a stone quarry. The case was tried, and 
judgment was given against him; but John's blood was up 
and being very tenacious of purpose he took his suit from one 
court to another until he was utterly ruined. To escape 
imprisonment for debt he secreted himself in the house of a 
relative at Mansfield Woodhouse, where he remained till the 
day of his death in an upstairs room. His relatives had some 
difficulty, we believe, in disposing of his body, and for fear of 
distraint induced the vicar of the parish to consent to its 
being buried at night. 

1539.— Ffox, Ffoxe, Foxe, Fox. 



22 WAB80P PAKISH BEGIBTEBS. 

A William and Fanny Fox about tlie end of last century 
lived in a long thatched cottage of one story where Messrs. 
Websters' shop now stands in Butt Lane. They had two 
sons, John and Benjamin, who, with their father worked on 
the farm at Eastlands. After her husband's death, Fanny was 
employed on the same farm to repair the com sacks, but she 
always like to make a mystery of the matter, and accordingly 
when asked by her too inquisitiye neighbours what she was 
doing so often at Eastlands, she would reply that she went 
there to " dam Mrs. Jackson's golawns and muslins." The 
present representative of this family in Warsop is Mrs. 
WiUiam Mitchell of Bums G-reen. 

1640.— Tumer. 

About the end of last century, one Samuel Turner of 
Warsop, was a weaver by trade, and carried on his business in 
a house of his own in High Street : his brother John was a 
farmer and lived in Low Street. 

1642.— Wylde, Wyld, Wilde, Wild. 

The manor of Nettleworth was formerly the property of 
this family. We have had occasion already to speak of Gbrvase 
Wylde: he was probably the son of WilHam Wylde who 
built the old hall in 1666, and whose son John was baptized 
in 1642. The date 1666 together with the initials WW may 
be seen to this day on a stone in a back part of the building. 
Members of this family are mentioned in Bailey's Annah of 
Nottinghamshire as having fought on the king's side in the 
great civil war. In 1 786 the old hall was partly destroyed by fire, 
and the present mansion built on its site by another WilHam 
Wylde of Nettleworth. Ann Wylde, in 1793, left a sum of 
d820 to be put out to interest, and directed that the money 
arising therefrom nhovli be given to six single women every 



WASSOP PARISH BSaiSTEBS. 23 

Cliristmas Eve for ever. Eegister C. contains a copy of her 
will as far as it relates to this benefaction. Brass tablets to 
the memory of various members of this family may be seen 
Warsop Church with the following inscriptions upon them: — 

"William Wyld, the infant sod of WiQiam Wyld of 
Nettleworth, gent., died Sept. 23rd. A.D. 1694. 

Here in oalm peace a sinless infant rests ; 
The sweet delight of heaven all in the dust doth lie : 
Like to an angel from on high sent down, he camOi 
And straightway to his blessed home retnmed." 

" Here lieth the body of Hannah the wife of William 
Wylde of Nettleworth, who departed this life the 6th 
day of May, in the year of our Lord 1773, aged 60 
years. Also near this place lieth the body of William 
Wylde, Father of the above William Wylde, who died 

in the year 1696, aged 28 years." 

« 

" Here lieth the body of WilHam Wylde of Nettleworth, 
who departed this life the 11th day of January 1779, 
aged 82 years." 

" Here lieth the body of WilHam Wylde Esq. of Mans- 
field, eldest son of the late William Wylde, Esq., of 
Nettleworth. He died March 11th 1787, in the 53rd 
year of his age. 

Safe in the Hand of one Disposing Power 
Or in the Natal or the Mortal Honr." 

This tablet contains the arms of the family : — Quarterly; 
first and fourth, Or, a f esse between three bucks' heads 
erased sable, attired gules ; second and third. Sable, a 
chevron engrailed argent, on a chief of the last, three 
martlets of the field. 



24 WABSOP parish &Eai8TE&S. 

" Here lieth the body of Ann Wylde, sister of the above 
William Wylde, who died Jan. 11th, 1793, aged 60 
years." 

"Here lieth the body of Catherina Wylde of Nettle- 
worth who died the 24th day of November, 1801, aged 
61 years." 

About seventy years ago Nettleworth changed hands and 
passed into the possession of Mr. Henry G-ally Knight, who 
in 1846 bequeathed it, together with the manors of Warsop 
and Sokeholme, to Sir Henry Fitz-Herbert, of Tissington, his 
kinsman. 

1 648. — ^Newton. 

In 1611 we have the death recorded of one John Newton, a 
carpenter of Warsop, and in 1637 that of Nicholas Newton, 
a husbandman. Nathan Newton was churchwarden in 1737, 
1748, 1769, and 1769. Richard Newton was churchwarden 
in 1748, 1767, and 1769. 

In the old terrier of 1722, Daniel Newton is mentioned as 
farming five hundred acres of land at a yearly rental of J674 
12s. 6d. He lived where Dr. Stein now lives in the High 
Street. Peafield Farm belonged to him, and it was his custom 
to have the bread consumed by his servants at that farm 
made of barley meal, in large loaves, baked in Warsop. These 
loaves were commonly carried home on the servants* shoulders 
on the top of a stake. A brass tablet to his memory in the 
church states that he was coroner for the county of Notts, 
twenty-eight years, and that he died in 1764, aged seventy. A 
romantic story is told of the coroner's grand-daughter Mary 
or Molly Newton. It seems that Miss Molly fell deeply in 
love with a Mr. Pamell of Maltby, who fully reciprocated her 
afEection. Miss Molly's friends, however, did not approve of 



WABSOP PARISH BEaiSTERS. 25 

her suitor, and would not hear of their marrying. The result 
was that Mr. Pamell became very low spirited, neglected his 
business, and in a short time went out of his mind and died 
at the early age of thirty-eight years. Miss Molly survived 
him twenty long years, but refused to be comforted. During 
the whole of that time she would neither visit her friends nor 
receive visitors, but kept her room and would allow no one to 
speak to her in tones above a whisper. She died in 1826 ; and 
in accordance with her expressed desire was buried in the 
same grave with the beloved object of her choice. Thus 
though parted for a while during Hfe, yet in death they 
were not divided. A large neglected monument to their 
memory may be seen in the churchyard. 

1543. — Stubbinge, Stubbing, Stubbings, Stubbins. 

Wilham Stubbings, a member of this family, was a wood 
sawyer on the Warsop estate during the latter part of last 
century. His son John enlisted in the 1st Dragoon G-uards, 
rose to the rank of corporal, and took part with his regiment 
in the overthrow of Napoleon at Waterloo. On that occasion 
he greatly distinguished himself in a hand to hand encounter 
with a French soldier, during which his horse had one of its 
ears cut off by the Frenchman's sabre, and he himself only 
just escaped being wounded. After the battle was over he 
was promoted to the rank of sergeant ; and on his retirement 
from the army in the following year received a medal and .£20 
prize money. The medal is still preserved in the family as an 
heir-loom. Strange to say, some two years after his retire- 
ment, a detachment of his old regiment passed through 
"Warsop and with it his dear old horse. The meeting between 
the two was most affecting; the detachment halted in front of 
the Hare and Hounds; and the villagers turned out, to a 
man, to see " the one eared horse on which John Stubbings 
rode at Waterloo." 



26 WABSOP PARISH BEOISTEBS. 

1546. — ^Bradley, Bradlay. 

About the end of last century tliis f anuly was represented 
by one William Bradley, landlord of the Swan Inn. One of 
the many defunct friendly societies of Warsop was held at his 
house and was called the " Swan Lodge." It seems to have 
been quite a common custom of enterprising publicans in 
those days to originate friendly societies in their houses in 
order to promote conviviality and good fellowship ; of course 
such societies could not long hold together, but it must not be 
forgotten that it was from beginnings like these that some of 
our modem friendly societies have expanded to their present 
size and social importance. We have a copy of the rules of the 
"Amicable Society," which was held at the same inn in 1782 
when Robert Cutts was landlord, and from them we learn 
how very crude and experimental these early friendly societies 
necessarily were. We subjoin two or three as specimens. 

" Eule I. — This Society shall meet on the first Saturday hi 
every month between the hours of seven and nine in the 
evening, when each member shall spend two-pence and pay 
six'pence to the box ; and every member who shall neglect to 
appear, or send his money by e^ht o'clock, shall forfeit for 
the first offence two-pence, for the second four-pence, and 
for the third offence shall be excluded the society." 

" Eule XI. — This society is to be continued so long as any 
three members chuse to continue the same : and if any member 
propose the breaking up of the society, he shall be excluded." 

" Rule XrV. — ^Any member having duly conformed to the 
orders of this society for one year, and being rendered in- 
capable of busiaess by reason of sickness, lameness, or other 
bodily infirmity, not occasioned by intemperance or vice, shall 
receive from the box 5s. per week during the first year of his 
illness, after which he may continue to receive 2s. 6d. per week 
so long as he remains incapable, even to the time of his death, 
when £5 shall be allowed for his funeral expence." 



WABBOP PARISH BEOISTBRS. 27 

" Rule XXXYin.— On the Feast Day (Whitsun Monday), 
every member in the town of Warsop shall appear by nine 
o'clock in the morning, or forfeit sixpence ; and all members 
residing out of the said town, shall appear by half past nine 
o'clock, or forfeit two-jpence ; and if not by ten o'clock, shall 
forfeit eiapence to the box." 

1546. — ^Wilkinson, Wilkenson. 

For majiy generations this family has carried on business 
in Warsop as rope-makers. A Valentine Wilkinson, about 
the middle of last century, was a rope-maker, and lived at the 
Dog and Rabbit Inn, in Butt Lane. His son William who 
succeeded him in business did all the rope work for Clumber, 
Sandbeck, Thoresby, and Welbeck. William had a family of 
eight sons and one daughter, and it was quite a little joke of 
his to tell people that he had eight sons and every one of 
them a sister. Thomas, his eldest son, settled at Southwell 
as a rope-maker; Richard followed the same business at 
Chesterfield ; whilst G-eorge was a manufacturer of women's 
stays at Retford. The other sons all settled in Warsop, and, 
with the exception of John who was a hatter, helped their 
father in his business. Two of them were inveterate poachers^ 
Joseph, the yoimgest, organized a regular band of men with 
whom he used to go out at nights with dogs and guns and 
scour the country far and near. 

The Hooleys of Market Warsop are connections of this 
family : in 1840 William Hooley married an Ann Wilkinson. 

1547. — Heringe, Herringe, Hearinge, Heringe, Hereing, 
Hering, Herring, Herron. 

In 1697 we have the death recorded of Thomas Hearinge, 
a husbandman of Warsop, and in 1616 that of Richard 
Herringe also a husbandman. John Herring was church- 

g2 



28 WARSOP PARISH REOISTERS. 

warden in 1638. Samuel Herron filled the same office in 
1654, and John Herring in 1762. In the old terrier of 1722, 
Joel Herring is mentioned as farming one hundred and 
twenty acres of land for which he paid a yearly rent of £26 
14s. 4d. A Samuel Herring in 1739 married Elizabeth, 
daughter of Daniel Newton, the Coroner. He lived at the old 
Sokeholme HaU, the front part of which he pulled down and 
rebuilt in 1748. A stone bearing this date together with the 
letters H. S. and E., may still be seen on the front wall just 
below the roof. In 1750 he had the misfortune to lose his 
wife : shortly after this he was sadly reduced in circumstances 
through the distemper which broke out among his cattle. 
In one year he lost considerably more than fifty head, and 
in the following year about the same number. In conse- 
quence of these losses he was obliged to give up his farm. 
He then built for himself a little house on some waste land, 
on the site of that now occupied by his grandson, old Mr. 
WilHam Herring of Sokeholme, and rented a few fields close 
by which now form part of the present farm. Here he spent 
the rest of his days in company with his second wife, who 
had been a widow named Newton, and whom he married in 
1771. For the house itself and the garden attached to 
it, he had nothing to pay save a shilling every year as an 
acknowledgement to the lord of the manor. And as long as 
the old house stood, his son who succeeded him had to pay 
the same acknowledgement and nothing more. 

From an old rate book we learn that, at the beginning of 
last century, Sarah Herring, a member of this family, kept a 
pubKc-house in Sokeholme, and that the parishioners of that 
parish used to meet in vestry at her house to pass the church- 
warden's accounts for the year. 



WABSOP PARISH BEOISTBBS. 29 

1549. — Law, Lawe, Lowe, Low. 

The Laws of Warsop ha.e been for many generations either 
artizans or labourers of the better sort. About the middle 
of last century one Samuel Law, a member of this family, 
had quite a reputation for his sober, industrious habits. He 
had three sons, Samuel, Stephen, and George, who were like 
himself men of excellent character, and one daughter Fanny. 
The duke of Portland of that day took notice of Samuel Law 
the younger, and put him into a snug appointment on the 
Welbeck estate. To Stephen Law belongs the honour of 
having been the first to introduce a two-row drill into Warsop. 
George settled at Clipstone : and Fanny was married to a 
William Eaton of Kand, Lincolnshire, and so became the 
ancestress of the present members of that family now Kving in 
Warsop. The Beans and Thorpes of Church Town are also 
connected with the Lowe family by marriage. In 1831 James 
Bean married a Hannah Lowe ; and in 1860 Leonard Thorpe, 
miller, married another Hannah Lowe. 

1561. — Jackson. 

Roger Jackson in 1632 married Margaret, third daughter of 
Jarvis Wilde of Nettleworth. From the old terrier before 
mentioned we learn that Eobert Jackson in 1722 farmed a 
hundred acres of land at a yearly rental of .£26 17s. ; that 
Eichard Jackson was the miller and farmed forty three acres 
of land, paying for the mill a yearly rental of .£13 8s., and for 
the land .£20 10s. ; and that Samuel Jackson rented a ■** tack 
of ground " of four acres for which he paid c£l 5s. a year. 
Eichard Jackson was churchwarden in 1741 and 1762 ; 
Matthew Jackson, in 1746; Robert Jackson, in 1755, 1759, 
and 1767. The said Robert had a son and a grandson both 
called Robert after himself. They all Kved together at the 
Home Farm in Church Warsop. To distinguish them one 



30 WABSOP PARISH BEGISTXBS, 

from another the villagers were wont to speak of them 
as "Old Bobby," "Middle Bobby," and "Young Bobby." 
Middle Bobby as he advanced in years became a most 
eccentric character. He spent the greater part of his time 
in walking to and fro between Church Warsop and Market 
Warsop. He would get up in the morning as early some- 
times as two o'clock ; prepare and eat his breakfast ; walk 
as far as the village cross, if dark with a lantern ; return and 
go to bed ; get up again within an hour or so, and repeat his 
perambulations several times during the day ; prepare his own 
tea about five o'clock; take his last walk, and retire to rest 
between six and seven p.m. 

Eastland House was bmlt, and the open common which 
onoe formed the east side of the parish was enclosed and 
made into a farm for Samuel Jackson the youngest son of 
" Old Bobby." Samuel Jackson married the sister of Mr. 
Bolton the agent of the Warsop estate, and he himself after- 
wards acted as agent for a short time. He is said to have 
been a man of most exemplary character and very fond of the 
public worship of Almighty G-od. The services at Warsop 
Church, as in abnost all country churches, at the beginning 
of the present century, were most cold and dreary. The 
officiating minister read mattins, the litany and the ante- 
oommunion service, without moving from the reading desk ; 
and after the Nicene Creed took off his surpKce which he wore 
over his black gown, and laying it over the side of the reading 
desk entered the pulpit, preached his sermon and dismissed his 
congregation with the blessing. Samuel Jackson, as church- 
warden, tried all he could to improve this very unsatisfactory 
state of affairs. He got together the remains of Bishop 
Hallilax's choir which had been celebrated for its excellence, 
and paid John Maxfield who had a strong voice twelve shillings 
a year to start the tunes. The Old Himdredth was the 
favourite. This was sung at the beginning of morning prayer 
nearly every Sunday. An amusing incident connected with 



WAB80P PARISH BEGISTEBS. 31 

this psalm singing is still remembered. One morning John 
Maxiield was unable for some reason or other to attend church ; 
and there was nobody to start the tune. The psalm was given 
out as usual, and after a deathlike silence of some seconds a 
voice called out from the singing pew to Samuel Jackson who 
sat at the other end of the church, " Pitch it, Mr. Jackson, 
pitch it." Mr Jackson's death was most beautiful. He was 
out one day with his dog and gun when he felt the hand 
of death upon him. Placing his gun carefully against a hedge 
he knelt down and committed his soul to G-od. His sagacious 
companion went straight home and brought some one to his 
assistance, but when found he was quite dead, and supported 
by the hedge still in the attitude of prayer. 

