(navigation image)
Home American Libraries | Canadian Libraries | Universal Library | Community Texts | Project Gutenberg | Children's Library | Biodiversity Heritage Library | Additional Collections
Search: Advanced Search
Anonymous User (login or join us)
Upload
See other formats

Full text of "Weik's history of Putnam County, Indiana"

■■■■I 

3 1833 03341 9513 



Gc 977.201 P98we 

Weik, Jesse William, 1857- 

1 930. 
Weik's history of Putnam 

Cotintv. Indiana 



WEIK'S HISTORY 



OF 



PUTNAM COUNTY 

INDIANA 



By JESSE W. WEIK, A.M. 

Author of " Life of Lincoln," Etc. 



ILLUSTRATED 



1910: 

B. F. BOWEN & COMPANY, PUBLISHERS 
LXDLWAPOLIS, INDL-^NA 



Mien County Public Library 
900 Webster Street 



1474541 



PREFACE. 

All life and achievement is evolution; present wisdom comes from past 
experience, and present commercial prosperity has come only from past ex- 
ertion and sacrifice. The deeds and motives of the men that have gone be- 
fore have been instrumental in shaping the destinies of later communities 
and states. The development of a new country was at once a task and a privi- 
lege. It required great courage, sacrifice and privation. Compare the present 
conditions of the residents of Putnam county, Indiana, with what they were 
one hundred years ago. From a trackless wilderness and virgin prairie it 
has come to be a center of prosperity and civilization, with millions of wealth, 
systems of intersecting railways, grand educational institutions, numerous in- 
dustries and immense agricultural productions. Can any thinking person be 
insensible to the fascination of the study which discloses the incentives, hopes, 
aspirations and efforts of the early pioneers who so firmly laid the foundation 
upon which has been reared the magnificent prosperity of later days. To 
perpetuate the story of these people and to trace and record the social, political 
and industrial progress of the community from its first inception is the func- 
tion of the local historian. A sincere purpose to preserve facts and personal 
memoirs that are deserving of perpetuation, and which unite the present to 
the past, is the motive for the present publication. The historical chapters, 
from the able pen of Jesse W. Weik, compose a valuable collection and will 
prove not only of interest to the present generation, but of inestimable worth 
to future historians, being the result of patient toil and earnest research. In 
this labor. Mr. Weik has conscientiously endeavored to make his work au- 
thentic, and this fact, together with his recognized literary ability, gives a 
definite value to the history. 

In placing this History of Putnam County before the citizens, the pub- 
lishers can conscientiously claim that they have carried out the plan as outlined 
in the prospectus. Every biographical sketch in the work has been submitted 
to the party interested, for correction, and therefore any error of fact, if there 
be any, is solely due to the person for whom the sketch was prepared. We ex- 
press gratitude to those who gave this work their support and encouragement, 
and trust that our efforts to please will fully meet with their approbation. 

Respectfully, 

THE PUBLISHERS. 



V- 



TABLE OF CONTENTS. 



CHAPTER I— BEGINNING OF INDIANA HISTORY AND FORMATION OF PUT- 
NAM COUNTY 17 

Treaty of Greenville — Encrc)achments of the White Man — Treaty of Fort 
Wayne— Treaty of St. Mary's— Early County Lines — Legislative Enactments — 
Re-Arrangement of Boundary' Lines — Location of County Seat — Early Sur- 
veys and First Land Entries — Topography of Putnam County — Professor 
Collett's Description — Mineral Peculiarities. 



CHAPTER II— ORGANIZATION OF THE COUNTY. 



Original Townships — Present CiviJ Townships — First Settlements — County- 
seat Commissioners — Ephraim Dukes — Sale of Town Lots — Early Merchants- 
William H. Thornburgh— Little Use lor Currency — Early-day Values— Com- 
mercial Customs— Facts of Interest — Early Events — The First Gun— Taverns 
and Public Houses. 

CHAPTER III— COURTS, COURT HOUSES AND THE BAR 52 

County Machinery Set in Motion — The First Court — Early Court Kecords— 
Characters of Early Offenses — Judges of the -Putnam Courts — Lawyer? of 
Putnam County Bar — County Clerks — County Auditors — Sheriffs — County 
Treasurers — Recorders — Surveyors — County Commissioners — The First Court 
House — Erection of a Jail — First Poor Farm — A New Court House Needed — 
The Present Court House. 



CHAPTER IV— EARLY SETTLERS AND INCIDENTS. 



An Interesting Reminiscence — Thomas Jackson — The Spirit of the Pioneers — 
Claim Clubs — Social Conditions — A Valuable Reminiscence — A Charivari — The 
First Oyster Supper. 

CHAPTER V— EDUCATION IN PUTNAM COUNTY Si 

Early Attention to Schools— County Seminary — First School Board— Troubles 
of a School Director— Early Statistics— Schools Keep Pace with the Times 
— School Statistics— Early High Schools and Academies— Asbury (now De- 
Pauw) University — Laying the Corner Stone — Presidents of the University — 
Departments — Benefactions of W. C. DePauw — Alumnae Statistics — Board of 
Trustees — The Faculty — Officers of the Faculty. 

CHAPTER VI— CHURCH HISTORY— RELIGIOUS SOCIETIES 106 

Reuben Clearwaters, the F'irst Preacher in Putnam County — Organization of 
Baptist Church— The Presbyterian Church— Methodism in Putnam County- 
Early Presbyterian Efforts— The Christian Church — Baptist Organization — 
Catholic Church of St. Paul the Apostle— Other Churches— The First Sunday 
School — Myra Jewett. 



lO CONTENTS. 

CHAPTER VII— FRATERNAL SOCIETIES AND CLUjaS 123 

Free and Accepted Masons — Royal Arch Maajons — Knights Templar — Inde- 
pendent Order of Odd Fellows — Knights of Pythias — Modern Woodmen of 
America — Fraternal Order of Eagles — Order of Ben Hur — Benevolent and Pro- 
tective Order of Elks — Literary and Social Organizations — Grand Army of the 
Republic. ' 

CHAPTER VIII— BANKS AND BANKING 131 

Captain Thornburgh's Safe a Popular Depository in the Early Days — The Ex- 
change Bank— Farmers Bank — The Putnaffi County Bank — First National 
Bank — Central National Bank — Central Trust Company — Bainbridge Bank — 
Other Banks in the County. 

CHAPTER IX— JOURNALISM IN PUTNAM COUNTY 133 

The Hoosier. later The Plow Boy — The Temperance Advocate, the First Tem- 
perance Paper Published in the WesV — The Visitor — Indiana Patriot — Weekly 
Herald— Putnam County C/IroJ^it7-— Interesting Contents of Early News- 
papers Early Mails — The Argus — Putnam County Sentinel — Putnam County 

Republican Banner— The Star-Press— The Democrat. 

CHAPTER X— INCIDENTS OF EARLY HISTORY ■ 139 

The Tide of Emigration — The Story of an Old Settler— Catching a Penitent 
Thief- Gander Pulling— Clearing Land— Story of a Maryland Traveler— The 
Origin of Blue Grass— Early Importation of Cattle — Early Agricultural Fairs- 
Putnam County Agricultural Society— Value of Lands and Crops. 

CHAPTER XI— THE TOWNSHIPS OF PUTNAM COUNTY 151 

Jackson Township— Maysville— Franklin Township — Carpentersville— Fin- 
castle— Roachdale — Russell Township — Russellville — Clinton Township — 
Portland Mills— Morton— Clinton Falls— Monroe Township— Bainbridge — 
Floyd Township — Groveland — Marion Township — Fillmore— Greencastle Town- 
ship— Greencastle—Limedale— Madison Township— Brunerstown-Oakalla- 
Washington Township — Manhattan — Pleasant Garden — Reelsville — Warren 
Township— Putnamville — Cloverdale Township— Cloverdale— Jefferson Town- 
ship—Mount Meridian— Belle Union— Mill Creek Township— Lists of all Post- 
masters Who Have Served in Putnam County. 

CHAPTER XII— PUTNAM'S MILITARY RECORD 194 

The Putnam Blues— Putnam Yellow Jackets— Putnam County Soldiers in the 
Mexican War- the Slavery Question— Decision of the Court— The Under- 
ground Railroad— Early Colored People in the County— The Civil War- 
Strong Union Sentiment— First Putnam County Soldiers in Service— Care for 
Soldiers' Families— Enlistments from Putnam County— Relief Measures— Op- 
position to the War— Knights of the Golden Circle— Relief Statistics— Sol- 
diers' Monument— Spanish-American War— Graves of Revolutionary Soldiers— 
An Interesting Paper. 



CONTEXTS. 



II 

CHAPTER XIIX-NOTED MURDER TRIALS ,,^ 

First Murder and First Suicide-Fatal Quarrel Rises from Trifling Incident- 



Murder of Abraham Rhinearson-William Thompson's Confession-The First 
Execution-The Atrocious Mullinix Murder-Trial and Execution of the 
Murderer— Murder of Tilghman H. Hanna and Wife— A Noted Trial. 

CHAPTER XIV— CITY OP GREENCASTLE 



233 

Incorporation and First OfEcers-From Town to City-Coming of the Rail 
roads-Increase of Trad<^-First Telegraph Line-An Enterprising Spirit- 
Commercial Activity-Street Railway Constructed-Greencastle Iron and 
Na.I Company-Distinguished CiUzens-Casualties-Memorable Tornado of 
lS6i — Disastrous Fire of 1S74. 



INDEX. 



A 

Ader, David 477 

Ader, Xathan W 527 

Akers, Henry S 461 

Akers, Mrs. Virginia C 460 

Allee, Francis M 579 

Allee, Herbert S 388 

Allee, John 580 

Allee, William H 496 

Allen, Arch 519 

Allen Brothers 612 

Allen. Edward 759 

Allen, Hiram C 613 

Allen, James L 612 

Allen, Joseph P 613 

Ames, George W 754 

Anderson. Dorsey Leakin 672 

Arnold, Charles J 663 

Athey, Lawrence H 647 

Ayler, Amos Evans 312 

B 

Badger. Oliver P 755 

Bainbridge Bank 499' 

Barnaby, Charles Howard 277 

Barnaby, Howard 27S 

Baumunk, .John A 356 

Bence, George Worth 256 

Bence, John A 320 

Besser, Bates 503 

Besser, William Tell 503 

Bioknell, Henry 423 

Bittles. Raser 288 

Black, George William 573 

Blaydes. John W 748 

Blaydes, Shelby H 701 

Boswell, Jacob 407 

Boswell. William 406 

Bowman, John M 314 

Branham. William G 319 

Branneman. John 678 

Bridges, Charles B 684 

Bridges, Charles Boles 723 

Bridges, John L 685 

Bridges. Moses Dillon 655 

Broadstreet, Quinton 259 

Brookshire, Drake 464 

Brookshire, Thomas D 464 



Brown, Samuel Preston 720 

Brown, Thompson 635 

Brown, Williamson 721 

Browning, John C 416 

Brumfield, Frank M 750 

Brumiield, James B 747 

Bryan, Alexander S 645 

Buis, James G 523 

Burkett, Benton C 680 

Burris, John Breckenridge 688 

turris, William S 336 

G 

Cammack, James 506 

Cammack, James 506 

Cannon, John F 456 

Carver, Benjamin D 656 

Carver, James W 656 

Chandler, John Scady 368 

Chandler, Scady 368 

Cline, Evan 334 

Cotfman, David 442 

Coffman, George B 441 

Cohn. Abe 433 

Cole, James Washington 607 

CoUings, John H 434 

CoUiver, Richard Thomson 405 

Conn, Wellman D 409 

Cook. John 422 

Cooper, Archibald 399 

Cooper, Henry C 714 

Cooper, Marion Edgar 398 

Corwin, Benjamin F 275 

Craft. Daniel 653 

Cromwell, Joseph Willard 302 

Cross, Joseph B '. 455 

Croxton, James W 632 

Cully, John Francis 450 

D 

Darnall, Henry Clay 346 

Darnall, Samuel 444 

DeMotte, John Brew^er 782 

Denman, William L 272 

Dills, William 553 

Donehew, Abel Benton 734 

Dowling. John Sibley 603 

Duncan, Estes 466 

Duncan, Lloyd T 467 



14 



E 

Ellis, Oscar Wesley 432 

Evans, Ezra B 280 

Evans, Hesekiah 694 

Evans, James 695 

Evans, Samuel Parker 281 

Evans, Simpson Fletcher 703 

Evens, Arthur L 271 

F 

Farmer, Alcany 586 

Farmer, James H 515 

Farmer, Thomas Benton 514 

Farrow, Alexander Shore 247 

Fee, James Francis 620 

Flint. Alfred E 381 

Florer, William Jefferson 682 

Fordice, James C 731 

G 

Gardner, John W., Jr 736 

Gill, Willis E 627 

Gillespie, Thomas 263 

Gough, Willard 729 

Graham, Aaron A 732 

Guilliams, Fred L : 715 

H 

Hamilton. James L 480 

Hamilton, John H 430 

Hanks, Alvin B 557 

Hanks, John W 543 

Hanna-, Andrew B 505 

Hanna, George W 640 

Hansen, Jonathan 376 

Hazelett, Richard M 599 

Hazelett, Samuel A 397 

Heine, Mrs. Mary 713 

Hibbitt. Edward R 578 

Hillis, Abram 589 

Hillis, Henry Harrison 644 

Hillis, ,John L 589 

Hirt, Alfred 413 

Hodge, George W 306 

Hodge, William Woodson 306 

Horn, Jesse Thomas 525 

Hostetter, David B 752 

Houck, Oavid 509 

Houck. James Edgar 675 

Houck, Jonathan 509 

Houck, Jonathan 387 

Houck, Oliver Nelson 380 

Houck, William Milf ord 448 



Hubbard, Jesse Lee 352 

Hubbard, Perry L 608 

Hubbard, William 353 

Huffman, Douglas 300 

Huffman, Edmond 301 

Huffman, Edmund 337 

Huffman, Greeley Richard 651 

Huffman, Ivan 548 

Huffman, Jack 337 

Huffman, Jacob, Jr 551 

Huffman, Jacob, Sr 553 

Huffman, John 540 

Huffman, John Andrew 520 

Hughes. George W 529 

Hughes, James P 528 

Hurst, Clement C 322 

Hurst, Everett M 290 

Hurst, Martin C 460 

Hurst, William 291 

Hutcheson, Philip 513 

Hutcheson, Walter R 512 

I 

Irwin, Smiley 639 

Irwin, Winfield Scott 638 

J 

Jent, Aaron 537 

Jones, Jesse M 550 

Jones, Oscar L 474 

K 

King, Charles W 571 

Knauer, Israel 521 

Knoll. David 451 

Knoll, John 452 

L 

Lammers, Frank Henry 756 

Lane, Alec A 624 

Lane, Higgins 418 

Lane. Oscar F 393 

Landes, Charles W 296 

Landes, Christian 574 

Layne, Theodore McG 642 

Leatherman. Frederick 567 

Leatherman. John 568 

Lewis, Henry Clay 760 

Lewis, Israel Gregg 309 

Lewis, William Yates 308 

Lewman, Joseph A 458 

Lockridge, Albert C 719 

Lockridge, Albert O >. 780 



IS 



Lockridge, Alexander H 261 

Lockridge. Andrew M T6S 

Lockridge. Simpson Farrow 254 

Lueteke. Charles 28-1 

Lynch, Edmund Burk 605 

Lyon. Francis Marion 2S2 

lie 

McCoy, Jesse Ernest 591 

McGan, Thomas J 71S 

McGaughey, Arthur 7i)7 

McGaughey, Charles 710 

McGaughey, Edward W 706 

McGaughey, Edward W., Jr 713 

McGaughey. Frank 744 

McGaughey, Thomas C 714 

McGaughey, Walter \V 601 

McHaffie, Andrew 4S3 

McHafBe, Melville F 4S4 

McKeehan, Thomas J 536 

M 

Martin, Benjamin 426 

Martin, Henry Bascom 776 

Martin, Russell E 426 

Masten, Fred 584 

Masten, Matthias 424 

Masten, Reuben 584 

Matson, Courtland Gushing 250 

Maze. David Robert 298 

Meek, John H 666 

Michael. John Samuel 354 

Miller. Jasper N 304 

Modlin, William B 702 

Moffett, Charles M 500 

Moffett, Daniel V 544 

Moffett, F. P 500 

Moler, Joseph 326 

Moler. Levi Shelby 421 

Moreland. Ira 693 

Morris, Albert F 576 

Morris, Thomas Hart 576 

Moser, David 383 

Moser, William A 366 

X 

Nelson. Franklin P 741 

Nelson, James B 740 

New, Y. N 700 

Xewgent, Edward 384 

Xewgent, Edward. Sr 385 

Xewgent, John S 367 

Newgenr. Lewis 375 



Newgent, Thomas 511 

Newgent, William Wallace 739 

Nichols, John Henry 541 

O 

O'Brien. James F 400 

O'Brien, John 400 

O'Daniel, John W 344 

O'Hair, Bascom 762 

Osborn. John Willson 439 

Overstreet, Orsa Fred 619 

Overstreet, Willis G 618 

Owen, A. J 351 

Owsley, James M 689 

Ozment, Ruf us E 745 

P 

Parker, Benjamin A 371 

Parker. Hugh H 370 

I*arker, William H 371 

Peck, Charles T 411 

Pickens, Warren 332 

Pickett, Charles Milton 355 

Pickett, David 365 

Plummer, James H 625 

Plummer, Jacob Callendar 664 

Poynter, Jesse A 621 

Poynter, Samuel 622 

Prichard, Walter K 629 

Proctor, Enoch J. 1 54g 

Q 

Quinn, James Edward 404 

R 

Raines. Cornelius G 634 

Raines, George Ennis 633 

Rand, Mrs. Sarah M 712 

Randel. Mrs. Catherine 567 

Randel, James Lafayette 264 

Reddish, Otto L 733 

Reed, David E. P 728 

Reeds, James M ■. 500 

Reeves, George Taylor 35g 

Reeves, Oscar Lee 742 

Reeves. Stacey L 353 

Rightsell, George 648 

Rightsell. James A 373 

Rightsell, Samuel 64S 

Rissler Family 343 

Rissler, Moses B 349 

Rissler, Morton L 35Q 

Rissler. William 343 



i6 



Robe, John W '^-S 

Rockwell, Andrew J a9 ' 

Rockwell, Charles A 597 

Rogers Family 614 

Rogers. Jacob C 560 

Rogers, James Harvey 614 

Rogers, Joseph Lee 615 

Rogers, Melvin 61.d 

Rogers, William, Jr 593 

S 

Scott, James William 592 

Seckman, Lorenzo D 362 

Seller, John F 340 

Seller, Luna W 340 

Sellers, John Crawford -i'^ 

Sellers, John L ■* ' 2 

Shake, Clarence Arthur -t-t7 

Shaw, Oliver J 392 

Shoemaker, Daniel Evans 517 

Shonkwiler, Daniel 330 

Shonkwiler, John F 330 

Sinclair, Gilbert •. • 531 

Sinclair, Isaac P 293 

Sinclair, Isaac S 292 

Skelton, David D 630 

Skelton. David J 324 

Skelton, William 324 

Smith. Harry M 29o 

Smith, Oliver Hampton 389 

Smythe, Ebenezer Watson 310 

Smvthe, Gonsalvo Cordova ' ' ■^ 

Sparks, James H '^'^ 

Starr, George W ''"'^^ 

Stevenson, Alexander Campbell 696 

Stewart. Aaron B 690 

Stoner, Lycurgus -^^^ 

Stoner, Peter '^'^ 

Stoner, Peter Simpson 582 

Stoner. William Payne ^'-^^ 

Stroube, Frank M 1*1 

Stroube. John W ^^•■' 

Stroube, Oliver ^^*^ 

Sutherlin. W. M • *'^ 

T 

Taylor, George W ■^I^'^ 

Taylor. Mary J ■*"•' 

Taylor, Minnetta ■*"* 



Thomas. Elzeaphus 342 

Thomas, Joseph A 342 

Thomas, Oscar 494 

Thomas, William 66S 

Thornburgh, William H 38 

Tilden, Francis Calvin 268 

Torr, James H 566 

Torr, Joseph D 670 

Torr, William L 533 

Troxell, Andrew Marshall 459 

Trusedel, James M 676 

Tustison. Orville M 508 

V 

Vanlandingham, James 501 

Vermilion, Isaiah 535 

Vermilion. James Everett 564 

Vermillion. Isaiah 287 

Vestal. Samuel 267 

Vestal, William B 266 

W 

Walker. John Mills 390 

Wallace, David 361 

Wallace. Elijah 469 

Wallace. John W 469 

Walls, Benjamin F 687 

Walls, Edward McG 410 

Wain, Elijah Cooper 538 

Weik. Louis 704 

West, Joseph 691 

Williamson, Delano E 764 

Williamson, John M 659 

Williamson, William H 659 

Wilson, John 359 

Wimmer, William P 462 

Wood, Xelson Franklin 556 

Wood, William 554 

Wright, Amos 616 

Wright, Ezekiel 616 

Wright, Perry Wilson 570 

Y 
Young. Madison "22 

Z 

Zaring, Daniel 771 

Zaring. Lewis A 751 



HISTORICAL 



CHAPTER I. 

BEGIXXING OF INDIANA HISTORY AND FORMATION OF PUTNAM COUNTY. 

The treaty of Greenville, which was intended to "'put an end to a 
destructive war, settle all controversies and to restore harmony and friendly 
intercourse between the United States and Indian tribes," may, strictly speak- 
ing, be considered the beginning of Indiana history. It was e.xecuted at 
Greenville. Ohio, August 3, 1795, the contracting parties being Gen. Anthony 
Wayne on the part of the United States and ninety "sachems and war chiefs" 
representing the Wyandot, Delaware, Shawnee, Ottawa, Chippewa, Potta- 
watomie, Miami, Eel River, Wea, Kickapoo, Piankeshaw and Kaskaskia 
tribes of Indians. By virtue of this primitive and solemn compact the 
United States relinquished to the Indians all title to the lands now included 
within the limits of the state of Indiana with the following exceptions : 

"First — The tract of one hundred and fifty thousand acres near the 
rapids of the Ohio which has been assigned to General Clark for the use 
of himself and his warriors. Second — The post of Vincennes on the river 
Wabash and the lands adjacent of which the Indian title has been e.xtin- 
guished. Third — One piece six miles square at or near the confluence of 
the rivers St. Mary and St. Joseph where Fort Wayne stands or near it. 
Fourth — One piece two miles square on the Wabash river at the end of the 
portage from the Miami of the lake and about eight miles westward from 
Fort Wayne. Fifth^One piece si.x miles square at the Ouiatenon or old 
Wea towns on the Wabash river." 

It may not be without interest to note that the consideration or induce- 
ment offered the Indians to sign the treaty was an agreement on the part 
of the United States to make "every year forever"' to each of the first seven 
named tribes a payment, "in useful goods suited to the circumstances of the 
Indians." of the value of one thousand dollars and half that sum to each of 
the remaining five. 

But notwithstanding the solemn covenants, the rosy promises and the 
liberal allotment of useful goods "every year forever." set forth in this 
(2) 



X8 WEIK S HISTORY OF 

Stately worded compact, it was not foreordained that the rich and promising 
lands included within the boundaries of the Indiana Territory should long 
remain the undisturbed possession of the red man. The appetite of his 
white brother for more territory was not to be so easily appeased. In 1801 
William Henry Harrison became the governor of Indiana and, being invested 
by the government at Washington with the power to negotiate treaties with 
the Indians, entered on a policy which clearly foreshadowed the early e.x- 
tension of the white man's dominion in eveiy direction. The new governor 
was a man of wide resources; able and adroit, his methods in dealing with 
the Indians being both pacific and hannonious, he was eminently successful 
in every undertaking. Gradually the red man was induced to part with his 
holdings. Within three years Harrison had concluded eight treaties by 
means of which the white man came into possession of almost fifty thousand 
square miles of new territory. Before the close of the year 1805 the Indians 
had relinquished their title to the lands which bordered the Ohio from the 
mouth of the Wabash to the mouth of the Miami. Inch by inch the white 
man was forcing his way. 

At Fort Wayne on September 30, 1809, Harrison concluded a treaty 
with the Delaware, Pottawatomie, Miami and Eel River tribes by virtue of 
which the United States for a "consideration of a permanent annuity of 
five hundred dollars each to the Delawares, Pottawatomies and Miamis and 
two hundred and fifty dollars to the Eel River tribe, purchased from the 
Indians a section of territory lying on the southwest side of a line beginning 
at the mouth of Raccoon creek on the Wabash river and extending in a 
southeasterly direction to a point near the present city of Seymour in Jackson 
county, the whole comprising an area of almost three million acres. 

Here for the first time we come upon the soil of what is now Putnam 
county. The line established by the Fort Wayne treaty, and now known 
as the Indian boundary line, cuts off a small segment in the southwest 
corner of the county comprising an area of about twenty square miles. 
Above that line the country, as represented in the maps of that day, was an 
"unexplored region" and, later, was designated as the "New Purchase." 

After the admission of Indiana to the Union. Jonathan Jennings, the 
newlv chosen governor, Lewis Cass and Benjamin Parke, acting as com- 
missioners of the United States, negotiated a treaty with the Miami Indians 
at St. Mary's, Ohio. It was signed October 6, 1818. and provided for the 
relinquishment to the United States, with a few minor reservations, of the 
Indian title to all the territory south and east of the Wabash. Treaties were 
also at the same time, concluded with the Wea. Pottawatomie and Delaware 
tribes. 



PUTNAM COUNTY, INDIANA. I9 

The treaties of Fort Wayne and St. Mary's, therefore, took from the 
Indian his title to the lands now included within the limits of Putnam county 
and in due time he quietly "folded his tent" and silently withdrew from the 
magnificent forests and inviting soil of central Indiana. The tribes repre- 
sented in the treaties named and whose dominion extended, really, from the 
Scioto to the mouth of the Wabash and from the Ohio to Lake" Michigan 
mustered at least eight thousand warriors. In the earlier struggles for pos- 
session of the country between the French and English these Indians had 
favored the latter, but, though not lacking in bravery, they were not warlike 
or aggressive. Being more or less inclined to deal peaceably with the white 
man, they listened readily to the latter's blandishing overtures, faithfully 
believed his alluring promises and, in time, having bartered away their lands, 
were gradually transported to reservations set apart for them in the bound- 
less and undeveloped regions beyond the Mississippi. 

The treaty of Fort Wayne had brought to the new territory an influx 
of hardy pioneers in quest of the lands which the United States, with a 
view to encouraging the country's settlement, was offering on such liberal 
and' acceptable temis. The land office was located at V'incennes, but as, until 
1818, the lands offered for sale there lay south of the Indian boundary, 
which line traversed Putnam county at an angle in the extreme southwest 
corner, the entries in the little section thus cut off were necessarily limited 
both in size and number. The treaty of St. Mary's, however, released the 
rest of the territory south and east of the Wabash so that after 1820 entries 
of land in Putnam county were made at Terre Haute where the new land 
office was located. 

EARLY COUNTY LINES. 

In her early territorial days Indiana seems to have had but one county 
in that part of her domain in which the white man had thus far made any 
settlement, and that was called the county of Knox. From the best sources 
of information now obtainable the northern boundary of Knox county at 
that time seems to have been the present north line of the following counties : 
Parke, Putnam, Monroe, Jackson, Jennings, Fayette and Union. Later it 
was reduced by the formation of Clark and Dearborn counties, and this 
process of reduction continued until about forty counties were formed out 
of the original area. The region north of Knox, and for many years known 
as the "New Purchase," consisted originally of two counties, Wabash and 
Delaware, which were formed January 22, 1820. They were likewise reduced 



20 WEIK S HISTORY OF 

in area until the result of the gradual subdivisions was twenty-seven of our 
present counties in the northern and central parts of the state. 

Indiana was admitted to the Union April 19, 181 6. Before the close 
of that year Knox county had been reduced by the cutting off, from its 
original limits, of the counties of Daviess and Sullivan — the one being 
formed on December 24th and the other December 30th. Within two years 
these counties were also found to be too large and the process of gradual 
reduction continued. Vigo county, on January 21, 181 8, was formed out 
of territory cut off from Sulhvan county; and Owen, on December 21st in 
the same year, from territory out of both Sullivan and Daviess counties. 
Finally, and before the close of the year 182 1, both Vigo and Owen were 
lessened in area by the formation of our own beloved county of Putnam. 

Who actually recommended or first suggested the name of our county 
we shall probably never know, but, whoever he may have been, no name 
could have been chosen more illustrious, more honorable, more worthy to 
be commemorated. Israel Putnam needs no monument to perpetuate his 
virtues. He is enshrined in the heart of every true and thoughtful American. 
His name and memory are redolent of deeds of self-sacrifice and the most 
exalted patriotism. No scene in history is more vivid or capable of arousing 
the inspiration of the youth of our land than the picture of the brave and 
determined Connecticut farmer who, on that memorable April day in 1775, 
left his plow in the furrow, gathered up his flint-lock and powder-horn and 
straightway set out to join the Minute Men of Lexington and Concord. 

The first official step looking to the creation or formation of the county 
was an act of the Legislature which was approved December 21, 1821. The 
manuscript of the original act, musty and discolored with age and bearing 
the neat and immaculate signature of Jonathan Jennings, the governor, still 
reposes in the archives of the county in the court house. As published it 
may be found on page 65 of the printed "Laws of the Sixth Session." It 
reads as follows : 

"An Act for the formation of a new county out of Owen and Vigo 
counties and north of Owen. 

"Section i. Be it enacted by the General Assembly of the state of 
Indiana. That from and after the first Monday of April next, all that part 
of the counties of Vigo and Owen, and of the county north of Owen, con- 
tained in the following bounds, shall form and constitute a separate county, 
to-wit: Beginning in the center of range 7 west, on the line dividing town- 
ships 10 and II north, thence east fifteen miles to the line dividing ranges 
4 and 5 west, thence north twelve miles, to the line dividing townships 



PUTNAM COUNTY, INDIANA. 21 

12 and 13 north, thence east three miles, thence north twelve miles to the 
line dividing townships 14 and 15, thence west fifteen miles to the line 
dividing ranges 6 and 7 west, thence south six miles, thence west three 
miles, thence south eighteen miles to the beginning. 

"Sec. 2. The said new county shall be known and designated by the 
name of Putnam, and shall enjoy all the rights and privileges and jurisdic- 
tions which to separate and independent counties do or may properly apper- 
tain or belong. 

"Sec. 3. John Bartholomew, of Owen county, Aaron Redus, of Wash- 
ington county, Jonathan Wells, of Sullivan county, John Allen, of Daviess 
county, and Peter Allen, of Vigo county, are hereby appointed commissioners 
agreeably to the act entitled, 'An act for the fixing of the seats of justice in 
all new counties hereinafter to be laid off.' The commissioners above named 
shall convene at the house of James Athey, in the said county of Putnam, 
on the first Monday in May next and shall immediately proceed to discharge 
the duties assigned to them by law. It is hereby made the duty of the sheriff 
of Owen county, to notify the said commissioners, either in person or by 
written notification, of their appointment on or before the fifteenth of April 
next, and the said sheriff of Owen county shall receive from the said county 
of Putnam so much as the county commissioners shall deem just and reason- 
able, who are hereby authorized to allow the same out of any monies in the 
county treasury, in the same manner other allowances are paid. 

"Sec. 4. That the circuit court of the county of Putnam shall meet 
and be holden at the house of James Athey, in the said county of Putnam, 
until suitable accommodations can be had at the seat of justice and so soon 
as the courts of said county are satisfied that suitable accommodations can 
be had at the county seat, they shall adjourn their courts thereto, after which 
time the courts of the county of Putnam shall be holden at the county seat 
of Putnam county established as the law directs. Provided, however, that 
the circuit court shall have authority to remove the court from the house of 
Tames Athey to any other place, previous to the completion of the public 
buildings, should the said court deem it expedient. 

"Sec. 5. That the agent who shall be appointed to superintend the 
sales of lots at the county seat of the county of Putnam shall reserve ten 
per centum out of the proceeds thereof, and also ten per centum out of the 
proceeds of all donations made to the county, and pay the same over to 
such person or persons as may be appointed by law to receive the same, for 
the use of a county library for the said county of Putnam, w'hich he shall 
pay over at such time or times and place as may be directed by law. 



22 WEIK S HISTORY OF 

"Sec. 6. The board of county commissioners of the said county of 
Putnam shall within twelve months after the permanent seat of justice shall 
have been selected proceed to erect the necessary public buildings thereon. 

"Sec. 7. And be it further enacted, that such parts of the county of 
Putnam as previous to the passage of this act belonged to the counties of 
Vigo and Owen, shall be considered as attached respectively to the counties 
from which they were taken, for the purpose of electing a representative and 
senator to the General Assembly of the state. 

"Sec. 8. That the powers, privileges and authorities that are granted 
to the qualified voters of the county of Dtibois and others named in the 
act entitled, 'An act incorporating a county library in the counties therein 
named, approved January the twenty-eighth, one thousand eight hundred and 
eighteen,' to organize, conduct and support a county library, are hereby 
granted to the qualified voters of the county of Putnam and the same power 
and authority therein granted to, and the same duties therein required of, 
the several officers and the person or persons elected by the qualified voters 
of Dubois county and other counties in the said act named, for carrying into 
effect the provisions of the act entitled, 'An act to incorporate a county 
library in the county of Ehabois, and other counties therein named,' according 
to the true intent and meaning thereof, are hereby extended to and required ■ 
of the officers and other persons elected by the qualified voters of the county 
of Putnam. 

"This act to take effect, and be in force, from and after its passage. 

"Samuel Milroy, 
"Speaker of the House of Representatives. 
"R.\TLiFF Boon. 
"President of the Senate. 

"Approved December 31, 1821. 

"Jonathan Jennings." 

re-arrangement of boundary lines. 

Within a year following the formation of the county, as specified above, 
it became necessary to re-arrange its boundary lines. One portion of the new 
county was to be restored to Vigo and another to Owen county. The original 
act fixing the boundary lines was therefore repealed and a new one, which 
may be found on page five of the published "Laws of the Seventh Session." 
was approved and went into effect December 21, 1822. As passed it reads 
as follows : 

"An act to amend an act, entitled 'An act for the formation of a now 



PUTNAM COUNTY, INDIANA. 23 

county, out of Owen and Vigo counties, and north of Owen," approved 
December 31, 1821, and for other purposes. 

"Section i. Be it enacted by the General Assembly of the state of 
Indiana, That the following boundaries, to-wit : Beginning in the center of 
town 12 north, on the range line dividing ranges 6 and 7 west, thence 
east twenty-four miles, to the line dividing ranges 2 and 3, thence north 
with said line, twenty-seven miles to the line dividing townships 16 and 17, 
thence west with said line twenty- four miles, to the line dividing ranges 6 
and 7, thence south twenty-seven miles, to the place of beginning, shall con- 
stitute and form the boundaries of the county of Putnam; and that the first 
section of the act to which this is an amendment be and the same is hereby 
repealed. 

"Sec. 2. That all that part of the present county of Putnam contained 
within the following boundary, to-wit : Beginning in the center of town 
12 north, on the line dividing ranges 6 and 7 west, thence east twelve miles 
to the line dividing ranges 4 and 5. thence south nine miles to the line 
dividing towns 10 and 11, thence west twelve miles with said line, to the line 
dividing ranges 6 and 7, thence north nine miles, to the place of beginning, 
shall be attached to, constitute, and form a part of the county of Owen, 
and that all that part of the county of Vigo which was attached to the 
county of Putnam by the act to which this is an amendment, and which 
is not included within the boundaries of said Putnam county as designated 
by this act, be and the same is hereby attached to and shall hereafter con- 
stitute and form a part of the said county of Vigo. 

"Sec. 3. That all suits, pleas, plaints, actions and proceedings, which 
may have been commenced, instituted and pending within the said countv 
of Putnam previous to the taking effect of this act. shall be prosecuted and 
carried on to final effect in the sam.e manner as if this act had not been 
passed. And the state and county tax which may be due in that part of the 
county of Putnam by this act attached to the counties of Owen and Vigo, 
shall be collected and paid in the same manner and by the same officers as 
if this act had not been passed. 

"Sec. 4. This act to take effect and be in force from and after its 
passage. 

"G. W. Johnston, 
"Speaker of the House of Representatives. 
"Ratliff Boon, 
"President of the Senate. 
"Approved. December 21. 1822. 

"WiLLiA.M Hendricks." 



24 WEIK S HISTORY OF 

LOCATION' OF COUNTY SEAT. 

It will be observed on reading the original act for the formation of 
Putnam county that five commissioners were designated to "fix the seat 
of justice" in the new county and that they were to convene for that purpose 
at the house of James Athey on the first Monday in May following the 
passage of the act. The home of Athey was a log cabin, — probably the first 
one erected in the county, — which stood on the land lying at the confluence 
of Walnut, Deer and Mill creeks and commonly known as the Forks of Eel. 

For some reason the commissioners failed to perform their duty and, 
although the first court was in due time held in Athey's house, no steps were 
taken to select a permanent seat of government. Why the matter was left 
undone the records fail to disclose. Certain it is that on January 7, 1823, 
the Legislature passed another law designating five new commissioners to 
"locate the seat of justice in the county of Putnam." The new act, reciting 
the failure of the first commissioners to perform their duty, directs the com- 
missioners last appointed to meet at the home of John Butcher on the second 
Monday in April, 1823, and "proceed to discharge the duties assigned to 
them by law." The act as passed reads as follows : 

"An act authorizing the location of the seat of justice in the county 
of Putnam. 

■ "Whereas, it has been represented to this General Assembly, that the 
commissioners heretofore appointed to locate the seat of justice in the county 
Putnam, pursuant to the provisions of the act entitled. '.\n act for the forma- 
tion of a new county out of Owen and Vigo counties, and north of Owen,' 
approved December 31, 1821, failed to perform the duty assigned them by 
said act, for remedy whereof: 

"Be it enacted bv the General Assembly of the state. of Indiana, That 
Jacob Bell of the county of Parke, Abraham Buskirk and Daniel Anderson, 
of the county of Monroe, Jacob Cutler, of the county of Morgan, and James 
Wasson. of the county of Sullivan, be and they are hereby appointed com- 
missioners, agreeable to the act, entitled 'An act for the fixing of the seats 
of justice in all new counties hereafter to be laid off.' The commissioners 
above named shall convene at the house of John Butcher, in the said county 
of Putnam, on the second ^Monday in April next, and shall immediately, or 
as soon thereafter as may be convenient, proceed to discharge the duties 
assigned them by law: and it is hereby made the duty of the sheriff of the 
said county of Putnam, to notify the said commissioners of their appoint- 
ment, either in person or bv written notification, on or before the fifteentli 



PUTNAM COUNTY, INDIANA. 2$ 

day of March next, and the said sheriff shall receive from the said county 
of Putnam so much as the county commissioners of said county shall deem 
just and reasonable, who are hereby authorized to allow the same, out of 
any monies in the county treasury, to be paid in the same manner other 
allowances are paid. The said commissioners, and all other proceedings had 
under this act, shall be regulated and governed, in all respects not provided 
for by this act, pursuant to the provisions of the acts referred to in this act. 
"This act to take effect from its passage. 

"G. W. Johnston, 
"Speaker of the House of Representatives. 
"Ratliff Boon, 
"President of the Senate. 
"Approved, January 7, 1823. r 

"William Hendricks." 

The home of John Butcher was a log cabin on an eminence overlooking 
Big Walnut creek a short distance northwest of Greencastle. Just why the 
newly appointed commissioners were directed to meet there rather than at 
the Forks of Eel, where the settlement of the county began, it is difficult to 
understand, unless it was the result of an effort of the settlers in and around 
Greencastle to impress the commissioners with the desirability and advantage 
of locating the new "seat of justice" in the center of the county. 

EARLY SURVEYS AND FIRST LAND ENTRIES. 

Between 1805 and 1820 the territory included within the limits of 
Putnam county had been surveyed and divided into sections, townships and 
ranges by the surveyors employed by the United States. An examination of 
the records of the general land office at Washington shows that the land 
in Washington township south of the Indian boundary line was surveyed 
and the proper boundaries marked by John McDonald, the government sur- 
veyor, in 1814; the western part of Cloverdale by A. Holmes in 1815; 
Jefferson, east Cloverdale and Mill Creek by John Milroy in 1819; Marion. 
Floyd, Jackson and Franklin by Allen Wright in 1819 and the remaining 
townships in 1819 and 1820 by John Collett. The records of the general 
land office further show that "entries in Putnam county were made in 
Vincennes to 1820, in Terre Haute from September 24, 1820, to 1823, after 
which they were made in Crawfordsville until April 7. 1853." 

But the survevor was not far in advance of the settler, for in December. 



26 WEIKS HISTORY OF 

1818, John M. Coleman secured the title to the first piece of land that ever 
became the property of a white man in Putnam county. It was the west 
half of the northwest quarter of section 10, township 12, range 5 west, and 
was entered by Mr. Coleman at the Vincennes office. It adjoined the land 
entered about the same time by James Athey, in whose house the first court 
was held and in which the commissioners, designated in the bill admitting the 
county, were directed to meet and failed to do so. Both farms lie near the 
Forks of Eel in what is now Washington township. The first tract entered 
above the Indian boundary line and within the limits of what was then 
known as "Harrison's Purchase"' was the west half of the northwest quarter 
of section 18, township 16, range 5 west, and belonged to Felix Clodfelter. 
It lies in Russell township and was entered at the Terre Haute office, Octo- 
ber 12, 1820. Entries were now being rapidly made and the quest for land 
continued unabated for several years so that by 1840 all the most desirable 
territory had practically been taken up. The last certificate of entry of 
government land in the county was issued at the Indianapolis office October 
10, 1854. The purchaser was Solon Turman and the entry included a small 
tract in what is now Cloverdale township, being described as a part of section 
7, township 12 north, range 4 west. 

TOPOGR.^PHY OF PUTN.\M COUNTY. 

Putnam county contains an area of four hundred and eighty-six square 
miles, or three hundred eleven thousand and forty acres, and is bounded 
on the north by Montgomery, on the east by Hendricks and Morgan, on the 
south by Owen and Clay, and on the west by Clay and Parke counties. The 
surface of the land in the northeastern parts is level and in some cases 
slightly undulating, but in the center and southwest it is somewhat rolling and, 
in the neighborhood of the streams, more precipitous and hilly. From a 
table of altitudes furnished by the principal railroads traversing the county 
it is shown that the highest point between the Ohio river at New Albany 
and Michigan City on the Monon railroad is one mile north of Bainbridge, 
being nine hundred and fifty-five feet above the sea level, and on the Van- 
dalia railroad near the east line of the county the altitude reached is eight 
hundred and ninety-seven, being but nine feet lower than at Clayton, the 
highest point on the road between the Wabash river and Indianapolis. 

"The entire surface of the county," writes one of the earlier historians, 
"was originally covered with a dense forest of valuable timber. The beauty 
of these woods could scarcely be surpassed in the worid. The trees were 




Caramack, Photographe 
THE STONER ROAD ON LITTLE WALNUT CREEK 



PUTNAM COUNTY, INDIANA. T.'J 

tall, straight and symmetrical and were of great variety. Here grew side 
by side the majestic poplar, walnut and oak, the sturdy sugar maple and the 
beech, in company with the tall, lithe hickory. The different kinds were not 
evenly dispersed over the ground, nor yet scattered at random. In one local- 
ity one kind prevailed, whilst in other localities other kinds were more 
numerous. The ridges and the dry limestone land generally produced the 
sugar maple, interspersed with clumps of poplar and black walnut. The 
cold, wet lands were covered with the beech, hickory and red oak, while the 
bluffs along the margins of the creeks were crowned with the huge trunks 
and spreading tops of the white oak. Besides those named, there was a 
great variety of other kinds of timber less valuable for purposes of manu- 
facture and commerce, but enhancing the grandeur of the solitude that 
reigned in the midst of their shades. The place of fruit trees was supplied 
by the wild plum and the black haw, with an occasional wild crab and 
persimmon. Some of these ancient monarchs of the woods, maple, poplar 
and oak — guardians of a thousand years — may still be seen around the rim 
of the farm lands, like sentries of the ages as they fly. 

"The water-shed of the county is to the southwest. It is traversed 
by Walnut fork of Eel river, from northeast to southwest, which has for 
its principal tributaries, on the west Little Walnut, on the east Warford's 
branch and Deer creek. The northwest portion of the county is drained by 
Raccoon creek, while the southeast portion finds its drainage in Mill creek. 
The county is thus divided into three geographical sections, but they are so 
similar in their general features that it is unnecessary to treat of them 
separately. Each of these streams draws supplies from almost innumerable 
smaller streams, which form a complete net-work of branches throughout 
the extent of the county, furnishing to it a complete system of drainage 
for almost every part. 

"The surface of the county in the eastern portion is level or gently undu- 
lating, affording vast fields for tillage and for meadows. The flat lands on 
the divide between the headwaters of Walnut and those of the tributaries of 
Sugar creek, lying principally within Boone county, extend into the extreme 
northeast corner of Putnam, sometimes requiring artificial drainage to render 
the land productive. The northern and northwestern portions of the county 
are rolling, affording some of the finest pasturage to be found even in that 
remarkable belt of pasture lands lying along the fortieth parallel of north 
latitude. The hills along Little Walnut, Walnut and lower Deer creek at 
times rise into lofty cliffs, while the valleys along these streams and at the 
mouths of their tributaries furnish as fine fields for grain as those of the 
best river bottoms." 



28 weik's history of 

But, notwithstanding her stately forests and her rich and promising 
farm lands, a great part of the wealth of the county lies beneath the soil. 
The early settlers were too busy clearing the forests to delve into the earth 
and it is only within recent years, since the men of science have begun their 
investigations, that we have come to realize the value of the stone and min- 
erals stored in such colossal proportions beneath our feet. A history of the 
county would be decidedly incomplete which fails to note or enumerate this 
important item of our natural resources. The liberty will be taken, there- 
fore, to quote freely from what a very eminent scientific authority, the late 
Prof. John Collett, chief of the bureau of statistics and geology of Indiana, 
has to say of our county in this regard. In a report made to the governor 
in 1880, referring to the "Geology of Putnam County," he says: 

"The surface of the county is agreeably diversified, combining in a high 
degree the useful and agreeable, as rocky scenery, with romantic views of 
plain and woodland, rich in interest to the economist, all uniting to tell a 
long story, recorded on rock and plain, of the earth's past, laden with prom- 
ises of the future. Soils and surface deposits are formed by the disintegra- 
tion and destruction of rocks. If derived from local rocks or a single bed 
they are generally thin or obdurate, and the character of the productions — 
even of a people — may be declared from their geological deposits. On the 
other hand, a region having a soil derived from the greatest number of strata 
is, as a rule, productive and desirable. The soils of Putnam county, although 
principally composed of the local rocks which give character to the different 
parts, are also enriched by materials imported from the paleozoic strata and 
thoroughly crushed, mingled and incorporated by the mighty forces of the 
glacial age; the soil, therefore, is superior or equal to the best. 

"The alluvial deposits or creek and river bottoms which belt the water 
courses are due to causes now in action. This material is derived from 
the adjoining banks, enriched by the wear of rolling pebbles and grinding 
sand and is cast out by overflows upon the flood plains of the streams. 
Rich in mineral plant food, it always contains a large amount of soluble 
organic matter, constituting a valuable and productive farm or garden land. 
Each bottom field is a gold mine, for its productions will bring gold or its 
equivalent with less labor than ordinary pursuits or mines. 

"These deposits are characteristic of an epoch which occurred subsequent 
to the glacial. The arctic coldness had subsided. A great body or sea of 
fresh water covered most of the southern half of the state with gulfs, 1)33^5 
and lagoon arms which reached north in the line of the ice thrusts. A warm, 
almost tropical climate prevailed, giving life and sustenance to the monster 



PUTNAM COUNTY, INDIANA. 2g 

animals now extinct, including the American elephant, whose remains have 
been found at several stations in the county. This deposit, an almost 
impalpable sand and clay, was slowly formed at the bottom of a quiet, 
waveless lake, filling up the lowest inequalities in the surface, for the lake 
water did not cover the high lands. Good examples are seen in the level 
plain adjoining Mill creek, in the southeast parts and in the railway cuts at 
and west of Oakalla station. Loess loams produce sweet fruits, and being 
free from pebbles are well suited for the manufacture of bricks. 

"To the strange phenomena of the glacial epoch we are indebted largely 
for results which make this soil and surface configuration so desirable — a 
more than "Xew Kentucky." A grand river of ice, with its sources among the 
snowy heights of distant mountains, laden with materials which border the 
St. Lawrence and lakes Ontario and Erie, pushed its ice foot beyond the 
western shore of Lake Erie and sent volumes of water through deep-cut 
sluiceways across the state from north eighty degrees east to the opposite 
course west, bringing with it, as indications of its origin, nuggets of Cham- 
plain iron ore and 'biscuit stones' of Medina sandstone, etc. Evidences of 
this violent water flow are seen in the ancient bed one hundred and nine 
feet below the present channel of Eel river in Clay county. In Putnam 
county the same developments are met in sinking wells near the southern 
boundary. At the fork of Croy's creek, four miles west of Reelsville, 
A. O. Hough put down a bore for coal about 1865, finding the bottom 
rock one hundred and twenty feet below the present water bed. It seems pos- 
sible that the ancient Walnut creek flowed south eighty degrees west or 
nearly west by Otter creek from Oakalla to the Wabash in a channel now 
deeply hid but which future developments may discover. 

"From causes now unknown the source of the ice river was afterwards 
changed to the northern center of the continent. This glacier moved south 
in two divisions, one excavating the basins of Lake Michigan and the other 
of Huron and St. Clair, the first crossing the state from north to south 
eight degrees to ten degrees east. The latter was very nearly due south. 
Combined, they are wider than the state of Indiana from east to west and. 
at a point of obstruction in Brown county, the ice was about four hundred 
feet deep. It bore upon its surface and in its icy bosom immense quantities 
of angular rocks, bowlders, gravel, sand and earth from northern regions, 
which, crushed and powdered, were mingled with the debris of local rocks 
planed away and ground up in the mill of nature. The result was that 
irregularities were cut down, ancient river channels and sluiceways of o'reat 
depth were filled up and the underlying rocks covered with a gray compact 
l)e<l of clay. sand, gravel and rock, termed the bowlder or glacial drift. 



30 



WEIK S HISTORY OF 



"Interesting specimens of glacial grooves, stride and planishing are seen 
in the 'Rock Cut' north of Maple Grove station, on the Louisville, New 
Albany & Chicago railroad, and on W. B. Williams' farm, section 28, town- 
ship 13, range 4, two miles south of Putnamville. At the first locality the 
glacier, in its southward movement, filled the valley of the adjoining stream 
to the east, and was heaped against and ground down the sloping sides and 
banks of the valley. The planished surfaces, grooves and strice are distinct 
and perfect as of yesterday. At the second locality (Williams' farm) the 
ice flowing from the north was obstructed by a high hill of conglomerate 
sand rock, against which it steadily advanced with resistless force until it 
mounted the hill, leaving many planished surfaces, with scars and well 
preserved grooves on the summit. 

"The coal measures are the most recent rocks exposed and comprise 
the southwestern parts of the county. Beginning at Portland Mills, they 
generally form the surface rock west of Little and Big Walnut creeks; south 
of Reelsville, they broaden to the east to near Cloverdale, and thence south- 
west by Doe creek to the southern boundary period. 

"The conglomerate coal occurs at intervals all over the district. At a 
few stations it attains a thickness, in small pockets, of two or three feet, but 
such pockets or pools are limited in width to a few yards or rods. As a rule 
the seam is barren or only one or two inches thick and will not exceed an 
average of four inches. The product is at the same time sulphurous and 
inferior. In the vicinity of Morton a depression in the underlying rocks 
gives an eastern extension of the coal measure rocks, and many beautifully 
preserved 'ferns' and trunks of plants indicate the horizon of coal, the super- 
imposed sand rock having been chiefly eroded. Other outcrops of coal occur 
north and northwest of Reelsville; generally thin and unworked. These 
coals are only opened for local use now and will not pay to work except by 
stripping; but, in the distant future, when coal may possibly become scarce 
or railway transportation exorbitant seams eighteen inches thick, and even 
less, will be worked as such seams are now sometimes worked in Europe. 

"During the petroleum excitement (about 1865) a prospecting bore was 
put down in the east side of the village of Reelsville, commencing eighteen 
feet above lovv' water in Big Walnut creek. There resulted a strong flow of 
white sulphur water highly charged with sulphuretted hydrogen gas and 
containing chlorides of sodium calcium and magnesium, sulphites of the same 
bases with traces of bromide and iodine, etc. It had a pleasant saline, sulphur- 
ous taste and pungent odor and was found to have great, medicinal efficacy 
in cases of dyspepsia, rheumatism and ague. It was considered a specific 



PUTNAM COUNTY, INDIANA. 3I 

in diseases of the liver and kidneys and, although the outlet was covered by 
the flood of 1875, 'ts 'magic cures' are still held in kind remembrance in this 
vicinity. 

"Si.x miles .southwest of Qoverdale on the northeast quarter of section 
12, town 12. range 5, is a very considerable outcrop of rich band and kidney 
iron ore in a wild, deep ravine. It was mined in i860 by the proprietor and 
some thirty tons sold to the Knightsville furnace. It was found to be an 
excellent ore to mix as a flux with the Missouri or Lake Superior ore. P.ut 
the expense of mining and hauling was fully equal to the market value and 
the enterprise was abandoned. 

"The St. Louis beds of limestone foiTn the surface rocks in a well 
marked division from four to eight miles broad, extending from the extreme 
northwestern to the southwestern comers of the county, with denuded exten- 
sions in the valleys of the Chester and coal measure beds. These strata are 
known as the 'ca\'emous' or 'concretionary' limestones of the western states 
and are remarkable in the southern parts of this state for caverns, sunken 
valleys and subterranean rivers. South and east of Greencastle many funnel- 
shaped sink-holes which receive and deliver the rainfall to hidden streams, 
indicate the probability of small caverns yet to be disco\ered here. The 
limestones vary much in quality. Some are pure carbonate ; others are 
silicious or aluminous and beds of shale, clay and argillite are interpolated. 

"About a mile east of Cloverdale on descending from the limestone 
hills a level, flat clay district is found which extends east beyond Eel river 
and northeast towards Monrovia in Morgan county. This area has been 
deeply eroded during the glacial epoch, removing more than fifty feet of St. 
Louis limestone and along the eastern side of the county exposing rocks of 
the Keokuk and Knobstone groups. The excavation is now refilled with 
lacustral and fluviatile drift, indicating an a'oandoned river bed which once 
connected by Indian creek with White river valley. 

"Putnamville, located on the National road, is famous for valuable 
quarries of paving curb and step stones. From it have been shipped large 
quantities of flags, bridge, dimension and rubble stone. The product has been 
in use. severely exposed to the extreme vicissitudes of our variable climate, 
including changes of sixty degrees of temperature in a single day, for over 
forty years. It has shown capacity to resist the action of frost, fire and ice. 
Samples, taken as a rule from the exposed parts of the quarry when tlrst 
opened in 1838-40, may be seen in piers, etc., of the bridges and culverts on 
the National road and in the locks of the canal, the steps of the mother 
and branch Banks of State at Indianapolis and also steps of the Terre Haxite 
House at Terre Haute and of the old university building at Greencastle. 



32 



VVEIK S HISTORY OF 



"Greencastle. the county seat, is situated on the high rolHng table land 
one mile east of Walnut fork of Eel river. Geologically, it rests upon the 
upper ledges of the St. Louis limestone. The conglomerate sand rock of 
the coal measures caps the summit of Forest Hill cemetery just south, as 
also the hills across Walnut just west of the city. Similar quarries are 
found at several points about town affording an abundant and cheap supply 
of stone which meets with the approval of the architects and builders of the 

city. 

"Going north from Greencastle, many outcrops and quarries of St. Louis 
limestone are observable, presenting ledges of rock so similar to those already 
given that repetition is unnecessary. The surface outlook is characteristic of 
this limestone and is plane on the plateaus or gently undulating, moulded into 
long rolls and slopes by the action of air and moisture during ages of time. 
The soil is a calcareous loam and was originally clothed with a stately forest, 
composed of oak, poplar, ash, walnut, sugar, etc., trees, which indicate and 
characterize the soil that produces them. The sharp cuts of the creeks and 
brooks where rocky exposures are seen were exceptional scars on the face 
of nature so recent as to lack the healing and smoothing element of time. 

"From an elevation high enough to include the whole county from east 
to west the autumnal foliage would present north-south lines of brilliant 
colors strongly marked and of magic splendor. At the time of my visit 
(October, 1880) the usual summer was followed by a warm, dry autumn, 
ripening the leaves of all the trees to full maturity before touched by frost. 
The eastern or Knobstone division of the county showed a background of 
the pale green of the beech, on which trembled as stars in the sky a never- 
endint^ medley of orange, straw, red. and other neutral tints of their com- 
panions, with occasional clumps of dogwood and maple to give vivacity to 
the modest scene. In the western or coal measure district, the background 
was the russet and brown of the oaks, flecked with strong blocks and lines 
of vivid colors. In the central or St. Louis division both the parts merged 
and mellowed, their contrasting colors uniting to crown every hill and deck 
everv valley with a foliage that has never, can never be painted or described : 
in which the scarlet, crimson and orange of the sugar and dogwood contrast 
in quivering life with gold, pink, green and russet of the elm, beech, oak, 
hickory, poplar and minor shrubs. It is not the display of a single tree or 
clump, but the whole woodland, united in a glorious blaze of untiring beauty. 
Soon the ground, too. is spread with a carpet of full ripened leaves which with 
everv breath of air is stirred into an ever-changing kaleidoscope of colors, the 
whole forming an attraction which would justify a long journey to witness 
and enjoy." 



TfflNqEr 
/Ve 


NfJA/qe 

N'T 


NflNQt- 

A'9 6 


BflNqe 

A/OS 


R/j/vq£- 


R»Nq£- 
Nf>3 


TfflNqe- 


















ToiVNSH'P 

17 North 




- 












Tomf A/SHIP 
IBNof^TH 
















Town SHIP 
15 NoffTH 














} 


Tow A/ SHIP 

1^ North 












1 I ; Tow/v-iHip 
1 /J 1 

i } \ 




! 












Township 










li. North 




! 

i 
1 












Township 
U North 



















Putnam County 16^/ 



Pfite^ENT Sou/^CflF?l£ S 



RED BY ALEC A LANE 



CHAPTER II. 



ORGAXIZATION OF THE COUNTY. 



As originally organized, Putnam county consisted of six townships, 
named Deer Creek, Hart, Sparta, Tipton. Walnut and Washington. To 
locate them or fix the boundary lines which separated them cannot now be 
done for the reason that the records of the proceedings of the county com- 
missioners prior to 1828, where such information would properly belong, 
have long since disappeared from the files of the county auditor's ofiice. 
From certain documents recently found in the clerk's office, however, we 
are safe in assuming that Tipton township was in the centre of the county 
and included the town of Greencastle; that Deer Creek was in the south 
part of the county and adjacent to the stream which bears that name, and 
that Washington was in the southwest corner and covered practically the 
territory now included within the limits of the present township of that name. 
In the absence of the necessary records the location of the three other town- 
ships must, therefore, be left somewhat to conjecture. From a list of voters 
found in the files of the clerk's office entitled "Returns from Hart town- 
ship," it appears that an election in 1823 was held at the home of Moses 
Hart and again in August, 1825, another election at Jacob Beck's mill in the 
same tow-nship; and from a similar return of voters in Sparta we learn that 
the August election in 1823 in that township was held at James Kelso's 
mill. As for Walnut township, the only item of record thus far found point- 
ing to its existence as a township is an indictment in the clerk's files returned 
by a grand jury in June, 1823, which charges "Charles Wright, laborer, of 
Walnut township." with assault and battery on the person of one James 
Frazier. Beyond these meagre and desultory discoveries it is practically 
impossible at this late day to secure further or more definite information 
regarding these early divisions in our county's political geography. 

By 1828, when the recorded history of the county's government begins, 
the earlier named townships had faded away and in their places we find the 
following: Clinton. Greencastle. Jackson. Jefiferson. Madison. Marion, Mon- 
roe and Washington. These in the course of time were still further reduced 
in area by the formation of Russell, Franklin, Floyd, Warren and Clover- 
dale, the last named not coming into existence till 1S46. In September, i860. 



34 



WEIK S HISTORY OF 



the coniniissioners of I'utnani county annexed about fifteen s(|uare miles 
of the tem'torv of M()ri:;an county lying northwest of Mill creek, their action 
being confimied bv the Legislature March ir, 1861. The tract thus added 
to Putnam countv was organized into a township and called Mill Creek. 

At jjfesent. therefore, the county is divided into fourteen civil town- 
ships. Jackson. Franklin. Russell. Clinton. Monroe, Floyd. Marion. Green- 
castle and Madison are each six miles square: Washington is nine miles from 
north to south and six from east to west : Warren and Jefferson each five 
miles north and south and six east and west ; Cloverdale four north and 
south and twelve east and west. Mill Creek is somewhat irregular in shape 
and contain^ in the neighborhood of fifteen square miles. The entire county 
embraces an area of almost five hundred square miles and is the twelfth in 
size in the state. 

FIRST SETTLEMENTS. 

As the settlement of a new country usually follows the water courses, 
it will be readilv understood that the scene of the earliest activity in Putnam 
countv was at the h^orks of Eel. Among the first who had come hither 
were James Athev and John M. Colman,. who entered adjoining tracts 
of land in that vicinity. They were natives of Kentucky and had emigrated 
from Bour1)on county to Fort Harrison near Terre Haute, arriving in 18 16. 
Two vears later, after a journey to the Vincennes land-office, they set out 
on horseback to take possession of their newly acquired lands. Earl\- in the 
spring of 1818 Athey cleared a portion of his land and put in a crop of 
corn, it being the first cultivation by a white man of the soil of Putnam 
countv. Colman did not remain very long and in time returned to Vigo 
countv. .\ little later Benjamin Croy came and still later Otwell Thomas and 
Reuben. Ragan. These men assisted Athey in erecting a dwelling, the first 
structure built in the new county. Soon after, and a short distance north 
of the new settlement at the Forks. Webster's mill was built on the banks 
of Walnut, being the first piece of machinery to '"wake the echoes of the 
surrounding solitude with its monotonous hum.'" By the close of the year 
four families had settled along the lower edge of the county. 

Settlement in wliat was then known as the Xew Purchase, being above 
the Indian lioundary line, did not begin so early. The first permanent resi- 
dent wa> lohn Sigler. who came with his family from Kentucky in March. 
i8_>i. accompanied by Thomas Johnson and located on land which is now 
v.ithin the citv limits of Greencastle. In May following came John John- 
.son. wliri settled a few miles southeast of the same place. Before the close 
of the vear the new colon v was increased l)y the arrival of Jefferson Thomas, 



1471541 

PL'TXAM COUXTY, INDIA.VA. 35 

Abraham Coffman. Samuel Rugers. Jubal (also kno\v!i as "■Jubilee") Deweese, 
Isaac Matkin, Abraham Lewis and the Rev. Reuben Clearwaters, the first 
preacher, in all probability, who ventured to penetrate the wilds of the new 
county. In almost every instance these hardy and venturesome pioneers 
came from Kentucky. Among those who made a settlement in the more 
northern part of the county was James Gordon, whose native state was 
North Carolina, but who had lived for a time in the southeastern part of 
the state, in the strip which lay between the mouths of the Kentucky and 
the Miami- rivers. He entered a tract of land about nine miles north of 
Greencastle on which, later, a part of the town of Brainbridge was located. His 
son James, who was seven years old when the family reached Putnam coun- 
ty, is still living and, although in his ninety-si.xth year, is able to recall and 
relate many interesting and stirring incidents of his boyhood in the wilder- 
ness. He is doubtless the only person now living who was here when the 
county was organized. 

Meanwhile the commissioners designated by the Legislature for that 
purpose had met, as required, at the house of John Butcher and agreed upon 
a location for the seat of county government. The site chosen was a hill over- 
looking Walnut creek and almost in the exact geographical center of the 
county. As an inducement towards the location there and in consideration 
thereof, Ephraim Dukes and Rebecca his wife conveyed to Amos Robertson, 
designated as "agent for Putnam county," seventy acres of land in the north- 
west quarter of section 21. township 14 north, range 4 west. The deed was exe- 
cuted September 2/, 1823, and recites that the land is donated in considera- 
tion that the county seat is located at the "town of Greencastle." The tract 
thus conveyed includes that part of the city of Greencastle which lies be- 
tween Locust and Indiana streets. June 7, 1825, Duke's son-in-law, John 
Wesley Clark, and Elizabeth his wife, for the same consideration mentioned 
in Duke's deed, conveyed to John Baird, "agent for Putnam county," eighty 
acres, being the west half of the northwest quarter of the same section and 
adj(jining the tract Dnkes had donated two years before. The land conveyed 
by this last deed comprises that part of the city of Greenca.stle which lies 
between Indiana street and the western limits on Gillespie street. 

The original town-site consisted of one hundred and fifty acres, divided 
into two hundred and fourteen lots, and was bounded on the north by Liberty 
street ; on the west by Gillespie ; on the south by Hill and on the east bv Locust. 

As to the e.xtent and character of the contest over the location of the 
county seat it is impossible to secure any material or authentic information. 
There doubtless was some rivalry between those who lived or were interest- 



^6 WEIK S HISTORY OF 

ed in the region about Greencastle and the people at the Forks of Eel, but 
how spirited the competition was or who were the leaders therein the records 
fail to disclose. A very singular entry is found in the records of the pro- 
ceedings of the county commissioners' court dated July 7, 1828. It reads as 
follows : 

"Ordered by the board of county justices that John Baird, agent of 
Putnam countv, refuse payment on an order, issued by Arthur ^IcGaughey, 
clerk of the board of county commissioners and now clerk of this board, 
payable to John Allen for services rendered in locating the seat of justice 
for Putnam county at the town of Bedford." 

Naturally the people of this generation would be glad to learn where 
"the town of Bedford" was, but alas for us, a careful search of the deed 
books, the plat books and other records in the various offices in the court 
house fails to reveal the slightest hint of this early competitor of Greencastle 
for countv seat honors. Some years after the county seat question had been 
settled in favor of Greencastle, and after the National road had been con- 
structed, Putnamville, then a busy and important place on that great thor- 
oughfare, began to agitate the question of the removal of the seat of jus- 
tice from Greencastle, arguing that as Putnamville was more favorably 
located as to the great highway for travel, it was the natural and logical 
location for the county seat. An irritating rivalry thus grew up between 
the two towns which continued for years, but never crystalized into any 
sort of organized action. 

EPHRAIM DUKES. 

In this connection it may not be amiss to explain that the writer, in 
obedience to the apparent interest manifested in the career of Ephraim 
Dukes, has been unremittingly exhaustive in his efforts to learn the latter's 
antecedents as well as his later history. The commonly accepted tradition 
that Dukes gave Greencastle its name after the town in Pennsylvania by that 
name, where he originated, has not thus far been verified. Extensive cor- 
respondence with old settlers in Greencastle, Pennsylvania, and also in Ship- 
pensburg, where the Duke family is somewhat prominent and numerous, fails 
to shed any light on the existence or origin of Ephraim. The family there 
spell their name without the final s. In the absence of any more definite 
information than has thus far been obtainable there can be no good reason 
to reject the theory that Ephraim Dukes emigrated hither from Kentucky. 
The family is more or less numerous in Virginia and near the close of the 
eighteenth century several of its members moved into Kentucky. Inasmuch, 
therefore, as at least seventy-five per cent of the early settlers who came to 



PUTNAM COUNTY. INDIANA. 37 

our county hailed from Kentucky, it is not improbable that Ephraim Dukes 
originated tliere also. His later history is equally nebulous and uncertain. 
He remained in Putnam county till about 1835, when, in company with the 
late Gen. Joseph Orr, he removed to Laporte county, Indiana. He was living 
there in July, 1836, as shown by a deed executed by him at that time and 
soon after forwarded here to be recorded. Beyond this last item of infor- 
mation it has been impossible to find any trace of him. General Orr, with 
whom he emigrated to Laporte county, was a well known character and con- 
tinued to reside there till his death, about thirty years ago, but the most 
persistent and thorough inquiry fails to elicit any information as to Dukes. 
The probability is that his stay in Laporte county was brief and that he 
eventually moved farther westward, leaving scarcely a footprint behind. While 
still a resident of Putnam he filled several minor places of the grade of 
constable and court bailiff and was finally promoted to the office of coroner. 
His name was perpetuated by his fellow-townsmen in one of the principal 
streets of Greencastle which was for years called Ephraim, after him, but 
which, unfortunately, was recently changed to the more fashionable and 
euphonious College avenue. 

SALE OF TOWN LOTS. 

In the year following the organization of the county Greencastle began 
to show some signs of life. Before the close of 1822 Ephraim Diikes had 
erected a cabin on the lot at the corner of Washington street and College 
avenue where Dr. Ayler's office now stands. He was speedily followed by 
Silas G. Weeks, who occupied the lot on which the Donner block, at the 
corner of \\'ashington and Vine streets, is built and he. in turn, by Jubal 
Deweese. \\ho pitched his tent about midway on the block on the north side 
of the court house square, and John F. Seller, who built a cabin on the south 
side of the same square and near the corner of Washington and Indiana 
streets. In due time, following the settlement of the county seat (piestion, 
came the ine\'itable sale of town lots. It may not be without interest to in- 
dicate the values at that time of real estate in the "business district"" of the 
city. Lot Xo. iJi. being the north half of the block on the east side of the 
court house square, was sold to David Matlock, for seventy dollars ; No. 
122. immediately south, went to Thomas Deweese for one hundred dollars; 
Xo. 1 12. the east half of the block on the south side of the public square, to 
John Oatman for sixty-eight dollars; X'o. loi. immediately west, to Samuel 
M. Biggs for forty dollars: Xo. 91. the south half of the block on the 
west side of the public sfpiare. was sold to James Talbott for sixtv-one dollars; 



38 



WEIK S HISTORY OF 



No. 92, immediately north, to Joseph Thornburg, for sixty dollars. On 
the north side of the court house the west half, being lot No. 100, went 
to Jubal Deweese for eighty-seven dollars and the east half of Lot No. 
113 to Joshua H. Lucas for sixty-one dollars. Lot No. 120. lying beyond 
the northeast corner of the court house square, brought eighty-three dollars 
and fiftv cents, being sold to Samuel Hunter; Xo. 123, at the southeast 
corner, where the Southard building now stands, went to James Trotter 
for one hundred eleven dollars; No. 90, at the southwest corner, now owned 
by James F. Hill, was sold to Isaac Ash for forty-one dollars and No. 93, 
at the northwest corner, now occupied by the Haspel meat market, brought 
the highest price of all, being sold to Al^raham Wooley for one hundred 
and fifty-eight dollars. Outlying lots, remote from the square set aside for 
the court house, brought only nominal prices, none exceeding ten dollars. 

EARLY MERCH.'WTS. 

Several cabins had been built in and around Greencastle before it wa- 
platted into lots, but the first building in the business part was erected b\ 
Pleasant S. Wilson. It was on the west side of the public square. .-Vcconl- 
ing to a former historian. Joseph Thornburg had sold some goods in a small 
wav. but the first real store, so-called, was opened up in a building on the 
north side of the public s(|uare by Gen. Joseph Orr. who had first come 
into the community as a peddler. Orr was a very progressive man and 
full of public spirit. His title of General came from his connection with 
the militia. He continued in business from 1823 till 1835. when he removed 
to LaPorte county, where he lived until his death in 1879. .\nother mer- 
chant equally vigorous and enterprising was Lewis H. Sands, who opened 
a store on the lot adjoining Orr's on the east. It is said that he brought 
his stock of goods in a one-horse carry-all from Louisville. He continued in 
business for many years and died in May. 1861, having lived to see Green- 
castle develop from a group of log cabins in the wilderness to one of the 
thriving and representative county seats in central Indiana. He was born 
in Baltimore. Januarv r, 1805, and had had some experience trading with the 
Indians at Ft. Harrison and along the Wabash before settling in Putnam 
county. 

WILLIAM IL THOR.\'BL-RGH. 

Before passing from the subject of the early merchants of Greencastle. 
although not in proper chronological order, we venture to note the name 
of William H. Thornburgh, without a record of whose career no history 



PLTNAM COL'NTY, IXDIAXA. 39 

(jt Putnam cuunt_\ could be called complete. Xo man ever lived uliu labored 
more zealously and accomplished more for the prosperity and well-being 
of the community and the memory of no other person identitieil with the 
de\e!opment ^)f the county is more deserving of perpetuation. A native of 
Wasiiingtmi county, \'irginia. where he was bom February 3. 1804, he 
drifted to Putnam county in the fall of 1824. his first employment here 
being teaching scIk^oI for a brief time in the country west of I ireencastle. 
Prior to his reuKnal to Indiana he had. although cpiite young, been captain 
nf a steamboat plying between Xashville and Xew Orleans. After the 
death nf hi.', wife, he returned to the river, becoming captain of a steamer in 
the Liinis\ille an<! Xew (Jrleans trade, but in 1S30 he was. back in Green- 
castle again where he Sdon went into the mercantile busuiess. In 1835 he 
erected a bnck building on the corner oi Washington and Indiana streets, 
the first of it> kind in the town. He was a leading and niduential member 
of the Methodist church and took an actix'e part in the erection of the church 
building on the corner of Indiana and Poplar street^, to which he contribut- 
ed b(jth time and mi.mew a>. also, he did at a later date for the erection 
of Rol>ert> Chapel. Imleed. theie is [jerhap> no ciun-ch in the city t<j which 
he did not c<jntribute. In 1858 he built the largest edifice in town, known 
a:- the ThornI)urgh I)lock. on the west side of the public s<(uare. which was 
an enterprise of wnnderful magnitude, foi' that day and well wortiiv the 
admiration and enconu'ums it called forth. He also built, at the corner of 
I'ranklin and Locust streets, a residence which in grandeur anil magnificent 
pro[)ortions far surpassed anything of its kind in the county. He was one of 
the original stockholders and early pr(.)moters of the Terre Haute & Richrnond 
(now the \'andalia) railroad. de\oting much time in seciu'ing the rei[uisito 
amount of >tock in his count}-. He was one of the earliest trustees (jf Asbury 
I'niversit}". continuing as such with two brief intermissions fn,m 1837 to 
i8r)o and acting as president of the board iuv four years. On e\ery occa- 
sion he lent his inlluence and energv to the great enterpi'ises which were 
to be for the public good and such as would de\'elop the industries ant! en- 
rich the uhijle countiy. Possessing the first money .safe in the county, Cap- 
tain Thornburgh's store became, in effect, a bank of deposit, where S|jeculators, 
merchants and farmers alike found a secure place of keeping their surplus 
funds. "We <jf the present da_\-." observes <jne who knew him well, "wirh 
our banks and multiplied facilities of communication, cannot estimate tlie 
\alue of such a man nor can we fully appreciate the amount of confidence 
which, without deposited security, C(nild intrust so much for safe-keeping, 
a-^sured of its [jronipt return when demanded." His career as a merchant 



40 



WEIK S HISTORY OF 



covers a space of thirty-one years — the hfe of a generation. He died Octo- 
ber 26, 1876. A pubhc meeting, presided over by the mayor of Greencastle, 
was held at the court house to arrange for his funeral and appropriate reso- 
lutions expressing sorrow for his death and respect for his memory were 
adopted. 

One of the unfortunate things in Captain Thornburgh's life, after his 
many rears of commercial success, was a series of business reverses to which 
he was forced to yield early in 1861. He suffered so keenly from chagrin 
and remorse that he issued a statement to the public through the columns of a 
local paper, which has in it so much of real pathos and evinces a spirit of 
pride and honor so sensitive and so unusual in these latter days of com- 
mercial indifference to public opinion, it will not be without its lesson to 
reproduce it here. Under date of March 21. 1861. in the Putnam County 
Banner, he said ; 
'To My Friends and Fellow Citizens : 

"It becomes my painful duty to appear before you through this medium 
and announce to you that circumstances are and have been such as to re- 
quire the withdrawal of my name from the list of merchants. I have been 
for over thirty years among you in that capacity, during which time I have 
enjoyed the patronage of many among you and the confidence embracing a 
wide range, which confidence it was my pleasure so to demean myself as 
to in some measure justly merit. I have during that time passed through 
manv financial storms and had successfully weathered them all till now by 
a train of circumstances known to most of you through the advice of able 
financiers and men of unquestioned veracity and wealth I have taken the 
course now known to most of you — that of retirement from the busy bustle 
of that long-cherished occupation which it has been my pleasure to pursue. 
In taking this, mv leave, it is not without the deepest feelings of obligation 
to mv creditors and numerous customers who, on the one hand, freely sought 
mv custom and sold me goods at fair prices and dealt with me so kindly, 
which naturallv engendered high social feelings, which I have always prized 
so highlv and which were so reciprocal. To such I shall ever feel the deepest 
weight of obligation as long as life endures. To my patrons and friends 
here accejit this humble tribute of gratitude to you for your liberal and 
confiding jiatronage. During the last thirty years we have greeted each 
otlier and enjoved manv pleasant hours which I shall ever kindly remember. 

"In ta'sing mv leave of vou as a merchant, please receive my thanks 
for vour patronage and confidence and I hope in my future I shall do noth- 
ing to counteract the g<ji.)d (tpiniun you have been pleased to feel and express. 



PCTNAM COLNTY, INDIANA. 41 

Life is one changing scene and its revolutions I have, with many before 
nie. felt and feel its heavy shaft, but amid all its storms will try to pass 
the waves as to ultimately outride them all and seek my final port in safety, 

"Most respectfully, 

■■\V. H, Thornburgh." 

The fact that our pioneer merchants demonstrated such enterprise and 
brought hither, so early, such liberal assortments of goods indicates a rapidly 
growing population. We may naturally, therefore, expect to find among them 
the representatives of the various trades, occupations and professions that 
are essential to the success of any community. The first physician to ar- 
ri\e on the scene was Dr, Enos Lowe. He reached the new settlement about 
1823 and served the people for many miles around. Three years later Dr. 
L. M. Knight and Dr. A. C. Stevenson, both Kentuckians, joined the com- 
munity and engaged in the practice of their profession. The first blacksmith 
was Jesse Twigg and the first cabinet shop was opened by John S. Jennings, 
who strayed into the town from Tennessee, William K. Cooper was the 
first saddler and Reuben Clearwaters the first preacher — a Methodist. An 
important industry of that day was milling. To prepare the grain for food 
required mills. We have already seen that two mills had been erected in the 
neighborhood of the Forks,— Webster's and Croy's — but very soon after, 
in fact by the spring of 1822, James Trotter had a grist and saw-mill in 
operation a short distance north of Greencastle on Walnut creek. During that 
same year and the year following other mills farther north in the country 
were erected, whose names, Fiddler's, Swank's, Beck's. Kelso's and Suther- 
lin's, will suggest to the early residents their proper location. Already the 
hum of their primitive machinery could be heard echoing through the hills 
and along the banks of Deer, Mill, Little and Big Walnut, Ramp, Raccoon 
and all the other creeks in the county. 

In Greencastle. on the comer of Water and Washington streets, Gen. 
John Standeford, about the year 182''). set up a wool-carding machine, pro- 
pelled bv horse pi^wer. and for years carded the wool in this and even in some 
of the adjoining counties. The machinery was bought in Louisville and 
hauled through to Greencastle in a wagon. The factor}- had a capacity of about 
one hundred and fift\- rolls per day and yielded its owner profitable returns. 
Weaving was d(jiie on hand looms by the women at home. It is said by Gil- 
lum Ridpath. who was bom in Marion township, that "the first fly-shuttle 
lonni in the county and. in all probability, the first between the Wabash and 
White rivers, was invented and built by John Heavin, in Montgomery coun- 
ty, Virginia, and was brought to Putnam county in the year 1S27." 



42 



WEIK S HISTORY OF 



LITTLE USE FOR CURRENCY. 



Owing u> the limited amount in circulation, but little money was used 
in local business. Much of the trading was the exchange of one commodity 
for another. At a meeting of the I'utnam County Historical Society, several 
years ago, the late J. R. M. Allen related his first commercial experience in 
Greenca.stle. He had just set up as a tailor and was making a purchase at 
the store of James Talbott, a merchant of several years' standing, offermg 
currency in payment for the goods he bought. Mr. Talbott, noting that he 
was new to the customs of the place, adniunished him ihat UK^ney was un- 
necessary in local business; that people in the new community, especially 
business men in dealing among themselves, made their exchanges in gO(ids. 
"Xow." said Talbott, "I shall need something in your line pretty soon and 
when I do I shall expect you to accept in payment such goods as you ma\ 
see fit to purchase of me. In that way we can cany tm our transactions 
until some future time uhen a settlement is desirable and then the net 
balance due can, if necessan.-, be paid in money."" .Mr. .Mien, realizing that 
such was the custom of the community, was forced to comply. He related 
that for years he and Talbott continued thus to carry on business between 
them without in all that time coming to a settlement. iMually wiien Talbott's 
health began to give way and he realized that he must gi\e up all business, 
he called on Mr. .Allen with his Iwjoks to make the long-deferred final set- 
tlement. "It took a brief time to add up the figures," related .\llen. "There 
was not a word of disagreement between us. The entire interview was not 
only satisfactory, but pleasant, and when the balance wa-- struck it took les- 
than three dollars in money to pay it." 

E.\RLY-n.\V V.\LUES. 

It is more or less refreshing in these days of so-called commercial and 
industrial prosperity at e.xtravagant prices to read the values our forefathers 
put upon their labor and domestic products. Following are C(>{)ies of tw<i 
documents found in the records of the county clerk's office which are inter- 
esting, not only as illustrating comparative values of every-day commodities, 
but the character of items of exchange between neighbors. Tlie first i)a])er 
was filed in 1824; the other in 1827: 

"William McBride Dr. to John PTazer 

"to the half of a Hog S2.0C 

"to 52 lbs Bacon 4- ' '^^ 

"to work bv l.izey a nursing your wife i.OO 



PUTNAM COUNTY, INDIANA. 43 

"to w easing i.oo 

"to 3 deer skins 2.00 

"to I gallon & 5 pints whisky 0.87 

"to ( ioing to greencastle 0.75 

"to Medison '. 0.37 

"to J Juggs o.-^ 

"to 2 Cushiils corn 0.50 

"to tins full of salt o. iS 

"to \\agg(:in tonge & Houns. ■. 300 

"t(:) hijrse a going arends i.OO 

"t(3 \'ennison Hams 2.00 

"to Lizey a washing 0.37 

"to haling i^ork from huffnians O-SO 

"ti ' [ shott pouch 0.25 

"to 1 peck Sweat pertatose 0.25" 

"george Howlet Debtor tn Darnal)a> frakes 

"to one Cub bare 3.00 

"to washing 3 months in 1S24 at 3 ^hilling^ a ni(.)nth 4.50 

"to hording for 3 two months in 1824 6.00 

"to \\c;rk fifteen days in 1824 7-5c) 

"to flaxseed i Bushal in 1825 i.OO 

"to work 8 dax's in 1825 4.00 

"to three Bushals of corn at janies in 1824 0.75 

"to Corn (jne barrel at my H(.)us 1.75 

"to sawing (3ne Dav at the cros Cut Saw 0.50 

"to three i)ints of Whisky in 1826 o. 18 

■'to fisick 7 Doases at tweTit\-fi\e cents a Doase. . . 1.75 

"to hi^ghunting One Day 0.50" 

COMMERCIAL CI'STOMS. 

An idea of commercial conditions in dreencastle and the primitive meth- 
ods <ji business then in vogue may be obtained from a document prepared tcj 
be read before the I'utnam Count}- Historical Societ)' se\eral years ago b\- 
James 'ra}lor, one of the old-time merchants then living, whose business ca- 
reer extended oxer a long and interesting period of the county's historv. 
Among other things he said: "As far back as 1838 the following drv goods 
merchants were in business in ( ireencastle : W. H. Thornburgh. William 
r.ee. Allison iS: R.ibinson. David Kagan. M. T. 13ridges. W. [. Rider. L. H. 



44 WEIK S HISTORY OF 

Sands. Josepli Lucas, Isaac Ash. Standeford, Sigler & Co., Proctor, Daggy & 
Landes. Reese Hardest}', Silas Jones, James Talbott, Thomas E. Tal- 
bott, W. K. Cooper. George \V. Thompson and Granville Holland. Thus, 
it will Ije seen that at the time there were twenty dry goods houses in Green- 
castle. Or they might more properly be termed general stores, for in those 
days what was tenned a dry goods merchant supplied the people with all 
their wants. An active, energetic salesman, when business was brisk, would 
be able to furnish in the course of one day to a customer or customers a silk 
dress pattern, a bolt of muslin, a lady's bonnet, fashionably trimmed, a pair 
of boots, a suit of clothes, a silk hat. sugar, coffee, spice, pepper, a shovel, a 
spade, a tin bucket, a coffee-pot, a grindstone, ten pounds of sausage, fifty 
pounds of home-made soap and a quarter of beef. 

"Beginning with the year 1850. many have been engaged in the dry 
goods business who have since retired from the field, some of whom are as 
follows : D. L. Southard, C. W. Talburt, McC. Hartley, Lucien Lemon, 
with his four-horse store. Miller & Jones, Stevenson & Gillespie, G. H. Wil- 
liamson. L Hawkins, Sloan & Fordyce. Alfred Hays, A. L. Morrison, G. W. 
Corwin. Theodore Bowman. Paris & Turner, Joseph Crow, L. H. Sands, 
Thomburgh & Robinson, Taylor & Ames and T. W. Williamson. From 
1838 up to about 1854 the number of dry goods stores in the city continued 
about the same, when they were met by competition by the introduction of 
familv groceries, hardware stores, boot and shoe establishments, notion 
houses with fancv goods and millinery establishments, until dry goods stores 
have reducetl to the number of five or six. 

"In former vears a man engaged in the dry goods business did not lie on 
fiowerv beds of ease bv any means. ?klany supposed that where a number of 
salesmen were engaged in selling the goods the proprietor had nothing else 
to do but lie upon the counter and rest his head on a bolt of muslin. That, 
however, is a great mistake. To succeed in the business requires a constant 
laborious struggle; and even then success seldom follows. 

"It would be a difficult matter to describe the manner of conducting 
business in the earlier years without giving in part my own experience, as I 
could know but little about the private affairs of others; and in order to do 
that I shall begin with the firm of Taylor & Beasley. They bought a stock 
of goods on a credit of six months' time with the privilege of twelve by 
paving interest after the expiration of the first six months. After receiving 
the goods, thev had no place to store them and they bought, also on credit, 
an old frame dwelling on the south side of the public square that had a 
fifteen-foot square room in it. that had been used for a tin shop. A few 



PUTNAM COUNTY, INDIANA. 45 

boards were hastily put up for shelves and thereupon the goods were placed. 
It looked very discouraging even in those days to commence a business with 
a display that w as made in such a room. Indeed the prospect for trade looked 
so discouraging that in a very few months Mr. Beasley retired from the busi- 
ness and went north to his farm, leaving the burden of the debts which had 
been contracted wholly upon myself, with nothing with which to liquidate 
them except the goods; but by a little indulgence from my creditors I man- 
aged to pull through. In referring to my own extreme effort to make a 
success of the business. I have no doubt that I am but one of many others 
who might gi\e a similar experience. I worried along for a time and ex- 
changed goods for lumber and work, both of which at that time were cheap, 
and had two rooms fitted up in the old frame, each thirteen l)v thirtv-five 
feet : and they w ere ipiite respectable for that day. I rented one of them 
soon after and occupied the other for a short time for dry goods. I also 
rented the upper room; and the rents \\hich I received for about twentv- 
fi\e years on those three rooms paid at least forty per cent on the original 
investment in the property. I think the general custom was in those davs for 
the retailer to buy his goods on six or twelve months" time and the custom 
was to sell them on credit from one Christmas to another: but goods were 
then sold by wholesale and retail merchants at much better profits than thev 
are at present. There were three flouring mills tliat furnished me with flour 
to sell on commission, which was quite a help to my business; for I furnished 
nearly all the flour consumed in the city for several years, selling from a 
hundred to a hundred and fifty barrels per month, at prices ranging from 
three dollars up to fifteen dollars per barrel. When the Monon railroad was 
being constructed through Greencastle an Irishman had a contract for a sec- 
tion between this city and Bainbridge. I furnished him and his workmen 
dry goods, flour and other provisions on credit, to the amount of a thousand 
dollars. When pa\--day came around he had no money to pav me. but had rail- 
road stock, and it being all I could get I had to take that or nothing. I felt 
that I was ruined; but fortunately for nie, a few days after getting the stock 
a gentleman called at the store and stated that he understood I had some 
railroad stock for sale. T said I had. and sold it to him for a thousand dol- 
lars in cash. Whether he sacrificed his thousand dollars or not I never knew ; 
but I do know that in a \ery short time afterwards the stock was entirelv 
worthless. 

"It is but little wonder that so many merchants in fomier years failed 
to make their business successful. Both merchant and customer had a hard 
struggle. It was fre(|uently the case that a customer would run a bill from 
one Christmas t(;) another and then execute his note to run another vear. not 



46 weik's history of 

necessarily from any dishonest moti\-e. but because it was impossible lor him 
to get the money. Dr\- goods were exceedingly high compared with present 
prices, and the products of the farm very low. Staple goods such as shirting, 
sheeting and prints were worth from twenty-tive to thirty-seven and one-half 
cents per yard and other goods were proportionately high. The average 
price of eggs the vear round was about three cents a dozen; that of butter 
six and one-fourth cents: bacon, two and one-half to three cents a pound. I 
well remember, when a boy. of taking from my father's farm thirty bushels 
of thrashed oats ten miles to the county seat. I made an extra effort to sell 
it for monev, but utterly failed and finally, through sympathy for me, a mer- 
chant offered me ten cents a bushel if I would take the pay in goods. I ac- 
cepted his offer and exchanged the load for a three-dollar hat, which I could 
now buy at half the price or less." 

F.\CTS OF INTEREST. 

Owing to the brief and fragmentary records that have, thus far. been 
preserved, it will be necessary, in many cases, to accept the traditions that 
have come down to us regarding the settlement, organization, social and com- 
mercial development and other essential facts that go to make up the history of 
our county. There were no statisticians in the days of our forefathers, no 
pubhc officials to secure and record information and nobody kept a dian'. 
Hence for manv things we relate we can give no authority beyond the recol- 
lection of some early settler. 

So far as can be determined, the first white child born in the county was 
Marv Jane McGaughey, the daughter of Arthur McGaughey. the first county 
clerk. She first saw the light of day February 10. 1822. John Rawley. the 
first native of Greencastle, was born in a log cabin near the public spring, 
March 2;, 1822. His son John is now judge of the Putnam circuit court. 
The first death in the county occurred at Trotter's mill, north of Greencastle. 
A man named Dennis, the millwright, died late in 1821, before the county 
was organized, and was buried near the mill. Somewhat later a man who 
was a stranger in .the community died within the northern limits of Green- 
castle and was buried in what was afterwards Jacob Daggy's orchard. The 
next death in Greencastle was that of Benjamin Akers. who died about 1825 
and whose bod\- was the first to be buried in what is now known as the Old 
Cemetery. 

The first ta\ern or public house was kept by Jubal Deweese in a log 
structure in the middle of the block on the west side of the public .square. 



PUTNAM COLXTV, INDIANA. 47 

One ot the rooms must have been more or less commodious, for several terms 
of the circuit court were held in it between 1824 and i8j6. 

The first school in the county was begun in 1S23 and was between Green- 
castle and the Forks of Eel and about seven miles southwest of the former 
place. The first school in Greencastle was taught in a log cabin (jn a lot near 
the corner of Washington and Water streets, diagonally across from Stande- 
ford's wool-carding factory. Hiram Stavens and Alfred Burton were among 
the first teachers. 

The first marriage was that of Thomas Jackson to Sarah Wood. The 
license was issued Julv 4. 1S22. but the ceremony was not perfonned till the 
I Sth i>f the month. The officiating clergyman was Reuben Clearwaters. 
The unusual time elapsing between the date of the license and the cere- 
monv is probably accounted for in the following incident which was related 
bv Mr. Jackson himself; "I had a good deal of trouble in getting my mar- 
riage license. The county clerk had no office and no headciuarters and so I 
had to run ar(jund over the county in search of him. \\ hen I found him I 
found his office t(jo. for it was in his hat. From inside the lining he pro- 
duce<l a paper and made out the license. 1 got a preacher — Reuben Clear- 
waters — to marrv us and we at once went t<i housekeeping in a log cabin. 
.\])out twij weeks afterward the preacher came to me in the woods, where I 
was making puncheons, and said that he had made a mistake and would 
have to maiM-v us (i\er again. 1 was very well satisfied with my wife and. 
without asking what was the matter. I willingly con.sented and went to the 
cabin with him where he repeated the ceremony and I went back to my work." 
Mr. Jackson ccjutinued to reside in the county till his death. March 14. 1898. 
Had he lived ten weeks li)nger he would ha\e attained his hundredth vear. 

THE FIR.ST I'.l'X. 

\'er\- early the [)eople saw the need of military protection and ere long 
a militia company was f'omied. The story oi its origin and the incidents 
leading thereto is stj admirably told in a paper entitled, "The First Gun." read 
bv Tarvin C. ( irooms before the Putnam County Hi.storical Society several 
years ago that the liberty is taken to reproduce a portion of it here as follows : 

■'I am glad to report all I have been able to learn about the famous old 
cast-iron si.\-pounder. the first weapon the town e\er iiad, and which has 
now become more or less historic. From persons who have lived here much 
longer than I. we learn that this old implement of warfare was brought to 
the county by the militia regiment which was organized here in the early davs 



48 weik's history of 

and of which Gen. Joseph (^rr, Gen. John Standeford. Col. Hiram Miller, 
Colonel Sigler and several others were prominent members. Thomas Wyatt 
savs the old cannon was brought from Fort Harrison by General Orr him- 
self; that at the same time Orr brought some old guns for the local military 
company, of which Jefferson Walls was the captain. He also brought some 
large pistols for a horse company, of which William Bailey was captain. 
But for the cannon. One old citizen says that he remembers it very well, but 
fired on public occasions. In 1836, when the internal improvement bill was 
passed, it was still in use and the citizens were so rejoiced that they took it 
that it was much neglected, not being properly housed, and was invariably 
to a spot of high ground south of the public scjuare and west of the old col- 
lege on Jackson street and fired it off in the direction of Putnamville, be- 
tween which place and Greencastle there had been much rivalry over the loca- 
tion of the countv seat. On this occasion George Thompson lost an arm and 
Doctor Tarvin Cowgill was injured in the hand by a premature discharge. 
The gun was frequently hauled out and fired off, whereupon people living at 
a distance from Greencastle, hearing the sound, would immediately drive to 
town to learn the news. On one occasion Peter Albaugh, who lived near 
the mouth of Little Walnut, heard it and at once struck out for Greencastle 
on his swiftest nag to learn what was up. On arri\-ing he found a group of 
persons standing at the northwest corner of the public square, among whom 
he observed Washington Walls, Lewis H. Sands. Daniel Sigler, Arthur Mc- 
Gaughev and Dr. W. B. Gwathney. On driving towards them and inquiring 
what had happened, he was blandly informed that one of their most distin- 
guished citizens had moved out of town that day and they had simply fired 
oft' the old gun as a manifestation of their complete satisfaction and approval. 
"On the Fourth of July, 1845, in connection with a widely advertised 
celeljration of Independence Day, the people were asked to assemble at one 
o'clock, the notice to be the proper signal from the gun. But the signal never 
came for the reason that at davbreak Frank Hensley and \\'ashington and 
Clinton Walls, together with several other young men in town, had quietly 
drawn the old gun to the commons southwest of the public square and im- 
mediatelv south of the residence of Judge John Cowgill, who then lived on 
the northwest corner of JMadison and Walnut streets. After being loaded 
with copious quantities of sod. yellow clay and other like substances, it was 
discharged, but alas ! it w as the last salute the old weapon was destined ever 
to fire! Under the glorious enthusiasm of the day it had exploded, one of 
the pieces, weighing sixtv pounds, striking the home of Judge Cowgill, Xo- 
body was injured. The fragments were gathered together and the whole 
advertised for sale. .\ man named Wolf, who had been operating a small 



PUTNAM COUNTY, INDIANA. 49 

foundry on the west side of town, became the purchaser. Later Wolf 
changed his location to Albaugh's mill, about a mile and a half southwest of 
town, and transferred the fragments of the old cannon there. One day he 
undertook to melt the latter, but without success, for the old iron became 
refractor}- and refused to melt. One of the largest pieces lay about the old 
mill for years and was finally thrown into the branch, where, covered by the 
gradual deposits of earth and gravel, it will sleep undisturbed until, in the 
distant future, some vandal antiquarian shall disinter and expose it as a relic 
of prehistoric times." 

TAVERNS AND PUBLIC HOUSES. 

As alreadv noted in these pages, Jubal Deweese was the first landlord 
in Greencastle ; but he was ver}- speedily followed b}' John F. Seller, who 
opened up a ta\ern or public house in a cabin on the southwest corner of the 
public square. After Jubal Deweese. on the west side of the square, came 
Pleasant S. Wilson on the same lot. while about the same period Joseph H. 
Lucas and Hudson Brackney held forth on the north side. In 1826 Elisha 
King was also engaged in entertaining travelers, his place being on the east 
side of Indiana street, between Washington and W'alnut. 

"These early tavems," relates Thomas C. Hammond, who, until his re- 
moval to California recently, was the oldest native-born resident of Green- 
castle, "had their pretentious names such as Social Hall, Franklin House, 
Washington Hotel, etc., and usually had a sign post twenty or thirtv feet 
high in front of the house with a large sign-board bearing the name or some 
emblem or coat of arms, as the proprietors apparently traced their origin 
back to ancestors entitled to such distinction. John Lynch, one of the best 
known 'landlords,' as the proprietors of these ta\'erns were usuallv called, 
succeeded to the good will of the house kept by Pleasant S. Wilson on the 
west side of the public square, but did not remain there long until he had 
traded some land he owned west of town for a house and lot on the east 
side of the public square and known as part of lot ur. In this last location 
he catered to the public as proprietor of the Washington Hotel. It was 
known as a place where a Democrat could find congenial spirits. I don't 
mean such spirits as they are accused of calling up or down, but those of the 
Jacksonian style. Colonel Lynch, as he was familiarly called, was a great 
admirer of the Sage of the Hermitage, and indeed by many was thought to 
resemble him in appearance. This house was the only one in Greencastle 
pretentious enough to ha\e a large bell to ring out the signal for meals. The 
(4) 



5° 



WEIK S HISTORY OF 



tones (jf this bell, I have no doubt, are yet remembered by many of the older 
citizens. The bovs of the town used to intepret them to say, as they rang out 
in the morning air, 'Pig tails done! Pig tails done!' After. Colonel Lynch re- 
tired from the house the bell was sold to Washington Walls, who established 
the Putnam House in the year 1859, on the lot lying at the northeast corner 
of Washington and Vine streets. The last ring of the historic bell was on 
the night of the great fire in Greencastle, October 28, 1874, when as the bel- 
fry of the old Putnam House toppled over and fell into the seething flames 
below, the bell was heard to say for the last time, 'Pig tails done!" John 
tlanmiond was another innkeeper, having succeeded to the business of 
Elisha King about 1826. Hamm ond's hmise stood where the Banner ofiice is, 
on the corner of Franklin and Vine streets, and was called Soci_alJifll.l. It 
was noted for its good table and care for the comfort of its guests. The new 
proprietor was a staunch- Whig, a Republican, and an Abolitionist when it 
was thought to be a crime, and in his later years an ardent advocate of tem- 
perance. He was a native of Maryland and left that state because of his 
aversion to slavery. James Ricketts, another noted member of the craft 
and a native of New Jersey, occupied a house on the west side of the public 
square, but about the year 1854 removed to the lot on the southwest corner 
of Vine and Washington streets, where he established himself and called 
his house the N^-tional Hotel. Here he held forth to the favor and satisfac- 
tion of the traveling public until a short time before the great fire of 1874. 

"I have only mentioned a few of the old-time tavern-keepers, although 
manv others have for short periods and some for many years catered to the 
wants of the traveling public. Among them I might mention the names of 
James Jones, William S. Collier, James Matlock, and, in more recent years. 
Scott & Woolrich. Uncle Jack Jones, who for a great number of years kept 
the house now known as the Belknap, then as the Jones House, afterwards 
continued the Jones House on the comer of Walnut and Jackson streets, the 
location now occupied by the Commercial Hotel. Uncle Jack — John F. 
Jones was a noted character and justly esteemed one of the popular land- 
lords in the West. 

"The early-day taverns were rarely ever crowded, although they had 
only capacity for a dozen or twenty guests each. When crowded, often two 
stran-^ers were forced to occupy the same bed, which they did without objec- 
tion, knowing that it was the last chance. The traveling public then was 
composed almost entirely of persons seeking land for homes or speculation. 
It was not long until they were followed by the clock and dry-goods peddlers. 
The latter were generally young men fresh from Germany, almost always 



PUTNAM COUNTY. INDIANA. 5I 

well educated, speaking different languages fluently, but working a bad stag- 
ger at English. It is a noteworthy fact that these young men who first ap- 
peared here with a pack on their back afterwards became the proprietors of 
large establishments in Cincinnati and elsewhere. It furnishes a lesson to 
the young men of the country of what can be accomplished by enterprise and 
persistence. 

"I have seen the bar-room, now called the office, of one of these taverns 
occupied by such lawyers as Tilghman A. Howard, William P. Bryant, 
Joseph A. Wright, James Whitcomb, John P. Usher, Elisha M. Huntington, 
John Law, Joseph G. Marshall, Samuel B. Gookins, Samuel Judah, Richard 
W. Thompson and others of high legal attainments. As a boy I have sat 
entranced by the harmonies drawn from the violin in the hands of Whitcomb 
and Howard, both of whom v.ere excellent performers. 

"The country inn has been called the 'temple of true liberty.' I am 
impressed with the truth of this saying, as I recall the big front room in my 
father's tavern. It was a veritable forum where public opinion was con- 
stantly being moulded and as I remember the wit and arguments flashing 
from one to another of the above group while debating the great questions 
of the day, I often ask mvself, 'Shall we see their like again?" " 



CHAPTER III. 

COURTS, COURT HOUSES AND THE BAR. 

We have already seen that the law authorizing the organization of Put- 
nam county was passed by the Legislature December 31, 1821. Immediately 
thereafter the machinery necessary for the proper conduct and man- 
agement of the country's business was set in motion, as the following docu- 
ment will show : 

"Jonathan Jennings, Governor and Commander in Chief of the State 
of Indiana : 

"To the Sheriff of Putnam county, Greeting: 

"You are hereby required and commanded to cause the qualified voters 
of the said county of Putnam to meet at their respective places of holding 
elections on the first Monday in April next and then and there you shall 
cause an election to he holden for two associate judges, one clerk, and one 
recorder and three county commissioners and the manner of your return 
shall be in conformity to law. Given from under my hand and the seal of 
the state this first day of January, 1822. 

"Jonathan Jennings. 
"By the Governor. 

"R. A. New." 

^Meanwhile, on March 7, 1822, Jacob Call was appointed presiding judge 
of the circuit court. Later George Kirkpatrick and Purnell Chance were 
elected associate judges and Arthur McGaughey clerk. William Mcintosh 
became sheriff. The commission of the latter, signed by Governor Jennings 
at Corydon, August 22, 1822, and sent by mail to Spencer, the county seat 
of Owen countv, with instructions to forward to the seat of government in 
Putnam county, is still preserved in the files of the clerk's ofifice. 

The first court was held June 3, 1822. but the record of its proceedings 
is so faded and abraded by use as to be in many places almost entirely illegible. 
From what is left, however, we gather that spreading the commissions and 
oaths of the associate justices of record, providing for a seal and ordering 
grand and petit juries for the ensuing term, constituted the business done at 
thie first term of the Putnam circuit court. 



PUTNAM COUNTY, INDIANA. S3 

The county seat not having been estabhshed and no suitable building in 
which to hold court having been erected, the next term was held, as the record 
discloses, "at the home of James Athey," which, it will be recalled, stood at 
or near the Forks of Eel river, on September 2, 1S22. The judges were all 
present and the same officers of the court as before, with the addition of 
Samuel Judah, the prosecuting attorney. The grand jury was impanelled 
and duly sworn. As nearly as their names can be deciphered they were 

Benjamin Bell, McCoy, Abraham Lewis, Mathew Cole, Richard 

Moore, Henr\' Williams, Ephraim Dukes, Joseph Thomas, William Dole, 

• Chance, Luke Dyer, Sr., Isaac Anderson and John Stagg. The 

first license or permission to practice law was issued at this term of court. 
On motion of Samuel Judah, Thomas H. Blake and James Farrington were 
admitted and sworn as attorneys. Both the latter were from Terre Haute. 
Blake was a native of Alaryland, but had emigrated to the West soon after 
the war of 1812, settling at Terre Haute, where he was prosecuting attorney, 
circuit judge, member of the Legislature, and representative in Congress in 
succession. President John Tyler appointed him commissioner of the general 
land office, after which he became president of the Wabash & Erie Canal 
Company. He died November 28, 1829. Mr. Farrington was born in Bos- 
ton, Massachusetts, and set out for the West about the time he had attained 
his majority, arriving at Vincennes in 1819, where he was admitted to the 
bar. Within three years he had removed to Terre Haute, where he located 
permanently and spent the remainder of his life. He was very active in 
establishing the Terre Haute branch of the Indiana State Bank and for a 
long time he was its cashier. He represented Vigo county in both branches 
of the Legislature and was assessor of United States internal revenue for the 
seventh Indiana district from 1862 until his death, October 8, 1869. He was 
a conscientious and painstaking lawyer and a man of the highest clerical 
capacity, as his briefs and written pleadings now on file in the clerk's office 
will attest. 

EARLV COURT REC0RD.S. 

Two civil cases transferred from Parke county were the first of their 
kind to engage the attention of the court. They w-ere entitled John Hamilton 
vs. John Collett and John Hamilton vs. William Blair et al, and are suits 
for damages for the retention of a drove of hogs. The plaintiff was rep- 
resented by Blake and Farrington and the defendant by Charles Dewey. 
The record shows that the case of Hamilton vs. Blair was tried on June 3, 



54 



WEIK S HISTORY OF 



1823, and that the plaintiff was awarded judgment. The following consti- 
tuted the jur^- : Abraham Lewis, Noble J. Meyers, David Hurst, John Raw- 
ley, Benjamin Bell, Richard Moore, E>avid McCoy, Elisha Mullinix, Isaac 
Matkins, William Craig and Israel Linder. The name of the twelfth juror is 
not legible. 

Before court was adjourned for the term the following allowances were 
made : James Athey, twelve dollars for the use of his house twelve days for 
court purposes; Robert Cunningham, two dollars for room for grand jury 
two days ; Cunningham was also allowed two dollars for two days' service 
as bailiff, and Justin Goodrich, one dollar for a like service. On the last 
day, June 3, 1823, it was ordered that "Court adjourn until court in course 
to meet at the house of Isaiah Wright at the next term." 

For a brief period and until the spring of 1825 the record is alike scant 
and quite incomplete, but from the pleadings written by the attorneys and 
the returns of the court oflficers which are still on tile we learn that the busi- 
ness of the courts was gradually increasing in volume and importance. Be- 
tween September, 1823, and the summer of 1824 the meetings of the court 
were held as directed in the residence of Isaiah Wright, whose log cabin was 
not far distant and in the neighborhood of the Forks of Eel. The venire of 
petit jurors for the fall or September term, 1823. shows the following to 
have been summoned : Abraham Coleman, Abraham Lewis, Noble J. Myers, 
Israel Linder. David Hurst. George Legg. Abraham Leatherman, Frederick 
Leatherman. John Oatman, John Reed. Robert McCain, John Rawley, Joseph 
Patterson. William Craig, Reuben Clearwaters, William ^IcCray. Elisha 
Mullinix, John Miller, Amos Robertson, Benjamin Bell. Isaac Matkins, Rich- 
ard Moore, David McCoy and Isaac Legg. Those selected for grand jury 
service at the same time were: Thomas Higgins, Aaron Harlan. Samuel 
Arthur. Elijah Crawford. Robert Cunningham, James Kelso. Charles Hed- 
rick. John Colton. Luke Freeland. David Higgins. Samuel Chadd, Ezekiel 
Hart. John Duncan. Elisha Hyatt. Jacob Clark. Garrett Gibson. Jonathan 
Humphrevs. Isaac Bell. Jubal Deweese. Joseph Thornburgh and Mathew 
Cole. 

Meanwhile, the county seat question having been settled, the judicial 
machinery of the new county was moved to Greencastle. The court house 
not vet having been built, the sessions of court were held, beginning in the 
fall of 1824, at the house of Jubal Deweese, a log cabin on the west side of 
the public square, where Blake's oi)€ra house now stands. In May, 1826, as 
appears fmm certain records in the clerk's office, court was held also in the 
home of Joseph Orr; however, it is supposed a court house was built, for. 
as appears by the record, court was no longer held in private buildings. 



PUTNAM COUNTY, INDIANA. 55 

The character and volume of htigation at this period shu\vH that tlie 
people were somewhat reluctant to call on the courts for a settlement of their 
disputes. There were but few suits on notes, less for enforcement or viola- 
tion of contracts and never a personal injury or damage suit. Criminal ac- 
tions v.ere equally few and unimportant. One proceeding of frequent oc- 
currence in the records is the application for a writ ad quod daiiiuiun. \ man 
desiring to erect a dam across the stream for a mill would apply to the court 
for the prixilege. whereupon the latter would direct the sheriff to summon 
■'twelve tit persons in the bailiwick" whose duty it was to "examine the lands 
proposed for the erection of said dam and mills, likewise the lands above and 
below the same, the property of other persons which might overflow by the 
erection of the dam to the height required and to say what damage it will 
be to the several properties, and whether the mansion house of any such 
proprietor or proprietors or the curtilages, orchards, yards or gardens of 
any such proprietors will be injured or overflowed; also to inquire whether 
and in what degree fish of passage or ordinary navigation will be obstructed, 
whether and by what means such obstructions may be prevented and whether 
in their opinion the health of the neighbors will be annoyed by the stagnation 
of the water." Usually the twelve men chosen decided in the applicant's 
fa\or and the dam was promptly built. 

Of the civil actions, as often happens in a new community, many were 
slander suits. One of the earliest was William M. Blair vs. John Hamilton, 
filed in Parke county, September 17. 1822, and transferred to the Putnam 
circuit court for trial. In this instance the defendant is said to have charged 
plaintiff with stealing hogs. .Another filed June 3. 1823. entitled Benjamin 
Johnson vs. John Huffman, charges that defendant "in the presence of divers 
good citizens of this state and in conversation with same, in a loud voice 
spoke, uttered and published these false, scandalous and malicious words 
concerning tiie plaintiff: 'He stole indigo and d}ed his socks with it and I 
can prove it ' " .V majoritv of the criminal actions were offenses of the grade 
of aft'rav and assault and batterv. and later we find in the records prosecu- 
tions now and then for selling litjuor unlawfully. The first indictment 
was returned September 9, 1S22. and charged that Xathan Parker, late of 
Tipt()n townshi]). in the county of Putnam, on "the first day of August in the 
year of our Lord, eighteen hundred and twenty-tv.D. with force antl arms at 
Longwaystown in the county of Wabash and in that part of said county of 
Wabash under the jurisdiction of the county of Putnam, one bay mare of the 
value of thirty dollars did feloniously steal, take and carr\' away, etc." 

The complete records, which are missing after the close of the June term, 



56 



WEIK S HISTORY OF 



1823. are resumed again in 1825. They show that the circuit court convened 
in Greencastle May 5, 1825, with John R. Porter as presiding and John Smith 
and John Sigler as associate judges. John Law was the new prosecuting at- 
torney and Robert GHdeweil was admitted to the bar. Among the proceed- 
ings at this tenn was the indictment of Polly Henry for perjury — being the 
first criminal charge against a woman — and Silas G. Weeks for retailing 
liquor in violation of the law. At the October term of that year the same 
court officers were present. The first petition by an administrator to sell the 
lands of a decedent was filed at this temi, and related to the sale of the lands 
of Thomas James, the father of the late Stanfield P James. The elder James 
wa.s murdered near Cloverdale by an insane man named Robinson who slipped 
behind him and shot him while he was engaged in chopping wood. Robinson 
soon after committed suicide by shooting himself in the head. This was the 
first murder in the county. At this term James Whitcomb, afterward Gov- 
enor of the state, appeared as attorney for the plaintiff in the suit of Storm 
vs. Gibson. 

The May term, 1826, was held at the house of Gen. Joseph Orr in Green- 
castle, with the same judges and court officers present. One of the proceed- 
ings is the report of the grand jury with reference to the jail. The body 
holds "that the jail of the county is insufficient, that it needs a lock to each 
door and that the steps of the same need fastening to the wall." The report 
is signed In- "Joseph Jackson, Foreman." That our forefathers also had a 
pure food law is shown by a proceeding in court at this term, wherein Noah 
H. Drewry was tried for selling unwholesome provisions. This term of 
court is also noteworthy in that it contains the record of the first divorce 
suit. Charity Mullini-x vs. Elisha Mullinix. At the following temi in October, 
Henrv Secrest, destinecl to be one of the greatest lawyers in this part of In- 
diana, was admitted to the bar. At the May term in 1827 Joseph F. Farley 
was admitted to the Ijar. Arthur Mahorney was the first man tried for gamb- 
ling and Lewis H. Sands and Henry Secrest for sending and accepting a 
challenge to fight a duel. Of the latter charge Sands and Secrest were ac- 
quitted, but were convicted on the charge of canying concealed weapons. 
At the October term. 1827. John M. Purcell was tried and convicted on the 
charge of vagrancy. He was fined and hired out for a month, the proceeds 
of his labor being applied towards the payment of the fine and his support. 
In 1828 Sigier and Smith gave way as associate judges to David Deweese 
and William Elrod. William McLitosh was still sheriff and Arthur Mc- 
Gaughey clerk and John Law prosecuting attorney. The record of the May 
term. 1830. shows that John Law had meanwhile been promoted to presiding 





H 


K 




i>^g^Hfl 


BBB 


BM 


MH^^-^ 




BHW 


H] 






B 


■ 


^^^■^^^^^^^^^^ 


Hlk^jH 


1 


I 


^^H^^k[ t^JB^ 




H^H 


^B 


m||^^v 


I^M^^a 


D 


■ 


^r 




^^B^^^JjMM 


H 


■K4 


^^ 


S^ 


^H^K 


^^^^^^ 




I^BHk 


■ <^ 


v^ — cr 


I^^^^B ^'^jH JjH 


^^^^ 


i^^ 


^^^^^^~:--' 



PfTNAM C(.)UNTY, INDIANA. 57 

judge of the '"se\enth judicial circuit." Tlie following order appears in the 
record of this term : "Ordered by the court, that the following space of land 
be and the same is hereby laid off and designated by the following metes and 
bounds, around the county jail, as and to be called and termed Prison Bounds 
for said countv. to wit ; Beginning at the northwest corner of the town of 
("ireencastle in said county, thence south to Poplar street, in said town, thence 
east to Water street, thence north to the northern boundary of said town to 
Liberty street, thence west to the place of beginning; such bounds to include 
the space covered by the several roads or streets as bounding such space as 
aforesaid." The October. 1831. term was presided over by George W. 
Johnston, Judge John Law having meanwhile resigned. 

At the April term, 1832, Amory Kinney became presiding judge and so 
continued till the fall of 1836. Shortly before this. Associate Judge Deweese 
gave way to James Rankin. Li May. 1837, Elisha AL Huntington appeared 
with the commission of presiding judge and served as such until the May term, 
1 84 1. He was followed by William P. Bryant, who for the ensuing three 
years occupied the bench, the last year having as his associates George Pearcy 
and [Moses T. Bridges. In 1844 Judge Law returned to the bench and served 
till November, 1849. Robert N. Allen having in the meantime succeeded 
George Pearcy as associate judge. Judge Law having resigned, was suc- 
ceeded for a brief time by Samuel B. Gookins, whose associates were Robert 
X. Allen and William G. Duckworth. In 185 1 Delana R. Eckels came upon 
the bench, being commissioned by the Legislature for a period of seven years. 
-\llen and Duckworth were still associate judges. 

