Skip to main content

Full text of "Washington, west of the Cascades; historical and descriptive; the explorers, the Indians, the pioneers, the modern;"

See other formats


NYPL RESEARCH LIBRARIES 




08178385 








irA[i:^ 









I X\4 



\ \ 



WASHINGTON 



West of the Cascades 



ILLUSTRATED 



VOLUME II 



CHICAGO SEATTLE TACOMA 

THE S. J. CLAEKE PUBLISHING COMPANY 

1917 



■•>>>' 

J 4 u 



(/V\SVVN> 



. ; --J 3 » 



367660A 



O '•■'>'.'■ O'-l 



iC...:. I 









^ ■^:^ NEW YOM 
■..,rc LIBRARY 



VviTOR, LENOX 
^'ILDEN FOUNDATION 




JOHN J. DONOVAN 



BIOGRAPHICAL 



JOHN JOSEPH DONOVAN. 

There are times when human effort and enterprise seem to have no limit, 
when the door of opportunity continuously opens to the insistent demands of 
the individual and when ability finds its justification and reaps its reward in 
notable success. Such has been the record of John Joseph Donovan, whose 
work has been a vital force in the development and upbuilding of the northwest. 
He has directed and controlled affairs of great magnitude, in many of which the 
public has been a large indirect beneficiary, while at the same time his fortunes 
have enjoyed a just increase. Mr. Donovan seems to think there is nothing 
unusual in his life record, but when judged by what the great majority of men 
accomplish his history stands out as a notable example of the force of perse- 
verance, determination, clear vision and sound judgment. 

Mr. Donovan was born at Rumney, New Hampshire, September 8, 1858, his 
parents being Patrick and Julia ( O'Sullivan) Donovan, the former a native of 
County Cork, Ireland, and the latter of County Kerry. The educational op- 
portunities of the father were limited, but laudable ambition prompted him to 
try his fortune in the new world and in 1852 he arrived in the United States, 
after which he secured a position in connection with the building of the Boston, 
Concord & ^Montreal Railroad in New Hampshire. His ability soon won him 
promotion to foreman and with his savings he afterward purchased a farm near 
Plymouth, New Hampshire, where he carried on general agricultural pursuits 
until he permanently put aside business cares and took up his abode in the town 
of Plymouth, where he passed away. It was in July, 1856, in Concord, New 
Hampshire, that he wedded Miss Julia O'Sullivan, and to them were born seven 
children: John Joseph: Katharine, who is now living in Plymouth; Dennis, who 
died in infancy; Mary Agnes, who became the wife of George Lynch, of Lan- 
caster, New Hampshire, but both are now deceased; Julia Teresa, the wife of 
Hon. F. F. Blake, of Plymouth, New Hampshire, who served in the legislature 
of his state; Daniel P., who was general agent for the Northwestern Life Insur- 
ance Company of Milwaukee at Boston and died in 191 1; and Margaret, the 
wife of A. N. Gilbert, of Berlin, New Hampshire, who was formerly mayor of 
his city and is now an architect and building contractor doing business in Massa- 
chusetts and New Hampshire. 

The boyhood and youth of John J. Donovan passed without any unusual 
incident, his attention being given to farm work, to the acquirement of an edu- 

5 



6 WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 

cation and to the enjoyment of such sports as occupied the attention of the 
youths of his locality. He supplemented his public school course by study in the 
New Hampshire State Normal School, from which he was graduated, and then 
devoted three years to teaching in the schools of New Hampshire and Massa- 
chusetts. The funds thus secured enabled him to carry out his well defined pur- 
pose, that of pursuing a course in engineering in the Polytechnic School at 
Worcester, Massachusetts, and in 1880 he entered that institution, from which 
he was graduated with valedictorian honors in a class of thirty-one in 1882. 
The ambition which prompted him to take high rank in his class foreshadowed 
the spirit which has actuated him in all of his undertakings. He has never been 
content with the second best but has striven for the attainment of perfection in all 
that he has attempted. About the time of his graduation the Northern Pacific 
Railway Company was completing its transcontinental system and applied to 
the engineering school at Worcester, Massachusetts, to engage two members of 
the graduating class for engineering work along its line. The two chosen were 
John J. Donovan and J. Q. Barlow, the latter having also risen to eminence in 
railway and engineering circles, being assistant chief engineer of the Southern 
Pacific Railway. Going at once to Montana, they were given employment in 
adjacent fields, Mr. Donovan's first duties being those of rodman of a surveying 
crew far in advance of the western terminus. After a month he was made lev- 
eler, while six months' service brought to him the position of assistant engineer 
of construction. He celebrated his twenty-fifth birthday by attending the impos- 
ing and impressive ceremonies which were arranged by Henry Villard, presi- 
dent of the Northern Pacific Railway Company, in honor of the completion of 
the road by connection of the eastern and western divisions at Gold Creek, 
Montana, on which occasion Mr. Villard's guests were taken to Gold Creek in 
five Pullman trains and included such distinguished personages as President 
Ulysses S. Grant, William M. Evarts, English and German noblemen who were 
financially interested in the Northern Pacific, eminent engineers and railway 
officials, a number of Crow Indian chieftains, cattlemen of the neighboring 
ranches, several companies of United States soldiers and the usual corps of 
newspaper correspondents. All night long Mr. Donovan rode over lonely trails 
to reach Gold Creek and he remembers the ceremonies on that occasion as among 
the most impressive he has ever witnessed. He then returned to camp and when 
he had completed some important truss bridge work was transferred to Wash- 
ington, where his duties connected him with the construction of the Cascade 
division of the Northern Pacific as engineer of track and bridges, locating 
engineer and engineer in charge. His first work was about fifteen miles east 
of the present town of Prosser and later as one of the engineers on the Cascade 
tunnel project he ran surveys for that great bore, crossing the mountains almost 
daily throughout the winter when twenty feet of snow lay upon their summits. 
He rode in the saddle on the trails but had to cross the summit on snowshoes. 
On the ist of June, 1887, the zigzag track of the switchback, which invariably 
precedes the tunnel on large projects, was completed, so that the Northern Pa- 
cific could take people to the coast over its own lines. At that time Mr. Donovan 
was engineer in charge of the Cascade division west. A month later when 
granted a vacation he visited Alaska and also his old New England home, but 



WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 7 

in September, 1887, returned to the west to take charge of the construction of 
a number of Hnes then being built by the Northern Pacific to connect important 
mining camps with the main line in Montana. Upon the completion of that 
work in 1888 he again went to New England and when he returned to Helena, 
Montana, in the same year he was accompanied by his bride. 

Mr. Donovan's value in professional connections was recognized by others 
aside from the Northern Pacific officials and various business propositions were 
made him, so that he finally resigned his position with the railroad company to 
accept the office of chief engineer for important enterprises then being estab- 
lished on Bellingham bay. From Helena he went to Tacoma and in December, 
1888, arrived at Fairhaven, which later became a part of Bellingham. There 
were no stores in the town, merely a little cluster of dwellings in the midst of 
dense forests, and the total population of Bellingham bay was not more than 
five hundred, including men, women and children. One traveled from Fair- 
haven to Whatcom by the water route, using a rowboat, for the road between 
the two places was impassable. Under the direction of Mr. Donovan as chief 
engineer the companies with which he was associated soon wrought marked 
changes, his being the directing force in all of this important work. As chief 
engineer of the Fairhaven Land Company, the Skagit Coal & Transportation 
Company and the Fairhaven & Southern Railway Company he directed the 
building of a railroad, the opening of coal mines on the Skagit river, the plat- 
ting of the town site of Fairhaven and the construction of its wharves. Fair- 
haven was organized as a city and public improvements of importance were 
inaugurated and carried to completion. At this time he served on the city coun- 
cil for two terms, being chairman of the street and sewer committee. Another 
important progressive step was made in 1890, when the Fairhaven & Southern 
Railway Company projected a line from Vancouver, British Columbia, south to 
Portland, Oregon, and east to Spokane. The surveys were completed and eighty 
miles of the road had been constructed and was under operation when the com- 
pany sold out to the Great Northern system and Mr. Donovan retired as chief 
engineer. Once more he visited the Atlantic coast and upon his return to the 
west became engineer for the tide land appraisers and afterward chief engineer 
of the Blue Canyon Coal Mining Company and the Bellingham Bay & Eastern 
Railway Company, formed by Montana capital in 1891. The railway company 
gradually extended its lines from Fairhaven to Wickersham on the Northern 
Pacific by way of Lake Whatcom and in 1902 the Northern Pacific took over the 
road. In 1898 Mr. Donovan was made general superintendent and chief engi- 
neer of the Bellingham Bay & British Columbia Railway and immediately began 
the survey work for the extension of the line to Spokane. The companies 
under Mr. Donovan's direction devoted much time and capital to prospecting 
for coal and other minerals and to developing valuable water power on the 
Nooksack at Nooksack Falls. The water power was later sold to Stone & 
Webster, of Boston, Mr. Donovan making a special trip to the east to negotiate 
the deal. The Blue Canyon coal mines were leased to another company and 
the property is now being gradually developed. 

In 1898 Peter Larson, Julius H. Bloedel and Mr. Donovan organized the 
Lake Whatcom Logging Company, of which Mr. Larson became president, Mr. 



8 WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 

Donovan vice president and Mr. Bloedel manager. In 1900 they also organized 
the Larson Lumber Company and built a mill at the town of Larson on Lake 
Whatcom, the latter company having the same officers as the former. At the 
time of the organization Mr. Donovan became president of the Lake Whatcom 
Logging Company and on the ist of April, 1913, that company and the Larson 
Lumber Company reorganized and Mr. Bloedel became president with Mr. 
Donovan as vice president. This company now owns three sawmills, one in 
Bellingham and two at Larson, and they also have two shingle mills at Larson 
and one at Blanchard, Washington. Their properties also include logging 
camps with five units or sides at Alger and Delvan respectively. They operate 
thirty miles of railroad, own six locomotives and complete rolling stock. The 
company has acquired timber lands in Skagit and Whatcom counties which 
include twelve hundred million feet of timber all at moderate elevation, while 
all is in solid blocks. This timber has all been acquired through purchase from 
one hundred different owners and none of it from the government, railroad 
companies or by filing scrip. They employ directly one thousand people. Aside 
from his extensive interests along that line i\Ir. Donovan is vice president of 
the First National Bank of Bellingham. 

In Somerville, Massachusetts, April 29, 1888, Mr. Donovan was united in 
marriage to Miss Clara Isabel Nichols and they have become the parents of 
three children. Helen Elizabeth, the eldest, is a graduate of Dana Hall, Welles- 
ley, Massachusetts, and also of Smith College and was studying music in Ber- 
lin, Germany, at the time of the outbreak of the present war. John Nichols, 
twenty-five years of age, graduated in civil engineering from the Worcester 
Polytechnic Institute in 1913 and was a civil engineer with the Northern Pacific 
Railroad Company for a year. He is now efficiency engineer for the Bloedel 
Donovan Lumber Mills at Bellingham, Washington. He was married in Belling- 
ham in September, 1914, to Miss Geraldine Goodheart, and John N. Jr., born 
May 12, 1916, is the pride of the family. Philip, twenty-three years of age, 
completed a course in mechanical engineering at the Worcester Polytechnic 
Institute in 191 5 and is now active as his father's secretary and purchasing 
agent. In July, 1916, he married Miss Hazel Hart Prigmore, daughter of the 
late Judge Prigmore of Seattle and on May 23, 1917, Philip Hart entered their 
home. 

Mr. Donovan is a member of the Catholic church and is now president of 
the Catholic Federation of Washington. He has also taken the fourth degree 
in the Knights of Columbus and has held high offices in the order. He is prom- 
inently identified with many club and trade societies and organizations for the 
benefit of the public. His standing in business circles is indicated by the fact 
that he was honored with the presidency of the Pacific Logging Congress from 
191 3 until 1915. Several times he has been president of the Chamber of Com- 
merce of Bellingham and he belongs to the Commercial Club of Tacoma, the 
American Historical Society and the American Irish Historical Society. That 
he casts his influence in support of cultural forces is indicated by his member- 
ship in the Washington State Art Association. He is likewise a life member 
of the Navy League and he has membership in the Bellingham Country Club, 
the Cougar Club of Bellingham and the Rainier Club of Seattle. He is a mem- 



WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 9 

ber of the American Society of Civil Engineers and was one of the organizers 
of the Montana Society of Engineers, with which he is still connected. He has 
long been an ardent advocate of the good roads movement and was a leader 
in the fight for fortifications for Bellingham bay. He is a forceful writer and 
a frequent contributor of timely articles on vital subjects to the press. Belling- 
ham has no citizen who has been more keenly alive to the city's needs and possi- 
bilities or who has persisted with greater energy and success in attaining them. 

In politics Mr. Donovan is a stanch republican and has been a recognized 
leader in political circles in his part of the state. He would never consent to 
become an ofiice holder, yet it would have been possible for him to secure almost 
any position that he might desire, so great is the confidence reposed in his ability 
and public spirit. He was chairman of the state commission of forest legisla- 
tion under Governor Hay, which commission was characterized as "twelve of 
the strong men of the state." Under appointment of Governor McGraw in 1894 
he was a member of the first state highway commission, for which he has since 
been a worker, striving earnestly to promote good roads. He was also on the 
state board of charities and corrections for some years. He has given most lib- 
erally of his time and money to hospital work and he served in an advisory 
capacity in connection with St. Joseph's Hospital of Bellingham for years. He 
instituted progressive and humanitarian ideas in connection with his mills and 
camps which have been generally adopted by other big companies. Small reduc- 
tions in the men's pay guaranteed them medical attention and hospital service 
when needed and gave them a choice of hospitals — St. Joseph's or St. Luke's 
— and any surgeon or physician they might select. For eight years he was a 
trustee of the State Normal School and he was a member of the charter com- 
mission of fifteen which framed the charter of the city of Bellingham when 
Fairhaven and Whatcom united. This charter proved so satisfactory that later 
the people rejected the idea of a commission form of government, deeming the 
old charter to be more efficient and up-to-date. Mr. Donovan was also a mem- 
ber of the Municipal League for Civic Reforms and he has always been on the 
side of temperance, serving on the executive committee in the fight for prohibi- 
tion. Bellingham was one of the first cities of the state to go dry by men's 
votes and it remained consistently dry through all reactions and was dry for 
six years before the state prohibition law was passed. Bellingham therefore 
had no trouble in applying the statewide law. 

In a summary of his life it is noticeable that Mr. Donovan as a man is far- 
seeing, honest and public-spirited and throughout his life has operated boldly 
and continuously in the business field and by the stimulus of his efforts has 
aroused the enterprise of others, through which means he has added to his 
own great labors and furnished hundreds of workmen with remunerative em- 
ployment. He has never been a public man in the ordinary sense but during all 
his business life he has held many important relations to the public interest 
through the business concerns he has conducted, for in all of them the public 
has been a large indirect beneficiary. He has never sought to figure promi- 
nently before the public in any light or any relation, yet his influence has been 
felt as a strong, steady moving force in the social, moral and industrial move- 
ments of the community rather than seen. There is one point in his career to 



10 WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 

which his many friends refer with pride and that is, whether as a prominent 
lumberman or financier, he has always been the same genial, courteous gentle- 
man whose ways are those of refinement and whose word no man can question. 



HARRY CLAY HEERMANS. 

Among the builders of a great empire in the Pacific northwest is Harry Clay 
Heermans, who has been a potent factor in the development of Hoquiam, Olympia, 
Raymond and other sections of western Washington. Forceful and resourceful, 
he accomplishes what he undertakes and at all times the public has been a direct 
beneficiary because his activities have been of a character that have had to do 
with the general improvement of this section of the country. He was born in 
Fellowsville, Preston county, West Virginia, June 3, 1852, a son of John and Nancy 
Heermans, who were natives of Luzerne county, Pennsylvania. The name of Heer- 
mans is of Dutch origin and the ancestors, leaving their native Holland, eriiigrated 
in 1657 to New Amsterdam, now New York city. The family records are found 
in the books of the old Dutch church. In the maternal line H. C Heermans comes 
of English ancestry. Liberally educated, he was graduated at the Wesleyan Uni- 
versity at Middletown, Connecticut, in 1875 with the Bachelor of Arts degree, and 
the Master of Arts degree was conferred upon him in 1878. Thinking to make the 
practice of law his life work, he began reading in the office of Brown & Hadden 
of Corning, New York, but after a time turned to the engineering profession and 
for thirteen years acceptably filled the responsible position of city engineer in 
Corning. He next purchased the waterworks system of that city and managed the 
same as its owner for thirty years prior to 1908. During that period he also 
engaged extensively in real estate dealing at Corning and in 1886 formed the 
Ontario Land Company, with headquarters in St. Paul, Minnesota. In 1889 he 
arrived in Hoquiam and made large investments for the Ontario Land Company 
and eastern capitalists, and at once allying his interests with those of the city and 
its future development, he constructed in 1889 an electric light plant in Hoquiam. 
From that point forward he has been one of the most active factors in the develop- 
ment of business interests which have had marked effect upon the welfare and 
progress of the community. In 1898 he was the active agent in securing the exten- 
sion of the Northern Pacific Railway into Hoquiam and constructed the Hoquiam 
waterworks as well as secured the establishment of several new industries in the 
city. Something of the breadth, scope and importance of his activities through the 
intervening years is indicated in the fact that at the present time, 1916, he is presi- 
dent and manager of the Hoquiam Water Company, president of the East Hoquiam 
Company, president of the Grays Harbor Company, president of the Ontario Land 
Company and vice president of the Harbor Land Company. With the exception 
of the first named, all these companies are operating in real estate. In 1905 he 
purchased the controlling interest in the Olympia Waterworks at Olympia, Wash- 
ington, and remained at the head of the system until 191 6, when he sold out to the 
city. He also has been president of the Raymond Land & Improvement Company 
since 1905. promoting the town site of Raymond, W^ashington, and he is a director 
of the First National Bank of Hoquiam. It was in 1908 that he removed from 




HARRY C. HEERMANS 



•HE NEW YORK 
PUBLIC UBRAHY 

ASTOii, LENOX 
_l^ffEN FOUNDATION 



WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 13 

Corning, New York, to Hoqtiiam and in 1909 he established his home in Olympia 
but has devoted most of the time to the development of Hoquiam since 1898. 

On the 17th of March, 1886, at Painted Post, New York, Mr. Heermans was 
united in marriage to Miss Annie L. Townsend, a daughter of E. E. Townsend, of 
Erwin, Steuben county. New York, and a great-granddaughter of Colonel E. E. 
Erwin of Revolutionary war fame, who was the original pioneer and owner of the 
town of Erwin. Mr. and Mrs. Heermans have become parents of four children: 
Ruth, the wife of Milton J. Beaty, now residing in Warren, Pennsylvania; Joseph 
F., who was graduated with the class of 1916 from the University of Washington 
and Jerome T. and Donald, students in that school. 

The parents are members of the Presbyterian church and Mr. Heermans 
belongs to the Benevolent Protective Order of Elks at Hoquiam. His political 
allegiance is given to the republican party and with the vital questions and issues 
of the day he is thoroughly familiar, but he does not seek nor desire ofifice, pre- 
ferring to concentrate his energies upon his business affairs, which have been care- 
fully managed and wisely planned. He readily discriminates between the essential 
and the nonessential in business matters and Hoquiam and other sections of the 
state have profited largely by his cooperation in the work of promoting public 
progress. 



GEORGE FREDERICK FRYE. 

George Frederick Frye was one of the leading business men of Seattle and 
erected many buildings of iriiportance, including the Hotel Frye, which is con- 
ceded to be the finest hostelry in .the city. A native of Germany, he was born 
near Hanover, on the 15th of June, 1833. and his parents, Otto and Sophia 
(Pranga) Frye, were also natives of the fatherland. Their religious faith was 
that of the Lutheran church. 

In 1849, when sixteen years of age, George F. Frye emigrated to the United 
States and first located in Lafayette, Missouri, where he worked as a farm hand. 
In 1852 he worked his way across the plains to the Pacific coast with the Hays 
Company, which made the trip with ox teams. Fie spent one winter at Portland 
and was for some time in the employ of Hillory Butler, for whom the Hotel 
Butler was named. In 1853 he came to Seattle, which was then a small settle- 
ment on the Sound. In connection with Arthur A. Denny and H. L. Yesler, 
Mr. Frye built the first sawmill and the first grist mill in Seattle and for about 
ten years he was connected with milling interests. He established the first meat 
market in the city and also started a bakery. Later he turned his attention to 
steamboating and for four years was master of the J. B. Libby, one of the early 
Sound steamers. He was also mail agent, carrying the mail from Seattle to 
Whatcom on the Sameyami, making one trip a week. In 1884 he erected the 
Frye Opera House, which was the first place of the kind erected in Seattle, and 
as manager of the same secured good theatrical attractions for the city. In the 
fire of 1889 the building was destroyed and Mr. Frye later erected the Stevens 
Hotel on the site of the opera house. In connection with A. A. Denny he also 
owned the Northern Hotel, and he likewise erected the Barker Hotel. He also 



14 WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 

built the Hotel Frye, in which the city takes justifiable pride. He personally 
supervised the construction of this eleven-story building and spared no expense 
nor effort in making it one of the best equipped and most complete hostelries of 
the northwest. In addition to his other activities he dealt extensively in real 
estate and was one of the wealthy men of Seattle. 

On the 25th of October, i860, Mr. Frye was married in Seattle to Miss 
Louisa C. Denny, a daughter of A. A. Denny, previously mentioned, who was one 
of the first settlers of Seattle and a man of great influence and high reputation. 
He was rightfully given the title of "father of the town." To Mr. and Mrs. Frye 
were bom six children : James ^Marion, who died in 1905 ; Mary Louisa, the 
widow of Captain George H. Fortson; Sophia S., now Mrs. Daniel W. Bass; 
George Arthur, who died in 1892; Roberta G., now Mrs. P. H. Watt; and Eliza- 
beth, the wife of Virgil N. Bogue. 

Mr. Frye cast his ballot in support of the republican party and served accept- 
ably as a member of the city council. His religious allegiance was given to 
the Lutheran church and its teachings formed the guiding principles of his life. 
He was a man of great vigor and energy and was very active in business affairs. 
He aided in the development of many enterprises and among the other things 
he founded the first brass band in the city. He was one of the leaders among 
the early residents of the city and as Seattle developed his grasp of affairs seemed 
to grow accordingly, and he continued to occupy a position of importance in the 
life of his community. He almost reached the age of seventy-nine years, passing 
away on the 2d of May, 1912. 



HON. ALLEN WEIR. 



Hon. Allen Weir, of Olympia, was thoroughly western in spirit and inter- 
ests, his entire life having been passed on the Pacific coast, where through his 
business ability and public spirit he contributed in substantial measure to the 
wonderful development and progress of this section of the country. He was 
born in El Monte. Los Angeles county. California, April 24, 1854, and when 
six years of age was brought to Washington by his parents, who reached Port 
Townsend on the 28th of May, i860. He was a son of John and Saluda J. 
(Buchanan) Weir. The father, a native of Missouri, was at dift'erent times, 
a pioneer of that state, of Texas, of California and of the Puget Sound country. 
Removing to the Lone Star state, he there married Miss Buchanan and their 
three oldest children were born in Texas. In 1853 they started by wagon across 
the plains for southern California and were about a year in making the trip. 
The father engaged in blacksmithing and farming at Lexington, Los Angeles 
county, California, and in 1858 he made his way northward to Port Townsend 
and then to Dungeness, where two years later he was joined by his family. He 
settled two miles from the straits, where he took up government land and 
developed a farm, residing thereon until his demise. He cleared all his land, 
made all his own roads and also made the first plow in the county. He likewise 
built the first wagon in the county and he continued to engage in blacksmithing 
.as w^U as in general farming. He possessed expert mechanical ingenuity and 



WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 15 

could make anything out of wood and iron. He lived to be sixty-three years 
of age and his wife, who survived him for about twelve years, had reached the 
age of seventy at the time of her demise. In their family were the following 
named: Marion, deceased; Mrs. Laura B. Troy, of Olympia; Mrs. Susan L. 
Evans, of Dungeness, Washington; Allen, of this review; Mrs. Martha J. Whit- 
tier, who has passed away ; and Julia, the widow of Charles Kennard, of Tacoma. 

Allen Weir attended school in Olympia but is largely a self-educated man 
and has gained many of his most valuable lessons in the school of experience. 
In 'his boyhood he was thrown in close relations with the Clallam Indians, who 
were numerous and often worked on his father's farm. Taking an interest in 
their language, he soon mastered it, and this ability to speak the Chinook language 
was of great value to him later in his legal practice as it enabled him to be his 
own interpreter. When nineteen years of age he started in business on his own 
account by renting land of his father, on which he engaged in the cultivation of 
crops and in raising hogs. He afterward spent two years in driving ox teams 
in logging camps but, desirous of improving his education, he then went to 
Olympia and spent two years in the Olympia Collegiate Institute, where Pro- 
fessor Royal took a great interest in him and assisted him as far as possible. 
While pursuing his studies Mr. Weir did his own cooking and worked as janitor 
of the building in order to pay his tuition. He kept ahead of his class, and left 
some time before his class was graduated, he having completed the course. It 
is a well known fact that it is under the stimulus of necessity and the pressure 
of adversity that the best and strongest in man are brought out and developed 
and Mr. Weir thus early displayed the elemental strength and force of his char- 
acter. 

Returning to Port Townsend, he purchased the Puget Sound Argus, a small 
weekly newspaper, which also did job work. About six months later, or in No- 
vember, 1877, he was married and his wife became his active assistant in the 
business. Together they built up the paper, largely increasing its circulation 
and its advertising patronage, and after twelve years they sold the business at a 
good profit. Not long after they began the publication of the paper a daily edi- 
tion was started. Mr. Weir had had no practical experience as a newspaper 
man but he applied himself thoroughly to learning the business and soon proved 
his capability therein. After disposing of the Argus the Commercial Club of 
Port Townsend ofiPered him ten thousand dollars if he would return and again 
enter the newspaper business there. He had served as secretary of the cham- 
ber of commerce and in both connections had much to do with the upbuilding 
of the town, the development of its interests and the exploitation of its resources. 
In fact he took an active part in shaping the history of the state in consider- 
able measure and in the spring of i88g was elected a member of the constitutional 
convention which met at Olympia. He took part in various debates of the 
convention and did much toward framing the organic law of the state. The 
same year he was nommated for secretary of state and was the first to hold 
that office after the admission of Washington to the Union. He proved a capable 
official but did not become a candidate for reelection. He had previously served 
as clerk in the upper house of the territorial legislature in 1887 ^"d i'^ many 
ways he aided in forming public policy. He was a great friend of Governor 
Terry and many other distinguished statesmen of Washington and in their coun- 



16 WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 

cils his opinions many times carried great weight. He was well fitted for 
leadership by reason of his keen mind and his natural oratorical powers, which 
had been developed while he was a member of a literary society in school. He 
became a pronounced advocate of the temperance cause and in this, as in every 
other public question, he studied every phase of the problem and his utterances 
were based upon thorough knowledge. For three terms he held the office of 
president of the Olympia Chamber of Commerce. After retiring from the ofiice 
of secretary of state he entered upon the practice of law in Olympia. having 
been admitted to the bar in 1892 upon examination before the United 
States supreme court, having the distinction of being the first one thus 
admitted. He was always alone in his law practice, which became extensive 
and of a very important character. He made a specialty of handling tide land 
litigation and is a recognized authority on tide land law. Years before when 
he was filling the office of justice of the peace at Port Townsend he rendered 
decisions in tide land cases which were accepted by the state courts and are still 
quoted in the trial of such cases. He continued actively in practice until Sep- 
tember, IQ15, when ill health forced his retirement. 

On the I2th of November, 1877, in Dungeness, Mr. Weir was married to 
Aliss Ellen Davis, a daughter of Hall Davis, who came from Ontario, Canada, 
in 1873 and was one of the leading dairymen of Washington. He developed a 
fine farm as well as a splendid dairy herd and his business afifairs were most 
wisely, carefully and successfully managed. While he made his home at Dun- 
geness his death occurred in Seattle. The surviving children of Mr. and Mrs. 
Weir are two sons and a daughter: Eva, who wedded \\'. R. ^^'hite. of Olympia, 
and has three children. Allen C, Elizabeth and ^lary-Ellen ; Frank A., who mar- 
ried Minnie Huwald and is now county engineer of Thurston county; and Royal 
F.. a lumberman of Hoquiam. Two other children died when young. 

Mr. Weir was long a devoted and faithful member of the Methodist Epis- 
copal church, in which he held every lay office. 'Sirs. Weir is also a member of 
that church. From 1877 until his death he was identified with the Ancient Order 
of United Workmen. The breadth of his interests is further indicated in the 
fact that he served as regent of the Territorial University. His political alle- 
giance was always unfalteringly given to the republican party. Before he was 
twenty-one years of age he was nominated by a democratic committee for a seat 
in the territorial legislature, but when the committee waited upon him to tell 
him of their choice he replied that he could not accept as he was a 
republican. He did much campaign work and in 1896 delivered campaign 
addresses throughout Washington, Oregon, Montana and Idaho. There 
is something stimulating in the life history of such a man. One responds 
to the story with a thrill, recognizing how successfully he battled with 
untoward circumstances and wrested fortune and prominence from the 
hands of fate. His expanding powers brought him prominently before the public 
and his history proves that merit and ability will come to the front. Prompted 
by a laudable ambition to be something more than a common laborer and realiz- 
ing that the fundamental step toward this end was the acquirement of an edu- 
cation, he developed the studious habits which remained his through life and 
which made him the peer of the ablest men of the northwest. 

In September, 191 5. he suffered a stroke of paralysis, from which, however 



WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 17 

he almost completely recovered. On the 17th of August, 1916, while he and his 
wife were visiting at Port Townsend they took a drive with S. Troy and from 
some unknown cause the car ran off the dock into the strait. Mr. Troy was 
killed instantly, Mrs. Weir was thrown clear of the car and escaped with 
bruises and Mr. Weir received such a severe shock and was so bruised that he 
began to fail rapidly in health and passed away on the 31st of October, 1916, 
at the hospital in Port Townsend. Mrs. Weir has since lived in Olympia at the 
home of her daughter, Mrs. W^hite. 



JONATHAN JAMES BISHOP. 

Prominent among Jefferson county's native sons is Jonathan James Bishop, 
now serving as county clerk. He was born in Chimacum, May 9, 1870, and is 
a son of William and Hannah (Hutchinson) Bishop, natives of England and 
Scotland respectively. In early life the father joined the English navy and 
served in the Crimean war. On one of his trips to America he resigned on 
reaching Victoria and in 1855 became a resident of Washington, where he fol- 
lowed farming to 1890, when he retired. Here he died in 1906, at the age of 
seventy-two years. The mother of our subject was reared and educated in 
Scotland and Ireland and she, too, became an early settler of Washington, being 
married in Chimacum, January 14, 1868. She passed away in 1902, at the age 
of sixty-five years. In the family were seven children, namely: Thomas G. ; 
William; Mrs. Elizabeth A'an Trojen, deceased; A. A.; Jonathan James; Anna 
M. Hinde; and Amelia Bugge. 

During his boyhood Jonathan James Bishop attended the public schools of 
Chimacum, pursuing his studied under one teacher for ten years. He then 
worked on a ranch for several years and afterward pursued a normal course 
at Coupeville, Washington, graduating in 1892. The following year was de- 
voted to teaching in Chimacum and at the end of that time he entered the law 
department of the University of Michigan, from which he was graduated with 
the LL.B. degree in 1895. Returning to Washington, he located at Port Town- 
send, where he was engaged in practice for a short time but in 1914 was elected 
county clerk and has since filled that office with credit to himself and to the 
entire satisfaction of his constituents. 

On the 2ist of September, 1896, near Ladner, British Columbia, Mr. Bishop 
was united in marriage to Miss Pauline J. Chase, a daughter of John and Mary 
E. (Haskins) Chase, who at one time were well known citzens of Coupeville, 
Washington. The father is now deceased, but the mother is still living and 
makes her home with Mr. and Mrs. Bishop. Our subject and his wife have six 
children, namely: Florence, born in Port Townsend, June 8, 1897; Maizie, who 
was born September 15, 1899, and is now attending the State School for 
Defective Youth at Medical Lake; Prentiss C, who was born January 13, 1902, 
and is attending high school in Port Townsend; Myron J., born August 2, 1905, 
and Wilbert R., born July 30, 1910, both in school at Port Townsend; and Vinton 
Chase, born November 3, 1916. 

Mr. Bishop is probably one of the best known county ofiicials in Jefferson 



18 WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 

county and he enjoys the confidence and respect of the entire community. He 
has filled the office of notary public and by his ballot always supports the men 
and measures of the rejniblican party. He is a member of the Native Sons of 
Washington, the Woodmen of the World and the Women of Woodcraft. 



FRANCIS W. BROOKS. 

Francis W. Brooks was born in Burlington, Iowa, March 27, 1862, the 
son of Francis W. Brooks, a native of New York, who went to Iowa in 1840, 
established the first bank in that state at Burlington and there continued in the 
banking business up to the time of his death in 1869. Francis W. Brooks, Sr., 
was married to Harriet C. Beach, a native of New York. She died in Burlington 
in her seventy-sixth year in 1910. 

Francis W. Brooks, the son, was educated at Lawrenceville and in 1879 
entered the employ of the Union National Bank of Chicago. He later removed 
to Aberdeen, South Dakota, where he was associated with J. Q. A. Braden and 
John T. McChesney in the Brown County Bank and later was cashier of the 
Aberdeen National Bank. 

In 1900 Mr. Brooks removed to Everett where, in connection with Messrs. 
Tenant and Bickelhaupt, he built the Everett Flour Mill and was actively identi- 
fied in the management and operation of this plant for two years, until its sale 
to other interests. He then entered the American National Bank, and later the 
Everett Trust & Savings Bank, in which he held the position of Cashier from its 
inception up to the time of his death. August 2'j, 1916. He was a courteous and 
obliging official and his comprehensive knowledge of the banking business and 
his marked ability in this direction contributed in a large measure to the success 
of the institution. 

In 1887 in Burlington, Iowa. Mr. Brooks was married to Miss Jessie L. Hay- 
Jen, daughter of William F. and Susan Hayden, who were early settlers in Bur- 
lington. He was treasurer of the Everett Golf and Countr}^ Club and president 
of the Cascade Club. He is survived by his widow and one daughter, Mrs. Don- 
ald C. Barnes. 



OLAF CARLSON. 



Olaf Carlson, president of the C-B Lumber & Shingle Company and a director 
of the Citizens Bank & Trust Company of Everett, was born in Gottenburg. 
Sweden, on the 30th of November, i860. His father. Carl Elis Anderson, also 
a native of that country, was a sea captain throughout his entire life and passed 
away in Sweden in 1870, at the age of forty-eight years. The mother, Mrs. 
Justina Anderson, died in Sweden about 1880. Of the six children of the family 
one passed away in infancy, while three are yet living. 

Olaf Carlson, who was the fourth in order of birth, pursued his education 
in the schools of his native country to the age of eighteen years and in 1881 



WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 19 

came to the new world, making his way at once to Portland, Oregon, where he 
arrived with a cash capital of eighty dollars, but this was stolen from him in a 
hotel during his first week's stay there. He secured employment at gardening 
for C. A. Prescott at a wage of twenty-five dollars per month and board. His 
residence in Washington dates from the spring of 1887, at which time he located 
in Tacoma, where with his two brothers, August and David Carlson, and his 
two cousins, Andrew Johnson and Carl Johnson, he entered the sawmill busi- 
ness, which they successfully conducted for ten years and at the same time 
engaged in the manufacture of shingles. Later Olaf Carlson purchased a half 
interest in the Young Lumber Company, shingle manufacturers of Tacoma, at 
which time the name was changed to Carlson Brothers. After the destruction 
of the plant by fire they erected the first upright shingle mill on the coast and 
they were obliged to send to California to secure men experienced in the opera- 
tion of such a mill. Theirs was also the first mill to operate without a knee 
bolter, cutting the raw timber, which method is now universal. In Tacoma they 
built a large lumber mill, cutting eighty thousand feet per day. After conduct- 
ing that mill for four years they sold out and the Carlson Brothers became 
connected with E. G. McNeely & Company of Tacoma in the operation of their 
plant at Everett. After two years the business was burned down, at the end of 
which time Mr. Carlson purchased the interest of Mr. McNeely in the business 
and established an upright shingle mill on the old property. This he continued 
to operate until 191 2, when he sold the plant to the Shull Lumber Company. 
He then took a trip to Europe, visiting his old home and the principal countries 
on the continent. 

Upon his return to the new world he became associated with lumber inter- 
ests as the head of the C-B Lumber & Shingle Company, Incorporated, at Everett, 
of which he is the president, with W. R. Cunningham, Jr., as vice president and 
George A. Bergstrom as secretary and treasurer. The business was originally 
established in 1909 south of Monroe, on the Snocjualmie river, by his two part- 
ners, who engaged in the manufacture of shingles under the name of the C-B 
Shingle Company, Incorporated. The plant embraced a six-machine mill and 
employment was originally given to thirty people, while the average output was 
two hundred and twenty-five thousand feet per day. The business was con- 
ducted at Monroe until 1914, when the company was reorganized and a removal 
was made to Everett, a location being secured on the tide flats at Ninth and 
Bayside. The capacity was increased to a ten-machine mill, with an output of 
four hundred thousand feet, and Mr. Carlson became identified with the new 
organization, of which he was elected president. This was the first completely 
electrically driven shingle mill in the world. The present plant covers twenty 
acres and employment is furnished to forty-five men, while the manufactured 
product is being shipped to all parts of the world. Another important feature 
of the plant and one which is the company's own design is a blower system, 
resulting in the separation of the fine and coarse dust and thereby increasing 
the efficiency of the men. In fact theirs is the most modern mill equipment of 
the kind in the world. The machinery is of the very latest design, embracing all 
of the most modern improvements, their business largely setting the standard 
of progressiveness in their field. Mr. Bergstrom, who is the secretary and treas- 
urer, is also president of the Mukilteo Shingle Company, located at Mukilteo, 



20 WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 

Washington, having a six-machine plant, and he is the secretary and treasurer 
of the Pacific Timber Company of Everett, Washington. It will thus be seen 
that the partners are men of broad experience and extensive business connec- 
tions. In addition to his lumber interests Mr. Carlson is a director of the 
Citizens Bank & Trust Company of Everett. 

On the 13th of June, 1891, in Tacoma, Mr. Carlson was married to Miss 
Ellen Caroline Nelson, a native of Sweden and a daughter of Gust Nelson. Their 
five children are: Edward W., who is associated with the C-B Lumber & Shin- 
gle Company as stenographer ; Nettie E. ; Esther Alma ; Evelyn, and Julia C. 
The family residence at No. 1722 Rucker avenue is one of the finest homes in 
:he city and stands on the best improved block in Everett. 

Politically ]\Ir. Carlson is a republican where national issues are involved 
but casts an independent local ballot. In 191 1 he was elected a member of the 
city council, but six months later the commission form of government w^as voted 
in and thus his term was brought to a close. He belongs to the Commercial 
Club and is at all times in sympathy with its progressive movements for the 
upbuilding of the city, the extension of its trade relations and the establishment 
of higher civic standards. He belongs to the Modern Woodmen of America 
and the Benevolent Protective Order of Elks and his religious faith is that of 
the Lutheran church. He has justly won the proud American title of a self- 
made man. for his success is attributable entirely to his own efiforts, perseverance 
and capability. A thoughtful review of his life record will clearly indicate the 
fact that he has always been foremost in the adoption of methods to improve 
his business, taking an initiative step along many lines. In fact he has ever 
been a leader, not a follower, and his orderly progression has brought him to 
a place of distinction and of success. 



CHARLES XAVIER LARRABEE. 

The specific and distinctive office of biography is not to give voice to a man's 
modest estimate of himself and his accomplishments but rather to leave a per- 
petual record establishing his character by the consensus of opinion on the part 
of his fellowmen. Throughout r>ellingham and throughout Washington Charles 
Xavier Larrabee is spoken of in terms of admiration and respect. His life was 
so varied in its activity, so honorable in its purposes, so far-reaching and bene- 
ficial in its effects that it became an integral part of the history of his city and 
left its impress upon the annals of the state. He was in no sense a man in public 
life, in fact he shunned notoriety and publicity, but nevertheless he exerted an 
immeasurable influence on the city of his residence in relation to its material, 
intellectual and moral progress, and Bellingham's history without his life record 
would be as the story of Hamlet with the leading character omitted. 

Born in Portville, Cattaraugus county. New York, on the 19th of November, 
1843, ^le was the son of a merchant, who about 1850 removed with his family 
to Wisconsin, where his death occurred when his two sons, S. E. and C. X. 
Larrabee, were but young lads. They inherited from their father no patrimony 
but an honorable name. They had been students in the village school at Amro, 




CHARLES X. LARRABEE 



.;. TH-E NEW YORK 
PUBLIC UBRARY 



ASTOR, LENOX 
Tfl-DEN FOUNDATION 



WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 23 

and had mastered little more than the rudiments of a common school educa- 
tion when the necessity of providing for their own support and that of their 
widowed mother devolved upon them. The mother, however, encouraged the 
boys to make every possible advance along educational lines, so that when still 
in his teens, or in 1862, at the age of nineteen, Charles X. Larrabee had quali- 
fied for teaching and secured a school, devoting four winter terms to that pro- 
fession. He felt that he owed a duty to his country, then engaged in civil war, 
but a still greater duty to his widowed mother. All of his hard-earned savings 
he gave to a substitute, who represented him at the front, and he started anew 
to earn a living. Throughout the years of his early manhood he faced hard- 
ships and difficulties but they seemed only to call forth greater courage and 
determination on his part. He used his opportunities wisely and well, recog- 
nizing at the outset that he must depend entirely upon his own resources and 
that he must take advantage of every chance. He left Wisconsin for Montana 
in 1875 and in that state turned his attention to ranching and mining, his close 
application and clarity of vision in business matters soon gaining for him a sub- 
stantial measure of success that placed him in a position of leadership in the 
lines of business in which he was engaged. He sank the shaft of the famous 
Anaconda mine forty feet for a half interest in the mine and after selling that 
property he located and developed the St. Lawrence mine, which he later sold. 
His greatest achievement in mining was the discovery and development of the 
Mountain View copper mine at Butte City. 

In 1887, after a residence of twelve years in Montana, he disposed of the 
greater part of his mining interests in that' feta'te -bui retained the ownership of 
his extensive cattle and horse ranch. At that da:te he removed to Portland, 
Oregon, where in connection with his brother he purchased the HoUaday estate, 
a part of which lay within the corporation limits, of Portland, on the east bank 
of the Willamette river. About the same time he became the owner of a large 
interest in the Fairhaven Land Company. His residence on Bellingham bay 
dated from 1890 and from that time forward until his death almost a quarter 
of a century later he was closely associated with many of the business interests 
which have led to the substantial development and progress of the city. He was 
one of the builders of the Fairhaven & Southern Railroad and became vice 
president of the company, while later he was elected president. He owned a 
majority of the stock but eventually sold the road to the Great Northern Com- 
pany. He continued his business connections through investments in Montana, 
Oregon and Washington. He was at one time part owner of the Bellingham 
Herald and was ever one of its stanchest supporters when financial aid was 
needed. He became the possessor of valuable mining and ranch property, tim- 
ber lands and city and suburban realty in the three states mentioned and the 
wisdom of his judgment in business affairs and the keenness of his vision were 
indicated in many of his transactions, particularly in his purchase of the Holla- 
day estate, which became the very center of the east side residence district of 
Portland and increased rapidly in value with the substantial growth of the city. 
He became the president of the Oregon Real Estate Company, president of the 
Pacific Realty Company, vice president of the Northwestern National Bank and 
of the Northwestern State Bank, and he was the owner of stock in many other 
important corporations, in which he would accept no office. 



Vol. II— 2 



24 WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 

In 1892, in St. Louis, Missouri, Air. Larrabee was united in marriage to 
Miss Frances Payne and to them were born three sons and a daughter : Charles 
Francis, whose advanced studies were pursued in Reed College at Portland; 
Edward Payne; Mary Adele; and Benjamin Howard. 

While the business interests of Mr. Larrabee made him a most valued factor 
in various communities, he did not feel that this comprised his duty to his home 
city and to an extent far greater than that of the majority of men he aided in 
the upbuilding of Bellingham and its interests. A local paper said : "He had 
been most lavish in his liberal provisions and donations, actuated by keen- 
sighted benevolence. The children and youth especially were beneficiaries in 
the plans of his past philanthropies and those which he was contemplating for 
the future." Just a few weeks before his death, which occurred September 16, 
1914, he gave in the name of his wife to the Young Women's Christian Asso- 
ciation a building costing forty thousand dollars and he was a most generous 
supporter of the Young Men's Christian Association. He contributed liberally 
for campaign purposes to the republican party and was regarded as one of its 
wise counselors, but the honors and emoluments of office had no attraction for 
him. He endorsed all those purifying and wholesome measures and reforms 
which have been growing up in the political life of the country and which today 
are common to both parties. In a word, while never seeking to occupy a posi- 
tion before the public and in fact shunning publicity, he nevertheless did so 
great a work for Bellingham and the state that his name has become an integral 
part of its history. Because of the innate refinement of his nature he opposed 
everything common and the universality of his friendships interprets for us his 
intellectual hospitality and the breadth of his sympathy, for nothing was foreign 
to him that concerned his fellowmen. 



REV. DANIEL BAGLEY. 

Rev. Daniel Bagley was born September 7, 1818, in Crawford county, Penn- 
sylvania, and died in Seattle April 26, 1905. His wife, Susannah Rogers 
Whipple, was born in Massachusetts, May 8, 1819. While she was a small 
child her parents moved into western Pennsylvania, near Meadville, Crawford 
county. This was then a rough and thinly settled region and they grew up 
amid the privations and hardships of pioneer life. Daniel helped his father 
clear the original forest off their farm and shared in the toil that was incident 
to cutting a home out of lands covered with a dense growth of hickory, chestnut, 
birch, maple, etc. 

The young people met while they were yet in their teens and acquaintance 
soon ripened into love, and August 15, 1840, they were made husband and wife. 
A few days later they started for the prairies of Illinois, and there settled on a 
claim near Somanauk. The husband farmed and taught school for two years, 
while the wife performed the household duties of their small and primitive 
cabin. 

In 1842 Mr. Bagley was admitted into the ministry of the Methodist Protes- 
tant church, and for ten years was engaged in active work, nominally being 



WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 25 

stationed at one place each year, but in reality traveling summer and winter from 
the south, near Springfield, to the northern boundaries of the state. Buffalo 
and Indian trails then gridironed the broad and thinly settled prairies, and were 
not succeeded by the iron rails of the early railroads of the state until 1850 
and the decade succeeding. At Princeton, Bureau county, the first home of the 
still young couple was established, and here Mr. Bagley was an active worker 
in the anti-slavery agitation then beginning to arouse the attention and con- 
science of here and there a few of the earnest thinkers of the day. Owen 
Lovejoy's and Mr. Bagley 's churches stood within a few yards of each other, 
and their pastors united in religious and philanthropical work, and time and 
again were their anti-slavery meetings broken up by the pro-slavery roughs of 
the day. 

During the closing years of the '40s and early in the '50s California and 
Oregon attracted a great deal of attention, and the more enterprising of the 
younger generation began the westward movement that has for sixty years 
gone on in an ever swelling tide. In 1852 Rev. Daniel Bagley was chosen by 
the board of missions of his church as missionary to Oregon, which then in- 
cluded the present states of Washington and Idaho and parts of Montana and 
Wyoming. 

Their wagon train left Princeton, Illinois, April 20, 1852, and in it were 
Mr. Bagley and family. Dexter Horton and family, Thomas Mercer and family, 
William H. Shoudy, John Pike and Aaron Mercer and wife. The wives of 
Thomas and Aaron Mercer never reached here, but the others all came to Seattle 
at some period to make their home. 

Those moving to the Pacific coast that year were an army in numbers, so 
that the danger from Indians was not great, but the hardships and sufferings of 
the emigrants were increased. The difficulties of securing water and feed for 
the stock were great and cholera became epidemic. However, the fifteen or 
twenty families of this particular train, after nearly five months of almost 
constant travel, arrived at The Dalles, on the Columbia river, without the loss 
of one of their number and with practically all their wagons and stock. Here 
they separated, only two or three families accompanying Mr. and Mrs. Bagley 
to Salem, Oregon, where they ended their journey September 21, 1852. 

Mr. Bagley at once began active ministerial and missionary work, and 
labored unremittingly in all parts of the Willamette valley the next eight years. 
He established about a score of churches and probably half that number of 
church edifices were built mainly through his instrumentality. This was long 
prior to the advent of telegraphs and railroads and the conveniences and com- 
forts of modern travel. His labors extended from the Umpqua on the south 
to the Columbia river on the north, and it was rare indeed that he remained at 
home twenty days in succession and, in fact, a large part of these eight years 
was employed in itinerant work, traveling through heat and dust, rain, snow, 
mud and floods by day and night, nearly entirely on horseback, so that at forty 
years of age his constitution was greatly impaired by exposure and overwork. 

During all their married life Mrs. Bagley had been an invalid, and in October, 
i860, the family removed from near Salem to this place, hoping the change of 
climate would prove beneficial to both of them. The trip was made entirely 
overland in a buggy — exccDt from Portland to Monticello — and the trip that 



26 WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 

can now be made in as many hours required ten days to accomplish. They 
made the list of families in the village up to an even twenty, 

The unbroken forest began where the Colonial building on Columbia street 
now stands, and at no point was it more than 250 yards from the waters of the 
bay. 

Mr. Bagley was the pioneer minister of his church on Puget Sound and for 
years, covering almost the entire period of the Civil war, was the only clergyman 
stationed in Seattle. 

Rev. David E. Blaine, of the Methodist Episcopal church, had been instru- 
mental in the erection of a church building about 1854 on the present site of 
the Boston block, which remained unplastered or unceiled for ten years or more. 
Here Mr. Bagley and a -small band of worshipers gathered weekly. 

Early in 1865 the historic "Brown church" was built at the corner of Second 
and Madison streets and Mr. Bagley's manual labor and private purse con- 
tributed largely to that work. 

Besides his ministerial duties Mr. Bagley became an active and prominent 
worker in the advancement of the material growth and prosperity of Seattle and 
King county. Largely through the efforts of Hon. Arthur A. Denny, who was 
a member of the legislature of 1860-61, the university was located here, and 
Messrs. Daniel Bagley, John Webster and Edmund Carr were named com- 
missioners. Selling of lands began at once, and in March, 1861, clearing of the 
site and work on the university buildings began. As president of the board of 
commissioners most of the care and responsibility of the sale of lands, erection 
of the buildings, and establishing of scholastic work fell upon ]\Ir. Bagley, and 
during the succeeding three years much of his time was devoted to the university 
interests, and those labors have borne abundant fruits for Seattle and her 
citizens. Just prior to and following the year 1870, the development of what 
are now known as the Newcastle coal mines began. Daniel Bagley, George F. 
Whitworth, Josiah Settle and C. B. Bagley took up the burden of this work, 
which was the first to become commercially successful in the territory. Mr. 
Bagley was the responsible leader and superintendent, and although the com- 
pany then formed was succeeded by a number of others, the credit of the 
opening of this great source of wealth to this county belongs to him and his 
associates. 

Until 1885 he continued as pastor of the church here and after the twentieth 
year in charge of the "Brown church" he resigned that position. After that 
time he did a large amount of ministerial work at Ballard, Columbia, Yesler, 
South Park, etc., continuing down to within a few years of his death. 

Forty-five years he was prominent, active and efficient as a clergyman and 
private citizen. 

Daniel Bagley was a life-long member of the Masonic fraternity, and he was 
the honored chaplain of St. John's Lodge, No. 9, in Seattle, many years. He 
was made a Master Mason in Princeton, Illinois, in 1851. He at once affiliated 
with the lodge in Salem, Oregon, on his arrival there in 1852, and between that 
time and 1856 became a Royal Arch Mason. On making his home in Seattle 
he affiliated with St. John's Lodge and remained a member of that lodge during 
life. He first appeared in Grand Lodge in 1861, and his merits as a Mason are 
attested by the fact that his brethren of the Grand Lodge of Washington elected 



WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 27 

him their most worshipful grand master at the annual communication of that 
year. 

During their later years Mr. Bagley and his wife made their home with 
their son Clarence in Seattle and there Mrs. Bagley died October ii, 1913. 

They repose side by side in Mount Pleasant on Queen Anne Hill. 



C. A. COULTER. 



C. A. Coulter, South Bend's efficient mayor, actuated in all of his public 
service by an vmquestioned fidelity to the general good, is well known in business 
circles as the president of the Coulter Towboat Company. Since xApril, 1890, 
he has made his home in the city where he now resides and that he is one of its 
most honored and popular residents is indicated in the fact that he is now serv- 
ing for the fourth term as chief executive. A native of Illinois, he was born at 
Shawneetown, December 25, 1858, and when only seven years of age accompanied 
his parents on their removal to Cairo, Illinois, where he attended school. He 
afterward took up the blacksmith's and machinist's trades and later was for 
seven years steamship engineer on the Mississippi river. He was also an engin- 
eer for three years on the Ohio river, making trips from Pittsburgh to New 
Orleans, and in April, 1890, he arrived in South Bend. Here he built the tug- 
boats Laurel and Myrtle and also the boilers for his boats. Developing his 
business, he organized the Coulter Towboat Company, of which he became pres- 
ident, with A. J. Burnham. now deceased, as vice president and C. A. Werley 
secretary and treasurer. Mr. Burnham was at one time captain of the Laurel. 
Operating his tugboats, Mr. Coulter has developed a large and important 
business, and while successfully controlling his private interests in that connection 
he has also made investments in several buildings in South Bend, from which 
he derives a handsome annual income. 

In 1890 Mr. Coulter was married to Miss Sallie F. Dyer, of Evansville, 
Indiana, but a native of Kentucky. The children of this marriage are : Dan F., 
now of South Bend; Mary L., the wife of Earle Floyd, of South Bend; C. A., 
Jr., who is a clerk in Drissler & Albright's hardware store; and Laura Isabelle, 
in school. 

His fellow townsmen, recognizing his worth and ability, have frequently 
called Mr. Coulter to fill public offices. He served as a member of the city 
council for nine years and while on the council served as mayor. He headed 
the movement to replace the planked streets with cement paving and also was 
active in instituting the movement resulting in the building of new sidewalks and 
the installation of a new sewer system. To accomplish this public improvement 
work the city was bonded for seven hundred and fifty thousand dollars, all of 
which is now practically paid off and the city is on a cash basis. His fourth 
election to the office of mayor indicates most clearly Mr. Coulter's standing in 
public regard. He is held in the highest esteem by all who know him and even 
those opposed to him politically recognize the value and worth of his service as 
an official and his marked devotion to the public good; He was one of the stock- 
holders and organizers of the Commercial Club, which is today out of debt and 



28 WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 

which makes its club house the headquarters for all conventions. He has always 
been a stalwart democrat but never sacrifices the public good to partisanship 
nor places the aggrandizement of self before the general welfare. Fraternally 
he is connected with the Knights of Pythias and the Modern Woodmen of 
America, while his religious faith is evidenced by his membership in the Presby- 
terian church. Those who know him, and he has a wide acquaintance, entertain 
for him the highest regard and his fellow townsmen are proud to be numbered 
among his friends. 



PHILIP J. MOURANT. 

In an enumeration of the specific forces which have contributed to the up- 
building of Hoquiam and southwestern Washington mention must be made of 
the Grays Harbor Construction Company, of which Philip J. Mourant was one 
of the founders and is the president. Their operations along building lines have 
been extensive, making theirs one of the leading features in the substantial up- 
building of the Grays Harbor district. His associates in business and those 
who have watched his career speak of Mr. Mourant as a most resourceful and 
enterprising man who seems to discriminate readily between the essential and 
the nonessential and utilizes each force within his control to the best possible 
advantage. 

He was born in Quebec, Canada, in 1867, and was but four years of age when 
taken by his parents to Wisconsin, where he resided from 1871 until 1887. Dur- 
ing the period of his youth there passed he learned the carpenter's trade and 
when twenty years of age responded to the call of the west, making his way 
to Vancouver, Washington, where he engaged in carpentering until 1889. In 
that year he went to Hoquiam, where he was engaged in the erection of the 
mill of the Hoquiam Sash & Door Company. At that time the only industry 
in the city was the small mill of the North Western Lumber Company and in 
providing a site for the sash and door factory Mr. Mourant tore down the old 
James residence, which was the first schoolhouse in Hoquiam. So excellent was 
his work in the erection of the factory that he was accorded the contract for the 
building of the Bay \'iew Hotel, also the Pomona Hotel and the Acteson home. 
In 1893 he took up contract work as a member of the firm of Mourant & Brisco, 
which firm erected many of the early residences, most of which were frame 
buildings. When Mr. Brisco went to Mexico in 1898 he was succeeded in the 
partnership by Milton L. Watson, who has since been identified with the com- 
pany. At that point in its histor>^ the company broadened its scope, taking on 
several large contracts, including that for the construction of the plant of the 
Grays Harbor Lumber Company and for the National Lumber & Box Company. 
In 1904 Messrs. Mourant and Watson were joined by James T. Quigg and in 
1907 the Grays Harbor Construction Company was incorporated. 

Again the scope of its activities was broadened and the paving business was 
included in 1914, and some of the finest pavements in the northwest have been 
laid by this company, including paving in Aberdeen and Everett. The plant 
of the company is large and splendidly equipped. They are engaged in the build- 



WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 29 

ing of mills and bridges and also take contracts for pile driving, dredging and 
similar work. Aside from the structures already mentioned as erected by this 
company, they are well known as the builders of the Woodlawn Mill & Boom 
Company plant, the mill of the Bridal Veil Lumber Company at Bridal Veil, 
Oregon, the Lytle block at Hoquiam, the Emerson building, the Hicks building, 
the Foster block, the Washington and Lincoln schools and the Stearns and 
Lytle residences. They built the county bridge over the Chehalis river and built 
the government wharf and trestle for the government jetty in the harbor and 
are handling all the rock which is being used by the government there. The 
company owns large bunkers at Hoquiam, together with a fleet of scows and 
two tugs, the Manette and Hunter. In fact the equipment of the Grays Harbor 
Construction Company is the best and most complete in this part of the country 
and represents an expenditure of many thousands of dollars — an expenditure 
which indicates their faith in the future of the city and in the development of 
western Washington. In addition to his other interests Mr. Mourant has been 
vice president of the Rychard Grocery Company and was also a stockholder in 
the Hoquiam Trust Company. 

In 1 891 Mr. Mourant was married in Hopetown, Canada, to Miss Lydia A. 
Ross, a native of Canada, and they have one child, Ethel. Fraternally Mr. 
Mourant is an Elk, and at this writing, in 1916, is exalted ruler of his lodge. 
He is also connected with the Eagles and the United Workmen. In politics he 
is an independent democrat and served as mayor of the city in 1910 and previous 
to that time as a member of the city council, giving active aid in office and out 
of it to every measure or movement which he deems of value in the public life 
of the community. He is a man of resolute purpose who never falls short of 
the accomplishment of a task to which he sets himself and his developing powers 
are indicated in the constant growth of his business, which is now of an extensive 
and important character. 



FRANK CARLETON TECK. 

Frank Carleton Teck, newspaper and magazine writer, poet and literary critic, 
living at Port Angeles, was born in Northfield, Minnesota, November 12, 1869, 
and the public schools of Shieldsville and of Minneapolis, Minnesota, afiforded 
him his educational opportunities. The broad field of reading, however, is ever 
open to the individual if he has the taste and inclination to delve therein and 
Mr. Teck has never failed to embrace his opportunities in that direction. His 
initial step in the business world was made as a newspaper reporter and the years 
have brought him through successive stages to his present high standing as a 
newspaper and magazine writer, to which work he has devoted the greater part 
of his attention since January, 1889, or during the entire period of his residence 
in western Washington. He was a writer of verse and literary criticism for 
magazines for fifteen years prior to 1907, while living in Bellingham. He has 
brought forth one brochure of verses, "Under Western Skies," and he has been 
poet of the Washington State Press Association two or three times. He has 
been city editor and editor of several Bellingham newspapers at different times, 



30 WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 

also editor of the Seattle Town Crier, the Anacortes American, the Pacific Motor 
Boat and the Pacific Fisherman and has been staff writer on the Pacific Monthly 
and Sunset. 

The scope of Mr. Teck's activities is further indicated in the fact that he 
was secretary of the Bellingham Chamber of Commerce from 1904 until 1907 
inclusive and since the ist of August, 1914, has been secretary of the Port 
Angeles Commercial Club. On the organization of the Washington Federation 
of Commercial Organizations in Everett, May 6, 191 5, he was chosen secretary- 
treasurer and so continued until October 6, 191 6, when, he was elected vice 
president. 

On the 3d of November, 1895, at Bellingham, Air. Teck was married to Miss 
Daisy Bell, a daughter of Captain and Mrs. J. J. Bell, of that city. Her father 
was formerly sheriff of Whatcom county and .her brother, Raymond R. Bell, 
is a well known northwest theatrical manager. 

Mr. Teck has joined but one lodge, the Elks, having membership at Belling- 
ham for many years, while at present he is connected with Naval Lodge, No. 
353, of Port Angeles. His military experience covers eight years with Company 
F of the First Infantry Regiment of the National Guard of Washington at Bell- 
ingham, of which he was successively private, first sergeant and second and first 
lieutenant. He was also a trustee of the Bellingham State Normal School from 
March, 1899, until June, 1905, when he was retired at his own request. 



WILLIAM L. ADAMS. 



William L. Adams, since 1903 president of the First National Bank of 
Hoquiam, w-as born in Berwick, Pennsylvania, May 27, i860, a son of Enos 
L. and Margaret (Kisner) Adams. The genealogy of the family is complete 
back in direct line to John Adams, of East Friesland, who was born prior to the 
year 1400. The ancestors of all four grandparents of William L. Adams were 
early settlers of eastern Pennsylvania or New Jersey and four of his ancestors 
served in the Revolutionary war. 

Provided with liberal educational advantages, William L. Adams was grad- 
uated from Mount Union College at Alliance, Ohio, with the degree of Bachelor 
of Philosophy in i88t. The following year he engaged in sheep ranching in 
western Texas, he being one of the first to sink wells and run sheep on the staked 
plains of Texas. In 1882 he was called to the position of county commissioner of 
Mitchell county, Texas, which offtce he filled for three years, and from 1885 to 
1888 he was county assessor of Alidland county, Texas. 

In the latter year Mr. Adams was married at Fort Worth. Texas, to Miss 
Elizabeth A. Davis, who was born at Colon. Michigan, a daughter of Willis G. and 
Adelia (Anderson) Davis, and was graduated from the Michigan Seminary at 
. Kalamazoo. They became residents of Washington in 1888 while it was still 
under territorial rule, settling at Hoquiam on the 12th of March, 1890. There 
they reared their family but their first born, a son, Ralph, died at Ellensburg in 
infancy. The others are : Gaylord, who married Leal Stevenson and is assistant 
cashier in the First National Bank of Hoquiam; Gwenivere, a graduate of Vassar 




WILLIAM L. ADAMS 



THE NEW YORK 
PUBLIC UBRARY 



ASTOR, LENOX 
TILDEN FOUNDATION 



WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 33 

College, class of 191 5 ; Elizabeth, a graduate of Mount Vernon Seminary at Wash- 
ington, D. C, class of 1917; and William L., Jr., who was born in 1907, on his 
father's birthday. 

Throughout the period of his residence in Hoquiam Air. Adams has been 
actively and prominently connected with its interests and its development. He 
organized the Hoquiam high school in 1890 and graduated its first class in 1892. 
His identification with the banking business dates from February i, 1893, when he 
became cashier of the Hoquiam National Bank. A few months later he took the 
init'ative in the project to consolidate the business of the Hoquiam National Bank 
with that of the First National. The consolidation was consummated on July 
i8th in the very teeth of the panic of 1893. The title and charter of the First 
National Bank were retained and for ten years he was cashier of the First National 
Bank, at the end of which time he was elected to the presidency, in wdiich position 
of executive control he has now^ continued for fourteen years. His position in 
banking circles is indicated in the fact that he was honored with the presidency of 
the Washington State Bankers Association in 1908-9. He is also interested finan- 
cially in timber and lumbering, being at this time president of the Keystone Tim- 
ber Company and vice president of the Grays Harbor Lumber Company. 

Mr. Adams was the organizer and is the president of the Hoquiam Chapter 
of the Sons of the American Revolution. He is prominent in Masonry as a mem- 
ber of the Scottish Rite and the Mystic Shrine ; he belongs to the Elks lodge and 
is a member of the Grays Harbor Country Club and the Delta Tau Delta frater- 
nity. His religious faith is that of the Episcopal church, while his political views 
are indicated in his endorsement of the principles and measures of the republican 
party. He makes his home at the corner of Hill avenue and Center street in 
Hoquiam and for a quarter of a century has been regarded as one of its most 
valuable and distinguished citizens. 



JOHN LEARY 



John Leary was one of the early mayors of Seattle and a pioneer lawyer but 
retired from his profession to enter upon business pursuits and became an active 
factor in the upbuilding of the city. He was closely associated with ever in- 
creasing activities of larger scope and far-reaching effect and Seattle has had no 
more enterprising citizen, so that no history of the city would be complete without 
extended reference to him. 

Mr. Leary was a native of New Brunswick, his birth having occurred at 
St. John, November i, 1837. Early in life he started in the business world on 
his own account and soon developed unusual aptitude for business and a genius 
for the successful creation and management of large enterprises. His initial 
efforts were along the line of the lumber trade and "he became an extensive man- 
ufacturer and shipper of lumber, to which business he devoted his energies 
between the years 1854 and 1867. He also conducted an extensive general 
mercantile establishment in his native town and also at Woodstock, New Bruns- 
wick. Prosperity had attended his efforts, enabling him to win a modest fortune. 



34 WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 

but the repeal of the reciprocity treaty between the United States and Canada 
resulted in losses for him. Crossing the border into Maine, he conducted a lum- 
ber business at Houlton, that state, for some time, but the Puget Sound country 
was fast coming to the front as a great lumber center and he resolved to become 
one of the operators in the new field. 

Mr. Leary reached Seattle in 1869, finding a little frontier village with a 
population of about one thousand. Keen sagacity enabled him to recognize the 
prospect for future business conditions and from that time forward until his 
death he was a cooperant factor in measures and movements resulting largely 
to the benefit and upbuilding of the city as well as proving a source of substantial 
profit for himself. In 1871 he was admitted to the bar and entered upon active 
practice as junior partner in the law firm of McNaught & Leary, which associa- 
tion was maintained until 1878, when he became a member of the firm of Struve, 
Haines & Leary. Four years later, however, he retired from active law practice 
and became a factor in the management of gigantic commercial and public enter- 
prises which have led not only to the improvement of the city but also to the 
development of the surrounding country. In the meantime, however, he had 
served for several terms as a member of the city council of Seattle and in 1884 
was elected mayor. His was a notable administration during the formative period 
in the city's history and he exercised his official prerogatives in such a manner 
that the public welfare was greatly promoted and in all that he did he looked 
beyond the exigencies of the present to the opportunities and possibilities of the 
future. The position of mayor was not a salaried one at that time, but he gave 
much time and thought to the direction of municipal affairs and while serving 
was instrumental in having First avenue, then a mud hole, improved and planked. 
He was the first mayor to keep regular office hours and thoroughly systematized 
municipal interests. Through the conduct and direction of important business 
enterprises his work was perhaps of even greater value to Seattle. A contempo- 
rary historian said in this connection : 

"When he came to Seattle none of the important enterprises which have made 
possible its present greatness had been inaugurated. The most vital period of the 
city's history had just begun. Only men of the keenest foresight anticipated and 
prepared for a struggle, the issue of which meant the very existence of the city 
itself. No city so richly endowed by nature ever stood in such need of strong, 
brave- and sagacious men. Mr. Leary was among the first to outline a course 
of action such as would preserve the supremacy of Seattle, and with characteristic 
energy and foresight he threw himself into the work. A natural leader, he was 
soon at the head of all that was going on. A pioneer among pioneers, it fell to his 
lot to blaze the way for what time has proven to have been a wise and well directed 
move. When the Northern Pacific Railroad Company sought to ignore and 
possibly to commercially destroy Seattle, Mr. Leary became a leader of resolute 
men who heroically undertook to build up the city independently of the opposition 
of this powerful corporation. To this end the Seattle & Walla Walla Railroad 
was built, an enterprise which at that time served a most useful purpose in restor- 
ing confidence in the business future of the city, and which has ever since been 
a source of large revenue to the place. Throughout the entire struggle, which 
involved the very existence of Seattle, Mr. Leary was most actively engaged, 
and to his labors, his counsel and his means the city is indeed greatly indebted." 



WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 35 

In 1872 Mr. Leary turned his attention to the development of the coal fields 
of this locality, opening and operating the Talbot mine in connection with John 
Collins. He was instrumental in organizing a company for supplying the city 
with gas and served as its president until 1878, thus being closely identified with 
the early material development of his community. His enterprise also resulted 
in the establishment of the waterworks system and along these and many other 
lines his efforts were so directed that splendid benefits resulted to the city. In 
fact, he was one of the men who laid the foundations for the future growth and 
importance of Seattle. It was he who made known to the world the resources 
of the city in iron and coal. Between the years 1878 and 1880 he had exploring 
parties out all along the west coast to Cape Flattery and on the Skagit and Similki- 
meen rivers, also through the Mount Baker district and several counties in eastern 
Washington. His explorations proved conclusively that western Washington was 
rich in coal and iron, while here and there valuable deposits of precious metals were 
to be found. The value of Mr. Leary's work to the state in this connection cannot 
be overestimated, as he performed a work the expense of which is usually borne 
by the commonwealths themselves. Another phase of his activity reached into 
the field of journalism. In 1882 he became principal owner of the Seattle Post, 
now consolidated with the Intelligencer under the style of the Post-Intelligencer. 
He brought about the amalgamation of the morning papers and erected what was 
known as the Post building, one of the best of the early business blocks of the 
city. In 1883 he was associated with Mr. Yesler in the erection of the Yesler- 
Leary block at a cost of more than one hundred thousand dollars, but this build- 
ing, which was then the finest in the city, was destroyed by the great fire of 
Tune, 1889. One can never measure the full extent of Mr. Leary's efforts, for 
his activity touched almost every line leading to public progress. He was active 
in the establishment of the Alaska Mail service, resulting in the development 
of important trade connections between that country and Seattle. He was elected 
to the presidency of the Chamber of Commerce, which he had aided in organiz- 
ing, and he also became president of the Seattle Land & Improvement Company 
and of the West Coast Improvement Company and the Seattle Warehouse & 
Elevator Company. He was on the directorate of the Seattle, Lake Shore & 
Eastern Railway Company, was one of the directors of the West Street & North 
End Electric Railway Company, which he aided in organizing, and was likewise 
a promoter and director of the James Street & Broadway Cable & Electric line. 
In financial circles he figured prominently as president of the Seattle National 
Bank but was compelled to resign that position on account of the demands of 
other business interests. In February, 1891, he organized the Columbia River 
& Puget Sound Navigation Company, capitalized for five hundred thousand 
dollars, in which he held one-fifth of the stock. That company owned the steam- 
ers Telephone, Fleetwood, Bailey Gatzert, Floyd and other vessels operating be- 
tween Puget Sound and Victoria. Ere his death a biographer wrote of him: 

"It is a characteristic' of Mr. Leary's make-up that he moves on large lines 
and is never so happy as when at the head of some great business enterprise. 
His very presence is stimulating. Bouyant and hopeful by nature, he imparts 
his own enthusiasm to those around him. Pie has not overlooked the importance 
of manufacturing interests to a city like Seattle, and over and over again has 
encouraged and aided, often at a personal loss, in the establishment of manufac- 



36 WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 

turing enterprises, having in this regard probably done more than any other citizen 
of Seattle. He has ever recognized and acted on the principle that property 
has its duties as well as rights, and that one of its prime duties is to aid and 
build up the community where the possessor has made his wealth. There are few 
men in the city, therefore, who, in the course of the last twenty years, have aided 
in giving employment to a larger number of men than ]\Ir. Leary, or whose indi- 
vidual eft'orts have contributed more of good to the general prosperity of 
Seattle." 

On the 2ist of April. 1892, Mr. Leary wedded Eliza P. Ferry, a daughter of 
the late Governor Elisha P. Ferry. Their happy married life was terminated 
in his death on the 9th of February, 1905, at which time he left an estate valued 
at about two million dollars. He practically retired from active business about 
1893. After his death the estate built upon the site of his old home the Leary- 
Ferry building. 

Mr. Leary was a man of most generous spirit, giving freely in charity to 
worthy individuals and to important ptiblic enterprises. He built the finest resi- 
dence in Seattle just before his death and took great pleasure in planning and 
erecting the home, but did not live to occupy it. He might be termed a man of 
large efficiency, of large purpose and larger action. He looked at no question 
from a narrow or contracted standpoint, but had a broad vision of conditions, 
opportunities and advantages. His life was never self-centered but reached 
out along all those lines which lead to municipal progress and public benefit. His 
work has not yet reached its full fruition but, like the constantly broadening 
ripple on the surface of the water, its efi'ect is still felt in the upbuilding and 
improvement of the city. ]\Irs. Leary still makes her home in Seattle and is very 
active in charitable w'ork and in club circles, being identified with many women's 
clubs. Mr. Leary was also president of the Rainier Club, the leading social 
organization of Seattle, and those who came in contact with him entertained 
for him the warmest friendship, the highest admiration and the greatest esteem. 
His was a life in which merit brought him to the front and made him a leader 
of men. 



EDWARD C. MOXY. 



A spirit of energy and enterprise has actuated Edward C. Mony at every 
point in his business career and gained for him prominence as the secretary and 
treasurer of the Everett Improvement Company. He was born in Mackford, 
Green Lake county, Wisconsin, August 19, 1864, a son of Alexander Mony, who 
was a native of Pennsylvania but of Irish lineage and in the year 1848 removed 
to Wisconsin, becoming one of the pioneer farmers of that state. His wife was 
a native of Canada and was of Scotch descent. 

Edward C. Mony attended the public schools of his native town and after- 
wards attended a business college at St. Paul, Minnesota. His early life was 
spent upon the home farm and in early manhood he taught school. He next 
entered a law office but after a brief period accepted a position in the general 
offices of the Chicago, ^Milwaukee & St. Paul Railroad Company. He was also 



WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 37 

employed for a short time by the Wisconsin Central. He became interested in 
the west and made his way to Washington, settHng at Hoquiam in the spring 
of 1890. He worked there for the real estate firm of Heermans, Congdon & 
Company for two years, during which period he gained comprehensive knowl- 
edge of the real estate business. In March, 1892, he removed to Everett when 
the city had a population of but a few thousand people. He immediately secured 
a position with the Everett Land Company and continued with that organization 
and its successor, the Everett Improvement Company, becoming secretary and 
treasurer of the latter company. In this field he has operated extensively and 
successfully and is regarded as one of the foremost real estate men of Everett, 
thoroughly conversant with values and with the property that is upon the mar- 
ket. This company has negotiated many important realty transfers and his 
opinions upon any question are largely accepted as authority. Extending his 
business efl^orts into other connections, Mr. Mony is now secretary and treas- 
urer of the Everett Railway, Light & Water Company and secretary of the Everett 
Dock & Warehouse Company and also of the Everett Theatre Company. 

On the 2d of June. 1897. in Everett, Mr. Mony was united in marriage to 
Miss Stella Cougill, a native of San Jose, California. They have two children, 
namely, Robert C, and ^Mary Louise. The family residence is at No. 2326 
Rucker avenue. 

Mr. and Airs. Alony are members of the Everett Golf and Country Club. He 
is also identified with Everett Lodge, No. 479, B. P. O. E., with the Everett 
Commercial Club and the Cascade Club, and his political allegiance is given to 
the republican party, which finds in him a stalwart champion because of his 
earnest belief in its principles. He had no financial assistance on starting out in 
life for himself and has won whatever success he has achieved at the price of 
earnest, self-denying efi^ort, his record proving what may be accomplished through 
close application, persistent energy and indefatigable industry. 



PRESTON M. TROY. 



Preston AI. Troy is now dividing his energies between the aft'airs of the 
Olympia National Bank, of which he is president, and the practice of law. For 
a number of years he has been a member of the bar at Olympia and has gained 
a place of leadership in his profession. He has also long been prominent in the 
councils of the democratic party of the state and served as a delegate to the 
national convention at Baltimore in 19 12. He was born in Dungeness, Wash- 
ington, January 22, 1867, and is a son of Smith and Laura B. Troy. His father 
was born in Washington county, Pennsylvania, June 4, 1833, and after attending 
the public schools was a student in the Washington and Jeft'erson College. On 
beginning his independent career he engaged in the coal business on the Missis- 
sippi river but in 1849 went to the gold fields of California, going from Texas 
through Mexico to the coast. From San Francisco he i)roceeded to the Placer- 
ville mines, where he prospected and also took an active part in politics. In 1852 
he drifted north to the Rogue River valley of Oregon, where he engaged in 
mining for a number of years. There he also participated in political affairs and 



38 WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 

was a member of the first state democratic convention held in Oregon. In i860 
he joined the rush to the Cariboo mines in British Columbia, where he remained 
until 1863, when he returned to the States and settled on land which is now- 
included in the town of Dungeness. There he turned his attention to agricultural 
pursuits, but his fellow citizens, recognizing his ability and faithfulness, time 
and algain called him to public office. For twelve years he was superintendent 
of schools of Clallam county, for a long period was a member of the board of 
county commissioners, in 1889 was elected county auditor and for two terms was 
a member of the legislature, representing Clallam and San Juan counties in the 
lower house for one term in the territorial period, and representing Clallam 
county in the second state legislature. His advice was often sought on political 
questions and he did much to secure the success of his party at the polls. Fra- 
ternally he was a Alason and his religious faith was indicated by his membership 
in the Presbyterian church. He was married in Dungeness, June 4, 1865, to 
Miss Laura Bass Weir, who died there May 11, 1894. She was born in Bowie 
county, Texas, and was a daughter of John and Saluda J. (Buchanan) Weir, 
who removed with their family to the Pacific coast in the '50s, making the long 
journey across the plains in a prairie schooner. They settled upon land near 
Los Angeles but soon afterward left as they were seriously annoyed by the Mex- 
icans, who broke down the fences and allowed their cattle to pasture on the 
growing crops. It was in i860 that the Weir family removed to Washington 
by boat and they took up their home in Dungeness, where Mr. Weir for some 
time engaged in hunting, selling the game which he killed to the settlers in that 
locality. Later he farmed and was following agricultural pursuits at the time 
of his death in 1885. To Mr. and Airs. Troy were born five children: Preston 
M., of this review; John Weir, editor and owner of the Alaska Empire, a paper 
published at Juneau, Alaska ; David Smith, who was killed in an automobile 
accident at Port Townsend, August 17, 1916, and who had served as state rep- 
resentative and at time of his death was state senator; Mrs. I. Callow, who is 
principal of a public school in Dungeness; and Mrs. Laura I. Stone, principal of 
the high school in Phoenix, Arizona. 

Preston M. Troy divided his time between attending the public schools and 
working in the logging camps until he was eighteen years old, when he began 
farming in partnership with his uncle and so continued until he attained his ma- 
jority. He then became a student in the Olympia Collegiate Institute, from 
which he was graduated in 1890, and subsequently he entered the law school of 
the University of Michigan, which conferred upon him the LL.B. degree in 
1893. He then returned to Olympia and has since followed his profession, 
although of late years he has given the greater part of his attention to the dis- 
charge of his duties as president of the Olympia National Bank. From 1896 
to 1899 and again from 1902 to 1906 he held the office of city attorney and from 
1904 until 1908 he was prosecuting attorney of Thurston county. In 1904 he 
was the democratic candidate for superior judge and was defeated by only 
seventy-five votes, and in 1910 he was nominated by the non-partisan judiciary 
league convention as one of five candidates for justice of the supreme court of 
the state. For seven years he was chairman of the state board of law exam- 
iners and thus had an important part in determining the requirements for ad- 
mission to the bar. In 1913 he was elected vice president of the Olympia National 



WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 39 

Bank and in September, 1914, following the death of Leopold F. Schmidt, presi- 
dent of the institution, Mr. Troy was elected its chief executive ofificer. He has 
since held that position and has manifested sound judgment, a thorough under- 
standing of the principles underlying the banking business and keen insight into 
present day conditions. He is also a director of the Building & Loan Associa- 
tion and recognition of his executive ability and highly developed business sense 
was accorded him when he was elected trustee of the Chamber of Commerce 
and later, in March, 1916, and again in March, 1917, was chosen president of 
that organization, which is recognized as perhaps the most efficient agency for 
promoting the all-round development of the city. 

Mr. Troy was married in Dayton, Washington, October 28, 1896, to Miss 
Eva Sturdevant, by whom he has three children : Marion Lucile, who is a high 
school graduate and is now attending the State University ; Harold Preston, who 
is sixteen years old and is attending high school; and Smith, ten years of age, 
in the public schools. 

Mr. Troy is one of the best known democrats in the state of Washington, 
having served as a member of the executive committee of the democratic state 
central committee for four years and having been a delegate in 1912 to the 
national convention at Baltimore which nominated Woodrow Wilson for presi- 
dent. From the first he has been a stanch W'ilson man and was one of the 
organizers of the Woodrow Wilson League of Washington. He is a past master 
of Olympia Lodge, No. i, F. & A. M., belongs to the various Scottish Rite Ma- 
sonic bodies, is past chancellor of the Knights of Pythias and is a member of 
the Woodmen of the World, the Native Sons of W'ashington. the University 
Club of Tacoma, the Olympia Golf Club and the Commercial Club of Tacoma. 
He is likewise a trustee of the Thurston County Pioneer and Historic Associa- 
tion and chairman of the Simcrtis monument committee. It is but natural that 
he should take a keen interest in the preservation of local history, for his entire 
life has been passed in this state and he has vivid memories of pioneer days 
when the white man had only begun to gain a footing in the Puget Sound coun- 
try and when it was impossible to foretell the development which a half cen- 
tury was to bring about. He believes that the next fifty years will also be a 
period of rapid progress and no project for the advancement of city or state 
fails to receive his enthusiastic support. 



MISS L. C. NICHOLSON. 

Miss L. C. Nicholson needs no introduction to the readers of this volume, 
for she became widely known as the proprietor of the Snohomish General Hos- 
pital, an institution of which the city of Snohomish has every reason to be proud, 
for it is conducted along the most progressive lines. It was established about 
ten years ago and two years ago Miss Nicholson purchased the hospital. It is 
modern in every department and furnishes accommodations to eighteen patients. 
There is also a large, well lighted operating room and the five physicians of 
Snohomish practice here independently or collectively as the situation demands. 
Miss Nicholson is a graduate nurse and after purchasing the institution contin- 



40 WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 

ually worked for its betterment, for the adoption of higher sanitary ideals and 
for improvement along every possible line. 

Miss Nicholson comes from Revolutionary stock, her forefathers on both 
sides serving with distinction in the war for independence. She was born at 
Pomeroy, Ohio, May 4, 1890, and is a daughter of H. M. and N. Jane (Ander- 
son) Nicholson, w^ho were natives of A'irginia and Ohio respectively. Her 
maternal grandfather was Hiram Anderson, an early settler of Ohio, emigrating 
to that state when it was largely an unbroken wilderness. He bought land for 
six dollars per acre and lived thereon throughout his remaining days. Miss 
Nicholson's father became a well known stationary engineer and followed that 
business in Ohio for many years but in 1900 removed with his family to Wash- 
ington, establishing his residence in Everett, where he still makes his home. He 
is now fifty-seven years of age and is yet active in his profession. His wife is 
living at the age of fifty years. In their family were three daughters : Mrs, 
Mabel C. Hennessy, now a resident of Seattle; Miss L. C. Nicholson of this 
review ; and Mrs. Otto Schultz, residing in Portland, Oregon. 

Miss Nicholson attended school in Ohio and in Everett and when her general 
education was completed entered a hospital at Vancouver, British Columbia, there 
pursuing her studies and training until she received her certificate as a graduate 
nurse. Two years ago she purchased the Snohomish General Hospital. 



EDWARD ELDRIDGE. 



Macaulay has said that the history of a country is best told in the lives of 
its people and an important chapter in the hi^ory of western Washington is 
that constituted in the life record of Edward Eldridge, who established one of 
the pioneer homes on Bellingham bay and from that period forward to the 
time of his death, which occurred in 1892, was closely associated with many 
events which marked the progress and upbuilding of the district. Moreover, he 
also left the. impress of his ability and individuality upon the legislative records 
of the state and was a member of two of its constitutional conventions. His 
purpose was ever as honorable as it was strong, his ideals were high and never 
were his interests so self-centered that he could not reach out a helping hand to 
assist another who was struggling to gain a financial foothold. 

Mr. Eldridge was born at St. Andrews, Scotland, December 7, 1829, and 
at an early age was left an orphan, so that little is known concerning the fam- 
ily, but the Scotch characteristics of thrift and integrity seemed inherent in him. 
There was a large family of brothers and sisters but they became scattered. 
Following the death of his parents Edward Eldridge went to live with his grand- 
parents, but when eleven years of age, stimulated by a desire to see something 
of the world, he ran away from home and went to sea. His educational oppor- 
tunities were necessarily limited but throughout his life he remained a close 
student of books and a keen observer of men and measures, to which he added 
a retentive memory that gave him in the course of years a mind well stored 
with much valuable information, gleaned here and there in the school of experi- 




EDWAED ELDRIDGE 



^^^^^''^f't^WmKi^m 



' THE NEW YORK "^ 
PUBLIC LIBRARY 



ASTOR, LENOX 
TILDEN FOUNDATION 



WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 43 

ence. It has been said that: "The ocean is a master of mathematics," and 
Edward Eldridge mastered that science in the course of his experience as a nav- 
igator. He shipped before the mast on merchant vessels and also served with 
the English navy and thus he visited many countries, where he became familiar 
with strange lands and peoples. 

He paid his first visit to America in 1846, when a youth of seventeen, being 
one of the crew of a small vessel that took on a cargo of mahogany at Hon- 
duras. While the vessel was loading a timber struck him on the head, rendering 
him unconscious, and the captain, supposing him to be dead, had him laid out 
for burial at sea, but the captain of another ship heard of the accident and 
requested permission to have the injury examined. The result was that it was 
found that life was not extinct and the little vessel therefore did not lose a 
member of its crew. For a time Mr. Eldridge was a sailor on the Great Lakes 
and again upon the broad seas and at different periods he engaged in mining! 
In October, 1849, following the discovery of gold in California, he disembarked 
from the Tonquin at San Francisco and made his way to the gold fields at 
Yuba, California, spending twelve months as a miner on Feather river. He then 
became second mate on the Pacific Mail Steamship Tennessee, which sailed 
from San Francisco to Panama. While on one of those trips he formed the 
acquaintance of a most attractive little Irish lady, Teresa Lappin, and this 
acquaintance turned the current of his life. Resigning his position on the Ten- 
nessee, he wedded the lady and they made their way to the mining district of 
Yreka, California, in the spring of 1852. As Mr. Eldridge was not successful 
in the mines he resolved to go to Australia, accompanied by his wife and the 
baby daughter who was then a member of the household, but a seemingly trivial 
incident directed his labors elsewhere. While waiting for a ship to take them • 
to Australia Mr. Eldridge chanced to meet Captain Henry Roeder, a former 
Great Lakes captain, whom he had known and who was then purchasing saw- 
mill machinery in San Francisco with the object of installing it in a mill on 
Bellingham bay. At that time western Washington was largely peopled by the 
Indians, there being few white men, so that labor was very scarce. After tell- 
ing Mr. Eldridge of the beauties of the Puget Sound country and its splendid 
natural resources he induced him to abandon his idea of raising cattle in Aus- 
tralia and accept a position in the Roeder mill. They made their way to 
Bellingham bay and Mrs. Eldridge was the first white woman to locate in the 
district. While Mr. Eldridge worked in the sawmill Mrs. Eldridge provided the 
meals for the men who were employed with her husband and continued to 
board his business associates after he took up work in the coal mines. Later 
Mr. Eldridge taught school and in the meantime the little boarding house was 
converted into a hotel, thus meeting the demands of the district, which was 
steadily developing. On coming to Washington Mr. Eldridge secured a dona- 
tion claim of three hundred and twenty acres adjoining the claim of Captain 
Roeder and fronting on the bay. It was covered with a dense growth of timber 
and underbrush, so that much arduous labor was required to clear and develop 
it, but his unremitting industry and diligence at length resulted in the develop- 
ment of one of the best farms on the Sound. As the towns on the bay grew in 
population he at different periods platted considerable portions of the farm for 
residential districts and realized a handsome fortune from the sale of the lots. 

Vol. II— 3 



44 WASHINGTOX, WEST OF THE CASCADES 

He built upon that place in later years one of the finest homes in the city, cost- 
ing about fifty thousand dollars. 

Mr. Eldridge, possessing characteristic Scotch thrift, neglected no business 
opportunity that he believed would contribute to his own fortunes or to the 
development of the community. As the population increased and the interests 
became more complex he saw and utilized opportunities for the establishment 
of business enterprises which later-day conditions demanded, and something of 
the extent, volume and importance of his business is indicated in the fact that 
at the time of his demise he was president of the Bellingham Bay National 
Bank; president of the Bellingham Bay Gas Company; president of the Belling- 
ham Bay Land Company ; president of the Bellingham Bay & Eastern Railroad 
Company ; a director of the Fairhaven & New Whatcom Street Railway Com- 
pany; and a director of the Puget Sound Loan, Trust & Banking Company. 
With the establishment and growth of other large business and industrial en- 
terprises he was also connected and he figured prominently in the development 
of the lumber industry as one of the partners in the Bartlett & Eldridge sawmill, 
which was sold to the E. K. Wood Lumber Company in 1900. 

Another phase of his activity had to do with the civic organization of the 
district consequent upon the growth in population. The county was established 
and in time the city was incorporated and so long and prominently had Mr. 
Eldridge been connected with public affairs that he was naturally called upon to 
serve in positions of public trust. He filled the office of county commissioner, 
county auditor, county treasurer, deputy collector of customs and several times 
represented his district in the Washington legislature during the territorial regime. 
He presided over the deliberations of the house in 1866-67 as its speaker and 
the fairness and impartiality w^hich characterized him in every relation w^ere 
manifest in his parliamentary rulings. In 1878 he was one of the three delegates 
at large in the territorial constitutional convention at Walla Walla, and in 1889 
was a member of the state constitutional convention at Olympia. He was chair- 
man of the convention that nominated Denny, Flanders and Garfielde for con- 
gress and in 1892 he represented Washington in the republican national 
convention, which met in Minneapolis. Speaking of his public service, a 
contemporary writer said : "He never wooed public ofiice, and responded to 
the call of his fellow citizens in the spirit of duty. Indeed he might have made 
a brilliant political career but for his manifold business interests and love of 
literature. It is said that he had been a lifelong democrat up to the time news 
came verifying the report that Fort Sumter had been fired upon. Then he 
repudiated the party as the author of rebellion and never returned to its ranks. 
As a republican he was not a bitter partisan, but a conscientious worker and a 
broad-minded citizen." 

Although his ])ublic and business interests constantly made greater and 
greater demands upon his time and attention Mr. Eldridge always felt that his 
interests centered in his own household. His family numbered two sons and 
two daughters: Isabella M., who was born in Yreka, California, and was the 
wife of Senator J. J. Edens, of Skagit county, Washington, both of whom are 
now deceased; Edward, who was born in Bellingham and died in August, 1868; 
Alice, who was born in Bellingham, became the wife of James Gilligan, of Skagit 
county, and died February 3, 1886; and Hugh, who is today the sole representa- 



WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 45 

tive of the family in Bellingham. The death of the husband and father occurred 
October 12, 1892. In his Hfetime his studious habits had grown and he had 
surrounded himself with a magnificent library, with the contents of which he 
was largely familiar. It constituted one of the chief attractions of his beau- 
tiful home and it seemed most deplorable when, a short time after the death of 
Mr. Eldridge, his home with its thousands of volumes was destroyed by fire. 
When he passed away the press of the state commented widely upon his life in 
its great usefulness and its worth to the commonwealth. It was said that: 
"Every changing condition found him ready and in the forefront of progress. 
Whether it was a matter of personal enterprise or of public weal he was active, 
wide-awake, constructive all of the time." The extent of his influence and work 
is almost immeasurable. There is practically no phase of the development of 
the Bellingham bay district with which he was not closely associated and his 
labors were even of greater extent, for his business connections reached out 
into other quarters and his activities touched the general interests of society, 
leaving their impress not only upon the development of the hour but upon 
future growth and greatness. To realize what were his early surroundings and 
his almost utter lack of advantages and opportunities is to come to some under- 
standing of the splendid work which he accomplished, building a fortune, but 
building even better than that — a character that would bear the closest investi- 
gation and scrutiny and shone most resplendent in the clear light of day. 



FREDERICK HARRISON WHITWORTH. 

Frederick Harrison Whitworth, a civil and mining engineer, now a resident 
of Washington, his professional operations having largely been confined to this 
state and to Alaska, was born March 25, 1846, in New Albany, Indiana. His 
father, the Rev. George F. Whitworth, D. D., was a native of Boston, England, 
born in 1816, and in 1832 he came to the new world. He wedded Mary Eliza- 
beth Thomson, who was born in Kentucky in 1818 and was of Scotch-Irish 
parentage. After living in the middle west for some years the parents came with 
their family to Washington, crossing the plains in 1853 and settling first at 
Olympia, where they resided until 1865, and later at Seattle. 

Liberal educational advantages were accorded Frederick H. Whitworth, who 
attended the University of California, from which he was graduated in 1871 
with the Bachelor of Arts degree, while in 1872 the Master of Arts degree was 
conferred upon him. Having qualified by a thorough college training for the 
profession of civil and mining engineering, he entered actively upon his chosen 
life work and has been connected with various important engineering projects 
both in Washington and Alaska leading to the development of the natural re- 
sources of the country. He has been particularly active as an engineer in con- 
nection with coal-mining and railroad interests and the importance of the work 
which he has executed places him in a conspicuous and honored position among 
the representatives of the profession in the northwest. 

In 1881, in Seattle, Mr. Whitworth was married to Miss Ada Jane Storey 
and they have a son, Frederick Harrison Whitworth, Jr., who wedded Laura 



46 WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 

Jane Matthews. ]\Ir. and ]\Irs. Whitworth hold membership in the First Presby- 
terian church of Seattle. Flis political faith is that of the republican party, but 
the honors and emoluments of office have had no attraction for him, his energies 
and interests being concentrated upon his profession. He is not remiss in the 
duties of citizenship, however, finding time and opportunity to aid in furthering 
many plans for the public good which have had a direct and important bearing 
upon the welfare and upbuilding of city and state along material, political and 
moral lines. 



JOHN SHERMAN BAKER. 

A prominent figure in financial circles of Tacoma is John Sherman Baker of 
the Fidelity Trust Company, and his influence is one of broadening activity and 
strength in the field in which he operates. He was born in Cleveland, Ohio, 
November 21, 1861, and in the paternal line comes of English ancestrv', the 
founder of the American branch of the family being Edward Baker, who came 
to this country from London, England, with George Winthrop and settled at 
Salem, Massachusetts, in 1628. 

Asahel M. Baker, father of John S. Baker, was born in Ohio and became a 
wholesale flour dealer of Chicago, while during the early '50s he was a member 
of the Chicago Board of Trade, well known in that connection for a considerable 
period. In fact he was among the very successful merchants of Chicago, where 
he resided for a long period, removing to Tacoma in 1889, since which time he 
has here lived retired. He married >\Iartha P. Sprague, a native of Troy, New 
York, and a daughter of Otis Sprague, who was also of English descent. The 
family were early settlers of Massachusetts, arriving in this country in the 
decade of 1660 or 1670. Mrs. Asahel Baker also survives and is living in 
Tacoma. In the family are three children : Asahel Sprague, a resident of 
Chicago ; John Sherman, of this review ; and Mattie, the wife of Arthur G. 
Prichard, likewise a resident of Tacoma. 

John Sherman Baker was educated in the public schools of Chicago and 
started out in the business world when sixteen years of age, making his initial 
step as settling clerk of the Chicago Board of Trade, in which connection he 
was retained for four years. In 1881 he came to Tacoma and was employed 
in a clerical capacity at the freight office of the Northern Pacific Railroad Com- 
pany. He was associated with the railroad for only a short period and next 
engaged in survey work in eastern Washington until September, 1882, when 
he became connected with a general merchandise enterprise at Carbonado, Wash- 
ington, as a member of the firm of Barlow & Baker. He continued successfully 
in that line until 1883 and in August of that year purchased the established 
grocery store of Relmrd iH: Campbell, after which he conducted the business 
under the firm name of John S. Baker & Company. He continued actively in 
that field until 1889, after which he organized the Tacoma Grocery Company, 
Inc., for the conduct of a wholesale business. Mr. Baker became treasurer of 
the new company and continued in that connection for two years. During that 
period he also had important realty and other business interests and thus 



WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 47 

through the steps of an orderly progression he was led to a prominent place in 
, financial circles. In 1889 he organized the Fidelity Trust Company and became 
its first vice president, in which connection he continued until 1904, when he 
was elected to the presidency and has since remained at the head of the business, 
wisely and carefully directing its policies and managing its business interests. 
He is likewise a director in other banks of the state and is a very prominent 
and well known figure in financial circles. He is seldom in error in matters of 
judgment when passing upon the value of any business opportunity, and his 
keen insight into business situations has materially increased the success of 
the company of which he is now the head. 

On the I2th of May. 1887, at Oakland, California, Mr. Baker was married 
to Miss Laura Ainsworth, a native of Portland, Oregon, and a daughter of the 
late Captain John C. Ainsworth. who was organizer and president of the old 
Oregon Steam Navigation Company and one of the prominent pioneer settlers 
and business men of Portland. He built the first steamboat on the Willamette 
river and was actively identified with navigation interests in that section of the 
country. Mrs. Baker died, leaving one daughter, Bernice Ainsworth, whose 
activities in charitable work are well known. Mr. Baker was married March 
22, 1916. to Miss Florence Mackey, a native of Tacoma and a daughter of Rev. 
W. A. Mackey, one of the early pastors of the First Presbyterian church of this 
city. 

Politically Mr. Baker is a supporter of the republican party and has taken a 
great interest in politics. He served as state senator from 1889 until 1903, being 
the first to represent Pierce county in the upper house after the admission of 
Washington into the Union. He is a life member of Tacoma Lodge, No. 2t,, 
F. & A. M., and he belongs also to the Commercial Club, the Union Club, and 
the Country and Golf Clubs of Tacoma. He also has membership in the State 
and National Bankers Associations and is regarded as a strong and resourceful 
figure in banking circles on the coast. 



FRANK GROUNDWATER. 

Frank Groundwater occupies a position of leadership in financial circles in 
Elma and his public spirit as well as his business success marks him as one of 
the most prominent and influential residents of that place. He was born in F.au 
Claire. Wisconsin, March 2, 1874, and continued his education in the public 
schools there until he was graduated from the high school. He afterward 
attended the Lampher Business College of Eau Claire and for a number of years 
was employed as a stenographer in a law office. While still residing in his native 
city he was elected alderman from the seventh ward and resigned that ]:)osition 
to remove to the west. In 1900 he was a student in the law school of the Uni- 
versity of Washington, from which he was gradviated with the LL. B. degree in 
1901, having previously entered upon his law studies while in liis native city. 
He is the only one who has ever completed the law course in the Uni\'ersity of 
Washington in a year and he was a member of its first law class. 

On the 27th of May, 1903, Mr. Groundwater removed to Elma, wliere he 



48 WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 

opened an office and has since engaged in active practice, his ability being man- 
ifest in his resourcefuhiess and in the strength and abiHty with which he presents 
his argument and defines the points in his case. He was the first town attorney 
of Oakville, Washington, which position he filled for two years, and he is now- 
serving for the seventh year as town attorney of Elma. In addition to his law 
practice he engages in the real estate business, handling big timber deals in Wash- 
ington and Oregon, and he also owns one of the finest farms in Thurston county, 
upon which is still seen an old blockhouse built there for protection against the 
Indians. 

On the 17th of July, 1910, Mr. Groundwater was married to Miss Fannie 
Wellman, who was born October 5, 1884, in Tumwater, Washington, the daugh- 
ter of Charles K. and Lillie Wellman. The Wellmans crossed the plains witli 
ox teams in early pioneer times and the family home was established at Tum- 
water. It was there that the parents of Mrs. Groundwater were married. Her 
maternal grandfather was Dr. Joseph Brown, one of the earliest physicians of 
Washington territory. To ]\Ir. and Mrs. Groundwater has been born a son. 
Lyle Frank, born May 12, 1916. Their home is most attractive by reason of its 
warm-hearted hospitality and they are very popular in social circles. 

Fraternally Mr. Groundwater is connected with the Odd Fellows and his 
political allegiance is given to the republican party, but the only offices which he 
has filled have been in the strict path of his profession. It is well known that 
his influence on behalf of public progress and improvement is most marked and 
that his efforts in that direction are untiring. He is now secretary of the Elma 
Business Men's Association, which is the successor of the Elma Merchants Asso- 
ciation, of which he was the secretary for ten years. He looks at vital prob- 
lems from no narrow or contracted standpoint but is a broad-minded man of 
clear vision and of strong and honorable purpose who realizes the duties and 
obligations as well as the privileges of citizenship, who holds to high profes- 
sional ideals and who is most loyal to the ties of home and friendship. 



FRANK R. PENDLETON. 

Frank R. Pendleton, of Everett, is prominently associated with an industry 
which has been one of W^ashington's chief sources of wealth, for he is now 
extensively and successfully engaged in dealing in timber lands and in lumber. 
His plans have ever been carefully formed and promptly executed and he has 
ever recognized the fact that when one avenue of opportunity has seemed closed, 
it is possible to carve out another path whereby to reach the desired goal. 

Mr. Pendleton was born in Oconto. W'isconsin, July 29, 1864, a son of Charles 
T. Pendleton, a native of Maine, who removed to Wisconsin in the early '50s, 
becoming a pioneer settler of that state, where he operated successfully as a 
lumberman. He was of English descent, tracing his ancestry from Bryan Pen- 
dleton, who was the founder of the American branch of the family. In the year 
1895 Charles T. Pendleton removed westward to Washington, settling in Everett, 
where he lived retired, there passing away in 1908, at the age of seventy-seven 
years. In early manhood he wedded Almeda Lindsey, a native of Maine and 



WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 49 

a representative of an old family of that state of English lineage. She died in 
Everett in 1915, and though she had reached the advanced age of eighty years, 
she met an accidental death in an automobile wreck. In the familv were five 
sons and three daughters. 