** Suddenly he laid his shackles by 
He bore not a single pang at parting; 
He saw no tear of sorrow stealing ; 
He heard not quivering lips that blessed him ; 
He felt not hands of love that pressed him 
Nor the frame with mortal terror shaking ; 
Nor the heart where love's soft bands were breaking ; 

So he died. 
All bliss, without a pang to oloud it ; 
All joy, without a pain to shroud it ; 
Not slain, but caught up, as it were, 
To meet his Saviour in the air ; 

So he died.** 

Mary Jackson, sister to the above, was married first to 
George Unwin of Church Warsop, and, after his death, in 
1774 to William Beeston of Worksop. From this latter 
marriage the present Beestons of Warsop are descended. 

1666.— Bowringe, Bowreing, Bowring. 

At the beginning of last century, John Bowring of Warsop 
went to live at Edwinstowe, where he married and settled. 
His son William afterwards returned to the old home and 



32 WABSOP PABISH BEGISTEBS. 

was for many years a woodman on the estate. William 
married a Mary Duckenfield of Warsop, and by her had two 
sons, Nicholas and John. Nicholas enlisted in the 45th 
Eegiment, and after serving twenty-one years retired with a 
pension of Is. lO^d. a day. For some years prior to his 
retirement he acted as recruiting sergeant in the Mansfield 
district, and in lihis capacity used to attend all the neighbour- 
ing fairs beating up recruits to the inspiriting strains of the 
drum and fife. After leaving the army Sergeant Bo wring is 
said to have spent his time in a most exemplary manner, — 
visiting the sick and in other ways assisting the clergy, in 
Mansfield. 

1667.— Michaell, Michell, Michel, Mitchel, MitcheU. 

A member of this family, John Mitchell by name, was a 
soldier in the Royal Artillery. He served under Wellington 
in the Peninsula War and took part in the battle of Salamanca, 
Vittoria, and Nive, for which he received a medal with three 
clasps. At the battle of Waterloo he was wounded in the 
knee by a Frenchman's bayonet. He was then discharged 
with a second medal and a pension of 6d. a day. It is said 
that on the death of his old commander he was greatly 
distressed in mind because he had not the wherewithal to 
attend his funeral. John Mitchell came of a fighting stock. 
His father and grandfather before him were both soldiers. 
His brother Samuel was a soldier likewise ; and his own son 
served in the Grenadier Q-uards and met his death in the 
Crimea. 

1669. — ^Aire, Ayre, Eyre. 

John Eyre a member of this family was churchwarden in 
1774. He rented the old lime kilns in Sokeholme Lane and 
employed several men therein. He is said to have been a 



WABSOP PABISH BBGISTBBS. 33 

thoroughly honesty high-principled man, and a good church- 
man to boot. His grandson, John Eyre, at the beginning of 
the present century was a man of some property in Warsop. 
He was a grocer by trade, and carried on business in one 
of his own houses at the bottom of Butt Lane. Mount 
Pleasant belonged to him. He was very fond of dogs, 
especially "snaps," of which he had a famous breed, and 
which he trained to such perfection that he rarely took a 
walk on the forest without bringing home a rabbit or two. 
Martha Eyre, his daughter, was married in 1829 to James 
Badford, stone-mason. 

The Eyres of Sokeholme were nothing akin to the Warsop 
family of that name. They were descendants of the Eyres of 
Mansfield Woodhouse, one of whom, a John Eyre, was among 
the number of those chosen for the honour of knighthood 
when Charles II. contemplated forming an order of the 
" Knights of the Eoyal Oak." 

1674. — Dunston, Dunstan. 

Throsby, in his list of High Sheriffs for the County of 
Nottingham, gives the name of George Dunston of Warsop, 
as High Sheriff in 1770. This is evidently a mistake, as the 
Dunstons of Warsop were simple cottagers and lived on Bums 
Green. We believe George Dunston of Worksop was High 
Sheriff at the time in question. Mr. James Caudwell, farmer of 
Market Warsop, is the present representative of this family. 

1674.— Gilbert, Gilbord. 

Samuel Gilbert, a member of this family, was parish pinder 
during the latter part of last century. He was a quiet, simple 
sort of fellow. He use to say when he thought he had got 
the better of any one, "I've handled thee," and so got the name 



M WABSOP PABI8H BBaiSTBBS. 

of '* Handle Sammy." When he was quite an old man he was 
employed by John Duckmanton, farmer, to thresh com in his 
bam, but he was so slow and used his flail so tenderly that the 
lads used to tease him, and John Duckmanton, the farmer's son, 
who was a bit of a wag, made a wager with him that he could 
get under the com he was threshing without being found out. 
Accordingly on» morning before the old man came to work he 
slipped into the bam and hid himself under the com. After 
Sammy had been threshing as usual for some time without 
perceiving him, John crept out of his hiding place, and said, 
^* Ha, ha ! Master Sammy, I've handled thee." " Yes," said 
the old man, ** and I'd a handled thee if I'd known thou had 
been there." 

Another Samuel Gilbert worked for the Featherstones^ at 
the Brook Farm, for more than half-a-century. For forty- 
nine years he pitched the com in the harvest field, and when 
he was not aUowed, because of his age, to do it the following 
year, he burst into tears, and said, '^I did so want to complete 
the fifty years." 

1676.— ReveU, Eevall, EeviU. 

In the old terrier of 1722 the name of Francis Bevill is 
down for a tack of three acres of land at a yearly rental of 
<£1 8s. 4d. About the end of last century another member 
of the Bevell family, a mason by trade, built himself a house 
on some waste land near the ford at Church Warsop. When 
called upon by the lord of the manor to give up possession 
he refused, but on the promise of the use of the old " Moot 
HaU" he consented, and the house which he had built was 
pulled down. The same man was employed with a William 
Downes to build the buttresses, splays, and battlements, on 
the Church Tower in 1810. 

The DowdaU family is connected with this family by the 
marriage, in 1845, of William DowdaU and Catherine Bevill. 



WABSOP PABISH ABGISTEB8. 35 

1578. — Rylie, Ryelay, Riley. 

At the beginning of the present century there was a John 
Riley, son of Clement Riley, who by dint of sheer industry 
and economy raised himself from a lowly position to one of 
comparative affluence. He began life as a journeyman 
shoemaker: he then became master, and in course of time 
kept two or three apprentices ; he next opened a grocer's shop 
which he carried on at the same time with his other business ; 
after that he took the Hare and Hounds, and did remark- 
ably well. But troubles came upon him in his old age. His 
sons turned out badly and involyed him in continual losses. 
One of them borrowed some £700 of him and never repaid it. 
From that time everything seemed to go wrong with the old 
man ; he suffered loss after loss, and got poorer and poorer, 
until at length he was taken to the workhouse where he died 
broken hearted the very night of his admittance. 

A George Riley has the unenviable distinction of being one 
of the last persons put into the Parish Stocks. He was not 
a member, however, of the old Warsop family. It would 
seem that he and some other lads were caught by the 
constable playing at football on the Sunday before Martinmias, 
1821. Being summoned before the magistrates they were 
sentenced to be put into the stocks or pay a fine. Q-eorge 
and another were put into the stocks and one paid the fine. 
The latter is still alive, a hale, hearty old man, who tells the 
story with great glee. Q-eorge Riley, poor fellow ! came to a 
sad end. Whilst engaged a few years since in burning 
thorns on the forest his dress caught fire, and whether 
through fright or infirmity no one can tell, but he was unable 
to extinguish the flames and was burnt to death. 

1579.— HaU, Halle. 

This family is extinct as far as Warsop is concerned. But 



36 WABBOP PABI8H BBOI8TBS8. 

m 1697 one John Hall of Warsop left by will the sum of ^661 
IDs. to be bestowed in lands for the use of the poor of 
Warsop, and desired the rector and churchwardens to 
purchase the same. He also deyised all his lands and 
tenements at Newton in Lincolnshire, and all his lands in 
Warsop, together with the lands purchased as aforesaid, to 
Thomas Fothergill and six others, and their heirs, on trust, 
that they should with the yearly rents and profits buy good 
wheat and rye bread every year, for ever, for the poor of 
Warsop; and he directed that the same should be equally 
distributed on every Sunday after divine service to sixteen of 
the poorest people living in Warsop, by the rector and church- 
wardens for the time being. The rental of this property now 
amounts to something more than ^100 a year, and in con- 
sequence of its increased value, the benefits of the charity 
have been extended to a considerably greater number of 
persons. 

1679. — Cleaton, Clayton. 

At the beginning of last century, Francis Clayton was a 
yeoman of Warsop. His name appears also in the old terrier 
of 1722 as renting seventy-two acres of land, for which he 
paid £18 16b, a year. Ann Clayton, his grand-daughter, was 
married in 1775 to the Bev. John Browne, Curate of Warsop. 
A large flat stone to her memory and to that of her husband, 
who was curate for thirty-two years, may be seen in the 
churchyard near the South wall of the church. William 
Clayton, a shoemaker, was a freeman of the old borough of 
Betford, and is known to have obtained for his two votes 
sometimes as much as twenty guineas apiece. In 1827, when 
a Government enquiry was made into the political corruption 
of that borough, the said William Clayton was cited to give 
evidence before the House of Commons. 



WABBOP PABIBH BBGISTSBS. 37 

1679. — Hinde, Hynde, Hind. 

James Hinde, a member of tliis family, was churcliwarden 
in 1761. He was a fell-monger and manufacturer of leather 
gloves and breeches. The same business has been carried on 
by his descendants down to the present day. The church- 
warden's son, commonly known as "Jemmy Hinde," was a 
keen lover of sport ; so much so, indeed, that he is said to 
have followed the hounds at the advanced age of ninety years. 
Another branch of the same family has been engaged for 
many generations in handicraft and agriculture. 

1686.— Woodhead. 

The Woodheads of Warsop were for many generations 
wheelwrights, and Kved at the comer of Car Lane. Francis 
Woodhead, the representative of the family, at the beginning 
of the present century was an excellent workman, but very 
masterful and very fond of his glass. Mr. Martin, the rector, 
said to him one day, " WeU Francis, how are you and your 
wife getting on ? " " Oh," he repKed, " she can make me do 
as I like any day of the year." Poor little woman, she had a 
hard lot with him ! Sometimes when a customer called to see 
him she would run to fetch him from the pubhc house, but 
she. could rarely get anything from him but, "Now Betty go 
home and don't let's have any trouble with you." His son 
and grandson who in turn succeeded him in the business were 
both good workmen, and might have done well in the world 
but for their love of strong drink. 

1689.— BaU. 

About the middle of last century one Amos Ball lived in a 
low thatched cottage in Car Lane. In social position he was 
nothing but a labourer, but in habits of temperance and 






38 WAB80P PABI8H BEGI8TBB8. 

thrift he was far above the average nin of men of his day. 
By the exercise of great carefiiliiess on the part of himself 
and his better half he managed to save money enough to buy 
a few fowls and geese which he turned out on the Cars to 
shift for themselves as best they could. With the profits 
realised by the sale of eggs, chickens, <&c., he bought a cow 
and rented a croft. Then not content with the old cottage in 
which his father had lived before him, he pulled it down and 
built himself a more commodious residence on the same site — 
the very house in which Widow Ball now Hves. And here he 
spent the rest of his days in comparative ease and comfort, a 
living example of the truth of the proverb, " Take care of the 
pence and the pounds will take care of themselves." Thomas 
Ball, another member of this family, served for thirteen years 
in the Royal Horse Artillery. He was wounded in the shoulder 
at Waterloo and after his recovery was discharged with a 
medal and a pension of 9d. a day. The medal is still pre- 
served in the family. 

The families of Coupe and Allwood are connected with this 
family : in 1856 James Coupe married a Mary Ball, and in 
1857 Samson Allwood married a Hannah Ball. 

1589. — Ffetherston, Ffetherstone, Fetherston, Fetherstone, 
Featherstone. 

William Fetherstone is mentioned in the old terrier of 1722 
as farming some forty-six acres of land at a yearly rental of 
«£13 2s. 4d. He was churchwarden in 1737. John Fetherstone 
was churchwarden in 1755. He too was a farmer and lived 
at the Brook Farm in Low Street. At the time of the Scotch 
rebellion in 1745 a party of rebels on their way to Derby came 
through Warsop and compelled the said John Fetherstone to 
spread straw in his bam for their horses. A cannon ball 
weighing five and a quarter pounds which is now in the 
possession of Mr. Blythman, a descendant, was found in the 



WA&SOP PABISH BJ9GI8TSS8. 39 

house roof when undergoing repairs at the end of last century. 
In 1768 Anne Fetherstone, grand-daughter of John Fether- 
stone was married to John Snowden of Bothamsall, of whom 
the present Snowdens of Warsop are descendants. 

1595. — Barloe, Barlowe, Barlow. 

In 1796 Isaac Barlow, a member of this family, was 
accidently killed by the falling of some timber upon him at 
Shirebrook, and in 1830 his great nephew, who was called 
Isaac after him, also met with a sudden death. The latter 
was a servant lad, and had been sent by his master with a 
wagon to Nottingham. Whilst returning he walked by the 
horses' side, and in an abstracted kind of way stopped to look 
at a house he was passing, when his dress got entangled in 
the wheel and he was crushed to death beneath the wagon, 
James Barlow, cousin to the first Isaac, made quite a little 
fortune for himself, in the humble employment of a 
domestic servant. In early life he had the honour of being 
engaged as footman by the Margravine of Anspach. After 
holding this situation for some years with much credit to 
himself he returned to England, where he found no difficulty 
in bettering his condition. For eleven years he acted as 
butler to the Marquis of Ailesbury, and for a like number of 
years he held the same office to Sir Richard Sutton. With 
his Savings, which were by no means small, he then took'th^ 
Dolphin Tavern, on Ludgate HiU, London, but finding a 
publican's life too irksome, he went back to the service of Sir 
Richard Sutton, who at the expiration of another four years 
settled a pension on him for life. He then returned to 
Warsop, bought some property, and spent the rest of his 
days among the friends of his youth. Mrs. Hill of Butt 
Lane, is the last representative of this family in Warsop. 



40 WAB80P PABISH BEGISTEBS. 

1697, — ^Renould, Reanolde, Reonard, Eejniald, Reynold, 
Reynolds. ' 

From the middle of the seventeenth century down to the end 
of last century there appear to have been two distinct branches 
of this family ; one Kving at Sokeholme, and the other at 
Warsop. A William Reynold was clerk at Sokeholme Chapel 
during the early part of last century, and in 1760, a GFeorge 
Reynolds was churchwarden of Warsop. They were both 
small farmers. A Henry Reynolds at the beginning of the 
present century owned a considerable amount of property in 
Warsop. He was a farmer and butcher, and the landlord of 
the Talbot Inn. 

1620, — Unwen, Unwin, Unwine. 

Gborge Unwin, a member of this family, was churchwarden 
in 1744, 1760, and 1767. His sons George and Matthew 
afterwards filled the same office ; the former in 1771 and 1772, 
and the latter in 1774. 

The first-named GTeorge Unwin was a farmer of Church 
Warsop, and' kept a public-house where James Ball now 
resides. Some time before his death, however, he gave up 
his license, and there has been no public-house in Church 
Warsop since. Another Gfeorge Unwin, a descendant of his, 
was a sad scapegrace. In his youth he received a good 
education, but he turned it to very poor account. Having 
committed a forgery he left the neighbourhood for some 
years. On his return he made a little house for himself on 
the upper Cars by driving stakes into the ground and plaiting 
them together with wattles and roofing the whole with sods. 
Here he lived with his wife until some mischievous lads and 
men so disturbed them at nights that they were obKged to 
leave it. He afterwards became parish pinder and bellman, 
and in this capacity he is remembered to have gone round the 



WABSOP PABISH BEaiSTBBS. 41 

village on the momiDg of the coroiiation of Queen Victoria, 
ringing his bell and declaiming at the top of his voice the 
following lines of his own composition : — 

" Maj the rose of England never blow, 
May the cock uf Scotland never orow, 
May the harp of Ireland never sound, 
Till this joong lady she is crowned." 