Judge Eckels, who easily advanced to the front rank of his profession 
in Indiana, emigrated from Kentucky and was admitted to the bar of Put- 
nam county in April, 1S33. In October following John C. Childs, another 
Kentuckian. was admitted to practice and in March, 1835, Edward \V. Mc- 
Gaughey, the son of Arthur ^IcGaughey. the clerk of the county, was like- 
wise added to the roll of attorneys practicing in Putnam county. 

The office of associate judge ha\ing been abolished James Hughes was 
made circuit judge for a period of six years, but having resigned before the 
expiration of his term. James M. ?Ianna and Ambrose B. Carleton in succes- 
sion were appointed to fill the vacancy. In March. 1857, Judge Hanna. hav- 
ing lieen regularly elected in the preceding fall, resumed his place on the 
bench, but ere long he again resigned, whereupon Solomon Claypool was 
chosen to fill out the unexpired term. In April. 1865, Judge Eckels returned 
to the bench and served until October. 1S70. being succeeded by William M. 
Franklin, who filled out the remainder of Judge Eckels' term. In 1872 Solon 



^8 vveik's history of 

Turman was elected and continued to serve until his death in i88_'. Since 
Judge Tumian's death the judges of the thirteenth circuit, which includes 
Clay and Putnam counties, in the order named have been Sdas D. Coffey, 
Samuel AI. McGregor, Presley O. Colliver and John M. Rawley, the present 
incumbent. 

When the county was first organized the probate business was transacted 
by the associate judges, but after 1828 a judge was appointed to take charge 
of all probate matters. The first one to officiate in that capacity was Joseph 
F. Farley, who, as appears from the record, served till the close of the year 
1830. Judge Farley was born in Shelby county. Kentucky. April 15, 1791, 
and early in life joined an expedition against the Indians who had committed . 
the Pigeon Roost massacre in this state. Later he was a soldier in the war 
of 1812. serving in Richard M. Johnson's regiment in the battle of the 
Thames. An incident occurred after the latter engagement which in later 
years the Judge was fond of narrating. After the death of Tecumseh many 
of the white soldiers gathered about the body to secure some souvenir of the 
dead chieftain. One of the fomier called Farley aside and exhibited a piece 
of skin which he had stripped from Tecumseh"s back and which he coolly pro- 
posed to take home with him and use for a razor strop. The revelation not 
only shocked but aroused Farley. He denounced it instantly as a wanton, in- 
human and barbaric desecration. "It is unworthy a brave soldier and espe- 
ciallv a Kentuckian," he exclaimed angrily. " and if my comrades are so lost 
to all sense of decency and humanity as to mutilate the dead body of a fallen 
enemy, even though I have no authority to prevent it. I shall not look upon 
their hideous work." He was as good as his word and. deaf to all arguments, 
nothing could induce him to look upon the body of the dead Indian. When 
the office of county auditor was created Judge Farley was the first incumbent 
of the same, serving till November. 1855. In 183J he was associated with 
John C. Chikls in the editorship of The Hoosicr, the first newspaper ever 
published in the county. He died in Greencastle August 6. 1868. Judge 
Farley's successors in charge of the probate court were John Cowgill. George 
F. Watennan. Reese Hardesty and William Lee, in the order named. The 
last probate judge in the county was Robert Glidewell. who filled the position 
from May, 1846, until 1851. when the probate court, so-called, was abolished 
or superseded by the court of common pleas after the adoption of the new 
constitution. From the latter date until 1873. when the court of common 
pleas was also abolished by the Legislature, the following persons in the order 
named presided over that court: John Cowgill. Frederick T. Brown. Wil- 
liam M. Franklin and Harrison Burns. 



PUTNAM COUNTY, INDIANA. 59 



LAWYERS OF PUTNAM COUNTY BAR. 

Some of the greatest lawyers in the state have at one time or another 
appeared in our courts and our local bar has always been held in the highest 
regard for its ability, skill and devotion to professional ethics. Thus far 
the records fail to show a single case of disbannent or the evidence of the be- 
trayal of a trust. The following attorneys have, at various times, been 
practitioners in our courts: John Law, Hugh L. Livingston, Thomas F. G. 
Adams, Craven P. Hester, Cephas D. Morris, Moses Cox, Robert Glidewell, 
Joseph F. Farley, Henry Secrest, Delana R. Eckels, Tobed E. Beard. Henry 
C. Brown, Samuel Judah, James Farrington, Thomas H. Blake. Reuben C. 
Gregory, Richard W. Thompson, Amory Kinney, John P. L'sher, Edward 
W. McGaughey. Addison L. Roach, James M. Gregg, Christian C. Nave, 
David McDonald, Jonathan D. Harvey, Tilghman A. Howard, Joseph A. 
Wright. George L. Waterman. Joseph E. MclDonald, John Cowgill, Crom- 
well W. Barbour. Samuel B. Gookins, Oliver H. P. Ash, Thomas H. Nelson, 
Daniel W. Voorhees, Harvey D. Scott, Solomon Claypool, William A. Mc- 
Kenzie, Caleb B. Smith. Oliver H. Smith, James Whitcomb, John A. Matson, 
Russell L. Hathawav, Delana E. Williamson, James M. Hanna. William K. 
Edwards. John P. Baird. Isaac N. Pierce. Chilton A. Darnall. Columbus D. 
Seller. Plenry \V. Daniels. John C. Turk. John Hanna. Addison Daggy, Reu- 
ben S. Ragan. Diilard C. Donnohue. Justice S. Bachelder. James A. Craw- 
ley, William PI. Xye. Ruljert M. Crane. Milton A. Osborn. John S. Jennings. 
Alarshall A. Moore, James J. Smiley. Frederick T. Brown, Willis G. Neff. 
John Starr. Henry H. Mathias. James S. Xutt. Jonathan Birch. Weller P.. 
Smith. Gustavus H. Voss. William A. Brown, Courtland C. Matson. Joseph 
S. McClary, Henry I\[artin. Lucius P. Chapin, John R. Miller, Thomas Hanna. 
Granville C. Moore. Thomas Brannan. Tarvin C. Grooms. W'illiam S. Eckels. 
George .\. Knight. Silas D. Coffey. William W. Carter, Samuel McGregor. 
John M. Rawley. William R. Guthrie, Charles E. Matson. Allen T. Rose. 
George D. Peters, Curtis Compton. John R. Gordon, Silas A. Hays. Thomas 
T. Moore, John P. .\llee. Benjamin F. Corwin. John D. Reed. Henry C. 
Lewis. J(jhn H. James. James T. Denny. Charles T. Peck. R, P, Carpenter. 
Francis M, Lyon. William H, H. Cullen. Jackson Boyd. Theodore Crawley. 
James F. O'Brien, James P. Hughes. Alonzo F. Jacobs. William M. Sntherlin. 
C. C. Gillen. .Arthur Stevenson. George Blake, George M. Wilson, Charles 
Mc(iaughey and .\ndrew E. Durham. 



6o weik's history of 



COUNTY CLERKS. 

The first clerk of Putnam county was Arthur McGaughey, whose term 
of service extended from the time of the organization of the county in 1822 
until April, 1S43. His successors were William S. Townsend, who served 
till 1850; Jacob McGinnis. till 1859; Melvin McKee, 1867; Henry C. Priest, 
1873; Milford-B. Rudisill, 1874; Moses D. Bridges, 1882; John W. Lee, 
1890; Daniel T. Darnall, 1898; and John W. Houck, 1902. The present in- 
cumbent of the office is James L. Hamilton, who was elected in 1902. 

COUNTY AUDITORS. 

Until 185 1 the duties of clerk and auditor were performed by one person, 
but after that the offices were separated. The first auditor was Joseph F. 
Farley, whose term expired in 1855. He was followed by Samuel Woodruff, 
who served till 1863 ; Elijah T. Keightley, till 1866; Henry W. Daniels, 1867; 
William S. Mulholn, 1875; Harrison M. Randel. 1879; James Edwards, 
1883; McCamey Hartley, 1887; James L. Randel, 1891 ; George M. Black, 
1895; William L. Denman, 1899; Peter F. Stoner, 1903; and Clement C. 
Hurst, 1907; Daniel V. Mofifett. the present incumbent, was elected in 1906. 



The first sheriff was William W. Mcintosh, who. after a long period of 
service, was succeeded by George Secrest. Fielding Priest came next and 
served till 1836; David Rudisill till 1840; Edward R. Kercheval, 1844; Archi- 
bald Johnson, 1848; Joseph Collier, 1852; Joseph Siddons. 1854; Anderson 
Johnson, 1856; William L. Farrow, 1858; John R. ]Mahan. i860; William 
S. Collier. 1862; John McKee, 1S64; Green Burrow, 1866; John S. Apple- 
gate, 1867; Levi Woodaim, 1868; George W. Sherrill. 1872; James Stone. 
1876; Closes T. Lewman, 1880; James Brandon. 1884; Leander L. Lewis, 
1S88; William B. Vestal, 1892; Francis M. Glidewell. 1S96: Richard Buntin, 
1900; John F. Cooper, 1904; David Maze, 1908; Frank M. Stroube. the pres- 
ent incumbent, was elected in 1908. 

COUNTY TREASURERS. 

James Talbott was the first county treasurer, having been elected to that 
office bv the countv commissioners in 1S28; James McAchran, Isaac Mahan, 



PUTNAM COUNTY, INDIANA. 



6i 



Samuel Woodrutt and Edward R. Kercheval appear to have filled the office 
until 1855, when Isaac Wright was elected; Wright served till 1857, being 
succeeded by John Gilmore, who served till 1861 ; Samuel E. Parks, till 1863; 
James G. Edwards, 1865; William E. D. Barnett, 1867; Joseph B. Sellers, 
1869; John Gilmore, 1871; Harrison M. Randel, 1875; Richard S. Farrow, 
1879; Henry Hillis, 1881 ; William R. Grogan, 1885; Ephraim Tucker. 1889; 
Willard Bowen, 1893; George W. Hughes, 1897; James Browning, 1901 ; 
John Edwards. 1905 ; and Edward McG. Walls, 1909. The pfesent treasurer 
is Jasper Miller. 

RECORDERS. 

Originally the clerk performed the duties of the recorder of deeds also, 
but in 1836 a recorder was chosen in the person of William E. Talbott, who 
served as such till 1842, when David Rudisill took the office and filled it till 
1850. William Lee succeeded him. serving till 1855; next William H. Shields, 
till 1859; CHnton Walls, 1867; John Crane, 1875; George Owens. 1879: 
Daniel Mahoney, 1887; Daniel Hurst, 1895; Benjamin Harris, 1903; Henry 
Blue. 1907: Lawrence Athey, the present incumbent, was elected to succeed 
Mr. Blue. 

SURVEYORS. 

The following persons have performed the duties of surveyor: Joseph 
S. Patterson and Robert Glidewell from the date of the organization of the 
county till 1832; William H. Shields, till 1841 ; Samuel H. Catherwood, 1843; 
William H. Shields, 1854; John McClaskey, 1856; Lewis H. Rudisill, 1858; 
John McClaskey, i860; Lewis H. Rudisill, 1862; Harrison M. Randel. 1870: 
Philip Rudisill. 1872; Joseph Frakes, 1874; William H. Hedges, 1876; 
George Hendricks, 1880; Ransom H. Walls, 1886; James F. O'Brien. 1898; 
Arthur Plummer. 1903. Since the latter date Aleck Lane has been chosen to 
fill the office. 

COUNTY COMMISSIONERS. 

Another court of quite as much if not greater importance than either the 
circuit or probate courts was the commissioners' court. From the record of 
its proceedings we learn much of the earlier history of the county. L'n- 
fortunatelv for us. however, as explained in a former chapter, the record 



62 weik's history of 

from the organization of the county in 1822 until 1828 has been lost or de- 
stroyed so that we must accept as true some things during the period named 
which can not be verified by the highest grade of proof known to the law, 
viz. : a written record made at the time the action or transaction took place. 
Beginning with 1828. however, the record is complete and as no better idea 
of the nature and extent of the county's development can elsewhere be ob- 
tained the liberty will be taken to reproduce here, although without attempt- 
ing to conform to any particular order or arrangement, such items as will 
tend to afford us the required light. In May, 1828, the business of the county 
was intrusted to what was called the board of county justices. It consisted 
at that time of sixteen justices of the peace as follows: John Hubbard, who 
was the president; George Mcintosh. Eli Brackney, William Elrod, Alex- 
ander Galbreath. John Denny, John Swift. Arthur Mahorney. Peter Gilstrop, 
Thomas Heady, Benjamin Wright. William McCarty, John Reel, Joshua 
Gillet. David Lindley and David Swank. Their first act after convening 
May 5. 1828, was to elect a county treasurer. But one ballot was taken, result- 
ing in the election of James Talbott. who received eleven votes as against 
five cast for Isaac Ash. Pleasant S. Wilson was appointed keeper of the 
public pound, at fifty cents per day, and the clerk was authorized to issue- 
license to David Rudisill and Philip Carpenter to "retail spiritous liquors and 
vend foreign merchandise"' for twelve months. One item in the record for 
this term will serve to indicate not only the style of architecture then in vogue 
but the county commissioners' idea of art as follows : "Ordered that the 
plan of the painting of the first and third story of the cupola of the court house 
be changed from red to white." The board also fixed the rate of taxation 
for county purposes, the same to be : "Twenty-five cents on each poll ; horses, 
twenty-five cents; oxen, twelve and one-half cents; gold watches, one dollar; 
silver watches, twenty-five cents; brass clocks, one dollar; town lots, fifty 
cents on each one hundred dollars; pinchbeck watches, twenty -five cents." 
At the January term in 1829 it was "ordered that John F. Seller be allowed the 
sum of four dollars for dieting ( ?) prisoners, etc."' 

THE FIRST COURT HOUSE. 

We have already seen that as late as 1826 the circuit court met at the 
house of Joseph Orr on the north side of the public square. After that, there 
being no further mention in the records of the court having met at a private 
house, it is presumed that the county had, meanwhile, erected some sort of a 
court house; but what style of building it was, how large, what it cost or 



PUTNAM COUNTY, INDIANA. 63 

when completed cannot now be determined for the reason, already mentioned, 
that the records of the county commissioners' court prior to 1828 are not on 
hie. 

At the September, 1828, term of the commissioners' court we find an 
order that "the agent of the county be and he is authorized to pay over as fast 
as he can collect, the money that may become due to Amos Robertson on the 
last payment on the court house contract," and at the May term, 1829, a com- 
mittee consisting of John Reel, Eli Brackney, Alexander Galbreath, Isaac 
Alahan and John Denny make the following report: "We, the undersigned, 
being your committee appointed to examine the situation of the court house, 
have proceeded to examine the same and beg leave to report that we find the 
same in an untinislied situation." The committee was further directed to 
meet in Greencastle on the "first Saturday in June next to settle with Amos 
Robertson ; to estimate the amount of money that may probably be expended 
on the court house during the present year; to engage workmen on the best 
terms to finish the house and to make any necessary arrangement in relation 
to the partial or total continuance of the work." Meanwhile it would seem 
as if Robertson had failed to complete the building or in some other way 
had defaulted in his contract for. in July. 1829. the record shows that the 
commissioners enteretl into a contract with Arthur McGaughey who for six 
hundred ninety-nine dollars and ninety-three cents had agreed to finish the 
court house by September, 1830. Of this sum, one hundred fifty dollars was 
advanced to McGaughey before the close of the July term. Among other 
orders issued by the board at this session was one appointing Isaac Mahan 
"agent for the management of the Publick Spring," with authority to contract 
with Charles Secrest for clearing ofif the timber from the lot and sowing it in 
blue grass and "when the same is done said Charles shall be freed from any 
right of action that may heretofore have accrued to the county by any trespass 
heretofore by him said Charles done on said lot." 

Meanwhile, the court house committee at the September term, 1829, ap- 
pear and report the court house "complete with the exception of one Venetian 
l)lind in the northwest corner of said house — upper window," and at the Janu- 
ary term in the next year it is "ordered that Amos Robertson be allowed 
three hundred fifty- four dollars and forty-four cents so soon as the board 
finds the treasurv' able to discharge the same." Although the county now had 
a court house, yet it soon became too small and inadequate for the growing 
business of the new community. Within two years it was found necessary 
to erect a separate building for the use of the clerk and recorder. 



64 



WEIK S HISTORY OF 



At the May term, 1833, the records show an order directing that "the 
clerk's office be built ten feet west of Indiana street and ten feet north of 
Washington street fronting west." At the November term in the same year 
it was ordered that "the clerk's office be removed to the south end of the 
building erected for that purpose and that the recorder's office be removed 
to the north end of the same building forthwith, that the work on the inside 
thereof be received by the board and that Isaac Mahan be allowed one hun- 
dred dollars for work done in erecting said offices." Prior to this the clerk's 
office was in private quarters, for we find an order directing a payment to 
John Hammond of "twelve dollars and sixty-six and two-third cents for 
house rent for clerk's office." That even after the erection of the new build- 
ing for the clerk's office there was more or less friction is shown by an order 
made at the November, 1835, tenn of the commissioners' court, directing 
"that the two rooms heretofore built for the use of the clerk and recorder of 
this county be from this time forward considered as a clerk's office only and 
that the clerk fix the same to suit himself at his own expense." A year fol- 
lowing this entry appears in the record : "The order heretofore issued allow- 
ing the clerk the use of the recorder's office is hereby rescinded and the re- 
corder is informed thereof and directed to remove the books and papers of his 
office to said room." 

Meanwhile the entries in the record at this period relating to the matter 
of a court house are more or less confusing — so much so, in fact, that it is 
difficult to determine whether they relate to a court house built before 1828 
and left unfinished or to a new building then under construction. For in- 
stance at the November term. 1833, it was "ordered that Thomas Gibbs be 
allowed thirty-five dollars for work done plastering the court house." At the 
March temi, 1834, it was further ordered that John Cowgill be appointed to 
take charge of the court house and see that it sustains no damage from any 
quarter whatever and that for the purpose aforesaid he is authorized and re- 
quired to take the kevs of said house and to incur any small expense in secur- 
ing the windows and doors." Again at the September term in the same year 
it is recorded that "the committy after examining the plastering of the 
court house do think the plastering strong and that it ought to be and by the 
full board is received and that Thomas Gibbs be allowed a further payment 
of sixty-five dollars on his contract." At the November term, also, in the 
same year Isaac Mahan, Peter \\'. Applegate and Pleasant S. Wilson were 
appointed a "committee to contract with competent persons to repair the court 
house, that is to sav, the window blinds, window glass and window bolts so 
as to secure the windows inside from being opened outside and the doors 
also, together with the repairs of the chimneys." 



PUTXA.\[ COL'XTV, INDIANA. 



ERECTION OF A JAIL. 



In Noxeniber, 1836, Isaac Mahan, Wesley White and Hudson Brack- 
ney were directed to superintend the "building and erecting of a new jail with 
power to act in their sound discretion." In May. 1840, the "conmnttee on 
erection of new jail for Putnam county" report that they have contracted for 
the erection of a building thirty-si.x b\' twenty-se\en feet siiuare. of brick and 
two stories high, the "debtor's room to be furnished strong and plain, with 
fire-place and substantial oaken door. The criminal room to be built inside 
the brick wall, with oak timl^er nine inches si[uare. One iron door and one 
oak door, one and one-half inches thick — flooring throughout of oak." Sam- 
uel Taylor and James M. Grooms w ere appointed superintendents. The rec- 
ord does not indicate precisely when the new jail was completed, but at a 
session of the commissioners' court in December. 1841. it was reported that 
the edifice was insecure, whereupon it was "ordered that the inside be lined 
with two-inch oak plank and that iron ijars be placed around doors and win- 
dows of the thickness of one-half inch and in width four inches. The planks 
spiked with wrought-iron spikes five inches long — the bars around the doors 
and windows to be counter-sunk to the heads of the spikes." John S. Jen- 
nings was appointed superintendent and an order was made to sell the old 
jail, the proceeds to be applied to fence around jail lot. A large jail was un- 
necessary, for on examining the records of the twenty-eight criminal causes 
tried in the spring of 184J, we learn that fourteen of them were for unlaw- 
ful sale of liquor, si.x for horse racing, four for assault and batterv, one for 
carrying concealed weapons and three for gaming. 

For several years after the organization of the county there was no 
central place to which the indigent poor or those who were charges on the 
public could be taken, but in Januan,', 1836, the commissioners decided to 
provide an asylum for such cases and to that end purchased of Henry Batter- 
ton a farm in Marion township, which is still owned by Putnam county. In 
March James Mc.Xchren, John Duckworth, John Collings and Anderson B. 
Mathew s were appointed a committee to superintend the construction of neces- 
■sary buildings thereon. The record further states that Daniel Chadd was 
appointed visitor to the poor farm and that his duties were to make sugges- 
tions from time to time to the county Ix^ard regarding the management there- 
of. William Patrick was engaged as superintendent at thirteen dollars per 
month and Dr. William E. Talbott as phvsician. 
(5) 



66 WEIKS HISTORY OF 



A NEW COURT HOUSE NEEDED. 

As the population and business of the county continued to grow the pub- 
lic buildings soon became more or less inadequate. At the March term, 1844, 
of the countv commissioners' court a motion carried appointing a committee 
consisting of one justice of the peace from each township to inquire into the 
probable e.xpense of erecting new offices for the clerk, auditor and recorder, to 
be made fire-proof of adequate size, etc. The committee consisted of the 
following : L. B. Harris, Washington township ; J. L. Merrill, Warren ; D. 
Scott, Jeff'erson; A. Van Dyke, Marion; John Miller, Greencastle; Levi Mann, 
Madison; Caleb C. Osborn, Clinton; Dillard C. Donnohue, Monroe; A. B. 
Mathews, Floyd; William M. Saunders, Jackson; Thomas Miller, Franklin, 
and John Leaton, Russell. This committee at the June meeting reported 
that the existing clerk's and recorder's office were reasonably "fire-proof and 
that further expense upon said office would be improper." The matter of 
new or improved facilities for storing and caring for the public records — in 
other words the project of a new court house — was thus laid aside for the 
time. But it did not slumber long, for in 1846 at the March term of the com- 
missioners' court, Delana R. Eckels moved the adoption of the following 
resolution : "Resolved, That it is the duty of this board to take some prepara- 
tory steps toward the erection of a sufficient court house for the transaction 
of public business, and the convenience of the people of Putnam county." A 
spirited and somewhat acrimonious argument followed, but on the call of the 
aves and noes the new court house partisans were successful by a majority of 
seven as follows : Ayes — James Athey, Lloyd B. Harris, Thomas Shipman, 
Thomas Morris, William McKinley, John S. Jennings, William W. Berry, 
John Miller, Samuel Adams, Caleb B. Osborn. James Johnson, Joseph Albin, 
Stacv R. Youn-^man, Dillard C. Donnohue, James L. Boyd, James B. Wilson 
and John Leaton. seventeen. Noes — John M. Purcell. Curran E. Swift. 
David Barnes, Isaac Hurst. Ouinton Van Dyke. Robert Case, William Per- 
kins, William Sanders. Thomas Miller and Sylvester \V. Perry, ten. The 
board thereupon appointed John K. Dawson, John Reel, Francis Dunlavy, 
William Arnold and Xorval F. Kennedy a committee to prepare plans and 
receive bids for the material and for the construction of a court house. The 
record further shows that at the September term, 1846, on motion of John S. 
Tennino-s, it was ordered that the new court house to be built should be sixty- 
fi\-e feet long and fifty feet wide and that the cost should not exceed eight 
thousand dollars. It was further ordered that Elisha Braman be authorized 



PUTNAM COLNTY, IXDIAXA. 67 

to prepare a draft or plans of the new structure, the same to be deposited with 
the auditor, who should give public notice that bids for the erection of the 
building would be received on the second day of the December term. Bra- 
man's plans were accepted and the board thanked him and made him a small 
allowance, \^'hen the bids were opened on December 9th it was found that 
Elisha .Adamson was the lowest bidder, his figures being eight thousand five 
hundred dollars. He was duly awarded the contract, with George K. Steele 
and John Sunderland as his sureties. The old court house was at the same 
time sold for one hundred fifty-one dollars to William S. Collier, who was 
required to remove it before the following June. Isaac Mahan was appointed 
superintendent of constmction. During the erection of the new building it 
was "ordered that the several courts be held in the county- seminary and the 
county clerk establish his office in some suitable room on the pubHc square." 
The construction of the new building was, therefore, begun about July, 1847. 
At the December term of the commissioners' court, contractor Elisha Adam- 
son presented the following report of his operations up to that time: 

"^75/^2 perch stone at $2.00 S 351.00 

"Digging 9.54 

'■'118,800 Brick at S6.50 772.20 

"132 feet Collums at $2.00 264.00 

"Collum Caps 50.00 

"Original Brick and stone work finished 3.300.00 

"Amount of carpenter work done 3.500.00 

$8,246.74 
"Orders issued to E. .-Xdamson 1.920.00 



$6,326.74 
"E. Adamson. 
"Greencastle, Dec. 6." 

At the Alarch, 184S. term of court it was ordered that contractor Adam- 
son be directed to omit the vaults marked in the draft under the stairways in 
the court house, he having agreed to deduct from the amount of his original 
contract the sum of twenty- four dollars in consideration thereof. The board 
also agreed to receive "the brick pilaster caps when well plastered with water 
lime cement instead of the wooden caps ordered in the original specifications." 
At the June temi, 1S48, it was ordered by the board that Elisha Adamson be 



68 weik's history of 

instructed to varnish the judge's seat in the new court house, provided it 
costs no more than the painting would cost if done according to contract." 
Also that Isaac Alahan, Samuel Emerson and Abraham Moore be "authorized 
to superintend the completion of court room, to procure three dozen round 
arm-chairs for court room, three dozen painted split-bottom chairs for grand 
and petit jury rooms and procure a carpet." September 4, 1848, the board 
met in the county seminary building. ''Elisha Adamson receipted for two 
thousand si.x hundred sixty-four dollars and ninety-two cents in full for bal- 
ance due on court house contract, and announced that the court house was 
complete and officers authorized to move in as soon as practicable." Isaac 
Mahan and Joseph Collier appointed a "committee to grade the court house 
yard, furnish suitable stoves and pipes and have rock fixed under conductors 
to carry off water, also to sell old clerk's and recorder's office for the best 
possible price."' December 5, 1848, "ordered that sheriff have authority to 
rent for an office one of the jury rooms below in the court house to William 
A. McKenzie." On March 6, 1849, "ordered that common council of Green- 
castle and their officers may use middle room on west side of the court house 
below the stairs, when unoccupied by court or juries, for fifty cents per 
month." June 5, 1850, John Cowgill, James Jones, Clinton Walls, William 
Albin, Samuel M. Dyer, James Sill and John S. Jennings appointed trustees 
of county library-. Clinton Walls as agent to collect scattered volumes and 
replace in library. The library to be for the present in middle room, west 
side down stairs, of court house." September 4, 1S50, "ordered that middle 
room down stairs on west side of court house be rented to Chilton A. Darnall 
for law office at one dollar and twenty-five cents per month, and northwest 
corner room below to Delana R. Eckels at the same rental." 

The court house was now complete and no longer the occasion for the 
fruitless and irritating controversy which its construction awakened. A 
plain but classic structure, with massive columns at either end, it stood for 
years, like some mute sentinel, o'ertopping every other building within its 
view. Larger and more capacious than necessary, its builders nevertheless 
looked beyond their needs and builded for the future. And lo, the future 
was not far away, for within fifty years it was found to be greatly inadequate 
and unsuited to the new century's requirements. To dwell on the develop- 
ment of the beautiful and artistic structure which now graces our public 
square would be an unnecessary repetition, for every school boy knows its 
history and almost every one, "citizen and sojourner" alike, saw it but a few 
days ago rise majestically from a heap of earth and sand and shapeless rock 
to a graceful and prepossessing combination of steel and glass and sculptured 
stone. 



PUTNAM COUNTY, INDIANA. 69 



THE PRESENT COURT HOUSE. 

The first step towards its construction was an act of the Legislature of 
1901. introduced by our representative, Hon. John H. James, which author- 
ized a special election in the county on the proposition of a court house build- 
ing at a cost of not e.Kceeding one hundred and fifty thousand dollars. The 
election was held in 1903 and by a ver)' significant and substantial majority 
the voters fa\ored the court house. A board of construction, consisting of 
the three county commissioners, T. D. Brookshire, V. B. McCammack and 
Samuel H. Judy, and three other well-known citizens, George W. Hanna, 
James McD. Hays and James L. Randel, was organized and to their viligance, 
firmness, honesty and good sense do we owe much of the success of this great 
enterprise. After e.xamining many plans, they accepted those prepared by 
J. W. Gaddis. an architect living in Vincennes. On July 29, 1903, a contract 
to erect the building was made with Caldwell & Drake, of Columbus, Indiana, 
and as soon thereafter as the old building, which was sold to Andrew Black 
and James B. Nelson for twenty-seven dollars, could be removed the new one 
was begun. The comer stone was laid October 29, 1903. and the building 
completed and dedicated July 4, 1905. A bronze memorial tablet on the wall 
of the rotunda fi.xes the cost of the building at $144,977.13 ; heating plant and 
sewer, $17,385.69: furnishings, S13. 366.60, or a total of $175,729.68. 



CHAPTER IV. 

EARLY SETTLERS AND INCIDENTS. 

As late as 1836 the county clerk, by order of the commissioners, was 
issuing certiticates for two dollars to any one who might kill a wolf over six 
months old "and half that sum for wolves under six months;" all of which 
goes to prove that the transition from the blazed trail and greased paper 
window to the railroad and the daily paper is after all a slow and labored 
evolution. 

The early settlers of Putnam county were as healthy, vigorous and as 
susceptible to social and moral improvements as any other community of like 
environment. Comprised mainly of the more progressive and adventurous 
spiri^ from Kentucky, Tennessee, North Carolina and other older- states, 
they were easily inured to the privations and lack of comfort which life in 
a new country invariably necessitates. "The moral character of these early 
settlers," says one writer, "was generally of a high order. They were honest 
in their dealings, industrious by habit and charitable toward their neighbors. 
That they were deeply imbued with the principles of the Christian religion 
may be inferred from their very early establishment of various church organi- 
zations. On the contrar}-. that they were subject to some of the vices incident 
to the time in which they lived need not be concealed. But. they possessed 
within themselves the elements of their own correction." 

No better history can be written, nothing more vividly reproduced than 
the recollections by our forefathers of their early days in the isolation and 
solitude of the wilderness; and from such sources are we made to realize how 
the pioneers lived; how, in spite of adverse conditions, they developed and 
how^ much we of this day and generation are indebted to them for the com- 
forts we ourselves enjoy. As a faithful portrayal of primitive conditions in 
Putnam county, I take the liberty of quoting from a paper read before the 
Putnam County Historical Society on "Old Landmarks" by Albert Lock- 
ridge in May. 1895. "Almost eveiy witness of the earliest days in Putnam 
county." said Mr. Lockridge, "has gone to his reward and yet. strange to 
relate, one of these who was here when the county was created and who helped 
to mould it into one of the political divisions of our great state is still living. 
I refer to Thomas Jackson, of Marion township. Bom in Bourbon county. 



PUTNAM COUXTY, IXDIAXA. J I 

Kentucky, Alay j8, 1798. he is still well preserved pliysically and nientallv and 
an interesting specimen of the hardy and adventurous pioneer. The writer 
recently visited him and gleaned from his reminiscences many items of early 
history that ought not to be lost. Speaking of his arrival in Putnam countv. 
he said it was an unbroken wilderness. One of his neighbors was Samuel 
Chadd and together they planted and cultivated a crop of corn, exchanging 
work. Mr. Jackson — or Uncle Tommy, as he is generally known — did the 
plowing and Chadd manipulated the hoe. The harness and plow were of the 
most primitive type, the former simply a shuck collar with linn tugs, and 
the plow of the usual mold-board variety. The linn bark, — that is. the inner 
bark of the linden tree. — from which tug. straps, strings and thongs were 
made, was first soaked in a neighboring 1)ranch' until it became soft and 
pliant, when it was doubled antl twisted into various sizes according to the 
use for which it was intended. It was also used for bed cords, well-sweeps 
and plow lines. It is also safe to infer that four or five feet of the larger size 
was occasionally used judiciously and with apparent profit in disciplining an 
indolent or refractory plow-boy. 

"Clearing the timber was a difficult ami laborious operation. Water 
stood everywhere through the dark woods and the settlers had to wade in it 
up to their knees, sometimes, as they felled and carried the logs with hand- 
pikes to the huge heaps. Mr. Jackson related that after fifteen or twenty 
successi\ e days of such laborious toil the pioneer, hardy though he was, would 
be well nigh fagged out. While in his youth in Kentucky Uncle Tommv 
managed to save a hundred dollars. Returning to that state for it, he had 
to give fifty of it to get what was called 'land-ofiice money," — that is, silver. 
He agam set out for Indiana and with his uncle, James Lightall, entered one 
hundred sixty acres of land in what is a portion of the Terry farm in the 
eastern part of Putnam county. This was his first entiy. Later he sold 
his interest for three hundred dollars and entered the land on which he now 
li\'es. 

"At that time there were several Indian camps in the neighborhood, two 
on what is now the writer's fann in Marion township, and one on the Nichola.s 
Cofifman tract on the right bank of Big Walnut creek. Uncle Tommv fre- 
quently visited these camps, for the Indians were very friendly. He related 
that he was at a camp on one occasion when the Indians were preparing a 
feast by cooking a coon in a kettle. With an Indian's habitual contempt for 
cleanliness, they were cooking the animal with the customar}- 'trimmings' ; 
that is with the hair, hide and claws. When this smoking mess was skill fullv 
harpooned out of the kettle by a greasy squaw, Uncle Tommv was in\ited 



J2 WEIK S HISTORY OF 

to dine ; but his appetite for dinner had vanished and with the usual protesta- 
tion of thanks he felt impelled to decline the invitation. It was at this same 
camp on Big Walnut that he saw the grave of an Indian only recently buried. 
The mound was enclosed in a mde pen built of buckeye logs which the red 
men had cut into proper lengths with their tomahawks. This barrier of logs 
had been erected to keep wild animals from digging up the body. 

"Church services in the early days of Putnam county were held princi- 
pally at camp-meetings and occasionally in the primitive school houses, there 
being no meeting houses. At one time a very strong and noted preacher held 
protracted meeting in the school house. He awakened a deep interest among 
the settlers, which in some cases has left its imprint to this day. While in 
attendance at one of the meetings. Uncle Tommy saw a woman run up into 
the pulpit to receive what was called a 'holy kiss' from the preacher, a cere- 
mony A\hich. if in practice at this day. would speedily result in an overcrowded 
ministry-. 

"The earlv grist-mills were vers- clumsy affairs, being run by water and 
in some cases horse power. One of these mills stood on the banks of Deer 
creek a short distance south of where Mr. Carmel church was erected in later 
years. It was owned and operated by Samuel Hazlett. Sometimes the miller 
was so overcrowded with grists that he would ha\e to place tallow dips in 
different parts of the mill so as to run at night. Stores, even of the usual 
country \arietv. had not yet found a place in the clearing, for on one occasion 
Uncle Tommv was forced to ride to Bloomington to buy a little coffee for 
his own use. He often accompanied James Woods, who was a noted hunter, 
in search of wild honey. On one of these expeditions he underwent an ex- 
perience, common enough in that day. but one which forever dispels the 
readilv accepted illusion that tight shoes and the mi.sery thereof fell entirely 
upon a later generation. He had worn a pair of deer-skin moccasins, but 
they became so tight from continually wading through the water, which stood 
in pools even-where, that when he returned home it was necessaiy to cut them 
off his feet with a knife. 

"Moccasins in that dav were frequently made with wooden soles. In 
the sumn:er season thev were ven- satisfactory, but when the snows of winter 
fell they were decidedly inconvenient. The snow w ould keep clogging up on 
the wooden soles, becoming thicker and thicker, and with each step the wearer 
rose in the air higher and higher until suddenly and without notice the mocca- 
sin would lose its burden and the owner drop down sideways or plunge head- 
long forward. 



PLT.VAM COl'NTY, INDIANA. 73 

"The horses of tlie settlers — fences Ijeing ahnost unknown — were hob- 
bled to keep tliem from getting o\'er the logs and straying off into the wilder- 
ness. The hoijbling was accomplished by tying the hind feet of the animal 
together. One day Uncle Tommy's horse strayed off into the forest and he 
and his neighbor. James Woods, set out in search of him. Before they had 
gone very far they came uiK)n a hear cub sitting or lying on top of a stump. 
Woods at once turned about to hasten home for his rifle. Just then there 
was a terrific scratching in a hollow tree nearby and presently the head of the 
old hear appeared at the top. As soon as the old animal espied the woodmen 
she flrew in her head and came tearing down. She reared up on her hind 
feet and waddled belligerently toward the men. ^Vith the quick sense of 
prompt action which life on the frontier seems to create. Woods jerked an 
axe out of the hands of EHck Miller, a man who had meanwhile joined the 
hunters, and speedily despatched the old bear and three of her cubs. 

'"On another occasion Uncle Tommy had gone over to Amos Robertson's 
house to get a bushel of salt. Robertson had made it his business to haul 
salt to the new settlement from the Ohio river. Xearing the forks of Eel. 
his horse shied at something ahead in the pathway, when suddenlv a large 
animal ran across and disappeared into a thicket. Uncle Tommy took it to 
be a hog. Xed Rogers coming along. Uncle Tommy told him what he had 
seen. In a short time Rogers reappeared with his dogs and gun and ere long 
they came ui)on the animal lying behind a log. Rogers at once fired at him. 
but his aim was too high and the bear started to mn. At this moment Dr. 
A. C. Stevenson, who was passing by. heard the noise and rode up. Learning 
\vhat had occiuTed. the Doctor set out after the bear and presently caught 
up with him. The dogs were snapping and biting at the big animal, who 
would endure it for a time and then rear up on his hind feet and fall back- 
wards in the hope that his weight would crush some of the irritating dogs. 
The battle continued thus with varying success until a man named Owens, 
\\ ho had joined the party, drew his rifle and despatched the bear." 

THE SPIRIT OF THE PIONEERS. 

Looking back, it is hard for us to belie\-e that our forefathers could be 
induced to lea\e conifortai)le homes in Kentucky, Tennessee. North Caro- 
lina and el-e\\hei"e. knowing the pri\ations that awaited them in the une.x- 
plored regions of central Indiana. But there is and always has been in the 
heart of man a restless desire to penetrate the new countries and no danger, 
no hardship, has ever been found formidable enough to deter the voung. 



74 



WEIK S HISTORY OF 



hardy and venturesome emigrant who sets out for the land of promise. That 
same spirit prompted the early navigators to cross the seas and scale the 
mountains and it will incite future generations to further deeds of daring and 
conquest till every part of the habitable globe shall have been peopled. 

"I left Tennessee with my wife and two children," relates an old Put- 
nam county settler, "with all my worldly goods in a cart drawn by one horse. 
On the wav my money gave out and I was forced to sell the cart and pack 
the goods on the horse, my wife riding with one child in her lap and the other 
behind her; I walked and led the horse. In this way I reached Indiana in 
1 82 1. I stopped for a time in Washington county to earn a little money be- 
fore coming to Putnam county. At first I had a hard time uf it, frequently 
walking several miles a day to work at fifty cents a day to procure corn for 
bread and seed. In a few years I was able to raise a crop and gradually ac- 
quire more land. 

CL.MM CLUBS. 

"There was a kind of freemasonry among the old settlers. They formed 
themselves into clubs, the workings of which were known only to themselves. 
They had their regular officers and their law was extreme against all intruders 
on their claims. Sometimes innocent persons were injured by these clubs, 
but they had their choice — to join the club and become acquainted with the 
wav of working or give up their land. Here are some of the by-laws of these 
claim-clubs which e.xisted in Putnam county and which many old pioneers 
will recognize : 

" 'Whereas, self-protection and the peaceable possession of property are 
essential to the happiness and prosperity of the people, and whereas reckless 
claim-jumpers and invidious wolves in human form are prowling through the 
country for the purpose of robbing the settlers of their claims and of the 
means of support, therefore be it resolved. 

■' ■( i) That we pledge ourselves to protect every member of this club 
in his rights of claim as against the presumption of adverse parties, without 
fear of the world, the flesh or the devil. 

"■(2) That no person shall be allowed to pre-empt or to purchase 
from the government any claim of a member of this club without the un- 
equivocal consent of the member. 

"'(3) That the filing of any intention to pre-empt in contravention 
of the right of any member hereof shall be regarded as an attempt to deprive 
one member of his rights under the eternal fitness of things and we pledge 



PUTNAM COUNTY, INDIANA. 75 

ourselves one to another to meet the offenders on the home stretch, with logic 
of hfe or death. 

" '(4) That a committee of three be chosen whose duty shall be to 
hear and adjust any disputes, evasions or disagreements that may arise with 
members of this club or any case where claims of members are in dispute 
with outside adverse claimants of any character whatever. 

" '(5) That we pledge ourseh'es to sustain and uphold our committees 
in the performance of their several duties and to enforce their decisions and 
adjudications to the very letter with force and arms if necessary. 

" '(6) That a cordial invitation is hereby extended to every citizen of 
the county to sign these by-laws and assist in their faithful execution and en- 
forcement." " 

The enforced exclusion from the outside world did not sadden the hearts 
of the early settlers or imbue them with melancholy reflections. Their spirits 
never drooped. They were happy rather than hopeless, co-operating with 
each other in every undertaking. This harmony of purpose and unity of ac- 
tion drew theiu together in a bond so strong and unyielding that the very 
foundations of society are now built upon it. They realized that, as they 
sowed, posterity would reap. 

SOCIAL CONDITIONS. 

"Their long isolation from outside society," writes one who was him- 
self an early settler, " frequently not seeing any one outside of their own fam- 
ilies for months, had caused a sort of bash fulness in the presence of strangers, 
which in some cases was never fully recovered from. But amongst them- 
selves, the feeling of jovially and sociability fairly boiled over and their many 
social meetings frequently became enthusiastic and genial in the highest de- 
gree. 

"I remember once of visiting a family in Putnam county that had seven 
daughters. On visiting the same family some years later and seeing none 
of the girls, I inquired what had become of them. The father informed me 
that he had married them off on the 'buckwheat straw principle." That is, 
when he wished the cattle to eat his straw, if he saw them anywhere about 
he would set the dogs on and drive them off. He said it wouldn't be long 
I^efore they would slip around and eat it all up. He had applied the same 
principle in marrying off his daughters. When a young man came to see 
them who was bright and he thought would make a good husband he would 
'go for" him and tell him he couldn't come to see his girls. It wouldn't be 
long l)efore they would get up a correspondence, meet in the neighborhood 



j6 weik's history of 

and make a match. The father always reluctantly gave his consent. In this 
wav the daughters were all married off and well settled in life." 

Life on the frontier, however, had its redeeming features. The men 
were universally vigorous and gifted with fine constitutions. There were 
none of the diseases that now afflict us and which are due to our superheated 
houses, lack of ventilation and over-indulgence in rich food. Their amuse- 
ments, though not so varied as the recreation we enjoy today, were none the 
less refreshing and appropriate. Their music was the hum of the spinning 
wheel and the loom and they were lulled to sleep by the hoot of the owl and 
the sighing of the wind through the forest. 

"When newcomers arri\'ed," relates an old settler, "they generally 
stopped with relations or former friends until they could select claims and 
build their own cabins. I remember one instance in which a cabin was oc- 
cupied by four families at the same time and in addition was the stopping 
place for travelers and land-hunters. So it will be seen that the house was 
crowded to its utmost capacity. When bed time arrived the first family 
would take the back part of the cabin and so filling up by families until the 
limit was reached. The young men slept in the wagons outside. In the 
morning those nearest the door arose first and went outside to dress. Meals 
were served on the hind end of a wagon and consisted of corn bread, butter- 
milk, fat pork and occasionally hot coffee to take away the morning chill. 
On Sunday they had a change, bread made out of wheat, trod by horses on 
the ground, cleaned with a sheet and ground with the com cracker by hand. 
This was the best the most particular could obtain and this only one day in 
seven. In giving this bill-of-fare I should have added meat, of which they 
had plenty. Deers could be seen daily trooping through the woods and wild 
turkeys without number. Bears were not uncommon. 

"Doctors were rather scarce and as a general rule the people did their 
own doctoring, or some handy, accommodating person in the neighborhood 
who had learned from wider experience a little more of the common ailments 
of the human system, as also the most natural relief for them, stood always 
ready to give the benefit of their superior knowledge and timely advice with- 
out cost to all the afflicted ones who called for their aid. 

"On account of the condition of the roads, traveling was done principal- 
ly on horseback. The value of a family horse was estimated according to 
the number he could carry. When the family increased beyond the capacity 
of his back there were always some by that time who could walk. 

"All the money that was brought to Putnam county to purchase land 
and stock was in currency and was paid out in large amounts. It was kept 



PUTNAM COUNTY. INDIANA. 



77 



by the farmers without tear of robbers. It is related by Anhur McGaughey 
that after he was elected clerk of the county he was in the habit of putting all 
the money he received in one of his wife's blue stockings and keeping it under 
the bed. When remonstrated with by a neighbor for his carelessness with 
the funds intrusted to his care, he answered : 'Tut. tut, man ; there is no 
vault in America as safe as my wife's stocking.' " 

AN INTERESTING REMINISCENCE. 

Though not conforming to chronological sequence or otherwise adhering 
to any particular order of presentation, yet as a faithful and vivid reproduc- 
tion of frontier life nothing can be more illuminative or impressive than the 
reflections of an early settler in Putnam county. J. D. Carter, who subsequent- 
ly moved to the west. His reminiscences, printed in one of our county papers, 
are of such real historic value the liberty is taken of reproducing portions of 
the same here. 

"All the experience of the early pioneers of Putnam county." he relates, 
"goes far to confirm the theory that happiness is pretty evenly balanced in this 
world. They had their own privations and hardships, but thev also had their 
own peculiar joys. .A. common interest and a common sympathv bound them 
together with the strongest ties. Neighbors didn't wait for an invitation to 
help each other. If there was a house-raising or a log-rolling, they came with 
as much alacrity as if they were all members of the same familv, bound to- 
gether by the ties of blood. The nature of their environments taught these 
earl}' settlers to dwell together in this manner; it was their only protection. 
They had come far aw ay from the well established reign of law and entered 
a new countr}-. Each man's protection was in the good will of those about 
him and the thing any man might well dread w as the ill-w ill of the communitv. 
It was more terrible than the law. 

"Brazil Pursell was one of the men who reached Putnam countv before 
I did. He was there on a prospecting and hunting excursion before Green- 
castle had been selected as the county seat. He and John Leroy on one oc- 
casion treed and finally captured a half-grown black bear. After a pro- 
tracted struggle, in which Leroy's hands and face were more or less lacerated 
the latter succeeded in binding his captive and taking him in triumph into 
camp. Subsequently he passed through Greencastle with his pet on his wav 
to the far West, but that place was a mere hamlet, there being but a few log 
cabins about the court house s([uare. Leroy was fond of telling the reason 
why breakfast was late one morning during his stay in Greencastle. The 



78 vveik's history of 

landlord had for some time realized that his larder was growing empty, but 
was in hourly expectation of supplies. The evening before the pantry had 
become bankrupt, but the host was in hopes his team would come with pro- 
visions before morning. But hope deferred maketh the heart sick. At early 
dawn the landlord looked wistfully in the direction he expected his wagon, 
but in vain. Finallv he mounted a horse and rode to a house down the road 
where he secured some meal and a half side of bacon and immediately re- 
turned home. The half-dozen hungry boarders sat in front of the log build- 
ino- pining for the flesh pots of civilization and soon their spirits arose and 
their mouths began to water. Far away to the northwest came the landlord 
riding like a jehu holding aloft the half-side of bacon as a sign of relief. 

"Mr. Pursell attended one of the first weddings in the county. The 
father of the bride spent several days riding about among the settlers in order 
to obtain flour enough to make the wedding-cake. He was unsuccessful and 
returned home much disappointed ; but the bride and her brother were equal 
to the emergency. They pounded com in a mortar dug out in the top of a 
stump, the pounding being done with an iron wedge attached to a pole which 
in turn was fastened to a sweep. Of the com pounded in this way the finest 
was taken for the wedding cake which, when sweetened with maple sugar 
and properly baked, was highly relished by the guests. 

"It is strange with what pride the pioneers speak of their old log cabins. 
I doubt if there was ever a happier people than those sheltered by them. 
With equal pride they speak of the one-legged bedstead, a piece of furniture 
long since obsolete. It was made of poles fastened into holes of the required 
size bored into the logs of the cabin. If set up in one corner of the room, as 
was often done, but one leg was required. Upon these poles clap-boards 
were laid or linn bark interwoven from pole to pole. Upon this primitive 
structure the bed lav. The convenience of a cook stove was not to be thought 
of; but instead the cooking was done by the faithful wife in pots, kettles and 
skillets in and about the big fireplace and very frequently over and around the 
distended pedal extremities of the lord of the household while he was indulg- 
ing in the luxury of a cob-pipe and discussing the probable result of a con- 
templated deer hunt up Big Walnut. 

"The mention of hunting reminds me of an incident which happened 
during one of my excursions into the wilds in quest of game. I was ac- 
companied by Samuel McNary- and when we were several miles southeast of 
Bainbridge we noticed a queer looking heap in the woods not far from our 
path. On approaching, we found to our dismay that beneath the mound of 
leaves and bark with his head and face only visible lay the form of a little 



PUTNAM COUXTY, IXDIAXA. 79 

boy. Remox'iiig the covering, we found him entirely nude save for a few 
rags around his neck and waist. Life being not extinct, we proceeded to 
divest ourselves of what wraps we could spare, for it was a cold, chilly day, 
and then took turns in carrying him to Bainbridge, where I secreted him in 
my harness shop until I borrowed some clothing from Aunt Milly Damall. 
Meanwhile I reported to the overseers of the poor, who were James O'Hair 
and John Cooper. They bound the boy over to me till he was twenty-one 
years of age. He was so emaciated that the bones in some places protruded 
through the skin and the wonder is that he survived. I raised and educated 
him and he became a useful man. Later investigation proved that he 
^vas descended from a good family on his mother's side. She being dead, 
his father, through dissipation and lost to every feeling of humanity, suffered 
the woman with whom he was living to drive the children from home. Sub- 
sequently two others were found and bound out. 

"Raising a crop the first year was an absolute necessity for the early set- 
tler. The failure of a crop meant more to him then than at anv time after- 
ward. I have seen a man cut down elm and linn trees so that the cattle might 
feed on the buds in order to get them through the long winter. In that case 
the man had arrived late in the fall and had been unable to secure feed, hence 
the necessity of turning the stock out to browse. In this way many of the 
settlers who came in late succeeded in bringing their stock through the winter. 
But they could not ha\e endured the siege much longer, as thev found in the 
spring that there was not much more vitality than was necessarv' on the 
part of the dumb brutes to enable them to get around and graze upon the new 
grass sufficiently to recruit their ^\•asted bodies. 

"Money was so scarce that but few of the newly-arrived immigrants 
had more than enough to secure their lands. They devoted their time and 
energies to clearing land and assisting each other in building cabins and roll- 
ing logs in the winter and spring months. It was often the case that after 
preparing the ground ready for the plow they would find their horses had 
strayed away, they having been turned loose to graze that the corn might be 
saved to feed while they were worked. Horses going astray frequently be- 
came a serious matter. Owing to the sparsely settled condition of the country- 
it was almost useless to make iiKjuiry. It was a well-established fact that when 
a horse tried to return to the country from which it was brought he took a 
direct line, paying no attention to roads or improvements if possible to o^et 
through, often climbing and descending bluff's which sometimes seem 
impassable. 



8o ' WEIK S HISTORY OF 

"After spending days and sometimes weeks in the fruitless search for 
their strav animals, the pioneers would return to find their families almost 
destitute for want of food. In such cases they never appealed to their more 
fortunate neighbors in vain. They often realized the beautiful saying of our 
Savior, 'It is more blessed to give than to receive.' It was not uncommon in 
such cases of misfortune that the families were compelled to live on bread 
and milk. The wild onion or ramp, so common at that time, was thj first 
\egetation in the spring and was eaten by the cows, causing their milk to be 
unfit for use. These, with many other annoyances common to a new country, 
caused some to become discouraged and leave the .country, but they were 
generally of that class who 'go back to their wives' folks.' 

"Some left and returned again. John Fosher, who lived in the northern 
part of the county and who never knew a person too poor to credit for a sack 
of corn meal, proposed to give those who wished to leave five bushels of meal 
if they would agree to give him ten bushels of corn should they return. Many 
accepted this offer. Mr. Kosher informed me that enough had returned and 
'acknowledged the corn' to more than remunerate him for all that he had 
given. 

"The agricultural implements of the early settlers were much in contrast 
with those of the present time. The only plows they had were what they 
styled 'cork-screws.' The mold-boards were of wood. Some say they 
would kick a man over the fence and kick at him three times after he was 
over. The old 'cork-screw' plows did good service and must be awarded 
the honor of first stirring the soil of Putnam county. It was quite a time 
before the introduction of the groimd-hog threshing machine. I have always 
wondered whv thev were not adopted as an implement of war. for they cer- 
tainly would have been formidable at short range to blind the advancing col- 
umns by throwing wheat in their eyes. There was no attachment for separat- 
ing the wheat from the chaff. It was put in bins and cleaned at leisure by 
sheet or wind-mill. Corn was gathered by snapping it from the stalk and 
throwing it on the ground, then gathering up by hand and putting it into 
a sledge or wagon and then it was hauled to some smooth place on the farm 
and thrown into a rick, after which all the neighbors would be invited to the 
husking, when they would proceed to husk and throw it in a pile, .preparatory 
to being hauled to the cril) and thrown in by hand. There was no such thing 
as a scoop-shovel to handle the grain with at that time. I suppose the labor 
performed in gathering the corn at present wages would have cost more than 
the corn was worth. 

"When hogs were sold they were weighed in the old-fashioned steelyard 
scales. Thev were weighed by taking the breeching off the horses and sus- 



t PUTNAM COU-N'TV. IXDIAXA. 8l 

pending the hogs in it one at a time while they were weighed. flie price was 
one dollar and fifty cents per hundred pounds for the best. They were 
driven on foot to some market on the Ohio river. The greatest loss I ever 
knew to be sustained by stock men in Putnam county was when they paid 
the above price for hogs. .\ number of years after^vard they used for weigh- 
ing the old fashioned beams with a bo.K to put the hog in. It never entered 
their minds to balance against the l)ox. but they subtracted the weight of the 
box from every hog. as they did the breeching, and when the present stock 
scales were first introduced I have known men to drive five miles to weigh in 
the box because the weigh-master failed to subtract the platform and frame 
around it from the weight of the hogs. So you will see that the old saying 
that our forefathers carried a stone in one end of the sack and the com in the 
other is about true after all. 

"The young man or v>oman of today, enjoying the blessings and com- 
forts of a modern home, can scarcely appreciate the tender and tearful leave- 
takings with which the pioneers left their cheerful and inviting homes in 
Kentucky for the new and unexplored lands of Putnam county. Though 
years ha\e come and gone, the memory of the relatives and friends who 
followed us to the turn in the lane will never be forgotten. Brave, self- 
sacrificing men and women were they who, severing the ties of home and 
kindred, set out for the perils and privations of pioneer life in the wilderness. 
I recall vi\idly the arrival of the immigrants who came in wagons, horse- 
back, on foot and in every conceivable shape. I shall never forget the dark 
and ho()eless outlook when I reached Putnam county on that drearv morning 
in March. I had spent the night in Greencastle. and set out on foot the next 
morning for my destination in Bainbridge. It had been snowing all night 
and I had made a very early start. In the gray of the morning, just as the 
last notes of the night-owl had faded away in the distance. I passed the 
Seybol(^ place. The heavy snow having bent the boughs of the trees across 
the road, it had the appearance of a tunnel. I entereil it almost in darkness 
and walked on in silence until I reached .Amos Robertson's, now the Crow 
place. There I saw the smoldering fires of some log heaps being replenished 
with brush and heard the music of an axe as it felled the timber and I 
sniffed the savory bacon as it his.sed and curled in the frying pan. Afrs. 
Robertson soon dished up a toothsome breakfast from their scanty supplv, 
spicing it with some costly morsel from the store. Coffee, bacon and slap- 
jacks were soon disposed of. No forbidding pile of daintv dishes to be 
pantried away — just a few tin cups, pewter plate and knives. .\ tap or 

(6) 



82 weik's history of 

t\\ o knocks the coffee groiiiuls from the cups ; a wipe cleans the cups and 
knives. Thus the morning dishes are cleaned. 

"I stopped for a time with Abram Hillis, who graphically described 
the eft'ects of a hurricane which had shortly before passed through the county, 
tearing up trees and otherwise destroying property, but got no further than 
Mr. Marks' place where I had spent the night. The next morning, having 
ao-ain set out on mv journey, I discovered a man lying in the middle of the 
road and a horse nearby. I soon discovered that the man's overcoat was 
frozen to the ground, the man himself having evidently fallen from his horse 
before it began to freeze. He was so completely imbedded in the snow and 
mud it was with some difficulty that I was able to pry him loose. When 
aroused from his stupor he took some whisky which he had not yet consumed 
and I helped him to mount his horse again. He certainly w'ould have per- 
ished without assistance. It has always been a mystery to me why that 
horse, hungry and cold, remained with his master throughout the night. It 
could only have been due to the guiding hand of an over-ruling Providence, 
I am sure. 

"We traveled on and after a while my unfortunate friend began to 
recover himself. In one place we encountered an immense tree which had 
fallen across our path and which my companion said had killed the son of 
Colonel Piercv while carrving the mail a short time before; also that some 
kind of a disease had made serious inroads among the people and that every 
man who owned or occupied land along that road from Bainbridge to Green- 
castle, with the exception of William Randel, had passed away — an an- 
nouncement calculated to afford solemn and serious reflection to a stranger 
about to pitch his tent in that neighborhood. I finally arrived at the hurri- 
cane-visited spot, about one-half mile south of where Bainbridge now is. The 
destruction of timber had been frightful. The track of the hurricane ap- 
peared to be about a quarter of a mile in width and its course east and west. 
Scarcely a tree was standing in its course. By night I reached Bainbridge, 
a hamlet in the woods which contained four families as follows : William 
T. Damall, ]. H. Lucas. Adam Feather and Reuben George. Lucas was the 
big man of the place — landlord, justice of the peace, postmaster, merchant 
and tanner. 

"As is invariablv the case in newly settled places remote from the great 
rivers or lines of communication, the price of stock, grain and other products 
was invariablv low and out of proportion to that of other commodities. 
\'erv often after reaching the large trading centers the settler would find 



PUTNAM COUNTY. INDIANA. 83 

an unlooked-for advance in tlie price of what he expected to take back with 
him and the market glutted with -the kind of produce he had to sell. I well 
remember three of my neighbors who went to Lawrenceburg only to find an 
oversupply of grain. Being unable to find a customer, they almost gave 
their stocks away and in order to secure the necessaries for the party, two of 
them were compelled to remain and work a week in a distillery in order to 
make up what they lacked in money. Flour was unknown at first and meal 
scarce. Meal of home manufacture was made by pounding boiled corn in a 
sort of mortar made in the top of a stump. The pounding was done with an 
iron wedge fastened to a stick. Various other contrivances were used. Buck- 
wheat was ground in coffee mills. In this way flour was ground for many a 
toothsome flap-jack. Meat, of course, was very cheap. Bazil Pursell, who 
helped build the bridges on the National road in Putnam county, told me that 
in 1824 he sold a wagon load of jerked or Indian smoked venison hams in 
the village of Greencastle for two and a half cents per pound. 

A CHARIVARI. 

"When visiting Greencastle in early times I stopped with John Lynch, 
who kept a tavern on the west side of the public square. There I always got 
good corn bread of Aunt Lucretia's baking, who could put to shame her 
modern sisters in the art. On one of these occasions, I think in the winter 
of 1835, I was informed by Pleasant S. Wilson that there was to be a chariv- 
ari in town that night in honor of the marriage of Robert M. Wingate and 
Cynthia Ash. As I had never heard of such a thing and didn"t wish to ex- 
pose my ignorance by inquiry, I concluded to stay and hear or see what it 
might be. I hadn't long to wait after dark before the sound of revelry began. 
It seemed that Bedlam itself had been let loose. I repaired at once to the 
scene of disturbance. The figures were all masked, wearing nail-kegs, buckets 
antl other devices on their heads. In order to give the reader some idea of 
the noise and confusion they created, let us imagine fifty men in a drunken 
revelry, with dumb bulls, drums, horse fiddles, horns, bells and tin pans being 
beaten, blown, rattled and commingled with their demoniac yells and the 
squealing of ducks, geese and chickens, with a cannon fired at intervals, vou 
then have a faint idea of that charivari, for all of these things were brought 
into requisition to make night hideous. I soon found that I and certain others 
w^ere intruders. A spy came around with something on his head like a tur- 
key with a long, sharp spike for a beak and by the motion of his head he 
could inflict a severe wound, as Jim Lynch could attest. Thinking discretion 



g^ weik's history of 

the better part of valor, I retired to bed. there to hear every bed post bounced 
on the floor bv the jar of the cannon, which had broken many panes of 
glass out of the court house and other buildings. On hearing people assemb- 
ling in the room below, I immediately descended, to find a council being held 
by the better class of citizens to devise some means to save the town. It was 
soon decided that Reese Hardesty should disguise himself in P. G. Wilson's 
coat and cap and spike the cannon, which he did. But the crowd soon found 
it out and Hardesty had to make his escape amidst a shower of brick-bats 
and stones, the prints of which remained on the door for years. Later in the 
night the enthusiasm of the mob began to wane and I finally returned to my 
bed. resolved that I would never again be caught in town on the night of a 
charivari. 

THE FIRST OYSTER SUPPER. 

"On another occasion, after the advent of a few Yankees into the county, 
an ovster supper was announced to take place at the hostelry of James 
Ricketts— Lhimself a Yankee4-on the west side of the court house square. 
Having a great desire to see and taste oysters, which I had never seen and of 
which I had often heard my father speak. I ventured once more to Green- 
castle to spend the night. On the assembling of the guests it was found that 
thev had no more oysters than would supply the Yankees; but their prolific 
minds were equal to the emergency and they forwith proceeded to make 
cod-fish soup for the Hoosiers, believing that the latter could not tell the 
difiference. which proved to be too true; for not one of those present save 
the Yankees had ever seen or tasted an oyster. The fraud was complete. 
We Hoosiers didn't enjoy the feast very much owing to the fact that we 
thought the oysters spoiled by their long transportation. If I am not en- 
tirely correct as to details, I am sure my old friend. R. L. Hathaway, may be 
able to give some light on the subject, as he was one of the Yankees present 
on .that occasion." 



CHAPTER V. 



EDUCATION IX PUTNAM COUNTY. 



In extent of fertile soil, in depth of mineral deposits and certain other 
natural resources, it may be true that a few other counties have surpassed 
Putnam, but in well-ordered morals, in all the elements of material progress 
and especially in the advanced steps it has taken in the matter of school edu- 
cation she easily ranks among the foremost counties in the state. Who taught 
the first school or where the first school house in each township was located, 
can not now in every instance be determined, nor is that infomiation abso- 
lutely essential to a correct history of the county. We know that very soon 
after the organization of the county — in fact before the county-seat question 
was fully settled — schools were being taught in at least two different places, 
and as the newcomers appeared and moved up the streams to found additional 
settlements, the physician, who is recognized as one of the earliest arrivals 
in every community, and the school teacher appeared on the scene almost at 
the same time. The early records of the county indicate a zealous care on the 
part of the county commissioners in behalf of education. The fines collected 
in criminal cases were turned over to the county seminan.- anrl ever\- effort 
was made to encourage and stimulate the cause of education. 



COUNTY SE.MINARY. 



The records at the court house show that an order was issued in 1830 
directing John Baird. the agent for the town of Greencastle, to make a 
"deed of gift to the president and trustees of the Greencastle Seminary 
Society for the use of said society of lot number 30 in said town.'' the same 
lying on the north side of Washington street, between Madison and Jefferson, 
and now occupied by the residence of Granville C. Moore. On this lot a 
one-ston- brick was built, having about two rooms, and which for the time 
was the most pretentious structure for educational purposes in the countv. 
The curriculum was the conventional course of instruction in the earlv 
schools of Indiana: "Readin". writin' and cipherin' to the Rule of Three." 



86 weik's history of 

The records show a pronounced degree of interest on the part of the county 
commissioners, who held the agent of the seminary to a strict accountabiHty. 
In March, 1837, it was "ordered that John Thornburgh (agent for the Coun- 
ty Seminary) be authorized to permit the trustees of Indiana Asbury Univer- 
sity to use the County Seminary for three years on condition that said trustees 
loan to the said Thornburgh the sum of two hundred dollars for the pur- 
pose of furnishing said seminary — one hundred dollars in hand, the residue 
on September ist; that they Will keep an open school free for any scholar in 
Putnam county who may choose to avail themselves thereof and that they 
will regulate their school so as to have ordinary branches of English educa- 
tion taught, such as the alphabet, spelling, reading and writing, etc." 

The County Seminai-y at Greencastle therefore must have been some- 
what in advance of the other schools in the county. In the other places the 
rude log school house with its primitive seats, its imperfect light and its 
crude curriculum, held sway, but it only laid the foundation for an education ; 
for with the limited funds in the hands of authorities for school purposes 
and the poor pay of the teachers but little more could be expected. Though 
nominally kept up by public funds, the teacher practically had to look to the 
patrons for his pay. After the adoption of the new constitution, in 185 1. 
taxes for school purposes began to be levied and the whole educational sys- 
tem took a great stride forward. 

FIRST SCHOOL BO.VRD. 

The historv of the schools in Greencastle. as set forth in the records 
of the school board of that city, may be taken as a fair indication of the 
growth and development of the school system in other parts of the county. 
A few extracts from the latter record may not be without interest. On 
April 26, 1853. John Hanna. mayor of the town of Greencastle. issued to 
Delana R. Eckels. Russell L. Hathaway and Daniel Sigler a commission as 
"Trustees for Schools in the Town of Greencastle." these persons having 
been elected bv the common council. The Ijoard of trustees met and selected 
D. R. Eckels as president. Almost the first item of business was an order 
"that the graded svstem of schools be adopted for the town." Further pro- 
ceedings were as follows : 

"It has been ordered that the number and classification of schools for the 
present vear shall be as follows: Four primary schools, one of which shall 



PCTXAM COLNTV, INDIANA. 8/ 

be in the first ward, one in tlie third, one in the fourth and one in the fifth, 
and one high schc:>ol in the County Sennnary. c(jnsi.sting of a male and female 
department. 

"It is ordered that schools shall commence on the ist day of June ne.xt 
antl continue two months, after which a vacation of six weeks, and that the 
winter session shall commence on the 15th of September, and the summer 
session on the ist of April each year, each session being four and a half 
months with a vacation of six weeks between them. 

"It is ordered that the county auditor audit and the county treasurer pay 
over to the treasurer of the school incorporation the amount of money due 
the town from the public fimd and that proposals be published in the three 
weekly papers of the town for eight school teachers." 

At a meeting of the board held June 4, 1853, the following were agreed 
upon as salaries for the teachers: "For principal in the male department of 
the high school, thirty dollars per month; assistant in the same department, 
tw-enty dollars per month; principal in the female department of the high 
school, twenty dollars per month and for all other teachers, fifteen dollars 
per month." In .March. 1S54, the school trustees ordered that the school 
system of the town should consist of two high schools, one grammar school, 
two reading schools, and four primary schools, with a slight advance in the 
pay of the teachers as follow s : ".Male high school, thirty-five dollars per 
month; feiuale high school, thirty-five dollars; grammar school, twentv 
dollars; primary schools, twenty dollars." 

TROUBt.ES OF A SCHOOL DIRECTOR. 

In 185; the number of school trustees in the town of Greencastle was 
reduced from three to one and Charles W. Moore, who had shortly before 
graduateil from Aslnny University, was elected to fill the place. A report 
in the record m Mr. Moore's handw riting aH:'ords us a rather graphic picture 
of school Conditions in (ireencastle at an early day as follows: 

"(jreencastle. May 20. 18^5. 

" 1 he schools are prospering as a general thing very w ell. Some things, 

howe\er. are far from being right. The houses are the merest apologies 

for school rooms. There is not a single building in the town as it ouo-fit to 

be either in regard to comfort inside or beauty outside. There ought to be 



88 WEIK S HISTORY OF 

several neat brick houses built, properly ventilated; with good grounds an- 
nexed, co\ere(l with shade trees and flowers. Then the school room would 
be comfortable and the pleasure grounds attractive. Then the health would 
be preserved and the head and heart would be improved." 

At this time schools in the various parts of the town were in the most 
ca.ses held in private dwellings. In some cases the teachers allowed their own 
h(3mes to be used for school purposes and were paid suitable rent by the 
school trustee and in others even church dwellings were so used. Among 
other buildings utilized by the authorities of this period was the old Presby- 
' terian church on the lot at the corner of Jefferson and Columbia streets in 
the west part of the city and now occupied by the heirs of the late William 
Haspel. but the surroundings were not calculated to promote the cause of 
education, as the following report by the trustees seems to indicate : 

"July lo, 1835. 

"At the old Presbyterian church we have been annoyed exceedingly by 
the bad boys of Greencastle. They from time to time have broken the lights 
and sash out of the windows; they have broken open the doors, thereby de- 
stroying the locks, and having entered, they have broken the brooms, benches 
and blackboards and in other ways have defiled the room. 

"I have tried to have the law redress these wrongs, but for lack of a 
faithful prosecution bv those whose duty it was to see these matters made 
right we have been annoyed all term. I at one time handed to the mayor 
the names of fifteen or twenty bo\s who had been abusing the school house 
and its appendages, together with the names of the witnesses by whom to 
pro\e same. A dav was set for the trial, a jury selectetl and the trial duly 
entered upon in the case of a portion of the offenders, but through ignorance 
of the prosecutor the jury agreed to disagree and through slothfulness and 
disregard of dutv of the prosecutor all the offenders were set free and with 
a smile pronounced 'Young .Americans.' 'trundle bed trash." etc.. thus making 
them worse than ever. ^V'e. however, promise all men that we will break 
up these nocturnal school house depredations and good men say. 'So mote 
it be." " 

Rut even at that dav — 1855 — the tenn Free Schools was more or less 
of a misnomer. The tax levied f'lr school purposes was entirely inadequate 
and the result was a serious hindrance to the successful operation of the new 
system, as the followii^g report of Trustee Aloore. dated December 12. 1855. 
w ill indicate : 



PLTXAM COCNTV, INDIANA. 89 

•it was my design to have the second term of the puhhc scliools begin 
the latter part of November and for this purpose I had the houses made 
comfortable and had an excellent corps of teachers secured, but the council 
saw tit in their wisdom to have subscription schools during the winter and 
delay the free schools until the ist of March. By doing this some of the 
same teachers were permitted to take the houses and teach pay schools and 
obligated themselves to return the houses in good repair, as good as that in 
which they received them. The object in delaying the free schools is to get 
out of debt, a \ery good idea. 

'"C. W. MooRE." 

The attendance at the schools of Greencastle in 1855, as shown by the 
record, was four hundred and sixty-eight pupils in the common schools and 
ninety-two in the high schools, a total of five hundred and sixty. In 1856, 
under the administration of Reuben S. Ragan, school trustee, it is shown 
that "there were in attendance during the term, one hundred and seventy- 
seven male and one hundred and fifty-fi\e female scholars, a total of three 
hundred and thirty-two, indicating a "daily attendance of about one-third 
of all the children in the town between the ages of five and twenty-one years." 
There are n(5 further figures indicative of the school population till 1861. 
An enumeration made by Mr. Ragan between July and Septemlier in that 
year of all children between five and twenty-one years shows three hundred 
and twenty-six males and three hundred and sixty-three females, a total of 
six hundred and eighty-nine. The average per family was two and one-half. 
The highest number, eight, was returned by two persons only. Dr. Thomas 
Bowman, president of Asbury University, and A. V. Hough. 

The commonly accepted notion that after the law of 185 1 authorized 
the levy of a tax for school purposes the public school swstem went forward 
without further delay or difficulty is a great popular misconception. Ten 
years after this law which pretended to establish free schools was passed the 
schools were anything but free, as the following statement by Trustee R. 
S. Ragan. found in the records of the i)ublic schools of Greencastle. will 
indicate : 

"On the 6th day of January. 1862, I called a meeting of the legal voters 
of the city of Greencastle at Tliomburgh"s Hall for the purpose of determ- 
ining when i\xii schools should commence. A notice thereof was dulv gi\-en 
in the Putnam Rcf'ublicau Banner, a newspaper of general circulation in said 
city, at least five davs previous. 



CO WEIK S HISTORY OF 

"On said day a large number of the citizens at the time and place men- 
tioned assembled and after due deliberation, on motion of J. F. Jones, the 
trustee was directed to postpone free schools until the 14th day of April, 
1862, which was accordingly done. Said meeting also directed the trustee 
to go forward and secure by rent, buildings suitable for school rooms, prop- 
erly furnish the same and also employ teachers, etc. 

"The trustee, after having ascertained what school rooms could be 
secured (the city having no school rooms of its own), called another public 
meeting at the court house, there being no more suitable place for holding 
same, on the 4th day of April. 1862. at which time a veiy large number of 
persons assembled and the trustee laid before them the business of the meet- 
ing. He was unanimously directed to rent the Seminary building, the Acad- 
emy building, the Fort, as it is called, a building owned by Mr. Gorrell, Mrs. 
Johnson's building and such others as would be needed ; fitting the same up 
as they might require." 

After the above report the records are silent — in fact there are no 
records after 1862 until 1866. when, under the efficient management of the 
school trustees, whose number had again increased to three, funds were now 
forthcoming to build substantial, modern, brick school buildings. The build- 
ing in the second ward was constructed in 1867 and soon thereafter followed 
the erection of another like structure in the first ward, which last building 
was completed in 1869. Since that date two more buildings have been 
erected and plans are now being made looking to the erection of a high school 
building, larger and more commodious than any of the others. 

In 1867, by which time the school attendance had greatly increased, and 
the schools themselves had realh", for the first time, been graded, it was 
found necessary to put at the head of the school department a competent 
person to supervise the work of the teachers and administer the educational 
affairs of the city. With that end in view, the board of school trustees on 
September 6. 1867. selected Greencastle's first superintendent of schools in 
the person of Gillum Ridpath. Professor Ridpath served for one year, being 
followed in .succession by S. D. Waterman. E. P. Cole. George W. Lee. J. N. 
Study. T. M. Olcott. Tames Baldwin and R. A. Ogg. Horace G. Woody, the 
present incumbent, has filled the office since 1898. There are seven instruc- 
tors in the high school, and thirteen teachers in the various grafles. The 
enumeration of school children in 1909 showed a school population in the 
city of eight hundred and seventy-two. 

That the schools of Greencastle in all that pertains to bettemient of 
sanitary conditions, in attendance, discipline and the incentive to higher 



PUTNAM COUXTV, INDIANA. 9I 

ideals have kept pace nith the best schools in the state is clearly shown in a 
paper recently prepared by Prof. H. G. Woody, the school superintendent. 
After alluding to the advance in school methods, and that the real aim of 
modern education is a higher ideal than mere intelligence, viz : the formation 
of character based upon intelligence. Professor Woody says: 

"Within the last ten years the school houses of Greencastle have been 
overhauled. Two rooms have been added in district No. 3. but the chief 
improvements have looked to better ventilation, lighting and decoration. 
Our city, taking advantage of the free school laws, promptly and earnestly 
erected substantial brick buildings forty years ago. Very little was then 
understood concerning what is now considered good school architecture. To 
overcome the difficulties, furnaces have been substituted for stoves, gravity 
systems of ventilation ha\e been installed in three of the four buildings, and 
additional windows ha\-e been constructed wherever the light was insufficient. 
All the windows, except those on the north, are fitted with double shades, 
the upper one being a translucent white shade to diffuse the light so no pupil 
need sit in a glare. 

"In the matter of mural decoration, the old wall of dingy plaster gave 
way to paper about six to ten years ago. Xow as the paper grows dingv-, 
the board of trustees is having them decorated in oil paints. This is a step 
in the right direction whether vieweil from a hygienic or an aesthetic stand- 
point. The schools possess more than one hundred good pictures and casts. 
These have come through the loyal efforts of teachers and pupils, inspired 
by the superintendent and supported by the patrons of the schools, .\bout 
one thousand dollars has been thus investefl in works of art in the past ten 
years. Most of these are reproductions of classic pictures and statues, and 
some, like LeRey's 'Scotch Hether', are excellent modern paintings. 

"These material works of progress are but e\'idences of something even 
better, viz: a living, growing educational spirit. There is further evidence 
of this healthy spirit to be seen in the smooth running of the schools. They 
go on with the work without jar or friction. There is no rebellion anywhere, 
no back-biting and scarcely any fault finding, no petitions to oust teachers, 
and. indeed, the great majority of parents are in hearty accord with the 
schools anrl are staunch supporters of the teachers. 

■'Probably the most incontrovertible proof of Greencastle's fine educa- 
tional spirit, is the increase in school attendance and improvement in its 
punctuality. 

"The per cent, of the average daily attendance from k^oi to [907 — 
seven years — was 06.1 and for the past three years. 96.6: for i()o6-07. 96.8; 



92 WEIK S HISTORY OF 

for 1908-09, it was 97.1 per cent. The net total enrollment includes all the 
children who touch the schools at any time during the school year, though the 
time be ever so short. Yet for the past four years, the average daily attend- 
ance has been 85.1 per cent, of the total enrollment. For 1906-07 it was 86.2 
per cent. 

"In si.xteen cities of the state, viz; Brazil. Bluffton, Columbus, Conners- 
ville. Frankfort. Franklin. Greensburg. Hartford City. Huntington, Kokomo. 
Lebanon. Newcastle. Noblesville. Princeton. Shelbyville, Wabash, the average 
dailv attendance for 1906-07 was 19171.9 and the total enrollment 24.449, the 
average dail\- attendance being 78.4 per cent, of the enrollment. Making 
a like computation for all the cities of the state, the per cent, is found to be 
78.3; and tor all the public schools of the state, ■]■/ per cent. For the past 
four years Greencastle's average daily attendance has averaged 85 per cent, 
of the enrollment, and it has not fallen below 79 per cent, since 1901. 

"A verv large proportion of our pupils remain in school each year until 
the close of school. Xearly one hundred per cent, of the pupils who finish 
the work of the common schools, enter the high school. The high school 
has increased its enrollment since 1901, by jo per cent. It was 16 2-3 per 
cent, of the total number in all of the schools in 1901 ; 1903, it was 21.5 per 
cent; the past four years it has averaged 26.8 per cent, of the entire enroll- 
ment; its highest reach was 29 per cent. The sum of the enrollments of the 
high school for the past four years is 36.6 per cent, of the sum of the enroll- 
ments in the grades. In the sixteen cities named above, the total high school 
enrollment for 1906-07 was 16.4 per cent, of the total grade enrollment. This 
large enrollment in the local high school means the more when it is further 
stated that this school maintains a ver\' high per cent, of attendance as com- 
pared with the enrollment. For the year ending 1905. it was 91 per cent, and 
for 1907. 91.6 per cent. The high school's per cent, of attendance for 
1906-07, as reckoned in the state's schools, was 97.6. nor has it fallen below 
97 per cent, since." 

Outside the citv of Greencastle the schools in the county until 1872 were 
practicall}- without supervision. There had been, it is true, a school examiner, 
so called, but his duties were almost entirely confined to the examination of 
persons applying for license to teach. His visits to and inspection of the 
schools over the county were few and far between and the salary- of the place 
was so meagre he could give the position but a small portion of his time. In 
1872 the Legislature created the office of county superintendent of schools 



PUTNAM COUNTY, INDIANA. 93 

and the first person to till that post was the late John R. Gordon, who served 
until 1875. Following him came L. A. Stockwell, whose term ended in 
1881 : L. E. Smedley in 1889; F. M. Lyon in 1897 and S. A. Harris in 1903. 
Since the latter year the present incumbent, Oscar Thomas, has filled the 
office. 



SCHOOL ST.VTISTICS. 

•At present there is one and in some cases two high schools in each town- 
ship in the county. Including the high school, there are nine teachers in the 
various districts of Jackson township; si.xteen in Franklin; eight in Clinton; 
thirteen in Monroe; nine in Floyd; seven in Warren; nine in Greencastle 
(outside of the city) ; nine in Madison; ten in Russell; nine in Marion ; eight 
m Jefferson; eighteen in Washington; si.xteen in Cloverdale and four in 
Mill Creek. Add to these the twenty instructors in the city schools of Green- 
castle and we have a total of one hundred and sixty-five teachers in the 
county. .\n enumeration of school children made last year shows ^^j in 
Jackson ; 225 in Clinton ; 444 in Cloverdale ; 256 in Floyd ; 480 in Franklin ; 
455 '" Greencastle (outside of the city) ; 247 in Jefferson; 266 in Madison; 
364 in Marion; 147 in Mill Creek; 391 in Monroe; ^^^ '" Russell; 209 in 
Warren; 480 in Washington, and 872 in the citv of Greencastle a total of 
5,608. 

EARLY HIGH SCHOOLS AND ACADE.MIES. 

In the days prior to the Civil war. academies and seminaries and other 
mstitutions of higher grade than the district school began to make their ap- 
pearance not only in Greencastle but in other parts of the county as well. 
Of course they were private enterpri.ses and in some instances short-lived 
but in others they continued for years, growing in popular favor until the 
arlvent of the modern high school and college, after which they gradually 
went out of existence. There was a seminary in Cloverdale as earlv as i8;o 
and both Russeilviile and Bainbridge boasted of academies. The institution 
at Bainbridge was admirably managed and its reputation for discipline and 
excellence in training extended far Ijeyond the county lines. The Russeil- 
viile .Academy was likewise a notable institution, its course of instruction 
fitting its graduates for entrance to any of the colleges or universities in the 



94 



WEIK S HISTORY OF 



middle West. In Greencastle the preparatory school for Asbury University 
answered the purpose of an academy, but as girls were not admitted there 
grew up a demand for separate schools for them. This demand was promptly 
met and several female high schools or academies were at different times 
inaugurated, the principal one being the school of Mrs. Larrabee. the wife 
of Prof. William C. Larrabee, of Asbury University. This institution drew 
to Greencastle young ladies from various points not only in this state but 
even in the adjoining .states. In the decade prior to the Civil war these 
higher grade private schools flourished everywhere. In the Putnam Repub- 
lican Banner, published in Greencastle during this period, are .found the ad- 
vertisements of the New Albany Female Seminary, at New Albany, Indiana; 
the Terre Haute Female College, at Terre Haute ; the Asbury Female Institute, 
at Greencastle, presided over by James A. Dean, principal, and later by Rev. 
J. B. DeMotte ; the Greencastle High School, which included in its curriculum 
drawing and painting and was managed by E. French, principal; the select 
school of Mrs. M. A. Skelton at the "Old Presbyterian Church"; the music 
school of Mrs. H. B. Hibben at "'Bellamy House"; the school of Mrs. S. S. 
Johnson at the "east end of Seminar}' street," and the select school of Mrs. 

A. E. Bickle, at the "east end of the building known as the 'Fort'." After 
the reorganization of the public schools of Greencastle about 1867-68 the 
day of the "academy" had passed away. In 1870 the Female College of 
Indiana, an institution under the patronage of the Presbyterian church, was 
established in Greencastle. Its first board of trustees consisted of Joseph 

B. Fordyce, W. C. Gilmore. John H. Randolph, J. L. Seybold, James D. 
Stevenson, Addison Daggy, Milton A. Oslwrn, Conrad Cook and M. B. 
Barnard. Rev. E. W. Fisk, local pastor of the church in Greencastle, be- 
came the first president of the board and ultimately president of the college 
also. At the time of the organization the trustees purchased four and a half 
acres of ground east of Locust and south of iVnderson streets, on which a 
large brick dwelling and a two-story brick church suitable for a college build- 
ing had already been erected. In August, 1873, a fire destroyed the college 
building including the library, furniture, etc. This was a great misfortune 
and one from which the institution never fully recovered. The school was 
continued in other buildings and two classes — one in 1875 and the other in 

1876 were graduated. A new building on a tract of ground southwest of 

town, donated by James Gillespie, was begun, but the requisite funds to 
continue its erection were not forthcoming and with Asbury L^niversity ad- 



PUTNAM COUNTY, INDIANA. 95 

mitting women to all its departments on a footing with men the competition 
proved to be too great and the new institution was finally forced to surrender. 

.\SBURY. NOW DEP.VUW, UNIVERSITY. 

This chapter on the schools of Putnam county would be manifestly far 
from complete were we to omit mention of the great educational factor of 
our county — .\sbury. now DePauw, University. The earliest and most in- 
teresting history of the genesis and development of this great institution is 
from the pen of the Rev. F. C. Holliday, who in February, 1S5S, wrote for 
one of the Indianapolis papers a historical sketch entitled "Methodism in In- 
diana."' Alluding to the efforts of the church to promote the cause of edu- 
cation, he says : 

"In May, 1832. the Illinois conference was divided and Indiana became 
a separate conference. The first session of the Indiana conference was held 
in New Albany October, 1832. On the first day of the session A. Wilev, C. 
W. Ruter and James Armstrong were a committee to consider and report 
on the propriety of establishing a literary institution under the patronage of 
the conference. The committee made their report, but no definite action was 
had beyond pro\-iding for the collection of information to be reported to the 
next conference. 

"Although it was felt to be desirable, on many accounts, to have an 
institution of learning under the control of the conference, yet it was thought, 
if we could receix'e anything like an equitable share of privileges in the State 
University at Bloomington, that would meet the wants of our people for 
several years: and accordingly, at the conference in 1834, it was resolved to 
memorialize the state Legislature on the subject : and, accordinglv, a memorial 
from the conference, and similar memorials numerously signed, were sent 
up from different parts of the state. The memorialists did not ask that the 
university be put either in whole or in part under the control of the church. 
They simply asked that the trustees of the university be elected for a term of 
years and that vacancies as they occurred should be filled bv the Legislature 
and not by the remaining members of the board of trustees. The memorial 
was referred to an able committee of the Legislature, but for some reason 
the committee never made a report. Those who were opposed to anv change 
in the manner of controlling the State University doubtless judp-ed that it 
would be easier to smother the report while in the hands of the committee 
than to answer before the people for the opposition to a reform so just and 
equitable. 



p6 weik's history of 

"Failing in their efforts to secure a refonn in the manner of controlHng 
the State University, the conference turned their thoughts earnestly toward 
the establishment of a literary institution of high grade under the control of 
the church. At the session of the conference in 1835 a plan was agreed upon 
for the founding of a university. Subscriptions were taken up and proposals 
made from different points in the state with a view of securing the location 
of the university. Rockville, Putnamville, Greencastle, Lafayette, Madison 
and Indianapolis were the principal competitors. Rockville presented a sub- 
scription of twenty thousand dollars; Putnamville about the same amount; 
Indianapolis and Madison each, about ten thousand dollars; Greencastle, 
twenty-five thousand; and accordingly, at the session of the conference in 
Indianapolis, October, 1836, the conference by vote fixed the site of the uni- 
versity at Greencastle. At that time Greencastle contained a population of 
about five hundred. A committee was appointed to draft a charter to be sub- 
mitted to the Legislature at its next session, which was done, and the charter 
was passed substantially as drawn up by the committee. The following 
gentlemen comprised the original board of trustees: Robert R. Roberts, 
John Cowgill, Alexander C. Stevenson, William H. Thomburgh, William 
Talbott, Reese Hardesty, Joseph Crow, John W. Osborne, Thomas Robinson, 
Hiram E. Talbott, James Montgomery, Daniel Sigler, Isaac Matkins, Tarvin 
W. Cowgill, William Lee, William K. Cooper, Calvin Fletcher, Gamaliel Tay- 
lor, Martin M. Ray, Isaac C. Elston, S. E. Leonard, W. W. Hitt, Joseph A. 
Wright, Tilghman A. Howard, Jacob Haas. The institution was to be known 
bv the name and style of "The Indiana Asbury University.' 

"The first meeting of the board of trustees was held on the first Monday 
in March, 1837, at which time they resolved to open the preparatory depart- 
ment as soon as they could procure a suitable teacher. Rev. Cyrus Nutt, a 
graduate of Allegheny College, was elected principal of the preparatory de- 
partment with a salary of four hundred dollars. Greencastle was at that 
time about ten years old, small and rough. The site was by no means the 
most pleasant, being a succession of hills and hollows. The streets were 
without grading or sidewalks, except about the public square, and mud was 
a very abundant article for about six months in the year. It was exceedingly 
fortunate for Greencastle that it secured the location of the university; had 
it failed in its efforts the county seat would probably have been removed to 
Putnamville. and Greencastle been numbered among the things that were. 
But the influence o-iven to it by this institution made it a point on the Indian- 
apolis & Terre Haute railroad and gained for it also the New Albany & 




EAST COLLEGE, DEPAUW UNIVERSITY 



Cammack Pliolographe 



PUTNAM COL'NTV, INDIANA. 97 

Michigan City railroad, which render it a place of considerable commercial 
importance and make it of easy access from most parts of the state. Rev. 
Cyras Xutt, who had been elected to take charge of the preparatory depart- 
ment, arrived in due time and the school was opened on the 5th of June, 1837, 
in a room in the old town seminary, about twelve by fifteen feet. Five pupils 
appeared, barefooted and without coats. Their names were: Oliver P. 
Badger. O. H. P. Ash, William Stevenson. Bishop Osborne and S. Taylor. 
They all resided in the town except Badger. 

LAYING THE CORNER STONE. 

"The 20th of June was an era for Greencastle. and also for the history 
of Indiana Asbury University. It was the day appointed for laying the 
corner stone of the college edifice. Rev. H. B. Bascomb was engaged to de- 
liver the address on the occasion. Expectation was great. The occasion, the 
unrivaled reputation of the speaker, the greatest orator of the West if not of 
the world, awakened an interest hitherto unknown along the hills and valleys 
and prairies of western Indiana. 

"Greencastle was put in her tidiest dress, and the doors of the citizens 
were thrown open to entertain the guests that were expected to be present on 
the occasion. On ^londay, the 19th. the crowd began to appear and by nio-ht 
the town was full. People came from all parts of the state and it was esti- 
mated that twenty thousand persons were present on the next day. The re- 
nowned orator arrived and took lodging at the residence of one of the prin- , 
cipal citizens. The hum of preparation was heard at a late hour in the night. 
On the 20th the order of the day was a sermon in the Methodist Episcopal 
church, at nine o'clock A. M.. from Rev. Hooper Crews, of Illinois. At 
eleven o'clock the pnxession was formed and marched to the site of the 
university where, over the stone, which had been prepared, with sundrv docu- 
ments enclcsed, Calvin Fletcher, Esq., of Indianapolis, delivered a brief and 
appropriate address, but \\hich was heard by comparatively few of the vast 
assembly. 

"The procession was again formed and marched to a grove in the .south- 
west part of the town where temporary seats had been prepared which accom- 
modated about one-fourth of the audience. The stand was occupied bv the 
orator of the day and Revs. A. Wiley. James Havens, C. W. Ruter, E. R 
.\mes and a few other leading ministers of the conference. Praver was 
offered by Rev. E. R. Ames, when Rev. H. B. Bascomb proceeded with his 

(7) 



98 WEIKS HISTORY OF 

address, which he read. As the day was extremely chilly for the season, he 
asked to speak with his hat on. During an interlude caused by a slight shower 
of rain accompanied with snow, the speaker sat down a few minutes, when a 
countryman, — a Hoosier, of course, — who had provided himself with a huge 
roll of gingerbread, stepped up behind the stand and, plucking the reverend 
Doctor by the coat, broke oft a piece of his loaf and offered him, saying, 
'Mister, as you have been speaking hard you must be hungry; here take a 
piece.' The Doctor thanked him kindly, saying he had no occasion. The ad- 
dress was two hours in its delivery and made a very favorable impression 
on the minds of the audience. 

"At the meeting of the board of trustees in September, 1837, the college 
proper was organized and the regular professorships created. Rev. Cyrus 
Nutt was elected professor of languages and acting president. In the spring 
of 1838 Rev. J. W. Weakly was appointed preceptor of the preparatory de- 
partment. In 1839 Rev. Matthew Simpson was duly elected president of the 
institution. He arrived and took charge in May of the same year. The first 
catalogue was published at the close of that term and the number of students 
Avas one hundred and forty. 

"In the fall of 1840 the first regular commencement was held and the 
president inaugurated. A charge was delivered by Governor Wallace and an 
inaugural address by the president, both of w-hich were published. The new- 
building was completed and the above exercises were the first consecration of 
its halls to the purposes for which they were designed. 

PRESIDENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY. 

"The first graduates were John Wheeler, of Bellefontaine. Ohio; 
Thomas A. Goodwin, of Brookville, Indiana, and James Maddox, of Craw- 
fordsville, Indiana. Another change was made in the faculty at the close of 
the vear. J. W. Weaklv resigned and Rev. William C. Larrabee was elected 
to the chair of mathematics and natural science. Mr. Larrabee arrived in the 
spring of 1841 and took charge of his professorship. In 1842 the faculty 
was further increased by the election of John Wheeler — who was the first 
graduate of the institution — to the chair of Latin literature, and Charles G. 
Downey to the chair of natural science. In the fall of 1844 Rev. B. F. Tefft 
was elected professor of Greek language and literature made vacant by the 
resignation of Professor Nutt. Doctor Simpson continued in the presidency 
of the university till the summer of 1848. when he resigned and William C. 



PUTNAM COUNTY, INDIANA. 99 

Larrabee was acting president for one year. In 1849 Rev. Lucien W. Berry- 
was elected to the presidency^ of the institution, but his formal inauguration 
did not take place until the next year, during commencement week, when 
the keys of the uni\ersity were turned over to him by the governor of the 
state, Joseph A. Wright. After a service of four years, he resigned and 
moved to Iowa, where he accepted the presidency of the Iowa Wesleyan 
University at Mt. Pleasant. In August, 1854, Rev. Daniel Curry, of New 
York, was elected to the vacancy and remained until July, 1857, a period of 
about three years. It was during Doctor Curry's administration that the 
famous rebellion, which seriously threatened the life of the university, oc- 
curred, and which finally so widened the breach between students and facultv 
that the president deemed it best to resign. He left the institution in June, 
1857. For the ensuing year, the university being without an executive head. 
Dr. Cyrus Nutt, the vice-president, was the acting president. Being called 
to the head of the institution at a time when public confidence was shaken in 
its success and when the students were deserting its halls, he succeeded in 
re-inspiring public confidence, in increasing the patronage of the institution 
and restoring order and contentment generally." 

In July. 1858. Rev. Thomas Bowman, D. D., of Pennsylvania, was 
elected to the presidency. Fie was a man of splendid and thorough training 
and brought to the position talents of the highest order. Under his adminis- 
tration the university made great progress. In 1872 he was chosen bishop 
of the Methodist Episcopal church and moved to St. Louis. The presidency 
next fell to Rev. Reuben Andrus. D. D., at that time pastor of the Meridian 
Street church in Indianapolis. Doctor Andrus was a powerful preacher and 
a strong man generally, but after three years" service resigned and returned to 
the pulpit. Rev. Alexander Martin. D. D., of West Virginia, was the next 
president, beginning his administration in the fall of 1875. Doctor Alartin 
was a man of ripe learning, sound judgment and keen observation. A 
Scotchman by birth, he had all the attractive traits of the Scotch character. 
He was rugged, firm and reserved. It was under his administration that 
Washington C. DePauw made his great endowment. Asbury was enlarged 
and became the Liberal .'\rts School of DePauw University. It was a period 
of great expansion and the attendance at the university reached its highest 
point. After fourteen years of service Doctor Martin, desiring to be relieved 
of the heavv responsibilities of the presidency, offered his resignation and 
took a chair in the department of philosophy, where he continued to serve 
until 1893. His successor at the head of DePauw L^niversity. chosen in 



lOO ■ WEIK S HISTORY OF 

1889, was Dr. John P. D. John, who had already been connected with the 
university as its vice-president. "Doctor John," are the words of one of his 
colleagues, "was thoroughly acquainted with the life about him and in full 
sympathy with the course of development of the last few years. With his 
strong, logical mind, and his enthusiastic nature, he recognized large possibil- 
ities in the very near future and bent his energies toward them. He devoted 
himself assiduously to the re-organization of the courses of study and to the 
looking out for professors of the highest available equality in their own lines 
of work so that whenever a change had to be made in the faculty, or an addi- 
tion could be made, it might always be the best one possiljle in the interests 
of the highest order of work in all departments. These were the days when 
the university expectations were at their greatest as regarded the value of its 
endowments and large things seemed to be within reasonable reach of the 
institution. But hard times came this way in 1893 and continued through 
subsequent vears. Business interests suffered, stocks and shares declined in 
value; productive funds became non-productive, student numbers decreased 
because incomes of their homes were uncertain, and the horizon of present 
possibilities narrowed, and that beyond the power of any one to prevent it. 
Many a man and many an institution during those years had to exchange its 
inquiry of 'what is best' for the more available one of 'what is most ex- 
pedient.' But a high order of work was done in recitation rooms, libraries 
■and laboratories and young men and young women were learning to think 
and were getting ready for the great world." 

Doctor John resigned the presidency in June, 1896. and was followed 
by Rev. Hillarv" A. Gobin in the fall of that year. Doctor Gobin had for 
several years been dean of the school of theology and is the only graduate of 
the universitv who has, thus far. ever been elevated to the presidency. Doctor 
Gobin filled the position with great credit to himself and decidedly to the 
advantage of the university. He administered the affairs of the institution 
during a season of financial stress, displaying the rarest discretion in avoiding 
the rough places ahead, thus proving that he was the right man in the right 
place and at the right time. But the administrative duties of the presidency 
were dailv becoming more and more burdensome, so that Doctor Gobin, be- 
lieving a younger man better able to contend with the exacting demands of 
the position, gave way in 1903 and accepted the chair of Biblical science and 
Hebrew. His successor was Dr. Edwin Holt Hughes, who at the time of his 
election was pastor of the Methodist church in Maiden, Massachusetts. .\s 
president of the university Doctor Hughes was welcomed with every demon- 



PUTNAM COUNTY, INDIANA. lOI 

stratioii of popular approval. He was young, versatile and abreast of the 
times in matters of college discipline and training. A very popular preacher 
and platfoiTn orator, he soon attracted the attention of the Methodists every- 
where and so deep was the impression he made that at the general conference 
in Baltimore in 1908 he was elected a bishop of the church and assigned to 
San Francisco, California, for residence. Doctor Hughes was the third 
president of Asbury or DePauw University elevated to the episcopacy. The 
present head of DePauw. Dr. Francis J. McConnell, was elected in 1908. He 
came from Brooklyn. Xew York, where he had charge of one of the largest 
churches in that city. He is a native of Ohio and was graduated from the 
famous Ohio W'esleyan University at Delaware. His two years of service 
at the head of DePauw have demonstrated that no mistake was made in choos- 
ing him to administer the affairs of the institution. He is a profound student, 
well-informed, tolerant, progressive and fair. He thinks long and hard before 
he talks. In profoundity of learning, in the ability to analyze, in clearness 
and power of e.xpression. the university has scarcely seen his eijual since the 
days of Mathew Simpson. 

In 1846 a department of law was created and two years later the Indiana 
Central Medical College was made a department of the university. The 
arrangement with the medical school proved too great an undertaking at the 
time and the board of trustees withdrew their support after an e.xperience 
of three or four years. The law school was not organized for regular work 
until 1853. It continued for about ten years and was then suspended, to be 
renewed again in 1883, for another period of ten years, since which time 
it has again been dropped. 

In 1859 the university was again organized into the following depart- 
ments : 

I. Mental and Moral Philosophy. 
II. Mathematics. 
III. Natural Science. 
I\^. Greek Language and Literature. 
V. Latin Language and Literature. 
VI. Belles Lettres and History. 

VII. Preparatory Department. 

\'III. Law School. 

The year 1867 was notable in the history of the institution in that it 
witnessed the admission of women to all the departments of the university 



I02 weik's history of 

x>n an equal footing with the men. In 1871 the graduating class contained four 
ladies, being the first of their sex who ever received a diploma or degree at 
the hands of the university. On October 20, 1869, the corner stone was laid 
for a new building known as East College, which when finished had cost 
over a hundred thousand dollars. It contains the large and spacious chapel 
named Meharry Hall, in honor of the benefactions of the late Jesse Meharry. 
On February 10, 1879, the old building — whose corner stone had been laid 
by Bishop Bascomb — was nearly destroyed by fire. Its walls being left intact, 
it was speedily rebuilt and the wings added on the east and west side respec- 
tively. 

BENEFACTIONS OF W. C. DEPAUW. 

In 1884 the financial stringency under which the institution had so long 
struggled was greatly relieved by the munificent endowment of the late 
Washington C. DePauw. On the payment by the people of Putnam county 
of sixty thousand dollars and double that sum by the various Indiana con- 
ferences, Mr. DePauw made contributions that have netted the university 
over a half million dollars. Though not required by the donor, the corporate 
title of the university was changed to bear his name, and the name of Asbury 
was perpetuated in the school of liberal arts. As soon as the DePauw en- 
dowment became effective the university entered on an era of expansion and 
underwent a thorough and complete re-organization. By 1886 the following 
departments were organized and in working order : 

The .\sbury College of Liberal .Arts. 

School of Theology. 

School of Law. 

School of Military Science. 

School of Mu.sic. 

School of Art. 

Normal School. 

Preparatory School. 

Tn addition to the buildings erected as the result of the DePauw^ endow- 
ment two beautiful and magnificent structures have recently been built on 
the college grounds. One, given up to science, was the generous and unselfish 
gift of the late D. W. Minshall, of Terre Haute: the other, a magnificent 



PUTNAM COrXTY. IXDIAXA. IO3 

Stone building, contains the university library and is the result of the munif- 
icence of Andrew Camegie. Certain other lesser benefactions have, in recent 
years, come to the university, but they are so numerous and so varied in char- 
acter space here will forbid more extended mention. 

The material resources of the university consist of: 

Campus, 43 1-2 acres, valued at $ 50,000.00 

Buildings, 1 1, valued at 356,000.00 

Library. 30,000 vols., valued at 19,000.00 

Endowment funds — productive 490.186.14 

Endowment funds — non-productive 35,925.00 

Total $1,001,111.14 

.\LL'MX.\K ST.\TISTICS. 

The graduates from the School of Liljeral Arts number 2,238 and from 
the professional schools. 409, making a total of 2,647. Erom a statement 
made over ten years ago — later figures are not accessible — it appears that 
these alumnae of the institution ha\e ad(3pted occupations as follows: 
Teachers. 808; lawyers. 523: ministers and missionaries, 437; general busi- 
ness, 211 ; physicians. 152: editors and journalists. 107; authors. 53: farmers, 
60; bankers. 39; manufacturers. 24: engineers. 28. 

Of those who have attained distinction through public office the list is 
as follows: Governors. 4: lieutenant-governors. 2; cabinet officers. 2; foreign 
ministers. 6; attaches and consuls. 5: United States senators. 7: congressmen, 
II; state senators, 25: state representatives, 64: other state officers, 15: fed- 
eral and state supreme judges. 23: army and navy officers, jj. 

Of the 808 teachers mentioned in the foregoing statement, 53 have 
been college presidents. 139 college professors, iii city and county superin- 
tendents, and 505 school instructors generally. 

BO.XRD OF TRl'STEE.S. 

The board of trustees consist of the following members: William Xew- 
kirk. Connersville; Xewland T. DePauw. New .Albany: William D. Parr, 
Kokomo: Hugh Dougherty. Indianapolis: Deloss ^\. Wood. Indianajx^lis ; 
William H. Latta. Indianapolis: David G. Hamilton. Chicago; George E. 
Keiper. Lafavette: Hardin Roads. Muncie : George W. Earis. Terre Haute: 



I04 



WEIK S HISTORY OF 



William M. Adams. Bloomington ; Charles E. J. McFarlan, Connersville ; 
Robert LeRoy 0"Hair. Greencastle; Harry Whitcomb, Shelbyville; Marvin 
Campbell, South Bend; John Franklin Simison, Romney; Charles Edgar 
Bacon, Indianapolis: William Henry Charles, Marion; E. G. Eberhart, Mish- 
awaka ; W'infield T. Durbin, Anderson ; D. J. Terhune, Linton ; Ira B. Black- 
stock, Springfield, Ills.; William E. Carpenter, Brazil; Alfred E. Dickey, 
Minneapolis, Minn.; Edwin H. Hughes, San Francisco, Calif. 

In addition to the above named trustees, the three conferences in Indiana 
elect three representatives each annually who are called visitors, and who sit 
with the board of trustees and have an equal voice and vote in the manage- 
ment of the affairs of the corporation. The officers of the corporation are; 
Hugh Dougherty, Indianapolis, president; Henry H. Hornbrook. secretary; 
Salem B. Town, treasurer. 

THE FACULTY. 

The faculty is as follows : 

Bishop Thomas Bowman, chancellor emeritus. 

Francis John McConnell, president. 

Hillary Asbury Gobin. vice-president and professor of Biblical Science. 

Edwin Post, dean and professor of Latin. 

lames Riley Weaver, professor of Political Science. 

Belle Aurelia Mansfield, dean of Schools of Music and Art. 

Julia Alice Druly. professor of Pianoforte. 

William Fletcher Swahlen, professor of Greek. 

Joseph P. Xaylor. professor of Physics. 

Karl H. Fussier, assistant professor of Physics. 

Henry Boyer Longden. professor of Gennan. 

Wilbur Vincent Brown, professor of Mathematics. 

Andrew Stephenson, professor of Histor>-. 

Adolph Schellschmidt. professor of Violin. 

\\illiam Martin Blanchard. professor of Chemistiy. 

C. W. Wright, assistant professor of Chemistry. 

William Grant Seaman, profes.sor of Philosophy. 

Howard James Banker, professor of Biology. 

Albert Farrington Caldwell, professor of English Literature. 

Rufus Bernhard von Kleinsmid. professor of Education. 

Frances Elizabeth Oldfiekl. professor of Voice Culture. 

Xathaniel Waring Barnes, professor of Rhetoric. 



PLTXAM COUXTV, INDIANA. IO5 

Helen Maliin. assistant professor of Rhetoric. 

Harry Bainbridge Gough. professor of Orator\-. 

Minna May Kern, associate professor of German. 

Cecil Clare Xorth. assistant professor of Sociology. 

W ilhur Tandy Ayres, instructor Latin. 

Bessie Minerva Smith, instructor Drawing and Painting. 

Margaret Overbeck, instructor Drawing and China Painting. 

Floyd E. Chidester. instructor Biolog}-. 

Rose Francoise Laitem. instructor French. 

Mae Amelia Seaman, instructor PubHc School Music. 

Mildred Rutledge, instructor Pianoforte. 

Arthur Milton Brown, Physical Director. 

Earl C. Ross, instructor English and History. 

Dade Bee Shearer, instructor I^tin and English. 

Mary Morrison Zabriskie, instructor Physical Science. 

.\idah A'ictoria ^IcCoy. assistant Pianoforte. 

Minna Lucile Matern. instructor German. 

Isaac Edward Xorris. professor of Pianoforte and Pipe Organ. 

James William Harris, instnictor Education. 

Aldis Hutchens. assistant English Composition. 

OFFICERS OF THE FACULTY. 

William F. Swahlen. Secretary. 
Leona Margaret Powell, Librarian. 
Margaret Gilmore. .Assistant Librarian. 
Joseph T. Dobell. Registrar. 
Rose F. Laitem. Dean of Women. 
Edwin Post. Dean of College. 



CHAPTER VI. 

CHURCH HISTORY RELIGIOUS SOCIETIES. 

The first preacher in the county of whom we have any definite record was 
Reuben Clearwaters, a Methodist. As to his reputation and abihty in the 
pulpit we i<now but little and about the only information regarding him which 
we possess is that he solemnized the first marriage in the county, uniting 
Thomas Jackson and Sarah Wood. July 4, 1822 ; that, having discovered some 
defect or error in the marriage, he hunted up Jackson and his wife and per- 
formed the ceremony over again. He appears to have lived in the county 
manv vears and was frequently a judge at elections and otherwise interested 
in matters of public concern. Judging by his signature, which is found rude- 
ly scrawled among the earlv records of the county, his educational opportun- 
ities or preparation for his calling must have been painfully meagre and neg- 
lected. One writer says he came to the county in 1821 ; that John Messer 
arrived about the same time also and that the two preached for the Method- 
ists, who were even then somewhat numerous, before the believers of that 
faith were included within the lx)unds of any conference. 

The doors of the old log school houses were always opened to the itiner- 
ant ministers, who. though of different faiths, were all equally eager to ex- 
pound the simple truth of a sublime and beautiful religion and point out 
for comparison the thorny path of duty and the primrose path of reliance. 
Often have those old walls given back the echoes of the songs of Zion and 
many an erring one has had his heart moved to repentance thereby more 
strongly than. even, by the flights of homely eloquence. The religious meet- 
ings held in those old log school houses were much in contrast to those of 
todav. The pulpit was a box in the middle of the room. The audience as- 
sembled was composed of men in home-spun and women in calico and sun- 
bonnets, together with travelers, land-hunters and other outsiders. The 
young men accompanying the girls had to stop before arriving at the house 
and politely turn their backs while the girls changed their shoes, they having 
carried their fine ones rather than to soil them by the long walk. The same 
was done on the return, except in wann weather or just after a rain, when 
the young man was burdened with two pairs of shoes while his girl would 
tuck up her homespun or calico thereby exhibiting a pair of white feet en- 
tirely destitute of cover. 



PUTNAM COUNTY, INDIANA. IO7 

Four religious denoininations were represented among the early settlers 
of the county. They were the Methodists, Presbyterians, Baptists and New 
Lights. Being without meeting houses of their own, they at first met for 
worship at the cabins of some of their number. In time they were recognized 
by the board of county commissioners, who ordered the town agent to convey 
to each of them a lot in Greencastle on which they were authorized in each 
case to build a house for church purposes. 

ORGANIZATION OF BAPTIST CHURCH. 

It is impossible to determine which denomination first began to hold 
meetings or indulge in church worship. It has been generally accepted that 
the Methodists were the earliest to attempt an organization, but. according to 
the following record recently found, the Baptists could not have been far 
behind : 

"A council called to convene at Greencastle Saturday before the first 
Sabbath in May. 1822, for the purpose of organizing and constituting a regu- 
lar Baptist church. 

"Council composed of the following brethren: Elder J. R. Billings, from 
Lamb's Bottom church, and Elder Samuel Arthur, from White River church, 
with brethren J. R. Robinson and Thomas Johnson. After the council was 
organized the door of the church was opened for the reception of members. 
The following persons were received by letter; John C. Sherrell. Sister Sher- 
rell, Samuel .\rthur. John Smith. Charlotte Smith, John Leatherman. Polly 
Leatherman. Jeremiah DeVore, Nancy DeVore, Jeremiah Skelton, Polly 
Skelton. John \\'. Jones and .\lsy Jones. Then the hand of fellowship was 
given and the church constituted upon the following articles of faith. 

"The council then dissolved. 

"JOH.v R. BiLLiNcs. Moderator. 
"Samuel .Arthur. Clerk." 

Elsewhere we learn that the Baptists held meetings at the house of 
Michael Wilson, a short distance west of Greencastle, early in 1823; that 
John Leathemian and Richard Denman preached to them and that among 
their members were Jubal Deweese. Thomas Johnson and John Miller, some 
of whom lived in the town of Greencastle. the others on land nearby. They 
also held meetings at the cabin of James Bird, on Walnut creek about seven 
miles northeast of Greencastle. Eventually they spread throughout the 
county. 



io8 weik's history of 

The Xew. Light detiomination, although somewhat later and lesser in 
numbers, likewise had an early beginning. As is well known, they, in time, 
owing to some internal differences, suffered more or less division in their 
ranks — a goodly number being finally absorbed into the Christian church, as 
established by Alexander Campbell. The first campmeeting in the county 
was conducted by the New Lights at John Sigler"s place, a few miles north- 
east of Greencastle. 

THE PRESBYTERIAN" CHURCH. 

The organization of the Presbyterian church in the county August 12, 
1825. was due to the labors of Isaac Reed, a missionary of that faith who 
had been sent west by the Connecticut Missionary Society. He made his head- 
quarters in Gosport, Owen county, and was commissioned to journey through 
the wilds and fastnesses of western Indiana in behalf of the church. It was 
dangerous and exhaustive work, but the greater the hardships he encountered 
the more defiant his courage, the more insuperable his zeal. It is said of him 
that he was graduated from Middlebury College, Vennont, in 1812, ordained 
to preach by the Transylvania presbytery in Mercer county, Kentucky, in 1818, 
and moved to Indiana the same year. In the following year he organized the 
first Sabbath school in the state at New Albany. The church he organized 
in Putnam county flourished for a time, but eventually, either from a lack of 
interest or the competition of other denominations, went out of existence. 

METHODISM IN PUTNAM COUNTY. 

The records of the Methodist Episcopal church show that in the fall 
of 1822 the Eel River circuit, which included the counties of Owen, Putnam 
and Parke, was organized. Samuel Hamilton was the presiding elder and 
William Cravens the preacher in charge. At that time Indiana was a part 
of the Missouri conference. During the conference year 1823-24, William 
Beauchamp was the presiding elder and John Cord, the pastor in charge. 
In 1825 the Illinois conference was formed and Indiana belonged to it. The 
Eel River circuit was now in the Madison district. John Strange officiated 
as the presiding elder and John Fish as the preacher in charge. Other au- 
thorities credit Stephen Grimes, a local preacher at Bloomington. to the local 
circuit. In 1826 Putnam county was placed in the Charlestown district. 
James Armstrong was the presiding elder and Daniel Anderson, a man de- 
scribed as "of iron frame who traveled the district from Bloomington to 



PUTNAM COL'XTV. IXDIAXA. ICX) 

Crawfordsville, who could swim rivers and climb mountains to reach his 
appointment, and who died as he had lived, full of faith and the Holy Ghost." 
was the preacher in charge. In 1827 James Armstrong was continued as 
presiding elder and the preacher in charge. Daniel Anderson, was now pro- 
vided with an assistant in the person of Stith M. Otwill. A year later finds 
James Armstrong still presiding elder and William H. Smith — destined to 
spend the last twenty years of his life in Greencastle — preacher in charge. 
His assistant at the time was Benjamin C. Stexenson. a brother of the late 
Dr. A. C. Stevenson. In 1829 John Strange officiated as presiding elder and 
William H. Smith is returned as the preacher in charge of the circuit, with 
George Tea.se as assistant. In 1830 Greencastle appears in the minutes of 
the conference as the head of a circuit. John Strange is still presiding elder 
and William Moore becomes the pastor. In 1831 the Indianapolis district 
was formed. James Armstrong presided as elder, with James Hadley and 
J. H. Hills as the pastors. 1832. John Strange, presiding elder. Daniel 
Anderson and L. D. Smith, preachers; 1833. Allen Wiley, presiding elder, Eli 
T. Fanner and Henry Deputy, preachers; 1834, Indiana conference formed. 
Vincennes district. James L. Thompson, presiding elder, Thomas J. Brown, 
preacher; 1835. Bloomington district. J. Oglesby. presiding elder. Thomas J. 
Brown, preacher; 1836, S. C. Cooper, presiding elder, Greencastle. John New- 
ell; 1837, H. S. Talbott, presiding elder, Greencastle made a station. James 
L. Thompson, pastor; Greencastle circuit, Jonas S. Belotte. pastor; 1838, H. 
S. Talbott, presiding elder, Greencastle station, Ebenezer Patrick, Greencastle 
circuit. H. \'redenburg and W. H. Smith, pastors; 1839, Greencastle district, 
E. R. Ames, presiding elder, Greencastle station. John S. Bayless. circuit, H. 
X'redenburg and R. C. Rowley, pa.stors ; 1840. Greencastle station. Hawlev B. 
Beers, circuit. Isaac Owens, Jacob Miller, pastors; 1841, Greencastle station, 
Isaac Owens; 1842, Greencastle station, Ebenezer Patrick and J. M. Stallard. 
preachers; 1843, Greencastle station, John Daniel. 