Frank R. Pendleton, the fourth in order of birth, obtained his education in 
the public schools of Wisconsin and in a business college at Oshkosh, that state. 
When twenty years of age he started out in life on his own account, being em- 
ployed by his father to take contracts in connection with the lumber business. 
He had previously worked in the lumber woods of Wisconsin from the age of 
eighteen years and his broad experience has made him thoroughly acquainted 
with every phase of the business and he has become an expert lumberman, his 
opinions being the result of long training and broad experience. He became a 
resident of Everett in the fall of 1899. Several years before, however, he had 
come to the northwest as a timber cruiser and had secured timber lands in this 
section of the country. In the year mentioned he began operations in the busi- 
ness of logging and handling timber lands in Oregon, Washington, British 
Columbia and Mexico. He is today one of the largest operators in his line in 
this section of the country, and in addition to his activities in the northwest, the 
firm with which he is connected owns large tracts in Minnesota, Wisconsin and 
Michigan. The business is carried on under the name of Pendleton & Gilkey 
and also under the name of the Pendleton Lumber Company, with headquarters 
at Everett, Mr. Pendleton being president and manager of the company. He is 
likewise president and general manager of the Straits Lumber Company, presi- 
dent and general manager of the Union Timber Company and president and 
general manager of the Coquille Timber Company, all of which indicates the 
extensiveness of his -operations in connection with the lumber industry. He is 
among those who have most comprehensive knowledge of the business in the 
northwest and his work has been fruitful of splendid results. He has not con- 
fined his attention alone to this line, for he is a director of the First National 
Bank of Everett, a director of the Pacific Grocery Company and of the Pacific 
Importing Company, making imports from the Orient. His judgment is at all 
times sound and his discrimination keen and he seems to accomplish at any one 
point in his career the possibility for successful accomplishment at that point. 

In 1888, at Gillett, Wisconsin, Mr. Pendleton was united in marriage to Miss 
Ella G. Runkel, a native of Wisconsin and a daughter of Louis and Christina 
Runkel. They now have seven children, namely : Ross, Verna, Wayne, Brooks, 
Norma, Francis and Crosby. 

Politically Mr. Pendleton has become progressive and is very active in the 
councils of the party. He has served as alderman in Everett and as a member 
of the school board and his aid and cooperation can always be counted upon to 
further any well defined plan or movement for the benefit and upbuilding of his 
city. He was made a Mason in Wisconsin and he has taken the fourteenth 
degree in the Lodge of Perfection in the Scottish Rite. His religious belief is 
that of the Christian Science church. He belongs to the Everett Commercial 
Club, to the Cascade Club, the Everett Country and Golf Club and the Seattle 
Country and Golf Club. His influence is always on the side of progress and 
improvement in every relation. He received no financial aid at the outset of his 
career but had the thorough preliminary training that gave him a solid founda- 



50 WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 

tion upon which to build his later success. Opportunity called forth his latent 
powers and ambition and prompted him to so exercise his talents that he is today 
one of the most prominent and prosperous representatives of the timber interests 
of the northwest. 



FRED R. BROWN. 



Fred R. Brown, for forty-six years a resident of Washington, is now president 
of the Case Shingle & Lumber Company of Raymond, in which connection he has 
become a prominent and well known representative of an industry which has 
constituted a most important contributing factor to the prosperity and business 
upbuilding of the state. He has lived in Raymond since 1904 and has long been 
honored as one of its most prominent and valued citizens. He comes from a state 
which was a center of the lumber trade long before settlement was made on the 
Pacific coast, for his birth occurred in Bucksport, Maine, May 10, 1849. His 
boyhood was passed in that state, where he attended the common schools 
and he also spent one year as a student in the East Maine Conference. 
Seminary. He afterward went to Boston, where he was employed for two 
years. He reached the age of twenty when in 1869 he made his way to the 
Pacific coast with California as his destination. After a brief period spent at 
farm labor in that state he removed to Portland, Oregon, where he remained 
through the winter. The following year he went to Kalama, where he engaged in 
cutting cord wood and he also worked in a store and assisted in road building and 
other work until 1871, when he came to Washington, making his way to Tenino. 
For a time he was employed as a clerk in a store but later was persuaded to 
purchase the business by his employer, who desired to retire. He secured the 
stock of goods and business largely on credit but made good in the undertaking, 
winning a liberal patronage and expanding his interests to meet the growing 
demands of the trade. He became recognized as a leading citizen of the commu- 
nity not only by reason of his success in the store but also in other lines. He filled 
the position of postmaster there for a few years, was notary public and in many 
other ways participated in activities leading to the upbuilding and development of 
his section of the state. He also became one of the owners and manager of the 
Olympia & Tenino Railway and in 1880 removed to Olympia, where he resided 
until he became identified with the interests of Raymond in 1904. 

Mr. Brown was active in organizing the Sash & Door Company at Bucoda 
and there with others built two sawmills and operated one of the largest sash and 
door factories on the coast at that time. Doors and sash were then made exclu- 
sively of cedar, as it was believed that fir could not be utilized for that purpose. 
At Bucoda the company also operated a coal mine, which they continued to work 
for several years. Mr. Brown likewise developed a fine farm near Tenino and 
it is still known as the Brown farm, although he sold it some time ago. He 
became associated with Elmer E. Case, in the building of the Case shingle and 
lumber mills Nos. i, 2 and 3 at Raymond. He is also secretary of the Southwest 
Manufacturing Company in all of these plants, the most modern and highly 
improved machinery has been installed, the work being thus facilitated. Those 




FRED R. BROWN 



'^mi^mmt^m 



THE NEW YORkT' 
PUBLIC LIBRARTi 

TILDEN Fou.MD ' TroNJ 



WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 53 

at all familiar with the lumber industry in Washington recognize that the Case 
Company has taken an active part in the development of the state in that line, and 
Mr. Brown is president of the company. He is also the president of the Lebam 
Mill & Timber Company at Lebam, Washington, and he has been very active in 
promoting building interests, thus contributing in large measure to the develop- 
ment of different districts. He is now engaged in developing an eleven hundred 
acre cattle ranch near Tokeland, upon which he has a iine herd of roan Durhams 
which he is raising for beef cattle. He has diked and ditched the land and has 
thus greatly enhanced its value. 

Mr. Brown has been married twice. At Tenino, in 1875, he wedded Miss 
Elizabeth Case and death terminated a happy married life for them in 1891. Ten 
years later, or on the 2d of March, 1901. Mr. Brown wedded Mrs. Chloe Jones, a 
widow. He makes his home a part of the time in Seattle, while the remainder of 
the time he spends in Raymond, and in both places he is held in the highest esteem. 

Mr. Brown is connected with no fraternal organizations and has never held 
nor desired pubHc office, preferring to concentrate his energies upon his business 
affairs, which he has most successfully and capably managed. His life record 
proves that activity does not tire but brings power and the force of resistance. All 
through his business career his interests have constantly expanded by reason of his 
close appHcation and intelligent direction of his efforts. He seems to possess in 
notable measure the power to unify and coordinate seemingly diverse interests and 
bring- them into a harmonious and resultant whole. Whatever he undertakes he 
accomplishes, and each passing year has marked with him a larger achievement 
and farther reaching interests and business connectionls. 



WILLIAM T. HOWARD. 

William T. Howard, proprietor of the Island County Times, published at 
Coupeville, was born at South Haven, Michigan, October 24, 1858, a son of 
John and Mary (Fisher) Howard, who were natives of England. The father 
came to America in 1851 and settled first in Canada but afterward removed to 
Michigan. He was a seafaring man and spent a number of years as a sailor on 
the Great Lakes but afterward removed to Nebraska, where he took up a home- 
stead on which he lived for five years, passing away in 1878, when forty-seven 
years of age. His wife came to the United States. with her parents and they 
were married in Michigan. She passed away in Stanton. Nebraska, in 1904, 
at the age of sixty-one years. 

In their family were eight children, of whom William T. Howard was the 
first born. He attended the country schools of Michigan and then took up the 
profession of teaching in the rural schools. In 1873 he removed to Nebraska 
and while filling the position of county superintendent of schools in Colfax 
county he purchased and edited the Schuyler Sun. continuing the successful con- 
duct of that paper for thirteen years. He was also part owner and editor of the 
Nebraska School Journal from June, 1889. until 1891. In 1899 he was elected 
mayor of Schuyler and afterward was elected city treasurer, which position he 
filled for three terms or until he resigned preparatory to coming to Washington. 



54 WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 

He made an excellent official in both positions, being actuated by the utmost 
fidelity to duty, with a practical recognition of the obligations, the needs and the 
opportunities of the office. 

It was in the year 1906 that Mr. Howard came to Washington, making his 
way to Whidbey Island, after which he purchased the Island County Times, of 
which he has since been proprietor and publisher. This is a weekly paper with 
a circulation of five hundred and sixty, and his newspaper plant is thoroughly 
modern in its equipment, while his method of publication is such as is familiar 
to the public through the leading journals of larger cities. In a word, he is most 
progressive in his work and his labors have brought substantial returns. 

On the 2ist of December. 1879, in Colfax county, Nebraska, Mr. Howard 
was united in marriage to Miss Esther Edmonds, her parents being James and 
Jane Edmonds, natives of Michigan. The mother still survives and makes her 
home at Hastings, Nebraska. Mr. and Mrs. Howard have eight children, as 
follows: Arthur, who was born at Schuyler, Nebraska, and who is now mar- 
ried and is part owner of the Herald, published at Mount V^ernon, Washington; 
Mrs. Mabel Beach, who was also born at Schuvler. Nebraska, and now resides 
in Lynden, W^ashington ; James, who is a native of Schuyler, Nebraska, and now 
makes his home at Langley on ^^llidbey Island; Mrs. Mar)' English, who was 
born at Schuyler and is now the wife of an officer stationed at Fort Casey, on 
Whidbey Island ; William, who is a native of Schuyler. Nebraska, and a high 
school graduate and at the age of nineteen is now attending the University of 
\\'ashington.; Bernice, a young lady of seventeen who was born in Schuyler and 
is now attending school at Coupeville, this state ; Chester, whose birth occurred 
in Schuyler and who at the age of fifteen years is now attending school at Coupe- 
ville, Washington ; and Marvel, who was born in Coupeville and is now seven 
years old and a school student. 

In politics ]\Ir. Howard is an independent republican. He has serv^ed as 
president of the school board and as town clerk but has preferred to hold his 
political activity only to local service. Fraternally he is connected with the 
Knights of Pythias, the Ancient Order of United Workmen and the Tribe of 
Ben Hur. His is a notable example of what may be accomplished through 
energy, determination and laudable ambition. He was given the opportunity of 
attending school for only six months after the age of twelve, and the balance 
of his education has been acquired by lamplight after the day's work was over. 
He has, however, always been an earnest and discriminating student, a broad 
reader and deep thinker and is always well informed on the vital questions and 
issues of the day. 



THOMAS MERCER. 



Thomas Mercer was born in Harrison county, Ohio, March 11, 1813, the 
eldest of a large family of children. He remained with his father until he was 
twenty-one, gaining a common school education and a thorough knowledge of 
the manufacture of woolen goods. His father was the owner of a well ap- 
pointed woolen mill. The father, Aaron Mercer, was born in \^irginia and was 



WASHINGTON/WEST OF THE CASCADES 55 

of the same family as General Mercer of Revolutionary fame. His mother, 
Jane Dickerson Mercer, was born in Pennsylvania of an old family of that state. 

The family moved to Princeton, Illinois, in 1834, a period when buffalo 
were still occasionally found east of the Mississippi river, and savage Indians 
annoyed and harassed outlying settlements in that region. A remarkable co- 
incidence is a matter of family tradition. Nancy Brigham, who later became 
Mr. Mercer's wife, and her family, were compelled to flee by night from their 
home near Dixon at the time of the Black Hawk war, and narrowly escaped 
massacre. In 1856, about twenty years later, her daughters, the youngest only 
eight years old, also made a midnight escape in Seattle, two thousand miles 
away from the scene of their mother's adventure, and they endured the terrors 
of the attack upon the village a few days later when the shots and shouts of 
hundreds of painted devils rang out in the forest on the hillside from a point 
near the present Union depots to another near where Madison street ends at 
First avenue. 

In April, 1852, a train of about twenty wagons, drawn by horses, was or- 
ganized at Princeton to cross the plains to Oregon. In this train were Thomas 
Mercer, Aaron Mercer, Dexter Horton, Daniel Bagley, William H. Shoudy, 
and their families. Mr. Mercer was chosen captain of the train and discharged 
the arduous duties of that position fearlessly and successfully. Danger and 
disease were on both sides of the long, dreary way, and hundreds of new made 
graves were often counted along the roadside in a day. But this train seemed 
to bear a charmed existence. Not a member of the original party died on the 
way, although many were seriously ill. Only one animal was lost. 

As the journey was fairly at an end and western civilization had been 
reached at The Dalles, Oregon, Mrs. Mercer was taken ill, but managed to 
keep up until the Cascades were reached. There she grew rapidly worse and 
soon died. Several members of the expedition went to Salem and wintered 
there and in the early spring of 1853 Thomas Mercer and Dexter Horton came 
to Seattle and decided to make it their home. Mr. Horton entered immediately 
upon a business career, the success of which is known in California, Oregon and 
Washington, and Mr. Mercer settled upon a donation claim whose eastern end 
was the meander line of Lake Union and the western end, half way across to 
the bay. Mercer street is the dividing line between his and D. T. Denny's 
claims, and all of these tracts were included within the city limits about 1885. 

Mr. Mercer brought to Seattle one span of horses and a wagon from the 
outfit with which he crossed the plains and for some time all the hauling of 
wood and merchandise was done by him. The wagon was the first one in King 
county. In 1859 he went to Oregon for the summer and while there married 
Hester L. Ward, who lived with him nearly forty years, dying in November, 
1897. During the twenty years succeeding his settlement here he worked hard 
in clearing the farm and carrying on dairying and farming in a small way and 
doing much work with his team. In 1873 portions of the farm came into 
demand for homes and his sales soon put him in easy circumstances and in 
later years made him independent, though the few years of hard times prior to 
his death left but a small part of the estate. 

The old home on the farm that the Indians spared when other buildings in 
the county not protected by soldiers were burned, stood until 1900 and was 



56 WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 

then the oldest building in the county. Mr. D. T. Denny had a log cabin on 
his place which was not destroyed — these two alone escaped. The Indians were 
asked, after the war, why they did not burn Mercer's house, to which they 
replied, "Oh, old Mercer might want it again." Denny and Mercer had always 
been particularly kind to the natives and just in their dealings and the savages 
seem to have felt some little gratitude toward them. 

In the early '40s Mr. Mercer and Rev. Daniel Bagley were co-workers in the 
anti-slavery cause with Owen Lovejoy, of Princeton, who was known to all 
men of that period in the great middle west. Later Mr. Mercer joined the 
republican party and was ever an ardent supporter of its men and measures. 
He served for ten years as probate judge of King county, and at the end of that 
period declined a renomination. 

In early life he joined the Methodist Protestant church and ever continued 
a consistent member of that body. Rev. Daniel Bagley, who participated in the 
funeral services, was his pastor fifty-two years earlier at Princeton, Illinois, and 
continued to hold that relation to him in Seattle from i860 until 1885, when 
he resigned his Seattle pastorate. 

To Mr. Mercer belongs the honor of naming the lakes adjacent to and 
almost surrounding the city. At a social gathering or picnic in 1855 he made 
a short address and proposed the adoption of "Union" for the small lake be- 
tween the bay and the large lake, and "Washington" for the other body of 
water. This proposition was received with favor and at once adopted. In the 
early days of the county and city he was always active in all public enterprises, 
ready alike with individual effort and with his purse, according to his ability, 
and no one of the city's thousands took a keener interest or greater pride than 
he in the development of the city's greatness, although latterly he could no longer 
share actively in its accomplishment. He was exceedingly anxious to see the 
Lake Washington canal completed between salt water and the lakes. 

Thomas Mercer was born March 11, 1813; married to Nancy Brigham, Janu- 
ary 25, 1838 ; died in Seattle, May 25, 1898. 

Nancy Brigham was born June 6, 1816, and died at the Cascades of the 
Columbia, September 21, 1852. 

The children of this marriage were : 

Mary Jane, born January 7, 1839, <^i^d September 8, 1910; Eliza Ann, born 
March 30, 1841, died October 24, 1862; Susannah Mercer, born September 30, 
1843 ; Alice, born October 26, 1848. 

Thomas Mercer was married to Hester L. Ward in Oregon in 1859. No 
children. 

Mary Jane was married to Henry G. Parsons, March 11, 1857. 

Their children were: Flora A., born December 21, 1857; Ella, born February 
15, i860, died January 23, 1899; William M., born October 27, 1862, died August 
4, 1897; Alice E., born April 4, 1865; Annie V., born May 21, 1867; Lela M., 
born February 4, 1870. 

Ella Parsons married David Fleetwood, December 25, 1880. 

Their children were: David Lee, born October 13, 1881 ; Carrie E., born 
September 17, 1883; Lyman G., born April 25, 1887; Olive P., born October 18, 
1891 ; Edith E., born December i, 1893. 

Alice Parsons married Thomas T. Parker, August 4, 1897. 



WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 57 

Their children were: Lester L., born May 23, 1900 ; Lawrence L, born 
July 8, 1902. 

Lela Parsons married Del M. Kagy, June 30, 1893. 

Their children are: Lloyd Parsons, born July 3, 1894; Orville L., born 
June 15, 1896; Howard R., born March 14, 1904. 

Eliza Ann Mercer married Walter Graham in Seattle in 1857. 

Their children were: William T., born February i, 1858; George R., born 
September 20, i860. 

Susannah Mercer married David Graham in Seattle, May 23, 1861. No 
children. 

Alice Mercer married Clarence B. Bagley, December 24, 1865. 

Their children were Rena, Myrta, Ethel W., Alice Claire and Cecil Clarence. 



GEORGE CASSELS. 



George Cassels, proprietor of Hotel Cassels at South Bend, has conducted 
this hostelry continuously and successfully since 1909. He dates his residence 
in .South Bend, however, from 1890 and throughout the intervening period has 
been actively and helpfully associated with business interests here. Many tangi- 
ble evidences of his public spirit may be cited and at all times his cooperation has 
been counted upon as a factor in the work of general improvement. 

Mr. Cassels was born at London, Ontario, Canada, July 8, 1857, and pursued 
his education in the schools of Stratford, Ontario. He first became connected 
with the bakery business at Portage la Prairie, Manitoba, in 1882, and there 
remained for four years, after which he removed to Brandon, Manitoba, and 
in 1890 arrived in South Bend. There he established a confectionery and bakery 
business and gradually developed a large restaurant, but in 1906 he disposed of 
his bakery and embarked in the hotel business in a building purchased from the 
Peters estate and now occupied by the Willapa Power Company. This he con- 
ducted in connection with his restaurant for three years. He then leased the 
Stevens Hotel building across the street and closed out his restaurant, renting 
the lower part of the original hotel for a furniture store and reserving the 
upstairs rooms for a hotel annex. For the past seven years he has conducted a 
very successful business as proprietor of Hotel Cassels and he is the present 
manager. He has made this a popular hostelry by reason of the excellent service 
and prompt attention accorded patrons and he has made the Cassels Hotel an 
establishment which draws to the city many traveling men. 

On the 25th of October, 1885, Mr. Cassels was united in marriage to Miss 
Josephine E. Fish, a native of South Oxford, Canada, and they have become the 
parents of three daughters. Myrtle May, who has occupied an official position 
in the courthouse for eight years and is now in the treasurer's office, has traveled 
quite extensively and spent some time as stenographer in a big hotel in 1 lono- 
lulu. Florence is a trained nurse who was graduated from the Good Samaritan 
Hospital of Portland, Oregon. She is now in the government service and is in 



58 WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 

Honolulu as a nurse in the department hospital at Fort Shafter. Ada, the 
youngest daughter, is at home. 

For ten years Mr. Cassels has been a member of the school board of South 
Bend and while so serving he with two others advocated the erection of a high 
school building. Their plans were carried out, resulting in the erection of a 
thoroughly modern school building at a cost of one hundred and twenty-five 
thousand dollars. For three terms Mr. Cassels was a member of the city council, 
during which period he was chairman of the committee on streets. He was 
appointed by the fire department to submit plans to the city council for a new 
fire department building and city hall and was made a committee of one to carry 
out the plans and specifications as submitted. By getting donations, a very sub- 
stantial building was completed on city dock property. Mr. Cassels belongs to 
the Commercial Club and is interested in all those forces which work for the 
development and progress of the community. He is secretary of the Pacific 
County Improvement Company, of which Judge H. W. B. Hewen is president. 
This organization and the committee of the Commercial Club were instrumental 
in securing the shipyard for South Bend and donated two blocks or six acres of 
the site. He belongs to the Presbyterian church and fraternally is connected 
with the Odd Fellows, the Knights of Pythias and the Modern W^oodmen of 
America. His political allegiance is given to the republican party. His activity 
has made him a leading citizen of South Bend, where the intelligent direction of 
his labors has wrought good results in both the attainment of individual success 
and the advancement of public welfare. 



JOHN L. BOYLE. 



John L. Boyle, of Everett, filling the office of county treasurer of Snohomish 
county, was born in Perth, Scotland, November 22, 1861, a son of David and 
Margaret (Evitt) Boyle, both of whom were natives of the land of hills and 
heather. The father was a cloth weaver in that country and in the year 1868 
he came to the new world, settling first in Ontario, Canada, where he continued 
to reside until 1870 and then removed to Pittsfield, Massachusetts, where he 
continued in the same line of business until called to his final rest, his death 
occurring in 1906, when he had reached the age of seventy years. His widow, 
who was born in Edinburgh, is still living and now resides in the city of Sno- 
homish, Washington. In their family were three children : John L., of this 
review; David, a resident of Everett; and Margaret, the wife of William Gorie, 
living in Ontario, Canada. 

John L. Boyle was a little lad of seven summers when the family crossed 
the Atlantic and his education was acquired in the schools of Ontario, Canada, 
to the age of sixteen years, when his textbooks were put aside and he became a 
sailor on the Great Lakes. He followed a seafaring life for four years and, 
going upon the ocean, visited all parts of the world. In fact he went around the 
world four times before attaining the age of twenty years. At length, however, 
he determined to settle down and it 1882 became a resident of Snohomish, 
whither he made his way an entire stranger. There he became connected with 



WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 59 

the logging business and was thus employed for a year, after which he began 
business in the same line on his own account, devoting eight years thereto. In 
1 891 he was married and entered the hardware business, which he conducted for 
two years. Between 1893 and 1907 he was variously employed and in the latter 
year was called to public office, being made city marshal of Snohomish, in wh^ch 
capacity he served for a year. For seven years following he was water super- 
intendent of Snohomish and still higher political honors came to him in his 
election to the state legislature, of which he w^as a member from 191 1 until 
1913. At the same time he retained his position as superintendent of the water 
department. In 1912 he was elected to the office of county treasurer and en- 
tered upon the duties of that position on the ist of January, 19 13, being still the 
incumbent in the office, the duties of which he is discharging in a manner most 
creditable to himself and satisfactory to his constituents. 

On the 9th of March, 1891, in Snohomish, Mr. Boyle was united in marriage 
to Miss Hattie Proctor, a native of Iowa and a daughter of Alexander and Tirza 
(Smith) Proctor. The latter still survives at the age of eighty-three years and 
makes her home with Mr. and Mrs. Boyle. The Proctors are an old Iowa family 
and were prominently connected with many leading families of that state. Mr. 
and Mrs. Boyle are the parents of four children, as follows : Helen, who was 
born in Snohomish, Washington, on the 17th of January, 1892; Phimester Proc- 
tor, who was born June 17, 1895, and is employed in his father's office; Gordon, 
whose birth occurred in Snohomish, Washington, on the 7th of September, 1902, 
and John L., Jr., born in January, 1905. 

In his political views Mr. Boyle is a progressive and has long been active 
in politics, recognizing the duties and obligations as well as the privileges of 
citizenship. Fraternally he is connected with the Knights of Pythias and with 
the Maccabees and he fs also a member of the Commercial Club of Everett. He 
belongs to the First Congregational church, of which he is a trustee, and his life 
is guided by its teachings, which find manifestation in honorable manhood in every 
relation. He is recognized as a man of sterling character and a most efficient 
officer and during his incumbency in his present position he has instituted many 
improvements resulting in considerable saving to the taxpayers. He is beloved by 
his employes and is honored and respected wherever known, for he possesses 
those sterling traits of character which in every land and clime awaken confidence 
and regard. 



THOMAS GEISNESS. 



Thomas Geisness, county superintendent of schools of Clallam county and a 
representative of the bar at Port Angeles, where he makes his home, was born in 
St. Croix county, Wisconsin, October 25, 1874, a son of Alexander and Anna 
(Lund) Geisness, who were natives of Norway and in childhood came to the 
new world, settling in Wisconsin, where they were married. The father there en- 
gaged in farming to the tijne of his death, which occurred in 1878, when he was 
forty-seven years of age. His wife long survived and passed away in 1913 at the 
age of seventy-eight years. 



60 WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 

Thomas Geisness was the fifth in order of birth in a family of six children 
and in his boyhood days he pursued the branches of study taught in the public 
schools of his native state, entering the University of Minnesota after completing 
a course in the high school of Hudson, Wisconsin. He took academic and post 
graduate work in the university and prepared for the bar, after which he came 
to Washington in 1907 and passed the required examination. He then located 
for practice in Port Angeles, where he has since remained, enjoying a liberal 
clientage that has connected him with much important litigation. For six years 
he was interested in school work as city superintendent in Port Angeles. This 
was not, however, his initial experience in the educational field, for prior to his 
removal to Washington he had been city superintendent of schools at Blue Earth 
and at Lakefield, Minnesota. After five years devoted to teaching in Port 
Angeles he was elected county superintendent of schools of Clallam county in 1912 
and is now acceptably filling that position for the second term. He closely studies 
every question in any way bearing upon the educational situation and has intro- 
duced reforms and improvements of practical benefit and value to the community. 
He has ever been a man of studious habits and post graduate work covering 
three years brought him the degrees of Master of Arts and Ph. D., the former 
being conferred in 1899, and the latter in 1901. 

In August, 1902, Mr. Geisness was married to Miss Mae Martin, of Indian- 
apolis, a daughter of Mr. and Mrs. John Martin and a native of Indiana. Mr. and 
Mrs. Geisness have become the parents of four children : Evelyn, who was born 
in Blue Earth, Minnesota, in 1904; John, born in Farmington, Minnesota, in 
1907; Katherine, in Port Angeles in 1910; and Robert, in 1913. 

Mr. Geisness is a member of both the county and state Bar Associations and 
enjoys the confidence and high regard of his professional colleagues and con- 
temporaries as well as his associates and coworkers in the educational field. In 
Masonry he has taken the Royal Arch degree and he is also connected with the 
Loyal Order of Moose and the Modern Woodmen of America. He is interested 
in all those questions and projects which have to do with the uplift of the in- 
dividual and the progress of the race and he is regarded as a valuable addition to 
the citizenship of Port Angeles. 



GEORGE H. EMERSON. 

In the period of pioneer development George H. Emerson arrived in Hoquiam, 
and taking up his abode at the Campbell Hotel, spent a few weeks in thoroughly 
exploring the surrounding territory in order to become familiar with its natural 
resources and the advantages here ofit'ered. He made his way to Hoquiam from 
Gardiner, Oregon, but New England claimed him as a native son, his birth 
having occurred in Chester, New Hampshire, January 18, 1846. His father, 
Nathaniel F. Emerson, was born in Chester, New Hampshire, in 1804 and in 
1831 wedded Clarissa Goodhue, by whom he had four children: John, Elizabeth, 
Stephen and George H. 

George H. Emerson removed with his parents to Massachusetts and when the 
Civil war broke out enlisted for active service in defense of the Union. Following 




GEORGE H. EMERSON 



THE NEW YOP.K 
PUBLIC LIBRARY 



ASTOR, .LENOX 
TILDEN FOUNDATION 



WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 63 

his return home with a most creditable military record he attended Harvard 
College and in 1866 he made his way to Kansas City, whence with ox teams he 
traveled across the plains to San Francisco. Entering the employ of Asa M. 
Simpson, he was sent to work in a lumber mill on Coos Bay in Oregon. Life on 
the western coast made strong appeal to him and he determined to permanently 
identify his interests with those of the northwest. 

Accordingly in 1868 he returned to the east, where he wedded Miss Lizzie 
Damon and then took his bride to the San Joaquin valley in California, where he 
began farming, but was obliged to leave there because of drought. He then re- 
entered the employ of Captain Simpson and in 1881 was sent to investigate the 
resources of the Grays Harbor country. Before returning to San Francisco he 
purchased three hundred acres of land, including the present mill site of the 
Northwestern Lurnber Company and a large part of the first plat of the town of 
Hoquiam. He then went south with Captain Simpson and purchased a sawmill 
which was in operation at Albion, California. The machinery was loaded on the 
brig Orient and arrived in Hoquiam in April, 1882, in charge of Mr. Emerson. 
A pile driver for putting in the foundation was purchased at Willapa Harbor, 
Shoalwater Bay, but while being brought around by ocean was overturned and 
lost. Progress on the new mill was rapid and in August, 1882, the first whistle 
indicated that an advanced step was taken toward changing pioneer conditions 
into those of the present day. The mill was opened with a capacity of fifty 
thousand feet daily and now has a capacity of one hundred and fifty thousand 
feet. On the 15th of June, 1896, the entire milling plant was destroyed by fire 
but was immediately rebuilt, up-to-date machinery and equipment being installed. 
In 1884 Mr. Emerson brought to the county the first logging engine, which he 
operated in the Whishkah camp with , a six. inch Manila rope cable. His activities 
proved a most potent element in the pioneer development of the lumber interests 
in the city. 

Furthermore, Mr. Emerson was connected with every movement for the 
development of city and county. For many years he was a prominent leader of 
the republican party in the Grays Harbor district but never held nor would he 
accept public office, and he declined the request of party leaders to become a 
candidate for governor at the time Mead was nominated, notwithstanding the 
fact that a nomination at that time meant an election. 

Fie constantly broadened his business interests and all of his undertakings 
were of a character that contributed to the progress and prosperity of the 
comnumity as well as to individual success. He was president of the Harbor 
Land Company, president of the Frank H. Lamb Timber Company, president of 
the Grays Harbor Tugboat Company, vice president of the Grays Harbor Com- 
pany, vice president of the Northwestern Lumber Company and vice president 
of the First National Bank. He was also interested in the Lumbermen's Indemnity 
Insurance Company, was a stockholder in the Metropolitan Bank and a director 
of the Metropolitan Building Company of Seattle. He was also proprietor of 
the Hoquiam Theatre, president and principal owner of the North Shore Electric 
Company and president of the Whishkah Boom Company. Gradually he ad- 
vanced, working his way upward step by step and constantly increasing the extent 
and importance of his interests until he became one of the foremost business 

men of this section of the state. He proved his grasp of financial affairs by 
Vol. n— 4 



64 WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 

organizing several land, real estate and commercial concerns apart from the 
lumber industry and until the last four or five years of his life retained his con- 
nection with active business interests. After retiring he made several trips 
abroad, but Hoquiam v^as always his home and the summer seasons were spent 
at Pacific Beach, where he had a beautiful residence. He was a famous swimmer 
and was exceedingly fond of outdoor life. 

To Mr. and Mrs. Emerson were born four children, two of whom are deceased. 
A sketch of Ralph D. appears below\ Alice is the wife of Frank H. Lamb, of 
Hoquiam. George D., who is deceased, was married but left no children. 
Florence E. became the wife of Charles Miller, of Aberdeen, and is deceased. 
She was the mother of a son, Charles Emerson. 

Mr. Emerson found his greatest happiness in providing for the welfare and 
comfort of his family. He belonged to the Rainier Club and was a charter 
member of the Elks lodge of Hoquiam. Death called him August 2, 1914, and 
all who knew him and were acquainted with his splendid career feel that his 
place will never be filled. He was continually reaching out along lines that have 
proved of great public benefit. No one ever questioned his integrity in personal 
matters, in business or in his relations to city, county and state. Much of his 
time was given to promote the progress and upbuilding of Hoquiam and he was 
actuated by a notably strong sense of justice and endeavored to secure fair and 
impartial conditions. He was particularly interested that the tax should be justly 
levied and that all should pay their due proportion and no more. When he 
passed away the deepest regret was felt on every hand, for he had endeared 
himself to all with whom he had come in contact, while his life work had made his 
history an integral part in the annals of his adopted city. 



RALPH D. EMERSON. 

Ralph D. Emerson needs no introduction to the readers of this volume who 
are residents of the Grays Harbor country, for practically his entire life has been 
here passed. He was born in 1880, a son of George H. Emerson, one of 
Hoquiam's most distinguished and honored citizens, and he has followed in the 
footsteps of his father, not only becoming a most progressive, alert and enter- 
prising business man but also one whose interest in public afifairs is actuated by 
an earnest desire to promote the public welfare. 

In 1910 Ralph D. Emerson was married to Miss Frances Soule, of Hoquiam, 
also a representative of a pioneer family, and they have two children, Elizabeth 
and George H. 

In the acquirement of his education Ralph D. Emerson attended the Leland 
Stanford University of California, from which he was graduated in 1903 after 
having made a special study of chemistry. Soon after returning from college he 
started the Aloha Lumber Company at Aloha, Washington, of which he is 
now president. He became the active assistant of his father in business and 
upon the father's death succeeded him in the management and control of the 
important interests which he left. He is now at the head of all the concerns 
of which his father was chief officer and is bending his energies toward 



WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 65 

administrative direction and executive control, finding ready solution for intricate 
business problems and readily discriminating- between the essential and the 
nonessential in the management of all his affairs. He is now building for the 
George H. Emerson estate a fifty thousand dollar office building in Hoquiam. 

In his political views Mr. Emerson is an earnest republican and keeps well 
informed on the questions and issues of the day. Fraternally he is connected 
with the Elks and along more strictly social lines is identified with the Country 
Club. He is a man of broad mind and generous spirit and is in hearty sympathy 
with all those progressive forces which are accomplishing much in the develop- 
ment and upbuilding of city and state. 



NELSON BENNETT. 



The world instinctively pays deference to the man whose honors have been 
worthily won as the result of his wise utilization of the opportunities which 
have come to him and of the talents with which nature has endowed him. It 
was the consensus of opinion on the part of his fellowmen that Nelson Bennett 
was one of the most conspicuous and honored figures in the northwest. To him 
life was purposeful. He regarded home, citizenship and business opportunity 
as something to be carefully cultivated and cherished. He felt that in all of 
these connections there was a work to be done and he never neglected the duty 
that came to him. He was identified with some of the greatest railroad engineer- 
ing projects which have led to the development of the northwest, and when his 
business connections brought him to Tacoma, he was so pleased with the city 
and its opportunities, its geographical situation and its beauty that he decided 
to remain. 

Mr. Bennett was born in Sutton, Canada, October 14, 1843, and his life 
spanned the intervening years to the 20th of July, 1913. His parents were 
Nicholas and Diana (Sprague) Bennett but in early youth he left his mother's 
home. His father had died when the son was but seven years of age, leaving 
the widowed mother with six children to support, and at the age of fourteen 
Nelson Bennett was doing a man's work on a farm. He attended the country 
schools for six months in a year, receiving such primitive instruction as the 
district schools of that time afforded. When seventeen years of age he went to 
Orleans county. New York, and at the age of twenty years was employed by 
the United States government on the construction of government barracks. 
Later he made his way to the oil regions of Pennsylvania, and although the 
youngest contractor in the field, did a profitable business, receiving a liberal 
patronage. He sank twenty-five successful wells in that region. In 1867 he 
went to Missouri and became identified with the west as school teacher, Indian 
fighter and miner. Before the advent of railroads into the Rocky Mountain 
regions he was engaged in extensive transportation operations through the west 
in company with Senator William A. Clark of Montana. It was in 1875 that 
he established mule freight trains in that state and it was while thus engaged 
that he met Washington Dunn, representative of Jay Gould, whose acquaintance 
he formed, resulting in Mr. Bennett's ultimately becoming interested in railroad 



66 WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 

building. During his freighting days he took into Butte, Montana, the first 
mining machinery conveyed into that camp and he built the first street railway 
system in Butte. 

It was perhaps Mr. Bennett's operations as a railroad builder and the pro- 
moter of engineering projects of great magnitude and importance that made 
him most widely known. He was considered one of the most sagacious of all 
the western railroad builders and within ten years had risen from an obscure 
position as a comparatively penniless young man to a place among the million- 
aires of the northwest. He began by taking sub-contracts for railroad building 
under Washington Dunn and following the sudden death of Mr. Dunn took up 
and completed the work and became his successor as a railroad builder. 

Mr. Bennett commenced the construction of the big tunnel through the 
summit of the Bitter Root mountains between Montana and Idaho for the 
Chicago, Milwaukee & St. Paul Railroad, but as weather conditions were un- 
favorable, he was unable to get his machinery and supplies located as soon as 
he desired, and, realizing that it would be impossible to complete the task within 
the specified time of two years and that he would thus be compelled to pay a 
large forfeit, he sold his contract to the railroad, which completed the tunnel 
according to his plans. While engaged in that work he had direct supervision 
and lived with his men in the camps not only when the work was being carried 
on through the summer but also through the winter when deep snows cut them 
off from all the outside world and stopped his work. 

Mr. Bennett was also the builder of the big irrigation ditch thirty-five miles 
in length, furnishing water to two hundred and seventy thousand acres of land. 
This was constructed for the Twin Falls Land & Water Company on the Snake, 
river in Idaho and the work required about six hundred men and twelve hun- 
dred horses, together with steam railroads, steam shovels, graders, pumps and 
drills, as much of the work had to be done in the solid rock. This is said to be 
the finest piece of engineering of its kind in the United States. Mr. Bennett 
had a remarkable sense of direction and could with a compass and the stars for 
his guide reach any given point for which he set out. He built much of the 
Northern Pacific Railroad through Montana and when his work there was com- 
pleted he was awarded the contract for boring the tunnel under the Stampede 
Pass for the Northern Pacific Railway — a gigantic undertaking for that day, as 
was evidenced by the army of men and horses and the amount of machinery 
which he had to assemble for the purpose. The gigantic task was completed 
in two years, long before the specified time and he received one hundred thou- 
sand dollars for so doing. At the end of that time Mr. Bennett removed with 
his family to Tacoma, bringing with him a fortune of a million dollars which 
he had accumulated. From that time forward he was closely associated with 
the interests, development and progress of the city and promoted a number of 
those utilities which have featured largely in the city's upbuilding. He was 
associated with Allen Mason in the establishment of the street railway system 
of Tacoma, beginning on Pacific avenue, just north of the Northern Pacific 
Railroad, and crossing at Seventeenth street, extending from Seventeenth to 
Seventh street. This was a horse car line. Mr. Bennett afterward built another 
line on C street from Ninth to Tacoma avenue and extending out Tacoma avenue 
and on North G street to the top of the hill above the old town. He enlarged 



WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 67 

the system to meet the demands occasioned by Tacoma's rapid growth until he 
sold out to the syndicate headed by Henry Villard, who continued the work that 
Mr. Bennett had begun and carried out his ideas, developing the present street 
railway system under the name of the Tacoma Railway & Power Company. 

When Mr. Bennett had closed out his street railway interests he founded 
the town of Fairhaven, now a part of Bellingham, and there established mills 
and factories, also built a fine hotel, founded a daily newspaper and put on the 
steamers Fairhaven and State of Washington, built especially for trade between 
Fairhaven and Tacoma. He also began building railroads out of Fairhaven to 
the east and south — lines which have since become a part of a great railway 
system. In 1891 he purchased the Tacoma Hotel from C. B. Wright of Phila- 
delphia, who was one of the founders of the city and a former president of the 
Northern Pacific Railway Company. He likewise purchased the Tacoma 
Ledger, the leading newspaper of the city, for which he paid one hundred and 
twenty thousand dollars cash. 

In the panic following Baring Brothers' failure Mr. Bennett's fortune was 
swept away, after which he again turned his attention to construction work, 
building the Palmer cut-off for the Northern Pacific Railroad and the Pacific 
ocean extension to the beach at Moclips. When he started the Cascade tunne! 
in 1886 he had to haul his machinery a distance of ninety miles before he could 
begin operations on the tunnel, which is nine thousand eight hundred and fifty 
feet long, sixteen feet wide and twenty-two feet high and which was put through 
in shorter time than any other of similar character in this country. He built the 
Cascade division of the Northern Pacific from Pasco to Puget Sound, built a 
large part of the line of the Oregon Railway & Navigation Company and also 
executed important railroad building projects in Utah. When the Northern 
Pacific planned the construction of the Point Defiance line Mr. Bennett, al- 
though he had retired, felt the call again and took the work, while younger men 
sat back and looked on in amazement. That he was capable for the task was 
evidenced in the dispatch with which he undertook the completion of the Poin: 
Defiance tunnel, a work second in importance to none save his earlier achieve- 
ment in the Cascade mountains. These two tunnels are a monument to the 
business ability and enterprise of Mr. Bennett, who had almost completed this 
last tunnel when death called him, but it was finished by his widow and the 
Northern Pacific Railway Company fittingly named it in his honor the Nelson 
Bennett tunnel. Mr. Bennett was also a director of the Merchants National 
Bank and when the panic came he turned over eighty thousand dollars of his 
own private fortune to save the bank, but it was swept away with other securi- 
ties. Another notable work which he accomplished was the spanning of the 
Chilkoot Pass in Alaska with a tramway that was constructed in the winter. 

At Dillon. Montana, Mr. Bennett was married to Mrs. Lottie H. Wells, of 
New York, and they became the parents of five cliildren. of whom four are 
living: Mrs. Stephen Appleby; Mrs. Ceta Munsey ; Nelsie, who married Minot 
Davis ; and Charlotte C. 

Mr. Bennett was a prominent Mason and attained the thirty-second degree 
in the Scottish Rite. In politics he was a republican and served as one of the 
first delegates to the national convention of his party after Washington became 
a state and was a leading candidate for the United States senate. At one time 



68 WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 

he was president of the Chamber of Commerce of Tacoma, and he spent a con- 
siderable period as the president of the park board, doing much to better the 
condition of the animals and birds in the zoo, for he was a great lover of these. 
He was a most earnest advocate of a well developed park and boulevard system 
and he favored every well defined plan and project for the upbuilding, improve- 
ment and adornment of his adopted city. He was not only a great railroad 
builder but was also the builder and architect of his own fortunes and more than 
that, of a reputation and of a character which in every relation and under trying 
circumstances remained unsullied. His work was great but not greater than the 
man who promoted it. The value and importance of his life cannot be measured 
by tangible standards but all recognize the fact that it constituted one of the 
most potent forces in the development, upbuilding and promotion of the north- 
west. 



WINSLOW M. McCURDY. 

Winslow M. McCurdy, actively identified with newspaper publication at Port 
Tcwnsend as owner and editor of the Leader, was born October lo, 1877, in the 
city in which he still makes his home, his parents being William A. and Hannah 
(Ebinger) McCurdy, the father a native of Maine and the mother of Wisconsin. 
The latter passed away in Portland, Oregon, in 1880, when but thirty-five years 
of age. The father became a well known ship joiner and in 1857 removed to 
Port Townsend, where his remaining days were passed, his death occurring in 
1890, when he was about fifty-eight years of age. 

In their family were four children, of whom Winslow M. was the youngest. 
In his boyhood he attended the public schools of Port Townsend to the age of 
twelve years, when he began learning the printer's trade, entering the employ of 
the Leader Company, with which he remained for about five years. For ten 
years he worked on various newspapers and in print shops and for some years 
was engaged in mining. Returning to Port Towsend in 1905, he purchased an in- 
terest in the Leader Publishing Company and later in the Call Publishing Company 
and since that time has conducted business on his own account, publishing the 
Fort Townsend Leader, which is a four-page, six-column paper — a folio sheet 
which has a large circulation through Jefferson county. He issues both a daily 
and weekly edition and the paper finds a ready sale. The large circulation list 
renders the paper also an excellent advertising medium. 

At Port Townsend, on the 9th of July. 1908, Mr. McCurdy was united in 
marriage to Miss Johanna Iffland, a daughter of John and Lisette Ift'land. The 
father died November 30, 1914, but the mother is still living. Mr. and Mrs. 
McCurdy have become parents of three children : Winslow I., who was born 
at Port Townsend, July 2, 1909; Richard F., whose birth occurred at Port Town- 
send on the 31st of December, 1910; and Jean Lisette. born at Port Townsend. 
April 22, 1914. 

Fraternally Mr. McCurdy is an Elk and a Woodman of the World. His 
political allegiance is given to the republican party and he is a stalwart champion 
of its principles because of his firm belief in the party platform. His career is 



WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 



69 



that of a self-made man, for from the early age of twelve years he has worked 
his way upward unaided and he stands high as one of the leading and popular 
newspaper publishers of the state. 



HUGH ELDRIDGE. 



Hugh Eldridge, who has recently retired from the position of postmaster of 
Bellingham after many years' service in that office, has been identified with the 
city and its interests for a longer period than almost any other of its residents. In 
fact, he was born in Bellingham, December 14, i860, a son of Edward and Teresa 
(Lappin) Eldridge, who were among the first white settlers on the bay and of 
whom extended mention is made elsewhere in this work. He attended the public 
schools until he reached the age of eighteen years, after which he concentrated 
his energies upon the cultivation of his father's farm until 1886, when, at the age 
of twenty-six years, he was elected county auditor. So excellent a record did he 
make in office that he was reelected in 1888 and served until January, 1891. He 
then joined Edward Cosgrove, J. E. Baker, Morris McCarty and C. J. Cook in 
organizing and promoting what was then the Fairhaven & New Whatcom Street 
Railway Company, building a line between Bellingham and Fairhaven, also another 
line to Lake Whatcom and a portion of the line on Eldridge avenue, in the city 
of Bellingham. Of that company he was president until 1895, when he resigned 
and concentrated his energies upon the real estate business, controlling property 
which had been secured by his father as a donation claim in 1853 ^^d which, sub- 
divided into city lots, has proven a source of substantial revenue. On the ist of 
July, 1898, Mr. Eldridge was appointed postmaster by President McKinley and 
served throughout all the intervening years until 19 16. when, after eighteen years' 
connection with the office, he retired under the Wilson administration. 

On the 23d of February, 1893, in Bellingham, Mr. Eldridge was married to 
Miss Dellisca J. Bowers, who passed away in March, 1910. He has membership 
in the Elks lodge, also in the Cougar Club, and his political indorsement is given 
to the republican party, the principles of which he stanchly advocates, doing all in 
his power to promote the growth and insure the success of the party. For fifty- 
six years he has been a resident of Bellingham, witnessing its development and 
<"aking an active part in all that has pertained to its progress and improvement. 
His substantial traits and kindly qualities have gained for him the warm and 
enduring regard of all with whom he has been associated from his boyhood to 
the present. 



WILLIAM J. PATTERSON. 

In an analyzation of the life record of William J. Patterson the power of 
organization stands out as one of his most clearly defined characteristics. It is 
this ability to coordinate and develop forces that has made him one of the lead- 
ing and prominent residents of Aberdeen, where he has made his home since 



70 WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 

1890, coming to the northwest from Canada. He was born near Montreal, Can- 
ada, in 1872 and was therefore a young man of but eighteen years when he 
arrived in the city in which he still resides, entering its business circles as clerk 
in the bank of Hayes & Hayes. That firm erected a building at the corner of 
H and Heron streets and was engaged in the banking business there for many 
years or until the death of H. A. Hayes in 1903. The bank was capitalized for 
twenty-five thousand dollars and became one of the strong and thoroughly relia- 
ble financial institutions of that part of the state. Mr. Patterson worked his way 
up to the position of cashier, in which capacity he continued for a number of 
years, and following the death of Mr. Hayes he served both as cashier and man- 
ager, while Mrs. Patterson became president of the company. Something of the 
continuous, steady and healthful growth of the business is indicated in the fact 
that the capital stock was first increased to fifty thousand dollars and now stands 
at three hundred thousand dollars. Imporant and extensive as have been his 
activities in that connection, Mr. Patterson has not confined his attention alone 
to the management and control of the bank but has also figured prominently in 
other ways, being now president of the United States Trust Company of Aber- 
deen, president of the State Bank of Centralia, president of the Electric Light 
Company and president of the G. H. Street Railway Company. He readily rec- 
ognizes opportunities and utilizes them to the fullest extent and whatever he 
undertakes he carries forward to successful completion. 

Mr. Patterson was the founder and promoter of the Aberdeen Country and 
Golf Club and has been the moving spirit in promoting its interests. He stands 
for advancement along all lines that have to do with the material, intellectual, 
social and moral progress of his community. He is alert and watchful of oppor- 
tunities to advance the city's interests along any of these lines and his labors 
have been far-reaching, resultant and beneficial. 



ROBERT F. LYTLE. 



When flags were unfurled at half-mast on the 20th of May, 1916, it was known 
that Robert F. Lytle had passed from life's activities, with which he had been so 
closely and prominently associated as a leading business man of Hoquiam for many 
years. From the period of the city's early development he took a most active part 
in promoting its lumber interests and such was his ability that he rose to distinctive 
prominence, becoming one of the foremost lumbermen on the Pacific coast. His 
discrimination was keen, his judgment sound and he readily recognized and utilized 
opportunities that others passed heedlessly by. 

He was born in Ogdensburg, New York, September 14, 1854, and is a son of 
Joseph and Elizabeth (Foster) Lytle. The Lytle family is of Irish- American 
parentage, the ancestry in America being traced back to the Revolutionary war 
period. During the early boyhood of Robert F. Lytle the family removed from 
New York to Wisconsin, where his father engaged in farming. The son's educa- 
tion was acquired in the public schools of Portage and later he completed a com- 
mercial course in the University of Wisconsin. On leaving that state he removed 
to Minnesota and thence went to Lincoln, Nebraska, where he engaged in business 




EGBERT F. LYTLE 



i 



THE NEW YORK 
PUBLIC LIBRARY 

ASTOR, LENOX 
TILDEN FOUNDATION 



WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 73 

for himself. There he was married on June 2y, 1886, to Ida McDonald, who with 
one daughter, Doris Elizabeth, now survives him. From Nebraska Mr. Lytle came 
to Washington in 1889 and settled in Fairhaven, where he formed a partnership 
with his brother, Joseph Lytle, in the grocery business. The following year, rec- 
ognizing the possibilities of Hoquiam, the brothers moved to that place and again 
entered the grocery business, establishing a pioneer grocery house which became 
one of the profitable commercial enterprises of the city. After a few years they 
were, much against their will, to accept in payment of a debt a small logging outfit 
which had been operated on the East Hoquiam river, just above the present site of 
the various Lytle mill industries. Oxen formed part of the outfit and these were 
used for a short time but were soon replaced by engines. It was this circum- 
stance that forced the Lytle brothers into the logging and eventually into the 
lumber business. Mr. Lytle employed John D. Sparling to act as foreman of the 
newly acquired plant and began logging operations. Mr. Sparling has remained 
with the company continuously since and is still superintendent of their extensive 
camps, their success being largely due to his faithfulness and untiring energy. The 
business having been forced upon Mr. Lytle, he made of it a close study, for it was 
his custom to do thoroughly anything that he undertook. Soon it began to show 
profits and gradually the operations were extended. The Lytle brothers began 
to buy timber, which at that time sold* at a very low figure in the Grays Harbor 
country. They continued to buy and at the same time increased their logging oper- 
ations and within a few years theirs became one of the largest logging and timber 
holding concerns of the Grays Harbor district. Ever studying the situation rela- 
tive to the business, Robert F. Lyljle recognized that there was a good demand for 
cedar shingles and also realized that cedar logs were cheap, and he had himself 
acquired considerable cedar land. He decided to build a shingle mill and in time 
his plant was producing the largest cut of any shingle mill on the Pacific coast 
and constituted the nucleus of the Lytle mill interests. A few years after the 
building of the shingle mill he erected a sawmill and organized the company 
since known as the Hoquiam Lumber & Shingle Company. The boom in the 
lumber market preceding 1907 gave the company an impetus and the mill became 
one of the largest in their part of the state, working ten hours per day with a 
capacity of four hundred thousand feet of lumber. 

It was about 191 1 that Mr. Lytle opened offices in Portland and removed to 
that city, where he erected a magnificent residence and invested extensively in 
property, but he continued to spend much of his time in Hoquiam. actively directing 
his manufacturing and logging operations. In 1913 he platted extensive land 
holdings along the East Hoquiam river, just north of the city, and ofifered it as 
free factory sites, seeking by that means to promote the growth of the city by 
bringing to it new industries. Optimistic concerning the future of the lumber 
trade, he began the promotion of several new companies and in 191 5 organized 
the Panama-Eastern Lumber Company, of which he was the largest stockholder 
and which erected a large sawmill on the East Hoquiam river, almost directly 
across the main river from the plant of the Hoquiam Lumber & Shingle Com- 
pany. He was also largely instrumental in organizing and establishing the Wood- 
lawn Mill & Boom Company, which dredged and built a public log dump and 
boom and also erected an electric shingle mill— the largest on the harbor — with 
a capacity of five hundred thousand shingles per day. Thus the business interests 



74 WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 

of Robert F. Lytle grew and developed until the extent and importance of his 
operations placed him among the foremost lumbermen of the northwest. 

Mr. Lytle found his greatest pleasure in his success in that it afforded him 
the means of providing most liberally for his family and his beautiful home in 
Portland was an evidence of his devotion to their interests. He was a prominent 
member of the Elks lodge and when death called him on the 20th of May, 1916, 
when he was about sixty-two years of age, thus terminating the only illness from 
which he had ever suffered, funeral services were conducted in the Elks' Home in 
Hoquiam according to the ritual of the order, after which his remains were taken 
to Tacoma for interment. Sincere sorrow at his passing was felt not only by 
his family and personal friends but by his colleagues and contemporaries in 
business and by his large force of workmen, who ever found in him a just and 
considerate employer, one who recognized the rights of those in his service and 
marked his appreciation of their faithfulness and ability by promotion when 
opportunity offered. It is said that a person may best be judged by his conduct 
toward inferiors and by this standard Mr. Lytle stood as a man among men, for 
in him there was nothing of the taskmaster with arbitrary ironclad rules. His 
employes were his fellowmen and were treated as such. His was a splendid 
record and constitutes an important chapter in the history of Hoquiam's develop- 
ment. 



LAURENCE STEPHEN BOOTH. 

Ability is much like that "city which is set upon the hill and cannot be hid," 
for ability will come to the front everywhere and must eventually win the rewards 
of success. This fact finds deinonstration in the career of Laurence Stephen 
Booth, who is now vice president and treasurer of the Washington Title Insurance 
Company of Seattle, the largest and most progressive title company in the north- 
west. He has spent practically his entire life in this state, although he is a native 
of Battle Creek, Michigan, where his birth occurred March 26, 1861. His father, 
Manville S. Booth, came to the territory of Washington in 1861 and engaged in 
business in Port Townsend and Seattle. He was auditor of King county from 
1875 until 1 88 1 and was otherwise active in public affairs and in promoting the 
early progress of the territory. Manville S. Booth married Mary Roe, who was 
born in England, of English and Irish parentage. 

Reared in this state, Laurence S. Booth attended the University of Washington 
from 1873 until 1875 inclusive and in the latter year entered the office of the 
county auditor, there remaining until 1887. In the latter year he became engaged 
in the abstract and title business and has made steady progress in that connection 
until he is now an officer of the largest and most progressive title company in the 
northwest, being the vice president and treasurer of the Washington Title Insur- 
ance Company of Seattle. The business conducted by this corporation is now 
extensive and its returns are substantial. His standing among men similarly 
engaged is indicated in the fact that he has been honored with the presidency 
of the Washington Association of Title Men and is now the president of the 
American Association of Title Men, a national organization. 



WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 75 

On the I2th of April, 1893, in Seattle, Mr. Booth was united in marriage to 
Miss Nelle M. Crawford, a daughter of Ronald C. and Elizabeth Crawford, who 
crossed the plains to Oregon in 1847 and are now both living in Seattle. Mr. and 
Mrs. Booth now have five children, namely : Edwin S., Madeleine, Elizabeth, 
Laurence S., Jr., and Evelyn Beatrice, 

In politics Mr. Booth is a republican, but the only office he has ever filled was 
that of deputy auditor of King county from 1879 until 1886. He was a member 
of the first amateur baseball organization of Seattle, the first athletic association, 
the first association for the protection of game, and the volunteer fire department. 
Moreover, he belonged to the National Guard of Washington from 1884 until 
1896 and was commander of Company B of the First Regiment at the time he 
resigned and severed his connection with the organization. His religious belief 
is that of the Catholic church and he is a fourth degree member of the Knights of 
Columbus. He is also well known in club circles, holding membership with the 
Seattle Athletic Club, the Arctic Club, the Earlington Golf and Country Club and 
the Seattle Golf Club. 



VICTOR A. ROEDER. 



The work instituted by his father, Captain Henry Roeder, of beloved pioneer 
memory, has been continued by the son, Victor A. Roeder, who for many years 
has conducted an extensive general real estate, loan and mortgage business, largely 
handling his own properties, and who since 1904 has been president of the Belling- 
ham National Bank. His father secured as a donation claim three hundred 
and twenty acress of land, constituting a part of the present site of the city, and 
it was upon that property, now the corner of Elm and Monroe streets, that Victor 
A. Roeder was born August 13, 1861. He attended the public schools of Belling- 
ham to the age of fifteen years and then went to Vermilion, Ohio, where he con- 
tinued his studies in the public and high schools until he reached the age of twenty- 
two years. He afterward spent a year as a student in Heald's Business College of 
San Francisco and upon his return to Bellingham became the active assistant of his 
father, with whom he was engaged in the real estate business for ten years. Victor 
A. Roeder then went to the Nooksak river and established a postoffice and gen- 
eral mercantile store at Nooksak Ferry, where now stands the town of Everson. 
After remaining there for four years he disposed of his business and returned to 
Bellingham owing to the fact that his father was then well advanced in years and 
needed his assistance in the management and control of his business. \ ictor A. 
Roeder then took over the management of his father's real estate interests and of 
the Chuckanut stone quarry, which he thus controlled until his father's death in 
1902, when the estate was divided between himself and his sister, Mrs. Charles 
Roth, who were the only heirs. 

From that date until the present Victor A. Roeder has been engaged in the 
general real estate, loan and mortgage business and has gained a large clientage. 
He has negotiated many important realty transfers and the natural rise in property 
values owing to the rapid growth of the city, as well as his enterprising business 
methods, have brought to him constantly increasing success. In addition to his 



76 WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 

activities in that field Mr. Roeder became associated with twelve others in 1904 
in organizing the Bellingham National Bank, of which he has since been the presi- 
dent, with William AlcCnsh as vice president and F. F. Handschy as cashier. The 
bank was first capitalized for one hundred thousand dollars and entered upon an 
era of profitable existence as indicated by the fact that the capital stock has been 
increased to two hundred thousand dollars and there is now a surplus of two 
hundred and seventy-five thousand dollars. As its directing head Mr. Roeder is 
bending his energies to executive control and the policy which he pursues measures 
up to the highest financial standards and ethics. 

In Lynden, Washington, on the 6th of October, 1886, Mr. Roeder was mar- 
ried to Miss Effie B. Ebey and they have become the parents of a daughter and a 
son: Ayreness, now the wife of J. R. Bolster, a contractor of Bellingham; and 
Henry Victor, twenty-six years of age, who is a graduate of the Bellingham high 
school and is now statement clerk at the Bellingham National Bank. 

In 1896 Mr. Roeder was elected to the office of county treasurer and filled 
that position until 1900. He has always preferred, however, that his public duties 
should be done as a private citizen and in that connection has lent his aid and 
cooperation to many well defined plans and measures for the general good. In a 
review of his life one is led to the reflection that to accumulate a fortune requires 
one kind of genius ; to retain a fortune already acquired, to add to its legitimate 
increment and to make such use of it that its possessor may derive therefrom the 
greatest enjoyment and the public the greatest benefit requires quite another kind 
of genius. Mr. Roeder belongs to that younger generation of business men of 
Bellingham who are called upon to shoulder responsibilities differing materially 
from those resting upon their predecessors. In a broader field of enterprise they 
find themselves obliged to deal with affairs of greater magnitude and to solve 
more difficult and complicated financial and economic problems. In this connec- 
tion Mr. Roeder has proved adequate to all the demands made upon him and by 
reason of the mature judgment which characterizes his efforts at all times he 
stands today as a splendid representative of a prominent banker and real estate 
man to whom business is but one phase of life and does not exclude his active 
participation in and support of the other vital interests which go to make up 
human existence. 



FRANK G. JONES. 



No history of the banking business in Aberdeen and southwest Washington 
would be complete without extended reference to Frank G. Jones, a prominent, 
well known and honored man whose efforts have constituted an element in the 
business development of the district in which he resides. 

A native of Tennessee, he was born in McMinnville, November 20, i860, son 
of James L. and Fannie (Goodbar) Jones, both natives of Tennessee and both 
members of families prominent in the social and commercial history of that state. 

Frank G. Jones pursued his education at Cumberland University of Lebanon, 
Tennessee, and at the Southwestern University of Clarksville, the same state. 
After completing his education he entered the employ of his uncle, James M. 



WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 77 

Goodbar, of Memphis, Tennessee, whose concern, Goodbar & Company, was one 
of the largest shoe wholesalers and manufacturers in the south. He worked up 
from stock boy to buyer and assistant general manager, was with this house twenty 
years, sold out his interest and established on his own account The Frank G. 
Jones Shoe Company, which he built up to a large business. He continued in 
Memphis until 1901, when he moved his concern to Boston, where he was at the 
head of a large wholesale shoe business until 1905, when he sold out his interest 
there. 

Frank G. Jones came to the northwest in January, 1906, and to Aberdeen in 
June of the same year. On September i, 1906, he opened the Chehalis County 
Bank, a private institution with a capital of twenty-five thousand dollars, the first 
savings bank established in Chehalis county. In 1907 he incorporated his bank 
and organized the Union Bank & Trust Company as a commercial bank operated 
jointly with the Chehalis County Bank, with capital of fifty thousand dollars, Mr. 
Jones being president of both. The banks prospered under his management, 
weathering the financial panic of 1907. In 1909 he increased the capital stock 
of the Union Bank & Trust Company to one hundred thousand dollars and con- 
verted it into a national bank under the name of the United States National 
Bank. In 1910 the Aberdeen State Bank was taken over by Mr. Jones and his 
associates and both banks were operated under his presidency and management 
until June, 191 1, when they had deposits of six hundred and forty-two thousand 
dollars. 

Mr. Jones at about this time sold his interest in the United States National 
Bank to the Hayes & Hayes Bank, Aberdeen, intending to continue the Chehalis 
County Bank as a savings institution. A short while later there was a run on 
his bank which proved disastrous, but, while Mr. Jones lost his fortune, be it 
said to his credit he elected the honorable course and not one of his three 
thousand eight hundred depositors lost a penny. A few months later, with no 
capital save the confidence and esteem of the people he had served, he estab- 
lished himself in the general insurance and safe deposit business. Together 
with his eldest son, J. M. G. Jones, he has built this up to one of the largest of 
its kind in southwest Washington. He has also organized and is secretary and 
general manager of the Security Savings and Loan Society of Aberdeen, a 
growing institution. 

Mr. Jones was one of the organizers of the Farmers & Lumberman's Bank 
of Elma, Washington, and was one of its principal stockholders. He also 
erected the building and organized the bank at Oakville, Washington, which he 
shortly afterwards sold out. 

Mr. Jones was married in December, 1889, in Birmingham, Alabama, to 
Miss Mary Rogan. Three children were bom to them : J. M. Goodbar, twenty- 
six years old, a business partner with his father; L. Rogan, twenty-one years of 
age ; and Ellen Jane Netherland, fifteen years old. Both sons have enlisted in 
the United States navy in defense of their country, following the example of 
their forebears who fought for the cause of liberty in the Revolution and in the 
Civil war. 

Fraternally Mr. Jones is a Mason, including the degrees of Royal Arch and' 
the Commandery. In matters of citizenhip he has displayed devotion to the 
general good and no plan or movement has sought his support in vain. He has 



78 WASHINGTON,, WEST OF THE CASCADES 

established and maintained a reputation for scrupulous honesty, high moral 
character and business integrity. There have been few men who have done 
more to further progress and improvement in the community during the period 
he made Aberdeen his home than he through his operations in financial fields and 
otherwise. 



JAMES T. QUIGG. 



James T. Quigg, vice president of the Grays Harbor Construction Company, 
was born at St. John, New Brunswick, in 1864, and has b^en identified with the 
Pacific coast country for more than three decades. In 1885 he left New Bruns- 
wick and removed to Humboldt county, California, and there resided until 1897, 
when he made his way to the Grays Harbor district, where he has since remained. 
In 1904 he entered into his present partnership relation with Philip J. Mourant 
and Milton L. Watson, under the style of the Grays Harbor Construction Com- 
pany, and through the interim has concentrated his efiforts upon the development 
of the business, his specific work being that of foreman of the ship carpentering 
and pile driving. He thoroughly understands this branch of the work, so that he 
is able to direct the efforts of the men who serve under him and produce the best 
possible results. 

In 1914 ]\Ir. Quigg was married to Miss Ellen Miller, a native of Michigan, 
and to them have been born two children, James T. and Charles O. Fraternally he 
is connected with the Benevolent Protective Order of Elks. He and his wife 
have a wide acquaintance in this locality and sterling traits of character have won 
them high regard. Mr. Quigg has always made good use of his time and oppor- 
tunities and his well defined plans and purposes have led to the attainment of 
substantial success. 



FREDERICK ORNES. 



Frederick Ornes, of Mount Vernon, one of the best known newspaper men of 
Washington, w^ho has been president of the Washington State Press Association, 
was bom in iManitowoc, Wisconsin, March 30, 1871, his parents being Mads and 
Marie (Magnus) Ornes, both natives of Norway. He pursued his education 
in the public schools of his native city and after working for a time in a store 
went upon the road as a traveling salesman. His first experience in the news- 
paper field came to him as cub reporter on the now extinct St. Paul Daily Globe. 
In 1898 he removed westward and for a time engaged in newspaper work in 
Butte, Montana. The year 1901 witnessed his arrival in Skagit county, Wash- 
ington, and in May 1902, he purchased the Anacortes American. In 1903 he also 
bought a half interest in the Anacortesan and established in Stanwood a paper 
known as the Stanwood Tidings. In May of the same year he purchased the 
Argus, so that he became closely associated with newspaper interests in his part 
of the state. Eventually he sold his interest in the Tidings and disposed of the 



WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 79 

American, but in September, 1914, he established the East Stanwood Bulletin, 
which was printed on the Argus press and was suspended in 1916. 

On the 30th of October, 1902, Mr. Ornes was married to Miss Susan Lord 
Currier, a daughter of Airs. Augusta M. Currier, of La Conner. She died June 4, 
1906. On the 29th of April, 1909, Mr. Ornes wedded Miss Mabel Hannay, a 
daughter of Mr. and Mrs. J- K. Hannay, of Edison, Washington. She, too, passed 
away April 27, 1914. 

In politics Mr. Ornes has always been a stalwart republican and has done 
efifective work along political lines. He was the organizer of the direct primary 
campaign in Skagit county and his activities have had marked influence in mold- 
ing public thought and opinion. He is an honorary member of the Sigma Delta 
Chi, a journalistic fraternity, and he belongs to the Mount Vernon Commer- 
cial Club. 



MITCHEL HARRIS. 



Mitchel Harris, president of the Harris Dry Goods Company of Olympia, is a 
prominent figure in the business circles of the capital city. His entire life has 
been passed in the Pacific northwest as he was born in Salem, Oregon, September 
18, 1862. His father, Isaac Harris, was born in Russia but in 1854 settled in 
California, where he engaged in business until 1858, in which year he removed 
to Oregon City, Oregon. Subsequently he resided in Walla Walla, Washington, 
and in Helena, Montana, but in 1869 estabHshed his home in Olympia, where he 
founded the business now conducted under the name of the Harris Dry Goods 
Company. He passed away in 1894, when sixty years of age. He was married 
in New York City to Miss Annie Marcus, a native of that city and of German 
descent. To them were born three sons : Henry, who is a practicing physician 
of San Francisco ; and Gus and Mitchel, who are partners in business. 

Mitchel Harris received his education in the public schools of Olympia, as 
he was but seven years of age when his parents removed there, and gained his 
early training in merchandising under the guidance of his father, whom he as- 
sisted in the store. As time passed he assumed more and more responsibility 
for the management of the business and following his father's death he and his 
brother Gus became proprietors of the store. It is housed in a fine structure 
ninety by one hundred and twenty feet in dimensions and the stock carried is 
extensive and well selected. The business is now carried on under the name of 
the Harris Dry Goods Company with Mitchel Harris as the president and the 
high standards established by the father have been maintained throughout the 
years. The store is systematically organized and much of the success of the 
business has been due to the cooperation of the various departments. Mr. 
Harris is also a stockholder and director of the Capital National Bank of Olympia. 

In Portland, Oregon, March 13, 1892, occurred the marriage of Mr. Harris 
and Miss Toba Lichtenstein. of San Francisco, by whom he has two children : 
Mrs. William Taylor, of Seattle; and Selwyn L., who is twenty-two years old and 
is now engaged in business with his father. 

Mr. Harris belongs to the Knights of Pythias and has held the office of grand 



80 WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 

treasurer of the state. He is likewise a member of the Thurston Pioneer and His- 
toric Association. For three terms he served as mayor of Olympia and during 
that time many projects for the good of the city were brought to successful 
completion. Through the exercise of enterprise and through strict adherence 
to ethical standards he has gained for himself an enviable place in business 
circles and has won the esteem and good will of all who have come in contact 
with him. 



JAMES A. KARR. 



The history of Hoquiam and of the Grays Harbor country cannot be better 
told than by detailing many of the incidents of the life of James A. Karr, who 
lived until November, 1914, to tell the tale of the wonderful development of this 
section of the country, his memory forming a connecting link between the primitive 
past and the progressive present. Fifty-seven years have come and gone since 
he filed upon a claim in Chehalis, now Grays Harbor, county, in i860, being then 
a young man of twenty-six years. Until that district emerged from pioneer con- 
ditions much of his life had been spent upon the frontier, for Indiana had taken 
on statehood only eighteen years before he was born on Little Indian creek, not 
far from Martinsville, Indiana, on the i8th of September, 1834. His earliest 
recollections are of playing on the sand on the bank of that creek with his little 
sister, who died after he left home. He has^ no memory of his father save as he 
saw him in death, the grief of his mptlfer impressing this sight indelibly upon 
the mind of the three-year-old boy. However, he remembers his grandfather 
Karr, a fine type of the Irish gentleman, dressed like a squire in leggings and 
hunting coat. After the death of the father, the mother took her children to a 
place near the home of her brother, Reuben Stepp, and there she became ac- 
quainted with a German of the name of Evilsizer, who was a widower with 
several children. She became his wife and they removed to Washington County, 
Illinois, Mr. Evilsizer having there purchased a farm on which was a comfortable 
brick residence. He expected to pay for this place by the sale of his property in 
Indiana, but not getting the money for this, he was compelled to leave that land 
and settled on an eighty-acre tract of raw land for which his son had contracted. 
Before he secured title to that place, however, he became ill and passed away. 

James A. Karr and his brother Henry had worked with their stepfather in 
clearing and developing the land, but the family had no claim to it and were 
compelled to move again. They went to live in a little house beside the road and 
such was now the financial condition of the family that the mother was obliged to 
hire out in order to support her children. At length, however, they rented land 
and the two boys, who had a yoke of oxen, again began farming. Later the 
mother married a Mr. Storick and again the family moved, settling on a good 
farm in St. Clair county, Illinois, not far from St. Louis. There was much hard 
work to be done in the further clearing and cultivating of the land and the Karr 
brothers did their full share. Mr. Karr, however, recognized that his step- 
brothers had little chance in life because of. a lack of education and^ that they 
would always have to depend upon severe manual labor. He often expressed 



THE NEW YOM 
PUBLIC LIBRARY 

ASTOR,, LENOX 
TILDEN FOUNDATION 



i 




JAMES A. KAEE 




MRS. JAMES A. KARR 



THE NEW YOKK 
PUBLIC UBRARY 



ASTOR, LENOX 
TILDEN FOUNDATION 



WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 85 

a desire to attend school but received no assistance from Air. Storick, althouo-h 
his mother encouraged the idea. At length, feeling that if he obtained an educa- 
tion it must be through his own efforts, he left home at the age of fourteen years 
and hired out for the summer at a wage of live dollars per month. At harvest 
time a man who could swing a cradle or could bind after the cradle was paid a 
much better wage than the regular farm hand, and Mr. Karr proved that he could 
bind as well as men of twice or thrice his years. Accordingly he did work of 
that character, earning at first a dollar and afterward a dollar and a quarter per 
day, and the money thus gained was used in buying books and clothing, while 
by working on Saturdays and morning and night to pay for his board, he was 
able to attend school for several months that winter. He afterward enterea 
upon an apprenticeship to the brickmaker's trade and the money which he earned 
through the summer months in that way enabled him to again attend school in 
the winter. One of his teachers, John Leeper, a graduate of McKendree College 
of Illinois, proved an inspiration to him and assisted him in every possible way 
in his studies. For six years Mr. Karr continued working in the summer and 
attending school in the winter, and finally, with a partner, he established and 
operated a brickyard, in which he won a measure of success that enabled him to 
pay his board and devote an entire year to study, in which time he acquired a 
knowledge of algebra, natural philosophy and astronomy. He was particularly 
interested in the first named and his fellow students often called upon him to 
assist in solving their problems. After that year he taught school for a term and 
then, inclined to the study of medicine, he spent some time in a drug store. All 
these experiences not only proved to him a means of earning a living at that 
period but gave him a fund of knowledge upon which he called in his later pioneer 
experiences in the northwest. He became one of the first school teachers and 
one of the first brickmakers of Chehalis county when some years later he estab- 
lished his home in the Grays Harbor country. 

In 1855 following the discovery of gold in California, Mr. Karr and his 
brother decided to go to the mines, as this would enable them also to see some- 
thing of the world. Returning to Indiana, Mr. Karr, who was then twenty-one 
years of age, settled his father's estate, his share thereof being about five hundred 
dollars, which furnished the brothers the capital for their trip. Proceeding to 
New York, they took passage on a steamer bound for Panama, crossed the 
Isthmus and thence proceeded northward to California, where they spent three 
years in the mines. They made Nevada City their headquarters but they did not 
find the expected fortune and in 1858, attracted by the Eraser river excitement, 
started north as passengers on the Anne Perry from San Francisco to Whatcom. 
There they purchased a small boat to go from Bellingham Bay to the Gulf of 
Georgia and thence up the Eraser river. Point Roberts extended into the gulf in 
a southeasterly direction for quite a distance. South of this point the water was 
quiet but on the river side there was a strong surf driven on by northwest wind. 
However, they decided to land on the north side in order to be ready to make 
the start up the river, but while so doing their boat filled with water and their 
provisions received a soaking, although little damage resulted. Proceeding up 
the river, they stopped at Fort Yale for a week or more in September, 1858, and 
there purchased Sockeye salmon from the Indians, which furnished them many 
an appetizing meal when the fish was fried in butter. 

Vdl. 11 — 5 



86 WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 

As the winter was coming on and there seemed no prospect of getting gold, 
the brothers returned southward, accompanied by their partner, John C. Gove, 
who became one of the pioneer settlers near Seattle. Purchasing their partner's 
interest, they started back to the Sound and at Olympia sold their boat proceeding 
on the trail with their packs. They spent the night on Mound Prairie at the home 
of a Mr. Goodell, whose son Ed had just been helping to make a survey of the 
land at Grays Harbor. He told of the country and of the river called Hoquiam, 
Mr. Karr and his brother retaining a distinct remembrance of this. However, 
the brothers proceeded to Portland to spend the winter and there entered the 
employ of Colonel Frush, who was building streets, for wdiich purpose he hauled 
gravel from the Willamette river bars. In securing the gravel the brothers were 
able to earn three dollars per day and later they cut cordwood, for which they 
were paid a dollar and a half per cord and by working steadily they could earn 
three dollars per day in that way. In the spring James A. Karr ran the steam 
ferry across the Columbia, while his brother drove a team, but they never 
abandoned the idea of returning to Grays Harbor and in August made prepara- 
tions for a trip into the new country. Returning to Olympia, they purchased 
cloth from which they made a tent and also laid in supplies for the trip. Pro- 
ceeding on their way, they stopped for a time at the ranch of "Blockhouse" Smith 
at Cedarville and there proceeded to make a canoe. The cedar tree which they 
selected for the purpose split, so they secured a green cottonwood growing beside 
the river. They hewed this out and, wishing to hasten the work, they piled the 
canoe full of branches of vine maple, to w'hich they set fire but found that they 
had burned a hole in the cottonw^ood. A thin board, oakum and pitch repaired 
the damage, and packing their supplies in the canoe, they started down the river, 
after two days reaching Cosmopolis, which was the metropolis of this country. 
The district was largely an unsettled and undeveloped region, the Metcalfs living 
at Montesano and the Scammons at Wynoochee, which was the county seat. 
From that point they proceeded to Hoquiam, rounding Cow Point and so coming 
into the mouth of the river. They landed where the first schoolhouse was after- 
ward built, near the present site of the Hoquiam sash and door factory, and 
proceeding at once to the upland, Mr. Karr found a level green bench which 
dropped abruptly into the tidal prairie, where the grass grew tall among the scat- 
tered forest trees and a spring of clear water issued from the hillside. So 
attractive was the site that Mr. Karr decided to make it his home, while his brother 
chose a sight across the river. Then they began building a cabin of hemlock logs, 
chinked with dirt and soft sandstone. Inventive ingenuity was brought into play 
to protect their cabin and its supplies during their absence. The usual latchstring 
hung out, but instead of opening the latch, as was customary, when it was pulled 
it only shut the more tightly. But another string with a little block of wood 
attached was brought out further on and the end concealed with soft earth. It 
was this string that opened the door, but it would not be noticed by anyone who 
was not accustomed to such an arrangement. However, one day when the 
brothers were absent from home. Captain Winsor, a well known frontiers- 
man, called. Used to all kinds of pioneer devices, he soon discovered their ar- 
rangement and he and his party entered the house, built a big fire and prepared a 
meal from supplies which they found. After they were gone the fire in some 
way spread to the timber, burning away the mantel and doing some damage to the 



WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 87 

interior, but fortunately the wet hemlock logs of which the cabin had been built 
proved fireproof, so the Karrs found their home only somewhat dismantled. 
They had met Captain Winsor and his friends, who told them of their visit but 
little dreamed of the result of their self-obtained hospitality. 

As time passed on, the brothers continued the work of clearing and developing 
their places and in i860, after making a trip to Olympia accompanied by Austin 
Young, James A. Karr established a brickyard at Cosmopolis, hoping thus to 
obtain ready money by supplying the commodity which the community greatly 
needed. He was not only associated in this undertaking with his brother but 
was also joined by Austin Young, Ed Campbell and David Byles. They furnished 
brick for the government barracks at Chehalis Point, and when the buildings 
were abandoned after the war, Mr. Campbell bought one and moved it to 
Hoquiam, where it still stands on the east side of the river. The brick manu- 
facturers furnished brick for many of the fireplaces in the early homes and the 
income which they acquired enabled the Karr brothers to secure many needed 
supplies. 

Olympia was a small village of about four or five hundred people when in 
March, i860, Mr. Karr went there to enter his claim, which he secured as a 
preemption, the homestead law having not then been passed. When Chehalis 
county was formed James A. Karr was elected its first auditor and filled the 
ofifice for twelve years. There was no salary attached to the position but the 
incumbent was allowed fees and three dollars per day for full time. In the 
winter of i860 Mr. Karr taught the first school at Cosmopolis in a little building 
erected from lumber brought from Cedarville, while his own brickyard supplied 
the brick for the fireplace and chimney. He had twelve or fifteen pupils, for 
several families, including the Metcalfs, Goodell, Smith, Byles and Young fam- 
ilies, were then living in the neighborhood. Christmas of that year was celebrated 
at the home of Mr. Goodell, with speaking, singing and a general good time. The 
families of the neighborhood gathered and the invitation was also extended to the 
soldiers stationed there. It was feared that the Indians, knowing that war was 
in progress among the whites of the north and the south, might go upon the 
warpath, so that a garrison was maintained at Chehalis Point and a blockhouse 
was erected at Cedarville. In the winter of 1861-2 Mr. Karr engaged in teaching 
at Montesano and as there was little money in the neighborhood he was largely 
paid in cattle, so that when he was ready to develop his farm he had quite a 
small herd of excellent cattle. In the winter of 1862-3 he taught at Mound 
Prairie. It was there that he had first heard of Grays Harbor when stopping 
at the Goodell home in 1859. One of the sons, Ed Goodell, had in the meantime 
married and removed to Forest Grove but Mr. Karr met him again at the close 
of the school term of 1863. 

It was an occasion that, seemingly trivial, proved a most momentous one in 
the life of Mr. Karr, for Mr. Goodell showed him the picture of an attractive 
looking woman saying that he would give him the picture if he would take it to 
the original. In a spirit of fun Mr. Karr took the picture and about that time, 
desiring to see his brother on business matters and thinking that he might find 
work at harvesting or masonry and thus bring in money needed for carrying on 
the farm at Hoquiam, he started for the place where his brother was working, 
not far from Hillsboro, between Portland and Forest Grove, Oregon. In the 



88 WASHINGTOX, WEST OF THE CASCADES 

course of a conversation with the woman with whom his brother boarded Mr. 
Karr chanced to say that he had the picture of a very nice looking girl. On 
seeing it the woman exclaimed : '"Why, I know her. That's Abbie Walker and 
she is teaching at Hillsboro, only about a quarter of a mile away." She proposed 
that they visit the schoolhouse about the time the school would be closed. This 
plan was carried out and Mr. Karr walked with the young lady to her boarding 
house, which was some distance from the school. The old-time pioneer hospitality 
was extended him by the people of the house and after remaining there through 
the night he next day accompanied the young lady to school and they planned a 
ride together to her home at Forest Grove, where they spent the following 
Saturday and Sunday. The acquaintance progressed rapidly and when Miss 
Walker spoke of making a trip east of the mountains to visit the scenes of her 
childhood near Spokane, Mr. Karr replied that it would be a long, tedious journey 
and he wanted her to go to Hoquiam with him. An immediate marriage was 
agreed upon and was celebrated at the Walker home September 14, 1863, the 
bride's father, the Rev. Elkanah Walker, being the officiating clergyman, assisted 
by Rev. Chamberlain of Portland, who was then visiting at their home. The 
wedding trip consisted of a visit to the State Fair at Salem and a trip to Mound 
Prairie. 

Air. Karr was engaged to teach the Black River school that winter and in the 
spring he went to the farm to start the work, his wife remaining to finish out the 
two months of school. In the latter part of March he returned and accompanied 
his wife down the river to the homestead which they occupied for forty years. 
They earnestly undertook the task of developing the place and the labors of both 
were soon evident in its transformation and improved appearance. The first 
year they had ten cows and butter constituted their chief export. Air. Karr 
remained continuously upon the farm save for the years 1875, 1882 and 1893, 
when he represented his district in the state legislature. Chehalis was a repub- 
lican county, but as it did not contain enough people to form a district, the 
legislature resorted to gerrymandering when the democrats were in power and 
Chehalis was attached at various periods to different districts. It was first joined 
to Pierce, and although a republican stood no chance of winning, Mr. Karr made 
speeches throughout Pierce county, which was strongly democratic. At that time 
he was defeated, but when Pierce and Chehalis counties were again joined Mr. 
Karr received a large majority in Pierce and said that he thought the speeches 
he made several years before must have just begun to take efifect. As a member 
of the legislature he carefully considered the vital questions which came up for 
consideration and gave his support to many measures which have been far- 
reaching in their beneficial efifects. He always kept in close touch with the ques- 
tions and issues of the day from the time when he acted as secretary of the first 
political meeting held in Grays Harbor in i860, on which occasion Governor 
Stevens was in the midst of his campaign for delegate to congress. 

Mr. Karr actively continued the work of the farm and for ten years the 
family lived in the original log cabin, although some additions and improvements 
were added thereto. In 1874 he planned to build a new home, bringing lumber 
from Elma. doors and window sash from Tumwater and brick from a schooner 
that had carried its cargo from Portland. Mr. Karr quarried the stone for two 
fireplaces from the bluflf across the river and secured shingles at Montesano. 



WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 89 

When materials were thus assembled a story and a half house was erected, facing 
the south and overlooking the waters of the bay. It was a period when the 
settlers had to depend upon their own labor for nearly all supplies and Mr. Karr 
undertook the task of tanning leather, at first using smartweed and other ingre- 
dients from the east, but he discovered the astringent properties of hemlock and 
alder bark and from those made his tanning materials. After producing leather 
this was cut up and shaped into boots and shoes for the family, Mr. Karr making 
the lasts and pegs, and the shoes it is said "made up in durability for what they 
lacked in elegance." All garments, even those for the boys, were homemade 
and raincoats were made of unbleached cotton soaked in linseed oil. Mr. Karr's 
former experience as a drug clerk enabled him to provide remedies for his family 
when there was no physician near at hand and not infrequently he was called upon 
to prescribe for his neighbors. He contributed to the social enjoyment of the 
community by his violin music, having studied in Nashville, Illinois, and after- 
ward in Nevada City, California. While teaching at Cosmopolis he gave instruc- 
tion in music as well as in the common branches. It was at Mr. Karr's suggestion 
that a trail was opened from Elma to Olympia over which horses and cattle could 
be driven, and this trail proved the predecessor of the stage road when a stage 
line brought the community into seemingly close connection with the capital. 
Later Mr. Karr and Mr. Campbell were owners of a big shovel-nosed canoe, with 
which they took their farm produce up the river in the fall, finishing the journey 
by wagon, and on the return they brought with them provisions to last for a year. 
They had little trouble with the Indians in that locality, although when the 
Modoc war was in progress it seemed that there might be an uprising at Grays 
Harbor. 

"Mr. and Mrs. Karr became the parents of twelve children, namely: Mary 
Olive, the wife of H. L. Gilkey, who is cashier of the First National Bank of 
Southern Oregon at Grants Pass, Oregon; Beatrice Abigail, now Mrs. H. B. 
McNeill, of Aberdeen ; Elkanah Walker, deceased ; Cyrus James, who is captain 
of the lightship Umatilla, stationed near the Bay station ; Henry Anderson, twin 
of Cyrus, who died at the age of fourteen; Phoebe Rose, now ]\Irs. Johnson, of 
Centfalia; John Ross, a twin of Phoebe, who is a resident of North Yakima; 
Ruth, now the wife of J. S. McKee. of Hoquiam ; William Hay, deceased; 
Eunice Viola, who resides with her mother in North Yakima; Levi Zebulon, a 
resident of North Yakima ; and Arthur Thompson, of North Yakima, who married 
Harriet Chadwick, a daughter of Judge Chadwick. On the 14th of September. 
1913, at North Yakima. Mr. and Mrs. Karr celebrated their golden wedding 
anniversary. 

Mr. and Mrs. Karr gave their children good educational opportunities. School 
was held during the summer months, and when the term was over, the big family 
bedroom at home was converted into a schoolroom, with homemade desks, and 
the parents acted as instructors to their children until the older sisters were 
able to assume the task of teaching. Mr. Karr was advanced in his ideas concerning 
education and believed firmly that girls should be given the same chance as boys 
and accordingly his daughters received as good educational advantages as his .sons. 
Three daughters graduated from the University of Washington and Mrs. McKee 
has a Master of Arts degree and is a member of Phi Beta Kappa, admission to 
which is gained only by high scholarship. Mr. Karr took a great deal of pride in 



90 WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 

Mrs. McKee's fine scholastic record. In winter a society was formed which 
was practically a parliamentary law club — the first on the Harbor — and Mr. 
Karr acted as president. His children received training therefore along that 
line and the instruction has proven valuable in later years. With the passing of 
pioneer conditions the Karr farm, owing to the progressive spirit of the owner, 
took on all of the improvements of modern times and through his business ability 
Mr. Karr won very substantial success, his estate becoming valuable. In 1904 
the family removed to North Yakima, where his last years were spent and where 
his widow still resides. He died of apoplexy on the night of November 4, 1914. 
He had been keenly interested in the general election which took place on the 
preceding day and particularly in the fate of the prohibition law, had voted and 
seemed in his usual health. He was a stanch republican in his political belief and 
fraternally was a Mason and a charter member of the Hoquiam lodge of that 
order. Although there were many happy memories of early times, he looked 
back with no sigh of regret to the past but rejoiced in the progress of the present 
and kept in touch with the trend of modern thought. He had passed the eightieth 
milestone on life's journey when called by death, but old age need not suggest as 
a matter of course idleness and want of occupation. There is an old age which 
grows stronger and brighter mentally and morally as the years go on and gives 
out of its rich stores of wisdom and experience for the benefit of others. Such 
was the record of Tames A. Karr. 



JOHN NORMAN. 



John Norman, of Everett, Washington, was born in the city of Sarpsborg. 
Norway, August 26. 1856. His parents were Iver and Grethe (Olsen) Johannes- 
sen, who had twelve children, of whom John is the seventh in order of birth. 
During nearly all of his active life his father, Iver, served his community as 
"lensmand," an official whose duties are similar to those of our sherifif and 
county judge. The office in Norway, however, is filled by appointment at the 
hands of the king. He lived and died in the city of Sarpsborg and was a very 
prominent and influential citizen till the time of his death in 1874 at the age of 
sixty-three years. Mr. Norman's mother reached the ripe old age of eight-four 
and passed away in 1902. 

In his native land, Mr. Norman finished his common school education, after 
which he entered a private business college, where, besides mastering the regu- 
lar business courses, he devoted considerable time and study to foreign languages. 
At the age of eighteen years his student days ended and he was then initiated 
into active business as a clerk in a clothing and dry goods store owned and op- 
erated by his two elder brothers, with whom he remained for eight years. At 
this time, like many other young Norwegians, Mr. Norman succumbed to a long 
growing desire for a larger field of action and so he severed his home ties and 
embarked for the United States. He went to New York, July 6, 1884, and re- 
mained there six months. From there he journeyed to Omaha, Nebraska, where 
for six years he was employed by the leading dry goods and shoe firms of that 
city. He continued v/estward and settled in Seattle, where he spent a year. He 



WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 91 

was the first and only clerk in what is today one of the leading department stores 
of Seattle, the Bon Marche. Accepting an offer of a better position with a Tacoma 
firm he then entered the employ of Hans Torkelson, dealer in clothing and men's 
furnishings, with whom he continued for two years when he resigned at the call of 
a still more promising opening in Everett. 

It was on the i8th of March, 1893, that Mr. Norman landed in Everett. He 
was then in his very best years and possessed considerable business experience. 
He continued in the clothing line, being for a brief period employed by the United 
States Clothing Company, then one of the largest establishments of its kind in the 
state. By this time Mr. Norman had served a long and thorough apprenticeship 
working for others. He now commenced business of his own, opening the third 
clothing store in Everett. Business enterprise in Everett has never had a worthier 
representative. He is wide-awake, alert and progressive. The fact that from 
a very inauspicious beginning his business has today grown to a size and impor- 
tance second to none in Everett speaks amply for these qualities in Mr. Norman. 

His establishment is known as the Norman Suit House, with Norman as 
the sole proprietor. His patronage is now very large and he carries everything in 
the line of men's clothing that the clothing market affords, while his reasonable 
prices and honorable dealing have secured to him a continually growing success. 
Mr. Norman lives at his own home, 3201 Hoyt avenue, which is one of the finest 
that Everett can boast ; but besides this he has extensive property holdings both 
in and outside of the city. He has often extended his efforts into fields other than 
the clothing business and is at present stockholder and president of the Scan- 
dinavian American Savings and Loan Association, with headquarters in Everett, 
which has an authorized capitalization of two and one-half million dollars. 

On the ist of September, 1885, at Omaha, Nebraska, Mr. Norman was united 
in marriage to Miss Lena Pederson, also of Sarpsborg, Norway. Mr. and Mrs. 
Norman have three children, namely : Victor Hugo, born July 8, 1886, now en- 
gaged in the brokerage business in Los Angeles, California; Ethel Evelyn, now 
the wife of Glen H. Newport, a diamond miner of South Africa; and Melvin Vol- 
taire, born in Tacoma, March 16, 1893, and also living in Los xA.ngeles. 

In Mr. Norman's make-up there is a very strong and pronounced social ele- 
ment. He is an ardent lover of music and song. For twenty-four years he has 
been an active member of the Norwegian Singing Society of Everett, in which 
he has always been a leading spirit. To this society and to singing and music 
generally he has given much of both time and money. He has repeatedly opened 
his beautiful home to the entertainment of the singers and some of the darkest 
and most discouraging periods in the history of the society have been bridged only 
through Mr. Norman's energetic work and spirit. He was made the first presi- 
dent of the Pacific Coast Norwegian Singers' Association, of which he is at pres- 
ent the vice president and which has as constituent members about seventeen 
Norwegian singing societies from the entire Pacific coast. 

In politics Mr. Norman is a progressive republican, but he has never sought 
public office, but keeps well informed on the live questions and issues of the day. 
In local affairs he can always be counted on for co-operation in any plan or 
measure for the general good. He is a member of the Everett Commercial Club, 
holds membership with Fir Camp, No. 5385, M. W. A., of Everett, and the 
Benevolent Protective Order of Elks and is a member of the Sons of Norway. 



92 WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 

Mr. Norman is a splendid type of the self-made man who has used his talents 
and opportunities well with the result that he has gained for himself a host of 
friends and a respected place in the commercial circles of the northwest. 



JOHN M. WEATHERWAX. 

The name of John M. Weatherwax is inseparably interwoven with the history 
of Aberdeen and the old Chehalis county. Along various lines his activities have 
promoted public progress and some of the most extensive and important features 
in the business development of the region owe their establishment and continued 
success to him. Aberdeen therefore mourned the loss of one of her most valued 
and honored citizens when he passed away on the 19th of July, 1896, at the age 
of sixty-eight years. 

Mr. Weatherwax was a native of New York, born February 14. 1828, and 
for many years he engaged in the lumber and logging business in Michigan, resid- 
ing at Stanton, that state. The farsighted lumberman is ever looking for new and 
advantageous fields of operation and therefore John M. Weatherwax turned his 
attention to the northwest, recognizing its splendid resources for the development 
of the lumber industry. In 1884 he came to Aberdeen, where he formed the 
acquaintance of Samuel Benn. who agreed to give Mr. Weatherwax an interest 
in the town site if he would build a lumber mill. The proposition was accepted 
and machinery was shipped from Michigan by rail and by way of the Great Lakes 
to the Atlantic coast and then around Cape Horn and up the Pacific, eventually 
reaching Aberdeen. Some of that machinery is still in use in the mill which 
Mr. Weatherwax established and which is still being operated by the Anderson- 
Middleton Company. With the establishment of the business the J. M. Weather- 
wax Company was organized and later it was reorganized under the style of the 
J. M. Weatherwax Lumber Company, thus continuing until the death of 
the founder and promoter, who remained up to that time the active head of the 
concern, his sons having in the meantime become his associates in the business. 
Not only did he figure prominently in connection with the lumber industry of his 
section but also contributed in very large measure to the development and 
improvement of the city of Aberdeen through his building and real estate opera- 
tions. He assisted in platting what was known as Weatherwax and Benn's first 
and second additions to the city and during the first years of his residence in 
Aberdeen he erected many houses, probably fifty in all. He was also largely 
instrumental in securing the establishment of various business enterprises in the 
city. He built the Catholic Hospital of Aberdeen, but his logging and lumber 
interests were his chief activity. In this connection he built the first schooner, 
the J. M. Weatherwax, and it is still in use. 

Before leaving Michigan Mr. Weatherwax was married in that state to Miss 
Mattie Keyes, a native of Michigan, who passed away there in 1882. They 
were the parents of five children, of whom four are living, C. B., J. G., Mrs. 
Fern Sherwood and Cliff M. 

In his political views Mr. Weatherv^ax was always an earnest and stalwart 
republican, giving unfaltering allegiance to the party, and at one time was 




JOHN M. WEATHERWAX 



1 n ii i\a vv I ORK 

PUBLIC LIBRARY 

ASTOR, LENOX 
TILDEN FOUNDATION 



WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 95 

mayor of Aberdeen. Undoubtedly other political honors would have been con- 
ferred upon him but his ambition was in other directions. He assisted largely, 
however, in every plan and movement for the upbuilding of the city and was a 
most generous contributor toward the erection of the various churches of Aber- 
deen. The recognition of his public spirit on the part of his fellow townsmen 
is indicated in the fact that the new high school building of Aberdeen, recently 
erected, has been called the J. M. Weatherwax high school in his honor. He was 
an exemplary Mason and in the order rose to the rank of Knight Templar. Very 
charitable, he was constantly extending a helping hand where aid was needed and 
such were his personal characteristics that he won not only the esteem but the 
love of all with whom he came in contact, and his memory, enshrined in the 
hearts of all who knew him, remains as a blessed benediction to those who were 
closely associated with him. 



CLIFF M. WEATHERWAX. 

Cliff M. Weatherwax, who for three decades has been a resident of Aberdeen, 
is now at the head of extensive and important lumber interests as manager and 
treasurer of the Aberdeen Lumber & Shingle Company. He was, as it were, "to 
the manner born," for he was reared to this business, early becoming the assist- 
ant of his father, who was one of the pioneer lumbermen of the northwest and 
M'hose sketch is given above. 

The birth of Cliff \l. Weatherwax occurred in Stanton, Michigan, in 1878, 
and he Avas twelve years of age when in 1890 he arrived in Aberdeen. His early 
education was acquired in the public schools and after graduating from the high 
school of Aberdeen he spent two years at the University of Washington, one year 
at Leland Stanford University and three years at Harvard, graduating from the 
last named university with the class of 1901 after completing the academic course. 
His business training in logging and lumbering was received under the direction 
of his father and along this line he has always continued his operations, which 
have been of constantly growing volume and importance. In 1901 he organized 
the Chehalis County Logging & Timber Company, of which he continued as 
president until the business was sold in 1907. In 1902 he formed a partnership 
with John Soule, E. S. Hartwell of Chicago, and C. F. White of Seattle, and 
they continued business under the name of the Chehalis County Logging & Timber 
Company until 1907, when through Mr. White the Grays Harbor Commercial 
Company purchased the interests of the Aberdeen owners. In 1908 Mr. Weather- 
wax had bought out the Aberdeen Lumber & Shingle Company, which was incor- 
porated in 1899, with Edward Hurlbut, J. M. Hackett, A. H. Farnum and Sam 
McClymont as the owners. When by purchase the interests of Messrs. Hurlbut, 
Hackett and Farnum passed into the hands of Mr. Weatherwax, he became 
treasurer and manager of the company, with Sam McClymont as the president 
and E. T. Taylor as the secretary. The immense plant of the company has 
practically been built up by Mr. Weatherwax and now has a daily capacity of one 
hundred and eighty thousand feet. They manufacture lumber, lath and shingles, 
having a large electric shingle mill and dry kilns which are of the latest improved 



96 WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 

pattern. In the mills they employ one hundred and fifty men and they also operate 
their own logging camps in township 21, range 9, Grays Harbor county. In 
addition to his immense interests in that connection Mr. Weatherwax figures in 
financial circles as a director of the United States Trust Company, and he has 
directly contributed to the improvement of the city in the erection of the Weather- 
wax building, a large office structure, and the Weatherwax apartments. 

In 1902 Mr. Weatherwax was united in marriage to Mrs. Auli M. Giddings, 
of Seattle, and in the social circles of the city their position is one of leadership. 
Mr. Weatherwax belongs to the Grays Harbor Golf Club, the Tacoma Golf and 
Country Club, the Tacoma Union Club, the Arlington Club of Portland, the 
University Club of Portland, the University Club' of Seattle and the Santa Barbara 
(Cal.) Country Club. His interest in civic affairs is manifest in many tangible 
ways of a most helpful character. He served two years on the Aberdeen city 
council and for eight years has been a member of the school board, being its 
president for over five years of that time. The J. M. Weatherwax high school 
building, a fine modern structure, was dedicated to the memory of his father. 
1. M. Weatherwax. The cause of education has always found in Cliff M. Weather- 
wax a stalwart champion. All who know him speak of him in terms of high 
regard, and he is honored and respected by all, not alone by reason of the success 
which he has achieved but also owing to the straightforward business policy 
which he has ever followed. 



HENRY L. YESLER. 



Mr. Yesler was born in Washington county, Maryland, in 1810. and died in 
Seattle, December 15, 1892. His early years were spent in toil and during his 
school days he lived in a log cabin where he obtained a rudimentary English 
education, but the advantages he there enjoyed were supplemented later on by 
severe study during the time he had to spare while acquiring the trade of carpenter 
and millwright. In 1830 he removed to Alassillon. Ohio, where for nineteen years 
he was engaged in the sawmill business. In 185 1 he went to Oregon and for a 
short time worked at his trade in Portland. From there he went to California 
and for a brief period operated a mine at Marysville. About this time he became 
acquainted with a sea captain who had been trading on Puget Sound, and from 
him acquired a definite knowledge of the wonderful harbors on the Sound and 
the wealth of timber that lay adjacent to its waters. Yesler thought he saw a 
great future in the lumber trade on Puget Sound, so he took ship, landing upon 
the site of the future Seattle in the fall of 1852. At this time there were only 
a few cabins located in the woods close to the shore, and the few settlers, although 
they had selected their claims, had not filed them in the land office, which at that 
time was at Oregon City. Upon Yesler informing them of his determination 
to start a sawmill, they readjusted their claims so as to allow him to take up a 
claim adjoining the shore, very near what is now the foot of Yesler avenue. In 
the beginning of 1853 his modest sawmill was put in operation. It was the first 
steam sawmill on Puget Sound, and its location at Seattle at once gave that place 
an important position among the tiny settlements which had been made here and 



WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 97 

there upon the edge of the unexplored forests which stretched away in every 
direction from the waters of the Sound. In the early days of this mill almost the 
only available laborers were Indians, whom Mr. Yesler employed in large num- 
bers, treating them so honestly and kindly that in the difficulties of 1855 and 1856 
he was able to be of the greatest service to the territory. Near the end of the 
war, at the request of Governor Stevens, he made a hazardous trip to the hostiles 
to propose terms for agreement. After carrying the reply of the chiefs to the 
governor, he went a second time to the hostile camp, accompanied by only two 
friendly Indians, and brought back with him 100 of the Indians lately upon the 
warpath, delivering them at the executive mansion. Upon another occasion he 
saved the settlement from massacre by timely warning sent to the naval 
authorities. 