In 1813 Elizabeth Unwin of Church Town, was married to 
George Taylor of Elksley, from which marriage the family of 
Charles Taylor is derived, 

1622. — Parsons, Parson. 

In the old terrier of 1722, a John Parson is mentioned as 
farming some fifty acres of land at a yearly rental of ^14. 
Another John Parsons was churchwarden in 1767. This 
latter was a basket-maker and Hved in Car Lane. His son 
William, who succeeded him in business, was the first to 
plant the osier holt by the river side near the ** Hills and 
Holes." Before his time the land there had been used merely 
as a cow pasture, and both he and his father had to buy their 
osiers at Newark and other places outside the parish. 

1623.— Wasse, Wass. 

In 1763 Sarah Wass, a member of this family, was found 
murdered in a house in Back Lane. There seems little doubt 
that her own godson committed the foul deed for the sake of 
some money she had; but the mystery was never fully 
explained, for although he was taken up on suspicion and 
confined in Nottingham gaol, yet owing to his death having 
taken place before the trial came on there was no conviction. 
One Ann Wass or " Nonty Wass," a woman of most disrepu- 

D 



4^ WABSOP PABI&IH BEGIfiTSBS. 

table character, committed suicide about the same time, and 
was buried on the CKpstone road near the windmill. For many 
years after, even down to within the last fifty years, it was 
the custom of passers-by to throw a stone upon her grave 
from a superstitious dread of her appearing. Shakspeare 
makes mention in Hamlet of the same custom. Speaking of 
the burial of Ophelia, the priest says : — 

" Her death was donbtf al ; 
And but that great oommand o'erswajs the order 
She should in ground unsanotified have lodged 
Till the last trumpet : for charitable prayers, 
Shards, flints and pebbles, should be thrown on her." 

<SOCial COtlDitiOtt of tfje people^ Concerning the social 
condition of the inhabitants of Warsop during the period 
comprised in this register, 1538 to 1637, we are unable to 
speak with anything like certainty as nothing is recorded 
relating thereto before 1607. Between the years 1607 and 
1637, however, mention is made in the register of burials of 
the social position of some few of the deceased, and from the 
data there given we are inclined to think that Warsop must 
have been a purely agricultural parish at that time. Out of 
eighty-five burials in which alone the social status is recorded, 
two were gentlemen, fifteen yeomen, one a doctor, one a 
schoolmaster, twenty-two husbandmen, two millers, twenty- 
two labourers, three carpenters, two shoemakers, four coopers, 
three butchers, two tailors, one a smith, one a weaver, one a 
tanner, and three men-servants. 

Now in order to understand the full significance of these 
figures, it is necessary to bear in mind a few historical 
features of that and an earlier time. The feudal system with 
its divisions of the social classes into gentle, free, and servile, 
had long since passed away, and there was scarcely a parish 
in the land where one might not find, as in Warsop, several 



WAB80P PARISH BEGISTEBS. 43 

» ' . ■ ' ■''"'. ' 

yeomen and small freeholders in addition to the lord of the 
manor. A new class 6f men, too, had sprung lip in the 
husbandman or farmer who rented his land of the lord of the 
manor. But the most important change of all was the rise 
of the free labourer whose condition, at this period, although 
infinitely superior t6 that of the old serf, was yet very far 
behind that of men of the same class at the present day. 
The old system of fixing the price as well as hours of labour 
by acts of parliament and public proclamation still continued 
to exist — the injurious tendency of which needs no demonstra- 
tion. The necessaries of life were so immoderately dear 
compared with the rate of wages that labouring men could 
rarely if ever obtain any other bread than that made of rye, 
barley, and oats, and in many districts of peas or beans ; 
whilst as regards dress they' thought themselves well off if 
they could provide themselves -with a decent suit of leather 
or canvas. Their dwellings, too, were on a par with their food 
and clothing. Even so late as the reign of Queen Mary, the 
English peasantry had nothing better to live in than mere 
clay built hovels, with no chimneys and no flooring except the 
bare ground. Their beds consisted of straw which was 
seldom renewed ; their pillow was a hard block of wood ; and 
as for sheets and blankets they had none. On the other 
hand they had certain privileges which the labourers of to-day 
have not. They were in little danger of being thrown out of 
employment as they were engaged by contract for not less 
than a year and could not be dismissed before the expiration 
of that time, unless some gross misconduct could be proved 
against them before two magistrates ; they had on the 
average two or three holidays a month on account of Saints' 
Days and other festivals ; whilst the long ranges of common 
and unenclosed forest land furnished their fuel gratis, and 
fed their pigs, ducks, geese, and cow, if they could afford to 
keep one. Some writers indeed, looking only to these 
advantages, have described their condition as equal to, if not 

d2 



44 WABSOP PABISH BSGIBTBBS. 

better than that of the same classes of to-day ; but we have 
only to study the history of the poor laws to learn what a 
truly deplorable state they were in. By a statute passed in 
the reign of Edward VI., it was enacted that all persons who 
refused to labour and lived idly three days were to be bi^anded 
on the breast with the letter V, and be adjudged the slaves 
for two years of those who informed against them. The 
master was directed to feed his slave with bread and water, 
or refuse meat and drink, and to cause him to work by 
beating or chaining him. If the slave absconded for fourteen 
days he was condemned to slavery for life ; and if he ran away 
a second time he became liable to be put to death as a felon. 
Surely with such a law as that staring him in the face, no 
labourer would wish to go back to the " good old days " of 
the sixteenth century. The condition of the yeoman and 
husbandman was, as might be expected, much better than that 
of the labourer. It was on the whole one of idle, coarse 
contentment. Farms were cheaply rented if roughly cul- 
tivated. An ordinary farm house was made of timber with 
walls of plaster and roof of thatch, but like the labourer's 
hovel mostly without chimneys and with but few conveniences. 
The rustic house-wife spun the clothing from the wool and 
flax produced on the farm. She and her maids also measured 
out the com and sent it to the mill ; brewed and baked for 
the household consumption ; and took care of the cows, pigs, 
and poultry, as well as of the garden ; while the men attended 
to their labours in the field. In this way a rough but 
comfortable subsistence was secured even when their stock of 
money rarely exceeded a few shillings, and when rent-day 
arrived the sale of a horse or cow had to make up any 
deficiency. With regard to food the usual diet was the 
produce of the farm and dairy. Tusser, the Essex poet, who 
lived about the middle of the sixteenth century, thus describes 
the good cheer of the English yeomen of his day : — 



WABSOP PABISH BEGISTEBS. 45 

" Good bread and good drink, a good fire in the hall ; 
Brawn padding, and sance, and good mnstard withal; 
Beef, mntton, and pork, shred pies of the best ; 
Fig, veal, goose and oapon, and tnrkejs well drest ; 
Cheese, apples, and nuts, jollj carols to hear. 
As then in the country is counted good cheer." 

Such, we may well believe, was in a greater or less degree 
the social condition of the inhabitants of Warsop during the 
period under consideration. From the secluded character of 
the parish its history has been necessarily agricultural rather 
than anything else. Approached by mere forest tracks, or 
narrow crooked lanes, the native population would follow slowly 
the great changes of the nation at large, and, free from the 
highest or lowest subjects of the realm, live out their simple 
lives and play their part in the great drama of life, leaving 
behind them for the most part nothing but a name. 








—,1 




v^>%*'L -#;>^^^--'«^- ^^ ' ■ 




7 ^^^ ^ .^^ -^ 




[1 — : — . 


^-'--':.W^-r---^ 





lefiister B, 



This volume is much mouse eaten at the top of those leaves 
contaimiig the baptisms, and at the bottom as well as top of 
those containing the burials and marriages, so that several 
names and words are unfortunately wanting. By some 
mischance too, the baptisms from 1644 to 1649, instead of 
being in their right place, follow those of 1702. 

(cpXttECtS^ From the many interesting records contained in 
this volume, we have selected the following; among 
which we have thought it right to include the earliest 
entries we can find respecting the various existing 
families which are mentioned in it, but not in the former 
volume. 



1641. — " Buried Ga Dux veteran. 



>> 



The intermediate portion of this entry has been eaten away 
by the mice, but there can be no doubt, we think, that it is 
the record of the burial of Q^rvase Wylde, of the Spanish 
Armada incident. 



1643.—" Buried Eobard Tomson, Souldat." 



WABSOF PARISH BEGISTBBS. 47 

From the character of this entry one might suppose that it 
was the work of a Frenchman ; and indeed it is very likely that 
such was the case, for the Kev. J. Conde who was curate of 
Warsop at this time, and who — ^judging from the hand- 
writing — was the registrar likewise, was most probably one of 
those unfortunate Huguenots who, cruelly persecuted in their 
own country, fled to England for refuge after the capture of 
Bochelle by cardinal Eichelieu in 1628. 

1643. — ** Baptised Henry son of Thomas Bowet and Anne 
his wife." 

The above-named Thomas Bowet was a husbandman. 
From his time down to the present generation, the Bowets of 
Warsop have belonged to the same class, and several of them 
are mentioned at various periods as holding the office of 
churchwarden. In the old terrier of 1722, a Thomas Bowet's 
name is down for some forty acres of land at a yearly rental 
of ^9 10s. 



1646.—" Buried Mr. William Spurre late pa " 



The concluding part of this entry has been eaten away by 
the mice. Enough has been left, however, to show that it is 
the record of the burial of the Kev. William Spurre, who was 
rector of Warsop when the allotment of seats was made in 
1615. We are inclined to think, too, that he was the same 
person whose baptism is recorded in capital letters in 1564, 
as " William son of Thomas Spurre," a yeoman of Warsop ; 
and if so, he is the only native of Warsop who has been 
rector of the parish since the Reformation. Prior to that 
event we can say nothing. In the fourteenth century there 
was one Robert de Warsop, an Augustinian, who was bom in 
Warsop, and who long resided at the convent of Tickhill. 
He is said by Bale to have been made a bishop ; but as there 



4i8 WJ^aOP PASI8H BB«I8f>|iaU9. 

seems to haye been no prelate of that name in England, it is 
supposed that he was either a suffragan or a titular bishop in 
Greece. He was buried in Tickhill about 1360. 

1646. — ** Samuel the aonne of Bichard Jackson and Jane his 
wife was borne upon the 26th day of January about 
the brake of day in the morning, and was baptized on 
the 31 of January the next Lord's day following." 

" John the sonne of George Wilcocke and Anne his wife 
was borne upon the 28th of January about fi^e of the 
clocke in the afternoon, and was baptized on the 5th of 
Ffebruary at Sokehohne." 

'* James and John the sonnes of Gervas Hc^mea and 
Cecily his wife were borne upon the 6th day of 
Ffebruary in the morning before sunrising, and were 
baptized on the 8th day of Ffebruary/' 

We insert the foregoing entries not merely on account of 
their quaintness, or because they are so unlike the stereotyped 
entries of the present day, but because they show how very 
necessary our forefathers thought it to have their children 
bapti&ed as soon a? possible after birth. 

1650*~T-^' Gtervase the soime of Nicholas Hinchley and Eliza- 
beth his wife was borne March 23rd and baptized 
March 31st. 

A branch of this family held the office of wood steward on 
the Warsop estates for several generations. A William 
Hinchliff e, wood steward, about the latter part of la&t century, 
was clerk of Sokeholme Chapel, and used to attend the services 
there, dressed in the lord of the manor's livery. In 1849 we 
have the marriage recorded of George Bobinson and Mary 



WARSOP PARISH BBGI8TEBS. 49 

Hincbliffe ; in 1853, that of Herbert Wharmby and Elizabeth 
HinchlilEe ; and in 1871 , that of William Metheringham and 
Shadey Hinchliffe. 

1653. — ''Thomas Ohadwicke, a blinde man, died and was 
buried April the 14th day." 

"Margaret Chadwicke his widdow died April 17, and 
was buried April the 18th day." 

1655. — ** Two infants, a male and a ffemale, of Henry Silleotts 
of the Market Town were borne, died, and buried, the 
five and twentieth day of December." 

1656. — ** John and Elizabeth Infant children of Eobert Ward 
of the Market Town were born, Baptized, and died and 
were Buried, April the fourteenth day." 

" John the son of John Ff armerv of the Market Town, 
a sucking childe, died and was buried, November the 
fourth day." 

The foregoing are a few of the many entries at this period 
which record the death and burial as taking place on the same 
day. To defer the burial for any length of time beyond a 
day was quite the exceptional thing. 

1657. — ** Elizabeth the daughter of Robert Mason of the 
Moon of the Church Town died August the 26th day, 
and was buried August the 27th day." 

Here we have the name given us of the old public-house in 
Church Warsop to which reference has been already made. 

1662. — "Buried Margaret daughter of John Hooke and 
Margaret his wife of the South Town." 



50 WABdOP PARISH BEOISTEBS. 

During the latter half of last century, one Robert Hooke, 
farmer and publican, lived in a house called the "Black Bull." 
at the bottom of Butt Lane. He himself was a steady, sober 
man enough, but one of his sons, who was also named Robert, 
turned out such a ne'er-do-well, that the old man thought it 
best to give up his license and live on the farm alone. Many 
a story is told of this Robert Hooke the younger, who seems 
to have been a very whimsical sort of fellow, full of practical 
jokes. The landlord of the Hare and Hounds Inn having 
engaged a raw untrained girl as servant, gave Robert 
an opportunity of playing a trick upon him. The custom of 
publicans in those days was to mark up every evening each 
person's score on the chimney piece. Coming in, therefore, 
first thing next morning when "mine host's'* back was turned, 
Robert called for a pint of ale, and when the servant brought 
it him, scolded her severely, said that she was a lazy slut, and 
that the last girl would never have left the chalk marks 
remain on the chinmey piece till that time of day. The poor 
girl in her confusion at once fetched a wet cloth and wiped 
out the scores. On another occasion he offered to bet 
Woodman Stubbings, a penny that he could drink an exact 
pennyworth out of a tankard of ale. Now this was by no 
means an easy feat, as the price of a tankard of ale was 
sevenpence. Accordingly Stubbings took the bait. " Call for 
the ale,*' said wily Robert, and no sooner was it brought than 
putting the tankard to his lips he drained it to the dregs : 
whereupon throwing down his penny on the table, he said, 
"There I've lost the bet after all. Goodbye, old fellow!" 
Another story is told how he and a boon companion after 
spending all their money devised a scheme to replenish their 
purse. Taking a farmer's horse out of the paddock one night 
they hid it in Warsop Wood, and when its owner offered a 
reward for its recovery they at once fetched it him and 
having received the reward went and regaled themselves as 
usual at the Hare and Hounds. The Hookes of Warsop have 



WABSOP PARISH &EGISTEKS. 51 

been a long lived race; but our friend Eobert died at the 
comparatively early age of forty-one years, leaving behind 
him a wife and several small chilclren to do for themselves as 
best they could. His father who survived him some years 
attained the ripe %e of ninety-three. His grandfather, 
Joseph Hooke, to whose memory there is an ornamental slate 
slab in the churchyard, lived to the age of ninety years. 

1662. — '* Edward son of John Eyre and Alice his wife of the 
South Town was baptized March the eighth day.*' 

** Elizabeth the daughter of Samuel Herron and Anne 
his wife of the North Town, or in that in which the 
church is situated, was baptized March the twenty- 
second day." 

This is the only period throughout the whole set of registers 
when the two divisions of the parish are so called. At all 
other times the distinction is drawn between Market Warsop 
and Church Warsop, or Market Town and Church Town. 

1663. — "James son of Richard Newton and Catherine his 
wife, of the town in which the market used to be held, 
was baptized March 29th." 