Daniel is said to have been one of the most effective preachers of his 
time and locality. Very earnest, very vehement, he easily electrified and 
swaved his audience at will. His zeal was like an unquenchable fire. A 
member of one of his early congregations related in after years that at one 
time in the old church in Greencastle he was exhorting sinners to flee from 
the wrath to come and after exhausting himself without making the desired 
impression on his hearers, he mounted a step at the foot of the pulpit and 
at the very top of his voice cried out. "Wake up. my brother, you're nearing 
helll Don't you smell the brimstone?" 

In 1844 the state was divided into two conferences and Greencastle fell 
to the North Indiana. E. M. Beswick was presiding elder and .\inasa John- 



no WEIK S HISTORY OF 

son was assigned to Greencastle station. In 1845 J- C. Smith was the local 
pastor; in 1846. the same; in 1847, John H. Hull. Until this time the church 
in Greencastle stood on the lot at the corner of Indiana and Poplar streets, 
but it was far too small and the congregation, having secured a lot two squares 
east at the corner of Ephraim street, now College avenue, erected a new 
church building, which when completed was the largest and most imposing 
church edifice in Greencastle. About the time the building was begun a suc- 
cession of rains had flooded all the streams in the county and the last saw- 
mill had been washed away. No lumber could be had short of Parke county, 
and that required a trip of more than thirty miles over mud roads sometimes 
almost impassable. At this juncture two men, David L. Southard and Peter 
Albaugh, volunteered to build a mill for the purpose. Mr. Southard went 
to Cincinnati — it is said the journey was made on horseback and consumed 
almost ten days — and bought the required machinery, which was shipped 
down the Ohio river, then up the Wabash to Terre Haute and from there 
hauled to Greencastle in wagons. Within six weeks the mill was in operation, 
the requisite lumber produced and the building went on without further mis- 
hap. The pulpit was a mammoth strttcture, being over seven feet high, made 
of solid black walnut and would be an object of great wonder today. In 
1859 the pastor, G. M. Boyd, being somewhat of a mechanic himself, took 
down the old altar and constructed another much less imposing and more in 
keeping with the times. Miss Ring, a special friend of Doctor Larrabee, 
undertook the unwelcome task of raising the money to buy a bell for the 
church. John Hammond gave fifty dollars, supplementing the donation with 
an additional twenty-five dollars, and with a few more contributions the fund 
was soon complete. 

This was the third church building which the Methodists had erected in 
Greencastle. The first one. built of logs, stood at the corner of Ephraim and 
Franklin streets on a lot which had been given to the church by the county 
commissioners in May, 1833. It was the first church building in Greencastle. 
As is always the case in a new community, certain of the rougher element, 
actuated not only by base motives but by a spirit of mischief, had in various 
ways annoyed the new congregation. One of their methods of interrupting 
the meeting has come down to us. Arthur McGaughey, the county clerk, 
with the connivance of Washington Walls, David Rudisill and other char- 
acters, found about the court house, one Saturday evening, a fresh coon skin. 
singed the hair and about three o'clock in the morning of the following day 
attached a string to it and. starting from the church, dragged it over the 
ground, making a circuit of a mile or two, and returning to the church where 



PUTNAM COUNTY, INDIANA. Ill 

they threw the pelt out of sight among the rafters overhead. Later in the day 
during services at the church, they led a pack of hounds to a point southwest 
of town and unleashed them. Almost instantly the dogs struck the trail and, 
with the requisite amount of noise ten or fifteen such animals on a fresh scent 
of game could make, they followed the circuit, growing more and more demon- 
strative as they neared town. Reaching the church, they dashed into the 
open doorway, panting, yelping and producing a commotion on the part of 
the congregation so complete and instantaneous that the meeting adjourned 
without the formality of a benediction. 

The new church built by the Methodists in 1847 was dedicated by Bishop 
Hamline and called Roberts Chapel. The ne.xt year the conference returned 
the same preacher, John H. Hull, who filled the station during the previous 
year. In 1850 a small number of the members of Roberts Chapel organized 
another charge and built a one-story brick church at the comer of Seminary 
and Ephraim streets. Hayden Hays was their pastor. Later another story 
was added and the building dedicated under the name Simpson Chapel. 

In 1849 and 1850 H. N. Barnes was assigned to Roberts Chapel. .A^ year 
later Thomas S. Webb came. In 1S52 the Northwest Indiana conference was 
formed. T. S. Webb was returned to Roberts Chapel. In 1853 came G. C. 
Becks; 1854, James Scott; 1855, A. G. Chenoweth; 1856, William Willson; 
1857, William Willson again; 1858, G. W. Stafford; 1859, G. M. Boyd; i860, • 
G. M. Boyd again; 1861, Thomas S. Webb; 1863, Thomas S. Webb again; 
1863, C. A. Brooke; 1864, C. .A. Brooke again; 1865, D. F. Barnes; 1866, 
Enoch Holdstock; 1867, J. W. Greene; 1868, J. W. Greene again; Simpson 
Chapel, D. Holmes; 1869. Roberts Chapel, J. W. Green; Simpson Chapel, 
A. A. Brown; 1870, Roberts Chapel, C. Skinner; Simpson Chapel, A. A. 
Brown. In 1871 Roberts and Simpson Chapels were consolidated and a 
mission was founded in the south part of Greencastle. A. A. Gee was sent 
to Roberts Chapel. In 1872 Doctor Gee was returned to Roberts Chapel, W. 
C. Davisson assigned to the new mission and James Spinks to the Greencastle 
circuit. In 1873, Roberts Chapel. Nelson Greene, mission, H. A. Buchtel, 
Greencastle circuit, W. C. Davisson; 1874, Roberts Chapel, Samuel Beck; 
south charge, H. .A. Buchtel; 1875. Roberts Chapel, Samuel Beck; 1876, 
Roberts Chapel. Samuel Beck; 1877. Roberts Chapel, Isaac W. Joyce; 18-8, 
Isaac W. Joyce. 

During the pastorate of Doctor Joyce in 1879 Roberts Chapel was sold 
to the Presbyterian church and a new building, called College Avenue church, 
erected in the neighborhood. Doctor Joyce, the first preacher in the new 
charge, remained one year, being succeeded by A. Marine, who, in 1883, gave 



11:2 WEIK S IIISTORV OF 

way to J. H. Cissel. The latter remained till 1886. AI. M. Parkhurst served 
till 1890; Salem B. Towne till 1894; James H. Holliiigsworth till 1897; Will- 
iam H. Wise till 1899 and J. S. Hoagland till 1909. The present pastor is 
Kirk Waldo Robbins. 

The other Methodist charge in Greencastle, known as Locust Street 
church, was the outgrowth of the mission established in 1873 by W. C. Davis- 
son, who afterward became a missionary in Japan. During the pastorate 
of Rev. H. A. Buchtel in 1874, a new building was erected at the corner of 
Anderson and Locust streets. Li the following year he was succeeded by 
J. V. R. Miller, who served till 1876; next came \V. H. Grim, who remained 
till 1879; J. L. Pitner, till 1880; J. W. Webb. 1881 : W. R. Halstead, 1882; 
W. M. Zaring, 1884; Albert Hurlstone, 1887; T. H. Willis, 1892; R. R. 
Bryan. 1893: L. D. Moore, 1895; M. A. Farr, 1896; J. W. Baker, 1898; J. 
W. Culmer, 1899; W. H. Wylie. 1900, and J. F. O'Haver, 1903. J. M. 
Walker, the pastor now in charge, was appointed in 1908. 

E.KRI.Y PRESBYTERIAN EFFORTS. 

As before noted, the first attempt of the Presbyterian church to obtain a 
footing in Putnam county was not a success. After the efforts of Isaac 
Reed, who undertook to organize the church in August, 1825, interest in the 
society began to relax and finally the meetings, which had been held in the 
cabins of the members, ceased altogether. This period of inaction continued 
till the fall of 1832, when Rev. Samuel G. Lowry, who afterward emigrated 
to Minnesota, commenced preaching by special permit in the Methodist church, 
once and sometimes twice a month, being assisted by Rev. James H. Shields. 
The society included about sixteen persons who held to the Presbyterian be- 
lief. In July, 1833, he organized a "Xew School Presbyterian church." con- 
sisting of eighteen members. John S. Jennings and James M. Hillis were the 
first eklers. Later Lucius R. Chapin. James Proctor. "M. W. Hensley, Jacob 
Daggv, James AI. Grooms, James D. Stevenson. Charles G. Case, R. W. Jones, 
Elias Daggy and R. S. Ragan served the church in like capacity. Mr. Lowry"s 
services ceased in 1834 and he was immediately followed by W. W. Woods, 
who remained till 1837. In May, 1836, the town agent of Greencastle, on 
the order of the board of county commissioners, conveyed to the trustees of 
the church Lot 2;^ Iving at the corner of Columbia and Jefferson streets, on 
which the congregation at once built a brick meeting house, which was dedi- 
cated in September, 1836, and occupied continuously for almost twenty years. 
In i8si the erection of a new building was begun on the lot at the corner of 



PL'TNAM COCXTV, IXDIAXA. II3 

Jackson and Columbia streets, but was not completed till 18^14. This latter 
was then occupied till destroyed by fire in 1876. 

After Mr. Woods left the church in 1837, J. R. W'heelock. James H. 
Shields and Ransom Hawley filled the pastorate till 1845. After them came 
Thomas S. Milligan. who ministered to the flock until 1850. being succeeded 
by T. 'SI. Oviatt. who remained in charge till the spring of 1855. ]\Ir. Oviatt 
was followed by Henry A. Rossiter. whose temi of service, extending from 
1855 to 1869. was longer than that of any other pastor. In 1850 a division of 
the church occurred and the Second Presljyterian church, acting under dis- 
l^ensation of the Old School assembly, was organized. In 1850-51 they erected 
a brick building at the corner of Washington street and College avenue, their 
first pastor being J. McCord. From 1854 to 1870 they were ministered to 
by Dr. E. W. Fisk. In i8fi8 they sold their building to E. T. Keightley. who 
soon transferred it to the Catholic church, and they at once began the erection 
of a new builcling at the corner of Locust and Anderson streets, which was 
later transferred to the Indiana Female College. In ?^[arch. 1870. the two 
congregations. Xew and Old school, were united and occupied the First 
church building, .\fter the consoli<lation Dr. Fisk and William A. Bosworth 
occupied the pulpit two \ears or until 187 J. A. W. Williams followed till 
1S74: Lucius I. Root, 1876; George G. ^litchell. 1879: George ^^'. Eainum. 
1889. and Harlan P. Corey. 189J. Since the latter date the pastors in suc- 
cession ha\e been Robert M. Dillon. William K. Wea\er. James P. Roth. 
-Vugustus W. Sonne and David \'anDyke. At present the church is without 
a pastor. 

Tlin: CIIRISTIAX CTITRCn. 

The Christian church in Putnam county harks back to the days of the 
Xew Lights, which was organized in 1830 with a membership of several per- 
sons, viz: R. S. Tennant. wife an<l daughter, Peter W. Applegate and wife, 
and Samuel Ta\'lor and wife. The first elders were Peter W. Applegate and 
Samuel Tavlor. The first member admitted after the organization of the 
church was lohn G Tennant. Soon after John Reed, \'. K. Reed. Crawford 
Cole and others joined. Meetings were held from house to house and services 
were led by such preachers as Gilbert Harney. Michael Coons, John OT\ane. 
John Harris and others. After several years the congregation decided to 
hold meetings in Greencastle. At first they met in a room o\-er a store on 
the northeast corner of the public S(|uare. then in a schriol room at the Count v 
Seminary and finally in the court house. The congregation, under the nn'nis- 
(8) 



114 



WEIK S HISTORY OF 



trations of such men as John B. New, Love H. Jameson, A. R. Benton, S. 
K. Hoshour, B. K. Smith, Alfred Flowers, E. P. Goodwin, James E. Mat- 
thews. Moses E. Laird. Benjamin Franklin, M. B. Hopkins and Oliver P. 
Badger, was constantly growing and about 1S53 a lot was purchased at the 
corner of Poplar and Indiana streets on which the erection of a commodious 
frame church was begun. The building was dedicated Sunday, June 8. 1856. 
The first pastor was Oliver P. Badger, a man of great piety and religious 
zeal and the longest continuously active resident preacher in Greencastle. 
His successors in charge of the church have been J. W. Cox, Peter Raines. 
S. F. Stimpson. Alfred Flower, O. F. Lane. W. B. Taylor, H. G. Fleming, O. 
C. Atwater. A. H. Morris. O. P. Shront, J. E. Powell. Robert Sellers and 
Commodore W. Cauble. The present pastor is J. M. Rudy. 

BAPTIST ORGANIZATION. 

Although one of the oldest church organizations in the county, the rec- 
ords of the Baptist church are by far the most incomplete. Originally there 
were several congregations of the denomination in the county, the largest one 
being in Greencastle. March 3, 1837, the town agent was ordered to convey 
to the trustees of the church a lot in Greencastle, on which they erected a 
brick meeting house. This they used till 1859, when they purchased another 
lot on the corner of Water and Poplar streets, upon which they erected their 
present church. From a portion of the record of the minutes of the church 
meetings held at intervals we learn that from 1846 to 1850 John G. Kerr 
officiated as pastor, that he was succeeded by E. W. Crissey, he by J. Taylor, 
and he by William M. Davis. This takes us down to 1853. 

The next man was William Freeman, the next P. H. Evans anrl the next 
J. S. Gillespie. During the pastorate of the last named in 1859 the new 
church was built. In February. 1867. the records of this church were de- 
stroved by fire so that much of its history cannot now be ascertained. The 
church being financially weak, asked for and received material assistance from 
the Baptist Home Missionary Society. Rev. R. M. Parks was called to the 
pastorate, but before the close of his first year the church building was almost 
completely destroyed by a cyclone. This was a heavy blow to the congrega- 
tion, but.'nothing daunted, they resolved to rebuild and the present structure 
was the result. For some time the church was without a pastor, but was sup- 
plied till 1870 by Rev. Brown, of Terre Haute. During the pastorate of F. 
M. Roberts, who came about this time, an organ was purchased for the Sun- 
dav school, which unfortunately caused a serious division and consecjuent 



PUTNAM COUNTY, INDIANA. II5 

loss in membership. ^Ir. Rol)erts resigned within a year and was succeeded 
bv T- S. Gillespie, who served till 1874. His successors up to 1890 were, in 
succession. A. P. Stout. J. R. Edwards, J. \V. Reed, I. H. Wise and W. W. 
Hicks. Since 1890 the church has frequently been without a pastor. At 
present Rev. D. B. Landes is in charge. 

CATHOLIC CHURCH OF ST. PAUL THE APOSTLE. 

We come now to the oldest church of all, the Catholic — often called the 
mother church. In the dissemination of religious knowledge and instmction 
it was the pioneer, for it established missions among the Indians in Illinois and 
Indiana long before the white man had undertaken to settle the new territory. 
"Her missionaries," says one historian, "traversed the country from the Ohio 
river to the Great lakes, preaching salvation to the red man and teaching him 
the great truths contained in the gospel of Jesus Christ. Wherever a tribe 
was found, there the humble priest of the Catholic church erected the altar of 
God and celebrated the sacrifice of the mass, speaking words of love and peace 
to the poor untutored sons of the forest. Many of these noble men yielded 
up their lives at the hands of those they came to save, but at last devotion to 
the cause of Christ conquered the barbarian and love for the 'black robe' (as 
the priest was called by the Indians') took the place of hatred in the heart of 
the savage. Ever afterward the Catholic priest was a welcome visitor, his 
habit being his only defense. His coming was made a time of rejoicing, and 
the Indians, gathering around, listened eagerly to the words of truth as he 
spoke them forth. All this was changed by the dishonesty of the white 
traders, which turned the Indian's love to hate and ever since he has remained 
the foe of the white man." 

The history of the Catholic church in Greencastle, known as the church 
of St. Paul the Apostle, dates back to 1848. when the Rev. Simon LaLumiere, 
pastor of St. Joseph's church in Terre Haute, journeyed to Greencastle and 
read the first mass in an old log school house, the property of Clinton Walls. 
a short distance northeast of the village of Limedale. The early Catholics of 
Greencastle and vicinity, but few of whom are now living, were generally 
Irish laborers employed in the construction of the V'andalia and Monon rail- 
roads and for a long time religious services were held in private houses. Other 
priests beside the reverend father mentioned attended to the spiritual needs 
of the mission in these early days, among whom was the Rev. Daniel Maloney, 
from Indianapolis. The first resident pastor was the Rev. William Doyle, 
who was sent here bv Maurice de St. Palais, the bi.shop of the diocese of Vin- 
cennes. It was through the efforts of Father Doyle that the congregation 



Ii6 weik'-s history of 

came into possession of their first church property. This consisted of a prim- 
itive chair factory located on Locust street, between Anderson and Seminary, 
which they purchased and con\erted into a house of worship. There is a 
■tradition that the owner of the property in (juestion. a Protestant, was so 
deeply prejudiced against the further encroachment of the Catholic denomina- 
tion that he refused to sell the lot to them and that the conveyance was 
effected by a strategem, the owner. Gustavus H. Lilly, being made to believe 
that the grantee was intending to use the place as a vinegar factory. This 
could easily ha\-e been accomplished by means of a bond for a deed. At the 
date of this transaction the Know-nothing movement was at its height and 
the prejudice against foreigners and the Roman Catholics knew no limit. 

Rev. Edward O'Flaherty followed Father Doyle, ministering to the 
flock at Greencastle and adjacent missions until 1856, when he was succeeded 
by Rev. Patrick Highland. In i860 the latter priest, being somewhat ad- 
vanced in years and of feeble health, gave way to the Rev. Joseph O'Reilly, 
under whose ministrations the church made rapid and substantial progress. 
The church edifice was repaired, walls plastered, altar erected, proper' vest- 
ments secured, a steeple erected, surmounted by the cross, the building painted 
and the entire structure greatly improved in appearance. In May, 1864, 
Father O'Reilly was transferred to Cambridge City being followed by Rev. 
Charles Maugin. In April. 1866. during the administration of the latter, 
the old-school Presbyterian church building was purchased and remodeled. 
On June loth the building was blessed by Bishop St. Palais and consecrated 
to St. Paul. Xear the close of the year 1867. Father Maugin was succeeded 
by the Rev. J. Clement, who made further and material alterations to the 
church, but who died during his pastorate in 1871. Next came Peter Bischof. 
who served till 1874; Dennis O'Donnovan till 1877: Thomas Logan till Aug- 
ust. 1880: Michael Power till 18S5. when Father Logan was returned and 
remained till 1888. He was succeeded by Joseph Macke. who remained a 
year and was followed by the present pastor, Thomas A. McLaughlin, whose 
record of service has excelled in duration that of any of his predecessors. 
In 1853. under the administration of Father O'Flaherty. a mission was estab- 
ished at Bainbridge and the members of the church there have been ministered 
to bv the resident pastor at Greencastle since that time. The church there 
many years ago was consecrated to St. Patrick. 

OTHER CHURCHES. 

Several attempts to organize and maintain an Episcopalian church in 
Greencastle have been made, but without material success. About twenty years 



PUTNAM COUNTY. IXDIAXA. II7 

ago the membership, though limited in number, built a neat little stone church 
at the comer of Seminary street and Taylor avenue, and for a time supported 
a resident pastor, but only for a brief time. After that meetings were held 
once a month, led by clerg\-men from other places, but finally services of all 
kinds ceased, the building was sold and the church went out of existence. 

There are three colored churches in the county and all are located in 
Greencastle. The oldest is Bethel, the African Methodist Episcopal church. 
It was organized about 1876. and met over a store room on the public square 
for \ears. but about twenty years ago purchased the lot on Locust street 
where the first Catholic church stood and built thereon an attractive and com- 
modious building in which the congregation has ever since worshipped. It is 
the largest colored congregation in the county. Its present pastor is A. E. 
Taylor. There are also two other colored churches in Greencastle. One is 
Hinton Chapel, representing the Methodist Episcopal church. The congre- 
gation meets in a small brick building which it owns on Hanna street. The 
pastor is W. \'. Butts. The other church is in the extreme south part of the 
cit\' and is known as St. Paul's Baptist church. It has no regular pastor, but 
at least once a month it holds ser\ices which are led l)y the pastors of churches 
who come from other places. 

THE FIRST SrXD.W SCHOOL. 

This chapter would be far from complete were no mention to be made 
of that marselous and now universal agency for the dissemination of religious 
knowledge and the useful instruction of the young — the Sunday school. In 
the hands of the Misses ^lyra and Elizabeth Goulding, of Greencastle, is a 
small book, about eight by ten inches in size, in the first page of which, written 
in a delicate feminine hand and now almost faded from sight, is the following: 

"Greencastle Union Sabljath School Register. 
"1834. 
"April 13. — A Sabbath school was opened ijy the teacher of the day 
school with twenty young ladies and children, most of whom were her own 
scholars. They were led in prayer and received instructions from Matt. 18: 
1-4. which ha<l been previously assigned for the lesson. G. F. Waterman was 
present and expressed his approbation of the manner in which instruction was 
given and his willingness to become a teacher. Matt. 18:21-35 ^^'^s assigned 
for the ne.xt lesson. School was dismissed to meet the next Sabbath at half 
past eight o'clock in the morning." 



iig weik's history of 

The above entry was penned by Myra Jewett, afterward married to 
John S. Jennings, and records the happenings and exercises of the first Sun- 
day school ever held in Putnam county. The story of how this good woman 
who, leaving the attractive and congenial surroundings of her Massachusetts 
home, chose to unite her fortunes with the hardy settlers in the backwoods 
of Indiana, and especially how she came to organize among these rude pioneers 
that great agency for the uplift and betterment of society, the Sunday school, 
is indeed an incident of rare interest ; and it is so admirably told in a paper pre- 
pared and read bv Miss Helen Hathaway at a celebration in 1878 of the 
fortv- fourth anniversary of the founding of the Sunday school, that the liberty 
is taken to incorporate a portion of it here. After reciting the facts set forth 
in Miss Jevvett's diary quoted above. Miss Hathaway says; 

"Alost of the young ladies and children present were Miss Jewett's own 
scholars in the school-room which stood on the spot now occupied by Doctor 
Preston's residence (corner of College avenue and Walnut street). The 
third Sabbath the number of scholars had increased to thirty and Miss Jewett 
was assisted by Mr. John S. Jennings and Mr. G. F. Watennan, a lawyer who 
had come to this place from Rhode Island. Three others aftenvard entered 
the school as teachers, but none of these seem to have been permanent teach- 
ers. On Mav 15th the school met at Mr. Jennings' house and continued to 
meet there till June 8th, when it was moved to the Seminary, a one-story 
brick building of two rooms standing on the site now occupied by Mr. Edward 
Hanemann's residence. The school had increased in numbers and had re- 
ceived a donation of fi\e dollars from the school in Pepperell, Massachusetts, 
Miss Jewett's former home, to aid in purchasing a library, and the agent of 
the American Sunday School Union donated five dollars worth of books. In 
July a meeting was held at ]\Ir. Jennings' house for the purpose of effecting 
a permanent organization. A Sabbath school society was organized with 
John C. Evans, president, and G. F. Waterman, vice-president. Mr. Jen- 
nings was elected superintendent of the school and Miss ^lyra Jewett. secre- 
tary, and the name of 'The Greencastle Union Sabbath School" adopted. The 
society held a Sunday school concert for prayer on July 14th and was address- 
ed bv John Cowgill. Esq.. on 'The Importance of the Sunday School to our 
Town. Countv and Xation." These concerts were held monthly. The ofifi- 
cers and teachers of the school were elected by the society. In 1835 a set of 
rules for the government of the school was adopted. The whole number of 
scholars enrolled during the first year of the school was eighty-nine and among 
them we notice the names of James and Leah Gillespie, John R. Mahan. Wil- 
liam Ste\'enson and \'irginia Walls, now ^Irs. Lee. one of our present teach- 



PUTNAM COUNTY, INDIANA. I I9 

ers. In September of this year the school lost by death one of its valuable 
teaciiers. Mrs. M. Ste\enson. and in this month the school was visited for the 
first time by a minister of the gospel. There was an eiifort made to keep up a 
teachers' meeting. Init it seems that \ery little interest was manifested by the 
teachers. In ?v[arch. 1835, a Methodist Sabbath school was organized, which 
tO()k away a nnmlier of the scholars and some of the teachers. However, in 
-Vtigiist the ^chool ninnbered sixty or si.\ty-fi\-e scholars and seemed too large 
to be accommodated in the school room. On the roll of the school for this vear 
we see the names of Bishop Osborne, ^\'illiam Thornburgh and Eliza Hen- 
sley. Mr. Jennings held the office of superintendent for two vears and was 
elected by the society for the year 1836, but soon after resigned and Milton 
\\ . Hensley was elected to fill the place. The school was fre(|uently omitted 
on accoimt of sacramental or camp meetings or absence of superintendent 
and teachers from town. It was much encouraged by donations from time 
to time from the school at Pepperell, Massachusetts. On September 11, 1836, 
it was moved to the newly-built Presbyterian church, at the corner of Colum- 
bia and Jefferson streets. Something of a harvest seems to have been realized 
at this time from the labors in the school, as a number of scholars had united 
with the church. Xexertheless. the secretarv- records rather discouraginglv 
that a large luimlier of scholars had left the school and much inconvenience 
was felt from the cold, as the means of making the house comfortable were 
inadequate. R. W. Jones and three l)rothers and Lewis Rutlisill entered 
school this year. In January. 1837, it is recorded: 'School larger todav than 
for two years. We have now the means for making the house comfortable 
and ue ha\'e a minister who comes and talks to us. 

"The whole number connected with the school then was seventy-six and 
in the s[)ring of that year several more united with the church and a new 
librar\- was purchased, .\mong the scholars enrolled that year were Maria 
Walls. Sarah J. Daggy (now Mrs. Hawkins). Hannah Osborne (now the 
wife of Solomon Claypool), .Uldison Daggy and William Daggy. The pres- 
ent mayor of our city, Mr. Lucius P. Chapin. and his brother. John Chapin. 
also entered that year. In 1838 the superintendent resigned and for three 
months the office was vacant, different members of the school being called 
upon to conduct the e.xercises. Mr. Hensley was again elected to fill the office 
for the remainder of the year, with James M. Grooms as secretaiy. In No- 
vember of that year Jarvin C. Grooms, then three years old. entered the school 
and has. we presume, lieen a regular attendant diu'ing all the }-ears since that 
time. Edwin Black, with two brothers. aLso entered at this time. For the 
\ear 1840 ]M. W. Hensley was elected suiJeriutendent and we belie\e held the 



I20 WEIK S HISTORY OF 

.office one _\ear. I)eiiig succeeded l)y James 'SI. (jrooms. About this time sev- 
eral of the teachers and scholars went over the creek, north of town, and 
organized a branch school with Mr. Jacob Dagg_\- superintendent. In the 
records for 1843 are fiiund the names of some new teachers admitted, among 
them being Addison Daggy, R. L. Hathaway and Elizabeth Grooms. Among 
the minutes for March we notice that Mr. Gookins from Terre Haute ad- 
dressed the school. * * * * 

"In 1844 the library was replenished by a donation of two hundred vol- 
umes and Jacol) Daggy was elected superintendent. In 1845 Mr. Jennings 
was again cliosen superintendent and D. C. Proctor, secretary and librarian. 
In 1846. or perhaps a short time previous thereto, the Baptists organized a 
scho()l nearbv. which took away some of the scholars. In this year a juvenile 
missionary society was formed. In 1847 the officers were J. M. Grooms, 
superintendent. D. C. Proctor, secretaiy, and John R. ]\Iahan, librarian. The 
school was reported in a flourishing condition and a library of one hundred 
volumes purchased. On Saturday. May ist. the school celebrated its thir- 
teenth aimiversary at the church. The Methodist and Baptist schools joined 
in the celebration. Rev. Cyrus Xutt opened the meeting with prayer and 
Rev. Mr. Milligan and Rev. Mr. Carr delivered addresses, after which all 
partook of refreshments and then formed a procession headed by the Putnam 
Band." 

MYR-V JEWETT. 

Interesting though it may be. the linntations of space forbid further ac- 
count of this now historic Sunday school : but we cannot pass from the subject 
without a brief word respecting the memory of Myra Jewett. its founder. 
She was bom in Pepperell. Massachusetts, in 1802. and was the oldest in a 
family of thirteen children. Her sister is authority for the statement that 
'"the limited means of her parents made it a difficult matter for them to give 
their laro-e family the advantages for education which they desired. Init. with 
that persistent energv and determination which has always been a stn^ngly 
marked ciiaracteristic. she overcame the obstacles that lay in her way. Her 
great ilesire was to qualifv herself for the office of a teacher, that she might 
'do g(ii)d.' not onlv bv imparting to the youtli that knowledge which would 
prepare them fur active duties of life, but further than this, that she might by 
precept and example incite them to lives of unselfish devotion to higher and 
nobler aims than simplv living for their own enjoyment or for the gratification 
of worldiv ambition." 



PUTNAM COLXTY. INDIANA. 121 

For a time she was a \m\n\ of Marv Lvons. who made the scliijol at Aft. 
Holyoke famous, and was deeply influenced by her teachings. Says her sister : 
"She tauglit for six or seven years in her native state, but her s\inpathies were 
early enlisted bv accounts of the great need of teachers in the newly settleil 
regions of the 'b^ar West.' as Indiana was called in those days. But a jour- 
ne\- fmm Massachusetts to Indiana at that time was a far different affair from 
what it is now. There was only one short railroail in the route from Albany 
to Schenectad}-. The rest of the journey was toilsome and tedious, being per- 
formed by stage, by steamer across the lake, by canal and by private con\'e\'- 
ance. Her traveling companions on this wearisome journey were the late 
Prof. Caleb Mills and a Miss Wvatt, also a teacher. Soon after her arrival 
in Greencastle, she rented and furnished a room and opened her school. This 
school she continued to teach, struggling along alone amid many trials, dififi- 
culties and discouragements, for three vears, when a younger sister came to 
shai'e her lai)ors.'" 

The school was not a pecuniary success. Miss Jewett found at the close 
of the first term that after paying her board and the expenses of the school 
room she was in debt one dollar. At the end of the succeeding term she had 
a net sm-plus of one dollar, but at the close of the third term she again faced 
a tleficit of a dollar. After this for one or two terms she managed to make 
the two sides of the account balance. There was scarcely ever a surplus again. 
"But hers was a true missionan*' work and this was a labor of love." con- 
tinues her sister. "But she was not satisfied with the work of the day school 
merely and in 1834 she gathered together a few of her scholars and some 
others in her school-room and taught the first Sabliath school. For manv 
years — indeed as long as strength pennitted — she was an earnest, faithful 
teacher, always at her po.'^t and always enforcing by her own pure, lovelv and 
consistent life the principles which she endea\ored to instill into the minds of 
her pupils. 

"In the sjjring of '836 she was compelled in conseijuence of ill-health, to 
resign tiie schnol entirely to her sister, but upon the marriage of the latter. 
June 7th. she again resumed the office <if teacher, which she continued to fill 
till her own marriage to John S. Jennings, .\ugust 13. 1841. She was the 
mother ni two children, both of whom died in infancy, .\lwa_\-s tlelicate from 
a child, her long life was attended by much suffering, yet in all these manv 
long, wearisome ilays of languor and the nights of pain no one ever heard a 
murnnn- nr complaint from her lips. She passed from earth June 13. 18S0. 
Those wIkj attended her and mini.stered to her wants can testify to her patient 
resignation and cheerful submission to the sufferings which slie felt were sent 
b\- the lo\ ing Tleax-enh- Father for her good.' 



122 WEIK S HISTORY OF 

A modest, forbearing, but earnest woman, she shrank instinctively from 
any sort of public contact. She strove to do her full duty without popular 
acclaim. When ill health at last drove her into the privacy of her home, she 
welcomed the seclusion it insured. It was a congenial retreat and there, sur- 
rounded by her flowers, of which she was devotedly fond, she spent the few 
remaining years of her useful and beautiful life confidently awaiting the sum- 
mons which finally comes to us all. So lived and died this good woman and 
when the historian of the future shall undertake the story of Greencastle and 
Putnam county his work will surely come to naught if he fails to include 
among those entitled to the regard and veneration of posterity the patient 
zeal, the tolerant, angelic spirit and the unswerving devotion of Myra Jewett. 



CHAPTER VII. 

FRATERNAL SOCIETIES AXD CLUBS. 

The first benevolent or fraternal society in Putnam county of which 
there is any record was Temple Lodge. No. 47, Free and Accepted Masons. 
It was organized May 28, 184J, and for a long time met in the upper story 
of a frame building on the south side of the public square near the present 
quarters of the Central National Bank. The records of the order show that 
the following were the first officers: Samuel Taylor, worshipful master: 
John Sala. senior warden: William L. Hart, junior warden: Lewis H. Sands. 
secretan.' ; Samuel Dicks, treasurer: C. G. Ballard, senior deacon: Jesse 
Dicks, junior deacon: Hiram P. Walker, tyler: C. J. Hand, past master; 
W. C. Larrabee. cliaplain. 

It is recorded that at the installation of the officers Professor Larra- 
bee delivered an address of such weight and acceptability, an order was 
made that it be furnished to the editor of the Greencastle Visitor for pub- 
lication in that journal. The membership at the date of organization was 
not in excess of fifteen : at present it is over two hundred. The officers 
elected for 1910 are as follows: Earl C. Lane, worshipful master: M. Syl- 
vester Miller, senior warden : Benjamin P. King, junior warden ; James 
]McD. Hays, treasurer: Edward E. Caldwell, secretary; James L. Randel. 
senior deacon : Lawrence H. Athey, junior deacon ; Eugene Schmidt and 
Jesse D. Hughes, stewards; Charles W. Huffman, tyler: James L. Ran- 
del. Jerome M. King, William B. Vestal, trustees. 

ROYAL ARCH MASON'S. 

Mav 16. 1S51. Greencastle Chapter, No. 22. Royal Arch Masons, was 
organized. The original officers chosen were : P. G. E. Hunt, high priest ; 
John Plill. king: Peter W. Applegate, scribe: Henr\' W, Daniels, captain 
of thehost; D. L. Hamilton, principal sojourner; William Turk, royal arch 
cai)tain : .A. \'. H<nigh, ma.'^ter first veil; B. F. Hays, master second veil: 
\N'. C. Larraliee. master third x'eil. 

In the spring of 1853 interest in the chapter began to wane and finally 
the meetings ceased altogether. This condition of inactivity continued for 
years, in fact until October 29, i860, when a new dispensation fn^m the 



124 WEIK S HISTORY OF 

grand chapter was received and meetings were renewed. .\t this time J. 
U. L. Feenister was high priest: B. F. Hays, captain of the host; R. W. 
Jones, principal sojourner; A. M. Puett, royal arch captain, and Samuel 
Catherwood, secretary and treasurer. 

The original members numbered about twenty-five, but the list has 
increased until today it includes a membership of one hundred sixty-nine. 
The officers chosen this year are as follows: Joseph F. Gillespie, high priest; 
William F. Baney. king; Deloss F". Albin. scribe; James McD. Hays, 
treasurer; Edward E. Caldwell, secretary; M. Sylvester Miller, captain of 
the host; Fred S. ^NlcXary. principal sojourner; Frank S. Bittles, royal arch 
captain; William H. H. Cullen, grand master third veil; Gray Potter, grand 
master second veil; Eugene Schmidt, grand master first veil; Charles Huff- 
man, guard; William M. Flouck, Amos E. Ayler. James L. Randel, trus- 
tees. 

KNIGHTS TEMPLAR. 

Ten vears after the organization of the chapter, a commandery. known 
as Greencastle Commandery, No. ii. Knights Templar, was founded. The 
charter was dated April 3, 1867, and the following officers were chosen: 
Sir Henry W. Daniels, eminent commander; Sir Louis Weik, generalissimo; 
Sir William Daggv, captain general; Sir William G. Burnett, prelate; Sir 
Samuel Catherwood. treasurer; Sir James i\IcD. Hays, recorder; Sir John 
W. Reeves, senior warden; Sir Benjamin Pritchard. junior warden; Sir 
Benjamin F. Hays, standard bearer; Sir Elijah T. Keightley. sword bearer; 
Sir John A. Crose. warder; Sir Solomon Henry, sentinel. 

Up to the year 1910 its membership had almost reached a hundred and 
it was officered as follows: Sir A. Evan Ayler. eminent commander; Sir 
R. S. Cow gill, generalissimo; Sir Raser Bittles. captain general; Sir Lewis 
A. Zaring. senior warden ; Sir James ^^^ Carver, junior warden ; Sir Clar- 
ence E. Crawlev, prelate; Sir Edwin E. Black, treasurer; Sir James McD. 
Hays, recorder: Sir Edward E. Coffman. standard I^earer; Sir Emmett 
Greene, sword bearer; Sir David W. Campbell, warder: Sir Charles W. 
Huffman, sentinel; Sir James L. Randel. Sir William B. Vestal. Sir William 
M. Houck. trustees. 

There are Masonic lodges in other parts of the county as follows: 

Bainbridge Lodge. Xo. J^. at Bainbridge : Milton Brown, worshipful 
master: ]. L. McKee. secretar}-. 

Roaclulale Lodge. Xd. hoj. at Ruachdale : Lon L. \\'orrell. wnr-hip- 
ful master: Cecirgc \\'. Irwin, secretary. 



PL'T.XAM COr.VTV, INDIANA. I25 

Cloxerdak Lodge. Xo. 132. at Cloverdale ; H. C. Foster, worshipful 
master; H. B. ^[artin. secretan.-. 

Applegate Lodge. Xo. 155, at Fillmore; Jasper P'roctor. worshipful 
master; J. W. Randolph, secretary. 

Morton Lodge. X'o. 4^39, at Morton; S. \'. Thomas, worshipful mas- 
ter ; D. P. Ale.xander. secretary. 

Russellville Lodge. X'o. 141. at Russellville ; Ernest Simpson, worship- 
ful nu.ster; Joseph Fordyce. secretary. 

IXDEPr.XDENT ORDER OF ODD FELLOW'S. 

Following the Masons, the ne.xt fraternal order estahlished in the coun- 
ty was the Independent Order of Odd Fellows. The first lodge was in- 
stituted at Greencastle. July 10. 1847. It was called Putnam Lodge. Xo. 
45. Its officers were: \V. McClure. noble grand; Elisha Adamson. \"ice 
grand; Isaac Dunn, secretary; Samuel X'oel. treasurer. 

The lodge is still in a flourishing condition. June 30, 1870. another 
lodge, known as Greencastle Lodge. X'o. 348. was established. It began 
with a membership of fifteen as follows; Henry Metzler. Thomas L \^'al!s. 
G. W. Beauchamp. Isaac H. INIorris. Thomas 'M. Bowman. Charles G. B(3w- 
man. Louis Weik, George D. Blakey. James Daggy. Levi Cohn. Robert AI. 
Black. David H. Stevenson, Heim- C. Perkins. James Hopkins. Lorenzo 
D. Crawley and .Albert Allen. Its officers at present are : John F. Williams, 
noble grand ; Edw ard AVoodman, \'ice grand ; F. E. Crawley, secretary ; 
Charles Kiefer, treasurer. 

Outside of Greencastle. Odd Fellows lodges have been established in 
various parts of the county. At present lodges are in existence as follo\vs : 

Roachdale. A\'. M. Davis, noble grand; Lon T. Grider. secretar\-. 
Russellville. R. Ridlin. noble grand ; W. P. Byrd. secretary. 
Fillmore. John Jackson, noble grand; Marion Sinclair, secretan-. 
Cloverdale, J. F. Randsopher. noble grand ; John AVard, secretary. 
Mt. Meriflian. Har\ey Stone, nibble grand; L. F. Knight, secretar^•. 

KXIGHTS OF PYTHIAS. 

Januarv J4. 187-'. Eagle Lodge. X'o. 16. Knights of Pythias, was es- 
tablished in ("treencastle. The charter members numbered seventeen, as fob 



126 WEIK 3 HISTORY OF 

lows: John Gilmore, H. H. Morrison, Charles W. Talburt, W. W. Dun- 
nington, G. H. Brown, W. J. Ashton. J. B. McCormick, J. A. Hill, A. Brock- 
way, J. F. Darnall, A. R. Brattin. E. Dunnington, Charles W. Daggy, D. W. 
Brattin, F. Fordyce, G. M. Black and J. M. Knight. There is no record of 
the first officers. The lodge still continues in a flourishing condition, meet- 
ing in handsome and newly equipped quarters and has an active membership 
of about one hundred and fifteen. Its officers chosen in January, 1910, 
are as follows: Eugene Hawkins, chancellor commander; Charles T. Peck, 
vice chancellor; Thomas T. Moore, prelate; Ferdinand Lucas, master at 
arms; J. Y. Denton, keeper of records and seal; Roy M. Abrams, master 
of exchequer: John W. Sutherlin, master of finance; W. M. McGaughey, 
inner guard ; J. O. Cammack, outer guard ; A. B. Hanna, C. H. Bamaby, 
J. C. Brothers, trustees. 

MODERN WOODMEN OF AMERIC.\. 

The Modern Woodmen of America are represented by seven camps 
in the county. Camp No. 5616 is at Russellville, No. 61 10 at Roachdale, 
No. 7055 at Bainbridge, No. 7194 at Clove rdale, No. 9840 at Fincastle, and 
No. 1 1 155 at Portland Mills. 

Camp No. 3349 at Greencastle, the first one in the county, was organized 
November 13, 1S95. The charter members were D. W. Alspaugh, Thomas 
Abrams, M. J. Beckett, H. R. Callender, P. O. Colliver, A. W. Cooper, G. 
W. Cooper, Albert Daggy. J. S. Dowling, E. G. Fry, F. G. Gilmore, E. 
A. Hamilton. A. B. Hanna. E. L. Harris, W. L. Harris, J. M. House, C. 
K. Hughes, C. W. Landes, F. L. Landes, H. C. Lewis, R. L. O'Hair, O. 
F. Overstreet. \V. E. Peck, H. S. Renick, L. A. Steeg. J. B. Tucker, W. 
W. Tucker. J. E. Vermillion, Jesse \V. Weik. 

The election of officers resulted as follows: H. L. Renick, venerable 
consul; Albert .\. Dagg}-. worthy adviser; E. L. Harris, escort; O. F. Over- 
street, clerk; Edward G. Fry, watchman; Louis A. Steeg, sentry; W. W. 
Tucker, physician. 

The Greencastle Camp is still maintained, the membership constantly 
increasing in number. There have been thirteen deaths since the camp was 
first established. The last officers elected were: Consul, L. D. Snider; worthy 
adviser. W. W. Soper; banker. W. M. Blake; clerk, R. A. Confer; escort, 
W. G. Adams; watchman, R. K. ^Michaels; sentry, L. E. Figg; manager, 
Oscar Obenchain : physicians. W. \V. Tucker. C. Sudranski. 



PUTNAM COUNTY, INDIANA. 12J 



FRATERNAL ORDER OF EAGLES. 



March 12, 1907, Greencastle Aerie, No. 1753, Fraternal Order of 
Eagles, was organized. It has almost a hundred members. Its officers are: 
Frank Green, worthy president; M. D. Ricketts. past worthy president; Wil- 
liam Sutherlin. secretary; William Eiteljorg. treasurer; Fred Johns, worthy 
\-ice president. 

The Improved Order of Red Men is represented in the county by a 
tribe known as Otoe Tribe, Xo. 140, established at Greencastle March 28, 
1S92. It is still in a vigorous and flourishing condition and is gradually 
gaining in membership. Its officers elected for 1910 are: Fred Allen, sachem; 
E. McG. Walls, chief of records; Edward Hoffman, keeper of wampum. 

ORDER OF BEN HUR. 

The Order of Ben Hur, represented by Greencastle Lodge, No. 102, 
was organized January 19, 1S98. It now has in e.xcess of two hundred mem- 
bers and is governed by the following officers: J. 1. I'lgg, chief; Mary Johns, 
judge; Ella flyers, teacher; Fred Reising, keeper of tribute; Minnie A. 
Kiefer, scribe; May Crawley, captain; E. Figg. guide; Kate Jordan, outer 
guard; Louisa Reising, inner guard. 

BENEXOLENT AND PROTECTIVE ORDER OF ELKS. 

Greencastle Lodge, No. 1077, of the Benevolent and Protective Order 
of Elks of the L'nited States of .America, was organized in the city of Green- 
castle. Indiana, on June 27, 1907. Charter members: J. L. Hamilton, J. 
P. Hughes, John F. Cannon, James E. Vermillion, Charlie T. Conn, J. L. 
Randel, C. P. Broadstreet. Harry M. Smith. Henr>- S. Renick. Wm. M. 
Sutherlin. A. Evan Ayler, Harry Goldberg, William A. Beemer. Ernest P. 
Wright, James L. Watson. Fred C. Hohn, Frank E. Crawley, Edward C. 
Hamilton, Flarry B. }*Iartin. John W. Young, Thomas Brothers. AVilliam 
P. Ledbetter. .Albert Hann-ick. C. C. Gillen, John S. Dowling. 

The first officers of the lodge were: E.xalted ruler, James L. Hamilton; 
esteemed leading knight. James P. Hughes ; esteemed loyal knight. John F. 
Cannon : esteemed lecturing knight, James E. Vermilion ; secretary, C. T. 
Conn; treasurer, J. L. Randel; trustees. C. P. Broadstreet. H. Al. Smith 
and H. S. Renick; tyler, William M. Sutherlin. The present officers are: 
Exalted ruler. James E. Vermilion ; esteemed leading knight, James L. Wat- 



128 WEIK S lUSTORV OF 

S(Mi; esteemed loval knight, C. C. Gillen ; esteemed lecturing knight. Rees 
F. ]\[atson; secretary. Ernest Stoner; treasurer, J. L. Randel ; tyler. Frank 

J. Cannon. Jr.; trustees, C. P. Broadstreet, H. M. Smith and E. B. Lynch. 

The lodge has increased from a membership of twenty-seven at the date 
of institution to a membership of two hundred and one within three years. 

LITER.XKV .\.\'D SOCI.VL 0RC..\NIZATI0XS. 

Not onlv Greencastle, but e\-ery town and village in the county, has 
its proportion of women's clubs. So numerous have they Ijecome that they 
have exhausted the entire nomenclature of literature and historv in the 
search for names and titles. To list their membership or even attempt to 
classify them would swell this volume to undue proportions, but as it hap- 
pens that the first woman's club ever organized in Indiana was in Putnam 
countv and as it still flourishes like a green bay tree, we cannut well omit the 
brief recital of its history here. February 14. 1874. fifteen of the good 
women of Greencastle, believing a mutual exchange of ideas on the ques- 
tions of the day would be helpful and productive of good results, met at a 
private residence in the town and organized what they termed the Woman's 
Reading Club of Greencastle. The idea was to issue books, which were to 
be read and dulv reviewed and discussed : but ere long the book feature 
dropped out and the club became a veritable forum. Avhere all questions 
that in anv wav warranted the intervention or judgment of the women of 
Greencastle were submitted for discussion. The name thereafter reduced 
itself to the Woman's Club of Greencastle. Of the original fifteen charter 
members less than half are living. The names were: Airs. Hester Downey. 
Mrs. Fmily Hovt. Mrs. Roxanna Ridpath. IMr':. Mary Flanimond, Miss 
.\nna O'Brieu, Mrs. T. F. Farp. Mrs. Jerome Allen. Mrs. .\ll)ert .\llen. Mrs. 
R. Andrus. ^Mrs. W. D. Allen. Mrs. J. Wilcox. Mrs. J. Tingley. Mrs. G. J. 
Langsdale. Miss Elizabeth .\nies and Miss Fannie Donnohue. 

The membership is limited to thirty members. The club still meets 
fortnightly in the parlor of Woman's Hall. DePauw University. Its present 
officers are; Mrs. J. R. Miller, president: Mrs. S. J. Washburn, first vice- 
l)resi(lent: Mrs. J. G. Dunbar. ..•second vice-president: Mrs. E. F. Edwards, 
third vice-president: Mrs. S. A. Hays, recording secretary: Airs. J. H. 
Smvthe. corresponding secretary: Mrs. F. A. Arnold, treasurer: Mrs. J. 
P. D. Tohn. Mrs. W. F. Swahlen. critics : Miss Josephine Donnohue. coun- 
cil member. 

In the lifetime of the late Jerome Allen, of Greencastle. he invited to 
hishiimedne evening a ciMiipany of gentlemen representing the literary, com- 



PUTNAM COUNTY, INDIANA. 



129 



mercial and agricultural interests of the community to discuss with them the 
propriety of forming a society or organization on the order of the Woman's 
Club. The result of the meeting was the Gentlemen's Club, which adopted 
a constitution and was duly organized December 14, 1891. The following 
were the charter members : H. A. Gobin, P. S. Baker, S. A. Hays, L. AI. 
Underwood, S. B. Town. Jesse \V. \\"eik, C. A. Waldo, H. H. Mathias, H. 
B. Longdon. J. C. Ridpath. W. C. Bronson, J. R. Weaver, T. C. Hammond. 
G. C. Smythe. .\lbert Hurlstone, .\lbert Allen, Jonathan Birch and Jerome 
Allen. 

Dr. John Clark Ridpath was elected president and Henrv B. Long- 
don, secretary-. The present officers are J. P. Allen, Sr.. president, and Jack- 
son Boyd, secretary. The membership is also limited to thirty. 

On December 13, 1902, a branch of the Daughters of the American 
Revolution, known as Washburn Chapter, was organized in Greencastle. 
As the memijership is limited to the descendants of those who fought or 
materially aided the cause of the Americans in the Revolution, thote en- 
titled to admission were necessarily small in number. The charter members 
numbered thirteen, as follows: Mrs. Blanche Allen. Miss Ella Beckwith Miss 
Emma Beckwith, Mrs. P. O. Cole, :\Irs. Louise Denman, Miss Laura L. 
Florer. ^Jrs. Clara Lammers, Miss Pearl O'Hair, Mrs. Mary W. Renick. Mrs! 
Caroline H. Swahlen. :\Iiss Anna M. Washburn, Mrs. Lida G. Massey and 
-Mrs. Lelia W. DeMotte. The order has continued in active operation and 
is membership has increased to about thirty-f^ve. It meets once a month 
during eight months of the year, and in every reasonable wav strives to 
perpettiate the memory of our Revolutionary ancestors and keep alive the 
fires of patrotism in every part of the land. Its last officers, elected in De- 
cember. u)oq. are as follows: Mrs. Lelia W. DeMotte. regent: Mrs. Caro- 
line H. Swahlen. vice-regent: Mrs. Ferdinand J.ucas. recorrling secretary 
Mrs. Xellie Ander.son. corresponding secretary; Mrs. Clara Lammers. regis- 
trar: Miss Laura Florer. historian: ^Jrs. Anna .\. Smith, treasurer. 

r.R.VXD ARMY OF THE REPfBLIC. 

The memon- of the Civil war period and the histor>- of the heroic deeds 
of the soMiers of that immortal struggle are kept alive by the Grand Armv 
of the Republic. In Putnam county the first post, known as Greencastle 
Post. Xo. ir. was organized September 12. 1879. The first officers chosen 
were. George J. Langsdale. commander: James F. Fee. senior vice-com- 
mander: James .\. Jackson, junior vice-commander; John M Ivni"-ht 

(<)) — .^ . .ur- 



I30 



WEIK S HISTORY OF 



geon : Patterson ATcNiitt. chaplain; M. J. Cooper, officer of the day; Benja- 
min WilHams, outer guard ; Jesse Richardson, adjutant. 

The order was very popular and its numbers increased until it in- 
cluded at one time over two hundred members, but as none but actual Union 
soldiers are entitled to admission and as the veterans are rapidly crossing to 
the "camp-ground" on the other side of the great river, its ranks are di- 
minishing. In a few brief vears the order will be extinct. 



CHAPTER MIL 



BANKS AND BANKING 



Putnam count v had not long been settled until there came a need for 
a place where the people might, with safety, deposit their surplus funds. 
Banks of exchange had not yet become general in the state, but as most peo- 
ple arriving in the county were possessed of a little money they sought a 
safe place to deposit the same until they could find an acceptable investment. 
The only safe in the county was in the store of Capt. W. H. Thornburgh 
and there most of those who had surplus funds were accustomed to deposit 
their spare money. It is not tmfair to state that these deposits were a dis- 
advantage to the Captain, because he was not an accurate bookkeeper and 
allowed the deposits to mingle with his own funds so that he finally came 
to over-estimate his own wealth and indulged in some degree in specula- 
tive investments. The result was inevitable, but to the Captain's credit be 
it said he paid eveiy depositor in full, without the loss of a dollar. 

The first bank was a broker's office established about 1854 by Augustus 
D. Wood, on the south side of Washington street between Indiana and Vine 
streets in Greencastle. He was joined by Major W. D. Allen, and ere long 
they moved to a building in the northeast corner of the public square and 
opened up for business as the Exchange Bank. In a short time the concern 
was incorporated under the same name and proceeded to do business under 
the free bank law of Indiana. Its capital was fifty thousand dollars and 
W. D. Allen was its president. Later the banking office was removed to a 
building on the south side of Washington street in the block east of the court 
house, where it continued to do a prosperous business till the winter of 
1866-67 when, owing to the speculations of its officers, it closed its doors 
and its presitlent executed a mortgage to its depositors to secure their 
claims. 

Shortly Ijefore this, on the opposite side of the street. E. T. Keightley, 
in connection with William W. Brown. S. Legate and George Legate, had 
started a private bank, which, with limited capital, secured a fair share of 
the community's business for several years. About 1871 the Farmers Bank 
was organized and opened up for business in the room on the southeast 
corner of the square, now occupied by the Owl Drug Company. Some of the 



132 



WEIK S HISTORY OF 



Stockholders of the Keightley bank were interested in it. In the fall of 
1873, occasioned by the disastrous panic of that period, it was unaiale to 
meet its obligations and closed its doors. 

The next private bank in Greencastle was the Putnam County Bank, 
operated bv W. E. Stevenson. D. E. Williamson and John W. Earp. It 
was organized later in the eighties, but was never incorporated. It was in 
operation for about two years only. 

The only other banks at the county seat are the First and Central Na- 
tional. The First National was organized under the United States national 
bank law February 24, 1863. For several years its banking office was in 
a room on the east side of the public square, but about 1870 it built its own 
building which it still occupies at the corner of Indiana and Washington 
streets. Its first officers were Thomas C. Hammond, president, and Jerome 
Allen, cashier, and they remained uninterruptedly at the head of the con- 
cern until a few days before the expiration of its second charter, a period 
of fortv years. When Mr. Hammond vacated the presidency he was suc- 
ceeded by Alfred Hirt, who still fills the' office. Andrew Hirt is the cashier. 
The charter of the Central National Bank was granted April 7, 1883. Dewitt 
C. Bridges was the president and D. W. Lovett, cashier. For a time it oc- 
cupied a room on Indiana street in the block south of the court house, but 
soon after it erected its own building on the southwest corner of the public 
square, where it still continues in business. Robert L. O'Hair is the presi- 
dent and James L. Randel, cashier. The Central Trust Company, another 
financial institution in Greencastle, was established May i, 1900. Its pres- 
ident is Robert L. 0"Hair and James L. Randel serves as secretary. 

The Bainbridge Bank was established December i. 1904, by F. P. and 
C. M. ^lofifett, who came to Bainbridge a short time before that date from 
Westfield. Illinois, where they had been successfully engaged in the banking 
business. During the first year here the business was conducted in a room 
at the corner of Washington and Main streets, but shortly afterwards the 
bank occupied its own building, a substantial cement block structure. The 
bank has had a steady and substantial growth from the first. James M. 
Reeds, formerly cashier of the First National Bank of Coatesville. became 
identified with the Bainbridge Bank as vice-president on January i, 1909. 
F. P. Moffett is president of the bank and his son. Charles M. ^Moffett, is 
cashier. 

Other banks in the county are the Coatesville Bank, established in 1902, 
the Bank of Cloverdale. established in igoi, the Roachdale Bank, establish- 
ed in 1892. and the Russell ville Bank, also established in 1892. 



CHAPTER IX. 



JOURNALISM IN PUTNAM COUNTY. 



The date the first newspaper was pubhshed in Putnam countv cannot 
be accurately determined. As late as the summer of 1837 nothing of the 
kind had been attempted, for we find that in certain divorce suits filed at 
that time and which required notice by publication, orders were made di- 
recting the re(iuisite notices to be published in the Indianapolis Gazette and 
also the Bloomington Republiean. Tradition says that John C. Childs 
launched the first newspaper enterprise in the county in 1830 and called it 
The Hoosier and that in 1S34 he sold it to John W. Osborn. The latter 
changed the name to the Ploiu Boy. As no files of the paper have been 
presen-ed the present generation knows but little about it or what it con- 
tained. It was presumably a weekly and it is said that along uith it Osborn 
sent out gratis an "eight-page sheet in pamphlet form called 'The Temper- 
ance Advocate.' which was the first temperance paper published in the West." 
I\Ir. Osborn was influential in establishing and locating Asbury University 
at Greencastle and was one of the institution's first trustees. Late in 1837 
he disposed of his paper to Wilkins Tannahill. who came from Xashvillc. 
Tennessee, and who published it for about two years, when it was sold to 
William J. Burns. Burns changed the name to The J'isitor and its publi- 
cation continued for several years. It is said that Judge D. R. Eckels, be- 
ing an ardent and enthusiastic Democrat, aljout this time purchased the 
use of two columns of the J'isitor in order that he might fill the same with 
Democratic literature. In 184J Eckels succeeded in establishing a Demo- 
cratic paper which he called the Indiana Patriot, placing the management 
of it in the hands of Samuel Farley. This management continued until 
Eckels went to the Mexican war, when the paper was turned over to James 
Hanna. Meanwhile Dr. ^\^illiam Mahan, beginning in 1844, had established 
the JVeeklv Herald, which was published for a period of about two vears 
and then suspended. In June. 1846, the Putnam County Chronicle was 
founded. A copy issued March 18. 1S47. being No. 40. A*ol. I. shows that 
it was "edited bv \V. .V. McKenzie and published even.' Thursdav bv W. 
H. H. Lewis at the ofiice. fup-stairs) on the Northeast corner of the Public 
Square. Creencastle. la." The temis of subscription were two dollars if 



134 



WEIK S HISTORY OF 



paid in advance; two dollars and fifty cents if paid within six months, and 
three dollars at the end of the year. The paper contained four pages, eigh- 
teen by twenty- four inches in size, six columns to the page. Much of it is 
devoted to the news of the Mexican war, and at least two columns to a list 
of counterfeits of the various kinds of bank notes then in circulation. The 
local advertisements are somewhat limited, but considerable space is given to 
the virtues of two or three kinds of patent medicines. Dr. L. M. Knight 
calls attention to his stock of drugs and R. D. ^McEwen & Company to their 
stock of dry goods, shoes and hardware, including a consignment of "Hatha- 
way's Patent Hot Air Cooking Stoves, etc." M. F. Barlow was the hatter 
of the period and J. B. Dinwiddle praises the virtue and superiority of the 
chairs made at his factory on "the northeast corner of the public square 
one door west of Mr. Lee's cabinet shop." A. G. Detrick & Company and 
William Kramer compete for the patronage of the public in the line of sad- 
dles and harness and R. D. Anderson, who returns his "thanks to the public 
for its generous patronage" in buying his drugs, also calls attention to his 
stock of iron nails and castings as well as a "superior article of wines, bran- 
dies, rum and whiskey, for the sick only." William Stewart warns the pub- 
lic against any debts contracted by his wife, Francis Eleanor, who refuses 
any longer to live with him; and Captain Applegate and Henry W. Daniels, 
orderly sergeant of the Putnam Yellow Jackets, publish an order requir- 
ing the company to "parade on Saturday the lOth of April at lO-A. M. at 
the Armory in full uniform." Mathew Simpson, Daniel Sigler, Henry Se- 
crest, J. F. Farley. W. C. Larrabee. R. L. Hathaway, Isaac Ash. John M. 
Allison and W. H. Thornburgh as a committee unite in a request that May 
1 8th be the date agreed upon for a "Railroad Convention" which is to be 
held in Indianapolis. The railroad question was evidently becoming the 
dominant and burning issue at this time, for elsewhere in the paper is an 
article copied from the Wabash Express of Terre Haute bearing upon that 
all-absorbing topic. It is recited therein that "The directors of the Terre 
Haute & Richmond Railroad Company had their first meeting on the 4th 
of March at Terre Haute. Chauncey Rose, Esq., was unanimously chosen 
president and Thomas I. Bourne secretary. The board have determined to 
open books for the subscription of stock at an early day in April in Terre 
Haute, Greencastle. Richmond and Indianapolis; and at St. Louis, Cincin- 
nati and other cities as soon as the convention which is to assemble in May 
next, at Indianapolis, shall determine on the best plan of operations. This 
road across the state of Indiana is of course intended as a link in the great 



PUTXAM COUNTY, IXDIAXA. 1 35 

chain of railway from the Atlantic by way of Baltimore to the Mississippi 
river at St. Louis." 

As illustrative of the best and swiftest facilities for travel and com- 
munication at that period, the following table of the arrival and departure 
of the mails at the Greencastle postoffice. published in the same number of 
the Chronicle. March i8, 1847. 's in point: 

ARRIVAL AND DEPARTURE OF JIAILS. 

"From Bloomington to Crawfordsville by the way of Putnamville and 
Greencastle. arrive here e\ery Monday and Thursday at 2 o'clock P. M. and 
returns next day at about 10 A. AI. 

"From Greencastle to Rock\ilIe every Friday leaves Greencastle at 6 
o'clock A. M. and returns at 3 P. M. 

"From Greencastle to Jamestown by the way of Eainbridge and Xew 
Maysville leaves every Thursday at 2 o'clock P. M. and returns everv Sat- 
urday at 3 o'clock P. M. 

THE EXTRA M.ME. 

"From Greencastle to Putnannille every Tuesday. W'eilnesday. Fritlay 
and Saturdav, leaves Greencastle at 12 o'clock M. and returns same davs 
at 3 P. M. ■ 

"There will be no mail sent to Putnannille on Mondays and Thursda\s. 

"Jas. Talbott, p. M." 

The editorial comments are somewhat limited and without especial 
significance. .\s a ^^ hig organ the paper expresses a preference for holding 
the congressional convention in Terre Haute, on April 30th. but in no other 
way does it refer to politics or undertake to indicate Whig principles. The 
leading editorial is a complaint that the county printing goes to the Patriot 
(Eckels' paper) instead of the Chronicle which has the larger circulation 
and is therefore entitled to it under the law. One of the most significant 
things in the paper relates to the matter of supplying Greencastle with water. 
As it indicates a spirit of commercial enterprise anfl civic zeal much in ad- 
vance of the day it will not be without interest to reproduce the article en- 
tire. Under the caption "The Water Project." the paper says: 

"We understand that Mr. Freeman, of Utica. Xew York, who is now 
here, has made a proposition to our town council to bring the water from 



136 WEIK S HISTORY OF 

the public spring on to the public s(iuare. He proposes to do this by means 
of a pump and water apparatus. We know not what action the trustees 
of the town will take upon the matter, but it seems to us that it should at 
once be adopted. Tiie expense would be small compared with the benefit 
which our citizens would derive from having at any time a convenient quan- 
tity of water almost at their doors. Upon inquin,- we find over an hundred 
families either directly or indirectly dependent upon the public spring. These 
are under the necessity of carrying water through mud. in some instances, 
three and four hundred yards. But the most important consideration is the 
convenient use of water properly elevated in case of fire. Should a fire take 
place it might lay one-fourth of the town in ashes before it could be quench- 
ed. But with a good reservoir of water on the square and a small engine 
we could almost bid defiance to the flames. The difference of insurance 
that would, as a natural consequence, occur would, in a few years, pay the 
expense of the whole project: and this is a matter to be considered now. 
Delay might be the ruin of some of our citizens by the destruction of their 
property. What citizen is there in the place who would not cheerfully pay 
a small tax to promote this object? A little reflection must convince every 
one that it is not only expedient but that it is a measure of economy. Let 
us see. Suppose fifty families pay thirty-seven and a half cents to get a 
half supply of water, as they do now — it amounts to nine hundred and sev- 
enty-five dollars in a single year; nearly sufficient to pay the expense of a 
permanent water apparatus. But perhaps it may be denied that it costs the 
weekh- sum named. We ask who would take it to carry water from the 
public spring some eighteen or twenty times a week. 

"In any view, then, we can take of the project we think our town coun- 
cil should move in this matter. If they think the citizens will not sustain 
them let them call a meeting and get an expression of public opinion with 
regard to it."' 

In 1848 John Turk launched on the sea of journalism a new paper called 
The Argus. Its political inclination is not remembered, but with varying 
success it rode the waves till sometime in 1853. after which it ceased to 
appear. In Februarv. 1849. C. \\'. Brown, destined to a long connection 
with the newspaper industry of Putnam county, made his first appearance 
as the owner and publisher of the Putnam County Sentinel. In size, ap- 
pearance and general makeup it was not unlike the Chronicle described in 
the preceding paragraph. The advertisements were of the kind suited to 
the period. Special prominence is given t(j the schools. In the issue of 
.\ugust J3. 1849. \'ol. I. Xo. 26. ]\lrs. S. E. Stevenson announces the open- 



PLTNAM COL'NTY, INDIANA. 137 

ing of her I'emale School, and Levi Reynolds, principal of the County Sem- 
inary, calls attention to the excellent character of the work of that institution 
under his management. The Greencastie Female Collegiate Seminary, pre- 
sided over bv }ilrs. Larrabee. is also given due prominence, assurance being 
given that -The institution has a liberal charter with collegiate powers and 
will confer all the degrees usually conferred in female seminaries." There 
are a number of foreign or outside advertisements, among them that of the 
-Western Military Institute of Georgetown, Kentucky." containing a column 
of solid matter calling attention to the remarkable combination of the "science 
of West Point Academy, with the classical literature of our best colleges" 
and enumerating among the names of its faculty. "James G. Blaine, A. B., 
adjunct professor of languages." 

The next newspaper enterprise in the county was the Pittnain Repub- 
lican Banner, founded by Albert Patrick in 1852. Mr. Patrick continued 
in the publication till February, 1856. when, desiring to cast his lot with 
the people of "bleeding Kansas," he disposed of his ownership of the Banner 
to Christopher Brown and left for the West. Mr. Brown remained at the 
helm till February, 1865, when he sold the office anil good will to John R. 
Rankin. In the following September Rankin sold an interest to L. L. Burke 
and announced that the management of the paper thereafter would be di- 
vided. ":\[r. Burke assuming the editorship" and Mr. Rankin the "supervi- 
sion of the mechanical department." In January, 1866, Rankin and Burke, 
tiring of their investment, sold the paper to Brown, who again assumed the 
editorship. In December the latter disposed of his interest to "J. 'M. Til- 
ford, late of the Indianapolis Journal." but the ownership soon vested in 
Samuel E. Tilford. probably a son of the former. In the following January 
George I. Langsdale bought an interest and the paper was thereafter con- 
ducted under the joint management and ownership of Tilford and Langsdale, 
with Mr. Langsdale in the editorial chair. In July. 1867, Tilford disposed 
of his interest to Langsdale and the latter became sole proprietor. [Mr. 
Langsdale was a very strong man intellectually and well equipped for the 
editorship. Under his management the paper took on new life, its circu- 
lation increased and it grew in strength and popular favor until in 1890. 
when it was purchased from Langs<lale by Millard J. Beckett, it was ad- 
mittedh- one of the ablest and most influential county papers in the state 
Mr. Beckett in 1891 bought the Times (which had been founded by A. J. 
Xeff in 1882 ) of .\. A. Smith and merged it with the Banner. In October, 
1808. it was bought bv its present owner, Harry M. Smith, who still pub- 
lishes the Banner weeklv and also a daily edition under the same name. From 



1^8 weik's history of 

its birth until 1856 the Banner supported the Whig party and since that 
time it has been unwavering in its adherence to the principles of the Re- 
publican party. The first Democratic organ was the Press, established by 
Howard Briggs in 1858. He continued its publication until late in 1887 
when it was purchased by Frank A. Arnold, who was then publishing the 
Star and merged the two under the name of Star-Press. The Star had orig- 
inally been founded by Mr. Arnold and Heniy J. Feltus in May, 1874. as 
an independent paper. In August, 1875, Feltus sold to Arnold, leaving the 
latter in sole possession. When the Star and Press were consolidated in 
1885 the paper at once announced its unqualified support of the Democratic 
party and it has never wavered in its allegiance to that party since. In 1903 
it was consolidated with the Demoerat, a weekly established by H. B. Mar- 
tin about 1893 and subsequently owned by F. D. Ader and R. P. Carpenter 
in succession, after which the name-was changed to The Star and Democrat. 
It is still issued weekly by the Star and Democrat Publishing Company. The 
concern also publishes a daily called The Herald. 



CHAPTER X. 



INCIDENTS OF EARLY HISTORY. 



We are told by those who have studied tlie question that in the early 
settlement of the county the people almost invariably mo\'ed westward along 
climatic parallels : that the wave of immigration which began in New York 
and the New England states rolled over Pennsylvania, Ohio and Indiana ; 
that the Maryland and Virginia tide swept through Kentucky and thence 
along the same parallel to Missouri. Such doubtless was the rule, but for 
some strange reason it did not apply in the case of Putnam county : for when 
the New York or Yankee stream neared these parts it was sudtlenly diverted 
and in its stead came a persistent and unvarying influx from Kentucky. The 
young and hardy emigrant from the blue-grass country was by some mys- 
terious and inscrutable agency drawn across the natural parallel to that one 
spot in Indiana where blue grass had long before aii[)eared and reached its 
highest perfection. 

Many of our established families are able to trace their lineage through 
and beyond Kentucky : and it is no discredit to them that, even to the latest 
generation, there still remain traces of the lofty bearing, knightly hospitality 
and hatred of their Yankee neighbors which was so marked a characteristic 
of their aristocratic progenitors, the Cavaliers of Maryland anfl \'irginia. 

THE STORY OF .\N OLD SETTLER. 

To illustrate more vividly the character and purposes of those who laid 
the foundations of our agricultural prosperity and success. — for we are above 
all things an agricultural county, — extracts are here inserted from the his- 
tory of the li\es of two of our earliest and most prominent settlers; and 
as they are merely types of many others, the names are omitted. The first 
one is the substance of a paper read before the Putnam County Historical 
Society as follows : 

"M the father of the subject of this 

sketch, was a native of where he lived until he had grown 

to the full stature of manhood. Then, being a man of positive opinions 
and a in faith, he naturalh' turned his e\'es toward the 



I40 WEIK S HISTORY OF 

American colonies where he could exercise his religious and political views 
as best suited him. He landed in this country in 1775, about one year before 
the Declaration of Independence. He settled in Virginia, where he lived 
when England declared war against the colonies. He at once laid down 
the plow for the sword and enlisted in the army. He fought under the com- 
mand of General Washington for a short time; then was placed under Gen- 
eral Greene and was with him in all his battles in the Carolinas and in Vir- 
ginia. He was a soldier of the Revolution for seven years, remaining faith- 
ful to the cause until peace had been declared and the United States had 
become free and independent. After his discharge from the army he lived 
for a short time in the state of Virginia and from there went to Jessamine 

county, Kentucky, where he soon after was married to Miss Four 

children were born to them, three daughters and one son. The death of his 
first wife occurred a short time after the birth of the last child. His second 

marriage was to about 1794, by whom he had ten children, 

five sons and fi\-e daughters. His descendants now number more than one 
thousand people. 

"The subject of this sketch was the fifth child by the second marriage 
and was born July 5, 1804. In the year 1812, when he was eight years old. 
his father died. His mother survived her husband many years, her death 
occurring October i, 1839, at the home of her son in Putnam county, six miles 

from Greencastle. At the age of fifteen the boy went to live with 

near Mt. Sterling. Kentucky, and worked for his board and clothing for 
five years. During this time he went to school about three months of each 
winter for four winters, obtaining thus all the school education he ever re- 
cei\-ed. The school house was built of hewed logs with a large fire-place in 
one end. having split saplings with wooden legs for benches and greased 
paper for window panes. 

■'-\t the age of twenty years, on March 5, 1825. the subject of this sketch 
w as married to Miss In a few days thereafter, hav- 
ing loaded on a pack saddle all their household goods, consisting of two beds, 
three plates, two teacups, two knives, two forks, a gourd, a stewkettle and 
a skillet, the wife riding another horse and canying with her all their wear- 
ing apparel and leading the pack-horse, and the husband following on foot. 
driving a cow and a colt which his father-in-law had given him. the young 
couple started for their new home in the wilds of Estill county, Kentucky, 
on the Kentucky river seventy-five miles away. They took two days for the 
journev. Arrived at his destination, the young farmer traded one horse 
for a claim of al^out twentv-five acres. This trade left him one mare, a colt. 



PUTNAM COUNTY. INDIANA. I4I 

one cow, a young wife and not a dollar in his pocket. He at once determined 
to better his condition and own a large fami. The first year he cleared five 
acres of ground. He raised five crops on this place. All the iron he had 
for tending these crops was the point of his shovel-plow and the bit in his 
horse's mouth. After he had raised one crop his brother-in-law sold him 
eleven sows and pigs on credit for thirty dollars. He drove them home 
eighteen miles and turned them out on mast in the mountains, feeding them 
occasionally to keep them from running wild. That thirty dollars of debt 
worried him day and night and he was determined to pay it. In order to 
do this he hunted coons on winter nights for their hides, which he sold for 
ten dollars. His wife spun yarn, wove cloth and made him an overcoat, 
which he concluded to do without in order that he might sell it for twenty 
dollars to pay his debt. He now had the thirty dollars he owed his brother- 
in-law and walked eighteen miles to pay it. He felt chagrined when on 
reaching the latter's house he refused to take the money, saying: 'Now, 

I don't need that money and you do. You take it and 

buy some calves to take home with you." He did so, buying ten head, driving 
them home and turning them into the canebrakes. 

CATCHING .A PENITENT THIEF. 

"The third year our subject lived in the mountains he met with a loss 
which led him into an interesting and almost fatal adventure. .-\ young 
man came to him for work and he hired the applicant for the season. The 
second day after doing so. while he was away in the mountains looking after 
his hogs, the hired man stole the only suit of clothes he had. ten coon skins, 
se\'en dollars in monev and his canoe and put off down the river. On coming 
home at night he learned from his wife what had happened and immediateh- 
determined to catch the thief. He borrowed a canoe of his nearest neighbor 
and started down the river for that purpose. Se\'eral miles below, a large 
rock lay in the middle of the river with a swift current flowing on each side 
of it. On this rock his canoe lodged in such a manner that he could not get 
it oft'. He got out of his boat and managed to get a solid footing, but having 
carefully \iewed the situation he gave up all hope of ever getting away 
alive and commenced to pray. After pra\-ing for some time, he concluded 
forced prayer could not avail much. So he quit praying and. plunging into 
the icv water, swam ashore. He went to the nearest house and dried his 
clothing. At daylight he set out. this time on foot down the river bank in 
search of his man. Four or five miles below he found his canoe tied to 



^"\ 



142 



WEIK S HISTORY OF 



the bank bottom up and knew from that circumstance and from the swift 
current in the river that the thief had also been capsized and lost all the 
stolen goods. He went to the nearest house and found the man drying his 
clothes. He took the refugee in charge and started back on foot. Thinking 
the matter over, he concluded to give his captive the choice of a whipping 
or a trip to the penitentiary. The man chose the whipping. He accordingly 
tied him to a tree, cut a good switch and began on him. He whipped a while, 
then talked, telling the culprit that the whipping was for his good. He re- 
peated the castigation till they were both worn out. Then he turned the 
malefactor loose and gave him some good advice. As the hat of the un- 
fortunate evil-doer had been lost in the river, he gave him his own and went 
home bareheaded. Twenty years later he met this man in an adjoining state, 
with an interesting family around him, well-to-do and respected by all his 
neighbors. The whipping was not referred to by either party; but it is not 
at all improbable that the timely whipping with its accompanying advice 
made a man of the unlucky thief. 

G.\NDER-PULLING. 

"After raising five crops concluded that the moun- 
tains had no further attraction for him and in the fall of 1829 he rounded 
up his hogs, which had increased to one hundred seven head, and his calves, 
which had grown to be good sized steers, and sold the entire lot, together 
with twentv acres of standing corn in the field, for five hundred dollars. 

His father-in-law , had decided to emigrate to Indiana 

and he had selected Illinois for his future home. He hired a man to move 
him and he himself walked behind the wagon, driving three cows. He ar- 
rived in Illinois about the loth of October, 1829. He had sent his wife and 
two children with her father to Indiana. He entered one hundred fifty-six 
acres of land six miles south of Paris, sowed four acres of wheat and com- 
menced to build him a cabin. When Sunday came he found there was not 
a church or school house nearer than six miles. He began to look about and 
see what class of people he was to make home and rear his children with 
and found them congregated on Sunday at shooting matches, horse races and 
gander-pullings. They would take an old gander, tie his feet to the limb of 
a tree, soap his head and neck, then go back fifty yards and ride as fast 
as their horses could run under the gander and catch him by the head : who- 
ever pulled the head off received the gander as a prize. ]Men were pulled 
off of their horses oftener than heads were pulled off of the ganders. As 



PUTNAM COUNTY, INDIANA. I43 

the young fanner from Kentucky had been taught to respect the Sabbath 
and was a member of the Methodist church, he could not think of rearing 
his children in such a community. So he concluded to find a better neigh- 
borhood. 

"About the last of October he came over to Indiana after his wife and 
children. The first Sunday following his arrival he attended church in a 

log school house, where he met such men as 

and After consulting his wife and comparing 

these men and the land about with the people and land in Illinois, where he 
had taken a claim, he concluded to sell out and locate in Indiana. ^Ir. 

his brother-in-law, proposed to sell him eighty acres 

of his land for two hundred dollars and then give him an additional eighty- 
acre tract adjoining it. He accepted the proposition. These one hundred 

and sixty acres form a part of his present home farm, miles from 

Greencastle. Immediately after the purchase he left for Illinois and moved 
all his household goods on a pack saddle, arriving at his new Indiana farm 
the latter part of October, 1829. 

CLEARING L.\ND. 

'"The first thing was to build him a log house in about the thickest woods 
he had ever seen. By spring he was ready to move into the cabin. He at 
once went to work, deadening timber, rolling logs and burning brush bv 
night. The first spring he succeeded in clearing three acres, among the 
stumps of which, planting in June, he raised a good crop of corn. The 
second year he cleared ten acres. After cutting all the timber down and 
trimming it ready for rolling, he called in his neighbors and thirtv of them 
came to help him. The next day he and his thirty assistants went to an- 
other neighbor and helped him. and so on from clearing to clearing. And 
so from year to year the sturdy early settlers toiled until they finally suc- 
ceeded in clearing and fencing their farms says that ofT 

of the fann on which he settled when he came to Putnam county he has sold 
twelve thousand dollars worth of walnut and poplar timber and he is satis- 
fied that he destroyed and made into rails an amount that if it were stand- 
ing todav would be valued at not less than twenty thousand dollars. 

'"The early settlers were all poor and dependent upon selling what lit- 
tle thev had to spare to new-comers into the county. .\t one time at a Fourth 

of lulv celebration they were very much discouraged by Judge 

declaring that the country would soon be filled up with inhabitants and 



144 



WEIK S HISTORY OF 



they would have no one to whom they could sell their surplus; but as the 
country became settled their markets opened and the Judge's problem was 
solved. 

"The first church in the neighborhood was built of logs on the site 

now occupied by The prominent contributors to the 

erection of this building were the subject of this sketch, , 

and Not having any 

money to donate, the first mentioned on the above list subscribed a cow, 
which was sold for eight dollars, the money thus obtained being used in 
the construction of the church. The inhabitants attended church by families 
in wagons drawn by oxen some of the men walking and leading the oxen. 

"In due course of time began to accumulate some 

money and ere long had bought forty acres of land adjoining his home 
farm for one hundred dollars. His next purchase was eighty acres for 
five hundred dollars. And as he could spare the money he kept adding to 
his farm until he had increased it to five hundred and fifty acres; this was in 
the year 1847. He always made it a rule never to buy land until he could 
make a partial payment and see his way to pay the balance, giving his note for 
deferred payments; and he never failed to meet the notes when due. He 
was never asked to give an endorser or make a mortgage. 

"On August II, 1849, the angel of death entered the home of Mr. 

taking his faithful companion who had patiently borne 

wnth him an equal share of the hardships of a new country. She left him a 
large family of children, consisting of seven boys and three girls, all of 
whom are living except two. Three years later, on September 15. 1S52. 

he was married to To this union was born one daughter 

and one son. 

••yi\- has assisted his eight sons in buying more than 

three thousand acres of land, though all the money for this purpose or for 
any other purpose advanced to them has. with the exception of eight hun- 
dred dollars each, been returned to him. He preferred to let them pay for 
their own homes that they might better appreciate them. He attributes 
his financial success largely to keeping out of debt and avoiding speculation 
and has tried to impress the same rule of life upon his sons." 

STORY OF .\ M.\RYI.AXD TR.KVELER. 

The account of the other early settler referred to in the opening para- 
graph of this chapter is from the pen of his son. "My father.'' relates the 
latter, "left Fre<lerick county. INfaryland. where he was born, in 1825. main- 



PUTNAM COUNTY, INDIANA. I45 

ly because of slavery, to which he was bitterly opposed. He was mounted 
on a large and fine horse, of which he was a judge and great admirer, and 
seated on a pair of old-fashioned leather saddle-bags, in which he carried 
all his belongings. Being deeply interested in agriculture, he had decided 
to emigrate to a country where he could get the four most important ele- 
ments of a hrst-class fami, namely, good soil, good water, lime-stone rock 
and good timber. He journeyed through Kentucky, halting in Clark, Fa- 
ette and Bourbon counties, where he found the four requisites, but the dark 
shadow of slaver}- was as objectionable as in the Maryland location he had 
just left. He kept westward and ere long reached Indianapolis where the 
means he had would have purchased a wide extent of land, but he thought 
it was too wet, more or less unhealthy, and not up to his standard. Con- 
tinuing his journey, he liked the appearance of the coitntry about Danville. 
but did not see exactly what he wanted. Xight overtook him two miles east 
of Greencastle. He stopped for the night with old John McXary, at whose 
house a large gathering of neighbors had congregated to celebrate the in fare 
of one of McNar>'"s children who had just been married. My father was 
much pleased with the manner of the people, especially their considerate 
attentions to a stranger. Xext morning by sunrise he was on his horse, 
headed for Greencastle, expecting to arrive there in time for breakfast. He 
stopped at a tavern called 'Social Hall,' kept by one King. AX'hile eating his 
first meal in the embyro city, he learned from King that the upper story 
of his house was unfinished on account of a lack of monev and that he want- 
ed to sell. Before leaving the table a bargain was struck and before the next 
meal my father was himself the proprietor of "Social Hall" and held an op- 
tion on two vacant lots nearby. His travels had ended antl he soon began 
to acquire farnnng land near the town. At that time there was much valu- 
able land still subject to entr>- at the United States land office. :\Iv father's 
selections there and his purchase of small tracts located by others composed 
the main part of his landed possessions. He had evidently found in the 
soil and climate of Putnam county the requisite he had been seeking, and 
in time became the largest land owner in the county." 

THE ORIGIN OF BLUE GR.\S.S. 

Tliere are good grounds for the belief that the blue grass of Putnam 
county and the adjacent area is an original Indiana product and not. as is 
generalh- supposed, an importation from Kentuck\-. To at least two per- 
(10) 



j^Q weik's history of 

sons from the Hoosier state — Hon. Henry S. Lane, of Crawfordsville. and 
Col. Thomas Dowhng, of Terre Haute — Henn.- Clay declared that the seed of 
the original blue grass which has made Kentucky famous came from Indiana. 
When Colonel Dowling visited Mr. Clay and asked for a handful of the 
seed of the real Kentucky blue grass to take home with him. the proprietor 
of "Ashland" smiled and then reminded his visitor that blue grass was in- 
digenous to the soil of central Indiana, which was a limestone base with 
•a. super-stratum of clav, and that the Kentucky soldiers in the early Indian 
wars, returning from Ft. Harrison on the Wabash, found it growing in pro- 
fusion there and brought the seed back home with them. 

But whether that be true or not, it is certain that Putnam county is 
entitled to some distinction as the leading blue grass county of the state. Our 
earlv settlers realized the advantages of that remarkable plant, its wonderful 
nutritious value and the profitable returns it yielded when properly fed to 
li\-estock. The result was that our people were among the earliest and at 
one time the greatest producers of high-grade cattle in the state. Space 
here will not allow the list of all their names, but prominent among them 
Avere such men as Dr. A. C. Stevenson, Andrew M. Lockridge, Joseph Al- 
len. Wilson Yates, James McMurray. B. F. Corwin, Daniel Thornton, Charles 
Brido-es, Col. A, S. Farrow, Alexander Bryan, Ambrose D. Hamrick, Frank 
P. Nelson, Jesse Hvmer, William B. Peck. Thomas C. Hammond and Simp- 
son F. Lockridge. The earliest and the most conspicuous in his efforts 
to utilize the wealth of blue grass and improve the breed of cattle was Dr. 
Alexander C. Stevenson. He was a real student of agriculture, having for 
vears been president of the State Agricultural Society, as well as a genius 
in the development of our livestock. Even while he was still living in Green- 
castle and practicing medicine, he was deeply interested in livestock. "He 
lived." relates one of the early residents of Greencastle, "in a two-story log 
house just outside the corporation line, northwest of town and on a lot north 
of James M. Groom's residence. He had a large barn and when I was a 
bov I used to go there and admire the fine specimens of the short-horn 
breed of cattle, descendants of stock purchased of the Owens family, and 
which traced back to the famous Kentucky importation of 1817. The Doc- 
tor was a remarkable man for his time and a diligent student of the stock 
c|uestion. I have witnessed him in del^ate when called to the floor by remarks 
of such men as Lewis F. Allen, of Buffalo, New York. George M. Bed- 
ford and William Warfield of Kentucky, and he invariably acquitted him- 
self with credit.'' 



PL'TXAM COUNTY, INDIANA. I47 

EARLY IMPORTATION OF CATTLE. 

Doctor Stevenson ven- early realized that our own livestock was not up 
to the requisite standard and that great improvement could be made bv 
the introduction of some of the recognized pure breeds from abroad. He 
argued that with the abundance of luxuriant blue grass then in the country, 
great profits could be realized if only the right strain of stock was secured: 
and he proposed to his neighbors and friends that they combine and purchase 
the requisite stock in Europe and ship to this country. But, however fav- 
orably his neighbors were impressed with the idea, none — with a single ex- 
ception — were willing to join him and he therefore embarked in the enter- 
prise himself. July 2, 1853. he sailed from Philadelphia for England, where 
he spent some time traveling over the country, examining the various herds 
and studying the livestock question from every point of view. With the 
primitive and inconvenient arrangements on shipboard and elsewhere for 
shipping cattle across the Atlantic in that day, it was not only an expensive 
but more or less hazardous undertaking. The Indiana State Journal and the 
Indiana Farmer published numerous letters from the Doctor in which he 
described his journey and the many strange and oftentimes interesting ex- 
periences that befell him. He bought stock here and there, mostlv the 
short-horns and Durham cattle, and collected them at the town of [>arling- 
trjn.. From the latter place he drove them across the country to Liverpool, 
where he secured passage for himself and proper shipping facilities for his 
stock on one of the west-bound vessels sailing from that port. The passage 
across the Atlantic in the fall was somewhat rough, but in due time he 
reached the United States without the loss of a single animal. 

The arri\'al of the herd in Greencastle is chronicled in the Putnam 
Banner. There were two bulls: one named "Prince of Wales." was turned 
over to Joseph .\llen, who was interested in the enterprise : the other. "Fan- 
cy Boy." was retained by Doctor Stevenson. There were also four heifers 
The Banner \ery significantly observes that "The cattle imported bv Doctor 
Stex'enson to this countrv- are not for sale. They were purchased near Darl- 
ington. England, of three different breeders, are all beautiful roans, except 
one which is red, and are but distantly related, so that the produce may be 
lired together for some time to come." Doctor Stevenson also brought home 
with him from England two pigs of the Leicester breed, purchased from 
Robert Thornton of Stapleton. The boar he named "Prince Albert." In 
the columns of the Indiana Farmer the Doctor, recommending them t<j 
his farmer friends, is ver}- enthusiastic in their praise. Describing them, he 



148 weik's history of 

says : "In color they are white with an occasional small discoloration in the 
skin but none in the hair, it being uniformly white. The hair is fine, short 
and very thin o\er the body. The legs are short and straight and the bone 
small. The head is small and tapering to the nose, face straight, ears small 
and narrow ; in many cases they are erect — in some they pitch a little for- 
ward. The body is long and finely barreled, being in the boar almost a 
cylinder. They have great depth through the shoulders and hips. The eye 
is lively and quiet. In disposition they are exceedingly quiet. They have 
a great propensity to take on fat at any age and their usual weight at twelve 
months old is from three hundred to three hundred and fifty pounds." 

EARLY AGRICULTUR.\L FAIRS. 

The spirit of emulation and enterprise in agricultural products and live- 
stock very early manifested itself among the settlers in Putnam county and 
as it developed it tended to draw to the county from other localities and 
even from abroad, as already related, some of the best and finest stock to 
be had in the country. 

"The first fair for the exhibition of stock," related a former historian 
of the county, "was held September 7, 1837, on the ground north of the 
public square in Greencastle where the Presbyterian church formerly stood. 
It was but little more than a show of livestock, held on the open ground and 
without fees. A committee passed judgment on the merits of the animals 
exhibited, but no premiums were paid. The horse owned by Col. A. S. 
Farrow was adjudged the best in that department, but the other winners 
on that day cannot be remembered. In 1838 or 1839 another fair was held 
on an open lot near the present site of the east college building of DePauw 
University. At this exhibition a bull called 'Tecumseh.' owned by Anderson 
B. Matthews, took the premium in that class." 

PUTN.\M COUNTY AGRICULTURAL SOCIETY. 

The Putnam County Agricultural Society was organized about 1850. 
There are no records e.xtant from which to obtain the first list of officers, 
but from a list of premiums awarded at the third annual fair held in Green- 
castle, October 5-7, 1853, we find the names of the following prominent 
as committees on awards, etc. : A. S. Farrow, Elijah Tennant, William S. 
Farrow, G. Bondurant. .\. ]\IcCoy, William S. Ray, Benjamin Purcel. Wil- 
liam L. Hart, Robert Allen. E. Van Skoike. Henry Smith. R. S. Farrow, 



PUTNAM COUNTY, INDIANA. I49 

James Evans. A. D. Hamrick, A. Bowen, A. C. Stevenson, \V. H. Thorn- 
burgh, A. J. Darnall, H. T. Wakefield, John Hammond, A. D. Bilhngsley, 
G. W. VVolverton, WiUiam Brown. James Crawford, John S. Jennings, Tur- 
pin Darnall, John S. Allen, Elijah McCarty. John W. Nance, Andrew M. 
Lockridge, O. P. Badger, J. N. Rynerson, W. \V. Yates, William ]\Iat- 
kins, Edward Crow. John Cowgill, Henry Secrest and R. S. Ragan. In 
February. 1854, the society accepted an offer of five acres of land by B. 
F. Corwin and Daniel T. Thornton at Bainbridge and decided to hold the 
fair in that town in October. January. 1855. the following officers of the 
society were chosen, as published in the Greencastle Banner: President, John 
A. IMatson ; vice-president, O. P. Badger; treasurer, John S. Jennings; cor- 
responding secretary, Albert G. Patrick; recording secretary, Thomas E. 
Talbott; directors. James Allen, James McMurray, Nicholas West, C. Fosher, 
J. Franklin Darnall, W. W. Yates, C. Gibson. Richard M. Hazlett. Thomas 
Leach, A. D. Hamrick, Samuel E. Parks, A. J. McCoy, I. N. Rynearson, A. 
C. Stevenson, Joseph Allen, Anderson Johnson. Higgins Lane, T. C. Ham- 
mond. E. Y. Tennant. and James AI. Robertson. In the last \i-eek in Septem- 
ber, 1855. '^he fair was again held in Greencastle on a tract of land south- 
west of town owned by John A. Matson and which was leased for ten 
years. Soon after this. Prof. Miles J. Fletcher, of Asbury University, was 
chosen president of the Agricultural Society and under his progressive man- 
agement the fair enterprise took on new life. It was still held on the Matson 
place and so continued till 1862, when, owing to the agitation resulting from 
the war and the generally unsettled condition of the country, it was deemed 
wise to suspend it for a time. A fair was meanwhile held at Russellville, 
called the L'nion Fair because it was the joint work of people who lived in 
the three counties nearby, but, for the reason assigned, everything in the 
nature of an agricultural fair was held in abeyance at the county-seat. In 
1868 the Agricultural Society was re-organized and a new set of officers 
chosen. Fairs were again held each fall, part of the time on the Matson 
place and later on the Lockridge land east of Greencastle, until along in 
the eighties when public interest in the matter began to wane and the in- 
difference became so pronounced that it was finally decided to discontinue 
further efforts to keep the enterprise alive. 

VALUES OF LANDS AND CROPS. 

But even though the time-honored county fair may ha\e gone out of 
fashion, interest in agriculture and the development of livestock has not. 
Our fanners are more strenuously than e\'er striving to increase the products 



I-O WEIK S HISTORY OF 

of the soil. From data and figures collected by the United States during the 
census of 1900 we learn that there are 2,883 farms in Putnam county of an 
average size of 1044 acres; twelve farms are under three acres; six over 
1,000 acres; 54.7 per cent of farm lands is cultivated by the owners; 19.7 
by share tenants ; 7.9 by cash tenants and the remainder by owners and ten- 
ants together. 

The total acreage of farm lands is 301,039; the value of the land, $8,076.- 
430; buildings, $1,813,480; implements and machinery, $271,300; hvestock, 
$1,762,252. Of cattle there are 27,572 head; horses, 10,193; mules, 1,585; 
sheep, 27,784; hogs, 57.711; value, sales of livestock, $852,339. Of dairy 
products there were 2,422,917 gallons of milk and 485,790 pounds of butter. 
In this same year, 1900, we had under cultivation 55,398 acres of corn, 
yielding 2,025,000 bushels; 4,490 acres of oats, with 112,020 bushels; wheat, 
28,074 acres, 254,290 bushels; clover hay, 15,188 acres. 18,069 tons; timothy 
hay. 18.230 acres 20,011 tons; potatoes, 23,610 bushels; sweet potatoes, 1,622 
bushels; miscellaneous vegetables, 615 acres, value $27,461. In the line of 
fniits, we had 95,933 apple trees, 9,623 cherry trees, 45-945 peach trees, 
7,242 pear trees, 11,800 plum trees and 14,922 grape vines, and we gathered 
35,970 quarts of blackberries, 2,840 currants, 5,340 gooseberries, 38,310 rasp- 
berries and 19.220 strawberries. 



CHAPTER XL 

THE TOUXSHIPS OF rUTXA.M COCXTY.* 
JACKSOX TOWXSHIP. 

Jackson township is formed of the full congressional township i6 north, 
range 3 west, embracing the northeast corner of Putnam county, and is 
bounded on the north by ^Iontgonier\- county, on the east by Hendricks 
county, on the south by Floyd township, on the west by Franklin township. 
It is divided diagonally from northeast to southwest by the Walnut fork of 
Ee! river, familiarly known as "Walnut." The other principal streams of 
the township are Lick creek, in the north. Rock branch, in the east, and 
Clear creek, in the southeast. There are many other small streams, but not 
of sufficient importance to deser\e special notice. The land near the streams 
is either hilly or gently undulating, originally covered with a heavy growth 
of timber, among which the sugar-maple and poplar predominate, though in- 
terspersed with white oak. chincapin. oak. black walnut and sycamore, im- 
mediately along the stream, as well as some hackbeny and honey locust. 

The soil on the untlulating lands, near the streams, is a rich, clav loam; 
but back from the streams it is wet anil cold, interspersed with more elevated 
portions. It is in this township that the swamp lands of Boone extend into 
Putnam county. The soil is very productive. The black lands, especially, 
when properly drained, produce large crops of corn and other cereals. 

William Welch and John Smith built their cabins in section 34. about 
the year 18^5 or i8_'6. being the first settlers of the township. George Suth- 
erlin contests with these two the honor of making the earliest pennanent 
settlement in the township. In the year 182 j. Othniel Talbott. from Shelbv 
county. Kentucky, settleil in Jackson, where he found a Mr. Crabtree and 
Mr. Brown. Garrison Thompson and John John.son. father of the late J. B. 
Johnson, of Greencastle. also came in 18^7. In 182S came James Chitwood. 
Levi Woods. Martin BIythe and Henr\' Harmon, and about one vear later 
James Proctor settled in the township. Within the next two years tiiere was 

*Cre(lit for the towng!iii) sketches in this chapter is due the late Gilliim Ridpath, 
who published a brief but very entertaining historical account of Putnam county in 
1S79 and from whose worl; the greater part of the material in this chapter was ob- 
tained. 



152 WEIK S HISTORY OF 

a large increase of population. Among those who came at that time may be 
mentioned John Keith, John Boyd, Wilson Warford, William Elrod, Wil- 
liam Hillis, Edward and Isom Silvey, John Blake, James Goslin. James Dun- 
can, John Leach. William Beecraft. Isom George, James Mooreland, the ]Mc- 
Clouds. the Pinkertons. the Rileys and the Barneses. This period also em- 
braces the arrival of three more of the Talbott pioneers, Capt. John S. Tal- 
bott, Lorenzo Talbott, Aquila Talbott. In 1831 and 1832 there was a large 
immigration, embracing Richard Biddle, Rev. John Case, George Keith, 
James Dale, S. Shackleford, George and Harvey Jefiferies, Jacob Crosby, John 
and William ^Miller, and. perhaps, others equally worthy, who, with equal 
heroism, struggled with the hardships of pioneer life. 

David Johnson, son of John Johnson, born on section 34, March 8, 1828, 
was the first white child born in the township. 

The first who died was the daughter of Wilson Warford. She was 
buried east of New Maysville, in a lot on section 26. which is yet used as a 
grave-yard. 

The first marriage was that of Jesse Evans and Miss Bartima Welch. 

In the spring of 1831 the first school was taught by Mark Hardin, in a 
log building on section 26. 

John Crabtree was the first blacksmith. His shop was on the bank of 
Walnut creek. 

John S. Talbott kept the first store. In 1832 he commenced to sell goods 
in a log building on section 2". 

The first mill erected in the township was built by Joseph Hillis. The 
next mill was erected by George Sutherlin. the ne.xt by .Abraham Hillis. The 
first named and the last were on \\'alnut. the second on a small tributary. 
The last named ground corn only, the other two ground wheat also. 

D. Barnes and Othniel Talbott were the first ju.stices of the peace, fol- 
lowed by Thomas Watkins, John C. Goodwin. George Stringer. Wallace 
Perrv, L. T. Herod. O. Owsley. James [Moreland and Jesse Kendall, the 
last named having filled the office three different times, amounting in all to a 
term of twenty-five years. 

The first postmaster was John 5. Talbott. the office having l^een estab- 
lished in his store in the year 1832. He was followed by William Long. John 
H. Roberts. William Epperson. R. C. Bo\-d and Jesse Kendall. 

Dr. William Long, who located in the township in the year 1S34. was 
the first physician. 

The Methodists held the first meetings in the township, at the house 
of lohn Johnson, under the ministry of Rev. William Smith. Shiloh church. 



PUTNAM COUNTY. INDIANA. 153 

on the east bank of W'alnnt. erected by this denomination about the year 1834, 
was the first structure of the kind in the township. Rev. Thomas J. Brown 
dedicated the building and preached the first sermon within those venerated 
walls. Lorenzo Dow, E. Wood. L. Smith, Joseph White and Eli Farmer 
were the pioneer Methodist preachers of Jackson township. 

The Regular Baptists organized a congregation here about 1S3J. John 
Case. William Hogan and Carter Hunter were among their first preachers. 
For many vears their church Iniilding was located on the farm of Jesse 
Eggers. The second house of worship in the township was built at Xew 
INIavsville bv this denomination, soon after the town was laid out. 

The organization of the ^Missionary Baptists in the township dates from 
1841. Elders Palmer. Davis. Kirkendall and Rhinerson were among the 
first pastors of this congregation. 

The Christian church was organized in 1839, by Nathan Waters and 
Gilbert Harney. In 1840 they erected a church at New Maysville, which was 
occupied until 1856. when they built their present house in the same village. 
The early preachers of this denomination were Elders Thomas Lockhart. 
Oliver P. Badger. Wilson Barnes. Coombs. Blankenship and O'Kane. 

There are two villages within the bounds of Jackson township. Xew 
INIaysville is located on sections 27 and 34. It was laid out in 1832. by Rich- 
ard Riddle, on land owned by John Johnson, William Welch and Aquila 
Talhott. The place was named by Richard Biddle. after Maysville. Mason 
county. Kentuck}'. 

The postmasters at Xew ^Maysville. with dates of appointment, are as 
follows: John S. Talbot, June 14. 1S34; William Long. November 27, 1839; 
John B. Mayhall. X'ovember 9. 1841 : J. H. Johnston. Octolier 24, 1844; Jesse 
Kendall. July 6, 1846; John H. Roberts. October 20. 1853; B. F. Mills, April 
8, 1854: Robert C Boyd. December 29. 1854: William W. Epperson, Decem- 
ber 18. 1856; Jesse Kendall. April 7. 1859; John W. Sutherland. August i, 
1879: William E. Vendling, April 2-. 1885: L. B. Mills. May 3. 1889; L. T. 
Buchanan. May 15. 1893: Leonidas B. ^lills. April 9. 1897. 

Fort Red. now called Barnard, is located on sections i and 12. and was 
laid out by William DeMoss in 1876. 

Perhaps John Johnson did as much as any other for the moral and re- 
ligious training of the people, as he had four sons who were circuit-riding 
preachers, and his family was of unimpeachable character. In regard to its 
moral status. Jackson stands as high, perhaps, as any other township in the 
county. ne\er ha\ing hatl a representative in the penitentiary, or e\'en in the 
county jad. The township has ne\er contained a saloon. Three of the 



154 



WEIK S HISTORY OF 



leading religious denominations have a fair representation in the township. 
In politics the township is overwhelmingly Democratic; especially is this 
true of the north and northwest side of Walnut: on the southeast side of 
the creek the parties are more equally divided. 

FR.VNKLIX TOWNSHIP. 

Franklin township, lying in the middle of the north tier of townships 
in Putnam county, comprises congressional township i6 north, range 4 west, 
and is bounded on the north by Montgomery county and on the east by Jack- 
son township, on the south by Monroe township, on the west by Russell town- 
ship. Its surface is rolling, presenting to the view a varied appearance. The 
township is drained by Raccoon creek in the north. North Ramp creek through 
the center, and South Ramp creek in the southwest, all of which take a west- 
ward course. The soil of the township is very fertile, producing five crops 
of grain and grass. The township was originally well supplied with timber, 
consisting principally of poplar, walnut, oak, hickory, beech and ash. The 
Louisville, New Albany & Chicago railroad crosses the township north and 
south, nmning through the eastern tier of the sections, and the Cincinnati, 
Hamilton & Dayton railroad crosses it east and west. The township has one 
incorporated town, Roachdale. and two villages. Fincastle and Carpenters- 
ville. It is inhabited by an enterprising class of farmers who, improving its 
natural advantages, have placed it in the front rank of the townships of 
Putnam. 

Franklin township was not settled until 1824. two years after the organi- 
zation of the county. In that year. James Gordon and William Elrod settled 
in that part of the county, lieing the first to make their way thither. They 
were joined the next year by Garrett Gibson and James Fiddler. In i8j6 
came Da\id Barnes, Thomas House, David House. Joshua Burnett. William 
Giddons. John Miller. Samuel Osbom and Thomas Batman. The new- 
comers for 18J7-28 were James Makemson. the LaFolletts. the Henkles. Mr. 
Brothers and Thomas Grider. During the ne.xt year. John Dickerson. A. 
Osbom. Samuel and Isaac Brown arrived, and were joined in 1830-31 by 
James Stephens. George Wright, the Catherwoods. Jesse Hymer. James E. 
Edwards. Philip Carpenter. A. S. Farrow and others. 

The first habitation of the white man in the township was erected in 
the thirty-sixth section by the first white inhabitant. James Gordon. The 
first blacksmith forge that rang its peals in that neighborhood was put up 
and worked in 1828 bv Philip Lemon. The first store was kept by Philip 



PUTNAM COUXTY. INDIANA. 155 

Carpenter, and was located south of the site of Carpentersville in the year of 
1 83 1. The first white child bom in the township was James Gordon, son of 
Anderson Gordon. The first school was taught by a man named Elliott in 
1839, in the neighborhood of Fincastle. William Elrod was the first justice 
of the peace. Henry Rogers located here in 183J. and became the first prac- 
titioner of medicine in the township. 

The first church organization was effected by the Presbyterians, who 
at an early day held meetings at the house of George Pearcy. in section i, 
Monroe township, but soon removed into a church on section 32, in Franklin. 
This congregation was under the pastoral charge of Rev. James H. Shields. 
The Presbyterians now have a house of worship and a good membership at 
Carpentersville. The Christian denomination next organized about the year 
1827. Elders Coombs. Haney. Harris and Girder were among their first 
preachers. Their present church edifice is located at Fincastle. The Regu- 
lar Baptists were organized in 1829, at James Fiddler's house by Rev. 
Xathan Keeney. They at present have a fair membership, who worship in 
a church building in section 21. For some cause the Methodists did not push 
their organization into Franklin as early as into other townships of the 
county. Their history is. therefore, more meager than that of other denomi- 
nations. They have a church at Carpentersville. where they are represented 
by a good membership. They have, also, a brick church at Fincastle. 

Carpentersville. situated near the southeast comer of the township, on 
the Louisville, Xew .Albany & Chicago railroad, was laid out about the year 
1840 by Philip Carpenter, who had been carrying on a tan yard there for 
several vears prior to that time. Logan Sutherlin was the first merchant and 
a Mr. Bradford the first blacksmith. William King taught the first school 
and Doctor Cross was the first physician. The Meth(vlist Epi.scopal church 
was the fir.st organized, and the Presbyterians followed soon afterward. Both 
of these denominations now have church edifices in the village. 

The postmasters at Carpentersville, with dates of appointment, have 
been as follows : Ezra Whitney, May 23. 1850 : J, B. Cross, October 30. 185 1 ; 
.A. R. Hyde. June 21, 1S53; Philip Carpenter, July i. 1854: Robert M. Ram- 
sey, .April 18, 1861: .\. L. Goodbar. March 5, 1863: James Turner, .April 5, 
1864: Z. T. Moffett. May 29, 1865; .Archie Brown, January 17. 1866: George 
H. McKee, .April 3, 1867: Joseph .A. Patton. Augu.st 21, 1867: John A. Brown, 
Februarv 13, 1868: John T. Cline, November 19. 1869: James M. Taylor. 
-August 27. 1875: \\'illiam T. Smith, January 28, 1876: George W. Corwin, 
February 18. 1879: W. F. Gar\-er. .April 2. 1S80: William D. Parker, Sep- 
tember 14, 1883: E. B. Cline. October 2. 1888: William D. Parker, .\ugust 



156 WEIKS HISTORY OF 

3. 1889: George A. Hutchins, July 9, 1890; B. B. Cline, June 27, 1893; 
Marcus A. Pickel, May 21, 1897; Nina I. Dawson, May 3, 1909. 

Fincastle, located in the western part of this township, was laid out in 
the year 1838 by John Oberchain. A store was soon opened by Allen Pier- 
son, and a blacksmith shop by the Conner brothers. The school was taught 
by Wilson Turner, who was also the first resident physician. 

The postmasters at Fincastle have been as follows : David Fosher, 
October 21, 1847: R. W. Moss, ?klarch 6, 1850; Charles B. Bridger, June 11, 
1853; S. J. Ritchey, June 23, 1855; William B. Cunningham, April 3, 1857; 
Discontinued November 20, 1858; Robert L. Bridges (Re-Est.), February 
15, 1877; Thomas L. Grider, April 5, 1881 ; Jesse B. Fosher, February 16, 
1883; Zaccheus Grider, June 18, 1884; James B. Shannon, July 9, 1885; 
Calvin Harris, January 24. 1889; Thomas L. Grider, January 17, 1890; 
Ora G. Edwards, May 4. 1893; James F. Edwards, May 25. 1895; H. C. 
Fosher, October 26, 1895; Thomas L. Grider, September 13, 1897; discon- 
tinued Januan*^ 14, 1905. 

The town of Roachdale, located in the northeastern part of the town- 
ship, is the latest accession to the list of towns in the county. It was incor- 
porated shortly after the completion of the Indianapolis, Decatur & Spring- 
field railroad, March 25, 1882. As the latter road crossed the Louisville, 
New Albany & Chicago railroad at this point, the town naturally experienced 
a very rapid growth, and has steadily held its own ever since. Its first town 
officers consisted of the following: John W. Hargrave, Sam B. Sweeney, 
Justice M. Ghormly, trustees; Samuel J. Hennon, clerk, John H. Grantham, 
treasurer; John Pinnell, marshal. 

The present officers are: John H. JeiTries, Judson Lindley, J. W'. San- 
ders, trustees ; R. E. Greene, treasurer and clerk ; L. C. Cummings. marshal. 

There are four churches in the town. Methodist, Christian, Presbyterian 
and Baptist. A beautiful and commodious school building, with modern con- 
veniences, was built several years ago, containing seven class rooms and pro- 
visions for a commissioned high school. The school board consists of C. C. 
Collins, president; G. ^^'. Irwin, secretary-, and C. F. Rice, treasurer. 

The following fraternal orders are represented : ^Masons : Levi S. 
Worrell, worshipful master: Otto K. Henry, senior warden: Sam W. 
Dodds. junior warden : O. A. Shepard. treasurer : G. W. Irwin, secretary ; 
Fred L. McAmick. senior deacon: John T. Sutherlin. junior deacon: \\'illard 
Gough. J. Ed Crosby, stewards ; Scott Wyatt. tyler. 

Knights of Pythias : John Sutherlin. chancellor commander : Thomas 
Sutherlin. vice-commander: E. W. Webster, prelate: Oliver Bales, master of 



PUTNAM COUNTY. INDIANA. 1 57 

work; D. A. Smith, keeper of records and seal; I. E. W'eddle, master of 
finance: Amos W'endling. master of exchequer; Ben Dean, inside guard; John 
Oakley, outside guard. 

Odd Fellows ; William Davis, noble grand ; Charles Mclntyre, vice- 
grand; Ernest Thompson, J. B. Gough, secretaries; B. L. Hall, treasurer; 
M. A. Eggers. warden; Jesse Young, conductor; William Radford, inside 
guard; Amos Wendling. outside guard: C. L. Airhart. chaplain. 

Modern Woodmen: W. C. Banies. venerable consul; C. T. Miller, 
worthy adviser; R. E. Greene, clerk; G. D. luppenlatz. banker. 

The only bank in the town is called the Roachdale Bank. O. A. Shepard 
is president ; Joseph Cline. cashier, and Margaret Hanna, assistant cashier. 
The weekly paper is called The Roachdale Nezcs and is edited by L. L. Ware 
and R. E. Greene. The postmaster is Charles McGaughey. There is an elec- 
tric light plant, two sawmills, a large elevator and the Putnam Veneer & 
Lumber Company, all doing a profitable and thriving business. In popula- 
tion the town ranks next to Greencastle. 

The postmasters at Roachdale, with dates of their appointment, have been 
as follows: William B. Lewis, February 3, 1880; William B. Lewis. Feb- 
ruarv- 24. 1880; F. M. Ghormley. July 6. 1880; George 'SI. Cook. January 
23, 1882; Francis M. Ghormley. April 10, 1882; John T. Cline, December 
II. 1884: George Justice. May 3, 1889: John Dodd. .\pril 5. 1893; George 
Justice, May i, 1897; Charles McGaughey, March 21, 1904. 

RUSSELL TOWNSHIP. 

This township was originally a part of Clinton, but in 182S Clinton was 
divided, and Russell was formed as it now stands. It occupies the northwest 
corner of the county, and is bounded on the north by Montgomer}- county, 
on the east bv Franklin township, on the south by Clinton township, on the 
west bv Parke county. This township is composed of congressional town- 
ship 16. range 5. The streams that drain Russell are Raccoon creek and 
Ramp creek, with their several tributaries, all taking a southwestward course. 
The timber is of an excellent quality, and of a variety similar to that of the 
neighboring townships. The soil is excellent, especially in the northern and 
northwestern portions, the county around Russellville being charming in 
its natural character, and finely improved. The southwestern portion is con- 
siderable broken, though the soil is good, and there are many fine farms. 
The township, upon the whole, is considered one of the finest in the countv. 

Russell township was one of the first settled. David Swank, who came 



WEIK S HISTORY OF 



in 1820 and built his cabin on what is still known in the neighliorhood as 
the "Swank fann/'.in the northeastern part of the township, was the first 
settler. In the same year came Allen Elliott, who settled on Big Raccoon, 
near the center of the township; Austin Puett. who settled near the site of 
Portland Mills ; and Clark Butcher, who also settled on Big Raccoon. 

In 1 82 1 came John Anderson. John Westfall. Christian Landis. Andrew 
Robertson, B. Rosencranze. William Sutherlin, John Gleason, Samuel Steele, 
Thomas Thompson. Jacob Beck and a brother. John Doherty and Andrew 
Boyd. John Fosher built his cabin on Ramp creek and removed his family 
thither in 1822. The year 1822 marks the arrival, also, of John Guilliams, 
Jacob Bickle and .\. B. Denton. From 1822 to 1825. Mark Homan. R. V. 
Garrott. Thomas Page. I. Aldridge. Jacob Stid and Thomas Norman became 
residents of the township. 

Within the next five years, the ancestors of the Wilsons, the Evanses, 
the Clodfelters. the McGaugheys. Spencers. Burketts. Forgeys. Blakes and 
manv others were added to the pioneer population. 

The first birth which occurred in the township is a matter of dispute. 
The priority belongs either to a child of Christian and IVIatilda Dearduff. or 
to Miss Guilliams. the wife of John McGaughey. who was born about the 
year 1823. The first marriage was that of John Guilliams and Miss Lydia 
Fosher, which took place in July. 1822. They were married by the Rev. 
Mr. Ouinlet. The manner in which this wedding was conducted serves to 
illustrate the character of the times, and the simple habits of the pioneers. 
Mr. Guilliams, who was busily engaged in plowing com. made arrangements 
with his intended wife that, on the day of the marriage, when the preacher 
should arrive, and she should be ready, she should inform him of the facts. 
In due time the preacher came, and a child was dispatched to notify the 
groom that all things were ready. Hitching his horse in the field, he repaired 
to the house where the ceremony was performed, when he retumetl to his 
labor, as though nothing unusual had taken place. 

Daniel Anderson, who ministered unto the people of the township dur- 
ing the years of 1824 and 1825, was their first preacher. He was followed 
by William H. Smith. Lorenzo Dow. and others of the noble band which they 
represent. The first school house was built on the farm of John Fosher. in 
1823. in which the first school was taught the same year. The first mill in 
the township was built by Jacob Beck and was long known as Beck's Mill. 
This was erected in 1820 and 1821. The buhrs of this mill were made by 
John Guy. from a boulder which lay near the mill site. The ne.xt was 
Swank's Mill, built in 1823. James Secrest opened at Blakesburgh the first 



PUTNAM COUNTY, IXDIAXA. 1 59 

Store from which goods were sold in Russell township. In 1823 John Fosher 
established a tan-yard on Ramp creek, which was the first in this portion of 
the county. Col. James Blake erected a '"Sang Factory" at the same place, 
and operated it from 1826 to 1830. This factory gave employment to all 
who were not otherwise employed, in digging "sang." which fountl a ready 
market. Jesse Blake, also, had an interest in this factor}-. The first church 
was built at Russellville in 1830. When the town was laid out in iSj8. 
arrangements were made for the erection of a church, which was completed 
two years later. The first Fourth of July celebration was held on the farm 
of John Dougherty, near Portland ]\lills. in 1S28. Gen. George K. Steele 
acting as marshal of the day. Drs. James B. Clark. Copeland. Winslow. 
Rogers and John Slavens were the first practicing physicians in this com- 
munity. 