When the territory was organized Mr. Yesler was made county auditor and 
held the office several terms. He was commissioner of King county several 
times and was twice mayor of Seattle. During his last term as mayor, in 1886, 
occurred the anti-Chinese riot, and although not a friend of foreign labor he did 
all in his power to suppress mob violence. Mr. Yesler was originally a democrat 
in political faith but following the great Civil war was allied with the republi- 
cans. He was not, however, an intense partisan, and never had any desire for 
political distinction. The positions he was called upon to fill were in the line of 
duties such as a citizen deeply interested in the public welfare could not refuse 
to accept. 

It would be difficult for those only acquainted with the great and flourishing 
city of Seattle of today to realize the important part the sawmill of Henry Yesler 
played in the primitive days. For years it was almost the sole industry of the 
place, and through it may be traced the primary cause which determined the 
supremacy of Seattle. It was the pioneer enterprise of what has grown to ho 
a giant industry which now exists as a notable part of the world's commerce. 

The following account of Mr. Yesler's business activities appeared in the 
Post-Intelligencer of the issue of December 16, 1892: "While of late years Mr. 
Yesler has been largely interested in building and real estate operations, he con- 
tinued to conduct his sawmill at Seattle until shortly before the great fire, and 
has since been engaged in the business on Lake Washington, at a place named 
Yesler. With the great tide of immigration to the Sound which these latter 
years have witnessed Mr. Yesler's townsite property has increased to a value 
beyond his fondest dreams. Much of it he has sold, but he still retains a large 
part of his original claim, most of which is in the very heart of the city. He was 
one of the heaviest losers by the great fire of June 6, 1889, but with that matchless 
energy which characterized the citizens of Seattle after that catastrophe, as soon 
as the smoldering embers of his destroyed property would permit he began the 
erection of some of the finest buildings on the Pacific coast. He has recently 
completed the Pioneer building, on Pioneer place, which would be considered a 
magnificent structure even in the largest cities of our country. Upon opposite 
corners of the same square he has also under construction two other buildings 
which in architectural effect and richness of finish will equal the Pioneer building. 
He also has under construction a fine store building on the southeast corner of 
Occidental Avenue and Yesler Way." 

Before he left his old home in Ohio :\Ir. Yesler was married to Sarah Burgert, 



98 WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 

a lady who shared all his early trials and struggles and who is most kindly remem- 
bered in Seattle. Two children were born to Mrs. Yesler, but they died at an 
early age, and in 1887 their mother followed them to the grave. A few months 
prior to his death Mr. Yesler munificently endowed a home for young women, 
dedicated to the memory of that wife, Sarah B. Yesler. In 1890 Mr. Yesler was 
married to Miss Minnie Gagle, a native of his old home. 

In every commercial enterprise Henry Yesler took a leading share. With his 
own hands he worked on the first coal railroad ; he was a promoter of the Seattle 
& Walla Walla Railroad, of the first transportation company, of the waterworks — 
of every movement to develop the town. In the earlier years he was free with 
his money in loaning to those less fortunate and in making advances toward the 
promotion of individual schemes of commercial development. 



HON. ARTHUR H. MOLL. 

Hon. Arthur H. Moll, a hardware merchant of Arlington, is a native of Mon- 
roe county, Wisconsin. He was born November 22, 1873, of the marriage of 
Alexander H. and Fannie (Vidal) AIoll, who were natives of Germany and Wis- 
consin respectively. In early manhood the father crossed the Atlantic to the new 
world, establishing his home in Wisconsin in 1848 as one of its pioneer settlers. 
There he became connected with merchandising and continued his residence in 
that state until called to the home beyond in 1889, when sixty-one years of age. 
His widow still survives and now makes her home in the state of New York 
at the age of sixty-five years. 

Of their family of four children Arthur H. Moll was the second in order of 
birth and during his youthful days he attended public schools, spending two years 
as a high school pupil in Tomah, Wisconsin. When a youth of fifteen years he 
was first employed in railroad work as tallyman for the tie inspector and so con- 
tinued for nine years. He afterward settled on a homestead in the Sauk River 
valley, where he resided for two years and on the expiration of that period he 
made his way to Everett, where he became actively connected with the hard- 
ware trade in the employ of the Agnew Hardware Company, with whom he 
remained for a number of years. In 1905 he arrived in Arlington and established 
the A. H. Moll hardware business, beginning in a small way with limited capital. 
He has since developed the business to extensive proportions and now has one 
of the leading stores of the town — an establishment which would be a credit to 
a city of much greater size. He now carries a complete line of shelf and heavy 
hardware, of furniture and undertaking supplies, and is sole owner of this busi- 
ness. He has ever recognized the fact that satisfied patrons are the best advertise- 
ment and in the conduct of his trade he has put forth every efifort to please 
his customers. 

On the 19th of June, 1895. Mr. Moll was united in marriage to Miss Myra B. 
Bartells, of Marinette county, Wisconsin, her father being Judge F. J. Bartells. 
They are the parents of five children, as follows : Frances, who was born at Iron 
Mountain, Michigan, in 1896, is a high school graduate and also a graduate of the 
University of Washington and now the wife of Henry Murray, of Roy, Wash- 



WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 99 

ington ; Celeste, who was born in Everett, Washington, in 1901 and now attends 
high school at Arlington ; Carl, whose birth occurred at Everett in 1903 and who 
also attends the high school at Arlington; George, who was born at Everett in 
1906 and is a pupil in the grade school at Arlington ; and Myra Elizabeth, who 
was born at Arlington, Washington, on the ist of February, 1916. 

Mr. Moll is well known in fraternal circles, belonging to a number of the 
leading organizations. In Masonry he has attained high rank, as is indicated 
by the fact that he is now a Noble of the Mys,tic Shrine. He also belongs to the 
Independent Order of Odd Fellows, the Fraternal Order of Eagles, the Knights 
of Pythias, the Woodmen of the World and the Yeomen. His religious faith is 
indicated by his membership in the Christian Science church. In politics he is a 
progressive republican and in 19 12 was elected to the state legislature, serving 
two terms. He gave careful consideration to all the questions which came up for 
settlement and his support of any measure indicated his strong belief in its worth 
as a factor in good government. He was equally strong in his opposition to any 
measure which he believed would prove inimical to the best interests of the com- 
(monwealth. He is also efficient in his support of measures for the upbuilding 
of his home locality and in fact is a recognized leader of public thought and action 
there. 



CHARLES F. ELWELL. 



Charles F. Elwell, president of the Monroe National Bank at Monroe, was 
born April 2, 1862, in Northfield, Maine. His father, John Elwell, was a native 
of that state, while his ancestors belonged to the old York colony that came from 
England at a very early period in the settlement of the new world. John Elwell, 
the founder of the American branch of the family, participated in the Revolution- 
ary war. John Elwell, father of Charles F. Elwell, was a successful lumberman 
and became a pioneer settler of Port Gamble, Washington, arriving in 1858. 
He afterward returned to Maine, where he resided until 1872, when he again 
made his way to the Pacific northwest, settling in Snohomish county. Along the 
banks of the Snohomish river he engaged in the lumber business with ox teams 
and was among the pioneers in the development of the lumber trade in that section 
In politics he was a stanch republican and his religious faith was that of the 
Presbyterian church. He was ever loyal to any cause which he espoused and his 
many sterling traits of character won him high regard. He passed away in 
Snohomish in 1887, at the age of fifty-nine years, while his wife died in 1878, 
at the age of fifty-four. She bore the maiden name of Eliza Crosby and was born 
in Maine, coming, however, of English ancestry. By her marriage she had seven 
sons and four daughters. 

Charles F. Elwell, the youngest of the sons, pursued his education in the 
public schools of Snohomish and of Seattle, supplemented by a two years' course 
in the University of Washington. On attaining his majority he made his 
initial step in the business world as assistant to his father, then a well known 
lumberman, and upon his father's death he inherited his holdings. Not long 
afterward he turned his attention to stock raising and began the sale of thorough- 



100 WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 

bred cattle, in addition to which he carried on general farming, being thus identi- 
fied with farming and stock raising interests in Snohomish county for eleven years. 
He also became an active factor in commercial circles as a wholesale and retail 
dealer in meats and in that line he has since actively and successfully continued. 
He is likewise president of the Monroe National Bank, having been called to that 
office of trust and responsibility in 1910. His fellow townsmen regard him as a 
most reliable, enterprising and progressive business man and one whose efforts 
are productive of beneficial and far-reaching results. 

In Snohomish, on the 26th of March, 1889, Mr. Elwell was married to Miss 
Sophie Roessel, a native of Minnesota and a daughter of George N. and Louise 
(Schattner) Roessel, both now deceased. Mr. and Mrs. Elwell had four chil- 
dren, as follows : June A., who was born at Snoqualmie, Washington, June 13, 
1891 ; Blanche, whose birth occurred in Snohomish on the 21st of January, 1894, 
and who passed away September 2, 1897; Earl M., born in Snohomish, Septem- 
ber 4, 1895 ; and Celest, who was born in Monroe on the 29th of July, 1902. 

In politics Mr. Elwell is a republican. He has served as a member of the 
city council for many terms, remaining in that office from the organization of 
the city until 1915. He has ever taken a deep and helpful interest in affairs 
relating to the upbuilding of his town and is an active member of the Monroe 
Commercial Club. He belongs to the Knights of Pythias and to the Benevolent 
Protective Order of Elks and his religious faith is that of the Congregational 
church. His has been an upright and honorable life actuated by high pur- 
poses and fraught with good results, and the respect and high regard entertained 
for him are well merited. 



WILLIAM COLUMBUS COX, M. D. 

Dr. William Columbus Cox, who has won unusual success in the general 
practice of medicine at Everett, was born on the 20th of September, 1858, in 
Flinty Branch, Mitchell county, North Carolina, the eldest son and second child 
of Samuel W. and Cynthia (Blalock) Cox. The Cox family is of English and 
German lineage but of old American colonial stock. The father of Dr. Cox 
was also born in North Carolina and became a farmer. In the year 1873 ^^^ 
left the Atlantic coast to seek a home in the far west and in that year arrived 
in Walla Walla, Washington, where he remained for two decades, being one 
of the pioneer settlers of that section. He passed away in 1893, at the age of 
sixty-six years, his birth having occurred August 2, 1827. His wife was also 
a native of Mitchell county, North Carolina, born December 31, 1837, and was a 
daughter of a southern farmer and planter who belonged to an old American 
family and was of German and English descent. Mrs. Cox was a sister of Dr. 
N. G. Blalock, who for many years has been a distinguished physician of the 
northwest. Mrs. Cox passed away in her native state in 1867, when but twenty- 
nine years of age. She was the mother of four daughters and two sons, as fol- 
lows: Addie, who is the wife of George Rasmus, a resident of Walla Walla, 
Washington; William Columbus, of this review; Hulda, who is the wife of S. S. 
Parris and resides near Athena, Oregon ; Xelson D., of Walla Walla, Washing- 



WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 101 

ton ; Ura, the wife of Dr. J. P. Price, of Nez Perce, Idaho; and Victa, the wife of 
Thomas Yoe, of Seattle, Washington. 

When a youth of fifteen years Dr. Cox accompanied his father to Walla 
Walla and in that city continued his education as a public school pupil to the 
age of nineteen years, after which he worked on his uncle's farm until 1882. 
In the fall of that year, having determined upon his future course, he matriculated 
in the Jefl:'erson Medical College at Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, which was the 
alma mater of his distinguished uncle, and from that institution he was gradu- 
ated on the completion of a thorough course April 2, 1885, receiving the degree 
of M. D. Thus equipped for his chosen profession, he returned to Walla Walla, 
where he engaged in the practice of medicine with Dr. Blalock, a relation that 
was maintained until April, 1886, at which time Dr. Cox removed to Genesee, 
Idaho. There he remained in active practice for five years and on the 6th of 
July, 1 89 1, he came to Everett, being the first physician on the then new town 
site. Within a few hours after his arrival he was called upon to perform a 
minor surgical operation for one of the town site laborers who met with an ac- 
cident. Since that time he has been continuously active in his profession and 
most successful in his practice. At the time of his arrival here there was in 
reality no city or even a town, merely a collection of people awaiting the final 
survey and platting of the land, knowing that a commercial center was projected 
by aggressive capitalists. It was not until September, 1891, that the first plat 
was thrown open for sale by W. G. Swalwell, but that event inaugurated a boom 
with all the intensity common to such occurrences. Dr. Cox came early, worked 
hard, demonstrated his skill and as a result has won unusual success. Beside 
giving his attention to a large general practice he served as the local surgeon 
for the Great Northern Railroad Company for fourteen years and is now sur- 
geon for the Northern Pacific Railroad Company and the Everett Railway, Light 
and Power Company. 

Dr. Cox has been married twice. On the 4th of March, 1888, he wedded 
Miss Grace Jain, a native of Wisconsin and a daughter of Louis and Adelia 
Jain, of Genesee, Idaho. She passed away on the lOth of October, 1891, after 
a happy married life of a little more than three years. On the ist of Novem- 
ber, 1894, the doctor was again married, his second union being with Harriett G. 
McFarland, a native of Maine and the daughter of Captain Robert and Georgia 
Berry (Harrington) McFarland, who were also natives of the Pine Tree state and 
among Everett's earliest pioneers. Captain McFarland spent all of his life 
as a sea-faring man on both the Atlantic and Pacific coasts and served in many 
prominent government positions of trust and high responsibility at home and 
abroad. In his demise, which occurred April 2^], 1914, Everett lost one of its 
distinguished citizens. During the Civil war he commanded vessels engaged 
in furnishing supplies to the Union army and navy and narrowly escaped 
capture or death many times. 

Ever recognized as a leader, Dr. Cox has been elected to various posi- 
tions of public trust and has always been found most loyal to his duty and the 
confidence reposed in him. In 1890 he was chosen mayor of Genesee, Idaho, 
serving for a year, and in 1894 he was elected a member of the Everett city 
council. The following year he was nominated and elected mayor and served 
through the succeeding year. In 1900 he was appointed a member of the state 



102 WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 

board of medical examiners and acted in that position for three years. His 
poHtical support has always been given the democratic party and fraternally he 
is connected with the Masons, Knights of Pythias, Improved Order of Red 
Men, Benevolent Order of Elks and Independent Order of Odd Fellows. He 
also holds membership with various social organizations, including the Everett 
Commercial Club, of which he served as president in 19 15, the Everett Golf and 
Country Club and the Cascade Club of Everett. He is a member of the Snohomish 
County Medical Association and the State Medical Society, of which he was 
president in 1912 and 1913. He is also a member of the American Medical 
Association, and the American Association of Railway Surgeons and is a fel- 
low of the American College of Surgeons. His genial, unfailing courtesy and 
broad sympathy have won for him a goodly host of friends and admirers and 
in a profession where merit alone is recognized as a just cause for advancement 
he has attained a most worthy and honorable place. Professionally and socially 
he stands today as one of the leading citizens of Everett and the Puget Sound 
country. His home, built in 1898 at No. 2732 Colby street, is one of Everett's 
most attractive residences, and hospitality and good cheer have made it through 
all these years one of the social centers of the city. 



CHARLES L. LEWIS. 



Twenty-six years have been added to the cycle of the centuries since Charles 
L. Lewis of Raymond established his home in the northwest, arriving at Aber- 
deen, Washington, on the nth of January, 1891. He had come to the Pacific 
coast from Michigan, his native state, his birth having occurred near Marshall, 
Calhoun county, October 2, 1855, his parents being Daniel and Martha Lewis. 
He resided continuously in that state until 1891 and after acquiring his education 
in its public schools he engaged in mercantile pursuits and in the shingle business 
at McBrides, Montcalm county, until 1890. He then removed to Battle Creek and 
thence came to the state of Washington, arriving at Aberdeen on the nth of 
January, 1891. He resided in Aberdeen for thirteen years, during which time he 
was engaged in the manufacture of shingles, operating several shingle mills in 
that locality. In 1904 he removed to Olympia, where he continued to make his 
home for eleven years and then took up his abode in Raymond, where he now 
resides. In November, 1905, he began the erection of the buildings and mill for 
the Raymond Lumber Company and in August, 1906, the operation of the mill 
was begun with E. Hulbert, of Aberdeen, as president of the company, E. A. 
Christenson, of San Francisco, as vice president, and Charles L. Lewis, secretary, 
treasurer and manager.. There has since been no change in the personnel of the 
company, pleasant relations being maintained throughout all of this period by 
the officers, whose hearty cooperation has brought substantial results. The mill 
has a capacity of one hundred and fifty thousand feet and employment is fur- 
nished to one hundred and thirty-five men. They manufacture lumber exclusively 
and the equipment of the mill is thoroughly modern in every way. They also have 
their own logging camps on Green creek and at Burt, Washington, where they 
employ one hundred and twenty men. Mr. Lewis has always been in charge of 
the mill, which is one of the best in Pacific county, and there are few phases of 




CHARLES L. LEWIS 



, THE NEW YORK 
PUBLIC LIBRARY 

ASTOH, LENOX 
TILDEN FOUNDATION 



WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 105 

the lumber business with which he is not faniihar. His judgment is sound, his 
discrimination keen and his enterprise unfaltering and his salient qualities have 
led to the attainment of very desirable success. 

In Michigan, in 1876, Mr. Lewis was united in marriage to Miss Kate A. Tew, 
a daughter of Thomas S. and Adelia W. Tew, of Stanton, Michigan. Twelve 
children have been born of this marriage, ten of whom are yet living: Nina, 
Essie, Myrtle, Thomas, Edith, Fred, Grace, Ethel, Raymond and Flelen. Those 
who have passed away are: Edna, who died at the age of seventeen years; 
and Lorna, at the age of twenty-two. Of this family Thomas is married and 
now resides at South Bend, Washington, while Fred is also married and resides 
in southern California, Myrtle lives at Olympia, and Edith is the wife of Frank 
Hayes, of Seattle. The other living children are all at home. 

Mr. Lewis is well known in fraternal circles, being identitied with several 
orders, including the Masons, the Elks, the Woodmen of the World and the 
Ancient Order of United Workmen. His life has been one of intense and well 
directed activity. Lie has had few leisure moments and the enterprise and deter- 
mination which he has displayed have enabled him to wrest fortune from the 
hands of fate. He has always placed his dependence upon the substantial qualities 
of industry and perseverance and he has ne\er stoj)pc(l short of the successful 
attainment of his purpose. 



Gl^ORGF. KINNEAR. 



As long as Seattle stands, the name of Kinnear will be an honored one in 
the city. It is perpetuated in Kinnear Park and in other public projects which 
owe their existence to his efforts and are the result of his sagacity and his public 
spirit. Dealing in real estate, he became one of the capitalists of Seattle and 
contributed in most substantial measure to its uplniilding and development. A 
native of Ohio, he was born in I'ickaway county in iS^^d and was taken by his 
parents to Tippecanoe county, Indiana, the family home being established on the 
banks of the Wabash, the father there building the first log cabin at La Fayette. 
He was three years of age when his father purchased land on Flint creek and 
there erected a brick dwelling from brick which he made on his land, while the 
floors, laths, doors, window frames and casings were of black waliutt. George 
Kinnear had reached the age of nine years when the father started with his family 
for Woodford county, Illinois, taking with liini his flocks and herds. They had 
advanced but one hundred yards, however, when one of the wagons broke and 
little nine-year-old, barefooted George ran l)ack to ihe house and cut a notch 
in the window sill. Sixty-four years later he rapped at the door of this same 
house. An old lady appeared, to whom he related that the place was his former 
home. She said that must be impossible, for she had lived there sixty-four 
years, that .she was there when the former owner, Charles Kitmear, and family 
left with their teams for Illinois, that .shortly after the starl; a little boy came 
running back, went into the next room— Mr. Kiimear interrupted— "Let me. un- 
accompanied, go into the next room and see what that little boy did." He went 
straight lo his window sill and there, intact, was the notch. For a few seconds 
he was again a barefooted, nine-year-old boy making that notch. It was his last 



Vol. II— 8 



106 WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 

act of affection for the Indiana home after the rest of the family had gone from 
the house perhaps forever. 

George Kinnear spent the time in the usual manner of farm lads at the old 
home on Walnut creek, in Woodford county, until the outbreak of the war, 
Vears afterward there was to be a home coming in Woodford county and Mr. 
Kinnear in response to an invitation to be present on that occasion, wrote that he 
regretfully declined the invitation but gave an account of his experiences and 
recollections of the early times in that locality. From this we quote, not only 
because it gives an excellent picture of the life lived there in that day but also 
because it gives a splendid idea of the literary talent of the man who in the inter- 
vening years had advanced from poverty to affluence and had become a prominent 
figure in the community in which he lived. He said: "In the year 1851 when 
I was a boy, we settled in Walnut Grove. Then and for several years thereafter 
our postoffice was at Washington and there is where we did most of our trading. 
Near by where we built our house was the old camp ground of the Pottawottomies. 
Their camp ground was strewn with pieces of flint and arrow heads and their 
old trails leading off in different directions remained. Often in my quiet strolls 
through the woods in my imagination I peopled the forest again with Indians 
and almost wished I were one. Most of the country between Walnut Grove and 
Washington was wet, with many ponds and sloughs. The road was anywhere 
we saw fit to drive (always aiming, however, to keep on the top of the sod.) In 
driving across sloughs, we would drive at a run for fear of going through, but if 
we got into a rut or the sod broke, we were stuck. During the summer time I 
went to Washington twice a week to have the prairie plows sharpened and while 
the work was being done I would stroll about and peer into the little stores and 
shops, which were interesting to the boy raised on a farm and not used to town 
life. I remember one day seeing at Washington a bunch of little girls wading 
about barefoot in the mud like a lot of little ducks. One of them was little five- 
year-old Angie Simmons. When I was seventeen years old, I went to work in 
A. H. Danforth's store, where I remained about four months, beginning at the 
bottom, sweeping, moving boxes, etc., occasionally selling goods. I observed 
then how mean some men could be. When I was at work and nobody else 
around, several of the men would say, 'They make you sweep. They make you 
do the dirty work. I wouldn't stand it,' but I had sense enough to know my 
place. I did not like store keeping and remained only four months. 

"In 1865 the war was over and I was at home and out of business. I bought 
a brand new buggy and a nice team. I started out on the morning of the Fourth 
of July to see what I might. My father, I suppose, to plague me, said, 'Yes, you 
will marry the first girl you get into that buggy.' I struck out straight for Wash- 
ington, tied up my team and walked over to where the speaking would be held. 
Meeting my old friend, Diego Ross, he at once introduced me to a handsome 
girl. I proffered to find her a seat, which she accepted. Considering the cir- 
cumstances of our new acquaintance with each other and the courtesies due from 
one to the other, we paid reasonably good attention to the reading of the Declara- 
tion of Independence and the oration, and at the conclusion of the same I drove 
with her in my buggy to her home and there engaged her company for that even- 
ing to view the fireworks. (First girl in buggy.) 

"The Washington people had a great celebration. The old anvil roared and 



WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 107 

stirred up great enthusiasm and the fireworks were brilliant. My girl and I were 
seated in the buggy watching the fireworks and some girls were walking by in 
the weeds. I heard my girl say, 'Sally, is the dog fennel wet?' Was that a joke 
or sarcasm? The question was asked, 'Where will we be the next Fourth?' 
The answer was, 'Why not here?' Now we made an appointment one year 
ahead. An appointment one year ahead seemed a long way oft', so I called oc- 
casionally to see if she and I were still on good terms or if she had gone off with 
another fellow. The next Fourth came around and we were there in the buggy 
watching the fireworks. (First girl still in the buggy.) One time I called about 
noon. She met me at the door with her sleeves rolled up. She asked me if I 
would stay for dinner and I said 'Yes.' She was beaten for once. She thought 
I would know enough to say 'No.' I was ahead one meal. By this time we 
were getting enthusiastic on the Fourth of July and set another date a year ahead. 
But we began negotiations now in earnest and on March 28, 1867, we were mar- 
ried. (First girl in buggy.) It was hard to beat old father, at a guess. The 
first girl in buggy took the buggy and from that time on ruled the roost. The 
first girl in buggy and the little five-year-old Angie Simmons were one and the 
same. 

"But take me back, take me back to the times when Nature was clothed in her 
natural garments; when the log cabin was the only dwelling place of the settler; 
when rough logs chinked with mud and sticks, a rough stone chimney, a puncheon 
floor, a clapboard roof, the latch string hanging out were both hut and palace. 
In those times the forest trees, untouched by the woodman's axe, stood in all 
their native beauty. The woods were full of wild fruit — the wild cherries, wild 
plums, crabapples, mulberries, hackberries, elderberries, gooseberries, black cur- 
rants, wild grapes and May apples, red haws, black haws, acorns, chinkapins, 
hickory nuts and walnuts, pawpaws and persimmons and wild honey in nearly 
every hollow tree. Of the game birds there were droves of wild turkeys, pheas- 
ants, quail, doves, woodpeckers, yellow hammers, plovers and sap suckers. Of 
the animals, the deer, squirrel, coon, 'possum, rabbit, wolf and fox. The streams 
teemed with fish. 

"I looked up into the sky and saw the myriads upon myriads of wild pigeons. 
They were in columns extending from horizon to horizon and to the north and 
south as far as eye could see ; at times they almost darkened the sun, and out on 
the prairie I saw millions of wild geese, ducks, brants and cranes sporting about 
the sloughs and ponds, their quacking, screaming, chirping and whirring of wings 
sounding like distant thunder. Out in another direction on the dry ground I saw 
the prairie chickens. They were almost as numerous as the water fowl. They 
were crowing and cackling and chasing each other around in the grass. Among 
the birds or off by themselves were herds of deer feeding on the prairie grass. 

"Here was the sportsman's paradise. He would never consent to be trans- 
ported with joy to another land. From his flocks and herds he would supply 
the table with the choicest venison, geese, ducks and prairie hens to suit the guests 
at the sumptuous feast. This was the joyful place for the rugged, barefoot boy, 
bareheaded, on a bareback horse, with a gun and a dog by his side. With what 
joy, after following the deer across the plain, would he carry home to his mother 
the trophy of the chase! This was the place for the rosy-cheeked girl, clad 
in her linsey dress, in a bewildering mass of wild flowers, trailing vines and 



108 WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 

rustling leaves, as happy as the feathered songsters that surrounded her and 
sang with her their dehght at the beautiful scene. What a treat it would be now 
to go back with our baskets into those woods and gather the nuts as they fall 
from the trees, to pull down the black haw bush and gather the richest berry 
that grows, and the sweet persimmons we'd gather, too. Farther down the wood 
lies the pawpaw patch, and from among its leaves we'd pick the ripe, juicy 
fruit and at last start for home, our baskets filled to the brim. Let us go home, 
to our old home again. We see the large fireplace, the wide hearth, the old 
Dutch oven in which mother baked her bread and boiled the mush before the 
fire. The table is spread with the bread mother baked, the bowls of mush and 
milk, the roasted game the hunter brought, the baked potatoes and luscious fruit 
and the pumpkin pie mother made from the flat pie pumpkin. A barefoot boy 
is squatting on the floor and with the mush pot between his legs is scraping the 
kettle for the crust. Out in the woods we hear the wild turkey gobble ; the drum- 
ming of the pheasant and the nuts dropping from the trees ; we see the waving 
of the treetops and hear the. rustling of the leaves, the song of the birds and the 
barking of the squirrels and watch them leap from tree to tree. They are all our 
friends. How I like them ! Let me go among them alone at night with my dog 
and there Fll follow the 'possum and the coon, stroll along the silent creek and 
listen to the songs of the frogs, the hooting of the owl and the whippoorwill. This 
is August 31, 191 1. How pleasant now to remember old Washington surrounded 
by broad prairies and beautiful groves and inhabited by friends and associates 
of the early days ! Here from the Shore of the Great Pacific, the Land of the 
Salmon and the Big Red Apple, to you of the Land of the Rustling Corn we send 
Greeting !" 

In the letter from which the above quotation was taken Mr. Kinnear referred 
to his military service. With the outbreak of the Civil war he joined the Forty- 
seventh Illinois Regiment, with which he remained until mustered out in 1864. 
On his way home while crossing the Mississippi he said, 'T have chewed tobacco 
for eleven years. This is no habit for a young man to start out in life with," 
and threw into the water a silver pocket case full of tobacco. That was character- 
istic of Mr. Kinnear. If once he decided that a course was wrong or unwise 
he did not hesitate to turn aside, for he never deviated from a path which he 
believed to be right. It was this fidelity to all that he thought to be worth while 
in the development of character that made him the splendid specimen of man- 
hood, remembered by his many friends in Seattle. 

Following his return from the war his mother handed him thirty-six hundred 
dollars — his pay, which he had sent her while at the front to help her in the 
conduct of household aft'airs. With the mother's sacrifice and devotion, however, 
she had saved it all for him and with that amount he invested in a herd of cattle 
which he fed through the winter and sold at an advance the following spring, 
using the proceeds in the purchase of two sections of Illinois land. He not only 
became identified with farming interests but from 1864 until 1869 held the office 
of county clerk of Woodford county. Illinois, proving a most capable and trust- 
worthy official in that position. On retiring from the office he concentrated his 
energies upon the development and cultivation of his land and while carrying on 
farming he would purchase com in the fall and place it in cribs, selling when 
the market reached, as he believed, its best point. In the meantime he studied con- 



WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 



109 



ditions in the developing northwest. His attention was first called to the Puget 
Sound country in 1864 and thereafter from time to time his mind returned to that 
district. Knowing that the waters of the Sound were navigable he believed 
that one day a great city would be built there and after ten years, in which he 
pondered the question, he made a trip to the northwest in 1874, looking over the 
different locations. He was most favorably impressed with the site of Seattle 
and before he returned to Illinois he purchased what is known as the G. Kinnear 
addition on the south side of Queen Anne Hill. He then returned home and four 
years later, or in 1878, he brought his family to the northwest. He felt that 
investment in property here would be of immense advantage and as fast as he 
could sell his Illinois land at fifty dollars per acre he converted the proceeds 
into Seattle real estate, much of which rose rapidly in value. There was but 
a tiny town here at the time of his arrival and from the beginning of his resi- 
dence on the Sound he did everything in his power to make known to the country 
the possibilities and opportunities of the northwest and to aid in the development 
of the city in which he had located. He favored and fostered every measure 
which he believed would prove of benefit to the town and country. In 1878-9 
he labored strenuously to secure the building of a wagon road over the Snoqualmie 
Pass and as the organizer of the board of immigration he had several thousand 
pamphlets printed, sent advertisements to the newspapers throughout the country 
and as the result of this widespread publicity letters requesting pamphlets arrived 
at the rate of one hundred or more per day and for several years after the printed 
supply had been exhausted the requests kept coming in. Just how far his efforts 
and influence extended in the upbuilding of the northwest it is impossible to 
determine but it is a recognized fact that Mr. Kinnear's work in behalf of Seattle 
has been far-reaching and most beneficial. 

In 1886, at the time of the Chinese riots, he was captain of the Home Guard 
and in that connection did important service. The anti-Chinese feeling in the 
northwest found expression in action in the fall of 1885, when the Chinese were 
expelled from a number of towns along the coast by mobs and an Anti-Chinese 
Congress was held in Seattle which promulgated a manifesto that all Chinese 
must leave the localities represented in the congress on or prior to the first day 
of November. The authorities in Seattle prepared to resist the lawless element 
and the ist of November came without the Chinese having been driven out of 
Seattle. On the 3d of November the Chinese were expelled from Tacoma and 
the spirit of hatred against the Mongolians grew in intensity along the coast. 
As the weeks passed the leaders of the anti-Chinese forces continued their activity 
and it became increasingly evident that there was serious trouble ahead. One 
morning ten or a dozen men met in Seattle, among them Mr. Kinnear, and 
he proposed that a force of citizens be organized and armed for the purpose of 
holding the mob element in check. All present agreed and subsequently a com- 
pany of eighty men armed with breech-loading guns was organized and given 
the name of the Home Guards. Mr. Kinnear was made captain of this organi- 
zation and arrangements were made for signals to be given to indicate that the 
mob had actually begun the attack. As several inaccurate accounts of the riot 
have appeared. Captain Kinnear published a small book giving a correct account 
of the whole anti-Chinese trouble and from this the following quotation is 
taken : 



no WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 

"On Sunday morning (Feb. 7th), about eleven o'clock, the old University and 
Methodist Episcopal Church bells sounded the signals. At a meeting the previous 
evening a committee had been appointed to take charge of the removal of the 
Chinese. They proceeded to the Chinese quarters with wagons, ordered the 
Orientals to pack up, then, with the aid of the rioters, placed them and their 
baggage onto wagons and drove them to the dock at the foot of Main Street, the 
intention being to load them onto the Steamer Queen, which was expected from 
San Francisco at any hour. Upon the arrival of Captain Alexander with the 
Queen at Port Townsend, he first learned of the situation at Seattle and when he 
arrived at the Ocean Dock he ran out the hot water hose, declaring he would 
scald all persons attempting to force their way onto the ship. They willingly 
kept at a distance. But the city was completely in the hands of the mob. The 
acting Chief-of-Police Murphy and nearly all of the poHce force were aiding in 
the lawless acts. Early in the day Governor Watson C. Squire, being in the 
city, issued his proclamation ordering them to desist from violence, to disperse 
and return to their homes. Their only answer was yells and howls of defiance. 
He ordered out two military companies stationed in the city to report to the 
sheriff of the county for the purpose of enforcing the laws. A squad of eighteen 
men from the Home Guards escorted C. K. Henry, United States Department 
Marshall, to the front of Dexter Horton's Bank, where the governor's proclama- 
tion was read to the howling mob. They were furious at the presence of the 
armed men and would have attacked had the Guards not promptly returned to 
their quarters at the engine house. The removal of the Chinese from their 
homes continued till there were about three hundred and fifty herded on Ocean 
Dock awaiting the transportation by rail or steamer to carry them away. A 
strong guard of rioters was placed over them. Only those who could pay their 
fare were permitted to board the ship. The citizens subscribed a portion of the 
money to pay the fares of one hundred, being all that could be carried on the 
boat. In the meantime a writ of Habeas Corpus was issued by Judge Roger S. 
Greene, detaining the vessel and requiring Captain Alexander to produce the 
Chinese then on his vessel at the court room next morning at eight o'clock, that 
each Chinaman might be informed of his legal rights and say if he desired 
to go or remain ; that if he wanted to remain he would be protected. ILarly in the 
morning of the 7th, the Home Guards were ordered placed where they could 
best guard the city. The entire force was posted at the corner of Washington 
Street and Second Avenue and details sent out from there to guard a portion 
of the city. That night a portion of the Guards and the Seattle Rifle% took up 
their quarters at the Court House, Company D remaining at their armory. The 
authorities were active during the entire night in doing everything they could 
to enforce the laws. Governor Squire telegraphed the Secretary of War, also 
General Gibbon, commanding the Department of the Columbia, the situation. 
About midnight an attempt was made to move the Chinese to a train and send 
a part of them out of the city that way, but the Seattle Rifles and Company D 
were sent to guard the train and succeeded in getting it out ahead of time. While 
most of the mob that had not yet retired was down at the train, a squad of the 
Home Guards was detailed to take possession of the north and south wings of the 
Ocean Dock upon which were quartered the Chinese, watched over by McMillan, 
Kidd and others, all of whom were prevented by the Home Guards from leaving 



WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 111 

the dock. By daylight the Seattle Rifles and University Cadets with a squad 
from the Home Guards were lined up across the two wing approaches to the main 
dock. In the early morning the mob was gathering again and soon the adjoinino- 
wharves and streets were blocked with angry men who saw they were defeated 
in keeping charge of the Chinese. As their numbers increased, they became 
bolder and declared their purpose to kill or drive out the Guards. Early that 
morning after warrant was issued by George G. Lyon, Justice of the Peace, the 
leading agitators were arrested and locked in jail, where they were confined at 
the time the Home Guards escorted the Chinese from the dock to the courthouse 
pursuant to the writ of Habeas Corpus issued by Judge Greene. Of course there 
would have been a skirmish somewhere between the dock and the courthouse if 
the anti-Chinese forces had not been deprived of their leaders. At the conclusion 
of court proceedings, the Home Guards escorted all of the Chinese back so that 
those who were to leave on the Queen might do so and the others went to the dock 
to reclaim their personal effects which they had carried from their houses or 
which were carted there by the mob. At this time the leaders who had been 
arrested had been released from jail on bail, at least some of them had, and they 
acted as a committee to disburse money which had been raised to pay the passage 
of those Chinese who w^anted to go to San Francisco on the Queen. The com- 
mittee, or some members of it, were permitted to go upon the dock, but the mass 
of anti-Chinese forces were held in check by the Home Guards, Seattle Rifles 
and University Cadets, who maintained a line across the docks extending from 
Main Street to Washington Street. The numbers of the disorderly element were 
increasing and there was every indication of trouble ahead. President Powell 
of the University had been mingling among the crowd and informed us that they 
were planning to take our guns away from us. The Guards had been expecting 
this and were prepared all the time for trouble. After the Queen left, the 
remaining Chinese were ordered moved back to their quarters where they had 
been living and the Chinese were formed in column with baskets and bundles 
of all sizes which made them a clumsy lot to handle. In front was placed the 
liome Guards — the Seattle Rifles and the University Cadets coming two hundred 
and fifty yards in the rear. The march began up Main Street. The Home 
Guards were well closed up as they had been cautioned to march that way. 
Crowds of men were on the street, but they gave way. But on our left, on the 
north side of the street, they now lined up in better order and as the head of 
the column reached Commercial Street and alongside the New England Hotel, 
at a signal the rioters sprang at the Guards and seized a number of their guns, 
which began to go off. The rioters instantly let go the guns and crowded back. 
They were surprised that the guns were loaded. One man was killed and four 
wounded. This seemed to have the desired eff'ect on them. Immediately the 
Guards were formed across Commercial Street looking north. The Seattle Rifles 
and University Cadets formed on Main Street facing the docks, where there 
was a large crowd, a few men were faced to the south and east, thus forming 
a square at Commercial and Main Streets. The dense mobs were in the streets 
to the north and west. To the north as far as Yesler Way the street was packed 
full of raving, howling, angry men, threatening revenge on those who were inter- 
fering with their lawlessness. I selected Mr. C. H. Hanford and Mr. F. H. 
Whit worth and directed them to press the crowd back so as to keep an open 



112 WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 

space between our line and the front of the mob. Many of the mob were seen 
with arms. At the time of shooting, several shots were fired by the mob, one ball 
passing through the sheriff's coat, but none of our men were hurt. Back a dis- 
tance a number of the leaders mounted boxes and by their fierce harangues tried 
to stir the mob to seek revenge. There was no order given to fire. The men 
understood their business and knew when to shoot. We remained in this position 
about half an hour, until Captain Haines, with Company D, appeared coming 
down the street from the north, the mob cheering with great delight and opening 
the way to give them free passage. Shortly afterwards the mob called on John 
Keane for a speech. He mounted a box in front of the New England Hotel and 
made a speech in the following words : 'All of ye's go to your homes. There 
has been trouble enough this day.' Then the Home Guards, Rifles, and Cadets 
conducted the Chinese to their quarters and then marched to the courthouse, 
which from that time on, with Company D, was their headquarters." 

In the afternoon of that day Governor Watson C. Squire proclaimed the city 
under martial law and the Guards and militia with the assistance of the Volun- 
teers were able to maintain order in the city. In the meantime the president of 
the United States ordered General Gibbon, who was stationed at Vancouver, to 
send federal troops to the aid of Seattle. On the morning of the lotli Colonel 
de Russy arrived with the Fourteenth Infantry to relieve the Guards and militia, 
who had been on constant duty for three days and nights Avithout sleep or rest. 
With the arrival of the regular troops the disorderly element quieted down but 
the leaders of the Guards and militia feared that when the federal troops were 
withdrawn the rioters would again attempt to control the city. Accordingly, the 
Home Guards, the Seattle Rifles and Company D were all raised to one hundred 
men each and another company of one hundred men was raised. These troops, 
which represented men from every walk of life, drilled constantly and it was 
well that they did so, for as soon as the regular troops had gone, it became 
evident that the mob was taking steps to organize an armed force. Conditions 
were so unsettled for several months that it was necessary for the four hundred 
men to continue their drilling and to be constantly alert. Eventually, however, 
the excitement died out and quiet was restored and business again went on as 
usual. Too great praise cannot be given Mr. Kinnear for the course which 'he 
pursued in connection with these riots. He recognized at once that the greatest 
public enemies are those who seek to establish mob rule and overturn the forces 
of order and good government and he recognized the necessity of maintaining 
the rights of all. His insight was equalled by his public spirit and courage 
and he deserves the lasting gratitude of Seattle for what he did at that time 
to maintain her honor and good faith. 

Mr. Kinnear at all times manifested a deep interest in the welfare of the city 
and in working for its improvement kept in mind the future as well as the present. 
In 1887 he gave to the city fourteen acres of land which overlooks the Sound from 
the west side of Queen Anne Hill and which, splendidly improved, now consti- 
tutes beautiful Kinnear Park. It is one of the things of which Seattle is proud 
and as the city grows in population its value will be more and more appreciated. 
In many other ways Mr. Kinnear manifested his foresight and his concern for 
the public good and he was a potent factor in the development of the city along 
many lines. His qualities of heart and mind were such as combined to form 



WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 113 

the noblest type of manhood and in all relations of life he conformed to the 
highest moral standards. He was not only universally conceded to be a man 
of unusual ability and one of the foremost citizens of Seattle, but he was personally 
popular. In the spring and summer of 1910 he and his wife toured Europe and 
at that time wrote a number of extremely interesting articles relative to the dif- 
ferent countries through which they traveled, and these articles are still in the 
possession of the family. Of Mr. Kinnear it has been said: "He was as upright 
as he was in stature — honest, energetic, clear-headed and generous. He met his 
responsibilities fearlessly and lived his life worthily. He was willing to be per- 
suaded along right lines — but he was not to be badgered. He was as kind hearted 
as he was hearty and he had not been sick since the war." During the later years 
of his life Mr. Kinnear traveled extensively and took the greatest pleasure in 
being in the open, near to nature's heart. On the 21st of July, 1912, he spent a 
day on Steilacoom Plains, returning by automobile in the evening. On the fol- 
lowing morning he was seen watering the flowers on the front porch and later 
entered the house, awaiting the call for the morning meal, but when it came, life 
had passed and he had gone on as he wished, without a period of wearisome 
illness, but in the midst of health and action and good cheer. His going calls to 
mind the words of James Whitcomb Riley. 

"I cannot say, and I will not say 
That he is dead. He is just away! 
With a cheery smile, and a wave of the hand, 
He has wandered into an unknown land, 
And left us dreaming how very fair 
It needs must be, since he lingers there. 
And you, O you, who the wildest yearn 
For the old-time step and the glad return — 
Think of him faring on, as dear 
In the love of There as the love of Here ; 
Think of him still as the same, I say ; 
He is not dead — he is just away!" 



GUS LAFAYETTE THACKER. 

Gus Lafayette Thacker is one of the leading attorneys practicing at the bar of 
Lewis county with offices in the Coffman-Dobson building at Chehalis. He was 
born in Springfield, Missouri, October 17, 1883, and is the oldest in a family 
of five children, his parents being James G. and S. A. (Hodge) Thacker, both 
natives of Tennessee. Believing in the advantages of the far west the father 
brought his family to Washington in 1886 and located at Winlock, Lewis county. 
He is now living on a farm near Centralia, having made agricultural pursuits his 
life work. 

During his boyhood Gus L. Thacker attended the country schools of Lewis 
county and later completed is education at the State University in Seattle. On 
the I St of June, 1906, he was admitted to the bar and at once entered upon prac- 



114 WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 

tice with M. A. Langhorne, now of Tacoma. During the eleven years that have 
since passed Mr. Thacker has always maintained his office in the Coffman-Dob- 
son building where he is now located. Although a comparatively young man 
he has already attained a position of prominence in his chosen profession and 
from 1906 to 1908 served as assistant prosecuting attorney of Lewis county. 

Mr. Thacker was married in Toledo, Oregon, in 1907, to Miss Minnie Pearsall, 
of Chehalis, Washington, a daughter of J. A. and Emma (Russell) Pearsall, both 
of whom are now deceased. Her maternal grandfather built the first sawmill 
at Chehalis. Mr. and Mrs. Thacker have a little son eight years of age, Loren, 
now in school. 

Since attaining his majority, Mr. Thacker has always affiliated with the 
republican party and is chairman of the Lewis county republican central com- 
mittee. In religious faith he is a Presbyterian. He is quite prominent in fraternal 
organizations, belonging to the Benevolent Protective Order of Elks, the Knights 
of Pythias, the Woodmen of the World, the Ancient Order of United Workmen, 
the Independent Order of Odd Fellows, the Loyal Order of Moose and the 
Fraternal Order of Eagles, and he is also a member of the Commercial Club of 
Chehalis. Being a musician of ability, he organized the Military Band on the 
4th of July, 1913, and has since served as its director and manager. It has become 
one of the most noted bands of this part of the state, now having a membership 
of thirty-two, and it is called upon to take part in all popular entertainments 
and is also used for advertising purposes in Chehalis. For over thirty years 
Mr. Thacker has been a resident of Lewis county and he can well remember 
when the present site of Chehalis was covered with brush and stumps. He has 
taken a great interest in the development of the city, is delighted with the 
climate of this region and has firm faith in the future greatness of western 
Washington. 



HON. JOHN W. KLEEB. 

Hon. John W. Kleeb, of South Bend, has become prominently known in busi- 
ness connections and as one of the lawmakers of the state. In fact it is said that 
he has done more for Pacific county than any three other men. He is generous, 
philanthropic and just and his word is as good as a bond. A native of Fayette, 
Iowa, he was born and reared upon a farm, and while acquiring a common school 
education by attendance during the winter months, he devoted the summer seasons 
to farm work. At the age of sixteen he secured employment in a grocery store, 
where he remained for a year and afterward spent two years in a dry goods store, 
in which connection he worked up from errand boy to head salesman in a year. 
This was at Dunlap, Iowa. Later he engaged in business on his own account at 
Panama, Iowa, as a general merchant for a year, at the end of which time he 
sold out there and became a resident of Council Bluffs, Iowa, where he estab- 
lished a store and was engaged in the grocery trade until his removal to the 
northwest. He had been quite successful as a merchant in Iowa, having begun 
business in Panama with a cash capital of but four hundred dollars, and during 
the first year he cleared seven thousand dollars. While living in Panama he also 
became connected with banking and he likewise filled the office of postmaster. 




HON. JOHN W. KLEEB 



THE NEW YOKK 

PUBLIC UBRARY 

ASTOR, LENOX 
..DEN FOUNDATION 



WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 117 

With his removal to Tacoma in 1888, Mr. Kleeb first secured employment in 
a dry goods store and later embarked in the real estate business, in which he 
continued until 1892. He took with him to Tacoma a capital of about fifteen 
thousand dollars, which he there invested. He became extensively and success- 
fully engaged in real estate dealing through the years of Tacoma's greatest 
growth and activity. In 1893 he took a trip to the east and was away most of the 
year, spending considerable time at various places and the greater part of the 
summer at the World's Columbian Exposition in Chicago. In 1894 he returned 
to Tacoma and engaged in the wholesale lumber and shingle business, purchasing 
in large quantities from the mills and shipping to retailers throughout the east. 
In this connection, too, his business prospered. He resided in Tacoma until 1898, 
when he removed to South Bend and erected his sawmill, which was very modern 
in construction and equipment. In 1910 it was completely equipped throughout 
with electrically driven machinery of every kind necessary to the business. It 
was the first sawmill fully equipped in that manner in the state and one of the 
first in the entire country. He received many letters from different parts of the 
country, asking how successful his plan proved and if he would again equip it 
electrically if he were building. From his plant he furnished all of the electric 
light for South Bend up to the time his mill was destroyed by fire. The product 
of his mill was shipped all over the Union, but on the 15th of December, 1916, a 
disastrous fire occurred in which the sawmill, planing mill and a part of the sheds 
were destroyed, causing a loss of one hundred and fifty thousand dollars. He 
employed one hundred men, who turned out thirty million feet of lumber in a 
year. He also maintained two logging camps in connection with the business, 
which proved a very profitable undertaking until the great fire. He finished lumber 
of all kinds at the mills and he maintained a lumberyard at Pasco, Washington, 
where he has likewise invested in considerable property, owning a number of 
houses there. He has furthermore become interested in a stock and fruit ranch 
on the Columbia river, near Pasco, and he has an electric pumping plant, pumping 
water for irrigation and also furnishing light to his place. Upon his ranch is a 
canning factory, which enables him to handle all bruised fruit or fruit which is 
too ripe for shipment. He cans both fruit and vegetables, nothing being wasted, 
and in addition he shipped fourteen car loads of apples and peaches in 191 5. He 
is likewise one of the owners of the Nahcotta Clam Cannery and is a stockholder 
in the Tokeland Oyster Company, of which he was manager for a year, during 
which time it paid forty thousand dollars in dividends. Those who read between 
the lines will recognize at once that Mr. Kleeb is a man of notable business ability, 
sagacity and understanding. He has learned the secret of success — the attainment 
of maximum results with a minimum expenditure of time, labor and material. 
He has always made it his purpose to give full value received. At the same time 
there is no useless waste in anything that he does and his own business insight 
enables him to carefully and wisely direct the labors of those who serve him. He 
is interested in real estate at various points and his efforts and interests have at 
all times constituted a contributing factor to the development of the northwest. 

On the 1 6th of January, 19 12, Mr. Kleeb was united in marriage to Miss 
Henrietta Towsley, of Tacoma, and they have a daughter, Agnes Lincoln, who 
was born November 18, 191 5. The baby was named at the good roads conven- 



118 WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 

tion held in Spokane, at the suggestion of Hon. Earles, a well known Ohio 
statesman. 

Mr. Kleeb has always taken a very prominent, active and helpful part in 
public affairs and while in Tacoma he served for two terms as a member of the 
city council, duringWvhich many of the streets were paved. He was made chair- 
man of the judiciary committee of the city council and was instrumental in per- 
fecting a charter for the electric street railway that redounds much to Tacoma's. 
credit in a business way. He was likewise a member of the Tacoma Chamber 
of Commerce and in 191 4 he was elected to represent his district in the state 
senate of Washington, of which he is now a member. He has always given his 
political allegiance to the republican party, which finds in him a stalwart cham- 
pion. He belongs to the Commercial Club and fraternally is connected with the 
Knights of Pythias. He has been a generous supporter of various churches and 
he stands at all times for those activities and interests which contribute to public 
progress. His is the notable and commendable career of a self-made man who 
from the age of sixteen years has been dependent upon his own resources and in 
the attainment of success has followed a course which will bear the closest investi- 
gation and scrutiny. He has also ever been of a most generous and helpful dis- 
position. While operating his sawmill he trusted hundreds of people for lumber 
with which to build homes and his gifts in charity undoubtedly amount to one 
hundred thousand dollars. He has ever been ready to extend a helping hand to 
those in need of assistance and the work which he has done for Pacific county 
places him among the builders of this great state. 



MAJOR CHARLES O. BATES. 

Major Charles O. Bates is now engaged in the practice of law in Tacoma 
and is a member of the Pierce County, Washington State and National Bar 
Associations. There is too in his life history a most interesting military record 
covering active service upon the frontier in connection with the protection of 
frontier outposts from Indian hostility. He comes to the west from the Missis- 
sippi valley, his birth having occurred at Almont, Michigan, May 31, 1855. 
The ancestral line is traced, back to England and in the period antedating the 
Revolutionary war members of the family came to the new world. The Rev. 
Henry Bates, father of Major Bates, was a native of New England and at the 
time of the Civil war was a resident of Marietta, Ohio. He became a stanch 
supporter of the abolition movement, active in promulgating that doctrine and 
he was a warm personal friend of Abraham Lincoln. In early manhood he was 
graduated from Oberlin College, at Oberlin. Ohio, and became a preacher o^ 
the Congregational denomination, devoting his entire life to the work of the 
ministry. In 1867 he became a resident of Illinois and in 1872 removed to 
Nebraska, where he remained until his death, which occurred in 1890, when 
he was seventy-five years of age. For almost a quarter of a century he was 
survived by his wife, who lived to the age of ninety years, passing away in 
Franklin, Nebraska, in 1913. She bore the name of Keziah Chapman and was 
born in New England and came of English ancestry. The Rev. Henry and 



WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 119 

Keziah Bates had six children. One of these is the Rev. Henry L. Bates, who 
is a member of the faculty of the Pacific University at Forest Grove, Oregon. 

Major Charles O. Bates pursued a public school education in Michigan and 
in Canton, Illinois, completing a high school course. After the removal of the 
family to Plymouth, Nebraska, he secured a situation in 1873, at Beatrice, 
Nebraska, spending two years in a general mercantile establishment there. He 
was afterward with the firm of Colby & Hazlett, attorneys at law of Beatrice, 
with whom he pursued his studies until admitted to the bar in that state on 
the 31st of October, 1878. He was admitted to practice before the supreme court 
in 1880 and remained in successful practice at Beatrice until 1891. During his 
residence there he was county attorney of Gage county and served for one 
term. He also spent two terms as city attorney, making a most creditable record 
in the otifice. 

Attracted by the growing opportunities of the northwest Mr. Bates came 
to Washington in 1892, arriving in Tacoma on the ist of June. He immediately 
entered upon active practice here and has since been continuously connected 
with his profession, during which period he served for one term as prosecuting 
attorney of Tacoma. He is an able lawyer, well versed in the principles of 
jurisprudence and seldom, if ever, at fault in the application of a legal principle. 
His colleagues recognize his ability and he is numbered among the valued rep- 
resentatives of the Pierce County, Washington State and National Bar Asso- 
ciations. During the past few years he has specialized largely in corporation 
law and he is now a member of the firm of Bates, Peer & Peterson. 

In December, 1876, in Lincoln, Nebraska, Mr. Bates was married to Miss 
Mary Kathleen Gillette, a native of that state and a daughter of Capt. Lee P. 
Gillette, a Civil war veteran and a representative of an old and prominent family 
of Nebraska City. He served as captain in the First Nebraska Regiment during 
the period of hostilities between the north and the south and both he and his 
wife have now passed away. Mr. and Mrs. Bates have become parents of two 
children. Etta Chapman and Russell Gillette. The former is the wife of 
Eugene D. Roberts, the vice president of the Puget Sound Iron & Steel Works 
of Tacoma. Mr. and Mrs. Bates reside at Bonneville Hotel. While he has 
made the practice of law his real life work he has also become interested in 
other business projects and is now an attorney of the Sunset Telephone & Tele- 
graph Company and other corporations. He was one of the prime factors in 
the erection of the new Elks building in Tacoma and is very prominent in the 
Elks lodge, of which he is past exalted ruler. He is also well known as a Mason, 
belonging to Lebanon Lodge, F. & A. M. of Tacoma, and to the Royal Arch 
chapter. 

His military service is most interesting and covers service as adjutant of 
the First Regiment of the Nebraska National Guard, which he joined as a 
private in 1880. He was afterward promoted to the rank of first lieutenant of 
Company C and was made adjutant of the first regiment on its formation, 
November 20, 1886. On the formation of the brigade he was promoted to 
assistant adjutant general with the rank of major and thus continued until he 
came to the northwest. He was engaged in active duty during the winter of 
1890-91, following the outbreak of the Sioux Indian war at Pine Ridge agency 
in South Dakota, at which time General Miles commanded the troops. In 



120 WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 

politics yir. Bates is an earnest and active supporter of the republican party. 
His local connections are with the Commercial Club and he is also a member 
of the Union and the Lockburn Golf Clubs. His life has been one of intense 
activity, intelligently directed into those channels through which flow the great- 
est good to the greatest number and his efforts have brought him a measure of 
success which is most desirable and have also proven of benefit to his fellow- 
men in many fields. 



WILLIAM H. PINCKNEY. 

William H. Pinckney, police jtidge of Blaine, arrived in this city in 1873 accom- 
panied by his bride, for it was their wedding trip. They journeyed westward from 
Iowa by way of the Union Pacific to Seattle and on the old Prince Albert went 
to Victoria. Mr. Pinckney purchased forty acres of land adjacent to the town 
site of Semiahmoo, now Blaine, and lived upon it until winter, when he returned 
to Iowa. In 1877 he came again to Washington and after living for about a year 
in Whatcom county removed to Seattle, where he remained from 1878 until about 
1896. His early arrival here places him as one of the pioneer settlers of the 
northwest. 

Mr. Pinckney was born in Michigan in 1843 ^"^ i" 1^56 started for Iowa. 
Father, mother and six children drove across the country with two yoke of oxen 
and settled on the Big Sioux river in 1857. The father. Joshua B. Pinckney, was 
not only a pioneer of Iowa but also of western Washington, where he arrived in 
the year 1873. The pioneer spirit seems an inherent quality in the family, for 
the ancestry is traced back to one who came from Yorkshire, England, in 1649 
and aided in the early colonization of the new world. At the time of the Black 
Hawk war in 1832, Joshua B. Pinckney served in defense of the interests of the 
white settlers, commanding the Second ^Militia Regiment as colonel. He married 
Hannah Mills, a native of New Hampshire, who also belonged to one of the early 
American families of Scotch lineage. Both the Pinckney and the Mills families 
were represented in the Revolutionary war by those who actively participated in 
winning American independence. As the tide of emigration steadily drifted west- 
ward, members of the Pinckney family lived upon the frontier, Joshua B. Pinck- 
ney becoming a frontier settler of Michigan, afterward of Iowa and eventually 
of Washington. In the family were two sons who did not come to the west, 
Charles remaining in Iowa, while John AI. retained his residence in Sioux City, 
that state. He served with his brother William at his first enlistment against 
the Indians. 

William H. Pinckney had become familiar with various phases of pioneer life 
ere his removal to Washington — a life that calls forth the latent resources and 
capabilities of the individual. While in Seattle he opened a real estate office which 
he conducted for a time and then sold to the firm of West & Wheeler, this being 
now one of the oldest of the long established real estate business interests of that 
city. Before entering that field Mr. Pinckney had been employed at any work 
which would yield him an honest living, but in 1888 he began dealing in real es- 
tate in the old Union block, where he remained until his office was destroyed in 



WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 121 

the great conflagration of 1889. He afterward did business in a tent on Spring 
street until business blocks were rebuilt. He continued to operate in real estate 
in Seattle until 1896, when he came to Blaine. He was on the police force of 
Seattle for four years and was night captain there for a time. He also built four 
residence properties in Seattle and took an active part in promoting and develop- 
ing the city. He handled what was known as the Pleasant Valley addition and 
built a road at a personal cost of four hundred and seventy-five dollars. He dis- 
posed of much property while there and became a well known factor in real estate 
circles but eventually left the city to take up his abode on a ranch at Semiahmoo 
which he owned. He remained thereon for several years, devoting his attention 
to general farming, after which he came to Blaine and opened a real estate and 
fire insurance business. His operations along those lines brought success and he 
still handles property interests here. He has been chosen police judge on two dif- 
ferent occasions and is now filling that office. He was also justice of the peace 
for a number of years and in his court rendered decisions which were strictly fair 
and impartial. In politics he is an independent republican, considering only the 
capability of the candidate at local elections where no political issue is involved. 

Judge Pinckney has an interesting military chapter in his life history. While 
at Sioux City, Iowa, he enlisted as a member of Company E of the Northern 
Border Brigade in August, 1862, following the Indian massacres there. He after- 
ward joined Company L of the Seventh Iowa Volunteer Cavalry under Captain 
S. P. Hughes, serving in all for two and one-half years in upper Missouri. Fra- 
ternally he is connected with Reynolds Post, No. 32, G. A. R., which he joined in 
191 3, having previously been a member of Stevens Post. No. i, of Seattle. The 
ranks of old soldiers are fast being decimated but the post at Blaine still numbers 
sixteen members. Judge Pinckney is also connected with the Independent Order 
of Odd Fellows. 

In 1873 Judge Pinckney was united in marriage at Elk Point, South Dakota, 
to Miss Anna Jackson, whose grandfather was an own cousin of General Andrew 
Jackson. They have one son, John J., who was educated in Seattle, where he 
read law, working his own way there. One of the strongly marked characteristics 
of the family has been their readiness to enlist and fight for justice, right and 
freedom. The ancestors of Judge Pinckney have ever acquitted themselves with 
honor and credit on the battlefield, while his own record is in harmony therewith. 



E. EDSON. 



No other drug store in Whatcom county has been conducted so long imder 
the same management as that of E. Edson at Lynden, who twenty-six years 
ago purchased the store of which he has since been the proprietor. He has con- 
centrated his efforts upon the development of the trade and has become widely 
known in this connection. At native son of Iowa, he was born in i860, his par- 
ents being G. M. and M. E. Edson. His father was a physician and died in the 
east. The mother and a sister of E. Edson came to Washington in 1883, in 
which year he also c-ame to this state, and the mother is still living at Belling- 
ham, which was called Whatcom when the family home was established there. 



122 WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 

E. Edson remained a resident of Bellingham until 1891. He had removed from 
Kansas to this state and in the year mentioned he took up his abode at Lynden, 
where he bought out the Long drug store. Through all the intervening years 
he has conducted a substantial business, his trade constantly increasing with the 
growth of the city. In 1909 he erected a substantial business building which he 
has since occupied. His store is tasteful in its arrangement and he carries a 
complete line of drugs and druggists' sundries. 

In 1891 Mr. Edson was married in Bellingham and he has two children: 
Agnes, the wife of O. H. Hadley, of California ; and Gale, who is now a mem- 
ber of the University of Washington Ambulance Corps of the United States 
Army 

In community affairs j\Ir. Edson has always taken a very active and helpful 
interest and his fellow townsmen, appreciative of his worth and ability, have 
called him to various local offices. He has served as city clerk, as a member of 
the city council and as mayor. He has ever been deeply interested in the What- 
com County Fair Association, of which he has served as vice president and as 
president. This association was incorporated in 1910 with Mr. Waples as pres- 
ident, Mr. Edson as vice president, Mr. Serrurier as treasurer and Air. Stuart 
as secretary. The fair is held each year on grounds covering twenty acres and 
well equipped with buildings for the purpose. The half mile race track is the 
best north of Seattle and there are four days of racing during the annual fair, 
which opens on Tuesday and closes on Saturday night. There are two main 
buildings fifty by one hundred feet and three educational buildings twenty-four 
by sixty feet. There is a poultry building, a four hundred foot cattle stable 
and a one hundred foot horse stable, besides stables and paddock for racing 
stock. The grandstand has a capacity of between six and seven hundred. The 
directors are W. H. Waples, Nels Jacobson, A. H. Frasier, G. Vander Griend, 
W. H. Jackman and N. E. Sorensen. These gentlemen are wisely directing the 
interests of the association and making the fair of value as a stimulus to local 
enterprise and progress. 



N. J. BLAGEN. 



A native of Denmark, N. J. Blagen was born July 18, 1850, and after spend- 
ing the first twenty years of his life in his native country came to the United 
States in 1871, desirous of enjoying some of the business opportunities which he 
heard were to be secured on this side the /Vtlantic. He was empty handed at the 
time of his arrival, but he possessed industry and determination — qualities which 
constitute a splendid basis for the attainment of success. Making his way to 
Minnesota, he worked on a farm there for six months at sixteen dollars per month, 
during which time he saved ninety-six dollars or every cent that he had earned. 
He had learned the carpenter's trade in his native country and after a short 
stay in Minnesota went to Chicago, where he held good positions in the line of 
his trade for four years, after which he began contracting on his own account. In 
1876 he removed from Chicago to California and in 1877 became a resident of 
Portland, Oregon, where he remained until 1906, during which period he engaged 




N. J. BLAGEN 



THE NEW YORK 
PUBLIC LIBRARY 

ASTOR, LENOX 
Tli-DEN FOUNDATION 



WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 125 

in the contracting and milling business in Oregon and in Washington and also in 
the eastern states. He took his first contract in Washington in 1883 and so con- 
tinued in business until 1901. In 1896, 1897 ^^^ 1898 he was occupied with build- 
ing a part of the metropolitan water system of Boston, Massachusetts, and also 
a steel pipe line eight miles long and four feet in diameter for the city of New 
Bedford. It required five miles of railway in order to carry on the work of con- 
struction. In 1883 he built the plant of the Portland Flour Milling Company at 
Portland, Oregon, and in 1889 he built the flour mill plant of the Puget Sound 
Flour Mill Company in Tacoma and its wharf and dock. In 1888 he built the 
Jewish synagogue in Portland and in 1893 erected the First Baptist church of 
Portland, known as the White Temple, supplying everything for it except the 
carpet. It remains today the finest church edifice in Portland — a commodious, 
beautiful and stately structure. 

Another most important work which has claimed the attention of Mr. Blagen 
was his connection with the building of the Northern Pacific Railway from Ellens- 
burg west to a point about four miles east of Green River Hot Springs, including 
the mountain grade, the switchback over the summit and the tunnels, with the 
exception of the main Cascade tunnel, which was built by Nelson Bennett. Mr. 
Blagen, however, supplied most of the timber for the tunnel, all being cut in his 
mill. The contract was taken in the spring in 1886 and the work was to be com- 
pleted in two years. Afterward, because of congress trying to pass a bill causing 
the Northern Pacific to forfeit its land grant, the railway company forced Mr. 
Blagen's firm to complete the work in a little over a year, the connection of the 
track being made on the 14th of June, 1887, taking place practically on the summit 
of the mountain at trestle No. 14 of the switchback. It was and still is considered 
one of the most wonderful undertakings that has ever been accomplished in rail- 
road building to complete such a heavy piece of mountain work with twelve feet 
of snow upon the mountains while the work was being done. For two months one 
thousand Chinamen and also white men were employed at shoveling snow, which 
would blow back over the grade during the night. Mr. Blagen invented overhead 
cables used in this work and which were afterward patented by the Lockwood 
Company, the engines to handle the cables, while the work was conducted accord- 
ing to new plans devised by Mr. Blagen. The No. 14 trestle was built in fourteen 
days, the structure being three stories in height or eighty feet and utilizing three 
quarters of a million feet of timber. Mr. Blagen was manager, with J. J. Donovan 
as engineer, and the work was prosecuted through the deepest snow that had fallen 
in the Cascades until 191 6. Mr. Blagen also owned and operated the mill that cut 
the timber and lumber for the switchback and in fact he was one of three who prac- 
tically financed the entire contract. This is regarded as one of the most notable 
pieces of work that has been accomplished in the development of the northwest. 

He became identified with the Grays Harbor Lumber Company in 1905, 
when he organized the business, of which he became president and general man- 
ager, with C. G. Blagen, his son, as secretary and assistant manager. In the begin- 
ning he hired but sixty-five men and today employs five hundred and fifty, of 
whom four hundred are in the mills and one hundred and fifty in the logging 
camps. At the beginning his output was eighty thousand feet of lumber per day 
and at the present the output is seven hundred and forty thousand — the largest 

output of lumber on the Pacific coast controlled by one firm. His mills have been 
Vol. n— 7 



126 WASHINGTON, WKST OF THE CASCADES 

operated day and night steadily for eleven years. His plant is considered the best 
equipped and the business the best organized mill on the coast. His employes 
remain with him for years due to the fact that he pays a good living wage and 
treats his men with fairness, justice and consideration. When he established the 
business he had thirty-six acres of land, which tract is today covered by the yard, 
plant and shipping facilities. In 1913 he added thirty-live acres, most of which 
is now in use. In March, 19 16, the output was nineteen million feet of lumber and 
the business for the year 1916 approximated two million dollars. A well 
organized force prevents loss of time and the best possible equipment facili- 
tates the labors of the men. He has installed a new refuse burner sixty-five feet in 
diameter and one hundred and five feet in height. It is four times the size of the 
ordinary burner and was built after ideas and plans furnished by Mr. Blagen and 
his son Frank. He is also interested in two boats used continuously in handling 
lumber, one million feet of lumber being loaded on a boat in a single day. At one 
time Mr. Blagen operated the Bucoda Lumber Company but sold out. It is said 
by many that he is considered the shrewdest, most farsighted and best business 
man on Grays Harbor. Thoroughly just to all employes, he makes them feel 
their responsibility and that upon the efforts of each individual the success of the 
whole partly depends. He pays the largest salaries on the west coast and it is 
said that men fight to work for him. Not only does he give to his men excellent 
wages but he encourages them to build homes and become good citizens. 

On the 7th of November, 1876, Mr. Blagen was married at San Francisco to 
Miss Hannah Erickson, a native of Norway, and they have become parents of 
seven children: Emma, the wife of Lieutenant John Haile Blackburn, U. S. N., 
of Portland ; Walter, who died in infancy ; Clarence G., who is married and makes 
his home in Hoquiam, being secretary and manager of the Grays Harbor Lumber 
Company; Mrs. Florence Staiger, living in Portland; Henry W., who is married 
and is sales manager of the Grays Harbor Lumber Company; Frank N., who is 
married and who is a mechanical engineer and draftsman and is in charge of the 
pay roll of the Grays Harbor Lumber Company; and Miss Celeste, who is attend- 
ing high school. The sons are practically in charge of the plant and the father 
has every reason to be proud of their ability, for they are manifesting the same 
sterling qualities which have dominated his life and given him preeminence as a 
business man of the northwest. 

Mr. Blagen and his family hold membership in the First Baptist church, in 
which he is trustee. His political support is given the republican party and in 1905 
he was appointed a member of the examining board for the police commissioners 
of Portland under Senator Lane, who was then mayor of the city. He has never 
been ambitious to hold public ofifice, however, but there is no question concerning 
the welfare and progress of city, state or nation that does not awaken his interest 
and whatever his judgment sanctions receives his strong endorsemxcnt. One who 
knows him well said: "Not too much can be said of N. J. Blagen's good qualities 
and his business methods." He is a big man — ^big in the fullest sense of the term 
— in his way of looking at public questions, in his relation to his employes — and 
he is a success in every sense of the word. Inspired by the stories which he heard 
concerning America and her opportunities, he came to the new world. He felt 
that the wage of sixteen dollars per month which he received for farm labor in 
Minnesota was too much, so much did it exceed the wage which farm hands earned 



WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 127 

in Denmark. Industry, energy and laudable ambition have carried him forward 
and in his own progress he has continually held out a helping hand to others, assist- 
ing them to march forward toward the goal of success. 



CAPTAIN JAY L. OUACKENBUSH. 

Captain Jay L. Ouackenbush was the builder of the first building on Holly 
street, Bellingham, and from that time never lost faith in the city and its future 
greatness, as was shown by his earnest efforts to promote its progress and his 
advocacy of the building of the fine city hall which is today one of the adorn- 
ments of the city. In all things he manifested the same spirit of loyalty and 
patriotism which he displayed when his service on southern battlefields during 
the Civil war won him the rank of captain. 

A native of Montgomery county. New York, Captain Quackenbush was 
born December 29, 1827, and at an early age went to New York city, where 
he secured a position in a large clothing house, which he held until he reached 
the age of twenty. He then removed to Owosso, Michigan, and in that state 
took up the study of law, being admitted to the bar when thirty years of age. 
Opening an office he engaged in practice in Owosso until the outbreak of the 
Civil war when he responded to the country's call for troops, raised a company, 
of which he was chosen captain and which was mustered in as a part of the 
Eighth Michigan X^olunteer Infantry. He was an ardent believer in the preserva- 
tion of the Union and deeply regretted that the condition of his health obliged him 
to resign ere the close of the war. Throughout his entire life he manifested the 
same spirit of loyalty to his country that he displayed when he went to the front 
in defense of the stars and stripes. 

After receiving an honorable discharge Captain Quackenbush resumed the 
practice of law in Owosso, Michigan, where he remained until 1868. when he 
sailed for California around Cape Horn. After visiting San Diego he decided 
to locate there and returned to Michigan to complete his arrangements for 
establishing his home on the coast. He continued his residence in San Diego 
until 1874, when he went to Portland, Oregon, where he engaged in business 
until 1885, when he removed to the new city of Vancouver, British Columbia, 
where he conducted important and profitable business undertakings until the big 
fire which completely destroyed the city in 1887. Losing all his property in that 
conflagration he then removed to Whatcom, now Bellingham, and through stren- 
uous effort managed to secure a lot and thereon erected the first building on 
Holly street, at the corner of Dock, calling the structure the Holly block. There 
were logs and stumps all around and in fact the building was practically in the 
woods, so that he became the pioneer in developing what is today one of the 
finest thoroughfares of the city. He was also connected with public interests 
in other ways, for several times he served as a member of the city council of 
Sehome and New Whatcom and at the time of the erection of the present city 
hall he was one of the first to advocate the plan, putting forth every possible 
effort to secure a building worthy of what he believed the city would be. There 



128 WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 

was no feature of city improvement at all practical that he did not support and 
his labors were far-reaching and beneficial. 

Captain Quackenbush was married in 1859 ^ Miss Sarah J. Waite and they 
became the parents of a son Louis B., and a daughter, Mrs. G. M. Harris. 
About five years prior to his demise, which occurred May 26, 1906, Captain 
Quackenbush contracted grip from which he never fully recovered and there- 
after he spent the winter months in California. He was for a half century an 
exemplary member of the Masonic fraternity, exemplifying in his life the 
beneficent spirit of the craft and he was also a member of Washington Com- 
mandery of the Loyal Legion. He was a man in whom the call of opportunity 
or of duty found ready response and no civic need sought his aid in vain. 



COLONEL CHAUNCEY WRIGHT GRIGGS. 

What a man does and what he attains depend largely upon his opportunities 
but the man well balanced mentally and physically is possessed of sufficient 
courage to venture where favoring opportunity is presented and his judgment 
and even paced energy generally carry him forward to the goal of success. 
This was illustrated in the career of Colonel Chauncey Wright Griggs, who 
never hesitated to take a forward step when the way was open and reached the 
heights not only of success but of almost boundless opportunity. Not seeking 
honor but simply endeavoring to do his duty, honors were multiplied to him 
and prosperity followed all his undertakings. Colonel Griggs was born in Tol- 
land, Connecticut, December 31, 1832, and was a representative of that brainy, 
thrifty New England stock which has sent its representatives to all parts of the 
country, contributing to material, intellectual and moral progress wherever they 
have gone. His father. Captain Chauncey Griggs, a man of more than ordi- 
nary ability, served as an officer in the War of 1812 and was a member of the 
state legislature of Connecticut for a number of years, leaving the impress of 
his individuality upon the laws enacted during that period. Through his mother, 
who bore the maiden name of Heartie Dimock, Colonel Griggs is connected 
with the Dymokes or Dimmocks of England. The Dimocks of New England 
through Elder Thomas Dimock, an early settler of Barnstable, Massachusetts, 
trace their descent from the Dimocks, who from the time of Henry II to the 
reign of Queen Victoria held and exercised the office of hereditary champion of 
the kings of England and for their services were knighted and baroneted. In 
this country the Dimocks have always been worthy and influential citizens and 
were especially prominent in connection with the Revolutionary war, a number 
of them becoming officers in the Continental army. 

Colonel Griggs, whose name introduced this review, attended the public 
schools of his native town to the age of seventeen years, when he went to Ohio, 
where for a short time he engaged in clerking in a country store, thus making 
his initial step in a business career which was to bring him prominence and suc- 
cess. He afterward returned home and completed his education in Monson 
Academy of Massachusetts. Following his graduation he took up the profes- 
sion of school teaching and in 1851 returned to the middle west, going to Detroit, 



WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 129 

Michigan, where he was employed in a bank. He afterward again went to 
Ohio, where he was connected for a time with a mercantile firm. Later he went 
once more to Detroit, Michigan, where he entered the furniture business in 
connection with one of his brothers. The year 1856 witnessed his removal to 
St. Paul, where he became a prominent factor in business circles as a general 
merchant, as a contractor and as a real estate dealer, his business interests being 
extensive and important. 

At the outbreak of the Civil war Colonel Griggs organized a company for 
the Third Minnesota Infantry and in recognition of his honorable and brave 
service was promoted through the various grades to that of colonel and un- 
doubtedly w^ould have been breveted general had he not been obliged to resign 
in 1863 on account of illness. He then went to Chaska, Minnesota, where he 
became an active figure in business circles as a general merchant, as a brick 
manufacturer and as a dealer in wood. He also did contract work for the 
government and for railroads and while thus controlling various important 
business interests he also represented his district in the state legislature for 
several years, giving thoughtful and earnest consideration to all the vital ques- 
tions which came up for settlement. In 1869 he again located in St. Paul, where 
he engaged in the coal and wood trade in connection with James J. Hill, the 
late railroad magnate and president of the Great Northern Railroad. Mr. 
Griggs was afterward associated with General R. W. Johnson and later with 
A. G. Foster. He organized the Lehigh Coal & Iron Company, of which he was 
for some time president, but in 1887 he disposed of his entire interest in the 
fuel business. While he was best known in connection with the coal and wood 
trade, his relations along that line becoming very extensive, he was also largely 
interested in many other business ventures. In 1883 he formed a partnership 
under the name of Glidden, Griggs & Company, which later became Griggs, 
Cooper & Company, one of the largest grocery houses of Minnesota. Colonel 
Griggs was also prominent as an investor in lands, having handled much prop- 
erty in St. Paul and Minneapolis as well as throughout Minnesota, Dakota and 
Montana. In the future he will be best known as one of the millionaire lumber- 
men on the Pacific coast. With Henry Hewitt, Jr., he carried through the largest 
lumber purchase ever made. In May, 1888, these two men obtained contracts 
from the Northern Pacific Railroad for the sale of eighty thousand acres of 
land and timber lying near Tacoma. They became associated with other promi- 
nent men of the East and of the West under the name of the St. Paul & Tacoma 
Lumber Company, of which Colonel Griggs remained president until 1908 and 
chairman of the board of trustees until his death on the 29th of October, 1910. 
This company became one of the foremost that has ever operated in connection 
with the lumber industry on the Pacific coast. Their interests were conducted 
on a mammoth scale and their extensive operations connected them in trade 
relations with many sections of the country. As a prominent railroad con- 
tractor Colonel Griggs also had charge of and completed several extensive 
branches of the Northern Pacific Railroad, during which time he employed 
from fifteen hundred to eighteen hundred men daily. 

Notwithstanding his large private interests Colonel Griggs found time to 
serve the public officially in many important capacities. In politics he was always 
a strong conservative democrat but never supported a corrupt candidate or a 



130 WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 

questionable party measure. He was a member of the house of representatives 
of Minnesota for two terms, was state senator for three terms, was alderman 
for seven terms while a resident of St. Paul and held various positions of honor 
and trust on important city committees and boards. In 1889 ^'""^ again in 1893 
he received the full vote of the democratic members of the Washington legis- 
lature for the United States senate. In 1892 he was chairman of the Washing- 
ton delegation to the democratic national convention which nominated Grover 
Cleveland. His opinions concerning politics were those of the statesman, the 
man of broad business interests, astute insight, keen perception and notable 
sagacity. His public spirit was one of his most marked characteristics. Unlike 
many men who handle big business propositions, he did not regard politics as 
too trivial for his attention. In fact he regarded it the duty as well as the 
privilege of every American citizen to uphold his honest convictions by his 
ballot and by his support of every measure which he deemed beneficial to the 
commonwealth and by opposing with all his strength every measure which he 
deemed prejudicial. 

Colonel Griggs was married in Ledyard, Connecticut, to Miss Martha Ann 
Gallup, on the 14th of April, 1859, and they became the parents of six children: 
Chauncey Milton, a resident of St. Paul. Minnesota ; Herbert S., who is now 
a practicing lawyer of Tacoma; Heartie Dimock, the wife of Dr. G. C. Wag- 
ner of Tacoma ; Everett Gallup, a well known business man of Tacoma ; Theo- 
dore Wright, living in St. Paul; and Anna Billings, the wife of Dr. T. B. Filton, 
of New York city. 

Colonel Griggs had many traits admirable and worthy of praise and among 
his many excellent traits was his capacity for friendships. The universality of 
his friendships interprets for us his intellectual hospitality and the breadth of' 
his sympathy, for nothing was foreign to him that concerned his fellowmen and 
in his life the broader spirit of the twentieth century found expression. 



A. P. STOCKWELL. 



Prominent among those who have been actively connected with lumber and 
logging interests in the northwest is A. P. Stockwell, of Aberdeen, whose ac- 
tivities have been a potent force in the business development and substantia! 
upbuilding of his section of the state. He came from another state which has 
long figured as a center of the lumber industry of the country, being a native 
of Michigan, where his birth occurred in 1864. His father, Levi L. Stockwell, 
devoted his life to farming, and upon the old homestead farm A. P. Stockwell was 
reared, with the usual experiences that fall to the farm breed boy, but in 
young manhood he turned his attention to the lumber business, which he 
followed in Michigan until he came to Washington in 1890. settling in Aber- 
deen. Through all the intervening period his interests have been constantly 
growing in volume and importance and each forward step which he has made 
has brought him a broader outlook and wider opportunities. In 1897 he joined 
C. E. Burrows in organizing and incorporating the C. E. Burrows Company, 
of which Mr. Burrows continued as president until his death, with Mr. Stock- 



WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 131 

well as manager of the business. The latter succeeded to the presidency upon 
the death of Mr. Burrows in 1907 and has so continued to the present time. 
The company established logging camps and lumber mills in the Grays Harbor 
country. This company succeeded to the business of the Bryden & Leitch Lum- 
ber Company and in 1907 took over its sawmills and other equipment. Of that 
company Mr. Stockwell was president from the time of Mr. Burrows' de?th 
until 1910, when the mill was sold to the Donovan Lumber Company. 

Many other important business concerns have felt the stimulus and profited 
by rhe cooperation of Mr. Stockwell. who is now secretary of the Finch Invest- 
ment Company, in which connection he is active in the control of a most ex- 
tensive business. He became identified with the Aberdeen Timber Company, 
which was incorporated in 1902 with C. E. Burrows as the first president. He 
was succeeded by William T. Cameron, who is now president, with Mr. Stock- 
well as secretary and treasurer. They carried on a logging business in township 
21, range 9, Chehalis, now Grays Harbor, county. In 1897 ^^^- Burrows and 
Mr. Stockwell purchased the Grays Harbor Boom Company, which was incor- 
porated in 1893, with William Balsh as president, W. L. Stiles, vice president, 
and John Anderson, secretary. Mr. Stockwell afterward became president of 
the company. The business was sold in 1910 to the Warren Company, which in 
1914 sold out to H. P. Brown. Mr. Stockwell is managing the operation of 
the booms on the Humptulips river. In 1900 the Humptulips Driving Com- 
pany was organized with Mr. Stockwell as secretary and treasurer, the company 
being formed for the purpose of driving, sorting and delivering logs on the 
Humptulips river. In 1910 the Humptulips Towing Company was incorporated 
by the Warren Company but the business was sold to H. B. Brown in 1914. 
Mr. Stockwell acts as manager of the business. In August, 1914, the Hump- 
tulips Logging Company was incorporated with H. B. Brown, of San Fran- 
cisco, as president ; W. B. Mack, vice president, and C. A. Pitchford, secretary 
and treasurer, with Mr. Stockwell as manager of the ofifices in Aberdeen and of 
the logging outfit in township 21, range 9. Chehalis, now Grays Harbor county. 
It will thus be seen that Mr. Stockwell's interests are most important and exten- 
sive, bringing him into close connection with a number of the largest logging 
and lumber interests of the northwest. He possesses marked ability as an 
organizer and notable executive force and these qualities liave been salient fea- 
tures in his growing prosperity and have as well been important elements in 
the growth and development of the district. 

In 1896, in Aberdeen, Mr. Stockwell was united in marriage to Miss Carrie 
A. Jones, her father being F. E. Jones, who was a native of Michigan and was 
there engaged in the lumber business, to which he also devoted his attention after 
coming to Washington in 1890. His demise occurred in 191 5, when he had at- 
tained the age of sixty years. Mr. and Mrs. Stockwell have two children, Rich- 
ard and Malcolm, who are thirteen and eleven years of age respectively. 

Fraternally Mr. Stockwell is connected with the Independent Order of Odd 
Fellows and the Benevolent Protective Order of Elks. His political allegiance 
is given to the republican party and in 1899 he was elected to the legislature from 
his district. He prefers, however, that his public duties shall be performed as a 
private citizen rather than as an official but is ever ready to aid in projects and 
movements for the general good and stands loyally at all times for those activ- 



132 WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 

ities and interests which are a matter of civic virtue and civic pride. He has 
never regretted his determination to become a resident of the northwest, for the 
natural resources of the country have constituted a splendid stage for his activities 
and in the wise utilization of his opportunities he has come to the front in connec- 
tion with the lumber industry, which is one of the chief sources of Washington's 
Avealth. 



ALEXANDER POLSON. 

The term ''captains of industry" came into existence through contemplation 
of the life record of such men as Alexander Poison, president of the Poison • 
Logging Company of Hoquiam, a man forceful and resourceful in planning and 
conducting important business affairs, his interests being carefully systematized 
so that there is no useless expenditure of time, labor or material, the results 
achieved being therefore highly satisfactory. Mr. Poison was born in Nova 
Scotia in 1853, a son of Peter and Catherine (McLean) Poison, who were of 
.Scotch descent and birth. They removed from Scotland to Nova Scotia in 
childhood. 

It was in the schools of his native country that Alexander Poison pursued his 
education, and in 1876, when a young man of twenty-three years, he became 
imbued with an unconquerable desire to try his fortune in the west, Deadwood, 
Dakota, becoming his destination. After three months there passed, however, 
he made his way to Carson City, Nevada, where he engaged in mining and 
lumbering for three years. In 1879 he made a trip to Tucson, Arizona, but 
after a few months started on horseback for Goldendale, Washington, situated 
not far from the Columbia river. The entire journey was accomplished on horse- 
back and after reaching his destination he secured employment in the lumber 
woods, working on the first drive of logs that was taken out for the construction 
of the Northern Pacific Railroad from the Columbia river to Montana, its logs 
being floated down the Yakima into the Columbia river. In the winter of 1880 
he went to Olympia, where for a year and a half he was employed in logging by 
Ames Brown, who was the first lumberman of the territory and became a man 
of wealth and prominence, later establishing his home in Seattle. Mr. Poison, 
too, was one of the pioneer lumbermen of the state and it was he who brought 
the first steel felling saw and steel wedges into Washington. 

On leaving Olympia he went to Shoalwater Bay, now Willapa Harbor, and 
there built the first dam used in log driving in Pacific county. In 1882 he became 
a permanent resident of Hoquiam and built the first splash dam in the Hoquiam 
river in Chehalis. now Grays Harbor, county. In 1884, in association with his 
brother Robert, he began logging in Grays Harbor in a small way, using bull 
teams to skid logs. Thus was established the Poison Brothers Logging Company, 
which became the foremost of the kind in the northwest. They added machinery 
and equipment from time to time until they now operate the most extensive and 
best equipped logging plant in the world. The number of logs which are annually 
cut in the forests and brought to the mills is enormous and the business has 
assumed proportions that even to themselves would have seemed incredible of 




ALEXANDER POLSON 



;he new yoRFT^ 

PUBLIC UBRARY 

ASTOR, LENOX 
aLDEN FOUND ATIOW f 



WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 135 

accomplishment at the beginning of the undertaking. Their equipment at the 
present time still includes a locomotive which is called Betsy and which was 
brought over the mountains in 1870 by Aines worth & Simpson, who used it in 
their Spokane yards in hauling lumber. It was sold to the Poison Company in 
1894 and is still in active service at the Poison camps, the engine yet containing 
the original boiler. It was Alexander Poison who built the first successful log 
driving splash dam in Chehalis county. The brothers still remain in active con- 
nection in business, with Alexander Poison as president of the company and 
Robert Poison as manager. Their policy has been a liberal one toward employes. 
They have always furnished the best camp quarters for their workmen. No use 
of intoxicants is allowed, the men being encouraged to save their money and 
build homes. Mr. Poison maintains the most friendly relations with all his 
employes and they know that they can count upon his aid in an emergency. 

Aside from his connection with the Poison Logging Company he is vice 
president of the Eureka Lumber & Shingle Company, vice president of the 
Bay City Lumber Company, and vice president of the Hoquiam Timber Company. 
His operations thus place him in a position of leadership as a representative of 
the lumber industry, which has been the chief source of Washington's wealth, 
and thus he ranks with the prominent business men of the state. He is also 
interested in a number of other industries in western Washington, all of which are 
elements in promoting public progress and prosperity as well as individual success. 

He stands for clean and honest business methods, for clfean and honorable 
living, and no man has been a more active or effective worker in cleansing the 
city of Hoquiam of its gambling joints and other devices that lower the standard 
of public morals. He is now active in the work of promoting state-wide prohibi- 
tion, prior to which time he carried on a movement to have all the saloons of 
Hoquiam segregated on one street. He has served as a member of the city council 
and for one term as state senator, not because he was ambitious to hold political 
office but because he wished to exercise his official prerogatives in support of 
measures which he deemed of the greatest worth and value to the community. 
During the Hay administration it was so evident that corruption existed in many 
of the departments of government that Mr. Poison called for an investigation 
of the insurance department, the legislature itself and also the supreme court, 
one member of which was so patently responsible for irregularities that he 
resigned because of the proposed investigation. Mr. Poison spent twenty thou- 
sand dollars of his own money to force the investigation, which cleaned up and 
settled the question. It was he who was instrumental in securing the plans for a 
new group of government buildings, including the state capitol. He insisted on 
three architects and no one knew whose plans were accepted until the decision 
was announced, which eliminated all dickering and unfairness. He was instru- 
mental in compelling the withdrawal of twenty sections of school timber land 
from sale, thereby eliminating graft and also ensuring to the state school fund 
a handsome sum of from one million to two million dollars. He was named on 
the board of capitol commissioners by Governor Hay. He is desirous for 
Washington to follow Minnesota's plans in regard to school lands, which will 
thus take care of the taxes. Since 1904 he has each presidential year been urged 
to accept the position of delegate to the republican national convention, but has 
given way to other men. In 1916, however, he was made a delegate notwith- 



136 WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 

standing his express wish that another should accept the office. From 1884 until 
1886 Mr. Poison served as the first assessor of Hoquiam. 

On the i8th of February, 1891, Mr. Poison was married to Miss Ella Arnold, 
a native of Iowa and a graduate of Iowa College of Des Moines. Her parents 
live with them in their beautiful and spacious home, which was the second 
residence erected in Hoquiam, built in 1884, the lumber for the building being 
cut and sawed in Montesano. Mr. and Mrs. Poison have three children. Frank- 
lyn Arnold is a graduate of the Culver Military Academy of Indiana and is now 
associated with the Grays Harbor Door Company of Hoquiam. Charles Stewart 
attended Culver Academy and is now a senior, class of 1917, in the University 
of Washington at Seattle. Both he and his brother are making an especial study 
of Spanish, in preparation for business conditions which may arise in South 
America. Kathryn Dorothy was graduated from Huntington Hall in Pasadena, 
California, and is now in school at Boston, Massachusetts. 

Fraternally Mr. Poison is a prominent Mason, having taken the degrees of 
the York and Scottish Rites, while with the Nobles of the Mystic Shrine he has 
crossed the sands of the desert. He has passed through all the chairs in the Odd 
Fellows lodge and he belongs to the Knights of Pythias and the Benevolent 
Protective Order of Elks. His political allegiance is given to the republican 
party and he is of that bigness of mind which places the public welfare before 
partisanship and the general good before personal aggrandizement. He believes 
that every individual should have his opportunity. No man has been quicker to 
recognize the rights of others or more alert in assuming the duties and responsi- 
bilities which rest upon him. It is this which has made him counselor, advisor 
and friend to his workmen, exemplifying in his career the principle of justice, 
and the confidence and goodwill entertained for him are the spontaneous offerings 
of people who recognize that he judges everything from a broad standard and 
looks at every question with a wide vision, keeping his mind at all times receptive 
toward those influences which will work for justice and right. 



DAVID THOMAS DENNY. 

David Thomas Denny was the first of the name to set foot on Puget Sound, 
landing at Duwamish Head on the 25th of September, 185 1. As one of the early 
residents of Seattle he exercised a determining influence on the development of 
the city and the northwest along many diverse lines of endeavor. He was a 
conspicuous figure not only in commercial, financial and political circles but also 
in the work of the church and in movements seeking the promotion of the artistic 
and cultured interests of the city. He was a member of a family of which repre- 
sentatives for generations had been influential and respected in their communities 
and he manifested those intellectual and moral qualities which combine to form 
the highest type of manhood. 

Mr. Denny was born on the 17th of March, 1832, in Putnam county, Indiana, 
a son of John and Sally (Wilson) Denny. The ancestry has been traced back to 
representatives of the name who emigrated from England to Scotland and thence 
to Ireland, whence David and Margaret Denny, the American progenitors of the 



WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 137 

family, crossed the Atlantic early in the eighteenth century and settled in Berks 
county, Pennsylvania. Their son, Robert, who was born in 1753, married Miss 
Rachel Thomas, and they were the parents of John, the father of our subject, 
who was born May 4, 1793, near Lexington, Kentucky. He fought in the War 
of 1812 and was a pioneer of Indiana, Illinois and Oregon. He served in the 
Illinois state legislature and was personally acquainted with Lincoln, Yates and 
Trumbull. He was an orator of unusual power and was active in a number of 
reform movements which in that day were unpopular, working in behalf of the 
abolition of slavery, the prohibition cause and woman's suffrage. In 1851 he 
served as captain of a company of emigrants which crossed the plains to Oregon. 
The mother of our subject passed away 'in 1841, when he was but nine years 
of age, and throughout his life he carried with him the memory of her affection 
and Christian character. His father married again, choosing Sarah (Latimer) 
Boren, the widow of Richard Freeman Boren, a Baptist preacher, for his second 
wife. She was a woman of many noble qualities and performed the many duties 
that fell to the lot of the pioneer wives and mothers. Through a long widow- 
hood she had reared and educated her children, living on her own land in Illinois 
and with her own hands spun and wove excellent linen and woolen cloth which 
was used in making clothing for the family. Very full genealogical tables of the 
Denny family may be found in "Genealogica et Fleraldica" and in "The Denny 
Family in England and America." 

David T. Denny received only the usual educational advantages of the boy 
reared on the western frontier but throughout life he never ceased to study men 
and affairs and as he had a keen and vigorous mind he became not only pos- 
sessed of great stores of knowledge which he had attained at first hand, but also 
of much practical wisdom and of deep understanding of the motives of human 
conduct. He found excellent training in solving the diverse and exacting problems 
that arose in the development of civilization in the northwest, a development 
to which he contributed much. When a youth of seventeen years he clerked 
in a village store in Knoxville, Illinois, and when nineteen years of age he joined 
his father's company, driving a four-horse team across the plains to Oregon. He 
found his first remunerative employment on Puget Sound in cutting timber for 
export and later took up diversified farming and cattle raising on a donation claim. 
He also cultivated a rich valley farm, known as the Collins' farm, on the Duma- 
wish river, in the '60s and '70s. During the latter decade he began to acquire 
wild lands, realizing something of the marvelous future of the northwest. As the 
years passed his interests multiplied and grew in importance until he was recog- 
nized as one of the foremost men in the city. He platted seven additions to 
Seattle ; was interested in an important sawmill ; built and equipped the electric 
road to Ravenna Park; was heavily interested in electric and cable street rail- 
ways and was president of the consolidated system ; was a large stockholder in 
a number of banks; was president of the water company and was also chief 
executive of several large mining companies and of other corporations. 

He was also a leader in public affairs and in the early '60s served as county 
treasurer, while he also held the offices of probate judge and of county com- 
missioner. He served on the city council, was trustee of the town of Seattle in 
1872, was for twelve years school director of district No. i of Seattle, and 
was a regent of the Territorial University. During his early manhood he sup- 



138 WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 

ported the republican party but as he became more and more impressed with the 
fact that many great evils can be traced to the liquor traffic as an underlying cause 
he became correspondingly more interested in the work of the prohibition party 
and during the later years of his life supported it at the polls. In 1867 he became 
a charter member of the first lodge of the Independent Order of Good Templars 
organized in Seattle and in the same year he was elected its chaplain. He was 
a pioneer advocate of woman's suffrage, having used his influence to secure the 
granting of equal political rights from the year 1881 until his demise. During 
the Civil war he was ardent in his support of the Union cause and was a member 
of the famous Union League. 

The principles which guided his conduct in his relations with his fellowmen 
were those of the Methodist Episcopal church, and his religious faith w'as the 
source of the moral power which made his life such a marked force for good 
in his city. From i860 to 1886 he was a member of the First Methodist Episcopal 
church and subsequently held membership in the Batterv' Methodist Episcopal 
church and the Trinity Methodist Episcopal church of Seattle. He contributed 
generously to the various lines of church work and also gave freely of his time 
when, as was often the case, his advice was sought on some important question 
concerning church affairs. He was not only a tower of strength to the church 
to which he belonged but was influential in the state and national organizations 
and served as a delegate to the general conference in 1888 and also in 1892. 

During the early years of his residence in the northwest there were not only 
the hardships and privations of pioneer life to be endured but its dangers were 
also encountered. In 1855 and 1856 there w'as serious Indian trouble and Mr. 
Denny performed his share of the task of protecting the white settlements from 
the attacks of the red men. He was a member of Company C of the volunteer 
army raised for defense and was stationed with his command about a mile from 
Seattle when Lieutenant Slaughter and several of his men were killed by the 
Indians. Later, on the 26th of Januar}% 1856, when the red men attacked the 
town, he stood guard at the door of Fort Decatur and throughout the whole of 
that troublous time he proved himself a man of intrepid courage. During 
that period in the northwest each family had to largely depend upon its own 
resources and his skill as a marksman proved of great practical value as it meant 
that the family would be supplied with plenty of food, as game of all kinds, includ- 
ing bear, deer and grouse, was plentiful. Throughout his life he retained his love 
for the outdoor world and found much needed recreation in hunting, fishing and 
exploring. It was he who killed the last antlered elk shot in the vicinity of 
Seattle. 

Mr. Denny was married on the 23d of January, 1853, in the cabin of A. A. 
Denny, on Elliott bay, to Miss Louisa Boren, a daughter of Richard Freeman 
and Sarah Boren. She was born in White county, Illinois, on the ist of June, 
1827, and in 1851 crossed the plains to Oregon territor}-, reaching Alki Point on 
the 13th of November, that year. She was well educated and before her marriage 
followed the profession of teaching. She proved a true helpmate, working side 
by side with her husband with hand, heart and brain and assisting him mate- 
rially by her energy and thrift in building up a considerable fortune. As a 
mother she was most devoted and gave of herself unsparingly in the rearing and 
educating of her children. Although her first interest was always in her home 



WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 139 

she found time to do much toward bringing about many needed reforms in her 
community and was a stanch and effective advocate of the prohibition cause and 
the cause of woman's suffrage. In her church she was an active worker and all 
who came in contact with her testified to the sincerity of her Christianity, which 
found constant expression in her daily life. She possessed the energy that made 
her thoughts deeds and gave her ideals expression in action. 

To Mr. and Mrs. Denny were born eight children, as follows: Emily Inez; 
Madge Decatur, who was born in Fort Decatur on the i6th of March, 1856; 
Abbie L., the wife of Edward L. Lindsey; John B., who married Carrie V. 
Palmer and following her demise was united in marriage to C. Zeo Crysler; 
Anna L. ; D. Thomas, who married Nellie E. Graham ; Jonathan, twin to D. 
Thomas, who died on the day of his birth; and Victor W. S., who married Lillie 
J. Frankland. 

Although intensely practical and a leader in commercial, industrial and financial 
circles, Mr. Denny appreciated and thoroughly enjoyed art, poetry, music and 
oratory and did all in his power to further the development of the city along those 
lines. He recognized that the law of life is change and progress and as the 
frontier settlement gradually became a metropolitan city he adapted his plans 
to the new conditions and retained his position of leadership. As the years 
passed he grew in the power of insight, of prompt and wise decision and of 
achievement. Although he took justifiable pride in his material success and 
in the honor which was accorded him because of his acknowledged ability he 
perhaps prized even more highly his reputation for the strictest honesty and 
integrity. His sobriquet was "Honest Dave," which indicates much of the con- 
fidence and the warm regard in which he was held by those who were associated 
with him. Although his work is done his influence is still potent and his place in 
the history of Seattle is assured. 

David Thomas Denny was born March 17, 1832, in Illinois; died November 
25, 1903, in Seattle. 

Louisa Boren was born June i, 1827. They were married in Seattle, 
January 23, 1853. 

The following is a list of their children, all born in Seattle: 

Emily Inez, December 23, 1853; Madge D., born March 16, 1856; died 
January 17, 1889; Abbie L., born August 28, 1858; John B., born January 30, 
1862; died June 25, 1913; Anna L., born November 26, 1864; died May 5, 
1888; D. Thomas and Jonathan, May 6, 1867; Jonathan died May 6, 1867; 
Victor W. S. Denny, August 9, 1869. 

Abbie L. Denny and Edward L. Lindsley were married in Seattle, May 3, 
1877. Their children were all born in Seattle: 

Lawrence D. Lindsley, Mabel M. Lindsley, Winola Lindsley, Irene Lindsley, 
Norman David Lindsley. 

John B. Denny and Carrie V. Palmer were married in Seattle, January 13, 
1887. Their children were all born in Seattle. 

E. Harold, September 11, 1887; Anne L., born July 13, 1890. 

John B. Denny and C. M. Crysler were also married. 

Helen T., born December 9, 1894, was the only child of this marriage. 

D. Thomas Denny and Nellie E. Graham were married in 1893. Their 
children were all born in Seattle: 



140 WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 

Louisa I., November 19, 1894; \^^ Claude, August 6, 1897; D. Thomas, Jr., 
March 5, 1898. 

Victor Winfield Scott Denny and Lilhe J. Frankland were married in 
Seattle in August, 1894. Their children were all bom in Seattle: 

Madge Decatur, October 18, 1895; Elizabeth Crocker, December 25, 1896; 
Victor W. S., Jr., February 5, 1903. 



JACOB HUNSAKER. 



For about half a century Jacob Hunsaker of Everett has engaged in the real 
estate business and has devoted his attention exclusively to the general real estate 
and loan business for twenty-five years. He comes of a family of Swiss origin, 
its founder in America being Jacob Hunsaker. His grandfather, also named 
Jacob, was a representative of the first generation born in the new world and his 
birth occurred in Pennsylvania, but he removed to Illinois prior to the birth of 
his son, Jacob T. Hunsaker, who on arriving at years of maturity, married Emily 
Collins, a native of Kentucky. 