White, in his NoUinghamahire Directory for 1832, says, 
that the market in Warsop has long since been obselete. 
This entry would seem to imply that it was given up some 
years previously to 1663, — probably during the troublous 
times of the great Civil War. ** Statutes," for hiring servants, 
continued to exist down to the end of last century ; and there 
are still three fairs held every year, namely, on the Monday 
before Whitsuntide, on September 29th and on November 17th. 

1670. — "Buried Edward Birkbeck late of Orton in the county 
of Westmorland." 



52 WARSOP PABISH BEGISTEBS. 

The Rev. Ot. Fothergill, rector of Warsop at this time, was 
a Westmorland man, and so the probability is that the 
person whose burial is here recorded had been in his service, 
or at least introduced by him into the parish. 

1671. — "Baptized John sonne of Henry Milnes alias Davy 
and Margett.*' 

1672. — ** Baptized Elizabeth of Henery and Margrett Davy 
alias Milnes." 

This is the first mention in the registers of the name Davy, 
but the family of Milnes dates from 1598. In 1671 we have 
the marriage recorded of Henry Milnes and Margaret Gilby, 
and we are inclined to think that they immediately adopted 
the name of Davy for family reasons and dropped that of 
Milnes — a supposition which is strengthened by the fact that 
in the old terrier of 1722 the question is asked, " Was John 
Davy's farm John Gilby*s?" To which, answer is made, 
** Yes." The said John Davy was in all probability the very 
same person who was baptized in 1671. He lived in Church 
Warsop, at what is now called the Moorfield Farm, and held 
some hundred and fifty acres of land at a yearly rental of 
.£45. This farm continued in the hands of the Davy family 
down to the present century. 

One of the most pleasing features in the past history of 
Warsop, is the length of time during which many of the farms 
have been held by the same families from father to son, for 
generations. Such a state of things betokens a certain 
amount of contentment, if not of actual prosperity, as well as 
a good feeling between landlord and tenant — a feeling which 
should not be lightly broken through. It is seldom pleasant 
to see farms change hands. It is seldom pleasant to see 
people turned out of houses in which perhaps they and their 
forefathers have lived so long that they have become full of 



L 



WABSOP PABISfi BEGISTEBS. 53 

tender associations of past joys and past sorrows. It must 
often be so, of course, but one likes to see families take root 
in a place and live and thrive there, one generation after a 
another, as has been the case in Warsop. 

1678. — " This year a law .... burying in woollen." 

The intermediate portion of this entry has been eaten away 
by the mice ; but it evidently refers to the Act of Parliament 
which was passed in this year, compelling people to bury 
their dead in woollen shrouds, in order, as the Act states, " to 
lessen the importation of linen from beyond the seas, and 
to encourage the woollen manufacture of this kingdom." It 
was in allusion to this law that Pope wrote his well-known 
lines on the death of Mrs. Oldfield, the actress, who was 
buried in Westminster Abbey : — 

" * Odious ! in woollen ! 'twould a Saint provoke ! * 
Were the last words that poor Narcissa spoke ; 
* No ! let a charming chintz and Brussels lace 
Wrap my cold limbs and shade my lifeless face.' " 

1679. — " Buried John Bouskill an old man of Solkholm." 

There is a very curious little gravestone in the churchyard 
to the memory of the person whose burial is here recorded. 
It is about eighteen inches in height, with an ornamental 
border, and with the following inscription upon it : — 

HEETHEBODY 

OFIOHNBO 
WSKSKILDEAD 

ND E 

ABVRIED16DY 
OFMEY1679 



54 WABSOP PABISH BEaiSTEBS. 

* * 

This is one of the two oldest stones in the churchyard. 
The other, which is the older of the two, is a plain stone, 
standing barely a foot high and containing the following 
inscription : — 



" K Middleton wife of Tho Mid 1649 



» 



Inside the Church Tower, however, there is a memorial 
stone neatly let into the wall which bears date 1512. This 
stone formed part of an old floor which was discovered at the 
Restoration of the Church in 1877, and which stood some 
eighteen inches below the then existing floor. The marks in 
the middle of the stone shew that it originally bore an 
engraving of the Cross, but very little of this, or of the 
inscription round the edge, now remains. The following, 
however, is quite plain : — 



• 4 



{t ia-|-ro&eritt s(aiietu;:orts( 

efus^^annolfo m« tttttyii >b '^ 



We may thus conclude that it covered the remains of a 
man and his wife. Of course the wife's name being in the 
genitive case while the man's is in the nominative, creates a 
difficulty not easily surmounted, but this may possibly have 
arisen through some mistake on the part of the engraver or 
of the person who supplied the inscription. With respect to 
the identification of the individuals, we have consulted 
Thoroton to see if we could find two such persons connected 
with Wars op about that time, and we believe not unsuccess- 
fully. It must be remembered that the manor of Warsop 
then belonged to the sister of Edmund, Lord Roos, who died 
without lawful issue in 1508. Well, only a few years before, 
a member of that family, one Robert Roos was living, who had 
for his wife Elizabeth, daughter of Sir William Middleton ; 



WAS80F PABI8H ;RE€^IST|:i(8. 66 

and since there is room on tb«e stone for only a very short 
surname, and the Christian names of these two persons agree 
with the names mentioned thereon we would fain believe that 
this stone was originally laid down to their memory. If so, 
the inscription would run something after this manner : — 

**^it ia -|- robertu roos( &r tUUHhtt nfotU tinU ^ anno 
irom itHn t^tliU m^ tccctyii ij* *' 

Or, in plain English, " Here lie Eobert Eoos and EUzabeth 
his wife. In the year of the Lord Jesus Christ 1512." 

In connection with these memorial stones, the following 
interesting features in the history and architecture of the 
Church itself ought perhaps to be noticed. 

1. — The Porch and Doorway which are considered excellent 
specimens of the Early English style of architecture, and 
date back to the thirteenth century. 

2. — The Norman Archway in the Tower with dog-toothed 
decoration, hatchet cut; this dates back to the eleventh or 
twelfth century. Before the galleries were removed in 1872 
this arch was completely blocked up so that no one knew of 
its existence. 

3. — The plain semi-Norman Arch to the North doorway 
which is at present blocked up. 

4. — The Aisles which are in the Early English, or Early 
Decorative style ; that on the North side being the older of 
the two. 

5. — The magnificent Chancel Eoof supported by cherubim 
and containing a curious wooden pulley which was used most 
probably for a lamp, on the third beam from the East window. 
The Chancel itself is remarkable for its grand dimensions. 
The Priest's doorway remains, but is blocked up. 

6. — The three Sedilia within the altar rails, each on a 
different level, for priest, deacon, and sub-deacon. 



56 WABSOP PABI8H BEGISTBBS. 

7. — The Piscina of the quatre-foil form. The Credence 
ledge is wanting. 

8. — The very fine East window of the perpendicular style 
which dates back to the fifteenth century. 

9. — The South East Chapel, or Chantry, which is now used 
as a vestry and which also dates back to the fifteenth century. 
The windows in this Chapel have lately been filled with 
painted glass, the remains of the old East window. 

1680.— *' of William and Ann Eolling 

of Sokeholme " 

The Rollings appear to have settled on their first coming 
into the parish at Sokeholme, but within a few years after 
this we find them living at the ** Bumdels Farm," or as it is 
now called Warsop Cottage, where they continued to live for 
more than a hundred and fifty years. In the old terrier of 
1722, William Eolling, son of the above, is mentioned as 
farming one hundred and forty acres of land at a yearly 
rental of £SB 12s. 6d. Another William Rolling was church- 
warden in 1760 and again in 1771. 

1681. — "Buried Mr. John RoUeston, an aged person, of 
Sokeholme." 

This Mr. John RoUeston was of the same family as the 
Rollestons of Watnall Hall though not a direct ancestor. He 
was private secretary to the famous equestrian duke of 
Newcastle, who for some time was general of the royal forces 
in the Civil War between Charles I. and the parliament, and he 
himself took part in the same. To account for his living at 
Sokeholme we must know something of the history of the 
place. The name Sokeholme is derived from two Anglo- 
Saxon words — 80Cf or soke, a privilege or jurisdiction, and 
holme, an island or the rich land by a stream. So that 



WABSOP PABISH BEGISTBBS. 57 

Sokeholme originally meant the rich land by a stream 
held in tenure by privilege. Before the Reformation the 
manor of Sokeholme belonged to the Priory of St. Oswald 
at Nostell in Yorkshire, and was most probably served by the 
monks of that priory. According to tradition there was a 
branch establishment of the priory settled at Sokeholme; 
and although no record of this remains, yet there is the 
significant fact that in a field near the road leading to Shire- 
brook there are a number of fine old yew trees planted in the 
form of a quadrangle — ^just such trees as one would expect to 
see near a religious house. In the reign of Edward III. the 
prior of St Oswald claimed all sorts of privileges in the manor 
of Sokeholme, but the jury could not find that ** he, or his 
predecessors, ever had the right of gallows, or of infangtheis," 
that is, the power of passing judgment on thefts committed 
within one's jurisdiction, " or that bread was ever baked there 
to be sold that he might have had emendation of the assize." 
After the Reformation " Sokeholme with all its appurtenances" 
was granted to the Leek family ; and from them it descended 
to the Cavendishes, one of whom was the Duke of Newcastle 
already mentioned. This nobleman took a very active part 
in the civil war. At the beginning of the troubles he 
assisted his royal master with a gift of j610,000; as well 
as raised a considerable body of horse and foot soldiers 
at his own expense. As general of the royal forces he 
defeated the rebels at Atherton Moor in 1643 ; and in the 
following year kept the Scotch at bay till Sir Thomas Fairfax 
coming to their relief compelled him to retire upon York. 
At the battle of Marston Moor his regiment, resolute 
to conquer or to perish, alone held their ground and main- 
tained by their dead bodies the same order in which they had 
at first been drawn up. After this he retired to the continent 
where till the Restoration he lived in great want whilst his 
immense fortune was squandered by those who had assumed 
the reins of government. Out of eight magnificent estates 

E 



58 WARSOF PABISH BEGISTEBS. 

possessed by him before the war, Welbeck alone was preserved 
from utter ruin by the noble exertions of his secretary, Mr. 
John Eolleston of Sokeholme Hall. From the dukes of New- 
castle, the manor of Sokeholme passed into the hands of the 
dukes of Portland; and through them, by an exchange of 
lands, to Mr. Henry Gaily Knight, and so on to the present 
proprietor. Sir William Fitz-Herbert. 

A handsome marble tablet to the memory of Mr. John 
Bolleston, in Warsop Church, contains the following inscrip- 
tion, nearly illegible : — 

" To the Memory of A Trusty Servant, a loyal Subject, 
a kind Master, a f aithfull friend, a loving husband & 
a good Christian. And now Reader think not y this 
is to ^ memory of Many, but wonder that 'tis to that 
of One. To y of Mr. John Eolleston of Eolleston in 
Staffordshire weQ bom & well bred. Well Knowne & 
therefore well beloved by y high & mighty W" late 
L* Duke of Newcastle & his Noble Family ; as having 
had f honour of being his Secretary when He himself 
had f great one of being Governor to the Prince after- 
wards King Charles the 2nd, as likewise that of 
Secretary to f Army under his Excellencies command 
in f late unhappy warrs. His approved honesty & 
abilities in business rendered him highly usefull to his 
Master & to his Country : particularly to the former 
in f management & preservation of his Estate at a 
time when f Government itseK was too weak to 
preserve anything from Eapine & Euine. The advan- 
tages rais'd to himself out of a long & meretorious 
service were almost entirely lost upon the declining 
fortune of f Eoyal Party at Marston Moor, & yet his 
good service in f end mett ^ what he valued above all 
f honour of having been highly trusted & f comfort of 
having honestly discharged f trust. To f many 



i ^ 



WABSOP PARISH &£!<)ISTI!KS. 59 

blessings of ^ Man here remembered was added tliat 
of a long life, lie having lived to the age of 84 years ; 
a long but to him a glorious tyme of tryal. He 
departed this life ^ 22nd of December 1681 in full 
hopes of a joyfull Resurrection to a much better. 

Erected as a monument of true love by his entirely 
beloved wife & sorrowfull widow Mrs. Elizabeth 
Rolleston now living in this Parish MDCLXXXVI." 

1689. — " Gertrude Grace daughter of the Honourable Charles 
and Frances Stanhope, bom November 21, and bap- 
tized December 3." 

The Hon. Charles Stanhope here mentioned was the 
grandson of the first earl of Chesterfield and son of the Hon. 
Arthur Stanhope of Mansfield Woodhouse, who was M.P. 
for Nottingham in the Restoration Parliament. Correctly 
speaking he had no right to be called " Honourable," but it 
seems to have been a common practice in those days to apply 
this title indiscriminately to all the younger members of 
noble families. 

In 1740 we have another entry relating to the same family, 
namely, the marriage of Arthur Charles Stanhope of Mans- 
field, and Mary Thomhagh of Osberton. This Arthur 
Charles Stanhope was the son of Dr. Michael Stanhope, Canon 
of Windsor, and grandson of the former Charles Stanhope. 
His own son, Robert, by a second wife, afterwards succeeded 
to the earldom as fifth earl of Chesterfield. 

1690. — "Buried John of Ffrancis and Sarah Crooks of 
Nettleworth." 

About the middle of last century John Crooks, tailor and 
draper, carried on a good business in a house of his own at 
the top of Dawney Hill. His son, Francis, who succeeded 

E 2 



60 WARSOP PABISH BEGI8TERS. 

him, increased tlie business to sucli an extent that he used to 
take sometimes as much as dfiSOO in the Martinmas week. 
As he advanced in years, however, he fell into habits of 
intemperance — the bane of so many old Warsopians — and his 
business went to wreck and ruin. His death was sudden. 
When going to church one Sunday afternoon he was seized 
with a choking sensation, and turning back with difficulty 
reached his home, where within two hours he expired in his 
chair. A strange fatality indeed seems to have attended his 
whole family; for a few years prior to his own death, his 
eldest daughter whilst on a visit to Swanwick, committed 
suicide by drowning herself in a well ; his second son hanged 
himself on a tree in Edwinstowe Forest; his widow and a 
married daughter took a public-house at Blythe, where the 
daughter killed herself by hard drinking ; and his eldest son 
Francis not long since lost himself somehow one cold winter's 
night in the snow, and was found some days after frozen to 
death in a ditch in Lower Oar Lane. 

1696. — ** Baptized John of Thomas and Mary Halifax of 
Market Warsop." 

Li 1726 the above named John Halifax was married and 
living at Sokeholme at the farm which was afterwards held 
so long by his descendants ; but not having an old Sokeholme 
terrier, like that of Warsop, to guide us, we are unable to 
give the original size and yearly rental of this or any other 
farm situated in that parish. For more than a hundred years 
a branch of this family has lived at the farm now occupied by 
Mr. Thomas Hallifax of Market Warsop. William Hallifax, 
basket maker, a member of this family, is said to have ridden 
one cold winter's night across Thoresby Lake. 

The Chapmans, Eobinsons, and Askews, are connections of 
this family by marriage: in 1793 William Chapman married 
an Elizabeth Hallifax; in 1851 John Eobinson, miller and 



WASSOP PABISH SEGISTESS. 61 

baker, married Elizabetli Eadford, whose mother was a 
Hallif ax, and whose father, William Eadford, built and owned 
the Warsop windmill and the adjoining cottages ; and in 1862 
Samuel Askew, basket maker, married Sarah Hallifax. 

The Hallifaxes of Warsop claim kinship with bishop 
Hallifax, who died bishop of St. Asaph and rector of Warsop 
in 1790 ; but we ourselves can find no trace of the connection 
either in the Warsop Registers or in those of Mansfield where 
bishop Hallifax was bom. We shall have occasion to speak 
of the bishop again later on. 

1697. — "Buried Sarah of John and Mary Duckminton of 
Church Warsop." 

About the latter part of last century one John Duckmanton 
was a Warsop yeoman and the local carrier between Worksop 
and Mansfield. He was a man of some means and owned 
nearly a hundred acres of land in the parish. For several 
years he held the offices of churchwarden, overseer of the 
poor, and constable, in which last capacity he was under the 
necessity, sorely against his will, of punishing George Riley 
and the other lads who were caught playing at football on the 
Sunday. According to tradition, John Duckmanton, though 
a temperate man for his time, would never drink ale — little or 
much — except out of a quart tankard; and a portrait was 
once taken of him by some waggish painter whilst he 
was sitting in the Bowling Green Inn, at Mansfield, dressed 
in the old-fashioned smock-frock of the period, leaning on his 
stick and with his favourite tankard on a table before him. 
This portrait is now, we believe, in the possession of Mr. 
Henry Duckmanton of Car Lane. 