The only town in Russell township is Russellville. It was laid out in 
i8j8. but was not incorporated until early in the eighties. About that time 
it was reached by the Indianapolis. Decatur & Western railroad, which so 
added to its population that it was deemed proper to make an incorporated 
town of it. In early days its leading citizen was Jacob Durham, who emi- 
grated frr;m Kentucky and set up the first blacksmith shop. Later he became 
the village merchant, was postmaster, justice of the peace and filled various 
places of trust and responsibility. As a business man ]\Ir. Durham was very 
successful. Although his early educational advantages were somewhat mea- 
gre, yet he was a man of unusually sound judgment and intelligence. He 
was alike shrewd, industrious and enterprising. He bought groceries in Xew 
Orleans, iron in Pittsburg, and dry goods in Philadelphia. These all reached 
Montezuma by water, and were carted overland to Russellville. His son 
recalls seeing his father set out for the market in Philadelphia, making the 
entire trip on horseback. He accumulated a snug fortune, much of which 
was represented by some of the finest farming lands in the county. About 
i860 he retired from active business and removed to Greencastle. where he 
resiiled in a beautiful suburban home till his death. August 11. 1864. 

The present town officers are : Robert Brumfield. Romulus Boyd. Roy 
Carter, trustees; John Oliver, marshal: Samuel Brown, treasurer: George 
Scott, clerk. 

There are three churches. Methodist. Presbyterian and Christian, and 
a handsome new school building with provisions for the lower grades and 
four grades of high school work. Russellville is also plentifully supplied 
with secret, fraternal and benevolent orders. 



x6o WEIK S HISTORY OF 

The Masonic Lodge, Xo. 141. of which Ernest Simpson is worshipful 
master and J. N. Fordyce, secretary. 

Odd Fellows, Lodge No. 841 ; W. P. Byrd, noble grand; Jonathan Tage, 
secretary. 

Knights of Pythias, Lodge No. 310: Samuel Cox, chancellor com- 
mander; Burton Long, keeper of records and seal. 

Modern Woodmen, Camp No. 5616: R. S. Redlen, venerable consul; 
Thomas Walden, clerk. 

Ben Hur, Court No. 60: James Fordyce. chief; Frank Kennedy, sec- 
retary. 

The newspaper of Russellville is published weekly and called The Search- 
light. Erasmus Parrett is the editor. There is one bank called the Russell- 
ville Bank, of which James Durham is president and Ernest Durham, cashier. 

The commercial and industrial facilities of the place are represented by 
one flouring mill, two sawmills, an elevator, lumber yard, two hardware 
stores, three general stores, one grocery- store, two restaurants, three barber 
shops, a furniture and undertaking store, meat market, drug store, millinery 
store, shoe shop and blacksmith shop. Three physicians guard the health 
of the inhabitants, who number approximately five hundred. 

The list of Russellville's postmasters and the dates of their appointment, 
follows: Jacob Durham. March 29, 1832; James B. Brumfield, August 5, 
1850: William H. Durham, May 5. 1853: James L. Wilson, February 24, 
1865: Uriah Brown, April 24, 1866; Joseph H. Orear, May 8, 1867; Joseph 
T. Hopkins, November 12, 1867; William M. Darter, April 27, 1882: Wil- 
liam ^L Darter. December 5, 1882: William H. Long, June 26, 1885; Wil- 
liam H. Long, September 3, 1885; L'riah Brown, January 3, 1889: J. W. 
Har^-ey, June 10, 1889; Charles W. Winn. July 27. 1893; J. R. Whitson, 
June 14. 1897; Nelson F. Scribner. June 22, 1901. 

CLIXTOX TOWXSIIIP. 

Clinton township joins Russell on the south, and is the preceding con- 
gressional township of the same range. It is bounded on the north by Russell, 
on the east 1)v Monroe, on the south by Madison township and on the west by 
Parke count v. .\ small p(3rtion of Clinton is a little rough and broken, 
though most of it lies well, and the township altogether is a fine body of 
land and very well improved. 

The first entrv of land in this township was made by Ashbury Van- 
dever. on Tune 17. 1821: the next by Roan Irwin. July 22, 1S21 ; the third 



PUTNAM COUNTY. INDIANA. l6l 

by Sampson Sutheiiin. August 2. 1S21 ; the fourth by Israel Limler. October 
8. 1S21. Some of the entries of the year 1822 were made by the following 
named, in the order in which they are given: Alexander Johnson, Abner 
Goodwin, John Holt. John Dougherty. Isaiah Vermillion. Andrew McG. 
Walker. Andrew J. Walker and James Peakle. 

Among the old settlers are named James Johnson. Arthur Walker. 
Thomas Hart. Edward Xewgent. Wilson Spaulding, Oliver McCoy. Moses 
Spurgeon, Stephen C. Burk. Jonathan Manker, ^lichael Etter. James Craw- 
ford, Oliver Tally. Eli Brackney, Robert Johnson. John Butler. Isaiah Rat- 
liff. William C. Butcher. Jonathan Bee. Judge William McKee. Scady Chand- 
ler. Daniel Herron. William Angel. Mr. Shonkwiler, John Xewgent, Mrs. Ed 
Xewgent, John Raglan, Luke Gardner. Charles X'ewgent. Clark Hamilton 
and H. L. Hamilton. Andrew Sigler and Rev. Turpin Darnall were also 
among the earliest settlers of this township. 

The first birth in the township was that of John Sigler, son of Andrew 
and Sarah Sigler. on December 15. 1825. Andrew Sigler and Sarah Heady 
were the first persons married in the township. The first blacksmith was a 
man named Twigg. The first grist-mill was put up in the year 1825 by Cap- 
tain Goodwin, on Little Walnut creek. Like many others of those early 
days, it was a kind of wet-weather mill and could run only when the hea- 
vens gave a supply of water. Capt. William H. Thornburgh, so well known to 
the citizens of Putnam county, taught the first school in Clinton township at 
Captain Goodwin's mill. The first physician in the township was Doctor 
Hubbard, who lived where Dr. R. S. Hamihon resided. 

The first church organized in this township was the Predestinarian Bap- 
tist. This took place about the year 1S31. and was conducted by Rev. Tur- 
pin Darnall. of Bainbridge. John Leatherman and Jesse McClain were 
among the earliest ministers of this congregation. A house was soon built 
and the organization was kept up for a number of years, but it is now dis- 
banded and the house has gone to decay. The Methodist Episcopal church 
was organized about the year 18,52. by Rev. William C. Smith, and a log 
h(juse was built a year later. Revs. Wood. DeMott. Beck. Preston and 
Wright were the early ministers of this church. A few years later two other 
Methodist churches were organized in the township and the log houses were 
erected. All three of these buildings have been replaced with frame ones of 
suijstantial character. About forty years ago. the Tunker denomination or- 
ganized a church in this township and built a good frame hou.se of worship, 
where they still hold regular service.s. 
(II) 



X62 WEIK S HISTORY OF 

In Clinton township there are three villages, Portland Mills, Morton 
and Clinton Falls. The first named is an old town, and is so situated that a 
part of it is in Clinton and a part in Russell township. Putnam county, and 
a part in each of two townships in Parke county. 

The postmasters at Clinton Falls have been as follows : L. K. Dille, 
August 31. 1S74: William R. Mead, January 19. 1875; William H. Boswell, 
June 12. 1877; ^I- ^V. Spaulding, August 27, 1879; James T. Brady, Decem- 
ber 15. 1880; William Davis, February 18. 1884; J. T. Tucker, August 21, 
1885; A. D. Miller, April 19, 188S; C. W. Batchelder, June 10, 1889: John 
T. Craig, December 30, 1890; Priscilla M. Vennillion, May 19, 1893; Charles 
W. Keyt. June 3. 1897; postoflice discontinued August 31, 1901. At Morton 
they have been: Andrew Dierdorf, October 9, 1855; James Nicholson, De- 
cember 6, 1855; Thomas I. Darnall, July 17, 1857; Melvin McKee, August 
19, 1857; John M. Wilson, October 19, 1859; Martin Frank, November 4, 
1864; Walter Sewall, August 12, 1868; George W. Hanna, May 31, 1878; 
Robert H. Whitted, January 30, 1885; M. E. Thomas, May 25, 1885; R. H. 
Burkett, November 26, 1887; Thomas J. Mount, February 14. 1889; 
Charles M. Bettis, May 31, 1889; A. V.Thomas, April 5, 1893: C. L. 
Clodfelter, March 21, 1895; Christian Crodian, July 22, 1897; dis- 
continued January 14, 1905. The postmasters at Portland Mills, and 
dates of appointment, are as follows : Samuel M. Hart, September 
15, 1851; William C. Dickson, January 15, 1853; Henry Baker, No- 
vember 6, 1854; Jesse D. Alexander, April 29, 1859; John Cook, June 
■ 25, 1861 ; John M. Hart. August i, 1862; James T. Scott, April 5. 1864: A. 
E. Ramsay, January 25, 1875; Andrew French. August i. 1876; Abraham 
H. Carver, May 16. 1881; Philip Kendall. December 13, 1881 ; John 
O'Meara, August 3, 1885; ]\Iathew F. Hanner. July 21, 1886; Reeve C. 
Peare, October 19, 1887; R. C. Peare, December 7. 1888; John S. Alexander, 
May 3, 1889; F. S. Hamilton, April i, 1893: John T. Carpenter. May 31, 
1895; John S. Alexander, iMay 18, 1898; William Torn July 12, 1902; dis- 
continued December 31, 1904. 

MONROE TOWNSHIP. 

This township was one of the first settled and is one of the best in the 
county. It is congressional township 15, range 4. and is bounded on the north 
bv Franklin, on the east by Floyd, on the south by Greencastle. and on the 
west bv Clinton townships. The surface is mostly level in the north part, 
but more rolling in the south. The soil is a rich black loam, superimposed 



.PUTNAM COUNTY. INDIANA. 1 63 

upon a yellow clay subsoil. Like the rest of the county. Monroe was origin- 
ally covered with a splendid growth of \aluable timber, most of which 
has been cut and sold. The streams of the township consist of a few branches 
of Big and Little Walnut, the latter just cutting the southeast corner in sec- 
tion 36. The township is well improved. It has many gravel and macad- 
amized roads : one of the most important runs north from Greencastle. and 
another west from Bainbridge. Along these roads lies some of the finest 
country in Putnam county; and the farms are well improved, presenting the 
evidence of care and skill on the part of their owners. 

The first settlers were Jesse and Rollin James, Elias Gibson and John 
Powell, who built their cabins in 1821. in the western part of the township, 
not far from where Brick Chapel now stands. In 1822 came Isaiah Vermil- 
lion, Thomas Heady, Barnabas Frakes. George W. Howlett and Philip 
Ford. During the next two years. Levi Stewart. John. Abner and O. Good- 
win and George Pearcy became citizens. Within the years 1825 and 1826 
they were joined by William Randall, James \V. Hillis. Joseph Logan. Mr. 
McCorkle. William H. Thomburg, Andy Sigler. Captain Tumbrick, Jona- 
than, Aaron and Henry Myres, Mr. Glover. John and George Jackson, Mr. 
Baileys. Thomas Benge, William Moss. Reuben Slavens. Edward Parish, 
Andrew Byerly. Joseph Heath, Philip Slater. Hudson and Eli Brackney, 
Robert N. Allen, Thomas Starks. Mr. Busey. John Allen. Mr. Penny. Abra- 
ham Leatherman and Luke Gardner. The years 1827 and 1828 mark the 
arrival of Robert C. Brown. Addison and Josiah Lane. Samuel Job. Elswick 
Risk. George Gibson, John Frakes, J. and P. Clement and W. Hansel. There 
was a large increase of population in the following two years, among whom 
were James Montgomery. Daniel Chadd, James Fisk, Phelan and Corbin 
Priest, James O'Hair. John Brown. Henry Foster. Alexander Tolin. Peter 
Graves. John Gilkey, Hiram B. Slavens. Alexander Farrow. Thomas Tins- 
ley. William Garrett, Sharp Spencer. Mrs. Brothers and her son. Robert 
Brothers, and Mr. Dale. Among these who came soon afterward may be 
named the Darnalls. the Starrs, the Thorntons and the FyfFes. 

Among the other old settlers were William Randall, Mathew McCorkle, 
Elizabeth Howlett, James O'Hair, John Frakes, James Fisk, Corbin Priest. 
Robert Brothers, John Slavens. Charles B. Bridges, James Gordon. John 
Starr. Samuel Damall. Mr. Thornton, Andrew Byerly. Alexander Tolin and 
Josiah Lane. 

The marriage of George Johnson and Susannah Tomlinson was the 
first in the township. 



164 vveik's history of 

The first blacksmith was John Jackson, who built a shop in section 3J. 
on the farm now owned by Sylvester O'Hair. Thomas Heady was the first 
justice of the peace. Then came Reuben Slavens and Alexander Tolin as 
his successors in office. The first person who died in the township was a man 
named Lane. He was buried on the farm of George W. Howlett. The 
Brick Chapel grave-yard is one of the oldest in the tciwnship, and has a 
beautiful location. There is a grave-yard near the home of William Ran- 
dall, called Randall's grave-yard, which is one of the oldest burying-places 
in Monroe township. The first school was taught by George Pearcy in sec- 
tion I. north of Bainbridge. About the year 1826, Addison Lane taught a 
school near the site of Brick Chapel, which was the first in that neighborhood. 
He was followed by Joseph Farley Hiram B. Slavens and John Slavens. 
The Christians held the first meetings in the township at the house of George 
W. Howlett in 1823. Gilbert Harney preached and conducted the services. 
This house was used as a place of worship for several years by several dif- 
ferent denominations. Rev. Benjamin Jones, a Methodist minister, held 
services also at the house of Mr. Howlett, shortly after the Christian mee 
ings at the same place, and here the Methodist church was organized by 
Daniel Anderson and Benjamin C. Stevenson. This must have taken place 
in the conference year 1826-27, as Anderson and Stevenson were then pas- 
tors of the Eel River circuit. Meetings were also held in a log school house 
that stood where Brick Chapel now stands. The first church building was 
erected by the Methodists on the present site of the Montgomery Chapel. It 
was a small brick building afterward replaced by the present commodious 
edifice. 

Bainbridge is a flourishing town on the Louisville, Xew Albany & Chi- 
cago railroad, in the northeastern comer of the township, occupying a part 
of sections i, 2, 11 and 12. It was laid out by Levi A. Pearcy March 5, 
1831, on land owned by Allen Pearcy, John Elrod, Thomas Gordon and Ma- 
son Catherwood. The town has since been considerably enlarged. The first 
and second additions were made by Mr. Cooper. J. E. and D. A. Ouin made 
the ne.xt addition, and then came Corwin and Thornton's first, second and 
third additions. 

Adam Feather was the first blacksmith in the place; Joshua Lucas the 
first tanner; John Cunningham the first merchant; James D. Carter the first 
saddler. William O. Darnall was also among the first merchants. D. C. 
Donnehue put up the first carding machine in the town, and was also the first 
justice of the peace there. 



PL'TXAM COL"NTV, IXDIANA. 165 

The first church organization was effected by the Presb}terians. The 
Methodist church was established mere in 1844, and the present house of 
worship was buih in the year 1S46. The founding of the Christian church 
was a little later than that of the Methodist. The Baptists have a congrega- 
tion there, but no church edifice. The Catholics also have an organization, 
and a place of worship. 

In 1847 Bainbridge was incorporated as a town. The name was sug- 
gested by the late Col. John Osborn, who then lived nearby and who later 
moved to Clay county, in honor of the gallant Commodore Bainbridge of 
the United States Xavy. The present olficers of the corporation are Jesse 
O. CoiYman, A. F. Ford and Sherman Murphy, trustees; Orlando R. Turnev, 
clerk and treasurer. In the early fifties Bainbridge took on new life and for 
a time enjoyed quite a boom on account of the building of the Louisville, New- 
Albany & Salem railroad, now the "Monon Route." which passed through 
the town. It was at that time one of Bainbridge's citizens conceived and 
carried to a successful termination the idea of building a mammoth grist- 
mill. It was one of the largest concerns of its kind in this part of the state, 
but the enterprise ended in a financial failure, its collapse involving a number 
of the leading citizens of the village. It finally passed into the ownership of 
a Chicago man. who operated it for several years, shipping the greater part 
of its output to Liverpool and other European ports. It was the onlv mill 
that ever shipped direct to Europe flour made from wheat grown in Putnam 
county. The mill is still standing, though its capacity is much reduced, and 
supplies the wants of the local trade. 

Bainbridge has a new brick school building erected last year. It contains 
all the modern conveniences and is both a beautiful and useful addition to 
the town's attractions. Six teachers are employed who teach all the common 
and high school grades. There are also five churches representing as many 
different religious denominations: Catholic, Presbyterian, Methodist, Chris- 
tian and Christian L'nion. A Masonic lodge was organized years ago in 
Bainbridge. of which Milton Brown is worshipful master and James L. Mc- 
Kee secretan.-; also a lodge of the Knights of Pythias, of which William 
Brown is chancellor commander, and Fred Steele is keeper of records and 
seal; a camp of Modern Woodmen, of which ^I. F. Parks is venerable con- 
sul, and Samuel Ratcliff is clerk, and a post — No. 463 — Grand Army of the 
Republic, of which John \\"ilkinson is commander, and George W. Starr is 
adjutant. 

The town has one newspaper. Tlic Bainbridyc Xcws. published weekly, 
of which George W. Grames is the editor and proprietor, and (5ne bank, called 



i66 weik's history of 

the Bainbridge Bank, of which T. P. Moffett is president; J. M. Reed, vice- 
president, and Charles AI. Moffett cashier. There are also the following 
manufacturing enterprises: Glove and mitten factory, owned by Horace 
Pherson; planing mill and lumber yard, operated by Lockridge & x\shby; 
sawmill, by L. C. Priest, and two factories for the manufacture of cement 
blocks and castings operated by Allee & Welch and Albert Hubbard & Son, 
respectively. 

Bainbridge has a population of about five hundred. AbotiC two years 
ago a commercial club was organized to attract capital and new people to 
the place and to that end a tract of land was bought, platted and annexed to 
the town. Several lots have been sold and a number of houses are being 
built. The intention is to donate suitable ground for factory sites, etc. The 
officers are Milton F. Darnall, president, and Charles M. Moffett, secretary. 
The following have served as postmaster at Bainbridge : Joshua H. 
Lucas, February 13, 1835; D. C. Donnohue, February 13, 1841 ; Abiathar 
Crane, December 10, 1851; A. J. Darnall, November i. 1853; William W 
Gill, January 31, 1855; Charles M. Nye. June 23, 1855; John W. Cooper, 
February 6, 1856; William B. Walls, November 27, 1856; Thomas L. Ellis, 
August 4, i860; Amos K. Payne, April 15, 1861 ; Mary E. Darnall, January 
5, 1864: B. F. Duncan, May 31, 1866; Mary E. Darnall, June 12, 1866; 
Marv Ellis. February 25, 1868; Mary E. Darnall, Alarch 25. 1869; Carleton 
McDaniel, July 18, 1882; George W. Hansel, May 25, 1885; C. C. Coffman. 
May 3, 1889; Milroy Gordon, June 20. 1893; Thomas J. Gordon, July 3, 
1894: Anna M. Gordon. December 8. 1900; James F. Smith, September 11, 
1903; Glen D. Lemberger, February 13, 1909. At Brick Chapel, which was 
discontinued as a postoffice on February 28. 1905. the following named served 
as postmasters: L. L. Maxwell. April 28. 1873: F. G. Albin. January 5, 
1874; Willis P. Wood, July 14, 1874; discontinued November 5, 1875: 
re-established May 8, 1876; William M. Smith, May 8, 1876; R. M. Baker. 
November 10, 1876; William N. Scobee, July 9, 1877; R. F. Oakley. Septem- 
ber 16. 1879: James L. Fisk, January 16. 1883; John Slavens. March 9, 
1883; George S. Frank. July 28. 1885; J. W. S. Wyatt. February 17, 1887; 
William T. Overbey. June 15, 1889; Robert S. Harbison. April 18. 1890; 
Michael Rising. January 10. 1896. 

FLOYD TOVVXSHIP. 

This township is the full congressional township 15. range 3. and is 
bounded on the north bv Jackson township, on the east by Hendricks county. 



PUTNAM COUNTY, INDIANA. l6j 

on the south by Marion, and on the west by Monroe township. The soil is 
good and compares favorably with the best townships of the county. Its 
surface is rolhng, but becomes broken along the streams, which are Walnut 
fork of Eel river, Warford's fork, Monachal's fork and their branches, all 
running in a southwest direction. The valuable timber of this township 
consists of poplar, walnut, oak. maple, ash, elm and hickory. Tl most 
peculiar feature of the county is the sandy ridge in this township. It e.xtends 
north and south a distance of three miles, at an elevation of forty feet above 
the surrounding level. The composition is of sand and gravel, and is en- 
tirely different from any other geological deposit in the vicinity. 

The first settler was Joseph W. Warford, who located on section 33 
in the year 182 1. In 1822 came Wilson L. Warford, Washington Weather- 
ford. Readie Akers, Isaac Monnett, Lawson Monnett and Reuben Smith. 
During the year 1823 Thomas Purcell, Cuthbert Daniels, William Aldridge, 
Thomas Higgins and Harrison Monnett became pioneers of the township. 
From 1824 to 1826 came G. Xorrill, Zachariah Melton, Mr. Rowlett, Wil- 
liam Collings, S. Collings, Har\ey CoUings, .-\. L. Collings, Abraham Wise 
and his sons San ford and Shadrach Wise. The years from 1827 to 1830 
brought George Monachal, Anderson B. Matthews and his father-in-law, John 
Heavin. A. Pickett. William and Aquila Pickett, J. M. and H. B. Pickett. 
Isaac Yates, Mr. Howard. Thomas Ogle, Joseph E\'ans, William Arnold, 
James Miller. J. Kinder, Moses Lewis, E. Tarburton, J. L. Bird, J. C. Wil- 
son. I. J. Wilson. A. Wilson, L. Gibson. J. Westhart, J. Kurtz and William 
Todd. The ne.xt three years witnessed the arrival of John Gregory. Doctor 
Stadley, Jacob McVey, Jacob Hoffman, Cooper Wilson, James Robinson. 
Dr. Josias H. Robinson, John H. Herod, Charles Hunter, Thomas Ellis, 
Lewis Ellis and James Ellis. Between 1834 and 1839, Joshua Iddings, .Archi- 
bald ?vliller, John Craver, Martin and Enoch Wright, Thomas Job. Henry 
Wain. Thomas Randall. John Millman, Levi Owen, James Shoemaker, George 
Hansell. Elijah Wilkinson, Samuel Shinn, John Shinn, Jacob Millman, 
Stephen Brown, \\'esley Figg, J. W. Chatham. Thomas Job, son of Samuel 
J(il). Harrison Monnett. Sanford Wise. Harvey Collings, William Todd. 
Susan Hunter, Delphia Busby, Francis Hughes, Joshua Iddings, Stephen 
Brown, Archibald Miller. Wesley Figg. J. W. Chatham and Sarah Ellis and 
Thomas Job. 

The first marriage in Floyd was that of Wilson L. Warford and Nancy 
Monnett. daughter of Isaac Monnett. This occurred in 1823: and an inci- 
dent in connection with the wedding that is worthy of recording was that the 
fainilv had no Hour to make bread, and therefore the feasi had to he en- 



1 68 weik's history of 

joyed without that necessary article of food. Deha W'arford. born in 18^4, 
was the first white child born in that township. The first who died was a 
daughter of Joseph Warford, in 1822. She was buried on the home fann, 
once owned by Vincent Day. This was the first grave-yard in the township, 
but it has not been used for many years. The first sawmill was built bv An- 
derson B. Matthews, on section 2i3- in the year 1829. Within the ne.xt year 
he added a grist-mill. These were water mills, and stood on Warford's fork. 
Mr. Ogle built a saw and grist-mill on Walnut, in this township, in the year 
1834 or 1835. William Arnold, who had a shop in section 20, in 1828, was 
the first blacksmith. Dr. William Matthews, son of Anderson B. Matthews, 
was the first resident physician in Floyd. He located in the south part of the 
township, and became quite a noted man in his profession. The Doctor was 
author of several medical works and correspondent of some leading journals 
in the country. At a later day, he remo\ed to Mason. Effingham county, 
Illinois, where he died some years ago. 

In the year 1838 John Millman. Sr., erected on section 26 a factory for 
the manufacture of fur and wool hats, in which he continued to carry on busi- 
ness until the year 1863, a period of just a quarter of a century. During this 
time he manufactured hats by the hundred and by the thousand, and hauled 
them in wagon loads to neighboring counties where they were exchanged 
for furs and pelts. He was a prominent member of the American Fur Com- 
pany, and collected furs in large quantities, which he hauled in wagons to 
the company's depot at Detroit, Michigan. Mr. Millman was a man of great 
experience in his business, and a splendid workman, having produced from 
his factory hats which were worn for thirteen years in succession. It was a 
claim of the old gentleman that he made the first hat ever worn by Bishop 
Simpson of the Methodist Episcopal church. The last hats he manufactured 
were sent to Scottsboro. Tennessee, during the Civil war. to be worn bv the 
Union soldiers. This old pioneer was a great lover of his countr\-. having 
sent three sons to the Mexican war. and five to the Union army in 1861. He 
died in the centennial year, at the age of eighty-seven years, and was buried in 
sight of his factory. 

Andrew B. Matthews was the first justice of the peace, holding the 
office in 1828. and continuing in the same until the time of his death. He 
ser\ed for a number of years as president of the county board of magi.strates. 

Daniel Anderson preached the first sermon in this township, in the year 
1822 or 1823. at the house of Joseph Warford, which was a place of worship 
for a number of years. These meetings were held by the }ifethoitist>. who 
at an early day built "Wesley Chapel" and "Pleasant Grove." Their first 



PUTNA\t COUNTY, INDIANA. 169 

minister was followed by S. Otwell. William H. Smith, Lorenzo Dow, Mr. 
Grimes, A. L. Collings, H. Collings, Isaac Owen, Mr. Cord and Matthew 
Simpson, with probably others worthy of record, if their names could be 
recalled. 

The Protestant Methodists, under the leadership of Harvey Collings, 
organized, and now have two churches in the township. 

The first Sabbath school was organized in 1844. by Harvey Collings. 

The history of the Regular Baptists, in Floyd, dates from the year 
1S26, in which they formed a society and built a house of worship called 
Enon. the same being the first structure of the kind in the township. They 
also built the second church in the township and named it Palestine. This 
denomination now has here three houses of worship. Charles and Carter 
Hunter, of Marion tow-nship, preached the first Baptist sermons in Floyd 
in the year 1826. They were followed by J. Cost, Spencer Collings and 
Thomas Broadstreet, who rank among the early Baptist ministers of this 
part of the county. 

The Cumberland Presbyterians have a church in this township, though 
their organization is of later date. 

The village of Groveland, situated on sections 2 and 3, was laid out by 
Benjamin F. and Daniel Summers, March 18, 1854. 

The following postmasters have served at Groveland : Henry B. Pick- 
ett, July 19, 1852; D. T. Summers, June 21, 1854; Benjamin I. Summers, 
Xovember 18, 1858: Wilson Fisher. June 8, 1859; J. W. Hanna, December 
II. i860; Weakly Mason. October 18, 1861 ; Elias Horner, April 30, 1862; 
Salmon Hall, March 25. 1865: James Turner. December 26, 1876; S. M. 
Comer. July 5, 1878: Tames Turner, January 26, 1880; Jonathan Owens. 
July 10. 1885; W. M. Owens. April 17. 1888: William A. Wood, May 31. 
1889; Joseph E. Graham. October 26, 1891 ; discontinued February 14, 1905. 

MARIO.V TOWNSHIP. 

Marion township lies ininiecliate!\' south of Floyd, and is the full con- 
gressional township 14, north, range 3 west. It is bounded on the north by 
Floyd township, on the east by Hendricks county and Mill Creek township, 
on the south by Jefiferson township, and on the west by Greencastle township. 
Its surface is gently rolling: the soil good, and finely adapted to cultivation. 
The supply of timber was at one time abundant, consisting of poplar, walnut, 
white, red and burr oak. hard maple, beech, ash. and many inferior kinds, 
such as elm, gum and sycamore, with a plentiful supply of hickorv- on the 



IJO WEIK S HISTORY OF 

more level portions. This township is drained by Deer creek, that stream 
having its source in the northeast corner and traversing the entire extent 
of the township to the southwest comer, where it takes its leave on section 31. 
The first settler in Marion township was Reuben Ragan, w-ho first came 
to the county in the year 181 8 and prospected the country comprising Put- 
nam and surrounding counties during that and the following year. He then 
returned to the state of Kentucky, whence he again came to Putnam in the 
spring of 1820, staying two years in Greencastle township, west of the city. 
He entered land in the extreme north of Marion township in 1822, and be- 
came a permanent resident there in October of the same year, continuing 
to make that his home until the date of his death, August 19, 1869. 

In October of the year 1824 Mr. Rag?n built a hewed-log house, which, 
having been w^eather-boarded and plastered, now forms the front portion 
of the family residence, and is the oldest building in Putnam county, having 
been in use as a dwelling for more than eighty-five years. Like all of the 
builder's works, it was well done, and it still stands firm, with the probabil- 
ity of still withstanding the shocks of time for years to come. Mr. Ragan 
was a noted horticulturist and possessed a fine talent for his occupation. 
He sowed seeds for an orchard on the farm of Mr. Thomas, west of Green- 
castle, in the spring of 1820, which were, doubtless, the first seeds of the 
kind to take root in the soil of Putnam county. A few years later he planted 
the first orchard in Marion township. He is still remembered by his neigh- 
bors as a man of vigorous intellect, pure mind and unscrupulously honest 
and upright in all his dealings. 

From the time of Mr. Pagan's settlement in the township to 1824 
he was joined by Judge Smith, Henry Wood, Mr. Davis, John Smith, Silas 
Hopkins and Samuel Hazelett. In the years 1825 and 1826 came William 
Bell, John Denny, William and James Smith, Bryce Miller, Isaac and 
George Legg, Jeremiah Nichols, Charles and Carter Hunter, Israel Moss, 
John Gregorv, James and William Denny. Mr. Acres, Enoch Stone, William 
Nicholson and Thomas Jackson. Within the next two years the population 
was increased by the arrival of David Wise, Henry Hunter, Bailey O'Neal, 
Daniel Chadd. John Benefield, John and James Agee, Daniel Brewer, Charles 
Knetzer, Jacob Shoptaugh, Eli Fry, Henry Keller, Peter Lunsford, Daniel 
Bridge water. The newcomers for the years 1829 and 1830 were Alexander 
Gorham, Ambrose Day, Thomas Jackson, Sr., William Frazier, John Run- 
yan, Isaac Hope, Joseph Ellis, Anselm Mason, Henry Shields, Samuel 
Reeves. There probably were others equally worthy of mention. Some of 
these here named entered land, and, perhaps, lived near Greencastle before 



PUTNAM COUNTY, INDIANA. 



171 



settling in what now comprises Marion township. Nearly all have left 
here large families, who inherit the blessings of their labors. 

Among the old settlers who have died within the past thirty vears were 
John Smith, familiarly known as "Uncle Jackey," Thomas Jackson. Mrs. 
Reuben Ragan. .Mrs. Catherine Smith. Mrs. Henry Hunter. Mrs. James 
Denny. .Afrs. Willoughby Leachman. Samuel Hazelett. who lived near 
Stilesville. and Daniel Brewer, at Coatsville. The last named was born 
m Holland on August 31, 1782. and came to Kentucky when two years old. 
From that state he removed to Putnam county, where he lived until almost 
a hundred years old. 

On December 18, 1824, Arthur A., the son of John Denny, was born, 
being the first white child born in the township. Mr. Denny in 1850 moved 
to the Pacific coast and was one of the founders of the citv of Seattle. He 
represented Washington Territory in Congress in 1865-67. The ne.xt birth 
in the township was that of America, the daughter of Samuel Hazlett, De- 
cember 24. 1824. She is still living and has never married. 

The marriage of John Smith, son of John Smith, and Miss Willie 
Smith, daughter of Judge Smith, was the first that occurred in the town- 
ship. The first grist-mill in the township was that built on Deer creek by 
Samuel Hazlett as early at 1826. It stood on section 17. It was in 1854 
that .Mien Burk put up his horse-mill. James Agee. who. in 1828. had' a 
shop in section 20, was the first blacksmith. Shortly after Agee came Isaac 
Hope, who erected a shop near the old family residence in section 12. The 
first store was kept by Ahijah Robinson at Nicholsonville about 1845. The 
first postofiice was also kept by Mr. Robinson at the same place. It was 
afterward removed to Fillmore, but for several years thereafter retained 
its original name of Nicholsonville. William C. Hopwood was the first 
resident physician. He located in Fillmore in 1853. John Dennv was the 
first justice of the peace. He was followed by his brother. James Denny, 
who held the office for fourteen consecutive years. Then came Tames Mc- 
Achran. James Sill. R. M. Hazelett and Jacob P. Cox and their 'successors. 

The Regular Baptist church was the first organized in the township. 
This was done November 25, 1826. at the house of William Denny, bv 
Charles and Carter Hunter and wives, Thomas Broadstreet. Enoch Stone and 
wife. William Nicholson and wife, and Isaac Monnett. They finallv built 
a house of worship on the farm of Carter Hunter. The Missionary Bap- 
tists were organized about 1841. Elders Jones and Arnold were among their 
first preachers. They have a good frame church, called Bethel, two and one- 
half miles .southeast of Fillmore. The first meetings of the Christian church 



172 WEIK S HISTORY OF 

were held at the houses of Charles Knetzer and Ambrose Day. This was 
before the organization of the church, which took place about 1839, and a 
building, known as Old Union, was erected on the farm of Ambrose Day 
in 1840. John M. Harris was their first preacher, followed by James M. 
^Mathews. Gilbert Harney. Xathan Waters, O. P. Badger. Chatterton. James 
and Perry Blankinship. Cooms. as well as many others. They have a 
church in Fillmore, which was erected soon after the town was laid out. 
The Methodists organized a church at what was called "Denny's School- 
house," at a very early date. John Denny was an active, zealous member 
of this congregation, and it became quite a flourishing church. In 1838 
meetings were held at the houses of Matthew Brann and others. Rev. Owen 
Owen. Davis. Hancock. Forbes, President Simpson and Prof Cyrus Xutt 
were the first preachers of this organization. The first Methodist church 
was built on section 16. and called Mount Carmel. After the building of 
the new church in Fillmore. Mount Carmel was given or sold to the Regular 
Baptists. Soon after the erection of Mount Carmel, another Methodist 
church, named Liberty, was built on the farm of Abbott Robinson, in sec- 
tion II. This building remained until the congregation erected an elegant 
frame building, in 1871, on a lot given for that purpose by Morris Oliver. 

Fillmore, the only village in the township, is on the Terre Haute & 
Indianapolis railroad, six miles northeast of Greencastle. It was laid out 
in 1852 by Benjamin Nicholson, James Sill and Leonard C. Catterlin, on 
land then owned by them, but formerly forming a part of Richard Sinclair's 
fami. 

The first store in the town was kept by Hardin & Brown in 1852. fol- 
lowed bv Benjamin Xicholson, Hardin Wilcox and Moses T. Bridges, gen- 
eral dealers, and William D. Smith, who kept a grocery and provision 
store. Mr. Bridges did verj- much toward building up the town, having 
erected a hotel and in many other ways added to its prosperity. 

There are also two churches, one Christian, the other Methodist. The 
Missionarv Baptists formerly had a church at Fillmore. The building is 
now used as a school house. 

At Fillmore the following postmasters have served : William Matthews. 
August 10. 1848; Abijah Robinson. November 19. 1849; H. H. Wilcox. 
March 19. 1852: ?vIoses T. Bridges. January 21, 1854; John W. Pierson. 
September 11, 1861; John W. Pierson. December 5, 1861 : C. A. Matthews. 
Tune 12. 1863: John A. Dicks, September 24, 1864; Thomas J. Siddens, Jan- 
uary 18, 1867: Elizabeth Welch. July 10, 1867; Greenberry Prather, Sep- 
tember 13. 1871 : Elizabeth Nicholson. May 10, 1872: M. A. Brown. June 2. 



PUTNAM COL'N'TY. IXDIAXA. I J3 

1873; C. B. McNary, March 4, 1874: M. A. Brann, September 14, 1875; 
M. H. Reilly, March 21, 1881 ; A. E. Robinson, October 18, 1883; M. H. 
Reilly, March 7, 1884; Harry McNary, May 25, 1885; Julia E. Robinson, 
April 29, 1901. 

Bryce W. Miller taught the first school in the township, at his own 
cabin. He afterward taugiit at the neighbors' houses — a favorite place bein<y 
at John Smith's in what was called a three-faced camp, open in front and 
built up with logs on the other three sides. This stood on section 16. The 
next was a three-months school, taught by Alfred Burton, in a log cabin 
in section 29. that some one had built for a dwelling and then deserted. This 
school was broken up by a man named Nat Hammond, who, becoming dis- 
satisfied with the school, went one night and pried down the chimney. The 
first school building was erected on the farm of John Denny, in section 28. 
about the year 1828, and was known as "Denny's Schoolhouse." John 
Evans taught the first school in this house. He was followed by Lawson D. 
Sims and Thomas C. Duckworth, who taught the first "six-months school" 
in the township. The township is now well supplied with good schools 
and education is in the ascendency. 

GREEXCASTLE TOWXSHIP. 

Greencastle township is the central one of the county, exactly coincid- 
ing with congressional township 14, range 4, and is bounded on the north 
by Monroe, on the east by Marion, on the south by Warren, and on the west 
by Madison. The surface of the township is generally rolling, thou^-h 
some parts along Walnut are broken and some in the eastern portion are 
flat. The soil is good and finely adapted for all kinds of agricultural pur- 
suits suitable to its latitude. The creek bottoms are especiallv productive. 
It was originally covered with an abundant growth of as fine tim'uer as 
could be found in any part of the country. This consisted of the kinds 
common to such soil. The yellow poplar and the black walnut were espe- 
cially attractive. With these were the other kinds common throughout the 
county. 

The township is drained by Big Walnut, which crosses it diaCTonallv 
from northeast to southwest, running to the north and west of Greencastle. 
A heavy and valuable bed of limestone underlies the entire township, o-jy- 
ing character to its topography. The township was one of the first settled 
and is finely improved. Enjoying the location of the countv seat near its 
center, it has special facilities for the development of its natural resources 



174 WEIK S HISTORY OF 

Greencastle township was settled in 1821, by John Sigler, Thomas 
Johnson, John Miller. Benjamin Jones, Silas G. Weeks, Jubal Deweese, 
Amos Robertson, John F. Seller, David Deweese, Jefferson Thomas, 
Thomas Deweese and Samuel Rogers. In 1822 and 1823 came Abraham 
Coffman, Solomon Coffman, Isaac Legg, Col. Lewis H. Sands, Gen. Joseph 
Orr, James Talbott, Amasa Johnson, Robert Glidewell, P. S. Wilson, Eph- 
raim Dukes, John W. Clark, William B. Gwathney. Michael Wilson, John 
Butcher, ^lasten and Spencer Hunter, William Talbott. Col. Daniel Sigler, 
Lawson D. Sims. Matthew Legg. Rev. John Oatman, Joshua H. Lucas, 
Greenberry Mulinix. Joseph Thornburg. Arthur Mahorney, Jacob Butcher, 
Robert Catterlin, James Trotter, Elisha King. Samuel D. Chipman, Arthur 
McGaughey, Reese Hardesty, Col. Mathew W. Bussey. Jesse Neese, Henry 
Canote, John Lynch. Thomas Jackson, Noble Meyers, John McNary, James 
Allen, Lewis Gibson, Solomon Tucker, Jesse Purcell, Daniel and Samuel 
Chadd. John Peck, Hiram Catterlin, Samuel Hunter, Edgar Thomas. James 
Duffield. Mr. Devoor, the Wrights, Joseph Thornberry, John and Benjamin 
Cunningham, and their father. During the years 1824 and 1825. George 
Secrest. Clark Burlingame (a Revolutionary soldier), and his sons. Abel 
and Spencer Burlingame. Gen. John Standeford. James Moore. James Day, 
Dr. Enos Lowe. John Gregory. Joseph F. Farley, George F. Waterman, 
Thomas Johnson, John Lockhart. and William Peck became citizens of the 
township. The next two years brought Isaac Ash. John S. Jennings. 
Ephraim Blain, Dr. A. C. Stevenson, Dr. L. M. Knight. Col. John R. Mahan, 
Isaac iVIahan, Lawson Seybold. John Hammond. John Cowgill. Peter 
Rowlett. William Holland. Philip Carpenter, Elisha Knight. John Knight 
and Wesley Knight, and perhaps many others whose names are lost among 
the increasing multitude who were rapidly filling the countr\-. 

The histon,- of Greencastle township is so intimately involved with that 
of the county and of the city of Greencastle, that but little remains to be 
told. The first births and deaths, the first physicians and ministers, the 
first business enterprises and the organization of the religious denominations, 
the building of the first mills and factories are mentioned elsewhere. 

The postoffice at Greencastle was established March 18. 1821. and Joshua 
H. Lucas was appointed postmaster. His successors were appointed and 
served as follows: Lewis H. Sands. November 20. 1826; James Talbott, 
June 19, 1840; James Jones. June 8. 1849; John Standeford, May i, 1850: 
James Jones, August 17. 1850; Henry W. Daniels. June 15, 1853: Edward 
R. Kercheval. March 13. 1856; Christopher W. Brown. March 19. i86r ; 
Edward R. Kercheval. M^y 12. 1865: John Osborn, July 12. 1866; George 



PUTXAM COUNTY. INDIANA. 1/5 

J. Langsdale, June 24, 1874; Willis G. Nefif, March 29, 1885; James McD. 
Hays, May 21. 1889; Willis G. Neff, February 7, 1894: Lucius P. Chapin, 
Februan,- 12. 1898: John G. Dunbar, February- 3, 1902; Albert O. Lock- 
ridge, March 22. 1910. 

The first tannery was kept by Walter and Rosea Wright, who were fol- 
lowed by the Gillespies, Milton F. Barlow w-as the first hatter. Arthur 
Mahorney was the first justice of the peace. Other early justices were Isaac 
Mahan. David Dudley, Reese Hardesty, John Cowgill, James M. Grooms. 
Samuel Taylor. Joseph F. Farley. John T. Taylor and Wesley White. The 
first constable was John Lynch, who held the office for many years. Even 
some of the younger portions of the community can remember he still dis- 
charged the duties of that office with promptness and energ>-. though bearing 
the weight of many years. 

There are many improved roads through the townships connecting 
Greencastle with different portions of the country, and affording the farmers 
easy access to market, and along these at various points are to be seen many 
splendid farm residences displaying taste and liberality on the part of their 
owners. 

The farmers of the township are largely engaged in raising livestock, 
and in their fields and stalls are to be found some of the finest animals in the 
state. 

The village called Limedale is at the crossing of the Terre Haute & Indi- 
anapolis railroad and the Louisville. New Albany & Chicago (or Monon) 
road, and is located on section 29. Greencastle township, two miles south- 
west of the court house. It was laid out in 1864, by William Stegg and 
surveved by William H. Shields. 

At Limedale the following postmasters served : Alpheus Morris. De- 
cember 16. 1873: William Berigan. Jr., June 12. 1877; William J. Steeg. 
February is. 1878. The postoffice was discontinued on October 30. 1909. 

In the vear 1856 a lime and stone quarrv- was opened at the Junction 
by Hellens. Butcher & Stegg, and carried on extensively, shipping stone and 
lime to the value of twenty thousand dollars per annum. It is now the 
property of William Stegg's heirs. 

M.\DIS0N TOWNSHIP. 

Madison township is formed of the congressional township 14, range 5. 
and lies immediately west of Greencastle. It is bounded on the north by 
Clinton, on the south by Washington township and on the west by Parke 



lyS weik's history of 

countv. It is drained by Little Walnut, along which the township is con- 
siderably broken. The timber and the soil of this township are similar to 
those of the adjoining townships. 

The exact date at which the pioneers of this township came can not now 
be given. The first piece of land entered in the township was by Richard 
Moore, December 13. 1821 ; the third was by Benjamin Bell, April 2. 1821 ; 
and. in order of time, Isaac Wolverton, April 12, 1821; Isaac Matkins, De- 
cember 20, 1821. Among those who made entries here in 1822 may be 
named Frederick Leatherman, Samuel Wright. Isaiah Wright. Benjamin 
Wright, Jesse Wright, John Dougherty, Jesse Oatman, Jacob Curtis and 
Henry Williams. In 1823 Joseph Thornburg, Abraham Wooley and George 
Hansel entered land in this township. Other early settlers of the township 
were Peter Stoner, Levi Mann. John Anderson, Andrew Frank, Amos 
Wright. William Torr, John McPheeters and his father. James S win ford. 
John Swinford, Jesse Latham, William P. King. Mr. Albaugh and Rowley. 
Some of these may have settled earlier than those whose entries are given 
above. 

The following named were among the oldest settlers living in 1880: John 
Leatherman, Jesse McPheeters, Joseph Wells, who served on the first grand 
jury in the county, James Torr. Sr.. Joseph Grubbs and Joseph Brubaker. 

The first death in Madison township was that of George W. Matkins, 
son of Isaac and Sophia Matkins: and the first birth was that of John 
Thomas ]\Iatkins. son of the same parents. 

The first school was taught by Peter Garr about half a mile north of 
where Jesse McPheeters fonnerly lived. 

The first mill in the township was built by Benjamin Bell on the Walnut 
fork of the Eel river. It was sold in a few years to James Townsend. who 
laid out Putnamville. 

The Predestinarian Baptists organized the first church in Madison town- 
ship about the year 1S32. This took place in the woods near where John 
Leatherman now resides. About a year afterward, this congregation built 
a lo? house in which they worshipped for near a score of years, and then 
Iniilt a second log house, which they occupied until about thirty-five years ago, 
when they replaced it with a substantial frame building. Among the early 
ministers of this church were Benjamin Parks. Aaron Harlan. James 
Edwards. Reuben Slavens. Abraham Leatherman and John Leathennan. 

About the year 1834. a Methodist Episcopal church was organized at 
the house of Isaac Matkins. This church was organized by Rev. William C. 
Smith, and the first ([uarterly meeting was held at the house of Isaac Mat- 



PL'TXAM COLN'TV. INDIANA. IJJ 

kins by Rev. Aaron Wood. The congregation continued to hold services 
regularly there for two or three years, when they built a log house, which 
they occupied until about the year 185S, and then built a good frame church 
to take its place. Among the other early ministers of this church were Revs. 
De Motte. Beck. Tanzy, PVeston. Wright and Fairhurst. 

The Christian church was organized about the year of 1840 by Elder 
Levi Wright, who had been preaching for the congregation for several 
years before this time and continued to do so for a number of years afterward. 
They erected a log house in 1844. which they occupied until 1867. They 
then built a frame house on the hill west of Ezekiel Wrights. Noah Bu- 
chanan, John Harris, Xathan Wright. Lorenzo Dow, Cleghorn and Ezekiel 
Wright were the early ministers of this church. This church is a very 
thrifty one, and it has sent out from its fold four or ti\e evangelists who are 
doing acceptable work in the cause of the Master. 

There are three limestone quarries in this township. The depth of the 
deposit is about forty feet. The thickness of the ledges varies from seven 
inches to five feet. .\t the bottom is a bed of flint rock seven feet thick. In 
the second and third strata above is a thickness of four or four and one-half 
feet of what Professor Co.x. state geologist, describes as "fine textured, 
grayish-white limestone, commonly known as lithographic stone." In con- 
nection with the quarries are three lime-kilns, managed by the same com- 
panies. Of the product of these kilns. Professor Co.x says, "The lime is 
remarkably white and pure, and belongs to the class technically called 'fat 
lime': that is. it sets quick and is superior for whitewashing and also for 
purifying coal gas." 

In Madison township there have been two postoffices. Brunerstown and 
Oakalla. both of which have been discontinued. The postmasters who served 
at Brunerstown were: Isaiah Wright, Xovember 29. 1839: M. F. Wright. 
October 11. 1849; Coleman P. Wright. February 18. 1850; William Lane. 
October 7. 1850; Solomon Grifiith. .April i. 1851 : M. F. Wright, August 4. 
1S51: Watson Dills, September 7, 1854: John Merrywether. October 11, 
1854: M. F. Wright. Xovember 30. 1855: Peter Bird. .April 3. 1857; Thomas 
Ragle. -April 2-. I'^^'J : Jothum Hasty. January 9, 1858: Samuel H. Witt. 
-April 20. 1858. The postofiice was discontinued August 8. 1859. At Oakalla 
the following postmasters served: Charles Eppinghousen. June 4. 1872; 
Daniel Weaver. March 30. 1876: J. F. Burkhart. July 5, 1878: William .A. 
McKee. .August 21. 1878: F"ranklin Harlan. Februan,- 15. 1881: James A. 
Johnston. July 19. 1882: E. B. Early. May 31. 1889: Henry H. Hillis. June 



178 



weik's history of 



15, 1889; T. D. Torn September 12, 1891 ; John W. Stroube, July 14, 1896; 
Joseph D. Torr. January 22. 1903. Postoffice discontinued November 30, 
1903. 

WASHINGTON TOWNSHIP. 

Washington, the oldest of the townships, lies in the southwest corner 
of Putnam county, and is composed of township 13 and the north half of 
township 12. range 5. It is bounded on the north by ^Madison township, on 
the east by Warren and Cloverdale townships, on the south by Clay and 
Owen counties, and on the west by Clay county. The surface of the country 
in this township is rough and broken. There is a great deal of excellent bot- 
tom land along the streams, finely adapted to the cultivation of corn and 
other cereals. It was originally covered with the same character of timber 
as was found throughout the county, consisting principally of white oak, 
walnut, poplar, beech, hard maple, ash, hickory and sycamore. 

Among the early settlers, now deceased, were James Athey, the first 
settler of the county, John Reel, John Horton, William Roberts, John M. 
Coleman, Thomas H. Clark, William K. Matkins, Dr. Lenox N. Knight, 
Abraham Lewis, William Brown, George Mcintosh, Randall Hutchinson, John 
M. Purcell, Samuel Boone, Moses Boone,- William Seiner, Samuel Webster, 
Henr>' Walden. Adam Neff, Andy Reel, William Reel. Landon Davis, 

- Thomas Frazier, Allen Jones. George Rightsell. William McCullough, Philip 
Shrake, Justice Goodrich. Warren Fellows, Reuben Wright, Luther Webster, 
James Bamett. Silas Mulinix, Solomon Simpson, Thomas McCullough, :\Ir. 
Deweese, John Funican, H. H. Athey, A. D. Hamrick, Daniel Boone, a 
lineal descendant of Daniel Boone, the pioneer of Kentuck7, Volney Smith, 
Edward Huffman. Christopher Crable, John Friend. William Risler. William 

- McCullough. Daniel Zaring, Sr., David Jones, David Sublett and the Right- 
sells. 

The first house in the township, that of James Athey, erected in the 
winter of 1818-19. stood ven,^ near the site of Robert Huffman's residence. 
The first mill in the township was that of Luther Webster. It stood on Deer 
creek, about one- fourth of a mile south of Manhattan. Lloyd B. Harris 
kept the first hotel in the township, at Manhattan. Thomas H. Clark was the 
first postmaster. The first shoemaker was Thomas Lewis. The honor of 
carrying on the first blacksmith shop belongs to John Hooton. Esquires 
Busick'and Athey were among the first justices of the peace in the town- 
ship. It is worthv of note that Thomas McCullough was the tallest man that 



PUTNAM COUNTY, INDIANA. 1 79 

e\er lived in the township. He was almost seven feet high, symmetrically pro- 
portioned, and of great physical power. 

The first church organized in the township was the Predestinarian Bap- 
tist, commonly called "Hard-Shell Baptist." It was organized at Manhattan, 
in the year 1828. bv Rev. Isaac Denman, who continued to preach for the con- 
gregation for a period of two decades. A house of worship was built at 
an early day, which continued to be occupied by the original owners until the 
year 1862. when it was sold to the Missionary Baptists. They in turn sold 
it. in the year 1875. to the Methodists, who fonned a congregation there 
about that time. The Methodists erected a new house on the same lot, but 
the old one stood until pulled down in the summer of 1878, having served 
as a place of worship for nearly half a centur}'. 

The Christian church was established in Manhattan, in the year 1838-, 
by Elder John Harris, and it has ever since had a congregation at that 
place. 

Manhattan is the oldest village in the township, having been laid out 
in the year 1S29 on the National road, by John M. Coleman and Thomas 
H. Clark. The first merchant there was Wilson Devore. Dr. Leno.x N. Knight 
was the first practicing physician. Mrs. Judge Clark taught the first .school. 
The first justice of the peace at that place was Lloyd Harris. 

At Manhattan the following postmasters have served : Thomas H. 
Clark, March 13, 1830; John M- Coleman, February i, 1841 ; Samuel M. 
Coleman. May 31, 1841 ; Abraham Jackson, October 3, 1843; Volney Smith, 
June 21, 1847; Charles Hawley, June 8, 1849; Volney Smith, December 10, 
1849; Jesse Jenkins, September 27, 1850; Samuel B. Gilmore, January 15, 
1859; C. F. Knapp, January 13, 1862; William R. Stone, November 3, 1863; 
Volney Smith, February 21, 1865; Charles D. Smith, April 10, 1871 ; Volney 
Smith, October 3, 1884; John Gammie, May 27, 1885; S. S. McCoy, May 3, 
1889: A. J. .Albright, May 24, 1893; Samuel S. McCoy, November 20, 1897; 
discontinued October 31, 1905. 

Pleasant Garden was laid out in section 21, in the year 1830. by John 
Matkins, as a rival of Manhattan. 

Reelsville was laid out by John Reel, on the Terre Haute & Indianapolis 
railroad, in the year 1852. It is now quite a flourishing village. 

The postmasters at Reelsville have been: William A. L. Reel, May 11, 
1852; John Reel, December 8, 1854; John Caltharp, January 20, 1858: Wil- 
liam A. L. Reel, March 12, 1859; James L. Athey, April 4, 1859; William 
L. LocKnart, June 18, 1861 ; David Barnett, July 16, 1861 : William E. D. 
Barnett, October 20. 1863: John Q. Cromwell, May 31, 1866: A. L. Witty, 



i8q weik's history of 

Fel)rnarv 12. 1867; B. G. Parritt, August 19, 1869; George A. Throop, F"eb- 
ruary 23. 1871 ; Douglas Huffman. March 31, 1879; George \V. Stockwell, 
October 22. 1886; C. T. Zaring, January 5, 1887; G. L. Elliott, December 16, 
1889: James P. Gaskin. Januan,' 6, 1890; W. E. Counts. May 9. 1891 ; A. B. 
Fox, January 25, 1894; Jennie A. Counts, December 21. 1897; C. R. Knight, 
April 15, 1898; Henry M. Smith, February 13, 1903. At Hamrick. which 
was discontinued as a postoffice on October 31, 1902, the postmasters were 
as follows: William T. Elliott. October 11, 1866: Joseph Sears. February 
5, 1868; A. D. Hamrick, April 7, 1868; Thomas B. Xees, August 10, 1869; 
Sarah J. Parritt, December 13, 1871 ; A. D. Hamrick. May 28, 1874; Thomas 
B. Nees, Februaiy 11, 1875; •^- D. Hamrick, April 29, 1876; Lewis M. 
Mercer, July 5, 1878; A. D. Hamrick. April 5, 1881 ; L. M. Mercer, May i, 
^1882; Lewis M. Mercer, November 28. 1882; J. ^L Brown. October 11. 
1887; Lewis M. Mercer, January 24, 1889; Lewis Mercer. April 5, 1890; 
Volney Smith. August 20, 1892. Postoffice discontinued October 31. 1902. 

The following peculiar incidents are related by some of the old settlers 
as having attracted considerable comment : 

Old Squire Boone, brother to Daniel Boone, in the township, once lived 
in a house which stood on the ground which is now in the northeast corner 
of the township. On the 3d day of July, 1837, his house was. struck by 
lightning, bv which two of his children were killed. Three years later, his 
wife presented him with twin boys, whom he named Tip and Tyler. Some 
time after that in the same house, two of his daughters were married on the 
same day. 

David Sublett. an old settler, it would seem, had more than an ordinary 
share of domestic trouble, many of his family having suffered violent 
deaths. About fiftv years ago. one of his daughters married Greenberry 
;Mullinix. who murdered her within three weeks thereafter, for which he 
suffered death on the gallows. Since that time, two of his sons and one 
son-in-law have been killed by the railroad, and one son has been shot in 
Effingham, Illinois. 

WARREN TOWNSHIP. 

Warren township, comprising the first thirty .sections of the congressional 
township 13, range 4, lies immediately south of Greencastle township, and is 
bounded on the east by Jefferson, on the south by Clo\-erdale. and on the 
west bv Washington. The surface of the township is undulating and in parts 
quite broken. The soil is a clay loam, with some excellent bottom lands 
along Deer creek. The township was once heavily timbered with oak. poplar, 
hard maple and beech, with some groves of walnut and hickory, and a plentiful 



PUTNAM COL'NTY. INDIAN' A. l8l 

supply of sycamore along the streams. It is drained by Deer creek, together 
with its tributaries, which traverse the township from northeast to south- 
west. Along this stream there are numerous never-failing limestone springs. ^ 

The early settlers of the township, who are deceased, were James Town- 
send. William Hadden. Samuel Hawn. Benjamin Hawkins. George Pearcy, 
Thomas Brown. John Henderson. Peter Waynick. Alexander Conley. Arthur 
Conley. Gilmore Conley. John Baird, John Arnold, John Akin. Judge De- 
weese. William W. W'alden. John Mercer. Jacob Peck. William Duckworth, 
David Clearwater, John May, Thomas McCarty, Joseph Denny. Thomas 
Hancock. Daniel Hepler. Dennis Williams, John Garren. John C. Sellers, 
Nathaniel Hawkins, John S. Swift, Archibald Cooper, Robert Woodall, John 
^\'oodall. Thomas Moore. Joel Shinn, James Martin. Lozier B. Gammon, 
David Skelton, Jeremiah Skelton, Luke Davis, John Swarts, Samuel Martin, 
William Robinson, Robert Robinson, William Vestal, Samuel Steele, Edward 
Heath. Elder Thomas Oatman (Christian minister). Dr. D. W. Layman. A. 
G. Layman. A. W. Welker. John W. Jenkins, John Cooper. W. B. Williams. 
William A. Grigsby, Flower Swift. Calvin Woods. James Ligram. John 
Hendricks. Joseph Clapsaddle. Rev. Ransom Hawley. Polly Brown. Elizabeth 
Davis and Samuel Wright. 

In an earlv dav there were two potteries in the township, one operated 
by Boyd & Perry, the other by A. W. Welker. 

One of the marked features of the township is an excellent stone quarry 
one-half mile west of Putnamville. on the National road. The ledges of 
rock in this quarry vary from two inches to five feet in thickness. The 
following analysis of this stone is given by Professor Cox. state geologist : 
"Lime, twenty per cent; sand, twenty per cent: gray granite, sixty per cent: 
almost, if not exactly, like what is called 'English firestone.' "■ He also says, 
"Granite will last three hundred years, but this stone will last as long as 
time. lM)r foundation stone, there is probably none superior in America. 
It is not affected by any change of temperature, and can be f(uarried in 
winter just as well as summer." 

Putnamville is the only postoffice town in the township. Westland, 
which was laid out soon after Putnamville. had one store for a short time, but 
now has no inisiness house of any kind. A few houses in close proximity 
on either side of the National road are the only indications left to remind 
the passer-by of its former existence. 

Putnamville is situated on the National road, and was laid out by James 
Townsend in 1830 on land purchased from Edward Heath. Townsend also 
kept the first stiire in Putnamville. He was soon followed by a Mr. McKane. 



i82 weik's history of 

At Putnamville the following have served as postmaster : D. W. Lay- 
man, December 4, 1832; E. R. Kercheval, May 25, 1836; Amos W. Walker, 
September 8, 1840; James Nosier, September 2, 1844; Joseph L. Merrill, 
December 19, 1844; Thomas Morrow, September 13, 1845; William Eagles- 
field, November 28, 1845; ^IcCamy Hartley, September 22, 1847; Samuel 
Milholland, August 21, 1850; William A. Smock, August 4, 1851; Jay T. 
Wakefield, August 24, 1853; William A. Grigsby, August 14, 1856; James 
M. Hendrix, April 9, 1859; Joel W. McGrew. February 6. i860; Thomas 
J. Bridges, October 11, i86i ; A. J. Clarke, April 26, 1862; S. C. Bishop, 
November 13, 1866; James Stooks, May 25, 1868; S. C. Bishop, March 31, 
1869; William H. Holloway, September 28, 1870: S. C. Bishop, Januar\- 13, 
1S79; R. H. Bowen, July 9, 1885; Emma Peck, May 3, 1889; J. J. Bowen, 
Alay 10, 1893; William A. McAninch, June 23, 1897. 

The first school was taught in the town the same year in which it was 
founded by Mr. Wakefield, who came from New England. 

Archibald Cooper built the first blacksmith shop and carried on the 
business for several years. John Akin also kept a shop about the same time. 

Hugh Thompson carried on the first wagon shop and John Morgan put 
up the first carding machine. 

The first grist-mill was erected on Deer creek one-half mile southeast 
of Putnamville. October 16, 1826, by Alexander Conley. Another was built 
on the same creek, one-half mile southwest of the town, in 1834. by Samuel 
Steele and Dr. D. W. Layman. 

During the building of the National road the township improveu rapidly 
and business was quite brisk. In an early day Putnamville also rivaled 
Greencastle for the location of the county seat, and a little later made a 
very creditable effort to secure the location of Asbury University. To se- 
cure this end, her citizens agreed to give the university a donation of twenty- 
five thousand dollars. 

The Methodist Episcopal church of Putnamville was organized in 1829, 
at the house of John S. Perry, Rev. Thomas J. Brown officiating. John M. 
Jenkins. John S. Perry. Luke Davis and wife, and John S warts and wife were 
among the first members. Soon after the first organization, they erected a 
neat frame building as a house of worship, which they continued to use until 
about the vear i860, when they purchased the brick house built by the Presby- 
terians. 

The Presbyterian church was organized at this place November 7. 1830. 
at the house of James Townsend. by the Rev. Isaac Reed. The following 
members constituted the first organization : John Robinson. Samuel Moore. 



PUTNAM COL'.NTY, INDIAXA. 183 

Mary Moore. Alexander Conley. Jane Conley. James Townsend, Catharine 
Townsend. Sarah Shell, Martha Ashbaugh and Julia Ann Merrill, not one of 
whom remains among the living. James Townsend was the first ruling elder. 
The first ministers were Rev. Jeremiah Hill (deceased). Rev. Samuel G. Low- 
ery. Rev. James H. Shields. Rev. William W. Woods. 

.\bout the year 1S34 they erected a neat and commodious brick church, 
which they occupied until 1849, when the Old and the New School members 
separated, and the Xew School built a good frame church, which was dedi- 
cated in February, 1850. A few years afterward, the Old School sold the 
brick church to the Methodists. Some of the members joined the Xew School 
and some went to other churches. 

The Rev. Ransom Hawley came to Putnamville in the year 1 841, and 
acted as pastor of the Presbyterian church till 1S65. a period of twenty-four 
years. The length of his pastorate is ample evidence of the acceptability 
of his ministry and the uprightness of his life. 

The Bethel Methodist Episcopal church, two miles east of Putnamville, 
on the National road, was organized about the year 1835. 

The Christian church was organized by Elder O. P. Badger in 1871. 
This congregation had a good frame house, erected soon after their organiza- 
tion, in which they still hold services. 

Dr. D. W. Layman, who came from Virginia, settled in Putnamville in 
1 83 1, being the first medical practitioner in the town or the township. He 
was so successful in his practice no other physician ever continued long in the 
attempt to compete with him. For many years he was easily the most promi- 
nent and influential citizen in the community. He was a man of upright hab- 
its and pleasing manners but of very pronounced political views. He was an 
ardent Union man during war times and later supported the pnnciples of the 
Republican party, but he never sought an office or any other political prefer- 
ment. 

.A storv is told that in the fall of 1864 a number of boisterous Warren 
township citizens who had been attending a Democratic meeting at Greencastle 
returning home on horseback after night, passed by Layman's house and. 
knowing his pronounced L'nion sentiments, very loudly and repeatedly cheered 
for Jeff Davis. Being hidden in the darkness on the opposite side of the 
road, the Doctor was unable to distinguish the riders as they noisily flew by, 
but his ire was so instantly and completely aroused he picked up a stone and 
hurled it with all his might in the direction of the noise. A little later a man 
came riding up to the Doctor's house and asked the latter to accompany him 
down the road to see a man who was hurt and needed medical attention. "At 



i84 weik's history of 

first." related the Doctor years afterward, '"I was a little suspicious, but as 
I had never failed to answer a call for my professional services I complied at 
once and set out for the scene of trouble. A short distance down the road- 
side we came upon a group near the fence, in the centre of which reclined a 
man who was bleeding profusely from a wound in the head which his com- 
panions explained had been caused by a fall from a horse. A light was pro- 
cured and there by its dim rays I gave the wounded man the medical and 
surgical attention the case seemed to require. Of course there was some risk, 
and I kept my eyes peeled all the while, but I pretended to be as innocent as 
they and so far as I could observe there was not the slightest attempt to molest 
me. In fact, later, the injured man, still maintaining an air of innocence, 
came to my office and offered to pay me for my services, but I declined, 
meanwhile reminding him of the dangerous and inevitable results of cheering 
for Jeff Davis — a lesson I am sure he never forgot." 

CLOVERD.ALE TOWNSHIP. 

This township was originally a part of Warren and Jefferson townships. 
It was organized in 1846. and is composed of the southern tier of sections 
of township 13, ranges 3 and 4. and the northern half of township 12, of the 
same ranges. It is bounded on the north by Warren and Jefferson town- 
ships, from which it was detached ; on the east, by Morgan county and Mill 
Creek township: on the south, by Owen county, and on the west, by Washing- 
ton township. The surface is hilly and broken, and was originally covered 
with a dense growth of timber, such as white and yellow poplar, maple, wal- 
nut, oak, ash, elm, gum, beech and mulberry. The soil is good and of the 
quality known as limestone land. The whole township is underlaid with a fine 
quality of limestone, well adapted to building and manufacturing purposes. 
The principal streams are Mill creek in the east and Doe creek in the center. 

The first settlers in what is now Cloverdale township were William 
Hamilton and James Robinson, who came together from Kentucky in the 
spring of 1823. and built the first cabins. Hamilton located in section i, 
township 12, range 4. and Robinson, in section 6, township 12, range 3. 
Abraham Van Sickle. x\nthony Kilgore. Thomas James. Robert Hadden, 
.Arthur McNary. Mr. Goodman. Ambrose Bandy. G. Macy and Robert Macy, 
all came from Kentucky in the autumn of the same year and settled around 
where Cloverdale now stands. Jubal Meadows, John Macy. George Bandy 
and John Taber came in 1824. In 1825 came John P. Sinclair. John Briscoe 
and Robert Conolv. During the ne.xt year. William Martin. Thomas Evans, 



FO'TNAM COUNTY, INDIANA. I85 

Enoch Patrick, A. Tabor, X. Xolin and Nancy White became citizens. The 
next four years witnessed the arrival of Phih'p Rouse. Peter Lyon, James 
Woods, Robert Donnoson, James Gihuore, O. Owen, Daniel Morgan. Robert 
Hood. Jacob Rule and Samuel Logan. John P. Sinclair, John Briscoe. Xancy 
\ an Sickle, wife of A. Van Sickle; James Macy, son of John Macy; James 
Gilmore. A. Taber and J. White, son of Nancy White. 

The first white child bom in the township was Elizabeth Tabor, daughter 
of John Tabor, in 1824. At that time, the family lived in section 36, town- 
ship 13. range 4. The first death was that of a child of Ambrose Bandy. It 
was buried in the graveyard yet used in the town of Cloverdale. The first 
persons married in the township were David Martin and Betsy Tabor, or 
Berry Brannaman and Morris Sinclair. 

In 183 1 Abraham Waters built the first sawmill. It stood on Doe creek 
in section 6, township 12, range 3. There was no flour and grist-mill in the 
township until the steam mill erected by Joseph Pearcy and Gabriel Woodville 
in the year 1863. Moses Nelson kept the first tavern in the township. It 
was located in section 6, township 12. range 3, and was opened for custom in 
1836. In the same year. Thomas Nelson put up the first store, which stood 
on the same section with Closes Nelson's tavern. Isaac J. McKason. who 
located in the township in 1838. was the first blacksmith. The first school was 
taught by Thomas Evans in 1835. in a small log building in section i. town- 
ship 12. range 4. Thomas Nelson was the first postmaster, ,m office having 
been established in his store in 1836. William Hamilton was the first justice 
of the peace. His successors have been Robert Martin. Thomas Nelson, 
Henry Magill. John Sandy, B. D. Burgess. William A. Sluss, Peter McClure, 
William Mosher, E. Long, C. Woodville. T. Horn, R. Williamson. C. Walls 
and Moses Bridges. The first physician was H. D. Dyer, who came in 1845. 

The first religious meeting in the township was held by t.he Methodists, 
at the home of John Macy, in 1824, and conducted by John Cord, an itinerant 
Methodist preacher, who died the same year. After him came John McCord. 
Stephen Grimes. Daniel .Anderson, William H. Smith and Mr. Strange. They 
were followed by the Revs. Forbes. .Ames. Hevenridge. Horton. Walls. Wood. 
Scammahorn. Jackson. Bruner, Davis. Williams. John and Byron Carter. Lee, 
Rosson. Poynter. .Allison. Walls. Webb. Hewring. Pewett, Tansey, Johnson 
and McNaughton. This denomination erected a log church in section i, 
township 12, range 4. in the year 1827. which was the first built in the town- 
ship. Thev continued to u,se this house until 1S48, when they built a frame 
church in Cloverdale. which was occupied up to the year 1873. In that year 
thev erected their present frame church, which stands as a monument of their 



l86 WEIKS HISTORY OF 

zeal. There is another Methodist church at Poplar Grove, in this township. 
The Regular Baptists organized-a church in 1827 or 1828, and held meetings 
at the house of Elder Owen Owen, who was their first regular preacher. A 
church was erected by them in 1841, on section 6. In 1844 this church di- 
vided, a part joining the Missionary Baptists and holding the building. The 
Regular Baptists built a new house two miles west of Cloverdale. They now 
have a church three miles west of town, on the farm of A. Davis. Cyrus 
Taber, J. W. Denman, Samuel Arthur, Samuel Denny, A. Davis, Joseph Call- 
throp, Joel Vennillion, Eli Beman, John Case, John Leatherman, Benjamin 
Parks and William Walden are some of the ministers who have served this 
church. 

The Christian denomination was organized into a congregation at 
Cloverdale, July 24, 1841, by Elder James Mathes, assisted by John Pearcy, 
Reuben Maginnis, Joseph Colwell, George W. Crose, Andrew T. McCoy, 
]\Ioses Nelson, Thomas W. Dowell, Michael Crose, J. B. Ross. Andrew Mc- 
Mains, J. C. McCoy, I. J. Nickson and others. Meetings had been held in the 
township before the organization of the church, generally in private houses 
and groves. Among those who preached at this point are Elders Colwell, 
Headrick, George Pearcy, Perry and James Blankenship, Franklin, Smith, 
Hawn, Lockhart, Burgess, Swinford, Wrights, Wilsons, Black. Harris, Bad- 
ger and Pritchard. The last named held a debate with the Rev. Mr. Brooks, 
of the Methodist Episcopal church, March 19 to 28, 1866, which created 
quite a local excitement. It is claimed by the Christian church that about 
seventy members were added to its organization as the result of the debate. 
This denomination erected a frame church, in the year of its organization, on 
land donated for that purpose by Andrew McCoy, in the south part of the 
town of Cloverdale, which was occupied until 1858, when they built their 
present commodious brick building in the north part of the same town. This 
church has a large membership and is free of debt. There are two other 
Christian churches in the township, Higgins Creek and Unity church. 

The town of Cloverdale is situated on the Louisville, New Albany & 
Chicago railroad, twelve miles south of Greencastle, and is the second largest 
town in the county, exclusive of the county seat. It was laid out by Andrew 
T. McCoy and Moses Nelson,, who owned adjoining tracts of land in 1839. 
and stands on section i, township 12, range 4, and section 6, township 12, 
range 3. 

The first store was opened in a small hewed-log building by Thomas Nel- 
son, who was also the first postmaster. The Louisville, New Albany & Chi- 
cago railroad, now the Monon route, was constructed through the village in 



PUTNAM COUNTY. INDIANA. iSj 

^^53- \vhich stimulated enterprise, increasing the number of stores, shops and 
other enterprises. About twenty-five years since the town had what seemed 
to be a new birth and since that time it has had a constant growth in popula- 
tion and business until it has become one of the most attractive and enterpris- 
ing little towns in this part of the state. It has fifteen stores, a large flouring 
mill, a saw mill, planing mill and two telephone exchanges and for twentv 
years has been without a saloon. It has a population of about eight hundred 
and two churches. Methodist and Christian.- 

The house of John Macy, in which the Methodist church held its first 
meeting in 1824. stood in the present side of the town of Cloverdale. In 
1828 Rev. William Martin. John Sinclair, Enoch Patrick. Thomas Evans, and 
Jubal Aleadows, trustees of the church, purchased two acres of ground one 
mile west of the present location of the church, upon which was built a large 
log house for the congregation. It was named Mt. Zion ^Methodist Episcopal 
church. At this church Mathew Simpson, president of Asbury University and 
afterwards bishop, preached the funeral of Rev. William Martin in 1849. 
Afterwards the society erected a good frame building in Cloverdale and later 
the more tasteful and commodious building in which it now worships. Its 
present trustees are J. \\'. O'Daniel. H. G. :\Iacy, Estes Duncan, James W. 
\'estal and E. A, Wood, The pastor is Rev. Robert E. Cornell ; church mem- 
bership, two hundred thirty-five. 

In addition to the Christian church in the town of Cloverdale already 
mentioned are two churches of the same denomination in the east and west 
parts of the township, known as East Unity and \\'est Unity. The regular 
Baptists have a good church building southeast of Cloverdale. known as 
Smyrna church. W. E. Gill is the pastor; membership, thirty-two. 

Cloverdale has one bank, called the Bank of Cloverdale. D. V. Moft'ett 
is president, W. E Gill, cashier, and O. V. Smythe. assistant cashier.' 

A newspaper called The Bee, was established in Cloverdale. January i, 
1S77, by W. B. Harris. It lived one year. In April. 1874. Lyman Xaugle 
laimched the Local Item, which lived several years. Soon thereafter came 
The Graphic, which is still published. Its editor and proprietor is Harrv B. 
Martin.,- 

The oldest fraternal (jrder in Cloverdale is Cloverdale Lodge, No. 132. 
Free and Accepted Masons. The lodge was organized in 1851. Its charter 
members included Solomon Akers. Henry M. Gill, G. B. Lyon. William F. 
McGinnis. William Williams. M. D. F. Black. James H. Sparks and George 
Smith. The officers at present are: Herschel C. Foster, worshipful master; 
Louis Morrison, senior warden: W. Fred Farmer, junior warden; David E. 



i88 weik's history of 

Sluss, treasurer; Henry B. Martin, secretary: Robert C. Horn, senior dea- 
con; James E. Macy. junior deacon; Homer T. Broadstreet. senior steward; 
Joseph P. Omullane. junior steward; William E. Morrison, tyler; inember- 
ship, eighty-fi\ e. 

Sanders Lodge. Xo. 307, Independent Order of Odd Fellows, was in- 
stituted May 20. 1868. Charter members: T. J. Johnson. A. H. Gihnore, 
T. J. Walls! T. H. Stevenson. J. B. McCormick. J. H. Allison. H. G. Dyer 
and H. Marshall. Present officers : J. F. Ransopher. noble grand : F. L. 
-\IcKee, vice-grand ; John Ward, secretary, and T. C. Utterback, treasurer. 

Diamond Lodge. Xo. 349. Knights of Pythias, was instituted March 7. 
1892. The following were the charter members: Parks M. Martin. James 
P. Beanian, William A. Moser. Charles E. Pickens, Benjamin F. Truesdale. 
William M. Moser, George B. Rockwell, John W. Thornburgh. William Sack- 
ett. Charles S. Sinclair, Michael F. Flannery. David E. Watson, James A. 
Sandy, Frank E. McCarney and Francis AL Cole. The officers at present 
are: James F. Hartsan. chancellor commander: John .\. Omullane. vice- 
chancellor commander; O. E. Collins, prelate; J. F. O'Brien, master of work; 
W. J. Hood, keeper of records and seal ; C. A. Rockwell, master of exchequer; 
W. J. Hood, master of finance; F. L. McKee, master of arms: P. ^L McAvoy. 
inner guard ; Charles McAvoy, outer guard ; membership, one hundred twenty. 

Cloverdale Camp. 7194. Modern Woodmen of America, was organized 
November 1 1. 1899, and has a membership of one hundred and five. Its offi- 
cers are: B. B. Hamilton, venerable consul: Roy D. Vestal, worthy adviser; 
John Meek, banker; \^^ E. Horn, clerk; Ellis Tabor, escort; R. E. Keller, 
watchman : James Orrell, sentry ; Jesse McCoy. George Wingfield. Jesse Hub- 
bard, trustees. 

Cloverdale also has a Grantl Anny post. It is called General Frank 
\\"hite Post. Xo. 422. Its officers are: W. R. Larkin. commander; H. B. 
Martin, senior vice-commander; W. P. Allen, junior vice-commander; H. E. 
Keller, officer of the day: J. M. Scott, quartermaster: S. B. Man. adjutant; 
Rev. Mathew Masten. chaplain. 

Charles .\. Rockwell is postmaster and George B. Rockwell assistant 
postmaster. Cloverdale is the second largest office in the county. The salary 
of the postmaster is thirteen hundred dollars per year and there are fi\-e rural 
mail routes from the Cloverdale office. 

The officers of the town of Cloverdale are : Frank M. Cole. Leander L. 
Runyan. John F. Richardson, trustees; Charles Hunter, marshal; Otho V. 
Smvthe. clerk and treasurer: Wilson E. Horn, health officer; school board. 



PCTNAM COUNTY. INDIANA. 189 

Uly Denny, president, Walter K. Pritchard, secretary, and Willis E. Gill, 
treasurer. 

There is one woman's club called "The Fortnightly Club." 
Through the instrumentality of Doctor Dyer, a seminary was erected 
in Cloverdale in 1850. which was carried on for about three years. Prof. 
William Bray was the first principal, and was followed by N. C. Woodward. 
The institution was chartered and was organized under promising circum- 
stances. Doctor Dyer, Andrew T. McCoy and John Sandy were the largest 
stockholders. The school finally failed, because a majority of the stock- 
holders refused to be taxed for its support. 

The Cloverdale postoffice has been administered by the following named : 
William L. Hart, February 11, 1836; Thomas Nelson, August 7, 1841 ; John 
V. Hopkins, August 23, 1845; John Sandy, January 19, 1849; Thomas E. 
Martin, June 16. 1853: John Sandy, January 30, 1854; Solomon Akers, Oc- 
tober 10. 1855; George L. Talbott, March 29, 1861 ; Moses Akers. April 8, 
1863; H. M. Rockwell, March 23, 1864; Jacob Smith, February 21, 1865; 
Parmenus Davis, August 17, 1865; Jacob Smith. October 5, 1865; Parmenus 
Davis, April 6, 1866; S. S. Haviland. April 10, 1867; Henry B. Martin, 
September 2, 1869; A. P. Kunkler, March i, 1870; Harvey Denny, February 
28, 1871 : C. C. Foster, May 25, 1885 ; John C. Merwin, May 3, 1889: W. E. 
Horn, April 18, 1893; Charles A. Rockwell, April 15, 1897. 

JEFFERSON TOWNSHIP. 

Jefferson township consists of the first thirty sections of township 13, 
range 3, and is bounded on the north by Marion, on the east by Mill creek, on 
the south by Cloverdale. and on the west by Warren township. ' It is drained 
b}' Mill creek, and was originally timbered, as the neighboring townships. 
The soil is a rich loam, suitable for the production of grass and grain. .At 
one time it fonned a part of what was called Deer Creek township, which in- 
cUuled Jefferson. Warren and Cloverdale. In the year 1846, Warren and 
Jefferson gave off enough to make Cloverdale township, leaving Jefferson with 
its present area. 

The fir.st settlers, called "squatters." consisted of four families — three 
named Higgins. and one named Kirk — who made temporary settlements on 
section 16, in the year 1819. John C. Sherrill made his entry of land in 
the autumn of 1822. Jacob Clark, George Hendrick. William Albin. George 
Hurst. David Hurst. John Gillman. Absalon Hurst. Abraham Hurst and a 
Mr. Langwell. all came in that year or the early part of the ne.xt. 



190 



WEIK S HISTORY OF 



After this, settlements were made so rapidly that it is almost impossible 
to note them as they occurred. From 1822 to 1833 the larger portion of the 
land was taken up by entry, and but few pieces remained unentered after the 
year 1836. 

The first marriage was that of William Aldrich and Betsy Higgins in the 
year 1823. The next was that of Henry Nosier and Mary Hurst, which was 
solemnized by David Scott, Esq., in 1824. 

The family record of John C. Sherrill shows that his daughter Caroline 
was born on February 27, 1823, and she was, probably, the first child born in 
the township. She became the wife of Elijah McCarty, but is now deceased. 
Probably the next was Andrew McMains — named after his father — who was 
born June 10, 1824, and still lives in the township. 

The first mill in the township was built by John Hadden, in 1826; the 
next in 1829, by John Allee. These were both horse-mills. The first water- 
mill was built on Higgins' creek in 1834 by John Smith. These mills afiforded 
all the facilities then required for the production of meal and flour. 

The first justice of the peace was David Scott. Esq., who continued in 
office for a period of more than twenty years. 

It appears from the church records, that the Regular Baptists organized 
Mill Creek church at the house of Rev. .Absalom Hurst in 1828, and in 1830 
built a log meeting house near the site of their present one. They have main- 
tained their organization ever since, and have twice rebuilt. 

The date of organization of the Methodist church cannot be given. In 
1838 they built a hewed-log church, called Jones' meeting-house. The congre- 
gation went down in 1856, after which the house was used as a shop. 

The Missionary Baptists organized New Providence church at the house 
of John C. Sherill in 1839, and built a log house of worship in the succeeding 
year. They have since rebuilt, and now have a commodious and handsome 
house. 

There are at the present time in the township five houses of public wor- 
ship. 

Rev. Absalom Hurst was the first resident minister in the township, and 
was considered the founder of Mill Creek church. 

The earlv vices of this township, as of most new countries, were drunken- 
ness and gambling; but, by the advance of a better civilization, sober habits 
and a more elevated moral sentiment prevail. Though drinking spirits was a 
common fault in the early history of the township, it is a noteworthy fact 
that there never was a still-house within the limits of its territory. 



PUTNAM COUNTY, INDIANA. I9I 

The schools of the township were organized in 1834. The books con- 
taining the records, kept by John Alice, treasurer of the township trustees, 
show that he received from the school fund commissioner of the county the 
following amounts: In the year 1834, $116.3114; 1835, $191. 93^54; 1836. 
$131.0654 ; 1837, $152 ; total for four years. $591. 31^^. 

There are two villages in the township. Mount Meridian and Belle Union. 
Mount Meridian was laid out by William Heavin and Bryce W. Miller, in the 
year 1S33. It was at first called Carthage, but, in order that the town and 
postoffice might have the same name, it was given that which it now bears. 

At Belle Union the following postmasters have served : Robert Mc- 
Cammack, April 6, 1S70; M. B. Scott, June 8, 1874; James N. Bourne, June 
9, 1875; A. J. Hill, December 27, 1875; Thomas N. Sherrill, August 21, 
1885; Lemuel Buis, April 4, 18S8; David Cohn, October 2, 1889; J. M. 
Hurst, June 6, 1893; James H. Larkin, August 7, 1894; Milton C. Mc- 
Aninch, June 24, 1898; George A. Dobbs, February 29, 1904. The postoffice 
was discontinued on May 14, 1906. At Mount Meridian the postmasters 
have been William Bailey, July 24, 1835; John W. Osborn. October 13, 
1842; Asa Cooper, December 9, 1845; Valentine G. Kemper, June 30, 1851; 
William S. Bourne. April 9, 1S55: D. S. Duckworth, March 28, 1859; 
Thomas A. Br\an. September 3, 1861 ; Joel S. Cooper, November 25, 1861 ; 
Washington Brenton. February 13, 1862; Joel S. Cooper, September i, 1S63; 
T. S. Vermilion, September 14, 1866; William N. Wood, October 23, 1866; 
William T. W. Elmore, May 14, 1868; Jesse M. Elmore, August 9, 1869; 
S. W. McAninch, November 9, 1870; William N. Wood, December 19, 1871 ; 
Jesse M. Elmore, December 15, 1873; Alfred Elmore, March 30. 1876; 
Martin F. Dorsett, July 12, 1880; William Hurst, December 20, 1880; 
Samuel P. Bowen, October 28, 1881 ; S. S. Bourne, August 31, 1882; Wil- 
liam Hurst. April 24, 1885; J. S. Knight. May 14, 1889; William Hurst. 
May 27, 1893; John H. Fox, September 16, 1897; discontinued February 
28, 1905. 

MILL CREEK TOWNSHIP. 

Mill Creek township lies east of Marion, Jefferson and Cloverdale town- 
ships, and is bounded on the north by Hendricks county, on the east by Hen- 
dricks and Morgan, and on the south by Morgan. It is drained by Mill creek. 
which forms the eastern and southern boundaries. There are a few small 
tributaries, but none of any size, which enter that stream within the limits of 
Putnam county. This township was annexed to Putnam county by order of 



192 



WEIK S HISTORY OF 



the board of county commissioners at the September term, i860, confirmed 
by act of the Legislature, approved March 1 1, 1861. 

The first settler in this township wasThomas Broadstreet. Sr.. who was 
born in Virginia in the year 1813. In the year 1826, at the age of thirteen, 
he came west with his father,' who settled within one mile of the west edge of 
the township. Although but a boy at that time, he was acquainted with nearly 
all the early settlers of the township. The first log cabin in Mill Creek 
township was built in the year 1826, on the west bank of the stream from 
which the township takes its name, one and one-half miles south of Stiles- 
ville, by Jacob Holmes. This home was afterward sold to James Sallust. 
The next was built on what is known as the Clark farm, by Thomas Skelton. 
William Parker entered land and built a house close by, and then came 
Elisha Hurst and Norman Nunn. They were all early settlers, and owned 
lands adjoining the Clark farm on the west. William Heavin came here in 
the year 1827, and at first built a log cabin, but within a few years erected a 
good hewed-log house, which up to a recent date was still standing. At a 
very early day, Mr. Heavin built a water-mill of the kind known to old 
settlers as a hominy-pestle ; and he also planted the first orchard in the town- 
ship. 

The first death which occurred in the township was that of Mrs. Bar- 
bara Heavin, wife of William Heavin, who died in the year 1830 and was 
interred near the family dwelling. After eight years more of toil in this 
new country, her husband followed her in death, and was laid beside the 
remains of his companion. 

James Sallust, father of John and William Sallust of this township, 
and of J. R. Sallust of Oregon, came from Virginia to Mill creek in the year 
1829, and lived in his traveling tent until he built a cabin in which to live. 
It is remarked of Mr. Sallust that he was a man of great industry, and he 
put under cuhivation a large part of the farm on which his son, John Sallust, 
afterwards lived. Mr. Sallust made the first kiln of brick in the township. 
His moulder and burner was a man named Daniel Elliott. Mr. Sallust lived 
to the year 1851. 

Mr. McHaffie. from Kno.x county, Pennsylvania, father of M. E. Mc- 
HaiTie, bought land in the north part of the township in the year 1831, to 
which he removed in the fall of the next year. He built the first water- 
power grist-mill in the township, in the year 1835-36. Samuel Beedle, Pleas- 
ant Allee and William Allee all came to the township in the year 1837. 

The first child born in the township was Nancy E. Holmes, daughter 
of Jacob Holmes, who built the first house in the township. Her birth oc- 



PUTNAM COUNTY, INDIANA. I93 

curred May 7, 1830. This child died at the age of four years. The first 
marriage was that of EH Lee and Polly Heavin, daughter of William and 
Barbara Heavin, in the year 1832. Mr. Lee built the first horse-mill, which 
was one widely known and extensively patronized for many years. The 
first school house in this township was built on the farm of Mr. Bricks. The 
puncheons for the floor and seats of this house were hewed by Pleasant 
Allee 

The -Methodist church was organized in the township in the year 1829, 
at the house of Air. Bricks, mentioned above. Services were afterward held 
at the school house until the erection of Mount Pisgah church, on the land 
of Norman Nunn, in the year 1844 or 1845. Mr. Thomas Broadstreet was 
one of the earliest if not the first minister in the township. 

Thomas Elliott improved the place at the forks of the Greencastle and 
National roads, where he first built a log house, in which he kept tavern, 
as did also Mr. Keller, just across the line in Hendricks county. In the year 
1837, Mr. Elliott built a brick house, and in the following year Mr. Keller 
built a two-story frame. These were rival houses and attained to great 
notoriety. They were known as the "Tecumseh" and "Washington Hall." 
They were together called the "twin taverns." 

While the National road was constructing, in the years 1833 and 1834, 
the general government built two bridges over small creeks just west of 
the twin taverns, the stone abutments of which are good to this day. This 
is true also of other works of the same kind constructed on that road at the 
same date. 



(13) 



CHAPTER XII. 



PUTNAM S MILITARY RECORD. 



Among the early records of the county conimi.ssioners' court is an entry 
showing that, on motion of D. R. Eckels, the county treasurer was author- 
ized and instructed to loan to the members of the military company known as 
the Putnam Blues, an amount of money not exceeding two thousand dollars;" 
all of which goes to show that the idea of military protection was not long in 
taking root in the minds of the early settlers. Somehow a feeling of safety 
as well as pride was inspired by the sight of the weapons, the bright uniforms 
and glittering equipment of the militia on muster day. The following notice, 
found in a copy of the Putnam County Sentinel, published March i8, 1847, 
will serve to indicate the status of the development of the Militia up to the 
time named : 

"Attention Company!! 

"Putnam Yellow Jackets. 

"You are hereby ordered to parade on Saturday, the loth of April, at 

10 o'clock A. M., at the Armory in full unifomi. A punctual attendance is 

requested as this is the first Company Muster for this year. There is some 

business of importance to come before the company at that time — also it is 

supposed there will be an election of subordinate officers to fill stations that 

are not occupied at present. Persons wishing to become members can do so 

bv calling on the commissioned officers or the undersigned. 

"Come out! Come out!! 

"By order of Capt. Appleg.\te. 
"Hexry W. Daniels, 

"Ord. Serg." 

.-Vt the time of the breaking out of the Mexican war, so far as we can 
learn, the Putnam Blues and Putnam Yellow Jackets were the only two mili- 
tary companies fully equipped for active service in the county; but to the 
Blues was assigned the honor and responsibility of representing the county 
in the campaign against Mexico. The company assembled at the court house 
on the dav of its departure in the presence of a large crowd and, with colors 



PL'TXAM COL'XTY. IXDIAXA. I95 

flying, set out for tlie scene of action. It marched southea.st along the 
Bloomington road and tliere are yet living men who were boys then and who, 
attracted by the music of fife and drum and the striking military appearance 
of the soldiers, followed the company on foot for miles out of town. 
\Vhen New Albany was reached, the Putnam county contingent was given the 
post of honor, being known thereafter as Company A, First Regiment Indi- 
ana \'oIunteers. They were mustered into the United States service June 
20, 1S46. One of the leading and probably the most influential men in arous- 
ing interest in the organization of the company for the campaign in Mexico 
was Delana R. Eckels. He was then in the vigor of his early manhood and, 
although such men as James P. Drake and Henry S. Lane were also in the 
same regiment, it is doubtful if any of them surpassed Eckels in military acu- 
men, concentration of purpose or strength of intellect. He was appointed 
commissary of the regiment with the rank of captain. The only other staff 
ot^cer from Putnam county was William Albin, quartermaster sergeant. The 
officers of Company A were : John H. Roberts, captain, who died February 
19. 1847, and was succeeded by Daniel A. Farley; William L. Farrow was 
first lieutenant and R. W. Jones and Abisha L. Morrison second lieutenants; 
John C. Walls, Benjamin E. Brooks, Thomas S. Hancock and Merritt 
Redding, sergeants, and John Nead, Wesley I. Banks, Lewis H. Rudisill and 
Joel W. McGrew, corporals. The privates were: Howard Abbott, Lafayette 
Atkinson, Andrew I. Akers, Thomas S. Bridges, San ford P. Burk, Samuel 
McH. Brooks, James Craig. Lafayette Cornwall. Henry C. Crook, Samuel 
Francis. William W. Farley. John Ford. John Gray, Abijah Grimes, Jesse M. 
Hamrick, Martin Heath, Alfred K. Keller, Henry Keller, William R. Keller, 
\\'illiam Knipe. William Lane, Humphrey G. May, Floyd Mills, Isaac Mc- 
Mannoway, Samuel Purcell, James Pickering. John Pickering, Joseph Rob- 
erts. Lewis Solomon. James H. Summers. Daniel T. Summers, Solomon O. 
Siddens, Jesse A. Shepherd, Abram N. Stringer, Mason Vennillion, Robert 
C. Wilson, Patterson M. Wood, Robert Walls, David Young. 

The following privates died during the service : Henry Hiatt. Samuel 
E. Xewell. George West. Joseph R. Banks, James McCall, Samuel C. Morris, 
Clark Powers and Henry A. West ; and the following were discharged be- 
fore the term of their enlistment had expired on account of disease or disa- 
bility: George W. Atkinson, Xelson Combs, Perry Gase, Henry Hotspillar, 
^\^esley Mills. Elias Xeff. Lyman P. Nichols. James Rhino, Xotlev M. Sand- 
ers. Joseph Sanders, Benjamin E. Talbott. Elisha Hasty. Harmon Skeen, 
Tames Smith and William D. Frazier. 



196 weik's history of 

Although experiencing the usual hardships of soldier life, the troops 
from Putnam county were more or less fortunate in that the First Regiment, 
to which thev belonged, was not required to participate in the decisive bat- 
tles of Churubusco, Palo Alto, Monterey. Chapultepec or any of the bloody 
engagements of the war. Although never under actual fire, they were 
equally as brave and daring as any of the other troops, obeyed the orders of 
their superiors as implicitly and did their duty as fully and fearlessly as if 
facing the cannon's mouth. Most of those who survived returned to their 
Indiana homes and many afterwards, including William L. Farrow, Abisha 
L. Morrison. Joel W. McGrew and William Lane, served as commissioned 
officers on the side of the Union during the Rebellion. The only survivor 
of the entire company so far as known is Wesley I. Banks, who now lives in 
the town of Centre ville. Iowa. 

As the one great result of the Mexican war was to emphasize and 
accentuate the slavery question, it will not be out of order here to reflect, 
for a few moments, on the attitude and conduct of the early settlers of Put- 
nam county toward the negroes, both free and enslaved. The majority of 
these early settlers being from Kentucky, where slavery had been in existence 
from time immemorial, and some of them being themselves the owners of 
slaves, it is not to be wondered that many of them saw no great or crying 
need for interfering with the institution as it then existed. 

The first incident which tends to indicate the local sentiment as to the 
rights of a slave and that of his owner is found in the records of the circuit 
court in 1836. On the 30th day of April in that year. William McCubbens 
appeared before Tames Rankin, one of the associate justices of the county, 
and filed an affidavit, reciting that he was then a resident of Paris, Edgar 
countv, Illinois, to which place he had removed from his home in Tennessee; 
that he ^\■as the owner of numerous slaves ; that among them was a girl named 
Jane, who had escaped his vigilance, fled from the county and was then li\-ing 
with and under the protection of certain persons in Putnam county, passing 
as a free person; that as a matter of fact she was not free, but was his slave, 
bound to him for labor and he therefore demanded that the said negro girl 
be delivered over to him as his property, to be by him transported to a locality 
bevond the boundaries of the state. After listening to the testimony, the 
court decided in the slave owner's favor. The girl thereupon appealed to 
the full bench of the court and the proceeding being of such moment and 
importance a special session was set for May 5th. Meanwhile the girl was 
turned over to the plaintiff, whereupon the latter, as the record discloses, 
executed a bond guaranteeing costs and the appearance of the girl in court. 



PCTXA.M COr.XTV. IXDIAXA. I97 

with James McCiibbens and Joseph L. ^[errill as his sureties. Court convened 
on the day assigned, with James Rankin and Wilham Elrod. associate jus- 
tices, on the bench. The record does not disclose who the third member 
was or why he was not present. The following jur}- was impaneled and 
sworn : John Allen. John Dicks. James Denny, Arthur Walker, Jacob Huff- 
man. Abner Goodwin. William Leachman, John Lynch, Isaiah Vermillion, 
John Standeford, Pryor L. Fanner and Thomas Cochran. How long the 
trial lasted can not now be learned, but after a somewhat exhaustive inquiry 
the jury returned the following verdict: "We the jury find that the said 
negro girl, Jane, owes service as a slave under the laws of the state of Ten- 
nessee, for life to the said \\'illiam McCubbens, as in the said affidavit of 
complaint of said William, is mentioned and that the same is substantially 
true. James Denny, foreman." Whereupon the court made the following 
decree, which was gravely entered on the record : "It is therefore ordered by 
the court that Joseph L. Merrill and James McCubbens. bondsmen, surrender 
the said girl Jane in discharge of their recognizance, which being done, she 
is now by order of the court delivered into the possession and custody of 
said William McCubbens as her lawful owner." Although in compliance with 
the letter of the law, it is doubtful if, in some parts of the United States, the 
poor black girl would have been turned over to her alleged "lawful owner." 
with the right to her services "for life." Legally considered, the judgment 
may not have been erroneous, but future generations will never cease to 
regret that the incident took place in Putnam county. 

But everyone did not believe in the right of a sla\e owner to come to 
Indiana and forcibly take from the state a human being condemned to 
servitude for life. There were those who held that e\en though the law was 
made to sanction slavery, it was right to ignore or evade such an inhuman 
provision and if necessary openly violate it. In striking contrast, therefore, 
to the incident related in the foregoing paragraph, it is more or less refresh- 
ing to read the following, which also took place in Putnam county during 
the days when slavery- flourished under the "sanction of the law." For an 
account of this episode we are indebted to Capt. Joseph M. Donnohue. who 
prepared the following paper for the Putnam County Historical Society, and 
who. strange to relate, is himself the son of a Kentuckian, who inherited 
slaves from his ancestors and. on attaining his majority, set them free : 

"One drizzlv dav in the month of September, i860, two boys were 
rambling about two miles south of the town of Greencastle. They had 
crossed the farm then ow ned and occupied by W. T. Hawkins and climbed 
upon the fence separating one of his fields from a heavily wooded pasture. 



198 weik's historv of 

known then as a part of the Miller Black farm. This woodland was broken 
by hollows and by what is commonly known as sinkholes. Small under- 
growth of paw-paw bushes partly concealed the ground. The bo\s this 
day were accompanied by a hound of the lop-eared kind, which, when trail- 
ing, emitted a continuous musical roll of noises, that makes the writer wish 
he was a graduate of some music school in order that he might properlv de- 
scribe the music the old hound produced. When the dog had crossed the 
fence his nose went into the air. the hair on his back became erect from head 
to tail, and, giving vent to a deep bass bellow, he plunged headlong through 
the underbrush, and as he went, with his voice he ran the gamut up and 
down, working in some beautiful double semi-quavers and long drawn out 
trills, that delighted the heart of the boys. A hundred and fifty yards into 
the woods he bore off to the left and began describing a circle. When the 
circle was complete he began narrowing the ring, but all the while the music 
was growing in intensity and sweetness from the hunter's standpoint until 
the circle became quite small. At the first notes of the dog. the bovs stood 
upon the top of the fence, the better to see the outcome of the supposed 
chase, and from their height could see that the hound was circling around 
a sinkhole. They had never seen such manifestations of anger from the dog. 
and naturally wondered what kind of an animal had taken refuge there. 
The dog roared 'round the rim of the sink and by his action threatened to 
go down. Presently a club was seen to rise in the air from out the sink- 
hole, pass the dog and drop beyond him. Then another and another, each 
passing club adding new zeal and additional fury to the hound's attack. 

"The boys ran toward the sink, at the same time commanding the dog 
to come away. He retired sullenly, turning at times and threatening to charge. 
Repeated scolding, howexer. pre\ented. When the boys first came near 
enough they could see only a brush pile and paw-paw bushes in the sinkhole. 
but after peering through the bushes for awhile, a black face was discovered. 
One of the boys asked. 'What are you doing there?' The answer came. 
'Nothing, massa, we gives up. Jim he's sick and chillin'. Its no use.' Thev 
were young colored men. After assurances of friendship, one of the darkies 
toltl their story. About a month or six weeks before they had made a Iireak 
for freedom, leaving their master near Franklin, Tennessee, worked their 
way up through that state and Kentucky, assisted by colored people, cross- 
ing the Ohio river in a skiff, and had been helped through Indiana, thus far. 
by friends or agents, as I now know, of the Underground Railroad. .\n 
agent of the road had come from near Mooresville. in Morgan countv. across 
country the night before to near this place, when daylight overtook them be- 



PCTNAM COLXTV. IXDIAXA. I99 

fore thev reached the station where they intended to stop for the day. So 
thev left the road and had taken slieiter in the woods as we have seen, until 
night should come again. 

"The bovs soon Iiail their confidence and the spokesman atided that they 
were directed to tiie house of our neighbor, and at nightfall would have 
safelv made their wav there. The other one was sick. Exposure had caused 
him to chill. The rain during the day had wet their clothing, which made 
their condition very unpleasant. After further conversation, the boys left 
them, and with the secret safely locked in their breasts went to the house of 
the neighbor mentioned by the negro and told him of their adventure. He 
was not at all surprised, but on the other hand had been greatly troubled 
on account of the negroes' failure to appear before daylight that morning 
as expected. Evidently he was pleased, but made the boys feel the importance 
of keeping the matter to themselves. That night the refugees were piloted 
to our neighbor's and safely lodgeil in the garret of his wash house. They 
were fed and cared for three or four days. The one suttering with the ague 
was doctored bv our neighbor and his chills broken. Then our neighbor 
arranged to go to Parke county to mill. He had a strong prejudice against 
flour ground bv steam power. Water-mill flour was much better and there 
was a water mil! in Parke county that made flour just to his notion. So to 
mill he went, a distance of twenty-five miles perhaps, in a covered wagon, 
with considerable hay. proxisions for three persons and one sack of wheat. 
That he got to the place for which he had started, I am assured, but that he 
brought anv flour on his return trip I never knew. Fnit he told the writer on 
his return that the colored boys were in good hands. Sometime afterward I 
learned from him that they had arrived safel\- in Canada. 

"This 'unofficial patriot" moved to Putnam county in 1857. He came 
from Ohio. He was singular in many respects. He made a wide acquain- 
tance in Putnam county in a few years. He was an extensive cattle shipper 
at one tin^e. He appeared austere in his manner to many, but was really 
verv sxmpathetic. Rugged in his oi)inions, he may have made some enemies. 
But our neighbor had much to commend him. and no one thing had so much 
to do with the good opinion of the writer as the fact that he was an agent of 
the Underground Railroad. He was one of the active agents of a system 
that was hated anrl despised by many, and was under ban of the law. At 
that time manv of the people of Putnam county were like the hound I tell 
about in one respect. They were read}- and anxious to pounce upon a run- 
awa\" "nigger.' Negroes were propert}' and the hound manifested only the 
zeal of some of the higher animals, who had read the decision of Chief 



200 WEIK S HISTORY OF 

Justice Taney, making them the hunters — under heavy penalties for non-per- 
formance — of negroes on their road to freedom. 

"As early as i860 Putnam county had at least one 'unofficial patriot.' 
and his name was Parker S. Browder. 

"The leaven was doing its work. John Brown's body was mouldering 
in the tomb, but his soul was marching on." 

But to the credit of the people of Putnam county be it said that although 
a majority of them originated in Kentucky, yet in the main they were de- 
cidedly unfriendly to slaver^^ In fact the presence of the few colored people 
who were here prior to the war can be accounted for on the theorv that thev 
had formerly belonged to families opposed to dealing in human flesh who, to 
get away from the curse, had emigrated to the free state of Indiana and 
had permitted a few of the old servants, who with childish affection clung 
to them, to make up a part of the outfit for the new home. 

James Townsend, a native of Maryland, moved hither from Morgan- 
field, Kentucky, in 1828. settling at Putnamville. He freed his slaves in 
Kentucky and told those who wished to accompany him to a free state that 
he would take them to Indiana and build them log cabins for homes. About 
eight came with him. "They all took my grandfather's family name, Town- 
send,'' writes James T. Layman. "Luke Townsend and his wife Charity and 
Tom Townsend unmarried. Old grandmother Sibley Townsend was among 
those who went from Maryland to Kentucky in 1808. There also were 
Aunt Hetty, Aunt Amy and one we called 'Yaller Ann.' I remember them 
all very well as they were about my mother's home every day and I used 
to fill old Grandmother Sibley's pipe w'ith tobacco for her before the fireplace 
when she was past ninety years of age." 

Tamar Peters was a colored woman and the slave of James Stevenson, 
father of Dr. .\.. C. Stevenson. The elder Stevenson brought her to Ken- 
tucky from his birthplace in Alaryland. Later he emigrated to this countv 
from Kentucky, dying in 1826. Fi\e years afterwards his widow. ^largaret 
Campbell, rlicd. Before her death she directed that Tamar Peters and her 
family i)e freed and brought to Indiana. Arriving here, they were cared 
for by Doctor Stevenson. The family, consisting of the mother and five 
children, were industrious and thrifty and by their combined labors accum- 
ulated money enough to buy forty acres of land a few miles southwest of 
Greencastie. In 1854 they sold their farm, went to Baltimore, where, under 
the auspices of tlie Emigration Aid Society, they shipped for Liberia. It is 
said that Aunt Tamar dietl on the wav and was buried at sea. 



PfTXAM CnrXTV. IXniAXA. 20I 

In 1850 an old colored couple. Tom and Agnes, arrived in McMiroe town- 
ship and went at once to the home of the late Col. James Fisk. They were 
formerly slaves and belonged to the latter's father in Kentucky, but had been 
given their freedom. Having grown old and feeble. Colonel Fisk had directed 
them to be sent to him in order that he might provide for them during their 
declining years. Shortly after their arrival some of the neighbors took 
ottense at the presence of negroes in their midst and. under the leadership 
of William McCray. they filed an affidavit against Colonel Fisk for violating 
the law- which forbade the harboring of a negro. The case was tried in 
Greencastle and much feeling was aroused, but Tom and Agnes were not 
transported. Thev were never again molested but continued to live under the 
care and benefactions of Colonel Fisk until their deaths many years after- 
ward. Both of them are buried in the Brick Chapel cemetery. 

"One of the colored persons that I remember as prominent in my boy- 
hood davs." relates Thomas C. Hammond, "was named Cato Boyd. He was 
not of uncertain color by any means, being as black as jet. He came to Put- 
nam county early in the thirties and had originally belonged to Crawford 
Cole. He was a sort of recluse, living entirely to himself in a hut about two 
miles northwest of Greencastle. where he carried on the business of charcoal 
burning. When I first knew him he was about sixty years old and the owner 
of about twenty acres of land. He was able to write and was. to some extent, 
a reader of books. Another notable character in early colored circles was 
an old darky called "Uncle Henderson.' He roomed for a long time in David 
Hoagland's wagon shop and was a good-hearted and inoffensive old negro. 
He worked at the home of Dr. Matthew Simpson, then president of Asbury 
University, and was a great favorite w ith the family. One day, being in a 
hurrv to meet an engagement, Mrs. Simpson directed Henderson to take a 
seat at the dinner table with herself and the children. When John M. .Alli- 
son, one of the trustees of Asbury University, and a Kentuckian, heard of 
this he was greatlv incensed and was so loud and ungenerous in his criticism 
of Doctor Simpson and kept up such a tirade of censure that, it is said, the 
latter finally became disgusted and resigned the presidency of the university. 

THE CIX'II. WAR. 

The assault u\)nn Fort Sumter by the Confederate government at 
Charleston in April. iSfSi. was not a surprise to the people of Putnam county. 
For many weeks prior thereto, the editor of the Putnaui County Banner had 
been preparing his readers for the inevitable clash which had long been pre- 



202 WEIKS HISTORY OF 

dieted. This preparation consisted of a number of articles in the succeeding 
issues of the paper, commencing shortly after the beginning of the year, writ- 
ten by Dr. A. C. Stevenson and entitled "Thoughts on Secession." The 
writer handled the delicate question in a very skillful and adroit, but careful 
manner. He shrank from the dreadful alternative of war and even pointed 
out wa\'s bv which the momentous question then disturbing the country could 
be settled without resorting to bloodshed. But all these speculations were 
shattered when the news reached Greencastle on the morning of Friday, the 
1 2th of April. 1 86 1, that General Beauregard had fired the first hostile shot at 
Fort Sumter. Instantly the entire community was aroused. By noon a 
crowd had gathered, to whom Col. John A. Matson made a stirring and pa- 
triotic appeal in behalf of the Union. On the Monday following, an immense 
and enthusiastic crowd gathered before the court house for the purpose of 
arranging for the enlistments of such persons as were willing to join the 
army in response to the President's call for seventy-fi\e thousand volunteers. 
Alreadv Col. Lewis H. Sands had opened a recruiting office in Greencastle for 
the purpose of enlisting volunteers. "A number of young men have already 
enlisted," says the Banner, "and many more will do so as soon as they have 
an opportunity. Old Putnam, ever loyal to the government, will send up but 
one voice and that will be in favor of the enforcement of the laws of the 
country and the maintenance of the Union as it is." At the meeting held in 
the court house. Colonel Sands was called to the chair and addressed the audi- 
ence in a few brief and pointed remarks in favor of upholding the flag of his 
country. Capt. John Osborn. of Clay county, was present and. being called 
for, responded in a fervid and ringing appeal to stand by the Union. Speeches 
were also made bv H. J. Hilton, A. L. ]\Iorrison, Doctor Cowgill, Marshall -.\. 
Moore and others. Beneath large and conspicuous headlines, the Banner pub- 
lished the President's proclamation calling for volunteers and, in the adjoin- 
ing column, the following vigorous and fervid editorial : 

''Shall American soldiers be permitted to perish with famine? Shall 
they be pennitted to starve whilst they bear aloft the flag of their country 
amidst traitors who will rend it in shreds and trample it under foot? Xo! 
answers everv lover of his country. Xo! says every lover of freedom. 
Everv lover of free speech, a free press, and freedom of worship, answers 
Xo! Everv lover of courage cries. 'Supply them.' and every patriot cries. 
'Feed them at all hazards.' Traitors alone cry, 'Starve them! starve them!' 
If the spirits of the good and the just and the patriotic take cognizance of 
transactions of this world, we may well imagine the 'Father of his Country' 
and his compatriots of the Revolution taking a lively interest in this scene. 



PUTNAM COUNTY. INDIANA. 2O3 

as they look forth from the windows of heaven. There floats the flag of 
their country. The Bag under which they marched to battle and to victory, 
and to the establishment of their country's independence. In its folds nestles 
the American eagle. On its face it bears the stars and the stripes. A small 
band of brave men continue to defend it. An hundred traitorous palmetto 
tiags surround it. borne by rebel hosts, who shout demoniac yells in hope of 
certain victorv-. The shouts of 'Starve them! starve them!' reach the very- 
portals of heaven. 'Feed them!' cries the spirits of the Revolution! "Feed 
them!' cries the 'Father of his Country!' 'Feed them.' cries the spirits of 
departed American statesmen! 'Feed them' ! cries the spirits of the just and 
good from all lands ! This government will not be lost without an effort, at 
least, to save it. Amid all the gloom and secession, there have been a few 
rays of hope. .\ few courageous men have been conspicuous. In the very- 
midst of the conspirators, they have nobly kept the stars and stripes floating 
and clung to the constitution. Like the fi.xed stars, they have shown the 
brighter on account of the gloom by which they were surrounded. They have 
indeed cheered the desponding patriot amidst the darkness of treason." 

STRONG UNION SENTIMENT. 

On Saturdav. April 20th. a mass meeting was held in Greencastle to 
arouse the Union sentiment of the county and to encourage enlistments into 
the amiy. Early in the morning crowds began to gather from the country, 
guards being placed at the four corners of the public square to prevent per- 
sons from bringing horses inside. At nine o'clock, places of business were 
all closed and the local military companies drew up in line on the east side 
of the court house. A stand was erected within the court house yard from 
which the crowd was addressed by Col. John A. .Matson, D. E. Williamson. 
Capt. John Osborn and Capt. W. H. Thornburgh. The principal speaker of 
the day was Col. R. W. Thompson, who had come o\er from Terre Haute, 
and who made a deep and abiding impression upon those present by his able. 
patriotic and eloquent address in supix)rt of the Union. "Party lines in-this 
countrv," savs the Banner, "are obliterated. Democrats. Republicans and 
Americans stand shoulder to shoulder for the American flag. We occasion- 
allv hear of some poor miserable devil who would gladly see the government 
go to ruin, but it is not the part of prudence to give expression to such senti- 
ments. Our ])enple have come to the conclusion that there are two sides to 
the question: he who is not for his government, is against it: we either have 
a government or we have not; and. with praiseworthy unanimity, the people 
of old Putnam are on the side of the old flag and the old constitution." 



204 WEIK S HISTORY OF 

By Monday, April 22nd, the first company of Putnam county patriots, 
to offer their services in behalf of the Union, left for Indianapolis. They 
^vere called the Union Guards and were under the command of Capt. William 
Conkliii. Speaking of their departure, the Banner says, "They were escorted 
to the depot by the Asbury Guards. It was indeed a trying scene to see so 
many friends bid farewell to each other, parting with friends perhaps forever. 
Yet, amid all these mourning scenes, they gave rousing cheers for the Union 
and the flag of our countr\-. Our blessings go with them, and may they not 
forget that anxious friends and relatives at home will eagerly watch their 
efforts in favor of the right." Another company, called the Asbury Guards, 
left for Indianapolis on Wednesday. It was made up mainly of students, and 
was commanded by Capt. John R. Mahan. The outburst of patriotism on 
the part of the students was remarkable. The Banner says: "Our college 
at this place is almost, if not totally, broken up in consequence of the absence 
of the students who have volunteered and gone into battle in defense of their 
country." 

The patriotic men at home formed themselves into another company 
called the Home Guards. They were made up of men who were either too 
old for service in the field, or for some other good reason unable to leave their 
homes. Speaking of the company, the Banner says : "The Greencastle Home 
Guards met on Monday evening, pursuant to adjournment, and resolved to 
divide the company into two divisions, the active and sedentary. The duty 
of the active to drill and equip themselves and the duty of the sedentan- to 
hold themselves in readiness for any emergency that the circumstances might 
hereafter warrant. The enrollment of the active then commenced and in less 
than ten minutes one company of seventy-five were enrolled and ready for 
drill. The officers were: Captain. R. W. Jones; first lieutenant, James Hop- 
kins ; second lieutenant, J. H. Kinkead : third lieutenant. C. J. Ashton ; order- 
1}" sergeant. H. C. Munson: ensign, Daniel Riggs: chairman of the executive 
committee. Jacob Durham." The Banner says : "The recruiting office of the 
guards is at the store of Messrs. Jones. The first drill of the companv came 
oft' on last Friday evening in the college campus. We hope when our state 
shall have supplied her troops with arms, that they will send us something 
suitable to drill with if nothing else. The unifonn adopted by this companv 
is a red hunting shirt and gray military cap." 