The birth of Jacob Hunsaker, whose name introduces this review, occurred 
in Adams county, Illinois, January 22. 1845, and it was during the season of 
1846 that his parents crossed the plains, arriving in Oregon City in the fall of 
that year, so that he has passed the seventieth anniversary of the beginning of 
his connection with the northwest. Early in 1847 the family became residents 
of Clarke county, then Oregon territory, now Washington state, and during 
his youthful days Jacob Hunsaker, now of Everett, became familiar with all of 
the conditions, experiences and hardships of pioneer life. One of the strongest 
recollections of his boyhood concerned the hanging in 1850 of the five Cayuse In- 
dians who had been convicted of participating in the W^hitman massacre of No- 
vember 29, 1847. His father was on the jury that convicted the Indians and 
in some way the son was permitted to see the execution, which occurred near 
Dr. McLoughlin's old flour mill at the falls of the Willamette. It was an awful 
scene for a child of five to look upon and for more than three score years 
it has remained burned in his memory. There are many other incidents of pioneer 
life that are equally vivid in his mind and his reminiscences of the early days 
are most interesting. 

In early manhood Mr. Hunsaker took up the occupation of farmnig but 
long ago began dealing in real estate and for fifty years has handled property to a 
greater or less extent. Finding in this a profitable field, he concentrated his ener- 
gies thereon and for a quarter of a century has given his attention exclusively 
to the general real estate and loan business. 

It was at Chambers Prairie, Washington, on the ist of May, 1873, that Mr. 
Hunsaker was united in marriage to Miss Elizabeth Chambers, a daughter of An- 
drew J. and Margaret (White) Chambers, the former a native of Kentucky and 
the latter of Indiana. The marriage was celebrated in her father's old home, 
which is still standing, as are the stables which served as a stockade during the 
Indian troubles, housing from seventy-five to one hundred persons. To Mr. and 
Mrs. Hunsaker have been born four children: Lloyd, now living in Everett; 



WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 141 

Hallie, a resident of Everett; Mrs. Cassie Chloe Chambers, of Cashmere, now- 
deceased; and Margaret, living in Everett. Mrs. Hunsaker is a Hfelong resi- 
dent of Washington, her birth having occurred on Chambers Prairie, November 
20, 1854. She was therefore only about a year old at the time of the Indian 
war of 1855-6. The scattered settlers in various localities built blockhouses and 
stockades in central locations for the protection of their families against the 
Indians, and two such blockhouses and a stockade were built on her father's 
place. James McAllister was killed by the Indians and within twenty hours thirty 
families had gathered in the stockade that was built of fir logs ten to twelve 
inches in diameter and sixteen feet in height. The inclosed area, about one hun- 
dred feet square, included the barn, whose leaning sheds were turned into kitch- 
ens. In all, thirty-two families and twenty-four single men found refuge in that 
stockade. The blockhouses and stockades remained standing for many years. 
Mrs. Hunsaker says : "In one of them that stood where an immense locust 
tree now stands, near the old farm house, myself and young sisters gathered 
and played. The old barn and farm house are still standing, but the last vestige 
of the stockade and blockhouses disappeared many years ago." 

Mr. Hunsaker has participated largely in the public life of the territory and 
state. Skamania county elected him to the office of assessor but he refused to 
qualify. However, he served on the board of commissioners of Klickitat county 
for four years and he represented his district, comprising Klickitat and Skam- 
ania counties, in the first state senate and also was sent as representative to the 
lower house of the state legislature from Klickitat county. He dates his resi- 
dence in Everett from 1892 and in the year 1895 was elected mayor of the city 
and in 1905 while on a business trip he was again nominated and elected mayor 
of Everett. For five terms he has been city treasurer. His political allegiance 
has always been given to the republican party, which has found in him a stalwart 
advocate. He cooperates in efforts for the benefit of his city through member- 
ship in the Everett Commercial Club and in 1901 he was made a Mason in the 
blue lodge of Everett, since which time he has been a loyal adherent of the 
craft, faithfully observing its teachings and exemplifying in his life its beneficent 
spirit. No history of the state and its pioneer development would be com- 
plete without mention of Mr. and Mrs. Hunsaker, who for so many years have 
been most honored and respected residents of the state. 



LLEWELLYN T. SEAVEY. M. D. 



Dr. Llewellyn T. Seavey, a representative of the United States public health 
service and actively engaged in the practice of medicine and surgery at Port 
Townsend, was born in San Francisco county, California, November 27, 1856, a 
son of James and Julia A. (Carle) Seavey. The parents were natives of Maine 
but in 1856 became residents of California. After a short period there passed 
they removed to Port Ludlow, Washington, in 1856 and the father there became 
bookkeeper for the Ludlow Sawmill Company, with which he was connected for 
four years. He next removed to Port Townsend, where he engaged in mer- 
chandising in connection with L. B. Hastings and for four or five years was in 



142 WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 

business at that point. Since then he has been county auditor for eighteen or 
twenty years, has been postmaster and clerk of the third judicial district court 
of the territory of Washington all at one time. He made a most excellent 
record in office by the fidelity and capability with which he discharged his duties 
and after his retirement he entered the abstract business, in which he remained 
for five years. Since then he has lived retired and has now reached the 
notable old age of ninety-one years. His wife died in Port Townsend, May 31, 
1902, at the age of seventy-five years. In their family were three children : Wil- 
liam S. ; Mrs. Lela R. Bartlett ; and Dr. Seavey, who was the second. All are 
residents of Port Townsend. 

In his boyhood days Dr. Seavey attended school in Port Townsend and in 
San Francisco and was also a student in Bishop Scott's grammar school at Port- 
land, Oregon. He afterward studied medicine with Dr. G. V. Calhoun, of Seat- 
tle, for a year and later entered the medical department of the University of 
California, from which he was graduated in 1878. He began practice in San 
Francisco, where he remained for four months in the capacity of police sur- 
geon, and for one year he was surgeon with the Pacific Mail Steamship Com- 
pany. He afterward returned to Port Townsend, where he has since been in 
active practice. For the past sixteen years he has been connected with the United 
States public health service in the quarantine department. He is one of Wash- 
ington's best known physicians and surgeons and has a wide practice in his 
part of the state, his pronounced ability and conscientious performance of his 
duty winning for him a liberal and constantly growing patronage. 

On the 24th of November, 1894, in Port Townsend, Dr. Seavey was married 
to Miss Marguritte Nolan and they have become parents of four children : 
Morris C, the eldest, born in Port Townsend in 1895, spent one year in the 
University of Washington and is now with the state militia at Calexico, Califor- 
nia ; Esther M., born in Port Townsend in 1896, is a graduate of the preparatory 
department of the Washington State College; Grace C, born in 1898, is attend- 
ing the Port Townsend high school, and Ruth M.. born in 1904, is also in 
school. 

Dr. Seavey votes with the republican party, which he has always endorsed 
since age conferred upon him the right of franchise. He is a past master of the 
Masonic lodge of Port Townsend and a worthy exemplar of the craft. His has 
been a well spent life fraught with usefulness and good work, and along pro- 
fessional and other lines his hand has been continually outreaching to aid his fel- 
lowmen. 



ALEX McCASKILL. 



Every section of the world has contributed to the citizenship of Washington, 
but Canada in particular has furnished a large quota of substantial and repre- 
sentative business men who have contributed much to the development and up- 
building of this section of the country. Among the number is Alex McCaskill, 
who was born in Glengarry county, Ontario, May 2, 1859, ^ son of Malcolm and 
Mary (Urquhart) McCaskill. The McCaskill family came to America from 




ALEX McCASKILL 



THE NEW YORK 
PUBLIC LIBRARY 



ASTOR, LENOX 
TIi,DE^^ FOUNDATION 



WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 145 

Scotland at an early day before the Revolutionary war and made their home in 
Virginia, whence a removal was made to Canada by the branch of the family to 
which Alex McCaskill belongs. As a lad he worked in the timber and learned 
logging, and when a young man he made trips as scout for a party who wished 
to prospect the northwest country. They started from Lake Superior northward 
on foot to Hudson Bay, and from York on Hudson Bay they proceeded north- 
west and eventually made their way to the Peace River country, at times making 
side excursions into different sections in order to gain a knowledge of the country 
and its resources. Next they went south to Fort Edmonton and afterward to 
Brandon, and in that year Mr. McCaskill walked nearly eight thousand miles. 

It was in 1877 that he came to the United States, settling near Tawas, Mich- 
igan, and some time afterward he removed to Wisconsin and later to Minnesota. 
For several years he remained in Minnesota and in North Dakota and met pioneer 
experiences in all the district from the Red River west. In 1886 he crossed the 
northern tier of states to Seattle, where he was engaged in the timber business 
until 1889, when he removed to Whatcom, now Bellingham. He there graded 
country roads and also many of Bellingham's principal thoroughfares, including 
Dock and Commercial streets. He worked on roads, streets and buildings and 
he also assisted in building the Northern Pacific Railroad over the mountains, 
occupying the position of foreman with a force of workmen. He was also a sub- 
contractor in connection with the construction of the railroad. In 1898 he left 
Bellingham for Alaska, where he spent four years as superintendent of bridges 
and buildings for the White Pass & Yukon Railroad. He then returned to 
Washington and engaged in shingle making in Skagit county, building two shingle 
mills and a small sawmill, in which business he continued until March, 191 1. At 
that date he arrived in South Bend and began logging on his own account in the 
Nema country of Washington, his work proving very profitable. He took a 
contract to clear away the forest and build and grade the road from South 
Bend to Nema, a distance of about twenty miles, at a cost of one hundred and 
twenty thousand dollars, agreeing to finish the work in a year. He completed 
the task in a little less time, his being one of only a few contracts with the county 
which were completed within the specified time. This road became the main 
thoroughare and is now a part of the National Park Highway. While engaged in 
the construction of that road Mr. McCaskill sold his logging interests. He after- 
ward formed the Nema Improvement Company, which purchased lands and stock 
and also bought the McGee shingle mill, of which he became president and 
manager, with E. T. Nobles as secretary and treasurer. The mill had a capacity 
of seventy-five thousand shingles, which the new company increased to one hun- 
dred and forty thousand. They put in dry kilns and employed twenty men, theirs 
being one of the important industries of that character in the Willapa Harbor 
district. In deciding on a name for the company, Mr. McCaskill called attention 
to the fact that he had been the organizer of numerous companies but that this 
was to be absolutely his last one, so he named it Nema, which is Amen spelled 
backward. In 19 16 Mr. McCaskill withdrew from the Nema Company and in 
the settlement of his aflfairs he secured from the company two hundred acres 
of land, the cattle, horses and implements and also obtained as individual property 
the shingle mill which he is now operating. Mr. McCaskill has had broad 

experience in connection with shingle manufacturing and carefully and wisely 
Vol. n— 8 



146 WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 

directs his interests so that substantial results accrue. He also developed a stock 
farm on the harbor of several hundred acres, which he has greatly improved, 
adding all modern accessories and equipments. In a word, he is a forceful and 
resourceful business man, alert to his opportunities and at all times enterprising 
and progressive. After selling his logging interests he bought a large tract of 
one thousand acres of agricultural land eighteen miles down the bay from South 
Bend, which he has greatly improved and still retains. He built a dike three miles 
long, improved the place with commodious buildings and uses it extensively for 
raising hay and cattle. 

In 1889 Mr. McCaskill was married in Bellingham to ]\Iiss Lauretta Whittaker, 
a representative of one of the first families of Whatcom. Her parents, Abraham 
and Emma (Lamb) Whittaker, were both natives of Manchester, England, and 
soon after their marriage crossed the Atlantic to Pennsylvania. They afterward 
removed to Missouri and later to Evanston, Wyoming, whence they drove over 
the old Oregon trail to Olympia, Washington, arriving in the early '70s. They 
later removed to Bellingham, where both died in February, 191 7. They were 
the parents of six daughters and a son, all of whom are living. Mrs. McCaskill 
was educated in Olympia and is a woman of marked intelligence, being a close 
student of the Bible and of general literature. She possesses much natural artistic 
skill and does fine work in crayons. She also possesses marked talent for music 
and is a leader in those movements in which women are most interested in 
South Bend. Both Mr. and Mrs. McCaskill are widely known through western 
Washington, where they have an extensive circle of friends. Their only child 
died in infancy. Mr. McCaskill has long been a member of the Knights of 
Pythias and in Masonry he has attained the thirty-second degree of the Scottish 
Rite. He stands six feet two inches in height, is of robust physique and has never 
been ill a day from any disease. He inherited great strength and vitality, which 
he has never lessened through the use of intoxicants. He is a man of strong 
character, of firm purpose and of high ideals. Both as a man and citizen he 
occupies an enviable position in public regard and his life work has been crowned 
with successful achievement, making him today one of the prosperous residents 
of his section of the state. 



WILLIAM B. RITCHIE. 

For almost three decades William B. Ritchie has been a resident of Port 
Angeles and the active part which he has taken in the professional, political, 
fraternal and social interests of the community ranks him with its leading and 
prominent citizens, while the course he has ever followed has won him the honor 
and high regard of all with whom he has been brought in contact. In the midst 
of an active professional career as a member of the Port Angeles bar he has 
ever found time to cooperate in those movements which have sought to make 
this a larger and a better city, in all those things which constitute civic virtue 
and civic pride. He was born in Ayrshire, Scotland, January 8, i860, a son of 
Alexander and Margaret (Nelson) Ritchie, the mother also a native of that 
country. The father was born on shipboard three days after his parents sailed 



WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 147 

from New York for Scotland, the grandfather, Alexander Ritchie, having been 
a citizen of New York state for twenty-six years. The grandmother, Mrs. 
Annie (Stewart) Ritchie, died when her son Alexander was but a few days old. 
He became a well kno'wn engineer and also operated an iron foundry and en- 
gaged in the coal business on his own account in Glasgow, Scotland, where he 
passed away in 1886 at the age of sixty-seven years. His wife also died in 
Glasgow, in March, 1906, when eighty-three years of age, and of their family of 
ten children William B. was the sixth. 

In his boyhood days William B. Ritchie was a pupil in the public schools of 
Glasgow but in young manhood, attracted by the opportunities of the new world, 
he came to the United States in 1888, making his way direct to Port Angeles. 
From 1890 until 1892 he filled the officee of deputy sheriff in Clallam county 
and, taking up the study of law, was admitted to the bar in 1896. Through the 
intervening period he has advanced steadily until he has long since left the ranks 
of the many and stands among the successful few, being recognized as one of 
the leading attorneys of Port Angeles and the northern peninsula. He was elected 
prosecuting attorney of Clallam county in 1908 and was re-elected in 1910, filling 
the ofifice most acceptably, strictest integrity actuating his every move. En- 
dowed with a strong judicial mind, ripened and broadened by deep and constant 
study, it is a natural consecjuence that he has attained more than ordinary suc- 
cess in his chosen field. 

In June, 1884, in Glasgow, Scotland, Mr. Ritchie was married to Miss Annie 
Waddington, a daughter of John and Anna (Clarke) Waddington, the former a 
native of Lancashire, England, and the latter of Scotland. Mr. and Mrs. Ritchie 
have become the parents of five children: Mrs. Elliot D. Sower, who was born 
in Glasgow and is now living in Seattle ; Alexander, who was born in Glasgow and 
is a resident of Port Angeles; William E., who was born in Port Angeles in 
October, 1888, and married Miss Ruth Dover, by whom he has two children; 
Margaret, the wife of Herbert Godfrey, a merchant of Sequim. Clallam county, 
by whom she has one child, George Ritchie Godfrey ; and Angeline M., who is a 
graduate of the Emerson College of Oratory at Boston, Massachusetts, and now 
resides with her parents. The children are all graduates of the Port Angeles 
schools. 

Fraternally Mr. Ritchie is connected with the Elks, the Knights of Pythias, 
the Fraternal Order of Eagles at Seattle and the Loyal Order of Moose. His 
political allegiance is given to the republican party and he has served as council- 
man at large in Port Angeles, while in 1908 he was elected mayor of the city. 
He belongs to the Clallam County and Washington State Bar Associations and 
to the International Society of Criminology, which indicates his deep interest 
in everything pertaining to his profession and his profound study into the causes 
of crime. A contemporary writer spoke of Mr. Ritchie as "one of the foremost 
lawyers of the Pacific northwest, with a personality that would attract more than 
passing attention anywhere. Coming here in 1888. he immediately took up the 
white man's burden of making this a real city and lending his best endeavors 
toward the further development of the rich resources of Clallam county. He was 
especially active in securing a lease for the city from the government for Ediz 
Spit, making a trip to Washington and also visiting Portland, Oregon, several 
times before the deal was finally consummated by act of congress. It is generally 



148 WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 

conceded that it was largely due to the efforts of Mr. Ritchie that Port Angeles 
has this valuable asset. He has been identified with all commercial organizations c 
for the upbuilding of his city, his county and the Olympic peninsula, serving as 
officer and director and giving freely of his time and money for this purpose." 
So valuable has been his work in those connections that he is accorded rank 
with the most honored and valued residents of his community, recognized as a- 
man whose admirable purpose and strong character have largely dominated the 
progressive interests of his section of the state. ' 



JOHN R. KINNEAR. 



From the time of his arrival in Seattle in 1883 until his death on the 31st of 
March, 19 12, John R. Kinnear was closely associated with events that shaped the 
history of city and state. He aided in framing the organic law of Washington 
and in shaping its legislation both during the territorial period and after state- 
hood was secured. His name is thus inseparably interwoven with the annals 
of the northwest and the record of no man in public service has been more 
faultless in honor, fearless in conduct or stainless in reputation. 

A native of Indiana, John R. Kinnear was a lad of seven summers when his 
parents removed to Walnut Grove, Woodford county, Illinois, where they located 
upon a farm. The routine of farm life for John R. Kinnear was uninterrupted 
until after he had completed the district-school course, when he had the oppor- 
tunity of becoming a student in the Washington (111.) high school. Still later 
he attended Eureka College and when he had completed his work there he 
entered upon a four years' classical course in Knox College at Galesburg, Illinois. 
He was a student in that institution at the time of the outbreak of the Civil war, 
when with patriotic spirit he responded to the country's call for troops, enlisting 
for three years as a private soldier. He participated in about twenty of the great 
battles of the war and some years afterward, at the request of his comrades, 
wrote and published a history of the regiment and brigade, the volume containing 
one hundred and forty pages. Mr. Kinnear proved a most brave and loyal 
soldier, never faltering in the performance of duty whether stationed upon the 
firing line or the lonely picket line. 

When the war was over and the country no longer needed his aid Mr. Kinnear 
pursued a course in the Chicago Law School and following his admission to the 
bar located for practice at Paxton, Illinois, where he remained in the active work 
of his profession for fifteen years. While there he was prosecuting attorney for 
three years and was also master in chancery for four years. In 1883 he arrived 
in Seattle and almost immediately became an active factor in molding public 
thought and action. In 1884 he was elected to the territorial legislature from 
King county upon the republican ticket, and in November, 1888, he was again 
called upon for public service, being elected a member of the council or the upper 
house of the territorial legislature. He did not take his seat in that body, how- 
ever, on account of the passage of the enabling act for the admission of the 
state. However, he was elected to the state constitutional convention from the 
twentieth district and took a most helpful part in framing the constitution. He 



WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 149 

was made chairman of the committee on corporations and he left the impress of his 
individuality in many ways upon the organic law of Washington. Mr. Kinnear 
also made a close race for the office of first governor of the state, for which he 
was supported^'by the entire twenty-five delegates from King county and received' 
one hundred and thirty votes in the republican state convention. He was a mem- 
ber of the state senate in its first and second sessions and during both served 
as chairman of the judiciary committee. It would be impossible to estimate the 
value of his public service but all who know aught of the history of Washington 

^recognize its worth and feel that he was among those who laid broad and deep 
the foundation upon which has been builded the superstructure of a great com- 
monwealth. He was married at Bloomington, Illinois, June 2, 1868, to Miss 

^Rebecea Means, of Bloomington, and they became parents of two children, Ritchey 
M.v&nd Leta, both of Seattle. The mother died May 10, 1913. 

Ritchey M. Kifmear, a resident of Seattle, was born at Paxton, Ford county, 
Illinois, January 18, 1870. He attended the public schools to the age of thirteen 
and then came to Seattle with his parents, where he became a student in the 
Territorial University, now the University of Washington. In 1890 he matricu- 
lated in the Northwestern University at Evanston, Illinois, where he studied for 
two years and then returned to Seattle. Here he engaged in the real-estate 
business with his brother-in-law, A. L. Brown, under the style of the Kinnear & 
Brown Company, and when a change in the personnel of the firm occurred the 
name was changed to the Kinnear & Paul Company. They are well known real- 
estate dealers, conducting an extensive business and having a gratifying clientage. 
Mr. Kinnear, like his father, has figured prominently in public connections, having 
represented his district, in the state senate from 1902 until 1904. He was married 
in 1893 to Miss Brownie Brown, a daughter of Amos Brown, a sketch of whom 
appears elsewhere in this work. Mr. and Mrs. Kinnear have a son, John Amos. 



EVERETT B. DEMING. 

No particularly advantageous circumstances attended the initial step of 
Everett B. Deming in his business career. In fact, his start was a most humble 
one and his salary a mere pittance. He was at that time a lad of fourteen. The 
intervening years, however, have chronicled his steady advancement and each 
initial step has brought him a broader outlook and wider opportunities until, at 
the head of the Pacific American Fisheries Company, he conducts not only one 
of the most important productive interests of Bellingham but also one of the 
largest enterprises of the kind on the Pacific coast. 

Mr. Deming was born in St. Touis, Missouri, in September, i860, a son of 
Charles Deming, and after attending the public and high schools to the age of 
fourteen years he began work on a bench in a horse collar factory, where he 
remained for three years, at the end of which time he was receiving ten dollars 
per week. Fle afterward accepted the position of bill clerk in a wholesale gro- 
cery house, where he spent three years, and then turned his attention to the 
merchandise brokerage business in connection with the Deming & Gould Com- 
pany, of which his brother, F. L. Deming, was the president. He afterward 



150 WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 

became vice president of that company, which in 1893 removed its headquar- 
ters to Chicago but still retained a house in St. Louis. F. L. Deming passed 
away in 191 5 and was succeeded in the presidency by Everett B. Deming, who 
left the middle west, however, in 1899 and came to the coast, settling at Fair- 
haven, now Bellingham, where he took over the management of the Pacific 
American Fisheries Company, which was owned by a Chicago syndicate in 
which the firm of Deming & Gould was interested. In 1901 the Pacific Amer- 
ican Fisheries Company sold out to the Pacific Packing & Navigation Company, 
a New York syndicate, but Everett B. Deming continued to visit Bellingham in 
the interests of the Deming & Gould Company for the purpose of purchasing 
canned salmon for their brokerage business in Chicago. In 1903 the Pacific 
Packing & Navigation Company went into the hands of a receiver, who con- 
tinued the business until 1904, when a number of Chicago men took over the 
business, including Everett B. Deming, S. C. Scotten, H. B. Steel, John F. 
Harris, George B. Harris and John Cudahy. Of the newly organized company 
John F. Harris became president and Everett B. Deming vice president and 
general manager. In January, 1907, the latter was elected president and man- 
ager and he also retained the presidency of the Deming & Gould Company, of 
Chicago, which handled the entire output of the Pacific American Fisheries 
Company and also the output of several other large salmon canneries. The 
Deming & Gould Company also has interests in several large fruit canneries in 
California and the largest pineapple csLunery in Honolulu. 

The Pacific American Fisheries Company has its largest plant in Belling- 
ham, this having a capacity for canning a half million cans of salmon per day. 
They also own a salmon cannery at Ahacortes, Washington, which has a capac- 
ity of two hundred and fifty thousand cans per day. In 1905 they added a can 
manufacturing plant in connection with their Bellingham cannery which turns 
out ninety million cans in one year, and they have also added a box making 
plant which turns out two million boxes in a season. Since 1905 they have 
erected six salmon canneries in Alaska and are building another at the present 
writing. They have also acquired steamships, tugs and floating equipment which 
represents an investment of two million dollars. During their season they em- 
ploy two thousand people. This company owns Eliza island, which is located 
on Puget Sound and in Whatcom county and comprises one hundred and sixty 
acres of land. This island is utilized for their shipyards and net fields. They 
build their own tugs and manufacture their own steam engines in their large 
machine shops. They have recently completed arrangements whereby they will 
build during 1916 two steamers at a cost of approximately two hundred thou- 
sand dollars each. They will be wooden vessels two hundred and twenty-five 
feet long with a beam of forty-two feet and of two thotisand tons register each 
and will have capacity of fifty thousand cases of canned salmon. They will also 
have passenger accommodations for seventy-five first class passengers and a 
large number of steerage passengers and each ship will be manned by about 
forty men and officers. They will be oil driven and their twin screws will be 
propelled by one thousand horse power steam engines. The keels will be laid 
down together and it is expected that more than one hundred and fifty men will 
be utilized in their building. Both will be placed in the northern service and 
next to the steamer Windber will be the largest in the Pacific American Fish- 



WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 151 

eries' fleet and with few exceptions will be the largest vessels with Bellingham 
as a home port. During the last few years the company has added greatly to 
its fleet and has today one of the largest on the Sound and the largest of any 
independent canning company in the world. There are thirty-five vessels ranging 
in size from the baby five horse power gas tenders to the steamer Windber of 
thirty-two hundred tons. They have recently purchased another steamer, the 
Norwood, of eleven hundred tons net. Thus is indicated something of the vol- 
ume of the business which has been built up by the Pacific American Fisheries 
Company largely under the management of Everett B. Deming, who, studying 
conditions and recognizing opportunities, has utilized the chances which have 
been his and thereby has developed an industry which is not only a source of 
wealth to the stockholders but also one of the elements of commercial growth in 
Bellingham. 

In Galena, Illinois, "Sir. Deming was married to Miss Caroline Spratt in 
November, 1884, and they have one child, Stewart A., twenty-six years of age, 
who is representing the Deming & Gould Company of Chicago in Bellingham. 

Fraternally Mr. Deming is a IMason and he is well known in club circles in 
various sections of the country, being a member of the Bellingham Country 
Club, the Chicago Athletic Club, the Rainier Club of Seattle, the Seattle Coun- 
try and Gold Club, the Los Angeles Country Club and the Los Angeles Athletic 
Club. His political endorsement is given to the republican party. His life has 
been characterized by an orderly progression that has resulted from untiring 
efifort, indefatigable energy and close application. In all of his business afifairs 
he seems to readily discriminate between the essential and the nonessential and, 
discarding the latter, so utilizes the former that he seems to accomplish at any 
point of his career the utmost possibilities for successful accomplishment at that 
point. 



FRANK H. LAMB. 



Frank H. Lamb, promoter and organizer of the Lamb Machine Company and 
president of the Wynoochee Timber Company, is classed with those energetic, 
farsighted business men who are developing the Grays Harbor district and making 
it a great commercial center with ramifying business interests reaching out over 
a broad territory. The width of the continent separates him from his birthplace 
and to the opportunities of the west he brought the spirit of eastern enterprise 
and training. He was born near Trenton, New Jersey, in 1875 ^"^ "PO" coming 
to the Pacific coast attended the Leland Stanford University at Palo Alto, Cali- 
fornia. He came to Hoquiam in 1898 and first engaged in the timber business, 
becoming one of the organizers, in 1900, of the Frank H. Lamb Timber Company, 
which operated a logging business on the Wynoochee river until February ir. 
1916, when it was absorbed by the Wynoochee Timber Company, of which 
Mr. Lamb is the president, with Gus Carlson as the vice president and A. W. 
Callow, secretary. This company is now building a railroad and equipping a 
modern lumber camp and they employ between three and four hundred men. 
After successfully operating for some time in the timber business Mr. Lamb 
organized the Lamb Machine Company, which was formed in August, 1912, and 



152 WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 

of which he was chosen president, wdiile M. H. McLean was elected secretary and 
W. R. Marvin, manager. They built a shop which is completely equipped and 
they carry a full line of logging supplies, machinery and parts and also do repair 
work of all kinds. The company has built up an extensive business in this line, 
owing largely to the unfaltering enterprises and indefatigable energy of the 
president, who, bending his efforts to administrative direction and executive 
control, has brought a substantial measure of success to the undertaking. 

Business, however, constitutes but one phase of Mr. Lamb's activity. He is 
one of the public-spirited men of Hoquiam and since January, 191 5, has been 
president of the Hoquiam Commercial Club, in which connection he has instituted 
many plans and projects for the upbuilding and improvement of the city, plans 
which are already productive of practical and substantial results. Moreover, 
he is a leading representative of the Benevolent Protective Order of Elks at 
Hoquiam and was the first exalted ruler of the local lodge and the prime mover 
in the building of the Elks' Home, serving at the time as chairman of the building 
committee. His political allegiance is given to the republican party and his 
position upon any vital question is never an equivocal one, bvit he does not seek 
the honors and emoluments of office. 

Mr. Lamb was married in California, in 1900, to Miss Alice E. Emerson, a 
daughter of George H. Emerson, mentioned elsewhere in this work, and they 
have four children, George, Clara, Florence and Alice. The family occupy an 
attractive home, which was built in 1910, and ]\Ir. and ]\Irs. Lamb hold an 
enviable position in the social circles of Hoquiam. His activity has been a 
resultant force along commercial, industrial, fraternal and civic lines and those 
who know aught of his history feel that Hoquiam owes much to his intelligently 
directed efforts. 



H. N. ANDERSON. 



On the list of honored dead of Aberdeen appears the name of H. N. Ander- 
son, who was closely associated with the development and upbuilding of the 
city for many years, his efforts being of far-reaching effect and importance. 
He was born in Altoona, Pennsylvania, in 1838 and there spent the days of his 
boyhood and youth, pursuing his education in the public schools. In early 
manhood he was married there to Miss Sarah W. Counsman, of Altoona, who 
passed away prior to the death of her husband. In 1878 they left the Keystone 
state and removed to Michigan, w'here Mr. Anderson engaged in the lumber 
business until 1898, when he removed from Greenville, Michigan, to Aberdeen. 
Broad practical experience had made him thoroughly acquainted with every 
phase of the lumber trade and upon his arrival in the northwest he purchased 
the T- M. Weatherwax lumber mill and organized the Anderson & Middleton 
Lumber Company, of which he continued the president until his death in No- 
vember, 1906, with A. W. Middleton as the vice president and S. M. Anderson 
secretary and treasurer. They made improvements in the mill, installing mod- 
em machinery and increasing its capacity. They manufacture lumber and lath 




H. N. ANDERSON 



THE NEW YORK 
PUBLIC UBRARY 



ASTOR, LENOX 
TILDEN FOUNDATION 



WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 155 

from fir and spruce timber and the mill is still in operation, giving employment 
to one hundred and fifty people, while its capacity is one hundred and seventy- 
five thousand feet. The. equipment is now thoroughly modern and includes fine 
concrete dry kilns. The company also operates its own logging camps near 
Oakville, Washington, and is now opening a new camp on the railroad of the 
Oregon Railway & Navigation Company near North river. The company does 
its own rafting and employs about one hundred and fifty fnen in the lumber 
camps. Since the death of Mr. Anderson the business has been continued under 
the same name, with A. W. Middleton as president, S. M. Anderson vice pres- 
ident, H. N. Anderson, Jr., treasurer, and G. E. Anderson secretary and assistant 
manager. Aside from his interests here Mr. Anderson was president of the 
Southern Humboldt Lumber Company at Andersonia, California, where they 
built a mill thoroughly equipped according to most modern methods and engaged 
in the manufacture of redwood timber. Mr. Anderson was also president of 
the Washington Portland Cement Company at Concrete, Washington, of which 
he was one of the organizers. 

In his political views Air. Anderson was a republican and always gave loyal 
support to the principles in which he believed but he had no desire nor ambition 
to hold office, preferring to concentrate his energies upon his business affairs, 
which he gradually developed to large and satisfying proportions. He found 
keen delight in mastering business problems and working out the solution for 
any intricate question which arose in connection with the lumber industry. 
Many evidences of his public spirit might be cited and Aberdeen numbers him 
with those who have been foremost in the upbuilding of the city. 

To Air. and Airs. Anderson were born three sons and six daughters, the 
latter being as follows: Ida B., the wife of Lemuel Elway; Carrie M., who 
gave her hand in marriage to Dr. A. S. Austin ; Martha C, the wife of A. W. 
Middleton; Alanola S.. who is Mrs. E. C. Aliller; Daisy M., who is the wife 
of A. J. Kingsley, of Portland ; and Lula G. Samuel AI., the oldest son of Air. 
and Airs. Anderson, is vice president of the Anderson-Middleton Company and 
also president of the Bay City Lumber Company of Aberdeen. He wedded 
Miss Louise Bancroft and has three sons : Harold B., Samuel M., Jr., and 
Reginald. H. N. Anderson, Jr., the second son, is treasurer of the Anderson- 
Aliddleton Company and also manager of the Anderson-Middleton Timber 
Company, which is the logging part of the business. He married Miss Ida B. 
Middleton, by whom he had three children, namely : Middleton and Jack, who 
are deceased ; and Priscilla, who is with her parents in Seattle. 

G. E. Anderson, secretary and assistant manager of the Anderson & Mid- 
dleton Lumber Company, was born in Pennsylvania in 1874 and following the 
removal of the family to Alichigan in his boyhood days he obtained his education 
in the common schools. He is a son of H. N. and Sarah W. (Counsman) An- 
derson and in his youthful days he acquainted himself with the lumber trade 
under the direction of his father, long a prominent lumberman of Alichigan 
and of Washington. The occupation to which he was reared he has continued to 
follow as a life work and with the reorganization of the business, following the 
death of his father, he became secretary and assistant manager, in which con- 
nection he still continues. This is a close corporation, the stock being all owned 
by members of the family. The company not only manufactures lumber at 



156 WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 

Aberdeen but also has its own logging camp and the number of its employes 
totals three hundred and twenty-five or more. 

In 1896 Mr. Anderson was united in marriage to Miss Nellie A. Green, of 
Michigan, by whom he has five children, namely: Henry 'N., George Edgar, 
Emmett D., Donald C. and Martha Jeannette. Mr. Anderson is prominent in 
Masonic circles, having attained the thirty-second degree of the Scottish Rite, 
and he is also identified with the Benevolent Protective Order of Elks. He has 
followed in his father's political as well as business footsteps, becoming a stal- 
wart republican, for his mature judgment sanctions the course of the party and 
its purposes and policy. No public movement for the benefit of his city, county 
or state seeks his aid in vain ; on the contrary, he is quick to respond to any 
call and manifests the progressive spirit which has been the dominant factor in 
the substantial and rapid upbuilding of this section of the country. 



HON. W. H. PAULHAMUS. 

The Hon. W. H. Paulhamus is the proprietor of Maplelawn Farm, one of 
the valuable farm properties that has demonstrated the fertility and productive- 
ness of the Puyallup valley. His work is an expression of the most scientific 
methods of raising fruits and he is also most successfully engaged in dairy- 
ing. His business, however, constitutes but one phase of his activity for he 
has been prominently connected with the history of the state in shaping its leg- 
islative course and his value as a citizen is widely acknowledged. 

Mr. Paulhamus came to Washington from the east, his birth having occurred 
at Altoona, Pennsylvania, in 1865. In childhood he accompanied his parents 
on their removal to Sharon, Pennsylvania, and was a lad of twelve years when 
the family was established in Youngstown, Ohio. He is indebted to the public 
school system for the educational opportunities which prepared him for life's 
practical and responsible work. He was a young man of eighteen when he left 
home and started out to try his fortune in the west. He first located in Aber- 
deen, South Dakota, where he secured a clerical position in the banking house 
of Hagerty & Marple with which he was connected for six years, his ability, 
honesty and fidelity winning him promotion from time to time. Leaving South 
Dakota he came to Washington in 1890, then a young man of twenty-four years, 
and has since been closely associated with the business interests and develop- 
ment of the Puyallup valley. He was employed as cashier of the Sumner Bank 
but after three years resigned to enter the sheriff's ofifice. In 1896 he estab- 
lished a real estate and loan business in Tacoma and during the following year 
was connected with the legal department of the Northern Pacific Railroad Com- 
pany. In 1898 he became the owner of Maplelawn Farm and took up the work 
of mastering not only the practical but also the scientific phase of farming. His 
success is visibly expressed in his commodious and attractive home, which is 
surrounded by a well kept lawn ; in his large and sanitary barn and outbuild- 
ings ; and in his well kept orchards and fields. He is extensively engaged in 
raising berries and his business experience was such that he realized no per- 
manent success could be obtained in growing and marketing them without thor- 



WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 157 

ough organization among those so engaged and in 1902, therefore, he was active 
in organizing the Fruit Growers' Association at Sumner, of which he was 
chosen first vice president. Largely through his instrumentality this organiza- 
tion was consolidated with a similar one at Puyallup in the same year under the 
name of the Puyallup & Sumner Fruit Growers' Association of which Mr. 
Paulhamus has been the president for a number of years. While the organiza- 
tion met with difficulties and passed through a period of early struggle its growth 
and success in later years have been remarkable. 

As previously stated, when Mr. Paulhamus became owner of Maplelawn 
Farm he determined to know everything that is to be known about farming and 
the reason why. In other words he resolved to master the business in all of its 
scientific phases and to bring his place of sixty-five acres to the highest state 
of cultivation possible. He studied the use of fertilizers and today uses every 
kind which he has proven will increase the productiveness of his land. Some- 
thing of the result that came is shown in the fact that in 1910 on a trifle less 
than an acre and a quarter of land there were more than eleven hundred and 
eighty-four crates of raspberries, amounting to twenty-one thousand eight hun- 
dred and sixty-four pounds and a net income of nine hundred dollars. He has 
today five acres in rhubarb ; five acres in asparagus ; ten acres in orchards and 
the remainder of his land has been divided into building sites. Maplelawn is 
the largest producer of blackberries and raspberries of any farm in the Puyal- 
lup valley and the yield per acre is equal to the maximum. 

Horticulture, however, is but one branch of his farming for he is also exten- 
sively and successfully engaged in the dairy business, having one of the finest 
herds of pure blooded Jerseys — fifty in number — to be found in western Wash- 
ington. The milk is bottled on the farm and is sold as certified milk in Seattle 
and Tacoma at fifteen cents per quart. His dairy plant also handles about five 
hundred gallons of milk purchased from other dairymen of the valley and which 
is also bottled and shipped under ice to the two cities where it is sold with a 
guarantee of purity. He makes an annual test for tuberculosis with every cow 
whose milk is used in his dairy. He raises pigs, chickens, turkeys and guineas. 
Throughout the entire year Mr. Paulhamus employs ten men on his farm and 
through the berry season one hundred additional persons are required to handle 
the crop. Comfortable houses are furnished the berry pickers so that a man 
may have his family near him during that period. The buildings on the farm 
are modern and splendidly equipped. Water is piped and the most sanitary 
conditions are found in the stables and barns, in fact, there is no equipment of 
the modern farm that is not found on his place. • One of the strongest elements 
is the close study that he has given to every phase of his work. After organ- 
izing the fruit growers of the district he was active in taking the next forward 
step towards making the berry industry a profitable one. He realized thai 
railroad rates must be lowered and better shipping facilities secured. At that 
time but one railroad entered the Puyallup valley and the railroad officials were 
hard to reason with so that the proposition was made at length a political one 
and in 1903 the public demanded the creation of a railroad commission, the duty 
of which would be to investigate the complaints of the shippers and to compel 
the various railroads within the state to be public service institutions in deed as 
well as in name. The paramount issue of the campaign of 1904 was the rail- 



158 WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 

road commission and a railway commission law was placed upon the statute 
books of the state in 1905. So active was Mr. Paulhamus in the movement that 
his fellow citizens felt that he should represent them in legislative matters and 
in 1906 he was elected to the state senate. Then began active work for the 
accomplishment of the purpose for which the railway commission was created. 
He felt that this purpose was not being accomplished and his first act after 
becoming senator was to demand the resignation of John S. McMillan, the 
chairman of the railway commission, who, he claimed, was not in sympathy 
with the fundamental objects of the commission and was not giving the duties 
of his office sincere thought or attention. His attitude resulted in Mr. ]\IcMil- 
lan's resignation and largely upon the recommendation of Senator Paulhamus, 
Governor Mead appointed Jesse Jones to the position, with the result that the 
railway commission began doing the work for w^hich it was created, its growth 
making it an institution of great value to the district. Senator Paulhamus was 
also connected with much other important work accomplished during that ses- 
sion. He became the recognized leader and helped in the organization of the 
famous 'Tnsurgent" group, whose purpose was to wrest the control of the 
senate from the corporations. A direct primary' law was also passed during 
that session and various other laws of a popular and constructive character. A 
contemporary writer, speaking of his further activities says : "Two years later, 
in the session of 1907, Senator Paulhamus was again on the firing line. It w-as 
he who formulated the charges of impeachment against Secretary of State Sam 
H. Nichols and State Insurance Commissioner J. H. Schively, and who led the 
fight and made the celebrated speech that revealed to the state at large the 
manifold malfeasances and delinquencies of those two public officials. Nichols 
resigned at once, and the vote for the impeachment of Schively stood twenty- 
seven ayes and thirteen noes, twenty-eight votes or two-thirds of the senate — 
being necessary to "carry the resolution. This also w-as the session in which the 
fight came up for local option and for a law abolishing racehorse gambling 
— both of which carried and on both of which questions Senator Paulhamus 
was aligned with the moral forces." Never for a moment has Senator Paul- 
hamus ceased his activity on behalf of the public interest. He was largely in- 
strumental in organizing the \^alley Fair and has been a prime mover in advo- 
cating its growth and making it an institution of great value and worth to the 
district. That he has been actuated by a most sincere motive of public service 
in this connection is indicated in the fact that although he has been each year 
a high official of the Fair Association and for years has been its president, he 
has never received one dollar of salary, but on the contrary has expended many 
hundreds of dollars of his own for the benefit of the association. 

In 1890 Senator Paulhamus was married in Detroit. jMichigan, to Miss 
Alice Noyes Johnson who, like her husband, is most popular among their many 
friends for she possesses a most admirable character, winning the love and 
esteem of all. In the Paulhamus family are two sons and two daughters. 
Alice, who attended the State College of Science at Pullman, Washington, and 
also the State University at Seattle is now the wife of a Mr. Tebb of Hoquiam, 
AVashington. Clay is a graduate of the high school at Sumner and is manager 
of the home farm. Carolyn and Dwight are at home. 

As one would naturally expect the Paulhamus home is one of the most 



WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 159 

warm-hearted and hospitable. An excellent characterization of the Senator is 
contained in the following: "Senator Paulhamus is a man of vigorous intel- 
lect and strong personality. That he is a man also of remarkable energy and 
force of character is fully attested by the foregoing recital of the various posi- 
tions he has filled with distinguished credit to himself and with satisfaction to 
the public. Keen and active of mind, he observes with unusual sagacity, plans 
with careful forethought and executes with vigor and with regard to every 
detail. These qualities are characteristic of him. both in business and in the 
arena of politics. A man of less pertinacity and continuity of purpose could not 
have achieved the many successes that have accompanied his career. His most 
uncharitable critic will not contend that Senator Paulhamus has ever lost an 
advantage by failure to fight for it. Moreover, his convictions are as strong as 
his tenacity is boundless ; coupled with wdiich is a resourcefulness which enables 
him to bear a leading part in any movement or discussion. He has become of 
late years a very facile speaker, particularly on subjects pertaining to agriculture, 
horticulture, dairying and fruit marketing. He meets requests' for addresses 
from every part of the state. Nor does he ever fail to illumine the subject on 
which he talks. His incisive, lucid arguments and his forceful manner of 
expression always enchain the attention of his auditors." 



HARRY B. PAIGE. 



Harry B. Paige, who on the ist of March, 1912, became one of the large 
stockholders and the president of the Northwestern National Bank at Belling- 
ham, was born at Hardwick, Massachusetts, April 6, 1876, a son of Timothy 
and Ellen Paige. The father was also a native of Hardwick, born July 16, 185 1, 
and for twenty years he acceptably filled the position of town clerk there, was 
also county assessor for twenty-one years and library trustee for fifteen years. 
He has also held other than local offices, for he was chosen to represent his dis- 
trict in the state legislature in 1900-1. He is financially interested in the North- 
western National Bank of Bellingham, of which he is the vice president, but has 
retired from active business management and is now enjoying well earned rest 
in his native town. 

At the usual age Harry B. Paige entered the public schools of Hardwick, 
passing through consecutive grades until graduated from the high school when 
eighteen years of age. He afterward entered the Worcester Polytechnic Insti- 
tute, where he completed a course in civil engineering as a member of the class 
of 1898. Going to Proctor, Vermont, he there engaged as general utility man 
with the \'ermont Marble Company until February, 1899, when he became sur- 
veyor for the Rutland Railroad on its line across Lake Champlain. He resigned 
that position in May, 1899, to become a member of the United States geological 
survey, covering the states of New York, Pennsylvania and Ohio, acting in 
that capacity until November, 1901. when he became connected with a Mr. 
Moore, a capitalist, in laying out the streets and tracts on Capitol Hill, Seattle, 
which work occupied his attention until February, 1902. He then removed to 
Bellingham and entered upon survey work for the Bellingham Bay & British 



160 WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 

Columbia Railroad, so continuing until November, 1902, when he entered the 
head office in Bellingham as assistant to J. J. Donovan, general superintendent. 
Upon Mr. Donovan's resignation in April, 1906, Mr. Paige became his successor 
and so continued until June i, 1910. Since May, 191 1, he has been connected 
with the banking business, for at that date he became assistant cashier of the 
Northwestern National Bank, of which he had previously been a stockholder. 
On the 2d of March, 191 2. he was elected president. The bank had been organ- 
ized in March, 1908, by L J. Adair, C. X. Larabee, E. B. Demming, Cyrus Gates, 
H. B. Paige, Olaf Unness, J. L. Easton, F. P. Ofiferman and C. K. McMillin. 
1. J. Adair became the president, with C. X. Larabee as vice president and C. 
K. Mc]\Iillin cashier. That organization continued until March i, 1912, when 
Timothy Paige and his son, H. B. Paige, bought out the bank, the latter becom- 
ing the president and the former first vice president, with C. K. McMillin as 
second vice president and cashier. In addition to the officers the board of 
directors is as follows, F. P. Ofiferman, Dr. S. H. Johnson and Edwin Lopas. 
The capital stock of the bank is one hundred thousand dollars, the surplus and 
undivided profits twenty-three thousand dollars and the deposits one million 
sixty thousand dollars. Under the present management the bank has enjoyed 
a period of profitable existence and the business is steadily growing. 

On the 6th of October, 1910, Mr. Paige was married in Seattle to Mrs. 
Maybelle (Waldrip) Kallock, the widow of H. Kallock. Mr. and Mrs. Paige 
have two children: Calvin, born July 18, 191 1; and Sarah Cynthia, born 
November 25, 191 5. 

The religious faith of the family is that of the Unitarian church and in his 
political belief Mr. Paige is a republican. Fraternally he is identified with the 
Masons and he belongs to the Bellingham Country Club. He is a man of 
scholarly attainments, with keen insight into business situations, and his well 
defined plans and purposes combined with his thorough understanding of the 
specific business in which he is engaged have been the salient factors in bring- 
ing him to a place in the foremost ranks of Bellingham's successful business 
men and financiers. 



JAMES GLANCEY. 



James Glancey, president of the firm of Strubel & Glancey, dealers in groceries, 
meats, hardware, hay and feed, was born June 30, 1863, in Ontario, Canada, and 
after attending the common schools there to the age of twenty-four years became 
a resident of North Dakota in 1887. In the latter state he turned his attention 
to farming but in 1888 removed to the territory of Washington, settling in Mason 
county. He spent five years logging in the woods, after which he removed to 
Elma and purchased a third interest in the Strubel Brothers grocery and meat 
store, which was then a small concern. In 1895 he and J. W. Strubel bought 
out the interest of the third partner and incorporated the business with Mr. 
Glancey as president, Mr. Strubel as secretary-treasurer and H. R. Grayson as 
vice president. The last named is also manager of a branch store owned by the 
company at McCleary, Washington. The firm also owns a large stock ranch which 



WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 161 

furnishes their meat supply. The business has grown from a small beginning to 
an enterprise of extensive proportions, the annual sales amounting to two hundred 
thousand dollars. They still occupy their original location but the building has 
been increased to accommodate their extensive stock. While a most potent force 
in the development and upbuilding of this undertaking, Mr. Glancey has also 
extended his efforts into other fields, being vice president of the Farmers' & 
Lumbermen's Bank of Elma. He is also the president of the Grays Harbor 
County Fair and was one of its first stockholders upon its organization in 1910. 
He was chosen president at a time when the association was badly in debt and 
it seemed that the fair would have to be discontinued. He assumed control, intro- 
duced the careful business methods which have ever guided his individual interests 
and has made the undertaking one of the most successful in the state, the Grays 
Harbor County Fair enjoying a wide recognition for the excellence of its displays 
and its success. 

In 1894 Mr. Glancey was united in marriage to Miss Ella Murray, a native 
of New York, who in her early girlhood accompanied her parents to Elma. Mr. 
and Mrs. Glancey have three daughters ; Frances, a teacher in the schools of 
Elma; Marie and Anna, who are attending an academy in Seattle. The closest 
companionship exists between father and daughters, who maintains the position 
not only of parent but of friend and confidant, being a most home-loving man 
whose interest centers in his family. The daughters all possess musical talent 
which has been highly cultivated. The family are adherents of the Catholic faith 
and Mr. Glancey holds membership with the Knights of Columbus and the Wood- 
men of the World. He has also been president of the Commercial Club of Elma 
and is regarded as one of the town's most substantial citizens. His political sup- 
port is given to the democratic party and for ten years he has been a member 
of the city council, in which connection he has exercised his official prerogatives 
in support of many valuable plans and measures resulting in the public good. 



JAMES P. CAITHNESS. 

James P. Caithness, long identified with the lumber industry of the northwest, 
has for many years engaged in timber cruising and dealing in timber lands and in 
this field of business has been very successful, winning a place among Everett's 
most substantial citizens. He was born in Kirkwell, Scotland, on the 23d of June. 
1848, a son of Robert and Jane (Pease) Caithness, who were also natives of 
Scotland. On removing to Canada they settled at Belleville in 1856 and for over 
thirty years the father was captain of vessels, following a seafaring life for more 
than four decades. He began sailing when a boy and during his long experience 
visited almost every port of the world. His school privileges were limited but he 
became a highly educated man through broad reading, study and experience, 
possessing an observing eye and retentive memory. After residing in Canada 
for about ten years he removed with his family to Michigan and there conducted 
a fruit farm, living in comparative ease and comfort to the time of his death, which 
occurred in 1870, while his wife passed away two years later. 

James P. Caithness, who was the sixth in a family of seven children, five 



162 WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 

daughters and two sons, was educated in the pubHc schools of Canada and spent 
his early life to the age of seventeen years upon the home farm. After leaving 
the farm he entered the lumber woods of Michigan, it being his purpose to 
thoroughly acquaint himself with the business in every detail. He began cutting 
logs by contract, learned the business of scaling and tallying and constantly 
worked his way upward, serving in all branches of the business until he had 
attained the responsible position of superintendent with the A. A. Bigelow Com- 
pany of Chicago, in which capacity he continued for nine years. .In March, 1892, 
he came to Washington, settling at Everett, where he built and operated the first 
shingle mill. In recent years he has followed cruising and dealing in timber 
lands and in this has been quite successful. He has had wide experience as a 
cruiser and is said to be one of the most proficient in the business. His holdings 
in timber lands are now extensive and he is also the owner of much real estate 
in Everett. 

In 1882, at Saugatuck, Michigan, Mr. Caithness was united in marriage to 
Miss May Falconer, a native of Ontario, Canada, a daughter of Thomas and Jane 
(Spears) Falconer and a sister of Congressman J. A. Falconer of this state. 
Mr. and Mrs. Caithness have a daughter and a son. Jennie F., born in Saugatuck, 
Michigan, is a graduate of the University of Washington and of the Chicago 
Musical College and now teaches Spanish in the high school. Chester J., a grad- 
uate of the University of Washington at Seattle, is now engaged in the insurance 
business in Washington, D. C. 

The family attend the Congregational church, in which Mr. Caithness holds 
membership. His political allegiance was given the republican party until the 
progressive party was organized, when he joined its ranks. He has always been 
interested in vital political problems, recognizing the duties and obligations as 
well as the privileges of citizenship, and he has ever stood for that which is 
most worth while in the welfare of the community. Those who know him esteem 
him highly and his worth as a business man and citizen is widely acknowledged. 
He well deserves the proud American title of self-made man, for. the success which 
he enjoys is attributable entirely to his own efiforts and perseverance. 



PAUL SMITS, M. D. 



A feeling of widespread amazement and bereavement swept over i\berdeen at 
the news of the sudden demise of Dr. Paul Smits on the 24th of August, 191 5. 
He was endeared to his fellow citizens as a man of high personal worth as well 
as a physician of marked ability and he gave his life a sacrifice to the strenuous 
demands of his profession just as surely as the soldier becomes a victim on the 
field of battle. He realized, as did his professional colleagues, that he was stead- 
ily drawing upon his strength and yet there seemed no time when he could lay 
down the burden because of his great humanitarian spirit, which prompted him 
at all times to reach out a helping hand to his fellowmen, and thus death claimed 
its victim when he was but forty-five years of age. 

There is much that is beautiful and much that is inspiring in the life record of 
Dr. Smits. He was a native of Dubuque, Iowa, and removed to the northwest in 




DR. PAUL SMITS 



THE NEW roRK 
^^^UC LIBRARY, 

ASTOR, LENOX 
J^DEN FOUNDATION 



WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 165 

his boyhood days. He worked at anything he could get to do to make a Uving, 
attended the public schools and finally he completed a high school course at 
Seattle by graduation. He then entered upon the study of medicine and surgery 
in the University of Michigan at Ann Arbor and Aberdeen became the first field of 
his active professional labor. He removed to this city and here he not only 
engaged in the general practice of medicine bvit also founded the Aberdeen General 
Hospital in December, 1900. This institution proved of great value to the com- 
munity as it was maintained according to the highest professional standards. His 
ability and energy won him a place in the front rank of the medical practitioners 
and he was constantly broadening his efficiency by further study, research and 
investigation. He was induced to come to Aberdeen by his devoted friend, Dr 
J. H. Dumon, of Centralia, who was a member of the state board of medical exami- 
ners for seven years and who said that Dr. Smits received the highest percentage 
mark of any physician having taken the examination up to that time, passing one 
hundred per cent in all but one subject and being almost perfect in that one. He 
was therefore recognized by all the members of the board as one of the most 
promising men in the profession. From the beginning of his residence in Aberdeen 
he carried in mind the thought of building a hospital and a few years later saw 
the beginning of the fulfillment of his plans, for his practice had become extensive 
and brought to him the financial basis for his hospital work. He was ever ready 
to respond to a professional call night or day and he traveled and worked under 
high pressure, going to the lumber camps when other physicians would not, until 
a severe illness gave him warning that he must cease from such strenuous labor. 
He made the attempt and that he might have some time for rest and pleasure 
he built a fine home at Glen Grayland, on the South Beach, a few miles from 
Cohassett, a beautiful and most attractive place, overlooking the ocean. The 
demands for his professional services, however, were so insistent that he could 
get away from professional duties only at rare intervals and so it continued until 
the end. As a surgeon he displayed great skill and was spoken of by Dr. Dumon 
in this connection as "the essence of power." Dr. Smits acquired his financial suc- 
cess in Aberdeen and invested his money in the state and Washington had no 
more loyal citizen than he. 

In 1904 Dr. Smits was united in marriage to Miss Mary McKinlay, of Aber- 
deen, and they became the parents of a son.. Paul, born in May, 1914. Mrs. Smits 
was a trained nurse and was her husband's assistant in his surgery cases. 

Attempting to rest somewhat from his labors, Dr. Smits in the early part of 
August, 191 5, went to Oregon for a ten days' vacation, accompanied by his two 
brothers and a friend, and only the day of his death had returned to Aberdeen when 
he was stricken with hemorrhage of the brain and ])assed away at the hospital 
which he had founded. He was a man who numbered his friends by the hundred 
and cemented them to him in the strongest way by reason of his splendid char- 
acteristics and his kindly spirit. The energy and activity which he manifested in 
his professional life were also displayed in his recreation. He hunted and fished in 
the same intense manner. He loved the great outdoors and was ever happy in 
the study of fish, fowl and bird life and also the habits of other animals found 
in the district. Around Glen Grayland he had many kinds of tame birds and 
fowls and there were beautiful Indian curios and mounted skins and heads in his 
home. He had gathered together a beautiful natural history collection and his 

Vol. n— 9 



166 WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 

magnificent collection of Indian relics was awarded the prize at the Seattle fair. 
He took a great deal of pride and pleasure in his home at the beach and the 
group of buildings upon the place are very attractive in themselves and, moreover, 
are surrounded by flowers in abundance. The main building is constructed of 
logs and has a living room thirty-six by forty feet and there are also a number of 
cottages well provided with guest rooms. His life had much of pleasure in it 
because of the breadth of his interests and the scope of his wisdom and he ever 
realized that the keenest joy comes from intellectual stimulus and activity. His 
word was never impeached, he held friendship inviolable and it seemed that there 
was no phase of upright and honorable manhood and citizenship that did not find 
expression in his career. His physique matched his greatness of mind and spirit, 
for he was six feet in height and well proportioned. Mrs. Smits and her son made 
their home at the residence at the beach until 191)7, when they removed to Aber- 
deen. 



JUDGE FRANK ALLYN. 

Washington has always been distinguished by the high rank of its judiciary, 
and prominent among those who have served on the supreme court bench of the 
state was Judge Frank Allyn, of Tacoma, who was also at one time judge of 
the superior court of Pierce county. He was born in Keokuk, Iowa, August 27, 
1846. and supplemented his public school education by study in Miami Univer- 
sity, of Oxford, Ohio. He was graduated on the completion of a law course 
when twenty-two years of age and entered the law office of Samuel F. Miller, 
associate justice of the United States for thirty years, then practicing at Keokuk. 
Judge Allyn there spent two years in preparing for the bar and was admitted 
in 1870. He remained a practitioner in Iowa until 1887, when he came to 
Tacoma by appointment of President Cleveland and went upon the bench of the 
supreme court of the territory, proving himself the peer of all of his colleagues 
and of the ablest men who have sat in the court of last resort in Washington. 
He remained one of the supreme judges until the territory was admitted into 
the Union, after which he was elected judge of the superior court of Pierce 
county for a term of four years. He then resumed the private practice of law, 
in which he continued until his death on the 31st of March, 1909. His ability 
was marked. He had comprehensive knowledge of the law and notable power 
in correctly applying its principles. His deductions were sound and logical, 
and his decisions showed marked absence of personal bias or prejudice. For 
several years he was also engaged in the banking business in Tacoma and the 
importance of his professional and business connections established him as one 
of the most prominent citizens of the state. 

Judge Allyn was married in St. Louis, Missouri, to Miss Nellie Turner, a 
daughter of Judge George Turner, who at the early age of thirty-two years was 
appointed as chief justice of Nevada by President Lincoln. He became a well 
known mining attorney and spent his last days in San Francisco, dying there 
at the age of fifty-two years. At a very early age he was graduated from col- 
lege and later was widely known for his scholarly attainments. He traveled 



WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 167 

abroad with his family and remained there for several years. He spent con- 
siderable time in both London and Paris and there delivered many public ad- 
dresses. He entertained very extensively while abroad and was recognized as 
a foremost American citizen. He was a very brilliant man and was recognized 
as one of the most distinguished men of the west. His widow, who has now 
reached an advanced age, is still living and resides in Tacoma. Their only child 
is Mrs. Allyn. To Judge and Mrs. Allyn was born one child, Frank, Jr., who is 
now engaged in the bond and insurance business in Tacoma. 

Judge Allyn was interested in every phase of public life bearing upon the 
welfare and progress of city, state and nation. He served on the board of 
regents of Washington University, and he was one of the original trustees and 
a life member of the Ferry Museum. No phase of Tacoma's public life sought 
his aid in vain. In Masonic circles he was very prominent, becoming a Mystic 
Shriner. His acquaintance was very wide and the sterling traits of his character 
established his position ia public regard and carved his name high on the key- 
stone of the legal arch of Washington. He possessed a high sense of duty and 
honor and never swerved from the high standards in which he believed. His 
was a nobility of character, and he was a most patient judge. 



EDWARD A. FITZHENRY. 

Many years devoted to civil engineering have well qualified Edward A. Fitz- 
Henry to efficiently discharge the duties of the office which he now holds, 
namely that of United States surveyor general for the state of Washington. 
He was born in Bloomington, Illinois, and is a son of Hiram and Elizabeth Fitz- 
Henry. He attended the public and high schools of his native city, graduating 
from the high school in 1886. Subsequently he was for a year a student in the 
Illinois Wesleyan University at Bloomington and then attended the State Uni- 
versity at Urbana. Upon leaving college he secured a position with the engineer- 
ing department of the Lake Erie & Western Railroad, but after remaining in 
that connection for two years came to Olympia, Washington, and entered the 
employ of the Union Pacific Railroad as surveyor. Six months later he removed 
to Port Angeles, Washington, where he engaged in civil engineering. In 1892 
he was elected county surveyor and upon the expiration of his term in 1896 
was appointed deputy county surveyor, serving until 1900. From 1904 until 1908 
he was county clerk and from 1908 until 191 2 was county engineer. When not 
holding office he was connected with the engineering departments of various rail- 
roads and also did some survey work for the government. He did irrigation work 
in various parts of the state and in engineering circles he gained recognition as 
one of the leading members of the profession. It is generally conceded thai 
President Wilson acted wisely in appointing him United States surveyor general 
for the state of Washington, which position he has held since July i, 1913. 

Mr. FitzHenry was married in Port Angeles in October, 1898, to Miss Jessie 
V. Crooks and they have a daughter, Phyllis, who is now a high school student. 
The democratic party has a stanch supporter in Mr. FitzHenry but nothing 
afifecting the general welfare is a matter of inditiference to him. Fraternally 



168 WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 

he belongs to the Knights of Pythias and in reHgious faith is a Presbyterian. 
He is also a member of the Chamber of Commerce. While doing survey work 
for the government, he reported an unnamed mountain peak in the Olympian 
mountain range, laying some twenty miles south and west of Port Angeles. This 
mountain has an elevation of seven thousand one hundred and fifty feet and 
was presumed by the Press Club Explorers to be Mount Olympus so was not 
given a name by this exploration party. The government honored Mr. Fitz- 
Henry by naming this mountain Mount FitzHenry. It is needless to say that 
his duties as surveyor general are promptly, faithfully and efficiently discharged 
or that he is held in high esteem throughout the state and especially by the 
engineering profession. 

His paternal ancestors came to America from England and Scotland at an 
early date. The first George settled in Mrginia and his descendant Enoch par- 
ticipated in the War of the Revolution and later settled in Pennsylvania and 
reared a large family. Enoch's son Edward, Mr. FitzHenry's grandfather, 
settled in Ohio and later moved his family to McLean county, Illinois. Mr. 
FitzHenry is a member of the Isaac I. Stevens Chapter of the Sons of the Ameri- 
can Revolution, being eligible from each paternal family line. 



THOMAS MORAN. 



Thomas Moran, of Arlington, has been closely identified with the develop- 
ment and upbuilding of that place. In fact he erected the second building in 
the town and throughout the 'intervening period he has been well known as a 
hotel proprietor, popular with his guests and at all times enterprising and progres- 
sive. Various other interests have also claimed his attention and profited by his 
cooperation. He was born in the state of New York, June 7, 1847, ^ son of Patrick 
and Mary (Moriarity) Moran, both of whom were natives of Ireland. Crossing 
the Atlantic in the late '30s, they settled in New York and afterward removed 
westward to Wisconsin. They were married prior to coming to the new world. 
In early manhood the father engaged in masonry work in the east and after 
becoming a resident of tBe Mississippi valley continued in the same line at Madison, 
Wisconsin, where he established his home in 1855. He worked at the mason's trade 
there until 1871, when death called him, at which time he had reached the sixty- 
sixth milestone on life's journey. Mrs. Moran long survived him and died in 
Madison, Wisconsin, in 1901, at the advanced age of eighty years. 

Thomas Moran was the seventh in order of birth in a family of ten children 
and in his boyhood days he attended the schools of Wisconsin to the age of fifteen 
years, when in response to the country's call for troops he enlisted in 1862 as a 
member of the federal army, joining Company G of the Twenty-ninth Wisconsin 
Infantry. He continued with that command until the close of the war and par- 
ticipated in many hotly contested engagements, in all of which he conducted 
himself with signal dignity, honor and valor. He did not lay down his arms until 
the war had been brought to a close and in the meantime he had participated in 
the Mcksburg campaign, the Red River expedition, the capture of Mobile, Ala- 
bama, and many of the important battles of the Ci\il war. He was never wounded, 



WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 169 

although frequently in the thickest of the fight, and he was honorably discharged 
and mustered out at Shreveport, Louisiana. 

When the country no longer needed his military aid Mr. Moran returned 
to his home in Madison, Wisconsin, where he was employed in various lines of 
business. He continued his residence in that state until 1871, at which time he 
entered upon a career of railroad construction which eventually brought him 
to the Pacific coast. He worked as a contractor on the Northwestern Railroad 
from Madison to La Crosse, Wisconsin, and was continuously engaged in rail- 
road construction work until 1890, when he reached Arlington, Washington. He 
had been foreman and superintendent of construction at various points and held, 
several other positions of a similar character. He had the superintendency of the 
Seatile, Lake Shore & Eastern Railroad from Lake Washington through Arling- 
ton to McMurray, and when the road was completed he located in Arlington, 
where he built the first hotel and instituted the pioneer hardware store. On the 
present site of the Runkel store he erected the second building in the town. After 
a time he disposed of his hardware business but he has always continued in the 
hotel business. He erected the Moran block, one of the modern buildings of 
Arlington, in 1912. It is a two story structure with offices on the second floor. 
After giving up the hardware business he established and promoted the Arlington 
Water, Light & Power Company, which utilizes the water from Jim creek. Of 
this company he has since been the president and carefully directs the interests of 
the business. He is also a director of the Citizens State Bank. A notable point 
in his career has been his ability to quickly perceive the advantages of any busi- 
ness situation and utilize these to the best possible advantage. He has recognized 
opportunity for the acquirement of valuable real estate and has added to his 
holdings whenever possible. In 1892 he took a homestead on the Pilchuck and 
since then he has purchased three other ranches, so that his holdings now aggre- 
gate five hundred acres. He is also interested to some extent in the dairy busi- 
ness, keeping forty-three head of milch cows. 

In February, 1881, Mr. Moran was united in marriage to Miss Avlena Sick- 
man, of Muscatine county, Iowa, a daughter of Lewis and Mary Sickman. Her 
father died in Iowa in 19 10 and her mother now makes her home with Mrs. 
Moran at the age of eighty-six years. Mrs. Moran was born in Iowa in 1864 
and acquired her education in the public schools of that state. She has become 
the mother of three children : Jesse T., who was born in Muscatine county, 
Iowa, in 1883; Mrs. Larena Stripp, who was born at Woodinville Junction, 
King county, Washington, in 1890, and now has two children, Fred and Elizabeth, 
who are with their parents in Vancouver, British Columbia ; and Elmer Patrick, 
who was born in Arlington in 1892. He married Miss Llazel Winn and he is a 
ball player with the Tacoma home team. 

Mr. Moran gives his political allegiance to the democratic party and has he'.il 
the ofiice of county commissioner of Snohomish county for four years, making a 
most creditable record by the prompt and faithful manner in which lie discharges 
his duties, as is indicated in his reelections. He has also been school director 
for twelve years and was president of the board several times. Fraternally 
he is connected with the Benevolent Protective Order of Elks, Ijecoming a charter 
member of Everett Lodge No. 479. His religious faith is that of the Roman 
Catholic church. Mr. Moran left home without a dollar but he realized the value 



170 ■ WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 

of industry and determination as active factors in business life and he resolved 
to win success if it could be done through honorable efifort. Diligence and per- 
sistency of purpose are numbered among his stalwart characteristics and his life 
record, which is as an open book that all may read, has brought him high stand- 
ing and popularity. 



SAMUEL D. CROCKETT. 

Samuel D. Crockett, president of the Seattle Security Company, figures promi- 
nently in financial circles, where his name has become a synonym for enterprise 
and advancement. He may well be termed a man of affairs, for he has controlled 
and directed important interests which feature as factors in the upbuilding of 
the city as well as in the advancement of his individual success. He was born 
in Iowa, June 23, 1850, his parents being John and Ann Crockett, the latter a 
native of Virginia. His surviving sisters and brother are as follows : John 
Harvey, who is engaged in the real-estate business in Bellingham, Washington ; 
Mrs. Mary F. Spencer, a widow residing in Portland, Oregon ; Mrs. Harry A. 
Fairchild, a widow who makes her home in Seattle, Washington; Mrs. Elizabeth 
Pettibone, a widow living in Bellingham, Washington ; Mrs. H. G. de Pledge, 
of Colfax, Washington ; and Mrs. Chauncey J. House, of Everett. Washington. 

In the common schools Samuel D. Crockett began his education. He accom- 
panied the family on their removal to the west in 1851, the family home being 
established in Olympia, Washington. He supplemented his public-school train- 
ing by study in Willamette University at Salem, Oregon, and the experiences of 
his early life, aside from those of the schoolroom, were such as come to the farm 
lad. for he was reared amid an agricultural environment in Washington. In 1882 
he arrived in Seattle, where he engaged in the manufacure of furniture and its 
sale at retail, conducting the business under the firm name of Hall, Paulson & 
Company on Commercial street, now First avenue South, located where the 
Northern Hotel stands. The factory was at the foot of Commercial street, on 
the present site of the Security block. As time passed the enterprise continued to 
prosper, and Mr. Crockett later sold an interest in the business to W. R. Forrest, 
at which time it was incorporated under the name of the Hall & Paulson Furni- 
ture Company. This was a close corporation, with George W. Hall. Paul Paul- 
son, W. R. Forrest and S. D. Crockett as incorporators. They conducted a grow- 
ing and profitable business until 1889, when their establishment was destroyed in 
the great fire of that year and almost their entire assets were wiped out. About 
all that was left was mud flats covered with fourteen feet of water. In 1891 an 
act was passed by the legislature to enable those who had made improvements on 
the tide flats to purchase the land. The furniture company at once purchased 
the ground which had been occupied by their plant and afterward reincorporated 
as the Seattle Security Company. This company erected the Security block, which 
is a four-story brick structure with a frontage of two hundred and ninety feet 
and one hundred and fifty feet in depth. They also erected the brick building 
now occupied by the Carstens Packing Company on the adjoining property and 
which is also a four-story and basement building. The officers of the Security 



WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 171 

Company are : S. D. Crockett, president and treasurer ; Paul Paulson, vice presi- 
dent ; and O. W. Crockett, secretary. 

Mr. Crockett has been married twice. In 1873, at Salem, Oregon, he wedded 
Miss Lydia E. Chamberlin, who passed away in December, 1907, leaving two 
children, namely : Oliver W., the secretary of the Seattle Security Company 
and a stockholder in the firm of James Bothwell & Crockett, real estate, loans and 
insurance ; and Bertha Ann, who is the wife of Ernest C. Jenner, a newspaper 
artist on The Times. On the 19th of November, 1909, in Seattle, Samuel D. 
Crockett married Mrs. Nellie V. Wood. 

In politics Mr. Crockett has never been active but recognizes the duties and 
obligations of citizenship and neglects no responsibility that comes to him in that 
connection. Practically his entire life has been spent in the northwest, and for 
more than six decades he has been a witness of the growth and progress 
of Washington. Since coming to Seattle in 1882 he has figured continuously 
in its business circles, taking advantage of every legitimate opportunity that has 
come his way and proceeding step by step to the plane of affluence whereon he is 
now to be found. The property interests of the company return to him a good 
income and throughout his entire career he has never sacrificed his good name to 
advancement nor success. 



CLAUDE E. STAGE. 



Claude E. Stage, cashier of the Granite Falls State Bank and a valued resi- 
dent of Granite Falls, was born at Yates, Manistee county, Michigan, January 
14, 1885. His father, Arza C. Stage, a native of Pennsylvania, was born near 
Nashville and was a representative of a family of Dutch descent long estab- 
lished in the Keystone state. The grandfather came from Holland and the family 
home was maintained in Pennsylvania until Arza C. Stage removed to Michigan, 
where he became a successful agriculturist and dairyman. He voted with the 
democratic party and was very active in political affairs. It was subsequent 
to his removal to the west that he married Stella E. Lameroux, a native of 
Cedar Springs, Michigan, whose father was a Civil war veteran. The death 
of Mr. Stage occurred in Yates, Michigan, in 1900, when he was forty-six years 
of age, and his widow is now living in Granite Falls. In the family were four 
children who are yet living. 

Claude E. Stage, the second of the number, acquired his education in the 
public schools of Yates, Michigan, and of Granite Falls, Washington, the family 
removing to this state in 1903. He made his initial step as clerk with a mer- 
cantile company of Granite Falls and afterward entered the Granite Falls State 
Bank, of which for four years he was receiver and bookkeeper and for two years 
assistant cashier. During the past four years he has been cashier and his 
ability and loyalty in this connection have contributed much to the success 
of the institution, of which he is one of the stockholders. He is also financially 
interested in a shingle manufactory and is recognized as one of the progres- 
sive young business men of his part of the county. 

On the 25th of December, 1910. in Granite Falls, Mr. Stage was married to 



172 WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 

Miss Bessie Burroughs Taylor, who passed away on the 6th of March, 1915, 
at Granite Falls, when thirty-one years of age. She was a native of Virginia 
and a daughter of John A. Taylor. She left one son, Donald Eugene, who was 
born October 4, 191 1. 

Mr. Stage gives his political support to the republican party and does all in his 
power to promote its growth and insure its success because of a firm belief in its 
principles. For the past six years he has served as treasurer of Granite Falls 
and he gives stalwart support to all those interests which tend to uphold civic 
virtue and civic pride. He has membership in the Modern Woodmen camp at 
Granite Falls and is manager of the Modern Woodmen Hall. His religious belief 
is that of the Congregational church and his life is guided by high and honorable 
principles. His success is due to his persistent effort, and determination and 
energy have enabled him to overcome obstacles and difficulties in his path. Those 
who know him and have watched his course in every relation of life entertain 
for him warm respect and high regard. 



ROLAND HILL HARTLEY. 

Roland Hill Hartley, of Everett, business man and political leader, has left 
the impress of his individuality and ability upon the history of the state in many 
ways. Holding to the highest ideals in citizenship, he has been actuated by the 
spirit of Henry Clay when he said that he "would rather be right than president." 
Mr. Hartley has never catered to any class, but has stood firmly for his honest 
convictions, and his viewpoint is that of the broadminded man who thoroughly 
studies a situation and bases his opinions upon every phase of the case. In the 
business world he has accomplished what he has undertaken and thirty years of 
unremitting labor have brought him to a substantial position as the president of 
the Everett Logging Company, the vice president of a shingle manufacturing con- 
cern operating under the name of the Clough-Hartley Company and a stock- 
holder in the Clark-Nickerson Lumber Company. 

Colonel Hartley is of Canadian birth. The date and place of his nativity are 
June 26, 1864, and Shogomoc, York county, New Brunswick. His father, Edward 
Williams Hartley, who was born on a farm at Shogomoc in 1820, devoted his life 
to agricultural pursuits and to the work of the ministry. He was a cousin of 
the late Marcellus Hartley, of Philadelphia, and is descended from the Hartleys 
who originally settled near Philadelphia, there planting the parent stem of all the 
different branches of the family in the new world. Rev. Edward Williams Hart- 
ley wedded Miss Rebecca Barker Whitehead, also a native of York county, New 
Brunswick, and a second cousin of Andrew Jackson, the seventh president of 
the L^nited States. They became the parents of twelve children, nine sons and 
three daughters. 

This number included Roland Hill Hartley, who in his youth had little oppor- 
tunity of attending school. His father died when the son was but fourteen years 
of age and he was obliged to go to work. He was for some time "cookee" in a 
lumber camp in the pineries in northern Minnesota and his duties included cutting 
wood and washing dishes. During the winter months he was in the woods but 




ROLAND H. HARTLEY 



.- THE NEW YORK 
PUBLIC LIBRARY 

ASTOR, LENOX 
TILDEN FOUNDATION 



WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 175 

in the summer spent his time breaking land in the Red River valley, being one 
of the very first to break the sod in Dakota territory. He plowed land with 
oxen where the town of Hope, North Dakota, is now located and for five years 
engaged in breaking the prairie sod. His father, although unable to give him 
many school advantages, early taught him to work and the ability to get things 
done which has characterized all of his later life was manifested in his boy- 
hood. His experiences in the north still further developed his efificiency and 
grasp of practical things and it early became recognized that he accomplished 
that which he undertook. At length he became bookkeeper for a large lumber 
firm in Minnesota and afterwards, about 1894, he engaged in the manufac- 
ture of boots and shoes in Minneapolis. 

For a year he was a student in the Minneapolis Academy and made such 
an excellent record there that he was offered and accepted the position of 
secretary of the mayor of Brainerd, Minnesota, so serving in 1884. His expe- 
rience in that connection aroused in him an interest in public questions and 
political situations that has never waned through all the intervening years — • 
years in which he has stood for the highest ideals in citizenship, supporting 
every measure that has been a matter of civic virtue and civic pride. In 1897 
he was called to the position of secretary to the governor of Minnesota and 
acted in that capacity for two years, while for eight years he was on the staff 
of the commander in chief of the military forces of Minnesota, holding the 
rank of colonel and serving as aid-de-camp. When the Spanish- American war 
broke out as the representative of the state he accompanied the first Minnesota 
regiment that went south and later was assigned to care for the sick and 
wounded of his state, displaying remarkable executive ability in transporting 
them from field hospitals to city hospitals. In 1898 he was in charge of two 
battery companies sent to defend northern Minnesota during the Indian upris- 
ing, in which the Third United States Infantry had been badly defeated at 
Sugar Point, on Leech lake. 

Colonel Flartley became a resident of Everett, Washington, in 1903 and 
through the intervening period has been engaged in the lumber business in the 
northwest, controlling important interests as president of the Everett Logging 
Company and as vice president of the Clough-Hartley Company, shingle manu- 
facturers. He also holds stock in the Clark-Nickerson Lumber Company and 
has other business interests, the value of which indicates his wisdom and judg- 
ment in making investments and managing important industrial and commercial 
affairs. All days in his business career, however, have not been equally bright. 
Indeed, in his experience he has seen the gathering of clouds that threatened 
disastrous storms, but his rich inheritance of energy and pluck has enabled him 
to turn defeat into victory and promised failures into success. His strict integ- 
rity, business conservatism and judgment have always been uniformly recog- 
nized and he has enjoyed public confidence to an enviable degree, bringing him 
a lucrative patronage. It is a recognized fact that he has always been a worker 
and is not afraid of work. 

On the 22d of August, 1888, in Minneapolis, Minnesota, Colonel flartley 
was married to Miss Nina M. Clough, a daughter of ex-Governor David Mar- 
ston Clough, whose name is inseparably interwoven with the history of Minne- 
sota. He married Miss Adelaide Barton, a cousin of Clara Barton of Red 



176 WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 

Cross fame. Governor and Airs. Clough are now residing in Everett, Washing- 
ton. Colonel and Mrs. Hartley have become the parents of two sons and a 
daughter: Edward Williams and David Marston, aged respectively twenty- 
three and nineteen years, both attending Yale College ; and Mary, seven years of 
age. 

The family usually attend the Congregational church and Colonel Hartley 
is a prominent Mason and is connected with various other fraternal and social 
organizations. He served as master of Cataract Lodge, A. F. & A. M., in 
Minneapolis in 1898, was high priest of St. Anthony's Falls Chapter, R. A. M., 
in 1897, became a member of Adoniram Council, No. 5, R. & S. M., was conj- 
mander of Darius Commandery, No. 7, K. T., in 1892 and ten years later became 
grand commander of Knights Templar of Minnesota. He was also master of 
Minneapolis Consistory, No. 2, A. A. S. R., in 1897 and was potentate of Zuhrah 
Temple, A. A. O. N. M. S.. at Minneapolis in 1895. He was elected Knight com- 
mander of the Court of Honor at St. Louis in 1893 and was honored with the 
thirt)^-third degree in \\'ashington, D. C, in 1897. He is likewise a member of 
the Royal Order of Scotland, of Washington, D. C, with home lodge at Edin- 
burgh, Scotland, and he has membership with the Elks and with the Hoo Hoos. 
He has been made an honorary member of John Wanabo Camp of Spanish War 
Veterans at Everett. Politically a republican since age conferred upon him the 
right of franchise, he has always taken an active interest in politics, recognizing the 
duties and obligations as well as the privileges and opportunities of citizenship. In 
1910 he was elected mayor of Everett, which position he filled for two years, and 
such was his official record that in 191 5 he was elected to represent the forty-eighth 
district in the Washington state legislature. While there he studied closely every 
question and every phase of every problem that he believed had to do wath the wel- 
fare of the people and the upbuilding of the commonwealth. He saw abuses and he 
saw wonderful chances for improvement in public service and at the republican con- 
vention in Snohomish county, April 29, 1916, he said : "While serving in this legis- 
lature I 'saw such splendid opportunities for an executive possessing the courage 
of his convictions and not afraid, that I found myself .longing to be governor of 
Washington for just one term of four years. I think it was, at least partly, in 
deference to this desire of mine that I was asked at a republican gathering in 
this city about a year ago to become a candidate for that high office. Responding 
to the sentiment at that meeting, I said I would carefully consider the matter and 
publicly make know^n my decision, so will take advantage of this opportunity to 
say that I wish to announce that I am a candidate." Strong endorsement came 
to Colonel Hartley from various points of the state and at the primaries he received 
the second highest vote among eight candidates. He made various addresses 
throughout the state. They were the talk of a practical business man, dealing 
with the business of the state in a practical, common sense manner. In this con- 
nection the Everett Tribune wrote of him : ''Hartley can hardly be considered a 
party candidate. He is a man who stands for so much that is above party, that 
is clean and fearless in business and in politics, for so much that the people want 
in their representatives, that the people of his home town and his home county 
believe in him regardless of party affiliations because they know him as a man." 
One of the Seattle papers said : "Everything Colonel Hartley says at any time 
is interesting. He is an interesting personality. He always speaks his mind freely 



WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 177 

and without evasion ; his convictions are strong and enduring and he is ever ready 
to stand by them. Few men in pubHc life in this state are less secretive, less 
influenced by the subtle conventions of politics. He knows what he thinks and he 
doesn't hesitate about expressing himself in plain language. Colonel Hartley's 
announcement ought to be read by every business man in the state. They will not 
all vote for him — but his statement, devoid of vote-catching phrases, rings true and 
clear; its candor is refreshing. One paragraph of the many which is well worth 
reading, is as follows : 'Our state has been tormented in the past by certain agita- 
tors, who, relying upon the natural characteristic of the human being to blame 
the other fellow for every mistake or failure, have travelled about, preaching envy, 
hate, jealousy and destruction, in order that they may draw fat salaries and pose 
as the emancipators of labor. The way to best help labor is to free it from the 
yoke imposed by those self-appointed disciples of discord and confusion.' " When 
speaking before the Washington State Press Association he said : "Reference 
has been made to my stand as regards union labor. I want you gentlemen to dis- 
tinctly understand that I have no quarrel whatever with union labor. I consider 
that every man has a perfect right to belong to a union if he so desires, but I deny 
union labor the right to say that a man must belong to a union before he can 
go out and earn the bread to feed his wife and children. I, as a candidate for 
governor, believe that the people should know exactly where I stand upon such 
matters. It is not just or right that I should be a candidate of any particular 
organization. I tell you now that if I am honored by being elected governor that 
every man, no matter whether he be union or non-union, will be protected in his 
right to work when and where he pleases." Other questions Colonel Hartley 
attacked with equal fearlessness and with equal clearness as to his position. The 
Pacific Baptist said: "Three qualities predominate in the character of Colonel 
Hartley : convictions, courage and capability. In his official and social relations he 
stands for high ideals and good citizenship. He never asks, Ts it popular?' but 'Is 
it right and best for the public welfare ?' This little trait tells the entire story." 



M. M. WALK. 



M. M. Walk, one of the owners of the Economy Wet Wash Laundry and 
an energetic and representative business man of Bellingham, was born in Salem, 
Oregon, in 1881, a son of Charles L. and Hattie (Masterson) Walk. His 
maternal grandfather, James Masterson, was a pioneer of the northwest, arriv- 
ing at the Rogue river in 1851. He took part in the gold rush of those early 
days 3nd later was United States marshal for Idaho for a considerable period. 
At length in 1872 he took up his residence at Snohomish and turned his atten- 
tion to logging, but during his last years resided upon a ranch in eastern Wash- 
ington. Charles Walk, the grandfather of our subject, removed from North 
Carolina to California in 1849 at the time of the gold excitement. He lived on 
the Pacific coast until his death, which occurred in San Francisco. 

M. M. Walk has resided in Washington since 1892 and as he was then a 
boy of but eleven years he continued his education in the schools of this state 
for a considerable period. For fifteen years he made his home in Seattle and 



178 WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 

for some time was employed in the Seattle Laundry, where he gained experi- 
ence that has been of great value to him in his present business relation. He 
also followed the sea for twelve years and held a master's certificate. For some 
time he was connected with the transport service to Manila and also visited 
other ports in the orient, in which connection he had many interesting experi- 
ences. 

On abandoning a seafaring life Mr. Walk came to Bellingham in 191 3. On 
the nth of August of that year he joined J. E. Masterson in establishing the 
Economy Wet Wash Laundry and has since given his undivided time and atten- 
tion to the management of that enterprise, which is one of the leading indus- 
tries of its kind in the city. The plant which the company erected is thirty-six 
by eighty-five feet in dimensions, with an engine room twenty-five by thirty-six 
feet. The most modern laundry machinery has been installed and the plant 
has its own power system. Eight people are employed and two automobiles 
are used for the collection and delivery of laundry. In addition to doing a large 
business in Bellingham the company has built up a gratifying patronage in 
Ferndale and other towns in this locality. The company makes a specialty of 
wet wash laundry but is equipped to do mangle and rough dry work and the rapid 
growth in their patronage has been based upon excellent service. The plant has 
a capacity of four tons a week and although the business has been in existence 
for only four years it is now taking care of three tons per week. The energy, 
sound business judgment and practical knowledge of the business possessed 
by Mr. Walk have been important factors in the success of the company and 
he is recognized as a valuable addition to the ranks of local business men. 

Mr. Walk was married in Seattle in 1907 to Miss Helen C. Smith, of that 
city, and they have a daughter, Helen I. He supports the candidates of the 
Republican party at the polls but is not otherwise active in politics. Frater- 
nally he is a Master Mason and the principles of that order guide his life in its 
various relations. He has few interests outside of his business, which has 
grown rapidly and makes heavy demands upon his time and energy. His ability 
and worth are generally recognized and he has already gained a large number 
of warm personal friends. 



OWEN TAYLOR. M. D. 

Dr. Owen Taylor, physician and surgeon, came to Kent, August 22, 1895, 
following his graduation from the Bellevue Hospital Medical College of New 
Vork. He has here since maintained a private hospital and his practice has 
been attended with notable success. He was born near Cedar Rapids, Iowa, 
December 31, 1866, and there attended the public schools, while in 1888 he 
made his way to Seattle and entered the University of Washington. Three 
years were devoted to study in that institution and in 1891 he went to New 
York, taking post graduate work in the Bellevue Hospital Medical College, from 
which he was graduated in 1895. He chose Kent as the scene of his labors and 
at once entered upon practice in this city. Soon afterward he opened a private 
hospital, which he owns and which is conducted under the name of the Kent 



WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 179 

General Hospital. It has accommodations for twenty-two patients and his prac- 
tice is largely surgical, in which branch of the profession he is particularly 
skilled. 

In 1909 Dr. Taylor left Kent for an extended tour around the world and at 
Wells, England, met Miss Anna Hamm, also of Kent, and who at that time was 
touring Europe. They were married at Wells, England, on the 14th of Feb- 
ruary, 1910, and have become parents of two children, John O. and Edward O., 
aged respectively six and two years. 

Fraternally Dr. Taylor is connected with the Masons and has attained high 
rank in the order, belonging to the Knight Templar commandery at Seattle and 
to Afifi Temple of the Mystic Shrine at Tacoma. In politics he is a stanch 
republican, believing firmly in the principles of the party and seeking to fur- 
ther its success in every legitimate way, yet he has never been an office seeker. 
His sterling personal worth and his high professional skill commend him to 
the confidence, goodwill and friendship of all with whom he comes in contact, 
and the profession as well as the public acknowledges his superior ability, 
especially in the field of surgery. 



ISAAC INGALLS STEVENS. 

As long as the state of Washington shall endure so long will the name of Isaac 
Ingalls Stevens be held in honor, for as the first governor of the territory and 
delegate to congress he largely shaped its early development. His heroic death 
was a fitting close to his life of whole-hearted and aggressive public service, 
for he fell fatally wounded while leading a charge at the battle of Chantilly in 
the Civil war. He was born on the 25th of March, 1818, at North Andover. 
Massachusetts, and when only five years of age started to school. After the age 
of ten years he attended Franklin Academy at North Andover, for some time and 
then decided to leave school for a time. He entered the woolen mills in Andover 
owned by his uncle and at the end of one year was so proficient in his work 
that he could manage- four looms at a time. When fifteen years old he entered 
the famous Phillips Academy in Andover, which he attended for a year. Dur- 
ing that time he worked at whatever he could find to do and thus paid his own 
expenses. He received an appointment as a cadet at West Point and completed 
the four years' course at that institution, standing at the head of his class in 
every study. Upon his graduation he was made second lieutenant of engineers and 
was ordered to proceed to Newport, Rhode Island, to take part in the building 
of Fort Adams. In July, 1840, he was promoted to first lieutenant and in the 
following year was sent to New Bedford, Massachusetts, to take charge of re- 
pairing the old fort there. The next few years were spent at Portsmouth and 
Bucksport, Maine, where he built Fort Knot at the narrows of the Penobscot 
river. He served in the Mexican war on the staff of General Scott as engineer 
officer and as adjutant of that corps, took ])art in the battles of Cerro Gordo, 
Contreras, Churubusco and Chapultepec, and was severely wounded in the last 
named. Fie was brevetted captain for gallantry in the battle of Contreras and 
Churubusco, and major for gallantry in the battle of Chapultepec. Forced by 



180 WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 

his wound to leave the field, he returned to the charge of the fortifications in 
Maine and New Hampshire. In October, 1849, he was placed at the head of the 
United States coast survey office in Washington, and continued in this important 
post until ]^Iarch 21, 1853, when he resigned from the army and accepted the 
commission of governor of the newly created territory of Washington and ex- 
officio superintendent of Indian afifairs. 

The national administration having undertaken the exploration and survey 
of the vast and then almost unknown region between the Mississippi and the 
Pacific to determine the practicability of railroad routes across the continent, 
Governor Stevens applied for and was placed in charge of the northern route, 
which, being the least known and invested by powerful and predatory Indian tribes, 
Sioux, Crows, Blackfeet and others, was justly considered the most difficult and 
important. In one month he completely organized the expedition. Leaving 
Washington on ]\Iay 9, 1853, he started westward from St. Paul, Minnesota, 
with the main party on June i, throwing a subsidiary party up the Missouri 
river, and two subsidiary parties to work on the Pacific end, a force all told of 
tw^o hundred and forty, including eleven officers and seventy-six soldiers of the 
army. In five months and nineteen days he arrived at Olympia on Puget-sound, 
having traversed and explored a region two thousand miles long and two hundred 
miles wide, examined nine passes in the Rocky mountains, ascertained the naviga- 
bility of the upper Missouri and Columbia rivers, held friendly councils wath the 
Indians and secured an immense amount of information regarding the botany, 
fauna, physical features, productions, climate, etc., of the country explored. 

His first act as governor was to issue a proclamation calling for the election 
of a delegate to congress and of members of the first territorial legislature, which 
he summoned to meet in Olympia in February, 1854. He next visited the Indian 
tribes around Puget Sound and made a study of the general character of the 
harbors. As a result of his investigation into the lay of the country he decided 
that Seattle was the logical terminus for the new trans-continental railroad. He 
recommended to the legislature, which met pursuant to his call in February, 
1854, the adoption of a code of laws, the organization of the country east of the 
Cascades into counties, the establishment of a school system with the provision 
for military training in the higher schools and the organization of a militia. The 
legislature passed laws embodying all these suggestions save the one regarding 
the militia. The failure of the law-making body to provide for such an armed 
force was shown to have been unfortunate two years later, when the Indian 
insurrection broke out and it had to be put down by the pioneer volunteer force. 

At the close of the first session of the legislature Governor Stevens went to 
Washington, D. C, to make his report to the government concerning his con- 
clusion in regard to the best route and terminus for the proposed railroad and 
also to urge upon congress the claims of the new territory. When he returned 
to the coast he brought his wife and four children with him and for some time 
the governor's family lived in a long, one-story, unplastered building. They 
endured the same hard and trying experiences as the other pioneers of the terri- 
tory and were imbued with the same confident faith in the great future of this sec- 
tion of the country. Governor Stevens made many treaties with the Indians and 
took many long, fatiguing expeditions into the then almost unexplored hinterland 
and more than once his life was in great danger from disafifected Indians. At one 



WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 181 

time all the chief tribes of the upper Columbia country, including the Cayuses, 
the Walla Wallas, the Yakimas, the Palouses, the Umatillas and all the Oregon 
Indian bands down to The Dalles made open war upon the whites. Governor 
Stevens with a small party of twenty-five men was one day's march from Fort 
Benton on the Missouri river on his return after holding a successful council 
with the dreaded Blackfeet and other Indians when his expressman, exhausted 
from his perilous and arduous ride from Olympia, staggered into camp, bringing 
news of the Indian outbreak and letters from other territorial officers and friends 
urging him to descend the Missouri and return to the territory by way of the 
Isthmus of Panama, and informing him that thousands of Indians were in arms, 
besetting all the trails, and that it was impossible to get through or past them. 
Scorning this advice Governor Stevens by rapid marches and the aid of friendly 
Indians forced his way over all obstacles, crossing the Rocky and the Bitter Root 
mountains in midwinter and rescuing a party of twenty-two miners on the 
Spokane, and reached Olympia January 19, 1856. He found the whole country 
prostrated, the farms abandoned, the settlers gathered in the few small villages 
and starvation staring them in the face if prevented from planting crops. He 
acted promptly and energetically, raising one thousand volunteers by proclama- 
tion and forcing all the Indians on the east side of the Sound to move upon 
reservations. He sent agents to Portland, San Francisco and Victoria with urgent 
appeals for arms, ammunition and supplies and issued territorial certificates of 
indebtedness to pay the volunteers. His aggressive and well considered action 
brought the war to a successful termination in 1856 and he then disbanded the 
volunteers and disposed of the remaining equipment and supplies at public auction. 
Although the danger of massacre at the hands of the red men was over there 
was a great deal of unrest in the territory and the agents of the Hudson's Bay 
Company took a stand inimical to the interests of the territory and in view of 
these unfavorable conditions Governor Stevens felt it best to proclaim jnartial 
law throughout Pierce and Thurston counties. This course met with considerable 
criticism but time proved its wisdom. During all of the Indian trouble the Stevens 
familv remained in Olympia and the four children regularly attended the public 
school. About that time the governor erected a residence, which is still standing 
and is now owned by his son. General Hazard Stevens, a sketch of whose life 
appears below. 

In 1857 Governor Stevens was elected as delegate to congress from the terri- 
tory and in the fall of that year resigned his office as governor. He removed 
with his family to the national capital, going by way of the Isthmus of Panama, 
but after congress had adjourned they returned to Olympia, where they lived 
until he was sent to congress for a second term. He secured the payment of the 
Indian war debt, the confirmation of his Indian treaties and many appropriations 
for military roads between Fort Benton and Walla Walla and between Steila- 
coom and Vancouver. Moreover, forty-five hundred dollars was appropriated 
for a boundary survey between Oregon and Washington and ninety-five thousand 
dollars for the Indian service. In addition to these achievements Governor 
Stevens was instrumental in securing a new land office and district for the south- 
ern part of the territory and in many other ways he furthered the interests of 
Washington. At the close of his second term he returned to Olympia and there 
organized a military company known as the Pugent Sound Rifles, of which he 



182 WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 

was elected captain. He more than any other man deserved the credit for saving 
the San Juan islands to the United States, as it was owing to the firm stand which 
he took against British aggression at the time of the controversy over the 
possession of these islands that this valuable group became the property of this 
country. He was a candidate for election as delegate to congress for a third 
term when the news reached the Pacific coast of the attack by the southern rebels 
upon Fort Sumter. At once he withdrew from the race and oft'ered his services 
to the government. He was made colonel of the Seventy-ninth Highlanders, 
New York Volunteers. At length he became major general of volunteers and, 
as he had done in the Mexican war, distinguished himself by gallant conduct. 
At the battle of Chantilly he grasped the colors from a dying standard bearer 
and was leading the charge upon the enemy's position when the fatal shot came. 
By this act he hurled back Jackson's flanking column, and saved Pope's army and 
the country from a great disaster. 

Mr. Stevens was married in September, 1841, to Miss Margaret Hazard, the 
daughter of an eminent lawyer of Newport, Rhode Island, and the granddaughter 
of Colonel Daniel Lyman, who served with honor in the Revolutionary war. To 
this union were born the following children : General Hazard Stevens ; Virginia, 
who died at two years of age ; Sue, who married Colonel Richard I. Eskridge ; 
Gertrude Maude, deceased ; and Kate, who married Edward W. Bingham, and 
after his decease, James H. S. Bates. 

It was such men as General Stevens, men of determination, daring and 
resource, that made possible the epic story of the conquest of a continent and 
the building up of a mighty nation and it is just and fitting that the people of 
today, whose heritage is due to the labors of those men, should hold them in 
veneration and should endeavor to solve the problems of the present as success- 
fully as they overcame the difficulties of pioneer times. 



GENERAL HAZARD STEVENS. 

The splendid qualities characteristic of his father, Isaac Ingalls Stevens, have 
been again and again manifested in the life of General Hazard Stevens, soldier, 
man of affairs and industrial leader. He has kept in close touch with the growth 
of Washington during all the years intervening between territorial days, when 
as a boy he accompanied his father on long and dangerous trips into the country, 
until the present. For a considerable period he resided in the east but is now 
living in Olympia in order to the better look after his interests as president of the 
Olympia Light & Power Company. He was born in Newport, Rhode Island. 
June 9, 1842, a son of Major General Isaac Ingalls and Margaret (Hazard) 
Stevens. He was an active and fearless boy and adapted himself readily to the 
conditions of pioneer life which existed in the territory of Washington when 
the Stevens family removed here in 1854, the father having been appointed the 
first governor of the territory. 

Hazard Stevens went with his father upon many of his expeditions to the 
various Indian tribes of the northwest and on one trip a party of twenty-five white 
men traversed the wild, unsettled Indian country between Puget Sound and the 




(:4enp:ral hazard stevens 



- THE NEW rORK 
PUBLIC LIBRARY 

ASTOR, LENOX 
^ TILDEN FOUNDATION j 



WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 185 

Missouri river, held six councils with the Indians, crossed the Rocky mountains 
twice, the last time in midwinter, forced their way through hostile tribes, rescued 
a party of miners and reached Olympia in safety after an absence of nine months. 
During that time they had traveled three thousand miles and more than once had 
been in great danger of massacre. At one time while on this trip Hazard Stevens, 
although then only thirteen years old, rode one hundred and fifty miles in thirty 
hours to deliver an important despatch to the Gros Ventres Indians and was a 
member of a small party, accompanied by friendly Blackfeet Indians, which 
hunted bufitalo for three weeks and procured meat for the main party, which was 
almost destitute of food. In the Indian war of 1855-6 he served as a volunteer 
and his life upon the frontier developed to a high degree his native powers of 
self-reliance and quickness of decision. 

In the winter of 1857 the family returned to the east, as Governor Stevens 
had been chosen as a delegate to congress from Washington territory, and the son 
Hazard entered the Chauncey Hall School in Boston, where he prepared for 
college. In i860 he entered Harvard as a member of the class of 1864, but at 
the end of his freshman year, when only nineteen years old, he enlisted in the 
Union army for service in the Civil war, becoming a member of the Seventy- 
ninth Highlanders, New York Volunteers, of which his father was colonel. Froni 
the first engagement in which he took part until the close of the war, when he was 
brevetted brigadier general, being the youngest man in the army to hold the rank 
of general, as he was then but twenty-three years old, he was almost constantly 
on the front line of battle and time after time was singled out by his superior 
officers for commendation for gallant conduct. Within a few months after his 
enlistment he repeatedly drilled the entire brigade, handling several thousand 
men, of the three arms, with great success, and in June, 1862, he won high praise 
not only from his commanding officers but also from the rebels for his daring 
conduct in an assault upon Fort Lamar, Confederate fortifications, near Charles- 
ton, South Carolina. As adjutant general of the First Division, which was com- 
manded by his father, he went through Pope's campaign until the battle of 
Chantilly, in which his father was killed and he received two severe wounds 
which were hastily bandaged on the field. He was then carried to a neighboring 
farmhouse, where he lay until two o'clock in the morning, when an officer of 
the division called at the house, as the Union troops were falling back, and 
recognized Captain Stevens. An ambulance was called and he was taken to 
Washington. After about seven weeks he had recovered from his wounds suffi- 
ciently to return to the army and was assigned to the Third Division of the 
Ninth Corps as inspector general. He took part in the battle of Fredericksburg 
and in March, 1863, went with his division to Sufl:"olk, Virginia. He planned and 
carried out the storming of Fort Huger, which eventually led to the Confederates 
abandoning the siege of Suffolk and for which he was awarded the Medal of 
Honor "for mo.st distinguished gallantry." Some time later Captain Stevens 
joined the Army of the Potomac and was made inspector general and adjutant 
general of the Second Division of the Sixth Corps, which command had been 
given General Getty. At the battle of the Wilderness he was wounded by shrapnel 
but after his wound was dressed and bandaged returned to the field. He remained 
on duty with this division until the end of the war and took part in every battle 
in which the Sixth Corps participated. He was successively promoted major and 

Vol. 11—10 



186 WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 

assistant adjutant general, brevet colonel and brigadier general. After being 
mustered out from the army at the close of the war influential friends offered 
to secure his appointment as major in the regular army, but he declined to 
consider the offer. 