1699.—" Buried Elizabeth Knight, Lady and Widow of Sir 
Ralph Knight, of Church Warsop." 



62 WAB80P PABISH BEGISTEBS. 

The lady whose burial is here recorded seems to have had 
a most eventful history. She appears before us first at the 
altar as a Miss Barbar of Carburton ; then for twenty years 
as the wife of John RoUeston of Sokeholme, who was, as we 
have seen, a strong supporter of the King during the civil 
war ; next as his " sorrowfuU widow " ; then, as the second 
wife of Sir Ralph Knight, an old man of sixty-eight years of 
age, and moreover one of her first husljand's most determined 
opponents; and finally, in her nameless and unhonoured 
grave, as Sir Ralph's lady and widow. Poor Lady Knight ! 
she is said to have brought dissensions into the family ; but 
we have reason to believe that the fault was not so much in 
her as in Sir Ralph's grown-up children, who bitterly resented 
his second marriage. 

From a memoir of the Knight family which Sir William 
Fitz -Herbert has kindly placed in our hands, we learn that 
Sir Ralph Knight was a descendant of an old Hampshire 
family that used to live at St. Denys, near Southampton. 
At the beginning of the civil war he took a very active part 
on the side of the parliament, and was present in more than 
one engagement ; but after the death of Cromwell he changed 
sides and, as Colonel under Q-eneral Monk, was instrumental 
in the restoration of Charles II. For his services on that 
occasion, he afterwards received at the King's hand the 
honour of knighthood, as well as a large sum of money, part 
of which he spent in the purchase of the manor and advowson 
of Warsop, as has been related. He died in 1691 in the 
seventy-second year of his age. 

Elizabeth Knight, Sir Ralph's granddaughter, who in- 
herited the family estates in 1768, was married to the Rev. 
Henry G^aUy, D.D., a French protestant divine, who fled to 
this country for refuge after the revocation of the Edict of 
Nantes. Her sons assumed the name of Q-ally Knight. 

Henry G-ally Knight, who died in 1846, was the last of the 
family. He was a man of most amiable and accomplished 



WAB80P PABISH BEGISTEBS. 63 

manners. After finishing his university course at Cambridge 
where he made the acquaintance of Lord Byron, he went on 
a tour through the most interesting provinces of Turkey ; 
and here, it would seem, he renewed his acquaintance with the 
author of Childe Harold, and, warmed by the sympathy of a 
kindred spirit, conceived a series of Eastern tales, illustrative 
of the manners and customs of the countries he had travelled 
through. In 1819 he was High Sheriff for the County of 
Notts., and in this official capacity met the Judge at the 
Assizes, accompanied with twelve of his own tenants all clad 
in the Knight livery — six from Warsop and six from Langold 
and Firbeck. He afterwards made a tour through Normandy 
taking with him a special artist in order that he might have 
" the assistance of a practised eye to examine the Churches of 
that country and a practised hand to delineate their outline." 
On his return he published a small octavo volume with plates 
called An Architectural Tour in Normandy, In 1831 he was 
returned as M.P. for Malton; and from 1835 to 1841 he 
represented the North Division of Notts. Dying without 
children, he left a sum of about £6000 for the building of St. 
John's Church, Mansfield, and the whole of his Firbeck 
Property, which realised some <£65,000 or <£ 70,000, to the 
Ecclesiastical Commissioners for the building of churches, 
and parsonage houses, and for the augmentation of small 
livings. A brass tablet to his memory in Warsop Church 
bears the following inscription : — 

** In Memory of Henry Gaily Knight. Bom 1786 : died 
1846. The dutiful Son of a widow'd Mother ; a Poet 
as witnessed by her " Portrait " ; over Sacred and 
Classical ground a Traveller ; a man of kindness and 
Benefactor to his Church and Kinsmen. 
To commemorate the Eestoration of this Church, re- 
opened July 13th, 1877, Sir William Fitz-Herbert has 
erected this Tablet to a respected name in Warsop." 



64 WABSOP PAEISH REGISTERS. 

1701. — "Married Jolm Elmcoats and Elizabeth Eeonard of 
Market Warsop." 

This seems to be the first mention of the family of 
Elmcoats, or as the name is now spelt Amcoats. The said 
John Elmcoats appears later on in the register as John 
Hempcoats and Hemcoats, whilst his children are called 
indifferently Hamcoats and Amcoats. Thomas Amcoats 
during the latter part of last century was a Warsop tailor and 
draper. He was the owner of several small properties in 
Warsop, and carried on his business in a house of his own at 
the bottom of High Street. His son and grandson both 
succeeded him in the same business. 

1704. — " Buried Benjamin Qubetas who was kiUed by a coal 
cart." 

It was long the custom of Warsop farmers to lead from the 
pits* mouth all the coal needed for their own use and for 
the use of their labourers. The man whose burial is here 
recorded was doubtless engaged in this task when he met his 
death. One of the Ihickmantons was killed in the same way. 
He fell from the top of a load of coals, and was crushed to 
death beneath the wheels of the wagon. 



»» 



1708. — " Buried John Johnson a souldier. 



According to tradition this poor fellow was one of a 
company of soldiers who passed through Warsop on their 
way from Worksop to Mansfield. For some act of dis- 
obedience he was tied to the old oak on Cuckney Hill and 
there flogged so unmercifully that he expired under the 
infliction. His body was brought on to Warsop and buried 
without the accompaniments which usually attend a soldier's 
funeral. 



WAB80P PARISH BEGISTEBS. 65 

1712. — ** Baptized William of William and Anne Wardley 
of the Market Town." 

For several generations different members of this family 
have been employed on the Warsop estate as woodmen. 
About the middle of last century a Thomas Wardley, wood- 
man, lived in the house where old Mr. William Wardley now 
resides in Butt Lane. He had a saw pit in the little plot of 
ground by the side of the house, and a shed in which he used 
to make gates and other things connected with his employ- 
ment. Samuel Wardley, one of his descendants, is wood 
steward at the present day. 

In 1854 we have the marriage rec orded "^ J^f ]jf^^^^^» 

and 




EEEATA. 

Page 8. For Cr. Cove read Cr. Cooe. 
Page 65. For John Story read John Storey. 



left a further sum of ^£60 to be put out lo juitjicou, 
directed that the money arising therefrom should be given 
away in two equal portions on Q-ood Friday and St. Thomas' 
Day, to such poor inhabitants of Warsop as the Rector and 
Churchwardens might think most necessitous and deserving. 
Strange to say, however, nobody seems to know anything 
about the latter of these bequests. The <£30 were spent as 
enjoined by the will ; and the silver flagon, alms dish, and 
plate, inscribed with the donor's name, are those in present 
use at the service of the altar. The Warsop Church plate is 



66 WABSOP PARISH BEGISTEBS. 

not very interesting. But at Sokeholme Chapel there is one 
of the oldest pieces of plate in the county — a small silver cup 
and cover paten. The upper part of this cup is ornamented 
with a double seeded rose, a crown, and the fleur de lis ; the 
bowl, with a foliated band interlaced four times with the hour 
glass curve. It bears the York date-letter L which stands 
for 1568-69. 

dCotltoittOtl of tlj0 p00pl0« In our endeavour to form a 
correct estimate of the social condition of the past inhabitants 
of Warsop, we found little to aid us in the former volume ; 
but we find still less in this. Nowhere throughout the whole 
register is the social status given of the persons mentioned 
therein save in the case of a few solitary individuals during 
the time of the Commonwealth. Fortunately, however, there 
are other sources from which we may learn something, if not 
of the actual inhabitants of Warsop, yet of the state of the 
agricultural classes generally throughout the land during the 
period comprised in this register, namely, from 1638 to 1742 ; 
and from these we learn that it was on the whole one of 
gradual but steady improvement. At the beginning of this 
period, and indeed all through the seventeenth century, 
agriculture was still in a very rude and imperfect condition 
compared with that of to-day. An average crop of' wheat, 
rye, barley, oats, and beans, then reached only some ten 
millions of quarters, whereas now it is more than thirty 
millions. The rotation of crops, too, was very imperfectly ^ 
understood ; and cattle were still often killed at the beginning 
of winter and turned into what was called Martinmas beef — 
that is, salted and cured — because there was no means of 
keeping them alive till the following spring. The great 
criterion of the state of the working classes at any time is the 
amount of their wages compared with the price of food. 
During the seventeenth century the rate of wages for agricul- 
tural labourers, such as were found in Warsop, did not 



WARSOP PARISH REGISTERS. 67 

average more than 4s. a week with food, or 6s. without ; and 
the wages of artizans were but little better, except in London 
where first-rate bricklayers and carpenters could earn 2s. or 
2s. 6d. a day. The necessaries of life were still immoderately 
dear. The average price of wheat was 50s. the quarter ; so 
that bread such as is now given to the inmates of our 
workhouses was then seldom if ever seen on the table of a 
labourer or artizan. Meat was much cheaper than at present, 
but compared with wages the price was so dear that not one 
half the people could get animal food more than once a week. 
Sugar, salt, coal, candles, soap, shoes, stockings, and all kinds 
of clothing and bedding, were also much more expensive than 
they are now. It was partly in consequence of this miserably 
low rate of wages, and dearness of food and clothing, that the 
amount of pauperism at this period attained to such magni- 
tude. The number of people claiming parish relief at the 
present day, exclusive of vagrants, is estimated at about one 
thirtieth of the whole population, whereas, then, according to 
writers of that day, about one fourth of the people were 
paupers. Another thing which helped to produce this truly 
awful amount of poverty, was the very oppressive Act of 
Parliament which was passed in 1662 to prevent poor people 
settling in any other place than the one where they had 
previously resided. This was the origin of the law of settle- 
ment which continued to harass the poor, as well as waste 
parochial funds in litigation, down to the beginning of the 
present century. By this Act "it was lawful for any two 
justices of the peace, upon complaint made by the church- 
wardens and overseers of the poor, within forty days after the 
arrival of any new comer in the parish, to remove him by 
force to the parish where he was last legally settled, either as 
a native, householder, sojourner, apprentice, or servant, 
unless he either rented a tenement of <£10 a year, or could 
give such security against becoming burdensome to the 
parish where he was living as the two justices should deem 



68 WABSOP PABI8H BEOI8TEBS. 

sufficient." It was not till 1795 that the law was amended 
allowing working men to change their abode as they saw a 
better chance of employment elsewhere, so long as they did 
not become chargeable to the parish. 

During the whole of the time this merciless Act was in 
force, and indeed down to the amendment of the poor law in 
1834, and the formation of the Mansfield Union, Warsop had 
not only the sole management of its own poor, but also a 
workhouse of its own. In those days no one was considered 
a parishioner who did not fulfil the provisions of the said Act; 
and no relief was granted, save in very exceptional cases, to 
anyone not a parishioner, unless he first gave the name of his 
parish or showed a settlement paper stating where he came 
from and who were answerable for his maintenance. The 
consequence was that many persons provided themselves with 
settlement papers beforehand so as to prevent delay in case 
of emergency. In a small chest, kept in the vestry, there is 
a number of such settlement papers dating from 1698 to 
1844. 




EegisUr C 



The records in this register are not so interesting to the 
general reader as those in the two earlier registers ; but the 
following are perhaps worthy of special notice : — 

1744. — " Q-eorge Singleton and Elizabeth Higgs with banns 
three times published were married by Mr. Browne, 
Curate" 

This is the first record relating to the Singleton family, 
but from the settlement papers we learn that the above- 
mentioned Gteorge Singleton came into the parish from 
Mansfield Woodhouse, in 1740. After his marriage he lived 
in an old-fashioned house which stood on the rectory grounds 
opposite the old entrance to the churchyard, and for many 
years held the office of sexton. His son and grandson, who 
were both called Q-eorge after him, in turn succeeded him in 
this office. So long indeed was the office of sexton held by 
this family that the inhabitants of Warsop used to joke about 
it and tell their friends when they were sick to mind what 
they were about or they would soon find themselves in 
*' Singleton Park." The present representative of this family 
is Mrs. Stocks of Low Street. 



1749, — "Buried Mary the wife of James Rigg a stranger." 



70 WAB80P PARISH REGISTERS. 

1750. — ** Baptized Jolm the son of Marshal and Ester Fells 
of Market Warsop." 

Marshal Fells whose son's baptism is here recorded was a 
farmer and rope-maker. He was a native of Thorpe Salvin, 
in Yorkshire, but having been apprenticed to Valentine 
Wilkinson of Butt Lane he afterwards made Warsop his 
home, and on the death of his first wife in 1754 married a 
Warsop woman, Elizabeth Clarke of Gleadthorpe, and by her 
had a son, Marshal, who in course of time succeeded him in 
business. Marshal Fells, the son, was churchwarden for some 
time and was very much respected by his neighbours on 
account of his quiet, gentle ways. He lived at the farm now 
occupied by Mr. Sidda, and had his rope- walk by the side of 
his house and garden. A valuable mare called "Bounce" 
which belonged to him was once stolen from the stable. 
Happening some two years after to be at Alfreton fair with 
John Duckmanton, he saw the very mare exposed for sale with 
a foal by her side. Turning to his friend, he said, " Why, 
John, there's my Bounce. Do you go and see if you can get 
her for me without making a row." Whereupon John 
Duckmanton went up to the dealer and began to bargain with 
him for the mare and foal, and at length agreed upon a price. 
Then after carefully locking them up in the stable of the inn 
where he was stopping, he invited the dealer into the house to 
take a friendly glass before paying him, rang the bell, and when 
the landlord appeared, asked him to send for the constable as 
he had just caught the fellow who stole his mare two years 
before. The dealer no sooner heard this, than bolting through 
the open door he made his escape from the town as fast as 
possible. The two friends had a good laugh over the affair 
and returned to Warsop in the best of spirits, accompanied 
by '* Bounce " and her foal. Mrs. Thomas Wilson, the grand- 
daughter of Marshal Fells, is the only direct representative 
of the family now living in Warsop. 



WABSOP PARISH BEaiSTEBS. 71 

1760. — " Baptized Jolm the son of John and Anne Brings of 
Church Town." 

John Briggs, whose baptism is here recorded, married in 
1781, a Sarah Smith, and by her had a large family, which he 
had some difficulty in supporting, out of his little farm in 
Church Warsop. In 1802 he had the misfortune to lose his 
wife, who died ^within a few days of the death of our old 
friend Robert Hooke; and whether it was owing to this 
coincidence or to the more substantial fact that Robert 
Hooke' s fa.rm was better than his own, we cannot say, but he 
married the widow,- and so doubled his family at one stroke. 
Two years afterwards he lost his second wife, and then for the 
rest of his days he was very much like the famous old woman 
of childhood's romance who **had so T^iany children, she 
didn't know what to do," Complaining one day of his 
difficulties to some of his friends, he remarked that he would 
" willingly be hanged for Squire Knight's estate," and when 
one of them said, " Why, what good would it do you when 
you were dead?" he replied, ** There would be the childer, 
would'nt there ? " One of these said " childer," Mary Briggs, 
a nice modest girl, was married in 1815 to Isaac Slack, and 
so became the mother of Mr. Slack, farmer, of Church 
Warsop. 

4 

1762. — " John Renshaw and Mary Chapman both of this 
parish with banns three times published were married 
by Mr. J[ohn Crutchley." 

About the end of last century Samuel Renshaw, possibly 
the son of the above, left Warsop to reside on a small farm at 
Kirkby Cliff ; and the story is told how his wife when in her 
seventy-sixth year used to go some two miles a-milking with 
the kit on her head and knitting in her hand. In a local 
newspaper of that day, she was described as one who 



72 WARSOF PARISH BEGI8TEBS. 

" knocked the dew off the young milk maids." When they 
were both quite old they returned to Warsop and lived to a 
very advanced age with their son John who then kept a day 
school in the Baptist Chapel in Butt Lane. 