FIRST PUTX.VM COUNTY SOLDIERS IN SERVICE. 

On reaching Indianapolis, the Union Guards were mustered into the 
I'nited States service for a period of ninety days from April 26th. as Com- 



PUTNAM COUNTY, INDIANA. 205 

pany H. Tenth Regiment Indiana \'oIunteers. It will, of course, be too great 
a task to attempt to mention the name of each soldier from Putnam countv 
who enlisted into the Union army. But as the Union Guards were the first 
troops from Putnam county whose services were accepted, it will not be out 
of place to record here tiieir names. William Conklin was the captain: E. R. 
Bladen, first lieutenant, and David X. Steele, second lieutenant. D. C. Don- 
nohue was the quartennaster sergeant of the regiment. Ostrander Dicks, 
William E. Yelton. Harrison Wright and Samuel N. Rogers were sergeants 
of the company; Marshall A. Moore, Lycurgus Stoner, John W. Baker and 
Adam Jones, corporals ; James S. Conklin and Arthur M. Walls, musicians. 
The privates were: Eli Barnes. Daniel Battison. James M. Bladen, Franklin 
Bladen, William H. Bruner, Samuel R. Browning. Henry F, Brown, Irani 
Burnett, George T. Chapin, Frederick Cheszeski, Ezra L. Clewaters, James H. 
Collins, John S. Coffman, John W, Cooper, Alford Dicks, William Eakin, 
Henry Earp. Nathan C. Fuller, John Gibb, Lorenzo A, Gibbs, Peter Gross, 
William F. Hadden. Marion Hamlin, John W. Hardin, Benjamin E. Hardin, 
Stephen S. Harvey, Clinton M. Hansier. Philo C. Hawley. William Hitton, 
Volney P. Huston, John Hughes, Franklin James, Thomas J. James. George 
M. Jones. John Kinder, David Kiser. George Kling. Fielding Lamasters. John 
F. Lane. Robert Lane. John W. Lee. Franklin J. Moore. Tilghman Moore. 
William Myers, Henry H. McCray, James H. McGill. Jacob C. Mcllvain, 
Calvin C. McLain. William Parker, Oliver Rankin, John Russell, Archelaus 
Scott, Henry Secrest, Jacob Smith, Alonzo Vancleave, William I. Warde, 
Francis A. Watson, Elijah White, George \\'. White. William F. \Vhite. 
David L. Willson. Herman H. Wolfrom. William Wright. 

Of this company, the only death in the ser\'ice was tliat of Tames H. 
McGill. who was wounded at the battle of Rich Mountain. \'irginia. and died 
July 27. 1861. His body reached Greencastle August the 31st and. as he 
was the first Putnam county soldier who had. up to that time, lost his life in 
the cause of the L'nion. he was buried with all the honors of war. The fun- 
eral took place at three o'clock Sunday afternoon in the college campus. The 
funeral sermon, a very timely and eloquent discourse, was delivered bv Dr. 
Thomas Bowman, president of Aslniry L'niversity. .An immense concourse 
of people turned out to pay their last respects to the honored dead. Several 
militarv companies were present in full uniform and escorted the remains to 
the cemetery. 

C.\RE FOR soldiers' FAMILIES. 

The loyalty, co-operation and unity of action on the part of the niaiontv 
of the people of Putnam county during the dark and troubled xears of the 



2o6 weik's history of 

war can not well be overlooked by the faithful and conscientious historian. 
As soon as the first company of soldiers had left Putnam county for the war, 
the citizens of Greencastle, Bainbridge. RusselKille, Putnamville and other 
towns in the county began to arrange for the care and support of the families 
at home whose husbands and brothers and sons had gone to the front. Within 
ten days after the fall of Fort Sumter. Jacob Durham, as a member of the 
committee appointed for the purpose, published a notice in the papers solicit- 
ing contributions in goods or provisions for the support of the needy families 
of the volunteer soldiers. The Banner of this period teems with editorials 
and appeals along the same lines, as the following will indicate : 

"As is frequently the case, many of the most patriotic and Union-loving 
citizens in the country are men in humble circumstances in life. Of this class, 
in our own midst, a number having families have volunteered in defense of 
their country's flag: and upon a few moments' notice have left all they hold 
dear upon earth, aside from liberty, in care of those who remain at home. 
It is, then, the duty of our citizens to amply provide for their wants. For 
this purpose, the citizens of Greencastle have liberally subscribed money ; but 
there are many friends in the country — farmers, for instance — whose means 
are mostly in produce. Of such, any kind of country produce will be received 
the same as money. Flour, bacon, meal, or any other article of family con- 
sumption may be left at the mayors office, the receipt of which will be thank- 
fully accepted, properly applied and gratefully acknowledged. Let us all bear 
our proportion of the burden-brought upon us by those who are endeavoring 
to usurp the liberties transmitted us by our forefathers." 

ENLISTMENTS FROM PUTN.XM COUNTY. 

The war spirit was general throughout the county. Companies sprang 
up in almost every township and neighborhood. Until mustered into the 
United States service, they were simply home guards organized, if need be, 
for local defense. Here are a few names : Ellsworth Grays, Warren Union 
Guards, Bourbon Grays, Enfield Rovers, the Floyd Township Home Guards, 
Allen's Battery. Franklin Guards, Putnam Blues, Jefferson Cavalry. Marion 
Scouts, Jackson Guards. 

In view of the large number of soldiers credited to the county, it will 
obviously be out of the question to expect a record of their individual names. 
The only thing, therefore, our limited space will allow is a list of the various 
military organizations which included any material per cent of Putnam countv 
enlistments. 



PUTNAM COLXTV, INDIANA. lOJ 

As already stated, one company of the Tenth Regiment was confined en- 
tirely to Putnam county volunteers. There was also a goodlv number from 
this county in the Eleventh Regiment, of which -Lew Wallace was the colonel. 
Company D. Fourteenth Regiment, was composed entirely of enlistments from 
Putnam county. The same is true of Company E, Twenty-first Regiment — 
First Heavy Artillen.-. Putnam county was also well represented in the 
Eighteenth and Twentieth Batteries Light Artillery, of which Eli Lillv and 
^lilton A. Osborn. respectively, were captains. Two companies, A and I. 
Twenty-seventh Regiment, one of the few Indiana regiments that participated 
in the battle of Gettysburg, were made up almost entirely of men from Put- 
nam county. Putnam county was well represented in the Thirty-first Regi- 
ment, of which John Osborn. formerly a citizen of the county, was the colonel. 
The lieutenant-colonel. William L. Farrow, and several other regimental 
officers and two companies, B and H, of the Forty-third Regiment, hailed 
from Putnam county. Companies K and D of the Fifty-fifth Regiment were 
made up of Putnam county soldiers, as also Company C of the Seventv-first 
Infantry and Company F of the Si.xth Cavalry. The lieutenant-colonel and 
two companies. A and B, Seventy-eighth Infantr\-, were from Putnam countv. 
Company D. Xinety-se\enth Infantn.-. under the command of Capt. J. J. 
Smiley, was composed of soldiers from the county. Companv I. One Hun- 
dred and Fifteenth Infantry. Company F, One Hundred and Twenty-third, and 
Company F. One Hundred and Thirty-third, were all from Putnam countv. 
All in all. over two thousand men from Putnam county entered the military 
service during the Civil war. 

As in all other wars, many of those who enlisted as privates and served 
as non-commissioned officers were, by reason of efficiency, or as the result 
of gallantry in action, promoted to higher and more responsible stations. Of 
her soldiers, both privates and commissioned officers, Putnam county is justly 
proud, for on every occasion their conduct was creditable and praiseworthy. 
It is no disparagement to the many brave and worthy soldiers who entered the 
service fn^ni the county to assert that John R. Mahan, who was colonel of two 
regiments and on more than one occasion a brigade commander, was, in all 
probability, the most prominent and successful military officer the countv sent 
out. Colonel ]\[ahan was not only a brave and competent officer but a man 
of profound judgment, acknowledged strength and great resourcefulness. 
Being a natural leader, with a genius for organization, he was, in conse- 
quence, deeply influential with Governor Morton, who relied upon his valor, 
discretion and ability in more than one emergency. William L. Farrow and 
Abisha L. Morrison, both of whom were colonels, had had more or less mili- 



2o8 weik's history of 

tary experience during their service in the Mexican war. Courtland C. Mat- 
son, whose first mihtary lesson was learned as a private in the Asbury Guards, 
enlisted in the United States service at a very early age, rose steadily from 
promotion to promotion until, at the close of the war, he was in command of 
and served with credit as colonel of his regiment. Probably no man from the 
countv who rose no higher than a company officer, achieved greater distinction 
than William H. Sherfey, who was a lieutenant in Company D, Ninety-seventh 
Regiment. Soon after his enlistment he was transferred to the signal corps. 
He rendered brilliant service during the Atlanta campaign, and was held in 
high esteem bv General Sherman. He was with the late General McPherson 
a good deal during the engagements around Atlanta and was one of the few 
w'itnesses of that gallant officer's untimely death. 

At the close of the war a number of volunteer officers were appointed to 
places in the regular army of the United States. Among them were James 
H. Sands, William F. Spurgin and Jesse M. Lee. Sands was retired many 
years ago by reason of ill health, with the grade of captain, and is now living 
in Tolono, Illinois. Spurgin remained in the service— being for many years 
the commissarv at the West Point Military Academy— until shortly after the 
close of the Spanish war, when he was put upon the retired list with the grade 
of brigadier-general. He died in Kentucky a few years ago. Jesse M. Lee, 
who was for many years lieutenant and captain in the Ninth United States 
Infantry, spent a great many years, after the war, among the Indians in the 
west. He served acceptably in Cuba during the Spanish war and, later, with 
the lamented General Lawton in the Philippines. He was with our troops in 
China during the Boxer rebellion. After the death, in line of duty, of Col- 
onel Li.scomb. outside the walls of Pekin the cummand of the regiment fell 
upon Lee and he remained at its head until the end of that campaign. He 
bears the rare distinction of having fought with the United States troops in 
four ditTerent countries and in three dilterent wars. He was placed upon 
the retired list in January, 1907, with the rank of major-general. He is still 
living and spends a great portion of his time in Greencastle. 

Of course, there were numerous instances of gallant deeds and military 
success on the part Dt the (ifhcers and soldiers from Putnam county, but to 
sincrle them out or otherwise go into details would absorb much space in this 
volume intended for other things. In ever}' way these two thousand officers 
and men the countv had furnished reflected great credit on their county, their 
state and the nation. Their ])rilliant deeds are deeply graven on the hearts 
of the people and as long as the grasses grow and the waters run to the sea 
thev will not be forgotten. 



PUTXAM COCNTV, I.NDIAXA. ^OQ 



RELIEF MEASURES. 



Before the close of summer in 1861 people began to feel the stringency 
due to the war. Business was prostrated and values greatly depressed. The 
withdrawal of the many men from their usual avocations to go into the army 
left their families, in many cases, inadequately provided for and it therefore 
became the duty of the patriotic public at home to lend a helping hand. To 
that end. therefore, a meeting was held at the court house in Greencastle on 
Julv 25th. of which B. F. Hays was chairman and J. A. Hill secretary, to de- 
vise some practical anil tangible plan to alleviate the prevailing distress. 
James A. Scott was the principal speaker and he bore heavily on the landlords 
of the town and county, insisting that a reduction in rent.s — especially where 
soldiers' families were interested — be made. Appropriate resolutions on the 
subject were adopted and a committee appointed to confer with the landlords 
and endeavor to induce them to lower rents. The committee consisted of B. 
F. Hays. James H. Sands and Joseph L. Fordyce. A week later the commit- 
tee reported that they had visited .\. M. Lockridge. J. R. M. Allen. Doctor 
Cowgill. D. M. Spurgin. George Kramer, Mrs. Ellen Matkins and John S. 
Jennings, who had agreed in writing to make material reductions in their rents, 
while certain others had promised to do likewise, but would not make the 
promise in writing. In due time a regular organization was effected, gov- 
erned by a committee of five, called the Board of Control, to provide for the 
wants of the soldiers' families. Depots were established to which supplies 
were to be sent for distribution and agents were selected in all the townships. 
The Board of Control in Greencastle consisted of E. R. Kercheval. Jacob Dur- 
ham. W. D. Allen. Melvin McKee and D. L. Southard. The township repre- 
sentatives were : Jackson township. John Gregory ; Franklin township. Wasson 
and Ram.sey. Russell township. W. H. Durham: Clinton township. Doctor 
John Slavens: !Monroe township. Wm. T. Scott: Floyd township. Joseph 
Hanna: ]\Iarion township. Wm. D. Smythe : Greencastle township. Ben 
Pritchard; Washington township. Volney Smith: Warren township. William 
L. Walden : Jefferson township, Thomas Vermillion ; Mill Creek township. 
David A. Blue : Cloverdale township. Foster and McCoy. 

But the men of the community were not the only persons who were 
bestirring them.selves in behalf of the Union. The women were equally pa- 
triotic and zealous. In Greencastle they organized what was called the 
Sold'iers' .\id Society. Mrs. T. W. Williamson was president. Mrs. John 
Standi ford, vice-president. Mrs. Joseph Sadd. secretary, and Mrs. John A. 

(14) 



2IO WEIKS HISTORY OF 

Matson, treasurer. Their membership exceeded one hundred. They met 
once a week at the homes of the various members and were busily engaged in 
making gloves, socks, underclothing and other items for the comfort and 
convenience of the soldiers in the field. Not only in Greencastle, but in Bain- 
bridge. Russellville, Putnamville, Cloverdale and other towns in the county 
came a response equally generous and unselfish. People suspended their vari- 
ous avocations, closed their ears to the demands of business and willingly 
suffered themselves to be engulfed by the great tide of patriotism that swept 
across the countn--. There was nothing too arduous, nothing too exacting 
that thev could do to sustain the government in its conduct of the war. The 
knowledge that there were heroes and patriots back at their homes doing all 
in their power to promote the cause for which they were offering up their lives 
was the stimulus that incited the boys in the field and on the firing line to 
those deeds of daring sacrifice and heroic devotion which so richly emblazon 
the pages of history. 

"Some eight hundred or a thousand soldiers," says the Banner, July i6, 
1863, "came from the north on the New Albany railroad on Saturday last. 
They arrived at the depot at this place about half past three o'clock P. M., 
where they were supplied with bounteous refreshments in the way of eatables 
hastily prepared on short notice by our citizens. Most of them were well 
armed and were sturdy, robust-looking men. A large portion of them were 
in charge of Colonel Kise, of Boone county, and many of them appeared to 
be regular soldiers who had smelt powder before." 

Later in the year the Banner gives great space to "A grand rally of the 
loyal people of Putnam county, including a military review, to be held on 
October 2nd." It was announced that Gen. Lew Wallace. Gen. Ebenezer 
Diimont, Hon. Godlove S. Orth and Hon. T. J. Cason would address the 
meeting. The various companies of the Loyal Legion — artillery, infantry 
and cavalry — were to be reviewed at three o'clock in the afternoon by Gen- 
erals Wallace and Dumont. "The review," says the Banner, "was held in the 
large lot immediately east of the College campus (where East College— De- 
Pauw University — now stands). The companies present were the Putnam' 
Blues, Captain Morrison ; Allen's Battery, Captain Allen : Captain Wampler's 
companv from Bainbridge : Captain Hawkins" company from Carpentersville : 
Captain Wilkinson's company from Groveland. and a company of cavalry 
commanded by Captain Allee, of Jefiferson township. Captain ^Morrison. 
being the senior captain, took command of the battalion and went through 
the exercise of mounting guards, battalion drill and dress parade. The troops 
were encamped at the fair grounds, southeast of town. During the night Dr. 



PUTNAM COUXTY, INDIANA. 211 

Josiah H. Robinson entertained the boys with a two-hour speech on the state 
of the country. At noon, Friday, they struck tents and marched to the parade 
ground east of the college campus to be reviewed. The review was witnessed 
by thousands of spectators, who manifested a deep interest in the proceedings. 
The military bearing of both officers and men and the precision with which 
every movement was executed was worthy of veterans. These companies 
have been organized, uniforaied and armed since Morgan's raid into Indiana. 
Yet. notwithstanding the few weeks that they have been receiving military 
instruction, they have attained a proficiency that would render them equal 
to any emergency that might arise. Our worthy Governor may rest satisfied 
that old Putnam will be on hand if called for." 

OPPOSITION TO THE WAR. 

But, although our soldiers were doing their duty at the front and al- 
though the great majority of people at home were unremitting and incessant 
in their endeavors to provide for the loved ones the soldiers had left behind, 
there was, nevertheless, an element in our citizenship who not only manifested 
no approval of the victories and successes gained by our soldiers in the field, 
but secretly and insidiously sought in every way to hinder and counteract 
the good accomplished by the Union arms. There are reasons why the storv 
of this opposition to the war at home might be omitted, but, unpleasant though 
the revelation may be. there is no alternative on the part of the faithful and 
zealous historian but to give all facts. 

In its issue of June i8, 1863, the following appeared in the Greencastle 
Banner: "On Sunday last an armed force of from forty to fiftv persons in 
disguise called at the house of James Sill, the enrolling commissioner of 
Marion township, and demanded the enrolling book. Mr. Sill finally gave 
them what appeared to be the list he had just taken, but which were, as a 
fact, the enrollment lists of 1862, copies of which he had kept. A young man 
named Lawson Fry, while leaving the house, was fired at by one of the party 
and seriously wounded in the shoulder, disabling him for life. General 
^lansfield visited Fillmore and the immediate neighborhood on Tuesday, for 
the purpose of inquiring into these violations as well as to consult with the 
leading citizens of all parties in reference to this outrage upon the law of the 
land." In the same issue of the Banner occurs the following: "The house 
of Mr. Scott, who is also an enrolling commissioner in Jefi^erson township, 
was visited by about fifty persons with faces blackened about the same time 
of the night and his enrollment papers were demanded. Finding resistance 



212 WEIK S HISTORY OF 

against so large a force useless, Mr. Scott gave up the papers to the cowardly 
mob, which were doubtlessly destroyed. In Madison township, Joseph Sid- 
dons, the enrolling commissioner, has been threatened by four men. who 
represented themselves as a committee, that if he continued the enrollment, 
he would find himself a dead man before he got through. In Cloverdale 
township the book of the enrolling officer, Mr. Davis, was destroyed. H. T. 
Craig, the enrolling officer in Monroe township, received the following written 
notice : 'We, the undersigned, will give you our advice. You. for your own 
good, and if you don't lay aside the enrolling, your life will be taken before 
tomorrow night and you had better take our advice as friends. We don't 
expect to interrupt you, but we ha\e heard men threaten venegance against 
you, that sav you had better stay at home and you had better take our advice 
and stav at home. From your friends.' Mr. Craig commenced enrolling, 
this morning regardless of the above advice, but several refused to give their 
names. This evening a committee, the foreman of which was our county 
surveyor, waited upon Mr. Craig and requested that he should cease enrolling 
at the peril of his life." In its editorial column, the Banner thus deals with 
a political speaker who had shortly before spoken in Greencastle and whose 
opposition to the further prosecution of the war both as a citizen and as an 
oiScial was notorious and unconcealed: "The only effect of all the speeches 
he has made here and elsewhere has been to create opposition to the govern- 
ment in its effort to put down the rebellion. As a consequence, we have or- 
ganized bands of the Knights of the Golden Circle, whose avowed object 
is resistance to the law of Congress enrolling the militia preparatory to a 
draft. Men. in discharge of a sworn duty, are threatened with death if they 
do not desist and some have actually been intimated by threats and ceased 
their work of enrollment for the time. The work will go on. however. The 
conscription will also be carried out and those who are endeavoring to obstruct 
its operations will be arrested and properly punished." 

As the war progressed and drafts were ordered to keep the ranks sup- 
plied with troops, the opposition to the prosecution of the war began to show 
their hands. The Knights of the Golden Circle were well represented in 
rvfonroe, Madison, Clinton and certain other townships, where they met in 
the woods at night, were well supplied with amis and drilled in preparation 
for the great uprising in the North which was expected, but which, fortu- 
natelv. never came a])out. In the summer of 1864 these enemies of the Union 
had grown bold and daring to the point of recklessness. At a political meet- 
ing held in Greencastle on the 20th of July, addressed by Joseph E. McDonald, 
the Democratic candidate for governor, occurred the noted and cowardly 



PUTNAM COUNTY, INDIANA. 213 

assault by the Knights of the Golden Circle mob upon Lieutenant Cooper of 
the Forty-third Regiment and that officer's dramatic rescue by Aliss Lou 
Walls, at the door of the Putnam House, into which Lieutenant Cooper had 
run for safety, and alluding to which the Banner in its issue of July 28th 
says : "'A handsome dress was, last week, presented to JMiss Lou Walls by 
the L'nion boys of this place as a testimonial of their respect for the bravery 
she displayed in defending her mother's house from the attacks of the 'Butter- 
nut' mob on the 20th," and again, in August, 1864. the following: ''A report 
having been circulated that certain interested parties had paid Mrs. Nancy 
Walls, owner of the Putnam House, seventy or eighty dollars for damages 
to her house, that lady in a card denies that any such sum had been offered her 
in compensation for the gross indignity and wanton and unprovoked outrage 
perpetrated upon her house as well as her family by the "Butternut' mob on 
July 20th. 

"The fact is. the damage done Mrs. Walls and the insult offered herself 
and family are irreparable; and the means resorted to by certain party leaders 
for the purpose of preventing the good men of their own party from becoming 
disgusted with the men and measures that sustain themselves by shameless 
breaches of the peace and by assaults upon widows' houses for no other offense 
than gi\'ing shelter to a defenseless Union soldier who was pursued bv an 
infuriated mob, are not at all commendable, to say the least of it." 

But the opposition to the war in Putnam county, as well as in other parts 
of the state, had now reached high-tide, for, shortly after, when the fall 
elections began to indicate an overwhelming and triumphant vindication of 
Mr. Lincoln's administration by the people, the Knights of the Golden Circle 
and all other such malevolent and nefarious movements began to recede and 
finally disappeared altogether beneath the wave of patriotic exultation that 
swept across the country. 

RELIEF ST.\TISTIC.S. 

The histoiy of Putnam county during the war and the means it con- 
tributed to carry on that struggle is more or less surprising to people who have 
never before reflected upon the magnitude of the figures. The adjutant- 
general of the state, in his report published soon after the close of the war, 
credits Putnam county with a total of three thousand two hundred and fifty- 
seven enlistments. From this should be deducted re-enlistments of soldiers 
who at first volunteered for a short period and two hundred and ten 
Neteran> who had served the full period of three years and had also re- 



214 WEIKS HISTORY OF 

enlisted. The exact figures are unavailable, but it is altogether likely that the 
net total was very largely in excess of two thousand. From the same report 
we learn the figures somewhat in detail. The county itself appropriated 
$10,000 towards the payments of bounties for soldiers and $1,025 for the 
relief of soldiers' families. Jackson township paid $54,265 for bounties; 
Franklin. $27,960 for bounties ; Russellville township, $38,000 for bounties 
and $6,000 for relief; Clinton, $24,800 for bounties; Monroe, $22,700 for 
bounties and $361 for relief; Floyd, $28,950 for bounties and $1,008 for 
relief; Marion, $40,500 for bounties; Greencastle, $24,302 for bounties and 
$4,350 for relief; Madison, $23,731 for bounties and $82 for relief; Wash- 
ington, $57,381 for bounties; Warren, $31,200 for bounties and $3,000 for 
relief; Jefferson, $21,500 for bounties and $132.65 for relief; Cloverdale, 
$25,000 for bounties, and Mill Creek, $20,818 for bounties. The adjutant- 
general also adds an additional credit of $15,000 to all the townships for 
relief, thus making a total of $441,107 for bounties and $28,260.65 ^O"" relief, 
or a grand total of $469,367.65. 

soldiers' monument. 

The war had no sooner closed than the loyal people of Putnam county 
began to cast about for some means by which they could testify their regard 
for and perpetuate the memory of the brave men from this county who had 
gone to the front and given up their lives in defense of the Union. After 
several informal preliminary meetings were held, an organization under the 
name of "The Putnam County Soldiers Monument Association," was effected 
for the purpose of erecting a monument in the memon,' of the loyal dead. 
Col. John R. Mahan was chosen president, William D. Allen, treasurer, and 
David W. Jones, secretar^^ After a brief and vigorous canvass throughout 
the count}', the requisite amount of funds was raised by popular subscription. 
Thomas D. Jones, a sculptor of Cincinnati, was engaged and in due time 
the structure was built. 

"The design of the monument." says another. " is artistic and beautiful. 
Above the foundation the pedestal rises to the height of eight feet, a portion 
of which is handsomely paneled, upon which the names of the deceased 
soldiers are inscribed. Surmounting the pedestal or main body of the monu- 
ment in a statue of heroic size representing a soldier and regarded by many 
as the most faithful and successful portrayal of the volunteer soldier thus far 
acliieved in the countrv." 



PUTNAM COUXTY, IXDIAXA. 215 

This impressive work of art stands on the crest of the "crowning emi- 
nence" in Forest Hill cemetery, south of the city of Greencastle. and commands 
one of the finest views in the county. It was dedicated July 2, 1870, the 
address on that occasion having been delivered by the late Richard W. Thomp- 
son, of Terre Haute. Further speeches were delivered by Governor Conrad 
Baker and Delano E. Williamson, of Greencastle. at that time attorney-gen- 
eral of Indiana. Several tiiousand people were present, including delegations 
from Indianapdlis. Terre Haute and other adjacent places. 

spA^'ISII-A^rERICA^' war. 

When the war with Spain broke out Putnam county, with her usual 
promptitude, responded with a company of volunteers. When enlisted at 
Indianapolis, on April 26. 1898. they were assigned to the One Hundred" 
Fifty-ninth Regiment Indiana \'olunteers and known as Company I. Two of 
those who thus earlv offered their services. Dr. Eugene Hawkins and James 
F. Fee. were appointed to positions on the regimental staff, the one major, the 
other assistant surgeon. The company ofificers were : Wilbur F. Starr, cap- 
tain; Charles F. Donnohue. first lieutenant: Benton Curtis, second lieutenant; 
James O. Rhea, first sergeant; Harn.- D. Graham, quartermaster; William 
Conklin. sergeant; Joel H. Richardson. Luther Sackett. Fred Smith. Frank L. 
Bridges, corporals; Fred C. Gobin. lance corporal; Fred Starr, musician; 
Fred Smythe, artificer: Lewis Alkine. cook; Fred A. Payton. wagoner. Pri- 
vates : Earl Lane. Harry Landes. Harr\' G. Kennett. Earl Fisk, Samuel 
Stewart. Ralph Cooper, Edward Lawson. James ?iIoss. Edgar E. E\-ens, Wil- 
liam Reed. Alonton Springer. Lawrence Allen. John A. Bartl, Edwin Black. 
Francis Blakely. William S. Blue. ]\lillard M. Bowen, Edward Brockway, 
Oscar E. Brown, George A. Brackney. Thomas S. Beachbard, Roy Bennett, 
Charles Conklin, Harry Conklin, George P. Corn, Oscar Cosner. John Curetor, 
Daniel Donnohue, Albert Dunn, Henry C. Dale. Clarence F. Davison, Irvin 
E\ens. Walker E. Evens. Hansell Farmer, Roy Fowler. Scott Galey, Orestes 
(iarrett. \\'illiam Gifford. Oscar Gill. Charles Green. William I. Grooms, 
Herscliel Hall. Allen Harleman. Harry Hawkins. Richard Hazelett. Lilben 
Hepler. George Hibhitt. James Hill. Edward Flillis, Samuel E. Hathaway, 
James W. Hensley. John W. Hitt. Flenry Irvin. John Irwin. \^'. H. Iry, 
Everett Jones, William Jones. Edward Lane. Philip Lane. Ralph Lnmston. 
Ernest Middleton. Harry E. ]\Ionce. William !\IcCoy. James McCorkey. W. A. 
McFadden. Owen L. Xelson. James E. Xewgent, Arthur AI. Xewton. William 
Xewton, Lee Paxton, Allen Payne. Joseph Pearson, .\lbert G. Preston. Charles 



2i6 weik's history of 

W. Reeves. Edward Russell. Homer E. Reeves. Shirley Reeves, William Reed. 
Joel H. Reynolds. William Roberts. Charles H. Sanders. John G. Sourwine, 
John L. South. Lee T. Schaffer. Clay Sellers. William Shoemaker, Will R. 
Steel. Paul J. Tucker. True Thomas. Charles Wills, Artie F. Williams. Frank 
Wilson. William Bates Tucker. Thomas Tuttle, Arthur J. Yeamans. 

GRAVES OF REVOLUTIOX.XRY SOLDIERS. 

Recently the Daughters of the American Revolution in Greencastle have 
undertaken to locate the graves of all the Revolutionary soldiers who have 
died and are buried in the county. \\'hen the list of names and full military 
history of these early patriots is complete the same will be inscribed in a 
bronze tablet which is to be erected in the rotunda of the court house. Thus 
far the following names and data have been secured : 

Isnac Amistrong. belonged to Virginia militia: was in battles of Hot 
\Vater and Jamestown; born July. 1762. Augusta. Virginia: applied for pen- 
sion in Putnam county in 1837. 

\\'illiam Banks, sergeant, in Capt. James Pamplain's companv. Colonel 
Richardson's regiment Virginia militia; bom Culpeper county, Virginia, July 
23, 1762: died in Putnam county. Indiana. September 5. 1839. 

Jonathan Byrd. 

John Bartee. 

John Buck, private, sergeant and lieutenant. Captain ^NlcConnell's com- 
pany. Colonel Laughrey's regiment Pennsylvania volunteers : taken prisoner 
by the Indians and retained four months : engaged in two battles in New- 
York: born in Hanover. Europe. 1752: applied for pension in Putnam county, 
April 24. 1834. 

Charles Bowen. ser\ed more than two }-ears in Xorth Carolina and Vir- 
ginia regiments: was in battle of King's Mountain: enlisted at Crab Orchard, 
Virginia: born on James river. September. 1749 : was living in Putnam countv, 
Indiana, in 1834. 

William Brown. 

William Cornwall. 

Nathaniel Cunningham. September. 1776. prixate Capt. Robert Ballard's 
company. Col. Patrick Henry's regiment Virginia volunteers; 1778. trans- 
ferred to General \\'ashington's Life Guard: in battles of Trenton. Princeton. 
Brandywine. ]\Iouniouth and Gates' defeat: applied for pension Randol])h 
count}'. Xiirth Carolina. Ma}' 6. iSr8. aged sixty-four years: died in Putnai'n 
countv, Indiana, August I'x i8;2. 



PUTNAM COIXTY. INDIAXA. -1/ 

Samuel Dennv, born August jS. 1755. Chester county, Pennsylvania; 
served fourteen months between 1778-81 in Col. John Smith's regiment Vir- 
ginia volunteers; was in battles of Brandywine and Gemiantown; enlisted at 
Frederick county. X'irginia; applied for pension in Putnam county. Indiana. 
April 23. 1835. 

Jacob Grider. 

Silas Hopkins. 

Laban Hall, served about two years, between 1775 and 1778, in New 
Hampshire regiment under Colonels Hale and Chase; was at Ticonderoga ; ap- 
plied for pension April 7. i8r8. at Chelsea. Orange county. Vermont; sixty- 
three vears old; died in Putnam county, Indiana, September 9, 1842. 

George Hammer. April, 1 781. to February. 1782, private Capt. Michael 
Trautman's company. Col. John Gregor's regiment. Maryland mihtia; born 
near Philadelphia. May 4. 1763; applied for pension in Putnam county, In- 
diana. October 5, 1832. 

Thomas Jones, enlisted in fall of 1775 for three years in Captain Fon- 
taine's company. Colonel Stevens' regiment \'irginia militia; in battles of 
Brandywine and Germantown; applied for pension in Mercer county. Ken- 
tuckv. July 7. 1818; resided in Putnam county. Indiana. 1832. 

Joseph LaFollette. Sr. 

John McHaffie. 

William McGahey. enlisted Carlisle. Pennsylvania, for two years in a 
Pennsylvania regiment; applied for pension Bath county. Kentucky, June 17. 
1818; fifty-five years old; moved to Putnam county. Indiana. 1826. 

Andrew McPheeters. bom March 22, 1761. Chester county. Pennsyl- 
vania; served three years in Pennsylvania and North Carolina regiments, hav- 
ing enlisted at Chester county. Pennsylvania, and Guilford. North Carolina; 
applied for pension August 22, 1832. Granger county, Tennessee; lived in 
Putnam county. Indiana, in 1834. 

Benjamin Mahomey. bom Fauquier county. Virginia; March. 1779. 
to October. 1780. in Colonel Buford's Third \'irginia regiment; applied for 
pension. Oldham county. Kentucky. November 17, 1826; sixty-eight years 
old; died December 2;. 1854. Putnam county, Indiana. 

Samuel Moore, born Staunton. Augusta county, Virginia. July 14. 1761 ; 
Februarv to September. 1781. private in Alaj. Andrew Hamilton's regiment 
A'irginia militia; applied for pension Putnam county. Indiana. October 25, 
1S32. 

Tohn Norman, horn 1743, Sussex county. Delaware; enlisted at Johnson. 
Sussex countv, Delaware: Captain Vaughn's company. Delaware volunteers; 



2i8 weik's history of 

in skirmisli Bayshore, Delaware; applied for pension Clinton township. Put- 
nam county, Indiana, May 6, 1833. 

Thomas Rhoten, November, 1776, to January, 1781; enlisted at North- 
umberland county, Pennsylvania, in Captain Harris' company. Colonel 
Cook's regiment Pennsylvania volunteers; in battles Brandywine. German- 
town and Stony Point; applied for pension Brown county, Ohio, December 

21, 1819; lived in Putnam county, Indiana, 1835. 

Isaiah Slavens, born Augusta county, Virginia, June 14, 1762: enlisted 
for one year, 1780. in Virginia regiment; in battles Hot Water and James- 
town; applied for pension April 26, 1833, Putnam county, Indiana. 

Abraham Stobaugh. 

Peter Stoner; 1780 and 1781, in North Carolina and South Carolina 
regiments; in battle Eutaw Springs; wounded in back and hip, Monks Corner; 
applied for pension Orange county, North Carolina, September 7, 1832; died 
in Putnam county, Indiana, April 6, 185 1. 

Thomas Tucker, born Fairfax county. North Carolina, February 11, 
1757; enlisted Washington county, North Carolina, 1779. for two years in 
North Carolina regiment; April 25, 1832, applied for pension in Putnam 
county. Indiana. 

John Walden, born March 6, 1756, Middlesex county, Virginia; served 
from 1777 to end of war, 1783. in Col. William Dent, Abraham Buford and 
Henry Lee regiments, Virginia volunteers; in battles Monmouth, Stony 
Point, and present at evacuation of Charleston; applied for pension Henry 
county, Kentucky, April 5, 1821 ; died Putnam county. Indiana, December 

22, 1835. 

Robert Whitehead; enlisted Holston River, western North Carolina, 
served from October, 1779. to October, 1782; private. Captain Bailey, Colonel 
John [Montgomery, Gen. George Rogers Clark, Illinois regiment, Virginia 
line: applied for pension Putnam county, Indiana. April 22. 1833; seventy- 
one vears old; died Putnam county. Indiana. Februan.- 20. 1852. 

John Walls, born York county, Pennsylvania, April 4. 1762: drummer 
1776. one vear Capt. J. Wright's company, H. Miller's regiment. Pennsyl- 
vania volunteers; 1780, six months, drummer, Capt. William Wales' company, 
same regiment ; applied for pension Putnam county. Indiana, October 26, 
1832. 

AN INTERESTING PAPER. 

Several years ago the late William Henry Ragan. who had made some 
inquii-v into the history of certain Revolutionary- soldiers who ha])pened to 



PUTNAM COUNTY, INDIANA. -^9 

settle in that part of the county in which he himself had spent the earlier 
years of his life, prepared and read before the Putnam County Historical So- 
ciety a paper on the subject, which is so full of interesting reminiscences and 
data the liberty is taken to insert a portion of it here. 

"There is a small section of country lying immediately north and west 
of the village of Fillmore." related Mr. Ragan. "in which five survivors of 
the Revolutionary war spent their last days on earth and in which their sacred 
ashes still remain. Three of the five the writer very distinctly remembers, 
the others dying but a short time before his recollection. I doubt if there is 
an area so small within the limits of the county, or even of the state, where 
so many of the patriots of our war for independence spent their last days. 
Why this should have been is, perhaps, a mere coincidence as I know of no 
community of interests that could have thus brought them together. Indeed, 
they may have been, for aught I know, entire strangers to each other. Cer- 
tainly there were no close ties of consanguinity existing among them. Hence 
I conjecture that their settlement in such close proximity was merely a coin- 
cidence and not by design or purpose on their part. 

"The area in which these patriots resided embraced a small portion of 
the adjacent town.ships of Floyd and :\rarion. Three of them resided in the 
former and two in the last named township. At least three of the five came 
to this county with their families— the others perhaps with children or friends. 
Their deaths occurred in the order in which they are named. 

"Abraham Stobaugh came from Montgomery county, Virginia, in com- 
pany with his son, the late Jacob Stobaugh. and settled in the southern por- 
tion of Floyd township. He was the grandfather of Mrs. A. M. Robinson, 
of Fillmore, and of the late Mrs. Owen, the wife of our fellow townsman and 
ex-countv recorder, George Owen. From Mrs. Robinson I learn that this 
worthy patriot died in September, 1836, and that he was buried with the 
honors of war. A militia company from Greencastle, commanded by the late 
Col. Lewis H. Sands, fired the salute at the grave. He was buried in a private 
cemeterv on the old Gorham farm, in Marion township. There is today no 
trace of his grave remaining, none at least that would identify it among those 
of numerous friends and relatives. Mr. Stobaugh left quite a large number 
of descendants, some of whom still remain in the neighborhood of his former 
home. 

"Silas Hopkins, if tradition may be credited, was a native of the city 
of Baltimore, and a supposed relative of the late millionaire merchant and 
philanthropist. Johns Hopkins, whose name will go down to posterity in con- 
nection with the srreat universitv his beneficence endowed. Silas Hopkms 



220 WEIK S HISTORY OF 

was the father of the somewhat noted John Deroysha Hopkins, whose eccen- 
tric characteristics will be well remembered by many who are present. He 
was also the father of the late Mrs. Thomas Gorham, with whom he made 
his home. Patriot Hopkins was in some particulars not unlike his eccentric 
son. His death occurred near the close of the fourth decade of this century. 
How long or when and at what period of the revolutionary struggle and in 
what Ijranch of the service, or under what command these patriots served, is 
perhaps unknown to living mortals ; but that they were revolutionary soldiers 
there is not a shadow of doubt. Jacob Stobaugh. son of Abraham, was a vet- 
eran of the war of 1812. and some of the descendants of Silas Hopkins laid 
down their lives to preserve that government to the establishment of which he 
gave his best years. Even his eccentric son, John D.. was for a time a Union 
soldier in the war of the Rebellion. Although at the time he was beyond the 
age of military service, he enlisted in Company C, Seventieth Indiana Regi- 
ment, and served part of the second year of the war as a member of that regi- 
ment, which was commanded by the only living ex-President of the United 
States. At least four grandsons also served in the Union army, two of whom, 
Silas and Thomas Gorham, laid down their lives in their country's service, and 
now rest side by side in the village cemetery at Fillmore. There is something 
sadly pathetic in the story of the death of these patriotic grandsons of Silas 
Hopkins. They had survi\-ed the mishaps of the war from 1861 to 1865, when 
one of the brothers began to decline in health. The war was over, and they 
were reallv no longer needed at the front. So the sick brother was given a fur- 
lough to his home, and for company the well one was sent with him. On the 
Vandalia train while halting at the Greencastle station, and within six miles of 
home and friends, the invalid brother quietly breathed his last. The survivor 
tenderlv supported the lifeless form of his brother in his arms until the train 
reached Fillmore, where kind and loving friends performed the last sad rites. 
But one month elapsed until the remaining brother was gently laid by his side 
''in the shadow of the stone." In those early days almost every farm had its 
private burial place, in which members of the family were interred. The 
Gorham farm was not an exception to this general rule. On the north end 
of this farm, known to the older residents as the Judge Smith, or Gorham 
farm, and now owned by Albert O. Lockridge of this city, and the first land 
in the township conveyed by the go\'ernment to a private individual, is one 
of the.^e neglected burial places. The location is obscure, and but for a few 
rough stones, one of which l^ears the inscription "W. B.". there is naught to 
indicate that it is a pioneer cemetery in which many of the early settlers sleep 



PUTXAM COUNTY, INDIANA. 221 

their long sleep. Here rest the mortal remains of Abraham Stobaugh and 
Silas Hopkins of Revolutionary memor\-. But a few fleeting years will elapse 
until this graveyard will be entirely unknown and forgotten, and posterity 
will then have naught but tradition as a guide to this sacred spot where lie two 
of the founders of our republic. 

"Samuel Denny resided in the southern part of Floyd township, on what 
is now known as the Gravel Pit farm, which is owned by the Big Four rail- 
way. His home was with an adopted daughter, Mrs. Isaac Yeates, he having 
had no children of his own. ]\Ir. Denny first settled in Warren township, 
where his wife died and was buried. He was the great uncle of our fellow- 
townsman, James T. Denny, Esq. Patriot Denny had long predicted that 
his death would occur on the Fourth of July, which prediction was verified by 
the fact. In the early summer of 1843, his rapid decline was noted, and on 
the nation's si.xty-seventh birthday, his gentle spirit took leave of earth. I 
well remember Mr. Denny, and have him pictured in my mind as a most 
venerable personage. Indeed, he was highly respected and honored by all 
w ho knew him. I have already referred to the fact that he raised no children 
of his own. It is. however, a well verified tradition that he raised thirteen 
orphan children by adoption, thus showing the great benevolence of his char- 
acter. He was buried in Warren township at what is known as Deer Creek 
Baptist cemeteiy bv the side of his deceased wife, and I have no doubt with 
the honors of war so well befitting the day and the occasion. 

"John Bartee's home was on a fraction of the same farm on which 
Patriot Denny died, and to which he had in some way acquired a fee simple 
title. There were ten acres of the little homestead upon which he resided. 
He lived in a humble log cabin, with but one room. Here, in company with 
his feeble-minded seciond wife and still more imbecile daughter, he spent his 
last days in extreme poverty. The family ^xere objects of charity. Through 
the exertions of the late .Xnderson B. ^latthews. himself a member of the 
boarrl of count^• commissioners, that body made a small appropriation, I am 
not alile to sa\- hov.- much, in support of this superannuated veteran : but with 
all this, only a small share of the good things of earth fell to the lot of our 
worthy patriot in his declining years. At the age of sixteen he participated in 
the siege of Yorktown and the capture of Lord Cornwallis. His death 
occurred in February of 1848, and he was buried in the little graveyard on 
the Yeates farm., near by his former home. 

"Benjamin Mahorney. the fifth and last survivor, and perhaps among 
the x-eiy last of his race, died in the summer of 1854, more than se\-ent\- vears 



222 VVEIK S HISTORY OF 

after the close of the great struggle in which he was an active participant. 
His residence was in the northern portion of Marion township, and immedi- 
ately on the line of the Big Four railway, one mile east of the little station 
of Darwin. He lived with his son, Owen Mahorney, who made him comfort- 
able in his last days. He was a most venerable personage, known to the people 
of the neighborhood as one worthy of veneration and respect. His hair was 
as white as the driven snow. He was a Virginian and enlisted from Fauquier 
county, in that state, in the spring of 1779, for a term of eighteen months. 
He served under Captain Walls, in Colonel Buford's regiment of Virginia 
militia. His regiment met the British cavalry under the celebrated Colonel 
Tarleton, at Waxhaw, North Carolina, and were repulsed with great loss 
in killed, wounded and prisoners. Patriot Mahorney was one of the few who 
escaped injury or capture. His term of enlistment closed on October 25, 
1780, nearly seventy- four years prior to his death in this county. From rec- 
ords of our county clerk's office, I learn that he made application for a pen- 
sion at the April term of court in 1833, and that he was at that time seventy- 
three years of age. From this record I also learn the above facts concerning 
his enlistment and service in the patriot cause. At the time of his death 
there was in the neighborhood a military company with headquarters at the 
village of Fillmore and commanded by James H. Summers, a Mexican war 
veteran and afterwards colonel of an Iowa regiment in the war of the Rebellion. 
Captain Summers called together his company, and fired a salute over the open 
grave of the last survivor of Revolutionary memory in the neighborhood. The 
interment was at what is known as the Smythe graveyard, just south of the 
Vandalia railwav, and one mile east of Fillmore. It is probable that the grave 
of Mr. Mahorney might still be identified. An incident occurred after the burial 
of Patriot Mahorney, when Captain Summers, with his company, returned to 
Fillmore to store their guns in the company's armory, A member of the 
company, Noah Alley, also a Mexican veteran, and afterwards killed at 
Cedar Mountain, Virginia, as a member of the Twenty-seventh Indiana Regi- 
ment, through an awkward mishap thrust the fixed bayonet of his musket 
through his leg just above the ankle, making a serious and painful wound. 
The village boys, out of juvenile curiosity, had gathered about the military 
company, and were many of them witnesses to this painful accident. The 
writer well remembers the impression it made on his youthful mind, and 
this incident will go down in his memory associated with the death and burial 
of the last survivor of the Revolutionary struggle in that part of Putnam 
county, if not in the state. Of these five Revolutionary patriots, two only. 



PUTNAM COUNTYj INDIANA. 223 

Hopkins and Stobaugh, have living descendants in our midst. Denny, it 
will be remembered, had no children of his own. Bartee's wife and daugh- 
ter are long since dead, and the younger Mahorney, after his father's death, 
together with his family removed to Fountain county, where they have been 
lost sight of in the busy throng that now throbs and pulsates through our 
land." 



CHAPTER XIII. 



NOTED MURDER TRIALS. 



The first murder in Putnam county was followed almost immediately 
by the first suicide. It occurred in what is now Cloverdale township in 1824, 
and is thus described by Capt. H. B. Martin, of that place : "Among those who 
settled in this vicinity at that time were Thomas James, James Robinson. Am- 
brose Bandy, John Macy and Andrew Kilgore. The first named of these was 
the victim, the second the perpetrator of the murder and suicide. James 
was living with his wife and three children in a small cabin situated near 
what is known as the 'Granny Nelson Spring.' He had entered a quarter 
section of land lying west of his temporary home and embracing the ground 
now occupied by the Cloverdale cemetery. The land was then covered with 
huge and towering walnut, poplar, sugar and ash trees and was considered 
one of the best locations in the surrounding country. Robinson had settled 
and built him a cabin on a choice piece of land one-half mile south of James, 
and was living there with his wife and children. In that early day every 
article of clothing worn by the settlers was spun, woven and manufactured 
at home. Flax and tow linen furnished the summer wear. And it was 
concerning a trifling quantity of flax that the quarrel arose which ended in 
the bloody deeds we are narrating. It appears that Robinson's wife had 
employed Mrs. Eunice Bandy, wife of Ambrose Bandy, to spin some flax. 
The calculating and economical housewives of that time knew just how 
much thread a pound of the raw material would make. And after ]\Irs. 
Bandy returned the spun flax. ^^Irs. Robinson weighed it and told some of 
her neighbors that the quantit}- returned was short one 'dozen.' This was 
gossipped about b}- the neighbor women, till it reached the ears of the parties 
accu.'ied of embezzling one 'dozen.' Ambrose Bandy, the husband, became 
much incensed and threatened to sue Robinson and his wife for slander. 
Thi-^ in turn enraged Robinson, who was a morose, sulky and very quick- 
tempered man. He became unfriendly with every one of his neighbors who 
had talked about the affair of the flax thread or whom he suspected of having 
friendly relations with the Bandys. He was especially angered at Bandy, 
James. Macy and Kilgore. 



PUTNAM COUNTY, INDIANA. 225 

"A few da}s before the committal of the crimes, which deprived two 
famihes of their protectors and made orphans of eight httle children in the 
lonely frontier settlement, Mr. and Mrs. Bandy visited James, remaining over 
night. This perhaps sealed the fate of the latter. A few days afterwards 
Robinson arose on a bright sunshiny morning (in April. 1824), and. after 
carefully loading his rifle informed his family that thereafter they would 
have to take care of themselves, that he should do no more for them, and 
left his cabin, gun in hand. He first went to Bandy's, evidently with the in- 
tention of making him the first victim, for he had previously declared that 
there were seven persons in the neighborhood that he meant to destroy, refer- 
ring to Bandy and his friends before mentioned and the wives of some of 
them. Bandy saw him approaching and hid behind a tree until he went 
away. He ne.xt proceeded to the home of Kilgore. who was also fortunate 
enough to perceive him while he was at a distance and conceal himself. 
Robinson next turned his attention to Macy. Macy's cabin stood on the pres- 
ent site of Alexander McCurrv-'s residence in Cloverdale. When Robinson 
approached. Macy and his son James were together in a clearing in front 
of their humble dwelling, and the bloodthirsty assassin's heart failed him. 
He could not strike down the father in the presence of his little son, and 
walked swiftly by without raising his head or speaking, and wended his way 
to James'. James was alone in the forest hewing puncheons to floor a house 
he was preparing to build on his own land. He felled a tree, by mistake. 
a little south of the boundary of his land, near the southeast corner and was 
consequently a few feet south of the present Mount Meridian road. The 
leaves were peeping from the bursting buds, birds were twittering above him 
in the branches of the tall trees, while rank vegetation was springing from 
the rich soil at his feet. The season, his prospects and surroundings all tended 
to make life to him sweet, desirable and enjoyable. He was bowed o\er his 
work unaware of danger and most probably congratulating himself upon his 
happy selection of a location, and thinking of a future in which figured con- 
spicuously a cleared wilderness, teeming fields of grain and a comfortable 
home for his wife and little ones, when a stinging pain through his body 
and a ringing report of a rifie ended his dream and blasted his hopes. Robin- 
son had skulked through the forest and dodged from tree to tree, as an Indian 
approaches his foe. until within fifty yards of his unoflFending victim and 
then, taking (leli])erate aim. fired the fatal shot. The ball passed through 
James' left arm and through his body from side to side, lodging against the 
skin. 

(15) 



226 weik's history of 

"On receiving the wound. James straightened up and looking in the 
direction of the report, saw his murderer in the act of lowering his weapon, 
the smoke- of the discharge curling above his head. He contemplated his 
assassin for a moment and then ran with the speed of a stricken deer to 
his cabin, about two hundred yards distant, and bounded into the midst of 
his terrified family, the blood spurting in a stream from the wound in his side. 
A messenger was dispatched to Greencastle and in due time returned with 
Doctor Lowe. The young and inexperienced physician removed the ball 
and then directed his efforts to healing the external wounds. James lingered 
twentv-eight days and died of blood poisoning, which no doubt could have 
been obviated by skillful treatment. After firing the fatal shot. Robinson 
returned home. His oldest child, a daughter, was at home caring for the 
babv, and his wife and other children were absent at work in a clearing some 
distance from the cabin. He re-loaded his rifle and attached one end of a 
string to the trigger and the other to a peg sticking in the wall on the outside 
of the house, cocked the piece and placed the muzzle against his left breast 
over his heart, and by drawing it towards him, discharged it. The ball 
passed through his heart, causing instant death. He was buried on his own 
land. His children grew to man-and womanhood in this locality, but finally 
moved awav. His widow remarried and raised a large family by the second 
marriage. 

"Two of James' sons lived to old age, one of them. Stanfield P., filling 
the office of county commissioner for several years. James, himself, was a 
representative type of the early Kentucky immigrant in Putnam county. 
He was tall, straight and well proportioned. As a neighbor he was kind, 
hospitable and generous and his tragic and untimely death cast a pall of 
gloomy dread and sorrow over the isolated settlement in the wilderness long 
after he was gone." 

For many years after the death of Thomas James the security, peace 
and dignity of the county was undisturbed. But in 1840 a second murder 
occurred which, while no more atrocious than the taking off of James, is 
noteworthy in that the accused was arrested, tried and paid the penalty with 
his life. It was the first judicial execution in the county. As those who 
were living at the time or had personal knowledge of the incident have 
long since passed away, it might have been difficult to gather the required 
facts but for the timely discovery of a pamphlet printed at the time the 
tragedy took place and which contains an authentic account of the unfor- 
tunate occurrence. Reference is made to the murder of Abraham Rhinear- 
son, in the summer of 1840. by William Thompson. The pamphlet, which 



PUTXAM COL'XTY. INDIANA. 22/ 

was printed at the office of the Grccncastlc Visitor, bears the following on its 
title page : 

'"Sketch of the Life and Confession of William Thompson. 

"Prepared by Rev. J. L. Belotte. 

"To which is appended a synopsis of the proceedings antl testimony during 

his trial and the sentence of the juflge. 

'■r,reencastle : 

Printed at the \'isitor Office 

"1S41." 

The author, J. L. Belotte. was a Methodist preacher, who was the mur- 
derer's spiritual adviser and to whom the confession was made. It is some- 
what minute and voluminous so that only a brief recital of the material facts 
can be attempted here. 

In the summer of 1840 the body of a man who had been dead several 
days was found in a lonely spot in the woods in the south end of Clinton town- 
ship, about seven miles from Greencastle. All the indications pointed to 
death by violence, but owing to the advanced state of decomposition, it was 
impossible to identify the remains. Later a hat was discovered, in some 
bushes nearby, in the inside of which was a letter addressed to Abraham 
Rhinearson, Bloomington, Iowa. John Lynch, the town constable, in an 
endeavor to unravel the mystery, went to Iowa and there learned that, 
shortly before, Rhinearson and William Thompson, whose home was at 
Middletown. in Henry county, in this state, had set out from Iowa too-ether, 
headed for Indiana. Returning here. Lynch and George Thompson, also 
of this place, made a trip to Henry county, where they arrested Rhinearson's 
fellow traveler, William Thompson, and brought him to Greencastle. Either 
en route hither or soon after his arrival Thompson confessed his crime, 
stating that as he himself was about out of money he had killed his com- 
panion for the paltry sum the latter had, which hardly exceeded five dollars. 
On arrival at Greencastle he was brought before James M. Grooms, justice 
of the peace, and after a brief preliminary inquirv- returned to jail to await 
the action of the circuit court. Early in Januarv-. 1841, he was arraio-ned 
for trial before Judge Elisha Huntington and. being unable to hire counsel. 
the court ordered John Cowgill, Edward McGaughey and Henry Secrest to 
conduct his defense. The prosecuting attorney was Delana R. Eckels. The 
jury consisted of James Xosler, foreman, Joseph Crow, John Robinson. 
Enoch Wright, Nathaniel Jones. William Christy. John Wilson, lohn Clear- 



228 WEIK S HISTORY OF 

waters, Ouinton VanDyke, Isaiah Goodwin, Jonathan MuUinix and Jacob 
Pearcy. About fifteen witnesses were examined and the case submitted to 
the jury without argument by the counsel on either side. The judge dehvered 
the charge to the juiy in a very feehng and impartial manner. The latter 
retired to their room and in about twenty minutes returned a verdict of guilty. 
On Friday, January 15th, the prisoner was brought into court and formally 
sentenced. He was condemned to death, the date of the execution being fixed 
for February 12th. 

As it was the first execution in the county, a deep interest was mani- 
fested in the subsequent proceedings. The place selected was a grove south 
of town near the corner of Locust and Berry streets, now occupied by the 
residence of the late Charles Leuteke. It was a bitterly cold day and was 
onlv made endurable by numerous fires over the grounds around which 
the great crowd present gathered in groups. When the condemned man, 
driven in a wagon from the jail and seated on his coffin, reached the place of 
execution the pressure to see him was so great the local militia company, 
under command of Gen. George K. Steele, was necessary to keep the crowd 
back. The rope, containing twenty-four strands of hemp, made by the late 
Thomas Talbott, was attached to the limb of a large elm tree beneath which 
was the platform on which the condemned man sat while the religious service 
which preceded the execution, took place. A hymn or two were sung, the 
music being led by Aaron Stewart, a singer of local renown, and it is said 
the condemned man joined in the songs in a voice full, clear and without a 
tremor. The Rev. Air. Belotte was present and led the services. Evan L. 
Kercheval, the sheriff, at the proper time sprung the trap and the sentence of 
the law was carried out without delay or mishap of any kind. 

The next and last judicial execution in Putnam county took place in 
the jail yard, west of the public square, in Greencastle, on Friday, December 
18, 1857. Alanv persons who witnessed it are still living. The prisoner was 
Greenbury O. Mullinix. who, on the loth of the preceding April, had mur- 
dered his wife, Martha Ann Sublett, to whom he had been married exactly 
one month. The murder, which occurred near Manhattan, was equally brutal 
and unprovoked. From the account in the weekly paper of the period it 
appears that the wife "had tied up a bundle of clothing in the morning and 
was hurrying through with her housework in order to prepare for her 
baptism, which was to take place that day. Mullinix. her husband, was op- 
posed to her joining church and after feeding the stock returned to the house 
in a very angrv mood. The faithful and unsuspecting wife had prepared 
breakfast and welcomed her husband with a propitiating smile. Evidently, 



PUTNAM COUNTY, INDIANA. 229 

after a few words, the bmte struck her down with a fire shovel. \\ hen Doc- 
tor Layman arrived he found her lying on the floor with her head crushed 
and beyond all human help. Her husband claimed that some unknown per- 
son had made the attack while he was absent at the barn, but later he con- 
fessed that he had committed the bloody deed himself." He was promptly 
arrested and in a few days appeared before Joseph F. Farley and John S. 
Jennings, justices of the peace, who. on the i6th inst., after a careful inquiry 
and the examination of numerous witnesses, committed the prisoner to jail 
on the charge of murder in the first degree to await the action of the circuit 
court. The case came on for trial in the latter court Tuesday, October 13, 
1857. and was not disposed of till the following Saturday. John A. Matson, 
D. E. Williamson and R. S. Ragan appeared for the accused and John P. 
Usher. John Cowgill and ]\Iilton A. Osborn for the state. Judge James 
Hanna presided at the trial. "The prisoner." says the Putnam County Ban- 
ner, "was ably defended by his counsel who placed the issue of the case upon 
the ground that the prisoner at the time he committed the rash act and for 
years previously had been laboring under the effects of an insane mind." 
Numerous instances were cited by witnesses and were dwelt and commented 
upon by defendant's counsel in a masterly manner to establish this in the 
minds of the jury, but, as the result has shown, to no effect. All the evidence 
adduced on both sides having been heard, as well as the arguments of coun- 
sel, the case was submitted to the jury on Thursday evening, who. after re- 
tiring for about an hour, brought in the following verdict ; "We the jury 
find the defendant guilty as charged in the indictment and that he suffer 
death." The verdict was signed by all the jurors as follows : Philip Carpenter, 
William B. Wilson. W. B. Cunningham. James E. Talbott. Robert Smith, 
Tames L. Wilson, Edward R. Shackelford, Thomas Sutherlin. John INIiller, 
Washington Breckenridge, George W. Kurtz and Russell Crawford. 

On Fridav afternoon the defendant was brought into court to receive 
his sentence. After reciting the facts brought out at the trial and the result- 
ing verdict of the jury, the court then announced: "It is therefore considered 
bv the court that you be returned to the county jail whence you came and 
that vou be there kept in safe custody until Friday, the 20th day of November 
next, and that you then be brought forth between the hours of ten o'clock 
in the forenoon and two o'clock in the afternoon of that day and taken from 
thence to the place of execution and be then and there hanged by the neck 
till you are dead." 

"During the delivery of the sentence," relates The Banner, "the prisoner 
stood up before the judge and the audience in the most firm and undaunted 



230 



WEIK S HISTORY OF 



manner, e\incing a stoicism and indifference almost unparalleled by those who 
have been arraigned before the bar of justice for similar offenses. To the 
question of His Honor, 'Are you prepared to stand before that all-seeing 
Judge, seated upon the throne of eternal justice, and declare your innocence?' 
he replied, 'I am!' And after the judge had concluded his sentence and the 
sheriff was about to take him back to jail, in a haughty and indignant man- 
ner, he said to the judge, "I thank you for the execution.' " 

A (lav or two before November 20th, the date set for the execution. 
Governor Willard, in answer to the appeal of the prisoner's father, granted 
a respite until Friday, December i8th, awaiting the action of the supreme 
court; but the latter court declined to interfere and at the appointed time the 
sentence of the law was duly carried out. The hnal chapter in the unfor- 
tunate affair is thus narrated in the Banner in its issue of December 23, 1857: 
"On Fridav, the iSth inst., at eleven minutes past eleven o'clock a. m.. Green- 
bury O. Mullinix was executed at this place in accordance with the require- 
ments of the law, for the murder of his wife last April. Up to the time of his 
execution and even upon the scaffold, with death in its worst form and with 
all its horrors staring him in the face, he persisted in his innocence, although 
he had two or three months previously declared that he had committed the 
deed — that he had imbrued his hands in the blood of his innocent and un- 
offending wife! After being led upon the scaffold by the sheriff, William L. 
Farrow, accompanied by Rev. E. W. Fisk, of the Presbyterian church, and 
Rev. William Atherton, of the Methodist church, and after an impressive 
and appropriate prayer by Mr. Fisk. the sheriff asked the prisoner if he had 
anything to say, to which he replied that he had nothing to say except that 
he was innocent and that he felt better than when they made him confess to 
the murder of his wife. (He was compelled to make this acknowledgment, 
as he alleged, thinking that he would be taken from his confinement immedi- 
ately and hanged, preferring the latter punishment to the former.) After it 
was found he hafl nothing further to say Mr. Farrow, the sheriff, proceeded 
to prepare him for the ordeal through which he was about to pass, by first 
tving his hands behind him and then drawing a cap over his face and tying 
it under his chin. This accomplished, the rope was next put around his neck 
and while the sheriff was thus engaged, having adjusted the rope a little too 
tight, the prisijner. in a jovial and unconcerned manner, said: 'Bill, this is 
rather tight," following the remark by a big laugh and apparently as uncon- 
cerned as if he was only about to engage in a little jesting freak. The rope 
being properlv adjusted, the rope that held the platform on which the prisoner 
stood was severed and the one around the pri.soner's neck breaking, he 



PLTXAM COLNTV. IXDIAXA. 27,1 

alighted upon the ground and \valke<! some two or three yards, making ihu'- 
ing the time a kintl of unnatural sound, when he was taken under the scaffold, 
hoisted up. tlie rope tied and there in the presence of the recpnsite number of 
witnesses the unf<irtunate being was suft'ered to hang suspended by the neck 
for the space of thirty-three minutes, and until pronounced death He did not 
struggle unusually hard and apparently died as easily as most of those who 
atone for their crimes upon the gallows, .\fter he had hung a sufficient length 
of time, his remains were placed in a coffin procured by the sheriff, after 
w liich thev were conveyed by one or two frienils to the family residence of 
the father near ^[anhattan. 

"This unfortunate being to the last manifested the utmost indift'erence 
in regard to his future state, treating with scorn and contempt the ministers 
of the gospel who called upon him and endeavored to point him to that God 
who is e\'er nierciful to fallen man. But all was useless. Even on the morn- 
ing before his execution, he used profane language and all the time declared 
that it was no use for him to ask forgiveness for his evil deeds, for he had 
committed none. It is due to Mr. Farnjw. our sheriff, to state that the acci- 
dent which occurretl at the execution in the breaking of the rope was not the 
result of carelessness on his part. fur. as we learn, he took the precaution to 
try the rope effectually l)efore selecting it for the purpose, yet from some un- 
accountable cause it broke. 

"Mullinix was born one mile east of Manhattan, in this county; was a 
little past twenty-five years of age; was always a dissolute, disobedient char- 
acter, as well while under the control of his parents as afterwards. He was 
married to Martha, daughter oi David Sublett. of this county, on the loth 
of March last and on the morning of Friday, the lOth day of .\pril ensuing, 
he put an end to her life. The free and unrestrained use of intoxicating 
drinks, togetlier with a want of proi)er parental contnil. it is said, have been 
the main instruments in bringing upon him the terrible fate which has just 
i^een \isited upon his head." 

To deal with or attempt to describe all the murders and murder trials 
which ha\e taken place in the county would swell this volume to unjustifiable 
proportiiins. nor would any real good accrue from recalling a subject so 
gruesome and forbidding. Rut now that we have seen fit io notice that fea- 
ture of our criminal history we can not well pass to other subjects without 
a brief reference to what was, for many years, the most noteworthy and 
astounding crime e\-er committed in the count}". 

On the morning oi January 7. 1861. the bcjdies of Tilghman H. Hanna 
and wife, who lived in the village oi Ch-oveland, were found in bed foullv 



232 WEIK S HISTORY OF 

murdered. The murderer had slain them with an axe, during the night while 
asleep, crushing their skulls and otherwise mutilating them. Not content 
with destroying his victims, the murderer had committed little acts of van- 
dalism such as splitting into kindling wood pieces of furniture, ornaments. 
etc. As no valuables were disturbed or missing, it was evident that robbery 
could not liave been the motive. The murderer or murderers had entered the 
house through a back window and after their bloody work had deliberately 
unlocked and walked out of the front door. A memorandum book lying on 
a table in the bedroom contained several vulgar and indecent sentences which 
the murderer had written across one of the pages. One of the sentences was, 
'T have done the deed — now G — d — you, ketch me if you ken." Suspicion 
soon pointed in the direction of Goodlow H. Evans, known as Harper Evans. 
a young man about twenty years old, who lived in the community, and he 
was promptly arrested and, after a careful investigation by James Shoemaker 
and A. F. Wright, justices of the peace in Floyd township, placed in the 
county jail at Greencastle to await the action of the circuit court. Mean- 
while two separate indictments had been returned by the grand jury for the 
murder of Hanna and his wife, upon both of which the prisoner had been 
arraigned and plead "not guilty." "Upon the call of the case for trial on 
Monday, the 8th inst.," says the Banner in its issue April 11, 1861, "the prose- 
cution appeared by Willis G. Neff, prosecuting attorney, assisted by D. R. 
Eckels and John Hanna ; the prisoner in person and by Williamson & Daggy 
and Joseph E. McDonald, of Indianapolis. A venire of seventy-five jurors 
had been ordered from the south part of the county and now appeared. After 
the examination of the latter, which consumed almost the entire first dav. the 
following jur\men were selected and duly sworn to try the case : Samuel 
Gardner. Samuel B. Gilmore, John Trout, James M. Lain, Bunsle Hair, 
Samuel Parks, Isaac Harris, Andrew J. Albright, William M. Walden. Henry 
B. Martin, Jacob Hixon and Thomas Hinote. The examination of witnesses, 
of whom over a hundred were in attendance, was begun on Tuesday. The 
testimony pointed strongly to the guilt of the accused, the most convincing 
circumstance being the writing in the memorandum book found in the room 
where the murder took place and which was proved to be that of the defend- 
ant. The court room was crowded to its utmost capacity during the entire 
time by the throngs who watched the proceedings with breathless interest. 
"The hearing of the evidence closed on Thursday evening," relates the 
Banner. "Frida}' morning the argument of the case opened with a well con- 
ceived and forci!)le speech on the part of the prosecution by John Hanna, 
Esq., occupying the greater part of the forenoon. His was followed bv a most 



PUTXAM COUNTY, INDIANA. 233 

ingeiiiouslv logical effort for the defense by the Hon. Joseph E. McDonald, 
taking up the remainder of the forenoon and greater part of the afternoon 
of the same day. The able and eloquent gentleman is certainly the greatest 
master of the art of rcductio ad ahsiirdam it has ever been our fortune to 
listen to — fully equal in ability to the author of 'Historic Doubts as to the 
Existence of Napoleon Boneparte' and almost capable of causing one to dis- 
believe the reality of his own existence could he but for a moment ignore the 
broad and bare facts of daily life passing around him. Judge Eckels followed 
in a most convincing and closely compacted argument for the prosecution, 
occupying the remainder of Friday afternoon, and closing on Saturday morn- 
ing, leaving no doubt, if any existed, of the guilt of the prisoner. Mr. Wil- 
liamson closed the argument on Saturday afternoon in an ingeniously labored 
and lengthy efifort for the defense. After a clear and able charge by Judge 
Clavpool, the jury retired to deliberate on their verdict. About seven o'clock 
Saturday evening, having been out but an hour or two, the jury returned their 
\'er(lict, 'imprisonment for life.' " 

All things considered, it was the most noted and memorable criminal trial 
in the history of the count}-. The strongest lawyers at the local bar were en- 
gaged and one attorney from Indianapolis, Joseph E. McDonald, afterwards 
United States senator, was later added by the defense. Much of the credit 
for the conviction was due Judge D. R. Eckels, who led the prosecution. His 
management of that side of the case was vigorous and unrelenting, displaying 
great legal acumen and the most profound knowledge of English and Amer- 
ican jurisprudence. During the trial the bombardment of Ft. Sumter took 
place and. judging from the papers of the day, that memorable and historic 
occurrence divided with the trial the public interest and attention. It was one 
of the most exciting weeks in the history of Greencastle. At three o'clock 
Sundav morning, the day after his conviction, Evans tried to commit suicide 
in the jail. The circumstances are thus set forth in the Banner: "On the sec- 
ond morning after the commencement of his trial Evans succeeded in secret- 
ing a case knife (unnoticed by the jailor) by breaking it in pieces and shoving 
it into the crevices of the wall. One of these pieces, about an inch and a half 
long, he spent most of his time in sharpening on the stone in his cell. Some 
time in the night he requested his guard to withdraw from his cell to the 
entrv adjoining, as he wanted to sleep. About three o'clock in the morning, 
as stated, he got up and. holding a mirror in one hand and a bit of knife in 
the other, he. after iive attempts, succeeded in entirely severing the jugular 
vein of his neck, from which he bled profusely, so much so that he soon 
fainted, when the bloorl stopped Bowing. He was found about 8 o'clock Sab- 



234 



VVEIK S HISTORY OF 



bath morning weltering in his own blood. Doctors Preston and ElHs were 
called in and tor some time it was doubtful whether he would recover or not." 
In about four days he had so far recovered as to be able to tra\-el. whereupon 
he was taken to the prison at Jeffersonville to begin his sentence. Several 
years later, and before the close of the war. he succeeiled in escaping from the 
prison and was never seen or heard from afterwards. About nineteen years 
ago his brother Noah was tried and convicted on the charge of having killed 
Erastus R. Adams, in the town of Roachdale. He was also given a life 
sentence, and died while in prison at Michigan City. 



CHAPTER XIV. 

CITY OF GREENCASTLE. 

The history of Greencastle, especially the earlier part of it, is so thor- 
oughly inter\vo\-en with that of the county that much of it has already been re- 
corded in these pages. But there came a time, in later years, when the city, 
apart from its importance as the center of county government, began to have 
a histor\- of its own and thus it happens that some things yet remain to be 
noted. 

Greencastle was a village or town operating under authority of the county 
commissioners until March 9. 1849, when it was incoq^orated as a town by 
special act of the Legislature. The charter was written by the late D. R. 
Eckels. When the election of town officers was held Judge Eckels was 
chosen mayor and Henry W. Daniels, clerk. The following were also the 
first councilmen: first ward. Russell L. Hathaway; second ward. Isaac Ash; 
third ward. Albert G. Preston: fourth ward, Hiram Marshall: fifth ward, 
Joseph F. Farley. 

Judge Eckel's term as mayor ended May 2. 1850. when he was succeeded 
by Russell L. Hathaway, who served till March 13. 185 1 : John Hanna, who 
.served till March 7. 1854: Hiram Marshall, till October 2. 1856: Dillard C. 
Donnohue. till March 5, 1857; Joseph F. Farley, to October 6, 1859; Reuben 
S. Ragan. till March 15. i860; J. S. Bachelder. till Januar>- 3. 1861 ; Henry 
Hough, (town recorder) f^ro tciii till March 7. 1861 ; E. R. Kercheval till 
August 9. 1 86 1, when the town government closed. 

FROM TOWN' TO CITY. 

On July 8. 1861, an election was held to determine whether "the town of 
Greencastle should be incorporated as a city." Polls opened at nine o'clock 
at the following places: First ward. R. L. Hathaway's office: second ward, 
mayor's office ; third ward, Renick's shop : fourth ward. Braman's shop : fifth 
ward. CowgiU's law office. 

The proposition to incorporate as a city having carried, provisions were 
at once made to hold an election .\ugust 3, 1861, for the purpose of selecting 
"the following citv officers to serve until the annual eIecti(Mi in May, 1862: 



236 weik's history of 

A[ayor. clerk, marslial. assessor, treasurer, engineer and two councilmen from 
each ward." The number of wards was reduced from five to three and the 
boundaries of the same fixed as follows: "All that part of said town lying 
west of Ephraim street and north of Hanna street shall constitute the first 
ward. All that part lying east of Ephraim street and north of Hanna street 
to the east end of said street, thence by a line due east to the corporation line, 
shall constitute the second ward. All that part lying south of Hanna street 
and a line due east from the east end of Hanna street shall constitute the third 
ward." The voting places were: First ward, court house; second ward. Cow- 
gill's law office; third ward, West End German church. 

The result of the election was: E. R. Kercheval, mayor; Harry G. 
Hough, clerk ; P. H. ^IcCamy, engineer ; Thomas J. Johnson, assessor ; Wil- 
liam Atherton. treasurer; councilmen, first ward, James D. Stevenson and 
William S. Mulholn; second ward. Gasper Renick and Otho Ward; third 
ward, Gustavus H. Voss and Austin M. Puett. Since then the following per- 
sons have held the office of mayor: E. R. Kercheval, till 1862; Marshall A. 
Moore, till 1866; Milton A, Osborne, 1868; Henry W. Daniels, 1870; William 
A. Brown, 1872; William D. Allen, 1876; Lucius P. Chapin, 1880; John R. 
Miller, 1884; Joseph S. McClar}^ 188S; Elisha Cowgill, 1890; Charles B. 
Case, 1894; Jonathan Birch, 1902; John H. James, 1904, and James McD. 
Hays, 19 ID. The present incumbent of the office is John R. Miller, who was 
elected in November, 1909, to serve from January i, 1910. for a period of 
four years. 

COMING OF THE RAILROADS. 

The importance of Greerxastle as a commercial point dates from about 
1850. At that time the long-discussed project of uniting Indianapolis and 
Terre Haute bv rail began to be reahzed. The Terre Haute & Richmond 
(now the Vandalia) railroad, which was planned to parallel and run in sight 
of the National road — the great highway connecting Baltimore with St. Louis 
— between Indianapolis and the Wabash river at Terre Haute, was forced to 
make a detour of several miles from its bee-line course in order to reach 
Greencastle. Building of the road began simultaneously at Indianapolis and 
Terre Haute and the two sections were joined about midway between Green- 
castle and Fillmore on February 18. 1852, after which regular trains were 
run. Meanwhile the New Albany & Salem (now the Monon) railroad was 
in process of construction through Greencastle with the design of connecting 
the Ohio river at New Albany with Lake Michigan at Michigan City. The 
track-Iavers reached Greencastle ^Larch 17. 1854. and in a few w-eeks regular 
trains were run. In its issue March 22, 1854. noticing the completion of the 



PUTNAM COUNTY, INDIANA. 237 

road, the Banner says : "The track of the New Albany & Salem railroad from 
the north was finished to our place on last Friday. The whistle of the loco- 
motive in that part of the town is now daily heard. We have not learned 
when the passenger trains will commence running. There is now ready at this 
place ready for shipment by this road via Detroit to New York some fifteen 
or twenty thousand barrels of pork, lard, etc. A good beginning." 

The completion of these railroads* gave a great impetus to the business 
of Greencastle as the following comparative statement of hogs packed in the 
winter of 1853-54 will indicate: Madison, 122,450; Terre Haute, 78.169: In- 
dianapolis, 44.900: Greencastle, 22.400: Lafayette. 21.000; Connersville, 21.- 
000; Vincennes. 19.202: Princeton, 17,207; Logansport, 16.000: Evansville, 
13.356; Crawfordsville, 12,000; Richmond, 10,000. 

The trade of the town has so increased in volume that a bank of deposit 
and exchange was necessary to meet the growing demands of business and 
accordingly, in February, 1856, the Exchange Bank of Greencastle (under 
the acts of the Legislature of May, 1852, and March. 1855) was organized. 
William D. Allen was president, A. D. Wood, cashier, and the concern num- 
bered among its stockholders, John S. Allen, Jehu Hadley, Jacob McGinness, 
Thomas O. .Allen, John Wain, Russell L. Hathaway. J. D. Stevenson. John 
Gilmore, and David L. Southard. In every respect the town was abreast of 
the times. 

It is, however, somewhat refreshing to read in the files of the early papers 
of the crude and primitive methods of doing business and the lack of com- 
forts and conveniences in the few public utilities of that period. Thus, for 
several years after the railroads began operations the mail was still carried 
o\erland by horse-power, as this editorial notice in the Baiuicr in the fall of 
1856 will indicate: "We do hope the government will make an arrangement 
with the railroad to carry the mail between Terre Haute and Indianapolis, if 
for no other reason, to save the poor horses now employed in the service from 
being run to death this hot and dry weather." 

FIRST TELEGR.XPH LINE. 

Even the telegraph lines were not used by the railroads for several years 
after the latter were put into operation. The first telegraph line connecting 

*The Indianapolis & St. Louis Railroarl, or rather that part of it between Indi- 
anapolis and Terre Haute, was completed July 11. 1870. This made the third railroad 
thro\)!;h Greencastle. Since that time the Indiana. Decatur & Western, now a part 
of the Cincinnati. Hamilton * Dayton Railroad, has been built through the northern 
part of the county, ami the Terre Haute. Indianapolis & Eastern, an electric line, has 
been built through Greencastle. There ar?, therefore, four steam roads and one elec- 
tric road through the county. 



238 



WEIK S HISTORY OF 



Greencastle with the outside world was constructed by tlie Cincinnati & St. 
Louis Telegraph Company in 1850. The line ran from Cincinnati via Ham- 
ilton, Ohio. Connersville. Rushville. Shelbyville, Indianapolis, Danville, 
Greencastle. Terre Haute, Indiana. Paris. Charleston. Hillsboro, and Alton, 
Illinois, thence to St. Louis. For a time the office in Greencastle was over 
a store on the southeast corner of the public square, then was removed to the 
upper story of a room on the north side of the square. The operator was the 
late Henry \V. Daniels, who likewise had charge of the maintenance of the 
line between Manhattan, where it struck the National road, and Danville, 
Indiana. The line only touching the larger places, the service was somewhat 
limited and it wa.s a long time before sending messages by telegraph became 
very general. 

Late in the forties, before lines were built or offices opened for business, 
men traveled over the country explaining the "magnetic telegraph" and en- 
lightening the people as to its operation and use. They were doubtless sell- 
ing stock in some of the lines then being promoted. A citizen of Greencastle, 
who was a toy then, relates that he remembers seeing the experiments con- 
ducted by one of these men in the old Presbyterian church in the west part of 
town. The stranger placed one instrument in the pulpit and another in the 
opposite end of the room, connecting the two by a wire running outside 
through a window, then around the building and back in through another 
window. The operator not only transmitted messages by sound, but ignited 
and exploded a handful of gunpowder by means of the electric spark. The 
house was filled with people, all of whom were impressed if not actually awed, 
at the contemplation of the possibilities of this wonderful mysterious power. 

In 1859 the old highway line was abandoned and thereafter all business 
was done over the railroad lines, which prompts the Banner in August, 1859, 
to admonish the public that "a reliable telegraph operator and a telegraph in 
first-class working order running from Terre Haute to Indianapolis over the 
Terre Haute & Richmond railroad has i-ecently been erected. A battery has 
been located at the depot at this place for the benefit of the company and the 
public. The New Albanv & Salem railroad will also install a telegraph 
along their road in a short time, when the public will have the privilege of 
sending dispatches to all points of the compass." It is recalled that in July, 
1861, an eager, impatient throng filled the little telegraph office in the "depot" 
of the St. Louis. Xew Albany & Chicago railroad at the foot of Jackson 
street during the greater part of the night anxiously awaiting the meager and 
unsatisfactory news as it slowly dripped from the wires indicating the rising 
or falling of the tide at the distant battle of Bull Run. 



PLTNA.M COLXTV. IXDIAXA. 2T,q 

But in many things we of today are not much in advance of our fathers 
after all; and when we think of their crude appliances and primitive equip- 
ment we wonder they were ever able ti5 effect the little history tells us thev 
accomplished. The traveler wlio hoards the richly upholstered, vestibuled, 
gas-lighted train at the noon hour in Greencastle and by virtue of a bee-line 
route, a smooth track and the fewest possible stops rolls into Chicago by six 
o'clock, often wonders what the past generation would think could it but wit- 
ness or realize the magnitude of the accomplishment. Here is the time table 
of the Xew Albany & Salem railroad published within a year after the 
first train ran over it : Chicago and Detroit Express : Leaves Greencastle. 12 :io 
p. m. ; Crawfordsville, 1:45; Lafayette. 3:30: Michigan City. 7:30, and 
Chicago. 9 :30 p. m. To make this journey within the prescribed time and 
with the rude macliinery in vogue almost sixty years ago required numerous 
stops, a change of trains entire at Michigan City and that. too. with twentv- 
eight more miles of track to cover than the present route! 

AX E.XTERPRISIXG SPIRIT. 

Xor can it be said that w ith all our present commercial ad\-antages we are 
more enterprising or aggressive than the Greencastle of fifty years ago. Mer- 
chants' associations and other commercial bodies, to advertise and develop 
the material and industrial resources of our city are not original with us of 
the twentieth century. As early as 1857, the Board of Trade — an institution 
designed to call the "attention of outside capital to our natural advantages for 
manufacturing purposes" — was organized in the old court house. John A. 
^Nlatson was elected president; G. W. Ames, secretary; R. L. Hathawav, treas- 
urer; and Dr. A. C. Stevenson. W. H. Thornburgh, D. L. Southard. Doctor 
Cowgill, Basil Brawner. Dan. S. Place. Addison Daggy. John S. Jennings. T. 
C. Hammond and W. H. Coates. directors." The Banner of the period indi- 
cates a purpose of raising a fund of from ten to fifteen thousand dollars with 
which to encourage well-established firms or companies to construct factories 
in Greencastle. 

As indicative <>f the commercial growth and industrial status of Green- 
castle fifty years ago the following article by Doctor Stevenson, entitled 
"Greencastle Thirty Years Ago." was published in the Banner January 4. 
i860: 

■"Greencastle has grown much within thirty years. The citizens of thirty 
vears ago have nearlv all died or removed; but few remain. 



240 WEIK S HISTORV OF 

"Thirty years ago there were three small dry goods stores in Greencastle 
and five or six groceries. The latter contained each about one barrel of 
whisky and a dozen tin cups. Now there are about thirteen large dry goods 
stores, two large drug stores, two heavy hardware and tin establishments, two 
exclusively tin and stove stores, and four heavy clothing establishments. 
Thirty years ago there was one saddler who put new seats in old saddles. 
There were two cabinet shops, t\vo smith shops, a few carpenters and a brick 
layer. Now there are two saddler shops, doing a large business, two cabinet 
shops, one of them propelled by steam. There are now five or si.x smith 
shops, a large number of carpenters, bricklayers, plasterers and painters; 
two shops by steam for planing or dressing lumber, making doors, sash, etc. ; 
two woolen factories, three steam grist-mills and one foundry; two plow fac- 
tories, two wagon shops, and one carriage factory doing a large business. 
Thirty years ago, there was one six-months school. Now there is one flourish- 
ing college, one femafe seminary and a numlier of common schools and prob- 
ably some two or three high schools. There was but one church — an inferior 
log building. Now there are two large brick Methodist churches, two Presby- 
terian churches and one each of the Christian, Baptist and Catholic denomina- 
tions. There is now one bank. 

"These are some of the very striking differences between now and then, 
to which may be added now two railroad depots within our town. Circuit 
court ^vas then held in a small room of a dwelling house and presided over by 
Judge Porter. The leading attorneys were Robert F. Glidewell and George 
F. Waterman. Henrv Secrest was then looked upon as a promising beginner. 
A few others attended from other points, viz : Thomas Blake and Judge Kin- 
ney, from Terre Haute; Thomas Adams, from Spencer; James Whitcomb and 
Craven P. Hester, from Bloomington. Now there is a good court house : but 
whether there has been an improvement in the bar we will not undertake to 
decide, as that might be considered invidious. Then the "overjoyful' was not 
feared as now and we very well remember several little frolics that the young 
men had in those days. Apple toddy till midnight and then a moderate up- 
heaving till morning. 

" 'Ramp creek' and the 'Forks' in those days met weekly on the public 
square to drink whisky and crack jokes and sometimes fists. The girls and 
boys did their courting in the same chimney corner where the old folks sit, 
as there was commonlv but one room to the dwellings — still it was well done 
and soon through. A sociality pervaded S(:K:iety then which is not found now, 
as the following instance of kind attention will illustrate : 



PTTXAM COLXTV. IXDIAXA. 24I 

■'The first temperance meeting was called ant! we had the honor of being 
speaker. John S. Jennings. Colonel Sands and friends manifested their good 
feeling for the cause by drinking the health of the speaker frequently, during 
the speech, from a large bottle of brandy." 

COMMERCIAL ACTIVITY. 

The periofl following the close of the Civil war was one of great com- 
mercial and industrial activity everywhere and in no place were the improx'ed 
conditions more marked than in Greencastle. As one means of promoting the 
city's growth, a street railway to connect the two railroad stations and traxers- 
jng the residence section was proposed. On Monday, September 25, 1865, 
a meeting of citizens to consider the project was held in the Exchange Bank. 
A railroad builder named Sheldon was present and explained how the road 
could be Ixu'lt and i~)perated. "propelled by a dum engine, etc.," for thirtv 
thousand dollars. A stock company was proposed and can\'assers were sent 
out to secure the requisite subscriptions. 'Tf this enterprise is pushed forward 
t(i completion." says the Banner, "it will mark an epoch in the historv of our 
city of the utmost importance. It will be but the beginning of the work 
which shall raise Greencastle to a position in point of wealth, enterprise and 
notoriety inferior to none of our sister cities in Indiana. It will give an im- 
petus to our onward march in growth and prosperity which shall sweep awav 
all obstacles and render us one of the most thriving and commanding com- 
munities in the state. Other and vaster improvements and enterprises will 
follow upc^n the heels of this one; manufactories of every character will spring 
up and the immense wealth of Putnam county in undeveli^ped material will he 
brought into requisition and we shall march on as the leading countv rif the 
state." 

In due season the re([uired thirty thousand dollars of stock was subscribed 
and the company dul_\- organized. At the meeting of the stockholders the fol- 
lowing directors were chosen: W. D. .\llen. Lee \V. Sinclair, G. H. Voss, 
E. T. Keightley. Melvin ^[cKee. Reuben Slavens and William Dagg}-. The 
road was promptly built antl successfully operated for many years, the cars 
being drawn by horses. In 1895 a new franchise permitting the road to substi- 
tute electricitv for horses was granted h\- the city council, but owing to the 
removal of the \'andalia passenger station and the probable entry into the 
city of an interurban electric road from Indianapolis the further operation of 
the horse-car line was deemed unprofitable and the enterprise was abandoned. 

.\notlier industry which sprang up soon after the construction of the 
( 16 ) 



242 WEIK S HISTORY OF 

street railway was the Greencastle Iron and Nail Company. The organiza- 
tion was formed in the spring of 1867. After sixty thousand dollars worth 
of stock had been taken the concern was organized as follows : J. F. Darnall, 
president; A. S. Bryant, secretary and treasurer; F. P. Nelson, R. M. Hazlett. 
William Bridges, John Lundy, Samuel Catherwood. Andrew ^I. Lockridge 
and Oliver P. Badger, directors. The factory was built near the Terre Haute 
& Indianapolis depot and was operated under the supervision of John Lundy, 
who had come from near Pittsburg and was familiar with the iron industry 
in all its branches. It at once began the manufacture of nails and employed 
in the neighborhood of one hundred fifty hands. By virtue of a commend- 
able policy on the part of the management, it was free from labor troubles and 
rarely ever shut down save for necessary repairs. It was in continuous opera- 
tion for over twenty years. When natural gas was discovered in northeastern 
Indiana, the stockholders accepted an offer from the city of Muncie of free 
fuel, free factory site and immunity from taxation for five years and moved 
(the plant there. It was the greatest and most profitable industrial enterprise, 
so far as the interests of the people were concerned, Greencastle harl ever had. 
In January, 1868, the prosperity of Greencastle had evidently reached 
high tide, as the following item in the Banner at that time will indicate : 
"Greencastle is becoming a place of importance. We have one iron and nail 
factorv. one foundry and machine shop, two flouring mills, one pump factory, 
one carriage factor\-, four wagon shops, seven blacksmith shops, six saloons, 
eight churches, thirty-five clergymen, one college, one high school, one young 
ladies' school, a number of other schools with efficient teachers, ten physicians, 
twentv-four lawyers, a population of five thousand, and more handsome ladies 
than any other town in Indiana." 

DISTINGUISHED CITIZENS. 

Greencastle has been the home and in some cases the birthplace of many 
persons of distinction. Among the persons who have thus attracted public 
attention are Edward W. AIcGaughey, John Hanna and Courtland C. Mat- 
son, who have represented this district in Congress ; Andrew J. Hunter, con- 
gressman from Paris, Illinois, who was born in Greencastle; Joseph E. Mc- 
Donald, late United States senator from Indiana; Newton Booth, United 
States senator from California; James Harlan, United States senator from 
Iowa and a member of President Lincoln's cabinet; Daniel W. \'oorhees, 
L'nited States senator from Indiana, who graduated from Asbun,- University 
and was married in Greencastle; Albert J. Beveridge, United States senator 



PUTXAM COUNTY, INDIANA. 243 

from Indiana, who likewise was educated and married in Greencastle ; Albert 
G. Porter, late governor of Indiana and a graduate of Asburs^ University; 
Delana R. Eckels, late chief justice, supreme court Utah Territory; Delano E. 
Williamson, late attorney-general of Indiana; Dr. Hiram E. Talbott, auditor 
of Indiana; Thomas Hanna. lieutenant-governor of Indiana; John Clark Rid- 
path. the eminent historian, born near Fillmore; Amelia Kussner, the famous 
miniature painter, born in Greencastle; Robert Hitt, late congressman from 
Illinois, who lived and attended college here : William C. Larrabee and Miles J. 
Fletcher, late superintendents of public instruction for Indiana; W. R. Mc- 
Keen. late president of the V'andalia railroad, who attended college here, and 
Matthew Simpson, Thomas Bowman, Isaac W. Joyce and Edwin H. Hughes, 
bishops of the Methodist Episcopal church, all of whom were residents of 
Greencastle. 

CASUALTIES. 

Only two casualties worthy of record — and neither of them attended by 
a single death — have ever visited Greencastle. The first was a tornado — or 
cyclone as it is now called — which struck the city at eight o'clock in the even- 
ing, November 8, 1867. The current issue of the Banner contains a detailed 
account of the disaster which is too elaborate for insertion here. The storm, 
which came from the southwest, after blowing over dwellings, barns and 
everything else in its path, "next struck Asbury University, smashing in the 
windows, tearing the bricks from the walls and starting the immense roof, 
which for a wonder it did not carry off. Had the roof gone, two hundred 
students who were in the building at the time would have been buried beneath 
the ruins. Simpson Chapel and the Old Seminary were next struck and al- 
most entirely unroofed and parts of the walls carried away. The upper room 
in Simpson Chapel was a complete wreck — furniture, chandeliers, evervthing, 
in fact, broken to pieces. The roof was precipitated into the yard of Mr. 
Westerfield, doing considerable damage. The old Seminary is injured beyond 
repair. A part of it was carried across the street and landed in the vard of 
J. F. Duckworth. * * * * ^he Baptist church was then struck and en- 
tirely destroyed. It was a brick building, erected only a few years since at 
a cost of five thousand seven hundred dollars. It seems impossible that a 
building apparently- so strong could be so utterly destroyed — the walls torn 
down within a few feet of the ground. * * * _4^g j^g-jj- ^g ^.^^^ j^g gathered 
the loss will exceed thirteen thousand dollars." 

The second misfortune or casualty which visited the good little city of 
Greencastle was the noted fire of October. 1874; and as no better storv of it 



244 



VVEIK S HISTORY OF 



is extant than the account by Gilkim Ridpath. the hberty is taken to incor- 
porate it in these columns. It was prepared five years after the fire occurred 
and is as follows : 

"The history of Greencastle for a period of more than fifty years was one 
of uninterrupted prosperity. During that time no great calamity of any kind 
befell the city to mar the general prosperity or happiness of its citizens. No 
great epidemic or contagion has ever spread within its borders, and the relig- 
ious character of its citizens has allowed no moral deformity to rear itself in 
their midst. 

"The historv of the city up to the memorable night of October 28. 1874, 
shows a remarkable exemption from fires, only four of any note having oc- 
curred previous to that date. The.se were the destruction of Lee W. Sinclair's 
woolen-mill in 1865, R. L. Higert's brewery in 187 1, Mr. Gage's flouring- 
mill in 1872, and the Indiana Female College in the year following. In con- 
sequence of this immunity from anything like a general conflagration, the city 
was totally unprepared for such an emergency when the time of trial came. 

"On the night mentioned, about half past ten o'clock, the planing-mill of 
C. J. Kimble & Son caught fire and was soon enveloped in flames. A brisk 
gale from the southwest carried the burning embers in its course, and in the 
short space of four or five hours nearly six squares of the best business blocks 
and private residences were laid waste. In those few hours were consumed 
thirty-seven business houses, twelve dwellings, two livery stables, one hotel, 
one furniture factory, one express office and the postoffice. Added to these, 
a large number of outhouses and a vast amount of personal property fell a 
prey to the devouring flames. Both in its suddenness and destructiveness, 
the damage done to Greencastle was greater, in proportion to size, population 
and wealth, than that done to Chicago by the great fire in that city. 

"At the anniversary meeting held by the citizens one year after the fire, 
a committee on losses and insurance reported a loss of capital amounting to 
two hundred fifty-six thousand one hundred and thirty-four dollars, on which 
there was an insurance of one hundred sixteen thousand three hundred and 
eio-hty-one dollars. The same committee reported that there should be added 
to the above sum a considerable amount of unestimated loss, making the total 
much larger than that presented, and the historical committee placed their esti- 
mate at the sum of four hundred thousand dollars. 

"On the night of ]\Iarch 8. 1875. another fire broke out, originating in 
Sherfey's furniture store. The flames soon communicated to the block of 
buildings fronting on the south side of the square, the best block remaining in 
the citv. The reported losses by this fire were in the aggregate forty-three 



PL'TXA.M COUNTY, IXDIAXA. 245 

thousand and seventy-seven dollars, on which tiiere was an insurance of thirty- 
seven thousand six hundred and twenty-seven dollars. 

"Never did the character of Greencastle's citizens show to better advan- 
tage than during the year succeeding the fire. Within that time, there were 
made or nearly completed brick and store improvements to the value of two 
hundred fifty-two thousand five huntlred dollars and wooden buildings and re- 
pairs wonh ninety-eight thousand three huntlred and five dollars, making a 
total of three hundred fifty-nine thousand eight hundred and five dollars. 
These works required the consumption of four million eight hundred sixty-five 
thousand brick, and stone valued as it came from the quarr>' at thirty 
thousand dollars. During the same period, there were made by the city, street 
improvements worth six thousand dollars. Within the same time, the city 
had provided two fire engines, two engine houses with alarm bells, eleven cis- 
terns and one pool, having a united capacity of nearly ten thousand barrels, 
and there was organized a fire department in two companies alrearly well 
drilled and disciplined, to fight the fire fiend whenever he might show his 
lurid front. 

"At the end of the year there were in the city seventy-five mercantile 
houses, employing a business capital, exclusive of cash and real estate neces- 
sary for their various operations, amounting in the aggregate to three hundred 
fifty-five thousand dollars, doing a business of over nine hundred thousand 
dollars per annum, employing directly about one hundred and seventy-fi\e per- 
sons and supporting over four hundred and fifty. 

"There were, also, eighteen manufacturing establishments, having a com- 
bined capital of three himdred six thousand dollars and employing three hun- 
dred and fifty-eight operatives. The weekly payments for labor in these were 
four thousand five hundred and fifteen dollars and per annum two hundred 
twelve thousand dollars. The annual products from these factories were 
worth at first sale five hundred eighty-seven thousand four hundred dollars. 
The value of raw material consumed cannot be given. These estimates for 
merchandising and manufacturing are given exclusive of persons indirectly 
eniphjyed, such as railroaders, draymen and common laborers." 

What has taken place in Greencastle since the incidents just related are 
matters of such recent occurrence no part of their history has, thus far, es- 
caped the attention of the average reader of this volume. To recount them, 
therefore, would be a needless repetition. Some items may have been over- 
looked, but they are of minor importance and their omission in no degree 
mars the outline of the story. Of her people and her achievements Green- 
castle is justly proud. She rejoices in her past prosperity and her future is 
full of promise. 




Col. Alexander S. Farrow 



BIOGRAPHICAL. 



COL. ALEXANDER SHORE FARROW. 

Xo history of Putnam county would be complete without a resume of 
the intensely interesting and useful life record of Col. Alexander S. Farrow, 
who was, more than three decades ago, called to a higher plane of action. He 
is well remembered for his many good deeds and strong innate characteristics, 
having left behind him. among many other treasured inheritances, what is 
most to be desired— a good name. 

Colonel Farrow was bom near Grassy Lick. Montgomen.- county, Ken- 
tucky, April 21, 1794. His father. William Farrow, a sterling representative 
of Scotch-Irish parentage, caught the spirit of the tide of emigration that 
poured through the Cumberland Gap and other passes of the Blue Ridge 
mountains in the early days, and left his Virginia homestead to try his for- 
tunes anew in the then boundless undeveloped middle West. Those were days 
that tried men's souls and such tedious, hazardous journeys were no pleasure 
excursions, and for years after the advent of the first settlers, the stockaded 
village ami huge block-house were the only title proofs to the soil, but the 
reign of the savage here was forever ended by General Wayne's campaign of 
1794. In the closing year of this Indian war, Mr. Farrow was born, and he 
grew to manhood before the countty around his home had been entirely re- 
claimed from primitive conditions. Thus familiarized from childhood with 
the simple customs and wants of the pioneer farmer, he became qualified for 
the part he afterward performed in the opening and settling of a new country. 

In August following the declaration of war against Great Britain in 1812, 
three regiments of volunteer infantry and one of regulars left Georgetown, 
Kentucky, for the relief of Detroit. Alexander S. Farrow, then a lad of 
eighteen, could not repress his youthful patriotism and joined this detach- 
ment under Capt. Samuel L. Williams. At the crossing of the Ohio they re- 
ceived the news of the surrender of Detroit and Michigan Territory by Gen- 
eral Hull to the British, but continued their march under General Harrison to 



24o WEIK S HISTORY OF 

Ft. Wayne, on the Maiiniee. which was invested by the Indians, and young 
Farrow participated in the subsequent operations against the red men, under- 
going the vicissitudes incident to a soldier, their sufferings from hard marches, 
cold and privations in general lieing ver\- tiying, and thev were frequently re- 
duced to the point of starvation. '"At one time," Mr. Farrow related, "we 
went seventeen days without a mouthful of bread, subsisting on fat pork 
alone." It was interesting to hear him relate the trials of those davs, how the 
horses died of exhaustion or became useless from star\ation, so that the sleds 
carrying their baggage were drawn by the soldiers themselves, si.x men being 
harnessed in the place of one horse. At night they bivouacked in the frozen 
forest, sleeping on beds of bark and boughs upon which thev spread their 
blankets. The morning reveille woke many a poor fellow to the consciousness 
of frosted limbs and racking rheumatic pains. The first week in January a 
two- foot snow fell which rendered their marches slower and more painful. 
At this stage of the return march a runner brought news of the threatening 
of Frenchtown by the British and Indians and a detachment of five hundred 
soldiers was sent to the town's relief. In that detachment was young Far- 
row, who was destined shortly to more trying experiences than ever. He 
fought under General Winchester there iji a losing battle against General Proc- 
tor's forces and was taken prisoner to Maiden, escaping the famous massacre 
of the River Raisin. He with his comrades were confined for many days 
in open warehouses, where they suffered from lack of fire and food. From 
^Maiden they were marched through southern Canada to Fort George on the 
Niagara river, a journey of two weeks, at which place they were parolled and 
sent across the line. From this point the\' crossed the country on foot to 
Pittsburg, and thence by water to Kentucky. Xotuithstanding the hard- 
ships of this adventure in the wild and frozen north, be.set with the gravest 
dangers, young Farrow never regretted his service to iiis countr)-. 

Shortly after his return from his experience in tiie army. Colonel Far- 
row was married, being }et under age. and settled in the neighborhood of his 
old home, adopting the occupation of a fanner. On ^-fay 26, 1815, he was 
commissioned bv Gov. Lsaac Shelby adjutant of the Thirty-first Regiment of 
the Kentucky Militia, and on December 22. 1820. Governor Adair appointed 
him brigade inspector of the Fifth Brigade, -\bout this time he became a 
candidate for the Legislature, and canvassed his nati\-e county in a series of 
convincing sjjceches, being an enthusiastic supporter of Henr\- Cla\' and his 
doctrine. He was subsequently elected and \ery ably served one or more 
terms in the General .\s.semijly, being barely eligible at the time of his first 
election and perhaps the \oungest man in tlie .\ssembly. 



PUTXAM COLNTV, IXDIAXA. 249 

In 1830 Colonel I'arrow tleteniiined to cast his lot in the new state of 
Indiana, where cheaper lands and better facilities were offered to the wants 
of a large and growing family. Accordingly he arrived in Putnam county 
in the antnmn i)f that year, and settled nine miles north of Greencastle. on 
lands purchased, in part, of the original preemptors. He immeiliately took 
an active and leading part in the opening and deselopment of the new country, 
and from the first assumed broad antl liberal \ieus in all his undertakings 
and in his intercourse and dealings with his neighbors. He was one of the 
first to introduce blue grass into the coimty. and was the first to sow it ex- 
tensively, having brought a supply of the seed on his removal from Kentucky. 
He also made several trips to Ohio and his native state, bringing back valuable 
breeds of horses and cattle, which he used extensively for the improvement of 
the stock of the country. March 15, 183J. Governor Xoble commissioned 
him colonel of the Fifty-sixth Regiment of Militia and as such he regularly 
took part in the annual drills and musters. 

Being a devoted member of the church. Colonel Farrow early felt the 
deprivation occasioned by the want of such an association in his new home. 
and. with characteristic promptitude, he organized in his own house, with 
the aid of a few of his neighbors, the first church association e\er held in that 
part of the country, the organization consisting of nine members. Colonel 
Farrow and wife. James Xelson and wife. Henr\- Foster and wife and a Mr. 
Blake, also John Leaton and wife. 

In 185 1 Colonel Farrow was elected one of the representatives from Put- 
nam county to the state constitutional convention, and the records of that 
assemblage will show that during the four months" session he was never 
absent from his seat or evaded a vote on any of the r|uestions that came be- 
fore that body, for he never desired to conceal his views on any subject. 

Early in life Colonel Farrow took a decided stand for the cause of tem- 
perance and the suppression of the litpior traffic. He was among the first 
to throw the whiskv jug from his house and announce to his neighbors that 
he would furnish no more liquor at log-rollings and husking-bees, let the 
consequences be what thev would. His example was later followed by many 
of his neighbors. 

Colonel Farrow [xisses.sed remarkably strong qualities lx)th of head and 
heart, and he w as at all times manly and dignifiefl in character and honest and 
outspoken in the expression of his views and opinions. Hyp<icrisy and du- 
plicity found no lodgment in his composition, and his inability to see such 
traits in others often led to his being imposed upon by designing and un- 
scrupulous men. He was alike free from an envious and jealous disix)sition. 



250 WEIK S HISTORY OF 

and it has been said of him, indeed, that, practically, he did not know the 
meaning of the terms. He possessed the virtue of patience in a remarkable 
degree, and whether in health or sickness, in prosperity or misfortune, his 
mind adapted itself with philosophic complaisance to the conditions of his lot. 
His natural bent of mind was toward politics, subject to a strong moral and 
religious supervision, and being an honest opponent and always remarkably 
conscientious, the later-day school of politics found no favor in his sight. He 
was a close and constant reader on all topics of the day, his mind being, seem- 
ingly, as clear at fourscore to percei\e and analyze the drift of events as in 
the prime and vigor of life. His religious convictions were the steady and 
gradual growth of a lifetime, and became at length remarkably strong and 
deep seated. He was moral from his childhood, and, as an instance of his 
moral rectitude of mind, it may be told, that on the occasion of his marriage, 
although not a member of the church, he announced to his wife that they 
would begin life with the daily practice of family prayer. 

Colonel Farrow was twice married, and was the father of six sons and 
four daughters, all of them the children of his first wife, whose maiden name 
was Elizabeth Nelson. The total number of his descendants at the time of his 
death was ninety-six. Two of his children, William Simpson and Francis 
Marion, had died. 

This venerable and, in many respects, remarkable patriarch was gathered 
in the fullness of his years to the reward of his merits on March 31, 1877, 
at the home of his eldest daughter in Greencastle, leaving behind him the rich 
remembrance of a blameless life to become the inheritance of his children and 
his children's children forever, while he sleeps the sleep of the just on the 
old homestead nine miles north of Greencastle, in the family cemeterj-. Here, 
in the soil he had reclaimed from the wilderness, by the highway he had 
traveled when it was but a blazed trail, and in sight of the church he had or- 
ganized in his early manhood, he rests from his weary pilgrimage of four 
score years, but the light of his example is still shining brightly on the path- 
wavs of his numerous descendants. 



COL. COURTLAXD CUSHIXG MATSON. 

It is no easy task to describe adequately a man who has led an eminently 
active and busy life and who has attained a position of relative distinction 
in the community with which his interests are allied. But biography finds 
its most perfect justification, nevertheless, in the tracing and recording of 



PUTNAM COUNTY, INDIANA. 25 1 

such a life history. It is. then, with a full appreciation of all that is demanded 
and of the painstaking scrutiny that must be accorded every statement, and 
yet with a feeling of satisfaction, that the writer essays the task of setting 
forth the details of such a record as has been that of Colonel Matson, who has 
won wide distinction as a lawyer, soldier, statesman and public-spirited citizen 
of Putnam county, where he has been too well-known for more than a half 
century to need a formal introduction to the readers of this work. In exam- 
ining his life record we find much that is worthy of commendation and his 
varied and mteresting career could be profitably emulated in many ways by 
the youth whose destinies are yet matters for the future to determine. In 
early life he found it essential that he should conquer, and this could only be 
done by labor, study, resolute and heroic action. He obeyed the commands 
of industry from the beginning and his methods have always been those of 
persevering and indefatigable attention to business — truly the philosopher's 
stone which transmutes all things to gold. His energies lia\e always been 
concentrated on a fixed, steady, unalterable and honorable purpose, that of 
attaining success in his profession and dignifying it by obser\'ing the canons 
of morality, honestv and integrity, by which it can only be exalted. 

Colonel ^latson is a native of Brookville. Indiana, where he first saw 
the light of dav April 2^. 1S41. the son of Hon. John A. ^latson, one of the 
distinguished attorneys and politicians of his day and generation in Indiana, a 
descendant of an excellent pioneer ancestry. He received a good education 
for tho.se early davs and equipped himself for his profession, beginning the 
practice of law in Brookville in 1833 and continued there until 1S51. becom- 
ing known as one of the leading lawyers of that section of the state, and from 
which place he moved to Greencastle, seeking a larger field for the exercise 
of his talents, successfully practicing here until his death. July 15. 1870. He 
was a strong man in the political affairs of the state for many years and had 
the distinction of being the Whig candidate for Congress in the old Brook- 
ville district, and he was a member of the Legislature in 1S41. He was a 
man of many sterling characteristics and wielded a very potent influence in 
his section of the state. He was married in 1833. while living at Brookville, 
to Margaretta M. Woelpper, a native of Philadelphia, who came to Brook- 
ville in 1832. She was of Welsh descent, while Mr. Matson's ancestors 
were Scotch-Irish. 

Colonel Matson was ten years old when he accompam'ed his parents to 
Greencastle. in 185 1. When he reached the proper age he was placed in 
school, and, being an ambitious latl and desirous of following in the footsteps 
of his father in the legal profession, he was very studious and made an excel- 



252 WEIK S HISTORY OF 

lent record, both in public and private schools. Completing his preparatory 
work, he entered DePauw (then Asbury) University, from which institution 
he was graduated with honor in the class of 1862, having left the university 
at the breaking out of the Civil war for the purpose of enlisting. later grad- 
uating from this institution without further study. 

As a law student. Colonel Matson had for his able preceptor none other 
than his worthy father, with whom and Hon. Solomon Claypool he formed 
a partnership after being admitted to the bar, the firm continuing as one of 
the strongest in the county until the death of the senior Matson, young JVIat- 
son then forming a partnership with Judge Cla}-pool, which continued until 
the latter's removal to Indianapolis in 1873, after which he practiced his 
profession alone until 1880 with the e.xception of one year, when he had as 
a partner Henr\- H. Mathias, under the firm name of Matson & Mathias. 

Having taken an active interest in politics from early youth, Colonel 
Matson was soon singled out by party leaders as a likely candidate for public 
offices of importance, and in the early eighties he was elected to Congress 
from the fifth district of Indiana and served with a most creditable and 
praiseworthy record through four consecutive Congresses, from the forty- 
seventh to the fiftieth, inclusive. In these he was one of the conspicuous 
Democratic figures in our national politics, winning, by his unusual tact, 
fidelity to the trusts reposed in him and his persistency in what he believed 
to be right, not only the admiration and respect of his colleagues but the 
hearty commendation of his constituents, irrespective of party affiliations. 
Having become so popular in Indiana as a result of his splendid record in 
Congress, his party selected him as their candidate for Governor in 1888, 
but he was defeated in a very spirited contest by Hon. Alvin P. Hovey, by 
two thousand one hundred and ninety-one votes. The Colonel then resumed 
his practice at Greencastle, and soon afterwards became attornev for the 
Louisville, Xew Albany & Chicago Railroad Company, for the state of 
Indiana, which position he held very satisfactorily for a period of four vears, 
at the end of which he again took up practice at Greencastle, and also formed 
a partnership with Hon. Joseph Giles at Bedford, Indiana, which was con- 
tinued for several years, his son. Smith C. Matson, becoming his partner in 
the Greencastle office in the meantime. In 1872 Colonel Matson was elected 
prosecuting attorney of Putnam county and during his incumbencv of this 
office he successfully prosecuted the Vandalia Railroad Company to recover 
school fund money due from its earnings under the special charter. From 
1868 to 1870 he was district attorney, the prosecuting office of the common 
pleas court. In 1878 he was chairman of the Democratic state committee 
and as such did a great work for the party in Indiana. 



PCTNAM COUNTY, INDIANA. 253 

Colonel Matson. when twenty years of age and while a student in Green- 
castle, enlisted in a company of students, known as "'Asbury Guards." on 
April 14. i86r. the day after Fort Sumter was fired upon, and serving as 
such until June 5. 1862. in Company K, Sixteenth Regiment Indiana Volun- 
teer Infantry. On the last mentioned date he was elected second lieutenant 
of his company and served very gallantly as such until the expiration of his 
term of enlistment. Soon after his discharge he was appointed adjutant of 
the post at Terre Haute. Hon. R. W. Thompson being the commandant, 
and upon the organization of the Seventy-first Regiment, Indiana Volunteer 
Infantry, he was made adjutant of the regiment, which lost all its field 
officers. August 30. 1862. they being killed at the battle of Richmond. Ken- 
tucky, and Mr. Matson was at once appointed to succeed Lieut.-Col. M. D. 
Topping. Early in 1863 the Seventy-first was changed to a cavalrv regiment, 
— the Sixth Indiana. — of which organization Mr. ^latson served as lieu- 
tenant-colonel until the close of the war. May. 1865 ; then the Fifth and Si.xth 
Indiana Cavalry were formed into one regiment and Mr. Matson was appointed 
its colonel, in which capacity he continued to serve until October, followino-, 
when he was mustered out of the service, having made a gallant soldier and 
a most creditable record, having participatetl in all the important battles in 
the \\'est up to Atlanta, in 1864. also took part in numerous skirmishes in 
Sherman's campaign. He has long been an active member of the Grand 
Army of the Republic. 

On December 12. 1871, Colonel Matson was married to Mary X. Far- 
row, second daughter of Col. William L. Farrow, an old and highlv esteemed 
family of the county. The Colonel and wife are the parents of three chil- 
dren. Smith C. a prominent attorney at Ardmore. Oklahoma: Rees F.. and 
Mary Xelson. now the wife of Charles Walter Brown, living in Chicago. 

Colonel Matson's record in the service of his fellow men is a lono- one 
and many instances could be cited of his fidelity to his country-men, especiallv 
while a member of Congress. In the forty-ninth session he introduced a bill 
. and had it passed under the suspension of the rules, known as the "Dependent 
Pension" bill, which President Cleveland vetoed. He was chairman of the 
committee on invalid pensions in the forty-eighth, forty-ninth and fiftieth 
Congresses. Fraternally he is well up in Masonr}', having attained the 
Royal Arch degree. 

On August 24. 1909. Governor Marshall appointed Colonel Matson a 
member of the state board of tax commissioners, for four years, on his own 
motion, when there were seventy-three applicants. 



254 WEIK S HISTORY OF 

Colonel Matson has tried many of the most important civil and criminal 
cases in Indiana, his record as a lawyer ranking- second to none in the state. 
He infuses his personality, courage and conscience into his work, is active 
among his books, is determined and has the strength of will for achievement. 
Habits of systematized thought, study and reflection have invigorated his 
mind and he has always had clear discernments of the law, comprehension 
of its principles, and, to points in contention, the genius of their application. 
He is a safe and competent adviser, being a man of firm and decided convic- 
tions, whether in the law, in politics as a Democrat or in any department of 
thought or action embodying his time and attention. Frank, bold, honest, 
aggressive, he or his position can not well be misunderstood, acting and 
thinking quickly, but never evading, always meeting a situation squarely. 
He is known as a man of energy, intellect, will; has self-purpose, resolution 
and determination, throwing his entire force of body and mind upon his 
work; but his self-reliance has not been wholly acquired; it was born in him. 
In his private and social relations he is enjoyable, genial, animated, enter- 
taining and at all times the well bred, genteel gentleman. There is no pre- 
tense or display about him, caring little for the "lime light," merely desiring 
to do his duty as he sees and understands it and to be of the greatest service 
to his country. 



SIMPSON FARROW LOCKRIDGE. 

The gentleman whose name forms the caption of this sketch belongs to 
that class of men who win in life's battles by sheer force of personality and 
determination, coupled with soundness of judgment and keen discernment, 
and in whatever he has undertaken he has shown himself to be a man of 
ability and honor, always ready to lend his aid in defending principles affect- 
ing the public good, having very ably and conscientiously served his country 
in the capacities of legislator and soldier and equally well in many roles dur- 
ing a career altogether commendable. 

Simpson Farrow Lockridge was born on his father's farm, fifteen miles 
north of Greencastle, Indiana, January 23, 1846, the son of Andrew M. 
Lockridge. one of the early pioneers of Putnam county and a man remem- 
bered by a large circle of friends and acquaintances for his probity of char- 
acter and habits of industry. He was of Scotch descent on his father's side 
and of Irish extraction on his mother's, both born in Montgomery county, 
Kentucky, where they grew to maturity, married and successfully engaged in 



PUTNAM COUXTY. INDIANA. 255 

farming, in fact the Lockridges for many generations have been well-known 
agriculturists and stock breeders and raisers in both Kentucky and Indiana, 
and Simpson F. seems to have inherited from his worthy progenitors his 
love for fine stock and well cultivated fields, thus making him one of the best 
known breeders of fine stock in this part of the state. In 1835 the family 
moved from Kentuclcy to Indiana, locating upon land in Putnam county, 
which was purchased by Grandfather Lockridge shortly before his death, 
and here, amid primitive conditions, like other pioneers of those early days, 
a home was established, a clearing made in the wilderness and in due course 
of time a good farm developed. 