General Stevens came to Washington territory on again taking up the duties 
of civil life and was employed by the Oregon Steam Navigation Company as their 
agent at Wallula, a steamboat landing on the Columbia river, three hundred and 
fifty miles above its mouth. He remained there for a year and a half and took 
in for the company one hundred and fifty thousand dollars, nearly all in gold 
dust. So faithfully and efficiently did he discharge his duties that upon severing 
his connection with that company he received warm commendation from its 
president. While at Wallula he received the appointment of captain in the 
Fourteenth Infantry, U. S. A., which however, he declined. He was joined by 
his mother and sisters, who were dependent upon him for support, and he erected 
a home for them at Portland, Oregon. In May, 1868, he was appointed collector 
of internal revenue for Washington territory and removed to Olympia, where his 
mother and sisters also took up their residence during the following year. During 
the three years that he filled that office he collected two hundred thousand dollars 
and returned less than one per cent of the taxes as uncollectible. While collector 
he used his spare time in reading law with the Hon. Elwood Evans and at length 
was admitted to the bar. From 1870 to 1874 he was attorney for the Northern 
Pacific Railroad Company and in that capacity purchased the right of way for 
the railroad from Kalama on the Columbia to Tacoma, secured and platted town 
sites along the road and aided in securing the site for the terminus at Tacoma. 
However, the most important service which he rendered the company was the 
suppression of timber stealing on the public land along the right of way. By the 
provisions of its charter the company was to acquire title to half the land within 
forty miles of its road as soon as the road was built and accepted and it was 
therefore vitally interested in the preservation of the timber on such land. In 
the name and with the authority of the United States land office General Stevens 
seized every raft of logs cut on public land and towed them to the nearest town, 
where they were sold at auction imless the logger would agree to quit trespassing 
on public land, in which case he was permitted to redeem the logs at half the 
market price. This course was pursued by General Stevens with such vigor that 
within a year illegal logging was practically unknown. The railroad company paid 
the entire expense of this action, amounting to ten thousand dollars, but realized 
from the sale of the seized timber slightly more than that sum. Although the 
company had agreed to run its line to Olympia it built the road fifteen miles 
to the eastward, leaving Olympia without means of communication save the old 
stage-coach. Many families removed to Tacoma, the terminus of the Northern 
Pacific, and for a time it seemed as if Olympia were destined to cease to exist. 
General Stevens, however, interested its citizens in the Olympia Railroad Union, 
of which he was chosen president, and eventually with the aid of a seventy-five 
thousand dollar issue of county bonds a road was built connecting Olympia with 
the Northern Pacific. As at the time the population of Olympia was barely two 
thousand the difficulties in the way of the successful accomplishment of this 
purpose may be readily realized. 

In 1874 President Grant appointed General Stevens commissioner to investi- 



WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 187 

gate the claims of British subjects on the San Juan archipelago, as the British 
government had made representations to the United States concerning claims. 
After giving public notice General Stevens visited every settlement on the islands, 
prepared to receive and note all claims, but found that, contrary to the representa- 
tions of the British government, there were no claims, as all of the British 
subjects residing upon the islands had become naturalized American citizens and 
had taken their land under the United States land laws. 

For many years it was believed that Mount Rainier, sixty miles distant from 
Olympia, was insurmountable, but in August, 1870, General Stevens and a small 
party attempted the ascent and on the 17th of that month he and a single com- 
panion, P. B. Van Trump, reached the summit. As it was too late to descend 
that night they took refuge in the crater and were saved from freezing by the 
steam emitted therefrom. General Stevens published a full account of this trip 
in the Atlantic Monthly of November, 1876. 

In 1874 his mother and sisters returned to Boston and the following year he 
joined them in that city, where he at once entered upon the practice of law. In 
1885 he was elected to the general court from the Dorchester ward as an inde- 
pendent and organized the Municipal Reform Association, which was influential 
in securing reform in the city charter. Although he had been elected as an 
independent and was without party support he gained the respect and confidence 
of the house in a sljort time and was placed on the committee on cities. He 
reported the city charter bill for the committee and it was passed by the house 
and also by the senate, thus becoming a law. He also drew up the bill for limiting 
the rate of taxation and indebtedness, which is still the law of the state of 
Massachusetts. He was reelected to the house and during his second term also 
rendered efficient and public-spirited service. He has made a careful study of the 
tariff and its effect upon the national life for many years and has long been 
prominent in tariff" reform work. In 1886 he was nominated for congress by a 
body of tariff reformers and received certain assurance of the democratic nomina- 
tion, which, however, was given to Hon. Leopold Morse, and General Stevens 
withdrew his candidacy. He warmly supported Grover Cleveland in his cam- 
paign for the presidency and made many speeches in his behalf in Massachusetts, 
Rhode Island and Connecticut. In 1908 he was a candidate for congress from 
the tenth congressional district of Massachusetts. At the time of the Spanish 
war he was strongly recommended for appointment as brigadier general, but as 
two citizens of Massachusetts had already been appointed to that rank President 
McKinley declined to appoint a third. 

In 1880 General Stevens erected a home on Mount Bowdoin, in the Dorchester 
district of Boston and resided there until 1914, during which time he did much 
to promote the interests of that community and continued in the successful prac- 
tice of law. In IQ14 he took up his residence in Olympia, where he has since 
made his home. He is now improving and carrying on the Cloverfields Farm and 
Dairy and supplying the people of Olympia with pure Holstein milk. He is 
president of the Olympia Tight & Power Company, one of the leading public 
utility corporations on the Pacific coast, and is recognized as a prominent figure 
in the business world of this section. 

General Stevens holds membership in the Society of the Cincinnati, to which 
only those are eligible who are descendants of the Revolutionary officers who 



188 WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 

founded the organization. He also belongs to the Loyal Legion, the Grand Army 
of the Republic, the Sons of the American Revolution, the Massachusetts Mil- 
Historical Society and the State Historical Societies of Washington, Oregon and 
Montana, in which he was elected to honorary membership. In 1901 he published 
a life of his father, Isaac Ingalls Stevens, which is recognized as an authority not 
only upon the life of its subject but also upon the earlier history of the Pacific 
northwest. In recognition of this work and of his varied public service Harvard 
College conferred upon him the degree of Master of Arts. In addition to this 
biography he has read many papers before the Mil-Historical Society of Massa- 
chusetts and the Loyal Legion, which were published by the society, among them 
being : "The Battle of Cedar Creek" ; "The Storming of the Lines of Peters- 
burg'" ; "The Sixth Corps in the Wilderness" ; "The Battle of Sailor's Creek" 
and "The Siege of Suffolk." In 1907 and 1908 he was the prime mover in a 
successful campaign to save the old state house from the encroachments of the 
Boston Transit Commission and drafted and secured the passage of the act placing 
that historic structure under the joint care of the governor of Massachusetts and 
the mayor of Boston and prohibiting any commercial use thereof. There is no 
need of comment as to his life, for the very record of his accomplishment renders 
words of praise superfluous. 



JULIUS A. STRATTON. 

Julius A. Stratton, member of the Seattle bar, has for more than six decades 
been identified with the builders of the empire of the northw^est, having become 
a resident of Oregon in 1854. He was then a lad of ten years, having been born 
in Indiana near Madison, on the 21st of October, 1844. His parents were Curtis 
P. and Lavinia (Fitch) Stratton, who in the year 1854 left Indiana and made 
their way to Oregon, settling in the Umpqua valley, where Julius A. Stratton lived 
until July, 1861, when he removed to Salem, Oregon, and entered the office of the 
Oregon Statesman. There he learned the printer's trade and worked steadily at 
the trade from 1861 until 1865, and thereafter at need until his graduation from 
Willamette University in 1879. He completed a classical course in that institu- 
tion and won the Bachelor of Arts degree. He studied law at Salem, Oregon, and 
was admitted to practice at the Oregon bar in 1871. The following year he took 
up his abode in Eugene, where he opened an office, but in 1874 removed to Port- 
land and in 1875 returned to Salem. He afterward engaged in the practice of 
his profession in Salem until 1881 and in the meantime was called to public office, 
serving for two years as clerk of the supreme court. In 1882 he was made 
superintendent of the Oregon state penitentiary and occupied that position for 
two years under Governor Moody. He was clerk of the supreme court and 
ex-officio reporter from 1884 until 1887. In February, 1888, he removed from 
Salem, Oregon, to Seattle, \vhere he has since made his home, and in 1889 he 
was appointed prosecuting attorney of King county to fill a vacancy caused by the 
death of W. W. Newlin. In January, 1890, he was appointed judge of the 
superior court of King county by Governor Ferry and at the next regular election 
declined to become a candidate for the office, preferring to concentrate his energies 



WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 189 

upon the private practice of his profession, in which he has won substantial and 
creditable success. 

In August, 1889, in Portland, Oregon, Mr. Stratton was united in marriage 
to Miss Martha L. Powell, who died in April, 1895. In August, 1900, at Victoria, 
British Columbia, he wedded Laura M. Adams, and they have a son, Julius. In 
politics Mr. Stratton is a republican but has never been an active party worker. 
He takes an interest in the welfare and upbuilding of Seattle, and he served as a 
member of the library board from 1898 until 1907, and for five years of that 
period was chairman of the board. In April, 1914, he was again appointed a 
member of the board, whereon he is now serving. He is a man of broad and 
scholarly attainments and association with him means expansion and elevation. 



WILLIAM SYLVIO DURAND, M. D. 

Dr. William Sylvio Durand, engaged in the practice of medicine and surgery 
in Everett, has by reason of broad study and wide experience gained distinction 
as one of the eminent physicians of western Washington. He occupies one of 
the finest homes in the city at No. 2329 Rucker street and his residence is the 
visible evidence of a well spent life, for he started out upon his business career 
empty handed. His realty holdings in Everett are extensive and he has unbounded 
faith in the future growth and prosperity of the city. 

Dr. Durand was born in Champion, Michigan, December 27, 1870, his par- 
ents being Alexander and Julia (Beaudoin) Durand. The father, a native of 
Canada, was born September 29, 1829, and was of French descent. In 1869 he 
removed to Michigan, becoming a pioneer settler of Marquette county, estab- 
lishing his home in the primeval forest. He became a heavy timber contractor, 
hewing the logs for mine timbers, the work being done by hand. He passed 
away in July, 1893, at the age of sixty-four years, his remains being interred at 
Champion, Michigan. His wife, who was born November 16, 1829, and was 
also of French lineage, passed away May 26, 1896, and was buried at Cham- 
pion. They reared a family of seven children, of whom four are yet living: 
Ernest, a stationary engineer of Republic, Michigan ; Telesphore, who is a hotel 
man of Baraga, Michigan ; and Lida, the wife of Philip Foucault, also of Baraga, 
Michigan. 

The youngest of the family is Dr. Durand, who was educated in the public 
and high schools of Champion and in the Michigan State Normal College at 
Ypsilanti, where he attended two years, 1890-91-92. He then became a school 
siiperintendent, passing the state examination for first-grade certificate, and for 
three years he was school superintendent at National Mine, Marquette county, 
Michigan. At a later date he entered the University of Michigan, which he 
attended for four years, and during that period he was for two years instructor 
in anatomy, teaching under Professor J. Play fair McMurrich, A. M., Ph. D., 
now professor of anatomy in the University of Toronto. Dr. Durand was grad- 
uated in 1899 with the M. D. degree and located for practice at Nashville, Michi- 
gan, where he remained for a year. 



190 WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 

Attracted by the opportunities of the growing northwest, Dr. Durand arrived 
in Everett, Washington, in August, 1900. He passed the state board examina- 
tion in January, 1901, and has since been continuously and successfully engaged 
in practice, devoting his attention largely to general surgical work. He belongs 
to the Snohomish County Medical Society, the W'ashington State Medical Asso- 
ciation and the American Medical Association. 

On Tuesday, April 16, 1901, in \'ancouver, British Columbia, Dr. Durand 
was joined in wedlock to Miss Margaret Reynolds, a native of Lindsay, Ontario, 
Canada, and a daughter of Joseph and Nellie (Cousins) Reynolds, who are resi- 
dents of Vancouver, British Columbia. Mr. and Mrs. Durand have three chil- 
dren, as follows : William Raynor, who was born in Everett, Washington, on 
the 7th of July, 1902; Charles Reynolds H., whose birth occurred in Everett, 
October 7, 1903; and Margaret Helen, born in Everett, June 15, 1908. 

The religious faith of the family is that of the Roman Catholic church and 
Dr. Durand is also connected with the Knights of Columbus. He has been called 
upon for many important public services, professionally and otherwise, and has 
discharged his duties with marked capability and fidelity. Under appointment of 
Mayor Roland H. Hartley he became a member of the Everett civil service com- 
mission and also served for many years as United States pension examiner. He 
has likewise been a member of the state board of health through appointment of 
Governor McBride. He has long been active in politics and has supported the 
republican party since casting his first presidential ballot. From the age of thir- 
teen he has made his own way in the world and his therefore is the notable 
record of a self-made man who by the sheer force of his determination and 
ability has gained prominence and success. 



WALTER B. CRAMMATTE. 

Walter B. Crammatte is president and manager of the x^berdeen Manufactur- 
ing Company, in which connection he is operating a plant utilized in woodworking. 
He has been a resident of Aberdeen for twenty-six years, arriving in that city 
from New York when a youth of sixteen, his birth having occurred in the eastern 
metropolis in 1874. His father, Louis J. Crammatte, died in New York city in 
1886. The mother, who bore the maiden name of Mary Benn, was born in Massa- 
chusetts and was a niece of Samuel Benn, the honored founder of Aberdeen. It 
was the fact that her uncle lived here that brought Mrs. Crammatte with her 
three children, Walter B., William and Elizabeth, to the coast. The daughter 
is now the wife of L. P. Dudley, of Aberdeen. Upon coming to Washington 
Mrs. Crammatte established a retail dry goods and millinery business, which she 
conducted for a considerable period or until 1904. She then retired and passed 
away March 27, 19 16. 

Walter B. Crammatte became the active assistant of his mother in the store 
and was so engaged for a numl^er of years, contributing much to the success of 
the business. Fie then turned his attention to real estate dealing, which he fol- 
lowed until he purchased the business of the Aberdeen Manufacturing Company 
in 1906. This company was organized December 22, 1899, with John A. Damitio 



WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 191 

* 

president; A. A. Damitio, treasurer; and John Heintz, secretary. They opened 
a woodworking factory and the business has been steadily continued from the 
beginning. With Mr. Crammatte's purchase of the business he became presi- 
dent and manager of the company, the other officers being WiUiam Crammatte, 
vice president, and F. M. WyHe, secretary. They have added new machinery 
and equipment and they manufacture anything in woodworking Hues, inchxding 
toys and detail work. Their product finds a ready sale on the market and they 
employ twenty-five people. Walter B. Crammatte is also a stockholder of the 
Grays Harbor Theatre Company, which he aided in organizing and which built 
the Grand theatre, with a seating capacity of twelve hundred. This too is proving 
a profitable undertaking. 

In 1903 Mr. Crammatte was married in Portland, Oregon, to Miss Alle G. 
Quackenbush, of Iowa, and they have two sons, William Walter and Alan Benn. 
Mr. Crammatte is a republican in his political allegiance and in 1907 was ap- 
pointed postmaster of Aberdeen, in which position he continuously served until 
191 5, making a creditable record by the prompt and faithful manner in which 
he discharged the duties of the position. Fraternally he is connected with the 
Benevolent Protective Order of Elks. He is a very active young business man, 
thoroughly interested in and devoted to the welfare of his city and state, and he 
possesses in liberal measure that spirit of enterprise which has brought about 
the present measure of progress and prosperity which Aberdeen enjoys. 



GEORGE E. STARRETT. 

George E. Starrett, now living retired in Port Townsend, has through the 
extent and variety of his business interests been closely identified with the de- 
velopment and upbuilding of the city, and through individual effort and ability 
he has worked his way upward to a place among the leading citizens of western 
Washington. The width of the continent separates him from his birthplace, 
for he is a native of Thomaston, Maine, where he was born on the 31st of 
October, 1854, his parents being Edwin and Cordelia (Merrick) Starrett, who 
were also natives of the Pine Tree state. In 1865 they removed to Illinois, set- 
tling at Liberty ville, Lake county. The year 1884 witnessed their arrival in Port 
Townsend, Washington. In early life the father was a ship carpenter and in 
Illinois he engaged in house building. Following his removal to Port Townsend 
he lived retired until his death, which occurred in 1890, when he had reached the 
age of seventy years. His wife passed away in Port Townsend in 1907, at 
the age of eighty-one years. They had a family of six children, four sons and 
two daughters, one son and the two daughters being now deceased. The others 
are: Danville William, living in Oakland, California; A. M., of Seattle; and 
George E., of Port Townsend. 

The last named was the second in order of birth in the family and in his 
boyhood days he attended school in Maine and in Illinois. He learned the car- 
penter's trade, also sawmill work and engaged in business as a carpenter and 
contractor in Port Townsend, having removed to this city in 1880. In 1888 he 
turned his attention to the undertaking business and also contracted and built 



192 WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 

• 

most of the houses in Port Townsend in the early days. He likewise purchased 
a sawmill which he operated from 1894 until 1909, when he closed down the 
plant and soon afterward sold out. Since that year he has lived retired from ac- 
tive business save for the management of his invested interests. His activity has 
even been of a character that has contributed to public progress and to the busi- 
ness development of the district in which he lives. 

On the 27th of February, 1887, in Seattle, Mr. Starrett was married to Miss 
Ann D. Van Bokkelen, a daughter of J. J. H. Van Bokkelen, a pioneer settler 
of Port Townsend and a noted Indian fighter who came to Washington by the 
overland route in 1849 ^"*^ ^^^ one of the first settlers of Port Townsend. He 
afterward became prominent as judge of the probate court of Jefferson county 
and he also filled the office of justice of the peace. His death occurred in Port 
Townsend in 1889, when he had reached the age of seventy-two years, and his 
wife passed away in 1885, at the age of sixty-four years. In 1914 Mr. Starrett 
was called upon to mourn the loss of his wife, who died on the loth of April, 
when fifty years of age, and was buried in the Port Townsend cemetery. She 
left a son, Morris E., and another child had died in infancy. Morris E. Starrett 
was born in Port Townsend in March, 1894, and is now a student in the Uni- 
versity of Notre Dame at Notre Dame, Indiana. 

In religious faith Mr. Starrett is a Roman Catholic and fraternally he is 
connected with the Woodmen of the World. He is a democrat in politics and 
for six terms he has filled the office of city councilman and also has been county 
commissioner and school director. He is ever loyal to public interests and active 
in support of those forces which he deems of greatest value to the community. 
His public spirit was shown in his offer of free factory sites, whereby he offered 
about eight acres of tide land" with eight hundred feet frontage on the bay to be 
used for factory sites. This land is situated near the old Fort Townsend mili- 
tary reservation, about a mile from the Mihvaukee terminal, and is on one of the 
most sheltered spots on the northern side of the bay. Through this ofifer Mr. 
Starrett has done much to upbuild the city and extend its business connections. 
He cooperates heartily in every movement for the general good and gives his 
aid and support where they are most needed to further the public welfare. 



ARCHIBALD STEWART PATRICK. 

One of the great sources of national prosperity is the coal fields. The land 
which must obtain its coal supplies from other countries necessarily must add to 
its manufactures the cost of the fuel, which constitutes the basic element of all 
motive power. That land is particularly fortunate therefore which has within the 
depths of the earth this source of wealth, and Washington has been particularly 
blessed in this regard — more so than other sections of the northwest. To Archi- 
bald Stewart Patrick is given the credit for the location of the great Roslyn coal 
fields, the product of which is acknowledged to be the best coal for domestic and 
steam purposes in the entire country. From the time of the discovery of the 
Roslyn fields Mr. Patrick was more or less closely cormected with the development 
of the mines in that district and today, having acquired a substantial competence 




AECHIBALD S. PATKICK 



THE NEW Yonw 
PM"C LIBHARY 

_____^;^^OUN D ATXON 



WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 195 

as the reward of his labors and business enterprise and abihty, he is now Hving 
retired in Tacoma, having a beautiful home at No. 924 North K street. He was 
born October 28, 1862, near Glasgow, Scotland, a son of James and Jean (Stewart) 
Patrick, who were also natives of that country. The father was a mine manager 
with the Murray & Cunningham Company for twenty years and in 1869 came 
with his family to America, settling near Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, where he 
resumed active connection with mining operations. Later he established his home 
at Churchill, Trumbull county, Ohio, where he retired from active business. He 
passed away in Reynoldsville, Pennsylvania, February 22, 1891. In his family 
were ten children, of whom seven are yet living. 

Archibald S. Patrick was the eighth in order of birth in that family. He 
obtained his early education in the public schools of Churchill, Ohio, and at the 
advice of his father took up mining as a life work. He was first connected with the 
nrm of Shepard & Company, coal mine operators at Boone, Iowa, and in 1883 
he went to Montana, where he became connected with the Northern Pacific Coal 
Company as mine contractor and foreman, occupying that position for three years. 
He was selected by the Northern Pacific Coal Company as one of six men to in- 
vestigate the future possibilities for coal supplies in the northwest and the first 
location of the party was the now well known Roslyn coal fields. Up to that time 
there had been but one discovery, known as the Dirty vein. The party ran several 
diamond drills through that section, this being the first diamond drilling for coal 
in the northwest. Mr. Patrick is accredited with the actual discovery of the rich 
Roslyn coal fields. The coal pitches on an average of about sixteen degrees and 
this field is the most regular -v^in in the northwest, while the quality is regarded 
as the best for domestic and steafti coal in the United States. Moreover, the Roslyn 
field produces more coal anntially than all of the rest of the state of Washington. 
Later Mr. Patrick was equipped with a diamond drill and sent by a party of the 
officials of the Northern Pacific and Union Pacific Railroad Companies on a private 
undertaking. He was to go to Vancouver island and make his way to an Indian 
reservation seventy miles southwest of Victoria, where he spent one season in 
search for coal without success. He then returned to Koslyn and began pros- 
pecting for coal and investigating coal formations on his own account, covering 
a wide territory that included a part of Oregon and the northwest. He visited 
the coal formations through the state of Washington and went to the Crows Nest 
in British Columbia. After a thorough investigation of these fields his opinion was 
'that the valuable coal fields were limited to the state of Washington and that there 
were no prospective values whatever in Oregon. 

After this investigation he was satisfied to apply all of his energy and efifort 
to secure some portion of the Roslyn coal field. He returned to the town of 
Roslyn and installed the waterworks there and did general contracting. He 
first ventured in the coal trade independently by organizing the Roslyn Coal Com- 
pany in 1898 in partnership with William MacKay and A. D. Hopper, of Spokane. 
At that time the Spokane Gas Company was controlled by the Hopper estate of 
Philadelphia and the Roslyn Coal Company supplied the Gas Company of Spokane 
with gas coal and also with domestic coal for the trade in the territory. The 
Roslyn Company continued its existence up to the time the Hopper estate disposed 
of the gas interests. Mr. Patrick then purchased Mr. Hopper's share in the busi- 
ness and he and Mr. MacKay became sole owners of the Roslyn Coal Company. 



196 WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 

He was afterward engaged in making a survey of the most valuable coal lands in 
the Roslyn fields. This property had been regarded by expert geologists and 
mining experts as practically worthless, but Mr. Patrick's knowledge of mining 
fields was such that he was led to the belief that it was the best coal producing 
district of the northwest, and this belief has for seven years found practical demon- 
stration in the quality and quantity of the coal produced in the field. In 1905, Air. 
Patrick with C. X. Larabee, William MacKay and Cyrus Gates organized the 
Roslyn Cascade Coal Company, which is operating two mines in this district that 
will continue to produce coal in abundance for many years. There is perhaps no 
one better informed concerning the coal fields of the northwest and his efforts have 
been a most important element in their development. 

On the ist of January, 1891, Mr. Patrick was married at Youngstown, Ohio, to 
Miss Euphemia Simpson, a daughter of Henry and Jennie (Burrows) Simpson, 
both of whom were natives of Scotland and on coming to America settled in Ohio. 
Six children have been born to Mr. and Mrs. Patrick : Jean, Mary and Nellie, who 
have completed school ; James Stewart, who was a student in DeKoven Hall and is 
now attending the Lowell school in Tacoma ; Harry Simpson, also attending 
school ; and Euphemia, who completes the family. 

After spending twenty-five years in the mining business, most of the time in 
Roslyn, Mr. Patrick came to Tacoma, desiring to give his children the benefit of the 
educational opportunities there to be secured and recognizing the desirability of 
the city in other ways as a place of residence. He himself had little opportunity to 
attend school, but throughout his life by his wide experience he has added to his 
knowledge and is today a well informed and practical business man who deserves 
much credit for what he has accomplished. He belongs to the Masonic fraternity, 
in which he has attained the thirty-second degree of the Scottish Rite, and for 
several years he served as master in the lodge. In politics he has always been an 
active republican and he and his family are loyal adherents of the Presbyterian 
church. His entire life has been characterized by high and honorable principles 
and worthy purposes and his indefatigable energy, keen sagacity and sound judg- 
ment have brought him success, while the integrity of his business methods and 
the high ideals to which he has adhered have gained him a most creditable and 
enviable standing in the regard of his fellowmen. His is a happy temperament and 
genial disposition and he has a circle of friends who have ever held him in the 
warmest esteem. 



JAMES B. WILSON. 



James B. Wilson, connected with mercantile interests at Ferndale as man- 
ager of a store, has been identified with the development of Whatcom county 
for more than a third of a century. He was one of the pioneers of Ferndale 
and has been active in its public affairs as councilman and mayor. He was 
born in Pennsylvania in 1856 and on leaving the Keystone state in 1883. when 
a young man of twenty-seven years, removed westward to Washington. He 
made his way to Seattle, afterward spent a brief period at Port Blakeley and 
then by boat went to Bellingham, there being no trains or wagon roads at that 



WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 197 

time to Bellingham. From the latter place he followed a trail to Ferndale, 
where he found a few people and one store and a blacksmith shop. That con- 
stituted the entire settlement. He took up government land, securing one hun- 
dred and sixty acres which was entirely destitute of improvements. He soon 
afterward returned to Port Blakeley, where he remained for another year, and 
then again came to Ferndale, where he established a store, continuing to engage 
in general merchandising on his own account until 191 5, when his establish- 
ment was destroyed by fire. Since that time he has been manager of another 
store and thus remains an active factor in the commercial life of the community. 
In 1893 Mr. Wilson was united in marriage to Miss Maggie Roessel, of 
Ferndale, who was born in Michigan. They hold membership in the Congre- 
gational church, and fraternally Mr. Wilson is connected with the Knights of 
Pythias and with the Benevolent Protective Order of Elks at Bellingham. His 
political endorsement is given to the republican party, and he has done effective 
work for public progress as an office holder. He has served as a member of 
the city council and for two terms was mayor of Ferndale, his influence being 
always on the side of progress and improvement. It was during his incum- 
bency in that office that the paving was done and the sidewalks built in Fern- 
dale. He has long been a prominent and active member of the Whatcom County 
Pioneers Association, which he joined on its organization and which now has 
a membership of three hundred and fifty. For eight years he served as its 
president and he greatly enjoys meeting with the early residents of the county, 
their memories of pioneer times forming a strong connecting link between them. 



JACOB BETZ. 



Jacob Betz, ever a good citizen, active in support and furtherance of Tacoma's 
best interests, was born on the loth of November, 1843, in the Rhine province 
of Bavaria, Germany, and his life record spanned the intervening years to the 
1 6th of November, 191 2. He was educated in the schools of Germany and 
America, having been brought to this country in 1848 when a little lad of but 
five summers. He arrived in California before the Civil war and there engaged 
in mining until 1870, when he removed" to Walla Walla, Washington, where 
he erected a brewery which he operated for a long period. During his resi- 
dence in eastern Washington his interests became extensive but at length he 
disposed of all of his holdings in that part of the state and in i(p4 established 
his home in Tacoma. Here he purchased the Sprague block on Pacific avenue 
and at once began to remodel the building, which he improved in every way. 
He converted it into two hotels and also changed the store buildings and he 
installed therein the largest heating plant in the city. He also purchased the 
Hosmer residence at 610 Broadway and remodeled it into a most beautiful and 
attractive home. Since his death his family have carried out his plans and have 
erected an addition to the Sprague block on Fifteenth street. This property 
affords an excellent income to his heirs. 

Mr. Betz was married in Walla Walla to Miss Augusta Wilson, who re- 
moved from California to Washington in 1866. To them were born five chil- 



198 WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 

dren, namely: Katherine; Jacob, Jr., who is deceased; Eleanor; Harry; and 
Augustus. 

Mr. Betz was appreciative of the social amenities of life and found pleasant 
companionship in the Union and Country Clubs, of both of which he was a 
member. He also belonged to the Independent Order of Odd Fellows, in which 
he filled all of the chairs. In politics he was a republican, ever active in sup- 
port of the party, working earnestly for its interests. Five times he was honored 
with election to the mayoralty of Walla Walla and five times to the city council 
and it was during his administration that the waterworks fight in Walla Walla 
was on. He won the case for the city in the United States supreme court and 
thus gave to the city one of its most important public utilities. In business and 
in public afifairs his judgment was keen and penetrating and his opinions sound 
and logical. What he accomplished represented the fit utilization of his innate 
powers and talents. 



JOHN E. GILCHRIST. 



John E. Gilchrist, owner of the Willapa Harbor Iron Works at South Bend, 
began business at his present location in a small way as a blacksmith in 1890 
and from that humble beginning has developed his present extensive plant, mak- 
ing his one of the foremost industrial concerns of the town. He is a native of 
Scotland, his birth having occurred at Greenock in i860. He attended the public 
schools there and afterward learned the ship blacksmith's trade. He came to 
the United States when twenty-three years of age, thinking to find better busi- 
ness opportunities on this side the Atlantic, and in 1883 he made his way direct 
to Idaho, after which he engaged in blacksmithing at the various mining camps. 
From Idaho he came to South Bend and began business at his present location 
in a small way as a blacksmith in 1890. He afterward built a logging equipment 
with the famous Gilchrist self-oiling blocks and the output of his establishment, 
the Hercules logging jack, has been shipped to all parts of the world, a shipment 
being made to Siam in ]\Iay, 191 6. He makes all kinds of marine engine repairs 
and mill repairs and in his foundry is done all kinds of iron casting. His black- 
smith shop is splendidly equipped for light and heavy work of all kinds and 
twelve men, all skilled mechanics and draughtsmen, are employed. Mr. Gilchrist 
started out as a blacksmith but has gradually worked his way upward in con- 
nection with mill and logging work. He has added machinery and all the most 
modern equipment for a machine shop and he is the possessor of twelve dififerent 
patents on heavy logging machinery. He originated the high lead block, used 
as the most modern method of logging, and he manufactures blocks weighing 
from twenty-five to nine hundred and fifty pounds each. He was also the orig- 
inator of the Gilchrist logging jack, a most powerful one, whereby two men can 
lift sixteen tons. Mr. Gilchrist is today a very prosperous business man and is 
one of South Bend's citizens whose record is at all times creditable. His plant 
is operated continuously, for he never lost a day during the hard times, and he 
pays excellent salaries to his employes, giving to each one a fair living wage. 



WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 199 

At the Alaska-Yukon Exposition, held in Seattle, he received the gold medal and 
the grand prize for the Hercules logging jack sheaves and logging block. 

Mr. Gilchrist holds membership in the Commercial Club and he gives his 
political allegiance to the republican party. He is especially fond of children, his 
sympathies going out at all times to them, and he is a public-spirited man who 
never withholds his aid or cooperation from any movement that he believes will 
benefit the community. 



WILLIAM H. BONER. 



William H. Boner, manager at Everett for the Weyerhaeuser Lumber Com- 
pany, has through the steps of an orderly progression worked his way upward 
to his present position of trust and responsibility in business circles. He was 
born in Milan, Sullivan county, Missouri, January 23, 1863. His father, Henry 
Boner, a native of Indiana, was a son of Henry Boner, Sr., who was born in the 
north of Ireland and became the founder of the American branch of the family, 
settling in Indiana His son and namesake became a successful merchant of 
Milan. Missouri, where for many years he also filled the position of postmaster. 
At the time of the Civil war he put aside all business and personal consider- 
ations in order to espouse the Union cause and went to the front with a Missouri 
regiment of volunteers. His wife, who bore the maiden name of Mary Smith, 
is a native of Pennsylvania and a daughter of William Smith of EngHsh birth, 
settling in the Keystone state on coming from England to the new world. 
Henry Boner has now passed away, but his widow survives and resides at the old 
home in Milan. Two of their children are yet living. William H. and John, the 
latter also a resident of Milan. 

William H. Boner acquired his education in the public and high schools of 
his native city and also attended a business college. On attaining his majority 
he started out in life independently, establishing a retail lumberyard at Milan, 
in which business he engaged successfully for a time, and for a period of four 
years he was also in business in Nebraska. Thinking to find broader opportu- 
nities in the northwest, he came to the Pacific coast in 1889 and for a brief period 
was with the Northwestern Lumber Company at Hoquiam. from which point 
he was transferred to South Bend. Later the business was conducted under the 
name of the Simpson Lumber Company and for seventeen years Mr. Boner was 
associated with that company in the capacity of general manager, developing 
the business to large and important proportions. In 1907 he became connected 
with the Weyerhaeuser Lumber Company at Everett, taking charge of the busi- 
ness, and as manager has since conducted the interests of the company at that 
place. Throughout his entire business career he has been connected with the 
lumber trade and there is no phase of the business, from the point of its initial 
development to the time when sales are consummated, with which he is not thor- 
oughly familiar. That important interests are now in his control is indicated 
in the fact that at the Weyerhaeuser plant in Everett employment is furnished 
to six hundred people and they turn out seven hundred and fifty thousand 
feet of lumber in ten hours. He also has supervision over the Bayside plant, 



200 WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 

which covers thirty-six acres, and a new plant of eighty acres on the river side 
at Everett. In addition to his connection with the lumber trade Mr. Boner is a 
director of the First National Bank of Everett. 

In 1888, at Milan, Missouri, occurred the marriage of Mr. Boner and Miss 
Tennessee Winters, a native of Missouri and a daughter of James and Nancy 
(McAfee) Winters, representatives of an old Missouri family. Mr. and Mrs. 
Boner have two children : Beatrice, born in Milan ; and I'Lee, born in Everett. 
The family reside at No. 3306 Norton avenue. 

Politically Mr. Boner is a republican, well versed on the questions and issues 
of the day but without ambition in the line of office holding. He belongs to the 
Cascade Club and to the Everett Golf and Country Club and he is also an active 
supporter of the Commercial Club. He displays the spirit of western enterprise 
which has brought about the phenomenal growth and development of the Pacific 
northwest and his own career is an exemplification of the possibilities of accom- 
plishment in a business way in this favored section of the country. 



DONALD E. ?^IcGILLIVRAY, M. D. 

■ Dr. Donald E. McGillivray, one of the founders and promoters of the Port 
Angeles General Hospital, has gained enviable distinction in professional ranks 
and yet has not confined his efiforts solely to a single line, for he is also a promi- 
nent figure in financial circles and in citizenship has contributed largely to public 
progress and improvement. He was born in Ontario, Canada, June 2, 1872, a 
son of Cornelius and Mary (Nicholson) McGillivray, natives of Scotland and 
of Canada respectively. In his boyhood Cornelius McGillivray came to the new 
world with his father, Malcolm McGillivray. He was reared, educated and mar- 
ried in Ontario and there engaged in business as a contractor, as a lumberman 
and as a farmer, remaining in that country until his death, which occurred May 
12, 1916, when he was seventy-three years of age. His widow survives at the 
age of sixty-six years. 

Dr. McGillivray, the eldest of their nine children, attended the Canadian 
schools in his boyhood days and afterward became a student in the College of 
Kincardine, Ontario, and also in Trinity University of Ontario, from which he 
was graduated in 1899 on the completion of a course in medicine. He entered 
upon active practice in his native country but in 1900 removed to Port Angeles, 
where he has since practiced with eminent success, his ability growing as the 
result of his further varied study and broad experience. For many years he has 
been recognized as one of the best physicians and surgeons in the Pacific north- 
west. Realizing the need of a hospital in Port Angeles, he joined with S. W. 
Hartt in establishing the Port Angeles General Hospital, but Dr. McGillivray 
has been in complete control and ownership for a long time. In recognition of 
his surgical skill many important cases for operation have been taken imme- 
diately to the hospital, where they have been treated with uniform success, adding 
further to the reputation of the institution. The latest surgical and hospital ap- 
pliances and equipment have been provided and most competent nurses are 
employed, ensuring the best care and attention. During the period of his resi- 



WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 201 

dence in the northwest Dr. McGillivray has acquired a large amount of property. 
He has also become actively interested in the banking business as a stockholder, 
a director and vice president of the Port Angeles Savings Bank. 

In June, 1903, in Port Angeles, Dr. McGillivray was united in marriage to 
Miss Corinne Lane, a daughter of Albert D. Lane, of Montpelier, Vermont, whose 
father was the founder of the Lane Manufacturing Company. Dr. and Mrs. 
McGillivray hold membership in the Episcopal church and he stands very high 
in Masonic circles, holding membership in Nile Temple of the Mystic Shrine at 
Seattle. He also belongs to the Benevolent Protective Order of Elks and the 
Knights of Pythias. He is deeply interested in community affairs and for ten 
years served as county physician and has also been president of the board of 
education. He belongs to the Clallam County, the Washington State and the 
American Medical Associations, was a delegate to the convention of the last 
named at Detroit in 191 6 and has been elected as delegate to the convention to be 
held in December, 191 7, in New York city. He stands very high in professional 
circles and has the largest practice in Clallam county and yet he finds time for 
cooperation in affairs of general moment. He has taken a deep interest in all 
civic questions and particularly in educational matters and as president of the 
school board for the last eight years has done much to bring the schools of Port 
Angeles to their present high standing and is very largely responsible for the erec- 
tion of the new high school building which constitutes a most attractive feature 
of Port Angeles' present school system. Progressiveness has been the keynote 
of his character, dominating him in every relation. 



HERMAN CHAPIN. 



Herman Chapin has been a prominent figure in financial circles in Seattle 
for almost three decades and is thoroughly familiar with the history of business 
advancement here. Plis capability in recognizing and utilizing opportunities has 
been a strong feature in his growing success and his course is indicative of what 
may be accomplished when determination and laudable ambition lead the way. 

Mr. Chapin was born at Brookline, Massachusetts, on the 29th of June, 1858, 
his parents being Nathaniel Gates and Harriet Louisa Chapin. He prepared for 
college at the school conducted by H. W. C. Noble at No. 40 Winter street, 
Boston, and in 1875 he entered Harvard College, from which he was graduated 
in 1879 w^th the degree of Bachelor of Arts. Following his graduation he was 
associated for nine months with the firm of Chapin & Edwards, of Chicago, the 
senior partner being his brother. Later he was connected with the Massachusetts 
National Bank in Boston and in August, 1886, he came to Seattle, where he 
organized the Boston National Bank in the fall of 1889. In the meantime, or 
in 1887-88, he erected the Boston block and Colonial building at Second avenue 
and Columbia street and a row of houses on Pike street and Sixth avenue, thus 
becoming identified with the material improvement of the city. At intervals 
during the succeeding fifteen years he erected the Rialto building at Second 
avenue and Madison street, the MacDougall and Southwick building at Second 
avenue and Pike street, the Seattle National Bank building at Second avenue 



202 WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 

and Columbia street (the successor to the Colonial building), the Pythian building 
at First avenue and Pike street, the Bon Marche building at First avenue and 
Union street, the W. P. Fuller building at second avenue and Jackson street, 
and the wholesale building at Third avenue South and Jackson street. His 
operations have thus been extensive in building lines and Seattle owes many of 
her finest structures to his efforts. Moreover, he has figured equally prominently 
in financial circles, having been president of the Boston National Bank for about 
fifteen years, president of the Washington Savings & Loan Association for seven- 
teen years and a director of the Seattle National Bank for several years. 

On the 15th of June, 1898, in Seattle, Mr. Chapin was united in marriage 
to Miss Mary Arquit, who died July 17, 1900. Mr. Chapin is a Unitarian by 
birth and association and in politics is a republican but not an aggressive partisan. 
He belongs to the most prominent clubs of the city, including the Rainier, the 
University, the Athletic, the College and the Seattle Golf Clubs of Seattle, and 
to the Union Club of Tacoma. An eminent statesman has said that the finest 
type of American citizen is the man who is born and reared in the east but seeks 
the west with its opportunities, in which to give scope to his dominant qualities. 
The training and culture of the east find a field of expression in shaping the 
golden west and in developing the great cosmopolitan cities which have sprung up 
on the Pacific coast. Such has been the work of Herman Chapin, and his eft'orts 
has been far-reaching and beneficial, constituting an important element in Seattle's 
advancement and prosperity. 



JAMES STEWART. 

There was no Aberdeen and there were but two families on the river and but 
eight hundred inhabitants in Chehalis county when James Stewart, now deceased, 
became one of the residents of Chehalis, now Grays Harbor, county, and from 
that time forw^ard until his death he was closely connected with the development 
and upbuilding of his adopted state. He was born in Perthshire, Scotland, in 
1840, and had therefore reached the sixty-sixth milestone on life's journey when 
he passed away in Aberdeen on the 30th of May, 1906. He had come to 
America in i860. In his boyhood days he had learned the stonemason's trade and 
much of his life was devoted to business of that character. Early in i860 he went 
to Mobile, Alabama, and he was much interested in the question of the abolition 
of slavery. While he was in that city the Civil war broke out and he was forced 
to enlist in the southern army, becoming a member of the Mississippi Rifles, into 
which he was mustered in April, 1861. by Joe Davis, a brother of Jefferson 
Davis. As soon as possible, however, he left the Confederate forces and in 
May joined the Union armv as a member of Company D, Fifth Ohio Infantry, 
under Captain Hayes. After two months at Camp Denison the troops were 
sent to Parkersburg, West Virginia, and the first battle in which Mr. Stewart 
participated was at Baleus Gap in 1862. He also took part in the engagement 
at Paw Paw Station and was at Winchester, Kentucky, under General Shields, 
where in the fierceness of the conflict the colors were shot into tatters. He was 
also at Fort Republic, where his regiment lost one hundred and eighty in dead 




JAMES STEWART 



THE NEW YOKK 
PUBLIC LIBRARY 



ASTOK, LENOX 
TILDEN FOUNDATION 



WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 205 

and wounded. He was likewise at Culpeper and at Cedar Mountain, was in the 
battles of Bull Run, Antietam, Bristow's Station, Fairfax Courthouse and South 
Mountain. After a few weeks spent in winter quarters the regiment was sent to 
reinforce General Burnside at Fredericksburg but was stopped on account of 
bad roads. In January, 1863, they participated in a hotly contested engagement 
at Dumfries and later they were at Aqua Creek, where Mr. Stewart's command 
became a part of the Twelfth Army Corps upon its reorganization under General 
Slocum. He later participated in the hotly contested engagement at Chancellors- 
ville, lasting three days, and through Maryland marched northward to Gettysburg, 
also taking part in the three days' sanguinary conflict at that place. With his 
command he was then sent to New York to aid in quelling a riot and two weeks 
later was in Washington, D. C, where his corps was consolidated with the 
Eleventh Army Corps and subsequently became a part of the Twentieth Army 
Corps under General Hooker. Mr. Stewart went with the Army of the Cumber- 
land to Lookout Mountain, where he participated in the battle of the clouds, and 
was afterward in the engagements at Missionary Ridge. Buzzards Roost and 
Bridgeport. Early in 1864 he took part in the battle of Resaca, a most terrific 
conflict, in which the regiment was torn to pieces. All of the original members 
of the regiment were afterwards sent to Cincinnati and there mustered out after 
rendering more than three years' service to the Union cause. In April, 1865, he 
reenlisted with Hancock's Veterans, becoming a member of Company D of the 
Eighth Regiment, under Colonel Pierce. With that command he was sent to 
Washington for guard duty and on to Trenton, New Jersey, but later returned 
to Washington, where he was mustered out,i reaching Cincinnati in 1866. This 
was one of the few regiments which as aii organization returned, but only nine- 
teen of the original troops were left. 

In July, 1867, Mr. Stewart was united in marriage to Miss Jean Brodie 
Kelman at Cincinnati, Ohio. She was born in Aberdeen, Scotland, December 22, 
1847, and the following spring was brought by her parents to America, the 
voyage being made in one of the old-time sailing vessels. They first went' to 
Canada but thence removed to Cincinnati, Ohio. The father was a baker by 
trade and in his business met with both reverses and success. He passed away 
in Cincinnati, after which his widow removed to Rock Island, Illinois, and 
subsequently to Aberdeen, Washington, where she died at a very advanced age. 

Following his marriage Mr. Stewart worked on the Lincoln monument at 
Springfield, Illinois, and was afterward at Carlinville, at Chicago and at Rock 
Island, that state. He started for the western coast on the 6th of January. 1875. 
making his way to British Columbia, after which he engaged in contracting and 
building at Nanaimo, building a bonded warehouse for Hurst & Company. He 
then went to Seattle, where he became a contractor for the stonemason work 
on the original Dexter Horton Bank building. Later he went to Tacoma, where 
he aided in building the Annie Wright church, and in September, 1875, he arrived 
in what is now Aberdeen. While in Seattle Mr. Yesler assisted Mr. Stewart in 
obtaining living quarters in a house which was next door to the old pavilion. 
At that time Aberdeen did not exist. Mr. Stewart purchased the old Scammon 
homestead of three hundred acres, most of which was covered with timber, only 
a small portion having been cleared. He turned his attention to farming but 
was not successful in that undertaking and left Aberdeen for California, where 

Toi. n— 11 



206 WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 

he obtained work at his trade in order to obtain more funds, remaining some 
time and then returning to Washington. Later when the Hoquiam mill was 
located, Mr. Stewart began getting out logs for the mill and continued in that 
business. From time to time he purchased other property until he became the 
owner of twelve hundred acres of timber land in addition to his original claim. 
He met many hardships in the early days and the things which he was forced to 
endure in gaining a start undermined his health, but he possessed marked energy 
and determination and would not give up. 

To Mr. and Mrs. Stewart were born eight children, but only two are living, 
Albert James and Malcolm MacKinzie, both residents of Aberdeen and estab- 
lished in business there. Mr. Stewart was always greatly interested in the 
upbuilding of the city and served as one of its early councilmen. He was a man 
of very generous spirit. His life was at all times honorable and upright and 
gained for him the enduring regard of all with whom he was brought in contact. 

Mrs. Stewart still makes her home in Aberdeen and is a very active woman, 
having taken up the business left by her husband. She, too, has ever worked 
untiringly and effectively for the welfare of the community and it was she who 
suggested the name of Aberdeen for the town, which name was accepted by 
Mr. Benn, the founder of the city. She has never failed to extend a helping hand 
whenever she could to a fellow traveler on life's journey. Her splendid business 
ability, her executive force, her benevolence and kindliness have all combined to 
make her one of the valued residents of Aberdeen. She possesses notable mental 
and moral force and she and her husband have made the name of Stewart an 
honored one throughout their part of the state. Mrs. Stewart has written much 
over a period of years in both prose and poetry, her contributions appearing in 
various papers in the east. Her work is of high order and we append herewith 
a poem which was read at the 191 1 Christmas meeting of the Aberdeen Pioneer 
Association. 

The ties are there, the rails are here, 

In front of my own door ; 

The longed for time has come at last, 

The anxious days are o'er. 

I waited nearly forty years 

To see that track laid down. 

For, do you know? We dreamed of it 

Before this was a town. 

When bruin roamed these hills at large 

With little to molest ; 

When in the tall trees' topmost boughs 

The eagle built its nest ; 

When antlered elk and timid deer 

Came hither unafraid, 

And pheasants reared their pretty broods, 

In every mossy glade. 



WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 207 

When flocks of migratory geese 
Would light to browse the grass, 
And ducks that drifted in the stream 
In noisy glee would pass. 
The very fishes were so tame 
It seemed a cruel sin, 
That we should use a hook and line 
To draw the creatures in. 

I well remember one great bird 

That was, indeed, a friend, 

It roosted in a dead spruce tree 

Which stood at Stewart's bend. 

From there, this self appointed guard. 

Relieving us of fear, 

Would fly above the stream and croak, 

If anything came near. 

And no one ever dipped an oar. 

Nor drifted with the tide. 

Who reached our dwelling unannounced, 

Until the old crane died. 

We missed its signal very much 

And mourned a faithful friend, 

Long after it had ceased to guard 

The eddy at the bend. 

Now, up the Wishkah, as of old, 
We drift again entranced. 
How fondly memory lingers where 
The sun kissed ripples danced. 
Then, passing into deeper shade. 
While every care takes wing; 
Watches the trout dart in and out, 
And hears the wild birds sing. 

Each bend, more charming than the last, 

Seems an enchanted lake. 

Its banks embroidered gorgeously 

With blooming shrubs and brake — 

I wonder, when the evil one 

Disturbed its dream of bliss, 

Were Eden's streams more clear, more calm, 

More beautiful than this? 

Was the sky o'er Eden bluer? 
Was the breeze more soft and sweet? 
With a rhythm that is truer 
Did the heart of nature beat? 



208 WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 

Did the creatures from the forest 
View man with less of fear? 
Did Eve and Adam loitering there 
Feel God more strangely near! 

Those dear, dear days of auld lang syne, 

How full, how rich they were ! 

The memories that round them twine 

My deepest being stir — 

O, Time, withhold your ruthless hands. 

Stay your rapacious will. 

Though life must fail, leave memory 

My latest pulse to thrill ! 

This was an isolated land. 

Across our harbor bar. 

No ship came in from any port. 

By any chart or star. 

Yet, not for this did courage fail, 

We knew a way was clear. 

For Captain Gray, long years before. 

Had safely anchored here. 

Of male and female, old and young. 

The population then. 

For miles and miles, round here about, 

Was less than ten times ten. 

Our neighbors being thus remote. 

And trails so very few, 

Of course we learned to row a boat 

Or paddle a canoe. 

We gave to each new settler 

A welcome most sincere. 

Nor did we rate them then, as now, 

For paltry gold or gear. 

We knew each had intrinsic worth, 

And this we sought to find. 

One passport never questioned 

Was a clean and lucid mind. 

Lonesome, you ask? How could we be? 

We had our books and flowers ; 

A cozy home ; a cheerful hearth ; 

And those dear babes of ours. 

And hearts aglow with gratitude 

To Him who dwells above, 

For all the gifts that Nature brings 

In token of His love. 



WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 209 

In smiling confidence we toiled, 

Hope made our labor light, 

We gave the day to duty and 

To rest, we gave the night. 

And, when the babes were tucked away. 

What wondrous dreams had birth 

As we sat and watched the ruddv flames 

That flickered on the hearth. 

We saw a city building here, 

We knew it would be great; 

And, for our dreams' fulfillment, guessed 

We had not long to wait. 

The dense old forest passed away, 

And every sunny slope 

Was dotted with the happy homes 

Of people blessed with hope. 

We could hear the rattling halyards 

Of ships to come from sea ; 

Hear the shrieks of locomotives. 

Over roads that were to be ; 

See the first train speeding hither, 

With Fate aboard to drive, 

But could not learn the scheduled hours 

At which they should arrive. 

And all the while we dreamed those dreams. 

The ax, the frow, the maul. 

The brushhook and the cross-cut saw, 

With our garden tools, were all 

That any rancher here could boast. 

No wheel had yet been turned 

Of all the vast machinery 

Which has our greatness earned. 



&' 



To claim the things we did not have 
A healthy memory scorns. 
So, I admit, our finest teams 
Had bovine hoofs and horns. 
If put upon the race course. 
They would not have won a cheer; 
Yet, for a downright, nervy tug, 
You trust the brawny steer. 

With these, their only helpers, 
And the tools that were to hand, 
The pioneers worked skilfully 
To open this good land. 



210 WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 

Sometimes they toiled in weariness, 
Yet not as slaves, not they ! 
For love, that set their hardest tasks, 
Lent gladness to the way. 

I feel my pulses bound again. 
As to a glorious theme ; 
When these brave men and women 
Rise before me while I dream. 
For no philosopher of fame 
More noble lessons taught : 
Nor hero, borne from any field. 
With greater courage fought. 

Ah ! Whither shall we seek them now ? 

A few are with us still. 

But some, in deep forgetfulness, 

Are sleeping on the hill. 

Like tears of sympathy from heaven, 

Dew glitters on the sod, 

That wraps the graves of those we loved 

And gave again to God. 

'Tis well. Dear Lord, They will be done. 

Thus all shall slumber soon! 

While we are passing, one by one, 

Our anxious hearts attune 

To that sure, simple, childlike faith 

That leans on Thee alone ; 

Knowing that whoso asks for bread 

Shall not receive a stone. 

Your pardon? I had quite digressed, 

How memory will stray ! 

Let us go back and view the work 

Accomplished in that day. 

The ax swings with a telling stroke ; 

The saw triumphant sings ; 

Earth trembles, for the tree descends ; 

The woodsman backward springs. 

•From that tall cedar, boards were rived 

To build our homes. The stairs 

Were rived from hemlock, spruce or fir, 

Like our tables, beds and chairs. 

Those tables, though they did not groan 

'Neath festal dainties, yet, 

.A.fforded many a wholesome meal, 

\\'ith careful neatness set. 



WASHINGTON. WEST OF THE CASCADES 211 

For we could raise the biggest spuds, 
My ! but those spuds were fine ! 
And better for a hungry guest 
Then a banquet served with wine. 
And the cream, rich and delicious. 
The butter, fresh and sweet, 
Bacon and eggs, all home produced, 
Would tempt a king to eat. 

In scattered garden patches. 

Which were cultivated too. 

Crisp lettuce, radish, cucumbers, 

Snap beans and peas, we grew. , 

These, with cabbage, great, white, solid heads, 

Squash, turnips, carrots, beets. 

Onions and other flavoring herbs. 

Our garden list completes. 

But He who led the Israelites, 

And led the pioneer. 

Had made provision, long before. 

To welcome us with cheer. 

So, Nature, with most lavish hands, 

And what seemed reckless haste, 

Brought forth, in great variety. 

Fruits, pleasing to the taste. 

Which, like a graceful hedge, compact. 

Skirted the river's brink. 

Where wild things came at morn and eve 

To sun themselves and drink. 

Each hungry creature ate its fill, 

Yet left a liberal share : 

And, when we all were satisfied. 

There still was much to spare. 

Ah. Thou, most generous and kind. 
Our Father, God and Friend, 
Who fed us thus abundantly. 
Still to our wants attend. 
And give to each that purer sense. 
Whereby the soul may see. 
Even in its dreaded journey hence, 
A loving Deity. 

Up the Chehalis river, 
Some twelve long miles or more, 
At a place called Montesano then. 
John Esmond kept a store. 



212 WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 

Another place of merchandise 
Was nowhere to be found, 
So far as we had knowledge of, 
From the sea to Puget Sound. 

And there we did our purchasing. 

In spring and summer time, 

The trips between were full of joy, 

And the scenery sublime. 

When winter's chilling torrents poured, 

And waves warred with the breeze. 

Though we their fury oft ignored, 

A stout heart it would tease. 

And once a fortnight, rain or shine. 

We used to trudge the trail ; 

Or to paddle down the Wishkah 

Prospecting for the mail. 

The carrier, en route below. 

When tides did not prevent, 

Would leave our budget at "Benn's Point" 

With small reward content. 

Benn's, Loos', Tyler's, Young's and we 

All used the self-same box. 

Nailed firmly to a great spruce tree, 

And innocent of locks. 

Its hinges, if my memory serves. 

Were simply cut from leather. 

Yet it sufficed to hold the mail 

Through every wind and weather. 

Though letters, and the magazines 

Were very precious then, 

(For weeks must pass if one were lost 

Ere it was found again). 

No hint of insecurity 

Disturbed us while we slept. 

And let me say, the mail today 

Is not more safely kept. 

There were no lawyers here, those days. 
Nor bitter — harsh disputes. 
No doctors ; and the deaths were few. 
Few preachers. And the brutes, 
Who masquerade in human form. 
Were rare, yes, rare indeed. 
It almost seems that to possess 
Is to create the need. 



WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 213 

How changed — how changed ! 'Tis wonderful 

Beyond our wildest dreams. 

What mighty engines have displaced 

The plodding old ox teams. 

The tallow dip has given way 

To electricity. 

I stagger when I try to guess 

At changes yet to be. 

Like riffles curling o'er the sands, 

A human tide has flowed, 

'Till tens of thousands dwell today 

Where once that few abode. 

And youths who now are in their teens. 

Think well ere you deny. 

Shall see a half a million here, 

Ere they are old as I. 

Why doubt? Look toward the east and see 

The work that has been wrought 

While electricity applied 

Existed but in thought. 

And this stupendous factor. 

Conceive what it must mean ! 

Is to be fully utilized 

In building Aberdeen. 

And your own loyalty and faith 

Are mighty factors too; 

For they encourage us to dare 

And strengthen us to do. 

"Tis by their aid that we accept 

The bitter with the sweet, 

Holding the city's weal above 

The hardships we may meet. 

Fate fondly nurtures on these hills 

A young metropolis. 

Its eager lips are at her breast. 

She bends its brow to kiss. 

And heralds now are faring forth 

The infant to proclaim. 

In far of¥ cities of the world 

Their torches soon shall flame. 

Yet, lonely in the very midst. 
Like some poor orphaned child, 
I turn, from all the noise and glare, 
Back to the forest wild. 



214 WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 

Oh ! for a time, however brief, 

In tangled woods to stray — 

To drift and dream adown the stream 

One day — one bHssful day ! 



CHARLES WARREN MAYNARD. 

Charles Warren Maynard, manager of the Olympia Knitting Mills Company, 
deserves practically the entire credit for the success of this concern, as when he 
took charge of its afifairs it was on the verge of bankruptcy. He has built up 
its business until its trade extends into many sections of the country and today 
It is one of the leading productive industries of the capital city. He was born in 
Rockford, Winnebago county, Illinois, December 7, 1855, a son of Henry and 
Lucy Emeline (Kilbourn) Maynard, both of whom were natives of western 
Massachusetts but were married in the Prairie state. The father was born in 
1807 ^nd was therefore thirty years of age when in 1837 he removed westward to 
Illinois, which was then still sparsely settled. He purchased a farm, to the 
operation of which he devoted his remaining days, dying in 1865. He was a 
republican and held membership in the Unitarian church. His wife passed away 
in 1899, when ninety-three years old. Three of their six children survive. 

Charles Warren Maynard completed a course of study in the Rockford (111.) 
Academy, but in 1872, when only seventeen years old, removed to Chehalis, 
Lewis county, Washington territory. For a time he worked as a farm hand at 
twenty-five dollars a month and board and later rented land, which he cultivated 
successfully. In 1880 he gave up farming and engaged in the hardware business 
in Chehalis, becoming in time the leading hardware merchant of that section. 
He erected a fine block, in which he housed his store, and invested quite heavily 
in other town property. He was one of the founders of the Chehalis State Bank 
and also a director therein. In 1899 he was a candidate on the republican ticket 
for the office of state treasurer and although he made only a few campaign 
speeches he was elected and in the discharge of his responsible duties more than 
justified the confidence of the people in his efficiency and trustworthiness. Upon 
taking that office he disposed of his hardware business and upon the expiration of 
his term in 1904 he organized the St. Helen Condensing Company of Chehalis. 
of which he was president and manager until the business was sold in 1906 to the 
Pacific Coast Condensed Milk Company. In that year he took up his residence 
in Olympia and for three years lived retired, but at the end of that time re- 
entered the business world, becoming secretary, treasurer and manager of the 
Olympia Knitting Mills Company, which was then almost in bankruptcy. He still 
retains his connection with the company, which is now the largest one of its kind 
m the northwest, employing fifty-five people in the factory and three traveling 
salesmen, who cover the northwestern states. The company manufactures 
sweaters, jerseys, bathing suits, knitted caps and toques and its name has already 
become synonymous in the Puget Sound country with high grade material and 
expert workmanship. 

Mr. Maynard was married in Chehalis on the 30th of March. 1876, to Miss 




CHARLES W. MAYNARD 



'^HE NEW 



VORK 



ASTO 



FOUNDATI 



ON 



WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 217 

Mary Alice White, a native of Lewis county, Washington, and a daughter of 
Charles F. White, who was one of the early pioneers of the state. They are the 
parents of five children, namely : Clarence Eugene, who operates a sawmill at 
Little Rock, Washington; Lucy E., the wife of Dr. N. J. Redpath, of Olympia ; 
Alice, the wife of George R. Sibley, manager of the Pacific Coast Condensed 
Milk Company at Chehalis ; Bessie, deceased ; and Everett, twenty-one years old, 
who is now in the employ of the Olympia Knitting Mills Company and is learn- 
ing the business. 

Mr. Maynard has been a lifelong republican and a short time after removing 
to Washington served for two terms as treasurer of Lewis county and later was 
made mayor of Chehalis. He belongs to the Masons, the Independent Order of 
Odd Fellows, the Knights of Pythias, the Ancient Order of United Workmen, 
the Elks and the Chamber of Commerce. Since pioneer days he has been 
prominently identified with the state and as agriculturist, merchant, state official 
and manufacturer he has made a record of which he may well be proud. In 
all that he has done integrity and faithfulness to trust have gone hand in hand 
with sound judgment and marked ability. 



FRED STRAUB. 



It seems that some men reach success not by a slow and steady progression 
but rather by leaps and bounds, and such has been the record of Fred Straub, 
whose jewelry establishment at Hoquiam would be a credit to a city of much 
larger size. He is the pioneer jewelryman of that place, for he has no com- 
petitor there who has so long been in the same line of business, and, more- 
over, he has always maintained his position of leadership in the nature of his 
store and stock also. In a word, he is an enterprising and farsighted merchant 
and brings to bear in the conduct of his interests the experience of thirty years 
in the jewelry trade. 

Mr. Straub has always lived west of the Mississippi, his birth having occurred 
at Faribault, Minnesota, in 1869. His father, Benjamin F. Straub, a native of 
Pennsylvania, was for a long period engaged in the jewelry business at Faribault. 
He was attracted by the opportunities of the northwest and in 1910 removed to 
Montesano, Washington, where he embarked in the jewelry business, in which 
he continued actively to the time of his death, which occurred in January, 1916, 
when he was seventy-five years of age. The mother, who died in 1908 in Minne- 
sota, bore the maiden name of Charlotte Jane Yawney and was a native of 
Michigan. They became the parents of four children, of whom three are living. 

Fred Straub was reared in his active city and supplemented his public school 
course by study in the Shattuck Military Academy. His military training stood 
him in good stead at the time of the outbreak of the Spanish-American war, 
when, in response to the president's call for troops, he enlisted for service with 
Company B, of the Twelfth Regiment of Minnesota Volunteers, of which he 
became sergeant major and later lieutenant. The company spent eight months 
in camp without going to the front, but the men had proven their willingness to 
aid in defending American interests. 



218 WASHINGTON^ WEST OF THE CASCADES 

In 1901 Mr. Straub was married in Minnesota to Miss Mollie Hedges, and 
in 1903 they removed to the west, at once settHng in Hoquiam. During the last 
four years of his residence in Minnesota he occupied the position of quarter- 
master of the State Soldiers' Home under appointment of Governor Lind. On 
arriving in Hoquiam Mr. Straub embarked in the jewelry trade on his own account, 
opening a store in the Werner building and he is the pioneer jeweler of the 
harbor. In November, 1904, he removed to the Philbrick building and in 1906 
purchased his present property on Eighth street. No other jewelry merchant of 
the city has been so long connected with the trade here and his establishment 
has ever been the leader, for he has carried a most attractive line of goods. He 
is a practical watchmaker and does repair work in addition to his management 
of the jewelry trade and there is no phase of the business in which he does not 
display expert knowdedge and workmanship. 

Fraternally Mr. Straub is connected with the Elks and the Eagles but is 
most prominent in Masonic circles, having passed up through both the York 
and Scottish Rite routes, being now a Knights Templar and a Consistory Mason. 
He believes in the principles of the democratic party and in 191 1 represented 
his district in the state legislature. It is characteristic of Mr. Straub that he 
ever faces an issue squarely and his position upon any vital question is never an 
equivocal one. He believes in the northwest and its opportunities and labors 
earnestly for its progress and at the same time the careful direction of his 
business interests has brought him well merited and deserved prosperity. 



F. STANLEY PIPER. 



F. Stanley Piper, a Bellingham architect whose skill and proficiency are 
found in many of the fine business buildings and residences of the city in which 
he lives, was born in Hull, Yorkshire, England, July 7, 1883, a son of Edwin 
and Sarah Piper. After attending a private school at Plymouth, England, he 
continued his education in Blundell's College at Tiverton, Devonshire, England, 
where he was graduated on the completion of a course in architecture when 
seventeen years of age. He then returned to Plymouth, England, where he 
followed his profession in connection with the firm of King & Lister, F. R. I. 
B. A,, architects, with whom he remained until 1907. That year witnessed his 
arrival in America and he became a resident of Seattle, Washington, where he 
was connected with different architects until 1908 when he came to Belling- 
ham and opened an office, since which time he has continuously and successfully 
practiced his profession, his office comprising six rooms in the First National 
Bank building. From the many buildings designed in his offices may be men- 
tioned the Donovan Building, the Grand and Edison theatres, the Northwest 
Hardware Building, the Bellingham National Bank Building, the Zobrist Build- 
ing, the Bellingham Country Club and the Kulshan Club. He likewise exe- 
cuted the plans for the residences of Robert Forbes, Dr. A. Macrae Smith, J. 
J. Donovan, Frank Deming, Daniel Campbell, Stuart Deming. James Scott, 
Walter Henderson and many other beautiful residences and buildings of the 
city and of Whatcom and Skagit counties. To those who know Bellingham and 



WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 219 

its fine buildings and palatial residences no further comment concerning Mr. 
Piper's ability need be made. He is familiar with all scientific laws and rules 
which govern his profession, thoroughly knows the types of architecture of the 
old world and, moreover, in his work has shown great adaptability in meeting 
the needs of the new world in construction. 

In Boonville, Missouri, Mr. Piper was married to Miss Minnie H. Bell on 
the 30th of April, 1913, and theirs is an attractive home whose hospitality is 
enjoyed by their many friends. Mr. Piper belongs to the Bellingham Country 
Club and enjoys the recreation and entertainment which it affords him from the 
strain of business. He is a communicant of the Episcopal church. Along pro- 
fessional lines he has a connection that indicates his ability, being a member of 
the Washington State Chapter of the American Institute of Architects, and a 
member of the Devon & Exeter Architectural Society of the Royal Institute of 
British Architects. 



ANTON BEHME. 



Anton Behme, deceased, was for many years a prominent resident of Cus- 
ter, where he operated a sawmill for a long period and where he also owned a 
hotel. His birth occurred in Centerville, New York, November 27, 1845, ^^^ 
he was a son of Henry J. Behme, who in 1847 removed with his family from 
New York to the northwestern part of Ohio. During his boyhood much of his 
time was devoted to helping his father with the farm work and in so doing he 
gained a thorough knowledge of practical agricultural methods. In October, 
1861, when not yet sixteen years of age, he enlisted in the Union army as a 
member of a company under command of General Shields and participated in 
many battles in Virginia and also in engagements in other states. He was at 
the front in all for three years and four months, proving at all times a loyal and 
gallant soldier. x\fter his honorable discharge from the army he returned to 
Ohio, where he engaged in farming for a time. He then went to Michigan 
and for eleven years resided there, where he engaged in the lumber business 
and for five years operated a sawmill. 

At length Mr. Behme decided to remove to the Pacific northwest, which he 
recognized as being an unusually profitable field for lumber operations, and 
accordingly in 1884 removed to Snohomish, Washington. He established one 
of the first sawmills in that locality and operated it until 1891. when he dis- 
posed of his interests there. In 1889 he became identified with the lumber busi- 
ness in Whatcom county and in 1891 on selling his interests in Snohomish he 
took up his residence in Custer and purchased a sawmill, which he operated 
until it was burned in 1893. He rebuild at once and for a considerable time 
continued his connection with the sawmill industry. For some time he also 
owned and managed the Custer Hotel, which gained an enviable reputation for 
comfort and the excellence of its cuisine. In 1903 he was appointed postmaster 
and served in that capacity for ten years, or until his death on the 28th of Jan- 
uary, 1913. He proved a popular official, being at once courteous and efficient. 

Mr. Behme was married in 1873 to Miss Clara I. Spencer, who is a rep- 



220 WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 

resentative of an old New England family. To their union were born eight 
children, of whom seven survive, namely: Amy; Percival Custer; Grace, now 
the wife of Ed Jones; Claude; Bessie, the wife of Fred Tarte; Edna, who 
married Verne Parrish ; and Elmer, at home. All of the children reside in 
Custer or its vicinity. 

Mr. Behme was a stanch adherent of the republican party and in 1900 was 
elected county commissioner. He was quite active in local politics and did much 
effective work in behalf of his party. Fraternally he was connected with both 
the Masons and the Odd Fellows and his life exemplified the principles of 
brotherhood upon which those organizations are founded. He was highly 
esteemed both for his unquestioned business ability and for his unswerving 
adherence to high standards of morality. 

Claude Behme was born in Snohomish in 1884 and in his boyhood and youth 
was a student in the Blaine and Custer schools. Subsequently he became asso- 
ciated with his father in the sawmill business and still later he established a 
confectionery store, which he has since conducted. Upon his father's appoint- 
ment as postmaster he became assistant and since the former's death in 1913 
he has been in charge of the office. He is also engaged in business as a general 
merchant and has gained a profitable and representative patronage. In Febru- 
ary, 1916, he was elected president of the Custer State Bank and is still serving 
in that office, his business acumen and sound judgment well qualifying him 
to direct the policies of the institution. On the 12th of June, 1912, he was 
united in marriage to Miss Bessie Darland, of Portland, Oregon, and they have 
a son, Claude Darland. He is a republican in political belief, and his attitude 
toward his community is that of a public-spirited citizen who recognizes his civic 
responsibilities. 



ROBERT MORAN 



The beautiful home of Robert A-Ioran at Rosario is the expression of his 
own ideas of architecture, finishing and furnishing, and is one of the most 
attractive residences in western Washington. Moreover, it is the visible evi- 
dence of business success— success achieved as a prominent shipbuilder on the 
Pacific coast. The story of his life is a most interesting one, as he came to 
the coast when eighteen years of age and steadily worked his way upward. He 
was born in New York city in 1857, a son of Edward and Jean (Boyack) 
Moran. The mother in later life came to the northwest, spending her last days 
in Seattle. 

Robert Moran remained in the eastern metropolis until he reached the age 
of eighteen years, when he made his way across the country to Seattle, where 
for a time he was employed in various ways, ever carefully utilizing his time 
and his opportunities in order to make an advance step with the ultimate hope 
of winning for himself a substantial place in business circles. He finally took 
up steamboat and marine engineering, which he followed in British Columbia, 
in Alaska and on Puget Sound for six or seven years. He ran boats on the 
Eraser river in British Columbia and carried steel used in the construction of 



WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 221 

the Canadian Pacific Railroad. He took to Fort Wrangel, Alaska, needed sup- 
plies and thus became actively identified with the development of that country. 
His labors have been a direct influence in bringing about conditions resulting 
in modern day progress and prosperity. In the meantime other members of 
the family came. There were eight sons and two daughters, but one of the 
daughters has passed away. Following the arrival of others of the family on 
the Pacific coast in 1882, the firm of Moran Brothers was established by Robert, 
Peter, William and Paul Moran, at which time their combined capital amounted 
to fifteen hundred dollars. They opened a machine and pipe shop and a year 
later added a foundry, which was situated on Yesler wharf, in Seattle. There 
business was conducted until 1889, when fire destroyed their plant, in fact 
wiping out a great portion of the business section of the city. Mr. Moran was 
at that time serving as mayor of Seattle and for one term previous had been 
a member of the city council. He continued in the mayoralty for two terms 
and faced many grave and important problems connected with the rebuilding 
of Seattle. 

Following the fire the firm located on the site now occupied by the Seattle 
Dry Dock & Construction Company, establishing there a machine shop and 
foundry and adding a shipbuilding department. The business steadily grew. 
In fact the patronage increased rapidly and their enterprise came to be one 
of the most important of the industrial interests of the northwest. After estab- 
lishing their shipbuilding department their first contract was for the building 
of the fire boat Snoqualmie, which is stillin operation. When they removed 
to the site on which the Seattle Dry Dock & Construction Company is now 
located the ground was covered with water but the plant was built upon piling, 
the company being the first to locate on what is now known as the tideflats of 
the city. They built engines and pumps to pump out the naval dry docks at 
Bremerton, these being the largest pumps ever built on the Pacific coast. Con- 
tinuing their shipbuilding, they built the Golden Gate, a revenue cutter, which 
is still in use at San Francisco, also the torpedo boat Rowan and the lighthouse 
tender Heathen, the army transport Seward and the battleship Nebraska. In 
1897-8 they built twelve Yukon river boats which were launched as a fleet to 
St. Michaels, Alaska. They were all taken to their destination under their own 
steam, which was considered quite a feat at that time, and only one boat was 
lost. The Moran Brothers Company built large numbers of sailing vessels and 
tugboats in addition to the ships of greater tonnage which went out from their 
yards. .Something of the volume of their business is indicated in the fact that 
they employed as many as twenty-three hundred men at the time all four of 
the brothers continued active in the business, Robert Moran personally super- 
vising their mammoth interests. They not only built but equipped various 
ships which left their yards and a considerable number of ships were sent tc 
them for repair, including many which came to them from Lloyd's, for the 
firm was considered thoroughly responsible. Robert Moran continued an active 
factor in the management and control of the business until 1906, when, his 
health having become impaired, he sold out and since that time has been actively 
identified with no business interests. 

It was in 1906 that Robert Moran removed to Rosario and purchased four 
thousand acres of land, which included Mount Constitution. He then began the 



222 WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 

building of his present home, which was three years in construction, and his 
brothers and sister also have homes in this locality. Mr. Moran made the plans 
himself for not only his house but its finishing and its furnishing. A shop was 
built which includes a brass foundry machine shop and sawmill for sawing 
hardwood lumber. Thus all of the work has been done upon the place. The 
house has teakwood floors and the interior finish is mahogany. Cascade lake, 
a half mile away, has been tapped for power for furnishing light and heat, also 
for washing and for use in the shop. A spring on a mountain two miles away 
furnishes the water supply. At the time of Mr. Moran's arrival there was a 
sawmill settlement which was called Newhall, but he had the name of the place 
changed to Rosario. His home is most attractive in its architecture and in its 
interior arrangement. Not only was the house planned by him but the furni- 
ture was built after plans which he made and he was the landscape architect 
as well, laying out the plans which have been carried to perfection in his 
grounds. He has recently built a beautiful pleasure yacht, the Sanwan, con- 
structed of the finest obtainable timber and built after plans which he made. 

In Seattle, in 1881, Mr. Moran was married to Miss Elizabeth Paul and they 
have become the parents of five children, John M., Frank G., Nellie M., Mal- 
colm E. and Mary R. In politics Mr. Moran was a republican in early manhood 
and was a delegate to the Chicago convention which nominated William How- 
ard Taft. He now maintains an independent course, nor is he active in fraternal 
orders or societies. His leisure is utilized in the enjoyment of those interests 
which afford him most pleasure after a life of intense activity that placed him 
in a position of leadership as a shipbuilder on the Pacific coast. 



JOHN IFFLAND. 



The memory of John Iffland is cherished by all who knew him in life — knew 
him as a man whose word was as good as his bond, who never violated any trust 
reposed in him by a friend — and he had no foes. His death was a shock to the 
citizens of Port Townsend and a blow to his many close associates in various 
parts of the state, and country. Traveling men and tourists who were wont to 
stop at his hostelry, the Central Hotel of Port Townsend, where he was ever a 
gracious host, shared in the general sorrow that the news of his demise caused. 
He possessed a genial, jovial disposition and ever had a kindly welcome for the 
traveler. There were in his life many traits that endeared him to those with 
whom he came in contact and caused his memory to be revered by all who knew 
him. A native of Germany, he was born in Mecklar, December 2, 1855, and 
passed away at Port Townsend, Novernber 30, 1914. His parents were also 
natives of Germany. The mother, Mrs. Elizabeth (Kemmel) Iffland, came to 
America in 1892 and for several years remained in Port Townsend. While 
staying with her son in Cleveland, Ohio, she passed away in 1902, having for 
eleven years survived her husband, who died in Germany in 1891. In their 
family were four children. 

John Iffland, the youngest, attended school in Germany and in 1883 came to 
America, spending several months in and near New York city, where he followed 




JOHN IFFLAND 



THE NEW YORK 
PUBLIC LIBRARY 



ASTOK, LENOX 
TILDEN FOUNDATION 



WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 225 

any employment that he could secure. He soon tired of city life, however, and 
went to work in the mines of Pennsylvania, but he felt that the recompense was 
inadequate to the labor required and determined to give up his position. When 
he asked for his pay he met with a rebuff and went away without securing any 
remuneration for his labor. He then journeyed to Cleveland, Ohio, where he 
again worked at any employment that he could secure. He afterward went to 
Fort Wayne, Indiana, and the only employment open to him there was in a broom 
factory at making broom handles. He spent some time at that occupation and 
then followed other pursuits. From Indiana he removed to Helena, Montana, 
where he was again employed in various ways, but the long, hard winters and the 
high altitude of that district proved detrimental to his health, and hearing of the 
mild winters on the Pacific coast, he made his way to Portland, Oregon, where 
he became a waiter in a restaurant. A few months later he went to Seattle, 
where he worked at any employment that would yield him an honest living. On a 
certain Sunday there was an excursion from Seattle to Port Townsend and he 
was one of the passengers on the steamer that made the trip, little dreaming when 
he started that he was visiting his future home. However, he met friends there 
who persuaded him to remain and he secured a position with a Mr. Doblee, a 
baker, with whom he remained for several months. He was next employed by 
Mr. Eisenbeis, proprietor of a cafe. He first served as dining room waiter but 
gradually he worked his way upward until he finally took the management of the 
Central Hotel. This hotel has become a famous stopping place for traveling 
men and tourists and has at various times sheltered people of distinction from 
all parts of the country. Mr. Iffland made the hotel very popular and his capable 
business management made it also a profitable undertaking. 

Mr. Iffland was an honored member of the Improved Order of Red Men. He 
never aspired to public office, although at various times he was urged by his 
fellow townsmen to become a candidate for mayor or other high positions. He 
steadfastly refused, however, and concentrated his attention upon private busi- 
ness affairs and the interests of his home. 

On the 2d of December, 1876, at Sassendorf. Germany, Mr. Iffland was mar- 
ried to Miss Lisette Lentze, a daughter of Dietrich and Elizabeth Lentze, who 
were natives of Germany but are both now deceased. Mr. and Mrs. Maud 
became the parents of a son and six daughters, but the former died in Germany 
when but two years of age. Of the daughters Mrs. Louise Barthrop, the eldest, 
was born in Sassendorf in December, 1878, and was graduated from the Port 
Townsend high school and from the University of Washington. Subsequently 
she engaged in teaching school in Port Townsend for nine years. She married 
Charles Barthrop and they have become the parents of three children : John, 
Emma Louise and Lisette. Jennie, born in Bochum, Germany, in 1881, was 
graduated from the Port Townsend schools and the L^niversity of Washington 
and is the wife of Winslow M. McCurdy, editor and proprietor of the Port 
Townsend Leader. Freda, born in Cleveland, Ohio, in 1883, is a graduate of 
the University of Washington. She taught for a time in the high school of 
Olympia and is now in the office of the state superintendent of education and 
the board of examiners in the capital city. Nellie, born in Port Townsend in 1888, 
is a graduate of the high school and was a teacher in the city schools, after which 
she became a candidate for the position of county superintendent of education 



Vol. 11—12 



226 WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 

on the republican ticket. Katherine, born in Port Townsend in 1891, is now a 
teacher in the city schools of Bremerton. Ruby, born in 1893, and a graduate of 
the city schools, afterward became a trained nurse and while serving profession- 
ally at the Jubilee Hospital in Victoria, British Columbia, she was married to 
Jack Turner, who is the owner of valuable gold mines near Dawson in Yukon 
territory. She has two children, Nell Elizabeth and Thomas Elwood. 

Mr. Iffland came to America alone, leaving his family in Germany until he 
was able to master the customs and language of the people of this country to a 
sufficient extent to enable him to make his way. He studied at night and worked 
his way up gradually until at the time of his death he was the owner of much 
valuable property and of one of the finest homes in Port Townsend. He was a 
loving husband and a kind and devoted father and found his greatest happiness in 
providing for the welfare of his family, whom he left in very comfortable cir- 
cumstances. The salient traits of his character were such as won for him the 
highest regard and goodwill of all and the news of his demise brought a sense of 
personal bereavement into the homes of Port Townsend and wherever he was 
known. 



ASAHEL HOLMES DENMAN. 

Asahel Holmes Denman, member of the Tacoma bar, w-as born in Sing Sing, 
New York, November 29, 1859. His father, Augustus N. Denman, engaged in 
the banking business in New York but afterward removed to Des Moines, Iowa, 
to take charge of the afifairs of the Charter Oak Life Insurance Company and 
later was for many years secretary of the Des Moines Waterworks Company. 
He wedded Mary Holmes, a daughter of the Rev. David Holmes, a Methodist 
minister of the New York conference. Both Mr. and Mrs. A. N. Denman were 
liberal supporters and active workers of the Methodist churches in their places 
of residence throughout their entire lives. In politics Mr. Denman was a life- 
long republican, his first vote being given for John C. Fremont for president 
of the United States. 

The boyhood residence of Asahel Holmes Denman was in New York city 
and he attended public school No. 59 on Twentieth street. In 1878 he accom- 
panied his parents on their removal to Des Moines, Iowa, and the following 
year prepared for college at Evanston, Illinois. He then entered the North- 
western L^niversity and was graduated in 1883, winning the degree of Bachelor 
of Philosophy. After one year of study in the law office of Wright, Cummings 
& Wright at Des Moines, Iowa, he passed the examinations entitling him to 
enter the senior class of the law school of the State University of Iowa, which, 
upon his graduation in June, 1885, conferred upon him the LL. B. degree. At 
the same time he was admitted to practice law in the state and federal courts 
of Iowa. Removing to Kansas City, Missouri, he there remained from the 
spring of 1889 until October, 1890, when he came to Tacoma as attorney for the 
Lombard Investment Company, and in April, T891, he was admitted to prac- 
tice law in Washington. In August, 1892, he removed to Seattle to do similar 
work for the Northwestern & Pacific Hypotheek Bank and remained there 



WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 227 

until November, 1894, when he returned to enter the employ of O. G. Ellis, now 
one of the justices of the supreme court of the state of Washington and then 
occupied with the affairs of the bankrupt Lombard Investment Company. He 
remained with Mr. Ellis in Tacoma until the spring of 1899, since which time 
he has been engaged in general law practice. In 1909 he formed a partnership 
with George P. Fishburne, which relation continued until Mr. Fishburne be- 
came assistant United States district attorney in 1914. Since then Mr. Denman 
has practiced independently and is accorded a prominent position at the bar. 

In politics, when in Iowa, Mr. Denman was a republican and an earnest 
worker for the success of his party. He cast his presidential ballot for Blaine 
in 1884 and voted twice for Benjamin Harrison. In 1891, after his arrival in 
Washington, he voted with the democrats on state and city issues and in national 
politics, on account of the silver issue, voted for Bryan in 1896. Since then, 
on account of issues arising in national politics, he has voted the democratic 
ticket at state and national elections. He has never held nor desired public 
office save that he served as justice of the peace for a short term before leaving 
Iowa. 

In former years Mr. Denman was active in the work of the Methodist church 
and of the Young Men's Christian Association. In 1909 he joined the Tacoma 
Commercial Club and in 191 1 served on its board of trustees under the presi- 
dency of D. I. Cornell. He became a charter member of the Seattle-Tacoma 
Rainier National Park Committee and has been most active in its work. He 
was one of the organizers and is an active member of the Tacoma Chapter of 
the Mountaineers Club and is an enthusiast concerning Mount Tacoma. For 
many years past he has lectured before visiting delegations and Tacoma audi- 
ences, exhibiting a rare collection of lantern slides which have been collected by 
him and other mountain-climbing photographers. This work has been a force 
fully appreciated and recognized by Tacoma people and the press of the city, 
leading up to the present great interest in and development of the National Park, 
resulting in awakening in many people an appreciation of their privileges fol- 
lowed by an undertaking to lead a wholesome outdoor life amid such surround- 
ings as few other localities on the face of the earth can offer. 

Mr. Denman has delivered many interesting addresses upon the history of 
Mount Tacoma and the origin of its name. He contends that the word "Tacoma" 
or "Tahoma" is of undoubted Indian origin, used by the Klickitats, Yakimas and 
Clallams as a generic term applied to all snow peaks. Naturally they called the 
great snow-capped mountain in this vicinity Tahoma or Tacoma, exactly as we 
say "The Mountain." This was the Tahoma of all the Tahomas. No one can 
dispute this fact without disregarding the direct testimony not only of Theodore 
Winthrop but of Hazard Stevens and P. B. Van Trump, who tell us expressly 
that their Indian guide, Sluiskin. knew the mountain by no other name than 
Tak-homa or Tahoma. Further evidence is the undisputed fact that there was 
a gunboat in the United States navy, launched in the '40s prior to Winthrop's 
visit to the Sound, named The Tahoma, all as shown in the notes of John H. 
Williams to a late edition of Winthrop's book. Winthrop was an accurate 
writer. He expressed accurately many beautiful and noble phases of nature 
which only a man of his poetic and artistic temperament could express. At the 
same time he is essentially truthful and accurate in all his statements of facts. 



228 WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 

Wiiithrop never saw his book "Canoe and Saddle" in print. He laid down his 
life in the forefront of battle in 1862 early in the Civil war. It is too bad that 
any jealousy of cities, with which Winthrop had nothing whatever to do, aris- 
ing over the name of the mountain many years after his death, should cloud 
the enjoyment of any one in such a delightful book as "Canoe and Saddle" and 
in the honor and appreciation that cluster about a career of such promise given 
up for his country. Mr. Denman's interest in all phases of outdoor life has 
made him an enthusiastic advocate of the wonderful riches nature has bestowed 
upon this section of the state in its scenes of beauty and grandeur, and his work 
shall live for all time to come in the newly established National Park. 



FREDERICK ARCHIBALD HAZELTINE. 

Frederick Archibald Hazeltine, owner and editor of the South Bend Journal. 
has since the completion of his college course been identified with journalistic 
interests and even before that time had experience along that line as editor of 
a college paper. His life work has taken him into various sections not only of 
North America but of South America as well. He was bom in Warren, Penn- 
sylvania, on the 20th of October, 1867. a son of Ezra T. and Rachel (Knapp) 
Hazeltine, both of Busti. New York. He comes of Puritan and Welsh stock. 
His father was for many years the manager and one of the main owners of 
the cough medicine called Piso's Cure for Consumption, from which he derived 
a large income that, however, he gave away to Young Men's Christian Associa- 
tions, foreign missions and other lines of religious work as he made it. He thus 
died a poor man, which he had previously planned to do, considering it a dis- 
grace to die rich. 

Liberal educational opportunities were accorded Frederick A. Hazeltine, who 
in 1889 ^^'^s graduated from Oberlin College of Oberlin, Ohio, with the Bachelor 
of Arts degree. As previously stated, he had formerly been editor of the college 
paper, the Oberlin Review, and immediately after his graduation he traveled for 
a year in South America as newspaper correspondent and afterward published 
a book entitled. "A Year of South American Travel." His identification with 
journalism in the northwest began in the winter of 1890-91. when he served 
as a member of the stafit of the Spokane (Wash.) Chronicle. After eighteen 
years he succeeded his old paymaster on the Chronicle as president of the Wash- 
ington State Press Association. In July, 1891, he began newspaper publishing 
on his own account by purchasing an interest in the Journal, of South Bend, 
Washington, at which time the paper and the town were but a year old. He at 
once assumed editorial and business control and eventually became sole owner. 
He still continues the publication of this paper, which he has ever made the 
advocate of the rights of the people, of public progress, of reform and improve- 
ment. He is also the president of the Willapa Power Company and he is the 
owner of extensive landed interests in Pacific county. Washington. This point, 
however, was not reached without much effort. When he went to South Bend 
he stood for law and order, for decency and right, and he had to battle with the 
crime, vice and lawlessness which are so frequently characteristic features of 



. WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 229 

a new western town. In his vocabulary there is no such word as fail and he 
persevered until triumph rewarded his efforts, resulting in a riddance to the town 
of most of its undesirable elements and resulting as well in the establishment 
of his own business upon a profitable basis in which he received the support of 
the better class of citizens. 

It was while upon one of his South American trips that Mr. Hazeltine, on 
shipboard, met the lady whom he afterward wedded — Miss Amy Wood, who 
was born in Rosario, in the Argentine republic, where her father, the Rev. Dr. 
T. B. Wood, was United States consul and for forty years a leader in mission 
work in South America, widely known as an orator and diplomat. Before going 
to the southern continent he was at the head of Valparaiso College in Indiana. 
It was in Callao, Peru, on the 30th of May, 1895, that the marriage of Mr. and 
Mrs. Hazeltine was celebrated. The legality, however, was contested because the 
ceremony was performed by a Protestant minister. Peru was entirely a Catholic 
country and no Catholic priest would perform a marriage ceremony for 
Protestants. Dr. W'ood took up the matter to the courts, his efforts resulting 
in the passage of a- law confirming the legality of the marriage, and this con- 
stituted the entering wedge for religious liberty in Peru. Mrs. Hazeltine greatly 
assisted her father in the work in the mission schools prior to her marriage and 
she has taken an active part in club and religious work in Washington, serving 
as secretary of the Washington State Federation of Women's Clubs in 1913. By 
her marriage she has become the mother of four children : Lelia, Ezra, Ellen 
and Amy Caroline. 

Both Mr. and Mrs. Hazeltine have been members of the South Bend Metho- 
dist Episcopal church for many years. In fact he has been identified with the 
church as trustee and steward for a quarter of a century or almost since its 
foundation. He has been class leader for several years and also Sunday school 
superintendent. He reorganized and was president of the Laymen's Associa- 
tion of the Puget Sound Conference from 1913 until 191 5 inclusive, and he headed 
the lay delegations to the Methodist General Conferences of 1908 and 1916. 
Fraternally Mr. Hazeltine is a Mason. In politics he is a liberal republican and 
has always been a strong prohibitionist. He was one of the pioneers in prohibi- 
tion work in the state, although his county was originally strongly wet. However, 
the efforts of Mr. Hazeltine and others resulted in influencing public opinion to 
such an extent that Pacific county became one of the first counties in the state to 
vote dry under local option, and he was a member of the state committee which 
drafted and put through the direct primary law and later the initiative and 
referendum. It was largely his efforts that resulted in the building of the 
South Bend Commercial Club, of which he has been trustee and treasurer since 
the incorporation of the organization. In 1897 he was county treasurer and 
declined a reelection, though offered the nomination by the republican, demo- 
cratic and populist parties. He was treasurer of South Bend in 1898 and 1899. 
In 1908 he was appointed regent of the Washington State University by Governor 
Mead and served in that capacity under five governors, resigning in 19 15. He 
was president of the university board of regents for two terms, an honor rarely 
bestowed. He acted as chairman of the Pacific county republican central com- 
mittee in 1902 and 1903 and was a member of the rejiublican state central 
committee in 1904 and 1905. He was president of the Oberlin College Alumni 



230 WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 

Association of Puget Sound for 1910 and 191 1, and is a member of the advisory 
committee on education for Oberlin College. There is no question of public 
moment which does not awaken his interest and his position is never an equivocal 
one, for he stands fearlessly on the side of right. In fact he is known as one 
who will ever battle for his opinions and his ideals. He has lectured extensively 
on South America, having traveled largely in Mexico, Central and South America. 
He is one of whom it may be truthfully said that he has never lost the common 
touch. Success and growing power have not dulled his perceptions of what is 
right and he is a fearless supporter of any cause in which he believes. In busi- 
ness he is the personification of high standards and rigid integrity:, in social inter- 
course is genial, kindly and humanly sympathetic. 



SOUTH BEND JOURNAL. 

The South Bend Journal, one of the leading papers of the Willapa Harbor 
district, was established in February, 1890, by Captain William F. Wallace as a 
weekly paper. In July, 1891, the paper was purchased by F. A. Hazeltine, who 
has since conducted it. At that time the circulation numbered three hundred, 
and something of the development of the business is indicated in the fact that 
there are now nineteen hundred and fifty names on the paid subscription list. 
The office is equipped with a power plant and all modern machinery for carry- 
ing on the printing business, and the South Bend Journal is an interesting sheet, 
well edited and also carefully published when considered from the standpoint of 
the mechanical work of the printing office. 

Mr. Hazeltine came to Washington in 1890 and through the intervening years 
has been continuously connected with newspaper publication. He removed to 
the west from Warren, Pennsylvania, the place of his nativity, and made his way 
first to Spokane, where he became connected with the stafif of the Spokane 
Chronicle. Soon afterward he removed to South Bend and is now in control 
of the oldest paper on Willapa harbor. 



NOAH B. COFFMAN. 



Noah B. CofTman, president of Cofifman, Dobson & Company, bankers, of 
Chehalis, is one of the foremost bankers of Western Washington and for a third 
of a century has been prominently identified with the business interests of this 
section of the state. He was born near Crawfordsville, Indiana, April 2, 1857, 
and is a son of N. B. and Margaret Cofifman, the former a native of Virginia 
and the latter of Carroll, Ohio. In the spring of 1858 the family located on a 
farm in Champaign county, Illinois, and they resided in that county for many 
years. The father joined his son Noah in Hebron, Nebraska, in 1881, and fol- 
lowed farming in that locality until 1885. Three years later he and his wife 
came to Chehalis, Washington, where our subject was then living, as he had 



WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 231 

come to this state in 1S83 and after living for a year in Tacoma became a resi- 
dent of Chehalis in 1884, opening a private bank there August nth of that year. 

Mr. Coffman of this review is a graduate of the University of lUinois, being 
a member of the class of 1878, and after leaving that institution studied law 
under the direction of William Summers of Urbana, Illinois, who was an asso- 
ciate of Abraham Lincoln and a member of the firm of Summers & Wright, his 
partner being Judge Wright, now judge of the circuit court of Illinois. Mr. 
Coffman was admitted to the bar in 1880 at Wellington, Kansas, having previ- 
ously been connected with Judge Woods of that city, and he began practice at 
Ottawa, Kansas. Like most young lawyers he had a hard struggle and had to 
augment his income by teaching school in Hebron, Nebraska, for a time. Later 
he was persuaded to accept the position of clerk in the Exchange Bank of 
Hebron and was soon promoted to cashier, continuing with that institution for 
over two years. He then formed a law partnership with Manford Savage, who 
had been a classmate of his at college, and they soon built up an extensive prac- 
tice in commercial law, but Mr. Coffman was again induced to enter the Ex- 
change Bank as cashier with an interest in the business and he served as such 
until coming to Washington in 1883. 

His friend, Thomas Harbime, of Fairbury, Nebraska, had visited the Puget 
Sound country and had persuaded Mr. Coffman and some of his associates to 
locate here. It was agreed that our subject should be their delegate to choose 
a location, purchase property and attend to all necessary preliminaries. He 
arrived in Tacoma in May, 1883, and after looking over the field purchased the 
southwest corner of Pacific avenue and Eleventh street, Tacoma, for a bank site. 
He and his associate bought into the Bank of New Tacoma, of which he was 
made cashier. This bank was later merged into the Merchants National Bank. 
In 1884 Mr. Coffman sold his interest in the concern and removed to Chehalis, 
where he started a private bank in connection with C. H. Allen, having since 
carried on business at the same location. Later he organized the First National 
Bank of Chehalis, taking as associates John Dobson, Francis Donahoe, Wil- 
liam M. Urquhart and Daniel C. Millett. After a time the company dropped 
the national organization, believing that a private bank was more adapted to the 
needs of the country, and they have since carried on business under the present 
title of Coffman, Dobson & Company, Bankers. The bank was incorporated in 
1904. Mr. Coffman's son Daniel T. is now cashier and his son-in-law, J. M. 
Donahoe, is vice president. Mr. Coffman still continues at the head of the insti- 
tution. 

On the 30th of October, 1883, he was married in Belvidere, Nebraska, to 
Miss Adaline J. Tighe, a daughter of Daniel and Jane A. Tighe. Her father 
was a machinist and mill man. Mr. and Mrs. Coffman have three children. 
Florence A. is now the wife of T. M. Donahoe, vice president of the bank and 
a farmer of Lewis county. Ethelin M. is the wife of R. W. Bell, president of 
the Toledo State Bank at Toledo, Washington. Daniel T. is cashier of the 
bank of Coffman, Dobson & Company, Bankers. The family home is on St. 
Helen's avenue. 

Mr. Coffman has devoted much time to the breeding of pure bred Jersey 
cattle and is president of the Lewis County Pure Breeders Club. He is a broad- 
minded and progressive man whose interests have been varied and he has pro- 



232 WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 

moted many worthy enterprises which he beheved would advance the public 
welfare. He assisted in platting the town of Chehalis and has borne an impor- 
tant part in its development. He is a charter member of the Citizens Club and 
is a Knight Templar IMason. He is senior warden of the Episcopal church, to 
which he belongs, and is treasurer of the diocese of western Washington. For 
the past twenty years he has been a representative to the national conventions 
of his church. Politically Mr. Cofifman has been a lifelong republican, has been 
active in the selection of good men for office and was a delegate to the national 
convention of his patr}' held in Philadelphia in 1904, which nominated Major 
McKinley for president and was chosen a member of the committee to notify 
Mr. jMcKinley of his nomination. In 1916 he was a delegate to the national 
republican convention at Chicago. Mrs. Coffman is prominently connected with 
the social and religious interests of the city, having served as president of the St. 
Helen's Club for many years and taken an active part in church work not only 
locally but also in the missionary department of the Episcopal church. 



SIDNEY :\IOOR HEATH. 

The position of Sidney Moor Heath as an able member of the Hoquiam bar 
is certainly indicated in the fact that he has four times been recalled to the office 
of city attorney during the last twenty-two years and for the past three years has 
served continuously in that position. The width of the continent separates him 
from his birthplace, for he is a native of Waterville, Maine, born on the 27th of 
August, 1859. His father, William S. Heath, who w^as born in Maine, March 13, 
1834, was a son of Solyman Heath and a grandson of Caleb Heath. Solyman 
Heath practiced law first in Belfast, ^Maine, and later in \\'aterville,. Maine, for 
more than forty years. During this period he held the office of probate judge 
of Waldo county, and also reporter of the Alaine supreme court decisions for 
some years. He also represented Waterville in the state legislature and for 
many years was president of the Ticonic National Bank of Waterville. He took 
a leading part in the organization of the Ticonic Water Power and ^Manufacturing 
Company, from the growth of which Waterville has become one of the largest 
manufacturing centers of Maine. William S. Heath, father of our subject, 
practiced law from the time of his graduation from college until the breaking 
out of the Civil war, at which time he returned to Water\'ille and went to the 
front as captain of Company H of the Third Maine Regiment. He rose to the 
rank of lieutenant colonel of the Fifth Maine Infantry Regiment and was killed 
at the battle of Gaines Mills, Mrginia, while serving in such capacity, June 
2^, 1862. 

His wife, mother of Sidney Moor Heath, bore the maiden name of Maria 
E. Moor, and was a daughter of Wyman B. S. Moor, of Waterville, Maine, one 
of the leading lawyers of the state, a graduate of Waterville College, now Colby 
College, and a student at Dane Law School, of Cambridge, Massachusetts. He 
was elected to represent his town in the state legislature, and from 1844 to 1848 
was attorney general of Maine. Between 1852 and 1858 he turned his attention 




SIDNEY M. HEATH 



^<.v 



<^^ 



^^ 



.<^ 






oV°" 



><^ 



^-^^ 4" 



WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 235 

to constructive work and as superintendent he constructed a railroad from 
Waterville to Bangor. At one time he was United States senator from Maine, 
and at another time was consul general to the British provinces. His grand- 
father was Captain Daniel Moor, who served as a captain under General Stark 
in the Revolutionary war, and he was a son of Deacon James Moore, who came 
to America in 1723 from Tyrone county, Ireland. Asa Redington, the father of 
Sidney Moor Heath's grandmother, Mrs. Emily (Redington) Heath, was a 
corporal in Washington's Life Guard and on the close of the Revolutionary war 
returned with his musket from West Point, where he was mustered out, back to 
his home at Wilton, New Hampshire. He had but lately been discharged from 
the hospital and, too feeble to carry his musket, he hired a man to carry it for 
him, agreeing to pay him a "hard" dollar, for which he had to work eight days 
in order to redeem the musket. These facts were made the subject of a poem by 
William S. Heath which after his death was set to music and dedicated to Major 
General George B. McClellan. The poem is as follows: 

THE corporal's MUSKET. 

Take down the Corporal's musket — my grandsire brought it back 
From Yorktown, in the winter, on a long and weary track ; 
Tho' the bivouac was over, and the march and fight were done, 
Thro' the mire and snow he bore it. for the soldier loved his gun. 
And he 'hung it by his fireside, 'mid the branching pines of Maine — 
Take down the Corporal's musket — we need it once again. 

The rust has slowly settled, in the years that since have flown, 

Upon the good old barrel that once like silver shone ; 

It has a quaint and war-worn look — the fashion of the stock, 

Perhaps, is only equaled by the fashion of the lock ; 

But slumb'ring sparks of seventy-six, within the flint remain — 

Take down the Corporal's musket — we need it once again. 

The veteran who bore it, with the soldier's measured tread, 

Awaiting the great reveille, is mustered with the dead ; 

But above the din of battle, upon this field of yore. 

His voice in martial cadence calls "to arms ! to arms !" once more. 

And in this dread and fearful strife that call is not in vain — 

Take down the Corporal's musket — we need it once again. 

To thee and me, my brother, comes down the soldier's gun ; 
It tells a tale of mighty deeds, by patriot valor done; 
The hurried march, the daring charge, the onset and the strife 
Of clashing steel, of bursting shell — the stake a Nation's life ; 
Then seize once more that well-tried gun, which idle long has lain, 
Quick — seize the Corporal's musket — 'twill help us once again ! 