1763. — "Thomas Maxfield and Sarah Jepson both of this 
parish with banns three times published were married 
by Mr Clarke, Curate." 

This is the first mention of the name of Maxfield, but the 
family of Jepson which has since become extinct in Warsop 
dates from 1550. Thomas Maxfield was the father of John 
Maxfield who was the leader' of the Church choir at the 
beginning of the present century. 

1763. — "Buried Francis the son of Francis Peacock of 
Market Warsop." 

The Francis Peacock whose burial is here recorded was a 
young man twenty two years of age, the only son of his aged 
father who was a widower. In his son's death the bereaved 
parent lost, as it were, the object of his life, and at once made 
over to trustees some property belonging to him at Shirebrook, 
directing that the rents and profits of the same should be 
given away in bread to the poor of Warsop for ever on the 
second of February and the eighth of August. The name of 
Francis Peacock is down in the old terrier for some forty two 
acres of land at a yearly rental of £l^ 19s. For nearly two 
hundred years a branch of this family lived at the Spring 
Farm Sokeholme. 

1767. — "Baptised Elizabeth daughter of Thomas and Eliza- 
beth Brothwell of Market Warsop." 

The Brothwells on their first coming into Warsop were 
millers and bakers. A Thomas BrothweU lived for some 
years at the mill house in Church Warsop. His brother, 



WABSOP PABISH BEGI8TEBS. 73 

G^rvase Brothwell, was a baker and carried on his business 
in the house where Mrs. Eeynolds now lives in Low Street. 
It seems to have been the custom in his day for people to 
make up their own bread at home and then bring it to him to 
be baked, and in order to let them know when the oven was 
ready Nanny Brothwell, his wife, used to stand at her door 
and blow a bullock's horn which could be heard to a great 
distance all round. Another curious custom which he intro- 
duced was to perambulate the streets every Sunday morning 
selling hot bread. Warsop has long been noted for its fine 
breed of asses. But an ass belonging to G^ervase Brothwell 
is still spoken of as the ** finest and swiftest runner of any in 
England." For two consecutive years it won the silver cup at 
Babworth races near Eetford. These cups, as well as the 
aforesaid bullock's horn which is nearly two feet in length, are 
still treasured up, we believe, among the family household gods. 
The Warsop families of Hett and Nilan are connected with this 
family by marriage : in 1822 Mary Brothwell a granddaughter 
of Gervase Brothwell was married to Charles Ilett of Lincoln, 
and in 1857 Hannah Brothwell, another granddaughter, was 
married to Thomas Nilan of the county of Sligo, Ireland. 

1772. — " John Neep and Barbara Wombell both of this parish 
with banns three times published were married by Mr. 
Nicholas Mosley Cheek, Curate." 

When peace was proclaimed after the battle of Waterloo, 
Warsop, like most other places in England, was en fete for 
the occasion. A public tea was provided, at which the child- 
ren were all admitted free, and, to grace the proceedings, a 
mock king and queen with six maids of honour were chosen 
from among the parishioners. James Hinde, fellmonger,' 
was king, whilst Barbara Neep, then a comely-looking old 
woman with silver hair, was queen. Dressed in snowy white, 
attended by her maids of honour, also in white, and accom- 



74 WASSOP PABI8H SSaiSTBKS. 

panied by her royal consort, slie was drawn through the streets 
of the yillage in a cart amid the rapturous applause of the 
assembled crowds, and repeated shouts of ''Long live the 
king and queen ! ** 

The present representative of this family is Mrs. Wood of 
Butt Lane. 

1778. — "Baptized Mary the daughter of Matthew and Mar- 
garet Wilcock, Chimney Sweepers, sojourners here." 

1780. — " Buried George the son of Gteorge and Mary Moor, 
Clerk and Schoolmaster, Bridge-foot house." 

Here we have the name given us of the old school-house, 
near the mill at Church Warsop. Before the present stone 
bridge was built, foot-passengers used to cross the river by a 
wooden bridge, whilst vehicles went through the water, 
either a little above or below the mill. The wooden bridge 
was probably the one referred to in this record. 

1783.—" Here begins for the Stamp Act." 

From this dale, mention is made of the "duty" being paid 
every year down to 1794, when the Act was repealed. But as 
long as it was in force a stamp duty of threepence had to be 
paid for every baptism, marriage, or burial, recorded in the 
registers. 

1788.—*' Baptized William Henry the Son of Robert Shore 
Milnes Esq., Captain in the Boyal Begiment of Horse 
Ouaj'ds, and Charlotte Frances Milnes his wife." 

1789. — •* Baptized Betty the daughter of Robert and Eliza- 
beth Wood, Soulkholme." 

The above mentioned Robert Wood is said to have come 
into the parish direct from Scotiiand, and, seemingly, was 



WAK80P PASI8H SSaiSTBRS. 76 

nothing akin to the Henry Wood, who was miller of Soke- 
holme, in 1626, and whose descendants continued to reside in 
that place down to within a few years of this date. The 
Spring Farm was tenanted by this family for many years. 
Betty Wood, whose baptism is here recorded, was married in 
1808 to John Pogmore, a publican of Mansfield Woodhouse, 
and liyed to a ripe old age : at her death, in 1870, she was 
buried, in accordance with her wish, in Warsop churchyard, 
where a stone has been placed to her memory. 

The Beards of Church Warsop and Nettleworth are con- 
nected with this family by the marriage, in 1850, of John 
Beard, farmer, and Elizabeth Wood. 

1789. — "Baptized Elizabeth the daughter of William and 
Eleanor Herringshaw, Soulkholme." 

William Herringshaw, whose daughter's baptism is here 
recorded, was a miUer by profession, and succeeded Hercules 
Clay, at the old Sokeholme mill. After his death, which took 
place in 1820, his daughter Elizabeth bravely kept the mill 
a-going, until her younger sisters were grown up, when she 
passed it on to James Johnson, who married her sister 
Eleanor, and who was, as we have already said, the last 
miller of Sokeholme. 

1790.—" Baptized Frances the daughter of Francis and Ann 
Pashley. Sojourners here. Poor." 

1792. — ** John Allcroft in the Parish of Edwinstowe & Ann 
Eyre of this Parish were married by License in this 
Church this tenth day of October by me John Parsons 
Curate." 

By this marriage of John Allcroft, warrener at Clipstone 
Park, with Ann Eyre of Sokeholme, the family of Allcroft 

p 2 



76 WABSOP PABISH BEGI8TEB8. 

Tiltimately came into possession of all the Eyre property at 
Sokeholme and Mansfield Woodhouse. 

1794. — "Baptized Catherine daughter of John and Martha 
Hartley. Travelling Tinkers." 

1794.— "Baptized Elizabeth Katherine, D' of the Eev^ John 
Ashpinshaw, and Elizabeth his wife." 

John Ashpinshaw was curate of Warsop at this time, and 
was very much respected by his parishioners, for whom he him- 
self personally contracted a great regard. On the death of the 
two maiden daughters of Job Staunton Charlton, the last 
male heir of the ancient family of Staunton, of Staunton in 
the vale of Belvoir, his wife came into possession of the 
family estates, under condition that she and her husband 
should take the name, and bear the arms of Staunton only. 

• 

1794.— "Baptized John son of John & Sarah Glover. M.W." 

The Glovers from this date down to the present time have 
been engaged as woodmen on the Warsop estate, and have 
always been noted as steady, industrious workmen. 

1794.— "Baptized Mary D^ of Joseph & Sarah Toule. C.W." 

Joseph Toule, who was parish clerk and schoolmaster of 
Warsop, was the predecessor of Mr. Eobert Bowler's father. 

1798. — "Baptized Amelia Penelope, daughter of Eichard and 
Penelope Burden of Park Hall." 

We have had occasion already to speak of Park Hall which 
once formed part of the manor of Nettleworth. For many years 
it was the property of the Digby family ; but on the death of 
Sir John Digby, in 1736, it was bought of his co-heiresses by 



WABSOP PARISH AEaiSTBBS. 11 

Mr. Jolm Hall, of Nettleton Hall, in Lincolnshire, and Hatfield 
Peveril, in Essex, and it lias remained in the possession of 
this family ever since. Urban Hall, his son, after serving 
with much distinction in the Blues, and taking part, with his 
regiment, in the battle of Minden, retired from the army, and 
lived as a country gentleman at Park Hall. Towards the 
close of his life, however, his health was very precarious, and 
he removed to Mansfield in order to be near his medical 
attendant : it was during this enforced residence at Mansfield 
that the Burdens become his tenants, and lived at Park Hall 
as stated in the above extract. John Hall, son of Urban 
Hall, was also a soldier. As a young man he joined the 
65th Regiment and took part in the Carib war ; and it is a 
remarkable fact that of all the officers who entered on that 
expedition he, with two others, alone saw its termination. 
After this he served under the duke of York, in Holland ; and 
took part, with Sir Italph Abercrombie, in the Egjrptian cam- 
paign and in the battle of Alexandria, where Sir Ealph lost 
his life. On the death of his commander he left Egypt, and 
whilst returning to England was captured by a French man- 
of-war and carried to France, where he was detained for 
some months as a prisoner on parole. When peace was re- 
stored he was promoted to the rank of general and put in 
command of the Glasgow district, where, we believe, that 
his son, the present owner of Park Hall, was bom. 

1798. — "Buried Francis Woodward who died suddenly aged 
1^ years." 

About the beginning of last century, the Woodwards of 
Warsop held some office in connection with Sherwood Forest, 
then in the hands of the crown, and wore the royal livery. 

At that time by far the greater part of Warsop consisted 
of open forest land, which was so overrun by red deer, to the 
sore injury of the cultivated part, that Mr. Isaac Knight, lord 



78 WAB80P PABI8H BEaiSTKBB. 

of the manor, with other gentlemen whose estates were 
similarly infested, presented a petition to Queen Anne and to 
her Parliament praying for redress of the grievance. This 
petition had abont f onr himdred signatures attached to it ; 
but it does not appear to have been well received, either by 
her Majesty's ministers or the law officers of the crown. In 
1789 Mr. Ralph Knight engaged in a dispute with the head 
ranger of the forest respecting a stack of hay which had been 
placed on some forest land in Warsop parish, and enclosed 
for the foddering of the deer which lay in that part. Not 
being able, however, to obtain any satisfaction, he determined 
to bring matters to a crisis, and accordingly directed a tenant 
to puU up the enclosure and turn his own cattle upon the land — 
which was done. Law proceedings were threatened, but never 
adopted ; and within less than a century afterwards the crown 
had little of the ancient forest left in its possession, whilst all 
the deer were destroyed. Of the old oaks for which Sherwood 
has been justly famed, one at least — the " Young G^reendale 
Oak " — was in the confines of Warsop parish. This fine old 
iaree stood near the site of the Wesleyan Chapel, in Back 
Lane, and was so much admired by the duke of Portland of 
fifty years ago, that he used to buy the acorns which grew on 
it year by year to plant on his own estate. The " Old Chum" 
and the "Parliament Oak" which are still in existence, 
although in a most ruinous condition, stand within a few 
hundred yards of each other in the boundary fence, that 
separates Warsop from Clipstone. It is not very clear how 
the latter tree obtained its name. One story says that 
it was called the " Parliament Oak " from the fact that King 
John whilst hunting in Sherwood Forest in 1212, here re- 
ceived intelligence of the revolt of the Welch, and hastily 
assembled his followers under its wide spreading branches for 
a pctrle or consultation as to the best mode of proceeding. 
According to another story it was not till 1290 that it was so 
called. In that year Edward I. held a parliament in this 



WASSOP PARISH BEaiSTBBS. 79 

neighbourliood, but whether at the old royal palace at CKp- 
stone, or under the oak to which tradition has given the name, 
is uncertain. In 1775 the Warsop forest land was partiaUy 
enclosed by Act of Parliament — some two-thirds of the area 
of the parish being after that event enclosed lands, and the 
remaining one- third still forest ; and in 1818 another Act was 
passed to enclose the remainder. By this latter Act some 
seven hundred acres were allotted to the Bectors of Warsop 
in lieu of tithes. 

1798. — "Baptized Azariah son of Thomas & Mary Burton. 
M.W." 

Thomas Burton was a blacksmith who came into the parish 
from Papplewick : he lived in the house where his descendants 
now live, but had his forge on the opposite side of the road, 
on the site now occupied by the mission-room. His wife, who 
was a Eoman Catholic, and of very retiring habits, is said to 
have once quarrelled with a neighbour and to have kept up 
the quarrel for some months by means of correspondence. 
Azariah Burton, as well as his sister Mary, died young ; they 
were carried off by scarlet fever which was prevalent in 
Warsop, in 1809. 

1804. — ** Mary Ann daughter of Joseph Proom of Newtown 
Hampshire & Mary his wife received into the Church 
and said to have been baptized at Leicester (All 
Saints) but not registered." 

1804. — ** Thomas Moody & Ann Brummitt Widow both of 
this Parish were married in this Church by Banns the 
seventeenth day of December by me Sam. Martin 
Curate." 

Prom the settlement papers we learn that Thomas Moody 
came from Kingston -upon-HuU: he was a shoemaker and 



80 WABSOP PARISH BBQISTEBS. 

worked as journeymen with John Bnimmitt, whose widow 
he afterwards married, and with her obtained the business. 
Ann Brummitt was a daughter of Eobert Cutts, who was, as 
we have seen, landlord and proprietor of the Swan Inn, in 
1782. 

1806. — " William Cowlishaw & Elizabeth Eobinson both of 
this Parish were married in this Church by Banns this 
seventeenth day of April by me Sam. Martin Eector." 

William Cowlishaw came from Mattersea and began business 
in Warsop as a saddler : his wife was a daughter of Dr. 
Robinson, who lived in the parish, and had a good practice in 
the neighbourhood. The families of Lee and Storey are con- 
nected with this family by marriage : in 1830 Matthew Lee 
of Sokeholme, married Martha Harriet Cowlishaw ; and in 
1843 Charles Storey of Harthill, married Julia Anne 
Cowlishaw. 

1812.— " Buried Thomas Whiteman. M.W. aged 65 years." 

Thomas Whiteman was a yeoman of Warsop, who for 
some years held the office of churchwarden. At his death, in 
1812, he left a sum of <£400 upon Trust, the yearly interest of 
which was to be used " in educating certain poor children of 
Warsop, in purchasing proper school books for that purpose, 
so that such children might be taught to read the Bible, and 
in purchasing Bibles to be distributed amongst such poor 
children where the Trustees should see occasion." Sarah 
Whiteman, his widow, surrendered, in 1813, a copyhold house 
and garden in Warsop, and directed the rent to be divided 
twice a year among eight poor widows and widowers ; and at 
her death, in 1818, bequeathed the sum of <£50, the interest of 
which was to be given to the poor of Warsop in bread, on St. 
Thomas' Day and on the day of her own burial, August 18th. 




Cltrgg of OT:at80|)[. 

The inside of the cover of Vol. I. of Register C contains the 
following memorandum, in leather, together with a written 
list of rectors from 1638 to the present time. 

ittemoranlrum* — "Warsop Register. The Rev? Mr. 
Mosley, Rector; R^!^ Jackson & T? Bowet, Church 
Wardens. 1742." 



'' ifilectorjS of affiawop/' 

" 1638. William Spurre. 
1658. OHver Dand, S.T.B., Minister verbi Dei. 
1661. William Lacy. 
1663. George Fothergill. 
1683. Thomas Fothergill, A.M. 
1703. John Mandevile. 
1735. John Mosley, A.M. 
1778. . Samuel HaUifax, D.D. 

1790. Robert Southgate, A.M died Jan. 25, 1795. 

1795. Francis Herbert Hume, A.M. died Feb. 17, 1806. 
1806. Samuel Martin, A.B died April 4, 1859. 

1859. Alleyne Fitz-Herbert died April 15, 1860. 

1860. Philip Davison Bland, A.M., — was inducted to the 
Rectory of Draycot le Moors, in Staffordshire, 
March 25, 1871 : instituted to the same, Nov. 21, 
1870. 