Andrew M. Lockridge married Elizabeth S. Farrow, daughter of Col. 
A. S. Farrow, a sterling pioneer of Indiana, having come to this state from 
Kentucky in 1830. He was a prominent man in political affairs and had the 
distinction of being a member of the convention that framed the constitution 
of the state. The names Lockridge and Farrow appear on the regimental 
rolls of the Revolutionary war and the war of 1S12. also the frontier Indian 
wars. Desiring to perpetuate the military records of these sterling families, 
Simpson F. Lockridge endeavored to enlist in the Union army early in the 
Civil war, but was not permitted to do so longer than a short period at a time ; 
however, he saw some service during the years 1862, 1863 and 1864, while a 
member of the Seventy-eighth and One Hundred and Thirty-third Indiana 
A'olunteer Regiments. He proved his mettle so well and was so faithful in 
the performance of every duty that when he received his last honorable dis- 
charge he wore the straps of a sergeant. This service made him eligible for 
membership in the Grand Army of the Republic, and he was honored by 
General Torrence of Minnesota, as aide-de-camp on his staff when the latter 
was commander-in-chief of the organization. 

After he returned from his army career Mr. Lockridge entered Asbury 
(now DePauw) University, where he made a splendid record and from which 
institution he was graduated in 1868. He had applied himself so assiduously 
to his text books that he impaired his health, and to recuperate he visited 
the Pacific coast, remaining there about a year, returning home greatly in- 
vigorated. He then gratified an ambition of long standing by beginning the 
study of law; but finding Blackstone more irksome than he had anticipated 
and having a natural longing for the out-of-doors, he abandoned the law 
and turned his attention to breeding fine cattle, having always been a lover 
of blooded stock, and he readily conceived the idea of greatly improving the 
breed of the cattle then in Putnam county, knowing that this would mean 
much in a financial way to not only himself but to the whole community, 



256 weik's history of 

and lie accordingly set to work developing a plan with this end in view, with 
the result that he has accomplished an untold amount of good for his fellow 
men and has doubtless surpassed in this and in a financial way anything ht 
could have done had he continued in the law. His pure-bred stock soon 
became widely known and were the admiration of all, buyers coming to him 
from all parts of the county and adjoining counties soon after he began his 
work in 1872. In 1874 he visited Canada in quest of a bull as leader of the 
herd, finally selecting "Lord Strathallan," an unusually splendid specimen 
of the bovine tribe. He was bred in Scotland and Mr. Lockridge paid the 
sum of twenty-five hundred dollars for him and shipped him to his farm in 
Putnam county. Since that time great advancement has been made and Mr.' 
Lockridge has become widely known as one of the best authorities on Short- 
horn cattle in the country, now keeping a large herd of pure-bred Shorthorn 
cattle on his excellent farm of several hundred acres, which is one of the 
model farms of Putnam county, being well improved in every respect, is well 
tilled and on it stands a modern and attractive residence and substantial and 
commodious barns and outbuildings. 

Mr. Lockridge has the distinction of being one of the organizers of the 
American Shorthorn Breeders' .-\ssociation. and he has been an important 
factor in the affairs of the same from the first, having been a director in the 
association since its incorporation and he has held the office of president and 
secretary. 

Mr. Lockridge formerly took considerable interest in politics and was 
often called into the councils of his party. As a result of his public-spirit, 
his genuine worth and his efforts in behalf of the Republican party, he was 
nominated and elected as state senator from Putnam and Hendricks counties, 
serving two tenns from 1880 to 1884, making a record that was entirely 
creditable to himself and to the satisfaction of his constituents, irrespective 
of party ties. Personally he is a good mi.xer, genial, genteel, well informed 
on all current topics and a man in whom the utmost confidence is reposed 
bv those who know him best. 



GEORHE WORTH BEXCE. M. D, 

In presenting the record of this successful and representative member of 
the Bence familv. one of the best established and most highly honored of Put- 
nam county during the i)ast half century, the reader will not only find much 
that will prove interesting, but may profit by those experiences which, when 





^Ix^-v-^^^'-C 



PUTNAM COUNTY, INDIANA. 257 

properl\- applied to those conditions that (juite generally fall to the lot (jt the 
a\erage man. invariably lead to success. For the past quarter of a century 
he has been one of the leading physicians in this community which has long 
been noted for the high order of its medical talent, his name having become 
a household w ord not only to the citizens of Greencastle but to those residing 
in remote parts of the county and in adjoining coimties. He is also regarded 
as one of the county's foremost citizens, being deepl\' concerned in all that 
pertains to its general uplift and. although a very busv man. he is always readv 
to do his full share in furthering any mo\ement looking to the general good. 

Doctor Bence was born near Louisville, in Jefferson county, Kentucky, 
Xovember 1 1, 1846. His father, Philip Bence. was also a native of the Blue 
Grass state, where he grew to maturity, was educated and where he took up 
farming, which he made his life work. He moved to Indiana in 1853. locating 
in Washington township. Putnam county, where he lived until his death, in 
i88j, at the age of eighty-one years, having been born in 1801. He \\as a 
very industrious and honest man. respected by all who knew him, and he 
became inriuential in Washington township, although he led a rather quiet life 
on his farm. He was one of fifteen children bom to Pliilip Bence, Sr.. and 
wife. The Bence family comes of good old German stock on both the pa- 
ternal and maternal sides. C^irandfather Philip Bence, Sr.. was a nati\"e of 
Pennsylvania, from which state he descended the Ohio rixer in a flatboat to 
Louisville. Kentuck}-. in a veiy early da\'. The Doctor's father first married 
L}-dia Doup. of Mar\land. In- w hich union four children were born, nameh- : 
Fountain R., Onesimus O.. Tabitha E. and Jeptha D. These children have 
long since passed to the great be\"ond. each ha\'ing li\'ed to be over se\'entv 
years of age, the psalmist's allotted span of }-ears to mankind. Philip Pence 
chose as his second wife Anna ^'enawine. by which union si.x children were 
Ijorn, named as folliiws : luhn A., who li\es on the old home farm in Washing- 
ton township: Lydia. now deceased, was the wife of John Lydick, of Putnam 
count}- : Lcnn'sa J. is the wife of Philip Plutcheson. residing in Washington 
township; Genexa .\.. wIki nnrried G. C. Smith, is deceased; ]\[atikla M. mar- 
ried Levi Plepler and the\' are both deceased: Dr. G. W.. of this review, was 
the youngest in order of biith. 

When se\en veai's of age. George W. Bence came to Putnam count v. 
Indiana, w ith his parents. He received a common school education and w orked 
nn the hduie farm until he was twenty-three years of age. In 1869 he grati- 
fied a desire of long standing by beginning the study of medicine with Dr. 
Jiihn Wilcox in Greencastle. with whoiu he remained one year, then entered 
the medical department of the L'niversity of \'irginia, where he made rapid 

(17) 



25S weik's history of 

strides in materia medica and from which institntion he was graduated with 
honor in June. 1S71. being one of thirteen who were graduated from a class 
of sixt}'-fi\'e. 

Thus being well equipped to enter his chosen profession, the Doctor 
opened an office on August i, 1871, at Carbon. Clay county, Indiana, where 
he soon had a good foothold and where he practiced with increasing success 
for a period of eight years. On July 9, 1879. he came to Greencastle and 
he has maintained his office here ever since. While living at Carbon he took 
a post-graduate course on diseases of the eye, in New York, with the noted 
Doctors Noyes and Mittendorf. He also studied for three months with Dr. 
John Green of St. Louis. He has successfully engaged in continuous practice 
here since the date mentioned above. 

Doctor Bence has long been interested in politics, finding time in the midst 
of his manifold duties to take an active part in party affairs, and while living 
in Clay count v in 1874. he was elected to the lower house of the state Legisla- 
ture, and was a member of the regular and special sessions of 1875, in which 
he made his influence felt on the floor and in committee work, and he repre- 
sented his locality in a very able and conscientious manner, reflecting credit 
upon himself and receiving the hearty commendation of his constituents. 
Doctor Bence was secretary of the Putnam county board of health for a period 
of twentv-two vears, beginning in 1882, when the law was first passed, and 
serving until 1904. During that long period the affairs pertaining to this 
branch of the countv's business were looked after with a fidelity that resulted 
in incalculable good and in winning for the Doctor the hearty praise of all 
classes. 

The domestic chapter in the life of Doctor Bence dates from 1873, '^vhen 
he espoused Kizzie C. Pratt, a native of Clay county, who lived only three 
weeks after their wedding. In 1876 he married Sibbie Loftus. of Carbon, 
Indiana, who was a native of this county, and her death occurred in October, 
1881. Two children resulted from this union, one dying before the mother 
passed awav and the other four years later. On January 16, 1884, Doctor 
Bence married Alinnie Brandon, of Greencastle, who was born on a boat on 
the Hudson river. New York. Three children were born to this union, 
namely; Era, born in 1890: Edna, bom in 1891 ; the other child died in in- 
fancy. Both the living children are at this writing attending DePauw Uni- 
versitv, where they are making excellent records. 

The Doctor is a Mason in his fraternal relations, belonging to Temple 
Lodo-e, No. 47. He has also taken the degrees of the Scottish rite up to and 
including the thirty-second. He has been very successful from a financial 



PL'TXA.M COUNTY, INDIANA. ' 259 

Standpoint, and he is at this writing president of the Owl Drug Company and 
the Red Cross Drug Company, both of Greencastle. He was one of the first 
breeders of Angora goats in Indiana and has shipped them all over the coun- 
try, having recently shipped a consignment to Argentine Republic. He now 
maintains a goat farm and his fine goats are admired by all who see them. 
He owns some valuable farms and much city propertv. He endowed the 
German library of DePauw University with the sum of two thousand dollars. 
He is president of the Plezee Company, manufacturers of the celebrated soft 
drink known as "Plezee" all over the country. He is president of the Green- 
castle Commercial Club, the success of which has been very largely due to his 
wise counsel and active interest in promoting the city's various affairs. He is 
secretary of the Live Oak Plantation Company, which owns over twelve thou- 
sand acres of lands in Louisiana. The company raises hogs, cattle, rice, 
fruits, etc.. and it has proven to be a very successful venture. 

Doctor Bence's methods are in keeping with the progressive spirit of the 
twentieth centur}- and the splendid condition of the propertv over which he 
has charge is a monument to his well directed efforts. He is a man of broad 
humanitarian principles, earnest purpose and upright life, and bv all is es- 
teemed for his courteous manner, genial disposition and genuine worth. 



OUIXTOX BROADSTREET. 

Among the best known and most highly respected families of Putnam 
county is found the one bearing the name that forms the caption of this 
article, members of which have figured conspicuously in the business and 
social life of the county since the pioneer days, assisting in the general 
development of the same whenever possible. Ouinton Broadstreet is regarded 
by all who know him as a man of strong mentality, invincible courage and 
determined individuality, and he has so entered into the historv of his 
section of the great Hoosier state as to make his presence felt as a factor 
in its industrial affairs, and in a large sense he may be classed as a director 
of thought in matters of business coming within his special province. Like 
many of the solid and substantial men of Greencastle. he has long endeavored 
to advance the interests of the community at large while laboring for his own 
advancement and he has therefore won the confidence and esteem of all 
classes. He is a native of Hendricks county, Indiana, having been born at 
Stilesville. August 14, 1837, the son of James and Alelvira A. (Gentry) 



26o WEIK S HISTORY OF 

Broadstreet. the former a native of Jackson county. Indiana, and the latter 
of BuHitt county. Kentucky. The father was a plain, old-fashioned farmer, 
but a man of influence in his community, being scrupulously honest and kind 
to his neighbors and strangers as well. He spent practically all his life in 
Mill Creek township. Putnam county, where his death occurred in 1884, at 
the age of sixty-si.x years. His paternal ancestors were Irish and they came 
to America prior to the Revolutionary war. his father being Thomas Broad- 
street, who was a pioneer of Washington county. Indiana, settling there very 
early in the nineteenth century. He removed to Marion township, this 
countv. in i8_'5, where he entered eighty acres which he worked in connection 
with church work, he having been an earnest Missionary Baptist minister and 
"he became well known in this locality in that connection and his services 
were greativ appreciated by the first settlers here. Melvira A. Gentry, the 
maiden name of the mother of Ouinton Broadstreet, was a woman of many 
admirable traits of character. She spent her early youth in Kentucky, coming 
to Hendricks county, Indiana, when fifteen years old, accompanying her par- 
ents, who located there. Her death occurred in 1894. To Mr. and Mrs. 
Tames Broadstreet ten children were born, namely : Ouinton, of this review ; 
Eliza J., now deceased, married Calvin Hurst; Isaac B. died when seventeen 
years of age; Rachael, who married David Haines, is deceased; Sarah Ann, 
who married Henderson Layne, is deceased; Xancy is the wife of John W. 
Stringer, residing in Mill Creek township. Putnam county; Thomas H. lives 
at Coatsville, Hendricks county ; Mary Ellen is deceased ; Jerusha died when 
eighteen vears of age ; John C. resides in Mill Creek township. 

Ouinton Broadstreet removed with his parents from Stilesville. Indiana, 
to a farm when he was but a child, and when of proper age he began working 
on the farm and continued agricultural pursuits until 1888. when he mo\ed to 
Greencastle and engaged in the real estate, loan and insurance business with 
W. B. Vestal. He has succeeded in building up a large and lucrative business 
in this line owing to his close application to his individual affairs, his minute 
knowledge i)f real estate values in this locality and his fair and conscientious 
treatment of all with whom he has dealings. He was very successful as a 
farmer and stockman, and he still retains his farming interests, which are 
e.\tensi\e and waluable. 

Mr. Broadstreet was first married on ]^Iarch 22. 1864, to Sarah Ellen 
Euis. who was born in this county, her people being highly respected here 
in the latter half of the nineteenth century. This marriage resulted in the 
birth of the following children : Melvira Ann is the wife of C. Elmer Wal- 
lace, of Mill Creek township: Ida E. died when eighteen years of age: Francis 



PL'TNAM COrXTY, INDIANA. 261 

Marion died at tlie age of t\\ent\': Leander died at the age of eighteen years; 
Charles P. was a leading grocer of Greencastle and one of the most popular 
young business men of the city, but is now farming; James Virgil died at the 
age of eighteen years; Delia May is the wife of William B. Peck, of Green- 
castle; Ernest died in childhooc.l. The mother of these children was called 
to her rest in 1887 and Mr. Broadstreet was marriefl in 1900 to Margaret J. 
Walters, of Greencastle. where she has a wide circle of friends. This union 
is without issue. 

Mr. Broadstreet was trustee (^f Mill Creek township for several vears 
and was also assessor of that township, filling each office with credit to him- 
self and satisfaction to all concerned. Politically he is a Democrat, but is 
not active in the party. Owing to his well-known business ability he acts 
as administrator of numerous estates, and d(ies much similar work in con- 
nection with his own office work. Personally he is a man of imposing pres- 
ence, portly, energetic, jolly, courteous and always generous and hospitable, 
hence his easy manner of making and retaining friends. He has been very 
successful in life in a financial way. and now that the shadows of the evening 
of life have begun to lengthen he can look backward over a career that is satis- 
factorv in the main, one o\er which no shadow of evil rests, conscii^us of the 
fact that he has done the best he could with his opportunities and enxironment 
and that he has benefited man\- who ha\-e been associated with him in all the 
relatiiins n\ life. 



ALEXANDER H. LOCKRIDGE. 

A worthy representati\ e of one of the leading families of Putnam 
county is .Me.xander H. Lockridge. well kn<n\n farmer and stock dealer. 
Throughout tlie country he eiijo}'s distinctive prestige among the enterprising 
business men. having earned the right to be called one of the progressive 
men of this locality, having fought Ins way onward and upward to a promi- 
nent position in industrial circles and in e\ery relation of life his \'oice and 
influence are on the side of right as he sees and understands the right. He 
is a native of this county and has spent his life here, his birth having occurred 
June 10. 1848. the son of Andrew M. and Elizabeth (Farrow) Lockridge. 
His ancestors i:)n both sides of the house were pioneers of Putnam countv, 
and owing to the fact that much space is devoted to them elsewdiere in this 
work, their life records will not be repeated here; suffice it to say in passing 
that no more worth v rir influential people ever honored the Hoosier state with 
their j^resence. 



262 weik's history of 

Alexander H. Lockridge was educated in the public schools, later at- 
tended DePauw University, which in those early days was known as Asbury 
University, receiving an excellent education. He began working on the home 
place early in his youth and he has devoted his life to farming and stock 
raising with splendid success attending his efforts. He is a typical twentieth- 
century agriculturist, broad minded, alert, promoting new lines and phases 
of the same in a manner that stamps him as fully abreast of the times, and only 
a cursory glance at his model and very desirable farm is sufficient to indicate 
that a gentleman of thrift and good taste has its management in hand, and, 
being one of the best and most extensive stock feeders in the county, he has 
become widely known to stock men locally and at distant markets where 
high-grade stock, such as he always offers for sale, are duly appreciated and 
sought after. 

Mr. Lockridge is the owner of fifteen hundred acres of valuable land 
in Putnam county, which is kept well improved and tilled, bounteous crops 
being harvested therefrom annually under his able supervision ; however, 
much of the minor detail work of his fields are left to others and a great deal 
of Mr. Lockridge's attention is directed to his large herds of cattle, with which 
he has been very successful. At one time he sold eighty-six head of cattle on 
the Chicago market which brought eight dollars and forty-five cents per 
hundred pounds, which is on record as one of the highest prices ever paid 
for any one herd of cattle. 

The Lockridge residence is beautifully located, commodious, attractive 
and elegantly furnished, having all modern conveniences and surrounded 
by substantial barns and outbuildings. 

On January 23. 1S79. Mr. Lockridge was united in marriage with Laura 
Pickrell. of Springfield, Illinois, daughter of William and Amanda (Robin- 
son) Pickrell. an old and highly respected family. Mrs. Lockridge was well 
educated and is known to a large circle of friends as a woman of excellent 
attributes. This union has resulted in the birth of two children. Andrew M., 
born October 16, 1879, who is living in California, and William P.. born April 
I J, 1 88 1, who is living at home and is ably assisting his father in the man- 
agement of his large interests. He is one of the most popular young men of 
the community and is evincing splendid business qualifications. He is a 
member of Lodge No. 1077. Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks. 

Mr. Lockridge showed his patriotism during the great war l^etueen 
the states, although a mere lad, by enlisting in the One Hundred and Thirtv- 
third Regiment. Indiana Volunteer Infantry, in 1864. for the one-hundred- 
dav service, during which time he had some interesting experiences. After 



PUTNAM COUNTY, INDIANA. 263 

the war he returned liome ami resumed farming'. He is a member of the 
Grand Army of the RepubHc. Post ii. at Greencastle. PoHtically he is a 
RepubHcan, but has never aspired to party honors, preferring to devote his 
exclusive attention to his private business affairs. He is a quiet, unassuming 
man whom evePv'body likes because of his straightforward, honest dealings 
w ith liis fellow men and his genial disposition. 



THOMAS GILLESPIE. 

Xo name is more familiar in Putnam county than that of Gillespie; The 
first settlers of this name came in as early or before the organization of the 
countv and their descendants have ramified until, by increase and intermar- 
riage, thev are connected with a large part of the population. Members of 
the family have been engaged in many kinds of business, have developed good 
business men and achieved unusual success in their various callings. It would 
take several volumes to give a history of the Gillespies, who have enriched 
the citizens of Putnam county by their energy, industry and law-abiding char- 
acter. They have done much individually and collectively for the develop- 
ment of Putnam county and take credit for a good deal of the progress which 
has marked the last half century. James Gillespie, who was born in Virginia 
in 1810, came west when still young and settled in Clinton county, 
Ohio, where he died. He worked for a while at a tanner. Thomas Gillespie 
came to Putnam county in 18:28. when this region was still in almost primitive 
condition, with onlv a sparse population. log cabins, scattered here and there, 
wide apart and the woods still full of game. He followed his occupation as 
a tanner until 1S50. wdien he changed to farming. He hail but a limited 
education, as in his day schools were poor and scarce, but he made up for this 
deficiencv in after life by much reading an<I study. Though a Democrat in a 
mild wav, he never sought office, being a quiet unobtrusive man. who attended 
industriouslv to his own business and did not interfere with that of others. 
He had the reputation of being the strongest man physically in the county 
and many stories are told of his feats in lifting and throwing. He died 
August 21. 1890. and was laid away in Forest Hill cemeten,-. James G. 
married Katherine Peck, and Thomas Gillespie was a son of this union. He 
married Elizabeth Shore Farrow, who was born December 28. 1S21. her 
parents being Richarrl and !\lary fXelson) Farrow, one of the old pioneer 
families of the county. The children are as follrnvs : Mary Jcjsephine. 



264 weik's history of 

born June 30, 1840. and married Isaac H. Meekins and lives in Iowa; 
Katherine Howard, born January i, 1842, now ]^Irs. Arthur \Vood, 
is a resident of Champaign, Illinois; James M., born June 15, 1843, 
lives in \ igo county: Martha, born March 2^, 1845, "'^''^' ^frs. 
J. W. Fletcher, lives in Shenandoah, Iowa; Elizabeth F.. born February 21, 
1847. ''"'^^' ^Irs- \\ illiani Hathawav. resides in Clinton township, Putnam 
county; Sarah Evelyn, born September 29, 1849, died September 29, 185S; 
William F., born October 9, 1850, is a resident of Inilianapolis ; Margaret, 
born December 30. 1851, is a resident of Greencastle ; Richard A., born Sep- 
tember 25, 1853, lives in Greencastle and is a farmer by occupation; Thomas 
P., born March 26, 1855, is a resident oi Log-anspc irt : Susan F., Ijorn Jan- 
uary 3, 1857, died November 2j. 1857; Emma Clay, born January 10, 185S, 
is now Mrs. P. \\'. McXary ; Anna D., Ixirn January 14. i860, is now Mrs. 
D. C. Stairwalt. and resides in Greencastle; Daniel A., born March 8. 1862. 
is a resident of Logansport: Joseph F. is a physician of Greencastle; Be\'erly 
is a dentist in the same city. The mother of this family died .\ugust 9, 1896, 
at the age of seventv-four vears. 



JAMES LAF.VYETTE RAXDEL. 

The family of this name originated in Xew York, from which state rep- 
resentatives removed to South Carolina, where Thomas Randel was born 
during the latter part of the eighteenth century, coming in early life to In- 
diana and finding a last resting place near Bainbridge. Putnam county. His 
son, William Randel. was born in Union cijunty. South Carolina, August 26, 
1793, lived in Franklin county, Georgia, from [801 to 1807. anrl went through 
the Cherokee Indian nation to Barren county, Kentucky, where he grew to 
manhood, married, and in 1824 came to Putnam county, settling on 
a farm in Monroe township, where several generations of the family were 
born and developed. He married, first. Xancy McReynolds, by whom he had 
a numl)er of children, including Gibson Randel. Mrs. Malinda Sharp. Mrs. 
^[aria ]\[cCov, Mrs. Man- Daniels. John \\'., and Mrs. Emma Summers, all of 
whom are dead. Harrison M. Randel was the youngest of the children and 
is the onl\- one li\ing. The mother died about 1845 and a second marriage 
was contracted with Xanc}' (Siddons) Stevens, who died about 1881, with- 
out issue. The father died in 18S5, when ninety-two }-ears old, longevity 
being a characteristic of this hard\- race. Harrison M. Randel was born in 



PTTXAM COLXTV, INDIANA. 265 

Putnam county. Indiana. December j;. 1838. and after reaching manhootl 
engaged in faniung, which has been his hte work. In 1862 he was elected 
county sur\eyoi- and served eight years. In 1S70 he was elected countv 
treasurer and re-elected in 1873 on the Democratic ticket. In 1874 he was 
elected county auditor, in which otfice he served four rears, after which he 
retired to his farm and subsequently remnveii to Greencastle. where he has re- 
sitled for some ten or eleven years. He first married Xancy A. Stevens, a na- 
tive of PYitnam county from near Rainbridge. and bv this union there were 
seven children, five of whom are living: \\'illiam M.. of Greencastle: James 
L.. the subject : Thomas F.. of Hendricks county. Indiana : Daniel \'.. of Alibe- 
vdle. Louisiana: and Harry Clay, a druggist at Terre Haute. The mother 
died in 1892, when about fifty-one years old. she and F. :M.. the oldest child, 
and .Mrs. Carrie Hirt, the only daughter, dying of typhoid fever within a 
month of each other. The father's second wife was Ella King, who died one 
year later without issue. A third marriage occurred with Amanda, daughter 
of Elsephus Thomas, one of the early and wealthy pioneers of the count}-. 

James L. Randel. seccjud of his father's sur\iving children, was born 
near Bainbridge, Putnam county, Indiana. December to. i86j. He remained 
on the farm until his father's election as county treasurer and went with the 
latter to Greencastle when nine years old. He attended school at the county 
seat and assisted his father in the office. After his father's election as auditor, 
he was appointed deputy and retained this place for four vears. attending 
school a part of the time. He afterwards was appointed deputv treasurer 
under W. R. Gnigan and later deputy auditor under J. U. Edwards. He also 
ser\ed as deput\- treasurer under Ephraim Tucker and in 1886 was elected 
county audit(-ir, in which position he served from 1887 to November i, 189 1. 
January i. 189J. he accepted employment with the First Xational Bank as 
collection clerk: in .\pril, 1893, 'i^ ^^'^■'^ appointed assistant cashier of the Cen- 
tral Xational Bank and served until 1904. when he was elected cashier. In 
May. 1900, he was one of the organizers of the Central Trust Companv, of 
which he was elected secretar\- and has since retained that positi(in. In 1893 
he was elected a meml)er of the city council from the first ward and served 
four years. He ranks high in financial circles, as is evidenced by the honors 
bestowed u[)on him by various organizations. He is president of the Fifth 
District Bankers' Association, was a member of the executive council of the 
Indiana Bankers' As.sociation for 1909-10. president of the trust company 
section of the Indiana Bankers' Association, vice-president for Indiana of the 
trust com]iany section of the American Bankers' Association, and member of 



2(56 weik's history of 

the building committee of Putnam county's new court house, being appointed 
to act with the board of county commissioners by the judge of the circuit 
court. 

'Sir. Randel's fraternal connections are numerous and indicative of his 
standing and popularity. He is trustee of Temple Lodge, Xo. 47, Free and 
Accepted Masons, past high priest and trustee of Greencastle Chapter. Xo. 
22, Royal Arch Masons, past eminent commander of Greencastle Command- 
ery. X'o. 11. Knights Templar, and grand warder of the grand commandery 
Knights Templar of Indiana. He is also a member of Indiana consistory, 
Scottish rite, and Murat Temple, Ancient Arabic Order X'obles of the Mystic 
Shrine. He is also a member of the Knights of Pythias, and treasurer of 
Greencastle Lodge, Xo. 1077, Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks. He 
has always been active and influential as a Democrat and holds the position of 
chairman of the city committee of his party. 

On October 9. 1883, Mr. Randel married Martha E.. daughter of John 
\V. A. Llall, who lives in the vicinity of Roachdale, where she was born April 
II, 1866. Mr. and Mrs. Randel have had four children: Frank H., who died 
in infancy; Walter C., who died when three years old ; Clyde R., who was born 
Julv 14, 1888, is a senior at DePauw University; Xaomi, who was born No- 
vember 30, 1893, is a student at DePauw University. Mr. Randel is a deacon 
and trustee of the Christian church and a citizen of the highest standing and 
regarded as an unusually able business man by the people of Putnam county, 
who have so often exhibited their regard and respect for him. 



WILLIAAI B. VESTAL. 

The Vestals have been conspicuous in the affairs of Putnam county 
since the days of the first settler, the several members playing well their 
parts in all the relations of life and establishing reputations for both industry 
and integritv as well as public spirit and hospitalit}'. and no member of 
this familv is better known or has been of greater service to his fellow 
men than William B. Vestal, who was born in Warren township, Putnam 
countv, Februarv i, 1843, and whose home is now in Greencastle. 

The Vestal familv comes of Scotch-Irish stock on the paternal side, 
William Vestal being the first of the name to come to the United States. 
having emigrated here in 1683 with the famous William Penn cr.ldnists. 
Meeting a Miss INlercer, a \\'elsh lady, on the vessel which brnuglit them to 



PUTNAM COUNTY, INDIANA. 267 

America, they were married and upon arriving on our shores located in 
Lancaster countv, Pennsylvania. One of their children. Thomas, moved to 
Xortli Carolina, where he married a Miss Davis. Their son, William, mar- 
ried into the Wheeler family, who lived near Rock River, that state, in which 
vicinity Mr. Vestal had settled. Thomas, one of their children, married a 
Miss Brower and these were the great-grandparents of William B. X'estal. 
of this review. Thomas Vestal, brother of William, of North Carolina, was 
a soldier in the Revolutionary war. 

Samuel \'estal. father of William B., was a native of Kentucky, who 
came to Indiana in 1S22. settling in Warren township, Putnam county. Indi- 
ana. His father. \\'illiam \"estal. also came here at that time. They were both 
farmers and hardy pioneers. The latter, grandfather of the subject, was 
born in Rock River, North Carolina, in 1790, and he died in 1863 at the age 
of seventy-three years, spending his last days in Iowa, where he had moved 
in 184S. He was twice married, first to Sarah Moore, a native of Kentucky, 
and lastly to her sister, Esther. Samuel, father of William B., of this review, 
was born of the first union, another child born to them dying in infancy. 
Ten children were born of the second union. 

Samuel \'estal was born in 18 17 and he died in Warren township. Put- 
nam county. Indiana. January 20. 1891, at the age of seventy-four years. 
He married Tillitha Erinton, who was born near Lebanon, Kentucky, 1819, 
and who died on Februar\' 15. 1904. Seven children were born to this union, 
namely: ]\Iary Jane, wife of John Branhan, of Limedale, Putnam county; 
William B-., of this review; Margaret A. died in 1880; James A\'. lives one 
mile north of Cloverdale ; Ellen died in 1866. at the age of twelve years; 
Emilv F. is the wife of ^Manford Chamberlin, living near Goverdale, this 
county; Elizabeth P. is the wife of Havila Jones, living near Cloverdale. 

William B. Vestal remained on the old home farm until 1870, where 
he alternated farming with schooling in the district sch(Mls. He studied hard 
and recei\'ed a good education, and taught school in a very acceptable manner 
for a period of fifteen years in Putnam county, in the country schools, prin- 
cipally at Cloverdale and Manhattan. From 1875 to 1880 he engaged in the 
li\-ery business at Cloverdale. after \\hich he farmed for a few years near 
that town. From 1887 to 1888 he was mail clerk on the Vandalia railroad. 
In 1888 he was elected sheriiif of Putnam county on the Democratic ticket 
and so faith fullv and well did he perform the duties of this important office 
that he was re-elected in 1890. making one of the best officials the county has 
e\-er had, according to manv of his constituents, .\fter leaving this office, 
y\r. Vestal engaged in the real estate business, abstracts and loans, forming 



2bO WEIK S HISTORY OF 

the firm of X'estal & Broatlstreet in 1894. which has C(nitinue<l until the present 
time, a very satisfactory Ixisiness lia\'ing l)een hiiilt up. From 1S72 to 
1878 lie was trustee of CIo\erclale township. 

Mr. \'estal was one of the loyal supporters of the Union cruise during 
the (lark days of the sixties, having enlisted in Company T. Fifty-fifth Regi- 
ment Indiana Volunteer Infantry, in 1862. and in 1864 he re-enlisted in 
Company E. Fifty-first Indiana Regiment. He saw much active service in 
general warfare in Kentucky, and he f<night at Columbia and Xa.shville and 
at the many and almcist continuous skirmishes between those battle grounds. 
At the close of hostilities he received an honorable discharge and returned 
home. 

In September. 1869. Mr. Vestal married Isis M. East, daughter of Baily 
East, of Heltonville. Lawrence county. Indiana, where JVIrs. Vestal was 
bom. reared and educated. This union resulted in the birth of five children, 
namely: Clarence A., now engaged in the livery business in Greencastle ; 
Capt. Samuel Curtis, who is now on the general military staff at ^Manila. 
Philippine Islands, is a graduate of the Annapolis Military Academy; Xellie 
M. was born in 1876 and died in 1880: Edith is the wife o£ Tilden McNeff, 
Ii\-ing near Putnamville. this count}': the youngest child died in infancv un- 
named. 

Mr. Vestal is a ^klason, belonging to the blue lodge, chapter and com- 
mandery, and he also holds membership in the local post of the Grand Armv 
of the Republic. Personally he is a good mixer, genial, public-spirited and 
honest, as were his ancestors before him. hence he enjoys the confidence and 
friendship of all who know him. 



SENATOR FRANCIS CALVIX TILDEX. 

The life of the scholarly or professional man seldom exhibits anv of those 
striking incidents that seize upon public feeling and attract attention to him- 
self. Hi.s character is generally made up of the aggregate qualities and 
qualifications he may possess, as these may be elicited b\- the exercise of the 
duties of his vocation or the particular profession to which he belongs. But 
when such a man has so impressed his individuality upon his fellow men as 
to gain their confidence, and through that confidence rises to high and im- 
portant public trust, he at once becomes a conspicuous figure in the boflv 
politic of the communit}' and the state. Such a man is Senator Francis 
Calvin Tilden. who. not content to hide his talents amid life's sequestered 



PL"TN'AM COL'XTV. IXDIANA. 269 

^\'a^•s, lias hv the force of will and a laudable ambition forged to the front 
in a responsible and exacting calling and while yet young in years earned an 
honorable reputation in one of the most important branches of public service. 
His life has been one of hard study and research from his youth and. since 
maturity, of laliorious professional duty in the several relations in which 
lie has been placed: and the hi.gh public position to which he has attained is 
evidence that the qualities he possesses afford the means of distinction under a 
system of government in which places of honor and usefulness are open to 
all who may be found worthy of them. 

Senator Tilden. who is one of the l)est known men in Putnam county, 
or, in fact, this portion of the state, is fortunate in a long line of distinguisheil 
ancestr\-. man\- of whom figured pronn'nently in ever\- walk of life. Me 
was born in Grundy county. Illinois. September 20, 1872, the son of -\llen 
Sherwood Tilden, a native of \'ermont who joined the tide of emigration 
setting in stronglv from the Xew England states to the West in 1S52 and 
located in Crrundy county, Illinois, where he successfully (Operated a farm ; 
he was also a skilled machinist. He remaineil in Illinois until his death. 
in 1887. which occurred in a runaway accident. He was a highly respected 
and influential man in his ciMnmunity. although he led his life along quiet 
paths and did not seek official preferment; however, he was appointed by 
President Lincoln on the Illinois bounty board during the Civil war period, 
and he rendered very efficient service as treasurer of the same, w hich was a 
verv responsible position, it having come to him unsought soon after his 
enlistment as a soldier in the Union army. 

The Tilden family is of English extraction and may be traced back to 
Sir Richard Tilden. who was knighted under Queen Elizabeth. Under King 
Tames II he came to America and surveyed the colony of Massachusetts, in 
which state he located and reared a family, some members of which went to 
\'emiont. and some to Connecticut. Samuel J. Tilden being of the latter 
branch. The branch of which Senator Tilden is a descendant lived in \'er- 
mont. This is one of the thirty-one families in America really entitled to a 
coat of arms. Crandfather Isaac Tilden w-as a native of Vermont, from 
which state he came to Illinois, bringing his son, Allen Sherwood, father of 
the Senator. He was a typical pioneer of sterling qualities and remained in 
Illinois until his death. 

.Mien Sherwood Tilden married Elvira Elizabeth ^\■iIlis. a woman of 
manv beautiful characteristics, the daughter of a highly honored family of 
Vermont, where she was born, reared and educated. To this union three 
children were l>orn. named as follows: Eva E. Tilden is living in Alarvville. 



270 WEIKS HISTORY OF 

Tennessee, where also resides the other daughter, Lucy M., now the wife of 
W. A. McTeer; Francis Calvin, of this review. 

Francis C. Tilden was reared on the parental farm in Grundy county, 
Illinois, and received his primary education in the district schools. He as- 
sisted with the lighter work about the place during the summer months, and 
amid the bracing airs and wholesome rural surroundings of the prairies grew 
to vigorous manhood. Coming to Greencastle, Indiana, he entered DePauw 
Academy, then took the university course, which he finished in a most credit- 
able manner in 1897. Desiring still higher mental discipline, he entered 
Harvard University, which institution conferred upon him the degree of 
Master of Arts in 1899, after he had spent two years there. He was very 
active during his college days, finding time aside from his regular work to 
de\'0te his attention to literature and athletics. He was editor of the college 
annual, Mirage, also the college paper, The Palladium, filling these positions 
in a very creditable manner, as he did also that of secretary of the athletic 
association, during which time the loan was negotiated by which they se- 
cured the McKeen field. He was elected a member of the Phi Beta Kappa — 
the scholarship society — only those students who make exceptionally high 
grades being elected. 

In 1900 Senator Tilden was honored by being elected professor of Eng- 
lish language and literature at Dakota University, located at Vermillion, South 
Dakota, and during the same year he was elected professor of English lit- 
erature at De?auw University, where he remained until 1904, giving the ut- 
most satisfaction, as he had done at his former post, being naturally gifted 
along these lines and profoundly versed in his chosen subjects, besides possess- 
ing the rare trait of being both an entertainer and an instructor in the school 
room. Desiring to more fully equip himself for this line of endeavor, he 
spent the summer of 1904 in study at Oxford and London, England, then 
returned to America for the purpose of taking the English work in the Winona 
schools, then being organized. He continued in the Winona school until 
May, 1907, when he resigned to take up journalistic work in Greencastle, 
having then become associated with the Star-Democrat Publish- 
ing Company, to which he has given his attention and talent up to the present 
time, greatly enhancing the prestige of this influential organ and rendering 
it a power for good in this vicinity, the Senator being an interesting and 
polished writer, always wielding a true and trenchant pen in championing the 
rights of his constituents and whatever would tend to the general good of 
Putnam county. 

Senator Tilden has long taken an active interest in the political arena. 



PUT.N'AM COUNTY, INDIANA. 2'JX 

in which he made his influence felt from the first, and his public spirit and 
talents attracted the attention of local political leaders and in 1908 the Demo- 
crats nominated him for state senator for the district comprising Putnam, 
^lorgan and Marion counties and he was subsequently elected. In this im- 
portant trust he has shown himself to be eminently well qualified and has dis- 
charged his duties in such an able and conscientious manner as to excite the 
admiration of his constituents, irrespective of party alignment. His in- 
fluence among his colleagues was potent from the first, they at once recog- 
nizing his earnestness and his fidelity to the right. He was closely connected 
with the local option legislation, being one of the two Democrats who pre- 
vented the repealing of the law. His term expires in 1912, and he will doubt- 
less accomplish much for this locality ere that date. 

In 1907 the Senator began lecture work, since which time he has fre- 
quently appeared at Chautauquas and before teachers' institutes, where he 
is always accorded hearty welcome, being a forceful and at times a truly elo- 
quent speaker, and always has a helpful and uplitting message. In January, 
19 10, he was further honored by being appointed special lecturer in literature 
at DePauw University. 

Senator Tilden's ideal domestic life began September 13. 1900, when 
he married Ethel Nash Arnold, the accomplished and cultured daughter of 
F, A. Arnold, a prominent citizen of Greencastle, in which city Mrs. Tilden 
■was born, reared and educated, being a graduate of DePauw University. 
This union has been graced by the birth of three children, named as follows : 
Francis Allen, born July 19, 1901 ; Elizabeth, born April 10, 1905; Richard 
Arnold, born December 30, 1906. Mr. and Mrs. Tilden are faithful mem- 
bers of the College Avenue Methodist Episcopal church. They are popular 
in all circles in this citv and highlv esteemed bv all classes. 



ARTHUR L. EVENS. 



The gentleman whose name heads this review is one of the leading con- 
tractors and builders of the southern part of Putnam county and he is also 
extensively engaged in fanning, owning a valuable piece of property near 
Putnamville, and the history of this township would be incomplete were 
there failure to make mention of him and the enterprise with which he is 
identified. Tireless energy and honesty of purpose are the chief character- 
istics of the man. 



272 WEIKS HISTORY OF 

Arthur I. E\ens was born in CloN'erdale township, this county, .\ugust 
23. 1S62. and is a son of John W. and Margaret ( Calhihan) E\ens. He 
received a common sciiool e<hication and when very young, fourteen years of 
age. he began working out by the montii in .jrder to get a start, and. lieing 
an energetic lad. he soon had a good foothold. He married Louisa E. Lewis, 
daughter of Israel G. and Susan J. Lewis, her father being a well-known 
minister in the Methodist Episcopal church of Putnam county, and regarded 
bv everyone as a good and useful man. Mr. and Mrs. Evens began their 
married life on the farm belonging to the latter's mother. It is located in 
section 15, consisting of two hundred and sixty acres, in Warren township. 
This splendid farm is now owned by Mr. and Mrs. Evens, they having bought 
out the other heirs, except that of Susan Jane Lewis. Mrs. Evens' sister. 

Mr. Evens carries on general farming very successfully, but he finds time 
to do a great deal of general contracting and building. He is also interested 
in stock raising and. although a very busy man the year round, he manifests 
an interest in the afifairs of his county, serving very creditably as trustee 
of his township for a term of four years, from 1904 to 1908: he also served 
iiis township as assessor from 1890 to 1896. He is a Republican. 

Mr. and Mrs. Evens are the parents of one child. Roy Lewis, born June 
^, 1890. He attended the common schools, after which he took a -course in 
DePauw University. He is assisting his father in the management of the 
home farm and is a voung man of much business ability and promise. 



: ■• - : . - WILLIAM L. DEXMAX. • - 

Tlie able and po])ular cashier of the Eirst Xational Bank of Creencastle. 
William L. Denman. is most consistently accorded recognition in a work of 
the province assigned to the one at hand, since it has to do with the represent- 
ati\e citizens of Putnam county, of whicli numlier he is unquestionaljly a 
worthv member and has long played well his part in the development of the 
interests of this locality, indorsing eveiy movement which he believes will 
prove beneficial to the general public. ?Ie has sought to maintain tlie high 
standing of his ancestors, who were prominent and highly respected citizens 
of Montgomery county in the early days, and he has therefore won and re- 
tained the confidence and good will of all classes. 

Mr. Denman was born on December 7. 185S. near Alamo. Montgrmiery 
county. Indiana. His father. Moses H. Denman. was also b(-irn in that 




WILLIAM L. DESMAN 



PUTNAM COUXTV, IXDIAXA. 273 

county, his birth occurring in iSjj. He was a prosperous farmer and oper- 
ated the first steam threshing machine ever seen in his vicinity. He was sum- 
moned to close his earthly accounts on October 39, 1868, as the result of in- 
juries received to his arm, which was caught in the machinery of his thresher. 
William L. Denman's mother was known in her maidenhood as Jemima Lee. 
She was born in 1823, in Vigo county. Indiana, the daughter of John Lee, a 
pioneer Baptist minister, living four miles east of Crawfordsville at a hamlet 
known as Smartsberg. Her parents came to Montgomen*' county as earlv as 
1824 and here the father became widely known and accomplished a great deal 
of good among the early settlers. John Lee, brother of Jemima, was the 
first white male child born in Montgomery county. He became a noted con- 
tractor and built the Logansport division of the \'andalia railroad. Mrs. 
Moses H. Denman, a w.oman of many praiseworthy traits of character, passed 
to her rest in 1896, at the age of seventy-two years. She was the mother of 
twehe children, si.x of whom are li\-ing in 1910, namely: John \\'., Elizabeth 
A.. James \V., Mary, Sarah J. and Joel M. are all deceased; Cynthia L. is the 
widow of Thomas F. \'an Cleave; ^lartha R. is the wife of James A. Mvers, 
of Alamo. Indiana; Alice M. is the wife of William Payton, of Judson, In- 
diana ; Susan M. is the wife of Thomas Foster, of Waveland, Indiana ; William 
L., of this review; Ida F. is the wife of Addison Van Clea\e. li\ing near 
Alamo, this state. 

The Denman family is of English stock. William Denman. the paternal 
grandfather of the gentleman whose name introduces this sketch, was a native 
of Georgia. He was a sterling pioneer, a Southerner of such a combination 
of initiati\'e. courage and gentleman!}' attrilnites that he could claim scores of 
friends \\here\er he was kn(n\n and he was \-er}' successful in his life work. 
He and his wife rode on horseback from (jeorgia to Indiana, a long and some- 
what hazardous jcjurney. in the early days, packing all their w orldly pcissessions 
on their horse and while one rode the other walked. They located in ^lont- 
gomery count}-. He had the distinction of serxing in the war of i8[j. His 
death occurred about 1870 at the age of eighty-fi\'e years. He married Polly 
Ann Hicks, of Georgia, and they reared a large family. 

William L. Denman remained in the town of Alamo until he was thirty 
years of age. and there received his primar}- education, later attending the 
State Xormal School at Terre Haute. He liegan life as a teacher, which line 
of endeavor he followed with gratifying results for a period of four years, 
and had he elected to continue teaching he would doubtless have become one 
of the noted educators of the state, but the business world attracted him and 
he entered the general mercantile business at Alamo and built up an excellent 
(18) 



274 



WEIK S HISTORY OF 



trade during the four years he maintained his store. During this period he 
was trustee of Ripley township, being the youngest trustee ever elected in the 
county up to that time. He performed his duties so faithfully that he was re- 
elected to the office by a greater majority than formerly, in fact, it was the 
largest majority ever given in that township. This was certainly evidence that, 
althougli then finite a young man, the people of his community regarded him 
as the possessor of unusual acumen and business ability. He has always been 
loyal to the Democratic cause. 

Mr. Denman then moved to Craw fords ville and went into the insurance 
business, which he followed for one year. He attracted the attention of vari- 
ous insurance companies by his judicious management of his affairs in this 
line, and he was delegated by the Ohio Farmers' Insurance Company to come 
to Greencastle and take charge of their a'gency here, where the company had 
maintained an office for twelve years and had at that time four hundred and 
fiftv risks. Mr. Denman prosecuted his work so vigorously that within three 
vears there were twenty-two hundred policy holders and the office was doing 
a thriving business. 

After two years' residence here Mr. Denman was elected secretary of the 
Democratic central committee, and two years later he was nominated for 
countv auditor and in 1894 he was elected to this office for a period of four 
years. He took office in 1S95 and after serving out his allotted time he served 
two years in the same office as deputy for his successor. He gave the utmost 
satisfaction in this capacity to all concerned. 

After severing his connection with the auditor's office he purchased a half 
interest in the furniture and undertaking establishment of W. P. Ledbetter, 
in which he remained one year. On February 9. 1903, he became cashier of 
the First National Bank of Greencastle. He came to this position well quali- 
fied in everv respect, being a man of rare innate business ability and experience 
and he was popular throughout the county and a man of known reputable 
standing. Since that time this institution has doubled its total assets and 
added the sum of thirty thousand dollars to its surplus fund. In Januaiy, 
1910, Mr. Denman assumed the position of auditor of the Marg ^Mining Com- 
pany, whose mining property is at Ano Nuevo, Old Mexico, a gold and silver 
property in which he is a heavy stockholder. He expects to be gone for two 
years. 

The chapter in the life of 'Sir. Denman relating to his domestic affairs 
dates from lune 29, 1S89. when he married Ella Sparks, daughter of a highly 
respected family of Alamo. Montgomer}- county. She was called to her re- 
ward in March. 1898. Four children were born to this union, named as fol- 



PUTNAM COUNTY, INDIANA. 2/5 

lows: Mary L. is tlie wife of Paul S. Dee. of Cairo. Illinois; Darnall S.. Rich- 
ard \Y. and Joel J. On February 14, 1900, ^[r. Denham married Louise A. 
Abrams. wh(3 was bc^rn in Mt. Sterling. Kentucky, the daughter of an excel- 
lent famil}'. This union is without issue. 

Mr. Denman is a member of the Christian church, of which he has been 
deacon for a number of years and a liberal supporter, being interested in all 
phases of church work. Fraternally he belongs to the Masons, in which he 
has attained to the degree of a Knight Templar, and the Knights of Pythias. 
Personally ^Mr. Denman is a man whom everybody likes — genial, jovial, hon- 
orable in all his dealings with his fellow men, and he is always readv to do 
his part in furthering the interests of Putnam county. 



BEX7AMIN F. CORWIN. 

Praise is always due to merit and especially where merit is the product 
of unassisted energv- anrl perseverance. The self-made man commands our 
highest respect. Those struggles by means of which he has risen from ob- 
scurity to honorable distinction can not fail to enlist sympathy and call forth 
our warmest applause. Benjamin F. Corwin, popularly regarded as one of 
the ablest and busiest attorneys of Putnam county, is a notable example of 
the successful self-made man. and as such has made his influence felt among 
his fellow citizens in private and public life and by his exemplary life, which 
has been spent in his home county, he is eminently deserving of the high 
esteem in which he is held. 

Mr. Corwin was born in Putnam county. Indiana. December 4, 1859, the 
son of Benjamin F. Corwin. a native of Mason county, Kentucky, having been 
born there on February 26, 1811. He was of English descent, being of the 
sixth generation from Mathias Corwin. His father, George Corwin, was a 
native of Kentucky, from which state he came to Indiana, locating in Henry 
county, but remained there only a short time when he came on to Putnam 
county, where he farmed successfully and died here in the late forties. He 
married Xancy Thornton and six children were born to them. Thus the 
Corwin family has been among the history makers in this locality since the 
pioneer da_\s. and. without invidious comparison, suffice it to say that each 
member of the same has played his part in all relations of life as well as any 
of the county's foremost citizens. Benjamin F. Corwin. Sr., father of the 
gentleman \\hose name initiates this review, devoted his life to farming and 



276 weik's historv of 

merchandising, mai<ing a snccess of both. He first launched in the mercantile 
business soon after he came to this county, about 1835, selecting the village 
of Bainbridge for his store, which he maintained there for a period of aI)out 
fifteen vears. doing a very satisfactorv- business with the surrounding country, 
manv of his customers coming from long distances, for in those days of the 
first settlers, stores and trading points were not numerous. He acquired con- 
siderable land west of Bainbridge. which he operated on an extensive scale 
until his death, May 2, 187 J. He was always ready to assist in the de- 
velopment of the county in any way, and was especially interested in promot- 
ing education, and the schools of Bainbridge bore his name on account of 
his work in their behalf and his liberal support. He was also interested 
in good roads, and was probably the first man to make an effort to secure 
macadamized roads for Putnam county. He was identified with the Christian 
church, but he held independent views on religion, 

Benjamin F. Corwin, Sr., married Juliet St. Clair Whitsett, who was 
born in Montgomery county, Kentucky, June 8, 1825, and when eleven years 
old, in 1836, she came to Putnam county, Indiana, with her parents. She 
was a woman of many sterling traits of character and beloved by all who 
knew her; she reached an advanced age, dying August 13, 1908, at Indian- 
apolis. To this union seven children were bom, five of whom are living 
at this writing, namely: Henry C. died in Knoxville, Tennessee, in 1864, 
while a soldier in the Union army; William R. is a teacher at Fulton, ;\Iis- 
souri ; Mrs. Margaret Dunnington lives in Indianapolis; George \V. died in 
June, 1905; Mary Corwin lives in Indianapolis, an instructor in the art depart- 
ment of the school for the deaf; Benjamin F.. Jr.. of this review; ]\[ilton T. 
lives in Cincinnati. 

Benjamin F. Corwin was b(5rn on the home farm in Monroe township, 
where he assisted with the general work on the place during the summer 
months, receiving his primaiy schooling in the common schools. When thir- 
teen vears of age, in 1872, he came to Greencastle and spent one year in 
the public schools, then entered the preparatory school of DePauw University 
and there diligentlv pursued his studies for a period of two years, then en- 
tered the universitv proper, taking a four-year course, doing very creditable 
and satisfactorv work, graduating in June. 1S79, f^^en being only nineteen 
vears of age. He had decided to devote his talents to the law. and he scon 
thereafter became a law student in the office of Williamson & Daggey, in 
Greencastle, with whom he remained for a pericxl of two years, when he was 
admitted to the bar and at once opened an office and began practicing in 
this citv. He was located in the Williamson block until 1892. when he re- 



PCTXAM COUNTY. INDIANA. 277 

moved to his- present quarters over the First National Bank. In 18S3 '^"^ 
formed a partnership with Henry C. Lewis, which continued until the latter's 
death, in February. 1901. since which time Mr. Corwin has been practicing 
alone, having built up a large clientele and being one of the most active and 
powerful members of the local bar. 

As a lawyer Mr. Corwin is the emanation of his own first inclination, as 
the echo is of the sounding board that produced it. In forensic disputation 
his strong weapon is pure reason, by both comparative and deducti\'e processes, 
without marshaling the aids of rhetoric or eloquence, accessories, it may be 
added, which, when occasion suggests, are in available resen,-e. He proceeds 
firmly and strongly on and along direct lines to his objective, deflecting neither 
to the right nor to the left. Fluent in expression, with purity and elegance of 
style, precise and faultless in language and the orderly and symmetrical ar- 
rangement of w'ords and ideas, the stream of calm, subtle, sinewy, unbroken 
logic, disdaining unnecessary ornament and declining the ordinary resources 
of the orator, is fascinating to hear and often almost irresistible in his per- 
suasion. He possesses the elements of determination, courage, and his mental 
organism is broad, solid and disciplined to the last degree by thought and 
study: is singularly free from any narrowness of professional badinage and 
sport, and the prejudice and partialities of the mere attorney. 

Mr. Corwin is a Republican and very active in local and state politics, 
but he has never held public office. He has never assumed the responsibilities 
of the married state. Fraternally he is a member of the Knights of Pythias, 
the Modern Woodmen and the Sigma Phi fraternity, taking an especial inter- 
est in the latter. 



CHARLES HOWARD BARXABY. 

The record of Charles H. Barnaby is that of an enterprising gentleman 
who worthily upholds an honored family name and whose life has been very 
intimately associated with the material prosperity of Putnam county during 
the most progressive period of its history. He has always been found on 
the right side of questions looking to the development of bis community in 
anv wav. and while he has been prominent in the industrial affairs of the 
county, he has at the same time won an enviable reputation for honesty 
anfl wholesome Hving. He is widely known as a luml>er dealer — one of the 
largest, in fact, in this locality, maintaining at Greencastle an extensive yard. 
and his office is always a busy place. 



270 WEIK S HISTORY OF 

Mr. Barnaby was born at Bourbon, Marshall county. Indiana, December 
21, 1870. His father, long a well known and influential man of this county, 
was Howard Barnaby, a native of Salem, Ohio, who came to Indiana in the 
early sixties, locating in Bourbon. He engaged in the lumber and sawmill 
business, having been associated with a company owning several mills, and 
in the late seventies, owing to the scarcity of timber, this company located 
one of its mills in Owen county, and in the spring of 1S82 Mr. Barnaby 
moved his family to Greencastle that they might be close to him. In 1883 he 
moved the mill from Owen to Putnam county and he continued to operate 
the same here until his death in July. 1887. at the age of fifty-five years, hav- 
ing been born in 1832. He was a successful business man and honoraljle in 
his dealings, provided his family with all the comforts of a good home and 
leaving them a competency. After his death, Charles H. and Elmer E. 
Barnaby, his sons, took up the milling business. In the spring of 1898, Charles 
H. purchased the other's interest and carried on the work in a very successful 
manner, having mastered all the details of the lumber and milling business 
under his father, who was during his career here one of the best known men 
in this line in Putnam and adjoining counties. 

The mother of Charles H. Barnaby was known in her maidenhood as 
Rachael Votaw, born and reared near Salem, Ohio, the Votaw family having 
been prominent there for many years. Nine children were born to Mr. and 
Mrs. Howard Barnaby. named as follows : Dr. Emma is living at Greencastle ; 
Elmer E. is engaged in the lumber business at Charleston, Missouri ; Lorena 
died in 1888: Cora is the wife of G. W. DeLanoy, of Xew York City: Louie 
married E. Parsons and is living in Philadelpliia: Charles H.. of this re\'iew : 
Mary married W. F. VanLoan. of Dayton. Ohio: Darwin S. lives in Green- 
castle. The first child born to these parents died in infancy. The mother 
passed to her rest in 1897. at the age of fifty-eight years, liaving been bom in 
1839. Tlie Barnaby family goes back to an English ancestry on the paternal 
side and to French ancestr\- on the maternal side. Stephen Barnaby. grand- 
father of Charles H. Barnaby. was a native of Pennsylvania who settled 
in Salem, Ohio, where he followed his trade of wagon making. 

Charles H. Barnaby was eleven years old when his parents brought him 
from Marshall county, Indiana, to Greencastle. He was educated in the 
public schools at Bourbon and Greencastle and he began his commercial 
career when only sixteen years of age on account of his father's death. In 
Julv. 1887. he formed a partnership with his brother, as already indicated, 
and he has continued to deal in lumber ever since. The plant was destroyed 



PUTXAM COUNTY, IXDIAXA. 279 

1)}- hre ten years ago. but it was replaced, better and more extensive tiian e\"er, 
the entire plant now covering about twenty-tive acres, and is known as one 
of the largest manufacturers of hardwood lumber in this part of the state; 
the plant also turns out high grade veneer work, operating a band sawmill 
which saws from fifteen thousand to twenty thousand feet of lumber daih-. 
To supply this large quantity logs are drawn from a radius of fiftv miles of 
Greencastle. Lumber is marketed in Germany and as far west as San Fran- 
cisco ; a hirge export trade is carried on in both Germany and England. 

;Mr. Earnaby was for three years president of the Indiana Hardwood 
Lnml:ermen"s Association, tluring which the association thrived and accomp- 
lished many important things. He is a member of the National Hardwood 
Lumber Association, being a member of the executive committee, and is a 
member of the executive committee of the Xational Wholesale Lumber 
Dealers' Association, the National Veneer and Panel Association, the Indiana 
Retail Lumber Association, anil he takes a very acti\'e part in all association 
work and is prominent in lumljer circles throughout the United States. 

The domestic chapter in 'Sir. Barnaby's life began on October 30. 1895, 
when he married Bess Robbins. a lady of culture and refinement, of Louisville, 
Kentucky, the representative of an excellent old Southern family. She was 
born, reared and educated in that city. Three interesting chiklren have graced 
this union, namely; Dorothea, aged twelve; Howard, age nine, and Charles 
H.. Jr.. age three. 

Airs. Barnaby is a member of the Episcopal church. Fraternallv Mr. 
Earnaby is a Mason and a member of the Knights of Pythias. He is a Re- 
publican in politics, but he does not find time to take a very active part ; how- 
ever, he is ileeply interested in whate\er tends to the general uplift of his com- 
munity. Personally he is genial, jolly, a good mixer, gentlemanlv and 
straightforward in all his dealings with his fellow men. He occupies a con- 
s])icuous place among the leading men of Putnam county and enjoys the con- 
fidence and esteem of all who knew him. His record demonstrates that 
w here there is a will there is a way and that obstacles to success mav be over- 
come by courage and self-reliance. His career, though strenuous, has been 
fraught with good to his fellow men. and his example is cordially commended 
to the youth of the land whose life works are yet matters for the future to de- 
termine. 

'Sir. and Mrs. Barnaby have an attractive and modern home which is fre- 
quently the gathering place for the many warm friends of the family wdio 
ne\er fail to find here genuine hospitality and good cheer. 



28o weik's history of 



EZRA B. E\'AXS. M. D. 



Success in what are popularly termed the learned professipns is tlie legit- 
imate result of merit and painstaking endeavor. In commercial life one mav 
come into possession of a lucrative business through inheritance or gift, but 
professional atlvancement is gained only by critical study and consecntixe re- 
search long continued. Proper intellectual discipline, thorough professional 
knowledge and the possession and utilization of the ([ualities and attributes 
essential to success ha\e made Dr. Ezra B. Evans eminent in his chosen call- 
ing, and he stands today amo ng the scholarly and enterprising physicians and 
surgeons in a community long distinguished for the high order of its medical 
talent. 

Doctor Evans was born in Morgan township, Owen county, Indiana, 
August 5, 1846. He comes from an excellent ancestry. His father, Samuel 
P. Evans, was born in Bath county, Kentucky, June 3, 1821, and when four 
years old he came with his parents to Indiana, locating among the pioneers in 
Cloverdale township, Putnam count}-. The Doctor's grandfather. Rev. 
Thomas Evans, was born May 27, 1799. in Bath county, Kentucky. He was a 
noted minister in his day and did a great deal of good among the early settlers. 
He married Amanda (Dolney) Martin and they became the parents of ten 
children. He came to Putnam county. Indiana, in 1S25, and, in connection 
with his ministry in the Methodist church, he carried on farming. Prior to 
the breaking out of the Civil war he moved to \\'inter.set, Iowa, and later to 
Mt. Pleasant, that state, where his death occurred in August. 1870. 

The Evans family originated in Wales, and in tracing the genealogv of 
this interesting tamil\" we find that Lot E\ans was born there in 1643, ^''"'1 that 
he and his three sons started on a voyage to America with the famous William 
Penn, but before completing the long, tedious trip, the father died and was 
buried at sea. Of his three boys, Charles was born in 1664. Thomas in 1662 
and Lot, Jr., in 1666. Thomas Evans, the first, married Alartha Elizabeth 
Roberts, in 1730. She reached the almost incredible age of one hundred and 
eleven years, dying in 1803. One of their se\'en children. Thomas Evans, [r.. 
born in 1739. ran away from home, joined the army and was in the Erench 
and Indian war and later fought in the Revolution under Washington. He 
died in Kentucky in 1825. Llis wife Sarah died at Russellville. Indiana, June 
5. 1S34, at the advanced age of ninety -one years. They became the parents 
of two children. John and Francis, the former being the great-grandfather of 
OiX'tor Evans of this review. He was born October 25, 1763, and died July 




^ /3 & 



(J> 



^/'t^'^-d 2s 



PL'TXAM COUXTV, IXDIAXA. 20I 

2. 1 84 1, at Russelhille, Indiana, having devoted his Hfe to the ministrv. He 
married Sarah Prather. who was Ixirn in [76*1 and who died in 1831 at Rus- 
sellviile. Indiana. They were tlie parents of seven children, one of wiiom, 
Thomas Evans, was the grantlfather of Doctor E\ans. 

Samuel Parker Evans, the Doctor's father, was born June 3. i8ji, and 
at an earl_\- da\- entered land in Morgan township. Owen county, Indiana. 
This lie farmed, later removing to Spencer, this state, where he remained un- 
til the fall of 1902. when he moved to Greencastle. He married Mary^ Swift, 
who was born near Bloomington, Indiana, where her people were well known 
and influential for many years. This union resulted in the birth of four 
children, namel_\' : Louis Benson, who died at the age of eighteen years, while 
a soldier, March 20, 1862; Dr. Ezra B., subject of this review; Catherine mar- 
ried Roi)ert Speers. now deceased: he was principal of the high school of 
Evansville for a period of twenty years. Thomas Evans died January 10, 
1870. at the age of twenty-one years. The mother of these children was 
called to her rest on July 29. 1903. at the age of eighty-two years, having been 
born March 8. 182 [. 

Doctor E\-ans spent his boyhood days on the home farm. He -^xas an 
ambitious lad and studied hard, early forming the ambition to become a prac- 
titioner of medicine. With this end in \'iew he took a course in Asbur)- ( now 
DePauw) L'nixersity, beginning his stuilies there in 1865. He began reading 
medicine in 1868 under Dr. John Wilcox of Greencastle. and after spending 
eighteen months in his office he entered the University of Virginia, at Char- 
lottesville, from which he was graduated with a very creditable record in 1871. 
In the fall of that year he began practice in Greencastle. Indiana, and he has 
remained here e\"er since. He soon had a ver}- satisfactory patronage with 
the towns and surrounding country, w hich has continued to increase until he 
has won and retained a reputation second to none, his name being familiar in 
every household in the county and to many in adjoining counties; however, 
he is not at present in active practice. 

Doctor Evans was married on September 2. 1873. to Mary A. Golding, 
who was born in Greencastle, the acci:implished daughter of an influential fam- 
ily, her parents being \A'illiam O. and Charlotte Adeline ( Day) Golding. Xo 
children ha\e Iieen born to this union. 

Mrs. Evans is a member of the Presbyterian church. Eraternally the 
Doctor belongs to the Masonic Itjdge Xo. 47, the Knights Templar, Command- 
ery Xo. 11. being past eminent commander; he belongs to the Knights of 
Pythias, having passed through all the chairs in the same, and he is also a 
member of the Independent Order of Odd Fellows. Politically he is a Re- 
publican, and while be has never iouml much time to interest himself in po- 



282 WEIK S HISTORY OF 

litical matters, he is known to be an advocate of whatever tends to promote 
the county's interests, pohtically or otherwise. He was a member of the board 
of education for three years, and he also served very creditably on the county 
council. Xo man in tlie cuunty is better or more fa\orably known than he, 
for he has not only been very successful as a physician, but he is admired for 
his public spirit and his efforts to bear aloft the honor that has attended the 
familv name since the earliest pioneer days. 



FRAXCIS ^lARIOX LYOX. 

Coupled with Francis M. Lyon's ability as an attorney is his unusual 
clearness of perception, analytical tact and soundness of theory, also his 
courteous manners, persistency and unswerving integrity, these and other 
commendable attributes rendering him one of the strong and influential 
attorneys of Putnam county and one of the successful practitioners of a com- 
munitv noted for the high order of its legal talent. For many years his 
office in Greencastle has been a very busy place and many of the principal 
cases in the local courts find him on one sitle or the other, always alert, fair, 
unswerving and always laboring for the interests of his large clientele. 

Mr. Lyon represents an old and highly esteemed family of this county, 
his forebears having located here in an epoch which historians are pleased 
to allude to as "early" and they have since played well their parts in trans- 
forming the locality from its primitive state to the opulent present. He was 
born at Hamrick Station, Putnam county, Indiana. :\Lay 9, 1857. His father 
was Valentine Lyon, a native of Fluvanna county, \'irginia. born April 3, 
1798. He there grew to maturity and moved to Owen county. Indiana, in 
1 8 JO. where he lived until 1846. when he moveti to Greencastle for the pur- 
pose of educating his children in old Asbury L^niversity. being a strong advo- 
cate of higher etlucation and a man who delighted in giving his children every 
opportunity possible, and he was a strong supporter of the university here; 
also took an active part in the Methodist congregation. He devoted his life to 
farming and was verv successful. Remaining in Putnam until 1861. he re- 
turned to Owen county, where he lived until his death in 18S7, at the ad- 
vanced age of nearly ninety years. His long and useful life was a lesson to 
all who knew him for he never neglected a chance to be of service in any re- 
lation of life: scrupulously honest and always hospitable — a typical old-time 
Virginia gentleman. He married Zarelda Myers, daughter of Xoble J. Myers. 
and she was born on a farm three miles north of Greencastle. January jj. 



PUTNAM COL-XTV, INDIANA. 283 

i8j6. Her mother was the daughter of Solomon Kaufman. [Mrs. Lyon 
uas a woman of many beautiful traits of character, and she passed to her 
rest in 1906, at the age of eighty years. Valentine Lyon was first married to 
]^rary Payne, a native of Shelby county, Kentucky, which union resulted in 
the birth of thirteen children, twelve of whom lived to maturitv. but only 
four of this large family are living at this writing. Seven children were born 
to the second union, named as follows: Charles E. is living in Topeka, Kan- 
sas: Francis M., of this review: George W. lives in Clinton. Iowa: Henry 
Eascom is a resident of Cheyenne. Wyoming: Prof. Oliver L. lives at Enid. 
Oklahoma: Mrs. Emma Florence Roberts lives near [Manhattan. Putnam 
county : Ulysses G. lives on a farm near Reelsville. Putnam countv. 

The remote ancestors of the Lyon family were French .Acadians, who 
came into the L'nited States from Xova Scotia, having been banished from 
Acadia and cast ashore, later landing on the coast of Maryland. From there 
they went to Virginia where the family became well established and pros- 
perous: there, in Fluvanna county, James Lyon, grandfather of Francis M., 
was born. The Lyon family has always been strongly bent toward educational 
and musical lines: nine members of this family of the recent generation were 
teachers. 

Francis 'M. Lyon was educated in the high school at Spencer, Owen 
county, Indiana, then attended the Central Xormal School at Danville and 
the State Xormal at Terre Haute. His first inclination was to practice medi- 
cine and with this end in view he studied medicine during the summer months 
and taught school in the \\ inter time, soon becoming well known throughout 
the county as an able and painstaking instructor. In 1889 he was elected su- 
perintendent of schools of Putnam county, and so faithfully and well did he 
perform the duties of this office that he was re-elected three times, holding the 
office four terms or eight years, during which time the work throughout the 
county was greatly strengthened, the courses made more attractive to pupils, 
teachers were encouraged and patrons pleased with the excellent svstem per- 
fected by him. Flad he continued in this line of work he doubtless would have 
become one of the leading educators of the state: but turning from both 
teaching and medicine, he began the study of law under Silas A. Hays, making 
rapid progress and was admitted to the bar in due course of time. He formed 
a law partnership with Charles T. Peck, which still exists, the firm being one 
of the best known in the county and regarded as strong and reliable, fio-uring 
prominently in all local courts. ;\[r. Lyon is regarded by his large clientele 
as a fair, painstaking, energetic champion of their rights, and he is a "ood 
lawyer. 

Mr. Lyr>n's domestic life began October 9. 1879. when he married Anna 



284 weik's history of 

A. Houck, the refined daughter of Anthony and Martha A. Houck. of Putnam 
county, where Mrs. Lyon was born October 9. 1861. This union has re- 
sulted in the birth of three sons, namely: Oscar Earl, who died in infancy, 
Orrell E. w as born on October 26. 1885 ; Glen Houck Lyon was born on July 
17. 1898. 

Mr. Lyon is purely a self-made man, educated himself, working liard to 
do so. and he is deserving of much credit for the success he has achieved. 
He is attorney for the Western Tin-Plate Company. He is the owner of two 
fine farms and is extensively engaged in loaning money. For ten years he 
has ])een a member of the lioard of directors of the Commercial Club of Green- 
castle. Fraternally he is a Mason, belonging to the blue lodge, the chapter, 
commandery. Scottish rite and the Ancient Arabic Order of Xobles of the 
Mvstic Shrine. He is also a member of the Knights of Pythias and belongs to 
the Gentlemen's Literary Club, a very exclusive organization. In politics he 
is an active and influential worker in the Democratic ranks, and he and Mrs. 
Lyon are members of the College Avenue Methodist Episcopal church. 

Mr. Lvon has always taken a great interest in the prosperity and ad- 
vancement of Putnam county and endorses even.' movement which he be- 
lieves will prove a benefit to humanity. He is genial, a good mixer, sociable 
and straightforward in his dealings with his fellow men. His achievements 
represent the results of honest endeavor along lines where mature judgment 
has opened the way. He possesses a weight of character, a native sagacity, 
a discriminating judgment and a fidelity of purpose that command the respect, 
if not the approval of all with whom he is associated. He takes first rank 
among the leading citizens of Putnam county, being a leader in financial, edu- 
cational, social and civic affairs. 



CHARLES LUETEKE. 

The biographer is glad to herein set forth the salient facts in the emi- 
nently successful and honorable career of the well remembered and highly 
esteemed citizen of Putnam county whose name appears alwve. the last chap- 
ter in whose life record has been closed by the hand of death and the seal 
set thereon forever, but whose influence still pervades the lives of those with 
whom he came in contact. For many years he was closely identified with 
the industrial development of the county and aided in every way possible in 
promoting the general good of the community. The terms "progress" and 
"patriotism" might be considered two of the keynotes of the character of 



PUTNAM COUNTY, IXDIAXA. 285 

Charles Lueteke. for throughout his career he labored for the improvement 
of both business and public interests, and at all times was actuated by a 
patriotic love for his adopted country and her welfare. During his long and 
eminently worthy career in Putnam county no man was better known or held 
in higher esteem and he is certainly deserving of most conspicuous mention in 
the history of his locality. 

Mr. Lueteke was born in Mecklenberg. Germany, on }ilarch 7. 1844. and 
when fourteen vears of age he began his apprenticeship to the baker's trade, 
which he thoroughly mastered at an early age. All trades are taught with 
minute nicety in the old country and the case of Mr. Lueteke was no ex- 
ception to the common rule and he devoted his life work almost exclusively 
to this work, remaining in his native land until 1868, when he emigrated to 
the L'nited States. He made his way to Indiana and Uicated at Greencastle, 
and here he at once secured work with Lyon & Weik. as a baker. After a resi- 
dence of three years in this country he returned to Germany, making a visit 
of three months to his childhood home, during which time he was married to 
Johanna Voss. Returning to America, they located in Chicago and engaged 
in the bakery business. He was prospering- when misfortune overtook him 
during the great fire of 187 1 which burned him out completely. Thrown 
again on his own resources with little capital, he went to Indian- 
apolis and after working there for a short time at his trade, came to Green- 
castle and entered the same business, locating on the square, but the fire fiend 
still pursued him and he was one of the victims of the big fire in October, 
1874. which proved so disastrous to Putnam county's capital city. The blow 
was serious, but. being a man of indomitable courage and fortitude, he was 
not to be subdued by disaster and soon we find him reinstaterl in South 
Greencastle in the baking business, under the firm name of Lueteke & Stephen- 
son and in a few vears became sole owner by buying- out his partner. His 
business grew bv leaps and bounds — it grew because he was well informed on 
all the details of his line of business, because he was progressive and because 
he was honest, his numerous customers knowing that they would get a fair 
deal with him. his bakery long supplying by far the greatest amount of bread 
to this anil adjoining cities, such as Coatesville. Stilesville. Amo. Cloverdale 
and manv others. He successfully met competition from many quarters. He 
had a liig trade in cakes and rolls, his bread trade being sometimes enormous 
for a small city. To have built up a business of such proportions in a city 
the size of Greencastle. and to win a name throughout this section of the state 
in the baking business proves that ^f^. Lueteke was possessed of both ad- 
ministrative and executive abilitv ; it means that he discovered the truth of the 



286 WEIK S HISTORY OF 

old axiom that "there is room at the top" for any well conducted enterprise. 
He entered lite without anything except his good business judgment, energy 
and honesty, and besides his well equipped bakery he owned Lindenhurst, 
one of the finest homes in Greencastle. He was known as a very charitable 
man. He was exceptionally kind in his home and was at all times respected 
and trusted in all walks of life. 

This excellent citizen was called to his rest June 5, 1902, having been 
suddenly stricken with cerebral hemorrhage while engaged in the regular 
course of his duties. He was fifty-eight years old and was robust and very 
active up to the day before he passed away. 

Mr, Lueteke was a member and a liberal supporter of the Presbyterian 
church. He was elected to the city council about 1890 and proved a useful 
member in urging movements calculated to better the condition of the city. 

To Mr. and Mrs. Charles Lueteke eight children were born, Harriet, 
Charles, Frank (deceased), Nellie, Harry, Albert and two children that died 
in infancy. The mother of these children, who, with her husband, is sleep- 
ing the sleep of the just, is remembered as a woman of pleasing personality, 
kind and gentle bearing and who spared no pains in rearing her children in 
a wholesome home atmosphere. She was born in ^lecklenberg, Germany, 
November 2, 1844, the daughter of Fredrica and Carl Voss, the father a 
forester of the above named city. She came to America with Charles Lueteke, 
whom she married in the Fatherland, August 30, 1870, and during all the 
business vicissitudes of her husband she proved to be a wise counselor and 
her encouragement and optimism were no doubt very largely responsible for 
much of his later success. The vocation of her father and the beautiful 
character of her mother gave her superior advantages for the development 
of a rich, full life and close comradeship with what is best in the three king- 
doms. She was bv nature of a deep religious character, but in the home was 
where her virtues shone with a peculiar luster. She was reared in the Lu- 
theran faith, but since this denomination had no existence in Greencastle she 
united with her family in full membership with the Presbyterian church, Oc- 
tober 22, 1 88 1. She was strong in humanity and large in the making and 
keeping of friends. She was always ready and very willing to comfort the 
sorrowing and raise the fallen. Her sincere friendships included what was 
best in every rank of society. This good woman was called to her reward 
Mav II. 1908, and it seemed fitting that she and her husband both should 
meet their Pilot face to face in the full tide of May when everything in na- 
ture betokens a coming of perfect fruit and cloudless skies. 

Charles Lueteke, Jr., the eldest son of the family, who is proving a worthy 
son and taking his place among the progressive citizens of Greencastle, was 



PUTNAM COUNTY, INDIANA. 287 

born at Greencastle, Indiana. He received good educational advantages and, 
under the guidance of his father, he soon learned the bakery business and was 
thereby well qualified to assume full charge of the same upon the death of 
his father, and he has been very successful, devoting his close personal at- 
tention to every detail of the business, carr}-ing on both a wholesale and re- 
tail trade which are extensive in their scope, enjoying not only a very satis- 
factory patronage in Greencastle, but also with the surrounding towns. 

Fraternally Mr. Lueteke is a member of the Elks and Independent Order 
of Odd Fellows and a Republican in politics. He is a member of the city coun- 
cil from the third ward and rendering good service to his immediate constit- 
uents as well as the people at large. He seems to have inherited his father's 
geniality and popularity, is liked by everybody and fulfills all the requirements 
of a good citizen. He is a liberal giver in the cause of worthy charities, but 
does it without ostentation. 

On March 31. 1903, Charles Lueteke, Jr.. married Mary E. Hibbitt, 
daughter of Edward E. Hibbitt. of Greencastle. 

The Lueteke family has long been popular in all circles in this city 
and none enjo}' a wider acquaintance or more true friends. They are fine 
examples of our best German citizenship, industrious, frugal, enterprising, 
and cheerfully aid in all worthy causes to help along the. community and build 
up the town, thereby making themselves popular with all classes. 



ISAIAH VERAIILLION. 

One of the sterling pioneers of the Middle West who figured in the 
history of the early days and assisted in paving the way for subsequent de- 
\elopment was Isaiah Vermillion, who was bom ?^Iarch 24, 1782, probably in 
\'irginia, and. after a remarkable career for those days, which was prolonged 
to well nigh the century mark, he passed away on October 23, 1871, in Monroe 
township, Putnam county, Indiana, where he had long been an honored resi- 
dent. He grew up to hard toil and received only the mere rudiments of 
learning. When he reached maturity he married Tabitha Cumi Akers, who 
was born January iS, 1799, and who passed to her rest September 15, 1879, 
having lived four score years. 

Their family consisted of the following children: Eight reached ma- 
turity ; Anderson, who is mentioned in the sketch of O. L. Jones : Woodford 
spent his life in Putnam county, but died in Montgomery county: Millie mar- 
ried Nelson Wood; Cvnthia married Allen Cox; Permelia married Franklin 



288 weik's history of 

* 

Harrah; Cvrena. who married Robert Brothers, is the only survivor; 
Clarissa married Americus Young; Franklin died when a young man: Lu- 
cinda married Thomas Slavens. Isaiah Vermillion became a well known 
minister in the Predestinarian Baptist church. He devoted his life prin- 
cipally to farming and was fairly successful, being a hard worker. He was a 
man whose word was never discredited and whose deeds were always in ac- 
cordance with right living and right thinking. 



RASER BITTLES. 



Raser Bittles was born near Water ford, Erie county, Pennsylvania, 
Octol)er 6, 1857. He is the scion of an e.xcellent ancestry, many representa- 
tives of which figured more or less conspicuously in public and business life in 
the Emerald Isle. His father, Thomas Bittles, was born in the county of 
Armagh, near Belfast, Ireland, and there grew to maturity and was educated. 
He joined the tide of emigration setting in strongly for the United States in 
1850. and selected as his location Water ford. Pennsylvania. He devoted his 
life to agricultural pursuits in that vicinity, establishing a good home there, 
winning the honor and confidence of all his neighbors, and spent the remain- 
ing years of his life very comfortably, passing to his eternal rest in 1898. at 
the advancetl age of eighty-three years, his birth having occurred in 1815. He 
was of strong religious convictions. ha\ing been a member of the Presby- 
terian church. Thomas Bittles married Jane !\Iatchett. a native of county 
Armagh. Ireland, where she grew to maturit\- and where they were married. 
This union resulted in the birth of seven children, namely: Mrs. Maggie Rey- 
nolds, of Springboro, Crawford county, Pennsylvania, where John Wesley 
also lives; Robert James is deceased; Raser. of this sketch: Addie Jane Brown 
lives in Carbondale. Illinois: William Charles lives in Westfield. Xew "^"ork : 
Andrew Bell is a resident of Oil City. Pennsylvania. The latter was adopted 
bv an aunt and now bears the name of Gordon. 

The mother of the children just enumerated passed to her rest on April 
4. 1863. at the age of thirty-seven years. The father re-married, his second 
wife being Airs. Eliza Taylor, of Waterford. Pennsylvania, and this union 
resulted in the birth (if three children. Allen J., of Meadville. Pennsylvania: 
Emmett. of .\lbion. Pennsylvania: Elizal)eth. of Girard. Penn.sylvania. The 
mother of these children is living at Um'on City, that state. 

Raser Bittles lived at Waterford. Pennsylvania, until he was seventeen 
years of age. He recei\ed his schf)oling in the public scho(5ls there. recei\ing 



PCTXA.M COUXTY, IXDIAXA. 289 

a very serviceable education, which has later in lite been greatly supiilemented 
bv miscellaneous reading and contact with the business world. He began life 
b\- farming, and after four years at hard work in the fields he began working 
in a factory as a common laborer, w hich he continued for two years or until 
he had learned the mechanical part of the work; this was in the handle factory 
of A. L. Clark & Son, in which factory he worked as a mechanic for a period 
of fourteen years, thoroughly mastering the business in the meantime. In 
rSo5 'i>^ went in business for himself, having come west to Putnam county, 
Indiana, establishing the Roachdale Handle Company, which he conducted 
there for a period of eight years, building up a very e.xtensive patronage, so 
that he sought a larger field and better shipping facilities, moving to Green- 
castle in 1903. Here he carries on his business under the individual name. 
R. Bittles. having purchased the balance of the stock owned by A. J. Brake. 
His business has continued to grow until it has reached remote parts of the 
country, his factory being e(juipped with all modem appliances where twenty 
skilled workmen are constantK' employed, making D handles for sho\els and 
spades. Onlv higli class work is turned out and the best of material used, and 
the result of this conscientious, straight for\vard and honest manner of con- 
ducting his business has been the large rewards that always come as the sequel 
to- rightly applied energy. Mr. Bittles is a self-made man and is deserving 
of the large success that has attended his efforts. 

The chapter bearing on the domestic life of Raser Bittles dates from 
October 31. 1S83, when he married Susie M. Hollingshead, the representati\'e 
of an honored and influential family of Dunkirk. Indiana, the daughter of 
Thomas and Prudence f Peck") Hollingshead, the father a native of Delaware 
county. Indiana, and the mother of Blackford county, this state. Air. Hollings- 
heail was a farmer ami lived in Delaware county until his death in January, 
[Sjj, at the early age of thirty-three years, having been born in 1839. He was 
a !\Iason ; his parents came tr(3m Greene coimty. Ohio, reaching Indiana about 
1836. The mother of Mrs. Bittles was born Februarv- 27, 1842. and her par- 
ents came from Ohio in 1838. Three children were born to yir. and Airs. 
Hollingshead, one dying in infancy; James H. lives in Ft. Smith. Arkansas, 
where he is engaged in the manufacture of handles. 

Fi\e children have been born to Mr. and Mrs. Bittles, named as follows : 
Alta. born September 10. 1884; Frank, born Februarv- 20. 1887; Claire, bom 
Augtist 5, iS()2: ?^rary, born May 14. 1895: James, born October 6, 1897. 
They are all li\ing at home at this writing. Alta graduated from DePauw 
University in iqnj. and Frank is a senior in that institution, and graduates 
fi9) 



290 WEIK S HISTORY OF 

with the class of 1910. Claire is a freshman in DePauw. Mary and James 
are in the graded schools. 

Mr. and Mrs. Bittles and their three oldest children are members of the 
College Avenue Methodist Episcopal church. Mrs. Bittle.s is an active wOrKer 
in the Woman's Christian Temperance Union of this congregation. 

Fraternally Mr. Bittles is a Mason, belonging to Temple Lodge. Xo. 47, 
having joined this fraternity in 1881. He is also a member of Greencastle 
Chapter. Xo. 22. Royal Arch Masons, and Greencastle Commandery. X'o. 11, 
Knights Templar. Politically he is a Republican and he has long taken more 
or less interest in public affairs. At the present time is is a member of the 
citv council of Greencastle. 

Mr. Bittles has a fine home on Eash Washington street, which is known 
to a large circle of friends as a place where genuine hospitality and good cheer 
es'er prevail. 



EVERETT AI. HCRST. M. D. 

Among the successful and well known physicians of Putnam county is 
Dr. Everett M. Hurst, of Cloverdale, who is enjoying a splendid reputation 
and a large clientele because of the ability he has displayed in the treatment 
of disease and also because of his high personal character. He is a repre- 
sentative citizen of the community and is well entitled to specific mention in a 
work of this character. A complete genealogical record of the Hurst family 
appears elsewhere in this volume and mention will only be made here of the 
Doctor's immediate ancestors. His paternal grandfather was Jefferson Hurst, 
who was born in Marion township. Putnam county, Indiana, Alarch 28, 1824, 
the son of William and Fanny Hurst, the former a native of Virginia. The 
family came to Putnam county in 1823. being among the first settlers in the 
county. They located at Deer creek. Marion township, where the father 
entered several tracts of government land. He at once cleared a small space 
and erected a log cabin, putting in a small crop of corn the first year. He died 
in 1850, widely known and highly respected by all who knew him. In politics 
he was a Democrat and in religion he was a member of the Primitive Baptist 
church. He was known far and wide as a peacemaker and was frequently 
called upon to settle neightorhood disputes. 

Jefferson Hurst was reared to manhood under the parental roof, receiving 
a somewhat limited education in the common schools. He had a large ex- 
perience in pioneer life, and it is said attended log rollings for two weeks 
at a time. On December 24, 1S44. he married Elsie Vowel, and they became 



PUTNAM COUXTV. INDIAXA. 



291 



the parents of eight children. Martin C. WiHiam. Levi. Squire J.. James H 
George W'.. Benjamin F. and Mar}- ].. the wife of Daniel V. Moffett. Mrs. 
Elsie Hurst died on Xovember 2. 1879. and on September i. 1881. Air Hurst 
married Alary E. Tilley. of O^-en county, to winch union were born two chil- 
dren. Joseph B. and Flossie M. Mr. Hurst settled upon his farm in section 36 
Greencastle township, about 186.. ownmg about six hundred acres of lan,l 
wh.ch was considered one of the best farms in the cotmty. He was a n,embe; 
ot the Prnuitive Baptist church, of which he was clerk 

Anril"^'' rf ''"; '"''"'■■ ^^ '"""' ^""^- ""^ ^^" '" Greencastle township, 
comn^on schools. He remamed at home until his marriage on Februarx- ; 
Inestock wh.ch occupation he followed until 1S80. when he engaged in the 
at that po nt. Durmg the last ten years of his life he was retired from active 

«as hr.t established as a branch store, but eventuallv became a prosperous 
busmess. H,s death occurred on January 9, 1909. To' his union w.th Mlrtl^ 

Afrs nTr tT", '"1°"^ ""• ^^""" ''• '" "''^J^^^^ '^™P" '^f ^'- -sketch. 

A i e Y AH "^ ' f • '^'""- ""' °" ^'''''' -'• ^^'^'^- -^^^- H-st married 
Alice A. .Albm. who was born in Jefferson township. October - i8;7 the 

ss; d::^:::^^'"""" ^ ■^'""- ^'^ ^-'^-^^-^ --- -- ^^^ ^ugh^r^o^ 

Everett M. Hurst was born October 26. 1874. at the Hurst homestead m 
the northern part of Warren township, this countv. At the age of ei-xhteen 
months he was orphaned by the death of his mother and he was t!,en^aken 
by his paternal grandparents, with whom he lived until he was nine years old 
when he returned to the home of his father, the latter having again married' 
Everett Hurst attended the common schools at Alt. Aleridian and later 
the high school at Greencastle. where he was graduated in 1894. Durinc. the 
two following winters he engaged in teaching school in Alarion township 
Having determined to make the practice of medicine his life work, he entered 
the College of Physicians and Surgeons, the medical department of the 
University of Illinois, of Chicago. He remained there four vears. graduat- 
mg on April 18. 1900. with the degree of Doctor of Aledicine. Dunno- his 
educational years the Doctor had assisted during the summers with the work 
ot his father's farm and during two summers he was employed as a salesman 
m the buggy and implement business of his lincle, James Hurst, at Green- 
castle. In his youth he had to some extent engaged in the business of buv- 
mg and selling livestock, in which he w.is successful to an unusual decree 



292 WEIK S HISTORY OF 

possessing a remarkable faculty for gauging the weight of an animal by a 
glance, he acquiring a widespread reputation on this account. 

On January 4, 1900, Doctor Hurst located at Cloverdale and entered upon 
the active practice of his profession, in which he has met with a gratifying 
measure of success, having built up a large and lucrative patronage among the 
best people in the community. He keeps in close touch with the latest ad- 
vances made in the healing art and has successfully handled many e.xtremely 
difficult cases. The Doctor has erected in Cloverdale a beautiful and attrac- 
tive residence, one of the finest in the town. and the spirit of hospitality is ever 
in evidence, the Doctor and his wife being numbered among the best social 
circles of the town. 

Politically Doctor Hurst is a Democrat, and takes an intelligent interest 
in public affairs, though he has never sought public ofiice of any nature. 
Fraternallv he is a member of the Knights of Pythias and the Modern Wood- 
men of America. He and his wife are members of the Christian church. 

In September, 1900. Doctor Hurst married Eliza ]\I. Herod, the daughter 
of Johnson C. Herod, of Greencastle, who served as county assessor for ten 
years. They became the parents of a son, Olney Eugene, but he was taken 
by death at the age of sixteen months. Doctor Hurst is a man of broad sym- 
pathies and kindly disposition and is well liked by all who know him. He 
takes a live interest in everj-thing tending to benefit the community in anv 
wav, and is thoroughly reliable in every department of activity in which he 
engages. 

Doctor Hurst has business interests aside from his profession, owning a 
splendid farm in Jeffers<in township, and also an interest in the general store 
at Putnamville. 



ISAAC S. SINCLAIR. 



The importance that attaches to the lives, character and work of the 
early settlers of that part of Indiana of which Putnam county is a part and 
the influence they have exerted upon the cause of humanity and civilization 
is one of the most absorbing themes that can possibly attract the attention of 
the local chronicler or historian. If great and beneficent results — results that 
endure and bless mankind — are the proper measure of the good men do, then 
who is there in the w^orld's histor}' that may take their places above the hardy 
pioneer. To point out the way, to make possible our present advancing civiliza- 
tion, is to be the truly great benefactors of mankind for all time. This was the 
great work accomplished by the early settlers and it is granted by all that they 



PCTXAM COUNTY, INDIANA. 293 

builded wiser than they knew. Among the sturdy old pioneers whose efforts 
counted for much in the early development of this part of Indiana, mention 
should be made of Isaac Sinclair, who occupied a position of prominence 
in the community where he lived. He was a native of the state of Virginia, 
where he was reared and educated. Subseciuently he emigrated to Kentucky 
and in about 1822 he came to Indiana, locating in the northern part of Owen 
county. He had married Anna Patterson and they were the parents of the 
following children: William. John P., Isaac P., Samuel S., Cynthia, Morris, 
Ann and Eliza. These children all came with their parents to their new home 
in the Hoosier state and here grew to honorable manhood and womanhood. 
The family located three miles north of where Cloverdale now is, but several 
years later located in Owen county. The father afterwards returned again 
to Putnam county and spent his latter days with his son Samuel. His death 
occurred about 1852. his widow surviving until near the close of the Civil war. 
Isaac Sinclair was one of the grand old men of his day, his life being char- 
acterized by an integrity of purpose and a consistency of conduct that won for 
him the unbounded confidence of all who knew him. 

Of the children of Isaac and Anna Sinclair, brief mention is made as 
follows : 

William, during the late twenties and early thirties, owned land three 
miles south of Cloverdale, but eventually he mo\-ed to Kentucky and did not 
again return to Indiana. 

John P. married Sarah Martin before he came to Indiana. He became a 
minister of the ilethodist Episcopal church, and was numbered among the 
early "circuit riders." He first lived a mile west of Cloverdale. but later lo- 
cated three miles south of that place, where he cleared land and made a good 
home. About 1850 he went to Greencastle and afterwards made several other 
changes in location, eventually locating about a mile north of Putnamville. 
About 1854 he engaged in running a sawmill at Cloverdale. He returned 
to the old home south of Cloverdale. but his last days were spent near 
Putnamville, where his death occurred. He was survived by three sons and 
si.x daughters, namely: Strange \\'.. Isaac L.. John T.. Serelda. Xancy. 
Mary, Lucinda, America Ann and Elizabeth. 

Isaac P. Sinclair, Jr., lived just west of Cloverdale in his young manhood. 
He married America L. Martin, of Kentucky, a daughter of Thomas Martin, 
who came from that state to Indiana with Isaac Sinclair, Sr.. and entered 
land north of Cloverdale. He afterwards located near Cloverdale. but a few- 
years later mo\-ed o\-er into Owen county. Later in life he bought a farm 
three miles south of Cloverdale, where his death occurred. From his home 
west of Clo\erdale Isaac Sinclair. Jr.. moved to 0^ven county, but two or three 



294 WEIK S HISTORY OF 

years later he returned to the southern part of Putnam county, where he built 
a large and attractive brick residence about 1840. In 1848 he moved to 
Greencastle, which was his home during the remainder of his life. He was 
engaged in the management of a warehouse there at the time of his death. 
He had also laid out an addition to the city of Greencastle and had erected sev- 
eral houses. He died on October 25, 1854, and was survived many years by 
his widow, whose death occurred in 1878. They were the parents of four 
sons and four daughters, namely: John P.. Thomas Martin. Lee W.. Isaac 
S., Minerva, Martha Ann, Elizabeth and Eliza J. Of these children. John P. 
lived on the home farm until 1848, receiving his education in the public 
schools of Greencastle. He married Rebecca A. Hardin. He spent most 
of his life in Putnam county, removing in 1875 to Iowa, where his death oc- 
curred. Thomas Martin died at the age of about se\"enteen years. Lee W. 
spent his early years in Greencastle. looking after the \varehouse for his 
father, and was also engaged in the wool business. He married Eliza Brandt 
and went to Salem. Indiana. Later he went to South Chicago, where he 
operated a woollen mill, and then went to West Baden, Indiana, where he is 
now engaged in running the West Newton Springs Hotel. His first wife died 
in 1873 ^^'^ h^ subsequently married Caddie Percise. 

Isaac Simpson Sinclair, son of Isaac P.. Jr.. was boi:n in 1840 on the 
farm in the southern part of Cloverdale township, where he remained until 
eight years of age. after which the family made several moves, though the 
greater part of his time was spent on the farm, occupying the brick residence 
built by his father. About 1895 he moved to Cloverdale and engaged in the 
hay business, and in 1900 he moved to his present home, a fourth of a mile 
west of Cloverdale, where he operates a good farm. The familv are mem- 
bers of the Church of Christ at Cloverdale. Isaac S. Sinclair married, in 1862, 
Minerva Piercy. daughter of Jacob Piercy. Jr. The latter's father. lacnb 
Pierc\'. Sr.. came from Kentucky to Indiana in about 1822 and bought land a 
mile north of Cloverdale. Jacob. Jr.. married Rosanna Hedrick and thev had 
five children, of whom three died in childhood, the two sur\-iv<5rs being Mrs. 
Sinclair and Mary Jane, who became the wife of William H. Truesdale. To 
Mr. and Mrs. Isaac S. Sinclair were born six children. Albert P.. Alfred 
Lee. Charles S.. Luella. Mary Winnie and Curtis C. Of these. Marv Minnie 
died at the age of two months. Curtis C. at the age of ten vears and Alfred 
Lee at the age of t\\ent_\'-two years. Luella. \\ho is now at home with her 
])arents. formerly taught .-^cliool, ha\ing attended the normal school at Green- 
castle. Minerva, daughter of Isaac P. Sinclair, became the wife of Alfred 
Glazehook and during her later life lived at Rensselaer. Indiana. Martha Ann 
became the wife of James McKenzie and spent most of her married life in 



PLTXAM COUXTY, INDIANA. 295 

Cumberland county. Illinois, where her death occurred. Elizabeth became the 
wife of Richard Lennon and lived at St. Louis, Missouri. Eliza I. married 
Hiram T. Crawley, and they formerly lived on a farm in Putnam countv, 
later nKn-insa^ to Greencastle. and then to Indianapolis, where thev now reside. 



HARRY M. S^HTH. 



Examples that impress force of character on all who stutly them are 
worthy of record. By a few general observations may l;e conveyed some idea 
of the high standing of Harry M. Smith as a business man and public bene- 
factor, or. an editor of unusual felicity of expression, ha\-ing niatle the 
(ireencastle Biuiucr. of which he is proprietor, one of the brightest and most 
influential papers in this section of the Hoosier state. United in his compo- 
sition are so many elements of a solid and practical nature, which during a 
series of 3'ears have brought him into prominent notice, and earned for him a 
conspicuous ])lace among the enterprising men of the county of his residence, 
that it is but just recognition of his worth to speak at some length of his 
achie\ements, although the record of such a life as herein set forth is neces- 
sarily an abridgement. 

AFr. Smith is desceniled from an old and well established Indiana fam- 
ily, members of which have been known for their sterling qualities tlin^ugh 
se\'eral generations — from the trx'ing period which historians are pleased 
to allude to as "the early days" down to the opulent present. His birth oc- 
curred at Thorntown, Indiana. November 25, [86j. His boyhood days were 
spent under his parental rooftree much like those of other lads of his 
age and generation and was without incident, .\fter an education in the 
public and high school he turned his attentii^n to the printing and newspaper 
business, and finding the same to his liking, has continued his labors in this 
particidar field of endeavor to the present time, or for a period of over thirty 
years, gaining well-merited success. He learned the printer's trade in Dan- 
ville. Indiana, in the otfice of the Danville U>iioii. at the time comlucted bv 
his father, and worked at the trade while finishing his education. 

Tlie subject is the son of Mr. and ]\Irs. O. H. Smith, mentioned else- 
where in this work, and a member of a famil\- oi five chiUlren. Though hav- 
ing resided at earlier periods in his life in other cities, he has for a quarter 
oi .1 century been a citizen of Greencastle and has always been loval to the 
city's interests. He was a pronounced advocate of a new court house for the 
ctjunty and has alwa\s been in the aihance in urging improvements for the 



296 weik's history of 

city an<l county, and his labors in behalf of the general interests of the 
people have been fully appreciated and recognized. 

After employment on the Republican papers of the county at diverse 
times, he purchased the Greencastle Banner in 1898 and has been sole pro- 
prietor of the same since that time, having so ably managed the same as to 
greatly increase its prestige, its influence in molding public opinion, its value 
as an advertising medium and its brightness in mechanical appearance. The 
Bajiiicr is one of the oldest papers in the state and it has always stood in the 
front ranks of the Republican party, fighting for its principles and has been 
a potent factor in local political issues. 

On January 18, 1888, Air. Smith married Anna Allen, daughter of Mr. 
and Mrs. John D. Allen, and they reside at No. 122 East Walnut street in 
Greencastle. The Allen family has long been a highly honored one in Put- 
nam county. 

Fraternally Air. Smith is a member of the Benevolent and Protective 
Order of Elks and the Knights of Pythias, and he takes considerable interest 
in both lodges, and is one of the prominent boosters for the best interests 
of Greencastle in every way, both through his paper and as a private citizen. 



CHARLES W. LAXDES. 

There is no positi\'e rule for achie\'ing success, and }-et in the life of the 
successful man. like that of the late Charles W. Landes. long a well known 
druggist of Greencastle. there are always lessons which might be followed. 
The men who gains prosperity is he who can see and utilize the opportunities 
that lie in his path, the essential conditions of human life being ever the same, 
the surroundings of individuals differing but slightly: and when one man 
passes another on the highway of life to reach the goal of prosperity before 
others who perhaps started out before him, it is because he has the power to 
use advantages which properly encompass the whole human race, and the best 
wav to measure the true worth of a man is in his intluence upon others. In 
both this and the achievement of success Air. Landes nnist be recorded as one 
of Putnam countv's foremost citizens of the past generation, as all who knew 
him well can attest. 

Charles \V. Landes was bom in this county on Januan,- 13. 185 1. the 
descendant of a prominent and influential ancestry, one of Putnam's oldest 
pioneer families, the first representatixes of which located here in an early 
dav. having made the long imirnev from Virginia in old-fashioned covered 




CHAKLES W. LANDES 



PUTNAM COL'NTY, IXDIAXA. 297 

wagons. They were John and Henry Landes. the latter the father of Charles 
W. and for many years a successful and prominent business man, having en- 
gaged in the manufacture of wagons in Greencastle, being a very skilled work- 
man so that the products of his shop were eagerly sought for. In April, 
1S49. he married Elvira Ree\es, which union resulted in the birth of four 
children, namely: Charles \V., of this biographical memoir; James died in 
infancy; Sarah Olive died when eighteen years of age; Frank L. died in De- 
cember. 1903. 

Charles W . Landes received an excellent education, having attended the 
public schools and graduating in 1872 in Asbury (now DePauw) University, 
with proper honors. He had long desired to devote his life to the profession 
of pharmacy and soon after leaving school he accordingly, in 1S73, entered 
the drug business, the fimi being known as Phemister & Landes. The fol- 
lowing year he purchased his partner's interest and continued the business with 
gratifying success, building up a constantly growing and lucrative patronage 
Avith the city and surrounding county until his death, February 17, 1899. In 
all his business relations with his fellow men he is remembered as being gener- 
ous and fair, thereby winning and retaining the confidence and good will of 
all. Mr. Landes. as was his father, was a stockholder in the First National 
Bank of Greencastle. Mr. Landes was a Republican in politics. He left an 
estate of approximately fifteen thousand dollars. He was a prominent mem- 
ber from early manhood of the College Avenue Methodist Episcopal church, 
being on the official board for more than twenty-four years. 

Mr. Landes was married on October 17, 1877, to Lilly Frances Root, a 
lady of refinement and such pleasing address as to gain for her hosts of 
friends wherever she is known. She is the daughter of Rev. Lucius I. Root, 
long a prominent Presbyterian minister in Greencastle. He was a native of 
the state of Xew York and a graduate of L'nion College of Schenectady, New 
\ork, also of the Princeton Theological Seminary. He was always regarded 
as an eloquent and earnest exponent of the doctrines of the Nazarene and ac- 
complished a great work in winning souls to his Master and in building up 
strong churches. Frances R. Taft was the maiden name of Mrs. Landes' 
mother. She w as a native of Williamstown, Massachusetts, and she is a rela- 
ti\e of President Taft. he being of this same family tree. Peter Taft. the 
great-grandfather of Mrs. Landes. was an officer in the patriot army during 
the Re\"olutionary war. 

Two children graced the pleasant home of Mr. and Mrs. Charles W. 
Landes. bearing these names. Nellie, bom January 24. 1879. was called to 
the unseen world on March 27. 1904: Hallie was born in February, 1880. 
They both recei\ erl excellent educations, graduating from DePauw L'ni\-ersitv. 



29S weik's history of 

The latter is at this writing state secretary for the Michigan Young Women's 
Christian Association, and is prominent and beconn'ng w idely known in this 
laudable line of work. 

Xo more prominent or highly honored famih' than the Landes is to be 
found in Putnam county, and Charles W. was a worthy representative of this 
influential and esteemed name, and his influence in the business and social life 
nf Greencastle was far-reaching and such as to merit the rewards he won. 



DAVID ROBERT .MAZR. 

An enumeration of those men of the present geueratitm who ha\e won 
honor and public recognition for themsehes. and at the same time have 
honored the locality to which they belong, would be incomplete were there 
failure to make mention of the one whose name forms the caption to this 
sketch. Prominent in local political circles, successful in business affairs, 
and keenly alive to the best interests of the community, he enjoys to a marked 
degree the confidence and esteem of the entire community and is numl^iered 
among the representative men of the county. 

David R Maze is a native son of the Hoosier state, having been born 
near Cataract Falls, Owen county, on June 18. 1849. ^^ is a son of Robert 
and ^lahala (Campbell) Maze. The father was born near Crab Orchard, 
Kentucky, in 1804. and at the age of five years was taken by his parents to 
near Hamilton, Ohio, and later to Shelljy county. Indiana. In 1846 he mo\ed 
t(j Owen c<juntv and located in Jennings township, ncit far from the Putnam 
county line. He married Mahala Campbell, daughter of Jijlm Caaipbell. 
She was born in Ohio and came with her parents first to Union county, 
Indiana, thence to Edinburg, Johnson county, where her parents died. Her 
marriage to Mr. Maze occurred before their removal to Owen county. 

David R. Maze remained on the paternal estate in Owen county until 
he had attained his majority. He then started out in life on his own account, 
going into the sawmill business, which was his chief occupation until [905, 
being- occupied either in running the mill or bu}'ing timber, in Ix^th nf which 
he I)ecame an expert. He commenced his active operations at Santa Fe. Owen 
township, but in 1871 he moved the mill to the eastern part of Cloverdale 
township and then sold it. He then came to Cloverdale and ])ecame head 
sawyer in a mill owned by Howard Hart. He afterwards I^ouglit this mill 
and operated it fi\-e \-ears. He then sold the mill, but continued to work in 
it as head sawyer, which positi<in he held until 1905. In the pre\ious year 



PUTNAM COUNTY, INDIANA. 299 

he had been elected sheriff of Putnam county anti he now appHed himself 
exclusively to the discharge of the duties of this office. In 1906 he was 
re-elected to succeed himself, thus holding the office four years in all. He made 
a splendid official and retired from the office with the good will and approval 
of everyone. In July. 1909. Mr. Maze went into the grain and feed busi- 
ness in Cloverdale. in which line he is still engageil. He is a hustling busi- 
ness man and is meeting with a gratifying degree of success in his new 
venture. 

Politically. Mr. Maze is a Democrat, having voted the tickets of this 
party consistently since becoming a voter. In 1890 he was elected trustee of 
Cloverdale township for a four-year term, which, by legislative enactment, 
was e.xtended a year, giving a five-year tenure. He rendered efficient service 
in this office and gained additional prestige thereby. As above stated, he 
afterwards served two terms as sheriff, aside from which offices he has never 
been before the people as a candidate. He stands high in the councils of the 
party and takes a leading part in local campaigns. Fraternally, he is a mem- 
ber of the Independent Order of Odd Fellows, of which he became a mem- 
ber December 31, 1873. ^^ Cloverdale. He is also a member of the encamp- 
ment oi Patriarchs ]\filitant at Greencastle, being, with one exception, the 
senior in length of membership at Cloverdale. 

On June i. 1881. Mr. Maze married Nannie Sinclair, the daughter of 
Rev. Strange \\'hite and Hannah | rirnham ) Sinclair. Rev. Strange Sinclair 
was born December 9, 1829. on Raccoon creek, near Greencastle. and was a 
son of Rev. J. P. Sinclair, a Methodist minister who came \rom Kentuckv 
in an early day. The latter was numbered among the pioneer ministers of 
the gospel and "rode the circuit" for man}- years. In later life he settleil 
down to farming and trading, owning about a section of land three miles 
south of Cloverdale. as well as .several other tracts of land between Green- 
castle and Owen county. He lived several years at Greencastle and died on 
his farm near Putnamville in 1879. ^^'^ ^'^"- Rev. Strange \Miite Sinclair, 
was a graduate of oM .\sbury (now DePauw) University and, following in 
his father's footsteps, entered the ministry of the Methodist Episcopal church. 
Pie was also a school teacher, having taught for about forty years in Putnam 
and Owen counties, or until he was past sixty years of age. Hannah Sinclair 
was a daughter of James and Hannah ( McElroy) Graham, natives of near 
Cork, Ireland, and of Scotch-Irish antecedents. They were Presbvterians in 
religious belief, having descended from the old Scotch Covenanters. .\t the 
age of seventeen years Mrs. ^[aze began teaching school and has been thus 
engaged for nearly nineteen years, the greater part of the time in Putnam 
county. Ti) Mr. and Mrs. Maze have been born three daughters. Xota Dell. 



300 



WEIK S HISTORY OF 



Coralie Graham and Pearl White. The first-named became the wife of Lee 
O. Cofifman. son of James Coffman, by whom she has three children, Marjorie 
Lee, Virginia Jeane and James Robert. The mother of these children com- 
pleted her education at the State University and taught school two terms. 
Coralie became the wife of Charles Gilbert Shaw, a photographer at Linton, 
Greene county, Indiana, and they have two children, Charlotte ]VLaze and 
Analie Frances. Mrs. Shaw is a graduate of DePauw University and her 
husband is a graduate of the MclNIinnville School of Photography at McMinn- 
ville, Tennessee, and later was instructor in this institution. Pearl White 
Maze, who also is a graduate of DePauw University, is now teaching her 
second term as English teacher in the high school at Linton. The sAject 
and his family are all members of the Methodist Episcopal church, to which 
they give an earnest and liberal support. 

Mrs. Maze is an accomplished painter of china, as well as in water 
colors, her work being greatly admired by all who see it. Competent judges 
pronounce some of her work the equal of any now on exhibition, possessing 
a rare beautv of form and tone. 



DOUGLAS HUFFMAN. 

Among the numerous Kentuckians who cast their lot with Indiana during 
the formative period of the state was Edmond Huffman, a man of sterling 
qualities and exemplary character, who became one of the most influential 
men of his community. He was born August i6. 1824, and was about nine 
years old when brought to Putnam county from the old homestead in Nelson 
county. Kentucky, by his parents, Peter and Cynthia Hufifman. The family 
was of German descent and, being seasoned by the early colonial struggles 
and the dark days on the border, their descendants were of the material to 
make hardy pioneers of new states. When this family came here, Indiana 
was still decidedly crude, giving little promise of the great commonwealth 
familiar to those living in the twentieth century. Edmond went through all 
the privations and vicissitudes incident to pioneer days. There was plenty 
of hard work and not much play; the state, however, was filled with fine 
game, the hunting of which had much to do in training the youth to out-door 
sports from which they deriveil strength and health to meet the inevitable 
hardships incident to clearing the land, opening roads, building cabins, burn- 
ing logs cut from the seemingly inexhaustible forests and doing all the other 
thinss essential to the making oi a state from the raw material. 



PUTNAM COUNTY, INDIANA. 3OI 

Edmonil Huffman settleil in section iS, Washington township, in 1836. 
On April 5, 1849, ^^ married Louisa Ann Rightsell, who was born August 
9, 1830. tlie daughter of George and Alargaret Rightsell. At the age of 
nineteen. Edmond Huffman started out to do for himself, worked six months 
for .William Alexander, near Gosport, Indiana, at five dollars a month, at 
the end of which time he ga\-e all his wages, thirty dollars, to his father, who 
soon afterwards made him a present of a colt worth fifteen dollars. It is 
said at the time of his marriage Edmond Huftman could neither read nor 
write, but by the aid of his good wife he soon acquired both and finally be- 
came well informed on the current topics of tlie day, and from a very humble 
beginning he worked hard and managed well, success attending his efforts, 
until at one time he was the owner of eighteen hundred acres of valuable 
land, and while he was laying by an ample competence for his old age and 
his family he did not lose sight of his duty to his neighbors, but did his full 
part in the development of the county. Being an ardent Democrat, he took 
a prominent part in the struggles incident to the old days of Whigs and 
Democrats. He was strictly a self-made man and altogether was a fine tvpe 
of the men who made Indiana. He was a believer in the predestinarian Bap- 
tist doctrine. On his farm in Washington township was held the first court 
seen in Putnam county. The death of this highly honored and public-spirited 
citizen, successful farmer, kind and generous neighbor and indulgent father, 
occurred on September 7, 1900, soon followed to the mystic land by his faith- 
ful life companion, ]Mrs. Huffman passing away on December 14th of the 
same year. 

Mr. and !\Irs. Pluffman were the parents of tweh'e children, eight of 
whom suiwive. namely: James Roberts, born Jamiary J5. 1850; Maria E., 
born October 6, 1851; Cephas, born January 28, 1853, died February 20, 
1853; John A., born January 10. 1855; Douglas, of this review, was fifth in 
order of birth; Ivan, born July 31. 1S59; Daniel Vorhees. born March 22, 
1864: Lucretia A., Ixirn IMay 13, i8(')3: General Jackson, born September 6, 
18^18: Margaret, born March 20. 1870; Greeley R.. born June 2_-^. 1872. 

Douglas Huft'man was born May 10. 1857, and grew up to be a worthy 
son of a worthy sire, assisting him in the farm work during his boyhood 
and youth, meantime obtaining a fair education in the local schools. He was 
diligent in his studies, went through the common schools to graduation and 
afterwards was engaged in teaching for two years in Washington township. 
After his experience in the school room he embarked in merchandising at 
Reelsville. and for a perioil of twenty-two years conducted a general store 
at that place. He built up an extensive trade and was ven- successful. In 
1900 he retired to lonk after his farms, being the owner of two excellent 



WEIK S HISTORY OF 



places, one of two hundred and seventy acres in Washington townsliip, and 
one of two hundred and ninety-three acres in Owen county. He utihzes 
these tracts to carry on general farming and stock raising, not branching out 
into fancy farming, but contenting himself with raising the staple cereal crops 
and feeding all the livestock the land will fairly support. His land is well 
tilled and under modern improvements. ^Ir. Huffman makes his residence in 
a fine, attractive home in one of the best residence sections of Greencastle. 
where the nianv friends of the family are delightfully entertained. The pre- 
siding spirit of the home is a lady of refined tastes and amiable disposition, 
known in her maidenhood as Mollie Baumunk, whom he married on April 20, 
18S4: she was born and reared in Putnam county, where her people were al- 
ways well respected. This union has resulted in the birth of three children. 
Of these. Murrav and Morris E. died in infancy; Merle C. born in 1896. is 
attending high school. 

Mr. Huffman's fraternal associations are with the Masons and he is a 
member of the Greencastle Lodge, No. 473, of that order. He is also a mem- 
ber of Lodo-e Xo. 1077, Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks, of Green- 
castle. 

Mr. Huffman occupies a conspicuous place among the representative 
citizens of Putnam county and enjoys the confidence and esteem of all who 
know him. His record demonstrates that where there is a will there is a way 
and that obstacles to success may be overcome by courage and self-reliance. 
His career, though strenuous, has been fraught with good to his fellow men 
and his example is cordiallv commended to the youth of the land wdiose life 
work is vet a matter of the future. 



JOSEPH WILLARD CRO-MWELL. 

Among the modern agriculturists of Putnam county is Joseph Willard 
Cromwell, who is the owner of a splendidly improved farm in Warren town- 
ship. He is a native of Clav county, Indiana, where his birth occurred April 6, 
i860, the son of John O. and Diana E. (Barnettj Cromwell, the latter the 
daughter of John and Rachael (Ellis) Barnett and was born April 2, 1832. 
Mr. and Mrs. Barnett were pioneer settlers, coming to this county in 1827; 
the father died in .Vugust. 1875, at the age of seventy-eight years, and the 
mother in the same year, being seventy-five years old. John 0. Cromwell was 
the son of Nicholas D. and Amelia (Marshall) Cromwell, descendants of the 



PUTNAM COUXTY. INDIANA. 3O3 

noteil Cromwell of England. They first settled in Maryland, thence going to 
Kentucky and then to Indiana. Nicholas was the first sheriff, also the first 
treasurer of Clay county and was jndge of the circuit court for a period of se\-- 
enteen years. He was born in 1771. and died in 1848. at Bowling Green, Clay 
county. Indiana. John O. Cromwell was reared on a farm and followed this 
line of work all his life, dealing extensively in livestock; for two years he 
engaged in the retail merchandise business. Politically he was a Democrat 
and held the office of justice of the peace twelve years and was trastee of his 
township for four years, and he was a notary public — in short, a very useful 
man in his cummunity. where he was honored by all who knew him. During 
the Civil war he sent a substitute, for which he paid eight hundred and fift}- 
dollars. At the time of his death he was a resident of Pleasant Garden, 
^\'ashingto^ township, dying April 7, 1902, His wife died October 16, 190^. 
They were the parents of the following children : Charles X. married Allie 
Browning, now deceased: two children were born to them, Tunis and Claude; 
his second wife was Minnie Anderson, also deceased; he married a third time, 
]Mrs. Maud Pounds, John E. Cromwell married Kate Brock and they are 
the parents of three children. ]\Iable. Pearl and Grace. Grandal T. married 
Laura .\kers and resides in Terre Haute; Curtis Clay is deceased; Rella. who 
remained single, is an evangelist; Josephine married George McKinlev and 
they have three children. Helen (deceased). Jesse and Margaret; DeW'itt P. 
married Lillie Shadwick. reside in Indianapolis and are the parents of two 
children. DeW'itt, Jr., and Helen; Florence, who married Charles Lee. is a 
widow ; Rella and Josie were teachers for some time in the public schools of 
Putnam county and Clay counties. Mr. and Mrs. Cromwell have fifteen 
grandchildren living and two dead. 