In the maternal line the ancestry of Sidney Moor Heath is traced back to a 
remote period in the colonial history of the country, the ancestry being traced 



236 WASHINGTOX, WEST OF THE CASCADES 

back to Francis Cook, who was the seventeenth signer of the Mayflower Com- 
pact, having come over with the Pilgrims. His son, Jacob Cook, married Damarie 
Hopkins, a daughter of Stephen Hopkins, who also came over in the Mayflower 
and was the nineteenth signer of the ^Mayflower Compact and is regarded as one 
of the historical founders of Plymouth Plantation. Jacob Cook and Damarie 
Hopkins were also passengers on the historic Mayflower, being brought to the 
new world by their parents. The line of descent is traced down through Charles, 
Josiah and Daniel Cook to Clara A. N. Cook, who became the wife of Wyman 
B. S. Moor and was the grandmother of Sidney Moor Heath in the maternal line. 
Their family included Maria Elizabeth Moor, who was born in 1839, and in 1856 
became the wife of Lieutenant Colonel William S. Heath ; she survived her hus- 
band for only a brief period, passing away June 20, 1863. 

Sidney Moor Heath was educated in the public schools and in the Coburn 
Classical Institute at Waterville, in which he completed his more specifically 
literary course. He then entered upon preparation for a professional career and 
was graduated from the law department of the Boston University with the degree 
of Bachelor of Law in 1880. In that year he removed to the west and was 
admitted to practice before the supreme court of Colorado. He opened a law 
office in Denver in the same year but within a year or two returned to his native 
city and was admitted to practice in the supreme court of Maine in 1882. He 
opened an office in Waterville, where he remained until the fall of 1890, when 
-le came to Washington and has since been an active representative of the bar 
of Hoquiam, accorded a practice of distinctively representative character and of 
gratifying proportions. 

Mr. Heath has always given his political allegiance to the republican party and 
of late years has affiliated with the progressive wing of that organization. The 
offices which he has held have largely been in the path of his profession. Between 
1882 and 1890 he held the office of city clerk of Waterville for five years. In 
1894 he was elected a member of the state legislature of Washington from 
Chehalis county, now Grays Harbor county, and in 1895 ^^ ^^^^ appointed a 
member of the tide and shore lands commission and as such laid out the tide 
and shore lands of Chehalis county, now Grays Harbor county. He was prose- 
f:uting attorney of Chehalis county for the years 1903 and 1904 and at intervals 
ne has held the office of city attorney of Hoquiam, being the present incumbent 
in that position, his service during this last incumbency covering three years. 

On the 1 8th of June, 1886, at Medford, Massachusetts, Mr. Heath was united 
in marriage to Miss Georgina A. Rhodes, who passed away at Hoquiam, Wash- 
ington, leaving two children, Ethel and William Sidney Heath. For his second 
wife Mr. Heath married Miss Olive Hull, at Spokane, Washington, by whom 
he has two children, Olive and James Hull Heath. 

Mr. Heath is well known in fraternal circles. On attaining his majority he 
joined Havelock Lodge, No. 35, K. P., at Waterville. passed through all of its 
chairs and became a member of the grand lodge. In Masonry he has attained the 
thirty-second degree of the Scottish Rite, belonging to Hayden Consistory No. 4 
at Olympia. His Blue Lodge connection is with Hoquiam Lodge No. 64, 
F. & A. M., and he is also a member of Afifi Temple, A. A. O. N. M. S., of 
Tacoma, and of the Elks Lodge at Hoquiam. He is likewise a member of 
Hoquiam Chapter No. 5, of the Sons of the American Revolution and in all 



WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 237 

matters of citizenship and of civic interest he manifests the same spirit of loyalty 
which caused his great-grandsires to fight for American liberty and his father to 
aid in maintaining unbroken the great American union of states. 



COLONEL HOWARD HATHAWAY. 

Colonel Howard Hathaway, a member of the bar of Everett, Snohomish 
county, state of Washington, was born at White Stone, Virginia, October 27. 
1864, the son of Henry S. Hathaway, also a native of Virginia, and a representa- 
tive of an old Virginia family established there in 1632. The founder of the 
family was William Hathaway, who was with tiie original settlers of Jamestown. 
His son, William Hathaway, married Sarah Lawson, whose mother was Esther 
Chinn, and whose grandmother was Esther Ball, the daughter of Sir William 
Ball. Esther Ball's brother, Joseph Ball, was the father of Mary Ball, the 
mother of George Washington. Among the descendants of William Hathaway 
were those who participated in the American Revolution on the side of the colonies, 
in the War of 1812 and in all subsequent wars this country has been engaged in. 

Henry S. Hathaway, the father of the subject of this sketch, prior to the 
Civil war, was a man of extensive means and a large slave holder, and for a 
great many years was before and after the Civil war one of the presiding 
justices in the old justice court of Virginia. At the outbreak of hostilities between 
the North and the South he was captain of the Lancaster Grays, and as such 
participated in one of the first conflicts, known as the battle of "Pop Castle." 
He was prominent in church and state, and possessed of considerable oratorical 
gifts. He was a Baptist in his religiovis faith and a man of strong religious 
feeling. He died November 12, 1892, at the age of sixty-six years, and was 
buried at Enon Hall, the old homestead of the family. His wife, whose maiden 
name was Felecia Toler Dunaway, was born at the old Dunaway homestead, 
known as Levelfield, Lancaster County, Virginia, December 27, 1839. She is now 
living at Enon Hall, the old home of the Hathaway family, near White Stone, 
Virginia, and is a woman of unusual ability, education and judgment, wielding 
a large influence in her community. Her ancestors had for many generations 
lived at the old Dunaway homestead. Colonel Thomas Stanford Dunaway was 
the maternal grandfather of Howard Hathaway. He. also, was an extensive 
planter and slave owner and a man of prominence in Mrginia in both church 
and state. He was directly descended from Derby Dunaway. founder of the 
American branch of the family, who came to the new world in 1659 and established 
his home in the Old Dominion. Among his descendants were those who ])ar- 
ticipated in the American Revolution, the War of 1812 and all subsequent wars 
this country has been engaged in. 

Colonel Lloward Hathaway, whose name introduces this review, was edu- 
cated in Virginia and lived upon the old plantation near White Stone, Mrginia. 
He had a large and lucrative practice there and took an active i)art in i)ulitics. 
having represented Richmond and Lancaster counties for a number of terms 
in the legislature. His services were used on the stump in all the political 
campaigns. In 1901 he visited the state of Washington and decided to settle 



238 WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 

at Everett, Washington, and practice his profession. He has Hved there ever 
since and has enjoyed an active and lucrative practice. He has taken an active 
and prominent part in the politics of his adopted state, having been nominated 
for congressman at large by the democratic party, and sent to two national 
conventions as delegate from his state. He is popular as an orator and his 
services are frequently sought on the stump and elsewhere. He held a commis- 
sion on the governor's staff. He was married on the 4th day of February, 1891, 
to Miss Jessie Wilhelm Hubbard, a native of Mrginia, and a representative of 
one of the old \'irginia families. As a result of said marriage there was born one 
child, a boy, Howard Hathaway, Jr. He, too, is a lawyer by profession, a 
graduate of Fork Union Alilitary College of \'irginia and of the University of 
Washington, \vhich conferred upon him the LL. B. degree in 191 5. Immediately 
after graduation he was associated with his father in the practice of his chosen 
profession and so continued until the outbreak of hostilities between the United 
States and Germany, at which time he immediately volunteered and was accepted 
in the United States navy. 

The subject of this sketch is a member of the Sons of the Revolution, the 
Sons of the Confederacy and several fraternal organizations and is well known 
in club circles. All of his ancestors have been prominent in law, letters, church 
and state. 



JUDGE ORANGE JACOBS. 

When one examines into the records of Washington it will be seen that a 
potent element for good has been the work of Judge Orange Jacobs, deceased, 
who was one of the territorial chief justices and who throughout his entire life 
remained an active factor in public affairs in the northwest. A native of New 
York, Judge Jacobs was born in Genesee, Livingston county,. on the 2d of May, 
1827, and was descended from English ancestry, although representatives of the 
name have lived in America from early colonial days, when the family was 
founded in ^lassachusetts. Hiram Jacobs, the father, was a native of New 
Hampshire and he served in the Black Hawk war with the rank of captain. 
In the east he married Phebe Jenkins, a native of Massachusetts, and in 1830 
they removed westward to Sturgis, Alichigan, where they became farming people. 
It was thus that ]\Ir. Jacobs became identified with the military operations which 
subdued the red men in Illinois and led to their removal westward. In 1849, 
attracted by the gold discoveries in California, he made his way over the plains, 
crossing the hot stretches of sand and traversing the mountain passes until he 
reached the Pacific coast, remaining for three years in that section of the country'. 

Judge Jacobs was reared amid pioneer surroundings and his early education 
was acquired in one of the old-time log schoolhouses of the frontier. Later he 
had the opportunity of pursuing his studies in Albion Seminary and still later he 
matriculated in the University of Michigan at Ann Arbor. When a young man 
he took up the profession of teaching and while thus engaged devoted his 
leisure hours to the study of law. In 1852 he was admitted to the bar and believ- 
ing that he might have better opportunities in the new and growing west, he 
crossed the plains to Oregon. In 1857 he became a resident of Jackson county. 



WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 239 

Oregon, where for several years he was accorded a liberal clientage in the 
practice of law. Moreover, he became a leader of public thought and action both 
through his public work and through his connection with journalism. For a 
number of years he edited and published the Jacksonville Sentinel and wrote 
strong and logical arguments to uphold the Union and to present the question of 
secession in the light in which he viewed it. He was also an opponent of slavery 
and in the name of humanity urged the adoption of higher national standards 
regarding these questions. Then the republican party sprang into, existence, the 
result of the efforts of men who wished to prevent the further extension of 
slavery into the north. Judge Jacobs joined the ranks of the new organization 
and such was his ability and prominence in the party that he lacked but one vote 
of becoming its candidate for the United States senate. In the meantime as a 
lawyer he had become well established by reason of his superior ability in pre- 
senting a cause before the courts, his logical deductions and his clear, forceful 
reasoning. 

In 1867 he was appointed associate justice of the supreme court of Washing- 
ton territory and he had served upon the bench for less than a year, when, without 
solicitation upon his part, the general assembly of the territory asked for him 
presidential appointment to the position of chief justice. President Grant 
acquiesced in this request and for six years Judge Jacobs sat upon the bench of 
last resort in the highest judicial position within the territory. The fairness and 
impartiality of his decisions have ever been widely recognized and he is one 
of the eminent members of the bar of the northwest, whose course reflects 
great credit and honor upon the judicial history of the state. When the repub- 
licans nominated him for the office of delegate to the United States congress 
he resigned his position upon the bench, entered upon the work of the campaign 
and was elected, representing the territory in the national halls of legislation 
during the fifty-fourth and fifty-fifth congresses. It was his desire to see Wash- 
ington admitted into the Union and he put forth every effort to bring this about. 
He was also instrumental in gaining increased postal facilities for the territory 
and in securing the passage of the lighthouse bill. He gave careful considera- 
tion to each question which came up for public settlement but at the end of two 
years he declined to again become a candidate and returned to Seattle, where 
he resumed the private practice of his profession. His fellow townsmen, how- 
ever, were not content to have him out of office and in 1880 elected him t'o the 
position of mayor of Seattle and would have renominated him at the close of 
his first term had he not declined to again become a candidate. In 1884, how- 
ever, he was once more called to public life, being elected a member of the 
territorial council and in that body he was made chairman of the judiciary 
committee and of the committee on education. His work was far-reaching and 
beneficial in its effects. He was very active in securing the appropriation for 
the penitentiary, for the insane asylum and for the university, and for many 
years he took a very deep and helpful interest in promoting the welfare of the 
university. For many years he acted on the board of regents and for a decade 
was treasurer of the board. In 1889 he was elected a member of the commission 
to form a new charter for the city of Seattle and here his signal ability and 
knowledge of law proved of great value in securing the paper which gave a 
legal existence to the city. The charter was adopted by public vote in 1890, 



240 WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 

and under its new municipal organization Judge Jacobs had the honor of being 
elected corporation counsel. In 1896 he was elected superior judge of King 
county, serving for four years, during most of which time he had charge of 
the criminal department. During the whole of his long service on the bench 
very few of the cases decided by him were appealed and carried to the supreme 
court and such was the wisdom of his opinions that only three of his decisions 
in criminal cases were ever reversed. 

On the 1st of Januar}% 1858, Judge Jacobs was married to Miss Lucinda 
Davenport, a native of Ohio, and a daughter of Dr. Benjamin Davenport, of 
that state, who in 1851 crossed the plains to Oregon. Dr. Davenport was a 
graduate of Rush Medical College of Chicago and made his way to the west 
in 1 85 1 on account of his health. He settled in Marion county, Oregon, where 
he had a claim, to which he devoted his attention but did not resume the practice 
of medicine after his removal to the west. He brought his family with him, 
driving across the country with ox teams over what is now known as the Oregon 
trail. His wife bore the maiden name of Sarah Gott and they had five children, 
four sons and one daughter. Timothy W. studied medicine but turned to country 
Hfe and engaged in farming. He became a great student but has now passed 
away. John C, a resident of Hoquiam, has engaged in merchandising, in milling 
and trading. Joseph, who resided in Colfax, Washington, is deceased. Ben- 
jamin, who resided on the old family homestead in Marion county, Oregon, 
and engaged in farming, is also now deceased. 

Mr. and Mrs. Jacobs became the parents of ten children, seven of whom are 
living: Hiram J., Harry, Edwin, Orange, Estella, Donna and Jessie. Of these 
the eldest daughter is now the wife of A. L. Clark. Abraham Lincoln passed 
away in 1907. In 1848 Judge Jacobs became a member of the Independent 
Order of Odd Fellows, continuing in connection therewith until his demise, 
filling all of the offices in the subordinate organization. He was made a Master 
Mason in Sturgis, ^Michigan, in 1852, and his hfe exemplified the beneficent 
spirit of the craft. Mrs. Jacobs is a member of the Pioneer Society and of the 
Suffrage Club. The death of Judge Jacobs occurred May 22, 1914. when in 
his eighty-eighth year. He was numbered among the honored pioneer settlers, 
lawyers and jurists of the northwest and the impress of his individuality was 
always an element for good along the different lines in which he put forth his 
activity. He worked with equal sincerity and purpose for the upbuilding of 
his city, for the interests of the state and for the progress of the nation, as at 
different periods he was connected with affairs of his municipality, his common- 
wealth and his country. 



HON. THOMAS MALVERN VANCE. 

Hon. Thomas Malvern ^'ance has built up an extensive and representative 
practice in Olympia and has also held important public office, having served for 
four years as assistant attorney general of the state. He was born in North 
Carolina on the 6th of September, 1862. a son of Zebulon B. and Harriet (Espy) 



WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 241 

A^ance. The family has been long represented in America and is traced back to 
David Vance, the great-grandfather of our subject, who was an early settler in 
Virginia and held the rank of lieutenant in the Continental army in the Revolu- 
tionary war. He took part in the battle of King's Mountain and was with Wash- 
ington's troops during the winter of hardship and privation at Valley Forge. 
After the restoration of peace he settled in Buncombe county, North Carolina, 
and there his son, David \'ance, Jr., was born. The latter spent his entire life 
in the Old North state and gained prominence as a civil engineer. He was the 
father of Zebulon B. \^ance, whose birth occurred in North Carolina, May 13, 
1830. After attending private schools he entered Washington College in 
Tennessee and still later was a student in the University of North Carolina, 
from which he was graduated in 1852. He located in Asheville, North Caro- 
lina, and began the practice of law there. In 1854 he was elected to the state 
legislature and in 1857 was chosen to represent his district in the house ot 
representatives of congress. He served in that capacity until the outbreak of the 
Civil war, when he cast in his lot with the Confederate states, becoming colonel 
of the Twenty-sixth North Carolina Regiment. In 1862 he was chosen governor 
of North Carolina, was reelected in 1864 and served as chief executive until 
the close of the war in 1865. when General Canby was made military governor 
and took control of the state afifairs. In 1870 Mr. Vance was elected United 
States senator, but as his disability on account of his war service had not yet 
been removed, he resigned. He continued in the practice of law at Charlotte, 
North Carolina, until 1876, when he was made governor of North Carolina, 
which in the meantime had been readmitted to the Union, and in 1879 he became 
United States senator, to which office he was thrice reelected. He died in 1894, 
while serving his third term. Fraternallv he was a Mason. He was married in 
1854, in Morganton, North Carolina, to Miss Harriet Espy, who was descended 
from a line of prominent Presbyterian ministers. Her father, a minister of 
that church, went to the South from Pennsylvania in the early '20s. To Mr. 
and Mrs. Vance were born four children, of whom three survive, those besides 
the subject of this review being: Zebulon B.. Jr.. who saw service in the 
Philippine islands as captain of the Eleventh United States Infantry; and Charles 
N., a bond broker residing in Washington, D. C. 

Thomas M. Vance received a liberal education for after completing a course 
in the University of North Carolina he entered the law school of Columbian. 
now George Washington, University, at Washington, D. C. He left that institu- 
tion in 1883 and in February, 1884, was admitted to the bar by the supreme 
court of North Carolina. He practiced in that state for several years and in 
1889 was presidential elector from the eighth district. At length, however, he 
came west and served as receiver of the public moneys at North Yakima, under 
appointment of President Cleveland, for two years. Subsequently he engagec'. 
in the private practice of law until 1897, when he was appointed assistant attorney 
general of Washington, which office he filled until January, 19OT. In 1900 he was 
the candidate of the democratic party for attorney general of the state, but as 
the democrats were in the minority failed of election. His naturally keen and 
logical mind has been thoroughly disciplined through close study and he is recog- 
nized as an opponent worthy the best efforts of any attorney in the state. The 
high standing which he has gained at the bar is the natural result of his ability. 



242 WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 

his habit of careful preparation and his well merited reputation for devotion 
to the interests of his clients. 

Mr. Vance was married in 1887 ^o Miss Gertrude Wheeler, a native of Mil- 
waukee, Wisconsin, and a daughter of Colonel J. B. Wheeler, who was professor 
of engineering at the United States Military Academy at West Point. He has 
proved worthy of his distinguished ancestry and the name of A^ance is an honored 
one in Olympia and indeed throughout the state. 



ORSON M. KELLOGG. 



The achievements of Orson M. Kellogg have made him a most prominent 
factor in the business circles of Western Washington, and while developing and 
directing important interests as one of the foremost lumbermen of this section 
of the country, he has at the same time found opportunity to cooperate in well 
defined plans and measures for the upbuilding of the section with which he has 
allied his interests. A native of Michigan, Mr. Kellogg was born in Grand 
Rapids, September 2, 1853. His father, Orson C. Kellogg, one of the early 
residents of that state, celebrated his ninetieth birthday anniversary in November, 
19 16, and still resides in Grand Rapids. O. M. Kellogg spent his boyhood in his 
native city and at an early age became interested in the lumber business, entering 
into active connection with that industry as an employe of E. K. Wood. While 
in Michigan he worked for E. K. Wood for seven years, and for thirty years 
he has been an active factor and stockholder in the E. K. Wood Lumber Company 
in Washington, remaining throughout the entire period of his business career in 
close connection with Mr. Wood, of whose interests he is one of the most trusted 
and responsible representatives. 

Mr. Kellogg was still a resident of Michigan when in 1877 he wedded Miss 
Nettie R. Gibbs, a native of that state, and to them have been born two children, 
George and Chester. The elder son, born in July, 1878, was graduated from the 
Leland Stanford University of California with the class of 1904 and is now 
assistant manager of the E. K. Wood Company at Hoquiam. He was married 
October i, 191 1, to Miss Ida Smith, of Seattle, Washington, and they have two 
children, Marian and Virginia. The younger son, Chester, was graduated from 
Culver Military Academy in 191 6 and is now a student in the University of 
Washington. 

The family continued to reside in Michigan until 1886 and then removed to 
Washington, settling in Grays Harbor county, which was then Chehalis county. 
They established their home in Aberdeen and there Mr. Kellogg remained for 
ten years, taking an active interest in the young city and doing much to further 
municipal development and progress there. He was a member of the first city 
council and has been one of the most active, popular and prominent leaders in 
affairs that have contributed to the material development of his district and the 
promotion of many of its most important public interests. What he has accom- 
plished represents the wise utilization of his time, talents and opportunities. 
His interests are various, his counsel is widely sought and his integrity is un- 
impeachable. He has been associated with the E. K. Wood Lumber Company 




ORSON M. KELLOGG 



: THE /...KK 

PUBLIC LIBRARY 

ASTOR, LENOX 
Tlt-DEN FOUNDATIOM 



1 



WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 245 

since it began operations in Washington. In 1893 the E. K. Wood Lumber 
Company purchased a small mill which is still being operated, although from 
time to time it has been enlarged until it now has an average daily output of one 
hundred and sixty thousand feet of lumber every ten hours and employs about 
one hundred and forty people at Hoquiam. The company also has another 
mill at Bellingham, Washington. Under the management of Mr. Kellogg the 
Hoquiam branch of the E. K. Wood Lumber Company has continuously expanded 
and prospered. Not only this but other interests in Hoquiam are indebted to 
Mr. Kellogg for his interest and help. He is now the vice president and one of 
the directors of the First National Bank of Hoquiam and is justly accounted one 
of the most prominent and representative business men of western Washington, 
his interests and activities reaching out over a broad field. He served for several 
years as a member of the school board and the cause of education finds in him 
a stalwart champion. In fact he stands for all those progressive movements 
looking to the welfare and upbuilding of his district and in public matters, as in 
private business, he displays sound judgment and keen discrimination. What he 
has undertaken he has accomplished. He began business life in a humble capacity 
but by indefatigable energy, good judgment and thorough dependability he has 
risen to a position of financial independence and enviable social rank. Fraternally 
he is identified with the Benevolent Protective Order of Elks and the Masons, 
having taken both the York and Scottish Rite degrees in the latter organization. 
He became a charter member of the Aberdeen lodge of Masons and served as 
its secretary. Mr. Kellogg is also a popular member of the Country Club and in 
politics is a stanch republican. 



JUDGE HENRY G. STRUVE. 

Judge Henry G. Struve was for years a very prominent figure in connection 
with the political, legal, financial and social history of the state of Washington 
and was an honored resident of Seattle. Although born in the grand duchy of 
Oldenburg, Germany, on the 17th of November, 1836, of German parentage, he 
came to America at the age of sixteen years and was an intensely patriotic Ameri- 
can citizen. He received a thorough academic education in his native city and 
after reaching the new world remained in the east for a few weeks, while later 
he made his way westward to finish his education and take up his life work. In 
1853 he reached California, where for six years he studied law, engaged in 
newspaper work and in mining near Jackson, Amador county. He was admitted 
to the bar in 1859 and the following year removed to Vancouver, Washington, 
where he purchased the Vancouver Chronicle, which he published success full> 
for a year. On the expiration of that period he entered upon the practice of law 
and his ability soon brought him to the front in his profession. He was also an 
ardent republican and in a short time was recognized as one of the leaders of his 
party in the state. In 1862 he was elected district attorney for the second judicial 
district and made such a brilliant success that he was four times chosen for the 
position. During his fourth term, or in 1869, he resigned, having been elected 

Vol. 11—13 



246 WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 

probate judge of Clarke county. A few months later he also resigned that posi- 
tion. While acting as prosecuting attorney he was also elected, in 1865, a member 
of the lower house of the state legislative assembly, in which he served as chair- 
man of the judiciary committee. In 1867 he was elected a member of the legisla- 
tive council and was its president in the first and in subsequent sessions of 1869 
and 1870. He acted as chairman of the ways and means committee and in 1869 
introduced and was instrumental in securing the passage of the community law, 
regulating the rights in property interests of married persons, an important law 
which superseded the provisions of the old common law then in force in Wash- 
ington territory. The law is with slight modification still in force. Although one 
of the youngest members of the legislature. Judge Struve ,was always a recognized 
leader on the floor of the house. 

In 1 87 1, in which year he removed to Olympia, Judge Struve took charge 
of the Puget Sound Daily Courier, a leading republican organ. His work and 
editorials made it a valuable factor in promoting party interests, his editorials 
being widely copied and attracting great attention and comment. To the regret of 
all, he left newspaper work, in which he had manifested such capability, in 
1871, when President Grant, as a token of appreciation, appointed him secretary 
of Washington territory. The following year he was selected by the republican 
convention as a delegate to the national convention, which once more nominated 
General Grant for the presidency at Philadelphia. Judge Struve served as terri- 
torial secretary until the close of Grant's administration, when his term expired. 
He then returned to Olympia and practiced law again, but his ability again and 
again led to his selection for public duties of honor, trust and responsibility. He 
was appointed a commissioner to codify the laws of Washington territory in 1877 
but after a year was obliged to resign because his law practice required his undi- 
vided attention. 

In 1879 Judge Struve removed to Seattle and with John Leary formed the 
firm of Struve & Leary. In 1880 Colonel J. C. Haines was taken into the firm 
and in 1884 Maurice McMicken was added and Mr. Leary withdrew. Five years 
later Colonel Haines withdrew and the firm then became Struve & McMicken. 
While territorial secretary Judge Struve was sole attorney for the Northern Pa- 
cific Railroad Company in Washington and until 1883 conducted personally all 
important litigation for the railroad. 

From the beginning of his residence in Seattle, Judge Struve was a recognized 
leader in the city and was largely instrumental in molding public thought and 
action. In 1882 he was elected mayor and was reelected in 1883, during which 
time Seattle took its first steps toward its present greatness, five hundred thousand 
dollars being spent in public improvements, including the grading of the streets. 
The population increased from three thousand to ten thousand in 1883. As 
mayor of the city Judge Struve received the Villard party when the Northern 
Pacific was completed. His activities extended to almost every field which has 
had to do with the upbuilding of city and state. In 1879 ^^ was appointed regent 
of Washington University and continued in that position through many years, 
serving as president for four consecutive terms. In 1884 he was elected school 
director and held the office for three years, doing efficient work in connection 
with the cause of public education in Seattle. In 1886 he was appointed by Gover- 
nor Squire to the position of judge advocate general of Washington territory and 



WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 247 

took a prominent part in directing military affairs when Seattle was under martial 
law following the Chinese riots which occurred in February, 1886. In the fol- 
lowing year he was appointed supreme court reporter and supervised Volume III 
of the Washington Territory Reports. He was elected a member of the board of 
freeholders which prepared the charter for Seattle and he was chairman of the 
committee on judiciary and tide lands. He soon had to refuse many honors and 
confined his attention to his office, acting solely as attorney for many railway, 
mill and coal corporations. He was greatly interested in historical research and 
for years investigated Washington's earlier history in his leisure hours, intending 
to publish the results of his investigations in book form, but the great fire of 
June 6, 1889, destroyed all of his data. However, he started in again on the work 
at a later period. 

Judge Struve played an important part in the material development of Wash- 
ington in connection Vv^ith its mining and railroad interests and financial institu- 
tions. He was one of the organizers of the cable system of street cars in Seattle, 
became a large stockholder in the company and was president of the Madison 
street line. He became one of the promoters of and a director in the Home 
Insurance Company, which paid a hundred-thousand-dollar fire loss June 6, 1889. 
He was one of the incorporators, directors and the vice president of the Boston 
National Bank and was sole agent in Washington for the German Savings & 
Loan Society of San Francisco. His connection with any enterprise or project 
assured its success through his individual efforts, for in his vocabulary there was 
no such word as fail and he carried forward to completion whatever he under- 
took. He was known as an able financier and a conservative, sagacious man of 
business as well as Washington's most distinguished jurist. 

In October, 1863, Judge Struve was married to Miss Lascelle Knighton, who 
was born in Fort Leavenworth, Kansas, in 1846. When she was but a year old 
her father, Captain H. M. Knighton, made his way across the plains to St. Helen, 
Oregon, and became the owner of the town site. He was the first marshal of 
the provisional government of Oregon and was prominently identified with the 
pioneer development of the northwest. He afterward removed with his family 
to Vancouver, Washington, and Mrs. Struve was educated there in the Convent 
of the Sacred Heart. She became the wife of Judge Struve in Vancouver, in 1863, 
and died in Seattle in 1903, after an illness of three years. Hers was a strongly 
religious nature. She was philanthropic, charitable, gracious, generous, unselfish 
and sincere. She was a social leader, possessing a magnetic personality, and as a 
hostess she was unexcelled. She shared her husband's prominence and the whole 
state sorrowed when she passed away. Judge Henry Struve died in New York 
city on Tuesday morning, June 13, 1905, after a brief illness. His death was very 
unexpected, his daughter Mary being the only member of the family with him at 
the time. Judge and Mrs. Struve became parents of four children : Captain 
Harry K. Struve, Mrs. H. F. Meserve, Frederick K. and Mary. 

Judge Struve was known prominently in many fraternal and benevolent socie- 
ties. In 1874 he was elected grand master of the grand lodge of Odd Fellows in 
Oregon, which then embraced Washington and Idaho. In 1876 he was elected 
representative of that jurisdiction in the sovereign grand lodge and he instituted 
the grand lodge of Washington. Such in brief is the history of one who left 
the impress of his individuality upon the development of the northwest in many 



248 WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 

ways. He saw its opportunities and utilized them and in the development of his 
individual fortunes he contributed to the upbuilding of the empire of the north- 
west. He stood in a prominent position as a journalist, as a distinguished lawyer 
and as a business man, his life verifying the statement that power grows through 
the exercise of effort. As he progressed, his opportunities and his advantages 
increased and he gathered to himself the rewards of a well spent life, but, more 
than that, he upheld the political and legal status of the community and con- 
tributed to its intellectual and moral stability. 



FREDERICK KARL STRUVE. 

Frederick Karl Struve, president of the Seattle National Bank, has at every 
point in his career seemed to have attained the utmost success possible at that 
point. In a word, he has readily recognized and utilized every opportunity and 
by successive stages of business development and advancement he has reached 
his present enviable position as a leading financier of the northwest. 

Mr. Struve is a native of Washington, his birth having occurred at Van- 
couver, June 17, 1871. He is a son of Judge Henry G. Struve, whose record 
precedes this. His education was acquired in the public schools and in the 
University of Washington, followed by matriculation in the literary department 
of the University of Michigan at Ann Arbor, where he spent two years in study. 
In November, 1889, upon the organization of the Boston National Bank, he 
was made clerk in that institution and later became assistant cashier, serving 
until April i, 1898. He afterward spent some time with the First National Bank. 
In 1899, he formed a partnership with John Davis in the real estate, loan and 
insurance business under the name of John Davis & Company. This firm has 
become one of the best known in the city, the volume of business transacted 
by them annually reaching extensive proportions. From 1896 until his election 
as president of the Seattle National Bank, Mr. Struve was the Seattle repre- 
sentative of the German Savings & Loan Society of San Francisco which did 
the largest loan business in Washington. The firm of John Davis & Company 
also have a large mortgage loan clientage and their operations in real estate 
annually reach a high figure. They platted the Highland addition and Mr. Struve 
individually platted the Pettit addition, while the firm platted the Yesler estate 
addition and built thereon residences which have so greatly improved and beau- 
ified that part of the city. The general business of the firm, however, consists 
of transactions in down town properties, many of which they have handled, 
negotiating important sales and also attending to the rental of many of the 
leading business blocks. The renting department has become an important fea- 
ture of their business and its conduct requires eighteen employes all of whom are 
engaged at stated salaries. Each department of the business is managed by 
a competent superintendent and all is systematized and in splendid working 
condition. Their transactions involve the handling of many thousands of dollars 
within the course of a month and the business is hardly second to any in this 
line in the city. Following the death of Jacob Furth, president of the Seattle 
National Bank, Mr. Struve, who had served as vice president, was elected to 



WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 249 

fill the vacancy, becoming president of the institution on the ist of September, 
1914. He has since held that office and has bent his energies to administrative 
direction and executive control. His efforts have been well defined and his 
keen perception of the possibilities of the situation has led to his steady advance- 
ment in the business world. 

Mr. Struve was married November 17, 1897, to Miss Anna Furth, daughter 
of Jacob Furth, a sketch of whom appears elsewhere in this work, and, presiding 
with graciousness over their hospitable home, she has made it one of the attractive 
social centers of Seattle. She belongs to the ladies' adjunct of the Golf Club, to 
some of the more prominent literary organizations of the city, is a member of the 
executive committee of the Assembly Club and also a member of Trinity parish 
church. 

Mr. Struve has membership in the Assembly Club, of which he has served 
as treasurer. He belongs also to the Rainier Club, the Firloch Club, the Uni- 
versity Club, the Seattle Tennis Club and the Seattle Golf and Country Club, 
of which he has been the secretary, all of Seattle, and the Union Club of Tacoma, 
He became one of the organizers of the Seattle Athletic Club, was chosen the 
first captain of the athletic team and later was elected the vice president of the 
society. He is likewise a member of the Chi Psi fraternity and he is identified 
with the Chamber of Commerce, giving stalwart support to its well defined plans 
and projects for the upbuilding and improvement of the city. Politically his 
allegiance is one of the supporting features of the republican party in Seattle. 
He greatly enjoys travel and. besides extensive visits to all parts of America, 
he has visited Cuba and Europe. In shorter periods of recreation he turns to 
golf and outdoor sports. Of him it has been said: "He is widely known as a 
young man of marked executive force. Intricate business situations he readily 
comprehends, he forms his plans quickly and is prompt and accurate in their 
execution. Thus he has gained a wide reputation as a capable and successful 
man of business, a typical representative of the enterprise that has led to the 
marvelous development of the northwest." 



LESLIE R. COFFIN. 



Prominently connected with traction interests in Bellingham and northwestern 
Washington is Leslie R. Coffin who is manager of the Puget Sound Traction, 
Light & Power Company and also the Pacific Northwest Traction Company. 
He is thoroughly posted on the improvements and vital problems that have to do 
with traction interests both in construction and operation as well as in service and 
there is no feature of the business with which he is not familiar. His capa- 
bility therefore contributes to the success of the corporation with which he is 
now identified. He is a young man who has already made a creditable name and 
place for himself, as he was born in Denver, Colorado, April 13, 1884, a son of 
Frederick R. and Elizabeth (Lowber) Coffin. After attending the public schools 
of his native city to the age of nine years he accompanied his parents on their 
removal to Cripple Creek, Colorado, where he continued his education until he 
left the high school in 1899. In that year he became a resident of Pasadena, 



250 WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 

California. He was graduated from the high school of that city with the class of 
1902. He afterward attended Harvard University at Cambridge, Massachusetts, 
where he completed an electrical and engineering course by graduation with the 
class of 1906. 

He next went to Boston where he became connected with the well-known 
corporation operating under the name of the Stone & Webster Company, one of 
the largest engineering corporations in the country. He was connected with 
their statistical department for one year after which he came to the northwest 
and as an electrical engineer entered the services of the Whatcom County Rail- 
way and Electric Light Company. In this connection he won advancement, 
becoming manager in 1910 and when the business was taken over in 191 1 by the 
Puget Sound Traction, Light and Power Company he continued as manager for 
the latter. In 191 1 this company also began the construction of a suburban line 
from Bellingham to Sedro WooUey, Burlington and Mount Vernon, which was 
completed in 19 12 and constitutes the northern" division of the Pacific Northwest 
Traction Company, of which Mr. Coffin is also the manager. It will thus be 
seen that his interests are of an important character, the control of which involves 
the solution of many intricate and complex problems but in every regard he has 
been found adequate to the situation. 

In Cam.bridge, Massachusetts, on the 4th of October, 1909, ^Ir. Coffin was 
married to Miss Fanny M. Johnson, and they have one child, John Matchett, now 
in his second year. Fraternally Mr. Coffin is an Elk and he is also well known in 
club circles, holding membership in the Bellingham Country Club, the Cougar 
Club and the Kulshan Club. Fle is also an associate member of the American 
Institute of Electrical Engineers and the Harvard Engineers Society. While 
his interest in outside activities is ever maintained at an even balance, the greater 
part of his time and energies have been concentrated upon his business affairs 
which have been of constantly growing volume and importance until today he 
is most active in connection with traction interests, holding to high ideals of 
service but at the same time economically and wisely directing the conduct of 
the business, thus contributing to the financial success of the corporation. 



CHARLES J. WARREN. 

Business enterprise at Arlington finds a worthy representative in Charles J. 
Warren, a dealer in men's furnishing goods, in which connection he has built 
up a business of substantial proportions. He was born in Chicago, Illinois, 
January i, 1875, a son of William and Anna (McGlaughlin) Warren, who were 
natives of England and Ireland respectively. In childhood they came to America, 
making their way at once to Chicago, but their marriage was celebrated in 
Rochester, New York. Later in life Mr. Warren engaged in carpentering and 
contract work and in 1876 he removed to Peoria. Illinois, where he continued 
contracting up to the time of his retirement from active business. He is still 
living in that city at the age of seventy-nine years and is enjoying a rest which 
he has truly earned and richly deserves. His wife died September 10, 1880, 



WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 251 

when about thirty-five years of age. In their family were six children, five sons 
and a daughter, of whom Charles J. was the fifth in order of birth. 

Through the period of his boyhood Charles J. Warren attended the public 
schools of Peoria, Illinois, and later when his school days were over he worked 
at the carpenter's trade in that city. He there became connected with the 
Mexican Amolia Soap Company, with which he was associated for five years, 
when he returned to the carpenter's trade, at which he worked for two years. 
In 1897 he arrived in Seattle and entered the employ of the Atlas Lumber Com- 
pany at Lake McMurray, remaining at that point for a year and a half. His 
next position was with the Hyatt & Bryan Shingle Company of Pilchuck, with 
which he continued for four and a half years, when he removed to Biglake, 
Washington, where he was closely associated with the shingle business for a 
similar period. On the 3d of July, 1905, he arrived in Arlington and accepted 
a clerical position with the firm of Peterson Brothers. He remained in that 
employ for seven years and then succeeded R. L. Vaughn in the men's furnish- 
ing goods business at Arlington on the ist of x\ugust, 191 2. He has since con- 
centrated his energies upon the further development of the business, which he 
is now conducting on a larger scale than ever before. He now carries a large 
and attractive line of men's furnishings, keeping thoroughly up-to-date in rela- 
tion to style and workmanship, and his business has now reached gratifying 
proportions. 

On the 6th of June, 1908, Mr. Warren was married to Miss Mattie Henrietta 
Hansen, of Stanwood, Washington, a daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Gabriel Hansen, 
of Stanwood, where they still reside. Mr. and Mrs. Warren have become the 
parents of two daughters: Geraldine Edith, who was born in August, 1910; 
and Anna Marion, born June 21, 191 5. 

For ten years Mr. Warren has been chief of the x\rlington Fire Department 
and he has always been deeply interested in everything pertaining to public 
progress and improvement. He served for one term as a member of the city 
council of Arlington and fraternally he is connected with the Elks lodge No. 
479, the Odd Fellows lodge No. 127 and the United Workmen lodge No. 84. His 
political endorsement has always been given to the republican party since age 
conferred upon him the right of franchise and he does everything in his power 
to ensure its growth and promote its success. He never lightly regards the 
duties of citizenship but is faithful to every responsibility devolving upon him 
and those who know him entertain for him warm regard. 



ALBERT M. PINCKNEY. 

Forty-six years have been added to the cycle of the centuries since Albert 
M. Pinckney arrived in the northwest and he is largely familiar with the Sound 
country. He reached Blaine when there were only about twelve families here, 
when there were no mills and when the work of future progress and develop- 
ment seemed a doubtful proposition. Fie was born at Ann Arbor, Michigan, 
December i, 1849, spent some time in South Dakota and came from Sioux City, 
Iowa, to Washington in 1871. The early settlers here took up claims and began 



252 WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 

improving the land with Httle thought of utiHzing the timber interests. After 
ten years a mill was built in order to provide lumber for local use. There were 
two brothers of the name of Clarke, who built a store on Semiahmoo across the 
bay and the early settlers had to go there by boat to do their trading. The 
plant of the Alaska Pacific Association is now found there. In the years imme- 
diately following his arrival here Mr. Pinckney was employed at various kinds of 
work but later he concentrated his attention upon carpentering. After some 
time spent in Whatcom county he went to Westminster, British Columbia, where 
he was employed on the building of the Canadian Pacific Railroad. Later he 
went to Seattle, where he spent sixteen years, devoting most of that period to 
carpenter work, although for four years he was on the police force of the city, to 
which he was appointed about 1886. In May, 1894, he returned to Blaine, where 
he has since made his home. Here he resumed carpentering, also began dealing 
in real estate and improving property, and as the years have gone on his efforts 
have brought to him substantial success. He built a number of residences and 
has thus contributed to the improvement of the city. He is a brother of William 
Pinckney, in connection with whose sketch on another page of this work is 
given the familv historv. 

The military service of Albert M. Pinckney covers active duty with the 
militia in the southern part of Dakota during the latter part of the Civil war 
and later service with Company D of the Washington National Guard while in 
Seattle. He belongs to the Independent Order of Odd Fellows and for years 
he was a stalwart republican in politics but more recently has maintained an 
independent course. He has served on the police force of Blaine and has also 
been a member of the city council, and there is no feature of public life here in 
which he has not been deeply interested, standing at all times for progress and 
upbuilding. 



ROBERT POLSON. 



Robert Poison, manager of the Poison Logging Company of Hoquiam, is the 
possessor of sterling qualities which insure him the warm regard of his friends 
and the high respect of his business associates. He was born in Nova Scotia in 
1866 and there spent the period of his minority, his education being acquired in 
the public schools of that country. In 1887, when twenty-one years of age, he 
arrived in Hoquiam but after devoting a year to logging there he removed to 
British Columbia, where he also spent a year. Returning to Hoquiam, he operated 
a logging camp for his brother, Alexander Poison, for a year and subsequently 
engaged in the logging business on his own account for two years. He after- 
ward joined forces with his brother, Alexander Poison, and became manager of 
the Poison Brothers Logging Company, which was afterward reorganized under 
the style of the Poison Logging Company, of which Robert Poison still remains 
manager. This business has been built up to large and substantial proportions 
under his direct control and he has further extended the scope of his activities 
through connection with other business interests, being now president of the 
Eureka Lumber & Shingle Company, president of the Hoquiam Timber Company, 
and also a stockholder in a number of other importanf business concerns not only 




EGBERT POLSON 



lilllE NEW YORK 
PUBLIC UBRARY 



ASTOK, LENOX. 
TILDEN FOUNPATION 



WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 255 

of Hoqniam but of the Grays Harbor district. His judgment is discriminating, 
his opinions sound and his enterprise is unfaltering. 

Mr. Poison is a republican in his political views and fraternally is connected 
with the Benevolent Protective Order of Elks. He is a man of splendid physique. 
typical of the big spirit within, although he is modest and unassuming, claiming 
no special credit for what he has accomplished nor what he has done for the 
public. His generosity, however, has been manifest in his support of many plans 
and measures for the public good and he has been especially active in promoting 
improvements on Grays Harbor. All who know him speak of him in terms of 
warm regard and he enjoys the respect and goodwill of colleagues and con- 
temporaries. 



JACOB FURTH. 



While a city owes its existence, its upbuilding and improvement not to a 
single individual but to the united efforts of many, there are always those 
who are leaders in the public life and whose efforts constitute the foundation 
upon which is builded much of the material prosperity and the civic advance- 
ment. To this class belonged Jacob Furth, who was long prominently known 
in banking circles of the northwest and who was most active in establishing 
and promoting the street railway system of Seattle and the interurban systems 
of this section of the country. The extent and importance of his activities 
indeed, made him one of the valued residents of the northwest and his record 
indicates what may be accomplished by the young man of foreign birth who 
seeks the opportunities of the new world and has the energy and determination 
to improve them. But while Jacob Furth was masterful, commanding and 
dynamic in his business affairs, he regarded business as but one phase of 
existence, and he was not less the public-spirited citizen and the philanthropist 
than he was the successful financier. Indeed, there was no period in all of his 
career when business so occupied his attention that he would not turn to listen 
to some plan for the city's betterment or some tale whereby his personal aid 
was sought for an individual or an organization. He is therefore entitled to 
three-fold prominence. 

Mr. Furth was born at Schwihau, Bohemia, November 15, 1840, a son of 
Lazar and Anna (Popper) Furth, who were also natives of that land. After 
attending school to the age of thirteen years Jacob Furth began learning the 
confectioner's trade, which he followed for three years. The tales which 
reached him concerning the opportunities of the United States determined 
him to try his fortune in America when he was a youth of sixteen, and with 
California as his destination he bade adieu to friends and native land, arriving 
in San Francisco in 1856. A week later he left the California metropolis for 
Nevada City, using his last ten dollars in making the trip. Financial conditions 
rendered it imperative that he obtain immediate employment and he accepted a 
clerkship in a clothing store, where he was employed mornings and evenings, 
while the daytime was improved by attendance at the public schools for a 
period of about six months. He thereby acquainted himself with the English 
language, after which he put aside his textbooks and devoted all of his atten- 



256 WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 

tion to business. His salary was originally only forty dollars per month, but 
he proved so capable and faithful that promotion came to him rapidly and at 
the end of three years he was receiving three hundred dollars per month. The 
cost of living might then, as now, have received wide comment, but, notwith- 
standing this, he saved from his earnings enough to enable him to embark in 
business on his own account in 1862, at which time he opened a clothing and 
dry-goods store, which he conducted for eight years. In 1S70 he removed to 
Colusa, where he established a general mercantile store, of which he remained 
proprietor until 1882. On account of impaired health he then made a trip to 
the Puget Sound country and, although Seattle was then scarcely more than a 
village, he recognized something of its opportunities and resolved to start a 
bank in the growing little town. In cooperation with San Francisco friends 
he organized the Puget Sound National Bank, with a capital of fifty thousand 
dollars, and took charge as its cashier. In the first few months of its existence 
he also acted as receiving and paying teller and bookkeeper and, indeed, was 
the only employe of the bank as well as its only officer in Seattle. It was not 
long, however, before the patronage increased, making it necessary for Mr. 
Furth to have assistance, and within a few years the capital was doubled and 
has since been increased several times without calling upon the stockholders 
cO put up any additional money, the earnings of the bank being sufficient to 
increase the capital stock. In 1893 Mr. Furth was elected to the presidency 
and so continued until its consolidation with the Seattle National Bank, after 
which he became chairman of the board of directors of the latter. He became 
recognized as one of the foremost factors in banking circles in the northwest, 
thoroughly conversant with every phase of the business and capable of solvmg 
many intricate and complex financial problems. 

Extending his efforts to other fields, he organized the First National Bank 
of Snohomish in 1896 and remained one of its stockholders and directors until 
his demise. He had similar connection with several other banks in different 
parts of the state and his efforts proved a stimulus in securing success for other 
business interests. In 1884 he organized the California Land & Stock Company, 
owning a farm of nearly fourteen thousand acres in Lincoln county — one of 
the largest in the state- — the greater part of it being devoted to wheat growing, 
with some grazing land and pasture for cattle and horses. Of this company 
Mr. Furth continued as president until his death. Even that added to his 
financial affairs did not cover the scope of his activities. He was not only a 
student of conditions affecting his individual interests, but also of those condi- 
tions affecting the city and growing out of its development and advancement. 
When Seattle's increasing population made it necessary that there should be 
street railway facihties he became interested in the subject and as appliances 
for the operation of electric railways were developed and perfected his energies 
were more and more largely directed to the building and management of urban 
and interurban electric railway systems. The year 1900 witnessed the organiza- 
tion of the Seattle Electric Company, of which he became president and which now 
operates more than one hundred miles of track. He aided in organizing and 
became the president of the Puget Sound Electric Railway in 1902, this cor- 
poration controlling the line between Seattle and Tacoma and also owning the 
street railways in Tacoma and most of the other cities and towns of the Puget 



WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 257 

Sound country. He was also president of the Vulcan Iron Works. Mr. Furth 
made further investment in property, including much Seattle real estate and 
splendid timber lands throughout the northwest. His sound business judgment 
and sagacity were shown in the excellent income which resulted from his invest- 
ments, making him one of the foremost men in wealth as well as in business 
enterprise in the northwest. 

Ere leaving California Mr. Furth was married to Miss Lucy A. Dunten, a 
native of Indiana, and they became the parents of three daughters : Jane E., 
Anna F., and Sidonia, the second daughter being now the wife of Frederick K. 
Struve. The family is widely and prominently known in Seattle, occupying a 
position of leadership in social circles. 

Mr. Furth was a valued representative of the Masonic fraternity and of 
several social organizations. He became a Mason in Colusa county, California, 
in 1870, and while there residing was master of his lodge. He was also a Royal 
Arch Mason and he belonged to the Rainier Club, the Golf Club, the Commercial 
Club of Seattle and the Seattle Chamber of Commerce. He was president of 
the last named for two terms and his identification therewith indicated his interest 
in the city's upbuilding and business development. He voted with the republican 
party and sought its success without desiring official reward. He served, how- 
ever, as a member of the Seattle city council from 1885 until 1891 and in that 
connection, as in private life, labored earnestly for the benefit and upbuilding 
of the municipality. Mr. Furth had no special advantages beyond those which 
others enjoy, but he worked perhaps a little harder, a little more persistently, 
studied business situations and questions more thoroughly and thus was able 
to make more judicious investments and to direct his labors more intelligently, 
v/ith the result that he won place among the most prosperous citizens of "the 
northwest, ranking, too, with those who, while promoting individual prosperity, 
advance the general welfare. Indeed, it was his public service for the benefit 
of his city and his kindliness to his fellowmen that gained him a firm hold upon 
the affection of those with whom he was brought in contact. He passed away in 
June, 1914, and the Post-Intelligencer wrote of him: 

"More than a half century ago a Bohemian boy left the confectioner's shop 
in Buda-Pesth where he was employed and crossed the great ocean to seek his 
fortune in the golden west of America. The boy brought with him a heritage 
of virtues — sobriety, thrift, industry and honesty. He set himself a high ideal, 
and throughout a long life which saw the poor boy transformed into the man 
of riches and power, throughout a life which put into his hands the means of 
working great good or great evil, Jacob Furth steadfastly followed that high 
ideal, practicing in private as in public the simple creed of honesty and kindli- 
ness, making of his every act the example of a courageous, intelligent gentleman 
and leader of men. A steadfastness of purpose, a judgment unbiased by pre- 
judice, a devout belief in the good which lies in all human kind, a faithful 
adherence to the old-fashioned virtues which are the foundation of our civiliza- 
tion ; these traits characterized Jacob Furth, molder of great enterprises. To 
his own family Mr. Furth was a loving husband and father. To his business 
associates and subordinates he was the courteous gentleman, the great leader, 
quick to grasp and utilize large ideas, the fair-minded judge and the liberal 
employer. His charities are beyond the enumeration of even those closest to 



258 WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 

him. He gave publicly on every worthy occasion, but always without ostenta- 
tion. He gave privately beyond the belief of even his closest friends, and 
always aimed to make his giving a matter of substantial aid rather than charity 
in the narrower sense of the word. 

*Tn the community which he served so many years Jacob Furth was a leader. 
His counsel served time and again to guard against hasty and hot-headed action, 
and in business his advice was regarded as invaluable. Jacob Furth served 
Seattle loyally and the highest ideal actuated him in questions of public moment. 
From the day he chose this city as his home he gave liberally of time and influ- 
ence and energy to build up the community about him. Possessed of great power 
throughout his maturity, Air. Furth strove to serve honestly and faithfully those 
who put their faith in him and to help his fellowmen by standing for the things 
his judgment told him were best for the community. The figure of Jacob Furth 
has been familiar to Seattle, identified with great afifairs of this city for the past 
thirty-one years. Of medium stature, broad of shoulder and vigorous, age 
seemed to encroach little upon him. His rugged face spelled power and self- 
mastery, and the eyes, which looked upon the world from behind lenses, were 
a fascinating reflection of the mind of the man, at times kindly and smiling, at 
times commanding, often sympathetic. Always this intelligent gaze was leveled 
on whomever Mr. Furth addressed, a direct, fearless glance which appraised and 
judged rapidly and accurately. 

"Calm self-control was the most striking characteristic of the banker. When 
he spoke it was in low tones, clear and forceful, and he wasted few words. He 
listened much, weighing and judging, with attention riveted on the matter in 
hand. His decisions were given rapidly, but without haste. Kindliness was a 
great ingredient of Mr. Furth's character. Throughout his life he displayed a 
ready sympathy for all manner and conditions of people, a sympathy which 
could put him into the attitude of any person who came to him with a problem 
to solve. 'Mr. Furth could put himself in the place of a boy of ten who had 
broken his skates as readily as he could understand the feelings of a man or 
woman in their greatest misfortune,' said one who knew him intimately. Mem- 
bers of his family never hesitated to consult him even during business hours 
on the most commonplace of domestic problems and always found him ready 
to drop the big business in hand to understand and advise in their perplexities. 
Strangers of any degree had no difficulty in gaining an audience with the banker 
and railway president. He could be found at his office in the Puget Sound 
National Bank (now the Seattle National) or in the Electric Company office, 
in the Pioneer building, at any time from eight until six o'clock, and the request 
for an interview was sufficient to gain audience. 

"As a man of great power, Mr. Furth was perpetually sought by men with 
schemes — good, bad and indififerent. The great strength of the man who deals 
in millions, who finances and manages great enterprises or who puts his capital 
out at interest is his judgment of men. Mr. Furth made up his mind promptly 
and from his own observation. A personal interview was almost invariably 
the manner by which the banker decided on a course of action. Once he had 
satisfied himself of a man's honesty he stood ready to back his opinion with all 
the money that reason justified employing. The reputation of a man who prac- 
tices simple honesiy, who serves faithfully and well those who trust him is 



WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 259 

the greatest gain he can hope from life. Such a reputation Jacob Furth built 
up in his handUng of large affairs in this city, and as the affairs grew in import- 
ance the name and reputation of the man grew with them until his was a 
figure of more than local fame. The crown of this phase of a busy career came 
at the time of the great earthquake and fire which in three brief days devastated 
the city of San Francisco. When the appeal of the stricken city went out to the 
world hearts were touched and purses opened in every state of the Union. 
There was a tremendous competition to get into the stricken city those things 
most needed by the homeless thousands. The great state of Massachusetts 
raised a million dollars by public subscription and sought to put this money to 
its best use for the benefit of the fire suff"erers. Far distant from the disaster, 
it was decided to employ some agent whose honesty and judgment would best 
serve the purpose of the subscribers. Jacob Furth, the banker, thousands of 
miles away in Seattle, was the man chosen. To him Massachusetts handed a 
million dollars with the simple direction that it be spent for the best interests of 
the people of San Francisco. Here was a task to try the greatest man. A 
million dollars is a tremendous power for good or evil. San Francisco was in 
chaotic state and it was difficult indeed to learn the needs of the city or how 
to administer to them. Mr. Furth undertook the trust with characteristic calm- 
ness and dispatch. Relief work was organized rapidly and carried out system- 
atically. Ways were devised of doing the greatest good with the money at hand, 
and the things most needed found their way to the hands of those most in want. 
As simply as he undertook the slightest problem, as seriously as he undertook 
the biggest transaction, Jacob Furth accepted the trust of Massachusetts and 
did its errand of mercy. 

"Some months later Mr. Furth journeyed to Boston to make an account 
of the funds in his care. On this occasion he was the guest of honor at a 
banquet complimentary to his work and his honesty, a banquet at which the 
governor of Massachusetts, the mayor of Boston and many noted men were 
present to thank the agent of a state's charity. The thanks given on this occa- 
sion by speech and by the press made a profound impression upon Mr. Furth. 
His shrewd appraisement of values placed this incident, where it belongs, 
amongst the greatest moments of his busy life. No man could seek greater 
honor than this mighty faith in his ability and his integrity." 

When Jacob Furth passed away expressions of the deepest regret were heard 
on every hand, and men who guide the destinies of Seattle along the lines of its 
greatest activity, professional, commercial and municipal, bore testimony to his 
worth. One said: "Seattle has lost its greatest friend. There was never a 
man in this city who could have accomplished for the transportation of Seattle 
what was brought about by Mr. Furth, but since all this was known best to 
those who have lived here for long, the later generations arc unaware of it." 
Another said: "Should Mr. Furth in his lifetime have suddenly withdrawn 
the energy and money he put into this city, there are many now in prosperous 
business life who would not be here. He was a strong factor in commercial 
and transportation life, such as has been given to few cities on the continent to 
enjoy. He helped many men in public life whose stories were a sealed book to 
all but the great benefactor who has passed away, for he never told of them. He 
helped others, not from a mercenary motive, but because he wanted to see 



260 WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 

everybody prosper." Seattle's mayor expressed his opinion of Mr. Furth in 
the following words : "His was one of the kindliest personalities I ever knew. 
He did much for Seattle and the northwest and aided immeasurably in its 
material upbuilding." J. E. Chilberg, president of the new Chamber of Com- 
merce, spoke of Mr. Furth as follows: "Mr. Furth was one of the oldest 
and most active members of the Chamber of Commerce. In his capacity as 
trustee he rendered invaluable service. As one of the oldest bankers in the 
city he was progressive and generous, always ready with help and encourage- 
ment to advance the business interests of Seattle. He was a liberal contributor 
to all funds requiring the expenditure of money for the benefit of the com- 
munity. Mr. Furth occupied a position unique among our citizens. As a 
public-spirited citizen he was essentially a product of such times, and the early 
history of Seattle, which necessitated cooperation and banded business men 
together for the common good. He was one of a class of citizens now passing 
from us that no future condition of Seattle will or need develop. Hundreds 
of business men wall mourn the loss of their best business friend, one who never 
failed them in their hour of need." Judge Thomas Burke wrote : "Jacob 
Furth was an unusual man. To exceptional ability he united a high order of 
public spirit and great kindness of heart. It would be difficult to overestimate 
his work in the upbuilding of Seattle. His time, his strength and his money 
were always at the call of the city. In his many years of residence here I 
doubt if he was ever once called upon for help or leadership in any public 
matter in which he failed to respond and respond cheerfully, liberally and with 
genuine public spirit. He was a man of sound judgment and admirable balance. 
He never lost his head no matter how great the exicitement or agitation around 
him was. No one could hold fifteen minutes conversation with him without 
feeling that he was talking with a man of great reserve power. He was a man 
of courage and wonderful self-control. He kept his own counsel, whether it 
related to the transaction of his large and varied business affairs or to the 
numberless acts of kindness which he was constantly doing for others. It has 
fallen to the lot of few bankers, in this or any other community, to do so many 
acts of substantial kindness for his customers and for others. Many a man in 
this community owes a debt of gratitude to Jacob Furth for a helping hand at a 
critical juncture in his afifairs. His passing from the scene 'of action here is, 
and will continue to be for many years to come, a serious loss to Seattle." 

Love of family was one of the most marked of Jacob Furth's traits. He 
enjoyed having his immediate kin about him more than any form of social 
entertainment. Consulted about guest lists he would name his children and 
consider the matter closed. So certain was he in this response that the matter 
became an affectionate joke among those dear to him. Not even Jacob Furth'.s 
family have a definite idea of the number of his charitable interests. He eav»^ 
promptly and freely wherever his judgment justified giving. At times he wa<5 
imposed upon, but he bore no ill will. As a rule his interest in the needy was 
wisely placed. To every public charity of worth Mr. Furth gave with equal 
liberality. His name has headed subscription lists innumerable and his influence 
and advice have solved many a problem of moment to institutions designed to 
do good. But the great test of charity is its application to private life. Charity 
that gives is fine, but how much finer the charity that rules every act ! Those 



WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 261 

who knew Mr. Furth intimately are agreed he did not bear ill will. Men who 
deceived him he refused to deal with, but for them he could always find 
extenuation. His faculty of placing himself in another's situation gave him 
insight and sympathy which placed values in their true light. He always found 
time to express understanding of and sympathy for the motives of those who 
were against him. 

Jacob Furth came to Seattle a successful man in the prime of his life. He 
brought a splendid heritage — rugged health, honesty, sobriety, thrift and a keen 
judgment. He guided himself by a simple creed, striving to do right as he saw 
it, to understand and forgive those who were against him, to be just and to 
be kind. He succeeded as few men may hope to succeed. Though the immigrant 
boy rose to a position of tremendous power and responsibility, he served well and 
wisely, and in his success he gave unsparingly to help those about him and the 
community of which he was proud. The passing of Jacob Furth is the passing 
of a figure of tremendous interest, it marks the close of a career which embodied 
those virtues that may well serve as a pattern for men. A father has been lost 
to his family ; a loved neighbor has been taken from the community ; a leader 
has passed from the city, and a kindly, generous gentleman has gone to his 
reward. 



HON. JAMES ZYLSTRA. 

Hon. James Zylstra, mayor of Coupeville, manifests in his official service 
the same progressive spirit which has characterized him in every relation of life. 
As a member of the bar he has won a creditable position and his service as 
mayor was preceded by excellent work in the office of county prosecuting attorney. 
He came to America from Holland, his birth having occurred in Lewarden, 
July 3, 1877, his parents being Riekele and Lizzie (Pool) Zylstra, who are also 
natives of that country. They came to America in 1880, settling first in South 
Dakota, where the father engaged in farming until 1896. He then removed to 
Whidbey Island, where he has engaged in the real estate business to the present 
time. He was born March 28, 1853, so that he is now sixty- four years of age, 
while his wife was born November 27, 1852. In their family were nine children, 
of whom one died in infancy. The others in order of birth are: James ; Ralph ; 
Ranee; Rien ; Nicholas; Mrs. Taapke Neenhanis and Mrs. Augusta Kiester, who 
are residents of Oak Harbor, Washington ; and Mrs. Jessie Deffries, living in 
Everett, Washington. 

Brought to America when but three years of age, James Zylstra attended 
the public schools of South Dakota and afterward became a student in the 
Puget Sound Academy. In 1903 he was elected county clerk of Island county, 
in which capacity he continued for four years, and while thus engaged he devoted 
his leisure hours to the study of law, being admitted to practice in 1905. He was 
court commissioner for two months, after which he resigned and accepted the 
appointment of prosecuting attorney of Island county. To that position he was 
reelected for two successive terms, at the close of which time he entered upon 
the private practice of law, in which he continued for two years. In 1914 he 



262 WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 

was reelected to the ofifice of prosecuting attorney and is still the incumbent in 
that position. Being recalled to the office is proof of his ability and loyalty 
in the position, in which he has most carefully and faithfully safeguarded the 
legal interests of the public. In 1914 he was elected mayor of Coupeville and 
has been reelected for a second term, again receiving the endorsement of the 
public for faithful, meritorious and efficient service. He is also a member of the 
county school board and the cause of education finds in him a stalwart champion. 
He is a progressive republican and was the organizer of the progressive party 
in Island county. 

On the 3d of August, 1904, Mr. Zylstra was married to IMiss May E. 
McCaslin, of Coupeville, a daughter of \\\ H. and Esther Jane (Dawson) Mc- 
Caslin, both of whom are now deceased. In their family were five children; 
Earl Leroy, who was born in Coupeville in November, 1905 ; Luella May, born in 
June, 1907; James Elwin, born December 6, 1909; Lillian lone, in 1910; and 
Lysle Wayne, December 17. 1915. The three older children are all in school. 
Mr. Zylstra is a past master of the Masonic fraternity and also a member of the 
Modern Woodmen of America and is in hearty sympathy with the purposes and 
spirit of these organizations. Along the lines which govern honorable, upright 
Tianhood and citizenship he has guided his life, and the course which he has 
pursued in office is one worthy of emulation in this age when too often the 
opportunities of office are subverted for personal gain or individual aggrandize- 
ment. 



A. J. WEST. 



A. J. West is now living retired in Aberdeen, enjoying the fruits of former 
well conducted business interests. In fact his name is inseparably interwoven 
with the history of his city and state. In connection with the former he owned 
and operated the first sawmill in Aberdeen and he left his impress upon the 
annals of the commonwealth as a member of the constitutional convention. More- 
over, it was Mr. West who bought the first ticket from St. Paul, Minnesota, to 
the coast over the Northern Pacific Railroad. He was born in Ireland and on 
coming to the new world settled in Canada, but afterward removed to Michigan, 
where in 1863 he enlisted for service in the Civil war. He went to the front as a 
private but before the close of hostilities rose to the rank of captain. He par- 
ticipated in many hotly contested engagements and his own valor and loyalty 
inspired and encouraged the men who served under him. He was married in 
Michigan to Miss Jennie Robinson on the 12th of June. 1865, soon after his 
return from the army, and he continued his residence in that state until, attracted 
by the opportunities of the northwest, he came to the Pacific coast. 

As previously stated, Mr. West purchased the first ticket over the Northern 
Pacific, traveling by rail to Portland, thence by boat to Astoria and on to South 
Bend, to North Cove and to Westport, finally reaching Grays Harbor. He 
arrived in Aberdeen in 1883 and built the first sawmill in the town. The site of 
the city was then covered with a dense forest growth and the work of development 
had scarcely been begun. The machinery with which he equipped his sawmill 




A. J. WEST 



> 



p. THE NEW YORK ■ 
PUBLIC LIBRARY j 

ASTOR, LENOX 
TIL.DEN FOUNDATi 



WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 265 

was purchased in Michigan, shipped to Portland by rail and thence by water down 
the Columbia and up the ocean to Grays Harbor. When his mill was equipped 
Mr. West began its operation and was- thus actively identified with the lumber 
industry until 1905, when he sold his interests in the mill to the Slade Company, 
after which he established a mill at Junction City, it being now a large and 
thriving industry of that place. He picked out his first mill site on the map while 
still living in Michigan and he displayed notable prescience and foresight in 
selecting his location. When preparing to come west he had all of his furniture 
and other belongings packed and loaded on a car, which was burned, entailing 
considerable loss, but undeterred in his purpose, he eventually reached the coast 
and since that time he has been continuously and helpfully associated with the 
upbuilding and development of Aberdeen. He was active in connection with 
Samuel Benn and others in securing the building of the Northern Pacific Railroad 
to Grays Harbor, in which connection he furnished the labor and practically 
financed the work. He also bought the right of way, which he graded, and he 
sold to the Chicago, Milwaukee & St. Paul Railroad its present right of way to 
the Harbor. He owned one of the first grocery stores of Aberdeen and following 
the big fire of 1893 in the city he was very generous in his distribution of groceries 
among the needy, for people at that time had no money and were entirely destitute 
of supplies. Mr. West was at that crisis in Aberdeen's history mayor of the 
city and when aid was ofifered to Aberdeen by neighboring towns he refused it 
and through his efiforts and direction Aberdeen took care of her needy ones and, 
Phoenix-like, the city rose from the ashes. • ' 

It was Mr. West who built the first bridge across the Whishkah river and 
also the Chehalis river at Aberdeen. He was also interested in establishing the 
first electric light plant, equipping it with machinery, its location being the 
West Mill. 

There are various other features in his career worthy of thoughtful con- 
sideration. Throughout the entire period of his residence in the northwest he has 
been actuated by a spirit of devotion to the public good and he served as a 
delegate to the state constitutional convention at Olympia when it was necessary 
to make the trip to the capital city by boat and stage. Twice he served as mayor 
of Aberdeen and in his official connection put forth every effort to promote the 
city's upbuilding and development along substantial lines, ever looking beyond 
the exigencies of the moment to the possibilities of the future. He was likewise 
a member of the school board and the cause of education found in him a stalwart 
champion. He has been a generous contributor to every movement calculated to 
benefit the city and in fact has been the leading spirit in many projects planned 
for Aberdeen's upbuilding. In all of his business connections Mr. West has 
followed the axiom that honesty is the best policy and something more of his 
business career is indicated in his relations to his employes, manifest in the fact 
that his chief engineer in the present West mill was with him in Michigan, came 
to the coast with him and has since been in his employ, covering a period of forty 
years in all. 

To Mr. and Mrs. W^est were born two sons: W. A., who is now secretary 
and manager of the mill ; and E. R., who is sales manager. The parents cele- 
brated their golden wedding in June, 191 5, a most notable occasion for all who 
were present. They are now living retired in a comfortable environment, for the 

Vol. TI— 14 » 



266 WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 

intelligently directed business activity of Mr. West supplied them with a very 
substantial competence and his present rest is well deserved, while the regard 
and honor entertained for him by his fellow townsmen is justly merited. He has 
been a prominent factor in the growth of Masonry in Aberdeen and in fact was 
the founder of the first lodge in the city. He also furnished it with a place of 
meeting, giving the lodge the use of the upper floor of a storehouse which stood 
just across the bridge on East Heron street for the nominal rental of one dollar 
for as long a period as they desired to hold meetings there. On the 14th of 
February, 191 3, when the lodge celebrated its twenty-fifth anniversary, Mr. West 
was presented with a diploma of life membership, an honor rarely conferred, and 
indicating the place of distinction which he holds in the local circles of the order. 
He has filled all the chairs of the lodge and has at all times been an exemplary 
representative of the craft. 



W. A. WEST. 



W. A. West, now managing the West lumber interests in Aberdeen, was born 
in Michigan but was only eight weeks old when brought by his parents, Mr. and 
Mrs. A. J. West, to Washington. He attended the schools of Aberdeen, passing 
through consecutive grades to the high school, and during vacation periods in his 
boyhood he spent his time in the mill, gradually mastering the business in 
principle and detail and working his way upward to his present position, that of 
secretary and manager. He is a worthy son of a worthy sire and has followed in 
the business footsteps of his father in every particular, displaying the same spirit 
of enterprise and the same principles of integrity and honor in all his business 
relations. 

On the 27th of June, 1907, W. A. West was married to ]\Iiss Gerda Knudson, 
a childhood playmate of Mr. West. She is a daughter of Charles Knudson, one 
of Aberdeen's pioneers, who later returned to Norway after losing his wife and 
now resides in that country. Mr. and Mrs. West have two children : Arnold J., 
in school ; and Kathryn. The name of West has long figured prominently in 
connection with the various phases of Aberdeen's existence and development and 
stands as a synonym for successful activity in connection with the lumber industry. 



GUS HENSLER. 



Gus Hensler, who is engaged in the real estate and insurance business at 
Anacortes, was born in Audrain county, Missouri, in 1864, his parents being 
Ernest Charles and Catherine (Lang) Hensler. The father, a farmer by occu- 
pation, came to the west in 1892 and is now deceased, but the mother is still 
living. 

Gus Hensler acquired his education in the public schools of Fayette, Mis- 
souri, and in Central College, which is conducted under the auspices of the 
Methodist Episcopal church. He has also learned many valuable lessons in the 



WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 267 

school of experience and has thus continually added to his knowledge and effi- 
ciency. When but fifteen years of age he became a cattle buyer and followed 
that business for a time in New Mexico, but in 1889 he determined to try his 
fortune in the northwest and in July of that year arrived in Washington. He 
took up a preemption claim in Skagit county not far from Anacortes and in due 
time proved up on the property. He was afterward associated with a Mr. N. F. 
McNaught in a land improvement company until 1893, when he was called to 
public office, serving for a period of four years as city clerk of Anacortes. On 
retiring from that position he turned his attention to the real estate and insur- 
ance business, in which he has since been actively engaged. Entering into a 
partnership, he formed a light and water company, but at the end of about four 
years sold out to Douglass Allmond and since then has given his undivided atten- 
tion to insurance and real estate. 

In 1890 Mr. Hensler was married to Miss Anna Barker, who died Septem- 
ber 7, 191 1, and on the 12th of December, 1913, he wedded Hessie E. Hastings. 
In politics he maintains an independent course, nor has he ever been a politician 
in the sense of office seeking, although he served in 1897-8 as county commis- 
sioner. In Masonry he has taken the degrees of the lodge and he is also identi- 
fied with the Benevolent Protective Order of Elks. He belongs to the Chamber 
of Commerce, in which he has served as a director. Those who know him, and 
he has a wide acquaintance, recognize in him a progressive and enterprising 
business man and a substantial citizen. 



THOMAS R. WATERS. 



Thomas R. Waters, who is practicing at the Bellingham bar and has through- 
out his professional career displayed the qualities indispensable to success — a 
keen, rapid, logical mind plus the business sense and the ready capacity for 
hard work— was born in New Madrid, Missouri, February 8, 1881, a son of 
Louis Allen and Ella Waters. The father was also a native of New Madrid 
and after completing a course in the public schools there entered the Pennsyl- 
vania University at Philadelphia and later became a student in the Louisville 
(Kentucky) Medical College, from which he was graduated. He then returned 
to his native city, where he entered upon the practice of medicine, in which he 
continued successfully until his death, in the spring of 1886. 

Thomas R. Waters attended the public and high schools of Louisville, 
Kentucky, until he reached the age of sixteen years, when he entered the Louis- 
ville Military In.stitute, from which he was graduated in i<;oo. Determined 
upon the practice of law as a life work, he later matriculated in the Slate L'ni- 
versity of Michigan and was graduated therefrom with the degree of LI.. B. 
in 1905. He then went to Spokane to assist on a case, that of the Peoples I'nited 
Church of Spokane versus Mclnturff, which occupied him for two months. At 
the expiration of that period he came to Bellingham. where he entered into a 
partnership with Frank W. Radley for the practice of law under the firm name 
of Waters & Radley. After two years this association was di.'=;continued and 
Mr. Waters entered into partnership with George Downer uiuUr tlu' lirni name 



268 WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 

of Waters & Downer and when their interests were dissolved he became a 
partner of Judge Nederer, who is now United States district judge at Seattle. 
The firm of Nederer & Waters existed until August, 191 3, when, following the 
appointment of the senior partner to the bench, Mr. W'aters entered upon an 
independent practice and has since been alone. He possesses eloquence of lan- 
guage, and a strong personality, a thorough grasp of the law and ability to 
accurately apply its principles combined with an earnest, dignified manner and 
marked strength of character are factors in his efifectiveness as an advocate. 

In Louisville, Kentucky, on the first of June, 1908, Mr. \\'aters was married 
to Miss Elvira Batman and they have become the parents of three children : 
Thomas R., Jr. ; Suzanne ; and Louis Allen. Fraternally Mr. Waters is con- 
nected with the Elks and Knights of Columbus and his political belief and alle- 
giance are indicated in the fact that he is now secretary of the Woodrow Wilson 
League. If he espouses a cause he becomes one of its active supporters. 



ELDRIDGE WHEELER. 

Eldridge Wheeler, superintendent of schools at Montesano, Washington, was 
born ]\rarch 2^, 1865. at Drakesville, Davis county, Iowa, a son of Frederick 
and Margaret (Edwards) Wheeler, the former a native of the state of New 
York and the latter of Tennessee. In the paternal line he is descended from 
early Puritans of Massachusetts. His education was completed in the Southern 
Iowa Normal School and, taking up the profession of teaching, he has been 
active in that field since 1885. He began as a teacher in the rural schools of 
Iowa and afterward was thus connected with the schools of Nebraska. In 1891 
he came to Washington and after teaching for a time in rural and village schools 
he was made superintendent of the city schools of Montesano, in which posi- 
tion he has remained for twenty-two years, a most notable record, indicative 
of superior service characterized by most progressive methods. At one time 
he was also county superintendent of the schools of Grays Harbor county. He 
has also been a factor in the promotion of local industries and a stockholder in 
several local companies. 

In Pawnee City, Nebraska, on the 20th of March, 1893, Professor Wheeler 
was married to Miss Sadie Scott, a daughter of the Hon. R. T. Scott, of that 
place, and a representative of one of the pioneer families of southeastern Neb- 
raska. Robert Fred Wheeler, fifteen years of age, is their only living child. 
A daughter, Imogene, died January 8, 191 5, at the age of seventeen years. 

Professor Wheeler has been a lifelong democrat. Aside from serving as 
county superintendent of schools in 1907 and 1908 he was a candidate on the 
democratic ticket for state superintendent of public instruction in the latter year 
and he served as mayor of Montesano for three terms, from 1912 to 1914 in- 
clusive. In 1912 he was a delegate to the national democratic convention held 
in Baltimore, and was among those who advocated the nomination of Woodrow 
Wilson. In 1913 he was appointed a member of the board of regents of the 
University of Washington and in 191 5 was reappointed to that position for a 
six years' term which will expire in 1921. Fraternally he is also well known, 



WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 269 

being connected with the Masons, the Knights of Pythias, the Maccabees, the 
United Workmen and the Modern Woodmen of America. He stands for hieh 
ideals in his profession and his work constitutes an important chapter in the 
record of educational progress in Washington. 



WILLIAM ASBURY JOHNSON. 

William Asbury Johnson, an active member of the Everett bar, now filling 
the office of city attorney, was born September 12, 1873, in Orono, Maine. His 
father, Charles W. Johnson, also a native of that state, is a representative of one 
of the old families of Maine that was established at Kittery at an early day. 
The founder of the American branch of the family was James Johnson, who 
came from England and devoted his life to the work of a carpenter and joiner. 
One of the ancestors of our subject, Jesse Davis, fought in the Revolutionary 
war, aiding the colonists in their struggle for independence. He was a physician 
and surgeon and became related by marriage to the Johnson family, his daughter, 
Phoebe Davis, becoming the wife of Elisha G. Johnson, the great-grandfather 
of William A. Johnson of Everett. Charles W. Johnson, the father, was a mill 
man and was identified with the lumber trade during the greater part of his 
life. In the fall of 191 5 he became a resident of Everett, where he is now living 
retired. At his home in Orono, Maine, he was quite active in community affairs 
and filled various local offices. In politics he is a stanch democrat and in religious 
faith is a Universalist. He married Clara Lancaster, a native of Maxfield, 
Maine, and a daughter of John Lancaster, representative of an old Maine family 
of English descent. Her death occurred in Orono, Maine, when she was thirty- 
three years of age. 

Their only child, William Asbury Johnson, was educated in the public schools 
of Orono and in the University of Maine, from which he was graduated with the 
LL. R. degree in 1905, while in 1908 his alma mater conferred upon him the 
Master of Arts degree. From the age of fifteen years he had been variously 
employed as a sailor, as an engineer and in clerical capacities, including that of 
bookkeeper. It was by means of his earnings gained in these different ways that 
he was able to pursue his university course. Not having a college diploma, the 
law made it necessary that he pass the state bar examination and practice for 
a time before the law school could confer a degree upon him. In February, 1905, 
he was admitted to practice in Maine and in the following June he was grad- 
uated. He took up the work of the profession in Milo, Maine, where he 
remained for two years and then removed to Rangor. Maine, where he also 
spent two years. He then left the Atlantic coast for the far west and located 
at Poison, Montana, in 1909, upon the opening of the Flathead reservation. 
There he continued until August, 1911, at which time he removed to Everett, 
arriving in that city a comparative stranger. He at once entered upon active 
practice, in which he has since continued most successfully. He displays marked 
ability in his chosen field. Lack of opportunities is ofttimes an incentive to 
ambition and energy. The man who must carve out his own way comes to recog- 
nize the value of opportunities and of effort and makes each move count and 



270 WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 

utilizes each hour in the best possible way. Thrown upon his own resources at 
an early age, Air. Johnson has advanced steadily step by step by reason of merit 
and capability and is now recognized as an able lawyer of Everett, where in 
January, 1916, he was elected to the office of city attorney. 

On the i6th of November, 1914, Air. Johnson was married to Miss Anna 
Rollins, a native of Maine and a daughter of Cyrus C. and Abbie (Fox) 
Rollins, representatives of an old family of the Pine Tree state, where they still 
reside. In politics Mr. Johnson is a republican and is one of the active workers 
of his party in Everett. He has taken the various degrees in the Independent 
Order of Odd Fellows and also various degrees in Masonry and is a past master 
of the Masonic lodge of Milo, Maine. He likewise belongs to the Benevolent 
Protective Order of Elks at Everett, to the Knights of Pythias and the Red 
Men. He has membership in the Commercial Club and cooperates in all of its 
well devised plans for the improvement and upbuilding of the city. His religious 
faith is that of the Universalist church. He devotes all of his time and atten- 
tion to his law practice and he is a member of the Snohomish County Bar Asso- 
ciation. In his boyhood it was his ambition to become a civil engineer, but on 
one occasion he was required to make a talk before the Maine legislature when 
evidence was being given before Judge Foster of Augusta, Maine, who after 
hearing Mr. Johnson remarked to him that he had missed his calling, that he 
should have studied law instead of engineering and believed that he would make 
a brilliant lawyer. This was the incentive which directed him to prepare for 
the bar and in a calling where advancement depends entirely upon individual 
merit he is making steady progress. 



ELMER E. HEMRICK. 



Elmer E. Hemrick, manager of the Aberdeen Brewing Company and vice 
president of the Security Savings & Loan Association, was born in Alma, Wis- 
consin, in 1890, but with the early removal of the family to Seattle acquired his 
education in the public schools of that city and in Wilson's Modern Business 
College. He is a son of Alvin Hemrick, of the Hemrick Brothers Brewing 
Company of Seattle. 

In 1910 Elmer E. Hemrick removed to Aberdeen to fill the position of assistant 
manager of the Aberdeen Brewing Company, which had established business 
there in 1902. Later he was advanced to the position of manager and so con- 
tinues. The company built a plant there, installing modern machinery and equip- 
ment, and has since conducted a progressive and profitable brewing business. 
Since the ist of January, 1916. they have been manufacturing non-alcoholic beer. 
The first officers of the company were Alvin Hemrick, president ; E. J. Quaver, 
secretary and manager ; and H. L. Smith, treasurer. After several years a 
change occurred in the personnel of the company, for while Alvin Hemrick 
remained as president, Elmer E. Hemrick became vice president and manager, 
and Paul F. Glaser secretary and treasurer. The company also installed an ice 
plant and with it consolidated the two other ice plants of the city, so that they 
now supply all the ice for Aberdeen and Grays Harbor. 



WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 271 

Elmer E. Hemrick does not confine his attention alone to this business, for 
in February, 1915, he became one of the organizers of the Surf Packing Com- 
pany, with Alvin Hemrick as president ; Elmer E. Hemrick, vice president and 
manager; and Paul F. Glaser secretary and treasurer. This company was formed 
for the purpose of packing sea foods, which they put upon the market under 
the name of the Hemrick brand of clams and clam nectar. They erected a 
building ninety by one hundred and thirty feet, installed all modern machinery 
and electric motive power and they have a steam plant for cooking. They employ 
thirty-five people and the capacity is thirty thousand cases each season. In the 
brewery fifteen people are employed and in addition to his interests in those 
connections Elmer E. Hemrick became one of the organizers and is the vice 
president of the Security Savings & Loan Association. 

He is well known in fraternal relations, being a member of the Benevolent 
Protective Order of Elks, the Eagles, the Red Men and the Foresters. He has 
a wide acquaintance and his social qualities have gained him warm friendship, 
while his business enterprise has made him widely known. 



THOMAS J. TANNER. 



Thomas J. Tanner, who is widely known as one of Port Townsend's leading 
and highly respected citizens, has been actively engaged in business there for 
more than three decades as proprietor of the Port Townsend Soda Water Works. 
His birth occurred in Wilts county, England, in April, 1845, his parents being 
Mr. and Mrs. John Tanner, who spent their entire lives in that country, passing 
away when their son Thomas was still a child. 

In the acquirement of an education Thomas J. Tanner attended the schools 
of England and after putting aside his textbooks secured a position as deHvery 
boy in a grocery store. Subsequently he made his way to Newport, New South 
Wales, and there worked at gardening until he shipped as a cabin boy, and during 
the succeeding three years he sailed to all ports of the world. On the expiration 
of that period he came to Utsaladdy, Washington, in a British ship and, abandon- 
ing seafaring life, worked in the logging camps on Whidbey Island and in the 
sawmills at Port Discovery and Port Gamble. He also worked on ranches and 
proved up on a homestead in Jcfl^erson county, where he was engaged in ranch- 
ing for five years. He afterward spent two years in the Gassier mines of 
British Columbia and then returned to Port Townsend, where he worked at odd 
jobs and later established a wood sawing plant which he conducted for a year. 
In 1886 he bought out the soda water business which he has conducted con- 
tinuously throughout the past thirty-one years, being accorded a liberal and 
growing patronage that has brought him well deserved prosperity. 

On the 1st of January, 1887, in Brooklyn, New York, Mr. Tanner was united 
in marriage to Miss Margaret Logue, by whom he had four children, three of 
whom still survive, namely: Thomas J., who was bom at Port Townsend in 1888 
and now resides in Spokane, Washington ; Margaret V., who was born at Port 
Townsend in 1889, is a graduate of the Holy Name Academy and now well 
known in musical circles; and Harry J., whose birth occurred at Port Townsend 



272 WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 

in 1900 and who is now associated with his father in business. The daughter 
Minnie is deceased. 

Mr. Tanner gives his political allegiance to the republican party and has 
served as councilman for the past twenty years, while for four years, from 
1900 to 1903 inclusive, he held the office of county treasurer. Fraternally he is 
connected with the Red Men, which order he joined many years ago, and his 
religious faith is indicated by his membership in the Roman Catholic church. 
His life has been upright and honorable in every relation and the success which 
he now enjoys is directly attributable to his own industry, energy and capability. 
He has long been a man of influence in his community and is numbered among 
the honored pioneer citizens of the state. 



H. W. MacPHAIL. 



H. W. MacPhail, president of the Willapa Harbor State Bank of Raymond, 
was born in Cass City, Michigan, April i, 1880, a son of Curtis W. MacPhail, 
who was born at Caro, Michigan, in 1857. In 1879, when twenty-two years of 
age, he married Miss Matilda Pervis, a native of Canada, who died in 1885. 
In their family were two sons, H. W. and Leland S., the latter a resident of 
Nashville, Tennessee. The father engaged in general merchandising during early 
manhood but in 1880 turned his attention to banking, establishing the first bank 
in Cass City, Michigan. He is still actively identified with that business through- 
out the state, making his home at Ludington. 

After acquiring his education in the public schools and a business college, 
H. W. MacPhail became his father's associate in the banking business and 
received his initial business training and experience in the fourteen banking insti- 
tutions which his father had established in Michigan. Later, with the desire to 
test his ability, he came to the west, hoping to find still better opportunities in 
this great and growing section of the country. Arriving in Raymond in 1908, 
he organized the Willapa Harbor State Bank, of which he at first became cashier. 
Later he was elected to the vice presidency and in 1914 was chosen for the head 
of the institution, since which time he has directed its policy as its president. 
The other officers are : Ralph Burnside, vice president ; E. E. Calkett, cashier ; 
and C. E. Meredith, assistant cashier. The bank has a capital and surplus of 
one hundred thousand dollars and is regarded as one of the safe, reliable financial 
concerns of this section of the state. Mr. MacPhail soon gave demonstration of 
his business powers, capacity and resourcefulness and his cooperation has been 
sought along various other lines. He now has important and extensive business 
connections, being the vice president of the Pacific Fruit Package Company, 
treasurer of the Puget Sound & Willapa Harbor Railway Company, which ex- 
tended its line from Tacoma to Raymond in 191 5, vice president of the Hardwood 
Mill Company, and president of the MacPhail Investment Company, all of which 
indicate something of the nature, breadth and importance of his interests. He 
also organized the Willapa Harbor Telephone Company in 1910 and was its 
treasurer and one of the directors until 1914, when they sold out to the Pacific 
Telegraph & Telephone Company. He is also interested with his father in the 




H. W. MacPHATL 



THE NEW YORK 1 
PUBLIC LIBRARY I 



ASTOR, LENOX 
TILDEN FOUNDATION 



WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 275 

ownership and operation of eighteen banks in Michigan and thus he is promi- 
nently identified with the financial development of two states. Together with 
A. C. Little he organized the Commercial Club of Raymond, of which for three 
years he was the president, putting forth efifective and well directed effort for the 
development of the city through that organization and instituting various methods 
for the promotion of civic standards. 

On the 17th of July, 1909, Mr. MacPhail was married to Miss Ethel M. 
Maclachlan, of Findlay, Ohio, and they have one son, Norman Curtis. Mr. 
MacPhail and his wife are members of the Presbyterian church and fraternally 
he is connected with the Masons, the Elks and the Knights of Pythias, having 
taken the degrees of York and Scottish Rites in Masonry, while with the Nobles 
of the Mystic Shrine he has crossed the sands of the desert. Something of the 
nature of his recreation is indicated in the fact that he is a member of the 
Raymond Rod and Gun Club, the Grays Harbor Country and Golf Club and the 
Tacoma Country and Golf Club. His political allegiance is given to the republicar. 
party and he is conversant with all vital questions and issues of the day. He is a 
man who at all times recognizes his duties and obligations of citizenship and 
who in his business career is ever stimulated by opportunity, which is to him a 
call to action. The word fail has no place in his vocabulary, and determination 
and energy have enabled him to overcome all obstacles and to utilize in the best 
possible manner the advantages offered. His work has indeed been a contributing 
element to the upbuilding of Raymond. 



COLONEL GRANVILLE OWEN HALLER. 

The life record of Colonel Granville Owen Haller was an exposition of a 
spirit of lofty patriotism, manifest as strongly in his efforts for the development 
and upbuilding of the northwest as in his service through so many years as a 
member of the army. While he wore the nation's uniform he was a strict 
disciplinarian, prompt in executing the commands of a superior officer and 
equally alert to see that his own orders were faithfully executed. His nation's 
honor was his foremost thought. When he retired to private life he still felt 
that he owed a service to his country and he gave it in his efforts to promote 
progress and upbuilding in the northwest and Washington came to know him as 
one of its most honored and valued citizens. He was serving as president of its 
Old Settlers Society at the time of his demise. 

Colonel Haller was born in York, Pennsylvania, January 31, 1819. and his 
father, George Haller, also first opened his eyes to the light of day in York. He 
died when his son Granville was but two years of age and the mother was left 
with four young children to care for and supi^ort. She displayed the spirit of 
sacrifice characteristic of the mother and so managed her affairs that she was able 
to give her children good educational ojjportunities. Granville O. Haller attended 
school in his native town and early in life determined upon a military career. 
Following examination by the board of military officers at Washington, D. C, in 
T839. he was commissioned second lieutenant -in the Fourth Regiment in the United 
States Infantry, although then but twenty years of age. In 1841-2 he participated 
in the Florida war, taking part in the battle of Big Cypress Swamp and the engage- 



276 WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 

ment which resulted in the capture of Halleck Tushnugger's band, which brought 
an end to the conflict. From the ist of January, 1843, until he resigned, on the 
loth of September, 1845, he was adjutant of the Fourth Infantry, and he became 
brigade major of the Third Brigade, United States Regulars under General 
Taylor, in Texas, in 1845. During the war with Mexico he commanded his 
company from the time of the siege of Vera Cruz until the city of Mexico was 
captured, participating in a number of hotly contested engagements in the valley 
of Mexico, including the attack upon the fortifications of San Antonio and the 
storming of El Molino del Rey. It was his valor and gallantry on that occasion 
that won for him the brevet of major. After participating in the capture of 
Mexico city and in skirmishing within its walls on the following day, the officer's 
report mentioned his gallantry and valuable aid. On the ist of January, 1848, 
he was advanced to the rank of captain in the Fourth Infantrj^ and afterward 
spent some time on recruiting duty. 

In 1852 the order came for Majors Sanders and Haller to join the department 
of the Pacific with their respective commands and they sailed on the United 
States store ship Fredonia, by way of Cape Horn, arriving at San Francisco in 
June, 1853, thus completing the voyage of seven months. Major Haller and his 
company proceeded at once to Fort \''ancouver, Washington, and later to Fort 
Dallas, Oregon, after which he was engaged in active mihtary duty against the 
Indians when military force was of necessity employed to make them understand 
that the atrocities and murders which they had inflicted upon the settlers must be 
stopped. He was an active participant all through the Indian war of the north- 
Test and rendered valuable aid to the government and to the brave pioneer people 
who were attempting to reclaim the region for the purposes of civilization. In 
the fall of 1856 he received orders to establish and command a fort near Port 
Townsend and the work, notwithstanding many formidable difficulties, was satis- 
*factorily accomplished, and for many years the fort was garrisoned and known 
as Fort Townsend. 

In speaking of his military career a contemporary biographer said : "While 
there the Major and his men were a most efficient force in protecting the settlers, 
and well does Major Haller -deserve mention in the history of the northwest, for 
his efforts contributed in larger measure than the vast majority to the development 
of this region, for had it not been for the protection which he gave to the settlers 
the Indians would have rendered impossible the labors of the pioneers in the 
work of reclaiming the wild land for purposes of civilization and planting the 
industries which have led to the material upbuilding of this portion of the country. 
For some time Major Haller was with his command on board the United States 
ship patrolling the waters of the Sound and removed all foreign Indians from the 
district. While thus engaged he also participated in the occupation of San Juan 
island until the boundary question was settled. In i860 he was assigned to Fort 
Majave, in Arizona, and while stationed there he treated the Indians with such 
consideration and justice that when his command had withdrawn he had so 
gained the goodwill of the red race that the miners had no hesitation about 
continuing their operations there and did so without molestation. In 1861 came 
orders for Major Haller to proceed with his command to San Diego, California, 
and afterward to New York city to join the army then being organized by General 
McClellan. He had previously been brevet major but on the 25th of September, 



WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 277 

1861, was promoted to major of the Seventh Infantry -but the members of the 
regiment were being held as prisoners of war in Texas and Major Haller reported 
to General McClellan and shortly afterward was appointed commandant general 
at the general headquarters on the staff of McClellan and the Ninety-third Regi- 
ment of New York Volunteers was placed under his command as guard of the 
headquarters. Major Haller was thus employed under General McClellan 
throughout the Virginia and Maryland campaign and the subsequent campaign of 
General Burnside and also for a short time under General Hooker. He was then 
designated provost marshal general of Maryland and later was detached and sent 
to York and Gettysburg to muster in volunteers and to get all the information 
possible of the movements of the enemy, also to order the citizens to remove the 
stock and property across the Susquehanna out of the way of the rebel army. 
While thus busily engaged in the service of his country, Major Haller was 
wrongfully reported for disloyalty to the government and in the latter part of 
July, 1863, he was dismissed from the service without a hearing. Astonished 
beyond measure, he demanded a hearing, which was refused. Not satisfied to 
submit to such a great wrong, after sixteen years of waiting he secured a hearing 
and was fully exonerated. His honor was fully vindicated and he was reinstated 
in the army and commissioned colonel of infantry in the United States Regulars. 
His command was the Twenty-third Infantry and he continued as its colonel from 
December 11, 1879, to February 6, 1882, at which time he was retired, being 
over sixty-three years of age." 

During the period in which he was not connected with the army Colonel Haller 
was a resident of Washington territory and gave his attention to the development 
of a fine farm on Whitby island. His work demonstrated the possibilities of 
Washington for the production of nearly all kinds of agricultural and horticultural 
products and the example which he set in this direction has proven of immense 
value to the state, being followed by others. He also gave attention to the 
manufacture of lumber and likewise engaged in merchandising. His business 
interests were of a character which contributed to the settlement, upbuilding and 
improvement of the district in which he lived. He was very liberal in giving 
credit to the settlers who wished to buy provisions and implements and thus 
enabled many to gain a good start. While he was engaged in business he also 
acquired large grants of land which were at first of little value but with the 
settlement of the state their value greatly increased, and improvements also 
added to their selling price, so that eventually the property became a source of 
gratifying income to Colonel Haller and his family. Upon his retirement from 
the army he returned to Washington, having developed a great fondness for 
the state during the years of his former residence here. He located in Seattle 
in 1882 and remained continuously a resident of that city until his life's labors 
were ended in death. 

On the 2 1 St of June, 1849, Colonel Haller was married to Miss Henrietta 
Maria Cox, who belonged to a prominent Irish family, descendants of Sir Richard 
Cox, who w^as her great-grandfather and was once lord chancellor of Ireland. 
Coming to the new world her people located in Pennsylvania and in that state 
Mrs. Haller was reared, educated and married. Five children were born to 
this union. Henry died at an early age. Morris came to Seattle prior to the loca- 
tion of his parents here and became prominent as an attorney. He was the organ- 



278 WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 

izer of extensive business enterprises which have proven of the greatest value and 
benefit in the upbuilding of the material interests of the state. He was one of 
the organizers of the Seattle, Lake Shore & Eastern Railroad Company and vari- 
ous other business interests of great magnitude which contributed not alone to the 
success of the owners and stockholders but as well to general prosperity. In 
1889, while on a hunting and fishing trip with T. T. Minor and E. Louis Cox, he 
was accidentally drowned. This was a distinct loss to the community in which he 
lived and to the state for he had gained many friends and his standing and promi- 
nence in business circles had made him a valued factor in public life. Alice Mai 
Haller, the eldest daughter, became the wife of Lieutenant (now Colonel) William 
A. Nichols and died leaving two children. Charlotte Elinor and Theodore 
N. Haller, the latter mentioned on another page of this work, are the two surviving 
members of the family. 

The family circle was once more broken by the hand of death, when on the 
2d of May, 1897, Colonel Haller passed away, his demise being the occasion of 
deep and widespread regret to all who knew him. He was then in the seventy- 
ninth year of his age, and he was the president of the State Pioneer Society. 
In Masonry he occupied a prominent position, having been grand master of the 
Grand Lodge of the territory. He took the degrees both of the York and the 
Scottish Rites, and his views were considered authority on Masonic usages, tenets 
and rites. He was also the commander of the Military Order of the Loyal Legion 
of Washington. That he possessed business ability of high order is indicated in 
the fact that he recognized the opportunities for the development of the northwest 
and for judicious investment and in time his property brought to him and his 
family a very gratifying income. The greater part of his life, however, was 
devoted to his country's service and there was no man who displayed a more 
loyal or devoted patriotism. Lie loved the old flag and regarded it ever as the 
symbol of the highest national honor. He was a man of fine personal appearance 
and of military bearing. His broad brow indicated a strong intellect, his eyes 
shone clear and bright, and he was never afraid to look any man in the face. 
He had the courage of his convictions, his ideals of life were high, and he ever 
endeavored to exemplify them in his daily conduct. Thus he left to his family 
the priceless heritage of an untarnished name and an example which may well 
serve as a source of inspiration to others. 



FREDERICK J. WOOD. 

Prominent among the energetic, farsighted and successful business men of 
Bellingham is Frederick J. Wood, of the E. K. Wood Lumber Company. His 
plans are always well defined and carefully executed and thorough study and 
broad experience have made him familiar with every phase of the lumber busi- 
ness, so that he is now most capable of handling the extensive and important 
interests under his care. He comes from another state where the lumber indus- 
try flourished for many years, being a native of Stanton, Michigan, where his 
birth occurred in 1869. His father, E. K. Wood, was engaged in the lumber 
business there and in 1884 came to the coast with Messrs. Middleton and 



WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 279 

Weatherwax of Greenville, Michigan, and Aberdeen. Washington, respectively. 
Here they purchased timber lands. From 1892 Mr. Wood continuously lived 
in San Francisco until his death, which occurred July 30, 191 7. In his family 
were two sons, Walter T. Wood being still a resident of San Francisco, where 
he is interested in the lumber business. 

Frederick J. Wood, however, came to Bellingham and has made for himself 
a most creditable position in business circles here as active manager of the 
interests of the E. K. Wood Lumber Company, which was established in Novem- 
ber, 1900, buying out the Fairhaven Lumber Company. The new company at 
once remodeled and rebuilt the plant, which has a capacity of one hundred and 
sixty thousand feet of lumber and twenty thousand lath and employs from one 
hundred and fifty to one hundred and sixty men. The plant is being operated 
to the fullest extent all the time. They buy logs on the market, having no lum- 
ber camps, and they use both steam and electric power. Their output is supplied 
to both the rail and the export trade. They own their own docks on the Sound, 
having deep water here at all times, and they have connection with the Great 
Northern, the Milwaukee and the Northern Pacific Railroad Companies. Mr. 
Wood has practically been in Western Washington since 1892. He was con- 
nected with the mill owned by the E. K. Wood Company at Hoquiam from 1892 
to 1899 but was in the San Francisco office from 1899 to 1900, after which he 
came to Bellingham. He is owner of the business conducted under the name of 
the Coast Clay Company, which employs about thirteen men engaged in the 
manufacture of shale and clay products. This business is developing and has 
already been placed upon a substantial and profitable basis. 

In 1 89 1 Mr. Wood was united in marriage at Lakeview, Michigan, to Miss 
Anna Bale, and they have two children, Warren B. and Marian A. Mr. Wood 
is identified with the Masons and the Elks. In the former organization he has 
become a Knight Templar, a thirty-second degree Scottish Rite Mason and a 
Noble of the Mystic Shrine. He likewise belongs to the Country Club, the 
Cougar Club and the Kulshan Club, in all of which he is active and popular. He 
is widely known and is held in the highest regard by all, enjoying the respect 
and confidence of his ])usiness colleagues and associates and the friendship of 
all with whom he comes in contact in other connections. He measures up to 
high standards of manhood and citizenship and his business activities have ever 
been of a character which have contributed to public progress and improvement 
in this section of the state. 



JAMES M. SLEICHER, M. D. 

Dr. James M. Sleicher, who for the past ten years has successfully engaged 
in the practice of medicine in Chehalis, claims Pennsylvania as his native state, 
his birth occurring in Allentown, July 17, i860, and he is the second in a family 
of five children. His parents, Jonas and Catherine ( Butz) Sleicher. were also 
born in Pennsylvania, where the father engaged in business as a carriage builder 
for a number of years. He died in July, 1907. and the mother passed away when 
the Doctor was a small boy. 



280 WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 

Dr. Sleicher acquired his early education in the pubHc schools of the Keystone 
state and the knowledge there obtained was supplemented by a course at Ursinus 
College in Collegeville, Pennsylvania, and at Columbia College, New York, grad- 
uating from both institutions with the degree of A. B. Later he entered upon 
the study of medicine in Gross Medical College, Denver, Colorado, and upon his 
graduation was granted the degree of M. D. in 1888. He was also graduated 
from the medical department of the University of Louisville, Kentucky, and has 
taken post graduate work in Philadelphia, New York and Chicago and also at 
Johns Hopkins University, Baltimore, Maryland, and under the Mayo brothers 
at Rochester, Minnesota. It will thus be seen that he is exceptionally well fitted 
for the profession which he follows, keeping posted on all discoveries known to 
the science of medicine and surgery, and in his practice he has met with most 
excellent success. He first opened an office at Walsenburg, Colorado, where he 
engaged in practice for seven years, and the following twelve years were spent 
at Watertown, Wisconsin. In 1906 Dr. Sleicher came to Chehalis, Washington, 
and here he has followed his chosen calling ever since. 

The Doctor's wife was formerly a nurse at St. Helen's Hospital. He has 
one daughter, Ruth, now the wife of Julian E. Smith, who is connected with 
the Butler Paper Company of Chicago, in which city they make their home. 

In politics the Doctor has always affiliated with the democratic party and in 
religious faith he is a Presbyterian. He is a Knight Templar Mason and has 
taken all of the degrees of the Scottish Rite, and is also a member of the Benev- 
olent Protective Order of Elks and has belonged to the Citizens Club of Chehalis 
since its inception. He is prominently identified with the Lewis County Medical 
Society, the Washington State Medical Society and the American Medical As- 
sociation and has been honored with the presidency of the first named organ- 
ization and is now a delegate from the state to the national association. It will 
thus be seen that he stands high in the esteem of his professional brethren, who 
recognize his ability and worth, and his success is all the more creditable in that 
he worked his way through college and by his own unaided efforts has sur- 
mounted all obstacles in his path until he now ranks among the leading physicians 
and surgeons of western Washington. 