1871. William Alexander Woodward 1871—1872. 

1872. Richard Fitz-Herbert." 



82 WABBOP PABISH BEGISTBBS. 

In addition to the above list of rectors, about whom we 
purpose making a few remarks presently, we are glad to be 
able to give a few particulars respecting some of the clergy of 
Warsop prior to the earliest date on this list. 

Prom the Archbishop's Register at York, we learn that 
in 1245 "Eichard de Sutton had the Chtirch of Warsop 
at the presentation of John de Lexinton." This was no 
doubt the Eichard de Sutton who was prebendary of 
North Muskham, at Southwell, and to whom, in 1260, 
the vicar of Southwell granted that when the Mass for 
the Dead was celebrated in that church, a special petition 
should be made for him, and another for the souls of Eobert 
de Sutton, and Alice, his wife. A Chantry at St. Peter's 
Altar, at Southwell, was founded for Eichard de Sutton's 
soul by his executors, Emald de Callenton and Oliver de 
Sutton, canon of Lincoln — Oliver Sutton, bishop of Lincoln, 
being a helping party. 

His successor was Stephen de Sutton, who died in 1290. 
On April 7, 1291, bishop Sutton of Lincoln, granted an 
" indulgence for the soul of our cousin, Stephen de Sutton, 
archdeacon of Northants, whose body lies in the prebendal 
Church of Empingham." He was archdeacon of Northants 
from 1280 to 1290, and at the time of his death, prebendary 
of South Newbald, at York, as well as rector of Thoresway 
and Aston, in the diocese of Lincoln, and of Averham and 
Warsop, in the county of Notts. 

In Eegister A we have the burial recorded of Thomas Pott, 
rector of Warsop, who died in 1550; whilst in the Arch- 
bishop's Eegister mention is made of his appointment, in 
1613, and the death of his predecessor John Pecke. 

With respect to the foregoing list of rectors, it is to be noted 
that the first eight names are all in the same handwriting, and 
to all appearance that of Bishop Hallifax; but unfortunately 
the dates prefixed to the first two names are not in accor- 



WABBOP PARISH BEGISTEB8. 83 

dance with those giyen in the older registers. William Spnrre 
was, as we have already seen, rector of Warsop at the time 
of the allotment of seats in 1615, if not before. His death 
took place in 1646, and judging from the handwriting of the 
records of that time it is most probable that Ohver Dand was 
his immediate successor. It is certain that he was rector 
prior to the date given by Bishop Hallifax, for we have his 
own signature as such in 1653. The names of Eichard 
Southgate and Francis Herbert Hume are also in one hand- 
writing, namely that of John Ashpinshaw— better known as 
Dr. Staunton of Staunton — who was curate of Warsop 
from 1792 to 1798. The other names appear to be the 
signatures of the several rectors themselves, with the ex- 
ception of that of Philip Davison Bland, which seems to be 
in the handwriting of W. A. Woodward. 

Oliver Dand, the second name on Bishop Hallifax's list, 
was the son of Francis Dand of Mansfield Woodhouse, one of 
the few Nottinghamshire families mentioned in the Herald's 
Visitation. He was bom in 1605. His name appears among 
the baptisms for that year in the Mansfield Parish Eegisters 
as the Second Oliver Dand son of Francis Dand — the First 
having died in infancy the year before. He was rector of 
Warsop all through the troublous time of the Commonwealth, 
and, as it would seem, exerted what interest he had on the side 
of the King and the Church. There is a fine old brass tablet 
to his memory in Warsop Church, surmounted with the arms 
of his family — a griffin rampant, and three scallop shells — 
and bearing the following inscription in Latin : — 

"Sacred to the memory of Oliver Dand, Bachelor of 
Divinity, and formerly one of the Senior Fellows of 
St. John's College, Cambridge, "Elector of this Church, 
and a vigorous Defender of the lately down-trodden 
Cause of King and Eeligion, who, after gaining many 



84 WABSOP PARISH BBGISTBBB. 

and honourable distinctions by his fidelity, zeal, and 
learning, was at length carried off by paralysis, May 
4, 1661, aged fifty-five years, and now lies here the 
ornament of his own tomb. 

Heedful traveller wooldst thou tnm 
From the speaking stone in fright ; 

Know, a sacred herald's nm 
A voice to have is only right." 

Brass tablets have been erected also to the memories of 
George and Thomas Fothergill. A curious circumstance is 
connected with the tablet to the former of these two rectors. 
When removing it just lately from the tower, where it was 
lost to sight, to a more prominent position on the West wall, 
it was discovered that the inscription exposed to view was 
a comparatively modern one, and that the original inscription 
which contained the same words, only in a quaint sort of spell- 
ing, had been turned to the wall. We need scarcely add that the 
older inscription is the one now to be seen. It runs thus : — 

" Here lyeth the Body of Master George Fothergill whoe 
was Eector of Warsop twenty yeares whoe departed this 
life in the seventy six yeares of his age the twenty third 
of August Anno Domini 1683." 

The modem side of the plate contains also the arms of 
the family — a buck's head couped within a bordure engrailed 
or. This proves at once the connection of these two rectors, 
father and son, with the old Westmorland family of 
Fothergill — one of whom founded a Grammar School near 
Ravenstone dale in that county ; as well as with the Revs. 

« 

George Fothergill, D.D., and Thomas Fothergill, D.D., who 
were eminent members of the University of Oxford about the 
middle of last century. 



WABSOP PABISH BBQISTBBS. 85 

John Moslej was of the same family as the Mosleys of 
Eolleston Hall, near Burton-on-Trent. He was the second 
son of Sir Oswald Moslej, Bart., and on the death of his 
brother, without issue, in 1767, succeeded to the baronetcy. 
In 1777 he presented himself to the living of Eolleston but 
did not resign Warsop till the following year. He died at 
Eolleston, in 1779, and was buried in the church of that parish. 
During his incumbency as rector of Warsop, and before he 
succeeded to the family estates and title. Sir John seems to 
have got into a dispute with Mr. Ealph Knight, the patron of 
the living, concerning the right to dig limestone and other 
building stone out of the glebe lands and to sell it for his own 
private profit and advantage. The case was never brought to 
trial, we believe, but counsel* s opinion was obtained which 
from its general bearing is * so very important that we are 
tempted to insert it in full. ** I think," wrote the counsel, 
" Mr Mosley has no right to dig limestone and other stone in 
his glebe for sale, for I take the breaking of the surface of the 
ground and selling the soil to be waste ; from the doing of 
which he may be restrained : an4 Mr. Knight's proper method 
will be to file a bill in Chancery and endeavour to get an 
Injunction to restrain Mr. Mosley from committing any 
further waste. I know of but one case that makes this doubt- 
ful, and that is the case of the earl of Eutland and G-ee, where 
the court refused to grant a Prohibition for digging Mines in 
the parson's glebe : but admitting that case to be law, it 
seems to differ from this ; for in working Mines, the surface of 
the ground is not broken up and spoiled, as in digging lime- 
stone ; and besides the limestone may be wanted for repairs." 
The following copy of an inventory of church goods, signed 
by Sir John Mosley, was found by us in the small chest con- 
taining the settlement papers : — 

**A Schedule or Inventory of the Books, Vestments 
and Vessels belonging to the Parish Church of Warsop. 



86 WASSOP PABI8H BBGI8TBS8. 

Books : A Q-reat Bible Newly Translated in the year 
1610. Common Prayer Books, Eegister of Parchment, 
a Book of Homilies. 

Vestments : A Surplice, a Carpet for the Communion 
Table, a Linnen Cloth for the Communion Table, a 
Linnen Cloth to cover the Elements, a Cushion for the 
Pulpit, and Hearse-cloath. 

Vessels: Which are a Pewter Flaggon, a Chalice 
and Paten, of Silver, and Bason for the Offertory of 
Pewter. 

June the 2l8t 1736. Attested by us 

John Mosley Eector 
WuL^^ood } Churchwardens" 

The old Bible mentioned in this inventory has long since 
disappeared, as has also the Book of Homilies; but the 
Prayer Books, although no longer in use, are preserved and 
kept in the parish chest. The silver chalice and paten, too, 
as well as the pewter flagon and bason, are still in existence, 
but the two latter vessels are no longer in use. 

Samuel Hallif ax was the second son of Eobert Hallif ax and 
Hannah daughter of Richard Jebb, maltster of Mansfield. By 
his father's side he was connected with the old Waterhouse 
family of Halifax, in Yorkshire, and by his mother's with the 
celebrated Sir Eichard and Dr. Jebb. His grandfather, 
Robert Waterhouse de Halifax, was, we believe, the first of 
the family to drop the patronymic of Waterhouse and to call 
himseK simply Halifax, from the town with which his family 
had been so long connected. The bishop was bom at 



WABSOP PABI8H BEGI8TERS. 87 

Mansfield in 1783, and educated in the G^rammar School of 
that town. At the early age of sixteen years he proceeded to 
Jesus College, Cambridge, where he gained a sizarship, and 
in due course graduated B.A. in 1764, and M.A. in 1767. In 
this latter year he was also elected Dean of his college, whilst 
in the following year he was nominated Lecturer by the 
President. In 1764 he took the degree of LL.D ; in 1768 he 
was made Eegius Professor of Arabic; in 1770, Regius 
Professor of Civil Law ; and in 1775 he was created D.D., by 
royal mandate. During the course of his professorship he 
acquired much eminence by a work he published on civil law, 
in which a comparison is drawn between the old Roman laws 
and those of England. For some time, too, he was Chaplain 
in Ordinary to his Majesiy George HI., as weU as Master of 
Faculties in Doctors Commons. In 1778 he was presented to 
the living of Warsop, by Mrs. Gkilly ; whilst in 1781 he was 
consecrated Bishop of Gloucester, and in 1789 transferred to 
the See of St. Asaph. As a prelate he was renowned for his 
deep knowledge and great ability ; but as rector of Warsop, 
little is known of him beyond the mere fact that he took 
much interest in the choir which he brought to such a state 
of proficiency that no choir for miles round could bear 
comparison with it. A story is told how he stopped the sing- 
ing one morning in the middle of a psalm, greatly to the choir's 
disgust, because they were singing somewhat out of tune. 
His second son, Richard, a little boy not three years old, was 
accidently scalded to death by falling into a vessel of hot 
liquor in a brew-house, at Warsop, in 1782, and was buried 
in the chancel of the church. A marble tablet to the bishop's 
memory may be seen in Warsop Church, with the following 
inscription upon it in Latin : — 

** Here near to his most dear little son who was some 
time since snatched away by untimely fate the Very 
Reverend Samuel Hallifax LL. D and S.T.P. wished 



88 WABSOP PABISH BBGIBTBBS. 

his paternal remaiiis to be deposited. Bom and 
instructed in the first rudiments of learning in this 
neighbourhood he afterwards held the position of 
Public Lecturer and Eegius Professor of Civil Law 
in the University of Cambridge, Master of Faculties in 
Doctors Commons, Eector in this Church, and Bishop 
first in the Cathedral Church of Gloucester and after- 
wards in that of St. Asaph: through all of which 
ofl&ces he distinguished himself by his ability, pro- 
found learning, and wonderful industry; by his 
unswerving allegiance to the English Church ; by the 
power and sweetness of his discourses ; by the touch- 
ing grace and elegance of his writings ; and moreover 
by what he ever held to be of paramount importance, 
the uprightness of his life. 

He was bom at Mansfield Jan. 8. 1733 : worn out 
by stone he died a premature death alas ! March 4. i 
1790, aged fifty-seven years. His wife Catherine being 
left his survivor with an only son and six daughters 
has erected this monument as somewhat of a mournful 
solace to her grief." 

The following table drawn up and signed by Bishop 

Hallif ax, appears on the fly-leaf before the burials in the same 
volume. 

"From 
1688 to 1697 inclusive were 181 Baptisms, 106 Burials 
1741 to 1760 inclusive 189 129 

1771 to 1780 inclusive 281 176 

S. Hallifax, Bector." 

Robert Southgate has the honour of having been the first 
rector who started a Sunday School in Warsop. As a matter 
of fact, indeed, he was one of the pioneers in the excellent 



WARSOP PARISH EBGI8TEES. 89 

movement whicli was begun in 1781, by Eobert Baikes of 
Gloucester. He was an antiquary of great note in his day, 
and is said to have spent most of his time in the British 
Museum, where at the time of his death he was engaged in 
arranging, for publication, a series of notes on the Anglo- 
Saxon coins. 

Samuel Martin had the spiritual oversight of the parish 
for the unusually long period of nearly sixty years ; first as 
curate in charge for some six years during Francis Hume's 
incumbency, and afterwards as rector for fifty-three years. 
He seems to have been a man of most extreme liberality 
and was much beloved by his parishioners. His sons, of 
whom he had several, took a great interest in the cricket 
club and other parochial institutions. Francis, his second 
son, who was a distinguished member of the University of 
Cambridge, a Senior Fellow, and for many years Bursar, and 
afterwards Vice-Master of Trinity College, bought and pre- 
sented the church clock to the parish in 1844. Miss Martin, 
daughter of Major Martin, another son, worked and presented, 
at the restoration of the church in 1877, the beautiful altar 
cloth which is now in use. A brass tablet has been erected 
to the memory of Samuel Martin, containing the following 
inscription:— 

* 

" In the churchyard six feet from the centre of the East 
chancel window lie interred the remains of Samuel 
Martin rector of this parish for a period of fifty-three 
years. He died on the 4th April 1869 aged 89." 

Alleyne Fitz-Herbert — the last of the rectors we shall 
notice in this way — ^was the third son of Sir Henry Fitz- 
Herbert, Bart., and brother of the present lord of the manor. 
He is said to have been a very able scholar, a good church- 
man, and an excellent preacher. Like his predecessor, too, he 

a 



90 WiuHBOJP FASdBK BSQIBTSilB. 

tira.9 2k loan of great kindaess and liberality to the poor ; bo 
liberal indeed was lie that, according to a Derbyshire woman 
who told us the story, he once " took the boots ofE his own 
|eet to give to a poor man in his parish at Tissington." 
DnriDg the short time he held the living of Warsop he re- 
stored the rectory — raising the roof to form a third story and 
otherwise enlarging it to its present comfortable dimensions. 
A brass tablet to his memory in Warsop Chureh bears the 
foUawing inscription :— 

«* In Memory of Alleyne Fitz-Herbert one year Eector 
of Warsop third son of Sir Henry Fitz-Herbert Bt. of 
Tissington Derbyshire and Agnes Beresf ord his wife : 
bom May 9. 1815 : married May 5. 1841 Angelina 
third daughter of James HafEenden Esq. of Homewood 
House Tenterden Kent : died April 15. 1860 leaying a 
widow with five sons and six daughters." 

Before leaving the subject of the Warsop Clergy, we think 
it only right that we should give an approximate list of the 
curates of Warsop for the last three hundred years as far 
as it can be obtained from the several registers. We prefix 
the earliest date at which each name appears, but we do not 
intend to convey the impression that the interval between two 
successive dates necessarily denotes the length of any one's 
appointment. 



'' CuratejBf of JBHarsop/' 

1572. Anthony Fisher 1762. John Crutchley 

1638. Jo. Cond^ 1763. William Clarke 

1717. —Shaw 1772. Nicholas Mosley Cheek 

1726. Joseph Brooke 1777. Thomas Wilkinson 

1731. John Browne 1790. Edward Qtter 



WAR80P PARISH BEGI8TEK8. 



91 



" Curates of Warsop " — ConUimecL 



1792. John Parsons 

1793. John Ashpinshaw 
1799. Samuel Martin 
1842. James Atlay * 
1846. T. C. Grover 
1869. Frank G. Lys 
1871. W. W. Brown 



1871. J. Parry Winder 

1872. James Fitz-Herbert 

1873. J.C.WellesleyBnmaby 
1876. Arthur Bros 

1876. Charles Hallsworth 
1878. Eichard J. King 



'J 






'Ir 



* The present Bishop of Hereford 



/!'.< 



7 T ' * / 



?r 



r 






-^ 




G 



\) 



". t^- •>•■-,. 