Joseph W. Cromwell, of this review, remained at home with his parents 
until sixteen years of age, when he accepted a position with the V'andalia Rail- 
road Company, in the employ of which he has remained continuouslv for a 
period of thirty-four years, being employed as steam shovel engineer most 
of the time and he has always been regarded as one of the most trusted of the 
company's employes. February i. 1885, he was married to Laura B. Hepler. 
born August 16. 1864, the daughter of John D. and Elettita (Leonard) 
Hepler. her parents having been among the old settlers of Putnam countv, 
spending their lives on a farm here. y[r. Hepler was a native of Putnam 
county and he became the owner of a large tract of land near Putnamville, 
where he still lives, having sold much of the land he formerly owned. He has 
reached an advanced age. Daniel Hepler. grandfather of Mrs. Cromwell, was 



304 



WEIK S HISTORY OF 



a native of Xorth Carolina, and was an early settler in Putnam county. He 
married Gadsy Heath. 

A few years after their marriage, Mr. and Mrs. Joseph W. Cromwell 
purchased a tract of land adjoining that of Mrs. Cromwell's father and here 
they have continued to make their home. In the spring of 1910 they moved 
into a new, modern and beautiful home which they erected beside their old 
home. They are the parents of seven children, five of whom are living; they 
are. Vita B., born October 20, 1885; John W., born January 21, 1890; Eulah 
D., born No\ember 25, 1S94; Oliver, born October 30, 1900; Mary E., born 
October i, 1902; Fred B., born ^larch 23, 1887, died April 2d following; 
Isabella, born December 22, 1895, died young. The oldest child, Vita B., was 
married August 12, 1908, to Charles Klotz, and they reside in Indianapolis. 



JASPER N. MILLER. 

Amono- the well known and popular citizens of Putnam county is he 
whose name forms the caption of this sketch and who is very satisfactorily 
fiUino- the office of county treasurer, his labors among his fellowmen in Put- 
nam countv having made him a much liked public character, being known 
as a man of keen perceptive faculties, unusual soundness of judginent and 
upright in all his dealings with his fellow countrymen, until today his name 
stands high on the scroll of honored residents of this locality. Being descend- 
ants of worthy ancestors who figured conspicuously in the early development 
of this countv, hence being history makers, the Miller family is gladly ac- 
corded proper recognition in this work. 

Jasper X. JMiller was bom in Franklin township. Putnam county, Decem- 
ber iS, 1S53, the son of James T. and Mary (Brown) Miller. The former 
was born October 28. 1S30, in this county, the son of one of the early pioneers 
here, havino- entered three hundred and eighty acres of land in Franklin 
township, the faniilv having come here from 'Sit. Sterling. Kentucky, in 1829, 
and amid the wilderness began developing a new home, and in due course of 
time became well established. 

The parents of Jasper X. ^Tiller were married on X'ovember 30. 1850. 
'SltiTY Brown, who was born February 16, 1831, was the daughter of Jonathan 
and Eliza (Camp) Brown, both of whom came from Tennessee at an early 
date. ha\ing been prominent pioneer citizens. This couple grew up to honest 
toil in a new countrv. where they received only a meager schooling in the 




JASPER N. MILLER 



PUTNAM COUNTY, INDIANA. 3O5 

old-time schools of the early days. Five children were born to them, named 
as follows: Jason Riley, bom September 2, 1859; Jasper Newton, of this re- 
view; Eliza Vorhees, born September 10, i860; Sylvia Alice, born September 
10, i860, and died February 9, 1888; Serilda Jane, born December 20. 1856, 
and died January i, 1874. 

James F. Miller, father of these children, devoted his life exclusively to 
farming, at which he was very successful, being a man who was never afraid 
of hard work, owing to the fact that it fell to his lot to assist in clearing and 
cultivating the old homestead in F'ranklin township when he was but a mere 
boy. He is a man of the very highest integrity and honor, a Democrat but 
not a public man. He still li\'es in Monroe township with his wife where he 
is highly esteemed by all his neighbors and friends. He removed from Frank- 
lin township to Monroe township in 1872. 

Jasper X. Miller, the immediate subject of this review, received his early 
schooling in the common schools of his native township, and later in life he 
greatly augmented his early training by close application to the study of 
general topics at home and by contact with the world in general. He early 
began farming and has followed that vocation practically all his life, in con- 
nection with which he has sold wind-mills and pumps, being considered an 
authority on wind-mills, representing the Zimmerman Manufacturing Com- 
pany of Auburn. Indiana, in a very satisfactory manner. He also followed 
the well-drilling business for some time, but up to 1S72 his attention was given 
exclusively to assisting his father on the home farm. For a number of years 
he rented land, buying sixty acres in 1876. He has prospered by reason of 
his close application to his business affairs and the exercise of splendid judg- 
ment and principles that cannot help but lead to gratifying results when they 
are rightlv applied as they have evidently been done in his case, for he is now 
the owner of one of the choice farms of Putnam county, consisting of two 
hundred and thirteen acres, on which he carries on general farming and stock 
raising, always handling some very fine specimens of livestock, for which he 
finds a readv market. He has a very comfortable and well located dwelling 
and such outbuildings and modern farming machineiy as his needs require. 

Mr. Miller was married on April 29, 1872, to Sophia A. James, born 
August I. 1853, daughter of David and Mary Ann (Howard) James, an old 
and highly honored pioneer family of Putnam county. David James was 
born near Natural Bridge. Kentucky, and came to Putnam county when six 
years old. ]\rar>- Ann James came from Tennessee. This union has resulted 
in the birth of three children, named as follows: Viola Mae. who was born 
on September 9. 1S75. married E. R. Denny, a farmer of Monroe township. 
(20) 



3o6 weik's history of 

this countv; Rav K.. bom February 6, 1885, married Anna McFadden, living 
on the parental farm ; Mary C, born November 3, 1889, is assisting her father 
in the county treasurer's office. 

Mr. Miller has always been deeply interested in the affairs of Putnam 
countv and has stood ready at all times to forward any worthy movement 
looking to the betterment of the same, ever loyal to the principles of the 
Democratic party, and as a reward for his interest in public affairs, his sterl- 
ing honesty and his genuine worth he was selected by his party for the office 
of county treasurer, being nominated at his first effort for the office. During 
his campaign he never went into a saloon, and his total expense was not over 
one hundred dollars. He was elected on November 3, 1909, taking office in 
January, 1910, and he is very satisfactorily discharging the duties of the same, 
his election being a criterion of his popularity in the county, his majority 
being four hundred forty-five. On January 7, 1910, he was honored by 
being renominated for the office. 

Fraternallv ]Mr. Miller is a member of the Free and Accepted Masons, 
Lodge No. 75, at Bainbridge, Indiana. He also belongs to the Supreme 
Court of Honor. The Miller family holds membership in the Christian 
church. 

Personallv Mr. Miller is a man whom ever\-body likes, being courteous, 
a o-ood mixer, honest and conscientious in his service to his fellow men in 
every capacity. 



WILLIAM WOODSON HODGE. 

One of Putnam county's substantial farmers and gallant veterans is 
William Woodson Hodge, who was born within her borders, February 10, 
1845, and whose life has been spent principally in Warren township, where 
his well-kept farm is to be found. He is the son of George W. and Gabrella 
Courtnev (Williamson) Hodge, natives of Kentucky, the former born Octo- 
ber 16, 1 819, and the latter January 29, 1826. The father was six years 
old when his parents. Drew and Sarah Hodge, came to Putnam county in 
1826 and built a log cabin on an eighty-acre tract which they entered from 
the government, on which Mr. Hodge lived until his death in 1S40, his widow 
surviving until 1868. They were members of the Methodist Episcopal church, 
and they are buried at the Walnut church grave-yard. To them eight children 
were born : Russell, Alexander, ]\Ieshak, Shelton, George W., Laura, Sina 
and Margaret. Thev are all deceased. George W. Hodge, father of William 



PUTXAM COUNTY, INDIANA. 3O7 

\\'.. of this review, spent his boyhood assisting with the work on the home 
farm and recei\-ed the advantages of such scliools of his day as were afforded 
by the log school house, with its open fire-place and with slabs for seats. 

In 1842 George W. Hodge married Gabrella Courtney Williamson and 
began his married life on his parents' farm, which he heired. He sold this 
place and for several years lived on several different tracts, which he bought 
and sold in turn, finally purchasing seventy acres in section i, Washington 
township, and spent the remainder of his life there, dying March 21, 1865, 
his widow surviving until 1898. He devoted his life to farming, and he was 
assessor of his township for one term. He was a member of the Methodist 
Episcopal church and a Greeley Abolitionist in politics. He and his wife were 
the parents of nine children, seven of whom are now living, namely: Mrs. 
Matilda Bryant, of Lawrence county. Indiana; Mrs. Laura Corwin is living 
in the state of Idaho; Mrs. Susan Jackson, of Missouri; Mrs. Julia Ford, of 
Kansas; Charles W., of Idaho; Mrs. Mary Taylor, of Idaho; Ellen and Mar- 
garet Frances are deceased; William W., of this review. 

\\'iniam W. Hodge remained with his parents on the home farm, receiv- 
ing a common school education, gained mostly in subscription schools. In 
1863, when only seventeen years of age, he enlisted in Company F, One Hun- 
dred and Twenty-third Regiment Indiana Volunteer Infantry, and served 
through many trying campaigns and hard-fought battles until the close of the 
war, among which was the siege of Atlanta, battle of Nashville, battle of 
Franklin, battle of Wise Forks, North Carolina, and he was present at the 
surrender of Johnston. He was honorably discharged August 25, 1865. 
returning to his home and managing the parental acres for two years there- 
after, his father having died while he was in the service. 

On March 26, 1868, Mr. Hodge was married to Lucy A. Sellers, daugh- 
ter of James and Nancy Sellers, of Warren township, where Mr. Sellers car- 
ried on farming, ;\Ir. and Mrs. Hodge went to live with the former's mother 
on the home farm. Later he purchased one hundred and fifty acres in section 
17, Warren township, paying one thousand dollars in cash and going in debt 
for the balance. His mother moved onto this farm and he remained on the 
home place, though for several years they farmed the two places in partner- 
ship. When, in 1880, his mother moved back to her old home, he moved to 
his own farm and has made it his home ever since, having fully paid the debt 
long ago. He has been very successful as a general farmer and especially as 
an horticulturist, having a fine orchard of forty acres, planted in an excellent 
variety of choice trees. He is an authority on peach growing and no small 
part of his income is derived from his orchard. He also finds time 



3o8 weik's history of 

to raise stock of a very- good quality which always finds a ready mar- 
ket. — in fact he usually commands fancy prices owing to the high grade of his 
stock. But it is principally as a fruit grower that he is widely known, not 
only throughout Putnam county, but also over the state, being considered an 
authority in horticulture. He has taken an interest in political affairs and for 
two years was trustee of his township. 

Mrs. Hodge died January i, 1879, and Mr. Hodge then married Emran 
Mercer, daughter of Eli and Lucy Mercer, of Washington township, her 
father having been one of the old farmers of Putnam county and a highly 
respected citizen. Mr. Hodge's first marriage resulted in the birth of six 
children, namely : Carrie, James. Dora, Frankie, Lucy and William ; the last 
two named being twins. Two children were born of the second union, Minnie 
and Mont ray. 

Carrie B. Hodge was born August i, 1869, married Frank A. Pearcy, 
a carpenter, and they are the parents of one child, Harold, now five years of 
age. James W. Hodge was born September 10, 1871, has remained single, and 
he is a graduate of the State Normal, also of DePauw University, and he is 
now superintendent of the schools at Aberdeen, Washington, having followed 
teaching. Dora B. Hodge, who was born September 5, 1873, married George 
Pearcv, and they are the parents of one child, George E., now four years old. 
Charles F. Hodge, who was born April 13, 1876, died September 21, 1877; 
William W. Hodge, Jr., born January i, 1879, died July 6th following. 
Lucy A., born January i, 1879, died February 18, 1880; Minnie was born 
August 10, 1881, married W. O. Lewis, of Warren township, and they have 
two children. Aubrey and Bernice; Alontray was born February 24, 1885, 
died August 6, 1887. 



WILLL\M YATES LEWIS. 

To spend a few hours with William Yates Lewis, a venerable and highly 
honored citizen of Warren township, listening to his interesting reminiscences 
of the olden times in Putnam county, one could not well be better entertained, 
for his long, useful and, in some respects, eventful career has been spent in 
his native locality, which he has seen advance from the wild woods to the 
modern twentieth-centur}- civilization, and he has taken no small part in this 
work of transformation, having been a hard worker all his life and deeply 
interested in the growth of his community in all lines, being ready whenever 
occasion presented itself to do his full share of the work to be done here. 



PCTXAM COUNTY, INDIANA. 3O9 

Mr. Lewis is a nati\"e of Monroe township, born Febrnarv' 19, 1S32, the 
son of Israel Gregg and Xancy Susan Jane Lewis, the father a native of Ken- 
tucky and the mother of Virginia. They came to Putnam county, Indiana, 
as early as 1826. locating one-half mile east of Brick Chapel, Monroe town- 
ship, buying there one hundred and sixty acres of land at five dollars per 
acre, which, in those days, was a high price ; however, the place had some im- 
provements, including a log house, which Mr. Lewis continued to occupy 
for a period of twenty-five years, making various additions to the same. 
He finally sold this place and purchased two hundred and sixty acres in sec- 
tion 15, Warren township, upon which stood a hewn-log house. He was a 
successful farmer for those days and he lived here until his death in 1855, 
his widow surviving to a ripe old age, dying on February 25, 1890. Israel G. 
Lewis found time from his farming to do a great deal of church work, having 
been a minister in the Methodist Episcopal church, having charge of a circuit; 
he also studied medicine and was successful as a practitioner as well as a 
minister, and in these ways he accomplished a great amount of good and 
became widely known. In his day log-rollings were frequent and it had long 
been the custom to have plenty of whisky at such events, but Mr. Lewis dis- 
carded the jug and gave his neighbors coffee on such occasions, which seemed 
to be appreciated and had a good effect upon the morals of the community. 
He was known for his generosity and hospitality in entertainment of both 
friend and stranger. Politically he was a Whig. He was patriotic and vol- 
unteered during the war of 181 2 and he was in the famous charge at the 
battle of the Thames, when the great war chief and British general Tecumseh 
was killed. He and his wife were the parents of the following children : 
Rhoda A., now ^Irs. Cowgill ; James Nathaniel, Oscar Thomas Lewis, Solo- 
mon Colmbs. Lucy Emarin, now Mrs. Bridges; William Yates, of this review; 
George Ewing. Charles Henry, Gabriel Clay, Susan Jane, Louisa Elizabeth, 
now Mrs. Evans; Gabriel died in infancy; Israel died when five years of age; 
Nancy died in infancy. Only three of these children are now living, two sis- 
ters beside the subject of this review. Susan Jane, who has remained single 
and makes her home with A. L. Evans on the old homestead, and Louisa E., 
the wife of Arthur E. Evans, of Warren township. 

William Yates Lewis spent his early life on the home farm, attending 
school in the log houses of his day, with their rude furnishings. Such schools 
were conducted on the subscription plan, and only the rudiments of an edu- 
cation could be gained unless the pupil took the pains to further his own re- 
searches. 

Mr. Lewis was married on December 30, 1865, to Man.- Emily Clear- 
water, the daughter of John and Matilda Clearwater, of Warren township, 



3IO WEIK S HISTORY OF 

Mr. Cleanvater being one of the early settlers of this county and one of the 
builders of the National road. His parents were natives of Virginia. 

'Sir. Lewis and his bride went to housekeeping on one hundred and fifteen 
acres in section 22, Warren township, and he has continued to make his home 
here to the present time, having made a very comfortable living, improved a 
fine farm and laid by an ample competency for his old age. He first lived in a 
double log house, and in 1888 built a more pretentious dwelling just in front 
of the old house which he tore down, leaving the old rock chimney, twelve 
feet in height, built of dressed Putnam county stone, and which is still in 
excellent condition, and is now covered with vines. It is prized by all the 
family as a relic of the old home. General farming and stock raising has 
occupied Mr. Lewis' attention. He is a Republican in politics and for two 
years was trustee of his township; formerly he was a Whig. He is a member 
of the ^lethodist church at Bethel. 

Six children constitute Mr. Lewis' family; they are: Ida Belle, born 
November 12, 1866, married George H. Hurin, of Crown Point, Indiana, 
and four children have been born to them, ;May, Joyce Lewis, Mary Jean, 
Nellie Rose, Ezra Clay Lewis, born December 3. 1867, married Love D. 
Wills, and he has followed the painter's trade in this county ; they are the par- 
ents of six children. Vernie Clare, Bertha Gladys, Forest Wills, Ernest Paul, 
Gertrude M. and Leslie L. Lou Nellie Lewis, born September 6, 1870, mar- 
ried ;M. E. Cooper and they are the parents of four children. Alarion L.. Mary 
F., Ruth and Catherine. Charles Ernest Lewis, born ]\Iay 2. 1873, married 
Lottie Roberts and they are the parents of four children, Dorothy, Helen L., 
John W. and Edward C. : they live on a farm in this county. Catherine Ger- 
trude Lewis, born August 14, 1875, married first, Owen T, Wright, then 
George O. Whittaker : she lives on a farm in Putnam county and is the mother 
of two children, Wayne Lewis and Esther Catherine, ^^■illiam Otis Lewis, 
born November 11, 1881. married Minnie Hodge: they live on a farm in 
this countv, and are the parents of two children, Aubrey G. and Vernice L, 



EBENEZER WATSON S^IYTHE. 

Among the enterprising citizens and prominent and successful business 
men of Fillmore, Putnam county, Indiana, is the gentleman whose name ap- 
pears at the head of this sketch. A lifelong resident of this county, he has 
so lived as to merit the unbounded respect and confidence of his neighbors 



PUTXAM COrXTV. IXDIAXA. 3II 

and now. as tlie golden sunset of Iiis lite draws near, he is enjoyinj; that rest 
which he has so richly earned. 

Ebenezer \V. Smythe was born February 4. 183J, in this county, and is 
a son of Ebenezer and Elizabeth (Sill) Smythe. both of whom were natives 
of Shelby county, Kentucky, the father having descended from sturdy Scotch- 
Irish ancestrv. He came to Putnam countv in 1824 and located on eightv acres 
of land which he had purchaseil near Greencastle. He lived on this land until 
his death, which occurred in 1861, when he was sixty-three years old. His 
wife had preceded him to the unseen land, dying in 1S56, at the age of fifty- 
two years. Their remains were interred in the family burying ground on their 
homestead farm. Ebenezer Smythe followed the occupation of farming dur- 
ing his active years and was numbered among the active and influential men 
of his community. In religious belief he was a Presbyterian, while his wife 
was a member of the Baptist church. They became the parents of nine chil- 
dren, of whom four are now living, namely: George V., a farmer in Green- 
castle township, this county; Hannah R., the widow of John Clark Ridpath. 
the eminent historian, who for many years was one of the best known citizens 
of Greencastle ; Harriet, of Illinois, the widow of the late Benjamin Cof^een : 
Ebenezer W.. the subject of this sketch. 

Ebenezer ^^'. Smythe spent his boyhood tlays on the paternal homestead 
and received his education in the common schools. He was reared to the life 
of a farmer and remained as his father's assistant until his marriage, in 185S. 
at which time he located at Fillmore and engaged in the contracting business. 
Fie was a careful and expert workman and a good business man and many 
of the best buildings, public and private, in and about Greencastle were erected 
by him. In 1865 ]Mr. Smythe removed to Greencastle, continuing his former 
line of work and at the same time engaging in the undertaking business, which 
line he followed for twelve years. He then moved to Chicago and engaged 
in the manufacture of cotton presses, in which he met with gratifying success. 
so that f(5ur }-ears later he retired from that business and returned to his 
former location at Fillmore, where he erected a neat and attractive residence, 
moflern in every respect. an<I in this comfortable home he is now living and 
enjoying life. He is not passing the time idly, however, but has recently super- 
intended the erection of the new school house just completed at Fillmore, his 
sound judgment and integrity being generally recognized. He has at all times 
taken a keen and intelligent interest in current events and gives an earnest 
support to all movements tending to the advancement of the best interests of 
the community. 



31^ 



WEIK S HISTORY OF 



On October 31, 1858, Mr. Smythe was united in marriage to Sarah Oliver, 
a daughter of Morris and Martha OHver, of Marion township, this county. 
Mrs. Smythe died on February 14, 1885, and on October 31, 1888, Mr. Smythe 
married Louisa C. Knight, the daughter of Lloyd and Katherine Knight, of 
Marion township, the former having served as coroner of Putnam county for 
four years. 

Mr. Smvthe is the father of seven children, all by his first marriage, 
namelv : Clara Belle, who is unmarried and is employed as a saleslady in Allen 
Brothers drv goods store in Greencastle ; Jennie, the wife of Henry Pentenoy, 
of Chicago: Arthur L., who married Lola Snyder; Oliver H., of Chicago, 
marrierl Kate Callahan, and they have one child. Clara : Wesley W. married 
Mabel Kissinger and they have three children. Eban, Grace and Arthur; 
Frank R. married Bertha McFrase and they have four children, Jean Marie. 
Bertha. Frank R. J. and Freda E. ; Harry B. married Susie B. Kissinger and 
they ha\-e three children. Royal, Allen and Sarah C. 

Fraternally ^Vfr. Smytlie is a member of the Free and Accepted Masons, 
the Knights of Pythias, and the Foresters, as well as the Carpenters' Union. 
Religiously he is a member of the Christian church and his wife of the Meth- 
odist Episcopal church. . 



AMOS EVAXS AYLER. :\L D. ^ ,'■■• 

The family of this name is of English stock on the paternal side and 
German on. the maternal. It is of ancient origin and has been identified with 
the eastern part of the country from early colonial days. The emigrating 
ancestors settled on Kent Island. Marydand. on land granted to them by the 
King, and they lived in that locality for generations, meantime sending out 
offshoots to various parts of the countr}-. Among the descendants of this 
emigrant ancestor is William H. Ayler. a native of the eastern shore of Mary- 
land and a master mechanic by prefession. being now in the employ of the 
L'nited States government at the national capital. He married Jane Re- 
becca Gladfelter, whose family also was one of old and well-established con- 
nections, dating their origin in Switzerland. That they were notable people 
in their native county is attested by the fact that a canton there now bears 
their name. Casper Gladfelter was the first of the name to come to America 
and he settled on a farm near York. Pennsylvania. In 1907 a family reunion 
was held on the old farm that had been cleared by this first emigrant and there 
were oxer two thousand descendants present, representing forty-two states. 



PUTNAM COL'NTY. INDIANA. 3I3 

Mrs. Jane Rebecca Ayler. who was a granddaughter of Casper Gladfelter. 
died in 1905, at Baltimore, Maryland, at the age of sixty-four years. She was 
one of eleven children and the first of the family to die. By her union with 
William H. Avler she became the mother of nine children, of whom eight are 
living, namelv: John S.. of Baltimore; Henry E., an employee of the post- 
otifice department at Washington; Ella R., wife of Jacob Hunt, of Baltimore: 
Thomas T.. in the postal department at Baltimore. Maryland; Reuben A., a 
twin brother of Ella R.. died in infancy; Amos Evans, of Greencastle; Lila 
V. and Rosa E., residents of Washington ; William L., who is a manufacturing 
chemist at Dallas, Texas. All these children were bom at Baltimore, except 
the youngest, who is a native of Wilmington. Delaware. A notable char- 
acteristic of the Ayler family is the unusual number of twins. William H. 
was a twin, and the father of twins, and one of his sons met with the same 
double blessing. 

Amos Evans Ayler, the sixth in order of birth of this interesting family, 
was born at Baltimore, Mar>land, December 5. 1870. He remained in the 
city of his nativity until the completion of his twenty-seventh year, mean- 
while attending the public schools and being graduated from the high school. 
In 1S90 he entered the Cleveland Medical College and after spending one 
year in that institution he became a student in the Southern Homeopathic 
College at Baltimore and after three years of diligent application was grad- 
uated with the class of 1897. He served for awhile as senior interne in the 
Baltimore Homeopathic Hospital, after which he became physician in charge 
of the National Homeopathic Hospital at Washington. D. C. He retained 
this responsible position for twenty-six months and then decided to find an- 
other field for his energies in the central West. August 8. 1899, he located 
at Greencastle, Indirna. and ever since has been closely identified with 
the business, social and professional life of that city. He has practiced his 
profession continuously and assiduously, meeting with the success that is 
sure to follow talent well applied and industry of the unwearying kind. 
Indeed, his success has been unusual, with the result that he is recognized 
as one of the most progressive physicians in Indiana, with advanced and 
definite ideas regarding the treatment of diseases by the most modern 
methods. His ability is recognized beyond the confines of his adopted county 
and he is frecjuently called in obstinate cases where the best talent is desired. 
Doctor Avler is the owner of a splendid property, extending one hundred 
and four feet on Washington street and two hundred and twenty feet 
on College avenue, comprising a half square, and on this property he has 



314 WEIK S HISTORY OF 

erected a modern and conveniently-arranged office building and a comfortable 
and attractive residence. 

Fraternally Doctor Ayler is especially conspicuous as a Freemason, 
having passed through the various degrees including those of Knight Templar 
in the York rite and the thirty-second of the Scottish rite. He has been 
honored by official distinction in several of the bodies, being a past high 
priest in the chapter of Royal Arch Masons at Greencastle and the present 
eminent commander of the conimandery of Knights Templar. He is also 
a member of the Ancient Arabic Order of Xobles of the Mystic Shrine, 
belonging to Murat Temple at Indianapolis. The Doctor is also a member 
of the Knights of Pythias, the Fraternal Order of Eagles, the Benevolent 
and Protective Order of Elks and the Junior- Order of xA.merican Mechanics. 
Professionallv he is a member of the American Institute of Homeopathy, is 
independent in politics and altogether is one of the most notable and popular 
men in Greencastle. 

On June 21, 1899, Doctor .\yler was married, at Washington, D. C. to 
Wilhelmina Reocher, a native of Pomeroy. Ohio, whose parents were John 
Franklin and Margaret F. Reocher, both of German stock. To Doctor and 
Mrs. Avler have been born twin daughters. Amy Evelyn and Mary Elva, 
born Alay 17, 1903. 



JOHN M. BOWMAN. 

Among the well remembered and highly respected men of Putnam county, 
who. during a former generatii^n. did much for the general good of the resi- 
dents here and who have "cast off the robes and instruments of senss" and 
now sleep the sleep that knows no waking, is John M. Bowman, who left his 
familv a valuable estate near Fillmore and also left Ijehind him what is more 
valuable, an honored name, for he was a man in whom his neighbors placed the 
utmost confidence, knowing him to be honest and kind and of a likable dispo- 
sition. 

Mr. Bowman was born December 25. 1S35. the son of Leonard and 
^[arv (Hickman) Bowman, who came to this county from Kentuck}- in 
1833, locating on a farm. He was a farmer and carpenter and he and his 
wife were members of the Methodist church; his death occurred April i. 1870, 
Afrs. Bowman reaching an advanced age, dying Alarch 13. 1900. Bc^th are 
buried at ]\[t. Carmel, this county. They were the parents of eleven cln'ldren. 
namely : John M.. the immediate subject of this sketch : Matilda Jane. Martha 



PUTNAM COUNTY. INDIANA. 315 

Katherine, William, Elizabeth Margaret, George, Charles. Alice, Lyddia, 
Gilbert B. and Martha; all are deceased except the last two named. They 
were all born on the present Bowman homestead here. Martha is the wife 
of William Denny and Gilbert Brown is living at Lebanon, Indiana. 

John 'M. Bowman received a common school education and spent his boy- 
hood days on the home fann. He married Sarah J. Smith, February 24, 1S64, 
She is the daughter of Robert L. and Elmina Smith, an old and highly re- 
spected family of this county, Mr. Smith having been a successful and honored 
fanner, owning a farm adjoining that of Leonard Bowman. 

Mr. and Mrs. Bowman went to housekeeping in a log hut on a farm 
joining the land owned by his father, consisting of two hundred and thirty- 
nine acres, which he bought in 1873. 

Mr. Bowman was one of the patriotic sons of the North who enlisted in 
defense of his countrs-, becoming a member of Company H, Eleventh Regi- 
ment Indiana Volunteer Infantry, and served five months or until the close 
of the war. Upon his return from the front he moved from his original home 
and settled on the old home place, where he resided until his death, February 
3. 1907. He received a pension of fifty dollars a month. He was not only a 
successful farmer, but also raised stock of a good quality. He was a Re- 
publican in politics and a progressive citizen, believing in good roads and all 
kinds of public improvements. He belonged to the ]vIethodist church at Fill- 
more, of which congregation his wife is also a member. Mr. and IMrs. Bow- 
man were the parents of fourteen chiklren, named as follows : Laura Isabelle 
is the wife of John C. Broadstreet. a farmer of Mill Creek township, and they 
are the parents of six children, Austin (deceased). Martin, Linnie, Mingle, 
Wayne and Verlin. Linnie Elma married a Mr. Broadstreet and is now de- 
ceased : Mary Eddy is deceased ; Luella is the wife of Charles Bins, of Marion 
township: they live on a farm and are the parents of four children, Jesse. 
Maynard, Alberta and Walter. Charles Edgar married Lennie Forest Perry 
(deceased), and they had one child, Gladys; they live on a farm in ^Marion 
township. The next child died in infancy; Lee Hulda is the wife of Walter 
Wright, a farmer in [Marion township, and they are the parents of two chil- 
dren, Olen and Dorothy; Ollie Elmina is deceased, and left one child. Lois 
Cowell ; Claude Orlando is deceased ; Martha Catherine is deceased ; George 
Clyde is living at home, with one child. Clyde; Baddy E. (deceased) ; Can- 
dace Alice is the wife of Dr. Bert O'Brien; they have two children. Bernice 
and William Waldo ; they live at Winchester. Hendricks county : I^ta Eliza- 
beth, deceased. > 

Besides her own large family >[rs. Bowman raised two children. Clarence 
Van Cleve and Ma\- Averv. 



3i6 weik's history of 



LYCURGUS STONER. 

Tlie family of which the subject of this review is an honorable rep- 
resentative has been identified with Putnam county since the pioneer period 
and today there are few names in this part of Indiana as widely known or as 
highly esteemed. Lycurgus Stoner. a veteran of the late Civil war and a 
prominent citizen of Washington township, is a grandson of Peter Stoner, 
of Mar\-land, whose antecedents were among the early settlers of that col- 
ony. Peter Stoner was born September 14, 1763, and at the age of sixteen 
ran away from home on account of his stepfather and entered the American 
army, enlisting in 1780 for three months' service. At the expiration of that 
time he re-entered for si.x months, still later for ten months, and during his 
military experience participated in a number of battles and skirmishes, in- 
cluding the engagements at Monks Corner and Eutaw Springs, North Caro- 
lina, in. the latter of which he was twice wounded. Some time after the 
close of the war for independence he settled in Orange county, North Caro- 
lina, where he lived until his removal, about the year 1832, to Putnam 
county, Indiana. In September, 1832, he applied to the government for a 
pension, which in due time was granted, this fact together with his war 
record being attested to in March, 1890. by Valentine Warner, commissioner 
of pensions at Washington, D. C. 

Peter Stoner was married August 13, 1793. to Eva Cotnerand became 
the father of several children, among whom were Peter, Jr., who moved to 
Putnam county in 1823. Joseph, who also settled in this county, locating on 
Little Walnut creek in JMadison township, where he cleared a farm and 
spent the remainder of his life. He was a member of the society of Friends, 
was twice married and lived to be quite an old man. Peter Stoner was a man 
of fine business ability and at his death, which occurred on April 7, 185 1, left 
a valuable estate. 

Peter Stoner, Jr., son of the above, preceded his father to Putnam 
county by about nine years, settling two miles west of Greencastle, between 
Little and Big Walnut creeks, in 1823. He drove from his North Carolina 
home in a two-horse wagon, which contained his few belongings in the way 
of household goods and agricultural implements, and upon his arrival the 
sum total of his available cash amounted to just fifty cents. In due time he 
erected a log cabin, in which his children were afterwards bom. and by dint 
of hard and long-continued labor, cleared and improved a farni on which 
he spent the remainder of his life. The present house, which replaced the 



PL"T^■A^f COUN'TY. INDIANA. 3I7 

original cabin, was built in 1853 and has been used continually since that 
year, being one of the oldest farm dwellings in the community and in a good 
state of preservation. Mr. Stoner added to his holdings at intervals until 
he became the owner of about four hundred acres of land which afterwards 
increased in value and placed him in independent circumstances. He di- 
rected his energies to the clearing and developing a part of this land and as 
a farmer he easily ranked with the best in the county and acquired a handsome 
competency, leaving at his death an estate con.ser\-atively estimated at over 
a hundred thousand dollars. Although a member of no church, his life was 
singularly noble and upright and against his character no breath of sus- 
picion was ever uttered. His death, on June 4, 1876, was profoundly la- 
mented by the large circle of friends and neighbors. Mrs. Stoner. who 
preceded her husband to the grave about two or three years, was a woman 
of excellent repute and stood high in the confidence and esteem of all who 
knew her. The family of this worthy couple consisted of the following 
children: Joseph W.. Lycurgus. William P., Peter S., John W.. Sarah J., 
widow of John Davis of California; Lucy, wife of Benjamin Daggey, of 
LaPorte county. Indiana; Eve. who married James H. Torr. and lives on 
the old homestead in Madison township, and Indiana, wife of John L. Hillis. 
of Greencastle. 

Lycurgus Stoner, the second of the above family, was born March 17, 
1836. in Putnam county. Indiana, and spent his early life on the family 
homestead, attending in the meantime such schools as were then common. 
He remained with his parents assisting in the cultivation of the farm until 
ominous clouds of impending civil war obscured the national horizon, 
when, with thousands of other loyal young men throughout the Xorth. he 
responded to the first call for troops, enlisting on April 21. 1861. in the 
Tenth Regiment. Indiana Volunteer Infantn,-. with which he served three 
months in Virginia, taking part during that time in several skirmishes and 
minor engagements, including the action at Rich Mountain, which was 
among the first battles of the war. At the expiration of his period of service 
he re-enlisted and shortly thereafter was attached to General Fremont's 
bodv guard at St. Louis, where he remained on active duty until his time 
expired. In Januarv, 1862. he joined Company E. Twenty-first Regiment. 
Indiana Volunteer Infantn,-. at Baltimore. Marydand. and continued with the 
regiment until 1864. on January loth of which year he veteranized with 
Companv E. Twenty-first Regiment. Indiana Volunteers, at Baton Rouge, 
Louisiana, which was in General Butler's command and operated along the 
lower Mississippi and elsewhere, among the more noted of that General's 



3l8 WEIK S HISTORY OF 

achievements being the capture of New Orleans, in which the subject took 
part. 

Later ]Mr. Stoner was with General Banks on the ill-starred Red River 
expedition, where he saw much active ser\'ice and passed through many 
thrilling experiences ; he also participated in the battle at Baton Rouge, the 
capture of Port Hudson and a number of other engagements, his military 
service being replete with duty bravely and uncomplainingly performed. 
While at the front he was fortunate in escaping injury, the only time he was 
absent from his command by reason of disability being a short period in a 
hospital at New Orleans, where he was treated for an attack of typhoid 
fever. 

Discharged with an honorable record at the expiration of his period of 
enlistment, Mr. Stoner returned to Putnam county and shortly thereafter 
purchased a fine tract of bottom land on the Big Walnut creek, which he 
at once proceeded to improve. Mr. Stoner in due time had his farm under a 
high state of tillage and in connection with agriculture also devoted consider- 
able attention to the breeding and raising of fine livestock, in which his 
success was continuous and gratifying. For twenty-eight years he was 
associated with his brother Peter in the livestock business and since 1884 has 
o\:cupied the beautiful and commodious home in Washington township, 
where he is now living a life of honorable retirement. 

Mr. Stoner, on February 14, 1867, was happily married to Elvira Boone, 
a daughter of Daniel and Malinda (Miller) Boone, the father a native of 
Harrison county, Indiana, and a son of Moses and Hannah Boone and a great 
nephew of Daniel Boone, the noted hunter, frontiersman and Indian fighter, 
who bore such a distinguished part in the early annals of Kentucky and else- 
where throughout the central West. Mrs. Stoner's father came to Putnam 
countv with his parents about 182 1 and settled on Big Walnut creek in 
Washington township, where Moses Boone died in 1853 at the ripe old age 
of eighty-four years and three months. Daniel spent his young manhood 
clearing and developing the farm on which he and his faithful wife spent 
the remainder of their days, he departing this life on October 20, 18S9, aged 
seventy-three, and she on the 12th day of March, 1902. when eighty-two 
years old. All of the eleven children born to this estimable couple grew to 
maturity, and ten of the number are still living, being among the old and 
well known residents of Putnam county and highly esteemed in their re- 
spective communities. Squire Boone, a brother of the famous frontiers- 
man, at one time owned the farm on which Mr. Stoner now lives ; he sold 
the land in 1849 and went to Iowa, settling on the present site of Boonsboro 



PUTNAM COUNTY, INDIANA. 3I9 

in Boone county, where his son and other descendants still reside, the town 
and county being so named in honor of the family. 

Mrs. Lycurgus Stoner. whose birth occurred February 9, 1840, has 
borne her husband eight children, live of whom survive, viz : Fred, who 
lives on the homestead in Washington township; Gertrude, under the par- 
ental roof: Maude, who married Edward Houck, of Brazil, Indiana; 
Blanche, wife of Oscar O'Hair, of Monroe township, and Lycurgus. who 
lives on the home farm in the township of Madison. ]\Ir. Stoner is a public 
spirited citizen who stands for all enterprises having for their end the 
material prosperity of the community and the moral advancement of his 
fellow men and since attaining his majority has yielded unwavering al- 
legiance to the Republican party. For several years he was a director of the 
First National Bank of Greencastle, but for some time he has not been 
identified with any public institution, being the possessor of a handsome for- 
tune and amply able to spend the remainder of his life in the enjovment 
and rest which his long years of strenuous effort so richly entitle him. 

WILLIAM G. BRAXHAM. 

Among Putnam county's eminent citizens who have passed out of the 
scene of life's activities into the larger life beyond, were those who achieved 
distinction in callings requiring intellectual abilities of a high order. Among 
the latter was William G. Branham, who for many years occupied a conspicu- 
ous place in the educational circles of the county, and who was the first super- 
intendent of schools of this county. Beginning his pedagogical work at an 
early age, he fully appreciated the responsibility of his mission and was a 
faithful and conscientious teacher, as well as a true friend and judicious 
advisor to those who were students under him. Today his memory is held 
sacred by many who were students under him and who, under his direction, 
learned the lessons which have contributed to their subsequent successes. 

William G. Branham \vas born in Putnam county, Indiana, in 1836, 
and was a son of Berry and Morris (Sinclair) Branham. He was reared on 
the home farm and secured his elementaiy education in the common schools. 
Determining to fit himself for the profession of teaching, Mr. Branham be- 
came a student in old Asbury (now DePauw) University, where he re- 
mained nearly four years. At the age of nineteen years he began teaching 
school at Manhattan, but afterwards his labors were mainly confined to the 
schools at Cloverdale, where he was employed for many years. In 1866 he 
became superintendent of schools for Putnam county, but resigned from 



320 



WEIK S HISTORY OF 



the office because of some requirements regarding his report of time em- 
ployed, which his conscience would not permit him to fulfill. Later in life he 
took up agricultural pursuits, which he carried on until his death, which 
occurred at the family residence in Warren township in October, 1896. He 
was truly one of God's noblemen, standing "four square to every wind that 
blows." and in his death the entire community felt it had suffered a distinct 
loss. 

On November 17, 1861. Mr. Branham was married to Sarah Hughes, a 
daughter of Harrison and Mary (Prather) Hughes, she having been born on 
a farm two miles north of Cloverdale. Her parents were natives of Ken- 
tuckv and her father died while she was but a child. 



JOHN A. BENCE. 



Philip Bence was one of the adventurous band who braved the terrors 
of the western wilderness during the latter part of the eighteenth century, 
when it took courage and endurance to make the trip over the mountains 
and down the streams. A native of Pennsylvania, he left his home in early 
manhood and floated down the Ohio to the Falls, where he made up his 
mind to settle. He took up a location on the ridges in the rear of Louisville, 
but later bought bottom lands which were mostly under water and at that 
time possessed little value. His son and namesake. Philip Bence, was born 
in iSoi in Jefferson county, Kentucky, and married x\nna Yenowine Bruce, 
a native of the same county. In 1853 he came to Indiana and settled on a 
farm in Putnam county \\-here his son now lives. It consists of three hun- 
dred and fiftv acres and is situated in Wa.shington township near the pres- 
ent interurban station of Hutcheson. It was partly improved and about 
one-half consisted of bottom land on the west fork of Eel river. The 
purchase price at the time was thirty dollars per acre and Philip Bence and 
his wife spent their lives on that farm. He sold his old home eight miles 
from Louisville for seventy-five dollars. The last years of his life were spent 
in retirement and his lilameless life ended in October. 1882, when he was 
eio-htv-one vears old. His wife passed away in her seventieth year. They 
were lifelong members of the Christian church. They reared ten children, to 
maturitv. whose names are as follows: Fountain, a fanner in Clay county, 
died when sixtv-five vears old; Onesimus lived and died in Clay county; 



PUTNAM COUNTY, INDIANA. 321 

Elizabeth, wlio married Warren Greenweli, died in Clay county, where she 
had lived a number of xears : Jeptha, who owned a woollen mill at Green- 
castle, died at the age of sixty; Lydia, now deceased, was the wife of John 
Lidick, who resided near Groveland. in Putnam county ; Louisa married 
Philip Hutchenson, of Washington township. Putnam county; Genevra died 
in early womanhood, shortly after her marriage to Gregg Smith; Matilda, 
who also died when still young, was the wife of Le\-i Hepler, of Putnam 
county ; George W. is a physician at Greencastle, 

John A. Bence, the oldest child, was born near Louisville, Kentucky, 
October 29, 1836. He was seventeen years old when his father came to 
Putnam county and, being strong and vigorous, he was able to do valuable 
work in clearing the newly purchased farm. He became an excellent farmer 
for those days, being industrious, level headed, of fine judgment and a good 
trader. He bought one-third of his father's old place and on this he has 
ever since made his home. In 1891, he erected the commodious house now 
seen on the place and made many other improvements, which put his hold- 
ings among the high priced and desirable farms of Putnam county. He has 
never been a fancy farmer and eschewed all the fads and fancies of the 
theoretical agriculturist. He preferred to put his faith to the old standbys, 
corn, hogs and cattle, of which he fed a large number each year, turning all 
his grain into stock, instead of selling it, which is the mark of a successful 
farmer. By concentrating all his time and ability on the farm he matle a 
success of his business and ranks among the foremost of Putnam countv's 
farmers. 

In 1853 ^^^- Bence married Anna Kidd, who was reared in Louisville, 
but \\'h(T was visiting relatives in Putnam county when she met her future 
husband. She died in August, 1909, after forty-six years of affectionate and 
faithful married life. Mr. and Mrs. Bence have an only daughter. Emma, 
now the wife of William Hi)uck, a farmer and trader who makes his resi- 
rlence at Greencastle, He is a son of David and Rachel Houck, who lived 
near neighbors of the Bence family. Carl Ferand manages the farm and 
with his family lives in tlie house. Mr. Bence greatly enjoys his stock and 
garflen. He has a fine spring abo\-e his house, the water of which is first 
piped to the yard and then to the tanks at the barn, the plant being used to 
irrigate his garden in case of need. He has been an all-around reader, keep- 
ing abreast of the times and has been a subscriber of the Chicago Record- 
Herald for twentv years. In 1887 he went to California and saw much of 
the coast country, but found nothing to excel Indiana. 
(21) 



322 WEIK S HISTORV OF 



CLEM EXT C. HURST. 

Practical industry, wisely and vigorously applied, never fails of success. 
It carries a man onward and upward, brings out his individual character 
and acts as a powerful stimulus to the efforts of others. The greatest re- 
sults in life are often attained by simple means and the exercise of the ordi- 
narv qualities of comnK^n sense and perseverance. The every-day life with 
its cares, necessities and duties, affords ample opportunities for acquiring 
experience of the best kind and its most beaten paths provide a true worker 
with abundant scope for effort and improvement. This fact having been 
recognized earlv in life by Clement C. Hurst, the well known business man 
of Greencastle. he has seized the small opportunities he has encountered on 
the rugged hill that leads to life's lofty summit where lies the ultimate goal 
of success, never attained by the weak, ambitionless and inactive. 

Mr. Hurst was born in Jefferson township, Putnam county, his father, 
Amos Hurst, having been a native of the same township. This family has 
been prominent in Putnam county since the days of the first settlers and 
from that period to the present no family here has borne a better reputation. 
Amos Hurst became known as one of the leading educators of this locality, 
having taught school until he was thirty years old, then followed farming 
until his death, March I2. 1873, having spent his entire life in Putnam county. 
He took some interest in political affairs and he served at one time as asses- 
sor of Jeft'erson township. He married Frances E. Keller, who was born in 
Rockinf^ham county, Virginia, from which state she came to Putnam county, 
Indiana, with her parents when a child. Her death occurred on August 29, 
1900. Mr. and Mrs. Amos Hurst were highly respected by all their neigh- 
bors for their upright and useful lives. They were the parents of five chil- 
dren, namelv : Clement C, of this review; Clara A. is the wife of Oscar O. 
Lane, of Wichita. Kansas; Rowena E. is the wife of Charles E. Smith, of 
Greencastle: Josephine is the wife of Harvey S. Gardner, of Ladoga. Mont- 
gomerv' countv. Indiana : Alpheus E. is living on the old home farm in 
Jefferson township. 

The Hurst family is of English stock, the first representatives of this 
name having emigrated to America six or seven generations ago. He came 
from England and located in Virginia. Clement C. Hurst's great-great- 
o-randfather. John Hurst, lived in Tennessee. The former's great-grand- 
father. Jesse Hurst, came to Putnam county, Indiana, alxDut 1822. The 
o-randfather, George Hurst, a native of Tennessee, came to Putnam county, 



PUTXAM COUNTY, IN'DIAXA. 323 

in 1822. settling in Warren township, later removing to Jefferson township. 
George Hurst married Elizabeth Hibbs. a native of Jonesboro, Tennessee, 
having been married March 17. 1825. She came to Putnam county. Indiana, 
and here married George Hurst. Eleven children were born to them. Amos, 
father of Clement C.. being the oldest. George Hurst died in April. 1865, 
at the age of sixty-si.x years, having been born in 1799. His wife was born 
in 1800 and died in 1890. being therefore ninety years of age. George Hurst 
was one of the early pioneers of Putnam county, he and his brother, David 
Hurst, having come here from Tennessee on horseback, and after looking over 
the land returned home and brought their families here. 

Clement C. Hurst lived on the parental farm, which he worked in the 
summer months, attending the district schools in the winter until the age of 
twenty-two years, when he moved to Greencastle. He had previously at- 
tended school here, and took a course in DePauw University and became 
well educated. He was twenty-eight years old when he located permanently 
in 1822. settling in Warren township, later removing to Jefferson township, 
which he followed for two years, after which he came to Greencastle and 
ser\e(l three years as deputy county recorder, then served three years as dep- 
uty auditor under George M. Block. He made an excellent record in these ca- 
pacities, giving the utmost satisfaction. He then engaged in the fire insur- 
ance business, which he still continues, having built up quite an extensive 
patronage. In 1902 he was electerl county auditor, serving four vears. Dur- 
ing his term in this ofifice the new court house was built. He resumed his 
fire insurance business after his term of office expired. He still owns a farm 
and is engaged in stock raising. 

Mr. Hurst was first married to Louella Walker in 1887. She was a 
native of Indianapolis. Indiana. No children were born to this union. Mrs. 
Hurst was called to her rest on October 11, 1896. On September 23. 1905. 
Mr. Plurst married Pauline Blake, of Greencastle. daughter of George E. and 
Lizzie Blake, a well known family here. This union is also without issue. 

Daniel Hurst, second cousin of Clement C. was elected county recorder 
of Putnam county, in 1886. holding the same for eight years. He now 
lives in Shattuck. Oklahoma. 

Mr. Hurst belongs to the College A\-enue Methodist Episcopal church, 
and also belongs to the Masons. Politically he is a Democrat and has lonp- 
taken an active interest in political affairs, as already intimated. His coun- 
sel has frequently been sought in local matters, and he was a delegate to the 
last national Democratic convention in 1908. He stands high in the conn- 



224 weik's history of 

cils of his party in the fifth district. For his puhhc spirit, his deep concern 
in all that pertains to the welfare of his community and for his known 
scrupulous integrity, he is held in high favor by all classes. 



DAVID J. SKELTON. 

Among the leading farmers and public spirited citizens of Washington 
township is David J. Skelton, who was born April i6. 1S73, on land in Put- 
nam county, entered by his grandfather. William Skelton. shortly after this 
part of the state was opened for settlement. William Skelton came to this 
county in an early day and here married Mary Ann Jenkins, whose parents 
were also among the pioneers. He entered a quarter section of land in 
Washington township, and in due time cleared and improved a farm on which 
his death afterwards occurred at the age of fifty-four or fifty-six years, and 
which is still in the family name ; his widow survived him a number of years, 
dying at the ripe old age of eighty-seven. Two sons of this worthy couple 
grew to maturity and are still living. Jeremiah, of Bowling Green, Clay 
county, and William, father of the subject of this sketch, one son dying in 
infancy; there were also two daughters, Almira, who married Philip Ward, 
and lived for a number of years on the homestead, dying some time ago 
at Terre Haute, and ^Nlrs. Harriet Brotherton, who spent her entire life on 
the home place. 

William Skelton, Jr., was born on the home farm in Washington town- 
ship and at the age of twenty-two years married Nancy Tressner, whose 
father, Hiram Tressner, an early settler of the county, died at about the 
time the wedding of his daughter was solemnized. His widow subsequently 
removed to Coles countv. Illinois, and thence to ^Missouri, where her death 
afterwards occurred. After his marriage William Skelton took possession 
of the homestead which he operated for several years, later deeding a part 
of the place to the sons, by whom it is still owned. In connection with farm- 
ing, he did a thriving business for a number of years threshing grain, in 
which capacitv he became widely known throughout the greater part of Put- 
nam county. He early united with the Primitive Baptist church, in which he 
was made an elder while still a young man and later entered the ministry, 
to which holy calling he has devoted much of his time during the part of 
twentv-five years. For a period of fifteen years he served the congregation 
at Otter Creek and at a part of that time ministered to the Providence and 
Eel River churches, holding membership with the last named. He has also 



rUTXAM COUNTY, INDIANA. 325 

visited a number of other churches from time to time and is recognized as 
one of the strong and influential preachers of his denomination in the state of 
Indiana. Mrs. Skelton bore her husband thirteen children and departed this 
life on the 5th of May. 1906. Of the children seven are living at the present 
time, namely: George W'., who owns a part of the home farm; David J., of 
this review: Clarence E., one of Putnam county's most successful teachers; 
Candace J., who married John Mace and lives in Washington township; 
Lemuel O., also a resident of Washington township and a farmer by occupa- 
tion ; Paul lives near Brazil in Clay county, this state, and Isaac, who farms 
part of the family homestead. 

David J. Skelton was reared to agricultural pursuits and remaineel with 
his father until his twenty-second year, attending at intervals in the mean- 
time the district schools and growing up to the full stature of well developed 
manhood and amply fitted to grapple with life and duty. On ^March 4, 1895, 
he was married to Martha Charlotte McEIroy, daughter of Welcome R. and 
^lary (Barnett) McElroy, the union being terminated by the untimely death 
of the young wife within less than a year, she leaving a son, Glenn C. a bright 
and promising youth of fourteen years of age at this writing (1910). Later, 
September 4. 1898, Mr. Skelton married his present wife, whose maiden 
name was Lena Alice White, daughter of Ezekiel and Mary (Xugent ) White, 
and whose birth occurred in Parke county, on October 8, 1872. Mrs. Skel- 
ton's father was a native of Pennsylvania, but -when a young man came to 
Ohio, thence to Parke county, Indiana, wdiere he married and reared a 
family of thirteen children and spent the remainder of his days, his wife 
surviving him and still living on the farm where he made his home for so 
many years. 

Mr. Skelton, with his brothers George and Clarence, owned the home- 
stead for several years, their father deeding it to them, but the subject after- 
wards sold out to George, and purchased his present farm, which was formerly 
owned by Harrison Elliott and to which he has since added three hundred 
to the original one hundred and twenty acres, making a fine farm of four 
hundred and twenty acres of valuable land, well improved and under a high 
state of cultivation. The place, which is one of the best in the county, is 
adapted to agriculture and stock raising, to the latter of which Mr. Skelton 
devotes especial attention, being a successful breeder and raiser of high- 
grade horses, mules, cattle and hogs. In addition to his beautiful home place, 
he owns the W. R. McElroy farm of forty-three acres, which formerly be- 
longed to the father of his first wife and which with its fine buildings and 
other improvements adds very materially to his fortune. 



^26 weik's history of 

As a farmer, Mr. Skelton easily ranks among the most enterprising and 
successful in Putnam county, being progressive in his methods and keeping 
fully abreast of the times on all matters relating to modern agriculture. He 
raises abundant crops of grain, vegetables, fruits, etc.. and by a judicious sys- 
tem of rotation seldom if ever fails to realize liberal returns from his time 
and labor. His continued success indicates the possession of much more than 
ordinary ability and he is today not only one of the leading agriculturists 
and stockmen of his county, but also stands high as a business man and 
financier. 

The Skelton home is a model of its kind and in many respects one of the 
most beautiful and desirable residences in Putnam county. Everything on 
the premises bears testimony to the care and attention of the proprietor and 
the deep interest he takes in the prosecution of his labors. 

In political views 'Sir. Skelton is a Democrat and as such wields a strong 
influence for his party locally and throughout the county, being a judicious 
adviser in its councils and an influential worker in the ranks. At one time 
he was a candidate for the office of county commissioner. He is not an 
office seeker, however, preferring to work for his friends rather than aspire 
to public honors for himself. Fraternally he belongs to the Knights of 
Pythias lodge; although not identified with any religious organization, he 
is a regular attendant and liberal contributor to the Baptist church, with 
which his wife holds membership. 



JOSEPH MOLER. 

One of the well known residents of Clinton township is Joseph Moler. 
who was born in Nicholas county, Kentucky, June _'. 1834. In 1853 he came 
to Indiana and has since made this state his place of abode. He is the son 
of John and Sarah (Colliver) :Moler. the former born in Bourbon county. 
Kentucky, in the same vicinity as his son, Joseph. His parent;! were Penn- 
sylvania Dutch who came to Kentucky about 1790, his father, Joseph Moler, 
having been a soldier in the Revolutionary war. In 1853 John Moler and 
family came to Putnam county. Indiana, locating in Clinton township on the 
land where Joseph Moler now resides. It was then only partly cleared and 
had a few rude buildings (5n it. and here the elder Moler lived, and died on 
XovemI)er 3. 1866, at the age of si.xty-one years, having been born November 
30, 1805. His wife died in 1856. at the age of forty-seven years. She was 
born in Montgomery county, Indiana, in i8og. Only one of their children 



PUTNAM COUNTY, INDIANA. T,2J 

was born in Indiana ; those to reach maturity were, Mary, \vlii> married Rus- 
sell Allen, of Greencastle. and died in that city in 1873 or 1874: Joseph, of 
this review; Richard H., a farmer in Parke county, Indiana: JefT. T.. who 
lives in Louisiana. ?iIissouri ; Susan E., who married R. D. Hamilton and 
died when in middle life: Levi, who went to Missouri, where he died; Jemima, 
the wife of Mr. Flannah antl lixing in Missouri: Presley C, a bachelor and 
still living on the old homestead; Emma J., who married Caleb Bratton, of 
Poone county, Indiana. 

Joseph ]\Ioler was nineteen years old when he came to Indiana. He re- 
mained at home until he was twenty-five years old. assisting in clearing the 
place. On November i, 1859, he married Lucy P. Xewgent. he being twentv- 
five and she eighteen ; they had lived on adjoining famis for some time. A 
sketch of her father, Edward Xewgent, appears elsewhere in this volume. 
After their marriage Mr. and Mrs. Moler spent two years in Pulaski countv, 
Indiana, then mo\ed back to Putnam county on the farm of ]Mr. Moler's 
father, taking charge of part of it. In 1868 he rented and took charge of the 
entire farm of two hundred and forty acres. Later he bought the interests 
of others in the home place, owning eight}' acres. He has made e.xtensi\-e 
impro\'ements on his place, building a fine home in 1891, and he has good 
barns and devotes considerable time to stock raising, making grains also a 
specialty, feeding what grain the place produces. He has laid two hundred 
and fiftv rods of tile. He is ^-ery successful as a general farmer. Mr. ^[oler 
is an independent thinker and keeps well posted on political and current events 
He is no partisan and always votes for the men whom he deems to be the best 
qualified for the offices sought. 

Three chiUlren ha\e been born to Mr. and Mrs. Moler, one of whom 
died when ten years of age. Le\'i Shelby Moler is a farmer in Clinton town- 
ship: he was candidate for nomination as county clerk in 1910. Stella May 
married J. X. Brown, a farmer of Woonsocket, South Dakota. 

On Xo\ember i. 1909. was celebrated Mr. and Mrs. Moler's fiftieth 
wedding anniversary, which was f|uite an event in the Moler family and 
greatly enjoyed by all who were fortunate enough to be present. The only 
anniversar\- guest who was also present at their marriage was John Xewgent, 
I'ousin of Mrs. Moler, he having enjoyed the celebration after a half centurv 
lapse from the nuptial day almost as much as the elderly couple themselves. 
Rew Joseph Skeeters, now deceased, perfomied the marriage ceremony. 

Fraternally ^Ir. Moler is a Mason and he takes a great interest in Ma- 
sonry, endea\'oring to live up to its wholesome teachings in his e\"erv dav 
life. 



328 weik's history of 



JOHN W. ROBE. 

The best title one can establish to the high and generous esteem of a 
community is a protracted and honorable residence in its midst. Mankind 
is generally fair and just in its judginents. An unusual event may sway it 
for a time, but when normal conditions are again restored a just judgment 
is certain to follow, true views eventually prevailing and then the accurate 
public judgment is inevitable. It is for this reason that a man is judged 
rather bv what his neighbors think of him than anything he may have said 
or done. When a court desires to find out whether or not a witness is 
truthful, it asks what the person's reputation is for truth in the neighbor- 
hood in which he lives. The law correctly estimates that the judgment of the 
public is almost invariably infallible. Judged by this measure. John W. 
Robe, now a resident of the city of Greencastle and long one of the prominent 
and substantial citizens of Putnam county, must necessarily be a man of 
strictest integrity and uncjuestioned ability along his chosen lines of endeavor. 
His protracted residence here of nearly a half century has been an eminently 
honorable one, as is well established by the high regard in which he is held 
by all who have had occasion to know him. 

Mr. Robe is a native of Morgan county, Indiana, having been born on 
August 21, 1843, the son of William and Nancy (St. John) Robe. The 
father formerly lived near Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, and came to Indiana 
in an early day, locating in Marion county, later moving to Morgan county. 
The mother, Nancy St. John, was born near Cincinnati. Ohio, being the 
representative of a prominent family, a cousin of Governor St. John, of 
Kansas. William Robe, a man of sterling qualities and excellent character, 
met death in a tragic manner, having been killed by members of the "Golden 
Circle." a well-known war-time organization, on May 2r, 1863. He was 
prominent in Republican politics and took an active interest in public affairs. 

It was in 1S62 that John W. Robe came to Putnam county. He received 
an excellent primarv education in the common schools and he took a course 
in Asbury (now DePauw) University, at Greencastle. where he made a 
splendid record for scholarship and from which institution he was graduated 
in the spring of 1868. Towards the latter part of the war of the Rebellion 
he gave vent to his patriotism and enlisted in the One Hundred and Thirty- 
third Regiment. Indiana Volunteer Infantr}-. but was not permitted to share 
in manv of the hard campaigns and fierce engagements that fell to the lot 
of some of his friends. He was honorably discharged and returned to Put- 
nam county in 1864. 





77f 



PUTNAM COUNTY. INDIANA. 329 

Deciding that his true inclinations were along legal lines. Mr. Robe took 
up the study of law and was duly admitted to the bar in 1869. but not taking 
so kindlv to this vocation as he had anticipated, he abandoned the practice 
in 1870 and turned his attention to the freer and more wholesome life of the 
agriculturist which he has made his principal life work and in which he has 
been verv successful, now owning one of the choice and most valuable of 
Putnam county farms, comprising six hundred acres, which he still operates 
and which he has brought to a high state of cultivation and improvement and 
which, under his skillful management, has for years yielded abundant har- 
vests. He is also considered an authority on livestock and has kept his 
place well stocked with various kinds of excellent quality. He has long been 
prominently identified with the sheep industrs- of Putnam county, and is now 
president of the Putnam County Wool Growers' Association, having held 
this position for years. For twenty years he was secretary of the Indiana 
Wool Growers' Association, and at one time he was president of the Short- 
horn Breeders' Association. As head of the Putnam County Wool Growers' 
Association ^Nlr. Robe has endeared himself to the farmers of the county for 
his splendid work in their behalf, his labors in this direction having greatly 
benefited his farmer neighbors incalculably, and he is recognized as their spe- 
cial friend and champion. He was urged as a candidate for the state board 
of agriculture, but refused to make an active fight for the place. He has 
always been recognized throughout the state as a leading authority on agri- 
culture. Mr. Robe was one of the organizers of the Central National Bank 
of Greencastle and a member of its first board of directors. He was one of a 
company of ten who erected the Central Bank block. Later he was a member 
of the board of directors of the First Xational Bank of Greencastle. 

Mr. Robe has recently moved to Greencastle. where he has erected a 
beautiful, modern and attractive home in one of the choicest residence dis- 
tricts of the city. 

Mr. Robe's domestic life began on October 5. 1870. when he married 
Sarah M. Stevenson, a lady of culture and refinement, the daughter of 
Dr. A. C. Stevenson, a prominent physician of this county during a past 
generation, a full sketch of whom appears on another page of this work. 
Mrs. Robe has been a true partner and helpmeet in life, always performing 
her part and assuming her full share of responsibility. A woman of rare 
good judgment, she has always been a wise counselor, and to her Mr. Robe 
largely attributes his success in life. Like her father. IMrs. Robe has always 
been considerate of the rights of others, ever ready to do her part, and per- 
forming deeds of kindness where her hands find them to do. 



330 



WEIK S IIISTORV OF 



Politically Mr. Robe is a loyal Republican, but he has never been an 
office seeker. He is a member of the Grand Army of the Republic, Post Xo. 
II, Greencastle. He has always been interested in movements calculated 
to be of general good to the people of Putnam count}- and ready to lend any 
assistance in such movements as he could, and, being a man whose record is 
clean, he has both the confidence and respect of all classes. 



JOHN F. SHOXKWILER. 

This well known citizen of Clinton township has long been regar<led as 
one of the model farmers of Putnam county, being a link between the days 
of the historic primitive past and the opulent present, for his long anil use- 
ful life has been passed right here at home and he has been a very important 
factor in local affairs, doing his full share in the development of the com- 
munity. John F. Shonkwiler was born in Clinton township, October ii, 
1838, the son of Daniel and Ruth (Spurgeon) Shonkwiler. The father of the 
former was born on the Atlantic ocean while his parents were enroute from 
Germany to America. He grew up in America and married Elizabeth 
Grant, who died in Ohio. Daniel Shonkwiler. Jr., was born in Ohio, in 1821 
and when a young man came to Indiana with his father and settled in Parke 
county, where they remained for two years, then bought one-half mile south 
of the farm now owned by John F., of this review ; there they literally hewed 
out a farm from the woods and there the son lived until his death, about 
1854. dying when past eighty. He married Xancy Reed in Parke county, who 
survived him and made her home with her two sons, in Iowa, and died in that 
state. Daniel left three children in Ohio. The Shonkwiler family consisted 
of the following children : Simeon. David, Daniel, Adonas. X'athaniel. X'ancy, 
Margaret, Julia. All the girls married and moved to the West, and all the 
sons except one went to Iowa or Illinois. Daniel remained in Indiana. He 
became owner of one-half of his father's place, but settled on an adjoining 
farm. ■ When twentv-two years old he married, his wife. Ruth Spurgeon. be- 
ing twentv-one. and thev spent the rest of their lives on the farm now owned 
by Clay Magill. Daniel was a good farmer and owned in all two hundred 
and twenty-nine acres of land, clearing up most of it. He left the farm about 
1854 and for a period of twelve years devoted his time to the ministry, be- 
ing a circuit rider in the Methodist church in which work he did a great deal 
of good and became widely known. For several years lie had preached 



PUTNAM COUNTY. INDIANA. 33 1 

locnlly : Iiis duties took liini into Illin(jis and over nortliwestern and western 
Indiana. During that period he organized many new churches. He was 
pastor of the home or northern circuit for one year, but much of his work was 
in Illinois. His health failing, he returned to the old farm, but continued to 
preach occasionally and after some years did supply work at or near Brap^il 
and while serving that church experienced one of his most prosperous years. 
He held revivals, taking into the church over one hundred members; one of 
his delights was to conduct a camp meeting. This good and useful man 
died on the old homestead in August. 1887, ^^ the age of si.xty-six years, his 
wife having preceded him to the other world several years, and he had 
married again, his last wife being Miranda Thompson, widow, who survived 
him. Xo chiMren were born of the last union. The first union resulted in 
the birth of five sons and two daughters, namely: John F.. of this review; 
William went to Benton county, Indiana, when a young man; Jacob also lived 
in Benton county and died there ten years ago; Ferris spent his life in Clinton 
township, near Morton ; Daniel moved to Parke county about ten years ago, 
locating near Rockville ; Mary married Tilman Moore and died in Parke 
county ; Malinda died at the age of four years. 

\\'hen about fifteen years of age John F. Shonkwiler took charge of the 
old homestead and continued to conduct the same until his marriage, October 
13. 1859. to Ruth Carmichael. daughter of John and Matilda (Spurgeon) 
Carmichael. When one }ear old her mother had come to this country with 
Moses Spurgeon. settling on an adjoining farm. John Carmichael was born 
on Lost River. Indiana, and when a young man came to Putnam county and 
married here and spent his life on the farm, which joins the old Shonkwiler 
place; there they both died, the father when about seventy-five years of age. 
The Carmichael farm is now owned by the son of John F. Shonkwiler — 
\\'illiam. The old Moses Spurgeon farm, where he and his wife died, is now 
owned by Thomas Brothers. 

.-\fter his marriage. Tohn F. Shonkwiler remained on the old home place 
for a time, then mo\-ed to a farm in this vicinity. Seven years ago he went 
to Belmore and remained two years, coming to his present farm five years 
ago. He has erected excellent buildings on the same and has a well im- 
proved and valuable place, desirable from every viewpoint. It joins his 
grandfather's old place on the north, and consists of ninety acres, and he 
also owns twenty-five acres of the old Carmichael farm and has two hun- 
dred and ninetv-six acres two miles south of the ninety. He is doing well 
with his diversified farming and stock raising, making this his main business. 

Mr. Shonkwiler has always been a Republican and at one time was a 



332 WEIK S HISTORY OF 

candidate for county commissioner. His family consists of the following 
children, four sons and three daughters : Daniel lives on his father's old 
homestead and was a minister in the United Brethren church in Indiana and 
Illinois for nine years ; William lives on the old Carmichael farm ; John also 
lives on a part of the old Shonkwiler farm ; Oliver is farming in JVIadison 
township; Jane is single and living at home; Amanda married William 
Boswell and lives in Parke county; Mary married George Cricks, of Clinton 
township. 

The father of these children is a member of the United Brethren church, 
but was a ^Methodist early in life; he is one of the loyal supporters of the 
Beech Grove church, Putnam countv. 



WARREN PICKENS. 

The names of those men who have distinguished themselves through the 
possession of those qualities which daily contribute to the success of private 
life and to the public stability and who have enjoyed the confidence and re- 
spect of those about them should not be permitted to perish. Such a one is 
Warren Pickens, whose name needs no introduction to the readers of this 
work, for not only does he enjoy a wide acquaintance in Putnam county, but 
the sterling qualities which characterize him have brought to him the honor 
and esteem of all who know him. 

\\'arren Pickens is a native son of the county in which he lives, having 
been born in Jefferson township in 1846. He is the son of James and Matilda 
(Rogers) Pickens. James Pickens, who was born in 1804, was the son of 
James Pickens. Sr., and was a native of Harrison county, Kentucky. Matilda 
Rogers was born in 1814 and was the daughter of Col. George and Elizabeth 
(White) Rogers, of Boone county, Kentucky. In that county Jarnes Pickens 
and Matilda Rogers were married and for a few years they followed farm- 
ing there. Seven children were born to them, namely: Two daughters that 
died in infancy; James B., now a resident of Elwood, Indiana; Samuel was a 
member of Company I, Twenty-seventh Regiment, Indiana Volunteer In- 
fantr}-, and died in the service in 1864; Warren is the immediate subject of 
this sketch; Emily J., who died in 1890. was the wife of John M. Scott; Mary 
C. resides in Clo\erdale. James Pickens and wife came to Cloverdale town- 
ship. Putnam county, in 1835. at which date the country was wild and un- 



PL'TXAM COrXTV. IXDIAXA. 333 

settleil, their nearest neighbor being distant a mile and a halt and the land 
being mostly co\'ered with a dense growth of the nati\e timber, in which 
roamed wolves, panthers and other wild game. Here 'Sir. Pickens entered a 
tract of go\ernment land, three miles east of Cloverdale. and luiught other 
land, SM that his total hi_ildings amonntcd tD 'ine hnn^lred and sixt\' acres, A 
few }-ears later. nc)t later than 1840, he entered another tract of government 
land in Jefterson tc^wnship, this cmint}', and also l)onght adjoining land, mak- 
ing one hundred and sixt}- acres in that tract also. (])n this latter place there 
\\as a water-power mill, which became known far and near as Pickens' Mill, 
and which was operated with cinisiderable success untd 1850. The elder 
Pickens lived on this faun until 1S70. when he moved to (do\enlale. where 
he spent the remainder of his da\'s, his death occin'ring Xi:i\emljei" i. iSSc). 
His wife died on July 31. 18S3. 

Warren Pickens w;is reared on the home farm and recei\'ed his earl\" 
education in the cmmtrx- schorjis of that period, being compelled the most ot 
the time to walk' twri nules to the s<diool. which was, in comparis(:)n to the 
schiH'iK nf todax", svimew hat primiti\e in iiietliMiN and e'juipment. .\ little 
later he began teaching school during the winter months, apphing himself 
to fai'ui wiirk in summer, this arr.angement cintinuing for fi\c or six \ears. 
Piuring much of this time he also t.aught writing ■^clu'icil in the ex'enings. In 
those d;n-s his wages a\"eraged two (hollars i"ir Ic'^^ a da_\'. anil the da\''s work 
was long and he wa- CMinpelled t'l perform all the ianit^ir >er\ ice : beside^ this 
he always f.nmd an abundance of farm chores t' > doi at It 'me out of schoijl 
hours. In the spring of lisfx) ]\lr. Pick'cns commenced farming iin his (;)w n 
accotmt on the place where his f.ather had first settled, three miles east of 
CIi"i\'erdale. and as the farm had been rented out for a nmiiber i)f ^■ears it 
\\as in bad shape when he took hi_")lil of it. How e\ er. he made all the needed 
improvements and continued to ^uccessftilly operate it dm-ing the fc)llowing 
ten }ears. Plis wife dying. Mr. Pickens ga\-e up housekeeping anrl m(i\-ed to 
( "lo\ erd.ale. where he engaged in handling lixestock' for fom" rjr fi\'e \ears. 
being during the following three and a half \ears engaged in the butchering 
business. He is still resiiling in (~lo\-erdale. where he has a pleasant hi>me 
surrounded! with four acres of land, and he continues the operation of his 
f.arm, though not In'mself actix'cK' engageil in work, being nciw able to eniov 
the fruits ..f his former efforts. However, he will ne\-er "rust "Ut." for he 
is not the kind of a m:m who can sit iilly by and do nothing, but he is alwa\-s 
occupied with something. One of his fa\orite iliversir)ns is fishing, at which 
he is an exjiert. and few followers of Iz,i;d< \\'alti''n .are m>'re enthusiastic or 
successful than he. 



334 



WEIK S HIST("JRV OF 



In iSuS Mr. Pickens was united in marriage to Hester M. Collins, the 
(lau"-hter <if Whitfield and Mary A. Collins, and they l)ecanie the parents of 
two children. .\lva K. and Oris E., the tdrnier having died at the age of seven 
vears. Oris, who lives on the home farm, three miles east nf Cloverdale, 
married Mvrtle Watson, the daughter of James M. and Malissa W"atson, and 
thev ha\e lour children. Clara, Arthm" E., Mar}' Chloe an<l Warren. Mrs. 
Hester Pickens died in 1S7S and in 18S6 Mr. Pickens married Mar}' E. Pot- 
torff, the daughter of Thomas and .\nn hdizaheth 1 Ililtom I'ottorff. Her 
paternal grandfather was a nati\e of Germany an<l his wife was a native of 
Ireland. 

Fratern.alK- Mr. Pickens is a member ol the Independent Order of Odd 
Fellows and wa> a meniher of the encampment of that ijrder until it was dis- 
solved and the charter surrendered. Politically he is a strong Repulilican and. 
though living in a Democratic stronghold, he came very near election as 
trustee. He is not. however, a seeker after oftice, though he takes an intelli- 
gent interest in local public affairs. ]\Irs. Pickens is a member of the Aletlio- 
dist Episcr)pal church. Thev are widely known and botli are highly esteemed 
bv all who know them. 



E\'AX CLIXE. 

.Vniong the progre--si\e and enterprising agricultm-ists of Putnam 
countv, Indiana, none stands higher in public regard than does the gentleman 
whose name appears at the head of these paragraphs and who is engaged in 
the operatii'iu oi a splendiil and well cultivated farm in Clo\ erdale township. 
Mr. (.'line was born l"ebruar_\- 15, o"^?-'. in this township and is a son of 
Peter and Marv ( Carmack ) Cline. The paternal gramlparents were Jacob 
and r.arliara Cline. The Cline fannly came original]} from C.erman_\-, three 
Ijrothers coming together, one settling in Pennsylvania and another, Jacob, 
locating in the eastern part of Tennessee. Later he mcneil to Kentucky, 
where because of a defecti\e title, he lost his land and crops. During the 
earlv twenties, while Cloverdale township, Putnam county, was first being 
settled, lacob Cline and fannly came here and located about two and a half 
miles west of where Clovenlale now is. They were in rather poi^r financial 
circumstances ,it that time, their cash capital aniixmting to but fifty cents. 
But thev were determined W^ win a home and competence and went willfully 
to work ti") this end. lacob Cline entered a tract of gox'ernment lami, which 



PL-TNA.M COLN'TY. INDIANA. 



335 



was covereil with the primeval forest and t^) the task of clearing this land 
and renderinj;- it tit for cultivation these hardy pioneers applied themselves. 
The first year they were iinaijle to plant their own ground and walked back 
and iV>rth three miles h> a patch of cleared land which they rented and worked 
with hoes. They raised a fair crop of corn and other stnfif and from that 
time forward they prospered in their labors and eventuallv developed the 
l>Iace into one of the best farmsteads in the commum'tv. There Jacob Cline 
spent the remainder of his years and reared his children, his death occurring- 
ill the late fi>rtie^. He was twice married and wa-- the father of the folh^w- 
ing children: Sarah C. l>irn June J_\ 1700: William, born fuly 11. 1-92; 
Samuel, horn .\ugust jd. \;')4: Jacob. July iS. 1707; James. b,,rn .\ugiist 
18, 1799; Xancy. born Xovember 8. 1805: Pegg}'. June J7. 1807; Xicholas, 
born March 17. 1S09: Elizabeth, borvi March 11. i8ri: Catharine. Iwrn 
-March j8. 1813: Peter. Imrn June 18. 1815: Daniel, born Februar\- 11. r8i-: 
Anderson, burn Februarv [4. !8_'0. 

Peter Cline. the subject's father, was Init a >""ung man when he accom- 
panied the family to Indiana, and here he spent his remaining davs. His 
S(_-)n Evan was reared on the homestead in Clm-erdale township and secured 
a gwod practical education in the district sdiool- of the neighborhood. He 
h,i- always folhnxed the pursuit of agriculture and in this line he has achieved 
a dehnite measure of success. ?Ie has been conducting operations on his own 
account since about 1878. ha\ing started on forty acres of land located in the 
west part of the township. To this he has added by purchase from time to 
time until now he is the owner of two hundred and ten acres. In 188" he 
bought one hundred and nine acres where be now lives, to which he added an 
eighty-acre tract adjoining, having soM his original forty acres. Mrs. Cline 
aKo own> tweiit}- acres of land adioining. In comiection with the tilling ,)f 
the soil. Mr. Cline also gives considerable attention to the raising of livestock. 
in which he meets with gratifving success. 

Mr. Cline married ^Margaret Coffman. and to them ha\e been born the 
following children : .\lva. Elmer. Cora. Rosa. Flora. Mvrtle. Retha ami Edna 
Cora and Retha are engaged in teaching -chooj. the former in Clo\-erdaIe 
township, thi- county, and the latter in Owen count^■. this state. In matters 
political .Mr. tdine a-si-nie- an indei)eiident attitude, believing that, in local 
elections at least, the best men shonld be selected for public office, re-^fardless 
of political affiliations. He is a metnber of the Horse-thief Detecti\-e .\sso- 
ciatic)!!. He gi\-es his sup]i(M-t to all worth}' mo\-ements fiir the public o-,^,-,,! 
and. because of his sterling qualities, he enjoys the respect and confidence of 
all who know him. 



336 weik's history of 



WILLIAM S. EURRIS. 

Among the progrcssixe and enterprising farmers of Clo\erclaIe town- 
ship, Putnam county, Indiana, is numbered the well-known gentleman 
whose name appears as the caption (jf this sketch. A lifelong residence in 
this cuuntv has gixen him a wide acquaintance and wherever known he is 
lu'ltl in the highest esteem l)ecause of his sterling personal qualities. 

William S. Rurris is a native son of Putnam county, his birth ha\ing 
occurred here on the rjtli day of P'ebruar}-, 1S63. lie is the son of James A, 
and .Mar\- .\. ( Pierc\- ) P.urris. The father was born in Bourbon county, 
Kentuckv. on a farm, and was a son of Hezekiah Eurris. The Burris family 
is believed to liave been ijf Scotcli r.n-igin and in the members of the family 
are to he found those sturdy (|ualities which luu'e characterized that race. 
Tames .\. Burris came to Putnam count} about 1S3S. being then in his young 
manhood, and shortP- afterwards he married Mary A. Piercy, a daughter 
of John Piercv. He engaged in teaching school in Jefferson tou-nship. this 
count\-, and met with proncumcerl success in this calling for a number of 
years. During thi^ period he was also engaged in agriculture, in which he 
was successful. lie and his wife were the parents of four children, namely: 
Tohn B., lames C William S. and P'lla. John B. is mentioned elsewhere in 
this work. lames W died in the spring of iSSO. William S. is the immediate 
subiect of this sketch. Llla died in !88j. at the age of si.xteen years. James 
A. Burris. the father (_)f these children, died in July, i8riO, at the age of 
thirtv-four vear-;: his wido>v i> still li\-ing and resides in Cloverdale. 

William S. I'.urris was reared under the [larental rnni in Jefferson 
tin\n-hip. and recei\cd hi-- pi-climiuary education in the [lublic schooL of 
the township. Subsc(|ueiitl\- lie to.ik a co'iimercial C(;ur^e and :{]>>< the 
teachers' course at the (/entral Xormal ('ollege, at Dan\i]le. Indiana, and 
dm-ing the tMlldwiug tw year-^ he wa^ engaged as a clerk in a st<>re in 
Cloverdale. He was married in 1SN5 and at that time he bought one humlred 
and sixty acres of land located one mile south of Cloverdale, to the operation 
of which he devoted hi'^ energies until October. 1005. He followed a general 
line of farming, rai-ing all tlie cmp-; common to this section nt the cinuitr\-. 
also gi\"ing some attention {>> the rru'-ing ',{ tine li\-estock. particularh' Short- 
horn cattk\ Dm-oc hogs, Oxford D'.wn dieep and Percheron hordes, in all 
of which he was very successful. He was enabled to purchase more land 
from time to time until eventually he became the owner of .seven hundred 
and thirt\- acres of -pjenilid land, all in one tract, besides which he and his 




WILLIAM S BfRRlS 



PL'TXAM COUNTY. INDIAXA. ^T,/ 

brother own one hundred and sixty acres jointly. On the 5th of October, 
1905, Mr. Burris purchased a large, attractive and comfortable residence in 
Cloverdale. and has since resided there. In all his operations he show ed him- 
self to be a man of practical ideas and sound judgment and his success has 
been well earned. 

On October 5, 1885. Mr. Burris was married to Margaret L. Home, 
the daughter of Thomas and Eliza Home, who were natives of North Caro- 
lina, but came to Indiana some years before the birth of their daughter, Mrs. 
Burris. To ]\[r. and Mrs. Burris have been born four children, namelv : 
Garnet K.. Maude M.. Dorothy E. and Marjorie E., the latter dying Decem- 
ber 20, 1899, at the age of two years and seven months. The three older 
children are still at home with their parents. 

Politically, Mr. Burris renders a stanch adherence to the Democratic 
party, in the success of which he is deeply interested, though he does not 
take an active part in public affairs, preferring to devote himself to his own 
business affairs. However, he was. in December. 1895, elected county com- 
missioner, serving in this capacity six years and one month, and giving the 
ci'Ainty efficient and appreciated service. In e\ery sphere in which he has 
exerted himself. Mr. Burris has performed his full part and his efforts have 
been rewarded with a due meed of success. He is an ardent supporter of all 
movements having for their object the advancement of the best interests of 
the communitv and is numbered among its leading citizens. 



TACK HUFFMAX. 



The representative farmer and enterprising citizen of whom tlie biogra- 
pher writes in this connection belongs to one of the <3ld and well known 
families of Putnam county and it is a compliment honorably earned to as- 
cribe to him a prominent place among the leading men of the community in 
which he resides. Edmund Huffman, father of the subject, was a native of 
Nelson county. Kentucky, where his birth occurred on the 6th day of August. 
1824, being a son of Peter and Cynthia Huffman, who about the year 1836 
moved from that state to Putnam county. Indiana, and settled in Washington 
township. Edmund married, April 5. 1849. Louisa Ann Rightsell, who was 
born .August 9. 1830. the union resulting in the birth of twelve children, 
namely: James Robert. Maria F... Cephas. Douglass. Ivan. Daniel V.. Lu- 

(22) 



T^^a WEIK S HISTORY OF 

cretia A., General Jackson, Charles H., ^Margaret and Greeley R., of whom 
Cephas and Daniel V. died in early lite, the others growing to mature years. 

Edmund Huffman began life for himself as a tiller of the soil and was 
only sixteen vears old when he left home to make his own way in the world. 
He worked for some time as a farm hand at five dollars per month, which he 
very generously turned over to his father, but after his marriage set up his 
domestic establishment on seventy acres of land in Washington township, 
which he purchased about that time and on which he continued to reside until 
about 1866, when he removed to the farm one mile south of Reelsville. where 
he made his home during the twelve or fifteen years ensuing. 

In manv respects Edmund Huft'man was much more than an ordinary 
man. Owing to his limited advantages in youth, his education was entirely 
neglected and it is said that he did not learn to read and write until after 
his marriage. Notwithstanding this early neglect, he afterwards made the 
most of his opportunities and not only mastered the fundamental branches 
as taught in the subscription schools of his day, but developed extraordinary 
business capacity, as is indicated by the fact of his having acquired a large 
fortune, much of which consisted of real estate, owning at one time fifteen 
hundred acres of the finest land in Putnam county. He was a staunch Demo- 
crat, but not a politician, always kept abreast of the times on the leading pub- 
lic questions of the day and his opinions carried weight and commanded re- 
spect among his fellowmen. In 1898 he left his farm and removed to Reels- 
ville, where he built a large modern residence in which he spent the re- 
mainder of his life in honorable retirement, and in which his death occurred 
on the 1 6th dav of September, 1900. Mrs. Huffman did not long survive her 
husband, dving December 7th of the same year, a little less than three months 
after his decease. 

As indicated in a preceding paragraph, much of the wealth accumulated 
bv Mr. Huffman consisted of land which he had carefully selected with an 
eve to its future value. Two years previous to his removal to Reelsville he 
divided his holdings among his children, giving to each a good farm, retain- 
ino- for himself sufficient means to enable himself and wife to spend the 
residue of their lives in comfort and quietude. In all of his business rela- 
tions he was the soul of honor and his influence was ever exerted for the 
o-ood of his fellowmen. His career affords a striking illustration of what 
intellio'ence, sound judgment and tact can accomplish in gaining success in 
face of opposing circumstances and his example may be profitably imitated 
bv the young man whose life work is yet to be accomplished. 

Jack Huffman, whose name appears at the head of this article, was born 
September 6, 1865. on the farm in Washington township which he now owns 



PUTXAM COUNTY. INDIANA. 339 

and his lite thus far has been spent within tlie geographical limits of his native 
county. Reared to habits of industry, he early laid broad and deep the 
foundation for his future course of action and from his youth, being animated 
by a laudable ambition to become something more than a mere passive factor 
in the affairs of men, he has builded wisely and well and is today a man of 
progressive ideas and a leading citizen of the township in which he resides. 
While still a young man he took charge of the home farm, consisting of three 
hundred acres, and managed the same for his father until 1896, Upon the 
division of the latter's estate, there fell to him as his share three hundred and 
ten acres on which he has since lived and prospered. Two years later he 
erected the fine modern dwelling which the family now occupies and since then 
has made a number of improvements, thus adding greatly to the appearance 
and \alue of the farm, which at this time is one of the finest in the countv, 
surpassed by few in this part of the state, 

Mr, Huffman is progressive in his tendencies and cultivates the soil ac- 
cording to the most approved methods in this latitude, realizing bountiful re- 
turns from the time and labor expended on his fields. Like the majority of 
enterprising agriculturists, he devotes considerable attention to livestock, 
being a successful breeder of fine cattle and hogs, the grade of hogs raised on 
his place being in great demand throughout the central part of the state. By 
continuous experimenting he has succeeded in developing a breed of hogs that 
are pronounced absolutely cholera proof and for these there is also a large 
demand, much larger than he can possibly supply. Mr. Huft'man has found 
it just as easy and far more profitable to raise thoroughbred livestock than 
the common inferior breeds and as a result he makes his own prices and never 
fails to receive them. His example in this respect has done much to induce 
the farmers of his vicinity to improve their breeds of domestic animals, and 
he is also free with his counsel and advice, which his neighbors have found 
of great practical value, 

Mr. Huffman's financial success has been commensurate A\-ith the energy 
and ability which he displayed in the management of his affairs, and he is 
now independent, being among the solid m,en of his township and county 
as well as a public spirited citizen who manifests a lively interest in all that 
concerns the material and moral good of his fellow men. 

On August 2. 1896. Mr. Huffman was united in marriage with Bessie 
Plummer, daughter of J. C. and Luellin (Shoptough) Plummer, of Washing- 
ton township (see sketch of J. C. Plummer), the union being blessed with 
two children, Jackson Reese and Olive Lee. Mrs. Huffman is a native of 
Putnam county, born and reared in Washington township, and was twenty- 



340 



WEIK S HISTORY OF 



four years of age when she was married to Mr. Huffman. She is a lady of 
intelligence and sterling worth, presides with gentle grace over her household 
and has nobly seconded her husband in all of his efforts to rise in the world. 
Mr. Huffman has kept out of politics and gives his support to the candidates 
best qualified for the offices to which they aspire, regardless of party dictation 
or influence. He enjoys in a marked degree the esteem of his neighbors and 
friends and is a true type of the enterprising, up-to-date farmer, representa- 
tive citizen and intelligent, high-minded courteous gentleman whom to know 
is to esteem and honor. 



LUNA W. SELLER. 



In studying the interesting life histories of many of the better class of 
men. and the ones of unquestioned merit and honor, it will be found that they 
have been compelled, very largely, to map out their own career and furnish 
their own motive force in scaling the heights of success and it is such a one 
that the biographer is pleased to write of in the following paragraphs. 

Luna W. Seller, whose fine farm is located in Jefferson township, Put- 
nam county. Indiana, was born in the city of Greencastle. this county, on the 
2 1st day of December, 1868. He is the son of Theophilus and Myra (Craw- 
ford) Seller. Theophilus Seller was born in Greencastle. January- 21. 1827. 
the son of John F. and Rebecca (Sellers) Seller. 

John F. Seller, one of the first settlers of Putnam county, was born in 
Harrison county. Kentucky. February 22, 1791. In early life he removed 
to Garrard county, Kentucky, where he married Rebecca Sellers July 24, 
18 1 7. She was a native of Garrard county, born November 12, 1797. In 
1822 he came with his family to Putnam county, Indiana, and settled on 
section 27, Greencastle township, later removing to section 21 of that town- 
ship. John F. and Rebecca Seller had twelve children, of which Theophilus. 
father of the subject, was the fifth in order of birth. The others were: 
Delorians. born Januan,- 12. 1819: James W. P.. born December 4. 1820; 
Milton H.. born November 12. 1822; Columbus D.. born October 11. 1824, 
and died October 4, 1853; Bainbridge B., born August 18, 1828. and died 
August II, 1829; Louisa J., born February 14. 1830. and died August 25, 
1846: John F.. born September 28. 1831, and died September 27, 1858: Re- 
becca Ann, born July 20. 1833, and died May 11. 1843; Western W.. born 
April 9, 1835: Elizabeth H.. born February i, 1838, and died May 17. 1843; 



PUTNAM COUNTY, INDIANA. 34I 

Tabitha C. born ]\lay 6, 1840, and Theopliilus Seller, who became a physician 
and was well-know n as a highly respected citizen. He died September 6, 1871. 

The subject's mother was born in 1838 in Hendricks county, Indiana, 
and was the daughter of Moses and Melinda (Churchman) Crawford. The- 
ophilus Seller received a good preliminary education and then studied medi- 
cine. He followed the active practice of his profession for a time, but find- 
ing that line of work detrimental to his health he gave up his professional 
work and thereafter applied himself to agricultural pursuits until his death, 
which occurred in 1871. Sometime after his death, his widow married Wal- 
lace Johnstone, by whom she has a daughter, Minnie, the wife of Robert C. 
Schell, of St. Louis, where she now resides with them. To Theophilus and 
Myra Seller were born three children, AValter, Jennie and Luna. Walter 
is engaged in the grocen' business in Greencastle, Jennie is the wife of William 
Ranclel, of Greencastle. 

Luna W. Seller was reared by his parents and received his education in 
the public schools of Greencastle, also attending an academy in that city. 
After completing his education, he devoted himself to farming, with which he 
has been identified continuously since. In 18S9 he located on the farm in sec- 
tion 15. Jefferson township, where he now resides. He had formerly owned 
one hundred and ten acres of the old home farm, but now his holdings in 
section 15 amount to one hundred and ninety acres, nearly all of which is 
under a high state of cultivation and yielding bountiful crops. Mr. Seller 
carries on general farming, raising all the crops common to this section of the 
country. He has also given some attention to the raising of live stock, with 
considerable success. In 1895 Mr. Seller built a substantial and attractive 
residence and the property is otherwise highly improved, its appearance re- 
flecting credit on the owner. 

On May 7, 1893, Mr. Seller married Nettie, the daughter of Francis M. 
and Sarah E. (Sandy) AUee, who are mentioned elsewhere in this work. To 
this union has been bom a son, Hubert, who is now a student in the high 
school at Greencastle. 

Politically ilr. Seller is a Republican, while his religious affiliation is 
with the Xew Providence Baptist church. Fraternally he is a member of the 
Knights of Pythias, holding membership in the sulwrdinate lodge at Belle 
Union. He is a man of splendid personal qualities and is public spirited in 
his attitude toward all movements for the advancement of the best interests 
of the community. Because of his genuine worth he enjoys the esteem of all 
who know him. 



342 



WEIK S HISTORY OF 



JOSEPH A. THOMAS. 



The history of the Thomas family in Putnam county is coincident with 
much of the important and interesting history of this locality and in examin- 
ing the local records we find that many members of this worthy family of the 
past and present have been prominent in various walks of life locally and have 
always discharged their duties in a manner befitting high-grade citizenship 
and in a manner that never failed to win the esteem of their fellow countrymen 
who knew them best. 

Of this family, Elzeaphus Thomas should receive our first consideration. 
He was long a well-known citizen of Morton, Clinton township, and his death 
occurred September 22, 1889, when eighty-two years, ten months and seven- 
teen days old. Elzeaphus Thomas was the son of Joel and Mary (Stiles) 
Thomas, the former of Bath county, Kentucky. Joel Thomas brought the 
family to Putnam county, Indiana, about 1825 and entered land in Clinton 
township, one mile north of Morton, and there spent the remainder of his 
life, dying at an advanced age. William Thomas, father of Joel, came here 
about 1828 and settled near Pisgah church, but soon moved to the Thomas 
farm north of Greencastle, on the place where H. T. Thomas was born. His 
wife, Fanny Butcher, married in Kentucky; she lived to be about seventy 
years old. William's sons besides Joel were Isaac, William, George and Lewis. 
Isaac was a soldier in the Union army ; he lived in Madison township until his 
death; William spent many years in Parke county, where he died; George 
also lives in Parke county, and Lewis married there. Isaac and Joel are the 
only living ones in Putnam county. The elder Joel Thomas' children, besides 
William were, John and James, who served in the L'nion army. Elzeapiius 
Thomas married Ruth .A. Ralston, who died Januan.- 22. 1876, when sixty-six 
years, five months and twenty-one days old. Mr. Thomas settled on the farm 
at the Morton Corners and in the fifties built the house that still stands there. 
Rudy Burkett having recently built on the site of the original house. 
Mr. Thomas began life with but little, but prospering, he added to his place 
until he became one of the well-to-do and influential men of this and adjoin- 
ing counties, owning at one time nineteen hundred acres of valuable land, 
mostly near the home place, so that he could ride horseback over his broad 
acres and give it his personal attention. He loaned money and traded in 
stock extensively, keeping all within range. He paid as high as fifty and 
sixty dollars per acre for that which at first cost only four or five dollars per 
acre. He hauled wheat to Lafavette and sold it for thirty-seven an<l one-half 



PUTXAM COrXTV, INDIANA. 343 

cents per bushel. He was a keen observer, a good manager and was very' 
successful in business. .Although often importuned to do so, he would never 
hold office, being a Democrat, but no politician. His family consisted of eleven 
children, named as follows: John H. spent his life in this county, dying at 
the age of se\'entv-three years in 1903 ; Eli.?:alieth is the widow of George 
Frank at Morton; ^Margaret is the widow of George Cooper and is living in 
Clinton township; ^larthy Patsy married Richard Lloyd, lived in this county 
and died when past sixty years of age; .\manda Ellen, wife of Harry Randel, 
employed in the bank of J. L. Randel at Greencastle; James X. lives in Clinton 
township ; Joseph Andrew, of this review ; Rosanna married Ed. Perkins of 
Greencastle; Sarah Frances is the wife of James Cross, of Lebanon. Indiana; 
Milton E. dierl at the age of forty-se\en years, in this county ; AFary Augustus 
married Rudy H. Eurkett, of Greencastle. 

Joseph Andrew Thomas, whose name initiates this sketch, was born .\pril 
10, 1843, ^^ Morton, Putnam county, on a farm where he spent his lx>yhood 
days until the breaking out of the Civil war when he showed his love of 
country by enlisting in 1861 in Company B, Forty-third Regiment Indiana 
Volunteer Infantry, serving with much credit through all the vicissitudes of 
his regiment for three and one-half years. He was captured by the enemy at 
Marks Mills, while with Steele, while on detail for supplies, and he was later 
sent to Camp Ford, Tyler, Texas, placed in the stockade there and retained 
eleven months or until exchanged in March. 1S65. He was compelled to 
march three hundred miles on short rations, in reaching Tyler. He relates 
that his Christmas dinner that year consisted of ox tail soup. When finally 
liberated he was much reduced in flesh, but he never regretted his service to 
his country. 

He remained with his father until his marriage in 1867 to Nancy C. 
Burkett. who was twenty years old at that time, the daughter of Benton C. 
and Rebecca ( Xutgrass) Burkett, a sketch of whom appears elsewhere in 
this work. She was born in Russell township, this county, and she was always 
always known by the soubriquet of "Xan." 

After his marriage Mr. Thomas settled in Clinton township, near wdiere 
his brother James lives and there he remained for fourteen years, getting a 
good start, then bought his present excellent place at [Morton, and he bought 
a fann in Russell township which he operated very successfully. He received 
one hundred anrl forty-two acres of his father's farm and he has owned over 
five hundred acres in all at one time, most of which has been given to his 
sons. He has been an excellent manager and is regarded as one of the lead- 
ing agriculturists of this township. 



344 WEIK S HISTORY OF 

To 'SW. and Mrs. Joseph A. Thomas three children were born, one of 
whom died when nineteen years old, named Zoe; Alva V. owns one hundred 
and sixtv acres near Brick Chapel. Monroe township; he married Gertrude 
O'Hair and they have two children, Russell and Orville. Ottis M. has re- 
mained single and he operates the home farm. Joseph A. Thomas is a good 
Democrat but no politician, and he is known to be a man who is deeply inter- 
ested in the welfare of his neighbors, with whom he is uniformly popular 
because of his honesty. 



JOHX W. O'DAXIEL. 

The historv of the loyal sons and representative citizens of Putnam 
countv would not be complete should the name that heads this review be 
omitted. \Vhen the fierce fire of rebellion was raging throughout the South- 
land, threatening to destroy the Union, he responded with patriotic fervor to 
the call for volunteers and in some of the bloodiest battles for which that great 
war was noted proved his loyalty to the government he loved so well. 

The subject is descended from sturdy Scotch ancestry, where the name 
was formerlv spelled "O'Donnell." The paternal grandfather, William 
O'Daniel. was a native of Scotland, while his mother was a native of Ger- 
man v. \\'illiam O'Daniel, Sr.. emigrated to the United States and among 
his children was a son, also named William, father of the subject of this 
sketch. William O'Daniel. Jr., who was born after the family came to Amer- 
ica, became a shipbuilder in New Jersey, removing later to Pennsylvania, and 
eventuallv locating near Columbus, Ohio, where he followed the coopering 
business. In the fall of 1852 the family came to Owen county, Indiana, lo- 
cating near Cataract, where the father had a contract to do the coopering for 
the mill there. In 1854 the family removed to Cloverdale and in August, of 
the year following, the father died. His widow lived to be eighty-four years 
old. her death, on May 24, 1909, having been caused by blood poison. Up to 
her last ilhiess she had enjoyed remarkably good health. William O'Daniel. 
Tr.. was twice married. Bv the first union were bom Elijah. George, Wash- 
ington. Eliza. Maria. Priscilla. Rachael. Sally Ann and William R. The chil- 
dren bv the second marriage, which was to Emily Hoklren. were George W.. 
John \\'., Louis R.. Thomas J. and Uriah V. George W. was a member of 
the Fifteenth Regiment Indiana Volunteer Infantry during the Civil war and 
died at Xashville. Tennessee. Louis R. died at Cloverdale in young man- 
hood. Thomas J. resides at Cloverdale and Uriah V. at Greencastle. All 
the children were horn in Ohio excepting the last named. 



PUTNAM COUNTY. INDIANA. 345 

Ji^hn W. O'Daniel was born June Ji, 1845, at the old home on the Na- 
tional road just east of Columbus, Ohio. In 1852 he came with his parents 
to Cataract. Owen county, Indiana. He spent two years, 1857-58, in Illi- 
nois. In August, 1861, Mr. O'Daniel enlisted in Company A, Fifty-ninth 
Regiment Indiana Volunteer Infantry, which command was assigned to the 
Department of the West, under Generals Pope. Sherman and Grant. They 
took part in the siege of Vicksburg, including the several severe engage- 
ments in that immediate vicinity and at Jackson, Mississippi, The regi- 
ment then went back to Black River and at Champion's Hill the regiment 
took part in a bloody charge that cut the enemy's forces in two. Mr. O'Daniel 
was present at the cai)ture of Vicksburg and saw Generals Grant and Pember- 
ton together under the historic tree arranging the terms of surrender. The 
command was then sent to Tennessee and took part in the battles of Shiloh 
and Missionary' Ridge and others, followed which was the hard campaign 
down to Atlanta, many battles and skirmishes being engaged in on the way. 
.\fter General McPherson's lamentable death the company to which the subject 
belonged was assigned as a body guard to accompany the remains to the 
rear. The subject then participated in Sherman's celebrated march to the 
sea. assisted in the capture of Columbia, South Carolina, from which point 
he proceeded w-ith the regiment to Wilmington, North Carolina, where he 
received an honorable discharge, having served six months after the expira- 
tion of his period of enlistment. He passed through many severe experi- 
ences and hardships and proved a valiant and courageous soldier. At \'icks- 
burg a shell burst so near his head that the concussion destroyed an ear 
drum, injuring his hearing. 

In 1882 Mr. O'Daniel was seriously injured in an explosion of dyna- 
mite, suffering the loss of his right hand and wrist. Since 1880 he has been 
engaged in the real estate, insurance, patent and pension business at Clover- 
dale, in which he has met with a gratifying degree of success. In 1909 he 
received from the Home Insurance Company a beautiful medal, in testimony 
of the fact that he had been connected with the company for twenty-five 
years. He is a man of good business qualifications and sound judgment 
anrl is numliered among the leading men of his community. 

Politicallv Mr. O'Daniel is a staunch Republican, though not an office- 
seeker. Under the old statutes, when one man could hold several offices at 
the same time, he served as clerk, treasurer and assessor of Cloverdale, but 
aside from this he has never been connected with public official life. Fra- 
ternallv he is a member of Gen. Frank White Post. No. 422. Grand Army of 



346 



WEIK S HISTORY OF 



the Republic, at Cloverdale. Religiously he and his wife and their son are 
members of the Methodist Episcopal church at Cloverdale and take an active 
interest in its work. 

Mr. O'Daniel has been married three times. In 1S70 he married Sarah 
^latilda Brown, daughter of Thompson Brown, and to them was born a 
daughter, Eva M., who now lives with her maternal grandfather. Mrs. 
Sarah O'Daniel died on September 18, 1883, and subsequently 2vlr. O'Daniel 
married Minnie E. Horn, daughter of Thomas and Eliza (Douglas) Horn. 
A son, born to this union, died in infancy. The wife and mother died on ^lay 
10, 1899, and on June 3. 1890, Mr. O'Daniel married Lucy Branham. daugh- 
ter of William G. and Sarah E. (Hughes) Branham. William Branham 
was a lifelong school teacher and was the first superintendent of schools of 
Putnam county, later following farming. To the last marriage of the sub- 
ject has been born a son. \\'illiam Wesley. 



HENRY CLAY DARXALL. 

A fine type of pioneer farmer, whose life covers practically the history 
of Putnam county with which he has been identified in a most honorable 
way, is the subject of this sketch. In the twilight of his existence, retired 
from the active struggles and hard work with which he was long so familiar. 
he is able to look back complacently to his boyhood days and contrast them 
with the circumstances surrounding the youth of the present generation. He 
is justified in taking pardonable pride in reflecting on the part he took in mak- 
ing modern Indiana possible and it is but a just compensation that he has 
lived to enjoy the comforts and luxuries that have come to the class to whicli 
he belongs. \\'here formerly he trudged through mire and miserable mud 
roads, he is now able to travel at swift speed over fine pikes ramifying in 
all directions. Instead of going miles for his mail, he finds it at his door 
every morning, delivered free of charge. Messages to friends, formerly 
delivered by slowgoing letters or uncertain messengers, may now be com- 
municated by word of mouth to any part of the county by that marvelous 
product of electricity, the telephone. It is pleasing to see on^ of the old pio- 
neers surviving in good health to get the benefit of the marvels, in wliich he 
bore his full part. His family originated in Kentucky, both his father and 
mother being natives of Mt. Sterling, in that state. Turpin Damall was born 
Augu.st 8. 1799. and Louisa Yeates. whom he married, was born May 7. 



PL'TXAM COUNTY. INDIANA. 347 

1807. They came to Putnam county in 183 1 and entered a section of land in 
Clinton township, worth then a dollar or two, but now commanding from 
one hundred and twenty-five dollars to one hundred and fifty dollars an acre. 
This difference in value of itself marks as no words could do the progress of 
Putnam county during the last eighty years. Mr. Darnall was a Whig, then 
a Republican, but the only ofifice he ever held was that of captain of militia 
while living in Kentucky. This fine pioneer pair had seven children, William, 
Nancy. Sarah. Livonia, James F., Henry Clay and Mary. The father died 
in August, i88r, and the mother on March 28, 1888. 

Henry Clay Darnall. the only surviving member of his father's family, 
was born in Putnam county. Indiana, October 12. 1832. He is able to tell 
all about the old log school house, as it was the only seminary of learning 
into which he entered. He has pleasing recollections of the greased-paper 
windows, the hard slab benches and the puncheon floor, to say nothing of the 
rosy-cheeked girls, then full of laughter and freedom from care, but now, alas, 
all passed away. Mr. Darnall remained with his father on the farm until he 
was twenty-one years old and many was the hard lick he struck with an ax 
or mattock in getting things in shape to raise crops. The training was good 
for him, however, and he got the benefits afterward in life, from the practical 
knowledge obtained and the good health, of which the foundations were laid 
by his outdoor life on the farm in his youth and early manhood. He looks 
back with pride to the fact that he cast his first vote for the young Repub- 
lican party when John C. Fremont was the candidate in the fifties. Mr. 
Darnall has always been enthusiastic in Masonry and has been a member of 
that noble order for fifty-four years. He belongs to Lodge Xo. 75, Free and 
Accepted Masons, at Bainbridge and has held numerous offices connected with 
the fraternitv. He is of religious temperament and a member of the Method- 
ist church at Bainbridge. 

On September 11. i860. ^Ir. Darnall married Elizabeth L. Bridges, 
born July 12. 1840. and a daughter of Charles Boles and Rachel (Lockridge) 
Bridges, both early pioneers of Putnam county. Mr. and Mrs. Darnall have 
six children: Flora E., born December 9, 1861, married O. M. Batman; 
Charles T.. born February 4, 1864. married ]VIamie Fry, and resides at In- 
dianapolis; Lena R.. born January 6, 1866, is the widow of William R. Todd, 
who died September 29. 1906; Franklin DeWitt, born November 24. 1869, 
married Prudie Allen, and is in the general merchant tailoring business at 
Butte. Montana; Nellie P.. born April 22. 1876, is the wife of Charles Young, 
who is engaged in the handle factory business at Poplar Bluff. Missouri ; 
William C. born August 15. 1878. married Cecil Frank and is railroading at 
Kansas Citv. Missouri. 



34^ weik's history of 

]Mr. Darnall is a well preserved man, of good health and still enjoying 
life to the full. At one time he owned three hundred forty acres of land, but 
has disposed of most of this and now retains only a fine farm of seventy acres. 
Though practically retired, he still keeps an eye on farming matters and in- 
sists that everything shall be run in shipshape. He is one of the type that 
make a good model for the imitation of the rising generation, who may learn 
from him the value of sobriety, industry and the painstaking care for details 
without which there can be no permanent success in business. 



THE RISSLER FAAHLY. 

This prominent old family has been so closely identified with the settle- 
ment and development of certain parts of Putnam county that the histon*- ot 
one is pretty much the history of both. The Risslers are of German origin 
and were first represented in the United States by an immigrant from the 
Fatherland who settled many years ago among the Blue Ridge mountains of 
Virginia, where he established a home and reared a family of five sons and 
two daughters, all but two of whom lived and died among the rugged scenes 
of their native state. 

William Rissler, the son who left the Virginia homestead and came to 
Indiana, was bom October 12, 1797, and when a young man married Susan 
Boone, a sister of the noted hunter and pioneer, Daniel Boone, who figured 
so prominently in the early annals of Kentucky and elsewhere on the frontier. 
A sister of William Rissler became the wife of Squire Boone. Daniel's brother, 
who took an active part in the history of southern Indiana and Kentucky and 
later \\ent to Iowa, locating on the present site of Boonesboro where his son, 
Tyler Boone, and a daughter. Myrtle, still reside. 

William Rissler came to Putnam county in 1S25 and purchased from 
the go\ernment the tract of land in Washington township now owned by his 
grandson. George Rissler, riding to Vincennes to make the entry and receiving 
a patent bearing the signature of John Ouincy Adams, President of the United 
States. Later, in 183 1. he entered land adjoining his original purchase and 
in 1838 he purchased a third tract in the same locality, the patent for which 
was signed by President Van Buren. William Rissler was a miller by trade 
and shortly after settling in Putnam county he erected a mill on Walnut creek, 
near what is known as the Hufifman Bridge, and it was greatly prized by the 
community, he operating this mill for a number of years with gratifying sue- 



PUTNAM COUNTY, INDI.>a^A. 349 

cess. In due time he cleared and improved a good farm and became one of 
the leading men of the township in which he lived, having always taken an 
active part in the development of the country- and used his influence for the 
social and moral ad\ancement of his neighborhood. In his old age he turned 
his business over to his son Moses and spent the last few years of his life 
at the home of his daughter, dying in the month of February, 1884: his wife, 
who was born October 24. 1802. departed this life in October, 1885. 

The following are the names of the children of William and Susan Riss- 
ler : Hiram, who died in 1875: Phoebe Ann, wife of Robert Rollins, both de- 
ceased: George, who lives in Wayne county, Iowa, aged eighty years; Harriet, 
\viflow of the late Joseph Rissler, lives in Washington township, ha\ing 
reached the age of seventy-eight : Lewis, lives in Brown county, Iowa : John T., 
a resident of Washington township, Putnam county, and Moses, whose birth 
occurred at the family homestead March 14, 1839. During the father's last ill- 
ness Moses, the youngest son of the family, looked after his father's comfort 
and interests and after his death took charge of the farm, which he managed 
so efficiently that within a comparatively brief period all indebtedness against 
the estate was settled and its affairs satisfactorily adjusted. Subsequently he 
paid off the heirs and in due time became owner of the farm which, as already 
indicated, is now in possession of his son, George Rissler. one of the leading 
agriculturists of the township. 

Afoses E. Rissler was reared on the above farm, receiveel his educational 
training in the public schools and on attaining his majority began tilling the 
soil upon his own responsibility, which honorable calling he followed with 
success and profit the remainder of his days. Louisa Pallom, whom he mar- 
ried in his young manhood, was born July 24, 1845, in Ohio and at the age 
of two years was brought to Indiana by her parents, Joseph and Lydia (Trie) 
Pallom, and grew to maturity in Clay county. 

About the vear 1884 Mr. Rissler moved to the farm in Washington 
township where his son Morton now lives, having previously purchased other 
lands in the county, including what is known as the Rollings farm, also a tract 
of one hundred sixtv acres of bottom land, to which he afterwards moved and 
on which he continued to live and prosper until his death, in the month of 
July, 1905. His widow, who still makes her home in Washington township, 
is an estimable and popular lady whose high character and beautiful life have 
won the lasting friendship of those among whom her lot has been cast. 

}ifo.ses B. and Louisa Rissler had four children, George, the oldest, who 
is living on the family homestead, ^forton L. : Emma, who married E. P. 
Aker. of Washington township, and Rosa, the wife of Clarence Wright, who 
resides near Bis: Walnut church. 



350 VVEIK S HISTORY OF 

Morton L. Rissler was born September 15, 1866, and spent his early 
life amid the healthful influence and excellent discipline of the country and 
while still a mere lad became familiar with the rugged duties of the farm. 
He remained at home until his twenty-fourth year, at which time he chose 
a companion and helpmeet in the person of Maggie Huffman, with whom he 
was united in the bonds of wedlock on the 13th day of October, 1889. ]Mrs. 
Rissler was born in Putnam county, Indiana. March 20. 1S70, being a daugh- 
ter of Edmund and Louisa Ann Huffman, notice of whom may be found by 
reference to the sketch of Douglas Huffman on another page of this work. 
Securing seventy-five acres of the old homestead at their marriage, Mr. and 
Mrs. Rissler in 1906 returned to the same and have made their home there 
since. Previous to that date, however, ]Mr. Rissler purchased other real estate 
in various parts of the county and at the death of his wife's father he came 
into possession of another fine farm of three hundred thirty-three acres, which 
he manages in connection with the place where he lives. 

Mr. Rissler is energetic and progressive in the most liberal acceptance 
of the terms and as a farmer and stock raiser ranks among the most success- 
ful men of his calling" in the county. He has owned several farms at different 
times, but is now mainly concerned with the two above mentioned, which are 
about one mile apart and situated in one of th€ finest agricultural districts in 
this part of the state. He has made many valuable improvements on his land 
in the way of buildings, etc., and cultivates the soil according to the most ap- 
proved modern methods, devoting special attention, however, to livestock, 
principally cattle and hogs, which he breeds and sells in large numbers everv' 
year. The Rissler farm is pronounced one of the finest and most productive 
in Putnam county, its every feature indicating the presence of a broad-minded 
American agriculturist, who believes in the dignity of his vocation. Neither 
money nor labor has been spared in making the place beautiful and attractive, 
and in all the essentials of a desirable modern home there is little to be added. 
. ^[r. Rissler is a Republican in politics and manifests an active interest in 
the leading questions and issues of the time. In religious views he holds 
to the Baptist creed and with his wife belongs to the Big Walnut church, of 
which his parents were also communicants, the present building having been 
erected by his father. 

Mr. and Mrs. Rissler have four living children, viz : Delpha Hazel, Clyde 
Hansel, Harlan Moses and Otis Herschel. Gladys }ilarie dying when two years 
old and another dying in infancy. The children are bright and intelligent and 
nothing is being spared in providing for their educational training, to the end 
that they may grow up to be an honor to their parents and a blessing to the 
world. 



PUTNAM COUNTY, INDIANA. 



A. J. OWEN. 

^Vhile success cannot be achieved without unflagging industry, the futil- 
ity of effort is often noticeable in the business world and results from the 
fact that it is not combined with sound judgment. Many a man who gives 
his entire life to toll, earnest and unremitting, never acquires a competence, 
but when iiis labor is well directed, prosperit}' always follows. Mr. Owen is 
one whose work has been supplemented by careful management and today he 
is numbered among the successful agriculturists of the township in which he 
lives. 