WILLIAM HENRY LONGFELLOW FORD. 

William Henry Longfellow Ford, occupying the position of city treasurer at 
Everett, was born in Central, Michigan, on the 5th of October, 1876. His father, 
Samuel Ford, a native of England, came to America about 1866 and became one 
of the pioneer residents of Central, Michigan. He was a miner and followed 
that pursuit during the greater part of his active business life but is now living 
retired, making his home at Ironwood, Michigan. His wife, who bore the maiden 
name of Elizabeth Williams, was born and reared in England and accompanied 
.her husband to the United States. They became parents of thirteen children, 
of whom William H. L. is the third in order of birth. 

In the public schools of Central and of Ironwood, Michigan, William H. L. 
Ford pursued his education to the age of thirteen years and then started out 



WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 281 

in the world as a clerk with the Ironwood Store Company. He was employed 
in clerical lines in Ironwood for six years and then sought the opportunities of 
the northwest, arriving in Everett, May 17, 1894, having no acquaintances in the 
city at that time. Soon afterward he went to Montecristo, where he engaged in 
mining, acting as a brakeman, his duty being to take the ore from the mines to 
the terminal or concentrator. He was thus connected with mining interests until 
1896 and went to Alaska during the days of the early rush following the gold 
excitement there. He remained at Wrangell, Alaska, for a period of eighteen 
months, during which time he engaged in freighting. On returning to Wash- 
ington he settled at Everett and there engaged in the lumber business as an em- 
ploye of the Northern Lumber Company, with which he remained from 1899 
until 1903. He afterward accepted a clerical position with the Everett Cream- 
ery, Ice & Storage Company and in 1906 he was appointed to the position of 
deputy city clerk, serving under O. D. Wilson, in which department he remained 
until the 26th of December, 191 1. He was then appointed city treasurer by the 
city council, which office he has since filled to the satisfaction of the officials and 
of the public at large. 

On the 3d of July, 1899, Mr. Ford was married at Everett to Miss Esther 
Ford, native of Ontario, Canada, and a daughter of Mr. and Mrs. J. W. Ford, 
of English descent, the latter now deceased. There has been one child born of 
this marriage, Esther J., whose birth occurred in Everett on the 28th of August, 
1900. 

During his residence in Michigan, Mr. Ford served as a corporal of Company 
H in the Fifth Regiment of the Michigan National Guard. In politics he has 
always been an earnest republican, active in political and civic affairs. He is 
also identified with the Masonic and Odd Fellows lodges and the Woodmen of 
the World, all at Everett, and he is likewise a member of the Commercial Club. 
An Episcopahan in religious faith, he is now serving as secretary of the vestry 
and he is also a director of the Young Men's Christian Association of Everett. 
In a word, he is very active in church and charitable work and he lends his aid 
and influence to every movement that tends to uplift the individual and promote 
community interests, holding at all times to high standards. 



GEORGE W. JEFFREY. 

George' W. Jeffrey, a grocer of Port Angeles, was born in Elmborough, West 
Virginia, January 10, 1883, a son of T. P. and Sarah L. (Crossfield) Jeffrey, 
who are natives of West Virginia and of England respectively. In early girl- 
hood the mother went with her parents to Canada and afterward to West 
Virginia, where she was married. T. P. Jeffrey engaged in mercantile lines and 
spent the greater part of his life in his native state but is now living in North 
Yakima, Washington, at the age of sixty-four years, while his wife has reached 
the age of fifty-eight years. In their family were four children. 

The second of the number was George W. Jeffrey, who in his youthful days 
attended the schools of his native state and was graduated from the Wesley high 
school. His initial step along business lines was in connection with the grocery 



282 WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 

trade at Rowena, Colorado, where he remained for three years. He then went 
to Julesburg, Colorado, and in 1906 arrived in Port Angeles, Washington, where 
he bought out the grocery store of K. O. Erickson. He has been successful to 
a high degree in the conduct of his business and has one of the most attractive 
and best appointed grocery stores of the city, carrying a large and well selected 
line of staple and fancy goods. 

On the nth of April, 191 1, in North Yakima, Mr. Jeffrey was married to 
Miss May L. Mook, a daughter of Anson and Mary L. Mook, the former now 
deceased. Mr. and Mrs. Jefifrey have a daughter, Maxine Virginia, born in Port 
Angeles in 191 3. Mr. Jeffrey follows an independent course politically and fra- 
ternally is connected with the Elks and the Odd Fellows. He has worked his 
way upward entirely unaided and stands high not only as a merchant but as a 
citizen of Port Angeles. 



H. W. PATTON. 



H. W. Patton, former editor of the Grays Harbor Washingtonian, a daily 
paper published at Hoquiam, has devoted practically his entire life to journalism 
and has had the broad experience which comes through the varied lines of 
newspaper work. He was born in Missouri in 1856 and completed his education 
in the State University at Columbia, Missouri. In 1880 he went to Texas and 
in 1883 became a resident of California, where he engaged in newspaper work. 
He was also made special agent of the United States interior department in 
southern California, having charge of the allotment of lands in thirty-one Indian 
reservations. Almost his entire life, however, has been given to newspaper work 
and his specialty has seemed that of taking charge of any building up run-down 
papers. He has been particularly successful in that field, for he possesses the 
ability of presenting news in an attractive form that results in the rapid develop- 
ment of the circulation department. His newspaper work has brought to him 
many interesting experiences, some of which are of a most unusual character. 
In 1 89 1 he undertook a trip in a flat bottomed boat for the San Francisco 
Examiner from Yuma, Arizona, into the Imperial valley of California. He was 
one of the first white men who ever went over the district now known as the 
Imperial valley and was on that trip the discoverer of the source of the Salton sea. 
Another interesting and unusual trip which he made was in 1897, when in the 
service of the government he visited the Cannibal or Tiburon islands on a tour of 
inspection, making a full report to the department on his return. He held the 
position of register of the United States land office in Los Angeles for three years, 
beginning in 1888. 

Mr. Patton's identification with newspaper publication in Washington began in 
1899, when he went to Everett and purchased the paper now published under 
the name of the Herald. Two years later, or in 1901. he took over the Aberdeen 
World, then known as the Bulletin, and built up that paper, placing it upon a 
substantial basis. Later he went to Eureka, California, where he purchased the 
Standard, and upon his return to Washington settled in Bellingham, where for 
six years he conducted the x\merican and the Reveille. In 1912 Mr. Patton came 




H. W. PATTON 



HE NE )^K r 

PUBLIC LIBRARY 



ASTOR, LENOX j 

TIX-DBN FOUNDATION f. 



WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 285 

to Hoquiam as editor of the Grays Harbor Washingtonian, which had been 
estabhshed in 1889 by O. M. Moon as a weekly paper. It changed hands several 
times before passing into possession of its present owner, Congressman Albert 
Johnson, in 1908, and when he was elected to Congress in 1912 he placed Mr. 
Patton in charge. The Washingtonian was changed to a daily paper about 1905 
and today the office is most modern in its equipment and methods, containing 
two linotype machines and other equipment of the up-to-date printing office. The 
circulation has increased to twenty-seven hundred and the Washingtonian is 
today a real organ in the development of Grays Harbor and the exploitation of 
its interests. Mr. Patton as a newspaper man possesses initiative as well as 
enterprise and, readily grasping the points of a situation, eliminates that which is 
nonessential and develops to the full the essential points leading to success. 

In 1886, at Los Angeles, Cahfornia, Mr. Patton was married to Miss Elizabeth 
F. Jordan, of Massachusetts, who passed away leaving four children : Mrs. Irene 
Cooper, of Bellingham; Joseph L., of Seattle; Clotilde, at home; and Ysabel, a 
senior in the Washington State University. On the ist of October, 1914, Mr. 
Patton wedded Mrs. S. S. McMillan nee Soule, a representative of one of the 
prominent pioneer families of the state. She is very active and public-spirited 
and has been connected with various movements which have worked for the 
benefit of the commonwealth and the uplift of the individual. She was appointed 
by the president a member of the commission which spent several months in 
Europe studying rural credits and rural conditions and visited many of the 
agricultural districts there. She has been regent of the Robert Gray Chapter of 
the Daughters of the American Revolution and is a delegate to the Continental 
Congress of the organization at Washington in the current year. She belongs 
to the Woman's Club, to the County Pioneers Association, to the State Historical 
Society, of which she is serving on the board, and is also a member of the state 
library board. These associations indicate something of the breadth of her inter- 
ests and the scope of her activities, which have reached out along constantly 
developing lines in an effort to improve economic and sociological conditions. 

Mr. Patton is identified with the Masonic fraternity and with the Benevolent 
Protective Order of Elks and his high standing in newspaper circles is indicated 
in the fact that he has been honored with the presidency of the Washington State 
Press Association, in which capacity he served in 1916. 



CLARENCE B. BAGLEY. 

Clarence B. Bagley was born in Troy Grove, near Dixon, Illinois, November 
30, 1843. His father was what was called in those days an itinerant minister 
^n the service of the Methodist Protestant' church and stationed but a year at a 
time in a place. Clarence's early memories are of Abingdon, La Fayette, Prince- 
ton and Chicago. 

On the 20th of April, 1852, the family started from Princeton across the 

plains. They reached the Missouri river May 22d, the summit of the Rocky 

Mountains July 4th, The Dalles, Oregon, September 3d, and Salem, Oregon, 

September 21st of that year. They lived in and near Salem for eight years. 
Vol n— 15 



286 WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 

In November, 1852, Clarence began school studies in the Willamette Institute, 
later called Willamette University, in Salem and continued in school all the 
time in the winters and part of the summers until i860. In 1856 the family 
moved out from Salem to a farm and lived there for four years. During that 
time Clarence became familiar with farming operations, with horses and cattle 
and the farm hfe of that pioneer period. 

In October, i860, Rev. Daniel Bagley, his wife and Clarence started in a 
buggy to make the overland trip from Salem to Seattle, Washington, arriving 
at the latter place during the last days of October. That winter Rev. Daniel 
Bagley taught the village school and during his absence of several weeks 
Clarence officiated in his place. 

In 1 861 he began work clearing the timber from the site of the university, 
which had during that winter been located in Seattle by the legislature. During 
the remainder of the year 1861 and the greater part of 1862 he worked upon 
and about the university, clearing, painting, carpentering, making fences and 
doing other odd jobs of work. Late in 1862 he went by sailing vessel with 
his mother to San Francisco, returning that fall also on a sailing vessel. In 
1863 he accompanied his father and mother by way of San Francisco and the 
Isthmus to New York and to Meadville, Pennsylvania, where he attended 
Allegheny College that winter. In April, 1864, the family started on their 
return by way of the Isthmus to Seattle, reaching the latter place about the 
1st of July. The rest of that year and during 1865 he was engaged at his 
trade as a painter in the little village. 

On the 24th of December, 1865, he was married to Alice Mercer. In 1866 
he received an appointment as clerk in the surveyor general's office under 
Selucius Garfielde, in Olympia, and he and his young bride removed to that 
place, where he was employed in that office for nearly three years. Late in 
1868 he went into the printing office of Randall H. Hewitt, where he learned 
the printer's trade, being employed upon the Territorial Republican and the 
Echo, the latter a temperance paper. This paper he bought the next year and 
continued to publish until 1869, when he disposed of his interest in it. In 1869 
he was employed upon the Commercial Age, a paper recently established in 
Olympia. and in October was elected clerk of the council of the legislature, 
serving during that winter. In 1870 the Commercial Age was discontinued and 
he and his wife then returned to Seattle and lived there during the remainder 
of that year and until May, 1871. 

During the winter of 1870 his time was occupied in aiding in the development 
of the Newcastle coal mines. Aluch of the time he had charge of the company's 
store at Newcastle and of the company's operations above ground. In May, 
1871, he received appointment from Samuel Coulter as deputy in the office of 
the internal revenue collector of Washington at Olympia and held that position 
vmtil 1873. In November, 1872, he was appointed business manager and city 
editor of the Puget Sound Courier, which had been established on January ist 
of that year in Olympia. In 1873 ^^ ^^^ Samuel Coulter and Thomas M. 
Reed bought that newspaper and the printing office connected with it. Later in 
that year he bought the interest of his partners. 

In the fall of 1873 he was appointed by Henry G. Struve. secretary of the 
territory, territorial printer and he held that position under different secretaries 



WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 287 

for ten years, during which period he also continued to edit and pubHsh the 
Courier and to carry on a large job printing business connected with it. In 1884 
he disposed of his interest in the newspaper and printing office, and for several 
months had charge of the office of the collector of internal revenue in Portland, 
Oregon. 

In 1874 he was again appointed deputy collector of internal revenue by 
Edward Giddings with full charge of the office. Mr. Giddings died in April, 
1876, and Mr. Bagley remained acting collector until July ist, when Major 
James R. Hayden assumed charge as collector and Mr. Bagley retained the 
■chief deputyship. They served together until the Washington district was con- 
solidated with Oregon, and then the latter retained his deputyship under Collector 
John C. Cartwright until President Cleveland appointed a democrat early in 
1885. 

Soon afterward he disposed of his interests in Olympia and returned to Seattle 
to live. He began at once to clear the site for his future home from the original 
forest in the northern part of the city, on the old donation claim of his wife's 
father, Thomas Mercer, then a long way from the settled part of the town, and in 
1886 he and his family established themselves, in their new home, where they have 
continued to reside to the present date. That year he and several other gentle- 
men bought the Post-Intelligencer daily and weekly newspaper, and during the 
next year he was its business manager, until it was bought by L. S. J. Hunt. 
He then purchased a new outfit and started in his old business of job printing. 

Soon afterward he was associated with Homer M. Hill in the ownership and 
publication of the Daily Press. In 1888 he disposed of his interests in the print- 
ing office and newspaper and early in 1889 joined with a party of gentlemen in 
the establishment of a bank in the north part of the city. A year later he sold 
out his interest in that institution. In 1890 he was elected a member of the house 
of delegates of the city council and served a two-year term. 

During 1890, 1891, 1892 and 1893 '"'e made several trips to Chicago, having 
been appointed by Governor E. P. Ferry an alternate commissioner of the Colum- 
bian Exposition, then planning to be held in Chicago in 1893. He was one of 
those who voted for and secured the establishment of the Exposition on the 
site at Jackson Park. In 1892 he joined in the establishment of another bank 
in the northern part of the city and had charge of that institution until the 
disastrous failures of so many institutions in 1893 carried that institution down 
in the general crash. 

In September, 1894, he received an appointment from \\'ill II. Perry as 
deputy in the office of city comptroller and served in that position until 1900, 
when he was appointed secretary of the board of public works of the city, which 
position he has continued to occupy until the present time, having already com- 
pleted twenty-one years of continuous service in the employ of the city. 

Early in his business career he began the preservation of the newspapers of 
the territory and its laws and journals, and during the lapse of years gathered 
a large and extremely valuable collection. About 1900 he began writing sketches 
and articles for the newspapers and the magazines of the northwest pertaining 
to the early history of western Washington and particularly of Seattle. This 
revived his interest in the collecting of historical material and he began assem1)ling 
all the books, pamphlets and publications accessible pertaining to the Pacific 



288 WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 

northwest, chiefly of the old Oregon territory." At the present time he has the 
largest and best selected collection of that character extant excepting that of the 
Oregon E[istorical Association at Portland and the library of British Columbia 
at Victoria. 

During the period of the Civil war he was a strong believer in the justice 
of the Union cause and a supporter of the Union party in Seattle and immediately 
after the close of the war attached himself to the republican party and has been 
a member of that organization all the later years. 

Clarence B. Bagley and Alice Mercer were married by Rev. C. G. Belknap, in 
Seattle, December 24, 1865. 

Their children are: Rena, born in Seattle, August 3, 1868; Myrta, born in 
Olympia, December 22, 1871 ; Ethel W., born in Olympia, June 16, 1877; Alice 
Claire, born in Olympia, November 4, 1879; Cecil Clarence, born in Seattle, July 
21, 1888. 

Rena Bagley and Frank S. Griffith were married in Seattle, January 10, 1893. 
Daughter, Phyllis, born September 2, 1896. 

Myrta Bagley and Earle R. Jenner were married in Seattle, April 21, 1897. 
Sons : Earle B., born July 28, 1900; Lawrence M., born July 2, 1909; Frederick C., 
born July 2, 191 1. 

Ethel W. Bagley and H. Eugene Allen were married in Seattle, March 2, 
1904. Sons : Richard B., born July 19, 1907; Robert M., bom May 23, 191 1. 

Alice Claire Bagley and Frederick Dent Hammons were married in Seattle, 
June 24, 1900. 

Cecil Clarence Bagley and Myrtle Park were married November 26, 1912. 
Son : Park Daniel, born May 20, 1914. 



CAPTAIN HANS K. A. JOHNSON. 

Captain Hans K. A. Johnson, who has been captain on all the tugboats of 
the Northwestern Lumber Company during the years of his residence at Hoquiam, 
where he took up his abode on the 8th of August, 1886, is a native of Norway. 
He was thirty years of age at the time of his arrival at Hoquiam, his birth having 
occurred in 1856. In 1873 he left the land of the midnight sun for the United 
States and settled at Philadelphia, where he remained for a number of years 
and then came to the Pacific coast. For five or six years he lived at Astoria, 
Oregon, where he followed steamboating and fishing, and on the expiration of 
that period he removed to Hoquiam, where he at once entered the employ of the 
Northwestern Lumber Company in the shipyards, building several boats. He 
was afterward made mate on the tug Ranger and five years later was advanced 
to the position of captain. He has been a captain on all the tugboats of the com- 
pany since and has served the corporation well, as he can always be depended 
upon and knows thoroughly the craft on which he sails. He also has other busi- 
ness interests, being a director of the Soule Tug & Barge Company. 

In 1896 Captain Johnson was married in San Francisco to Mrs. Anna Brad- 
ley and they have one son, Paul. Captain Johnson has ever been ready to serve 
his community in any possible way and has worked earnestly for Hoquiam's up- 



WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 289 

building, believing in doing more for the city in which he lives than for some 
other town. In politics he is a republican, and while he keeps well informed on 
the questions and issues of the day, has never been an office seeker. Fraternally 
he is identified with the Odd Fellows and the Masons and in the latter organiza- 
tion has attained the thirty-second degree of the Scottish Rite, while in his life 
he exemplifies the beneficent spirit of the craft. 



WILLIAM T. BIGGAR. 



William J. Biggar, a member of the Bellingham bar whose ability stands 
the practical test of the work of the courts and whose enviable reputation is 
based upon what he has actually accomplished, is now senior partner of the 
firm of Biggar & Waters. He prepared for his chosen profession at the Uni- 
versity of Michigan but is a Pacific coast man by birth and training. He was 
born near Santa Rosa, Sonoma county, California, on the i8th of September, 
1878, and comes of sturdy Scotch and Irish parentage, being a son of William J. 
and Mary (Stuart) Biggar, the latter a lineal descendant of the historic Stuart 
family of Scotland. The father was born in Cookstown, County Tyrone, Ireland, 
in 1838, and was a representative of the Biggar family which played a conspicuous 
and most honorable part in the famous controversy between the people of 
Ireland and their absentee landlords, caused by the latter's usurpation of power. 
While that struggle was going on Joseph Gillis Biggar was a member of parlia- 
ment from County Tyrone and was a leader in the historic debates on the Irish 
land question. In the early days of California's development William J. Biggar, 
Sr., became a resident of that state, settling near Santa Rosa, where he became 
the 'Owner of land and developed a farm. He was always a very vigorous de- 
fender of democratic views. 

Reared upon the homestead farm, William J. Biggar, Jr., attended the public 
and high schools of Santa Rosa and continued to assist his father in the de- 
velopment of the home place until, determining upon the practice of law as a 
life work, he made his way to Ann Arbor, Michigan, where he entered the State 
University, from which he was graduated with the class of 1899. He then 
went to Kansas City, Missouri, where he entered upon the practice of law. 
in which he continued actively until 1908. In that year he arrived in Ik-lling- 
ham, Washington, and formed a partnership with X. K. Staley under the lirm 
name of Staley & Biggar, an association that was maintained until lO'.v when 
he became associated with Thomas R. Waters as senior partner in the now exist- 
ing law firm of Biggar & Waters. They are accorded a liberal clientage of a 
large and distinctively representative character and the reputation which .Mr. 
Biggar has won at the bar is well deserved, for he is most thorough and pains- 
taking in the preparation of his cases, is clear and felicitous in argument, logical 
in his deductions and correct in his application of legal princi])les to the j)oints 
at issue. 

On the 22d of October, 1906, Mr. Biggar was married in Kansas City. to 
Miss Sarah Margaret Vance. He is well known as a mem!)er of the Elks lodge 
and the Independent Order of Odd Fellows and he has membership as well in 



290 WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 

the Unitarian church. He belongs also to the Metropolitan Club of Seattle and 
in his political views is a progressive. It is well known that his position is 
never an equivocal one ; he fearlessly but not aggressively announces his belief 
and stands loyally by his opinions. While his early political allegiance was 
given to the republican party he became convinced because of its policy and 
attitude upon vital questions that the time had arrived for the establishment 
of a new party and he did not hesitate to join the progressive ranks, in fact 
was one of the first in the state to come out strongly in support of the new or- 
ganization. In 191 2 he was one of the electors on the ticket which supported 
Theodore Roosevelt for president and cast his vote for him. Roosevelt carried 
the state of Washington at that time. He has ever believed that a public offi- 
cial owes his whole duty to the people and he advocates many advanced meas- 
ures, including a system of rural credits, which will enable farmers to obtain 
loans direct from the government at a rate of interest not to exceed four per 
cent. Moreover, he regards the flag of the country as something more than 
a thing to be talked about — as the emblem of the people's sovereign will, beneath 
the folds of which the weakest must be protected and which the strongest must 
obey. In other words Mr. Biggar is a deep thinker and a student of the vital 
questions and issues of the day and he undertakes the solution of political and 
of legal problems with equal thoroughness, which is one of his strongly marked 
characteristics and has been an important factor in his attainment of gratifying 
success at the bar. 



SOLOMON W. FISHER. 

Solomon W. Fisher, who owns a well improved farm at Fisher, Washington, 
overlooking the Columbia river, is applying the progressiveness and enterprise 
characteristic of the west to his farm work and has already gained a gratifying 
measure of prosperity. He is a western man by birth as well as by preference, 
his birthplace being Ritter, Oregon. His natal day was the 2d of August, 1884, 
and he is a son of Job and Lydia (Allphin) Fisher, natives respectively of Vir- 
ginia and of Oregon. The father was born July 25, 1827, and when twenty- 
three years of age located in Clarke county, Washington, after having spent 
one year in California. He took up a donation claim of one hundred and sixty 
acres in Clarke county which is now the home of our subject. In i860 the 
father went to Grant county, in eastern Oregon, where he mined to some extent, 
but gave the greater part of his attention to raising fine horses, which he shipped 
and sold in eastern markets. He took a great deal of pride in his horses and 
gained an enviable reputation as a breeder. During the early days the Indians 
were numerous and often hostile and he took an active part in the Indian wars 
of 1855 and 1856 and he gained considerable note as an Indian fighter, being a 
man of unusual daring. During the years from 1888 to 1899 ^^ resided in Linn 
and ^lultnomah counties, Oregon, but in i89<) he returned to his original claim 
in Clarke county. Washington, where he lived until his death, which occurred 
on the 3d of February, 1905. In 1883, while living in Grant county, he mar- 
ried Lydia Allphin, who is said to have been the third white child born in 



WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 291 

Oregon. She reached an advanced age, dying in 1913. She was the mother 
of four children : three daughters, all of whom are now deceased, and Solomon W. 

The last named received a common school education and remained at home 
until he attained his majority. For several years he devoted his time almost 
exclusively to operating the home farm in association with his father aiid the 
practical training thus received well qualified him. to follow agricultural pur- 
suits on his own account. He is now operating the farm which his father took 
up as a donation claim many years ago and its high state of development testifies 
to his efficiency and good management. Not only are the fields well cultivated, 
but the barns and other buildings are substantial and well adapted to their pur- 
pose and the residence is commodious and attractive. 

In 1905 Mr. Fisher was united in marriage to Miss Mary E. Cates, a native 
of Oregon and a daughter of William A. Cates, now a resident of Clarke county, 
this state. To Mr. and Mrs. Fisher have been born two children: Ida, whose 
birth occurred May 20, 1906; and Mamie, born December 20, 1907. 

Mr. Fisher is a democrat and gives careful study to cjuestions of government 
although not an office seeker. He belongs to both the Farmers Grange and the 
United Artisans, in both of which organizations he is well liked. He has thor- 
oughly identified his interests with those of his community and can be counted 
upon to do his part in furthering the public Vvelfare. 



CAPTAIN GEORGE E. SANBORN. 

Captain George E. Sanborn, of Hoquiam, has always lived on the seaboard, 
first on the Atlantic coast and now for eighteen years on the Pacific. He was 
born at Machias Port, Maine, in 1868. His father, John Sanborn, was a sea 
captain for many years and in fact represented the firm of Chase, Talbot & Com- 
pany of New York city for four decades. He also had four brothers who were 
sea captains and thus it is that the family has been closely connected with nav- 
igation interests. Captain John Sanborn wedded Sarah Holmes and their son, 
George E., to whom there naturally came a love of the sea, began sailing when 
he was but fourteen years of age. For three years he was in the employ of J. A. 
Simpson, of New York, and afterward spent, nine years with the John S. Emory 
Company, of Boston. As captain he commanded the international racing yacht 
Volunteer and the yacht Puritan for Commodore J. Malcolm Forbes, of Boston, 
and also the bark Clotilde, the bark Megunticook and the brig Hattie. In 1898 
he arrived in California, where he met Captain Mat Peasley, a schoolmate, whom 
he had known in Maine, who induced him to take a trij) as mate on his vessel 
bound for Mexico. Upon their return the captain induced Mr. Sanborn to 
remove to Hoquiam, where he went to work on the new waterworks, being thus 
employed until the plant was completed. He afterward became mate on the tug 
Traveler under Captain John Reed, spending two and a half years in that con- 
nection, when he was advanced to the position of captain of the tug. He con- 
tinued to command boats as captain for that company, the Grays Harbor Tow- 
boat Company at Hoquiam, doing harbor and river and coastwise towing, and 
remaining in their employ for eighteen years or until June 7, 1916, when he 



292 WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 

resigned from their service. After resting for six weeks he was offered and 
accepted the position of Hoquiam manager of the Grays Harbor Stevedore Com- 
pany and has found the work much to his Hking. He is navigation officer of 
the government mihtia, having charge of the torpedo boat Fox. He is also vice 
president of the Soule Tug & Barge Company. 

In Maine, in 1889, Captain Sanborn was married to Miss Hattie E. Getchell 
and they have had two sons : George Harrison, who was drowned here a few 
years ago ; and John Edward, living in Hoquiam. In his political views Captain 
Sanborn is a republican and fraternally he is connected with the Masons, the 
Elks and the Foresters. He has visited all countries and many ports of the world 
and his has been a broad and interesting experience, bringing him wide knowledge 
of various lands and their peoples. He can relate many a thrilling tale, some 
of which are matters of personal experience, and there is no phase of navigation 
with which he is not familiar. 



CHARLES R. WILSON. 

Charles R. Wilson was closely associated with those interests which have been 
important factors in the upbuilding of Aberdeen, which owes its rapid growth to 
the development of the lumber industry. He was the founder and promoter of 
the enterprise conducted under the name of Wilson Brothers & Company and 
developed one of the leading lumber mills of the state. His birth occurred in 
Gothenburg and Bohus Ian, Sweden, on the 24th of July, 1846, and after spending 
the days of his boyhood and youth in that country he came to the United States 
in 1868, when a young man of twenty-two years, landing at New York, whence 
he afterward made his way to San Francisco and thence sailed for Portland, 
Oregon. On his arrival in the latter city he and his brother Fred, who had 
accompanied him, began work on a small steamboat and soon afterward he and 
his brother Henry purchased that boat, while Fred Wilson bought a larger one. 
The two brothers, who were partners, did towing on the Columbia river and thus 
carried on business together for a number of years. In 1881 they purchased a 
small sawmill near Rainier, Oregon, and when soon afterward it was destroyed 
by fire they rebuilt and the two operated the mill, one working as engineer and 
the other as sawyer. When they bought the sawmill they also purchased a lum- 
beryard in Portland, Oregon, and retained ownership of the steamboat. Thus 
they were able to do all of the work in the manufacture of lumber from the time 
the standing timber was cut until the lumber was delivered to the consumer. For 
a time Charles R. Wilson attended to the mill end of the business but later after 
they sold the boat both he and his brother gave their attention to the conduct of 
the mill and the management of the lumberyard. They owned timber land near 
Rainier, but when all of the timber was finally cut they left that district and in 
1887 went to Aberdeen. The site of the present extensive mill now owned by 
the firm of Wilson Brothers & Company was secured through the assistance of 
Sam Benn and A. J. West. The history of the success of the plant shows a 
wonderful growth resulting from the untiring industry, the keen sagacity and 
business ability of the brothers, who bviilt up a business of very extensive and 




CHARLES R. WILSOX 



I PUBLIC UBRAR^^' 



ASTOR, LENOX 
TILDEN FOUNDATION l 



WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 295 

profitable proportions. During the widespread financial panic of 1893 they kept 
their mill in operation and paid higher salaries to men than any other mill on the 
coast, thus enabling many a man to tide over the hard times. With the gradual 
development of their trade theirs became one of the leading mills in the state and 
the business scarcely second to any in Washington. 

On the 2ist of November, 1878, Mr. Wilson was married to Miss Margaret 
Moar, of Portland, Oregon, and to them were born the following children : 
Charles R., who died in infancy; Carrie E., the deceased wife of F. W. Loomis, of 
Aberdeen; Jonathan H. ; William C. ; Ruby M. ; Robert R., deceased; Margaret 
A. ; Helen M., and George Dewey. Those living are all yet at home with the 
mother and the sons are looking after the business. The husband and father 
passed away on the 15th of August, 1908. The family reside in Aberdeen and 
Mrs. Wilson has erected one of the most beautiful homes in the city. 

Mr. Wilson long ranked as one of the foremost business men of Aberdeen. 
He served on the city council for one term and during that time the city hall was 
erected. He was a member of the building committee and was also instrumental 
in having the new bridge at Heron street across the Whishkah river made free. 
The first bridge was a toll bridge. He possessed many splendid traits of character, 
was devoted to the welfare of his city, his loyalty being manifest in many tangible 
ways, was sincere and ardent in his friendships and w^as a most devoted husband 
and father. High regard was entertained for him wherever he was known and 
those things which make life worth living came to him in abundant measure as 
the result of his ability, so that he never had occasion to regret his determination 
to leave his native land and try his fortune in America. 



FRANK E. FROST. 



Frank E. Frost, treasurer of the Bloedel Donovan Lumber Mills of Belling- 
ham, was born in Clarion, Iowa, May 6th, 1884, ^ son of E. J. and Henrietta 
Frost. The father was engaged in the operating department of the Chicago, 
Rock Island & Pacific Railroad at Clarion, Iowa, for many years but retired from 
active business connectioris in 1906 and is now making his home with his son 
Frank. 

The latter attended the public and high schools of his native city and after- 
ward entered the employ of the Chicago, Rock Island & Pacific Railroad as a 
clerk in the freight department, where he remained for a year. At the expiration 
of that period he removed to Bellingham, Washington, and entered the employ 
of Fred Kenoyer, who operated a lumber mill, having charge of the yard and 
sales for two years. He then went to Oakland. California, and attended the 
Polytechnic Business College for five months, after which lie went to Seattle 
and was a student in Wilson's Business College for a month. 1 \v next worked 
for the Chicago & Great Western Railroad as stenographer and traffic man 
until July, 1908, when he returned to Bellingham and became a stenographer 
with the Larson Lumber Company, occupying that position for two years. At 
the expiration of that period he accepted the position of bookkeeper for the 
Lake Whatcom Logging Company and the Larson Lumber Company, which 



296 WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 

ivere all the same people, and when the latter company was reorganized on the 
ist of April, 1913, under the name of the Bloedel Donovan Lumber Mills, 
Mr. Frost was elected to its treasurership and is now in charge of its finances 
and otherwise active in its management and control. 

On the 20th of November, 1907, Mr. Frost was married in Bellingham to 
Miss Emma I. Seelye, and they are now the parents of three children: Dorothy, 
' Helen and Katharyn, aged eight, six and four years, respectively. 

Mr. Frost is a republican in his political views but not an aspirant for office, 
preferring to concentrate his energies on his business afifairs, which are well 
directed and are of growing importance. The steps in the way of his progres- 
sion are easily discernible and steadily he has advanced until he is now active 
in the control of one of Bellingham's substantial commercial enterprises. 



THOMAS A. CASEY. 



Thomas A. Casey, engaged in the real estate business in Sultan, was born in 
Fond du Lac, Wisconsin, ^lay 10. 1856. His father, James Casey, a native of 
Ireland, came to America on a sailing vessel, being three months en route from 
County Meath to New York. He arrived in the new world during the latter 
'30s or early '40s and for a time remained a resident of the Empire state. He 
afterward became a pioneer settler of Wisconsin. He was a well educated man 
who in early life had qualified for work as an engraver, but after removing to 
the middle west he followed agricultural pursuits. He was very active in politics 
and was a loyal member of the Roman Catholic church. He married Maria 
Reburn, who was born in County Meath, Ireland, and both passed away in Wis- 
consin, the former at the age of fifty-six years, while the latter died in 18(89, ^^ 
the age of seventy-two. 

Thomas A. Casey was the ninth in order of birth in their family of ten 
children. He was educated in the public schools of Fond du Lac, Wisconsin, 
but his opportunities were quite limited, as he had the privilege of attending only 
until he reached the age of nine. He then began to earn his own livelihood and 
was first employed in a shingle mill, packing shingles -at a wage of a dollar per 
day. During much of his life he has been connected with the business of shingle 
making. In 1872 he learned the molder's trade but only followed it for three 
years or through the time of his apprenticeship. He arrived in Washington in 
1889 and first located at Tacoma, after which he removed to Buckley, where in 
connection with H. C. Knowles he begun the manufacture of shingles, which he 
followed until 1899 o^ ^or about eight years. He then sold his interests at that 
place and removed to Sultan, where he built a large shingle mill, conducting 
business under the name of the Tom Casey Mill Company. His interests were 
incorporated and Mr. Casey -was president of the company. He conducted that 
mill for about three years, after which he entered the real estate and insurance 
business, in which he has since been successfully engaged, negotiating many im- 
portant property transfers. He was also one of the organizers and was for two 
years the secretary of the Citizens Bank of Sulton, in which connection he has 
since continued. 



WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 297 

At Luclington, Michigan, Mr. Casey was united in marriage to Miss Hermine 
Herrgesell, a native of Germany and a daughter of Anton and Frances Herrgesell, 
both of whom are deceased. To Mr. and Mrs. Casey have been born the fol- 
lowing children : Aletta, wife of G. G. Smart of Everett, who is roadmaster for 
the Great Northern Railway; Mildred, the wife of Roy F. Smith, of Skykomish, 
who is a conductor on the Great Northern Railway; Vera, the wife of Joseph 
Chassiam, of Monroe, Washington, who is employed as foreman by the Wagner 
& Wilson Lumber Company; Irma, who gave her hand in marriage to E. B. 
Farrow ; T. Reburn ; Robert E. ; and two who are deceased. 

Mr. Casey was made a Mason in Monroe, Washington, and afterward be- 
came one of the organizers of the Masonic lodge in Sultan. He belongs to the 
Sultan Commercial Club, having taken an active part in its organization and in 
instituting many movements put forth by the club for the city's improvement, 
especially in street and bridge building. In politics he is an earnest democrat 
and for the past three years has been city treasurer of Sultan, which position he 
is now capably filling. He is also chairman of the board of education of district 
No. 30 and clerk of high school board No. 100. He wields a wide influence 
over public thought and action, for it is recognized that his opinions are sound 
and that he is most public-spirited at all times. Starting out to earn his own 
living when a lad of but nine years, he is today at the head of business interests 
of importance and yet he has ever found time to aid and cooperate in movements 
that look to the welfare and benefit of the district in which he lives. 



WILLIAM JOHN COLKETT. 

F'or more than three decades William J. Colkett has been the assistant post- 
master of Seattle and no higher testimonial of his ability and fidelity could be 
given than the statement of the fact that he has remained in the postoffice for 
thirty-five years. The width of the continent separates him from his birthplace, 
for he is a native of Burlington county, New Jersey, born April 18, 1857. 

Mr. Colkett comes of English and Scotch ancestry, but for six generations 
representatives of the family have resided on this side the Atlantic. The paternal 
grandfather, Joseph Colkett, was also a native of New Jersey, where he devoted 
his entire life to farming. His religious faith was that of the Methodist church 
and he was one of its prominent representatives in an early day. His son, Goldy 
Colkett, was born in Burlington county. New Jersey, as was the lady he wedded, 
Miss Mary Ann Engle. The Engle immigrant was from Cambridgeshire, England,' 
and sailed from the Downs, England, April 23, 1682, on the ship Amity, arriving 
at Burlington, New Jersey, in the fall of that year. The Engles were members 
of the Society of Friends. In the maternal line Mary A. Engle was a representa- 
tive of the Peacock family that traced its ancestry to Scotland and that was 
established on American soil at about the same date as the Engle family. Both 
families were identified with the Society of Friends until the time of the Revolu- 
tionary war, when, because of their fighting blood and their defense of American 
interests, they were put out of the organization, which does not countenance war. 
It was about a hundred years after the arrival of the Engle and Peacock families 



298 WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 

in the new world that the Colkett family was established on this side the water 
by an ancestor from Scotland. The Colketts were of the Methodist faith and 
both Mr. and Mrs. Goldy Colkett were loyal and devoted members of the Metho- 
dist church. The former engaged in the painting and decorating business to the 
age of sixty years, when he passed from this life. His wife died at the age of 
sixty-four. In their family were five children, but only two are now living, the 
daughter being Sarah, now the wife of J. S. W. Shelton, of Shelton, Mason 
county, Washington. 

William J. Colkett is indebted to the public-school system of his native state 
for the early educational advantages which he enjoyed. He was a youth of nine- 
teen years when on the 3d of November, 1876, he arrived in Washington territory 
with Coupeville as his destination. He had traveled westward by rail to San 
Francisco, whence he sailed on the bark Tidal Wave to Port Madison, induced 
to this step by the fact that his father had removed to Washington in 1864. He 
secured a position in the store of Major Haller of Coupeville and occupied that 
position for about three years, also attending to the work of the postofifice, which 
was located in the store. In August, 1879, he arrived in Seattle and through the 
scholastic year of 1879-80 was a student in the University of Washington, in 
which he pursued a business course, being the first male graduate of that institu- 
tion. In June, 1880, he entered the Seattle postoffice. where he was employed for 
seven months, and during that time had charge of the office for five months during 
the absence of the postmaster. Later he acted as bookkeeper for the firm of 
C. P. Stone & Company and in 1884 he accepted the position of assistant post- 
master of Seattle. In the meantime he had been employed in the postoffice at 
intervals, each time at an increase of wages. In this connection a contemporary 
writer has said : "When he first assumed the duties of his present position the 
office was allowed twenty-seven dollars a month for clerk hire, and Mr. Colkett 
received the entire amount, he performing the entire work in the office, including 
that of sweeping the floor. Close study has given him a keen insight into the 
important duties of his position, and he has literally 'grown up' with the office 
and is now the able assistant of this great office, with its immense business 
and its many clerks and letter carriers. He has witnessed the growth of Seattle 
from a town of three thousand inhabitants to one of over three hundred thousand, 
and during this time he has labored to goodly ends and is leaving the impress 
of his individuality upon the public life, the substantial growth and the material 
development of the city." He also has outside business interests as a director 
of the Puget Sound Savings & Loan Association. 

On the 28th of August, 1884, Mr. Colkett was united in marriage to Miss 
Clara Eva Lombard, who is also a graduate of the University of Washington, 
having completed the normal course in 1880. She is the daughter of Ransom R. 
and Emehne B. Lombard, of Port Madison, pioneers of Washington, who arrived 
in this state from Maine in 1863. They were prominent members of the First 
Baptist church of Seattle, as are Mr. and Mrs. Colkett, Mr. Colkett having served 
for years as trustee. To Mr. and Mrs. Colkett have been bom five children, 
Emery Engle, Marian Lombard, William John, Burton Ransom and David Goldy. 

Mr. Colkett served as a member of the Seattle fire department at a time when 
it was a volunteer organization. He also filled the office of deputy sheriff during 
the time of the anti-Chinese riots and from 1889 until 1895 ^^ ^^''^s '^ member of 



WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 299 

the board of education, acting for two years of that time as its president. While 
he was connected with the board the school capacity of the city was greatly in- 
creased by the addition of one hundred rooms and he was largely instrumental in 
securing the establishment of the department of manual trainings. He has ever 
favored progressiveness in connection with educational methods and opportunities 
and the schools have indeed found in him a stalwart champion. For eleven years 
he was a member of the Chamber of Commerce, where he served for two terms 
as trustee, and cooperated in all the plans and measures of that organization for 
the benefit and upbuilding of the city. 



NATHANIEL J. REDPATH, M. D. 

Dr. Nathaniel J. Redpath, of Olympia, ranks among the most .progressive and 
successful physicians and surgeons of the city and is held in high esteem by both 
the general public and his professional brethren. He was born in Monticello, 
Cowlitz county, Washington, on a ranch which is now included within the limits of 
the town of Kelso. His natal day was January 19, i860, and he is a son of James 
and P. C. (Ostrander) Redpath. His father was born and reared in Illinois but in 
early manhood joined a company of emigrants and crossed the plains by ox team 
to the Pacific coast, settling in what is now Cowlitz county, Washington. He 
was married there and took up his residence upon a ranch, where he engaged in 
farming, and also bought and sold cattle, which he drove to points in Puget Sound 
and to Victoria, F>ritish Columbia. In 1866 he removed with his family to Albany. 
Oregon, where he passed away three years later. In 1880 his widow became 
the wife of C. B. Montague. He was one of the pioneers of the state and did his 
part toward reclaiming this once wild region for civilization. Had there not been 
men such as he, willing to endure the hardships and the privations necessary to 
the opening up of a new country, the commonwealth of Washington would not 
be today the prosperous and advanced state that it is. 

Nathaniel J. Redpath attended the public schools of Albany, Oregon, and later 
Albany College and when eighteen years old secured a position as clerk in a 
drug store at Albany. When twenty-two years old he removed tQ Olympia, Wash- 
ington, and for a year studied medicine with his grandfather, Dr. Nathaniel 
Ostrander. Later he entered the medical school of Willamette University at Port- 
land and after spending a year there went to Philadeli)hia and became a student 
in Jefferson Medical College, from which he was graduated in 1887. Following 
his return to Olympia he engaged in the private practice of medicine for six months 
and then received the appointment of assistant superintendent of the State Insane 
Asylum at Fort Steilacoom. He filled that position for a period of ten years 
and then returned to Olympia, where he has since gained a large and representa- 
tive practice. Fie is also on the staff of St. Peter's Hospital. Through his mem- 
bership in the Thurston County and the Washington State Medical Societies, 
the American Medical Association, the Clinical Congress of Surgeons of North 
America and the Northwest Surgical Association he keeps in close touch with the 
advance in knowledge of the profession. Fie is thoroughly conscientious in the 
performance of his duties as a physician and surgeon and his skill is generally 



300 WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 

recognized. Unlike many professional men, he possesses marked business ability 
and is now president of the Pacific Coast Investment Company. 

Dr. Redpath was married in Olympia, in February, 1903, to Miss Lucy E. 
Maynard and they have two children : Katharine, who is attending a Sisters' 
school; and Nathaniel J., Jr., aged five years. 

The Doctor gives his political allegiance to the democratic party but has never 
sought office. He belongs to the Mas.ons and to Afifi Temple of the Mystic Shrine 
and is likewise connected with the Woodmen of the World, the Elks, the Tacoma 
Golf and Country Club and the Olympia Golf Club. His public spirit and con- 
cern for the advancement of his city are manifested in his membership in the 
Olympia Chamber of Commerce. 



JOHN W. STRU.BEL. 



John W. Strubel, secretary-treasurer of the incorporated firm of Strubel & 
Glancey, conducting an extensive grocery business in Elma, has been a resident 
of that place since October 20, 1883, and throughout the intervening years his 
business interests have increased in volume and importance, making him an active 
factor in the commercial development of the town. Today he is regarded as one 
of its most successful citizens owing to his indefatigable efifort and the long hours 
given to his work. Ohio claims him as a native son, his birth having occurred 
in her capital city of Columbus on the 30th of May, 1861. His father, John 
Strubel, was born on the Rhine, in Germany, and in i860 was married in Colum- 
bus, Ohio, to Miss Mary Wengert. They came to the northwest following the 
removal of their son, John W. Strubel, and both pass'ed away in Elma. The 
other children of their family are Cyrus O. and Mrs. Annie Wilkinson, also resi- 
dents of Elma. 

During his early boyhood John W. Strubel had the opportunity of attending 
the country schools for but three months in the year. His parents removed to 
Iowa during his early boyhood and there he was reared and educated. At the 
age of twelve years he turned his attention to farm work and when a young man of 
nineteen he left home with but seventy cents in his pocket. He was employed 
at farm labor in Iowa imtil 1883, when he came to the west, arriving in Elma 
on the 20th of October. He was engaged in driving stage, in freighting and in 
logging until 1887 and through the intervening period of four years practiced close 
economy and industry in order to obtain a sum sufficient to enable him to engage 
in business on his own account, to which step his ambition prompted him. It was 
on the lOth of August, 1887, that, in connection with D. L. Woodland, he opened 
a grocery store, bending every energy toward the upbuilding and successful con- 
duct of the business. Later his brother, F. W. Strubel, succeeded Mr. Wood- 
land, becoming a partner in 1893, and afterward Mr. Glancey purchased a third 
interest. Later J. W. Strubel and Mr. Glancey acquired the interest of F. W. 
Strubel and have since incorporated the business with Mr. Glancey as president, 
^Tr. Grayson as its vice president and J. W. Strubel as secretary-treasurer. The 
business has been developed along most gratifying lines and in addition to the 
Elma establishment they own a branch store at McCleary. Mr. Strubel is also 



WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 301 

the owner of a half interest in the Wakefield Hotel. He was the proprietor of 
the first meat market in Elma and he obtained the contract to supply meat for 
the force of men who were engaged in building the Northern Pacific Railroad 
through to the Harbor. This gave his business a big start. His success has 
resulted from hard work, long hours, indefatigable industry and unfaltering 
enterprise. Today the company employs fifteen men and the business amounts 
to two hundred thousand dollars annually. 

In June, 1888, was celebrated the marriage of Mr. Strubel and Miss Florence 
B. Lawrence, a native of Illinois, and they have become the parents of four chil- 
dren, Bessie I., Clarence B., Earle R. and Jessie. 

Mr. Strubel is independent in politics and liberal in h\s religious views, having 
contributed to the support of all churches. He is today the only surviving char- 
ter member of the Knights of Pythias lodge at Elma and he is also connected 
with the Woodmen of the World. He has been a member of the school board 
has been president of the Merchants Association, and for several terms has been 
a member of the city council, in which office he is still an incumbent. His activi- 
ties along these various lines indicate his interest in the public progress and wel- 
fare and there is no plan or measure which is featured for the benefit of the com- 
munity that does not receive his endorsement and support. 



SYLVESTER a BUELL. 

Sylvester G. Buell, manager of the Arlington Cooperative Creamery Company 
at Arlington, Snohomish county, was born at Warsaw, Indiana, September 12, 
1857, a son of Joseph and Anna (Greider) Buell, both of whom were natives of 
Pennsylvania, where they were reared and educated. In 1836 the father made 
his way westward to Indiana and the Greider family removed to that state in 1848. 
settling in Noble county. The home of the Buell family was established in Kosci- 
usko county and later in life the father there engaged in farming but at the time 
of the Civil war all business and personal considerations were put aside and he 
responded to the country's call for troops, enlisting as a member of Company B, 
One Hundred and Fifty-second Indiana Volunteers. He died while in the service, 
passing away in 1865 at the age of forty. His widow survived for more than fou." 
decades and was called to her final rest in 1906 at the age of seventy-six years, 
departing this life at her old Indiana home. 

Sylvester G. Buell was the second in order of birth in a family of live chil- 
dren. In his youth he attended the country schools and for a time was a pupil 
in an Ohio school, but when his textbooks were put aside he took up railroad 
work, entering the employ of the Santa Fe Railway Com])any and afterward tjie 
NortlTcrn Pacific Railway Company. He was thus associated for twenty-five 
years, operating in New Mexico, Kansas and AX'ashington. It was in 1892 that 
he came to western Washington, locating at Arlington, wliere he spent a year. 
He afterward remained for six years at Sumas. Washington, and then returned 
to Arlington, where he has since made his home. He was agent for the Northerf. 
Pacific Railway Company at that place and his fellow townsmen, appreciative 
of his worth and ability, called him to the office of county commissioner, which 



302 WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 

position he filled for six years. During that time the Arlington Cooperative 
Creamery Company was organized in 1901 and entered upon an era of profitable 
existence. Mr. Buell became interested in the project in 191 1 and has since been 
treasurer and manager of the company as well as one of its directors. Under his 
control the business has been increased to extensive proportions and the under- 
taking is today one of the profitable concerns of the kind in western Washington. 

On the ist of June, 1887, occurred the marriage of 'Sir. Buell and Miss Blanche 
Stearns, who was born at Peru, Kansas, a daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Sheldon 
Stearns, both of whom have passed away. The two children of this marriage 
are: Mrs. Elsie Thomas, who was born at Cedar Vale, Kansas, in 1891 and now 
resides in Arlington ; and Leslie C, who was born in Sumas, Washington, in 
1893, and is now working for the Northern Pacific Railway Company. The 
daughter, Mrs. Thomas, has two children, Jean and Joyce. 

Mr. Buell belongs to the Modern Woodmen of .Ajnerica and has been audit- 
ing steward in his local lodge. His political allegiance is given to the republican 
party and he keeps well informed on the questions and issues of the day, believing 
firmly in its principles. His has been an active and useful life fraught with 
good results and his energy has been a potent element in his continued advance- 
ment. 



HUBERT J. ELLIS. 



Hubert J. Ellis, of Raymond, needs no introduction to the readers of this 
volume, for the name of Ellis has long been a familiar one to all v/ho are in any 
way familiar with the history of Willapa harbor. He is now engaged in the 
conduct of an important towing business as a partner in the Standard Towboat 
Company, in which he is associated with Alma Smith, mentioned elsewhere in this 
work. He was born in Wisconsin, May 12, 1868, a son of William Ellis, who was 
a native of Connecticut and a graduate of Yale University and of the Harvey 
Medical College. Removing to the middle west, the father practiced his pro- 
fession in Wisconsin and in Kansas until 1882, when he made his way to the 
Pacific northwest, settling at what is now known as Ellis Gardens tracts. He 
purchased one hundred and seventeen acres of land from the railroad company 
and this he cleared of the timber, after which he added many improvements. He 
there raised some fine stock in addition to the cultivation of cereals best adapted 
to soil and climate, and thereon he made his home until his death, which occurred 
in 1905, when he was eighty-three years of age. He was a very public-spirited 
and progressive citizen as well as business man, and his cooperation was a most 
helpful element in promoting general progress and improvement along many lines. 
His wife, who bore the maiden name of Phoebe Jane Bosh, was a native of Illi- 
nois, and they became the parents of eight children, seven of whom are yet 
living and are residents of Washington. The wife and mother passed away 
in 1914. 

Hubert J. Ellis was educated in the little old pioneer school in Raymond, which 
was made of fir planks sawed on the banks of the Willapa river in a water power 
mill which stood a few feet from where the school building was erected. This 
building was sixteen by fourteen feet, with a window and door on the west side 




HUBERT J. ELLIS 



t THE NEW TORK 
j PUBLIC library! 

; ASTOR, LENOX I 

TILDEN FOUND ATtOM ; 



WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 305 

and a window on the south side. The seats were fir planks. The school stood 
about five hundred feet east of the present Riverdale school building. After 
mastering the branches of learning taught in that early school H. J. Ellis took up 
the work of logging, which he followed on Willapa harbor for a few years, and 
in 19x0 he joined x\lma Smith in organizing the Standard Towboat Company. 
They became owners of the Reliance, later acquired the Raymond, afterward the 
Fearless and later added a fourth boat, the Daring, all of which they still own 
and operate. They do a general log towing business on contract, delivering logs 
from boom to mill, and their thoroughness, reliability and promptness have 
secured to them a liberal and growing patronage which has made their business 
an important one. From time to time Mr. Ellis has not only recognized but 
utilized opportunity for judicious and profitable investment in real estate and is 
now the owner of considerable improved property in Raymond and vicinity. 

In Raymond, in 1901, Mr. Ellis was united in marriage to Miss Annie M. 
Johnson, a native of South Dakota and a daughter of Hagen Johnson, who was 
engaged in ranching in Pacific county for a number of years. Mr. and Mrs. Ellis 
have two children, Mildred A. and Laverna Lee. Fraternally ^^^Ir. Ellis is con- 
nected with the Knights of Pythias and the Benevolent Protective Order of Elks 
and his political allegiance is given to the republican party. He is a representative 
of a well known pioneer family of this section of the state, and Ellis avenue in 
Raymond, Ellis lagoon and Ellis Gardens were all named in honor of his father. 
For more than a third of a century H. J. Ellis has witnessed the growth and 
development of this section of the country, and throughout the entire period of 
his manhood he has been an active participant in many movements which have 
been directly beneficial in the upbuilding of this section of the state. 



CALVIN S. BARLOW. 



Calvin S. Barlow is the president of the Tacoma Trading Company, dealers 
in all kinds of building materials, and this is one of the leading firms in its line 
in Tacoma. Mr. Barlow is a product of the northwest and possesses the enter- 
prising spirit which has been the dominant factor in the development of this 
section of the country. He was born in Cowlitz county. Washington, May 11, 
1856, a son of George Barlow, a native of New York and a grandson of Nathan 
Barlow, who spent his entire life in the Empire state. George Barlow removed 
to the west, becoming one of the pioneers of Michigan in 1830. He married 
Mary Purdy, also a native of New York, who in her early girlhood accompanied 
her parents to Michigan, the family settling near Detroit. The Purdys were of 
Scotch-Irish lineage and were among the early American settlers, while ancestors 
of C. S. Barlow on both the Purdy and Barlow sides participated in the Revo- 
lutionary war. The Barlow family came from England and was founded in 
America about 1635 by one George Barlow, whose father was a bishop of the 
Church of England. In the year 1852 George Barlow came witli his family to 
Washington, traveling with ox team and wagon across the country with a party 
that was en route for six months, meeting the usual hardships of that long and 
tedious journey across the plains and through the mountain passes. He first 



Vol. 11—18 



306 WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 

made his way to Portland, Oregon, then a tiny village, and in 1854 he became 
a resident of Cowlitz county, Washington, where he continued throughout his 
remaining days. By trade he was a carpenter but during the greater part of 
his life followed agricultural pursuits. He served as county commissioner for 
one term and was also a candidate for the legislature on the democratic ticket. 
In fact he took an active interest in politics and did everything in his power to 
promote the growth of his party. He was a prominent Mason and exemplified 
in his life the beneficent spirit of the craft. He died in the year 1887, at the 
age of seventy-nine, while his wife passed away in Cowlitz county in 1864, at 
the age of fifty-one years, her birth having occurred in 1813. In the family 
were nine children, two of whom died in early life. Only three are now living, 
the brother being Byron, a resident of Kelso, Washington, while the sister is 
Mrs. Theresa Downing, the wife of R. W. Downing, of Vancouver, Washington. 

Calvin S. Barlow, the youngest of the surviving members of the family, 
pursued his education in the schools of Forest Grove, Oregon, and spent one 
year in college there. His early environment and experiences were those of the 
farm, on which he rendered active assistance to his father until he reached the 
age of eighteen years. He was then employed in connection with fishing pur- 
suits on the Columbia river and in September, 1877, he arrived in Tacoma a 
comparative stranger and without the assistance of influential friends began 
business here. He formed a partnership with his brother Byron in the butcher- 
ing business, they being the first to engage in that line in what was then the 
new town. They operated successfully for three years and then established the 
Tacoma Trading Company, a copartnership. The following year, or in 1893, 
the business was incorporated with Calvin S. Barlow as the secretary. He is 
now president and his son, George C. Barlow, is the secretary. The company 
engages in the sale of building materials of all kinds and they are among the 
leading firms in their line. In fact Mr. Barlow has been connected with this 
business for a longer period than any other resident of Tacoma and the volume 
of his trade places him among the most successful dealers in his field. 

On the 28th of April, 1881. at Mount Coffin, Cowlitz county, Mr. Barlow was 
married to Miss Hertilla M. Burr, who was born in that county March 11, i860, 
a daughter of Henry T. and Anna (La Du) Burr, who were pioneers of the 
state, where the family arrived in 1848 after a trip of one hundred and three 
days which brought them around the Horn. Mrs. Burr is of French lineage, 
representing an old New York family founded in the new world after the 
massacre of St. Bartholomew. Mr. and Mrs. Barlow have become the parents 
of eight children: George C, who was born April 5, 1882, and was married in 
Tacoma, in 1907, to Helen Jamison; Harry L., who was born April 21, 1885, 
and died in August, 1887; Byron T., who was born February i, 1888, and died 
in April. 1889; Allan, who was born August 15, 1890, and was married in 
Tacoma. in 1915, to Nan Farrell ; Russell C, whose natal day was November 
10. 1893; Douglas L., who was born December 23, 1895, and was married June 
28, 1916, to Lucile Bartlett; Hertilla, born June 7, 1898; and Mildred M., born 
December 29, 1901. 

In politics Mr. Barlow is a republican, active in support of party principles. 
His opinions carry weight in party councils and he does everything in his power 
to promote republican successes. Twice he has been honored with election to 



WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 307 

the state legislature, first in 1907 and again in 1915. As a member of the house 
he gave earnest consideration to all questions which came up for settlement and 
was active in promoting much needed legislation. He became one of the early 
members of the Knights of Pythias lodge in Tacoma and is identified also with 
the Maccabees, the Odd Fellows and the United Artisans. He is a faithful 
member of the First Methodist church and he is serving as curator of the 
Washington Historical Society. Few residents of Tacoma can claim sixty 
years' connection with the state and almost forty years with the city. Mr. Bar- 
low, however, has always resided in Washington and has not only been an 
interested witness of the changes which have occurred but has also actively 
participated in the work of general progress and improvement, recognizing at 
all times the duties and obligations as well as the privileges of citizenship. As 
a business man he has displayed thorough reliability as well as enterprise and 
in many ways he has contributed to the material, political and moral develop- 
ment of the community. 



JAMES H. NAYLOR. 



From the period of pioneer development to the present James H. Naylor has 
been interested in Everett and its upbuilding and is now active at the bar as a 
successful attorney of Snohomish county. He was born at Forest Grove, Ore- 
gon, August I, 1848, and is a son of Thomas G. Naylor, a native of Virginia 
and a grandson of Hiram Naylor, a member of an old Virginia family of English 
origin founded in America during the earliest epoch in the settlement of the 
Old Dominion. In the year 1843 Thomas G. Naylor left Virginia and made an 
overland trip through the Indian country in a prairie schooner to Oregon, reach- 
ing his destination after a six months' journey fraught with various hardships 
and privations. He at length reached what is now Forest Grove, then kno.wn 
as Tualitin Plains, and there he and his wife took up a donation claim of six 
hundred and forty acres. In later years he gave eighty acres of that tract to 
the Pacific University for an endowment. From the time of the establishment 
of that school he served as one of its trustees until his death, which occurred 
at Forest Grove in 1870. when he was sixty-nine years of age. He was also one 
of the promoters of the first State Agricultural Society of Oregon, which held 
fairs near Oregon City and subsequently at Salem, Oregon. In order to get good 
live stock into the country he paid three hundred dollars a head for French and 
Spani.sh Merino sheep that were sent in from the Stock well Farm of California. 
Fie also paid one hundred and twenty-five dollars per stand of ])ccs and thus 
he contributed in substantial measure to the progressive development of farming 
and allied interests in the state. Before his death he developed one of the finest 
farms in Oregon and was extensively engaged in the breeding of fine stock, do- 
ing much to improve the grade of stock raised in the northwest. Tic was equally 
interested in the moral development of his community and became one of the 
founders of the First Congregational church at Forest Grove, in which he served 
as deacon. He always gave Ins ])olitical allegiance to the rcpul)lican party and 
took an active interest in politics. One of his reasons for leaving the south was 



308 WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 

his opposition to the practice of slavery, and before leaving Virginia he gave 
freedom to all his negroes. In a word, he was a man of high ideals which he 
carefully exemplified in his life. He held to the highest standards in relation to 
material, intellectual, social, political and moral progress and his efforts along 
those lines were far-reaching and beneficial. 

In early manhood Thomas G. Naylor wedded Sarah E. Storey, a native of 
Tennessee and a daughter of Thomas Storey, who was descended from an old 
English family connected with the well known English writer of that name. 
Representatives of the family were among the earliest settlers in Tennessee. 
Mrs. Naylor shared with her husband in all of the hardships and privations of 
pioneer life and passed away at Forest Grove in 1852, at the age of thirty-twQ 
years. In the family were three sons and three daughters, of whom James H. 
Naylor was the fourth in order of birth and is now the only survivor. One of 
his sisters was- the wife of Rev. Dr. Weeks of Tacoma. x\fter losing his first 
wife Thomas G. Na3'lor married again and there were also six children of the 
second marriage. 

At the age of seventeen years James H. Naylor left home and took up the 
profession of teaching at a place called Wapato, Oregon. He had acquired his 
education in the schools of Forest Grove, being a graduate of the Pacific Univer- 
sity and also of a commercial college of Forest Grove. After making his initial 
step as a teacher he engaged in similar professional work at Black River and at 
Tumwater and for a time was principal of the Swantown Academy at Olympia. 
For eight years he proved a capable instructor in the schoolroom, imparting 
clearly and readily to others the knowledge that he had acquired. During that 
time he devoted his leisure hours to the reading of law and in 1880 successfully 
passed the required examination at Chehalis, which permitted him to practice 
at the Washington bar. He then opened a law office in Chehalis but in i88r 
removed to Ellensburg. Washington, where he remained for nine years. He 
then returned to Chehalis, where he resided until 1895, when he took up his abode 
in Everett. There he has since continued with the exception of two years spent 
in Seattle. He engages in the general practice of law in all of the courts and 
his pronounced ability is manifest in his able handling of complex and intricate 
legal problems. He is very careful and painstaking in the preparation of his 
cases and he is a worthy exponent of the high ideals of the profession to which 
life, property, and liberty must look for protection. 

On the 1 6th of April, 1870, in Tumwater, \\'ashington, Mr. Naylor was united 
in marriage to Miss Cecelia Crosby, a daughter of Captain Claurick Crosby, and 
to them have been born two sons and three daughters. Leslie resides near Great 
Falls, Montana. Alverta is the wife of W. E. Brown, proprietor of a lumber 
mill at Vader, Washington. Ida is the wife of Thomas Ray, residing in Colorado. 
C. H., of Tacoma, who for many years was prominently connected with the Great 
Northern and Canadian Pacific Railways, is now identified with an irrigation 
project of Oregon and makes his home in Seattle. Margaret is the wife of Frank 
Mead, a mining engineer and assayer located at Goldfield, Nevada. 

The rehgious faith of Mr. and Mrs. Naylor is that of the Congregational 
church. Fraternally he has been a Mason since 1872, when he was initiated into 
the order at Port Townsend. He also belongs to the Elks Lodge, No. 249, of 
Everett. His political support is given to the republican party and he served as 



WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 309 

prosecuting attorney of Snohomish county in 1897 ^"d 1898. He belongs to 
the County, State and American Bar Associations and has made for himself a 
most creditable position in professional circles. While in his practice his devo- 
tion to his clients' interests has become proverbial, he never forgets that he owes 
a still higher allegiance to the majesty of the law. 



CHARLES ANDERSON. 

Charles Anderson, a representative of industrial interests of Bellingham, 
being part owner of the Lake Shingle Company, is one of the excellent citizens 
that Sweden has furnished to Washington. He was born in 1868 and there 
remained during his boyhood and youth. However, in May, 1888, when about 
twenty years old, he emigrated to America and settled in Minnesota. In the 
following year, however, he became a resident of Orting, Washington, where 
he worked at railroading and in sawmills until 1902, when he came to Belling- 
ham. He became associated in business with E. G. Matson and in the year of 
Mr. Anderson's arrival here the partners organized the Lake Shingle Company, 
building a shingle mill on Lake Whatcom. At first they used local timber almost 
exclusively and did their own logging and their mill was equipped with hand 
machines. They now have two upright machines, employ twenty men and have 
their own dry kilns. The plant, which is located on the Northern Pacific Rail- 
way, has a capacity of one hundred thousand shingles per day. The success 
of the enterprise is due in large measure to the knowledge of the business pos- 
sessed by Mr. Anderson, to his careful attention to all the details and to his tire- 
less energy. 

In 1903 occurred the marriage of Mr. Anderson and Miss Sadie Kerr, and 
they have four children, Claudia, Dora, Mary and Howard. The family reside 
in a beautiful home which Mr. Anderson built on the eastern shore of Lake 
Whatcom near the mill. He gives his political allegiance to the republican 
party but has not taken an active part in public afi^airs save to exercise his right 
of franchise. He came to the Puget Sound country because he was convinced 
of its unusual opportunities and he has found that conditions justified his expec- 
tations. 



ARTHUR ARMSTRONG DENNY. 

Arthur Armstrong Denny passed away in Seattle on January 9, 1890, the city 
thus losing one of its most highly respected and valued citizens. His birth 
occurred near Salem, Washington county, Indiana, on the 20th of June, 1822, and 
he came of Scotch-Irish descent, his ancestors having originally removed from 
Scotland to Ireland and thence to America at a very early ejwch in the history of 
Pennsylvania. David and Margaret Denny were the ])rogcnilors of the family 
in the United States. Their son, Robert Denny, the grandfather of our subject, 
was born in 1753 and served in Washington's command during the Revolutionary 



310 WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 

war. In 1787 he removed to Frederick county, Virginia, and about the year 
1790 was married to Miss Rachel Thomas. Subsequently he took up his abode 
in Mercer county, Kentucky, where John Denny, the father of our subject, was 
born on May 4, 1793. He was reared amid the wild scenes of pioneer life and 
when in his twentieth year served his country in the War of 1812, being a 
Kentucky volunteer in the regiment commanded by Richard M. Johnson. He 
was an ensign in Captain McAfee's company and fought under General Harrison, 
being present at the defeat of General Proctor and at the death of the noted 
Indian, Tecumseh, who is said to have been killed by General Johnson. In 1816 
he removed to Indiana and later took up his abode in Illinois, becoming one of the 
distinguished men of the latter state and a representative in the legislature of 
1840-41, being a colleague of Lincoln, Yates and Baker. He was originally a 
whig and his opposition to slavery led to his identification with the republican 
party, which was formed to prevent the further extension of slavery into new 
territory. In 1851 he crossed the plains to Oregon and was the first candidate 
of his party for governor of the state in 1858. On the 25th of August, 1814, 
Mr. Denny was married to Miss Sarah Wilson, whose birth occurred in Baldens- 
burg, Maryland, February 3, 1797. She was of Scotch lineage and her people 
were among the early settlers of America. She died March 25, 1841, while 
the honorable and useful career of John Denny was terminated in death on the 
28th of July, 1875. 

It was while his parents were residing in Washington county, Indiana, that 
Arthur A. Denny was born. His education was acquired in a little log school- 
house in Illinois. On the 23d of November, 1843, he wedded Miss Mary Ann 
Boren and two children were born to them in Illinois, namely : Catherine Louisa, 
who became the wife of G. F. Frye; and Margaret Lenora, who was killed in an 
automobile accident in March, 191 5. In 185 1 Mr. Denny crossed the plains to 
Oregon with his family. The party started from Illinois on the lOth of April and 
made the journey across the plains with horse teams. They were attacked by 
Indians near the American Falls but succeeded in escaping and keeping the red 
men at bay, though the savages frequently fired upon them. On August 22, 185 1, 
they reached Portland, Oregon. On the 8th of November following they took 
passage on the vessel Exact, landing on the shore of Elliott bay five days later. 
The members of the party besides the Dennys were John N. Low and family, 
C. D. Boren and family, William N. Bell and family, Charles C. Terry, David T. 
Denny, a brother of A. A. Denny, and Lee Terry, numbering twelve adults and 
twelve children. The landing was made at Alki Point, where they built log 
houses. The party arrived just too late to receive the benefit of the six hundred 
and forty acre donation act. On this property Mr. Denny erected his first log 
house, the structure standing on the blufif at the mouth of the gulch which extends 
to the bay, in front of the subsequent site of the Bell Hotel. Pioneer conditions 
existed. The mail was brought to the little colony by express at a cost of twenty- 
five cents per letter, and the last mail that was thus delivered, before the estab- 
lishment of a postofiice, contained twenty-two letters and fourteen newspapers. 
Mr. Denny acted as postmaster and cared for the mail in his little log cabin 
for several years. As the city grew he subdivided his land, made several additions 
to the town and as the property increased in value, his wealth likewise grew 
proportionately, so that he became one of the most substantial residents of 



WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 311 

Seattle. He made judicious investments in property and his careful management 
and keen business sagacity resulted in the acquirement of a handsome estate. 

It was in Oregon that Mr. Denny's eldest son, RoUand H., was born on the 
2d of September, 1851, only a short time after the arrival of the family, and he 
was still an infant when they came to Seattle. He acquired his education in the 
schools here and has been actively identified with the growth and development 
of this city. The second son, Orion O., who is deceased, was born in Seattle 
and was for some years extensively engaged in the manufacture of vitrified brick 
and tile. Arthur Wilson was also born in Seattle and Charles is the youngest son. 
Mr. Denny was a lifelong republican and from the time of his arrival in 
Washington took an active part in political aflfairs. He was elected a member of 
the first legislature of the territory and was also elected a delegate to the United 
States congress, where he did much for the territory in promoting its interests 
and welfare. During the early years of his residence here he was identified with 
business affairs of the city as a merchant and later became a member of the firm 
of Dexter Horton & Company, bankers, owners of the first bank in Seattle. This 
institution conducted a large and successful business but it did not claim all of 
Mr. Denny's attention, for he was known as an active factor in nearly every 
enterprise that contributed to the growth, progress and prosperity of the city. 
He was interested in milling, merchandising and other enterprises of various 
kinds but always gave financial support so unostentatiously that no one has 
knowledge of how much money he expended in assisting Seattle's material growth. 
Many men owed their start in the business world to his financial aid and wise 
counsel. He assisted in organizing the First Methodist church and for years was 
an active member of that denomination but later became closely identified with 
the Congregational church. He ever took a deep interest in all religious work 
and was at all times ready to assist in Christian and educational efforts. His 
demise, which occurred January 9, 1899, was a source of keen regret to many who 
knew him. Mrs. Denny was called to her final rest in the year 191 1. 

Arthur Armstrong Denny was born in Salem, Indiana, June 20, 1822; died 
in Seattle, January 9, 1899. 

■ Mary Ann Boren was born in Nashville, Tennessee, November 25, 1822: 
died in Seattle, December 30, 1912. 

They were married in Illinois, November 23, 1843. 

Their children were: Louisa Catherine, born October 20, 1844, at Abingdon. 
Illinois; Margaret Lenora, born August 14. 1847, at Abingdon, Illinois; died in 
Seattle, March 30, 1915; Rolland Herschell, born September 2. 1851. at Port- 
land, Oregon; Orion Orvil, born July 17, 1853, in Seattle, Washington; Arthur 
Wilson, born April 18, 1859, i" Seattle; Charles Latimer, born May 21, i86t. 
in Seattle. 

Louisa Catherine was married to George F. Frye, October 24, i860, in 
Seattle, by Rev. Daniel Bagley. All of their children and grandchildren were 
born in Seattle. 

Their children were: James Marion, born August 22, 1861 ; died in Seattle. 
February 14, 1905; Mary Louisa, born February 6, 1864; Sarah Sophia, born 
January 27, 1866; George Arthur, born September 29, 1867; died in Seattle. 
June 6, 1893; Roberta Gertrude, born June 23, 1875; Elizabeth Helen, born 
November 6, 1878. 



312 WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 

Rolland H. Denny and Miss Kellogg were married in 1878. 

Their children were all born in Seattle: Florence, September 12, 1878; 
Caroline, February 21, 1880; Edith, November 8, 1883. 

Orion O. Denny and Miss Coulter were married in 1874. 

Their children were born in Seattle: Mabel Elizabeth, July 18, 1875; Anita 
Eva, February 5, 1877. 

The children of Mr. and Mrs. Arthur W. Denny were all born in Seattle: 
Grace Lenora, February 3, 1888; Arthur Armstrong, September 18, 1889; 
Merle Wilson, February i, 1891 ; Helen Catharine, May 21, 1892; Robert Orr, 
August 15, 1899. 

Charles FI. Denny and Aliss Chambers were married in 1888. 

Their children were born in Seattle: Horton H., November 4, 1889; 
Andrew C, March 8, 1893. 



JOHN F. BENDER. 



The life record of John F. Bender, who for a time was a well known resident 
of the northwest, covered about sixty-four years, for he was born in Fort Wayne, 
Indiana, September 4, 1841, and passed away in March, 1905. His father, David 
Bender, was a native of Pennsylvania, born in 1803, and he became a farmer, 
devoting his life to that occupation. During the period of pioneer development 
in the northwest he came to Washington territory and his last days were spent 
in Walla Walla, where he passed away in 1880. His wife, who bore the maiden 
name of Lydia Tanney, was born in Baltimore, Maryland, in 1808 and died in 
Minnesota in 1853. 

John F. Bender acquired his education in the common schools of Indiana, 
where he was reared to farm life, remaining upon the old homestead farm there 
until he reached the age of nineteen years. With the outbreak of the Civil war, 
however, he left the plow and shouldered the rifle, going to the front in the fall 
of 1861 as a member of an Indiana regiment. After serving his country for three 
years he reenlisted, becoming a member of Company D, Fifth Regiment of Iowa 
Volunteer Cavalry, of which he became first lieutenant and with which he con- 
tinued until the close of the war. He participated in a number of hotly 
contested engagements and on various battlefields gave practical demonstration 
of his bravery and his loyalty. After being mustered out he took up farming 
and stock raising, which he followed in Montana, Oregon and Washington after 
leaving Nebraska in 18172. He lived in Montana for only a short period, however, 
and in 1873 made his way to Knappa, Oregon, and from that period was identified 
with the Pacific coast country. He was logging at Knappa with his brother-in- 
law, Peter Linquist, for a time. During the thirty years of his residence in the 
northwest he contributed much to the efforts of the white men in subduing the 
wilderness and developing the rich resources of the country. In 1890 he became 
interested in mining in the Cascade and Olympia mountains and in 1891 located 
in Silverton. Snohomish county, a newly established mining camp on the head 
waters of the Stillaguamish river. He was one of those who located the now 
famous Bonanza Queen group of copper mines, after which he devoted two years 



iHb, 
PUBLIC 



ASTOR, LENOX 
Til rOUNDATIOH . 

L 




JOHN F. BENDER 




MRS. JOHN F. BENDER 



r"" '"""'"'-• V «, m ■' ■ Ml « Y i 

THE .,.., .ORK •'■ 
.PUBLIC IJBRAR^ 



ASTO^, LENOX 
TILDEN FOUNDATION 



WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 317 

to the development of that property and then sold out to Darious F. Morgan, of 
Minneapolis. Free from ostentation and display, he won the regard of all who 
knew him. His last days were spent in Everett. 

In 1874 Mr. Bender was united in marriage in Oregon to Mrs. Charlotte C. 
Anderson, of Knappa, that state. She was born in Sweden and came to America 
on a sailing vessel. By a former marriage she had a son and a daughter : Charles 
E. Anderson, of Silverton, Washington ; and Clara, who resided with her mother 
and took care of her until her demise. To Mr. and Mrs. Bender a son was 
born, William Emmet, whose birth occurred in Oregon, January 19, 1875, and 
who on the 19th of October, 1896, wedded Norene W. Colvin, of Knappa. They 
have one son, Roy Locke. Mrs. Bender passed away December 29, 1916, when 
nearly eighty-three years of age. She was a member of the ladies' auxiliary of 
Buford Post, No. 15, G. A. R., and also belonged to the Presbyterian church, in 
which she was an active worker. Everyone who knew her loved her and she was 
affectionately named Mother. During the last three years of her life she endured 
extreme physical suffering but never lost her inspiring patience or endearing 
disposition. She was indeed a noble Christian woman and a true helpmate to her 
husband, who first took up prospecting through her advice and assistance. 

Mr. Bender was a member of the Masonic fraternity and of the Knights of 
Pythias and he had many substantial qualities that endeared him to those whom 
he met through business or social relations. His connection with the Grand Army 
of the Republic was as a member of Buford Post, No. 15. In politics he was a 
stalwart republican, standing loyally by the party which was the defense of the 
Union during the dark days of the Civil war and has always been the party of 
reform and progress. His life was indeed an active, busy and useful one, and he 
enjoyed to the fullest extent the confidence and goodwill of those with whom he 
was brought in contact. 



GEORGE W. WHITE. 



George W. White, of Everett, filling the office of game warden for Snohomish 
county, was born in Wellington county, Ontario, on the 14th of August, 1881, a 
son of Benjamin D. and Isabelle (Dundass) White, both of whom were natives 
of Canada. The father was of English and Scotch descent, the White family 
being founded in America by William White, who on crossing the Atlantic set- 
tled near Harriston, Ontario. Benjamin D. White was a miller by trade. He 
became a citizen of the United States when in 1887 he removed to Bottineau, 
North Dakota, and in 1902 he became a resident of Everett, Washington, where 
his remaining days were spent, his death there occurring January 19, 1904, when 
he had reached the age of sixty-five years. His wife was of Scotch lineage and 
died in Everett, July 23, 191 5, at the age of sixty-four years. The two children 
in their family were George W. and May, the latter the wife of Professor A. E. 
James, a musical director of Everett. 

George W. White pursued his early education in the public schools of Tara. 
Ontario, and afterward continued his studies in the public schools at Grand Forks, 
North Dakota. He started out to earn hisjown livelihood when nineteen years of 



318 WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 

age and his first position was that of assistant cashier with the New York Life 
Insurance Company at Grand Forks. He filled that position for two years and 
then established his home on the Pacific coast, arriving in Everett in June, 1903. 
He was cashier with the Northern Pacific Railroad Company and with the North- 
ern Express Company until June, 191 2, when he was made game warden lof Sho- 
homish county and has since acceptably filled that position, carefully protecting 
the game interests in his part of the state and rigidly enforcing the game laws. 

On the 1 6th of September, 1903, Mr. White was married at Grajid Forks, 
North Dakota, to Miss Anna Goodman, a native of Germany and a daughter of 
Mrs. Emma Goodman, her father being deceased. Mr. and' Mrs. White have two 
children: Myrtis Dora May, born in Everett, August 16, 1905; and Benjamin J., 
on the 14th of August, 1910. The family occupy an attractive home at No. 1610 
Rucker street, which Mr. White owns. 

His military record covers four years' service as a private of Company F of the 
First North Dakota National Guard. His political endorsement is given the repub- 
lican party !and he has long taken an active and helpful interest in political afifairs 
and civic matters. Fraternally he is connected with Everett Lodge, No. 479, 
B. P. O. E., and he also belongs to the Everett Motor Boat Club and the Sno- 
homish County Game Protective Association. These connections indicate the 
breadth and nature of his interests. He finds his chief diversion in hunting, fish- 
ing and outdoor life and he possesses a large and most interesting collection of 
birds and wild animals, all of which he has captured and personally mounted. 
He is largely familiar with every phase of outdoor life known to the hunter and 
sportsman and he is a lover of nature. While enjoying the chase, he thoroughly 
believes in the protection of bird and animal life to a point that will always pre- 
vent extermination of any kind or species and thus he is well qualified for the 
duties of the office which he is now filling. 



HOWARD C. RANDOLPH, M. D. 

Dr. Howard C. Randolph, who has engaged in active medical practice in 
Aberdeen since 1910 and became one of the incorporators of the Aberdeen General 
Hospital Association, was born in Hillsdale county, Michigan, in 1884, and 
entered upon the active work of his profession following his graduation from 
the medical department of the Michigan State University at Ann Arbor with the 
class of 1908. He afterward devoted two years to hospital work with the North- 
ern Pacific Railroad Company in Montana and on the expiration of that period 
removed to Aberdeen, where he has since engaged in general and hospital practice, 
his ability bringing him prominently to the front. The Aberdeen General Hos- 
pital, with which he is now associated, was established in 1900 and the building 
was erected by Dr. Paul Smits. At first the hospital was a one-story building 
but later it was remodeled and made a two story structure, its location being at 
the corner of Broadway and Heron streets. Dr. Smits conducted the hospital 
independently until the spring of 191 5, when it was incorporated under the name 
of the Aberdeen General Hospital Association, four physicians of the city taking 
over the institution and business. It contains forty beds and it is the only one of 



WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 319 

the kind in Aberdeen. The hospital is open to all physicians and general work 
is carried on, the place being equipped for everything in the line of medical and 
surgical practice. ' 

In 191 1 Dr. Randolph was married to Miss Lillian Burke, a native of Ann 
Arbor, Michigan. Fraternally the Doctor is connected with the Benevolent Pro- 
tective Order of Elks and the Knights of Pythias and his interest in the welfare 
and upbuilding of his city is indicated in his membership in the Commercial Club 
and his hearty cooperation in its well defined plans for promoting public progress. 
Along strictly professional lines he has connection with the Chehalis county, 
Washington State and American Medical Associations. Through wide reading 
and .study he is conversant with the work of modern scientific investigation along 
the lines of medical and surgical practice and is well qualified to meet the onerous 
and responsible duties which devolve upon him. 



FREDERICK J. BAILEY. 

Port Townsend owes much to its pioneer citizens and to those men who have 
ungrudgingly contributed their share to the development of its industries and its 
business enterprises, and who have devoted time, energy and money to the up- 
building of the city itself, making it one of the most beautiful and attractive little 
cities of the Puget Sound country. Ideally located and with every natural advan- 
tage towards making it a great shipping point, its pioneer citizens recognized its 
opportunities and in their efiforts have looked beyond the conditions of the present 
to the opportunities of the future. In this connection it is imperative that men- 
tion be made of Frederick J. Bailey, the president of the Port Townsend Pile 
Driving Company and the vice president of the First National Bank. He has 
never sought publicity, but he has been long a leader among men in his community. 
He was born at Victoria, British Columbia, November 21, 1869, and is a son of 
Nicholas Charles and Jane (Parker) Bailey, who were natives of England. The 
father went to British Columbia in 1859 and settled in Victoria, while the mother 
arrived there in 1861. They were married in Victoria and for several years Mr. 
Bailey there conducted a mercantile business. He afterward removed to San 
Juan Island, where he established a lime kiln which later developed into the San 
Juan Lime Kilns, in which connection he conducted a profitable business until his 
death, which occurred in 1876 when he was forty-nine years of age. His widow 
still survives at the age of eighty-four and is now living in Seattle, Washington. 
Ten children were born unto them, but only three reached adult age and of these 
one son, William B., was drowned in Puget Sound while croi5sing in a sailboat. 
The surviving daughter is Mrs. Louise Anderson, of Victoria. 

Frederick J. Bailey, who was the third of the family, attended the schools of 
Victoria and San Juan Island, and after he put aside his text books began the 
work of pile driving, along which line he has since been active. He came to 
Port Townsend in 1887 since which time he has built all the docks of Port Town- 
send. He has also become engaged in the logging industry, which naturally 
is an allied industry to pile driving. He organized the Port Townsend Pile Driv- 
ing Company and has since been its president. This company has built docks 



320 WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 

all over the sound country. Mr. Bailey also has a small shipyard where he does 
repairing and also builds launches. He was also one of the organizers of the 
Olympic Hardware Company, at one time an extensive business institution of 
the city, but ultimately the business was sold to others. Mr. Bailey was the 
treasurer of the Matz & Matz Logging Company, but has sold his interest in that 
undertaking and is now engaged in the logging business on his own account. He 
is also the vice president of the First National Bank of Port Townsend, one of the 
leading financial institutions of Jefferson county. Whatever he undertakes he 
carries forward to successful completion, for in his vocabulary there is no such 
word as fail. When one avenue of opportunity seems closed he seeks out another 
path whereby he may reach the desired goal. 

In 1891 at Victoria, Mr. Bailey was united in marriage tO Miss Eliza Denny, 
a daughter of William Denny, a well known and prominent citizen of Victoria, 
who established and for years conducted the first dry goods store in that city. Mr. 
and Mrs. Bailey have one child, Frederick Howard, who was born at Port Town- 
send in 1894, and now resides with his wife and family at Cambia Bay, where 
he is manager of the plant of the Hoona Packing Company, of which his father 
is a stockholder. He has two children, Frederick and Ellen. 

In political matters Frederick J. Bailey has never taken a very active part, 
nor has he been an office seeker. He belongs to the Independent Order of Odd 
Fellows at Port Townsend and the Benevolent Protective Order of Elks, and is 
commodore of the Key City Yacht Club. He is a man of quiet and unassuming 
personality, but his sterling worth and ability are recognized by all. From boy- 
hood he has worked his way on to a high place among men. He owns one of 
the finest homes in Port Townsend and he and Mrs. Bailey are great favorites 
of the young people. They are well known, prominent and popular and as a 
business man Mr. Bailey has exercised a most potent influence over the develop- 
ment and upbuilding of the citv in which he lives. 



SAMUEL E. BARRETT. 

Samuel E. Barrett, filling the office of deputy county auditor of Whatcom 
county, with ofifice in the courthouse at Bellingham, is a western man by birth, 
training and preference and possesses the enterprising spirit which has ever 
been the dominant factor in the upbuilding of this section of the country. He 
was born at Sehome, Washington, in 1870, and is a son of Thomas E. Barrett, 
who came to this state in 1868. The father was born in Dublin, Ireland, and 
on leaving his native land made his way to California in 1850 in company with 
a brother who had previously been to the new world. After remaining for a 
considerable period in California he came to W^ishington in 1868, settling at 
Sehome. where he was employed by the Bellingham Bay Coal Company as a 
clerk m the office and store. He remained with that corporation for several years 
and he also located land near Ferndale, taking up a preemption claim to which 
in course of time he secured title. He then bent his energies to the further 
development and improvement of the property, breaking the sod' and cultivating 
Ins fields. He was still the owner and occupant of that property at the, time 



WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 321 

of his death and he also bought other land. He had great confidence in the 
future of this section and was a very progressive man and pubhc-spirited citi- 
zen. His efforts constituted an important element in the upbuilding of this 
part of the country. He was the first postmaster at Ferndale, where he main- 
tained the mail service for a year without pay. He carried the mail once a 
week from Sehome to Trudder. The name of the postoffice was afterward 
changed to Cedar Grove and after to Ferndale, the last name being chosen by 
a Miss Eldridge, who was then a teacher there, Mr. Barrett was a member 
of the Episcopal church and was interested in all those forces and activities 
which made for the upbuilding and progress of the community along material 
and moral lines. In 1869 he wedded Fannie Richardson, a native of Wash- 
ington, whose parents, Mr. and Mrs. Richard Richardson, were the first couple mar- 
ried in Whatcom county. The death of Thomas E. Barrett occurred in 1889, 
when he was fifty-four years of age, and in his passing the community lost one 
of its valued citizens. His widow still survives and is now living in Seattle. 
In their family are nine children, all of whom are living: Samuel; Mrs. Eliza- 
beth Winebrenner, of British Columbia; D. FI.. living in Skagit county, Wash- 
ington; Fred, a resident of Saskatchewan, Canada; Julia, the wife of W. B. 
Pfieffer, of New York state; Andrew J., of British Columbia; George, of Belling- 
ham ; Mrs. Hattie Underwood, of Seattle ; and Delia, the wife of John Knowles, 
of Seattle. 

In the schools of Ferndale, Samuel E. Barrett acquired his education, al- 
though his opportunities were somewhat limited, as he began to earn his living 
when a young lad. He was but nine years of age when he secured a position 
as telegraph messenger and this led him to become an operator. He was with 
the Puget Sound Telegraph Company of Seattle for some time, building lines 
and taking charge of the office. In fact his duties were manifold in the early 
days. He not only had to operate the telegraph but was trouble and repair man 
as well, line builder and in fact had to do everything in connection with the 
business. He would make trips over the line, where he had in times to go in 
boats or walk. When with the Puget Sound Company he had charge of its 
interests from Seattle to Port Angeles, covering a period of two years. He has 
also been employed by the Canadian Pacific Telegraph Company, the Northern 
Pacific Railway Company, the Western Union Telegraph Company and the 
Postal Telegraph Company. He continued in that field of labor until about 
fifteen years ago, when he engaged in the transfer business in connection with 
his brother George under the firm style of the Barrett Transfer Company. Later 
they consolidated their interests with those of another company under the name 
of the Bellingham Truck Company, of which Samuel Barrett is now an officer. 
Four years ago he was appointed to the position of deputy county auditor of 
Whatcom county and is now chief deputy, making an excellent record in the 
office. 

Mr. Barrett was married in Enterprise, Washington, to Miss Ella Wallace, 
a native of Iowa. The marriage was celebrated in 1894 and has been blessed with 
three children : Thomas Wallace, Gordon Samuel and Rosamond. 

Fraternally Mr. Barrett is connected with the Elks Lodge, No. 194, at Belling- 
ham. In politics he has always been a stalwart republican, giving unfaltering 
allegiance to the party. He is widely and favorably known here, having long 



322 WASHINGTOX, WEST OF THE CASCADES 

been identified with the interests and with the development of this section of the 
country. His entire life has been passed in the northwest and he has ever been 
a stalwart champion of its interests. 



DANIEL BACHELDER JACKSON. 

Although two decades have inter\'ened since the demise of Daniel Bachelder 
Jackson, he is still remembered in Seattle as a man of acumen, sagacity and ex- 
ecutive ability. He was prominent in the shipping industry, organizing and con- 
trolling the Northwest Steamship Company, and was also connected with a num- 
ber of lumber companies. His success in business was equalled by the esteem 
and warm regard in which he was held by all who knew him, as his life w^as 
characterized by unswerving integrity and by intense loyalty to his friends. 

Mr. Jackson was born in Warren, New Hampshire, on the i8th of July, 1833, 
a son of \\^illiam Chadburn and Sarah (Roberts) Jackson, who removed to 
Brewer, Maine, w^hen their son Daniel was but two years old. The journey 
was made in an old chaise which is still in the possession of the oldest grand- 
child, Henry F. Jackson, of Seattle. Our subject w^as educated in the common 
schools of Brewer, Maine, and in 1847, when a lad of but fourteen years, he 
went to Mexico, where he remained for two years. In 1852 he engaged in the 
lumber business on the Penobscot river and for some time operated a sawmill. 
In 1858 he went to California, where he worked in the mines for a short season. 
Subsequently he came to Puget Sound, arriving in Port Ludlow in 1859. There 
he entered the employ of the Amos Phinney Company, which operated a large 
sawmill. In 1879 he accepted a position with the Puget ]\Iill Company at Port 
Gamble and had charge of their outside business and of their steamboats. 

About 1884 Mr. Jackson organized the Washington Steamboat Company, 
operating the steamers, Susie, Daisy, City of Quincy, Washington, Edith, Eliza 
Anderson and Merwin. This company was later merged into the Puget Sound 
& Alaska Steamship Company, Mr. Jackson becoming president and manager of 
the latter concern. He went to New York and there purchased the steamer City 
of Kingston and at Philadelphia built the City of Seattle, which were added to 
those already operated by the latter company. In the meantime he had changed 
his place of residence, taking up his abode in Seattle. In 1892 he disposed of his 
interests in the Puget Sound & Alaska Steamship Company and organized the 
Northwest Steamship Company, operating the steamers, Rosalie, George E. 
Starr and Idaho. He successfully directed the business of that company until 
his death, which occurred in his home at the corner of Eighth avenue and Pine 
street on the 29th of November, 1895. He was also prominently connected with 
a number of important lumber companies. In his passing the city lost a man 
whose force of character, business insight and power of administrative control 
made him a potent factor in the development of business interests of Seattle. 

Mr. Jackson was married in Brewer, Maine, September 12, 1852, to Miss 
Mary Adeline Rowell, a daughter of Stephen and Mary (Col well) Rowell. The 
father was a representative of a family which has resided in New England as far 
back as it can be traced, and the mother was of Scotch descent. Mr. Rowell fol- 



WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 323 

lowed the occupation of farming with good success. To Mr. and Mrs. Jackson 
were born five cl;iildren, as follows : Henry Francis, w^ho married Miss Emma 
C. Bakeman ; Charles Franklin, who married Miss Lydia Morris ; Daniel Leslie, 
who married Myra Gaddis; May E., the wife of George F. Evans; and Lottie 
E., who gave her hand in marriage to James E. Guptill. The residence on the 
corner of Eighth avenue and Pine street is still in the possession of the family. 

Mr. Jackson was a republican but his extensive business interests demanded 
his entire time and attention and prevented his taking an active part in politics. 
He was a thirty-second degree Mason and was identified with the Mystic Shrine. 
He was likewise a member of the Seattle Club and was personally popular within 
and without that organization. He gained a considerable fortune and in so 
doing adhered to the highest standards of business ethics, never allowing his 
desire to attain material success to cause him to take undue advantage of another 
or to resort to questionable practices of any kind whatever. Every obligation 
was scrupulously discharged and he gained an enviable reputation for honesty 
and uprightness. He was quick to recognize the possibilities of a situation, prompt 
in formulating his plans and energetic in their execution, and it was to these 
qualities, combined with his power of securing the cooperation of those with 
whom he was associated in the management of his business enterprises, that his 
success w^as due. 



W. P. CRESSY. 



Business enterprise finds a wade-awake representative in W. P. Cressy, of 
South Bend, who as a dry goods man has developed interests which have con- 
tributed in substantial measure to the commercial upbuilding of the district in 
which he lives. He was born in Rock Island, Illinois, in 1872 and after attend- 
ing the public schools there was graduated from Simonds College at Warner, 
New Hampshire. He made his initial step in the business world as a cash boy in 
the Jordan & Marsh department store of Boston, ^Massachusetts, in which he 
occupied various positions, working his way upward step by step, during which 
time he was gaining excellent business training and a comprehensive knowledge 
of modern business methods. The year 1880 witnessed his arrival upon the 
Pacific coast. He made his way to Independence, Oregon, where he accepted a 
clerkship in a dry goods store. While living in that state he was married in 
Dallas, Oregon, in 1899, to Miss Mary Uglow, and to them were born two sons, 
Willis Earl and Frederick Norman, who are now in school. 

It was in 1901 that Mr. Cressy removed from Oregon to South Bend, Wash- 
ington, where he organized the Pacific Mercantile Company, under which name 
he conducted business until 1905. when he joined J. W. Klee1) in establishing the 
Cressy Dry Goods Store. Through the past fifteen years he has been closely 
associated with the development and upbuilding of South Bend and the exten- 
sion of its business connections. He erected the Lumber Exchange building, occu- 
pied by stores and offices, and in 1908 he built the Grand Opera House. From 
time to time he has extended his efforts into other business fields. 

While bending every possible effort toward the development of his business 



324 WASHIXGTOX, WEST OF THE CASCADES 

interests along legitimate lines Mr. Cressy has never been neglectful of the duties 
of citizenship and in many ways has contributed to the public welfare. He was 
one of the prime movers in the organization of the Commercial Club of South 
Bend and in the building of its home. He has served for four terms as a member 
of the city council and for one term as mayor and in both offices has exercised 
his official prerogatives in support of those forces which contribute to the general 
good. His political allegiance is given the republican party and for ten years 
he was chairman of the republican county central committee, doing everything 
in his power to promote the success of his party and ensure its growth. He was 
a member of the first good roads organization in Pacific county and he stands 
for all those things which are a matter of civic virtue and civic pride. Fraternally 
he is connected with the Masons, with the Knights of Pythias, having passed 
through all the chairs in the local lodge, with the Benevolent Protective Order 
of Elks, the Improved Order of Red Men and the Fraternal Order of Eagles. 
He has never had occasion to regret his determination to come to the northwest, 
for here he has found the business opportunities which he sought and in their 
utilization has steadily advanced until he now occupies an enviable place among 
the successful men of South Bend. 



EDMUND L. GAUDETTE. 

Edmund L. Gaudette, prominently identified for many years with the lumber 
interests of Bellingham and western Washington, passed away on the 9th of May, 
1916, his death being deplored by all who had known him in business or social 
relations. He was born in Grand Haven, Michigan, April 18, 1858, and was a 
son of Edmund and Ophelia (La Vaque) Gaudette, who in the year 1868 removed 
from Grand Haven to Ludington, ^Michigan, where Edmund L. Gaudette attended 
the public schools until he reached the age of fourteen years. At the period when 
most boys are in school he started out in the business world to provide for his 
own support and became connected with the Taylor lumber mill in a most humble 
capacity, but his fidelity and cap^ibility won him promotion from time to tim.e 
until he had worked up to the responsible position of sawyer. In 1889 he came 
to Washington and established his home in Bellingham, after which he engaged 
in logging in Whatcom and Skagit counties to the time of his demise. When he 
came to Washington he was thirty-one years of age and with the business inter- 
ests of the district he was afterward closely identified. He was the first man 
to ship logs over the Bellingham & Eastern Railroad, now a part of the Northern 
Pacific System, and he became one of the best known lumbermen and loggers in 
the state as well as one of the wealthiest. His holdings included one thousand 
acres of timber lands in Whatcom county and extensive mill and timber interests 
in the South Bend country. In the latter place he was associated with his brother- 
in-law. George R. Cartier, as president of the South Bend Mills & Timber Com- 
pany. They had owned the Simpson mill at that point for ten years and next to 
the Weyerhaeuser Timber Comj)any they were the largest individual holders of 
timber in Pacific county. Within recent years Mr. Gaudette sold two tracts of 




EDMUND L. GAUDETTE 



|Fl UBRARYv 

ASTOR, LENOX 
TILDEN FOUNDATION ' 



WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 327 

his local timber holdings to the Bloedel Donovan Lumber Mills for approximately 
two hundred thousand dollars. 

In his business deals he was noted for his extreme honesty and at all times 
he manifested a spirit of undaunted enterprise and determination, yet he was 
retiring in disposition and never sought to figure prominently in public life outside 
of business. He was associated in many business deals with J. J. Donovan, who 
at the time of his death said : "Anyone could count it worth while to know 
Edmund L. Gaudette. I had known him for many years. When he began log- 
ging operations on Lake Whatcom, Mr. Bloedel and myself soon came to know 
him well. We hauled his logs to salt water and disposed of them for him. 
Naturally, we became close friends. In fact, it was largely because of watching 
Mr. Gaudette's success in the logging and timber business that Mr. Bloedel and I 
decided to go into that business ourselves. In every business transaction I ever 
held with Mr. Gaudette I found him to be honest, square and upright. When 
he gave his word on anything that settled it, for one could count on it absolutely." 

On the 1st of September, 1883, Mr. Gaudette was married in Ludington, 
Michigan, to Miss Laura Moran. Throughout their married life she was of 
great assistance to her husband and did much to aid him in laying the foundation 
for his success, going with him into the lumber camp and cooking for eighty men 
for a time and helping in many other ways. The Gaudette home is now one of 
the beautiful residences of the city and the grounds are adorned with many 
flowers. Mr. Gaudette was a member of the Catholic church and he belonged to 
the Cougar Club of Bellingham and also to the Hoo Hoos, a prominent organiza- 
tion of lumbermen. His political allegiance was given to the republican party. 
His time and attention, however, were closely given to his business and in the 
development of his interests he advanced step by step until he had long since left 
the ranks of the many to stand among the successful few. 



JOHN HICKOK, Jr. 

John Hickok, Jr., of Bellingharn, superintendent of railway of the Puget 
Sound Traction, Light & Power Company, was born in Chickasaw, Iowa, July 
27th, 1873, and pursued his education in the public schools of Ionia, Iowa, from 
which he was graduated with the class of 1887 at the early age of fourteen years. 
He afterward taught school in his native county for one term and later accepted 
the clerkship in a drug and general store and also filled the position of assistant 
postmaster of Ionia for four years. At the expiration of that period he removed 
to Montevideo, Minnesota, where he became traveling salesman for the Monte- 
video Flour Mill, his territory covering the states of Iowa, Illinois and Wiscon- 
sin. He spent three years in that connection and then returned to Ionia, Iowa, 
where he spent one year as a printer on the Herald. He afterward removed to 
Rudd, Iowa, and established the Rudd Clipper, a newspaper which he published 
for three years. He next started the Floyd Herald at Floyd, Iowa, and not long 
after that established the Cylinder Record of Cylinder, Iowa, publishing all 
three papers until 1897 when he disposed of his journalistic interests in Iowa 
and removed to St. Louis, Missouri, where he engaged with the Ghost office, 

Vol. II— IT 



328 WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 

specialty printers and traveled for them until 1899 and then removed to St. 
Paul. Minnesota, where he entered the employ of the Twin City Rapid Transit 
Company. After spending six months as a conductor he was made time checker 
and so continued until 1899 when he went to Portland, Oregon, and accepted 
the position of motorman and conductor w^ith the City & Suburban Railway 
Company. In 1900 he became checking clerk on a United States transport and 
after three months went to Honolulu, where he entered the employ of the 
Street Railway Company for seven months as electrician and trainman. 

Returning to the United States Mr. Hickok established his home in Seattle 
and was employed as conductor wnth the Seattle Electric Company until April, 
1902, when he removed to Bellingham and accepted the position of conductor 
with the Puget Sound Traction, Light & Power Company. Seven months later 
he was promoted to the position of trainmaster, so continuing for a year, when 
he became superintendent of railway, in which capacity he is now serving the 
Puget Sound Traction, Light & Power Company. 

On the 3rd of January, 1902, in Seattle, Mr. Hickok was married to Miss 
Julia A. Chase. His political support is given to the republican party and 
fraternally he is connected with the Elks. He belongs to the Cougar Club and 
his interest in the welfare and progress of the city is shown in his membership 
in and cooperation with the work of the Chamber of Commerce. He is actuated 
by the progressive spirit of the northwest and in his business life has worked 
his way upward by persistent energy and thorough reliability. 