Registers © anb d?/ 

These registers are of quite recent date and contain little of 
interest to anyone except to those persons whose families 
are mentioned therein. The entries are all made in accord- 
ance with the Forms prescribed in the Act of Parliament 
which was passed in 1812 "for the better regulating and 
preserving Parish and other Registers of Births, Baptisms, 
Marriages, and Burials, in England." By this «A.ct it was 
enjoined that registers of baptisms, marriages, and burials, 
should not be kept in one and the same book as had been the 
custom, but that a separate book should be kept for each ; 
that books adapted to the Forms prescribed in the said Act 
should be sent to every parish ; and that a list of all extant 
register books should be transmitted to the Registrar General 
before the 1st of June, 1813. A memorandum in Register C, 
in the handwriting of the Rev. S. Martin, states that a copy 
of the list of the Warsop Parish Registers was sent to the 
Registrar at York, May 31, 1813. It was also enjoined that 
annual copies of all the register books should be made and, 
after being verified by the officiating minister for the time 
being, transmitted to the Diocesan Registrar by the church- 
wardens; and that all register books should be kept in 
custody of the officiating minister in an iron chest provided 
at the expense of the parish. The churchwardens of Warsop, 
we find, acted up to the latter part of this instruction and 



WASSOP PARISH BEaiSTESS. 93 

bought the iron chest in which the registers are still kept. 
The lid of this chest opens upwards and bears the following 
inscription in raised letters: — 

" Warsop, 1813. S. Martin, Rector. J. Duckmanton, 
J. Fetherstone, Churchwardens." 

« 

The old " sure coffer," made of oak, " with two locks and 
keys," — probably the very same that had been in use from 
the time of Cromwell's Injunction — was discarded and stood 
for a long time in the Church tower ; but when the Church 
was re-pewed in 1832 it was taken away, and has since fallen 
to pieces. 

In 1836 another Act of Parliament was passed to amend 
that of 1812. It enjoined that Register Books in duplicate 
should be furnished to every Church and Chapel where 
Marriages may be solemnized; that at the end of every 
quarter a copy of the entries made during that period should 
be sent to the Superintendent-Registrar to be forwarded to 
the Registrar-G-eneral ; and that one copy of the Register, 
when filled, should be delivered up to the Superintendent- 
Registrar, and the other kept with the Registers of Baptisms 
and Burials. 







Statistics, 

Under tliis heading we have much pleasure in furnishing our 
readers with a few particulars respecting the population and 
mortality of Warsop during the last three hundred years. 
We have already touched upon this most interesting subject 
when speaking of the extraordinary mortality of the Cham 
family, in 1600 : but we venture to hope that some additional 
information will be gladly received by all who are interested 
in the past history of Warsop. The mortality of any com- 
munity is so closely related to the most important conditions 
of its existence and well-being, that there is little wonder that 
the Legislature has taken so much pains, of late, to ascertain 
as correctly as possible the population and mortality of this 
country. Prior to 1801 there were no official returns of the 
population of any part of the British Isles ; but the estimated 
population of England, based upon the parish registers of 
baptisms, marriages, and burials, is, for the period between 
1570 and 1750, that given in the following table. 



EstimateU population of ffl^nglanlr* 



Date. 


Pop. 


Date. 


■ Pop. 


1570 
1600 
1630 


4,160,221 
4,811,718 
5,600,517 


1670 
1700 
1750 


5,773,646 
6,045,008 
6,517,035 



WABSOP PARISH ^lIGtStfiBg. 



d5 



During the eighteenth century a great [influx of the rural 
population set in towards the manufacturing towns ; and this, 
coupled with the loss of men who fell in the American aoid 
French wars, gave rise to the impression that the population 
of England, as a- whole, had decreased, and was rapidly de- 
creasing. The first general census in 1801, however, dispelled 
this idea, and showed that notwithstanding all drawbacks, 
the population was much greater than was commonly believed : 
since that time it has gone on steadily increasing as may be 
seen from the census returns which we subjoin. 

Census Eetumg. 



Bate. 


Pop. 


Date. 


Pop. 


1801 


9,334,549 


1851 


17,927,609 


1811 


10,666,792 


1861 


20,066,224 


1821 


12,289,881 


1871 


22,712,266 


1831 


14,156,988 


1881 


25,968,286 


1841 


15,914,148 







Through the kind assistance of Mr. Samuel F. Wilson we 
are enabled to publish a table of all the baptisms, marriages, 
and burials, which have taken place in Warsop and Soke- 
holme, from 1539 to 1882, together with the estimated 
population for the same time, and a diagram showing the 
mortality. 



WABeOP PABIBH BEaiSTEKS. 



Cable o{ Hwftitma, jnaniases, ant Buctals, 
{com 1339 to 1882, Wtli Hie Estimatet ^ofulation. 



Daw. . 


i 

•s 

is 


Baptiems. 


Marriages 


Burials. 


11 


1 

EH 


r5 


1 


i 

1 


1 


■5 


u 


1539 to 1550 


12 


174 


14 


13 


3 


123 


10 


l«i 


580 


1561— 15?5 


25 


365 


16 


m™ 


COED 


289 


12 


12 


670 


1676—1600 


26 


443 


18 


104 


5 


441 


18 


14 


780 


1601-1626 


26 


611 


20 


137 


6 


397 


16 


15t 


860 


1626-1660 


25 


451 


18 


124 


5 


363 


16 


16J 


920 


1661—1675 


25 


516 


21 


107 


4 


641 


22 


17 


940 


1676—1700 


26 


446 


18 


80 


3 


396 


16 


16J 


920 


1701—1725 


25 


426 


17 


97 


4 


349 


14 


16 


810 


1726—1760 


25 


466 


19 


122 


5 


341 


14 


14 


780 


1751—1775 


25 


577 


23 


162 


6 


365 


15 


16} 


860 


1776—1800 


25 


768 


30 


168 


7 


413 


18 


17 


9*) 


1801—1825 


25 


793 


32 


169 


7 


171 


19 


21 


1180 


1826—1850 


25 


1041 


42 


193 


10 


661 


26 


24 


1310 


1851—1875 


25 


1003 


10 


167 


7 


712 


28 


261 


1160 


1876-1882 


7 


276 


39 


49 


7 


151 


22 


25 


1100 



WABSOP PARISH BEGIBTEBS. 



97 



' In the compilation of the foregoing table the following 
methods have been adopted. First, all the baptisms, 
marriages, and burials, recorded in the various registers 
from 1539 to 1882 inclusive, were carefully taken down year 
by year and tabulated. The results were then grouped 
together in periods of twenty-five years, and the averages 
worked out to the nearest unit, as shown in the table. 
The corrected averages of burials have been obtained (i), 
by casting out the years in which the death-rate was abnor- 
mally high ; and (ii), by smoothing down the irregularities 
still remaining in the twenty-five-year periods, which was 
done by taking a second average for every three successive 
periods, instead of as at first, for one period only. The 
estimatid population has been deduced from the corrected 
averages by assuming the rate of mortality to have been 
yearly eighteen deaths per thousand — an assumption which 
agrees well, though imdesignedly, with the census returns 
of Warsop and Sokeholme since 1801. 

CengujS ISittuxxifi. 



DATE. 


POP. 


DATE. 


POP. 


1801 


944 


1861 


1398 


1811 


1047 


1861 


1426 


1821 


1141 


1871 


1603 


1831 


1281 


1881 


1364 


1841 


1384 







Probably the most remarkable result shown in this table of 
baptisms, marriages, and burials, is the apparent decrease in 
the population during the period from 1650 to 1750. There 
can be no doubt, in fact, that there was a serious decrease, 



98 WABSOP PARISH BEGISTSBS. 

and that it was chiefly owing to the extraordinarily high rate 
of mortality prevalent from 1650 to 1682. But before giving 
our reasons for these conclusions, it may be well to notice two 
remarkable facts. The first is that the periods which show 
a very high mortality occur in groups of two or more years, 
and are separated by a longer or shorter interval with a 
relatively even rate of mortality; and the second, that in 
those years, or series of years, when the rate was lai^ly 
in excess of the average, the number of marriages shows a 
corresponding depression. The former of these facts is well 
brought out in the accompanying diagram by the tracing 
which shows the mortality of Warsop since 1538. In 
illustration of the latter we may mention that in 1591 there 
was but one marriage ; in 1680, none ; and in 1682, %at one. 
This inverse proportion is shown to have occurred on an 
exceptionaUy large scale during the period in question by 
the table of baptisms, marriages, and burials, From 1650 to 
1675, the proportion of burials to marriages was more than 
five to one, whilst the number of deaths exceeded the pumber 
of births — a state of things without a parallel through- 
out the entire series. The total number of baptisms from 
1539 to 1882 was eight thousand two hundred and forty- 
five; and the total number of burials (allowing ninety 
for the years 1551 to 1556 inclusive, which are unrecorded), 
six thousand one hundred and twenty-nine. Deducting six 
hundred and sixty for increase of population, it is evident 
that one thousand iowr htmdred and fifty-five more persons 
have left the parish and died elsewhere than have settled here 
from other places: that is, on an average, more than a 
hundred have left the parish during every one of the fourteen 
twenty-five-year periods. Taking this into account, along 
with the excessive nimiber of deaths from 1650 to 1675, the 
decrease in the population is, we think, fully accounted for. 
One thing seems certain : the causes on which the rate of 
mtyrtahty depend ^stipply of food, epidemics, Ac.) would 




»op SINCE 1538 



/wo 



WABSOF PARISH BBGISTEBS. 99 

appear to have become more regular in their action from the 
beginning of the eighteenth century. The abnormally high 
rate at various periods during the present century, as shown 
in the diagram, was due to the presence of epidemics which, as 
old parishioners will doubtless remember, prevailed at the 
periods in question, namely^ scarlet fever in 1825, diphtheria 
in 1858, small pox in 1872, and low fever in 1874-5. Should' 
the mortality of the neighbouring parishes be worked out 
with equal minuteness, as we hope it may, it will be of the 
highest interest and importance to ascertain whether it 
shows that correspondence with the experience of Warsop 
which one might be led to expect. 

How much lies hidden in the foregoing statistics; how 
many joys and sorrows, hopes and fears ; how much love and 
hate, none can tell. The roll of individuals which make up 
the life of Warsop for the past three hundred and forty-four 
years is here reduced to units. It is impossible to gaze on 
this roll without wishing to lift the veil of obscurity which 
time has drawn so closely over the religious, social and 
domestic life of the thousands who are gone before. In what 
has preceded we have endeavoured to fill in a few of the more 
interesting known details. It is a mingled story telling us in 
part of sin, and sorrow, and shame, but in part also of zeal, 
and honour, and learning, of duties heroically performed, and 
of trust faithfully discharged. The work of collecting the 
simple anecdotes and fast disappearing traditions recorded in 
these notes and illustrations, and of separating the probably 
true from the obviously false, or at least unsubstantiated, has 
been no easy one ; but our labour has been a labour of love, 
and if this first attempt of the kind in Warsop serves but to 
kindle in the minds of its inhabitants a greater interest in 
everything connected with their church and parish, or better 
still to facilitate some more elaborate and complete attempt 
to give the history of the locality in the future, we shall be 
amply rewarded. 



.100 



WABSOP FABISH BEGISTEBS. 



It only remains for ns now to tender our very best thanks 
to Mr. S. F. Wilson for the great assistance he has given us 
throughout our work, and to the Eev. Kirke Swann, the iRev. 
F. Brodhurst, Major Lowe, Mr. F. Blythman, Mr. W. 
Wardley, and other kind friends who have helped us with 
much valuable information respecting the past history of the 
parish and its old worthies. 





>S.^v; 



i4'/V:'«,,;,^# 






Ittbt):. 



A 

AoBBEMBNT between Warsop and 

Sokeholme, 5. 
Allotment of Seats, 8. 
Architectnre, 55. 
Ashpinshaw, John, 76. 

B 
Baptisms, infant, 48. 
Bells, 6. 
Benefactions : 

Hall's, 85. 
Kirke's, 65. 
Peacock's, 72. 
Whiteman's, 80. 
Wylde's, 22. 
Burials, immediate, 12, 49. 
Burying in woollen, 52, 


Clay, Hercules, 17. 
Communion plate, 65. 
Condition of the people, 42, 66. 
Cromwell's injunction, 2. 
Curates of Warsop ,90. 

E 
Extracts from Register A, 11-18. 
„ „ B.egister B, 46-65. 

„ „ Begister G, 69-80. 



F 
FoBEST enclosures, 79. 
Friendly societies, 26. 

G 
Godfathers and godmothers, 12. 

H 

HUOUBNOTS, 47. 

I 

Inybntoby of church goods, 85. 

K 
Knight family, 61. 

M 
Manor of Nettleworth, 22. 
„ Sokeholme, 56. 
„ Warsop, 13. 
Memoranda, 5, 8, 81. 
Memorial stones, 53. 
Morality, 16. 
Mortality, 15, 96-99. 

N 
Nettleworth, hall, 22. 

„ manor, 22. 

North and South town, 57. 

O 
Old chum, 78. 
Old school-house, 74. 
Old style, 10. 



102 



INDEX. 



»> 



n 



Pabish registers, 1. 
Ftok HaU, 9, 76. 
Parliament oak, 78. 
Population of England, 94-95. 

„ Warsop and Soke- 

holme, 96-97. 

B 
Bectobs of Warsop, 81. 
Bobert de Warsop, 47. 
Bolleston, John, 56. 
Bjall, Joanna, 18. 

S 
Sbttlimbnt papers, 68. 
Sherwood forest, 77. 
Sokeholme, haH, 7. 

manor, 56. 
mill, 7. 

Soldier flogged to death, 64. 
Stamp Aot, 74. 
Stanhope, Hon. Ghas., 59. 
Statistics, 94. 
Surnames: 

AUcroft, 75. 

Allwood, 38. 

Amcoats, 64. 

Askew, 60. 

Ball, 37. 

Barlow, 39. 

Bean, 29. 

Beard, 75. 

Beeston, 31. 

Bowet, 47. 

Bowler, 76. 

Bowring, 31. 

Bradley, 26. 

Briggs, 71. 

Brothwell, 72. 

Burton, 79. 

Gandwell, 33. 

Chapman, 60. 

Clayton, 36. 



Somames (oontinaed) 
Conpe, 38. 
Crooks, 59. 
Davy, 52 
Dowdall, 34. 
Dackmanton, 61. 
Dnnston, 33. 
Eaton, 29. 
Eyre, 32. 
Fells, 70. 
Fetherstone, 88. 
Fox, 21. 
Gilbert, 33. 
Glover, 76. 
Hallif ax, 60. 
Herring, 27. 
Hill, 39. 
Hinohliffe, 48. 
Hinde, 37. 
Hooke, 49. 
Hooley, 27. 
llett, 73. 
Jackson, 29. 
Johnson, 75. 
Lee, 80. 
Lowe, 29.' 
Maxfield, 72. 
Mekin, 20. 
Mellors, 65. 
Metheringham, 4^. 
Mitchell, 22, 32. 
Moody, 79. 
Neep, 73. 
Newton, 24. 
Nilan, 73. 
PEUTBons, 41. 
Badford, 32, 61. 
Benshaw, 71* 
Bevill, 34. 
Beynolds, 40. 
Biley, 35. 
Bobinson, 48, 60. 



INDBX. 



103 



Surnames (oontinaed) 
Boiling, 66. 
Singleton, 69. 
Slack, 71. 
Slanej, 20. 
Smith, 19. 
Snowdon, 39. 
Stocks, 69. 
Storey, 65, 80. 
Stubbings, 25. 
Taylor, 41. 
Thorpe, 29. 
Turner, 22. 
Unwin, 40. 
Ward, 20. 
Wafdley, 65. 
Wass, 41. 
Wliarmby, 49. 
Wilkinson, 27. 



Surnames (continued) 
Wilson, 21. 
. Wood, 74. 
Woodhead, 37. 
Wylde, 9, 22. 
T 
Table of baptisms, marriages, 
&c., 96 

W 
Warsop, fairs, 51. 
hall, 9. 
manor, 13. 
market, 13, 51. 
mill, 15. 

parish registers, 3. 
statutes, 51. 
Y 
Young Greendale oak, 78. 





U.^K^I^'/^^- 



(V^ 



/ 

^ 



> I 



■ V