A. J. Owen is the son of George Owen, who was bom in Clark county, In- 
diana, on November 21, 18 jo, and the latter was the son of Levi Owen, 
who was born February 7, 1795. George Owen came to Putnam county in 
1836, and lived here continuously until his death, which occurred on the 7th 
of October. 1903. After coming to Putnam county he was married to Mar- 
garet Stobaugh, a member of a prominent old pioneer family of Virginia who 
spent their first winter in Indiana at Indianapolis. They became the parents 
of four children, namely: Levi, .\. J., John F., and .Anna Eliza, who died 
in infancy. The subject's grandmother, Sarah Shaker Owen, was born on 
January 2, 1803, in Clark county, Indiana, in a fort, being the first white 
child born in the territory. The Shaker family was of German origin. Sarah 
Shaker was married to Mr. Owen in 1819 and their marriage was blessed with 
ten children, namely: George. Rachael, Mordecai, Sarah, Levi, Elizabeth, 
Hugh, Mary, Indiana, Evan, all of whom grew to mature years. Levi, while 
on a trip with his father, was bitten by a dog, from the effects of which he 
died after his return home. Evan left home at the age of si.xteen years, about 
the opening of the Civil war, and has not been heard from since. The mem- 
bers of this family are now all deceased excepting Mordecai, who resides 
at Lebanon, Boone county, Indiana, being now eighty-five years old. ' 

The subject of this sketch was born .'Vpril 16, 1856, and was reared under 
the parental roof. He secured his preliminary education in the public schools, 
supplementing this by attendance at a normal school at Ladoga, thus acquiring 
a sound, practical education. Since reaching manhood Mr. Owen has given 
his attention mainly to agriculture. He also served as secretary of the Farm- 
ers' Co-operative Insurance Company. It is as a husbandman, however, that 
Mr. Owen has achieved his greatest success and among the farmers of Floyd 
township he occupies a conspicuous position. His farm is well improved and 



352 WEIK S HISTORY OF 

has been maintained at a higli standard of productivity, the property being 
also well improved in every respect. Mr. Owen is progressive in his methods, 
keeping in touch with the most advanced ideas relating to the science of agri- 
culture, consequently he is able to realize handsome returns for the labor be- 
stowed. 

A stanch Democrat in his political views, Mr. Owen has at all times given 
his party earnest support and in 1888 he was elected trustee of Floyd town- 
ship, serving five years and rendering his constituents an efficient and satisfac- 
tory administration of the office. 

On the i6th of September. 1883. Mr. Owen was united in marriage to 
Lydia B. Wilson, a daughter of Michael and Elizabeth (Black) Wilson, both 
of whom were natives of Kentucky. To this union were born two children, 
namely: Stella M., born January 28, 1884, and George M., born March 26. 
18S7. The mother of these children passed away on the "th of August, 1907. 
She was a woman of many splendid Qualities, a faithful wife and loving 
mother, and her death was deeply regretted throughout the community. 

Fraternally, Mr. Owen is a member of the Free and Accepted Masons, 
and is also an active member of the Knights of Pythias, holding membership 
in Bainbridge Lodge, No. 323. He has held all the offices in the last-named 
lodge and is also a member of the grand lodge. He is a Baptist in his relig- 
ious proclivities. A man of splendid personal qualities, Mr. Owens has, because 
of his genuine worth, long enjoyed the respect and confidence of the people 
of his community and is numbered among its leading and representative men. 



■■ ■. . JESSE LEE HUBBARD. 

The Hubbard family has been one of the most progressive and popular 
in Cloverdale township since the early history of the same and Putnam county 
has known no better citizen. One of the best known members of this family 
of the present generation is Jesse Lee Hubbard, who was born in this town- 
ship Januarv 7. 1862. the son of William and Catherine (Beard) Hubbard. 
William Hubbard was a native of Garrard county, Kentucky, born there 
October 17, 1816, and he accompanied his parents to Putnam county, In- 
diana, in 183 1. He was the son of Wright and Lydia (W'alder) Hubbard. 
Wright Hubbard and wife settled in the northeast part of Cloverdale town- 
ship and lived there the rest of their lives. 



PUTXAM COUNTY, INDIANA. 353 

William Hubbard grew up on a farm in Cloverdale township and on 
I^Iay 2, 1S37, he married Mahala Peck, who died leaving five children, two of 
them still surviving, Jacob P.. now in the state of Washington, and Lydia, 
wife of Hiram Moser, of Jefferson township. After the death of his first 
wife, William Hubbard married Catherine Beard. June 2. 1853. She was 
born in Ohio May i, 1832, the daughter of Philip and Elizabeth ( Doup) 
Beard. Her parents were from Germany and the voyage across the Atlantic 
required si.x months, during which time two of their children died and were 
buried at sea. The Hubbards came to Putnam county, Indiana, and entered 
land from the government in section 33, Jefferson township, in 1847; they 
also traded for other land. 

William Hubbard remained in Cloverdale township, in the east part of 
which he entered land, section t,S- F'^'^ children were born to his last union, 
three of whom are now living, namely: Hester A. Moore, of Westfield, 
Illinois; Jesse Lee, of this review, Hannah Horn lives in the east part of 
Cloverdale township on the old homestead. 

W'illiam Hubbard remained on his farm until in October, 1888, when he 
moved to Cloverdale and lived until his death, April 24, 1889, his widow 
sur^aving until in May, 1906. They were highly respected people and had 
hosts of friends throughout this locality. 

Jesse L. Hubbard grew up on the home place in Cloverdale township and 
there assisted with the general work about the place until his marriage. 
October 2, 1888, to Rosa E. Horn, the daughter of Jesse Thomas and Xancy 
Elizabeth (Cox) Horn. She was born in Cloverdale township. Her father 
was a native of Wayne county. North Carolina. He came to this county 
with his parents, John and Celia (Bogue) Horn. John was the son of 
Thomas and Phoebe Horn, the father dying in North Carolina and his wife, 
Phoebe, came to Putnam county, Indiana, in an early day and located in sec- 
tions 35 and 36, Cloverdale township, where they entered government land. 
Jesse Thomas Horn lived most of his life in Putnam county and awhile in 
Owen county. He is mentioned at greater length on another page of this 

work. 

Xancv Elizabeth Cox was born in the southeast part of Jefferson town- 
ship, this county, the daughter of William Morris and Hannah Pemberton 
(Powers) Cox. Her father was from Virginia and came here in an early 
day and entered land in Jefferson township. He and his wife came all the way 
from the Old Dominion on horseljack, Mrs. Cox carrying a baby in her arms. 
They located in the forest, for the land here was new and had to be cleared. 
They erected a two-room log ca1)in and began life in true first-settled fashion. 



354 



WEIK S HISTORY OF 



The country was overrun with all kinds of wild game, and once during a 
storm a herd of wild deer came up to their door. They entered their land near 
a spring, the ground being high enough to be free from standing water. 

After their marriage Jesse L. Hubbard and wife lived three years on 
the old Hubbard homestead. He already owned some land in section 28. 
Jefferson township, and built a house there after his marriage and moved 
into it. He has been very successful and has since added more land, now 
owning a fine farm of two hundred and eleven acres in Cloverdale town- 
ship, thirty-seven acres lying in Jefferson township, all joining in one piece, 
nearly all under cultix'ation and well improved. He carries on general 
farming and stock raising in a manner that stamps him as being abreast of 
the times. In 1892 he built a four-room house and in 1908 remodeled it, 
adding other rooms, so that it is practically a new house, is unusually well 
constructed and attracti\-e from an architectural viewpoint. It is well suited 
in even- wav for a good comfortable home, having many of the very latest 
conveniences, such as a furnace, etc. It cost four thousand dollars, is tastily 
furnished and about it is always an air of hospitality and cheerfulness. 

To Mr. and Mrs. Hubbard seven children have been born, namely: 
Anna Gladys is a graduate of the Cloverdale high school; William Thomas 
is living on a fami at Hooper, Washington, in the southeast part of the 
state; Robert Lee is attending high school; Hester Florence; Omer Worth. 
Theodore Von and Royal Glenn. 

Mr. Hubbard in 1909 made an extensive tour of the West, visiting the 
Alaska-Yukon-Pacific E.xposition at Seattle, Washington. Politically he 
was first a Democrat, but is now an ardent Prohibitionist and aids in the 
cause whenever possible. He is a member of the Modern Woodmen of 
America and he and Mrs. Hubbard belong to the Methodist Episcopal church. 
They are regarded by their neighbors as being kind, good hearted and gen- 
erous, and their friends are numbered by the scores. 



JOHN SAMUEL MICHAEL. 

Amono- the citizens of Floyd township. Putnam county, Indiana, who 
have built up a comfortable home and surrounded themselves wdth a fair 
amount of landed and personal property, few have attained a higher degree of 
success than the subject of this review. With few opportunities except what 
his own efforts were capable of mastering and with some obstacles to over- 



PUTNAM COUNTY. INDIANA. 35^ 

come, he lias made a success of lite, and in his declining years has the grati- 
fication of knowing that the community in which he has resided has been bene- 
fited by his residence therein. 

John S. Michael was born March 17, 1841. in Greencastle township, this 
county, and is the son of Jacob and Maria (Hulett) Michael. The former 
was a native of \'irginia and the son of a German emigrant, he himself not 
being able to read the English language. He had three brothers. Benjamin. 
Jacob and G. H. He was a Democrat in politics and a man of stanch integrity 
of character, who enjoyed the resi)ect of all who knew him. He came to Put- 
nam county. Indiana, in 1833, being numbered among the early and active 
pioneers of this section of the state. 

John S. ]\Iichael was reared under the parental roof and received his 
education in the common schools, the school which he attended being located 
about two and one-half miles from his home. Hk was reared to the life of 
a farmer and has devoted the greater part of his life to that occupation. He 
is now the owner of one hundred and eighteen acres of splendid and fertile 
land, on which he raises all the crops common to this section of the countrv, 
and he also gives considerable attention to the raising of livestock, giving 
special attention to the breeding of Aberdeen Angus cattle, in the handling of 
Avhich he has been very successful. Besides farming, Mr. Michael is an ex- 
pert stonemason, and has done considerable work in that line, having con- 
structed several culverts in this county. He is accomplished in several lines 
of work, being in some respects a jack-of-all-trades. He has lived in his 
present residence for forty years and has maintained the property, at a high 
standard of excellence, it being improved with a good residence and substan- 
tial barns and outbuildings. 

On June 2, 1861, Mr. Michael was united in marriage with Marv E. 
Wilson, a daughter of William and Mary E. (Wilson) Wilson, and to them 
have been born the following children: John H.. who married Elizabeth Sum- 
mers: Ida is the wife of James Snowden, of Indianapolis, this state: Jacob, a 
son, married Mildred Wilson, but he died leaving a son and a daughter : Ammi ; 
Sophia A. was the widow of G. Fitzimmons and later married Shelby Blades, 
living near Roachdale : Ora married Ida Brown and is living in Hendricks 
county, this state ; Maude, deceased ; Ernest, who lives in this county, married 
Xorah Oliver: Orville married Erie Montgomery. 

In politics Mr. Michael is a staunch Democrat and takes an intelligent 
interest in local public affairs. He is a man of positive convictions and takes 
a firm stand on the temperance question, exerting his influence in the direc- 
tion of the abolition of saloons. A remarkable fact in connection with Mr. 



356 weik's history of 

Michael's genealogical record is that his paternal grandfather had twenty- 
three children, of which number twenty-two were boys. The subject is a 
man of commendable personal qualities and enjoys the regard and contidence 
of all who know him, his acquaintance in the county being extensive. 



JOHN A. BAUMUNK. 

This enterprising farmer and stock raiser hails' from Owen county. 
Indiana, where he was born on the 8th day of August, i860, being a son of 
iMichael and Christina Baumunk, both natives of Germany. Michael Bau- 
munk was brought to America when eight years old and grew to maturity 
in Pennsylvania, marrying in that state when a young man, Mrs. Christina 
(Haynes) Smith, who also came to this country in early life. In 1834, in 
company with his younger brother. Peter, he came to Indiana and located in 
Owen county, Peter settling at Poland, in the county of Clay. Michael bought 
land about one-half mile from the Putnam county line and lived on the same 
until his death. Peter after a few years moved to the farm south of Reels- 
ville, where he spent the remainder of his days and which is now owned and 
occupied by his son, Thomas Baumunk. 

The death of Michael and Peter Baumunk and a daughter of the latter, 
Mrs. Homer Smith, occurred the same year (1901), under peculiar circum- 
stances. Mrs. Smith departed this life in the month of August and was fol- 
lowed to the grave bv her father and uncle Michael: one month later Michael 
was called to his reward, Peter being among the chief mourners at his funeral, 
and in October, ensuing, Peter breathed his last, all three being interred in the 
cemetery at Poland. 

The family of Michael and Christina Baumunk consisted of one son, 
John A., of this review, and two daughters, Mary E., wife of Ivan Huffman, 
of Washington township, and Margaret, who married John Zenor and lives 
at Spencer, Owen county, near which place her husband has large farming 
interests. Another son died in infancy. 

John A. Baumunk was reared on the home place in Owen county and 
remained with his father until his twenty-second year; meantime he bore his 
full share of the labor of the farm and of winter months, during his minority, 
pursued his studies in the public schools until acquiring a pretty thorough 
knowledge of the branches taught. When twenty-two years old he severed 
home ties and began life for himself, choosing the honorable vocation of 



PUTNAM COUXTY. INDIANA. 35/ 

agriculture for his calling and has since followed the same with most gratify- 
ing results. The same year in which he left the parental roof, Mr. Baumunk 
was united in the bonds of wedlock with Eliza Jane Rightsell, daughter of 
John and Mary (Neece) Rightsell, and immediately thereafter set up his 
domestic establishment on a farm in Putnam county, where he continued to 
reside until trading the place for another tract of land in the same locality. 
Subsequently he made other exchanges and in 1901 moved to the farm in 
\\'ashington township, where he now lives and which under his judicious 
labors and excellent management has been brought to a high state of culti\a- 
tion and otherwise improved. 

Mr. Baumunk is a careful and methodical farmer and seldom if ever 
fails to realize ample returns from the time and labor expended on his fields. 
By studying the character of soil and its adaption to the different grains and 
vegetables, etc.. also by a judicious rotation of crops, he has largely developed 
the productive capacity of his land and in addition to its tillage devotes con- 
siderable attention to livestock, especially the finer breeds of cattle and hogs. 
He also raises fpiite a number of mules, for which there is a wide demand 
and which he sells at weaning time, finding it more satisfactory and profitable 
to dispose of them when young than when fully grown. 

In the management of his varied interests Mr. Baumunk displavs busi- 
ness ability of a high order and it is a fact worthy of note that evervthing 
to which he gives his attention proves financially successful. From the begin- 
ning of his career to the present time he has made money and it is unnecessarv 
to state that he is now the possessor of a comfortable competency of this 
world's goods. His farm, consisting of ninety acres, seventy of which is 
bottom land, lies in one of the richest agricultural districts of Putnam county 
and his splendid modern dwelling, one of the finest and most attractive homes 
in Washington township, crowns the summit of a beautiful knoll and com- 
mands an extensive view of the valley and surrounding country. Mr. Bau- 
munk has furnished his home with all the latest improvements, it being in 
every respect up-to-date and such a dwelling as to make rural life pleasant and 
desirable. He believes in using the good things of this world to judicious 
ends, hence has not been at all sparing in providing comforts for his family 
and rendering the lot of those dependent upon him as agreeable as circum- 
stance will admit. 

Mrs. Baumunk bore her husband seven children and departed this life 
on January 7, 1907, profoundly lamented by the large circle of neighbors and 
friends who had learned to prize her for her many excellent qualities of 
head and heart. She belonged to one of the old and respected families of 
Putnam county and her loss was deeply mourned by all who knew her. 



358 weik's history of 

Of the six living children of Mr. and Mrs. Baumunk, James .Albert is 
the oldest : he married and moved to Illinois some years ago. where he is en- 
gaged in farming. Perrv Franklin, the second son, is with the Burdsal Paint 
Company, of Indianapolis, and stands high in the confidence of his employers. 
John Michael is at home assisting his father in cultivating the farm. Anna is 
in school, as is also Mary Effa and Louis Edward. Mr. Baumunk married 
on September i, 1909. Mrs. Lucretia (Craft) Rissler, daughter of Daniel 
and Jane Craft. Lucretia Baumunk has a daughter, Flossie Jane, aged six 
years, by her marriage to John Rissler. 



GEORGE TAYLOR REEVES. 

The history of the Reeves family in Putnam county is traced back to 
the log-cabin days and one of the best known members is George Taylor 
Reeves, who has lived to see Monroe township pass through all the states of 
development to one of the prosperous sections of the Hoosier state. His 
birth occurred on February 28, 1847, the son of Stacey Lawrence and Nancy 
(Howlett) Reeves, the father born in Campbell county, Kentucky, September 
20, 1820, and the mother was born on February 22, 1822. They came to 
Putnam county, Indiana, in its early days and married here in 1835, -^f''- 
Reeves buving land from Mr. Johnson. George \V. Howlett was among the 
first settlers and by the assistance of Indians he erected his first house. A 
pet bear followed Mr. Howlett and his family from their Kentucky home. 
Xancy Howlett was then only eighteen months old and the Indians often 
visited their hut and played with her. giving her little trinkets of their own 
making. Stacev L. Reeves devoted his life to farming: however, when a boy 
he worked for a time at the boot and shoe business in Greencastle, and he 
successfully maintained a shoe shop on his farm many years. 

The following children were i)orn to Mr. and Mrs. Stacey L. Reeves: 
Sarah E. died when twenty years of age in 1861 ; Emmerine is deceased: 
James L. is deceased: George Taylor, of this review: Allen Wiley was born 
May 12. 1849: Mary C. was born March 12, 1851 ; Charles F., born Novem- 
ber 17, 1853, was city marshal of Greencastle at one time; Annie E., born 
Xovemlier 3, 1855, married C. V. Johnson and is living in Crawfordsville. 

Stacev L. Reeves was a fxepublican in politics, but held no offices : but 
he took great interest in the aff'airs of the Alethodist church, of which he was 
a regular attendant. He was well known in this countv, and his death oc- 



PUTNAM COUNTY. INDIANA. 359 

cnrred on December 26. 1888. his ashes resting in the old Brick Chapel bury- 
ing ground. 

George T. Ree\es attended the schools taught in the old log sclnxjl liouses 
in Monroe township. He lived with his father for thirty years and assisted 
in farming and has matle this his life work, now owning a neat little farm 
of forty-five acres, which, together with his stock raising, makes him a verv 
comfortable living. 

Mr. Reeves was married on December 7. 1879. to Martha Ellen Shinn. 
daughter of W'illoughby and Elizabeth Frances (\\'ilson) Shinn. the father 
born in Mercer county, Missouri, from which place he came to Putnam county, 
Indiana, being then twelve years of age, having been born on February 22. 
1839. Grandfather Shinn came here in the spring of the year, contracting 
the cholera soon afterwards which caused his death. But the family found 
kind friends among their neighbors and were greatly assisted in gettinj es- 
tablisheil. The trip from Missouri was made in the usual mode of pioneer 
tra\eling. in ox carts. George T. Reeves still lives on the old Grandfather 
Shinn farm. 

Ti) Mr. and Mrs. George T. Reeves one child, a daughter, has been born, 
Edith May. whose birth occurred June 24, 1884. and she married Elmer Mc- 
Camey. living at .\dvance, Boone county, this state, and they are the parents 
of three children. Effie, Oscar Lee and Hazel. Mr. McCamey is engaged 
in the livery business si.xteen miles east of Crawfordsville. 

}v[r. Reeves is a worker in the Methodist church, being regarded as one 
of the pillars of the local congregation, and having been a delegate to the con- 
ference of his cliurch six times and serving on the stationing committee. Po- 
liticallv he is a Republican. 



JOHN WILSOX. 

It will l:e found upon examinatii5n that the person who lives the quietest 
and most uneventful life — <ine that is free, on the one hand, from too great 
degree of toil, and tree. <;n the other, from nen'ous excitement, such as falls 
to the lot of the dwellers of the cities, will live the longest span on earth and 
will to the greatest degree enjoy his declining years. It seems that all per- 
sons are given at the outset of their lives only about so much vitality, and if 
they squander it before they reach maturity, or if they squander it too fast 
at any stage of their careers, it means a premature death. Like a canrlle. 
thev burn out too fast and are left nothing but a wick, black and unsightlv. 



360 WEIK S HISTORY OF 

But the quiet and steady life is what counts. Such a person has great re- 
serves of vital force which he can call into action at any emergency and is 
thus enabled to make a better showing in a crisis than the person who is ready 
to fall at the least excitement. John Wilson, a highly honored and success- 
ful resident of Floyd township, is one who has had the wisdom to save his 
best powers for suitable occasions, and. as a result of his sober, exemplary 
life, he has not only consen-ed his energies, rendering him hale and hearty 
in his old age, but he has won the confidence and friendship of all who have 
formed his acquaintance. 

i\Ir. Wilson was born January 23. 1838, the son of Abel and Julia A. 
(Holsapple) Wilson, natives of Kentucky, the former of English and the 
latter of German ancestry. This old pioneer family came to Putnam county, 
Indiana, in 1834 and developed a good farm, Abel Wilson reaching an ad- 
vanced age, dying here on January 31, 1892. followed to the unseen world a 
few days later, February 2. 1892. by his wife. They were a fine old couple 
:\hnm everybody delighted to honor. 

John Wilson was educated in the old log school houses of his day with 
their greased paper windows and slab seats. He was reared on a farm and con- 
tinued that line of endeavor, having prospered by reason of close application 
to his work and good management and he is now the owner of one of the 
choice farms of Floyd township, comprising two hundred and seventeen acres, 
which has been placed under modern improvements and is yielding large 
returns for the labor expended upon it. He has a good home and is very 
comfortably fixed in every respect. 

John Wilson was married on February i, i860, to Isabella Lewis, daugh- 
ter of John Lewis, which union resulted in the birth of three children, named 
as follows: Delana C, born July 23, 1865: Charles A., born October i, 1867; 
and Gilbert A., born August 19, 1872. 

The mother of these children died on July 12, 1895, and Air. ^^'ilson 
married again, on November 5, 1896, his last wife being Mrs. Ellen Allen, 
widow of Frank Allen, by whom she had one son. 

'Sir. \Mlson is a Democrat in politics and he held very acceptably the 
office of county commissioner from 1886 to 1889. 

Delana C. Wilson, mentioned above, received a good common school 
education and he later attended higher schools and fitted himself for a teacher, 
and for two vears he taught very successfully in Floyd township, but he left 
the school room for the more remunerative and less exacting life of the agri- 
culturist and he has been well paid for the labor he has expended in this line. 



PUTXAM COUNTY. INDIANA. 361 

He is making liis iKune with liis father and has a good farm of his own near 
Bainbridge. 

Charles A. Wilson, also mentioned before, received a good common 
school education, graduating from the State Normal at Terre Haute, also at 
Franklin College, south of Indianapolis: also passed through the McCormick 
Seminary of Chicago, later taking a course in an oratorical school, thus be- 
coming unusually well equipped for his life labors — that of the ministry — 
at which he has been very successful, now being pastor of the Bethany 
Presbyterian church of Chicago. 

Gilbert A. Wilson, the other son. is a well-known school teacher in Jack- 
son township. 



DAVID WALLACE. 



A successful farmer of Mill Creek township is David Wallace, who was 
born in [Morgan county, Indiana, December 5, 1839. the son of Elijah and 
Elizabeth (^lanlev) \A'allace. the former the son of David and Elizabeth 
(Atkins) Wallace. Elijah Wallace was born in Tennessee and it is believed 
his parents were of Scotch-Irish descent. The parents of David Wallace 
came from Tennessee to Indiana and settled near the convergence of Putnam, 
^lorgan and Hendricks counties, and there followed farming and stock 
raising. 

David \\"allace was one of a family of eleven children, namely : .Knianda. 
wife of Leonard Shaw, deceased; John, of Mill Creek township; James lives 
in ^lorgan county; David, of this review; Elizabeth is the widow of James 
Hill (deceased) and lives in Morgan county; Louisa Ann is the wife of 
Thomas Sandy, living in Cloverdale; Xancy is the wife of Samuel McCollum ; 
William is deceased; Surelda, deceased; Mary Ellen is the wife of Richard 
Brown, of Morgan county ; Adeline died when three years of age. 

David Wallace's father lived in Hendricks county on a farm consisting 
of six hundred acres ; he also owned a large body of land in Mill Creek town- 
ship. Putnam county, part of it lying in Morgan county. He was a Democrat. 
ah\ays active, but never held office. His death occurred July 12, 1884. David 
Wallace's mother died May 11, 1890. 

David \\'allace grew to maturity on the farm, which he assisted in re- 
claiming from the wilderness, among his duties being to assist in operating 
his father's old "ground-hog" threshing machine. David also threshed grain 
with a flail and by tramping it out. His uncle had a mill in Tennessee, and 



362 weik's history of 

before leaving that state Da\id's father worked at the shoemaker's trade for 
a time. He made the long journey to Indiana in a one-horse wagon, making 
his fortune after coming here. He bought land, fed hogs which he drove 
to Lawrenceburg. on the Ohio river, and when a boy his son, David, assisted 
in driving some of his hogs to Indianapolis. 

David Wallace lived on the home farm until his marriage. February 3, 
1865, to Rebecca E. Stringer. She is the daughter of Reuben and Mildred 
(Ludlow) Stringer. Her parents were from Kentucky. She was born in 
Hendricks county. 

To Mr. and Mrs. Wallace four children were born, namely : Charlie died 
when seven vears old: Lidia died at the age of three; .\lbert and Alpha are 
living. The former married Shada Dale Staley, daughter of Hiram Staley. 
Albert is li\ing on a farm south of his father's. He and his wife have one 
daughter, Lola. Alpha married Walter Allee and lives in Mill Creek town- 
ship, a short distance southeast of her father; they have six children, Nona 
]vlarie. Jewel D.. Thelma and Velma (twins), Flossie and Albert Ross. 

David Wallace has lived forty-five years on the same farm in section 
8. Mill Creek township, having moved here April i, 1865. He was in Com- 
pany K, Fiftv-fifth Regiment, Indiana Volunteer Infantry, during the Civil 
■war. Politically he is a Democrat and he and his wife are both members 
of the Friends church. 



LORENZO D. SECKMAN. 

An enterprising and successful farmer of Putnam county, Indiana, and 
one who proved his loyalty to the government and his patriotism in up- 
holding the national union, is the gentleman whose name appears at the head 
of this sketch and who is a native son of the Buckeye state. He was born 
June I, 1835, and is a son of Benjamin and Mary A. Seckman. These par- 
ents were natives of Virginia, who in 1834 moved to the state of Ohio, where 
they remained during the following sixteen years, removing in 1850 to Iowa. 
Their stav in the latter state was brief, however, as in 185 1 they came to 
Marion township. Putnam county, Indiana, where they bought forty acres 
of land, foi- which they paid twelve dollars and fifty cents per acre. Benja- 
min Seckman entered at once upon the task of improving this land and by 
dint of hard labor and rigid economy he prospered and e\entually added 
twenty acres to this farm. He was by trade a papermaker and he carried on 
this pursuit as a side line, this being prior to the advent of modern paper- 



PL"TXAM COL'XTY. INDIANA. 303 

making machinerv. He was a man of inflexible character and sterling in- 
tegrity, and was a constant reader of the Scriptures, having reatl the Bible 
through manv times. He and his wife were faithful members of the Poplar 
Grove Methodist Episcopal church and their daily lives were consistent witli 
their professions. The father died on December 23, 1897. at the age of 
eighty-eight years, and the mother on October 20. 1895, at the age of eighty- 
one vears. their remains being interred in the Stilesville cemetery, in Plen- 
dricks county. 

Lorenzo D. Seckman remained with his parents in their various places 
of residence until i860, when, his patriotic spirit being aroused by the at- 
tempts of the Sc3uth to destroy the national union, he enlisted in the Forty- 
third Regiment, Indiana Volunteer Infantry, and during the following three 
and a half years he rendered valiant and faithful service in the defense of 
Old Glory. At Marks' Mills. Arkansas, he was captured and for ten months 
was confined at Camp Ford. Tyler. Te.xas. On his return home he resumed 
farming, and in 1868 he married and settled on his father-in-law's farm, 
where he remained until the death of his first wife, in 1870. He then located 
on sixt> acres of land, which he cultivated for seven years and then sold, 
buying ninety acres of land in section 23. Marion town.ship, on which he has 
made his home during the past twenty-five years. He is a practical farmer 
and has achieved a distinctive success of his vocation. His place is well im- 
proved and Mr. Seckman is known as one of the substantial and enterprising 
farmers of the township. 

On March 18. 1868, Mr. Seckman married Cynthia J. Burt(Mi. the 
daughter of Alfred S. and Katherine J. Burton. She was a member of the 
^lissionarv- Baptist church and was a woman of culture and refinement. Her 
death occurred on March i. 1870, her remains being interred in the Burton 
family lot at Greencastle. and on February 16, 1876. Mr. Seckman was joined 
in marriage with Susanna O. Ouinlan. who was born in Putnam county. Indi- 
ana. September 30. 1S43. the daughter of William M. and Serelda (Sinclair) 
Ouinlan. the former a native of Maryland and the latter of Putnam county. 
Indiana. Mrs. Seckman having been for a number of years a successful 
teacher in the public schools. Xo children were born to the sul)ject's first 
marriage. To \\'illiam L. and Serelda Ouinlan have been born eight chil- 
dren, five of whom are living, namely : Virginia, the wife of James Denny, 
an attorney at Greencastle: Mrs. L. D. Seckman: Ann Missouri is unmar- 
ried and keeps house for her brother. Frank \\'. : Gramaliel B.. a farmer in 
^Marion township: Lorenzo D. : Lucinda E.. the decea.sed wife of James W 



364 weik's history of 

Burton: Angeline A., who died unmarried. Mr. and Airs. Seckman have 
not been blessed with any children of their own, but they have acted the 
part of the good samaritians in rearing a boy from tender years to manhood. 
He was well educated and is still, at the age of twenty-two years, making his 
home with them. 

\\"illiam N. Ouinlan came from Maryland to Putnam county in 
1S37, being numbered among the early pioneers of the county. He 
had a large part in the moral and material development of the county, 
helping to lay the foundations of good government in this frontier section. 
He entered a tract of land and improved a good farm, spending the 
rest of his days and dying in this county. He was a son of James 
and Susanna (Cooper) Ouinlan, the former a native of Ireland and 
the latter of Wales. These parents emigrated to America, locating in Mary- 
land, where the father died at the remarkable age of one hundred and one 
years. James Ouinlan was loyal to his adopted land and during the war of 
the Revolution he served valiantly on the side of the colonies. He was a man 
of marked influence and stood high in his community. Mrs. Seckman pos- 
sesses a number of valuable relics which have descended to her from her 
honored ancestry, in which she takes a justifiable pride. Among these is a 
set of pure silver spoons which were made for her mother from her grand- 
father's knee buckles. She also has a mustard cup over one hundred years 
old, and an exquisite sample of her grandmother's needle work. The latter, 
which is verv artistic in design and execution, is made on brown linen, and 
shows that in the early days art was prevalent which at this day would be 
hard to duplicate. Other relics in the collection evidence the high position 
which the former possessors held in society in the early days of this Republic, 
many of them having held high positions in relation to our early institutions 
and industries. Among the early generation of the Sinclairs and Ouinlans 
were a number of ministers who took a prominent part in advancing the 
civilization of the new communities in which they settled, they enjoying the 
confidence of all who knew them, their honor and integrity being above 
reproach. 

Politically. Air. Seckman is a Republican and takes an intelligent interest 
in local public affairs, though he is not a seeker after public office. His re- 
ligious membership is with the Methodist Episcopal church, in the various 
activities of which he takes a prominent part, giving the society an earnest 
and liberal support. He is a man of good parts and enjoys the high regard 
of all who know him. 



PUTNAM COUNTY, INDIANA. 



CHARLES :\IILTON PICKETT. 



Among the progressive, enterprising and industrious residents of Floyd 
township. Putnam county, Indiana, none takes higher rank than the gentle- 
man whose name heads this sketch. He is descended from a prominent and 
well-known Southern family, the Picketts having come originally from 
Xorth Carolina, where they occupied a prominent place in their locality. 
The subject's paternal grandfather, Aquilla Pickett, reared a family of four- 
teen children, all of whom attained to respected positions in life, being well 
known in Putnam county. Two brothers, Thomas and Ralph, and two sisters, 
Elizabeth and Seritha, still survive. The Pickett settlement in this countv 
numbered many members and during war times it was commonly known as 
Fort Pickett. 

The subject's father, David Pickett, was born on the 14th of April, 
18J9, and died on the 29th of January, 1909. He was born in Da\idson 
county, Xorth Carolina, and accompanied the family on their remo\aI to 
Putnam county, Indiana, in 1S30. Here the father entered land, first settling 
in Russell township, but three years later he moved to Floyd township, where 
he spent his remaining years. He was a Democrat in politics, but not an 
ofifice seeker, though he was induced to accept the position of overseer of 
roads. Though not a member of church or fraternal organizations, he was 
a good man and enjoyed the unbounded confidence and respect of all who 
knew him. His wife bore the maiden name of Elizabeth Spaugh. and she 
also was a native of North Carolina. To this worthy couple were born six 
children, namely: Polly, Charles 'M.. Ellen, Lawrence, Sophia and Alalvina. 
These children are all living and all, with the exception of the last named, 
are residents of Floyd township. 

Charles M. Pickett was born on the 26th day of July, 1856. and was 
reared under the parental roof. As soon as old enough he took up the work 
of the farm and became an able assistant to his father. After completing 
his education in the common schools, he became a student in the Xormal 
School at Danville, and then took up the occupation of teaching school, in 
which he was successfully engaged for fifteen years. In 1900 he served as 
township trustee, his former experience in the school room aiding him in 
his performance of the duties of the office, which he discharged for four years 
to the eminent satisfaction of his constituents. Since quitting the school room 
]\Ir. Pickett has devoted his attention to agriculture, in which also he has met 
with marked success. He owns sixtv acres of as good land as can be found 



366 



WEIK S HISTORY OF 



in the township and, being practical and systematic in his operations, lie has 
been enabled to realize a good profit on his land. He carries on a general 
line of farming, raising all the crops common to this section of the country, 
and also gives some attention to the raising of livestock. 

On August 30, 1887. Mr. Pickett was united in marriage with Myrtie 
Adams, who was a native of Putnam county and a daughter of Ephraim 
Adams, of Greencastle. and to this union were born five children, namely : 
Chester. Dallas. Lelia. Rolland and Garia. all of whom are living. Mrs. 
Pickett died on March 25. 1898, and on February i, 1906, Mr. Pickett mar- 
ried Ella Hendricks, who was born in Owen county, Indiana, March 25, 
1866, the daughter of John M. and Clara (Lancet) Hendricks. The father 
is a native of Warren township, this county, his father having been a 
native of Bath county, Kentucky, and a pioneer settler in Putnam county, 
where he entered land. Mrs. Pickett's mother is descended from German 
ancestry. To this second union three children have been born, twins, who 
died in infancy, and a daughter, Louise, born November 21, 1909. 

Politically Mr. Pickett is a stanch Democrat and he takes a keen and 
intelligent interest in public affairs, though not an office seeker. Fraternally 
he is a member of Lodge Xo. 542, Free and Accepted Masons, at Grove- 
land, which he served as worshipful master several terms and of which he is 
now secretary. His religious membership is \vith the Missionary Baptist 
church, of which he is a regular attendant and in the work of which he takes 
an active part. His support is always given to whatever tends to advance the 
highest interests of the community and because of his integrity of character, 
his genial disposition and his genuine worth, he is held in high esteem 
in the community. 



WILLL\M A. MOSER, M. D. 

In a locality ranking high for its medical talent, whose professional 
men take conspicuous places among their colleagues throughout the state, 
is Dr. William A. Moser, who is located at Belle Union, Jefferson township, 
Putnam county, where he is enjoying a lucrative practice and has long been 
known as one of the leading citizens of this section of the county. He is the 
descendant of one of the old and influential families of this county, having 
been born in the southwestern part of this township, September 19. 1869, 
the son of David and Sarah A. (Bryan) Moser. A full history of his ances- 



PUTNAM COLXTY. INDIANA. 367 

trv is to be found on another page of this work, hence will not be repeated 
here. 

The Doctor's boyhood was spent on the home farm, where he earlv 
learned the art of agriculture, but when a mere lad he determined to enter 
the medical profession and consequently began bending every effort in that 
direction. He enjoyed a liberal education, having attended the public and 
high schools at Cloverdale and later the Xormal School at Danville. Indiana. 
He spent one year in the College of Physicians and Surgeons at St. Louis, 
Missouri, and he then entered the medical department of the University at 
Indiana, located at Indianapolis, formerly known as the Indiana Aledical Col- 
lege, thus completing the four-years course in medicine and surgery, grad- 
uating in 1903. In ]May of that year Doctor Moser opened an office at Belle 
Union. Jefiferson township, at which place he has practiced ever since, meet- 
ing with a fair measure of success from the first and he now ranks as one of 
the leading physicians of the county. 

Doctor Moser married Clara Vesta Cradick. of Owen county, Indiana, 
in 1894. She was the daughter of John Cradick. This union resulted in the 
birth of one child. O. Joyce Moser. Eleven months later ^Irs. Moser died, 
and in ]\Iav. igoS. ]Mr. Moser married Hazell Gillette Dobbs. daughter of 
George Dobbs. of Greencastle. 

The Doctor is a member of the Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks, 
the Independent Order of Odd Fellows and the Knights of Pythias. He is 
also a member of the Putnam County Medical S(X-iety and the State ^ledical 
Society of Indiana. 

Doctor Moser possesses the happy faculty of winning and retaining many 
warm personal friends and the high regard in which he is held indicates on 
his part a determination to discharge his every duty and obligation as be- 
comes a good man and a worthv citizen. 



JOHN S. NEWGEXT. 

Few citizens of Putnam county, especially Clinton township and vicin- 
ity, were better or more favorably known than the late John S. Xewgent, 
He was born August 25, 1830, and after an active and useful life passed to 
his rest on March 14, 1894. He received a fairly good education in the com- 
mon schools of his day and assisted with the work on the home place until 
he reached maturity, marrying Lucinda Lewis, who was born January 16. 



368 



WEIKS HISTORY OF 



1S31, in Shelbyville, Kentucky, the daughter of Aaron and Milhe (Aloseley) 
Lewis. This family came to Monroe township, Putnam county, Indiana, 
1838. John S. Newgent served twice as county commissioner. 

The Xewgent family consisted of the following children : William Tal- 
bot married Margaret Noble and lives in Putnam county; Nancy married 
Thomas Heady, who lives in Madison township; Sarah Elizabeth died in 
early life; James Edward remained with his mother; Lewis Newgent was 
born January 28, 1861, remained single, spending his entire life on the home 
farm; Nellie married Walter Sigler, of Putnam county; John S., Jr., died 
when thirty years of age, having married Mary Martin, by whom he had two 
children, Merl and Earl. 



JOHN SCADY CHANDLER. 

Among the progressive citizens of Clinton township who are deserving 
of representation in a work of this character is John S. Chandler, who was 
born in the house in which he now lives, on July 6, 1850, the son of Scady 
and Sarah (Busey) Chandler, the latter the widow of James Roberts. Scady 
Chandler was a native of Virginia and was reared to manhood at Crab 
Orchard, Kentucky. He spent one year in Shelby county, Indiana, and in 
1824 entered the 'land on which his descendants now reside in Clinton town- 
ship, the entrv being made at Crawfordsville. He settled in the woods and 
built a half- faced shanty near the present Chandler residence. In 1S28 he 
erected what was then a fine substantial brick house, burning the brick on his 
place. Two of his-molders differed in politics, one being a Jackson man, 
the other favoring Adams, and they inserted the names of their favorite 
candidates in the year 1828. and many of the bricks bear them to this day. 
Scadv Chandler took a scholarship at .Wabash College. Crawfordsville, hav- 
ing been deeply interested in educational affairs. He was a public-spirited 
man and patriotic, ha\ing served in the war of 181 2 as a commissioned 
officer. He spent his life on the farm. Later he added to the three original 
brick rooms, making it a long brick house, one-story. He was well-to-do for 
those davs and owned about four hundred acres of land in this tract, at the 
time of his death, seventy-six acres at INIt. [Meridian and two hundred acres 
in Clark county, Illinois. He was a Democrat, but not an office seeker. He 
was a member of Wesley Chapel ^Methodist church. The death of this 
prominent and well liked old pioneer occurred on March 7. 1S64. when he 
lacked onlv seven days of his seventieth birthday. His first wife died early. 




JOHN S. CHANDLER 



^ PL'TXAM COUNTY, IXDIAXA. 369 

bearing him one daughter, Ehza, who married David Talbot, and is deceased. 
Her daughter is h\ing in Ilhnois. Mr. Chandler married a second time, his 
last wife being Mrs. Sarah (Busey) Roberts, a sister of a brick mason who 
laid brick in his house. Her father, Jacob Busey, was from Kentucky. The 
Roberts family lived in Kentucky, where Mrs. Chandler spent her girlhood 
days and married James Roberts. Three children were born to Mrs. Chand- 
ler by her first husband, James Roberts, among them being a daughter. 
Mahala, who is now the widow of James De\ore, of Terre Haute, and is the 
only one of the three children li\ing. Three children were born to Mr. 
Chandler by his second wife, named as follows: Sarah married Jesse Mc- 
Pheeter and went to Illinois, where she died at the age of forty, leaving two 
children; Elza died near Hannibal, Missouri, having left here when a young 
man; John Scady, of this review. The mother of these children died in 
April, 1873. Scady Chandler was a man of good foresight and made early 
entries of lands and John S. Chandler holds as relics five old sheepskin 
patents, three issuetl by President ^lonroe and two by Andrew Jackson. 
Scady Chandler was a popular and well-known and highly respected farmer 
and his integrity and honor were above reproach. 

John Scady Chandler spent his boyhood on the farm, operating the 
same with his brother until he was of age, remaining with his mother until her 
death in 1S73. On December J3, 1875. ^^ married .Ann Eliza Phillips, 
daughter of John D. and Hester A. (Smith) Phillips, the latter born near 
^It. Sterling. Kentucky, and about the close of the \var came to Fillmore. 
Putnam county, and made that her home for several years. Her father was 
a shoemaker and later a farmer at Putnamville. He came to Clinton town- 
ship about 1S77 and here lived until his death, .\pril 2j. 1SS5. His widow- 
went to Evansville, Indiana, where she still resides. 

Remaining on the farm until about 1893, John S. Chandler went to 
Evansville for seven years, where he was interested in the lumber business 
in which he had been more or less interested while on the farm. He returned 
to the farm about 1900 and devoted his after work to this line of endeavor 
with varied success, on ninety-eight acres, a part of which his father had 
entered from the government, he buying out his mother's dowry, making 
one hundred and sixty-six acres, but he has sold all but ninety-eight acres. 
He carries on general farming. He has a fine sugar grove and takes a great 
deal of pains with it. He is a member of the advisory board of his town- 
ship and refuses to be trustee, although often solicited by his friends; how- 
ever, he takes a deep interest in local matters and always does what he can 
(-'4' 



2,70 



WEIK S HISTORY OF 



for the general good of his community. He is an uncompromising Democrat 
and uses his influence wliere it will do the most good. 

One child, a daughter, has been born to Mr. and Mrs. Chandler: Myrtle 
E., bom November 22, 1876, wife of Lewis H. Carton, of Creencastle. a lum- 
ber salesman ; no children have been bom to them. 

Mr. and Mrs. Chandler are members of Union Chapel Methodist church; 
he has filled mo.st of the church offices and is a good contributor to the sup- 
port of the church. Fraternally Mr. Chandler is a member of the Masonic 
order, and he and his wife and daughter belong to the Eastern Star, Morton 
Chapter. He has long been active in lodge work. 

Mr. Chandler has a neat and comfortable home which is often the 
o-athering place for the many friends of the family, and the immediate sur- 
roundings of the place are most pleasant. Nearby is one of the finest springs 
in the county, of pure, sparkling water which runs down a beautiful vale 
throuo-h other famis. furnishing water for stock, and in many respects this 
place is a verv valuable and desirable one. Air. Chandler underwent the 
deprivations and hardships of pioneer life and helped lay the foundation for 
good g(nernment and morals in this locality. 



HUGH H. PARKER. 



Among the long established and highly respected families of Putnam 
countv, Indiana, none have occupied a higher place in public esteem than the 
Parker familv, numerous representatives of which reside here and who for 
manv years have taken a prominent and active part in the advancement of 
the various business interests of the county. 

The emigrant ancestor of the Parker family was John Parker, who was 
born and reared in England, but who. because he accidentally injured the 
wife of a nobleman, was banished from his native land. His coming to 
America was sometime prior to the war of the Revolution and relics of this 
ancestor are now in the hands of his great-grandson, Benjamin A. Parker, 
of this township, .\mong the children of this John Parker was a son, Wil- 
liam, who was born in South Carolina about 1790. On reaching mature years, 
the latter married Candace Austin, and to them was born a son, William Hen- 
lev Parker. On November 27, 1827, William and Candace Austin arrived in 
Putnam countv. Indiana, and located on section 17, Mill Creek township, of 
which thev were the third settlers, their pioneer home being located in the 



PLTNAM COCNTV. INDIANA. 3"! 

heart of the forest. Here William Parker entered eighty acres of land, and 
this tract of land has remained in the family ever since, being now the property 
of his grandson. Benjamin A. Parker. The log cabin which they built there 
served as their home for many years and remained standing as late as 1906. 

William Henley Parker was reared on the parental homestead in Mill 
Creek township and lived practically all his life there. He devoted himself 
to farming pursuits and was rewarded with a fair measure of success. About 
1847 1''^ 3"<1 his cousin. Joel Wright, started a general store on the farm, 
W'hich they conducted until about 1867. At the time of the inception of this 
enterprise there was no other store between Stilesville, Greencastle and 
Cloverdale, thus they drew trade from a wide territory. Mr. Parker also 
engaged to some extent in the shipping of hvestock, which had to be driven 
to Indianapolis, as many as four hundred hogs being shipped this way in one 
year. He was active in politics, being affiliated with the Democratic party, 
and served as the first trustee of Mill Creek township. He was the leader of 
his party in the township and exerted a wide influence. His death occurred 
in 1875, '"I's ^v^t'^ having died the previous year. They were active members 
of the Primitive Baptist church and commanded the respect of all who knew 
them. 

William Henley Parker married Bethena P. Dobbs, the daughter of Joel 
Dobbs. She was of German descent and came to Putnam county in 1S25, 
\\ith her parents, who were among the early settlers in this section, their 
farm adjoining on the west to that owned by Mr. Parker. To this worthy 
couple were born the following children: Martin. Candace. Sarah, Benja- 
min A., Martha W., Mary. Joel D., Matilda, Hugh H. and Lucy Ann. Brief 
mention is made of. these children as follows: Martin died at Eminence, 
leaxing two sons; Candace is the widow of James S. Parish and 
lived at Freeman. Missouri, where he died; Sarah is the wife of David W. 
Sherrill and lives south of Stilesville, Hendricks county, this state: Benjamin 
A. is referred to in a later paragraph ; Martha W. is the widow of Solomon 
Dorsett. deceased, of Eminence; Mary, who was the wife of Richard Stringer 
and lived in Morgan, county, south of Stilesville, died in 1906; Joel D., who 
lives in Shattuck, Oklahoma, is a widower and the father of seven children ; 
Matilda is the wife of Marion M. Hurst and they live north of Belle Union; 
Hugh H. is the immediate subject of this sketch; Lucy Ann. of Eminence, is 
the widow of Thomas Surber, deceased. 

Benjamin A. Parker, the fourth in the order of birth of the children of 
William Henley and Bethena Parker, was born on the old homestead June 



372 WEIK S HISTORY OF 

30, 183S. In i860 he married Hannah Pruitt, of ^^lorgan county, who died in 
1861, leaving a daughter, ^Nlary Esther, who died in the summer of 1892. 
In 1863 Mr. Parker married Rachael Brown, of Owen county, Indiana, the 
daughter of Rev. John and Lydia (Smith) Brown, the former being a native 
of Scotland and a minister of the Campbellite church. To Benjamin and 
Rachael Parker were born the following children : Hannah A., Willis R., 
John W., Daniel, Clara. Xoah, Charles, Rena and Ona. 

After his first marriage Mr. Parker moved to a farm near Broad Park, 
where he resided up to 1874, when he moved to Alaska, Owen county, where 
he li\-ed two years. In February, 1876, he located where he now resides, in 
Mill Creek township. Mrs. Rachael Parker died on February 28, 1897. Of 
their children, the following facts are noted : Hannah A. is the wife of 
Charles M. Dorsett, of Mill Creek township, and they have eight children, 
Thomas, Flora, Paul, George, Willis, Viola, Eddie and Evaline; Willis R., 
who married Martha Lewis, died in September, 1906; John W., who lives in 
Hendricks countv, married Victoria Arnold, and they have four children, 
Clona, Clyde, Emory and Emma, the two last named being twins; Daniel, 
of Alill Creek township, married Efifie Lewis, and to them have been born 
three children, Lester Verlin. Lloyd and Nola Marie, the last named dying 
in infancv; Clara first married John Grimes, by which union was born one 
child, Sarah Melissa, and she afterwards married Wilfred Ogles, of Morgan 
countv, and thev have a daughter. Myrtle: Noah, of ^lartinsville. Indiana, 
married Viola Humphries; Charles, who resides near his father, married 
Lottie Keller and thev have a daughter. Garnet Myrtle: Rena married John 
George and lives near her father in Mill Creek township ; Ona lives at home 
with her father. 

Hugh H. Parker, whose name appears at the head of this sketch, was 
born in INIill Creek township, Putnam county. August 2S. 1852. the son of 
William Henley and Bethena Parker. He received his education in the 
common schools of the neighborhood and has ahvays pursued the vocation 
of farming, in which he has met with a gratifying measure of success. He 
owns five hundred and seventy acres of land in section 8, the land extending 
into Morgan county, and he also owns land in Jefferson township. He is a 
practical and systematic worker, keeps in close touch with every detail of his 
business and is numbered among the successful men of this part of the 
countv. His splendid estate is highly improved and the residence property is 
comfortable and attractive, the general appearance of the entire place indicat- 
ing the owner to be a man of good taste and excellent judgment. 



PrTXAM COI-XTV. IXDIAXA. 



ci7Z 



On February 2^. 1S75. Hugh H. Parker married Soriida Wood, a daugh- 
ter of Elisha.and Rhoda (Broadstreet) Wood. Elisha Wood was born" in 
Washington county, Indiana, on Februar>' 3. 1S22, the son of Daniel and 
Margaret Wood, the former a native of Indiana and the latter of Pennsyl- 
vania. The paternal grandfather was a soUHer in the war of the Revolu- 
tion, seri-ing vahantly for seven years. He was among the first settlers of 
Wasiiington county, Indiana, and died there at the age of eightv-four years. 
\Vhen Elisha Wood was fourteen years old his father died and in 1840 he 
and others of the family came to what is now Mill Creek township, Putnam 
county. On June i. 1S40, he married Rhoda Broadstreet. the daughter of 
Thomas Broadstreet. a pioneer settler of Putnam county, and of their seven 
children Mrs. Hugh Parker was the youngest. :Mrs. Rhoda Wood died April 
20, 1857, and on September 8th of the same year Mr. Wood married Phoebe 
C. Phillips, to which union seven children were born. Mr. Wood located on 
a farm in section 6. Mill Creek township, in 1S45. ^t which time it was prac- 
tically covered with a heavy growth of timber. Commencing life for 
himself with a cash capital of only ten dollars, he eventuallv became the 
owner of two hundred and eighty acresof good land, the result of hard work 
and economy. He was a faithful and active member of the Missionarv Bap- 
tist church, of which he was a trustee. His death occurred on March 14, 
1906. and his widow died in June. 1909. Six children were born to Air. and 
]\Irs. Hugh H. Parker, namely : Elmer, who died at the age of nine months ; 
Victor}', who died on February 15, 1894. at the age of seventeen years; 
Bessie died at the age of four years ; Bertha D. married Ancil Dorsett, who 
died in 1904, and they had one daughter, Gladys, who, with her mother, are 
now living with the subject, Hugh H. Parker; Grover Cleveland, who li\-es 
a half mile east of Broad Park, married Dolly Cof^man, the daughter of An- 
drew Coffman, of Cloverdale township, and they had one son, Gerald Ray 
Parker, who died at the age of seventeen months : A'ernie Clyde, the youngest 
son, who lives at home with his parents, attended the Normal School at Dan- 
ville, but is now a student in the high school at Broad Park. 

Politically Air. Parker is aligned with the Democratic party and has taken 
an active interest in local public affairs, having served as trustee of Mill 
Creek township for seven years. Religiously he and his wife are members 
of the Missionarv- Baptist church, to which they give an earnest and liberal 
support. Air. Parker is a man of large physique, is genial and whole-souled 
in his relations with his fellow men and in every relation- of life he displays 
a candidness and honesty of purpose that has gained for him the esteem of 
all whom he has come in contact with. 



374 WEIK S HISTORY OF 



JAMES H. SPARKS. 

Prominent among the worthy representatives of the pioneer element in 
the county of Putnam is the well-known gentleman to a review of whose 
life the attention of the reader is now invited. For many years James Sparks 
has been a forceful factor in the prosperity of Cloverdale township, and now, 
at the advanced age of nearly eighty-five years, he is enjoying that rest which 
his long life of earnest toil so richly entitles him to. 

James H. Sparks was born in Lewis county, Kentucky, on the 8th day 
of February, 1826, and is a son of James and Elizabeth (Gilman) Sparks. 
The maternal great-grandfather, Henry Gilman, was a soldier in the war of 
the Revolution, serving under General Wayne. When the subject was about 
twelve vears of age the family removed to Putnam county, Indiana, locat- 
ing near Mount Meridian, the father buying a tract of land about a half mile 
east of that place. Two years later they moved to the southern part of 
Jefferson township, where another farm was purchased. James H. remained 
with his parents until he was about eighteen years old, when he went to 
Greencastle and apprenticed himself to leam the trade of blacksmith. About 
twenty years after coming to Putnam county the other members of the 
family removed to Clayton county. Iowa, where they made their subse- 
quent home. Mr. Sparks was employed at the smithy's forge in Greencastle 
for about five vears, becoming a proficient workman, and at the end of that 
period he came to Cloverdale and opened a shop of his own. which he con- 
tinued to operate about fifteen years. He then gave up blacksmithing and 
took up agriculture as a vocation, locating on his present farm in the east- 
ern part of Cloverdale township. He gave intelligent direction to his efforts 
and in due time developed his farm to a fine estate. He has always been a hard 
worker and has been practical in his methods, so that his eiforts have been 
rewarded with a due meed of success. The place is well improved, contain- 
ing a comfortable residence, commodious and substantial barns and out- 
buildings, while the general condition of the place indicates the owner to be 
a man of sound judgment and good taste. 

On Februarv 27, 185 1, Mr. Sparks married Emily Jane Coffman, a na- 
tive of Fountain county, Indiana, and the daughter of John and [Mary 
(Williams) Coffman. These parents were natives of Kentucky and came to 
Fountain county, Indiana, in an early day. In 1832. when slie was about 
six weeks old, the family located in Cloverdale township. Putnam county, 
where she grew to womanhood. John Cofifman \vas a soldier in the war of 
18 12. under Gen. William Henrv Harrison, and was in the noted battle at 



PL "TNAM COLNTV. INDIANA. 3/5 

Murgantc)\\ n. on the river Thames, where the Indian chief Tecuniseh was 
killed. To Mr. and Mrs. Sparks were born si.x children, of whom but two 
are now living, two having died in infancy. The four who grew to maturity 
were James, Mary Ann, Eliza Jane and Xiles H. James lives with his fa- 
ther on the home farm. Mary Ann. who died April 22, 1882. was the wife 
of Peter Shopl. of Eminence, ^lorgan county, Indiana, anil she left two daugh- 
ters, Emma and Lucy Jane. Eliza Jane, who died on February 25, 1S88, 
was the wife of Isaac X. Carpenter, of Cloverdale township, and she left 
a son. J. H. Carpenter, whose death occurred on April 19, 1908. Xiles mar- 
ried Elizabeth Hood and lives a short distance northeast of Cloverdale. To 
him and his wife have been born ten children, of which number four are living. 
Three of the children died in infancy, the others being briefly mentioned as 
follows : John William is married and is living at Mansfield. Charles P. 
li\es in Cloverdale township, this county. Allen died Xo\ember 18, 1901, 
Lee on the 29th of the same month, and Herschel on the 25th of October of 
the same year, the three deaths being due to typhoid fever. Of those living, 
Arizona and Elmer remain at home with their parents. Mrs. Emily Sparks 
dietl on the jth of Feljruary. 1902. at the age of si.\ty-nine years. 

Religiouslv. ^[r. Sparks is a consistent meml;er of the Christian church 
at Cloverdale, to which his wife also belonged up to the time of her death. 
Fraternally, Mr. Sparks became a member of Temple Lodge, Xo. 47. Free 
and Accepted Masons, many years ago and is now probably the oldest Mason 
residing in Putnam county. He was a charter member of Cloverdale Lodge, 
X'o. 132, Free and Accepted Masons, to which lodge his son James also be- 
longs. 'SU. Sparks is a member of Gen. Frank White Post. Grand Army of 
the Repul-ilic. at Cloverdale. this affiliation being consistent from the fact that 
during the Civil war Mr. Sparks enlisted in Company I. Forty-third Indiana 
Volunteer Infantry, and gave effective service to his country in her hour of 
need. He is one of the Ijest known men in Cloverdale township and en- 
joys the unbounded confidence of all who know him. He has always given 
his support to every moxement having for its object the advancement of the 
best interests of the community and has been influential for good. 



LEWIS XE\\"GEXT. 



Lewis X'ewgent was born January 2%. 1861, on the farm where he now 
lives. His father was John S. Xewgent. and mother Lucinda (Lewis) Xew- 



376 weik's history of 

gent. The father was a native of Putnam county, born August 25, 1830, 
and the mother was born in Shelbyville. Kentucky', and came to Putnam 
county with her parents when seven years old. The father farmed all his 
life and was county commissioner two terms. He was a Democrat. He 
died ]\Iarch 14, 1894. He belonged to the Methodist church. He owned 
two farms of one hundred and sixty and eighty acres when he died. His 
widow still survi\-es, and lives with Lewis Newgent of this sketch. She is 
in her eightieth vear. These parents have seven children, namely: William 
T., of Parke county, Indiana; Nancy, wife of Thomas Heady, of Madison 
township; Sarah Elizabeth, deceased; Edward, on the old homestead; Lewis, 
the subject of this sketch; Millie, wife of Walter Sigler, of Clinton town- 
ship; Tohn. deceased, who married Mar\' Martin, and left two children, Merl 
and Earl. 

Lewis Newgent was reared on the farm where he has lived all his life. 
He received a common school education. He is a member of the Methodist 
Episcopal church at Bethel, is a Democrat in politics and active in party 
affairs, having been committeeman of his precinct. 



JONATHAN HANSELL. 

From an old industrious family that has enjoyed a most excellent repu- 
tation wherever its members have lived comes Jonathan Hansell, one of the 
best farmers of his township and a man who is deserving of the success 
he has achieved because he has worked for it along right lines and pre- 
ferred to "eat bread by the sweat of his brow" rather than try to win fortune 
bv unscrupulous or questionable methods. He was born in Floyd township, 
Putnam countv, December 3, 1859, the son of George Hansell, who was born 
in Frederick countv, Virginia, April 29, 1813, and he came to Putnam county, 
Indiana, in 1839. He was the son of John and Hannah (Adams) Hansell. 
On September 15, 1836, George Hansell married Mary A., daughter of 
Elijah C. and Elizabeth Wilkinson, born February 18, 1817, in Highland 
countv, Ohio, and this union resulted in the birth of thirteen children, eight 
of whom are living at this writing, named as follows: Juretta is deceased; 
John \\'., who was a soldier in the L^nion army, a member of the Twenty- 
seventh Regiment, Indiana Volunteer Infantry, was killed at the battle of 
-\ntietani : David is living at Lena. Indiana: Elijah C. is living in Pulaski 



PLTNAM COUNTY, INDIANA. 2>17 

county, tliis state: Rachae! Maria lives in Greencastle ; Hannah I.. li\es in 
Kansas: Elizabeth .\nn is deceased: Mary Ellen, of Iowa: George \\'. is 
deceased: Rebecca is living in this county; Jonathan, of this review: Jehu 
is a contractor in .\rkansas -City. Kansas, the two latter being twins. Mrs. 
Hansell died March 17. 1901. 

George Hansell is a Republican but he is not interested in political 
offices. He is a strong Methodist and a devout Christian. He died at the age 
of sevent}' }'ears and four months, at the old homestead, on September 11, 
1883, on the land he purchased when he first came to this state from Hills- 
bury, Ohio, of which state his wife was a native. He has devoted his en- 
tire life to farming and has been very well repaid for his long years of hard 
toil. 

Jonathan Hansell received a very good education in the public schools. 
He grew up on the home farm in this township and has devoted his attention 
to farming. AA'hen he was thirty years old he bought thirty acres of land, 
and being a hard worker he has been able to add to his original purchase 
until he now owns an excellent farm of one hundred and twenty acres which 
is well improved and well tilled. He has erected here a modern, commodious 
and desirably located dwelling which was built in 1899. Xo farm in section 
21 is better adapted for the carrying on of general farming and stock rais- 
ing, at which he is equally successful. 

Mr. Hansell was first married on August 3, 1887. to Ollie .A. Wright, 
daughter of Marion and .Amanda (Chatham) Wright, of old pioneer stock. 
Two children were born to this union; Gracie. born May 31, 1888. married 
Earl Smith, who is a mail carrier at Greencastle; Blanche B. was born ]\Iay 
23. 1892. and is living at home, attending high school in Floyd township. 
The mother of these children passed away on October 2^. 1S99, and on March 
20, 1902, Mr. Hansell married Clora A. Wise, daughter of Isaac and Regina 
( Xewman ) \\'ise. of Hendricks county. Four children have been born 
to them: Jonathan ]\Iaynard. born .April i, 1903: Ila A., born September 29, 
1004: Lema B., born .August 4. 1906: Isaac Ward, born June 14, 1908. 

Mr. Hansell is a handv man with tools and is something of a builder, 
having planned his own home and barn and worked on the local church. 
He is a skilled stone mason. He has never aspired to any of the county 
offices, and he is in favor of prohibition. He is a member of the Knights of 
Pythias Lodge Xo. i'},. at Bainbridgc. having been a Knight for the past 
fifteen years, anrl he has held all the offices in the local organization, being 
one of the best known members of this order in the county. 



378 weik's history of 



JAMES A. RIGHTSELL. 

This representative farmer and business man is a native of Putnam 
county, Indiana, and was born in \\'ashington township, March 20. 1S63, 
having first seen the hght of day on the old Rightsell homestead, which his 
grandfather purchased from the government. His father, John Rightsell, 
after living for some years on the old place, bought land in Cloverdale town- 
ship and about 1S71 purchased the farm on Walnut Bottoms now owned by 
his son Frank. By subsequent purchases from time to time he added to his 
holdings until he finally became the owner of more than five hundred acres, 
about one hundred and si.xty consisting of bottom land, the rest lying among 
the hills, all being fertile and, under his control, highly cultivated. Mr. 
Rightsell started in life with nothing, but by industry and good management 
and strict economy, succeeded in amassing quite a fortune and at the time of 
his death was one of the wealthiest men in the southern part of Putnam 
countv. He was a splendid example of the successful self-made man, stood 
high as a citizen and was public spirited in all the term implies. He was 
born September 22. 1836, married, in the year of 1857, Mary Neese, and de- 
parted this life in the month of November, 1903. Mrs. Rightsell, whose 
birth occurred in July, 1834, was a daughter of John and Mary Xeese, early 
settlers of the southeastern part of Washington township, her death tak- 
ing place on March 20, 1905. 

The early experience of James A. Rightsell was similar in most respects 
to that of the majority of country lads, his childhood and youth having 
been spent in close touch with nature and the district schools affording him 
the means of a fair educational training. He remained at home until at- 
taining his majority, when he sought his fortune in the west, going first to 
Kansas, where he remained two years, \'ariously employed, and at the ex- 
piration of that time proceeded further westwarfl until reaching Colorado and 
Wyoming. During the nineteen years he spent in the west he followefl differ- 
ent pursuits, farming in Kansas and contracting to supply timber and lumber 
to the Cripple Creek mines in Colorado, near which he also took up a pre- 
emption claim. Later he engaged as motorman with the Denver electric 
street car line, in which capacity he continued for five years, and shortly 
after resigning his position returned to Putnam county and engaged in ag- 
riculture, which he has since followed. 

Mr. Rightsell moved to his present fann in Washington township in 
Januarv, 1903. and at the settlement of his father's estate came into poshes- 



PCTNAM COL"XTV, IXDIAXA. 379 

sion of se\ent\- acres on wliich lie has since lived. He lias made a number of 
valuable improvements on his place, including a fine modern barn, thirty-six 
by forty-four feet in area, with a large shed sixteen by thirty-six feet, the 
structure being complete in all of its parts and admirably adapted to the 
purposes for which intended. He has brought this land to a high state of 
cultivation and in connection with tilling the soil devotes considerable atten- 
tion to livestock, his cattle, horses and hogs being of superior breeds and 
among the best in this part of the county. }vlr. Rightsell's home stands on 
an eminence about one hundred feet above the valley and commands an ex- 
tensive view of the surrounding countn.-. The home, Avhich was erected in 
1S84. is a large and commodious edifice and with improvements since added 
is now one of the best residences in the neighborhood, being furnished with 
modern conveniences and meeting all the reciuirements of an attracti\-e anrl 
desirable rural residence. 

ilr. Rightsell married at Colorado Springs, Colorado, Xo\-ember i, 
1887, Hontas Xicholson. daughter of Benjamin and Elizabeth Xicholson, 
she being inn a visit to a sister at that place when the ceremony took place, 
^ilrs. Rightsell was born at Fillmore. Putnam crmnty. Indiana, and died 
]\rarch 15, 1897. ''t Denver. Col(jrado. leaving two children. Raymond M. 
and Ruth, both making their home with their uncle. Frank Rightsell, and 
attending the Washington township high school. Mr. Rightsell is largelv 
interested in the Reelsville Telephone Company, one of the leading enter- 
prises of the kind in centra! Indiana, and is now serving as its president. 
This c'lmpany has grown steadily in the favor of the public until it has 
quite an extensive patronage, the service including one hundred and sixtv 
telephones throughout the county, with exchanges at Greencastle anil Po- 
land, the rate of fifteen cents a month paying all the expenses of the con- 
cern. While interested in all that makes for the good of his communitv and 
the welfare of his fellow men. Mr. Rightsell takes little part in public atTairs 
further than \-oting his principles antl gi\ing his su])i)ort to the best (pialified 
candidates. He has never been a politician, much less an office seeker, 
but has ever stood for law, order and good government, being readv at all 
times to labor for these ends and to make any reasonable sacrifice fi3r what 
he considers the l)est interests of the body politic. While in the West he 
spent much of his leisure among the mountains where he found rare sport 
as a huntsman, and since returning home, the rifle, in the use of which he 
is quite an expert, aiifords him his chief means of amusement and recreation. 
Personally Mr. Rightsell is quite popular and has many warm friends 



3^0 weik's history of 

throughout the county. Moral, upright and a fine type of the courteous 
American gentleman, he is a credit to the race from which he sprang, and 
of the community in which he was born and reared. 



OLIVER NELSON HOUCK. 

This is an age in which the farmer stands pre-eminently above any other 
class as a producer of wealth. He simply takes advantage of the winds, 
the warm air, the bright sunshine and the refreshing rains, and applying his 
own hands and skill to nature's gifts he creates grain, hay, live stock, etc., 
all of which are absolute necessities to the inhabitants of the world. Among 
the up-to-date farmers of Putnam county is Oliver Nelson Houck, a member 
of a well known family here, the son of David Houck, whose life record, 
also those of the subject's brothers, Jonathan and James E., appear else- 
where in this work. 

Air. Houck was born in IVIadison township, Putnam county, September 
5, 1858, just three years younger than his brother Edgar. The day he was 
nine years of age he came to the present farm. He received a fairly good 
education in the local schools and early in life directed his attention to 
farming, having been in partnership with his brother Jonathan for five or 
six years. Edgar was also associated with them in general farming and 
stock raising. In 1892 Oliver N. came back to the old farm, of which he 
owns fifty-one acres. He also owns a very valuable tract of land on the 
west side of the creek, consisting of two hundred and ten acres, adjoining 
the farm of his brother Jonathan, on the old Gilmore farm. All this land 
has been well improved and is mostly under a high state of cultivation, Mr. 
Houck being regarded as one of the leading agriculturists of this part of 
the country. He has a commodious and attractively located dwelling, erected 
by himself, facing north and overlooking the valley of Walnut creek. He 
erected his large, substantial barn himself. For ten years he lived on about 
sixty acres of the old place, about one miles west of his present home. In 
1903 he left there and came to his present place, erecting a dwelling in 
1906. He had lived for three years in the old log house that John Gilmore 
built, Mr. Gilmore using the upstairs rooms where he conducted a sort of 
high school which was popular in those days, pupils coming from Illinois. 

Mr. Houck carries on the various phases of his work with hired help, 
devoting- a great deal of attention to stock raising, feeding all the grain 



PUTNAM COUNTY, INDIANA. 38 1 

the place produces, often feeding a car load of cattle and about two hundred 
head of hogs at a time — in fact he has continued this annually for some time, 
confining his attention to the farm exclusively, and he has been very suc- 
cessful. 

Mr. Houck was married March ii, 1880, to Gertrude Elliott, daughter 
of Harrison and Elizabeth (Young) Elliott, a well known family, the old 
Elliott homestead being about three miles from Manhattan. ]Mrs. Houck's 
parents having settletl there about 1S54. having come from Wayne county, 
this state, where they were born, reared and were m.arried. They lived 
there until Mr. Elliott died in 1888, at the age of seventy-one years. He 
was at one time county commissioner and proved to be a strong member 
of the board, he and Messrs. Gardner and Ballard being instrumental in 
building many bridges and county buildings, bridging Walnut creek in 
many places, also Mill creek. Of the eight children born to Mr. and Mrs. 
Elliott, only two are now living in Putnam county, Mrs. O. N. Houck and 
Dan Elliott, of Greencastle. 

One son has been born to Mr. and Mrs. Houck. bearing the name of 
Earl, now twenty-four years of age. He is engaged in the undertaking busi- 
ness in Terre Haute. He married Drucilla Ringo, of Clay county, Indiana, 
and they are the parents of one child, Walter Nelson. 

Oliver N. Houck has long been active in political circles : however, 
he has never sought political offices, being too busy with his individual 
affairs, but he is deeply interested in the county's best interests and ahvays 
ready to lend a helping hand in furthering any movement looking to the 
general good. 



ALFRED E. FLINT. 



Alfred E. Flint is a native son of the old Hoosier state, having been born 
near Versailles, Ripley county, January 4, 1866, and he is the son of Alfred 
and Marv A. (Anderson) Flint. Alfred Flint, who was born in Cincin- 
nati. Ohio, was a son of William Flint, who. with his wife, came to the 
L'nited States from London, England. He was the son of a wealthy physi- 
cian, and received a finished college education, but the father died and when 
William attained his majority he found himself in straitened circum- 
stances financially. Nothing daunted, he learned the carpenter's trade and 
started out to carve his own fortune. Coming to America, he and his wife 
located in Cincinnati, and he became a dealer in large tracts of land in 



^82 weik's history of 

southern Indiana. Among his deals, was the sale of a square mile of land in 
Ohio county, Indiana, to Hugh Anderson and another man, who built there 
a grist mill, carding mill and saw mill. Mr. Flint then bought tracts of land 
in the northern part of Ripley county, which he later sold and then bought 
more land in the southern part of that county. Alary A. Flint, the subject's 
mother, was a daughter of Hugh and Ann Anderson, the former of whom 
was born, reared and educated in Scotland, while his wife was born in Ire- 
land in very humble circumstances. Both emigrated to the United States, 
met for the first time at Cincinnati and were there married. It was on the 
Ripley county farm of Mr. Flint's that Morgan's raiders camped one night 
durino' the Civil war, and it was also in that neighborhood that Morgan's 
men captured a number of men who were being sworn in to fight him. 

Alfred E. Flint was reared under the paternal roof in Ripley county 
until he was about eighteen years old, at which age he began teaching school. 
His ambition at this time was to secure a thorough education and he took 
up teaching in order to help defray his college expenses. After teaching two 
years he became a student in the State University at Bloomington, where he 
remained nearly three years. Returning then to Ripley county, he again en- 
gaged in teaching, completing six years in that profession in that county. 

In 1890 Air. Flint bought a livery stable at Cloverdale in partnership 
with J. S. Hamilton. In June of the following year he also went to farming 
in Cloverdale township, which he found so satisfactory that in the fall of 
the same year he sold his interest in the livery business. A year later he 
again became a pedagogue and was so employed during the winters of the 
following six years, continuing his farming operations at the same time. 
In the latter enterprise Mr. Flint has been practical and systematic and he 
has met with a very gratifying degree of success. For alx)ut four years 
and until very recently Air. Flint was also interested in the furniture and 
undertaking business at Cloverdale. He has maintained his residence in 
Cloverdale during the past twelve years and is numbered among the best 
citizens of the town. He is actively interested in all that tends to advance 
the best interests of the community and exerts a definite and salutary influence 
in the town and township. 

On the 14th day of January, 1891, Mr. Flint was united in marriage with 
Luella Sandy, the daughter of Aaron H. and Amanda (Allee) Sandy, and 
they have become the parents of three children, namely: Sidelia S., a college 
student at Terre Haute; Dolly F. and Sandy A., who are still members of the 
home circle and attending school in Cloverdale. 



PUTNAM COUXTV. INDIANA. 383 

Politically Mr. Flint is a Republican and takes an active part in local 
public affairs, though he is not a seeker after the honors or emoluments of 
public office. Fraternally he is a member of the Free and Accepted Masons, 
the Knights of Pythias, the Independent Order of Odd Fellows and the 
Modern \\'oodmen of America. Religiously he and his wife are members 
of the Christian church, to which they give an earnest and liberal support. 
]Mr. Flint is regarded as a man whose integrity of principle is unquestioned 
and he is a man of friendly disposition, consequently is popular in business, 
fraternal and social classes. 



DAVID MOSER. 



.\mong the sturd_\' pioneers of Putnam county \\'as David Moser, the 
son of ^Michael and Rebecca (Stevens) IMoser. He was born in Jefiferson 
township, this county, August 14, 1S26. He grew up in the rude log cabin 
that his father built as early as 1824, when the county was very sparsely 
settled: He received some schooling at Cloxerdale, walking three miles 
night and morning. Early in his boyhood he knew what hard work meant. 
On November 15, 1866, he married Sarah Ann Bryan, daughter of William 
J. and Dulcena (Myers) Bryan. She was born in [Montgomery county. Ken- 
tucky; her father, born August 18, 1796, was the son of Andrew and Mai-\^ 
(Jack) Br}-an. The Bryans first came from Ireland and, penetrating into 
the interior, located first in Bourbon county, Kentucky, later moved to Mont- 
gomer}- county, that state. Dulcena Myers was born December 13, 1819, 
and was the daughter of Henry and Rebecca Myers. Her parents came from 
Kentucky and settled near Bainbridge, Putnam county. Dulcena Myers 
spent her early childhood in Bourbon and Montgomery counties. Kentucky, 
and was brought to the northern part of Putnam county when she was a 
little girl, her parents being among the earliest settlers there : they died a 
few years later and she went back to Kentucky where she grew to maturity 
and was married. 

To William J. Brv-an and wife six children were born, namely: Sarah 
Ann. Mary .Mien. Margaret Jane, ^^'illiam Andrew. Maria Amanda and 
Rebecca Elizabeth. 

In 1846 the Bryan family came to Putnam county and located in the 
southwest corner of JefTerson township. A year later he bought a farm five 
miles south of Greencastle on the National road where Westland is now lo- 
cated, his farm consisting of two hundred and seventy acres. Mr. Bryan 



384 weik's history of 

later bought more laiul and lived there until his death, June 17, 1875, his 
widow surviving until April 10, 1902, dying at the age of eighty-two years, 
Of the children of William J. Bryan and wife only three survive, Sarah A., 
Mary Allen and Margaret Jane. The first named married David Moser, 
November 15, 1866, and this union resulted in the birth of seven children; the 
eldest. Louis Albert, died when one year and eight months old; Dr. William 
Andrew; Verna May died September 18, 1907; Laura Ellen married Otto 
McCoy and lives on the Bloomington road, two miles north of Cloverdale ; 
she is the mother of two children, Hazel Marie and Elbert Moser ; Ida 
Dulcena married L. F. Cradick and li\es two and one-half miles north of 
Cloverdale on the Bloomington road ; she is the mother of three children, 
Zella Fayne. Leo Moser and Gilbert ; Myrtle Florence married Jessie Cline, 
of Cloverdale, and they are the parents of four children, Dorothy Drew, 
Clifford Moser, Emory Lee and Claudie Aladge ; Emory L. married Minnie 
Cline and li\-es at Lawes, California, and they have three children, Glenn 
Closer. Geraldine and James Meredith. 

Mr. and Mrs. Moser lived on his father's place for eleven months after 
their marriage, then bought a farm of lifty-eight acres in section 21, Jef- 
ferson township, and lived there three years, then bought a farm west of 
the home place. His father died in March, 1872, then David Moser and 
family moved back to his father's place which has been the familv home 
ever since. 

Mr. and Mrs. David IMoser while yet young in years became members 
of the Christian church to which they were always loyal, Mr. Moser having 
taken considerable interest in the affairs of the church and was alwavs a 
regular attendant upon its services. The death of this good man occurred 
ALircli 24. 1883. Mrs. Closer still makes her home on the old farm, but 
spends her winters in Belle L^nion with her sister. ALary Ellen Bryan. 



EDWARD NEWGENT. ; 

It would be presumptuous for the biographer to introduce to the readers 
of this book Edward Newgent. who is well known throughout the countv 
and regarded by everyone knowing him as one of Clinton township's leading 
citizens. He was born here, in the house which still shelters him, April 26, 
1843. and, with the exception of a decade, from 1868 to 1878, has spent his 
life in the same dwelling, which was built in 1830. He is the son of Edward 




EDWARD NEWGENT 



PUTNAM COUXTY. IXDIAXA. 3S5 

and Elizabetli (Pugh) Newgent, the former born in Shelby county, Ken- 
tucky, January 8, 1801. and the latter in the same vicinity, November 17, 
1800. Thomas Xewgent, father of the former, was a Virginian, who mo\'ed 
to Kentucky, thence to Indiana, where he died ninety-four }ears ago. He 
was a soldier in the war of 1812. A twin brother, John, also came to the 
Hoosier state, later, and settled also in Clinton township, Putnam county, 
where he remained until his death; his sons. Thomas and Richard, still live 
here, also two daughters, Martha Ann Newgent and Eliza, wife of Joseph 
Jewett. It is thought that Edward Newgent came to this locality in 1825, 
settling on land which his wife's father owned, the latter having previously 
entered the land. Edward had but seventy-five cents in cash when he arrived 
here, but he owned some tools, and with the assistance of two sons, Charley 
and Richard P.. he erected a cabin near his present home and they began 
keeping house in that, their nearest neighbors being three or four miles away. 
An Indian trail crossed near the cabin, and the woods were so thick that he 
once got lost on his own land within one-eighth mile of his cabin, the Indians 
telling him the way to his own home. Pie set to work clearing his land. 
burning up what would now be very valuable walnut and poplar timber; 
but in time he prospered and owned two Inuulred and forty acres of land. 
He also owned two tracts of one hundred and sixty acres each in another 
part of the township, placing a large acreage in cultivation. He did a great 
deal of hauling w ith a large four-horse team, taking large cjuantities of wheat 
to Lafayette and bringing back goods for the local stores and even hauled 
between Louis\ille. Terre Haute and other remote cities. A trip of four 
days over the swamps to Lafayette was often made where he sold wheat for 
thirty-seven and one-half cents per bushel. The death of this rugged old 
pioneer occurred on June 22. 1853, as a result of erysipelas, resulting from 
vaccination. He had done a great deal of hard work and had succeeded. 
His first eighty acres of land was valued at one hundred dollars, for which 
he gave a horse, worth eighty dollars, and twenty dollars in cash. As inti- 
mated, the present Newgent home was built in 1830; it is of hewn poplar 
logs and was doubtless the best dwelling in the county at the time. It was 
always open for all who passed that way. The first meeting of local Chris- 
tians was held in it until a church house could be built. Mr. Newgent often 
made trips to Kentucky on horseback, bringing back apple and locust trees, 
three of the apple trees still standing. He was active in township aft'airs, 
holding many local offices, as a Democrat. He is buried on the farm in the 
family cemetery. His widow survived to a remarkable age. dying in her 
ninety-third year, in March, 1893. She became head of the family at her 



386 weik's history of 

husband's death and reared the children, taking charge of everything until 
1878. She remained on the old homestead until her death. Their family con- 
sisted of t\\ elve children, eleven of whom reached maturity, namely : Charles, 
who lived in Clinton township, died March 5, 1909, at the age of eighty- 
seven vears : his son Joseph lives on part of the original farm. Richard P. 
graduated in medicine at Louisville, practiced in Iowa, then Putnam county, 
living on his farm near the old home until advanced in years, dying in April, 
1906. Xancy married Zimri Manker, and two children were bom to them; 
she is deceased. Sarah is the widow of Thomas Sigler, of Clinton township. 
John, who secured one hundred and sixty acres of his father's farm, was 
county commissioner for two terms, dying when past seventy years of age. 
Polly is the widow of Ezekiel White, of Parke county, this state. Isaac lives 
in Pulaski county, Indiana. Lewis P. died when thirty-eight years old. Lucy, 
the wife of Joseph Moler, lives on the place adjoining the old home. Edward, 
of this review. Wallace, who now lives in Russellville, has fanned part of 
the old homestead. 

Edward Newgent, of this review, was ten years old when his father 
died. He remained with his mother during her lifetime, but spent ten years 
on another part of the fann. When the division of the home place was 
made in 1878, Edward got the home and forty-nine acres and there he and 
his mother lived until the latter's death; he delighted in caring for her. al- 
though she was helpless for many years. He had added eighty acres which 
ad-joins the home place, having made farming his principal life work; he has 
been somewhat handicapped for years by failing health. He has kept the old 
place well improved and has kept the buildings well repaired. His barn was 
built the year he was born, 1843, of solid hewn timbers. 

Edward Newgent was married on November 29, 1865, to Martha Jane 
Holland, daughter of Thomas and Jane (Gooden) Holland, farmers of Clin- 
ton township, where Mrs. Newgent was born and reared, her birth occurring 
in 1849, she being sixteen years old at her marriage; her death occurred 
March 5, 1903. The following children were born to this union : Helen, 
wife of Charles Maddox. who Hves on part of the old Newgent homestead; 
William \\'arren is a farmer in Clinton township ; Lizzie married John 
Knauer and died, leaving three children; Thomas H., who works part of his 
father's farm, married Millie Cricks; John lives at home with his father 
and assists in operating the home place. 

Mr. Newgent is a Democrat, but has not been an office seeker. He is a 
peace loving, honest man, never brought suit nor had one brought against 
him. and he was never called to serve on a jury except before a justice of 
the peace. 



PUTXAM COUNTY, IXDIAXA. 38/ 



JOXATHAX HOUCK. 

Among the representative farmers of Putnam county is Jonathan Houck, 
who is the owner of a fine landed estate in Washington township, and is 
carrying on the various departments of his enterprise with that discretion 
and energA" which are sure to find their natural sequence in definite suc- 
cess. ha\nng always been a hard worker, a good manager and a man who 
wouki quickly grasp an opportunity when it arose, and being fortunately 
situated in a thriving fanning community, it is no wonder that he stands 
today in the front rank of the agriculturists and stockmen of this favored 
locality. 

As is noted elsewhere in this volume, the Houck family is and for gen- 
erations has been one of the leading and most influential families of Putnam 
county and owing to complete records of David Houck, father of Jonathan, 
also Oliver N. and James E.. brothers of Jonathan, appearing under separate 
captions here, this review will deal exclusively with the immediate subject. 

Jonathan Houck was born in Clinton township, this county, two miles 
south of Clinton Falls. ]May 31. 1S52. and he spent his boyhood days on 
the home farm, remaining there until he was twenty-four years old. asso- 
ciated with his father. He attended the home schools during the winter 
months and got a fairly good education, to which he has added constantly 
by home reading and contact with the world at large. Early in life he- de- 
cided to follow the vocation of husbandman and he and his brothers. Edward 
and Henry, bought a farm of their father, consisting of two hundred acres, 
— the land that joins Jonathan Houck's present farm, — and this trio of 
brothers worked the same very successively for several years ; they also 
farmed some in ^Madison township and dealt in live stock extensively, buying 
and feeding large numbers from time to time. He and his brother Edward 
bought his present farm and continued to work together six or seven years. 
Together thev bought the father's old farm, and divided it. Edward taking 
the old home part at Hamrick Station and Jonathan the present place, the 
old Thomas Gilmore farm, his widow having built the fine house that still 
adorns the place, some fifty years ago ; it stands on a blufif overlooking the 
beautiful vallev of \\'alnut creek and is one of the finest homes in the town- 
ship. Although built a half century ago. it is still substantial and attractive, 
having all modern conveniences which Air. Houck has added, located near 
the interurban line, seven miles southwest of Greencastle. It is not only 
known as one of the most attractive places in the county, but al.so as a place 



388 weik's history of 

of hospitality, Mr. Hoiick and his family being genial and free-hearted en- 
tertainers to friends and wayfarers who by chance pass this way. The farm 
contains two hundred and six acres, one-half of which lies in the bottom. 
It is all under excellent improvements and has been so skillfully cultivated 
that the richness of the soil has in no wise diminished. Here Air. Houck 
carries on general farming in a very successful manner, sometimes handling 
stock in partnership with his brother Edward, dealing in large numbers of 
both cattle and hogs, often as many as three car loads of cattle and three 
hundred hogs at a time; they are widely known as buyers of stock cattle. 
Mr. Houck has in every way improved his farm, by laying some tile, etc., 
to make it rank with the best famis of the county, and it is one of the '"show" 
places of his locality. He has given it his exclusive attention, not caring to 
lead a public life. 

Jonathan Houck married, on January 6, 1876, Alice Landes, daughter 
of Christian and Elizabeth (Hillis) Landes, both now deceased, the family 
home being now owned by Christian Stoner, who was named for his grand- 
father. For further details of this family see sketch of John L. Hillis. 

To Mr. and Mrs. Houck two children have been born, namely: Laura, 
died in May, 1899, at the age of sixteen years; Lloyd, who is assisting his 
father on the home place, was born October 12, 1885. 



HERBERT S. ALLEE. 

Among the intelligent, enterprising and successful agriculturists of Put- 
nam countv, none stands higher in public esteem than Herbert S. Allee. who 
operates a well cultivated and productive farm in Jefiferson township. A 
native of the township in which he lives, he has always enjoyed the confi- 
dence of all who know him and he justly merits representation in this work. 

Mr. Allee was born in Jefiferson township, this county, on August 22, 
1876. and is a son of Francis 'M. and Sarah E. (Sandy) Allee. who receive 
specific mention elsewhere in this work. Mr. Allee was reared under the 
parental roof and secured his education in the public schools, being a grad- 
uate of the high school at Mt. Meridian. He became a practical farmer under 
the intelligent direction of his father and he remained on the home farm until 
1903. when he located on his fine farm of two hundred and forty acres in 
section 21, Jefferson township, where he now resides. On this place he 
erected a commodious, well arranged and attractive residence and the place 



PfTXAM COUNTY, INDIANA. 389 

is othenvise well improved in e\eiy respect, its general appearance indicating 
the owner to be a man of sound judgment and excellent discrimination. He 
is progressive in his methods and keeps in close touch with the most advanced 
ideas relating to the science of husbandr}'. being considered one of the lead- 
ing fanners of the township. 

On January ii. 1897, Mr. Allee was united in marriage with Effie Dor- 
sett, a daughter of Robert and Mary (Hurst) Dorsett. Robert Dorsett was 
a son of Abijah Dorsett and a brother to Henry C. Dorsett, both well known 
in this part of the state. Mar\- Hurst was a daughter of Mahlon and Lucretia 
Hurst, and for detailed reference to the Hurst family the reader is referred 
to the Hurst genealog}'. which appears elsewhere in this work. To ]Mr. and 
^Irs. Allee has been born a son. Xoble Franklin Herbert Allee. The familv 
stand high in the social circles of the community, being esteemed bv all 
because of their genuine worth. 



OLIVER HAMPTOX SMITH. 

To be a successful news-writer requires much more innate ability and 
stronger qualities of character than the superficial observer might think. 
Journalism is a profession into which many enter but few remain, the re- 
cruits to its ranks dropping out before they have made a showing of any 
consequence owing to their lack of proper attributes. One of the Putnam 
county newspaper men who has proved his mettle in this particular sphere 
of endeavor is Oliver Hampton Smith, reporter and writer on the Green- 
castle Banner, who was born June 2, 1830, near Harrisburg, Fayette county, 
Indiana. His parents were Mr. and Mrs. John Smith, who, with a colony 
of homeseekers. came from the state of New York in the early twenties of 
the nineteenth century and settled in Fayette county. His father died when 
he was five vears old and his mother when he was fifteen. This left him 
at a tender age to battle alone in life's struggles. His boyhood education 
Avas limited, consisting only of the meager three months' winter schooling 
such as the Hoosier boys and girls received sixty and seventy years ago. 
In these schools the teacher was paid by subscription and "boarded around." 
The price of tuition was seventy-five cents, one dollar and one dollar and 
fifty cents per "scholar" according to the age of the pupil. 

When sixteen years old Mr. Smith accompanied a relative to the vi- 
cinity of Indianapolis and soon after this was indentured as an apprentice 



590 



WEIK S HISTORY OF 



to learn the cabinetmaker's trade with Joseph I. Stretcher in that city. At 
that time, 1846, the population of our capital city was only six thousand. 

Young Mr. Smith served his time out and worked two years at his trade. 
About this time he became acquainted with a man who proved to be the 
best friend he ever had. He was a lover of young men, a Methodist preacher 
and pastor of old Wesley Chapel, Methodist Episcopal church, now Meridian 
Street church. Indianapolis. He took occasion frequently to talk to his young 
friend about the future and life's duties. He persuaded him to seek a better 
education and offered some inducements to go to college. The result was that 
^Ir. Smith entered the preparatory department of Asbury University (now 
DePauw), at Greencastle, Indiana. This was in 185 1 and from this historic 
institution Mr. Smith was graduated in 1856 with the degree of Bachelor 
of Arts, and he immediately began teaching, and spent over forty years in 
that work and the ministry in Indiana, Arkansas and Missouri, doing a great 
amount of good and becoming well known in both lines of endeavor. About 
fifteen years ago he quit professional work, and seven years ago he came from 
^faiyville, Missouri, and entered upon his present line of work. 

In December, 1857, Mr. Smith was married to Elvira Allen, second 
daughter of the late 'S.h. and Mrs. J. R. ^I. Allen, of Greencastle. To this 
wedlock were born five children and all are living, namely: Willis P., com- 
mercial traveler, wholesale drugs. Portland. Oregon: Arthur A., editor and 
proprietor of the Tribune-Times. Port Angeles. Washington: Harry M.. 
editor and proprietor of the Weekly and Daily Banner, Greencastle, Indiana; 
^Irs. Harrv E. Lippmann, of Seattle. Washington; and Mrs. John M. Saund- 
ers, of Kansas City, ^lissouri. 

INIr. and Mrs. Smith celebrated their "golden wedding" on December 
27, 1907. Both are in excellent health and bid fair to add yet a goodly num- 
ber of vears to their alreadv extended wedded life. 



JOHN MILLS WALKER. 

Few men of past generations succeeded in impressing their personality 
more forcibly upon the people of ^Madison township, or left behind them a 
cleaner record, than the late John Mills Walker, noted among his neigh- 
bors and friends alike for his hospitality, industry and strict honesty. He 
was born in Putnam county October 10. 1846, and he spent his life on his 
native heath, from which he passed to his rest September 15. 1893. at the 



PLTXAM COUNTY, I.NDIAXA. 39I 

age of forty-seven years. He was tlie son of Hiram and Frances (.Mills) 
Walker, the father born in Maysville, Kentucky, and they grew to maturity 
in that state, marrying at Bowling Green. They came to Putnam cininty, 
Indiana, in an early day. and located amid primitive surroundings in ^Madison 
township, and there their son. John M.. was born. He did not have much 
opportunity to attend school, but made the best of what he did have. He as- 
sisted with the work of developing the liome place and remained there until 
he reached maturity. On October 31. 1S88. he was married to Lucy B. 
Stuner. daughter of Joseph and Martha (Hall) Stoner. a neighbor girl. He 
became the owner of three hundred and sixty acres, on which he carried 
on general farming, raising a great deal of corn on the bottom lands, which 
he fed to large numbers of hogs and cattle and he became well-to-do. When 
twenty-one years of age he started out for himself, earning his first five 
dollars by milking for his neighbor. John 'SI. was but a lad when his father 
was killed, but he soon began managing his mother's affairs and he remained 
with her until his marriage, then she made her home witli him ; she did not 
liiok to him in vain for every possible care, for it was his chief delight to 
minister to her wants. She reached an advanced age, dying April i. 1894; 
she had lived to bury eight of her ten children, having experienced a great 
deal of trouble resulting from much sickness in the family, but she was a 
woman with a strong body and mind, kind, noble and good, and bore affliction 
patiently. 

John M. Walker was not a public man. yet he took a delight in seeing 
his county progress and supported any legitimate measiu'e looking to the 
general good. He was a Republican in politics and he died in the faith of 
the Christian church. He was so full of energy and persistency that he in- 
jured his health and for three years prior to his death was practically an 
invalid. u>n cl(jse application to farming depleting his energy. He assisted his 
mother in the rearing of two nephews from childhood to maturity: thev 
were John Young and Artie Call. All that is mortal of this e.xcellent char- 
acter is sleeping the eternal sleep in the Forest Hill cemetery at Greencastle. 

Two children were born to Mr. and Mrs. John M. Walker. — James 
Samuel and Frances Olive, the latter the wife of Ivan Ruark, of Stilesville : 
she graduated at the Greencastle high school where the son, James S.. was 
alsi) educate<l, later spending one \'ear in Purdue Universit\', at Lafas'ette. 
taking the agricultural course, with a view of making farming his life work. 

Mrs. ^\'alker rents the home farm, which _\ields her a good annua! in- 
come. She is a woman of many pleasing traits of character and has hosts 
of friends here, as did her worthy husband. 



WEIK S HISTORY OF 



OLIVER J. SHAW. 

Energy, sound judgment and persistency of effort, properly applied, 
will always win the goal sought in the sphere of human endeavor, no matter 
what the environment may be or what obstacles are met with, for they who 
are endowed with such characteristics make of their adversities stepping- 
stones to higher things. These reflections are suggested by the career of 
Oliver J. Shaw, who has fought his way to the front ranks and stanfis today 
among the representative citizens of Putnam county. He was born in Knox 
county. Ohio, in 184J, the son of Upton and Susannah (Branneman) Shaw. 
She was the daughter of Daniel and Magdalene Branneman. each of Pennsyl- 
vania Dutch ancestry. The former came from Vermont and the latter from 
Virginia. Upton Sliaw was born in >.Iaryland. the son of William Shaw, a 
native of Ireland. Upton Shaw and wife were married in Knox county, 
Ohio, and came to Indiana in 1845. The log house in which this family spent 
their first night after arriving here is still standing on the farm of Oliver J. 
Shaw. Hardly a field was cleared in this vicinity at that time — only a few 
"patches" here and there. Upton Shaw entered three hundred and twenty 
acres from tlie government, in section 22, Jefferson township, and there he 
spent the rest of his days, becoming fairly well-to-do. His family consisted 
of eight children, an equal number of boys and girls, named as follows : 
Leonard : Lyman ; Hesten .\nn married William Cummings : Louis ; Oliver J. ; 
Adeline, who married John Butler; Amelia married William Larkin ; Mary 
married' Sam Wright. The father of these children died about 1874. the 
mother surviving many years, making her home with her son, Oliver J., of 
this review, until her death about 1892. The reader is referred to the sketch 
of John Branneman for a full history of Mrs. Upton Shaw's ancestry. 

Oliver J. Shaw grew up on the home farm and remained on the parental 
acres until his marriage, in 1861, to Mahala .\nn Runyan, daughter of John 
and Zaruah f.\llen) Runyan. John Runyan came to Greencastle from \'ir- 
ginia. It is believed that his father's name was James, who also came to this 
countv from Virginia in an early day. Jolin Runyan was a tanner and far- 
mer near Fillmore and in later life he lived near Mt. Meridian, where his wife 
died about 1S83, he having survived her until about 1895. 

One child was born to Mr. and Mrs. Oliver J. Shaw. Florence, who mar- 
ried Albert Farmer, a traveling salesman, and they had one child. Zella : Mr. 
b\-inrer died in 1896. and his widow now makes her home in Greencastle. 
Her mother died in .\prii. 1894. 



PL'TXAM CUL'XTY. IXDIAXA. 393 

Mr. Shaw has dexoted his lite to farming and stock raising and has been 
ver\- successful in both lines, especially the latter. About 1885 he began 
keeping stallions and jacks, and no\v has three stallions and four jacks of 
excellent grades. He has raised a great number of each also horses, cattle, 
hogs and sheep, making a specialty of shorthorn cattle and Poland-China 
hogs, but he gives most of his attention to breeding horses and mules, and 
enjo\ s a wide reputation as breeder of fine stock, always finding a ready mar- 
ket for what he raises owing to their excellent quality. A better judge of 
all kinds of live stock would be hard to find. He is one of the model farmers 
of his township, owning a valuable place of two hundred and ninety-seven 
acres in Jeflferson township, nearly all under cultivation, all level and could 
be put under the plow. It is high grade soil, well kept and under modem 
improvements. ^Ir. Shaw has one of the largest, best and coziest houses in 
this part of the county and the man}- warm friends of the family frequently 
gather here, sharing their generous hospitality. Their dwelling was erected 
about 1878. 

Mr. Shaw married, in 1896, Alice Runyan. youngest sister of his first 
A\ife. and they ha\-e one son, Oliver Upton Shaw, now twelve years old, and 
a lad of much promise. 

Politically }i[r. Shaw is a Democrat, and he is a member of Cloverdale 
Lodge. Xo. 132. Free and Accepted Masons. He and his wife are both mem 
bers of Xew Providence Baptist church. Mr. Shaw is a whole-souled, liberal 
and genial man, of whom everybody speaks well who have had occasion to 
know him or have dealings with him. 



ELDER OSCAR F. LAXE. 

A gentleman who is too well known to the readers of this history to 
need formal introihiction by the biographer is Elder Oscar F. Lane, son of 
Higgins and Angeline (Thompson) Lane, born in section 11, Monroe town- 
ship. Putnam county, Indiana. May 5, 1848. There he spent his early life 
on the home farm, attended the common schools of his township during the 
winter until he was twelve years old, then entered the Bainbridge Academy 
where he spent two years and a part of a third year. Then for one year he 
took private instruction in Latin, Greek and mathematics under Rev. E. C. 
Johnson, of Bainbridge. During the spring of 1867 he entered the freshman 
class of the Xorthwestern Christian L'niversity, now known as Butler College, 



394 WEIK S HISTORY OF 

of Indianapolis. On account of a physical break-clown he was not in the 
university during 1868; entering again in January, 1869. he had completed 
the regular course as prescribed and two studies additional, not required in 
this course, at the close of the fall term of 1870. He was graduated in June, 
1871. receiving the degree of Bachelor of Arts. The degree of Master of 
Arts was conferred upon him by his alma mater in 1874. He is a member 
of the Sigma Chi Greek-letter fraternity, being an alumnus of Rho Chapter. 
April 19, 1864, he united with the Christian church at Bainbridge. Indiana, 
under the ministrations of Elder O. P. Badger. He soon began to take part 
in the public worship and was given a class in the Sunday school, ha\-ing been 
identified with this department of church work from early childhood. For a 
period of twenty-two years he ser\'ed as a Sunday school teacher or super- 
intendent and he has delivered many Sunday school addresses. When only 
sixteen years of age he began preaching, delivering his first discourse at Bain- 
bridge, January i, 1865. During the fall of the same year he was licensed 
by the Christian church at Bainbridge to preach. In October. 1869, he was 
ordained in the Central Christian church at Indianapolis by Elders O. A. 
Burgess, A\'. K. Pendleton and Thomas Munnell a regular minister of the 
gospel. He preached regularly from the time of his license for churches in 
Putnam county and adjoining counties until he entered college. During the 
time of his attendance at college he preached for churches within a short 
distance of Indianapolis. January i, 1871, he was called to the pastorate of 
the Christian church of Shelbyville. Illinois. This work he continued until 
failing health compelled him to resign it. He had over-worked himself while 
in college. As a sample of his work in college during his last two years there. 
we mention the fact that he '"carried" seven studies, preached nearly every Sat- 
urday night and twice on Sunday, held one revival, read four thousand pages 
of history, took part each week as a member of a college society and prepared 
and delivered four literary addresses. As a result he had a bad case of in- 
somnia. During the spring of 1872 he spent five weeks in evangelistic work 
in Kansas and Missouri. Returning from this trip, he resumecl his work 
at Shelbyville. Illinois, but in a few days he was stricken with cerebro spinal 
meningitis, and he lingered between life and death for a period of seven 
weeks ; but as soon as he could stand in the pulpit by the aid of a cane, he 
renewed his work. In a short time the disease returned, which incapacitated 
him for work for four months — in fact, he has never fully recoxered from its 
effects. After resigning at Shelbyville he received calls during the close of 
1872 from Bloomington. Springfield and Mattoon. Illinois, and from Terre 
Haute. Indiana. But considering these calls involved more than liis strength 



PL'TXAM COUXTV, IXUIAXA. 3(^5 

would allow, he declined them. January i, 1873, he became pastor of the 
Christian church at Greencastle, Indiana, serving it for one year. January 
I, 1874, he accepted a call from the Christian church at Laporte. Indiana, 
which he served ti3r two years and three months, when failing health forced 
him to give up regular pastorial work. It was with a struggle and much 
regret that he was thus forced to abandon the ambition of his life at the age 
of twenty-seven years. At the time he left Laporte he had flattering calls 
from four large churches. During the fall of 1876 he moved to the farm 
where he now lives and began work as a farmer. After one year of moderate 
outdoor exercise his health was generally improved, but for three years he 
was able to endure but little mental work. At the close of 1879 he took work 
as a minister, preaching for two and three congregations. This he continued 
until 1903. He is now seldom seen in the pulpit with the exception that he 
conducts a large number of funerals. To January i, 1910, Elder Lane hail 
preached one thousand and fifty-two funerals, and he had declined to officiate 
at about as many. 

As a public speaker Mr. Lane is digniiied, earnest, argumentative, logical. 
sometimes very impetuous and touching and always inspires thought. Some 
of his best efforts have been entirely extemporaneous and impromptu, wholly 
inspired by the occasion. He never memorized a sermon for delivery and 
rarely ever uses notes in a public address. His nature is positive; what he 
believes he advocates with all his might. His holds that no man can be true 
and plead neutrality on moral issues or in regard to any subject involving the 
well-being of humanity. He believes in doing good and being good ; first, at 
home and then abroad. He believes that no man should endeavor to be more 
genial and polite to some other man's family than he is to his own. He has 
all his life been an earnest advocate of temperance and has done much both in 
pulpit addresses and by personal effort to bring about reform. He believes 
just as sincerely that God-fearing men and women should not rest until the 
social evil is eradicated, holding that card parties never result in good, and he 
has never given polic}' a [ilace before principle and believes that popularity 
should not be sought at the expense of right doing; that nothing is worth 
doing that will not stand the test of infinite years. 

Elder Lane has never taught school, but has given private instructions 
in the languages, and has three times declined the presidency of institutions of 
learning; however, he is a warm friend of education and is glad to pay for the 
support of the public schools. He was one of twenty persons to start the 
Foreign Missionary Societv of the Christian church in 1875 ^Y §'^'in& one 
hundred dollars, and is a life member of the societv. During the Civil war 



396 weik's history of 

he twice offered his services to his county as a volunteer, being then fifteen and 
at his last trial sixteen years of age, but was not accepted on account of 
physical disability. Politically he is a Republican. While he has had a con- 
stant interest in political issues, he never had much ambition for personal pre- 
ferment or taste for office. He has three times declined nomination for office 
when he could have been twice elected. In 1908 he yielded to the urgent call 
of his party to stand for the state Legislature on the temperance issue and he 
succeeded in reducing the majority of his opponent one hundred and twenty 
votes from his previous majority. 

Fraternally Mr. Lane is a member of Bainbridge Lodge, No. 75, Free 
and Accepted Masons, having been treasurer of the same for the past five 
years. In 1890 he assisted in the organization of the Farmers Institute in 
Putnam county. The first institute had an attendance of fifty, held at Green- 
castle. The ne.xt five were held at Bainbridge. Mr. Lane was county chair- 
man for three years and during his chairmanship the attendance reached six 
hundred. For a period of fourteen years he was state lecturer for the insti- 
tute by appointment of Prof. W. C. Latta, state superintendent. During 
these vears he visited nearly every county in Indiana, lecturing in some of 
them four different times. 

Mr. Lane owns the farm on which he was born and is now successfully 
engaged in general farming on his well tilled and well improved place of five 
hundred and seventy acres, which lies in sections 11, 13 and 14, Monroe town- 
ship, having added four hundred and ten acres to his inheritance, proving 
that he is a good manager and well grounded in modern agriculture. Never 
robust in health, he has succeeded as a result of strong will power, which has 
enabled him to accomplish the work of two men, during much of his life. 
He has a beautiful home in which is to be found a well selected library of the 
world's best literature. 

In November 21, 1872. Mr. Lane was married to Mary E. Wendling, a 
ladv of culture and refinement, a native of Shelbyville. Illinois, and the daugh- 
ter of Hon. George J. Wendling, a prominent and influential citizen of that 
place. Mrs. Lane was born April i, 1852. Her father was born at Strass- 
burg, Gennanv, and her paternal grandfather was a soldier under Napoleon. 
Mrs. Lane received a liberal education and is a gifted musician, affable in man- 
ners, strong-minded and a favorite with a large circle of friends, having been, 
indeed, a true helpmate in every respect. This union has been graced by the 
birth of eight children, named as follows: Anna L., Carrie M., Frank W.. 
Edwin R.. Oscar Bruce, Nellie Ruth, Elizabeth H. and Ralph. Six of these 
children are living, Carrie ]M. and Ralph having passed into the silent land. 
Thev have seven grandchildren. 



PLTXAM COl-XTV. INDIANA. 397 



SAMUEL A. HAZELETT. 



The gentleman to a review of whose Hfe and characteristics the reader's 
attention is herewith respectfully invited, is among the successful agriculturists 
and fruit growers of Putnam county, who, by energy and correct methods, has 
not only achieved success for himself but has also contributed in a very ma- 
terial way to the industrial, civic and moral advancement of his place of resi- 
a liberally remunerati\-e enterprise and won the good will of his fellow men. 

Samuel A. Hazelett, son of Richard 'SI. Hazelett and wife, whose life 
dence. In the course of an honorable career he has established himself in 
records are to be found elsewhere in this work, was born in Putnam county, 
October 20, 1849. He attended the district schools and graduated from As- 
bury (now DePauw) University in 1870, having made a very creditable rec- 
ord in that institution. He then turned his attention to school teaching, 
which he followed with gratifying success for a period of two years, then 
moved to the state of ^Missouri, where he remained several years. Returning 
to Putnam county. Indiana, in 1882, he took up farming and fruit growing 
which he has continued with gratifying results, owning a well improved farm 
of two hundred twenty acres one and one-half mile southeast of Greencastle, 
and his suburban home of forty acres one mile from Greencastle. He has a 
fine orchard, well kept and of splendid variety. He is well versed in horti- 
culture, being regarded as an authority on both horticulture and agriculture. 
Ele has one of the most attractive, modern and beautifully located homes in 
Putnam county, it being e([uipped with all modern con\-eniences. such as tele- 
phone, electric light, city water service, the latter being distributed through 
house and barn, and the interurban railway makes a stop close by the house. 

Mr. Hazelett married Ellen Tuttle, of Homer. Licking county. Ohio, on 
April 26, 1877. She is the daughter of Ephriam and Judith (Channell) Tut- 
tle. both deceased, a well known family of Licking county, where she grew to 
maturitv and received a liberal education. They were married at .\lbany. 
Missouri, where her parents had moved and where ^Ir. Hazelett was engaged 
in fanning. The following children have graced this union: Xellie. Richard 
'M. married Xellie Savage, now engaged in the grocery business in Green- 
castle; Richard M. was in the Spanish- American war as a member of Com- 
pany I. One Hundred Fifty-ninth Regiment Indiana Volunteer Infantry. He 
ser\-ed throughout the war but did not see active service and received an hon- 
orable discharge. Earl T.. living at Tucson. Arizona, has I)een engaged in the 



398 ■ weik's history of 

railroad business since he was seventeen years of age, liaving filled many posi- 
tions of trust and responsibility. He has traveled around the world, spending 
considerable time in China and Japan where he engaged labor for railroad 
construction work, also engaged in railroad construction in old IMexico. Sam- 
uel Jerome Hazelett. who graduated from the Greencastle high school in 1905, 
is now occupying a position in the Central National Bank of Greencastle. 
He married Evelyn Dumas, a native of the state of Illinois. Clarence is at- 
tending DePauw University. Lawrence is living at home. Mrs. Hazelett, 
who is a woman of high education and culture, was acknowledged to be one 
of the most intellectual and charming women in Albany, Missouri, at the time 
of her marriage. She is prominent in the social and club circles of her com- 
munity and is an active member of the Christian church. She was one of the 
organizers and prime movers in the Domestic Science Club of Greencastle and 
is actively connected with the Woman's Au.xiliary of the Farmers Institute, 
being frequently called to lecture before the institutes. 

Politically, !Mr. Hazelett is a Republican, but he has never held office, 
being too busy with his private affairs to take much interest in politics ; how- 
ever, his support may be depended upon in the promulgation of all worthy ob- 
jects having as their issue the betterment of his county, state and nation. He 
is a gentleman of pleasing manners and his pleasant home is a place where 
the manv friends of the familv delight to gather. 



MARION EDGAR COOPER. 

One of the thrifty farmers and well known citizens of Warren township, 
Putnam county, is Marion Edgar Cooper, who w-as born in this community. 
May 17, 1868, the son of Archibald and Frances (Connely) Cooper. The 
father, born February 25, 1836, in this county, was the son of Archibald 
Cooper, who was born in Greenbrier county, Virginia, January 15, 1798, and 
when quite voung moved to Tennessee. When sixteen years old he enlisted 
in the war of 181 2 and ser\'ed until its close. On April 6, 1823, he married 
Elizabeth Hodges, and in. October, 1834, he moved with his family of eleven 
children to Putnam county, Indiana, settling in Putnamville the following 
vear. A few years later he moved to a farm in section 10, Warren township, 
where he resided until his death, which occurred on April 17, 1872. He was 
a blacksmith by trade and built the first shop in Warren township. Mrs. 



PTTXAM COUXTV, IXDIAXA. 



399 



Cooper was l)orn in Claiborne county. Tennessee. February 14. 1800. and she 
died January 26, 1868. her ashes now resting beside her husband's in the 
cemeter}- at Bethel. Of the ele\'en chiklren tiiey brought to this countv. two 
of them are now living — Mrs. Margaret Duckworth, of Iowa, and James C. 
Cooper, of Putnamville. The latter remembers a family tradition to the 
effect that his maternal grandmother was scalped by the Indians, and although 
a very small boy at the time the family came to Indiana, he remembers well 
when his mother placed him in the \\'agon preparatory to making the long 
. overland journey from Tennessee. 

Archibald Cooper, Jr.. was married on December 22. 1S44. to Frances E. 
Connely. the daughter of Gilmore and Jane Connely. He moved with his fam- 
ily from Kentucky in 1834 and settled on a two-hundred-and-seventy-acre tract 
of land, a part of which was the old Cooper homestead. After t%vo years' 
residence in Floyd county, Mr. and Mrs. Cooper moved to Putnam countv, 
Indiana, locating on one hundred and sixty acres in section 10, Warren town- 
ship, purchasing the place at the time, and he continued to make his home 
here for forty years, or until his death, February 11, 1904, his widow sur- 
\'iving until June 26, 1907. Mr. Cooper was a farmer and stock raiser. He 
was one of the early commissioners of Putnam county. Politically he was 
a Democrat ai-.d he was one of the highly respected men of his township. He 
and his wife were members of the local Methodist church and they are buried 
in the cemetery at Greencastle. They were the parents of four children. James 
Walter, born July 21, 1865, received a common school education and on June 
30. 1S87. married Frances Williams and one child, Ethel, was born to them 
on February 22, 1888; J. W. is a farmer in this county, Amanda M. Cooper, 
now ]\rrs. Hurst, wife of a Putnam county farmer, whom she married April 
15, 1888, is the mother of two children, Bonnie and George. William Albert 
Cooper was born Xovember 24. 1872. and he has remained single. 

Marion Edgar Cooper, of this review, spent his boyhood on the home 
farm and received a common school education. He was married to Nellie 
Lewis, daughter of W, Y. and Mary E. (Clearwater) Lewis, December 24, 
1899, and they soon afterward moved to an eighty-acre farm in section 10, 
Warren township, which his father gave him. He has prospered by close ap- 
plication to his work and now owns a fine farm of two hundred and forty- 
three acres, having made farming and stock raising his principal life work 
and has been very successful in each. He has a modern, attractive and well 
located dwelling on the National road and his place ranks well with the best 
in the township in every respect. He has always had the respect and con- 



400 WEIK S HISTORY OF 

fidence of all his neighbors and acquaintances. He and his wife are members 
of the Methodist Episcopal church. They are the parents of four children, 
namely: Marion L., born August 2, 1902; Mary Frances, born May 27, 1904; 
Ruth, born April 3, 1906; Cathryn, born December 26, 1907. 



JAMES F. O'BRIEN. 

Great achievements always excite admiration — men of deeds are the men 
whom the world delights to honor. To attain success in any specific line of 
endeavor, indicates on the part of the doer a well trained mind, mature judg- 
ment and the ability to take advantage of circumstances and make them suit 
his purposes. But occasionally there is found a man with a diversity of 
talents, which if properly de\-eloped enable him to achieve distinction in as 
many callings as the gifts with which he has been endowed — such a man is 
the honorable subject of this review, a gentleman who has done much to 
promote the material growth and prosperity of his county and state. 

James F. O'Brien is the scion of an old and well-known familv, the 
history of which is' directly traceable to Brian Boroimhe (pronounced Boni). 
the one hundred and seventy-fifth monarch of Ireland, who was killed in 
battle with the Danes at Clontarf, in the year A. D. 1014. According to the 
most acceptable data at hand, the descendants of this early ancestor have been 
subdivided into twelve distinct and well defined branches, the subject spring- 
ing from the O'Briens, king of Thomond, in county Tipperary, Ireland, 
where they ha\e been represented for nearly if not quite six hundred years, 
and from which they have scattered to nearly every country of the civilized 
world. It is also a fact worthy of note that for the last two hundred vears 
the eldest son has been named in honor of his grandfather, the custom being 
retained in the family of the subject, whose father and grandfather, John 
and James O'Brien respectively, were natives of county Tipperar\-, the latter 
a son of John O'Brien of the city of Cashel. 

John O'Brien was born May 27, 1822, in Cashel, of which city his 
brothers. William. Edward and Thomas, were also natives, a fifth brother, 
James by name, having been born at a place called "'The Townsland of the 
O'Briens," so named in compliment to the family. Owing to the limited 
opportunities afforded a young man in the city of his birth, John O'Brien in 
1844 left Cashel and went to Dublin, and thence to Liverpool, England, and 
later started on an extensive tour, which included nearly everv part of 





;^^g'^^k^^ 



PUTXA.M COUNTY, INDIANA. ' _(^OI 

Europe and several countries of Asia. Desiring to see more of the world, 
he took a vessel for America and in November, 1848, landed at Xew Orleans, 
from which city he continued his travels imtil, rambling over many of the 
states of the Union, he finally, in 1853, visited Terre Haute, Indiana, where 
he met a young lady with whom he was pleased and he decided to remain 
awhde at that place. This acquaintance ripened into love and they were mar-