FREDERICK ROSCOE HEDGES, M. D. 

Dr. Frederick Roscoe Hedges, practicing successfully in Everett, is a native 
son of the golden west, his birth having occurred at Oregon City, Oregon, 
October 18, 1876. His father, Joseph Hedges, a native of Ohio, removed to 
Oregon in 1852, crossing the plains from Ohio w-ith the usual hardships and 
deprivations incident to a trip over the western wastes and through the Indian 
country. He was about three months in completing the journey, after which he 
located at Oregon City, joining a brother, Absalom Hedges, who had preceded 
him there five years and who was one of the earliest of the pioneers and terri- 
torial officials of Oregon. Joseph Hedges became a successful contractor and 
builder and throughout the period of his connection wnth the west remained a 
resident of Oregon City, where he passed away in 1896, at the age of sixty-eight 
years. His wife, who bore the maiden name of Ellen Judith Allen, was a native 
of Missouri and a daughter of John Allen, a representative of an old Missouri 
family and a pioneer of Oregon, having crossed the plains in 1853, at which time 
he established his home in Barlow. Following his demise his widow became the 
wife of the Mr. Barlow for whom the city was named and who was the owner of 
a donation claim consisting of a thousand acres. His daughter, Mrs. Hedges, 
passed away in Oregon City in 1897, at the age of fifty-nine years. Through her 
marriage she became the mother of eleven children. 

Dr. Hedges, the youngest of the family, pursued his early education in the 
public schools of Oregon City and later attended the academic department of 



WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 329 

the University of Oregon, which he left in his junior year on account of the 
ilhiess and death of his father. He later became a student in the law office of 
Hedges & Griffith, with whom he remained for a year. During that period he 
also did clerical work for Drs. Carll and Sommer, physicians and surgeons of 
Oregon City, who assisted him in preliminary study of the science of medicine. 
Subsequently he entered the medical department of the University of Oregon, 
from which he was graduated with the M. D. degree in 1900. For thirteen 
months thereafter he served as interne in the Multnomah Hospital and later 
spent six months in hospital work in Nelson, British Columbia. Subsequently 
he was railway physician and surgeon between Marcus and Republic, Washing- 
ton, and opened an office at Loomis, Washington, where he remained for fourteen 
months, after which he removed to Everett on the 7th of January, 1903. In the 
intervening period of fourteen years he has continued actively in practice in that 
city, building up a business of large and substantial proportions. He is a mem- 
ber of the Snohomish County and Washington State Medical Societies and the 
American Medical Association, and the recognition of his high professional 
standing has come to him in appointment as a member of the state board of 
health. He also served as health officer of Everett in 1906 and 1907 and he has 
filled all of the offices in the County Medical Society. He continues in the gen- 
eral practice of medicine and surgery, in which he displays marked ability. 

On the i6th of June, 1906, Dr. Hedges was married to Miss Kathryn Million, 
a native of Ashland, Oregon, and a daughter of John and Ellen (Terwillegar) 
Million. They became parents of two children: Frederick R., now deceased; 
and Ellen Frances, who was born in Eyerett, February 6, 191 1. Dr. Hedges 
owns an attractive home at No. 1208 Rucker avenue. 

Fraternally he is connected with the Elks and the Woodmen of the World 
at Everett and also belongs to the Cascade Club and the Everett Country and 
Golf Club. He is likewise a member of the Commercial Club and his military 
service covers five years spent as lieutenant and assistant surgeon of Company 
K of the Washington National Guard, retiring from that connection in the fall 
of 191 5. His religious faith is that of the Episcopal church. His has been a life 
of activity and usefulness actuated by high purposes and fraught with good 
results. 



CAPTAIN JOHN ALLMAN. 

Captain John Allman. of Hoquiam, one of the partners in the Allman-Hubble 
Tugboat Company, was born near Parkersburg, West Virginia, in 1868. and 
obtained his education in the schools of his native city, where he remained 
through the period of his boyhood and youth. He was a young man of twenty 
vears when in 1888 he arrived in Hoquiam, Washington, and entered the employ 
of the Northwestern Mill Company. He afterward secured a position with the 
Poison Logging Company, for whom he worked in the woods for fifteen years. 
When he engaged in. steamboating on his own account he became the possessor 
of the Hercules, which he later sold and then built the tug Advance, of which he 
was captain. In 191 2 lie entered into ])artnership with Frank and Alonzo Hubble, 



330 WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 

brothers, thus forming the present partnership known as the Allman-Hubble 
Tugboat Company, their purpose being to do a general log towing business. In 
this they have been very successful, being now accorded a liberal patronage. 
They are owners of the Advance, the Florence B, the Harbor Queen and the 
Ranger, all used in towing, and each one of the three partners commands one of 
these tugs as captain. Their reliable business methods and their enterprise have 
secured to them a business of gratifying proportions and their success is now of 
a substantial character. 

In 1897 Captain Allman was married to Miss Hattie Flint, a native of Illi- 
nois, and to them have been born two children, Fred and \^erne. Captain Allman 
has membership with the Ancient Order of United Workmen and the Modern 
Woodmen of America and he gives his political support to the republican party, 
for his study of the questions and issues of the day has led him to believe firmly 
in its principles. He has never had time nor desire for public office but has co- 
operated in many plans and measures for the general good, all of which have 
found in him an earnest and stalwart supporter. 



AMOS BROWN. 



It is not difficult to speak of the late Amos Brown, for his life and his character 
were as clear as the sunlight. No man came in contact with him but speedily 
appreciated him at his true worth and knew he was a man who cherished not only 
a high ideal of duty but who lived up to it. He constantly labored for the right 
and from his earliest youth he devoted a large portion of his time to the service 
of others. Since his passing his friends have missed him, but the memory of his 
upright career in its sincerity and simplicity will not be forgotten, and they rejoice 
in his memory as that of a man who laid down his task in the twilight of the day, 
when all that he had to do had been nobly, beautifully and fully completed. 

He was a native son of New England, his birth having occurred at Bristol, 
Grafton county, July 29, 1833, his parents being Joseph and Rehef (Orduray) 
Brown. The family comes of Scotch and English ancestry, although various 
generations have been represented in the old Granite state, where Joseph Brown 
Vv^as born and reared. He became extensively and successfully engaged in the 
manufacture of lumber on the Alerrimac river, where he dealt in masts and spars 
and conducted a general milling business which he superintended until sixty 
years of age, when he turned the business over to his sons. 

During the boyhood days of Amos Brown educational training was not 
accorded the essential value that is given it today, it being thought much more 
necessary that the boy should be well drilled in some useful occupation. At the 
early age of ten years, therefore, Amos Brown began work in the lumber camps 
and later was employed at driving the logs on the river. This life developed in him 
an independent spirit and undaunted personal courage. He became a daring 
youth in his work and because of the excellence of his labor was enabled to 
command the highest price paid for such service. In connection with the lumber 
industry he made rapid advancement, passing from one position to a higher one 



WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 331 

until he was made superintendent of the mill. He left home at the age of twenty- 
one years but continued in the lumber business until 1858, when he disposed of 
his interests in the east and made his way to the gold fields along the Eraser river, 
where the precious metal had but recently been discovered. From New York- 
he sailed as a steerage passenger for Victoria, British Columbia, the trip being 
made by way of the isthmus of Panama and costing him two hundred and twenty- 
five dollars. He eventually reached his destination in safety but found that the 
reports of the gold discoveries had been much exaggerated and there were 
hundreds of men without employment, facing starvation. Mr. Brown knew that 
he must resort to some other expedient, and believing that he might utilize his 
knowledge of the lumber trade, he at once sailed for Port Gamble, where he 
found ready employment at seventy-five dollars per month and expenses. During 
the first year he had charge of a logging camp and then purchased an interest 
in logging teams, taking contracts with the milling companies to furnish them 
with logs. For two years he continued operations in that way, at the end of which 
time he sold his interest and returned to the employ of the company with which 
he had previously worked on a salary. He occupied various responsible posi- 
tions until 1865, when he resigned and returned to New Hampshire to visit his 
old home. 

Mr. Brown first saw Seattle in 1861, although two years before he had invested 
in property on Spring street between Second avenue and the water front. For 
many years he continued an active factor in the development and progress of 
the city. In 1863, in partnership with M. R. Maddocks and John Condon, he 
built the old Occidental Hotel, on the present site of the Occidental block. For 
two years the hotel was conducted by the firm of Maddocks, Brown & Com- 
pany but at the end of that time Mr. Brown disposed of his interest to John 
Collins. After visiting New Hampshire, in 1867 ^^ returned to Seattle and 
formed a partnership with I. C. Ellis, of Olympia, for the conduct of a lumber 
business in which they continued with most gratifying success until 1882. The 
partnership was then dissolved and Mr. Brown was for a time alone in business. 
After selling out he lived retired save for the direction which he gave to his 
invested interests. The increase in property values led him to invest quite 
largely in real estate and his holdings became extensive and important. He 
held not only Seattle property but also had extensive tracts of timber land 
in several counties adjoining the Sound. 

Mr. Brown was married in 1867 to Miss Annie M. Peebles, a native of New ' 
York, and the same fall they erected their cottage at the corner of Front and 
Spring streets, in what was then an almost unbroken wilderness. They became 
the parents of five children : Anson L., now a Seattle capitalist ; Brownie, the wife 
of R. M. Kinnear, associated with her elder brother in the real-estate business 
as a member of the firm of Kinnear & Brown; Ora; Anna; and Flelen. Mr. 
Brown was devoted to his family and his success in business enabled him to 
leave them a very comfortable fortune. The home has ever been a hospitable 
one and the family now occupy a large and beautiful residence which was 
erected by Mrs. Brown. 

The family circle was broken by the hand of death when on the 8th of April, 
1899, Ajnos Brown was called to his final rest. On this occasion it was said of 
him: "In the passing away of Amos Brown the Sound country loses one of its 



332 WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 

best pioneer citizens. For over forty years a citizen and actively identified as 
he was with the growth of the country, his death cannot be considered in any 
other Hght than as a loss to the community. He was public-spirited and interested 
in any movement for the promotion or advancement of measures for the general 
good and he was scrupulously honest and upright in his dealings with his fel- 
lowmen. The punctual liquidation of a debt or obligation was one of the cardinal 
principles of his character. Liberal and benevolent, he was well known for his 
generosity, yet his giving was always without ostentation or display. When but 
a boy he exhibited this same generous spirit and kindly solicitude for others, and 
often when wet, cold and hungry himself, he would carry wood and food to a 
poor widow who lived neighbor to his parents, before providing for his own 
comfort. He always took a lively interest in young men and aided many in secur- 
ing positions where they could advance their own interests through diligence and 
ability. In the early days of his residence in the northwest he was known as 
the friend of the Indians, and as he never took advantage of them or betrayed 
their confidence, he was loved and trusted by them. He always had a kindly 
feeling for the unfortunate and erring and often when men were arrested for 
vagrancy or trifling offenses he secured their release, pledging himself to furnish 
them employment and become responsible for them. It is pleasing to know that 
his kindness was appreciated and seldom abused." 

At one time Mr. Brown was a member of the Ancient Order of United 
Workmen but he took little interest in fraternal organizations or in club life. 
His interest centered in his home and in his business, yet he found ample oppor- 
tunity to do good in the community and again and again he extended a helping 
hand where aid was needed. He was very good to the Indians, especially to 
Princess Evangeline, the daughter of Chief Seattle. He built a cottage for 
her and Mrs. Brown and family ministered to her wants up to the time of her 
demise. Making his way to the northwest, Mr. Brown became identified with its 
interests when the work of development and progress seemed scarcely begun. 
The efforts required to live in those ungenerous surroundings, the necessity to 
make every blow tell and to exercise every inventive faculty, developed powers 
of mind and habit which have established distinguished names in the northwest. 
Mr. Brown was prominent as a man whose constantly expanding powers took 
him from humble surroundings to the field of large enterprises and continually 
broadening opportunities. 



WILLIAM W. BETTMAN. 

William W. Bettman, a well known dealer in men's furnishings in Olympia, 
is a native of the city and has passed his entire life there. He was born on the 
25th of February, 1866, of the marriage of Louis and Amalia (Koblentzer) Bett- 
man. Lie attended the public schools in Portland until he was sixteen years old 
and then returned to Olympia and entered his father's men's furnishings store. 
In 1896 he became manager of the business and since his father's death has been 
its proprietor. He is a careful buyer, understands how to display his stock to 



WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 333 

the best advantage and follows a liberal business policy that has resulted in the 
building up of a large and representative patronage. 

Mr. Bettman is a democrat in politics and takes the interest of a good citizen 
in public affairs, although never an aspirant for office. He is a Scottish Rite 
Mason and is also a member of the Mystic Shrine and is likewise identified with 
a number of other fraternal organizations. He possesses in large measure the 
spirit of enterprise, confidence in the future and self-reliance characteristic of 
the west, and in addition to looking well after his own interests finds time to 
cooperate in various projects for the good of the community. 



THOMAS J. HEATON. 

Thomas J. Heaton, an enterprising business man of Arlington, is proprietor 
of The Quality Shop, in which he is conducting business as a painter and dec- 
orator. He was born in Poweshiek county, Iowa, December 19, 1876, and is a 
son of Richard and Martha Ann (James) Heaton, the father a native of Ireland 
but of English lineage. The mother was a native of Paris, France, and both 
were brought to America by their respective parents during their infancy, the two 
families establishing homes in Iowa among the pioneer settlers of Poweshiek 
county. There Richard Heaton and Martha A. James were reared and educated 
and in that state were married. In early manhood Richard Heaton worked on 
his father's stock farm and in 1879 removed westward to Nebraska but before 
doing so had become well known in Iowa as a locomotive engineer. He con- 
tinued in the same business after going to Nebraska, making his home in Ne- 
braska City for a time. Subsequently he removed to the Blue Springs ranch in 
that state, there owning a valuable and well developed property. He is still 
actively engaged in stock raising, being one of the prominent representatives of 
that business in his section of the state. He is now sixty-eight years of age. 
His wife passed away in 1891, when about forty-two years of age. 

Thomas J. Heaton was the second of their five children. In his boyhood 
days he attended school in Lincoln and in Syracuse, Nebraska, and later was a 
pupil in boarding schools. Subsequently he attended Manhattan College at Man- 
hattan, Kansas, pursuing a mechanical engineering course, which he completed 
by graduation with the class of 1895. Prior to this time, however, he learned 
the paint manufacturing business with his uncle, John James, who was ex- 
tensively engaged in that business. After the completion of his college course 
he followed the profession of mechanical engineering for two years. He then 
gave up that business and followed painting for a year, after which he became 
a locomotive engineer on the Burlington Railroad, remaining in the employ of 
that corporation for seven years. He next established his home at Salt Lake 
City and afterward at Butte, Montana, engaging in sign writing in those two 
towns for several years. At San Francisco, Cailfornia, he worked at his trade of 
painting, paper hanging and sign writing for several years and his business took 
him to various points along the coast between San Francisco and Portland, Ore- 
gon. He then decided to settle down and selected Everett, Washington, as his 
place of residence in 1909. There he established a wall paper and paint busi- 



334 WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 

ness, which he conducted until 1912, when he removed to Arlington, where he 
has since been proprietor of The Quality Shop, buying out the stock of J. W. 
Jenness. He is now doing a large and profitable business as a painter and dec- 
orator, his work being seen in many of the finest homes and business blocks of 
the city. 

On November, 29, 191 1, at Tacoma, Washington, Mr. Heaton was united 
in marriage to Miss Nora Grace Fitzgerald Denamur, a daughter of Noel and 
Louise (Tolander) Denamur, formerly of South Dakota but now residents of 
Washington. Fraternally Mr. Heaton is connected with the Knights of Pythias 
and the Ancient Order of United Workmen, while in politics he is a progressive 
republican but has never been an aspirant for ofiice. In his business career his 
achievements have been the direct result of enterprise, determination and per- 
sistency of purpose. He is well known and popular as a citizen and as a busi- 
ness man and he has made for himself a creditable place in the regard of his 
fellow townsmen in Arlington. 



EDWARD C. FINCH. 



Edward C. Finch, a capitalist of Aberdeen, has been closely identified with the 
upbuilding of that city. He was the pioneer journalist, the pioneer real estate 
dealer, the promoter and builder of the electric railway system on Grays Harbor, 
and along many other lines his activities have been felt in a marked degree. 

He was bom near Lebanon, Ohio, in 1862, but when very young he moved 
with his parents to Michigan, in which state he spent his boyhood days and 
received his education and from there came to the Pacific coast early in 1882. 
His first year on this coast was mostly spent in San Francisco, where he did 
newspaper work on the dailies of that city. In November, 1882. he made a 
trip by steamer to Seattle, then a wild frontier town proudly claiming four thou- 
sand inhabitants, but returned to San Francisco after a few days there. 

In the spring of 1883 he again took steamer from San Francisco for Seattle, 
whence, within a week or two. attracted by tales of the wonderful natural re- 
sources of Chehalis county, its splendid harbor and tributary streams and its 
untouched wealth in timber, fertile lands and fish, he came to Montesano, which, 
with a population of about one hundred, including Indians, was then the metropo- 
lis of the Grays Harbor country. There he engaged in the sale of lots and land 
until the following year, when Samuel Benn caused the townsite of Aberdeen to 
be surveyed, platted and named, when Mr. Finch promptly cast his lot with this 
coming city and opened its first real estate office. On the twenty-fifth anniversary 
of his birth, he brought out his first issue of the Aberdeen Herald, Aberdeen's 
pioneer newspaper, which he built into a paying and successful property and con- 
tinued to publish until late in 1888, when he sold the Herald that his time might 
be given exclusively to his growing interests in other lines. In July, 1889, his 
young brother, H. K. Finch, in company with a newspaper man named Walsh, 
established the Aberdeen Bulletin (now the Aberdeen World), but the partner- 
ship quickly proved unsuccessful so that Edward C. Finch took hold of the 
paper with his brother, and, employing as editor F. H. Owen (to whom the 




EDWARD C. FINCH 



|^:THE' Nh, 

' PUBLIC LIBR.: 



ASTOK, LENOa 
TILDEN FOUNDATION 



WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 337 

Bulletin was finally sold), for two years they published that paper as an eight- 
page semi-weekly. All through this period Mr. Finch continued to operate exten- 
sively in real estate, in which he actively engaged until the widespread panic of 
1893 for the time eliminated that field of endeavor and with it a comfortable 
fortune which he had built. 

In 1894 he began the publication of the Aberdeen Weekly Recorder (since 
merged into the Grays Harbor Post), which he continued until 1896 when he 
went to British Columbia where he engaged with some success in mining in the 
Slocan district. 

Returning to Aberdeen, in 1902, he promoted and built the electric railway 
system, obtaining franchises for the three cities of Aberdeen, Hoquiam and Cos- 
mopolis, raising the money in Pennsylvania to finance the project. He continued 
in full charge of this project until he operated the first car over the completed 
line, after which he sold out to the Grays Harbor Power & Light Company, 
which has since been reorganized as the Grays Harbor Railway' & Light Com- 
pany. To A'lr. Finch is due the entire credit for the development and execution 
of this undertaking, which gave electric street railway systems to the three Grays 
Harbor cities and interurban railway connection between them — a great and last- 
ing benefit to them all and a profitable investment for its stockholders. 

Some years ago he organized the Finch Investment Company, of which he 
became president, with John R. Evans as vice president and A. P. Stockwell as 
secretary. This company was organized for the purpose of erecting the Finch 
building, the first modern office building of the city, which was completed in 
1910. It is a strictly modern five-story A class structure, seventy-five by one 
hundred and thirty feet on the ground, containing one hundred and ten offices 
and six stores. Built upon fine architectural lines, of concrete, steel and terra 
cotta, it is indeed a credit to enterprising Aberdeen. Later, he formed a separate 
company, known as the U. S. Building Company, and through it built the present 
postoffice building. 

In the year 1909 Mr. Finch organized the Aberdeen Realty Syndicate, of which 
he has since been president and manager. This company has extensive real estate 
holdings in the city of Aberdeen, comprising three hundred acres of land, with 1 
half mile of water frontage, within the city limits. Mr. Finch has laid out, 
platted, developed and sold at least four important subdivisions to the city of 
Aberdeen, and in the development of these projects has built many miles of 
streets, sidewalks, water-mains, sewers, telephone lines, etc., therein and other- 
wise carried through works of progress and improvement. 

Mr. Finch was married in Portland, Oregon, in 1894 to Miss Anna M. Pier- 
son and they have become the parents of three daughters, Elizabeth. Louise and 
Margaret. Fraternally, he is connected with the Benevolent and Protective Order 
of Elks and with the Knights of Pythias. 

His political allegiance is given to the republican party and in his younger 
days he was an active worker in politics, serving as precinct, county and state 
committeeman and as delegate to numerous county and state conventions of his 
party. At the legislative session of 1895 ^'^^ ^^'^^ elected and served as chief 
clerk of the house of representatives. In 1909, upon the death of Francis W. 
Cushman, M. C, he was the choice of his own county and of several other of 
the thirteen counties then comprising his congressional district, for the republican 



338 WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 

nomination to succeed Cushman as representative in congress. In the memorable 
caucus battle which preceded the nomination by convention at Olympia, in Sep- 
tember of that year, for more than sixty ballots he received in each a plurality 
of all of the votes, finally failing of nomination by a small majority, but being 
unanimously elected chairman of the congressional convention. In 1906 and 
again in 1907, he was elected and served as president of the Aberdeen Chamber 
of Commerce and he has also served as president of the Pioneers' Association, 
of which he is a charter member. 

Those who know aught of the career of Edward C. Finch, and he has a wide 
acquaintance throughout the state of Washington, recognize his value as a citizen. 
Active, since its earliest days, in everything which has had to do with the devel- 
opment and progress of his city and its surrounding country, he has wrought 
along modern lines of advancement, and the extent and value of his labors to the 
field in which he has operated have been marked. In all that he doe's, he is actu- 
ated by a marked devotion to the general good; and even in the conduct of his 
private business affairs the public frequently has been either a direct or an 
indirect beneficiary. 



JOSEPH LYTLE. 



The name of Lytle has long been an honored one in Hoquiam, where Joseph 
Lytle and his brother Robert operated extensively in the development of lumber 
and logging interests which contributed in large measure to the upbuilding of 
the city. The death of Joseph Lytle occurred in February, 1914, when he was 
fifty-seven years of age, his birth having occurred in Portage City, Wisconsin, 
where he remained until his removal to the northwest. He had there acquired a 
high school education and he remained a resident of his native state until 1887, 
when he came to the northwest, making Fairhaven, Washington, his destination. 
There he established a grocery store which he conducted alone until 1889, when 
he went to Hoquiam and was joined by his brother in the establishment and 
conduct of a grocery store at that place. This constituted their first step in the 
business circles of the district and success attended the undertaking, but a few 
years later fate forced them as it were into another line of activity. They were 
compelled to take a small logging outfit on a debt and after a brief period began 
its operation. They were both inexperienced in that line but they applied them- 
selves assiduously to the mastery of the business and within a brief period they 
were making the little logging concern a source of substantial profit. Thus they 
became acquainted with the possibilities before them in that line and from time 
to time they extended the scope of their business, increasing their facilities to 
handle both logging and lumber interests. Their plans were well defined and 
carefully executed and the growth of their trade continued throughout all the 
years in which they continued in business. 

In Wisconsin, in 1886, Mr. Lytle was married to Miss Mary E. Ballentine, 
also a native of that state, and they became the parents of three children, Edna 
May. John D. and Genevieve. Mr. Lytle held membership in the Presbyterian 
church, in which he was an active worker, doing all in his power to promote its 



WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 339 

growth and extend its influence. His political allegiance was given to the repub- 
lican party, the principles of which he strongly endorsed, but he never sought 
nor desired ofifice, preferring to concentrate his energies upon projects or acts 
for the city's development along other lines. He erected a building at Eighth 
and I streets in Hoquiam and was associated with his brother in the building of 
the Lytle block, one of the finest in the city, at Seventh and I streets. He also 
built a fine home and his efl:orts along these lines constituted a source of 
Hoquiam's advancement. He was highly esteemed by his fellow citizens, for 
he possessed many sterling traits of character which drew him to them in ties of 
warm friendship and regard. His record may well serve to encourage and 
inspire others, for his course proves that prosperity and an untarnished name 
may be won simultaneously. 



JOHN CLEVELAND HECTOR. 

John Cleveland Hector is actively connected with the operation of urban 
and interurban railway lines in the Bellingham district as the assistant treasurer 
of the Puget Sound Traction Company and occupies a notably responsible posi- 
tion for one of his years. He was born in Greenock, Scotland, October 14, 1883, 
a son of John and Elizabeth Hector, who in the following year brought their 
family to the new world, settling in Quincy, Massachusetts, where their son John 
attended the pubHc schools until graduated from the high school at the age of 
seventeen years. He then went to Brockton, Massachusetts, where he accepted 
a clerical position with the Massachusetts Electric Railway Company, with which 
he was connected for two years. At Canton, Massachusetts, he entered the 
employ of the Stone- Webster Company, managers of the Blue Hill Street Rail- 
way Company, and acted as cashier of the former organization for one year. 
At the end of that time he entered their car repairing department, in which he 
spent six months for the benefit of the experience which such training would 
give him. Returning to Brockton, he was then engaged in a confidential capacity 
with the Edison Electric Illuminating Company for six months, after which he 
went to Boston, Massachusetts, and was employed in the auditing department 
of the Webster Engineering Company until 1905. 

In that year Mr. Hector became a resident of Bellingham, Washington, enter- 
ing the employ of the Whatcom County Railway & Light Company as chief clerk, 
and in 1906 was advanced to the pcfsition of assistant treasurer, so continuing 
until September i, 1912, when the business was taken over by the Puget Sound 
Traction, Light & Power Company, Mr. Hector being retained as assistant treas- 
urer of the latter corporation and also of the Pacific Northwest Traction Com- 
pany, which controls an interurban line between Bellingham and Mount Vernon. 

in Seattle, in January, 1914, Mr. Hector was united in marriage to Miss 
Kathiyn Bollong. They hold membership in the Episcopal church, and Mr. 
Hector belongs also to the Elks lodge and to the Cougar Club. In his political 
views he is an earnest republican but while keeping well informed on the ques- 
tions and issues of the day has concentrated his efforts upon his business affairs. 
Throughout almost his entire life he has been connected with street railway and 



340 \\ASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 

electrical systems, thus gaining a thorough and adequate knowledge of the busi- 
ness, and his experience well qualifies him for the conduct of the interests and 
activities that are now intrusted to his care. 



JUDGE ERNEST M. CARD. 

Judge Ernest IM. Card has the distinction of being the youngest man in the 
state now serving as a superior court judge and his rapid rise to his present 
position of honor and responsibility should act as a stimulus to other young men. 
From the position of laborer in his father's shingle mill to his present place on 
the bench is a long step, but through personal effort, indefatigable industry, 
reliability and persistency of purpose he has worked his way upward and now 
enjoys in high measure the respect, confidence and goodwill of colleagues and 
contemporaries. He was born in Monroe, Jasper county, Iowa, May 17, 1877, 
a son of Mason L. Card, a native of New York, although the family are Scotch 
Canadians. Mason L. Card became a resident of Iowa in 1870, casting in his 
lot with the early settlers of Jasper county. In 1889 he came to Tacoma and 
engaged in the manufacture of shingles, winning substantial success in that 
undertaking. He has retired from active business and is now residing at Long 
Beach, California. He married Mattie A. Langan, who was born in Toledo, 
Ohio, and was of Irish and English descent, a daughter of John Langan, an 
early settler of the Buckeye state. By her marriage she became the mother of 
six children : Arthur L., who is engaged in the box manufacturing business at 
Puyallup ; Gertrude ]\I., living at Long Beach, California; Bessie L., who was 
formerly a school teacher and is now in Tacoma; Lucile, the wife of Harry 
Wilson, of Puyallup; and Martha, living at Long Beach, California. 

Judge Card was educated in the graded and high schools of Tacoma, com- 
pleting his course by graduation with the class of 1896. He afterward entered 
Stanford University, where he won the Bachelor of Arts degree in 1901, and 
in 1904 he completed a course in the law department of Cornell University, win- 
ning the LL. B. degree. Following his graduation he returned to Tacoma, where 
he practiced law for a year. He was then elected justice of the peace, serving 
frorn 1907 until 1910 inclusive, when he was elected to the superior court bench. 
Two years later he was reelected for a four years' term, his term expiring in 
January, 191 7. As a boy he was employed in his father's shingle mill and did 
all kinds of hard w^ork in that connection. He also spent about a year in selling 
insurance and was engaged for a time in newspaper work and during his uni- 
versity days was connected with the college paper. The money which he earned 
partly paid his college tuition and the elemental strength of his character was 
early displayed in his efforts to make intellectual progress. His attention was 
directed to the law^ during the days when he was employed in the ofifice of 
Campbell and Powell, leading attorneys of Tacoma, both now deceased. He 
began reading under their direction while serving them as office boy and later 
as stenographer. Mr. Campbell was at one time mayor of Tacoma. He proved 
a helpful friend to the young law clerk, enabling him to pursue his high school 
course, in which he completed the work of four years in two years' time. From 



WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 341 

that point forward his progress has been continuous and he has the distinction 
of being the youngest judge elected to the superior court bench in Washington. 
His mind is naturally analytical, logical and. inductive, and his comprehensive 
knowledge of the law is combined with an innate sense and love of justice. He 
is a valued and representative member of the Pierce County and State Bar 
Associations. 

In Tacoma, on the 5th of August, 1908, Judge Card was married to Miss 
Jessie V. Johnson, a native of Eau Claire, Wisconsin, and a daughter of Mr. 
and Mrs. George Johnson, who are residents of Tacoma. To this marriage 
have been born two children, Janet and Ernest, both born in Tacoma, the latter 
on the 25th of June, 191 5. 

Mr. and Mrs. Card are members of the First Congregational church and are 
highly esteemed in the circles in which they move. Judge Card is independent 
in politics and fraternally is well known, holding membership in Lebanon Lodge, 
F. & A. M.. and in other Masonic bodies. He belongs also to the- Benevolent 
Protective Order of Elks, the Improved Order of Red Men, the Loyal Order of 
Moose and the National Union. In all of his career he has been actuated by a 
laudable ambition and his course has been characterized by a persistency of 
purpose that has enabled him to overcome obstacles and difificulties and advance 
steadily toward the goal of prominence and professional success. 



HON. STEPHEN A. CALVERT. 

Hon. Stephen A. Calvert, lawyer and legislator, was prominently identified 
with the interests of Washington for a number of years, but will perhaps be best 
remembered because of the active and influential part which he took in framing 
the equitable legislation that now controls the fishing industry of western Wash- 
ington. He was born in Whiteside county, Illinois, in 1843 and was educated in 
the United Presbyterian College at Washington, Iowa, and the University of 
Michigan at Ann Arbor, where he pursued his law course. His studies, however, 
were interrupted by his service as a soldier in the Civil war for, prompted by a 
spirit of patriotism, he enlisted in 1862 as a member of the Second Iowa In- 
fantry, with which he served for one year when he was honorably discharged on 
account of ill health. He was with the command under General Grant and par- 
ticipated in the battle of Shiloh. 

Taking up the study of law, Mr. Calvert was admitted to the bar in Iowa in 
1866 and entered at once upon an active practice of his profession, which he fol- 
lowed for eleven years in that state and in Missouri, x^lmost immediate recogni- 
tion of his ability came to him and he enjoyed a good practice. In 1877 he was 
elected judge of the fifth judicial circuit of Iowa and remained upon the bencl' 
for nine years, making a most acceptable record as a fair and impartial judge 
and manifesting marked ability in deciding every point in a case. 

In Iowa City, in 1868, Mr. Calvert was united in marriage to Miss Rachel B. 
Berger and to them were born two daughters and two sons: Jessie E. C, now 
the wife of N. M. Singleton, of Seattle; Narcissa L., the wife of Paul T. Shaw, 
of Tacoma ; W. F., residing in Seattle ; and R. P., a resident of Portland, Oregon. 



342 WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 

In the year 1891 Mr. Calvert came to Washington with his family and estab- 
lished his home at Bellingham, where he engaged in the practice of law for nine 
years. He served one term as a member of the state legislature, filling the ofifice 
during the session of 1899, and in the fall of 1900 he was elected state land 
commissioner in which position he continued until 1905. His work as a legis- 
lator was such as to cause his memor}^ to be long honored. He worked most 
loyally for the interest of the commonwealth and came into prominence through 
his thorough understanding of the fishing question which at that time was caus- 
ing much agitation. In 1899 he was appointed chairman of the fisheries com- 
mittee and his ability quickly brought results. During the following year he 
formulated the fishing law which was passed by the legislature of 1900. It placed 
the fishing industry of Washington on such a sound basis that outside capital 
was immediately interested and led to the establishment of the existing plant of 
the American Fisheries Company at Bellingham. 

After leaving Bellingham Mr. Calvert resided for a brief time in Seattle and 
afterwards for a few months served as commandant of the Soldiers Home at 
Orting. Later he took up his abode at Calvert Home on American lake and 
there continued until death called him in 19 10. In his political views he was a 
very earnest republican and fraternally he was a Master Mason and was also 
prominently identified with the Grand Army of the Republic of this state, becom- 
ing a recognized leader. Throughout his entire life he had been actuated by a 
spirit of devotion to public good and this, combined with his high standing as a 
lawyer, judge and man, gave him an enviable position as one of the honored 
representative citizens of the state. 



JOHN FRANCIS BEATTY, M. D. 

While numbered among the younger medical practitioners of Everett, D/. 
John Francis Beatty has won a position that many an older practitioner might 
well envy. He was born at East St. Louis, Illinois, March 20. 1889. His grand- 
father, John Campbell Beatty, was a native of Ireland and the founder of the 
American branch of the family, settling in western Pennsylvania upon his arrival 
in the new world. He married Anna Lena Hesselgoetzer, a representative of 
one of the Pennsylvania-Dutch families. Their son, John C. Beatty, was born 
in Butler county, Pennsylvania, and about i860 removed to St. Louis. He is a 
steel worker by trade and has followed that business for a long period. He 
wedded Mar}^ Carr, a native of New Jersey, and they became the parents of five 
children, of whom four died in infancy. Mrs. Beatty was a daughter of Michael 
Carr, a native of Ireland, who married Miss Elizabeth Reynolds and lived for a 
considerable period in New Jersey. 

Dr. Beatty pursued his early education in the schools of St. Louis, Missouri, 
and in the high school at Granite City, Illinois. He afterward attended the Wash- 
ington University, from which he was graduated in 191 1 on the completion of a 
.medical course. His early professional experience came to him as interne in 
[he St. Louis City Hospital under the late Dr. W. O. Smith. He there remained 
from 191 1 until 1912, when he sought the opportunities of the west, locating in 



WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 343 

Sultan. He was there interested in the Fairview Hospital, which connection 
was maintained for eighteen months in partnership with Dr. J. S. Purdy. On 
the 2d of February, 1914, he arrived in Everett, where he has since continued 
actively in general practice, and that he keeps in touch with the trend of modern 
professional thought and progress is indicated in his membership in the Sno- 
homish County, the Washington State and the American Medical Associations. 
He is now serving as president of the Snohomish County Medical Society and 
he is a member of the city board of health. 

At Everett, on the 12th of March, 1913, Dr. Beatty was married to Miss 
Grace H. Horney, a native of Iowa and a daughter of Henry C. and Alice E. 
(Judd) Horney. They have become parents of a daughter, Mary Alice, who 
was born in Sultan, Washington, January 6, 1914; and a son, John Henry, born 
November 18, 191 6. 

In politics Dr. Beatty is a republican. He was made a Mason in Granite City/ 
Illinois, and has always been an exemplary representative of the craft. He belongs 
to the Riverside and Everett Commercial Clubs and that he is not neglectful of 
the higher duties of life is indicated in his membership in the First Methodist 
Episcopal church, in the work of which he takes an active and helpful part, 
being a member of the board of stewards and also of the choir. He is secretary 
on the board of control of the Snohomish County Orphanage. He belongs to 
the Nu Sigma Nu and to the Alpha Omega Alpha, two college fraternities. 
When in the university he was awarded a scholarship in his third year because 
of his general worthiness and studious habits. He has always been a close and 
discriminating student of the principles of medicine and has made continuous 
advance in his profession by reason of his devotion thereto as displayed in wide 
reading and study. He puts forth every possible effort to make his services of 
greater professional worth and his ability is widely recognized by the general 
public and by his colleagues and contemporaries as well. 



PERCY F. HARLEY. 



Free from ostentation and display, recognizing and fully meeting the duties 
and obligations that devolve upon him, Percy F. Harley has made an excellent 
record in the office of city treasurer at Port Angeles. He has ever been found 
covirteous and obliging and one who is ever prompt and thoroughly reliable in 
performing the work of the office. Before entering upon this position he was 
well known as a representative business man of that city. His birth occurred in 
Hillsdale, Michigan, June 21, 1869, his parents being William F. and Anna (Lee) 
Harley, both of whom were natives of Ohio, the former of German and the latter 
of English descent. The founder of the American branch of the family wa( 
Jacob Harley. The father became an early settler of Michigan and was a suc- 
cessful agriculturist there, continuously following farming until his death, which 
occurred in 1892, when he had reached the age of fifty-seven years. His widow 
yet occupies the old homestead at Ludington, Michigan. Mr. Harley was a 
democrat in his political views and took an active part in local and state politics, 
filling a number of minor positions and also serving as a member of the state 



344 WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 

legislature. During the Civil war he served for four years and seven months 
in defense of the Union, doing active duty with Company H of the Fifty-fifth 
Ohio Volunteer Infantry. He entered the service as a private and left the army 
as a sergeant. On one occasion while on guard duty he was taken prisoner but 
was afterward exchanged and during the course of his long mihtary experience 
he participated in a number of the most important battles of the war. To him 
and his wife were born three children : Stephen, now Hving in Ludington, Mich- 
igan; Delia, the wife of G. E. Starks, of Portland, Oregon; and Percy F. 

The last named is indebted to the public school systems of Ohio and of 
Michigan for the educational opportunities which he enjoyed. His youthful 
experiences to the age of seventeen years were those of the farm bred boy, after 
which he was apprenticed to learn the carpenter's trade, which he followed for 
several years. In 1905 he arrived in Port Angeles, Washington, where for a 
short time he engaged in contracting and building. Later he leased the Sol Doc 
Hotel at Hot Springs, which he successfully conducted for five years. He then 
returned to Port Angeles, where he again took up the work of contracting and 
building, in which he engaged until elected city treasurer in 1914. He has now 
entered upon his fourth term as the incumbent in that position, for which he 
is especially qualified, being an expert accountant and a man of good business 
ability. That his fellow townsmen believe him to be the right man in the right 
place is indicated in the fact that he has been three times chosen to the ofiice 
which he is now filling. He is also interested in the Port Angeles Construction 
Company, of which he is the manager, and has other business connections. 

On the 17th of July, 1888, Mr. Harley was married in Scottville, Michigan, 
to Miss Etta Hovey, a native of that state and a daughter of Asa M. and Theresa 
(Butler) Hovey, who represented old families of Pennsylvania and of Michigan. 
Both parents are now deceased. Mr. and Mrs. Harley have three children : 
Stella L., the wife of Albert Raber, of Juneau, Alaska; Ethel L., the wife of 
Joseph Hall, also of Juneau ; and Joseph L., who is in the government mail 
service and resides in Port Angeles. 

Mr. Harley has always given his political allegiance to the republican party 
and is a loyal advocate of its principles. He is a member of the Masonic fra- 
ternity and the Eastern Star, the Independent Order of Odd Fellows and the. 
Rebekahs. He is also an active and prominent member of the Commercial Club 
and cooperates in all of its well defined plans and movements for the benefit and 
upbuilding of the "city with which he has" allied his interests. He is a believer 
in the northwest and its future and is ever ready to give of his time and effort 
toward promoting the welfare of this district. 



ALEXANDER McLEAN MATHESON. 

Alexander McLean Matheson has been actively and prominently associated 
with lumber interests in Hoquiam for a number of years and still has important 
interests of that character under his control. He has been identified with the 
organization of several companies having to do with the lumber interests of Grays 
Harbor and there is no phase of the business with which he is not familiar. A 




ALEXANDER McLEAN MATHESON 



■i^A*xi\ 



TT, i^-^TO^. LENOX 



WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 347 

native of Nova Scotia, he was born in Kemptown, Colchester county, in 1845 and 
there resided until 1867, when he went to Maine, where he engaged in railroading 
for a short time. He afterward removed to Illinois, where he spent one year 
engaged in farming and then went to Wells, Minnesota, where he assisted in 
building the first roundhouse of the Minnesota Southern Railroad. He had 
become a Mason in his native city and while at Wells aided in organizing the first 
Masonic lodge of that place, of which he became a charter member. He afterward 
removed to St. Paul and spent a year in work in the railroad shops of that city, at 
the end of which time he removed to Georgetown, Colorado, and afterward to 
Butte, Montana, where he engaged in blacksmithing. From that point, accom- 
panied by his wife, he traveled by team and wagon across the mountains on the 
old Mullen road to Spokane, at which time it contained only a small grocery 
store, a saloon and a butcher shop. He proceeded on his way through that village 
to Baker City, Oregon, and established his home in Malheur county, settling on 
the Owyhee River. He was one of the promoters of what is now known as the 
Owyhee ditch, a great water project irrigating a large territory. He was active in 
the construction of that ditch and thus contributed much to the development of the 
district. From that point he removed to Ballard in the spring of 1892. 

He had followed farming in eastern Oregon and on going to Ballard became 
connected with the lumber interests as an employe of the West Coast Shingle 
Mill Company in the capacity of engineer and millwright. He continued with 
that company for several years and then embarked in business on his own 
account, organizing the Eureka Shingle Company at Ballard in connection with 
Charles Hawley and Herbert Bockemen as his partners. They established a 
small mill with a capacity of one hundred thousand shingles per day. Mr. 
Matheson promoted the project and built the mill, which he operated until 1903, 
when he sold to his two partners. In the fall of that year he removed to Hoquiam 
and in connection with Robert Poison organized the Poison Shingle Company, the 
site of which was donated by the Grays Harbor Land Company. They built a 
plant and commenced operations in June, 1904, with a capacity of three hundred 
thousand shingles per day. Mr. Matheson became president and manager of the 
company, with Mr. Poison as vice president. The mill was equipped with modern 
machinery and continued in operation until 191 3. The company then concluded 
to build a sawmill, which was done, and of the new company which was formed 
Mr. Matheson was chosen president. This mill has a capacity of one hundred 
and twenty-five thousand feet of lumber per day. Following the completion of 
the plant in 1914 the business was reorganized with Robert Poison as the presi- 
dent, Alexander Poison as vice president and A. M. Matheson, manager. The 
name has been changed to the Eureka Cedar Lumber & Shingle Company and they 
have dry kilns and all modern equipments to further conduct and develop the 
business, to which Mr. Matheson gives his entire time and attention. The Ideal 
Sash & Door Company, which was organized by the McLaughlins of Hoquiam 
in 1912, became involved and was forced to sell in 19x4. The Grays Harbor 
Door Company was then organized and took over the property of the Ideal 
Sash & Door Company, with A. M. Matheson as the president, Ed Anderson 
vice president, and A. L. Paine, secretary. This company was formed for the 
purpose of manufacturing doors and other material for building purposes and 

employs from twenty-five to thirty people. Different interests thus claim the 
Vol. n— 18 



348 WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 

attention, and profit by the cooperation and sound judgment of Mr. Matheson, 
whose discrimination is keen and business enterprise unfaltering. 

In 1872, in Colorado, Mr. ^Matheson was married to Miss Rachel Jeanetta 
Shawl, of Venango county, Pennsylvania, who became an early resident of Colo- 
rado. They have one child, Gilbert Howard Alatheson, of Hoquiam, who was 
born in Oregon in 1883, was educated in Ballard and is now foreman in a mill. 
He is married and makes his home in Hoquiam. Like his father, he has become 
a Mason and is connected with the Benevolent Protective Order of Elks. 

In politics Mr. Matheson has ever been an earnest republican, for he believes 
that the platform of the party contains the best elements of good government. He 
has ever been very prominent in Masonic circles, doing all in his power to promote 
the welfare of the organization and secure the adoption of its high standards. He 
has gradually worked his way upward in business and the steps of his orderly 
progression are easily discernible. At all points in his career he has been actuated 
by a laudable ambition and his activity and even-paced energy have carried him 
steadily forward. 



ARTHUR A. SCOTT. 



Arthur A. Scott, vice president and general manager of the Puget Sound Mills 
and Timber Company of Port Angeles and general manager of the Crown Lumber 
Company at Mukilteo, Washington, thus figures prominently as a representative 
of the industrial interests of his section of the state, controlling growing and impor- 
tant interests which indicate that he is the possessor of marked executive ability 
and administrative power. Wisely and carefully has he directed the interests 
under his control, coordinating seemingly diverse elements into a unified and har- 
monious whole. His labors are effectively resultant and what he has achieved 
represents the fit utilization of the innate powers and talents which are his. Mr. 
Scott was born in Grand Haven, Michigan, November 22, 1871, a son of jMyron 
and Mary (Sullivan) Scott, who were natives of New York state. In early life 
the father engaged in the shipping business and later entered the service of the 
United States as inspector of steam vessels, remaining in the service until his 
death. He located in Grand Haven and there remained throughout the residue of 
his days, passing away Jtme 15, 1893, when forty-eight years of age. His widow 
survives and now resides with her son Arthur. In their family were three chil- 
dren: Myron K., still residing in Grand Haven; Arthur A., and Eugene A., who 
also makes his home in Grand Haven. 

Arthur A. Scott pursued his education in the schools of his native city, passing 
through consecutive grades and the high schools, and then attended a commercial 
school at Grand Rapids, Michigan. His first employment was with the White & 
Friant Lumber Company, with which he remained for about a year and then 
entered the employ of the Ryerson Hill Lumber Company, of Muskegon, Michigan, 
with which he also continued for a year. From ]\Iuskegon, Mr. Scott went to 
Grand Rapids, where he became associated with M. J. Clark in his various enter- 
prises, among them the Clark-Jackson Lumber Company, of Duluth. Minnesota, 
the Clark-Swan-Jackson Company, of North Tonawanda, New York, the Clark- 
Sligh Timber Company, the Clark Iron Company, and the Grand Rapids-Oregon 



WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 349 

Timber Company, all of Grand Rapids, Michigan. Sometime later a company 
was formed and built the Clark-Nickerson mill at Everett, Washington, Mr. 
Scott being one of the original stockholders. 

A few years later some of the stockholders of this plant disposed of their 
holdings, formed a new corporation and built a mill at Mukilteo, known as the 
Mukilteo Lumber Company. In 1906 Mr. Scott wound up his afifairs in the east, 
came to Washington and assumed the management of the Mukilteo Lumber Com- 
pany. This company in August, 1909, disposed of its holdings to the Charles 
Nelson Company, of San Francisco, who renamed the plant the Crown Lumber 
Company and Mr. Scott became and has since been the general manager. The 
Crown Lumber Company employ two hundred and twenty-five men in the manu- 
facture of three hundred thousand feet of lumber in a day of ten hours. The 
plant covers twenty acres and is thoroughly equipped, having the latest improved 
machinery in the saw mill and planing mill. A competent office force is employed 
and the business is most carefully systemized and wisely managed. In September, 
1916, the Charles Nelson Company purchased the entire holdings of the Puget 
Sound Mills and Timber Company, located at Port Angeles, comprising a large 
saw mill cutting three hundred and fifty thousand feet of lumber in ten hours, a 
shingle mill cutting one million two hundred thousand shingles a day, a box factory 
cutting fifty thousand feet of lumber a day, logging camps, logging railroads and 
timber lands. Mr. Scott was made vice president and general manager of this 
company and divides his time between Mukilteo and Port Angeles. These mills 
are the sustaining industries of the towns in which they are located. The Charles 
Nelson Company own and operate a large fleet of vessels handling a large portion 
of the output of both mills. 

On the loth day of June, 1901, in Muskegon, Michigan, Mr. Scott was united 
in marriage to Miss Bessie J. Snow, her father being James Snow, a prominent 
attorney of Muskegon who is now deceased. The mother, however, still survives 
and makes her home in Muskegon, Michigan. Mr. and Mrs. Scott have two 
charming children, namely: Marion Snow, who was born at Grand Rapids, 
Michigan, April 29, 1902, and is now attending school at Everett, and Myron 
Arthur, who was born at Grand Haven, Michigan, on the nth day of June, 1903, 
and is now attending school at Mukilteo. Mr. Scott finds recreation through his 
connection with the Everett Golf and Country Club and the Cascade Club of 
Everett. The family reside in a delightful home at Mukilteo, situated on a natural 
and commanding site overlooking Gardiner Bay on Puget Sound. There are 
beautiful gardens and driveways amidst fine old trees and the home is in every 
way attractive, while hospitality constitutes one of its chief charms. 



HON. JOHN J. McGILVRA. 

An illustrious name on the pages of the state's history is that of Judge John J. 
McGilvra and time serves but to heighten his fame as his works stand out in 
their true light and perspective in relation to other events of the period in which 
he lived and labored. He gathered distinction as a member of the bar and 
honors were accorded him along other lines, his entire life history indicating what 



350 WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 

may be accomplished when the individual is prompted by ambition and energy 
in a land of opportunity. From his twelfth year he was dependent upon his own 
resources, and few associates of the little lad who at the age of twelve was work- 
ing as a chore boy for four dollars per month, would have predicted that he 
would become one of the eminent jurists of the northwest. 

Judge McGilvra was born in Livingston county, New York, July ii, 1827, and 
was descended from Scotch ancestry, from whom he inherited many sterling 
traits. The family was founded in America by one of the name who in 1740 
became a resident of Washington county. New York, and who was the great- 
grandfather of Judge McGilvra. The grandfather was born in Washington 
county and lived the life of an energetic, enterprising farmer for a period of 
seventy years. His son, John McGilvra, was also born and married there, after 
which he removed to Livingston county, New York, where he secured a farm 
which he developed and improved. 

Judge McGilvra was one of a family of seven children who were reared upon 
the old homestead in Livingston county. New York. The public-school system 
of that portion of the state provided him his educational privileges until he reached 
the age of seventeen years, when he went with his parents to Illinois and became 
a student in an academy at Elgin, that state. In the meantime, however, he had 
begun providing for his own support. When in his twelfth year he secured a 
a position as chore boy at a salary of four dollars per month and at other times 
he worked for his board and the privilege of attending school. He was ambitious 
to advance, however, and utilized every means that enabled him to progress. He 
afterward took up the profession of teaching, but regarded it merely as an initial 
step to other professional labor and in 1850 began preparation for the bar as a 
law student in the office of Hon. Edward Gififord, a graduate of Yale College and 
of the Cambridge Law School. He afterward read law under the direction of 
Ebenezer Peck, a prominent Chicago attorney who was later one of the judges 
of the court of claims. 

In 1853 Judge McGilvra was admitted to the bar and during the period of his 
residence and law practice in Chicago he became well acquainted with Abraham 
Lincoln. A door opened between their respective offices and each looked after 
both offices during the absence of the other. The friendship and high regard which 
thus grew up between them continued, and w^hen Mr. Lincoln was elected presi- 
dent he appointed Mr. IMcGilvra to the position of United States attorney for 
Washington territory in 1861. It was during his residence in Chicago that he 
also became intimately acquainted with Chief Justice Fuller, their offices being 
not only in the same building but upon the same floor. 

With his appointment to the position of United States attorney for Washing- 
ton territory, Judge McGilvra removed with his family to the northwest, establish- 
ing his home in Olympia, but in the fall of that year they went to Vancouver, 
where they resided until 1864. In the meantime Judge McGilvra had been study- 
ing geographic and other conditions bearing upon the development of the west 
and had become convinced that Seattle would be the metropolis of the territory. 
In that year, therefore, he established his home in the city which continued to be 
the place of his residence until his demise. For five years he continued to serve 
as United States attorney and then declined reappointment to the position in order 
to give undivided attention to the private practice of law and to active effort 



WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 351 

along political lines. He was not only a student of legal principles but of the 
signs of the times and it would have been impossible for him to continue inactive 
in relation to public affairs which shaped the political history of the territory. 
He was a natural leader of men and he did much to mold public opinion. In 
1866 he became the republican nominee for the office of member of the territorial 
legislature and following his election devoted considerable attention to procuring 
the passage of a bill that secured an appropriation of twenty-five hundred dollars 
for the opening of a wagon road through the Snoquamie pass, this being the 
first line of connection between the eastern and western parts of the territory 
save that afforded by the Columbia river. No other work which he could have 
performed would have been so beneficial to the territory in the development of 
Seattle and of this portion of the northwest, for it formed the only highway 
between eastern and western Washington north of the Columbia river prior to the 
time the Northern Pacific Railroad was built. His views in this matter seem 
prophetic, for during the last year the road through his pass and over the moun- 
tains has been completed and is known as the Sunset route. It gives an automobile 
route second to none in America for beautiful scenery and the pass has become 
the gateway between the east and southern California. The Northern Pacific 
Railroad Company seemed determined to suppress Seattle and blight its future 
by making Tacoma its terminus, after the people of this city had offered many 
inducements for the extension of the line to this point. A public meeting was 
then held, in which Mr. McGilvra ably advocated the building of another road. 
This resulted in the organizing of the Seattle & Walla Walla Railroad Company. 
Mr. McGilvra drew up the articles of incorporation and the by-laws, and for 
several years transacted all the legal business of the company. In connection with 
Arthur A. Denny, James M. Colman and others, he became a most potent factor 
in raising money and in securing the construction of the new line. This virtually 
checkmated the efforts of the Northern Pacific and gave to Seattle a road of its 
own. In the effort the people of the city became very enthusiastic, and some 
two miles of the road was graded by picnic parties composed of Seattle's popula- 
tion, men, women and children participating in the work. Toward this valuable 
enterprise Mr. McGilvra gave sixty acres of land and his services for three years, 
and to his mental and physical efforts the success of the road was largely due. 

Seattle called Judge McGilvra to the office of city attorney, which position he 
filled for two years. He afterward went to Washington, D. C, where he spent 
the winter of 1876-7 in prosecuting Seattle's claim to three hundred and twenty 
acres of land within the city limits under the town site law. He won the desired vic- 
tory and during the same time he kept in touch with events in the west and gained 
knowledge that proved of great value at a later period. His attention was called 
to the fact that the Northern Pacific Railroad Company was attempting to change 
its branch line from the Skagit to the Natchez pass in the Cascade mountains 
and in order to do so had filed an amended plan or plat of its branch line with 
the commissioner of the general land office. Judge McGilvra at once directed the 
attention of Judge Orange Jacobs, then congressional delegate to Washington, to 
this fact and they both entered their protest against this unless the withdrawn 
lands on the Skagit line were restored to settlement. Later Judge McGilvra's 
services were retained by the people of King and other counties to assist Judge 
Jacobs in securing the restoration of those lands and after a prolonged struggle 



352 WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 

he was successful and five million acres were thus opened to the people for settle- 
ment, although the Northern Pacific made strong opposition thereto. The speaker 
of the house of representatives, however, allowed Judge McGilvra the privileges 
of the floor and Senator Mitchell secured for him practically the same privilege 
in the upper house of congress. He appeared before all of the committees, made 
oral arguments and submitted printed briefs with the result as above indicated. 
History shows that at first the Northern Pacific seemed hostile to Seattle, did 
everything in its power to prevent its growth and crush out its future prospects, 
but Judge McGilvra's active work and that of his associates brought the railroad 
company to terms and the corporation was soon glad to ask favors of the growing 
metropolis on the Sound. Possibly no man in Seattle did more to secure her 
great waterworks system than Judge McGilvra, who at first strenuously opposed 
the plan, suggested by City Engineer R. H. Thomson, of bringing water from 
Cedar Mountain, if it would incur a greater indebtedness to the city than they 
should be called upon to meet. After the plans and specifications were submitted 
by Mr. Thomson to the Judge personally, he gave them his careful consideration 
for three or four days and, finding them feasible, gave the project his most hearty 
and unqualified support. Mr. McGilvra enjoyed a most enviable reputation as an 
able and learned lawyer and was connected with much of the most important 
litigation heard in the northwest. His practice proved to him a gratifying source 
of income and he began making investments in real estate, the rapid rise in land 
values making him in time one of the wealthy men of Washington. He pur- 
chased several hundred acres of land on the city side of Lake Washington and 
platted several additions to the city. At his own expense, in 1864-5, he opened 
Madison street its whole length to the lake, the project costing him fifteen hundred 
dollars. He subsidized the Madison street cable railway to the amount of one 
hundred thousand dollars. During the last ten years of his life he gave little 
attention to law practice, living retired save for the supervision which he gave 
to his property holdings. He spent considerable time in travel both in America 
and abroad and found great pleasure in visiting scenes of modern and historic 
interest. 

Judge McGilvra was married February 8, 1855, to Miss Elizabeth M. Hills, 
a native of Oneida county. New York, as was her father, H. O. Hills, a repre- 
sentative of one of the leading old Connecticut families of colonial days. Judge 
and Mrs. McGilvra became parents of five children, of whom two survive: 
Carrie E., now the wife of Judge Thomas Burke, who was one of the most 
prominent lawyers of Seattle but is now living retired; and Oliver C, who for 
a considerable time was a member of the prominent law firm of Burke, Shepard 
& McGilvra. Since the dissolution of that firm he has engaged in practice alone. 

The death of Judge McGilvra occurred at his home on the shore of Lake 
Washington, December 19, 1903, when he was seventy-six years of age. There 
are few men whose labors have been more directly beneficial in connection with the 
material development of the state, in upholding its legal and political status and 
in advancing its social and moral progress. During the period of the Civil war 
he was a member of the Union League and did everything in his power to uphold 
the government in its efforts to preserve the Union. While conducting law cases 
in Washington, D. C. in 1863-4 he formed the acquaintance of both Secretary 
Chase and Secretary Stanton and he did valuable service for the nation in connec- 



WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 353 

tion with the removal of southern sympathizers from public offices in Washington, 
Oregon and California. He never ceased to feel the deepest interest in the wel- 
fare of his adopted city or state and his cooperation could at any time be counted 
upon to further public progress. At one time he was president of the Pioneer 
Society of Washington and to it, on the occasion of the annual reunion in June, 
1902, he presented a magnificent lot on the shore of Lake Washington, at the foot 
of Madison street. A two-story brick house has been constructed thereon and in 
it is placed a suitable tablet bearing expressions of gratitude to Judge and Mrs. 
McGilvra for the donation of the lot. A contemporary biographer wrote of 
Judge McGilvra : "While in practice he was regarded as the peer of the ablest 
members of the bar, and his ability won him distinction in legal and political 
circles at the capital. It is said of an eminent man of old that he had done 
things worthy to be written, that he had written things worthy to be read, and 
by his life had contributed to the welfare of the republic and the happiness of 
mankind. This eulogy is one that can well be pronounced on Judge John J. 
McGilvra." 

At his passing many who knew him well and had been long associated with him 
breathed the sentiment of the words : 

"Take him for all in all, 
I shall not look upon his like again." 



JOHN SLATER. 



The student of history cannot carry his investigation far into the records 
of Whatcom county without learning that the Slater family has long been iden- 
tified with its agricultural interests. John Slater was born on Vancouver island 
in 1866 and removed with his parents, George and Elizabeth Slater, to Ferndale, 
where he assisted in the arduous task of developing a new farm, sharing in all 
of the hardships and privations of frontier hfe. After arriving at years of 
maturity he came into possession of a part of the old homestead, erecting thereon 
a residence. He occupied and cultivated that place for a considerable period, 
devoting his attention to general farming and stock raising with good success. 

Ten years ago, or in 1907, Mr. Slater purchased ten acres of raw land in 
the village of Ferndale. This he at once began to improve and thereon he erected 
a fine and commodious residence. He afterward sold six acres to the Mount 
Vernon Condensery Company as a site for the Mount Vernon Creamery. He 
continued to conduct his farm until the creamery plant was established and 
since then he has been associated in business with the Mount X'^ernon Condensery 
Company, acting as field man, having charge of all outside work, making con- 
tracts for securing and hauling milk and doing other work in connection with 
the development and conduct of the business. He still has his farm of one 
hundred and twenty acres, which is splendidly improved. He built silos and 
added other modern equipments which feature in connection with dairying and 
upon one of his places he has forty cows and upon the other sixty cows. 

In 1887 Mr. Slater was united in marriage to Miss Inda Mayfield, of Fern- 



354 WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 

dale, who came to the west from Indiana. She is a daughter of A. C. Mayfield, 
who was for many years a merchant of Ferndale and passed away here. It 
was in the year 1885 that the Mayfield family arrived, and Mrs. Mayfield was 
the first white woman who ever lived in Ferndale. She still survives and is well 
known as one of the pioneer women of this section of the state. To Mr. and 
Mrs. Slater have been born four children: Doy, who is the wife of L. H. 
Hughes; Gladys Inda, the wife of Henry Hammer; Glenn J., who is a graduate 
of the University of Washington of the class of 1917; and Verla, who is at 
home. 

Mr. Slater and his wife belong to the Pioneers Association of Whatcom 
county, of which he is one of the directors. Since 1868 he has lived in Whatcom 
county and is therefore familiar with its history from the period of its early 
development. Almost a half century has passed since that time and throughout 
the intervening years the Slater family has been active and prominent in pro- 
moting those business interests which have been the basis of the present growth 
and prosperity of this section. 



F. G. FOSTER. 



Various business and corporate interests have felt the stimulus of the coopera- 
tion, sound judgment and enterprising spirit of F. G. Foster, but he is probably 
best known as the vice president and manager of the F. G. Foster Company, 
wholesale jobbers in groceries, hardware and mill supplies. Four years before 
Hoquiam was incorporated he became identified with the interests of the little 
community which was here being developed and throughout the intervening period 
his work has been most effective not only in furthering his individual success but 
in promoting public growth and prosperity. 

Mr. Foster is a native of New Brunswick, Canada, born in 1866, and there he 
remained to the age of twenty years, pursuing his education in the schools of that 
locality and gaining from the early experiences of life many lessons which have 
proven of value to him in later years. On leaving New Brunswick he came to 
the northwest and made Hoquiam his destination. Here he first engaged in the 
milling business, becoming connected with the Northwestern Lumber Company, 
which three years before had opened its general store on Levee street. After a 
year's identification with the milling interests of that company he entered the 
store and for fifteen years had charge of their commissary department. In 1896 
he assumed the management of the business, which under his wise and careful 
direction constantly grew in volume and importance, the Hoquiam Mill Store, by 
which name it was known, becoming the center of the trade interests of that part 
of the state. It was the first store in the Grays Harbor country and had all the 
business from Montesano down to the coast, and in connection with the conduct 
of the store a free boat was operated to the county seat. Mr. Foster's ability 
is indicated in the fact that he remained with the Northwestern Lumber Company 
for a quarter of a century. Laudable ambition prompted him to engage in 
business on his own account and in January, 191 1, he organized the F. G. Foster 
Company, which soon afterward took over the stock of the general store of the 



^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^p 


|V 




^^^^^^^^H 




^ 




P4 




^^^^^^^^^^^^^^i^^vi^^^gg^^^^^^^^l 



F. G. rOSTp]R 



t-THE NEW 
I PUBLIC LIBR. 

ASTOo LENOX 
TIi 'UNDATtON 



WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 357 

Northwestern Company. He erected a very substantial and attractive business 
block at the corner of I and Ninth streets, the building being of reinforced 
concrete, two stories in height and splendidly lighted by line broad windows, 
while the equipment throughout the store is thoroughly modern. Here the com- 
pany carries a most extensive stock of groceries, hardware, mill and logging sup- 
plies. Each year the business of the company has shown a substantial advance 
and Mr. Foster as its president and chief executive officer has surrounded him- 
self with a corps of able assistants and loyal employes, who number forty. The 
house is represented upon the road by six traveling salesmen, who cover the 
territory of Jefferson, Grays Harbor, Mason, Thurston, Pacific and Lewis coun- 
ties. Today this is one of the largest jobbing houses on the Pacific coast and 
the only one of the kind in southwestern Washington. 

Various other business interests have profited by the cooperation of Mr. 
Foster, who from 1890 until 1892 inclusive was engaged in the furniture busi- 
ness as a partner of William Bolcum, a store being maintained in Hoquiam with 
a branch establishment for a time. at Grays Harbor City. Mr. Foster was also 
one of the incorporators of the Hoquiam Theater, which he conducted for a 
time, and he owned and managed the White Steam Laundry for several years, 
but he now concentrates his attention largely upon the interests of the company, 
giving to the business his personal supervision. He is likewise a director of the 
First National Bank of Hoquiam. 

In 1889. at Portland, Oregon, Mr. Foster was married to Miss Anna G. Cur- 
tis, also a native of New Brunswick, and some years later she died. Seven years 
later he married Margaret Hendrick of Corning, New York. He has one son, 
Fred S. Mr. Foster belongs to the Grays Harbor Golf Club and fraternally is 
connected with the Benevolent Protective Order of Elks, while in Masonic cir- 
cles he has attained high rank, being now a member of the Alystic Shrine. He 
belongs also to the Commercial Club and he stands for all those interests which 
are a matter of civic virtue and civic pride. His fellow townsmen regard him 
as a most public-spirited citizen and Hoquiam acknowledges her indebtedness to 
him for the active and effective part which he has taken in the development of 
her business interests and in the promotion of her most substantial advancement. 



ROGER S. GREENE. 



The descendants of many of the distinguished families of the Atlantic states 
have become the builders of our own communities. This is particularly true 
of the New England states, which have contributed a large army of their sons 
and daughters whose brain and brawn have helped develop the resources and 
build up an empire in that vast region west of the Rocky Mountains. The sub- 
ject of this sketch, for several years the chief judicial officer of Washington Ter- 
ritory and now one of the ablest lawyers of the Seattle bar, is one of New 
England's sons whose high integrity, and whose efforts to elevate the tone of 
society and keep pure the moral sentiment of the community, make a double claim 
upon our respect and recognition. He comes of old New England stock, and in 
his character can be detected some of the strongest virtues of his ancestry. On 
the maternal side he is a grandson of Roger Sherman, one of the signers of the 



358 WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 

Declaration of Independence. His mother, Mary Evarts, was the daughter of 
Jeremiah Evarts and a sister of William M. Evarts, recently United States sena- 
tor from New York, who for many years has been recognized as the ablest 
member of the /Vmerican bar. His father, Rev. David Greene, a native of Stone- 
ham and long a resident of Boston, Massachusetts, was for twenty years cor- 
responding secretary of the American Board of Commissioners for Foreign Mis- 
sions. The family residence was at Roxbury, Massachusetts, now a part of 
Boston, and there December 14, 1840, Roger Sherman Greene was born. Here 
his boyhood was passed until his eighth year, when the family removed to West- 
borough, Massachusetts, and two years later to Windsor, Vermont. Fie received 
a most carefully conducted elementary education, and after completing an 
academic course entered Dartmouth College, from which institution he was 
graduated in 1859. Soon thereafter he began the study of law in the office 
of Evarts, Southmayd & Choate in New York city, a firm composed of as bril- 
liant men as ever adorned the bar of the metropolis of x-\merica, each of wliom 
had at that time gained national renown. In this office as student and afterwards 
as managing clerk, he had an excellent opportunity of gaining a most valuable 
preliminary legal training. In May, 1862, he was admitted to practice, but at this 
stage of his career the war for the overthrow of the Union had begun to assume 
the aspect of a great struggle, and his loyalty to his country induced him to 
abandon the idea of beginning his professional career and to enter the service 
of his country. In September, 1862, he enlisted under commission of second 
lieutenant of Company I, Third Missouri Infantry. In March following he was 
promoted to first lieutenant in the same company, and in 1863 was made captain 
of Company C, Fifty-first United States Colored Infantry, serving as such until 
honorably discharged by acceptance of his resignation in November, 1865. He 
also served during this period as judge advocate of the District of Vicksburg at 
the close of 1864 and beginning of 1865, and judge advocate of the Western 
Division of Louisiana from June, 1865, until retirement from service. He re- 
ceived a gunshot wound through the right arm in the general assault on Vicks- 
burg, while in command of his company. May 22, 1863. 

After the close of his military service, Judge Greene was offered the position 
of assistant United States district attorney for the southern district of New York, 
but declined the office, and in January, 1866, began the practice of his profession 
in Chicago, where he occupied the same office with Perkin Bass, then United 
5tates attorney, with whom he was ultimately associated in practice. He remained 
in Chicago until his appointment by President Grant as associate justice of the 
supreme court of Washington Territory, when he settled at Olympia. He was 
twice reappointed, holding the office until January, 1879. when he was commis- 
sioned chief justice, at which time he removed to Seattle, where he has since 
continued to reside. In 1883 he was reappointed chief justice and served until the 
close of his term in March, 1887. Upon retiring from the bench, Judge Greene 
formed a co-partnership in the practice of law with C. H. Hanford and John 
H. McGraw, which a few months later was dissolved and a new firm formed 
under the style of Greene. McNaught, Hanford & McGraw. A year later this 
firm was dissolved, at which time Judge Greene temporarily retired from practice. 
In June, 1889, he resumed his professional labors, and has since been associated 
as partner with J. J. Turner under the firm name of Greene & Turner. 



WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 359 

A prominent member of the Seattle bar writes of the character and ability of 
Judge Greene as follows : 

In the life record of one who has served the public in positions of responsi- 
bility and been an actor in important public events, it is proper to give a just 
estimate of the man and describe the qualities of his nature and the principles 
which have guided his conduct. To do so fairly without bestowing fulsome 
eulogism on the one hand, nor disparaging by faint praise on the other, it be- 
comes necessary to survey the field of his labor, and consider the weight and 
importance of the duties which he has undertaken to perform, the difficulties 
encountered, the measure of his success and the contemporaneous and subse- 
quent criticisms or plaudits of his behavior. Thus, to estimate and describe the 
character, qualities and principles of a friend is the somewhat delicate task 
assumed by the writer. And now to begin : No court on earth possesses a 
wider range of jurisdiction than the district courts and supreme court to which 
congress and the territorial legislature gave cognizance, either original or appel- 
late, of every case which could possibly be a subject for judicial determination 
within the bounds of Washington, a territory which by reason of its situation 
and geographical features, and the infinite variety of its natural resources 
necessarily became during the period of its development, the seat of transactions 
and occurrences giving rise to new questions under every branch and classifica- 
tion of law affecting the rights of either citizens or aliens on land, at sea, or in 
mines deep beneath the surface. The same men were required to preside as 
judges of the nisi prius courts, and also review the decisions and rulings made 
by each other when sitting en banc as an appellate tribunal. Among the qualities 
requisite for the performance of such duties are — a natural sense of justice, 
honesty, fairmindedness, firmness, courage, caution, industry, knowledge, a 
good memory, habits of close observation and accuracy, clearness of mental 
vision, quickness of perception and a physical constitution able to endure hard 
labor and unceasing mental strain ; in brief, the position requires a man having 
a combination of all the highest and best attributes of manhood. To such a 
position Judge Greene was called in his thirtieth year, and for seventeen years 
thereafter he filled it in a manner to satisfy the people and gain for himself a 
reputation among the lawyers of the nation as an able, upright and fearless 
judge. His first appointment was for a term of four years as associate justice 
and judge of the second judicial district, including all the counties west of the 
Cascade mountains and south of Pierce, Kitsap and Jefferson. At that time he 
was a non-resident and unknown in the territory. He at once came with his 
family, established his permanent home in the "territory, and with enthusiasm 
joined his new townsmen and neighbors in all plans and efforts towards ma- 
terial, social, intellectual and religious advancement. Resides performing all 
official duties in a most thorough and painstaking manner, and laboring with 
his own hands in making a home for his family, he assisted home enterprise in 
initiating railroad construction ; he aided social and literary associations by 
delivering lectures gratuitously, and he became a zealous worker among the 
churches and Sunday schools of the Baptist denomination. 

At the expiration of the term for which he was appointed, upon the recom- 
mendation of the bar of his district. President Grant reappointed him for a 
second term o/ four years ; at the end of that period upon like recommendation. 



360 WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 

President Hayes again reappointed him and upon the retirement of Chief Justice 
Lewis in 1879, he became chief justice of the territory and judge of the third 
judicial district. In 1883 President Arthur gave him an appointment for a second 
term, and he continued to serve until relieved by Richard A. Jones in March, 

1887. 

In the performance of his official duties, Judge Greene did not spare himself 
labor. He gave to every case a patient and thorough investigation. Besides the 
supreme court, he held ten terms of the district court each year, and at each 
term delivered a carefully prepared written charge to the grand jury. In de- 
ciding the new and important questions which were constantly being submitted 
to him he generally committed his views to writing before announcing them, and 
yet the delays suffered by litigants were only in a slight degree, if at all, due to 
the withholding of decisions for the sake of time to prepare opinions. He was 
always prompt in the dispatch of business, and after a question had been sub- 
mitted his decision followed quickly. He has been criticised for laxity in 
administering the criminal law^ but the criticisms were not merited, for while 
Judge Greene gave to every person arraigned before him a fair trial, and 
although his heart was full of sympathy and free from malice towards trans- 
gressors, yet the records of his court will show that in sentencing convicts he 
dealt out punishment with greater severity than most judges do. 

While it will not be said that his judgments are free from error or that as a 
judge he was infallible, still it is true that after giving credit for the good, 
debiting him for all errors and striking a balance, his record is above the average 
of good judges. All who have known him agree that all his judgments were 
intelligent and conscientiously rendered. 

Since returning to practice as a member of the bar, Judge Greene has been 
successful in securing the confidence and esteem of a large number of desirable 
clients and building up a large practice. He is a scholarly, experienced and 
skillful lawyer, just in the prime of his manhood apparently, with many years 
in which to be useful yet before him. 

Upon becoming chief justice of the territory in 1879, Judge Greene changed 
his residence to Seattle, and from that time this city has not had among all her 
loyal sons a more ardent lover or useful citizen. It is something to be thankful 
for that so glorious a city, with all her other advantages and resources, is so 
richly endowed in the talents of a large number of her citizens who may be 
relied upon to aid in her future progression. 

It is many years since the foregoing sketch was published in another volume. 

To it the writer of this history wishes to add briefly. 

It has been the good fortune of the latter to know Judge Greene during all 
the years since his arrival at Olympia and to all that is commendatory in the 
foregoing he gives his earnest approval. 

After his arrival in the territory Judge Greene devoted most of the time and 
service permitted him from the exactions of his judicial position to church and 
missionary labors. Of him at that time a true story is told, of interest in this 
connection. A member of the same church as he seriously objected to the judge 
bemg put on any committee or board, because "in any group of persons of whom 
the judge was one. he always had the majority with him and generally all 
unanimous." This argument had enough cf truth in it to give it isome solidity; 



WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 361 

but in fact the judge was sometimes in the minority, as for example at the lynch- 
ing related elsewhere. 

This is illustrative, in its way, of the appreciation shown by his co-workers 
of the sound judgment, good sense and unselfish devotion ever manifested by him 
in his religious, humane and benevolent activities. 

Since his retirement from the bench nearly thirty years ago, while he has 
continued in the active practice of his profession, he has each year widened the 
field of his unremunerated activities in civic advancement and in the cause of 
religion, temperance, morality, benevolence and broad-minded humanity, at the 
same time giving pecuniary aid at all times to the needy and unfortunate. 



JESSE B. MYERS. 

Jesse B. Myers is today the oldest photographer in years of continuous con- 
nection with the art in Everett. Thorough training and broad experience have 
qualified him for the execution of high-class work and his studio is now liberally 
patronized. A native of Ohio, Mr. Myers was born in Tuscarawas county, Novem- 
ber 4, 1857. His father, John Myers, a native of Pennsylvania, was a representa- 
tive of an old family of that state of Holland descent. His father was Jacob 
Meyers, who came from Holland to the new world. Reared in Pennsylvania, John 
Myers became a successful agriculturist. He located in Iowa at an early period 
in the development of that state, where he made his home until his death, which 
occurred in August, 1899, when he was seventy-seven years of age. At the time 
of the Civil war he responded to the country's call for troops, serving with an 
Ohio regiment until wounded, his injuries rendering him a cripple for life. He 
wedded Mary Kracaw, a native of Holland, who came to the United States with 
her parents in early girlhood. Her father was the Rev. Kracaw, a Lutheran 
minister and an agriculturist who settled in Ohio. Mrs. Myers passed away in 
Tuscarawas county, Ohio, in 1864. 

Jesse B. Myers was the second in order of birth in a family of four sons, one 
of whom has now passed away. He is indebted to the public school systems of 
Ohio and Iowa for his educational opportunities. His early life to the age of 
seventeen years was spent upon the home farm, after which he took up the study 
of photography, learning the business under the direction of his uncle, Austin 
Kracaw, of Washington. Iowa. He later had the benefit of broad experience in 
the leading photographic studios of Chicago, including Rider's, Stefifens' and 
others, and he began business on his own account in Peoria, Illinois, where he 
remained for three vears. He afterward returned to his old home town of 
Washington, Iowa, but on account of failing health removed to Biloxi, Mississippi, 
where he remained for six years. In August. 1902, he arrived in Everett, where 
he has since conducted a beautifully appointed studio. His is the leading photo- 
graphic establishment of the city and he enjoys a very liberal patronage, which he 
well merits by reason of the excellence of his work that exemplifies the highest 
knowledge of photographic art. 

On the 14th of October, 1884, in Washington. Iowa, Mr. Myers was married 
to Miss Emily Cowan, a native of Indiana and a daughter of David S. and Sarah 



362 WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 

E. (Elmore) Cowan. The mother is deceased, while the father resides with Mr. 
and Mrs. IMyers, who have become parents of two children, John D. and Theodore 
A., both in Everett. Mr. Myers owns the family residence at No. 3420 Federal 
street and it commands a beautiful view of the Bay and the mountains. 

In politics he maintains an independent course. He was formerly a member 
of the Royal League and he belongs to the Commercial Club, giving active support 
to its various movements for the city's improvement and upbuilding. He is an 
active member of the United Presbyterian church, in which he is serving on the 
board of trustees, and his life has ever been actuated by high and honorable prin- 
ciples, making him a man W'hom to know is to thoroughly esteem and respect. 



WASHINGTON GROCERY COMPANY. 

Among the companies that have pioneered the whole grocery business and 
which has brought Bellingham into prominence as a wholesale center must be 
mentioned the Washington Grocery Company, whose business since its organi- 
zation in May, 1902, has increased many fold. It is the oldest and largest whole- 
sale grocery north of Seattle. Its first officers were : S. A. D. Glasscock, presi- 
dent ; R. A. L. Davis, vice president ; and John Trezise, secretary and treasurer. 
L. P. White was also a large stockholder and one of the incorporators. It was 
then housed in a three story building, twenty-seven and a half by one hundred 
feet in dimensions, and gave employment to but seven people. As the years 
have passed its annual volume of trade has grown rapidly and in 191 3 it erected 
a fine fireproof building four stories in height and one hundred by one hundred 
and ten feet in dimensions. It is located on the corner of Railroad avenue and 
Chestnut street and has ample track facilities at the doors. There are now 
twenty-five employes, including five salesmen, who cover territory within sixty 
miles of Spokane and as far south as Seattle and Auburn, and at the present 
time are opening up the Alaska territory. The company features the Blue and 
Gold and the W. G. brands of canned goods, both of which are put up espe- 
cially for it on contract. The best proof of the excellence of the entire line of 
goods handled by the Washington Grocery Company and the reliability of their 
methods is the steady increase in their sales. The present officers are : R. A. L. 
Davis, who succeeded to the presidency upon the death of Mr. Glasscock in 
1915; E. H. Holt, vice president; and John Trezise, secretary and treasurer. 
James Matchett, who has also been with the company for many years, is the 
buyer. 

S. A. D. Glasscock was born in West \'irginia in 1862 and in 1890 removed 
to Osceola, Nevada, from St. John, Kansas. After remaining in Nevada for 
six or eight years lie returned to the Sunflower state, where he engaged in 
banking for two years, after which he disposed of his interests there, and in 
the fall of 1901 came to Bellingham. The following year he became one of the 
incorporators of the Washington Grocery Company, of which he remained as 
president until he was called by death on the 13th of December, 191 5. He was 
characterized by a ready recognition of business opportunities and by energy 
and initiative, which enabled him to take advantage of such chances for growth 



WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 363 

and expansion. He was a republican in politics and fully recognized his civic 
responsibilities, being at all times ready to cooperate in bringing about com- 
munity advancement. He was prominent in Masonry, having attained the thirty- 
second degree in the Scottish Rite and being in line for the honorary thirty- 
third degree. He was also a member of the Mystic Shrine. He left a son, 
Carleton, who is now attending Lawrence University. 

John Trezise, who has capably filled the dual position of secretary and 
treasurer of the Washington Grocery Company since its organization, was born 
in Chicago, Illinois, in 1871, and in early manhood went to Kansas, where he 
engaged in the coal and grain business. In 1900 he removed from Winfield, 
Kansas, to Bellingham, and in 1902 aided in incorporating the Washington 
Grocery Company. He has charge of the credit department of the concern and 
in managing that important and difficult phase of the business he has shown 
unusual soundness of judgment and tact. In 1903 he with others organized the 
Bell Candy Company, manufacturers and jobbers, and still retains his inter- 
est in that concern, which is doing a large business. The factory covers thirty- 
three thousand sc^uare feet of floor space and employment is furnished to a 
large number of people. A brother of Mr. Trezise is manager of that busi- 
ness and it returns good dividends to the stockholders. Mr. Trezise of this 
review is a thirty-second degree Mason and a Shriner and is an exemplary 
representative of the craft, embodying its principles in his daily life. 

R. A. L. Davis, who since 191 5 has been president of the Washington Grocery 
Company, was born in Clay county, Indiana, in 1863, a son of Watkin and 
Rebecca (Bevis) Davis, the former a native of Ohio and a farmer by occupation. 
On leaving the Buckeye state the parents removed to Clay county, Indiana, 
where the father engaged in agricultural pursuits until his death. In their 
family were six children, of whom William is associated with his brother, R. A. L 
Davis, in the Washington Grocery Company. The brothers were reared upon 
the home farm and attended the district schools in the acquirement of an edu- 
cation. When a young man R. A. L. Davis went to Kansas, where he was 
connected with a number of interests, including general merchandising and the 
grain and live stock business. In 1902 he removed from Hutchinson, Kansas, 
to Bellingham, Washington, and became connected with the Washington Gro- 
cery Company in the capacity of salesman. When the company was incorporated 
later in the same year he became vice president and filled that office until the 
death of the president in 1915, when he succeeded as the executive head of the 
concern. On him devolves the general management of the business and the 
prosperous condition of the company is proof of his acumen, executive ability 
and enterprise. He is also president of the Bell Candy Company and devotes 
his entire time and attention to the interests of the two enterprises. He was 
married in 1889 to Miss Grace Bussinger, of Kansas, who passed away in 1890, 
leaving a daughter, Charlotte, who is now teaching domestic science in Seattle. 
In 1892 he was united in marriage to Miss Hattie Rehm, also of Kansas, and 
they have four children : Lloyd, who graduated from the University of Wash- 
ington in 191 7 with the degree of Master of Chemistry and is now in Pennsyl- 
vania ; Harold, who is a member of the Coast Artillery ; Ruth, who graduated 
from the high school with the class of 1917, of which she was valedictorian; 
and Mary, a high school student. Mr. Davis is connected with the Independent 



364 WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 

Order of Odd Fellows, the Modern Woodmen of America and the United Com- 
mercial Travelers. He has built a fine home here and has thoroughly identified 
his interests with those of Bellingham. In fact there is no more enthusiastic 
booster of the city than he and he has already gained recognition as a leader 
in movements calculated to promote its welfare. 



ADOLPH WERNER. 



Adolph Werner, president and manager of the Hoquiam Investment and 
Improvement Company, which was organized in 1904, has been an active factor 
in the development and upbuilding of Hoquiam since his arrival there on 
February i, 1890, when he in partnership with his cousin, the afterward well 
known Dr. L. W. Bartel of St. Louis, Missouri, purchased a lot on K street and 
built and equipped a bakery and confectionery, known as the German Bakery, 
doing a good business from the start until January, 1900, when Mr. Werner sold 
out and retired from the business. 

He was born at the city of Saarbruecken in Germany of an old merchant 
family on August 14, 1865, and as an adventurous boy of fifteen went to 
St. Louis, Missouri, in 1880, and with his brother bought out the Thomas I. Burke 
Grocery on Cass avenue in said city early in 1^86, working hard and doing a good 
business until the fall of 1888, when he sold his interest in the business and came 
to Seattle, in the then territory of Washington. 

Mr. Werner enjoys the distinction of having been in business for himself 
since he was twenty years old.,, and since coming to Hoquiam has always remained 
here. Having great faith in the commercial future of Grays Harbor, he invested 
his money continually in real estate and timber, afterward improving his town 
lots with dwelling houses and store buildings, thus creating an income for himself 
without working. Finding idleness not to his liking and being still young and by 
that time owning various properties, it was only natural that he should turn 
toward the real estate business and in consequence he opened a real estate and 
insurance ofifice on I street in March, 1902, after traveling through the eastern 
states during 1901. 

In July, 1907, Mr. Werner married Mrs. Josephine Ferrera and they, though 
childless, lived a lovers' life and occupied one of the coziest homes at Third and M 
street, on Grays Harbor. In February, 1914, he disposed of his business and they 
traveled considerably at various periods, always retaining their home, and when 
at home he spent a few hours each day at his ofifice and the rest at home with 
his wife, tending their flowers and birds, garden and lawns, both being lovers of 
nature and caring little for society functions. 

Fraternally, Mr. Werner is connected with the Odd Fellows and the Masons. 
While not belonging to any particular church, he assists nearly all of them, and 
politically he is identified with the republican party although somewhat independ- 
ent. He is a very public-spirited man, unassuming and retiring in nature and, 
lacking the so-called gift of gab, is never heard of at gatherings but is always 
depended upon for contributions in the uplift and upbuilding of Hoquiam, and 
public opinion classes him as one of the representative citizens. 



.., THE NEW YORK 
PUBLIC UBRARY 

ASTOR, LENOX 
TILDEN F0UNDA.TION 




ADOLPH WERNER 




MRS. ADOLPH WERNER 



r THE NEW YORK 
I PUBLIC LIBRARY 

-R, LENOX 
-tUDEN FOUNDATION 



WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 369 

Mrs. Werner died October 22, 1916, and the following is part of the obituary 
copied from a Hoquiam daily paper of October 23 : 

"This community was shocked Sunday by the death at the Hoquiam General 
Hospital at i :oo a. m. of Mrs. A. Werner, after a second operation for cancer in 
the sigmoid performed by Dr. Rockey of Portland, Oregon, assisted by Drs. 
Mclntyre, Ahlman and Watkins of this city. Mrs. A. Werner was born near 
Munich, Germany, on December 11, 1872, and when a child of fifteen years came 
direct from there to Hoquiam with Mr. and Mrs. J. Bieberger, living here most 
of the time. She is survived by her husband, a son by a former marriage, Anthony 
Ferrera, and two sisters. Mrs. Werner was a lovable woman of refinement and 
taste, esteemed by all that knew her, caring more for her family and home and 
flowers than for so-called society. Being a devout Christian she assisted the poor 
and comforted the sick in an unostentatious manner, believing that the right hand 
need not know what the left doeth. In Mrs. Werner's death Hoquiam loses a 
good citizen and booster. Being a thorough believer in the destiny of Hoquiam, 
she invested her savings in Hoquiam investments under her husband's guidance, 
and leaves considerable holdings here in her own right and independent of her 
husband's property." 



WILLIAM R. WHITESIDE. 

William R. Whiteside, of Aberdeen, is at the head of the Whiteside Under- 
taking Company, which was organized in 1910. For thirty years he has been 
engaged in the undertaking business and since the establishment of the present 
company has enjoyed a very substantial success. He was born in Lincoln county, 
Missouri, in 1854, a son of Isaac and Mary (Alloway) Whiteside, who were also 
natives of Missouri. The paternal grandfather was a very extensive farmer, 
owning eleven hundred acres of land, and the town of Whiteside, Missouri, was 
established upon his farm. He was one of the pioneer settlers of that state and 
contributed in substantial measure to its upbuilding. His son, Isaac Whiteside, 
spent his entire life there and is still survived by his widow, who yet lives in that 
state. 

Reared under the parental roof, William R. Whiteside obtained a public school 
education and after leaving home took up the undertaking business in St. Louis, 
Missouri, where he remained until 1902, when he came to Washington, settling 
in Olympia. There he opened undertaking parlors, which he conducted until he 
came to Aberdeen in 1910 and organized the Whiteside Undertaking Company. 
Three years later he admitted J. M. and R. L. Bricker to a partnership and 
they have since been his associates in the business. In the fall of 1913 Mr. White- 
side began the erection of a fine business block here which was completed in 
1914. It contains a commodious chapel, receiving vaults and all modern equip- 
ment connected with the undertaking business. It is a two story structure, fifty 
by one hundred feet, and there is a basement which is used for a garage. The 
second story he utilizes as a residence. Upon coming to Aberdeen he purchased 
the undertaking business of W. J. Woods and of the firm of Bowes & Randolph 
and consolidated those places, now conducting a single large establishment. He 

Vol. 11—19 



370 WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 

also has the undertaking business at Montesano, Ehna and Oakville, these being 
under the care of R. L. Bricker, while J. M. Bricker is looking after the Hoquiam 
branch, which was established in 1914. A residence property was purchased in 
Hoquiam and remodeled for its present use. Mr. Whiteside has a motor hearse 
and cars and is prepared to handle business in the best possible way. 

In 1877, in St. Louis, occurred the marriage of Mr. Whiteside and Miss 
Lizzie Houston, of Baltimore, Maryland, and they have two children: Gene 
H., who is married and lives in Spokane ; and Jessie, the wife of L. G. McClelland, 
of Everett. 

Mr. Whiteside has various connections along business lines, being a past presi- 
dent of the Washington Funeral Directors' Association, while at the present time 
he is serving by appointment as president of the board of embalmers of Washing- 
ton. In politics he is a democrat and fraternally is connected with Olympia Lodge, 
No. I, I. O. O. F. He is also entitled to membership with the Sons of the Ameri- 
can Revolution, for among his ancestors were those who fought for the independ- 
ence of the nation. Aberdeen recognizes him as one of its public-spirited citizens, 
devoted to the general welfare, honorable and straightforward in every relation 
of life and at all times a man whom to know is to esteem and honor. 



WILLIAM B. BLACKWELL. 

Few men are more widely known in the Pacific northwest than William B. 
Blackwell, and with many phases of Tacoma's development his name is in- 
separably interwoven, beginning with the time when he and his wife were the 
only passengers on the first train, if train it could be called, that entered this city. 
As hotel proprietor he is known from coast to coast, as among his patrons have 
been travelers from every section of the country and as well from various parts 
of the world. Many incidents of deep interest have crowded his life. 

He is descended from English ancestry and in Puritan times representatives 
of the name established homes in Connecticut, where their descendants are yet 
found. It was at Milford, Connecticut, that William B. Blackwell was born on 
the loth of September, 1837. He was a youth of ten years when his father, 
Enoch Blackwell, a carriage maker by trade, removed with his family to Utica, 
New York, where the son completed his education in the public schools. In 
1854 he entered upon an apprenticeship to the carriage making trade under his 
father and was thus employed up to the time of the outbreak of the Civil war. 
Soon after hostilities had been inaugurated between the north and the south, 
prompted by a spirit of patriotism, he enlisted at the first call, joining the 
Twenty-sixth New York Volunteer Infantry. He served but a few months as 
a private, after which he was promoted to the rank of regimental quartermaster, 
continuing to act in that capacity as long as his health permitted. He partici- 
pated in some of the most hotly contested engagements of- the early part of 
the war, including the first and second battles of Bull Run, the battle of Cedar 
Mountain, of Chancellorsville and of Antietam. In July. ]863, physical con- 
ditions obliged him to leave the service and return home. In the same year Mr. 
Blackwell made his way to Chicago and became identified with hotel life in 



WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 371 

that city, spending seven years as chief clerk in the Sherman House, which 
vv^as then the leading hotel of the west. In 1870, again because of failing health, 
he left Chicago, going to Ogden, Utah, where he accepted the position of agent 
for the Pullman Car Company. While in Chicago he had often been thrown 
in contact with General Sprague, who surveyed the greater part of the Northern 
Pacific Railroad, and when the General passed through Ogden in 1871 on his 
way to the state of Washington to take charge of the construction of the North- 
ern Pacific, he suggested to Mr. Blackwell that he seek new fields of labor farther 
west. Acting upon this advice, the latter assumed the management of the 
Kazano House, a Northern Pacific hotel at Kalama. For more than a third of 
a century thereafter he was identified with the hotel business on the Pacific 
coast. In 1872 he opened the Clarendon Hotel at Portland, Oregon, for Ben 
Holliday, and in 1873, when the Northern Pacific was completed between 
Kalama and Tacoma, he came to the latter city accompanied by his wife, they 
being the first people to enter Tacoma upon a railroad train. They brought 
with them enough furniture to equip Tacoma's first hotel and it was the first 
commercial freight ever pulled into Tacoma over steel rails. Where the Oriental 
docks of the Northern Pacific are now seen down on the water front there stood 
a building into which the first freight was unloaded, and on the i6th of Novem- 
ber, 1873, the first name was written on the register of Blackwell's Hotel, which 
continued to be the leading hotel in Pierce county until the erection of the 
Tacoma Hotel. The building also did duty as a passenger station and freight 
storehouse for the Northern Pacific Railway. Before the building of the 
Tacoma Hotel in 1884, Mr. Blackwell had turned his attention in a measure to 
other business interests of great importance. He was a member of the legislature 
in 1883. In that year he became one of the organizers of the Tacoma National 
Bank, was elected its vice president and after the death of General Sprague 
succeeded to the presidency, being active in the control of one of the first and 
foremost of the strong financial institutions of the northwest for many years. 
In 1898 he assumed the management of the Tacoma Hotel, which he continued 
to conduct until 1905, and since that time he has retained his financial interest 
in the business as the secretary of the Tacoma Hotel Company. 

It was in 1863 that Mr. Blackwell was united in marriage to Miss Alice E. 
Bliven, of Bridgewater, New York, who died April i, 1916, at the age of sev- 
enty-six years. He has remained an interested witness of Tacoma's substantial 
and continuous development through forty-three years. He assisted in organ- 
izing the first Chamber of Commerce and the first Board of Trade and of the 
latter was the first secretary. He took an active part in erecting the first Cham- 
ber of Commerce building and in connection with nine others afterward built 
the Tacoma Theater, becoming treasurer of the company. He has ever been 
an enthusiastic supporter of Tacoma and a firm believer in its opportunities 
and in its future. His labors have been of the greatest possible benefit in 
advancing the welfare and ])rogress of the city and many tangible evidences 
of the worth of his work can be cited. 

Fraternally Mr. Blackwell is a Mason and has attained high rank in the 
order, having taken the thirty-second degree of the Scottish Rite, while with 
the Nobles of the Mystic Shrine he has also crossed the sands of the desert, 
being now afifiliated with Afifi Temple. He likewise belongs to the Grand 



372 WASHINGTON, WEST OF. THE CASCADES 

Army of the Republic and the Loyal Legion and maintains pleasant associa- 
tions with his comrades who wore the blue. He is now^ (in 19.16) in the 
seventy-ninth year of his age — an honored pioneer to whom opportunity has 
ever spelled activity. '"Westward the star of empire takes its way," wrote an 
eminent statesman, and William B. Blackwell has been one of the empire build- 
ers, being identified with Chicago in the days of its formative commercial and 
business development and then reaching another great center of settlement and 
of progress in the northwest. Tacoma is largely a monument to his spirit of 
enterprise and progress and his fellow citizens honor him as one of its fore- 
most residents. 



GEORGE H. DOW, M. D. 

Dr. George H. Dow is one of the self-made men of Chehalis, his success in 
life being due entirely to his own unaided efforts. His office is located at the 
corner of Market and Park streets and he is today enjoying an excellent prac- 
tice, being regarded as one of the foremost physicians and surgeons of the city. 
He was born in Page county, Iowa,. August 9, 1861, and is a son of Harlan and 
Nannie M. (Brown) Dow, natives of New York and Illinois respectively. Dur- 
ing the Civil war the father enlisted as a private in the Fourth Missouri Cavalry 
but was promoted to lieutenant and still later commissioned captain, in which 
capacity he was serving at the time of Lee's surrender, being then a recruiting 
officer. He also served as judge advocate for some time while in tne army. 
After the war he returned to his home in Page county, Iowa, where he fol- 
lowed farming until 1869, when he removed to Kansas and took up land. Up 
to 1874 he engaged in agricultural pursuits. For two terms he served as revenue 
collector in Kansas ; was also a member of the state legislature for two terms ; 
and was postmaster of Manhattan, Kansas, for several years. He came to 
western Washington in 1893, and bought a farm in the Big Bottom in Lewis 
county, where he made his home until his death, which resulted from a fall 
from a load of hay. His widow still continues to reside upon the home farm. 
In their family were five children, of whom three survive, the Doctor being 
the oldest. His sisters are Minnie, the wife of Daniel Clark, of Chehalis, and 
Helen, the wife of a Mr. Peck, w^ho is engaged in the insurance business in 
Brooklyn, New York. 

Dr. Dow attended the public schools of Manhattan, Kansas, and also the 
State Agricultural College at that place. Having decided to become a physi- 
cian, he entered the Chicago Homeopathic Medical School, from which he was 
graduated in 1885 with the degree of AI. D. He began practice at Baldwin 
City, Kansas. l)ut in 1889 came to Washington and has since practiced with suc- 
cess in Chehalis. He holds membership in the Lewis County and Washington 
State Medical Societies and for one term was honored with the presidency of 
the latter organization. He was also called upon to serve as a member of the 
board of state medical examiners for four years and has been secretary and a 
member of the board of pension examiners for fourteen years. 

In 1885 Dr. Dow was married in Manhattan, Kansas, to Miss Clara Lofinck. 



WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 373 

a daughter of Edward Lofinck, who was a merchant of that city. To this union 
three children have been born, namely: Minnie C, who is the wife of M. E. 
Hasty, superintendent of schools at Pe Ell, Washington, and has one child, 
Ruth ; Edna D., the wife of Daniel T. Coffman, of Chehalis, and the mother 
of two children, Albert and Margaret ; and Harlan, who is now twenty-two years 
of age and is attending the Washington State University. 

Dr. Dow is a member of the Masonic fraternity, the Independent Order of 
Odd Fellows and the Knights of Pythias. He also belongs to the Citizens Club 
of Chehalis and is a stanch supporter of the republican party. He is engaged 
in the general practice of medicine and surgery, to which he gives the greater 
part of his time and attention, but is also interested in agricultural pursuits to 
some extent, having taken up a homestead in the Big Bottom in 1890, at which 
time the place was thirty miles from any wagon road or main thoroughfare. 
He not only drove the first wagon into that locality but also the first automo- 
bile. The Doctor is a western man by birth and training and has firm faith in 
the future of his adopted state, with whose interests he has now been identified 
for almost thirty years. He occupies a prominent place in the ranks of the 
medical profession in western Washington and as a citizen commands the respect 
and confidence of all who know him. 



CHARFES M. CASE. 



Charles M. Case has resided in Puyallup only since 1906 but in this period, 
covering a decade, has become recognized as one of the leading business men 
and substantial citizens of western Washington, being actively associated with 
many movements which have to do with the growth and development of the 
district. He was born in Adams, JefTerson county. New York, in 1858 and 
about the close of the Civil war accompanied his parents on their removal to 
Carthage, New York, where he attended the public schools, passing through con- 
secutive grades to the high school. Fater he attended F'ond du Fac College in 
Fond du Fac, Wisconsin, following his removal to that state, and from 1878 
until 1887 he engaged in teaching in the vicinity of Fond du Fac. He was after- 
ward connected with the manufacturing business of C. J. F. Meyer until the 
business failed in 1889. He then went to Hermansville, Michigan, and was one 
of the reorganizers of The Wisconsin Fand & Fumber Company, acting as secre- 
tary. This company is one of the largest in Michigan, being a several million 
dollar concern. Mr. Case remained in active connection therewith until 1906. 
when owing to too close application to business, his health failed and he decided 
to seek recuperation in the Puyallup valley. Accordingly he came to this state 
and, establishing his home in Puyallup, purchased a controlling interest in the 
Citizens Bank from J. T. Gear. He had promised to return lo Michigan after 
regaining his health and, keeping his word, went back to that state in 1910. but 
the lure of the west was upon liim and in 191 3 he once more made his way to 
Puyallup, where in the meantime he had retained his interest in the bank of 
which he is still a heavy stockholder and one of the directors. He became asso- 
ciated with Senator W. D. Cotter, F. S. Martin and J. P. Feavitt in the Puyallup 



374 WASHINGTON, WEST OF THE CASCADES 

Land & Loan Company; soon afterward they platted and subdivided the Clabur 
hop fields. A part of the land so divided has since been sold. Retiring to pri- 
vate life, he enjoyed a period of well earned rest but on the 9th of April, 1916, 
again entered actively into business afifairs by acquiring a controlling interest 
in the Sumner State Bank, at the same time holding his interest in the Citizens 
State Bank of Puyallup. His investments have been wisely and judiciously made 
and are bringing to him a substantial financial return. 

In 1905 Mr. Case was married to Miss Clara Stiles, of Fond du Lac, and 
they have one son, Edson M. The religious faith of the family is that of the 
Methodist church and Mr. Case gives his political allegiance to the republican 
party. He is prominent in Masonic circles, having attained the thirty-second 
degree of the Scottish Rite, while with the Nobles of the Mystic Shrine he has 
crossed the sands of the desert. He likewise has membership with the Knights 
of Pythias, the Royal Arcanum and the Maccabees and he is the vice president 
of the Puyallup Commercial Club. The west with its broad opportunities makes 
a strong call to this man of enterprise and progressive spirit, and he finds here 
most satisfactory conditions, being always alive to the interests and the oppor- 
tunities of the district in which he has established his home. 



MARION J. RUMBAUGH. 

Marion J. Rumbaugh, president of the Everett Department Store, was born 
near Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, a son of James Rumbaugh, who was also a native 
of that state but of German descent, the family, however, having been established 
on American soil prior to the Revolutionary war. James Rumbaugh devoted his 
entire life to farming and won a substantial measure of success. He married 
Susan Hartzel, a daughter of George Hartzel, a native of Germany and the 
founder of the family in the new world. Both ^Mr. and Mrs. James Rumbaugh 
have passed away. 

Marion J. Rumbaugh, the second in their family of five children, was educated 
in the country schools of Westmoreland county, Pennsylvania, spending his bo